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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

Sponsored Recreational Product Manufacturer  
Shows or Events (LAC 46:V.Chapter 17) 

The Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission is exercising 
the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted 
under R.S. 32:1251 et seq., adopts the following Emergency 
Rule, to allow the commission the ability to authorize and 
license such shows, effective May 16, 2012, and it shall 
remain in effect for 120 days or until this Rule takes effect 
through the normal promulgation process, whichever comes 
first. 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 6, the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, notice is 
hereby given that the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
proposes to enact LAC 46:V.Chapter 17 setting forth 
procedures by which sponsored recreational product 
manufacturer shows or events can be conducted and licensed 
under the provisions of R.S. 32:1251 et seq. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 1.  Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
Chapter 17. Sponsored Recreational Product 

Manufacturer Shows or Events. 
§1701. Definitions 

Organizerany person who alone or with others whose 
principal business activity is the promotion of shows or 
events supported by sponsors who are manufacturers or 
distributors of vehicles. 

Product Specialistany person selected by the sponsor to 
assist in its participation in the show or event. 

Show or Eventa controlled event by an organizer who 
seeks sponsorships from manufacturers or distributors of 
vehicles in connection with the conduct of the show or 
event. 

Sponsor or Participanta manufacturer or distributor 
who pays cash or an in-kind fee to an organizer in return for 
access to the commercial potential associated with the show 
or event.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1703. Authorization for Show or Event 

A. The commission may authorize or prohibit a 
sponsored recreational product manufacturer show or event.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1705. Show or Event License Fee and Application 

A. An organizer shall obtain a license for the show or 
event from the commission and its request for a license shall 
be on an application prescribed by the commission requiring 
such information the commission deems necessary to 
determine the qualifications and eligibility of the show or 
event. 

B. The application shall be accompanied by a license fee 
of $500. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1707. Show or Event Requirements 

A. The application for the show or event must be 
submitted to the commission no less than sixty days prior to 
the opening of the show or event. 

B. Three or more sponsors or participants must 
participate in the show or event. 

C. The show or event shall not exceed 10 days. 
D. The show or event shall be a non-selling show 

however, the presence of product specialist, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets and other points of sales devices 
will be allowed to answer consumer questions. At the show 
or event, there shall be no execution of sales contracts, credit 
applications, taking of security deposits, or delivery of any 
vehicle. 

E. No licensed dealer, operating in that capacity, may 
participate in the show or event. 

F. The organizer shall furnish the commission a list of 
sponsors or participants no less than ten days prior to the 
show or event’s opening day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 

 
Lessie A. House 
Executive Director 

1206#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
School-Based Nursing Services  

(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 95) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.Chapter 95 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
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provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides Medicaid coverage for 
health care services rendered to children and youth under the 
age of 21 through the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Program. The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the EPSDT Program in order to adopt 
provisions to establish reimbursement and coverage for 
school-based nursing services rendered to all children 
enrolled in Louisiana schools (Louisiana Register, Volume 
37, Number 12). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the January 1, 2012 Emergency Rule to 
clarify the provisions governing EPSDT school-based 
nursing services (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 
3). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions of the March 20, 2012 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid eligible recipients and to assure a more efficient 
and effective delivery of health care services.  

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts 
provisions to provide Medicaid coverage of school-based 
nursing services covered under the Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment Program. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis, and Treatment 
Chapter 95. School-Based Nursing Services 
§9501. General Provisions 

A. EPSDT school-based nursing services are provided by 
a registered nurse (RN) within a local education agency 
(LEA). The goal of these services is to prevent or mitigate 
disease, enhance care coordination, and reduce costs by 
preventing the need for tertiary care. Providing these 
services in the school increases access to health care for 
children and youth resulting in a more efficient and effective 
delivery of care. 

B. RNs providing school-based nursing services are 
required to maintain an active RN license with the state of 
Louisiana and comply with the Louisiana Nurse Practice 
Act. 

C. School-based nursing services shall be covered for all 
recipients in the school system and not limited to those with 
an individualized education program (IEP).  

D.  School boards and staff shall collaborate for all 
services with the Medicaid recipient’s BAYOU HEALTH 
plan and shall ensure compliance with established protocols. 
In a fee-for-service situation, for the non-BAYOU HEALTH 
individuals, staff will make necessary referrals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

§9503. Covered Services 
A. The following school-based nursing services shall be 

covered. 
1. Episodic Care. This is unplanned care that occurs 

when children see the nurse for assessment of a health 
concern. Episodic care includes but is not limited to: 

a. nose bleeds; 
b. cuts; 
c. bruises; or 
d. flu symptoms. 

2. Chronic Medical Condition Management and Care 
Coordination. This is care based on one of the following 
criteria. 

a. The child has a chronic medical condition or 
disability requiring implementation of a health plan/protocol 
(examples would be children with asthma, diabetes, or 
cerebral palsy). There must be a written health care plan 
based on a health assessment performed by the RN. The date 
of the completion of the plan and the name of the person 
completing the plan must be included in the written plan. 
Each health care service required and the schedule for its 
provision must be described in the plan.  

b. Medication Administration. This service is 
scheduled as part of a health care plan developed by either 
the treating physician or the school district LEA. 
Administration of medication will be at the direction of the 
physician and within the license of the RN and must be 
approved within the district LEA policies.  

c. Implementation of Physician’s Orders. These 
services shall be provided as a result of receipt of a written 
plan of care from the child’s physician/BAYOU HEALTH 
provider or an IEP/health care plan for students with 
disabilities. 

3. Immunization Assessments. These services are 
nursing assessments of health status (immunizations) 
required by the Office of Public Health. This service requires 
an RN to assess the vaccination status of children in these 
cohorts once each year. This assessment is limited to the 
following children: 

a. children enrolling in a school for the first time; 
b. pre-kindergarten children; 
c. kindergarten children; and 
d. children entering sixth grade; or  
e. any student 11 years of age regardless of grade. 

4. EPSDT Program Periodicity Schedule for 
Screenings. A nurse employed by a school district may 
perform any of these screens within their licensure for 
BAYOU HEALTH members as authorized by the BAYOU 
HEALTH plan or as compliant with fee-for-service for non-
BAYOU HEATH individuals. The results of these screens 
must be made available to the BAYOU HEALTH provider 
as part of the care coordination plan of the district. The 
screens shall be performed according to the periodicity 
schedule including any inter-periodic screens. 

a. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
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§9505. Reimbursement Methodology 
A. Payment for EPSDT school-based nursing services 

shall be based on the most recent school year’s actual cost as 
determined by desk review and/or audit for each LEA 
provider. 

1. Each LEA shall determine cost annually by using 
DHH’s cost report for nursing service cost form based on the 
direct services cost report. 

2. Direct cost shall be limited to the amount of total 
compensation (salaries, vendor payments and fringe 
benefits) of current nursing service providers as allocated to 
nursing services for Medicaid special education recipients. 
The direct cost related to the electronic health record shall be 
added to the compensation costs to arrive at the total direct 
costs for nursing services. There are no additional direct 
costs included in the rate.  

3. Indirect cost shall be derived by multiplying the 
cognizant agency indirect cost unrestricted rate assigned by 
the Department of Education to each LEA. There are no 
additional indirect costs included.  

4. To determine the amount of nursing services cost 
that may be attributed to Medicaid; the ratio of total 
Medicaid students in the LEA to all students in the LEA is 
multiplied by total direct cost. Cost data is subject to 
certification by each LEA. This serves as the basis for 
obtaining federal Medicaid funding. 

B. For the nursing services, the participating LEAs’ 
actual cost of providing the services shall be claimed for 
Medicaid Federal Financial Participation (FFP) based on the 
following methodology.  

1. The state shall gather actual expenditure 
information for each LEA through its payroll/benefits and 
accounts payable system.  

2. Develop Direct CostThe Payroll Cost Base. Total 
annual salaries and benefits paid, as well as contracted 
(vendor) payments, shall be obtained initially from each 
LEA’s payroll/benefits and accounts payable system. This 
data shall be reported on DHH’s nursing services cost report 
form for all nursing service personnel (i.e. all personnel 
providing LEA nursing treatment services covered under the 
state plan). 

3.  Adjust the Payroll Cost Base. The payroll cost base 
shall be reduced for amounts reimbursed by other funding 
sources (e.g. federal grants). The payroll cost base shall not 
include any amounts for staff whose compensation is 100 
percent reimbursed by a funding source other than state/local 
funds. This application results in total adjusted salary cost.  

4. Determine the Percentage of Time to Provide All 
Nursing Services. A time study which incorporates the CMS-
approved Medicaid Administrative Claiming (MAC) 
methodology for nursing service personnel shall be used to 
determine the percentage of time nursing service personnel 
spend on nursing services and general and administrative (G 
and A) time. This time study will assure that there is no 
duplicate claiming. The G and A percentage shall be 
reallocated in a manner consistent with the CMS approved 
Medicaid Administrative Claiming methodology. Total G 
and A time shall be allocated to all other activity codes based 
on the percentage of time spent on each respective activity. 
To reallocate G and A time to nursing services, the 
percentage of time spent on nursing services shall be divided 
by 100 percent minus the percentage of G and A time. This 

shall result in a percentage that represents the nursing 
services with appropriate allocation of G and A. This 
percentage shall be multiplied by total adjusted salary cost as 
determined Paragraph B.4 above to allocate cost to school 
based services. The product represents total direct cost.  

a. A sufficient number of nursing service personnel 
shall be sampled to ensure results that will have a confidence 
level of at least 95 percent with a precision of plus or minus 
five percent overall. 

5. Determine Indirect Cost. Indirect cost shall be 
determined by multiplying each LEA’s indirect unrestricted 
rate assigned by the cognizant agency (the Department of 
Education) by total adjusted direct cost as determined under 
Paragraph B.3 above. No additional indirect cost shall be 
recognized outside of the cognizant agency indirect rate. The 
sum of direct cost and indirect cost shall be the total direct 
service cost for all students receiving nursing services.  

6. Allocate Direct Service Cost to Medicaid. To 
determine the amount of cost that may be attributed to 
Medicaid, total cost as determined under B.5 above shall be 
multiplied by the ratio of Medicaid students in the LEA to all 
students in the LEA. This results in total cost that may be 
certified as Medicaid’s portion of school-based nursing 
services cost.  

C. Reconciliation of LEA Certified Costs and Medicaid 
Management Information System (MMIS) Paid Claims. 
Each LEA shall complete the Nursing Services Cost Report 
and submit the cost report(s) no later than five months after 
the fiscal year period ends (June 30), and reconciliation shall 
be completed within 12 months from the fiscal year end. All 
filed nursing services cost reports shall be subject to desk 
review by the department’s audit contractor. The department 
shall reconcile the total expenditures (both state and federal 
share) for each LEA’s nursing services. The Medicaid 
certified cost expenditures from the nursing services cost 
report(s) will be reconciled against the MMIS paid claims 
data and the department shall issue a notice of final 
settlement pending audit that denotes the amount due to or 
from the LEA. This reconciliation is inclusive of all nursing 
services provided by the LEA. 

D. Cost Settlement Process. As part of its financial 
oversight responsibilities, the department shall develop audit 
and review procedures to audit and process final settlements 
for certain LEAs. The audit plan shall include a risk 
assessment of the LEAs using available paid claims data to 
determine the appropriate level of oversight.  

1. The financial oversight of all LEAs shall include 
reviewing the costs reported on the Nursing Services Cost 
Reports against the allowable costs, performing desk 
reviews and conducting limited reviews.  

2. The department will make every effort to audit each 
LEA at least every four years. These activities shall be 
performed to ensure that audit and final settlement occurs no 
later than two years from the LEA’s fiscal year end for the 
cost reporting period audited. LEAs may appeal audit 
findings in accordance with DHH appeal procedures.  

3. The department shall adjust the affected LEA’s 
payments no less than annually, when any reconciliation or 
final settlement results in significant underpayments or 
overpayments to any LEA. By performing the reconciliation 
and final settlement process, there shall be no instances 
where total Medicaid payments for services exceed 100 
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percent of actual, certified expenditures for providing LEA 
services for each LEA. 

4. If the interim payments exceed the actual, certified 
costs of an LEA’s Medicaid services, the department shall 
recoup the overpayment in one of the following methods: 

a. offset all future claim payments from the affected 
LEA until the amount of the overpayment is recovered;  

b. recoup an agreed upon percentage from future 
claims payments to the LEA to ensure recovery of the 
overpayment within one year; or  

c. recoup an agreed upon dollar amount from future 
claims payments to the LEA to ensure recovery of the 
overpayment within one year. 

5. If the actual certified costs of an LEA’s Medicaid 
services exceed interim Medicaid payments, the department 
will pay this difference to the LEA in accordance with the 
final actual certification agreement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#050 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Substance Abuse Services (LAC 50:XV.Chapter 93) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:XV.Chapter 93 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing terminated 
coverage and reimbursement of substance abuse clinic 
services under the Medicaid Program as a result of a 
budgetary shortfall (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 
1). However, in compliance with federal regulations 
governing coverage of discretionary services under the Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 

Program, substance abuse services continued to be available 
to Medicaid recipients up to the age of 21 through the 
substance abuse clinics operated or funded by the Office for 
Addictive Disorders (OAD), now the Office of Behavioral 
Health (OBH).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which adopted the provisions governing the coverage and 
reimbursement of substance abuse services rendered to 
EPSDT recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 
5). The department now proposes to amend the provisions of 
the April 22, 2011 Emergency Rule to clarify the provisions 
governing EPSDT substance abuse services. This action is 
being taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
eligible recipients, up to the age of 21, who are in need of 
substance abuse services, and to assure continued access to 
services.  

Effective June 20, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing Medicaid coverage of substance abuse 
services covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment Program.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 93. Substance Abuse Services 
§9301. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide coverage of 
substance abuse services rendered to Medicaid eligible 
recipients, under the age of 21.  

B. Medicaid reimbursement for medically necessary 
substance abuse services shall only be provided to the Office 
of Behavioral Health for recipients under the age of 21 who 
receive outpatient treatment only. The Medicaid Program 
shall not provide reimbursement for inpatient services under 
these provisions. 

C. Substance abuse services covered under the EPSDT 
Program shall include medically necessary clinic services 
and other medically necessary substance abuse services 
rendered to EPSDT recipients. 

D. Medicaid recipients shall be the sole recipients of 
Medicaid covered substance abuse services and these 
services shall only be billed for the Medicaid recipient 
despite the presence of others who may be group or family 
participants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9303. Covered Services 

A. The medical necessity for these rehabilitative services 
must be determined by, and services recommended by, a 
licensed mental health practitioner, or as ordered by a staff 
physician. 

B. Outpatient Treatment Program 
1. Professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, 

treatment, and recovery services are provided in an 
organized non-residential treatment setting by licensed 
mental health practitioners (LMHPs) and non-licensed 
professionals under the supervision of a LMHP. 
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2. Outpatient treatment program hours range from one 
hour to nine hours/week. The maximum level of hours may 
be exceeded based on medical necessity. 

3. Outpatient treatment program services include, but 
are not limited to: 

a. individual, group, and family counseling; 
b. medication compliance; 
c. relapse prevention; and 
d. disease concept. 

4. Outpatient treatment program services offer 
comprehensive, coordinated, and defined services that may 
vary in level of intensity. 

C. Intensive Outpatient Treatment Program 
1. Professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, 

treatment, and recovery services are provided in an 
organized non-residential treatment setting by LMHPs and 
non-licensed professionals under the supervision of a LMHP. 

2. Adolescents in intensive outpatient treatment 
programs receive a minimum of six hours/week with no 
specified frequency/week. The maximum is up to 20 
hours/week. The maximum level of hours may be exceeded 
based on medical necessity. 

3. Intensive outpatient treatment program services 
include, but are not limited to: 

a. individual, group, and family counseling; and 
b. education on recovery.  

4. Intensive outpatient treatment program services 
offer comprehensive, coordinated, and defined services that 
may vary in level of intensity. 

5. These services consist of a scheduled series of face-
to-face sessions appropriate to the individual’s plan of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9305. Provider Qualifications 

A. Outpatient clinical services shall be provided by 
Louisiana licensed mental health practitioners within the 
scope of the state practice act and licensing requirements 
applicable to their particular profession.  

B. A mental health practitioner may include a: 
1. licensed professional counselor (LPC); 
2. licensed clinical social worker (LCSW); 
3. licensed addiction counselor (LAC); and 
4. licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT). 

C. The following practitioners are also approved service 
providers: 

1. licensed medical doctor; 
2. licensed psychologist; 
3. licensed nurse practitioner (NP); 
4. advanced practice registered nurse (APRN); and 
5. registered nurse (RN) with documented evidence of 

receiving a minimum of five continuing education units 
(CEUs) annually that are specifically related to behavioral 
health and medication management issues.  

D. Registered addiction counselors (RACs) and certified 
addiction counselors (CACs) may also provide clinical 
services with a licensed mental health practitioner on‐site.  

E. RACs shall meet the following qualifications: 
1. is at least 21 years of age; 
2. is a legal resident of the United States; 

3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 
subscribed to by the Addictive Disorders Regulatory 
Authority (ADRA); 

4. has not been convicted of a felony;  
5. has successfully completed 270 clock hours of 

education approved by the ADRA. One semester hour equals 
15 clock hours. One CEU equals 10 clock hours. One 
hundred eighty of these hours must be specific to addiction 
treatment. The remaining 90 hours may be related, but are 
subject to approval by the ADRA. Six of the 90 hours must 
be in professional ethics; 

6.  has successfully completed 6,000 hours (three 
years) of supervised work experience in the treatment of 
people with addictive disorders. Of these hours, he/she must 
complete a 300 hour practicum in the core functions and 
global criteria, with at least 20 hours in each core function. 
This experience must be supervised by a certified clinical 
supervisor (CCS) or other qualified professional who has 
received the proper waiver from the ADRA; 

7. has completed and received approval for an 
application prescribed by the ADRA; and 

8. demonstrates competency in addiction counseling 
by submitting and gaining approval for a typical case study 
and passing a written examination prescribed by the ADRA. 

F. CACs shall meet the following qualifications: 
1. is at least 21 years of age and holds a bachelor’s 

degree from an approved and accredited institution of higher 
education in a human services field; 

2. is a legal resident of the United States; 
3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
4. has not been convicted of a felony;  
5. has successfully completed 270 clock hours of 

education approved by the ADRA. One semester hour equals 
15 clock hours. One CEU equals 10 clock hours. One 
hundred eighty of these hours must be specific to addiction 
treatment. The remaining 90 hours may be related, but are 
subject to approval by the ADRA. Six of the 90 hours must 
be in professional ethics; 

6.  has successfully completed 4,000 hours (two 
years) of supervised work experience in the treatment of 
people with addictive disorders. Of these hours, he/she must 
complete a 300 hour practicum in the core functions and 
global criteria, with at least 20 hours in each core function. 
This experience must be supervised by a CCS or other 
qualified professional who has received the proper waiver 
from the ADRA; 

7. has completed and received approval for an 
application prescribed by the ADRA; and 

8. demonstrates competency in addiction counseling 
by submitting and gaining approval for a typical case study 
and passing a written examination prescribed by the ADRA. 

G. A registered addiction counselor or a certified 
addiction counselor may not practice independently and may 
not render a diagnostic impression, but can practice under 
the supervision of an LMHP on-site within an agency that is 
licensed or accredited. 

H. Unlicensed practitioners shall only practice under the 
supervision of a licensed professional, within the scope of 
the licensed professional’s state practice act and licensing 
requirements applicable to their particular profession. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9307. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 
to the Office of Behavioral Health for substance abuse 
services rendered to EPSDT recipients. Under the provisions 
of this Rule, payments to OBH for these services shall sunset 
as of February 29, 2012. 

B. Reimbursement for these services shall be based on 
the most recent actual cost to OBH. Cost data shall be 
derived from the department’s ISIS reporting of costs for the 
period. The cost period shall be consistent with the state 
fiscal year. Costs are determined by selecting the 
expenditures paid from state and local funds for the state 
fiscal year. 

C. OBH encounter data from their database shall be used 
to identify allowable services. Encounter data for recipients 
under the age of 21 shall be extracted and used in 
calculations to determine actual cost to OBH. 

D. Costs shall be calculated by using the cost-weighted 
amount and include Medicaid eligibles under 21 database 
costs divided by total database costs times OBH’s 
expenditures for the program which were derived from the 
state’s ISIS data. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#049 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Facility Need Review 
Hospice Providers  

(LAC 48:I.12503, 12505 and 12526) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
48:I.12503 and §12505, and to adopt §12526 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
40:2116. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions governing the inclusion of adult day health care 
providers in the Facility Need Review (FNR) Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 2). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the facility need review process to 
adopt provisions governing the inclusion of licensed hospice 
providers and inpatient hospice providers in the FNR 
Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 3). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the March 20, 2012 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid sanctions or penalties from the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for noncompliance 
with The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act 
requirements for pediatric hospice service provisions. 

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the facility need review process to 
adopt provisions governing the inclusion of licensed hospice 
providers and inpatient hospice providers. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH─GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 5.  Health Planning 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§12503. General Information 

A. - C.1. ...  
2. home and community-based service providers, as 

defined under this Chapter; 
3. adult day health care providers; and 
4. hospice providers or inpatient hospice facilities.  

D. - F.4. ... 
G. Additional Grandfather Provision. An approval shall 

be deemed to have been granted under FNR without review 
for HCBS providers, ICFs-DD, ADHC and hospice 
providers that meet one of the following conditions: 

1. ... 
2. existing licensed ICFs-DD that are converting to 

the proposed residential options waiver;  
3. ADHC providers who were licensed as of 

December 31, 2009 or who had a completed initial licensing 
application submitted to the department by December 31, 
2009, or who are enrolled or will enroll in the Louisiana 
Medicaid Program solely as a program for all-inclusive care 
for the elderly provider; or 

4. hospice providers that were licensed, or had a 
completed initial licensing application submitted to the 
department, by March 20, 2012. 

H. - H.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Repealed and repromulgated by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 21:808 (August 1995), 
amended LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1483 (July 2004), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 34:2612 (December 2008), 
amended LR 35:2437 (November 2009), LR 36:323 (February 
2010), LR 38: 
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§12505. Application and Review Process 
A. FNR applications shall be submitted to the Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, Health Standards Section, 
Facility Need Review Program. The application shall be 
submitted on the forms (on 8.5 inch by 11 inch paper) 
provided for that purpose, contain such information as the 
department may require and be accompanied by a 
nonrefundable fee of $200. An original and three copies of 
the application are required for submission. 

A.1. - B.3.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Repealed and repromulgated by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 21:812 (August 1995), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 34:2612 (December 2008), 
amended LR 35:2438 (November 2009), LR 36:323 (February 
2010), LR 38: 
Subchapter B. Determination of Bed, Unit, Facility or 

Agency Need 
§12526. Hospice Providers 

A. No hospice provider shall be licensed to operate 
unless the FNR Program has granted an approval for the 
issuance of a hospice provider license. Once the FNR 
Program approval is granted, a hospice provider is eligible to 
be licensed by the department, subject to meeting all of the 
requirements for licensure.  

B. The service area for proposed or existing hospice 
providers is within a 50 mile radius of the proposed 
geographic location where the provider is or will be 
licensed.  

C. Determination of Need/Approval 
1. The department will review the application to 

determine if there is a need for an additional hospice 
provider within a 50 mile radius of the proposed geographic 
location for which the application is submitted. 

2. The department shall grant FNR approval only if 
the FNR application, the data contained in the application 
and other evidence effectively establishes the probability of 
serious, adverse consequences to the recipients’ ability to 
access hospice care if the provider is not allowed to be 
licensed. 

3. In reviewing the application, the department may 
consider, but is not limited to, evidence showing: 

a. the number of other hospice providers within a 
50 mile radius of the proposed geographic location servicing 
the same population; and 

b. allegations involving issues of access to hospice 
care and services.  

4. The burden is on the applicant to provide data and 
evidence to effectively establish the probability of serious, 
adverse consequences to recipients’ ability to access hospice 
care if the provider is not allowed to be licensed. The 
department shall not grant any FNR approvals if the 
application fails to provide such data and evidence.  

D. Applications for approvals of licensed providers 
submitted under these provisions are bound to the 
description in the application with regard to the type of 
services proposed as well as to the site and location as 
defined in the application. FNR approval of licensed 
providers shall expire if these aspects of the application are 
altered or changed.  

E. FNR approvals for licensed providers are non-
transferrable and are limited to the location and the name of 
the original licensee. 

1. A hospice provider undergoing a change of location 
within a 50 mile radius of the licensed geographic location 
shall submit a written attestation of the change of location 
and the department shall re-issue the FNR approval with the 
name and new location. A hospice provider undergoing a 
change of location outside of the 50 mile radius of the 
licensed geographic location shall submit a new FNR 
application and fee and undergo the FNR approval process. 

2. A hospice provider undergoing a change of ownership 
shall submit a new FNR application to the department’s FNR 
Program. FNR approval for the new owner shall be granted 
upon submission of the new application and proof of the 
change of ownership, which must show the seller’s or 
transferor’s intent to relinquish the FNR approval. 

3. FNR Approval of a licensed provider shall 
automatically expire if the provider is moved or transferred 
to another party, entity or location without application to and 
approval by the FNR program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2116. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#051 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Hospice Services  
(LAC 50:XV.Chapters 33-35, 3701-3703,  

Chapters 39-41, 4303-4305, and 4309) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, amends LAC 50:XV.Chapters 
33-35, §§3701-3703, Chapters 39-41, §§4303-4305, and 
§4309 under the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for hospice 
services provided to long-term care residents to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9). 
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The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing hospice services in 
order to bring these provisions into compliance with the 
requirements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act (PPACA) and also amended the provisions governing 
prior authorization for hospice services in order to control 
the escalating costs associated with the Hospice Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 3). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the May 1, 2012 Emergency Rule. This action 
is being taken to avoid sanctions from the U.S. Department 
of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services for noncompliance with PPACA 
requirements, and to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs. 

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the Hospice Program.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 3.  Hospice 

Chapter 33. Provider Participation 
§3301. Conditions for Participation 

A. Statutory Compliance 
1. Coverage of Medicaid hospice care shall be in 

accordance with: 
a. 42 USC 1396d(o); and 
b. the Medicare Hospice Program guidelines as set 

forth in 42 CFR Part 418. 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1466 (June 2002), amended LR 30:1024 
(May 2004), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 35. Recipient Eligibility 
§3501. Election of Hospice Care 

A. - F. … 
G. Election Statement Requirements. The election 

statement must include: 
1. identification of the particular hospice that will 

provide care to the individual; 
2. the individual's or his/her legal representative's 

acknowledgment that he or she has been given a full 
understanding of the palliative rather than curative nature of 
hospice care, as it relates to the individual's terminal illness; 

3. acknowledgment that certain Medicaid services, as 
set forth in §3503 are waived by the election; 

4. the effective date of the election, which may be the 
first day of hospice care or a later date, but may be no earlier 
than the date of the election statement; and 

5. the signature of the individual or his/her legal 
representative. 

H. Duration of Election. An election to receive hospice 
care will be considered to continue through the initial 
election period and through the subsequent election periods 
without a break in care as long as the individual: 

1. remains in the care of a hospice;  

2. does not revoke the election under the provisions of 
§3505; and 

3. is not discharged from hospice in accordance with 
§3505. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 19:749 (June 1993), amended LR 28:1466 
(June 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§3503. Waiver of Payment for Other Services  

A. - A.2.c. … 
B. Individuals who are approved to receive hospice may 

not receive any other non-waiver home and community-
based services, such as long-term personal care services, 
while they are receiving hospice.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
§3505. Revoking the Election of Hospice 

Care/Discharge 
A. - A.4. … 

5. Re-election of Hospice Benefits. If an election has 
been revoked in accordance with the provisions of this 
§3505, the individual or his/her representative may at any 
time file an election, in accordance with §3501, for any other 
election period that is still available to the individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 37. Provider Requirements 
§3701. Requirements for Coverage 

A. To be covered, a certification of terminal illness must 
be completed as set forth in §3703, the election of hospice 
care form must be completed in accordance with §3501, and 
a plan of care must be established in accordance with §3705. 
A written narrative from the referring physician explaining 
why the patient has a prognosis of six months or less must 
be included in the certificate of terminal illness. Prior 
authorization requirements stated in Chapter 41 of these 
provisions are applicable to all election periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
§3703. Certification of Terminal Illness 

A. - A.1.a. …  
b. For the first 90-day period of hospice coverage, 

the hospice must obtain a verbal certification no later than 
two calendar days after hospice care is initiated If the verbal 
certification is not obtained within two calendar days 
following the initiation of hospice care, a written 
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certification must be made within ten calendar days 
following the initiation of hospice care. The written 
certification and notice of election must be obtained before 
requesting prior authorization for hospice care. If these 
requirements are not met, no payment is made for the days 
prior to the certification. Instead, payment begins with the 
day of certification, i.e., the date all certification forms are 
obtained.  

c. For the subsequent periods, a written certification 
must be included in an approved prior authorization packet 
before a claim may be billed.  

2. - 2.c. … 
d. If verbal certification is made, the referral from 

the physician shall be received by a member of the hospice 
interdisciplinary group (IDG). The entry in the patient's 
clinical record of the verbal certification shall include, at a 
minimum:  
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. terminal diagnosis(es)and all other 
diagnosis(es); 
 iv. - v. … 

3. Face-to-Face Encounter 
a. A hospice physician or hospice nurse practitioner 

must have a face-to-face encounter with each hospice patient 
whose total stay across all hospices is anticipated to reach 
the third benefit period. The face-to-face encounter must 
occur prior to, but no more than 30 calendar days prior to, 
the third benefit period recertification, and every benefit 
period recertification thereafter, to gather clinical findings to 
determine continued eligibility for hospice care. 

b. The physician or nurse practitioner who performs 
the face-to-face encounter with the patient must attest in 
writing that he or she had a face-to-face encounter with the 
patient, including the date of that visit. The attestation of the 
nurse practitioner or a non-certifying hospice physician shall 
state that the clinical findings of that visit were provided to 
the certifying physician for use in determining continued 
eligibility for hospice care. 

4. Content of Certifications 
a. Certification will be based on the physician's or 

medical director's clinical judgment regarding the normal 
course of the individual's illness. The certification must 
conform to the following requirements. 
 i. The certification must specify that the 
individual's prognosis is for a life expectancy of six months 
or less if the terminal illness runs its normal course. 
 ii. Written clinical information and other 
documentation that support the medical prognosis must 
accompany the certification and must be filed in the medical 
record with the written certification, as set forth in 
Subparagraph 4 of this Section. 
 iii. The physician must include a brief written 
narrative explanation of the clinical findings that support a 
life expectancy of six months or less as part of the 
certification and recertification forms, or as an addendum to 
the certification and recertification forms. 

(a). The narrative must reflect the patient's 
individual clinical circumstances and cannot contain check 
boxes or standard language used for all patients. 

(b). The narrative associated with the third 
benefit period recertification and every subsequent 
recertification must include an explanation of why the 

clinical findings of the face-to-face encounter support a life 
expectancy of six months or less, and shall not be the same 
narrative as previously submitted. 

b. All certifications and recertifications must be 
signed and dated by the physician(s), and must include the 
benefit period dates to which the certification or 
recertification applies. 

5. Sources of Certification 
a. For the initial 90-day period, the hospice must 

obtain written certification statements as provided in 
§3703.A.1 from: 
 i. … 
 ii. the individual's attending physician. The 
attending physician is a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 
and is identified by the individual, at the time he or she 
elects to receive hospice care, as having the most significant 
role in the determination and delivery of the individual's 
medical care. The attending physician is the physician 
identified within the Medicaid system as the provider to 
which claims have been paid for services prior to the time of 
the election of hospice benefits. 

b. … 
6. Maintenance of Records. Hospice staff must make 

an appropriate entry in the patient's clinical record as soon as 
they receive an oral certification and file written 
certifications in the clinical record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 19:749 (June 1993), amended LR 28:1468 
(June 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 39. Covered Services 
§3901. Medical and Support Services 

A. - A.11.b.iv. … 
c. Inpatient Respite Care Day. An inpatient respite 

care day is a day on which the individual receives care in an 
approved facility on a short-term basis, not to exceed five 
days in any one election period, to relieve the family 
members or other persons caring for the individual at home. 
An approved facility is one that meets the standards as 
provided in 42 CFR §418.98(b). This service cannot be 
delivered to individuals already residing in a nursing facility. 

d. General Inpatient Care Day. A general inpatient 
care day is a day on which an individual receives general 
inpatient care in an inpatient facility that meets the standards 
as provided in 42 CFR §418.98(a) and for the purpose of 
pain control or acute or chronic symptom management 
which cannot be managed in other settings. General inpatient 
care shall not exceed five days in any one election period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1468 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 41. Prior Authorization  
§4101. Prior Authorization of Hospice Services 

A. Prior authorization is required for all election periods 
as specified in §3501.C of this Subpart. The prognosis of 
terminal illness will be reviewed. A patient must have a 
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terminal prognosis and not just certification of terminal 
illness. Authorization will be made on the basis that a patient 
is terminally ill as defined in federal regulations. These 
regulations require certification of the patient’s prognosis, 
rather than diagnosis. Authorization will be based on 
objective clinical evidence contained in the clinical record 
which supports the medical prognosis that the patient’s life 
expectancy is six months or less if the illness runs its normal 
course and not simply on the patient’s diagnosis.  

1. Providers shall submit the appropriate forms and 
documentation required for prior authorization of hospice 
services as designated by the department in the Medicaid 
Program’s service and provider manuals, memorandums, etc.  

B. Written Notice of Denial. In the case of a denial, a 
written notice of denial shall be submitted to the hospice, 
recipient, and nursing facility, if appropriate.  

1. Claims will only be paid from the date of the 
Hospice Notice of Election if the prior authorization request 
is received within 10 days from the date of election and is 
approved. If the prior authorization request is received 10 
days or more after the date on the Hospice Notice of 
Election, the approved begin date for hospice services is the 
date the completed prior authorization packet is received.  

C. Appeals. If the hospice or the recipient does not agree 
with the denial of a hospice prior authorization request, the 
recipient, or the hospice on behalf of the recipient, can 
request an appeal of the prior authorization decision. The 
appeal request must be filed with the Division of 
Administrative Law within 30 days from the date of the 
postmark on the denial letter. The appeal proceedings will be 
conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 43. Reimbursement 
§4303. Levels of Care for Payment 

A. - B.3. … 
C. Inpatient Respite Care. The inpatient respite care rate 

is paid for each day the recipient is in an approved inpatient 
facility and is receiving respite care (see §3901.A.11.c). 
Respite care may be provided only on an occasional basis 
and payment for respite care may be made for a maximum of 
five days at a time including the date of admission but not 
counting the date of discharge. Payment for the day of 
discharge in a respite setting shall be at the routine home 
level-of-care discharged alive rate.  

1. … 
2. Respite care may not be provided when the hospice 

patient is a nursing home resident, regardless of the setting, 
i.e., long-term acute care setting. 

D. General Inpatient Care. Payment at the inpatient rate 
is made when an individual receives general inpatient care in 
an inpatient facility for pain control or acute or chronic 
symptom management which cannot be managed in other 
settings. General inpatient care is a short-term level of care 
and is not intended to be a permanent solution to a negligent 
or absent caregiver. A lower level of care must be used once 
symptoms are under control. General inpatient care and 

nursing facility or intermediate care facility for persons with 
intellectual disabilities room and board cannot be reimbursed 
for the same recipient on the same covered days of service. 
Payment for general inpatient care may be made for a 
maximum of five days at a time, including the date of 
admission, but not counting the date of discharge. Payment 
for the day of discharge in a general inpatient setting shall be 
at the routine home level-of-care discharged alive rate.  

1. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
§4305. Hospice Payment Rates 

A. - A.2. … 
a. The hospice is paid for other physicians' services, 

such as direct patient care services, furnished to individual 
patients by hospice employees and for physician services 
furnished under arrangements made by the hospice unless 
the patient care services were furnished on a volunteer basis. 
The physician visit for the face-to-face encounter will not be 
reimbursed by the Medicaid Program.  

b. - d.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), LR 34:441 (March 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§4309. Limitation on Payments for Inpatient Care 

A. … 
1. During the 12-month period beginning November 1 

of each year and ending October 31, the number of inpatient 
days (both for general inpatient care and inpatient respite 
care) for any one hospice recipient may not exceed five days 
per occurrence. 

2. - 2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1472 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#053 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Major Teaching Hospitals  

Qualifying Criteria  
(LAC 50:V.1301-1309)  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:V.1301-1309 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule that established the reimbursement of major and minor 
teaching hospitals as peer groups under the prospective 
reimbursement methodology for hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The department amended 
the June 20, 1994 Rule to adopt new criteria for the 
reimbursement of graduate medical education (GME) 
pursuant to Section 15 Schedule 09 of Act 19 of the 1998 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and R.S. 39:71 
et seq (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 3). 

Act 347 of the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature revised the qualifying criteria for major teaching 
hospitals. In compliance with Act 347, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the qualifying criteria for major 
teaching hospitals. This Emergency Rule also repromulgated 
the March 20, 2000 Rule governing teaching hospitals in a 
codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative 
Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 6). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the July 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to clarify the qualifying 
criteria for a major teaching hospital (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 37, Number 11). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the November 20, 
2011 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 
the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
encouraging provider participation in the Medicaid Program 
so as to assure sufficient access to hospital services.  

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing inpatient hospital services rendered by 
non-rural, non-state hospitals designated as teaching 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1301. Major Teaching Hospitals 

A. The Louisiana Medical Assistance Program's 
recognition of a major teaching hospital is limited to 

facilities having a documented affiliation agreement with a 
Louisiana medical school accredited by the Liaison 
Committee on Medical Education (LCME). A major 
teaching hospital shall meet one of the following criteria: 

1. be a major participant in at least four approved 
medical residency programs and maintain an intern and 
resident full-time equivalency of at least 15 filled positions. 
At least two of the programs must be in medicine, surgery, 
obstetrics/gynecology, pediatrics, family practice, 
emergency medicine or psychiatry; or 

2. maintain an intern and resident full-time 
equivalency of at least 20 filled positions with an approved 
medical residency program in family practice located more 
than 150 miles from the medical school accredited by the 
LCME.  

B. For the purposes of recognition as a major teaching 
hospital, a facility shall be considered a "major participant" 
in a graduate medical education program if it meets the 
following criteria. The facility must: 

1. pay for all of the costs of the training program in 
the non-hospital or hospital setting, including: 

a. the residents' salaries and fringe benefits; 
b. the portion of the cost of teaching physicians' 

salaries and fringe benefits attributable to direct graduate 
medical education; and  

c. other direct administrative costs of the program; 
and 

2. participate in residency programs that: 
a. require residents to rotate for a required 

experience;  
b. require explicit approval by the appropriate 

residency review committee (RRC) of the medical school 
with which the facility is affiliated prior to utilization of the 
facility; or 

c. provide residency rotations of more than one 
sixth of the program length or more than a total of six 
months at the facility and are listed as part of an accredited 
program in the Graduate Medical Education Directory of 
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 
(ACGME). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§1303. Minor Teaching Hospitals 

A. The Louisiana Medical Assistance Program's 
recognition of a minor teaching hospital is limited to 
facilities having a documented affiliation agreement with a 
Louisiana medical school accredited by the LCME. A minor 
teaching hospital shall meet the following criteria: 

1. must participate significantly in at least one 
approved medical residency program in either medicine, 
surgery, obstetrics/gynecology, pediatrics, family practice, 
emergency medicine or psychiatry; and 

2. maintain an intern and resident full time 
equivalency of at least six filled positions. 

B. For the purposes of recognition as a minor teaching 
hospital, a facility is considered to "participate significantly" 
in a graduate medical education program if it meets the 
following criteria. The facility must:  

1. pay for all of the costs of the training program in 
the non-hospital or hospital setting, including: 

a. the residents' salaries and fringe benefits; 
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b. the portion of the cost of teaching physicians' 
salaries and fringe benefits attributable to direct graduate 
medical education; and 

c. other direct administrative costs of the program; 
and 

2. participate in residency programs that: 
a. require residents to rotate for a required 

experience;  
b. require explicit approval by the appropriate 

residency review committee of the medical school with 
which the facility is affiliated prior to utilization of the 
facility; or 

c. provide residency rotations of more than one 
sixth of the program length or more than a total of six 
months at the facility and are listed as part of an accredited 
program in the Graduate Medical Education Directory of 
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education; 
 i. if not listed, the sponsoring institution must 
have notified the ACGME, in writing, that the residents 
rotate through the facility and spend more than 1/6th of the 
program length or more than a total of six months at the 
facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§1305. Approved Medical Residency Program 

A. An approved medical residency program is one that 
meets one of the following criteria: 

1. counts toward certification of the participant in a 
specialty or sub-specialty listed in the current edition of 
either The Directory of Graduate Medical Education 
Programs published by the American Medical Association, 
Department of Directories and Publications, or The Annual 
Report and Reference Handbook published by the American 
Board of Medical Specialties;  

2. is approved by the ACGME as a fellowship 
program in geriatric medicine; or 

3. is a program that would be accredited except for the 
accrediting agency's reliance upon an accreditation standard 
that requires an entity to perform an induced abortion or 
require, provide, or refer for training in the performance of 
induced abortions, or make arrangements for such training 
regardless of whether the standard provides exceptions or 
exemptions. 

B. A residency program at a non-hospital facility may be 
counted by a hospital if: 

1. there is a written agreement with the non-hospital 
facility that requires the hospital facility to pay for the cost 
of the training program; and 

2. the agreement requires that the time that residents 
spend in the non-hospital setting is for patient care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§1307. Graduate Medical Education 

A. The bureau adopts criteria for the reimbursement of 
graduate medical education (GME) in facilities that do not 
qualify as major or minor teaching facilities. GME 
recognized by the Medical Assistance Program for 
reimbursement shall be limited to facilities having a 

documented affiliation agreement with a Louisiana medical 
school accredited by the LCME. 

B. Payment for GME costs shall be limited to the direct 
cost of interns and residents in addition to the teaching 
physician supervisory costs. Teaching physician supervisory 
costs shall be limited in accordance with the provisions of 
the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual. The GME 
component of the rate shall be based on hospital specific 
graduate medical education Medicaid cost for the latest year 
on which hospital prospective reimbursements are rebased 
trended forward in accordance with the prospective 
reimbursement methodology for hospitals. 

C. Hospitals implementing GME programs approved 
after the latest year on which hospital prospective 
reimbursements have been rebased shall have a GME 
component based on the first full cost reporting period that 
the approved GME program is in existence trended forward 
in accordance with the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for hospitals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§1309. Requirements for Reimbursement 

A. Qualification for teaching hospital status or to receive 
reimbursement for GME costs shall be re-established at the 
beginning of each fiscal year. 

B. To be reimbursed as a teaching hospital or to receive 
reimbursement for GME costs, a facility shall submit the 
following documentation to the Bureau of Health Services, 
Program Operations Section within 30 days of the beginning 
of each state fiscal year: 

1. a copy of the executed affiliation agreement for the 
time period for which the teaching hospital status or GME 
reimbursement applies; 

2. a copy of any agreements with non-hospital 
facilities; and 

3. a signed Certification For Teaching Hospital 
Recognition. 

C. Each hospital which is reimbursed as a teaching 
hospital or receives reimbursement for GME costs shall 
submit the following documentation to the Bureau of Health 
Services, Program Operations Section, within 90 days of the 
end of each state fiscal year: 

1. a copy of the intern and resident information 
system report that is submitted annually to the Medicare 
intermediary; and 

2. a copy of any notice given to the ACGME that 
residents rotate through a facility for more than one sixth of 
the program length or more than a total of six months. 

D. Copies of all contracts, payroll records and time 
allocations related to graduate medical education must be 
maintained by the hospital and available for review by the 
state and federal agencies or their agents upon request. 

E. No teaching hospital shall receive a per diem rate 
greater than 115 percent of its facility specific cost based on 
the latest rebasing year trended forward to the rate year in 
accordance with the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for hospitals. 

F. The peer group maximum for minor teaching 
hospitals shall be the peer group maximum for minor 
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teaching hospitals or the peer group maximum for peer 
group five, whichever is greater. 

G. If it is subsequently discovered that a hospital has 
been reimbursed as a major or minor teaching hospital and 
did not qualify for that peer group for any reimbursement 
period, retroactive adjustment shall be made to reflect the 
correct peer group to which the facility should have been 
assigned. The resulting overpayment will be recovered 
through either immediate repayment by the hospital or 
recoupment from any funds due to the hospital from the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#055 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Major Teaching Hospitals 
Supplemental Payments 

(LAC 50:V.1333)  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.1333 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to provide for a supplemental 
Medicaid payment to non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals for having a Medicaid inpatient utilization greater 
than 30 percent and teaching hospitals for furnishing 
additional graduate medical education services as a result of 
the suspension of training programs at the Medical Center of 
Louisiana at New Orleans due to the impact of Hurricane 
Katrina (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 5).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to provide a 
supplemental Medicaid payment to acute care hospitals 
designated as major teaching hospitals to facilitate the 
development of public-private collaborations in order to 
preserve access to medically necessary services for Medicaid 
recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 37,Number 6). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the July 1, 2011 Emergency Rule. This action 
is being taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by encouraging provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program so as to assure sufficient access to 
hospital services.  

Effective June 28, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state 
hospitals designated as major teaching hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1333. Major Teaching Hospitals 

A. … 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, 

a quarterly supplemental payment shall be issued to non-
rural, non-state acute care hospitals for inpatient services 
rendered during the quarter. These payments shall be used to 
facilitate the development of public-private collaborations to 
preserve access to medically necessary services for Medicaid 
recipients. Aggregate payments to qualifying hospitals shall 
not exceed the maximum allowable cap for the quarter.  

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payments the non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospital must: 

a. be designated as a major teaching hospital by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals in state fiscal year 2011; 

b. have provided at least 25,000 Medicaid acute 
care paid days for state fiscal year 2010 dates of service; and 

c. have provided at least 5,000 Medicaid distinct 
part psychiatric unit paid days for state fiscal year 2010 
dates of service. 

2. Payments shall be distributed quarterly and shall be 
calculated using the Medicaid paid days for service dates in 
state fiscal year 2010 as a proxy for SFY 2012 service dates. 

3. Payments are applicable to Medicaid service dates 
provided during the first quarter of state fiscal year 2012 
only and shall not exceed $14,000,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
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copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#054 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services  
Neonatal and Pediatric Intensive Care Units and  

Outlier Payment Methodologies  
(LAC 50:V.953, 954 and 967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.953-954 and 
§967 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals 
to align the prospective per diem rates more closely with 
reported costs, including the neonatal intensive care unit 
(NICU) and pediatric intensive care unit (PICU) rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 9). 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repromulgated all of the 
provisions governing outlier payments for inpatient hospital 
services in a codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 3). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to adjust the 
reimbursement rates paid for NICU and PICU services 
rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals and to revise the 
outlier payment methodology (Louisiana Register, Volume 
37, Number 3). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the March 1, 2011 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by maintaining access to 
neonatal and pediatric intensive care unit services and 
encouraging the continued participation of hospitals in the 
Medicaid Program.  

Effective June 27, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to adjust the reimbursement rates 
paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals for neonatal and 
pediatric intensive care unit services and to revise the 
provisions governing outlier payments. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - G. … 
H. Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICU) 

1. - 2. … 
3. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 

2011, the per diem rates for Medicaid inpatient services 
rendered by NICU Level III and NICU Level III regional 
units, recognized by the department as such on December 
31, 2010, shall be adjusted to include an increase that varies 
based on the following five tiers: 

a. Tier 1. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage exceeds 10 percent, the additional per diem 
increase shall be $601.98; 

b. Tier 2. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage is less than or equal to 10 percent, but exceeds 5 
percent, the additional per diem increase shall be $624.66; 

c. Tier 3. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage is less than or equal to 5 percent, but exceeds 1.5 
percent, the additional per diem increase shall be $419.83;  

d. Tier 4. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage is less than or equal to 1.5 percent, but greater 
than 0 percent, and the hospital received greater than .25 
percent of the outlier payments for dates of service in state 
fiscal year (SFY) 2008 and SFY 2009 and calendar year 
2010, the additional per diem increase shall be $263.33; or 

e. Tier 5. If the qualifying hospital received less 
than .25 percent, but greater than 0 percent of the outlier 
payments for dates of service in SFY 2008 and SFY 2009 
and calendar year 2010, the additional per diem increase 
shall be $35. 

4. A qualifying hospital’s placement into a tier will be 
determined by the average of its percentage of paid NICU 
Medicaid days for SFY 2010 dates of service to the total of 
all qualifying hospitals’ paid NICU days for the same time 
period, and its percentage of NICU patient outlier payments 
made as of December 31, 2010 for dates of service in SFY 
2008 and SFY 2009 and calendar year 2010 to the total 
NICU outlier payments made to all qualifying hospitals for 
these same time periods.  

a. This average shall be weighted to provide that 
each hospital’s percentage of paid NICU days will comprise 
25 percent of this average, while the percentage of outlier 
payments will comprise 75 percent. In order to qualify for 
Tiers 1 through 4, a hospital must have received at least .25 
percent of outlier payments in SFY 2008, SFY 2009, and 
calendar year 2010.  

b. SFY 2010 is used as the base period to determine 
the allocation of NICU and PICU outlier payments for 
hospitals having both NICU and PICU units.  

c. If the daily paid outlier amount per paid NICU 
day for any hospital is greater than the mean plus one 
standard deviation of the same calculation for all NICU 
Level III and NICU Level III regional hospitals, then the 
basis for calculating the hospital’s percentage of NICU 
patient outlier payments shall be to substitute a payment 
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amount equal to the highest daily paid outlier amount of any 
hospital not exceeding this limit, multiplied by the exceeding 
hospital’s paid NICU days for SFY 2010, to take the place of 
the hospital’s actual paid outlier amount. 

NOTE: Children’s specialty hospitals are not eligible for the 
per diem adjustments established in §953.H.3. 

5. The department shall evaluate all rates and tiers two 
years after implementation.  

I. Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) 
1. - 2. … 
3. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 

2011, the per diem rates for Medicaid inpatient services 
rendered by PICU Level I and PICU Level II units, 
recognized by the department as such on December 31, 
2010, shall be adjusted to include an increase that varies 
based on the following four tiers: 

a. Tier 1. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage exceeds 20 percent, the additional per diem 
increase shall be $418.34; 

b. Tier 2. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage is less than or equal to 20 percent, but exceeds 10 
percent, the additional per diem increase shall be $278.63; 

c. Tier 3. If the qualifying hospital’s average 
percentage is less than or equal to 10 percent, but exceeds 0 
percent and the hospital received greater than .25 percent of 
the outlier payments for dates of service in SFY 2008 and 
SFY 2009 and calendar year 2010, the additional per diem 
increase shall be $178.27; or 

d. Tier 4. If the qualifying hospital received less 
than .25 percent, but greater than 0 percent of the outlier 
payments for dates of service in SFY 2008, SFY 2009 and 
calendar year 2010, the additional per diem increase shall be 
$35. 

4. A qualifying hospital’s placement into a tier will be 
determined by the average of its percentage of paid PICU 
Medicaid days for SFY 2010 dates of service to the total of 
all qualifying hospitals’ paid PICU days for the same time 
period, and its percentage of PICU patient outlier payments 
made as of December 31, 2010 for dates of service in SFY 
2008 and SFY 2009 and calendar year 2010 to the total 
PICU outlier payments made to all qualifying hospitals for 
these same time periods.  

a. This average shall be weighted to provide that 
each hospital’s percentage of paid PICU days will comprise 
25 percent of this average, while the percentage of outlier 
payments will comprise 75 percent. In order to qualify for 
Tiers 1 through 3, a hospital must have received at least .25 
percent of outlier payments in SFY 2008, SFY 2009, and 
calendar year 2010. 

b. SFY 2010 is used as the base period to determine 
the allocation of NICU and PICU outlier payments for 
hospitals having both NICU and PICU units.  

c. If the daily paid outlier amount per paid PICU 
day for any hospital is greater than the mean plus one 
standard deviation of the same calculation for all PICU 
Level I and PICU Level II hospitals, then the basis for 
calculating the hospital’s percentage of PICU patient outlier 
payments shall be to substitute a payment amount equal to 
the highest daily paid outlier amount of any hospital not 
exceeding this limit, multiplied by the exceeding hospital’s 
paid PICU days for SFY 2010, to take the place of the 
hospital’s actual paid outlier amount. 

NOTE: Children’s specialty hospitals are not eligible for the 
per diem adjustments established in §953.I.3. 

5. The department shall evaluate all rates and tiers two 
years after implementation. 

J. - O.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2561 (November 
2010), LR 38: 
§954. Outlier Payments 

A. - B. … 
C. To qualify as a payable outlier claim, a deadline of 

not later than six months subsequent to the date that the final 
claim is paid shall be established for receipt of the written 
request for outlier payments.  

1. Effective March 1, 2011, in addition to the 6 month 
timely filing deadline, outlier claims for dates of service on 
or before February 28, 2011 must be received by the 
department on or before May 31, 2011 in order to qualify for 
payment. Claims for this time period received by the 
department after May 31, 2011 shall not qualify for 
payment. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 
2011, a catastrophic outlier pool shall be established with 
annual payments limited to $10,000,000. In order to qualify 
for payments from this pool, the following conditions must 
be met: 

1. the claims must be for cases for: 
a. children less than six years of age who received 

inpatient services in a disproportionate share hospital setting; 
or  

b. infants less than one year of age who receive 
inpatient services in any acute care hospital setting; and 

2. the costs of the case must exceed $150,000.  
a. The hospital specific cost to charge ratio utilized 

to calculate the claim costs shall be calculated using the 
Medicaid NICU or PICU costs and charge data from the 
most current cost report. 

E. The initial outlier pool will cover eligible claims with 
admission dates from the period beginning March 1, 2011 
through June 30, 2011.  

1. Payment for the initial partial year pool will be 
$3,333,333 and shall be the costs of each hospital’s 
qualifying claims net of claim payments divided by the sum 
of all qualifying claims costs in excess of payments, 
multiplied by $3,333,333.  

2. Cases with admission dates on or before February 
28, 2011 that continue beyond the March 1, 2011 effective 
date, and that exceed the $150,000 cost threshold, shall be 
eligible for payment in the initial catastrophic outlier pool.  

3. Only the costs of the cases applicable to dates of 
service on or after March 1, 2011 shall be allowable for 
determination of payment from the pool. 

F. Beginning with SFY 2012, the outlier pool will cover 
eligible claims with admission dates during the state fiscal 
year (July 1 through June 30) and shall not exceed 
$10,000,000 annually. Payment shall be the costs of each 
hospital’s eligible claims less the prospective payment, 
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divided by the sum of all eligible claims costs in excess of 
payments, multiplied by $10,000,000. 

G. The claim must be submitted no later than six months 
subsequent to the date that the final claim is paid and no 
later than September 15 of each year. 

H. Qualifying cases for which payments are not finalized 
by September 1 shall be eligible for inclusion for payment in 
the subsequent state fiscal year outlier pool. 

I. Outliers are not payable for: 
1. transplant procedures; or 
2. services provided to patients with Medicaid 

coverage that is secondary to other payer sources. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:519 (March 2010), amended LR 38: 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - F. … 
G. Children’s specialty hospitals are not eligible for the 

per diem adjustments established in §953.H.3 and §953.I.3. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2562 (November 2010), amended LR 38: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#056 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services  
Reimbursement Methodology  
Medical Education Payments  

(LAC 50:V.551, 967 and 1331) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.551, §967 and 
§1331 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted provisions under the 
Medicaid State Plan to establish a coordinated system of 
care through an integrated network for the delivery of 
healthcare services to Medicaid recipients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 37, Number 6). This delivery system, 

comprised of managed care organizations (MCOs), was 
implemented to improve performance and health care 
outcomes for Medicaid recipients. The per member per 
month reimbursements to MCOs do not include payments 
for medical education services rendered by participating 
hospitals.  

Therefore, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
which adopted provisions to continue medical education 
payments to state hospitals, children’s specialty hospitals, 
and acute care hospitals classified as teaching hospitals 
when the hospitals are reimbursed by prepaid risk-bearing 
MCOs for inpatient hospital services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 38, Number 2).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the February 1, 2012 Emergency Rule to 
clarify the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 38, Number 3). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the March 
20, 2012 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
ensuring sufficient provider participation and recipient 
access to services. 

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 5. State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§551. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments for inpatient services 
which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing managed 
care organization (MCO) shall be paid monthly by Medicaid 
as interim lump sum payments.  

1. Hospitals with qualifying medical education 
programs shall submit a listing of inpatient claims paid each 
month by each MCO. 

a. Qualifying medical education programs are 
defined as graduate medical education, paramedical 
education, and nursing schools. 

2. Monthly payments shall be calculated by 
multiplying the number of qualifying inpatient days times 
the medical education costs included in each state hospital’s 
interim per diem rate as calculated per the latest filed 
Medicaid cost report. 

3. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered days and allowable inpatient Medicaid 
medical education costs for the cost reporting period per the 
Medicaid cost report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
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Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments for inpatient services 
which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing managed 
care organization (MCO) shall be paid by Medicaid monthly 
as interim lump sum payments.  

1. Hospitals with qualifying medical education 
programs shall submit a listing of inpatient claims paid each 
month by each MCO. 

a. Qualifying medical education programs are 
defined as graduate medical education, paramedical 
education, and nursing schools. 

2. Monthly payments shall be calculated by 
multiplying the number of qualifying inpatient days times 
the medical education costs included in each children’s 
specialty hospital’s interim per diem rate as calculated per 
the latest filed Medicaid cost report. 

3. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered days and medical education costs for 
the cost reporting period per the Medicaid cost report. 
Reimbursement shall be at the same percentage that is 
reimbursed for fee-for-service covered Medicaid costs after 
application of reimbursement caps as specified in §967.A-C 
and reductions specified in §967.F-H. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2562 (November 2010), LR 37:2162 (July 2011), LR 38: 
Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments for inpatient services 
which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing managed 
care organization (MCO) shall be paid monthly by Medicaid 
as interim lump sum payments.  

1. Hospitals with qualifying medical education 
programs shall submit a listing of inpatient claims paid each 
month by each MCO. 

a. Qualifying medical education programs are 
defined as graduate medical education, paramedical 
education, and nursing schools. 

2. Qualifying hospitals must have a direct medical 
education add-on component included in their prospective 
Medicaid per diem rates as of January 31, 2012 which was 
carved-out of the per diem rate reported to the MCOs. 

3. Monthly payments shall be calculated by 
multiplying the number of qualifying inpatient days 
submitted by the medical education costs component 
included in each hospital’s fee-for-service prospective per 
diem rate. Monthly payment amounts shall be verified by the 
Department semi-annually using reports of MCO covered 
days generated from encounter data. Payment adjustments or 
recoupments shall be made as necessary based on the MCO 
encounter data reported to the department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
34:877 (May 2008), LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) if it is determined that submission 
to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#057 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program  
Emergency Ambulance Services 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:XXVII.327 and 355) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXVII.327 and 
§355 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides reimbursement for 
emergency ambulance transportation services. The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
established supplemental payments for governmental 
ambulance providers who render emergency medical 
transportation services to low income and needy patients in 
the state of Louisiana (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, 
Number 6). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions of the July 1, 2011 
Emergency Rule to allow supplemental payments for all 
ambulance providers who render emergency medical 
transportation services to low income and needy patients 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 7). The July 20, 
2011 Emergency Rule was amended to allow supplemental 
payments to providers of air ambulance transportation 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 8). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
rescinded and replaced the July 1, 2011, the July 20, 2011, 
and the August 20, 2011 Emergency Rules in order to 
promulgate clear and concise provisions governing 
supplemental payments for emergency ambulance services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 9). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
September 20, 2011 Emergency Rule to clarify the 
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provisions governing supplemental payments for emergency 
ambulance services (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, 
Number 12). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the December 20, 2011 Emergency 
Rule to further clarify the provisions governing 
supplemental payments for emergency ambulance services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 3). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the March 20, 2012 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring continued access to 
emergency ambulance services.  

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing supplemental payments for emergency 
medical transportation services rendered by ambulance 
providers. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 3. Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter B. Ground Transportation 
§327. Supplemental Payments for Ambulance 

Providers 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after September 

20, 2011, quarterly supplemental payments shall be issued to 
qualifying ambulance providers for emergency medical 
transportation services rendered during the quarter.  

B. Qualifying Criteria. Ambulance service providers 
must meet the following requirements in order to qualify to 
receive supplemental payments. The ambulance service 
provider must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider; 
3. provider of emergency medical transportation or air 

ambulance services pursuant to 42 CFR 440.170; and 
4. be affiliated with the Statewide Ambulance Service 

District. 
C. Payment Methodology. The supplemental payment to 

each qualifying ambulance service provider will not exceed 
the sum of: 

1. the difference between the Medicaid payments 
otherwise made to these qualifying providers for emergency 
medical transportation and air ambulance services and the 
average amount that would have been paid at the equivalent 
community rate; and 

2. the difference between the payments made to these 
qualifying providers for emergency medical transportation 
and air ambulance services provided to uninsured patients 
and the average amount that would have been paid at the 
equivalent community rate.  

D. The supplemental payment will be determined in a 
manner to bring payments for these services up to the 
community rate level. The community rate is defined as the 
average amount payable by commercial insurers for the 
same services. 

E. Supplemental Payment Calculation. The following 
methodology shall be used to establish the quarterly 
supplemental payment for ambulance providers. 

1. The department shall identify Medicaid ambulance 
service providers that were qualified to receive supplemental 
Medicaid reimbursement for emergency medical 

transportation services and air ambulance services during the 
quarter. 

2. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall identify the 
emergency medical transportation and air ambulance 
services for which the Medicaid ambulance service 
providers were eligible to be reimbursed. 

3. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the reimbursement paid to the Medicaid ambulance service 
providers for the emergency medical transportation and air 
ambulance services identified under Paragraph E.2. 

4. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the Medicaid ambulance service provider's equivalent 
community rate for each of the Medicaid ambulance service 
provider's services identified under Paragraph E.2. 

5. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall subtract an 
amount equal to the reimbursement calculation for each of 
the emergency medical transportation and air ambulance 
services under Paragraph E.3 from an amount equal to the 
amount calculated for each of the emergency medical 
transportation and air ambulance services under Paragraph 
E.4. 

6. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the sum of each of the amounts calculated for emergency 
medical transportation and air ambulance services under 
Paragraph E.5. 

7. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
each emergency ambulance service provider's upper 
payment limit by totaling the provider’s total Medicaid 
payment differential from Paragraph E.6. 

8. The department will reimburse providers based on 
the following criteria: 

a. For ambulance service providers identified in 
Paragraph E.1 located in large urban areas and owned by 
governmental entities, reimbursement will be up to 130 
percent of the provider’s average commercial rate calculated 
in Paragraph E.7. Aggregate payment will never exceed the 
maximum as defined in Subsection H below. 

b. For all other ambulance service providers 
identified in E.1 reimbursement will be up to 80 percent of 
the provider’s average commercial rate calculated in E.7.  

9. - 17. Repealed. 
F. Calculation of Average Commercial Rate. The 

supplemental payment will be determined in a manner to 
bring payments for these services up to the average 
commercial rate level.  

1. For purposes of these provisions, the average 
community rate level is defined as the average amount 
payable by the commercial payers for the same services. 

2. The state will align the paid Medicaid claims with 
the Medicare fees for each HCPCS or CPT code for the 
ambulance provider and calculate the Medicare payment for 
those claims. The state will then calculate an overall 
Medicare to commercial conversion factor for each 
ambulance provider by dividing the total amount of the 
average commercial payments for the claims by the total 
Medicare payments for the claims. The commercial to 
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Medicare ratio for each provider will be re-determined at 
least every three years. 

G. The supplemental payment will be made effective for 
emergency medical transportation provided on or after 
September 20, 2011. This payment is based on the average 
amount that would have been paid at the equivalent 
community rate. After the initial calculation for fiscal year 
2011-2012, the department will rebase the equivalent 
community rate using adjudicated claims data for services 
from the most recently completed fiscal year. This 
calculation may be made annually, but shall be made no less 
than every three years. 

H. The total amount to be paid by the state to qualified 
Medicaid ambulance service providers for supplemental 
Medicaid payments shall not exceed the total of the 
Medicaid payment differentials calculated under §327.E.6 
for all qualified Medicaid ambulance service providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Subchapter C. Air Transportation 
§355. Supplemental Payments for Ambulance 

Providers 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after September 

20, 2011, quarterly supplemental payments shall be issued to 
qualifying ambulance providers for emergency medical air 
transportation services rendered during the quarter.  

B. Qualifying Criteria. Ambulance service providers 
must meet the following requirements in order to qualify to 
receive supplemental payments. The ambulance service 
provider must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider; 
3. provider of emergency medical transportation or air 

ambulance services pursuant to 42 CFR 440.170; and 
4. be affiliated with the Statewide Ambulance Service 

District. 
C. Payment Methodology. The supplemental payment to 

each qualifying ambulance service provider will not exceed 
the sum of: 

1. the difference between the Medicaid payments 
otherwise made to these qualifying providers for emergency 
medical transportation and air ambulance services and the 
average amount that would have been paid at the equivalent 
community rate; and 

2. the difference between the payments made to these 
qualifying providers for emergency medical transportation 
and air ambulance services provided to uninsured patients 
and the average amount that would have been paid at the 
equivalent community rate.  

D. The supplemental payment will be determined in a 
manner to bring payments for these services up to the 
community rate level. The community rate is defined as the 
average amount payable by commercial insurers for the 
same services. 

E. Supplemental Payment Calculation. The following 
methodology shall be used to establish the quarterly 
supplemental payment for ambulance providers. 

1. The department shall identify Medicaid ambulance 
service providers that were qualified to receive supplemental 

Medicaid reimbursement for emergency medical 
transportation services and air ambulance services during the 
quarter. 

2. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall identify the 
emergency medical transportation and air ambulance 
services for which the Medicaid ambulance service 
providers were eligible to be reimbursed. 

3. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the reimbursement paid to the Medicaid ambulance service 
providers for the emergency medical transportation and air 
ambulance services identified under Paragraph E.2. 

4. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the Medicaid ambulance service provider's equivalent 
community rate for each of the Medicaid ambulance service 
provider's services identified under Paragraph E.2. 

5. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall subtract an 
amount equal to the reimbursement calculation for each of 
the emergency medical transportation and air ambulance 
services under Paragraph E.3 from an amount equal to the 
amount calculated for each of the emergency medical 
transportation and air ambulance services under Paragraph 
E.4. 

6. For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
the sum of each of the amounts calculated for emergency 
medical transportation and air ambulance services under 
Paragraph E.5. 

7.  For each Medicaid ambulance service provider 
described in Paragraph E.1, the department shall calculate 
each emergency ambulance service provider's upper 
payment limit by totaling the provider’s total Medicaid 
payment differential from Paragraph B.6. 

8. The department will reimburse providers based on 
the following criteria. 

a. For ambulance service providers identified in 
Paragraph E.1. located in large urban areas and owned by 
governmental entities, reimbursement will be up to 130 
percent of the provider’s average commercial rate calculated 
in Paragraph E.7. Aggregate payment will never exceed the 
maximum as defined in Subsection H. 

b. For all other ambulance service providers 
identified in Paragraph E.1 reimbursement will be up to 80 
percent of the provider’s average commercial rate calculated 
in Paragraph E.7.  

9. - 17. Repealed. 
F. Calculation of Average Commercial Rate. The 

supplemental payment will be determined in a manner to 
bring payments for these services up to the average 
commercial rate level.  

1. For purposes of these provisions, the average 
commercial rate level is defined as the average amount 
payable by the commercial payers for the same services. 

2. The state will align the paid Medicaid claims with 
the Medicare fees for each HCPCS or CPT code for the 
ambulance provider and calculate the Medicare payment for 
those claims. The state will then calculate an overall 
Medicare to commercial conversion factor for each 
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ambulance provider by dividing the total amount of the 
average commercial payments for the claims by the total 
Medicare payments for the claims. The commercial to 
Medicare ratio for each provider will be re-determined at 
least every three years. 

G. The supplemental payment will be made effective for 
air ambulance services provided on or after September 20, 
2011. This payment is based on the average amount that 
would have been paid at the equivalent community rate. 
After the initial calculation for fiscal year 2011-2012, the 
department will rebase the equivalent community rate using 
adjudicated claims data for services from the most recently 
completed fiscal year. This calculation may be made 
annually, but shall not be made less often than every three 
years. 

H. The total amount to be paid by the state to qualified 
Medicaid ambulance service providers for supplemental 
Medicaid payments shall not exceed the total of the 
Medicaid payment differentials calculated under §327.E.6 
for all qualified Medicaid ambulance service providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#058 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities  
Reimbursement Methodology  

Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration  
(LAC 50:II.20023) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:II.20023 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 

which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for nursing facilities to adopt provisions to 
establish a supplemental Medicaid payment for nursing 
facilities who enter into an agreement with a state or local 
governmental entity for the purpose of providing health care 
services to low income and needy patients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 37, Number 11). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
November 1, 2011 Emergency Rule. This action is being 
taken to secure new federal funding and to promote the 
public health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
sufficient provider participation. 

Effective June 30, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing facilities to establish a supplemental Medicaid 
payment to nursing facilities who participate in the Low 
Income and Needy Care Collaboration. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20023. Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after November 1, 
2011, quarterly supplemental payments shall be issued to 
qualifying nursing facilities for services rendered during the 
quarter. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying 
nursing facilities shall not exceed the available upper 
payment limit per state fiscal year. 

B. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the nursing facility must be affiliated 
with a state or local governmental entity through a Low 
Income and Needy Care Nursing Facility Collaboration 
Agreement. 

1. A nursing facility is defined as a currently licensed 
and certified nursing facility which is owned or operated by 
a private entity or non-state governmental entity. 

2. A Low Income and Needy Care Nursing Facility 
Collaboration Agreement is defined as an agreement 
between a nursing facility and a state or local governmental 
entity to collaborate for purposes of providing healthcare 
services to low income and needy patients. 

C. Each qualifying nursing facility shall receive 
quarterly supplemental payments for nursing facility 
services. Quarterly payment distribution shall be limited to 
one-fourth of the aggregated difference between each 
qualifying nursing facility’s Medicare rate and Medicaid 
payments the nursing facility receives for covered services 
provided to Medicaid recipients during a 12 consecutive 
month period. Medicare rates in effect for the dates of 
service included in the supplemental payment period will be 
used to establish the upper payment limit. Medicaid 
payments will be used for the same time period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
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Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#059 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities  
Reimbursement Methodology  

Private Room Conversions  
(LAC 50:II.20010) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:II.20010 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption if the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing facilities to allow for additional payments for private 
room conversions when a Medicaid participating nursing 
facility converts one or more semi-private rooms to private 
rooms for occupancy by Medicaid recipients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 33, Number 8). Act 150 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature directed the 
department to increase the fair rental value minimum 
occupancy percentage from 70 percent to 85 percent. The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for nursing facilities to ensure that the provisions governing 
private room conversions are consistent with the increase in 
the fair rental value minimum occupancy percentage which 
was adopted on July 1, 2011 (Louisiana Register, Volume 
37, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the November 1, 2011 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken in order to avoid 
a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. 

Effective June 30, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
nursing facilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20010. Additional Payments and Square Footage 

Adjustments for Private Room Conversion 
[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1310] 

A. - D.2.c. ... 
3. Resident days used in the fair rental value per diem 

calculation will be the greater of the annualized actual 
resident days from the base year cost report or 85 percent of 
the revised annual bed days available after the change in 
licensed beds. 

D.4 - E.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1646 (August 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#060 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
State-Owned HospitalsMedical Education Payments 

(LAC 50:V.5319, 5519, 5919 and 6127) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.5319, §5519, 
§5919 and amends §6127 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted provisions under the 
Medicaid State Plan to establish a coordinated system of 
care through an integrated network for the delivery of 
healthcare services to Medicaid recipients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 37, Number 6). This delivery system, 
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comprised of managed care organizations (MCOs), was 
implemented to improve performance and health care 
outcomes for Medicaid recipients. The per member per 
month reimbursements to MCOs do not include payments 
for medical education services rendered by participating 
hospitals.  

Therefore, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
in order to continue medical education payments to state-
owned hospitals when the hospitals are reimbursed by 
prepaid risk-bearing MCOs for outpatient surgeries, clinic 
services, rehabilitation services, and other covered outpatient 
hospital services (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 
2). The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the February 10, 2012 Emergency Rule to 
clarify the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 38, Number 3). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the March 
20, 2012 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
ensuring sufficient provider participation and recipient 
access to services. 

Effective July 19, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
outpatient hospital services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5319. State-Owned Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 
2012, medical education payments for outpatient surgery 
services which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing 
managed care organization (MCO) shall be reimbursed by 
Medicaid annually through the Medicaid cost report 
settlement process.  

1. For purposes of these provisions, qualifying 
medical education programs are defined as graduate medical 
education, paramedical education, and nursing schools. 

2. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered outpatient surgery services and 
Medicaid medical education costs for the cost reporting 
period per the Medicaid cost report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5519. State-Owned Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 10, 
2012, medical education payments for outpatient clinic 
services which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing 
managed care organization (MCO) shall be reimbursed by 
Medicaid annually through the Medicaid cost report 
settlement process.  

1. Qualifying medical education programs are defined 
as graduate medical education, paramedical education, and 
nursing schools. 

2. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered outpatient clinic services and Medicaid 
medical education costs for the cost reporting period per the 
Medicaid cost report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 59. Rehabilitation Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5519. State-Owned Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 10, 
2012, medical education payments for outpatient 
rehabilitation services which are reimbursed by a prepaid 
risk-bearing managed care organization (MCO) shall be 
reimbursed by Medicaid annually through the Medicaid cost 
report settlement process.  

1. Qualifying medical education programs are defined 
as graduate medical education, paramedical education, and 
nursing schools. 

2. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered outpatient rehabilitation services and 
Medicaid medical education costs for the cost reporting 
period per the Medicaid cost report.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6127. State-Owned Hospitals 

A. … 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments which are reimbursed by 
a prepaid risk-bearing managed care organization (MCO) 
shall be reimbursed by Medicaid annually through the 
Medicaid cost report settlement process to state-owned 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
outpatient surgery services, clinic services, laboratory 
services, and rehabilitation services.  

1. Qualifying medical education programs are defined 
as graduate medical education, paramedical education, and 
nursing schools. 

2. Final payment shall be determined based on the 
actual MCO covered outpatient services and Medicaid 
medical education costs for the cost reporting period per the 
Medicaid cost report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:957 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) if it is determined that submission 
to CMS for review and approval is required. 
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Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#061 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Reimbursement Methodology 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:IX.15151 and 15153) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts §15151 and §15153 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions in the Professional Services Program to provide 
supplemental payments to physicians and other eligible 
professional service practitioners employed by state-owned 
or operated entities (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 
6). The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for professional services to provide a 
supplemental payment to physicians and other professional 
practitioners employed by, or under contract with, non-state 
owned or operated governmental entities (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 6). In addition, this 
Emergency Rule also repromulgated the provisions of the 
June 20, 2006 Rule in a codified format for inclusion in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code. This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the July 1, 
2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 
the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
encouraging continued provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program and ensuring recipient access to services. 

Effective June 26, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
services rendered by physicians and other professional 
service practitioners.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter F. Supplemental Payments  
§15151. Qualifying CriteriaState Owned or Operated 

Professional Services Practices  
A. In order to qualify to receive supplemental payments, 

physicians and other eligible professional service 
practitioners must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider; and  
3. employed by a state-owned or operated entity, such 

as a state-operated hospital or other state entity, including a 
state academic health system, which: 

a. has been designated by the bureau as an essential 
provider; and 

b. has furnished satisfactory data to DHH regarding 
the commercial insurance payments made to its employed 
physicians and other professional service practitioners. 

B. The supplemental payment to each qualifying 
physician or other eligible professional services practitioner 
in the practice plan will equal the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made to these qualifying 
providers for professional services and the average amount 
that would have been paid at the equivalent community rate. 
The community rate is defined as the average amount that 
would have been paid by commercial insurers for the same 
services.  

C. The supplemental payments shall be calculated by 
applying a conversion factor to actual charges for claims 
paid during a quarter for Medicaid services provided by the 
state-owned or operated practice plan providers. The 
commercial payments and respective charges shall be 
obtained for the state fiscal year preceding the 
reimbursement year. If this data is not provided satisfactorily 
to DHH, the default conversion factor shall equal “1”. This 
conversion factor shall be established annually for qualifying 
physicians/practitioners by: 

1. determining the amount that private commercial 
insurance companies paid for commercial claims submitted 
by the state-owned or operated practice plan or entity; and 

2. dividing that amount by the respective charges for 
these payers. 

D. The actual charges for paid Medicaid services shall be 
multiplied by the conversion factor to determine the 
maximum allowable Medicaid reimbursement. For eligible 
non-physician practitioners, the maximum allowable 
Medicaid reimbursement shall be limited to 80 percent of 
this amount. 

E. The actual base Medicaid payments to the qualifying 
physicians/practitioners employed by a state-owned or 
operated entity shall then be subtracted from the maximum 
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Medicaid reimbursable amount to determine the 
supplemental payment amount.  

F. The supplemental payment for services provided by 
the qualifying state-owned or operated physician practice 
plan will be implemented through a quarterly supplemental 
payment to providers, based on specific Medicaid paid claim 
data.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:0000 (June 2012). 
§15153. Qualifying CriteriaNon-State Owned or 

Operated Professional Services Practices 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 

physicians and other professional service practitioners who 
are employed by, or under contract with, a non-state owned 
or operated governmental entity, such as a non-state owned 
or operated public hospital, may qualify for supplemental 
payments for services rendered to Medicaid recipients. To 
qualify for the supplemental payment, the physician or 
professional service practitioner must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; and 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider. 

B. The supplemental payment will be determined in a 
manner to bring payments for these services up to the 
community rate level. 

1. For purposes of these provisions, the community 
rate shall be defined as the rates paid by commercial payers 
for the same service. 

C. The non-state governmental entity shall periodically 
furnish satisfactory data for calculating the community rate 
as requested by DHH. 

D. The supplemental payment amount shall be 
determined by establishing a Medicare to community rate 
conversion factor for the physician or physician practice 
plan. At the end of each quarter, for each Medicaid claim 
paid during the quarter, a Medicare payment amount will be 
calculated and the Medicare to community rate conversion 
factor will be applied to the result. Medicaid payments made 
for the claims paid during the quarter will then be subtracted 
from this amount to establish the supplemental payment 
amount for that quarter. 

E. The supplemental payments shall be made on a 
quarterly basis and the Medicare to community rate 
conversion factor shall be recalculated periodically as 
determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:0000 (June 2012). 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#062 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

Practice of Mental Health Counseling for  
Serious Mental Illnesses (LAC 46:LX.505) 

The Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Louisiana Professional Counselors Board of Examiners has 
exercised the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, specifically R.S. 49:953(B), to adopt rules 
relative to the practice of mental health counseling, to be 
designated Section 505 of the board rules. This Emergency 
Rule was initially effective July 1, 2011, then on October 1, 
2011, and again on March 1, 2012 for a period of 120 days. 
The same Emergency Rule is now effective July 1, 2012 for 
a period of 120 days. The Licensed Professional Counselor 
Board of Examiners is still in the process of developing 
permanent rules for Act 320 of 2011. 

This action is necessary due to the immediate effect of Act 
320 of 2011, which places additional duties on Louisiana 
professional counselors who treat serious mental illnesses. 
Because Act 320 was effective on June 28, 2011 upon the 
governor’s signature, and because of the substantive changes 
made, there is insufficient time to promulgate these rules 
under the usual Administrative Procedures Act rulemaking 
process. However, it is the intent of the Louisiana 
Professional Counselors Board to submit a Notice of Intent 
to adopt a permanent Rule as soon as possible in connection 
with the proposed adoption of emergency rules on this 
subject. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LX.  Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 

Examiners 
Subpart 1.  Licensed Professional Counselors 

Chapter 5. License and Practice of Counseling 
§505. Serious Mental Illnesses 

A. Introduction. Act 320 of the 2011 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislative amended the Louisiana 
Professional Counselors Practice Act as follows. 

1. Mental Health Counseling Servicesrendering or 
offering prevention, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment, 
which include psychotherapy, of mental, emotional, 
behavioral, and addiction disorders to individuals, groups, 
organizations, or the general public by a licensed 
professional counselor, which is consistent with his 
professional training as prescribed by R.S. 37:1107(A)(8), 
and code of ethics/behavior involving the application of 
principles, methods, or procedures of the mental health 
counseling profession. 

2. However, an LPC may not assess, diagnose, or 
provide treatment to any individual suffering from a serious 
mental illness unless that individual is under the active care 
of a practitioner who is licensed by the State Board of 
Medical Examiners and is authorized to prescribe 
medications in the management of psychiatric illness and 
only in the context of an ongoing consultation and 
collaboration with that practitioner. 
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B. Applicability. The requirement for collaboration and 
consultation set forth above shall apply only if any of the 
following conditions are assessed, diagnosed, or treated by 
the counselor:  

1. schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder; 
2. bipolar disorder; 
3. panic disorder; 
4. obsessive-compulsive disorder; 
5. major depressive disorder; 
6. anorexia/bulimia; 
7. intermittent explosive disorder; 
8. autism; 
9. psychosis NOS (not otherwise specified) when 

diagnosed in a child under 17 years of age; 
10. Rett’s disorder; 
11. Tourette’s disorder; 
12. dementia. 

C. Definitions 
1. As used herein, ongoing consultation and 

collaborationupon the initial diagnosis of a serious mental 
illness, the counselor shall initiate contact with the medical 
practitioner for the purpose of communicating the diagnosis 
and plan of care. The counselor will provide information to 
the medical practitioner regarding client progress as 
conditions warrant. Ongoing consultation and collaboration, 
for purposes of these rules and otherwise, shall not be 
construed as supervision. Further, “ongoing consultation and 
collaboration does not include the transfer between the 
consulting professionals of responsibility for the client’s care 
or the ongoing management of the client’s presenting 
problem(s).  

2. As used herein, active carethe individual has or 
agrees to maintain or initiate a relationship with a 
practitioner who is licensed by the Louisiana State Board of 
Medical Examiners. 

D. Effect on existing rules. All existing rules or parts 
thereof are hereby superceded and amended to the extent 
that they specifically conflict with these emergency rules. 
Existing board rules shall be revised and re-codified at such 
time as the final board rules implementing Act 320 are 
adopted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1105(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 38: 

 

Mary Alice Olsan 
Executive Director 

1206#016 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Repeal of Standards for Participation 

(LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 1) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 

Services repeal LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 1 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
adopted provisions to establish minimum standards for 
participation for enrolled home and community-based 
services (HCBS) waiver providers, with the exception of 
adult day health care facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 
29, Number 9). 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which repealed 
the provisions governing the Standards for Participation for 
HCBS waiver providers as a result of the promulgation of 
new minimum licensing standards governing these providers 
which revise and stipulate the new participation 
requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 10). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the November 1, 2011 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions due to 
inconsistent minimum standards for HCBS waiver providers. 

Effective June 30, 2012, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services repeal the provisions 
governing the Standards for Participation for home and 
community-based services waiver providers.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 1. Standards for Participation 
§101. Provider Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29:1829 (September 2003), 
repealed by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 38: 
§103. Agency Responsibilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29:1833 (September 2003), 
repealed by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
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Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#052 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

State Sanitary CodeAdditional Controls for Shellstock 
Moving Through Interstate Commerce  
(LAC 51:IX.321, 327, 329, and 331) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health (DHH/OPH), pursuant to the rulemaking authority 
granted to the state health officer by R.S.40:4(A)(13), hereby 
adopts the following Rule for the protection of public health. 
This Rule is being promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act (R.S.49:950, et seq.).  

The state health officer, through DHH/OPH, finds it 
necessary to promulgate an Emergency Rule effective May 
11, 2012. The Emergency Rule is scheduled to terminate 120 
days from May 11, 2012. A Notice of Intent is expected to be 
published in the May 20, 2012 issue of the Louisiana 
Register with the goal of adopting a permanent rule soon, 
but no earlier than September 20, 2012. A public hearing for 
the proposed permanent Rule is expected to be held on July 
26, 2012.  

DHH/OPH finds it necessary to make changes to the 
Louisiana State Sanitary Code (LAC 51) in effort to be in 
compliance with the changes made to the National Shellfish 
Sanitation Program (NSSP) Model Ordinance. The executive 
board of the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference 
(ISSC) adopted changes to the NSSP Model Ordinance, with 
concurrence from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
(USFDA), at their March 2012 meeting. Louisiana must 
adopt these changes to remain in compliance with the 
USFDA, which will result in oysters being allowed to be 
shipped in interstate commerce. 

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part IX.  Marine and Fresh Water Animal Food 
Products 

Chapter 3. Preparation and Handling of Seafood for 
Market 

§321. Shipping Shell-Stock Requirements 
[formerly paragraph 9:047] 

A. - C. … 
D. [formerly paragraph 9:050] Railroad cars and trucks 

in which shellfish are shipped in sacks shall be kept clean. 
All cars and trucks shall be subjected to proper inspection to 
see that they conform to this rule. Conveyances used to 
transport shellstock shall be constructed to prevent 
contamination, deterioration, or decomposition of the 
shellstock during transport.  

Conveyances must be pre-chilled to 45°F or below prior to 
loading. The dealer shall keep a record of compliance with 
the pre-chilling requirement. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:4.A.(1), R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(5)(7)(15), and R.S. 40:5.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1307 (June 
2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 
of Public Health, Center for Environmental Health Services, LR 
34:445 (March 2008), LR 34:2175 (October 2008), LR 35:1239 
(July 2009), LR 38: 
§327. Refrigeration of Shell-Stock Oysters, Clams and 

Mussels 
[formerly paragraph 9:052] 

A. - D. … 
E. To comply with the time to temperature requirements 

for harvested shellstock for raw consumption, the type of 
cooling must be capable of achieving the required internal 
temperature within the time frames required in the Vibrio 
vulnificus control plan developed by the Office of Public 
Health Molluscan Shellfish Program (see §329.A). The use 
of tempering and inadequate cooling is not acceptable. 
Cooling that occurs prior to receipt by the original dealer 
does not alleviate the dealer requirement to document the 
time to internal temperature requirements. 

F. To comply with the time to temperature requirements 
for harvested shellstock for shucking or post-harvest 
processing consumption, the type of cooling must be capable 
of achieving the required internal temperature within the 
time frames required in the Vibrio vulnificus control plan 
developed by the Office of Public Health Molluscan 
Shellfish Program (see §331.A) or in the matrix for all other 
shellstock. The use of tempering and inadequate cooling is 
not acceptable. Cooling that occurs prior to receipt by the 
original dealer does not alleviate the dealer requirement to 
document the time to internal temperature requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4.A.(1), R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(5)(7)(15), and R.S. 40:5.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1308 (June 
2002), amended LR 31:2896 (November 2005), LR 34:2175 
(October 2008), LR 36:1016 (May 2010), LR 38: 
§329. Refrigeration Requirements for Shell-stock 

Harvested for Raw Consumption during the 
Months January through December 
[formerly paragraph 9:052-1] 

A. - A.3. … 
B. For shellstock harvested for raw consumption, 

harvesters will adhere to the applicable time and temperature 
controls as established by the Vibrio vulnificus control plan 
in this Section developed by the Office of Public Health 
Molluscan Shellfish Program. The harvester must provide 
harvest records to the original shellfish dealer demonstrating 
compliance with the applicable time and temperature 
requirements. This record may be in the form of a harvester 
tag, trip record, or other record deemed appropriate by the 
Office of Public Health Molluscan Shellfish Program. The 
record must include the date and time harvest begins for 
each lot of shellfish harvested. It shall be the responsibility 
of the harvester to properly separate and identify each lot 
upon being placed under refrigeration. The Harvester shall 
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document the time harvest begins for each lot prior to 
harvest and shall immediately document the time each lot is 
placed under refrigeration. It shall also be the responsibility 
of the harvester to record the number of sacks contained 
within each lot immediately after oysters are placed under 
refrigeration. Harvest vessels equipped with refrigeration 
capabilities must provide documentation to the original 
dealer that the time and temperature requirements 
established by the Vibrio vulnificus control plan developed 
by the Office of Public Health Molluscan Shellfish Program 
(see §329.A) have been met. 

C. Under the requirements of the Vibrio vulnificus 
control plan during the months of March through November, 
if oysters are removed from a vessel before the product 
reaches an internal temperature of 55°F or below, it is the 
dealer’s responsibility to verify that all lots of oysters 
harvested and placed in mechanical refrigeration meet the 
internal temperature of 55°F or below in six hours. This shall 
be documented on the same log sheet that was provided to 
the dealer from the harvester.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4.A.(1), R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(5)(7)(15), and R.S. 40:5.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1308 (June 
2002), amended LR 31:2896 (November 2005), LR 34:2175 
(October 2008), LR 36:1016 (May 2010), LR 38: 0000 (June 
2012). 
§331. Refrigeration Requirements for Shell-Stock 

Harvested for Shucking or Post-Harvest
 Processing by a Certified Dealer during the 
months January through December 
[formerly paragraph 9:052-2] 

A. Time to refrigeration requirements for shell-stock 
harvested for shucking or post-harvest processing 
consumption during the months January through December 
shall be based on the average monthly growing water 
temperatures developed by the Office of Public Health 
Molluscan Shellfish Program according to the following 
schedule. 

1. Water Temperature: <50°F. Shellstock shall be 
placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature 
not to exceed 45°F within 36 hours from the time harvesting 
begins. 

2. Water Temperature: 50°F to 60°F. Shellstock shall 
be placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air 
temperature not to exceed 45°F within 24 hours from the 
time harvesting begins. 

3. Water Temperature: 60°F - 80°F. Shellstock shall be 
placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature 
not to exceed 45°F within 18 hours from the time harvesting 
begins. 

4. Water Temperature: ≥81°F. Shellstock shall be 
placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature 
not to exceed 45°F within 12 hours from the time harvesting 
begins. 

B. Dealer/harvester tags utilized to identify shell-stock 
harvested for shucking or post-harvest processing 
consumption by a certified dealer must be identified with the 
green tag which states: "FOR SHUCKING BY A CERTIFIED 
DEALER OR POST-HARVEST PROCESSING ONLY". 

C. For shellstock harvested for shucking or post-harvest 
processing consumption, harvesters will adhere to the 
applicable time and temperature controls as established in 

this Section by the Office of Public Health Molluscan 
Shellfish Program. The harvester must provide harvest 
records to the original shellfish dealer demonstrating 
compliance with the applicable time and temperature 
requirements. This record may be in the form of a harvester 
tag, trip record, or other record deemed appropriate by the 
Office of Public Health Molluscan Shellfish Program. The 
record must include the date and time harvest begins for 
each lot of shellfish harvested. Harvest vessels equipped 
with refrigeration capabilities must provide documentation 
to the original dealer that the time and temperature 
requirements established by the Office of Public Health 
Molluscan Shellfish Program have been met. 

D. “Green” or restricted use tag product may be shipped 
in commerce if the internal temperature is 50°F or below. If 
the oysters have not reached an internal temperature of 50°F 
or below, the product may be shipped provided a working 
time/temperature recording device accompanies every 
shipment. Shipments of 4 hours or less will not be required 
to have a working time/temperature recording device. The 
documentation stating the time of shipment will accompany 
the bill of lading and will be used to determine if shipment is 
less than 4 hours.  

E. All shellstock that has been refrigerated must not be 
allowed to remain without mechanical refrigeration for more 
than 2 hours at points of processing or transfer such as 
loading docks.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4.A.(1), R.S. 40:5(2)(3)(5)(7)(15), and R.S. 40:5.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1308 (June 
2002), amended LR 31:2896 (November 2005), LR 34:2175 
(October 2008), LR 36:1016 (May 2010), LR 38: 0000 (June 
2012). 

 
Jimmy Guidry, M.D. 
State Health Officer 
and  
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#012 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-aOperational and 
Safety Requirements for Wells Drilled in Search or for the 

Production of Oil or Natural Gas at Water Locations  
(LAC 43:XIX.Chapters 2 and 11) 

Pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the 
state of Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Revised 
Statutes of 1950, as amended, and in conformity with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) and (2), 954(B)(2), as amended, the 
following Emergency Rule and reasons therefore are now 
adopted and promulgated by the commissioner of 
Conservation as being necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally, by extending the 
effectiveness of the Emergency Rule it supersedes for 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1371 

drilling and completion operational and safety requirements 
for wells drilled in search of oil and natural gas at water 
locations. The following Emergency Rule provides for the 
extension of the Rule allowing more time to complete 
comprehensive Rule amendments. 

In light of the Gulf of Mexico Deepwater Horizon oil spill 
incident in federal waters approximately 50 miles off 
Louisiana’s coast and the threat posed to the natural 
resources of the state, and the economic livelihood and 
property of the citizens of the state caused thereby, the 
Office of Conservation began a new review of its current 
drilling and completion operational and safety requirements 
for wells drilled in search of oil and natural gas at water 
locations. While the incidents of blowout of Louisiana wells 
is minimal, occurring at less than three-tenths of one percent 
of the wells drilled in Louisiana since 1987, the great risk 
posed by blowouts at water locations to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state, as well as the 
environment generally, necessitated the rule amendments 
contained herein. 

After implementation of the Emergency Rule, 
Conservation formed an ad hoc committee to further study 
comprehensive rulemaking in order to promulgate new 
permanent regulations which ensure increased operational 
and safety requirements for the drilling or completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations within the state. Based upon 
the work of this ad hoc committee, draft proposed rules that 
would replace these emergency rules are being created for 
the consideration and comment by interested parties. It is 
expected that these draft proposed rules will be published in 
the Potpourri Section of the Louisiana Register on July 20, 
2012. 

The Emergency Rule set forth hereinafter is intended to 
provide greater protection to the public health, safety and 
welfare of the people of the state, as well as the environment 
generally by extending the effectiveness of new operational 
and safety requirements for the drilling and completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations. Following the Gulf of 
Mexico-Deepwater Horizon oil spill, the Office of 
Conservation ("Conservation") investigated the possible 
expansion of Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a 
requirements relating to well control at water locations. As 
part of the rule expansion project, Conservation reviewed the 
well control regulations of the U.S. Department of the 
Interior's Mineral Management Service or MMS (now 
named the Bureau of Safety and Environmental 
Enforcement). Except in the instances where it was 
determined that the MMS provisions were repetitive of other 
provisions already being incorporated, were duplicative of 
existing Conservation regulations or were not applicable to 
the situations encountered in Louisiana's waters, all 
provisions of the MMS regulations concerning well control 
issues at water locations were promulgated in the preceding 
Emergency Rules, which this Rule supersedes, were 
integrated into Conservation's Statewide Orders No. 29-B 
and 29-B-a.  

Conservation is currently performing a comprehensive 
review of its regulations as it considers future amendments 
to its operational rules and regulations found in Statewide 
Order No. 29-B and elsewhere. Specifically, the Emergency 
Rule extends the effectiveness of a new Chapter within 
Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 2) to 

provide additional rules concerning the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations, 
specifically providing for the following: rig movement and 
reporting requirements, additional requirements for 
applications to drill, casing program requirements, 
mandatory diverter systems and blowout preventer 
requirements, oil and gas well-workover operations, diesel 
engine safety requirements, and drilling fluid regulations. 
Further, the Emergency Rule amends Statewide Order No. 
29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) to provide for and expand 
upon rules concerning the required use of storm chokes in 
oil and gas wells at water locations.  

Recognizing the potential advantages of expanding the 
operational and safety requirements for the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
state, it has been determined that failure to establish such 
requirements in the form of an administrative rule may lead 
to the existence of an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally. By this Rule 
Conservation extends the effectiveness of the following 
requirements until such time as final comprehensive rules 
may be promulgated or 120 days from the effective date of 
this Rule, whichever occurs first.  

Protection of the public and our environment therefore 
requires the commissioner of Conservation to extend the 
following Rule in order to assure that drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
state are undertaken in accordance with all reasonable care 
and protection to the health, safety of the public, oil and gas 
personnel and the environment generally. The Emergency 
Rule, Amendment to Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.Chapter 2) and Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 
43:XIX.Chapter 11) (“Emergency Rule”) forth hereinafter 
are adopted and extended by the Office of Conservation.  

The Emergency Rule signed by the commissioner on 
January 23, 2012 and effective January 23, 2012 is hereby 
rescinded and replaced by the following Emergency Rule. 

The effective date of this Emergency Rule will be May 23, 
2012. The Emergency Rule herein adopted as a part thereof, 
shall remain effective for a period of not less than 120 days 
hereafter, or until the adoption of the final version of an 
amendment to Statewide Order No. 29-B and Statewide 
Order No. 29-B-a as noted herein, whichever occurs first.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 2. Additional Requirements for Water 
Locations 

§201. Applicability  
A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Chapter 1 

of this Subpart, all oil and gas wells being drilled or 
completed at a water location within the state shall comply 
with this Chapter.  

B. Unless otherwise stated herein, nothing within this 
Chapter shall alter the obligation of oil and gas operators to 
meet the requirements of Chapter 1 of this Subpart.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
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§203. Application to Drill 
A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 

103 of this Subpart, at the time of submittal of an application 
for permit to drill, the applicant will provide an electronic 
copy on a disk of the spill prevention control (SPC) plan that 
was submitted to DEQ pursuant to the provisions of Part IX 
of Title 33 of the Louisiana Administrative Code or any 
successor rule. Such plan shall become a part of the official 
well file. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§204. Rig Movement and Reporting 

A. The operator must report the movement of all drilling 
and workover rig units on and off locations to the 
appropriate district manager with the rig name, well serial 
number and expected time of arrival and departure. 

B. Drilling operations on a platform with producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow must comply with the 
following. 

1. An emergency shutdown station must be installed 
near the driller’s console.  

2. All producible wells located in the affected wellbay 
must be shut in below the surface and at the wellhead when: 

a. a rig or related equipment is moved on and off a 
platform. This includes rigging up and rigging down 
activities within 500 feet of the affected platform; 

b. a drilling unit is moved or skid between wells on 
a platform; 

c. a mobile offshore drilling unit (MODU) moves 
within 500 feet of a platform.  

3. Production may be resumed once the MODU is in 
place, secured, and ready to begin drilling operations. 

C. The movement of rigs and related equipment on and 
off a platform or from well to well on the same platform, 
including rigging up and rigging down, shall be conducted in 
a safe manner. All wells in the same well-bay which are 
capable of producing hydrocarbons shall be shut in below 
the surface with a pump-through-type tubing plug and at the 
surface with a closed master valve prior to moving well-
completion rigs and related equipment, unless otherwise 
approved by the district manager. A closed surface-
controlled subsurface safety valve of the pump-through type 
may be used in lieu of the pump-through-type tubing plug, 
provided that the surface control has been locked out of 
operation. The well from which the rig or related equipment 
is to be moved shall also be equipped with a back-pressure 
valve prior to removing the blowout preventer (BOP) system 
and installing the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§205. Casing Program 

A. General Requirements 
1. The operator shall case and cement all wells with a 

sufficient number of strings of casing and quantity and 
quality of cement in a manner necessary to prevent fluid 
migration in the wellbore, protect the underground source of 
drinking water (USDW) from contamination, support 
unconsolidated sediments, and otherwise provide a means of 
control of the formation pressures and fluids. 

2. The operator shall install casing necessary to 
withstand collapse, bursting, tensile, and other stresses that 
may be encountered and the well shall be cemented in a 
manner which will anchor and support the casing. Safety 
factors in casing program design shall be of sufficient 
magnitude to provide optimum well control while drilling 
and to assure safe operations for the life of the well.  

3. All tubulars and cement shall meet or exceed API 
standards. Cementing jobs shall be designed so that cement 
composition, placement techniques, and waiting times 
ensure that the cement placed behind the bottom 500 feet of 
casing attains a minimum compressive strength of 500 psi 
before drilling out of the casing or before commencing 
completion operations. 

4. Centralizers 
a. Surface casing shall be centralized by means of 

placing centralizers in the following manner. 
b. A centralizer shall be placed on every third joint 

from the shoe to surface, with two centralizers being placed 
on each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 

c. If conductor pipe is set, three centralizers shall be 
equally spaced on surface casing to fall within the conductor 
pipe. 

d. Intermediate and production casing, and drilling 
and production liners shall be centralized by means of a 
centralizer placed every third joint from the shoe to top of 
cement. Additionally, two centralizers shall be placed on 
each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 

e. All centralizers shall meet API standards. 
5. A copy of the documentation furnished by the 

manufacturer, if new, or supplier, if reconditioned, which 
certifies tubular condition, shall be provided with the well 
history and work resume report (Form WH-1).  

B. Conductor Pipe. A conductor pipe is that pipe 
ordinarily used for the purpose of supporting unconsolidated 
surface deposits. A conductor pipe shall be used during the 
drilling of any oil and gas well and shall be set at depth that 
allows use of a diverter system. 

C. Surface Casing 
1. Where no danger of pollution of the USDW exists, 

the minimum amount of surface or first-intermediate casing 
to be set shall be determined from Table 1 hereof, except that 
in no case shall less surface casing be set than an amount 
needed to protect the USDW unless an alternative method of 
USDW protection is approved by the district manager. 

 
Table 1 

Total Depth of 
Contact Casing Required 

Surface Casing Test 
Pressure  

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
 0-2500  100  300 
2500-3000  150  600 
3000-4000  300  600 
4000-5000  400  600 
5000-6000  500  750 
6000-7000  800 1000 
7000-8000 1000 1000 
8000-9000 1400 1000 
9000-Deeper 1800 1000 

 
a. In known low-pressure areas, exceptions to the 

above may be granted by the commissioner or his agent. If, 
however, in the opinion of the commissioner, or his agent, 
the above regulations shall be found inadequate, and 
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additional or lesser amount of surface casing and/or test 
pressure shall be required for the purpose of safety and the 
protection of the USDW. 

2. Surface casing shall be cemented with a sufficient 
volume of cement to insure cement returns to the surface. 

3. Surface casing shall be tested before drilling the 
plug by applying a minimum pump pressure as set forth in 
Table 1 after at least 200 feet of the mud-laden fluid has 
been displaced with water at the top of the column. If at the 
end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge shows a drop of 10 
percent of test pressure as outlined in Table 1, the operator 
shall be required to take such corrective measures as will 
insure that such surface casing will hold said pressure for 30 
minutes without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test 
pressure. The provisions of Paragraph E.7, below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the surface casing. 

4. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure before initiating test or drilling plug. 
Under pressure is complied with if one float valve is used or 
if pressure is held otherwise. 

D. Intermediate Casing/Drilling Liner 
1. Intermediate casing is that casing used as protection 

against caving of heaving formations or when other means 
are not adequate for the purpose of segregating upper oil, gas 
or water-bearing strata. Intermediate casing/drilling liner 
shall be set when required by abnormal pressure or other 
well conditions. 

2. If an intermediate casing string is deemed necessary 
by the district manager for the prevention of underground 
waste, such regulations pertaining to a minimum setting 
depth, quality of casing, and cementing and testing of sand, 
shall be determined by the Office of Conservation after due 
hearing. The provisions of Paragraph E.7 below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the intermediate casing. 

3. Intermediate casing/drilling liner shall be at 
minimum, cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet 
above all known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure 
isolation and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations 
are isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as an 
intermediate string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid 
entry test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal 
between the liner top and next larger casing string has been 
achieved, and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet 
above the previous casing shoe. The drilling liner (and liner-
lap) shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the 
anticipated pressure to which the liner will be subjected to 
during the formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or 
subsequent liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance 
with Subsection G below. 

4. Before drilling the plug in the intermediate string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 2 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 

Table 2. Intermediate Casing and Liner 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000' 800 
3000-6000' 1000 

Table 2. Intermediate Casing and Liner 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
6000-9000' 1200 
9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that casing is so set and cemented that it will 
hold said pressure for 30 minutes without a drop of more 
than 10 percent of the test pressure on the gauge. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test. Under pressure is complied 
with if one or more float valves are employed and are shown 
to be holding the cement in place, or when other means of 
holding pressure is used. When an operator elects to 
perforate and squeeze or to cement around the shoe, he may 
proceed with such work after 12 hours have elapsed after 
placing the first cement. 

6. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the drilling of the well until a satisfactory test 
has been obtained. 

E. Producing String 
1. Producing string, production casing or production 

liner is that casing used for the purpose of segregating the 
horizon from which production is obtained and affording a 
means of communication between such horizons and the 
surface. 

2. The producing string of casing shall consist of new 
or reconditioned casing, tested at mill test pressure or as 
otherwise designated by the Office of Conservation. 

3. Cement shall be by the pump-and-plug method, or 
another method approved by the Office of Conservation. 
Production casing/production liner shall be at minimum, 
cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet above all 
known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure isolation 
and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations are 
isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as a 
producing string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid entry 
test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal between 
the liner top and next larger casing string has been achieved, 
and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet above the 
previous casing shoe. The production liner (and liner-lap) 
shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the anticipated 
pressure to which the liner will be subjected to during the 
formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or subsequent 
liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance with 
Subsection G below. 

4. The amount of cement to be left remaining in the 
casing, until the requirements of Paragraph 5 below have 
been met, shall be not less than 20 feet. This shall be 
accomplished through the use of a float-collar, or other 
approved or practicable means, unless a full-hole cementer, 
or its equivalent, is used. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test in the producing or oil string. 
Under pressure is complied with if one or more float valves 
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are employed and are shown to be holding the cement in 
place, or when other means of holding pressure is used. 
When an operator elects to perforate and squeeze or to 
cement around the shoe, he may proceed with such work 
after 12 hours have elapsed after placing the first cement. 

6. Before drilling the plug in the producing string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 3 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 3. Producing String 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000'  800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 
9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that the producing string of casing is so set and 
cemented that it will hold said pressure for 30 minutes 
without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test pressure 
on the gauge. 

7. If the commissioner's agent is not present at the 
time designated by the operator for inspection of the casing 
tests of the producing string, the operator shall have such 
tests witnessed, preferably by an offset operator. An affidavit 
of test, on the form prescribed by the district office, signed 
by the operator and witness, shall be furnished to the district 
office showing that the test conformed satisfactorily to the 
above mentioned regulations before proceeding with the 
completion. If test is satisfactory, normal operations may be 
resumed immediately. 

8. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the completion of the well until a satisfactory 
test has been obtained. 

F. Cement Evaluation 
1. Cement evaluation tests (cement bond or 

temperature survey) shall be conducted for all casing and 
liners installed below surface casing to assure compliance 
with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3. 

2. Remedial cementing operations that are required to 
achieve compliance with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3 shall 
be conducted following receipt of an approved work permit 
from the district manager for the proposed operations. 

3. Cementing and wireline records demonstrating the 
presence of the required cement tops shall be retained by the 
operator for a period of two years.  

G. Leak-off Tests 
1. A pressure integrity test must be conducted below 

the surface casing or liner and all intermediate casings or 
liners. The district manager may require a pressure-integrity 
test at the conductor casing shoe if warranted by local 
geologic conditions or the planned casing setting depth. 
Each pressure integrity test must be conducted after drilling 
at least 10 feet but no more than 50 feet of new hole below 
the casing shoe and must be tested to either the formation 
leak-off pressure or to the anticipated equivalent drilling 
fluid weight at the setting depth of the next casing string. 

a. The pressure integrity test and related hole-
behavior observations, such as pore-pressure test results, 
gas-cut drilling fluid, and well kicks must be used to adjust 
the drilling fluid program and the setting depth of the next 
casing string. All test results must be recorded and hole-
behavior observations made during the course of drilling 
related to formation integrity and pore pressure in the 
driller's report. 

b. While drilling, a safe drilling margin must be 
maintained. When this safe margin cannot be maintained, 
drilling operations must be suspended until the situation is 
remedied. 

H. Prolonged Drilling Operations 
1. If wellbore operations continue for more than 30 

days within a casing string run to the surface: 
a. drilling operations must be stopped as soon as 

practicable, and the effects of the prolonged operations on 
continued drilling operations and the life of the well 
evaluated. At a minimum, the operator shall: 
 i. caliper or pressure test the casing; and 
 ii. report evaluation results to the district manager 
and obtain approval of those results before resuming 
operations; 

b. if casing integrity as determined by the 
evaluation has deteriorated to a level below minimum safety 
factors, the casing must be repaired or another casing string 
run. Approval from the district manager shall be obtained 
prior to any casing repair activity.  

I. Tubing and Completion 
1. Well-completion operations means the work 

conducted to establish the production of a well after the 
production-casing string has been set, cemented, and 
pressure-tested. 

2. Prior to engaging in well-completion operations, 
crew members shall be instructed in the safety requirements 
of the operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for review 
by the Office of Conservation. 

3. When well-completion operations are conducted on 
a platform where there are other hydrocarbon-producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow, an emergency shutdown 
system (ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed 
near the driller's console or well-servicing unit operator's 
work station. 

4. No tubing string shall be placed in service or 
continue to be used unless such tubing string has the 
necessary strength and pressure integrity and is otherwise 
suitable for its intended use. 

5. A valve, or its equivalent, tested to a pressure of not 
less than the calculated bottomhole pressure of the well, 
shall be installed below any and all tubing outlet 
connections. 

6. When a well develops a casing pressure, upon 
completion, equivalent to more than three-quarters of the 
internal pressure that will develop the minimum yield point 
of the casing, such well shall be required by the district 
manager to be killed, and a tubing packer to be set so as to 
keep such excessive pressure off of the casing. 
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7. Wellhead Connections. Wellhead connections shall 
be tested prior to installation at a pressure indicated by the 
district manager in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Whenever such tests are made 
in the field, they shall be witnessed by an agent of the Office 
of Conservation. Tubing and tubingheads shall be free from 
obstructions in wells used for bottomhole pressure test 
purposes. 

8. When the tree is installed, the wellhead shall be 
equipped so that all annuli can be monitored for sustained 
pressure. If sustained casing pressure is observed on a well, 
the operator shall immediately notify the district manager. 

9. Wellhead, tree, and related equipment shall have a 
pressure rating greater than the shut-in tubing pressure and 
shall be designed, installed, used, maintained, and tested so 
as to achieve and maintain pressure control. New wells 
completed as flowing or gas-lift wells shall be equipped with 
a minimum of one master valve and one surface safety 
valve, installed above the master valve, in the vertical run of 
the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§207. Diverter Systems and Blowout Preventers 

A. Diverter System. A diverter system shall be required 
when drilling surface hole in areas where drilling hazards are 
known or anticipated to exist. The district manager may, at 
his discretion, require the use of a diverter system on any 
well. In cases where it is required, a diverter system 
consisting of a diverter sealing element, diverter lines, and 
control systems must be designed, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested to ensure proper diversion of gases, 
water, drilling fluids, and other materials away from 
facilities and personnel. The diverter system shall be 
designed to incorporate the following elements and 
characteristics: 

1. dual diverter lines arranged to provide for 
maximum diversion capability; 

2. at least two diverter control stations. One station 
shall be on the drilling floor. The other station shall be in a 
readily accessible location away from the drilling floor; 

3. remote-controlled valves in the diverter lines. All 
valves in the diverter system shall be full-opening. 
Installation of manual or butterfly valves in any part of the 
diverter system is prohibited; 

4. minimize the number of turns in the diverter lines, 
maximize the radius of curvature of turns, and minimize or 
eliminate all right angles and sharp turns; 

5. anchor and support systems to prevent whipping 
and vibration; 

6. rigid piping for diverter lines. The use of flexible 
hoses with integral end couplings in lieu of rigid piping for 
diverter lines shall be approved by the district manager. 

B. Diverter Testing Requirements 
1. When the diverter system is installed, the diverter 

components including the sealing element, diverter valves, 
control systems, stations and vent lines shall be function and 
pressure tested. 

2. For drilling operations with a surface wellhead 
configuration, the system shall be function tested at least 
once every 24-hour period after the initial test. 

3. After nippling-up on conductor casing, the diverter 
sealing element and diverter valves are to be pressure tested 
to a minimum of 200 psig. Subsequent pressure tests are to 
be conducted within seven days after the previous test. 

4. Function tests and pressure tests shall be alternated 
between control stations. 

5. Recordkeeping Requirements 
a. Pressure and function tests are to be recorded in 

the driller’s report and certified (signed and dated) by the 
operator’s representative.  

b. The control station used during a function or 
pressure test is to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

c. Problems or irregularities during the tests are to 
be recorded along with actions taken to remedy same in the 
driller’s report. 

d. All reports pertaining to diverter function and/or 
pressure tests are to be retained for inspection at the wellsite 
for the duration of drilling operations. 

C. BOP Systems. The operator shall specify and insure 
that contractors design, install, use, maintain and test the 
BOP system to ensure well control during drilling, workover 
and all other appropriate operations. The surface BOP stack 
shall be installed before drilling below surface casing.  

1. BOP system components for drilling activity 
located over a body of water shall be designed and utilized, 
as necessary, to control the well under all potential 
conditions that might occur during the operations being 
conducted and at minimum, shall include the following 
components: 

a. annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. two sets of hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

2. Drilling activity with a tapered drill string shall 
require the installation of two or more sets of conventional 
or variable-bore pipe rams in the BOP stack to provide, at 
minimum, two sets of rams capable of sealing around the 
larger-size drill string and one set of pipe rams capable of 
sealing around the smaller-size drill string. 

3. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

4. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
must be flanged, including the connections between the well 
control stack and the first full-opening valve on the choke 
line and the kill line.  

5. The commissioner of Conservation, following a 
public hearing, may grant exceptions to the requirements of 
LAC 43:XIX.207.C-J.  

D. BOP Working Pressure. The working pressure rating 
of any BOP component, excluding annular-type preventers, 
shall exceed the maximum anticipated surface pressure 
(MASP) to which it may be subjected. 

E. BOP Auxiliary Equipment. All BOP systems shall be 
equipped and provided with the following: 

1. a hydraulically actuated accumulator system which 
shall provide 1.5 times volume of fluid capacity to close and 
hold closed all BOP components, with a minimum pressure 
of 200 psig above the pre-charge pressure without assistance 
from a charging system; 

2. a backup to the primary accumulator-charging 
system, supplied by a power source independent from the 
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power source to the primary, which shall be sufficient to 
close all BOP components and hold them closed; 

3. accumulator regulators supplied by rig air without a 
secondary source of pneumatic supply shall be equipped 
with manual overrides or other devices to ensure capability 
of hydraulic operation if the rig air is lost; 

4. at least one operable remote BOP control station in 
addition to the one on the drilling floor. This control station 
shall be in a readily accessible location away from the 
drilling floor. If a BOP control station does not perform 
properly, operations shall be suspended until that station is 
operable; 

5. a drilling spool with side outlets, if side outlets are 
not provided in the body of the BOP stack, to provide for 
separate kill and choke lines; 

6. a kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. 
The choke line shall be installed above the bottom ram. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore; 

7. a valve installed below the swivel (upper kelly 
cock), essentially full-opening, and a similar valve installed 
at the bottom of the kelly (lower kelly cock). An operator 
must be able to strip the lower kelly cock through the BOP 
stack. A wrench to fit each valve shall be stored in a location 
readily accessible to the drilling crew. If drilling with a mud 
motor and utilizing drill pipe in lieu of a kelly, you must 
install one kelly valve above, and one strippable kelly valve 
below the joint of pipe used in place of a kelly. On a top-
drive system equipped with a remote-controlled valve, you 
must install a strippable kelly-type valve below the remote-
controlled valve; 

8. an essentially full-opening drill-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while drilling operations are being conducted. This 
valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the drill string. A wrench to fit the 
drill-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the drilling crew; 

9. a safety valve shall be available on the rig floor 
assembled with the proper connection to fit the casing string 
being run in the hole; 

10. locking devices installed on the ram-type 
preventers. 

F. BOP Maintenance and Testing Requirements 
1. The BOP system shall be visually inspected on a 

daily basis. 
2. Pressure tests (low and high pressure) of the BOP 

system are to be conducted at the following times and 
intervals: 

a. during a shop test prior to transport of the BOPs 
to the drilling location. Shop tests are not required for 
equipment that is transported directly from one well location 
to another; 

b. immediately following installation of the BOPs; 
c. within 14 days of the previous BOP pressure test, 

alternating between control stations and at a staggered 
interval to allow each crew to operate the equipment. If 
either control system is not functional, further operations 
shall be suspended until the nonfunctional, system is 
operable. Exceptions may be granted by the district manager 
in cases where a trip is scheduled to occur within 2 days 
after the 14-day testing deadline; 

d. before drilling out each string of casing or liner 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling out 
each casing string or liner.); 

e. Not more than 48 hours before a well is drilled to 
a depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling to a 
depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone.); 

f. when the BOP tests are postponed due to well 
control problem(s), the BOP test is to be performed on the 
first trip out of the hole, and reasons for postponing the 
testing are to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

3. Low pressure tests (200-300 psig) of the BOP 
system (choke manifold, kelly valves, drill-string safety 
valves, etc.) are to be performed at the times and intervals 
specified in LAC 43:XIX.207.F.2. in accordance with the 
following provisions.  

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Variable bore pipe rams are to be tested against 
the largest and smallest sizes of pipe in use, excluding drill 
collars and bottom hole assembly. 

c. Bonnet seals are to be tested before running the 
casing when casing rams are installed in the BOP stack. 

4. High pressure tests of the BOP system are to be 
performed at the times and intervals specified in LAC 
43:XIX.207.F.2 in accordance with the following provisions. 

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Ram-type BOP’s, choke manifolds, and 
associated equipment are to be tested to the rated working 
pressure of the equipment or 500 psi greater than the 
calculated MASP for the applicable section of the hole. 

c. Annular-type BOPs are to be tested to 70 percent 
of the rated working pressure of the equipment. 

5. The annular and ram-type BOPs with the exception 
of the blind-shear rams are to be function tested every seven 
days between pressure tests. All BOP test records should be 
certified (signed and dated) by the operator’s representative. 

a. Blind-shear rams are to be tested at all casing 
points and at an interval not to exceed 30 days.  

6. If the BOP equipment does not hold the required 
pressure during a test, the problem must be remedied and a 
retest of the affected component(s) performed. Additional 
BOP testing requirements. 

a. Use water to test the surface BOP system. 
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b. If a control station is not functional operations 
shall be suspended until that station is operable. 

c. Test affected BOP components following the 
disconnection or repair of any well-pressure containment 
seal in the wellhead or BOP stack assembly. 

G. BOP Record Keeping. The time, date and results of 
pressure tests, function tests, and inspections of the BOP 
system are to be recorded in the driller’s report. All pressure 
tests shall be recorded on an analog chart or digital recorder. 
All documents are to be retained for inspection at the 
wellsite for the duration of drilling operations and are to be 
retained in the operator’s files for a period of two years. 

H. BOP Well Control Drills. Weekly well control drills 
with each drilling crew are to be conducted during a period 
of activity that minimizes the risk to drilling operations. The 
drills must cover a range of drilling operations, including 
drilling with a diverter (if applicable), on-bottom drilling, 
and tripping. Each drill must be recorded in the driller’s 
report and is to include the time required to close the BOP 
system, as well as, the total time to complete the entire drill. 

I. Well Control Safety Training. In order to ensure that 
all drilling personnel understand and can properly perform 
their duties prior to drilling wells which are subject to the 
jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation, the operator shall 
require that contract drilling companies provide and/or 
implement the following: 

1. periodic training for drilling contractor employees 
which ensures that employees maintain an understanding of, 
and competency in, well control practices;  

2. procedures to verify adequate retention of the 
knowledge and skills that the contract drilling employees 
need to perform their assigned well control duties.  

J. Well Control Operations 
1. The operator must take necessary precautions to 

keep wells under control at all times and must: 
a. use the best available and safest drilling 

technology to monitor and evaluate well conditions and to 
minimize the potential for the well to flow or kick; 

b. have a person onsite during drilling operations 
who represents the operators interests and can fulfill the 
operators responsibilities; 

c. ensure that the tool pusher, operator's 
representative, or a member of the drilling crew maintains 
continuous surveillance on the rig floor from the beginning 
of drilling operations until the well is completed or 
abandoned, unless you have secured the well with blowout 
preventers (BOPs), bridge plugs, cement plugs, or packers; 

d. use and maintain equipment and materials 
necessary to ensure the safety and protection of personnel, 
equipment, natural resources, and the environment. 

2. Whenever drilling operations are interrupted, a 
downhole safety device must be installed, such as a cement 
plug, bridge plug, or packer. The device must be installed at 
an appropriate depth within a properly cemented casing 
string or liner. 

a. Among the events that may cause interruption to 
drilling operations are: 
 i. evacuation of the drilling crew; 
 ii. inability to keep the drilling rig on location; or 
 iii. repair to major drilling or well-control 
equipment. 

3. If the diverter or BOP stack is nippled down while 
waiting on cement, it must be determined, before nippling 
down, when it will be safe to do so based on knowledge of 
formation conditions, cement composition, effects of 
nippling down, presence of potential drilling hazards, well 
conditions during drilling, cementing, and post cementing, 
as well as past experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§209. Casing-Heads 

A. All wells shall be equipped with casing-heads with a 
test pressure in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Casing-head body, as soon as 
installed shall be equipped with proper connections and 
valves accessible to the surface. Reconditioning shall be 
required on any well showing pressure on the casing-head, 
or leaking gas or oil between the oil string and next larger 
size casing string, when, in the opinion of the district 
managers, such pressure or leakage assume hazardous 
proportions or indicate the existence of underground waste. 
Mud-laden fluid may be pumped between any two strings of 
casing at the top of the hole, but no cement shall be used 
except by special permission of the commissioner or his 
agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§211. Oil and Gas Well-Workover Operations 

A. Definitions. When used in this Section, the following 
terms shall have the meanings given below. 

Expected Surface Pressurethe highest pressure 
predicted to be exerted upon the surface of a well. In 
calculating expected surface pressure, reservoir pressure as 
well as applied surface pressure must be considered. 

Routine Operationsany of the following operations 
conducted on a well with the tree installed including cutting 
paraffin, removing and setting pump-through-type tubing 
plugs, gas-lift valves, and subsurface safety valves which 
can be removed by wireline operations, bailing sand, 
pressure surveys, swabbing, scale or corrosion treatment, 
caliper and gauge surveys, corrosion inhibitor treatment, 
removing or replacing subsurface pumps, through-tubing 
logging, wireline fishing, and setting and retrieving other 
subsurface flow-control devices. 

Workover Operationsthe work conducted on wells 
after the initial completion for the purpose of maintaining or 
restoring the productivity of a well. 

B. When well-workover operations are conducted on a 
well with the tree removed, an emergency shutdown system 
(ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed near the 
driller’s console or well-servicing unit operator’s work 
station, except when there is no other hydrocarbon-
producing well or other hydrocarbon flow on the platform. 

C. Prior to engaging in well-workover operations, crew 
members shall be instructed in the safety requirements of the 
operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1378 

of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for 
review. 

D. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations. The 
following requirements apply during all well-workover 
operations with the tree removed. 

1. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is less than or equal to 5,000 psi 
shall include one annular-type well control component, one 
set of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. 

2. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is greater than 5,000 psi shall 
include one annular-type well control component, two sets 
of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. 

3. BOP auxillary equipment in accordance with the 
requirements of LAC 43:XIX.207.E. 

4. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe or a 
workover string, the annulus shall be filled with well-control 
fluid before the change in such fluid level decreases the 
hydrostatic pressure 75 pounds per square inch (psi) or every 
five stands of drill pipe or workover string, whichever gives 
a lower decrease in hydrostatic pressure. The number of 
stands of drill pipe or workover string and drill collars that 
may be pulled prior to filling the hole and the equivalent 
well-control fluid volume shall be calculated and posted near 
the operator's station. A mechanical, volumetric, or 
electronic device for measuring the amount of well-control 
fluid required to fill the hold shall be utilized. 

5. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

a. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
b. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device 

for determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; 
and 

c. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 
mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed 
through the wellhead inside of conventional tubing using 
small-diameter jointed pipe (usually 3/4 inch to 1 1/4 inch) 
as a work string, i.e., small-tubing operations, shall include 
two sets of pipe rams, and one set of blind rams. 

1. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

F. For coiled tubing operations with the production tree 
in place, you must meet the following minimum 
requirements for the BOP system. 

1. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are less than or equal to 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component. 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams. 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams. 
d. kill line inlet 
e. hydraulically operated two-way slip rams. 
f. hydraulically operated pipe rams 

2. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are greater than 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams. These 

rams should be located as close to the tree as practical. 
3. BOP system components must be in the following 

order from the top down for wells with returns taken through 
an outlet on the BOP stack: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component. 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams. 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams. 
d. kill line inlet 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams. 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 
g. a flow tee or cross. 
h. hydraulically-operated pipe rams.  
i. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams on wells 

with surface pressures less than or equal to 3,500 psi. As an 
option, the pipe rams can be placed below the blind-shear 
rams. The blind-shear rams should be placed as close to the 
tree as practical. 

4. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

5. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the hydraulic two-way slip rams and the 
hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

6. A dual check valve assembly must be attached to 
the coiled tubing connector at the downhole end of the 
coiled tubing string for all coiled tubing well-workover 
operations. To conduct operations without a downhole check 
valve, it must be approved by the district manager. 

7. A kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore. 

8. The hydraulic-actuating system must provide 
sufficient accumulator capacity to close-open-close each 
component in the BOP stack. This cycle must be completed 
with at least 200 psi above the pre-charge pressure without 
assistance from a charging system. 

9. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
from the tree to the uppermost required ram must be flanged, 
including the connections between the well control stack and 
the first full-opening valve on the choke line and the kill 
line.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1379 

10. The coiled tubing connector must be tested to a low 
pressure of 200 to 300 psi, followed by a high pressure test 
to the rated working pressure of the connector or the 
expected surface pressure, whichever is less. The dual check 
valves must be successfully pressure tested to the rated 
working pressure of the connector, the rated working 
pressure of the dual check valve, expected surface pressure, 
or the collapse pressure of the coiled tubing, whichever is 
less. 

G. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed by 
moving tubing or drill pipe in or out of a well under pressure 
utilizing equipment specifically designed for that purpose, 
i.e., snubbing operations, shall include the following: 

1. one set of pipe rams hydraulically operated, and 
2. two sets of stripper-type pipe rams hydraulically 

operated with spacer spool.  
H. Test pressures must be recorded during BOP and 

coiled tubing tests on a pressure chart, or with a digital 
recorder, unless otherwise approved by the district manager. 
The test interval for each BOP system component must be 
five minutes, except for coiled tubing operations, which 
must include a 10 minute high-pressure test for the coiled 
tubing string.  

I. Wireline Operations. The operator shall comply with 
the following requirements during routine, as defined in 
Subsection A of this Section, and nonroutine wireline 
workover operations. 

1. Wireline operations shall be conducted so as to 
minimize leakage of well fluids. Any leakage that does occur 
shall be contained to prevent pollution. 

2. All wireline perforating operations and all other 
wireline operations where communication exists between the 
completed hydrocarbon-bearing zone(s) and the wellbore 
shall use a lubricator assembly containing at least one 
wireline valve. 

3. When the lubricator is initially installed on the well, 
it shall be successfully pressure tested to the expected shut-
in surface pressure. 

J. Following completion of the well-workover activity, 
all such records shall be retained by the operator for a period 
of two years. 

K. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§213. Diesel Engine Safety Requirements 

A. Each diesel engine with an air take device must be 
equipped to shut down the diesel engine in the event of a 
runaway. 

1. A diesel engine that is not continuously manned, 
must be equipped with an automatic shutdown device. 

2. A diesel engine that is continuously manned, may 
be equipped with either an automatic or remote manual air 
intake shutdown device. 

3. A diesel engine does not have to be equipped with 
an air intake device if it meets one of the following criteria: 

a. starts a larger engine; 
b. powers a firewater pump; 
c. powers an emergency generator; 
d. powers a BOP accumulator system; 
e. provides air supply to divers or confined entry 

personnel; 
f. powers temporary equipment on a nonproducing 

platform; 
g. powers an escape capsule; or 
h. powers a portable single-cylinder rig washer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§215. Drilling Fluids 

A. The inspectors and engineers of the Office of 
Conservation shall have access to the mud records of any 
drilling well, except those records which pertain to special 
muds and special work with respect to patentable rights, and 
shall be allowed to conduct any essential test or tests on the 
mud used in the drilling of a well. When the conditions and 
tests indicate a need for a change in the mud or drilling fluid 
program in order to insure proper control of the well, the 
district manager shall require the operator or company to use 
due diligence in correcting any objectionable conditions. 

B. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations shall 
be designed, utilized, maintained, and/or tested as necessary 
to control the well in foreseeable conditions and 
circumstances.  

C. The well shall be continuously monitored during all 
operations and shall not be left unattended at any time unless 
the well is shut in and secured. 

D. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

1. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
2. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device for 

determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; and 
3. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 

mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. Safe Practices 
1. Before starting out of the hole with drill pipe, the 

drilling fluid must be properly conditioned. A volume of 
drilling fluid equal to the annular volume must be circulated 
with the drill pipe just off-bottom. This practice may be 
omitted if documentation in the driller's report shows: 

a. no indication of formation fluid influx before 
starting to pull the drill pipe from the hole; 

b. the weight of returning drilling fluid is within 0.2 
pounds per gallon of the drilling fluid entering the hole. 

2. Record each time drilling fluid is circulated in the 
hole in the driller’s report. 

3. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe, the 
annulus must be filled with drilling fluid before the 
hydrostatic pressure decreases by 75 psi, or every five stands 
of drill pipe, whichever gives a lower decrease in hydrostatic 
pressure. The number of stands of drill pipe and drill collars 
that you may pull must be calculated before you fill the hole. 
Both sets of numbers must be posted near the driller's 
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station. A mechanical, volumetric, or electronic device must 
be used to measure the drilling fluid required to fill the hole. 

4. Controlled rates must be used to run and pull drill 
pipe and downhole tools so you do not swab or surge the 
well. 

5. When there is an indication of swabbing or influx 
of formation fluids, appropriate measures must be taken to 
control the well. Circulate and condition the well, on or near-
bottom, unless well or drilling-fluid conditions prevent 
running the drill pipe back to the bottom. 

6. The maximum pressures must be calculated and 
posted near the driller's console that you may safely contain 
under a shut-in BOP for each casing string. The pressures 
posted must consider the surface pressure at which the 
formation at the shoe would break down, the rated working 
pressure of the BOP stack, and 70 percent of casing burst (or 
casing test as approved by the district manager). As a 
minimum, you must post the following two pressures: 

a. the surface pressure at which the shoe would 
break down. This calculation must consider the current 
drilling fluid weight in the hole; and 

b. the lesser of the BOP's rated working pressure or 
70 percent of casing-burst pressure (or casing test otherwise 
approved by the district manager). 

7. An operable drilling fluid-gas separator and 
degasser must be installed before you begin drilling 
operations. This equipment must be maintained throughout 
the drilling of the well. 

8. The test fluids in the hole must be circulated or 
reverse circulated before pulling drill-stem test tools from 
the hole. If circulating out test fluids is not feasible, with an 
appropriate kill weight fluid test fluids may be bullhead out 
of the drill-stem test string and tools. 

9. When circulating, the drilling fluid must be tested 
at least once each work shift or more frequently if conditions 
warrant. The tests must conform to industry-accepted 
practices and include density, viscosity, and gel strength; 
hydrogen ion concentration; filtration; and any other tests 
the district manager requires for monitoring and maintaining 
drilling fluid quality, prevention of downhole equipment 
problems and for kick detection. The test results must be 
recorded in the drilling fluid report. 

F. Monitoring Drilling Fluids 
1. Once drilling fluid returns are established, the 

following drilling fluid-system monitoring equipment must 
be installed throughout subsequent drilling operations. This 
equipment must have the following indicators on the rig 
floor: 

a. pit level indicator to determine drilling fluid-pit 
volume gains and losses. This indicator must include both a 
visual and an audible warning device; 

b. volume measuring device to accurately determine 
drilling fluid volumes required to fill the hole on trips; 

c. return indicator devices that indicate the 
relationship between drilling fluid-return flow rate and pump 
discharge rate. This indicator must include both a visual and 
an audible warning device; and 

d. gas-detecting equipment to monitor the drilling 
fluid returns. The indicator may be located in the drilling 
fluid-logging compartment or on the rig floor. If the 
indicators are only in the logging compartment, you must 

continually man the equipment and have a means of 
immediate communication with the rig floor. If the 
indicators are on the rig floor only, an audible alarm must be 
installed. 

G. Drilling Fluid Quantities 
1. Quantities of drilling fluid and drilling fluid 

materials must be maintained and replenished at the drill site 
as necessary to ensure well control. These quantities must be 
determined based on known or anticipated drilling 
conditions, rig storage capacity, weather conditions, and 
estimated time for delivery. 

2. The daily inventories of drilling fluid and drilling 
fluid materials must be recorded, including weight materials 
and additives in the drilling fluid report. 

3. If there are not sufficient quantities of drilling fluid 
and drilling fluid material to maintain well control, the 
drilling operations must be suspended. 

H. Drilling Fluid-Handling Areas 
1. Drilling fluid-handling areas must be classified 

according to API RP 500, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class I, Division 1 and 
Division 2 or API RP 505, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class 1, Zone 0, Zone 1, 
and Zone 2. In areas where dangerous concentrations of 
combustible gas may accumulate. A ventilation system and 
gas monitors must be installed and maintained. Drilling 
fluid-handling areas must have the following safety 
equipment: 

a. a ventilation system capable of replacing the air 
once every 5 minutes or 1.0 cubic feet of air-volume flow 
per minute, per square foot of area, whichever is greater. In 
addition: 
 i. if natural means provide adequate ventilation, 
then a mechanical ventilation system is not necessary; 
 ii. if a mechanical system does not run 
continuously, then it must activate when gas detectors 
indicate the presence of 1 percent or more of combustible 
gas by volume; and 
 iii. if discharges from a mechanical ventilation 
system may be hazardous, the drilling fluid-handling area 
must be maintained at a negative pressure. The negative 
pressure area must be protected by using at least one of the 
following: 

(a). a pressure-sensitive alarm; 
(b). open-door alarms on each access to the area; 
(c). automatic door-closing devices; 
(d). air locks; or 
(e). other devices approved by the district 

manager;  
b. gas detectors and alarms except in open areas 

where adequate ventilation is provided by natural means. 
Gas detectors must be tested and recalibrated quarterly. No 
more than 90 days may elapse between tests; 

c. explosion-proof or pressurized electrical 
equipment to prevent the ignition of explosive gases. Where 
air is used for pressuring equipment, the air intake must be 
located outside of and as far as practicable from hazardous 
areas; and 

d. alarms that activate when the mechanical 
ventilation system fails. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 

Subpart 4.  Statewide Order No. 29-B-a 
Chapter 11. Required Use of Storm Chokes 
§1101. Scope 

A. Order establishing rules and regulations concerning 
the required use of storm chokes to prevent blowouts or 
uncontrolled flow in the case of damage to surface 
equipment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by the Department of Natural Resources, Office 
of Conservation, LR 20:1127 (October 1994), LR 38: 
§1103. Applicability 

A. All wells capable of flow with a surface pressure in 
excess of 100 pounds, falling within the following 
categories, shall be equipped with storm chokes: 

1. any locations inaccessible during periods of storm 
and/or floods, including spillways; 

2. located in bodies of water being actively navigated; 
3. located in wildlife refuges and/or game preserves; 
4. located within 660 feet of railroads, ship channels, 

and other actively navigated bodies of water; 
5. located within 660 feet of state and federal 

highways in Southeast Louisiana, in that area east of a north-
south line drawn through New Iberia and south of an east-
west line through Opelousas; 

6. located within 660 feet of state and federal 
highways in northeast Louisiana, in that area bounded on the 
west by the Ouachita River, on the north by the Arkansas-
Louisiana line, on the east by the Mississippi River, and on 
the south by the Black and Red Rivers; 

7. located within 660 feet of the following highways: 
a. U.S. Highway 71 between Alexandria and Krotz 

Springs; 
b. U.S. Highway 190 between Opelousas and Krotz 

Springs; 
c. U.S. Highway 90 between Lake Charles and the 

Sabine River; 
8. located within the corporate limits of any city, 

town, village, or other municipality. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

157 of the Legislature of 1940. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 38: 
§1104. General Requirements for Storm Choke Use at 

Water Locations 
A. This Section only applies to oil and gas wells at water 

locations.  
B. A subsurface safety valve shall be designed, installed, 

used, maintained, and tested to ensure reliable operation. 
1. The device shall be installed at a depth of 100 feet 

or more below the seafloor within 2 days after production is 
established. 

2. Until a subsurface safety device is installed, the 
well shall be attended in the immediate vicinity so that 
emergency actions may be taken while the well is open to 
flow. During testing and inspection procedures, the well 

shall not be left unattended while open to production unless 
a properly operating subsurface-safety device has been 
installed in the well. 

3. The well shall not be open to flow while the 
subsurface safety device is removed, except when flowing of 
the well is necessary for a particular operation such as 
cutting paraffin, bailing sand, or similar operations. 

4. All SSSV's must be inspected, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested in accordance with American 
Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 14B, 
Recommended Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and 
Operation of Subsurface Safety Valve Systems. 

C. Temporary Removal for Routine Operations 
1. Each wireline or pumpdown-retrievable subsurface 

safety device may be removed, without further authorization 
or notice, for a routine operation which does not require the 
approval of Form DM-4R, 

2. The well shall be identified by a sign on the 
wellhead stating that the subsurface safety device has been 
removed. If the master valve is open, a trained person shall 
be in the immediate vicinity of the well to attend the well so 
that emergency actions may be taken, if necessary. 

3. A platform well shall be monitored, but a person 
need not remain in the well-bay area continuously if the 
master valve is closed. If the well is on a satellite structure, it 
must be attended or a pump-through plug installed in the 
tubing at least 100 feet below the mud line and the master 
valve closed, unless otherwise approved by the district 
manager. 

4. Each operator shall maintain records indicating the 
date a subsurface safety valve is removed, the reason for its 
removal, and the date it is reinstalled. 

D. Emergency Action. In the event of an emergency, 
such as an impending storm, any well not equipped with a 
subsurface safety device and which is capable of natural 
flow shall have the device properly installed as soon as 
possible with due consideration being given to personnel 
safety. 

E. Design and Operation 
1. All SSSVs must be inspected, installed, maintained, 

and tested in accordance with API RP 14H, Recommended 
Practice for Installation, Maintenance, and Repair of Surface 
Safety Valves and Underwater Safety Valves Offshore.  

2. Testing requirements for subsurface safety devices 
are as follows. 

a. All SSSV's shall be tested for operation and for 
leakage at least once each calendar month, but at no time 
shall more than six weeks elapse between tests. SSSV's must 
be tested in accordance with the test procedures specified in 
API RP 14H. If a SSSV does not operate properly or if any 
fluid flow is observed during the leakage test, the valve shall 
be repaired or replaced. 

b. Each subsurface-controlled SSSV installed in a 
well shall be removed, inspected, and repaired or adjusted, 
as necessary, and reinstalled or replaced at intervals not 
exceeding 6 months for those valves not installed in a 
landing nipple and 12 months for those valves installed in a 
landing nipple. 

3. Records must be retained for a period of two years 
for each safety device installed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38: 
§1105. Waivers 

A. Onshore Wells. Where the use of storm chokes would 
unduly interfere with normal operation of a well, the district 
manager may, upon submission of pertinent data, in writing, 
waive the requirements of this order. 

B. Offshore Wells 
1. The district manager, upon submission of pertinent 

data, in writing explaining the efforts made to overcome the 
particular difficulties encountered, may waive the use of a 
subsurface safety valve under the following circumstances, 
and may, in his discretion, require in lieu thereof a surface 
safety valve: 

a. where sand is produced to such an extent or in 
such a manner as to tend to plug the tubing or make 
inoperative the subsurface safety valve; 

b. when the flowing pressure of the well is in excess 
of 100 psi but is inadequate to activate the subsurface safety 
valve; 

c. where flow rate fluctuations or water production 
difficulties are so severe that the subsurface safety valve 
would prevent the well from producing at its allowable rate; 

d. where mechanical well conditions do not permit 
the installation of a subsurface safety valve; 

e. in such other cases as the district manager may 
deem necessary to grant an exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 1, 1961, amended March 15, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 38: 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1206#008 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Amite River Basin and Water Conservation District 

Expropriation of Property (Chapter 3) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 38:3302 et seq., 
the Amite River Basin Drainage and Water Conservation 
District hereby adopts the following Rule. The purpose of 
this Rule is to establish policies and procedures for the 
acquisition of property for the Comite Diversion Canal 
Project. 

AMITE RIVER BASIN DRAINAGE  
AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT  

Chapter 3. Expropriation of Property by a 
Declaration of Taking by the Amite River 
Basin Drainage and Water Conservation 
District 

§301. Short Title 
A. This Chapter shall be known as Expropriation of 

Property by a Declaration of Taking by the Amite River 
Basin Drainage and Water Conservation District. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§302. Legislative Declaration 

A. The Board of Commissioners for the Amite River 
Basin Drainage and Water Conservation District was created 
by La. R.S. 38:3302. Any rules or regulations for 
comprehensive drainage, flood control and water resources 
development, reservoir, and diversion canal systems shall be 
adopted in accordance with R.S. 38:3306. Therefore, prior to 
the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule or regulation 
by the board, the proposed rule or regulation shall be 
submitted to the House Committee on Transportation, 
Highways, and Public Works and the Senate Committee on 
Transportation, Highways, and Public Works. Oversight 
review of rules and regulations shall be conducted by the 
respective committees. The board shall have the authority to 
establish adequate drainage, flood control, and water 
resources development to include but not be limited to 
construction of reservoirs, diversion canals, gravity and 
pumped drainage systems, and other flood control works. It 
is further noted that under R.S. 38:3306, the board may 
expropriate property subject to and in accordance with R.S. 
48:441-460, and this Chapter shall be construed to carry out 
those objectives and purposes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§303. Statement of Purpose 

A. It is the purpose of this Chapter to outline a procedure 
for expropriation of property by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District in order to 

promote, preserve, and protect public safety by and through 
the effective control of all public drainage, flood control and 
water resources development, reservoirs, and diversion 
canals in the district.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§304. Property Defined 

A. As used in this Part, the term “property” means 
immovable property, including servitudes and other rights in 
or to immovable property. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§305. Authority to Expropriate and Acquisition of 

Property Prior to Judgment 
A. Where the Amite River Basin Drainage and Water 

Conservation District cannot amicably acquire property 
needed for canal or bridge purposes, the Board of 
Commissioners may acquire the same by expropriation. 

B. In any suit for the expropriation of property, including 
both corporeal property and servitudes, the Board of 
Commissioners may acquire the property prior to judgment 
in the trial court in the manner provided in this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§306. Contents of Petition for Expropriation; Place of 

Filing 
A. The rights of expropriation granted by this Part shall 

be exercised in the following manner. 
1. A petition shall be filed by the plaintiff in the 

district court of the parish in which the property to be 
expropriated is situated. However, where the property to be 
expropriated extends into two or more parishes and the 
owner of the property resides in one of them, the petition 
shall be filed in the district court of the parish where the 
owner resides, but if the owner does not reside in any one of 
the parishes into which the property extends, the petition 
may be filed in any one of the parishes. In all such cases, the 
court wherein the petition is filed shall have jurisdiction to 
adjudicate as to all the property involved. 

2. The petition shall contain a statement of the 
purpose for which the property is to be expropriated, 
describing the property necessary therefore with a plan of 
the same, a description of the improvement thereon, if any, 
and the name of the owner or owners as shown in the public 
records. 

3. The petition shall have annexed thereto the 
following: 

a. a certified copy of a certificate of authorization to 
expropriate executed by resolution of the Board of 
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Commissioners, declaring that the taking is necessary or 
useful for the purposes of this Part; 

b. a certificate signed by the executive director of 
Amite River Basin Commission or, in his absence, his 
principal assistant, declaring that he has fixed the right-of-
way in a manner sufficient in his judgment to provide 
presently and in the future for the public interest, safety, and 
convenience; 

c. a certificate signed by the executive director of 
Amite River Basin Commission, declaring that the location 
and design of the proposed improvements are in accordance 
with the best modern practices adopted in the interest of the 
safety and convenience of the public. In the absence of the 
executive director of Amite River Basin Commission, his 
chief assistant may sign for him; 

d. an itemized statement of the amount of money 
estimated to be the full extent of the owner's loss for the 
taking or the damage, or both, as the case may be, the 
methodology used in the estimate, and all of the information 
required by R.S. 48:443 relative to estimators. It shall be 
signed by those who made the estimate, showing the 
capacity in which they acted, and the date on which it was 
made. The executive director of the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District or his designated 
representative shall signify his approval on the face thereof. 
It shall not be grounds to dismiss the taking if it is shown 
that the estimate is or may be less than the full extent of the 
owner's loss. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1383 (June 
2012). 
§307. Appointment of Estimators; Restrictions in 

Selection 
A. The executive director of the Amite River Basin 

Drainage and Water Conservation District shall select one or 
more persons to make the estimate of just compensation 
except when the estimate is expected to exceed the amount 
of thirty thousand dollars in which case he shall select two or 
more persons. However, when the Board of Commissioners 
cannot amicably acquire clear title to property solely for 
reasons unrelated to the amount of just compensation to be 
paid such as unopened successions, absentee defendants, or 
partial interests, one person shall be selected to make the 
estimate regardless of the amount. The estimate shall be 
performed by either a real estate appraiser or real estate 
specialist or a licensed Louisiana appraiser certified pursuant 
to the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Law. The person 
performing the estimate shall be familiar with land values in 
the vicinity of the property to be taken and shall conduct the 
appraisal in accordance with real estate appraisal guidelines. 

B. Each estimator in determining the extent of the 
owner's loss shall consider the replacement value of the 
property taken. 

C. Prior to filing its petition, the Board of 
Commissioners shall provide to the owner the following 
information with respect to each estimate of the owner's loss: 

1. the name, address, and qualifications of the person 
or persons preparing the estimate; 

2. the amount of the estimate; 
3. a description of the methodology used in the 

estimate; 

4. upon request by the owner, a copy of the estimate 
prepared by each estimator. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1384 (June 
2012). 
§308. Minable Minerals 

A. Before exercising the rights of expropriation provided 
for in this Part, the state or any of its departments, offices, 
boards, commissions, agencies, or instrumentalities, except 
political subdivisions but specifically including levee 
districts and their boards, shall, upon request of the owner 
whose property is to be taken, provide the owner with the 
results of tests by the Louisiana Geological Survey that show 
whether or not sand or gravel is present in the property. The 
test shall be done at no cost to the property owner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1384 (June 
2012). 
§309. Prayer of Petition; Ex Parte Order of Taking 

A. The petition shall conclude with a prayer that the 
property be declared taken for the acquisition of right of 
ways or mitigation lands in connection with bridge or canal 
purposes. Upon presentation of the petition, the court shall 
issue an order directing that the amount of the estimate be 
deposited in the registry of the court and declaring that the 
property described in the petition has been taken for the 
acquisition of right of ways or mitigation lands in connection 
with bridge or canal purposes at the time of the deposit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1384 (June 
2012). 
§310. Vesting of Title 

A. Upon the deposit of the amount of the estimate in the 
registry of the court, for the use and benefit of the persons 
entitled thereto, the clerk shall issue a receipt showing the 
amount deposited, the date it was deposited, the style and 
number of the cause, and the description of the property and 
property rights, as contained in the petition. Upon such 
deposit, title to the property and the property rights specified 
in the petition shall vest in the Board of Commissioners and 
the right to just compensation therefore shall vest in the 
persons entitled thereto. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1384 (June 
2012). 
§311. Notice to Defendant 

A. Upon receipt of the deposit, the clerk of court shall 
issue a notice to each defendant in the suit, notifying him 
that the property described in the petition has been 
expropriated for bridge or canal purposes. 

B. This notice, together with a certified copy of the 
order, the petition, and the clerk's receipt for the deposit, 
shall be delivered by the clerk to the proper sheriff for 
service on each defendant in the manner provided for the 
service of citations. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1384 (June 
2012). 
§312. Contesting Validity of Taking; Waiver of 

Defenses 
A. Any defendant desiring to contest the validity of the 

taking on the ground that the property was not expropriated 
for a public purpose or on the ground that the petition and 
attached exhibits do not satisfy the provisions contained in 
R.S. 48:442-444 may file a motion to dismiss the suit within 
20 days after the date on which the notice was served on 
him. He shall certify thereon that a copy thereof has been 
served personally or by mail on either the plaintiff or its 
attorney of record in the suit. This motion shall be tried 
contradictorily with the plaintiff to the judge alone and shall 
be decided prior to fixing the case for trial. 

B. Failure to file the motion within the time provided 
constitutes a waiver of all defenses to the suit except claims 
for compensation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 
§313. Right of Possession; Limitation by Court 

A. If there are no buildings located wholly or partially 
upon the property described in the petition, the Board of 
Commissioners is entitled to enter upon and take possession 
of the property upon the deposit of the estimated 
compensation. 

B. If any building is located wholly or partially upon the 
property described in the petition, the court may postpone 
the right of entry for any period not to exceed thirty days 
from the date on which the last of any parties defendant was 
served with the notice. However, the Board of 
Commissioners in its discretion, may request the court to 
order possession surrendered after a longer delay. The court 
may fix a reasonable rental to be paid to the Board of 
Commissioners by a defendant in possession of the property 
for each day he remains in possession after the withdrawal 
of any part of the amount deposited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 
§314. Withdrawal of Amount Deposited 

A. Upon the application of any party in interest, and 
upon due notice to all parties, the court may order that the 
money deposited, or any part thereof, be paid forthwith to 
the person entitled thereto for or on account of the just and 
adequate compensation to be awarded in the proceedings. 

B. The court may make such orders as shall be just and 
equitable to direct the payments of taxes, encumbrances and 
other charges out of the money deposited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 

§315. Defendant's Answer; Requirements; Delay for 
Filing 

A. Where an entire lot, block or tract of land is 
expropriated, any defendant may apply for a trial to 
determine the measure of compensation to which he is 
entitled, provided: 

1. he files an answer within 90 days from the date he 
is served with the notice; 

2. his answer sets forth the amount he claims; 
3. his answer has a certificate thereon showing that a 

copy thereof has been served personally or by mail on all 
parties to the suit who have not joined in the answer. 

B. Where a portion of a lot, block, or tract of land is 
expropriated, any defendant may apply for a trial to 
determine the measure of compensation to which he is 
entitled, provided: 

1. he files an answer within one year from the date he 
is served, in the same manner provided for service of the 
petition, with a copy of the Board of Commissioners' notice 
of acceptance, which has been filed with the clerk of court of 
the parish in which the action is pending, declaring that it 
has finally accepted the construction of the project for which 
the property was expropriated; provided however, that he 
may file his answer at any time prior thereto; 

2. his answer sets forth the amount he claims, 
including the value of each parcel expropriated and the 
amount he claims as damages to the remainder of his 
property; 

3. his damage claim is reasonably itemized; 
4. his answer has a certificate thereon showing that a 

copy thereof has been served personally or by mail on all 
parties to the suit who have not joined in the answer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 
§316. Fixing for Trial; Notice 

A. After answer is filed, if no motion to dismiss the suit 
pursuant to R.S. 48:447 is pending before the court, either 
party may, upon ex parte motion, request that the matter be 
docketed for trial. The court shall fix the time for the trial of 
the suit not more than 60 days after the filing of the motion, 
and the trial shall be conducted with preference and with the 
greatest possible dispatch. The clerk of court shall thereupon 
issue to all parties a notice of the time fixed for the trial. This 
notice shall be served at least 30 days before the time fixed 
for the trial and in the manner provided by law for the 
service of citations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 
§317. Right to Trial by Jury 

A. In an expropriation proceeding pursuant to this Part 
any party has the right to demand a trial by jury to determine 
just compensation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1385 (June 
2012). 
§318. Time Limit for Demanding Jury Trial; Waiver of 

Demand for Jury Trial; Limitations 
A. A defendant may demand jury trial in his answer or 

by motion filed within the delays provided for the filing of 
his answer. 

B. The Board of Commissioners may demand jury trial 
by motion filed no later than 15 days after service upon the 
Board of Commissioners of an answer filed by a defendant. 

C. For purposes of this Section, answers filed by 
attorneys appointed to represent absent or unknown 
defendants shall not cause these delays to begin to run, 
unless that answer indicates that the appointed attorney has 
been retained or employed by the owner to assert and 
prosecute a claim in his behalf. 

D. Once any party has timely demanded a jury trial, that 
demand is effective against and binding upon all parties to 
the suit, and cannot thereafter be waived without the consent 
of all parties. With the consent of all parties, a demand for 
jury trial may be waived at any time prior to the swearing of 
the jury.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§319. Deposit of Security for Jury Costs 

A. The court shall require any party, including the Board 
of Commissioners, who demands a jury trial, to post a bond 
or other security as may be required in ordinary similar jury 
cases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§320. Trial of Less than all Issues; Stipulation 

A. The trial of all issues for which jury trial has been 
requested shall be by jury unless the parties stipulate that the 
jury trial shall be as to certain issues only, but in all cases 
there shall be but one trial. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§321. Qualification and Exemption of Jurors 

A. The qualifications and exemptions of jurors and the 
method of choosing and summoning the general venire in 
jury cases are provided by special laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§322. Procedure in General 

A. In cases to be tried by jury, six jurors summoned in 
accordance with law shall be chosen by lot to try the case. 
The method of calling and drawing by lot shall be at the 
discretion of the court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§323. Swearing of Juror before Examination 

A. Before being examined every prospective juror shall 
be sworn to answer truthfully such questions as may be 
propounded to him. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§324. Examination of Juror 

A. The court shall permit the parties or their attorneys to 
conduct the examination of a prospective juror and may 
itself conduct an examination, which shall be limited to 
ascertaining the qualifications of the juror. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§325. Peremptory Challenges 

A. Each side is allowed three peremptory challenges. If 
there is more than one party on any side, the court may allow 
each side additional peremptory challenges, not to exceed 
two. Each side shall be allowed an equal number of 
peremptory challenges. If the parties on a side are unable to 
agree upon the allocation of peremptory challenges among 
themselves, the allocation shall be determined by the court 
before the examination on the voir dire. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§326. Challenges for Cause 

A. A juror may be challenged for cause based upon any 
of the following: 

1. when the juror lacks a qualification required by 
law; 

2. when the juror has formed an opinion in the case or 
is not otherwise impartial, the cause of his bias being 
immaterial; 

3. when the relations, whether by blood, marriage, 
employment, friendship, or enmity, between the juror and 
any party or his attorney are such that it must be reasonably 
believed that they would influence the juror in coming to a 
verdict; 

4. when the juror served on a previous jury which 
tried the same case or one arising out of the same facts; 

5. when the juror refuses to answer a question on the 
voir dire examination on the ground that his answer might 
tend to incriminate him. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§327. Time for Peremptory Challenge 

A. After the entire jury has been accepted and sworn, no 
party has the right to challenge peremptorily. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1386 (June 
2012). 
§328. Challenging or Excusing Jurors after 

Acceptance 
A. Although the entire jury may have been accepted and 

sworn, up to the beginning of the taking of evidence, a juror 
may be challenged for cause by either side or be excused 
either for cause or by consent of both sides, and the panel 
completed in the ordinary course. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§329. Swearing of Jurors; Selection of Foreman 

A. When the jury has been accepted by all parties, the 
jurors shall be sworn to try the case in a just and impartial 
manner, to the best of their judgment, and to render a verdict 
according to the law and the evidence. When the jury has 
retired, the jurors shall select a foreman to preside over them 
and sign the verdict which they may render. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§330. Alternate Jurors 

A. The court may direct that one or two jurors in addition 
to the regular panel be called and empanelled to sit as 
alternate jurors. Alternate jurors, in the order in which they 
are called, shall replace jurors who, prior to the time the jury 
retires to consider its verdict, become unable or disqualified 
to perform their duties. Alternate jurors shall be drawn in the 
same manner, shall have the same qualifications, shall be 
subject to the same examination and challenges, shall take 
the same oath, and shall have the same functions, powers, 
facilities, and privileges as the principal jurors. An alternate 
juror who does not replace a principal juror shall be 
discharged when the jury retires to consider its verdict. If 
one or two alternate jurors are called, each side shall have an 
equal number of peremptory challenges. The court shall 
determine how many challenges shall be allowed and shall 
allocate them among the parties on each side. The additional 
peremptory challenges may be used only against an alternate 
juror, and the other peremptory challenges allowed by law 
shall not be used against the alternate jurors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§331. Time for Charging the Jury; Recordation of 

Charge 
A. After the trial of the case and the presentation of all 

the evidence and arguments, the court shall charge the jury 
in accordance with law. This charge shall be in writing or 
recorded in the same manner as testimony taken in the case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 

§332. Contents of Charge to Jury 
A. In his charge to the jury, the judge shall instruct the 

jurors on the law applicable to the cause submitted to them, 
but he shall not recapitulate or comment upon the evidence 
in such manner as to exercise any influence upon their 
decision as to the facts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§333. Instruction to Jury; Objections 

A. At the close of the evidence or at an earlier time 
during the trial as the court reasonably directs, a party may 
file written requests that the court instruct the jury on the law 
as set forth in the requests. The court shall inform counsel of 
its proposed action upon the requests prior to their 
arguments to the jury. 

B. A party may not assign as error the giving or the 
failure to give an instruction unless he objects thereto before 
the jury retires to consider its verdict, stating specifically the 
matter to which he objects and the grounds of his objection. 
Opportunity shall be given to make the objection out of the 
hearing of the jury. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§334. Taking Evidence to Jury Room 

A. In reaching a verdict, the jurors should rely upon their 
memories, and when they retire to the jury room to 
deliberate, they shall not be allowed access to any written 
evidence or to any notes of the testimony of any witness, 
with the following exceptions. 

1. The judge may permit the jury to take into the jury 
room a concise summary of the property affected containing 
only the following: the size of the owner's affected property 
immediately before the expropriation; the size of the area 
expropriated; the size of the owner's remaining affected 
property immediately after the expropriation; a list of any 
improvements expropriated, and a list of any improvements 
not taken but which may have been affected by the 
expropriation, provided said summary has been admitted 
into evidence. 

2. The judge may permit the jury to take into the jury 
room a statement of the relevant value conclusions reached 
by each expert witness, if applicable, provided said 
statement has been admitted into evidence. Such statements 
shall not contain any corroborative or persuasive material 
and should consist solely of the name of the witness, the 
effective date of the value estimate, and a recitation of the 
pertinent value conclusions, and unit value conclusions, if 
applicable, testified to by the witness. 

3. The jury may take with them into the jury room any 
object or document received in evidence which requires a 
physical examination to enable them to arrive at a just 
conclusion. 

4. The parties may stipulate that appraisal reports or 
summaries of appraisal reports testified to by expert 
witnesses may be taken into the jury room. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1388 

5. The jury shall be permitted to take into the jury 
room an itemized statement of the loss the owner alleges he 
has suffered if testimony has been presented as to each item 
of loss, and if such statement has been admitted into 
evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1387 (June 
2012). 
§335. Number Required for Verdict 

A. In order to reach any verdict, five of the jurors trying the 
case must concur therein.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§336. Special Verdicts 

A. With the consent of all parties, the court may require a 
jury to return only a special verdict in the form of a special 
written finding upon each issue of fact. In that event, the 
court may submit to the jury written questions susceptible of 
categorical or other brief answer, or may submit written 
forms of the several findings which might properly be made 
under the pleadings and evidence, or may use any other 
appropriate method of submitting the issues and requiring 
the written findings thereon. The court shall give to the jury 
such explanation and instruction concerning the matter 
submitted as may be necessary to enable the jury to make its 
findings upon each issue. If the court omits any issue of fact 
raised by the pleadings or by the evidence, each party waives 
his right to trial by jury of the issue omitted, unless before 
the jury retires he demands its submission to the jury. As to 
an issue omitted without such demand, the court may make a 
finding, or, if it fails to do so, it shall be presumed to have 
made a finding in accord with the judgment on the special 
verdict. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§337. General Verdict Accompanied by Answer to 

Interrogatories; Objection 
A.1. The court may submit to the jury, together with 

appropriate forms for a general verdict, written 
interrogatories upon one or more issues of fact the decision 
of which is necessary to a verdict. The court shall give such 
explanation or instruction as may be necessary to enable the 
jury both to make answers to the interrogatories and to 
render a general verdict, and the court shall direct the jury 
both to make written answers and to render a general verdict. 

2. When the general verdict and the answers are 
harmonious, the court shall direct the entry of the 
appropriate judgment upon the verdict and answers. 

3. When the answers are consistent with each other, 
but one or more is inconsistent with the general verdict, the 
court may direct the entry of judgment in accordance with 
the answers, notwithstanding the general verdict, or may 
return the jury for further consideration of its answers and 
verdict, or may order a new trial. 

4. When the answers are inconsistent with each other 
and one or more is likewise inconsistent with the general 

verdict, the court shall not direct the entry of judgment, but 
may return the jury for further consideration of its answers 
or may order a new trial. 

B. At any time prior to argument, a party may file 
written requests that the court submit to the jury written 
interrogatories as set forth in this Section. The court shall 
inform counsel of its proposed action upon the requests prior 
to their arguments to the jury. 

1. A party may not assign as error the submission or 
failure to submit a written interrogatory unless he objects 
thereto before the jury retires to consider its verdict, stating 
specifically the matter to which he objects and the grounds 
of his objection. Opportunity shall be given to make the 
objection out of the hearing of the jury. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§338. Remittitur or Additur as Alternative to New 

Trial; Reformation of Verdict 
A. If the trial court is of the opinion that the verdict is so 

excessive or inadequate that a new trial should be granted 
for that reason only, it may indicate to the party or his 
attorney the time within which he may enter a remittitur or 
additur. This remittitur or additur is to be entered only with 
the consent of the plaintiff or the defendant, as the case may 
be, as an alternative to a new trial, and is to be entered only 
if the amount of the excess or inadequacy of the verdict or 
judgment can be separately and fairly ascertained. If a 
remittitur or additur is entered, then the court shall reform 
the jury verdict or judgment in accordance therewith. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§339. New Trial on Showing of Misconduct by Jury 

A. A new trial shall be granted if it is proved that the jury 
was bribed or has behaved so improperly that impartial 
justice has not been done. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§340. Laches by Defendant Forfeits Defenses; 

Judgment 
A. If a defendant fails to file his answer timely, the 

Board of Commissioners shall thereafter give affirmative 
notice, by certified mail, to such defendant of the pendency 
of the proceedings. If an answer is not filed within ten days 
after the date on which such notice is mailed, the court shall 
render final judgment fixing just compensation in the 
amount deposited into the registry of court and awarding that 
sum to the defendant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§341. Abandonment in Trial and Appellate Court 

A. An owner's claim for an increase in the compensation 
is perfected when he timely files his answer as provided in 
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R.S. 48:450 and is thereafter abandoned when he fails to 
take any step in the prosecution of that claim for a period of 
three years. This provision shall be operative without formal 
order, but on ex parte motion of the Board of Commissioners 
the trial court shall render final judgment fixing just 
compensation in the amount deposited in the registry of the 
court and awarding that sum to the defendant and dismissing 
with prejudice any claim for any increase in compensation. 

B. An appeal is abandoned when the parties fail to take 
any step in its prosecution or disposition for the period 
provided in the rules of the appellate court, which shall be 
not less than one year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1388 (June 
2012). 
§342. Measure of Compensation; Burden of Proof; 

Extent of Loss 
A. The measure of compensation for the property 

expropriated is determined as of the time the estimated 
compensation was deposited into the registry of the court, 
without considering any change in value caused by the 
proposed improvement for which the property is taken. 

B. The measure of damages, if any, to the defendant's 
remaining property is determined on a basis of immediately 
before and immediately after the taking, taking into 
consideration the effects of the completion of the project in 
the manner proposed or planned. 

C. The owner shall be compensated to the full extent of 
his loss. The court shall include in its consideration the 
difference between the rate of interest of any existing 
mortgage on an owner-occupied residence and the prevailing 
rate of interest required to secure a mortgage on another 
owner-occupied residence of equal value. 

D. The defendant shall present his evidence of value 
first. 

E. Reasonable attorney fees may be awarded by the 
court if the amount of the compensation deposited in the 
registry of the court is less than the amount of compensation 
awarded in the judgment. Such attorney fees in no event 
shall exceed 25 percent of the difference between the award 
and the amount deposited in the registry of the court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation DistrictLR 38:1389 (June 2012). 
§343. Replacement Compensation According to Amite 

River Basin Drainage and Water Conservation 
Statute 

A. The owner of residential property or commercial 
property, including homes, businesses, barns, outbuildings 
and churches, shall be paid the replacement cost of any such 
property expropriated by the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1389 (June 
2012). 

§344. Trial According to Code of Civil Procedure and 
the General Expropriation Laws 

A. Except as provided in this Part, these suits are tried in 
accordance with the provisions of the Code of Civil 
Procedure and general expropriation laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1389 (June 
2012). 
§345. Judgment to Provide Interest 

A. If the amount finally awarded for compensation 
exceeds the amount deposited, the judgment shall include 
legal interest on the excess from the date the defendant files 
an answer as provided in R.S. 48:450 until paid, but such 
interest shall not accrue on any award made for expert fees 
or attorney fees prior to judgment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1389 (June 
2012). 
§346. Judgment as to Difference Awarded; Payment of 

Judgment 
A. If the amount finally awarded exceeds the amount so 

deposited, the court shall enter judgment against the Board 
of Commissioners and in favor of the persons entitled 
thereto for the amount of the deficiency. The judgment shall 
not be an in globo award, but shall list separately the 
amounts awarded, but not deposited, for: 

1. an increase in the fair market value of the part 
taken; 

2. an increase in severance damages; 
3. attorney fees; 
4. expert witness fees; and 
5. any other type of loss or damage. 

B. Those portions of the final judgment which award an 
increase in the value of the part taken, an increase in 
severance damages, compensation for any other type of loss 
or damage, together with interest payable on those sums not 
deposited, attorney fees, and expert witness fees shall be 
paid within ninety days after becoming final. Thereafter, 
upon application by the owner or owners, the trial court may 
issue a writ of mandamus to enforce payment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1389 (June 
2012). 
§347. Estimate Less than Deposit 

A. The plaintiff shall not be required to amend its 
petition in order to obtain judgment in an amount less than 
that originally deposited into the registry of the court, but the 
plaintiff may not introduce evidence as to any special 
benefits unless specially pleaded. If severance damages are 
pleaded by the defendant, the plaintiff shall have the 
opportunity to plead special benefits 20 days prior to trial. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1389 (June 
2012). 
§348. Distribution of Final Award 

A. The court also has the power to make such orders as 
are just and equitable with respect to distribution of the 
amount finally awarded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 
§349. Grant as Additional Authority 

A. The right to take possession and title in advance of 
final judgment, as provided herein, is in addition to any right 
or authority conferred by the laws of this state under which 
expropriation proceedings may be conducted, and shall not 
be construed as abrogating, eliminating, or modifying any 
such right or authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 
§350. Devolutive Appeal; Effect of Appeal 

A. A devolutive appeal shall lie from expropriation suits 
tried pursuant to this Chapter without any additional deposit 
by the plaintiff, and no appeal from any expropriation suit 
brought under the provisions of this Part shall operate to 
prevent or delay the vesting of title in the plaintiff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 
§351. Divesting of Title 

A. The plaintiff shall not be divested by court order of 
any title acquired under these provisions except where such 
court finds that the property was not taken for a public 
purpose. In the event of such findings, the court shall enter 
such judgment as is necessary to compensate the defendant 
for the period during which the property was in the 
possession of the plaintiff and to recover for the plaintiff any 
award paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 
§352. Right of Way and Mitigation Acquisition 

Activities 
A. Where it is necessary for the Amite River Basin 

Drainage and Water Conservation District to acquire a right 
of way and/or mitigation property for the purpose of the 
Comite River Diversion Canal Project, said right of way 
acquisition activities shall be subject to and in accordance 
with the Louisiana Department of Transportation and 
Development Office of Right of Way Operations Manual, 
2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 

§353. Prohibition of Expropriation of any Mitigation 
Property 

A. Where it is necessary for the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District to acquire 
mitigation property for the purpose of the Comite River 
Diversion Canal Project, said acquisition activities shall be 
subject to and in accordance Act 734 of the 2010 Regular 
Legislative Session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3302. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, LR 38:1390 (June 
2012). 

 
Dietmar Rietschier 
Executive Director 

1206#014 
 

RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

KCSP Grant Reduction and Termination of Post-FITAP 
Transitional Services (LAC 67:III.5329 and 5729) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
Division of Programs, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, in accordance with the provisions of 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, 
amends the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 67, Part III, 
Subpart 13, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP), Chapter 
53, Subchapter B, and Section 5329, and Subpart 16, 
Strategies to Empower People (STEP) Program, Chapter 57, 
Subchapter C, Section 5729. 

Pursuant to Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) Block Grant, adjustments to KCSP 
eligibility criteria reduce the Income After Pretest monthly 
limit and monthly payment amount from $280 to $222. The 
department is terminating the STEP Program’s transitional 
support service benefits, which are commonly known as 
Post-FITAP Supportive Services. 

Action is required in this matter as funding is no longer 
available and the department is required to maintain fiscal 
responsibility by reducing expenditures to reconcile with 
available funding. These changes have been born of 
necessity to maximize available funding while minimizing 
the impact to clients. The adjustments to KCSP will result in 
minimal reductions in the number of children served and 
payment amounts. Transitional supportive services are 
approved at the discretion of the secretary and are subject to 
available funding. This action was made effective by an 
Emergency Rule dated and effective December 1, 2011. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Subpart 13.  Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 

Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 
Assistance 

Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5329. Income 

A. - B.3. ... 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1391 

C. Income after Pretest. The child is determined eligible 
for KCSP if the child’s monthly countable income is, 
effective December 1, 2011, less than $222. If the child’s 
monthly countable income is, effective December 1, 2011, 
$222 or more, the child is ineligible. 

D. Payment Amount. Effective December 1, 2011, 
payment amount is $222 per month for each eligible child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 
46:237, and P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, 7 CFR 
273.2(j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:353 (February 
2000), amended LR 26:2832 (December 2000), LR 31:2958 
(November 2005), LR 32:1617 (September 2006), LR 32:1913 
(October 2006), repromulgated LR 32:2098 (November 2006), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2537 
(November 2010), LR 38:1390 (June 2012). 

Subpart 16.  Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Chapter 57. Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Subchapter C. STEP Program Process 
§5729. Support Services 

A. Clients may be provided support services that include 
but are not limited to: 

1. a full range of case maintenance and case 
management services designed to lead to self-sufficiency; 

2. transportation assistance; 
3. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

(SNAP) benefits; 
4. Medicaid benefits; 
5. child care; 
6. TANF-funded services; and 
7. other services necessary to accept or maintain 

employment. 
B. - C.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, R.S. 46:231, R.S. 46:460, and Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, 
ACYF-IM-CC-05-03. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 30:500 (March 
2004), amended LR.32:2098 (November 2006), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 38:1391 (June 2012). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1206#072  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System 

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.601, 613, and 2403) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System: §601. Defining a 
Graduation Index, §613. Calculating a Graduation Index, 
and §2403. Transfer of Schools out of the Recovery School 

District. Changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 6, provide detail 
for how the graduation index is calculated. Changes in 
Bulletin 111, Chapter 24, provide detail for removing policy 
related to the recovery school district. The Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education adopted Bulletin 129 
this past spring with the goal of creating one bulletin to 
comprehensively address the rules and regulations 
applicable to the recovery school district (RSD). The 
revisions move language from Bulletin 111―The Louisiana 
School, District and State Accountability System, Section 
2403, that is exclusively applicable to schools in the RSD, to 
Bulletin 129―The Recovery School District, Section 505. 
This language references the procedures to be followed for 
schools that are under the jurisdiction of the recovery school 
district for five or more years. Moving this language to 
Bulletin 129 will ensure that any person consulting Bulletin 
129 will have access to this important information. Act 478 
of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for the 
development of an accountability system for the purpose of 
implementing fundamental changes in classroom teaching 
by helping schools and communities focus on improved 
student achievement. The state’s accountability system is an 
evolving system with different components that are required 
to change in response to state and federal laws and 
regulations. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 6. Graduation Cohort, Index, and Rate 
§601. Defining a Graduation Index 

A. Beginning in 2007, the Louisiana Department of 
Education (LDE) will calculate a graduation index based on 
a cohort of students for use in the school performance score 
of each school with students in grade 12 for schools with 10 
or more students in a cohort.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1024 (June 2006), 
amended LR 38:1391 (June 2012). 
§613. Calculating a Graduation Index 

A. Points shall be assigned for each member of a cohort 
during the cohort's fourth year of high school according to 
the following table. 

1. Students who do not dropout and do not earn a 
diploma, a GED, a skills certificate, or a certificate of 
achievement after four years of high school are defined as 
attendees. 

Student Result Points 
Academic OR Career/Technical Endorsement 180 
TOPS Opportunity Award  160 
BESE Approved Industry Based Certification OR  
TOPS Tech and Dual Enrollment OR  
TOPS Tech and Articulated Credit 

140 

Regular HS Diploma 120 
GED 90 
Skills Certificate/Certificate of Achievement 60 
Attendee 30 
Dropout 0 

 
B. The graduation index of a school shall be the average 

number of points earned by cohort members. 
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1. Beginning with the 2011 baseline SPS, the baseline 
graduation index shall be adjusted using a factor derived 
from the cohort graduation rate used in the current subgroup 
component (see §708). 

2. Beginning with the 2012 growth SPS, the growth 
graduation index shall be adjusted using a factor derived 
from the cohort graduation rate used in the prior year’s 
subgroup component (see §708). 

3. The cohort graduation rate adjustment factor shall 
be calculated using the formula: unadjusted graduation index 
+ [(graduation rate - graduation rate target) * 1.5]. 

4. The graduation rate target shall be 65 percent in 
2011 and 2012.  

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1025 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:2031 (October 2007), LR 33:2594 (December 
2007), LR 35:1472 (August 2009), LR 36:1769 (August 2010), 
repromulgated LR 36:1994 (September 2010), LR 36:2243 
(October 2010), LR 37:3201 (November 2011), LR 38:1391 (June 
2012). 
Chapter 24. Recovery School District  
§2403. Transfer of Schools out of the Recovery School 

District 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:2596 (September 
2011), repealed LR 38:1392 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#020 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
(LAC 28:CXXXIX.Chapters 1, 5-19, 27, and 39) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule is being repromulgated in its entirety 
to correct errors. The original Rule can be viewed in the 
March 20, 2012 edition of the Louisiana Register on pages 
750-753. 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 126—Charter Schools: 
Chapters 1, 5-19, 27, and 39. This Rule will ensure the 
greater effectiveness of charter schools throughout the state. 
Additionally, during the 2011 Regular Legislative Session, 
several charter school bills were passed into law. The laws 
allowed for authorizers to grant extended or shortened 
opening timelines for approved charters, remove 
requirements regarding the months a school may open, 
corporate partnerships with charter schools, the allowance of 
residential charter schools, and for applications to be revised 
and resubmitted as part of the application process. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

A. - F. … 
G. Management Organization—a for-profit company 

that manages academic, fiscal, and operational services on 
behalf of boards of directors of BESE-authorized charter 
schools through contractual agreements. 

H. - Q. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3973. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1357 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:867 (March 2011), LR 37:2383 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1392 (June 2012). 
Chapter 5. Charter School Application and Approval 

Process 
§512. Application Process for Locally Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. - A.2. … 

3. Prior to the consideration of a charter school 
proposal by any local school board, each charter applicant 
shall be afforded the opportunity to revise and resubmit the 
proposal based on the independent evaluation of the 
application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37:869 (March 2011), 
amended LR 38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1392 
(June 2012). 
§513. Stages of Application Cycle for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools  
A. - G. … 
H. Prior to the consideration of a charter school proposal 

by BESE, each charter applicant shall be afforded the 
opportunity to revise and resubmit the proposal based on the 
independent evaluation of the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1361 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:869 (March 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1392 (June 2012). 
§515. Charter School Application Components 

A. - D.48. … 
49. a description of any proposed corporate 

partnerships as specified in Chapter 39 of this bulletin. 
E. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1362 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:869 (March 2011), LR 37:2383 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1392 (June 2012). 
§517. Consideration of Charter Applications and 

Awarding of Charters by BESE  
A. … 
B. BESE shall consider each Type 5 charter school 

application that is recommended by the State Superintendent 
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of Education, based on a recommendation by the Office of 
Parental Options and the recovery school district, and may 
vote to approve or deny the recommended application. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:870 (March 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1392 (June 2012). 
Chapter 7. Charter School Performance Contract 
§701. Charter School Contract with BESE 

A. … 
B. The charter school contract shall define the 

performance standards to which the charter school will be 
held accountable and the general terms and conditions under 
which the charter school will operate. The charter school 
contract template shall include, but not be limited to, 
provisions regarding the establishment of the charter school; 
the operation of the charter school; charter school financial 
matters; charter school personnel; charter term, renewal and 
revocation; and other provisions determined necessary by 
BESE. The charter school contract shall also include exhibits 
that provide detailed information about the terms and 
conditions under which the school will operate, including 
but not limited to, the pre-opening requirements; student 
discipline policy; student enrollment; and management 
organization contract. 

C. … 
D. Any contracts entered into between a charter operator 

and a management organization shall: 
1. set forth material terms including but not limited to: 

performance evaluation measures; methods of contract 
oversight and enforcement by the charter school board; 
compensation structure and all fees to be paid to the 
management organization; and conditions for contract 
renewal and termination; 

2. contain provisions relative to the submission of 
documents, including but not limited to student records and 
financial information, upon request and in a timely manner. 
The contract shall specify that any documents not provided 
by a management organization to the charter operator must 
be reported by the charter operator to the department. If such 
documents are financial documents, the department shall 
notify BESE and the Office of the Louisiana Legislative 
Auditor. Failure to comply with requests for documents may 
render the management organization ineligible to contract 
with any BESE-authorized charter school as a management 
organization for up to five years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012). 
Chapter 9.  Opening of Charter School 
§901. Timeline for Charter School Opening 

A. A charter school shall begin operation by not later 
than 24 months after the final approval of the charter, unless 
such charter school is engaged in desegregation compliance 
issues and, therefore, must begin operation by not later than 
36 months. However, upon request, the chartering authority 

may extend the time period within which any charter school 
must begin operation. 

B. … 
C. A charter school other than a Type 5 shall not begin 

operation sooner than eight months after approval of the 
charter school has been granted, unless the chartering 
authority agrees to a lesser time period.  

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:870 (March 2011), LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012). 
Chapter 11. Ongoing Review of Charter Schools 
§1101. Charter School Evaluation 

A. - E.6. … 
F. Legal and Contract Performance 

1. BESE shall evaluate a charter school's performance 
based on the Department of Education's oversight and 
monitoring of the charter school's compliance with its 
statutory, regulatory, and contractual obligations and all 
reporting requirements. Type 5 charter schools will be 
subject to oversight in these areas by the department and the 
recovery school district, which shall regularly report 
findings to the Office of Parental Options. 

2. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:1124 
(April 2011), amended LR 37:2385 (August 2011), LR 38:750 
(March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012). 
Chapter 13. Charter Term 
§1303. Third Year Review 

A. … 
B. Each Type 2, Type 4, and Type 5 charter school's 

comprehensive report and its third year evaluation shall be 
used to determine if the school will receive a two-year 
extension, as follows. 

1. Contract Extension 
a. Each charter school shall provide a 

comprehensive report to its chartering authority at the end of 
the third year, to be considered in addition to the academic, 
financial, and legal and contractual performance data 
collected by the Office of Parental Options or the recovery 
school district for the charter school's first three years. If 
such report and performance data reveal that the charter 
school is achieving the following goals and objectives, the 
board shall, by January of the school's fourth year, permit the 
charter school to complete the remainder of its initial five-
year term: 

a.i. - b. … 
2. Schools That Fail to Meet Extension Standards 

a. If a charter school fails to meet any of the 
standards set forth in Paragraph B.1 of this Section, BESE 
may, at the superintendent’s recommendation, take one of 
the following actions based on information provided by the 
Office of Parental Options and the recovery school district, if 
the school is a Type 5 charter school: 

2.a.i - 3.b.i. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:2387 (August 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1393 (June 2012). 
Chapter 15. Charter Renewal 
§1503. Charter Renewal Process and Timeline 

A. - E.1. … 
2. Not later than January of the charter school’s fifth 

year, the state superintendent of education will make a 
recommendation to BESE about the disposition of any 
school whose contract is up for renewal. The basis for the 
recommendation will be the charter school’s student, 
financial, and legal and contractual performance during 
years one through four of the charter contract. 

3. Based on the school’s academic, financial, and 
contractual performance, the state superintendent of 
education may recommend one of three actions: 

E.3.a. - F.2. … 
3. Not later than January of the charter school’s final 

contract year, the state superintendent of education will 
make a recommendation to BESE about the disposition of 
any school whose contract is up for renewal. The basis for 
the recommendation will be the charter school’s student, 
financial, legal and contractual performance during its 
current charter contract. 

4. Based on the school’s academic, financial, and legal 
and contractual performance over the current charter 
contract term, the state superintendent may recommend one 
of the following actions: 

F.4.a. - G.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:479 (March 2010), 
amended LR 37:871 (March 2011), LR 37:2388 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012). 
Chapter 17. Revocation 
§1703. Revocation Proceedings 

A. Recommendation to Revoke Charter for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools  

1. A recommendation to revoke a charter shall be 
made to BESE by the state superintendent of education 
based on information provided by the Office of Parental 
Options and the recovery school district, if the school is a 
Type 5 charter school, at least one BESE meeting prior to the 
BESE meeting at which the recommendation may be 
considered, except as otherwise provided herein when the 
health, safety, and welfare of students is at issue. 

2. Prior to the BESE meeting at which the state 
superintendent of education will make a recommendation 
that BESE commence a revocation proceeding, the 
Department of Education will inform the charter operator 
that it is requesting such and the reasons therefor and may 
meet with the charter operator, upon request, to discuss the 
revocation recommendation. 

3. Following the state superintendent of education’s 
recommendation to revoke a charter, BESE shall determine 
if it will commence a revocation proceeding. 

A.4. - G.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1368 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:872 (March 2011), LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012). 
Chapter 19. Amendments to BESE-Authorized 

Charters  
§1903. Material Amendments for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. A material amendment to a charter is an amendment 

that makes substantive changes to a charter school's 
governance, operational, or academic structure. Material 
amendments include: 

1. changes in legal status or management, including 
the structure of the governing board, or assignment of or 
changes in management organization; 

A.2. - D. … 
E. BESE shall delegate authority to the Department to 

approve a material amendment regarding Paragraphs A.3 
and A.4 of this Section for any charter school meeting the 
following conditions, as determined by the department: 

1. ... 
2. is not in "dialogue" with the department, as defined 

in §1101.E.5.c; and 
3. - 3.c. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1369 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:873 (March 2011), LR 37:2389 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012). 
Chapter 27. Charter School Recruitment and 

Enrollment 
§2701. Students Eligible to Attend 

A. - D. … 
E. Beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, each 

elementary and middle charter school, other than a Type 2 
charter school, may request from and be granted by its 
chartering authority the authority to give preference in its 
enrollment procedures to students residing within the 
neighborhood immediately surrounding the school. The 
geographic boundaries of the neighborhood immediately 
surrounding such school shall be determined by the school's 
chartering authority. The recovery school district may grant 
or assign preference in its unified enrollment process, 
described in §2709 of this Bulletin, to students residing 
within geographic boundaries immediately surrounding each 
school, as determined by the recovery school district. Type 5 
charter schools shall not reserve more than 50 percent of 
spots in each grade level served for such enrollment 
preference. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:10.5, R.S. 
17:10.7, and R.S. 17:1990. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1373 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:875 (March 2011), LR 37:2390 (August 2011), LR 
38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 (June 2012). 
§2707. Application Period 

A. … 
B. A student application period shall not be less than one 

month nor more than three months. 
C. - D. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1394 
(June 2012). 
§2709. Enrollment of Students, Lottery, and Waitlist 

A. - F. … 
G. Any charter school not participating in the recovery 

school district’s unified enrollment system in Paragraph J. of 
this Section shall maintain a waitlist of applicants not 
admitted to the charter school as a result of capacity being 
reached in a program, a grade, or the school. 

G.1. - I. … 
J. Type 5 charter schools and traditional public schools 

in Orleans Parish transferred to the recovery school district 
pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5 and R.S. 17:10.7 shall comply with 
any unified enrollment system established by the recovery 
school district. Other charter schools located within Orleans 
Parish may participate in the unified enrollment system upon 
approval by their charter boards. Other traditional public 
schools in Orleans Parish may participate in the unified 
enrollment system upon approval by the local school board. 
The recovery school district may create any policies and 
procedures to implement a unified enrollment system not 
prohibited by this chapter, and may conduct one or more 
central lotteries to enroll students at participating schools, 
and enroll students applying or requesting transfers or 
entering the public school system at any point in time. In 
addition, the recovery school district shall, in consultation 
with a participating school, determine the number of 
students assigned per grade level for the school each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 38:750 (March 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1395 
(June 2012). 
Chapter 39. Corporate Partnerships 
§3901. Corporate Partnerships and Enrollment 

A. Notwithstanding geographic or other requirements for 
enrollment contained in this bulletin, a charter agreement 
may provide, initially or by amendment, for the enrollment 
of and an enrollment preference for dependent children of 
permanent employees of a corporate partner.  

B. Up to 50 percent of the school's maximum enrollment 
may be reserved for the enrollment of such children. 

C. The charter agreement shall specify both the school's 
maximum enrollment and the maximum proportion set aside 
for implementation of this enrollment preference. 

D.  An enrollment preference established as part of the 
corporate partnership defined in this Chapter shall not be 
implemented in a way that displaces children enrolled at the 
school at the time the charter agreement or amendment 
providing for the preference is authorized. 

E. Enrollment at the school shall otherwise be as 
provided by this Chapter except that the requirement of R.S. 
17:3991(B)(1)(a)(i) shall apply to and be based upon only 
students who are not dependent children of permanent 
employees of a corporate partner.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1395 (June 2012). 
§3903. Requirements for Corporate Partnerships 

A. A corporate partner is any legal entity, whether for 
profit or not for profit, registered with the secretary of state, 
except a corporation identified in R.S. 18:1505.2(L)(3), that 
has, acting individually or as part of a consortium of 
corporations, donated one or more of the following to the 
school:  

1. the land on which the school is built; 
2. the school building or the space the school 

occupies. If the corporate partner is leasing the building or 
space to the school, the enrollment preference or board 
membership may only be provided in the charter agreement 
if the lease provides that the building or space is made 
available without cost and if the term of the lease is not less 
than the duration of the charter agreement; 

3. major renovations to the existing school building or 
other capital improvements including major investments in 
technology. 

B. For purposes of this Chapter, a major renovation to 
the existing school building means changes that provide 
significant opportunities for substantial improvement 
including but not limited to:  

1. a structural change to the foundation, roof, floor, or 
interior or exterior walls or extension of an existing facility 
to increase its floor area; 

2. an extensive alteration of an existing facility, such 
as a change in its function or purpose, even if such 
renovation does not include any structural change to the 
facility. 

C. A major investment in technology includes but is not 
limited to a donation of:  

1. hardware; 
2. software; 
3. internet access; 
4. internet hardware; 
5. enterprise systems; 
6. software licenses; 
7. smart board technology; or 
8. audiovisual equipment. 

D. The value of a major renovation or of an investment 
of technology shall be equal to at least 50 percent of the per 
pupil allocation of state funds by the minimum foundation 
program formula for that year for the parish in which the 
school is located multiplied by the school's enrollment as 
defined in the charter agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1395 (June 2012). 
§3905. Corporate Partner Representation on Charter 

Boards 
A. A charter agreement may provide, initially or by 

amendment, for a corporate partner to have representation on 
its governing or management board; however, such 
representation may not constitute a majority of the board. 
Such membership is subject to all other provisions of law 
except any contrary provision in this Chapter. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:750 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1395 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#010 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
Return of Schools to LEA (LAC 28:CXLV.505) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 129—The Recovery School 
District: §505. Return of Schools to LEA. The Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education adopted Bulletin 129 
this past spring with the goal of creating one bulletin to 
comprehensively address the rules and regulations 
applicable to the Recovery School District (RSD). The 
revisions move language from Bulletin 111—The Louisiana 
School, District and State Accountability System, Section 
2403, that is exclusively applicable to schools in the RSD, to 
Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District, Section 505. 
This language references the procedures to be followed for 
schools that are under the jurisdiction of the recovery school 
district for five or more years. Moving this language to 
Bulletin 129 will ensure that any person consulting Bulletin 
129 will have access to this important information. Further, 
the language in Bulletin 111 has been revised to reference 
the Section in Bulletin 129 where the language will be 
moved to, so that any person searching for this information 
in its prior location will be directed to Bulletin 129. The 
revisions in Bulletin 129 also remove duplicative language 
and contain minor modifications to clarify some unfamiliar 
terms and processes in the current language. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
Chapter 5. Failed Schools 
§505. Return of Schools to LEA 

A. Schools transferred to the jurisdiction of RSD shall 
remain with the RSD for a period of not less than five years.  

1. A school that has been under the jurisdiction of the 
RSD for a minimum of five years as either a direct-run RSD 
school or a Type-5 charter school may be returned to its 
former local educational agency (LEA) or an alternative 
governing authority (AGA), if authorized by law, based 
upon the RSD's report and recommendation to BESE. The 
RSD's report shall include the following:  

a. the status of the school, the nature of its faculty 
and administration, the demographics and size of the student 
body, its organizational and management structure, whether 
student academic performance has improved, the amount of 
any improvement, an explanation of why student academic 
performance has or has not improved, and to what extent 
performance targets were achieved; 

b. the RSD report shall also include a 
recommendation as to whether the school should: 
 i. remain within the RSD in the same operational 
status; 
 ii. remain within the RSD in a new operational 
status; 
 iii. close, with the reasons why it should close; or 
 iv. return to the original LEA, with proposed 
stipulations and conditions for the return. 

B. An eligible school may elect to transfer from the RSD 
and return to its former local educational agency (LEA) or 
an alternative governing authority (AGA), if authorized by 
law. If a school chooses not to transfer to its former LEA or 
an AGA, it will automatically remain within the RSD for an 
additional school year. The school will have the opportunity 
to choose to return to its former LEA or AGA every year the 
school continues to meet eligibility criteria, in accordance 
with the procedures outlined below.  

C. No school shall be eligible for transfer from the 
jurisdiction of the recovery school district until the 
conclusion of the 2011-2012 school year. No school shall be 
transferred from the RSD without the approval of the 
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
School (BESE) and the recipient LEA or AGA. 

D. A non-failing school is eligible for transfer from the 
jurisdiction of the recovery school district provided it meets 
all of the following. 

1. The school will have been under the jurisdiction of 
the recovery school district for a minimum of five years as 
either a direct-run RSD school or a Type-5 charter school. 
The decision to transfer will be considered at the earliest 
during the school’s fifth year under the jurisdiction of the 
RSD, with the proposed transfer occurring at the conclusion 
of that same school year.  

2. The school has earned for the past two consecutive 
years a school performance score (SPS) of 80.0 or above. If 
the academically unacceptable school (AUS) bar is raised 
above 75.0, then the school must have earned for the past 
two consecutive years a school performance score that is at 
least 5.0 points above the AUS bar as established by BESE 
pursuant to the statewide school and district accountability 
system. 

3. The school elects to transfer from the RSD and has 
notified BESE in writing, no later than December 1 of the 
year preceding the effective date of the proposed transfer. 

a.  Type 5 Charter School. The charter school’s 
governing authority, in accordance with its by-laws, shall 
notify BESE in writing of its desire to transfer from the 
jurisdiction of the RSD. 

b.  Direct-Run RSD School. The superintendent of 
the RSD, in consultation with the parents of students 
attending the school, and the school’s staff, shall make a 
recommendation to BESE seeking transfer from the 
jurisdiction of the RSD. 

4. No later than January 1 of the school year 
preceding the effective date of the proposed transfer, BESE 
shall make a determination whether or not to allow an 
eligible non-failing school to seek transfer to its former LEA 
or an AGA. At that time, BESE may require the school to 
agree to comply with certain requirements prior to the 
effective date of the proposed transfer.  
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5. If BESE approves the transfer, the former LEA or 
the AGA must notify BESE, in writing, whether it has 
agreed to accept jurisdiction of the transferring school no 
later than March 1 of the school year prior to the effective 
date of the proposed transfer. 

6. The following parties must agree to the transfer no 
later than April 1 of the school year preceding the effective 
date of such transfer: 

a. the governing authority of a charter school, if a 
charter school; or 

b. the superintendent of the RSD, if a direct-run 
RSD school; and 

c. BESE; and 
d. the recipient LEA or AGA. 

E. A direct-run RSD school that is deemed a failing 
school may be eligible for transfer from the jurisdiction of 
the recovery school district provided it meets all of the 
following. 

1. The school will have been under the jurisdiction of 
the recovery school district for a minimum of five years at 
the conclusion of the school year preceding the effective 
date of the proposed transfer. The decision to transfer will be 
considered at the earliest during the school’s fifth year under 
the jurisdiction of the RSD, with the proposed transfer 
occurring at the conclusion of that same school year.  

2. The school is labeled as in AUS status as defined 
by the statewide school and district accountability system 
during its fifth year, or any subsequent year the school 
remains within the RSD. 

3. The school is not undergoing a charter conversion 
or phase-out, as defined in Subsection J below. 

4. The recipient LEA or AGA has agreed to accept the 
school and has developed a proposal for the school’s 
turnaround. 

5. BESE has approved the recipient authority’s 
turnaround proposal for the school. 

6. The following parties have agreed to such transfer 
from the RSD: 

a. the superintendent of the RSD; and 
b. BESE; and 
c. the recipient LEA or AGA. 

F. Type 5 Charter Schools. The transfer of a Type 5 
charter school from the RSD shall become effective on July 
1 of the year following BESE’s approval of such transfer. 

1. The charter school must negotiate a new charter 
contract agreement with the recipient authority to become 
either a Type 3 or Type 4 charter school. A copy of the 
signed negotiated charter contract agreement must be 
provided to BESE no later than Apri1 1 preceding the 
effective date of the proposed transfer. The new charter 
contract agreement must: 

a. be effective on the date of transfer (July 1);  
b. be consistent with all state and federal laws 

governing charter school authorization;  
c. contain academic performance standards and 

other requirements for extension and renewal that are equal 
to or greater than Type 5 charter school performance 
standards as enumerated in BESE Bulletin 126; and 

d. comply with any transfer conditions previously 
specified by BESE at the time BESE made the determination 
to allow the transfer (prior to January 1). 

2. Transfer to a Type 3 Charter School. If the charter 
school elects to become a Type 3 charter school, the non-
profit charter organization shall apply to the recipient 
authority to operate the school. The charter contract 
agreement must conform to all the laws and requirements 
governing Type 3 charter schools. 

3. Transfer to a Type 4 Charter School. If the charter 
school elects to become a Type 4 charter school, the 
recipient authority must apply to BESE to operate the charter 
school, with the approval from the charter operator. The 
charter contract agreement must conform to all the laws and 
requirements governing Type 4 charter schools. 

G. Direct-Run RSD Schools. A direct-run RSD school 
may transfer directly to the recipient authority as a direct-run 
school, or may transfer as a Type 3 or Type 4 charter school. 

1. Transfer to a Charter School. A non-failing direct-
run RSD school may elect to transfer to the recipient 
authority as either a Type 3 or a Type 4 charter school. Such 
transfer to the recipient authority shall be made in the same 
manner as described in Paragraph F.1 above. 

2. Transfer as a Direct-Run School. A direct-run RSD 
school may elect to become a direct-run school under the 
recipient authority, in which case the recipient authority shall 
enter into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with 
BESE. The MOU shall be effective for a maximum of three 
years, and shall provide, at a minimum, the following. 

a. Non-Failing Direct-Run RSD Schools 
 i. Preserve the Existing School Autonomy. The 
transferring school shall retain its existing level of autonomy 
over such elements, including but not limited to, its 
educational program and curricula, its staffing, and its 
budget decisions. 
 ii. Continued Performance. The recipient 
authority shall be required to maintain school performance 
equal to or greater than that achieved by the RSD. Should 
the transferring school become AUS during the term of the 
MOU, the school shall be immediately returned to the 
jurisdiction of the RSD. 
 iii. School Budget. The transferring school shall 
maintain its school-level budget at a level at least equal to 
that school-level budget it maintained while in the RSD, 
adjusted for current enrollment, the MFP and/or federal, 
local and/or other sources of revenue. 
 iv. Recourse. Violation of the MOU may result in 
the school being returned to the RSD. 

b. Failing Direct-Run RSD Schools 
 i. Turnaround Plan. The MOU shall identify key 
benchmarks and milestones demonstrating the turnaround 
strategy being executed and successfully improving student 
academic outcomes. 

H. The RSD has the responsibility to maintain high 
educational standards for all direct-run schools and charter 
schools under its jurisdiction. 

I. Type 5 Charter School Accountability. The renewal of 
a charter agreement for any Type 5 charter school that is 
labeled AUS in its fifth year of operation shall be governed 
by provisions found in Bulletin 126. If not renewed, the 
charter school will either revert to the direct control of the 
RSD, be closed, or may be transferred to another non-profit 
charter organization. 
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J. Direct-Run RSD Schools. Any direct-run RSD school 
that is labeled AUS in its fifth year of operation within the 
RSD shall be subject to one of the following. 

1. Phase-Out. The school will be closed according to a 
timeline and its students will be transferred to other high 
performing schools. 

2. Charter Conversion. The school may be converted 
to the control of a charter school that has a proven ability to 
implement a school turnaround model and will operate as a 
Type 5 charter school. 

3. Transfer to a Recipient LEA or AGA. The school 
may be transferred to a recipient LEA or AGA, which has 
the proven ability to implement a school turnaround plan. 

4. Remain within the RSD. The school may remain 
within the RSD for an additional five-year period. The 
school performance will be reviewed on an annual basis and, 
if the school remains in AUS, a charter operator or recipient 
authority may submit a proposal to BESE for operation of 
the school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), R.S. 17:10.5(C), and R.S. 17:10.7(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:878 (March 2011), 
amended LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:1396 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#021 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Adult Education Programs  

(LAC 28:CXV.Chapter 27) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators: Chapter 27. Adult Education 
Programs. Effective July 1, 2010, the governance of the 
Adult Education program changed from the Department of 
Education to the Louisiana Community and Technical 
College System. This Rule implements changes as a result of 
the elimination of the division of adult and community 
education within the Department of Education and 
transferred the responsibility for adult education programs 
from BESE to the Louisiana Community and Technical 
College System. As a result of this change, it is necessary to 
repeal Chapter 27, Adult Education Programs, Sections 
2701-2715, as they currently exist, from Bulletin 741. This 
Rule implements changes as per Act 132 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 27. Adult Education Programs 
§2701. Program Administration 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1305 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:2317 (November 2009), repealed LR 38:1398 
(June 2012). 
§2703. Requirements for Students 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1306 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:2318 (November 2009), repealed LR 38:1398 
(June 2012). 
§2705. Requirements for Taking the GED Test 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1306 (June 2005), 
amended LR35:2318 (November 2009), repealed LR 38:1398 (June 
2012). 
§2707. Requirements for Passing the GED Test 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1306 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:2318 (November 2009), repealed 38:1398 (June 
2012). 
§2709. Requirements for GED Retesting 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1306 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:2318 (November 2009), repealed LR 38:1398 
(June 2012). 
§2711. Issuance of Equivalency Diplomas 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14; R.S. 17:7(5)(C). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1307 (June 2005), 
amended LR 35:2318 (November 2009), repealed LR 38:1398 
(June 2012). 
§2713. Regular High School Diploma for Veterans or 

Members of the United States Armed Forces 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1307 (June 2005), 
repealed LR 38:1398 (June 2012). 
§2715. Evening Schools for Adults 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1308 (June 2005), 
repealed LR 38:1398 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#022 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Compulsory Attendance 

(LAC 28:CXV.1103) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators: §1103. Compulsory Attendance. 
This policy, related to compulsory attendance for grades K 
through 12, will ensure that LEAs follow proper procedures 
for exiting students in need of adult education. This policy 
revision was deemed necessary for inclusion in the bulletin, 
especially once Chapter 27 (Adult Education Programs) is 
repealed. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 11. Student Services 
§1103. Compulsory Attendance 

A. Students who have attained the age of seven years 
shall attend a public or private day school or participate in an 
approved home study program until they reach the age of 18 
years. Any child below the age of seven who legally enrolls 
in school shall also be subject to compulsory attendance. 
Refer to Chapter 33 for information on home study 
programs. 

B. A parent, tutor, or legal guardian who has a student 
who is under the age of 18 and meets one of the 
requirements below shall be in compliance with the 
compulsory attendance law. 

1. A student, under 18 years of age, who withdraws 
from school prior to graduating from high school and who 
has been ruled to be a truant, pursuant to the provisions of 
Chapter 15 of Title VII of the Louisiana Children's Code, by 
a court of competent jurisdiction can be ordered by the court 
to exercise one of the following options within 120 days of 
leaving school: 

a. reenroll in school and make continual progress 
toward completing the requirements for high school 
graduation; 

b. enroll in a high school equivalency diploma 
program and make continual progress toward completing the 
requirements for earning such diploma; 

c. enlist in the Louisiana National Guard or a 
branch of the United States Armed Forces, with a 
commitment for at least two years of service, and earn a high 
school equivalency diploma during such service period. 

2. If a student is under the age of 18, the parent or 
guardian may withdraw the student from high school if that 
student is seeking admission to a National Guard Youth 
Challenge Program in this state. 

3. For a student who is under the age of 18 and 
enrolled in school beyond his/her sixteenth birthday, the 
parent or guardian may request a waiver from the local 
superintendent for that student to exit school to enroll in an 
adult education program approved by the Louisiana 
Community and Technical College System (LCTCS). 

a. In the case of a student with no parent or 
guardian, the local school superintendent may act on behalf 
of the student in requesting a waiver if appropriate 
documentation is on file at the local school board office and 
one or more of the following hardships exist: 
 i. pregnant or actively parenting; 
 ii. incarcerated or adjudicated; 
 iii. institutionalized or living in a residential 
facility; 
 iv. chronic physical or mental illness;  
 v. family and/or economic hardships. 

(a). Family and/or economic hardship is defined 
as a student who acts as a caregiver or must work to support 
the family due to a parent's death or illness, or needs to be 
removed from an existing home environment. 

b. The local school superintendent or his/her 
designee may approve the request for exiting public or home 
school without requesting action from BESE. If the request 
to exit school to enroll in a LCTCS approved adult education 
program is denied at the local level, a student may request 
the waiver from the DOE for approval by BESE with 
documentation of reason for denial at the local level. 
Students seeking to exit school to enroll in adult education, 
who are enrolled in a formal education setting other than a 
public K-12 institution, may request a waiver from the 
institutional agency head or his/her designee. Mandatory 
attendance components shall be met in all of the above 
circumstances. 

B.4. - N. … 
NOTE: Refer to §1117. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:112; R.S. 17:221.3-4; R.S. 17:226.1; R.S. 17:233. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1273 (June 2005), 
amended LR 32:546 (April 2006), LR 32:1030 (June 2006), LR 
33:2351 (November 2007), LR 35:641 (April 2009), LR 35:1097 
(June 2009), LR 35:1475 (August 2009), LR 36:482 (March 2010), 
LR 36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37:1126 (April 2011), LR, 37:2132 
(July 2011), LR 38:1000 (April 2012), LR 38:1225 (May 2012), 
LR 38:1399 (June, 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#023  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Technology Education 

(LAC 28:CXV.2385) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators: §2385. Technology Education. 
This action is necessary in order to set forth policy listing 
state recognized technology education course offerings 
within the CTE program. The two course offerings will 
provide specific instruction and training to students 
interested in pursuing careers in petrochemical industry. 
These courses will cover content which is required of 
individuals pursuing careers in oil and gas production.  
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2385. Technology Education 

A. Technology Education (formerly industrial arts) 
course offerings shall be as follows. 

Course Title(s) 
Recommended 

Grade Level Units 
Advanced Electricity/Electronics 10-12 1 
Advanced Metal Technology 10-12 1 
Advanced Wood Technology  10-12 1 
Aerospace Engineering 11-12 1 
Basic Electricity/Electronics 9-12 1 
Basic Metal Technology 9-12 1 
Basic Wood Technology 9-12 1 
Civil Engineering and Architecture 11-12 1 
Communication/Middle School 6-8 - 
Communication Technology 9-12 1 
Computer Integrated Manufacturing 11-12 1 
Construction/Middle School 6-8 - 
Construction Technology  10-12 1 
Cooperative Technology Education 10-12 3 
Digital Electronics 9-10 1 
Energy, Power, and Transportation 
Technology 9-12 1 

Engineering Design I, II 11-12 1 
Engineering Design and Development 11-12 1 
General Technology Education 9-12 1 
Introduction to Engineering Design 8-12 1 
Manufacturing Technology 9-12 1 
Manufacturing Technology/Middle 
School 6-8 - 

Marine Engineering 11-12 0.5 
Materials and Processes 10-12 1 
Modular Technology/Middle School 6-8 - 
Oil and Gas Production Operations 11-12 1 
Physics of Technology I 10-12 1 
Physics of Technology II 11-12 1 
Power Mechanics 9-12 1 
Principles of Engineering 9-10 1 
T2 Safety Systems for Oil and Gas 
Production 11-12 1 

Technology Education Computer 
Applications 9-12 1 

Technology Education Elective I, II 9-12 1/2-3 
Transportation Technology/Middle 
School 6-8 - 

Welding Technology 10-12 1 
Industry-Based Certifications 

Advanced Technical Drafting 10-12 1 
Architectural Drafting 10-12 1 
Basic Technical Drafting 9-12 1 
NCCER Carpentry I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Electrical I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Industrial Maintenance 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Instrumentation Control 
Mechanic I, II 11-12 1-3 

NCCER Insulating 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Pipe Fitter I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Welding Technology I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
Process Technician I, II 11-12 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7; R.S. 17:24.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1300 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:279 (February 2007), LR 35:1229 (July 2009), LR 
35:2323 (November 2009), LR 35:2747 (December 2009), LR 
36:1997 (September 2010), LR 38:1400 (June, 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#024  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCounselor K-12 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.405 and 659) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §405. Counselor 
K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) and §659. Counselor 
K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting). The policy revision 
will require the completion of a master’s degree program 
from a regionally accredited college or university which has 
met the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Educational Program (CACREP) guidelines for a standards 
based program in school counseling. The program must 
include a practicum/internship in school counseling, and the 
individual must receive a passing score on the PRAXIS 
examination in school guidance and counseling. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
Subchapter A. General Ancillary School Certificates 
§405. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 

A. Valid for Five Years. Universities that plan to admit 
new candidates into school counseling programs after 
December 31, 2012 must provide the Louisiana Department 
of Education by January 1, 2013 with a copy of the 
application submitted to the Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Program (CACREP) 
for national accreditation. Universities that submit CACREP 
applications must be CACREP accredited by July 1, 2015 to 
admit new candidates into school counseling programs after 
June 30, 2015. Universities that do not submit CACREP 
applications by January 1, 2013 may not admit new 
candidates into their school counseling programs after 
December 31, 2012. Candidates who are already in the 
process of working toward certification under the previous 
guidelines will be given until June 30, 2017 to complete all 
coursework. Individuals who have completed all courses and 
degree requirements for the previous policy by June 30, 
2017 will be allowed to have this endorsement added to their 
certificates. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. completion of a standards based master’s degree 

program in school counseling from a regionally accredited 
college or university approved by the Council for 
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Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 
Program (CACREP); 

2. practicum/internship requirements: 
a. a practicum in school counseling to include 100 

contacts hours in a school setting; or 
b. an internship in school counseling to include 600 

contact hours in a school setting; 
3. completion of the PRAXIS examination in school 

guidance and counseling (0420). 
C. Renewal Requirements. For purposes of maintaining 

a valid counseling endorsement, any school counselor 
receiving certification after July 1, 2013 is required to either 
provide verification of a current licensed professional 
counselor (LPC) license or complete 150 hours of 
continuing learning units (CLUs) over a five-year time 
period that are consistent with the individual professional 
growth plan (IPGP). These CLUs must be standards based 
and follow the models of the American School Counseling 
Association (ASCA) and CACREP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:280 (February 2007), LR 34:432 (March 2008), 
LR 38:1400 (June, 2012). 
Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 
§659. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 

A. Universities that plan to admit new candidates into 
school counseling programs after December 31, 2012 must 
provide the Louisiana Department of Education by January 
1, 2013 with a copy of the application submitted to the 
Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Educational Program (CACREP) for national accreditation. 
Universities that submit CACREP applications must be 
CACREP accredited by July 1, 2015 to admit new 
candidates into school counseling programs after June 30, 
2015. Universities that do not submit CACREP applications 
by January 1, 2013 may not admit new candidates into their 
school counseling programs after December 31, 2012. 
Candidates who are already in the process of working 
toward certification under the previous guidelines will be 
given until June 30, 2017 to complete all coursework. 
Individuals who have completed all courses and degree 
requirements for the previous policy by June 30, 2017 will 
be allowed to have this endorsement added to their 
certificates. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Louisiana teaching certificate; 
2. completion of a standards-based master’s degree 

program in school counseling from a regionally accredited 
college or university approved by the Council for 
Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational 
Program (CACREP); 

3. practicum/internship requirements: 
a. a practicum in school counseling to include 100 

contacts hours in a school setting; or 
b. an internship in school counseling to include 600 

contact hours in a school setting; 
4. completion of the PRAXIS examination in school 

guidance and counseling (0420). 

C. Renewal Requirements. For purposes of maintaining 
a valid counselor endorsement, any school counselor 
receiving certification after July 1, 2013 is required to either 
provide verification of a current License Professional 
Counselor (LPC) license or complete 150 hours of 
continuing learning units (CLUs) that are consistent with the 
Individual Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) over a five-year 
time period. These CLUs must be standards based and 
follow the models of the American School Counseling 
Association (ASCA) and CACREP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:1618 (August 2007), LR 38:1401 (June, 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#025  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1706—Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act—Expenditures  

(LAC 28:XLIII.133) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act, 
Subpart 1. Regulations for Students with Disabilities: §133. 
Expenditures. The rules implement Act 515 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session, the School Choice Pilot 
Program for Certain Students with Exceptionalities. The 
rules clarify the requirements for participating school and 
student eligibility. The policy clarifies the obligations of 
participants and gives clear timelines for reporting the 
entrance, exit, and transfer of students at participating 
schools. The policy also clarifies the financial obligations of 
the Department of Education and participating schools and 
families. This includes a requirement that schools not 
increase tuition after the school submits eligibility 
documentation to the state as part of the eligibility process 
conducted by the state. The policy ensures payments to 
participating schools are aligned with the same schedule for 
public schools receiving money from the state. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIII.  Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children  

with Exceptionalities Act 
Subpart 1.  Regulations for Students with Disabilities 

Chapter 1. State Eligibility 
Subchapter F. Students with Disabilities Enrolled by 

their Parents in Private Schools 
§133. Expenditures  

A. - D. … 
E. School Choice Pilot Program for Certain Students 

with Exceptionalities 
1. Introduction 
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a. The purpose of the school choice pilot program 
for certain students with exceptionalities, hereafter referred 
to as the “program,” shall be to provide certain students with 
exceptionalities the opportunity to attend schools of their 
parents’ choice that provide educational services specifically 
tailored to address said students’ specific needs. 

2. Definitions 
a. Approved Non-public School 

 i. non-public school that meets the following 
criteria: 

(a). approved, provisionally approved, or 
probationally approved by the state Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education pursuant to R.S. 17:11 and according 
to Brumfield, et al. v. Dodd, et al. 425 F. Supp. 528. 

b. Continuous Attendance 
 i. student is enrolled and actively attending 
school. 

c. Educational Certificate 
 i. award amount allocated to an eligible school 
on behalf of an eligible student by the Louisiana Department 
of Education that shall be equivalent to 50 percent of the per 
pupil allocation of state funds to the city, parish, or other 
local public school district in which the eligible student is 
residing for that school year, but shall not exceed the amount 
of tuition charged by the eligible nonpublic school.  

d. Enrollment Status 
 i. the category of enrollment at an eligible non-
public school as evidenced by attendance and registration. 

e. Entrance Requirements 
 i. requirements for entry into a participating non-
public school. 

f. IEP 
 i. a plan that provides the basis for programming 
for students with exceptionalities as specified in Bulletin 
1530. 

g. Transfer 
 i. a change in enrollment status resulting from the 
movement of an eligible student from one approved non-
public school to another eligible non-public school during 
the current school year. 

h. Tuition 
 i. the total costs associated with one year of 
enrollment at an eligible non-public school as assessed to 
similarly situated students. 

i. Services Plan 
 i. a plan that provides the basis for services 
programming for students with exceptionalities as specified 
in Bulletin 1530. 

3. Eligibility 
a. Student Eligibility 

 i. A student shall be eligible to participate in the 
program after submission of an application to the Louisiana 
Department of Education not later than February 10 of the 
year prior to the year of eligibility and in accordance with 
the following requirements: 

(a). evaluation of the student by a local education 
agency as defined in R.S. 17:1942 and resulting in a 
determination that services are required for one of the 
following exceptionalities: 
 (i). autism; 
 (ii). mental disability; 
 (iii). emotional disturbance; 

 (iv). developmental delay; 
 (v). other health impairment; 
 (vi). specific learning disability; or 
 (vii). traumatic brain injury; 

(b). having an individual education plan or a 
services plan for any service excluding gifted and talented as 
defined in R.S. 17:1942 and in accordance with Title 34 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations Part 300.37; 

(c). residence within an eligible parish in 
accordance with Act 515; 

(d). eligibility to attend public school and enter 
into kindergarten or grades 1-8. 
 ii. An eligible student may be expelled from the 
school in accordance with the school’s discipline policies or 
may be disqualified from enrollment if the student is no 
longer eligible for the program as determined by the 
department. 

b. School Eligibility 
 i. A non-public school shall be eligible to enroll 
students through the program if it: 

(a). is an approved non-public school, as 
determined by the state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education pursuant to R.S. 17:11 and has been so approved 
for the school year prior to the school’s participation in the 
program; and 

(b). has provided needed educational services to 
students with exceptionalities, as defined in R.S. 17:1942, 
excluding students deemed to be gifted or talented, for at 
least two years; and 

(c). has provided needed services to students by 
teachers holding appropriate special education certification 
or other appropriate education and training as defined in 
Bulletin 1706; and  

(d). provides services and instruction in 
accordance with a student’s individual education plan and/or 
services plan. 
 ii. A non-public school seeking eligibility for this 
program shall provide the Louisiana Department of 
Education with the following documents in accordance with 
timelines determined by the Louisiana Department of 
Education: 

(a). a list of student exceptionalities that the 
school is able and willing to serve, as defined in R.S. 
17:1942; 

(b). an itemized tuition calculation including all 
costs for special education services by specific disability as 
listed in this Section of Bulletin 1706 and all mandatory fees 
for the upcoming year, as well as the previous year. 
 iii. Any non-public school that does not meet these 
requirements shall not receive approval for program 
participation. 

c. Eligible School Obligations 
 i. Once a non-public school is determined to be 
eligible for the program it shall provide the following 
assurances and information, as well as meet the following 
deadlines in order to retain eligibility: 

(a). determination of the number of eligible 
students it will accept in any year of program participation 
and establishment of criteria for enrollment of students; 

(b). no student seeking to enroll and participate 
in the program shall be required to take an entrance exam; 
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(c). provision of all rules, policies, and 
procedures of the school, including but not limited to 
academic policies and disciplinary policies and procedures, 
to the parent or guardian of an eligible student; 

(d). completion of student enrollment by April 
thirtieth of the school year prior to the non-public school’s 
participation in the program; 

(e). submission to the Louisiana Department of 
Education of a list of all eligible students conditionally 
enrolled in the school by June first of the year prior to the 
program year. 

4. Finances 
a. Parental Obligations 

 i. Parents of eligible students shall declare all 
other federal, state, local, and private financial aid to the 
student for educational purposes to the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 
 ii. Parents of eligible students shall be responsible 
for paying any outstanding tuition obligations regardless of 
the educational certificate award, except for undisbursed 
educational certificate funds. 

b. School Obligations 
 i. Any eligible school shall declare all other 
federal, state, local, and private financial aid to eligible 
students for educational purposes to the Louisiana 
Department of Education.  
 ii. Any eligible school shall not increase tuition 
above itemized calculations provided to the Louisiana 
Department of Education by the school during eligibility 
determination. 
 iii. Any eligible school shall not require parents to 
pay for undisbursed educational certificate funds, unless 
student becomes ineligible for the pilot program but remains 
at the school.  
 iv. Any eligible school shall be subject to an audit 
of educational certificate funds by the Department of 
Education. 

c. Louisiana Department of Education Obligations 
 i. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
determine the total amount of the educational certificate 
after declaration by both parent and school of all other 
financial aid, subtracting any such aid from the maximum 
educational certificate value. 
 ii. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
disburse educational certificate funds in four separate 
payments to the eligible school in the months of September, 
November, February, and May. 
 iii. Payments shall be based on per pupil count 
dates as determined by the Louisiana Department of 
Education. The count dates used are the fifteenth of 
September, November, February, and the fifth of May. 
 iv. Should any of the count dates occur on a 
weekend, the count shall take place no later than the next 
business day. 
 v. Should an eligible student begin attending an 
eligible non-public school after the start of the school year, 
the Louisiana Department of Education shall determine the 
method of disbursing the appropriate educational certificate 
amount. 

5. Notifications of Change 
a. School Notification Requirements 

 i. Any participating school shall notify the 
Louisiana Department of Education in writing within 10 
days when there are changes in eligibility requirements 
including but not limited to: tuition, enrollment status, 
transfer, IEP, continuous attendance, and other types of 
financial aid as defined in this bulletin. 

6. Student Records 
a. Any participating school shall make all program 

participants’ records available upon request by the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

7. Re-enrollment 
a. Each eligible school and student shall submit a 

re-enrollment application to continue participation in the 
pilot program the following school year. If either the school 
or student loses eligibility, another initial application for the 
pilot program may be submitted to the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

8. Lottery 
a. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 

hold a lottery for eligible, non-continuing students prior to 
the start of the school year, if demand for the pilot program 
exceeds available slots.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 34:2041 (October 2008), amended 
LR 38:1401 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#026  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1706—Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act—Regulations for 

Students with Disabilities (LAC 28:XLIII.543) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act: 
Subpart 1. Regulations for Students with Disabilities, §543. 
Restrictions on the Use of Seclusion or Physical Restraint. 
The Rule was developed in response to Act 328 of the 2011 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. The Act 
requires the state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education to approve rules related to the use of seclusion 
and restraint for students with exceptionalities in local 
education agencies in the state. The Rule includes 
definitions, how seclusion will be used and who will 
determine the use of seclusion. The Rule defines the 
attributes of a seclusion room. The use of physical restraint 
is described. Restrictions on the use of seclusion and 
physical restraint are included in the Rule. Notification of 
parents or legal guardians and the school district’s director or 
supervisor of special education is required when seclusion or 
restraint is used. Documentation of the use of seclusion or 
restraint is necessary, and if a student is involved in five 
incidents in a school year, the student’s individualized 
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education plan team shall review and revise the plan if 
necessary. School districts are required to adopt written 
guidelines and procedures concerning reporting 
requirements, notification to parents and school officials and 
explanations or methods of physical restraint and school 
employee training. The local school district will report 
instances where seclusion or physical restraint are used to 
the Department of Education, which will maintain a database 
of all reported instances of seclusion and physical restraint. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIII.  Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with  

Exceptionalities Act 
Subpart 1.  Regulations for Students with Disabilities 

Chapter 5. Procedural Safeguards 
Subchapter C. Seclusion and Physical Restraint 
§543. Restrictions on the Use of Seclusion or Physical 

Restraint 
A. - E. ... 
F. The parent or other legal guardian of a student who 

has been placed in seclusion or physically restrained shall be 
notified as soon as possible. The school shall document all 
efforts, including conversations, phone calls, electronic 
communications, and home visits, to notify the parent of a 
student who has been placed in seclusion or physically 
restrained.  

1. The student’s parent or other legal guardian shall 
also be notified in writing, within 24 hours, of each incident 
of seclusion or physical restraint. Such notice shall include 
the reason for such seclusion or physical restraint, the 
procedures used, the length of time of the student’s seclusion 
or physical restraint, and the names and titles of any school 
employee involved.  

G. - N. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:7(5)(b) and 17:416.21. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated 

by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1007 
(April 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1225 (May 2012).amended LR 
38:1404 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#027 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Finance and Property, Minimum Foundation Program,  
Add-on Students/Units (LAC 28:I.1107) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
Title 28, Part I, §1107.D, MFP: Add-on Students/Units. The 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, §1107, 
Subsection D contains the required data for establishing the 
data sets used in determining the add-on students/units. A 
technical amendment is required to the definition for at-risk 
students to align virtual schools students with the MFP 
resolution. Currently, the required data to determine an at-
risk student is a free or reduced lunch application. The Rule 

will now define an at-risk student as a student who is 
qualified to participate in the federal free and reduced price 
breakfast and lunch program, instead of a student who has an 
approved application to participate. This is necessary 
because low-income students enrolled in virtual schools do 
not fill out free or reduced lunch forms because they do not 
eat lunch at the school. This change will allow the MFP 
formula to calculate the add-on students/units for at-risk 
students correctly. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 11. Finance and Property 
§1107. Minimum Foundation Program 

A. - C.1.b.x. ... 
D. MFP: Add-on Students/Units 

1. Required Data. For purposes of establishing the 
data sets used in determining the add-on students/units, the 
following will be adhered to. 

a. At-risk student count shall be determined by the 
number of students whose family income is at or below 
income eligibility guidelines or other guidelines as provided 
by BESE and the number of students identified as English 
language learners (ELL) that were not included based on 
income eligibility guidelines. The current income eligibility 
guidelines include those students qualifying to participate in 
the federal free and reduced price breakfast and lunch 
program. The fall count is determined by the number of 
students qualifying for the free and reduced price lunch 
program and those ELL students not included on income 
eligibility guidelines during the month of October as 
reported in the Student Information System (SIS). For any 
additional required count date(s), the at-risk student count 
will be those qualifying for free and reduced lunch and those 
ELL students not included on income eligibility guidelines 
as reported in SIS, as of that count date. 

b. - e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Art. 

VIII §13 and R.S. 17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:425 (March 2008), 
amended LR 37:1142 (April 2011), LR 37:3219 (November 2011), 
LR 38:1404 (June, 2012). 

Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#028  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators  

(LAC 28:LXXIX.115, 705, 707, 905, 2103, and 3303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators: §115. Pre-
Kindergarten/Kindergarten, §705. Length of the School Day, 
§707. Class Size and Ratio, §905. Age Requirements, §2103. 
Minimum Time Requirements, and §3303. Definitions. The 
revisions are necessary to align current policies with the new 
policies in Chapter 30, which was recently added. Chapter 
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30 provides the rules and regulations to protect the health 
and safety of three-year-old children who attend 
prekindergarten at an approved nonpublic elementary 
school, as required by Act 102 of the 2011 Regular 
Legislative Session. The changes to Sections 115, 705, 707, 
905, 2103, and 3303 reflect the changes to pre-kindergarten 
policy, length of the school day, class size and ratio, age 
requirements, minimum time requirements, and definitions, 
as contained in the new regulations for three-year-old 
students. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators—

Programs of Study 
Chapter 1. Operation and Administration 
§115. Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten  

A. The local educational governing authority shall have 
the option of establishing a pre-kindergarten and/or 
kindergarten program on a half-day or full-day schedule. 

B. The pre-kindergarten program shall be listed on the 
annual school report when operated as a developmental 
program within the total school program or when operated as 
a separate program. 

C. The term pre-kindergarten includes developmental 
programs for children ages three through four, the minimum 
age being three by September 30 of the school year in which 
the student enters pre-kindergarten.  

D. Pre-kindergarten programs may be operated as part of 
an approved elementary school program in conjunction with 
other grades or may be operated solely as an approved pre-
kindergarten program. These approved programs are 
considered to be elementary schools. 

E. Non-public schools are not required to offer pre-
kindergarten programs nor are children required to attend 
these programs. 

F. Any other program which operates in a school as a 
childcare program shall follow the day care standards as 
prescribed by the appropriate state agency and is not to be 
listed on the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3073 (December 2005), LR 36:2848 
(December 2010), LR 38:1405 (June 2012). 
Chapter 7. Scheduling 
§705. Length of the School Day 

A. The minimum instructional day for a full-day pre-
kindergarten and/or kindergarten program shall be 330 
minutes and for a one-half day pre-kindergarten and/or 
kindergarten program, the minimum instructional day shall 
be 165 minutes. 

B. For grades 1-12, the minimum school day shall 
include 330 minutes of instructional time exclusive of 
recess, lunch, and planning periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 

2003), amended LR 31:3077 (December 2005), LR 38:1405 (June 
2012). 
§707. Class Size and Ratio 

A. The maximum enrollment allowed in any class or 
section shall not exceed 35 students except in certain activity 
classes such as physical education, music, art, etc. 

B. The class size for pre-kindergarten developmental 
programs for four year-olds shall not exceed 20 children for 
one teacher. Schools that choose to use the assistance of a 
full-time aide may have a maximum of 30 children per class. 

C. The class size for pre-kindergarten developmental 
programs for three year-olds shall not exceed 13 children for 
one teacher. Schools that choose to use the assistance of a 
full-time aide may have a maximum of 20 children per class.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3078 (December 2005), LR 38:1405 (June 
2012). 
Chapter 9. Student Services 
§905. Age Requirements 

A. The minimum age for pre-kindergarten shall be age 
three by September 30 of the year in which the student 
enters pre-kindergarten. 

B. The minimum age for kindergarten shall be one year 
younger than the age requirement for that child to enter first 
grade. 

C. Each school system and/or independent school may 
adopt by rule and enforce ages for entrance into first grade in 
school. It is recommended that a child entering first grade be 
six years of age on or before September 30 of that school 
year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3078 (December 2005), LR 36:2848 
(December 2010), LR 38:1405 (June 2012). 
Chapter 21. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter B. Elementary Program of Studies 
§2103. Minimum Time Requirements 

A. Pre-Kindergarten/ Kindergarten 
1. The pre-kindergarten, and/or kindergarten 

elementary school grades should be planned to meet the 
developmental needs of young children and should be 
informal in nature, with teacher-directed and student-
initiated activities. 

A.2.a. - B.6.m. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3080 (December 2005), LR 34:229 
(February 2008), LR 36:2848 (December 2010), LR 38:1405 (June 
2012). 
Chapter 33. Glossary 
§3303. Definitions 

* * * 
Early Childhood ProgramRepealed. 
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* * * 
Elementary Schoola school composed of any span of 

grades pre-kindergarten, and/or kindergarten through the 
eighth grade. 

* * * 
Pre-Kindergartendevelopmental programs for children 

ages 3-4, the minimum age being three by September 30 of 
the school year in which the student enters pre-kindergarten. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6; R.S. 17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary, Education, LR 34:230 (February 2008), 
amended LR 36:2848 (December 2010), LR 38:1405 (June 2012). 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

1206#029  
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of State Purchasing 

Reverse Auctions (LAC 34:I.Chapter 6) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing, has adopted Chapter 6, Reverse Auctions, to 
allow for a competitive online electronic bidding procedure 
when advantageous and to regulate the overall process. 

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part I.  Purchasing 

Subpart 1.  Central Purchasing Procedures 
Chapter 6. Reverse Auctions 
§601. Definition 

A. For the purpose of this Section, using agency means 
the Office of State Purchasing using the reverse auction 
process on its own behalf or on behalf of other state 
agencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1406 (June 2012). 
§603. Application 

A. Where the using agency utilizes the reverse auction 
process on behalf of a single state agency, the head of the 
state agency requesting a reverse auction shall provide: 

1. reasons that the best interest of the state would be 
served and that electronic online bidding is more 
advantageous than other procurement methods; 

2. specifications and terms and conditions to be used 
for the procurement. 

B. When the using agency uses the reverse auction 
process on its own behalf or on behalf of multiple state 

agencies, the director of state purchasing shall be considered 
the department head of the using agency. 

C. Vendors shall register before the opening date and 
time, and as part of the registration, shall agree to any terms 
and conditions and other requirements of the solicitation. 

D. Vendors and/or products shall be prequalified prior to 
placing bids and only bidders who are prequalified will be 
allowed to submit bids. 

1. The prequalification criteria shall be prescribed in 
the solicitation. 

2. The prequalification period shall be announced in 
the solicitation. 

3. The prequalification period shall end 10 days prior 
to the beginning of the auction. 

4. Bidders shall be notified as to whether they have 
been prequalified in writing at least seven days prior to the 
beginning of the auction. 

5. When applicable, prequalified products for a 
particular solicitation shall be announced on the state’s 
internet-based system for posting vendor opportunities seven 
days prior to the beginning of the auction. 

6. Any bidder aggrieved by the pre-qualification 
process shall have the right to protest the solicitation in 
accordance with the provisions of R.S. 39:1671. 

E. The solicitation shall designate an opening date and 
time and the closing date and time. The closing date and 
time may be fixed or remain open depending on the nature 
of the item being bid. 

1. Online reverse auctions shall last no less than one 
hour. 

F. At the opening date and time, the using agency shall 
begin accepting online bids and continue accepting bids until 
the bid is officially closed. Registered bidders shall be 
allowed to lower the price of their bid below the lowest bid 
posted on the Internet until the closing date and time. 

G. Bidders’ identities shall not be revealed during the 
bidding process; only the successively lower prices, ranks, 
scores, and related bid details shall be revealed. 

H. All bids shall be posted electronically and updated on 
a real-time basis. All prices must be received in the state’s 
system by the announced closing time regardless of what 
time it was submitted by the vendor.  

I. The using agency shall retain the right to cancel the 
solicitation if it determines that it is in the agency’s or the 
state’s best interest. 

J. The using agency shall retain its existing authority to 
determine the criteria that shall be used as a basis for making 
awards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1406 (June 2012). 
§605. Addenda Modifying a Reverse Auction 

A. Addenda will be issued in accordance with §505 of 
these rules. 

B. It is the responsibility of the bidder to obtain any 
solicitation amendment(s) if the solicitation and addenda are 
posted on the state’s internet-based system for posting bid 
opportunities. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1406 (June 2012). 
§607. Price Submittals 

A. Bidders may submit multiple prices during the event. 
The lowest price offered will become the price portion of the 
bid response. 

B. The preference provisions of R.S. 39:1595, 1595.1, 
1595.2, 1595.3, 1595.6, and 1595.7 shall apply to the reverse 
auction process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 
§609. Withdrawal of Bids  

A. Withdrawal of bids will be handled in accordance 
with §521 of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 
§611. Tie Bids 

A. In the event that multiple bidders submit identical 
prices for the same goods or services, the bid received first 
will be considered to be the lowest. Any other identical bids 
received later will be considered in the order received.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 
§613. Rejected Bids  

A. The awarding authority may reject any bid, in whole 
or in part, if any of the following occur: 

1. bids offered for materials, supplies, services, 
products, or equipment that are not in compliance with the 
requirements, specifications, terms or conditions as stated in 
the reverse auction; 

2. the price of the lowest responsive and responsible 
bid exceeds the amount budgeted for the procurement; 

3. it is determined that awarding any item is not in the 
best interest of the agency/department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 
§615. Public Viewing of Auction Event  

A. The public may view the internet auction event which 
will be conducted such that the names of the bidders will not 
be disclosed until after the completion of the auction, at 
which time the event record will be available to the public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 
§617. Security 

A. All reverse auctions shall be conducted in accordance 
with the electronic security requirements of the Office of 
Information Technology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1581. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 38:1407 (June 2012). 

 
Denise Lea 
Assistant Commissioner 

1206#017 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Daily Double (LAC 35:XIII.10501) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule, submitted for publication in the May 
20, 2012 Louisiana Register, was inadvertently omitted. 

 
The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby amends 

Daily Double (LAC 35:XIII.10501) as follows. 
 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part XIII.  Wagering  
Chapter 105. Daily Double 
§10501. Daily Doubles  

A. Daily doubles shall be permitted during any single 
race card. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:149. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:441 (December 1976), amended LR 3:37 
(January 1977), LR 4:282 (August 1978), LR 6:542 (September 
1980), LR 12:289 (May 1986), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
38:1407 (June 2012). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1206#003 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Mandatory Health Screening (LAC 35:I.1304) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule, submitted for publication in the May 
20, 2012 Louisiana Register, was inadvertently omitted. 

 
The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby amends 

Mandatory Health Screening (LAC 35:I.1304) as follows. 
Title 35 

HORSE RACING 
Part I.  General Provisions 

Chapter 13. Health Rules 
§1304. Mandatory Health Screening 

A. … 
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B. No horse shall be allowed to enter the confines of a 
racetrack of any association holding a license to conduct a 
race meeting or race in Louisiana unless it has had an Equine 
Piroplasmosis (EP) test taken within 12 months of the date 
of entry upon the racetrack and/or race, with a negative 
result for Theileria equi. Record of the negative test shall be 
attached to registration papers of the horse upon entry to the 
racetrack. The trainer of the horse is responsible for insuring 
that a negative Piroplasmosis test result is in the racing 
secretary's office as required by this rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141 and R.S. 4:142. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 14:226 (April 1988), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission, LR 37:1393 (May 2011), LR 
38:1407 (June 2012). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1206#002 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Nonsteroidal and/or Anti-Inflammatory Medication 
(LAC 35:I.1505) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule, submitted for publication in the May 
20, 2012 Louisiana Register, was inadvertently omitted. 

 
The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby amends 

Nonsteroidal and/or Anti-Inflammatory Medication (LAC 
35:I.1505) as follows. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 15. Permitted Medication 
§1505. Nonsteroidal and/or Anti-Inflammatory 

Medication 
A. No nonsteroidal and/or anti-inflammatory medication 

may be administered to or used on a horse in training and 
eligible to be raced at a race meeting in this state except by a 
licensed veterinarian or a licensed trainer, or under his or her 
personal order; provided, however, that any such medication 
given hypodermically may only be administered by a 
licensed veterinarian. The nonsteroidal, anti-inflammatory 
medications designated below may be used in training but 
may not be administered within 24 hours of a race in which 
a horse is entered. The maximum analytical test result levels 
of the urine and blood of such horse, regardless of time of 
administration, shall be as follows, unless otherwise 
specified herein.  

1. Urine Levels 
 

Post-Race  
Urine Levels Total of Drug and/or Metabolite 

Phenylbutazone 165 micrograms per milliliter 
Oxyphenylbutazone 165 micrograms per milliliter 

 

2. Blood Levels 
 

Post-Race  
Blood Levels Total of Drug and/or Metabolite 

Phenylbutazone 5.0 micrograms per milliliter 
Oxyphenylbutazone 5.0 micrograms per milliliter 

 
B. ... 
C. For all horses entered in a graded stakes race, the 

maximum analytical test result levels of the blood of such 
horse, regardless of time of administration, shall be as 
follows.  

 
Post-Race  

Blood Level Total of Drug and/or Metabolite 
Phenylbutazone 2.0 micrograms per milliliter 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 4:141 and R.S. 4:142. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 9:547 (August 1983), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission, LR 38:1408 (June 2012). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1206#001 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Pick Five (LAC 35:XIII.11001) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule, submitted for publication in the May 
20, 2012 Louisiana Register, was inadvertently omitted. 

 
The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby adopts 

Pick Five (LAC 35:XIII.11001) as follows. 
Title 35 

HORSE RACING 
Part XIII.  Wagering 

Chapter 110. Pick Five 
§11001. Pick Five 

A. The pick five pari-mutuel pool is not a parlay and has 
no connection with or relation to any other pari-mutuel pool 
conducted by the association, nor to any win, place and 
show pool shown on the totalizator, nor to the rules 
governing the distribution of such other pools. 

B. A pick five pari-mutuel ticket shall be evidence of a 
binding contract between the holder of the ticket and the 
association and the said ticket shall constitute an acceptance 
of the pick five provisions and rules. 

C. A pick five may be given a distinctive name by the 
association conducting the meeting, subject to approval of 
the commission. 

D. The pick five pari-mutuel pool consists of amounts 
contributed for a selection for win only in each of five races 
designated by the association with the approval of the 
commission. Each person purchasing a pick five ticket shall 
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designate the winning horse in each of the five races 
comprising the pick five. 

E. Those horses constituting an entry of coupled horses 
or those horses coupled to constitute the field in a race 
comprising the pick five shall race as a single wagering 
interest for the purpose of the pick five pari-mutuel pool 
calculations and payouts to the public. However, if any part 
of either an entry or the field racing as a single wagering 
interest is a starter in a race, the entry or the field selection 
shall remain as the designated selection to win in that race 
for the pick five calculation and the selection shall not be 
deemed a scratch. 

F. The pick five pari-mutuel pool shall be calculated as 
follows. 

1. The net amount in the pari-mutuel pool referred to 
in this Section is defined as the pari-mutuel pool created by 
pick five wagering on that particular day and does not 
include any amounts carried over from previous days' 
betting as provided by in Subparagraph F.3.a and 
Subparagraph F.4.a below. 

2. One hundred percent of the net amount in the pari-
mutuel pool is subject to distribution to a single unique 
winning ticket holder, plus any carryover resulting from 
provisions of Paragraph F.3 and Paragraph F.4 shall be 
distributed to the unique winning ticket holder of the single 
pari-mutuel ticket which correctly designates the official 
winner in each of the five races comprising the pick five. 

3. In the event there is more than one pari-mutuel 
ticket properly issued which correctly designates the official 
winner in each of the five races comprising the pick five, the 
net pari-mutuel pool shall be distributed as follows. 

a. Fifty percent of the net amount in the pari-mutuel 
pool shall be retained by the association as distributable 
amounts and shall be carried over to the next succeeding 
racing day as an additional net amount to be distributed as 
provided in Paragraph F.2. 

b. Fifty percent of the net amount in the pari-mutuel 
pool subject to distribution among winning ticket holders 
shall be distributed among the holders of pari-mutuel tickets 
which correctly designate the official winner in each of the 
five races comprising the pick five. 

4. In the event there is no pari-mutuel ticket properly 
issued which correctly designates the official winner in each 
of the five races comprising the pick five, the net pari-
mutuel pool shall be distributed as follows. 

a. Fifty percent of the net amount in the pari-mutuel 
pool shall be retained by the association as distributable 
amounts and shall be carried over to the next succeeding 
racing day as an additional net amount to be distributed as 
provided in Paragraph F.2. 

b. Fifty percent of the net amount in the pari-mutuel 
pool subject to distribution among winning ticket holders 
shall be distributed among the holders of pari-mutuel tickets 
which correctly designate the most official winners, but less 
than five, in each of the five races comprising the pick five. 

5. Should no distribution be made pursuant to 
Paragraph F.1 on the last day of the association meeting, 

then that portion of the distributable pool and all monies 
accumulated therein shall be distributed to the holders of 
tickets correctly designating the most winning selections of 
the five races comprising the pick five for that day or night; 
the provisions of Subsections I and J have no application on 
said last day. 

G. In the event a pick five ticket designates a selection in 
any one or more of the races comprising the pick and that 
selection is scratched, excused or determined by the 
stewards to be a nonstarter in the race, the actual favorite, as 
evidenced by the amounts wagered in the win pool at the 
time of the start of the race, will be substituted for the 
nonstarting selection for all purposes, including pool 
calculations and payoffs. In the event the amount wagered in 
the win pool on two or more favorites is identical, the 
favorite with the lowest number on the program will be 
designated as the actual favorite. 

H. In the event of a dead heat for win between two or 
more horses in any pick five race, all such horses in the dead 
heat for win shall be considered as winning horses in that 
race for the purpose of calculating the pool. 

I. No pick five shall be refunded except when all of the 
races comprising the pick five are canceled or declared as 
"no contest." The refund shall apply only to the pick five 
pool established on that racing card. Any net pool carryover 
accrued from a previous pick five feature shall be further 
carried over to the next scheduled pick five feature operated 
by the association. 

J. In the event that any number of races less than five 
comprising the pick five are completed, 100 percent of the 
net pool for the pick five shall be distributed among holders 
of pari-mutuel tickets that designate the most winners in the 
completed races. No carryover from a previous day shall be 
added to the pick five pool in which less than five races have 
been completed. Any net pool carryover accrued from a 
previous pick five feature shall be further carried over to the 
next scheduled pick five pool operated by the association. 

K. No pari-mutuel ticket for the pick five pool shall be 
sold, exchanged or canceled after the time of the closing of 
wagering in the first of the five races comprising the pick 
five, except for such refunds on pick five tickets as required 
by this regulation, and no person shall disclose the number 
of tickets sold in the pick five pool or the number or amount 
of tickets selecting winners of pick five races until such time 
as the stewards have determined the last race comprising the 
pick five each day to be official. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S 
4:149, R.S. 4:149.1, R.S. 4:149.2, and R.S. 4:149.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
38:1408 (June 2012). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1206#005 
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RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Super Six (LAC 35:XIII.10901) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule, submitted for publication in the May 
20, 2012 Louisiana Register, was inadvertently omitted. 

 
The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby amends 

Super Six (LAC 35:XIII.10901) as follows. 
Title 35 

HORSE RACING 
Part XIII.  Wagering  

Chapter 109. Super Six 
§10901. Super Six 

A. - F.1. ... 
2. Seventy percent of the net amount in the pari-

mutuel pool subject to distribution among winning ticket 
holders, plus any carryover resulting from provisions of 
Paragraph F.4, shall be distributed among the holders of 
pari-mutuel tickets which correctly designate the official 
winner in each of the six races comprising the super six. 

F.3. - K. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 6:542 (September 1980), 
amended LR 12:11 (January 1986), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 15:8 (January 
1989), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission, LR 38:1410 (June 2012). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1206#004 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Providers  
Minimum Licensing Standards 

Direct Service Worker Exemption (LAC 48:I.5001) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 48:I.5001 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.2. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part 1.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 50. Home and Community-Based Services 

Providers Licensing Standards 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5001. Introduction 

A. - C.7. …  

D. The following entities shall be exempt from the 
licensure requirements for HCBS providers: 

1. - 3. …  
4. staffing agencies that supply contract workers to a 

health care provider licensed by the department;  
5. any person who is employed as part of a 

departmentally authorized self-direction program; and 
a. …  

6. any individual direct service worker providing 
respite services pursuant to a contract with the Statewide 
Management Organization (SMO) in the Louisiana 
Behavioral Health Partnership. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:63 (January 2012), amended LR 38:1410 (June 2012). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#067 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facility Minimum Licensing Standards 
Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program 

(LAC 48:I.10015 and 10081) 

This Rule was originally  promulgated in the May 20, 2012 
Louisiana Register in its entirety on pages 1241-1251. 
Sections 10015 and 10081 are being repromulgated to correct 
typographical errors. 
 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 48:I.Chapter 
100 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 100. Nurse Aide Training and Competency 

Evaluation Program 
Subchapter B. Training and Competency Requirements 
§10015. Training Curriculum/Program Approval 

A. Training Curriculum 
1. Providers applying to have a training program after 

the effective date of this Rule shall use one of the state 
approved curriculums or any subsequent editions issued by 
the publisher or any future state approved curriculums. 

2. The curriculum shall be a minimum of 80 hours in 
length, which includes 40 classroom hours and 40 clinical 
hours. 

3. Each additional unit objective added to the 
approved curriculum, above the minimum 80 hours, shall be 
behaviorally-stated for each topic of instruction. Each 
objective shall state performance criteria which are 
measurable and shall serve as a basis for the competency 
evaluation.  
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a. The unit objectives shall be reviewed with the 
trainees at the beginning of each unit so each trainee will 
know what is expected of him/her in each part of the 
training. 

4. - 5. Repealed.  
B. Curriculum Goals and Content 

1. The goal of the nurse aide training and competency 
evaluation program is the provision of quality services to 
residents by nurse aides who are able to:  

a. communicate and interact competently on a one-
to-one basis with residents as part of the team implementing 
resident care; 

b. demonstrate sensitivity to the emotional, social 
and mental health needs of resident’s through skillful, 
directed interactions; 
 i. Repealed. 

c. assist residents in attaining and maintaining 
functional independence; 

d. exhibit behavior to support and promote the 
rights of residents; and 

e. demonstrate proficiency in the skills needed to 
support the assessment of the health, physical condition and 
well-being of residents. 

2. Facility and non-facility based training programs 
shall provide at least 16 hours of instruction prior to a 
trainee’s direct involvement with a resident. The 16 hours of 
instruction shall be devoted to areas listed in Paragraph C of 
this Section. 

C. The training program shall be conducted to ensure 
that each nurse aide, at a minimum, is able to demonstrate 
competencies in the following areas: 

1. basic nursing skills including, but not limited to: 
a. bed-making; 
b. taking vital signs; 
c. measuring height and weight;  
d. caring for the resident’s environment; 
e. measuring fluid and nutrient intake and output; 
f. assisting in the provision of proper nutritional 

care; 
g. ambulating and transferring residents; 
h. using body mechanics; 
i. maintaining infection control and safety 

standards; 
j. understanding the protocols in facility policy for 

the performance of and attaining/maintaining proficiency in 
basic cardio-pulmonary resuscitation including one hour of 
in-service training that shall be provided by the facility 
annually; 

k. caring for residents when death is imminent; 
l. recognizing abnormal signs and symptoms of 

common diseases and conditions; and 
m. caring for residents suffering from Alzheimer’s 

disease or dementia; 
2. personal care skills including, but not limited to: 

a. bathing, including mouth care; 
b. grooming and dressing; 
c. toileting; 
d. assisting with feeding and hydration; and 
e. skin care; 

3. mental health and social service needs including, 
but not limited to: 

a. modifying his/her own behavior in response to a 
resident’s behavior; 

b. identifying developmental tasks associated with 
the aging process and using task analysis to increase 
independence; 

c. providing training in and the opportunity for self-
care according to a resident’s capabilities; 

d. demonstrating principles of behavior 
modification by reinforcing appropriate behavior and 
causing inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated; 

e. demonstrating skills which support age-
appropriate behavior by allowing the resident to make 
personal choices; 

f. providing and reinforcing behavior consistent 
with maintaining a resident’s dignity; and 

g. utilizing a resident’s family as a source of 
emotional support; 

4. basic restorative services including, but not limited 
to: 

a. the use of assistive devices in ambulation, eating 
and dressing; 

b. maintenance of range of motion; 
c. proper turning and positioning in a bed and a 

chair; 
d. transferring a resident; 
e. bowel and bladder training; and 
f. care and use of prosthetic devices, such as 

hearing aids, artificial eyes or artificial limbs;  
5. maintaining a resident’s rights including, but not 

limited to: 
a. assisting a resident to vote; 
b. providing privacy and maintaining 

confidentiality; 
c. allowing the resident to make personal choices to 

accommodate individual needs; 
d. giving assistance in resolving grievances; 
e. providing needed assistance in getting to, and 

participating in, resident and family groups and other 
activities; 

f. maintaining reasonable care of a resident’s 
personal possessions; 

g. providing care which frees the resident from 
abuse, mistreatment or neglect and reporting any instances 
of poor care to appropriate facility staff; and  

h. maintaining the resident’s environment and care 
so as to minimize the need for physical and chemical 
restraints; 

6. communication and interpersonal skills; 
7. safety and emergency procedures; 
8. promoting residents’ independence; and 
9. the Heimlich maneuver. 

D. Program Approval 
1. All training programs shall meet the guidelines 

established by the department. 
2. To get a nurse aide training program approved, the 

facility or school shall submit to the department the 
application, completed in its entirety, which denotes the state 
approved curriculum that shall be used and all required 
documentation stipulated in the nurse aide training packet.  

3. All schools applying for approval shall identify the 
physical locations used for classroom instruction and for the 
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clinical experience. Non-facility based programs shall also 
submit clinical contracts which meet the guidelines 
established by the department.  

4. Approval to provide nurse aide training is granted 
specifically for the provider who submitted the application. 
There is no provision for subcontracting the training 
program.  

5. If an approved program ceases to provide a nurse 
aide training and competency evaluation program for a two 
year period, the program shall be closed. The provider must 
reapply if they wish to provide training at a later date. 

6. All approved providers shall maintain a current 
address, telephone and fax number, and e-mail address. The 
provider shall report to the department any changes in this 
information or other aspects of the approved program within 
five working days.  

E. - F.3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and P.L. 100-203. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2075 (November 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals. Bureau of Health Financing 
LR 38:1242 (May 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1410 (June 2012). 
Subchapter G. Medication Attendant Certified  
§10081. General Provisions 

A. The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) 
establishes provisions for the use of medication attendants 
certified in licensed nursing facilities. The department shall 
maintain a registry of individuals who have, at a minimum, 
successfully completed a state-approved medication 
attendant certified training course and competency 
evaluation, and criminal background check.  

B. The medication attendant certified registry shall 
contain the following items: 

1. a list of individuals who have successfully 
completed a medication attendant certified training 
curriculum and competency evaluation. Each individual 
listed shall have the following information maintained on the 
registry: 

a. - i.iv. ... 
 v. an accurate summary of findings after action 
on findings are final and after any appeal is ruled upon or the 
deadline for filing an appeal has expired; 

j. information relative to training and registry status 
which will be available through procedures established by 
the department; and 

k. e-mail address. 
C. Employers shall use the registry to determine if a 

prospective hire is a medication attendant certified and if 
there is a finding that he/she has abused or neglected an 
individual being supported or misappropriated the 
individual's property or funds. 

D. A certificate holder shall notify the department within 
30 days after changing his or her address, telephone number, 
e-mail address or name.  

E. A medication attendant certified or his or her 
employer, if aware, shall immediately notify the department 
of any arrest in any state. 

F. A person who holds a valid license, registration or 
certificate as a medication attendant issued by another state 
shall also be certified in Louisiana if the transferring state’s 
training program is at least 100 hours or more and the 
applicant passes the State competency examination.  

1. The applicant shall submit a request for reciprocity 
to the Registry.  

2. The application shall include a current copy of the 
rules of the other state governing its licensing and regulation 
of medication aides, a copy of the legal authority (law, act, 
code, or other) for the state’s licensing program, and a 
certified copy of the license or certificate for which the 
reciprocal certificate is requested.  

3. The department shall contact the issuing agency to 
verify the applicant’s status with the agency.  

G. When issued, an initial certificate shall be valid for 12 
months from the date of issue. The registry will renew the 
certificate if:  

1. - 2. ... 
H. The department shall deny renewal of the certificate 

of a medication attendant certified who is in violation of this 
Chapter at the time of the application renewal.  

I. A person whose certificate has expired shall not 
engage in activities that require a certificate until the 
certificate has been renewed. 

J. A medication attendant certified shall function under 
the direct supervision of a licensed nurse on duty at the 
nursing facility. A certificate holder must:  

1. function in accordance with applicable laws and 
rules relating to administration of medication and operation 
of a nursing facility; and  

2. comply with the department’s rules applicable to 
personnel used in a nursing facility. 

K. Persons employed as medication attendants certified 
in a nursing facility shall comply with the requirements 
relating to nurse aides as set forth in the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1987, Public Law 100-203, the 
department’s rule governing the Standards for Payment for 
Nursing Homes and Minimum Licensure Standards for 
Nursing Homes or subsequent amendments. Requirements 
are met if the individual is: 

K.1. - L. ... 
M. Nursing facilities may count the MAC in required 

nursing hours. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1026.1 - 37:1026.9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1413 (July 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:1248 (May 2012), LR 38:1412 (June 2012). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#069 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Hospital Licensing Standards 
License Renewal and Dietary Services 

(LAC 48:I.9303, 9305, and 9377) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 48:I.9303, 
§9305, and §9377 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 40:2100-2115. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 93. Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9303. Definitions 

A. ... 
* * * 

License Under Suspensive Appeala full or provisional 
license against which the department has taken a licensing 
action and the hospital has filed an administrative appeal. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2400 (November 2003), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 36:513 (March 2010), LR 37:3028 
(October 2011), LR 38:1413 (June 2012). 
§9305. Licensing Process 

A. - B.1.b. ... 
2. The department also has discretion in denying, 

suspending or revoking a license where there has been 
substantial noncompliance with these requirements in 
accordance with the hospital law. If a license is denied, 
suspended or revoked, an appeal may be made as outlined in 
the hospital law (R.S. 40:2110). 

a. Suspensive Appeal. A hospital that appeals the 
action of the department in denying, suspending or revoking 
the license may file a suspensive appeal from the action of 
the department. 

b. A renewal license shall not be issued, nor will 
any changes be processed to a hospital’s existing license, 
during the pendency of an administrative suspensive appeal 
of the department’s decision to deny, suspend or revoke a 
hospital’s license for substantial non-compliance. There is no 

additional administrative remedy to the hospital for the non-
renewal of a license. 

c. The license for a hospital that is suspensively 
operating during the pendency of the appeal process shall be 
considered a license under suspensive appeal. 

B.3. - P. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
16:971 (November 1990), LR 21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2401 
(November 2003), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:1413 (June 
2012). 
Subchapter G. Food and Dietetic Services 
§9377. General Provisions 

A. ... 
B.  A hospital may meet the requirements of §9377.A 

through a contractual agreement with a provider who is 
licensed by the department’s Health Standards Section or 
through a contract with an outside food management 
company. If the hospital has a contract with an outside food 
management company, the following requirements shall be 
met. 

1. The hospital must provide written notices to the 
department’s Health Standards Section and to the 
department’s Office of Public Health within 10 calendar 
days of the effective date of the contract. 

2. The outside food management company must 
possess a valid Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 
of Public Health retail food permit and meet all of the 
requirements for operating a retail food establishment that 
serves a highly susceptible population, in accordance with 
the most current version of the provisions found in Title 51, 
Part XXIII, Chapter 19, §1911.  

3. Either the hospital or the food management 
company must employ or contract with a dietician who 
serves the hospital on a full-time, part-time, or consultant 
basis to ensure that the nutritional needs of the patients are 
met in accordance with the practitioners’ orders and 
acceptable standards of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:1413 
(June 2012). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1206#068
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RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Definitions (LAC 43:XI.101) 

Editor’s Note: This Rule is being repromulgated to show 
correct placement in the Louisiana Administrative Code. This 
Rule has been codified as LAC 43:XI.101. 

 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XI.  Office of Conservation―Pipeline Division 
Subpart 1.  Natural Gas and Coal 

Chapter 1. Natural Gas and Coal 
Pursuant to authority delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana, and particularly Chapter 7 of Title 30 of the 
Revised Statutes of 1950, entitled the Natural Resources and 
Energy Act of 1973, after due notice having been given and 
all legal delays observed, and after public hearing held under 
Docket Number PL 81-290 in Baton Rouge, LA, on the 
seventeenth day of December, 1981, the following 
regulation is amended, reenacted and adopted by the 
commissioner of conservation as being reasonably necessary 
to govern and control matters involving the provisions of the 
Natural Resources and Energy Act of 1973. 

§101. Definitions 
A. The words and terms defined herein shall have the 

following meanings when used in these regulations. All 
other words and terms so used and not herein defined 
shall have their usual meanings unless specially defined 
in Chapter 7 of Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950. 

Act or Chapterthe Natural Resources and Energy Act 
of 1973, being Act 16 of the Extraordinary Session of 1973, 
now Chapter 7 of Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 
of 1950, as amended after 1950. 

Commissionerthe commissioner of conservation of 
the state of Louisiana who shall be the commissioner of 
conservation within the Department of Natural Resources. 

Excess Capacity of Intrastate Gas Pipelinesthat part 
of the capability of a pipeline system to transport intrastate 
natural gas from point to point along its line in excess of the 
immediate needs of the pipeline company or its subsidiaries 
or its parent or the subsidiary companies of its parents. In 
determining excess capacity, the commissioner may 
disregard existing contracts for the transportation or sale of 
intrastate natural gas to the extent they are not then being 
performed or fulfilled. Excess capacity of intrastate pipelines 
may also be created as a result of intrastate natural gas 
delivery curtailment orders of the commissioner in the 
implementation of the allocation, rationing and conservation 
measures governing the endues of intrastate natural gas 
provided for in the Act. 

Facilityany component of a pipeline or pipeline 
system except: 

a. auxiliary installationsinstallations which are 
merely auxiliary or appurtenant to an existing transmission 
pipeline system and which are installed only for the purpose 
of obtaining more efficient or more economical operation of 
authorized transmission facilities, such as: gas cleaning and 
treating equipment; heaters; cooling and dehydration 
equipment; residual refining equipment; water pumping 
treating and cooling production compressors; measurement 
equipment; pressure or flow regulation or control 

equipment; electrical and communication equipment and 
buildings; 

b. replacement of facilitiesfacilities which 
constitute the replacement of existing facilities which have 
or will soon become physically deteriorated or obsolete to 
the extent that replacement is deemed advisable, provided, 
that such replacement will not result in a reduction or 
abandonment of service rendered by means of such 
facilities. Provided further, that such replacement shall 
have substantially equivalent designed delivery capacity as 
the particular facilities being replaced; 

c. new delivery pointsmetering and regulating 
installations and branch lines necessary to the 
establishment of new delivery points required for the 
delivery of gas, coal or lignite to an existing customer; 

d. tapstaps on existing transporter pipelines 
which are installed solely for the purpose of enabling a 
purchaser or transporter to take delivery of gas, coal, or 
lignite from a producer. 

Gasany gas derived from or composed of 
hydrocarbons, including synthetic gas which is produced 
from coal, lignite, or petroleum coke and the heat content 
of which synthetic gas does not exceed 800 BTUs per 
standard cubic foot. 

Interested Partiesthose persons who have a direct 
interest in the subject matter for which an application is 
filed as such persons are specified in these regulations. 

Intrastate Coal Slurry Pipelinea pipeline located and 
operated in the state of Louisiana for the transportation of 
coal or lignite from within or outside state limits or any 
mixture of substances which includes coal or lignite, in any 
form, but does not include producer owned producing and 
gathering lines and facilities located within the mine limits 
associated and used in connection therewith, provided such 
lines and facilities are not used for hire in the transportation 
of coal or lignite for others. 

Intrastate Coal Slurry Transporterany person owning 
or operating an intrastate coal slurry pipeline. 

Intrastate Natural Gasgas produced, transported, and 
utilized wholly within the State of Louisiana, through the 
use of intrastate pipelines where such use of interstate 
pipelines is or may hereafter be exempt from the control 
of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission under the 
Natural Gas Act or rules and regulations promulgated by the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission thereunder, and 
gas, wherever produced, which is or may be transported into 
this state and delivered to an intrastate pipeline in this 
state to be used or consumed wholly within this state. 

Intrastate Natural Gas Pipelinea pipeline which is 
located and operated wholly within the state of Louisiana, 
which does not extend beyond the boundaries of the state 
of Louisiana, and which is not merely a local branch of an 
interstate pipeline system but does not include producer 
owned producing and gathering lines and facilities 
associated and used in connection therewith, provided such 
lines and facilities are not used for hire in the transportation 
of natural gas for others, except as provided in R.S. 
30:607. 

Intrastate Natural Gas Transporterany person 
owning or operating an intrastate natural gas pipeline. 

Natural Gas Companya person engaged in the sale 
of intrastate natural gas beyond the wellhead. 
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Personany natural person, corporation, political 
subdivision, association, partnership, receiver, tutor, curator, 
executor, administrator, fiduciary, or representative of any 
kind. 

Rules of Procedurethe rules of procedure 
promulgated by the commissioner and which are stated to be 
applicable to the Act. 

Sale of Intrastate Natural Gas at the Wellheadthe first 
transfer for value by the producer of such gas whether at the 
wellhead, a central gathering facility, or at the tailgate of a 
gas processing plant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501-599, 601-606. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 4:76 (March 1978), 
amended LR 7:80 (March 1981), LR 8:15 (January 1982), 
repromulgated LR 38:1414 (June 2012). 

 

James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1206#013 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Issuance of Concealed Handgun Permits 
(LAC 55:I.1301 and 1307) 

Editor’s Note: Sections 1301 and 1307 are being 
repromulgated to correct submission errors. This Rule was 
originally promulgated in the May 20, 2012 Louisiana 
Register and can be viewed in its entirety on pages 1279-1286. 
 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:1379.3(A)(1), and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of State Police 
amends the concealed handgun permit regulations, LAC 
55:I.Chapter 13. The amendments to the Rule are necessary 
to be in compliance with recent Acts passed by the Louisiana 
Legislature. In addition, the Rule makes technical changes to 
improve readability, eliminate duplicate items, and to codify 
current practice by the department regarding utilization of its 
statutory authority to levy fines under certain circumstances. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 13. Issuance of Concealed Handgun Permits  
§1301. Applications and Permits 

A. The rules contained herein are promulgated by the 
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, in 
order to set forth the policies and procedures applicable to 
the issuance of concealed handgun permits to Louisiana 
citizens who qualify for such permits pursuant to R.S. 
40:1379.1 and 40:1379.3; to provide statewide uniform 
standards for issuing permits to carry concealed handguns; 
and to maintain the health, welfare, and safety of the public. 
These considerations shall control the application and 
interpretation of these rules. Any subsequent restatement, 
repeal, or amendment of these rules shall be in accordance 
with the aforementioned considerations. 

B. Applicability. The policies and procedures provided 
herein shall be applicable to all Louisiana citizens who are 
eligible for a statewide concealed handgun permit. 

C. Duties and Responsibilities. Persons issued concealed 
handgun permits have the authority only to carry a concealed 
weapon and are regarded as private citizens in all matters of 
law with no special powers or authority accruing by virtue of 
the concealed handgun permit. 

D. Application. Eligible persons shall be entitled to 
receive the concealed handgun permit, as set forth above; 
provided that all requirements of the superintendent of state 
police relating to application shall be satisfied. Applications 
shall be submitted in the manner prescribed by the 
superintendent of state police and will include the 
submission of such documents and materials establishing 
eligibility as the superintendent may deem necessary. 

E. Suspension/Revocation. The superintendent of state 
police or his designee may suspend or revoke concealed 
handgun permits when conditions and/or circumstances are 
such that the holder of such permit can no longer show need 
or when the holder commits acts contrary to law or uses the 
permit for self aggrandizement or in an unreasonable and 
imprudent manner. 

F. Arrest Record. If the applicant has an arrest record, he 
shall present a notarized statement from the clerk of court or 
district attorney of the parish in which the arrests were made 
which specifies the disposition on all charges. 

G. - I.6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1379.1. 40:1379.3, 40:1381, and 40:1382. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 1:495 (November 1975), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, LR 22:845 (September 1996), LR 38:1279 
(May 2012), repromulgated LR 38:1415 (June 2012). 
§1307. Applications and Permits 

A. Application materials may be obtained submitting a 
completed "Request for Application To Carry A Concealed 
Handgun" (form DPSSP 4644) to the department or by 
accessing the Louisiana State Police website at www.lsp.org. 

B. Initial Applications 
1. All applications for a permit shall be submitted on 

forms provided by the department and mailed to: 
Louisiana State Police 
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit 
P. O. Box 66375 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 

2. Applicants shall provide all additional information 
requested by the department within 10 business days of 
receipt of the request, unless an extension is granted by the 
department. If any applicant fails to provide all additional 
information requested by the department, the application 
shall be considered incomplete and shall be denied.  

3. All applicants shall submit with their application 
two color passport photographs that meet the following 
specifications: 

a. photographs taken within 60 days of submission 
of application; 

b. full frontal view photograph of the applicant 
including his head and hair; 

c. sunglasses, hats, or caps may not be worn while 
taking photograph; and 
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d. the rear of the photograph shall be signed and 
dated by the employee of the law enforcement agency where 
the applicant's fingerprints are taken. 

4. All applicants shall submit with their application 
two complete, legible, and classifiable FBI applicant 
fingerprint cards taken by a person employed by a law 
enforcement agency who is appropriately trained in 
recording fingerprints. 

5.a. For purpose of proof that the applicant is a 
resident of the state of Louisiana prior to his application for 
a permit, the applicant shall submit with his application a 
photocopy of his valid Louisiana driver's license or valid 
Louisiana identification card. 
 i. An applicant shall have a Louisiana driver's 
license or identification card. 
 ii. In the event the applicant's Louisiana driver's 
license or Louisiana identification card has been issued 
within six months of application, proof of residency shall be 
established by any one of the following documents: 

(a). United States passport; 
(b). Louisiana voter registration card; 
(c). any other documentation, which may 

adequately satisfy proof of compliance with the 
qualifications for residency. 

b. For purposes of proof of residency, a business 
address or post office box shall not suffice. 

c. Applicants who claim Louisiana as their 
domiciliary state and are on U.S. military duty in another 
state shall submit a copy of their orders detailing them to 
such duty station, along with a copy of their military 
identification card. Applicants who do not claim Louisiana 
as their domiciliary state and are on U.S. military duty in this 
state shall submit a copy of their orders detailing them on 
permanent status to a duty station within this state. In 
addition, those applicants shall possess either a valid 
Louisiana driver’s license or valid Louisiana identification 
card. 

d. An applicant who is attending school in another 
state shall submit a copy of his school registration form and 
fee bill for each semester during the permit period that is 
applicable. 

6. For purposes of proof that the applicant is at least 
21 years of age, a photocopy of his valid Louisiana driver's 
license or valid Louisiana identification card which contains 
the applicant's date of birth shall suffice.  

7. All application forms are to contain a properly 
notarized oath wherein the applicant swears that: 

a. the information contained therein is true and 
correct; 

b. the applicant has read the applicable law and 
these rules, and any other informational materials supplied 
by the department that pertain to concealed handgun 
permits; 

c. the applicant agrees to comply with these rules 
and the law; and 

d. the applicant understands that any omission or 
falsification of any information required in the application 
may subject the applicant to criminal penalties. 

8. All applications shall contain the permittee's home 
and daytime telephone number and a permanent mailing 
address for receipt of correspondence and service of 
documents by the department. 

9. All applications submitted to the department shall 
contain proof of competency with a handgun in accordance 
with §1311. 

10. All applications shall include a properly executed 
affidavit, provided by the department, whereby the applicant 
agrees in writing to hold harmless and indemnify the 
department, the state or any peace officer for any and all 
liability arising out of the issuance or use of the concealed 
handgun permit. 

11. Incomplete applications, including failure to pay 
fees, shall result in the rejection or denial of a permit 
application. 

12. The applicant or permittee shall notify the 
department, in writing, of any change of address, name, 
phone number, or other information required in the 
application, including the effective date of the change, 
within 30 days of the effective date of the change. All 
notifications shall be submitted to the Concealed Handgun 
Permit Unit via certified mail, return receipt requested or via 
the unit’s public website.  

13. Any false statement or improper notarization 
contained in any report, disclosure, application, permit form, 
or any other document required by the department shall be a 
violation of these rules and may be cause for denial, 
suspension, or revocation of the permit. 

14. All applications shall be submitted with a certified 
check, money order or any other means of payment as 
approved by the department for the application or renewal 
fee as provided in §1307.B.15. An application is not 
complete unless it is submitted with the appropriate fee, is 
signed by the applicant, and contains all information 
required by the department. 

15. All applicants shall submit with the application a 
non-refundable fee in the form of a certified check, money 
order or any other means of payment as approved by the 
department. The applicable fees are as follows: 

a. for a five-year concealed handgun permit the fee 
shall be $125; 

b. the above fees shall be reduced by one-half if the 
applicant is 65 years of age or older on the date the 
application is received by the department; 

c. any applicant who has not continuously resided 
within the state of Louisiana for the 15 years preceding the 
submission of the initial application shall enclose an 
additional non-refundable $50 fee. This additional fee shall 
not be reduced for applicants 65 years of age or older. 

d. Repealed. 
C. Qualifications to Receive a Permit. To qualify for a 

concealed handgun permit, a citizen shall: 
1. not be ineligible to possess a firearm under 18 

U.S.C. 922(g); and 
2. meet the requirements set forth in R.S. 40:1379.3 et 

seq. 
D. Renewal of Permits 

1. To renew a concealed handgun permit, a permittee 
shall file a renewal application no more than 120 days prior 
to the expiration of the permit and no later than the sixtieth 
day after expiration. Renewal applications submitted after 
the sixtieth day from expiration will not be accepted and the 
permittee shall complete a new original application with all 
documentation required for an original application. All 
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renewal applications shall include two new photographs of 
the applicant as specified in LAC 55:I.1307.B.3. 

2.a. A renewal application shall be considered filed with 
the department when the department receives the application 
and the fees are processed. The applicable renewal fees are 
as follows: 
 i. for a five-year concealed handgun permit the 
fee shall be $125; 
 ii. the above fees shall be reduced by one-half if 
the applicant is 65 years of age or older on the date the 
application is received by the department. 

3. An incomplete renewal application shall be denied 
or rejected by the department for failure to provide requested 
documents or appropriate fees. Proof of residency shall 
conform to LAC 55:I.1307.B.5.a. 

4. Each permittee applying for a renewal of his permit 
shall complete additional educational training pursuant to 
requirements of §1311 within one year prior to submitting a 
renewal application and submit proof of training with the 
application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1379.1, 40:1379.3, 40:1381, and 40:1382. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 22:848 
(September 1996), amended LR 38:1281 (May 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1415 (June 2012). 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1206#078 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Motor Carrier Safety Revision Date and Weight  
(LAC 33:V.10303 and 10305) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq, and 
R.S. 32:1501 et seq, hereby amends its rules regulating 
motor carrier safety and hazardous materials by updating the 
revision date of the adopted federal motor carrier regulations 
to February 1, 2012 and by clarifying the weight ratings of 
the vehicles to which these regulations apply.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections—Hazardous Materials 
Chapter 103. Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 
§10303. Federal Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 
A. The following federal motor carrier safety regulations 

and hazardous materials regulations promulgated by the 
United States Department of Transportation, revised as of 
February 1, 2012, and contained in the following parts of 49 
CFR as now in effect or as hereafter amended, are made a 
part of this Chapter. 

Hazardous Material Regulations 
 Part 107 Hazardous Materials Program Procedures 
 Part 171 General Information, Regulations, and Definitions 
Part 172 Hazardous Materials Table, Special Provisions, and 

Hazardous Materials Communications, Emergency 
Response Information, and Training Requirements 

Part 173 Shippers―General Requirements for Shipments and 
Packagings 

Part 177 Carriage by Public Highways 
Part 178 Specifications for Packagings 
Part 180 Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of Packagings 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
 Part 355 Compatibility of State Laws and Regulations Affecting 

Interstate Motor Carrier Operations 
 Part 360 Fees for Motor Carrier Registration and Insurance 
 Part 365 Rules Governing Applications for Operating Authority 
 Part 367 Standards for Registration with States 
 Part 373 Receipts and Bills 
 Part 374 Passenger Carrier Regulations 
 Part 375 Transportation of Household Goods in Interstate 

Commerce:  Consumer Protection Regulations 
 Part 376 Lease and Interchange of Vehicles 
 Part 379 Preservation of Records 
Part 382 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 
Part 383 Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and 

Penalties 
 Part 384 State Compliance with Commercial Driver’s License 

Program 
Part 385 Safety Fitness Procedures 
 Part 386 Rules of Practice for Motor Carrier, Broker, Freight 

Forwarder and Hazardous Materials Proceedings 
 Part 387 Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor 

Carriers 
 Part 388 Cooperative Agreements with States 
 Part 389 Rulemaking Procedures-Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Part 390 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General 
Part 391 Qualifications of Drivers 
Part 392 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles 
Part 393 Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation 
Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers 
Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance 
Part 397 Transportation of Hazardous Materials; Driving and 

Parking Rules 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32: 1501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 
(January 1988), amended LR 17:1115 (November 1991), LR 
19:351 (March 1993), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 24:956 (May 
1998), LR 24:2321 (December 1998), LR 29:711 (May 2003), LR 
30:447 (March 2004), LR 32:641 (April 2006), LR 34:882 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 
Environmental Safety Section, LR 38:1417 (June 2012). 
§10305. Applicability of Regulations 

A. - A.3. ... 
B. For the purpose of this Chapter, the federal motor 

carrier safety regulations, as adopted or amended herein, 
shall also govern all carriers, drivers, persons or vehicles not 
subject to the federal regulations, if the operated vehicle has 
a single or combined gross vehicle weight or gross vehicle 
weight rating, greater than 26,000 pounds and is used in 
commerce or industry. 

C. - C.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 
(January 1988), amended LR 14:298 (May 1988), LR 17:1115 
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(November 1991), repromulgated LR 18:78 (January 1992), 
amended LR 18:746 (July 1992), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 
36:2573 (November 2010), amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 
Environmental Safety Section, LR 38:1417 (June 2012). 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1206#018 
 

RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Supervising Professionals and Use of Seals  
(LAC 46:LXI.2305 and 2701) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana professional 
engineering and land surveying licensure law, R.S. 37:681 et 
seq., and in accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board has 
amended its rules contained in LAC 46:LXI.2305 and 2701. 

This is a technical revision of existing rules under which 
LAPELS operates. These changes clarify the role and 
responsibilities of supervising professionals of licensed 
firms and the sealing/signing of completed work by licensed 
firms. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXI.  Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 

Chapter 23. Firms 
§2305. Supervising Professional 

A.1. Each firm licensed with the board shall designate 
one or more supervising professionals. Each supervising 
professional shall be a licensed professional: 

a. whose primary employment is with the firm on a 
full-time basis; or 

b. whose secondary employment is with the firm, 
provided the supervising professional is an owner of the 
firm. 

2. The supervising professionals of an engineering 
firm shall be professional engineers. The supervising 
professionals of a land surveying firm shall be professional 
land surveyors. 

3. The responsibilities of a supervising professional 
include: 

a. renewal of the firm’s license and notification to 
the board of any change in the firm’s supervising 
professionals; 

b. institution and adherence of policies of the firm 
that are in accordance with the licensure law and the rules of 
the board; and 

c. ensuring that all professional services provided 
by the firm are performed by or under the responsible charge 
of a licensed professional. 

B. Nothing herein shall prohibit a supervising 
professional from also being in responsible charge of 
professional services provided by the firm. 

C. A failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Chapter may subject both the licensed firm and the 
supervising professional to disciplinary action by the board. 

D. Compliance with this Section will not be met by a 
contractual relationship between the firm and a licensed 
professional or a firm of licensed professionals in which 
such licensed professional or firm of licensed professionals 
is available on a consultative basis. Nor will it be considered 
compliance if a licensed professional is related to the firm 
solely in a nominal or inactive capacity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:689. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 5:115 (May 1979), 
amended LR 8:191 (April 1982), LR 10:343 (April 1984), LR 
11:362 (April 1985), amended by the Department of Transportation 
and Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board, LR 27:1036 (July 2001), LR 30:1719 (August 2004), LR 
33:2789 (December 2007), LR 35:2856 (December 2009), LR 
38:1418 (June, 2012). 
Chapter 27. Use of Seals 
§2701. Seal and Signature 

A. The following rules for the use of seals to identify 
work performed by a professional engineer or professional 
land surveyor shall be binding on every licensee. 

1. - 3.b.iii.(c). … 
4. Seal Use 

a. Completed Work 
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. Drawings and Plats 

(a). In the case of multiple sealings, the first 
sheet or title page shall be sealed, signed and dated by the 
licensee or licensees in responsible charge. In addition, each 
sheet shall be sealed, signed and dated by the licensee or 
licensees responsible for each sheet. 
 iv. Specifications, Reports, Design Calculations 
and Information 

(a). In the case of specifications or reports of 
multiple pages, the first sheet or title page of each document 
shall be sealed, signed and dated by the licensee or licensees 
in responsible charge. Subsequent revisions shall be dated 
and initialed by the licensee in responsible charge whose 
seal, signature and date appears on the first sheet or title 
page. 

4.b. - 5.b. ... 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:696. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 8:192 (April 
1982), amended LR 12:692 (October 1986), LR 16:774 (September 
1990), LR 17:273 (March 1991), LR 19:58 (January 1993), LR 
22:287 (April 1996), LR 23:869 (July 1997), amended by the 
Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution Number 2 of 
the 1998 First Extraordinary Session, LR 24:1207 (June 1998), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board, LR 25:1525 (August 1999), amended LR 27:1039 (July 
2001), LR 30:1723 (August 2004), LR 33:2789 (December 2007), 
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LR 34:2415 (November 2008), LR 35:1910 (September 2009), LR 
38:1418 (June, 2012). 

 
Donna D. Sentell 
Executive Director 

1206#041  
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Tuna Harvest Regulations 
(LAC 76:VII.361) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby establishes 
landing restrictions and reporting requirement on 
recreational possession of yellowfin tuna. Reporting is 
designed to collect better harvest information on this state 
and federal cooperatively managed species. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish And Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishing 
§361. Tuna—Harvest Regulations 

A. - C. ... 
D. Permits 

1. Recreational. Persons aboard a vessel whether 
within or outside Louisiana territorial waters possessing any 
of the following tuna species: Atlantic bluefin tuna, 
yellowfin tuna, bigeye tuna, skipjack tuna and albacore are 
required to have a valid federal recreational tuna permit and 
a recreational offshore landing permit in their immediate 
possession on board the vessel.  

D.2. - E. ... 
F. Landing Restrictions  

1. When possessing recreationally harvested yellowfin 
tuna on a vessel within Louisiana territorial waters a written 
harvest report must be maintained on such vessel indicating 
the date harvested, time put on board, permit number of the 
person catching the fish, location of catch and length of the 
fish. It is the responsibility of the person catching the fish or 
in the case of a chartered vessel the licensed captain to 
record and maintain such information on the vessel in order 
to legally possess the fish. Any person possessing such fish 
without such documentation shall be considered to be in 
violation of this Section. Harvest report forms will be made 
available by the department online to recreational offshore 
landing permit holders, but do not necessarily have to be 
used as long as the proper information is recorded and 

maintained and available for immediate inspection on the 
fishing vessel. 

2. No person shall transfer yellowfin tuna at sea. No 
person shall offload yellowfin tuna from a fishing vessel 
which were taken or possessed recreationally, prior to being 
validated by contacting the toll free number provided or 
other means approved by the department to validate the 
yellowfin tuna caught and possessed. When such validation 
is made, an authorization code will be provided which shall 
be recorded on the harvest report associated with that fish. 
The information required on the harvest report must be 
provided when validating the catch in order to obtain an 
authorization code. In the case where a minor possesses the 
yellowfin tuna the guardian of such minor shall be 
responsible for the documentation and validation. 

3. A charter vessel captain is allowed to use numbered 
tags provided by the department as their authorization code 
on the harvest report instead of validation prior to 
offloading. The captain is required to contact the department 
by the fifteenth of each month to report harvest from the 
previous month. All tags issued to a charter captain must be 
accounted for when purchasing a new license or the captain 
will be removed from the tag program and required to 
validate catch as described in Paragraph F.2. A charter 
captain will be allowed to remain in the tag program as long 
as all of rules of the program are followed. Failure to abide 
by any of the rules will remove the captain from the tag 
program. 

4. Failure to abide by these rules and regulations shall 
constitute a violation of this Section and shall be fined in 
accordance with the provisions of a class one violation 
pursuant to R.S. 56:31. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:326.1, R.S. 56:326.3, R.S. 56:320.2(C) 
and R.S. 56:6(34). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
26:2834 (December 2000), amended LR 27:2269 (December 
2001), LR 37:3540 (December 2011), LR 38:1419 (June 2012).  

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and final Rule, including but not limited to, the filing 
of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement, the filing of 
the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the preparation of 
reports and correspondence to other agencies of government.  

 
Ann L. Taylor 
Chairman 

1206#044 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System  

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.409, 705, 707, and 3301) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111—The Louisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System: §409. 
Calculating a 9-12 Assessment Index, §705. AMO, §707. 
Safe Harbor, and §3301. Inclusion of New Schools. 
Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 4, provide detail 
on how incentive points will be earned for End-of-Course 
(EOC) tests taken at the middle school. Proposed changes in 
Bulletin 111, Chapter 7, provide detail on proficiency levels 
for the Annual Measurable Objectives (AMO). Proposed 
changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7, provide detail to remove 
policy related to the Graduation Exit Examination (GEE), as 
the GEE will be replaced by End-of-Course Tests. Proposed 
changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 33, provide detail to 
remove policy relative to the use of graduation cohorts in 
school performance score calculations. 

Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for 
the development of an accountability system for the purpose 
of implementing fundamental changes in classroom teaching 
by helping schools and communities focus on improved 
student achievement. The state’s accountability system is an 
evolving system with different components that are required 
to change in response to state and federal laws and 
regulations. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 4. Assessment, Attendance, and Dropout 
Index Calculations 

§409. Calculating a 9-12 Assessment Index 
A. All operational end-of-course (EOC) tests will be 

used in the calculation of the assessment index. 
1. All subjects will be weighted equally. 
2. Algebra I EOC passing test scores earned by 

students at a middle school will be included in the SPS 
calculations of the high school to which the student 
transfers. The scores will be included in the accountability 
cycle that corresponds with the students’ first year of high 
school. Middle schools will earn incentive points for EOC 
passing scores the same year in which the test was 
administered. 

a. Incentive Points will be awarded as follows:  
 i. excellent = 50; 
 ii. good = 25. 

A.3. - C. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1021 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:252 (February 2007), LR 36:1989 (September 
2010), LR 37:2118 (July 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2382 
(August 2011), LR 37:3200 (November 2011), LR 38:1212 (May 
2012), LR 38: 
Chapter 7. Subgroup Component 
§705. AMO 

A. The annual measurable objective (AMO) is the 
percent of students required to reach the proficient level in a 
given year on the standards-based assessments, which 
through 2005 will include English language arts and 
mathematics tests for 4th, 8th, and 10th grades. 

1. Beginning in 2006, English language arts and 
mathematics test results from grades 3-8 LEAP, iLEAP, high 
school EOC Algebra I and English II, LAA 1, and LAA 2 
will be used to calculate the percent proficient for the 
subgroup component (for schools and districts). 

B. As required in NCLB, the AMOs have been 
established based on the baseline percent proficient score 
(proficient = CRT level of basic, mastery, or advanced) in 
English-language arts and mathematics in the 20th percentile 
school, using the 2002 CRT test scores in ELA and 
mathematics for grades 4, 8, and 10. 

1. For Proficiency Levels see chart below. 
 

Proficiency  
LEAP/iLEAP Basic, Mastery, Advanced 
EOC  Good, Excellent 
LAA 1 Meets or Exceeds Standard 
LAA 2 Approaching Basic, Basic 

 
C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2743 (December 
2003), amended LR 33:253 (February 2007), LR 38: 
§707. Safe Harbor 

A. - E. … 
F. Beginning in 2006-07 for schools and districts, 

English language arts and mathematics test results from 
grades 3-8 LEAP, iLEAP, high school EOC Algebra I and 
English II, LAA 1, and LAA 2 will be used to calculate the 
reduction of non-proficient students in Safe Harbor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2743 (December 
2003), amended LR 32:1025 (June 2006), LR 33:253 (February 
2007), LR 33:2594 (December 2007), LR 38:1213 (May 2012), LR 
38: 
Chapter 33. New Schools and/or Significantly 

Reconfigured Schools 
§3301. Inclusion of New Schools 

A. - E.3. … 
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4. The graduation index calculated from the school’s 
first graduating class shall be included as a baseline SPS 
indicator, along with two years of adjusted assessment data 
in year two of the school’s operation. 

F. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2753 (December 
2003), amended LR 31:2765 (November 2005), LR 33:2599 
(December 2007), LR 36:1992 (September 2010), LR 37:3201 
(November 2011), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 4 provide detail 
on how incentive points will be earned for End-of-Course 
(EOC) tests taken at the middle school.  

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7 provide detail 
on proficiency levels for the Annual Measurable Objectives 
(AMO).  

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 7 provide detail 
to remove policy related to the Graduation Exit Examination 
(GEE), as the GEE will be replaced by End-of-Course Tests. 

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 33 provide 
detail to remove policy relative to the use of graduation cohorts 
in school performance score calculations.  

The proposed rule changes will result in no cost or savings 
to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated costs and/or economic benefits 
to directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#030 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards  
and PracticesAdministrative Error 

(LAC 28:CXI.312) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 118—Statewide 
Assessment Standards and Practices: §312. Administrative 
Error. Bulletin 118, contains the State Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education (SBESE) and the Office of 
Standards, Assessments and Accountability (OSAA) test 
policy rules, guidelines, and procedures for easy access 
during statewide test administration. It was necessary to 
revise the bulletin at this time to incorporate new and edited 
policy guidelines in the statewide assessment programs 
Chapter 3, Test Security. New policy language was added to 
Chapter 3. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXI.  Bulletin 118 Statewide Assessment  
Standards and Practices 

Chapter 3. Test Security 
§312. Administrative Error 

A. - H. … 
I. Where retests are available, LEAs may request that 

SPS calculations include retest results through a waiver 
request to BESE for accountability purposes. In such waiver 
request, the LEA shall demonstrate that it financed retests 
for all affected students and that it took corrective action as 
necessary to prevent a recurrence of the irregularity, 
including specific measures regarding any employee found 
to have willfully caused the irregularity. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
32:390 (March 2006), amended LR 33:257 (February 2007), LR 
34:66 (January 2008), LR 34:1351 (July 2008), LR 35:218 
(February 2009), LR 36:967 (May 2010), LR 38:33 (January 2012), 
LR 38:748 (March 2012), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, 
Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment 

Standards and PracticesAdministrative Error 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

New and updated policy language will be added to Chapter 
3, Test Security, regarding the Test Security Policy. Section 
312, Administrative Errors, will provide new language about a 
district’s right to appeal to the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education for a waiver permitting the use of 
administrative error retests’ results in the SPS calculations for 
accountability purposes. The proposed rule change will have no 
implementation cost to state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections at the state or 
local governmental levels. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no impact on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District—Type 5 
Charter School (LAC 28:CXLV.703) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 129—The Recovery 
School District: §703. Type 5 Charter School. Currently, the 
RSD Student Hearing Office conducts all student expulsion 
hearings for RSD New Orleans direct-run schools, and on an 
as-requested basis, conducts expulsion hearings for RSD 
charter schools and Orleans Parish schools. If the proposed 
revision is adopted, beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, 
the RSD Student Hearing Office will conduct student 
expulsion hearings for all RSD schools in New Orleans, 
including RSD Type 5 charter schools. The RSD Student 
Hearing Office will work in consultation with the RSD’s 
Special Education Services Office to ensure that students 
with special needs are being served appropriately. The RSD 
Student Hearing Office will use each charter school’s 
individual student discipline policies, however, the actual 
expulsion hearing and appeal process will be the same for 
every student, regardless of which RSD school they attend. 
As part of the RSD’s commitments to equity, the proposed 
revision to Bulletin 129The Recovery School District, was 
created in collaboration with charter school leaders to 
provide for the use of the RSD Student Hearing Office for 
all expulsion hearings for students attending RSD schools in 
New Orleans. Use of a single hearing office will serve to 
ease administrative burdens on charter schools, increase 
student expulsion data reliability and availability, and ensure 
that proper due process procedures are applied uniformly for 
all students in RSD schools. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
Chapter 7. Manner of Operation of Failed Schools 
§703. Type 5 Charter School 

A. BESE may direct that a school transferred from an 
LEA to the RSD be operated by a nonprofit organization 
holding a charter for a Type 5 charter school, under the 
auspices of the RSD. 
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B. The RSD superintendent may require Type 5 charter 
schools to utilize a unified hearing office established by the 
recovery school district for student expulsion hearings. Type 
5 charter schools shall comply with all policies and 
procedures established by the RSD to implement this 
requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5 (A) (1), R.S. 17:10.5(B), R.S. 
17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(B)(1), R.S. 17:1990(A)(2); and R.S. 
17:3973 (2)(b) (v)(aa). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:1125 (April 2011), 
amended LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School 

District—Type 5 Charter School 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy updates Bulletin 129, The Recovery 
School District. The cost to publish and distribute the Bulletin 
will cost approximately $2,000. 

As part of the RSD’s commitments to equity, the proposed 
revision to Bulletin 129, The Recovery School District, was 
created in collaboration with charter school leaders to provide 
for the use of the RSD Student Hearing Office for all expulsion 
hearings for students attending RSD schools in New Orleans. 
Use of a single hearing office will serve to ease administrative 
burdens on charter schools, increase student expulsion data 
reliability and availability, and ensure that proper due process 
procedures are applied uniformly for all students in RSD 
schools.  

Currently, the RSD Student Hearing Office conducts all 
student expulsion hearings for RSD New Orleans direct-run 
schools, and on an as-requested basis, conducts expulsion 
hearings for RSD charter schools and Orleans Parish schools. If 
the proposed revision is adopted, beginning in the 2012-13 
school year, the RSD Student Hearing Office will conduct 
student expulsion hearings for all RSD schools in New Orleans, 
including RSD Type 5 charter schools. The RSD Student 
Hearing Office will work in consultation with the RSD’s 
Special Education Services Office to ensure that students with 
special needs are being served appropriately. The RSD Student 
Hearing Office will use each charter school’s individual student 
discipline policies, however, the actual expulsion hearing and 
appeal process will be the same for every student, regardless of 
which RSD school they attend. 

In the past, the operations of the RSD Student Hearing 
Office have been funded through the Model Regional 
Alternative Education Pilot grant. However, funding through 
this program will not be provided for the RSD Student Hearing 
Office for the 2012 fiscal year. In order to fund the operations 
of the hearing office, each RSD school (RSD direct-operated 
and RSD Type 5 charter schools) in New Orleans will pay $10 
per pupil per year to pay for use of the student hearing office by 
each school. The $10 per pupil cost will be paid from each 
school’s Minimum Foundation Program (MFP) allocation. 
Based on projections for next year’s enrollment, the fee will 
generate approximately $300,000 necessary to operate the 
hearing office. Currently, there are four full-time RSD 
employees working in the RSD Student Hearing Office. For the 
2012-13 school year, an additional full-time employee will be 
hired to manage the data and compliance issues unique to Type 
5 charter schools related to student expulsions and other charter 
school discipline and oversight issues. A portion ($20,000) of 
the annual salary for this position will be funded through the 
$10 per pupil amount. The remaining $60,000 of the annual 
salary will be funded through the standard annual 1.75% 
charter administrative oversight fee received by the RSD.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Each RSD Type 5 charter school and RSD direct-operated 
school in New Orleans will pay $10 per pupil on an annual 
basis for use of the RSD Student Hearing Office. This fee will 
be paid from each school’s Minimum Foundation Program 
(MFP) allocation. Based on projections for next year’s 
enrollment, the fee will generate approximately $300,000 
necessary to operate the hearing office. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 

Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent  Staff Director 
1206#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel  

(LAC 28:CXLVII.105, 301, 305, 307, 309, 311,  
319, 321, 323, 325, 701, 901, 903, and 905) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 130—Regulations for the 
Evaluation and Assessment of School Personnel: §105. 
Framework for LEA Personnel Evaluation Programs, §301. 
Overview of Personnel Evaluation, §305. Measures of 
Growth in Student LearningNon-Tested Grades and 
Subjects, §307. Observation Tools, §309. Standards of 
Effectiveness, §311. Evaluators, §319. Staff Development 
for Personnel Involved in Evaluation, §321. Evaluation 
Records Guidelines, §323. Job Descriptions, §325. 
Extenuating Circumstances, §701. Annual Summary 
Reporting Format, §901. Appendix A, §903. Appendix B, 
and §905. Definitions. The proposed policy revisions 
provide guidelines for incorporating measures of student 
growth into teacher and administrator evaluations to align 
the evaluation of school personnel with Act 54 of the 2010 
Regular Legislative Session. These changes reflect 
adjustments to this policy, based upon feedback gathered in 
the piloting of the Compass educator support and evaluation 
system. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLVII.  Bulletin 130Regulations for the 
Evaluation and Assessment of School Personnel 

Chapter 1. Overview 
§105. Framework for LEA Personnel Evaluation 

Programs [Formerly §109] 
A. … 
B. Local personnel evaluation plans defined by the board 

shall include, at a minimum, the following elements. 
1. - 2. … 
3. Observation/Data Collection Process. The evaluator 

or evaluators of each teacher and administrator shall conduct 
a minimum of one formal, announced observation and at 
least one other informal observation of instructional practice 
per academic year. Each formal teacher observation must 
last at least one complete lesson. For each formal 
observation, evaluators shall conduct a pre-observation 
conference with their evaluatee during which the teacher or 
administrator shall provide the evaluator or evaluators with 
relevant information. For both formal and informal 
observations, evaluators shall provide evaluatees with 
feedback following the observation, including areas for 
commendation as well as areas for improvement. Additional 
evidence, such as data from periodic visits to the school 
and/or classroom as well as written materials or artifacts, 
may be used to inform evaluation. 

4. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2251 (October 2010), 
amended LR 38:1215 (May 2012), LR 38: 
Chapter 3. Personnel Evaluation 
§301. Overview of Personnel Evaluation 

A. Personnel evaluation for teachers and administrators 
shall be composed of two parts. Fifty percent of the 
evaluation shall be composed of applicable measure(s) of 
growth in student learning. The remaining 50 percent shall 
be based upon a qualitative assessment of teacher or 
administrator performance. 

1. For teachers, the 50 percent of the evaluation based 
upon growth in student learning shall measure the growth of 
their students according to a pre-determined assessment 
method, using the value-added model, where available, and 
alternate measures of student growth according to state 
guidelines, where value-added data are not available. For 
administrators, the 50 percent of the evaluation based upon 
growth in student learning shall incorporate a school-wide 
measure of growth.  

2. The 50 percent of the evaluation that is based on a 
qualitative measure of teacher and administrator 
performance shall include a minimum of one formal, 
announced observation or site visit and at least one other 
informal observation or site visit. This portion of the 
evaluation may include additional evaluative evidence, such 
as walk-through observation data and evaluation of written 
work products.  

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1215 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
§305. Measures of Growth in Student LearningNon-

Tested Grades and Subjects  
A. - B. … 
C. A minimum of two student learning targets shall be 

identified for each teacher in NTGS. The department shall 
provide an evaluative tool for evaluators to use in assessing 
the quality and attainment of student learning targets.  

1. State-approved common assessments shall be used 
as part of the body of evidence measuring students’ 
attainment of learning targets, where available. At the 
beginning of each academic year, the department shall 
publish a list of state-approved common assessments to be 
used in identified non-tested grades and subject areas. 

2. Where no state-approved common assessments for 
NTGS are available, evaluatees and evaluators shall decide 
upon the appropriate assessment or assessments to measure 
students’ attainment of learning targets.  

3. LEAs may define consistent student learning targets 
across schools and classrooms for teachers with similar 
assignments. 

D. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1216 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
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§307. Observation Tools 
A. … 
B. LEA observation tools shall adhere to the following 

minimum requirements. 
1. The tool for teacher evaluation shall align to the 

Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching. The tool for 
administrator evaluation shall align to the Performance 
Expectations and Indicators for Educational Leaders, 
contained within Bulletin 125Standards for Educational 
Leaders in Louisiana. 

a. The Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching 
and the Performance Expectations and Indicators for 
Educational Leaders may be reviewed as needed by the 
department in collaboration with educators administering the 
evaluation system and appropriate third parties to determine 
the need for modifications and their continuing utility. 

b. The board shall approve any changes made to the 
Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching and the 
Performance Expectations and Indicators for Educational 
Leaders. 

2. Observation tools shall provide an overall score 
between 1.0 and 4.0. Total scores on observation tools may 
include tenths of points, indicated with a decimal point.  

C. … 
D. LEAs which do not intend to use model observation 

tools developed or identified by the department shall submit 
proposed alternate tools to the department for evaluation and 
approval, LEAs shall submit proposed alternate observation 
tools to the department.  

1. With the submission of proposed alternate 
observation tools, LEAs may request a waiver to use 
competencies and performance standards other than those 
provided in the Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching 
and the Performance Expectations and Indicators for 
Educational Leaders. Such requests shall include:  

a. a justification for how the modified competencies 
and performance standards will support specific 
performance goals related to educator and student outcomes; 
and 

b. an explanation of how the LEA will ensure the 
reliability and validity of the alternate observation tool 
intended to measure the modified competencies and 
performance standards. 

2. The department may request revisions to proposed 
alternate observation tools to ensure their compliance with 
the minimum requirements set forth in this bulletin.  

3. If requested, revisions to proposed alternate 
observation tools shall be submitted to the department by the 
LEA. 

4. LEA-proposed alternate observation tools shall be 
either approved or denied by the department no later than 
August 1. 

5. LEAs which secure department approval for use of 
an alternate observation tools need not submit them for 
approval in subsequent years, unless the alternate 
observation tools is revised, the Louisiana Components of 
Effective Teaching or Performance Expectations and 
Indicators for Educational Leaders are revised, or revisions 
to this Section are approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1216 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
§309. Standards of Effectiveness 

A. Teachers and administrators shall receive a final 
composite score on annual evaluations to determine their 
effectiveness rating for that academic year.  

1. The 50 percent of evaluations that is based on 
student growth will be represented by a sub-score between 
1.0 and 4.0. 

2. The 50 percent of evaluations that is based on a 
qualitative assessment of performance will also be 
represented by a sub-score between 1.0 and 4.0. 

3. The final composite score for teachers and 
administrators shall be the average of the two sub-scores and 
shall be represented as a score between 1.0 and 4.0.  

B. The composite score ranges defining Ineffective, 
Effective (Emerging or Proficient) and Highly Effective 
performance shall be as follows. 

 
Effectiveness Rating Composite Score Range 

Ineffective x<1.5 
Effective: Emerging 1.5≤x<2.5 
Effective: Proficient 2.5≤x<3.5 

Highly Effective 3.5≤x 
 
C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1217 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
§311. Evaluators 

A. - C. … 
D. All evaluators shall be certified to serve as evaluators, 

according to the minimum requirements provided by the 
department. 

1. The department, its contractors, and LEAs with 
approved alternate observation tools shall serve as the sole 
certifiers of evaluators. 

2. The evaluator certification process shall include an 
assessment to ensure inter-rater reliability and accuracy of 
ratings, based on the use of the teacher or leader 
observational rubric. 

3. Evaluators on record must renew certification to 
evaluate annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1217 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
§319. Staff Development for Personnel Involved in 

Evaluation [Formerly §335] 
A. LEAs shall provide training on a continuing basis for 

all staff involved in the evaluation process (i.e., district level 
administrators and supervisors, principals and assistant 
principals, and other observers, and classroom teachers). It is 
recommended that all training concentrate on fostering the 
elements listed below: 

1. a positive, constructive attitude toward the teacher 
and administrator evaluation process; 
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2. a knowledge of state laws and LEA policies 
governing the evaluation process for teachers and 
administrators, along with the associated procedures for 
intensive assistance and due process;  

3. an understanding of the Louisiana Components of 
Effective Teaching or an approved modified set of teacher 
competencies and performance standards;  

4. an understanding of the Performance Expectations 
and Indicators for Educational Leaders or an approved 
modified set of leader competencies and performance 
standards; 

5. an understanding of the measures of growth in 
student learning, as adopted by the board; and  

6. an understanding of the process for calculating a 
composite score to determine final effectiveness ratings for 
teachers and administrators. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:391.10, R.S. 17:3871-3873, R.S. 17:3881-3884, and R.S. 1309-
3904. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2252 (October 2010), 
amended LR 38:1219 (May 2012), LR 38: 
§321. Evaluation Records Guidelines 

A. Copies of evaluation results and any related 
documentation shall be retained by the LEA.  

B. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1219 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
§323. Job Descriptions [Formerly §339] 

A. - B.4. … 
C. The following components shall be included in each 

job description developed: 
1. position title; 
2. overview of position; 
3. position qualifications shall be at least the 

minimum requirements as stated in Bulletin 746—Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel (The 
qualifications shall be established for the position, rather 
than for the employee.); 

4. title of the person to whom the employee reports; 
5. performance standards, including statement on 

responsibility for growth in student learning; 
6. salary or hourly pay range; 
7. statement acknowledging receipt of job description; 

and 
8. a space for the employee’s signature and date. 
NOTE:  Job descriptions must be reviewed annually. Current 
signatures must be on file at the central office in the single 
official file to document the annual review and/or receipt of 
job descriptions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:391.10, R.S. 17:3871-3873, R.S. 17:3881-3884, and R.S. 1309-
3904. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2252 (October 2010), 
amended LR 38:1219 (May 2012), LR 38: 
§325. Extenuating Circumstances 

A. … 
B. Evaluation results shall be invalidated for any teacher 

or administrator with 60 or more excused absences in a 

given academic year, due to approved extended leave, such 
as maternity leave, military leave, extended sick leave, or 
sabbatical leave.  

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1220 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 
Chapter 7. Reporting and Monitoring 
§701. Annual Summary Reporting Format 

A. Each LEA will submit an annual personnel evaluation 
report of the most recent academic year to the department by 
July 15. Information included in the reporting format reflects 
data deemed necessary in presenting annual reports to the 
department, as well as to the LEAs. The reporting of such 
information includes a variety of responses directed toward 
the collection of data useful to an analysis of the evaluation 
process from a statewide perspective. Items that are reported 
by the LEAs on forms provided by the department include, 
but are not limited to, the following items: 

1. individual-level teacher evaluation results, by 
teacher; 

2. the number of certified and other professional 
personnel, by categories, who were evaluated as performing 
ineffectively; 

3. the number of certified and other professional 
personnel, by categories, who were terminated because of 
not having improved performance within the specified time 
allotment (Include the reasons for termination.); 

4. the number of certified personnel, by categories, 
who improved (from Ineffective to Effective) as a result of 
the evaluation process (Report the data by distinguishing 
between personnel in position 0-3 years and personnel in 
position 4 or more years.); 

5. the number of formal grievances filed as a result of 
ineffective performance ratings or disagreement with 
evaluation results; and 

6. the number of evaluatees who received intensive 
assistance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2253 (October 2010), 
amended LR 38:1220 (May 2012), LR 38: 
Chapter 9. General Provisions 
§901. Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching 

A. The chart below contains the domains and 
components which represent the Louisiana Components of 
Effective Teaching. 

 
Domain Component 

1. Planning and Preparation 1c. Setting Instructional Outcomes 
2. The Classroom 
Environment 2c. Managing Classroom Procedures 

3. Instruction 

3b. Questioning and Discussion 
Techniques 
3c. Engaging Students in Learning 
3d. Using Assessment in Instruction 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38: 
§903. Appendix B 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, LR 36:2256 (October 2010), amended LR 38:1221 
(May 2012), repealed LR 38: 
§905. Definitions 

A. In order that consistency in terminology be 
maintained on a statewide basis, the department has 
established a list of terms and definitions. Careful 
consideration of each should be given during the training 
and implementation of personnel evaluation programs. The 
definitions below must be adopted by all LEAs. If additional 
terms are necessary in establishing a clear and concise 
understanding of evaluation procedures, they must be 
included in the LEA local personnel evaluation plan. 

Accountability—shared responsibility for actions 
relating to the education of children. 

Administrator—any person who serves in an academic 
leadership role at the school-level and is employed in a 
professional capacity other than a teacher. Principals, 
assistant principals, and academic deans shall be considered 
administrators according to this definition. 

Beginning Teacher—any teacher in their first three years 
of the profession. 

Board—state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. 

Certified School Personnel—those persons whose 
positions require certification. 

Charter School—an independent public school that 
provides a program of elementary and/or secondary 
education established pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Charter School Law to provide a 
learning environment that will improve student achievement. 

Classroom Visitation—an informal visit to a classroom 
of sufficient duration to monitor progress toward 
achievement of professional growth plan objectives and to 
provide support or assistance. 

Common Assessment—a state-approved assessment to 
be used for measuring student growth in grades and subjects 
where value-added data is not available.  

Components of Effective Teaching—the elements of 
teaching performance defined by the board in formal, 
recognized collaboration with educators and other 
stakeholders involved in education, to be critical to 
providing effective classroom instruction. 

Competencies—skills, knowledge, and abilities required 
to demonstrate a particular level of performance. 

Criteria—demonstrable levels of performance upon 
which a judgment may be based. 

Department—Louisiana Department of Education. 
Due Process—fair and impartial treatment, including 

notice and an opportunity to be heard. 
Duties—those actions normally required of a position as 

assigned and/or described in the position description that are 
necessary to enable the class, school, or school district to 
accomplish its objectives. 

Educational Leader—a person who is certified to serve 
in any school or district leadership capacity with the 
exception of superintendent. 

Evaluation—process by which a local board monitors 
continuing performance of its teachers and administrators 
annually, by considering judgments concerning the 
professional accomplishments and competencies of a 
certified employee, as well as other professional personnel, 
based on a broad knowledge of the area of performance 
involved, the characteristics of the situation of the individual 
being evaluated, and the specific standards of performance 
pre-established for the position. 

Evaluatee—teacher or administrator undergoing 
evaluation. 

Evaluator—one who evaluates; the school principal or 
assistant principal or respective supervisory level designees 
charged with evaluating teachers or the superintendent or 
other LEA-level supervisor charged with evaluating 
administrators. 

Formal Observation—an announced observation of a 
teacher in which the evaluator observes the beginning, 
middle, and end of a lesson, that is preceded by a pre-
observation conference and followed by a post-observation 
conference in which the teacher is provided feedback on 
his/her performance. 

Formal Site Visit—an announced site visit by an 
administrator’s evaluator, that is preceded by a pre-visit 
conference and followed by a post-visit conference in which 
the administrator is provided feedback on his/her 
performance. 

Grievance—a procedure that provides a fair and 
objective resolution of complaint by an evaluatee that the 
evaluation is inaccurate due to evaluator bias, omission, or 
error. 

Informal Observationan observation of a teacher 
which provides evidence to be used in the evaluation 
process. Such observations may not last for the entirety of a 
lesson and may or may not be announced. 

Intensive Assistance Plan—the plan that is implemented 
when it is determined, through the evaluation process, that 
personnel have not meet the standards of effectiveness. This 
plan includes the specific steps the teacher or administrator 
shall take to improve; the assistance, support, and resources 
to be provided by the LEA; an expected timeline for 
achieving the objectives and the procedure for monitoring 
progress, including observations and conferences; and the 
action to be taken if improvement is not demonstrated. 

Job Description—a competency-based summary of the 
position title, qualification, supervisor, supervisory 
responsibilities, duties, job tasks, and standard performance 
criteria, including improving student achievement, that 
specify the level of job skill required. Space shall be 
provided for signature and date.  

Local Board—governing authority of the local 
education agency, parish/city school or local school system. 

Local Education Agency (LEA)—city, parish, or other 
local public school system, including charter schools. 

Non-Tested Grades and Subjects (NTGS)—grades and 
subjects for which a value-added score is not available for 
teachers or other certified personnel. 
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Objective—a devised accomplishment that can be 
verified within a given time, under specifiable conditions, 
and by evidence of achievement.  

Observation—the process of gathering facts, noting 
occurrences, and documenting evidence of performance. 

Observerone who gathers evidence to be used in the 
evaluation process through the observation of educator 
performance. 

Performance Expectations—the elements of effective 
leadership approved by the board that shall be included as 
evaluation criteria for all building-level administrators. 

Performance Standards—the behaviors and actions 
upon which performance is evaluated.  

Post-Observation Conference—a discussion between 
the evaluatee and evaluator for the purpose of reviewing an 
observation and sharing commendations, insights, and 
recommendations for improvement. 

Pre-Observation Conference—a discussion between the 
evaluatee and the evaluator which occurs prior to a formal 
observation; the purposes are to share information about the 
lesson to be observed and to clarify questions that may occur 
after reviewing of the lesson plan. 

Professional Growth Plan—a written plan developed to 
enhance the skills and performance of an evaluatee. The plan 
includes specific goal(s), objective(s), action plans, 
timelines, opportunities for reflection, and evaluation 
criteria. 

Self-Evaluation/Self-Reflection—the process of making 
considered judgments of one’s own performance concerning 
professional accomplishments and competencies as a 
certified employee or other professional person based upon 
personal knowledge of the area of performance involved, the 
characteristics of the given situation, and the specific 
standards for performance pre-established for the position; to 
be submitted by the evaluatee to the appropriate evaluator 
for use in the compilation of the individual’s evaluation. 

Standard Certificate—a credential issued by the state to 
an individual who has met all requirements for full 
certification as a teacher. 

Standard of Effectiveness—adopted by the State Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education as the final 
composite score required for teacher or administrator 
performance to be considered Effective. 

Student Learning Target—a goal which expresses an 
expectation of growth in student achievement over a given 
period of time, as measured by an identified assessment 
and/or body of evidence. 

Teacher—any person who provides direct instruction or 
direct instructional support to students, to whom he/she has 
been formally assigned. Classroom teachers, special 
education teachers, librarians, and guidance counselors shall 
be considered teachers according to this definition. 

Teachers of Record—educators who are responsible for 
a portion of a student’s learning outcomes within a 
subject/course. 

Value-Addedthe use of prior achievement history and 
appropriate demographic variables to estimate typical 
achievement outcomes through a statistical model for 
students in specific content domains based on a longitudinal 
data set derived from students who take state-mandated tests 
in Louisiana for the purpose of comparing typical and actual 
achievement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:391.10, R.S. 17:3881-3886, and R.S. 17:3901-
3904, R.S. 17:3997, R.S. 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1222 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 130—Regulations for the 
Evaluation and Assessment of School Personnel 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Bulletin 130: Regulations for the Evaluation and 

Assessment of School Personnel is being revised pursuant to 
Act 54 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. The proposed 
policy revisions align the evaluation of school personnel with 
Act 54. Local school districts may incur additional costs related 
to professional development for staff involved in the evaluation 
process, if they choose to provide resources outside of what 
may be provided by school and district personnel. Local funds 
may be used for those expenditures. However, such additional 
costs are not mandated. 
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The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This policy will not generate costs for individuals or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will require that data from performance 
evaluations be used to make employment decisions for public 
school teachers and administrators. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#033 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Advanced Placement and International 

Baccalaureate (LAC 28:CXV.2325) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2325. Advanced 
Placement and International Baccalaureate. The revision 
increases the number of advanced placement (AP) or 
international baccalaureate (IB) courses available to students 
at each public high school. The number of courses increases 
by one each year from 2012-2013 to 2015-2016. Increasing 
the number of advanced placement and international 
baccalaureate courses at each school will provide students 
with more opportunities to take rigorous courses that have 
been shown to increase students’ chances of succeeding in 
college. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2325. Advanced Placement and International 

Baccalaureate  
A. Each high school shall provide students access to 

advanced placement (AP) or international baccalaureate (IB) 
courses according to the schedule below: 

1. at least one AP or IB course in each of two core 
content areas during the 2012-2013 school year; 

2. at least one AP or IB course in each of three core 
content areas during the 2013-2014 school year; 

3. at least one AP or IB course in each of four core 
content areas during the 2014-2015 school year; 

4. at least one AP or IB course in each of four core 
content areas and one additional AP or IB course during the 
2015-2016 school year. 

B. - B.2.a. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1294 (June 2005), 
amended LR 34:2032 (October 2008), LR 37: 3198 (November 
2011), LR 38:759 (March 2012), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Advanced Placement and 
International Baccalaureate 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The revision to Section 2325 of Bulletin 741: Louisiana 

Handbook for School Administrators increases the number of 
Advanced Placement (AP) or International Baccalaureate (IB) 
courses available to students at each public high school. The 
number of courses increases by one each year from 2012-2013 
to 2015-2016. These changes should not result in an increase in 
costs or savings to state or local governmental units. Schools 
can use current faculty or distance learning to provide these 
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courses to students and the cost should not be greater than the 
normal cost per course per student. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Foreign Languages (LAC 28:CXV.2345) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2345. Foreign 
Languages. The revision adds American Sign Language III 
and IV to the Foreign Language Program of Study. This 
revision allows students who have taken ASL I and II 
continue their study and receive credit toward graduation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2345. Foreign Languages 

A. The foreign language course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title(s) Units 

French I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
German I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Italian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Latin I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Russian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Spanish I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
American Sign Language I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Greek I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Chinese I, II, III, IV 1 each 

 
B. Teachers of American sign language shall have a valid 

Louisiana teaching certificate and documentation of the 
following: 

1. Provisional Level Certification from the American 
Sign Language Teachers Association (ASLTA); or 

2. Certificate of Interpretation (CI) from the Registry 
of Interpreters of the Deaf (RID); or 

3. Certificate of Transliteration (CT) from the RID; or 
4. Certified Deaf Interpreter certification (CDI) from 

the RID; or 

5. Level IV or V Certificate of Competence from the 
National Association of the Deaf (NAD); or 

6. Level IV or V Official Documentation of the 
videotaped version of the Educational Interpreter 
Performance Assessment (EIPA). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R.S. 273; R.S. 17:284. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1295 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:1996 (September 2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Foreign Languages 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The revision to Section 2345 of Bulletin 741: Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators adds American Sign 
Language III and IV to the Foreign Language Program of 
Study. These changes will not result in an increase in costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units.  
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Technology Education  

(LAC 28:CXV.2385) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given  
that the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
approved for advertisement revisions to Bulletin  
741—Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators: 
§2385. Technology Education. This action is to set forth 
policy listing state recognized technology education course 
offerings within the CTE program. The four proposed course 
offerings will provide specific instruction and training to 
students interested in pursuing careers in manufacturing. 
These courses will cover content which lead to industry 
recognized credentialing as a certified manufacturing 
specialist.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
§2385. Technology Education 

A. Technology education (formerly industrial arts) 
course offerings shall be as follows. 

 

Course Title(s) 
Recommended 
Grade Level Units 

Advanced Electricity/Electronics 10-12 1 
Advanced Metal Technology 10-12 1 
Advanced Wood Technology  10-12 1 
Aerospace Engineering 11-12 1 
Automation in Manufacturing 10-12 1 
Basic Electricity/Electronics 9-12 1 
Basic Metal Technology 9-12 1 
Basic Wood Technology 9-12 1 
Civil Engineering and Architecture 11-12 1 
Communication/Middle School 6-8 - 
Communication Technology 9-12 1 
Computer Integrated Manufacturing 11-12 1 
Construction/Middle School 6-8 - 
Construction Technology  10-12 1 
Cooperative Technology Education 10-12 3 
Digital Electronics 9-10 1 

Course Title(s) 
Recommended 
Grade Level Units 

Energy, Power, and Transportation 
Technology 9-12 1 

Engineering Design I, II 11-12 1 
Engineering Design and Development 11-12 1 
General Technology Education 9-12 1 
Introduction to Engineering Design 8-12 1 
Manufacturing Process and Team 
Building 9-12 1 

Manufacturing Technology 9-12 1 
Manufacturing Technology/Middle 
School 6-8 - 

Manufacturing Tools and Equipment 10-12 1 
Marine Engineering 11-12 0.5 
Materials and Processes 10-12 1 
Modular Technology/Middle School 6-8 - 
Oil and Gas Production Operations 11-12 1 
Physics of Technology I 10-12 1 
Physics of Technology II 11-12 1 
Power Mechanics 9-12 1 
Principles of Engineering 9-10 1 
T2 Safety Systems for Oil and Gas 
Production 11-12 1 

Technology Education Computer 
Applications 9-12 1 

Technology Education Elective I, II 9-12 1/2-3 
Transportation Technology/Middle 
School 6-8 - 

Welding Technology 10-12 1 
Industry-Based Certifications 

Advanced Technical Drafting 10-12 1 
Architectural Drafting 10-12 1 
Basic Technical Drafting 9-12 1 
Introduction to Fabrication P-Tech and 
Manufacturing 10-12 1 

NCCER Carpentry I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Electrical I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Industrial Maintenance 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Instrumentation Control 
Mechanic I, II 11-12 1-3 

NCCER Insulating 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Pipe Fitter I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
NCCER Welding Technology I, II TE 11-12 1-3 
Process Technician I, II 11-12 1 
T2 Safety Systems for Oil and Gas 
Production 

11-12 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7; R.S. 17:24.4.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1300 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:279 (February 2007), LR 35:1229 (July 2009), LR 
35:2323 (November 2009), LR 35:2747 (December 2009), LR 
36:1997 (September 2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 
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3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Technology Education 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Department of Education recommends relevant policy 
revisions to Bulletin 741: Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators as they relate to Career and Technical 
Education (CTE), Technology Education course offerings. The 
policy includes four additional courses that may be offered to 
students interested in pursuing careers in manufacturing. There 
will be no costs to state governmental units as a result of this 
policy change. The Louisiana Department of Education 
anticipates no additional costs to Local Education Agencies as 
the cost to implement these courses will be similar to the costs 
incurred with offering other CTE course offerings. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no effect on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There may be an increased rate of students graduating 
prepared for postsecondary education and or entry into the 
workforce in a high wage, high demand career area.  

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#037 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Textbooks (LAC 28:CXV.1703) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1703. Textbooks. 
The revision removes the restriction that districts can only 
use 10 percent of their textbook budget on textbooks that are 
not on the state adoption list. The revision also clarifies the 
time required to order books in alternate formats in order to 
receive them before school begins. The revision allows 
districts more flexibility in the purchase of textbooks and 
instructional materials. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 17. Instructional Support 
§1703. Textbooks 

A. Each school shall provide textbook materials for each 
student and shall have proper procedures for selection, 
storage, and preservation of textbooks. 

B. In order to ensure the timely delivery of new 
instructional materials in the appropriate format (e.g., print, 
large print, Braille, audio, digital) for all students, each LEA 
shall place its instructional materials order at least six 
months in advance of the school year. Refer to Bulletin 
1794―State Textbook Adoption Policy and Procedure 
Manual (LAC 28:XXXIII). 

C. State funds appropriated through the MFP may be 
used to buy books on the state-adopted textbook lists and 
academically related ancillary materials or computer 
hardware according to the state guidelines. 

1. The annual appropriation for the purchase of 
instructional materials and supplies (state approved 
textbooks) is defined in the MFP appropriation bill on a per-
pupil amount. In order to facilitate the purchase and receipt 
of these textbooks each year, LEAs are required to submit 
state textbook orders to the Publisher's Depository, centrally 
located within the state, between March 15 and May 15. 

2. LEAs may use state textbook dollars for the 
purchase of non-adopted instructional materials.  

D. Refer to §711 for more policies related to textbooks. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:8, R.S. 17:351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1286 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37:1141 (April 2011), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  
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1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators—Textbooks 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The revision to Section 1703 of Bulletin 741: Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators removes the restriction 
that districts can only use 10% of their textbook budget on 
textbooks that are not on the state adoption list. The revision 
also clarifies the time required to order books in alternate 
formats in order to receive them before school begins. These 
changes will not result in an increase in costs or savings to state 
or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School Personnel—CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.505) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the  
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education  
approved for advertisement revisions to Bulletin  
746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel: §505. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates. The 
proposed policy revision will allow candidates that served as 
athletic trainer graduate assistants while pursuing master’s 
degrees in athletic training to count those graduate assistant 
hours towards the two-year requirement for the CTTIE 
certificate in sports medicine. Currently, there are questions 
whether the hours worked as a graduate assistant pursing a 
master’s degree in athletic training should be counted as 
work hours required to complete a CTTIE. The approval will 
clarify this grey area as well as allow consistency in the 
review process. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 5. Standards for Secondary Career and 
Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Personnel 

§505. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 
A. - E.1. … 
F. Other Health Professions/Related Fields Instructor 

(e.g., Dental Assistant, Sports Medicine)—Eligibility 
Requirements 

1. Applicant must be a graduate of an approved 
program in the area to be taught, with current state license or 
national certification where required. Nutrition instructors in 
nursing programs may meet certification requirements with a 
degree in Family and Consumer Sciences and a minimum of 
12 semester hours in Foods and Nutrition. 

2. Applicant must have a minimum of two years of 
occupational experience in the area in which he/she is to 
teach. One year of this experience must have been served 
within the last five years. 

3. Sports medicine instructors shall have at least a 
Bachelor of Science degree and have received and 
maintained a current state and/or national certification as an 
athletic trainer and meet all CTTIE requirements. 

a. Applicants pursuing a master’s degree in athletic 
training that are working as an athletic trainer graduate 
assistant at a regionally accredited university may count 
these work experience hours toward meeting the required 
work hours for the CTTIE application. CTTIE application 
must include a letter from the director of athletics at the 
university with the actual number of hours worked as well as 
assigned duties. 

G. - G.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards  

for State Certification of School Personnel 
CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revision will allow candidates that 

served as Athletic Trainer Graduate Assistants while pursuing 
Master’s Degrees in Athletic Training to count those graduate 
assistant hours towards the two-year requirement for the 
CTTIE certificate in Sports Medicine. The adoption of this 
policy will cost the Department of Education approximately 
$700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#039 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—School Nurse (LAC 28:CXXXI.411) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given  
that the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
approved for advertisement revisions to Bulletin  
746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel: §411. School Nurse. The proposed policy 
revision will allow the renewal of a Type B or Type A school 
nurse certificate by the submission of a copy of his/her 
current Louisiana licensure to serve as a registered nurse and 
a request from a Louisiana employing school system to 
renew his/her certificate. The proposed policy will remove 
the requirement of submitting verification of continuing 
learning units for the renewal of the School Nurse 
certificate. The continuing learning units must be submitted 
to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing for the renewal of 
the RN license so those documents remain on file with the 
State Board of Nursing Office. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
Subchapter A. General Ancillary School Certificates 
§411. School Nurse 

A. Type C School Nurse—valid for three years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. minimum of two years experience as a registered 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
three year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

B. Type B School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. three years of experience as a Type C school 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
five year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
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Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

C. Type A School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; 

b. baccalaureate degree in nursing or a health-
related field from a regionally accredited college or 
university; and 

c. five years experience as a certified Type B school 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
five year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel—School Nurse 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revision will allow the renewal of a 

Type B or Type A School Nurse certificate by the submission 
of a copy of his/her current Louisiana licensure to serve as a 
Registered Nurse and a request from a Louisiana employing 
school system to renew his/her certificate. The adoption of this 
policy will cost the Department of Education approximately 
$700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1706—Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act  
(LAC 28:XLIII.508, 511, 512, 513,  
514, 516, 518, 532, 904, and 905) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 
Implementation of the Children with Exceptionalities Act, 
Subpart I. Regulations for Students with Disabilities: §508. 
Due Process Hearing Request, §511. Impartial Due Process 
Hearing and Hearing Officer Appointments, §512. Hearing 
Rights, §513. Hearing Decisions, §514. Finality of Decision; 
Appeal; and Compliance with Hearing Decisions, §516. 
Civil Action, §518. Student Status During Proceedings, 
§532. Appeal, §904. Abbreviations/Acronyms used in these 
Regulations; and §905. Definitions. The Rule was developed 
in response to Act 683 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. The Act requires the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education to approve rules 
related to the administration of special education due process 
hearings required under the Louisiana Education of Students 
with Exceptionalities Act. Act 683 requires the Department 
of Education to contract with the Division of Administrative 
Law to conduct those hearings. Previously, the Department 
of Education contracted with independent hearing officers to 
handle the due process hearings. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIII.  Bulletin 1706Regulations  
for Implementation of the Children  

with Exceptionalities Act 
Subpart I.  Regulations for Students with Disabilities 

Chapter 5. Procedural Safeguards 
Subchapter A. Due Process Procedures for Parents and 

Students 
§508. Due Process Hearing Request 

A. - A.2. … 
3. When the LDE receives a written request for due 

process hearing, the LDE will provide a copy of the request 
to the other party. The date on which the LDE confirms that 
the other party has received the request will be the 
presumptive date of receipt. 

4. Within two business days of receipt of a written 
request, the LDE shall transmit the request for due process 
hearing to the Division of Administrative Law, who shall 
docket the request and assign a hearing officer. 

B. - D.1. ... 
2. Within five days of receipt of notification under 

Paragraph D.1 of this Section, the hearing officer shall make 
a determination on the face of the written request for due 
process hearing, whether the due process hearing request 
meets the requirements of Subsection B of this Section, and 
shall immediately notify the parties and LDE in writing of 
that determination. If a determination of insufficiency is 
made, such determination shall include the nature of the 
insufficiency and may result in dismissal of the due process 
hearing. 

E. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2071 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
§511. Impartial Due Process Hearing and Hearing 

Officer Appointments  
A. … 
B. Agency Responsible for Conducting the Due Process 

Hearing. The due process hearing described in Subsection A 
of this Section shall be conducted in accordance with the 
law. 

C. Impartial Hearing Officer. The DAL shall designate 
hearing officers, who: 

1. - 2.b. … 
c. have represented an LEA or a parent as an 

attorney in education litigation within the previous three 
years; 

3. … 
4. the DAL shall maintain a list of administrative law 

judges qualified to conduct impartial due process hearings. 
The list shall include a statement of the qualifications of 
each of the hearing officers; and 

5. the LDE and DAL shall ensure that impartial due 
process hearing officers designated pursuant to this Section 
have successfully completed a training program approved by 
the LDE. Additional training shall be required by the LDE 
whenever warranted by changes in applicable legal standards 

or educational practices or as determined necessary by the 
LDE. 

D. - D.1. … 
2. The DAL shall review any written challenge to the 

impartiality of the hearing officer and provide a written 
decision and notice to the parent and LEA within three 
business days after receipt of the written challenge. 

3. If the DAL determines that doubt exists as to 
whether the proposed hearing officer is truly impartial, 
another hearing officer shall be immediately assigned. 

E. - H.3. ... 
I. Prehearing Conference. The hearing officer shall hold 

a prehearing conference. The hearing officer must initiate the 
prehearing conference, which may be conducted in person at 
a location within the school district or by telephone. At the 
prehearing conference, the hearing officer shall: 

1. identify the questions that must be answered to 
resolve the dispute and eliminate claims and complaints that 
are without merit; 

2. provide the self-represented litigant with a detailed 
explanation of trial procedures, burden of proof, elements of 
the claim, and remedies; 

3. set up a scheduling order for the hearing and 
additional prehearing activities; 

4. determine if the hearing can be disposed of without 
an evidentiary hearing and, if so, establish the schedule and 
procedure for doing so; and 

5. establish the management, control, and location of 
the hearing to ensure its fair, efficient, and effective 
disposition. The determination of the location of the hearing 
should not impose additional costs on any party. 

J. Burden of Proof. The burden of proof at a due process 
hearing is on the party seeking relief. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2072 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
§512. Hearing Rights 

A. - B. … 
1. At least five business days prior to a hearing 

conducted pursuant to §511.A, each party shall disclose to 
all other parties all evaluations completed by that date and 
recommendations based on the offering party's evaluations 
that the party intends to use at the hearing. 

B.2. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2073 (October 2008), 
amended LR 36: 1502 (July 2010), LR 38: 
§513. Hearing Decisions 

A. - C. … 
1. transmit the findings and decisions referred to in 

§512.A.5 to the state advisory panel established under §167; 
and 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2073 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
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§514. Finality of Decision; Appeal; and Compliance 
with Hearing Decisions 

A. Finality of Hearing Decision. A decision made in a 
hearing conducted pursuant to §§507-513 or §§530-534 is 
final, except that any party involved in the hearing may 
appeal the decision under the provisions of §516. 

B. - B.1.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2074 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
§516. Civil Action  

A. General. Any party aggrieved by the findings and 
decision made under §§507-513 or §§530-534 has the right 
to bring a civil action with respect to the due process 
complaint notice requesting a due process hearing under 
§507 or §§530-532. The action may be brought in any state 
court of competent jurisdiction or in a district court of the 
United States without regard to the amount in controversy. 

B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2074 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
§518. Student Status during Proceedings 

A. - C. … 
D. If the hearing officer in a due process hearing 

conducted pursuant to §§507-513 or §§530-534 agrees with 
the student's parents that a change of placement is 
appropriate, that placement shall be treated as an agreement 
between the state and the parents for the purposes of 
Subsection A of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2075 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
Subchapter B. Discipline Procedures for Students with 

Disabilities 
§532. Appeal 

A. General. The parent of a student with a disability who 
disagrees with any decision regarding placement under 
§§530 and 531, or the manifestation determination under 
§530.E, or an LEA that believes that maintaining the current 
placement of the student is substantially likely to result in 
injury to the student or others, may appeal the decision by 
requesting a hearing pursuant to §§507 and 508.A and B.  

B. - C. … 
1. Whenever a hearing is requested under paragraph A 

of this section, the parents or the LEA involved in the 
dispute shall have an opportunity for an impartial due 
process hearing consistent with the requirements of §§507, 
508.A-C, and 510-514, except as provided in Paragraphs C.2 
through 4 of this Section. 

2. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2078 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 

Chapter 9. General 
Subchapter B. Definitions used in these Regulations 
§904. Abbreviations/Acronyms used in these 

Regulations  
ALJ—administrative law judge. 

* * * 
DAL—Division of Administrative Law. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2089 (October 2008), 
amended LR 38: 
§905. Definitions 

Administrative Law Judge—an employee of the Division 
of Administrative Law that has the qualifications and 
authority as listed in RS 49:994. 

* * * 
Division of Administrative Law—the independent state 

agency that conducts administrative hearings and renders 
decisions regarding state and federal law. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.17:1941 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:2089 (October 2008), 
amended LR 36:1505 (July 2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., July 20, 2012, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Catherine R. Pozniak 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1706—Regulations for 

Implementation of the Children  
with Exceptionalities Act 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Prior to these statutorily mandated changes to the due 

process hearing procedures required under the Louisiana 
Education of Students with Exceptionalities Act, the hearings 
were conducted by independent contractors. Act 683 of the 
2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature requires the 
hearings to be conducted by Administrative Law Judges 
employed through the Division of Administrative Law (DAL). 
The Department of Education’s contract with the DAL is an 
annual contract for a flat fee of $50,000 paid with federal 
funds. The flat amount allows the Department to better plan for 
annual expenditures and reflects an accurate estimate of the 
amounts billed annually by the independent contractors under 
the old procedures. In the event that the state experiences a 
significant reduction in the number and complexity of due 
process hearings held, the costs of contracting with DAL could 
exceed the costs of working on a case-by-case basis with 
independent contractors. However, it is unlikely that the 
number and complexity of due process hearings held will 
significantly decline. There are minimal estimated costs to state 
governmental units as the contract fee is approximately the 
same amount as previous years costs of the independent 
contractors. 

These provisions are estimated to have no effect on local 
government costs. The changes in how hearings are conducted 
have no direct effect on costs to city, parish, or local school 
boards participating in the hearings. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Division of Administrative Law will collect an annual 
fee to conduct the due process hearings. The contract amount is 
$50,000 for FY 12-13. The contract amount in subsequent 
fiscal years is likely to remain the same. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The contract hearing officers will see a decline in receipts 
as they will no longer conduct the due process hearings for the 
Department of Education. However, the hearing officers will 
continue to be retained by the Department of Education to 
perform other services related to matters under the Louisiana 
Education of Students with Exceptionalities Act. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. The contract hearing officers have been retained 
by the Department to handle administrative complaints and 

other dispute resolution matters provided under the Louisiana 
Education of Students with Exceptionalities Act. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 

for the Port of New Orleans 

River Port Pilots  
(LAC 46:LXX.3103, 3205, 3207, 3209, and 3301) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. and R.S. 34:991(B)(3), the Board of 
River Port Pilot Commissioners hereby gives notice that it 
intends to amend and reenact LAC 46:LXX.Chapter 31 to 
36. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXX.  River Pilots 

Subpart 2.  Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 
Chapter 31. General Provisions 
§3103. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Apprentice Duties―any activity or requirement to in the 
apprenticeship program as required by the commission. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:991(B)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29:2068 
(October 2003), amended LR 35:1882 (September 2009), LR 38: 
Chapter 32. Licensing, Qualifications, and 

Apprenticeship 
§3205. Education Qualifications 

A. In addition to the requirements described herein, the 
Applicant must have a bachelor's degree or diploma granted 
by a college or university accredited by one of the six 
regional accreditation agencies recognized by the United 
States Department of Education for the accreditation of 
degree-granting institutions of higher education. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:991(B)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29:2069 
(October 2003), amended LR 35:1833 (September 2009), LR 38: 
§3207. Physical Qualifications 

A. - B. … 
C. The applicants shall submit to drug and alcohol 

screening including hair test and expanded drug screen 
panels. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29:2070 
(October 2003), amended LR 35:1883 (September 2009), LR 38: 
§3209. Apprenticeship 

A. The apprentice must serve a minimum of 12 months 
of apprenticeship in his proposed calling, handling deep 
draft vessel over the operating territory of the pilots under 
the tutelage of not less than 50 percent of the pilots. The 
apprentice must perform the duties of an apprentice in a 
professional, courtesies and prudent fashion. At all times the 
apprentice must be fit for duty, free from any substance that 
may adversely affect the apprentice’s ability to perform 
apprentice duties. The apprentice must set forth in detail the 
names of the vessels handled, dates handled, draft, tonnage, 
between what points so moved, and the names of the 
supervising pilots. No apprentice shall be permitted to be 
examined for commissioning who has not fulfilled the 
requirements set forth by the board. The apprenticeship work 
must be certified by the board during the apprenticeship 
program. The board reserves the right to substitute work 
requirements, require satisfactory completion of additional 
trips, extended the apprenticeship, or terminate the 
apprenticeship, when deemed necessary. 

B. - C. … 
D. Should the apprentice fail the examination, violate 

any rule or regulation of the board, fail to fulfill the duties of 
an apprentice or engage in any conduct or activity that is 
unsafe, unprofessional and/or demonstrates a lack of 
judgment the board, in its discretion, may terminate the 
apprenticeship, or may designate additional apprenticeship 
requirements to be satisfied by the apprentice before he may 
again petition the board for examination. 

E. … 
F. The apprentice shall submit to drug and alcohol 

screening as determined by the board in its discretion.  
G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:991(B)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29:2070 
(October 2003), amended LR 35:1883 (September 2009), LR 38: 
Chapter 33. Deputy Pilots 
§3301. Restricted Duties Guidelines 

A. The deputy pilots shall adhere to the following 
guidelines and restrictions. The failure to strictly adhere to 
these guidelines may subject the deputy pilot to disciplinary 
action at the board’s discretion. The guidelines are divided 
into two tiers. 

1. Tier one shall commence immediately after the 
deputy pilot is commissioned. The deputy pilot shall pilot: 

a. vessels of 650 feet in length or less; 
b. a minimum of 70 vessel; 
d. for a period of not less than 180 calendar days. 

2. Tier two shall commence upon the completion of 
tier one. The deputy pilot shall pilot: 

a. vessels of 800 feet in length or less; 
b. a minimum of 70 vessels; 
d. for a period of not less than 180 calendar days. 

B. During each tier, the deputy pilot must set forth a 
report providing the name of the vessel piloted, the date and 
time the vessel was piloted, the length, draft, tonnage of the 
vessel piloted, the route of the vessel piloted. 

C. A deputy pilot shall be prohibited from: 
1. piloting passenger vessels regardless of draft, 

tonnage or length; 
2. piloting tank vessels including OBO's 

(oil/bulk/ore); 
3. standing watch at the vessel traffic center; 
4. yachts; 
5. military vessels. 

D. After a deputy pilot has completed each tier, the board 
shall evaluate the deputy pilot's ability and competence to 
handle the above classes of vessels. Upon such examination, 
the board shall determine whether, and if so, for what time 
period, the deputy pilot shall continue to be subject to any or 
all of the restrictions. The board reserves the right to 
substitute work requirements, require satisfactory 
completion of additional trips or extend the deputy pilot’s 
restrictions when deemed necessary. 

E. No persons are allowed on the bridge with the deputy 
pilot with the exception of the bridge team, U.S. Coast 
Guard representatives, government officials, the vessel's 
crew, or a commissioner or a designee of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:991(B)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners, LR 29:2070 
(October 2003), amended LR 35:1884 (September 2009), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rules of the Board of River Port Pilot 

Commissioners for the Port of New Orleans, should not have 
any known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined 
by R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically, there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family's earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or  
6. the family's ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed rules. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments 
must be received no later than August 1, 2012, at 4:30 p.m., 
and should be sent to the Board of River Port Pilot 
Commissioners 2728 Athania Pky. Metairie, LA 70002 or to 
fax (504) 301-3594. Copies of this proposed regulation can 
be requested at the above referenced address. 

 
Michael Delesdernier 
General Counsel 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE: River Port Pilots 
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 

local governmental unit expenditures. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections to state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change updates regulations relative to 
the shipping industry and clarifies certain duties and 
definitions. The new regulations regarding deputy pilots will 
benefit the pilots and the users of pilot services. The amended 
regulation reduces the deputy pilot tiers from 3 to 2 and the 
vessel sizes were modified to address the vessels in current 
service. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule amendments are anticipated to have no 
effect on competition and employment. 

 
Michael R. Delesdernier Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Counsel Staff Director 
1206#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Field Less Than Five (LAC 35:XIII.11115) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby gives 
notice that it intends to amend the following Rule. The 
proposed Rule will allow trifecta wagering on a particular 
race card when there are five wagering interests entered, 
rather than six. The Rule also allows trifecta wagering upon 
commission approval on race cards with less than five 
betting interests when the purse value is $200,000 or more. 

Title 35. 
HORSE RACING 

Part XIII.  Wagering 
Chapter 111. Trifecta 
§11115. Field Less Than Five 

A. Trifecta wagering will be permitted when the number 
of wagering interests in a thoroughbred or quarter horse race 
is five or more. A late scratch after wagering begins on that 
race will not cancel trifecta wagering. 

B. The commission may approve trifecta wagering on a 
race with a purse value of $200,000 or more where the 
number of wagering interests is less than five. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 11:616 (June 1985), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing 
Commission, LR 18:366 (April 1992), LR 22:13 (January 1996), 
LR 25:25 (January 1999), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 38:  

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 

Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and interested 

parties may contact Charles A. Gardiner III, executive 
director, or Larry Munster, assistant executive director, at 
(504) 483-4000 (holidays and weekends excluded), or by fax 
(504) 483-4898, for more information. All interested persons 
may submit written comments relative to this proposed Rule 
for a period up to 20 days exclusive of weekends and state 
holidays from the date of this publication to 320 North 
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, LA 70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Field Less Than Five 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. The proposed amended rule reduces the minimum 
number of betting interests required in races to offer trifecta 
wagering to be reduced from six to five. Furthermore, the rule 
amends Section “B” allowing the commission to approve 
trifecta wagering on a race with a purse value of $200,000 or 
more where the number of wagering interests is less than five 
rather than nine as the rule previously required. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable 
increase in revenue collections by state and local government 
units as state and local governments tax a percentage of all 
amounts wagered at licensed racetracks in Louisiana. State and 
local government revenue collections may increase by an 
indeterminable amount as this rule allows trifecta wagering on 
races where there is a lesser number of horses entered, 
specifically defined as wagering interests. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed administrative rule change may result in an 
indeterminable economic benefit to licensed racetracks in 
Louisiana by offering more trifecta wagering, which may result 
in increased wagering. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner, III Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1206#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commisison 

Superfecta (LAC 35:XIII.11701) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby gives 
notice that it intends to amend the following Rule. The 
proposed Rule will allow Superfecta wagering on a 
particular race card when there are six wagering interests 
entered, rather than eight. The proposed Rule also allows 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 38, No. 06   June 20, 2012 1441 

Superfecta wagering upon commission approval on race 
cards with less than six wagering interests when the purse 
value is $200,000 or more. 

Title 35. 
HORSE RACING 

Part XIII.  Wagering 
Chapter 117. Superfecta 
§11701. Superfecta 

A. - J. ... 
K. The minimum number of wagering interests required 

to offer Superfecta wagering shall be six. A late scratch after 
wagering begins on that race will not cancel Superfecta 
wagering. 

L. The commission may approve Superfecta wagering 
on a race with a purse of $200,000 or more where the 
number of wagering interests is less than six. 

M. - O. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149-149.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 22:805 
(September 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 38:  

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 

Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and interested 
parties may contact Charles A. Gardiner III, executive 
director, or Larry Munster, assistant executive director, at 
(504) 483-4000 (holidays and weekends excluded), or by fax 
(504) 483-4898, for more information. All interested persons 
may submit written comments relative to this proposed Rule 
for a period up to 20 days exclusive of weekends and state 
holidays from the date of this publication to 320 North 
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, LA 70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Superfecta 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. The proposed amended rule reduces the minimum 
number of betting interests required in a race to offer superfecta 
wagering to be reduced from eight to six. Furthermore, the rule 
amends Section “B” allowing the commission to approve 
superfecta wagering on a race with a purse value of $200,000 
or more where the number of wagering interests is less than six 
rather than eight as the rule previously required. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable 
increase in revenue collections by state and local government 
units as state and local governments tax a percentage of all 
amounts wagered at licensed racetracks in Louisiana. State and 
local government revenue collections may increase by an 
indeterminable amount as this rule allows superfecta wagering 

on races where there is a lesser number of horses entered, 
specifically defined as wagering interests. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed administrative rule change may result in an 
indeterminable economic benefit to licensed racetracks in 
Louisiana by offering superfecta wagering on races with six 
betting interests rather than eight, which may result in 
increased wagering. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner, III Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1206#046 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

Sponsored Recreational Product Manufacturer  
Shows or Events (LAC 46:V.Chapter 17) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
revised statutes Title 32, Chapter 6, the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, hereby 
gives notice that the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
proposes to enact LAC 46:V.Chapter 17 setting forth 
procedures by which sponsored recreational product 
manufacturer shows or events can be conducted and licensed 
under the provisions of R.S. 32:1251 et seq. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 1.  Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission 
Chapter 17. Sponsored Recreational Product 

Manufacturer Shows or Events 
§1701. Definitions 

Organizerany person who alone or with others whose 
principal business activity is the promotion of shows or 
events supported by sponsors who are manufacturers or 
distributors of vehicles. 

Product Specialistany person selected by the sponsor to 
assist in its participation in the show or event. 

Show or Eventa controlled event by an organizer who 
seeks sponsorships from manufacturers or distributors of 
vehicles in connection with the conduct of the show or 
event. 

Sponsor or Participanta manufacturer or distributor 
who pays cash or an in-kind fee to an organizer in return for 
access to the commercial potential associated with the show 
or event.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1703. Authorization for Show or Event 

A. The commission may authorize or prohibit a 
sponsored recreational product manufacturer show or event.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1705. Show or Event License Fee and Application 

A. An organizer shall obtain a license for the show or 
event from the commission and its request for a license shall 
be on an application prescribed by the commission requiring 
such information the commission deems necessary to 
determine the qualifications and eligibility of the show or 
event. 

B. The application shall be accompanied by a license fee 
of $500. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 
§1707. Show or Event Requirements 

A. The application for the show or event must be 
submitted to the commission no less than 60 days prior to 
the opening of the show or event. 

B. Three or more sponsors or participants must 
participate in the show or event. 

C. The show or event shall not exceed 10 days. 
D. The show or event shall be a non-selling show 

however, the presence of product specialist, business cards, 
brochures, pricing sheets and other points of sales devices 
will be allowed to answer consumer questions. At the show 
or event, there shall be no execution of sales contracts, credit 
applications, taking of security deposits, or delivery of any 
vehicle. 

E. No licensed dealer, operating in that capacity, may 
participate in the show or event. 

F. The organizer shall furnish the commission a list of 
sponsors or participants no less than ten days prior to the 
show or event’s opening day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1253(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? The proposed Rule will not affect the stability of 
the family. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? The proposed Rule will not affect the 
authority and rights of persons regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? This Rule will not affect the functioning of the 
family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? The Rule will not affect the family earnings 
or family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This Rule will not affect 
the behavior or personal responsibility of children. 

6. What effect will this have on the ability of the 
family or local government to perform the function as 
contained in this proposed Rule? No, the action proposed is 
strictly a state enforcement function. 

Public Comments 
Any person may submit data, views or positions, orally or 

in writing to the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission, 3519 
Twelfth Street, Metairie, LA 70002 or by telephone at (504) 
838-5207 and facsimile (504) 838-5416. 

 
Lessie A. House 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Sponsored Recreational Product 

Manufacturer Shows or Events 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in a minimal increase 
in Louisiana Motor Vehicle commission administrative costs 
associated with reviewing and preparing sponsored recreational 
product manufacturer shows or event licenses. The proposed 
rule change provides for the establishment of sponsored 
recreational product manufacturer shows or events and 
provides for definitions, license fees and applications, and 
show requirements. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an increase in 
revenue in the amount of $1000 annually due to the receipt of 
fees associated with license applications for shows and events 
covered by the rule. The expected increase in revenue is based 
on two shows being conducted annually ($500 x 2). 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Sponsored recreational product manufacturers may have a 
minimal increase in paperwork associated with the application 
for the license. The licensed sponsored recreational product 
manufacturer show or event will receive income streams from 
sponsors, booth sales, and any admission charge that they may 
assess for attendance at the show or event. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no effect 
on competition. Persons may be hired in connection with the 
production of the sponsored recreational product manufacturer 
show or event. 

 
Lessie A. House Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1206#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

CommunityCARE Program Termination 
(LAC 50:I.Chapter 29) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to repeal LAC 
50:I.Chapter 29 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
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accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the CommunityCARE Program to 
establish the program as an optional statewide covered 
service under the Medicaid State Plan instead of a waiver 
service, and to provide for the exclusion of certain additional 
Medicaid recipients from mandatory participation in the 
program (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 3).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted provisions that enhanced 
the CommunityCARE Program in order to create a more 
cost effective health care delivery system which provides a 
continuum of evidence-based, quality-driven health care 
services. This more cost effective health care delivery 
system, called the BAYOU HEALTH Program, will be 
implemented in parishes included in specific Geographic 
Service Areas of the state. Upon the implementation of the 
BAYOU HEALTH Program, the CommunityCARE Program 
will be terminated. Therefore, the department promulgated 
an Emergency Rule which repealed the provisions governing 
the CommunityCARE Program due to the implementation of 
the BAYOU HEALTH Program and thereby terminated the 
CommunityCARE Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 38, 
Number 5). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the June 1, 2012 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I. Administration 
Subpart 3. Medicaid Coordinated Care 

Chapter 29. CommunityCARE 
§2901. Introduction 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:908 (June 2003), amended LR 32:404 
(March 2006), repealed by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2903. Recipient Participation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:908 (June 2003), amended LR 32:404 
(March 2006), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006), repealed by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 
§2905. Provider Selection  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 17:788 (August 1991), amended LR 19:645 
(May 1993), LR 27:547 (April 2001), promulgated for LAC-LR 
29:909 (June 2003), repealed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2907. Provider Qualifications 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003), amended LR 
32:32:405 (March 2006), repealed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2909. Emergency Services 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 17:788 (August 1991), amended LR 19:645 
(May 1993), LR 25:669 (April 1999), promulgated for LAC-LR 
29:909 (June 2003), repealed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2911. PCP Referral/Authorization 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:909 (June 2003), amended LR 32:405 
(March 2006), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:338 
(January 2011), repealed by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2913. Physician Management 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 17:788 (August 1991), amended LR 19:645 
(May 1993), LR 23:201. (February 1997) promulgated for LAC 
inclusion, LR 29:910 (June 2003), repealed by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§2915. Immunization Pay-for-Performance 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1139 (June 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2279 (October 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
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91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE: CommunityCARE Program Termination  
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 11-12.  It is anticipated that 
$492 ($246 SGF and $246 FED) will be expended in FY 11-12 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE  
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will not affect revenue collections other than the federal 
share of the promulgation costs for FY 11-12. It is anticipated 
that $246 will be collected in FY 11-12 for the federal share of 
the expense for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final 
rule.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule proposes to continue the provisions of the June 1, 
2012 Emergency Rule, which repealed the provisions 
governing the CommunityCARE Program due to the 
implementation of the BAYOU HEALTH Program and thereby 
terminates the CommunityCARE program. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will not have economic 
costs or benefits for directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups in FY 11-12, FY 12-13, and FY 13-14 as 
these recipients will continue to receive Medicaid covered 
services through the BAYOU HEALTH Program.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Don Gregory H. Gordon Monk 
Medicaid Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and  
Office of Aging and Adult Services  

Community First Choice Option Services 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 131) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to adopt LAC 50:XV.Chapter 131 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

Senate Resolution 180 and House Resolution 190 of the 
2008 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature directed 
the department to develop and implement cost control 
mechanisms to provide the most cost-effective means of 
financing the Long-Term Personal Care Services (LT-PCS) 
Program. In compliance with these legislative directives, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amended the provisions governing the LT-PCS 
Program to: 1) implement uniform needs-based assessments 
for authorizing service units; 2) reduce the limit on LT-PCS 
service hours; 3) mandate that providers must show cause 
for refusing to serve clients; and 4) incorporate provisions 
governing an allocation of weekly service hours (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 35, Number 11). In spite of the revisions to 
the LT-PCS Program, costs remain higher and eligibility 
remains limited in comparison to other states. 

Section 2401 of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), 
established a new section 1915(k) of the Social Security Act 
that allows states, at their option, to provide home and 
community-based attendant services and supports to eligible 
recipients under their Medicaid state plan. This option, 
called the Community First Choice Option (CFCO), offers 
additional services, and allows states to receive a 6 
percentage point increase in federal matching payments for 
expenditures related to the option.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services propose to replace the current LT-PCS Program by 
adopting provisions to establish Community First Choice 
Option services as a covered service under the Medicaid 
state plan. The LT-PCS Program shall be terminated upon 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ approval of the 
corresponding CFCO state plan amendment.  
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services  

Chapter 131. Community First Choice Option Services 
§13101. General Provisions 

A. The purpose of Community First Choice Option 
(CFCO) services is to assist individuals, who meet eligibility 
requirements, with functional impairments with their daily 
living activities. CFCO must be provided in accordance with 
an approved plan of care and supporting documentation. In 
addition, CFCO must be coordinated with the other 
Medicaid and non-Medicaid services being provided to the 
recipient, and will be considered in conjunction with those 
other services. 

B. Each recipient requesting CFCO shall undergo a 
functional eligibility screening utilizing an eligibility 
screening tool called the Level of Care Eligibility Tool 
(LOCET), or a subsequent eligibility tool designated by the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services (OAAS). 

C. Each CFCO applicant/recipient shall be assessed 
using a uniform assessment tool called the Minimum Data 
Set-Home Care (MDS-HC) or a subsequent assessment tool 
designated by OAAS. The MDS-HC is designed to verify 
that an individual meets eligibility qualifications and to 
determine resource allocation while identifying his/her need 
for support in performance of activities of daily living 
(ADLs) and instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 
The MDS-HC assessment generates a score which measures 
the recipient’s degree of self-performance of late-loss 
activities of daily living during the period just before the 
assessment.  

1. The late-loss ADLs are eating, toileting, 
transferring, and bed mobility. An individual’s assessment 
will generate a score which is representative of the 
individual’s degree of self-performance on these four late-
loss ADLs. 

D.  Based on the applicant/recipient’s uniform 
assessment score, he/she is assigned to a level of support 
category and is eligible for an annual services budget 
associated with that level.  

1. If the applicant/recipient disagrees with his/her 
annual services budget, the applicant/recipient or his/her 
responsible representative may request a fair hearing to 
appeal the decision.  

2. The applicant/recipient may qualify for an increase 
in the annual services budget if it can be demonstrated that: 

a. one or more answers to the questions involving 
late-loss ADLs are incorrect as recorded on the assessment; 
or 

b. he/she needs an increase in the annual services 
budget to avoid entering into a nursing facility. 

E. Requests for CFCO shall be accepted from the 
following individuals: 

1. a Medicaid recipient who wants to receive CFCO; 
2. an individual who is legally responsible for a 

recipient who may be in need of CFCO; or 
3. a responsible representative designated by the 

recipient to act on his/her behalf in requesting CFCO. 
F. Each recipient who requests CFCO services has the 

option to designate a responsible representative. For 
purposes of these provisions, a responsible representative 

shall be defined as the person designated by the recipient to 
act on his/her behalf in the process of accessing and/or 
maintaining CFCO services. 

1. The appropriate form authorized by OAAS shall be 
used to designate a responsible representative.  

a. The written designation of a responsible 
representative does not give legal authority for that 
individual to independently handle the recipient’s business 
without his/her involvement. 

b. The written designation is valid until revoked by 
the recipient. To revoke the written designation, the 
revocation must be submitted in writing to OAAS or its 
designee. 

2. The functions of a responsible representative are to: 
a. assist and represent the recipient in the 

assessment, care plan development, and service delivery 
processes; and 

b. to aid the recipient in obtaining all necessary 
documentation for these processes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13103. Self-Direction Option 

A. The self-direction option is a voluntary, self-
determination option which allows the participant to 
coordinate the delivery of CFCO services through an 
individual direct support professional rather than through a 
licensed, enrolled provider agency. Selection of this option 
requires that the participant utilize a payment mechanism 
approved by the department to manage the required fiscal 
functions that are usually handled by a provider agency. 

B. Participant Responsibilities. CFCO participants 
choosing the self-directed services option must understand 
the rights, risks, and responsibilities of managing their own 
care and individual budget. If the participant is unable to 
make decisions independently, he/she must have a 
responsible representative who understands the rights, risks, 
and responsibilities of managing his/her care and supports 
within his/her individual budget.  

C. Termination of the Self-Direction Service Option. 
Termination of participation in the self-direction service 
option requires a revision of the plan of care, the elimination 
of the fiscal agent and the selection of the Medicaid-enrolled 
service provider(s) of choice. 

1. Voluntary Termination. A participant may choose at 
any time to withdraw from the self-direction service option 
and return to the traditional provider agency management of 
services. 

2. Involuntary Termination. The department may 
terminate the self-direction service option for a participant 
and require him/her to receive provider-managed services 
under the following circumstances: 

a. the health or welfare of the participant is 
compromised by continued participation in the self-directed 
option; 

b. the participant is no longer able to direct his/her 
own care and there is no responsible representative to direct 
the care; 

c. there is misuse of public funds by the participant 
or the responsible representative; or 
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d. the participant or responsible representative: 
 i. places barriers to the payment of the salaries 
and related state and federal payroll taxes of direct support 
staff; 
 ii. fails to follow the POC; 
 iii. fails to provide required documentation of 
expenditures and related items;  
 iv. fails to cooperate with the fiscal agent or 
support coordinator in preparing any additional 
documentation of expenditures; or 
 v. violates Medicaid Program rules or guidelines 
of the self-directed option. 

D. Employee Qualifications. All employees under the 
self-direction option must: 

1. be at least 18 years of age on the date of hire; and 
2. complete all training mandated by OAAS within 

the specified timelines. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13105. Covered Services 

A. CFCO services are defined as those services that 
provide assistance with the distinct tasks associated with the 
performance of the activities of daily living (ADLs) and the 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). Assistance 
may be either the actual performance of the personal care 
task for the individual or supervision and prompting so the 
individual performs the task by him/herself. ADLs are those 
personal, functional activities required by the recipient. 
ADLs include tasks such as: 

1. eating; 
2. bathing; 
3. dressing; 
4. grooming; 
5. transferring (getting in/out of the tub, from a bed to 

a chair); 
6. ambulation;  
7. toileting; and 
8. bed mobility. 

B. IADLs are those activities that are considered 
essential, but may not require performance on a daily basis. 
IADLs cannot be performed in the recipient’s home when 
he/she is absent from the home. IADLs include tasks such 
as: 

1. light housekeeping; 
2. food preparation and storage; 
3. shopping; 
4. laundry; 
5. assisting with scheduling medical appointments 

when necessary; 
6. accompanying the recipient to medical 

appointments when necessary; 
7. assisting the recipient to access transportation; 
8. reminding the recipient to take his/her medication 

as prescribed by the physician; and 
9. non-complex medical tasks where the direct service 

worker has received the proper training pursuant to R.S. 
37:1031-1034. 

C. CFCO services also include assistance with: 
1. the acquisition, maintenance, and enhancement of 

skills necessary for the individual to accomplish ADLs, 
IADLs, and health-related tasks; 

2. back-up systems or mechanisms to ensure 
continuity of services and supports; 

3. training on how to select, manage, and dismiss 
attendants for persons who choose the self-direction option. 

D. Emergency and nonemergency medical transportation 
is a covered Medicaid service and is available to all 
recipients. Non-medical transportation is not a required 
component of CFCO. Providers may choose to furnish 
transportation for recipients during the course of providing 
CFCO. If transportation is furnished, the provider agency 
must accept any liability for their employee transporting a 
recipient. It is the responsibility of the provider agency to 
ensure that the employee has a current, valid driver’s license 
and automobile liability insurance. 

1. Self-direction participants may choose to use some 
of their monthly budget to purchase non-medical 
transportation.  

a. If transportation is furnished, the participant must 
accept all liability for their employee transporting them. It is 
the responsibility of the participant to ensure that the 
employee has a current, valid driver’s license and 
automobile liability insurance. 

E. Constant or intermittent supervision and/or sitter 
services are not a component of CFCO services. 

F.  CFCO services may be provided by one worker for 
up to three recipients who live together and who have a 
common direct service provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13107. Eligibility Criteria  

A. CFCO services shall be available to recipients who 
are 65 years of age or older, or 21 years of age or older and 
have a disability. Persons with a disability must meet the 
disability criteria established by the Social Security 
Administration.  

B. Recipients must meet the eligibility criteria 
established by OAAS or its designee. CFCO services are 
medically necessary if the recipient: 

1. meets the medical standards for admission to a 
nursing facility and requires limited assistance with at least 
one or more activities of daily living; and 

2. is able, either independently or through a 
responsible representative to participate in his/her care and 
direct the services provided by the CFCO services worker.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13109. Recipient Rights and Responsibilities 

A. Recipients who receive services under the CFCO 
Program have the right to actively participate in the 
development of their plan of care and the decision-making 
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process regarding service delivery. Recipients also have the 
right to freedom of choice in the selection of a provider of 
CFCO services and to participate in the following activities: 

1. interviewing and selecting the CFCO worker who 
will be providing services in their home; 

2. developing the work schedule for their CFCO 
worker; 

3. training the individual CFCO worker in the specific 
skills necessary to maintain the recipient’s independent 
functioning while maintaining him/her in the home; 

4. developing an emergency component in the plan of 
care that includes a list of CFCO staff who can serve as 
back-up when unforeseen circumstances prevent the 
regularly scheduled worker from providing services; 

5. signing off on payroll logs and other documentation 
to verify staff work hours and to authorize payment; 

6. evaluating the CFCO worker’s job performance; 
and 

7. transferring or discharging the CFCO worker 
assigned to provide their services; 

8. an informal resolution process to address their 
complaints and/or concerns regarding CFCO services; and 

9. a formal resolution process to address those 
situations where the informal resolution process fails to 
resolve their complaint. 

B. Changing Providers. Recipients may request to 
change PCS agencies without cause once after each three 
month interval during the service authorization period. 
Recipients may request to change CFCO providers with 
good cause at any time during the service authorization 
period. Good cause is defined as the failure of the provider 
to furnish services in compliance with the plan of care. Good 
cause shall be determined by OAAS or its designee.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13111. Standards for Participation 

A. In order to provide CFCO services in the Medicaid 
Program, a provider agency: 

1. must comply with: 
a. state licensing regulations; 
b. Medicaid provider enrollment requirements; 
c. any federal or state laws, rules, regulations, 

policies and procedures contained in the Medicaid provider 
manual for CFCO, or other document issued by the 
department. Failure to do may result in sanctions; 

2. must possess a current, valid home and community 
based services license to provide personal care attendant 
services issued by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Health Standards Section. 

B. In addition, a Medicaid enrolled agency must: 
1. maintain adequate documentation as specified by 

OAAS, or its designee, to support service delivery and 
compliance with the approved POC and will provide said 
documentation at the request of the department or its 
designee; and 

2.  assure that all agency staff is employed in 
accordance with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and U.S. 
Department of Labor regulations. 

C. A CFCO provider shall not refuse to serve any 
individual who chooses his agency unless there is 
documentation to support an inability to meet the 
individual’s needs, or all previous efforts to provide service 
and have failed and there is no option but to refuse services. 

1. OAAS or its designee must be immediately notified 
of the circumstances surrounding a refusal by a provider to 
render services.  

2. This requirement can only be waived by OAAS or 
its designee. 

D. OAAS or its designee is charged with the 
responsibility of setting the standards, monitoring the 
outcomes and applying administrative sanctions for failures 
by service providers to meet the minimum standards for 
participation.  

1. Failure to meet the minimum standards shall result 
in a range of required corrective actions including, but not 
limited to: 

a. removal from the Freedom of Choice listing; 
b. a citation of deficient practice; 
c. a request for corrective action plan; and/or 
d. administrative sanctions.  

2. Continued failure to meet the minimum standards 
shall result in the loss of referral of new CFCO recipients 
and/or continued enrollment as a CFCO provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13113. Staffing Requirements 

A. All staff providing direct care to the recipient 
employed by a CFCO agency must meet the qualifications 
for furnishing personal care services per the licensing 
regulations. The direct service worker shall demonstrate 
empathy toward the elderly and persons with disabilities, an 
ability to provide care to these recipients, and the maturity 
and ability to deal effectively with the demands of the job. 

B. Restrictions  
1. The following individuals are prohibited from 

being reimbursed for providing services to a recipient: 
a. the recipient’s spouse; 
b. the recipient’s curator; 
c. the recipient’s tutor; 
d. the recipient’s legal guardian; 
e. the recipient’s designated responsible 

representative; or 
f. the person to whom the recipient has given 

representative and mandate authority (also known as power 
of attorney). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13117. Service Delivery 

A. CFCO services shall be provided in the recipient’s 
home or in another location outside of the recipient’s home 
if the provision of these services allows the recipient to 
participate in normal life activities pertaining to the IADLs 
cited in the plan of care. The recipient’s home is defined as 
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the place where he/she resides such as a house, an 
apartment, a boarding house, or the house or apartment of a 
family member or unpaid primary care-giver. IADLs cannot 
be performed in the recipient’s home when the recipient is 
absent from the home. 

B. The provision of services outside of the recipient’s 
home does not include trips outside of the borders of the 
state without written prior approval of OAAS or its 
designee, through the plan of care or otherwise.  

C. Participants are not permitted to receive CFCO 
services while living in a home or property owned, operated, 
or controlled by a provider of services who is not related by 
blood or marriage to the participant. However, this 
prohibition may be waived by OAAS or its designee.  

D. It is permissible for a CFCO recipient to use his/her 
approved CFCO allotment flexibly provided that it is done 
so in accordance with the recipient’s preferences and 
personal schedule and is properly documented in accordance 
with OAAS policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13119. Service Limitations 

A. The CFCO services budget shall be limited to an 
amount established by OAAS. Authorization of the annual 
service budget shall be considered on a case-by-case basis as 
substantiated by the recipient’s plan of care and supporting 
documentation. 

B. There shall be no duplication of services. 
1. CFCO services shall not be provided while the 

recipient is admitted to or attending a program which 
provides assistance with IADLs or ADLs or while the 
recipient is admitted to or attending a program or setting 
where such assistance is available to the recipient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 
§13121. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for CFCO services shall be a 
prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service that is 
provided to the recipient. One quarter hour is the standard 
unit of service for CFCO services. Reimbursement shall not 
be paid for the provision of less than one quarter hour of 
service. Additional reimbursement shall not be available for 
transportation furnished during the course of providing 
CFCO services. 

B. Shared CFCO services shall be reimbursed: 
1. when furnished to two participants, at 80 percent of 

the full rate on file for each participant; and 
2. when furnished to three participants, at 70 percent 

of the full rate on file for each participant. 
C. For self-directed services, reimbursement is based on 

the existing reimbursement methodology for agency-
provided services, with some modifications added. The 
reimbursement amount will be based on the number of hours 
(in one-quarter hour increments) approved by the prior 
authorization contractor multiplied by the state developed 
fee schedule rate. The authorized hours will be the same for 
agency-directed or participant-directed personal care 

services. The same fee schedule rate will be applied to both 
the agency-directed and the participant-directed services. 
This product of approved hours times fee schedule rate will 
be an overall budget amount. This overall budget will be 
discounted by a percentage amount to reflect some of the 
administrative costs for the fiscal/employer agency and the 
support functions. This result will produce a budget amount 
for the individual participant. The individual participant will 
allocate these funds to cover personal support services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by increasing the attendant service and supports 
options available to eligible recipients. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Community First  

Choice Option Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will result in estimated state general fund programmatic costs 
of $24,450,724 for FY 12-13 and $50,368,492 for FY 13-14; 
however, the costs for Community First Choice Options 
(CFCO) services will be directly offset by a savings in state 
general fund match of approximately $5,143,942 realized from 
the termination of the Long-Term Personal Care Services (LT-
PCS) Program since the CFCO services receive a 6 percent 
increase in the FMAP rate. It is anticipated that $1,804 ($902 
SGF and $902 FED) will be expended in FY 11-12 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$83,642,663 for FY 12-13 and $172,303,885 for FY 13-14. It is 
anticipated that $902 will be collected in FY 11-12 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule proposes to terminate and replace the current LT-
PCS Program by adopting provisions to establish Community 
First Choice Option services as a covered service under the 
Medicaid State Plan. CFCO services have a higher FMAP rate 
which will enable the Medicaid Program to provide more cost-
effective personal assistance and support services to eligible 
Medicaid recipients than LT-PCS (estimate 15,682 recipients in 
FY 13). It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase programmatic expenditures in the Medicaid 
Program by approximately $108,093,387 for FY 12-13 and 
$222,672,377 for FY 13-14. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Don Gregory H. Gordon Monk 
Medicaid Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Substance Abuse Services  
(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 93) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:XV.Chapter 93 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing terminated 
coverage and reimbursement of substance abuse clinic 
services under the Medicaid Program as a result of a 
budgetary shortfall (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 
1). However, in compliance with federal regulations 
governing coverage of discretionary services under the Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program, substance abuse services continued to be available 
to Medicaid recipients up to the age of 21 through the 
substance abuse clinics operated or funded by the Office for 
Addictive Disorders (OAD), now the Office of Behavioral 
Health (OBH).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which adopted the provisions governing the coverage and 
reimbursement of substance abuse services rendered to 
EPSDT recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 

5). The department amended the provisions of the April 22, 
2011 Emergency Rule to clarify the provisions governing 
EPSDT substance abuse services (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 38, Number 6). This proposed Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the June 20, 2012 
Emergency Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 93. Substance Abuse Services 
§9301. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide coverage of 
substance abuse services rendered to Medicaid eligible 
recipients, under the age of 21.  

B. Medicaid reimbursement for medically necessary 
substance abuse services shall only be provided to the Office 
of Behavioral Health for recipients under the age of 21 who 
receive outpatient treatment only. The Medicaid Program 
shall not provide reimbursement for inpatient services under 
these provisions. 

C. Substance abuse services covered under the EPSDT 
Program shall include medically necessary clinic services 
and other medically necessary substance abuse services 
rendered to EPSDT recipients. 

D. Medicaid recipients shall be the sole recipients of 
Medicaid covered substance abuse services and these 
services shall only be billed for the Medicaid recipient 
despite the presence of others who may be group or family 
participants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9303. Covered Services 

A. The medical necessity for these rehabilitative services 
must be determined by, and services recommended by, a 
licensed mental health practitioner, or as ordered by a staff 
physician. 

B. Outpatient Treatment Program 
1. Professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, 

treatment, and recovery services are provided in an 
organized non-residential treatment setting by licensed 
mental health practitioners (LMHPs) and non-licensed 
professionals under the supervision of a LMHP. 

2. Outpatient treatment program hours range from one 
hour to nine hours/week. The maximum level of hours may 
be exceeded based on medical necessity. 

3. Outpatient treatment program services include, but 
are not limited to: 

a. individual, group, and family counseling; 
b. medication compliance; 
c. relapse prevention; and 
d. disease concept. 

4. Outpatient treatment program services offer 
comprehensive, coordinated, and defined services that may 
vary in level of intensity. 

C. Intensive Outpatient Treatment Program 
1. Professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, 

treatment, and recovery services are provided in an 
organized non-residential treatment setting by LMHPs and 
non-licensed professionals under the supervision of a LMHP. 
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2. Adolescents in intensive outpatient treatment 
programs receive a minimum of six hours/week with no 
specified frequency/week. The maximum is up to 20 
hours/week. The maximum level of hours may be exceeded 
based on medical necessity. 

3. Intensive outpatient treatment program services 
include, but are not limited to: 

a. individual, group, and family counseling; and 
b. education on recovery.  

4. Intensive outpatient treatment program services 
offer comprehensive, coordinated, and defined services that 
may vary in level of intensity. 

5. These services consist of a scheduled series of face-
to-face sessions appropriate to the individual’s plan of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9305. Provider Qualifications 

A. Outpatient clinical services shall be provided by 
Louisiana licensed mental health practitioners within the 
scope of the State Practice Act and licensing requirements.  

B. A mental health practitioner may include a: 
1. licensed professional counselor (LPC); 
2. licensed clinical social worker (LCSW); 
3. licensed addiction counselor (LAC); and 
4. licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT). 

C. The following practitioners are also approved service 
providers: 

1. licensed medical doctor; 
2. licensed psychologist; 
3. licensed nurse practitioner (NP); 
4. advanced practice registered nurse (APRN); and 
5. registered nurse (RN) with documented evidence of 

receiving a minimum of five continuing education units 
(CEUs) annually that are specifically related to behavioral 
health and medication management issues.  

D. Registered addiction counselors (RACs) and certified 
addiction counselors (CACs) may also provide clinical 
services with a licensed mental health practitioner on‐site.  

E. RACs shall meet the following qualifications: 
1. is at least 21 years of age; 
2. is a legal resident of the United States; 
3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the Addictive Disorders Regulatory 
Authority (ADRA); 

4. has not been convicted of a felony;  
a. The ADRA in its discretion may waive this 

requirement upon review of the individual’s circumstances; 
5. has successfully completed 270 clock hours of 

education approved by the ADRA. One semester hour equals 
15 clock hours. One CEU equals 10 clock hours. One 
hundred eighty of these hours must be specific to addiction 
treatment. The remaining 90 hours may be related, but are 
subject to approval by the ADRA. Six of the 90 hours must 
be in professional ethics; 

6.  has successfully completed 6,000 hours (three 
years) of supervised work experience in the treatment of 
people with addictive disorders. Of these hours, he/she must 
complete a 300 hour practicum in the core functions and 
global criteria, with at least twenty 20 hours in each core 
function. This experience must be supervised by a certified 

clinical supervisor (CCS) or other qualified professional who 
has received the proper waiver from the ADRA; 

7. has completed and received approval for an 
application prescribed by the ADRA; and 

8. demonstrates competency in addiction counseling 
by submitting and gaining approval for a typical case study 
and passing a written examination prescribed by the ADRA. 

F. CACs shall meet the following qualifications: 
1. is at least 21 years of age and holds a bachelor’s 

degree from an approved and accredited institution of higher 
education in a human services field; 

2. is a legal resident of the United States; 
3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
4. has not been convicted of a felony;  

a. the ADRA in its discretion may waive this 
requirement upon review of the individual’s circumstances; 

5. has successfully completed two hundred seventy 
clock hours of education approved by the ADRA. One 
semester hour equals fifteen clock hours. One CEU equals 
ten clock hours. One hundred eighty of these hours must be 
specific to addiction treatment. The remaining ninety hours 
may be related, but are subject to approval by the ADRA. 
Six of the ninety hours must be in professional ethics; 

6.  has successfully completed 4,000 hours (two 
years) of supervised work experience in the treatment of 
people with addictive disorders. Of these hours, he/she must 
complete a 300 hour practicum in the core functions and 
global criteria, with at least 20 hours in each core function. 
This experience must be supervised by a CCS or other 
qualified professional who has received the proper waiver 
from the ADRA; 

7. has completed and received approval for an 
application prescribed by the ADRA; and 

8. demonstrates competency in addiction counseling 
by submitting and gaining approval for a typical case study 
and passing a written examination prescribed by the ADRA. 

G. A registered addiction counselor or a certified 
addiction counselor may not practice independently and may 
not render a diagnostic impression, but can practice under 
the supervision of an LMHP on-site within an agency that is 
licensed or accredited. 

H. Unlicensed practitioners shall only practice under the 
supervision of a licensed professional, within the scope of 
the licensed professional’s State Practice Act and licensing 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§9307. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 
to the Office of Behavioral Health for substance abuse 
services rendered to EPSDT recipients. Under the provisions 
of this Rule, payments to OBH for these services shall sunset 
as of February 29, 2012. 

B. Reimbursement for these services shall be based on 
the most recent actual cost to OBH. Cost data shall be 
derived from the department’s ISIS reporting of costs for the 
period. The cost period shall be consistent with the state 
fiscal year. Costs are determined by selecting the 
expenditures paid from state and local funds for the state 
fiscal year. 
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C. OBH encounter data from their database shall be used 
to identify allowable services. Encounter data for recipients 
under the age of 21 shall be extracted and used in 
calculations to determine actual cost to OBH. 

D. Costs shall be calculated by using the cost-weighted 
amount and include Medicaid eligibles under 21 database 
costs divided by total database costs times OBH’s 
expenditures for the program which were derived from the 
state’s ISIS data. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment—Substance Abuse Services  

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary)  

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will result in estimated state general fund programmatic costs 
of $146,597 for FY 11-12 only. However, state match 
requirements for these substance abuse services have already 
been satisfied by the Department’s Office of Behavioral Health 
(OBH) [and the former Office for Addictive Disorders (OAD)]. 
This rule seeks only to establish the necessary policy to acquire 
the federal match for the services which were rendered to 
Medicaid eligible children during a specified past period of 
time [April 22, 2011 thru February 29, 2012]. It is anticipated 
that $902 ($451 SGF and $451 FED) will be expended in FY 
11-12 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 69.34 percent in FY 11-12.  The 
enhanced rate of 69.78 percent for the last nine months of FY 

12 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment 
states. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$330,971 for FY 11-12 only. It is anticipated that $451 will be 
expended in FY 11-12 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 69.34 percent 
in FY 11-12.  The enhanced rate of 69.78 percent for the last 
nine months of FY 12 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery 
FMAP adjustment states.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule, which continues the provisions of the 
June 20, 2012 emergency rule, adopts provisions governing the 
coverage and reimbursement of substance abuse services 
rendered to recipients in the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program prior to March 
2012. OBH (formerly OAD) provided substance abuse services 
to Medicaid eligible children in the EPSDT Program and did 
not receive reimbursement from the Medicaid Program. This 
rule seeks to establish the necessary reimbursement 
methodology in order for the Medicaid Program to acquire the 
federal match for the substance abuse services rendered prior to 
March 2012, and to reimburse OBH accordingly. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
increase expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $476,666 for FY 11-12 only; however, the state 
match requirements to fund the expenditures have already been 
satisfied by OBH. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition and employment.   

 
Don Gregory H. Gordon Monk 
Medicaid Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Licensing Standards for Adult Day Health Care 
(LAC 48:I.4203, 4207, 4227, 4245, and 4267) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
48:I.4203, §4207, §4227, §4245, and §4267 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
40:2120.41-2120.46, and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
standards for payment for adult day health care (ADHC) 
services to remove those provisions governing licensing 
from LAC 50:XXI and repromulgated the licensing 
standards in LAC 48:I (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, 
Number 10). The October 20, 2008 Final Rule was 
repromulgated due to an error upon submission to the Office 
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of State Register (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 
12).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the licensing 
standards for ADHC centers to revise and clarify the staffing 
and transportation requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 
37, Number 4). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the April 1, 2011 Emergency 
Rule. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 42. Adult Day Health Care 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§4203. Definitions 

* * * 
Direct Service Worker—an unlicensed staff person who 

provides personal care or other services and support to 
persons with disabilities or to the elderly to enhance their 
well-being, and who is involved in face-to-face direct 
contact with the participant. 

Director—the person designated by the governing body of 
the ADHC to: 

1. manage the center; 
2. insure that all services provided are consistent with 

accepted standards of practice; and  
3. ensure that center policies are executed.  

* * * 
Full Time Equivalent—40 hours of employment per week 

or the number of hours the center is open per week, 
whichever is less. 

* * * 
Key Staff—the designated program manager(s), social 

worker(s) or social services designee(s), and nurse(s) 
employed by the ADHC. A key staff person may also serve 
as the ADHC director. 

* * * 
Program Manager—a designated staff person, who is 

responsible for carrying out the center’s individualized 
program for each participant.  

* * *  
Social Service Designee/Social Worker—an individual 

responsible for arranging medical and/or social services 
needed by the participant. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2120.41-46. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:2177 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 
34:2622 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
§4207. Initial License Application Process 

A. - A.6. … 
a. line of credit issued from a federally insured, 

licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$50,000; and 

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $300,000. 

c. Repealed.  
A.7. - E. …  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.41-46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:2178 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 
34:2624 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Subchapter B. Administration and Organization 
§4227. Policy and Procedures  

A. - B.9. … 
C. The director, or his designee: 

1. is responsible for the execution of ADHC center 
policies; and 

2. shall be accessible to center staff or to any 
representative of the Department of Health and Hospitals 
conducting an audit, survey, monitoring activity, or research 
and quality assurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.41-46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:2182 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 
34:2628 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38: 
Subchapter D. ADHC Center Services  
§4245. Transportation Requirements  

A. - G. … 
H. Centers are expected to provide transportation to any 

client within their licensed region, but no client, regardless 
of their region of origin, may be in transport for more than 
one hour on any single trip.  

1. If the center develops a policy that establishes a 
limited mileage radius for transporting participants, that 
policy must be submitted to DHH for review and approval 
prior to the center being allowed to limit transportation for 
participants.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.41-46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:2186 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 
34:2631 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:  
Subchapter G. Center Responsibilities 
§4267. Staffing Requirements  

A. Staff at ADHC centers shall meet the following 
education and experience requirements. All college degrees 
must be from a nationally accredited institution of higher 
education as defined in §102(b) of the Higher Education Act 
of 1965 as amended. The following “key” staff positions are 
required and subject to the provisions listed below.  

1.  Social Service Designee/Social Worker. The center 
shall designate at least one staff person who shall be 
employed at least 10 hours a week to serve as the social 
services designee or social worker.  

a. The social services designee shall have, at a 
minimum, a bachelor’s degree in a human service-related 
field such as psychology, sociology, education, or 
counseling. Two years of experience in a human service-
related field may be substituted for each year of college.  

b. The social worker shall have a bachelor’s or 
master’s degree in social work.  

2.  Nurse. The center shall employ one or more LPNs 
or RNs who shall be available to provide medical care and 
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supervision services as required by all participants. The RN 
or LPN shall be on the premises daily for at least eight 
hours, the number of hours the center is open, or during the 
time participants are present at the center, whichever is least. 
Nurses shall have a current Louisiana state license. 

a. - b. Repealed.  
3.  Program Manager. The center shall designate at 

least one staff member who shall be employed at least 10 
hours a week to be responsible for carrying out the center’s 
individualized program for each participant. The program 
manager should have program planning skills, good 
organization abilities, counseling and activity programming 
experience.  

3.a. - 7.e. Repealed. 
B.  The following additional staff positions are required, 

subject to the provisions listed below. 
1. Food Service Supervisor. The center shall designate 

one staff member who shall be employed at least 10 hours a 
week who shall be responsible for meal preparation and/or 
serving. The food service supervisor must have ServSafe® 
certification.  

2. Direct Service Worker. An unlicensed person who 
provides personal care or other services and support to 
persons with disabilities or to the elderly to enhance their 
well being, and who is involved in face-to-face direct 
contact with the participant. 

3. Volunteers. Volunteers and student interns are 
considered a supplement to the required staffing component. 
A center which uses volunteers or student interns on a 
regular basis shall have a written plan for using these 
resources. This plan must be given to all volunteers and 
interns and it shall indicate that all volunteers and interns 
shall be:  

a. directly supervised by a paid staff member; 
b. oriented and trained in the philosophy of the 

center and the needs of participants as well as the methods of 
meeting those needs; 

c. subject to character and reference checks similar 
to those performed for employment applicants upon 
obtaining a signed release and the names of the references 
from the potential volunteer/intern student; 

d. aware of and briefed on any special needs or 
problems of participants; and  

e. provided program orientation and ongoing in-
service training. The in-service training should be held at 
least quarterly. 

C. The direct service worker to participant ratio shall be 
a minimum of one full-time direct service worker to every 
nine participants. 

D. Center staffing requirements shall be based on 
licensed capacity; however, the center shall ensure that the 
following requirements are met regardless of the licensed 
capacity of the center. 

1. The RN or LPN shall be on the premises daily for 
at least eight hours, the number of hours the center is open, 
or during the time participants are present at the center, 
whichever is less. 

2. If the RN or LPN has been on duty at least eight 
hours and there are still participants present in the ADHC, 
the RN or LPN may be relieved of duty, however, at least 
one key staff person shall remain on duty at the center. The 

key staff person shall be the social service designee/social 
worker or the program manager. 

3. A staff member who is certified in CPR must be on 
the premises at all times while clients are present. 

E. Centers with a licensed capacity of 15 or fewer clients 
may designate one full-time staff person or full-time 
equivalent person to fill up to three “key staff” positions, and 
must employ at least one full-time person or full-time 
equivalent to fulfill key staff requirements. 

F. Centers with a licensed capacity to serve 16-30 clients 
must employ at least two full-time persons or full-time 
equivalents to fulfill key staff requirements, and may 
designate one full-time staff person or full-time equivalent 
person to fill up to, but no more than, two “key staff” 
positions. 

G. Centers with a licensed capacity to serve more than 
30 clients must employ at least three full-time persons or full 
time equivalents to fill key staff positions. Each key staff 
position must be filled with a full-time person or full-time 
equivalent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2120.41-46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:2188 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 
34:2634 (December 2008), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:  

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensing Standards  

for Adult Day Health Care 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 11-12. It is anticipated that 
$1,148 (SGF) will be expended in FY 11-12 for the state’s 
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administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect revenue collections since the licensing fees, 
in the same amounts, will continue to be collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule, which continues the provisions of the April 1, 
2011 emergency rule, proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the licensing standards for adult day health care 
(ADHC) centers to revise and clarify the staffing and 
transportation requirements (approx. 138 facilities). It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will not 
have economic costs or benefits to ADHC centers for FY 11-
12, FY 12-13, and FY 13-14 since the required licensing fees 
have not changed. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Don Gregory H. Gordon Monk  
Medicaid Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1206#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Reef Fish Harvest (LAC 76:VII.335) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend a Rule, LAC 76:VII.335, 
modifying existing reef fish harvest regulations. Authority 
for adoption of this Rule is included in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 
56:320.2, 56:326.1 and 56:326.3. Said Rule is attached to 
and made part of this Notice of Intent. 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§335. Reef FishHarvest Regulations 

A. Recreational bag limits regarding the harvest of reef 
fish: triggerfishes, amberjacks, grunts, wrasses, snappers, 
groupers, sea basses, tilefishes, and porgies, within and 
without Louisiana's territorial waters. 

 
Species Recreational Bag Limits 

1. Red Snapper 3 fish per person per day 
[See Prior Text in 2-8] 

 
B. - F. … 

* * * 

G. Seasons 
1. ... 

* * * 
2. Seasons for the recreational harvest of reef fish 

species or groups listed below shall be closed during the 
periods listed below. 

 
Species or Group Closed Season 

[See Prior Text in a-b] 
c. Red Snapper October 1 through the Friday 

before Palm Sunday of the 
following year. The open season 
shall be for weekends only. A 
weekend is defined as Friday, 
Saturday and Sunday, with the 
exception of Memorial Day and 
Labor Day, when Monday would 
be classified as a weekend as 
well. 

d. Greater Amberjack June 1 through July 31 of each 
year. 

 
3. … 
4. The provisions of §335.G apply to fish taken within 

or without Louisiana's territorial waters except for the season 
for the recreational harvest of red snapper, which is for 
Louisiana’s territorial waters only. 

5. The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries is hereby authorized, upon notification to the 
chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, to 
close, open, re-open or re-close any reef fish season as 
needed when informed of such by the National Marine 
Fisheries Service in order to maintain consistency with 
modifications in the adjacent federal waters, should the 
federal seasons be modified. The secretary may also modify 
those portions of this rule pertaining to red snapper 
recreational daily harvest limits and red snapper recreational 
seasons if NOAA–NMFS institutes sub-regional 
management for the species or if he deems it necessary, 
following notification of the chairperson of the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission. 

H. - J. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:320.2(C), R.S. 56:326.1 and R.S. 
56:326.3.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:539 (June 1990), amended LR 19:1442 (November 1993), LR 
20:797 (July 1994), LR 21:1267 (November 1995), LR 22:860 
(September 1996), LR 24:1138 (June 1998), LR 24:1139 (June 
1998), LR 24:1972 (October 1998), LR 26:793 (April 2000), LR 
26:1505 (July 2000), LR 26:2833 (December 2000), LR 31:3166 
(December 2005), LR 33:1156 (June 2007), repromulgated LR 
33:1397 (July 2007), amended LR 34:2209 (October 2008), LR 
34:2682 (December 2008), LR 36:1791 (August 2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit comments relative to the 

proposed Rule to Jason Adriance, Fisheries Division, 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70898-9000, or via e-mail to 
jadriance@wlf.la.gov prior to Thursday, August 20, 2012. 

 
Ann L. Taylor 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Reef Fish Havest 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 

local governmental unit expenditures. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no effect on revenue collections to state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Recreational anglers who harvest red snapper may be 
directly affected by the proposed rule change. From 2004 to 
2008, an annual average of 59,224 recreational trips were taken 
in Louisiana territorial waters or federal waters off the coast of 
Louisiana on which red snapper was targeted.  The proposed 
rule change is anticipated to cause an unquantifiable increase in 
the number of fishing trips that recreational anglers take 
because the alteration of the red snapper season in Louisiana 
territorial waters is anticipated to increase the opportunities for 
recreational anglers to harvest red snapper.  Upon promulgation 
of the proposed rule change, the open season for red snapper in 
Louisiana territorial waters would be weekends beginning the 
Saturday before Palm Sunday to September 30 with weekends 
defined as Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, with the exception of 
Memorial Day and Labor Day, when Monday would be 
classified as a weekend as well.  Further, the proposed rule 
change increases the recreational daily bag limit for red snapper 
in Louisiana territorial waters from two to three, which would 
likely cause an increase in the number of red snapper taken by 
recreational anglers. From 2005 to 2009 an average of 124,927 
red snapper were recreationally harvested annually in 
Louisiana. 

The proposed rule change also establishes that the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries shall be 
authorized, upon notification to the Chairman of the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission, to close, open, re-open, or re-close 
any reef fish season as needed when informed of such by the 
National Marine Fisheries Service in order to maintain 
consistency with modifications in the adjacent federal waters, 
should the federal seasons be modified.  Additionally, the 
proposed rule change establishes that that the Secretary may 
also modify those portions of LAC 76:VII.335 pertaining to red 
snapper recreational daily harvest limits and red snapper 
recreational seasons if National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration: National Marine Fisheries Service institutes 
sub-regional management for the species or if he deems it 
necessary, following notification of the Chairperson of the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. 

Entities that sell equipment and supplies used on 
recreational fishing trips may experience an increase in income 
from increases in commerce resulting from the proposed rule 
change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to cause a small, 
unquantifiable increase in private sector employment in 
Louisiana and have no impact on competition in the private 
sector.  Any increase in private sector employment would be 
due to an increase in commercial activities related to the sale of 
equipment and supplies used on recreational fishing trips 

 
Lois Azzarello Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1206#043 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Reef FishRepromulgation (LAC 76:VII.335) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated 
because of an error upon submission.  The original Notice of 
Intent can be viewed in the April 20, 2012 edition of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 1132-1134. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend a Rule, LAC 76:VII.335, 
modifying existing reef fish harvest regulations. Authority 
for adoption of this Rule is included in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 
56:320.2, 56:326.1 and 56:326.3. Said Rule is attached to 
and made part of this Notice of Intent. 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§335. Reef FishHarvest Regulations 

A. Recreational bag limits regarding the harvest of reef 
fish: triggerfishes, amberjacks, grunts, wrasses, snappers, 
groupers, sea basses, tilefishes, and porgies, within and 
without Louisiana's territorial waters. 

 
Species Recreational Bag Limits 

1. Red snapper 2 fish per person per day 
2. Queen, mutton, blackfin, cubera, gray, 
dog, mahogany, silk, yellowtail snappers, 
schoolmaster and wenchman 

10 fish per person per day 
(in aggregate) 

3. Vermilion snapper, lane snapper, gray 
triggerfish, almaco jack, goldface tilefish, 
tilefish, blackline tilefish, anchor tilefish, 
blueline tilefish 

20 per person per day (in 
aggregate) 

4. Red hind, rock hind, speckled hind, 
black grouper, misty grouper, red grouper, 
snowy grouper, yellowedge grouper, 
yellowfin grouper, yellowmouth grouper, 
warsaw grouper, gag grouper, scamp 

4 fish per person per day 
(in aggregate)with not 
more than 1 speckled 
hind and 1 warsaw 
grouper per vessel and 
with not more than 4 red 
grouper per person and 
not more than 2 gag 
grouper per person 
included in the bag limit 
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Species Recreational Bag Limits 
5. Greater amberjack 1 fish per person per day 
6. Banded rudderfish and lesser 
amberjack 

5 fish per person per day 
(in aggregate) 

7. Hogfish 5 fish per person per day 
8. No person shall possess goliath grouper or Nassau grouper whether 
taken from within or without Louisiana territorial waters per LAC 
76:VII.337. 

 
B. - D.7. … 
E. Recreational and commercial minimum and 

maximum size limits, unless otherwise noted. 
 

Species Minimum Size Limits 
1. Red snapper  16 inches total length (Recreational) 

13 inches total length (Commercial)  
2. Gray, yellowtail, 
cubera, dog, mahogany 
snapper, and schoolmaster  

12 inches total length  

3. Lane snapper  8 inches total length  
4. Mutton snapper  16 inches total length  
5. Vermilion snapper  10 inches total length  
6. Red grouper  20 inches total length (Recreational) 

18 inches total length (Commercial)  
7. Yellowfin grouper  20 inches total length  
8. Gag grouper 22 inches total length 
9. Black grouper  22 inches total length (Recreational) 

24 inches total length (Commercial)  
10. Scamp  16 inches total length  
11. Greater amberjack  30 inches fork length (Recreational) 

36 inches fork length (Commercial)  
12. Black seabass  8 inches total length  
13. Hogfish  12 inches fork length  
14. Banded rudderfish 
and lesser amberjack  

14 inches fork length (minimum size) 
22 inches fork length (maximum size)  

15. Gray triggerfish 14 inches fork length 

 
F. Definitions. Federal regulations 50 CFR Part 622.2 

defines charter vessels and headboats as follows. 
Charter Vessel—a vessel less than 100 gross tons that 

meets the requirements of the U.S. Coast Guard to carry six 
or fewer passengers for hire and that carries a passenger for 
hire at any time during the calendar year. A charter vessel 
with a commercial permit is considered to be operating as a 
charter vessel when it carries a passenger who pays a fee or 
when there are more than four persons aboard, including 
operator and crew.  

Headboat—a vessel that holds a valid certificate of 
inspection issued by the U.S. Coast Guard to carry 
passengers for hire. A headboat with a commercial vessel 
permit is considered to be operating as a headboat when it 
carries a passenger who pays a fee or, in the case of persons 
aboard fishing for or possessing coastal migratory pelagic 
fish or Gulf reef fish, when there are more than four persons 
aboard, including operator and crew.  

G. Seasons  
1. Seasons for the commercial harvest of reef fish 

species or groups shall be closed during the periods listed 
below. Possession of reef fish in excess of the daily bag limit 
while on the water is prohibited during the specified closed 
season. Any reef fish harvested during the closed season 
shall not be purchased, sold, traded, bartered or exchanged 
or attempted to be purchased, sold, traded, bartered or 
exchanged. This prohibition on sale/purchase does not apply 
to reef fish that were harvested, landed ashore, sold and 
purchased prior to the closed season. Nothing shall prohibit 

the possession or sale of fish legally taken prior to the 
closure providing that all commercial dealers possessing reef 
fish taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6.  

Species or Group Closed Season 
a. Greater Amberjack March 1 through May 31 

 
2. Seasons for the recreational harvest of reef fish 

species or groups listed below shall be closed during the 
periods listed below. 

 
Species or Group Closed Season 

a. Gag November 1 through June 30 of 
the following year. 

b. Black, red, yellowfin, and 
yellowmouth groupers, rock 
hind red hind and scamp. 

February 1 through March 31 of 
each year. 

c. Red snapper October 1 through May 31 of the 
following year. 

d. Greater amberjack June 1 through July 31 of each 
year. 

 
3. Persons aboard a vessel for which the permits 

indicate both charter vessel/headboat for Gulf reef fish and 
commercial Gulf reef fish may continue to retain reef fish 
under the recreational take and possession limits specified in 
§335.A and §335.C, recreational seasons specified in 
§335.G.2 and size limits specified in §335.E, provided the 
vessel is operating as a validly licensed charter vessel or 
headboat with prepaid recreational charter fishermen aboard 
the vessel. 

4. The provisions of §335.G apply to fish taken within 
or without Louisiana’s territorial waters. 

5. The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries is hereby authorized, upon notification to the 
chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, to 
close, open, re-open or re-close any reef fish season as 
needed when informed of such by the National Marine 
Fisheries Service in order to maintain consistency with 
modifications in the adjacent federal waters, should the 
federal seasons be modified. 

H. Wholesale dealers are required to comply with the 
provisions of R.S. 56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6 when 
acquiring, purchasing, possessing and selling reef fish. 
Wholesale dealers shall maintain approval codes issued by 
NOAA Fisheries associated with all transactions of red 
snapper, groupers and tilefish species on purchases and sales 
on their records.  

I.1. Devices 
a. Circle Hooka fishing hook designed and 

manufactured so that the point is turned perpendicularly 
back to the shank to form a generally circular or oval, shape. 

b. Dehooking Devicea device intended to remove 
a hook embedded in a fish to release the fish with minimum 
damage. 

c. Venting Toola device intended to deflate the 
abdominal cavity of a fish to release the fish with minimum 
damage. 

2. For a person on board a vessel to fish for or possess 
Gulf reef fish in the Gulf EEZ, the vessel must possess on 
board and such person must use the gear as specified below. 
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a. Non-stainless Steel Circle Hooks. Non-stainless 
steel circle hooks are required when fishing with natural 
baits for reef fish. 

b. Dehooking Device. At least one dehooking 
device is required and must be used to remove hooks 
embedded in Gulf reef fish with minimum damage. The 
hook removal device must be constructed to allow the hook 
to be secured and the barb shielded without re-engaging 
during the removal process. The dehooking end must be 
blunt, and all edges rounded. The device must be of a size 
appropriate to secure the range of hook sizes and styles used 
in the Gulf reef fish fishery. 

c. Venting Tool. At least one venting tool is required 
and must be used to deflate the abdominal cavities of Gulf 
reef fish to release the fish with minimum damage. This tool 
must be a sharpened, hollow instrument, such as a 
hypodermic syringe with the plunger removed, or a 16-
guage needle fixed to a hollow wooden dowel. A tool such 
as a knife or an ice-pick may not be used. The venting tool 
must be inserted into the fish at a 45–degree angle 
approximately 1 to 2 inches (2.54 to 5.08 cm) from the base 
of the pectoral fin. The tool must be inserted just deep 
enough to release the gases, so that the fish may be released 
with minimum damage. 

J. No person who, pursuant to state or federal law, is 
subject to the jurisdiction of this state shall violate any 
federal law, rule or regulation particularly those rules and 
regulations enacted pursuant to the Magnuson-Stevens 
Fishery Conservation Act and published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations as amended Title 50 and 15, for reef 
fishes while fishing in the EEZ, or possess, purchase, sell, 
barter, trade, or exchange reef fishes within or without the 
territorial boundaries of Louisiana in violation of any state or 
federal law, rule or regulation particularly those rules and 
regulations enacted pursuant to the Magnuson-Stevens 
Fishery Conservation Act and published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations as amended Title 50 and 15 law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:320.2(C), R.S. 56:326.1 and R.S. 
56:326.3.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:539 (June 1990), amended LR 19:1442 (November 1993), LR 
20:797 (July 1994), LR 21:1267 (November 1995), LR 22:860 
(September 1996), LR 24:1138 (June 1998), LR 24:1139 (June 
1998), LR 24:1972 (October 1998), LR 26:793 (April 2000), LR 
26:1505 (July 2000), LR 26:2833 (December 2000), LR 31:3166 
(December 2005), LR 33:1156 (June 2007), repromulgated LR 
33:1397 (July 2007), amended LR 34:2209 (October 2008), LR 
34:2682 (December 2008), LR 36:1791 (August 2010), LR 38: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit comments relative to  

the proposed Rule to Jason Adriance, Fisheries  
Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, or via e-mail to 
jadriance@wlf.la.gov prior to Thursday, July 12, 2012. 

 
Ann L. Taylor 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Reef Fish 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 

local governmental unit expenditures. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no effect on revenue collections to state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change modifies LAC 76:VII.313, which 
establishes regulations for the harvest of reef fish species.  
Modifications include: changes the aggregate number from five 
to four that can be recreationally harvested daily of listed 
species; increases from one to four the number of red grouper 
that can be recreationally harvested daily; specifies that not 
more than two gag grouper can be recreationally harvested 
daily; decreases the minimum size limit for commercially 
harvested gag grouper from 24 inches to 22 inches; adjusts 
dates of closed season for recreational harvest of listed species; 
implements a closed season for the recreational harvest of listed 
species; establishes that the secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries shall have the authority to create or 
adjust reef fishing seasons in order to maintain consistency 
with seasons for federal waters that are adjacent to Louisiana 
territorial waters; changes definitions of charter vessels and 
headboats to maintain consistency with 50 CFR 622.2; and 
replaces the words swim bladder with abdominal cavity and the 
word device with tool for consistency and clarification 
purposes. 

The proposed rule change may have an unquantifiable 
positive economic affect on individuals who commercially 
harvest gag grouper because the proposed rule amendments 
will reduce the minimum size limit for commercially harvested 
gag grouper.  This minimum size reduction may decrease the 
effort necessary to meet their individual fishing quota for gag 
grouper.  From 2007 to 2011, an average of 19.8 individuals 
landed gag grouper in Louisiana each year. 

From FY 07 to FY 11, an average of 487,391 individuals 
were licensed to recreationally fish in saltwater in Louisiana 
each year (resident and non-resident).  A small portion of these 
anglers targeted reef fish.  Recreational anglers who target reef 
fish may be positively and negatively impacted by the proposed 
rule change because the proposed rule change: will reduce the 
aggregate daily bag limit for many hinds and groupers, and 
scamps; will increase the daily bag limit for red grouper; will 
adjust and create new closed seasons for recreational harvest of 
reef fish; and may increase the abundance of the certain reef 
fish species. 

Individuals who operate vessels that have both a Gulf of 
Mexico Charter Headboat for Reef Fish permit and a Gulf of 
Mexico Reef Fish permit (commercial) may be affected by the 
proposed rule change because it will establish that, for these 
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individuals, any trip on which reef fish are landed 
commercially the crew size may not exceed four persons, 
including the captain.  As of March 22, 2012, four vessels have 
both a valid and current Gulf of Mexico Charter Headboat for 
Reef Fish permit and a valid and current Gulf of Mexico Reef 
Fish permit, and a mailing address in Louisiana. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no effect 
on competition and employment in the public and private 
sectors. 

 
Lois Azzarello Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1204#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Concurrent Resolutions 
 
 

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 

Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 107 

By Senator Erdey 
 

A Concurrent Resolution 
To authorize and direct public agencies to provide 
in-service education and training on sexual 
harassment for its public servants. 
 

WHEREAS, there is an ongoing need to provide 
education and training to officials and employees of public 
agencies on sexual harassment in the workplace; and 

WHEREAS, it is incumbent upon the state and its 
agencies, local governmental subdivisions, political 
subdivisions, and other public agencies to provide education 
and training to inform and protect its officials and employees 
from such harassment; and  

WHEREAS, public agencies are responsible for taking 
action to prevent sexual harassment by any public agency 
official or employee. 

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of 
Louisiana does hereby authorize and direct each public 
agency to provide in-service education and training on 
sexual harassment to its public employees and officials as 
follows: 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in this 
Resolution, or unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, 
the terms in this Resolution shall have the meaning provided 
in R.S. 42:1102 of the Code of Governmental Ethics. 

B. Commencing January 1, 2013, each agency shall 
provide, or cause to be provided, to each public servant of 
that agency a minimum of one hour of education and 
training on sexual harassment during each year of his public 
employment or term of office, as the case may be. 

C. The education and training required pursuant to this 
Section may be provided and received either in person or via 
the Internet. 

D.(1) Each agency head of a state agency shall 
designate at least one person who shall provide all public 
servants of that agency information and instruction on sexual 
harassment. On and after July 1, 2013, no agency head shall 
designate a person to provide information and instruction on 
sexual harassment pursuant to this Resolution unless the 
person has received a minimum of two hours of education 
and training on sexual harassment. In addition, on and after 
July 1, 2014, each designee shall have at least two hours of 
education and training on sexual harassment annually. 

(2) Each agency head of a state agency shall ensure 
that each public servant in the agency is notified of the 
current name and contact information of each designee and 
that the current name and contact information of each 
designee is posted and maintained in a convenient and 
conspicuous manner which makes the information easily 
accessible to each public servant in the agency. 

E. Each state agency shall keep records of compliance 
with the requirements of this Resolution by each public 
servant of the agency. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 
Resolution shall be transmitted to the office of state register 
in the division of administration and published in the State 
Register. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 
Resolution shall be included on the website of Louisiana 
government and on the website of each department, division, 
office, section, board, commission, and other agency of state 
government which maintains a web site. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 
Resolution be transmitted to the governor, the commissioner 
of administration, and the chief justice of the supreme court. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 
Resolution be transmitted to the Louisiana Municipal 
Association, the Police Jury Association of Louisiana, the 
Louisiana School Boards Association, the Louisiana District 
Attorney Association, the Louisiana Assessors' Association, 
the Louisiana Sheriffs' Association, and the Louisiana Clerks 
of Court Association, the Louisiana State Coroner's 
Association, the Justice of the Peace Association, and the 
Louisiana City Marshals and City Constables Association, 
and that each such association disseminate the Resolution to 
its membership. 

 
John A. Alario, Jr. 
President of the Senate 
 
Charles E. “Chuck” Kleckley 
Speaker of the House of Representatives 

1206#074 
 

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 

House Concurrent Resolution No. 6 

By Representative Stuart Bishop 
 

A Concurrent Resolution 
To amend the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries rule (LAC 76:V.115(E)(1)), which 
provides exemptions from the department's rules 
governing private possession of potentially 
dangerous quadrupeds, exotic cats, and nonhuman 
primates, to include in those exemptions the Zoo 
of Acadiana so long as it meets the American Zoo 
and Aquarium Association standards for 
enclosures and to direct the Office of the State 
Register to print the amendments in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. 
 

WHEREAS, Act Number 715 of the 2006 Regular Session 
of the Legislature enacted R.S. 56:6(31) which requires the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to "… promulgate rules 
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and regulations to control the importation and private 
possession of big exotic cats ..."; and 

WHEREAS, R.S. 56:6(31) also provides for "… 
exceptions for big cats traditionally kept by colleges and 
universities as school mascots, animal sanctuaries, zoos, 
wildlife research centers, and scientific organizations." ; and 

WHEREAS, the rules adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission provide exemptions for those " . . . 
zoos accredited or certified by the American Zoo and 
Aquarium Association."; and 

WHEREAS, accreditation and exacting standards are 
important to ensure the well being and safety of the animals 
held in captivity and the safety of the people who are caring 
for and viewing the animals. 

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Legislature of 
Louisiana that LAC 76:V.115(E)(1) is hereby amended to 
read as follows: 
§115. Possession of Potentially Dangerous Wild 

Quadrupeds, Big Exotic Cats, and Non-Human 
Primates 

* * * 
E. Exempted Entities. The following organizations and 

entities shall be exempt from this regulation, including 
permitting: 

1. zoos accredited or certified by the American Zoo 
and Aquarium Association (AZA) and the Zoo of Acadiana 
so long as it meets the American Zoo and Aquarium 
Association standards for enclosures; 

* * * 
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 

Resolution be transmitted to the Office of the State Register 
and the secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Office of the State 
Register is hereby directed to have the amendments to LAC 
76:V.115(E)(1) printed and incorporated into the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. 

John A. Alario, Jr. 
President of the Senate 
 
Charles E. “Chuck” Kleckley 
Speaker of the House of Representatives 

1206#076 
 

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 

House Concurrent Resolution No. 16 

By Representative Foil 
 

A Concurrent Resolution 
To approve rules promulgated by the Amite River 
Basin Drainage and Water Conservation District, 
hereinafter, "ARBC", relative to the acquisition of 
property for the Comite Diversion Canal Project. 
 

WHEREAS, R.S. 38:3306(F) provides that the board of 
the ARBC may expropriate property subject to and in 
accordance with R.S. 48:411 through 460, expropriation 
procedures for the Department of Transportation and 
Development; and 

WHEREAS, the board has specifically made acquisition 
of mitigation property for the purpose of the Comite River 
Diversion Canal Project under the proposed rules subject to 
and in accordance with Act No. 734 of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Legislature; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to R.S. 38:3306(A), the board 
adopted rules and regulations to establish policies and 
procedures for the acquisition of property for the Comite 
Diversion Canal Project; and 

WHEREAS, R.S. 38:3306(A) provides that such rules and 
regulations shall be submitted to the House Committee on 
Transportation, Highways and Public Works and the Senate 
Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works 
for oversight; and 

WHEREAS, the ARBC complied with the law and 
submitted the proposed rules to both committees, however 
neither committee held a hearing on the proposed rules; and 

WHEREAS, the subject matter and intent of the proposed 
rules are of vital importance to the people of Ascension, East 
Baton Rouge, and Livingston parishes; and  

WHEREAS, it is also of vital importance that the 
proposed rules be reviewed for their content and affect; and 

WHEREAS, what better process than to have the 
proposed rules reviewed and approved by the Legislature of 
Louisiana. 

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of 
Louisiana does hereby declare that it has reviewed and 
approved the proposed rules of the Amite River Basin 
Drainage and Water Conservation District, relative to the 
establishment of policies and procedures for the acquisition 
of property for the Comite Diversion Canal Project. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Office of the State 
Register is hereby directed to print the adopted rules that 
were submitted in the Notice of Intent published in the state 
register on September 20, 2011. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this 
Resolution be transmitted to the Office of the State Register, 
the Amite River Basin Drainage and Water Conservation 
District, and the parish governing authorities of Ascension, 
East Baton Rouge, and Livingston parishes. 

 
John A. Alario, Jr. 
President of the Senate 
 
Charles E. “Chuck” Kleckley 
Speaker of the House of Representatives 

1206#075 
 

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 

House Concurrent Resolution No. 69 

By Representative Ligi 
 

A Concurrent Resolution 
To amend the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, rule 
(LAC 46:XLV.3149), which provides for 
limitations on examinations of an applicant for 
certification as an athletic trainer, and to direct the 
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Office of the State Register to print the 
amendments in the Louisiana Administrative 
Code. 
 

WHEREAS, the Department of Health and Human 
Resources, predecessor of the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, promulgated a rule in 1986 providing for 
limitations on examinations of an applicant for certification 
as an athletic trainer; and 

WHEREAS, this rule is presently in effect and provides 
that an applicant having failed to attain a passing score upon 
taking the certification examination four times shall not 
thereafter be considered for certification as an athletic trainer 
and shall not be eligible to take the examination again; and 

WHEREAS, among the forty-eight states which regulate 
the profession of athletic training, Louisiana is the only state 
which limits the number of times an applicant may take an 
athletic trainer certification examination; and 

WHEREAS, at least one state (Illinois) explicitly provides 
in its regulations relative to the profession of athletic training 
that unsuccessful candidates may retake the certification 
examination as many times as they wish; and 

WHEREAS, among Louisiana's statutes and rules 
providing for professions and occupations, limitations on the 
number of times an applicant may take an examination to 
qualify for professional certification or licensure are highly 
uncommon; and  

WHEREAS, R.S. 49:969 provides that the legislature, by 
Concurrent Resolution, may suspend, amend, or repeal any 
rule adopted by a state department, agency, board, or 
commission; and 

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions 
from existing law; words underscored are additions. 

WHEREAS, the purpose of this Resolution is to remove 
unnecessary obstacles to qualified persons attaining 
employment in a health profession and to meeting demand 
for health care in this state. 

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Legislature of 
Louisiana that LAC 46:XLV.3149 is hereby amended to read 
as follows: 
§3149. Restriction, Limitations on Examinations 

Reexamination  
A. An applicant having failed to attain a passing score 

upon taking the certification examination four times shall 
not thereafter be considered for certification and shall not be 
eligible to take the examination again may take a subsequent 
examination upon payment of the applicable fee as 
prescribed by Chapter 1 of these rules. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the clerk of the House 
of Representatives is hereby directed to transmit a copy of 
this Resolution to the Office of the State Register and the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners. 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Office of the State 
Register is hereby directed to have the amendment to LAC 
46:XLV.3149 printed and incorporated into the Louisiana 
Administrative Code and to transmit a copy of the revised 
rule to the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Medical Examiners. 

 
John A. Alario, Jr. 
President of the Senate 
 
Charles E. “Chuck” Kleckley 
Speaker of the House of Representatives 

1206#077 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Services 

Air Permits Division 

Standard Performance Testing RequirementsSources Not 
Subjected to Promulgated Federal or State Performance 

Testing Regulations  

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental 
Quality Act, R. S. 30:2001 et seq., the secretary gives notice 
that the Department of Environmental Quality, Office of 
Environmental Services, Air Permits Division, will alter the 
standard performance testing requirements that apply to 
sources not subject to any promulgated federal or state 
performance testing regulations. 

Permits issued by the Air Permits Division of the Office of 
Environmental Services may contain a permit requirement to 
conduct performance testing at 80 percent or greater of the 
maximum permitted capacity. It has come to the attention of 
the Air Permits Division (APD) that testing under this 
condition may not be possible for some sources. 

In the future the requirement will be modified so that 
sources will be required to test within 10 percent of 100 
percent maximum permitted (or the highest achievable) load. 
If the source’s emissions are within the permitted limits, then 
the source may operate within 10 percent of the load at 
which the source was tested without a requirement to retest 
the source. Once the source exceeds the load at which the 
unit is tested by more than 10 percent, based on a 30-day 
rolling average, the source will be required to notify the 
APD within 60 days. This percentage will be calculated 
based on the maximum permitted load. The notification will 
include the data used to calculate the operating rate during 
the 30-day rolling average and a description of the 
circumstances that caused the source to operate more than 10 
percent higher than the rate at which the most recent 
performance test was conducted. APD will review the 
notification submitted and determine whether an additional 
performance test is required on a case-by-case basis. If a 
performance test is required, notification and protocol 
submittals will be required in accordance with current 
permitting requirements. [Example: Testing was conducted 
for a 1000 horsepower (hp) engine. During the performance 
test, the engine is capable of achieving a maximum 
operating rate of 500 hp, which is 50 percent of the 
maximum permitted load. Under the new performance 
testing conditions, this engine may operate as high as 600 hp 
(500 hp + 10 percent * 1000 hp) without a requirement to 
retest. If the engine should operate at an average rate greater 
than 600 hp based on a 30-day rolling average, the permittee 
will be required to notify APD within 60 days.] 

Any permittee whose permit(s) currently require a source 
to be tested at greater than 80 percent of maximum permitted 

load must continue to conduct performance tests according 
to the schedule required by the active permit and must 
conduct these tests at the required load. If the permittee is 
required to test the source at grater than 80 percent of 
maximum permitted load and determines that it will not be 
possible to conduct the test at the required load, the 
permittee may submit a variance request to test within 10 
percent of the source’s 100 percent maximum achievable 
load. The variance request should be submitted well in 
advance of the scheduled test date so that it can be issued 
prior to the test date. Allow 30 days from the date of 
submittal for a final decision on the variance request to be 
made. Use the Application for Approval of Miscellaneous 
Permitting Actions form to request a variance. The 
application for a variance and the directions for completing 
the request can be found at http://www.deq. 
louisiana.gov/portal/DIVISIONS/AirPermitsEngineeringand
Planning/AirPermitApplications.aspx. 

In order to avoid the need for future variances to be issued 
for the situation described above, the permittee shall initiate 
a permit modification to address this issue. Use the 
Application for Approval of Emissions from Minor Sources 
form to request a modification to a minor source permit. Use 
the Application for Approval of Emission from Part 70 
Sources form to request a modification to a Part 70 source. 
The application for a permit modification and directions for 
completing the request can be found at 
http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/DIVISIONS/AirPermits
EngineeringandPlanning/AirPermitApplications.aspx. 

If there are any questions concerning this matter, please 
contact Dustin Duhon at (225) 219-3397 or 
dustin.duhon@la.gov or Vivian Aucoin at (225) 219-3389 or 
vivian.aucoin@la.gov. 

 
Herman D. Robinson 
General Counsel 

1206#019 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Emergency Response Network Board 

LERN Destination Protocol: TRAUMA 

Editor’s Note: This document, originally published in the May 
20, 2012, issue of the Louisiana Register, is being republished 
to correct a formatting error. 
 

On April 26, 2012, the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network Board (La. R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted and 
promulgated "LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma" 
replacing the "LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma" adopted 
and promulgated April 21, 2011, as follows:  
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 Unmanageable Airway 
 Tension Pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest  
 Burn Patient without patent airway  
 Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

 

 Closest ED

      
Physiologic 

 GCS <14 
 SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

 <70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8 y/o)  
 <70 (age 1 to 12 months)  
 <60 (term neonate) 

 RR <10 or >29 (adults & ≥ 9 y/o)  
 <15 or >30 (age 1 to 8 y/o)  
 <25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

 

 Level I, II or III* 

       
Anatomic 

 Open or depressed skull fractures  
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak  
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided weakness, motor, or sensory deficit)  
 All penetrating injuries to head, neck, torso, & extremities proximal to elbow & knee 
 Flail Chest  
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures  
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity  
 Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle  
 Pelvic Fractures  
 Hip Fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip 

fractures from same level falls  
 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow)  
 Open Fractures 
 Fractures with neurovascular compromise (decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 

capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal to fracture) 
 

 Level I, II or III*

      
Mechanism 

 Falls >20 ft. adults  
 >10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 

 High-risk auto crash 
 Intrusion > 12 in. occupant site 

    > 18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
 Death in same passenger compartment  

 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or significant (>20 MPH) impact  
 Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

 

 Level I, II, or III*

      
Other 

 Pregnancy >20 weeks  
 Burns (follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age ≥55 y/o or <8 y/o  
 Anticoagulation & bleeding disorders –patients w/ head injuries are at high risk for rapid 

deterioration 
 

 Level II or III*

      

MULTI / MASS CASUALTY INCIDENT (MCI)   Level I, II or, III *
*Refers to ACS Verified Level Trauma Center – Where Trauma Center not available, patient will be routed to facility with appropriate resource which may not 

need be the highest level facility. 
 Norman E. McSwain, Jr. 

Chair  
1206#006 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Maternal and Child Health Section 

Public Notice of MCH Block Grant 

The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) intends to 
apply for Maternal and Child (MCH) Block Grant Federal 
Funding for FY 2012-2013 in accordance with Public Law 
97-35 and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981. 
The Office of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health 
Section, is responsible for program administration of the 
grant. 

The block grant application describes in detail the goals 
and planned activities of the State Maternal and Child Health 
Program for the next year. Program priorities are based on 
the results of a statewide needs assessment conducted in 
2010, which is updated annually based on relevant data 
collection. 

Interested persons may request copies of the application 
from:  

 
State of Louisiana 
DHH - Office of Public Health 
Maternal and Child Health Section 
1450 Poydras Street, Room 2032 
New Orleans, LA 70112 
 

Or view a summary of the application at: 
http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/offices/publications.asp?ID=2
67&Detail=1065. 

Additional information may be gathered by contacting 
Karen Webb at (504) 568-3504. 

 
J.T. Lane 
Assistant Secretary 

1206#048 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Insurance 
Office of Health 

Annual HIPAA Assessment Rate 

Pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statute 22:1071(D)(2), the 
annual HIPAA assessment rate has been determined by the 
Department of Insurance to be .00025 percent. 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1206#015 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Reported Underwater Obstructions 
Latitude/Longitude Coordinates 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et seq., 
notice is given that 8 claims in the amount of $40,000.00 
were received for payment during the period May 1, 2012-
May 31, 2012. 

There were 8 paid and 0 denied.  
Latitude/longitude coordinates, in degree decimal minutes, 

of reported underwater obstructions are: 
 

2915.170 8945.056 Plaquemines 
2920.155 8957.634 Jefferson 
2945.256 9310.277 Cameron 
2945.590 9324.262 Cameron 
2950.189 8941.323 Saint Bernard 
2950.775 8938.752 Saint Bernard 
2953.596 9320.427 Cameron 

 
A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 
Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804 or you can call (225) 342-9388.  

 
Scott A. Angelle 
Secretary 

1206#071 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the oilfield 
sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared orphaned oilfield sites. 

 
Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 
F.A. Callery, Inc. Laurel Ridge L Canal Assets Inc 001 53553(30) 
F.A. Callery, Inc. Laurel Ridge L Hibernia Bk and 

Tr Co Liquidation 
001 55780(30) 

F.A. Callery, Inc. Laurel Ridge L Canal Assets Inc 
Unit 3 

002 60672(30) 

F.A. Callery, Inc. Laurel Ridge L Hibernia Bank and 
Trust 

003 61766(30) 

F.A. Callery, Inc. Laurel Ridge L Hibernia Bk and 
Tr Co Unit 5 

002 60269(30) 

The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A 003 31849 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

The Hardey Co. Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Warren 001 35128 

The Hardey Co. Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
L G Mathieu 001 38742 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Gray - Bryson 003 43065 

The Hardey Co. Bethany 
Longstreet 

S Gloyd Suq; Max 
Hart 001 45520 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Gray - Bryson 002 45603 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Gray - Bryson 001 46661 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Roy Terry 001 46867 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Cobb et al. 001 55737 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S 
Cobb et al. 002 57049 

The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A 001 57948 
The Hardey Co. 

Bethany 
Longstreet 

S Crane Su17; 
Keatchie Inv Corp 

A 001 58421 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Gray-Hickey A 004 58796 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A 002 58928 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Grey Hickey Swd 001 60076 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Wappler et al. 003 60841 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A 004 62152 
The Hardey Co. 

Longwood 
S Cyril Freed-Lillian 

Waskom 001 65205 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A 005 66366 
The Hardey Co. 

Longwood 
S Cyril Freed Lillian 

Waskom 002 67691 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Wappler et al. 001 70265 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A-2 70268 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Wappler et al. 002 71360 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Lillian Waskom A-3 75618 
The Hardey Co. 

Logansport 
S Pet Su53; J D 

Hilburn 001 77592 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Agurs A 001 78631 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Gray-Hickey A 003 97725 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Gray-Hickey A 001 97782 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Cobb et al. B-1 97981 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Grey-Hickey 002 102532 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

J W Baker et al. 001 116369 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Agurs A 002 137244 
The Hardey Co. 

Arkana 
S Hay Ra 

Sut;Bolinger 001 168122 
The Hardey Co. Missionary Lake, 

North 
S Cv Ra Su43; 

Hutson 001 183094 
The Hardey Co. Caddo Pine 

Island 
S Mpt Ra Sui:North 

Central Oil 001 184569 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

W C Rasberry 001 198171 
The Hardey Co. Missionary Lake, 

North 
S 

Dominick 001 202595 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Vua; Balzrette 001 210471 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Vub;Wark 001 210506 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Vub;Wark 002 210664 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S James 001 210793 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Vuc;Smith Heirs 001 210795 
The Hardey Co. Longwood S Vuc;Smith Heirs 003 210814 
The Hardey Co. 

Walnut Bayou 
S Hoss B Ra 

Sue;Noel 001 213368 
The Hardey Co. Greenwood-

Waskom 
S Pxy Vuc; 

Woodard Bell 001 218011 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

The Hardey Co. Greenwood-
Waskom 

S Tp Suaa; Mcalphin 
Heirs 001 219223 

The Hardey Co. Longwood S Smith Heirs 004 219273 
Leon Breland Esperance Point M Junkin 001 161917 

Bengal Oil and 
Gas, Inc. Hickory Valley 

S 
Blake Etal 002 234526 

Peco Resources 
Ltd 

Bayou St 
Vincent 

L 
P Labarre 004 149364(28) 

Mclain J. Forman Laurel Ridge L Jumonville 002 135976(30) 
C.F. Braun and 

Company Pierre Pass 
L Jeanerette Lumber 

and Shingle Co 003 154748 
Latex Petroleum 

Corp. Bayou Choctaw 
L Bcht Wilberts Rb 

Vu; Wmg 022 32884(30) 
Power Reserves, 

Inc. Big Lake 
L 

Walter Lebleu 001 53988(30) 
Delta Operating 

Company Lamar 
L 

Baker Heirs 002 190706 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat 001 110727 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat A 001 113219 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat A 002 113220 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat A 003 113221 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat A 004 113222 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Greenwood-

Waskom 
S 

Soniat Swd 001 971638 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

E A Sartor 001 36003 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gulf Fee 001 48658 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gulf Fee 002 49410 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gulf Fee 003 50271 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Hope 001 54402 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Hope 002 56558 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Hope 004 57168 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Hope 005 57169 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Hope 006 57290 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 001 73120 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 002 73121 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 003 73764 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 004 74380 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 005 74381 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S Queen City Realty 

Corp 001 75418 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 006 75420 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 007 75698 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 009 76033 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Gerhig-Stoer 008 76034 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Mccain 001 89994 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Mccain 001a 90803 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Mccain 002 90978 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Mccain 002a 91605 
Petrol Industries, 

Inc. 
Caddo Pine 

Island 
S 

Mccain 005 93684 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Mccain 006 93746 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Mccain 007 95382 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Mccain 008 95383 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Caddo Levee 
Board C 002 108350 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Hope 007 127280 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Hope 008 127281 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Mc Cain 009 150854 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Mc Cain 010 150855 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Hope G 001 166471 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Hope G 002 166472 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Hope G 003 166473 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Cecil Barlow 001 187532 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Gerhig Stoer 010 210928 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Ramsey-Leflett 001 240307 

Petrol Industries, 
Inc. 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S 
Ramsey-Bostwick 001 240308 

Lgs Exploration, 
Inc. Bastian Bay 

L 
Vua;Sl 8665 003 185149(30) 

Lgs Exploration, 
Inc. Bastian Bay 

L 
Campbellton 004 193633(30) 

Lgs Exploration, 
Inc. Bastian Bay 

L 
Sl 8665 001 202280(30) 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1206#070 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 38, Number 6) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2011-December 2011, 261 
January 2012-March 2012, 1135 

 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides 

Restrictions on applications of certain pesticides, 1295N 
Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Annual quarantine listing for 2012, 1137P 
Pesticide restrictions, giant salvinia 

Lake Bistineau, 693ER 
Toledo Bend, 694ER 

Animal Health, Board of 
Chronic wasting disease, 158N, 961R 

Commissioner, Office of the 
Railroad crossings, 160N, 962R 

Horticulture Commission 
Landscape architect registration exam, 265P, 678P 

Seed Commission 
Seed inspection fees, 1039N 

 
 
 
AMITE RIVER BASIN DRAINAGE AND WATER  

CONSERVATION DISTRICT 
Expropriation of property, 1383R 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
(Formerly Department of Social Services) 

Division of Programs 
Louisiana’s annual progress and services report, 1138P 
Social services block grant intended use report, 1139P 
TANF caseload reduction, 678P 

Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Increasing resource limit for households with elderly 

and disabled members, 4ER, 350R 
KCSP grant reduction and termination of post-FITAP 

transitional services, 695ER, 838N, 1390R 
TANF initiatives, 272ER, 1040N 
Verbal fair hearing withdrawals, 162N, 964R 

Licensing Section 
Child safety alarm, 436N, 1207R 
Criminal record check, 166N 

Sex offender prohibitions and state central registry 
disclosure, 272ER, 968R 

Emergency preparedness and evacuation planning, 4ER, 
981R 

Juvenile detention facilities, 285ER, 1041N, 1148ER 
Service delivery model monitoring and review, 984R 

 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Ethics, Board of 

Food and drink limit, 1297N 
Late filings, 437N, 1207R 
Third party ethics training, 439N, 1209R 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Secretary, Office of 

Research and development tax credit program, 350R 
Louisiana Seed Capital Program (LSCP) and Seed 

Capital Program for the State Small Business Credit 
Initiative (SSBCI), 734R, 986R 

Small Business Loan and Guaranty Program (SBL and 
GP) and State Small Business Credit Initiative 
(SSBCI) Program, 740R, 992R 

 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 443N, 839N, 1212R, 
1391R, 1420N 

Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 33R, 747R 

Administrative error, 1421N 
Bulletin 119Louisiana School Transportation 

Specifications and Procedures, 748R 
Bulletin 126—Charter Schools, 184N, 1392R 

Virtual schools, 37R, 750R 
Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District, 352R 
Return of schools to LEA, 841N, 1396R 
Type 5 charter school, 1422N 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 445N, 1214R, 
1424N 

2012 
Pages    Issue 
1-269 ................................................... January 
270-692 ............................................... February 
693-915 ............................................... March 
916-1147 ............................................. April 
1148-1343 ........................................... May 
1344-1473 ........................................... June 
 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
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EDUCATION (continued) 
Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 

Administrators, 754R 
Adult education programs, 844N, 1398R 
Advanced placement and international baccalaureate, 
1429N 

Approval for alternative schools or programs, 1066N 
Assessment, 455N, 1223R 
Certification of personnel, 456N, 1224R 
College and career diploma and career diploma, 761R 
Compulsory attendance, 188N, 845N, 1000R, 1399R 
Connections process, 189N, 1000R 
Curriculum and instruction, 190N, 1001R, 1067N 
Educational leader, 39R 
Foreign languages, 1430N 
Physical education, 40R 
Scheduling and student services, 457N, 1224R 
Sexual offenses affecting minors, 41R 
Technology education, 847N, 1399R, 1431N 
Textbooks, 1432N 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators, 769R, 855N, 
1008R, 1404R 
Health and safety rules and regulations for approved 
non-public school three-year-old programs, 458N, 
1226R 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel 
Artist or talented certificate, 762R 
Counselor K-12, 848N, 1400R 
Criminal offenses, 762R 
CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 certificates, 1433N 
Educational leader, 42R 
Educational leader practitioner (residency) program, 
765R 

Educational technology areas, 766R 
Instructional coaching, 767R 
Requirements to add early childhood, 43R 
Requirements to add elementary, 44R 
School nurse, 44R, 1434N 
Social worker, 45R 
Special education examiners, 768R 
Standard teaching authorizations, 1297N 

Bulletin 1706Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act, 1435N 
Expenditures, 850N, 1401R 
Regulations for students with disabilities, 768R, 

852N, 1006R, 1070N, 1225R, 1403R 
Finance and property, minimum foundation program, 
add-on students/units, 854N, 1404R 

Organization 
Advisory councils, 772R 

Regents, Board of 
Academic program standards, 461N, 1228R 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

Scholarship/Grant Programs, 200N, 309ER 
Award amount, 354R 
Definitions, 924ER 

Early start programstatewide general education 
course articulation matrix and approved LAICU 
institutions, 1229R 

Establishing eligibility, 354R 
GO grant, 924ER  
J.R. Justice awards, 462N 
Nontraditional students, 1071N 
Summer sessions, 1072N 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

START savings program, 925ER, 1073N 
 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Environmental Services, Office of 
Air Permits Division 

Standard performance testing requirements, 1462P 
Secretary, Office of 
2008-2010 permit rule SIP, 678P 
2011 annual incorporation by reference of federal air 
quality regulations, 463N, 1229R 

GHG tailoring rule SIP, 678P 
Misc rule SIP, 678P 
Nonattainment new source review, 200N, 1231R 
Offset requirements, 1172ER 
PM2.5 increments, significant impact levels and 

significant monitoring concentration, 857N 
VOC rule SIP, 678P 
Legal Affairs Division 

Hazardous waste technical corrections and 
clarifications, 774R 

OECD requirements 
Export shipments of spent lead-acid batteries, 781R, 
1009R 

Offset requirements, 7ER 
Removal of recyclable material from a non-
processing transfer station, 46R 

Stakeholder meeting for discharges of produced water 
to the territorial seas, 265P 

Stay of permit conditions pending administrative/ 
judicial review, 202N 

Waste expedited permitting process, 204N, 1232R 
Withdrawal of the emission comparable fuel 
exclusion, 790R 

 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
BJ 11-25 Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction, 

1EO 
BJ 11-26 Qualified Energy Conservation Bond 

Allocation Louisiana Department of Public Safety and 
CorrectionsCorrections Services, 2EO 

BJ 11-27 Executive BranchDOTD Guidelines for 
Vehicles, Trucks and Loads which Haul Hay from 
Louisiana to Texas, 3EO 

BJ 12-01 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2011, 270EO 
BJ 12-02 Rules and Policies on Leave for Unclassified 

ServiceAmended Retroactive to January 14, 2008, 
916EO 
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS (continued) 
BJ 12-03 Executive BranchExpenditure Freeze, 

 921 EO 
BJ 12-04 Offender Labor, 923EO 

 
 
 
FIREFIGHTERS PENSION AND RELIEF FUND 

Firefighters Pension and Relief Fund, Board of 
Trustees  

Direct rollovers, 205N, 1011R 
Qualified domestic relations orders, 796R 
Tax qualification provisions, 207N, 1012R 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Information Technology, Office of 
OIT bulletin, 265P 

Property Assistance Agency 
Luxury vehicles, 1081N 

Racing Commission 
Daily doubles, 925ER, 1172ER, 1407R 
Field less than five, 1440N 
Mandatory health screening, 926ER, 1174ER, 1407R 
Nonsteroidal and/or anti-inflammatory medication, 
1408R 

Pick five, 928ER, 1175ER, 1408R 
Superfecta, 1440N 
Super six, 926ER, 1176ER 
Training tracks, 1018R 

State Purchasing, Office of 
Reverse auctions, 859N, 1406R 

State Uniform Payroll, Office of 
Payroll deduction, 47ER, 797R 

Tax Commission 
Ad valorem taxation, 799R 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 
Administrationplace of seal or stamp, 208N 
Continuing education, 1012R 
Internet advertising, 208N 

Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners for the Port 
of New Orleans 
River port pilots, 1438N 

Certified Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners 
Certification of transcript, 1074N 

Financial Institutions, Office of 
Judicial interest rate determination for 2012, 265P 

Home Inspectors, Board of 
Education, standards of practice, rehearing procedure, 
1075N 

Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness 
Homeland security and emergency preparedness, 48R 
Intrastate mutual aid compact, 1019R 

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on 
Formula for distribution of federal funds, 1080N 
Public hearingformula for distribution of federal 

funds, 679P 

Licensing Board for Contractors 
Contractors, 148R 
Home improvement registration and new home 

warranty act, 813R 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

Sponsored recreational product manufacturer shows or 
events, 1344ER, 1441N 

Oil Spill Coordinator's Office 
Deepwater horizon oil spill; final phase I early 

restoration plan and environmental assessment, 1332P 
Public Defender Board 

Service restriction protocol, 813R 
Real Estate Commission 

Internet advertising, 1021R 
 
 
 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority 

Addictive disorder regulatory authority, 209N 
Disciplinary procedures, 1022R 
Fees, 1025R 

Aging and Adult Services, Office of 
CommunityCARE program 
Termination, 1181ER 

Community first choice option services, 1444N 
Home and community-based services waivers 
Community choices waiver, 311ER, 1186ER 
Repeal of standards for participation, 314ER, 1368ER 

Personal care services 
Long-term, policy clarifications and service limit 
reduction, 325ER, 329ER, 1195ER 

Behavioral Health, Office of 
Standards for community mental health, physical space 

requirements exemption, 733ER 
Substance abuse/addictive disorders facilities 
Minimum licensing standards, physical space 
requirements exemption, 732ER 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office of 
Home and community-based services waivers 
Children’s choice 
Allocation of waiver opportunities, 933ER 
Money follows the person rebalancing demonstration 
extension, 12ER, 1189ER 

Residential options waiver, 934ER 
Dentistry, Board of 

Anesthesia/Analgesia administration and continuing 
education requirements, 1300N 

Continuing education requirements, 817R 
Dentistry requirements, 355R 
Examination of dentists, 1302N 
Patients’ records, 1303N 

Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of 
Embalmers and funeral directors, 466N 
Public hearing—substantive changes to proposed rules; 
embalmers and funeral directors, 1140P 

Emergency Response Network Board 
LERN destination protocol: TRAUMA, 1333P, 1462P 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Adult behavioral health services, 358R 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
Adult day health care 
Minimum licensing standards, 695ER 
Licensing standards, 1451N 

Ambulatory surgical centers, reimbursement 
methodology, never events, 1181ER, 1304N 

Behavioral health services, 360R 
Children’s behavioral health services, 363R 
CommunityCARE program 
Redesign, 697ER 
Termination, 1181ER, 1442N 

Community first choice option services, 1444N 
Direct service worker registry, 701ER 
Disproportionate share hospital payments, 9ER, 1183ER 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 929ER 

Distinct part psychiatric units, payment methodology, 
310ER, 1185ER 

Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment 
Psychological and behavioral services and school  

based mental health services, 365R 
School-based health centers, 931ER 
School-based nursing services, 704ER, 1344ER 
Substance abuse services, 706ER, 1347ER, 1449N 

Facility need review 
Hospice providers, 707ER, 1087N, 1349ER 
Outpatient abortion facilities, 1305N 

Federally qualified health centers 
Fluoride varnish applications, 11ER, 932ER 

Greater New Orleans community health connection 
waiver, 820R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 
waiver, 366R 

Home and community-based services providers 
Minimum licensing standards, 63R 
Minimum licensing standards, direct service worker 

exemption, 861N, 1410R 
Home and community-based services waivers 
Children’s choice 

Allocation of waiver opportunities, 933ER 
Money follows the person rebalancing 
demonstration extension, 12ER, 1189ER 

Community choices waiver, 311ER, 1186ER 
Repeal of standards for participation, 314ER, 1368ER 
Residential options waiver, 934ER 
Support coordination standards for participation, 

708ER 
Hospice services, 717ER, 1350ER 
Hospital licensing standards 
License renewal and dietary services, 862N, 1413R 

Inpatient hospital services 
Distinct part psychiatric units, reimbursement 

methodology, 315ER, 1190ER 
Free-standing psychiatric hospitals 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 949ER 
Healthcare-acquired and provider preventable 

conditions, 1191ER, 1307N 
Major teaching hospitals 

Qualifying criteria, 316ER, 1354ER 
Supplemental payments, 318ER, 1356ER 

Neonatal and pediatric intensive care units and outlier 
payment methodologies, 319ER, 1357ER 

Non-Rural, Non-State hospitals 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 950ER 
Reimbursement methodology, 951ER 

Reimbursement methodology, medical education 
payments, 321ER, 720ER, 1359ER 

Pre-admission certification, 13ER, 824R 
Small rural hospitals 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 13ER, 
1192ER 

Upper payment limit, 468N, 722ER, 1240R 
State hospitals 

Supplemental payments, 469N, 951ER, 1241R 
Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 

Minimum licensing standards, 864N 
Non-state facilities, reimbursement methodology, 
722ER 

Public facilities reimbursement methodology, 14ER, 
1193ER 

Medical transportation program 
Emergency ambulance services, supplemental 
payments, 723ER, 1360ER 

Non-emergency medical transportation, public transit 
services, 726ER  

Nursing facilities  
Minimum licensing standards  
Civil monetary penalty waivers, 824R 
Nurse aide training and competency evaluation 

program, 1241R, 1410R  
Per diem rate reduction, 470N, 1241R 
Reimbursement methodology 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 323ER, 

1363ER 
Minimum data set assessments, 16ER, 825R 
Private room conversions, 324ER, 1364ER 

Outpatient hospital services 
Diabetes self-management training, 19ER, 1194ER 
Never events, 1202ER, 1308N 
Small rural hospitals 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 727ER 
Upper payment limit, 472N, 729ER, 1251R 

State-owned hospitals, medical education payments, 
324ER, 730ER, 1364ER 

Personal care serviceslong-term 
Policy clarifications and service limit reduction, 20ER, 
325ER, 329ER, 1195ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program  
Maximum allowable costs, 24ER, 1199ER 
Medication administration 

Influenza vaccinations, 952ER 
Prescription time limits, 368R 

Pregnant women extended services 
Substance abuse screening and intervention services, 
731ER 

Professional services program  
Diabetes self-management training, 25ER, 1201ER 
Fluoride varnish applications, 26ER, 953ER 
Reimbursement methodology 
Never events, 1202ER, 1309N 
Supplemental payments, 333ER, 1366ER 

Psychiatric residential treatment facilities, 369R 
Minimum licensing standards, 371R 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
Public facilities, reimbursement methodology, 14ER 
Professional services program supplemental payments 

for Tulane professional practitioners, 224N 
Rural health clinics 
Fluoride varnish applications, 27ER, 954ER 

School based behavioral health services, 400R 
Standards for community mental health, physical space 

requirements exemption, 733ER 
Substance abuse/addictive disorders facilities 
Minimum licensing standards, physical space 
requirements exemption, 732ER 

Substance abuse and addiction treatment facilities, 
licensing standards, 473N 

Substance abuse services, 426R 
Therapeutic group homes, 427R 
Minimum licensing standards, 401R 

Licensed Professional Counselors, Board of Examiners 
License of title for marriage and family requirements for 
licensure, 1310N 

Practice of mental health counseling for serious mental 
illnesses, 335ER, 1367ER 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Clinical laboratory personnel, licensure and 
certification, 210N, 1026R 

Physician assistants—practice, 1233R 
Respiratory therapists, licensure, certification and 
practice, 52R 

Nursing, Board of 
Denial or delay of licensure, 818R 

Nursing Facility Administrators, Board of Examiners 
Administrator-in-training (AIT) waiver, 51R 

Optometry Examiners, Board of 
Licensing; dispensation of medication, 1082N 

Pharmacy, Board of 
Cognitive services, 212N, 1233R 
Durable medical equipment permit, 1177ER 
E-communications, 213N, 1234R 
Hospital pharmacy, 213N, 1235R 
Penal pharmacy, 215N, 1235R 
Pharmacist-in-charge, 216N, 1239R 
Remote processing of medical orders, 220N, 1240R 

Public Health, Office of 
Marine and fresh water animal food products, 95R 
Public health immunization requirements, 896N, 1252 
State sanitary code 

Additional controls for shellstock moving through 
interstate commerce, 1369ER 

Maternal and Child Health Section 
MCH block grant, 1464P 

Radiologic Technology, Board of Examiners 
Fusion technology, 97R 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
Alternative therapy and collaborative treatment, 
preceptorship program, and certified animal euthanasia 
technician, 356R 

Licensure procedures, continuing veterinary education, 
fees, 1083N 

Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of 
Fees, 1086N 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of 

Regulation Number 100Coverage of Prescription 
Drugs through a Drug Formulary, 225N, 1027R 

Health, Office of 
Annual HIPAA assessment rate, 1464P 

 
 
 

LEGISLATION 
Concurrent Resolutions 

Senate 
No. 107, sexual harassment training, 1459L 

House 
No. 6, exemption inclusion of the Zoo of Acadiana, 

1459L 
No. 16, acquisition of property for the Comite 

Diversion Canal Project, 1460L 
No. 69, limitations on examinations of applicant for 

certification as an athletic trainer, 1460L 
Senate Committee on Commerce 

Report of Senate Committee Emergency Rule Oversight 
Hearing on LAC 35:I:1505, 677CR 

 
 
 
 

LOUISIANA ECONOMIC  
DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION 

Louisiana Seed Capital Program (LSCP) and Seed 
Capital Program for the State Small Business Credit 
Initiative (SSBCI), 734R, 986R 

Small Business Loan and Guaranty Program (SBL and 
GP) and State Small Business Credit Initiative 
(SSBCI) Program, 740R, 992R 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Amendment to statewide orders no. 29-B and 29-B-a, 
336ER 

Definitions, 1414R 
Hazardous liquids pipeline safety, 99R 
Hearing, docket no. ENV 2012-04, 1334P 
Legal notice, docket no. ENV 2012-L01, 679P 
Natural gas pipeline safety, 110R, 828R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 679P, 1335P, 1465P 
Statewide orders no. 29-B and 29-B-a 

Operational and safety requirements for wells drilled 
in search or for the production of oil or natural gas at 
water location, 1370ER 

Environmental Division 
Advanced notice of rulemaking and solicitation of 

comments on water well notification and 
construction, 1140P 

Mineral Resources, Office of 
Mineral resources, alternative energy leasing and dry 

hole credit, 125R 
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NATURAL RESOURCES (continued) 
Secretary, Office of the 
Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund 
Reported underwater obstructions, 266P, 680P, 910P, 

1141P, 1336P, 1464P 
 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 

Louisiana sex offender assessment panels, 429R 
Offender incentive pay and other wage compensation, 

511N, 1252R 
Offender mail and publications, 830R 
Offender visitation, 835R 
Performance grid and administrative sanctions, 955ER, 

1090N 
Sex offender payment for electronic monitoring, 432R 
Sex offender treatment plans and programs, 1092N 

Gaming Control Board 
Gaming, regulation consolidation, 513N 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 
Liquefied petroleum gas, 228N, 1254R 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
Driver’s license, 1094N 

Private Investigator Examiners, Board of 
Continuing education, 898N, 1088N 

State Police, Office of 
Issuance of concealed handgun permits, 642N, 
1279R, 1415R 
Public hearingtowing, recovery and storage, 266P 

Applied Technology Unit 
Breath and blood alcohol analysis, 1113N 

Transportation and environmental safety section 
Motor carrier safety revision date and weight, 899N, 
1417R 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 
Building code enforcement officer, 957ER 
Provisional certificate of registration deadline, 28ER 
Seismic design and electrical code, 1115N 
Structural design for earthquake loads, 957ER 

 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Good standing, 144R 
Participation in hearing by video conference, 648N, 
1285R 

Regulation IX, prohibition of certain unfair business 
practices, 650N, 1286R 

Tobacconist permits, 145R 
Policy Services Division 

Alternative fuel credit, 1203ER 
Certain self-propelled vehicles removed from inventory, 
1320N 

Corporation income and franchise tax filing extensions, 
958ER 

Electronic funds transfer, 347ER, 1321N 
Individual income tax filing extensions, 959ER 
Natural gas severance tax rate, effective July 1, 2012, 
1336P 

Payment of sales and use taxes by persons constructing, 
altering, or repairing immovable property, 1116N 

Withholding tax statements and returns electronic filing 
requirements, 347ER, 1322N 

 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Aviation, Office of 

Aviation program needs and project priority process, 
1118N 

Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 
Definitions, 835R, 1029R 
Supervising professionals and use of seals, 900N, 
1418R 

 
 
 

TREASURY 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System,  
Board of Trustees 
Internal revenue code provisions, 902N, 1324N 
Procedures for processing disability applications, 836R 

Registrars of Voters Employees' Retirement System 
Retirement system trustees election procedures, 1029R 

Treasurer, Office of 
Permissible investments, 146R 

 
 
 

VETERANS AFFAIRS 
Veterans Affairs Commission 

Veterans affairs, 253N, 1015R 
 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2011 fall inshore shrimp season closure, 28ER, 248ER 
2012 gag grouper bag season, 959ER 
2012 greater amberjack season closure, 960ER 
2012-2013 commercial king mackerel season, 29ER 
2012-2013 recreational reef fish seasons, 29ER 
2012-2013 reef fish commercial seasons, 30ER 
Emergency oyster season closure 

Sister Lake and Bay Junop public oyster seed 
reservations, 30ER 

False river, trammel and gill nets, 655N 
Feral hog trapping, 1131N 
Gag grouper recreational season closure, 31ER 
General and wildlife management area hunting rules 
and regulations, 656N 

Large coastal and small coastal shark commercial 
season opening, 349ER 

Oyster season closure 
primary public oyster seed grounds east of the 
Mississippi river, 349ER 

Partial opening of shrimp season in state outside waters, 
1205ER 

Recreational and commercial fisheries closure, 31ER, 
1205ER  

Reef fish, 1132N, 1454N, 1455N 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 
Removal of abandoned crab traps, 146R 
Resident game hunting season, 671N 
Spring inshore shrimp season opening dates, 1206ER 
Tuna harvest regulations, 1419R 
Triploid grass carp, 433R 
Vessel monitoring systems; oyster seed ground vessel 

permit, 674N 
Wild seafood certification program, 651N 

 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Community rehabilitation program, 147R 
Pharmaceutical billing, 836R 
Public hearing for substantial changes to proposed rules, 

680P 
Utilization review procedures, 256N, 266P, 1030R, 

1286R 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


