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Executive Orders

EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 96-9
Governor's DWI/Vehicular Homicide Task Force

WHEREAS: currently, Louisiana ranks twenty-first in the
United States in population, but ranks fifth in the nation in
alcohol-related fatalities and thirteenth in the nation in fatal
crashes; and

WHEREAS: nearly 55 percent of Louisiana’s traffic
fatalities are alcohol-related, as compared to the national
average of 43 percent; and ’

WHEREAS: Louisiana automobile owners pay high
premiums for public liability insurance. Our state ranks tenth
in the nation in costs for insurance, with an average premium
of $862.62; and

WHEREAS: there is a possible correlation between
Louisiana’s unusually high percentage of alcohol-related
traffic fatalities and the unusually high insurance premiums
paid by Louisiana motorists;

NOW THEREFORE I, M. J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR.,
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority
vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of
Louisiana, do hereby establish the Governor’s DWI/Vehicular
Homicide Task Force and do hereby order and direct as
follows:

SECTION 1: The Governor’s DWI/Vehicular Homicide
Task Force is established and created within the Executive
Department, Office of the Governor.

SECTION 2: The Governor’s DWI/Vehicular Homicide
Task Force shall be composed of one representative from each
of the following agencies:

The Governor’s Office

Louisiana State Police

The Office of Motor Vehicles

The State Police Crime Lab

The Louisiana District Attorneys’ Association

The Louisiana Sheriff’s Association

The Municipal Police Officers Association of
Louisiana :
The Louisiana House of Representatives

The Louisiana Senate '

Mothers Against Drunk Driving

The Louisiana Highway Safety Commission

The Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse

One member at large, to be appointed by the
Governor.

SECTION 3: The duties and functions of the Task Force
shall include, but shall not be limited to, the following:

A. Address problem areas which may include, but not
limited to, the following:
1. the unusually high incidence of drunk and drugged
. driving in the state;
2. the difficulty in proving identification of multiple
DWI offenders for the purposes of enhanced penalties;

ommoow>
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3. refusals to submit to breath and/or field sobriety
tests; . .
4. -problems with obtaining evidence: from. drivers
who cause fatal or serious injury crashes; and

.5: . the arrest and prosecution of drug-impaired drivers.

B. The Governor’s DWI Task ‘Force shall present a
legislative package to the Governor prior to the 1997 Regular
Legislative Session.

C. The Governor’s DWI Task Force-shall act in an
advisory capacity to the Governor, the Highway Safety
Commission, the Alcoholic Beverage .Control Commission
and any other agency involved drrectly or peripherally with
DWI issues.

SECTION 4: The members. of the Governor’s
DWI/Vehicular Homicide Task Force shall receive no per
diem ‘or other compensation for their services and shall
receive no reimbursement for- expenses incurred in the
performance of his or her duties.

SECTION 5: In implementing: the provisions of this
Executive Order, the Governor’s DWI/Vehicular Homicide
Task Force shall solicit input and recommendations from all
agencies involved in DWI enforcement and countermeasures,
particularly law enforcement officers at the state, parish and
local levels.

SECTION 6: All departments, commissions, boards,
agencies, and officers of the state, or any political subdivision
thereof, are authorized and directed to. cooperate with the
Governor’s DWI/Vehicular Homicide Task Force in
implementing the provisions of this Executive Order.

SECTION 7:  The provisions of this Executive Order are
effective upon signature and shall remain in effect until
amended, modified, or rescinded by operation of law.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this
15th of April, 1996. ‘

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.
Governor

ATTEST BY

THE GOVERNOR

Fox McKeithen

Secretary of State

9605#005
EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 96-10
Oklahoma City Bombing Anniversary
WHEREAS: on April 19, 1995, a massive bomb blast

destroyed the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS: the explosion left 169 persons dead,
hundreds injured and thousands mourning the loss of friends
and family; and
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WHEREAS: amassive rescue effort ensued, including
hundreds of search and rescue workers from around the
country, aided by local firefighters and police staff, structural
engineers, and specially trained dogs, combing the site for
weeks, day and night, searching for survivors and bodies; and

WHEREAS: . Louisiana citizens joined millions of other
Americans who followed the efforts of rescue workers with
great concern as reported in the media and who supported
those efforts with their prayers; and

WHEREAS: several Louisiana residents with expertise in
rescue operations were directly involved in the search and
rescue efforts; and ;

WHEREAS: Friday, April 19, 1996, will be the one-year
anniversary of the “Oklahoma City Bombing;”

NOW THEREFORE I, M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr., Governor of
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested in me
by the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana, and in
order to show the respect of the people of the State of
Louisiana for the many innocent children and adults injured
and killed by the explosion, and to observe the one-year
anniversary of the “Oklahoma City Bombing” do hereby order
the flag of the United States be flown at half-mast on Friday,
April 19, 1996, over the State Capitol and the. public
departments and institutions of the State of Louisiana.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this
18th day of April, 1996.

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.
Governor

-ATTEST BY

THE GOVERNOR

Fox McKeithen

Secretary of State
9605#006

EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 96-11
Housing Finance Agency Bond Allocation

WHEREAS: pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 (the
"Act™) and Act 51 of the 1986 Louisiana Legislative Session,
Executive Order Number EWE 92-47 establishing (i) a
method for the allocation of bonds subject to the private
activity bond volume limits, including the method of
allocation of bonds subject to the private activity.bond volume
limits for this calendar year 1996 (the "1996 Ceiling"), (ii) the
procedure for obtaining an allocation of bonds under the 1996
Ceiling and (iii) a system of central record keeping for such
allocations; and

'WHEREAS:  the Louisiana Housing Finance Agency (the
"agency") has requested an allocation from the 1996 Ceiling
to be used in connection with a program (the "program") of
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financing mortgage loans for first time homebuyers
throughout the state of Louisiana (the "state") in accordance |
with the provisions of Section 143 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986, as amended (the "code"); and

WHEREAS: the governor has determined that the
program serves a crucial need and provides a benefit to the
state of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS: it is the intent of the Governor of the State of
Louisiana that this Executive Order, to the extent inconsistent
with the provisions of Executive Order Number EWE 92-47,
supersedes and prevails over such provisions with respect to
the allocation made herein,;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT ORDERED BY M.J. "MIKE"
FOSTER, JR., Governor of the State of Louisiana, as follows:

SECTION 1: That the bond issue described in this Section
is hereby granted an allocation from the 1996 Ceiling in the
amount shown:

AMOUNT OF NAME OF NAME OF
ALLOCATION ISSUER PROJECT
$25,000,000 Louisiana Housing Single Family Mortgage

Finance Agency Revenue Bonds

SECTION 2: The allocation granted hereunder is to be
used only for the bond issue described in Section 1 and for the
general purpose set in the "Application for Allocation of a
Portion of the State of Louisiana IDB Ceiling" submitted in
connection with the bonds described in Section 1.

SECTION 3: The allocation granted hereby shall be valid
and in full force and effective through June 21, 1996,
provided that such bonds are delivered to the initial
purchasers thereof on or before June 21, 1996.

SECTION 4: The undersigned certifies, under penalty of
perjury, that the allocation granted hereby was not made in
consideration of any bribe, gift, gratuity, or direct or indirect
contribution to any political campaign.

SECTION 5: That this Executive Order, to the extent
conflicting with the provisions of Executive Order Number
EWE 92-47, supersedes and prevails over the provisions of
such Executive Order.

SECTION 6: All references herein to the singular shall
include the plural and all plural references shall include the
singular.

SECTION 7: This Executive Order shall be effective upon
signature of the governor.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge,
Louisiana, on this 24th day of April, 1996.

M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr.
Governor

ATTEST BY

THE GOVERNOR

Fox McKeithen

Secretary of State
9605#007




Emergency Rules

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Forestry
Forestry Commission
and
Department of Revenue and Taxation
Tax Commission

Timber Stumpage Values (LAC 7:XXXIX.20101)

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S.
47:633, the Forestry Commission and the Tax Commission
find that this emergency rule setting forth the determination
by the two commissions of the current average stumpage
market value of trees, timber, and pulpwood for the purpose
of predicating severance tax for the 1996 tax year is required
so that timber severance tax computation and collection can
continue uninterrupted until adoption of a final rule through
the normal rule promulgation process can be completed. By
law, these values are set annually in a meeting of the Forestry
Commission and the Tax Commission on the second Monday
in December. An imminent peril to public health, safety, and
welfare would exist if timber severance tax revenues are not
available for state and parish governmental entities in that the
monies generated from the severance tax go to state and parish
governmental entities for such uses as fire protection, police
and road maintenance and are necessary for maintaining
essential governmental services.

The effective date of this emergency rule is April 28, 1996,
and it shall be in effect for 120 days or until the final rule
takes effect through the normal promulgation process,
whichever occurs first.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXXIX. Forestry
Chapter 201. Timber Stumpage
§20101. Stumpage Values

The Louisiana Forestry Commission, and the Louisiana Tax
Commission, as required by R.S. 47:633, determined the
following timber stumpage values based on current average
stumpage market values to be used for severance tax
computations for 1996:

1. Pine trees and timber $361.36/MBF $45.17/Ton
2. Hardwood trees and timber $195.51/MBF $20.58/Ton
3. Pine Chip and Saw $82.10/Cord $30.41/Ton
4. Pine pulpwood $23.84/Cord $ 8.83/Ton
5. Hardwood pulpwood $12.63/Cord $4.43/Ton

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 3:3.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Natural
Resources, Office of Forestry, and the Forestry Commission, LR 4:9
(January 1978), amended LR 5:7 (January 1979), LR 6:728
(December 1980), LR 7:627 (December 1981), LR 8:651 (December
1982), LR 9:848 (December 1983), LR 10:1038 (December 1984),
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LR 11:1178 (December 1985), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, and the Forestry
Commission, LR 12:819 (December 1986), LR 13:432 (August
1987), LR 14:9 (January 1988), LR 15:5 (January 1989), LR 16:16
(January 1990), LR 17:476 (May 1991), LR 18:6 (January 1992), LR
19:611 (May 1993), LR 20:408 (April 1994), LR 21:930 (September
1995), repromulgated LR 21:1069 (October 1995), amended LR 22:

Billy Weaver, Chairman
Louisiana Forestry Commission

Malcolm Price, Chairman
Louisiana Tax Commission
9605#002 '

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

First Aid Services (LAC 35:111.5711)

The State Racing Commission is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S.
4:141 et seq., adopts the following emergency rule effective
May 1, 1996, and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or until
this rule takes effect through the normal promulgatxon
process, whichever occurs first.

The commission finds- it necessary to amend thls rule to
provide for appropriate emergency services, medical
personnel and a first aid room on track grounds.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part IIL Personnel, Registration and Licensing
Chapter 57. Association’s Duties and Obligations
§5711. First Aid Services

During racing and training hours, each association shall
provide, on track grounds, a registered paramedic and a
certified emergency medical technician who are trained in
first aid practices, and shall provide a room or area adequately
equipped in which to serve individuals in need of first aid.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:148.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in.
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing
Commission, LR 2:434 (December 1976), amended LR 3:30
(January 1977), LR 4:278 (August 1978), LR 9:546 (August 1983),
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Racmg
Commission, LR 16:763 (September 1990), LR 22

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director
9605#020
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Superfecta (LAC 35:XI11.11701)

The Racing Commission is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S.
4:141 et seq., adopts the following emergency rule effective
April 26, 1996 and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or
until this rule takes effect through the normal promulgation
process, whichever occurs first.

The Racing Commission finds it necessary to adopt this rule
to provide for the Superfecta wagering format for use when
Louisiana Downs opens.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part XIII. Wagering
Chapter 117.. Superfecta :
§11701. Superfecta .

A. The Superfecta is a form of pari-mutuel wagering
which consists of combining the four horses in a single race
that will subsequently finish first, second, third and fourth in
that race. It is not a parlay and has no connection with or
relation to any other pari-mutuel pool.

B. The net pool shall be awarded to ticket holders
according to the following priorities: -

1.. to those who select first-, second-, third- and fourth-

place finishers in order. If there are no such wagers; then

2. to those who select first-, second- and third-place
finishers in order. If there are no such wagers; then

3. to those who select first- and second-place finishers
in order. If there are no such wagers; then

4. to those who select the winner of the race. If there
are no such wagers; then

5. the entire pool shall be refunded to the participants in
the pool.

C. If less than four horses finish, and the race is declared
official by the stewards or judges, the payoff shall be made to
ticket holders selecting the finishing horses in order, ignoring
the balance of the selection.

D. In the event that more than one component of a ﬁeld or
entry are within the first four finishing positions, the member
of the field or entry closest to the finish shall determine the
winning position (first, second, third or fourth) for the field or
entry: The net pool shall be awarded to the ticket holders
whose selection of four horses agrees with the order of finish
within the race, including the field or entry in the winning
position as herein described and ignoring all other
components of the field or entry. The priorities set forth in
Subsection C of this Section shall apply.

E. Inthe event of a first place dead heat, the winners shall
be as follows:
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1. if four or more dead heat runners, all wagering
combinations of those four runners which agree with the four
dead heat runners;

2. if three dead heat runners, all wagering combinations
of those three runners which agree with the three dead heat
runners, and the fourth-place runner;

3. if two dead heat runners, all wagering combinations
of those two runners which agree with the two dead heat
runners, and the third- and fourth-place runners in order.

F. In the event of a second place dead heat, the winners
shall be as follows: '

1. if three or more dead heat runners, all wagering
combinations which correctly select first place, combined
with any three runners in the dead heat;

2. iftwo dead heat runners, all wagering combinations
which correctly select first place, combined with either of the
two dead heat runners, and the fourth-place runner.

G. In the event of a third place dead heat, the winners shall
be all those correctly selecting first- and second-place runners,
combined with any two of the dead heat runners.

H. In the event of a fourth place dead heat, the winners
shall be all those correctly selecting first-, second- and third-
place runners in order, combined with any dead heat runner.

I. Inthe event of dead heats where there is more than one
covered winning combination, those wagering pools shall be
combined then evenly split for the number of covered winning
combinations.

J. Ifno ticket is sold that would require distribution of the
net Superfecta pool to a winner as above defined, a full refund
of the Superfecta pool shall be made.

K. The minimum number of wagering interests required to
offer Superfecta wagering shall be eight. A late scratch after

wagering begins on that race will not cancel Superfecta

wagering.

L. The commission may approve Superfecta wagering on
a race with a purse of $200,000 or more where the number of
scheduled starters is less than eight.

M. If a horse is scratched or declared a nonstarter, no
further tickets may be issued designating such horse and all
Superfecta tickets previously issued designating such horse
shall be refunded and the money deducted from the gross
Superfecta pool.

N. Races in which Superfecta pools are conducted shall be
approved by the commission and shall be clearly designated
in the program.

O. This rule shall be prominently displayed throughout the
betting area of each track and distributed to patrons upon
request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:149-149.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 22:

Paul D. Burgess

- Executive Director
9605#013
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Bulletin 1868—Personnel Manual (LAC 28:1.922)

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education has
exercised those powers conferred by the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and readopted as an
emergency rule, Revised Bulletin 1868, BESE Personnel
Manual. Revisions to the manual were developed as a result
of federal and state mandates, board action, or reworded for
clarification as a result of using the manual. Bulletin 1868 is
being readopted as an emergency rule, effective May 27,
1996, in order to continue the policies until finalized as a rule.

Copies of this bulletin have been provided to all entities
under the jurisdiction of the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education and listed below:

1. each technical institute and regional management
center;

2. BESE's special schools—Louisiana School for the
Deaf, Louisiana School for the Visually Impaired, Louisiana
Special Education Center;

3. each site operated by Special School District Number
1

4. LA Association of Educators and LA Federation of
Teachers.

Bulletin 1868, BESE Personnel Manual may be seen in its
entirety in the Office of the State Register located on the fifth
floor of the Capitol Annex; in the Office of the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, located in the
Education Building in Baton Rouge or in the Office of
Vocational Education; or in the office of Special School
District Number 1 located in the State Department of
Education.

Bulletin 1868 is referenced in LAC 28:1.922 and amended
as stated below:

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part I. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
§922. Personnel Policies
A. Bulletin 1868

1. Revised Bulletin 1868, Personnel Manual of the State
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education is adopted by
the board. Policies in this bulletin apply to personnel under
the jurisdiction of the state board in the Board Special
Schools; in the entities comprising Special School District
Number 1; and in entities in the vocational-technical system,
exclusive of the assistant superintendent for Vocational
Education and related state department staff.

* %k Xk

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17.6,
R.S. 17:7(10), R.S. 17:81.4, R.S. 17:1941-1956; R.S. 17:1993.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education, LR 16:297 (April 1990), amended LR
16:957 (November 1990), LR 22:

(It should be noted that the clause "exclusive of the central
office staff" which appeared after Special School District
Number 1 has been eliminated from the bulletin. The salary
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schedule for technical institutes-has been deleted from the
bulletin.) ~ ‘

Carole Wallin

Executive Director
9605#041

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Environmental Qua‘lity ‘
Office of the Secretary

Land Disposal Restriction Variances
(LAC 33:V.2271)(HWO051)

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows
the Department of Environmental Quality (department) to use
emergency procedures to establish rules, and R.S. 30:2011
and R.S. 30:2193, which allow the department to provide for -
variances and exemptions from hazardous waste land disposal
restrictions by rule, the secretary of the department hereby
finds that imminent peril to the public welfare exists and
accordingly adopts the following emergency rule effective
April 23, 1996, for 120 days, or until promulgation of the
final rule, whichever occurs first.

This Declaration of Emergency is necessary because the
ability of certain underground injection well operators to
continue injection of wastewater, during the time period
necessary for the department to process their state petitions for
exemption under LAC 33:V.2242 (now LAC 33:V.2271), has
been put into question by the court’s decisions in In the
Matter of Rubicon, Inc., Number 95-CA-0108 (Ist Cir.
2/14/96), rehearing denied per curium (3/29/96), and in /n The
Matter of Cytec, Inc., Number 94-CA- 1693 (1st Cir. 2/23/96).
These decisions vacated and remanded the department’s
decisions to grant land disposal exemptions on strictly
procedural grounds, not on the merits of the department’s
actions. There are four other exemption decisions granted by
the department pending at the First Circuit.

Prior to the department’s decisions, these companies
operated their wells under an emergency variance granted
pursuant to LAC 33:V.2242. W under a Judgment and Consent
Decree entered in Louisiana Chemical Association v.
Department of Environmental Quality, 19th Judicial District
Court, Parish of East Baton Rouge, State of Louisiana, Suit
Number 345,262, which recognized the need for interim relief
during the period while the department processed -state
exemption petitions. This rule will confirm the legal authority
of the affected companies to operate under this emergency
variance during the time period necessary for the department
to reissue its decisions pursuant to the court’s directives.

This action is necessary because of the inability of the
department to complete:review, draft  written reasons and -
reissue its decision as directed by the court in each case by the
time the respective court of appeal’s decisions become final.
Affected companies are allowed to continue operation of their
injection wells until final action on remand is taken by the
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department and any subsequent appeal process has been
completed. This will preserve the status quo pending this
action by the department and is consistent with the original
intent of the emergency variance provisions of the Consent
Judgment.

Without the ability to continue injection during the time
period necessary for the department to reissue its decisions,
certain facilities would be forced to cease operations entirely,
or to close major units. All affected facilities would incur
substantial disruptions to their business operations, adversely
affecting the provisions of products or services. Closures
would cause severe adverse effects on the public welfare of
this state, including the loss of:

1. the employment of approximately 2,600 employees
and contractors at these facilities; and

2. at least $685 million per year in payroll expenses,
state and local taxes, purchase of goods and services, and

environmental regulatory fees, which would otherwise have

been paid to the State of Louisiana or its citizens.

All of the companies affected have received land disposal
restriction exemptions from the United States Environmental
Protection Agency as authorized by the Hazardous and Solid
Waste Amendments of 1984 and have received authorization
to operate their injection wells from the Louisiana Department
of Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, pursuant to the
Underground Injection Control (UIC) provisions of the
federal Safe Drinking Water Act. They will be required to
comply with all federal exemption conditions and State UIC
permit conditions as a condition of the state emergency
vatiance.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials
Subpart 1. Department of Environmental Quality—
Hazardous Waste
Chapter 22. Prohibitions on Land Disposal
§2271. Exemptions to Allow Land Disposal of a
Prohibited Waste by Deep Well Injections

% % %
[See Prior Text in A-V.5.j]
W. Emergency Variance
1. During the petition review process, the applicant is
required to comply with all prohibitions on land disposal
under this Chapter, unless a petition for an exemption has
been approved by the EPA, and the administrative authority

grants an emergency variance. If EPA has approved the

exemption, the land disposal of the waste may continue for up
to one year under an emergency variance issued by the
administrative authority until the administrative authority
makes a decision on the petition for exemption. The
administrative authority may extend an emergency variance
beyond one year; however, such approval is solely based on
the agency’s inability to review the petition during the first
one-year variance. The administrative authority shall either
grant or deny the petition within the extended emergency
variance period, no later than June 1, 1995, for petitions
submitted prior to June 1, 1992. After the administrative
authority issues a decision on the exemption, the waste may
be land disposed only in accordance with the provision of the
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exemption.

2. Ifthe exemption decision is vacated and/or remanded
by a court on judicial review, the emergency variance shall be
automatically reinstated and shall remain in effect until final
action on the remand is taken by the administrative authority
and any subsequent appeal process has been completed.

% % %k
[See Prior Text in X-Z]
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 22:22 (January 1996), amended by
the Department of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary
LR 22:

J. Dale Givens

Secretary
9605#012

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Sanitary Code—Molluscan Shell Stock (Chapter 1X)

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et. seq., the secretary of the Department of Health and
Hospitals has adopted the following emergency rule
governing the harvesting and refrigeration of molluscan
shellfish. : :

This emergency adoption is necessary because there is
imminent peril to the public health and safety. The rule is
devised to reduce the risk of Vibrio vulnificus infection from
eating raw oysters by requiring rapid cooling of shellstock
after harvest. Adoption of this rule is necessary for the
Commercial Seafood Sanitation Program to be in compliance
with the minimum requirements of the National Shellfish
Sanitation Program, which is administered by the U.S. Food
and Drug Administration.

The effective date of this rule is May 1, 1996 and shall .

remain in effect for 120 days or until this rule takes effect
through the normal promulgation process.
Emergency Rule
Chapter IX. Seafood
* % %k
9:052 Refrigeration of Shell-stock Oysters, Clams and
Mussels

Shell-stock shall be placed under mechanical refrigeration
at an air temperature (measured 12 inches from the blower)
not to exceed 45° F within 2 hours after docking of a harvest
vessel, and shall be maintained at or below that temperature
throughout all levels of commerce. Shell-stock harvested for
raw consumption and/or for shucking by a certified dealer
during the months November through March shall be subject
to the following time to refrigeration requirements:

A. NOVEMBER—Shell-stock shall be refrigerated within
24 hours from the time harvesting begins.
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B. DECEMBER through MARCH—Shell-stock shall be
refrigerated within 36 hours from the time harvesting begins.
9:052-1 Refrigeration Requirements for Shell-stock

Harvested for Raw Consumption During the
Months April Through October

Time to refrigeration requirements for shell-stock harvested
for raw consumption during the months April through October
shall be based on the average monthly growing water
temperatures as calculated and announced by the Office of
Public Health Molluscan Shellfish Program according to the
following schedule:

A. Water Temperature: 65° F to 74° F—Shell-stock shall
be placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature
not to exceed 45° F within 14 hours from the time harvesting
begins.

B. Water Temperature: >74° F to 84 ° F—Shell-stock shall
be placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature
not to exceed 45° F within 12 hours from the time harvesting
begins.

C. Water Temperature: > 84° F—Shell-stock shall be
placed under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature
not to exceed 45° F within 6 hours from the time harvesting
begins.

A Harvester-Dealer Time/Temperature Log Sheet (see
Table I) shall be completed by both the harvester and first
certified dealer to document compliance with time to
refrigeration requirements during the April through October
time period. Log sheets shall be maintained for a period of
one year and made readily available for inspection by agents
of the Department of Health and Hospitals, Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries and the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration. Log sheets for the current and previous 15
days harvest shall be kept aboard the harvest vessel for
immediate examination.

9:052-2 Refrigeration Requirements for Shell-stock
Harvested for Shucking by a Certified Dealer
During the Months April Through October

Time to refrigeration requirements for shell-stock harvested
for shucking by a certified dealer during the months April
through October shall be as follows:

A. All shell-stock shall be placed under mechanical
refrigeration at an air temperature not to exceed 45° F no
later than 12 Midnight each day.

B. A Harvester-Dealer Time/Temperature Log Sheet (see
Table I) shall be completed by both the harvester and first
certified dealer to document compliance with time to
refrigeration requirements during the April through October
time period. Log sheets shall be maintained for a period of
one year and made readily available for inspection by agents
of the Department of Health and Hospitals, Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries and the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration. Log sheets for the current and previous 15
days harvest shall be kept aboard the harvest vessel for
immediate examination.

C. Dealer/harvester tags utilized to identify shell-stock
harvested for shucking by a certified dealer shall be stamped
with the following wording in "neon green" letters: "FOR
SHUCKING BY A CERTIFIED DEALER."
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9:052-3 General Provisions

A. Shell-stock harvested for delivery to a steam factory for
canning and thermal processing shall be landed at the factory
within 72 hours from the time harvesting begins. The time
harvesting begins and the time of arrival at the factory shall be
recorded on the harvester’s invoice.

B. Ifaharvester elects to fish both shell-stock intended for
raw consumption and for shucking by a certified dealer on the
same day, it shall be his responsibility to properly separate
and identify the two types of shell-stock.

C. Except for deliveries made to a shellfish dealer certified
by the office of public health for inclusion on the U.S. Food
and Drug Administration's Interstate Shellfish Shippers List
and located less than 30 minutes from dockside, all land based
deliveries of shell-stock shall be made aboard mechanically
refrigerated trucks with an internal air temperature of 45° F or
less as measured 12 inches from the blower. For shipments by
air, an internal meat temperature of 45° F or less shall be
maintained at all times. To accomplish this it shall be
necessary to pre-chill shell-stock to an internal temperature of
40° F or less prior to being packed into insulated boxes with
frozen gel packs.

D. When shell-stock are temporarily off- loaded for any
reason, storage must be on pallets or on a well graded paved
surface, with direct exposure to the sun limited to no more
than 30 minutes.

E. Alternate designs for the Harvester-Dealer
Time/Temperature Log Sheet as depicted in Table I may be
submitted for consideration and approval to the Office of
Public Health.

9:052-4 Penalties

Shell-stock not produced in accordance with the
requirements outlined in 9:052 through 9:052-3 shall be
deemed adulterated and shall be subject to seizure and
destruction.

TABLE I
HARVESTER-DEALER TIME/TEMPERATURE
LOG SHEET

Harvester Information:
BOAT NAME/NUMBER:
HARVESTER NAME/ LICENSE NUMBER:
HARVESTER SIGNATURE DATE:

Molluscan shellfish harvested for other than raw (half shell)

consumption:

HARVESTING AREA/LEASE NUMBER:
PRODUCT INTENDED FOR OTHER THAN RAW CONSUMPTION:

CIRCLE ONE:

BEDDING

SHUCKING RELAYING OTHER (EXPLAIN)

TIME HARVESTING BEGINS:
TIME HARVESTING ENDS:
NUMBER OF SACKS OF OYSTERS HARVESTED:
Molluscan shellfish harvested for raw (half shell) consumption:
HARVESTING AREA/LEASE NUMBER:
TIME HARVESTING BEGINS:
NUMBER OF SACKS OF OYSTERS HARVESTED:
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Certified Dealer Information:

TEMPERATURE OF COOLER WHEN UNLOADING OYSTERS
BEGINS:

TIME WHEN LAST OYSTERS FROM BOAT ARE PLACED IN
COOLER:

TEMPERATURE OF COOLER WHEN LAST OYSTERS FROM THE
BOAT ARE PLACED IN COOLER:

ORIGINAL CERTIFIED DEALER SIGNATURE:

(OR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE)

DATE:
* % X
Bobby T. Jindal
Secretary
9605#010

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Professional Services Program—Neonatology Services

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has adopted
the following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title
XIX of the Social Security Act. This emergency rule is
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or
until adoption of the rule, whichever occurs first.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
Services Financing reimburses neonatology services
according to established per diem rates for applicable
Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes.
Effective July 7, 1995 and October 28, 1995 (Louisiana
Register, Volume 21, Numbers 7 and 11) the bureau reduced
the per diem rates for the following procedure codes to the
following amounts:

- CPT code 99295 - $323.90
- CPT code 99296 - $190.20
- CPT code 99297 - $150.10
- CPT code 99297-52 ("step-down" babies) - $60.04.

The department subsequently determined that it was
necessary to make an adjustment in the above per diem rates
in order to meet federal assurance requirements that there are
a sufficient number of Medicaid providers for the delivery of
these services. Therefore, effective January 21, 1996 the
department adopted the following adjusted per diem rates for
the neonatology procedure codes specified above.

Continuation of this January 1996 emergency rule is
necessary to maintain the cost savings initiative for these
services and thereby avoid a budget deficit in the medical
assistance programs while also assuring an adequate number
of providers for these services.

Emergency Rule
Effective for dates of service of May 19, 1996 and after, the
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Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
Services Financing adopts the following per diem rates for
neonatology services according to the amounts listed for each
of the following procedure codes:

- CPT code 99295 - $596.46

- CPT code 99296 - $279.52

- CPT code 99297 - $143.42

- CPT code 99297-52 ("step-down" babies) - $57.37

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#046

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Reimbursement Methodology for Private
Nursing Facility Services

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following emergency rule in the Medicaid Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to the Social Security
Act. This emergency rule is in accordance with the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

The Bureau of Health Services Financing established the
prospective reimbursement methodology for private nursing
facility services effective August 1, 1984 by rule as published
in the June 20, 1994 issue of the Louisiana Register (Volume
10, Number 6, pages 467-468). This methodology utilizes a
base rate determined according to a uniform recipient Level
of Care designation (Intermediate Care-I, Intermediate Care-I1
and Skilled Nursing) which is adjusted by specific economic
indices. Subsequently, the provisions of nursing home reform
as mandated by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1987 were established by rule in the December 20, 1990 issue
of the Louisiana Register (Volume 16, Number 12, page
1061). In addition, subsequent rules have been adopted for
specialized nursing facility Levels of Care for specific patient
types (SN-Infectious Disease, SN- Technology Dependent
Care and SN-Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment
Program).

The Department of Health and Hospitals adopted the
following rule through emergency rulemaking as published in
the Louisiana Register, January, May, September and
December, 1995 (Volume 21, Numbers 1, 5, 9 and 12). This
emergency rule repeals the August 1, 1984 rule and adopts
provisions to govern private nursing facility services which
re-establish a prospective cost-related methodology based on
specific cost categories for each Level of Care and specifies
the inflationary adjustment mechanism or recalculation
period. Within this framework the following changes are
included: the new categories consist of three direct and five
indirect resident care costs and the incentive factor; the annual
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wage for nonsupervisory service workers is deleted as a single
component but the following categories where these and other
costs are incorporated, i.e., housekeeping/linen/laundry, other
dietary, plant operation and maintenance, administrative and
general are established; nursing services cost are limited to
one category. This revision of the methodology represents an
improved and more efficient manner for determining cost
factors reimbursable under the Medicaid Program. The
calculation of the incentive factor remains at 5 percent but
excludes building costs from the computation. The
percentiles to be utilized are changed from the single current
60th percentile to the following percentiles: direct resident
care costs (80th); indirect resident care costs are at the 60th
percentile except housekeeping/linen/laundry (70th). The
required nursing service hours remain at the current levels: the
intermediate care levels one and two remain at 2.35, and the
skilled nursing level continues to be 2.6. Also, the current
rules for specialized levels of nursing facility care, i.e.,
Technology Dependent Care, Infectious Disease, and the
Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program are not
revised in the following rule.

The Department of Health and Hospitals now finds it
necessary to continue in force the emergency rule through
May 31, 1996 in order to allow additional time for input from
affected parties.

Emergency Rule

Effective April 24, 1996, the Bureau -of Health Services
Financing repeals the August 1, 1984 rule governing
reimbursement for private nursing facility services and adopts
the following methodology and provisions to govern
reimbursement of these services for Medicaid
recipients. Reimbursement for the nursing home reform
requirements of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1987 are incorporated in the following methodology and
provisions. Costs are determined based upon audited and or
desk reviewed cost reports to calculate the new base rate
components.

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR PRIVATE
NURSING FACILITIES

A. General Provisions

1. The bureau has designated a system of prospective
payment amounts based on recipient Levels of
Care: Intermediate Care I (IC-I); Intermediate Care II (IC-1I);
Skilled Nursing (SN); Skilled Nursing/Infectious Disease (SN/
ID) and Skilled Nursing/Technology Dependent Care (SN/
TDC); Neurological Rehabilitation Treatment Program
(NRTP), which includes Rehabilitation Services; and
Complex Care Services.

2. Facilities may furnish services to patients of more than
one classification of care. Every nursing facility provider must
meet the nursing home reform requirements of OBRA 1987.

3. Determination of Limits. Cost limits will be
established based on a statistical analysis of industry data to
assure that total payments under the plan will not exceed Title
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XVIII reimbursement. The ceiling limitation on reasonable
cost will be set at a level the state determines adequate to
reimburse an efficiently operating facility. Incentive for
efficient operation will be allowed as a profit opportunity for
providers who provide required services at a cost below the
industry average.

4. Maximum Rate. The state will make payment at the
statewide rate for the patient Level of Care provided or the
provider's customary charge to the public, whichever is lower.

B. Cost Determination

1. Definitions
a. Consumer Price Indices

CPIl-Administrative and General—the Consumer
Price Index - South Region (All Items line) as published by
the United States Department of Labor.

CPI-Housekeeping/Linen/Laundry—the Consumer
Price Index for All Urban Consumers - South Region (All
Items line) as published by the United States Department of
Labor.

CPI-Nursing Services—the Consumer Price Index for
All Urban Consumers - South Region (Medical Care Services
line) as published by the United States Department of Labor.

CPI-Other Dietary—the Consumer Price Index for
All Urban Consumers - South Region (All Items line) as
published by the United States Department of Labor.

CPI-Plant Operation and Maintenance—the
Consumer Price Index - South Region (All Items line) as
published by the United States Department of Labor.

CPI-Raw Food—the Consumer Price Index for All
Urban Consumers - South Region (Food line) as published by
the United States Department of Labor.

CPI-Recreation—the Consumer Price Index for All
Urban Consumers - South Region (All Items line) as
published by the United States Department of Labor.

b. Economic Adjustment Factors. Each of the above
economic adjustment factors is computed by dividing the
value of the corresponding index for December of the year
preceding the rate year by the value of the index one year
earlier (December of the second preceding year).

c. Rate Year. The rate year is the one-year period from
July 1 through June 30 of the next calendar year during which
a particular set of rates is in effect. It corresponds to a state
fiscal year.

d. Base Rate. The base rate is the rate calculated in
accordance with B.3.b.

e. Base Rate Components. The base rate is the
summation of the components shown in Table I. Each base
rate component is intended to reimburse for the costs
indicated by its name.

2. Table I. Base Rate Components
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A B . C
Preceding Rate Year Economic New Base
Base Rate Component Adjustment Rate
Factor Component
DIRECT RESIDENT
CARE COSTS:
Nursing Services CPI - Medical New NSCC
(NSCC) Care Services
Raw Food (RFCC) CPI - Food New RFCC
Recreational (RCC) CPI - All Items | New RCC
INDIRECT RESIDENT
CARE COSTS:
Housekeeping/Linen/ CPI- All Items New HLLCC
Laundry (HLLCC)
Other Dietary (ODCC) CPI - All Items | New ODCC
Plant Operation and CPI - All Items | New POMCC
Maintenance (POMCC)
Administrative and CPI - All Items | New AGCC
General (AGCC)
Building Costs ' (BCC) Recompute New BCC
annually
Incentive Factor * (IF) Recompute NEW IF
annually

! The base rate is established computing an average fair rental value on
nursing home beds as follows:

Step 1. Base Value of a Nursing Home Bed. The base value of
a nursing facility bed is determined by the median value of the cost of a
nursing home bed, adjusted for Louisiana, as published in the Building
Construction Cost Data by R.S. Means for the previous rate year and then
adjusted for occupancy. The adjustment for Louisiana is computed by
multiplying the median value by the simple average of the adjustment
factors listed for Louisiana metropolitan areas. This result is then divided by
a statewide occupancy factor based on the LTC2 for the third quarter of the
preceding calendar year.

Step 2. Rental Value. The base value as computed above is
multiplied by 150% of the 30 year Treasury Bill Rate as of December 31,
1993. The result of this computation is then converted to a daily rental
value rate.

2 The Incentive Factor component is computed based on 5% of the sum
of the base rate components excluding the Building Cost Component.

3. Base Rate Determination and Percentile Levels. Rate
determination is made according to a uniform recipient Level
of Care rate which is adjusted annually from the base rate
using the economic indices specified in the plan. In all
calculations, the base rate and the base rate components will
be rounded to the nearest one cent (two decimal places) and
the Economic Adjustment Factors will be rounded to four
decimal places.

a. Determination of Inflation Adjustment Factor. The
determination of the inflation adjustment factor is based on
the Consumer Price Index (CPI) as described in Section B.1.b.

b. Calculation of Base Rate. Separate daily rates will
be calculated for each recipient Level of Care (IC-I, IC-1I, and
SN). The rate for each Level of Care will be set at an amount
which the state determines is reasonable to reimburse
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adequately in full the allowable cost of providing care in a
provider facility that is economically and efficiently
operated. The rate for each Level of Care will be recalculated
each year and will be effective for July services. The rate for
each Level of Care shall be calculated by multiplying each
specific rate component by the corresponding economic
adjustment factor as specified in Table I. The nursing services
component of the base rate differs by the Level of Care as a
result of the minimum number of nursing hours required for
the Level of Care as mandated by the Standards for Payment
for Nursing Facility Services as follows intermediate care
levels one and two 2.35 and skilled nursing 2.6.

c. The following percentiles are used in calculating the
base rate:

direct resident care costs 80th
housekeeping/linen/laundry 70th
other indirect resident care costs exclusive

of building costs and incentive factor 60th

A percentile factor is not applicable to the building costs and
incentive component.

d. Base Value of a Nursing Facility Bed. The base
value of a nursing facility bed is determined by the median
value of the cost of a nursing home bed, adjusted for
Louisiana, as published in the Building Construction Cost
Data by R.S. Means for the previous rate year and then
adjusted for occupancy. The adjustment for Louisiana is
computed by multiplying the median value by the simple
average of the adjustment factors listed for Louisiana
metropolitan areas. This result is then divided by statewide

occupancy factor based on the LTC2 for the third quarter of

the preceding calendar year.

e. Rental Value. The base value as computed above is
multiplied by 150 percent of the 30-year Treasury Bill Rate as
of December 31, 1993. The result of this computation is then
converted to a daily rental value rate.

f. Incentive Factor. The incentive factor component is
computed based on 5 percent of the sum of the base rate
components excluding the Building Cost Component.

g. Annualization

i. Base Rate Components. After formal adoption
of the new rate, the components computed above will become
the base rate components used in calculating the next year's
new rate, unless they are adjusted as provided in Section B.4
and B.5.

ii. New Base Rate Components. The base rate
components are adjusted annually (each rate year) by the
economic adjustment factors as listed in Table I. This
computation is performed by multiplying the preceding year
base rate component (Table I, Column A) multiplied by the
applicable economic adjustment factor (Table I, Column
B). The product becomes the new base rate component. The
building cost component and the return on equity factor are
recomputed annually as described in the footnotes to Table 1.

4. Interim Adjustment to Rates. If an unanticipated
change in conditions occurs which affects the cost of a Level
of Care of at least 50 percent of the enrolled nursing homes
providing that Level of Care by an average of 5 percent or
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more, the rate may be changed. The Bureau of Health
Services Financing will determine whether or not the rates
should be changed when requested to do so by 10 percent or
more of the enrolled nursing homes, or an organization
representing at least 10 percent of the enrolled nursing homes
providing the Level of Care for which the rate change is
sought. The burden of proof as to the extent and cost effect of
the unanticipated change will rest with the entities requesting
the change. In computing the costs, all capital expenditures
will be converted to interest and depreciation. The Bureau of
Health Services Financing, however, may initiate a rate
change without a request to do so. Changes to the rates may
be one of two types:

a. temporary adjustments; or

b. base rate adjustments as described below:

i. Temporary Adjustment. Temporary adjustments

do not affect the base rate used to calculate new rates.

(a). Changes that will be reflected in the
economic indices. Temporary adjustments may be made
when changes which will eventually be reflected in the
economic indices occur after the end of the period covered by
the index, i.e., after the December preceding the rate
calculation. Temporary adjustments are effective only until
the next annual base rate calculation.

(b). Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum
adjustments may be made when the event causing the
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay. Such
adjustments shall be subject to BHSF review and approval of
costs prior to reimbursement. These changes are usually
specific to Federal Register changes or "Standards for
Payment Changes" which result in a significant one time cost
impact on the facility. In the event of an adjustment, the
providers will be responsible for submitting to the bureau
documentation to support the need for lump sum adjustment
and related cost data upon which the bureau can calculate
reimbursement.

ii. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment
will result in a new base rate component or a new base rate
component value which will be used to calculate the new rate
for the next year. A base rate adjustment may be made when
the event causing the adjustment is not one that would be
reflected in the indices.

C. Filing of Cost Reports

1. Providers of nursing home services under Title XIX
are required to file annual cost reports for evaluation for each
patient Level of Care for which services were rendered during
the year. A chart of accounts and an accounting system on the
accrual basis are used in the evaluation process.

2. The bureau's personnel or its contractual representative
will perform desk reviews of the cost reports within six
months of the date of submittal. In addition to the desk
review, a representative number of the facilities are subject to
a full-scope, on-site audit annually.

3. Cost reports will be compared by the Bureau of Health
Services Financing to the rates calculated by this methodology
at least every three years to insure that the rates remain
reasonably related to costs. When indicated by such
comparison, base rate component and the overall base rate
will be adjusted to reflect cost experience.
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a. Initial Reporting. The initial cost report submitted
by Title XIX providers of long term care services must be
based on the most recent fiscal year end. The report must
contain costs for the 12 month fiscal year.

b. Subsequent Reports. Cost reports shall be submitted
annually by each provider within 90 days of the close of the
facility's normal fiscal year end. Cost reports filed subsequent
to interim rate adjustments may be used to validate an interim
rate adjustment.

4.  Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the report
requirement will be considered on an individual facility basis
upon written request from the provider to Department of
Health and Hospitals, Chief, Health Standards Section. If an
exception is allowed, providers must attach a statement
describing fully the nature of the exception for which written
permission has been requested and granted prior to filing of
the cost report. Exceptions which may be allowed with
written approval are as follows:

a. For the initial reporting period only, the provider
may allocate costs to the various cost centers on a reasonable
basis if the required itemized cost breakdown is not available.

b. If the facility has been purchased, leased or has
effected major changes in the accounting system as an on-
going concern within the past 12 months, a six-month
cost report may be filed in lieu of the required 12-month
report. ’

c. Ifthe facility experiences unavoidable difficulties in
preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests
for exception must contain full statement of the cause of
difficulties which rendered timely preparation of the cost
report impossible.

d. If a facility is new, it will not be required to file a
cost report for rate setting purposes until one full operating
year is completed.

5. Sales of Facilities

a. In the event of the sale of a Title XIX facility, the
seller is required to submit a cost report from the date of its
last fiscal year end to the date of sale.

b. If the purchaser continues the operation of the
facility as a provider of Title XIX services, he is required to
furnish an initial cost report covering the date of purchase to
the end of the facility fiscal year under his
ownership. Thereafter, the facility will file a cost report
annually on the purchaser's designated fiscal year end.

EXAMPLE: Mr. X purchased facility J from Mr. Q on
September 1, 1993. Facility J's fiscal year end, prior to purchase,
was 12/31/93. Mr. Q is required to file a cost report for the
period 1/1/93 through the period 8/31/93. If Mr. X decides to
change facility J's fiscal year end to 6/30/93, his first report will
be due for the nine month period ending 6/30/94, and annually
thereafter. NOTE: Facilities purchased as on<going concerns are
not considered new facilities for cost reporting purposes.

6. New Facilities

a. For cost reporting purposes a new facility is defined
as a newly constructed facility. A new facility is paid the
applicable patient Level of Care rates. A new facility is not
required to file a cost report for rate setting purposes until one
full operating year has been completed.

b. A facility purchased as an on-going concern is not
considered a new facility for reimbursement rate
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determination. Cost data shall be submitted as required for
the original ownership. Any additional costs, such as
increased depreciation, interest, etc., will be reflected in the
future year's per diem rates only.

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#008

- DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Vaccines for Children Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has adopted
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to the Social Security
Act. This emergency rule is in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. It shall
remain in effect for the maximum period allowed by the act or
until adoption of the rule, whichever occurs first.

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, Public
Law 103-66 Section 13631 created the Pediatric Vaccine
Distribution Program (known as the Vaccines for Children
Program) which became effective October 1, 1994, but was
not mandated until October, 1995. OBRA 1993 added a new
Section 1928 to the Social Security Act which requires that
states establish a program for the purchase and distribution of
pediatric vaccines to providers qualified under and registered
with the program for the purpose of immunizing children
eligible under the act. One of the federally mandated groups
of children who are entitled to receive immunizations without
charge for the cost of vaccines to their parents/guardians are
Medicaid eligible children. Therefore, the Medicaid Program
is required to reimburse qualified and registered providers for
the administration of the immunization to Medicaid eligible
children. The U. S. Health and Human Services’ Center for
Disease Control and the Office of Public Health within the
Department of Health and Hospitals are responsible for the
distribution of these vaccines to private providers who are
registered and qualified under the federal requirements to
receive and administer these vaccines. At this time the Office
of Public Health is able to distribute these vaccines to their
public health units and the federally qualified health centers,
as well as to private providers.

An emergency rule was initially adopted on January 20,
1995 (Louisiana Register, Volume 21, Number 1) and
readopted in May and September, 1995 (Louisiana Register,
Volume 21, Numbers 5 and 9) and January 1996 (Louisiana
Register, Volume 22, Number 1). This emergency rule is
being continued in force to provide for the continuation of the
Vaccines for Children Program and the implementing
regulations in order to comply with federal law and thereby
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avoid possible sanctions or penalties by the federal
government.
Emergency Rule
Effective May 14, 1996, the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services
Financing establishes the Medicaid Vaccines for Children
Program whereby the bureau will reimburse qualified and
registered providers only for the administration of the
pediatric vaccines. This program has been instituted through
a phase-in process to allow for the distribution of these
vaccines on a statewide basis to both public and private
providers. Initial distribution was only to the Office of Public
Health Units and Federally Qualified Health Centers and
private providers have now been phased in. The Medicaid
Program will no longer pay for the vaccines, only
administration, effective for date of service April 1, 1996.
The following provisions govern the reimbursement of
pediatric vaccines under the Medicaid Vaccines for Children
Program.
1. A qualified and registered provider must:
A. be a licensed health care provider who has authority
under Louisiana state law to administer pediatric vaccines;
B. be an enrolled Medicaid provider and an enrolled
Vaccines for Children Program provider; and
C. not have been found by the Health Care Financing
Administration or Louisiana to have violated a provider
agreement or other applicable requirements.
2. Medicaid reimbursement for the administration cost of
the pediatric vaccines is $9.45 for the first year and this rate
will be inflated by the "Medical - All Items line" of the
Consumer Price Index (CPI) for each of the succeeding two
years; and
A. isprovided only for Medicaid eligible children; and
B. shall be made only for the administration of
vaccines in accordance with the immunization schedule
adopted by the National Academy of Pediatrics as required by
the KIDMED Program under the Medicaid Program.
3. Medicaid reimbursement for the cost of the pediatric
vaccines administered to Medicaid-eligible children is $9.45
for the administration cost.
4. The pediatric vaccines included under the Medicaid
Vaccines for Children's Program include the following:
A. DTaP-Diphtheria, Tetanus and acellular Pertussis;
B. DTP-Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis;

MMR-Measles, Mumps and Rubella;

. Poliovirus;

Hep B - Hepatitis B;

HIB - Hemophilus Influenza B;

. Td - Tetanus diphtheria;

. DTP - HIB combination vaccine.

T QmMmon

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#039
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Treasury
Housing Finance Agency

Selection Criteria to Award HOME Funds
(LAC 16:11.105)

The Housing Finance Agency, in accordance with R.S.
40:600.6(A)(4), has exercised the emergency rule provision
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, to adopt the
following emergency rule regarding the Selection Criteria to
Award HOME Funds to Affordable Rental Housing Projects.
This emergency rule became effective April 24, 1996 and
shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days or until a final
rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first.

Emergency rulemaking is necessary because there are
financing commitments that are necessary to be entered into
in order to construct, acquire, rehabilitate and equip housing
for low and very low income households. The funding rounds
that are established for the federal Low Income Housing Tax
Credit Program are well established and that the federal
HOME funding round must parallel the funding of the Low
Income Housing Tax Credit Program in order to avoid the loss
of affordable housing units in the state of Louisiana. The rule
is necessary in order to adjust the agency’s selection criteria
to better address the housing needs identified in the State of
Louisiana’s Consolidated Plan.

Title 16
COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
Part II. Housing Finance Agency
Chapter 1. HOME Investment Partnership Program
§105. Selection Criteria to Award HOME Funds for
Affordable Rental Housing

Applications for HOME Funds will be rated in accordance
with the selection criteria (Appendix IX) for which the
applicant must initially indicate that the project qualifies.

Appendix IX
Selection Criteria to Award HOME Funds
to Affordable Rental Housing Projects
The applicant hereby requests priority consideration based
upon the project satisfying one or more of the following

conditions (minimum threshold of 75 points required):
POINTS

(A) Leverage Ratio for Each HOME Dollar
Minimum Other Dollars

$1 0
$2 20
$3 25
$4 30
$5 35
$6 40
$7 45
$8 50
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(B) Project to reconstruct or rehabilitate substandard
housing units to minimum quality standards with total funds
per unit not exceeding:

$ 2,500 50
$ 5,000 40
$ 7,500 30
$10,000 20
$15,000 10

(C) Project to rehabilitate housing units of historic or
architectural significance:
25
(D) Project to rehabilitate or create housing units serving
special needs groups (check one or more):
Elderly/Handicapped
Homeless
Physically Disabled
Mentally Disabled
HIV/AIDS
(i) 100 percent of units serve or 50 units serve special
needs group 25
(ii) 50 percent or 25 units serve special needs group
15
(iii) 25 percent or 15 units serve special needs group
10
(E) Project serves large families percentage of units having
four or more bedrooms:

(i) 5 percent but less than 10 percent 10
(ii) 10 percent but less than 15 percent 15
(iii) 15 percent but less than 20 percent 25
(F) Project involves lease to own program 50

(G) Project located in qualified census tract/difficult to
develop:
Area or RECD target area 50
(H) Project to provide supportive services (attach
description of supportive services to be provided and identify
source of funding) 40
(I) Developer fees are less than 10 percent of total
development cost under subsidy:
Layering review guidelines 25
(J) Project involves local nonprofit or CHDO as co-
developer: 25

TOTAL

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:600.1 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Treasury, Housing Finance Agency, LR 19:908 (July 1993),
amended LR 21:959 (September 1995), LR 22:

V. Jean Butler
President
9605#009
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

Southern Flounder Commercial Harvest

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act; R.S. 49:967
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency
procedures to set finfish seasons; and R.S. 56:325.4 which
provides that the secretary of the department must declare a
closed season when it is determined that the spawning
potential ratio of flounder is below 30 percent; and R.S.
56:317 which allows the secretary to close a fishing season or
restrict fishing in the closed season in any manner deemed
advisable upon securing evidence that the fish in state waters
have been depleted through overfishing or that fishing is
detrimental to the interest of the state, the secretary of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries found that an imminent
peril to the public welfare existed and adopted by emergency
rule a statewide closure of the commercial harvest and
possession of southern flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma)
from May 1, 1996 until May 1, 1997.

However, the secretary has determined since the
promulgation of the above declaration of emergency that the
closure should be modified to allow persons aboard vessels
which contain legal commercial fishing gear, other than strike
nets, to possess and sell up to the daily possession limit of 10
southern flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma). Additionally,
‘the closure should take into account the disposition of two
classes of legally harvested commercial flounder. The
secretary finds that an imminent peril to the public welfare
would exist if this rule is not adopted effective May 1, 1996
concurrently with the previously referenced declaration of
emergency.

1. The initial declaration of emergency did not, but should
have contained a provision allowing for the possession and
sale of southern flounder legally taken prior to the May 1
closure. Such a provision should be included and should take
effect concurrently with the closure.

2. The initial declaration of emergency did not contain a
provision to allow for the possession and sale of southern
flounder legally imported into the state from other states or
foreign countries. Such a provision should take effect
concurrently with the closure.

3. Since the initial declaration of emergency, the Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission has acted to impose a recreational
daily take and possession limit of 10 fish effective May 1,
1996. This in and of itself makes the closure of the
commercial fishery more enforceable and at the same time
offers an opportunity for a limited commercial fishery
without, in the opinion of the secretary, doing harm to the
resource.

4. 1t is important that the provisions contained within this
declaration of emergency take effect concurrently with the
closure so that fishermen and department enforcement agents
will not be faced with the confusion and other problems
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associated with enforcement of three varying sets of
regulations within a 120-day period. Promulgation of these
provisions concurrently with the closure will allow the closure
to take effect together with those provisions which the
secretary deems necessary for fairness, enforceability and
biological monitoring purposes.

5. Promulgation of these provisions will mean that
biological data as well as data on the commercial fishermen
harvesting southern flounder will be continuously available
from the limited commercial fishery. Fishery dependent and
fishery independent data sources are essential to
understanding the status of flounder fishery stocks and to
identify causes of changes in stock abundances.

Therefore, in accordance with R.S. 49:953.B, 49:967,
56:317 and 56:6, the secretary does hereby promulgate this
emergency rule as follows: )

Other provisions of law notwithstanding, a properly
licensed commercial vessel which contains legal commercial
fishing gear, other than strike nets, may have on board up to
a daily possession limit of 10 southern flounder (Paralichthys
lethostigma) per person on board. A properly licensed
commercial fisherman who is not on a vessel and who is using
legal gear, other than strike nets, may possess up to a daily
possession limit of 10 southern flounder (Paralichthys
lethostigma). Southern flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma)
legally possessed under this rule may be purchased, bartered,
traded, exchanged or sold. ,

Other provisions of law notwithstanding, nothing shall
prohibit the possession or sale of southern flounder
(Paralichthys lethostigma) legally taken prior to the closure
providing that all commercial dealers possessing southern
flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma) taken legally prior to the
closure shall maintain appropriate records in accordance with
R.S. 56:306.4.

Effective with this rule, in addition to all records otherwise
required by law, wholesale/retail dealers shall maintain
records indicating the number and poundage of southern
flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma) for each transaction when
southern flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma) are acquired,
possessed or transferred.

Commercial dealers possessing southern flounder
(Paralichthys lethostigma) legally imported into the state shall
maintain appropriate records in accordance with other
provisions of law. The effective date of this declaration of
emergency shall be May 1, 1996.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Secretary
9605#004
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

1996 Inshore Spring Shrimp Season

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure




Act, which allow the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons, and R.S.
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each year
for all inside waters and shall have the authority to open or
close outside waters, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
does hereby set the 1996 Spring Inshore Shrimp Season to
open as follows:

Zone 1: that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the
Mississippi state line to the eastern shore of South Pass of the
Mississippi River, to open at 6 a.m., May 29, 1996; and

Zone 2: that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the
eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River westward
to the western shore of Vermillion Bay and Southwest Pass at
Marsh Island, to open at 6 a.m., May 29,1996; and

Zone 3: that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the
western shore of Vermillion Bay and Southwest Pass at Marsh
Island westward to the Texas state line, to open at 6 a.m., May
29, 1996.

The commission also hereby grants to the secretary of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the authority to close
any zone or portion of the state's water to protect small white
shrimp if biological and technical data indicate the need to do
so, or enforcement problems develop.

Glynn Carver
Chairman
9605#022

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Oyster Season Extension

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and 967, and
under the authority of R.S. 56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:433 and R.S.
56:435.1, notice is hereby given that the secretary of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission hereby declares:

1. the oyster season on the public oyster grounds are to
be reopened and extended to one-half hour after sunset April
30, 1996;

2. the Bay Junop Oyster Seed Reservations will remain
closed during this extension.

Glynn Carver
Chairman
9605#002
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Southern Flounder Recreational Harvest (LAC 76:VII.353)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby
exercise the emergency provision of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and 49:967(D), and pursuant
to its authority under R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 56:326.1 and 56:326.3
adopts the rule set forth below. This emergency rule is
necessary to expedite the enforceability and effectiveness of
regulations' on the commercial flounder fishery, which
becomes effective May 1, 1996. 1t is therefore in the best
interest of the state, and appropriate that these regulations be
enacted concurrently, thereby requiring emergency action.

This emergency rule shall be effective on May 1, 1996 and
shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under
the Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final
rule, whichever occurs first.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery
§353. Recreational Harvest of Southern Flounder

The daily take and possession limit for the recreational
taking of southern flounder (Paralichthys lethostigma) caught
within or without Louisiana waters shall be 10 fish per day
and in possession.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:6(25)(a), 56:326.1 and 56:326.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 22:

Glynn Carver

Chairman
9605#003 ’

Rules

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Bulletin 741—Handbook for School Administrators

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education has adopted numerous
amendments to Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School
Administrators.
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Any standard(s) affected by inserting a new standard will be
renumbered accordingly.

Complete text of the amendments to Bulletin 741 are
available at a cost of $2 from the Office of the State Register,
Fifth Floor, Capitol Annex. Please reference document
9605#042.

Carole Wallin

Executive Director
9605#042

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Bulletin 74 1—Instructional Staff/Religion

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education adopted the following amendments to Bulletin 741,
Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators, Public and
Nonpublic.

Nonpublic School Standards

Amend Standard 6.016.15 to read:

"All members of the instructional staff teaching secular
subjects, Pre-kindergarten through 12, shall have received a
bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution."

Add a procedural block after Standard 6.016.15 to read:

"Staff members teaching religion at the high school level
(9-12) for Carnegie units must have a minimum of a
bachelor's degree." Staff members teaching religion that do
‘not meet minimum qualifications may be retained in a school
provided they were employed during the 1995-96 school year
as teachers of religion."

* ¥ %

After Standard 6.105.23 (course credit for religion) amend
the following procedural block to read:

"A maximum of four units in religion shall be granted to
students transferring from state-approved private and sectarian
high schools. Those credits shall be accepted in meeting the
requirements for high school graduation."

(NOTE: the standard currently allows two units.)
* % X
Public School Standards

Standard 2.105.23 amended to read:

"A maximum of four units in religion shall be granted to
students transferring from state-approved private and sectarian
high schools who have completed such course work. Those
credits shall be accepted in meeting the requirements for high
school graduation."

(NOTE: the standard currently allows two units.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6.

Carole Wallin

Executive Director
9605#043
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RULE

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Scholarship and Grant Manual

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) rescinds the October 20, 1991 Scholarship and
Grant Policy and Procedure Manual and its supplementing
Scholarship Program Memoranda (SPMs) and replaces it with
a revised and updated manual effective April 20, 1996.

LASFAC supplies copies of the manual to schools
participating in the scholarship and grant programs
administered by the commission.

The manual can be obtained from the Office of the State
Register, 1051 North Third Street, Room 512, Baton Rouge,
LA 70802, at a cost of $14. Please reference the document
number below.

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9605#037

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Miscellaneous Amendments
(LAC 33:111.509, 918, 919,
2123, and 3107)(AQ136)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., the secretary has amended the Air Quality Division
regulations, LAC 33:111.509, 918, 919, 2123, and 3107
(AQ136). ,

This rule will provide miscellaneous corrections in Chapters
5,9, 21, and 31. It will remove newly designated ozone
attainment parishes from tables in Chapters 5 and 9 and add
Livingston Parish to §509 that was omitted in error. It will
also correct a mailing address in Chapter 31, remove a
reporting requirement in Chapter 9, and clarify LAC
33:111.2123 to include oilfield tubulars and ancillary oilfield
equipment.

This rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(3)
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3), therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.




Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part III. Air - ,
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures
§509. Prevention of Significant Deterioration

% %k %
[See Prior Text in A-B.Baseline Area.2]
Ascension
Calcasieu
East Baton Rouge
Iberville
Livingston
Point Coupee
|LWest Baton Rouge

* % %
[See Prior Text in B.Baseline Concentration-S.4]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE:
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR
14:348 (June 1988), LR 16:613 (July 1990), amended by the Office
of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR
17:478 (May 1991), LR 21:170 (February 1995), LR 22:339 (May
1996).

Chapter 9. General Regulations on Control of
Emissions and Emission Standards
§918. Recordkeeping and Annual Reporting

Data for emission reports should be captured annually.
These reports are to be submitted to the department by March
31 of each year (for the period January 1 to December 31 of
the previous year) unless otherwise directed by the
department. The report should include all data applicable to
the emission source or sources which may be required under
LAC 33:1I1.919.A.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 22:339 (May 1996).

§919. Emission Inventory

Emission inventory data shall be submitted to the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on magnetic
media in the format specified by the Air Quality Division.
Facilities with less than five point sources, may elect to
submit Emission Inventory Coding (EIC) forms in lieu of the
magnetic media. Facilities are defined as all emission points,
fugitive, area, mobile, under common control on contiguous

Promulgated by the Department of -
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property. Point source is defined as the point of emission
which should have a Source Classification Code. Stationary
source is defined as a group of point sources. Detailed
instructions are provided on an annual basis for completing
and submitting emissions inventories which define
requirements applicable to facilities, point sources, area

sources and mobile sources.
* %k %k

[See Prior Text in A]

1. Any facility in an attainment area or unclassified area
that emits or has the potential to emit 100 tons per year (TPY)
or more of any contaminant [including volatile organic
compounds (VOC)] for which a National Ambient Air Quality
Standard (NAAQS) has been issued; or any facility in a
marginal, moderate, or serious ozone nonattainment area (See
Table 1) that emits or has the potential to emit 10 TPYVOC,
25 TPY nitrogen oxide (NO,), or 100 TPY carbon monoxide
(CO) or any other contaminant for which a NAAQS has been
issued; or any facility that emits or has the potential to emit 50
TPY or more of VOC or 100 TPY or more of any other
contaminant for which a NAAQS has been issued in an area
designated as an ozone adjoining area (See Table 2) to a listed
marginal, moderate, or serious ozone nonattainment area.
(Potential to emit refers to the "allowables" or permitted
emission limits in a facility's permit.) If any pollutant meets
the criteria above, then all other air pollutants for which a
NAAQS has been issued must be included in the report

regardless of level of emissions.
% X% X

[See Prior Text in A.2]
3. In Louisiana, the following facility classes or
categories are exempted: None.

Ascension - Serious

Calcasieu - Marginal

East Baton Rouge - Serious

Iberville - Serious

Livingston - Serious

Pointe Coupee - Serious

West Baton Rouge - Seri
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Assumption

Avoyelles

Beauregard

Cameron

East Feliciana

Iberia

Jefferson Davis

St. Helena

St. James

St. John the Baptist

St. Landry

St. Martin

Tangipahoa

West Feliciana

* %k
[See Prior Text in B-F]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), repealed and
repromulgated by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection,
Air Quality Division LR 19:184 (February 1993), repromulgated LR
19:485 (April 1993), amended LR 19:1418 (November 1993), LR
20:1101 (October 1994), LR 22:339 (May 1996).

Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic
Compounds

Subchapter B. Organic Solvents

§2123. Organic Solvents

* % %
[See Prior Text in A-C.10]
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11. Surface Coating for
Marine Vessels and
Oilfield Tubulars and
Ancillary Oilfield
Equipment.

* ok ¥
[See Prior Text in 11.a]

b. Except for the parishes of Ascension, Calcasieu,
East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe
Coupee, and West Baton Rouge, in which the VOC
limitations in LAC 33:111.2123.C.11.a may not be
exceeded, specialty marine coatings and coatings on
oilfield tubulars and ancillary oilfield equipment with a
VOC content not in excess of the following limits may
be applied:

* % %
[See Prior Text in Heat Resistant-F.4]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR
16:119 (February 1990), amended by the Office of Air Quality and
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:654 (July 1991),
LR 18:1122 (October 1992), LR 22:340 (May 1996).

Chapter 31. Standards of Performance for New
Stationary Sources

Subchapter A. General Provisions and Modifications

§3107. Address

All requests, reports, applications, submittals and other
communications pursuant to this Subchapter shall be
submitted in duplicate to the Department of Environmental
Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Box
82135, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-2135, to the attention of the
administrative authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 22:340(May 1996).

Gus Von Bodungen

Assistant Secretary
9605#055
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RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Point of Custody Transfer (LAC 33:111.3301)(AQ134)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950,
et seq., the secretary has amended the Air Quality Division
regulations, LAC 33:111.3301.B (AQ134).

LAC 33:111.3301.B.Point of Custody Transfer is deleted
from the state regulations as it is not part of the federal
regulations. This action was requested by the regulated
community and agreed to by the Department of
Environmental Quality.

This rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(3)
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3), therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I1I. Air
Standards of Performance for New
Stationary Sources
Standards of Performance for Storage
Vessels for Petroleum Liquids (Subpart
K, Ka, and Kb)
§3301. Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic
Liquid Storage Vessels (Including Petroleum
Liquid Storage Vessels) for Which
Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification
Commenced after July 23, 1984 (Subpart Kb)

* % %
[See Prior Text in A-B.Petroleum]

Petroleum Liquids—petroleum, condensate, and any
finished or intermediate products manufactured in a petroleum
refinery.

Reid Vapor Pressure—the absolute vapor pressure of
volatile crude oil and volatile nonviscous petroleum liquids,
except liquified petroleum gases, as determined by ASTM
D323-82.

Chapter 31.

Subchapter K.

* %k %k

[See Prior Text in B.Storage Vessel-G.7]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:263 (March 1991), amended
LR 21:682 (July 1995), LR 22:341 (May 1996).

Gus Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary
9605#056
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RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Reportable Quantity of VOCs Not Listed
(LAC 33:1.3931)(AQ135)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., the secretary has amended the Office of the Secretary
regulations, LAC 33:1.3931 (AQ135).

LAC 33:1.3931 (Other VOCs not listed) is revised to read
"Volatile Organic Compounds not otherwise listed." As
written, the rule might have allowed an amount of VOC
emissions greater than that which should be emitted.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S.
30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3), therefore, no report
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic
costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part 1. Office of the Secretary
Subpart 2. Notification Regulations
Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures
for Unauthorized Discharges
§3931. Reportable Quantity List for Pollutants

CAS RCRA?
Number! Waste
Pollutant Number | Pounds
* % %
[See Prior Text in Acenaphthene -
Osmium oxide OsO4 (T-4)]
Osmium tetroxide 20816120 P087 1000
7-Oxabicyclo [2,2,1]heptane- | 145733 P088 1000
2,3- dicarboxylic acid
% ¥ %
[See Prior Text in 1,2-Oxathiolane, 2,2,dioxide
- Vinylidene chloride
Volatile Organic Compounds 5000
not otherwise listed*
* %k %
[See Prior Text in Warfarin and salts - K136] L
* ok

[See Prior Text in * - 3]
* The combined emissions of all volatile organic compounds
(VOCs), excluding any VOCs otherwise listed, shall be
totaled to determine if a reportable quantity has been
exceeded. VOC is defined in LAC 33:III.111 and exempt
compounds are listed in LAC 33:111.2117.

* % %
[See Prior Text in @]
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2025(1), 30:2076(D), 30:2183(1), 30:2194(C) and 30:2204(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:183 (February
1994), amended by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:943 (September 1995), LR
22:341 (May 1996).

Gus Von Bodungen

Assistant Secretary
9605#057

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of the Secretary

Administrative Procedures - Confidential Information
(LAC 33:1.Chapter 5; 33:111.107 and 517; 33:V.319 and
1113; 33:VIL309; 33:1X.301, 309, 315 and 1507;
33:XV.324)(0S14)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., the secretary has amended LAC 33:1.Chapter 5;
I1.107.E, 517.F; V.319, 1113.D; VIL.309; IX.301.N, 309.D,
315.F, 1507.A; XV.324.F-G (0S14).

The rule establishes a consistent set of procedures for
departmental management of information submitted as
confidential. R.S. 30:2030 (B) requires the department to
“adopt regulations for processing requests for confidentiality.
The rule will improve existing rules by adding clarification,
improving  consistency, and consolidating  existing
programmatic (solid waste, hazardous waste, air quality and
water quality) regulations into one conveniently located
chapter.

This rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(3)
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3), therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
: Part I. Office of the Secretary

Subpart 1. Departmental Administrative Procedures
Chapter 5. Confidential Information Regulations
§501. Scope

Department of Environmental Quality records and
information obtained under the Louisiana Environmental
Quality Act (hereinafter called “the Act”), or by any rule,
regulation, order, license, registration, or permit term or
condition adopted or issued thereunder, or by any
investigation authorized thereby, shall be available to the
public, unless confidentiality is requested by writing to the
department’s Office of Legal Affairs and Enforcement, Legal
Division, and such information is determined by the
administrative authority to require confidentiality. Such
information may be classified as confidential by the
administrative authority, unless otherwise provided by law or
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regulation, if the secretary makes a written determination that
confidentiality is necessary to:

1. prevent impairment of an ongoing investigation or
prejudice to the final decision regarding a violation; or

2. protect trade secrets, proprietary secrets and
information, and commercial or financial information.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:342 (May
1996).

§503. Request for Confidentiality

A. Anyone outside the department requesting
confidentiality shall provide to the administrative authority a
written statement indicating the reasons for asserting
confidentiality. This claim of confidentiality shall state:

1. the measures taken to guard against undesired
disclosure of the information to others;

2. the extent to which the information has been
disclosed to others and the precautions taken in connection
therewith;

3. whether disclosure of the information would be likely
to result in substantial harmful effects in the competitive
market, and if so, what those harmful effects would be, why
they should be viewed as substantial, and an explanation of
the causal relationship between disclosure and such harmful
effects; and ‘

4. the period of time for which confidential treatment is
desired.

B. Anyone outside the department submitting information
to the administrative authority for which a confidentiality
claim is asserted shall follow the procedures outlined below:

1. a cover sheet shall be attached to the information,
which has been conspicuously labeled with the word
“CONFIDENTIAL.” Each page or any item (e.g., pictures, maps,
video tapes, computer disks, etc.) that contains alleged
confidential information shall also be clearly labeled;

2. to the maximum extent possible, confidential
information shall be segregated to facilitate identification and
handling. The confidential information shall be specifically
referenced as appropriate in the nonconfidential document.
Blacking out confidential portions of otherwise public
documents is permissible, provided the blacked-out portions
are clearly identified in both confidential and nonconfidential
versions; and

3. in cases where confidential information cannot be
reasonably extracted or separated from nonconfidential
information, and when the information does not include
information described in LAC 33:1.505.B, the whole
document shall be confidential.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:342 (May
1996).

§505. Agency Review of Confidential Information

A. Within 21 working days from the date of receipt of a
request for confidentiality, the secretary shall issue a written
notice of determination. Anyone outside the department will
be notified by certified mail.

\.
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B. Specific categories of information that shall be denied
confidentiality include:

1. air emission data;

2. any permit or portion of a permit issued to a source
in accordance with LAC 33:111.507;

3. effluent and discharge data to surface waters and
groundwaters;

4. location and identification of any buried waste;

5. name and address of any license, registration or
permit applicant or permittee;

6. allNPDES, LPDES, and other water discharge permit
applications or permits. Information required by LPDES
application forms may not be claimed confidential. This
includes information submitted on the forms themselves and
any attachments used to supply information required by the
forms; and

7. any other information required by the law or
regulations to be disclosed or for which a claim of
confidentiality is prohibited by law or regulation.

C. . The notice of determination shall become final and not
subject to further administrative review unless, no later than
30 days after receipt of this document, the submitter files a
written request for a hearing.

D. Information submitted under a claim of confidentiality
shall be held as confidential until a final determination has
been made.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:342 (May
1996).

§507. Authorized Agent Accessibility

A. Inthe event a claim of confidentiality is granted, such
confidentiality shall not apply to the necessary use of the
information by duly authorized officers or employees of the
state or federal government in carrying out their
responsibilities under the Act or applicable federal law. Any
officer or employee of the state or federal government who
seeks access to such information must be duly authorized by
the administrative authority. The administrative authority
shall make a determination to grant such authorization based
on a written request that shall specify the requestor's name,
affiliation, and the need for access to the information based on
the Act or applicable federal law. Department employees are
exempt from requesting authorization in writing; however,
they must demonstrate a need for access to confidential
information prior to seeking administrative authority
approval.

B. Any employee of the department or any former
employee of the department or any authorized contractor
acting as a representative of the secretary of the department
who is convicted of intentional disclosure or conspiracy to
disclose trade secrets or other information that has been
determined to be confidential is guilty of a misdemeanor and,
upon conviction, shall be punished by a fine of not more than
$1,000, imprisonment for up to one year, or both.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030 and R.S. 30:2074
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:343 (May
1996).

§508. Maintenance of Confidential Information

A. Confidential information shall be maintained in a
locked file separate from nonconfidential information. The
file shall be labeled “CONFIDENTIAL,” with access
appropriately controlled.

B. Whenever an authorized person gains access to a
confidential file, he shall sign an access log, which indicates
his understanding of the confidential status and his
responsibility to protect the information from being disclosed
to the public. The person will also indicate in the access log
which file was removed, the date and time the file was
removed, the affiliation of the person if not with the
Department of Environmental Quality, and the time and date
the file was returned.

C. Except for members of the department staff, authorized
persons shall review a confidential file in the presence of a
department staff member. Confidential information shall be
removed from the file no longer than is strictly necessary.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:343 (May
1996).

§509. Release of Confidential Information

A. The administrative authority shall remove confidential
information from its files and return it to the submitter if such
information is no longer necessary or required after three
years for the purposes of the Act, these regulations, or any
order or under the terms and conditions of any license,
registration, or permit.

B. Files declared confidential as part of an investigation
shall be returned to the public record files upon conclusion of
the investigation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2030.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:343 (Ma
1996). ‘

Part III. Air
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§107. Investigations—Authority

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 30:2011, the
administrative authority shall make such investigations as are
necessary and proper to carry out the purposes of the
Louisiana Environmental Quality Act and in connection

therewith:
* % *
[See prior text in A - D]

E. Confidentiality of Information. Provisions for
confidential information may be found in LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR
22:343 (May 1996).
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Chapter 5. Permit Procedures
§517. Permit Applications and Submittal of Information
% % X
[See prior text in A - E.8]

F. Confidential Information. Provisions for confidential

information may be found in LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.
* % %
[See prior text in G]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993),
amended LR 20:1375 (December 1994), amended by the Department
of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:344 (May
1996).

Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Material
Subpart 1. Department of Environmental Quality-
Hazardous Waste

Chapter 3. General Conditions for Treatment,
Storage, and Disposal Facility Permits
§319. Confidentiality

Provisions for confidential information may be found in
LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended
LR 13:84 (February 1987), amended by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:344 (May
1996).

Chapter 11. Generators
§1113. Exports of Hazardous Waste
* % %
[See prior text in A - D.4]

5. The administrative authority will provide a complete
notification to the receiving country and any transit countries.
A notification is complete when the administrative authority
receives a notification which the administrative authority
determines satisfies the requirements of LAC 33:V.1113.D.1.
Where a claim of confidentiality is asserted with respect to
any notification information required by LAC 33:V.1113.D.1,
the administrative authority may find the notification not
complete until any such claim is resolved in accordance with
LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

* % Xk
[See prior text in D.6 - H.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
16:220 (March 1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 20:1000
(September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 1994), amended by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR
22:344 (May 1996).
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Part VII. Solid Waste
Subpart 1. Solid Waste Regulations
Chapter 3. Scope and Mandatory Provisions of the
Program
§309. Confidentiality

Provisions for confidential information may be found in
LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR
22:344 (May 1996).

Part IX. Water Quality Regulations
Chapter 3. Permits
§301. Scope
* 3k Xk
[See prior text in A - M.2]

N. Confidentiality of Information. Provisions for
confidential information may be found in LAC 33:I.Chapter 5.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources in LR 11:1066
(November 1985), amended by the Department of Environmental
Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:344 (May 1996).

§309. Renewal and Termination
* %k %
[See prior text in A - C]

D. During all renewal or termination proceedings the
entire application and/or permit is open for comment in a
public hearing, subject to confidentiality in accordance with
LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

X %k Xk
[See prior text in E - H]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources in LR 11:1066
(November 1985), amended by the Department of Environmental
Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:344 (May 1996).

§315. Public Information
* X X
[See prior text in A - E.1.b]

F. Allrecorded information (completed permit application
forms, fact sheets, draft permits or any public document) not
classified as confidential information in accordance with LAC
33:1.Chapter 5 will be made available to the public for
inspection and copying pursuant to the following conditions:

1. during normal office hours;

2. under the observation and supervision of a member
of the staff of the Office of Water Resources;

3. copies of compiled records and information will be
made available within a reasonable amount of time upon
written request at a cost in accordance with established
department policy; and

4. no recorded information shall be removed from the
office, except as provided herein.

/ \\




AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources in LR 11:1066
(November 1985), amended by the Department of Environmental
Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:344 (May 1996).
Chapter 15. Water Quality Certification Procedures
§1507. Procedures for Issuance of Water Quality

Certification
% ok ok

[See prior text in A - A.6]

7. Confidentiality of Information. Any information
submitted by the applicant, as required by an application for
certification, and declared as confidential by the applicant
shall be handled in accordance with LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

* % %
[See prior text in A.8 - H.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2074(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources in LR 10:496
(July 1984), amended by the Department of Environmental Quality,
Office of the Secretary, LR 22:345 (May 1996).

Part XV. Radiation Protection
Chapter 3. Licensing of Radioactive Material
Subchapter D. Specific Licenses
§324. Filing Application for Specific Licenses

* 3k k
[See prior text in A - E]

F. Applications and documents submitted to the division
shall be available for public inspection unless the
administrative authority makes a written determination of
confidentiality in accordance with LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

G. If the department determines that any material should
not be afforded confidentiality, the division shall issue a
written denial of the request to the requestor in accordance
with LAC 33:1.Chapter 5.

x k%
[See prior text in H - K]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Repealed and repromulgated by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and
Radiation, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 1992),
amended LR 20:179 (February 1994), amended by the Department
of Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:345 (May

1996).

J. Dale Givens
Secretary
9605#054

RULE
Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Office of Facility Planning and Control
Resolution of Controversies (LAC 34:111.511)

The Division of Administration, Office of Facility Planning
and Control, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950

345

et seq. , the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S. 39:1581,
amended LAC 34:111.511, to bring it into conformity with R.S.
39:1671, as follows:
Title 34
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS,
PROCUREMENT AND PROPERTY CONTROL
Part III. Facility Planning and Control
Chapter 5. Rental and Lease Procedure
§511. Resolution of Controversies

A. Right to Protest. Any prospective lessor who is
aggrieved in connection with the solicitation or award of a
contract may protest to Facility Planning and Control.
Protests with respect to a solicitation shall be submitted in
writing no later than 10 days prior to the opening of bids. If
a person protests a solicitation, an award cannot be made until
said protest is resolved. Protests with respect to the award of
a contract shall be submitted in writing within 14 days after
contract award. Said protest shall state fully and in particular,
the reason for protest if a protest is made with respect to the
award of a contract. Work on the contract cannot be
commenced until it is resolved administratively.

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
39:1551-1736.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Division of Administration, Facility Planning and
Control, LR 11:946 (October 1985), amended LR 22:345 (May
1996).

Roger Magendie
Director
9605#014

RULE

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Office of Facility Planning and Control

Selection Procedures (LAC 4:VI1.341)

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 38:2310 et seq. as
amended, the Engineers Selection Board, hereinafter referred
to as the board, has amended such rules and procedures as it
deemed necessary to carry out the provision of the said
statutes. These rules are established by the board, and are
subject to change by said board, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act.

Title 4
ADMINISTRATION
Part VII. Governor's Office
Chapter 3. Engineers Selection Board
§341. Selection Procedures
Selection procedure is as follows:

1-4.

5. Select firm from the two firms with the most votes on
a "one" vote basis.

6.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
38:2313.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Engineers Selection Board, LR 6:12 (January 1980),
amended LR 9:551 (August 1983), LR 11:1077 (November 1985),
LR 17:661 (July 1991), LR 22:345 (May 1996).

Roger Magendie

Director
9605#015

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology

Rules Repeal/Repromulgation
(LAC 46:LXXV.Chapters 1-7)

The Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology hereby repeals and repromulgates
its rules and regulations, to comply with R.S. 37:2650et seq.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXXV. Speech Pathology and Audiology
Chapter 1. General Rules
§103. Definitions
As used in these regulations, the following terms and

phrases, which have not already been defined in Title 37,
-Louisiana Revised Statutes, Section 2651-2666, shall have the

meanings specified.

Assistant Licensee—an individual who meets the
qualifications established by LSA R.S. 37:2659(D)(1),(2), and
works under the direct supervision of a licensed speech-
language pathologist and performs only those duties specified
in §107.

Direct Supervision—on-site, in-view observation and
guidance during performance of a clinical activity which
includes but cannot be limited to the utilization of alternative
methods to obtain knowledge of a supervisee's clinical work.

Full-time Employment/Experience—a minimum of 30
clock hours per week.

Graduate Training Clinical Practicum Hours—a
combination of undergraduate and graduate clinical practicum
hours that culminate with a graduate degree or its equivalent.

Hearing Screening—consists of pure-tone air conduction
screening and screening tympanometry for the purpose of the
initial identification and/or referral of individuals with
suspected hearing problems and/or middle ear pathology.

On-Site, In-View Observation—the supervisor observing
the licensee engaging in a specified clinical activity with
his/her patient/client. The supervisor shall accomplish this
task either by being physically present in the room or through
the use of a live video monitor.

Part-time Employment/Experience—Iless than 30 clock
hours per week.

Provisional Assistant Licensee—an individual who meets
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the qualifications established in LSA R.S. 37: 2659(E) and
works under the direct supervision of a licensed speech-
language pathologist and performs only those duties specified
in §107. This person has completed a minimum of 100 of 225
supervised clinical practicum hours and is working to
complete the remaining hours on-the-job and/or through a
regionally accredited educational institution or its cooperating
programs.

Supervised On-the-Job Training—only those hours which
have been supervised on-site, in-view and documented on the
form provided by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:705 (October 1988), amended LR
22:346 (May 1996).

§105. Designations

A. Individuals licensed by the Louisiana Board of
Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
may use the following designations when listing their
credentials:

1. L-SLP #0000 - Speech-Language Pathologist;

2. L-AUD #0000 - Audiologist;

3. PL-AUD #0000 - Provisional Audiologist;

4. PL-SLP #0000 - Provisional Speech-Language
Pathologist;

5. R-SLP #0000 - Restricted Speech-Language
Pathologist.

B. Speech-Language Pathology Assistants and Provisional
Speech-Language Pathology Assistants shall list their full
license title when listing their credentials, e.g., B.A., SLP
Assistant.

C. When listing credentials, licensees should sequentially
list their name, educational designation and license
designation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:346 (May 1996).

§107. Qualifications for Licensure

A. Coursework Requirements: Audiology License and
Provisional Audiology License. The following coursework
requirements apply to applicants who began a MASTER'S
PROGRAM AFTER JANUARY 1, 1994.

1. The applicant shall submit transcripts from one or
more regionally accredited colleges or universities evidencing
completion of at least 75 semester hours of coursework which
constitutes a well-integrated program that includes at least:

a. six semester credit hours in biological/physical
sciences and mathematics;

b. six semester credit hours in behavioral and/or
social sciences;

c. 15 semester credit hours in basic human
communication processes to include the anatomic and
physiologic bases, the physical and psychophysical bases, and
the linguistic and psycholinguistic aspects;

2.a. 36 semester credit hours of professional coursework
in audiology:

SN




i. 6 in hearing disorders and hearing evaluation;
ii. 6 in habilitative/rehabilitative procedures;
iii. 6 semester credit hours in speech-language
pathology;

b. 30 of the 36 semester credit hours shall be in

courses for which graduate credit was received; 21 of the 30
semester hours shall be in the area of audiology;

¢. a maximum of 6 academic semester credit hours
associated with clinical practicum may be counted toward the
minimum of 30 semester credit hours of professional
coursework, but those hours may not be used to satisfy the
minimum of 6 semester credit hours in hearing
disorders/evaluation, 6 hours in habilitative/rehabilitative
procedures, or 6 hours in speech-language pathology, or the
21 graduate credits in the professional area for which the
license is sought.

B. The following coursework requirements apply to
applicants who began a MASTER'S PROGRAM PRIOR TO
JANUARY 1, 1994:

1. The applicant shall submit transcripts from one or
more regionally accredited colleges or universities evidencing
completion of at least 60 semester hours of coursework which
constitutes a well-integrated program that includes at least 12
semester credit hours in basic human communication
processes to include the anatomic and physiologic bases, the
physical and psychophysical bases, and the linguistic and
psycholinguistic aspects;

2.a. 30 semester credit hours of professional coursework
in audiology*:

i - 6 in hearing disorders and hearing evaluation;
ii. 6 in habilitative/rehabilitative procedures;
iii. 6 semester credit hours in speech-language
pathology; ~

b. 21 of the 30 semester credit hours shall be in
courses for which graduate credit was received;

c. A maximum of 6 academic semester credit hours
associated with clinical practicum may be counted toward the
minimum of 30 semester credit hours of professional
coursework, but those hours may not be used to satisfy the
minimum of 6 semester credit hours in hearing
disorders/evaluation, 6 hours in habilitative/rehabilitative
procedures, or 6 hours in speech-language pathology, or the
21 graduate credits in the professional area for which the
license is sought.

*If seeking licensure in both speech-language pathology

and audiology, at least 15 graduate level semester hours in

each area are required.

C. Coursework Requirements: Speech-Language
Pathology License and Provisional Speech-Language
Pathology License. The following coursework requirements
apply to applicants who began a MASTER'S PROGRAM AFTER
JANUARY 1, 1994.

1. The applicant shall submit transcripts from one or
more regionally accredited colleges or universities evidencing
completion of at least 75 semester hours of coursework which
constitutes a well-integrated program that includes at least:

a. 6 semester credit hours in biological/physical
sciences and mathematics;

b. 6 semester credit hours in behavioral and/or social
sciences;
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c. 15 semester credit hours in basic human
communication processes to include the anatomic and
physiologic bases, the physical and psychophysical bases, and
the linguistic and psycholinguistic aspects;

2.a. 36 semester credit hours of professional coursework
in speech-language pathology:

i. 6 in speech disorders;
ii. 6 in language disorders;

iii. 6 in audiology;

b. 30 of the 36 semester credit hours shall be in
courses for which graduate credit was received; 21 of the 30
semester hours shall be in the area of speech-language
pathology;

¢. amaximum of 6 academic semester credit hours
associated with clinical practicum may be counted toward the
minimum of 30 semester credit hours of professional
coursework, but those hours may not be used to satisfy the
minimum of 6 semester credit hours in speech disorders, 6
hours in language disorders, or 6 hours in audiology, or the 21
graduate credits in the professional area for which the license
is sought.

D. The following coursework requirements apply to
applicants who began a MASTER'S PROGRAM PRIOR TO
JANUARY 1, 1994:

1. The applicant shall submit transcripts from one or
more regionally accredited colleges or universities evidencing
completion of at least 60 semester hours of coursework which
constitutes a well-integrated program that includes at least 12
semester credit hours in basic human communication
processes to include the anatomic and physiologic bases, the
physical and psychophysical bases, and the linguistic and
psycholinguistic aspects;

2.a. 30 semester credit hours of professional coursework
in speech-language pathology:*

i. 6 in speech disorders;
ii. 6 in language disorders;
iii. 6 in audiology;

b. 21 of the 30 semester credit hours shall be in
courses for which graduate credit was received,

¢. A maximum of 6 academic semester credit hours
associated with clinical practicum may be counted toward the
minimum of 30 semester credit hours of professional
coursework, but those hours may-not be used to satisfy the
minimum of 6 semester credit hours in speech disorders, 6
hours in language disorders, or 6 hours in audiology, or the 21
graduate credits in the professional area for which the license
is sought.

*If seeking licensure in both speech-language pathology

and audiology, at least 15 graduate level semester hours in

each area are required.

E. Coursework Requirements: Speech-Language
Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-Language
Pathology Assistant

1. A bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology
from a regionally accredited institution fulfills the coursework
requirements of the board.

2. If the bachelor's degree is not in speech-language
pathology, the degree program should include the following
core coursework. A total of 39 hours shall be obtained in the
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following areas. Thirty-six of the hours are required and are
followed by an *.
3. Basic Requirements:
a. Educational and/or Psychological Tests and
Measurements: 3 semester hours*;
b. Psychology/Sociology/Multicultural Studies (some
combination): 6 semester hours*.
4. Basic Professional Courses: ,
a. American Phonetics: 3 semester hours*;
b. Anatomy and Physiology of the Speech and
Hearing Mechanism: 3 semester hours*;
c. Normal Speech and Language Acquisition (to
include Cultural and Regional Variations): 3 semester hours*;
d. Clinical Methods and Procedures in Speech-
Language-Hearing Therapy: 3 semester hours*.
5. Speech and Language Disorders:
a. Survey of Exceptionalities/Introduction to
Communication Disorders: 3 semester hours*;
b. Articulation Disorders: 3 semester hours*;
c. Language Disorders: 3 semester hours*;
d. Disorders of Rhythm (to include Stuttering): 3
semester hours;
e. * Voice Disorders: 3 semester hours;
f.  Diagnostic Processes in Communication Disorders:
3 semester hours;
g. Clinical Practicum in Communication Disorders:
3 semester hours*.
(additional credit may be obtained as an elective)
6. Hearing and Hearing Disorders:
a. Introduction to Audiology: 3 semester hours*;
b. Aural Rehabilitation: 3 semester hours;
c. Introduction to Education of the Hearing Impaired:
3 semester hours. »

F. Master's Equivalency Requirements: Speech-Language
Pathology, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology,
Audiology or Provisional Audiology License. Individuals
who do not possess a master's degree in either speech-
language pathology or audiology but wish to obtain a license
through the equivalency process shall meet the coursework,
practicum and examination requirements for the area in which
licensure is sought as defined in the board's rules entitled
Coursework Requirements: Audiology License and Provisional
Audiology License; Coursework Requirements:Speech-
Language Pathology License and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology License; Clinical Practicum Hour
Requirements and Examination Requirement.

G. Clinical Practicum Hour Requirements. Anindividual
shall submit official documentation from a regionally
accredited educational institution or its cooperating programs,
verifying supervised clinical practicum hours as follows:

1. Speech-Language Pathology and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Licenses:

a. 300 clinical practicum hours if master's program
began prior to January 1, 1994;

~b. 375 clinical practicum hours if master's program
began after January 1, 1994.

2. Audiology and Provisional Audiology Licenses:

a. 300 clinical practicum hours if master's program

began prior to January 1, 1994;
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b. 375 clinical practicum hours if master's program
began after January 1, 1994.

3. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License:

a. 225 clinical practicum hours are required, the first
100 of which shall have been obtained through a regionally
accredited educational institution or its cooperating programs.
Of the 100 hours obtained through a regionally accredited
educational institution, 75 shall be obtained with direct
patient/client contact, and the remaining 25 hours may be
obtained through observation of testing and therapy. It is
recommended that the direct patient/client contact hours be
obtained in at least two practicum sites with one site being a
public school setting. The first 75 hours of direct
patient/client contact shall be obtained in the following
categories: ‘

i. minimum of 20 hours in articulation disorders;
ii. minimum of 20 hours in language disorders;
iii. the remaining 35 hours may be obtained in the
areas of articulation disorders, language disorders or
distributed among other disorders;

‘ b. The remaining 125 hours may have been obtained
on-the-job and/or through a regionally accredited educational
institution or its cooperating programs.

4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant
License:

a. A minimum of 100 clinical practicum hours which
have been obtained through a regionally accredited
educational institution or its cooperating programs as defined
in §107.G.3 are required.

b. The additional 125 hours required to upgrade to the
Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License shall be
obtained within three years of the date of issuance of the
provisional assistant license and may be obtained by
completing the remaining hours on-the-job and/or through a
regionally accredited educational institution or its cooperating
programs. Supervised on-the-job training which counts
toward upgrading the license status will only be accepted from
the date that the application for license is acknowledged to
have been received by the board.

H. Examination - Requirement: Speech-Language
Pathology License, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology
License, Audiology License, Provisional Audiology License

1. The board recognizes only the Educational Testing
Service's specialty area examinations for speech-language
pathology and audiology as the licensure examination for
speech-language pathology and/or audiology.

2. The passing score for the speech-language pathology
area examination is a minimum score of 600.

3. The passing score for the audiology area examination
is a minimum score of 600.

4. The examination requirement shall be waived upon
request by any applicant who is currently certified by the State
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education as a specialist
of speech-language pathology and who is currently employed
in a school setting.

I. Duties: Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License
and Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant
License

1. All duties performed by the Assistant Speech-
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Language Pathology Licensee or Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant Licensee shall be supervised in
accordance with the rules and regulations specified by the
board. Caseload assignments shall be consistent with the
knowledge base and training of the licensee for the
performance of the following tasks:

a. conduct speech-language screenings and
assessments without interpretation, following specified
protocols as approved by the supervising speech-language
pathologist. All screening and assessment reports shall be co-
signed and interpreted by the supervising speech-language
pathologist;

b. perform hearing screenings limited to a pass/fail
determination, for the purpose of initial identification of
disorders, following specified protocols as approved by the
supervising speech-language pathologist;

c. provide direct treatment which is within the level
of training and experience as determined by the supervising
speech-language pathologist to a caseload of patients/clients
who demonstrate communication disorders. Supervision of
treatment shall be in accordance with the rules and regulations
specified by the board,

d. follow treatment plans or protocols as approved by
the supervising speech-language pathologist. Documentation
of the supervising speech-language pathologist's approval
shall be kept on file prior to implementation of treatment
plans or protocols;

e. document patient/client progress toward meeting
established objectives as stated in the treatment plan, and
report this information to the supervising speech-language
pathologist;

f. schedule activities, prepare charts, records, graphs,
or otherwise display data;

g. perform checks and maintenance of equipment;

h. participate with the supervising speech-language
pathologist in parent conferences, case conferences,
interdisciplinary team conferences, research projects, in-
service training, and public relations programs, if the
provisional assistant licensee has not completed the required
225 practicum hours;

i. participate in parent conferences, case conferences,
interdisciplinary team conferences, research projects, in-
service training, and public relations programs, provided the
licensee has completed the 225 practicum hours.

2. Duties Outside the Scope of Practice of a Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant or Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant. The Speech-Language
Pathology Assistant Licensee and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant shall not:

a. perform clinical tasks without the knowledge and
approval of the supervising speech-language pathologist;

b. interpret test results;

c. work with a communication or related disorder
unless s/he has had sufficient coursework with appropriate
supervised practicum in that area;

d. provide patient/client or family counseling;

e. select and/or discharge patients/clients for services
without the approval of the supervising speech-language
pathologist;
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f. disclose clinical or confidential information either
orally or in writing to anyone not designated by the
supervising speech-language pathologist and without the
authorization of the patient/client or their designee;

g. 'make referrals for additional services without the
approval of the supervising speech-language pathologist.

J. Restricted License Qualifications

1. In order to reinstate a restricted license to practice
speech-language pathology held prior to August 15, 1995, an
applicant shall:

a. hold a bachelor's degree with a major in speech
pathology, together with a current Type A B, or C teaching
certificate issued by the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education or their equivalent as determined by the
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
certifying the applicant as a specialist of speech, language and
hearing; and

b. submit evidence of completion of his/her clock hours
of supervised, direct clinical experience with persons having
a variety of communication disorders. This experience shall
be obtained through a training institution or its cooperating
programs.

2. Restricted Licensees in Speech-Language Pathology are
permitted to practice in Louisiana only while under the direct
supervision of a Louisiana licensed Speech-Language
Pathologist.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR
22:346 (May 1996).

§109. Requirements to Upgrade License

A. The Provisional Speech-Language Pathology or
Provisional Audiology licensee who has not passed the
examination at the time of initial licensure shall submit the
following to upgrade his/her license status:

1. an official copy of a passing score on the Educational
Testing Service area examination;

2. verification of nine months of full-time post-
graduate professional employment/experience or its part-time
equivalent in the field the license is held;

3. proof of supervision (Form 100);

4. upgrade fee of $25.

B. The Provisional Speech-Language Pathology or
Provisional Audiology licensee who has not completed the
nine months of postgraduate professional employment/
experience at the time of initial licensure shall submit the
following to upgrade his/her license status:

1. verification of nine months of full-time post-graduate
professional employment/experience or its part-time
equivalent in the field the license is held;

2. proof of supervision (Form 100);

3. upgrade fee of $25.

C. The Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant
shall submit the following to upgrade his/her license status:

1. proof of 225 supervised clinical practicum hours
shall be on file in the board's office;

2. upgrade fee of $25.

D. The Restricted Speech-Language Pathology or
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Restricted Audiology licensee who holds a master's degree or
its equivalent in Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology
shall submit the following documents to upgrade their license:

1. proof of nine months of post-graduate professional
employment/experience or its part-time equivalent in the field
in which the license is held;

2. proof of supervision (Form 100);

3. upgrade fee of $25.

E. Restricted Speech-Language Pathology licensees who
hold a bachelor's degree who wish to change their status to a
Provisional Speech-Language Pathology License shall submit
an application for license and meet the requirements of LSA
R.S. 37:2659(B).

F. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant licensees who |

wish to change their status to a Provisional Speech-Language
Pathology License shall submit an application for license and
meet the requirements of LSA R.S. 37:2759(B).

G. Postgraduate professional employment/experience
which counts toward upgrading the license status will only be
accepted from the date that the licensee's application was
acknowledged to have been received by the board.

H. Audiologists who hold an audiology license but are
completing the coursework or practicum requirements for
registration as a dispenser shall follow the supervision
requirements as specified in §123, and shall submit the board's
Form 100 at the time of renewal. The board's Form 100 shall
be submitted to upgrade license status.

I. 1t is the responsibility of the licensee to submit the
documents and make a written request for upgrade of his/her
license status.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq. ,

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:349 (May 1996).

§111. Fees
The board collects the following fees, which are non-
refundable.
1. Initial Louisiana license for:
a. Speech-Language Pathologist $100
b. Audiologist $100
c. Audiologist to
dispensing $125
d. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist $100
e. Provisional Audiologist $100
£ Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid
dispensing  $125
g. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100
h. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology
Assistant $100
i. Dual License Fee = $200
j.  Dual License Fee to include hearing aid
dispensing  $225
(Payable only by certified check, cashier's check or
money order.)

2. Renewal of license submitted on or before June 30,
of each year for:

a. Speech-Language Pathologist $50

b. Audiologist $50

c. Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $60

include  hearing aid
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d. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist $50
e. Provisional Audiologist $50
f.  Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid
dispensing  $60
g. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $50
h. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology
Assistant  $50
i. Dual License $75
j. Dual License to include hearing aid dispensing $85
3. Lapsed License Fee submitted between July 1 and
July 31, of each year for:
Speech-Language Pathologist $100
Audiologist $100
Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $120
Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist $100
Provisional Audiologist $100
f.  Provisional Audiologist to include hearing
aid dispensing $120
g. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100
h. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology
Assistant $100
i. Dual License $150
j.  Dual License to include hearing aid
dispensing $170
4. Lapsed License Fee submitted between August 1 and
October 31, of each year for:
a. Speech-Language Pathologist $200
b. Audiologist $200
c. Audiologist to include hearing aid
dispensing  $220
d. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist $200
e. Provisional Audiologist $200
f. Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid
dispensing  $240
g. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $200
h. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology
Assistant  $200
i. Dual License $300
j. Dual License to include hearing aid dispensing
$340
5. Registration fee for audiologists to dispense hearing
aids $25
6. Upgrade of provisional speech-language pathologist,
provisional audiologist, speech-language pathology assistant
or provisional speech-language pathology assistant $25
7. NSF or returned check $25
8. Videorental: $10 per tape for 2 weeks; $20 for 2-
tape set for two weeks
9. Mailing labels - all licensees $75
10. Mailing labels - partial list: $.03 per label plus
postage and handling
11. Re-issuance of license certificate $20
12. Address listing - all licensees $25
13. Directory of all licensees $25
14. Fax transmission $3 for first page; $1 each
additional page
15. Publications to include law, rules, etc. $3 each plus
postage and handling
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16. Brochures/Pamphlets $.10 each plus postage and
handling

17. Verification of license (written) $5

18. Subpoena $25 within EBR Parish; $25 plus $.24 per
mile outside of EBR Parish

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR
22:350 (May 1996).

§113. License Renewals

A. All licenses are renewed annually on June 30.

B. Initial licenses issued during the last quarter of the
fiscal year, i.e., April, May, and June, will not be required to
be renewed during that fiscal year. No continuing education
hours will be required of the licensee for that period.

C. Licensees shall list on their renewal form the licensees
and aides that they are supervising, i.e., provisional speech-
language pathologists, provisional audiologists, restricted
speech-language pathologists, restricted audiologists, speech-
language pathology assistants, or provisional speech-language
pathology assistants.

D. It is the licensee's continuing obligation to keep the
board informed of his/her current mailing address.

E. Licensees shall participate in continuing professional
education activities of at least 10 clock hours for each license
period, July 1 through June 30, in accordance with §115.

F. Retired status is granted to speech-language
pathologists and audiologists who are retired and do not
practice speech-language pathology or audiology during the
fiscal year, July 1 through June 30. These licensees shall
complete the affidavit on the continuing education report and
submit it at the time of licensure renewal. Retired licensees
may retain their license by payment of the annual renewal fee.
In order to resume the practice of speech-language pathology
or audiology, retired licensees shall demonstrate completion
of five clock hours of continuing education in the area of
licensure for each year that retired status was maintained.

G. Delinquent Renewal

1. Delinquent requests for renewals will be accepted by
the board through July 31, provided the Lapsed License Fee
is paid in accordance with §111, and the continuing education
summary form is submitted.

2. A licensee whose license is delinquent as of
November 1, is required to submit a completed application,
proof of continuing education, initial license fee and Lapsed
License Fee in accordance with §111.A. and D and §115.

H. Conditional Renewal

1. Licensees who previously held a full, valid license
which was obtained under the grandfather clause of Act 260
of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature,
whether delinquent or lapsed, for a period not to exceed five
years, shall be eligible for licensure renewal or reinstatement
upon meeting the continuing education requirement and
submitting the appropriate renewal fee in accordance with
§111. If the license has lapsed for a period of more than five
years, applicants shall reapply in accordance with the
requirements enumerated in LSA R.S. 37:2651 et seq., as
amended by Act 892 of the 1995 Regular Session of the
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Louisiana Legislature. :

2. Licensees who previously held a restricted license
which was obtained under Act 260 of the 1978 Regular
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, whether delinquent or
lapsed, shall be eligible for licensure renewal or reinstatement,
upon meeting the continuing education requirement and
submitting the appropriate renewal fee as required in
accordance with §§111 and 115.

3. Licensees who allow their license to lapse for more
than one year shall submit documentation of completion of
five clock hours of continuing education in the area of
licensure for each year that the license has lapsed in addition
to meeting the license requirements enumerated in LSA R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq. ,

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:351 (May 1996).

§115. Continuing Education Requirements

A. Each licensee shall complete continuing professional
education activities of at least 10 clock hours each license
period, July 1 through June 30.

B. Of the 10 hours, five shall be in the area of licensure,
and five may be in areas related to the professions of
audiology and speech-language pathology.

C. Audiologists who register as dispensing audiologists
shall insure that at least three of the total ten hours are in areas
directly related to hearing aid dispensing, such as
business/practice management, marketing, aural
habilitation/rehabilitation, diagnostic assessment,
characteristics of hearing aids and their application, etc.

D. -Dual licensees shall complete 15 hours per year with a
minimum of five hours in speech-language pathology and five
hours in audiology; the remaining five may be in areas related
to the professions of audiology and speech-language
pathology.

E. There shall be no carry-over of continuing education
hours from one year to the next.

F. In the case of extenuating circumstances, when the
licensee does not fulfill the continuing education
requirements, the licensee shall submit a written request for
extension to the board for consideration. _

G. Acceptable Continuing Education Sponsors and
Activities

1. board-sponsored activities (maximum of 10 hours);

2. workshops in the area of communication disorders
sponsored by individual professional practitioners and/or
professional organizations such as American Audiological
Association; American Speech-Language-Hearing
Association; Louisiana Speech-Language-Hearing
Association; Speech Pathologists and Audiologists ‘in
Louisiana Schools; Louisiana Society for Hearing Aid
Specialists, etc. (maximum of 10 hours);

3. meetings of related professional - organizations
(maximum of five hours);

4. college courses in the area of licensure taken for

credit or official audit (three semester hours or six quarter hours = 10
hours of continuing education);

Louisiana Register =~ Vol. 22, No. 5 May 20, 1996




5. teleconferences sponsored by universities, schools,
clinics, state agencies or hospitals (maximum of five hours);

6. workshops and in-services that are university, school,
clinic, hospital or state agency sponsored (maximum of five
hours in a related area, maximum of 10 hours if in the area of
licensure);

7. publication of articles in a refereed journal, five
hours;

8. scientific or educational lectures to include
presentations such as poster sessions given by the licensee
(maximum of five hours).

H. Pre-Approval Policy

1. No pre-approval is required for any of the activities
listed in Acceptable Continuing Education Sponsors and
Activities.

2. The licensee shall request pre-approval (minimum of
60 days in advance) of individually sponsored activities, self-
study activities, or other appropriate activities.

3. Self-study activities in the area of communication
disorders:

a. audio or video tapes (maximum of five hours);

b. reading of journal articles that contain self-
examination questions at the end. Articles shall be submitted
for pre-approval (maximum of five hours).

4. Publication of diagnostic and/or therapeutic materials
(maximum of five hours).

I. Recording of Continuing Education Activities

1. Licensees shall record all continuing education
activities on a tracking sheet provided by the board. The
tracking sheet will be included with renewal notices and will
cover the period of July 1 through June 30.

2. The board may request, through official audit,
verification of clock hours submitted, including information
regarding content, certification, attendance, and receipts. A
small percentage will be audited each year as a means of
evaluating the effectiveness of the continuing education
program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:351 (May 1996).

§117. Application Procedures

A. An application for a license to practice speech-language
pathology and/or audiology in Louisiana shall be made on
forms supplied by the board.

B. Official transcripts shall be sent to this board directly
from the college or university from which the academic
requirements were earned.

C. Documentation of supervised clinical practicum hours
shall be submitted on university forms and signed by a clinical
supervisor or director.

D. The initial license fee submitted to this board shall be
paid by certified check, cashier's check or money order. Only
renewal fees may be paid by personal check.

E.. Documentation of nine months of postgraduate
professional employment/experience shall be submitted
directly to the board in writing on official agency letterhead.

F. Documentation of nine months of postgraduate
professional employment/experience, a passing score on NTE,
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and verification of supervised clinical practicum hours may be

waived for individuals who submit verification that they hold

the Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American

Speech-Hearing-Language Association.

G. Postgraduate professional employment/experience
which counts toward upgrading the license status, will only be
accepted from the date that a licensee's application is
acknowledged to have been received by the board.

H. While an application for a license is being considered
by the board, the applicant may be employed as a speech-
language pathologist, audiologist or speech-language
pathology assistant for a period not longer than 60 days from
the date that their application is acknowledged to have been
received by the board. In no event may the applicant be
employed as a speech-language pathologist, audiologist or
speech-language pathology assistant after the application has
been denied.

I. An applicant may be granted only one 60-day period to
work while his/her application is being processed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:352 (May 1996).

§119. Supervision Requirements for Restricted License,
Provisional Speech-Language Pathology License
and Provisional Audiology License

A. Restricted Licensees, Provisional Speech-Language
Pathology Licensees and Provisional Audiology Licensees are
required to undergo direct supervision by a licensed speech-
language pathologist or audiologist, licensed in the area in
accordance with LSA R.S. 37:2659(A). An individual may
not be supervised by a provisional licensee, restricted
licensee, or assistant licensee.

B. The direct supervision of the licensee, whether
employed full-time or part-time, shall include 12 monitoring
activities annually at least four of which shall be on-site, in-
view observations divided between the areas of diagnostics
and management.  Alternative methods may include
conferences, audio and videotape recordings, review of
written records, staffings and discussions with other persons
who have participated in the licensee's training.

C. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 100 provided
by the board.

1. Licensees employed in the public schools shall
submit Form 100 within 10 days after the end of the school
year.

2. Alllicensees shall submit Form 100 no later than July
10 of each year. ’

3. - All costs of supervision shall be borne by the licensee
or his/her employer, but in no event will those costs be borne
by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:352 (May 1996).




§121. Supervision Requirements for Speech-Language
Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant

A. The supervision requirements specified in these
guidelines are MINIMUM requirements. It is the responsibility
of the speech-language pathologist to design and provide a
supervision system that protects patient/client care and
maintains the highest possible standards of quality.

B. Treatment for the patient/client served remains the
responsibility of the supervisor. Therefore, the level of
supervision required is considered the minimum level
necessary for the supervising speech-language pathologist to
maintain direct contact with the patient/client.

C. Supervision Requirements for the Speech-Language
Pathology Assistant:

1. A minimum of one clock hour of on-site, in-view
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee;

2. A minimum of one clock hour of alternative
supervision methods shall completed each week for each
licensee. These methods should include, but are not limited
to:

a. specifying protocols for speech-language
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant
licensee;

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings
conducted by the assistant licensee;

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and
documenting approval;

d.  monitoring patient/client progress toward meeting
established objectives;

€. monitoring,
collection;

f. directing maintenance of equipment;

g. directing research projects, in-service training and
public relations programs;

h. conducting telephone conferences;

3. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Full-Time and

Part-time Supervision Requirements:

scheduling, charting and data

HoOURs REQUIRED SUPERVISION REQUIRED SUPERVISION
WORKED ON-SITE, IN-VIEW ALTERNATIVE METHOD
21-40 hours 1 hr/week 1 hr/week

20 hrs or less 1 hr/every 2 weeks 1 hr/every 2 weeks

4. Assistant licensees shall be supervised only by a
speech-language pathologist licensed under the provisions of
LSA R.S. 37:2659(A). An individual may not be supervised
by a provisional licensee or restricted licensee;

5. Although more than one speech-language pathologist
may provide supervision of an assistant licensee and
provisional assistant licensee, at no time may a licensed
speech-language pathologist supervise or be listed as a
supervisor for more than three assistant or provisional
assistant licensees. When multiple supervisors are used, the
supervisors are encouraged to coordinate and communicate
with each other;

6. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 200 provided
by the board,

7. The supervising speech-language pathologist shall be
readily available for consultation with the assistant licensee.
This includes personal contact, telephone, pager, or other
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means of communication;
D. Supervision Requirements for the Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant:
1. A minimum of three clock hours of on-site, in-view
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee;
2. A minimum of two clock hours of alternative
supervision methods shall be completed each week for each
licensee. These methods should include, but are not limited
to:

a. specifying protocols for speech-language
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant
licensee;

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings
conducted by the assistant licensee;

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and
documenting approval,

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward meeting
established objectives;

€. monitoring
collection;

f. directing maintenance of equipment;

g. directing research projects, in-service training and
public relations programs;

h. conducting telephone conferences.

3. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant
Full-Time and Part-Time Supervision Requirement:

scheduling, charting and data

Hours REQUIRED SUPERVISION REQUIRED SUPERVISION
WORKED ON-SITE, IN-VIEW ALTERNATIVE METHOD
21-40 hours 3 hrs/week 2 hrs/week
20 hrs or less 1% hr/week 1 hr/week

4. Provisional assistant licensees shall be supervised by
only a speech-language pathologist licensed under the
provisions of LSA R.S. 37:2659(A). An individual may not
be supervised by a provisional licensee or a restricted
licensee;

5. Although more than one speech-language pathologist
may provide supervision of an assistant licensee and
provisional assistant licensee, at no time may a licensed
speech-language pathologist supervise or be listed as a
supervisor for more than three assistant or provisional
assistant licensees. When multiple supervisors are used, the
supervisors are encouraged to coordinate and communicate
with each other; .

6. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 300 provided
by the board;

7. The supervising speech-language pathologist shall be
readily available for consultation with the provisional
assistant licensee. This includes personal contact, telephone,
pager, or other means of communication.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:353 (May 1996).

§123. Hearing Aid Dispensing

A. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall meet the
coursework and practicum requirements for dispensing as
specified in LSA R.S. 37:2650 et seq., and shall register their
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intent to do so at the time of each license renewal.

1. Dispensing audiologists shall pay an initial
registration fee of $25 and an annual renewal fee of $10 in
addition to the fees charged for licensure renewal.

2. Dispensing audiologists shall affix an annual
registration seal to the displayed audiology license.

B. Audiologists who hold a Provisional Audiology
License shall be supervised by a licensed, registered
dispensing audiologist while completing the postgraduate
professional employment/experience requirements for full
licensure.

C. Audiologists who hold an audiology license but are
completing the coursework or practicum requirements for
registration as a dispenser shall follow the supervision
requirements as specified in §119 and shall submit the board's
Form 100 at the time of renewal. The board's Form 100 shall
be submitted to upgrade the license status.

D. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall maintain
annual calibration records on audiometric equipment.

E. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall meet the
minimum continuing education requirements for license
renewal with at least three of the required 10 hours in areas
specifically related to hearing aids and/or the dispensing of
hearing aids.

F. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall comply
with the following guidelines:

1. Audiologists shall conduct a pre-purchase evaluation
that includes:

‘a. acase history;
b. an otoscopic examination;
c. abasic audiological test battery, including:
i. pure tone air and bone conduction testing;
ii. speech reception threshold,;
iii. word recognition testing;
iv appropriate tolerance testing; and
v. middle ear measurements when indicated.

2. Audiologists shall provide the consumer with a
minimum 30-day trial period on all new hearing aids
purchased,;

3. Audiologists shall inform the consumer of the total
cost of the hearing aid, including any fees for returning the aid
at the end of the trial period;

4. Audiologists shall conduct a post fitting evaluation
that includes functional gain measurements and/or real ear
measurements unless physical  conditions  prohibit
accomplishment of these procedures;

5.a. Audiologists who engage in the fitting or selling of
hearing aids shall deliver to each person supplied with a
hearing aid, a bill of sale which shall contain the dispenser's
signature, address and license number, together with a
description of the make, model and serial number of the
hearing aid and the amount charged. The bill of sale shall also
indicate whether the hearing aid is new, used, or
reconditioned.

b. Audiologists who engage in the fitting of hearing
aids shall deliver to each person supplied with a hearing aid,
a document which shall contain the dispenser’s signature,
address and license number, together with a description of the
make, model and serial number of the hearing aid. The
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document shall also indicate whether the hearing aid is new,
used or reconditioned.

G. Audiologists who meet the qualifications for licensure
as an audiologist and who were exempt under LSA-R.S.
37:2464.A. as part of their employment with a state health
agency may register as dispensing audiologists by presenting
proof of employment and dispensing experience in that job
setting.

H. Audiologists who meet the qualifications for licensure
as an audiologist but lack the coursework and practicum
requirements necessary for registration as a dispenser may
fulfill the requirements by completing nine months of
postgraduate professional employment/experience under the
supervision of a licensed dispensing audiologist, and by proof
of the successful completion of a study course by the National
Institute for Hearing Instruments Studies, or its equivalent.
Equivalency for National Institute for Hearing Instruments
Studies is defined as:

1. anindividualized program of study that may include:

a. hearing aid fitting courses sponsored by hearing aid
manufacturers;

b. university programs; or

c. programs of independent study;

2. any individualized program of study shall be
submitted to the board a minimum of 60-days in advance for
pre-approval.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:353 (May 1996).

§125. Disciplinary Actions

This board may refuse to issue, may suspend or revoke a
license for the practice of speech-language pathology or
audiology or otherwise discipline an applicant or licensee,
upon a finding that the applicant or licensee has violated any
provisions of LSA R.S. 37:2650 et seq., or any of the rules or
regulations promulgated by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:354 (May 1996).

§127. Licensure by Reciprocity

The board may waive the examination for applicants who
present proof of current licensure in another state with
standards equivalent to those of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:354 (May 1996).

§129. Additional Requirements for Foreign Graduates/
Speakers of English as a Second Language

A. Any document required to be submitted to this board
with an application for a license shall be in the English
language, or accompanied by a certified translation thereof
into the English language.

B. As a condition of the board's consideration of the
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license application of a graduate of a foreign college or
university, the applicant shall provide the board with an
evaluation of the applicant's transcript from an approved
credentials evaluation agency. A list of approved agencies,
and their addresses, may be obtained from the board.

C. Because the essence of the practice of speech-language
pathology and audiology is communication, an applicant
whose primary language is not English shall submit a passing
score on a nationally recognized English proficiency
examination, and make a personal appearance before the
board or its designees before a license may be issued.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR
22:354 (May 1996).

Chapter 3. Aides
§301. Qualifications and Duties

A. Speech-language pathologists and audiologists are
legally, ethically, and morally responsible for the services
provided by aides working under their direction.

B. Requirements for the use of aides follow:

1. A licensed speech-language pathologist or
audiologist may utilize an aide who meets the following
qualifications. The aide shall:

a. be of good moral character;

b. be at least 18 years old;

C. possess appropriate communication skills;
d. have a high school diploma or G.E.D.

2. The supervising speech-language pathologist or
audiologist is responsible for determining that the aide is
qualified and prepared for the duties which s/he will be
assigned. It is recommended that the aide be afforded
continuing education opportunities. Appropriate areas of
training may include:

a. normal processes in speech, language and hearing;

b. disorders of speech, language and hearing;

c. record-keeping and data compilation;

d. utilization of equipment and materials;

e. professional ethics and their application to the
aide's duties.

C. Supervision

1. The licensed speech-language pathologist or
audiologist shall provide on-site, in-view supervision 25
percent of the patient/client contact time during the initial year
of the aide's employment.

2. The on-site, in-view supervision in subsequent years
shall be established by the supervising speech-language
pathologist or audiologist on an individual basis but shall be
no less than 10 percent of patient/client contact time.

3. The supervising speech-language pathologist or
audiologist shall be readily available for consultation with the
aide at all times.

4. Documentation of on-site, in-view supervision shall
be maintained by the supervising speech-language pathologist
or audiologist and shall be submitted to the board upon
request. '

5. The supervising speech-language pathologist or
audiologist shall report to the board at the time of licensure
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renewal, the names and employment locations of aides.

D. The aide may engage in activities limited to those that
are planned and directed by the supervising speech-language
pathologist or audiologist. Providing that the preparation,
training, and supervision are appropriate, the following tasks
may be assigned to aides:

1. setting up room and equipment;

2. clearing room and storing equipment;

3. preparing materials (such as making copies, typing
forms) for use by the speech-language pathologist and/or
audiologist;

4. checking equipment to determine if the equipment is
performing adequately;

5. transporting patients/clients to and from sessions;

6. assisting with field trips and other communication
stimulation situations;

7. performing hearing screenings limited to pure-tone
air conduction screening and screening tympanometry;

8. recording, charting, graphing, or otherwise
displaying objective data relative to the patient's/client's
performance.

E. Only the speech-language pathologist or audiologist
shall exercise independent judgment in the provision of
professional services. Specifically, the speech-language
pathologist or audiologist may not delegate any of the
following to the aide:

1. speech-language screening;

2. evaluation, diagnosis, or therapy with individuals
with speech, language or hearing disorders;

3. interpretation or discussion of confidential
information despite the fact that this information may have
been requested by the patient/client, parent or referring
agency;

4. performance of any procedure for which the aide has
not been trained.

F. Exemption. Aides employed on or before the effective
date of these rules may continue to operate under the
provisions of Chapter 3, §§301-305 of the Louisiana Register
16:409 (May 1990) of the Louisiana Board of Examiners for
Speech Pathology and Audiology.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq. .

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 16:409 (May 1990), amended LR
22:355 (May 1996).

§303. Requirements of Speech-Language Pathologists/
Audiologists in Monitoring Aides, Assistants and
Helpers

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 16:410 (May 1990 ), repealed LR
22:355 (May 1996).

§305. Services of Aides, Assistants or Helpers

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:2650 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
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and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 16:410 (May 1990 ), repealed LR
22:355 (May 1996). .

Chapter 5. Procedural Rules

§501. Investigation of Complaints

A. The board is authorized to receive complaints against
licensees, applicants, or other persons engaging in practices
which violate or are alleged to violate the provisions of LSA
R.S. 37:2650 et seq.

B. Any complaint bearing on a licensee’s professional
competence, conviction of a crime, unauthorized practice,
mental competence, neglect of practice, or violation of state
law or ethical standards where applicable to the practice of
speech-language pathology or audiology shall be submitted to
the board. ,

C. Complaints shall be in writing and signed by the
complainant.

D. Once a written complaint is received, the board shall
initiate a review of the allegations contained therein. The
board may dispose of the complaint informally through
correspondence or conference with the licensee and/or the
complainant, which may result in a consent order agreeable to
both parties. If the licensee stipulates to the complaint and
waives her/his right to a formal hearing, the board may
impose appropriate sanctions without delay. If the board finds
that a complaint can not be resolved informally, the written
complaint shall be forwarded to the board’s designated
investigator for investigation. The board shall at that time
notify the licensee, by certified mail, return receipt requested,
of the investigation.

E. Theboard’s designated investigator shall have authority
to investigate the nature of the complaint through conference

-and correspondence directed to those parties or witnesses
involved. The board’s designated investigator shall send the
involved licensee notice by certified mail, return receipt
requested, of the investigation containing a short summary of
the complaint and a list of any questions the designated
investigator may direct to the licensee relative to the
complaint. All subsequent letters to the involved licensee, all
letters to the complainant, or any other witness, shall be sent
with a designation “personal and confidential” clearly marked
on the outside of the envelope.

F. The designated investigator shall conclude the
investigation as quickly as possible, without compromising
thoroughness. Unless good cause is shown by the designated
investigator satisfactory to the board, which may extend the
time for the investigation, the investigation and
recommendations to the board shall be delivered to the board
within 60 days of the date that the designated investigator first
received the assignment from the board.

G. The designated investigator shall report to the board
and make a recommendation for either proceeding to an
informal hearing, a formal hearing, or for a dismissal of the
complaint. When the designated investigator’s recommended
action may lead to denial, suspension, or revocation of a
license, the board shall convene a formal adjudication hearing.
The designated investigator may determine that the licensee’s
explanation satisfactorily answers the complaint and may
recommend to the board that the matter be dismissed. The
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recommended remedial action or dismissal of the complaint
shall be forwarded to the complainant and to the licensee.

H. The designated investigator may also recommend that
the complaint be resolved by a consent order entered into by
the licensee and the complainant. If the order contains any
agreement by the licensee to some remedial course of action,
the agreement shall be signed by the complainant, the
licensee, and a majority of the board. The designated
investigator shall make note of any agreement arrived at
between the complainant and the licensee, but such an
agreement shall not necessarily preclude further disciplinary
action by the board against the licensee.

I. Ifthe designated investigator’s recommendation for an
informal hearing is accepted by the board, the designated
investigator shall notify the licensee of the time, date, and
place of the informal hearing and of the issues to be discussed.
The licensee shall appear on a voluntary basis. The licensee
shall be advised that the hearing will be informal, no attorneys
will be present, and no transcript of the hearing will be made.
Any witnesses who testify will not be placed under oath, and
no subpoenas will be issued. The licensee shall be informed
that any statements made at the informal hearing will not be
used or introduced at a formal hearing, unless all parties
consent. If the licensee notifies the designated investigator
that s/he does not wish an informal hearing, or if the licensee
fails or refuses to attend an informal hearing, the informal
hearing shall not be held. In that event, the board shall initiate
a formal disciplinary hearing.

J.  The designated investigator shall recommend to the
board the initiation of a formal disciplinary hearing if the
investigation discloses any of the following: the complaint is
sufficiently serious to require a formal adjudication; the
licensee fails to respond to the correspondence by the
designated investigator concerning the complaint; the
licensee’s response to the designated investigator discloses
that further action is necessary; an informal hearing is held but
does not resolve all of the issues; or the licensee refuses to
comply with the recommended remedial action.

K. The designated investigator shall submit any
recommended action to the board in brief, concise language,
without any reference to the particulars of the investigation,
to any findings of fact or any conclusions of law arrived at
during the investigative process.

L. The board shall have the authority to delegate to the
designated investigator any alleged violations of the Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology Act, LSA R.S. 37:2650
et seq., and any alleged violations of any and all rules and
regulations adopted by the board pursuant thereto, prior to
board action on those alleged violations. If requested by the
board, the designated investigator shall submit to the board
the complete investigation file. Final authority for appropriate
action rests solely with the board.

M. At no time shall the designated investigator investigate
any case as authorized by the board where the investigator has
any personal or economic interest in the outcome of the
investigation, or is personally related to or maintains a close
friendship with the complainant, the licensee, or any of the
witnesses involved. In such event, the designated investigator
shall immediately notify the board, who shall appoint a
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substitute investigator for disposition of that particular case.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR17:373 (April 1991), amended LR
22:356 (May 1996).

§503. Compliance Hearings

A. The board shall provide a compliance hearing to a
rejected applicant for licensure provided that the rejected
applicant requests a compliance hearing in writing within 30
days of the receipt of the notice of rejection. The applicant’s
request for a compliance hearing shall state with specificity
the reason(s) why the application should be accepted.

B. A licensee whose license has lapsed for non-payment

of renewal fees shall be entitled to a compliance hearing

provided that the licensee requests one in writing within 10
days after receipt of the notice for the lapsed license, or, in the
event that the licensee did not receive notice of the lapsed
license, within 30 days of the date upon which the license
would have lapsed by operation of law.

C. The purpose and intent of the compliance hearing is to
provide a forum for the applicant or licensee to present
documentary evidence, in the form of affidavits, public
records, official records, letters, etc., along with testimony
under oath to establish that the applicant or licensee does, in
fact, meet the lawful requirements for issuance of a license or
the retention of the license. The board shall have the authority
to administer oaths, hear the testimony, and conduct the
hearing. The applicant or licensee may be represented by
counsel, or may represent her/himself.

D. In any compliance hearing, the burden of proof shall
rest with the applicant or licensee to establish that s’he meets
the criteria for hcensure or that her/his license was timely
renewed.

E. Within 15 days after‘the compliance hearing, the board
shall forward its final decision, including specific reasons
therefore, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
applicant or licensee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR
22:357 (May 1996).

§505. Formal Disciplinary Hearings

A. If, after completion of the investigation, the board
determines that the circumstances may warrant the
withholding, denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, or
other disciplinary action, the board shall initiate a formal
disciplinary hearing. The board shall promptly notify the
attorney general who is authorized and directed to appear on
behalf of the state. The hearing shall convene in a designated
Louisiana city, giving due consideration to the parish of
residence of the applicant or licensee, the parish of residence
of the complainant, the parish of residence of other witnesses,
and other factors deemed important by the board. The hearing
shall be held before the board only after the involved licensee
is given at least 30 days notice by certified mail, return receipt
requested. The notice shall include the following:
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1. astatement of the date, time, place, and nature of the
hearing;

2. a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction
under which the hearing is to be held;

3. areference to the partlcular sections of the statute
and/or rules involved,

4. ashort and plain statement enumeratmg the charges;

5. astatement advising the licensee of her/his right to be
represented by legal counsel;

6. the names of the members of the hearing panel.

B. . If the board is unable to state the charges in detail at the
time the notice is served, the initial notice may be limited to
a statement of the issues involved, thereafter, upon written
request, a more definite and detailed statement shall be
furnished.

C. The board shall arrange for a certified shorthand '
reporter to make an accurate recording of all testimony
presented and all documents entered into evidence at the
hearing. A party wishing to file documents into evidence
shall provide the court reporter with a copy marked for
identification as an exhibit and shall provide copies to each
member of the hearing panel, the board’s legal counsel,
opposing counsel, as well as counsel for any joined parties,
and/or any unrepresented parties.

D. By bringing a complaint, the complainant waives the
privilege of confidentiality for the purpose of the formal
disciplinary hearing.

E. The rules of evidence, authority to administer oaths,
issue subpoenas, conduct discovery, and control confidential -
privileged information shall apply to the formal disciplinary
hearing in the form specified by LSA R.S. 37:2656, 2663, the
rules ‘and regulations promulgated by this board, and as
specified in the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, LSA
R.S. 49:950 et seq. -

F. It is the licensee’s continuing obligation to keep the
board informed of her/his whereabouts. Accordingly, if
notice of the hearing cannot be delivered by mail because of
a licensee’s change of address and the new address is not
provided to the board, the board may hold the hearing in the
licensee’s absence, after making reasonable efforts to obtain
the licensee’s new address.

G. Within 15 days of the licensee’s receipt of notice, s/he
may file a written answer to the notice, denying some or all of
the charges, or offering any explanation or assertmg whatever
defense s/he deems applicable. ;

H. The board shall have discretion to consolidate one or
more cases for hearing involving the same or related parties or
substantially the same questions of fact or law. The board
may also grant separate hearings if a joint hearing may be
prejudicial to one or more of the parties. If hearings are to be
consolidated, notice shall be given to all parties in advance of
the hearing.

. The presiding officer shall consider a motion to modify
or quash any subpoena issued in connection with the hearing,
provided that such motion is filed by certified mail, return
receipt requested, with the board at its registered office not
later than three days prior to the hearing date or the date
scheduled for the deposition, if the subpoena was issued in
connection with a deposition. Possible grounds to quash or
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limit the subpoena include, but are not limited to: testimony
on material protected by privilege or state regulation or other
law; burdensomeness that would not be justified in light of the
evidence important to the case; undue hardship on a witness;
vagueness; immateriality.

J. The burden of proof at a formal disciplinary hearing
rests with the attorney general who is bringing the charge
before the board. No sanction shall be imposed or order
issued, except upon consideration of the entire record, as
supported by and in accordance with reliable, probative, and
substantial evidence. The standard of proof in all hearings
before the board and for any review or examination of
evidence provided by LSA R.S. 49:957 or 958, shall be
carried by a preponderance of the evidence.

K. If the board finds by a preponderance of the evidence
that the withholding, denial, suspension, or revocation of a
license, or other disciplinary action is warranted, the board
shall sanction said individual according to the provisions of
LSA R.S. 37:2662(B):
refuse to issue a license;
refuse to renew a license;
issue a private letter of reprimand or concern;
issue a public letter of reprimand or concern;

5. require restitution of costs and expenses incurred by
the board related to the enforcement of LSA R.S. 37:2650 et
seq.;

6. impose probationary conditions;

7. impose a fine for each violation not to exceed $1,000
per violation;

8. suspend a license;

9. revoke a license;

] 10. restrict the license by limiting or reducing the scope
of practice; and/or

11. otherwise discipline a licensee.

L. A final decision or order adverse to a party in an
adjudication proceeding shall be in writing or stated in the
record. A final decision shall include findings of fact and
conclusions of law. Findings of fact, if set forth in statutory
language, shall be accompanied by a concise and explicit
statement of the underlying facts supporting the findings.
Parties shall be notified by the board, either personally or by
certified mail, return receipt requested, of any decision or
order. Upon request, a copy of the decision or order shall be
mailed to each party and to her/his attorney of record.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR
22:357 (May 1996).

§507. General Procedural Rules For Hearings

A. The board is empowered to issue subpoenas upon
receipt of a written request from the licensee or attorney
general at least 30 days in advance of any scheduled hearing.
The board shall issue said subpoenas upon receipt of said
written request and receipt of any and all fees for subpoenas
as provided for in §111.R promulgated by the board.

B The board may petition a court of competent
jurisdiction for a contempt rule to show cause when there is a
failure to comply with a subpoena.

S
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C. The board shall elect from its membership a person to
act as presiding officer of the hearing. The presiding officer
shall have the power to: regulate the discovery process; hold
pre-hearing conferences for the simplification or settlement of
issues; convene the hearing; place witnesses under oath; take
action necessary to maintain order; rule on motions and
procedural questions arising prior to, during or after the
hearing; rule on objections and admissibility of evidence; call
recesses or adjourn the hearing; and prescribe and enforce
general rules of conduct and decorum. The other board
members may not delegate their decision making and fact
finding duties to the presiding officer, nor shall the presiding
officer have any greater weight in the decision making process
than any other board member. The board’s findings of fact
and conclusions of law shall be signed by a majority of the
hearing panel finding those facts and conclusions of law. Any
member of the hearing panel disagreeing with those findings
and conclusions may also file a dissent in the record with
her/his decisions therefore.

D. Any board member having reason to believe that s/he
is biased against one of the parties in the proceeding, or has a
personal interest in the outcome of the proceeding, shall
immediately notify the other board members and request to be

disqualified. Any party to a hearing may file with the board

an affidavit requesting a disqualification of a board member
from the formal hearing because of the board member’s bias
or personal interest. As soon as possible, but no later than the
beginning of the hearing, the majority of the board shall pass
upon any request for disqualification. The concerned board
member shall not participate in the deliberation of the board
on the issue of disqualification, and shall not vote on the issue.
If the board determines that there is no merit to the request for
disqualification, the board shall proceed with the hearing.
Any doubt concerning the fitness of a board member shall be
resolved in favor of disqualification. In the event
disqualification occurs, the board shall immediately request
the governor to appoint a board member pro tem to replace the
disqualified member for the hearing in progress only.

E. The parties to the hearing are urged, but not required,
to confer prior to the hearing, through their respective
counsel, or personally, to attempt to reduce or simplify the
issues to be heard. The board shall honor any stipulations
arrived at between the parties as proven facts at the hearing.
The purpose at the pre-hearing conference is to insure that the
hearing is not unusually delayed by receiving testimony or
other evidence on matters which are not seriously in dispute
between the parties.

F. The procedures to be followed in conducting the
hearing governing the order of the proceedings are contained
in Chapter 12 of the Disciplinary Action Manual For
Occupational Licensing Boards prepared by the Louisiana
Department of Justice, 1979, through the Office of the
Attorney General. A copy of the Chapter will be provided to
any interested party involved with the hearing upon receipt by
the board of a written request therefore.

G. Parties may conduct discovery pursuant to the
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, LSA R.S. 49:950 et
seq. Said discovery shall not unduly delay the hearing before
the board.
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H. For good cause shown, the board has discretion to
extend or continue the time set for the hearing for such
reasons as ill health, inability to obtain counsel, the
complexities of the case, or such other matters deemed by the
board to constitute good cause.

L. Upon request by either the licensee or the attorney
general, witnesses shall be sequestered and not allowed in the
hearing chambers during the hearing or permitted to discuss
their testimony with other witnesses prior to the conclusion of
the hearing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April, 1991), amended LR
22:358 (May 1996).

§509. Rehearing

A. A decision or order in a case of adjudication shall be
subject to rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration by the
board within 10 days from the date of its entry. The grounds
for such action shall be either that:

1. the decision or order is clearly contrary to the law
and the evidence;

2. the party has discovered since the hearing evidence
important to the issues which s/he could not have with due
diligence obtained before or during the hearing;

3. there is a showing that issues not previously
considered should be examined in order to properly dispose of
the matter; or

4. there is other good ground for further consideration
of the issues and the evidence in the public interest.

B. The petition of a party for rehearing, reconsideration,
or review and the order of the board granting it, shall set forth
the grounds which justify such action. Nothing in this rule
shall prevent rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration of a
matter by this board in accordance with other statutory
provisions applicable to the board, or, at any time, on the
ground of fraud practiced by the prevailing party or of
procurement of the order by perjured testimony or fictitious
evidence. On reconsideration, reopening, or rehearing, the
matter shall be heard by the board. The hearing shall be
confined to those grounds upon which the reconsideration,
reopening, or rehearing was ordered. If an application for
rehearing shall be timely filed, the period within which
judicial review, under the applicable statute, must be sought,
shall run from the final disposition of such application.

C. Ifapetition for rehearing, reconsideration, or review is
granted, the decision of the board is not final and therefore is
not implemented until a decision is reached after the
rehearing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR
22:359 (May 1996).

§511. The Case Record

The case record shall include the following, plus other
material that the board considers desirable to obtain:

1. all papers filed and served in the proceedings;
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2. all motions filed, answers or objections thereto, and
all decisions of the board in response to the motions; -

3. all documents and other evidence accepted as
evidence at the hearing;

4. statements of matters officially notlced

5. notices required by statutes or rules, including notice
of the hearing;

6. affidavits of service or receipts for mailing of process
or other evidence of service;

7. stipulations, settlement agreements,
orders;

8. records of matters agreed upon at the pre-hearing
conference;

9. orders of the board and its final decision;

10. actions taken subsequent to the decision, including
requests for reconsideration and rehearing;

11. atranscript of the proceedings.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:359 (May 1996).

§513. Declaratory Orders

Any party or person deemed to be governed by or under the
jurisdiction of the Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Act, R.S. 37:2650 et seq., may apply to the board for a
declaratory order or ruling in order to determine the
applicability of a statutory provision, rule of this board, or
ethical consideration of this board, to said party or person.
The board shall issue the declaratory order or ruling in
connection with the request by majority vote of the board,
signed and mailed to the requesting party. The board may
seek an opinion of legal counsel or the attorney general in
connection with the request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:359 (May 1996)

§515. Judicial Review

A. A-person who is aggrieved by a final decmon or order
in an adjudication proceeding is entitled to judicial review
whether or not s/he has applied to the board for rehearing. A
preliminary, procedural, or intermediate board action or ruling
is immediately reviewable if review of the final board
decision would not provide an adequate remedy and would
inflict irreparable injury.

B. Proceedings for review shall be instituted by filing a
petition in the Nineteenth Judicial District Court for the Parish
of East Baton Rouge within 30 days after mailing of notice of
the final decision by the board or, if rehearing is requested,
within 30 days after the decision thereon. Copies of the
petition shall be served upon the board and all parties of
record.

C. The filing of the petition does not itself stay
enforcement of the board decision. The board may grant, or
the reviewing court may order, a stay upon appropriate terms.

D. Within 30 days after the service of the petition on the
board or within further time allowed by the court, the board
shall transmit to the reviewing court a certified copy of the

or consent
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entire record of the proceeding under review. By stipulation
of all parties, the record may be shortened. A party
unreasonably refusing to stipulate to limit the record may be
taxed by the court for the additional costs.

E. If, before the date set for hearing, application is made
to the court for leave to present additional evidence, and it is
shown that the additional evidence is material and that there
were good reasons for failure to present it in the proceeding
before the board, the court may order that the additional
evidence be taken before the board upon conditions
determined by the court. The board may modify its finding
and decision by reason of the additional evidence and shall
file that evidence and any modifications, new findings, or
decisions with the reviewing court.

F. . The review shall be conducted by the court without a
jury and shall be confined to the record. In cases of alleged
irregularities in procedure before the board, not shown in the
record, proof thereon may be taken in the court. The court,
upon request, shall hear oral argument and shall receive
written briefs.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:359 (May 1996).

§517. Appeals

An aggrieved party may obtain a review of any final
judgment of the Nineteenth Judicial District Court by appeal
to the Court of Appeal for the First Circuit. The appeal shall
be taken as in other civil cases.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:360 (May 1996).

Chapter 7. Code of Ethics
§701. Preamble

A. The Code of Ethics of the Louisiana Board of
Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
specifies professional standards that allow for the proper
discharge of professionals' responsibilities to those served and
that protect the integrity of the profession.

B. Any action that violates the spirit and purpose of this
Code shall be considered unethical. Failure to specify any
particular responsibility or practice in this Code of Ethics shall
not be construed as denial of the existence of such
responsibilities or practices.

C. Principles of Ethics, aspirational and inspirational in
nature, form the underlying moral basis for the Code of
Ethics. - Individuals shall observe these principles as
affirmative obligations under all conditions of professional
activity.

D. Rules of Ethics are specific statements of minimally
acceptable professional conduct or of prohibitions and are
applicable to all individuals.

E. Rules of Ethics

1. Principle of Ethics . Licensees  shall  provide
professional services with honesty and compassion and shall
respect the dignity, worth, and rights of those served.

a. Individuals shall use every resource, including
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referral when appropriate, to ensure that high-quality service
is provided and shall not accept or offer benefits or items of
personal value for receiving or making referrals.

b. Individuals shall not discriminate in the delivery of
professional services on the basis of race or ethnicity, gender,
age, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability.

c. Individuals shall fully inform the persons they
serve of the nature and possible effects of services rendered
and products dispensed.

d. Individuals shall evaluate the effectiveness of
services rendered and of products dispensed and shall provide
services or dispense products only when benefits can
reasonably be expected.

e. Individuals shall not guarantee the results of any
treatment or procedure, directly or by implication; however,
they may make a reasonable statement of prognosis.

f. Individuals shall not evaluate or treat speech,
language, or hearing disorders solely by correspondence. This
does not preclude follow-up correspondence with persons
previously seen, nor the provision of general information of
an educational nature.

g. Individuals shall maintain adequate records of
professional services rendered and products dispensed and
shall allow access to these records when appropriately
authorized.

h. Individuals shall not reveal, without authorization,
any professional or personal information about the person
served professionally, unless required by law to do so, or
unless doing so is necessary to protect the welfare of the
person or of the community.

i. Individuals shall not charge for services not
rendered, nor shall they misrepresent, in any fashion, services
rendered or products dispensed.

j. Individuals shall not carry out teaching, or research
activities in a manner that constitutes an invasion of privacy,
or that fails to inform persons fully about the nature and
possible effects of these activities, affording all persons
informed free-choice and participation.

k. Individuals whose professional services are
adversely affected by substance abuse or other health-related
conditions shall seek professional assistance and, where
appropriate, withdraw from the affected areas of practice.

. Individuals shall not engage in sexual activity with
a patient/client. ,

2. Principle of Ethics II.  Individuals shall honor their
responsibility to achieve and maintain the highest level of
professional competence.

a. Individuals shall provide all services competently.
Individuals shall engage in only those aspects of the
professions that are within the scope of their competence,
considering their level of education, training and experience.

b. Individuals shall hold the appropriate qualifications
for the area(s) in which they are providing or supervising
professional services.

c. Individuals shall continue their professional
development throughout their careers.

d. Individuals shall provide appropriate supervision
and assume full responsibility for services delegated to
support personnel. Individuals shall not delegate any service
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requiring professional competence to persons unqualified.

e. Individuals shall neither provide services nor
supervision of services for which they have not been properly
prepared, nor permit services to be provided by any of their
staff who are not properly prepared.

f.  Individuals shall ensure that all equipment used in
the provision of services is in proper working order and is
properly calibrated.

3. Principle of Ethics III. Individuals shall honor their
responsibility to the public by promoting public understanding
of the professions, by supporting the development of services
designed to fulfill the unmet needs of the public, and by
providing accurate information in all communications
involving any aspect of the professions.

a. Individuals shall not misrepresent their credentials,
competence, education, training or experience.

b. Individuals shall not participate in professional
activities that constitute a conflict of interest.

¢. Individuals shall not misrepresent diagnostic
information, services rendered, or products dispensed, or
engage in any scheme or maneuver to defraud in connection
with obtaining payment or reimbursement for such services or
product.

d. Individuals' statements to the public shall provide
accurate information about the nature and management of
communication disorders, about the professions, and about
professional services.

e. Individuals' statements to the public - advertising,
announcing and marketing their professional services,
reporting research results, and promoting products - shall
adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall not
contain misrepresentations.

4. Principle of Ethics IV. Individuals shall honor their
responsibilities to the professions and their relationships with
colleagues, students, and members of allied professions.
Individuals shall uphold the dignity and autonomy of the
professions, maintain harmonious interprofessional and
intraprofessional relationships, and accept the professions'
self-imposed standards.

a. Individuals shall prohibit anyone under their
supervision from engaging in any practice that violates the
Code of Ethics.

b. Individuals shall not engage in dishonesty, fraud,
deceit, misrepresentation, or any form of conduct that
adversely reflects on the professions or on the individual's
fitness to serve persons professionally.

c. Individuals shall assign credit only to those who
have contributed to a publication, presentation, or product.
Credit shall be assigned in proportion to the contribution and
only with the contributor's consent.

d. Individuals' statements to colleagues about
professional services, research results, and products shall
adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall contain
no misrepresentations.

e. Individuals shall not provide professional services
without exercising independent professional judgment,
regardless of referral source or prescription.

f. Individuals shall not discriminate in their
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relationships with colleagues, students, and members of allied
professions on the basis of race or ethnicity, gender, age,
religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability.

g. Individuals shall not violate these Principles and
Rules, nor attempt to circumvent them.

h. Individuals shall inform the board of any violations
of this Code of Ethics.

i.  Individuals shall cooperate fully with the board on
matters of professional conduct relative to this Code of Ethics.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:371 (April 1991), amended LR
22:360 (May 1996).

§703. Principle of Ethics I

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:371 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996).

§705. Ethical Proscriptions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:371 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996).

§707. Principle of Ethics II

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:371 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996).

§709. Ethical Proscriptions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:371 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996). ’

§711. Principle of Ethics III

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996).

§713. Ethical Proscriptions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:361 (May 1996).
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§715. Matters of Professional Propriety

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dcpartment of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996).

§717. Principles of Ethics IV

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996). '

§719. Matters of Professional Propriety

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996).

§721. Ethical Proscriptions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996).

§723. Principles of Ethics V

Repealed.

" AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996).

§725. Ethical Proscriptions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2650 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:372 (April 1991), repealed LR
22:362 (May 1996).

Suzanne L. Pevey
Administrator
9605#001
RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Children’s Special Health Services (CSHS)
(LAC 48:V.Chapters 49-53)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Department of Health and Hospital, Office
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of Public Health is adopting a rule to amend, repeal and
reenact Part V of the Louisiana Administrative Code,
Preventive Health Services, Subpart 17. Children’s Special
Health Services (CSHS) to resolve service delivery issues, as
follows: Sections 4901, 4903, 4905, 5101, 5103, 5105,
5107, 5109, 5113, 5115, 5117, 5301, 5501, 5503, 5505, 5509,
5511, 5513, 5515, 5517, and 5519, to be repealed and
reenacted; Section 5903, to be amended; Sections 5111, 5303,
and 53035, to be repealed.

The full text of these proposed rules can be obtained by
contacting the Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third
Street, Room 515, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, at a cost of
$13.50. Please reference the document number 9605#050.

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#050

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Establishment of an Office of Research Integrity

There is hereby established within the Office of Public
Health (OPH) an Office of Research Integrity (ORI) to
comply with federal regulation 42 CFR Part 50, Subpart A.
The complete policies and procedures of the OPH-ORI have
been accepted as complying with the federal guidelines by the
United States Department of Health and Human Services,
Office of Research Integrity and are as follows.

I. Introduction
A. General Policy

The Louisiana Office of Publlc Health is fully and
unequivocally dedicated to maintaining the highest of
scientific standards in its patient care, public health and
health-related research activities. These standards include
adherence to professional health care ethics, as stated in health
care worker professional conduct or ethics codes and/or in
state law. All such ethics include maintenance of scientific
integrity, preventing misconduct in research, doing no harm
to anyone whose health care is in the trust of the Louisiana
Office of Public Health, and supporting in good faith those
persons, who report suspected or known activities contrary to
these stated ethics guidelines.

B. Scope

This policy and the associated procedures apply to all
individuals at the Louisiana Office of Public Health engaged
in research that is supported by or for which support is
requested from PHS. The PHS regulation at 42 CFR Part 50,
Subpart A applies to any research, research-training or
research-related grant or cooperative agreement with PHS.
This policy applies to any person paid by, under the control
of, or affiliated with the institution, such as scientists, trainees,
technicians and other staff members, students, fellows, guest
researchers, or collaborators at the Louisiana Office of Public
Health.

N
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The policy and associated procedures will normally be
followed when an allegation of possible misconduct in science
is received by an institutional official. Particular
circumstances in an individual case may dictate variation from
the normal procedure deemed in the best interests of the
Louisiana Office of Public Health and PHS. Any change from
normal procedures also must ensure fair treatment to the
subject of the inquiry or investigation. Any significant
variation should be approved in advance by the research
integrity officer of the Louisiana Office of Public Health.
II. Definitions :

A. Allegation—any written or oral statement or other
indication of possible scientific misconduct made to an
institutional official.

B. - Complainant—a person who makes an allegation of
scientific misconduct.

C. Conflict of Interest—the real or apparent interference
of one person's interests with the interests of another person,
where potential bias may occur due to prior or existing
personal or professional relationships.

D. Deciding Official—the institutional official who makes
final determinations on allegations of scientific misconduct
and any responsive institutional actions. The deciding official
will not be the same individual as the research integrity officer
and should have no direct prior involvement in the
institution's inquiry, investigation or allegation assessment.

E. Goodfaith Allegation—an allegation made with the
honest belief that scientific misconduct may have occurred.
An allegation is not in good faith if it is made with reckless
disregard for or willful ignorance of facts that would disprove
the allegation.

F. Inquiry—gathering information and initial fact-finding
to determine whether an allegation or apparent instance of
scientific misconduct warrants an investigation.

G. Investigation—the formal examination and evaluation
of all relevant facts to determine if misconduct has occurred,
and, if so, to determine the responsible person and the
seriousness of the misconduct.

H. ORI—the Office of Research Integrity, the office
within the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services
(DHHS) that is responsible for the scientific misconduct and
research integrity activities of the U.S. Public Health Service.

I. PHS—the U.S. Public Health Service, an operating

component of the DHHS.

J.  PHS Regulation—the Public Health Service regulation
establishing standards for institutional inquiries and
investigations into allegations of scientific misconduct, which
is set forth at 42 CFR Part 50, Subpart A, entitled
"Responsibility of PHS Awardee and Applicant Institutions
for Dealing With and Reporting Possible Misconduct in
Science.”

K. PHS Support—PHS grants, contracts, or cooperative
agreements or applications therefore.

L. Research Integrity Officer—the institutional official

responsible for assessing allegations of scientific misconduct
and determining when such allegations warrant inquiries and
for overseeing inquiries and investigations.

M. Research Record—any data, document, computer file,
computer diskette, or any other written or non-written account

363

or object that reasonably may be expected to provide evidence
or information regarding the proposed, conducted or reported
research that constitutes the subject of an allegation of
scientific misconduct. A research record includes, but is not
limited to, grant or contract applications, whether funded or
unfunded; grant or contract progress and other reports;
laboratory notebooks; notes; correspondence; videos,
photographs; X-ray film; slides; biological materials;
computer files and printouts; manuscripts and publications;
equipment use logs; laboratory procurement records; animal
facility records; human and animal subject protocols; consent
forms; medical charts and patient research files.

N. Respondent—the person against whom an allegation of
scientific misconduct is directed or the person whose actions
are the subject of the inquiry or investigation. There can be
more than one respondent in any inquiry or investigation.

O. Retaliation—any action that adversely affects the
employment or other institutional status of an individual that
is taken by an institution or an employee because the
individual has in good faith, made an allegation of scientific
misconduct or of inadequate institutional response thereto or
has cooperated in good faith with an investigation of such
allegation.

P. Scientific = Misconduct  or  Misconduct  in
Science—fabrication, falsification, plagiarism, or other
practices that seriously deviate from those that are commonly
accepted within the scientific community for proposing,
conducting, or reporting research. It does not include honest
error or honest differences in interpretations or judgments of
data.

III.  Rights and Responsibilities

A. Research Integrity Officer

The deciding official will appoint the research integrity
officer who  will have primary responsibility for
implementation of the procedures set forth in this document.
The research integrity officer will be an institutional official
who is well qualified to handle the procedural requirements
involved and is sensitive to the varied demands made on those
who conduct research, those who are accused of misconduct,
and those who report apparent misconduct in good faith.

The research integrity officer will appoint the inquiry and
investigation committees and ensure that necessary and
appropriate expertise is secured to carry out a thorough and
authoritative evaluation of the relevant evidence in an inquiry
or investigation. The research integrity officer will attempt to
ensure that confidentiality is maintained.

The research integrity officer will assist inquiry and
investigation committees and all institutional personnel in
complying with these procedures and with applicable
standards imposed by government or external funding
sources. The research integrity officer is also responsible for
maintaining files of all documents and evidence and for the
confidentiality and the security of the files.

The research integrity officer will report to ORI as
required by regulation and keep ORI apprised of any
developments during the course of the inquiry or investigation
that may affect current or potential DHHS funding for the
individual(s) under investigation or that PHS needs to know
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to ensure appropriate use of Federal funds and otherwise
protect the public interest.
B. Complainant

The complainant will have an opportunity to testify
before the inquiry and investigation committees, to review
portions of the inquiry and investigation reports pertinent to
his/her allegations or testimony, to be informed of the results
of the inquiry and investigation, and to be protected from
retaliation. Also, if the research integrity officer has
determined that the complainant may be able to provide
pertinent information on any portions of the draft report, these
portions will be given to the complainant for comment.

The complainant is responsible for making allegations in
good faith, maintaining confidentiality, and cooperating with
an inquiry or investigation.

C. Respondent

The respondent will be informed of the allegations when
an inquiry is opened and notified in writing of the final
determinations and resulting actions. The respondent will also
have the opportunity to be interviewed by and present
evidence to the inquiry and investigation committees, to
review the draft inquiry and investigation reports, and to have
the advice of counsel. :

The respondent is responsible for maintaining
confidentiality and cooperating with the conduct of an inquiry
or investigation. If the respondent is not found guilty of
scientific misconduct, he or she has the right to receive
institutional assistance in restoring his or her reputation.

D. Deciding Official

The deciding official will receive the inquiry and/or
investigation report and any written comments made by the
respondent or the complainant on the draft report. The
deciding official will consult with the research integrity
officer or other appropriate officials and will determine
whether to conduct an investigation, whether misconduct
occurred, whether to impose sanctions, or whether to take
other appropriate administrative actions [see Section X].

IV. General Policies and Principles
A. Responsibility to Report Misconduct

All employees or individuals associated with the

Louisiana Office of Public Health should report observed,
suspected, or apparent misconduct in science to the research
integrity officer. If an individual is unsure whether a
suspected incident falls within the definition of scientific
misconduct, he or she may call the research integrity officer
‘at (504) 568-5048 or LINC 621-5048 or 1-800-256-4609 to
discuss the suspected misconduct informally. If the
circumstances described by the individual do not meet the
definition of scientific misconduct, the research integrity
officer will refer the individual or allegation to other offices
or officials with responsibility for resolving the problem.

At any time, an employee may have confidential
discussions and consultations about concerns of possible
misconduct with the research integrity officer and will be
counseled about appropriate procedures for reporting
allegations.

B. Protecting the Complainant

The research integrity officer will monitor the treatment

of individuals who bring allegations of misconduct or of
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inadequate institutional response thereto, and those who
cooperate in inquiries or investigations. The research
integrity officer will ensure that these persons will not be
retaliated against in the terms and conditions of their
employment or other status at the institution and will review
instances of alleged retaliation for appropriate action.

Employees should immediately report any alleged or
apparent retaliation to the research integrity officer.

Also, the institution will protect the privacy of those who
report misconduct in good faith to the maximum extent
possible.  For example, if the complainant requests
anonymity, the institution will make an effort to honor the
request during the allegation assessment or inquiry within
applicable policies and regulations and state and local laws, if
any. The complainant will be advised that if the matter is
referred to an investigation committee and the complainant's
testimony is required, anonymity may no longer be
guaranteed. Institutions are required to undertake diligent
efforts to protect the positions and reputations of those
persons who, in good faith, make allegations.

C. Protecting the Respondent

Inquiries and investigations will be conducted in a
manner that will ensure fair treatment to the respondent(s) in
the inquiry or investigation and confidentiality to the extent
possible without compromising public health and safety or
thoroughly carrying out the inquiry or investigation.

Institutional employees accused of scientific misconduct
may consult with legal counsel or a non-lawyer personal
adviser (who is not a principal or witness in the case) to seek
advice and may bring the counsel or personal adviser to
interviews or meetings on the case.

D. Cooperation with Inquiries and Investigations.
Institutional employees will cooperate with the research
integrity officer and other institutional officials in the review
of allegations and the conduct of inquiries and investigations.
Employees have an obligation to provide relevant evidence to
the research integrity officer or other institutional officials on
misconduct allegations.

E. Preliminary Assessment of Allegations. Upon receiving
an allegation of scientific misconduct, the research integrity
officer will immediately assess the allegation to determine
whether there is sufficient evidence to warrant an inquiry,
whether PHS support or PHS applications for funding are
involved, and whether the allegation falls under the PHS
definition of scientific misconduct.

V. Conducting the inquiry

A. Initiation and Purpose of the Inquiry. Following the
preliminary assessment, if the research integrity officer
determines that the allegation provides sufficient information
to allow specific follow-up, involves PHS support, and falls
under the PHS definition of scientific misconduct, he or she
will immediately initiate the inquiry process. In initiating the
inquiry, the research integrity officer should identify clearly
the original allegation and any related issues that should be
evaluated. The purpose of the inquiry is to make a
preliminary evaluation of the available evidence and
testimony of the respondent, complainant, and key witnesses
to determine whether there is sufficient evidence of possible
scientific misconduct fto “warrant an investigation. The
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purpose of the inquiry is not to reach a final conclusion about
whether misconduct definitely occurred or who was
responsible. The findings of the inquiry must be set forth in
an inquiry report.

B. Sequestration of the Research Records.  After
determining that an allegation falls within the definition of
misconduct in science and involves PHS funding, the research
integrity officer must ensure that all original research records
and materials relevant to the allegation are immediately
secured. The research integrity officer may consult with ORI
for advice and assistance in this regard.

C. Appointment of the Inquiry Committee

The research integrity officer, in consultation with other
institutional officials as appropriate, will appoint an inquiry
committee and committee chair within 10 working days of the
initiation of the inquiry. The inquiry committee should
consist of individuals who do not have real or apparent
conflicts of interest in the case, are unbiased, and have the
necessary expertise to evaluate the evidence and issues related
to the allegation, interview the principals and key witnesses,
and conduct the inquiry. These individuals may be scientists,
subject matter experts, administrators, lawyers, or other
qualified persons, and they may be from inside or outside the
institution.

The research integrity officer will notify the respondent
of the proposed committee membership in 10 working days.
If the respondent submits a written objection to any appointed
member of the inquiry committee or expert based on bias or
conflict of interest within five days, the research integrity
officer will determine whether to replace the challenged
member or expert with a qualified substitute.

D. Charge to the Committee and the First Meeting

The research integrity officer will prepare a charge for the
inquiry committee that describes the allegations and any
related issues identified during the allegation assessment and
states that the purpose of the inquiry is to make a preliminary
evaluation of the evidence and testimony of the respondent,
complainant, and key witnesses to determine whether there is
sufficient evidence of possible scientific misconduct to
warrant an investigation as required by the PHS regulation.
The purpose is not to determine whether scientific misconduct
definitely occurred or who was responsible.

At the committee's first meeting, the research integrity
officer will review the charge with the committee, discuss the
allegations, any related issues, and the appropriate procedures
for conducting the inquiry, assist the committee with
organizing plans for the inquiry, and answer any questions
raised by the committee. The research integrity officer and
institutional counsel will be present or available throughout
the inquiry to advise the committee as needed.

E. Inquiry Process. The inquiry committee will normally
interview the complainant, the respondent, and key witnesses
as well as examining relevant research records and materials.
Then the inquiry committee will evaluate the evidence and
testimony obtained during the inquiry. After consultation
with the research integrity officer and institutional counsel,
the committee members will decide whether there is sufficient
evidence of possible scientific misconduct to recommend
further investigation. The scope of the inquiry does not
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include deciding whether misconduct occurred or conducting
exhaustive interviews and analyses.
VI. The Inquiry Report :

A. Elements of the Inquiry Report. A written inquiry
report must be prepared that states the name and title of the
committee members and experts, if any; the allegations; the
PHS support; a summary of the inquiry process used; a list of
the research records reviewed; summaries of any interviews;
a description of the evidence in sufficient detail to
demonstrate whether an investigation is warranted or not; and
the committee's determination as to whether an investigation
is recommended and whether any other actions should be
taken if an investigation is not reccommended. Institutional
counsel will review the report for legal sufficiency.

B. Comments on the Draft Report by the Respondent and
the Complainant. The research integrity officer will provide
the respondent with a copy of the draft inquiry report or a
summary of the inquiry findings for comment and rebuttal and
will provide the complainant, if he or she is identifiable, with
portions of the draft inquiry report that address the
complainant's role and opinions in the investigation.

1. Confidentiality. The research integrity officer may
establish reasonable conditions for review to protect the
confidentiality of the draft report.

2. Receipt of Comments. Within 14 calendar days of
their receipt of the draft report, the complainant and
respondent will provide their comments, if any, to the inquiry
committee.  Any comments that the complainant or
respondent submits on the draft report will become part of the
final inquiry report and record. Based on the comments, the
inquiry committee may revise the report as appropriate.

C. Inquiry Decision and Notification.

1. Decision by Deciding Official. The Research
Integrity Office will transmit the final report and any
comments to the Deciding Official, who will make the
determination of whether findings from the inquiry provide
sufficient evidence of possible scientific misconduct to justify
conducting an investigation. The inquiry is completed when
the Deciding Official makes this determination, which will be
made within 60 days of the first meeting of the inquiry
committee. Any extension of this period will be based on
good cause and recorded in the inquiry file.

2. Notification. The research integrity officer will
notify both the respondent and the complainant in writing of
the Deciding Official's decision of whether to proceed to an
investigation and will remind them of their obligation to
cooperate in the event an investigation is opened. The
research integrity officer will also notify all appropriate
institutional officials of the Deciding Official's decision.

D. Time Limit for Completing the Inquiry Report. The
inquiry committee will normally complete the inquiry and
submit its report in writing to the research integrity officer no
more than 60 calendar days following its first meeting, unless
the research integrity officer approves an extension for good
cause. If the research integrity officer approves an extension,
the reason for the extension will be entered into the records of
the case and the report. The respondent also will be notified
of the extension.
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VII. Conducting the Investigation

A. Purpose of the Investigation. The purpose of the
investigation is to explore in detail the allegations, to examine
the evidence in depth, and to determine specifically whether
misconduct has been committed, by whom, and to what
extent. The investigation will also determine whether there
are additional instances of possible misconduct that would
justify broadening the scope beyond the initial allegations.
This is particularly important where the alleged misconduct
involves clinical trials or potential harm to human subjects or
the general public or if it affects research that forms the basis
for public policy, clinical practice, or public health practice.
The findings of the investigation will be set forth in an
investigation report.

B. Sequestration of the Research Records. The research
integrity officer will immediately sequester any additional
pertinent research records that were not previously
sequestered during the inquiry. This sequestration should
occur before or at the time the respondent is notified that an
investigation has begun. The need for additional
sequestration of records may occur for any number of reasons,
including the institution's decision to investigate additional
allegations not considered during the inquiry stage or the
identification of records during the inquiry process that had
not been previously secured. The procedures to be followed
for sequestration during the investigation are the same
procedures that apply during the inquiry.

C. Appointment of the Investigation Commlttee

The research integrity officer, in consultation with other
institutional officials as appropriate, will appoint an
investigation committee and the committee chair within 10
working days of the notification to the respondent that an
investigation is planned or as soon thereafter as practicable.
The investigation committee should consist of at least three
individuals who do not have real or apparent conflicts of
interest in the case, are unbiased, and have the necessary
expertise to evaluate the evidence and issues related to the
allegations, interview the principals and key witnesses, and
conduct the investigation. These individuals may be
scientists, administrators, subject matter experts, lawyers, or
other qualified persons, and they may be from inside or
outside the institution. Individuals appointed to the
investigation committee may also have served on the inquiry
committee.

The research integrity officer will notify the respondent
of the proposed committee membership within five working
days. If the respondent submits a written objection to any
appointed member of the investigation committee or expert,
the research integrity officer will determine whether to replace
the challenged member or expert with a qualified substitute.

D. Charge to the Committee and the First Meeting

1. Charge to the Committee

The research integrity officer will define the subject
matter of the investigation in a written charge to the
committee that describes the allegations and related issues
identified during the inquiry, defines scientific misconduct,
and identifies the name of the respondent. The charge will
state that the committee is to evaluate the evidence and
testimony of the respondent, complainant, and key witnesses
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to determine whether, based on a preponderance of the
evidence, scientific misconduct occurred and, if so, to what
extent, who was responsible, and its seriousness.

During the investigation, if additional information
becomes available that substantially changes the subject
matter of the investigation or ‘would suggest additional
respondents, the committee will notify the research integrity
officer, who will determine whether it is necessary to notify
the respondent of the new subject matter or to provide notice
to additional respondents.

2. The First Meeting. The research integrity officer,
with the assistance of institutional counsel, will convene the
first meeting of the investigation committee to review the
charge, the inquiry report and the prescribed procedures and
standards for the conduct of the investigation, including the
necessity for confidentiality and for developing a specific
investigation plan. The investigation committee will be
provided with a copy of these instructions and, where PHS
funding is involved, the PHS regulation.

E. Investigation Process

The investigation committee will be appointed and the
process initiated within 30 days of the completion of the
inquiry, if findings from that inquiry provide a sufficient basis
for conducting an investigation.

The investigation will normally involve examination of
all documentation including, but not necessarily limited to,
relevant research records, computer files, proposals,
manuscripts, publications, correspondence, memoranda, and
notes of telephone calls. Whenever possible, the committee
should interview the complainant(s), the respondent(s), and
other individuals who might have information regarding
aspects of the allegations. Interviews of the respondent
should be tape recorded or transcribed. All other interviews
should be transcribed, tape recorded, or summarized.
Summaries or transcripts of the interviews should be prepared,
provided to the interviewed party for comment or revision,
and included as part of the investigatory file.

VIII. The Investigation Report

A. Elements of the Investigation Report. The final report
submitted to ORI must describe the policies and procedures
under which the investigation was conducted, describe how
and from whom information relevant to the investigation was
obtained, state the findings, and explain the basis for the
findings. The report will include the actual text or an accurate
summary of the views of any individual(s) found to have
engaged in misconduct as well as a description of any
sanctions imposed and administrative actions taken by the
institution.

B. Comments on the Draft Report

1 Respondent. The research integrity officer will
provide the respondent with a copy of the draft investigation
report for comment and rebuttal. The respondent will be
allowed 30 days to review and comment on the draft report.
The respondent's comments will be attached to the final
report. The findings of the final report should take into
account the respondent's comments in addition to all the other
evidence.

2. Complainant. The research integrity officer will
provide the complainant, if he or she is identifiable, with those




portions of the draft investigation report that address the
complainant's role and opinions in the investigation. The
report should be modified, as appropriate, based on the
complainant's comments.

3. Institutional Counsel. The draft investigation report
will be transmitted to the institutional counsel for a review of
its legal sufficiency. Comments should be incorporated into
the report as appropriate.

4. Confidentiality. In distributing the draft report or

portions thereof, to the respondent and complainant, the
research integrity officer will inform the recipient of the
confidentiality under which the draft report is made available
and may establish reasonable conditions to ensure such
confidentiality. For example, the research integrity officer
may request the recipient to sign a confidentiality statement or
to come to his or her office to review the report.
C. Institutional Review and Decision

Based on a preponderance of the evidence, the deciding
official will make the final determination whether to accept
the investigation report, its findings, and the recommended
institutional actions. If this determination varies from that of
the investigation committee, the deciding official will explain
in detail the basis for rendering a decision different from that
of the investigation committee in the institution's letter
transmitting the report to ORI. The deciding official's
explanation should be consistent with the PHS definition of
scientific misconduct, the institution's policies and
procedures, and the evidence reviewed and analyzed by the
investigation committee. The deciding official may also
return the report to the investigation committee with a request
for further fact-finding or analysis. The deciding official's
determination, together with the investigation committee's
report, constitutes the final investigation report for purposes
of ORI review.

When a final decision on the case has been reached, the
research integrity officer will notify both the respondent and
the complainant in writing. In addition, the deciding official
will determine whether law enforcement agencies,
professional societies, professional licensing boards, editors
of journals in which falsified reports may have been
published, collaborators of the respondent in the work, or
other relevant parties should be notified of the outcome of the
case. The research integrity officer is responsible for ensuring
compliance with all notification requirements of funding or
sponsoring agencies.

D. Transmittal of the Final Investigation Report to ORI.
After comments have been received and the necessary

changes have been made to the draft report, the investigation

committee should transmit the final report with attachments,
including the respondent's and complainant's comments, to the
Deciding Official, through the research integrity officer.

E. Time Limit for Completing the Investigation Report.
An investigation should ordinarily be completed with 120
days of its initiation, with the initiation being defined as the
first meeting of the investigation committee. This includes
conducting the investigation, preparing the report of findings,
making the draft report available to the subject of the
investigation for comment, submitting the report to the
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deciding official for approval, and submitting the report to the
ORI. , '
IX. Requirements for Reporting to ORI

A. An institution's decision to. initiate an investigation
must be reported in writing to the Director, ORI, on or before
the date the investigation begins. At a minimum, the
notification should include the name of the person(s) against
whom the allegations have been made, the general nature of
the allegation as it relates to the PHS definition of scientific
misconduct, and the PHS applications or grant number(s)
involved. ORI must also be notified of the final outcome of
the investigation and must be provided with a copy of the
investigation report. Any significant variations from the
provisions of the institutional policies and procedures should
be explained in any reports submitted to ORI.

B. If an institution plans to terminate an inquiry or
investigation for any reason without completing all relevant
requirements of the PHS regulation, the Research Integrity
Officer will submit a report of the planned termination to ORI,
including a description of the reasons for the proposed
termination.

C. If the institution determines that it will not be able to
complete the investigation in 120 days, the research integrity
officer will submit to ORI a written request for an extension
that explains the delay, reports on the progress to date,
estimates the date of completion of the report, and describes:
other necessary steps to be taken. If the request is granted, the
research integrity officer will file periodic progress reports as
requested by the ORI.

D. When PHS funding or appllcatlons for funding are
involved and an admission of scientific misconduct is made,
the Research Integrity Office will contact ORI for consultation
and advice. Normally, the individual making the admission
will be asked to sign a statement attesting to the occurrence
and extent of misconduct. When the case involves PHS funds,
the institution cannot accept an admission of scientific
misconduct as a basis for closing a case or not undertaking an
investigation without prior approval from ORI.

E. The research integrity officer will notify ORI at any
stage of the inquiry or investigation if:

1. there is an immediate health hazard 1nvolved

2. there is an immediate need to protect Federal funds
or equipment;

3. there is an immediate need to protect the interests of
the person(s) making the allegations or of the individual(s)
who is the subject of the allegations as well as his/her co-
investigators and associates, if any;

4. itis probable that the alleged incident is going to be
reported publicly; or

5. the allegation involves a public health sensitive issue,
e.g., a clinical trial; or

6. there is a reasonable indication of possible criminal
violation. In this instance, the institution must inform ORI
within 24 hours of obtaining that information. :
X. Institutional Administrative Actions

Louisiana Office of Public Health will take appropriate
administrative actions against individuals when an allegation
of misconduct has been substantiated.
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If the Deciding Official determines that the alleged
misconduct is substantiated by the findings, he or she will
decide on the appropriate actions to be taken, after
consultation with the research integrity officer. The actions
may include:

1. withdrawal or correction of all pending or published
abstracts and papers emanating from the research where
scientific misconduct was found;

2. removal of the responsible person from the particular
project, letter of reprimand, special monitoring of future work,
probation, suspension, salary reduction, or initiation of steps
leading to possible rank reduction or termination of
employment;

3. restitution of funds as appropriate.

XI. Other Considerations

A. Termination of Institutional Employment
Resignation Prior to Completing Inquiry or Investigation

The termination of the respondent's institutional
employment, by resignation or otherwise, before or after an
allegation of possible scientific misconduct has been reported,
will not preclude or terminate the misconduct procedures.

If the respondent, without admitting to the misconduct,
elects to resign his or her position prior to the initiation or an
inquiry, but after an allegation has been reported, or during an
inquiry or investigation, the inquiry or investigation will
proceed. If the respondent refuses to participate in the process
after resignation, the committee will use its best efforts to
reach a conclusion concerning the allegations, noting in its
report the respondent's failure to cooperate and its effect on
the committee's review of all the evidence.

B. Restoration of the Respondent's Reputation. If the
“institution finds no misconduct and ORI concurs, after
consulting with the respondent, the research integrity officer
will undertake reasonable efforts to restore the respondent's
reputation. Depending on the particular circumstances, the
research integrity officer should consider notifying those
individuals aware of or involved in the investigation of the
final outcome, publicizing the final outcome in forums in
which the allegation of scientific misconduct was previously
publicized, or expunging all reference to the scientific
misconduct allegation from the respondent's personnel file.
Any institutional actions to restore the respondent's reputation
must first be approved by the Deciding Official.

C. Protection of the Complainant and Others. Regardless
of whether the institution or ORI determines that scientific
misconduct occurred, the research integrity officer will
undertake reasonable efforts to protect complainants who
made allegations of scientific misconduct in good faith and
others who cooperate in good faith with inquiries and
investigations of such allegations. Upon completion of an
investigation, the Deciding Official will determine, after
consulting with the complainant, what steps, if any, are
needed to restore the position or ORI reputation of the
complainant. The research integrity officer is responsible for
implementing any steps the Deciding Official approves. The
research integrity officer will also take appropriate steps
during the inquiry and investigation to prevent any retaliation
against the complainant.

D. Allegations not made in Good Faith. If relevant, the

or
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Deciding Official will determine whether the complainant's
allegations of scientific misconduct were made in good faith.
If an allegation was not made in good faith, the Deciding
Official will determine whether any administrative action
should be taken against the complainant.

E. Interim Administrative Actions. Institutional officials
will take interim administrative actions, as appropriate, to
protect federal funds and ensure that the purposes of the
federal financial assistance are carried out.

XII. Record Retention :

After completion of a case and all ensuing related actions,
the research integrity officer will prepare a complete file,
including the records of any inquiry or ORI investigation and
copies of all documents and other materials furnished to the
research integrity officer or ORI committees. The research
integrity officer will keep the file for three years after
completion of the case to permit later assessment of the case.
ORI or other authorized DHHS personnel will be given access
to the records upon request.

In accordance with the policies and procedures-of the OPH-
ORI the state health officer will serve as the deciding official.
Also in accordance with the policies and procedures of the
OPH-ORI the state health officer will appoint the research
integrity officer, who will serve as such until he or she is
relieved of that responsibility by the state health officer. The
research integrity officer will be an official of OPH, who is
well qualified to handle the procedural requirements involved
and is sensitive to the varied demands made on those who
conduct research, those who are accused of misconduct, and
those who report in good faith apparent misconduct.

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#052

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Institutional Review Board for Human Subjects

There is established within the Office of Public Health
(OPH) the Institutional Review Board for Human Subjects
(IRB). Each member of this IRB shall be appointed by the
state health officer, and shall serve until removed by the state
health officer, or upon the resignation of the member from the
appointed position on the IRB. Herewith are appointed the
following persons: .

from the Office of Public Health—at least five persons,
one of whom will serve as chair of the board;

from the New Orleans Aids Task Force—at least one
person, who will serve as the community representative.

In accord and compliance with Title 45, Code of Federal
Regulations, Part 46, revised June 18, 1991 and Public Law
99-158 of 1985, the Public Health Service Act, as amended by
the Health Research Extension Act of 1985, the following
summarizes the guidelines used and complied with by the
OPH - IRB:




Research activities considered for approval by the OPH -
IRB will be accomplished whether or not funding is to be
provided by any federal department or agency, but is to be
provided or participated in, as part of official public health
work, by any employee of OPH or, for the specific purposes
of accomplishing the research activities, any contractee of
OPH.

Ethical considerations will be made by the IRB in
considering its approval in accord with the above-cited law
and code in regard, but not limited, to:

protection of human subjects from harmful research risks;

protection of the privacy and confidentiality of human
subjects;

protection of the known rights and welfare of human
subjects;

fetal research.

Further,

1. the procedures of the OPH - IRB will not conflict
with and will be in accord and compliance with the provisions
of the “Rules and Procedures on Disclosures of Medical
Information” of the Department of Heath and Hospitals,
Policy No. 0008-79, as revised September 25, 1990 and
December 19, 1991; and

2. the procedures of the OPH - IRB will not conflict
with and will be in accord and compliance with the provisions
of Louisiana Revised Statutes 40:41(D), as amended by the
1983 session of the state legislature, providing for the
disclosure of vital records for public health research purposes,
and the rules therefore, as promulgated in the Louisiana
Register, Volume 15, Number 6, June 20, 1989.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary
9605#051

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Leave of Absence—Intermediate Care Facility Services for
the Handicapped and/or Mentally Retarded

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following rule, under the Medical Assistance Program, as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Social Security Act and as directed by the 1995-96 General
Appropriation Act, which states: "The secretary shall
implement reductions in the Medicaid program as necessary
to control expenditures to the level approved in this schedule.
The secretary is hereby directed to utilize various cost
containment measures to accomplish these reductions,
including but not limited to pre-certification, pre-admission
screening, utilization review, and other measures as allowed
by federal law". This rule is in accordance with the provision
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

369

Rule
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides
payments to ICF/MR facilities for leave of absence days as
follows.

1) Beds are reserved for up to five days per
hospitalization for treatment of an acute condition.

2) Beds are reserved for up to 45 days per state fiscal
year for other leave days with a 14-day limit per temporary
absence per recipient when permitted by the recipient's plan
of care. Leave days for the following purposes shall be
limited to 14 days per occurrence and shall be excluded from
the annual 45-day limitation:

1. Special Olympics;

2. Roadrunner sponsored events;
3. Louisiana planned conferences;
4. trial discharge leaves.

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#047

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Leave of Absence—Nursing Facility Residents

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following rule, under the Medical Assistance Program, as
authorized by R:S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Social Security Act and as directed by the 1995-96 General
Appropriation Act, which states: "The secretary shall
implement reductions in the Medicaid program as necessary
to control expenditures to the level approved in this schedule.
The secretary is hereby directed to utilize various cost
containment measures to accomplish these reductions,
including but not limited to pre-certification, pre-admission
screening, utilization review, and other measures as allowed
by federal law". This rule is in accordance with the provision
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides
payments to nursing facilities for leave of absence days as
follows.

1.  Beds are reserved for up to five days per
hospitalization for treatment of an acute condition.

2. Beds are reserved up to nine days per calendar year for
other leave days.

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#048
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Medicaid Eligibility Manual

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following rule in the Medicaid Program as authorized by
R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security
Act. This rule is in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Rule

The Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the state
and federal requirements and procedures governing the
determination of eligibility of persons applying for coverage
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act which are
incorporated in the Medicaid Eligibility Manual, including
interim policy guidelines adopted herein. The Medicaid
Eligibility Manual contains the following sections:

A) Abbreviations/Acronyms/Definition- Outline;

B) Introduction - Outline;

C) Medical Services - Outline;

D) Persons Eligible - Outline;

E) Category - Outline;

F) Medical Programs - Outline;

G) Application Process - Outline;

H) Eligibility Determinations;

I) Eligibility Outline - Factors;

J) Issuing Medical Eligibility Cards;

K) Redeterminations;

L) Changes - Outline;

M) Transfer - Outline;

N) Special Processing - Outline;

O) Prior Authorization - Outline;

P) Third Party Liability - Outline;

Q) Inquiries and Complaints - Outline;

R) Reserved;

S) Verification and Documentation - Outline;

T) Fair Hearings - Outline;

U) Fraud and Recovery;

Z) Charts - Outline.

The full text of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual may be
obtained from the Department of Health and Hospitals,
Bureau of Health Services Financing or the Office of the State
Register for $256.50. Reference the document number
9605#040. ‘

Bobby P. Jindal

Secretary
9605#040
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Medicaid Estate Recovery

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has adopted
the following rule as authorized by R.S. 46:153(G) and
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This rule is
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing implements
the Medicaid Estate Recovery Program in accordance with the
requirements of the Social Security Act and federal
regulations. The Bureau of Health Services Financing shall
seek recovery of Medicaid payments for nursing facility
services, home and community-based services, and related
hospital and prescription drug services from the estate of an
individual who was 55 or older when such services were
received.

I. Definitions

A. Estate. Shall be understood to be the gross estate of the
deceased as determined by Louisiana succession law.

B. Cost effectiveness. The process whereby the Medicaid
agency balances and weighs that which it may reasonably
expect to recover, against the time and expense of recovery.
Application of the provision will be deemed to be cost
effective when the amount reasonably expected to be
recovered exceeds the cost of recovery and the amount
reasonably expected to be recovered is greater than $500.

C. Undue Hardship. An undue hardship exists when
application of the provision would result in placing an
unreasonable burden on a surviving spouse and/or a
dependent. An undue hardship may exist when:

1. the estate is the sole income producing asset of the
surviving spouse and/or dependent, and income from the
estate is limited;

2. recovery would necessitate the surviving spouse
and/or dependent becoming eligible to receive public
assistance, including but not limited to Medicaid;

3. any other compelling circumstances that would result
in placing an unreasonable financial burden on the surviving
spouse and/or dependent.

An undue hardship does not exist if the circumstances
giving rise to the hardship were created by, or are the result of
estate planning methods under which assets were sheltered or
divested in order to avoid estate recovery.

D. Dependent. By dependent is meant any of the
following individuals for whom the decedent provided more
than one-half of his or her support during the immediate 12
months prior to the death of the decedent: the decedent’s:

a. son, daughter, step-son, step-daughter or a
descendent thereof; '
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b. - brother or sister, whether by blood or marriage, or a
descendent thereof;

c. father, mother, step-mother, step-father, or sibling or
ancestor thereof;

d. ' son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-
in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law of the decedent.

II. General Provisions

A. Medicaid estate recovery is not a condition of
eligibility. The applicant/recipient shall be informed at the
time of application/redetermination that federal law and
regulations mandate estate recovery action by the states and
that medical assistance claims paid by the Bureau of Health
Services Financing may be subject to estate recovery.

B. Recovery Limitations

1. Recovery can only be made after death of the
individual's surviving spouse, if any, and only at the time
when the individual has no surviving child under age 21; or a
child blind or disabled as defined in Section 1614 of the
Social Security Act.

2. Recovery from home property can only be made
when a) there is no sibling of the individual residing in the
home, who has resided there for at least one year immediately
before the date of the individual's admission to the institution,
and has resided there on a continuous basis since that time,
and b) there is no son or daughter of the individual residing in
the home, who resided there for at least two years
immediately before the date of individual's admission to the
institution, has resided there on a continuous basis since that
time, and is able to establish that he/she provided care which
permitted the individual to reside at home rather than in an
institution.

C. Recovery may be waived in cases in which it is not
cost-effective for the state to recover from the individual's
estate.

D. Recovery Notice. Individuals from whom recovery for
medical assistance will be sought by the Bureau of Health
Services Financing will be given advance notice of the
proposed action and the time frames in which they have the
opportunity to apply for an undue hardship waiver.

The notice will be served on the executor or legally
authorized representative of the individual's estate. If there is
no executor or legally authorized representative, the notice
will be sent to the family or the heirs. The notice shall also
specify the following information: .

1. the affected recipient's name, Social Security
Number and recipient number;

2. the action the state intends to take;

3. the reason for the action;

4. the individuals's right to a hearing;

5. the method by which the individual may obtain
such a hearing;

6. the time periods involved in requesting a hearing
or in exercising any procedural requirements under the
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program;

7. the right to and procedure for applying for a
hardship waiver; ‘

8. the dates of service associated with the recovery
action and the amount of the bureau's claim, i.e., amount to be
recovered against the recipient's estate.
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The notice will request that the following information be
provided to bureau:

1. copies of all state and federal estate tax returns
prepared and/or filed in connection with the succession of the
decedent;

2. copies of all succession pleadings filed in
connection with the succession of the decedent, including any
judgement or judgments of possession;

3. inthe event no state or federal estate tax return has
been filed or prepared and/no succession has been judicially
opened, the bureau is to be advised as to when such
documents will be available and/or when the succession is
expected to be opened.

III. Administrative Review of Agency Decisions

Any aggrieved party may request that the agency review
and reconsider any or all aspects of the particular recovery
matter in which they are involved. This request must be
made within 20 days of the receipt of the notice of the
agency's claim for recovery. If such arequest is timely made,
the agency shall review the matter and shall review and
consider any facts or documentation presented or forwarded
to it in connection therewith. In addition to this informal
reconsideration, any aggrieved party shall have the
administrative appeal rights available pursuant to the
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary
9605#049

RULE

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Board of Private Security Examiners

Continuing Education (LAC 46:LVII.518)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and under the authority of
R.S. 37:3505B(1), the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections, Board of Private Investigators Examiners, has
amended Part LVII of LAC Title 46, by adding Chapter 5,
Section 518 pertaining to continuing education requirements
of renewal of licenses of private investigators.

This rule and regulation is an amendment to the initial rules
and regulations promulgated by the Board of Private
Investigator Examiners.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LVII. Private Investigator Examiners
Chapter 5. Application, Licensing, Training,
Registration and Fees
§518. Continuing Education

A. Each licensed private investigator is required to
complete a minimum of eight hours of approved investigative
educational instruction within the one-year period
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immediately prior to renewal in order to qualify for a renewal
license.

B. Each licensed private investigator is required to
complete and return the LSBPIE Continuing Educational
Compliance form with the request for license renewal each
year. The form shall be signed under penalty of perjury and
shall include documentation of each hour of approved
investigation educational instruction completed.

C. Any licensee who wishes to apply for an extension of
time to complete educational instruction requirements must
submit a letter request setting forth reasons for the extension
request to the Executive Secretary of the LSBPIE 30 days
prior to license renewal. The Training Committee shall rule
on each request. If an extension is granted, the investigator
shall be granted 30 days to complete the required hours.
Hours completed during a 30-day extension shall only apply
to the previous year.

D. These requirements became effective on January 1,
1996; and continuing education forms will be required on all
1997 renewals and thereafter.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3505B(1).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Board of Private Investigator Examiners, LR
22:371(May 1996).

Gary Hyatt
Chairman
9605#035

RULE

Department of Transportation and Development
Weights, Measures and Standards

Violation Review Committee (LAC 73:1.Chapter 11)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
Department of Transportation and Development has adopted
a rule in accordance with Act 429 of the 1995 Regular Session
of the Louisiana Legislature.

Title 73
WEIGHTS, MEASURES AND STANDARDS
Part I. Weights and Standards
Chapter 11. Violation Ticket Review Committee
§1101. Composition of Violation Ticket Review
Committee

A. One representative of the DOTD Maintenance Section.

B. One representative of the DOTD Legal Section.

C. One designee of the chief engineer or the chief,
Maintenance Division.

D. The chairman of the committee
Maintenance Division, or his designee.

E. The Weights and Standards Enforcement and Vehicle
Permits administrator or his designee shall be a nonvoting
member.

F. Three of four voting members present are a quorum.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

is the chief,

Louisiana Register ~ Vol. 22, No. 5 - May 20, 1996

372

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1103. Tickets Subject to Review

A. Alltickets recognized to contain mathematical error or
obvious legal error; or

B. All tickets formally protested (in writing).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1105. Time Limitations

A. Payment of the fine imposed by a violation ticket is due
within 30 days from the date of issuance of the ticket.

B. To receive consideration, a violation ticket must be
formally protested within 60 days from the date of issuance of
the ticket. -

C. The Violation Ticket Review Committee must dispense
with tickets within 30 working days from receipt of the
request for review.

D. The Weights and Standards Enforcement and Vehicle
Permits Administrator must report to the protestor within
seven working days from the committee's decision. Said
report shall fully inform the protestor of the decision of the
committee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1107. Duties of Weights and Standards Enforcement
and Vehicle Permits Administrator

A. Receive and assemble all formally protested violation
tickets for review.

B. Investigate the circumstances surrounding all violation
tickets formally submitted for review.

C. Communicate with the protestor during the process and
after the decision of the committee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1109. Authorized Action

The Violation Ticket Review Committee is authorized to
void or reduce violation tickets, or leave violation tickets
intact.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1111. Rights of Protesting Party

A. These rules do not impair the right of the protesting
party to sue the department to recover payment of the
violation ticket as provided in R.S. 32:389.

B. The protesting party will not be afforded the
opportunity to personally appear before the Violation Ticket
Review Committee. Only his written statement will be
considered.




AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:372 (May 1996).

§1113. Prescription

A. The running of prescription for collection of unpaid
violation tickets is not interrupted by filing of the protest.

B. The running of prescription for suing the department to
recover monies paid for a violation ticket is not interrupted by
filing of the protest. »

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:373 (May 1996). .
§1115. Reconsideration

The decision of the Violation Ticket Review Committee
may be reconsidered one time, either upon request of the
protestor or upon motion of a member of the Violation Ticket
Review Committee. Additional information must be provided
at second review.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:373 (May 1996).

§1117. Record-Keeping

All actions of the Violation Ticket Review Committee shall
be recorded on computer and reported to the DOTD Financial
Services Section. All records shall be maintained in
accordance with the Public Records Law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 429
of the 1995 Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Weights, Measures and Standards,
LR 22:373 (May 1996).

Frank M. Denton

Secretary
9605#016

RULE

Department of Treasury
Board of Trustees of the State Employees’
Retirement System

Codification and Amendment of
Rules (LAC 58:1.Chapters 1-29)

The Department of the Treasury, Board of Trustees of the
State Employees’ Retirement System (“LASERS”) hereby
amends its rules revising LAC 58:1.Chapters 1-29. These rule
amendments codify existing rules into the Louisiana
Administrative Code and make other updates.

These rules comply with statutory law administered by
LASERS and are enabled by R.S. 11:515.

The rules may be obtained at the Office of the State
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Register, 1051 North Third Street, Room 512, Baton Rouge,
LA 70802, at a cost of $15. Please refer to document number
9605#036 when requesting these rules.

No preamble regarding these proposed rules is available.

James O. Wood
Executive Director
9605#036

RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

Commercial Fisherman’s Sales Report Form
(LAC 76:VI1.203)

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
hereby amends the full implementation date of the
Commercial Fisherman's Sales Report Forms from January 1,
1996 to January 1, 1998.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 2. General Provisions
§203. Commercial Fisherman's Sales Report Form
* % %k

D. The effective date of this Section is January 1, 1998.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:345(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
18:82 (January 1992), repromulgated LR 18:198 (February 1992),
amended LR 20:323 (March 1994), amended by the Office of
Fisheries, LR 21:477 (May 1995), LR 22:373 (May 1996).

James H. Jenkins, Jr.

Secretary
9605#024

RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

Dealer Receipt Form (LAC 76:VI1.201)

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
hereby amends the full implementation date of the Dealer
Receipt Forms from January 1, 1996 to January 1, 1998.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 2. General Provisions
§201. Commercial Fisherman's Sales Card; Dealer
Receipt Form
% % %k

F. Effective date of Subsections A and B of this Section is

upon publication in the Louisiana Register. Effective date for
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Subsections C, D and E of this Section will be January 1,
1998.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:303.7 and 306.4(E).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
18:81 (January 1992), repromulgated LR 18:198 (February 1992),
amended LR 20:323 (March 1994), amended by the Office of
Fisheries, LR 21:477 (May 1995), LR 22:373 (May 1996).

James H. Jenkins, Jr.

Secretary
9605#025

RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

Freshwater Mussel Harvest (LAC 76:VIL.161)

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
hereby amends a rule to establish freshwater mussel harvest
regulations.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial Fishing
§161. Freshwater Mussel Harvest
~A. Permits

1. In addition to a commercial fishing license, all
mussel harvesters must obtain a mussel harvester's permit
issued by the department prior to initiation of harvesting. No
person shall harvest or participate in the harvest of freshwater
mussels unless that person is in possession of proper licenses
and permits.

2. The secretary of the department shall have the
authority to limit the number of mussel harvester permits,
cease issuance of new permits, or close the season entirely if
it is deemed necessary to protect the mussel resource.

3. In addition to a wholesale/retail dealer's license, all
mussel buyers must obtain a mussel buyer's permit issued by
the department. The buyer shall file a surety bond by a surety
company licensed to do business in this state in the sum of
$5,000 with the department at the time of license purchase.
Bond shall be forfeited if buyer fails to adhere to all rules and
regulations and reporting requirements.

4. Mussel harvester and buyer permits shall not be
issued to any applicant who has been convicted of any mussel-
related offense in any state within the United States within the
past five years.

B. Fees

1. An annual permit fee of $100 for resident mussel
fishermen and $1,000 for nonresident mussel fishermen will
accompany the permit application. These fees will be
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applicable for one calendar year. A calendar year is defined as
January 1 through December 31. If the permit application is
disapproved, the fees will be refunded to the applicant.

2. An annual permit fee of $150 for resident mussel
buyers and $600 for nonresident mussel buyers will
accompany the permit application. These fees will be
applicable for one calendar year. If the permit application is
disapproved, the fees will be refunded to the applicant.

C. Gear

1. Mussels shall be harvested by hand only, with or
without underwater breathing apparatus. All divers must
display a proper dive flag. Mussel harvest activities shall not
impede boating activities or navigation.

2. A mussel harvester on state waters, and in possession
of mussel harvesting gear, must be properly licensed and
permitted. All persons aboard any vessel possessing mussel
harvesting gear in state waters must be properly licensed and
permitted.

D. Species for Harvest
1. Only the following taxa may be legally harvested:

washboard Megaolonaias nervosa
pimpleback  Quadrula spp.

three ridge = Amblema plicata

bleufer Potamilus (Proptera) purpuratus
Asian clam ~ Corbicula fluminea

2. Only specimens equal to or larger than the following
minimum sizes shall be harvested:

washboard 4 inches
three ridge and bleufer 3 inches
pimpleback 2 3/4 inches
Asian clam no size limit

Minimum size will be measured by passing the
specimen through a ring or appropriate circular measuring
device so designed as to allow undersized mussels to pass
through the opening. There is no allowance for undersized
shell. All mussels must be sized (graded) immediately after
each dive and undersized shell returned to the mussel bed
before the harvester moves his boat or begins another dive.
All mussels harvested shall be removed from the water daily
during daylight hours only. All mussels harvested must be
sold on a daily basis; mussels may not be stored in the water
after sunset.

3. The zebra mussel (Dreissena polymorpha), an
introduced nuisance aquatic species, has the potential to
severely clog industrial and public water intakes, deplete
nutrients and consume huge amounts of dissolved oxygen in
state waterbodies, and potentially decimate endemic
freshwater mussel populations. Therefore, the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries strongly encourages actions to prevent
the spread of zebra mussels.

E. Timing of Harvest

1. Mussels may be harvested from May 20 through
September 30 between official sunrise and official sunset;
except that harvest of mussels will be closed on national
holidays (Memorial Day, July Fourth and Labor Day) and
Saturdays and Sundays of each week.

2. Possession of mussels between official sunset and
official sunrise in any state waterbody is prohibited.




F. Areas Open to Harvest

1. Unless otherwise stated, all publicly owned water
bottoms in Louisiana outside of officially recognized saltwater
areas (R.S. 56:322(A) and 322(B)) are open to harvest.

2. Because of the presence of threatened or endangered
species of mussels, mussel harvest and possession of mussels
is prohibited in the following areas:

a. Amite River and any tributary within one-half mile
of the main channel of the Amite River from the junction with
Bayou Manchac to the Mississippi state line;

b. all of Rapides and Grant Parishes, including all
boundary waters of both parishes, except the main channel of
the Red River; ‘

- c. Bayou Bartholomew and any tributary within one-
half mile of the main channel of Bayou Bartholomew in
Morehouse Parish, from the Arkansas-Louisiana state line to
its confluence with the Ouachita River;

d. Rodney Lake (Tensas Parish).

3. Other areas closed to commercial mussel harvest
include:

a. Tensas National Wildlife Refuge, including all
border waters.

b. Cocodrie Bayou National
including all border waters.

c. Fort Polk Military Reservation.

d. Peason Ridge Military Reservation.

e. Bayou Macon and any tributary within one-half
mile of Bayou Macon from La. Highway 2 north to the
Louisiana/Arkansas state line.

f.  Lake Bruin

g. Additional areas may be closed by the secretary of
the department if deemed necessary to protect local mussel
populations.

h. Permits issued by the Wildlife Division are
required of all commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake,
Pomme de Terre and Spring Bayou Wildlife Management
Areas (WMAs). Commercial fishing is prohibited on
Salvador and Ouachita WMA s.

G. Reporting

1. Commercial mussel buyers must compute and pay a
severance tax of 5 percent of the revenue derived from the
sale of whole freshwater mussels on forms furnished by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (R.S. 56:450(A) and (C)
and 56:451 and 452). Mussel buyers will ensure that
severance tax forms are filled out completely prior to
submission to the department; failure to do so will result in a
Class 3 violation and revocation of mussel buyers permits.
Buyers must retain such receipts for inspection by the

.department for a period of not less than two years. Written
notification of changes and reporting requirements sent by the
department to commercial buyers shall become part of the
buyer's permit and must be maintained by the buyer along
with the permit. Shipping bills of lading must also
accompany severance tax receipts and payments each month.
All severance tax report forms and payments must be received
by the department no later than the fifteenth day of the month
following the month of severance.

2. Harvesters are required to submit monthly reports on
forms furnished by the department whether they fished or not.

Wildlife Refuge
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These reports must be postmarked no later than the fifteenth
day of the month following the month of harvest.

3. Mussel buyers must contact the department either in
the region where they will be conducting buying operations,
or at the department's toll-free telephone number, and provide
information as to which site these operations are to be set up.
This notification is to be made on the day previous to setting
up these operations. The buyer must also notify the
department within 24 hours when buying activities at that
location have been completed. Mussel buyers may not
conduct buying activities outside of designated and/or
approved sites.

4.a Mussel buyers are limited to setting up buying
operations at department approved sites in or nearby to these
cities: '

i. Bogalusa
ii. Columbia
iii. Coushatta
iv. Delhi
v. Kinder
vi. Ferriday
vii. Leesville
viii. Livingston
ix. Minden
x. Port Barre
xi. Ramah
xii. Simmesport
xiii. Tioga
b. Additional buyer's sites may be set up at
department discretion to facilitate harvest.

S. Each permittee harvesting mussels for sale is
responsible for department notification. The permittee shall
notify the department at a designated phone number (1-800-
442-2511) at least four hours prior to harvesting any mussels.
The permittee shall provide, at the time of notification, the
parish and area to be fished each day. The permittee will be
given a confirmation number at the time of initial notification.

6. Each permittee must again notify the department at
1-800-442-2511 immediately prior to selling any mussels.
The permittee must report their confirmation number and the
name and mussel buyer’s permit number of the individual
who will be purchasing mussels obtained under the permit.

H. Special Restrictions )

I. Meats shall not be used or sold for human
consumption.

2. Mussels shall be transferred whole (unopened with
meat) from the collection site directly to an in-state buyer for
processing. Whole mussels may not be taken out of state.
The harvest of dead shell is strictly prohibited.

3. Buyer must open mussels and render meats
unsuitable for human consumption in state, then dispose of
meats as per Department of Environmental Quality
regulations for disposal of solid waste.

4. Mussel buyers in the act of transporting mussels in-
state must have legibly printed letters stating "MUSSELS" no
less than 4 inches in height on both sides of all transport
vehicles and vessels.

5. Mussels or shells collected outside of Louisiana by a
resident or nonresident mussel harvester shall not be sold in
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Louisiana. Mussel buyers shall not purchase or possess
mussels or shells taken from waters outside of Louisiana.

I. Penalties. Failure to abide by the above rules shall
result in revocation of permit and forfeiture of future permits
for a five-year period after which issuance or denial of a
permit will be at the discretion of the secretary of the
department. This shall be in addition to all applicable criminal
statutes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:450.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 19:510 (April 1993),
amended LR 21:193 (February 1995), LR 22:374 (May 1996).

James H. Jenkins, Jr.

Secretary
9605#026

RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Eagle Lake Black Bass (LAC 76:VI1.169)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby amends the
following rule on black bass (Micropterus spp.) on Eagle Lake
located east of the Mississippi River in Madison Parish,
Louisiana.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial Fishing
§169. Black Bass Regulations, Eagle Lake

The size regulation for black bass (Micropterus spp.) on
Eagle Lake located east of the Mississippi River in Madison
Parish, Louisiana is as follows:

It shall be unlawful to take or possess, while on the water
or while fishing in the water, black bass less than 14 inches
total length on Eagle Lake, located east of the Mississippi
River in Madison Parish, Louisiana. This rule will expire at
midnight, December 31, 1998.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance withR.S. 56:6
(25)(a), 325(C), 326.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
19:909 (July 1993), amended LR 21:477 (May 1995), LR 22:376
(May 1996).

Glynn Carver

Chairman
9605#023
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Notices of Intent

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Civil Service
Board of Ethics for Elected Officials

Purchases by Small Municipalities

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., notice is hereby given
that the Board of Ethics for Elected Officials intends to adopt
rules, as required by R.S. 42:1123(22), which affect
municipalities having a population of 1,500 or less.

The rules will have no economic impact or fiscal impact on
the budget of the state and no fees are involved. No preamble
to the proposed rules has been prepared.

Proposed Rule

A mayor or a member of a governing authority (the “elected
official”) of a municipality with a population of 1,500 or less
(according to the most recently published decennial census),
or a legal entity in which the elected official has a controlling
interest, may enter into transactions under the supervision or
jurisdiction of the municipality only if a plan is developed by
the municipality in accordance with the rules set out below.
The plan must be approved by the Board of Ethics for Elected
Officials (the “board”) prior to its implementation.

1. The elected official involved must immediately
recuse himself or herself from acting in his or her
governmental capacity in matters affecting the transaction and
file quarterly affidavits concerning that recusal with the clerk
of the municipality and the board. The affidavits must set out
the name and address of the elected official, the name and
population of the municipality, and a description of the
transactions that occurred during the preceding quarter. The
plan of the municipality should set out the due dates of the
quarterly affidavits.

2. The plan developed by the municipality must address
how the transaction must be supervised after an elected
official is recused.

3. Individual transactions of "$250 or less are not
required to be subject to the following rules. However, if such
transactions involving a single elected official exceed $2,500
in the aggregate within the calendar year, the guidelines
contained in Rule Number 4, below, do apply.

4. For transactions in excess of $250 but less than
$2,500, telephone quotations with written confirmation or
facsimile quotations must be solicited from at least three
vendors within the municipality, the parish, or within a 50
mile radius of the municipality. However, in the case of an
“emergency” no quotations shall be required so long as the
elected official recuses himself or herself from the transaction
and files an affidavit as required in Rule Number 1, above,
within three days of the occurrence of the transaction.
Emergency shall be defined in the plan adopted by the
municipality and subject to board approval.

5. In the case of a transaction in excess of $250 but less
than $2,500, if the quotation submitted by the elected official




or legal entity in which the elected official has a controlling
interest is the lowest received by the municipality the
transaction is allowed. The plan adopted by the municipality
and subject to board approval may specify situations in which
a quotation submitted by the elected official or his or her legal
entity may be accepted even if it was not the lowest received
by the municipality.

6. An elected official or legal entity in which the elected
official has a controlling interest may enter into transactions
with the municipality in excess of $2,500 only after written
invitations are sent to at least three bona fide qualified
bidders, other than the elected official or his legal entity, and
upon specific advance approval by the board. Any such
request for approval must include the details of the proposed
transaction, a copy of the written invitation, copies of the bids
received in response to the invitation, and the method of
recusal developed by the municipality. The plan developed
by the municipality shall set out the details of the bid process.

Interested persons may direct their comments to Maris
LeBlanc McCrory, Board of Ethics for Elected Officials, 8401
United Plaza Boulevard, Suite 200, Baton Rouge, LA 70809;
or by telephone at (504) 922-1400, until June 10, 1996.

R. Gray Sexton
Executive Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Purchases Small Municipalities

1.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Administrative costs will be incurred by state and local

government that should be absorbed within existing budgets.
Local governments may experience some savings.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No effect.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR

NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Persons which may be affected by the proposed action
include competitors of businesses owned by the elected officials
in the affected municipalities. If those businesses do not offer
a lower price than that offered by the elected official they could
lose sales. It is impossible for this agency to assign a dollar
amount to such transactions.

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

The proposed action could increase competition in that an
additional company could seek to do business with the
municipality.

Iv.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

R. Gray Sexton
Executive Secretary
95064027
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Civil Service
Civil Service Commission

Compensation (Civil Service Rule 1.9.02)

The State Civil Service Commission will hold a public
hearing on Wednesday, June 5, 1996 to consider the proposed
amendment to Civil Service Rule 1.9.02. The public hearing
will begin at 9 a.m. in the Commission Hearing Room at the
Department of State Civil Service, Second Floor, DOTD
Annex Building, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge,
Louisiana.

Consideration will be given to the following:

1.9.02

Compensation means any salary, wages, fees, special pay
considerations, or any other cash payment directly to an
employee as a result of service rendered in any position. It
shall not include reimbursement for travel incurred as a result
of the performance of official duties, nor shall it include the
assignment or utilization of automobiles, houses, or other
property, exclusive of cash payments directly to an employee
as a result of service rendered, belonging to the state or any
other governmental entity.

Explanation

The purpose of this amendment is to show that the
definition of compensation to be regulated by the Civil
Service Commission does not include automobiles or houses
assigned to and utilized by employees.

Persons interested in making comments relative to these
proposals may do so at the public hearing or by writing to:
Director of State Civil Service, at Box 94111, Baton Rouge,
LA 70804-9111. ;

If any accommodations are needed, please notify us prior to
this meeting.

Allen H. Reynolds
Acting Director

9605#038

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Economic Development
Boxing and Wrestling Commission

Amend Existing Rules (LAC 46:XI.Chapters 1-3)
Repeal of Rules (LAC 46:XI.Chapter 7)

The Department of Economic Development, State Boxing
and Wrestling Commission, under the authority of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S.
4:61, hereby gives notice that it proposes to amend Chapters
1 and 3 and repeal Chapter 7 of its existing rules.

The purpose of these amendments is to update the existing
rules and provide for such matters as AIDS testing, the
wearing of surgical gloves, female boxing and refinements
and clarifications in the methods of refereeing and judging.
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Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XI. Boxing and Wrestling
Chapter 1. General Rules
§101. Definitions
§102. Annual License Fees
§103. Insulting or Abusive Remarks
§105. Conflict of Interest
§107. Use of Drugs
§109. Concealment of Disability
§111. Promoters in Cities of 250,000 or More; Duty to
Promote Events

§113. Financial Reports
Chapter 3. Professional Boxing
§301. Commission Demands
§303. Permit
§305. Contestant
§307. Weights and Classes
§309. Recommended Weight Differences
§311. Official Weighing In
§313. Contestants Apparel and Physical Appearance
§315. Judges and Referees
§317. Judging Methods and Procedures
§318. Rounds, Duration and Intermission
§319. Permissible Items in Boxer's Corner
§320. Boxing Ring and Ropes
§321. Fouls Deductions of Points Because of a Foul and
Accidental Fouling
Gloves
Bell or Gong
Physician
Ringside Physicians
Timekeeper
Promoters and Matchmakers
Sanctioned Events
Announcer
Manager
Safety
Withholding
Seconds
Charity Events
Termination of Bouts
Presence in Dressing Rooms
§349. Tickets and Sale of Tickets
§351. Unauthorized Matchmaker, Promoters, Managers
Chapter 5. Professional Wrestling

* %k %

§322.
§323.
§325.
§326.
§327.
§329.
§330.
§331.
§333.
§337.
§339.
§341.
§343.
§345.
§347.

Chapter 7. Amateur Boxing
Repealed in its entirety.

Copies of the full text of these proposed rules may be
obtained from the Boxing and Wrestling Commission, 234
Loyola Avenue, Suite 930, New Orleans, LA; or through the
Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third Street, Baton
Rouge, LA

Any interested person may comment orally or in writing on
these rules to Mr. Leonard Miller, Jr., Chairman or Mr.
Patrick C. McGinity, Attorney, State Boxing Commission,
Suite 930, 234 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112.
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Comments will be accepted through the close of business at 5
p.m. on June 20, 1996.

Leonard Miller, Jr.
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Amend LAC 46:XI.Chapters 1-3
Repeal of LAC 46:XI.Chapter 7

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no costs to implement this rule other than minimal

cost to publish (the Louisiana Register).
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There is no effect on revenue collections. This is because the
Boxing and Wrestling Commission is promulgating rules
already in place.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The adoption of this rule will benefit contestants and
spectators by providing clean and sportsman-like boxing and
the prevention of injuries to contestants.

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There is no effect on competition or employment.

1L

IV.

Patrick C. McGinity Richard W. England

Attorney Assistant to the Legislative
9605#034 Fiscal Officer
NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

First Aid Services (LAC 35:111.5711)

The State Racing Commission hereby gives notice that it
intends to amend LAC 35:111.5711, First Aid Services, to
update the appropriate medical personnel required to be on
track grounds during racing and training hours.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part I11. Personnel, Registration and Licensing
Chapter 57. Association’s Duties and Obligations
§5711. First Aid Services

During racing and training hours, each association shall
provide, on track grounds, a registered paramedic and a
certified emergency medical technician who are trained in
first aid practices, and shall provide a room or area adequately
equipped in which to serve individuals in need of first aid.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:148.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing
Commission, LR 2:434 (December 1976), amended LR 3:30




(January 1977), LR 4:278 (August 1978), LR 9:546 (August 1983),
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Racing
Commission, LR 16:763 (September 1990), LR 22:

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: First Aid Services

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no costs to implement this action.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This action does not effect revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This action benefits ontrack horsemen and patrons by
providing emergency medical services as needed.
ESTIMATED . EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This action has no effect on competition nor employment.

II1.

IV.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director
9605#063

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Superfecta (LAC 35:X111.11701)

The State Racing Commission hereby gives notice that it
intends to adopt LAC 35:XI11.11701, Superfecta, a new form
of exotic wagering to be held initially at Louisiana Downs for
its 1996 season.

The full text of this proposed rule is printed in its entirety in
the emergency rule section of this May, 1996 issue of the
Louisiana Register.

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing
Commission is open from 8 a.m. 4p.m.and interested parties
may contact Paul D. Burgess, executive director; C. A. Rieger,
assistant director; or Tom Trenchard, administrative manager,
at (504) 483-4000, holidays and weekends excluded, for more
information.

All interested persons may submit written comments
relative to this proposed rule through Monday, May 6, 1996,
to 320 North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans,
Louisiana 70119-5111.

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Superfecta

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no costs to implement this action.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
This action could effect revenue collections in a positive
manner, but is indeterminate.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
This action primarily benefits patrons by allowing a new
form of exotic wagering.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
This action has no effect on competition nor employment.

II.

Iv.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator for the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director
9605#019

NOTICE OF INTENT
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Bulletin 741—Handbook for School Administrators

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for
advertisement an amendment to Standard 1.010.02 of Bulletin
741, Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators as stated
below:

Under Standard 1.010.02 - Operations Policies, add "K" to
read:

"A written personnel policy that requires the use of
universal precaution when individuals have direct contact with
blood or other body fluids and provide sanctions, including
discipline if warranted, for failure to use universal
precautions."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:7.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Amended by the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education, LR 22:

Interested persons may submit written comments until 4:30
p.m., July 9, 1996 to: Eileen Bickham, State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Handbook for School Administrators

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no cost to state or local government units.

BESE estimated cost for printing this policy change and first
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page of fiscal and economic impact statement in the Louisiana
Register is approximately $70. Funds are available.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no revenue collections of state or local
government units.

[II. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no costs or economic benefits to the administrators

affected.
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no estimated effect on competition and employment.

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Marlyn Langley

Deputy Superintendent
Management and Finance
9605#045

NOTICE OF INTENT
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 1882—Administrative Leadership
Academy Guidelines (LAC 28:1.920)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for
advertisement Bulletin 1882, Administrative Leadership
Academy Guidelines, Revised 1996. Bulletin 1882 is
referenced in the Administrative Code as noted below and the
complete document may be seen in the Office of the State
Register, Room 512 of the Capitol Annex in Baton Rouge,
LA; in the State Department of Education, or in the Office of
the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
located in Baton Rouge, LA.

The proposed rule changes include the following:

1. appeal procedure for individual credit requests added;

2. specific penalty for failure to earn the required
academy credits added;

3. credit-earning options have been expanded to include
participation in training activities sponsored by the
Department of Education;

4. aprincipal internship program for principals only and
an assistant principal internship.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part I. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
§920. Administrative Leadership Academy Guidelines

A. Bulletin 1882

1. Bulletin 1882, Administrative Leadership Academy
Guidelines, is adopted. (1996)

2. This bulletin contains regulations and guidelines
pertaining to membership in the Administrative Leadership
Academy and credit-earning procedures to be used by
members in fulfilling academy requirements. Also included
are general guidelines to be used by individual members and
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sponsoring organizations seeking credit-worthy training
activities and specific guidelines pertaining to the principal
internship. Incorporated also is a policy regarding the
principal and assistant principal internships.

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3761-3764.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Amended by the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education, LR 22:

Interested persons may submit comments on the proposed
policy revisions until 4:30 p.m., July 9, 1996 to: Eileen
Bickham, State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Administrative Leadership
Academy Guidelines

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There will be a cost of approximately $850 to print 4,000
copies of Bulletin 1882.

BESE estimated cost for printing this policy change and first
page of the fiscal and economic impact statement in the
Louisiana Register is approximately $100. Funds are available.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There will be no revenue collection of state or local
government units.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no costs or economic benefits to the administrators

affected.
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no estimated effect on competition and employment.

Marlyn Langley

Deputy Superintendent

for Management and Finance
9605#044

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Radiation Protection Division

Shielding Exemptions; NRC Revisions
(LAC 33:XV.Chapters 1, 4, 6 and 10) (NEO15)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950,
et seq., the secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures
have been initiated to amend the Radiation Protection
Division regulations, LAC 33:XV.Chapters 1, 4, 6, and 10
(NEO15).

Pt




This proposed rule reflects minor changes to Chapters 1, 4,
and 10 suggested by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission
(NRC) through the Conference of Radiation Control Program
Directors (CRCPD). The most detailed of these changes
involves clarifying what would be considered allowable
radiation exposure to "declared pregnant women."

The changes to Chapter 6 exempt certain types of medical
professionals  from radiation shielding evaluation
requirements. These individuals were previously required to
submit shielding plans (and a fee) to the division for approval.
During their normal activities, these individuals do not use
enough radiation to need radiation shielding. Amendments to
Chapters 1, 4, and 10 are required for the state of Louisiana to
remain fully compatible as an NRC Agreement State.  The
CRCPD suggests standards for adoption by states to meet the
requirements of the federal regulations. These standards were
recently amended by the CRCPD. The proposed rule includes
the changes suggested.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S.
30:2019 (D) (3) and R.S.49:953 (G) (3), therefore, no report
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic
costs is required.

A public hearing will be held on June 27, 1996, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate please contact
Patsy Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-
0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by NE015. Such comments
should be submitted no later than July 5, 1996, at 4:30 p.m.,
to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and Regulation Development
Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70810 or to FAX
number (504) 765-0486. Copies of this proposed regulation
can be purchased at the above referenced address. Contact the
Investigations and Regulation Development Division for
pricing information. Check or money order is required in
advance for each copy of NEO015. The regulation is also
available at a cost of $14.25 from the Office of the State
Register, 1051 North Third Street, Room 512, Baton Rouge,
LA 70802. Please reference document number 9605#062.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30
p.m.: 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton
Rouge, LA 70810; 804 Thirty-First Street, Monroe, LA
71203; State Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue,
Shreveport, LA 71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA
70605; 3501 Chateau Boulevard West Wing, Kenner, LA
70065; 100 Asma Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508;
and at the Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third
Street, Suite 512, Baton Rouge, LA.

Gustave Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Shielding Exemptions; NRC Revisions

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No significant effect of this proposed rule on implementation
costs to state or local governmental units is anticipated.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No significant effect of this proposed rule on state or local
governmental revenue collections is anticipated.

II. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS

TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
From the changes to Chapters 1, 4, and 10, no

implementation cost or economic benefit to directly affected
persons is anticipated. (These changes are required to remain
compatible with the NRC in the regulation of radioactive
materials.) The changes to Chapter 6 should very slightly lower
costs to directly affected persons.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No significant effect of this proposed rule on competition and
employment is anticipated.

Iv.

Richard England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Gustave Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary
9605#062

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of the Secretary

Emergency Response (LAC 33:1.Chapter 69) (OS018A)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950,
et seq., the secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures
have been initiated to amend the Office of the Secretary
regulations, LAC 33:1.Chapter 69 (OS018A).

The proposed rule would establish requirements for
responding to off-site releases and potential releases that are
expected to immediately endanger the health and safety of the
public or the environment. The requirements include
provisions for transportation and temporary storage of
material resulting from the cleanup or abatement of off-site
emergency conditions. The regulation is needed to create a
regulatory framework whereby pollutants resulting from an
emergency response situation can be managed in a responsible
and efficient manner.

A previous proposed rule, OS018, appeared in the
Louisiana Register on August 20, 1995 and was withdrawn on
January 29, 1996. This proposed rule, OS018A, reflects many
of the public comments and suggestions regarding the
previous proposed rule, OS018.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S.
30:2019 (D) (3) and R.S. 49:953 (G) (3), therefore, no report
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic
costs is required.
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TITLE 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I. Office of the Secretary
Subpart 4. Emergency Response Regulations
Chapter 69. Emergency Response Regulations
§6901. Applicability

The requirements of these regulations apply to:

1. the release or potential release of a pollutant resulting
from an off-site emergency condition, as defined by this
Chapter;

2. any incident that has been declared an emergency by
the secretary in accordance with R.S. 30:2033; and

3. the transportation, receipt, and storage of material
resulting from the cleanup and/or abatement of an off-site
emergency condition.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6903. Exclusions .

The requirements of these regulations do not apply to spills,
cleanup, and/or abatement of materials subject to management
under the Oil Spill Prevention and Response Act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6905. Definitions

The following terms as used in this Chapter shall have the
meaning listed below.

Act—the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act, R.S.
30:2001 et seq.

Administrative  Authority—the  secretary of the
Department of Environmental Quality, or his or her delegate,
including members of the department’s Emergency Response
Section.

Cleanup—all actions taken to contain, collect, control,
identify, analyze, treat, disperse, remove, or dispose of
pollutants resulting from a release associated with an off-site
emergency condition.

Cleanup Costs—all costs incurred by the state or any of
its political subdivisions, or their agents, or by any other
person participating with the approval of the administrative
authority in the cleanup of pollutants resulting from an off-site
emergency condition.

Department—the Department of Environmental Quality.

Emergency Abatement—action taken to prevent or control
a release or potential release of pollutants that could
reasonably be expected to cause an off-site emergency
condition.

Emergency Condition—any condition that could
reasonably be expected to endanger the health and safety of
the public, cause significant adverse impact to the land, water,
or air environment, or cause severe damage to property. This
definition includes transportation related events, abandoned
containers, barrels, and other receptacles.

Emergency Response Storage Facility—a facility used for
storage of material generated from the cleanup and/or
abatement of an off-site emergency condition.

Pollutant—any  substance introduced

into the
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environment of the state by any means that would tend to
degrade the chemical, physical, or biological integrity of such
environment.

Release—the accidental or intentional spilling, pumping,
pouring, emitting, escaping, leaching, or dumping of any
hazardous substance or other pollutants into or on any land,
air, water, or groundwater. A release shall not include a
federal or state permitted release.

Responsible Person—any person owning, handling,
storing, transporting, or managing a pollutant that results in an
off-site emergency condition. This shall include bailees,
carriers, and any other person in control of a pollutant and
who may be operating under a lease, contract, or other
agreement with the legal owner thereof. For the purposes of
this Chapter, responsible persons do not include those
innocent landowners who exercise no control or ownership
over the materials or activities giving rise to an off-site
emergency condition.

Secretary—the secretary of - the
Environmental Quality.

Transportation—the movement of solid, liquid, or
hazardous reusable materials or wastes from the site of an
off-site emergency condition to a point of collection
authorized by the administrative authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6907. Notification Procedures for Emergencies

Upon learning of an off-site emergency condition, the
responsible person having control over the material shall
notify the administrative authority, if notification is required,
in accordance with LAC 33:1.Chapter 39.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:
§6909. Emergency Abatement and/or

Responsibilities

A. In the event of an off-site emergency condition
resulting in the release or potential release of a pollutant, any
responsible person having control over the material shall
immediately commence clean up of the release or commence
emergency abatement activities to prevent or control the
release. '

B. Abatement and/or cleanup of an off-site emergency
condition identified under Subsection A of this Section shall
be to the extent necessary to prevent a hazard to human health
and safety and the environment. However, nothing in this
Section shall preclude the administrative authority from
requiring compliance with other applicable provisions of the
Louisiana Administrative Code or the act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6911. Responsible Person Unwilling or Unknown

A. Ifaresponsible person required to clean up or conduct
abatement measures under LAC 33:1.6909 fails or refuses to
do so, or does not complete abatement and/or cleanup, the

Department of

Cleanup




secretary may declare that an emergency exists in accordance

with R.S. 30:2033 and abate the emergency and/or cleanup the

release or contract for the emergency abatement and/or
cleanup of the release or potential release.

B. In the event of an off-site emergency condition
resulting in release or potential release of a pollutant in which
the responsible person is unknown, the secretary may declare
that an emergency exists in accordance with R.S. 30:2033 and
initiate remedial action as necessary to protect public health
and welfare and the environment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14),(15), 30:2015, and 30:2033.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6913. Reimbursement for Expenses of Emergency
Abatement and/or Cleanup

The administrative authority may seek reimbursement for
any emergency abatement and/or cleanup costs incurred by
the state by any method provided by law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15) and 30:2015.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6915. Transportation, Receipt, and Temporary Storage
of Material from the Cleanup and/or Abatement
of an Off-site Emergency Condition

Transportation, receipt, and storage of any material
generated as a result of the cleanup and/or abatement of any
off-site emergency condition, and not specifically authorized
by the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 33, may be
authorized by the administrative authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

" HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6917. Easements, Rights of Way, Eminent Domain

In the event of a declared emergency condition, the
secretary shall have the authority to claim comprehensive
easement, rights of way, and eminent domain over the
immediate site or the location of the emergency condition and
all other areas sufficient to secure, contain, cleanup, or abate
the emergency condition in accordance with R.S. 30:2036.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14),(15) and 2036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:
§6919. Emergency Response Storage

Requirements

This Section applies to emergency response storage
facilities not otherwise authorized by the Louisiana
Administrative Code, Title 33.

A. Storage Restrictions

1. Storage of material generated from the abatement
and/or cleanup of an off-site emergency condition may be
authorized by the administrative authority for up to 90 days.

Storage of such material maintained in an emergency response

facility shall be in accordance with the requirements in

Subsection B of this Section.

2. If required, due to unforeseen, temporary, or
uncontrollable circumstances, the administrative authority
may authorize storage for longer than 90 days. No extension

Facility
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granted in accordance with this Section may exceed 30 days
in duration.

B. Management of Tanks, Containers, and Storage Area.
Tanks or containers used to store material generated from the
abatement and/or cleanup of an off-site emergency condition
shall be managed in the following manner:

1. alegible label shall be affixed to the outside of the
tank or container so that it is readable from the aisle adjacent
to where the container is stored and shall contain all pertinent
information known regarding its contents including, but not
limited to, date of incident, location of the release, transporter
name and, if applicable, EPA identification number, generator
name and identification number, waste code, U.N. number,
and temporary Louisiana identification number;

2. if a tank or container is not in good condition (e.g.,
bulging, severe rusting, apparent structural defects) or if it
begins to leak, the owner or operator of the emergency
response storage facility shall transfer the contents of the tank
or container to a tank or container that is in good condition or
manage the tank or container's contents in some other way
that complies with the requirements of this Section;

3. tanks or containers used shall be made of or lined
with materials that will not react with, or be incompatible
with, the material to be stored so that the ability of the tank or
container to contain the material is not impaired;

4. containers shall not be opened, handled, or stored in
a manner that may rupture the container or cause it to leak;

5. at least weekly the emergency response storage
facility owner or operator shall inspect tanks, containers, and
areas where containers are stored, looking for leaking or
deteriorating tanks or containers and at the overall condition
of the storage area. Immediate remedial action shall be taken
by the owner or operator upon discovery of any problems in
the storage area; and

6. tanks or containers used for the storage of material
generated from the abatement and/or cleanup of an off-site
emergency condition shall be free of any incompatible residue
from any previous contents.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6921. Reporting Requirements

No later than 30 days after material from the cleanup and/
or abatement of an off-site emergency condition is removed
from an emergency response storage facility, the owner or
operator of the facility shall submit to the Emergency
Response Section located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, a
written report detailing the ultimate disposition of the
material. The report shall reference the department-issued
incident number.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14), and (15).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6923. Characterization of Stored Material

A. The responsible person must determine the character
(chemical composition and regulatory status) of any material
stored in an emergency response storage facility before the
time allowed for storage by LAC 33:1.6919 has elapsed and
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prior to any subsequent management activities, except as
authorized by the administrative authority.

B. Except as otherwise provided by this Chapter, materials
generated from the abatement and/or cleanup of an off-site
emergency condition must be managed according to the
requirements of all applicable regulations including, but not
limited to, LAC 33:V and VIL

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14),(15) and 30:2025.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

§6925. Enforcement

A. Failure to Comply. Failure of any person to comply
with any of the provisions of these regulations or order issued
hereunder constitutes a violation of the act.

B. Investigations: Purposes, Notice. Investigations may be
undertaken to determine whether a violation has occurred or
is about to occur, the scope and nature of the violation, and
the persons or parties involved. ~ The results of an
investigation shall be given to any complainant who provided
the information prompting the investigation, upon written
request, and if advisable, to the person under investigation if
the identity of such person is known.

C. Development of Facts, Reports

1. The administrative authority may conduct inquiries
and develop facts in investigations by staff investigatory
procedures or formal investigations and may conduct
inspections and examinations of facilities and records. The
administrative authority or a presiding officer may hold public
hearings and/or issue subpoenas in accordance with R.S.
30:2025(1) and require attendance of witnesses and production
of documents, or may take such other action as may be
necessary and authorized by the act or rules promulgated by
the administrative authority. At the conclusion of the
investigation all facts and information concerning any alleged
violation shall be compiled by the staff of the department. A
report of the investigation shall be presented to the
administrative authority for use in possible enforcement
proceedings. Any complainant who provided the information
prompting the investigation shall be notified of its results.

2. The administrative authority shall have access to and
be allowed to copy any records that the department or its
representative finds necessary for the enforcement of these
regulations. For records maintained in either a central or
private office that is open only during normal office hours and
is closed at the time of the inspection, the records shall be
made available as soon as the office is open, but in no case
later than noon the next working day.

D. Enforcement Action. ~When the administrative
authority determines that a violation of the act or these
regulations has occurred or is about to occur, he shall initiate
one or more of the actions set forth in R.S. 30:2025, or as
otherwise provided by appropriate rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011(D)(1),(14),(15) and 30:2025.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 22:

A public hearing will be held on June 27, 1996, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
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persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate please contact
Patsy Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-
0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by OS018A. Such
comments should be submitted no later than July 5, 1996, at
4:30 p.m., to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and Regulation
Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70810
or to FAX number (504) 765-0486.

J. Dale Givens
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Emergency Response (OS018A)

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No significant effect of this proposed rule on implementation
costs to state or local governmental units is anticipated.

1. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No significant effect of this proposed rule on state or local
governmental revenue collections is anticipated.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

A potential economic benefit may result from the state having
procedures to quickly deal with off-site spills and abandoned
containers prior to their causing adverse environmental impact
or expensive cleanup costs.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No significant effect on competition and employment will
result from this rule.

J. Dale Givens
Secretary
9605#059

Richard England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Sanitary Code—Lead Poisoning Control
(Chapter 1V)

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health intends to amend Chapter IV of the State
Sanitary Code to bring the Code into agreement with current
state laws, federal housing regulations and industry standards,
and to more effectively deal with child lead poisoning cases.

CHAPTER IV
LEAD POISONING CONTROL
4:001. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the
following words and terms used in this Chapter of the Sanitary

-




Code and all other Chapters which are adopted or may be
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows:

Abate—to remove, isolate, cover with permanently affixed
lead-free covering incapable of being readily chewed through,
pierced, torn or removed, or to otherwise make inaccessible to
children or other persons, sources of lead contamination.

Painting over lead-based paint with nonlead paint shall not
constitute abatement; however, liquid encapsulant formulated
and warranted by the manufacturer for such purpose may be
used. Contaminated soil may be covered with uncontaminated
topsoil or vegetation, if approved by the state health officer.

Chewable Surface—shall include, but not be limited to,
such surfaces as window sills, window frames, door frames,
handrails, toys, furniture, and other appurtenances offering a
biting surface to a child or other person.

Child—as used in this chapter shall mean a child under 6
years of age.

Dwelling—a building or structure occupied or designed or
intended to be occupied as a place of human habitation and
use, and construed to include any accessory building or
structure belonging thereto or usually enjoined therewith.

Dwelling Unit—any room or group of rooms or other
interior area of a dwelling designed or used for human
habitation.

Exposed Surface—all surfaces of a premises which are
readily accessible to any person. Such surfaces include
structural components, walls, and siding from floor or ground
level to a vertical distance of at least five feet. Any area
subject to contamination from flaking, peeling or chalking
lead based materials is also considered an exposed surface.

Lead Contamination—shall include: paint or similar coating
material, putty, plaster or other composition material, on a
exposed surface or chewable surface, which contains > 0.5
percent lead by weight as determined by laboratory analysis
or >1.0 milligram per square centimeter of surface area as
measured by X-ray fluorescence or equivalent method,;
drinking water, dust, or soil which contains a level of lead
which, in the judgment of the state health officer, is sufficient
to be a source of lead poisoning to children or other persons;
any object or material which, in the judgment of the State
Health Officer, can be a source of lead ingestion or inhalation.

Lead Poisoning—a blood lead level hazardous to health as
established by the state health officer.

Occupant—any person living, sleeping, cooking, eating in
or having actual possession of a dwelling or dwelling unit.

Operator—any person who has charge, care or control of a
building or part thereof in which dwelling units are let.

Other Person—-as used in this Chapter shall mean a person,
other than a child under 6 years of age, deemed by the state
health officer to be at risk of lead poisoning because of mental
state, physiological condition, or behavioral traits.

Owner—a holder of any legal or equitable estate in the
premises, whether alone or jointly with others, and whether in
possession or not.

Premises—a lot, plot or parcel of land or part thereof
including all facilities and improvements thereon.

Surface—the outermost layer of the superficial area of a
premises.

4:002. Lead contamination shall be considered a health
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hazard to children or other persons, if said lead contamination
exists in or about a dwelling, dwelling unit, household, or
other premises which, in the judgment of the state health
officer, children or other persons visit with such frequency or
duration as to create significant risk of lead poisoning.
4:003. All day care facilities or institutions in which children
or other persons commonly reside or are cared for shall be
maintained free of lead contamination.

4:004. When the state health officer is informed of a case of
lead poisoning, he shall cause to have inspected the dwelling
in which the person with lead poisoning resides, or has
recently resided, if the occupants of such dwelling consent,
after reasonable notice, to such inspection. The state health
officer may, as he deems necessary, cause to have inspected
other residences or premises which the person with lead
poisoning frequents.

4:005. The purpose of such inspection shall be to identify
possible sources of lead poisoning. The inspection may
include: in situ testing with an X-ray fluorescence analyzer or
other method approved by the state health officer; collection
of paint, dust, soil, and water samples for laboratory analysis;
visual inspection for objects which may contain lead; and
interviews with the person with lead poisoning or others with
knowledge of the person's behavior and habits.

4:006. When lead contamination is found in a dwelling, the
following actions shall be taken:

4:006-1. The inspection findings shall be reported in
writing immediately to the parent or guardian, owner and/or
operator of the building, all affected tenants, the person
having medical management of the lead poisoning case, and
the state health officer.

Additionally, any findings as to behavior or habits of the
person with lead poisoning which might be causative of lead
poisoning shall be reported to the person having medical
management.

4:006-2. The parent or guardian of the person with lead
poisoning and the owner and/or operator of the building shall
be notified that such person and other children should
immediately be protected from the lead hazard, either by
removal from the dwelling, isolation of the contamination, or
other method approved by the state health officer, until the
hazard is abated.

4:006-3. A notice shall be prominently posted on the main
entrance of the dwelling that the premises contains levels of
lead hazardous to children and other persons and that such
persons should not occupy the building until the hazard has
been abated. Such notice may not be removed until the state
health officer determines that the hazard has been abated.
Unauthorized intentional removal of the notice shall subject
the offender to a fine of $500 as provided in R.S.
40:1299.(24).(C).

4:006-4. The state health officer shall strongly encourage
the examination of all children and other persons residing, or
who have recently resided in the dwelling.

4:006-5. If, within 30 days of notification of the existence
of lead contamination, the parent or guardian and/or the owner
or operator of the building have not taken adequate measures
to protect the person with lead poisoning and children and
other persons from the lead hazard, they shall be invited to
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attend a conference at local health unit or other site designated
by the state health officer. Invitees shall be given at least 10
days advance notice of the conference; shorter notice may be
given if mutually agreeable. Present at the conference shall
be: the inspector or other Office of Public Health
representative familiar with the inspection results, the person
having medical management of the poisoning case or other
person familiar with the case, and if possible, a social worker.

4:006-6. The purpose of the conference shall be to inform
the invitees of the hazard to the person with lead poisoning,
and to children and other persons, the necessity for protecting
such persons from the lead hazard, and to develop a plan of
action to accomplish such. Such plan should include removal
of the persons at risk, abatement of the hazard, or other steps
approved by the state health officer. A written or electronic
record of the conference shall be kept. At the conclusion of
the conference, the invitees shall be requested to sign a
statement that they understand the hazard to the child, and that
they agree to accomplish the plan of action by a mutually
agreed upon date. Such statement shall be made part of the
conference record. ,

4:006-7. If, at any time, the state health officer determines

that a child with lead poisoning and other children in the
family are at risk and are likely to remain so without
intervention beyond that outlined above, he shall notify the
appropriate child protection agency and/or other agency of the
particulars of the case.
4:007. Lead contamination identified as a result of the
aforementioned inspection shall not be considered abated until
verified by a reinspection authorized by the state health
officer.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: Charles H. Anderson, Sanitarian Program
Administrator, Box 60630, New Orleans, LA 70160, by the
close of business on June 30, 1996. He is responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed rule. A public
hearing on the proposed changes will be held at 12 noon on
June 24, 1996 in the Fourth Floor Conference Room,
Department of Transportation and Development Annex
Building, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA. All
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit
data, views or arguments, orally or in writing at said hearing.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Lead Poisoning Control

.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no estimated implementation costs to state or
local units.
1. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no estimated effect on revenue collections of
state or local governmental units.
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Owners and tenants of low-valued housing will be directly
affected. In many cases, removal of lead paint from such
houses would cost more than the value of the house. New rule
allows for alternatives to complete removal. Also, old rule
effectively takes housing with lead paint off the rental market
by prohibiting any person from residing therein. New rule
removes this prohibition, thereby not decreasing supply of low-
rent housing. No figures are available to form an estimate of
magnitude of economic impact.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

New rule will prevent removal of rental dwellings from the
market, thus preserving competition which should be of benefit
to renters. No figures are available as to amount of impact this
will have.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary
96054058

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Sanitary Code—Molluscan Shell Stock (Chapter [X)

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public
Health intends to amend Chapter IX of the State Sanitary
Code, Section 9:052. The proposed rule change is necessary
in order to provide an increased level of assurance that shell-
stock oysters, clams and mussels are refrigerated (after
harvest) in a timely manner. Adoption of this rule is
necessary for this program to be in compliance with the latest
recommendations of the National Shellfish Sanitation
Program.

The text of this proposed rule may be viewed in its entirety
in the emergency rule section of this issue of the Louisiana
Register.

Interested persons may submit questions or written
comments to the following address: Charles C. Conrad,
Administrator, Commercial Seafood Inspection Program, Box
60630, New Orleans, LA 70160. He is responding to inquires
regarding these proposed rule changes. All questions or
comments must be received by June 30, 1996. A public
hearing on the proposed changes will be held on June 24,
1996 at 10 a.m. in the Fourth Floor Conference Room, the
Department of Transportation and Development Annex
Building, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary




FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Sanitary Code—Molluscan Shell Stock

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There should be no implementation costs or savings.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no effect or revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
There is a potential for reduced earnings by the state's
shellfish industry. It is not presently possible to come up with
areasonably accurate estimate.

I

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There should be no significant impact on competition or
employment.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary
9506#065

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary

Maternal and Child Health Block Grant

. The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) intends to
apply for Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Block Grant
Federal Funding for FY 1996-97 in accordance with Public
Law 97-35, the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981,
and with federal regulations as set forth in the Federal
Register Volume 47, Number 129, Tuesday, July 6, 1982,
pages 29472-29493. DHH will continue to administer
programs funded under the MCH Block Grant in accordance
with provisions set forth in Public Law 97-35 and the federal
regulations. The Office of Public Health is the office
responsible for program administration of the grant.

The application is available for review at any regional OPH
facility. It may also be obtained from the Office of the State
Register, 1051 North Third, Baton Rouge, LA at a cost of
$19.75. Please reference document 9605#066.

A public hearing on the Block Grant is scheduled for
Tuesday, June 25, 1996 at 1:30 p.m. in the Department of
Health and Hospitals Third Floor Conference Room A, 1201
Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA.

At the public hearing all interested persons will have the
opportunity to provide recommendations on the proposed
Block Grant orally or in writing. Written comments will be
accepted through July 10, 1996. Comments may be addressed
to Eric Baumgartner, M.D., Assistant Secretary, Office of
Public Health, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Maternal and Child Health Block Grant

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
This block was implemented in FY 82. Neither an increase
not a decrease in implementation costs is expected, as DHH will
continue to administer these programs in accordance with
existing federal and state laws and regulations. No workload
change is anticipated, as the same amounts and kinds of services

are expected to be delivered.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No effect on revenue collections is anticipated. Naturally, if
the federal allotment to Louisiana for this block decreases, the
state will be required to subsequently decrease the allotment to
all programs covered under the block, but this is a factor
beyond our control. The amount of the allocation for Louisiana
for FY 96-97 is expected to be $14,795,682 which is the same
amount as FY 95-96.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

No direct effect is anticipated on patients, groups, units of
local government or state agencies other than DHH.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No effect is anticipated on competition and employment, as
the same kinds and amounts of services are to be offered.
Should the amount of federal funds eventually appropriated be
at such a decreased level as to warrant reductions in staff,
unemployment will result.

II1.

V.

Richard England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Eric T. Baumgartner, M.D., MPH
Assistant Secretary
9605#066

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Facility Need Review—Nursing Facilities, Beds
(LAC 48:1.12503)

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt the following
emergency rule for facility need review as authorized by R.S.
40:2116 and in accordance with the Administrative Procedure
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. Existing regulations providing for
facility need review (LAC 48:1.12501-12505) were initially
adopted on January 20, 1991, and were later repealed and
repromulgated in the Louisiana Register on August 20, 1995,
LR 21:806. These regulations include provisions for the
approval of additional nursing facility beds to enroll in the
Title XIX Program based on either a facility specific
exception for an area with high occupancy, or the replacement
of a nursing facility that is structurally older than 25 years.
The department proposes to repeal these provisions from the
regulations providing for facility need review.
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Data from The Guide to the Nursing Home Industry, 1995
by HCIA Inc. and Arthur Anderson LLP, indicates that
sufficient nursing facility beds are available in Louisiana to
serve the Medicaid population requiring this level of care.
Nationally, the occupancy rate for nursing homes is about 91
percent, while in Louisiana the occupancy rate is about 87
percent. For beds per 1,000 persons age 65+ the national
average is about 54.6, while in Louisiana it is at least 77 beds.

Costs incurred for the care of each Medicaid beneficiary are
factored into the reimbursement rate for nursing facilities
when these rates are rebased. Costs of additional unoccupied
beds, including but not limited to capital and maintenance
costs, will be absorbed into and increase rates for Medicaid
beneficiaries filling occupied beds. If more beds are enrolled
than needed, expenditures will increase beyond the amount
necessary for providing required nursing facility care to the
Medicaid population.

Effective April 9, 1996 the department adopted an
emergency rule repealing those facility need review
regulations which provide for the approval of additional
nursing facility beds to enroll in the Title XIX Program based
on either: 1) a facility specific exception for an area with high
occupancy; or 2) the replacement of a nursing facility that is
structurally older than 25 years. This rule was subsequently
published in the Louisiana Register on May 20, 1995.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL
Part I. General Administration
Subpart 5. Health Planning
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review
§12503. Determination of Bed Need

A.l.-6d. ..

B. Nursing Facilities/Beds

1.-8. ...

9. In order for additional nursing facilities/beds to be
added in a service area, the bed-to-population ratio for nursing
facility beds shall not exceed 65 Medicaid approved beds per
1,000 elderly population in a service area, and average annual
occupancy for the four most recent quarters as reported in the
LTC-2 shall exceed 95 percent in the service area. An
exception for areas with high occupancy is described below:

a. - a.vii. Repealed.
b. - b.xiii. ...
10.a. - 10.c. ...

11. Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:2116.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Repealed and repromulgated by the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR
21:808 (August 1995), amended LR 22:

Interested persons may submit written comments to Thomas
D. Collins, Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box 91030,
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed rule.

A public hearing on this proposed rule is scheduled for
Tuesday, June 25, 1996 at 9:30 a.m. in the Department of
Transportation and Development Auditorium, First Floor,
1201 Capitol Access road, Baton Rouge, LA. At this time
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit
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data, views or arguments, orally or in writing. The deadline
for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the day
following the public hearing.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Facility Need Review Nursing Facilities/Beds

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The only estimated implementation cost anticipated will be
the cost for promulgation of the proposed rule. This cost is
estimated to be $260.

1I. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Implementation of this rule will have no effect upon revenue
collections of either state or local governmental units.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The proposed rule will have no effect upon costs and/or
economic benefits in the near future since a moratorium on
additional nursing facility bed approval takes effect July 1,
1996 and lasts until July 1, 1999. After the moratorium ends,
a reduction in expenditures is anticipated based upon
implementation of this rule.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no known impact on competition or employment
because of the moratorium.

Thomas D. Collins
Director
9605#060

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits Management System
Point-of-Sale—Prospective Drug Utilization Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to
adopt the following rule in the Medicaid Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Social Security Act, Section 1927(g) and (h) and as directed
by the 1995-96 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid Program
as necessary to control expenditures to the level approved in
this schedule. The Secretary is hereby directed to utilize
various cost containment measures to accomplish these
reductions, including but not limited to pre-certification, pre-
admission screening, and utilization review, and other
measures as allowed by federal law".

g
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Section 1927(g) as added by section 4401 of the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliaticn Act of 1990 (OBRA 1990) provides
that in order for states to receive federal financial participation
for covered outpatient drugs, the state must have in operation
a drug use review program. This Drug Utilization Review
Program must consist of prospective drug review,
retrospective drug use review, the application of explicit
predetermined standards, and an educational program. The
purpose of this program is to improve the quality of
pharmaceutical care by ensuring that prescriptions are
appropriate and medically necessary, and that they are not
likely to result in adverse medical effects. This section of the
Act mandates detailed requirements for conducting drug use
reviews and for the State Drug Utilization Review Boards.
The Department of Health and Hospitals Board of Pharmacy
adopted a Rule on August 20, 1992 (Louisiana Register
Volume 19, No.8) which incorporated these requirements
under the Professional and Occupational Standards for
pharmacists. Section 1927(h) also added by the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 encourages states to
establish a point-of-sale electronic claims management (ECM)
system for processing claims for covered outpatient drugs
which is capable of performing on-line, real time eligibility
verifications, claims data capture, adjudication of claims and
assisting pharmacists and other authorized persons in applying
for and receiving payment. Regulations at Section 456.705(a)
and (b)(1) require review of drug therapy based on
predetermined standards at the point-of-sale before each
prescription is filled or delivered to a recipient. The proposed
rule provides integration of the pharmacy operations into a
pharmacy benefit management system for the enhanced
operation of the Louisiana Drug Utilization Review Program
and the Medicaid State Plan by including prospective drug
review at the point-of-sale, an educational program, and
implementation of the Point-of-Sale Electronic Claims
Management.

The implementation of the following proposed rule will
integrate and enhance current efforts to provide optimal
pharmaceutical services and to maintain program integrity.
Integration of the Pharmacy Program's existing components,
Retrospective  Drug  Utilization Review, Formulary
Management, Claims Management, Patient- Education
Program, Pharmacy Provider Network and Provider Service
with the Louisiana Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits
Management's new components of Enhanced Pharmacy
Network, Pharmacy Provider Help Desk, Point-of-Sale
Electronic Claims Management Network, Point of Service
Prospective Drug Utilization Review System and Patient,
Physician and Pharmacist Education System will enhance the
existing features to allow for greater capability to determine
if appropriate pharmaceuticals are being utilized for optimal
disease and outcomes management of the patient. The
Department of Health and Hospitals has initiated an
Interdisciplinary Medicine and Pharmacy Team to assist in the
development of various educational and intervention
components. The conversion of the current Drug Utilization
Review Program into an enhanced on-line electronic
prospective one will reduce costly duplicate drug therapy,
prevent potential drug to drug interactions, assure appropriate
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drug use, dosage and duration of therapy. In addition the
electronic system will provide drug information and education
to providers. This electronic system will enable the Medicaid
Program to monitor prescribing patterns and recipient drug
utilizations patterns. Analyses of data derived from the Point-
of- Sale/PRO-DUR system will allow for timely interventions
for those providers and/or recipients. The point-of-sale
technology will integrate provider networks which will allow
for better management of disease states.

This system will be administered by the Bureau of Health
Services Financing with contractual agreements for
programmatic and administrative support with the Northeast
Louisiana University, School of Pharmacy, the fiscal
intermediary for the Medicaid Program and an audit firm.
The on-line Point-of-Sale System will provide accurate and
efficient information including online, real-time eligibility,
claims data capture, claims adjudication and claims payment.
Also this system will integrate provider networks which will
allow for better management of the patient's health care.

The department initiated emergency rulemaking to
implement these initiatives effective January 1, 1996
(Louisiana Register Volume 22, No.1).

Proposed Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to
implement the Louisiana Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits
Management System (LMPBM) which includes a Point-of-
Sale/Prospective Drug Utilization Review component. The
department reserves the right for ultimate decision making
relative to certain drug class information and drug
contraindications or interactions.

The LMPBM Program will integrate the following
administrative components of the Medicaid Pharmacy
Program.

1. Formulary Management. The formulary is managed
through the use of the Federal Upper Limits (FUL) and the
Louisiana Maximum Allowable Costs (LMAC) limitations.
Federal Upper Limits and Louisiana Maximum Allowable
Costs limitations provide for dispensing of multiple source
drugs at established limitations unless the prescribing
physician specifies that the brand product is medically
necessary for a patient. Establishment of co-payments also
provides for formulary management. The Medicaid Program
has established a broad formulary with limited exceptions.

2. Reimbursement Management. The cost of
pharmaceutical care is managed through Estimated
Acquisition Costs (EAC) of drug ingredient costs through
Average Wholesale Price (AWP) discounting, the Louisiana
Maximum Allowable Costs LMAC) limitations and
compliance with Federal Upper Limits (FUL) regulations, and
the establishment of the maximum allowable overhead costs,
drug rebates and co-payments.

3. Claims Management. The claims management
component is performed through the processing of pharmacy
claims against established edits. Claim edit patterns and
operational reports are analyzed to review the effectiveness of
established edits and to identify those areas where the
development of additional edits are needed.
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4. Program Integrity. Program Integrity is maintained
through the following mechanisms: Retrospective Drug
Utilization Review, Lock-In Program for patient education,
Surveillance and Utilization Review Program which provides
for on-going review processes for misutilization, abuse and
fraud, and audits of the providers of the Pharmacy Program.

5. Pharmacy Provider Network. Enrolled Medicaid
pharmacy providers are required to comply with all applicable
federal and state laws and regulations.

6. The Point-of-Sale Prospective Drug Utilization
Review System. This on-line Point-of-Sale System provides
electronic claims management to evaluate and improve drug
utilization quality. Information about the patient and the drug
will be analyzed through the use of eight therapeutic modules
in accordance with the standards of the National Council of
Prescription Drug Plan. The purpose of Prospective Drug
Utilization Review is to reduce in duplication of drug therapy,
prevent drug to drug interactions, and assure appropriate drug
use, dosage and duration. The PRO-DUR modules may
screen for drug interactions, therapeutic duplication, improper
duration of therapy, incorrect dosages, clinical abuse/misuse
and age restrictions. Electronic claims submission sends on-
line messages to pharmacists informing them of potential
drug-related problems and the pharmacists must document
their responses by using interventions codes. By using these
codes pharmacists will document prescription reporting and
outcomes of therapy for Medicaid recipients.

A. POS/PRS-DUR Requirements Provider Participation

1. A point-of-sale enrollment amendment and
certification is required prior to billing POS/PRO-DUR
system. Annual recertification is required.

2. All Medicaid enrolled pharmacy providers will be

required to participate in the Pharmacy Benefits Management
System. :
3. All Medicaid enrolled pharmacy providers whose
claim volume exceeds 100 claims or $4,000 per month and all
providers enrolled on January 1, 1996 will be required to
participate in Point-of-Sale System. Long Term Care
pharmacy provider claims may be processed through
Electronic Media Claims (EMC).

4. Providers accessing the POS/PRO-DUR system will
be responsible for the purchase of all hardware for connection
to the switching companies and any fees associated with
connection or transmission of information to the fiscal
intermediary. The Bureau of Health Services Financing will
not reimburse the provider for any initial on-going fees
incurred by the provider to access the POS/PRO-DUR system.

5. Providers are required to verify eligibility with the
monthly eligibility card and a copy of the card should be
retained for processing the claim.

6. Pharmacy providers and physicians may obtain
assistance with clinical questions from the Northeast
Louisiana University, School of Pharmacy.

7. Physicians and pharmacy providers will be required
to participate in the educational and intervention features of
the Pharmacy Benefits Management System.

B. Recipient Participation. ~ Pharmacy patients are
encouraged to take an active role in the treatment or
management of their health conditions through participation
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in patient counseling efforts with their physicians and
pharmacists.

C. Disease and Outcomes Management. Disease
management will be focused on improving the drug therapy
for certain disease states by developing procedures to assure
direct interventions and increasing compliance of patients.
Patient populations will be targeted for disease therapy
monitoring and educational efforts.

D. Peer Counseling and Conference Management. The
department will analyze data for individual prescribers and
pharmacists. Quality management strategies will be used for
peer counseling and conferences with precribers and/or
pharmacists to assure appropriate prescribing and dispensing.

Interested persons may submit written comments to
Thomas D. Collins, Bureau of Health Services Financing,
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. He is responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed rule. A public
hearing will be held on this matter at 9:30 a.m., Tuesday, June
25, 1996, in the first floor auditorium of the Department of
Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road,
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested parties will be
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments,
orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all
comments is 4:30 on the day following the public hearing.

Bobby P. Jindal
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Pharmacy Benefits Management Systems
Prospective/DUR Program

1.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will

decrease expenditures for the Medicaid Program by

approximately $3,398,424 for SFY 1996; $11,813,400 for SFY

1997; and $5,906,700 for SFY 1998. The state portion of these

savings are as follows: SFY 1996 $929.469; SFY 1997
$3,320,747; and SFY 1998 $1,660,373.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is anticipated that federal revenue collections for the
Medicaid Program will decrease by approximately $2,468,955
for SFY 1996; $8,492,653 for SFY 1996-1997; and $4,246,327
for SFY 1998.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

It is anticipated that the providers of the Pharmacy and
Hospital Programs will experience the estimated decreased
expenditures of $3,398,424 for SFY 1996; $11,813,400 for
SFY 1997; and $5,906,700 for SFY 1998. 1t is anticipated
pharmacy providers will experience the major portion of these
reductions for the provision of their services and that hospital
and physician providers will experience the remaining
reimbursement reductions.
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There is no known effect on competition and employment.

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Thomas D. Collins
Director
9605#061

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

Food Stamp Program (LAC 67:111.1947 and 1983)

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, proposes to amend the Louisiana Administrative
Code, Title 67, Part I, Subpart 3, Food Stamps.

Public Law 103-66, the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
of 1993, mandated food stamp revisions known as the Mickey
Leland Childhood Hunger Relief Act, whereby a wide range
of food stamp eligibility changes would take place over a span
of several years. Rulemaking has already been promulgated
to effect some changes as they occurred. This rule is being
promulgated to encompass forthcoming changes in the areas
of resource eligibility standards and deductions from income.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part II1. Office of Family Support
Subpart 3. Food Stamps
Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households
~ Subchapter H. Resource Eligibility Standards
§1947. Resources
* %k X

B. The fair market value of vehicles which is excluded in
determining a household's resources will be adjusted annually
beginning October 1, 1996, using $5,000 as a base and
thereafter reflecting changes in the urban Consumer Price
Index for new cars for the 12-month period ending the
preceding June and rounding to the nearest $50.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.
7:55463 et seq. and 47:55903 et seq., 7 CFR 273.8, P.L. 103-66.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:130 (March
1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office of
Family Support, LR 20:990 (September 1994), LR 20:1362
(December 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:
Subchapter I. Income and Deductions
§1983. Income Deductions and Resource Limits

A.-Al ..

2. The maximum shelter deduction is $247 per month
for households which do not include a member who is elderly
or disabled. The cap on shelter deductions will be eliminated
effective January 1, 1997.

* ok %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.

51:11009 et seq. and 51:11086 et seq., P.L. 99-500, P.L. 103-66, 7
CFR 273.9 and 273.10 (d)(1)(i).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 12:285 (May
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1986), amended LR 12:423 (July 1986), LR 12:824 (December
1986), LR 13:181 (March 1987), LR 14:684 (October 1988), LR
15:14 (January 1989), amended by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 19:303 (March 1993), LR
19:905 (July 1993), LR 20:780 (July 1994), LR 20:990 (September
1994), LR 20:1362 (December 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995),
LR 22:

Interested persons may submit written comments within 30
days to the following address: Vera W. Blakes, Assistant
Secretary, Office of Family Support, Box 94065, Baton
Rouge, LA, 70804-9065. She is responsible for responding to
inquiries regarding this proposed rule.

A public hearing on the proposed rule will be held on June
25, 1996 in the Second Floor Auditorium at the Department
of Social Services, 755 Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA at 9
am. All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special
services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven
working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call
(504)342-4120 (Voice and TDD).

Madlyn B. Bagneris
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Food Stamp Program

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The estimated cost to state government is $105.26 in FY
96/97 for publishing the policy changes and printing related
material. Although the policy change within the rule will result
in increased benefits to recipients, food stamp benefits are 100
percent federally funded. The changes will cause an increase in
total participation in the program which could also increase
administrative costs, but no projections are available.
The rule results in no savings and it will have no impact on
any local governmental units.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The proposed rule will have no effect on revenue collections
of state or local governmental units.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
There are no costs to any persons or nongovernmental
groups. Food stamp recipients will receive economic benefits
in the form of increased or new food stamp allotments.

III.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
The proposed rule will have no impact on competition and
employment.

Vera W. Blakes
Assistant Secretary
9605#064

Richard England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Transportation and Development
Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and
Land Surveyors

Minimum Standards for Property Boundary Surveys
(LAC 46:L.X1.2501-2509)

In accordance with the R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby
given that the Board of Registration for Professional
Engineers and Land Surveyors intends to revise LAC
46:LX1.2501-2509 as follows.
Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXI. Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Subpart 1. Rules

Minimum Standards for Property

Boundary Surveys

§2501. General

A ..

B. These standards are set forth to solely provide a means
by which professional performance can be assessed by the
Louisiana State Board of Registration for Professional
Engineer and Land Surveyors and to enable the surveying
profession as a whole to better protect the safety, health, and
welfare of the public. It should be recognized that surveying
practices now in place may vary from one region of the state
to another, and these practices should be evaluated when at
variance with these standards.

C. It is intended that these be recognized as minimum
standards of practice and that they not be relied upon by the
professional surveyor as a substitute for the exercise of proper
individual skill, professional discretion, and good judgment in
fulfilling the legal and/or contractual requirements of any
property boundary survey.

D. When in the professional surveyors opinion special
conditions exist that effectively prevent the survey from
meeting these minimum standards, the special conditions and
any necessary deviation from the standards shall be noted
upon the drawing. It shall be a violation of this rule to use
special conditions to circumvent the intent and purpose of
these minimum standards.

E. A property boundary survey shall only be performed by
persons qualified to practice land surveying and registered in
accordance with the provisions of R.S. 37:681, et seq.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:681, 682(9), 688.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 16:1064 (December
1990), amended LR 22:

§2503. Definitions

Any terms not specifically defined herein shall be as
defined in the most current publication of Definitions of
Surveying and Associated Terms as published by the
American Congress on surveying mapping. For the purpose
of these standards, all the definitions listed that differ from
any other source are to be interpreted as written herein.

Chapter 25.
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Client—the person with whom the contract for work is
made. This may, or may not be the owner.

Corner—a point on a land boundary, at which two or
more boundary lines meet. Not the same as monument, which
refers to the physical evidence of the corner’s location on the
ground.

Deed—an instrument in writing which, when executed
and delivered, conveys an estate in real property or interest
therein.

Description, Legal—a written description usually
contained in an act of conveyance, judgment of possession,
etc., recognized by law which definitely locates property by
metes and bounds or by reference to government surveys,
coordinate systems or recorded maps; a description which is
sufficient to locate the property without oral testimony.

Description, Metes and Bounds—a description of a parcel
of land by reference to course and distances around the tract,
or by reference to natural or record monuments.

Encroachment—any structure or obstruction which
intrudes upon, invades or trespasses upon the property of
another.

May—when used means that a choice on the part of the
surveyor is allowed.

Monument—a physical structure which marks the location
of a corner or other survey point. In public-land surveys, the
term "corner" is employed to denote a point determined by the
surveying process, whereas the “monument” is the physical
structure erected to mark the corner point upon the earth’s
surface. Monument and corner are not synonymous, though
the two terms are often used in the same sense.

Positional Accuracy—the difference between the actual
position of a monument and the position as reported on the
plat.

Positional Tolerance—the distance that any monument
may be mislocated in relation to any other monument cited in
the survey.

Prescription—title obtained in law by long possession.
Occupancy for the period prescribed by the Louisiana Civil
Code, as sufficient to bar an action for the recovery of the
property, gives title by prescription.

Right of Way—any strip or area of land, including
surface, overhead, or underground, granted by deed or
easement, for construction and maintenance according to the
designated use.

Servitude—a nonpossessing interest held by one person
in land of another whereby the first person is accorded partial
use of such land for a specific purpose. A servitude restricts
but does not abridge the rights of the fee owner to the use and
enjoyment of his land. The term easement is often used
interchangeably with servitude and means the same thing.

Shall—the subject is imperative or mandatory and must
be done by the surveyor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:681, 682(9), 688.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 16:1064 (December
1990), amended LR 22:




§2505. Classification of Surveys

A.-D. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:681, 682(9), 688.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 16:1065 (December
1990), amended LR 22:

§2507. Property Boundary Survey

A. Definition

1. A property boundary survey is a survey which, after
careful study, investigation, and evaluation of major factors
influencing the location of boundaries, results in the deliberate
location or relocation on the ground of one or more
boundaries. When all the boundaries of a parcel of land are
surveyed, an area determination may be included if requested
by the client.

2. A mineral unit survey (or unit plat) is a plan showing
subsurface mineral boundaries prepared for the specific
purpose of allocating mineral rights. A mineral unit survey
should not be viewed as a property boundary survey subject
to the requirements of the Minimum Standards for Property
Boundary Surveys. This does not absolve the professional
land surveyor from his obligation to use due diligence in the
practice and from complying with all applicable rules and
laws pertaining to the practice of land surveying.

B. Purpose. The primary purpose of the property
boundary survey is to locate or relocate the physical position
and extent of the boundaries of real property, and the
discovery of visible evidence of prescriptive rights relating
thereto. A property boundary survey may also include the
location or relocation of the physical position and extent of
political boundaries which define the perimeters of public or
private ownership. In addition, the property boundary survey
is a means of marking boundaries for sufficient definition and
identification to uniquely locate each lot, parcel, or tract in
relation to other well recognized and established points of
reference, adjoining properties and rights-of-way.

C. Product. A property boundary survey will result in the
establishment of monumented corners; point of curvature and
tangency; and reference points (See Subsection E,
"Monuments," in this Section). In event that no plat of survey
is required, the professional land surveyor must maintain
adequate records to substantiate his professional opinion in
reestablishing boundary lines and corners on a survey. If
requested by the client, a boundary survey may also include
the following:

1.-3.

D. Research and Investigation. A surveyor shall be
provided the legal description or plats describing the property
to be surveyed. The surveyor shall then evaluate the necessity
to obtain the following data based on the specific purpose of
the survey:

1. the most recent recorded legal descriptions and plats
of the tract to be surveyed, tracts adjoining or in proximity to
the property to be surveyed,

2. therecorded legal descriptions of adjoining, severing,
or otherwise encumbering servitudes or rights-of-way,
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including, but not necessarily limited to, highways, roadways,
pipelines, utility corridors, and waterways used for drainage,
navigation or flood control. Where the purpose of a survey
neither requires nor includes research and investigation of
servitudes, a note to that effect shall be placed upon the plat
of survey;

3. ..

E.-E2.a.

b. Concrete monuments shall be at least three inches
in width or diameter by 24 inches in length, reinforced with an
iron rod at least one-fourth inch in diameter, and may contain
a precise mark on top indicating the exact location of the
corner.

c. Marks on existing concrete, stone, or steel surface
will consist of drill holes, chisel marks or punch marks and
must be of sufficient size, diameter or depth to be definitive,
stable and readily identifiable as a survey monument, Marks
on asphalt roads may consist of railroad spikes, large nails, or
"PK nails".

d ..

e. Monuments must be set vertically whenever
possible and the top may be reasonably flush with the ground
when practical. Monuments subject to damage from
earthwork, construction or traffic should be buried at a
sufficient depth to offer protection.

f ..

3.

F.-F.1.

2. In performing resurveys of tracts of whose
boundaries are defined by lines established in public lands
surveys, the surveyor shall, as nearly as possible, reestablish
the original lines of any prior survey made under United
States or state authority. In all townships or portions of
townships where no survey has been made, the surveyor, in
surveying or platting the township or portion thereof, shall
make it conform as nearly as practicable to the lots and
sections indicated upon the plats according to which the lands
were granted by the state or by the United States. (R.S.
50:125)

3. .

4. Special consideration shall be afforded by the rules
of evidence and "hierarchy of calls" before any decision is
made regarding property boundaries. "... The legal guides for
determining a question of boundary or the location of a land
line in order of their importance and value are:

a. l—natural monuments

b. 2—artificial monuments

c. 3—distances

d. 4—courses

e. S5—quantity
But the controlling consideration is the intention of the
parties." (See citation in Meyer vs. Comegys, 1920 La.
Supreme Court, 147 La. 851 and 86 SO. 307, 309.)

5.-7. ..

G. Plats and Maps. Every original plat or map of a
boundary survey should be a reproducible drawing at a
suitable scale which clearly shows the results of the field
work, computations, research and record information as
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compiled and checked. The plat, map or drawing shall be
prepared in conformity with the following guidelines.

1.-2.

3. All dimensions, bearings or angles, including
sufficient data to define the cure shall be neatly and legibly
shown with respect to each property or boundary line. When
possible, all bearings shall read in a clockwise direction
around the property. All lines and curves shall show
sufficient data on the map to calculate a map closure.

4. Monuments shall be labeled as "found" or "set," with
a brief definitive description of the moment and relevant
reference markers, if any, along with their positions in relation
to the corner. This description shall include the physical
characteristics of the monument and its relevance to the
survey.

5. When the purpose of the survey dictates, all pertinent
natural or manmade features located during the course of the
field survey (water courses, streets, visible utilities, etc.) shall
be labeled or represented by an appropriate symbol on the plat
in its proper location. When appropriate, the feature should
be dimensioned and referenced to the nearest property line.

6. ..

7. A statement indicating the origin of angles or
bearings shall be shown on each plat, map, or drawing. If
bearings are used the basis of the bearings shall include one or
more of the following:

a.-b.

c. reference to the record bearing of a well
established line found monumented on the ground as called
for in a relevant deed, or survey plat;

d. when none of the above alternatives are practical,
a magnetic bearing (corrected for declination) or assumed
bearing may be used.

8. If a coordinate system other than the Louisiana
Coordinate System is used on a map, that system must be
identified. If that system is the Louisiana Coordinate System,
the appropriate zone must be shown on the map.

9. Where the new survey results differ from the prior
deed information in regard to course, distance, location or
quantity, the plat shall indicate such differences or
discrepancies.

10. ...

11. Cemeteries and burial grounds known by the
surveyor to be located within the premises being surveyed
should be indicated on the plat. However, a detailed survey
of the limits of the cemetery shall not be required unless
directed by the client.

12. ..

13. Original section, grant, subdivision or survey lines,
when an integral part of the deed, shall be shown in proper
location with pertinent labeling. A measurement of course
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and distance must be shown to a parent tract corner, block
corner, section corner, subdivision or grant corner, and
existing monuments shall be indicated.

14.-16.

H.-HA4. ..

5. Every metes and bounds description may be written
in at least two parts. The first part, called the "General
Description," should indicate the general location of the
property by naming the particular Jot or block, etc., within
which it is located if in a subdivision or by naming the grant
or aliquot part of a rectangular section within which it is
located, along with the township, range, land district and
meridian (if applicable), city (if applicable), parish and state.
The second part called the "Particular Description," shall
logically compile and incorporate calls for the following:

a.-b.

c. monuments (when controlling), including
descriptions of type, size, material, reference monuments (if
applicable), and whether found, set or replaced;

d. .

e. . the area, if stated, shall be in square feet or acres or
hectares within the tolerances specified in this Chapter.

6. ..

7. The courses in the written description shall be as
brief and yet as explanatory as the surveyor can construct.
Brevity should not cause important locative information to be
omitted, and explanatory phrases should not enlarge the
description to the extent of confusion.

8. Curved boundaries shall be identified as tangent or
nontangent curves and sufficient data to define the cure shall
be presented.

9. Curved boundaries shall be identified as tangent or
nontangent curves and sufficient data to define the curve shall
be presented. Each metes and bounds description must return
to the point of beginning and close mathematically within the
tolerances stated in this Chapter.

10. A statement at the end of the description should
connect the description to the specific survey on which it is
based and to the map or plat which depicts the survey. Such
a statement may be phrased, "This description is based on the
boundary survey and plat made by
Registered Professional Land Surveyor, dated
or "This description is based on plat recorded
"(give recordation data).

11. The metes and bounds description shall then be
signed and sealed by the surveyor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated
R.S.37:681, 682(9), 688.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 16:1065 (December
1990), amended LR 22:

s
"

in accordance with




§2509. Precision Specifications and Positional Tolerances

D C
CONDITION RURAL SUBURBAN
Unadjusted Closure
(maximum allowable) 1:5,000 1:7,500
Angular Closure
(maximum allowable) 30"VN 25"YN
Accuracy of Bearing + 40 Sec. + 30 Sec.
Linear Distances 0.1 ft. + 0.07 ft +
Accurate to: +0.2 ft + 0.15ft
(maximum allowable) per 1,000 ft. per 1,000 ft
Positional Tolerance and
Positional Accuracy of Any
Monument 0.2'+ 0.1+
(Maximum) AC/5,000 AC/7,500
Calculation of area - 0.001 0.001
Accurate and carried to .01 .01
nearest (decimal 1 1
place) of an acre. 3 2
Elevations for Boundaries
Controlled by Tides,
Contours, Rivers, etc.
Accurate to: 0.5 ft. 0.4 ft.
Location of Improvements
Structures, Paving, etc. (Tie
Measurements) + 1 ft. +0.5 ft
Adjusted Mathematical Closure
to Survey (Minimum) 1:50,000 1:50,000

B A
URBAN URBAN BUSINESS REMARKS AND FORMULA
DISTRICT
1:10,000 1:15,000 Traverse Loop or between
Control Monuments
15N 10"V N N=Number of Angles in Traverse
+20 Sec. +15 Seconds In Relation to Source
0.05 ft. £ 0.05 ft.+
+0.1 ft. +0.05 ft. Applies when the distance
per 1,000 ft per 1,000 ft is not part of a closed traverse
0.1'+ 0.1'+
AC/10,000 AC/15,000 AC=Length of Any Course*
0.001 0.001 To 1 acre
.001 .001 To 10 acres
.01 .01 To 100 acres
.1 .1 To 1,000 acres
0.3 ft. 0.2 ft. Based on Accepted Local Datum
+0.2 ft. +0.1 ft.
1:50,000 1:50,000

" *Short courses in Categories “A” and “B” may generate Positional Errors of less than 0.01 feet. A minimum course distance of 200' should be used in calculating

Positional Error.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.

37:681, 682(9), 688.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 16:1068 (December
1990), amended LR 22:

A copy of the revisions of the rules is available for review
by the public at the Board of Registration for Professional
Engineers and Land Surveyors Office, 10500 Coursey
Boulevard, Suite 107, Baton Rouge, LA 70816. Interested
persons may call the office at (504) 295-8522 to make
arrangements to review the Minimum Standards for Property
Boundary Surveys. Written comments will be accepted, at the
address stated above, through June 19, 1996.

H. Glen Kent, Jr., P.L.S.
Executive Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Minimum Standards for Property
Boundary Surveys

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There are no implementation costs (savings) to state or local
governmental units.
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There is no effect on revenue collections.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to
directly affected persons on nongovernmental groups.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There are no estimated effects on competition and
employment.
H. Glen Kent H. Gordon Monk
Executive Secretary Chief Coordinator of the
9605#018 Legislative Fiscal Office
NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

Special Pompano Permit (LAC 76:VII1.703)
The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby give

notice of intent to promulgate a rule (LAC 76:VIL.703) to
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amend the regulations governing the Pompano Permit
Program. These regulations are required to effectuate the
requirements of Act 1316 of the Regular Legislative Session.
Authority for adoption of this rule is included in R.S. 56:406.
Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 7. Experimental Fisheries Program
§703. Pompano Permits
A. Harvest Regulations

1. Possession of a permit does not exempt the bearer
from laws or regulations except for those which may be
specifically exempted by the permit. Violation of a law
pertaining to fishing, which carries a Class II penalty or
greater shall constitute a violation of the permit.

2. Information gained by the department through the
issuance of a permit is not privileged and will be disseminated
to the public.

3. The bearer of a permit shall report monthly the catch
and effort under the permit, even when catch or effort is zero.
This report shall contain total catch, effort, and other
parameters which may be required by the department. A
report shall be received by the department no later than 10
days following the last day of each month.

4. When operating under the conditions of a permit,
only pompano can be retained. All other species shall be
immediately returned to waters from which they were caught.
No other fish may be in the possession of the permittee and all
fish on board the permitted vessel shall have the head and
caudal fin (tail) intact.

5. The permittee shall have the permit in possession at
all times when using permitted gear or harvesting permitted
specie(s). Permit holder shall be on board permitted vessel
when operating under conditions of permit. No permit is
transferrable without written permission from the department
secretary.

6. When permitted gear is on board permitted vessel or
in possession of permittee, permittee and vessel are assumed
to be operating under conditions of the permit. No gear other
than permitted gear may be on board or in possession of
permittee.

7. Any violation of the conditions of the permit shall
result in the immediate suspension of the permit, and may
result in the permanent revocation of the permit.

8. For permitting purposes, a pompano net shall be
defined as a pompano strike net not exceeding 2,400 feet in
length and not smaller than 2}, inches bar or 5 inches
- stretched mesh, that is not anchored or secured to the water
bottom and that is actively worked while being used. A
pompano net shall not be constructed of monofilament.

9. The permitted boat used in the program shall have a
distinguishing sign so that it may be identified. The sign shall
have the operator's permit number printed on it in at least
8-inch high letters on a contrasting background so as to be
visible from low flying aircraft or from any other vessel in the
immediate vicinity.

10. Pompano strike nets may be used during the period
from August 1 through October 31 of each year in waters in
excess of 7 feet in depth and beyond 2,500 feet from land
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(excluding islands) within the Chandeleur and Breton Sound
area described in R.S.56:406(A)(2).

11. No person shall fish under this permit during the
hours after sunset and before sunrise. No person shall fish
under this permit on Saturday or Sunday of any week during
the open season, or on Labor Day.

12. Each pompano strike net shall have attached to it a
tag issued by the department which states the name, address,
and social security number of the owner of the net and the
permit number of the permit issued to commercially take
pompano. The department shall not issue any tag to a person
who does not have a social security number.

13. The department reserves the right to observe the
operations taking place under the permit at any time and
permittee shall be required to provide food and lodging on the
permitted vessel for an observer at the request of the
department.

14. All permittees shall notify the department prior to
leaving port to fish under permitted conditions and
immediately upon returning from permitted trip. The
department shall be notified by calling a designated phone
number.

B. Qualification for Permit

1. All permits shall be applied for and/or granted from
January 1 to April 30 of each year. All permits expire
December 31 following the date of issuance. All permits shall
be returned to the department by January 31 following
expiration.

2. Permits shall not be issued to any applicant who
within three years of the date of his application, has been
convicted or pled guilty to a Class II or greater fishery
violation, as defined in the laws pertaining to wildlife and
fisheries.

3. Applicants who have been convicted of, or have pled
guilty to, two or more Class II or greater fishery violations
within five years of the application date shall not receive a
permit.

4. All potential permittees shall request an appointment
by contacting Marine Fisheries Division personnel at 1600
Canal Street, New Orleans. Proof of ownership of the
proposed permitted vessel(s) and proof that all applicable
licenses have been applied for shall be provided at the time of
appointment. Proof of bona fide residency, as defined in R.S.
56:8(12), is also required at this time.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:406A(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
12:119 (February 1986), amended LR 12:846 (December 1986),
amended Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries,
LR 16:322 (April 1990), LR 22:

Interested persons may submit comments relative to the
proposed rule to: Harry Blanchet, Marine Fisheries Division,
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton
Rouge, LA 70898-9000, prior to 4:30 p.m., July 3, 1996.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Secretary




FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Special Pompano Permit

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be on state or local governmental implementation
costs.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no effect on revenues to any state or local
governmental units from the proposed rule.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
Rule intended to provide regulations consistent with Act

I

1316 (1995 Regular Session) for the existing permit program’

that allows fishing for pompano in Chandeleur and Breton
Sound area. The proposed regulation would reduce the season,
which opens on May 1 under present rules, providing for an
August 1 opening date. Existing rules allow harvest of black
drum, and a recreational limit of shark, cobia, and Spanish
mackerel. Proposed rule would discontinue this allowance.
This change may reduce the benefits received from fishing to
the permit holders by decreasing the number of species
available for allowable harvest (change required by statute).
The dimensions of this change cannot be estimated at this time,
due to lack of data. Benefits are realized as the permit program
will allow harvest in areas otherwise disallowed. It thereby
contributes to the local and state economy by increasing sales
and employment. Direct costs to the fishermen for permits and
fees would not be affected by the proposed rule.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This rule will have no estimable effect on competition and
employment. While some effects may occur due to interactions
with other fisheries under regulation, no data is presently
available to estimate the dimensions of this change.

Iv.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Fredrick J. Prejean
Undersecretary
9505#030

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Physically-Challenged Hunter Permit
(LAC 76:X1X.105)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give
notice of its intent to promulgate rules governing the issuance
and methods by which disabled hunters permits will be issued.

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of
intent and the final rule, including but not limited to, the filing
of the fiscal and economic impact statement, the filing of the
notice of intent and final rule and the preparation of reports
and correspondence to other agencies of government.
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Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part XIX. Hunting
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Seasons
§105. Physically Challenged Hunter Permit
A. Definitions

ATV—a small motorized vehicle designed for off road
use, weighing less than 600 pounds, designed for no more
than two passengers, with a maximum of six wheels, and tires
with a manufacturers recommended air pressure of less than
10 pounds per square inch.

Amputee of the Upper Extremity—an individual suffering
the loss of at least one arm, hand, or five fingers from one
hand.

Commission—the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission. .

Commission Approved Physician—a physician licensed
to practice medicine by the Louisiana State Board of Medical
Examiners that has entered into an agreement with the
commission to evaluate permit applicants to determine if the
applicants are permanently disabled as specified in the
disabled hunter rule.

Department—the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries.

Disabled Hunter Oversight Committee—a committee of
five individuals which collectively have final authority to
approve or deny, by majority vote, rejected applications for
disabled hunter permits. The five members of the committee
shall be appointed by the commission from the Louisiana
Outdoorsmen With Disabilities Inc., Louisiana Handicapped
Sportsmen, Inc., the Wildlife Division, the Enforcement
Division, and the commission.

Disabled Hunter Permit—a permit issued by the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to qualified disabled
individuals.

Disabled Hunter Review Board—a board of five
individuals which collectively review and approve or reject,
by majority vote, applications for disabled hunter permits.
The board shall be selected by the commission with
recommendations from: the Louisiana Outdoorsmen with
Disabilities Inc. (two recommendations), Louisiana
Handicapped Sportsmen, Inc. (two recommendations), and the
Louisiana Department of Health and  Hospitals (one
recommendation).

Enforcement Division—the Enforcement Division of the
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

Handicap ATV Permit—a permit issued by the Wildlife
Division to certain disabled hunters to allow access to the
specially designated handicapped ATV trails on Wildlife
Management Areas.

Helper—an individual who accompanies a permitted
disabled hunter to assist the disabled hunter in accessing a
hunting area, carrying hunting gear, and retrieving harvested
game.

Mobility Impaired—a permanent disability caused by
injury, illness, or birth defect that prevents an individual from
walking farther than very short distances (less than 150 yards)
even with the help of mechanical aids.
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Permanent Disability—a qualifying disability that a
commission approved physician, the Disabled Hunter Review
Board, and the Wildlife Division or the Disabled Hunter
Oversight Committee have determined will not improve over
time or with medical treatment. -

Special Deer Season—a special deer season only for
individuals with valid disabled hunter permits established by
the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission.

Special Handicapped Hunt—special hunt or hunts on
certain W.M.A.s only for individuals with valid disabled
hunter permits.

W MA—a tract of land managed by the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and proclaimed as a
Wwildlife Management Area by the governor of Louisiana.

Wheelchair Bound—a permanent disability that prohibits
mobility by any means other than a wheelchair.

Wildlife Division—the Wildlife Division of the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

B. Wheelchair Bound
1. Qualifications
a. Permanent Disability.  The disability must
permanently confine the applicant to the use of a wheelchair.
If the applicant may eventually recover enough to not require
the use of a wheelchair, he or she does not qualify for this
class permit. If the future prognosis is uncertain, the applicant
does not qualify at this time.
b. Certification by Commission Approved Physician
i. Applicants must be certified permanently
disabled and confined to a wheelchair by:
(a). a commission approved physician;
(b). the Disabled Hunter Review Board; and
(c). the Wildlife Division.

ii. Should the commission approved physician
determine the applicant is not permanently confined to a
wheelchair for medical reasons, the application is rejected and
no permit shall be issued. If approved by the physician, the
application must then be approved by the Wildlife Division
and the Disabled Hunter Review Board. Should either reject
the application, it shall be forwarded to the Disabled Hunter
Oversight Committee which shall make the final
determination to approve or reject the application.

c. Disqualification
i. Applicants not disabled sufficiently to meet the
confined to a wheelchair criterion shall not qualify for this
class permit.

ii. Applicants with felony convictions or Class II or
above wildlife convictions, as determined by the Enforcement
Division, shall not be issued permits.

2. Approved Applicants Receive the Following
Considerations

a. Special Handicapped Hunts. May participate in
special W.M.A: hunts.
b. Special Deer Seasons
i. May participate in special statewide handicapped
hunts. '

ii. May take either-sex deer on private lands
statewide during the entire gun deer season and during the
muzzle loader season. This provision does not include
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W.M.A.'s, National Wildlife Refuges, Kisatchie National
Forest, or other federal properties.

c. Crossbow. May use a crossbow to archery hunt
during the statewide archery season.

d. Access To Wildlife Management Areas. Upon
request, permittees of this class shall receive a handicap ATV
permit/sticker for access to specially designated ATV trails on
W.M.Ass.

e. Hunting from Vehicles. May hunt resident game
from a stationary vehicle or stationary boat statewide,
provided that this activity does not violate state or parish laws.

f. Helpers. Permittee may be accompanied by
helpers as necessary to get to and from a hunting area or stand
and to assist in retrieving harvested game. Helpers may not
use or possess firearms/bows/crossbows when acting as a
helper unless the weapon is legal for the game hunted and the
season is open to all licensed hunters in the area the helper is
hunting.

3. Conditions of Approval

a. Nontransferable. The disabled hunter permit is
nontransferable and is valid for named permittee only.

b. Permit in Possession

i. The permit must be carried by named permittee
at all times while hunting in the field or transporting game
harvested under the permit.

ii. Permittee must, in addition to the permit, carry
one other form of picture identification while hunting or
transporting harvested game.

c. Helpers. Helpers accompanying handicapped
hunters are not permitted to carry firearms/bows/crossbows
except as provided for by statewide or W.M.A. regulations.
(See B.2.f)

d. All Terrain Vehicles

i. ATVs may be used only on regular public ATV
trails and handicapped ATV trails as specifically designated
on W.M.A. maps.

ii. Approved individuals (permittees and helpers)
may drive the ATV to a stand within 100 yards of an ATV
trail. The ATV may also be used to retrieve the permittees
harvested deer. Travel on an ATV beyond 100 yards of the
designated trail, except to retrieve a deer, is prohibited.

iii. Permittee may not transport other nondisabled
hunters or their harvested game, firearms/bows/crossbows or
other equipment while on or within 100 yards of handicapped
ATV trails.

e. Other Licenses Required. The issuance of a
disabled hunter permit does not exempt the permittee from
other license requirements. All applicable licenses required
to hunt a particular species of game must be purchased and in
the permittees possession while hunting.

f. Revocation

i. Any violation of the permit conditions by the
permittee and/or helper of wildlife laws and/or regulations
may result in cancellation of this permit.

ii. Should there be a change in the permittee’s
condition, the permittee must notify the Wildlife Division. If
said change is sufficient to make the permanent use of a
wheelchair unnecessary, the permit shall be revoked.




g. Duration

i. This permit is valid for the lifetime of named
permittee or until revoked by the department.

ii. The department shall retain the right to change
the duration and/or conditions of the disabled hunter permits
to comply with future commission or legislative actions.

h. Cost

i. Disabled hunter permits shall be issued to
approved applicants after payment of a $10 issuing fee to the
department.

ii. A reissuing fee of $5 will be assessed for
replacing lost or destroyed permits.

C. Mobility Impaired
1. Qualifications
a. Permanent Disability

i. The disability must be permanent and impair the
applicant sufficiently to preclude walking farther than very
short distances (less than 150 yards) even with mechanical
aids. If the applicant may eventually recover, he or she does
not qualify. If the future prognosis is uncertain, the applicant
does not qualify at this time.

ii. Qualifying disabilities under this class may
include, but are not limited to:

(a). permanent and continual use of artificial limbs,
crutches, leg braces, or canes due to injury, disease, or birth
defect;

(b). defects of circulatory system, respiratory
system, skeletal structure, or neurological disorders caused by
disease, injury, or birth defect.

iii. Nonqualifying disabilities may include, but are
not limited to:

(a). vision impairment;

(b). arm, hand, shoulder, or other impairments that
do not effect walking;

(c). any impairment considered to be a part of or
resulting from the normal aging process;

(d). any impairment resulting from or due to a lack
of physical conditioning.

b. Certification by Commission Approved Physician

i. Applicants must be certified permanently
disabled and mobility impaired by:

(a). a commission approved physician;

(b). the Disabled Hunter Review Board; and

(c). the Wildlife Division.

ii. Should the commission approved physician
determine the applicant is not permanently mobility impaired,
the application is rejected and no permit shall be issued. If
approved by the physician, the application must then be
approved by the Disabled Hunter Review Board and the
Wildlife Division. Should either reject the application, it shall
be forwarded to the Disabled Hunter Oversight Committee
which shall make the final determination to approve or reject
the application.

c. Disqualification

i. Applicants not disabled sufficiently to meet the
mobility impaired criterion shall not qualify for the class
permit.

ii. Applicants with felony convictions or Class II or
above wildlife convictions, as determined by the Enforcement
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Division, shall not be issued permits.
2. Approved Applicants Receive
Considerations

a. Special Handicapped Hunts. May participate in
special W.M.A. hunts.

b. Special Deer Seasons. May participate in special
statewide handicapped hunts.

c. Access To Wildlife Management Areas. Upon
request, permittees of this class shall receive a handicap ATV
permit/sticker for access to specially designated ATV trails on
W.M.As.

d. Helpers. Permittee may be accompanied by
helpers as necessary to get to and from the hunting area or
stand and to assist in retrieving harvested game. Helpers may
not use or possess firearms/bows/crossbows when acting as a
helper unless the weapon is legal for the game hunted and the
season is open to all licensed hunters in the area the helper is
hunting.

3. Conditions of Approval

a. Nontransferable. The disabled hunter permit is
nontransferable and is valid for named permittee only.

b. Permit in Possession

i. The permit must be carried by named permittee
at all times while hunting in the field or transporting game
harvested under the permit.

ii. Permittee must, in addition to the permit, carry
one other form of picture identification while hunting or
transporting harvested game.

c. Helpers. Helpers accompanying handicapped
hunters are not permitted to carry firearms/bows/crossbows
except as provided for by statewide or W.M.A. regulations.
(See C.2.d.)

d. All Terrain Vehicles

i. ATVs may be used only on regular public ATV
trails and handicapped ATV trails as specially designated on
W.M.A. maps.

ii. Permittee may not transport other nondisabled
hunters or their harvested game, firearms/bows/crossbows or
other equipment while on handicapped ATV trails.

e. Other Licenses Required. The issuance of a
disabled hunter permit does not exempt the permittee from
other license requirements. All applicable licenses required
to hunt a particular species of game must be purchased and in
the permittees possession while hunting.

f.  Revocation

i. Any violation of the permit conditions by the
permittee and/or helper of wildlife laws and/or regulations
may result in cancellation of the permit.

ii. Should there be a change in the permittee's
condition, the permittee must notify the Wildlife Division. If
said change is sufficient to enable the permittee to walk more
than 150 yards, the permit shall be revoked.

g. Duration

i. This permit is valid for the lifetime of named
permittee or until revoked by the department.

ii. The department shall retain the right to change
the duration and/or conditions of the disabled hunter permits
to comply with future commission or legislative action.

the Following
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h. Cost
i. Disabled hunter permits shall be issued to
approved applicants after payment of a $10 issuing fee to the
department.

ii. A reissuing fee of $5 will be assessed for
replacing lost or destroyed permits.

D. Amputee of the Upper Extremity
1. Qualifications

a. Permanent Disability. The applicant must have an
amputation of at least one arm, hand, or all five fingers of one
hand to qualify for a permit of this class.

b. Certification by Commission Approved Physician

i. Applicants must be certified permanently
disabled as an amputee of the upper extremity by a
commission-approved physician.

ii. Should the commission approved physician
determine the applicant is not an amputee of the upper
extremity, the application shall be rejected. If approved by
the physician, the application must then be approved by the
Disabled Hunter Review Board and the Wildlife Division.
Should either reject the application, it shall be forwarded to
the Disabled Hunter Oversight Committee which shall make
the final determination to approve or reject the application.

c. Disqualification

i. Applicants not disabled sufficiently to meet the
amputee of the upper extremity criterion shall not qualify for
this class permit.

ii. Applicants with felony convictions or Class II or
above wildlife convictions, as determined by the Enforcement
Division, shall not qualify for this permit.

2. Approved Applicants Receive the Following
Considerations

a. Special Handicapped Hunts. May participate in
special W.M.A. hunts.

b. Special Deer Seasons. May participate in special
statewide handicapped hunts.

c. Access to Wildlife Management Areas. Upon
request, permittees of this class shall receive a handicap ATV
permit/sticker for access to specially designated ATV trails of
W.M.Ass.

d. Crossbow. May use a crossbow to archery hunt
during the statewide archery season.

e. Helpers. Permittee may be accompanied by
helpers as necessary to get to and from the hunting area or
stand and to assist in retrieving harvested game. Helpers may
not use or possess firearms/bows/crossbows when acting as a
helper unless the weapon is legal for the game hunted and the
season is open to all licensed hunters in the area the helper is
hunting.

3. Conditions of Approval

a. Nontransferable. The disabled hunter permit is
nontransferable and is valid for named permittee only.

b. Permit in Possession

i. The permit must be carried by named permittee
at all times while hunting in the field or transporting game
harvested under the permit.

ii. Permittee must, in addition to the permit, carry
one other form of picture identification while hunting or
transporting harvested game.
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c. Helpers.
hunters are not permitted to carry firearms/bows/crossbows
except as provided for by statewide or W.M.A. regulations.
(See D.2.d.)

d. All Terrain Vehicles

i. ATVs may be used only on regular public ATV
trails and handicapped ATV trails as specially designated on
W.M.A. maps.

ii. Permittee may not transport other nondisabled
hunters or their harvested game, firearms/bows/crossbows or
other equipment while on handicapped ATV trails.

e. Other Licenses Required. The issuance of a
disabled hunter permit does not exempt the permittee from
other license requirements. All applicable licenses required
to hunt a particular species of game must be purchased and in
the permittees possession while hunting.

f.  Revocation. Any violation of the permit conditions
by the permittee and/or helper of wildlife laws and/or
regulations may result in cancellation of this permit.

g. Duration

i. This permit is valid for the lifetime of named
permittee or until revoked by the department.

ii. The department shall retain the right to change
the duration and/or conditions of the disabled hunter permits
to comply with future commission or legislative action.

h. Cost

i. Disabled hunter permits shall be issued to
approved applicants after payment of a $10 issuing fee to the
department.

ii. A reissuing fee of $5 will be assessed for
replacing lost or destroyed permits.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 1226
of the 1995 Louisiana Legislative Session.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 22:

Interested persons may submit comments relative to the
proposed rule to Tommy Prickett, Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898 prior to 4:30
p.m., Tuesday, July 2, 1996.

Glynn Carver
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Physically Challenged—Hunters Permit

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF)
has been directed by Act 1226 of the 1995 Legislature to
develop physically challenged hunter permit. Development of
the rules and regulations will require 20 biologist days at a cost
of $3,510.40. Approval of the first year permits, estimated at
1,000 permits, will cost a total cost of $10,970. Issuance of
permits is estimated to cost $4,375. Complete first year
implementation is estimated to be $18,855.40. Subsequent
years are estimated to cost $1,534.50 annually. These costs will
be absorbed within the appropriate fiscal year budget and no
additional cost appropriations will be necessary.

Helpers accompanying handicapped -
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The LDWF plans on charging a fee to those persons applying
for a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. The fee proposed
will be $10 and will generate, based on 1,000 permits issued in
the first year, $10,000. Revenues collections of subsequent
years are estimated to be $1,000.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Persons wishing to obtain a physically challenged hunter
permit will be required to visit a physician selected by the
department to determine their eligibility for this special permit.
It is estimated the an office visit of this nature will cost
approximately $50. This cost, plus the permit, will result in a
one time expenditure to the applicant of $60.

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is our opinion that there will be no effect on competition

and employment.

II1.

IV.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Fredrick J. Prejean
Undersecretary
9605#032

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Reef Fish Daily Take and Size Limits (LAC 76:VIL.335)

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
acting under authority granted by the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission by resolution dated February 8, 1996
does hereby give notice of intent to amend a rule (Title
76:VIL.335.G.1) raising the minimum size limit for red
snapper harvested commercially, which is part of the existing
rule for daily take, possession, and size limits for reef fishes
set by the commission. Authority for adoption of this rule is
included in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), 56:326.1 and 56:326.3.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery
§335. Daily Take, Possession and Size Limits Set by
Commission, Reef Fish
* ¥ Xk
Minimum Size Limits
15 inches total length (commercial)
15 inches total length (recreational)
* ¥ Xk

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

56:6(25)(a), 56:326.1 and 326.3.

G. Species
1. Red Snapper
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
16:539 (June 1990), amended LR 19:1442 (November 1993), LR
20:797 (July 1994), LR 21:1267 (November 1995), LR 22:

Interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rule to Harry Blanchet, Marine Fisheries Division,
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton
Rouge, LA 70898-9000 no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday,
July 3, 1996.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Reef Fish Daily Take and Size Limits

I.  ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no state or local governmental implementation

costs.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There will be no effect on revenues to any state or local
governmental units from the proposed rule.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Rule is intended to provide consistent regulations for
commercial fishers for red snapper in state waters and in
adjacent federal waters. The proposed regulation would
increase the minimum size limit from 14 inches to 15 inches
(total length) for these harvesters. This change will reduce
harvest efficiency be reducing the number of smaller red
snapper available for commercial harvest. There is a slightly
higher dockside price per pound for the smaller sized fish.
Reduction of harvest of this size fish will slightly reduce
revenues from the harvest of the species. This change is
estimated to be about $3000 per year over the state fishery.
Long-term economic benefits of an undetermined magnitude
may also accrue to fishermen in both recreational and
commercial sectors as a result of a small increase in the size of
red snapper stocks protected by the proposed limits. The
dimensions of this benefit are not estimable at this time, due to
lack of data. Direct costs to the fishermen for permits and fees
would not be affected by the proposed rule.

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This rule may provide a slight negative effect on employment
in the short term. Proposed rule may slightly reduce the short-
term economic benefits from the commercial harvest of the
species, thereby reducing employment potential. Some of these
persons may redirect their fishing effort into other geographic
areas, or into non-fishing activities. No data is presentably
available to estimate the dimensions of this change.

III.

Iv.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Fredrick J. Prejean
Undersecretary
9605#031
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Timken Wildlife Management Area Visitor
(LAC 76:111.327)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby announces
its intent to adopt a rule establishing visitor regulations for
Timken Wildlife Management Area.

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of
intent and the final rule, including but not limited to, the filing
of the fiscal and economic impact statement, the filing of the
notice of intent and final rule and the preparation of reports
and correspondence to other agencies of government.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part II1. State Game and Fish Preserves and
Sanctuaries
Chapter 3. Particular Game and Fish Preserves and
Commissions
§327. Timken Wildlife Management Area

A. Visitors Regulations

1. Morning hunting only on all game (closed 12 noon).
All nighttime activities prohibited (including frogging) from
30 minutes after official sunset to one and one-half hours
before sunrise.

2. Basic resident and nonresident hunting licenses will
serve as season permits on Timken Wildlife Management
Area (hereinafter "Timken"). If daily permits are required,
they may be obtained from permit stations located on or near
Timken. Hunters must check out daily one-half hour after the
end of the legal shooting hours.

3. All hunting seasons are set by the Louisiana Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission and seasons may be altered or
closed anytime by the department in emergency situations
(floods, disease outbreaks or other critical circumstances).

4. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber,
magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms are not
allowed in boats under motor power on Timken. Firearms
may not be carried on any area before or after permitted
hours. Bows and arrows are not permitted on Timken except
during regular archery season or except as permitted for
bowfishing. Encased or broken down firearms and any game
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most

direct route provided that no other route exists. Loaded

firearms are not permitted near check stations or headquarters
facility. Target shooting and other forms of practice shooting
are prohibited on Timken.

5. Construction of and hunting from permanent blinds
on Timken is prohibited. Any permanent stand or permanent
blind will be destroyed. A permanent blind or stand is defined
as any structure and/or material, including vegetation, used for
concealment while hunting, that is not completely dismantled
or removed from the wildlife management area daily. All
waterfowl hunters must dismantle blinds and remove decoys
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within 30 minutes after close of shooting hours. Unattended
decoys will be confiscated and forfeited to the Department of
wildlife and Fisheries (hereinafter "department") and
disposed of by the department.

6. Except for bird hunting, duck hunting, and rabbit
hunting when allowed, having or using dogs on Timken is
prohibited. Only recognizable breeds of bird dogs and
retrievers are permitted for migratory bird hunting. Only
beagle hounds which do not exceed 15 inches at the front
shoulders and which have recognizable characteristics of the
breed may be used on Timken during experimental rabbit
season. ,

7. Commercial fishing is prohibited.

8. Recreational Fishing

a. Shrimp may be taken by the use of cast nets only.
During the inside open shrimp season 25 pounds per boat per
day (heads on) shall be permitted. Size count to conform with
open season requirements. During the inside closed season 10
pounds per boat per day, heads on may be taken for bait.

b. Oysters may be taken from natural reefs and
opened at the site. A maximum of one gallon per boat is
permitted and all shell must be thrown back onto the reef.
Possession of unshucked oysters is not permitted. Taking of
oysters on the reef is dependent upon Department of Health
and Hospitals' approval and may be closed at any time by the
department.

c. Fish may be taken by rod and reel or hand lines for
recreational purposes only.

d. Crabs may be taken through the use of hand lines
or nets; however, none are to remain set overnight. Twelve
dozen crabs are allowed per boat or vehicle per day.

e. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted portions
of the wildlife management area and shall be limited to 100
pounds per boat or group. Fishing gear used to catch crawfish
shall not remain set overnight.

f.  The harvest of all fish, shrimp, oysters, crabs and
crawfish are for recreational purposes only and any
commercial use is prohibited.

9. Boats powered by internal combustion engines
having horsepower ratings above 25 H.P. are permitted only
in oil company access canals. Operation of the above
described internal combustion engines in interior ditches are
prohibited. -

10. Pulling boats over levees, dams, or water control
structures or any other activities which cause detriment to the
integrity of levees, dams and water control structures is
prohibited.

11. The use of airboats, aircraft, hover craft, all-terrain
vehicles and all-terrain cycles and motorcycles are prohibited
except as specifically authorized by department personnel.

12. Disorderly conduct or hunting under the influence of
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances
is prohibited. Possession of controlled dangerous substances
(drugs) onto the wildlife management area is prohibited. All
boats and vehicles are subject to search by authorized
employees of the department at anytime.

13. Trapping is allowed only by written agreement with
the department.

™)




14. Burning of the marshes is prohibited. Water control
structures are not to be tampered with or altered by anyone
other than employees of the department at anytime. Damage
to or removal of trees, shrubs and wild plants on Timken
without prior approval is prohibited.

15. No littering allowed.

16. Violation of any part of this section constitutes a
class two violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 56:6
et seq. and 56:109.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 22:

Interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rule to James Manning, Assistant Administrator, Fur
and Refuge Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000 no later than 4:30
p.m., Wednesday, July 3, 1996.

Glynn Carver
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Timken Wildlife Management Area
Visitor Regulations

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No additional costs or savings to state or local governmental

units are anticipated.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no anticipated increases or decreases in revenue

) collections.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR

NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no estimated costs to visitors to the refuge.
Visitors will receive an undetermined economic benefit due to
increased use of the management area.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There will be little or no effect on competition and
employment.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Fredrick J. Prejean
Undersecretary
9605#029

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Waddill Wildlife Refuge (LAC 76:111.325)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby announces
its intent to adopt a rule establishing visitor regulations for
Waddill Wildlife Refuge.

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
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is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of
intent and the final rule, including but not limited to, the filing
of the fiscal and economic impact statement, the filing of the
notice of intent and final rule and the preparation of reports
and correspondence to other agencies of government.
Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part II1. State Game and Fish Preserves and
Sanctuaries
Chapter 3. Particular Game and Fish Preserves and
Commissions

§325. Waddill Wildlife Refuge ,

A. Purpose. Waddill Wildlife Refuge will be actively
managed as a wildlife educational and learning area for youth
groups, nonconsumptive users, and as a hunter safety and
aquatic education training center. The following rules and
regulations concerning the management, protection and
utilization of this refuge have been adopted by the Louisiana
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. Failure to comply with
these regulations will subject the individual to citation and/or
expulsion from the refuge.

B. General

1. Access to the refuge will only be allowed through the
front entrance bordering Flannery Road. All visitors will sign
the register at the front office. A group of individuals may
have a representative sign for the group by indicating the
number in the group. Individuals less than 16 years of age
must be accompanied and supervised by a person 18 years of
age or older.

2. Vehicles are allowed only in designated areas and
must park in provided spaces. ATV's, trail bikes, horses and
mules are strictly prohibited. Restricted areas will be
established for specific activities and visitors will not enter
these areas unless they are part of the specific activity
allowing access to that area.

3. All dogs are prohibited unless participating in a
department-sponsored activity, such as a retriever
demonstration during an educational activity. All dogs
running at large are prohibited; and the owner or handler of
said dogs will be held liable for any personal injury or
property damage, and will be subject to criminal citation.

4. Citizens are cautioned that by entering the refuge
they or their vehicles may be subject to license checks,
inspections and searches. Wildlife officers will have the duty
and right to restrict access to the refuge as necessary.

5. Refuge hours will be set by the Fur and Refuge
Division (hereinafter "division") and will be posted at the
entrance. All visitors will abide by the posted hours.
Educational activities may be held outside the normal open
hours of the refuge by prior arrangement and permission of
the division. All participants of these activities will confine
their use of the refuge to the designated area of the activity.

6. Hunting, pursuing, killing, molesting, or intentionally
disturbing any type of wildlife is prohibited; provided that the
department may conduct activities necessary to properly
manage wildlife on the area.

7. Camping is prohibited; provided that the division is
authorized to establish and maintain specific camping areas
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for use by organized groups under policy established by the
division. If areas are established, they will not be used by the
public. .

8. Littering is prohibited. Visitors must remove their
litter or place litter in appropriate litter disposal containers.

9. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, flowers, or
wild plants is strictly prohibited.

10. The possession of firearms, bows, liquor and
controlled dangerous substances by the public on the refuge
is prohibited; provided that the division is authorized to
construct, maintain and operate ranges, in which case,
shotguns and bows will be permitted under guidelines
developed by the division.

11. Access to all nature trails is limited to pedestrians
only. No vehicles, ATV's, trail bikes, horses or mules are
allowed. Individuals utilizing the nature trails must remain on
the designated trail. No picnicking is allowed on the trails.
All trash must be disposed of in designated litter containers.

12. Individual groups may submit written requests to
reserve a specific part of the refuge for a special group event.
The remaining unreserved portion of the refuge shall be open
to the public.

13. Violation of any part of this section constitutes a
class two violation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 56:6
et seq. and 56:109.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 22: .

Interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rule to James Manning, Assistant Administrator, Fur
and Refuge Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000 no later than 4:30
p.m., Wednesday, July 3, 1996.

Glynn Carver
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Waddill Wildlife Refuge Visitor Regulations

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No additional costs or savings to state or local governmental

units are anticipated.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no anticipated increases or decreases in revenue

collections.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR

NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no estimated costs to visitors to the refuge.
Visitors will receive an undetermined economic benefit due to
increased use of the refuge.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There will be little or no effect on competition and
employment.

H. Gordon Monk
Chief Coordinator of the
Legislative Fiscal Office

Fredrick J. Prejean
Undersecretary
9605#028

Louisiana Register ~ Vol. 22, No. 5 May 20, 1996

404

Committee Reports

COMMITTEE REPORT

House Insurance Committee
May 8, 1996

Viatical Settlements-Regulation 58

(Editor’s Note: The full text of this proposed rule can be viewed on pages
148-150 in the February 1996 Louisiana Register.)

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:968, the House of
Representatives Insurance Committee met on May 8, 1996 to
review proposed Regulation 58, relative to viatical settlements
submitted by the Department of Insurance.

There was lengthy testimony and discussion of the entire
regulation. The committee found that a number of provisions
needed modification and after a motion to reject with
suggestions on changes to the proposed regulation, voted
unanimously to reject proposed Regulation 58.

The following provisions were objected to by the
committee:

1. Section 5(D)(G)

(a) Paragraph (D). This provision of the regulation
provides for the cancellation of a license. The enabling
legislation provides for revocation only. Use of the term
"cancellation" is beyond the scope of the enacting legislation,
therefore, the committee suggested that the word cancellation
be replaced with revocation.

(b) Paragraph (G). This provision requires that a
minimum capital requirement be established. Testimony from
representatives of the department indicated that this language
referenced a deposit of cash or cash equivalents only. The
enabling legislation at R.S. 22:210(A)(3) permits the
establishment of the capital requirement with a bond or
deposit. Failure to include authority for use of a bond is not
in conformity with the intent of the enabling legislation;
therefore, the committee suggested that this provision include
the authority to.use a bond- to establish the capital
requirement.

2. Section 6(D)

This provision provides for the issuance of a limited
license to persons wishing to become a viatical settlement
broker. The enabling legislation provides for no such
authority, therefore, this provision is beyond the scope of the
enabling legislation. The committee suggested that this
language be deleted from the regulation.

3. Section 7

The first three sentences of this section are found in the

enabling legislation at R.S. 22:205 and are therefore

unnecessary. The committee suggested deleting these
sentences.
4. Section9

(a) The first paragraph of this section, including the
indented language, requires minimum discounts on the face




value of a policy. The enabling legislation at R.S.
22:209(C)(1) mandates minimum amounts of the face value of
a policy to be paid to a person selling a life insurance policy.
This provision is not in conformity with the intent of the
enabling legislation; therefore, the committee suggested
deleting this language.

(b) The Department of Insurance is required by R.S.
22:209(C)(3) to establish rules and regulations detailing the
procedure for obtaining a variance. The regulation is devoid
of any such procedure and therefore not in conformity with
the intent of the enabling legislation. The committee
suggested that the department include a procedure as required
by R.S. 22:209(C)(3).

5. Section 10(B)

This section of the regulation permits installment
payments of the proceeds received pursuant to a viatical
settlement. The enabling legislation at R.S. 22:209(E)
provides that the proceeds be transferred immediately. This
provision is beyond the scope of the enabling legislation;
therefore, the committee suggested that the last sentence of
Section 10(B) be deleted.

The representatives of the Department of Insurance
concurred in these substantive changes and agreed to resubmit
the rule with the aforementioned changes following review by
the governor.

Representative James J. Donelon
Chairman
9605#053

Potpourri

POTPOURRI

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Horticulture Commission

Retail Floristry Examination

The next retail floristry examination will be given July 22-
26, 1996, at 9:30 a.m. at the 4-H Mini Farm Building,
Louisiana State University Campus, Baton Rouge, LA. The
deadline for sending application and fee is June 21, 1996.

Further information pertaining to the examinations may be
obtained from Craig Roussel, Director, Horticulture
Commission, Box 3118, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3118;
telephone (504) 925-7772.

Any individual requesting special accommodations due to
a disability should notify the office prior to June 21, 1996. If
you have any questions, please call the office at (504)
925-7772.

Bob Odom
Commissioner
9605#033
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POTPOURRI

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Fugitive Emission Program Coordinator

On April 17, 1996, the Department of Environmental
Quality and U.S.E.P.A. executed a Memorandum of
Understanding  concerning the implementation and
enforcement of state and federal fugitive emission control
programs as they apply to industrial sources in Louisiana.
The agreement recognizes guidelines by which a source may
comply with multiple equipment leak programs where the
applicability of such programs overlaps at a site. The
guidelines rely on the overall most stringent program of all
applicable programs at the source to form the basis of a
consolidated program.

To implement a consolidated program, facilities would
apply the overall most stringent program in accordance with
a specified set of terms and conditions under the guidelines.
The guidelines can be implemented only through a notice and
agreement submitted by the source, specifying where the
overall most stringent program would be applied at the site.
Facilities must submit the Source Notice and Agreement to the
address noted below, and must attach the Louisiana Fugitive
Emission Program Guidelines, as provided by DEQ.

The guidelines and the notice and agreement forms, as well
as an example Source Notice and Agreement, are available on
the Air Quality Permits Section Bulletin Board or by request
from DEQ. Source information will be maintained in files
accessible to the public at the DEQ and EPA Region 6 offices.
To assist in informing the public, DEQ will periodically
publish a list of sources operating under the guidelines. In
addition, terms providing for a consolidated program under
the guidelines will be incorporated in the source’s air quality
permit to be issued under Title V of the Clean Air Act.

Facilities planning to consolidate RCRA Subparts BB
and/or CC fugitive programs must first contact the LDEQ
Hazardous Waste Division - Permits Section at (504) 765-
0272 before submitting the Source Notice and Agreement to
the Air Quality Division. Approval by the LDEQ Hazardous
Waste Division, as well as a possible permit modification, will
be required before the facility can consolidate RCRA Subparts
BB and CC.

If you have questions concerning this program, please
contact: Bliss Higgins at (504) 765-0114, or Bennett Farrier
at (504) 765-0148, or Donna Hathaway at (504) 765-0132.
Please direct submittals to: LDEQ, Bennett Farrier, Air
Quality Division/Engineering, Box 82135, Baton Rouge, LA
70884-2135.

Gus Von Bodungen, P.E.

Assistant Secretary
9605#070
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POTPOURRI

Office of the Governor
0il Spill Coordinator’s Office

State Oil Spill Contingency Plan

In accordance with R.S. 30:2459, the Louisiana State Oil
Spill Contingency Plan (SCP) defines the way the state of
Louisiana will respond to actual or threatened unauthorized
discharges of oil and direct clean up of pollution from such
discharges. In 1995, the SCP was developed in cooperation
with local, state, and federal agencies who regulate oil spill
response, clean up, and restoration activities.

The SCP will undergo an annual review. Recommendations
for changes to the SCP are welcome at any time, but should be
received on or before June 14, 1996 for possible incorporation
in this year’s revision. Comments to the SCP should be sent
to: Roland J. Guidry, Oil Spill Coordinator, Louisiana Oil
Spill Coordinator’s Office, Office of the Governor, Box
94095, Baton Rouge, LA 70804.

If you should have any questions, please call (504)
922-3230.

Any changes to the SCP will be published in the Louisiana
Register in September of 1996.

Roland J. Guidry

Oil Spill Coordinator
9605#068

POTPOURRI

Department of Natural Resources
Office of Conservation
Injection and Mining Division

Nonhazardous Oilfield Waste Transfer
Station Application—Hearing

Pursuant to the provisions of the laws of the State of
Louisiana and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana revised
statutes of 1950 as amended, and the provisions of Statewide
Order Number 29-B, notice is hereby given that the
commissioner of conservation will conduct a hearing at 6
p.m., Wednesday, June 26, 1996, in the Thibodaux City Court
Room, located on the second floor of Starks Municipal
Complex, 1309 Canal Boulevard in Thibodaux, Louisiana.

At such hearing, the commissioner or his designated
representative will hear testimony relative to the application
of Newpark Environmental Services, Box 31480, Lafayette,
LA 70593-1480. The applicant intends to construct and
operate a commercial nonhazardous oilfield waste transfer
station in Section 14, Township 23 South, Range 22 East
approximately 0.3 mile North-Northeast of Newpark's current
commercial nonhazardous oilfield waste transfer station in
Port Fourchon, LA.

The application is available for inspection by contacting
Pierre Catrou, Office of Conservation, Injection and Mining
Division, Room 257 of the State Land and Natural Resources
Building, 625 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA, or by
visiting the Lafourche Parish Police Jury Office in Thibodaux,
LA. Verbal information may be received by calling Mr.
Catrou at (504)342-5567.

All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to
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present data, views or arguments, orally or in writing, at said
public hearing. Written comments which will not be
presented at the hearing must be received no later than 4:30
p.m., July 3, 1996, at the Baton Rouge Office. Comments
should be directed to: Office of Conservation, Injection and
Mining Division, Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, Re:
Docket Number IMD 96-08, Commercial Transfer Station,
Lafourche Parish.

George L. Carmouche

Commissioner
9605#069

POTPOURRI

Department of Social Services
Office of the Secretary
Child Care Assistance Program

Child Care and Development Block Grant Public Hearing

The Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary,
Child Care Assistance Program is providing notice that there
will be a public hearing regarding the proposed State Plan for
the Child Care and Development Block Grant. The public
hearing will be held at 9:30 a.m., June 10, 1996 in the second
floor auditorium, A. Z. Young Building, 755 Third Street,
Baton Rouge, LA.

At the public hearing all interested persons will have the
opportunity to provide recommendations orally or in writing
on the proposed State Plan. Written comments will be
accepted through June 10, 1996. Comments may be
addressed to Linda Beauvais, Director, Child Care Assistance
Program, Box 91193, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. The State
Plan is available for review at any regional CCAP Office.

Madlyn B. Bagneris
Secretary
9605#067

POTPOURRI

Department of Transportation and Development
Sabine River Compact Administration

Spring Meeting Notice

The spring meeting of the Sabine River Compact
Administration will be held at the Omni Royal Orleans, New
Orleans, LA on Friday June 7, 1996, at 9:30 a.m. The
Engineering Committee will meet on June 6, 1996, at 2 p.m.
at the same location.

The purpose of the meeting will be to conduct business as
programmed in Article IV of the bylaws of the Sabine River
Compact Administration.

The fall meeting will be held at a site in Texas to be
designated at the above described meeting.

Contact person concerning this meeting is Mary H. Gibson,
Sabine River Compact Administration, 15091Texas Highway,
Many, LA 71449, telephone (318) 256-4112.

Mary H. Gibson

Secretary
9605#017
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Structural Pest Control Commission

Bait/baiting systems, 77ER

CIVIL SERVICE
Civil Service Commission
Compensation, 377N
Leave, 294N
Prohibited activities, 121N
Ethics for Elected Officials, Board of
Small municipalities, 376N

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM

Secretary, Office of the

State byways, 37N
State Library, Office of

Certification, 241N

Library construction/technology, 12R

Name change, 241N

Restructuring, 241N

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Boxing and Wrestling Commission

Amend/repeal rules, 377N
Commerce and Industry, Office of

Enterprise Zone Program, 122N
Contractors, Licensing Board for

Residential construction, 94R
Financial Institutions, Office of

Deed escrow, 187R
Racing Commission

Bleeder medication, 12R

Entry after excused, 13R

Field less than eight, 13R

First aid, 325ER, 378N

Superfecta, 326ER, 379N

Timing of entering, 13R

Video Poker purse, 13R
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Real Estate Commission
Adjudicatory proceeding, 95R
Compensation, 96R
Insufficient funds, 161ER, 190R
License/registration/certificate, 96R
Symbols, tradenames, trademark, 96R

EDUCATION
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of

Bulletin 741

Adult education, 97R

Instructional staff, 130N, 338R

Religion, 130N, 338R

School administrators, 129N, 337R, 379N
Bulletin 746

Child welfare/attendance, 98R

Foreign language, 38N, 277R
Bulletin 1196

Breakfast, 242N

Food service manager, 242N
Bulletin 1706

Discipline, 2ER, 190R

Exceptional children, 78ER
Bulletin 1868

Personnel Manual, 2ER, 327ER
Bulletin 1882 -

Administrative Leadership Academy, 380N
Bulletin 1943

Teacher assessment, 38N, 98R, 277R
Dropout, 295N
Medication policy, 39N, 277R
Special Education Advisory Council, 99R
Technical college, 130N

Student Financial Assistance Commission

Federal Family Educational Loan Program (FFELP), 190R
Scholarship and Grant Manual, 40N, 338R

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Office of

AQ126 Chemical accident, 161ER
AQ128 Quality assurance, 14R
AQ131 Organic compound emission, 14R
AQ132 Petroleum refinery, 16R
AQ133 Ambient air standards, 41N, 278R
AQ134 Point of custody transfer, 44N, 341R
AQ135 Reportable quantity of VOCs, 45N, 341R
AQ136 Miscellaneous amendments, 42N, 338R
AQ137 VOC Storage, 131N
AQ139 Asbestos in Schools/State Buildings, 296N
AQ141 Perchloroethylene removal, 301N
NEO15 Shielding exemptions NRC revisions, 380N

Fugitive emission, 405P

Inspection and Maintenance Program (I/M), 259P

Ozone attainment, 153P

Permit procedure, 66P

Regulatory agenda, 316P

State Implementation Plan (SIP), 259P

Title V Application, 316P

Legal Affairs and Enforcement, Office of
Emergency response, 153P

EO —Executive Order
L—Legislation
P —Potpourri
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule

N —Notice of Intent
PPM —Policy and Procedure Memorandum
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Management and Finance, Office of
0S20 Fee payment, 17R
Secretary, Office of the
HWO51 Land disposal, 327ER
0S018 Emergency response, 381N
0S14 Confidentiality, 342R
0S20 Fee payment, 17R
Solid and Hazardous Waste, Office of
HW45 Foreign hazardous waste, 20R, 1T00R
HW48 Land ban, 22R
SWO018 Ditches/air curtains, 278R

SWO019 Waste tire transporter, 3ER
SWO020 Waste tire, 162ER
EXECUTIVE ORDERS

EWE 95-36 West Baton Rouge Parish Bond Allocation, 1

EWE 96-1 TransAmerica Refining Corporation Bond
Allocation, 76

MJF 96-1 Affirmative Action, 76

MJF 96-2 Interagency Action Council for the
Homeless, 159

MJF 96-3 Affirmative Action, 160

MJF 96-4 Inmate Labor, 161

MJF 96-5 Assistant District Attorneys Advisory and

Review Commission, 265

MJF 96-6 Safe/Drug Free Schools/Communities Advisory
Council, 265

MJF 96-7 Small Business Bonding Assistance, 266

MJF 96-8 Louisiana LEARN Commission, 268

MJF 96-9 Governor’'s DWI/Vehicular Homicide Task

Force, 323
MJF 96-10 Oklahoma City Bombing Anniversary, 323
MJF 96-11 Housing Finance Agency Bond Allocation, 324

FIREFIGHTERS’ PENSION AND RELIEF FUND
City of New Orleans and Vicinity
Cost of living adjustment, T00R
Direct rollover, 243N

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Administration, Division of
Commissioner, Office of
Travel, PPM, 302N
Facility Planning and Control, Office of
Controversy resolution, 345R
Selection procedure, 133N, 345R
State Purchasing, Office of
Procurement Code, 280R
Uniform Payroll, Office of
Payroll deduction, 22R
Community Development, Office of
Consolidated Annual Action Plan, 153P
Crime Victims Reparations Board
Victim compensation, 269ER, 302N
0il Spill Coordinator’s Office
Contingency plan, 406P

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of
Conduct/ethics, 191R
Financial interest, 191R
lllegal payment, 191R
Peer review, 191R
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Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for
Consumer grievance, 134N
Dentistry, Board of
Advertising/soliciting, 22R, 23R
Continuing education, 24R
Dental assistant, 22R -
Dental hygienist, 22R
Hearing, 24R
Licensure, 22R, 23R, 23R
Parental consent, 23R
Restricted license, 23R
Electrolysis Examiners, Board of
Electrologist technician, 46N
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of
Exam, 154P, 316P
Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation
Counselors, Board of
License, 305N
Medical Examiners, Board of
Clinical laboratory, 195R
Physician assistant, 200R
Physician/surgeon, 207R, 280R
Registered nurse, 244N
Nursing, Board of
Annual meeting, 103R
Domicile, 103R
Registered nurse, 244N, 280R
Pharmacy, Board of
Pharmacy technician, 46N
Practice, 50N
Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of
Licensure, 284R
Professional Counselors, Board of Examiners of
General provisions, 101R
Public Health, Office of
Abortion, 4ER, 25R
Bacteriological laboratory, 247N, 306N
Children’s special health, 140N, 362R
Human subjects, 147N, 368R
Office of Research Integrity (establishes), 140N, 362R
Sanitary Code
Lead poisoning, 384N
Mechanical wastewater, 307N
Molluscan shell, 328ER, 385N
Nutria, 26R
Secretary, Office of the
Ambulance, 285R
Annual service agreement, 214R
Case management, 79ER, 162ER, 170ER
Chiropractic care, 216R
Disproportionate share, 163ER
Denture, 104R
Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment
(EPSDT), 104R
Emergency medical transportation, 105R, 105R
Ephedrine, 215R
Facility need review
Beds, 387N
Nursing facility, 387N

EO —Executive Order
L —Legislation
P —Potpourri
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule
N—Notice of Intent
PPM —Policy and Procedure Memorandum




Federally qualified health center, 106R
Home and community based services, 81ER
Home health services
Homebound criteria, 218R
Reimbursement, 218R
Hospital program
Inpatient, 106R, 219R
Median, 32R
Out-of-state services, 33R
Outpatient, 33R
Reimbursement inflation, 33R
Informed consent
Female genital treatment, 29R
Hemodialysis, 30R
Urology, 31R, 285R
Institutional services, 272ER
Intermediate care facility, 5ER, 369R
KIDMED, 106R
Laboratory, 5ER, 107R, 219R
Mammoplasty, 308N
Maternal and Child Health Block Grant, 387N
Medical equipment, 217R
Medicaid, 50N, 370R, 370R, 388N
Mental health, 107R, 166ER
Neonatology, 8ER, 248N
Nursing facility, 7ER, 34R, 34R, 271ER, 309N, 330ER,
369R
Pharmacy program
Benefits, 273ER
Copayment, 107R
Drug utilization, 273ER
Medicare B, 274ER
Overhead cost, 108R
Point of sale, 273ER
Reimbursement, 249N
Private ICF/MR facility, 184ER, 249N
Professional service program, 108R, 330ER
Rehabilitation clinic, T09R
Rural health, 1T09R
Substance abuse, 109R
Transplant, 185ER. 250N
Tuberculosis, 110R
Vaccine, 8ER, 259P, 334ER
X-ray, 5ER, 107R, 219R
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Board of
Examiners for
Rules repeal/repromulgation, 346R

INSURANCE
Insurance, Commissioner of
Regulation 54 Automobile insurance, 68P
Regulation 58 Viatical settlements, 148N, 404CR
Regulation 59 Health insurance data, 251N

LABOR
Employment Security, Office of
Electronic transfer, 9ER, 185ER, 254N
Workers’ Compensation, Office of
Assessment, 34R
Compliance, 220R, 285R

LOUISIANA LEGISLATURE
House of Representatives
House Insurance Committee
Viatical settlements, 404CR

NATURAL RESOURCES
Conservation, Office of
Commercial facility application, 317P
Oilfield waste, 406P
Orphaned oilfield, 68P, 155P, 317P

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS
Motor Vehicles, Office of
Driving school, 286R
Pardons, Board of
Clemency, 81ER
Private Investigator Examiners, Board of
Apprentice, 255N
Continuing education, 150N, 371R
State Police, Office of
Bingo/keno/raffle, 110R

REVENUE AND TAXATION

Alcoholic Beverage Control, Office of

Alcoholic beverage sampling, 116R
Excise Taxes Division

Dyed special fuel, 256N
Secretary, Office of the

Electronic filing, 35R
Severance Tax Division

Natural gas, 317N
Tax Commission

Ad valorem tax, 117R

Timber stumpage, 1ER, 121N, 325ER

SOCIAL SERVICES
Community Services
Homeless, 260P
Social Services Block Grant (SSBG), 318
Weatherization, 318
Family Support, Office of
Child support, 118R, 223R
Food Stamps, 52N, 275ER, 286R, 311N, 391N
Paternity, 10ER, 117R, 118R
Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, 224R
Rehabilitation Services, Office of
Randolph-Sheppard Trust, 119R
Secretary, Office of
Child Care and Development Block Grant, 406P

TRANSPORTATION OF DEVELOPMENT
Highways/Engineering
Rural water district, 228R
Signs, 224R, 228R

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, Board of

Registration for
Property boundary, 392N
Seals, 54N, 287R
Temporary permit, 53N, 286R

Filing, 34R

Forms, 221R -

Fraud, 222R CR—Committee Report EO —Executive Order
ER—Emergency Rule L —Legislation
N —Notice of Intent P —Potpourri
PPM —Policy and Procedure Memorandum R—Rule
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Sabine River Compact Administration
Spring meeting, 406P

Weights, Measures, and Standards
Legal limitation, 120R
Violation review committee, 151N, 372R

TREASURY
Bond Commission
Line of credit, 10ER
Housing Finance Agency
HOME funds, 335ER
HOME rental housing, 59N, 311N «
State Employees Group Benefits Program, Board of
Trustees of the
Prescription, 54N, 287R
State Employees’ Retirement System, Board of
Trustees of the
Rules codification/amendment, 57N, 373R
Teachers’ Retirement System, Board of Trustees of the
Retiree’s return to work, 58N, 290R

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Fisheries, Office of
Commercial fisherman, 60N, 275ER, 373R
Dealer receipt, 60N, 275ER, 373R
Flounder, 276ER, 336ER
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Mussel, 374R
Net buy-back, 231R
Nets, 231R
Oyster, 120R
Pompano, 395N

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
Bass, 61N, 376R
Black Drum, 83ER, 233R
Commercial fisherman, 85ER, 235R
Flounder, 83ER, 233R, 337ER
Hunting season, 258N
Mullet, 86ER, 236R
Mussel, 62N, 319N
Net buy-back, 88ER
Oyster, 90ER, 337ER
Physically-challenged hunter, 397N
Pompano strike net, 83ER
Red Snapper, 11ER, 186ER, 276ER
Reef fish, 401N
Rod and reel, 90ER, 237R
Sheepshead, 83ER, 233R
Shrimp, 336ER
Spotted Seatrout, 91ER, 238R
Traversing, 240R
Timken wildlife management, 402N
Waddill Wildlife Refuge, 403N

EO —Executive Order
L —Legislation
P —Potpoutri
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule

N —Notice of Intent
PPM —Policy and Procedure Memorandum
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