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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 03-03 

Additional 2002 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 
Louisiana Housing Finance Agency 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act No. 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (collectively hereafter "the Act"), Executive 
Order No. MJF 96-25, as amended by Executive Order No. 
MJF 2000-15, (hereafter collectively "MJF 96-25") was 
issued to establish:  

(1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 
activity bond volume limits, including the method of 
allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limits for the calendar year of 2002 (hereafter "the 2002 
Ceiling");  

(2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 
bonds under the 2002 Ceiling; and  

(3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations;  

WHEREAS, subsection 4.8 of MJF 96-25 provides 
that if the ceiling for a calender year exceeds the aggregate 
amount of bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limit issued during the year by all issuers, by exe cutive 
order, the governor may allocate the excess amount to 
issuers or an issuer for use as a carry-forward for one or 
more carry -forward projects permitted under the Act;  

WHEREAS, on December 30, 2002, Executive Order 
No. MJF 2002-74 was issued to carry-forward one hundred 
thirty-five million three hundred sixty-six thousand two 
hundred sixteen dollars and three cents ($135,366,216.03) of 
the 2002 Ceiling which was unused and returned; however, 
the Order did not reflect the allocation and portion of the 
allocation returned unused from Executive Order Nos. MJF 
2002-54 and 2002-57;  

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. MJF 2002-54, 
issued on October 25, 2002, allocated three million two 
hundred thousand dollars ($3,200,000) from the 2002 
Ceiling to the Lafayette Economic Development Authority 
in connection with a Tube-Alloy Corporation project, but 
two hundred ninety-seven thousand two hundred fifty dollars 
($297,250) of the three million two hundred thousand dollar 
($3,200,000) allocation was returned unused; 

WHEREA S, Executive Order No. MJF 2002-57, 
issued on November 6, 2002, allocated five million dollars 
($5,000,000) from the 2002 Ceiling to the Parish of DeSoto, 
State of Louisiana, in connection with an International Paper 
Company project, but the five million dollar ($5,000,000) 
allocation was returned unused; and 

WHEREAS, the governor desires to allocate the 
additional unused portion of the 2002 Ceiling as a  
carry-forward for a project which is permitted and eligible 
under the Act;  

NOW THEREFORE I, M.J. "MIKE"  FOSTER, JR., 
Governor of the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, 
do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: Pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of Section 146(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended, and in accordance with the request for a 
carry-forward filed by the designated issuer, the excess 
and/or unissued private activity bond volume limit under the 
2002 Ceiling is hereby allocated to the following issuer, for 
the following carry-forward project, and in the following 
amount. 

 
Issuer Carry Forward 

Amount 
Carry Forward 

Project 
Louisiana Housing 

Finance Agency 
Single Family Mortgage 
Revenue Bond Program $5,297,250 

 
SECTION 2: All references in this Order to the 

singular shall include the plural, and all plural references 
shall include the singular. 

SECTION 3: The undersigned certifies, under penalty 
of perjury, that the granted allocation was not made in 
consideration of any bribe, gift, or gratuity, or any direct or 
indirect contribution to any political campaign. The 
undersigned also certifies that the granted allocation meets 
the requirements of Section 146 of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, as amended. 

SECTION 4: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the governor, or terminated by 
operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the state 
of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on 
this 13th day of February, 2003. 

 
M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr. 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State 
0303#001 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 03-04 

Executive BranchCExpenditure Freeze 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of Article IV, 
Section 5 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974, as amended, 
and Act No. 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the governor issued Executive Order No. MJF 
2002-29 on September 24, 2002, ordering an expenditure 
freeze throughout the executive branch of state government 
to achieve a state general fund savings of at least seventy-
five million dollars ($75,000,000) for the remainder of the 
2002-2003 fiscal year; 

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. MJF 2002-29 was 
issued as a prudent money management practice but not as a 
response measure to a projected budget deficit; 
consequently, the total estimated dollar savings of the 
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expenditure freeze is not deducted from appropriations on 
the budget status report like the appropriations cuts ordered 
this day in Executive Order No. MJF 2003-4 under the 
authority of R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a); and 

WHEREAS, prudent money management practices 
dictate that the best interests of the citizens of the state of 
Louisiana will be served by continuing the expenditure 
freeze ordered in Executive Order No. MJF 2002-29, but 
decreasing its estimated dollar savings in conjunction with 
the appropriations cuts ordered in Executive Order No. MJF 
2003-4 and other considerations, to achieve a state general 
fund savings of at least fifty-four million six hundred thirty-
eight thousand six hundred ninety-seven dollars 
($54,638,697) for the remainder of the 2002-2003 fiscal 
year; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, M.J. "MIKE@ FOSTER, JR., 
Governor of the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, 
do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The following departments, agencies, 
and/or budget units of the executive branch of the state of 
Louisiana, as described in and/or funded by appropriations 
through Act. No. 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature (hereafter "Act No. 13"), (hereafter 
"Unit" and/or "Units") shall reduce expenditure of funds 
appropriated to the Unit from the state general fund by Act 
No. 13, in the amounts shown below: 

 
Executive Department State General Fund 
Schedule 01 $ 2,725,064 
 
Secretary of State 
Budget Unit 04-139 $ 154,996 
 
Office of the Attorney General 
Budget Unit 04-141 $ 487,965 
 
Commissioner of Elections 
Budget Unit 04-144 $ 204,883 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Budget Unit 04-146 $ 16,679 
 
State Treasurer 
Budget Unit 04-147 $ 53,805 
 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Budget Unit 04-160 $ 1,226,088 
 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
Schedule 06 $ 1,663,320 
 
Department of Transportation and Development 
Schedule 07 $ 61,784 
 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 
All Corrections Services Budget Units in 
Schedule 08 $ 3,324,709 
 
Department of Health and Hospitals 
Schedule 09 $ 36,101,431 
 
Department of Social Services 
Schedule 10 $ 1,269,447 
 

Department of Natural Resources 
Schedule 11 $ 352,861 
 
Department of Revenue 
Schedule 12 $ 124,271 
 
Department of Labor 
Schedule 14 $ 139,639 
 
Department of Civil Service 
Schedule 17 $ 19,822 
 
Department of Education 
All Department of Education 
Budget Units in Schedule 19 
(except 19-695 and 19-699) $ 6,037,441 
 
Louisiana State University Health Science Center 
Health Care Services Division 
Budget Unit 19-610 $ 21,075 
 
Other Requirements 
Schedule 20 $ 653,418 
 
SECTION 2: 

A. No later than March 5, 2003, the head of each 
Unit listed in Section 1 of this Order shall submit to the 
commission of administration (hereafter "commissioner") a 
supplemental mid-year budget adjustment plan, on the BA-7 
form and questionnaire revised January 30, 2001, which 
reflects the Unit =s proposed allocation of the expenditure 
freeze ordered in Section 1 of this Order (hereafter 
"supplemental mid-year budget adjustment plan"), and a 
description of the methodology used to formulate the 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

B. In the event that positions of employment will be 
affected by the supplemental mid-year budget adjustment 
plan, the description of the methodology used to formulate 
the supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan shall 
include, at a minimum, the following information for each 
position of employment proposed to be affected: 
 1. The type of position of employment to be 
affected, including job title; 
 2. The job function of the position of employment 
and an analysis of how it meets or serves the role, scope, 
and/or mission of the Unit; and 
 3. An explanation of why the position of 
employment is being selected for inclusion in the Unit =s 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

C. No Unit shall implement the expenditure freeze 
ordered in Section 1 of this Order without the 
commissioner's prior written approval of the Unit's 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

D. Once approved, a supplemental mid-year budget 
adjustment plan may not be changed without the 
commissioner=s prior written approval. 

SECTION 3: If full or partial implementation of the 
expenditure freeze mandated in Section 1 of this Order will 
prevent a statewide elected official from being able to 
perform and/or fulfill his or her constitutional functions 
and/or duties, the commissioner is authorized to grant the 
statewide elected official an exemption from Section 1 to the 
extent necessary. 
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SECTION 4: The commissioner is authorized to 
develop additional guidelines as necessary to facilitate the 
administration of this Order. 

SECTION 5: Executive Order No. 2002-29, issued on 
September 24, 2002, is hereby rescinded and terminated. 

SECTION 6: All departments, commissions, boards, 
offices, entities, agencies, and officers of the state of 
Louisiana, or any political subdivision thereof, are 
authorized and directed to cooperate with the Office in 
implementing the provisions of this Order. 

SECTION 7: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect through June 30, 2003, unless 
amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded prior to that 
date. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 
21st day of February, 2003. 

 
M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr. 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State 
0303#007 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER MJF 03-05 

Executive BranchCAppropriations Cuts 

WHEREAS, R.S. 39:75(A)(1) directs the Division of 
Administration to submit a monthly budget status report to 
the Joint Legis lative Committee on the Budget (hereafter 
"Committee") indicating the balance of the budget for the 
state general fund and dedicated funds by comparing the 
official forecast for these funds to the total authorized 
appropriations from each fund; once approved by the 
Committee, the most recent budget status report becomes the 
official budget status of the state;  

WHEREAS, if the most recently approved budget 
status report indicates that the total appropriation from any 
fund will exceed the official forecast for that fund, R.S. 
39:75(B) mandates the Committee shall immediately notify 
the governor that a projected deficit exists for that fund; 

WHEREAS, by letter dated January 22, 2003, 
received on January 24, 2003, the Committee notified the 
governor that it approved a budget status report at its 
January 17, 2003 meeting indicating a projected deficit of 
eighteen million five hundred eighty-one thousand dollars 
($18,581,000) exists in the state general fund for fiscal year 
2002-2003 based on the revised revenue forecast adopted by 
the Revenue Estimating Conference on January 16, 2003;  

WHEREAS, once notified that a projected deficit 
exists, under R.S. 39:75(C) and Section 8 of Act No. 13 of 
the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
governor has interim budget balancing powers, and may 
reduce appropriations for the executive branch of 
government for any program that is appropriated from a fund 
that is in deficit posture in accordance with R.S. 
39:75(C)(1)(a); and 

WHEREAS, if within thirty (30) days of the 
determination of the existence of a projected deficit, the 
governor does not make necessary adjustments in the 
appropriations to eliminate the projected deficit, R.S. 
39:75(D) mandates the governor shall call a special session 
of the Louisiana Legis lature for that purpose; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, M.J. "MIKE" FOSTER, JR., 
Governor of the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, 
do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: Appropriations to the following 
departments, agencies, and/or budget units of the executive 
branch of the state of Louisiana, described in and/or funded 
by appropriations from the state general fund through Act 
No. 13 of 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, (hereafter "Unit" and/or "Units") shall be 
reduced pursuant to R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a) in the amounts 
shown below (hereafter "appropriations cuts") in order to 
eliminate the projected deficit by adjusting authorized 
appropriations from the state general fund by eighteen 
million five hundred eighty-one thousand dollars 
($18,581,000). 

 
Executive Department State General Fund 
Schedule 01 $ 926,714 
 
Secretary of State  
Budget Unit 04-139 $ 52,709 
 
Office of the Attorney General 
Budget Unit 04-141 $ 165,943 
 
Commissioner of Elections 
Budget Unit 04-144 $ 69,674 
 
Lieutenant Governor 
Budget Unit 04-146 $ 5,672 
 
State Treasurer 
Budget Unit 04-147 $ 18,298 
 
Agriculture and Forestry 
Budget Unit 04-160 $ 416,956 
 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
Schedule 06 $ 565,646 
 
Department of Transportation and Development 
Schedule 07 $ 21,011 
 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 
 
All Corrections Services Budget Units in 
Schedule 08 $ 1,130,635 
 
Department of Health and Hospitals 
Schedule 09 $ 12,277,026 
 
Department of Social Services 
Schedule 10 $ 431,701 
 
Department of Natural Resources 
Schedule 11 $ 119,997 
 
Department of Revenue 
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Schedule 12 $ 42,261 
 
Department of Labor 
Schedule 14 $ 47,487 
 
Department of Civil Service  
Schedule 17 $ 6,741 
 
Department of Education  
All Department of Education 
Budget Units in Schedule 19 
(except 19-695 and 19-699) $ 2,053,154 
 
Louisiana State University Health Science Center 
Health Care Services Division 
Budget Unit 19-610 $ 7,167 
 
Other Requirements 
Schedule 20 $ 222,208 
 
SECTION 2: 

A. No later than March 5, 2003, the head of each 
Unit listed in Section 1 of this Order shall submit to the 
commissioner of administration (hereafter "commissioner") 
a supplemental mid-year budget adjustment plan, on the BA -
7 form and questionnaire revised January 30, 2001, which 
reflects the Unit =s proposed allocation of the appropriations 
cuts ordered in Section 1 of this Order (hereafter 
"supplemental mid-year budget adjustment plan"), and a 
description of the methodology used to formulate the 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

B. In the event that positions of employment will be 
affected by the supplemental mid-year budget adjustment 
plan, the description of the methodology used to formulate 
the supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan shall 
include, at a minimum, the following information for each 
position of employment proposed to be affected: 
 1. The type of position of employment to be 
affected, including job title; 

 2. The job function of the position of employment 
and an analysis of how it meets or serves the role, scope, 
and/or mission of the Unit; and 
 3. An explanation of why the position of 
employment is being selected for inclusion in the Unit =s 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

C. No Unit shall implement the appropriations cuts 
ordered in Section 1 of this Order without the 
commissioner's prior written approval of the Unit's 
supplemental mid -year budget adjustment plan. 

D. Once approved, a supplemental mid-year budget 
adjustment plan may not be changed without the 
commissioner=s prior written approval. 

SECTION 3: The commissioner is authorized to 
develop additional guidelines as necessary to facilitate the 
administration of this Order. 

SECTION 4: All departments, commissions, boards, 
offices, entities, agencies and officers of the state of 
Louisiana, or any political subdivision thereof, are 
authorized and directed to cooperate in the implementation 
of the provisions of this Order. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature. 
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 

officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 
21st day of February, 2003. 

 
M.J. "Mike" Foster, Jr. 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State 
0303#008 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Division of Pesticides and Environmental Programs  

Pesticide RestrictionsCUse of the Pesticide Icon  
(LAC 7:XXIII.143) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act 
R.S. 49:953(B) and R.S. 3:3203(A), the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry is exercising the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in adopting 
the following Rules for the implementation of regulations 
governing the use of the pesticide, Icon (fipronil). 

Icon is an essential pesticide in the control of rice pests. 
Without its use the rice crop in Louisiana is in imminent 
danger of being damaged by pests, to the extent that a 
substantial reduction in rice yield will result. Failure to 
control rice pests, therefore, poses an imminent peril to the 
economy of the State of Louisiana and to the rice growing 
parishes of Louisiana. The cumulative effect of Icon as a 
pesticide, saltwater intrusion, anticipated high water 
temperatures, and other weather related factors pose an 
imminent peril to the environment and to the economy of the 
State of Louisiana and to the rice growing parishes of 
Louisiana. The application of Icon in accordance with its 
label and labeling, but inconsistent with the department's 
rules and regulation and the potential misuse of this pesticide 
poses an imminent peril to the public health, safety and 
welfare and to the environment, especially if it gets into the 
waterways of this state. 

The department has, therefore, determined that these 
emergency rules implementing a monitoring and registration 
program and governing Icon applications, during the current 
crop year, are necessary in order to alleviate these perils. 
Information will be gathered to determine whether the 
effectiveness of this chemical outweighs any potential risk to 
the public or the environment.  

This Rule becomes effective upon signature, March 7, 
2003, and will remain in effect 120 days. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticide 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter I. Regulations Governing Application of 

Pesticides 
§143. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides 

A. - M.2. ... 
N. Persons applying Icon to rice seed and persons selling 

or planting Icon treated rice seed, intended to be planted in 
Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Evangeline, 
Iberia, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. 
Mary, and Vermillion parishes shall comply with the 
following. 

1. Registration Requirements 
a. The commissioner hereby declares that prior to 

making any application of Icon to rice seed, the seed 
treatment owner/operator must first register such intent by 
notifying the Division of Pesticides and Environmental 
Programs ("DPEP") in writing. 

b. The commissioner hereby declares that prior to 
selling Icon treated rice seed, the dealer must first register 
such intent by notifying the DPEP in writing. 

c. The Commissioner hereby declares that prior to 
making aerial applications of Icon treated rice seed, the 
aerial owner-operator must first register such intent by 
notifying the DPEP in writing. 

2. Growers of rice shall not force or coerce applicators 
to apply Icon treated rice, when the applicators, conforming 
to the Louisiana Pesticide Laws and Rules and Regulations 
or to the pesticide label and labeling, deem it unsafe to make 
such applications. Growers found to be in violation of this 
section shall forfeit their right to use Icon treated rice seed, 
subject to appeal to the A dvisory Commission on Pesticides. 

3. Icon Application Restriction 
a. Do not apply Icon treated rice seed by ground 

within 25 feet, or by air within 100 feet of lakes, reservoirs, 
rivers, permanent streams, marshes or natural ponds, 
estuaries and commercial fish farm ponds. 

b. Do not allow Icon treated rice seed to drift into 
neighboring fields, ponds, streams or estuaries with fish, 
shellfish, or crustaceans (including crawfish). 

c. All Icon label and labeling use restrictions shall 
be strictly followed.  

4. Monitoring of Icon 
a. Rice seed treaters, registered to treat rice seed 

with Icon, shall report daily to the DPEP, on forms 
prescribed by the commissioner, all treatments of Icon to 
rice seed. Information shall include but not be limited to: 
 i. pounds t reated; 
 ii. treatment rate; 
 iii. pounds sold or distributed; 
 iv. purchaser and\or grower name, address, and 
phone number. 

b. Dealers selling Icon treated rice seed shall report 
daily, to the DPEP, on forms prescribed by the commissioner 
all sales of Icon treated rice seed. Information shall include 
but not be limited to: 
 i. pounds sold; 
 ii. treatment rate; 
 iii. acres to be planted,;  
 iv. planting date; 
 v. purchaser and\or grower name, address, parish 
and phone number; 
 vi. location and parish of field to be planted; 
 vii. planting applicator-owner\operator (aerial or 
ground). 

c. Aerial owner\operators planting Icon treated rice 
seed shall provide and maintain records daily, on forms
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prescribed by the commissioner all applications of Icon 
treated rice seed. Information shall include but not be limited 
to: 
 i. pounds per acre planted; 
 ii. acres planted; 
 iii. date planted; 
 iv. grower name, address, parish and phone 
number; 
 v. location and parish of field planted; 
 vi. pilot's name and certification number. 

5. Upon determination by the commissioner that a 
threat or reasonable expectation of a threat to human health 
or to the environment exists, he may consider: 

a. stop orders for use, sales, or application;  
b. label changes; 
c. remedial or protective orders; 
d. any other relevant remedies. 

O. - P.6.a.iv. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3242 and R.S. 3:3249. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
1983), amended LR 10:196 (March 1984), LR 11:219 (March 
1985), LR 11:942 (October 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), amended LR 19:791 (June 
1993), LR 21:668 (July 1995), LR 24:281 (February 1998), LR 
24:2076 (November 1998), LR 26:1428 (July 2000), LR 26:1966 
(September 2000), LR 27:279 (March 2001), LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0303#026 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Workforce Development and Training Program 

Office of Business Development 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 
Workforce Development and Training Program 

(LAC 13:III.Chapter 3) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, is exercising the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend 
rules of the Louisiana Workforce Development and Training 
Program. This Emergency Rule was adopted on February 13, 
2003, to become effective February 13, 2003. This 
Emergency Rule shall remain in effect for a period of 120 
days or until a final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation, is exercising the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), in order to 
publish these Rules because of recent statutory amendments 
and a recognized immediate need to remove the requirement 
that a sponsoring public entity be a party to the award 
agreement or contract, and for the Louisiana Economic 
Development Corporation be a party to the award agreement 

or contract. The contract will now be between the 
corporation and the company being granted the Award. 

The emergency action is deemed necessary to remove the 
inherent conflict of interest in having a public entity monitor 
the performance of the company under the contract. Public 
entities need to work closely with these companies to 
enhance job opportunities in their respective areas. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs  
Chapter 3. Workforce Development and Training 

Program 
§301. Preamble and Purpose 

A. Workforce Development and Training is vital to 
support the State’s commitment to Cluster Based Economic 
Development, and the State’s long-term goals as set forth in 
Louisiana: Vision 2020, which is the Master Plan for 
Economic Development for the State of Louisiana. 

B. The purpose of the program is to enable the 
development of and provide customized workforce training 
programs to existing and prospective Louisiana businesses 
as a means of: 

1. improving the competitiveness and productivity of 
Louisiana's workforce and business community; and  

2. assisting Louisiana businesses in promoting 
employment stability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§303. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe entity or company requesting a training 
award from LED and LEDC under this program. 

AwardCfunding approved under this program for eligible 
training activities. 

CompanyCthe business enterprise undertaking the 
workforce training project, and the successful applicant 
receiving or granted an award under this program. 

ContractCa legally enforceable Award Agreement 
between DED, the awardee and a sponsoring entity LEDC 
and the successful applicant-company governing the terms 
and the conditions of the training award. 

Full Time Permanent JobCan employed position requiring 
the employee to work a full 40 hour work week, and which 
is not a temporary position. 

LEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

LEDCCthe Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation. 

Net Benefit Return to the StateCthe determination of 
whether or not the value to the State is equal to or exceeds 
the amount of the award to the company.  

Percentage of Achieved Performance Objectives as 
Provided in the ContractCan average of that portion 
achieved by the company of the full time permanent jobs 
created or upgraded, and that portion achieved by the
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company of the annual salary levels to be reached, as 
provided in the contract. The two portions are to be added 
together, and the total figure is then divided by two, in order 
to yield the average percentage. 

PreferenceCthe discretionary granting of an advantage or 
priority to one applicant or application over others; allows 
extra consideration to be given to one applicant or 
application over others, with regard to the availability of 
funding. 

ProgramCthe Workforce Development and Training 
Program. 

ProjectCthe workforce training endeavor that will 
enhance the qualifications and productivity of a company's 
workforce, its employees and prospective employees, for 
which LED and LEDC assistance is requested under this 
program as an incentive to influence a company’s decision to 
maintain or expand its Louisiana operations, to increase its 
capital investment in Louisiana, or to locate a facility in this 
State. 

SecretaryCthe Secretary of the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development, who is, by law, also the President 
of the Louisiana Economic Development Corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January, 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§305. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Workforce Development and Training 
Program: 

1. LEDC shall serve as the single review board for 
this Workforce Development and Training Program which is 
to be administered by LED; 

2. training awards are not to be construed as an 
entitlement for companies located or locating in Louisiana;  

3. awards must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in a company's location, investment, 
expansion and/or training decisions; 

4. awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities; 

5. evaluations for the enhancement of existing 
Louisiana businesses that are adding locations within the 
state will be conducted with the same procedures and with 
the same priority as the recruitment of new businesses to the 
state; 

6. the anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered as a requirement in making the award; 

7. awards will be coordinated with the existing plans 
and programs of other government agencies whenever 
appropriate;  

8. a train-the-trainer approach will be adopted 
whenever appropriate in order to strengthen the institutional 
capacity of public and private sector training providers; and 

9. award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
training project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§307. Program Descriptions 

A. This program provides two types of training 
assistance for companies seeking prospective employees 
who possess sufficient skills to perform the jobs to be 
created by the companies. The training to be funded can 
include: 

1. pre-employment training for which prospective 
employees are identified and recruited for training with the 
knowledge that the company will hire a portion of the 
trainees; 

2. on-the-job (and/or upgrade) training for employees 
that is needed to bring the employees up to a minimum skill 
and/or productivity level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§309. Eligibility 

A. An eligible applicant is an employer that seeks 
customized training services to provide training in a 
particular industry. 

B. The following types of businesses are ineligible for 
the award of workforce development funds:  

1. retail businesses;  
2. trucking companies;  
3. lodging or hospitality enterprises;  
4. assisted living enterprises, retirement communities, 

or nursing homes; and  
5. gaming or gambling enterprises. 

C. Employees to be trained must be employed in 
Louisiana, except for projects locating at Stennis Space 
Center in Mississippi. Employees to be trained for projects 
at Stennis Space Center must be Louisiana residents. 

D. A company shall be considered ineligible for this 
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including 
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has 
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding 
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or 
permit, or if the company has a previous contract with the 
Department of Economic Development or LEDC in which 
the company is in default and/or is not in compliance. 

E. Companies must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
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23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§311. Criteria 

A. General (these apply to all training programs 
administered under these rules) 

1. Preference may be given to applicants in industries 
identified by the state as targeted or cluster industries, and to 
applicants locating in areas of the state with high 
unemployment levels. 

2. Employer(s) must be in full compliance with 
Louisiana unemployment insurance laws. 

3. If a company does not begin the project within 365 
days of application approval, the LEDC, upon the 
recommendation of the Secretary of LED, may cancel 
funding of the training project, or may require reapplication. 

4. The number of jobs to be retained and/or created as 
stated in the application will be adhered to and will be made 
an integral part of the contract. 

B. Pre-Employment, Upgrade and On-the-Job Training 
1. Applicants must create at least 10 net new  

full-time permanent jobs in the state, unless upgrade training 
is involved. Upgrade training must be provided to a 
minimum of 10 full-time permanent employees. 

2. Participation in pre-employment training does not 
guarantee students a job upon completion of their training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§313. Application Procedure 

A. LED will provide a standard application form which 
applicants will use to apply for assistance. The application 
form will contain, but not be limited to, detailed descriptions 
of the following: 

1. an overview of the company, its history, and the 
business climate in which it operates; 

2. the company's overall training plan, including a 
summary of the types and amounts of training to be provided 
and a description of how the company determined its need 
for training; 

3. the specific training programs for which LED and 
LEDC assistance is requested, including descriptions of the 
methods, providers and costs of the proposed training;  

4. a fully developed business plan, with financial 
statements and projections; and 

5. any additional information LED or LEDC may 
require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664

(September 1999), LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§315. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to 
LED. Submitted applications will be reviewed and evaluated 
by LED staff. Input may be required fro m the applicant, 
other divisions of the Department of Economic 
Development, LEDC, and other state agencies as needed, in 
order to: 

1. evaluate the importance of the proposed training to 
the economic well-being of the state and local communities; 

2. identify the availability of existing training 
programs which could be adapted to meet the employer's 
needs; 

3. verify that the business will continue to operate 
during the period of the contract; and 

4. determine if the employer's training plan is cost 
effective. 

B. An economic cost-benefit analysis tailored to the 
applicant's request shall be conducted by LED to determine 
the net benefit to the state and/or local community of the 
proposed training award. The net benefit return to the state 
shall not exceed two years. 

C. Upon determination that an application meets the 
general principles, eligibility requirements, and criteria for 
this program, LED staff will then make a recommendation to 
LEDC; and LEDC will then review and either approve or 
reject the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§317. General Award Provisions 

A. Award Agreement 
1. An award agreement or contract will be executed 

between LEDC and the successful applicant-company. The 
contract will specify the performance objectives expected of 
the company and the compliance requirements to be 
enforced in exchange for state assistance, including, but not 
limited to, the time required for job training, job creation, 
and the achievement of employee salary levels to be reached 
by the company. 

2. LEDC will disburse funds to the company as 
provided by the award agreement or contract. 

3. LED will oversee the progress of the training and 
reimburse the company on the basis of cost reports certifying 
the amount expended by the company for the training of 
employees for which reimbursement is sought, submitted by 
the company on a form provided by LED. LED may request 
the company at any time and from time to time to submit 
additional or supporting information. 

4. Funds may be used for training programs extending 
up to two years in duration. 

5. Contracts issued under previous rules may be 
amended to reflect current regulations as of the date of the
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most recent change, upon request of the company, the 
recommendation of LED, and approval of LEDC. 

B. Funding 
1. The Louisiana Workforce Development and 

Training Program offers financial assistance in the form of a 
grant for reimbursement of eligible training costs specified 
in the award agreement. 

2. Eligible training costs may include the following: 
a. instruction costs: wages for company trainers and 

training coordinators, Louisiana public and/or private school 
tuition, contracts for vendor trainers, training seminars; 

b. travel costs: travel for trainers, training 
coordinators and trainees; 

c. materials and supplies costs: training texts and 
manuals, audio/visual materials, raw materials for 
manufacturer's training purposes only and computer based 
training (CBT) software; and 

d. other costs: when necessary for training, such as 
facility and/or equipment rental. 

3. Training costs ineligible for reimbursement include: 
a. trainee wages and fringe benefits; 
b. non-consumable tangible property [e.g., 

equipment, calculators, furniture, classroom fixtures, non-
computer based training (CBT) software], unless owned by a 
public training provider; 

c. out-of-state, publicly supported schools; 
d. employee handbooks; 
e. scrap produced during training; 
f. food, refreshments; and 
g. awards. 

4. Training activities eligible for funding consist of: 
a. company-specific skills: skills which are unique 

to a company's workplace, equipment and/or capital 
investment; 

b. quality standards skills: skills which are intended 
to increase the quality of a company’s products and/or 
services and ensure compliance with accepted international 
and industrial quality standards (e.g., ISO standards); and 

c. skills pertaining to instructional methods and 
techniques used by trainers (e.g., train-the-trainer activities). 

C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 
1. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis 

following submission of required documentation to LED by 
the company. Funds will not be available for reimbursement 
until a training agreement or contract between the company 
and LEDC has been executed. Only funds spent on the 
project after LEDC's approval will be considered eligible for 
reimbursement. However, reimbursements can be provided 
to the company only after final execution of a contract with 
LEDC. 

2. Companies will be eligible for reimbursement on a 
percentage of achieved performance objectives as provided 
in the contract, until all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives have been met. After the company 
has achieved all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives, any remaining unpaid portion of the 
grant award will be made available for reimbursement. 
Performance objectives shall be considered substantially 
achieved when LED and LEDC have determined that the

benefits to the state anticipated or expected as a result of the 
training project have been achieved, even though 100 
percent of all stated objectives of the award agreement (or 
contract) may not have been fully achieved. 

D. Compliance Requirements 
1. In order to be paid or reimbursed as provided by the 

contract, companies shall be required to complete and 
submit to LED Cost Reports certifying the amount expended 
by the company for the training of employees for which 
reimbursement is sought, along with progress reports 
describing the company’s progress toward the performance 
objectives specified in its contract with LEDC. Such 
progress reports shall include a review and certification of 
the company’s hiring records (with copies of the company’s 
quarterly Dept. of Labor ES -4 Form filings to be attached), 
and the extent of the company's compliance with contract 
employment commitments. Further, LED shall oversee the 
timely submission of reporting requirements by the 
company. 

2. The termination of employees during the contract 
period who have received program-funded training shall be 
for documented cause only, which shall include voluntary 
termination. 

3. In the event a company fails to meet its 
performance objectives specified in its contract , LEDC shall 
retain the right to withhold award funds, modify the terms 
and conditions of the award, and/or to reclaim disbursed 
funds from the company in an amount commensurate with 
the scope of the unmet performance objectives and the 
foregone benefits to the state, as determined by LED and on 
the recommendation of the secretary. Reclamation shall not 
begin unless LED has determined, with the concurrence of 
LEDC, after an analysis of the benefits of the training 
project to the state and the unmet performance objectives, 
that the state has not satisfactorily or adequately been 
compensated for its costs through the benefits provided by 
the training project. 

4. In the event a company knowingly files a false 
statement in its application or in a progress report, the 
company may be guilty of the offense of filing false public 
records, and may be subject to the penalty provided for in 
R.S. 14:133. 

5. LEDC shall retain the right, for itself, for the 
Legislative Auditor, for the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, and for LED, to require and/or conduct 
financial and performance audits of a project, including all 
relevant records and documents of the company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§319. Contract Monitoring 

A. All monitoring will be done by LED. A portion of the 
fiscal year’s appropriation, up to five percent or a maximum
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of $200,000.00, may be used by LED to fund monitoring 
costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:405, LR 25:1664 
(September 1999), LR 26:244 (February 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29: 
§321. Conflicts of Interest 

A. No member of Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation (LEDC), employee thereof, or employee of the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development (LED), 
nor members of their immediate families, shall either 
directly or indirectly be a party to or be in any manner 
interested in any contract or agreement with either the 
corporation or the department for any matter, cause, or thing 
whatsoever by reason whereof any liability or indebtedness 
shall in any way be created against such corporation or 
department. If any contract or agreement shall be made in 
violation of the provisions of this Section, the same shall be 
null and void, and no action shall be maintained thereon 
against either the corporation or the department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29: 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0302#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.301, 701, 805, 1703, and 1705) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the Rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs (R.S. 17:3021-3026. R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1). 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating Rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. The commission has, therefore, 
determined that this Emergency Rule is necessary in order to 
prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the 
affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective February 7, 
2003, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

* * * 
Program Year (Non-Academic Program)Cthe schedule of 

semesters or terms during a year leading to a vocational or 
technical education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree for such programs offered by eligible 
colleges and universities, beginning with the fall semester or 
term, including the winter term, if applicable, and 
concluding with the spring semester or term or the 
equivalent schedule at an institution which operates on units 
other than semesters or terms. Enrollment in a summer term, 
semester or session is not required to maintain eligibility for 
an award. 

Qualified Summer SessionCthose summer sessions for 
which the student’s institution certifies that: 

1. the summer session is required in the student's 
degree program for graduation and the student enrolled for at 
least the minimum number of hours required for the degree 
program for the session; or  

2. the student can complete his program's graduation 
requirements in the summer session; or  

3. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
required for graduation in the program in which the student 
is enrolled and is only offered during the summer session; or  

4. the course(s) taken during the summer session is in 
a program for a vocational or technical education certificate 
or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate degree. 

* * *  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
24:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 
(April 1999), LR 25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 
(October 1999), LR 26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), 
LR26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1601 (July 2000), LR 26:1993, 
1999 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 
(December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 
2001), LR 27:1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 
2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 
28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 2002), LR 29. 
LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§701. General Provisions  
A. - E.1. ... 

2. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each Academic Year (College) and 
Program Year (Non-academic Program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an 
Eligible College or University, for a period not to exceed 
eight semesters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, 12 
quarters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which
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operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
Qualified Summer Session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

3. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual 
stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each Academic Year (College) and each 
Program Year (Non-academic Program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an 
Eligible College or University, for a period not to exceed 
eight semesters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, 
twelve quarters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
Qualified Summer Session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

E.4. - 5.a. ... 
b. In a program for a vocational or technical 

education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree receive an amount equal to the 
Average Award Amount (TOPS-Tech), as defined in §301, 
plus any applicable stipend, prorated by two semesters, three 
quarters, or equivalent units in each Program Year (Non-
academic Program). The stipend will be paid for each 
Qualified Summer Session, semester, quarter, term or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight  semester limit for TOPS. 

E.6. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 
25:256 (February 1999) LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 
(June 2000), LR 26: 1995, 2000 (September 2000), repromulgated 
LR 27:1848 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintai ning Eligibility 

A.- A.4. ... 
5. continue to enroll and accept the TECH award as a 

full-time student in an eligible college or university defined 
in §301, and maintain an enrolled status throughout the 
Program Year (Non-Academic Program), unless granted an 
exception for cause by LASFAC; and 

A.6. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998) LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:68 
(January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29: 

Chapter 17. Responsibi lities of High Schools, School 
Boards, Special School Governing 
Boards, the Louisiana Department of 
Education and LASFAC on Behalf of 
Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools 

§1703. High School’s Certification of Student 
Achievement 

A. Responsibility for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
responsibility for the identification and certification of high 
school graduates who meet the academic qualifications for a 
TOPS award is as follows: 

a.  the principal or the principal’s designee for 
public high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school;  

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an  
out-of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), responsibility for the submission and certification 
of courses attempted and the grades earned for high school 
graduates is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal’s designee for 
public high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school; 

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an out-
of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

3. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
certify to LASFAC the names of students who are enrolled 
in and have completed all mandatory requirements through 
the twelfth grade level of a state-approved home study 
program. 

B. Procedures for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance  

1.a. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
the responsible high school authority shall record student 
performance on the form provided by LASFAC or in an 
electronic format pre -approved by LASFAC. The 
certification form shall be completed, certified and returned 
to LASFAC by the deadline specified on the form. 

b. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year 
(High School), the responsible high school authority shall 
submit the required student information in a standard 
electronic format approved by LASFAC. 

2.a. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
the certification form shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
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 i. student’s name, address, phone number and 
social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. final cumulative high school grade point 
average for all courses attempted, converted to a maximum 
4.00 scale, if applicable (Note: Beginning with students 
graduating in 2002-2003, the cumulative high school grade 
point average will be calculated by using only grades 
obtained in completing the core curriculum.); and  
 iv. through the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended;. After the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived.  

b. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year 
(High School), certification shall contain, but is not limited 
to, the following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name and social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. the course code for each course completed; 
 iv. the grade for each course completed; 
 v. the grading scale for each course reported; and 
 vi. through the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

3. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
the responsible high school authority shall certify to 
LASFAC the final cumulative high school grade point 
average of each applicant and that average shall be inclusive 
of grades for all courses attempted and shall be computed 
and reported on a maximum 4.00 grading scale. 

a. The following grading conversion shall be used 
to report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point 
average: 
 i. letter grade A = 4 quality points; 
 ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points; 
 iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points; 
 iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point. 

b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points 
for a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 
4.00 scale using the formula described in the example that 
follows. (In this example, the school awards one extra 
quality point for an honors course.) 
 i. Example: an applicant earned a C in an Honors 
English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 possible 
quality points that could have been awarded for the course. 
 ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 
4.00 maximum scale, the following formula must be used. 

 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00
Points)Quality  (Converted X

 = 
Course the for Possible Points Maximum

Course the for Awarded PointsQuality  

 

4.00
X

=
5.00
3.00

 
 

By cross multiplying, 
 

2.40 = X 12; = 5X  
 

 iii. In this example, the quality points for this 
Honors English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when 
the school calculates and reports the student's cumulative 
high school grade point average. 

4. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), LASFAC shall determine whether high school 
graduates have completed the core curriculum and compute 
the TOPS Cumulative High School Grade Point Average for 
each such graduate using a maximum 4.00 grading scale. 
Grades awarded on other than a maximum 4.00 scale shall 
be converted to a maximu m 4.00 scale. 

C. Certifying 1998 Graduates for the TOPS Performance 
Award. 1998 Graduates who are ranked in the top 5 percent 
of their graduating class in accordance with §1703 shall be 
credited with having completed the core curriculum for 
purposes of the TOPS; however, only those meeting the 
following criteria shall be eligible for the Performance 
Award by LASFAC: 

1. those students who have attained a final cumulative 
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00 
maximum scale; and 

2. an ACT score of at least 23. 
D. Certification. 

1. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
the high school headmaster or principal or designee shall 
certify that: 

a. all data supplied on the certification form are true 
and correct, to the best of his knowledge or belief, and that 
they reflect the official records of the school for the students 
listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASFAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

c. the school under the principal’s jurisdiction shall 
reimburse LASFAC for the amount of a program award 
which was disbursed on behalf of a graduate of the school, 
when it is subsequently determined by audit that the school 
incorrectly certified the graduate. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), the submission of the required data by the high 
school headmaster or principal or designee shall constitute a 
certification that: 

a. all data reported are true and correct, to the best 
of his knowledge or belief, and that they reflect the official 
records of the school for the students listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

3. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), if a student is determined to be eligible for a TOPS 
Award based on data that is incorrect and the student was in 
fact ineligible for a TOPS Award or the level awarded, the 
high school must reimburse LASFAC for the amount paid in 
excess of what the student was eligible for.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR
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24:643 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1912 (October 1998), LR 
25:258 (February 1999), LR 26:1998 (September 2000), LR 
26:2269 (October 2000), LR 27:1863 (November 2001), LR 29: 
§1705. Notification of Certified Students 

A. High schools are required to present a certificate of 
achievement during the graduation ceremony or other school 
reception to students qualifying as recipients of TOPS 
Performance and Honors Awards. 

B. High schools are required to invite members of the 
Louisiana Legislature representing the school’s district to 
attend the ceremony or reception and to make the 
presentation awarding the endorsed certificates of 
achievement. 

C.1. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), if 
the certifying authority elects to notify students of their 
certification, then the following disclaimer shall be included 
in any communication to the student: "Although you have 
been certified as academically eligible for a Tuition 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must 
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program: 

a. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission; and 

b. you must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana college and be registered as a full-time 
undergraduate student; and 

c. you must annually apply for federal student aid, 
if eligible for such aid, by the deadline required for 
consideration for state aid; and 

d. you must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC)." 

2. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), if the certifying authority elects to notify students 
of their potential eligibility for an award, then the following 
disclaimer shall be included in any communication to the 
student: "Although it appears that you have satisfied the 
academic requirements for a Tuition Opportunity Program 
for Students (TOPS) Award based on this school's review of 
the core curriculum courses you have completed and 
calculation of your TOPS Cumulative High School Grade 
Point Average, you must satisfy all of the following 
conditions to redeem a scholarship under this program: 

a. the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC) must determine that you have in 
fact completed the TOPS core curriculum courses; 

b. LASFAC must determine that your TOPS 
Cumulative High School Grade Point Average based on the 
TOPS core curriculum meets the statutory requirements; 

c. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
LASFAC; 

d. you must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana postsecondary institution and be 
registered as a full-time undergraduate student no later than 
the next semester following the first anniversary of your 
graduation from high school;  

e. you must apply for federal student aid, if eligible 
for such aid, by the deadline required for consideration for 
consideration for state and; and 

f. you must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by LASFAC." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:644 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1913 (October 1998), 
repromulgated LR 27:1864 (November 2001), LR 29: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0302#004 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Interest Rates (LAC 28:VI.315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend Rules of the 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START 
Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091-3099.2). 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance to effectively 
administer these programs. A delay in promulgating Rules 
would have an adverse impact on the financial welfare of the 
eligible students and the financial condition of their families. 
The authority has, therefore, determined that this Emergency 
Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent financial 
peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective February 7, 
2003, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - B.6. ... 
7. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 
interest rate of 5.82 percent. 

8. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 
Earnings Enhancements Fund earned an interest rate of 5.91 
percent. 

C. - R. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), amended LR 26:1263 
(June 2000), repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended 
LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 
28:1761 (August 2002), LR 28:2335 (November 2002), LR 29: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0303#004 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 273 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Commercial Laboratories Pending Accreditation 
(LAC 33:I.4501 and 4719)(OS039E4) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.B of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish rules, and of R.S. 30:2011 and R.S. 
30:2074, which allows the department to establish standards, 
guidelines, and criteria, to promulgate rules and regulations, 
and to issue compliance schedules, the secretary of the 
department hereby finds that imminent peril to the public 
welfare exists and accordingly adopts the following 
Emergency Rule. 

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule OS039E3, which 
was effective November 11, 2002. The department has 
begun rulemaking (Log #OS039) to promulgate this 
regulation. OS039 is expected to be a final regulation on 
March 20, 2003. 

The department relies on analytical data submitted both 
directly and indirectly to the department to determine 
compliance with both state and federal regulations. As a 
result of deadlines established in current Louisiana 
regulations, the department is prohibited from accepting data 
from commercial laboratories that have not received 
departmental accreditation. This Rule will allow the 
department to accept data from laboratories that have 
submitted complete applications and supporting documents, 
have submitted documentation verifying 
certification/accreditation by a department-approved 
accreditation program or supporting documentation showing 
the quality assurance and quality control program used to 
generate analytical data by the laboratory, and have paid all 
appropriate fees. A finding of imminent peril to public 
health, safety, and welfare is based on the inability to accept 
and review analytical data. Furthermore, the environmental 
analytical laboratory industry could suffer a loss of jobs. 

The department is adding an exemption for personnel 
monitoring services and those activities specifically licensed 
in accordance with LAC 33:XV.Chapter 3.Subchapter B, 
equivalent agreement state regulations, and the Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission regulations, Title 10 Code of 
Federal Regulations, due to the fact that they are licensed 
under other department regulations and to prevent an 
additional economic burden and duplication of effort by the 
department. 

The department relies on the analytical data to determine 
permit compliance, enforcement issues, and effectiveness of 
remediation of soils and groundwater. Permit issuance and 
compliance are effective means of determining the impact on 
human health and the environment. The department must 
have access to accurate, reliable, precise analytical data in 
order to meet its mandate to protect human health and the 
environment. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on March 11, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until the 
final Rule OS039 is promulgated, whichever occurs first. 
For more information concerning OS039E4, you may 
contact the Regulation Development Section at (225)  
765-0399. 

Title 33 
Environmental Quality 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 

Chapter 45. Policy and Intent 
§4501. Description and Intent of Program 

A. - D. … 
E. This Subpart shall not apply to the following: 

1. laboratory analyses programs accredited under the 
regulatory and statutory authority of the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals; and 

2. personnel monitoring services in accordance with 
LAC 33:XV.430.C and to those activities specifically 
licensed in accordance with LAC 33:XV.Chapter 
3.Subchapter B, equivalent agreement state regulations, and 
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission regulations, Title 10 
Code of Federal Regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:917 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1434 (July 2000), LR 
29:312 (March 2003).  
Chapter 47. Program Requirements 
§4719. Implementation 

A. - B. … 
C. The department will accept analytical data generated 

by laboratories that do not comply with the deadlines 
established in Subsection B of this Section for accreditation 
if such laboratories: 

1. have submitted a complete application form and 
supporting documents; 

2. have submitted documentation verifying 
certification/accreditation by a department-approved 
accreditation program or supporting documentation showing 
the quality assurance and quality control program used to 
generate analytical data by the laboratory; and  

3. have paid appropriate fees. 
D. These regulations shall not apply to field tests as 

defined in LAC 33:I.4503. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:922 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), LR 
29:312 (March 2003). 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0303#067 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Postponement of Permit Deadline  
for Oil and Gas Construction Activities 

(LAC 33:IX.2341)(WQ047E) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.B of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allow 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish Rules, and of R. S. 30:2011 and 
2074, which allow the department to establish standards, 
guidelines, and criteria, to promulgate rules and regulations, 
and to issue compliance schedules, the secretary of the 
department hereby declares that an emergency action is 
necessary in order to implement the Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) Rule to postpone until March 10, 
2005, the permit authorization deadline for National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) storm 
water permits for oil and gas related construction activity 
that disturbs one to five acres of land. 

This Emergency Rule will allow operators at construction 
sites related to oil and gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operations, or transmission facilities 
that disturb equal to or greater than one acre and less than 
five acres of land to legally conduct those construction 
activities without being permitted until the regulations found 
at LAC 33:IX.2341 can be revised to incorporate the new 
March 10, 2005, federal permit authorization deadline for 
those construction activities. The Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Services 
(previously known as the Office of Water Resources) 
became the NPDES permit issuing authority for the State of 
Louisiana on August 27, 1996. An Emergency Rule is 
necessary in order to comply with federal regulations that 
require the Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (LPDES) program to be consistent with the EPA 
NPDES program. Accordingly, the department adopts the 
following Emergency Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on March 10, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For more 
information concerning WQ047E you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 765-0399.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality  
Chapter 23. The LPDES Program 
Subchapter B. Permit Application and Special LPDES 

Program Requirements 
§2341. Storm Water Discharges 

A. - E.7.c. … 
8. Any storm water discharge associated with small 

construction activity identified in Subparagraph B.15.a of 
this Section, other than discharges associated with small 
construction activity at oil and gas exploration, production, 
process, and treatment operations or transmission facilities,

requires permit authorization by March 10, 2003, unless 
designated for coverage before then. Discharges associated 
with small construction activity at such oil and gas sites 
require permit authorization by March 10, 2005. 

E.9 - G.4.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074.B.(3) and B.(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:957 (August 1997), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 26:2273 (October 2000), LR 26:2552 
(November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:40 (January 2001), 
amended LR 28:467 (March 2002), LR 29:  

 
L. Hall Bohlinger  
Secretary 

0303#066 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Public Notification of Contamination  
(LAC 33:I.Chapter 1)(OS042E2) 

In accordance with the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B, and under the 
authority of R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the Department of 
Environmental Quality declares that an emergency action is 
necessary to comply with the Governor's October 1, 2001, 
Executive Order No. MJF 2001-46, entitled "Environmental 
Contamination Notification." The order states, "the health, 
safety, and welfare of the people of Louisiana would be 
improved, and the government would better fulfill its public 
trust obligations, if those executive branch agencies notified 
people who may be exposed to environmental contamination 
when such agency has sound scientific knowledge of 
environmental contamination that exceeds the applicable 
federal and state health standards and that may cause adverse 
health effects." 

This Emergency Rule is effective on March 7, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. This is a 
renewal of Emergency Rule OS042E1, which was effective 
on November 7, 2002. The department is drafting a Rule to 
promulgate these provisions. For more information 
concerning OS042E2, you may contact the Regulation 
Development Section at (225) 765-0399. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 1. Public Notification of Contamination 
§101. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to establish 
requirements for notifying those members of the public that 
the department determines are likely to be adversely affected 
by a release.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 275 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 
§103. Definitions  

Administrative AuthorityCthe secretary of the Department 
of Environmental Quality or his designee or the appropriate 
assistant secretary or his designee.  

Applicable Federal or State Health and Safety 
StandardCsuch standards the department, based on its 
knowledge and expertise, determines are applicable to the 
release site.  

DepartmentCthe Department of Environmental Quality. 
Offsite—areas beyond the property boundary of the release 

site. 
PersonCany individual, municipality, public or private 

corporation, partnership, firm, the State of Louisiana, 
political subdivisions of the State of Louisiana, the United 
States government, and any agent or subdivision thereof or 
any other juridical person, which shall include, but not be 
limited to, trusts, joint stock companies, associations, 
commissions, and interstate bodies. 

ReleaseCthe accidental or intentional spilling, leaking, 
pumping, pouring, emitting, escaping, leaching, or dumping 
of hazardous substances or other pollutants into or on any 
land, air, water, or groundwater. A release shall not include a 
federal or state permitted release or other release authorized 
by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 
§105. Notification Requirements 

A. Notice shall be provided when the department 
confirms off-site impact that exceeds the applicable federal 
or state health and safety standard and the department 
determines that the off-site impact poses a risk of adverse 
health effects. 

B. The department shall issue notice of a release to 
persons, within the area of contamination, where the 
department determines that the release poses a risk of 
adverse health effects. 

C. The public notice shall be provided by means 
reasonably calculated to reach those members of the public 
directly affected by the release, as determined by the 
department, and shall provide information regarding 
potential adverse health effects posed by the contamination, 
as determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0303#065 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsC Employer Responsibility 
 (LAC 32:V.417) 

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with 
the responsibility for administration of the programs of 
benefits authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of 
Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the 
power to adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, 
OGB, hereby invokes the Emergency Rule provisions of La 
R. S. 49:953(B). 

OGB finds that it is necessary to revise and amend 
provisions of the EPO Plan Document relative to employer 
responsibility with respect to re-employed retirees. This 
action is necessary to avoid sanctions or penalties from the 
United States in connection with the administration of claims 
for Medicare covered retirees who return to active 
employment. Accordingly, the following Emergency Rule, 
revising and amending the EPO Plan of Benefits, is effective 
March 1, 2003, and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 
120 days, or until the final Rule is promulgated, which ever 
occurs first. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation on behalf of its employees to the program. 
Employees of a participant employer will not by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to the program on behalf of a 
plan member, be considered agents of the program, and no 
representation made by any such person at any time will 
change the provisions of this plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform the 
OGB Program whenever a retiree with OGB coverage 
returns to full-time employment. The employee shall be 
placed in the re-employed retiree category for premium 
calculation. The re-employed retiree premium classification 
applies to retirees with Medicare and without Medicare. The 
premium rates applicable to the re-employed retiree 
premium classification shall be identical to the premium 
rates applicable to the classification for retirees without 
Medicare. 

C. Any participant employer that receives a Medicare 
Secondary Payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the Office of Group Benefits, 
MSP Adjuster, within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded 
to OGB, then OGB will assume responsibility for any 
medical benefits, interest, fines or penalties due to Medicare 
for a covered employee. If not timely forwarded to OGB,



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 276 

then OGB will assume responsibility only for covered plan 
document medical benefits due to Medicare, for a covered 
employee. The participant employer will be responsible for 
any interest, fines or penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), LR 29: 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#021 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of BenefitsC Employer Responsibility  
(LAC 32:III.417) 

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with 
the responsibility for administration of the programs of 
benefits authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of 
Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the 
power to adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, 
OGB, hereby invokes the Emergency Rule provisions of 
R.S. 49:953(B). 

OGB finds that it is necessary to revise and amend 
provisions of the PPO Plan Document relative to employer 
responsibility with respect to re-employed retirees. This 
action is necessary to avoid sanctions or penalties from the 
United States in connection with the administration of claims 
for Medicare covered retirees who return to active 
employment. Accordingly, the following Emergency Rule, 
revising and amending the PPO Plan of Benefits, is effective 
March 1, 2003, and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 
120 days, or until the final Rule is promulgated, which ever 
occurs first. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation on behalf of its employees to the program. 
Employees of a participant employer will not by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to the program on behalf of a 
plan member, be considered agents of the program, and no 
representation made by any such person at any time will 
change the provis ions of this plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform the 
OGB Program whenever a retiree with OGB coverage 
returns to full-time employment. The employee shall be 
placed in the re-employed retiree category for premium 
calculation. The re-employed retiree premium classification 
applies to retirees with Medicare and without Medicare. The 
premium rates applicable to the re-employed retiree 
premium classification shall be identical to the premium 

rates applicable to the classification for retirees without 
Medicare. 

C. Any participant employer that receives a Medicare 
Secondary Payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the Office of Group Benefits, 
MSP Adjuster, within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded 
to OGB, then OGB will assume responsibility for any 
medical benefits, interest, fines or penalties due to Medicare 
for a covered employee. If not timely forwarded to OGB, 
then OGB will assume responsibility only for covered plan 
document medical benefits due to Medicare, for a covered 
employee. The participant employer will be responsible for 
any interest, fines or penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), LR 29: 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#022 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of State Purchasing 

Procurement of Computer Equipment and Services  
(LAC 34:I.Chapter 55) 

The Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend, 
repeal and adopt additional Rules in Chapter 55 on 
Procurement of Computer Equipment and Services under the 
authority of R.S. 39:199.C and D. The Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing, hereby finds that these Rules are necessary to 
establish guidelines for Information Technology 
procurement activities to realize potential savings 
considering the current financial conditions of the state, and 
accordingly finds it imperative that the rules be implemented 
as soon as possible. These Rules shall become effective upon 
publication, March 20, 2003, for 120 days, or until 
promulgation of the final Rules, whichever occurs first.  

These Rules will amend Rules relative to the purchase and 
lease of computer hardware and software; the procurement 
of hardware maintenance, software maintenance, and 
software support services; and the procedures for 
Procurement Support Team operations. 

Further, the Office of State Purchasing proposes to repeal 
Rules relative to Emergency Procurement of Data 
Processing Equipment; Guidelines for Justification of  
Multi-Year Data Processing Leases; Unscheduled 
Maintenance of Data Processing Equipment; Procedures for 
Disposing of Leased, Rented or Purchased Data Processing 
Equipment; and Equipment Specifications in Solicitations, 
LAC 34:I.Appendix A.1-9:5, 1-9:6 and 1-9:7, 1-9:9, and 1-
9:12, respectively. 

The Office of the State Register will also renumber LAC 
34:I.Appendix A to meet the APA mandate of prescribing "a
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uniform system of indexing, numbering, arrangement of text 
and citation of authority and history notes for the Louisiana 
Administrative Code." The following table should clarify the 
renumbering effort. 

 
Former Section Number  

under Appendix A  
New Section Number 

New Material 5501 
1-9:3 5503 
1-9:4 5505, 5507, 5509, 5511 
1-9:5 Repealed 
1-9:6 Repealed 
1-9:7 Repealed 
1-9:8 5513 
1-9:9 Repealed 
1-9:12 Repealed 

 
Title 34 

GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 
AND PROPERTY CONTROL 

Part I.  Purchasing 
Chapter 55. Procedures for Information Technology 

Hardware, Software, Software 
Maintenance and Support Services, and 
Hardware Maintenance  

§5501. General 
A. This Chapter describes the procedures that all 

agencies in the executive branch must follow for the 
procurement of Information Technology Hardware, 
Software, Software Maintenance and Support Services, and 
Hardware Maintenance. Situations not covered by these 
rules may be found in the general statutes and rules and 
regulations of the Procurement Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 29: 
§5503. Procedures for Procurement of Information 

Technology Hardware 
A. This Section describes the information that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must furnish when seeking 
approval of the Office of State Purchasing for the 
procurement of information technology hardware including 
installation with a cost exceeding the agency's delegated 
purchasing authority. Information technology hardware, for 
the purpose of this Section, is defined as any electronic data 
processing device including but not limited to central 
processing units, memory, peripheral devices, unit record 
equipment, data communications equipment, mini-
computers and peripherals, graphics equipment including 
digitizers and plotters, optical scanning equipment, and 
shared logic word processing equipment, printers, 
multifunctional devices, and scanners. Equipment that does 
not fit into any of the above categories will be handled on a 
case-by-case basis and the agency must contact the Office of 
State Purchasing for a ruling on the justification required. 

B. This Section does not apply to acquisitions from State 
Brand Name Contracts. Terms and conditions for Brand 
Name Contracts may contain additional procedures that an 
agency must follow. However an approved IT-10 is needed 
for all IT procurements in excess of $100,000. 

C.1. For requests not covered by an existing contract, the 
following should be provided to the Office of State 
Purchasing to avoid delays in approval: 

a. a general description of the mission to be 
accomplished using the requested equipment; 

b. a detailed list of the proposed equipment, 
including quantities and estimated costs for lease, purchase, 
rental, maintenance, etc; 

c. an approved IT-10 form with all requests for 
procurements in excess of $100,000. 

2. The Office of State Purchasing may require 
additional information or justification, as it deems 
appropriate for any particular procurement request. 

D. Each agency contemplating a procurement greater 
than the agency's delegated purchasing authority shall, upon 
definition of the preliminary functional requirements, submit 
a draft solicitation to the Office of State Purchasing. If the 
procurement exceeds $100,000, the Office of State 
Purchasing shall schedule a Procurement Support Team 
(PST) meeting. The Procurement Support Team participation 
may include assistance in finalizing the solicitation. The 
Procurement Support Team participation must include, as a 
minimum, assistance in evaluation of bids or proposals and 
negotiations of contract terms (if applicable). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 
§5505. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software 
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software. 

B. Information technology software, for the purpose of 
this Section is defined as any program or series of programs 
offered commercially to computer installations. 

C. If the cost of the information technology software 
including modifications, installation integration, training for 
the total project plus maintenance and support services , for a 
12 month period to be acquired is under $100,000, it is 
deemed to have the advance approval of the Office of State 
Purchasing and shall not be for a price greater than the 
vendor's published price. 

1. The agency must include in the procurement file a 
list of all known information technology software packages 
investigated which claim to accomplish the required task. 
Name each investigated, its total cost, and the rationale for 
selection or rejection.  

2. The Office of State Purchasing will assist any 
agency in the negotiation of contract agreements and any 
other procurement related functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology software (including modifications, installation 
integration, training, etc.), with a total cost greater than 
$100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology
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software with a total cost in excess of $100,000 must fully 
justify its request to the Office of Information Technology 
and obtain concurrence prior to submission to the Office of 
State Purchasing for further processing. 

2. Information technology software procurements of 
$100,000 or greater will be competitively obtained through 
and ITB, RFP or through an OIT pricing agreement 
administered by the Office of State Purchasing. 

3. Information technology software procurements of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

4. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumv ent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 
§5507. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Hardware Maintenance  
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology hardware maintenance. 

B. For purposes of this Section, information technology 
hardware maintenance consists of remedial maintenance, 
preventative maintenance, replacement parts, labor and 
engineering changes necessary to keep information 
technology hardware in good working condition. 

C. Procurements for information technology hardware 
maintenance under $100,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advanced approval 
from the Office of State Purchasing and shall not be for a 
price greater then the vendor’s published price. The Office 
of State Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation 
of contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology hardware maintenance with a total cost greater 
than $100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Information technology hardware maintenance over 
$100,000 may be procured non-competitively from the 
original equipment manufacturer (OEM) if the maintenance 
is for mission critical equipment (such as mainframes, 
mainframe peripherals, enterprise servers, or network 
backbone components). The agency must submit a letter of 
justification signed by the head of the agency or his designee 
to the Office of State Purchasing.  

2. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology 
hardware maintenance with a total cost in excess of 
$100,000 must fully justify its request to the Office of 
Information Technology and obtain concurrence prior to 
submission to the Office of State Purchasing for further 
processing. 

3. Information technology hardware maintenance not 
covered in Paragraph D.1 must be competitively procured 
through the Consulting and Support Services Agreement 
(CSSA), Invitation to Bid (ITB), or Request for Proposal 
(RFP) process. 

4. Information technology hardware maintenance of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

5. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 
§5509. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software Maintenance  
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software maintenance. 

B. For the purposes of this Section, information 
technology software maintenance includes on-site, telephone 
and/or on-line troubleshooting, installation assistance, basic 
usability assistance, etc. Information technology software 
products and technologies to be covered include operating 
systems, application software and systems, application 
software, and systems and network management software, 
tools and utilities. 

C. Procurements for information technology software 
maintenance under $100,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advanced approval 
from the Office of State Purchasing and shall not be for a 
price greater then the vendor’s published price. The Office 
of State Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation 
of contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology software maintenance with a total cost greater 
than $100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology 
software maintenance with a total cost in excess of $100,000 
must fully justify its request to the Office of Information 
Technology and obtain concurrence prior to submission to 
the Office of State Purchasing for further processing. 

2. Information technology software maintenance in 
which the software vendor is the only authorized entity to 
provide product fixes, patches, updates, or upgrades can 
continue to be handled non-competitively in accordance with 
R.S. 39:199.D. A letter from the information technology 
software vendor substantiating the above information is 
required. 

3. Any other type of information technology software 
maintenance not covered in Paragraphs D.1 or D.2 must be 
competitively procured through the Consulting and Support 
Services Agreement (CSSA), Invitation to Bid (ITB) or 
Request for Proposal (RFP) process. 

4. Information technology software maintenance with 
a cost of $100,000 or greater must have been included in an 
approved IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

5. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 
§5511.  Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software Support Services 
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software support services.  

B. For purposes of this Section, information technology 
software support services include capacity planning, 
performance analysis, on-site troubleshooting, custom 
modifications, etc. 

C. Procurements for information technology software 
support services under $50,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advance approval 
of the Office of State Purchasing. The Office of State 
Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation of 
contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 

D. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $50,000 threshold. 

E. Information technology software support services of 
$50,000 or greater must be procured using the Consulting 
and Support Services Agreement (CSSA) or the Request for 
Proposal (RFP) process in accordance with R.S. 39:1481 et 
seq. (Office of Contractual Review). 

F. Information technology software support services of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

G. It is the state’s intent to compete information 
technology software support services with a total cost of 
$50,000 or greater whenever possible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199D 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February, 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 
§5513. Procurement Support Team Operations 

A. Procurement Support Team Composition 
1. A Procurement Support Team (PST) shall be 

formed in accordance with the procedures defined herein for 
every information technology contract in an amount 
$100,000 or greater for the procurement of information 
technology hardware, hardware maintenance, software, 
software maintenance, and software support services. All 
contracts shall be subject to the review and approval of other 
agencies as required by statute or regulations. Purchase 
release orders issued pursuant to a Direct Order Contract or 
a Brand Name Contract shall not constitute a contract for 
purposes of these procedures. The formation of a 
Procurement Support Team shall be accomplished by the 
Office of State Purchasing and shall include one or more 
representatives from each of the following: the Office of 
State Purchasing; the Legislative Legal Staff; the using 
agency initiating the procurement action; and the Legislative 
Fiscal Office. The Office of Information Technology will 
provide technical staff to assist the Office of State 
Purchasing and the Procurement Support Team.  

2. At least two members of each Procurement Support 
Team shall have formal training in contract negotiations. The 
Legislative Fiscal Officer, the speaker of the House of 
Representatives and the president of the Senate (jointly), and 
the head of the Purchasing Agency (or his designee), shall 
each designate in writing to the Office of State Purchasing 
the names of a primary and an alternate team member. It 
shall be the responsibility of each named agency to keep the 
Office of State Purchasing advised of any changes in 
designated individuals. 

3. The individual agencies represented on 
procurement support teams will have the following primary 
responsibilities. These responsibilities may be enlarged or 
modified as appropriate to each given situation by the 
procurement support team leader with the concurrence of the 
Office of State Purchasing. 

a. Legislative Fiscal Office. The Legislative Fiscal 
Office shall have the primary responsibility for the analysis 
of solicitations and review of funding procedures and 
certification of specific appropriation for the purpose prior to 
the final contract award. 

b. Legislative Legal Staff. The Legislative Legal 
Staff shall have the primary responsibility for developing the 
legal terms and conditions of draft contracts, evaluating the 
legal impact of substantive terms and conditions, review to 
ensure compliance with statutes and regulations, and legal 
negotiations. 

c. Office of State Purchasing. The Office of State 
Purchasing shall have primary responsibility for insuring 
compliance with procurement procedures  and regulations, 
the drafting of solicitations, and the evaluation of bids and 
proposals.  

d. The Procuring Agency. The procuring agency 
shall have primary responsibility for the determination of 
compliance of bids or proposals with the functional 
require ments, and for all management decisions at each 
phase of the procurement process. 

4. The Office of Information Technology shall provide 
technical staff to assist the Office of State Purchasing and 
the Procurement Support Team. They shall provide advice 
and support in the area of information technology 
techniques, negotiation techniques, developing the structure 
and content of solicitations, and evaluation of bids or 
proposals, as requested by the Office of State Purchasing. 

B. Procurement Support Team Involvement. The 
Procurement Support Team participation may include 
assistance in finalizing the solicitation. Procurement Support 
Team participation must include, as a minimum, assistance 
in evaluation of bids and proposals, and negotiations of 
contract terms (if applicable). Assistance shall consist of 
reviewing the evaluation process and recommendation of 
award. Procurements requiring this level of support will 
involve the active participation of all of the members of the 
Procurement Support Team as a unit. 

1. The Office of State Purchasing, pursuant to the 
guidelines established therein, shall be responsible for 
convening a Procurement Support Team if the procurement 
is $100,000 or greater. The Office of State Purchasing will 
designate the team leader. 

2. At least four members, one from each office 
designated, must be present to constitute a quorum. 
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3. There will be at least one meeting during the 
procurement process. Each member of the Procurement 
Support Team must assist in the evaluation of bids or 
proposals, and negotiation of contracts (if applicable). The 
Procurement Support Team will make written evaluations 
and recommendations as a group; these will not supplant 
written individual agency approvals as required by statute or 
regulations. This review must be indicated by the signature 
of each team member on the Procurement Support Team 
review form, which is maintained by the Office of State 
Purchasing. In the event a team member indicates 
acceptance or concurrence of any activity, and the team 
member's agency subsequently refuses to approve the 
process pursuant to its statutorily required review, the 
reviewing agency and the individual team member must 
submit to the team leader written reasons for their actions. 
The team leader shall file these documents in the final 
activity file. 

4. In situations where formal negotiations with 
prospective vendors or a successful bidder or proposer are 
appropriate, such negotiations will be conducted by a 
negotiation team appointed by the Procurement Support 
Team leader. One member of the negotiating team will be 
designated as lead negotiator. The results of such 
negotiations will, of course, be subject to all statutorily 
required reviews. The lead negotiator and at least one other 
member of the negotiating team should have formal training 
in contract negotiations. 

5. After the procurement process has been completed, 
one copy of the documentation related to the procurement 
will be retained on file by the Office of State Purchasing. 

6. The Office of State Purchasing shall have final 
statutory approval.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77, (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29: 

 
Denise Lea 
Director 

0303#062 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Vagus Nerve Stimulators 

(LAC 50:XVII.Chapter 136) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage for durable medical equipment and supplies under 
the Medicaid Program. All medical equipment, appliances 
and supplies must be prior authorized to determine medical 
necessity. In concurrence with the recommendations of the 
Medical Practices Committee, the bureau established 
medical necessity criteria for the prior authorization of vagus 
nerve stimulators (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 
12). Vagus nerve stimulators (VNS) are implantable devices 
used to assist in the control of seizures related to epilepsy. 
This Emergency Rule is being adopted to continue 
provisions contained in the December 1, 2001 Rule. This 
action is being taken in order to protect the health and well 
being of Medicaid recipients who have epilepsy related 
seizures and may benefit from use of this medical device. 

Effective March 30, 2003, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts the following criteria for prior 
authorization of vagus nerve stimulators (VNS) under the 
Durable Medical Equipment Program. The VNS is an 
implantable device used to assist in the control of seizures 
related to epilepsy and must be prescribed by a physician. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHB MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII.  Durable Medical Equipment 
Subpart 1.  Prosthetics 

Chapter 136. Vagus Nerve Stimulator 
§13601. Prior Authorization 

A. The Vagus Nerve Stimulator (VNS) is an implantable 
device used to assist in the control of seizures related to 
epilepsy and must be prescribed by a physician. Implantation 
of the VNS device and all related procedures must be 
authorized by the department based on criteria in  
§§13603-13607. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§13603. Recipient Criteria 

A. Inclusion Criteria. Consideration shall be given for 
Medicaid reimbursement for implantation of the VNS if the 
treatment is considered medically necessary and the patient 
meets all of the following criteria. The patient: 

1. has medically intractable epilepsy;  
2. is 12 years of age or older, although case-by-case 

consideration may be given to younger children who meet 
all other criteria and have sufficient body mass to support the 
implanted system;  

3. has a diagnosis of partial epilepsy confirmed and 
classified according to the International League Against 
Epilepsy classification. The patient may also have associated 
generalized seizures, such as tonic, tonic-tonic, or atonic. 
The VNS may have efficacy in primary generalized epilepsy 
as well; 

4. has seizures that resist control by antiepilepsy 
treatment, with adequately documented trials of appropriate 
antiepilepsy drugs or documentation of the patient=s inability 
to tolerate these medications; 

5. has undergone surgical evaluation and is not 
considered to be an optimal candidate for epilepsy surgery; 
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6. is experiencing at least four to six identifiable 
partial onset seizures each month. The patient must have had 
a diagnosis of intractable epilepsy for at least two years. The 
two-year period may be waived if it is deemed that waiting 
would be harmful to the patient; 

7. has undergone Quality of Life (QOL) 
measurements. The choice of instruments used for the QOL 
must assess quantifiable measures of day to day life in 
addition to the occurrence of seizures. In the expert opinion 
of the treating physician, and clearly documented in the 
request for prior authorization, there must be reason to 
believe that QOL will improve as a result of the VNS 
implant. This improvement should be in addition to the 
benefit of seizure frequency reduction. 

B. Exclusion Criteria 
1. Regardless of the provisions of §13603.A, 

authorization for implantation of a VNS shall not be given if 
the patient meets one or more of the following criteria. The 
patient: 

a. has psychogenic seizures or other nonepileptic 
seizures; or 

b. has systemic or localized infections that could 
infect the implanted system; or 

c. has a body mass that is insufficient to support the 
implanted system; or 

d. has a progressive disorder that is a 
contraindication to VNS implantation.  

2. Examples are malignant brain neoplasm, 
Rasmussen=s encephalitis, Landau-Kleffrer Syndrome and 
progressive metabolic and degenerative disorders. 
Progressive disorders, psychosis, or mental retardation that 
are not contraindications to VNS implantation are not 
exclusion criteria. Taking into consideration the additional 
diagnosis, the treating physician must document the benefits 
of the VNS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§13605. Reprogramming Vagus Nerve Stimulator 

A. The programming of the VNS stimulator must be 
performed by the neurosurgeon who performed the implant 
procedure or a licensed neurologist. The procedure is subject 
to prior authorization. Authorization will only be considered 
when there is medical documentation to support the need for 
programming. This documentation must include clinical 
evidence to show that the recipient has experienced seizures 
since any previous programming attempts. Payment for the 
programming procedure will only be authorized when it is 
performed as an attempt to reduce or prevent future episodes 
of seizures. The success or failure of previous programming 
attempts to reduce the onset and/or severity of seizure 
activity will be considered. Authorization will not be 
considered when the clinical documentation does not show 
any seizure activity since the last programming of the VNS 
implant or the purpose of the programming is solely to 
reduce the level of anti-epileptic drugs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§13607. Subsequent Implants/Battery Replacement 

A. Requests to replace batteries or for new implants must 
be submitted with documentation that shows that the 
recipient was benefiting from the original VNS transplant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available at the parish 
Medicaid office for review by interested parties. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0303#053 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospi tals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCQualified Individuals  
 Medicare Part B Buy-In 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The bureau promulgated a Rule in July 1998 adopting the 
provisions of Section 4732 of the Balanced Budget Act of 
1997 governing the payment of Medicare Part B premiums 
for Qualified Individuals (QIs) in the two mandatory 
eligibility groups (Louisiana Register, Volume 24, Number 
7). The provisions were effective for premiums payable 
beginning January 1, 1998 and ending December 31, 2002. 
Payment for the Medicare premiums is provided by 100 
percent federal funds, which are provided as a capped annual 
grant. The number of QIs certified is limited by availability 
of these funds. Individuals in the first group of QIs (QI-1s) 
were eligible if their incomes were above 120 percent of the 
Federal poverty line, but less than 135 percent. The 
Medicaid benefit for QI-1s consisted of payment of the full 
Medicare Part B premium.  

Federal statutory authority for the payment of Medicare 
Part B premiums benefits for QIs was originally intended to 
expire on December 31, 2002. A Continuing Resolution 
(Public Law No. 107-229, as amended by Public Law Nos. 
107-240 and 107-244) was enacted to extend the QI-1 
benefits at the current funding levels through January 21,
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2003. The Bureau promulgated an emergency rule to amend 
the July 20, 1998 rule by extending the benefits for QI-1s 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 12) . The 
Continuing Resolution was again amended by Public Law 
No. 107-294, extending the QI-1 benefits at the current 
funding levels through March 12, 2003. The Bureau 
promulgated an emergency rule to amend the January 1, 
2003 rule by extending the benefits for QI-1s (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 1). Congress has subsequently 
passed the federal budget for fiscal year 2003 which includes 
an appropriation to extend the QI-1 benefits at the current 
funding levels through September 30, 2003. Therefore, 
Bureau proposes to amend the January 21, 2003 Emergency 
Rule and again extend coverage of benefits for Qualifying 
Individuals -1. This action is being taken to avoid federal 
sanctions by complying with changes in federal regulations. 
It is estimated that the implementation of this Emergency 
Rule has no fiscal impact for state fiscal year 2002-2003 
other than the administrative cost of promulgating the Rule. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective March 21, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends the provisions of the January 21, 2003 
Emergency Rule and extends payment of Medicare Part B 
premiums for Qualifying Individuals -1 through September 
30, 2003. 

Implementation of the provisions of this rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0303#051 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Prescription Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the  
2001-2002 General Appropriation Act which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish

these reductions, including but not limited to  
pre-certification, pre-admission screening and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing administers 
the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program under the 
Medicaid Program in accordance with federal and state 
regulations which govern Medicaid coverage of prescription 
drugs. Although federal regulations permit states to establish 
recipient service limits with a provision for exemption of 
certain recipient groups, the bureau has not established any 
limits on the number of prescriptions allowed to Medicaid 
recipients. In compliance with Executive Order MJF 02-29, 
the department proposes to establish a limit of eight 
prescriptions per calendar month with provisions for 
exemption of federally mandated eligibles and for the 
prescriber to override the limit in medically necessary cases. 

This action is necessary to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of the following Emergency Rule will 
reduce expenditures by approximately $12,500,000 for state 
fiscal year 2002-2003. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective March 3, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts the following regulations governing the 
provision of prescription drug benefits offered to Medicaid 
recipients under the Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program. 

1. The Department of Health and Hospitals will pay 
for a maximum of eight prescriptions per calendar month for 
Medicaid recipients. 

2. The following federally mandated recipient groups 
are exempt from the eight prescriptions per calendar month 
limitation: 

a. persons under 21 years of age; 
b. persons who are residents of long-term care 

institutions, such as nursing homes and ICF-MR facilities; 
and 

c. pregnant women. 
3. The eight prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates to the 
pharmacist the following information in his own handwriting 
or by telephone or other telecommunications device: 

a. "medically necessary override"; and 
b. a valid ICD-9-CM Diagnosis Code that directly 

relates to each drug prescribed that is over eight. (No ICD-9-
CM literal description is acceptable.) 

4. The prescriber should use the Clinical Drug Inquiry. 
(CDI) Internet web application developed by Unisys in 
his/her clinical assessment of the patient’s disease state or 
medical condition and the current drug regime before 
making a determination that more than eight prescriptions 
per calendar month is required by the recipient. 
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5. Printed statements without the prescribing 
practitioner's signature, check-off boxes or stamped 
signatures are not acceptable documentation. 

6. An acceptable statement and ICD-9-CM are 
required for each prescription in excess of eight for that 
month. 

7. Pharmacists and prescribers are required to 
maintain documentation to support the override of a 
prescription limitation.  

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0303#006 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Private HospitalsCOutpatient Services 
Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the 2002-
2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in January of 1996 which established the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
at an interim rate of sixty percent of billed charges and cost 
settlement adjusted to eighty-three percent of allowable costs 
documented in the cost report, except for laboratory services 
subject to the Medicare Fee Schedule and outpatient 
surgeries (Louisiana Register,  Volume 22, Number 1). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the Bureau amended 
the provisions contained in the January 1996 rule governing 
the reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital 
services. Reimbursement for those surgical procedures that 
were not included on the Medicaid outpatient surgery list 
was set at the highest flat fee in the four Medicaid 
established outpatient surgery payment groups when the 
procedure is performed in an outpatient setting. In addition, 
the interim reimbursement rate for all other outpatient 
hospital services was changed to a hospital specific cost to 
charge ratio calculation based on filed cost reports for the 
period ending in state fiscal year 1997 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 26, Number 12).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the Bureau has 
determined it is necessary to adjust the interim 
reimbursement rate for hospital outpatient services in private 
hospitals to a hospital specific cost to charge ratio 
calculation based on the latest filed cost reports. The final 
reimbursement for these services will continue to be cost 
settlement at 83 percent of allowable costs. This action is 
necessary in order to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs. It is estimated that implementation of 
this emergency rule will reduce expenditures for outpatient 
services by approximately $7,134,381 for state fiscal year 
2002-2003.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service March 1, 2003 and after, the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
to a hospital specific cost to charge ratio calculation based 
on the latest filed cost report. These cost to charge ratio 
calculations will be reviewed on an ongoing basis as cost 
reports are filed and will be adjusted as necessary. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule will be 
delayed until March 30, 2003 and shall be contingent upon 
the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0303#052 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals  
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Private Nursing FacilitiesCReimbursement Methodology 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance
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Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the 2002-
2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law". This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

In accordance with state law, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing established a system of prospective 
payment for nursing facilities, effective January 1, 2003, 
based on recipient care needs that incorporates acuity 
measurements as determined under the Resource Utilization 
Group III (RUG III) resident classification methodology. 
This system established a facility specific price for the 
Medicaid nursing facility residents served. It also provided 
for enhanced reimbursement for Medicaid residents who 
require skilled nursing services for an infectious disease and 
technology dependent care. Facilities may furnish any or all 
of these levels of care to residents. Every nursing facility 
must meet the requirements for participation in the Medicaid 
Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 8). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the bureau has 
determined it is necessary to reduce each private nursing 
facility's per diem case mix rate by $37.10, an average of 
46.87 percent per facility. This action is being taken in order 
to avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance program. 
It is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will reduce expenditures to the private nursing facilities by 
approximately $70,014,755 for state fiscal year 2002-2003. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 2003 the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing reduces each private nursing facility's per 
diem case mix rate by $37.10, an average of 46.87 percent 
per facility. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule will be 
delayed until March 30, 2003 and shall be contingent upon 
the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0303#054 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Lease Moratorium (LAC 76:VII.505) 

In accordance with emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and in 
accordance with R.S. 56:6(10), R.S. 56:422, R.S. 56:425, 
R.S. 56:429 and R.S. 56:432.1, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission declares an immediate moratorium on the 
issuance of oyster leases and on the taking of oyster lease 
applications for state waterbottoms not presently under 
lease. Continuation of issuance of new oyster leases would 
pose an imminent peril to the public welfare and requires 
adoption of a rule upon shorter notice than provided in R.S. 
49:953.A, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does 
hereby adopt the following Emergency Rule. Adoption of 
this Declaration of Emergency is necessary, according to the 
Department of Natural Resources, inasmuch as immediate 
action is essential to reduce the state's exposure to potential 
claims from oyster leaseholders and further, that failure to do 
so would pose an imminent peril to the coastal restoration 
program and to the federal/state partnership which is critical 
to the efforts of the state to obtain comprehensive coast-wide 
restoration authorization and funding. 

This Declaration of Emergency will become effective on 
February 26, 2003, and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedure Act or until adoption of the final Rule. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

PART VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oyster 
§505. Oyster Lease Moratorium 

A. A moratorium on the issuance of oyster leases for 
waterbottoms not presently under lease is established. This 
includes a moratorium on the taking of oyster lease 
applications for waterbottoms not presently under lease. All 
pending applications will be held, along with all fees paid, 
pending a resolution of the moratorium, unless the applicant 
requests cancellation of the application and refund of fees. In 
the event of the death of an applicant, the applicant's heirs or 
legatees should so notify the department; and any lease 
ultimately issued shall only be issued to persons placed in 
possession of the application by Judgement of Possession or 
to a court-appointed administrator or executor on behalf of a 
deceased applicant's estate. 

B. A moratorium is placed on the auction of oyster leases 
in default in payment of rent per LAC 76:VII.501.G, as 
authorized by R.S. 56:429. 

C. Any leases selected by a leaseholder who has 
previously selected the relocation option pursuant to R.S. 
56:432.1 shall be exempt from this moratorium but only to 
the extent of such previous selection. 
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D. At such time as the moratorium is lifted, applications 
for oyster leases  will be accepted in accordance with all 
applicable statutes, rules and regulations and the procedures 
set out below. 

1. One week prior to the date that the moratorium is 
lifted, the date, time and place where applications are to be 
taken will be publicly advertised. 

2. On the date for taking of applications only one 
applicant at a time will be allowed in the office and this 
applicant will be allowed to take only one application. Each 
applicant will have 15 minutes to designate the area he 
wishes to apply for. After the applicant pays the application 
and survey fees, he may return to the end of the line for 
another application.  

3. Applications will be taken 24 hours a day (on a first 
come basis) until the department feels the influx of 
applicants can be handled during regular office hours at the 
New Orleans Office, at which time anyone will be able to 
take an application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6(10), R.S. 56:422, R.S. 56:425, R.S. 56:429, and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
10:948 (November 1984), amended LR 29: 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0303#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Turkey SeasonCFort Polk 

In accordance with the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under 
the authority of R.S. 56:115, the Secretary of the Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby adopt the following Emergency Rule. 

 
Fort Polk Wildlife Management Area Lottery 
Youth Turkey Hunt  

 
Canceled 

Peason Ridge Wildlife Management Area Lottery 
Youth Turkey Hunt   March 15, 2003 

 
A Declaration of Emergency is necessary to cancel the 

lottery youth hunting season on Fort Polk WMA. The U.S. 
Army has advised the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
that current military initiatives have resulted in an increased 
level of training resulting in only 2000 acres of land being 
available for this hunt. However, they have made available 
the Peason Ridge WMA as an alternate site for this hunt. 
This WMA encompasses 34,000 acres and harbors an 
extensive turkey population. As of this date, 3/6/03, nine 
youth hunters have already been drawn and notified of their 
selection for the hunt at Fort Polk WMA. 

 
Terry D. Denmon  
Chairman 

0303#088 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCGuidelines for Nonpublic  
and Home Schooling Students Transferring  

to the Public School Systems  
(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, 
promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975).  

At its September 2002 meeting, the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education revised the Guidelines 
for Nonpublic and Home Schooling Students Transferring to 
the Public School Systems: Participation in the LEAP 21. 
These guidelines provide guidance, clarification to Bulletin 
741 Standards 2.026.06, 2.026.08 and 2.026.09 as they relate 
to the participation of students transferring into the public 
schools from nonpublic schools and home schooling. The 
revisions: 

• removed any reference to the special education 
waiver; 

• clarified student eligibility to attend summer 
remediation; 

• clarified eligibility requirements for the appeals 
process; 

• outlined the role of the local Pupil Progression Plan in 
governing grade placement; and 

• defined a Louisiana resident for the purposes of this 
policy. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269, 272 (February 2002), LR 28:991 (May 2002), 
LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:286 (March 2003). 
Guidelines for Nonpublic and Home Schooling Students 
Transferring to the Public School Systems: Participation 

in the LEAP 21 
Students in Grades 5 and 9 transferring to the public 

school system from any in-state nonpublic school or any 
home schooling program, or any Louisiana resident 
transferring from any out-of-state school shall be required to 
take the 4th or 8th Grade LEAP 21 English Language Arts 

and Mathematics Tests and score at the Approaching Basic 
or above achievement level. The following Guidelines shall 
apply. 

1. Students may take LEAP 21 at either the Spring or 
Summer administration prior to enrollment. It is the 
responsibility of the parent to contact the District Test 
Coordinator to register for the test. 

2. The nonpublic school and parent (or home 
schooling parent) is responsible for providing the District 
Test Coordinator, at least 10 working days prior to the 
testing date, any documentation required for requested 
standard testing accommodations. 

3. Students with disabilities who have a current 1508 
evaluation will participate in on-level LEAP 21 testing. 
Promotion decisions for these students will adhere to those 
policies as outlined in the High Stakes Testing Policy. 

4. School systems may charge a fee for the testing of 
nonpublic and home schooling students. This testing fee 
shall be refunded upon the student's enrollment in that public 
school system the semester immediately following the 
testing. 

5. Students who participate in the Spring 
administration and score at the Unsatisfactory achievement 
level are eligible to retake the LEAP 21 at the Summer 
administration. 

6. Local school systems shall offer LEAP 21 summer 
remediation to nonpublic/home schooling 4th and 8th Grade 
students who score at the Unsatisfactory LEAP 21 
achievement level and to those who did not test in the 
spring, but wish to prepare for the Summer administration. 
School systems may charge a fee, not to exceed $100 per 
student for this attendance. This summer remediation fee 
shall be refunded upon the student's enrollment in that public 
school system the semester immediately following summer 
remediation. 

7. Students who score at the Unsatisfactory 
achievement level are not required to attend summer school 
offered by the local school system to be eligible to take the 
Summer retest. However, students must attend the LEA 
offered summer school to be eligible for the appeal process 
or the policy override. 

8. Only those students who score at the Unsatisfactory 
achievement level after participation in both the Spring and 
Summer administration of the LEAP 21 and who attend the 
summer school offered by the local school system are 
eligible for the appeals process or the policy override, 
provided all criteria are met. (Refer to the High-Stakes 
Testing Policy.) 

9. Students who participate in the Spring 
administration only or Summer administration only and 
score at the Unsatisfactory achievement level are not eligible 
for the appeals process or the policy override. These students 
are not eligible  to take The Iowa Tests for placement 
purposes. 

10. Students transferring into local school systems after 
the LEAP 21 Summer retest but prior to February 15 are 
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required to take the state selected form of The Iowa Tests for 
grade placement, if the student has not taken LEAP 21. 

11. Students taking The Iowa Tests are not eligible for 
either a retest or the appeals process. These students may be 
eligible for the policy override based upon a decision by the 
School Building Level Committee (SBLC). 

12. The High Stakes Testing Policy and the local Pupil 
Progression Plan shall govern grade placement of students 
transferring to the local school systems. 

Note: A Louisiana resident transferring from any out -of-state 
school is defined as a student living in Louisiana but attending 
school in an adjacent state. 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0303#018 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook For School 
AdministratorsCPersonal Financial Literacy  

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, 
promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). This action is a 
result of recent legislation (R.S. 17:282.3) directing the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to adopt 
Rules and guidelines to further enhance efforts to promote 
financial literacy in schools. The addition of this procedural 
block to Bulletin 741 will encourage local school systems to 
integrate the teaching of personal management skills and the 
basic principles involved with earning, spending, saving, and 
investing into currently existing courses. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269, 272 (February 2002), LR 28:991 (May 2002), 
LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:287 (March 2003). 

Curriculum 
1.087.00 The school system shall plan and implement a 
continuous program of skills, concepts, and instruction in a 
learning environment designed to promote excellence in 
order that every individual may be afforded an equal 
opportunity to develop to his/her full potential. 
 

The school system shall develop a character education philosophy and 
implementation plan consistent with its locally developed curriculum. 

 

Any public elementary or secondary school may offer instruction in 
personal financial management based on the concept of achieving 
financial literacy through the t eaching of personal management skills 
and the basic principles involved with earning, spending, saving, and 
investing. Such instruction and subject matter shall be integrated into 
an existing course of study. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0303#017 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCPolicy for Louisiana's Public Education 

Accountablility System (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR l:483 (November 1975). Act 478 
of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for the 
development of an Accountability System for the purpose of 
implementing fundamental changes in classroom teaching 
by helping schools and communities focus on improved 
student achievement. The State's Accountability System is an 
evolving system with different components. The changes 
more clearly explain and refine existing policy as follows: 

1. changes in the criterion-referenced test (CRT) 
labeling system;  

2. clarification of the process for schools 
entering/progressing into Corrective Actions; 

3. clarification of the process for offering School 
Choice to students enrolled in Academically Unacceptable 
schools; 

4. inclusion of the requirement of offering state 
approved supplemental services to students enrolled in 
Corrective Actions Level II and III schools; and 

5. inclusion of the reporting of subgroup performance.  
Title 28 

EDUCATION 
Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269, 272 (February 2002), LR 28:991 (May 2002), 
LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:287 (March 2003). 

* * * 
The Louisiana School and  

District Accountability System 
School Accountability 

2.006.02 Each school shall be expected to reach 10- and 
20-Year Goals that depict minimum educational 
performances.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 288 

K-8 Indicators and Weighting 
Indicators and 

Weighting 
Grades Administered 10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

CRT  
(60% K-8) Grades 4, 8 

Average student score at 
BASIC (Meeting the 
Standard)  

Average student score at 
MASTERY (Exceeding the 
Standard)  

NRT  
(30% K-8) Grades 3, 5, 6, 7 

Average composite standard 
score corresponding to the 
55th percentile rank in the 
tested grade level 

Average composite standard 
score corresponding to the 
75th percentile rank in the 
tested grade level 

Attendance 
(10% K-6; 5% 7-8) 

   95% (grades K-8) 
 

98% (grades K-8) 
 

Dropout Rate 
(5% 7-8) 

   4% (grades 7-8) 
 

2% (grades 7-8) 
 

 
9-12 Indicators and Weighting 

Weight 
Cycle 

Indicator 

1 2 

Grades 
Administered 

10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

CRT—
English/language arts 

and mathematics 
 

 
60% 

 
30% 

 
10 

 
Average student score 
at BASIC (Meeting the 
Standard)  

 
Average student score at 
MASTERY (Exceeding the 
Standard)  

CRT— 
science and social 

studies 

 
--  

 
30% 

 
11 

Average student score 
at BASIC (Meeting the 
Standard)  

Average student score at 
MASTERY (Exceeding the 
Standard)  

 
NRT    

30% 
 

9 

Average composite 
standard score 
corresponding to the 
55th percentile rank in 
the tested grade level 

Average composite standard 
score corresponding to the 
75th percentile rank in the 
tested grade level 

Attendance Rate  5%  93% 96% 
Dropout Rate  5%  7% 3% 

 
School Performance Scores 

2.006.03 A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be 
calculated for each school. This score shall range from 0-100 
and beyond, with a score of 100 indicating a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given school can receive for each individual indicator index 
and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0". 

 
For the first accountability cycle, the baseline SPS shall be 

calculated using CRT and NRT scores from spring 1999 and 
the prior year's attendance and dropout data. The Growth 
SPS shall be calculated using CRT and NRT scores from 
spring 2001 and the prior year's attendance and dropout data.

 
 

During the fall of 2001 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two School Performance Scores as follows: 
• a Growth SPS will be calculated using 2001 English language arts/Math LEAP 21 test scores, 2001 Iowa test scores, 

and 2000 attendance and dropout data. 
• a new Baseline SPS will be calculated using the average of the 1999-2000 and 2000-2001 English language 

arts/Math/Science/Social Studies LEAP 21 test scores, the average of the 1999-2000 and 2000-2001 Iowa test scores 
and the average of the 1999 and 2000 attendance and dropout data. 

 
The Growth SPS shall be used to determine Growth Labels and to calculate rewards.  The new Baseline shall be used to 
determine Performance Labels and to calculate the next cycle’s Growth Target. The higher SPS (Growth or Baseline) shall 
be used to determine movement in Corrective Actions.  (See Standard 2.006.09) 

 
 

 

Beginning the second cycle, every year of student data 
shall be used as part of a school's SPS. Calculations of the 
SPS shall use the following: 

• an average of the most recent two year's test data, 
and 

• attendance and dropout rates from the two years 
prior to the last year of test data used. 

For schools entering accountability after 1999, one year's 
data shall be used for schools formed in mid-cycle years and 
two year's data for other schools.  Only spring administration 
test data shall be used in the School Performance Score. 
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A baseline School Performance Score shall be calculated in Spring 1999 for Grades K-8. 

 
During the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two School Performance Scores as follows: 
 

• a score for regular education students, including gifted, talented, and Section 504 students.  
• a score including regular education students AND students with disabilities eligible to participate in the 

CRT and/or NRT tests. 
For the purpose of determining Academically Unacceptable Schools, during the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, the 
School Performance Score that includes only regular education students shall be used. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS [K-6] 

 
The SPS for a sample school is calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight given to that 
indicator and adding the total scores.  In the example, [(66.0 * 60%) + (75.0 * 30%) + (50.0 * 10%)] = 67.1  

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score 
CRT  66.0 60% 39.6 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 50.0 10% 5.0 
Dropout N/A  0% 0 

SPS = 67.1 
 

Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) In dex Calculations [K-8] 
 
A school’s CRT Index score equals the sum of the student totals divided by the number of students eligible to 
participate in state assessments.  For the CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the following five levels 
shall receive the number of points indicated. 
Advanced = 200 points 
Mastery (Exceeding the Standard) =  150 points 
Basic (Meeting the Standard) =  100 points 
Approaching Basic  (Approaching the Standard) =   50 points 
Unsatisfactory =     0 points 

 
Formula for Calculating a CRT Index for a School [K-8] 

 
1. Calculate the total number of points by multiplying the number of students at each  

Performance level times the points for those respective performance levels, for all content areas. 
2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the number of content area tests. 
3. Zero shall be the lowest CRT Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
Option I students:  those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have been 

• ret ained on the 8th grade campus 

• must retake all parts of the 8th Grade LEAP 21 
 
If, during spring testing, a repeating fourth grade student or Option I 8th grade student receives a score of Approaching 
Basic (Approaching the Standard) or above on a LEAP 21 t est of mathematics, English language arts, science or social 
studies for which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the retaining school shall receive 50 
incentive points per subject in its accountability index. A student may earn a maximum of 200 incentive points for 
his/her school. (No incentive points will be awarded for passing parts of tests in the summer school of the year they first 
failed in spring testing.) 

 
Transition Years [K-8] 

 
To accommodate the phase-in of the Social Studies and Science components of the CRT for Elementary and Secondary 
Accountability Cycles, the State Department of Education shall use following LEAP Test components when calculating 
the School Performance Scores (SPS) for K-8:  
Timelines/School Years LEAP-CRT Index Components 

Grade 

4 8 
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1 1998-1999 2000-2001 ü ü   ü ü   
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2 
1999-2000 

& 
2000-2001 

2001-2002 
& 

2002-2003 
ü ü ü ü ü ü ü ü 

3 
2001-2002 

& 
2002-2003 

2003-2004 
& 

2004-2005 
ü ü ü ü ü ü ü ü 

 
Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. Index scores for each student shall be 
calculated, scores totaled, and then averaged together to get a school’s NRT Index score. 

 
NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores 

Composite Standard Scores Equivalent to  
Louisiana’s 10- and 20-Year goals, by Grade Level * 

Grade  

Goals Percentile 
Rank 3 5 6 7 

10-Year Goal 55th 187 219 231 243 

20-Year Goal 75th 199 236 251 266 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [K-8] 

 
Where the 10-year and 20-year goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks, respectively, and where SS = a student’s 
standard score, then the index for that student is calculated as follows: 

Grade 3: Index 3 rd grade = (4.167 * SS) - 679.2 
SS = (Index 3rd grade + 679.2)/4.167 

Grade 5: Index 5 th grade = (2.941 * SS) - 544.1 
SS = (Index 5th grade + 544.1)/2.941 

Grade 6: Index 6 th grade = (2.500 * SS) - 477.5 
SS = (Index 6th grade + 477.5)/2.500 

Grade 7: Index 7 th grade = (2.174*SS) - 428.3 
SS= (Index 7th grade + 428.3)/2.174 

 
Formula for Calculating a School’s NRT Index [K-8] 

 
1. Calculate the index for each student, using the grade-appropriate formula relating the Standard Score to 
NRT Index. (NOTE:  For accountability purposes, a student not taking the test and not exempted will be assigned a 
zero NRT index.) 
2. Sum the total number of NRT Index points for all grades in the school. 
3. Divide the sum of the NRT Index points by the total number of students eligible to be tested plus the 
number of students not exempted. 

Zero shall be the lowest NRT Index score reported for School Performance Score calculations. 
 

Attendance Index Calculations [K-8] 
 
An Attendance Index score for each school shall be calculated.  The initial year's index shall be calculated from the 
prior year's attendance rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average attendance 
rates as compared to the State's goals. 

 
Attendance Goals 

   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades K-8 95% 98% 

Attendance Index Formula 
 
Grades K-8 

Indicator (ATT K-8) = (16.667 * ATT) - 1483.4 
 
              Where ATT is the attendance percentage, the Index Formula uses the definition of    
               attendance established by the Louisiana Department of Education. 

 
Lowest Attendance Index Score 

 
Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability calculations. 
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Dropout Index Calculations 
 
A Dropout Index score for each school shall be calculated.  The initial year’s index shall be calculated from the prior 
year’s dropout rates.  Subsequent years’ indices shall be calculated using the prior two years’ average dropout rates as 
compared to the State’s goals.  

 
Dropout Goals 

   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades 7 & 8 4% 2% 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances the Louisiana Department of Education 
shall calculate an “Adjusted Dropout Rate” for accountability purposes. 

 
Dropout Index Formulas 

 
Non-Dropout Rate (NDO) = 100 - Dropout Rate (DO) (expressed as a percentage) 

Grades 7 & 8 Dropout Index (7-8) = Indicator (DO Gr 7-8) = (25 * NDO) - 2300.0 
NDO = (Indicator DO Gr 7-8 + 2300.0) /25 

 
Lowest Dropout Index Score  

 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
 

School Performance Scores for 9-12 
A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for 

each high school. This score shall range from 0-100 and 
beyond, with a score of 100 indicating that a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating that a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given high school can receive for each individual indicator 
index and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0." 

Every year of student data shall be used as part of a high 
school's SPS. The school's initial SPS shall be calculated 
using the most recent year's NRT and CRT test data and the 
prior year's attendance and dropout rates. Subsequent 
calculations of the SPS shall use the most recent two years' 
test data, attendance and dropout rates from the two years 
prior to the last year of test data used. 

 
 

Transition Years [9-12] 
To accommodate the phase-in of the grades 10 and 11 GEE 21 criterion-referenced tests, the Department shall use the 
following indicators: 

Timelines/School Years  Indicators Included 
Cycle Baseline 

SPS Data 
SPS Data Grade 9 

NRT 
Grade 10 

CRT 
Grade 11 

CRT 
Attendance  Dropout 

 

1 2000-01 2002-03 ü ü    ü* ü* 

2 

2001-02 
& 

2002-03 
(avg.) 

2003-04 
& 

2004-05 
(avg.) 

ü ü ü ü* ü* 

3 

2003-04 
& 

2004-05 
(avg.) 

2005-06 
& 

2006-07 
(avg.) 

ü ü ü ü* ü* 

*Indicates use of prior year data for these indexes. 
1The SPS at the beginning of cycle 2 shall be calculated using the average of the 2002 and 2003 NRT scores, the average 
of the 2002 and 2003 CRT scores, and the average of the 2001 and 2002 attendance and dropout data.  The SPS for the 
beginning of cycle 2 shall be compared to the 2001 baseline SPS for determining growth. 

 
Transition Years [Combination Schools] 

 
Combination Schools are schools that contain a 10th and/or 11th grade and that also contain a 4th and/or 8th grade. 
 
To accommodate the phase-in of Social Studies and Science components of the CRT tests for Secondary Accountability 
Cycles, the Department shall use the following LEAP Test components when calculating the SPS for combination schools. 

Cycle 1 Baseline SPS for Combination Schools Cycle 2 SPS for Combination Schools 
K-8 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2000 and 2001) 
of all CRT data  

K-8 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2002 and 2003) 
of all CRT data. 

9-12 portion of school:  1 year baseline data (2001) without 
grade 11 CRT  

9-12 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2002 and 2003) 
of all CRT data. 
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Formula for Calculating an SPS – Accountability Cycle 1 (2001) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the first accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be calculated by multiplying the index values for 
each indicator by the weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 

SPS = (.60 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + 
(.30 * NRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.05 * Dropout Index) 

+   (.05 Attendance Index) 
 

All intermediate results and the final result shall be rounded to the nearest tenth. 
 
The following is an example of how this calculation shall be made: 

[(.60 * 66.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 69.0. 
Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score  

CRT—Grade 10 66.0 60% 39.6 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 

Attendance Index 50.0  5%   2.5 
Dropout Index 87.5  5%   4.4 

SPS 69.0 

Formula for Calculating an SPS – Accountability Cycle 2 (2003 and beyond) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the second accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be calculated by multiplying the index values for 
each indicator by the weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 

SPS = (.30 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + 
 (.30 * Grade 11 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.30 * NRT Index) 

 + (.05 * Dropout Index) +  (.05 Attendance Index) 
 

In this example, 
[(.30 * 66.0) + (.30 * 60.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 67.2. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score  
CRT—Grade 10 66.0 30% 19.8 
CRT—Grade 11 60.0 30% 18.0 

NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance Index 50.0  5%   2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5  5%   4.4 

SPS 67.2 

 
Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 

For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. Index scores for each student shall be calculated, 
scores totaled, and then averaged together to get a high school's NRT Index score. 

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores for Grade 9 
Goal Percentile Rank Grade 9 Composite Standard Score  

10-Year Goal 55th 263 
20-Year Goal 75th 287 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [9-12] 

If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks respectively and if the SS = a student's standard 
score, the index for a grade 9 student is calculat ed as follows: 

Index 9th grade = (2.083 * SS) – 447.8 
SS = (Index 9th grade + 447.8)/2.083 

 
Option II students:   those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have been  
• retained and placed on the high school campus 
• must take the 9th grade NRT and 
• must retake only the part of the 8th grade LEAP 21 they originally failed (English language arts or mathematics). 
 
If, during spring testing, a student receives a score of Approaching Basic (Approaching the Standard) or above on a LEAP 
21 test of mathematics or English language arts for which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, 
the high school shall receive incentive points in its accountability index. For the 2000-2001 school year, a student may 
earn a maximum of 100 incentive points in his/her school's accountability index. Beginning cycle 2 (2001-2002), a student 
may earn a maximum of 50 incentive points for his/her school. (See High Stakes Testing Policy.) 

 
Only with the exception of grade 8 Option II students, all Louisiana students in grades three through eleven will participate 
in only one of the following state assessments on an annual basis: 

• LEAP 21 or, 

• GEE 21 or, 

• Iowa On-Level or, 

• LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or, 
LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA) 
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Criterion-Reference d Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 
A high school's CRT Index score at each grade equals the sum of the eligible student totals divided by the number of 
students eligible to participate in state assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the 
following five levels shall receive the number of points indicated. 
Advanced 200 points 
Mastery (Exceeding the Standard)  150 points 
Basic (Meeting the Standard) 100 points 
Approaching Basic (Approaching the Standard)   50 points 
Unsatisfactory    0 points 

 
Formula for Calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement Index for a High School 
     1. Sum the number of points earned by all students. For the NRT, there shall be one score for each student:  the 

NRT Index calculated from the student's composite standard score. For the CRT, students shall be taking two 
tests at each grade.  

     2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the number of content area tests. This 
calculation provides the raw achievement index for the grade. 

     3. Multiply the raw index by the product of the non-dropout rates from the previous year. for that grade and for all 
the previous grades. (See Examples below.) This operation means that the grade 9 NRT Index shall be 
multiplied by the grade 9 non-dropout rate, the grade 10 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 and 
grade 10 non-dropout rates, and the grade 11 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9, grade 10 and grade 
11 non-dropout rates. This operation shall yield the Adjusted Achievement Index. 

     4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT or CRT Adjusted Achievement Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
The formula for calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement Index for a High School is: 
     NRT Adjusted Achievement Index = Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07) 
     CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 10) = Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07) *  
                                                                              (1-DO Gr 10 + .07)  
     CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 11) =  Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07)    
                                                                               *(1-DO Gr 10 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 11 + .07) 
 
Example 1 - Grade 9: 

§ Before beginning grade 9, a class has 50 students; by the end of September, 45 remain in the class. The 
grade 9 dropout rate is 

(5/50) = .100. 
§ The number of points earned on the NRT is 5000. 
§ The raw achievement index is 

5000/45 = 111.1. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

111.1 X (1 – .100 + .07) = 107.8. 
Example 2 - Grade 10: 

§ Another 5 students dropout before October of grade 10. The grade 10 dropout rate is 
5/45 = .111. 

§ The 40 students remaining in the class earn 10,000 points on the two CRT tests. The raw achievement 
index is 

10,000/(40 * 2)  = 125.0. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

125.0 X (1 – .100 + .07) X (1 – .111 +.07) = 116.3. 
 

Attendance Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 
An Attendance Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the 
prior year's attendance rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average attendance 
rates as compared to the State's goals. 

Attendance Goals 
   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 93% 96% 

Attendance Index Formula for Grades 9-12 
If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are 93% and 96% average attendance respectively and if the ATT = attendance 
percentage using the definition of attendance established by the Department of Education, the attendance index is 
calculated as follows: 

Indicator (ATT 9-12) = (16.667 * ATT) – 1450.0. 
Example: 

§ If the average attendance percentage is 94.3%, the Attendance Index would be 
(16.667 * 94.3) – 1450.0 = 121.7. 

Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability calculations. 
 

Dropout Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 
A Dropout Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior 
year's dropout rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average dropout rates as 
compared to the State's goals. 

Dropout Goals 
   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 7% 3% 
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Dropout Index Formula for Grades 9-12 
Dropout Index = 187.5 – (12.5 X dropout rate) 

Example: 
If the dropout rate is 4.5%, the Dropout Index would be 187.5 – (12.5 * 4.5) = 131.3. 
 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances the Louisiana Department of Education 
shall calculate an "Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes.  

 
 

Performance Labels 
2.006.07 A Performance Label shall be given to a school 
that qualifies, in addition to the Growth Label.  

 
 
 
 

 
 

The Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate two state averages. A state average shall be calculated for K-8 
schools and a state average shall be calculated for 9-12, K-12 and combination schools. 

 
Performance Labels 

 
A school is Academically Unacceptable if it has an SPS < 45.0 points in 2003 and an SPS < 60.0 points in 2005. 
 
Beginning 2003, any Academically Unacceptable school immediately enters Corrective Actions II. 
 
A school that is not Academically Unacceptable but has a SPS < the State Average shall be labeled Academically Below 
the State Average. 
 
A school that is not Academically Unacceptable but has a SPS < 100.0 points but >the State Average shall be labeled 
Academically Above the State Average. 
 
**A school with a SPS of 100.0 - 124.9 shall be labeled a School of Academic Achievement. 
 
**A school with a SPS of 125.0 - 149.9 shall be labeled a School of Academic Distinction. 
 
**A school with a SPS of 150.0 or above shall be labeled a School of Academic Excellence. 
 
**During the first ten years, a school with these labels shall no longer be subject to Corrective Actions and shall not 
receive "negative” growth labels. (See Standard 2.006.06.) This school shall continue to meet or exceed its Growth Target 
to obtain a "positive” growth label, recognition, and possible rewards. 

 
 

Corrective Actions 
2.006.09 A school shall enter in Corrective Actions I if any 
of the following apply: 

 
• It is Academically Below the applicable State 

Average and it did not make its Growth Target, or 
• It is Academically Above the applicable State 

Average and has a Growth Label of School in 
Decline or No Growth. 

 
A school that enters Corrective Actions shall receive 

additional support and assistance, with the expectation that 
extensive efforts shall be made by students, parents, 

teachers, principals, administrators, and the school board to 
improve student achievement at the school. There shall be 
three levels of Corrective Actions.  

 
All schools in Corrective Actions I shall provide pertinent 

information to the Louisiana Department of Education 
concerning steps they have taken to improve student 
performance in order to document activities related to 
Corrective Actions I and in light of recent proposed changes 
in federal programs. This information shall be required on an 
annual basis. 

 
 

Requirements for Schools in Corrective Actions I 
 
1.   A Revised or New School Improvement Plan  
 
All Louisiana schools were required to have a School Improvement Plan in place by May of 1998. Those schools 
placed in Corrective Actions I shall be required to review and either revise or rewrite completely their plan, with the 
assistance of a District Assistance Team, and submit it to the Division of School Standards, Accountability, and 
Assistance. The plan shall contain the following essential research-based components: 
a.  a statement of the school's beliefs, vision, and mission; 
b.  a comprehensive needs assessment that shall include the following quantitative and qualitative data: 
     •student academic performances on standardized achievement test s (both CRT and NRT)  
       and performance/authentic assessment disaggregated by grade vs. content vs.  
       exceptionality); 
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     •demographic indicators of the community and school to include socioeconomic factors; 
 
     •school human and material resource summary, to include teacher demographic indicators  
       and capital outlay factors; 
 
     •interviews with stakeholders: principals, teachers, students, parents; 
     •student and teacher focus groups; 
 
     •questionnaires with stakeholders (principals, teachers, students, parents) measuring  
       conceptual domains outlined in school effectiveness/reform research; 
 
     •classroom observations; 
 
c.  measurable objectives and benchmarks; 
d.  effective research-based methods and strategies; 
e.  parental and community involvement activities; 
f.   professional development component aligned with assessed needs; 
g.  external technical support and assistance; 
h.  evaluation strategies; 
i.   coordination of resources and analysis of school budget (possible redirection of funds); 
j.   action plan with time lines and specific activities. 
 
2. Assurance pages 
Each school in Corrective Actions I shall be required to provide assurances that it worked with a District Assistance 
Team to develop its School Improvement Plan, and that the plan has the essential components listed above. Signatures 
of the team members shall also be required. 
 
3. A quarterly Monitoring of the Implementation of the School Improvement Plan 
District Assistance Teams shall assist schools in Corrective Actions I in monitoring the implementation of their School 
Improvement Plan. All schools in Corrective Actions I shall be required to submit to the Louisiana Department of 
Education a quarterly report on the implementation of their school improvement plan in paper and/or electronic format. 
 
4. An Annual Evaluation of the Level of Implementation of the School Improvement Plan  
This evaluation shall be required on an annual basis. The Louisiana Department of Education shall make every effort to 
see that the information is collected in a manner that shall be of assistance to the schools and that shall provide 
feedback to them as they strive to improve student achievement. 
 

 
A school shall enter Corrective Actions Level II if: 

• It is Academically Unacceptable. 
 
A school shall remain in Corrective Actions Level II if: 
It is Academically Unacceptable, made its Growth Target, and it was in Corrective Actions II the previous cycle. 

 
Corrective Actions Level II:  All schools in Corrective Actions II are labeled Academically Unacceptable.  All schools 
in Corrective Actions II must adhere to the requirements of schools in Corrective Actions I; however, Corrective 
Actions II schools must submit to the Louisiana Department of Education a Monthly Monitoring of the Implementation 
of the School Improvement Plan. 
 
Corrective Actions Level II: A highly trained Distinguished Educator (DE) shall be assigned to a school by the State.  
The DE shall work in an advisory capacity to help the school improve student performance.  The DE shall make a 
public report to the school board of recommendations for school improvement.  Districts shall then publicly respond to 
these recommendations. Parents shall have the right to transfer their child to a higher performing public school. (See 
Transfer Policy Standard #2.006.11.) 
Corrective Actions Level II schools that do not attain at least 40% of their growth in the interim year shall provide 
State Approved Supplemental Service within 60 days of the release of the interim SPSs.  

 
A school shall enter Corrective Actions Level III if: 
it was in Corrective Actions Level II the previous cycle, and Academically Unacceptable and it did not make its Growth 
Target. 

 
Corrective Actions Level III: The DE shall continue to serve the school in an advisory capacity. Parents shall have the 
right to transfer their child to a higher performing public school. (See Transfer Policy, Standard #2.006.11.)   A district 
must develop a Reconstitution Plan for the school at the beginning of the first year in this level and submit the plan to 
the SBESE for approval by February. 
 
If a Corrective Actions Level III school has not achieved at least 40% of its Growth Target at the end of the first year 
and SBESE has approved its Reconstitution Plan, then the school shall implement the Reconstitution Plan during the 
beginning of the next school year. If the SBESE does not approve the Reconstitution Plan AND a given school does not 
meet the required minimum growth, the school shall lose its State approval and all State funds. 
 
Any reconstituted School’s SPS and Growth Target shall be re-calculated utilizing data from the end of its previous 
year. The SBESE shall monitor the implementation of the Reconstitution Plan. 
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Movement in Corrective Actions 
 
All schools that: 

• Have a SPS ≥ 100.0 are exempt from Corrective Actions I, II, and III during the first ten years. 

• Are not Academically Unacceptable and meet or exceed their Growth Targets shall exit Corrective Actions I. 

• Have a SPS ≥ the applicable State Average but < 100.0 must make some growth (0.1 pts) or enter/remain in 
Corrective Actions I. 

• Are not Academically Unacceptable but have a SPS < the applicable State Average must make their Growth 
Targets or enter/remain in Corrective Actions I. 

• Are Academically Unacceptable shall enter in Corrective Actions Level II. 

• Are Academically Unacceptable and make their Growth Targets, but remain Academically Unacceptable, shall 
remain in Corrective Actions II. 

• Are Academically Unacceptable and did not make their Growth Targets, but remain Academically Unacceptable, 
shall enter Corrective Actions Level III. 

 
Determination of Academically Unacceptable schools in 2003 shall be based on the higher of two School Performance 
Scores: one using an average of the 2001-02 and 2002-03 accountability data, and the other using the 2002-2003 
accountability data only.   

 
Corrective Actions Summary Chart 

School Level Tasks 
 
Level I  
1) Utilize the State's diagnostic process or another process meeting State approval to identify needs; and  
2) Work with District Assistance Team to develop/implement a consolidated improvement plan, including an 
integrated budget the process must include a) opportunities for significant parent and community involvement, b) public 
hearings, and c) at least two-thirds teacher approval 
Level II 
1) Continue to adhere to the requirements of Corrective Actions Level I schools; 
2) Work with advisory Distinguished Educator, teachers, parents, and others to implement revised School 
Improvement Plan; and  
3) Distinguished Educator works with principals to develop capacity for change 
Level III 
1) Continue to adhere to the requirements of Corrective Actions Level I schools; 
2) Distinguished Educator continues to assist with improvement efforts and work with the advisory District 
Assistance Team and other district personnel to design that school's Reconstitution Plan or No State Approval/No State 
Funding. 
3)  If Reconstitution Plan is approved by the SBESE: a) implement Reconstitution Plan, and b) utilize data from 
the end of the previous year to re-calculate school performance goals and Growth Targets 
4)  If Reconstitution Plan is not approved, no State approval/no State funding. 

 
District Level Tasks 

 
Level I  
1) Create District Assistance Teams to assist schools;  
2) Identify existing and additional assistance being provided by districts, such as funding, policy changes, and 
greater flexibility; 
3) Reassign or remove school personnel as necessary as allowed by law; and  
4) Ensure Academically Unacceptable schools receive at least their proportional share of applicable state, local, 
and federal funding. 
 
Level II  
1) Continue to help schools through the use of District Assistance Teams;  
Hold public hearing and respond to Distinguished Educator’s written recommendations;  
3) Response in writing submitted to SBESE by local boards no later than 45 days subsequent to receiving the 
Distinguished Educator’s report. Failure to respond to these recommendations will result in the school receiving 
unapproved status and being ineligible to receive federal subgrantee assistance funds until such response is received; 
4) Reassign or remove personnel as necessary as allowed by law; and  
Notify parents of their right to send their children to another public schools no later than 120 days after a school is 
identified for Corrective Actions II for the subsequent year (Ref. 2.006.11); and 
Offer state approved supplemental services to students in schools that do not meet 40 percent of their Growth Targets no 
later than 60 days after the release of the interim year SPS. 
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Level III  
1) Continue to help schools through the use of District Assistance Teams;  
Continue notifying parents of students attending Academically Unacceptable Schools to send their children to other 
public schools; 
3) Design Reconstitution Plan and submit to the SBESE by February; and  
At the end of year one, one of the following must occur: a) schools must make adequate growth of at least 40 percent of 
the Growth Target b) the district implements the Reconstitution Plan approved by the SBESE; and c) the SBESE shall 
grant non-school approval status; and 
5) Continue to offer state approved supplemental services.  
Reconstitution or No State Approval/Funding 
If Reconstitution Plan is approved by the SBESE, provide implementation support.  
If the Reconstitution Plan is not approved, no State approval/no State funding. 

 
State Level Tasks 

 
Level I 
1) Provide diagnostic process for schools;  
2) Provide training for District Assistance Teams;  
For some Academically Unacceptable Schools only, the SBESE shall assign advisory Distinguished Educators to 
schools; and  
1) Work to secure new funding and/or redirect existing resources to help schools implement their improvement 
plans 
 
Level II  
1) Assign advisory Distinguished Educator to schools; and  
2) Work to secure new funding and/or redirect existing resources to help schools implement their improvement plans  
 
Level III 
1) Assign advisory Distinguished Educator to schools for one additional year to assist in the development and 
design of the Reconstitution Plan;  
2) At end of Year 1, the SBESE shall approve or disapprove Reconstitution Plans. If the SBESE approves the 
Reconstitution Plan, the Distinguished Educator is assigned an additional year to support and assist with monitoring the 
implementation of the Reconstitution Plan for schools that fail to make adequate growth; 
3) If a school achieves the required amount of growth during its first year in Level III Corrective Action and 
proceeds to a second year in Level III, the Distinguished Educator will be assigned to the school for that additional year 
to support and assist the school in its continued improvements efforts; and  
4) Work to secure new funding and/or redirect existing resources to help schools implement their improvement plans 
Reconstitution or No State Approval/No Funding 
1) If Reconstitution Plan is approved by the SBESE, a) monitor implementation of reconstitution plan; and b) 
provide additional state improvement funds; and  
2) If Reconstitution Plan is not approved, no State approval/State funding 

 
Reconstitution Plan 

2.006.10 Districts shall develop and submit a 
Reconstitution Plan to the SBESE for approval for any 
school in Corrective Actions Level III during the first year in 
that level (by February). This Reconstitution Plan indicates 
how the district shall remedy the school’s inadequate growth 
in student performance. The plan shall specify how and what 
reorganization shall occur and how/why these proposed 
changes shall lead to improved student performance.  

If a Corrective Actions Level III school has not achieved 
at least 40 percent of its Growth Target and SBESE has 

approved its Reconstitution Plan, then the school shall 
implement the Reconstitution Plan during the beginning of 
the next school year. If the SBESE does not approve the 
Reconstitution Plan and a given school does not meet the 
required minimum growth, the school shall lose State 
approval and all State funds. 

School Choice 
2.006.11 Parents shall have the right to transfer their child 
to another public school when the school in which their child 
is enrolled enters Corrective Actions II. This School choice 
is offered the following school year.  

 
 

Beginning 2003-04, no later than 120 days after a school has been identified for Corrective Actions II, an LEA shall notify 
parents of their School Choice options for the following school year. 

 
Transfers shall not be made to any school undergoing Corrective Actions Level II or Level III.  

 
Upon parental request, districts shall transfer the child to the nearest acceptable school.  

 
If no academically acceptable school in the district is available, the student may transfer to a neighboring district. Parents 
shall provide the transportation to the school. State dollars shall follow the child when such a transfer occurs. 

 
Schools and districts may refuse to accept a st udent if there is insufficient space, if a desegregation order prevents such a 
transfer, or if the student has been subjected to disciplinary actions for behavioral problems. 

 
An LEA must develop a policy for student transfers (School Choice Policy) for schools in Corrective Actions II and III.  An 
LEA shall state its capacity for offering student transfers. The SBESE shall approve or disapprove an LEA’s School Choice 
Policy. 
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An LEA shall declare Lack of Capacity when all of the attendance zones under it s jurisdiction are unable to provide school 
choice to eligible students (i.e., desegregation order). 

 
An LEA shall declare Limited Capacity when some students in some or all of the attendance zones under its jurisdiction 
may be provided school choice in an attendance zone (i.e., limited seating capacity in receiving schools). 

 
An LEA declaring Lack or Limited Capacity shall request a waiver from the SBESE and shall submit the following with its 
waiver request: 
• a description of the general transfer policy or desegregation order (See State’s Guidance on LEAs’ Development of 

School Choice Policies for Public Schools in Louisiana. Transfer policies must include: 
1) a method for determining transfer capacity or evidence of lack of capacity to transfer; 
2) transfer options for as many eligible students as possible in the Academically Unacceptable schools in 

Corrective Actions II or III to other Academically Acceptable schools; 
3) equal educational opportunities for all students eligible to transfer, including students with disabilities and 

Limited English Proficiency (LEP) and in compliance with all civil rights laws pertaining to eligible students; 
4) a method for selecting transfer students from the entire eligible student population in cases of Limited Capacity 

(i.e., lottery); 
5) a method for communicating to parents the option and wherewithal of School Choice; 
6) a method for maintaining a file for all communication involving all interested parties in School Choice; 
7) A method for providing transportation for transfer students; and 
8) A method for transferring student records, including assessment results and their interpretations. 

 
If the SBESE determines that an LEA has demonstrated sufficient evidence of lack of or limited capacity  to transfer, then 
the requesting LEA must submit the following information for the SBESE's approval:  
• a description of the School/District Plan for those schools having to offer School Choice that addresses the following: 

1) Educator Quality 
• Principal Certification/Qualifications 
• Principal Leadership and Effectiveness 
• Teacher Qualifications/Certification 
2) Professional Development 
• To address teacher professional learning based on student data 
• To address uncertified/inexperienced teacher professional learning if certified/experienced teachers are 

unavailable for placement in the school 
3) Alignment of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment with State Content Standards; 
4) Teacher/Pupil Ratio; 
5) Early Intervention/Remediation Programs; 
6) Time on Task/Extended Learning Opportunities; 
7) Parental Involvement; and 
8) Discipline/Safety/Health Issues;  
9) Renovation/Capital Improvement. 

 
If the SBESE approves an LEA's School Choice Policy, the LEA must comply with the following conditions: 

1) The LEA must submit a quarterly status report to the SBESE regarding the implementation and progress of the 
district's School Choice policy. 

2) The LEA's School Choice Policy will be reviewed, re-evaluated, and subject to amendment or revision annually, 
all at the discretion of the SBESE. 

3) The LEA must formally approve (and provide to the SBESE written proof thereof) the following: 
a. the implementation of the School Choice Policy submitted to the SBESE; and 
b. the assurance that as a part of its approval of the School Choice Policy the Superintendent (or interim 

Superintendent), or his/her designee, shall be the sole decision maker with regard to the assignment, 
removal, or replacement of all personnel involved, directly or indirectly, in the administration and 
implementation of the School Choice policy including personnel in the central office and relevant schools 
covered by the plan. 

4) In the event that the LEA uses preliminary data supplied by the LDE or testing contractor and determines in good 
faith that a school is not required by state or federal law to provide choice to students, but final School 
Performance Scores (as determined by the LDE) would require the school provide choice, the LEA shall provide 
choice (in accordance with the provisions of the approved School Choice Plan) at the end of the school year in 
which the final SPS are determined by the LDE. 

 
If the SBESE fails to approve an LEA's School Choice Plan, the implicated schools will lose their School Approval status. 

 
 

Progress Report 
2.006.12 The SBESE shall report annually on the State's 
progress in reaching its 10- and 20-Year Goals. The 
Louisiana Department of Education shall publish individual 
school reports to provide information on every school's 
performance. The school reports shall include the following 
information: School Performance Scores and school 
progress in reaching Growth Targets. Beginning fall 2002,

the LDE shall report subgroup performance to schools for 
the following subgroups: Poverty, Special Education, 
Ethnicity (White, Black, Hispanic, Asian/Pacific Islander, 
American Indian/Alaskan Native), and Limited English 
Proficient (LEP). 
 

Weegie Peabody  
Executive Director 

0303#015 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCPolicy for Louisiana's Public  

Education Accountability System  
(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR l:483 (November 1975). Act 478 
of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for the 
development of an Accountability System for the purpose of 
implementing fundamental changes in classroom teaching 
by helping schools and communities focus on improved 
student achievement. The State's Accountability System is an 
evolving system with different components. The changes 
more clearly explain and refine the existing policy as it 
pertains to the appeals and waiver process and the inclusion 
of new schools and/or significantly reconfigured schools in 
the accountability system. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269, 272 (February 2002), LR 28:991, (May 
2002), LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:299 (March 2003). 

* * * 
The Louisiana School and District  

Accountability System 
School Performance Scores 

2.006.03 A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be 
calculated for each school. This score shall range from 0-100 
and beyond, with a score of 100 indicating a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given school can receive for each individual indicator index 
and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0." 

New schools with one year of test data shall be included in 
accountability. For attendance and dropout data, LEA's shall 
have the option of using  
• the district average for schools in the same category as 
the new school  
• data from the prior year, if whole grade levels from an 
existing school or schools moved to the new school. 

 
 

During the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two School Performance Scores as follows: 
• a score for regular education students, including gifted, talented, and Section 504 students.  
• a score including regular education students AND students with disabilities eligible to participate in the 

CRT and/or NRT tests. 
For the purpose of determining Academically Unacceptable Schools, during the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, the 
School Performance Score that includes only regular education students shall be used. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS [K-6] 

 
The SPS for a sample school is calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight given to that 
indicator and adding the total scores. In the example, [(66.0 * 60%) + (75.0 * 30%) + (50.0 * 10%)] = 67.1  

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score 

CRT  66.0 60% 39.6 

NRT 75.0 30% 22.5 

Attendance 50.0 10% 5.0 

Dropout N/A 0% 0 

SPS = 67.1 

 
Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
A school's CRT Index score equals the sum of the student totals divided by the number of students eligible to 
participate in  state assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the following five levels 
shall receive the number of points indicated. 

Advanced = 200 points 
 Mastery (Exceeding the Standard) =  150 points 

Basic (Meeting the Standard) =  100 points 
Approaching Basic  (Approaching the Standard) =  50 points 

Unsatisfactory =  0 points 
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Formula for Calculating a CRT Index for a School [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the total number of points by multiplying the number of students at each 

Performance level times the points for those respective performance levels, for all content areas. 
2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the number of content area tests. 
3. Zero shall be the lowest CRT Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
Option I students:  those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have been 

• retained on the 8th grade campus 

• must retake all parts of the 8th grade LEAP 21 
 
If, during spring testing, a repeating fourth grade student or Option I 8th grade student receives a score of Approaching 
Basic (Approaching the Standard) or above on a LEAP 21 test of mathematics, English language arts, science or social 
studies for which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the retaining school shall receive 50 
incentive points per subject in its accountability index. A student may earn a maximum of 200 incentive points for 
his/her school. (No incentive points will be awarded for passing parts of tests in the summer school of the year they first 
failed in spring testing.) 

 
Transition Years [K-8] 
 
To accommodate the phase-in of the Social Studies and Science components of the CRT for Elementary and Secondary 
Accountability Cycles, the State Department of Education shall use following LEAP Test  components when calculating 
the School Performance Scores (SPS) for K-8:  
Timelines/School Years  LEAP-CRT Index Components 
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Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. Index scores for each student shall be 
calculated, scores totaled, and then averaged together to get a school's NRT Index score. 

 
NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores 

Composite Standard Scores Equivalent to  
Louisiana's 10- and 20-Year goals, by Grade Level * 

Grade 
Goals Percentile 

Rank 
3 5 6 7 

10-Year Goal 55th 187 219 231 243 
20-Year Goal 75th 199 236 251 266 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [K-8] 

 
Where the 10-year and 20-year goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks, respectively, and where SS = a student's 
standard score, then the index for that student is calculated as follows: 

Grade 3 Index 3rd grade = (4.167 * SS) - 679.2 
SS = (Index 3rd grade + 679.2)/4.167 

Grade 5 Index 5th grade = (2.941 * SS) - 544.1 
SS = (Index 5th grade + 544.1)/2.941 

Grade 6 Index 6th grade = (2.500 * SS) - 477.5 
SS = (Index 6th grade + 477.5)/2.500 

Grade 7 Index 7th grade = (2.174*SS) - 428.3 
SS= (Index 7th grade + 428.3)/2.174 
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Formula for Calculating a School's NRT Index [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the index for each student, using the grade-appropriate formula relating the Standard Score to NRT 
Index.  (NOTE:  For accountability purposes, a student not taking the test and not exempted will be assigned a zero 
NRT index.) 
2. Sum the total number of NRT Index points for all grades in the school. 
3. Divide the sum of the NRT Index points by the total number of students eligible to be tested plus the number 
of students not exempted. 
4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT Index score reported for School Performance Score calculations. 

 
Attendance Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
An Attendance Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior 
year's attendance rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average attendance rates 
as compared to the State's goals. 

 
Attendance Goals 

 10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades K-8 95% 98% 

Attendance Index Formula 
 
Grades K-8 

Indicator (ATT K-8) = (16.667 * ATT) - 1483.4 
 
              Where ATT is the attendance percentage, the Index Formula uses the definition of    
               attendance established by the Louisiana Department of Education. 

 
Lowest Attendance Index Score 

 
Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
Dropout Index Calculations 

 
A Dropout Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior 
year's dropout rates. Subsequent years' indices shall be calculated using the prior two years' average dropout rates as 
compared to the State's goals. 

 
Dropout Goals 

 10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades 7 & 8 4% 2% 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances the Louisiana Department of Education 
shall calculate an "Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes.  

 
Dropout Index Formulas 

 
Non-Dropout Rate (NDO) = 100 - Dropout Rate (DO) (expressed as a percentage) 

Grades 7 & 8 Dropout Index (7-8) = Indicator (DO Gr 7-8) = (25 * NDO) - 2300.0 
NDO = (Indicator DO Gr 7-8 + 2300.0) /25 

 
Lowest Dropout Index Score  

 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
School Performance Scores for 9-12 

 
A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for 

each high school. This score shall range from 0-100 and 
beyond, with a score of 100 indicating that a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating that a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given high school can receive for each individual indicator 
index and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0." 

Every year of student data shall be used as part of a high 
school's SPS. The school's initial SPS shall be calculated 
using the most recent year's NRT and CRT test data and the 
prior year's attendance and dropout rates. Subsequent 
calculations of the SPS shall use the most recent two years' 
test data, attendance and dropout rates from the two years 
prior to the last year of test data used.  
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Transition Years [9-12] 
To accommodate the phase-in of the grades 10 and 11 GEE 21 criterion-referenced tests, the Department shall use the 
following indicators: 

Timelines/School Years  Indicators Included 
Cycle 

 
Baseline 
SPS Data 

SPS Data Grade 9  
NRT 

Grade 10 
CRT 

Grade 11 
CRT 

Attendance  Dropout 
 

1 2000-01 2002-03 ü ü  ü* ü* 

2 

2001-02 
& 

2002-03 
(avg.) 

2003-04 
& 

2004-05 
(avg.) 

ü ü ü ü* ü* 

3 

2003-04 
& 

2004-05 
(avg.) 

2005-06 
& 

2006-07 
(avg.) 

ü ü ü ü* ü* 
 

*Indicates use of prior year data for these indexes. 
1The SPS at the beginning of cycle 2 shall be calculated using the average of the 2002 and 2003 NRT scores, the average 
of the 2002 and 2003 CRT scores, and the average of the 2001 and 2002 attendance and dropout data. The SPS for the 
beginnin g of cycle 2 shall be compared to the 2001 baseline SPS for determining growth. 

 
Transition Years [Combination Schools] 

 
Combination Schools are schools that contain a 10th and/or 11th grade and that also contain a 4th and/or 8th grade. 
 
To accommodate the phase-in of Social Studies and Science components of the CRT tests for Secondary Accountability 
Cycles, the Department shall use the following LEAP Test components when calculating the SPS for combination schools. 

Cycle 1 Baseline SPS for Combination Schools Cycle 2 SPS for Combination Schools 
K-8 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2000 and 2001) 
of all CRT data  

K-8 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2002 and 2003) 
of all CRT data. 

9-12 portion of school:  1 year baseline data (2001) without 
grade 11 CRT  

9-12 portion of school:  2 years averaged (2002 and 2003) 
of all CRT data. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS – Accountability Cycle 1 (2001) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 

During the first accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be calculated by multiplying the index values for 
each indicator by the weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 
                           SPS = (.60 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) +  

(.30 * NRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.05 * Dropout Index) 
+   (.05 Attendance Index) 

 
All intermediate results and the final result shall be rounded to the nearest tenth. 
 
The following is an example of how this calculation shall be made: 
[(.60 * 66.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 69.0. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score  
CRT—Grade 10 66.0 60% 39.6 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 

Attendance Index 50.0 5% 2.5 
Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 

SPS 69.0 

Formula for Calculating an SPS – Accountability Cycle 2 (2003 and beyond) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the second accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be calculated by multiplying the index values for 
each indicator by the weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 

SPS = (.30 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + 
 (.30 * Grade 11 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.30 * NRT Index) 

 + (.05 * Dropout Index) +  (.05 Attendance Index) 
 

In this example, 
[(.30 * 66.0) + (.30 * 60.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 67.2. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score  
CRT—Grade 10 66.0 30% 19.8 
CRT—Grade 11 60.0 30% 18.0 

NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance Index 50.0 5% 2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 

SPS 67.2 
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Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. Index scores for each student shall be calculated, 
scores totaled, and then averaged together to get a high school's NRT Index score. 

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores for Grade 9 
 

Goal 
 

Percentile Rank 
Grade 9 Composite Standard Score  

10-Year Goal 55th 263 
20-Year Goal 75th 287 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [9-12] 

If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks respectively and if the SS = a student's standard 
score, the index for a grade 9 student is calculated as follows: 

Index 9th grade = (2.083 * SS) – 447.8 
SS = (Index 9th grade + 447.8)/2.083 

 
Option II students:   those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have been   
• retained and placed on the high school campus 
• must take the 9th grade NRT and 
• must retake only the part of the 8th grade LEAP 21 they originally failed (English language arts or mathematics).  
 
If, during spring testing, a student receives a score of Approaching Basic (Approaching the Standard) or above on a LEAP 
21 test of mathematics or English language arts for which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, 
the high school shall receive incentive points in its accountability index. For the 2000-2001 school year, a student may 
earn a maximum of 100 incentive points in his/her school's accountability index. Beginning cycle 2 (2001-2002), a student 
may earn a maximum of 50 incentive points for his/her school. (See High Stakes Testing Policy.) 

 
Only with the exception of grade 8 Option II students, all Louisiana students in grades three through eleven will participate 
in only one of the following state assessments on an annual basis: 

• LEAP 21 or, 

• GEE 21 or, 

• Iowa On-Level or, 

• LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or, 

• LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA) 
 

Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 
A high school's CRT Index score at each grade equals the sum of the eligible student totals divided by the number of 
students eligible to participate in state assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the 
following five levels shall receive the number of points indicated. 

Advanced 200 points 
Mastery (Exceeding the Standard)  150 points 

Basic (Meeting the Standard) 100 points 
Approaching Basic (Approaching the Standard) 50 points 

Unsatisfactory 0 points 

 
Formula for Calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement Index for a High School 
     1. Sum the number of points earned by all students. For the NRT, there shall be one score for each student: the 

NRT Index calculated from the student's composite standard score. For the CRT, students shall be taking two 
tests at each grade.  

     2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the number of content area tests. This 
calculation provides the raw achievement index for the grade. 

     3. Multiply the raw index by the product of the non-dropout rates from the previous year for that grade and for all 
the previous grades. (See examples below.) This operation means that the grade 9 NRT Index shall be 
multiplied by the grade 9 non-dropout rate, the grade 10 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 and 
grade 10 non-dropout rates, and the grade 11 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9, grade 10 and grade 
11 non-dropout rates. This operation shall yield the Adjusted Achievement Index. 

     4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT or CRT Adjusted Achievement Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
The formula for calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement Index for a High School is: 
     NRT Adjusted Achievement Index = Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07) 
     CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 10) = Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07) *  
                                                                              (1-DO Gr 10 + .07)  
     CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 11) =  Raw Achievement Index * (1-DO Gr 9 + .07)    
                                                                               *(1-DO Gr 10 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 11 + .07) 
 

Example 1 - Grade 9: 
§ Before beginning grade 9, a class has 50 students; by the end of September, 45 remain in the class. The 

grade 9 dropout rate is 
(5/50) = .100. 

§ The number of points earned on the NRT is 5000. 
§ The raw achievement index is 

5000/45 = 111.1. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

111.1 X (1 – .100 + .07) = 107.8. 
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Example 2 - Grade 10: 
§ Another 5 students dropout before October of grade 10. The grade 10 dropout rate is 

5/45 = .111. 
§ The 40 students remaining in the class earn 10,000 points on the two CRT tests. The raw achievement 

index is 
10,000/(40 * 2)  = 125.0. 

§ The adjusted achievement index is 
125.0 X (1 – .100 + .07) X (1 – .111 +.07) = 116.3. 

 
Attendance Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 
An Attendance Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the 
prior year's attendance rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average attendance 
rates as compared to the State's goals. 

Attendance Goals 
  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 93% 96% 

Attendance Index Formula for Grades 9-12 
If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are 93% and 96% average attendance respectively and if the ATT = attendance 
percentage using the definition of attendance established by the Department of Education, the attendance index is 
calculated as follows: 

Indicator (ATT 9-12) = (16.667 * ATT) – 1450.0. 
Example: 

§ If the average attendance percentage is 94.3%, the Attendance Index would be 
(16.667 * 94.3) – 1450.0 = 121.7. 

Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability calculations. 
 

Dropout Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 
A Dropout Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior 
year's dropout rates. Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' average dropout rates as 
compared to the State's goals. 

Dropout Goals 
  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 7% 3% 

Dropout Index Formula for Grades 9-12 
Dropout Index = 187.5 – (12.5 X dropout rate) 

Example: 
If the dropout rate is 4.5%, the Dropout Index would be 187.5 – (12.5 * 4.5) = 131.3. 
 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability calculations. 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances the Louisiana Department of Education 
shall calculate an "Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes.  

 
 

Appeals Procedures 
2.006.13 An appeal/waiver procedure has been authorized 
by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(SBESE) and shall be used to address unforeseen and 
aberrant factors impacting schools in Louisiana. 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

The Department shall review appeal/waiver requests and make recommendations to the SBESE within sixty days, 
beginning the last day of the appeals/waiver filing period. Within this interval, the Department shall notify LEAs of its 
recommendations and allow them to respond in writing. The Department's recommendations and LEA responses will 
be forwarded to SBESE for final disposition.  

 
An appeal is generally defined as a request for the calculation or recalculation of the School Performance Score (SPS), 
and/or SPS baseline and Growth Target. 

 
A waiver is generally defined as a temporary "withholding" of accountability decisions for no more than one 
accountability cycle. Waivers shall be denied to aggrieved parties attempting to subvert the intent of provisions 
outlined in the state statute. 

 
General Guidelines: Parent/School-Level Requests 

 
Parents or individual schools seeking an appeal or waiver on issues relating to Louisiana's District and School 
Accountability System shall file their requests, regardless of the type, through the Superintendent, or appointed 
representative as authorized by the local governing board of education. 
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General Guidelines: Local Board of Education-Level Requests 

 
The Superintendent or official representative of each local governing board of education shall complete the LDE's 
Appeals/Waivers Request Form and provide supporting documentation to the Division of School Standards, 
Accountability, and Assistance no later than 30 calendar days after the official release of the School Performance 
Scores in the fall of each year. 
 
Data corrections shall be grounds for an appeal or waiver request when (a) evidence attributes data errors to the LDE 
and/or those contractors used for the student assessment program, and/or (b) evidence attributes errors to the LEA and 
corrections result in a change in Rewards or Corrective Actions status. Requests concerning either the inclusion or 
exclusion of special education student scores in the calculations of a school's SPS and Growth Target, except as 
outlined in Bulletin 741 , shall not be considered by the LDE. 
 
Supporting documentation for appeal/waiver requests should clearly outline those data that are erroneous. Further, 
computations by the local board of education's officials should provide evidence that the school's SPS is significantly 
affected by the data in question and that corrections impact Rewards, or Corrective Actions status. The local school 
system shall be responsible for supplying the LDE with information necessary for recalculating a school's SPS, per 
LDE instructions. 

 
Criteria for Appeal 

 
LEA superintendents shall notify the LDE in writing of any changes to existing school configurations, changes to 
Option status for Alternative schools or pair/share status during the LDE Accountability Status Verification process 
prior to  the calculation of the School Performance Scores. Fall SPS calculations shall be made using the information 
provided to the LDE in the following instances.  
 
1.The student population in a school significantly increases by greater than or equal to ten percent as a result of 
students transferring into the school from outside of the district (Ref. 2.006.14).  
2. An Alternative School changes its Option status by meeting the eligibility requirements outlined in Bulletin 
741 , Section 1.006.14.  
3. A school's (inclusive of those paired or shared) enrollment has significantly changed by fifty percent or 
more from the previous academic year as a result of redistricting by the local governing board or education (Ref. 
2.006.15). 
 
The LDE shall provide a report to SBESE of all configuration, pair/share, or Alternative Option status changes. 
 
If an LEA does not submit changes to school status to the LDE during the Accountability Status Verification process, 
the LEA may petition SBESE during the Appeals timeframe, after the SPS release. LEAs may petition SBESE in 
instances not addressed by policy or in instances when the policy is unclear. 

 
An LEA shall inform the LDE during the Accountability Status Verification process (Ref. 2.006.13) of schools within 
the district that have been closed. An appeal shall be filed by the LEA to receive monetary rewards for any eligible 
closed school.   

 
Criteria for Waiver 

 
1. The recalculated SPS baseline of a school changes by five points (+/-5) as a result of a significant change of 
ten percent or more in the student population because of students transferring into the school from outside of the district 
(Ref. 2.006.14). 
2. Factors beyond the reasonable control of the local governing board of education and also beyond the 
reasonable control of the school exist.  
3. A school lacks the statistically significant number of testing units for the CRT (80 units) and NRT (20 units) 
necessary to calculate the SPS and has no systematic “feeding” pattern into another school by which data could be 
“shared” (Ref. 2.006.15) because the school is 

• a Lab School; 
• a Type 1, 2, or 3 Charter School; 
• operated by the Department of Corrections; or 
• beyond the sovereign borders of Louisiana; 
• an SSD #1or #2 school; 
• a SBESE school; 
• non-diploma bound school. 

4. The student body of the school (Pre-K through K-2) comprises primarily Pre-K and K students (greater than 
fifty percent of the total student membership) and has no systematic “feeding” pattern into another school or schools 
by which it could be "paired" (Ref.  2.006.15). A feeding pattern is defined as the plan used by local governing boards 
of education to transfer students from one school to another for educational services as a result of pupil progression 
into higher grades. 
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New Schools and/or Significantly  
Reconfigured Schools 

 
2.006.16 For a newly formed school, the school district 
shall register the new school with the Louisiana Department 
of Education to have a site code assigned to that school. A 

new school shall not be created nor shall a new site code be 
issued in order to prevent a school from entering the 
Accountability System. Before a new school is created, the 
Local Education Authority must work with the Louisiana 
Department of Education to explore ways the new school 
can be included in the Accountability System.

 
 

When two or more schools are created from an existing school (e.g., Grades 4-6 "split" from an existing K-6 structure, 
creating a K-3 school and a 4-6 school), the existing site code stays with the school that contributed most to the original 
SPS (as determined by the LDE), and the "new" school shall receive a new site code.  
New schools with one year of test data shall be included in accountability. For attendance and dropout data, LEA's will 
have the option of using (a) the district average for schools in the same category as the new school or (b) data from the 
prior year, if whole grade levels from an existing school or schools moved to the new school. 

 
Reconfigured Schools 

 
• A reconfigured school shall retain its rewards and/or Corrective Act ions status if 50% or more of the students 
remain at the school; 
• A reconfigured school shall transfer its rewards and/or Corrective Actions status if 50% or more of the students 
transfer to another school; 

 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0303#016 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1965CEnglish Language Arts Content Standards 
(LAC 28:LXIII.Chapters 1-7) 

Editor's Note: Bulletin 1965 has been moved to Part LXIII of 
Title 28 and is printed in its entirety to show the new 
codification. 
 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted revision of Bulletin 1965, Louisiana 
English Language Arts Content Standards, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.930.E, promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). 
The Louisiana English Language Arts Content Standards 
will be disseminated to local school districts following 
publication. Implementation of the changes to the wording in 
the standards and benchmarks clarify and strengthen the 
standards and benchmarks used to guide curriculum 
development. The revisions to the Louisiana English 
Language Arts Content Standards strengthen the content and 
add clarity to the document without affecting the integrity of 
the assessment instruments. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXIII.  English Language Arts Content Standards  
Chapter 1. Standard One 
§101. General Provisions 

A. Standard One. Students read, comprehend, and 
respond to a range of materials, using a variety of strategies 
for different purposes. 

B. Focus. As students move through the stages of 
reading development from emergent literacy to fluent, 
strategic reading, they learn to draw upon their prior 
experiences, their interactions with other readers and writers, 
their knowledge of word meaning and of other texts, their 

word identification strategies, and their understanding of 
textual features (e.g., semantic, syntactic, graphophonic). 
Students need to learn how to vary their approaches 
according to the type of text (e.g., written, spoken, or visual, 
including formal, informal, literary, and practical), their 
purpose in reading, and their own knowledge and 
experiences. Therefore, students should read for a variety of 
purposes and within a variety of contexts in order to become 
proficient and knowledgeable readers. Discovering various 
purposes and exploring and studying different kinds of texts 
will enable students to become lifelong readers and 
productive members of society and the workplace. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:306 (March 2003). 
§103. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-1-E1CGaining meaning from print and 
building vocabulary using a full range of strategies (e.g., 
self-monitoring and correcting, searching, cross-checking), 
evidenced by reading behaviors while using phonemic 
awareness, phonics, sentence structure, meaning (1, 4) 

2. ELA-1-E2CUsing the conventions of print (e.g., 
left-to-right directionality, top-to-bottom, one-to-one 
matching, sentence framing) (1, 4) 

3. ELA-1-E3CAdjusting speed of reading (e.g., 
appropriate pacing, intonation, expression) to suit the 
difficulty of materials and the purpose for reading (e.g., 
enjoying, learning, problem solving) (1, 4) 

4. ELA-1-E4CRecognizing story elements (e.g., 
setting, plot, character, theme) and literary devices (e.g., 
simile, dialogue, personification) within a selection (1,4) 

5. ELA-1-E5CReading, comprehending, and 
responding to written, spoken, and visual texts in extended 
passages (e.g., range for fiction passages -450-1,000 words; 
range for nonfiction-450-850 words) (1, 3, 4) 

6. ELA-1-E6CInterpreting (e.g., retelling, 
summarizing) texts to generate connections to real-life 
situations (1, 2, 4) 
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7. ELA-1-E7CReading with fluency (natural 
sequencing of words) for various purposes (e.g., enjoying, 
learning, problem solving) (1, 2, 4) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:306 (March 2003). 
§105. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-1-M1CUsing knowledge of word meaning 
and developing basic and technical vocabulary using various 
strategies (e.g., context clues, idioms, affixes, etymology, 
multiple-meaning words) (1, 4) 

2. ELA-1-M2CInterpreting story elements (e.g., 
mood, tone, style)* and literary devices (e.g., flashback, 
metaphor, foreshadowing, symbolism)* within a selection 
(1, 4) 

3. ELA-1-M3CReading, comprehending, and 
responding to written, spoken, and visual texts in extended 
passages (e.g., ranging from 500-1,000 words) (1, 3, 4) 

4. ELA-1-M4CInterpreting (e.g., paraphrasing, 
comparing, contrasting) texts with supportive explanations 
to generate connections to real-life situations and other texts 
(e.g., business, technical, scientific) (1, 2, 4, 5) 

5. ELA-1-M5CAdjusting reading rate according to 
texts and purposes for reading (e.g., problem solving, 
evaluating, researching)* (1, 2, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:307 (March 2003). 
§107. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-1-H1CUsing knowledge of word meaning 
and extending basic and technical vocabulary, employing a 
variety of strategies (e.g., contexts, connotations and 
denotations, word derivations, relationships, inferences) (1, 
4) 

2. ELA-1-H2CAnalyzing and evaluating the effects of 
complex elements and complex literary devices (e.g., irony, 
sarcasm, ambiguity)** on the meaning and purpose of a 
selection (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-1-H3CReading, comprehending, and 
responding to extended, complex, written, spoken, and 
visual texts (e.g., ranging from 600-1,500 words) (1, 2, 3, 4) 

4. ELA-1-H4CAnalyzing and evaluating complex 
texts with supportive explanations to generate connections to 
real-life situations and other texts (e.g., consumer materials, 
public documents) (1, 2, 4, 5) 

5. ELA-1-H5CAdjusting reading rate according to 
texts and purposes for reading (e.g., analyzing, synthesizing, 
evaluating)** (1, 2, 4) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:307 (March 2003). 

Chapter 2. Standard Two 
§201. General Provisions 

A. Standard Two. Students write competently for a 
variety of purposes and audiences. 

B. Focus. Writing is a flexible, recursive process that 
requires an awareness of purpose and audience, an ability to 
draw on prior experience, and a knowledge of various 
approaches. To attain the necessary skills to create written 
text, students should engage in frequent, meaningful writing 
activities. As students use different strategies and modify 
their writing for various purposes and audiences, they 
become competent in communicating in real-life situations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:307 (March 2003). 
§203. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-2-E1CDrawing, dictating and writing 
compositions that clearly state or imply a central idea with 
supporting details in a logical, sequential order (beginning, 
middle, end) (1, 4) 

2. ELA-2-E2CFocusing on language (vocabulary), 
concepts, and ideas that show an awareness of the intended 
audience and/or purpose (e.g., classroom, real-life, 
workplace) in developing compositions (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-2-E3CCreating written texts using the writing 
process (1, 4) 

4. ELA-2-E4CUsing narration, description, 
exposition, and persuasion to develop compositions (e.g., 
stories, letters, poems, logs) (1, 4) 

5. ELA-2-E5CRecognizing and applying literary 
devices (e.g., figurative language) (1, 4) 

6. ELA-2-E6CWriting as a response to texts and life 
experiences (e.g., journals, letters, lists) (1, 2, 4) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6.   

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:307 (March 2003). 
§205. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-2-M1CWriting mu ltiparagraph compositions 
(150-200 words) that clearly imply a central idea with 
supporting details in a logical, sequential order (1, 4) 

2. ELA-2-M2CUsing language, concepts, and ideas 
that show an awareness of intended audience and/or purpose 
(e.g., classroom, real-life, workplace) in developing complex 
compositions (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-2-M3CIdentifying and applying the steps of 
the writing process (1, 4) 

4. ELA-2-M4 Using narration, description, exposition, 
and persuasion to develop various modes of writing (e.g., 
notes, essays)* (1, 4) 

5. ELA-2-M5CIdentifying and applying literary 
devices (e.g., symbolism, dialogue)* (1, 4) 

6. ELA-2-M6CWriting as a response to texts and life 
experiences (e.g., personal and business letters)* (1, 2, 4) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:307 (March 2003). 
§207. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-2-H1CWriting compositions (250-300 words) 
that employ specific organizational elements (e.g., spatial 
order, order of importance, ascending/descending order, 
chronological order) and clearly imply a central idea with 
supporting details in a logical, sequential order (1, 4) 

2. ELA-2-H2CUsing language, concepts, and ideas 
that show an awareness of the intended audience and/or 
purpose (e.g., classroom, real-life, workplace) in developing 
complex compositions (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-2-H3CApplying the steps of the writing 
process, emphasizing revising and editing in final drafts (1, 
4) 

4. ELA-2-H4CUsing narration, description, 
exposition, and persuasion to develop various modes of 
writing (e.g., editorials, critical analyses)** (1, 4) 

5. ELA-2-H5CApplying literary devices And various 
stylistic elements (e.g., diction, sentence structure, voice, 
tone)** (1, 4) 

6. ELA-2-H6CWriting as a response to texts and life 
experiences (e.g.,  technical writing, resumes)** (1, 2, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
Chapter 3. Standard Three 
§301. General Provisions 

A. Standard Three. Students communicate using standard 
English grammar, usage, sentence structure, punctuation, 
capitalization, spelling, and handwriting. 

B. Focus. Communication is dependent on the practical 
application of standard English to real-life situations. 
Students need to be able to apply the knowledge of the 
systems and structures of standard English in order to 
develop, discuss, and critique various texts. When students 
connect the study of grammar and language patterns to 
written, spoken, and visual compositions, they begin to 
incorporate these skills into their own working knowledge 
and ensure that the texts that they create are well received 
and understood. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
§303. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-3-E1CWriting legibly, allowing margins and 
correct spacing between letters in a word and words in a 
sentence (1, 4) 

2. ELA-3-E2CDemonstrating use of punctuation (e.g., 
comma, apostrophe, period, question mark, exclamation 
mark), capitalization, and abbreviations in final drafts of 
writing assignments (1, 4) 

3. ELA-3-E3CDemonstrating standard English 
structure and usage by writing clear, coherent sentences (1, 
4) 

4. ELA-3-E4CUsing knowledge of the parts of speech 
to make choices for writing (1, 4) 

5. ELA-3-E5CSpelling accurately using strategies 
(e.g., letter-sound correspondence, hearing and recording 
sounds in sequence, spelling patterns, pronunciation) and 
resources (e.g., glossary, dictionary) when necessary (1, 4) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
§305. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-3-M1CWriting fluidly and legibly in cursive 
or printed form (1, 4) 

2. ELA-3-M2CDemonstrating use of punctuation 
(e.g., colon, semicolon, quotation marks, dashes, 
parentheses), capitalization, and abbreviations (1, 4) 

3. ELA-3-M3CDemonstrating standard English 
structure and usage by using correct and varied sentence 
types (e.g., compound and compound-complex) and 
effective personal styles (1, 4, 5) 

4. ELA-3-M4CDemonstrating understanding of the 
parts of speech to make choices for writing (1, 4) 

5. ELA-3-M5CSpelling accurately using strategies 
and resources (e.g., glossary, dictionary, thesaurus, spell 
check) when necessary (1, 3, 4) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
§307. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-3-H1Cwriting fluidly and legibly in cursive or 
printed form (1, 4) 

2. ELA-3-H2CUsing the grammatical and mechanical 
conventions of standard English (1, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-3-H3CSpelling accurately using strategies 
and resources (e.g., technical glossary, specialized 
dictionary) when necessary (1, 3, 4) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
Chapter 4. Standard Four 
§401. General Provisions 

A. Standard Four. Students demonstrate competence in 
speaking and listening as tools for learning and 
communicating. 

B. Focus. Communication is dependent on the 
interpersonal skills of speaking and listening and on the 
ability to work collaboratively with different people. Since 
information can be conveyed in various ways (e.g., between 
persons or groups, between persons and technological 
mechanisms, or between mechanisms), students need to 
understand the communication process: the concepts of
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sender and receiver, the ability to track communication 
breakdowns, recognition of verbal and nonverbal cues, and 
the art of follow-through. Understanding the communication 
process and applying this understanding to different 
audiences, purposes, and contexts will enable students to 
achieve effective communication in real-life situations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:308 (March 2003). 
§403. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-4-E1CSpeaking intelligibly, using standard 
English pronunciation (1, 4) 

2. ELA-4-E2CGiving and following 
directions/procedures (1, 4) 

3. ELA-4-E3CTelling or retelling stories in sequence 
(1, 4) 

4. ELA-4-E4CGiving rehearsed and unrehearsed 
presentations (1, 4) 

5. ELA-4-E5CSpeaking and listening for a variety of 
audiences (e.g., classroom, real-life, workplace) and 
purposes (e.g., awareness, concentration, enjoyment, 
information, problem solving) (1, 2, 4, 5) 

6. ELA-4-E6CListening and responding to a wide 
variety of media (e.g., music, TV, film, speech) ( 1, 3, 4, 5) 

7. ELA-4-E7CParticipating in a variety of roles in 
group discussions (e.g., active listener, contributor, 
discussion leader) (1, 4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:309 (March 2003). 
§405. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-4-M1CSpeaking intelligibly, using standard 
English pronunciation and diction (1, 4) 

2. ELA-4-M2CGiving and following 
directions/procedures (1, 4) 

3. ELA-4-M3CUsing the features of speaking (e.g., 
audience analysis, message construction, delivery, 
interpretation of feedback) when giving rehearsed and 
unrehearsed presentations (1, 2, 4) 

4. ELA-5-M4CSpeaking and listening for a variety of 
audiences (e.g., classroom, real-life, workplace) and 
purposes (e.g., awareness, concentration, enjoyment, 
information, problem solving) (1, 2, 4, 5) 

5. ELA-4-M5CListening and responding to a wide 
variety of media* (1, 3, 4, 5) 

6. ELA-4-M6CParticipating in a variety of roles in 
group discussions (e.g., facilitator, recorder)* (1, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:309 (March 2003). 
§407. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-4-H1CSpeaking intelligibly, using standard 
English pronunciation and diction (1, 4) 

2. ELA-4-H2CGiving and following 
directions/procedures (1, 4) 

3. ELA-4-H3CUsing the features of speaking (e.g., 
audience analysis, message construction, delivery, 
interpretation of feedback) when giving prepared and 
impromptu presentations (1, 2, 4) 

4. ELA-4-H4CSpeaking and listening for a variety of 
audiences (e.g., classroom, real-life, workplace) and 
purposes (e.g., awareness, concentration, enjoyment, 
information, problem solving) (1, 2, 4, 5)  

5. ELA-4-H5CListening and responding to a wide 
variety of media (e.g., CD-ROM)** (1, 3, 4) 

6. ELA-4-H6CParticipating in a variety of roles in 
group discussion (e.g., mediator)** (1, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:309 (March 2003). 
Chapter 5. Standard Five 
§501. General Provisions 

A. Standard Five. Students locate, select, and synthesize 
information from a variety of texts, media, references, and 
technological sources to acquire and communicate 
knowledge. 

B. Focus. The information and technology age demands 
multifaceted approaches to accessing facts, images, and text 
from an array of information sources (e.g., libraries, 
electronic data, audio and video materials). The vast amount 
of available sources includes the reading and retrieval of 
information through the use of technology. The ability to 
identify topics, to gather information, and to evaluate, 
assemble, and interpret findings from an assortment of 
sources is one of the most essential real-life skills that 
students need in order to acquire and communicate 
knowledge in a rapidly changing world. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:309 (March 2003). 
§503. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-5-E1CRecognizing and using organizational 
features of printed text, other media, and electronic 
information (e.g., parts of a text, alphabetizing, captions, 
legends, pull-down menus, keyword searches, icons, 
passwords, entry menu features) (1, 3, 4) 

2. ELA-5-E2CLocating and evaluating information 
sources (e.g., print materials, databases, CD-ROM 
references, Internet information, electronic reference works, 
community and government data, television and radio 
resources, audio and visual materials) (1, 3, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-5-E3CLocating, gathering, and selecting 
information using graphic organizers, simple outlining, note 
taking, and summarizing to produce texts and graphics (1, 3, 
4) 

4. ELA-5-E4CUsing available technology to produce, 
revise, and publish a variety of works (e.g., book reviews, 
summaries, short research reports) (1, 3, 4) 
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5. ELA-5-E5CGiving credit for borrowed information 
by telling or listing sources (1, 4) 

6. ELA-5-E6CRecognizing and using graphic 
organizers (e.g., charts/graphs, tables/schedules, 
diagrams/maps) (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:309 (March 2003). 
§505. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-5-M1CIdentifying and using organizational 
features of printed text, other media, and electronic 
information (e.g., microprint, CD-ROM, e-mail)* (1, 3, 4) 

2. ELA-5-M2CIntegrating information sources* (1, 3, 
4, 5) 

3. ELA-5-M3CLocating, gathering, and selecting 
information using formal outlining, paraphrasing, 
interviewing, and surveying to produce documented texts 
and graphics* (1, 3, 4) 

4. ELA-5-M4CUsing available technology to 
produce, revise, and publish a variety of works (e.g., 
documented research reports, investigative reports, 
annotated bibliographies)* (1, 3, 4) 

5. ELA-5-M5CCiting references using various 
formats (e.g., endnotes, bibliography)* (1, 4) 

6. ELA-5-M6CIdentifying and interpreting graphic 
organizers (e.g., flowcharts, timelines, tree diagrams)* (1, 2, 
3, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 
§507. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-5-H1CEvaluating and using organizational 
features of printed text, other media, and electronic 
information (e.g., citations, endnotes, bibliographic 
references)** (1, 3, 4) 

2. ELA-5-H2CSynthesizing information sources** (1, 
3, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-5-H3CAccessing information and conducting 
research using a variety of primary and secondary sources to 
produce formal papers** (1, 2, 3, 4) 

4. ELA-5-H4CUsing available technology to produce, 
revise, and publish a variety of works (e.g., abstracts, 
analytical reports, summative research)** (1, 3, 4,) 

5. ELA-5-H5CCiting references using various formats 
(e.g., parenthetical citations, annotated bibliographies)** (1, 
4) 

6. ELA-5-H6CAnalyzing and synthesizing graphic 
organizers (e.g., organizational charts, concept maps, 
comparative tables)** (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 

Chapter 6. Chapter Six 
§601. General Provisions 

A. Standard Six. Students read, analyze, and respond to 
literature as a record of life experiences. 

B. Focus. Literature is a record of life experiences as set 
forth in various writings (e.g., history, novels, poetry, science 
fiction, essays, news articles, logs). The study of literary 
texts recognizes characteristics of enduring literature, 
discovers and reviews the elements of various genres, 
identifies diverse perspectives, and distinguishes cultural 
traditions. The study of literature and writers of the United 
States and throughout the world gives students an 
appreciation of other cultures in a global society. Through a 
comprehensive literature program, students learn to make 
connections between literary texts and their own lives, to 
develop their own perspectives, and to analyze different 
viewpoints toward events, circumstances, and issues in our 
complex society. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 
§603. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-6-E1CRecognizing and responding to United 
States and world literature that represents the experiences 
and traditions of diverse ethnic groups (1, 4, 5) 

2. ELA-6-E2CRecognizing and responding to a 
variety of classic and contemporary fiction and non-fiction 
literature from many genres (e.g., folktales, legends, myths, 
biography, autobiography, poetry, short stories) (1, 4) 

3. ELA-6-E3CIdentifying and distinguishing key 
differences of various genres (1, 2, 4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 
§605. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what they know and are able to do includes the following. 

1. ELA-6-M1CComparing/contrasting and responding 
to United States and world literature that represents the 
experiences and traditions of diverse ethnic groups (1, 4, 5) 

2. ELA-6-M2CIdentifying, comparing, and 
responding to a variety of classic and contemporary fiction 
and non-fiction literature from many genres (e.g., novels , 
drama)* (1, 2, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-6-M3CClassifying and interpreting various 
genres according to their unique characteristics (1, 2, 4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 
§607. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-6-H1CAnalyzing, evaluating, and responding 
to United States and world literature that represents  
the experiences and traditions of diverse ethnic groups  
(1, 2, 4, 5) 
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2. ELA-6-H2CAnalyzing and evaluating distinctive 
elements (e.g., recurrent themes, historical significance, 
literary techniques) of ancient, American, British, and world 
literature (1, 2, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-6-H3CAnalyzing, and synthesizing a variety 
of classic and contemporary fiction and non-fiction literature 
from many genres (e.g., epics)** (1, 2, 4, 5) 

4. ELA-6-H4CAnalyzing and responding to various 
genres as records of life experiences (1, 2, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:310 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Standard Seven 
§701. General Provisions 

A. Standard Seven. Students apply reasoning and 
problem solving skills to their reading, writing, speaking, 
listening, viewing, and visually representing. 

B. Focus. Students use language daily to solve problems 
and deal with issues surrounding them. In order to respond 
effectively to these situations, students need to use the 
English Language Arts clearly, fluently, strategically, 
critically, technologically, and creatively. Students should 
use reasoning skills as they pose questions, plan, predict, 
investigate, hypothesize, speculate, and communicate about 
issues they encounter in academic subjects as well as in 
everyday life. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:311 (March 2003). 
§703. Benchmarks K-4 

A. In Grades K-4, what students know and are able to do 
includes the following. 

1. ELA-7-E1CUsing comprehension strategies (e.g., 
sequencing, predicting, drawing conclusions, comparing and 
contrasting, making inferences, determining main ideas) to 
interpret oral, written, and visual texts (1, 2, 4) 

2. ELA-7-E2CUsing basic reasoning skills, life 
experiences, and available information to solve proble ms in 
oral, written, and visual texts (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-7-E3CRecognizing an author’s purpose 
(reason for writing), and viewpoint (perspective) (1, 2, 4) 

4. ELA-7-E4CUsing basic reasoning skills to 
distinguish fact from opinion, skim and scan for facts, 
determine cause and effect, generate inquiry, and make 
connections with real-life situations (1, 2, 4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:311 (March 2003). 
§705. Benchmarks 5-8 

A. As students in Grades 5-8 extend their knowledge, 
what students know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-7-M1CUsing comprehension strategies (e.g., 
summarizing, recognizing literary devices, paraphrasing)* to 
analyze oral, written, and visual texts (1, 2, 4) 

2. ELA-7-M2CUsing reasoning skills (e.g., 
categorizing, prioritizing),* life experiences, accumulated 

knowledge, and relevant available information resources to 
solve problems in oral, written, and visual texts (1, 2, 4) 

3. ELA-7-M3CInterpreting the effects of an author’s 
purpose (reason for writing) and viewpoint (perspective) (1, 
2, 4) 

4. ELA-7-M4CUsing inductive and deductive 
reasoning skills across oral, written, and visual texts* (1, 2, 
4, 5) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:311 (March 2003). 
§707. Benchmarks 9-12 

A. As students in Grades 9-12 extend and refine their 
knowledge, what they know and are able to do includes the 
following. 

1. ELA-7-H1CUsing comprehension strategies (e.g., 
synthesizing, critiquing)** to evaluate oral, written, and 
visual texts (1, 2, 4) 

2. ELA-7-H2CUsing reasoning skills (e.g., analyzing 
evaluating),** incorporating life experiences, and using 
available information resources to solve problems in 
complex oral, written, and visual texts (1, 2, 4, 5) 

3. ELA-7-H3CAnalyzing and evaluating the effects of 
an author’s life, culture, and philosophical assumptions as 
reflected in the author's viewpoint (perspective) (1, 2, 4, 5) 

4. ELA-7-H4CUsing analytical reasoning skills in a 
variety of complex oral, written, and visual texts** 
( 1, 2, 4, 5) 

  * Inclusive of K-4 examples 
** Inclusive of K-8 examples 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:311 (March 2003). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0303#014 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Commercial Laboratories Pending Accreditation 
(LAC 33:I.4501 and 4719)(OS039) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary amends the Office of the Secretary regulations, 
LAC 33:I.4501 and 4719 (Log #OS039). 

As a result of deadlines established in current Louisiana 
regulations, the department was prohibited from accepting 
data from commercial laboratories that have not received 
departmental accreditation. This Rule will allow the 
department to accept data from laboratories that have 
submitted complete applications and supporting documents, 
have submitted documentation verifying 
certification/accreditation by a department-approved 
accreditation program or supporting documentation showing
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the quality assurance and quality control program used to 
generate analytical data by the laboratory, and have paid all 
appropriate fees. The department is adding an exemption for 
personnel monitoring services and those activities 
specifically licensed in accordance with LAC 33:XV.Chapter 
3.Subchapter B, equivalent agreement state regulations, and 
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission regulations, Title 10 
Code of Federal Regulations, due to the fact that they are 
licensed under other department regulations and to prevent 
an additional economic burden and duplication of effort by 
the department. The department relies on the analytical data 
to determine permit compliance, enforcement issues, and 
effectiveness of remediation of soils and groundwater. 
Permit issuance and compliance are effective means of 
determining the impact on human health and the 
environment. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 
establish regulations to allow the department to have access 
to accurate, reliable, precise analytical data in order to meet 
its mandate to protect human health and the environment. 
This Rule will promulgate the regulation changes in 
Emergency Rule OS039E4, which was effective on March 
11, 2003. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019.D.(2) 
and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 

Chapter 45. Policy and Intent 
§4501. Description and Intent of Program 

A. - D. ... 
E. This Subpart shall not apply to the following: 

1. laboratory analyses programs accredited under the 
regulatory and statutory authority of the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals; and 

2. personnel monitoring services in accordance with 
LAC 33:XV.430.C and to those activities specifically 
licensed in accordance with LAC 33:XV.Chapter 
3.Subchapter B, equivalent agreement state regulations, and 
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission regulations, Title 10 
Code of Federal Regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:917 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1434 (July 2000), LR 
29:312 (March 2003). 
Chapter 47. Program Requirements 
§4719. Implementation 

A. - B. ... 
C. The department will accept analytical data generated 

by laboratories that do not comply with the deadlines 
established in Subsection B of this Section for accreditation 
if such laboratories: 

1. have submitted a complete application form and 
supporting documents; 

2. have submitted documentation verifying 
certification/accreditation by a department-approved 

accreditation program or supporting documentation showing 
the quality assurance and quality control program used to 
generate analytical data by the laboratory; and 

3. have paid appropriate fees. 
D. These regulations shall not apply to field tests as 

defined in LAC 33:I.4503. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:922 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), LR 
29:312 (March 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#072 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division  

Reorganization of Solid Waste Regulations  
(LAC 33:VII.Chapters 151-169)(SW031) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has repealed LAC 33:VII.Subpart 3 of the solid 
waste regulations (Log #SW031). 

This Rule repealed and replaced in its entirety all 
previously promulgated Solid Waste regulations cited as 
LAC 33:VII.Subpart 1 and repealed in its entirety LAC 
33:VII.Subpart 3, Louisiana Resource Recovery and 
Development Authority. This action was being taken to: 1) 
reorganize the regulations in a more user-friendly manner; 2) 
correct errors in text; 3) eliminate the Louisiana Resource 
Recovery and Development Authority (LRRDA) in 
accordance with Act 524 of the 2001 Louisiana Legislative 
Session; 4) clarify technical requirements for all solid waste 
facilities; 5) incorporate into regulations geology and 
groundwater standards currently required by the department; 
6) allow the department to establish the numbers and levels 
of certified operators  at a facility; 7) provide more flexibility 
regarding characterization of subsurface geology; 8) remove 
language allowing operations at a proposed facility with a 
temporary permit; and 9) establish a basis for the phrase 
"environmentally sound manner." Upon further evaluation of 
the solid waste regulations and after review and 
consideration of comments received, the department has 
chosen to sever Subpart 1 from the proposed Rule and not 
promulgate it at this time. The repeal of Subpart 3, Louisiana 
Resource Recovery and Development Authority, is the only 
portion of the Rule that is being promulated. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019.D.(2) 
and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 
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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 3.  Louisiana Resource Recovery and 

Development Authority 
Chapter 151. General Provisions 
§15101. Name 

Repealed 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:501 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15103. Legislative Authority and Governance 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15105. Purposes of the Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15107. Object of these Rules 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15109. Definition 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15111. Filings with the Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003).  
§15113. Parliamentary Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15115. Effective Date and Duration 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003).  
§15117. Public Participation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:654 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
Chapter 153. Membership and Organization 
§15301. Authority Membership 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15303. Term of Office 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15305. Representatives or Designees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:502 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15307. Compensation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
§15309. Resignation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:313 (March 2003). 
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§15311. Vacancies 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003).  
§15313. Officers 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15315. Committees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
Chapter 155. Meetings and Hearings 
§15501. Quorum 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15503. Public Meetings 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15505. Executive Session 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15507. Regular Meetings 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15509. Bi-Annual Meeting 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2301 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15511. Special Meetings; Fact-Finding Hearings; Other 

Hearings 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:503 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15513. Notice 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15515. Request for Authority Action 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15517. Petitions for Hearings, Special Meetings or 

Action 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15519. Action on Petition 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15521. Continuances 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
§15523. Presiding Officer 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:314 (March 2003). 
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§15525. Conduct 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§15527. Authority Minutes and Records  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003).  
Chapter 157. Promulgation and Amendment of Rules 
§15701. Promulgation of Rules 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), amended by the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 
1994), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§15703. Review and Amendment of Rules 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
Chapter 159. Staff Functions 
§15901. Purpose of Definition 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§15903. Functions Retained by the Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§15905. Functions Assigned to the Staff 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:504 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
Chapter 161. Operating Policies 
§16101. Policy for Establishing Waste Regions and 

Setting Boundaries 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:505 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§16103. Policy Governing Facility Development and 

Setting of Priorities for Financing 
Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2301 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:505 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003).  
§16105. Policy Governing the Setting of Fees, Charges, 

and Prices for the Use of Authority Facilities and 
for Products and By-Products of Such Facilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:505 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§16107. Policy Governing Planning, Design, 

Construction, and Operation of Authority 
Facilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:505 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
Chapter 163. Competitive Negotiations; Procurement 

of Goods and Services 
§16301. Competitive Negotiations 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), amended LR 8:520 (October 1982), amended by 
the Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and 
Hazardous Waste, LR 20:655 (June 1994), repealed by Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
29:315 (March 2003). 
§16303. Procurement of Goods and Servi ces 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§16305. Procurements of Personal, Professional and 

Consulting Services 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§16307. Procurements Related to Construction of Public 

Works 
Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2301 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:315 (March 2003). 
§16309. Confidentiality of Data 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
Chapter 165. Sales of Authority Products or Property 

(Excluding Bonds and Notes) 
§16501. Sales of Steam from Authority Facilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
§16503. Sales of Electricity from Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
§16505. Sale of Methane, Paper, Glass, Metals, Ash, or 

Other Products of Authority Facilities 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
§16507. Sale or Lease of Authority Property 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981, repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
Chapter 167. Financing 
§16701. Financing 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506 
(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 
Chapter 169. Construction and Effect 
§16901. Construction and Effect 

Repealed. 
AUTHORIT Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2301 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Environmental Affairs, LR 7:506

(October 1981), repealed by Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:316 (March 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#073 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Incorporation by Reference (IBR) of 40 CFR 60  
(LAC 33:III.3003)(AQ230*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.3003 
(Log #AQ230*). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 40 
CFR 60.2575-60.2875, (July 1, 2001), which are applicable 
in Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 765-0399 or Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-
2178. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
Rule; therefore, the Rule will be promulgated in accordance 
with R.S. 49:953.F.(3) and (4). 

It has been brought to the department's attention, by EPA 
Region VI, that the contents of the department's emission 
guidelines for commercial and industrial solid waste 
incineration units do not match the contents of LAC 
33:III.3003.B.6. This Rule change corrects this inadvertent 
error. The draft emission guidelines plan actually includes 40 
CFR 60.2575 through 2875. The basis and rationale for this 
Rule are to amend the regulations to correctly identify the 
contents of the department's emission guidelines for 
commercial and industrial solid waste incineration units. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019.D.(2) 
and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 30. Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources (NSPS) 
Subchapter A. Incorporation by Reference (IBR) 
§3003. IBR 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 

60 
A. - B.5. … 

6. The department's emission guideline plan, required 
by the CAA, Section 111(d), for Commercial and Industrial 
Solid Waste Incineration (CISWI) Units includes 40 CFR 
60.2575-60.2875 and Tables 1-5. Until the department has a 
mechanism to approve training programs in compliance with 
40 CFR 60.2635, the department shall accept accreditation 
approved by other states complying with 40 CFR 60.2635. 
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C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 22:1212 (December 1996), 
amended LR 23:1681 (December 1997), LR 24:1287 (July 1998), 
LR 24:2238 (December 1998), LR 25:1239 (July 1999), LR 
25:1797 (October 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1607 
(August 2000), LR 26:2460 (November 2000), LR 26:2608 
(November 2000), LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 
2002), LR 28:2181 (October 2002), LR 29:316 (March 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#011 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

RCRA XII Package 
(LAC 33:V.105, 109, 321, 529, 535, 537, 2001, 2219,  

2603, 3001, 3105, 3115, 4513, 4901, and 4903)(HW083*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Hazardous Was te regulations, 
LAC 33:V.Chapters 1, 3, 5, 20, 22, 26, 30, 31, 43, and 49 
(Log #HW083*). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 66 
FR 50332-50334, 10/3/01; 66 FR 58258-58300, 11/20/01, 
amended 67 FR 17119-17120, 4/9/02; 67 FR 2962-3029, 
1/22/02; 67 FR 6792-6818, 2/13/02; 67 FR 6968-6996, 
2/14/02; 67 FR 11251-11254, 3/13/02, which are applicable 
in Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 765-0399 or Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-
2178. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
Rule; therefore, the Rule will be promulgated in accordance 
with R.S. 49:953.F.(3) and (4). 

This Rule includes changes to the Hazardous Waste 
regulations on the following topics that are required by the 
Environmental Protection Agency for continued 
authorization of the RCRA program in the state of 
Louisiana: Mixture and Derived-From Revision II; Inorganic 
Chemical Manufacturing Wastes Identification and Listing; 
CAMU Amendments; Hazardous Air Pollutant Standards for 
Combustors: Interim Standards; Hazardous Air Pollutant 
Standards for Combustors: Corrections; Vacatur of Mineral 
Processing Spent Materials Being Reclaimed as Solid 
Wastes and TCLP Use with MGP Waste. The hazardous 
waste regulations for the state must be equivalent to those of 
the federal in order for the state to be authorized for the new 
portions of the RCRA program. The basis and rationale for 
this Rule are to mirror the federal regulations. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019.D.(2) 
and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental  

Quality—Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§105. Program Scope 

These Rules and regulations apply to owners and 
operators of all facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, 
or dispose of hazardous waste, except as specifically 
provided otherwise herein. The procedures of these 
regulations also apply to the denial of a permit for the active 
life of a hazardous waste management facility or TSD unit 
under LAC 33:V.706. Definitions appropriate to these Rules 
and regulations, including solid waste and hazardous waste, 
appear in LAC 33:V.109. Those wastes which are excluded 
from regulation are found in this Section. 

A. - D.1.o. … 
p. spent materials (as defined in LAC 33:V.109) 

(other than hazardous wastes listed in LAC 33:V.Chapter 49) 
generated within the primary mineral processing industry 
from which minerals, acids, cyanide, water, or other values 
are recovered by mineral processing or by beneficiation, 
provided that:  
 i. the spent material is legitimately recycled to 
recover minerals, acids, cyanide, water, or other values; 
 ii. the spent material is not accumulated 
speculatively; 
 iii. except as provided in Clause D.1.p.iv of this 
Section, the spent material is stored in tanks, containers, or 
buildings meeting the following minimum integrity 
standards: a building must be an engineered structure with a 
floor, walls, and a roof all of which are made of nonearthen 
materials providing structural support (except smelter 
buildings may have partially earthen floors provided the 
secondary material is stored on the nonearthen portion) and 
have a roof suitable for diverting rainwater away from the 
foundation; a tank must be freestanding, not be a surface 
impoundment (as defined in LAC 33:V.109), and be 
manufactured of a material suitable for containment of its 
contents; a container must be free standing and be 
manufactured of a material suitable for containment of its 
contents. If tanks or containers contain any particulate that 
may be subject to wind dispersal, the owner/operator must 
operate these units in a manner that controls fugitive dust. 
Tanks, containers, and buildings must be designed, 
constructed, and operated to prevent significant releases to 
the environment of these materials; 
 iv. the administrative authority may make a site-
specific determination, after public review and comment, 
that only solid mineral processing spent materials may be 
placed on pads, rather than in tanks, containers, or buildings. 
Solid mineral processing spent materials do not contain any 
free liquid. The decision-maker must affirm that pads are 
designed, constructed, and operated to prevent significant 
releases of the spent material into the environment. Pads 
must provide the same degree of containment afforded by 
the non-RCRA tanks, containers, and buildings eligible for 
exclusion; 
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(a). the decision-maker must also consider if 
storage on pads poses the potential for significant releases 
via groundwater, surface water, and air exposure pathways. 
Factors to be considered for assessing the groundwater, 
surface water, air exposure pathways are: the volume and 
physical and chemical properties of the spent material, 
including its potential for mig ration off the pad; the potential 
for human or environmental exposure to hazardous 
constituents migrating from the pad via each exposure 
pathway; and the possibility and extent of harm to human 
and environmental receptors via each exposure pathway; 

(b). pads must meet the following minimum 
standards: be designed of nonearthen material that is 
compatible with the chemical nature of the mineral 
processing spent material; be capable of withstanding 
physical stresses associated with placement and removal; 
have run-on/runoff controls; be operated in a manner which 
controls fugitive dust; and have integrity assurance through 
inspections and maintenance programs; 

(c). … 
 v. the owner or operator provides notice to the 
Office of Environmental Services, Permits Divis ion 
providing the following information: the types of materials 
to be recycled; the type and location of the storage units and 
recycling processes; and the annual quantities expected to be 
placed in land-based units. This notification must be updated 
when there is a change in the type of materials recycled or 
the location of the recycling process; and 
 vi. for purposes of Subparagraph D.2.h of this 
Section, mineral processing spent materials must be the 
result of mineral processing and may not include any listed 
hazardous wastes. Listed hazardous wastes and characteristic 
hazardous wastes generated by non-mineral processing 
industries are not eligible for the conditional exclusion from 
the definition of solid waste; 

D.1.q. - 2.p. … 
 i. the solid wastes disposed would meet one or 
more of the listing descriptions for Hazardous Waste Codes 
K169, K170, K171, K172, K174, K175, K176, K177, and 
K178, if these wastes had been generated after the effective 
date of the listing; 
 ii. - iv. … 
 v. as of February 13, 2001, the leachate or gas 
condensate derived from K169-K172 is no longer exempt if 
it is stored or managed in a surface impoundment prior to 
discharge. After November 21, 2003, leachate or gas 
condensate derived from K176, K177, and K178 will no 
longer be exemp t if it is stored or managed in a surface 
impoundment prior to discharge. There is one exception: if 
the surface impoundment is used to temporarily store 
leachate or gas condensate in response to an emergency 
situation (e.g., shutdown of wastewater treatment system), 
provided the impoundment has a double liner, and provided 
the leachate or gas condensate is removed from the 
impoundment and continues to be managed in compliance 
with the conditions of this Clause after the emergency ends. 

D.3. - O.2.c.vi. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 

(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 
15:181 (March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217 (March 
1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 
16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:368 (April 
1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 17:883 (September 1991), LR 
18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 
(December 1992), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
19:1022 (August 1993), amended by the Office of Solid and 
Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 20:1000 
(September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 
(September 1995), LR 22:813 (September 1996), LR 22:831 
(September 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
23:298 (March 1997), amended by the Office of Solid And 
Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:564 (May 
1997), LR 23:567 (May 1997), LR 23:721 (June 1997), amended 
by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 
23:952 (August 1997), LR 23:1511 (November 1997), LR 24:298 
(February 1998), LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 24:1093 (June 1998), 
LR 24:1687 (September 1998), LR 24:1759 (September 1998), LR 
25:431(March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:268 
(February 2000), LR 26:2464 (November 2000), LR 27:291 
(March 2001), LR 27:706 (May 2001), LR 29:317 (March 2003). 
§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these Rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Hazardous WasteCa solid waste, as defined in this 

Section, is a hazardous waste if: 
1. - 4.a. … 

b.i. Except as otherwise provided in Clause 4.b.ii, 
Subparagraph 4.f, or Paragraph 6 of this definition, any solid 
waste generated from the treatment, storage, or disposal of a 
hazardous waste, including any sludge, spill residue, ash, 
emission control dust, or leachate (but not including 
precipitation runoff) is a hazardous waste. (However, 
materials that are reclaimed from solid waste and that are 
used beneficially are not solid wastes and hence are not 
hazardous wastes under this provision unless the reclaimed 
material is burned for energy recovery or used in a manner 
constituting disposal.) 

4.b.ii. - e. … 
f. A hazardous waste that is listed in LAC 

33:V.4901 solely because it exhibits one or more 
characteristics of ignitability as defined under LAC 
33:V.4903.B, corrosivity as defined under LAC 
33:V.4903.C, or reactivity as defined under LAC 
33:V.4903.D is not a hazardous waste if the waste no longer 
exhibits any characteristic of hazardous waste identified in 
LAC 33:V.4903. The exclusion also pertains to any mixture 
of a solid waste and a hazardous waste listed in LAC 
33:V.4901 solely because it exhibits the characteristics of 
ignitability, corrosivity, or reactivity, as regulated under 
Subparagraph 2.c of this definition, and any solid waste 
generated from treating, storing, or disposing of a hazardous 
waste listed in LAC 33:V.4901 solely because it exhibits the 
characteristics of ignitability, corrosivity, or reactivity, as 
regulated under Clause 4.b.i of this definition. Wastes 
excluded under this Subparagraph are subject to LAC 
33:V.Chapter 22 (as applicable), even if they no longer 
exhibit a characteristic at the point of land disposal. Any 
mixture of a solid waste excluded from regulation under 
LAC 33:V.105.D.2.h and a hazardous waste listed in LAC 
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33:V.Chapter 49 solely because it exhibits one or mo re of the 
characteristics of ignitability, corrosivity, or reactivity, as 
regulated under Subparagraph 2.d of this definition, is not a 
hazardous waste if the mixture no longer exhibits any 
characteristic of hazardous waste identified in LAC 
33:V.Chapter 49 for which such hazardous waste was listed.  

4.g. - 6.b. … 
* * * 

Solid WasteC 
1.a. - 3.b.ii. … 

c. reclaimedCmaterials noted with an "*" in column 
3 of Table 1 in this Chapter are solid wastes when reclaimed 
(except as provided under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.p). Materials 
noted with a "---" in column 3 of Table 1 are not solid wastes 
when reclaimed; 

3.d. - Table 1. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218 
(March 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), 
LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 
(April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 
18:1375 (December 1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid 
and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 
1993), amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 
20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 
(September 1995), LR 22:814 (September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 
1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 
24:1688 (September 1998), LR 25:433 (March 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:269 (February 2000), LR 26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 
(March 2001), LR 27:708 (May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 
28:1191 (June 2002), LR 29:318 (March 2003). 
Chapter 3. General Conditions for Treatment, Storage, 

and Disposal Facility Permits 
§321. Modification of Permits 

A. - C.10. … 
a. Facility owners or operators must have complied 

with the Notification of Intent to Comply (NIC) 
requirements of 40 CFR 63.1210 that were in effect prior to 
October 11, 2000 (see 40 CFR 63, revised as of July 1, 
2000) in order to request a permit modification under this 
Section. 

C.10.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
13:433 (August 1987), LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 16:614 (July 
1990), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 20:1000 (September 
1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), 
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 24:1691 (September 1998), LR 25:435 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2466 (November 2000), 
LR 28:1000 (May 2002), LR 29:319 (March 2003). 
Chapter 5. Permit Application Contents 
Subchapter E. Specific Information Requirements 
§529. Specific Part II Information Requirements for 

Incinerators 
Except as LAC 33:V.Chapter 31 and Subsection F of this 

Section provides otherwise, owners and operators of 
facilities that incinerate hazardous waste must fulfill the 
requirements of Subsection A, B, or C of this Section. 

A. - E.3. … 
F. When an owner or operator demonstrates compliance 

with the air emission standards and limitations in 40 CFR 
Part 63, Subpart EEE (i.e., by conducting a comprehensive 
performance test and submitting a notification of 
compliance), the requirements of this Section do not apply, 
except those provisions the administrative authority 
determines are necessary to ensure compliance with LAC 
33:V.3117.A and C if the owner or operator elects to comply 
with LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to minimize emis sions of toxic 
compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events. 
Nevertheless, the administrative authority may apply the 
provisions of this Section, on a case-by-case basis, for 
purposes of information collection in accordance with LAC 
33:V.303.Q and 311.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011.D.24(a) and 30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:280 (April 1984), LR 22:817 (September 1996), amended by the 
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 25:2199 
(November 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:292 (March 
2001), LR 29:319 (March 2003). 
§535. Specific Part II Information Requirements for 

Boilers and Industrial Furnaces Burning 
Hazardous Waste for Energy or Material 
Recovery and not for Destruction 

A. - F. … 
G. When an owner or operator of a cement or 

lightweight aggregate kiln demonstrates compliance with the 
air emission standards and limitations in 40 CFR Part 63, 
Subpart EEE (i.e., by conducting a comprehensive 
performance test and submitting a notification of 
compliance), the requirements of this Section do not apply, 
except those provisions the administrative authority 
determines are necessary to ensure compliance with LAC 
33:V.3005.E.1 and 2.c if the owner or operator elects to 
comply with LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to minimize emissions of 
toxic compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
events. Nevertheless, the administrative authority may apply 
the provisions of this Section, on a case-by-case basis, for 
purposes of information collection in accordance with LAC 
33:V.303.Q and 311.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:737 (September 1989), amended 
LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 
22:817 (September 1996), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:292 (March 
2001), LR 29:319 (March 2003). 
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Subchapter F.  Special Forms of Permits 
§537. Permits for Boiler and Industrial Furnaces 

Burning Hazardous Waste for Recycling 
Purposes Only (boilers and industrial furnaces 
burning hazardous waste for destruction are 
subject to permit requirements for incinerators) 

A. - C.2. … 
D. When an owner or operator of a cement or 

lightweight aggregate kiln demonstrates compliance with the 
air emission standards and limitations in 40 CFR Part 63, 
Subpart EEE (i.e., by conducting a comprehensive 
performance test and submitting a notification of 
compliance), the requirements of this Section do not apply, 
except those provisions the administrative authority 
determines are necessary to ensure compliance with LAC 
33:V.3005.E.1 and 2.c if the owner or operator elects to 
comply with LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to minimize emissions of 
toxic compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
events. Nevertheless, the administrative authority may apply 
the provisions of this Section, on a case-by-case basis, for 
purposes of information collection in accordance with LAC 
33:V.303.Q and 311.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:737 (September 1989), amended 
LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 
22:818 (September 1996), LR 22:832 (September 1996), amended 
by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 
24:657 (April 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2468 
(November 2000), LR 27:292 (March 2001), LR 29:320 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 20. Integration with Maximum Achievable 

Control Technology (MACT) Standards  
§2001. Options for Incinerators and Cement and 

Lightweight Aggregate Kilns to Minimize 
Emissions from Startup, Shutdown, and 
Malfunction Events 

NOTE: This Chapter is written in a special format to make it 
easier to understand the regulatory requirements. Like other 
department regulations, this establishes enforceable legal 
requirements. For this Chapter, I and you refer to the 
owner/operator. 

A. Facilities with Existing Permits  
1. Revisions to Permit Conditions after Documenting 

Compliance with MACT. The owner or operator of a RCRA -
permitted incinerator, cement kiln, or lightweight aggregate 
kiln may request that the administrative authority address 
permit conditions that minimize emissions from startup, 
shutdown, and malfunction events under any of the 
following options when requesting removal of permit 
conditions that are no longer applicable according to LA C 
33:V.3105.B and LAC 33:V.3001.B.  

a. Retain Relevant Permit Conditions. Under this 
option, the administrative authority will:  
 i. retain permit conditions that address releases 
during startup, shutdown, and malfunction events, including 
releases from emergency safety vents, as these events are 
defined in the facility's startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
plan required under 40 CFR 63.1206(c)(2); and  

 ii. specify that these permit conditions apply only 
when the facility is operating under its startup, shutdown, 
and malfunction plan.  

b. Revise Relevant Permit Requirements  
 i. Under this option, the administrative authority 
will:  

(a). identify a subset of relevant existing permit 
requirements, or develop alternative permit requirements, 
that ensure emissions of toxic compounds are minimized 
from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events, including 
releases from emergency safety vents, based on review of 
information including the source's startup, shutdown, and 
malfunction plan, design, and operating history; and  

(b). retain or add these permit requirements to 
the permit to apply only when the facility is operating under 
its startup, shutdown, and malfunction plan.  
 ii. Changes That May Significantly Increase 
Emissions  

(a). You must notify the administrative authority 
in writing of changes to the startup, shutdown, and 
malfunction plan or changes to the design of the source that 
may significantly increase emissions of toxic compounds 
from startup, shutdown, or malfunction events, including 
releases from emergency safety vents. You must notify the 
administrative authority of such changes within five days of 
making such changes. You must identify in the notification 
recommended revisions to permit conditions necessary as a 
result of the changes to ensure that emissions of toxic 
compounds are minimized during these events.  

(b). The administrative authority may revise 
permit conditions as a result of these changes to ensure that 
emissions of toxic compounds are minimized during startup, 
shutdown, or malfunction events, including releases from 
emergency safety vents either upon permit renewal or, if 
warranted, by modifying the permit under LAC 
33:V.323.B.2.c or LAC 33:V.321.C.  

c. Remove Permit Conditions. Under this option:  
 i. you must document that the startup, shutdown, 
and malfunction plan required under 40 CFR 63.1206(c)(2) 
has been approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 
63.1206(c)(2)(ii)(B); and  
 ii. the administrative authority will remove permit 
conditions that are no longer applicable according to LAC 
33:V.3105.B and LAC 33:V.3001.B.  

2. Addressing Permit Conditions upon Permit 
Reissuance. The owner or operator of an incinerator, cement 
kiln, or lightweight aggregate kiln that has conducted a 
comprehensive performance test and submitted to the 
administrator a Notification of Compliance documenting 
compliance with the standards of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart 
EEE may request in the application to reissue the permit for 
the combustion unit that the administrative authority control 
emissions from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events 
under any of the following options.  

a. RCRA Option A. Under this option, the 
administrative authority will:  
 i. include, in the permit, requirements that ensure 
compliance with LAC 33:V.3117.B and C or LAC 
33:V.3005.E.1 and 2.c to minimize emissions of toxic 
compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events, 
including releases from emergency safety vents; and  
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 ii. specify that these permit requirements apply 
only when the facility is operating under its startup, 
shutdown, and malfunction plan.  

b. RCRA Option B 
 i. Under this option, the administrative authority 
will:  

(a). include, in the permit, conditions that ensure 
emissions of toxic compounds are minimized from startup, 
shutdown, and malfunction events, including releases from 
emergency safety vents, based on review of information 
including the source's startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
plan, design, and operating history; and  

(b). specify that these permit requirements apply 
only when the facility is operating under its startup, 
shutdown, and malfunction plan.  
 ii. Changes That May Significantly Increase 
Emissions  

(a). You must notify the administrative authority 
in writing of changes to the startup, shutdown, and 
malfunction plan or changes to the design of the source that 
may significantly increase emissions of toxic compounds 
from startup, shutdown, or malfunction events, including 
releases from emergency safety vents. You must notify the 
administrative authority of such changes within five days of 
making such changes. You must identify in the notification 
recommended revisions to permit conditions necessary as a 
result of the changes to ensure that emissions of toxic 
compounds are minimized during these events.  

(b). The administrative authority may revise 
permit conditions as a result of these changes to ensure that 
emissions of toxic compounds are minimized during startup, 
shutdown, or malfunction events, including releases from 
emergency safety vents either upon permit renewal or, if 
warranted, by modifying the permit under LAC 
33:V.323.B.2.c or LAC 33:V.321.C. 

c. CAA Option. Under this option:  
 i. you must document that the startup, shutdown, 
and malfunction plan required under 40 CFR 63.1206(c)(2) 
has been approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 
63.1206(c)(2)(ii)(B); and  
 ii. the administrative authority will remove permit 
conditions that are no longer applicable under LAC 
33:V.3105.B and LAC 33:V.3001.B.  

B. Interim Status Facilities  
1. Interim Status Operations. In compliance with LAC 

33:V.4513 and LAC 33:V.3001.B, the owner or operator of 
an incinerator, cement kiln, or lightweight aggregate kiln 
that is operating under the interim status standards of LAC 
33:V.Chapters 30 and 43 may control emissions of toxic 
compounds during startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
events under either of the following options after conducting 
a comprehensive performance test and submitting to the 
administrator a Notification of Compliance documenting 
compliance with the standards of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart 
EEE.  

a. RCRA Option. Under this option, you must 
continue to comply with the interim status emission 
standards and operating requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapters 
30 and 43 relevant to control of emissions from startup, 
shutdown, and malfunction events. Those standards and 
requirements apply only during startup, shutdown, and 
malfunction events. 

b. CAA Option. Under this option, you are exempt 
from the interim status standards of LAC 33:V.Chapters 30 
and 43 relevant to control of emissions of toxic compounds 
during startup, shutdown, and malfunction events upon 
submission of written notification and documentation to the 
administrative authority that the startup, shutdown, and 
malfunction plan required under 40 CFR 63.1206(c)(2) has 
been approved by the administrator under 40 CFR 
63.1206(c)(2)(ii)(B).  

2. Operations under a Subsequent RCRA Permit. 
When an owner or operator of an incinerator, cement kiln, or 
lightweight aggregate kiln that is operating under the interim 
status standards of LAC 33:V.Chapters 30 and 43 submits a 
RCRA permit application, the owner or operator may request 
that the administrative authority control emissions from 
startup, shutdown, and malfunction events under any of the 
options provided by Subparagraph A.2.a, b, or c of this 
Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:320 (March 2003). 
Chapter 22. Prohibitions on Land Disposal 
Subchapter A. Land Disposal Restrictions 
§2219. Waste Specific ProhibitionsCInorganic 

Chemical Wastes 
A. Effective May 20, 2002, the wastes specified in 40 

CFR Part 261 as EPA Hazardous Waste Numbers K176, 
K177, and K178, soil and debris contaminated with these 
wastes, radioactive wastes mixed with these wastes, and soil 
and debris contaminated with radioactive wastes mixed with 
these wastes are prohibited from land disposal.  

B. The requirements of Subsection A of this Section do 
not apply if:  

1. the wastes meet the applicable treatment standards 
specified in LAC 33:V.2223 and Table 2 of this Chapter;  

2. persons have been granted an exemption from a 
prohibition in accordance with a petition under LAC 
33:V.2241, with respect to those wastes and units covered by 
the petition;  

3. the wastes meet the applicable treatment standards 
established in accordance with a petition granted under LAC 
33:V.2231;  

4. hazardous debris has met the treatment standards in 
LAC 33:V.2223 or the alternative treatment standards in 
LAC 33:V.2230; or  

5. persons have been granted an extension to the 
effective date of a prohibition in accordance with LAC 
33:V.2239, with respect to those wastes covered by the 
extension.  

C. To determine whether a hazardous waste identified in 
this Section exceeds the applicable treatment standards 
specified in LAC 33:V.2223, the initial generator must test a 
sample of the waste extract or the entire waste, depending on 
whether the treatment standards are expressed as 
concentrations in the waste extract or the waste, or the 
generator may use knowledge of the waste. If the waste 
contains regulated constituents in excess of the applicable 
levels in LAC 33:V.2223 and Table 2 of this Chapter, the 
waste is prohibited from land disposal, and all requirements 
of this Chapter are applicable, except as otherwise specified.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 29:321 (March 2003). 

 
 

Appendix 
Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters  
Non-

wastewaters  

Waste Code 
Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration in 
mg/l3; or 

Technology 
Code4 

Concentration 
in mg/kg5 

unless noted as 
"mg/l TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
* * *  

[See Prior Text in D001 – K175] 
K176 Baghouse filters from the production of 

antimony oxide, including filters from 
the production of intermediates (e.g., 
antimony metal or crude antimony 
oxide). 

Antimony 
  

7440-36-0 1.9 1.15 mg/l TCLP 

    Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/l TCLP  
    Cadmium 7440-43-9 0.69 0.11 mg/l TCLP  
    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/l TCLP 
    Mercury 7439-97-6 0.15 0.025 mg/l 

TCLP  
K177 Slag from the production of antimony 

oxide that is speculatively accumulated 
or disposed, including slag from the 
production of intermediates (e.g., 
antimony metal or crude antimony 
oxide). 

Antimony 7440-36-0 1.9 1.15 mg/l T CLP 

    Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/l TCLP  
    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/l TCLP 

K178 Residues from manufacturing and 
manufacturing-site storage of ferric 
chloride from acids formed during the 
production of titanium dioxide using 
the chloride-ilmenite process. 

1,2,3,4,6,7,8-Heptachlorodibenzo-
p-dioxin (1,2,3,4,6,7,8-HpCDD) 

35822-39-4 0.000035 or 
CMBST11 

0.0025 or 
CMBST11 

    1,2,3,4,6,7,8-
Heptachlorodibenzofuran (1,2,3,4,
6,7,8-HpCDF) 

67562-39-4 0.000035 or 
CMBST11 

0.0025 or 
CMBST11 

    1,2,3,4,7,8,9-
Heptachlorodibenzofuran (1,2,3,4,
7,8,9-HpCDF) 

55673-89-7 0.000035 or 
CMBST11 

0.0025 or 
CMBST11 

    HxCDDs (All Hexachlorodibenzo-
p-dioxins) 

34465-46-8 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    HxCDFs (All 
Hexachlorodibenzofurans) 

55684-94-1 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9-Octachlorodibenzo-
p-dioxin (OCDD) 

3268-87-9 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.005 or 
CMBST11 

    1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9-
Octachlorodibenzofuran (OCDF) 

39001-02-0 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.005 or 
CMBST11 

    PeCDDs (All Pentachlorodibenzo-
p-dioxins) 

36088-22-9 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    PeCDFs (All 
Pentachlorodibenzofurans) 

30402-15-4 0.000035 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    TCDDs (All tetrachlorodibenzo-p-
dioxins) 

41903-57-5 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    TCDFs (All 
tetrachlorodibenzofurans)  

55722-27-5 0.000063 or 
CMBST11 

0.001 or 
CMBST11 

    Thallium 7440-28-0 1.4 0.20 mg/l TCLP 
* * *  

[See Prior Text in P001 – U411] 
Notes 1 - 12 … 
NOTE: NA means not applicable. 
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Chapter 26. Corrective Action Management Units and 
Special Provisions for Cleanup 

§2603. Corrective Action Management Units (CAMUs) 
A. - E.4.a.ii. … 

 iii. The administrative authority may also 
designate other constituents as principal hazardous 
constituents that the administrative authority determines 
pose a risk to human health and the environment 
substantially higher than the cleanup levels or goals at the 
site.  

E.4.b. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:1192 (June 2002), LR 
29:323 (March 2003). 
Chapter 30. Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers and 

Industrial Furnaces 
§3001. Applicability 

A. The regulations of this Chapter apply to hazardous 
waste burned for energy or material recovery in a boiler or 
industrial furnace (as defined in LAC 33:V.109) irrespective 
of the purpose of burning or processing, except as provided 
by Subsections B-D, G, and H of this Section. In this 
Chapter, the term "burn" means burning for energy recovery 
or destruction, or processing for materials recovery or as an 
ingredient. The emissions standards of LAC 33:V.3009-3015 
apply to facilities operating under interim status or under a 
hazardous waste permit as specified in LAC 33:V.3005 and 
3007. 

B. Integration of the MACT Standards  
1. Except as provided by Paragraph B.2 of this 

Section, the standards of this Chapter no longer apply when 
an affected source demonstrates compliance with the 
maximum achievable control technology (MACT) 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE by conducting 
a comprehensive performance test and submitting to the 
administrative authority a notification of compliance under 
40 CFR 63.1207(j) and 63.1210(b) documenting compliance 
with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE. 
Nevertheless, even after this demonstration of compliance 
with the MACT standards, RCRA permit conditions that 
were based on the standards of this Chapter will continue to 
be in effect until they are removed from the permit or the 
permit is terminated or revoked, unless the permit expressly 
provides otherwise. 

2. The following standards continue to apply: 
a. if the owner or operator elects to comply with 

LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to minimize emissions of toxic 
compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events, 
LAC 33:V.3005.E.1, requiring operations in accordance with 
the operating requirements specified in the permit at all 
times that hazardous waste is in the unit, and LAC 
33:V.3005.E.2.c, requiring compliance with the emission 
standards and operating requirements during startup and 
shutdown if hazardous waste is in the combustion chamber, 
except for particular hazardous wastes. These provisions 
apply only during startup, shutdown, and malfunction 
events; 

b. the closure requirements of LAC 33:V.3005.I and 
3007.L; 

c. the standards for direct transfer of LAC 
33:V.3023; 

d. the standards for regulation of residues of LAC 
33:V.3025; and 

e. the applicable requirements of LAC 33:V.901, 
905, 907, 909, Chapters 15, 17 (Subchapters B and C), 33, 
35, 37, and 43 (Subchapters A-G, R, and V), 4301.A-C, G, 
and I, and 4306. 

C. - D.2.b. … 
3. To be exempt from LAC 33:V.3005-3023, an owner 

or operator of a lead or nickel-chromium or mercury 
recovery furnace (except for owners or operators of lead 
recovery furnaces subject to regulation under the Secondary 
Lead Smelting NESHAP) or a metal recovery furnace that 
burns baghouse bags used to capture metallic dusts emitted 
by steel manufacturing must provide a one-time written 
notice to the administrative authority identifying each 
hazardous waste burned, specifying whether the owner or 
operator claims an exemption for each waste under 
Paragraph D.1 or 3 of this Section. The owner or operator 
must comply with the requirements of Paragraph D.1 of this 
Section for those wastes claimed to be exempt under that 
Section and must comply with the requirements below for 
those wastes claimed to be exempt under this Section. 

D.3.a. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 18:1375 (December 1992), 
amended LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), 
LR 22:821 (September 1996), LR 22:835 (September 1996), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1466 (August 1999), LR 
27:297 (March 2001), LR 27:712 (May 2001), LR 29:323 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 31. Incinerators 
§3105. Applicability 

A. - B. … 
1. Except as provided by Paragraphs B.2, 3, and 4 of 

this Section, the standards of this Subsection no longer apply 
when an owner or operator demonstrates compliance with 
the maximum achievable control technology (MACT) 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE by conducting 
a comprehensive performance test and submitting to the 
administrative authority a notification of compliance under 
40 CFR 63.1207(j) and 63.1210(b) documenting compliance 
with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE. 
Nevertheless, even after this demonstration of compliance 
with the MACT standards, RCRA permit conditions that 
were based on the standards of LAC 33:V.901, 905, 907, and 
Chapters 15-21, 23-29, and 31-37 will continue to be in 
effect until they are removed from the permit or the permit is 
terminated or revoked, unless the permit expressly provides 
otherwise. 

2. … 
3. The particulate matter standard of LAC 

33:V.3111.A.4 remains in effect for incinerators that elect to 
comply with the alternative to the particulate matter standard 
of 40 CFR 63.1206(b)(14).  

4. The following requirements remain in effect for 
startup, shutdown, and malfunction events if the owner or 
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operator elects to comply with LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to 
minimize emissions of toxic compounds from these events:  

a. LAC 33:V.3117.A, requiring that an incinerator 
operate in accordance with operating requirements specified 
in the permit; and  

b. LAC 33:V.3117.C, requiring compliance with the 
emission standards and operating requirements during 
startup and shutdown if hazardous waste is in the 
combustion chamber, except for particular hazardous wastes.  

C. - Table 1.Footnote 1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
11:1139 (December 1985), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 14:424 
(July 1988), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:399 (May 1990), 
LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 
22:835 (September 1996), amended by the Office of Waste 
Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:318 (February 1998), 
LR 24:681 (April 1998), LR 24:1741 (September 1998), LR 25:479 
(March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:301 (March 
2001), LR 28:1004 (May 2002), LR 29:323 (March 2003). 
§3115. Incinerator Permits for New or Modified 

Facilities 
A. - D. … 
E. When an owner or operator demonstrates compliance 

with the air emission standards and limitations in 40 CFR 
Part 63, Subpart EEE (i.e., by conducting a comprehensive 
performance test and submitting a notification of 
compliance), the requirements of this Section do not apply, 
except those provisions the administrative authority 
determines are necessary to ensure compliance with LAC 
33:V.3117.A and C if the owner or operator elects to comply 
with LAC 33:V.2001.A.1.a to minimize emissions of toxic 
compounds from startup, shutdown, and malfunction events. 
Nevertheless, the administrative authority may apply the 
provisions of this Section, on a case-by-case basis, for 
purposes of information collection in accordance with LAC 
33:V.303.Q and 311.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 22:828 (September 1996), LR 22:835 
(September 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:683 (April 1998), amended by 
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2484 (November 2000), LR 27:302 (March 2001), 
LR 29:324 (March 2003). 
Chapter 43. Interim Status 
Subchapter N. Incinerators 
§4513. Applicability 

A. - B. … 
1. Except as provided by Paragraphs B.2 and 3 of this 

Section, the standards of this Chapter no longer apply when 
an owner or operator demonstrates compliance with the 
maximum achievable control technology (MACT) 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE by conducting 
a comprehensive performance test and submitting to the 
administrative authority a notification of compliance under 
40 CFR 63.1207(j) and 63.1210(b) documenting compliance 
with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart EEE. 

2. The following requirements continue to apply even 
where the owner or operator has demonstrated compliance 
with the MACT requirements of 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart 
EEE, LAC 33:V.4521 (closure), and the applicable 
requirements of LAC 33:V.4301.A-C, G, and I, 4306, and 
Chapter 43 (Subchapters A -G, R, and V). 

3. LAC 33:V.4517.A, generally prohibiting burning of 
hazardous waste during startup and shutdown, remains in 
effect if the owner or operator elects to comply with LAC 
33:V.2001.B.1.a to minimize emissions of toxic compounds 
from startup and shutdown.  

C. - C.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:737 (September 1989), amended 
LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 
20:1000 (September 1994), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
27:303 (March 2001), LR 29:324 (March 2003). 
Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 
§4901. Category I Hazardous Wastes 

A. - C. … 

 
 

Table 2. Hazardous Wastes from Specific Sources 
Industry and 

EPA Hazardous 
Waste Number Hazard Code  Hazardous Waste  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Wood Preservation, K001 – Inorganic Chemicals, K106] 

K176 (E) Baghouse filters from the production of antimony oxide, including filters from the production of intermediates 
(e.g., antimony metal or crude antimony oxide). 

K177 (T) Slag from the production of antimony accumulated or disposed, including slag from the production of 
intermediates (e.g., antimony metal or crude antimony oxide). 

K178 (T) Residues from manufacturing-site storage of ferric chloride from acids formed during the production of titanium 
dioxide using the chloride-ilmenite process. 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Pesticides, K031 – Coking, K148] 

 
D. - G. … 
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Table 6.  
Table of Constituents that Serve as a Basis for Listing 

Hazardous Waste  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in F001 – K175, Mercury] 
EPA Hazardous Waste Number K176 

  Arsenic 
  Lead 

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K177 
  Antimony 

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K178 
  Thallium 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:320 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 14:426 (July 1988), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 15:182 
(March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), 
LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:369 
(April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 
18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 
(December 1992), LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 
(March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:829 
(September 1996), LR 22:840 (September 1996), amended by the 
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:1522 
(November 1997), LR 24:321 (February 1998), LR 24:686 (April 
1998), LR 24:1754 (September 1998), LR 25:487 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:304 (March 2001), LR 
27:715 (May 2001), LR 28:1009 (May 2002), LR 29:324 (March 
2003). 
§4903. Category II Hazardous Wastes 

A. - E. … 
1. A solid waste (except manufactured gas plant 

waste) exhibits the characteristic of toxicity if, using the 
Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure, Method 1311 
described in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication SW-846, as 
incorporated by reference at LAC 33:V.110, the extract from 
a representative sample of the waste contains any of the 
contaminants listed in Paragraph E.2.Table 5 of this Section 
at the concentration equal to or greater than the respective 
value given in that table. Where the waste contains less than 
0.5 percent filterable solids, the waste itself, after filtering 
using the methodology outlined in Method 1311, is 
considered to be the extract for the purposes of this Section. 

E.2. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:369 
(April 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 
1992), LR 22:829 (September 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
29:325 (March 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#012 
 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Board of Cosmetology 

CosmetologyCComplete Revision 
(LAC 46:XXXI.Chapters 1-17) 

The State Board of Cosmetology, under authority of R.S. 
37:561-607, and in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., has adopted certain 
Rules with regard to licensing of cosmetologists.  

The revision is necessitated by Act 907 of 2001 which 
revised the Louisiana Cosmetology Act.  

There should be no adverse fiscal impact on the state as a 
result of this Rule inasmuch as the Louisiana State Board of 
Cosmetology operates solely on self-generated funds. 
Further, the Rules have no known impact on family 
formation, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXI.  Cosmetologists 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Definitions 

A. As used in this Part, the following words shall have 
the meaning herein ascribed to each, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise.  

Alternative HairCany hair which is not a person's own 
hair including synthetic hair, wiggery, braids, postich or any 
applied hair. 

Alternative Hair DesignCthe practice of styling hair by 
twisting, wrapping weaving, extending, locking or braiding 
the hair by either the use of hands or mechanical devices or 
appliances. The practice of alternative hair design shall 
include the application of antiseptics, powders, oils, clays, 
lotions or tonics to the alternative hair but shall not include 
the application of dyes, reactive chemicals or other 
preparations to alter the structure or style of the natural hair.  

ClientCa person who receives a cosmetology, esthetics 
or manicuring service.  

DermisCunderlying or inner layer of the skin; the layer 
below the epidermis; the corium or true skin, including 
papillary layer, capillaries, tactile corpuscles, melanin 
(pigment), subcutaneous tissue, adipose or subcutis, arteries 
and lymphatics.  

DisposableCan item which cannot be sanitized. All 
disposable items shall be discarded after a single use. The 
following items shall be considered disposable: facial 
tissues, sponges, cloths, extraction tissue, lancets, gloves, 
wax strips and sticks, tissues, cotton pads and emery boards. 

EpidermisCthe outermost layer of the skin; the outer 
epithetial portion of the skin including stratum corneous, 
stratum lucidum, stratum granulosum, stratum spinosum 
(prickle cell layer), stratum mucosum, and stratum 
germinativum.  

Exfoliate or ExfoliationCthe process of sloughing off, 
removing or peeling dead skin cells of the epidermis using 
chemicals or devices. 
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Natural HairCany hair which is a person's own which 
has grown on the person's body and has not been separated 
from the person's body.  

Sanitize or SanitizationCthe process of using heat, 
steam or chemicals to destroy microbial life, including 
highly resistant bacterial endospores. Sanitization shall be 
performed using EPA registered hospital grade disinfectant 
or a sterilization device which uses heat or steam in 
accordance with the manufacturer=s instructions.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Louisiana State Board of 
Cosmetology, LR 29:325(March 2003). 
Chapter 3. Schools and Students 
§301. Cosmetology Course Requirements  

A. Curriculum. The cosmetology curriculum shall 
consist of at least 1500 hours of instruction which shall 
include but not be limited to the following. 

1. Scientific Concepts 
a. Infection Control 
b. OSHA Requirements 
c. Human Physiology 
d. Chemical Principles 
e. Hair and Scalp 
f. Nails  

2. Physical Services 
a. Shampoo 
b. Draping 
c. Rinses and Conditioners 
d. Scalp 
e. Facials  
f. Makeup 
g. Manicuring 

3. Chemical Services 
a. Hair Coloring 
b. Hair Lightening 
c. Chemical Waving 
d. Chemical Relaxing 

4. Hair Designing 
a. Hair Shaping 
b. Hair Cutting 

5. Louisiana Cosmetology Act and Rules and 
Regulations 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(7). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:326 (March 2003). 
§303. Esthetics Course Requirements 

A. Curriculum. The esthetics curriculum shall consist of 
at least 750 hours of instruction which shall include but not 
be limited to the following. 

1. Scientific Concepts 
a. Sanitation and Sterilization 
b. Human Physiology and Anatomy  
c. Skin Histology 
d. Skin Diseases and Disorders 
e. Nutrition 
f. General Chemistry 

2. Services 
a. Skin Analysis  
b. Draping 

c. Product Selections 
d. Cleansing Procedure 
e. Selecting and Employing Massage 
f . Selecting and Employing Mask Therapy 
g. Electricity and Various Electrical Apparatus 
h. Hair Removal 
i. Hazards to Skin 
j. Aromatherapy 
k. Spa 
l. Makeup 

3. Louisiana Cosmetology Act and Rules and 
Regulations 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(7). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:326 (March 2003). 
§305. Manicuring Course Requirements  

A. Curriculum. The manicuring curriculum shall consist 
of at least 500 hours which shall include but not be limited 
to the following. 

1. Scientific Concepts 
a. Basic Human Physiology  
b. Nail Composition 
c. Chemistry 
d. Sanitizing and Sterilizing 

2. Procedures 
a. Supplies and Implements 
b. Artificial and Natural Nail Technology 
c. Manicure  
d. Pedicure 
e. Basic Massage 

3. Application and Repair of Artificial and Natural 
Nails  

4. Safety and Infection Control  
5. Louisiana Cosmetology Act and Rules and 

Regulations  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:575(A)(7). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:326 (March 2003). 
§307. Instructor Course Requirements 

A. Curriculum. The curriculum for cosmetology 
instructors, esthetics instructors and manicuring instructors 
shall consist of at least 500 hours and shall include but not 
be limited to the following. 

1. Teaching Methods 
a. Classroom Preparation 
b. Teaching Methods  
c. Speech 

2. Effectiveness of Instruction  
a. Purpose and Types of Tests  
b. Selection of Appropriate Testing Methods 
c. Validity and Reliability of Teaching Methods via 

Tests  
3. Instructor Qualities 

a. Proper Conduct of Instruction 
b. Classroom Supervision and Control 

4. Learning Environment 
a. Classroom Conditions 
b. Keeping Record  
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c. Motivation 
d. Assessing Students' Needs  
e. Utilization of Safety Procedures 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(7). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:326 (March 2003). 
§309. Examination of Applicants  

A. Eligibility. The following persons shall be eligible to 
take the written and practical examinations after receiving a 
clearance from the school last attended and a clearance from 
the board: 

1. cosmetology students who have completed 1500 
hours and 36 weeks of the cosmetology curriculum; 
however, cosmetology students who have completed 1000 
hours of the cosmetology curriculum may take the written 
examination; 

2. esthetics students who have completed 750 hours of 
the esthetics curriculum;  

3. manicuring students who have completed 500 hours 
of the manicuring curriculum;  

4. instructor students who have completed 500 hours 
of the instructor curriculum;  

5. persons holding a cosmetology, esthetics, 
manicuring or instructor license issued by another state; and  

6. persons holding a cosmetology, esthetics, 
manicuring or instructor license issued by another country 
who have received board approval. 

B. Applications. Applications for examinations must be 
accompanied by a student registration certificate, a 
photograph of the student, and the $25 initial license fee.  

C. Fees. All fees contractually owed by an applicant to a 
cosmetology school from which they graduated must be paid 
before applying for an examination, for a certificate of 
registration or for a license.  

D. Cancellation. Any student who fails to appear for their 
scheduled examination without proper notification will be 
required upon reapplication to submit a $25 administrative 
fee. Proper notification shall be made by contacting the 
board office seven days prior to the scheduled examination 
or in the case of an emergency 24 hours prior to the 
scheduled examination.  

E. Examination. Students must bring a mannequin with 
the head styled for comb -out to the examination. Students 
will be required to perform further practical work on the 
mannequin during the examination.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(4) and R.S. 37:586. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:327 (March 2003). 
§311. Reporting Student Hours 

A. Registration. Schools shall register students with the 
board within 60 days after the students start school. The 
maximum number of hours which will be accepted by the 
board at the time of registration is the number of hours 
earned within 60 days preceding registration.  

B. Hours. Schools must register each student's hours 
with the board in the following manner: 

1. at the completion of 1,000 hours (2/3 of 
curriculum) and completion of the curriculum for 
cosmetology students; 

2. at the completion of the curriculum for esthetics 
students; 

3. at the completion of the curriculum for manicuring 
students; and  

4. at the completion of the curriculum for instructor 
students.  

C. Attendance. School owners must certify the student's 
attendance for hours reported to the board. No overtime or 
double time shall be permitted. Only hours devoted to the 
prescribed curriculum shall be included. Students shall not 
earn more than 48 hours of training in any calendar week. 

D. Reports. The hour report submitted by the school to 
the board shall be signed by the senior instructor, or in the 
absence of the senior instructor, the report shall be signed by 
the person in charge, who shall designate his capacity as 
acting senior instructor. The report shall include a list of the 
current instructors. 

E. Dropped Students. Schools are required to provide to 
the board the names of the students who drop from their rolls 
within 30 days and to provide the number of hours earned 
during the student's attendance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:598. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:327 (March 2003). 
§313. Transfer Students 

A. Out-of-State. The board will accept student hours 
certified by an out-of-state school provided that the hours are 
transferred to a Louisiana school. The Louisiana school shall 
evaluate the student's transcript and determine how many 
hours of the curriculum have been completed by the student. 
The school shall submit to the board a verification of the 
number of transferable hours which shall include supporting 
data, a certificate from the out-of-state school and a 
certificate from the state board which supervises the school. 

B. In-State. When enrolling a transfer student from 
another school within Louisiana, the school owner must 
provide the board with the following: 

1. student enrollment application indicating on the 
application that it is a re-registration; 

2. certification of payment of contractual fees owed to 
the former school; and  

3. if the student has transferred schools more than 
once, a re-registration fee of $10 must accompany the 
application. 

C. Notice of Termination. Any students transferring 
hours from one school to another is required to submit a 
Notice of Termination Form within 30 days of student's 
drop-out date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:598(A)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:327 (March 2003). 
§315. Responsibilities of Schools 

A. Enrollment. Upon enrollment of a student the school 
must provide the following to the board: 

1. student enrollment application; 
2. the student's birth certificate, birth card or driver's 

license; 
3. proof of completion of education equal to the tenth 

grade; 
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4. a photograph of the student; and 
5. the student registration fee. 

B. Reports. Schools must maintain hour reports for a 
minimum of three years.  

C. Mannequin. Schools must furnish to each student, at a 
nominal fee, a mannequin upon which the student may 
practice and may use for the practical examination. 

D. Professional Department. Schools shall not have 
professional departments within the school, nor shall any 
school owner own or operate a beauty shop or salon in 
connection with a school. School staff members shall not 
practice in an adjoining beauty shop or salon, while school is 
in session. There shall be no unsealed connecting doors 
between a beauty shop or salon under the same roof. 

E. Faculty. All schools must maintain a faculty of at least 
one instructor per every 20 students enrolled. Each faculty 
shall include a senior instructor who shall have at least 18 
months teaching experience in an accredited school of 
cosmetology. The senior instructor shall supervise all other 
faculty members.  

F. Senior Instructor. In the event that the senior 
instructor resigns or takes a leave of absence, the school 
shall advise the board monthly of their efforts to employ a 
new senior instructor.  

G. School Closing. Any school owner which intends to 
close any school shall notify the board in writing as soon as 
practicable. Copies of documents relative to closure must be 
provided to the board office, including, but not limited to, 
teach-out plans and teach-out agreements. The board shall be 
the custodian of records for any school which closes.  

H. Student Work. Schools shall post a legible sign not 
smaller than 6 inches by 10 inches, at the entrance of each 
school reading: "Student Work Only". 

I. Compensation. Schools shall not pay commissions or 
any other compensation, discount or fee to a cosmetology, 
esthetics or manicuring student for work in training done by 
them. 

J. Registrations. All student registrations must be posted 
in a conspicuous place.  

K. Text Books. Schools must provide a textbook to each 
student upon registration.  

L. Library. Schools must maintain a library which shall 
be available to all students.  

M. Hours. Schools must post a monthly summary of 
hours earned by each student. 

N. Cosmetology Services. No employee or owner of a 
school shall knowingly permit students to perform any 
professional cosmetology work for which they do not 
possess a license.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:595. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:327 (March 2003). 
§317. Equipment Required in Cosmetology Schools 

A. Equipment. Every cosmetology school must have a 
practical work room and working equipment including: 

1. six shampoo bowls; 
2. six hair dryers; 
3. three manicuring tables; 
4. cold wave equipment sufficient for six permanents; 

5. sufficient trays for supplies; 
6. covered waste containers sufficient to maintain 

sanitation in the school;  
7. one wet and dry sanitizer for each occupied station; 
8. six mannequins; 
9. twenty working stations; 
10. covered containers for soiled towels; and  
11. locker space for each student. 

B. Classroom. Every cosmetology school must have a 
classroom with a minimum of 400 square feet, entirely 
separate from the practical work room, equipped with the 
following; 

1. modern anatomy charts; 
2. marker or chalk board, minimum 4 feet by 6 feet; 

and  
3. sufficient seating with facilities for classroom work, 

such as taking notes.  
C. Use of Rooms. The area designated for classrooms or 

practical work rooms shall not be used for any other 
purpose. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:595(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:328 (March 2003). 
§319. Field Trips; Seminars; Workshops; Shows and 

Community Service 
A. Schools are permitted but not required to offer to their 

students an opportunity to earn credit hours for cosmetology 
related field trips, seminars, workshops, shows and 
community service as follows: 

1. up to 40 hours for cosmetology students;  
2. up to 15 hours for manicuring students;  
3. up to 20 hours for esthetics students; and  
4. up to 20 hours for instructor students. 

B. Documentation. In order for students to receive credit 
for cosmetology related field trips, seminars, workshops, 
shows or community service, the school must annotate the 
course outlines to reflect the maximum hours which may be 
earned. Example: Cosmetology Course Outline-40 hours 
during the length of the course are assigned to cosmetology-
related field trips, seminars, workshops and community 
service.  

C. Participation. Participation in field trips, seminars, 
workshops, shows or community service by students is 
voluntary. Students who choose not to participate must be 
given other related assignments.  

D. Monitoring. An instructor must accompany students 
on any field trip. Attendance shall be monitored at the 
beginning, midpoint and close of the function and 
documented by the instructor. Travel time shall not be 
included in the hours credited for the field trip.  

E. Documentation. Schools must retain documentation 
of field trips, seminars, workshops, shows and community 
service hours.  

F. Compensation. No school or student shall accept any 
compensation for cosmetology related field trips, seminars, 
workshops, shows or community service. All money 
collected for community service must be paid to the charity 
for which the function was sponsored.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:328 (March 2003). 
§321. Responsibilities of Students 

A. Students. Students shall not be allowed to perform 
any professional cosmetology work for which the student 
does not posses a license, prior to completion of the 
curriculum passing the examination administered by the 
board and receipt of an initial license. Any student found to 
be in violation of this rule will forfeit all hours completed in 
beauty school and any school knowingly permitting a 
serious violation of this section shall be subject to 
suspension or revocation of its license.  

B. Services. Students attending beauty school shall not 
provide cosmetology services whether for a fee or not in any 
licensed beauty salon or shop or in any premises which is 
not licensed unless the student posses a license to perform 
such services. This regulation applies even though the 
student's immediate family or the student themselves has an 
ownership interest in the beauty shop salon in question, or 
jeopardy of the student losing a portion of or all their hours.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Louisiana State Board 
Cosmetology, LR 29:329 (March 2003). 
Chapter 5. Licensees  
§501. Booth Renters (Formerly LAC 46:XXXI.1103) 

A. Agreement. A copy of the executed agreement 
between the salon owner and the cosmetologist shall be 
submitted to the board at the time of application for a booth 
rental permit.  

B. Form. The board will furnish a contractual agreement 
form for a nominal fee. In the event an agreement is not on 
the form supplied by the board, the agreement shall contain 
the following information: 

1. a statement indicating that both parties agree that 
the cosmetologist is not an employee of the salon; 

2. a statement indicating the salon owner has no right 
to control the methodology used by the cosmetologist to 
produce a given result; and  

3. a statement indicating the basis of the 
cosmetologist's compensation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:592. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:329 (March 2003). 
§503. School Licenses Issued to Legal Entities 

A. School License. Any corporation, association, 
partnership or other legal entity applying for a license to 
operate a school shall provide the following to the board: 

1. the name and address of each place of business 
maintained by the entity in the state of Louisiana; 

2. a financial statement; 
3. the articles of incorporation, articles of 

organization, partnership agreement or other organizational 
documentation; 

4. the names, addresses and percentage interest of 
each partner, member or stockholder, for the purpose of this 
subsection a landlord or lessor of equipment paid a 
percentage exceeding 20 percent shall be considered an 
owner or partner; and  

5. the name and address of individual managing 
officer or partner. 

B. Ownership change. A change of ownership of 35 
percent or greater shall require submission of all information 
required by Subsection A.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:329 (March 2003). 
§505. Master Cosmetology Instructors 

A. Gold Stamp. Any instructor who completes 16 hours 
of approved continuing education each year shall receive a 
gold stamp on his or her license. 

B. Master Instructors. All instructors with a minimum of 
five years teaching experience and who attend 16 hours of 
approved continuing education each year will receive a 
master instructor license with an official title, MCI.  

C. Reinstatements. In order to maintain the master 
instructor license the instructor must attend a minimum of 16 
hours of approved continuing education each year. If a 
master instructor does not attend the 16 hours during one 
year, the master instructor license will be reinstated after two 
consecutive years of completing 16 hours of approved 
continuing education.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:329 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Safety and Sanitation Requirements 
§701. Sanitation Requirements for Cosmetology 

Salons and Cosmetology Schools 
A. Sanitation. Beauty shops, salons and cosmetology 

schools are declared to be businesses affecting the public 
health, safety and welfare; therefore, sanitation procedures 
must be followed. Every beauty shop, salon and 
cosmetology school shall be adequately lighted, well 
ventilated, and kept in a clean and sanitary condition at all 
times. 

B. Equipment. All beauty shops and salons and 
cosmetology schools shall have available sterilizers or 
sanitizers which shall be used in accordance with the 
manufacturer's instructions. All instruments, including 
disposable equipment shall be kept clean and sanitized.  

C. Combs and Brushes. Combs and brushes must be 
thoroughly cleaned with soap and water after each patron 
has been served and then immersed in a solution of one part 
water to 10 parts of sodium hypochlorite (bleach), EPA 
hospital grade disinfectant or some equally efficient 
disinfectant used in accordance with the manufacturer's 
instructions. 

D. Shampoo Boards. Shampoo boards and bowls must be 
kept clean at all times. 

E. Towels. Towels used for patrons shall be clean and 
freshly laundered and kept in a closed cabinet designated for 
clean towels only. 

F. Soiled Towels. Soiled towels should be kept in a 
container.  

G. Hand Washing. Cosmetologists shall wash their hands 
with soap and fresh water immediately before serving each 
patron. 
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H. Fluids and Powders. Fluids and powders shall be 
applied to a patron from a shaker type dispenser so as to 
prevent the bottle or shaker from contacting the client. 

I. Structure. Floor, walls and fixtures must be kept in a 
clean and sanitary condition at all times. 

J. Flooring. Carpet or floor cloth shall not be used in 
any work area. 

K. Animals. No facility licensed by the board shall 
permit any live animal to be present on the premises except 
for an animal certified to assist a disabled person.  

L. Water. All facilities shall have an adequate supply of 
both hot and cold running water and a sufficient number of 
wash basins on the facility premises. 

M. Clippings. Hair clippings on the floor must be swept 
up after each client and shall be disposed of in a covered 
container.  

N. Tools and Implements. All tools and implements 
which come in direct contact with a client and shall be 
sterilized, sanitized or disposed of after each use.  

O. Storage. New and/or sanitized and cleaned tools and 
implements shall be stored separately form all others. 

P. Work Stations. Storage cabinets, work stations and 
vanities shall be cleaned after each client.  

Q. Blood Spill Kits. Blood spill kits must be available in 
every salon. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:329 (March 2003). 
§703. Salons Located in Buildings Housing Other 

Facilities 
A. Separate Room. No salon shall be established or 

maintained in a home or in connection with a business where 
food is handled unless a separate room is provided therefore.  

B. Home Salon. Any salon in a home or in connection 
with a place where food is handled shall be separated from 
the living quarters or place where food is handled by walls 
or other permanent structures. There shall be separate 
outside entrances leading to the salon and to the living 
quarters or any place where food is handled. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:330 (March 2003). 
§705. Equipment Required in Salons Offering Hair 

Dressing Services  
A. Equipment. Hair dressing shall not be performed in 

any beauty shop or salon unless the following items are 
available for use: 

1. shampoo bowl for shop purpose only;  
2. utility chair; 
3. dryer; 
4. covered wasted container;  
5. cabinet for accessories; 
6. cabinet for clean linens; 
7. container for soiled linens; and  
8. wet and dry sterilizer for each occupied station or 

electric sterilizer. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:330 (March 2003). 
§707. Equipment Required in Salons Offering 

Esthetics Services 
A. Equipment. Esthetics shall not be performed in any 

salon unless the following items are available for use: 
1. flexible treatment bed or chair, capable of multi-

positions for customer and skin care therapist;  
2. stool for therapist; 
3. trolleys or utility table, large enough to support 

cosmetic preparations and bowls;  
4. small sterilizer for implements (i.e., tweezers, 

extractors, small equipment); 
5. magnifying lamp for skin analysis (five dioptic 

recommended); 
6. closed storage cabinet with a wash basin or sink for 

hand washing and towel storage; 
7. facial steamer; 
8. the following basic implements: 

a. two stainless steel bowls; 
b. covered waste bin; 
c. non-sterile cotton pads, cloths, or disposable 

sponges; 
d. towels, clinic gowns, head bands, washable 

blanket; 
e. tissue, cotton tipped swabs, spatulas, gauze; 
f. containers with lids for storage or disposable 

items; 
g. tweezers; 
h. sheets; 
i. mask brushes; 
j. cleansers, astringents, treatment creams; and  
k. lancets, leak and puncture proof container for 

disposal of lancets, and gloves (disposable PVC). 
B. Waxing. If waxing is offered, the following items 

shall be available for use: 
1. wax pot and wax;  
2. disposable applicators; 
3. wax remover for skin and ointment; 
4. cleanser for skin; 
5. wax equipment cleanser; and  
6. comb and scissors for trimming.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:330 (March 2003). 
§709. Equipment Required in Salons Offering 

Manicuring Services 
A. Manicuring Equipment. Manicuring shall not be 

performed in any salon unless the following items are 
available for use: 

1. manicuring sterilizer; 
2. covered waste containers; 
3. cabinet for accessories; 
4. cabinet for clean linens; 
5. container for soiled linens; 
6. manicuring table; and  
7. lavatory with hot and cold running water.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(9). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:330 (March 2003). 
§711. Procedures for Esthetics Services 

A. Exfoliation. Cosmetologists, estheticians and persons 
authorized to perform microdermabrasion shall not exfoliate 
or perform any procedure which will affect the dermis or 
skin below the epidermis. Cosmetologists, estheticians and 
persons authorized to perform microdermabrasion shall only 
exfoliate or perform services which affect the epidermis. 

B. Procedures. Cosmetologists performing esthetics 
services, estheticians and persons authorized to perform 
microdermabrasion shall: 

1. wash his or her hands using an antimicrobial skin 
wash prior to coming into contact with any client; 

2. wash all implements with anitmicrobial wash prior 
to sanitization or sterilization; 

3. wash all towels and linens in disinfecting detergent; 
and  

4. place all used disposable items in a closed, bagged, 
trash container.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
§713. Procedures for Manicuring Services  

A. All manicurists and cosmetologists performing 
manicuring services shall:  

1. wash his or her hands using antimicrobial wash 
prior to performing any manicuring service;  

2. require the customer to wash area on which service 
is to be performed with an antimicrobial wash prior to any 
service being performed;  

3. wash all implements with antimicrobial wash prior 
to sterilization; 

4. wash all towels and linens in disinfecting detergent; 
and  

5. place all used disposable items in a closed, bagged, 
trash container. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
§715. Disposable Equipment 

A. The following items shall be considered disposable:  
1. facial tissues; 
2. sponges; 
3. cloths; 
4. extraction tissue; 
5. lancets; 
6. gloves; 
7. wax strips and sticks; 
8. tissues; 
9. cotton pads; and  
10. emery boards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 

Chapter 9. Inspections 
§901. Access of Inspectors 

A. Access. Inspectors and employees of the board are 
entitled to enter any premises licensed by the board, to 
interview any person present at the facility and to examine 
all work records pertaining to the cosmetology profession 
during the regular business hours of the facility.  

B. Information. Any information gained by an inspector 
or employee of the board during an inspection shall remain 
confidential unless the information is to be offered as 
evidence in an administrative hearing or court proceeding 
concerning a license issued by the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(A)(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
§903. Violations 

A. Citations. Inspectors may issue citations for violations 
and impose and collect fines for any violation of the 
Cosmetology Act or any rule or regulation adopted by the 
board provided that the licensee waives his or her right to a 
formal hearing before the board.  

B. Violation Notice. Inspectors must present the licensee 
with the a duplicate copy of the violation notice. 

C. Evidence. Any licensee who disputes the contents of 
an inspector's report may submit contrary evidence in 
writing to the board or present evidence to the board at the 
assigned hearing date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(5) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
Chapter 11. Special and Temporary Permits 
§1101. Special Permits 

A. Special Permits. The board shall issue the following 
special permits to any person who meets the requirements 
set forth in the board's rules:  

1. alternative hair design;  
2. microdermabrasion; 
3. shampoo assistants; and  
4. make-up artists. 

B. All special permits issued by the board shall be valid 
for a period of one year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
§1103. Special Permit for Microdermabrasion 

A. Microdermabrasion. Beginning April 1, 2003 a 
special permit authorizing the performance of 
microdermabrasion using a nonprescriptive device shall be 
issued to: 

1. a licensed esthetician; or  
2. a licensed cosmetologist or electrologist who 

presents satisfactory evidence of completion of at least 200 
hours of study in esthetics or evidence of practicing esthetics 
for a period of at least one year.  

B. Training. In addition to the requirements set forth in 
Subsection A, the applicant must present satisfactory
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evidence of completion of a training course on the operation 
of the microdermabrasion equipment to be used.  

C. Proof Required. For the purpose of this Section, 
evidence of practicing esthetics shall be demonstrated by 
presenting the following: 

1. copies of W-2's or 1099's and a sworn statement by 
the issuer indicating that the individual worked the 
equivalent of 25 per week for at least 48 weeks during a 
period of one year; or  

2. copies of income tax returns, if self-employed, and 
sworn statements from at least five clients indicating that 
esthetics services were performed by the applicant. 

D. Permit Required. No cosmetologist or esthetician may 
perform microdermabrasion without a current special permit 
authorizing the performance of microdermabrasion.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:331 (March 2003). 
§1105. Special Permit for Alternative Hair Design 

A. Alternative Hair Design. Beginning April 1, 2003, a 
special permit authorizing the practice of alternative hair 
design shall be issued to any person who presents evidence 
to the board of completion of the alternative hair design 
curriculum and successfully passes the exam administered 
by the board. 

B. Grandfathering. Notwithstanding the provisions of 
Subsection A, any person who applies for a special permit to 
practice alternative hair design on or before June 30, 2003 
who satisfactorily demonstrates two years of experience in 
the practice of alternative hair design shall be issued a 
permit without the necessity of taking the alternative hair 
exam. 

C. For the purpose of this Section experience shall be 
demonstrated by any of the following: 

1. copies of W-2's or 1099's and a sworn statement by 
the issuer indicating that the individual worked the 
equivalent of 25 per week for at least 48 weeks per year 
during a two year period in the practice of alternative hair 
design; 

2. copies of income tax returns, if self-employed, and 
sworn statements from at least five clients indicating that 
alternative hair design services were performed by the 
applicant; 

3. certification from a school indicating that the 
applicant has received at least 400 hours of instruction in 
alternative hair design which were completed prior to 
October 1, 2002; or 

4. documentation indicating that the applicant has 
been a member of a trade association which has as its stated 
purpose the education of individuals in a field which 
includes alternative hair design for at least two years prior to 
January 1, 2003. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:575(B)(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:332 (March 2003). 
§1107. Alternative Hair Design Curriculum 

A. Curriculum. The alternative hair design curriculum 
shall consist of at least 1000 hours of instruction which shall 
include but not be limited to the following. 

1. History Overview 
a. Ancient Origins of Braiding 
b. Traditional Multi-Cultural Braid Styles 
c. The Multi-Cultural American Hair Experience 

2. Bacteriology and Sanitation 
a. Types of Bacteria 
b. Growth and Reproduction of Bacteria 
c. Prevention of Infection and Infection Control 
d. Use of Antiseptics, Disinfectants and Detergents  

3. Client Consultation 
4. Hair Types and Hair Structure 
5. Scalp Diseases and Disorders 
6. Shampoos, Conditioners, Herbal Treatments and 

Rinses for Synthetic Hair Only 
7. Braiding and Sculpting 
8. Louisiana Cosmetology Act and Rules and 

Regulations 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:575(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:332 (March 2003). 
§1109. Special Permit for Shampoo Assistants 

A. Shampoo Assistants. Beginning January 1, 2003, a 
special permit authorizing the performance of shampooing 
shall be issued to any person who: 

1. applies on or before June 30, 2003 and presents 
evidence to the board of six months of continuous 
employment as an assistant to a licensed cosmetologist prior 
to January 1, 2003; or  

2. has successfully completed at least 40 hours of 
training in shampooing, draping and rinsing and passed the 
test administered by the board. 

B. Grandfathering. For the purpose of this Section 
continuous employment shall be demonstrated by copies of 
W-2's or 1099's and a sworn statement by the issuer 
indicating that the individual worked the equivalent of 25 
per week for at least 24-weeks per year during a 6-month 
period as a shampoo assistant under the supervision of a 
licensed cosmetologist. 

C. Cosmetologist. No person holding current 
cosmetology license shall be required to obtain a special 
permit to shampoo. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:332 (March 2003). 
§1111. Special Permit for Make-Up Application 

A. Make-Up Application. Beginning April 1, 2003, a 
special permit authorizing the practice of application of 
cosmetic preparations or make-up shall be issued to any 
person who presents evidence to the board of completion of 
40 hours of training in the application of cosmetic 
preparations or make-up. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:332 (March 2003). 
§1113. Temporary Permits 

A. Permits. The board shall issue permits to persons who 
wish to participate in hair shows, beauty pageants or 
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demonstrations who are licensed to practice cosmetology, 
esthetics or manicuring in another state. 

B. Applications. Applications for temporary permits 
shall be submitted to the board for review not less than 30 
days prior to the requested period of the permit. 

C. The 40-hour curriculum for make -up artists shall 
include a minimum of:  

1. two hours of study if composition of facial 
cosmetics;  

2. two hours of study and two hours of practical work 
in recognition of facial shapes; 

3. two hours of study make-up cosmetics and purpose;  
4. three hours of study and 12 hours of practical work 

in make-up application; 
5. three hours of study and 10 hours of practical work 

in procedure for corrective make-up; 
6. one hour of study and two hours of practical work 

in procedure for evening make-up; 
7. one hour of study in safety and sanitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:332 (March 2003). 
§1115. Special Permits  

A. Transfer. Hours of study used to obtain any special 
permit authorized by this Chapter shall not be counted 
toward the number of hours necessary to receive any other 
license issued by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
Chapter 13. Disciplinary Proceedings 
§1301. Informal Proceedings 

A. Notice. If the board receives information indicating 
that a licensee has violated the Cosmetology Practice Act or 
the rules and regulations adopted by the board, the executive 
director shall provide the licensee with a written informal 
notice. 

B. Conference. The licensee shall respond in writing to 
the board=s informal notice within 10 days of receipt by 
providing the board with a written statement containing any 
information related to the allegations of the informal notice 
which would show compliance with all requirements for 
retention of his or her license. In lieu of providing a written 
statement, the licensee may request an informal conference 
with the executive director. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
§1303. Formal Proceedings 

A. Complaint. In the event that the matter is not resolved 
during the informal hearing, the executive director shall file 
a formal complaint which shall be forwarded to the licensee 
at the address on file with the board. 

B. Hearing. No hearing shall be conducted prior to 20 
business days following the filing of the formal complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
§1305. Procedures 

A. Hearings. All hearings conducted before the board 
shall be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
Chapter 15. Declaratory Orders 
§1501. Declaratory Orders 

A. Application. Any person desiring an interpretation of 
the Cosmetology Act or the rules promulgated in accordance 
with the Cosmetology Act shall make application to the 
board on a form provided by the board. 

B. Hearing. An application for a declaratory order shall 
be heard within 60 days of receipt. 

C. Ruling. The board shall issue a ruling on an 
application for declaratory order within 30 days of the 
hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:962. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
Chapter 17. Miscellaneous Provisions  
§1701. Public Comments at Board Meetings 

A. Comments. A public comment period shall be held at 
or near the beginning of each board meeting. Persons 
desiring to present public comments shall notify the 
chairman or the executive director no later than the 
beginning of the meeting. To assure that an opportunity is 
afforded all persons who desire to make public comments, 
the chairman shall inquire at the beginning of the meeting if 
there are additional persons who wish to comment. The 
chairman shall allot the time available for the public 
comments in an equitable manner among those persons 
desiring to comment, limiting each person to a maximum of 
three minutes, with the total comment period not to exceed 
30 minutes. Each person making public comments shall 
identify himself and the group, organization or company he 
represents, if any. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:5(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
§1703. Services Performed at the Residence of a 

Disabled Person 
A. Services. A cosmetologist, esthetician or manicurist 

may perform services at the residence of a client who is 
chronically ill or disabled. 

B. Requirements. A client shall be considered 
chronically ill or disabled if: 

1. the client provides the cosmetologist, esthetician or 
manicurist with a physician's certificate indicating that the 
client is chronically ill or disabled; 

2. the client provides the cosmetologist, esthetician or 
manicurist with evidence that the client has been awarded 
Social Security Disability or Supplemental Security Income 
Disability Benefits. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(15). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:333 (March 2003). 
§1705. Destruction of Premises 

A. Inspection. When any school or salon made unusable 
by virtue of storm, fire, flood or any other act of God or by 
virtue of expropriation proceedings and the premised 
selected to permanently replace such facility will be 
inspected without an inspection fee, provided that such 
facility is replaced within six months of its destruction. 

B. Reconstruction. Any school or salon which is repaired 
or replaced in its exact location will be acceptable provided 
that it is reconstructed in no less size that existed prior to its 
destruction. 

C. Temporary Premises. When temporary premises are 
necessary for the continuance of operation during the repair, 
the board member for the area involved may approve such 
premises provided such premises are temporary with a 
specific termination date set forth for their use and further 
provided that such premises are sanitary and sufficient for 
use during the stated time period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:334 (March 2003). 
§1707. Remodeling 

A. Application. When any school or salon desires to 
remodel its premises, application shall be made to the board.  

B. Temporary Premises. If remodeling requires the use 
of temporary premises for the continuance of operation 
during remodeling, the board member for the area may 
approve such premises as are adequate provided such 
premises are sanitary and sufficient for use during the stated 
time period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:334 (March 2003). 
§1709. Picture Identification 

A. All licensee and permitees shall have in their 
possession a picture identification at any time at which a 
service is being performed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:334 (March 2003). 
§1711. NSF Checks 

A. Late Fee. If a check is received for the renewal of 
license which is returned to the board by the bank due to 
non-sufficient funds and is not validated by the licensee or 
permittee by the expiration date will be responsible for 
payment of a late fee in addition to any bank charge imposed 
on the board. 

B. Restoration. If a check is received for restoration of a 
license which is returned to the board by the bank due to 
non-sufficient funds, the applicant=s license shall be subject 
to revocation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:334 (March 2003). 
§1713. Cheating on Examinations 

A. Eligibility. Any person who cheats on an examination 
administered by the board shall be disqualified from taking 
any examination administered by the board for a period of at 
least three months. Any person who cheats on a subsequent 
examination shall be ineligible to register for any 
examination administered by the board without board 
approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:575(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Board of Cosmetology, LR 
29:334 (March 2003). 

 
Saraphia T. Wilson 
Executive Director 

0303#023 
 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCAccumulation of Deductibles,  
Co-Insurance, and Out-of-Pocket Expenses 

(LAC 32:V.301, 601, 701 and 703) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO plan document relative to the accumulation of 
deductibles, co-insurance and out-of pocket expenses. The 
reason for this action is to align the accumulation of 
deductibles, co-insurance, and out-of-pocket expenses with 
the plan year (July 1- June 30) rather than the calendar year 
(January 1-December 31). 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.23.  … 

24. not subject to the annual deductible: 
a. one pap test for cervical cancer per plan year; 
b.i. … 

 ii. one mammogram during a period of two years 
for any person who is 40-49 years of age, or more frequently 
if recommended by a physician; 
 iii. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1810 (October 1999), LR 28:478 (March 2002), LR 29:334 
(March 2003). 
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

Accidental InjuryCa condition occurring as a direct result 
of a traumatic bodily injury sustained solely through 
accidental means from an external force. With respect to 
injuries to teeth, the act of chewing does not constitute an 
injury caused by external force. 

*** 
Benefit PaymentCpayment of eligible expenses incurred 

by a covered person during a plan year at the rate shown 
under percentage payable in the schedule of benefits.  

DeductibleCthe amount of covered charges for which no 
benefits will be paid. Before benefits can be paid in a plan 
year, a covered person must meet the deductible shown in 
the schedule of benefits. 

Family Unit LimitCthe dollar amount shown in the 
schedule of benefits has been incurred by three members of 
a family unit toward their plan year deductibles. The 
deductibles of all additional members of that family unit will 
be considered satisfied for that year.  

*** 
Plan YearCthat period commencing at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 

standard time, at the address of the employee, or the date the 
covered person first becomes covered under the plan and 
continuing until 12:01 a.m., standard time, at the address of 
the employee on the next following July 1. Each successive 
plan year will be the period from 12:01 a.m., July 1, 
standard time, at the address of the employee  to 12:01 a.m., 
the next following July 1. 

*** 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1820 (October 1999), LR 29:335 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCEPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional medical services 
are reimbursed on a fee schedule of maximum allowable 
charges. All eligible expenses are determined in accordance 
with plan limitations and exclusions. 

 
 Non-EPO EPO 
Lifetime Maximum for all benefits 
except outpatient prescription drug 
benefits per person  

$2,000,000 
 

Lifetime Maximum for all Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefits per person  

$250,000  

 
1. Deductibles 
 

 Non-EPO EPO 
Inpatient deductible per day, maximum of 
5 days per admission (waived for 
admissions at PPO hospitals)  

$50 0 

Emergency room charges for each visit 
unless the covered person is hospitalized 
immediately following emergency room 
treatment (prior to and in addition to plan 
year deductible) 

$150 0 

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
employees and dependents of employees, 
per person, per plan year  
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

  

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
retirees and dependents of retirees, per 
person, per plan year 
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

  

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
other than physician office visits, per 
person, per plan year 
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

$300 0 

 
2. Percentage Payable after Co-Payments and 

Satisfaction of Applicable Deductibles 
 

Eligible expenses incurred at an EPO n/a 100% 
Eligible expenses incurred at a non-EPO 70% n/a 
Eligible expenses incurred when 
Medicare or other Group Health Plan is 
primary, and after Medicare reduction 

80% n/a 

Eligible expenses incurred at a non-
PPO/non-EPO When not available at an 
EPO/PPO or out of state 

80% n/a 

Eligible expenses in excess of $10,000* 
per person per plan year  

100% n/a 

Eligible expenses at EPO are based upon contracted rates. 
Eligible expenses at non-EPO are based upon the OGB’s fee schedule. 
Charges in excess of the fee schedule are not eligible expenses and do not 
apply to the coinsurance threshold. 

 
3. ... 
4. Prescription Drugs (not subject to deductible) 
 

Network Pharmacy Member pays 50% of drug costs at 
point of purchase 

Maximum co-payment $50 per prescription dispensed 
Out-of-pocket threshold $1,200 per person, per plan year 

Co-Pay after Threshold is Reached 
Brand $15  

Plan pays balance of eligible expense 
 
B. - E … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1823 (October 1999), LR 26:487 (March 2000), LR 27:717 
(May 2001), LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 28:476 (March 
2002), LR 29:335 (March 2003). 
§703. Mental Health and Substance Abuse 

NOTE: Requires prior approval of services. 

A. Deductibles 
 

Per person per Plan Year (Separate from Comprehensive 
Medical Benefits deductible) 

$ 200 

Inpatient (Maximum 5 days; $250 per stay) $   50 per day 
 
B. Benefits 
 

80% of the first $5,000 of eligible expenses 
100 % of eligible expenses over $5,000 until the Lifetime Maximum for 
all plan benefits is reached 
Up to a maximum of 45 inpatient days per person, per plan year 
Up to a maximum of 52 intensive outpatient visits per person, per plan 
year, inclusive of the outpatient program 
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NOTE: Two days of partial hospitalization or two days of 
residential treatment center hospitalization may be traded for 
each inpatient day of treatment that is available under the 45-
day Plan Year maximum for inpatient treatment. A residential 
treatment center is a 24-hour mental health or substance abuse, 
non-acute care treatment setting for active treatment 
interventions directed at the amelioration of the specific 
impairments that led to admission. Partial hospitalization is a 
level of care where the patient remains in the hospital less than 
24 hours. 

1-2  ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1824 (October 1999), LR 29:335 (March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#080 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCEffective Dates and Limitations  
of Coverage for Pre-Existing Conditions 

(LAC 32:V.101) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO plan document relative to effective dates of coverage 
and the application of pre-existing condition limitations. 
This action is to conform the plan to requirements of the 
federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
of 1996 (HIPAA) and regulations promulgated pursuant 
thereto. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Section to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO)CPlan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO plan, the EPO plan or an HMO 
plan. 

A. - A.3. ... 
4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Emp loyment 

a. An employee whose employment terminated 
while covered, who is re-employed within 12 months of the 
date of termination will be considered a re-enrollment, 
previous employment applicant. A re -enrollment previous 
employment applicant will be eligib le for only that 
classification of coverage (employee, employee and one 

dependent, family) in force on the effective date of 
termination. 

b. If an employee acquires an additional dependent 
during the period of termination, that dependent may be 
covered if added within 30 days of re-employment. 

5. Members of Boards and Commissions. Except as 
otherwise provided by law, members of boards or 
commissions are not eligible for participation in the plan. 
This Section does not apply to members of school boards or 
members of state boards or commissions who are defined by 
the participant employer as full time employees. 

6. Legislative Assistants. Legislative assistants are 
eligible to participate in the plan if they are declared to be 
full-time employees by the participant employer and have at 
least one year of experience or receive at least 80 percent of 
their total compensation as legislative assistants. 

7. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC)CNew Employees 
(on and after July 1, 2001) 

a. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to 
all eligible employees whose employment with a participant 
employer commences on or after July 1, 2001, and to the 
dependents of such employees. 

b. The program may require that such applicants 
complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and an 
"Acknowledgement of Pre-Existing Condition" form. 

c. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of employees and/or dependent  
will not be considered as covered medical expenses if they 
are in connection with a disease, illness, accident, or injury 
for which medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was 
recommended or received during the six months 
immediately prior to the enrollment date. The provisions of 
this Section do not apply to pregnancy. 

d. If the covered person was previously covered 
under a Group Health Plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit 
will be given for previous coverage that occurred without a 
break of 63 days or more for the duration of prior coverage 
against the initial 12-month period. Any coverage occurring 
prior to a break in coverage 63 days or more will not be 
credited against a pre-existing condition exclusion period. 

B. … 
C. Dependent Coverage 

1. Eligibility. A dependent of an eligible employee or 
retiree will be eligible for dependent coverage on the later of 
the following dates: 

a. the date the employee becomes eligible;  
b. the date the retiree becomes eligible;  
c. the date the covered employee or covered retiree 

acquires a dependent. 
2. Effective Dates of Coverage 

a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage for 
dependents will be effective on the date the employee 
becomes eligible for dependent coverage. 

b. Dependents of Retirees. Coverage for dependents 
of retirees will be effective on the first day of the month 
following the date of retirement if the employee and his 
dependents were covered immediately prior to retirement. 
Coverage for dependents of retirees first becoming eligible 
for dependent coverage following the date of retirement will 
be effective on the date of marriage for new spouses, the 
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date of birth for newborn children, or the date acquired for 
other classifications of dependents, if application is made 
within 30 days of the date of eligibility. 

D. - D.2. … 
3. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 

months following enrollment of  employee and/or dependent 
will not be considered as covered medical expenses if they 
are in connection with a disease, illness, accident, or injury 
for which medical advice, diagnosis, care or treatment was 
recommended or received during the six-month period 
immediately prior to the enrollment date. The provisions of 
this Section do not apply to pregnancy 

D.4 - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1804 (October 1999), LR 27:718 (May 2001), LR 29:336 
(March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#043 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCPrescription Drugs 
(LAC 32:V.325 and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO plan document relative to prescription drugs, increasing 
the maximum coinsurance amount from $40 to $50 per 
prescription and increasing the out of pocket threshold from 
$1,000 to $1,200. The reason for this action is to fairly 
distribute the increasing cost of prescription drugs benefits 
among the plan and those participants who utilize the 
benefit. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective July 1, 2003. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§325. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. - C. ... 
1. Upon presentation of the Group Benefits Program 

Health Benefits Identification Card at a network pharmacy,

the Plan Member will be responsible for payment of 50 
percent of the cost of the drug, up to a maximum of $50 
dollars per prescription dispensed. The plan will pay the 
balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a network pharmacy. There is a $1200 per 
person per Plan Year out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
prescription drug expenses. Once this threshold is reached, 
that is, the Plan Member has paid $1200 of co-insurance/co-
payments for eligible prescription drug expenses, the Plan 
Member will be responsible for a $15 co-pay for brand name 
drugs, with no co-pay for generic drugs. The plan will pay 
the balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a network pharmacy. 

2. - 5.b. … 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of the 
drug, up to a maximum of $50 per prescription dispensed. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-68 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $100 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the plan memb er 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $150 per prescription 
dispensed. 

6. - 7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1815 (October 1999), LR 27:717, 718, 719 (May 2001), LR 
27:1886 (November 2001), LR 29:337 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCEPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. - A.3. ... 
4. Prescription Drugs (not subject to deductible) 
 

Network Pharmacy Member pays 50% of drug costs at point 
of purchase 

Maximum co-payment $50 per prescription dispensed 
Out-of-pocket threshold $1,200 per person, per plan year 

Co-Pay after Threshold is Reached 
Brand $15  
Generic No co-pay 

Plan pays balance of eligible expense 

 
B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1823 (October 1999), LR 26:487 (March 2000), LR 27:717,  
719 (May 2001), LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 28:476 (March 
2002), LR 29:337 (March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#044 
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RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCRetiree Coverage 
(LAC 32:V.101) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO Plan Document relative to retiree coverage, providing 
that retirees who return to active employment will continue 
to be considered as retirees for the purposes participation in 
OGB plans. The reason for this action is to establish 
consistent administration of benefits for retirees in light of 
recent legislation that has resulted in an increase in the 
number of retirees returning to active employment. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Section to 
become effective upon promulgation.  

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO Plan, the EPO Plan or an HMO 
plan. 

A. ...  
B. Retiree Coverage 

1. Eligibility 
a. Retirees of participant employers are elig ible for 

retiree coverage under this plan. 
b. An employee retired from a participant employer 

may not be covered as an employee of another participant 
employer. 

c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 
applicants. 

2. Effective Date of Coverage 
a. Retiree coverage will be effective on the first day 

of the month following the date of retirement, if the retiree 
and participant employer have agreed to make and are 
making the required contributions. 

C. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1804 (October 1999), LR 27:718 (May 2001), LR 29:338 
(March 2003). 

A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#045 
 

 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCWell-Adult Care Expenses 
(LAC 32:V.301 and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO Plan Document relative to well adult care expenses. 
The changes are intended to clarify existing provisions of the 
plan relative to benefits for well-adult care expenses. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO)CPlan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefit 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.23.b.ii. … 

c. well-adult care expenses not subject to the annual 
deductible, but limited to a maximum benefit of $200.00: 
 i. age 16 until age 40C$200.00 during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50C$200.00 during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and overC$200.00 during a 1-year 
period; 

24. - 32. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 28:480 (March 2002), LR 29:338 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCEPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. - B. … 
C. Well Care 

1. - 2. … 
3. Well Adult (No deductibleClimited to a maximum 

benefit of $200) 
 

Age 16-39 - $200 during a 3-year period 2See % payable below 
Age 40-49 - during a 2-year period 2See % payable below 
Age 50 and over -$200 during a 1-year period 2See % payable below 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 339 

D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1823 (October 1999), amended LR 
26:487 (March 2000), LR 27:717 and 719 (May 2001), amended by 
the Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 28:476 (March 
2002), LR 28:2342, 2343 (November 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:2509 (December 2002), amended LR 29:338 (March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#046 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of BenefitsCAccumulation of Deductibles,  
Co-Insurance and Out-of-Pocket Expenses 
(LAC 32:III.301, 321, 601, 701 and 703) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO Plan Document relative to the accumulation of 
deductibles, co-insurance and out-of pocket expenses. The 
reason for this action is to align the accumulation of 
deductibles, co-insurance, and out-of-pocket expenses with 
the plan year (July 1- June 30) rather than the calendar year 
(January 1-December 31). 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.23. - 23.c.iii. … 

24. not subject to the annual deductible: 
a. one pap test for cervical cancer per plan year; 
b. - b.i … 

 ii. one mammogram during a period of two years 
for any person who is 40-49 years of age, or more frequently 
if recommended by a physician; 

24.b.iii. - 32. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group

Benefits Program, LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 28:480 (March 2002) ), LR 29:339 (March 
2003). 
§321. Preferred Provider Program 

A. … 
1. If a covered person obtains medical services or 

hospital services from an eligible provider who has agreed to 
provide the services at a mutually agreed upon discount from 
the maximum medical fee schedule or at a per diem or 
discounted rate from a hospital, the program will pay, 
following satisfaction of all applicable deductibles, 90 
percent of the first $10,000 of eligible expenses and 100 
percent of eligible expenses, except prescription drugs, in 
excess of $10,000 for the remainder of the plan year, subject 
to the maximum amount as specified in the schedule of 
benefits. 

2. - 2.a. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1835 (October 1999), amended LR 
27:722 (May 2001), LR 29:339 (March 2003). 
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

Accidental InjuryCa condition occurring as a direct result 
of a traumatic bodily injury sustained solely through 
accidental means from an external force. With respect to 
injuries to teeth, the act of chewing does not constitute an 
injury caused by external force. 

* * * 
Benefit PaymentCpayment of eligible exp enses incurred 

by a covered person during a plan year at the rate shown 
under percentage payable in the schedule of benefits. 

* * * 
DeductibleCthe amount of covered charges for which no 

benefits will be paid. Before benefits can be paid in a plan 
year, a covered person must meet the deductible shown in 
the schedule of benefits. 

* * * 
Family Unit LimitCthe dollar amount shown in the 

schedule of benefits has been incurred by three members of 
a family unit toward their plan year deductibles. The 
deductibles of all additional members of that family unit will 
be considered satisfied for that year.  

* * * 
Plan YearCthat period commencing at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 

standard time, at the address of the employee, or the date the 
covered person first becomes covered under the plan and 
continuing until 12:01 a.m., standard time, at the address of 
the employee on the next following July 1. Each successive 
plan year will be the period from 12:01 a.m., July 1, 
standard time, at the address of the employee  to 12:01 a.m., 
the next following July 1. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1840 (October 1999), amended LR 
29:339 (March 2003). 
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Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits–PPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. … 
1. Deductibles 
 

Inpatient deductible per day, maximum of 5 days per 
admission (waived for admissions at PPO hospitals)  

$  50 

Emergency room charges for each visit unless the covered 
person  is hospitalized immediately following emergency 
room treatment (prior to and in addition to plan year 
deductible) 

 
$150 

Professional and other eligible expenses, employees and 
dependents of employees per person, per plan year 

$500 
$300 

Family unit maximum (3 individual deductibles)           

 
2. Percentage Payable after Satisfaction of Applicable 

Deductibles 
 

 
Eligible expenses incurred at a PPO  

90% of 
negotiated rate  

Eligible expenses incurred at a non-PPO when one is 
available in the PPO region 

50% 

Eligible expenses incurred at a non-PPO when not 
available at a PPO or out of state 

80% 

Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other 
group health plan is primary, and after Medicare 
reduction 

80% 

Eligible expenses in excess of $10,000 per plan year 
per person 

100% 

 
3. ... 
4. Prescription Drugs (not subject to deductible) 
  

Network Pharmacy Member pays 50% of drug costs at point 
of purchase 

Maximum co-payment $50 per prescription dispensed 
Out-of-pocket threshold $1,200 per person, per plan year 

Co-Pay after Threshold is Reached 
Brand $15  
Generic No co-pay 

Plan pays balance of eligible expense 

 
B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1843 (October 1999), amended LR 
26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:719 (May 2001), LR 27:720 (May 
2001), LR 27:722 (May 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 27:1887 (November 2001), LR 28:2345 (November 2002), LR 
29:340 (March 2003). 
§703. Mental Health Substance Abuse 

NOTE: Requires prior approval of services. 
A. Deductibles 
 

Per person per plan year (Separate from 
Comprehensive Medical Benefits deductible)  

$ 200 

Inpatient (Maximum 5 days; $250 per stay) $ 50 per day 

 

B. Benefits 
 

80% of the first $5,000 of eligible expenses 

100 % of eligible expenses over $5,000 until the Lifetime Maximum for 
all Plan benefits is reached 

Up to a maximum of 45 inpatient days per person, per plan year 

Up to a maximum of 52 outpatient visits per person, per plan year, 
inclusive of the intensive outpatient program. 

Note: Two days of partial hospitalizat ion or two days of 
residential treatment center hospitalization may be traded for 
each inpatient day of treatment that is available under the 45-
day plan year maximum for inpatient treatment. A residential 
treatment center is a 24-hour mental health or substance 
abuse, non-acute care treatment setting for active treatment 
interventions directed at the amelioration of the specific 
impairments that led to admission. Partial hospitalization is a 
level of care where the patient remains in the hospital less than 
24 hours. 
 Expenses incurred for emergency services will only be 
reimbursed if, after review, the services are determined to be a 
life-threatening psychiatric emergency resulting in an 
authorized mental health or substance abuse admission within 
24 hours to an inpatient, partial, or intensive outpatient level 
care. Non-emergent psychiatric or substance abuse problems 
treated in the emergency room will not be eligible for 
reimbursement. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1844 (October 1999), LR 29:340 (March 
2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#047 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of BenefitsCEffective Dates and Limitations of 
Coverage for Pre -Existing Conditions  

(LAC 32:III.101) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO Plan Document relative to effective dates of coverage 
and the application of pre-existing condition limitations.
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This action is to conform the plan to requirements of the 
federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
of 1996 (HIPAA) and regulations promulgated pursuant 
thereto. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Section to 
become effective upon promulgation.  

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO plan, the EPO plan or an HMO 
plan. 

A. - A.3.c. … 
4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment 

a. An employee whose employment terminated 
while covered, who is re-employed within 12 months of the 
date of termination will be considered a re-enrollment, 
previous employment applicant. A re-enrollment previous 
employment applicant will be eligible for only that 
classification of coverage (employee, employee and one 
dependent, family) in force on the effective date of 
termination. 

b. If an employee acquires an additional dependent 
during the period of termination, that dependent  may be 
covered if added within 30 days of re-employment. 

5. Members of Boards and Commissions. Except as 
otherwise provided by law, members of boards or 
commissions are not eligible for participation in the plan. 
This Section does not apply to members of school boards or 
members of state boards or commissions who are defined by 
the participant employer as full time employees. 

6. Legislative Assistants. Legislative Assistants are 
eligible to participate in the plan if they are declared to be 
full-time employees by the participant employer and have at 
least one year of experience or receive at least 80 percent of 
their total compensation as Legislative Assistants. 

7. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC)CNew Employees 
(on and after July 1, 2001) 

a. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to 
all eligible employees whose employment with a participant 
employer commences on or after July 1, 2001, and to the 
dependents of such employees. 

b. The program may require that such applicants 
complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and an 
"Acknowledgement of Pre-Existing Condition" form. 

c. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of the employees and/or 
dependent will not be considered as covered medical 
expenses if they are in connection with a disease, illness, 
accident, or injury for which medical advice, diagnosis, care, 
or treatment  was recommended or received during the six 
months immediately prior to the enrollment date. The 
provisions of this Section do not apply to pregnancy. 

d. If the covered person was previously covered 
under a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit 
will be given for previous coverage that occurred without a 
break of 63 days or more for the duration of prior coverage 
against the initial 12-month period. Any coverage occurring 

prior to a break in coverage 63 days or more will not be 
credited against a pre-existing condition exclusion period. 

B. - C. 1.c. … 
2. Effective Dates of Coverage 

a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage for 
dependents will be effective on the date the employee 
becomes eligible for dependent coverage. 

b. Dependents of Retirees. Coverage for dependents 
of retirees will be effective on the first day of the month 
following the date of retirement if the employee and his 
dependents were covered immediately prior to retirement. 
Coverage for dependents of retirees first becoming eligible 
for dependent coverage following the date of retirement will 
be effective on the date of marriage for new spouses, the 
date of birth for newborn children, or the date acquired  for 
other classifications of dependents, if application is made 
within 30 days of the date of eligibility.  

D. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC)COverdue Application 
1. - 2. … 
3. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 

months following enrollment of the employee and/or 
dependent will not be considered as covered medical 
expenses if they are in connection with a disease, illness, 
accident, or injury for which medical advice, diagnosis, care 
or treatment was recommended or received during the six-
month period immediately prior to the enrollment date. The 
provisions of this Section do not apply to pregnancy. 

E. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1825 (October 1999), amended LR 
27:721 (May 2001), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, LR 28:2343 
(November 2002), LR 29:341 (March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#039 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor  
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of BenefitsCPrescription Drugs 
(LAC 32:III.323 and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO plan document relative to prescription drugs, increasing 
the maximum coinsurance amount from $40 to $50 per 
prescription and increasing the out of pocket threshold from
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$1,000 to $1,200. The reason for this action is to fairly 
distribute the increasing cost of prescription drugs benefits 
among the plan and those participants who utilize the 
benefit. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective July 1, 2003.  

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. - C. … 
1. Upon presentation of the Group Benefits Program 

Health Benefits Identification Card at a network pharmacy, 
the plan member will be responsible for payment of 50 
percent of the cost of the drug, up to a maximum of $50 
dollars per prescription dispensed. The plan will pay the 
balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a network pharmacy. There is a $1200 per 
person per plan year out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
prescription drug expenses. Once this threshold is reached, 
that is, the plan member has paid $1200 of co-insurance/co-
payments for eligible prescription drug expenses, the plan 
member will be responsible for a $15 co-pay for brand name 
drugs, with no co-pay for generic drugs. The plan will pay 
the balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a network pharmacy. 

2. - 5.b. … 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of the 
drug, up to a maximum of $50 per prescription dispensed. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-68 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $100 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $150 per prescription 
dispensed. 

6. - 7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1835 (October 1999), LR 27:720, 721 (May 2001), LR 
27:1887 (November 2001), LR 29:342 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCPPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. - A.3. ... 
4. Prescription Drugs (not subject to deductible) 

 
Network Pharmacy Member pays 50% of drug costs at point 

of purchase 
Maximum co-payment $50 per prescription dispensed 
Out-of-pocket threshold $1,200 per person, per plan year 

Co-Pay after Threshold is Reached 
Brand $15  
Generic No co-pay 

Plan pays balance of eligible expense 

 
B. - E. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1843 (October 1999), LR 26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:719, 
720, 722, 723 (May 2001), LR 29:342 (March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#048 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

 
PPO Plan of BenefitsCRetiree Coverage 

(LAC 32:III.101) 
 
In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 

49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louis iana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO plan document relative to retiree coverage, providing 
that retirees who return to active employment will continue 
to be considered as retirees for the purposes participation in 
OGB plans. The reason for this action is to establish 
consistent administration of benefits for retirees in light of 
recent legislation that has resulted in an increase in the 
number of retirees returning to active employment. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Section to 
become effective upon promulgation.  

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1.  Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO Plan, the EPO Plan or an HMO 
plan. 

A. ... 
B. Retiree Coverage 

1. Eligibility 
a. Retirees of participant employers are eligible for 

retiree coverage under this plan. 
b. An employee retired from a participant employer 

may not be covered as an employee of another participant 
employer. 

c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 
applicants. 

2. Effective Date of Coverage 
a. Retiree coverage will be effective on the first day 

of the month following the date of retirement, if the retiree 
and participant employer have agreed to make and are 
making the required contributions. 

C. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1825 (October 1999), LR 27:721 (May 2001), LR 29:342 
(March 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#049 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of BenefitsCWell-Adult Care Expenses 
(LAC 32:III.301 and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO plan document relative to well adult care expenses. The 
changes are intended to clarify existing provisions of the 
plan relative to benefits for well-adult care expenses. 

Accordingly, OGB has amended the following Sections to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.23.b.ii. … 

c. well-adult care expenses not subject to the annual 
deductible, but limited to a maximum benefit of $200: 
 i. age 16 until age 40C$200 during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50C$200 during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and overC$200 during a 1-year period; 

24. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1830 (October 1999), LR 28:480 (March 2002), LR 29:343 
(March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits–PPO 
§701.  Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. - B.  … 
C. Well Care 

1. - 2. … 
3. Well Adult (No deductibleClimited to a maximum 

benefit of $200) 
 
 

Age 16-39 - $200 during a 3-year period 
Age 40-49 - during a 2-year period 
Age 50 and over -$200 during a 1-year period 

 
D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1843 (October 1999), LR 26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:719, 
720, 722, 723 (May 2001), LR 27:1887 (November 2001), LR 
29:343 (March 2003). 

A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0303#050 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

CAPCOCDefinitions (LAC 10:XV.303) 

In accordance with Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Office of the Governor, Office of 
Financial Institutions hereby amends §303, Definitions 
Provided by Rule of the Capital Companies Tax Credit 
Program. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 

Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§303. Definitions Provided by Rule 

* * * 
Capitalize a BusinessCfor purposes of LAC 10:XV.303. 

Investment.(b).(iv)Cthe investment of cash in a business in 
exchange for common stock, or an equivalent ownership 
interest. Additionally, this shall include subordinated debt 
only if 1) it is used to refinance senior debt thereby allowing 
a qualified Louisiana business to expand; or 2) the CAPCO 
agrees to subordinate such debt to any current or future 
senior indebtedness owed by the business, provided that, in 
the case of future indebtedness, the senior indebtedness is 
incurred by the portfolio company within three months of 
the date  the CAPCO made the subordinated debt 
investment. 

* * * 
InvestmentC 

a. - b.iv. … 
v. to increase or preserve working capital and/or 

cash flows for Louisiana operations of the business. 
However, except as allowed in Clause iv of this Section, this 
does not include those investments whereby the proceeds of 
the investment will be utilized to refinance existing debt of 
the business; 

vi. - ix. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1921-2933. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, Finance Division,
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LR 10:872 (November 1984), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Finance Division, LR 15:1050 (December 1989), LR 18:251 
(March 1992), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 20:154 
(February 1994), LR 23:1128 (September 1997), LR 25:1216 (July 
1999), amended by the Office of the Governor, Office of Financial 
Institutions, LR 29:343 (March 2003). 

 
John D. Travis  
Commissioner 

0303#036 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 

Eligible Healthcare Providers, Practice Groups and 
Qualification and Enrollment in the Fund 
(LAC 37:III.109, 111, 303, 507, 509, 511,  

515, 517, 519, 701, 705, 711, 715, 901, 1101, 
1401, 1403, 1405, 1501, 1503, 1505, and 1507) 

The Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, under 
authority of the Louisiana Medical Malpractice Act, R.S. 
40:1299.41 et seq., and in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
advertises its intent to amend LAC 37:III as follows, to 
provide additional definitions of eligible healthcare 
providers, practice groups, and the information required to 
be furnished to the Oversight Board for qualification and 
enrollment in the Fund, clarifies the procedure for 
withdrawal of a security furnished as proof of financial 
responsibility, clarifies the annual renewal process for 
enrolled healthcare providers, clarifies the surcharge risk 
rating for hospitals, clarifies the methods of evidencing 
financial responsibility to be consistent with current 
practices, sets forth the requirements of a malpractice 
complaint, clarifies the requirement to select an attorney-
chairman prior to dismissal of a malpractice complaint, and 
clarifies the authority of the executive director. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part III.  Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§109. General Definitions 

A. - A.3. … 
* * * 

 i. is currently actively involved in medical 
practice and/or providing medical services in Louisiana; and 
 ii. has paid the appropriate surcharge for such 
practice to the fund for their current policy year.  

Qualified ProviderCany provider who has met the 
statutory requirements for malpractice coverage with the 
Louisiana Patient's Compensation Fund. Qualified providers 
may be currently either active or inactive in the practice of 
medicine in Louisiana, depending on the dates for which 
they are qualified. So long as the financial responsibility 
requirements for continued qualification are met, a provider 
need not be currently enrolled in the PCF. 

* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:168 (February 1992), amended LR 23:68 (January 1997), LR 
29:344 (March 2003). 
§111. Interpretive Definitions 

A. As used in these Rules and in the act, the following 
terms are interpreted and deemed to have the meanings 
specified. 

Certified Nurse AssistantCa certified nurse aide 
certified by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, pursuant to R.S. 37:2504, as amended. 

* * * 
Nursing HomeCa private home, institution, building, 

residence or other place, licensed or provisionally licensed 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, pursuant to R.S. 
40:2009.2, as amended. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299.44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:168 (February 1992), amended LR 29:344 (March 2003). 
Chapter 3. Organization, Functions, and Delegations 

of Authority 
§303. Executive Director of the Patient's 

Compensation Fund Oversight Board 
A. - B.7. … 

8. coordination of the defense and disposition of 
claims against the fund;  

9. payment of judgments, settlements, arbitration 
awards, and medical expenses;  

B.10. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299.44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:169 (February 1992), amended LR 29:344 (March 2003). 
Chapter 5. Enrollment with the Fund 
§507. Financial Responsibility:  Self-Insurance 

A. … 
B. For purposes of §507, upon approval by the board of 

an application filed by the group, any group of health care 
providers organized to and actually practicing together or 
otherwise related by ownership, whether as a corporation, 
partnership, limited liability partnership or limited liability 
company, shall be deemed a single health care provider and 
shall not be required to post more than one deposit. Proof of 
such status may include a notarized copy of the articles of 
incorporation, partnership agreement, articles of 
organization, joint or consolidated entity tax returns, or other 
documents demonstrating the ownership relation among or 
between the members of the group, or other evidence which 
indicates that the members of the group actually practice 
together for the purpose of health care delivery.  

1. This proof of group status shall be submitted to the 
board: 

a. with the group's original application;  
b. within 30 days of any change in the group's 

status, organization, or membership; and  
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c. within 10 calendar days of receipt of a written 
demand therefor from the board.  

2. It shall be insufficient for qualification under this 
Rule if a group is organized solely or primarily for the 
purpose of qualifying for enrollment with the fund. 

C.1. - 2. … 
3. In addition to depositing the money or original 

instrument evidencing the approved security with the board, 
a self-insured health care provider shall be required to 
execute a Pledge Agreement prescribed and supplied by the 
executive director and to provide evidence that written 
notice, stating that the approved security will be pledged to 
the board pursuant to the terms of the Pledge Agreement, has 
been given to the issuing body. 

D. - F.1. … 
a. the self-insured health care provider shall, within 

90 days of notice of a claim and no less than every 90 days 
thereafter, submit a proposed reserve amount to the 
executive director, along with appropriate supporting 
documentation. Unless rejected by the executive director 
within 30 days of receipt, the reserve amount submitted shall 
be deemed approved. If a reserve amount is rejected timely, 
the self-insured health care provider may, within 15 days, 
submit a new reserve amount or appeal the rejection of the 
executive director. If appealed timely, the matter shall be 
placed on the agenda of the next meeting of the board, at 
which time the board may accept the proposed reserve, 
establish a new amount, or defer action for further 
information. The decision of the board shall be final;  

1.b. - 2. … 
G. Repealed. 
H. … 
I.1. A self-insured health care provider who has evidenced 

financial responsibility pursuant to §507 may withdraw the 
deposit prescribed by §507 upon authorization of the 
executive director. The security furnished as proof of 
financial responsibility, or a substitution which has been 
approved by the board, shall remain on deposit and pledged 
to the board during the term of the health care provider's 
enrollment as a self-insured health care provider with the 
fund and for the longer of a three-year period following 
termination of such enrollment or as long as any medical 
malpractice claim is  pending, whether with the board or in a 
court of competent jurisdiction. After this time period, 
authorization may be given when the health care provider 
files with the executive director, not less than 30 days prior 
to the date such withdrawal is to be effected, a certificate, 
signed and verified under oath by the health care provider, 
certifying: 

a. the date the health care provider terminated 
enrollment with the fund as a self-insured health care 
provider; 

b. that there are no medical malpractice claims  
pending with the board or in a court of competent 
jurisdiction; 

c. that there are no unpaid final judgments or 
settlements against or made by the health care provider in 
connection with or arising out of a malpractice claim; and  

d. that there are no unasserted medical malpractice 
claims which are probable of assertion against the health 
care provider. 

2. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:171 (February 1992), amended LR 18:737 (July 1992), LR 
23:68 (January 1997), LR 29:344 (March 2003). 
§509. Financial Responsibility: Self-insurance Trusts 

A. - B.2. … 
3. In addition to depositing the money or original 

instrument evidencing the approved security with the board, 
a self-insured trust shall be required to execute a Pledge 
Agreement prescribed and supplied by the executive director 
and to provide evidence that written notice, stating that the 
approved security will be pledged to the board pursuant to 
the terms of the Pledge Agreement, has been given to the 
issuing body. 

C. - K. … 
L.1. A self-insurance trust which has evidenced financial 

responsibility pursuant to §509 may withdraw the deposit 
prescribed by §509 upon authorization of the executive 
director. The security furnished as proof of financial 
responsibility, or a substitution which has been approved by 
the board, shall remain on deposit and pledged to the board 
during the term of the trust's members' enrollments as self-
insured health care providers with the fund and for the 
longer of a three-year period following termination of such 
enrollment or as long as any medical malpractice claim is 
pending against the trust or any of its members, whether 
with the board or in a court of competent jurisdiction. After 
this time period, authorization may be given when the trust 
files with the executive director, not less than 30 days prior 
to the date such withdrawal is to be effected, a certificate, 
signed and verified under oath by the trustee of the trust, 
certifying: 

a. the date that the last remaining member(s) of the 
trust terminated enrollment with the fund as self-insured 
health care provider(s); 

b. that there are no medical malpractice claims 
against the trust or any of its members pending with the 
board or in a court of competent jurisdiction; 

c. that there are no unpaid final judgments or 
settlements against or made by the trust or any of its 
members in connection with or arising out of a malpractice 
claim; and 

d. that there are no unasserted medical malpractice 
claims which are probable of assertion against the trust or 
any of its members. 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299.44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:172 (February 1992), amended LR 18:737 (July 1992), LR 
23:69 (January 1997), LR 29:345 (March 2003). 
§511. Coverage:  Partnerships and Professional 

Corporations 
A. When, and during the period that, each shareholder, 

partner, member, agent, officer, or employee of a 
corporation, partnership, limited liability partnership, or 
limited liability company, who is eligible for qualification as 
a health care provider under the act, and who is providing 
health care on behalf of such corporation, partnership, or 
limited liability company, is enrolled with the fund as a 
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health care provider, having paid the applicable surcharges 
due the fund for enrollment of such individual, such 
corporation, partnership, limited liability partnership, or 
limited liability company shall, without the payment of an 
additional surcharge, be deemed concurrently qualified and 
enrolled as a health care provider with the fund. 

B. The corporation, partnership, limited liability 
partnership, or limited liability company shall furnish to the 
board concurrently with its enrollment and renewal 
applications the name(s) of each shareholder, partner, 
member, agent, officer, or employee who is eligible for 
qualification and enrollment with the fund as a health care 
provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:173 (February 1992), amended LR 29:345 (March 2003). 
§515. Certification of Enrollment 

A. … 
B. Duplicate or additional certificates of enrollment shall 

be made available by the executive director to and upon the 
request of an enrolled health care provider or his or its 
attorney, or professional liability insurance underwriter when 
such certification is required to evidence enrollment or 
qualification with the fund in connection with an actual or 
proposed malpractice claim against the health care provider.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:173 (February 1992), amended LR 23:69 (January 1997), LR 
29:346 (March 2003). 
§517. Expiration, Renewal of Enrollment 

A. Enrollment with the fund expires: 
1. as to a health care provider evidencing financial 

responsibility by certification of insurance pursuant to §505 
of these Rules, on and as of: 

a. the effective date and time of termination of the 
policy period of the health care provider's professional 
liability insurance coverage; or 

b. the last day of the applicable period for which the 
prior annual surcharge applied in the event that the annual 
surcharge for renewal coverage is not paid by the health care 
provider to the insurer on or before 30 days following the 
expiration of the enrollment period. 

2. … 
B. Enrollment with the fund must be annually renewed 

by each enrolled health care provider on or before 
termination of the enrollment period by submitting to the 
executive director an application for renewal, upon forms 
supplied by the executive director, and payment of the 
applicable surcharge in accordance with the Rules hereof 
providing for the fund's billing and collection of surcharges 
from insured and self-insured health care providers. Each 
insured health care provider shall cause the insurer to submit 
a certificate of insurance to the executive director along with 
the application for renewal. Each self-insured health care 
provider and each health care provider covered by a self-
insurance trust shall submit, along with the application for 
renewal, original documents which indicate that the health 
care provider's deposit with the board is current and/or not in 
default. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:174 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003). 
§519. Cancellation, Termination of Enrollment 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299.44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:174 (February 1992), repealed LR 29:346 (March 2003). 
Chapter 7. Surcharges 
§701. PCF Consulting Actuary 

A. - B.1. … 
2. advising the executive director with respect to the 

establishment, maintenance, and adjustment of reserves on 
individual claims against the fund and the establishment, 
maintenance, and adjustment of reserves for incurred but not 
reported claims; 

3. - 6. … 
7. generally advising and consulting with the 

executive director on all actuarial questions affecting the 
administration, operation, and defense of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:174 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003). 
§705. Risk Rating 

A. Surcharge rates collected by the fund shall be based 
on and classified according to the classes and categories of 
health care liability risks underwritten by the fund with 
respect to each class of health care practitioners and 
institutions eligible for enrollment with the fund. With 
regard to hospitals, surcharge rates collected by the fund 
shall be based on the annual average number of occupied 
beds. Risk classifications and ratings adopted by the fund 
shall be based on actuarial analysis of the claims experience 
of health care provider groups enrolled with the fund and 
equivalent data and practices of commercial insurance 
underwriters and self-insurance funds insuring such groups. 
Risk rating classifications for health care providers eligible 
for enrollment with the fund shall be based on Louisiana 
claims experience data, including the PCF's own claims 
experience, unless the PCF's actuary affirmatively 
demonstrates that, as respects any class of provider, 
reasonably obtainable, competent, and credible Louisiana 
claims experience data provides an insufficient basis for 
such classifications under generally accepted insurance 
actuarial standards, in which case regional or national claims 
experience data and statistics relative to such classes of 
health care provider may be utilized. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003). 
§711. Payment of Surcharges: Insurers 

A. Applicable surcharges for enrollment and 
qualification with the fund shall be collected on behalf of the 
fund by commercial professional health care liability 
insurance companies and approved self-insurance trust funds
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from insured health care providers electing to enroll and 
qualify with the fund. Such surcharges shall be collected by 
such insurers and funds at the same time and on the same 
basis as such insurers' and fund's collection of premiums or 
contributions from such insureds. Surcharges collected by 
such insurers and funds on behalf of the fund shall be due 
and payable and remitted to the fund by such insurers and 
funds within 45 days from the date on which such surcharges 
are collected from any insured health care provider.  

B. Annual surcharges for renewal coverage due the fund 
by insured health care providers whose surcharges are 
collected by insurers and funds for enrollment and 
qualification with the fund shall be due and payable to the 
collecting insurers and funds on or before 30 days following 
the expiration of the prior enrollment period. Remittance of 
surcharges to the fund by the insurers and funds shall be 
made in such form and accompanied by records in such 
forms or on such forms as may be prescribed by the 
executive director so as to provide for proper accounting of 
remitted surcharges and the identity and class of health care 
providers on whose behalf such surcharges are remitted. 
Such insurers and funds remitting surcharges to the fund 
shall certify to the fund, at the time of remitting such 
surcharge to the fund, the date that the surcharges were 
collected by them from the health care providers. The 
payment of surcharges by an approved self-insurance trust 
that does not collect premiums or contributions from 
insureds will be governed by §713 hereof. 

C. Failure of the commercial professional health care 
liability insurers, commercial insurance underwriters, and 
approved self-insurance trust funds to remit payment within 
45 days of collecting such annual surcharge shall subject the 
commercial professional liability insurers, commercial 
insurance underwriters, and approved self-insurance trust 
funds to a penalty of 12 percent of the annual surcharge and 
all reasonable attorney's fees. Upon the failure of the 
commercial professional health care liability insurers, 
commercial insurance underwriters and approved self-
insurance trust funds to remit as provided in §711, the board 
may institute legal proceedings to collect the surcharge, 
together with penalties, legal interest, and attorney's fees. 

D. If the instrument used to pay the surcharge is returned 
to the fund by the payor institution and/or payment hereon is 
denied for any reason, the health care provider shall be 
notified thereof by the fund. If the surcharge is not paid in 
full by certified check, cashier's check, money order, or cash 
equivalent funds received by the fund within 10 calendar 
days of the provider's receipt of said notice, then the 
provider's coverage with the fund shall be terminated as of 
the end of the previous enrollment period. 

E. It is the purpose of §711 that insurers and approved 
self-insurance trust funds remit surcharges collected from 
their insured providers to the fund timely. The timeliness of 
surcharge remittances to the fund by insurers and approved 
self-insurance trust funds shall not affect the effective date 
of fund coverage. However, the failure of insured health care 
providers to timely remit applicable surcharges to insurers 
and approved self-insurance trust funds for renewal may 
result in lapses of coverage with the fund. 

AUTHORIT Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 

18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 20:432 (April 1994), LR 
23:69 (January 1997), LR 29:346 (March 2003). 
§715. Amount of Surcharges; Form of Coverage; 

Conversions 
A. A health care provider qualified for enrollment by 

evidence of liability insurance pursuant to §505, or by 
evidence of participation in an approved self-insurance trust 
pursuant to §509, shall pay the fund surcharge amount in the 
most recently approved rate filing which is applicable to his 
provider type, years enrolled in the fund, and which most 
closely corresponds to the class and form of coverage of said 
primary liability insurance or self-insurance trust. The form 
of coverage provided by the fund shall be identical to that 
provided by the qualifying policy of insurance or self-
insurance except where the policy conflicts with applicable 
law or regulation.  

B. … 
C.1. When a health care provider who had previously 

purchased claims -made coverage from the fund elects to 
purchase occurrence coverage from or discontinue 
enrollment in the fund, he shall not have coverage afforded 
by the fund for any claims arising from acts or omissions 
occurring during the fund's claims -made coverage but 
asserted after the termination of the claims -made coverage 
unless he evidences financial responsibility for those claims 
either by purchasing an extended reporting endorsement or 
posting a deposit with the board pursuant to §507 and pays, 
on or before 30 days following the termination of the claims -
made coverage, the surcharge applicable to fund tail 
coverage for the corresponding claims -made period(s). 

2. When a health care provider who had previously 
purchased claims -made coverage from the fund elects to 
purchase self-insured coverage from the fund, he shall not 
have coverage afforded for any claims arising from acts or 
omissions occurring during the fund's claims -made coverage 
but asserted after the termination of the claims -made 
coverage, unless he evidences financial responsibility for 
those claims either by purchasing an extended reporting 
endorsement or posting a second deposit with the board 
pursuant to §507 and pays, on or before 30 days following 
the termination of the claims -made coverage, the surcharge 
applicable to fund tail coverage for the corresponding 
claims -made period(s). 

3. In special circumstances, the board may, at its 
discretion, waive the payment of an additional surcharge and 
allow tail coverage to a provider without the payment of the 
applicable surcharge. Each such case requires an individual 
written request for relief to the board, and will be decided on 
individual circumstances. The board's criteria for such 
decisions shall include, but not be limited to: 

C.3.a. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299.44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 23:69 
(January 1997), amended LR 29:347 (March 2003). 
Chapter 9. Scope of Coverage 
§901. Effective Date 

A. A health care provider who qualifies for enrollment 
with the fund by demonstrating financial responsibility 
through professional liability insurance pursuant to §505 of 
these Rules, shall be deemed to become and be enrolled with 
the fund effective as of the date on which the surcharge 
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payable by or on behalf of such health care provider is 
timely collected in accordance with §711 hereof and the 
applicable policies and procedures of the insurer for 
premium payments. If such surcharge is not timely collected, 
the effective date of enrollment with the fund shall be the 
date on which such surcharge is paid to the fund is collected 
or accepted by the insurer.  

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1299-44.D.(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 23:70 (January 1997), LR 
29:347 (March 2003). 
Chapter 11. Reporting 
§1101. Reporting of Claims, Reserves, Proposed 

Settlement 
A. - C. … 
D. Within 20 days of the receipt of a malpractice claim 

against an enrolled health care provider in the form of a 
lawsuit, the health care provider, or the health care provider's 
liability insurer, shall furnish a copy of the lawsuit to the 
PCF. The health care provider, or the health care provider's 
liability insurer, shall also furnish to the PCF within 20 days 
of receipt, a copy of all amending pleadings related to the 
lawsuit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:177 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003). 
Chapter 14. Medical Review Panels 
§1401. Procedure 

A. Except as otherwise provided by the act, all 
malpractice claims against health care providers shall be 
reviewed by a medical review panel. The composition and 
operation of a medical review panel shall be in accordance 
with R.S. 40:1299.47. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
29:348 (March 2003). 
§1403. Malpractice Complaint 

A. A "request for review of a malpractice claim" or 
"malpractice complaint" shall contain, at a minimum: 

1. a request for the formation of a medical review 
panel; 

2. name of the patient; 
3. name(s) of the claimant(s);  
4. name(s) of defendant health care providers; 
5. date(s) of alleged malpractice; 
6. brief description of alleged malpractice; and 
7. brief description of alleged injuries. 

B. The request for review of a malpractice claim shall be 
deemed filed on the date of receipt of the complaint stamped 
and certified by the board or on the date of mailing of the 
complaint if mailed to the board by certified or registered 
mail. 

C. Within 15 days of receiving a malpractice complaint, 
the board shall: 

1. confirm to the claimant that the malpractice 
complaint has been officially received and whether or not 

the named defendant(s) are qualified for the malpractice 
claim; and 

2. notify all named defendant(s) that a malpractice 
complaint requesting the formation of a medical review 
panel has been filed against them and forward a copy of the 
malpractice complaint to each named defendant at his last 
and usual place of residence or his office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
29:348 (March 2003). 
§1405. Attorney Chairman 

A. An attorney chairman of a medical review panel is to 
be chosen by the parties according to R.S. 40:1299.47.C. An 
attorney chairman must be secured within two years from 
the date the request for review of the claim was filed. If, 
after two years, an attorney chairman has not been secured, 
the board shall send notice by certified mail to the claimant 
or the claimant's attorney stating that the claim will be 
dismissed after 90 days if no attorney chairman is appointed. 
If no attorney chairman is appointed within 90 days of the 
certified notice, the board shall dismiss the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
29:348 (March 2003). 
Chapter 15. Defense of the Fund 
§1501. Claims Defense 

A. Through its executive director, the board shall be 
responsible for the administration and processing of claims 
against and legal defense of claims against the fund. The 
executive director shall be responsible, and accountable to 
the board, for coordination and management of defense of 
the fund against claims to the extent of the responsibilities 
imposed on the board by the act. Without limitation on the 
scope of such responsibility, the executive director shall be 
specifically responsible for: 

1. - 2. … 
3. retaining, subject to qualifications and standards 

prescribed by the board, and supervising the services of 
attorneys at law to defend the fund against claims; 

4. - 7. … 
8. the discharge and performance of such other duties, 

responsibilities, functions, and activities as are delegated by 
the board; 

9. all authority for the defense of the fund vested in 
the board by the Act is hereby delegated to the executive 
director. In the exercise of such authority, the executive 
director shall be accountable to, and subject to the 
superseding authority of, the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:179 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003). 
§1503. Claims Accounting 

A. All expenses incurred in the legal defense, 
disposition, payment on individual claims, judgments, or 
settlements shall be accounted for and allocated among such 
respective claims.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:179 (February 1992), amended LR 29:348 (March 2003). 
§1505. Claim Reserves 

A. Within 10 days of receipt of notice of a claim against 
or potentially involving liability of the fund, the fund shall 
establish a reserve against such claim representing the total 
amount of compensation and compensation adjustment 
expenses which the fund is anticipated to be liable for and 
incur in respect of and allocable to such claim. Reserves 
respecting individual claims against the fund shall be 
established in consultation, as appropriate, with legal 
counsel representing the fund with respect to such claim, 
with legal counsel for the enrolled health care providers 
against whom the claim is primarily asserted, and with 
claims personnel managing such claim for the commercial 
insurers of the enrolled health care providers against whom 
the claim is asserted. Reserves respecting individual claims 
against the fund shall be adjusted from time to time as 
changing circumstances or evaluations may warrant, and all 
reserves shall be reviewed not less frequently than quarterly 
for necessary and appropriate adjustments.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:180 (February 1992), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003). 
§1507. Settlement of Claims  

A. Claims against the fund may be compromised and 
settled upon the recommendation of the executive director 
and the approval of the board. The executive director shall, 
however, have authority, without the necessity of prior 
approval by the board, to compromise and settle any 
individual claim against the fund for an amount not 
exceeding $10,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D.(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:180 (February 1992), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003). 

 
Lorraine LeBlanc 
Executive Director 

0303#025 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Agency Disclosure 
(LAC 46:LXVII.3703 and 3705) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate License 
Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, 
et seq., notice is hereby given that the Real Estate 
Commission has amended LAC 46:LXVII.Chapter 37, 
§§3703 and 3705. The amendments provide for an agency 
disclosure form that may be used in lieu of the agency 
disclosure pamphlet at the discretion of the licensee. 
Language regulating the timeframe in which signatures are 
obtained on the dual agency disclosure form or the agency 

disclosure form will be amended to coincide with the 
governing statute, R.S. 9:3897.C. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXVII.  Real Estate 
Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 37. Agency Disclosure 
§3703. Agency Disclosure Informational Pamphlet 

A. Licensees shall provide the agency disclosure 
informational pamphlet or the agency disclosure form to all 
parties to a real estate transaction involving the sale or lease 
of real property. 

B. The agency disclosure informational pamphlet and the 
agency disclosure form may be obtained from the cmmission 
in a form suitable for use by licensees in reproducing them 
locally. Licensees are responsible for ensuring that the 
pamphlets and forms are the most current version prescribed 
by the commission and that reproductions of the pamphlet 
and form contain the identical language prescribed by the 
commission. 

C. Licensees will provide the agency disclosure 
informational pamphlet or the agency disclosure form to 
prospective sellers/lessors and buyers/lessees at the time of 
the first face-to-face contact with the sellers/lessors or 
buyers/lessees when performing any real estate related 
activity involving the sale or lease of real property, other 
than a ministerial act as defined in R.S. 9:3891(12). 

D. Licensees providing agency disclosure informational 
pamphlets or agency disclosure forms to prospective 
sellers/lessors and buyers/lessees shall insure that the 
recipient of the pamphlet or form signs and dates the 
pamphlet or form. The licensee providing the pamphlet or 
form shall sign as a witness to the signature of the recipient, 
and the licensee will retain the signed pamphlet or form for a 
period of five years. 

E. In any circumstance in which a seller/lessor or a 
buyer/lessee refuses to sign the receipt included in the 
agency disclosure informational pamphlet or the agency 
disclosure form, the licensee shall prepare written 
documentation to include the nature of the proposed real 
estate transaction, the time and date the pamphlet or form 
was provided to the seller/lessor or buyer/lessee, and the 
reasons given by the seller/lessor or buyer/lessee for not 
signing the pamphlet or form. This documentation will be 
retained by the licensee for a period of five years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:47 
(January 2000), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003). 
§3705. Dual Agency Disclosure 

A. The dual agency disclosure form will be used by 
licensees acting as a dual agent under R.S. 9:3897. 

B. The dual agency disclosure form shall be obtained 
from the commission in a form suitable for use by licensees 
in reproducing the form locally. Licensees are responsible 
for ensuring that the form is the most current version 
prescribed by the commission and that reproductions of the 
forms contain the identical language prescribed by the 
commission. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 350 

C. Licensees shall ensure that the dual agency disclosure 
form is signed by all clients at the time the brokerage 
agreement is entered into or at any time before the licensee 
acts as a dual agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:47 
(January 2000), amended LR 29:349 (March 2003). 

 
Julius C. Willie 
Executive Director 

0303#035 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Fees (LAC 43:XIX.703) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Office of Conservation hereby amends 
the established application fees for public hearings. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RES OURCES  

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationCGeneral Operations 
Subpart 2.  Statewide Order No. 29-R 

Chapter 7. Fees 
§703. Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2002-2003 

A. Fee Schedule 
 

Application Fees Amount 
* * *  

Application for Public Hearing $755 
* * *  

 
B. - E.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:543 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1250 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:1528 (July 2000), LR 26:2304 
(October 2000), LR 27: 1430 (August 2001), LR 27:1897 
(November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 29:350 
(March 2003). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commis sioner of Conservation  

0303#009 
 

RULE 

Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots  
for the Port of New Orleans 

Bar Pilot Regulations 
(LAC 46:LXXVI.Chapters 11-16) 

The Louisiana Legislature formed the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans for the purpose of 
establishing Rules, regulations and requirements for holding

examinations for all applicants who have registered with 
them for the posts of bar pilots; to establish standards for 
recommendation by the Board of Examiners of bar pilots for 
the Port of New Orleans to the Governor of the state of 
Louisiana for appointment as bar pilots who, pursuant to 
R.S. 34:941 et seq., have the duty to pilot sea-going vessels 
into and out of the entrances of the Mississippi River and 
into and out of the entrances of all other waterways 
connecting the Port of New Orleans with the outside 
waterways of the Gulf of Mexico; to establish procedures in 
conformity with the requirements of the Administrative 
Procedure Act for investigating and conducting hearings 
relative to incidents and/or complaints of pilot misconduct; 
to establish certain minimum standards of conduct, including 
conduct relative to neglect of duty, drunkenness, 
carelessness, habitual intemperance, substance abuse, 
incompetency, unreasonable absence from duty, and general 
bad conduct of bar pilots; to provide a uniform set of Rules 
and regulations for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going 
vessels upon the waterways under the jurisdiction of the 
Associated Branch Pilots for the Port of New Orleans; and to 
insure compliance by the Board of Examiners with the 
Public Meetings Law. These Rules and regulations are 
enacted to accomplish those purposes required by the 
Legislature and to protect the public by ensuring available, 
safe and competent pilotage of vessels on the waterways 
under the jurisdiction of this board of examiners. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXVI.  Steamship Pilots 

Subpart 3.  Bar Pilots of the Port of New Orleans 
Chapter 11. General Provisions 
§1101. Authority 

A. As mandated by R.S. 34:945.C.1, these Rules and 
regulations are issued by the Board of Examiners of bar 
pilots for the Port of New Orleans in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950, et seq. for 
the purpose of adopting Rules, regulations and requirements 
for holding examinations for all applicants who have 
registered with them for the posts of bar pilots. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:350 (March 
2003). 
§1102. Purpose 

A. The purposes of these Rules and regulations are as 
follows: 

1. to establish standards for recommendation by the 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans to the Governor of the State of Louisiana for 
appointment as bar pilots who, pursuant to R.S. 34:941 et 
seq., have the duty to pilot sea-going vessels into and out of 
the entrances of the Mississippi River and into and out of the 
entrances of all other waterways connecting the Port of New 
Orleans with the outside waterways of the Gulf of Mexico. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:350 (March 
2003). 
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§1103. Definitions 
A. The following terms as used in these Rules and 

regulations, unless the context otherwise requires or unless 
redefined by a particular part hereof, shall have the 
following meanings. 

Administrative Procedure ActCthe Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

ApplicationCthe written application supplied by the 
Board of Examiners to an applicant who desires to become a 
bar pilot for the Port of New Orleans. 

Board of Examiners or BoardCthe Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, established in R.S. 
34:942. 

Bar Pilot or PilotCa bar pilot for the Port of New 
Orleans, as designated in R.S. 34:943. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1104. Severability 

A. If any provision of these Rules and regulations is held 
to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions 
or applications which can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application, and to this end, provisions of these 
Rules and regulations are declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1105. Effective Date 

A. These Rules and regulations shall be in full force and 
effective 90 days after final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. All bar pilots and bar pilot candidates shall be 
provided with a copy of these Rules and regulations as well 
as any amendments, after the Rules and regulations are 
adopted by the Board of Examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1106. Qualifications of Pilots 

A. No person shall be recommended to the governor for 
appointment as a Bar Pilot unless the applicant:  

1. is a qualified elector of the State of Louisiana;  
2. has served at least 12 months next preceding the 

date of his application in a pilot boat at the mouth of the 
Mississippi River or other entrances into the Gulf of Mexico 
or other outside waters from the Port of New Orleans;  

3. has successfully passed the examination given by 
the board of examiners, as required by R.S. 34:948;  

4. owns or has made a binding legal agreement to 
acquired as owner or part owner of at least one decked pilot 
boat of not less than 50 tons burden, which is used and 
employed exclusively as a pilot boat, as required by R.S. 
34:930; 

5. is a high school graduate or, in lieu thereof, holds a 
third mate's license; 

6. has served at least one year at sea on a sea-going 
vessel of not less than 1600 gross tons in the deck 
department;  

7. has successfully passed a physical examination 
which in the judgment of the Board of Examiners includes 
those standards, such as vision, color perception and hearing 
tests, to perform duties as a bar pilot;  

8. is of good moral character; and  
9. shall have completed satisfactorily an 

apprenticeship program which culminates in a cubbing 
period of not less than 9 months duration handling vessels 
over the routes of the bar pilots under the supervision of not 
less than 25 licensed state bar pilots. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1107. Minimum Requirements 

A. The Board of Examiners shall review, and if found 
satisfactory, approve the apprenticeship program of the 
applicant, the minimum requirements of which shall be as 
follows: the applicant must set forth in detail the names of 
the vessels handled, dates handled, the direction of travel, 
size, draft, and type of vessel, and the name of the 
supervising bar pilot. During the period of apprenticeship the 
applicant shall handle vessels on not less than 650 occasions, 
two-thirds of which shall be at night. 

B. The board of examiners will review the number and 
times of vessels handled, the size, draft, and type of vessels 
and the conditions under which the applicant has performed 
the apprenticeship in order to determine if the applicant has 
had sufficient exposure as to enable the board of examiners 
to make a determination of the applicant's competence and 
ability to perform the duties of a bar pilot. 

C. The Board of Examiners shall prescribe the form of 
the application and required documentary proof of the 
applicant's eligibility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1108. Bond 

A. No person shall assume the position of bar pilot until 
he shall have first taken the oath prescribed by law and has 
furnished a bond in favor of the Governor in the amount of 
$2,000 conditioned on the faithful performance of his duties 
imposed upon him as a bar pilot. This bond shall be 
approved by the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New 
Orleans. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 13. Pilots 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1301. Authority 

A. As mandated by R.S. 34:945.c.1, these Rules and 
regulations are issued in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. for the purpose of 
establishing minimum standards of conduct for bar pilots 
and for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going vessels into 
and out of the entrance of the Mississippi River and into and 
out of the entrances of all other waterways connecting the
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Port of New Orleans with outside waters of the Gulf of 
Mexico, including the entrance of the New Orleans 
Tidewater Channel at the western shore of the Chandeleur 
Sound off Point Chicot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:351 (March 
2003). 
§1302. Purpose 

A. The purposes of these Rules and regulations are as 
follows: 

1. to establish certain minimum standards of conduct, 
including conduct relative to neglect of duty, drunkenness, 
carelessness, habitual intemperance, substance abuse, 
incompetency, unreasonable absence from duty, and general 
bad conduct of bar pilots; 

2. to provide a uniform set of Rules and regulations 
for the proper and safe pilotage of sea-going vessels upon 
the waterways referred to in §1101. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:352 (March 
2003). 
§1303. Definitions 

A. The follo wing terms as used in these Rules and 
regulations, unless the context otherwise requires or unless 
redefined by a particular part hereof, shall have the 
following meanings. 

Administrative Procedure ActCthe Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Bar Pilot or PilotCa bar pilot for the Port of New 
Orleans, as designated in R.S. 34:943. 

Board of Examiners or BoardCthe Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, established in R.S. 
34:942. 

Services of a Bar PilotCany advice or assistance with 
respect to pilotage by the commissioned bar pilot or by his 
authorized representative, including but not limited to advice 
concerning weather, channel conditions, or other 
navigational conditions. 

WaterwaysCthe entrance into and out of the Mississippi 
River and into and out of the entrances of all other 
waterways connecting the Port of New Orleans with the 
outside waters of the Gulf of Mexico, including the entrance 
of the New Orleans Tidewater Channel at the western shore 
of the Chandeleur sound off Point Chicot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:352 (March 
2003). 
§1304. Investigations and Enforcement 

A. All complaints reported to the board shall be 
considered for investigation. A complaint under the 
provisions of §1304.A through §1304.F is defined as:  

1. any written complaint involving a bar pilot 
commissioned for the Port of New Orleans;  

2. any reported incident involving a bar pilot 
commissioned for the Port of New Orleans while piloting a 
vessel; or  

3. any other event involving a bar pilot commissioned 
for the Port of New Orleans that, in the discretion of any 
member of the board, justifies further investigation. 

B. The board may appoint an investigating officer to 
investigate the complaint and report to the board. 

C. If the board, or its designated investigating officer, is 
of the opinion that the complaint, if true, is sufficient to 
justify a further investigation, it shall appoint an 
investigating officer, or authorize its designated investigating 
officer to conduct a full investigation of the complaint. 

D. Once authorized under §1304.C, the investigating 
officer, who may be an active or retired member of the 
Associated Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans, 
Louisiana, and who may be a member of the Board, shall 
make a full and complete investigation of the complaint. He 
shall be assisted by an attorney, named as independent 
prosecutor by the board. In the event that the Investigating 
Officer, as contemplated by either §1304.B or §1304.C, is an 
active member of the board, he shall be recused from any 
participation in the decision of the case. 

E. If the investigating officer is of the opinion that the 
conduct in question is not sufficient to justify further 
proceedings, he shall make a reasoned report to the board, 
which may accept or reject his recommendation. 

F. If the investigating officer is of the opinion that the 
conduct complained of is sufficient to justify further 
proceedings and the board has accepted his 
recommendations, or if the board has rejected his 
recommendation to dismiss the complaint, he shall give 
notice to the respondent, by registered mail, of the facts or 
conduct on which the complaint is based, and offer the 
respondent an opportunity to show compliance with the laws 
or regulations allegedly violated. If, in the opinion of the 
investigating officer, the respondent is able to demonstrate 
such compliance, then the investigating officer shall make a 
report to the board, recommending to the board that the 
complaint be dismissed. The board may accept or reject the 
recommendation of the investigating officer.  

G. If the respondent is unable to demonstrate such 
compliance, or if the board rejects the recommendation of 
the investigating officer to dismiss the complaint, the 
investigating officer shall initiate proceedings by filing a 
written administrative complaint with the board, which shall 
be signed by the investigating officer. 

H. The administrative complaint shall name the accused 
bar pilot as respondent in the proceedings. It shall also set 
forth, in separately numbered paragraphs, the following: 

1. a concise statement of material facts and matters 
alleged and to be proven by the investigating officer, 
including the facts giving rise to the board's jurisdiction over 
the respondent; 

2. the facts constituting legal cause under law for 
administrative action against the respondent; 

3. the statutory or regulatory provisions alleged to 
have been violated by respondent. 

I. The administrative complaint shall conclude with a 
request for the administrative sanction sought by the 
investigating officer, and shall state the name, address, and 
telephone number of administrative complaint counsel 
engaged by the board to present the case at the evidentiary 
hearing before the board. 
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J. The board may either accept or reject the 
administrative complaint. 

K. If it rejects the administrative complaint, the case may 
be either dismissed or referred back to the investigating 
officer for further investigation. 

L. If the board accepts the administrative complaint, the 
board shall docket the administrative complaint and schedule 
the administrative complaint for hearing before the board not 
less than 45 days nor more than 180 days thereafter; 
provided, however, that such time may be lengthened or 
shortened as the board determines may be necessary or 
appropriate to protect the public interest or upon motion of 
the investigating officer or respondent pursuant to a showing 
of proper grounds. In the event the respondent's commission 
as a bar pilot for the port of New Orleans has been 
suspended by the board pending hearing, the evidentiary 
hearing on the administrative complaint shall be noticed and 
scheduled not more than 45 days after the filing of the 
administrative complaint. 

M. A written notice of the administrative complaint and 
the time, date and place of the scheduled hearing thereon 
shall be served upon the respondent by registered, return 
receipt requested mail, as well as by regular first class mail, 
at the most current address for the respondent reflected in 
the official records of the board, or by personal delivery of 
the administrative complaint to the respondent. The notice 
shall include a statement of the legal authority and 
jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held, and shall 
be accompanied by a certified copy of the administrative 
complaint. 

N. The case shall be prosecuted by the independent 
prosecutor, also referred to administrative complaint 
counsel, who shall handle the case to its conclusion. He shall 
be entirely independent of the authority of the board in going 
forward with the matter, and may conduct such further 
investigation, and prepare and try the case in such manner as 
he may deem appropriate. 

O. Within 15 days of service of the administrative 
complaint, or such longer time as the board, on motion of the 
respondent, may permit, the respondent may answer the 
administrative complaint, admitting or denying each of the 
separate allegations of fact and law set forth therein. Any 
matters admitted by respondent shall be deemed proven and 
established for purposes of adjudication. In the event that the 
respondent does not file a response to the administrative 
complaint, all matters asserted therein shall be deemed 
denied. 

P. Any respondent may be represented in an 
adjudication proceeding before the board by an attorney at 
law duly admitted to practice in the state of Louisiana. Upon 
receipt of service of an administrative complaint pursuant to 
these Rules, or thereafter, a respondent who is represented 
by legal counsel with respect to the proceeding shall, 
personally or through such counsel, give written notice to 
the board of the name, address, and telephone number of 
such counsel. Following receipt of proper notice of such 
representation, all further notices, administrative complaints, 
subpoenas or other process related to the proceeding shall be 
served on respondent through his or her designated counsel 
of record. 

Q. All pleadings, motions or other papers permitted or 
required to be filed with the board in connection with a 

pending adjudication proceeding shall be filed by personal 
delivery at or by mail to the office of the board and shall by 
the same method of delivery be concurrently served upon 
administrative complaint counsel designated by the 
administrative complaint, if filed by or on behalf of the 
respondent, or upon respondent, through counsel of record, 
if any, if filed by administrative complaint counsel. 

1. All such pleadings, motions or other papers shall be 
submitted on plain white letter-size (8 1/2 x 11") bond, with 
margins of at least one inch on all sides, and double spaced 
except as to quotations and other matters customarily single 
spaced, shall bear the caption and docket number of the case 
as it appears on the administrative complaint, and shall 
include the certificate of the attorney or person making the 
filing that service of a copy of the same has been effected in 
the manner prescribed by Subsection A of this Section. 

2. The Board may refuse to accept for filing any 
pleading, motion or other paper not conforming to the 
requirements of this section. 

R. Motions for continuance of hearing, for dismissal of 
the proceeding and all other prehearing motions shall be 
filed not later than 30 days following service of the 
Administrative Complaint on the respondent or 15 days prior 
to the hearing, whichever is earlier. Each prehearing motion 
shall be accompanied by a memorandum which shall set 
forth a concise statement of the grounds upon which the 
relief sought is based and the legal authority therefor. A 
motion may be accompanied by an affidavit as necessary to 
establish facts alleged in support of the motion. Within 10 
days of the filing of any such motion and memorandum or 
such shorter time as the board may order, the investigating 
officer, through administrative complaint counsel, may file a 
memorandum in opposition to or otherwise setting forth the 
investigating officer's position with respect to the motion. 

S.1. A motion for continuance of hearing shall be filed 
within the delay prescribed by §1304.R of these Rules, 
provided that the board may accept the filing of a motion for 
continuance at any time prior to hearing upon a showing of 
good cause not discoverable within the time otherwise 
provided for the filing of prehearing motions. 

2. A scheduled hearing may be continued by the board 
only upon a showing by respondent or administrative 
complaint counsel that there are substantial legitimate 
grounds that the hearing should be continued, balancing the 
right of the respondent to a reasonable opportunity to 
prepare and present a defense to the complaint and the 
board's responsibility to protect the public health, welfare 
and safety. Except in extraordinary circumstances evidenced 
by verified motion or accompanying affidavit, the board will 
not ordinarily grant a motion to continue a hearing that has 
been previously continued upon motion of the same party. 

3. If an initial motion for continuance is not opposed, 
it may be granted by the presiding officer. 

T.1. Any prehearing motion, other than an unopposed 
initial motion for continuance of hearing which may be 
granted by the chairman of the board, shall be referred for 
decision to the board member designated by the board as the 
presiding officer of the board designated with respect to the 
proceeding for ruling. The presiding officer, who shall be a 
member of the board designated as presiding officer by the 
board in each matter before the board, in his discretion, may 
refer any prehearing motion to the board for disposition, and 
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any party aggrieved by the decision of a presiding officer on 
a prehearing motion may request that the motion be 
reconsidered by the entire panel. 

2. Prehearing motions shall ordinarily be Ruled upon 
by the presiding officer or the board, as the case may be, on 
the papers filed, without hearing. On the written request of 
respondent or of administrative complaint counsel, however, 
and on demonstration that there are good grounds therefor, 
the presiding officer may grant opportunity for hearing by 
oral argument, on any prehearing motion. 

U.1.  Upon request of the respondent or administrative 
complaint counsel and compliance with the requirements of 
this Section, any board member shall sign and issue 
subpoenas in the name of the board requiring the attendance 
and giving of testimony by witnesses and the production of 
books, papers, and other documentary evidence at an 
adjudication hearing. 

2. No subpoena shall be issued unless and until the 
party who wishes to subpoena the witness first deposits with 
the board a sum of money sufficient to pay all fees and 
expenses to which a witness in a civil case is entitled 
pursuant to R.S. 13:3661 and R.S. 13:3671. Witnesses 
subpoenaed to testify before the board only to an opinion 
founded on special study or experience in any branch of 
science, or to make scientific or professional examination, 
and to state the results thereof, shall receive such additional 
compensation from the party who wishes to subpoena such 
witnesses as may be fixed by the board with reference to the 
value of time employed and the degree of learning or skill 
required. 

V.1.   In any case of adjudication noticed and docketed for 
hearing, counsel for respondent and administrative 
complaint counsel may agree, or the presiding officer may 
require, that a prehearing conference be held among such 
counsel, or together with the board's independent counsel 
appointed pursuant to §1304.W hereof, for the purpose of 
simplifying the issues for hearing and promoting stipulations 
as to facts and proposed evidentiary offerings which will not 
be disputed at hearing. 

2. Following such prehearing conference the parties 
shall, and without such conference the parties may by 
agreement, agree in writing on a prehearing stipulation 
which should include: 

a. a brief statement by administrative complaint 
counsel as to what such counsel expects the evidence to be 
presented against respondent to show; 

b. a brief statement by respondent as to what the 
evidence and arguments in defense are expected to show; 

c. a list of the witnesses to be called by 
administrative complaint counsel and by respondent, 
together with a brief general statement of the nature of the 
testimony each such witness is expected to give; 

d. any stipulations which the parties may be able to 
agree upon concerning undisputed claims, facts, testimony, 
documents or issues; and 

e. an estimate of the time required for the hearing. 
W.1. Unless otherwise requested by the respondent, 

adjudication hearings, being the hearing conducted on the 
merits of the administrative complaint, shall be conducted in 
closed session. 

2. At an adjudication hearing, opportunity shall be 
afforded to administrative complaint counsel and respondent 

to present evidence on all issues of fact and argument on all 
issues of law and policy involved, to call, examine and 
cross-examine witnesses, and to offer and introduce 
documentary evidence and exhibits as may be required for 
full and true disclosure of the facts and disposition of the 
administrative complaint. 

3. Unless stipulation is made between the parties and 
approved by the board, providing for other means of 
recordation, all testimony and other proceedings of an 
adjudication shall be recorded by a certified stenographer 
who shall be retained by the board to prepare a written 
transcript of such proceedings. 

4. During evidentiary hearing, the presiding officer 
shall Rule upon all evidentiary objections and other 
procedural questions, but in his discretion may consult with 
the entire panel in executive session. At any such hearing, 
the board may be assisted by legal counsel retained by the 
board for such purpose, who is independent of 
administrative complaint counsel and who has not 
participated in the investigation or prosecution of the case. If 
the board or panel is attended by such counsel, the presiding 
officer may delegate to such counsel ruling on evidentiary 
objections and other procedural issues raised during the 
hearing. 

5. The record in a case of adjudication shall include: 
a. the administrative complaint and notice of 

hearing, respondent's response to the complaint, if any, 
subpoenas issued in connection with discovery, and all 
pleadings, motions, and intermediate rulings; 

b. evidence received or considered at the hearing; 
c. a statement of matters officially noticed except 

matter so obvious that statement of them would serve no 
useful purpose; 

d. offers of proof, objections, and rulings thereon; 
e. proposed findings and exceptions, if any; 
f. the decision, opinion, report or other disposition 

of the case made by the board. 
6. Findings of fact shall be based exclusively on the 

evidence and on matters officially noticed. 
X.1.  In an adjudication hearing, the board may give 

probative effect to evidence which possesses probative value 
commonly accepted by reasonably prudent men in the 
conduct of their affairs. Effect shall be given to the Rules of 
privilege recognized by law. The board or panel may exclude 
incompetent, irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitious 
evidence. Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and 
shall be noted in the record. Subject to these requirements, 
when a hearing will be expedited and the interests of the 
parties will not be prejudiced substantially, any part of the 
evidence may be received in written form. 

2. All evidence, including records and documents in 
the possession of the board which administrative complaint 
counsel desires the board to consider, shall be offered and 
made a part of the record, and all such documentary 
evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts, 
or by incorporation by reference, the materials so 
incorporated shall be available for examination by the 
respondent before being received in evidence. 

3. Notice may be taken of judicially cognizable facts 
and generally recognized technical or scientific facts within 
the board's knowledge. Parties shall be notified either before 
or during the hearing of the material noticed or sought by a 
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party to be noticed, and they shall be afforded an opportunity 
to contest the material so noticed. The board's experience, 
technical competence and knowledge may be utilized in the 
evaluation of the evidence. 

4. Any member of the board serving as presiding 
officer in an adjudication hearing shall have the power to 
and shall administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses 
appearing to give testimony, shall regulate the course of the 
hearing, set the time and place of continued hearings, fix the 
time for the filing of briefs and other documents, if they are 
required or requested, and may direct the parties to appear 
and confer to consider simplification of the issues. 

5. Except as otherwise governed by the provision of 
these Rules, adjudication hearings before the board shall be 
governed by the Louisiana Code of Evidence, insofar as the 
same may be applied. 

Y. The board may make informal disposition, by default, 
consent order, agreement, settlement or otherwise of any 
adjudication pending before it. A consent order shall be 
considered by the board only upon the recommendation of 
the investigating officer. 

Z.1.   The final decis ion of the board in an adjudication 
proceeding shall, if adverse to the respondent, and otherwise 
may be, in writing, shall include findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, and shall be signed by the presiding 
officer of the hearing panel on behalf and in the name of the 
board. 

2. Upon issuance of a final decision, a certified copy 
thereof shall promptly be served upon respondent's counsel 
of record, or upon respondent personally in the absence of 
counsel, in the same manner of service prescribed with 
respect to service of administrative complaints. 

AA.1. A decision by the board in a case of adjudication 
shall be subject to rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration 
by the board pursuant to written motion filed with the board 
within ten days from service of the decision on respondent 
or on its own motion. A motion for rehearing, reopening, or 
reconsideration shall be made and served in the form and 
manner prescribed by §1304.Q and shall set forth the 
grounds upon which such motion is based, as provided by 
Subsection B of this Section. 

2. The board may grant rehearing, reopening, or 
reconsideration it if is shown that: 

a. the decision is clearly contrary to the law and the 
evidence; 

b. the respondent has discovered since the hearing 
evidence important to the issues which he or she could not 
have with due diligence obtained before or during the 
hearing; 

c. other issues not previously considered ought to 
be examined in order to properly dispose of the matter; or 

d. there exists other good grounds for further 
consideration of the issues and the evidence in the public 
interest. 

BB.  Pursuant to R.S. 34:945(C)(3), the board of 
Examiners shall have the authority to impose a fine of not 
more than $500 on any bar pilot, to reprimand or remove 
from a vessel any bar pilot, or to recommend to the 
Governor that the commission of any bar pilot be suspended 
or revoked, if after a hearing conducted in accordance with 
these Rules and regulations and the administrative procedure 

act a bar pilot is found in violation of any Rule or regulation 
adopted by the board of examiners.  

CC.  The authority established in these Rules is in addition 
to and in no way limits the authority of the board to seek to 
remove or to remove a pilot from a vessel pursuant to the 
provisions of R.S. 34: 947 and R.S. 49:961(C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:352 (March 
2003). 
§1305. Severability 

A. If any provision of these Rules and regulations is held 
to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions 
or applications which can be given effect without the invalid 
provision or application, and to this end, provisions of these 
Rules and regulations are declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:355 (March 
2003). 
§1306. Effective Date 

A. These Rules and regulations shall be in full force and 
effective 90 days after final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. All bar pilots and bar pilot candidates shall be 
provided with a copy of these Rules and regulations, as well 
as any amendments, after the Rules and regulations are 
adopted by the board of examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:355 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 14. Standards of Conduct: Proper and Safe 

Pilotage 
§1401. Adoption of Inland Navigational Rules 

A. For those waters on which the Inland Rules apply 
within the jurisdiction of the bar pilots, the board of 
Examiners hereby adopts, by reference and in its entirety, the 
Inland Navigational Rules at 33 U.S.C. Section 2001, et seq. 
The board of examiners also adopts the navigation safety 
standards set forth in Title 33 CFR part 164 (p). All bar 
pilots and bar pilot applicants shall be subject to these Inland 
Navigational Rules and safety standards as adopted herein 
by reference. 

 
Title 33 CFR Part 164 (P) 

(p) The person directing the movement of the vessel sets 
the vessel=s speed with consideration for: 

(1) the prevailing visibility and weather conditions; 
(2) the proximity of the vessel to fixed shore and 

marine structures; 
(3) the tendency of the vessel underway to squat and 

suffer impairment of maneuverability when there is small 
underkeel clearance; 

(4) the comparative proportions of the vessel and the 
channel; 

(5) the density of marine traffic; 
(6) the damage that might be caused by the vessel=s 

wake; 
(7) the strength and direction of the current; and 
(8) any local vessel speed limit. 

 

NOTE: These Rules CFR 110.195 and 161.402 have not been 
adopted but should be reviewed by all pilots and applicants.  
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Title 33 CFR 110.195 
(a) The Anchorage Grounds. Unless otherwise 

specified, all anchorage widths are measured from the average 
low water plane (ALWP). 

 (1)  Pilottown Anchorage. An area 5.2 miles in length 
along the right descending bank of the river from mile 1.5 to 
mile 6.7 above Head of Passes, extending in width to 1600 
feet from the left descending bank of the river.  

 
Title 33 CFR 161.402 

(c) Navigation of South and Southwest Passes. 
 (1) No vessel, except small craft and towboats and tugs 

without tows, shall enter either South Pass or Southwest Pass 
from the Gulf until after any descending vessel which has 
approached within two and one-half (2 1/2) miles of the outer 
end of the jettles and visible to the ascending vessel shall have 
passed to sea. 

 (2)  No vessel having a speed of less than 10 mph shall 
enter South Pass from the Gulf when the state of the 
Mississippi River exceeds 15 feet on the Carrollton Gage at 
New Orleans. This paragraph does not apply when Southwest 
Pass is closed to navigation. 

 (3) No vessel, except small craft and towboat s and tugs 
without tows, ascending South Pass shall pass Franks Crossing 
Light until after a descending vessel shall have passed Depot 
Point Light. 

 (4) No vessel, except small craft and towboats and tugs 
without tows, shall enter the channel at the head of South Pass 
until after an ascending vessel which has reached Franks 
Crossing Light shall have passed through into the river.  

 (5)  When navigating South Pass during periods of 
darkness no tow shall consist of more than one towed vessel 
other than small craft, and during daylight hours, no tow shall 
consist of more than two towed vessels other than small craft. 
Tows may be in any formation, When towing on a hawser, the 
hawser shall be as short as practicable to provide full control 
at all times.  

 (6) When towing in Southwest Pass during periods of 
darkness no tow shall consist of more than two towed vessels 
other than small craft, and during daylight hours, no tow shall 
consist of more than three towed vessels other than small craft. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:355 (March 
2003). 
§1402. Ships Required to Take Pilots 

A. All ships and vessels inward or outward bound 
throughout the entrances of the Mississippi River or other 
inland waterway connecting the Port of New Orleans with 
the Gulf of Mexico, or other outside waters, except those of 
100 tons or less lawfully engaged in the coasting trade of the 
United States, shall take a bar pilot when one is offered; and 
any ship or vessel refusing or failing to take a pilot shall be 
liable to the pilot thus offering for pilotage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1403. Pilots' Duty of Remain on Board Ship until 

Crossing Bar 
A. When boarding an outward bound ship or vessel at 

the boarding stations bar pilots shall remain on board the 
ship until she crosses the bar, unless permission is given by 
the master for the pilot to absent himself from the ship or 
vessel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1404. Acting as Pilot without License; Penalty 

A. No person who is not commissioned a bar pilot shall 
board any ship or vessel required to take a bar pilot, for the 
purpose of piloting, or to pilot or attempt to pilot the same; 
and no person or pilot shall board any such ship or vessel for 
the purpose of piloting, except from the pilot boats on the 
bar pilot stations. Whoever violates the provisions of this 
Section shall be fined not less than $1,500 nor more than 
$5,000, or may be imprisoned for not more than six months, 
or both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1405. Pilot's Duty to Exhibit License 

A. Whoever offers to pilot a ship or other vessel shall, if 
required, exhibit to the commander thereof this identification 
card as a bar pilot, attested to by the chairman of the board 
of examiners; and if he refuses or neglects to do so, he shall 
not be entitled to any remuneration for any service he may 
render as pilot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1406. Employing Pilot without Licenses; Liability of 

Vessel, Master or Owner 
A. When a vessel, inward or outward bound to or from 

the Port of New Orleans employs as a pilot a person who is 
not a state commissioned bar pilot, when a bar pilot offers 
his services, the vessel, her captain and owners, shall be 
liable for a civil penalty of and shall forfeit to the state of 
Louisiana the sum of $15,000 with privilege on the vessel, to 
be recovered before any court of competent jurisdiction. An 
action for forfeiture under this Section may be brought by 
the attorney general of Louisiana or by the Associated 
Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans. If the Associated 
Branch Pilots of the Port of New Orleans obtains a judgment 
hereunder, the court shall include in its judgment a 
reasonable attorney's fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1407. Employing Pilot without a State Commission; 

Penalties 
A. No master, owner, or agent of a vessel required under 

R.S. 34:953 to take a state commissioned bar pilot shall, 
when a state commissioned bar pilot offers his services, 
employ as a pilot a person who is not a state commissioned 
bar pilot. 

B. Whoever violated this Section shall be subject to a 
fine of not less than $1,500 nor more than $5,000, or 
imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:356 (March 
2003). 
§1408. Offering of Services 

A. As used in this Subpart, reference to the offering of a 
bar pilot or the offering of services by a bar pilot shall mean 
any offering of any advice or assistance with respect to 
pilotage by the commissioned bar pilot or by his authorized 
representative, including but not limited to advice 
concerning weather, channel conditions, and other 
navigational conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1409. Prohibition of Interest of Members of Board of 

Commissioners of Port of New Orleans, in Pilot 
Boat or Pilotage 

A. The members of the Board of Commissioners of the 
Port of New Orleans shall not be interested, directly or 
indirectly, in any bar pilot boat or pilotage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1410. Report by Pilot 

A. In any case where a vessel being piloted by a bar pilot 
shall go aground, or shall collide with any object, or shall 
meet with any casualty, which causes injury to persons or 
damage to property, the pilot shall, as soon as possible report 
such incident to the board. 

B. The board, with or without complaint made against 
said pilot, shall investigate the incident. 

C. The pilot shall make a complete report to the board 
within 10 days after the incident. This report may either be 
an oral or a written report as the board deems necessary. 

D. These Rules shall apply to any bar pilot engaged in 
piloting within the operating territory as defined by R.S. 
34:941 et seq., whether the vessel be subject to compulsory 
pilotage or elective pilotage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1411. Pilots Duty to Report 

A. Pilots, when notified, shall report in person to the 
board at the time and place so designated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1412. Pilots Summoned to Testify 

A. Any bar pilot summoned to testify before the board 
shall appear in accordance with such summons and shall 
make answer under oath to any question put to him, touching 
any matter connected with the pilot's service or of the pilot 
grounds over which he is commissioned to pilot. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 15. Drug and Alcohol Policy 
§1501. Application 

A. The board of examiners hereby adopts the following 
Rules and regulations relating to a drug and alcohol abuse 
policy applicable to all state licensed bar pilots pursuant to 
the provisions of R.S. 34:941 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1502. Statement of Findings and Purposes 

A. The Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of 
New Orleans, Louisiana, (hereinafter "board") has always 
had a strong commitment to the pilot members of the 
Associated Branch Pilots for the Port of New Orleans to 
provide a safe work place and to establish programs 
promoting high standards of bar pilot heath. Consistent with 
the spirit and intent of this commitment, the board has 
established this policy regarding drug and alcohol abuse. Its 
goal will continue to be one of establishing and maintaining 
a work environment that is free from the effects of alcohol 
and drug abuse. 

B. While the board has no intention of intruding into the 
private lives of bar pilots, the board does expect bar pilots to 
report for work in a condition to perform their duties. The 
board recognizes that off-the-job, as well as on-the-job, 
involvement with alcohol and drugs can have an impact on 
the work place and on a bar pilot's ability to accomplish our 
goal of an alcohol and drug-free work environment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port  of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1503. Bar Pilots' Assistance Program 

A. Establishment. The board has designed a Bar Pilot=s 
Assistance Program (BPAP) to provide help for any bar pilot 
whose personal alcohol or drug abuse problems may 
seriously affect his or her ability to function on the job, at 
home and in society. 

B. Eligibility. The BPAP is available to all bar pilots and 
their spouses because an alcohol or drug abuse problem of a 
spouse may also affect a bar pilot=s work and general well-
being. 

C. Procedure 
1. At times, people find the solution to their own 

problems. When this cannot be accomplished, a BPAP staff 
person will discuss the bar pilot=s problem with him and put 
him in touch with appropriate professional sources. 

2. The bar pilot or spouse will then be advised of 
available alternatives for treatment, counseling or help, and 
assisted in arranging an appointment. When an eligible 
person requests assistance, that person decides whether or 
not he or she wants to pursue the recommendation. 

3. The BPAP will either provide assistance by 
telephone or will arrange for a confidential consultation in 
their private offices. 
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D. Costs. If the counseled person needs to be referred to 
resources outside the BPAP, then he or she is responsible for 
all fees. 

E. Confidentiality. A bar pilot=s right to confidentiality 
and privacy in the BPAP is recognized. All information 
regarding referral, evaluation, and treatment will be 
maintained in a confidential manner and no BPAP matters 
will be entered in a bar pilot=s personal file except as is 
mandated by law. A request for evaluation, diagnosis, 
information, or treatment will not affect this board =s actions 
or recommendations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:357 (March 
2003). 
§1504. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter: 
Alcoholic BeverageCany fluid, or solid capable of being 

converted into fluid, suitable for human consumption, which 
contains ethanol. 

DrugCall controlled dangerous substances as defined in 
R.S. 40:961.7. Some of the drugs which are illegal under 
Federal, State, or local laws include, among others, 
marijuana, heroin, hashish, cocaine, hallucinogens, and 
depressants and stimulants not prescribed for current 
personal treatment by an accredited physician. 

Prescription MedicationCany medication distributed by 
the authorization of a licensed physician as defined in R.S. 
40:961.30. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:358 (March 
2003). 
§1505. Prohibitions and Requirements of the Policy 

A. A bar pilot who is under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, or who possesses or uses alcohol or drugs on the job, 
has the potential for interfering with his own safety as well 
as that of the ship he is piloting and other vessels in the area, 
property, and personnel. Consistent with existing board 
practices, such conditions shall be property cause for 
disciplinary action up to and including loss of state license 
as a bar pilot. 

B.1.  Off-the-job drug or alcohol abuse use that could 
adversely affect a bar pilot's job performance or could 
jeopardize the safety of others shall be proper cause for 
administrative or disciplinary action up to and including 
recommendation for revocation of a bar pilot's license. 

2. Bar pilots who are arrested for off-the-job drug or 
alcohol activity may be considered to be in violation of this 
policy. In deciding what action to take, the board will take 
into consideration the nature of the charges, the bar pilot's 
overall job performance as a pilot, and other factors relative 
to the impact of the bar pilot's arrest upon the conduct of bar 
pilotage and the safety threat posed to the public by the 
specific activity. 

C.1.    A pilot shall be free of use of any drug as defined in 
§1504.A.Drug, but excluding prescription medication as 
defined in §1504.A.Prescription Medication, so long as such 
use of prescription medication does not impair the 
competence of the pilot to discharge his duties. 

2. Bar pilots undergoing prescribed medical treatment 
with a controlled substance should report this treatment to 
the president of the board and to the associated branch pilots 
doctor. The use of controlled substances as part of a 
prescribed medical treatment program is naturally not 
grounds for disciplinary action, although it is important for 
the board to know such use is occurring. 

D. A bar pilot who voluntarily requests assistance in 
dealing with a personal drug or alcohol abuse problem may 
participate in the BPAP without the board taking action to 
fine or recommend action against a bar pilot, provided he 
stops any and all involvement with alcohol or drugs. 
Volunteering to participate in the BPAP will not prevent 
disciplinary action for a violation of this policy which has 
already occurred. 

E.1.   Narcotics or any other controlled dangerous 
substance made illegal by the laws of the United States or 
the state of Louisiana shall not be brought aboard or caused 
to be brought aboard any vessel no matter by whom owned, 
or property owned or leased by the associated branch pilots. 

2. Persons, or property, coming aboard any such 
vessel or property will be subject to inspection. 

3. The board will cooperate fully with appropriate law 
enforcement agencies by reporting information with respect 
to the violation of laws regarding illegal substances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:358 (March 
2003). 
§1506. Drug Testing 

A. Drug Investigated. All bar pilots shall be subject to 
testing for the presence of marijuana, opiates, cocaine, 
amphetamines, and phencyclidine. 

B. Types of Testing 
1. All bar pilots shall submit to reasonable scientific 

testing for drugs when directed by the board. All procedures 
and activities conducted in connection with such testing 
shall comply with R.S. 49:1001-1015, as those provisions 
may be amended from time to time. 

2. A bar pilot shall be required to submit a urine 
specimen to be tested for the presence of drugs under the 
following circumstances: 

a. prior to recommendation for appointment, as a 
part of the physical exam required in §1106.A.7 of these 
Rules and regulations; 

b. after recommendation, whenever the pilot is 
required by the board to undergo a physical examination; 

c. upon written complaint signed by the 
complainant in accordance with Chapter 16 of the Board of 
Review of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans; 

d. when the pilot is reasonably suspected of using 
drugs in violation of this policy; 

e. at random at the discretion of the board; and 
f. when the pilot is determined to be directly 

involved in a marine casualty or accident during the course 
of his activities as a pilot that results in: 
 i. one or more deaths; 
 ii. injury to any person which requires 
professional medical treatment beyond first aid; 
 iii. damage to property in excess of $100,000; or 
 iv. actual or constructive loss of any vessel. 
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C. The board may designate a testing agency to perform 
any scientific test(s) necessary to detect the presence of 
drugs or their metabolites in a pilot's system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:358 (March 
2003). 
§1507. Alcohol Testing 

A. The board of examiners may require a pilot to submit 
to a blood alcohol test under the following circumstances: 

1. upon written complaint signed by the complainant 
in accordance with Chapter 16 of the Rules and regulations 
of the Board of Review of Bar Pilots of the Port of New 
Orleans; 

2. when there exists reasonable suspicion that a pilot 
is performing his duties while under the influence of alcohol; 
or 

3. when the pilot is determined to be directly involved 
in a marine casualty or accident of the type described in 
Section 806(B)(2)(d). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 
§1508. Violations of the Policy 

A. Any pilot found to be in violation of this policy may 
be reprimanded, fined, evaluated, and treated for drug use 
and have his commission suspended or revoked as provided 
by R.S. 34:945 and 962. 

B. Any bar pilot reasonably suspected of bringing on 
board any vessel, no matter by whom owned, or property 
owned or leased by the association, or causing to bring on 
board a vessel or property owned or leased by the 
association, any narcotic or any other controlled dangerous 
substance made illegal by the laws of the United States of 
the State of Louisiana will be subject to disciplinary action 
either by the board or, upon recommendation of the board, 
by the governor of Louisiana. 

C. A pilot shall be suspended from performing the duties 
of a pilot pending a hearing pursuant to R.S. 34:945 and 962 
if: 

1. he tests positive for any drug listed in §1506.A; 
2. he uses any drug in violation of §1505.C; 
3. he refuses to submit to reasonable scientific testing 

for drugs, fails to cooperate fully with the testing procedures, 
or in any way tries to alter the test results; 

4. tests positive for alcohol; or 
5. refuses to submit to a blood alcohol test, fails to 

cooperate fully with the testing procedure, or in any way 
tries to alter the test results. 

D. Any pilot who is required to undergo evaluation or 
treatment for alcoholism or drug abuse shall do so at his own 
personal expense and responsibility; the physician, as will as 
the evaluation and treatment facility, must be approved by 
the board. 

E. Any pilot who believes he would be in violation of 
these Rules if he were to perform his duties as a bar pilot is 
obligated to remove himself from duty. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 
§1509. Test Results 

A. All drug test results shall be reviewed by a medical 
review officer in accordance with R.S. 49:1007. 

B. Any pilot, confirmed positive, upon his written 
request, shall have the right of access, within seven working 
days of actual notice to him of his test results, to records 
relating to his drug tests and any records relating to the 
results of any relevant certification, review, or 
suspension/revocation-of-certification proceedings. 

C. The results of the drug testing conducted pursuant to 
this policy and all information, interviews, reports, 
statements and memoranda relating to the drug testing shall, 
in accordance with R.S. 49:1012, be confidential and 
disclosed only to the board of examiners and the pilot tested, 
except that: 

1. the board of examiners may report the results to the 
governor; and 

2. in the event that the board of examiners determines 
that a hearing is required pursuant to R.S. 34:991 or 1001, 
there shall be no requirement of confidentiality in 
connection with such hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 
Chapter 16. Administrative Policy 
§1601. Application 

A. The purpose of this section is to ensure compliance by 
the Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the Port of New 
Orleans with the provisions of the Louisiana Public Meeting 
Law and the records maintenance requirements of the 
provisions of R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 
§1602. Meetings of Examiners 

A. All meetings and notices thereof of the board of 
examiners shall be conducted in accordance with the Open 
Meetings Law (R.S. 42.4 et seq.). The board shall meet at 
least once each quarter and meetings shall be called in 
accordance with R.S. 42:7. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 
§1603. Record Keeping 

A. The board of examiners shall maintain records and 
conduct its hearings in accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:945.C.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Examiners 
of Bar Pilots for the Port of New Orleans, LR 29:359 (March 
2003). 

 
Chris Keaton 
Undersecretary 

0303#019 
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RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of Corrections Services 

Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring  
of CallsCAdult and Juvenile  

(LAC 22:I.314) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B), the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, hereby repeals in its entirety, LAC 
22:I.314, Adult Offender Telephone Use, and adopts LAC 
22:I.314, Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of 
CallsCAdult and Juvenile. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult and Juvenile Services 
Subchapter A. General 
§314. Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of 

CallsCAdult and Juvenile 
A. Purpose. The purpose of this regulation is to establish 

the secretary's policy regarding the use of telephones by 
inmates and the monitoring of inmate telephone calls at all 
adult and juvenile institutions. 

B. To Whom This Regulation Applies. This regulation 
applies to deputy secretary, undersecretary, assistant 
secretaries and all wardens. It is the responsibility of each 
warden to implement this regulation and convey its contents 
to the inmate population, employees, and the public. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary's policy that uniform 
telephone proceduresCincluding the ability to monitor 
and/or record inmate telephone calls to preserve the security 
and orderly management of the institution and to protect the 
public safetyCbe established and adhered to at all 
institutions. Each institution will offer inmates (including the 
hearing impaired) reasonable access to telephone 
communication without overtaxing the institution's ability to 
properly maintain security and to avoid abuse of this 
privilege on the part of any inmate.  

D. Definition. Inmate refers to anyone committed to the 
custody of the department whether as an adult or juvenile in 
this context. 

E. Procedures 
1. General 

a. Each inmate will be assigned a personal 
identification number (PIN) which must be used when 
placing outgoing telephone calls. The PIN will be the 
inmate's DOC number or JIRMS number. 

b. At the juvenile institutions, one unique PIN, not 
the inmate's JIRMS number, will be utilized for calling the 
PZT Hotline only. 

c. Each inmate will provide his assigned institution 
a master list of up to 20 frequently called telephone numbers 
inclusive of all family, personal, and legal calls. Each 
inmate's outgoing telephone calls will be limited to those 
telephone numbers he has placed on his master list. Changes 
may be made to the master list at the discretion of the 
warden, but no less than once each quarter. These changes 
may be input by the contractor or by appropriately trained 
institutional staff.  

 i. Changes to the master list for parents of 
juvenile offenders and attorneys representing a juvenile 
offender are to be expedited. All attempts should be made to 
institute such changes within six working days. For parents, 
the six days shall begin from written notification by the 
offender to the appropriate institutional staff. For an 
attorney, the time period shall begin upon receipt of the 
offender's written request to the appropriate institutional 
staff, if the offender is 18 years or older. For offenders under 
the age of 18, the time period shall begin upon receipt of 
written notice from the parent confirming the attorney as the 
legal representative of their child. 

d. At juvenile institutions, regardless of custody 
status, offenders will be provided an opportunity to make 
telephone calls home at state expense when the offender’s 
case worker determines that the call promotes the goal of the 
offender's intervention plan.  
 i. Offenders will also be given meaningful access 
to telephones for privileged communications with their 
attorneys. 

e. For new inmates, PIN and master list numbers 
will be input into the telephone system upon intake at the 
Reception and Diagnostic Centers. 

f. Upon the request of a telephone subscriber, the 
institution may block a telephone number and prevent the 
subscriber from receiving calls from an inmate housed in the 
facility. To accomplish a block of a particular number for all 
state facilities, the institution should contact the contractor to 
request that a universal block be put into place.  

2. Dormitory HousingCMinimum or Medium 
Custody 

a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Collect 
telephone access should be available on a relatively non-
restricted basis. The specific hours in the various living areas 
at the individual institutions shall be established by the 
Warden of each institution. The Warden shall communicate 
the telephone schedule to the inmate population. A time limit 
should be established. 

b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). Requests 
for access outside of normally scheduled hours may be made 
through the dormitory officer, counselor, or shift supervisor.  

c. Legal Calls. The Warden shall establish a 
schedule for legal calls. Inmates are generally able to place 
legal calls during the lunch period or after the afternoon 
count (when "normal office hours" are in effect for 
attorneys). The Warden should establish an alternate 
procedure if this is not adequate.  

3. Cellblock HousingCMaximum Custody 
a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Collect 

telephone access is generally located in the cellblock lobby. 
(In those situations where the telephone is on the tier, the 
inmate may be allowed access during the shower or exercise 
period.) Lobby placement may restrict inmate access. 
Therefore, posted policy may limit routine personal calls for 
inmates assigned to cellblocks. Access may vary by inmate 
classification status. A time limit should be established. 

b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). In all 
subclasses of maximum custody, the inmate is required to 
request consideration for this type call from the warden's 
designee (shift supervisor, unit major, or program staff) who 
decides if the justification the inmate presents warrants the 
request. That decision is then logged. No frequency for this 
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type call is established as the severity and duration of the 
emergency may vary. 

NOTE: Please refer to the "Emergency Review" 
provisions of the Administrative Remedy Procedure. Timely 
review can be solicited by the inmate. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
procedure for placing legal calls on a reasonable basis during 
normal attorney office hours. Each housing unit shall 
maintain a legal telephone log for the purpose of monitoring 
the number of legal calls made by inmates on a weekly 
basis. 

4. Incoming Calls. 
a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Messages are 

not accepted or relayed on a routine basis for any inmate. 
b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). The 

warden should establish a procedure for inmate notification 
of legitimate personal or family emergencies communicated 
to the institution. 

c. Legal Calls. Inmates may be given notice that 
their attorney has requested contact. Complete verification is 
required prior to processing. If minimum or medium 
custody, the inmate may call from the dormitory during 
lunch or after work. If maximum custody, the inmate may be 
allowed to call during normal attorney office hours at a time 
which does not interfere with orderly operation of the unit. 

5. Monitoring 
a. Inmates shall be put on notice of the following. 

 i. Telephone calls in housing areas are subject to 
being monitored and/or recorded and that "use" constitutes 
"consent." 
 ii. It is the inmate's responsibility to advise all 
other parties that conversations are subject to being 
monitored and/or recorded. 
 iii. A properly placed telephone call to an attorney 
will not be monitored and/or recorded unless reasonable 
suspicion of illicit activity has resulted in a formal 
investigation and such action has been authorized by the 
secretary or designee. 
 iv. The telephone system will normally terminate 
a call at the end of the authorized period, (normally 15 
minutes); however, the warden or his designee may 
authorize calls of a longer duration as circumstances 
warrant. 
 v. The system will automatically broadcast 
recorded messages indicating that the telephone call is 
originating from a correctional facility. 

b. Inmates shall not be allowed access to employee 
home telephone numbers and shall not be allowed to call any 
staff member of the department. 

c. Each institution will advise their inmate 
population of the proper way to place a legal call. 

d. Only personnel authorized by the warden may 
monitor inmate telephone calls. Information gained from 
monitoring calls which affects the security of the institution 
or threatens the protection of the public will be 
communicated to other staff members or other law 
enforcement agencies. Telephone calls to attorneys may not 
be routinely monitored (see Clause E.5.a.iii of this Section); 
staff will immediately disconnect from any inmate telephone 
call if it appears that is the case. All other information shall 
be held in strict confidence. 

e. Inmates being processed into the system through 
the Reception and Diagnostic Centers will be required to 
"consent" in writing that their telephone calls are subject to 
being monitored and/or recorded. A copy of this "consent" 
shall be placed in the inmate's institutional record. 

f. Each institution's orientation manual must 
include the information contained in this regulation as a 
means to notify the inmate population and verbal 
notification must be given in their orientation program. 
Existing inmate populations shall be put on notice by a sign 
posted at each inmate telephone. The sign shall reflect the 
following information: 

6. Remote Call Forwarding 
a. Remote Call Forwarding (RCF) is a mechanism 

by which inmates employ a local telephone number that 
automatically forwards the telephone call to a pre -selected 
number generally located out of the local calling area code 
or long distance. RFC in essence is an automated three-way 
call. 

b. RCF is also known as automated call forwarding 
or PBX call forwarding. Use of this automated and remote 
mechanism represents significant security risks for several 
reasons. The telephone call terminated number (the end 
destination of the call) cannot be readily identified or 
verified. This number is not a traditional telephone number 
located at a residence, business or other such location but 
merely a number within the telephone switching equipment 
local to the facility where the inmate is housed. 

c. RCF initiated calls to an unidentified terminated 
number can and are being easily forwarded again to a cell 
phone and other unauthorized telephones. This forwarding is 
done through the normal three-way call hook ups. This in 
fact negates the security mechanisms achieved by the 
requirement of approved telephone lists. Safeguards to 
prevent calls to victims, to blocked or restricted numbers or 
to prevent other unauthorized call activities are defeated by 
the use of an RCF number. 

d. RCF usage creates an opportunity to conduct 
criminal or illegal or un-authorized activities since the end 
call location is not readily being identified, verified or its 
actual location known. This affords untold opportunity for 
inmates to engage in potential scams, to call victims, to 
facilitate escape attempts and to engage in other conduct 
representing significant security risks to the facility. 

e. The inmate population should be put on notice 
that all third-party telephone calls, including RCF calls, are 
strictly prohibited and such activity will result in appropriate 
disciplinary action. 

f. Wardens shall develop a monitoring system to 
analyze the frequency of local calls. High frequency may 
indicate RCF utilization. When RCF calls are discovered, a 
system wide block of the number should be initiated 
pursuant to Subparagraph E.1.f of this Section.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:829. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety an Corrections, Correction Services, LR 29:360 
(March 2003). 

Richard L. Stalder 
Secretary 

0303#024 
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RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Definitions, General Provisions/Authority of the  
Division, Imposition of Sanctions, Application and  

License, Surveillance and Division Room  
Requirements, Enforcement Actions of the Board  

(LAC 42:VII.1701, 2101, 2325; IX. 2101,  
4103; XI. 2405; XIII.1701, 2101, 2325, and 3305) 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board hereby adopts 
amendments to LAC 42:VII.1701, 2101, 2325, IX.2101, 
4103, XI.2405, XIII.1701, 2101, 2325, and 3305, in 
accordance with R.S. 27:15 and 24, and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part VII.  Pari-Mutuel Live Racing Facility Slot Machine 
Gaming 

Chapter 17. General Provisions 
§1701. Definitions 

A. As used in the regulations, the following terms have 
the meaning described below. 

* * * 
AffiliateCany person who directly or indirectly controls, 

is controlled by, or is under common control of another 
person. 

* * * 
PersonCany individual, partnership, association, joint 

stock association, trust, corporation, or other business entity 
whether incorporated or not. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:728 
(April 2000), LR 29:362 (March 2003). 
Chapter 21. Licenses and Permits 
§2101. General Authority of the Board and Division 

A. The board and/or the division shall have the authority 
to call forth any person who, in the board and/or division's 
opinion, has the ability to exercise influence over a licensee, 
permittee, applicant or the gaming industry, and such person 
shall be subject to all suitability requirements. In the event a 
person is found unsuitable, then no licensee, permittee or 
applicant shall have any association or connection with such 
person. No licensee, permittee or applicant shall have any 
association or connection with any person that has had an 
application for a license or permit denied or had a license or 
permit revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:732 
(April 2000), LR 29:362 (March 2003). 
Chapter 23. Compliance, Inspections, and 

Investigations 
§2325. Imposition of Sanctions 

A. - D. … 
E. Penalty Schedule 
 

Section 
Reference  

Description Base 
Fine 

Proscriptive 
Period 

(Months) 
* * * 

4209 Approval of New 
Electronic Gaming 

Devices 

5,000 12 

* * * 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 27:1321 
(June 2000), amended LR 27:225 (December 2001), LR 28:1028 
(May 2002), repromulgated LR 28:2371 (November 2002), LR 
29:362 (March 2003). 

Part IX.  Landbased Casino Gaming 
Subpart 1.  Economic Development and Gaming 

Corporation 
Chapter 21. Applications; Suitability, Permitting and 

Licensing 
§2101. General Provisions 

A. The board and/or division shall have the authority to 
call forth any person who, in the board and/or division's 
opinion, exercises influence over the Casino Operator, 
Casino Manager, a Permittee, an Applicant or the gaming 
industry, and such person shall be subject to all suitability 
requirements. In the event a person is found unsuitable, then 
no Casino Operator, Casino Manager, Permittee or Applicant 
shall have any association or connection with such person. 
No Casino Operator, Casino Manager, Permittee or 
Applicant shall have any association or connection with any 
person that has had an application for a license or permit 
denied or had a license or permit revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and R.S. 27:24 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1907 
(October 1999), LR 29:362 (March 2003). 
Chapter 41. Enforcement Actions 
§4103. Enforcement Actions of the Board 

A. - B. … 
C. Penalty Schedule 
 

Section 
Reference  

Description Base 
Fine 

Proscriptive Period 
(Months) 

* * * 
4209 Approval of New 

Electronic 
Gaming Devices 

5,000 12 

* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1974 
(October 1999), amended LR 26:2307 (October 2000), LR 27:2255 
(December 2001), repromulgated LR 28:344 (February 2002), LR 
28:1029 (May 2002), LR 29:362 (March 2003). 

Part XI.  Video Poker 
Chapter 24. Video Draw Poker 
§2405. Application and License 

A. New and Renewal Applications 
1. All applications for a license shall be submitted on 

forms provided by the division and mailed to: Louisiana 
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State Police, Gaming Enforcement Section, Video Gaming 
Division, at the address provided by the division. 

2. - 15. … 
B. Requirements for Licensing 

1. - 3.b. … 
c. If a licensee fails to file a complete renewal 

application on or before forty five days prior to the license 
expiration date, the division may assess a civil penalty of 
$250 for the first violation, $500 for the second violation and 
$1000 for the third violation. 

4. The appropriate annual fee shall be paid by all 
licensees regardless of the expiration date of the license on 
or before July 1 of each year. 

5. If a renewal application has not been filed with the 
division on or before close of business on the date of 
expiration, the license is expired, and a new application, 
along with all appropriate fees, shall be required to be filed. 

B.6. - D.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 23:1322 (October 1997), LR 24:955 (May 1998), LR 
26:346 (February 2000), LR 26:2322 (October 2000), LR 27:61 
(January 2001), LR 29:362 (March 2003). 

Part XIII.  Riverboat Gaming 
Subpart 2.  State Police Riverboat Gaming Division 

Chapter 17. General Provisions 
§1701. Definitions 

A. As used in the regulations, the following terms have 
the meaning described below. 

* * * 
AffiliateCany person who directly or indirectly controls, 

is controlled by, or is under common control of another 
person. 

* * * 
PersonCany individual, partnership, association, joint 

stock association, trust, corporation, or other business entity 
whether incorporated or not. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:501 et seq.; R.S. 27:15 and 24.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 19:1176 (September 1993), 
amended LR 21:702 (July 1995), amended by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 22:1139 
(November 1996), LR 24:344 (February 1998), LR 26:1317 (June 
2000), LR 29:363 (March 2003). 
Chapter 21. Licensees and Permits 
§2101. General Authority of the Division 

A. The board and/or division shall have the authority to 
call forth any person who, in the board and/or division's 
opinion, exercises influence over a licensee, permittee, 
applicant or the gaming industry, and such person shall be 
subject to all suitability requirements. In the event a person 
is found unsuitable, then no licensee, permittee, or applicant 
shall have any association or connection with such person. 
No licensee, permittee, or applicant shall have any 
association or connection with any person that has had an 

application for a license or permit denied or had a license or 
permit revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:501 et seq.; R.S. 27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 19:1176 (September 1993), 
amended LR 21:702 (July 1995), LR 29:363 (March 2003). 
Chapter 23. Compliance, Inspections and 

Investigations 
§2325. Imposition of Sanctions 

A. - D. … 
E. Penalty Schedule 
 

Section 
Reference  

Description Base Fine Proscriptive 
Period 

(Months) 
* * * 

4209 Approval of New 
Electronic Gaming 

Devices 

5,000 12 

* * * 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 26. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 21:702 (July 1995), amended 
by the Gaming Control Board, LR 26:1318 (June 2000), LR 
27:2255 (December 2001), LR 28:1029 (May 2002), LR 29:363 
(March 2003). 
Chapter 33. Surveillance and Security 
§3305. Surveillance and Division Room Requirements 

A. There shall be, for the exclusive use of division agents 
and for the use by employees of the riverboat gaming 
operation, rooms approved by the division for monitoring 
and recording purposes. The room for the exclusive use of 
the division shall be designated the division room. The room 
for the use of the employees of the riverboat gaming 
operation shall be designated the surveillance room. 

B. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:501 et seq.; R.S. 27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE : Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 21:702 (July 1995), amended 
by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming 
Control Board, LR 27:1559 (September 2001), LR 29:363 (March 
2003). 

 

Hillary J. Crain 
Chairman 

0303#098 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Alternative Dispute Resolution 
(LAC 61:III.301-335) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and 1522 and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Office of the Secretary adopts LAC 61:III.301-
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335, the rules and regulations governing alternative dispute 
resolution. 

The secretary of the Department of Revenue is authorized 
by R.S. 47:1511 to adopt reasonable rules and regulations to 
enforce the provisions relating to the taxes collected and 
administered by the department. Louisiana Administrative 
Code Title 61, Part III, §§301-335, establishes the method 
and the procedures available to implement R.S. 47:1522, 
which allows the Department of Revenue to use alternative 
dispute res olution as a means of resolving issues between the 
taxpayer and the department. Alternative dispute resolution 
will provide a voluntary, confidential and cooperative means 
of resolving tax disputes of less than $1 million, which will 
reduce the costs and risks of litigation for the taxpayer and 
the department. Alternative dispute resolution will also 
expedite the tax collection and refund processes. The rules 
and regulations for the department's Alternative Dispute 
Resolution Program are modeled on the Multistate Tax 
Commission's Alternative Dispute Resolution Program. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Department of Revenue; Administrative  
Provisions and Miscellaneous 

Chapter 3. Alternative Dispute Resolution 
Procedures 

§301. Definitions 
A. For purposes of this chapter, the following terms have 

the meanings ascribed to them. 
Alternative Dispute Resolution—procedures for settling 

disputes by means other than litigation. 
Arbitration—a binding process in which the department 

and taxpayer submit disputed issues and evidence to an 
arbitrator and a decision is rendered by the arbitrator.  

Arbitrator—a neutral third party chosen by the 
department and taxpayer to hear their claims and render a 
decision. 

Enrolled Agent—an individual who has demonstrated 
technical competence in the field of taxation and is licensed 
to represent taxpayers before all administrative levels of the 
Internal Revenue Service. 

Hearing—a proceeding in which a neutral third party 
receives testimony or arguments and reviews documents to 
determine issues of fact and legal conclusions in order to 
render a decision based on the evidence presented.  

Party—a taxpayer or department representative 
involved in an alternative dispute resolution process. 

Secretary—the Secretary of the Louisiana Department 
of Revenue. 

Session—the period of time during which the arbitrator 
meets with the parties to discuss the issues and listens to the 
arguments presented in order to reach a decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:364 (March 2003). 
§303. Type of Alternative Dispute Resolution Process 

A. The disputed issue(s) may be resolved by arbitration 
as agreed upon by the taxpayer and the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:364 (March 2003). 

§305. Initiation of Arbitration 
A. The secretary may select cases whose total value as of 

the date of selection for binding arbitration is less than $1 
million. Once a case has been selected for arbitration, notice 
will be sent to the taxpayer regarding the selection within 30 
days. 

B. The taxpayer may give written notice to the 
department of the taxpayer's desire to participate in 
arbitration. The notice must be signed by the taxpayer or 
representative of the taxpayer and contain the taxpayer's 
name, tax identification number, address, telephone number, 
fax number, and e-mail address and the taxpayer's 
representative e-mail address as well as a brief description of 
the nature of the dispute and the issues. The notice must also 
state the relief requested, the reasons supporting the relief, 
and any other relevant and reliable information supporting 
the claim. 

C. Neither the department nor the taxpayer has the right 
to mandate or force the opposing party into arbitration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:364 (March 2003). 
§307. Persons Authorized to Participate in Arbitration 

A. Individuals, Partnerships, and Corporations. Any 
individual taxpayer participating in arbitration with the 
department may appear and act for himself or for a 
partnership of which he is a partner with authority to act on 
behalf of the partnership's members. A corporation, limited 
liability company, or limited liability partnership may be 
represented by a bona fide officer of the corporation upon 
presentation of a corporate resolution or other 
documentation evidencing the officer's authority to act on 
behalf of the organization. 

B. Attorneys. Attorneys at law, qualified and licensed 
under the laws of the state, are entitled to represent any 
taxpayer participating in arbitration with the department. The 
arbitrator may permit attorneys at law, qualified and licensed 
under the laws of the several states or the District of 
Columbia to represent any taxpayer participating in 
arbitration with the department, in the same manner as these 
attorneys are permitted to practice in the courts of Louisiana. 

C. Certified Public Accountants. Certified public 
accountants qualified and licensed under the laws of the state 
are entitled to represent any taxpayer participating in 
arbitration with the department. The arbitrator may permit 
certified public accountants, qualified and licensed under the 
laws of the several states or the District of Columbia to 
represent any taxpayer participating in arbitration with the 
department, in the same manner as these certified public 
accountants are permitted to practice in Louisiana. 

D. Enrolled Agents. Enrolled agents qualified and 
licensed to practice before the Internal Revenue Service are 
entitled to represent any taxpayer participating in arbitration 
with the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:364 (March 2003). 
§309. Registry of Arbitrators 

A. The department will maintain a registry of arbitration 
companies authorized to participate in the alternative dispute 
resolution process. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:364 (March 2003). 
§311. Time Delay for Providing Names of Arbitrators 

A. As soon as practical, but not more than 30 business 
days after consent of the parties to participate in arbitration, 
the department will send to the taxpayer or the taxpayer's 
representative the names of potential arbitration companies 
to provide case management services for the arbitration 
session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§313. Selection of Arbitration Company 

A. The department and taxpayer will select an arbitration 
company from the Registry maintained by the department. 
The arbitration company will select the arbitrator to preside 
over the matter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§315. Disclosure of Conflict of Interest 

A. An arbitrator must have no official, financial, or 
personal conflict of interest with any issue or party in 
controversy unless the conflict of interest is fully disclosed, 
in writing, to all parties and all parties agree, in writing, that 
the person may continue to serve. If an arbitrator is 
disqualified by either party, another arbitrator will be 
selected by the arbitration company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§317. Procedures for Arbitration 

A. The arbitrator will take necessary steps to avoid delay 
and to achieve a just, speedy, and cost-effective resolution. 
The department and taxpayer will cooperate in the exchange 
of documents, exhibits, and information within either party's 
control. In addition, the department and taxpayer may 
conduct discovery as agreed upon by all parties. However, 
the arbitrator may provide for or place limitations on the 
discovery as the arbitrator deems appropriate. At the request 
of the department or the taxpayer, the arbitrator may require 
the deposition of any person who may possess information 
vital to the just resolution of the matter. 

B. The arbitrator will select a hearing date. Each party 
must notify the arbitrator in writing at least 10 business days 
before the initial arbitration session of the following: 

1. the party's intention to present witnesses; 
2. whether the party will be represented by counsel; 

and 
3. who will be present at the arbitration. 

C.  The department and taxpayer must submit a brief 
statement of facts, law, and issues to be resolved. The 
statement may not exceed 15 legal-size pages without prior 
approval from the arbitrator. 

D. The arbitrator will distribute to the department and 
taxpayer the information provided in Subsection B and 
inform the parties of the arbitration process to be followed at 
least five business days before the initial arbitration session. 

Except where specified in the regulation, the arbitrator will 
determine the process to be followed. 

E. The rules of evidence in arbitration will be the rules 
of evidence followed in the state district courts of Louisiana. 

F. Any party desiring a stenographic or other recording 
of the proceedings must make arrangements directly with a 
stenographer or the person responsible for recording the 
proceedings. The party seeking to record the proceeding 
must notify the arbitrator and all other parties of the 
arrangements at least five business days before the 
arbitration hearing. The requesting party or parties shall pay 
the recording costs and the recording or transcript shall be 
made available to the arbitrator and the other parties for 
inspection and copying at a date, time, and place determined 
by the arbitrator. 

G. If an arbitration decision is rendered on a case 
pending in any state court or the Louisiana Board of Tax 
Appeals, the decision will be entered in the court records.  

H. The decision by the arbitrator will be made promptly 
and, unless otherwise agreed by the parties or specified by 
law, no later than 30 business days from the date of the 
closing of the arbitration hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§319. Discovery 

A. The arbitrator will set forth the conditions of 
discovery. Any extensions of discovery must be in writing 
and approved by the arbitrator.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§321. Arbitration Hearing 

A. In order to facilitate the arbitration process, the 
selected arbitrator will conduct hearings. Each party will be 
given an opportunity to present the facts, evidence, and 
argument that support its position regarding the disputed tax 
issue at the hearing. Hearings will be private and all matters 
will remain confidential. The only individuals who may 
participate in hearings will be the taxpayer, taxpayer 
representatives, department representatives, and any 
witnesses to be called. 

B. Date, Time and Place of Hearing. Hearings will be 
held at the LaSalle Building in Baton Rouge or at any other 
place designated by the arbitrator with consideration given 
to the location and convenience of the parties and their 
witnesses. All witnesses will be sequestered prior to giving 
testimony. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§323. Sequence of the Arbitration Hearing 

A. Unless otherwise determined by the arbitrator, the 
following sequence will be followed at the hearing. 

1. Introduction. The arbitrator may make an 
introduction. 

2. Opening Statements. The taxpayer or his 
representative will make an opening statement followed by 
the department's representative. 
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3. Taxpayer's Case. The taxpayer may introduce 
evidence, examine witnesses, and submit exhibits. The 
department's attorney or representative may cross-examine 
the witnesses. 

4. Department's Case. The department may introduce 
evidence, examine witnesses, and submit exhibits. The 
taxpayer or taxpayer's representative may cross-examine the 
witnesses. 

5. Evidence Procedure. Each party will have the 
opportunity to present relevant and credible evidence during 
the hearing. All statements will be made under oath 
administered by the arbitrator. The Rules of Evidence 
followed in the state district courts of Louisiana will apply to 
all evidence presented and objections will be permitted. 

6. Rebuttal. Presentation of the evidence of the 
taxpayer in rebuttal and the argument of the taxpayer 
followed by the argument of the department, and of the 
taxpayer in rebuttal. 

7. Summation. Each party may present a closing 
statement. 

8. Concluding Remarks. The arbitrator may make 
closing remarks concerning the case. 

9. Judgment. The arbitrator shall render a decision 
within 30 business days after the date of the close of the 
hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:365 (March 2003). 
§325. Ex Parte Communication with the Arbitrator 

A. No party or party representative may directly 
communicate with an arbitrator except at a hearing or during 
a scheduled conference concerning any issue related to the 
arbitration matter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:366 (March 2003). 
§327. Privacy 

A. All arbitration sessions are private and confidential. 
To ensure the privacy of the arbitration sessions, only the 
parties and their representatives may attend the sessions. All 
parties participating in or attending a session are required to 
sign a confidentiality agreement. Any party that violates this 
confidentiality provision is subject to sanctions at the request 
of the other party. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:366 (March 2003). 
§329. Confidentiality 

A. Except as authorized or required by law, no one 
participating in the session may disclose the existence, 
content, or results of the session without the written consent 
of all parties. Each participant to any process conducted, 
including the arbitrator, must execute a confidentiality 
agreement before beginning arbitration. Except as 
authorized, required, or consented to, no party, arbitrator, or 
any agent or other representative may make public, offer or 
introduce as evidence, or otherwise refer to in any

administrative, judicial, or other proceeding, any statement 
made or any document or item of evidence provided during 
arbitration or any finding, conclusion, order, or result, or 
lack thereof relating to the process. This prohibition applies 
but is not limited to the following matters: 

1. views expressed or suggestions made by a party 
with respect to possible settlement of the dispute;  

2. admissions made by any party during arbitration; 
3. statements made or views expressed by any 

witnesses, arbitrator, or other persons privy to the arbitration 
session; or 

4. the fact that another party had or had not indicated 
a willingness to accept a proposal settlement. 

B. The arbitrator is subject to the terms and conditions 
set forth in R.S. 47:1508 regarding the confidential character 
of tax records. 

C. All returns, reports, and other documents presented 
during the arbitration session may be destroyed by order of 
the secretary after five years from the last day of December 
of the year in which the tax to which the records pertain 
became due, but not less than one year after receipt of the 
last payment of tax to which the records pertain. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:366 (March 2003). 
§331. Fees and Expenses 

A. Each party will bear the fees and expenses for its own 
counsel, expert witnesses, travel, and preparation and 
presentation of its case. Except as otherwise agreed by the 
parties, the fees and expenses of the arbitrator will be borne 
equally by the taxpayer and the department in accordance 
with the arbitration company's fee schedule. 

B. If an arbitration session has been scheduled and a 
party fails to appear at the session, the party failing to appear 
will be responsible for the payment of the reasonable costs 
and fees of the arbitrator and the reasonable travel expenses 
incurred by the other party, unless the party has provided 
reasonable notice in writing to the arbitrator and all other 
parties that they will not appear. It will be presumed, subject 
to a contrary showing under the circumstances, that giving 
five business days advanced written notice is reasonable 
notice. 

C. If reasonable notice is not provided, the arbitrator 
shall determine if there was good cause for the failure to 
appear. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:366 (March 2003). 
§333. Taxpayer's Duty to Protect Protests and Appeals 

A. It is the duty of the taxpayer to protect his right to 
protest or appeal any assessment or proposed assessment or 
to pursue any right to refund relating to any issue that may 
also be subject to the arbitration process. Compliance with 
all conditions and time limits for perfecting and pursuing 
any and all administrative and judicial protests and appeals 
or requests for refund are the sole responsibility of the 
taxpayer. Any agreement between a taxpayer, taxpayer
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representative, and a representative of the department to alter 
the conditions or time limits must be authorized by the 
secretary of the Department of Revenue and executed in 
writing by both parties to be effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:366 (March 2003). 
§335. Notice of a Waiver or Extension 

A. When required by any party, notice that a written 
waiver or extension of any and all applicable prescriptive 
periods must be executed to each party's satisfaction. No 
party will be required to execute any waiver or extension of 
a statutory limitation as a condition of participating in an 
alternative dispute resolution process. Unless otherwise 
agreed to by the parties, any waiver or extension of 
prescription will apply to only those issues agreed upon as 
subject to the alternative dispute resolution process. If a 
written waiver or extension is required by a party, no 
alternative dispute resolution process will begin until an 
agreement has been executed. 

B. The department and taxpayer will have 30 business 
days to resolve the issues and execute the waiver or 
extension. If no agreement is reached during that period of 
time, the arbitrator will terminate the alternative dispute 
resolution process. In the event that an alternative dispute 
resolution process has been terminated, the parties have a 
right to initiate a new alternative dispute resolution process. 
If the second attempt to initiate an alternative dispute 
resolution process fails, any subsequent attempts will not be 
allowed unless the arbitrator agrees it is in the parties best 
interest to continue to arrive at an agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 1522. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 29:367 (March 2003). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0303#038 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Tax  
(LAC 61:V.303, 703, 907, 1503, 2503, 2705, and 2707) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.), and in compliance with 
statutory law administered by this agency as set forth in R.S. 
47:1837, the Tax Commission intends has amended and/or 
repealed sections of the Louisiana Tax Commission 
Real/Personal Property Rules and Regulations for use in the 
2003 (2004 Orleans Parish) tax year.  

This Rule is necessary in order for ad valorem tax 
assessment tables to be disseminated to property owners and 
local tax assessors no later than the statutory valuation date 
of record of January 1, 2003. Cost indices required to 
finalize these assessment tables were not available to this 
office until late October, 2002. The effective date of this 
Rule is January 1, 2003. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Part V.  Ad Valorem Taxation 

Chapter 3. Real and Personal Property 
§303. Real Property 

A. - B.2.  ... 
C. The Louisiana Tax Commission has ordered all 

property to be reappraised in all parishes for the 2004 tax 
year. Property is to be valued as of January 1, 2003, in 
Orleans Parish the same as applies to property in all other 
parishes. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 7:44 (February 1981), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 9:69 
(February 1983), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:764 (December 
1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:611 (June 1991), LR 
21:186 (February 1995), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 (March 
2000), LR 29:367 (March 2003). 
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Chapter 7. Watercraft 
§703. TablesCWatercraft 

A. Floating EquipmentCMotor Vessels  
 

Floating EquipmentCMotor Vessels 
Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years  

Year Index Effective Age Percent Good Composite Multiplier 
2002  0.997  1  94  .94 

 2001  1.003  2  87  .87 
 2000  1.011  3  80  .81 
 1999  1.029  4  73  .75 
 1998  1.033  5  66  .68 
 1997  1.042  6  58  .60 
 1996  1.058  7  50  .53 
 1995  1.074  8  43  .46 
 1994  1.113  9  36  .40 
 1993  1.144  10  29  .33 
 1992  1.167  11  24  .28 
 1991  1.181  12  22  .26 
 1990  1.205  13  20  .24 

 
B. Floating EquipmentCBarges (Nonmotorized) 
 

Floating EquipmentCBarges (Nonmotorized) 
Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years  

 Year  Index  Effective Age  Percent Good Composite Multiplier 
 2002  0.997  1  97  .97 
 2001  1.003  2  93  .93 
 2000  1.011  3  90  .91 
 1999  1.029  4  86  .88 
 1998  1.033  5  82  .85 
 1997  1.042  6  78  .81 
 1996  1.058  7  74  .78 
 1995  1.074  8  70  .75 
 1994  1.113  9  65  .72 
 1993  1.144  10  60  .69 
 1992  1.167  11  55  .64 
 1991  1.181  12  50  .59 
 1990  1.205  13  45  .54 
 1989  1.237  14  40  .49 
 1988  1.303  15  35  .46 
 1987  1.359  16  31  .42 
 1986  1.378  17  27  .37 
 1985  1.392  18  24  .33 
 1984  1.412  19  22  .31 
 1983  1.451  20  21  .30 
 1982  1.477  21  20  .30 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:924 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:204 (February 

1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:479 (March 1998), LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 
(March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), 
LR 29:368 (March 2003). 
Chapter 9. Oil and Gas Properties 
§907. TablesCOil and Gas 

A. … 
1. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1CNorth 

Louisiana 
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Table 907.A-1 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells 

Region 1CNorth Louisiana 
CostCNew 

by depth, per foot 
15 percent of CostCNew 

by depth, per foot Producing 
Depths 

$Oil $Gas $Oil $Gas 
0 - 1,249 ft. 11.39 26.81 1.71 4.02 

1,250 - 2,499 ft. 11.32 16.00 1.70 2.40 
2,500 - 3,749 ft. 13.38 15.23 2.01 2.28 
3,750 - 4,999 ft. 15.27 17.02 2.29 2.55 
5,000 - 7,499 ft. 20.42 21.47 3.06 3.22 
7,500 - 9,999 ft. 30.67 29.05 4.60 4.36 

10,000 - 12,499 ft. 38.41 37.00 5.76 5.55 
12,500 - Deeper ft. N/A 73.50 N/A 11.03 

 
2. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 2CSouth Louisiana 

 
Table 907.A-2 

Oil, Gas and Associated Wells 
Region 2CSouth Louisiana 

CostCNew 
by depth, per foot 

15% of CostCNew 
by depth, per foot Producing Depths 

$Oil $Gas $Oil $Gas 
0 - 1,249 ft. 81.27 81.14 12.19 12.17 

1,250 - 2,499 ft. 78.45 85.94 11.77 12.89 
2,500 - 3,749 ft. 63.64 80.01 9.55 12.00 
3,750 - 4,999 ft. 46.08 55.56 6.91 8.33 
5,000 - 7,499 ft. 55.60 54.73 8.34 8.21 
7,500 - 9,999 ft. 62.03 62.08 9.30 9.31 

10,000 - 12,499 ft. 63.47 73.83 9.52 11.07 
12,500 - 14,999 ft. 77.82 93.73 11.67 14.06 
15,000 - 17,499 ft. 110.56 118.93 16.58 17.84 
17,500 - 19,999 ft. 93.73 153.50 14.06 23.03 
20,000 - Deeper ft. 125.55 213.22 18.83 31.98 

 
3. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3COffshore State Waters 
 

Table 907.A-3 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells 

Region 3COffshore State Waters* 
CostCNew 

by depth, per foot 
15% of CostCNew 
by depth, per foot Producing Depths 

$Oil $Gas $Oil $Gas 
0 - 1,249 ft. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

1,250 - 2,499 ft. 317.22 433.06 47.58 64.96 
2,500 - 3,749 ft. 238.49 321.73 35.77 48.26 
3,750 - 4,999 ft. 247.08 258.15 37.06 38.72 
5,000 - 7,499 ft. 204.54 175.70 30.68 26.36 
7,500 - 9,999 ft. 191.42 168.06 28.71 25.21 

10,000 - 12,499 ft. 188.72 169.44 28.31 25.42 
12,500 - 14,999 ft. 179.89 164.02 26.98 24.60 
15,000 - 17,499 ft. 162.60 222.99 24.39 33.45 
17,500 - Deeper ft. 462.60 332.74 69.39 49.91 
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A.4. - B.1. ... 
2.  Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

 

 
Table 907.B-2 

Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

Year Beginning Serial 
Number 

 Ending Serial 
 Number 

 25 Year Life  
 Percent Good 

2002  226717  Higher  96 
2001  225352  226716  92 
2000  223899  225351  88 
1999  222882  223898  84 
1998  221596  222881  80 
1997  220034  221595  76 
1996  218653  220033  72 
1995  217588  218652  68 
1994  216475  217587  64 
1993  215326  216474  60 
1992  214190  215325  56 
1991  212881  214189  52 
1990  211174  212880   48 
1989  209484  211173  44 
1988  207633  209483  40 
1987  205211  207632  36 
1986  202933  205210  32 
1985  Lower  202932   30* 
VAR.  900000  Higher  50 

* Reflects residual or floor rate. 
 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 
1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988),

LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:480 (March 1998), LR 25:313 
(February 1999), LR 26:507 (March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 
2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), LR 29:368 (March 2003). 

 
 
Chapter 15. Aircraft 
§1503. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) Table 

A. Aircraft 
 

Table 1503Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 
Cost Index (Average) Average Economic Li fe (10 Years) 

 Year  Index  Effective Age   Percent Good  Composite Multiplier 
 2002  0.997  1  92  .92 
  2001   1.003  2  84  .84 
 2000  1.011  3  76  .77 
 1999  1.029  4  67  .69 
 1998  1.033  5  58  .60 
 1997  1.042  6  49  .51 
 1996  1.058  7  39  .41 
 1995  1.074  8  30  .32 
 1994  1.113  9  24  .27 
 1993  1.144  10  21  .24 
 1992  1.167  11  20  .23 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:206 (February

1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 
(March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), 
LR 29:370 (March 2003). 
Chapter 25. General Business Assets  
§2503. Tables Ascertaining Economic Lives, Percent 

Food and Composite Multipliers of Business and 
Industrial Personal Property 

A. … 
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B. Cost Indices 
 

Table 2503.B 
    Cost Indices 

Year Age  National Average  
1926 = 100 January 1, 2002 = 100* 

2002 1 1100.0 0.997 
2001 2 1093.4 1.003 
2000 3 1084.3 1.011 
1999 4 1065.0 1.029 
1998 5 1061.8 1.033 
1997 6 1052.7 1.042 
1996 7 1036.0 1.058 
1995 8 1020.4 1.074 
1994 9 985.0 1.113 
1993 10 958.0 1.144 
1992 11 939.8 1.167 
1991 12 928.5 1.181 
1990 13 910.2 1.205 
1989 14 886.5 1.237 
1988 15 841.4 1.303 
1987 16 806.9 1.359 
1986 17 795.4 1.378 
1985 18 787.9 1.392 
1984 19 776.4 1.412 
1983 20 755.8 1.451 
1982 21 742.4 1.477 
1981 22 709.2 1.546 
1980 23 642.8 1.706 
1979 24 584.4 1.876 
1978 25 534.7 2.050 
1977 26 497.1 2.206 

*Reappraisal Date: January 1, 2002 - 1096.4 (Base Year) 
 
C.1. - 4. ... 
D. Composite Multipliers 
 

Table 2503.D 
Composite Multipliers  

2003 (2004 Orleans Parish) 
Age  3 Yr 5 Yr 8 Yr 10 Yr 12 Yr 15 Yr 20 Yr 25 Yr 

1 .70 .85 .90 .92 .94 .95 .97 .98 
2 .49 .69 .79 .84 .87 .90 .93 .95 
3 .34 .53 .68 .77 .81 .86 .91 .94 
4 .21 .35 .56 .69 .75 .81 .88 .93 
5  .24 .44 .60 .68 .75 .85 .90 
6  .21 .34 .51 .60 .71 .81 .88 
7   .28 .41 .53 .66 .78 .86 
8   .24 .32 .46 .59 .75 .84 
9   .22 .27 .40 .55 .72 .83 

10    .24 .33 .49 .69 .81 
11    .23 .28 .43 .64 .79 
12     .26 .37 .59 .76 
13     .24 .31 .54 .72 
14      .28 .49 .69 
15      .27 .46 .68 
16      .27 .42 .65 
17       .37 .61 
18       .33 .54 
19       .31 .48 
20       .30 .44 
21       .30 .38 
22        .36 
23        .36 
24        .38 
25        .41 
26        .44 

 
Data sources for tables are: 

1. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 10:944 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:207 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:317 
(February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 
2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), LR 29:370 (March 2003). 
Chapter 27. Guidelines for Application, Classification 

and Assessment of Land Eligible To Be 
Assessed at Use Value 

§2705. Classification 
A. - B. ... 
 

* * *  
Bienville Plaquemines 

* * *  
Jefferson Davis Vernon 

* * *  

 
C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA - 

Constitution of 1974, Article VII, '18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 25:318 (February 1999), LR 26:510 (March 
2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), LR 
29:372 (March 2003).  
§2707. Map Index Table 

 
Table 2707 
Map Index 

Listing of General Soil Maps  
& Modern Soil Surveys 

For The State of Louisiana 
Published By 

U. S. Dept. of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation 
Service  

In Cooperation With  
Louisiana Agricultural Experiment Station 

Parish Date 
(General) 

Map No. 
(General) 

Date Published 
or Status 
(Modern) 

* * *  
Beauregard Nov., 1971 4-R-28744-A September, 2002 

* * *  

East 
Feliciana 

Nov., 1971 4-R-17441-A November, 2001 

* * *  

West 
Feliciana 

Sept., 1975 4-R-29109-A November, 2001 

* * *  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2301 and R.S. 47:2308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 3:290 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:946 (November 

1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:511 
(March 2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), 
LR 29:372 (March 2003).  

 
Russell R. Gaspard 
Chairman 

0303#020 
 

RULE 

Department of State 
Office of the Secretary of State 

Department of State Non-Statutory Fee Schedule 
(LAC 4:I.303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:222 and R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that 
the Department of State, Office of the Secretary of State has 
amended the existing Department of State Fee Schedule, 
which provides for the schedule of fees to be charged for 
various filings and services by the Department of State. The 
schedule of fees is amended to ensure that the fees collected 
are sufficient to cover the cost of carrying out the duties of 
office associated with the various filings and services for 
which such fees are charged. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 3. Fees 

§ 303. Department of State Non-Statutory Fee Schedule 
A. The Department of State has established the following 

schedule of fees to be charged for various filings and 
services by the Department of State. 

 
Item Cost 

Miscellaneous Certificates $    20 
Replacement Commission Certificates 15 
Certified Copies Amended 25 
Copies Amended 25 
Powers of Attorney 25 
Business Opportunit y Agents 15 
Name Reservations 25 
Trade Name Reservations 25 
Partnerships 100 
Foreign Partnerships 150 
Special Handling 30 
Vital Records Certified/Uncertified 10 
Limited Liability Companies 75 
Appointment of Registered Agent, New Officers 
or Directors 25 
Resignation of Agent, Officer or Director 25 
Change of Domicile 25 
Change of Address 25 
Supplemental Initial Report  25 
Microfilm per 35mm reel, shipping included 25 
Microfilm per 16mm reel, shipping included 20 
Document Certification 15 
Pension Applications per 10 pages or any part 
thereof 10 
Military Records per 25 pages or any part thereof 10 
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Legislative Audio Tape, tape provided by 
Archives 15 
Legislative Audio Tape, tape provided by patron 10 
5x7 Photo Reproduction 15 
8x10 Photo Reproduction 25 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:222. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, LR 12:689 (October 1986), 
amended LR 29:372 (March 2003). 

 
W. Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State  

0303#013 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) 
InitiativesCWomen and Children's Residential  

Prevention and Treatment Program  
(LAC 67:III.5521) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, has amended §5521, Women and Children's 
Residential Prevention and Treatment Program. 

Pursuant to Act 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and in an effort to expand the 
population serviced by this program, the agency has 
included needy families who have earned income at or 
below 200 percent of the federal poverty level as eligible for 
services. 

This change was effected by a Declaration of Emergency 
signed November 8, 2002. Authorization for emergency 
action in the expenditure of TANF funds is contained in Act 
13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5521. Women and Children's Residential Prevention 

and Treatment Program 
A. - B. ... 
C. Eligibility for services is limited to needy families, 

that is, a family in which any member receives a Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) 
grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) grant, Food 
Stamps, Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) benefits, 
Medicaid, Louisiana Children's Health Insurance Program 
(LaCHIP), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Free or 
Reduced School Lunch, or effective October 1, 2002, who 
has earned income at or below 200 percent of the federal 
poverty level. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:352 (February 
2002), amended LR 29:373 (March 2003). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0303#082 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Black BassCDaily Take and Size Limits 
(LAC 76:VII.149) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby establishes 
the following Rule on black bass (Micropterus spp.) on 
Poverty Point Reservoir, located north of the town of Delhi 
in Richland Parish, Louisiana. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial 

Fishing 
§149. Black Bass RegulationsCDaily Take and Size 

Limits 
A. - B. 3. … 

4. Poverty Point Reservoir (Richland Parish) 
a. Size limit: 14 inch-17 inch slot. A 14-17 inch slot 

limit means that it is illegal to keep or possess a black bass 
whose maximum total length is between 14 inches and 17 
inches, both measurements inclusive. 

b. Daily Take: five fish. 
c. Possession Limit: 

 i. On waterCsame as daily take. 
 ii. Off waterCtwice the daily take. 

*Maximum total lengthCthe distance in a straight line from the 
tip of the snout to the most posterior point of the depressed 
caudal fin as measured with the mouth closed on a flat surface. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6 (25)(a), R.S. 56:325(C), R.S. 56:326.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, 
LR:14:364 (June 1988), amended LR 17:278 (March 1991), 
repromulgated LR 17:488 (May 1991), amended LR 17:1122 
(November 1991), LR 20:796 (July 1994), LR 23:1168 (September 
1997), LR 24:505 (March 1998), LR 26:97 (January 2000), LR 
28:104 (January 2002), LR 29:373 (March 2003). 

 
Terry D. Denmon. 
Chairman 

0303#090 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Lease Moratorium  
(LAC 76:VII.500 and 505) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does repeal LAC 
76:VII.500 relative to lifting the oyster lease moratorium and 
to amend and re-enact LAC 76:VII.505 relative to a 
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moratorium on new oyster leases. Authority for adoption of 
this Rule is included in R.S. 56:6(10), R.S. 56:422, R.S. 
56:425, R.S. 56:429, and R.S. 56:432.1. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oysters 
§500. Lifting of Oyster Lease Moratorium 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:6(10) and R.S. 56:422. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
17:808 (August 1991), repealed LR 29:374 (March 2003). 
§505. Oyster Lease Moratorium 

A. A moratorium on the issuance of oyster leases for 
waterbottoms not presently under lease is established. This 
includes a moratorium on the taking of oyster lease 
applications for waterbottoms not presently under lease. All 
pending applications will be held, along with all fees paid, 
pending a resolution of the moratorium, unless the applicant 
requests cancellation of the application and refund of fees. In 
the event of the death of an applicant, the applicant's heirs or 
legatees should so notify the Department; and any lease 
ultimately issued shall only issue to persons placed in 
possession of the application by Judgment of Possession or 
to a court-appointed administrator or executor on behalf of a 
deceased applicant's estate. 

B. A moratorium is placed on the auction of oyster leases 
in default in payment of rent per LAC 76:VII.501.G, as 
authorized by R.S. 56:429. 

C. Any leases selected by a leaseholder who has 
previously selected the relocation option pursuant to R.S. 
56:432.1 shall be exempt from this moratorium but only to 
the extent of such previous selection. 

D. At such time as the moratorium is lifted, applications 
for oyster leases will be accepted in accordance with all 
applicable statutes, rules and regulations and the procedures 
set out below. 

1. One week prior to the date that the moratorium is 
lifted, the date, time and place where applications are to be 
taken will be publicly advertised.  

2. On the date for taking applications only one 
applicant at a time will be allowed in the office and this 
applicant will be allowed to take only one application. Each 
applicant will have 15 minutes to designate the area he 
wishes to apply for. After the applicant pays the application 
and survey fees, he may return to the end of the line for 
another application.  

3. Applications will be taken 24 hours a day (on a 
first-come basis) until the department feels the influx of 
applicants can be handled during regular office hours at the 
New Orleans Office, at which time anyone will be able to 
take an application.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6(10), R.S. 56:422, R.S. 56:425, R.S. 56:429, and R.S. 56:432.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
10:948 (November 1984), amended LR 29:374 (March 2003). 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0303#089 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Termite Bait and Baiting Systems  
(LAC 7:XXV.117 and 141) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, proposes to amend regulations regarding 
minimum specifications for use of termite bait and baiting 
systems. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry deems the 
implementation of these Rules and regulations necessary to 
provide for uniform minimum treatment specifications for 
baits and baiting systems. There are several different bait 
and baiting systems available for use by licensed pest control 
operators (PCO). These Rules insure that PCO install, 
monitor and treat structures for subterranean termites to at 
least a minimum set of requirements. These Rules also allow 
the department to regulate baits and baiting systems 
consistently and insure that the state's citizens are getting the 
services for which they are paying.  

These Rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:3203. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS  
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control  

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§117. Obligations of the Licensee 

A. The licensee must keep the bond and general liability 
insurance required under §107.D in full force and effect at 
all times. 

B. The licensee must renew the permit for operation for 
each business location annually prior to June 30. 

C. The licensee must apply for a registration certificate 
for each employee under his supervision within 30 days after 
the employee is hired and must comply with all other 
requirements pertaining to registration of employees set 
forth in §113. 

D. The licensee must follow label and labeling 
requirements in all applications of pesticides not specifically 
covered in §141. 

E. The licensee shall be responsible for training the 
employee in the kind of work which he will perform. 

F.1. The licensee must maintain his commercial applicator 
certification in current status by: 

a. attending a continuing educational program for 
recertification approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry; 

b. recertification at least once every three years; 
c. a minimum of six hours of technical training 

which shall include but not be limited to the categories of 
general pest control, termite control, wood destroying insect 
report (WDIR) inspector and commercial vertebrate control;  

d. a minimum of six hours of technical training for 
the category of fumigation. 

2. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar must attend the entire approved program; otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar.  

3. Time and location for each licensee certification 
can be obtained by calling or writing to the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

4. A minimum of six hours of technical training for 
the category of fumigation. 

5. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar must attend the entire approved program, otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar.  

6. Time and location for each licensee certification 
can be obtained by writing to the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry. 

G. The licensee must be available to provide direct 
supervision over all employees registered under his license 
on a regular, ongoing basis. 

H. The licensee must report all termite contracts and all 
wood-destroying insect reports and pay all required fees as 
set forth in §119 hereof. 

I. Any person applying pesticides for a fee and the 
licensee must maintain records, at the physical address listed 
on the place of business permit of all applications of 
pesticides for a period of two years after application on a 
record keeping form or in a format approved by the director 
of Pesticide and Environmental Programs of LDAF. The 
licensee must make a copy of these records available to any 
employee of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry for inspection at a reasonable time during normal 
working hours. 

1. Records for Licensee(s) applications of pesticides 
for wood destroying insects shall contain the following 
information: 

a. place of business name, address, and number;  
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
e. product\brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted\general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. target pest; 
j. type of application (pre-treat, post, spot);  
k. size of area treated (square feet or linear feet);  
l. mixture concentration; 
m. total amount of emulsion applied;  
n. applicator and certification number. 

2. Record keeping for licensee(s) in the general pest 
and commercial vertebrate phases shall contain the 
following information: 

a. place of business name address, and number;  
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
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e. product/brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted/general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. pest treated/type of application; 
j. mixture concentration (percent);  
k. applicator and certification number. 

3. Records for licensee(s) in the fumigation phase 
shall contain the following information: 

a. place of business name, address, and number;  
b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. location of application; 
e. product/brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted/general use pesticide;  
h. application date and time; 
i. pest treated; 
j. type of application (ship, structure, commodity);  
k. size of area treated (cubic feet);  
l. rate applied; 
m. total amount of product applied; 
n. applicator, certification number. 

4. Records for licensee(s) using Bait and Baiting 
Systems shall contain the following information: 

a. place of business name, address, and phone 
number; 

b. licensee name, address, and certification number; 
c. customer name and address; 
d. physical address of contracted structure; 
e. product\brand name; 
f. EPA registration number; 
g. restricted\general use pesticide;  
h. linear feet of perimeter of the treated structure(s): 
i. date each monitoring stations installed or 

inspected; 
j. date each ground bait station installed, inspected 

or replaced; 
k. date each above ground bait station installed, 

inspected or replaced; 
l. number of monitoring, ground and above ground 

bait stations inspected during each inspection; 
m. name and certification\registration number of 

person inspecting; 
n. inspection diagram.   

J. The licensee must renew each category in which he is 
licensed annually by June 30. 

K. The annual fee for licensed pest control operators 
shall be $5 for each category in which the pest control 
operator is licensed. 

L. The licensee must report to the Louisiana Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry all termite contracts, termite 
perimeter applications and wood destroying insect reports 
completed each month on the form provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The 
reports listed above are due in Division of Pesticides and 
Environmental Programs office in Baton Rouge on or before 
the tenth of the month following the contract or application. 

M. The fee per termite contract and wood-destroying 
insect report is $5 per and/or inspection report issued and is 
due on or before the tenth day of each month. 

N. The licensee must have provisions for spill control 
including materials and tools on every vehicle transporting 
pesticides. 

O. Signage of Vehicles 
1. General. A motor vehicle being operated by a place 

of business that is engaged in the transport or application of 
pesticides must be marked as specified below: 

a. magnetic or removable signs may be used; 
b. size, shape, location and color of marking. The 

marking must contain the following: 
 i. appear on both sides of the vehicle; 
 ii. be in letters that contrast sharply in color with 
the background; 
 iii. be readily legible during daylight hours; 
 iv. lettering must be a minimum of two inches in 
height; 
 v. be kept and maintained in a manner that retains 
the legibility of the information required by §117.O.1.c; 

c. nature of marking. The marking must display the 
following information:  
 i. the name or trade name of the place of business 
operating the vehicle. 

P. The only phone numbers that shall be used in any 
advertisement shall be the place of business permit phone 
number or the licensee's home phone number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:323 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:954 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 29: 
§141. Minimum Specifications for Termite Control 

Work 
A. - I. … 
J. Requirements for Baits and Baiting Systems  

1. Any licensee or any person working under the 
supervision of a licensee, who applies baits and/or baiting 
systems, shall be certified in the use of the baits and baiting 
systems, by the manufacturer of the product, prior to any 
application of the bait or baiting system. Manufacturer 
certification and training programs shall have approval of 
the agenda prior to the program by the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. Manufacturer shall 
notify LDAF in writing of the licensees and technicians 
certified. 

2. All baits and baiting systems applications shall be 
contracted and reported according to R.S. 3:3370 and  
LAC 7:XXV.119.D and pay the fee as described in  
LAC 7:XXV.119.E. 

3. Bait and baiting systems shall be used according to 
label and labeling. 

4. Bait and baiting systems' ground monitoring 
stations shall be used to detect the presence of subterranean 
termites in the soil.  

5. Ground bait delivery shall begin when the presence 
of subterranean termites are detected in the monitoring 
station or if the label allows. Ground bait stations may be 
used as monitoring stations and inspected as required in 
LAC 7:XXV.141.J.;  

6. Above ground bait stations may be used according 
to their label and labeling when the presence of subterranean 
termites are detected in the contracted structure. 
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7. Ground monitoring and bait stations, used as 
monitors, shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days, 
from the date of installation or last inspection. When there is 
no termite feeding on any bait or monitoring station for 90 
days from the date of installation or last inspection; monitor 
as required in LAC 7:XXV.141.J.9.  

8. When there is termite feeding on any bait and/or 
monitoring station(s) at the contracted structure; all above 
ground bait stations and ground monitoring and bait stations 
shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days from the 
date of installation or last inspection and such inspections 
shall continue until there is no termite feeding on any bait 
and\or monitoring station, in any station, at the contracted 
structure for 90 days from the date of installation or last 
inspection; When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitor as required in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.9.  

9. When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitoring shall resume at regular 
intervals, not to exceed 90 days from the date of the last 
inspection; when termites are detected again, monitoring 
and/or baiting shall follow the requirements set forth in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.8. 

10. Monitoring and ground bait stations shall surround 
the contracted structure and shall not be more than 20 feet 
apart, where soil is available unless the label requires 
stations closer and\or does not allow for "where soil is 
available." 

11. Monitoring and ground bait stations, where soil is 
available, shall be no further than 20 feet from the slab or 
pier's outside perimeter except for non-structural wood 
elements including but not limited to trees, stumps, wood 
piles, landscape timbers and detached fences.  

12. Records of contracts, graphs, monitoring, and bait 
applications shall be kept according to LAC 7:XXV.117.I. 

13. A consumer information sheet, supplied by the 
manufacturer and approved by the commission, shall be 
supplied to the registered pest control operator. The pest 
control operator shall, in turn, supply a copy of the consumer 
information sheet to all persons contracted. 

14. All monitoring and bait stations shall be removed 
by the pest control operator from the contracted property 
within 30 days of the termination of the contract. In the 
event the bait and baiting system manufacturer stops the use 
by the pest control operator of their bait and baiting system; 
all monitoring and bait stations shall be removed by the pest 
control operator from the contracted property within 90 days 
of the stop use notification. 

15. The commission hereby establishes a pilot program 
for the use of bait and baiting systems and shall include but 
not be limited to the following:  

a. all baits and baiting systems products shall be 
subject to the pilot project for a period of a minimum of one 
year. The Structural Pest Control Commission shall 
reevaluate the products in the pilot program prior to the end 
of the first quarter of every calendar year;  

b. pilot project bait and baiting system products 
shall, upon approval of the commission, be listed in the 
Louisiana Register; 

c. pilot project bait and baiting system products are 
subject to all regulations in LAC 7:XXV.141.J; 

d. baits and baiting systems may be used as a 
stand-alone termite treatment only with written approval by 
LDAF; 

e. baits and baiting systems may be used as a 
supplement to traditional ground termiticide treatments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3302 and R.S. 3:3306. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:330 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:958 (November 1989), 
LR 20:644 (June 1994), LR 21:931 (September 1995), LR 23:1285 
(October 1997), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 7:XXV.117 and 141 

regarding minimum specifications for use of termite bait and 
baiting systems should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972 D or on 
family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Bobby Simoneaux, through April 25, 
2003 at 5825 Florida Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. A 
public hearing will be held on these Rules on April 25, 2003 
at 9 a.m. at the address listed above. All interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments, orally or in writing, at the hearing. No preamble 
regarding these Rules is available. 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Termite Bait and Baiting 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
 There is no anticipated implementation cost or savings to 

state or local governmental units. The Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry deems the implementation of these 
Rules and regulations necessary to provide for uniform 
minimum treatment specifications for baits and baiting 
systems. There are several different bait and baiting systems 
available for use by licensed pest control operators (PCO). 
These Rules insure that PCO install, monitor, and treat 
structures for subterranean termites to at least a minimum set of 
requirements. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on revenue to state or local 
governmental units. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated significant cost to affected persons 
or non-governmental groups. Most of the PCO's are meeting 
these requirements. The benefits of these Rules will be to 
insure that pest control operators (PCO) install, monitor and 
treat structures for subterranean termites to at least a minimum 
set of requirements. These Rules also allow the Department to 
regulate baits and baiting systems consistently and insure that 
the state's citizens are getting the services for which they are 
paying. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Skip Rhorer Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0303#079 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit Loan Program 
(LAC 19:VII.7303 and 7305) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division, 
pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
hereby gives notice of its intent to amend §§7303 and 7305 
of the Rules of the Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit 
Loan Program. The purpose of the amended Rules is to 
provide for a floor interest rate to the state of 0.5 percent. 
Currently the program has no floor and in a low interest 
environment the state would not receive earnings on the 
deposits. 

Title 19 
CORPORATIONS AND BUSINESS 

Part VII.  Economic Development Corporation 
Subpart 7.  Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit 

Loan Program 
Chapter 73. Procedures for Authorization and 

Administration 
§7303. General Provisions 

A. The Linked Deposit Program is funded to meet all 
current and anticipated application needs. The extreme 
changes in the interest rate environment in recent years have, 
on occasion, presented the Treasury with a dilemma. Interest 
earnings on Treasury deposits supporting the Linked Deposit 
Program have been so low that the rate buy down prescribed 
below would force the Treasury to accept zero or negative 
earnings on its money. To preclude such events, a floor of 
0.5 percent (0.005) is set as the lowest interest earnings 
accepted for Treasury funds on deposit under the Linked 
Deposit Program, as determined by the State Treasury. The 
buy down described, to the extent that it does not violate this 
floor, will be awarded on approval of an application. 

B. Priority for application approval and funding shall be 
given as follows: 

1. an eligible Louisiana business located in a very 
high unemployment area which creates one or more jobs 
shall receive a maximum of a four percent interest rate buy 
down; 

2. an eligible Louisiana business located in a high 
employment area which creates three or more jobs shall 
receive a three percent interest rate buy down (less than 
three jobs shall receive two percent);  

3. an eligible Louisiana certified disadvantaged 
business, disabled owned business, or research recipient of a 
Small Business Innovative Research Grant, which creates 
one or more jobs shall receive a maximum of a three percent 
interest rate buy down; 

4. an eligible Louisiana business, in a low 
unemployment area that creates four or more jobs shall 
receive a maximum of a two percent interest rate buy down; 

5. an eligible Louisiana business in a low 
unemployment area creating one to four jobs shall receive a 
maximum of a one percent interest rate buy down. 

C. At no time shall the total amount of the dollars in the 
linked deposits in low unemployment areas exceed 33 
percent of the total available for linked deposits, unless 
otherwise specified by the treasurer.  

D. Applications which provide a "but for" statement 
shall be eligible for a five year term on the linked deposit. 
All other applications are eligible for two year terms only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
25:412 (March 1999), amended by Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Business 
Resources Division, LR 29: 
§7305. Linked Deposit Loan Program Authorization 

Lending Institution Requirements; Applicants 
Requirements and Conditions for Approval 

A. - K. ... 
L. Upon placement of a linked deposit with an eligible 

lending institution, the institution shall lend such funds to 
the approved eligible small business listed in the linked 
deposit loan package. Each loan shall be at a fixed or 
variable rate of interest for a period of one year, coinciding 
with the annual maturity of the linked Treasury funds, and 
shall be the allowed percentage below the current 
competitive borrowing rate applicable to each eligible small 
business. At each annual maturity, the lender shall adjust the 
loan rate for the next year to the then competitive rate for 
that business, considering the usual concerns for loan 
payment performance and overall risk. All records and 
documents pertaining to the linked deposit program shall be 
segregated by each lending institution for ease of 
identification and examination. A certification of compliance 
with this Section in the form and manner prescribed by the 
Treasurer shall be completed by the lending institution and 
filed with the treasurer and the corporation. 

M. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LA 

R.S. 51:2312. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 379 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
25:412 (March 1999), amended by Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, Business 
Resources Division, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to Rules 19:VII. Chapter 73 

regarding the Louisiana Small Business Linked Deposit 
Loan Program should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on 
family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Daryl Manning through the close of 
business on April 21, 2003, at Post Office Box 94185, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9185, 1051 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, Louisiana 70802. or by email to 
manning@lded.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Small Business Linked 

Deposit Loan Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state or 
local governmental units associated with these changes to the 
Rules, other than those one-time costs directly associated with 
the publication of these Rules. These changes will not increase 
the workload for agency personnel. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units associated with this proposed Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This action will lift the moratorium on the program and will 
benefit businesses borrowing funds through commercial loans 
resulting in job creation 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competing businesses.  The 
program requires an increase in employment to be eligible. 

 
Mike Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Resource Services Director General Government Section Director 
0303#084 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Workforce Development and Training Program 
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 3) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division, 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, pursuant to 
the authority of R.S. 51:2312 and R.S. 51:2331 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to amend the 
Rules for the Workforce Development and Training 
Program. The Rules are being amended to recognize the 
state's commitment to Cluster Based Economic 
Development; to recognize statutory changes made by Acts 
2001, No.9; to eliminate the use of Sponsoring Entities in 
the Workforce Program; to provide that LEDC may cancel 
funding if the project takes more than a year to get started; to 
require a business plan, with financial statements and 
projections, with the application; to provide that the benefit 
to the state should not take longer than two years to be 
realized; to eliminate the limit of $500,000 for a single grant; 
and to provide for other administrative changes. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs  
Chapter 3. Workforce Development and Training 

Program 
§301. Preamble and Purpose 

A. Workforce Development and Training is vital to 
support the state's commitment to Cluster Based Economic 
Development, and the state's long-term goals as set forth in 
Louisiana: Vision 2020, which is the master plan for 
economic development for the state of Louisiana. 

B. The purpose of the program is to enable the 
development of and provide customized workforce training 
programs to existing and prospective Louisiana businesses 
as a means of: 

1. improving the competitiveness and productivity of 
Louisiana's workforce and business community; and  

2. assisting Louisiana businesses in promoting 
employment stability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§303. Definitions 

ApplicantCthe entity or company requesting a training 
award from LED and LEDC under this program. 

AwardCfunding approved under this program for eligible 
training activities. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 380 

CompanyCthe business enterprise undertaking the 
workforce training project, and the successful applicant 
receiving or granted an award under this program. 

ContractCa legally enforceable award agreement between 
DED, the awardee and a sponsoring entity LEDC and the 
successful applicant-company governing the terms and the 
conditions of the training award. 

Full Time Permanent JobCan employed position requiring 
the employee to work a full 40-hour work week, and which 
is not a temporary position. 

LEDCthe Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

LEDCCthe Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation. 

Net Benefit Return to the StateCthe determination of 
whether or not the value to the state is equal to or exceeds 
the amount of the award to the company.  

Percentage of Achieved Performance Objectives as 
Provided in the ContractCan average of that portion 
achieved by the company of the full time permanent jobs 
created or upgraded, and that portion achieved by the 
company of the annual salary levels to be reached, as 
provided in the contract. The two portions are to be added 
together, and the total figure is then divided by two, in order 
to yield the average percentage. 

PreferenceCthe discretionary granting of an advantage or 
priority to one applicant or application over others; allows 
extra consideration to be given to one applicant or 
application over others, with regard to the availability of 
funding. 

ProgramCthe Workforce Development and Training 
Program. 

ProjectCthe workforce training endeavor that will 
enhance the qualifications and productivity of a company's 
workforce, its employees and prospective employees, for 
which LED and LEDC assistance is requested under this 
program as an incentive to influence a company's decision to 
maintain or expand its Louisiana operations, to increase its 
capital investment in Louisiana, or to locate a facility in this 
state. 

SecretaryCthe secretary of the Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development, who is, by law, also the president 
of the Louisiana Economic Development Corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January, 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:241 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§305. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Workforce Development and Training 
Program: 

1. LEDC shall serve as the single review board for 
this Workforce Development and Training Program which is 
to be administered by LED; 

2. training awards are not to be construed as an 
entitlement for companies located or locating in Louisiana;  

3. awards must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in a company's location, investment, 
expansion and/or training decisions; 

4. awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities; 

5. evaluations for the enhancement of existing 
Louisiana businesses that are adding locations within the 
state will be conducted with the same procedures and with 
the same priority as the recruitment of new businesses to the 
state; 

6. the anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered as a requirement in making the award; 

7. awards will be coordinated with the existing plans 
and programs of other government agencies whenever 
appropriate;  

8. a train-the-trainer approach will be adopted 
whenever appropriate in order to strengthen the institutional 
capacity of public and private sector training providers; and 

9. award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
training project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§307. Program Descriptions 

A. This program provides two types of training 
assistance for companies seeking prospective employees 
who possess sufficient skills to perform the jobs to be 
created by the companies. The training to be funded can 
include: 

1. pre-employment training for which prospective 
employees are identified and recruited for training with the 
knowledge that the company will hire a portion of the 
trainees; 

2. on-the-job (and/or upgrade) training for employees 
that is needed to bring the employees up to a minimum skill 
and/or productivity level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:242 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§309. Eligibility 

A. An eligible applicant is an employer that seeks 
customized training services to provide training in a 
particular industry. 

B. The following types of businesses are ineligible for 
the award of workforce development funds: Retail 
Businesses; Trucking Companies; Lodging or Hospitality 
Enterprises; Assisted Living Enterprises, Retirement 
Communities, or Nursing Homes; and Gaming or Gambling 
Enterprises. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 381 

C. Employees to be trained must be employed in 
Louisiana, except for projects locating at Stennis Space 
Center in Mississippi. Employees to be trained for projects 
at Stennis Space Center must be Louisiana residents. 

D. A company shall be considered ineligible for this 
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including 
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has 
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding 
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or 
permit, or if the company has a previous contract with the 
Department of Economic Development or LEDC in which 
the company is in default and/or is not in compliance. 

E. Companies must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:44 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§311. Criteria 

A. General (these apply to all training programs 
administered under these Rules) 

1. Preference may be given to applicants in industries 
identified by the state as targeted or cluster industries, and to 
applicants locating in areas of the state with high 
unemployment levels. 

2. Employer(s) must be in full compliance with 
Louisiana unemployment insurance laws. 

3. If a company does not begin the project within 365 
days of application approval, the LEDC, upon the 
recommendation of the secretary of LED, may cancel 
funding of the training project, or may require reapplication. 

4. The number of jobs to be retained and/or created as 
stated in the application will be adhered to and will be made 
an integral part of the contract. 

B. Pre-employment, Upgrade and On-the-Job Training 
1. Applicants must create at least 10 net new full-time 

permanent jobs in the state, unless upgrade training is 
involved. Upgrade training must be provided to a minimum 
of 10 full-time permanent employees. 

2. Participation in pre-employment training does not 
guarantee students a job upon completion of their training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§313. Application Procedure 

A. LED will provide a standard application form which 
applicants will use to apply for assistance. The application

form will contain, but not be limited to, detailed descriptions 
of the following: 

1. an overview of the company, its history, and the 
business climate in which it operates; 

2. the company's overall training plan, including a 
summary of the types and amounts of training to be provided 
and a description of how the company determined its need 
for tra ining; 

3. the specific training programs for which LED and 
LEDC assistance is requested, including descriptions of the 
methods, providers and costs of the proposed training;  

4. a fully developed business plan, with financial 
statements and projections; and 

5. any additional information LED or LEDC may 
require. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1642 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:242 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§315. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to 
LED. Submitted applications will be reviewed and evaluated 
by LED staff. Input may be required from the applicant, 
other divisions of the Department of Economic 
Development, LEDC, and other state agencies as needed, in 
order to: 

1. evaluate the importance of the proposed training to 
the economic well-being of the state and local communities; 

2. identify the availability of existing training 
programs which could be adapted to meet the employer's 
needs; 

3. verify that the business will continue to operate 
during the period of the contract; and 

4. determine if the employer's training plan is cost 
effective. 

B. An economic cost-benefit analysis tailored to the 
applicant's request shall be conducted by LED to determine 
the net benefit to the state and/or local community of the 
proposed training award. The net benefit return to the state 
shall not exceed two years. 

C. Upon determination that an application meets the 
general principles, eligibility requirements, and criteria for 
this program, LED staff will then make a recommendation to 
LEDC; and LEDC will then review and either approve or 
reject the application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:45 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
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§317. General Award Provisions 
A. Award Agreement 

1. An award agreement or contract will be executed 
between LEDC and the successful applicant-company. The 
contract will specify the performance objectives expected of 
the company and the compliance requirements to be 
enforced in exchange for state assistance, including, but not 
limited to, the time required for job training, job creation, 
and the achievement of employee salary levels to be reached 
by the company. 

2. LEDC will disburse funds to the company as 
provided by the award agreement or contract. 

3. LED will oversee the progress of the training and 
reimburse the company on the basis of cost reports certifying 
the amount expended by the company for the training of 
employees for which reimbursement is sought, submitted by 
the company on a form provided by LED. LED may request 
the company at any time and from time to time to submit 
additional or supporting information. 

4. Funds may be used for training programs extending 
up to two years in duration. 

5. Contracts issued under previous Rules may be 
amended to reflect current regulations as of the date of the 
most recent change, upon request of the company, the 
recommendation of LED, and approval of LEDC. 

B. Funding 
1. The Louisiana Workforce Development and 

Training Program offers financial assistance in the form of a 
grant for reimbursement of eligible training costs specified 
in the award agreement. 

2. Eligible training costs may include the following: 
a. instruction costs: wages for company trainers and 

training coordinators, Louisiana public and/or private school 
tuition, contracts for vendor trainers, training seminars; 

b. travel costs: travel for trainers, training 
coordinators and trainees; 

c. materials and supplies costs: training texts and 
manuals, audio/visual materials, raw materials for 
manufacturer's training purposes only and computer based 
training (CBT) software; and 

d. other costs: when necessary for training, such as 
facility and/or equipment rental. 

3. Training costs ineligible for reimbursement include: 
a. trainee wages and fringe benefits; 
b. non-consumable tangible property (e.g., 

equipment, calculators, furniture, classroom fixtures, non-
computer based training (CBT) software, unless owned by a 
public training provider; 

c. out-of-state, publicly supported schools; 
d. employee handbooks; 
e. scrap produced during training; 
f. food, refreshments; and 
g. awards. 

4. Training activities eligible for funding consist of: 
a. company-specific skills: skills which are unique 

to a company's workplace,  equipment and/or capital 
investment; 

b. quality standards skills: skills which are intended 
to increase the quality of a company's products and/or 
services and ensure compliance with accepted international 
and industrial quality standards (e.g., ISO standards); and 

c. skills pertaining to instructional methods and 
techniques used by trainers (e.g., train-the-trainer activities). 

C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 
1. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis 

following submission of required documentation to LED by 
the company. Funds will not be available for reimbursement 
until a training agreement or contract between the company 
and LEDC has been executed. Only funds spent on the 
project after LEDC's approval will be considered eligible for 
reimbursement. However, reimbursements can be provided 
to the company only after final execution of a contract with 
LEDC. 

2. Companies will be eligible for reimbursement on a 
percentage of achieved performance objectives as provided 
in the contract, until all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives have been met. After the company 
has achieved all or substantially all of its contracted 
performance objectives, any remaining unpaid portion of the 
grant award will be made available for reimbursement. 
Performance objectives shall be considered substantially 
achieved when LED and LEDC have determined that the 
benefits to the state anticipated or expected as a result of the 
training project have been achieved, even though 100 
percent of all stated objectives of the award agreement (or 
contract) may not have been fully achieved. 

D. Compliance Requirements 
1. In order to be paid or reimbursed as provided by the 

contract, companies shall be required to complete and 
submit to LED cost reports certifying the amount expended 
by the company for the training of employees for which 
reimbursement is sought, along with progress reports 
describing the company's progress toward the performance 
objectives specified in its contract with LEDC. Such 
progress reports shall include a review and certification of 
the company's hiring records (with copies of the company's 
quarterly Louisiana Department of Labor ES-4 Form filings 
to be attached), and the extent of the company's compliance 
with contract employment commitments. Further, LED shall 
oversee the timely submission of reporting requirements by 
the company. 

2. The termination of employees during the contract 
period who have received program-funded training shall be 
for documented cause only, which shall include voluntary 
termination. 

3. In the event a company fails to meet its 
performance objectives specified in its contract, LEDC shall 
retain the right to withhold award funds, modify the terms 
and conditions of the award, and/or to reclaim disbursed 
funds from the company in an amount commensurate with 
the scope of the unmet performance objectives and the 
foregone benefits to the state, as determined by LED and on 
the recommendation of the secretary. Reclamation shall not 
begin unless LED has determined, with the concurrence of 
LEDC, after an analysis of the benefits of the training 
project to the state and the unmet performance objectives, 
that the state has not satisfactorily or adequately been 
compensated for its costs through the benefits provided by 
the training project. 

4. In the event a company knowingly files a false 
statement in its application or in a progress report, the 
company may be guilty of the offense of filing false public 
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records, and may be subject to the penalty provided for in 
R.S. 14:133. 

5. LEDC shall retain the right, for itself, for the 
Legislative Auditor, for the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, and for LED, to require and/or conduct 
financial and performance audits of a project, including all 
relevant records and documents of the company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:46 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:243 (February 1999), LR 25:1666 (September 1999), 
LR 26:243 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§319. Contract Monitoring 

A. All monitoring will be done by LED. A portion of the 
fiscal year's appropriation, up to five percent or a maximum 
of $200,000, may be used by LED to fund monitoring costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR 
23:46 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1643 (December 
1997), LR 25:244 (February 1999), LR 25:1665 (September 1999), 
LR 26:244 (February 2000), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§321. Conflicts of Interest 

A. No member of Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation (LEDC), employee thereof, or employee of the 
Louisiana Department of Economic Development (LED), 
nor members of their immediate families, shall either 
directly or indirectly be a party to or be in any manner 
interested in any contract or agreement with either the 
corporation or the department for any matter, cause, or thing 
whatsoever by reason whereof any liability or indebtedness 
shall in any way be created against such corporation or 
department. If any contract or agreement shall be made in 
violation of the provisions of this Section, the same shall be 
null and void, and no action shall be maintained thereon 
against either the corporation or the department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312 and 2331, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to Rules 13:III. Chapter 3 

regarding the Workforce Development and Training Program 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of the 

children; 

6. the ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested persons should submit written comments on the 
proposed Rule amendments to Daryl Manning through the 
close of business on April 21, 2003, at P. O. Box 94185, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9185, by physical delivery to 1051 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802, or by 
email to manning@lded.state.la.us. 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Workforce Development  

and Training Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to the state or 
local governmental units associated with these changes to the 
Rules, other than those one-time costs directly associated with 
the publication of these Rules. These changes will not increase 
the workload for agency personnel. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units associated with this proposed Rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This action may benefit businesses by removing the 
$500,000 limit and the requirement that a sponsoring entity 
must be a part of the contract. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed Rule changes. 

 
Mike Williams Robert E. Hosse 
Resource Services Director General Government Section Director 
0303#085 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCBESE Test Security Policy  

and Louisiana Educational Assessment  
Program Erasure Analysis Procedures  

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 741, Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The 
BESE Test Security Policy was changed to clarify 
procedures for security of electronic test data and procedures 
for erasure analysis. Test scores from the Louisiana 
Educational Assessment Program are included in school and 
district accountability. Student level data is now available to 
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districts and schools electronically through the LDE website. 
The security of this data is critical. The erasure analysis 
procedures identify tests that have excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures indicating a testing irregularity.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education in 
LR 28:269-271 (February 2002); LR 28:272-273 (February 2002); 
LR 28:991, 993 (May 2002); LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29: 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Test Security Policy 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education holds 
the test security policy to be of utmost importance and 
deems any violation of test security to be serious. 
Test Security 

1. Tests administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education shall include, but not 
be limited to: 

a. all criterion-referenced tests (CRTs) and norm-
referenced tests (NRTs); 

b. all alternate assessments. 
2. For purposes of this policy, school districts shall 

include local education agencies; Special School Districts; 
approved special schools such as the Louisiana School for 
the Visually Impaired and Louisiana School for the Deaf, 
laboratory schools, charter schools, Louisiana School for 
Math, Science and the Arts; and participating 
nonpublic/other schools that utilize tests administered 
through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education or the Louisiana Department of Education. 

3. It shall be a violation of test security for any person 
to do any of the following: 

a. administer tests in a manner that is inconsistent 
with the administrative instructions provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) that would give 
examinees an unfair advantage or disadvantage; 

b. give examinees access to test questions prior to 
testing; 

c. examine any test item at any time (except for 
students during the test or test administrators while 
providing the accommodations "Tests Read Aloud" or 
"Communication Assistance" for students determined to be 
eligible for those accommodations);  

d. copy, reproduce, discuss or use at any time in a 
manner inconsistent with test regulations all or part of any 
secure test booklet, answer document, or supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks);  

e. coach examinees in any manner during testing or 
alter or interfere with examinees' responses in any manner;  

f. provide answers to students in any manner during 
the test, including provision of cues, clues, hints, and/or 
actual answers in any formCwritten, printed, verbal, or 
nonverbal;  

g. administer published parallel, previously 
administered, or current forms of any statewide assessment 
[e.g., Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE), LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), or Forms 
K, L, M, and all new forms of The Iowa Tests] as a practice 
test or study guide; 

h. fail to follow security regulations for distribution 
and return of secure test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), as well as overages as directed; or fail to 
account for and secure test materials before, during, or after 
testing; 

i. conduct testing in environments that differ from 
the usual classroom environment without prior written 
permission from the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments; 

j. fail to report any testing irregularities to the 
District Test Coordinator (a "testing irregularity" is any 
incident in test handling or administration that leads to a 
question regarding the security of the test or the accuracy of 
the test data), who must report such incidents to the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments; 

k. participate in, direct, aid, counsel, assist in, 
encourage, or fail to report any of the acts prohibited in the 
section. 

4. Each school district as described in this policy shall 
develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in 
compliance with the State’s test security policy. A 
"Statement of Assurance" regarding the LEA's test security 
policy must be submitted annually to the Louisiana 
Department of Education, Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments. This statement must include the name of the 
individual designated by the district superintendent or 
institution to procure test material. The policy shall provide: 

a. for the security of the test materials during 
testing, including test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), video tapes, and completed observation 
sheets; 

b. for the storage of all tests materials, except 
district and school test coordinator manuals and test 
administration manuals, in a predetermined, secure, locked 
area before, during, and after testing; all secure materials, 
including any parallel forms of a test, must be kept in locked 
storage at both the district and school levels; secure 
materials  must never be left in open areas or unattended; 

c. a description and record of professional 
development on test security, test adminis tration, and 
security procedures for individual student test data provided 
for all individuals with access to test materials or individual 
student test data ("access" to test materials by school 
personnel means any contact with or handling the materials 
but does not include reviewing tests or analyzing test items, 
which are prohibited); 
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d. a list of personnel authorized to have access to 
the locked, secure storage area; 

e. procedures for investigating any testing 
irregularities, including violations in test security, such as 
plagiarism and excessive wrong-to-right erasures identified 
through erasure analysis; 

f. procedures for the investigation of employees 
accused of irregularities or improprieties in the 
administration of standardized tests, as required by the 
amended R.S. 17:81.6;  

g. procedures for the investigation of any missing 
test booklets, answer documents, or supplementary secure 
material (e.g., writing projects, science tasks);  

h. procedures for ensuring the security of individual 
student test data in electronic and paper formats. 

5. Procedures for investigating missing secure 
materials, any testing irregularity (including cheating), and 
any employees accused of improprieties must, at a 
minimum, include the following. 

a. The district test coordinator shall initiate the 
investigation upon the district's determination of an 
irregularity or breach of security or upon notification by the 
State Department of Education. The investigation shall be 
conducted by the district test coordinator and other central 
office staff as designated by the district superintendent. 

b. The location of the predetermined, locked, secure 
area for storage of materials shall be examined, and the 
individuals with access to secure materials shall be 
identified. 

c. Interviews regarding testing administration and 
security procedures shall be conducted with the principal, 
school test coordinator(s), test administrator(s), and 
proctor(s) at the identified schools. All individuals who had 
access to the test materials at any time must be interviewed. 

d. Interviews shall be conducted with students in 
the identified classes regarding testing procedures, layout of 
the classroom, access to test materials before the test, and 
access to unauthorized materials during testing. 

e. After completion of the investigation, the district 
shall provide a report of the investigation and a written plan 
of action to the state superintendent within 30 calendar days 
of the initiation of the investigation. At a minimum, the 
report shall include the nature of the situation, the time and 
place of occurrence, and the names of the persons involved 
in or witness to the occurrence. Officials from the Louisiana 
Department of Education are authorized to conduct 
additional investigations. 

6. Test materials, including all test booklets, answer 
documents, and supplementary secure materials (e.g., 
writing prompts, science tasks) containing secure test 
questions, shall be kept secure and accounted for in 
accordance with the procedures specified in the test 
administration manuals and other communications provided 
by the Louisiana Department of Education. Secure test 
materials include test booklets, answer documents, and any 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks). Procedures described in the test manuals shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be kept in a predetermined, secure, 
locked storage area prior to and after administration of any 

test; test administrators are to be given access to the tests and 
any supplementary secure materials only on the day the test 
is to be administered, and these are to be retrieved 
immediately after testing is completed for the day and stored 
in a locked, secure location each day of testing. 

b. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be accounted for and written 
documentation kept by test administrators and proctors for 
each point at which test materials are distributed and 
returned. 

c. Any discrepancies noted in the serial numbers of 
test booklets, answer documents, and any supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks), or the 
quantity received from contractors must be reported to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments (LDE) by 
the designated institutional or school district personnel prior 
to the administration of the test. 

d. In the event that test booklets, answer documents, 
or supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) are determined to be missing while in the 
possession of the institution or school district or in the event 
of any other testing irregularities or breaches of security, the 
designated institutional or school district personnel must 
immediately notify by telephone the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments (LDE) and follow the detailed 
procedures for investigating and reporting specified in this 
policy. 

7. Only personnel trained in test security and 
administration shall be allowed to have access to or 
administer any standardized tests. 

8. Each district superintendent or institution must 
annually designate one individual in the district or institution 
as district test coordinator who is authorized to procure test 
materials that are utilized in testing programs administered 
by or through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education of the Louisiana Department of Education. The 
name of the individual designated must be provided in 
writing to the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments (LDE) and included on the "Statement of 
Assurance."  

9. Testing shall be conducted in class-sized groups. 
Bulletin 741 (2.038.01-.02) states that K-3 classroom 
enrollment should be no more that 26 students, and in grades 
4-12, no more than 33, except in certain activity types of 
classes in which the teaching approach and the material and 
equipment are appropriate for large groups. For grades K-8, 
the maximum class size for Health and Physical Education 
classes may be no more than 40. Class size for exceptional 
students is generally smaller (Bulletin 741, 2.038.05). 
Permission for testing in environments that differ from the 
usual classroom environment must be obtained in writing 
from the Louisiana Department of Education, Division of 
Standards and Assessments, at least 30 days prior to testing. 
If testing outside the usual classroom environment is 
approved by the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, the LEA must provide at least one proctor for 
every 30 students. 

10. The State Superintendent of Education may 
disallow test results that may been achieved in a manner that 
is in violation of test security. 
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11. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
establish procedures to identify: 

a. improbable achievement of test score gains in 
consecutive years; 

b. situations in which collaboration between or 
among individuals may occur during the testing process; 

c. a verification of the number of all test distributed 
and the number of tests returned; 

d. excessive wrong-to-right erasures for multiple-
choice tests; 

e. any violation to written composition or open-
ended responses that involves plagiarism;  

f. any other situation that may result in invalidation 
of test results. 

12. In cases in which test results are not accepted 
because of a breach of test security or action by the 
Louisiana Department of Education, any programmatic, 
evaluative, or graduation criteria dependent upon the data 
shall be deemed not to have been met, but individuals will 
be allowed to retake the test at the next test administration. 

13. Individuals shall adhere to all procedures specified 
in all manuals that govern mandated testing programs. 

14. Any individual knowingly engages in any activity 
during testing that results in invalidation of scores derived 
from the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), or Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE) shall forfeit the test results but will be allowed 
to retake the test at the next test administration. 

15. Anyone known to be involved in the presentation of 
forged, counterfeit, or altered identification for the purposes 
of obtaining admission to a test administration site for any 
test administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Louisiana 
Department of Education shall have breached test security. 
Any individual who knowingly causes or allows the 
presentation of forged, counterfeited, or altered identification 
for the purpose of obtaining admission to any test 
administration site must forfeit all test scores but will be 
allowed to retake the test at the nest test administration. 

16. School districts must ensure that individual student 
test data are protected from unauthorized access and 
disclosure. District Test Coordinators, principals, school test 
coordinators and other authorized users of the LEAPweb 
Reporting System and LEAPdata System must ensure the 
security of passwords, any disks or CDs with downloaded 
individual student test data, and student-level test data open 
on a computer screen. All users must sign a statement 
guaranteeing they will not share the password with 
unauthorized individuals and maintain the confidentiality of 
student data. A copy of the signed statement should be sent 
to the District Test Coordinator to be kept on file. Users who 
have access to these systems and leave their positions at a 
district or school site must not use or share the password. 
District Test Coordinators are responsible for providing 
training regarding the security and confidentiality of 
individual student test data (in paper and electronic format) 
and of aggregated data of fewer than ten students. 

17. Louisiana Department of Education staff will 
conduct site visits during testing to observe test 
administration procedures and to ensure that appropriate test 
security procedures are being followed. Schools with prior 

violations of test security or other testing irregularities will 
be identified for visits. Other schools will be randomly 
selected. 

18. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach 
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be 
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416 
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., R.S. 17:81.6 et seq., policy and 
regulations adopted by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, and any and all laws that may be 
enacted by the Louisiana Legislature. 

Louisiana Educational Assessment Program 
Erasure Analysis Procedures  

In order to investigate erasures on student answer 
documents for the multiple-choice portions of the state 
criterion-referenced and norm-referenced testing programs, 
the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and 
the State Department of Education have developed the 
following procedures. 

1. The scoring contractor will scan every answer 
document for wrong-to-right erasures, and the state average 
and standard deviation will be computed for each subject at 
each grade level. 

2. Students whose wrong-to-right erasures exceed the 
state average by more than four standard deviations will be 
identified for further investigation. For each student with 
excessive erasures, the proportion of wrong-to-right erasures 
to the total number of erasures will be considered.  

3. Based on the criteria for excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures, the scoring contractor will produce the following 
reports: 

• District/School Erasure Analysis Report (three 
copies, sorted by district). 

• Student Erasure Analysis Report for students 
identified as having excessive wrong-to-right 
erasures. This report contains student 
demographic information, an item-by-item 
analysis of wrong-to-right erasures, and a 
statement showing that the student exceeded 
the four-standard-deviation criterion. 

• The scoring contractor will maintain answer 
documents for the students exceeding the 
four-standard-deviation criterion, sorted by 
district/school. The answer documents will 
be available for review upon request. 

4. Upon receipt of the Erasure Analysis Reports, LDE 
staff will notify the State Superintendent of Education 
regarding which schools have been identified.  

5. The correspondence from the State Superintendent 
of Education to the local superintendent will state that 
students have been identified as having excessive wrong-to-
right erasures. Based on the number of erasures found, 
scores for students exceeding the four-standard- deviation 
criterion will be voided. The individual student reports from 
the testing program will reflect the voided scores. In 
theaggregation of scores at the school, district, and state 
levels, each voided score will have the effect of a zero score. 
Included with the correspondence will be the following 
documentation: 

• District/School Erasure Analysis Report 
• Student Erasure Analysis Reports 

Copies of this correspondence will be provided to the 
Deputy Superintendent of Education, the Assistant 
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Superintendent of the Office of Student and School 
Performance, the Director of the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments, and the local District Test 
Coordinator. 

6. When the correspondence is mailed, the local 
superintendent will be advised to investigate the case of the 
irregularity and provide a written plan of action to the State 
Superintendent of Education within 30 calendar days. 

7. A roster of schools will be generated where 
students have been identified with wrong-to-right erasures 
greater than three standard deviations above the state 
average, but less than or equal to four standard deviations 
above the state average of wrong-to-right erasures. These 
student scores will not be voided; however, the local 
superintendent will be advised to investigate the case of the 
irregularity and provide a written plan of action to the State 
Superintendent of Education within 30 calendar days.  

8. A summary report of erasure analysis irregularities 
will be presented to the Louisiana Educational Assessment 
Testing Commission and the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education after each LEAP test administration. 

* * * 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule effect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule effect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule effect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule effect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule effect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit comments until 4:30 p.m., 
May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for 

School AdministratorsCBESE Test Security Policy  
and Louisiana Educational Assessment  
Program Erasure Analysis Procedures 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The only implementation costs are $320 for publication in 

the Louisiana Register of the proposed BESE Test Security

Policy. This is an update of the BESE Test Security Policy 
approved in August 2001. There will not be an increase or 
reduction in workload or additional paperwork. The BESE Test 
Security Policy will be available on the LDE website. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
0303#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCFee Policy for  

Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach License  
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy specifies origin 
of fee payment for the Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach 
license. The fee for this license is to be paid by the 
requesting school district, not by the individual teacher in 
whose name the license is issued. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975); amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002); LR 28:765 (April 2002); LR  
28:990, 991 (May 2002); LR 29: 

* * * 
Types of Teaching Authorizations and Certifications 

Effective July 2002, revised December 2002 
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Non-Standard Temporary Authorizations to Teach  

Conditions 
Requirements to Renew Temporary  

Authorization to Teach and/or  
Move To Another Certification Level 

a. Individual who graduates from teacher 
preparation program but does not pass 
PRAXIS 

Teacher must prepare for the PRAXIS and take the 
necessary examinations at least twice a year. 

b. Individual who holds a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree from a regionally - 
accredited institution and who applies for 
admission to a Practitioner Teacher Program  
or other alternate program but does not  
pass the PPST or the content specialty 
examination of the PRAXIS required for 
admission to the program. 

Teacher must successfully complete a minimum of 
six credit hours per year in the subject area(s) that 
they are attempting to pass on the PRAXIS;  
candidate must reapply for admission to a  
Practitioner Teacher Program or other alternate 
program. 

Temporary Authority to Teach 
 
(A teacher may hold a one-year 
Temporary Authorization to 
Teach for a maximum of three 
years while pursuing a specific 
certification area. He/she may 
not be issued another 
Temporary Certificate at the 
end of the three years for the 
same certification unless the 
Louisiana Department of 
Education designates the 
certification area as one that 
requires extensive hours for 
completion.) 

Districts may 
recommend that 
teachers be given one-
year temporary 
authorizations to teach 
according to the 
stipulated conditions.  
Districts must provide  
a signed affidavit by the 
local superintendent that 
"there is no regularly 
certified, competent, 
and suitable person 
available for that 
position" and that the 
applicant is the best 
qualified person for the 
position. 

c. Individual who holds a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree from a regionally - 
accredited institution and who is hired  
after the start of the Practitioner Teacher 
Program 

Teacher must apply for admission to a Practitioner 
Teacher Program or other alternate program  
and pass the appropriate PRAXIS examinations 
required for admission to the program. 

Practitioner Teacher 
License 

 
One-year license that can be 
held a maximum of three years, 
renewable annually.  
 

The District and the 
alternate certification 
program provider must 
identify the individual 
as a practitioner teacher 
(PL1), a non-master's 
alternate certification 
program teacher (PL2), 
or a master’s alternate 
certification program 
teacher (PL3). 
 

Teacher must be admitted to and enrolled in a 
State-approved Practitioner Teacher Program 
(PL1), Non-Master's Alternate Certification 
Program (PL2), or Master's Degree Alternate 
Certification Program (PL3), which 
necessitates meeting all program requirements 
including baccalaureate degree, stipulated 
GPA, and passing scores on the Praxis PPST 
and content area exams.  

The alternate certification teacher (PL1, PL2, and 
PL3) must remain enrolled in the respective  
program and fulfill all coursework, teaching 
assignments, and prescribed activities as  
identified by the program provider. Program 
requirements must be completed within the  
three-year maximum that the license can be held. 
 
PL2 and PL3 teachers must demonstrate progress 
toward program requirements by successfully 
completing at least 9 semester hours each year to 
remain on the PL license. 

 
Out-of-Field Authorization  

to Teach 
 

(A teacher may hold a one-year 
Out-of-Field Authorization to 
Teach, renewable annually, for 
a maximum of three years.  
 
If the teacher is actively 
pursuing certification in the 
field and LDE designates the 
certification area as one 
requiring extensive hours for 
completion, two additional 
years of annual renewal may be 
granted.) 

District submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually for 
maximum of three 
years, with fee to be 
paid by the district.  
 
Superintendent of 
employing district must 
provide a signed 
statement that certifies 
that "there is no 
regularly certified, 
competent and suitable 
person available for the 
position" and that the 
applicant is the best -
qualified person 
available for the 
position. 

a. Individual holds a Louisiana teaching 
certificate, but is teaching outside of the 
certified area. 
 

Teacher must obtain a prescription/outline of course 
work required for add-on certification in the area  
of the teaching assignment. Teacher must successfully 
complete a minimum of six credit hours per year of 
courses that lead toward certification in the area in 
which he/she is teaching; or the secondary-certified 
teacher who is teaching out -of-field may opt to take 
and pass the required PRAXIS content specialty 
examination for the specific 7-12 academic 
certification area, if the area has been declared as a 
primary or secondary teaching focus area. The  
district must support a teacher's efforts in this area. 

Temporary Employment Permit 
 

Under condition (a) the 
district submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually.  
Under condition (b) the 
Individual submits 
application to LDE; 
renewable annually.  

a. Individual meets all certification 
requirements, with the exception of passing all 
portions of the NTE examination, but scores 
within ten percent of the composite score 
required for passage of all exams. (Currently 
classified as EP) 
 

Superintendent and President of the school board to 
which the individual has applied for employment 
must submit a signed affidavit to the LDE  
stipulating that there is no other applicant who has 
met all of the certification requirements  
available for employment for a specific teaching 
position. Such permit shall be in effect for not more 
than one year, but may be renewed. Such renewal of 
the permit shall be accomplished in the same manner 
as the granting of the original permit. The granting  
of such emergency teaching permit shall not waive 
the requirement that the person successfully  
complete the exam. 
While employed on an emergency teaching permit, 
employment period does not count toward tenure.  
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  b. Individual meets all certification 
requirements, with the exception of passing 
one of the components of the PRAXIS, but has 
an aggregate score equal to or above the total 
required on all tests. (Currently classified as 
TEP) 
 

Temporary Employment Permits are issued at the 
request of individuals. All application materials 
required for issuance of a regular certificate must be 
submitted to LDE with the application for issuance of 
a TEP. An individual can be re-issued a permit three 
times only if evidence is presented that the  
required test has been retaken within one year from 
the date the permit was last issued. Beginning with 
the fifth year, additional documentation must be 
submitted by the employing district. 

Standard Teaching Certifications 
Out of State Certificate Individual submits 

application to LDE; 
valid for three years, 
non-renewable. 

a. A teacher certified in another state who 
meets all requirements for a Louisiana 
certificate, except for the PRAXIS 
examinations. 
 

Teacher must take and pass the appropriate PRAXIS 
examinations 

-or- 
Teacher provides evidence of at least four years of 
successful teaching experience in another state, 
completes one year of employment as a teacher in 
Louisiana public school systems, and secures 
recommendation of the local superintendent of  
the employing school system for continued 
employment. 

Professional Level Certificates  
(effective for all new certificates issued after July 1, 2002)  

Level 1 Professional Certificate 
(Three-year term) 

Teachers must graduate from a State-approved teacher preparation 
program (traditional or alternative path), pass PRAXIS, and be 
recommended by a university to receive a Level 1 Professional Certificate. 

-or- 
Teacher must complete a State-approved Practitioner Teacher Program, 
pass PRAXIS, and be recommended by the Practitioner Teacher Program 
provider to receive a Level 1 Professional Certificate. 

-or- 
Teacher must meet the requirements of an out -of-state certified teacher.  

A lapsed Level 1 certificate may be extended once for 
an additional three years, subject to the approval of 
the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and 
Certification or upon the presentation of six semester 
hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit 
directly related to the area of certification. However, 
if the holder of the Level 1 certificate has not been 
employed regularly as a teacher for at least one 
semester during a period of five years, his  
certificate can be reinstated for three years only  
upon the presentation of 150 hours of professional 
development. 

Level 2 Professional Certificate Teachers with a Level 1 Professional Certificate must pass the  
Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program and teach for three  
years to receive a Level 2 Professional Certificate. 

Teachers must complete 150 clock hours of 
professional development over a five-year time 
period in order to have a Level 2 Professional  
License renewed.  

Level 3 Professional Certificate Teachers with a Level 1 or Level 2 Certificate are eligible for a  
Level 3 Certificate if they complete a Masters Degree, teach for  
five years, and pass the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program. 

Teachers must complete 150 clock hours of 
professional development over a five-year time 
period in order to have a Level 3 Professional  
License renewed.  

Standard Teaching Certificates 
(issued prior to July 1, 2002) 

Type C Certificate Type C certificates will not be issued after July 1, 2002. 
Type B Certificate 
Type A Certificate 

Candidates currently holding Type A or Type B certificates will continue to hold these certificates, which are valid for life,  
provided the holder does not allow any period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue and/or the  
certificate is not revoked by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, acting in accordance with law.  

Process for Renewing Lapsed Professional Certificates 
Type C, B, and A Certificates 

Type B and Type A certificates will lapse for disuse if the holder thereof allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which he is not  
a regularly employed teacher for at least one semester (90 consecutive days). Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall be made only on evidence  
that the holder has earned six semester hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of  
Teacher Standards, Assessment, and Certification or a dean of a Louisiana college of education. The six semester credit hours of extension  
must be earned during the five-year period immediately preceding reinstatement. 
A lapsed Type C certificate may be renewed for an additional three years, subject to the approval of the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment,  
and Certification or upon the presentation of six semester hours of credit directly related to the area(s) of certification. Such credit hours  
hall be resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and  
Certification or a dean of a Louisiana college of education. However, if the holder of a Type C certificate has not been employed regularly  
as a teacher for at least one semester during a period of five years, his certificate can be reinstated for three years only upon the presentation  
of the six semester hours of credit as described previously in the paragraph. 
 

Level 2 and Level 3 Certificates 
Level 2 and Level 3 professional certificates will lapse (a) for disuse if the holder thereof allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which he  
is not a regularly employed teacher for at least one semester [90 consecutive days], or (b) if the holder fails to complete the required number of professional 
development hours during his employ. Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall be made only on evidence that the holder has earned six semester  
hours of resident, extension, or correspondence credit in courses approved by the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and Certification or a dean  
of a Louisiana college of education. The six semester credit hours of extension must be earned during the five-year period immediately preceding  
reinstatement. 
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* * * 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School PersonnelCFee Policy for 

Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach License 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy specifies origin of fee 
payment for the Out -of-Field Authorization to Teach license. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
Regardless of the payer, the fee remains the same. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This policy provides payment by school district rather than 
by the individual teacher for an Out-of-Field Authorization to 
Teach license. Individual teachers in whose name this license is 
issued would save the cost of the license, $25. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
0303#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School PersonnelCGrades 7-12 Certification  
Primary and Secondary Teaching Focus Areas  

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises 
certification titles for secondary (7-12) primary and 
secondary teaching focus areas to reflect the update of 
vocational categories to career and technical categories. This 
policy also provides an option for a single primary focus of 
social studies in secondary teacher education undergraduate 
programs, using the full 50 hours allowed for both the 
primary and the secondary teaching focus area in other 
programs. The change of vocational education categories to 
career and technical categories necessitates a revision in the 
certification titles used in Louisiana. The single teaching 
focus for social studies undergraduate programs will allow 
for the full breadth of knowledge needed, with coursework 
to be distributed across civics/government, history (world, 
American, Louisiana), economics, and geography (physical 
and cultural systems). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975); amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002); LR 28:765 (April 2002); LR 28:990, 
991 (May 2002); LR 29: 

* * * 
Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 

for Grades 7-12 Certification 
Within the new certification structure that has been 

approved by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, every secondary teacher in Louisiana must have a 
primary and a secondary focus area. The following areas are 
approved primary focus areas, to include a minimum of 31 
semester hours of credit: 

Agriculture; Business; Computer Science; 
Marketing; English; French; Spanish; Latin; 
German; Family and Consumer Sciences; 
Technology Education; Mathematics; General 
Science; Biology; Chemistry; Earth Science; 
Physics; Environmental Science; Speech; and 
Social Studies. 
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The following areas are approved secondary focus areas, 
to include a minimum of 19 semester hours of credit: 

Business; Computer Science; Marketing; English; 
French; Spanish; Latin; German; Journalism; 
Mathematics; Biology; Chemistry; Earth Science; 
Physics; Environmental Science; Speech; and 
Social Studies. 
 

Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 
for Grades 7-12 Certification 

Certification Area 
Primary 

31 
Hours  

Secondary 
19 

Hours  
Comment 

Agriculture  ?      
Business  ?  ?    
Computer Science ?  ?    
Marketing ?  ?    
English ?  ?    
Foreign Languages       

French ?  ?    
Spanish ?  ?    

Latin ?  ?    
German ?  ?    

Family & 
Consumer Sciences 

?      

Technology 
Education 

?      

Journalism   ?    
Mathematics ?  ?    
Science     If a candidate 

pursues General 
Science as a 
primary teaching 
area, then the 
specific science 
area hours (e.g., 
Biology, Chemistry, 
etc.) would also 
apply to the 
required secondary 
focus hours in that 
specific field. 

General Science ?     
Biology  ?  ?   

Chemistry ?  ?  
Earth Science ?  ?  

Physics ?  ?  
Environmental 

Science 
?  ?  

 

Speech ?  ?    
Social Studies* ?  ?    
Note: If a university determines that hours beyond the required hours are 
needed for a specific primary (31) or secondary (19) t eaching area, then 
the university may use portions of the flexible hours within the 124 total 
hours to address that need. 
*Institutions of higher education may opt to design social studies teacher 
preparation programs with only a primary teaching focus area, 
dedicating the entire 50 semester hours of content specialty preparation 
to coursework in civics/government, history (world, American, 
Louisiana), economics, and geography (physical and cultural systems). 

 
* * * 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption,

repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody  
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards  

for State Certification of School Personnel 
Grades 7-12 Certification Primary and  

Secondary Teaching Focus Areas 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy revises certification titles 
for secondary (7-12) primary and secondary teaching focus 
areas to reflect the update of vocational categories to career and 
technical categories. This policy also provides an option for a 
single primary focus of social studies in secondary teacher 
education undergraduate programs, using the full 50 hours 
allowed for both the primary and the secondary teaching focus 
area in other programs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon M onk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
0303#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCNon-Master's 

Certification-Only Alternate Program 
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises the Non-
Master's/Certification-Only Program description to include 
student teaching as an option to internship, to include 
program prescription as an option to individualized 
prescription, and to extend the implementation date for this 
program to Summer Semester 2003. This policy provides 
options to expand the possibilities for alternate certification 
candidates and for the providers who will offer approved 
programs. It also extends the implementation deadline for 
this program by one semester.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990-
991 (May 2002), LR 29: 

* * * 
Non-Masters/Certification-Only Program 

Alternative Path to Certification 
Adopted December 2002 

This program is designed to serve those candidates who 
may not elect participation in or be eligible for certification 
under either the Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification 
Program or the Master's Degree Alternate Certification 
Program. The program may also be accessible in some areas 
of the state in which the other alternate certification 
programs are not available. A college or university may offer 
this program only in those certification areas in which that 
institution has a state-approved teacher education program. 
Non-Master's/ Certification-Only Programs may offer 
certification in PK-3, 1-6, 4-8, 7-12, or Mild-Moderate 
Special Education. 
Admission to the Program 

To be admitted, individuals should: 
1. possess a baccalaureate degree from a regionally 

accredited university; 
2. have a 2.2 GPA, or higher, on undergraduate 

coursework. (An overall 2.5 GPA is required for 
certification. Those candidates with a GPA lower than 2.5 

may have to take additional courses in the program to 
achieve a 2.5 GPA.); 

3. pass the PRAXIS Pre -Professional Skills Test 
(PPST); and 

4. pass the PRAXIS content-specific subject area 
examination: 

a. Candidates for PK-3 (regular and special 
education): pass the Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014) specialty exam;  

b. Candidates for Grades 1-6 (regular and special 
education): pass the Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014) specialty exam;  

c. Candidates for Grades 4-8 (regular and special 
education): pass the Middle School Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0146) specialty exam;  

d. Candidates for Grades 7-12 (regular and special 
education): pass the content specialty examination(s) (e.g. 
English, Mathematics, etc.) on the PRAXIS in the content 
area(s) in which they intend to teach. 
Program Requirements 

This program will provide the same rigor as other 
certification routes provided by aligning with such 
empirically-based standards as National Council for the 
Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), Interstate 
New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium 
(INTASC), Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching 
(LCET), and the Louisiana Content Standards. This program 
will also emphasize collaboration between the university and 
the school districts in order to share and exchange strategies, 
techniques, and methodologies; and integrate field-based 
experiences into the curriculum. 
Program Structure 
 
1. Knowledge of Learner and the Learning Environment* 12 hours 

Grades PK-3, 1-6, 4-8, and 7-12: 
Child/adolescent development/psychology, the diverse learner, classroom 
management/organization/environment, assessment, instructional design, 
and reading/instructional strategies that are content- and level-appropriate. 

Mild/Moderate Special Education 1-12: 
Special needs of the mild/moderate exceptional child, classroom 
management, behavioral management, assessment and evaluation, methods 
and materials for mild/moderate exceptional children, vocational and 
transition services for students with disabilities.  

*All courses for regular and special education will integrate 
effective teaching components, content standards, technology, 
reading, and portfolio development. Field-based experiences will 
be embedded in each course. 

2. Methodology and Teaching 6 hours 
 Methods courses to include case studies and field experiences 
3. Internship or Student Teaching 6 hours 
 Will include methodology seminars that are participant-oriented 
4. Prescriptive Plan 
 The prescriptive plan can be pre-planned courses for individual 

programs or individualized courses for the candidate who demonstrates 
areas of need, not to exceed 9 semester hours. 

Total 24-33 hours 
 
Certification Requirements 

Colleges or universities will submit signed statements to 
the Louisiana Department of Education that indicate the 
student completing the Non-Master's/Certification-Only 
alternative certification path met the following requirements. 

1. Passed the PPST components of the PRAXIS. 
(Note: This test was required for admission.) 

2. Completed all coursework (including the 
certification program) with an overall 2.5 or higher GPA. 
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3. Passed the specialty examination (PRAXIS) for the 
area(s) of certification. 

a. Grades PK-3: Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty exam (Note: This test was required for 
admission.) 

b. Grades 1-6: Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty examination (Note: This test was 
required for admission.) 

c. Grades 4-8: Middle School Education: Content 
Knowledge specialty examination (Note: This test was 
required for admission.) 

d. Grades 7-12: Specialty content test in areas to be 
certified. (Note: This test or 31 semester hours of 
coursework specific to the content area was required for 
admission.) 

e. Mild/Moderate Special Education 1-12: Special 
Education  

4. Passed the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
examination (PRAXIS)  

a. Grades PK-3: Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 

b. Grades 1-6: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
K-6 

c. Grades 4-8: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
5-9 

d. Grades 7-12: Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 

 
Universities offering the Non-Master's/Certification-Only alternative 
certification option are required to begin implementation of the newly 
adopted paths during or before Summer 2003. 

No students should be accepted into the "old" post -baccalaureate alternate 
certification program after Spring Semester 2003.  Candidates already in the 
"old" alternative certification program would be given until August 2006 to 
complete their programs. 

 
Interested persons may submit written comments until 

4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and rights 
or parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Non-Master's Certification-Only 

Alternate Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy revises the Non-
Master's/Certification-Only Program description to include 
student teaching as an option to internship, to include program 
prescription as an option to individualized prescription, and to 
extend the implementation date for this program to Summer 
Semester 2003. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon M onk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0303#030  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School PersonnelCPolicy for Allowing the State to  
Act as a Private Provider for Alternate Certification 

(LAC 28:I:903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy sets conditions 
under which the Teacher Certification and Higher Education 
section of the Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment 
and Certification of the Louisiana Department of Education 
may act as a private provider for alternate certification of 
teacher education candidates. By providing options for 
individuals who meet the stated criteria, the state would 
provide timely solutions to problems that impede candidates' 
completion of alternate programs, thus facilitating the 
certification efforts of those candidates. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A.  Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763, 765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (Ap ril 2002), LR 28:990, 
991 (May 2002), LR 29: 

* * * 
Policy for the State to Act as a Private Provider in 

Offering Alternate Certification Opportunities 
The Teacher Certification and Higher Education section, 

Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment and 
Certification, Louisiana Department of Education, may act 
as a private alternate certification program provider in 
directing certification efforts of candidates who meet the 
following criteria: 

1. have no more than six semester hours of 
coursework remaining in an approved alternate certification 
program;  

2. have accumulated three years of successful 
experience in the area of certification, which can be used to 
waive the student teaching or internship segment of the 
program; and 

3. have experienced difficulty in completing 
requirements of the alternate program, through no fault of 
their own. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of

Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Policy for Allowing the State to Act  
as a Private Provider for Alternate Certification 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 

Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy sets conditions under which 
the Teacher Certification and Higher Education section of the 
Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment and Certification of 
the Louisiana Department of Education may act as a private 
provider for alternate certification of teacher education 
candidates. By providing options for individuals who meet the 
stated criteria, the state would provide timely solutions to 
problems that impede candidates' completion of alternate 
programs, thus facilitating the certification efforts of those 
candidates. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley  H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0303#029  
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  
Teacher Education Program Private Providers 

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel, 
referenced in LA C 28:I.903.A. This policy specifies the 
three ways that a certified teacher can add a certification 
endorsement in a declared teaching focus area for Grades  
4-8 and Grades 7-12. Add-on certification in academic areas
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identified as a teaching focus in grades 4-8 or in grades 7-12 
can be granted through either (1) earning a passing score on 
the identified Praxis content specialty area exam, or (2) 
successfully completing 31 semester hours in the specific 
academic area, or (3) earning a pure master's degree in a 
content area. Under the new certification structure, 
endorsements could be earned with 19 content hours, but 
this must be changed to reflect the 31 semester hours 
identified as an academic major by the Board of Regents. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Boar d of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975); amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002); LR 28:765 (April 2002); LR 28:990, 
991 (May 2002); LR 29: 

* * * 
Add-On Certification Policy Academic Teaching Focus 

Areas Grades 4-8 And 7 -12 
A teacher must currently hold a standard teaching 

certificate in order to add an endorsement for a certification 
area.  

Add-on certification in academic areas that have been 
identified as a teaching focus in grades 4-8 or in grades 7-12 
can be granted through either (1) earning a passing score on 
the identified content specialty area exam of the PRAXIS, or 
(2) successfully completing 31 semester hours in the specific 
academic area, or (3) earning a pure Master's Degree in a 
content area. 

Add-on certification in academic areas through the 
PRAXIS exams would be available only in those Grades 4-8 
and Grades 7-12 academic certification areas for which a 
content specialty exam has been validated in Louisiana and 
for which a passing score has been established. 

 
Primary and Secondary Teaching (Focus) Areas 

for Grades 7-12 Certification 

Certification Area 
Primary 

31 
Hours  

Secondary 
19 

Hours  
Comment 

Agriculture - 
Vocational 

?      

Business Education  ?  ?    
Computer Science ?  ?    
Distributive 
Education 

?  ?    

English ?  ?    
Foreign Languages       

French ?  ?    
Spanish ?  ?    

Latin ?  ?    
German ?  ?    

Family & Consumer 
Sciences 

?      

Industrial Arts ?      
Journalism   ?    
Mathematics ?  ?    

Science     

General Science ?    
Biology  ?  ?  

Chemistry ?  ?  
Earth Science ?  ?  

Physics ?  ?  
Environmental 

Science 
?  ?  

If a candidate 
pursues General 
Science as a 
primary teaching 
area, then the 
specific science 
area hours  
(e.g., Biology, 
Chemistry, etc.) 
would also apply to 
the required 
secondary focus 
hours in that 
specific field. 

Speech ?  ?    
Social Studies ?  ?    
Note: If a university determines that hours beyond the required hours are 
needed for a specific primary (31) or secondary (19) teaching area, then the 
university may use portions of the flexible hours within the 124 total hours 
to address that need. 

 
* * * 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  
Teacher Education Program Private Providers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
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The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy specifies the three ways that 
a certified teacher can add a certification endorsement in a 
declared teaching focus area for Grades 4-8 and Grades 7-12. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
0303#033 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCPolicy for  
Teacher Education Program Private Providers  

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 746, Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel , 
referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy revises the "Part 
I, Application for Certificates, Louisiana Applicants" and 
"Part II, New Certification Structure, Recommended 
Changes" sections of Bulletin 746 to include non-
institutional providers for the Practitioner Teacher Program 
and to include the State, acting as a private provider. This 
policy provides options for approved non-institutional, or 
private, providers to offer the Practitioner Teacher Program 
alternate route to certification. It also specifies that the state 
may act as a private provider under conditions approved by 
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990-
991 (May 2002), LR 29: 

* * * 

Application for Certificates 
 Louisiana Applicants 

An applicant, in order to be eligible for initial 
certification, shall do his work in teacher education 
programs approved by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education for the education of teachers. 
Therefore, institutions* engaged in the preparation of 
teachers are to provide recommendations for certification of 
their students. Other institutional* provider services shall 
include the following: 

1. initial processing of the certificate application; 
2. processing an official transcript; 
3. providing an original NTE/PRAXIS score report, if 

score has not been electronically transmitted to the State 
Department of Education by Educational Testing Service; 

4. submitting a Professional Conduct Form; and 
5. transmitting the application packet and official 

transcript to the Office of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education in the State Department of Education. 

The application shall include the following: 
1. the signature of the dean of education, or the head 

of the unit that administers the approved teacher education 
curriculum, certifying that the applicant has graduated from 
or has completed an approved curriculum in teacher 
education. For an undergraduate secondary teacher 
education program, the application for certification must 
also bear the signature of the dean or head of the unit 
offering each of the certification area subjects in an 
institution of higher education; 

2. the signature of the registrar certifying that the 
applicant has attained a scholastic standing that is acceptable 
for graduation from the institution. The transcript on which a 
certificate is based becomes the property of the state and 
must be kept in the files of the State Department of 
Education. No certificate for teaching in Louisiana may be 
issued to any person whose license has been revoked in any 
other state. 

The issuance of regular certificates authorizing the holder 
to teach in the elementary and secondary schools of 
Louisiana is based upon the completion of an approved 
teacher education program for the type of certification 
sought. One expecting to be certified as a teacher should 
attend a college or university* with an approved program. 

Colleges and universities* may recommend for 
certification only those who have completed all requirements 
of an approved teacher education program at the institution. 

*For the Practitioner Teacher alternate teacher 
certification program only, private providers approved 
by the state may offer a program leading to the 
certification of teachers.  
*The state may act as a private provider under 
conditions approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

New Certification Structure 
Recommended Changes 

Mandatory July 2002 
The universities* must recommend that teachers be issued 

Level 1 Teaching Certificates when they have met state 
certification requirements. The universities* will be held 
accountable for the success of the teachers that they 
recommend for certification. 

This would eliminate the need for the Louisiana 
Department of Education to count hours on transcripts and 
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allow the department to become more involved in providing 
support to universities* to improve the quality of teacher 
preparation programs. (Note: The Louisiana Department of  

Education would still continue to review transcripts and 
issue certificates to out-of-state teachers.) 

This change in the certification structure will allow 
teachers to develop more content knowledge in the grade 
levels in which they are expected to teach and provide them 
with more flexible hours to add special education and other 
grade levels to their certification areas. This would allow 
new teachers to be certified in one or two areas when 
completing a 124-credit-hour undergraduate degree program. 

All new teachers will be required to receive mentoring 
during the first year of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program. New teachers will undergo the 
assessment during the second year.  

All teachers will be required to pass teacher assessment 
and teach for a total of three years before being issued a 
Level 2 teaching certificate. 

All teachers holding Level 2 and Level 3 certificates will 
be required to undergo a predetermined amount of 
professional development during a five-year time period in 
order to have their teaching certificates renewed for five 
years. The Blue Ribbon Commission on Teacher Quality will 
develop the details for the professional development system 
during the 2000-2002 school years. 

*For the Practitioner Teacher alternate teacher 
certification program only, private providers 
approved by the state may offer a program 
leading to the certification of teachers.  
*The state may act as a private provider under 
conditions approved by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education. 

* * * 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Policy for Teacher Education Program 

Private Providers 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. This policy revises the "Part I, 
Application for Certificates, Louisiana Applicants" and "Part II, 
New Certification Structure, Recommended Changes" sections 
of Bulletin 746 to include non-institutional providers for the 
Practitioner Teacher Program and to include the state, acting as 
a private provider. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Economic benefits would accrue to approved private 
providers of the Practitioner Teacher Program in the form of 
tuition received from participants. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0303#042  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1573CComplaint Management Procedures 
(LAC 28:LXI.Chapters 1-5) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 1573, Complaint 
Management Procedures, LAC 28:LXI, The proposed 
codification of Bulletin 1573, Complaint Management 
Procedures, R.S. 17:1941 et seq., will not change the 
regulations previously adopted by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education. The change will simply render the 
rules and regulations into code in accordance with Louisiana 
law. The proposed codification of existing Rules is required 
to have the rules and regulations incorporated into Louisiana 
Code. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXI.  Bulletin 1573–Complaint Management 
Procedures 

Chapter 1. Terms, Purpose and Mandates 
§101. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following words and 
phrases have the meaning ascribed to them in this 
Subsection unless a different meaning is plainly required by 
the context. 
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BESECthe State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. 

Bulletin 1706CRegulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities ActCLouisiana's Law for 
Children with Exceptionalities. 

Child AdvocateCan individual or group established to 
promote the interests and rights of children, especially 
children with exceptionalities. 

Child with an ExceptionalityCa child evaluated in 
accordance with state regulations who is determined to be 
gifted, talented, emotionally disturbed, learning disabled, 
hard of hearing, deaf, deaf-blind, speech impaired, severe 
language disordered, autistic, visually impaired, multi-
disabled, orthopedically disabled, traumatic brain injured, or 
other health impaired. 

ComplainantCthe individual(s) or organization that files 
a complaint with the State Department of Education on 
behalf of a child with an exceptionality. This complainant 
may be a parent, guardian, student, surrogate parent, child 
advocate or other individual or an organization. 

ComplaintCan allegation that an educational agency has 
violated a requirement of federal or state laws and 
regulations, policies, rights, procedural safeguards or 
program standards adopted by the BESE. 

DSPCDivision of Special Populations. 
Local Educational Agency (LEA)Ca public board of 

education or other public authority legally constituted within 
a state for either administrative control or direction of, or to 
perform a service function for, public elementary or 
secondary schools in a city, county, township, school district, 
or other political subdivision of a state, or for such 
combination of school districts or counties as are recognized 
in a state as an administrative agency for its public 
elementary or secondary schools including an educational 
service agency or other public institution or agency having 
administrative control and direction of a public elementary 
or secondary school, including a public charter school that is 
established as an LEA under the state law. 

State Department of Education (SDE)Cthe State 
Department of Education or other agency or officer 
primarily responsible for the state supervision of public 
elementary and secondary schools; or, if there is no such 
officer or agency, an officer or agency designated by the 
Governor or by state law [Referred to in the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (ACT) as State Educational 
Agency (SEA)]. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§103. Purpose and Mandates 

A. The purpose of the Complaint Management System is 
to meet the mandates of federal and state laws and 
regulations that require a mechanism to field, investigate and 
resolve issues regarding the provision of special education 
and related services to children with exceptionalities or those 
children suspected of having exceptionalities. 

B. Federal Mandates 
1. 20 U.S.C. Chapter 33 Subchapter 1CGeneral 

Provisions [Public Law 105-17, Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA)] 

a. Section 1412 (a) (11): "State Educational Agency 
Responsible for General Supervision." In general the state 
educational agency is responsible for ensuring that: 
 i. the requirements of this part are met; and 
 ii. all educational programs for children with 
disabilities in the state, including all such programs 
administered by any other state or local agency: 

(a). are under the general supervision of 
individuals in the state who are responsible for educational 
programs for children with disabilities; and 

(b). meet the educational standards of the State 
Educational Agency. 

b. Limitation. Subparagraph a above shall not limit 
the responsibility of agencies in the state other than the State 
Educational Agency to provide, or pay for some or all of the 
costs of, a free appropriate public education for any child 
with a disability in the state. 

c. Exception. Notwithstanding Subparagraphs a and 
b, the governor (or another individual pursuant to state law), 
consistent with state law, may assign to any public agency in 
the state the responsibility of ensuring that the requirements 
of this part are met with respect to children with disabilities 
who are convicted as adults under state law and incarcerated 
in adult prisons. 

2. Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) 
Section 1415 (b)(6). The procedures required by this Section 
shall include an opportunity to present complaints with 
respect to any matter relating to the identification, 
evaluation, or educational placement of the child, or the 
provision of a free appropriate public education (FAPE) to 
such child. 

3. 34 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 
300.660-662 

C. State Mandates 
1. The division of special populations shall have the 

following powers and duties: 
a. to receive and investigate complaints, to initiate 

its own investigations, and to conduct mediations and 
hearings with power of subpoena, on behalf of an individual 
child or group of children, regarding failure to comply with 
federal or state laws for children with exceptionalities; 

b. to investigate and conduct hearings upon 
evidence of denial of equal educational opportunities of 
children with exceptionalities as defined in this Chapter and 
to take such action as may be necessary to correct the 
situation; 

c. to investigate and conduct hearings upon 
evidence regarding failure to comply with federal or state 
laws and rules and regulations and to take such action as 
may be necessary to correct the situation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 3. General Provisions 
§301. Adoption of State Complaint Procedures 

A. Each SEA shall adopt written procedures for: 
1. resolution of any comp laint, including a complaint 

filed by an organization or individual from another state, that 
meets the requirements of 34 CFR §300.662 by: 
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a. providing for the filing of a complaint with the 
SEA; and 

b. at the SEA's discretion, providing for the filing of 
a complaint with a public agency and the right to have the 
SEA review the public agency's decision on the complaint; 
and 

2. widely disseminating to parents and other interested 
individuals, including parent training and information 
centers, protection and advocacy agencies, independent 
living centers, and other appropriate entities, the state's 
procedures under §§ 300.660-300.662. 

B. Remedies for Denial of Appropriate Services 
1. In resolving a complaint where a failure to provide 

appropriate services is found, an SEA, pursuant to its general 
supervisory authority under Part B of the Act, must address: 

a. how to remediate the denial of those services, 
including, as appropriate, the awarding of monetary 
reimbursement or other corrective action appropriate to the 
needs of the child; 

b. appropriate future provision of services for all 
children with disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§303. Minimum State Complaint Procedures 

A. Time Limit; Minimum Procedures. Each SEA shall 
include in its complaint procedures a time limit of 60 days 
after a complaint is filed under §300.660(a) to: 

1. carry out an independent on-site investigation, if 
the SEA determines that an investigation is necessary; 

2. give the complainant the opportunity to submit 
additional information, either orally or in writing about the 
allegations in the complaint; 

3. review all relevant information and make an 
independent determination as to whether the public agency 
is violating a requirement of Part B of the Act or of this Part; 
and 

4. issue a written decision to the complainant that 
addresses each allegation in the complaint and contains: 

a. findings of fact and conclusions; and 
b. the reasons for the SEA's final decision. 

B. Time Extension; Final Decision; Implementation. The 
SEA's procedures described in Subsection A of this Section 
also must: 

1. permit an extension of the time limit under 
Subclause (a) of this Section only if exceptional 
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint; 
and 

2. include procedures for effective implementation of 
the SEA's final decision, if needed, including: 

a. technical assistance activities; 
b. negotiations; and 
c. corrective actions to achieve compliance. 

C. Complaints and Due Process Hearings Filed under 
This Section.  

1. If a written complaint is received that is also the 
subject of a due process hearing under §300.507 or 
§§300.520-300.528, or contains multiple issues, of which 
one or more are part of that hearing, the state must set aside 
any part of the complaint that is being addressed in the due 
process hearing, until the conclusion of the hearing. 
However, any issue in the complaint that is not a part of the 

due process action must be resolved using the time limit and 
procedures described in Subclause (a) and (b) of this 
Section. 

2. If an issue is raised in a complaint filed under this 
section that has previously been decided in a due process 
hearing involving the same parties: 

a. the hearing decision is binding; and 
b. the SEA must inform the complainant to that 

effect. 
3. A complaint alleging a public agency's failure to 

implement a due process decision must be resolved by the 
SEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§305. Filing a Complaint 

A. Complaints may be filed by parents, students, child 
advocates, surrogate parents, other individuals or 
organizations. 

B. Complaints may be filed in writing, by telephone call 
or in person.  

C. The complaint must include: 
1. a statement that a public agency has violated a 

requirement of Part B of the Act or of this Part; 
2. the facts on which the statement is based; 
3. grievances that do not meet SDE complaint criteria 

are referred back to the complainants with recommendations 
for appropriate action to be taken. 

D. The complaint must allege a violation that occurred 
not more than one year prior to the date that the complaint is 
received in accordance with §300.660(a) unless a longer 
period is reasonable because the violation is continuing, or 
the complainant is requesting compensatory services for a 
violation that occurred not more than three years prior to the 
date the complaint is received under §300.660(a). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§307. Complaint Criteria 

A. Complaints that will be considered for review and 
investigation are grievances which: 

1. allege that a local educational agency (LEA) which 
provides or is required to provide publicly funded special 
education is violating federal and/or state laws, regulations, 
policies, rights, procedural safeguards or program standards 
adopted by the BESE and administered by the SDE to assure 
FAPE to children with exceptionalities or children suspected 
of having exceptionalities; 

2. relate to the provision of special education and 
related services to children with exceptionalities or 
suspected of having exceptionalities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
Chapter 5. Complaint Intake and Investigative 

Procedures  
§501. Filing Complaints 

A. Complaints may be filed by parents, students, child 
advocates, surrogate parents, other individuals or 
organizations. Complaints may be filed in writing, by 
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telephone call or in person. A complaint must include not 
only a statement that a local educational agency (LEA) has 
violated a requirement of federal/state law or regulation but 
also the facts upon which the statement has been based. 

B. Grievances that do not meet SDE complaint criteria 
are referred back to the complainants with recommendations 
for appropriate action to be taken. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§503. Treatment of Complaints 

A. Upon receipt, the complaint is reviewed; the issues, 
rules and statutes that may have been violated are identified; 
and the investigatory procedure is determined. An 
investigation may consist of telephone contact, requests for 
submission of written documents, and/or an on-site 
investigation. 

B. Complaints may be resolved by telephone call(s) or 
other alternative methods such as negotiation, mediation, 
conciliation, facilitation, and arbitration. 

C. The attempt to resolve a dispute through the 
complaint management procedures does not preclude a 
person's right to a due process hearing. These processes are 
mutually exclusive. Complaint procedures may not be used 
to delay a person's right to a due process hearing. 

D. All complaints must be resolved within 60 calendar 
days of receipt unless an extension is granted. Request for 
extensions may be made by the complainant, the local 
educational agency (LEA), or the SDE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§505. Complaint Intake Procedures Log (SCL) 

A. When a complaint is received and accepted by the 
SDE, the complaint is recorded in the SDE Complaint 
(SCL). 

B. A Complaint Record Form (CRF) is completed; 
contacts with the complainant are made as the investigation 
proceeds and are recorded on the complaint record form. The 
complainant has the opportunity to submit additional 
information, either orally or in writing, about the allegations 
in the complaint. This information is documented on the 
CRF with all other information pertinent to the investigation. 

C. The complainant is sent a letter within five business 
days of intake, indicating receipt of the complaint, stating 
the SDE representative handling the complaint and the intent 
to investigate and report findings within 60 calendar days. 

D. The local educational agency (LEA) is sent a letter 
within five business days of intake indicating receipt of the 
complaint, a statement of the issues involved, including the 
applicable statute and rule citation(s), the name of the SDE 
representative handling the complaint, and the timeline by 
which the LEA must respond to the complaint. 

E. The response from the local educational agency 
(LEA) should include either documentation to prove that the 
alleged violation did not take place or a plan of action to 
correct the violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

§507. Investigation Procedures 
A. Investigations may include written communication, 

telephone call(s) and/or on-site visits. During the course of 
an investigation, technical assistance consultations are 
provided, when appropriate, and the complainant is given 
the opportunity to submit additional information, either 
orally or in writing, about the allegations in the complaint. 

B. If it is determined that an on-site investigation is 
necessary, an on-site investigation will be scheduled and 
conducted with technical assistance provided as necessary. 
Notice will be provided to the school system prior to the on-
site investigation. 

C. In determining whether a complaint requires an on-
site investigation, the complaint investigator will consider, 
but not be limited to, the following conditions: 

1. whether there is a disagreement between the parties 
as to the presence or absence of a certain program, service, 
personnel or physical entity that cannot be verified by 
written documentation or telephone conversation. 

2. whether the written documentation requested and/or 
subsequent communication proves to be inconclusive in 
documenting the facts pertinent to the complaint. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§509. Report of Findings 

A. The SDE reviews all relevant information and makes 
an independent determination as to whether the local 
educational agency (LEA) has violated any federal or state 
law(s), rule(s) or standard(s). 

B. A written report of findings is sent to the local 
educational agency (LEA) and the complainant. The report 
includes a statement of the complaint, the applicable statutes 
and rules, findings of fact, conclusions, technical assistance 
activities and corrective actions to achieve compliance. 

C. If corrective action is necessary, the local educational 
agency (LEA) must submit in writing to the SDE, according 
to timelines indicated by the SDE, a plan that includes the 
specific steps, material, personnel, and timelines required to 
resolve the complaint. 

D. This corrective action plan (CAP) is approved and 
monitored by the SDE with an on-site monitoring review 
conducted when necessary. 

E. When all appropriate documentation has been 
received by the SDE, the local educational agency (LEA) is 
sent written notification of complaint closure. 

F. The complaint is closed within a 60 calendar day 
period. 

G. The SDE closes the complaint in the SDE complaint 
log and files the complaint record with all appropriate 
documentation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§511. Extension of Timelines 

A. Timelines may be extended only if exceptional 
circumstances exist with respect to a particular complaint. 
The complainant and the local educational agency (LEA) 
will be notified in writing of the need for an extension. 
Reasons for extensions may include, but are not limited to, 
circumstances such as listed below. 
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1. The local educational agency (LEA) is unable to 
submit documentation within specified timelines because of 
school closing (i.e., vacation, holidays, natural disasters, 
school strike, malfunction in the school plant, etc.). 

2. The local educational agency (LEA) or parents are 
unable to respond to the report within the specific timelines 
because of illness, death, or other extenuating circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 
§513. Enforcement Procedures 

A. Sixty calendar days after the filing of a complaint and 
the subsequent failure of the local education agency (LEA) 
to implement the corrective action plan as determined by the 
SDE, the Division of Special Populations may, barring an 
appeal of the findings by the affected LEA, recommend to 
the State Superintendent that a petition to withhold the 
LEA's funds be made to the BESE. 

B. In resolving a complaint in which it has found a 
failure to provide appropriate services, the SDE, pursuant to 
its general supervisory authority, must address: 

1. how to remediate the denial of those services, 
including as appropriate, the awarding of monetary 
reimbursement or other corrective action appropriate to the 
needs of the child; and 

2. appropriate future provision of services for all 
children with disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and rights 
of parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? This item is 
not applicable. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., May 9, 2003, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1573CComplaint  
Management Procedures 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units resulting from the proposed 
codification of existing Rules. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated impact on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of the codification of 
these existing Rules. There will be an estimated increase in 
federal special education revenue for fiscal year 2002-2003; 
however, this increase in federal special education revenue is 
not due to nor affected by the proposed codification of existing 
Rules. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed codification of existing Rules will not change 
the responsibilities of the state education agency and local 
education agencies in the provision of educational programs 
and related services to children with disabilities. The regulatory 
Rules and responsibilities, promulgated by R. S. 17:1941, The 
Children With Exceptionalities Act, will not be affected. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment resulting from the proposed codification of 
existing Rules. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent  Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0303#041  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.301, 701, 805, 1703, and 1705) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) announces its intention to amend its 
Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3026, R.S.  
3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1).  

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

* * * 
Program Year (Non-Academic Program)Cthe schedule of 

semesters or terms during a year leading to a vocational or 
technical education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree for such programs offered by eligible
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colleges and universities, beginning with the fall semester or 
term, including the winter term, if applicable, and 
concluding with the spring semester or term or the 
equivalent schedule at an institution which operates on units 
other than semesters or terms. Enrollment in a summer term, 
semester or session is not required to maintain eligibility for 
an award. 

Qualified Summer SessionCthose summer sessions for 
which the student's institution certifies that:  

1. the summer session is required in the student’s 
degree program for graduation and the student enrolled for at 
least the minimum number of hours required for the degree 
program for the session; or  

2. the student can complete his program's graduation 
requirements in the summer session; or  

3. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
required for graduation in the program in which the student 
is enrolled and is only offered during the summer session; or 

4. the course(s) taken during the summer session is in 
a program for a vocational or technical education certificate 
or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate degree. 

* * *  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (July 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 2001), LR 28:45 
(January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§701. General Provisions  
A. - E.1. ... 

2. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (college) and 
program year (non-academic program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an eligible 
college or university, for a period not to exceed eight 
semesters, including qualified summer sessions, twelve 
quarters, including qualified summer sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by LSA-R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
qualified summer session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
qualified summer session for which tuition is paid will count 
toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

3. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual 
stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each academic year (college) and each 
program year (non-academic program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an eligible 
college or university, for a period not to exceed eight 
semesters, including qualified summer sessions, twelve 
quarters, including qualified summer sessions, or an 

equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by LSA-R.S. 17:3048.1.H, or 
§503.D or §509.C. The stipend will be paid for each 
qualified summer session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
qualified summer session for which tuition is paid will count 
toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

4. - 5.a. ... 
b. In a program for a vocational or technical 

education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree receive an amount equal to the average 
award amount (TOPS-Tech), as defined in §301, plus any 
applicable stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, 
or equivalent units in each program year (non-academic 
program). The stipend will be paid for each qualified 
summer session, semester, quarter, term or equivalent unit 
for which tuition is paid. Attending a qualified summer 
session for which tuition is paid will count toward the eight 
semester limit for TOPS. 

E.6. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 25: 256 (February 1999) 
LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26: 1995, 
2000 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1848 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:2331 (November 
2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. continue to enroll and accept the TECH award as a 

full-time student in an eligible college or university defined 
in §301, and maintain an enrolled status throughout the 
program year (non-academic program), unless granted an 
exception for cause by LASFAC; and 

A.6. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998) LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:68 
(January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School 

Boards, Special School Governing 
Boards, the Louisiana Department of 
Education and LASFAC on Behalf of 
Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools 

§1703. High School's Certification of Student 
Achievement 

A. Responsibility for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), 
responsibility for the identification and certification of high 
school graduates who meet the academic qualifications for a 
TOPS award is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal’s designee for 
public high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 
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c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school;  

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an  
out-of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), responsibility for the submission and certification of 
courses attempted and the grades earned for high school 
graduates is as follows: 

a. the principal or the principal's designee for public 
high schools; 

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each 
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE); 

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an 
eligible non-Louisiana high school;  

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an out-
of-state high school is responsible only for providing the 
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those 
students who have applied for a student aid program 
administered by LASFAC. 

3. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
certify to LASFAC the names of students who are enrolled 
in and have completed all mandatory requirements through 
the twelfth grade level of a state-approved home study 
program. 

B. Procedures for Reporting and Certifying Student 
Performance 

1.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall record student 
performance on the form provided by LASFAC or in an 
electronic format pre -approved by LASFAC. The 
certification form shall be completed, certified and returned 
to LASFAC by the deadline specified on the form. 

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the responsible high school authority shall submit 
the required student information in a standard electronic 
format approved by LASFAC. 

2.a. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
certification form shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name, address, phone number and 
social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. final cumulative high school grade point 
average for all courses attempted, converted to a maximum 
4.00 scale, if applicable (Note: Beginning with students 
graduating in 2002-2003, the cumulative high school grade 
point average will be calculated by using only grades 
obtained in completing the core curriculum.); and 
 iv. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended;. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived.  

b. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), certification shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 

 i. student's name and social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. the course code for each course completed; 
 iv. the grade for each course completed; 
 v. the grading scale for each course reported; and 
 vi. through the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the academic 
year (high school) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

3. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
responsible high school authority shall certify to LASFAC 
the final cumulative high school grade point average of each 
applicant and that average shall be inclusive of grades for all 
courses attempted and shall be computed and reported on a 
maximum 4.00 grading scale. 

a. The following grading conversion shall be used 
to report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point 
average: 
 i. letter grade A = 4 quality points; 
 ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points; 
 iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points; 
 iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point. 

b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points 
for a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 
4.00 scale using the formula described in the example that 
follows. (In this examp le, the school awards one extra 
quality point for an honors course.) 
 i. Example: an applicant earned a C in an Honors 
English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 possible 
quality points that could have been awarded for the course. 
 ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 
4.00 maximum scale, the following formula must be used: 
 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00
Points)Quality  (Converted X

 = 
Course the for Possible Points Maximum

Course the for Awarded PointsQuality 

 
 

4.00
X=

5.00
3.00

 
 

By cross multiplying, 
 

2.40 = X 12; = 5X  
 

 iii. In this example, the quality points for this 
Honors English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when 
the school calculates and reports the student’s cumulative 
high school grade point average. 

4. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), LASFAC shall determine whether high school 
graduates have completed the core curriculum and compute 
the TOPS cumulative high school grade point average for 
each such graduate using a maximum 4.00 grading scale. 
Grades awarded on other than a maximum 4.00 scale shall 
be converted to a maximum 4.00 scale. 

C. Certifying 1998 graduates for the TOPS performance 
award. 1998 graduates who are ranked in the top five percent 
of their graduating class in accordance with §1703 shall be 
credited with having completed the core curriculum for 
purposes of the TOPS; however, only those meeting the 
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following criteria shall be eligible for the performance award 
by LASFAC: 

1. those students who have attained a final cumulative 
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00 
maximum scale; and 

2. an ACT score of at least 23. 
D. Certification. 

1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), the 
high school headmaster or principal or designee shall certify 
that: 

a. all data supplied on the certification form are true 
and correct, to the best of his knowledge or belief, and that 
they reflect the official records of the school for the students 
listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASFAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

c. the school under the principal's jurisdiction shall 
reimburse LASFAC for the amount of a program award 
which was disbursed on behalf of a graduate of the school, 
when it is subsequently determined by audit that the school 
incorrectly certified the graduate. 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), the submission of the required data by the high 
school headmaster or principal or designee shall constitute a 
certification that: 

a. all data reported are true and correct, to the best 
of his knowledge or belief, and that they reflect the official 
records of the school for the students listed; and 

b. records pertaining to the listed students will be 
maintained and available upon request to LASAC and the 
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until 
audited, whichever occurs first; and 

3. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if a student is determined to be eligible for a TOPS 
Award based on data that is incorrect and the student was in 
fact ineligible for a TOPS award or the level awarded, the 
high school must reimburse LASFAC for the amount paid in 
excess of what the student was eligible for.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:643 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1912 (October 1998), LR 25:258 (February 1999), 
LR 26: (September 2000), LR 26: (October 2000), LR 27:1863 
(November 2001), LR 29: 
§1705. Notification of Certified Students 

A. High schools are required to present a certificate of 
achievement during the graduation ceremony or other school 
reception to students qualifying as recipients of TOPS 
performance and honors awards. 

B. High schools are required to invite members of the 
Louisiana Legislature representing the school’s district to 
attend the ceremony or reception and to make the 
presentation awarding the endorsed certificates of 
achievement. 

C.1. Through the 2002 academic year (high school), if the 
certifying authority elects to notify students of their 
certification, then the following disclaimer shall be included

in any communication to the student: "Although you have 
been certified as academically eligible for a Tuition 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must 
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program. 

a. You must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission; and 

b. You must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana college and be registered as a full-time 
undergraduate student; and 

c. You must annually apply for federal student aid, 
if eligible for such aid, by the deadline required for 
consideration for state aid; and 

d. You must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC)." 

2. Commencing with the 2003 academic year (high 
school), if the certifying authority elects to notify students of 
their potential eligibility for an award, then the following 
disclaimer shall be included in any communication to the 
student: "Although it appears that you have satisfied the 
academic requirements for a Tuition Opportunity Program 
for Student s(TOPS) Award based on this school’s review of 
the core curriculum courses you have completed and 
calculation of your TOPS cumulative high school grade 
point average, you must satisfy all of the following 
conditions to redeem a scholarship under this program: 

a. the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC) must determine that you have in 
fact completed the TOPS core curriculum courses; 

b. LASFAC must determine that your TOPS 
cumulative high school grade point average based on the 
TOPS core curriculum meets the statutory requirements; 

c. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
LASFAC; 

d. you must be accepted for enrollment by an 
eligible Louisiana postsecondary institution and be 
registered as a full-time undergraduate student no later than 
the next semester following the first anniversary of your 
graduation from high school;  

e. you must apply for federal student aid, if eligible 
for such aid, by the deadline required for consideration for 
consideration for state; and 

f. you must have met all academic and 
nonacademic requirements and be officially notified of your 
award by LASFAC." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:644 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1913 (October 1998). Repromulgated LR 27:1864 
(November 2001), LR 29:126 (February 2003), LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed changes until 4:30 p.m., April 20, 2003, to Jack L. 
Guinn, Executive Director, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202. 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs  
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

In addition to the nominal cost of publishing in the 
Louisiana Register, the agency anticipates no costs to the 
program as a result of these changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No impact on revenue collections is anticipated to result 
from these Rule changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

These changes accommodate the technical colleges' 
transition from term enrollment periods to semesters and revise 
responsibilities of high schools regarding certification of 
student achievement and notification given by high schools to 
students who may be eligible for a TOPS award. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No impact on competition and employment is anticipated to 
result from this rule. 

 
George Badge Eldredge H. Gordon Monk 
General Counsel Staff Director 
0303#087 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust  
(START Saving) Program  

(LAC 28:VI.315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) 
announces its intention to amend Rules of the Student 
Tuition and Revenue Trust (START Savings) Program (R.S. 
3091-3099.2). 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
Subchapter A.  Student Tuition Trust Authority 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - B.6. ... 
7. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 
interest rate of 5.82 percent. 

8. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 
Earnings Enhancements Fund earned an interest rate of 5.91 
percent. 

C. - R. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23: 718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), amended LR 26:1263 

(June 2000), repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended 
LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 
28:1761 (August 2002), LR 28:2335 (November 2002), LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed changes until 4:30 p.m., April 20, 2003, to Jack L. 
Guinn, Executive Director, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202. 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Student Tuition and Revenue Trust 

(START Saving) Program  
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no implementation costs or savings to state or 
local governmental units as a result of these changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No impact on revenue collections to the Office of Student 
Financial Assistance is anticipated to result from the revision. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

These changes adopt interest rates for deposits and earnings 
enhancements for the year ending December 31, 2002, which 
have slightly declined. START account owners will earn 
slightly less than in the past years. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No impact on competition and employment is anticipated to 
result from this Rule. 

 
George Badge Eldredge H. Gordon Monk 
General Counsel Staff Director 
0303#086 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Incorporation by ReferenceC2002 
(LAC 33:I.3931; III.507, 2160, 3003,  

5116, 5122, 5311, 5901; V.Chapter 30;  
IX.2301, 2531, 2533; and XV.1517)(OS047*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Environmental Quality regulations, 
LAC 33:I.3931; III.111, 507, 2160, 3003, 5116, 5122, 5311, 
and 5901; V.Chapter 30.Appendices A-L; IX.2301, 2531, 
and 2533; and XV.1517 (Log #OS047*). 

This proposed Rule is identical to federal regulations 
found in 10 CFR 71, Appendix A, January 1, 2002; 40 CFR 
Parts 51, Appendix M, 60, 61, 63, 68, 70.6(a), 117.3, 136, 
266, Appendices I-IX and XI-XIII, 302.4, 401, and 405-471, 
July 1, 2002; and 67 FR 58997, September 19, 2002 and 67 
FR 64260 - 64268, October 17, 2002, which are applicable 
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in Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 765-0399 or Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA  
70884-2178. No fiscal or economic impact will result from 
the proposed Rule; therefore, the Rule will be promulgated 
in accordance with R.S. 49:953.F.(3) and (4). 

This proposed Rule incorporates by reference into LAC 
33:I, III, V, IX, and XV the corresponding regulations in 10 
CFR 71, Appendix A, January 1, 2002; 40 CFR Parts 51, 
Appendix M, 60, 61, 63, 68, 70.6(a), 117.3, 136, 266, 
Appendices I-IX and XI-XIII, 302.4, 401, and 405-471, July 
1, 2002; and amendments to Part 420 in 67 FR 58997, 
September 19, 2002 and Part 430 in 67 FR 64260 - 64268, 
October 17, 2002. In order for Louisiana to maintain 
equivalency with federal regulations, the most current Code 
of Federal Regulations must be adopted into the LAC. This 
rulemaking is necessary to maintain delegation, 
authorization, etc., granted to Louisiana by EPA. This 
incorporation by reference package is being proposed to 
keep Louisiana's regulations current with their federal 
counterparts. The basis and rationale for this proposed Rule 
are to mirror the federal regulations in order to maintain 
equivalency. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019.D.(2) and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 2.  Notification 

Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures 
for Unauthorized Discharges 

Subchapter E. Reportable Quantities for Notification of 
Unauthorized Discharges 

§3931. Reportable Quantity List for Pollutants 
A. … 

1. 40 CFR 117.3, July 1, 2002, Table 
117.3CReportable Quantities of Hazardous Substances 
Designated Pursuant to Section 311 of the Clean Water Act; 
and 

2. 40 CFR 302.4, July 1, 2002: 
a. Table 302.4CList of Hazardous Substances and 

Reportable Quantities; and 
b. Appendix A to §302.4CSequential CAS Registry 

Number List of CERCLA Hazardous Substances. 
B. - Note @. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2025.J, 2060.H, 2076.D, 2183.I, 2194.C, 2204.A, and 2373.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:183 (February 
1994), amended by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 
22:341 (May 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
24:1288 (July 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:2229 
(December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29: 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§507. Part 70 Operating Permits Program 

A. - B.1. … 
2. No Part 70 source may operate after the time that 

the owner or operator of such source is required to submit a 
permit application under Subsection C of this Section, unless 
an application has been submitted by the submittal deadline 
and such application provides information addressing all 
applicable sections of the application form and has been 
certified as complete in accordance with LAC 
33:III.517.B.1. No Part 70 source may operate after the 
deadline provided for supplying additional information 
requested by the permitting authority under LAC 33:III.519, 
unless such additional information has been submitted 
within the time specified by the permitting authority. Permits 
issued to the Part 70 source under this Section shall include 
the elements required by 40 CFR 70.6. The department 
hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the provisions 
of 40 CFR 70.6(a), July 1, 2002. Upon issuance of the 
permit, the Part 70 source shall be operated in compliance 
with all terms and conditions of the permit. Noncompliance 
with any federally applicable term or condition of the permit 
shall constitute a violation of the Clean Air Act and shall be 
grounds for enforcement action; for permit termination, 
revocation and reissuance, or revision; or for denial of a 
permit renewal application. 

C. - J.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011, 2023, 2024 and 2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1375 (December 
1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2447 (November 2000), 
LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 

Compounds  
Subchapter N. Method 43CCapture Efficiency  

Test Procedures 
§2160. Procedures 

A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 
the regulations at 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix M, July 1, 
2002, are hereby incorporated by reference. 

B. - C.2.b.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:653 (July 1991), amended 
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1680 (December 1997), LR 
24:1286 (July 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:1224 
(August 2001), LR 29: 
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Chapter 30. Standards of Performance for New 
Stationary Sources (NSPS) 

Subchapter A. Incorporation by Reference (IBR) 
§3003. IBR 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)  

Part 60  
A. Except as modified in this Section, Standards of 

Performance for New Stationary Sources , published in the 
Code of Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 60, July 1, 
2002, are hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to 
the state of Louisiana. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 22:1212 (December 1996), 
amended LR 23:1681 (December 1997), LR 24:1287 (July 1998), 
LR 24:2238 (December 1998), LR 25:1239 (July 1999), LR 
25:1797 (October 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1607 
(August 2000), LR 26:2460 (November 2000), LR 26:2608 
(November 2000), LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 
2002), LR 28:2179 (October 2002), LR 29: (March 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant 

Emission Control Program 
Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 61 (National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants) 

§5116. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 61 
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants) 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 
below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants, published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 
40 CFR Part 61, July 1, 2002, and specifically listed in the 
following table are hereby incorporated by reference as they 
apply to sources in the state of Louisiana. 

 
40 CFR 61 Subpart/Appendix Heading 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Subpart A – Appendix C] 

 
B.- C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997), 
amended LR 23:1658 (December 1997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998), 
LR 25:1464 (August 1999), LR 25:1797 (October 1999), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 26:2271 (October 2000), LR 27:2230 
(December 2001), LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2179 (October 
2002), LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 63 (National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 
Categories) as it Applies to Major Sources 

§5122. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63 
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Source Categories) as it Applies to 
Major Sources 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 
below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air

Pollutants for Source Categories, published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 63, July 1, 2002, are 
hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to major 
sources in the state of Louisiana.  

B. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997), 
amended LR 23:1659 (December 1997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998), 
LR 24:2240 (December 1998), LR 25:1464 (August 1999), LR 
25:1798 (October 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:690 (April 
2000), LR 26:2271 (October 2000), LR 27:2230 (December 2001), 
LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2180 (October 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 53. Area Sources of Toxic Air Pollutants 
Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 63 (National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 
Categories) as it Applies to Area Sources 

§5311. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63 
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Source Categories) as it Applies to 
Area Sources 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 
below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants for Source Categories, published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 63, July 1, 2002, and 
specifically listed in the following table are hereby 
incorporated by reference as they apply to area sources in 
the state of Louisiana. 

 
40 CFR 63 Subpart/Appendix Heading 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Subpart A – M] 

Subpart N National Emission Standards for Chromium 
Emissions From Hard and Decorative Chromium 
Electroplating and Chromium Anodizing Tanks 

Subpart O Ethylene Oxide Emissions Standards for 
Sterilization Facilities 

Subpart T National Emission Standards for Halogenated 
Solvent Cleaning 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Subpart X] 

Subpart LLL National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants From the Portland Cement Manufacturing 
Industry 

Subpart VVV National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants: Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

Subpart EEE National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants from Hazardous Waste Combustors 

 
B. - C.… 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:63 (January 1997), 
amended LR 23:1660 (December 1997), LR 24:1279 (July 1998), 
LR 25:1464 (August 1999), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
27:2230 (December 2001), LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2180 
(October 2002), LR 29: 
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Chapter 59. Chemical Accident Prevention and 
Minimization of Consequences 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5901. Incorporation by Reference of Federal 

Regulations 
A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 

the department incorporates by reference 40 CFR Part 68, 
July 1, 2002. 

B. - C.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 2063. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:421 (April 1994), amended 
LR 22:1124 (November 1996), repromulgated LR 22:1212 
(December 1996), amended LR 24:652 (April 1998), LR 25:425 
(March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:70 (January 
2000), LR 26:2272 (October 2000), LR 28:463 (March 2002), LR 
29: 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental  

Quality—Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 30. Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers  

and Industrial Furnaces 
Appendices 

Appendix A. Tier I and Tier II Feed Rate and 
Emissions Screening Limits For Metals 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix I, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference. 
Appendix B. Tier I Feed Rate Screening Limits for Total 

Chlorine 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix II, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 
Appendix C. Tier II Emission Rate Screening Limits 

for Free Chlorine and Hydrogen Chloride 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix III, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 
Appendix D. Reference Air Concentrations 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix IV, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 
incorporated thereby, references to 40 CFR 261, Appendix 
VIII and 266, Appendix V shall mean LAC 33:V.3105.Table 
1 and Appendix E of this Chapter, respectively. 
Appendix E. Risk Specific Doses (10-5) 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix V, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference. 
Appendix F.  Stack Plume Rise [Estimated Plume Rise 

(in Meters) Based on Stack Exit Flow Rate and 
Gas Temperature] 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VI, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference. 
Appendix G.  Health-Based Limits for Exclusion of 

Waste-Derived Residues 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VII, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 
incorporated thereby, 40 CFR 261, Appendix VIII, 
266.112(b)(1) and (b)(2)(i), and 268.43 shall mean LAC 
33:V.3105.Table 1, 3025.B.1 and B.2.a, and Chapter 
22.Table 2, respectively. 

Appendix H. Organic Compounds for Which Residues 
Must be Analyzed 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VIII, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference. 
Appendix I.  Methods Manual for Compliance with the 

BIF Regulations 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix IX, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except as follows. 
1. - 3. … 
4. Repealed. 

B. … 
Appendix J. Lead-Bearing Materials That May Be 

Processed in Exempt Lead Smelters 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XI, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 
Appendix K. Nickel or Chromium-Bearing Materials 

That May Be Processed in Exempt Nickel-
Chromium Recovery Furnaces 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XII, July 1, 2002, is hereby 
incorporated by reference, except that the footnote should be 
deleted. 
Appendix L. Mercury-Bearing Wastes That May Be 

Processed in Exempt Mercury Recovery Units 
A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XIII, July 1, 2002, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 
incorporated thereby, 40 CFR 261, Appendix VIII shall 
mean LAC 33:V.3105.Table 1. 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Chapter 23. The LPDES Program 
Subchapter A. Definitions and General Program 

Requirements 
§2301. General Conditions 

A - E. … 
F. All references to the Code of Federal Regulations 

(CFR) contained in this Chapter shall refer to those 
regulations published in the July 1, 2002 CFR, unless 
otherwise noted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074.B.(3) and B.(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:199 (February 1997), LR 
23:722 (June 1997), LR 25:1467 (August 1999), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:1609 (August 2000), LR 27:2231 (December 
2001), LR 28:996 (May 2002), LR 29: 
Subchapter N. Incorporation by Reference 
§2531. 40 CFR Part 136 

A. 40 CFR Part 136, July 1, 2002, Guidelines 
Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants, 
is hereby incorporated by reference in its entirety. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074.B.(3) and B.(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), LR 
25:1467 (August 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1609 
(August 2000), LR 27:2231 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 
2002), LR 29: 
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§2533. 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N 
A.  40 CFR, Chapter I, Subchapter N, Effluent 

Guidelines and Standards, Parts 401 and 405 – 471, July 1, 
2002, and amendments to Part 420 in 67 FR 58997, 
September 19, 2002 and Part 430 in 67 FR 64260-64268, 
October 17, 2002, are hereby incorporated by reference.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074.B.(3) and B.(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), LR 
25:1467 (August 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1609 
(August 2000), LR 27:2232 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 
2002), LR 29: 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 15. Transportation of Radioactive Material 
§1517. Incorporation by Reference 

A. The department incorporates by reference 10 CFR 
Part 71, Appendix A , January 1, 2002. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2104 and 2113. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1270 (June 2000), LR 
27:2233 (December 2001), LR 28:997 (May 2002), LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on April 24, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290 
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested 
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on 
the proposed amendments. Attendees should report directly 
to the hearing location for DEQ visitor registration, instead 
of to the security desk in the DEQ Headquarters building. 
Should individuals with a disability need an accommodation 
in order to participate, contact Lynn Wilbanks at the address 
given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by OS047*. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 24, 2003, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, Regulation 
Development Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA  
70884-2178 or to fax (225) 765-0389 or by e-mail to 
lynnw@deq.state.la.us. The comment period for this Rule 
ends on the same date as the public hearing. Copies of this 
proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of OS047*. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70810; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State 
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 
71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 
Evans Road, Building 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 
111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo 
Drive, Raceland, LA 70394 or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#070 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 93 
(LAC 33:III.1432)(AQ231*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.1432 (Log 
#AQ231*). 

This proposed rule is identical to federal regulations found 
in 40 CFR Part 93, Subpart A, July 1, 2002, and 67 FR 
50808-50817, August 6, 2002, which are applicable in 
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 765-0399 or Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-
2178. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
proposed rule; therefore, the rule will be promulgated in 
accordance with R.S. 49:953.F.(3) and (4). 

This proposed rule incorporates by reference into the state 
transportation conformity rule the latest edition of 40 CFR 
Part 93, dated July 1, 2002, and EPA amendments to the 
federal transportation conformity rule that were finalized 
August 6, 2002. The EPA rule amendments change two 
provisions of the transportation conformity rule that will 
provide state and local governments with additional time in 
the transportation conformity process. The changes are that 
areas designated nonattainment for the first time have a one-
year grace period following the effective date of their 
nonattainment designation before conformity applies and 
conformity is required within 18 months of EPA's finding 
that SIP motor vehicle emission budgets are adequate for use 
in the conformity process. The Rule is effective upon the 
date of promulgation. The basis and rationale for this rule 
are to mirror the federal transportation conformity 
regulations as amended through August 6, 2002. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019.D.(2) and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 14. Conformity 
Subchapter B. Conformity to State or Federal 

Implementation Plans of Transportation 
Plans, Programs, and Projects Developed, 
Funded, or Approved Under Title 23 
U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act 

§1432. Incorporation by Reference 
A. 40 CFR Part 93, Subpart A, July 1, 2002, and 

amended Sections 102-104 in the Federal Register, Volume 
67, No. 151, August 6, 2002, pages 50808 - 50817, are 
hereby incorporated by reference with the exclusion of 
Section 105. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 24:1280 (July 1998), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 
2002), LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on April 24, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290 
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested 
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on 
the proposed amendments. Attendees should report directly 
to the hearing location for DEQ visitor registration, instead 
of to the security desk in the DEQ Headquarters building. 
Should individuals with a disability need an accommodation 
in order to participate, contact Lynn Wilbanks at the address 
given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ231*. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 24, 2003, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, Regulation 
Development Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-
2178 or to fax (225) 765-0389 or by e-mail to 
lynnw@deq.state.la.us. The comment period for this rule 
ends on the same date as the public hearing. Copies of this 
proposed regulation can be purchas ed by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of AQ231.* 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70810; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State 
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 
71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 
Evans Road, Building 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 
111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo 
Drive, Raceland, LA 70394 or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#069 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Motiva Enterprises Delisting Petition 
(LAC 33:V.Chapter 49)(HW079P) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste regulations, LAC 
33:V.Chapter 49.Appendix E (Log # HW079P). 

Motiva Enterprises LLC is petitioning to exclude from the 
hazardous waste regulations (delist) residual solids resulting 

from the thermal desorption recycling of oil-bearing 
secondary materials at the Norco Oil Recovery Facility in 
Norco, Louisiana. LAC 33:V.105.M allows a hazardous 
waste generator to petition the department for this kind of 
rulemaking when a listed hazardous waste does not meet any 
of the criteria that justified the original listing. Based on 
extensive testing, the department has determined that the 
nature of this material does not warrant retaining this 
material as a hazardous waste. The basis and rationale for 
this proposed rule are to grant the delisting petition based on 
the supporting documentation submitted by Motiva 
Enterprises of Norco, Louis iana. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019.D.(2) and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality-

Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 
Appendix E. Wastes Excluded Under LAC 33:V.105.M 

 

Table E1 - Wastes Excluded 
Facility Address 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in DuPont Dow Elastomers  

LLC – Marathon Oil Co.] 
Facility Address 

Motiva Enterprises LLC Norco, LA 
Waste Description 

Residual solids, at a maximum annual generation rate of 10,000 
cubic yards per year (7,500 tons/year), are generated from the 
thermal desorption recycling of oil-bearing secondary materials 
resulting from petroleum processing operations, which are 
classified as newly generated EPA Hazardous Waste Number F037, 
petroleum refinery primary oil/water/solids separation sludge 
(effective February 8, 1999, per the updated definition promulgated 
on August 6, 1998, and the corrected definition dated June 8, 2000). 
The constituents of concern for F037 waste are listed as hexavalent 
chromium, lead, benzene, benzo(a)pyrene, and chrysene (see LAC 
33:V.4901). Motiva must implement a testing and management 
program that meets the following conditions for the exclusion to be 
valid. 
(1). Testing 
Sample collectio n and analyses, including quality control (QC) 
procedures, must be performed according to methodologies 
described in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication Number SW-846, as 
incorporated by reference in LAC 33:V.110.  
(1)(A). Inorganic Testing 
During the first 12 months of this exclusion, Motiva must collect 
and analyze a monthly composite sample of the residual solids. 
Composite samples must be composed of a minimum of two 
representative grab samples from each operating day during a 
representative week of operation. The samples must be analyzed for 
the constituents listed in condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the 
residual solids. Motiva must report to the department the unit 
operating conditions and analytical data (reported in milligrams per 
liter) for antimony, arsenic, barium, chromium, lead, mercury, 
nickel, selenium, silver, vanadium, and zinc, including quality 
control information. If the department and Motiva concur that the 
analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly testing periods 
have been significantly below the delisting levels in condition 
(3)(A), then Motiva may replace the inorganic testing required in 
condition (1)(A) with the inorganic testing required in condition 
(1)(B). Condition (1)(A) shall remain effective until this 
concurrence is reached. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 411 

(1)(B). Subsequent Inorganic Testing 
Following concurrence by the department, Motiva may substitute 
the following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(A). 
Motiva must continue to monitor operating conditions and analyze 
quarterly composite samples representative of normal operations. 
The samples must be composed of representative grab samples 
from each operating day during a representative week of operation, 
during the first month of each quarterly period. These quarterly 
representative composite samples must be analyzed for the 
constituents listed in condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the 
residual solids. If delisting levels for any inorganic constituents 
listed in condition (3)(A) are exceeded in the quarterly sample, 
Motiva must re-institute testing as required in condition (1)(A). 
Motiva may, at its discretion, analyze composite samples gathered 
more frequently to demonstrate that smaller batches of waste are 
nonhazardous. 
(1)(C). Organic Testing 
During the first 12 months of this exclusion, Motiva must collect 
and analyze two monthly grab samples of the residual solids. These 
two representative grab samples should be collected on different 
operating days during a representative week of operation. The 
samples must be analyzed for the constituents listed in condition 
(3)(B) prior to disposal of the residual solids. Motiva must report to 
the department the unit operating conditions and analytical data 
(reported in milligrams per liter) for anthracene, benzene, toluene, 
xylenes, carbon disulfide, chrysene, naphthalene, and pyrene, 
including quality control information. If the department and Motiva 
concur that the analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly 
testing periods have been significantly below the delisting levels in 
condition (3)(B), then Motiva may replace the organic testing 
required in condition (1)(C) with the organic testing required in 
condition (1)(D). Condition (1)(C) shall remain effective until this 
concurrence is reached. 
(1)(D). Subsequent Organic Testing 
Following concurrence by the department, Motiva may substitute 
the following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(C). 
Motiva must continue to monitor operating conditions and analyze 
two annual grab samples representative of normal operations. The 
samples must be representative grab samples from different 
operating days during a representative week of operation, during 
the first month of each annual period. These annual representative 
grab samples must be analyzed for the constituents listed in 
condition (3)(B) prior to disposal of the residual solids. If delisting 
levels for any organic constituents listed in condition (3)(B) are 
exceeded in the annual sample, Motiva must re-institute testing as 
required in condition (1)(C). Motiva may, at its discretion, analyze 
grab samples gathered more frequently to demonstrate that smaller 
batches of waste are nonhazardous. 
(2). Waste Holding and Handling 
Motiva must store as hazardous wastes all residual solids generated 
until each batch has completed verification testing, as specified in 
conditions (1)(A) - (1)(D), and has satisfied the delisting criteria, as 
specified in condition (3). If the levels of constituents in the 
samples of residual solids are below all of the applicable levels set 
forth in condition (3), then the residual solids thereby become 
nonhazardous solid wastes and may be managed and disposed of in 
accordance with all applicable solid waste regulations. If hazardous 
constituent levels in any monthly composite or other representative 
sample equal or exceed any of the delisting levels set in condition 
(3), the residual solids generated during the corresponding period 
must be retreated and/or stabilized as allowed below until the 
residual solids meet the delisting levels, or managed and disposed 
of in accordance with Subtitle C of RCRA. If the residual solids 
contain leachable inorganic concentrations at or above the delisting 
levels set forth in condition (3)(A), then Motiva may stabilize the 
material with Type 1 portland cement and/or hydrated lime as 
demonstrated in the petition to immobilize the metals. Following 
stabilization, Motiva must repeat analyses in condition (3)(A) prior 
to disposal. 

 

(3). Delisting Levels 
Concentrations in conditions (3)(A) and (3)(B) must be measured 
in the extract from the samples by the method specified in LAC 
33:V.4903.E. All leachable concentrations in the extract must be 
less than the following levels (all units are milligrams per liter). 
(3)(A). Inorganic Const ituents  
Antimony - 0.50; Arsenic - 0.50; Barium - 50.0; Chromium - 0.50; 
Lead - 0.50; Mercury - 0.05; Nickel - 5.0; Selenium – 1.0; Silver - 
0.5; Vanadium - 1.6; Zinc - 50.0. 
(3)(B). Organic Constituents  
Anthracene - 0.20; Benzene - 0.10; Carbon disulfide - 4.8; 
Chrysene - 0.05; Naphthalene - 0.05; Pyrene - 0.05; Toluene - 0.10; 
Xylenes - 0.10. 
(4). Changes in Operating Conditions  
If Motiva significantly changes the operating conditions specified 
in the petition, Motiva must notify the department in writing. 
Following receipt of written approval by the department, Motiva 
must re-institute the testing required in conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) 
for a minimum of four months. Motiva must report unit operating 
conditions and test data required by conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C), 
including quality control data, obtained during this period no later 
than 60 days after the changes take place. Following written 
notification by the department, Motiva may replace testing 
conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) with (1)(B) and (1)(D). Motiva must 
fulfill all other requirements in condition (1).  
(4)(A). Processing Equipment 
Motiva may elect to change thermal desorption processing 
equipment based on operational performance and economic 
considerations. In the event that Motiva changes operating 
equipment, i.e., generic thermal desorption units, Motiva must re-
institute processing and initiate testing required in conditions 
(1)(A) and (1)(C) for a minimum of four months. Motiva must 
report unit operating conditions and test data required in conditions 
(1)(A) and (1)(C), including quality control data, obtained during 
this period, no later than 60 days after the changes take place. 
Following written notification by the department, Motiva may 
replace testing conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) with (1)(B) and (1)(D). 
Motiva must fulfill all other requirements in condition (1). 
(4)(B). Batch Processing 
Motiva may periodically elect to change operating conditions to 
accommodate batch processing of single-event waste generations. 
In the event that Motiva initiates batch processing and changes the 
operating conditions established under condition (1), Motiva must 
re-institute the testing required in conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) 
during such batch processing events, monitor unit operating 
conditions, and perform testing required by conditions (1)(A) and 
(1)(C), as appropriate. Following the completion of batch 
processing operations, Motiva must return to the operating 
conditions applicable prior to initiation of the batch processing and 
may return to the testing conditions that were applicable prior to the 
initiation of the batch processing activities. 
(5). Data Submittal 
Motiva must notify the department, in writing, at least two weeks 
prior to initiating condition (1)(A). All data obtained to fulfill 
condition (1) must be submitted to the Assistant Secretary of the 
Office of Environmental Services, LDEQ, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70810, within 60 days after each sampling event. 
Records of operating conditions and analytical data from condition 
(1) must be compiled, summarized, and maintained on-site for a 
minimum of three years. These records and data must be furnished 
upon request by the department and made available for inspection. 
Failure to submit the required data within the specified tim e period 
or failure to maintain the required records on-site for the specified 
time shall be considered by the department, at its discretion, 
sufficient basis to revoke the exclusion. All data must be 
accompanied by a signed copy of the following certification 
statement to attest to the truth and accuracy of the data submitted. 
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"I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and 
am familiar with the information submitted in this demonstration 
and all attached documents, and that, based on my inquiry of those 
individuals immediately responsible for obtaining the information, 
I believe that the submitted information is true, accurate, and 
complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment. In the event that any of this information is 
determined by the department, in its sole discretion, to be false, 
inaccurate, or incomplete, and upon conveyance of this fact to the 
company, I recognize and agree that this exclusion of waste will be 
void as if it never had been in effect, or to the extent directed by the 
department, and that the company will be liable for any actions 
taken in contravention of the company’s environmental obligations 
under the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act premised upon the 
company’s reliance on the void exclusion." 
(6). Reopener Language 
If, at any time after disposal of the delisted waste, Motiva possesses 
or is otherwise made aware of any environmental data (including 
but not limited to, leachate data or groundwater monitoring data) or 
any other data relevant to the delisted waste indicating that any 
constituent identified in the delisting verification testing is at a 
level higher than the delisting level allowed by the department in 
granting the petition, Motiva must report the data, in writing, to the 
department within 10 days of first possessing or being made aware 
of that data. If the testing of the waste, as required by condition (1), 
does not meet the delisting requirements of condition (3), Motiva 
must report the data, in writing, to the department within 10 days of 
first possessing or being made aware of that data. Based on the 
information described herein and any other information received 
from any source, the department will make a preliminary 
determination as to whether the reported information requires that 
the department take action to protect human health or the 
environment. Further action may include suspending or revoking 
the exclusion, or other appropriate response necessary to protect 
human health and the environment. If the department determines 
that the reported information does require departmental action, the 
department will notify the facility, in writing, of the action believed 
necessary to protect human health and the environment. The notice 
shall include a statement of the proposed action and a statement 
providing Motiva with an opportunity to present information as to 
why the proposed action is not necessary. Motiva shall have 10 
days from the date of the department's notice to present such 
information. Following the receipt of information from Motiva, or 
if no such information is received within 10 days, the department 
will issue a final written determination describing the departmental 
actions that are necessary to protect human health or the 
environment. Any required action described in the department's 
determination shall become effective immediately, unless the 
department provides otherwise. 
(7). Notification Requirements 
Motiva must provide a one-time written notification to any state 
regulatory agency in a state to which or through which the delisted 
waste described above will be transported, at least 60 days prior to 
the commencement of such activities. Failure to provide 
notification will result in a violation of the delisting conditions and 
a possible revocation of the decision to delist. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality LR 20:1000 (September 1994), amended by 
the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:830 (September 
1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
25:2397 (December 1999), LR 26:2509 (November 2000), LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on April 24, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290  

Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Attendees should 
report directly to the hearing location for DEQ visitor 
registration, instead of to the security desk in the DEQ 
Headquarters building. Should individuals with a disability 
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Lynn 
Wilbanks at the address given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by HW079P. Such 
comments must be received no later than May 1, 2003, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, Regulation 
Development Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA  
70884-2178 or to fax (225) 765-0389 or by e-mail to 
lynnw@deq.state.la.us. Copies of this proposed regulation 
can be purchased by contacting the DEQ Records 
Management Section at (225) 765-0843. Check or money 
order is required in advance for each copy of HW079P. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70810; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State 
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 
71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 
Evans Road, Building 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 
111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo 
Drive, Raceland, LA 70394 or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Motiva Enterprises Delisting Petition 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Motiva Enterprises LLC is requesting delisting of its 

residual solids. Approving or disapproving this delisting will 
not affect state agency staffing levels. There are no costs or 
savings associated with implementation of this Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The state will collect $1,923/yr more in industrial waste 
tonnage fee revenue when the residual solids are delisted. 
Current hazardous waste disposal is at Waste Management’s 
facility in Emelle, AL. Since disposal is out of state, there is no 
state revenue currently generated. When the delisting is 
approved, the solid waste may be disposed in a local solid 
waste landfill. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Motiva Enterprises LLC will pay $1,923 per year more in 
industrial waste tonnage fees. Motiva Enterprises LLC and 
Shell Chemical (co-located at the Norco East Site) will have a 
net estimated savings of approximately $295,000 per year for 
costs related to transportation and disposal. The analytical 
laboratory employed by Motiva will eventually experience a
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decrease in income of approximately $12,500 per year. The 
delisting of these residual solids will not relieve the company 
from any liability for these wastes under federal or state law. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The economic benefits of the delisting will help ensure 
competitive pricing and, thereby, continued employment 
associated with this oil recovery operation. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0303#068 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Postponement of Permit Deadline for Oil  
and Gas Construction Activities  

(LAC 33:IX.2341)(WQ047*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Water Quality regulations, LAC 
33:IX.2341 (Log #WQ047*). 

This proposed Rule is identical to federal regulations 
found in 40 CFR 122.26, as amended in 68 FR  
11325 - 11330, March 10, 2003, which are applicable in 
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 765-0399 or Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA  
70884-2178. No fiscal or economic impact will result from 
the proposed Rule; therefore, the Rule will be promulgated 
in accordance with R.S. 49:953.F.(3) and (4). 

The proposed Rule will allow operators at construction 
sites related to oil and gas exploration, production, 
processing, or treatment operations, or transmission facilities 
that disturb equal to or greater than one acre and less than 
five acres of land to legally conduct those construction 
activities without being permitted until March 10, 2005, the 
federal permit authorization deadline for those construction 
activities. The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (LPDES) program delegation agreement with EPA 
requires consistency with the federal NPDES program. EPA 
has postponed the permit authorization deadline for NPDES 
storm water permits for oil and gas related construction 
activities in this category until March 10, 2005. The basis 
and rationale for this Rule are to mirror the federal 
regulations. 

This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019.D.(2) and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy  as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality  
Chapter 23. The LPDES Program 
Subchapter B. Permit Application and Special LPDES 

Program Requirements 
§2341. Storm Water Discharges 

A. - E.7.c. … 
8. Any storm water discharge associated with small 

construction activity identified in Subparagraph B.15.a of 
this Section, other than discharges associated with small 
construction activity at oil and gas exploration, production, 
process, and treatment operations or transmission facilities, 
requires permit authorization by March 10, 2003, unless 
designated for coverage before then. Discharges associated 
with small construction activity at such oil and gas sites 
require permit authorization by March 10, 2005. 

E.9. - G.4.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074.B.(3) and B.(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended LR 23:957 (August 1997), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 26:2273 (October 2000), LR 26:2552 
(November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:40 (January 2001), 
amended LR 28:467 (March 2002), LR 29: 

A public hearing will be held on April 24, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290 
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested 
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on 
the proposed amendments. Attendees should report directly 
to the hearing location for DEQ visitor registration, instead 
of to the security desk in the DEQ Headquarters building. 
Should individuals with a disability need an accommodation 
in order to participate, contact Lynn Wilbanks at the address 
given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by WQ047*. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 24, 2003, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Lynn Wilbanks, Regulation 
Development Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-
2178 or to fax (225) 765-0389 or by e-mail to 
lynnw@deq.state.la.us. The comment period for this rule 
ends on the same date as the public hearing. Copies of this 
proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Records Management Section at (225) 765-0843. 
Check or money order is required in advance for each copy 
of WQ047*. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70810; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State 
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 
71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 
Evans Road, Building 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 
111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 Lococo
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Drive, Raceland, LA 70394 or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#071 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

Managed Care Option (MCO)CPlan of Benefits  
(LAC 32:IX.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, OGB gives 
notice of its intent to adopt an entire new Plan of Benefits 
for the Office of Group Benefits, designating it as the 
Managed Care Option (MCO) Plan of Benefits. The MCO 
Plan of Benefits sets forth the terms and conditions pursuant 
to which eligibility and benefit determinations are made with 
regard to the self-insured health and accident benefits plan, 
designated as the MCO Plan, provided for state employees 
and their dependents pursuant to R.S. 42:851 et seq. LAC 
Title 32, Part IX, entitled "Health Maintenance 
OrganizationsCHMO" will be repealed in its entirety and 
replaced by a new Part IX, entitled "Managed Care Option 
(MCO)CPlan of Benefits," as follows. 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy . 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part IX.  Managed Care Option (MCO)CPlan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, whether in the PPO plan, the EPO plan, the MCO 
Plan, or an HMO plan. 

A. Employee Coverage 
1. Employee see §601. 
2. Husband and Wife, both Employees. No one may 

be enrolled simultaneously as an employee and as a 
dependent under the plan, nor may a dependent  be covered 
by more than one employee . If a covered spouse chooses at a 
later date to be covered separately, and is eligible for 
coverage as an employee, that person will be a covered 
employee effective the first day of the month after the 
election of separate coverage. The change in coverage will 
not increase the benefits. 

3. Effective Dates of Coverage, New Employee. 
Coverage for each employee who completes the applicable 
enrollment form and agrees to make the required payroll 
contributions to his participant employer is to be effective as 
follows. 

a. If employment begins on the first day of the 
month, coverage is effective the first day of the following 
month. 

b. If employment begins on the second day of the 
month or after, coverage is effective the first day of the 
second month following employment. 

c. Employee coverage will not become effective 
unless the employee completes an application for coverage 
within 30 days following the date of employment. An 
employee who completes an application after 30 days 
following the date of employment will be considered an 
overdue applicant. 

4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment 
a. An employee whose employment terminated 

while covered, who is re-employed within 12 months of the 
date of termination will be considered a re-enrollment, 
previous employment applicant. A re -enrollment previous 
employment applicant will be eligible for only that 
classification of coverage (employee, employee and one 
dependent, family) in force on the effective date of 
termination. 

b. If an employee acquires an additional dependent 
during the period of termination, that dependent  may be 
covered if added within 30 days of re-employment. 

6. Members of Boards and Commissions. Except as 
otherwise provided by law, members of boards or 
commissions are not eligible for participation in the plan. 
This Section does not apply to members of school boards or 
members of state boards or commissions who are defined by 
the participant employer as full time employees. 

7. Legislative Assistants. Legislative assistants are 
eligible to participate in the plan if they are declared to be 
full-time employees by the participant employer and have at 
least one year of experience or receive at least 80 percent of 
their total compensation as legislative assistants. 

8. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC)CNew employees (on 
and after July 1, 2001). 

a. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to 
all eligible employees whose employment with a participant 
employer commences on or after July 1, 2001, and to the 
dependents of such employees. 

b. The program may require that such applicants 
complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and an 
"Acknowledgement of Pre-existing Condition" form. 

c. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of employees and/or 
dependents under the plan will not be considered as covered 
medical expenses if they are in connection with a disease, 
illness, accident, or injury for which medical advice, 
diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received 
during the six months immediately prior to the enrollment 
date. The provisions of this section do not apply to 
pregnancy 

d. If the covered person was previously covered 
under a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit 
will be given for previous coverage that occurred without a 
break of 63 days or more for the duration of prior coverage 
against the initial 12-month period. Any coverage occurring 
prior to a break in coverage 63 days or more will not be 
credited against a pre-existing condition exclusion period. 
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B. Retiree Coverage 
1. Eligibility 

a. Retirees of participant employers are eligible for 
retiree coverage under this Plan. 

b. An employee retired from a participant employer 
may not be covered as an employee. 

c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 
applicants. 

2. Effective Date of Coverage. Retiree coverage will 
be effective on the first day of the month following the date 
of retirement, if the retiree and participant employer have 
agreed to make and are making the required contributions. 

C. Dependent Coverage 
1. Eligibility. A dependent  of an eligible employee or 

retiree will be eligible for dependent coverage on the later of 
the following dates: 

a. the date the employee becomes eligible;  
b. the date the retiree becomes eligible;  
c. the date the covered employee or covered retiree 

acquires a dependent. 
2. Effective Dates of Coverage 

a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage for 
dependents will be effective on the date the employee 
becomes eligible for dependent coverage. 

b. Dependents of Retirees. Coverage for dependents 
of retirees will be effective on the first day of the month 
following the date of retirement if the employee and his 
dependents were covered immediately prior to retirement. 
Coverage for dependents of retirees first becoming eligible 
for dependent coverage following the date of retirement will 
be effective on the date of marriage for new spouses, the 
date of birth for newborn children, or the date acquired  for 
other classifications of dependents, if application is made 
within 30 days of the date of eligibility.  

D. Pre-Existing Condition (PEC) Overdue Application 
1. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to all 

eligible employees who apply for coverage after 30 days 
from the date the employee became eligible for coverage and 
to all eligible dependents of employees and retirees for 
whom the application for coverage was not completed 
within 30 days from the date acquired. The provisions of 
this Section do not apply to military reservists or national 
guardsmen ordered to active duty who return to state service 
and reapply for coverage with the program within 30 days of 
the date of reemployment. Coverage will be reinstated 
effective on the date of return to state service. The effective 
date of coverage will be: 

a. the first day of the month following the date of 
receipt by the program of all required forms prior to the 
fifteenth of the month; 

b. the first day of the second month following the 
date of the receipt by the program of all required forms on or 
after the fifteenth of the month. 

2. The program will require that all overdue 
applicants complete a "Statement of Physical Condition" and 
an "Acknowledgement of Pre-existing Condition" form. 

3. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months following enrollment of employees and/or 
dependents under the plan will not be considered as covered 
medical expenses if they are in connection with a disease, 
illness, accident, or injury for which medical advice, 
diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received 

during the six months immediately prior to the enrollment 
date. The provisions of this section do not apply to 
pregnancy 

4. If the covered person was previously covered under 
a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other creditable 
coverage as defined in the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), credit will be given for 
previous coverage that occurred without a break of 63 days 
or more for the duration of prior coverage against the initial 
12-month period. Any coverage occurring prior to a break in 
coverage 63 days or more will not be credited against a pre-
existing condition exclusion period. 

E. Special EnrollmentsCHIPAA. In accordance with 
HIPAA, certain eligible persons for whom the option to 
enroll for coverage was previously declined, and who would 
be considered overdue applicants, may enroll by written 
application to the participant employer under the following 
circumstances, terms and conditions for special enrollments. 

1. Loss of Other Coverage. Special enrollment will be 
permitted for employees or dependents for whom the option 
to enroll for coverage was previously declined because the 
employees or dependents had other coverage which has 
terminated due to: 

a. loss of eligibility through separation, divorce, 
termination of employment, reduction in hours, or death of 
the plan participant; or 

b. cessation of participant employer contributions 
for the other coverage, unless the participant employer 
contributions were ceased for cause or for failure of the 
individual participant to make contributions; or  

c. the employee  or dependent having had COBRA 
continuation coverage under a group health plan and the 
COBRA continuation coverage has been exhausted, as 
provided in HIPAA. 

2. After Acquiring Dependents. Special enrollment 
will be permitted for employees or dependents for whom the 
option to enroll for coverage was previously declined when 
the employee acquires a new dependent by marriage, birth, 
adoption, or placement for adoption. 

a. A special enrollment application must be made 
within 30 days of the termination date of the prior coverage 
or the date the new dependent  is acquired. Persons eligible 
for special enrollment for which an application is made more 
than 30 days after eligibility will be considered overdue 
applicants subject to a pre-existing condition limitation. 

b. The effective date of coverage shall be: 
 i. for loss of other coverage or marriage, the first 
day of the month following the date of receipt by the 
program of all required forms for enrollment; 
 ii. for birth of a dependent, the date of birth; 
 iii. for adoption, the date of adoption or placement 
for adoption. 

c. Special enrollment applicants must complete 
acknowledgment of pre-existing condition and statement of 
physical condition forms. 

d. Medical expenses incurred during the first 12 
months that coverage for the special enrollee is in force 
under this plan will not be considered as covered medical 
expenses if they are in connection with a disease, illness, 
accident or injury for which medical advice, diagnosis, care 
or treatment was recommended or received during the 6-
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month period immediately prior to the enrollment date. The 
provisions of this Section do not apply to pregnancy. 

e. If the special enrollee was previously covered 
under a group health plan, Medicare, Medicaid or other 
creditable coverage as defined in HIPAA, the duration of the 
prior coverage will be credited against the initial 12-month 
period used by the program to exclude benefits for a pre-
existing condition if the termination under the prior coverage 
occurred within 63 days of the date of coverage under the 
plan. 

F. Retirees Special Enrollment. Retirees will not be 
eligible for special enrollment, except under the following 
conditions: 

1. retirement began on or after July 1, 1997; 
2. the retiree can document that creditable coverage 

was in force at the time of the election not to participate or 
continue participation in the plan; 

3. the retiree can demonstrate that creditable coverage 
was maintained continuously from the time of the election 
until the time of requesting special enrollment; 

4. the retiree has exhausted all COBRA and/or other 
continuation rights and has made a formal request to enroll 
within 30 days of the loss of other coverage; and 

5. the retiree has lost eligibility to maintain other 
coverage through no fault of his/her own and has no other 
creditable coverage in effect. 

G. Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Option 
1. In lieu of participating in the plan, employees and 

retirees may elect coverage under an approved HMO. 
2. New employees may elect to participate in an HMO 

during their initial period of eligibility. Each HMO will hold 
an annual enrollment period for a coverage effective date of 
July 1. Transfer of coverage from the plan to the HMO or 
vice-versa will only be allowed during this annual 
enrollment period. Transfer of coverage will also be allowed 
as a consequence of the employee being transferred into or 
out of the HMO geographic service area, with an effective 
date of the first day of the month following transfer.  

3. If a covered person has elected to transfer coverage, 
but is  hospitalized on July 1, the plan, which is providing 
coverage prior to July 1, will continue to provide coverage 
up to the date of discharge from the hospital. 

H. Medicare Risk HMO Option for Retirees. Retirees 
who are eligible to participate in a Medicare Risk HMO plan 
who cancel coverage with the program upon enrollment in a 
Medicare Risk HMO plan may re -enroll in the program 
upon withdrawal from or termination of coverage in the 
Medicare Risk HMO plan, at the earlier of the following: 

1. during the month of November, for coverage 
effective January 1; or 

2. during the next annual enrollment, for coverage 
effective at the beginning of the next plan year. 

I. Tricare for Life Option for Military Retirees. Retirees 
eligible to participate in the Tricare for Life (TFL) option on 
and after October 1, 2001 who cancel coverage with the 
program upon enrollment in TFL may re-enroll in the 
program in the event that the TFL option is discontinued or 
its benefits significantly reduced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  

§103. Continued Coverage 
A. Leave of Absence. If an employee is allowed an 

approved leave of absence by his participant employer, he 
may retain his coverage for up to one year, if the premium is 
paid. Failure to do so will result in cancellation of coverage. 
The program must be notified by the employee and the 
participant employer within 30 days of the effective date of 
the leave of absence. 

B. Disability 
1. Employees who have been granted a waiver of 

premium for basic or supplemental life insurance prior to 
July 1, 1984 may continue health coverage for the duration 
of the waiver if the employee pays the total contribution to 
the participant employer. Disability waivers were 
discontinued effective July 1, 1984. 

2. If a participant employer withdraws from the plan, 
health and life coverage for all covered persons will 
terminate as of the effective date of withdrawal. 

C. Surviving Dependents/Spouse. The provisions of this 
Section are applicable to surviving dependents who elect to 
continue coverage following the death of an employee or 
retiree. On or after July 1, 1999, eligibility ceases for a 
covered person  who becomes eligible for coverage in a 
group health  plan other than Medicare. Coverage under the 
group health plan may be subject to HIPAA. 

1. Benefits under the plan for covered dependents of a 
deceased covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurred unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage. 

a. The surviving legal spouse of an employee or 
retiree may continue coverage until the surviving spouse 
becomes eligible for coverage in a group health plan other 
than Medicare. 

b. The surviving children of an employee or retiree 
may continue coverage until they are eligible for coverage 
under a group health plan other than Medicare, or until 
attainment of the termination age for children, whichever 
occurs first. 

c. Surviving dependents/spouse will be entitled to 
receive the same participant employer premium 
contributions as employees and retirees. 

d. Coverage provided by the civilian health and 
medical program of the uniform services will not be 
sufficient to terminate the coverage of an otherwise eligible 
surviving legal spouse or a dependent child. 

2. A surviving spouse or dependent  cannot add new 
dependents to continued coverage other than a child of the 
deceased employee born after the employee's death. 

3. Participant Employer/Dependent Responsibilities 
a. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 

and surviving covered dependent  to notify the program 
within 60 days of the death of the employee or retiree.  

b. The program will notify the surviving 
dependents of their right to continue coverage. 

c. Application for continued coverage must be 
made in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification, and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date continued coverage is elected for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 
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d. Coverage for the surviving spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events occurs: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. death of the surviving spouse; 
 iii. on or after July 1, 1999, becomes eligible for 
coverage under a group health plan other than Medicare. 

e. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this Section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events:  
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. on or after July 1, 1999, becomes eligible for 
coverage under any group health plan other than Medicare; 
 iii. the attainment of the termination age for 
children. 

D. Over-Age Dependents. If an unmarried, never married 
dependent child is incapable of self-sustaining employment 
by reason of mental retardation or physical incapacity and 
became incapable prior to the termination age for children 
and is dependent upon the covered employee for support, the 
coverage for the dependent child may be continued for the 
duration of incapacity.  

1. Prior to attainment of age 21, the program must 
receive documentation for dependents who are mentally 
retarded or who have a physical incapacity. 

2. For purposes of this Section, mental illness does not 
constitute mental retardation. 

3. The program may require that the covered 
employee submit current proof from a licensed medical 
doctor of continued mental retardation or physical incapacity 
as often as it may deem necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§105. COBRA 

A. Employees 
1. Benefits under this plan for a covered employee 

will terminate on the last day of the calendar month during 
which employment is terminated voluntarily or involuntarily, 
the employee no longer meets the definition of an employee 
or coverage under a leave of absence expires unless the 
covered employee elects to continue at the employee's own 
expense. Employees terminated for gross misconduct are not 
eligible for COBRA . 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
to notify the program within 30 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated because of any of the foregoing 
events and the program will notify the employee within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of the date of notification and premium 
payment must be made within 45 days of the date the 
employee elects continued coverage, for coverage retroactive 
to the date coverage would have otherwise terminated. 
Coverage under this Section will continue until the earliest 
of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 18 months from the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 

d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 
subject to a pre-existing condition limitation.  

B. Surviving Dependents 
1. Benefits for covered surviving dependents of an 

employee or retiree will terminate on the last day of the 
month in which the employee's or retiree's death occurs, 
unless the surviving covered dependents elect to continue 
coverage at his/her own expense.  

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
or surviving covered dependents to notify the program 
within 30 days of the death of the employee or retiree. The 
program will notify the surviving dependents of their right 
to continue coverage. Application for continued coverage 
must be made in writing to the program within 60 days of 
the date of notification. Premium payment must be made 
within 45 days of the date the continued coverage was 
elected, retroactive to the date coverage would have 
terminated. 

a. Coverage for the surviving dependents under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. death of the surviving spouse; 
 iii. entitlement to Medicare; 
 iv. coverage under a group health plan, except 
when subject to a pre-existing condition limitation. 

b. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
 ii. 36 months beyond the date coverage would 
have terminated; 
 iii. entitlement to Medicare; 
 iv. coverage under a group health plan, except 
when subject to a pre-existing condition. 

C. Divorced Spouse 
1. Coverage under this plan will terminate on the last 

day of the month during which dissolution of the marriage 
occurs by virtue of a legal decree of divorce from the 
employee or retiree, unless the covered divorced spouse 
elects to continue coverage at his or her own expense. It is 
the responsibility of the divorced spouse to notify the 
program within 60 days from the date of divorce and the 
program will notify the divorced spouse within 14 days of 
his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of notification. Premium payment must be 
made within 45 days of the date continued coverage is 
elected, for coverage retroactive to the date coverage would 
have terminated.  

2. Coverage for the divorced spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
D. Dependent Children  

1. Benefits under this plan for a covered dependent 
child of a covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month during which the dependent child no 
longer meets the definition of an eligible covered dependent , 
unless the dependent  elects to continue coverage at his or her 
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own expense. It is the responsibility of the dependent to 
notify the program within 60 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated and the program will notify the 
dependent within 14 days of his or her right to continue 
coverage.  

2. Application for continued coverage must be made 
in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date the continued coverage is elected, for 
coverage retroactive to the date coverage would have 
terminated.  

3. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following:  

a. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
E. Dependents of COBRA Participants 

1. If a covered terminated employee has elected to 
continue coverage and if during the period of continued 
coverage the covered spouse or a covered dependent child 
becomes ineligible for coverage due to: 

a. death of the employee; 
b. divorce from the employee; or 
c. a dependent  child no longer meets the definition 

of an eligible covered dependent; 
2. Then, the spouse and/or dependent  child may elect 

to continue coverage at their own expense. Coverage will 
not be continued beyond 36 months from the date coverage 
would have terminated. 

F. Dependents of Non-Participating Terminated 
Employee  

1. If an employee no longer meets the definition of an 
employee, or a leave of absence has expired and the 
employee has not elected to continue coverage, the covered 
spouse and/or covered dependent children may elect to 
continue coverage at their own expense. The elected 
coverage will be subject to the notification and termination 
provisions. 

2. In the event a dependent  child, covered under the 
provisions of the preceding paragraph no longer meets the 
definition of an eligible covered dependent , he or she may 
elect to continue coverage at his or her own expense. 
Coverage cannot be continued beyond 36 months from the 
date coverage would have terminated.  

G. Miscellaneous Provisions. During the period of 
continuation, benefits will be identical to those provided to 
others enrolled in this plan under its standard eligibility 
provisions for employee and retirees. 

H. Disability COBRA 
1. If a covered employee or covered dependent is 

determined by social security or by the program staff (in the 
case of a person who is ineligible for social security 
disability due to insufficient "quarters" of employment), to 
have been totally disabled on the date the covered person 
became eligible for continued coverage or within the initial 
18 months of coverage, coverage under this plan for the 
covered person who is totally disabled may be extended at 
his or her own expense up to a maximum of 29 months from 

the date coverage would have terminated. To qualify the 
covered person  must:  

a. submit a copy of his or her social security 
disability determination to the program before the initial 18-
month continued coverage period expires and within 60 days 
after the date of issuance of the social security 
determination; or 

b. submit proof of total disability to the program 
before the initial 18-month continued coverage period 
expires. 

2. For purposes of eligibility for continued coverage 
under this Section, total disability means the inability to do 
any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of 12 months. To 
meet this definition one must have a severe impairment 
which makes one unable to do his previous work or any 
other substantial gainful activity which exists in the national 
economy, based upon a person's residual functional capacity, 
age, education and work experience. 

3. The staff and medical director of the program will 
make this determination of total disability based upon 
medical evidence, not conclusions, presented by the 
applicant's physicians, work history, and other relevant 
evidence presented by the applicant. 

4. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following:  

a. 30 days after the month in which social security 
determines that the covered person is no longer disabled. 
(The covered person  must report the determination to the 
program within 30 days after the date of issuance by social 
security); 

b. 29 months from the date coverage would have 
terminated; 

I. Medicare COBRA. If an employee becomes entitled to 
Medicare on or before the date the employee's eligibility for 
benefits under this plan terminates, the period of continued 
coverage available for the employee's covered dependents 
will be the earliest of the following: 

1. failure to pay the applicable premium;  
2. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

terminated; 
3. entitlement to Medicare; 
4. coverage under a group health plan , except when 

subject to a pre-existing condition. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§107. Change of Classification 

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. The plan member 
must notify the program whenever a dependent is added to, 
or deleted from, the plan member's coverage, regardless of 
whether the addition or deletion would result in a change in 
the class of coverage. Notice must be provided within 30 
days of the addition or deletion. 

B. Change in Coverage 
1. When, by reason of a change in family status (e.g., 

marriage, birth of child), the class of coverage is subject to 
change, effective on the date of the event, if application for 
the change is made within 30 days of the date of the event. 
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2.  When the addition of a dependent results in the 
class of coverage being changed, the additional premium 
will be charged for the entire month if the date of change 
occurs on or before the fourteenth day of the month. If the 
date of change occurs on or after the fifteenth day of the 
month, additional premium will not be charged until the first 
day of the following month. 

C. Notification of Change. It is the responsibility of the 
employee to notify the program of any change in 
classification of coverage affecting the employee's 
contribution amount. Any such failure later determined will 
be corrected on the first day of the following month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§109. Contributions 

A. The state of Louisiana may make a contribution 
toward the cost of the plan, as determined on an annual basis 
by the legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
Chapter 2. Termination of Coverage 
§201. Active Employee and Retired Employee 

Coverage 
A. Subject to continuation of coverage and COBRA 

rules, all benefits of a covered person will terminate under 
this plan on the earliest of the following dates: 

1. on the date the program terminates; 
2. on the date the group or agency employing the 

covered employee terminates or withdraws from the 
program; 

3. on the contribution due date if the group or agency 
fails to pay the required contribution for the covered 
employee; 

4. on the contribution due date if the covered person 
fails to make any contribution which is required for the 
continuation of his coverage; 

5. on the last day of the month of the covered 
employee's death; 

6. on the last day of the month in which the covered 
employee ceases to be eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§203. Dependent Coverage Only 

A. Subject to continuation of coverage and COBRA 
rules, dependent coverage will terminate under this plan on 
the earliest of the following dates: 

1. on the last day of the month the employee ceases to 
be covered. 

2. on the last day of the month in which the 
dependent, as defined in this plan ceases to be an eligible 
dependent of the covered employee; 

3. for grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody or has not adopted, on the date the child's 
parent ceases to be a covered dependent under this plan or 
the grandchild no longer meets the definition of children; 

4. upon discontinuance of all dependent coverage 
under this plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply when Eligible Expenses 

are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. Eligible Expenses. Eligible expenses are the charges 

incurred for the following items of service and supply when 
medically necessary for the treatment of disease, accident, 
illness, or injury. These charges are subject to the applicable 
deductibles, limits of the fee schedule, schedule of benefits, 
exclusions and other provisions of the plan. A charge is 
incurred on the date that the service or supply is performed 
or furnished. Eligible expenses are: 

1. hospital care. The medical services and supplies 
furnished by a hospital  or ambulatory surgical center. 
covered charges for room and board  will be payable as 
shown in the schedule of benefits; 

2. services of a physician; 
3. routine nursing services, i.e., "floor nursing" 

services provided by nurses employed by the hospital  are 
considered as part of the room and board ; 

4. anesthesia and its administration; 
5. laboratory examinations and diagnostic X-rays; 
6. nuclear medicine and electroshock therapy; 
7. blood and blood plasma, blood derivatives and 

blood processing, when not replaced; 
8. surgical and medical supplies billed for treatment 

received in a hospital or ambulatory surgical center, and 
other covered provider's surgical and medical supplies as 
listed below: 

a. cathetersCexternal and internal; 
b. cervical collar; 
c. leg bags for urinal drainage; 
d. ostomy supplies; 
e. prosthetic socks; 
f. prosthetic sheath; 
g. sling (arm or wrist); 
h. suction catheter for oral evacuation; 
i. surgical shoe (following foot surgery only);  
j. plaster casts; 
k. splints; 
l. surgical trays (for certain procedures);  

9. services of licensed physical, occupational or 
speech therapist when prescribed by a physician and pre-
approved through outpatient procedure certification; 

10. intravenous injections, solutions, and eligible 
related intravenous supplies;  

11. services rendered by a doctor of dental surgery 
(D.D.S.) or doctor of dental medicine (D.M.D.) for the 
treatment of accidental injuries to a covered person's sound 
natural teeth, if: 

a. coverage was in effect with respect to the 
individual at the time of the accident; 

b. treatment commences within 90 days from the 
date of the accident and is completed within two years from 
the date of the accident; and  

c. coverage remains continuously in effect with 
respect to the covered person during the course of the 
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treatment; eligible expenses will be limited to the original 
estimated total cost of treatment as estimated at the time of 
initial treatment; 

12. durable medical equipment, subject to the lifetime 
maximum payment limitation as listed in the schedule of 
benefits. The program will require written certification by 
the treating physician to substantiate the medical necessity 
for the equipment and the length of time it will be used; 

13. initial prosthetic appliances. Subsequent prosthetic 
appliances are eligible only when acceptable certification is 
furnished to the program by the attending physician; 

14. professional ambulance services, subject to the 
following provisions: 

a. licensed professional ambulance service in a 
vehicle licensed for highway use to or from a hospital  with 
facilities to treat an illness or injury. The program will 
consider a maximum up to $350 less a $50 copayment for 
transportation charges. Medical services and supplies will be 
considered separately; 

b. licensed air ambulance service to a hospital with 
facilities to treat an illness or injury. The program will 
consider a maximum up to $1,500 less a $250 copayment. 
Medical services and supplies will be considered separately; 

15. one pair of eyeglass lenses or contact lenses 
required as a result of bilateral cataract surgery performed 
while coverage was in force. Expenses incurred for the 
eyeglass frames will be limited to a maximum benefit of 
$50. 

16. the first two pairs of surgical pressure support hose. 
Additional surgical support hose may be considered an 
eligible expense at the rate of one pair per six-month period; 

17. the first two ortho-mammary surgical brassieres. 
Additional ortho-mammary surgical brassieres may be 
considered an eligible expense at the rate of one per six-
month period; 

18. orthopedic shoes prescribed by a physician and 
completely custom built; 

19. acupuncture when rendered by a medical doctor;  
20. eligible expenses associated with an organ 

transplant procedure including expenses for patient 
screening, organ procurement, transportation of the organ, 
transportation of the patient and/or donor, surgery for the 
patient and donor and immunosuppressant drugs, if:  

a. the transplantation must not be considered 
experimental or investigational by the American Medical 
Association; 

b. the transplant surgery must be performed at a 
medical center, which has an approved transplant program as 
determined by Medicare; 

c. the plan will not cover expenses for the 
transportation of surgeons or family members of either the 
patient or donor;  

d. all benefits paid will be applied against the 
lifetime maximum benefit of the transplant recipient. 

21. services of a physical therapist and occupational 
therapist licensed by the state in which the services are 
rendered when: 

a. prescribed by a licensed medical doctor;  
b. services require the skills of and performed by a 

licensed physical therapist or licensed occupational 
therapist; 

c. restorative potential exists; 

d. meets the standard for medical practice; 
e. reasonable and necessary for the treatment of the 

disease, illness, accident, injury or postoperative condition; 
f. approved through outpatient procedure 

certification. 
22. cardiac rehabilitation when: 

a. rendered at a medical facility under the 
supervision of a physician; 

b. rendered in connection with a myocardial 
infarction, angioplasty with or without stinting, or cardiac 
bypass surgery; 

c. completed within 6 months following the 
qualifying event; 

NOTE: Charges incurred for dietary instruction, educational 
services, behavior modification literature, health club 
membership, exercise equipment, preventative programs and 
any other items excluded by the plan are not covered. 

23. routine physical examinations and immunizations 
as follows: 

a. well-baby care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. newborn facility and professional charges; 
 ii. birth to age 1Call office visits for scheduled 
immunizations and screening; 

b. well-child care  expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. age 1 to age 3C3 office visits per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 
 ii. age 3 to age 16C1 office visit per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 

c. well-adult care expenses, subject to co-payment 
specified in the schedule of benefits, for routine physical 
examination by a physician and related laboratory and 
radiology charges: 
 i. age 16 until age 40Conce during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50Conce during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and overConce during a 1-year period; 

24. not subject to the annual deductible: 
a. one pap test for cervical cancer per plan year;  
b. screening mammographic examinations 

performed according to the following schedule: 
 i. one baseline mammogram during the five-year 
period a person is 35-39 years of age;  
 ii. one mammogram every two plan years for any 
person who is 40-49 years of age or more frequently if 
recommended by a physician; 
 iii. one mammogram every 12 months for any 
person who is 50 years of age or older;  

c. testing for detection of prostate cancer, including 
digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen 
testing, once every twelve months for men over the age of 
50 years, and as medically necessary for men over the age of 
40 years; 

25. outpatient surgical facility fees as specified in the 
maximum payment schedule; 

26. midwifery services performed by a certified 
midwife or a certified nurse midwife; 

27. physician's assistants, perfusionists, and registered 
nurse assistants assisting in the operating room;  

28. splint therapy for the treatment of 
temporomandibular joint dysfunction (TMJ), limited to a 
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lifetime benefit of $600 for a splint and initial panorex x-ray 
only. Surgical treatment for TMJ will only be eligible 
following a demonstrated failure of splint therapy and upon 
approval by the program; 

29. oxygen and oxygen equipment; 
30. outpatient self-management training and education, 

including medical nutrition therapy, for the treatment of 
diabetes, when these services are provided by a licensed 
health care professional with demonstrated expertise in 
diabetes care and treatment who has completed an 
educational program required by the appropriate licensing 
board in compliance with the National Standards for 
Diabetes Self-Management Education Program as developed 
by the American Diabetes Association, and only as follows: 

a. a one-time evaluation and training program for 
diabetes self management, conducted by the health care 
professional in compliance with National Standards for 
Diabetes Self Management Education Program as developed 
by the American Diabetes Association, upon certification by 
the health care professional that the covered person has 
successfully completed the program, such benefits not to 
exceed $500; 

b. additional diabetes self-management training 
required because of a significant change in the patient's 
symptoms or conditions, limited to benefits of $100 per year 
and $2,000 per lifetime; 

c. services must be rendered at a facility with a 
diabetes educational program recognized by the American 
Diabetes Association.  

31.a. testing of sleep disorders only when the tests are 
performed at either: 
 i. a sleep study facility accredited by the 
American Sleep Disorders Association or the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 
(JCAHO); or 
 ii. a sleep study facility located within a 
healthcare facility accredited by JCAHO; 

b. no benefits are payable for surgical treatment of 
sleep disorders (including LAUP) except following 
demonstrated failure of non-surgical treatment and upon 
approval by the program; 

32. mental health and/or substance abuse services only 
when obtained through the program's managed behavioral 
health care organization contractor as shown in the schedule 
of benefits. These services must be identified by a DSM IV 
diagnosis code. 

B. Emergency Services - Subject to all applicable terms 
of the Plan, emergency services will be considered eligible 
expenses whether rendered by a participating provider or 
non-participating provider, as follows: 

1. Emergency services provided to a covered person 
who is later determined not to have required emergency 
services will be considered eligible expenses except: 

a. When the covered person’s medical condition 
would not have led a prudent lay person, acting reasonably 
and possessing an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate medical 
attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious 
jeopardy to health, serious impairment to bodily functions, 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ, unless the 
covered person was referred for emergency services by a 
participating provider or by an agent of OGB; or 

b. When there was material misrepresentation, 
fraud, omission, or clerical error.  

2. If a covered person requires hospitalization at a 
non-participating provider medically necessary inpatient 
services rendered by the non-participating provider will be 
considered eligible expenses until the covered person can be 
transferred to a participating provider.  

3. OGB must be notified of the emergency services 
within 48 hours following commencement of treatment or 
admission, or as soon as medical circumstances permit. See 
also §307.C (below) regarding the requirement for pre -
admission certification (PAC) for emergency admissions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§303. Fee Schedule 

A. The fee schedule sets the maximum fee that the 
program will allow for an eligible medical expense. 

B. If the medical provider accepts an assignment of 
benefits, the plan member cannot be billed for amounts 
exceeding the fee schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§305. Automated Claims Adjusting 

A. Auto audit is a software program that applies all 
claims against its medical logic program to identify 
improperly billed charges, and charges for which this plan 
provides no benefits. Any claim with diagnosis or procedure 
codes deemed inadequate or inappropriate will be 
automatically reduced or denied. Providers accepting 
assignment of benefits cannot bill the plan member for the 
reduced amounts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§307. Utilization ReviewCPre-Admission Certification, 

Continued Stay Review 
A. Pre-admission certification (PAC) and continued stay 

review (CSR) establish the medical necessity and length of 
inpatient hospital confinement.  

B. For a routine vaginal delivery, PAC is not required for 
a stay of 2 days or less. If the mother's stay exceeds or is 
expected to exceed 2 days, PAC is required within 24 hours 
after the delivery or the date on which any complications 
arose, whichever is applicable. If the baby's stay exceeds that 
of the mother, PAC is required within 72 hours of the 
mother's discharge and a separate pre-certification number 
must be obtained for the baby. In the case of a scheduled 
caesarean section, it is required that PAC be obtained prior 
to or the day of admission.  

C. No benefits will be paid under the plan: 
1. unless PAC is requested at least 72 hours prior to 

the planned date of admission; 
2. unless PAC is requested within 48 hours of 

admission, or as soon as medical circumstances, permit in 
the case of emergency services; 
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3. for hospital charges incurred during any 
confinement for which PAC was requested, but which was 
not certified as medically necessary by the program's 
utilization review contractor; 

4. for hospital charges incurred during any 
confinement for any days in excess of the number of days 
certified through PAC or CSR. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§309. Outpatient Procedure Certification (OPC) 

A. OPC certifies that certain outpatient procedures and 
therapies are medically necessary.  

B. OPC is required on the following procedures: 
1. cataract; 
2. laparoscopic cholecystectomy; 
3. lithotripsy; 
4. magnetic resonance imaging: 

a. brain/head lower extremity; 
b. upper extremity; 
c. spine; 

5. knee arthroscopy; 
6. septoplasty; 
7. therapies: 

a. physical therapy; 
b. speech therapy; 
c. occupational therapy; 
d. therapy with unlisted modality. 

C. No benefits will be paid for the facility fee in 
connection with outpatient procedures, or the facility and 
professional fee in connection with outpatient therapies: 

1. unless OPC is requested at least 72 hours prior to 
the planned date of procedure or therapy; 

2. for charges incurred on any listed procedure for 
which OPC was requested but not certified as medically 
necessary by the program's utilization review contractor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§311. Case Management 

A. Case management (CM) is the care management 
program available in cases of illness or injury where critical 
care is required and/or treatment of extended duration is 
anticipated. 

B. Case management may provide coverage for services 
that are not normally covered. To be eligible, the condition 
being treated must be a covered condition, and Case 
management must be approved prior to the service being 
rendered. 

C. These charges are subject to the deductible,  
co-insurance, fee schedule and maximum benefit limitations. 

D. The following criteria must be met: 
1. the program must be the primary carrier at the time 

case management is requested. Any case management plan 
will be contingent upon the program remaining the primary 
carrier; 

2. the patient must not be confined in any type of 
nursing home setting at the time case management is 
requested; 

3. there must be a projected savings to the program 
through case management; or a projection that case 
management expenses will not exceed normal plan benefits; 
and 

a. the proposed treatment plan will enhance the 
patient's quality of life;  

b. benefits will be utilized at a slower rate through 
the alternative treatment plan. 

E. If approved, case management may provide any of the 
following: 

1. alternative care in special rehabilitation facilities; 
2. alternative care in a skilled nursing facility/unit or 

swing bed (not nursing home), or the patient's home, subject 
to the deductible and coinsurance; 

3. avoidance of complications by earlier hospital 
discharge, alternative care and training of the patient and/or 
family; 

4. home health care services limited to 150 visits per 
plan year; 

5. hospice care: 
a. not subject to the deductible; 
b. benefits are always payable at 80 percent, never 

at 100 percent; 
6. private duty nursing care; 
7. total parenteral nutrition, provided that home visits 

for TPN are not reimbursable separately; 
8. enteral nutrition up to a single 90-day period for 

instances where through surgery or neuromuscular 
mechanisms the patient cannot maintain nutrition and the 
condition can reasonably be expected to improve during this 
one 90-day timespan. 

F. Mental health and substance abuse treatments or 
conditions are not eligible for case management. 

G. Benefits are considered payable only upon the 
recommendation of the program's contractor, with the 
approval of the attending physician, patient or his 
representative, and the program or its representative. 
Approval is contingent upon the professional opinion of the 
program's medical director, consultant, or his designee as to 
the appropriateness of the recommended alternative care. 

H. If a condition is likely to be lengthy or if care could 
be provided in a less costly setting, the program's contractor 
may recommend an alternative plan of care to the physician 
and patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§313. Dental Surgical Benefits 

A. When excision of one or more impacted teeth is 
performed by a doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.) or doctor 
of dental medicine (D.M.D.) while coverage is in force, the 
program will pay, without deductible, the eligible expense 
actually incurred for the surgical procedure.  

B. Expenses incurred in connection with the removal of 
impacted teeth, including pre-operative and post-operative 
care are subject to the deductible, co-insurance and the 
maximum benefit provisions of the plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§315. Medicare Reduction 

A. If the patient has not chosen and paid a separate 
premium for the full coordination of benefits option, the 
charges will be reduced by whatever amounts are paid or 
payable by Medicare. The program requires written 
confirmation from the Social Security Administration or its 
successor if a person is not eligible for Medicare coverage. 
All provisions of this plan, including all limitations and 
exceptions, will be applied.  

B. Retiree 100-Medicare COB. Upon enrollment and 
payment of the additional monthly premium, a plan member 
and his dependents may choose to have full coordination of 
benefits with Medicare. Enrollment must be made within 30 
days of eligibility for Medicare or within 30 days of 
retirement if already eligible for Medicare and at the annual 
open enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions for All Medical 

Benefits 
A. No benefits are provided under this plan for: 

1. cases covered, in whole or in part, by any worker's 
compensation program, regardless of whether the patient has 
filed a claim for benefits. This applies to compensation 
provided on an expense-incurred basis or blanket settlements 
for past and future losses; 

2. convalescent, skilled nursing, sanitarium, or 
custodial care  or rest cure; 

3. expenses for elective, non-therapeutic voluntary 
abortion, although expenses for complications as a result are 
covered; 

4. injuries sustained while in an aggressor role; 
5. expenses incurred as a result of the patient's attempt 

at a felony or misdemeanor; 
6. expenses incurred by a covered person in 

connection with cosmetic surgery, unless necessary for the 
immediate repair of a deformity caused by a disease and/or 
injury which occurs while coverage is in force. No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred in connection with the 
treatment of any body part not affected by the disease and/or 
injury; 

7. expenses incurred for shoes and related items 
similar to wedges, cookies and arch supports; 

8. any expense, except for actual out-of-pocket 
expenses, incurred by a member of a Health Maintenance 
Organization (HMO), Health Maintenance Plan (HMP) or 
other prepaid medical plan or medical services plan if the 
covered person is enrolled on a group (emp loyer-sponsored) 
basis; 

9. dental braces and orthodontic appliances (for 
whatever reason prescribed or utilized) and treatment of 
periodontal disease; 

10. dentures, dental implants and any surgery for their 
use, except if needed as the result of an accident that meets 
the program's requirements; 

11. medical services, treatment or prescription drugs 
provided without charge to the covered person  or for which 
the covered person is not legally obligated to pay; 

12. maternity expenses incurred by any person other 
than the employee or the employee's legal spouse; 

13. personal convenience items including, but not 
limited to, admit kits, bedside kits, telephone and television, 
guest meals, beds, and similar items; 

14. charges for services and supplies which are in 
excess of the maximum allowable under the medical fee 
schedule, outpatient surgical facility fee schedule, or any 
other limitations of the plan; 

15. services and supplies which are not medically 
necessary; 

16. services rendered for remedial reading and 
recreational, visual and behavioral modification therapy, 
pain rehabilitation control and/or therapy, and dietary or 
educational instruction for all illnesses, other than diabetes; 

17. services and supplies in connection with or related 
to gender dysphoria or reverse sterilization;  

18. artificial organ implants, penile implants, 
transplantation of other than homo sapiens (human) organs;  

19. expenses subsequent to the initial diagnosis, for 
infertility and complications, including, but not limited to, 
services, drugs, and procedures or devices to achieve 
fertility; in-vitro fertilization, low tubal transfer, artificial 
insemination, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, embryo 
transfer, gamete transfer, zygote transfer, surrogate 
parenting, donor semen, donor eggs, and reversal of 
sterilization procedures; 

20. air conditioners and/or filters, dehumidifiers, air 
purifiers, wigs or toupees, heating pads, cold devices, home 
enema equipment, rubber gloves, swimming pools, saunas, 
whirlpool baths, home pregnancy tests, lift chairs, devices or 
kits to stimulate the penis, exercise equipment, and any other 
items not normally considered medical supplies; 

21. administrative fees, interest, penalties or sales tax;  
22. marriage counseling and/or family relations 

counseling; 
23. charges for services rendered over the telephone 

from a physician to a covered person ; 
24. radial keratotomy or any procedures for the 

correction of refractive errors; 
25. speech therapy, except when ordered by a physician 

for the purpose of restoring partial or complete loss of 
speech resulting from stroke, surgery, cancer, radiation 
laryngitis, cerebral palsy, accidental injuries or other similar 
structural or neurological disease; 

26. services and supplies related to obesity, surgery for 
excess fat in any area of the body, resection of excess skin or 
fat following weight loss or pregnancy; 

27. hearing aids, or any examination to determine the 
fitting or necessity; 

28. hair transplants; 
29. routine physical examinations or immunizations not 

listed under eligible expenses;  
30. diagnostic or treatment measures which are not 

recognized as generally accepted medical practice;  
31. medical supplies not listed under eligible expenses;  
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32. treatment or services for mental health and 
substance abuse provided outside the treatment plan 
developed by the program's managed behavioral health care 
organization or by therapists with whom or at facilities with 
which the program's managed behavioral health care 
organization does not have a contract;  

33. expenses for services rendered by a dentist or oral 
surgeon and any ancillary or related services, except for 
covered dental surgical procedures, dental procedures which 
fall under the guidelines of eligible dental accidents, 
procedures necessitated as a result of or secondary to cancer, 
or oral and maxillofacial surgeries which are shown to the 
satisfaction of the program to be medically necessary, non-
dental, non-cosmetic procedures;  

34. genetic testing, except when determined to be 
medically necessary during a covered pregnancy; 

35. treatment for temporomandibular joint dysfunction 
(TMJ), except as listed under eligible expenses; 

36. services of a private-duty registered nurse (R.N.) or 
of a private-duty licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.); 

37. breast thermograms; 
38. services rendered by any provider related to the 

patient by blood, adoption or marriage; 
39. facility fees for services rendered in a physician's 

office or in any facility not approved by the federal Health 
Care Financing Administration for payment of such fees 
under Medicare; 

40. glucometers; 
41. services rendered by a non-participating provider, 

except emergency services as provided herein. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§319. Coordination of Benefits 

A. Coordination of benefits is the order of payment when 
two or more plans are involved. When a patient is also 
covered by another plan, the plans will coordinate benefits.  

B. Benefit plan is this plan or any one of the following: 
1. group or employer sponsored plan; 
2. group practice and other group prepayment plan; 
3. other plans required or provided by law. This does 

not include Medicaid or any benefit plan that does not allow 
coordination. 

C. Primary Plan and Secondary Plan 
1. All benefits provided are subject to coordination of 

benefits. 
2. Benefit Plan Payment Order 

a. If an individual is covered by more than one plan, 
the order of benefit payment will follow guidelines 
established by the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners, except for Health Maintenance 
Organizations or other types of employer-sponsored prepaid 
medical plans. 

b. The plan that pays first will pay as if there were 
no other plan involved. The secondary and subsequent plans 
may pay the balance due up to 100 percent of the total 
allowable expense. No plan will pay benefits greater than it 
would have paid in the absence of coordination of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§321. Managed Care Option  

A. The program may implement Managed Care Option 
(MCO) arrangements or other agreements to discount 
payable fees. The program reserves to itself the right to 
negotiate the amount of the discount, the incentives to be 
offered to plan members and all other provisions which are a 
part of any discount fee arrangement. To be eligible, the 
program must be the primary carrier at the time services are 
rendered. The only exception would be on a covered person 
with only Medicare Part A, who did not also have Medicare 
Part B. The Part B charges would be eligible for MCO 
benefits. 

1. If a covered person obtains medical services or 
hospital services from an eligible provider who has agreed to 
provide the services at a mutually agreed upon discount from 
the maximum medical fee schedule or at a per diem or 
discounted rate from a hospital, the program will pay after 
applicable co-pays, as specified in the schedule of benefits. 
There is a contractual assignment to all MCO participating 
providers. 

2. Point of Service MCO Regions (Areas) 
a. The following regions are used to determine 

whether there is an MCO participating provider in the same 
area as the point of service 

 
Region 1 - Zip Codes 70000 through 70199 
Region 2 - Zip Codes 70300 through 70399 
Region 3 - Zip Codes 70400 through 70499 
Region 4 - Zip Codes 70500 through 70599 
Region 5 - Zip Codes 70600 through 70699 
Region 6 - Zip Codes 70700 through 70899 
Region 7 - Zip Codes 71300 through 71499 
Region 8 - Zip Codes 71000 through 71199 
Region 9 - Zip Codes 71200 through 71299 

 
b. If a non-participating provider is  used, then no 

benefits are payable except for emergency services as 
provided herein. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor requiring a prescription and dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company, but which 
are not administered to a covered person as an inpatient 
hospital patient or an outpatient hospital patient, including 
insulin, Retin -A dispensed for covered persons under the age 
of 26, vitamin B12 injections, prescription potassium 
chloride, and over-the-counter diabetic supplies, including, 
but not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. In addition, this 
plan allows benefits, not to exceed $200 per month, for 
expenses incurred for the purchase of low protein food 
products for the treatment of inherited metabolic diseases if 
the low protein food products are medically necessary and 
are obtained from a source approved by the OGB. Such 
expenses shall be subject to coinsurance and co-payments
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relating to prescription drug benefits. In connection with this 
benefit, the following words shall have the following 
meanings. 

1. Inherited Metabolic DiseaseCa disease caused by 
an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and shall be 
limited to: 

a. phenyyketonuria (PKU); 
b. maple syrup urine disease (MSUD); 
c. methylmalonic acidemia (MMA); 
d. isovaleric acidemia (IVA); 
e. propionic acidemia; 
f. glutaric acidemia; 
g. urea cycle defects; 
h. tyrosinemia. 

2. Low Protein Food ProductsCa food product that is 
especially formulated to have less than one gram of protein 
per serving and is intended to be used under the direction of 
a physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited 
metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall not 
include a natural food that is naturally low in protein. 

B. The following drugs, medicines, and related services 
are not covered: 

1. appetite suppressant drugs; 
2. dietary supplements; 
3. topical forms of Minoxidil;  
4. Retin-A dispensed for a covered person  over age 

26; 
5. amphetamines dispensed for diagnoses other than 

Attention Deficit Disorder or Narcolepsy; 
6. nicotine, gum, patches, or other products, services, 

or programs intended to assist an individual to reduce or 
cease smoking or other use of tobacco products; 

7. nutritional or parenteral therapy; 
8. vitamins and minerals;  
9. drugs available over the counter; and 
10. serostim dispensed for any diagnoses or therapeutic 

purposes other than AIDS wasting; 
11. drugs for treatment of impotence, except following 

surgical removal of the prostate gland; and 
12. glucometers. 

C. Outpatient prescription drug benefits are adjudicated 
by a third-party Pharmacy Benefits Manager with whom the 
program has contracted. In addition to all provisions, 
exclusions and limitations relative to prescription drugs set 
forth elsewhere in this plan of benefits, the following apply 
to expenses incurred for outpatient prescription drugs. 

1. The eligible expense for a prescription drug is 
limited to the allowable cost of the generic drug, if a generic 
is available, and to the allowable cost for brand drugs 
identified on the Pharmacy Benefits Manager’s list of 
preferred drugs, if generic is not available. 

2. Upon presentation of the OGB health benefits 
identification card at a participating pharmacy, the plan 
member is responsible for payment of 50 percent of eligible 
expense, up to $50 per prescription dispensed, and 100 
percent of excess cost (over and above the eligible expense) 
at the point of purchase. The plan will pay the balance of the 
eligible expense for prescription drugs dispensed at a 
participating pharmacy.  

NOTE: There is no per prescription maximum on the plan 
member’s responsibility for payment of excess cost. Plan 
member payments for excess costs are not applied toward 
satisfaction of the annual out of pocket threshold (below).  

3. In the event the plan member does not present the 
OGB health benefits identification card to the participating 
pharmacy at the time of purchase, or prescription drugs are 
purchased from a non-participating pharmacy, the plan 
member will be responsible for full payment for the drug 
cost. No benefits are payable by the plan, and the plan 
member’s payment will not be applied toward satisfaction of 
the annual out-of-pocket threshold (below). 

4. There is a $1200 per person per plan year out-of-
pocket threshold for eligible expenses for prescription drugs. 
Once this threshold is reached, that is, the plan member has 
paid $1,200 of eligible expenses for prescription drugs, the 
plan member will be responsible for a $15 co-pay for brand 
drugs on the Pharmacy Benefits Manager’s list of preferred 
drugs, with no co-pay for generic drugs. The plan will pay 
the balance of the eligible expense for prescription drugs 
dispensed at a participating pharmacy.  

5. Prescription drug dispensing and refills will be 
limited in accordance with protocols established by the 
prescription benefits manager, including the following 
limitations. 

a. Up to a 34-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
upon initial presentation of a prescription or for refills 
dispensed more than 120 days after the most recent fill. 

b. For refills dispensed within 120 days of the most 
recent fill, up to a 102-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
at one time, provided that co-payments shall be due and 
payable as follows. 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the eligible 
expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $50 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-64 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of fifty percent of the 
eligible expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $100 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the eligible 
expense for the drug, up to a maximum of $150 per 
prescription dispensed, and 100 percent of excess cost. 

NOTE: There is no per prescription maximum on the plan 
member’s responsibility for payment of excess cost. Plan 
member payments for excess costs are not applied toward 
satisfaction of the annual out of pocket threshold (above).  

 iv. Once the out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
expenses for prescription drug is reached, the plan member's 
co-payment responsibility for brand drugs on the Pharmacy 
Benefits Manager's list of preferred drugs will be $15 for a 
1-34 days supply, $30 for a 35-64 days supply, and $45 for a 
69-102 days supply, with no co-pay for up to a 102-days 
supply of generic drugs. 

6. Brand drug-the trademark name of a drug approved 
by the U. S. Food and Drug Administration. 

7. Generic drug-a chemically equivalent copy of a 
brand drug. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
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Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§401. Statement of Contractual Agreement 

A. This written plan of benefits as amended and any 
documents executed by or on behalf of the covered employee 
constitute the entire agreement between the parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§403. Properly Submitted Claim 

A. For plan reimbursements, all bills must show: 
1. employee's name; 
2. name of patient; 
3. name, address, and telephone number of the 

provider of care; 
4. diagnosis; 
5. type of services rendered, with diagnosis and/or 

procedure codes; 
6. date of service; 
7. charges; 
8. employee's member number; 
9. provider tax identification number; 
10. Medicare explanation of benefits, if applicable. 

B. The program can require additional documentation in 
order to determine the extent of coverage or the appropriate 
reimbursement. Failure to furnish the requested information 
will constitute reason for the denial of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§405. When Claims must be Filed 

A. A claim for benefits must be received by the program 
within one year from the date on which the medical 
expenses were incurred. 

B. The receipt date for electronically filed claims is the 
date on which the program receives the claim, not the date 
on which the claims is submitted to a clearinghouse or to the 
providers practice management system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§407. Right to Receive and Release Information 

A. The program may release to, or obtain from any 
company, organization, or person, without consent of or 
notice to any person, any information regarding any person 
which the program deems necessary to carry out the 
provisions of this plan, or like terms of any plan, or to 
determine how, or if, they apply. Any claimant under this 
plan must furnish to the program any information necessary 
to implement this provision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§409. Legal Limitations  

A. A plan member must exhaust the administrative 
claims review procedure before filing a suit for benefits. No 
action shall be brought to recover benefits under this plan 

more than one year after the time a claim is required to be 
filed or more than 30 days after mailing of the notice of 
decision of the administrative claims committee, whichever 
is later. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§411. Benefit Payment to other Group Health Plans 

A. When payments, which should have been made under 
this plan, have been made by another group health  plan, the 
program may pay to the other plan the sum proper to satisfy 
the terms of this plan of benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§413. Recovery of Overpayments 

A. If an overpayment occurs, the program retains the 
right to recover the overpayment. The covered person , 
institution or provider receiving the overpayment must 
return the overpayment. At the plan's discretion, the 
overpayment may be deducted from future claims. Should 
legal action be required as a result of fraudulent statements 
or deliberate omissions on the application, the defendant will 
be responsible for attorney fees of 25 percent of the 
overpayment or $1,000 whichever is greater. The defendant 
will also be responsible for court costs and legal interest 
from date of judicial demand until paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§415. Third Party Recovery Provision 

A. Right of Subrogation and Reimbursement. When this 
provision applies, the covered person may incur medical or 
dental charges due to injuries which may be caused by the 
act or omission of a third party or a third party may be 
responsible for payment. In such circumstances, the covered 
person may have a claim against the third party, or insurer, 
for payment of the medical or dental charges. Accepting 
benefits under this plan for those incurred medical or dental 
expenses automatically assigns to the program any rights the 
covered person may have to recover payments from any 
third party or insurer. This right allows the program to 
pursue any claim which the covered person has against any 
third party, or insurer, whether or not the covered person 
chooses to pursue that claim. The program may make a 
claim directly against the third party or insurer, but in any 
event, the program has a lien on any amount recovered by 
the covered person  whether or not designated as payment for 
medical expenses. This lien will remain in effect until the 
program is repaid in full. The program reserves the right to 
recover either from the liable third party or the covered 
person. The covered person: 

1. automatically assigns to the program his or her 
rights against any third party or insurer when this provision 
applies;  

2. must notify the program of a pending third-party 
claim; and 
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3. must repay to the program the benefits paid on his 
or her behalf out of the recovery made from the third party 
or insurer. 

B. Amount Subject to Subrogation or Reimbursement 
1. The covered person agrees to recognize the 

program's right to subrogation  and reimbursement. These 
rights provide the program with a priority over any funds 
paid by a third party to a covered person relative to the 
injury or sickness, including a priority over any claim for 
non-medical or dental charges, attorney fees, or other costs 
and expenses. 

2. Notwithstanding its  priority to funds, the program's 
subrogation and reimbursement rights, as well as the rights 
assigned to it, are limited to the extent to which the program 
has made, or will make, payments for medical or dental 
charges as well as any costs and fees associated with the 
enforcement of its rights under the program. 

3. When a right of recovery exists, the covered person 
will cooperate and provide requested information as well as 
doing whatever else is needed to secure the program's right 
of subrogation and reimbursement as a condition to having 
the program make payments. In addition, the covered person 
will do nothing to prejudice the right of the program to 
subrogate or seek reimbursement. 

4. This right of refund also applies when a covered 
person recovers under an uninsured or underinsured motorist 
plan, homeowner's plan, renter's plan, medical malpractice 
plan, worker's compensation plan or any liability plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the Participant Employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation on behalf of its employees to OGB. 
Employees of a participant employer will not by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to OGB on behalf of a plan 
member, be considered agents of OGB, and no 
representation made by any such person at any time will 
change the provisions of this Plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform the 
OGB Program whenever a retiree with OGB coverage 
returns to full-time employment. The employee shall be 
placed in the Re-employed Retiree category for premium 
calculation. The re-employed retiree premium classification 
applies to retirees with Medicare and without Medicare. The 
premium rates applicable to the re-employed retiree 
premium classification shall be identical to the premium 
rates applicable to the classification for retirees without 
Medicare. 

C. Any participant employer that receives a Medicare 
Secondary Payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the Office of Group Benefits, 
MSP Adjuster, within 15 days of receipt. If time ly forwarded 
to OGB, then OGB will assume responsibility for any 
medical benefits, interest, fines or penalties due to Medicare 
for a covered employee. If not timely forwarded to OGB, 
then OGB will assume responsibility only for Covered 
medical benefits due to Medicare, for a covered employee 
pursuant to this plan of benefits. The participant employer 
will be responsible for any interest, fines or penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§419. Program Responsibility 

A. The program will administer the plan in accordance 
with the terms of the plan of benefits, state and federal law, 
and its established policies, interpretations, practices, and 
procedures. It is the express intent of this program that the 
board of trustees will have maximum legal discretionary 
authority to construe and interpret the terms and provisions 
of the plan, to make determinations regarding issues which 
relate to eligibility for benefits, to decide disputes which 
may arise relative to covered person's rights, and to decide 
questions of plan of benefits interpretation and those of fact 
relating to the plan of benefits. The decisions of the board of 
trustees or its committees will be final and binding on all 
interested parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§421. Reinstatement to Position following Civil Service 

Appeal 
A. Indemnity Plan Participants. When coverage of a 

terminated employee who was a participant in the health 
indemnity plan is reinstated by reason of a civil service 
appeal , coverage will be reinstated to the same level in the 
health indemnity plan retroactive to the date coverage 
terminated. The employee and participant employer are 
responsible for the payment of all premiums for the period 
of time from the date of termination to the date of the final 
order reinstating the employee to his position. The program 
is responsible for the payment of all eligible benefits for 
charges incurred during this period. All claims for expenses 
incurred during this period must be filed with the program 
within 60 days following the date of the final order of 
reinstatement. 

B. Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) 
Participants. When coverage of a terminated employee who 
was a participant in an HMO is reinstated by reason of Civil 
Service appeal, coverage will be reinstated in the HMO in 
which the employee was participating effective on the date 
of the final order of reinstatement. There will be no 
retroactive reinstatement of coverage and no premiums will 
be owed for the period during which coverage with the 
HMO was not effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§423. Plan of Benefits and/or Contract Amendments 

or Termination 
A. The program has the statutory responsibility of 

providing health and accident and death benefits for covered 
persons to the extent that funds are available. The program 
reserves to itself the right to terminate or amend the 
eligibility and benefit provisions of its plan of benefits from 
time to time as it may deem necessary to prudently discharge 
its duties. Termination or modifications will be promulgated 
subject to the applicable provisions of law, and nothing 
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contained herein shall be construed to guarantee or vest 
benefits for any participant, whether active or retired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
Chapter 5. Claims Review and Appeal 
§501. Administrative Review 

NOTE: This Section establishes and explains the procedures 
for review of benefit and eligibility decisions by the program. 

A. Administrative Claims Review 
1. The covered person may request a review of any 

claim for benefits or eligibility. The written request must 
include the name of the covered person, member number, 
the name of the patient, the name of the provider, dates of 
service and should clearly state the reasons for the appeal. 

2. The request for review must be submitted within 90 
days after the date of the notification of denial of benefits, 
denial of eligibility, or denial after review by the utilization 
review organization or prescription benefits manager 

B. Review and Appeal Prerequisite to Legal Action 
1. The covered person must exhaust the administrative 

claims review procedure before filing a suit for benefits. 
Unless a request for review is made, the initial determination 
becomes final, and no legal action may be brought to attempt 
to establish eligibility or to recover benefits allegedly 
payable under the program. 

C. Administrative Claims Committee 
1. An administrative claims committee (the 

committee) will consider all such requests for review and to 
ascertain whether the initial determination was made in 
accordance with the plan of benefits. 

D. Administrative Claims Review Procedure and 
Decisions 

1. Review by the committee shall be bas ed upon a 
documentary record which includes: 

a. all information in the possession of the program 
relevant to the issue presented for review; 

b. all information submitted by the covered person 
in connection with the request for review; and 

c. any and all other information obtained by the 
committee in the course of its review. 

2. Upon completion of the review the committee will 
render its decision which will be based on the plan of 
benefits and the information included in the record. The 
decision will contain a statement of reasons for the decision. 
A copy of the decision will be mailed to the covered person 
and any representative thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§503. Appeals from Medical Necessity Determinations 

NOTE: The following provisions will govern appeals from 
adverse determinations based upon medical necessity by 
OGB's Utilization Review Organization (URO) pursuant to 
Article 3, Section IV of this document. 

A. First Level Appeal. Within 60 days following the date 
of an adverse initial determination based upon medical 
necessity, the covered person, or the provider acting on 
behalf of the covered person, may request a first level 
appeal .  

1. Each such appeal will be reviewed within the URO 
by a health care professional who has appropriate expertise.  

2. The URO will provide written notice of its 
decision.  

B. Second level review. Within 30-days following the 
date of the notice of an adverse decision on a first level 
appeal , a covered person may request a second level review. 

1. Each such second level review will be considered 
by a panel within the URO that includes health care 
professionals who have appropriate expertise and will be 
evaluated by a clinical peer or peers in the same or similar 
specialty as would typically manage the case being 
reviewed.  

a. The review panel will schedule and hold a review 
meeting, and written notice of the time and place of the 
review meeting will be given to the covered person at least 
fifteen working days in advance. 

b. The covered person may: 
 i. present his/her case to the review panel;  
 ii. submit supporting material and provide 
testimony in person or in writing or affidavit both before and 
at the review meeting; and 
 iii. ask questions of any representative of the 
URO. 

c. If face-to-face meeting is not practical the 
covered person and provider may communicate with the 
review panel by conference call or other appropriate 
technology. 

2. The URO will provide written notice of its decision 
on the second level review. 

C. External Review. Within 60 days after receipt of 
notice of a second level appeal adverse determination, the 
covered person whose medical care was the subject of such 
determination, with the concurrence of the treating health 
care provider, may submit request for an external review to 
the URO.  

1. The URO will provide the documents and any 
information used in making the second level appeal adverse 
determination to its designated independent review 
organization.  

2. The independent review organization will review 
all information and documents received and any other 
information submitted in writing by the covered person or 
the covered person's health care provider.  

3. The independent review organization will provide 
notice of its recommendation to the URO, the covered 
person, and the covered person's health care provider. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination.  

D. Expedited Appeals  
1. An expedited appeal may be initiated by the 

covered person, with the consent of the treating health care 
professional, or the provider acting on behalf of the covered 
person, with regard to: 

a. an adverse determination involving a situation 
where the time frame of the standard appeal would seriously 
jeopardize the life or health of a covered person or would 
jeopardize the covered person's ability to regain maximum 
function; or 

b. any request concerning an admission, availability 
of care, continued stay, or health care service for a covered 
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person who has received emergency services but has not 
been discharged from a facility. 

2. In an expedited appeal the URO will make a 
decision and notify the covered person, or the provider 
acting on behalf of the covered person , as expeditiously as 
the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no 
event more than seventy-two hours after the appeal  is 
commenced.  

3. The URO will provide written confirmation of its 
decision concerning an expedited appeal if the initial 
notification is not in writing. 

4. In any case where the expedited appeal  does not 
resolve a difference of opinion between the URO and the 
covered person , or the provider acting on behalf of the 
covered person, such provider may request a second level 
review of the adverse determination. 

E. Expedited External Review of Urgent Care Requests  
1. When the covered person receives an adverse 

determination involving an emergency medical condition of 
the covered person being treated in the emergency room, 
during hospital observation, or as a hospital inpatient, the 
covered person's health care provider may request an 
expedited external review. 

2. The URO will transmit all documents and 
information used in making the adverse determination to the 
independent review organization by telephone, telefacsimile, 
or other available expeditious method. 

3. Within 72 hours after receiving appropriate medical 
information for an expedited ext ernal review, the 
independent review organization will notify the covered 
person, the URO, and the covered person 's health care 
provider of its decision to uphold or reverse the adverse 
determination. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

AppealCa request for and a formal review by a plan 
member of a medical claim for benefits or an eligibility 
determination. 

Benefit PaymentCpayment of eligible expenses incurred 
by a covered person during a plan year at the rate shown 
under percentage payable in the schedule of benefits.  

CEOCthe Chief Executive Officer of the program. 
ChildrenC 

1. any natural or legally adopted children of the 
employee and/or the employee's legal spouse dependent upon 
the employee for support; 

2. any children in the process of being adopted by the 
employee through an agency adoption who are living in the 
household of the employee and who are or will be included 
as a dependent of the employee's federal income tax return 
for the current or next tax year (if filing is required); 

3. other children for whom the employee has legal 
custody, who live in the household of the employee, and who 
are or will be included as a dependent on the employee's 

federal income tax return for the current or next tax year (if 
filing is required); 

4. grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody, who are dependent upon the employee 
for support, and one of whose parents is a covered 
dependent. If the employee seeking to cover a grandchild is a 
paternal grandparent, the program will require that the 
biological father, i.e. the covered son of the plan member, 
execute an acknowledgement of paternity. 

NOTE: If dependent parent becomes ineligible, the grandchild 
becomes ineligible for coverage, unless the employee has legal 
custody of the grandchild. 

COBRACfederal continuation of coverage laws originally 
enacted in the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1985 with amendments. 

CommitteeCthe grievance committee of the board. 
Covered PersonCan active or retired employee, or his 

eligible dependent, or any other individual eligible for 
coverage for whom the necessary application forms have 
been completed and for whom the required contribution is 
being made. 

Custodial CareCcare designed essentially to assist an 
individual to meet his activities of daily living (i.e. services 
which constitute personal care such as help in walking, 
getting in and out of bed, assisting in bathing, dressing, 
feeding, using the toilet and care which does not require 
admission to the hospital or other institution for the 
treatment of a disease, illness, accident or injury, or for the 
performance of surgery; or, care primarily to provide room 
and board  with or without routine nursing care, training in 
personal hygiene and other forms of self-care) and 
supervisory care by a doctor for a person who is mentally or 
physically incapacitated and who is not under specific 
medical, surgical or psychiatric treatment to reduce the 
incapacity to the extent necessary to enable the patient to 
live outside an institution providing medical care, or when, 
despite treatment, there is not reasonable likelihood that the 
incapacity will be so reduced. 

Date AcquiredCthe date a dependent  of a covered 
employee is acquired in the following instance and on the 
following dates only: 

1. legal spouse-date of marriage; 
2. children  

a. natural children-the date of birth; 
b. children in the process of being adopted: 

 i. agency adoption-the date the adoption contract 
was executed by the employee  and the adoption agency; 
 ii. private adoption-the date of the execution of 
the act of voluntary surrender in favor of the employee, if the 
program is furnished with certification by the appropriate 
clerk of court setting forth the date of execution of the act 
and the date that said act became irrevocable, or the date of 
the first court order granting legal custody, whichever occurs 
first; 

c. other children living in the household of the 
covered employee who are or will be included as a 
dependent on the employee's federal income tax return-the 
date of the court order granting legal custody. 

d. grandchildren for whom the employee does not 
have legal custody, who are dependent upon the employee 
for support, and one of whose parents is a covered dependent 
as defined: 
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 i. the date of birth, if all the requirements are met 
at the time of birth; or 
 ii. the date on which the coverage becomes 
effective for the covered dependent, if all the requirements 
are not met at the time of birth. 

DeductibleCthe amo unt of covered charges for which no 
benefits will be paid. Before benefits can be paid in a plan 
year, a covered person must meet the deductible shown in 
the schedule of benefits. 

DependentCany of the following persons who are enrolled 
for coverage as dependents, if they are not also covered as 
an employee: 

1. the covered employee's legal spouse; 
2. any (never married) children from date of birth 

(must be added to coverage within 30 days from date 
acquired by completing appropriate enrollment documents) 
up to 21 years of age, dependent upon the employee for 
support; 

3. any unmarried (never married) children 21 years of 
age, but under 24 years of age, who are enrolled and 
attending classes as full-time students and who depend upon 
the employee for support. The term full-time student means 
students who are enrolled at an accredited college or 
university, or at a vocational, technical, or vocational-
technical or trade school or institute, or secondary school, 
for the number of hours or courses which is considered to be 
full-time attendance by the institution the student is 
attending; 

NOTE: It is the responsibility of the plan member to furnish 
proof acceptable to the program  documenting the full-time 
student status of a dependent child for each semester. 

4. any dependent parent of an employee or of an 
employee's legal spouse, if living in the same household, was 
enrolled prior to July 1, 1984, and who is, or will be, 
claimed as a dependent on the employee's federal income tax 
return in the current tax year. The program will require an 
affidavit stating the covered employee intends to include the 
parent as a dependent on his federal income tax return for 
the current tax year. Continuation of coverage will be 
contingent upon the payment of a separate premium for this  
coverage. 

Dependent CoverageCbenefits with respect to the 
employee's dependents only. 

DisabilityCthat the covered person, if an employee, is 
prevented, solely because of a disease, illness, accident or 
injury from engaging in his regular or customary occupation 
and is performing no work of any kind for compensation or 
profit; or, if a dependent, is prevented solely because of a 
disease, illness, accident or injury, from engaging in 
substantially all the normal activities of a person of like age 
in good health. 

Durable Medical EquipmentCequipment which: 
1. can withstand repeated use; 
2. is primarily and customarily used to serve a 

medical purpose; 
3. generally is not useful to a person in the absence of 

a illness or injury; and  
4. is appropriate for use in the home. Durable medical 

equipment includes, but is not limited to, such items as 
wheelchairs, hospital beds, respirators, braces (non-dental) 
and other items that the program may determine to be 
durable medical equipment. 

EmergencyCa medical condition of recent onset and 
severity which would lead a prudent lay person, acting 
reasonably and possessing an average knowledge of health 
and medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in 
serious jeopardy to the health of a Covered Person (or 
unborn child if the Covered Person is a pregnant woman), 
serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious 
dysfunction of any bodily organ.  

Emergency ServicesCthose services medically necessary 
to screen, evaluate, and treat an Emergency.  

EmployeeCa full-time employee as defined by a 
participant employer in accordance with state law. No 
person appointed on a temporary appointment will be 
considered an employee.  

Employee CoverageCbenefits with respect to the 
employee only. 

Family Unit LimitCthe dollar amount shown in the 
schedule of benefits has been incurred by three members of 
a family unit toward their plan year deductibles. The 
deductibles of all additional members of that family unit will 
be considered satisfied for that year.  

Fee ScheduleCOGB's schedule of maximum allowable 
charges for professional or hospital services. 

Future Medical Recovery RecoveryCfrom another plan of 
expenses contemplated to be necessary to complete medical 
treatment of the covered person.  

Group Health PlanCa plan (including a self-insured plan) 
of, or contributed to by, an employer (including a self-
employed person) or employee organization to provide 
health care (directly or otherwise) to the employees, former 
employees, the employer, others associated or formerly 
associated with the employer in a business relationship, or 
their families. 

Health Insurance CoverageCbenefits consisting of 
medical care (provided directly, through insurance or 
reimbursement, or otherwise) under any hospital or medical 
service policy or certificate, hospital or medical service plan 
contract, or HMO contract offered by a health insurance 
issuer. However, benefits described pursuant to the Health 
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act are not treated 
as benefits consisting of medical care. 

Health Maintenance Organization (HMO)Cany legal 
entity, which has received a certificate of authority from the 
Louisiana Commissioner of Insurance to operate as a health 
maintenance organization  in Louisiana. 

HIPAACthe Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (USA Public Law 104-191) and 
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

HospitalCan institution, which meets all the following 
requirements: 

1. is currently a licensed as a hospital by the state in 
which services are rendered and is not primarily an 
institution for rest, the aged, the treatment of pulmonary 
tuberculosis, a nursing home, extended care facility or 
remedial training institution, or facilities primarily for the 
treatment of conduct and behavior disorders. 

Incurred DateCthe date upon which a particular service or 
supply is rendered or obtained. When a single charge is 
made for a series of services, each service will bear a pro 
rated share of the charge. 
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Inpatient ConfinementCa hospital stay, which is equal to 
or exceeds 24 hours. 

Lifetime Maximum BenefitCthe total amount of benefits 
that will be paid under the plan for all eligible expenses 
incurred by a covered person. 

Medically NecessaryCa service or treatment which, in the 
judgement of the program: 

1. is appropriate and consistent with the diagnosis and 
which, in accordance with accepted medical standards, could 
not have been omitted without adversely affecting the 
patient's condition or the quality of medical care rendered; 
and 

2. is  not primarily custodial care. 
MedicareCthe health insurance available through 

Medicare laws enacted by the Congress of the United States. 
Occupational TherapyCthe application of any activity in 

which one engages for the purposes of evaluation, 
interpretation, treatment planning, and treatment of problems 
interfering with functional performance in persons impaired 
by physical illness or injury in order to significantly improve 
functioning. 

Office of Group Benefits (OGB)-the agency of the State of 
Louisiana, within the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, established by R.S. 42:801 and vested with 
the general administration of all aspects of programs of 
benefits as authorized or provided for under the provisions 
of Chapter 12 of Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

Outpatient Surgical FacilityCan ambulatory surgical 
facility licensed by the state in which the services are 
rendered. 

Pain Rehabilitation Control and/or TherapyCany program 
designed to develop the individual's ability to control or 
tolerate chronic pain. 

Participant EmployerCa state entity, school board or a 
state political subdivision authorized by law to participate in 
the program. 

Participating PharmacyCa pharmacy that participates in a 
network established and maintained by the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management firm with which the program has 
contracted to provide and administer outpatient prescription 
drug benefits. 

Participating Provider or MCO Participating ProviderCa 
physician, hospital, or other health care provider that 
participates in the network established and maintained by 
OGB (or a firm with which OGB has contracted) to provide 
health care services to participant in this plan. 

Physical TherapyCthe evaluation of physical status as 
related to functional abilities and treatment procedures as 
indicated by that evaluation. 

PhysicianC 
1. Physician means the following persons, licensed to 

practice their respective professional skills by reason of 
statutory authority: 

a. doctor of medicine (M.D.); 
b. doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.); 
c. doctor of dental medicine (D.M.D.);  
d. doctor of osteopathy (D.O.);  
e. doctor of podiatric medicine (D.P.M.); 
f. doctor of chiropractic (D.C.);  
g. doctor of optometry (O.D.);  

h. psychologist meeting the requirements of the 
National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; 

i. board certified social workers who are a 
members of an approved clinical social work registry or 
employed by the United States, the State of Louisiana, or a 
Louisiana parish or municipality, if performing professional 
services as a part of the duties for which he is employed; 

j. mental health counselors who are licensed by the 
state in which they practice; 

k. substance abuse counselors who are licensed by 
the state in which they practice. 

2. The term physician does not include social workers, 
who are not board certified; interns; residents; or fellows 
enrolled in a residency training program regardless of any 
other title by which he is designated or his position on the 
medical staff of a hospital. A senior resident, for example, 
who is referred to as an assistant attending surgeon or an 
associate physician , is considered a resident since the senior 
year of the residency is essential to completion of the 
training program. Charges made by a physician, who is on 
the faculty of a state medical school, or on the staff of a state 
hospital, will be considered a covered expense if the charges 
are made in connection with the treatment of a disease, 
illness, accident or injury covered under this plan, and if the 
physician would have charged a fee for the services in the 
absence of this provision. 

3. It is the specific intent and purpose of the program 
to exclude reimbursement to the covered person for services 
rendered by social workers who are not board certified; and 
intern, resident, or fellow enrolled in a residency training 
program regardless of whether the intern, resident, or fellow 
was under supervision of a physician  or regardless of the 
circumstances under which services were rendered. 

4. The term physician does not include a practicing 
medical doctor in the capacity of supervising interns, 
residents, senior residents, or fellows enrolled in a training 
program, who does not personally perform a surgical 
procedure or provide medical treatment to the covered 
person. 

PlanCcoverage under this contract including and 
comprehensive medical benefits, prescription drug benefits, 
and mental health and substance abuse benefits. 

Plan MemberCa covered person other than a dependent. 
Plan YearCthat period commencing at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 

standard time, at the address of the employee, or the date the 
covered person first becomes covered under the plan and 
continuing until 12:01 a.m., standard time, at the address of 
the employee on the next following July 1. Each successive 
plan year will be the period from 12:01 a.m., July 1, 
standard time, at the address of the employee  to 12:01 a.m., 
the next following July 1. 

ProgramCthe Program of employee benefits authorized 
by Chapter 12 of Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 
and administered by the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) . 

RecoveryCmonies paid to the covered person by way of 
judgment, settlement, or otherwise to compensate for all 
losses caused by the injuries or sickness whether or not said 
losses reflect medical or dental charges covered by the 
program. 
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RefereeCa hearing officer, employed or contracted by 
OGB, to whom an appeal may be referred for hearing. 

Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation TherapyCcare 
concerned with the management of patients with 
impairments of function due to diseas e, illness, accident or 
injury.  

ReimbursementCrepayment to the program for medical or 
dental benefits that it has paid toward care and treatment of 
the injury or sickness. 

Rest CureCcare provided in a sanitarium, nursing home or 
other facility and designed to provide custodial care and 
provide for the mental and physical well being of an 
individual. 

RetireeCan individual who was a covered employee, 
immediately prior to the date of retirement and who, upon 
retirement: 

1. immediately received retirement benefits from an 
approved state or governmental agency defined benefit plan; 
or 

2. was not eligible for participation in such a plan or 
had legally opted to not participate in such a plan; and 

a. began employment prior to September 15, 1979, 
has 10 years of continuous state service and has reached the 
age of 65; or 

b. began employment after September 16, 1979, has 
10 years of continuous state service and has reached the age 
of 70; or 

c. was employed after July 8, 1992, has 10 years of 
continuous state service, has a credit for a minimum of 40 
quarters in the Social Security system at the time of 
employment and has reached the age of 65; or 

d. maintained continuous coverage with the 
program as an eligible dependent until he/she became 
eligible as a former state employee to receive a retirement 
benefit from an approved state governmental agency defined 
benefit plan; or 

3. immediately received retirement benefits from a 
state-approved or state governmental agency-approved 
defined contribution plan and has accumulated the total 
number of years of creditable service which would have 
entitled him to receive a retirement allowance from the 
defined benefit plan of the retirement system for which the 
employee would have otherwise been eligible. The 
appropriate state governmental agency or retirement system 
responsible for administration of the defined contribution 
plan is responsible for certification of eligibility to the State 
Employees Group Benefits Program;  

4. retiree also means an individual who was a covered 
employee who continued the coverage through the 
provisions of COBRA immediately prior to the date of 
retirement and who, upon retirement, qualified for any of 
items 1, 2, or 3, above. 

Room and BoardCall hospital expenses necessary to 
maintain and sustain a covered person during a confinement, 
including but not limited to, facility charges for the 
maintenance of the covered person's hospital room, dietary 
and food services, nursing services performed by nurses 
employed by or under contract with the hospital and 
housekeeping services. 

Stop Loss ProvisionCrepresents the co-insurance amount 
for which the plan member is responsible. This amount does 
not include any deductibles or ineligible expenses. The plan 

member's stop loss will be the difference between the 
program’s payment and the eligible charge. 

SubrogationCthe program's right to pursue the covered 
person’s claims for medical or dental charges against a 
liability insurer, a responsible party or the covered person. 

Temporary AppointmentCan appointment to any position 
for a period of 120 consecutive calendar days or less. 

TreatmentCincludes consultations, examinations, 
diagnoses, and as well as medical services rendered in the 
care of a covered person. 

Well-Adult CareCa routine physical examination by a 
physician that may include an influenza vaccination, lab 
work and x-rays performed as part of the exam in that 
physician's office, and billed by that physician with wellness 
procedure and diagnosis codes. All other health services 
coded with wellness procedures and diagnosis codes are 
excluded. 

Well-Baby CareCroutine care to a well newborn infant 
from the date of birth until age 1. This includes routine 
physical examinations, active immunizations, check-ups, 
and office visits to a physician  and billed by that physician , 
except for the treatment and/or diagnosis of a specific 
illness. 

Well-Child CareCroutine physical examinations, active 
immunizations, check-ups and office visits to a physician , 
and billed by that physician, except for the treatment and/or 
diagnosis of a specific illness, from age 1 to age 16. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits MCO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional, technical, and 
facility services, prescription drugs, equipment, and supplies 
are reimbursed on the basis of a schedule of maximum 
allowable charges. In addition all eligible expenses are 
determined in accordance with plan limitations and 
exclusions.  

1. No Lifetime Maximum Limitation on  Benefits 
(except for Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefits and 
Durable Medical Equipment, below) 

2. Member Co -payments 
 

a. Inpatient Hospital Services $100 per day, 
maximum $300 
per admission 

b. Hospital Emergency Room  $100 (waived if 
admitted) 

c. Outpatient Services (per visit/encounter)  
d. Physician services $15 Primary 

Care Physician 
$25 Specialist1 

e. Ambulatory Surgical Facility  $100 
f. Physical /Occupational Therapy2 $ 15 
g. Speech Therapy2 $ 15  
h. MRI/CAT SCAN2 $ 50  
i. Sonograms $ 25 
j. Cardiac Rehabilitation (6-month limit) $ 15 

 
k. Pre-Natal And Postpartum Maternity (one-time 
co-payment to include Physician delivery charge, all 
pre-natal, one postpartum visit) 

$ 90 
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l. Well Care Services $15 

m. Home Health2 (Limit 150 visits per Plan year) $ 15 per visit  
 

1Primary Care Physicians are limited to General Practice, 
Internal Medicine, Family Practice, Ob-Gyn, and Pediatrics. 
2Prior authorization required. 

 
3. Percentage Payable by the Plan after Co -Payments 
 

a. Eligible expenses incurred for services of a 
participating  MCO provider 

100% 

b. Eligible expenses incurred at a non-participating 
provider, except for emergencies as provided herein  

0% 

c. Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other 
Group Health Plan is primary, and after Medicare reduction 

80% 

 
B. Pharmacy BenefitsCPrescription Drugs 
1. Lifetime Maximum for all Outpatient Prescription 

Drug Benefits, per personC$250,000 
2. Participating PharmacyCMember pays 50 percent 

of eligible expense and 100 percent of excess cost at the 
point of purchase.  

NOTE:  Excess payments do not count toward the out of 
pocket threshold (below). 

a. Eligible expense is  limited generic drug cost, if 
generic is available, and to drugs identified on the Pharmacy 
Benefits Manager's list of preferred drugs, if generic is not 
available. 

b. Maximum co-payment for Eligible expenses – 
$50 per prescription dispensed. 

c. No maximu m co-payment for excess costs. 
d. Out-of-pocket thresholdC$1,200 per person, per 

Plan Year  (for eligible expenses ONLY). Co-pay after 
threshold is reached:  
 i. BrandC$15,  
 ii. GenericCno co-pay 

e. Plan pays balance of Eligible Expense. 
3. Non-participating PharmacyCMember pays 100%, 

no credit toward out-of-pocket threshold.  
C. Durable Medical Equipment 

1. Lifetime Maximum Benefit for Durable Medical 
Expenses, per personC$50,000 

2. Plan pays 80% of eligible expense. 
D. Well Care Services 

1. Well Baby Care (Birth to age 1)COffice visits for 
scheduled immunizations and screenings 

2. Well Child Care 
a. Age 1-2Cthree (3) office visits per year for 

scheduled immunizations and screenings 
b. Age 3-15Cone (1) office visit per year for 

scheduled immunizations and screenings 
3. Well Adult CareCroutine physical examination and 

associated laboratory and radiology 
a. Age 16-39Conce during a 3-year period 
b. Age 40-49Conce during a 2-year period 
c. Age 50 and overConce during a 1-year period 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  
§703. Mental Health And Substance Abuse  

(Prior Authorization Required for all Services.) 
A. Member Co -Payments 

1. Inpatient Hospital Services $100 per day, maximum $300 per 
admission 

2. Outpatient Services  $25 per visit  

 
B. Benefits Limitations 
 

1. Inpatient Hospital Services Maximum of 45 inpatient days per 
person, per calendar year 

2. Outpatient Services Maximum of 52 outpatient visits per 
person, per Calendar Year, inclusive of 
the intensive outpatient program 

 
NOTE: Two days of partial hospitalization or two days of 
residential treatment center hospitalization may be traded for 
each inpatient day of treatment that is available under the 45-
day Calendar Year maximum for inpatient treatment. A 
residential treatment center is a 24-hour mental health or 
substance abuse, non-acute care treatment setting for active 
treatment interventions directed at the amelioration of the 
specific impairments that led to admission. Partial 
hospitalization is a level of care where the patient remains in 
the hospital less than 24 hours. Expenses incurred for 
emergency services will only be reimbursed if, after review, 
the services are determined to be a life-threatening psychiatric 
emergency resulting in an authorized mental health or 
substance abuse admission within 24 hours to an inpatient, 
partial, or intensive outpatient level care. Non-emergent 
psychiatric or substance abuse problems treated in the 
emergency room will not be eligible for reimbursement. 
 

C. Percentage Payable by the Plan after Co -payments 
 
1. Eligible expenses incurred for services of a 
participating  MCO provider 

100% 

2. Eligible expenses incurred at a non-participating 
provider, except for emergencies as defined herein  

0% 

3. Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other 
Group Health Plan is primary, and after Medicare reduction 

80% 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801 (C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:  

Interested persons may present their views, in writing, to 
A. Kip Wall, Chief Executive Officer, Office of Group 
Benefits, Box 44036, Baton Rouge, La 70804, until 4:30 
p.m. on Wednesday, April 30, 2003. 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Managed Care Option (MCO) 

Plan of Benefits 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated by OGB's consulting actuary, Milliman, 
USA, that the addition of the Managed Care Option (MCO) 
will result in a cost avoidance to the State of Louisiana and 
Office of Group Benefits of avoidance to the State of Louisiana 
and Office of Group Benefits of approximately $6.5 million for 
Fiscal Year 2003/22004. If overall medical inflation continues 
at 15 percent for the next several years, the cost avoidance for 
Fiscal Year 2004/2005 will be $7.5 million and the cost 
avoidance for Fiscal Year 2005/2006 will be $8.6 million. It is 
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anticipated that $3,000 in printing costs will be incurred with 
the publishing of this rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governmental units 
will not be affected. This benefit option is being added to give 
members participating in the Office of Group benefits an 
addition al health care option. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule allows the Office of Group Benefits to add an 
additional benefit option, the Managed Care Option (MCO). 
The MCO will give employees another health care option in 
addition to the PPO, EPO, and an HMO. Those members that 
choose (it is anticipated approximately 5,000 
employees/retirees will choose this option) to select this option 
will pay a lower premium than if they enroll in any of the other 
health care options. They will have benefits that are very close 
to that of an HMO member, but will be subject to a strict 
formulary for Prescription Drugs and there will be no our of 
network benefits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and employment should not be affected. 
 

A. Kip Wall H. Gordon Monk 
Chief Executive Officer Staff Director 
0303#075 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration  
Office of State Purchasing 

Procurement of Computer Equipment and Services  
(LAC 34:I.Chapter 55) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 39:199.C and D, the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing hereby gives notice of its intent to amend Rules 
relative to the purchase and lease of computer hardware and 
software; the procurement of hardware maintenance, 
software maintenance, and software support services; and 
the procedures for Procurement Support Team operations. 

Further, the Office of State Purchasing proposes to repeal 
Rules relative to Emergency Procurement of Data 
Processing Equipment; Guidelines for Justification of Multi-
Year Data Processing Leases; Unscheduled Maintenance of 
Data Processing Equipment; Procedures for Disposing of 
Leased, Rented or Purchased Data Processing Equipment; 
and Equipment Specifications in Solicitations, LAC 
34:I.Appendix A.1-9:5, 1-9:6 and 1-9:7, 1-9:9, and 1-9:12, 
respectively. 

The Office of the State Register will also renumber LAC 
34:I.Appendix A to meet the APA mandate of prescribing "a 
uniform system of indexing, numbering, arrangement of text 
and citation of authority and history notes for the Louisiana 
Administrative Code." The following table should clarify the 
renumbering effort. 

 

Former Section Number under 
Appendix A New Section Number 

New Material 5501 
1-9:3 5503 
1-9:4 5505, 5507, 5509, 5511 
1-9:5 Repealed 
1-9:6 Repealed 
1-9:7 Repealed 
1-9:8 5513 
1-9:9 Repealed 

1-9:12 Repealed 
 

The text of this proposed Rule may be viewed in the 
Emergency Rule section of this issue of the Louisiana 
Register. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
5:00 p.m., April 21, 2003 to Denise Lea, Director, Office of 
State Purchasing, P.O. Box 94095, Baton Rouge, LA  
70804-9095.  

 
Denise Lea 
Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Procurement of Computer Equipment 

and Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated implementation cost to state or 
local governmental units beyond the initial publication cost. 

For the past two decades, information technology services 
have been procured through non-competitive negotiations. 
These rules establish a framework in which services will be 
procured utilizing competitive tools. The Computer Consulting 
Services and Support Agreement (CSSA) is the most recent 
tool implemented. This new contracting method establishes 
base hourly pricing within six categories of services. Phase I of 
this project established the maximum hourly prices a contractor 
may charge while pricing is showing in excess of a 20 percent 
savings compared to hourly charges paid in the past. The state 
is expecting to realize additional savings in phase II however, it 
is too early to determine actual amounts. 

Other methods of procurement that will be utilized will be 
the Invitation to Bid (ITB) for basic maintenance services not 
covered in the CSSA. Complex Services over one million 
dollars will be bid utilizing a Request for Proposal (RFP). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rules should have no effect 
on revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. Any cost savings 
realized by the State in procuring hardware, software, 
maintenance and support services will result in less revenue to 
private entities that provide these items and services. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There rules should increase competition. No significant 
overall impact is anticipated in employment. 

 
Denise Lea H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#076 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodologies 
Final Payment and Small Rural Hospitals  

(LAC 50:V.301-315) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
amend the following Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule to adopt the provisions governing the 
disproportionate share payment methodologies for hospitals 
in May of 1999 (Louisiana Register, Volume 25, Number 5) . 
The May 20, 1999 Rule was later amended to change the 
criteria used to define rural hospitals and to clarify the policy 
governing final payments and adjustments (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 1).  

Act 1024 of the 2001 Regular Session directed the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, as the federally 
designated Medicaid state agency, to specify in the Medicaid 
State Plan how uncompensated care is defined and 
calculated and to determine what facilities qualify for 
uncompensated care payments and the amo unt of the 
payments. In determining payments, the department shall 
prioritize local access to primary health care for the 
medically indigent and uninsured, and shall not include 
unreimbursed costs  resulting from excess inpatient hospital 
capacity. For the period July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2005, 
the state’s Medicaid uncompensated care payments shall be 
distributed in proportion to the amount and type of 
uncompensated care reported by all qualified facilities as 
required by Senate Bill No. 883 of the 2001 Regular 
Session. Nothing shall be construed to impede or preclude 
the Department of Health and Hospitals from implementing 
the provisions in the Rural Hospital Preservation Act. 
Further, Senate Concurrent Resolution 94 of the 2001 
Regular Session and Senate Concurrent Resolution 27 of the 
2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature requested 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, the Louisiana State 
University Health Sciences Center-Health Services Division, 
and the Louisiana State University Health Sciences  
Center-Shreveport to study and recommend common acute 
hospital payment methodologies for state and non-state 
hospitals participating in the Medicaid Program and the 
Medicaid Disproportionate Share Program. In accordance 
with the findings and recommendations contained in the 
final reports of the study committees, the department 
proposes to amend the provisions governing 
disproportionate share hospital payments contained in the 
May 20, 1999 Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 

has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
May 20, 1999 Rule governing the disproportionate share 
payment methodologies as follows. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH–MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Medical Assistance Program–Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 3. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment 
Methodologies 

§301. General Provisions 
A. The reimbursement methodology for inpatient 

hospital services incorporates a provision for an additional 
payment adjustment for hospitals serving a disproportionate 
share of low-income patients. 

B. The following provisions govern the disproportionate 
share hospital (DSH) payment methodologies for qualifying 
hospitals. 

1. Total cumulative disproportionate share payments 
under any and all disproportionate share hospital payment 
methodologies shall not exceed the federal disproportionate 
share state allotment for Louisiana for each federal fiscal 
year or the state appropriation for disproportionate share 
payments for each state fiscal year. The department shall 
make necessary downward adjustments to hospitals' 
disproportionate share payments to remain within the federal 
disproportionate share allotment and the state 
disproportionate share appropriated amount.  

2. Appropriate action including, but not limited to, 
deductions from DSH, Medicaid payments and cost report 
settlements shall be taken to recover any overpayments 
resulting from the use of erroneous data, or if it is 
determined upon audit that a hospital did not qualify. 

3. DSH payments to a hospital determined under any 
of the methodologies described in this Chapter shall not 
exceed the hospital's net uncompensated cost as defined in 
§§305-313 or the disproportionate share limits as defined in 
Section 1923(g)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act for the state 
fiscal year to which the payment is applicable. 

4. Qualification is based on the hospital’s latest filed 
cost report and related uncompensated cost data as required 
by the department. Hospitals must file cost reports in 
accordance with Medicare deadlines, including extensions. 
Hospitals that fail to timely file Medicare cost reports and 
related uncompensated cost data will be assumed to be 
ineligible for disproportionate share payments. Only 
hospitals that return timely disproportionate share 
qualification documentation will be considered for 
disproportionate share payments. After the final payment 
during the state fiscal year has been issued, no adjustment 
will be give on DSH payments, even if subsequently 
submitted documentation demonstrates an increase in 
uncompensated care costs for the qualifying hospital. For 
hospitals with distinct part psychiatric units, qualification is 
based on the entire hospital’s utilization. 

5. Hospitals and/or units which close or withdraw 
from the Medicaid Program shall become ineligible for 
further DSH pool payments for the remainder of the current 
DSH pool payment cycle and thereafter.  
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6. No additional payments shall be made to a hospital 
if an increase in cost is determined after audit. 

7. Implementation of this Chapter 3 shall be subject to 
the approval of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§303. Disproportionate Share Hospital Qualifications 

A. In order to qualify as a disproportionate share 
hospital, a hospital: 

1. must have at least two obstetricians who have staff 
privileges and who have agreed to provide obstetric services 
to individuals who are Medicaid eligible. In the case of a 
hospital located in a rural area (i.e., an area outside of a 
metropolitan statistical area), the term obstetrician  includes 
any physician who has staff privileges at the hospital to 
perform nonemergency obstetric procedures; or 

2. treat inpatients who are predominantly individuals 
under 18 years of age; or 

3. be a hospital which did not offer nonemergency 
obstetric services to the general population as of December 
22, 1987; and 

4. have a utilization rate in excess of one or more of 
the following specified minimum utilization rates: 

a. Medicaid utilization rate is a fraction (expressed 
as a percentage); the numerator is the hospital's number of 
Medicaid (Title XIX) inpatient days and the denominator is 
the total number of the hospital's inpatient days for a cost-
reporting period. Hospitals shall be deemed disproportionate 
share providers if their Medicaid utilization rates are in 
excess of the mean, plus one standard deviation of the 
Medicaid utilization rates for all hospitals in the state 
receiving payments; or 

b. hospitals shall be deemed disproportionate share 
providers if their low-income utilization rates are in excess 
of 25 percent. Low-income utilization rate is the sum of: 
 i. the fraction (expressed as a percentage), the 
numerator is the sum (for the period) of the total Medicaid 
patient revenues plus the amount of the cash subsidies for 
patient services received directly from state and local 
governments, and the denominator is the total amount of 
revenues of the hospital for patient services (including the 
amount of such cash subsidies) in the cost reporting period; 
and 
 ii. the fraction (expressed as a percentage), the 
numerator is the total amount of the hospital's charges for 
inpatient services which are attributable to charity (free) care 
in a period, less the portion of any cash subsides as 
described in §303.A.4.b.i in the period which are reasonably 
attributable to inpatient hospital services; and the 
denominator is the total amount of the hospital's charges for 
inpatient hospital services in the period. For public providers 
furnishing inpatient services free of charge or at a nominal 
charge, this percentage shall not be less than zero. This 
numerator shall not include contractual allowances and 
discounts (other than for indigent patients ineligible for 
Medicaid), i.e., reductions in charges given to other third-
party payers, such as HMOs, Medicare, or Blue Cross; nor 
charges attributable to Hill-Burton obligations. A hospital 
providing "free care" must submit its criteria and procedures 

for identifying patients who qualify for free care to the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing for approval. The 
policy for free care must be posted prominently and all 
patients must be advised of the availability of free care and 
the procedures for applying. Hospitals not in compliance 
with free care criteria will be subject to recoupment of DSH 
and Medicaid payments; or  

c. hospitals shall be deemed disproportionate share 
providers eligible for reimbursement for inpatient services if 
their inpatient uninsured utilization rates are in excess of 
three percent:  
 i. inpatient uninsured utilization rate is a fraction 
(expressed as a percentage); the numerator is the total 
amount of the hospital's charges for inpatient services 
furnished to uninsured persons for the period, and the 
denominator is the total amount of the hospital's charges for 
inpatient services furnished to all persons for the period; or 

d. hospitals shall be deemed disproportionate share 
providers eligible for reimbursement for outpatient services 
if their outpatient uninsured utilization rates are in excess of 
three percent:  
 i. outpatient uninsured utilization rate is a 
fraction (expressed as a percentage), the numerator is the 
total amount of the hospital's charges for outpatient services 
furnished to uninsured persons for the period, and the 
denominator is the total amount of the hospital's charges for 
outpatient services furnished to all persons for the period; or  

5. effective November 3, 1997, be a small rural 
hospital as defined in §311.A.1.a-h; and 

6. in addition to the qualification criteria outlined in 
§303.A.1-5, effective July 1, 1994, must also have a 
Medicaid inpatient utilization rate of at least one percent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§305. High Uninsured Utilization Rate Hospitals  

A. Definitions 
High Uninsured Utilization Rate HospitalCa 
hospital that has an: 

a. inpatient uninsured utilization rate of not less 
than 10 percent; or 

b. outpatient uninsured utilization rate of not less 
than 20 percent. 

Net Uncompensated CostCthe cost of furnishing 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services to uninsured 
persons, supported by patient-specific data, net of any 
payments received from such patients. 

B. It is  mandatory that hospitals seek all third party 
payments including Medicare, Medicaid and other third 
party carriers and payments from patients. Hospitals must 
certify that excluded from net uncompensated cost are any 
costs for the care of Medicaid eligible persons. Hospitals 
must maintain a log documenting the provision of uninsured 
care as directed by the department. Hospitals shall submit an 
attestation that patients whose care is included in the 
hospitals’ net uncompensated cost are not Medicaid eligible 
and supporting patient-specific demographic data that does 
not identify individuals, but is sufficient for audit of the 
hospitals' compliance with the Medicaid ineligibility 
requirement as required by the department. 
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C. DSH payments to individual high uninsured 
utilization rate hospitals shall be equal to 95 percent of the 
hospital's uncompensated costs subject to the adjustment 
provision in §301.B.1 and 3. 

D. In the event that it is necessary to reduce the amount 
of disproportionate share payments to rema in within the 
federal disproportionate share allotment or the state DSH-
appropriated amount, the department shall prioritize 
payments to high uninsured utilization rate hospitals and 
shall calculate a pro rata decrease for each high uninsured 
utilization rate hospital based on the ratio determined by 
dividing that hospital's uncompensated cost by the total 
uncompensated cost for all qualifying high uninsured 
utilization rate hospitals during the state fiscal year and then 
multiplying by the amount of disproportionate share 
payments calculated in excess of the federal disproportionate 
allotment or state DSH-appropriated amount.  

E. A hospital receiving DSH payments shall furnish 
emergency and nonemergency services to uninsured persons 
with family incomes less than or equal to 100 percent of the 
federal poverty level on an equal basis to insured patients. 
Hospitals found to be in violation of this provision for equal 
access are subject to sanction by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§307. Low Uninsured Utilization Rate Hospitals 

A. Definitions 
Low Uninsured Utilization Rate Hospital—a hospital 

that has: 
a. an inpatient uninsured utilization rate of less than 

10 percent; or  
b. an outpatient uninsured utilization rate of less 

than 20 percent. 
Net Uncompensated Cost—the cost of furnishing 

inpatient and outpatient hospital services to uninsured 
persons, supported by patient-specific data, net of any 
payments received from such patients. 

B. It is mandatory that hospitals seek all third party 
payments including Medicare, Medicaid and other third 
party carriers and payments from patients. Hospitals must 
certify that excluded from net uncompensated cost are any 
costs for the care of Medicaid eligible persons. Hospitals 
must maintain a log documenting the provision of uninsured 
care as directed by the department. Hospitals shall submit an 
attestation that patients whose care is included in the 
hospitals’ net uncompensated cost are not Medicaid eligible 
and supporting patient-specific demographic data that does 
not identify individuals, but is sufficient for audit of 
hospitals’ compliance with the Medicaid ineligibility 
requirement as required by the department.  

C. DSH payments to individual low uninsured utilization 
rate hospitals shall be equal to 95 percent of the hospital's 
uncompensated costs subject to the adjustment provision in 
§301.B.1 and 3. 

D. In the event that it is necessary to reduce the amount 
of disproportionate share payments to remain within the 
federal disproportionate share allotment or the state DSH-
appropriated amount, the department shall calculate a pro 
rata decrease for each low uninsured utilization rate hospital 
based on the ratio determined by dividing that hospital's 

uncompensated cost by the total uncompensated cost for all 
qualifying low uninsured utilization rate hospitals during the 
state fiscal year and then multiplying by the amount of 
disproportionate share payments calculated in excess of the 
federal disproportionate allotment or state DSH-appropriated 
amount. 

E. A hospital receiving DSH payments shall furnish 
emergency and nonemergency services to uninsured persons 
with family incomes less than or equal to 100 percent of the 
federal poverty level on an equal basis to insured patients. 
Hospitals found to be in violation of this provision for equal 
access are subject to sanction by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§309. High Medicaid Utilization Rate Hospitals 

A. Definitions 
High Medicaid Utilization Rate Hospital-a hospital that 

has a Medicaid utilization rate in excess of the mean, plus 
one standard deviation of the Medicaid utilization rates for 
all hospitals in the state receiving payments.  

a. Medicaid utilization rate is a fraction (expressed 
as a percentage), the numerator is the hospital's number of 
Medicaid (Title XIX) inpatient days and the denominator is 
the total number of the hospital's inpatient days for a cost-
reporting period. 

Net Uncompensated Cost—the sum of the cost of 
furnishing inpatient and outpatient hospital services to 
Medicaid patients, net of Medicaid payments (excluding 
disproportionate share payments), and the cost of furnishing 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services to uninsured 
persons, supported by patient-specific data, net of any 
payments received from such patients.  

a. It is mandatory that hospitals seek all third party 
payments including Medicare, Medicaid and other third 
party carriers and payments from patients. Hospitals must 
certify that excluded from the cost of furnishing inpatient 
and outpatient hospital services to uninsured persons are any 
costs for the care of Medicaid eligible persons. Hospitals 
must maintain a log documenting the provision of uninsured 
care as directed by the department. Hospitals shall submit 
patient-specific demographic data that does not identify 
individuals but is sufficient for audit of hospitals’ 
compliance with the Medicaid ineligibility requirement as 
required by the department. 

B. Disproportionate share hospital payments to 
individual high Medicaid utilization rate hospitals shall be 
equal to 95 percent of the hospital's uncompensated costs 
subject to the adjustment provision in §301.B.1 and 3. 

C. In the event that it is necessary to reduce the amount 
of disproportionate share payments to remain within the 
federal disproportionate share allotment or the state DSH-
appropriated amount, the department shall calculate a pro 
rata decrease for each high Medicaid utilization rate hospital 
based on the ratio determined by dividing that hospital's 
uncompensated cost by the total uncompensated cost for all 
qualifying high Medicaid utilization rate hospitals during the 
state fiscal year and then multiplying by the amount of 
disproportionate share payments calculated in excess of the 
federal disproportionate allotment or state DSH-appropriated 
amount. 
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D. A hospital receiving DSH payments shall furnish 
emergency and nonemergency services to uninsured persons 
with family incomes less than or equal to 100 percent of the 
federal poverty level on an equal basis to insured patients. 
Hospitals found to be in violation of this provision for equal 
access are subject to sanction by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§311. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. Definitions 
1. Small Rural Hospital—a hospital (excluding a 

long-term care hospital, rehabilitation hospital, or 
freestanding psychiatric hospital but including distinct part 
psychiatric units) that meets the following criteria: 

a. had no more than 60 hospital beds as of July 1, 
1994, and is located in a parish with a population of less than 
50,000 or in a municipality with a population of less than 
20,000; or 

b. meets the qualifications of a sole community 
hospital under 42 CFR 412.92(a); or 

c. had no more than 60 hospital beds as of July 1, 
1999 and is located in a parish with a population of less than 
17,000 as measured by the 1990 census; or 

d. had no more than 60 hospital beds as of July 1, 
1997 and is a publicly-owned and operated hospital that is 
located in either a parish with a population of less than 
50,000 or a municipality with a population of less than 
20,000; or 

e. had no more than 60 hospital beds as of June 30, 
2000 and is located in a municipality with a population, as 
measured by the 1990 census, of less than 20,000; or 

f. had no more than 60 beds as of July 1, 1997 and 
is located in a parish with a population, as measured by the 
1990 and 2000 census, of less than 50,000; or 

g. was a hospital facility licensed by the department 
that had no more than 60 hospital beds as of July 1, 1994, 
which hospital facility: 
 i.  has been in continuous operation since July 1, 
1994; 
 ii. is currently operating under a license issued by 
the department; and 
 iii. is located in a parish with a population, as 
measured by the 1990 census, of less than 50,000; 

h. has no more than 60 hospital beds or has notified 
the department as of March 7, 2002 of its intent to reduce its 
number of hospital beds to no more than 60, and is located in 
a municipality with a population of less than 13,000 and in a 
parish with a population of less than 32,000 as measured by 
the 2000 census. 

2. Net Uncompensated Cost—the cost of furnishing 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services, net of Medicare 
costs, Medicaid payments (excluding disproportionate share 
payments), costs associated with patients who have 
insurance for services provided, private payer payments, and 
all other inpatient and outpatient payments received from 
patients. 

B. Payment based on uncompensated cost for qualifying 
small rural hospitals shall be in accordance with the 
following two pools: 

1. Public (Nonstate) Small Rural Hospitals—small 
rural hospitals as defined in §311.A.1.a-h, which are owned 
by a local government. 

2. Private Small Rural Hospitals—small rural 
hospitals as defined in §311.A.1-2, that are privately owned. 

C. Payment is equal to each qualifying rural hospital’s 
pro rata share of uncompensated cost for all hospitals 
meeting these criteria for the latest filed cost report 
multiplied by the amount set for each pool. If the cost 
reporting period is not a full period (12 months), actual 
uncompensated cost data from the previous cost reporting 
period may be used on a pro rata basis to equate a full year.  

D. The disproportionate share payments to each 
qualifying rural hospital shall continue to be equal to that 
hospital’s pro rata share of uncompensated costs for all 
hospitals meeting these criteria for the cost reporting period 
ended during the period April 1, 2000 through March 31, 
2001, multiplied by the amount set for this pool. Payment 
will not exceed each qualifying hospital’s actual 
uncompensated costs or the amount appropriated. If the cost 
reporting period is not a full period (12 months), actual 
uncompensated cost data for the previous cost reporting 
period may be used on a pro rata basis to equate to a full 
year. 

E. A pro rata decrease necessitated by conditions 
specified in §301.B.1 for rural hospitals described in this 
§311 will be calculated using the ratio determined by 
dividing the qualifying rural hospital's uncompensated costs 
by the uncompensated costs for all rural hospitals in §311, 
then multiplying by the amount of disproportionate share 
payments calculated in excess of the federal DSH allotment 
or the state DSH appropriated amount. No additional 
payments shall be made after the final payment for the state 
fiscal year is disbursed by the department. Recoupment shall 
be initiated upon completion of an audit if it is determined 
that the actual uncompensated care costs for the state fiscal 
year for which the payment is applicable is less than the 
actual amount paid. 

F. Uncompensated costs to small rural hospitals for 
health care services provided in a rural health clinic that is 
licensed as part of the small rural hospital must meet the 
qualifying criteria contained in §303.A.6 and either 
§303.A.1, 2, or 3. In addition, qualifying hospitals must meet 
the definition for a small rural hospital contained in 
§311.A.1.a-h. Qualifying hospitals must maintain a log 
documenting the provision of uninsured care in the rural 
health clinic as directed by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§313. Public State-Operated Hospitals 

A. Definitions 
Public State-Operated Hospital—a hospital that is 

owned or operated by the State of Louisiana, Department of 
Health and Hospitals. 

Net Uncompensated Cost—the cost of furnishing 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services, net of Medicare 
costs, Medicaid payments (excluding disproportionate share 
payments), costs associated with patients who have 
insurance for services provided, private payer payments, and 
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all other inpatient and outpatient payments received from 
patients. 

B. DSH payments to individual public state-owned or 
operated hospitals shall be equal to 100 percent of the 
hospital's net uncompensated costs. Final payment will be 
based on the uncomp ensated cost data per the audited cost 
report for the period(s) covering the state fiscal year.  

C. In the event that it is necessary to reduce the amount 
of disproportionate share payments to remain within the 
federal disproportionate share allotment or the state DSH-
appropriated amount, the department shall calculate a pro 
rata decrease for each public state-owned or operated 
hospital based on the ratio determined by dividing that 
hospital's uncompensated cost by the total uncompensated 
cost for all qualifying public state-owned or operated 
hospitals during the state fiscal year and then multiplying by 
the amount of disproportionate share payments calculated in 
excess of the federal disproportionate allotment or state 
DSH-appropriated amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§315. Psychiatric Hospitals  

A. Definitions 
Psychiatric Hospital–a freestanding psychiatric hospital 

that is not included in §313. 
Net Uncompensated Cost-the cost of furnishing 

inpatient and outpatient hospital services, net of Medicare 
costs, Medicaid payments (excluding disproportionate share 
payments), costs associated with patients who have 
insurance for services provided, private payer payments, and 
all other inpatient and outpatient payments received from 
patients. 

B. DSH payments to individual freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals  shall be based on actual paid Medicaid days for a 
six-month period ending on the last day of the last month of 
that period, but reported at least 30 days preceding the date 
of payment. Annualization of days for the purposes of the 
Medicaid days pool is not permitted. The amount will be 
obtained by DHH from a report of paid Medicaid days by 
service date. 

C. Disproportionate share payments for individual 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall be calculated based 
on the product of the ratio determined by dividing each 
qualifying freestanding psychiatric hospital's actual paid 
Medicaid inpatient days for a six-month period ending on 
the last day of the month preceding the date of payment 
(which will be obtained by DHH from a report of paid 
Medicaid days by service date) by the total Medicaid 
inpatient days obtained from the same report of all qualified 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals, and multiplying by an 
amount of funds for freestanding psychiatric to be 
determined by the director of the Bureau of Health Services 
Financing. Total Medicaid inpatient days include Medicaid 
nursery days but do not include skilled nursing facility or 
swing-bed days.  

D. A pro rata decrease necessitated by conditions 
specified in §301.B for freestanding psychiatric hospitals 
will be calculated based on the ratio determined by dividing 
the hospitals' Medicaid days by the Medicaid days for all 
qualifying hospitals in this Section 315, then multiplying by 

the amount of disproportionate share payments calculated in 
excess of the federal disproportionate share allotment or the 
state disproportionate share appropriated amount.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 

Implementation of this proposed Rule shall be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Friday, April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Disproportionate Share Hospital 

Payment MethodologiesCFinal Payment  
and Small Rural Hospitals 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact for SFY 2003-04, 
and 2004-05.  It is anticipated that $1,296 ($648 SGF and $648 
FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-03 for the state=s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not impact federal revenue collections.  Specifically, 
the State will not exceed its limit of federal financial 
participation in disproportionate share payments (DSH). 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will change the DSH payment amount to some qualifying 
hospitals. Payments to small rural hospitals and hospitals 
owned and operated by the Department of Health and Hospitals 
(DHH) are anticipated to not change.  Payments to state 
hospitals not owned and operated by DHH are anticipated to 
decrease and payments to non-state public and private hospitals 
(excluding small rural hospitals) are anticipated to increase as a 
result of the redefinition of qualifying hospitals (22). 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the proposed rules will improve the 
ability of non-state hospitals to compete with state hospitals for 
DSH payments. It is anticipated that such competition may 
have an adverse impact on employment in state hospitals to the 
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extent that DSH payments shift from state to non-state 
facilities. 

 
Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Expansion of Coverage for Low Income Pregnant Women 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV) and 1905(n)(2) of the 
Social Security Act requires states to provide Medicaid 
coverage to pregnant women whose pregnancy has been 
medically verified and whose family income is at or below 
133 percent of the federal poverty level. The Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing currently provides coverage to 
low-income pregnant women in compliance with the 
minimum federal poverty level income allowed by 
regulations for pregnant women coverage. Income eligibility 
is based upon the current federal poverty level for the 
household size. Medicaid coverage for pregnant women is 
limited to prenatal care, delivery, 60 days of postpartum care 
and treatment for other conditions which may complicate the 
pregnancy. Under general Medicaid regulations, the agency 
has the option to provide coverage to low income pregnant 
women whose family income is up to, but no higher than, 
185 percent of the federal poverty level. 

Act 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature allocated funding for the eligibility 
determination costs associated with the expansion of 
Medicaid and the Louisiana Children's Insurance Program to 
provide coverage for pregnant women with family income 
not greater than 200 percent of the federal poverty level. 

In compliance with Act 13 the department adopted an 
emergency Rule to amend the current provisions governing 
the eligibility income levels for coverage for low income 
pregnant women (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 
1). The department now proposes to continue the provisions 
contained in the January 1, 2002 emergency Rule.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it will facilitate access to prenatal care for more 
low income pregnant women. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
current provisions governing eligibility for low income 
pregnant women and expands coverage to include low 
income pregnant women with family income greater than 
133 percent, but less than or equal to 185 percent of the 
federal poverty level (Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 
1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act). 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for Friday, 
April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid EligibilityCExpansion of 

Coverage for Low Income Pregnant Women 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$600,422 for SFY 2002-03, $4,195,087 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$4,404,753 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $162 ($81 
SGF and $81 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 for the 
state's administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed 
Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$1,472,740 for SFY 2002-03, $10,545,207 for SFY 2003-04, 
and $11,072,244 for SFY 2004-2005. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will increase 
expenditures for services rendered to low income pregnant 
women by approximately $2,073,000 for SFY 2002-03, 
$14,740,294 for SFY 2003-04, and $15,476,997 for SFY 2004-
05. The anticipated economic benefit to directly affected 
persons is that low income pregnant women (approximately 
5000), with income between 133 and 185 percent of the federal 
poverty level, who would have previously been ineligible, will 
now have access to Medicaid coverage.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Inclusion of the Unborn Child 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). Section H of the Medicaid Eligibility 
Manual contains the provisions governing the determination 
of eligibility. Under general Medicaid Rules, states are 
required to follow the same rules and processes used by the 
most closely related cash assistance program to determine 
Medicaid eligibility. The bureau currently utilizes the 
income methodologies of the former Aid to Families with 
Dependent Children (AFDC) Program to determine 
Medicaid eligibility for families and children.  

Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act allows states 
to use less restrictive income and resource methodologies in 
determining eligibility for most Medicaid eligibility groups 
than the methodologies used by the cash assistance program. 
Current Medicaid eligibility policy does not consider an 
unborn child when establishing the household size for the 
determination of eligibility for families and children. In 
order to reduce the administrative burden for the Medicaid 
Program and assist in eliminating the financial hardship for 
low-income families, the department proposes to amend 
Section H of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual to consider the 
unborn child when determining Medicaid eligibility for other 
children in the home. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 as it will allow certain low-income families with 
children to become eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions of Section H of the May 20, 1996 Rule governing 
the determination of Medicaid eligibility. Utilizing 
provisions allowed under Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social 
Security Act, an unborn child shall be considered when 
establishing the household size for determination of 
Medicaid eligibility for other children in the household. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule is subject to 
approval by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for Friday, 
April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that time all interested persons 
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or 
arguments either orally or in writing. The deadline for the 
receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next 
business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility 

Inclusion of the Unborn Child 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase state program costs by approximately $2,282 
for SFY 2002-03, $89,114 for SFY 2003-04 and $91,787 for 
SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $162 ($81 SGF and $81 
FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 and for the state=s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$5,480 for SFY 2002-03, $224,006 for SFY 2003-04 and 
$230,727 for SFY 2004-2005. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will increase 
expenditures for services rendered to Medicaid eligible children 
(approximately 250 at an average cost of $1,216 per eligible) 
by approximately $7,600 for SFY 2002-03, $313,120 for SFY 
2003-04 and $322,514 for SFY 2004-05.  It is anticipated that 
the proposed rule will have an economic benefit for directly 
affected families in that inclusion of the unborn child will allow 
the other children in the household to become eligible for 
Medicaid coverage during the mother’s pregnancy. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 442 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility  
Income Disregards for Low Income Pregnant Women 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing currently 
utilizes the income methodologies of the former Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) Program to 
determine Medicaid eligibility for families and children. 
Under general Medicaid rules, States are required to follow 
the same rules and processes used by the most closely 
related cash assistance program to determine Medicaid 
eligibility. 

Under Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act, 
States are allowed to use less restrictive income and resource 
methodologies in determining eligibility for most Medicaid 
eligibility groups than are used by the cash assistance 
program. Under current Medicaid eligibility policy for low 
income pregnant women, income eligibility is based upon 
the current federal poverty level for the household size. The 
total countable income of all members of the income unit is 
compared to the appropriate income standard for the income 
unit size. 

Act 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature provided additional funding for eligibility 
determination costs  associated with the expansion of 
Medicaid and the Louisiana Children's Insurance Program to 
provide coverage for pregnant women with family income 
not greater than 200 percent of poverty level. 

In compliance with Act 13 and in order to reduce 
administrative burden for the Medicaid Program and reduce 
financial hardship for low income pregnant women, the 
Bureau adopted an Emergency Rule to amend Section I of 
the Medicaid Eligibility Manual to disregard the first 15 
percent of monthly gross income under the federal poverty 
level standards when determining Medicaid eligibility for 
low income pregnant women (Section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 
1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act)(Louisiana 
Register Volume 29, Number 1). The department now 
proposes to continue the provisions contained in January 1, 
2003 Emergency Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
will have a positive impact on family functioning, stability, 
and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972, by increasing the 
availability of health care coverage to low income women. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the

current policy governing countable income in the 
determination of Medicaid eligibility for low income 
pregnant women. 

Utilizing provisions allowed under Section 1902(r)(2) of 
the Social Security Act, the department disregards the first 
15 percent of monthly gross income under the federal 
poverty level standards when determining Medicaid 
eligibility for low income pregnant women (Section 
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I), 1902(1)(1)(A) of the Social Security 
Act). 

Implementation of this proposed Rule is subject to 
approval by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben A 
Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for Friday, 
April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next busines s day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility  

Income Disregards for Low Income Pregnant Women 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$96,627 for SFY 2002-03, $670,752 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$704,511 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $162 ($81 
SGF and $81 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 for the 
state=s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$236,913 for SFY 2002-03, $1,686,072 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$1,770,934 for SFY 2004-2005. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will increase 
expenditures for medical services rendered to low income 
pregnant women by approximately $333,378 for SFY 2002-03, 
$2,356,824 for SFY 2003-04, and $2,475,445 for SFY 2004-
05. The anticipated economic benefit to directly affected 
persons is that low income pregnant women (approximately 
5000), who would have previously been ineligible, will now 
have access to Medicaid coverage as the proposed Rule will 
allow the department to disregard the first 15 percent of 
countable income under the federal poverty level standards 
when determining Medicaid eligibility. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Pregnant Unmarried MinorsCDisregard of Parent Income 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). Section I of the Medicaid Eligibility 
Manual addresses the eligibility factors considered in the 
determination of eligibility. Under general Medicaid Rules, 
states are required to follow the same Rules and processes 
used by the most closely related cash assistance program to 
determine Medicaid eligibility. The bureau currently utilizes 
the income methodologies of the former Aid to Families 
with Dependent Children (AFDC) Program to determine 
Medicaid eligibility for families and children. 

Section 1902(r)(2) of the Social Security Act allows states 
to use less restrictive income and resource methodologies in 
determining eligibility for most Medicaid eligibility groups 
than the methodologies used by the cash assistance program. 

In order to reduce the administrative burden for the 
Medicaid Program and assist in eliminating financial 
hardship for the families of pregnant unmarried minors, the 
Department proposes to amend Section I of the Medicaid 
Eligibility Manual to disregard the income of the parents in 
determining the Medicaid eligibility of a pregnant unmarried 
minor. Under current Medicaid eligibility policy for families 
and children, the parents of a pregnant unmarried minor who 
live in the home with the pregnant unmarried minor are 
mandatory members of the income unit and their income 
must be considered in determining Medicaid eligibility.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
will have a positive impact on family functioning, stability, 
and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. The proposed 
Rule will assist in eliminating financial hardship for the 
families of pregnant unmarried minor. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions of the May 20, 1996 Rule governing countable 

income in the determination of Medicaid eligibility for 
pregnant unmarried minors. 

Utilizing provisions allowed under Section 1902(r)(2) of 
the Social Security Act, the income of the parents who live 
in the home with a pregnant unmarried minor will be 
disregarded in the determination of Medicaid eligibility for 
the pregnant unmarried minor. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule is subject to 
approval by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. A public hearing on this proposed Rule is 
scheduled for Friday, April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade 
O. Martin, Jr. Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 
Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that time all 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. The 
deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. 
on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 

David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility 

Pregnant Unmarried MinorsCDisregard of  
Parent Income 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

Rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$16,518 for SFY 2002-03, $664,412 for SFY 2003-04 and 
$684,347 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $216 ($108 
SGF and $108 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 for 
the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$40,362 for SFY 2002-03, $1,670,145 for SFY 2003-04 and 
$1,720,247 for SFY 2004-2005. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will increase 
expenditures for services rendered to pregnant unmarried 
minors (approximately 748 at an average cost of $3,031 per 
eligible) by approximately $56,664 for SFY 2002-03, 
$2,334,557 for SFY 2003-04 and $2,404,594 for SFY 2004-05. 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule will 
have an economic benefit for the parents of pregnant unmarried 
minors in that they will not have to incur the expense for 
prenatal and postpartum care. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Treatment of Annuities 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). Section I of the Medicaid Eligibility 
Manual  addresses the eligibility factors considered in the 
determination of eligibility. 

Section 13611 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1993 amended Section 1917(c) of the Social Security Act 
and established Section 1917(d) to set forth Rules wherein 
transfers of assets and trusts must be considered in 
determining eligibility for Medicaid. Current Medicaid 
eligibility rules are not clear relative to the consideration of 
annuities in the eligibility determination process. The policy 
does not clearly state that an annuity is considered a legal 
instrument or device similar to a trust. 

In order to comply with the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1993 and curb abuse in the transfer of 
assets, the Bureau adopted an Emergency Rule to amend 
Section I of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual  in order to 
clarify current policy regarding annuities (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 1). The Bureau now proposes 
to adopt a Rule to continue the provisions contained in the 
January 1, 2003 emergency rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
current Medicaid eligibility policy governing the transfer of 
assets and trusts to further define and clarify the 
consideration of annuities in the Medicaid eligibility 
determination process. 

An annuity is considered a legal instrument or device 
similar to a trust. An annuity is defined as a contract or 
agreement by which one receives fixed, non variable 
payments on an investment for a lifetime or a specified 
number of years. An annuity containing a balloon payment 
will not be classified as an annuity for Medicaid eligibility 
purposes, but rather will be considered an available resource. 
A commercial (non-employment related) annuity purchased 
by or for an individual using that individual’s assets will be

considered an available resource unless it meets all of the 
following criteria. The annuity: 

1. is irrevocable; 
2. pays out principal and interest in equal monthly 

installments (no balloon payment) to the individual in 
sufficient amo unts that the principal is paid out within the 
actuarial life expectancy of the annuitant; 

3. names the state of Louisiana, Department of Health 
and Hospitals or its successor agency as the residual 
beneficiary of funds remaining in the annuity, not to exc eed 
any Medicaid funds expended on the individual during his 
lifetime; and 

4. is issued by an insurer or other body licensed and 
approved to do business in the jurisdiction in which the 
annuity is established. 

This policy change shall be applicable to all pending 
applications, renewals of eligibility or changes in situations 
(as defined in Section L of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual) 
where the applicant/recipient has an annuity. Existing 
annuities which do not meet all of the above criteria must be 
amended to comply with these requirements within 90 days 
of the first renewal or first change in their situation (as 
defined in Section L of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual) 
occurring after enactment of this Rule. 

Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon the 
approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Friday, April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility 

Treatment of Annuities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will decrease state program costs by approximately 
$1,222,598 for SFY 2002-03, $2,475,287 for SFY 2003-04, 
$2,549,545 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $216 ($108 
SGF and $108 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-03 for the 
state=s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will decrease federal revenue collections by
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approximately $2,999,236 for SFY 2002-03, $6,222,136 for 
SFY 2003-04 and $6,408,801 for SFY 2004-05. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will reduce the 
number of eligible Medicaid clients by curbing abuse in the 
transfer of assets.  This proposed Rule amends current 
Medicaid eligibility policy governing the transfer of assets and 
trusts to further define and clarify the consideration of annuities 
in the Medicaid eligibility determination process. It is 
anticipated that the implementation of this proposed Rule will 
decrease program expenditures for services (for approximately 
350 applicants/recipients) by approximately $4,222,050 for 
SFY 2002-03, $8,697,423 for SFY 2003-04 and $8,958,346 for 
SFY 2004-05. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Mentally Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver 
Skilled Nursing Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
promulgates the following Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Under the provisions of Section 1915(c) of the Social 
Security Act, states may provide services not generally 
reimbursable by the Medicaid Program to groups of 
individuals in the community who meet the qualifications 
for institutional care. Such programs are known as home and 
community based services waivers. The Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted a rule in July 1990 
establishing the Mentally Retarded/Developmentally 
Disabled (MR/DD) Waiver and the provisions governing the 
services covered under the waiver (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 16, Number 7). The MR/DD Waiver is one of the 
five waivers that are currently administered by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Community Supports and Services. 

The Bureau of Community Supports and Services has 
determined that it is necessary to incorporate a new service 
into the MR/DD Waiver. The Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services approved a waiver amendment to add 
skilled nursing services to the list of services provided under 
the MR/DD Waiver and the Bureau promulgated an 
emergency rule to include this service (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 28, Number 11). The bureau now proposes to 
continue the provisions of the November 1, 2002 emergency 
rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability, or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. This Rule should have a positive effect on family 
functioning by allowing individuals served by the MR/DD 
waiver to receive skilled nursing services. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
amends the July 20, 1990 Rule to include skilled  
nursing services as a service in the Mentally 
Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver. 
Recipient Criteria 

A. Skilled nursing services will be available to medically 
fragile individuals who meet the following criteria: 

1. are ventilator dependent or non-ambulatory, or have 
undergone a tracheotomy, or gastrostomy; and 

2. require life -sustaining equipment (ventilators, 
suction machines, apnea monitors, nebulizers and/or pulse 
oximeters); and 

3. are medically approved by their primary physician, 
as documented by a doctor's order and a letter of medical 
necessity from the physician. 
Provider and Staff Qualifications 

A. A home health agency must enroll as a MR/DD 
Waiver service provider in order to provide skilled nursing 
services under the MR/DD Waiver. 

B. Skilled nursing services shall be provided by either a 
licensed registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse 
employed by a Medicaid enrolled home health agency. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Barbara Dodge at the Bureau of Community Supports and 
Services, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana  
70821-9030. She is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. A public hearing on this 
proposed Rule is scheduled for Friday, April 25, 2003 at 
9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. Auditorium, State 
Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana. At that time all interested persons will be afforded 
an opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either 
orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Mentally Retarded/Developmentally 

Disabled Waiver Skilled Nursing Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$282,701 for SFY 2002-03, $429,068 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$441,941 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $216 ($108 
SGF and $108 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 for 
the state=s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$693,321 for SFY 2002-03, $1,078,552 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$1,110,908 for SFY 2004-05. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule would benefit recipients by adding 
skilled nursing services to the list of services provided under 
the Mentally Retarded/Developmentally Disabled Waiver. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will increase program 
expenditures by approximately $975,806 for SFY 2002-03, 
$1,507,620 for SFY 2003-04, and $1,552,849 for SFY 2004-
05. The above estimates are based on providing services to 
approximately 22 recipients at an average cost of $66,532 per 
recipient. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known estimated effect on competition.  
However, this proposed rule could result in increased 
employment opportunities for registered nurses and licensed 
practical nurses. 

 
Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facility ServicesCStandards for Payment  
Ventilator Dependent CareCRequirements for Payments 

(LAC 50:II.10155) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in January of 1996 that established standards for 
payments for nursing facility services. (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 1). Subsection 10155.S of the Rule 
contains provisions governing skilled nursing – technology 
dependent care (SN-TDC). Currently, nursing facilities that 
provide SN-TDC services for children are required to 
establish a protocol for outpatient follow-up, case 
management and ongoing staff training through a close 
working relationship with Children's Hospital or other acute 
care referral sources. The Department proposes to amend 
Subparagraph 10155.S.2.u of the standards for payment to 
require nursing facilities that provide ventilator dependent 
care services to Medicaid recipients from birth through age 
25 to attend specialized training for this level of care.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, as described in R.S. 49:942 by improving the 
quality of care rendered to technology dependent recipients 
in nursing facilities. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends the January 20, 1996 
Rule governing the standards for payment for nursing 
facility services.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHB MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 101.  Nursing FacilitiesCStandards for Payment 
Subchapter G.  Levels of Care 
§10155.  Standards of Levels of Care 

A. - S.2.t. ... 
u. require staff to attend specialized training on 

ventilator assisted care if the facility provides SN-TDC 
services to Medicaid recipients from birth through age 25. 
The training will be conducted by a contractor designated by 
the department. The facility shall also cooperate with 
ongoing monitoring conducted by the contractor. Training 
content includes: 
 i. the special health needs of, and risks to 
ventilator-dependent recipients; 
 ii. the proper use and maintenance of equipment 
in use or new to the facility; 
 iii. current, new, or unusual health procedures and 
medications; 
 iv. diagnoses and treatments specific to pediatrics 
and in the development and nutritional needs of recipients; 
 v. emergency intervention; 
 vi. accessing school services for ventilator-
assisted recipients; and 
 vii. discharge planning where families express 
interest in a recipient returning home. 

S.2.v. - T. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 22:34 January 1996), amended LR 23:970 
(August 1997), LR 29: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Friday, April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade O. Martin, Jr. 
Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, 
Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments 
either orally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
written comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day 
following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facility Services 
Standards for Payment Ventilator Dependent 

CareCRequirement for Payments 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase state fund expenditures $12,500 for SFY 
2003-04, $12,500 for SFY 2004-05 and $12,500 for SFY 2005-
2006. It is anticipated that $216 ($108 SGF and $108 FED) will 
be expended for the state's administrative expense for 
promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final Rule in SFY 
2002-03. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by $12,500 for 
SFY 2003-04, $12,500 for SFY 2004-05, and $12,500 for SFY 
2005-2006. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will provide 
reimbursement for a professional services contract for training, 
technical assistance, and monitoring of nursing facility staff 
who provide care to ventilator dependent residents within a 
specified age range. Implementation of this proposed Rule will 
increase expenditures by approximately $25,000 for SFY 2003-
04, $25,000 for SFY 2004-05, and $25,000 for SFY 2005-
2006. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden Robert E. Hosse 
Director General Government Section Director 
0303#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Private HospitalsCOutlier Payments 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing established a 
reimbursement methodology for payments to 
disproportionate share hospitals for catastrophic costs 
associated with providing medically necessary services to 
children under six years of age (Louisiana Register, Volume 
20, Number 6). The reimbursement methodology also 
addressed payments to all acute care hospitals for 
catastrophic costs associated with providing medically

necessary services to infants one year of age or under. An 
outlier payment is calculated on an individual case basis and 
paid at cost if covered charges for medically necessary 
services exceeds 200 percent of the prospective payment. 

The June 20, 1994 rule was subsequently amended to 
revise the qualification and calculation for outlier payments 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 22, Number 2). To qualify for 
an outlier payment, the covered charges for the case must 
exceed both $150,000 and 200 percent of the prospective 
payment. Outlier cases qualifying under these criteria are 
reimbursed the marginal cost associated with the excess cost 
above the prospective payment amount. As a result of the 
allocation of funds by the Legislature during the 2002 
Regular Session, the bureau adopted an Emergency Rule that 
reduced the outlier payments made to private hospitals by 
amending the definition of marginal cost contained in the 
February 20, 1996 Rule (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, 
Number 7). In addition, the base period for the hospital 
specific cost-to-charge ratio that is utilized for the 
calculation of outlier payments was changed and a deadline 
was established for receipt of the written request filing for 
outlier payments. The bureau now proposes to adopt a Rule 
to continue the provisions contained in the July 1, 2002 
Emergency Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
February 20, 1996 rule by changing the definition of 
marginal cost. The marginal cost factor for outliers shall be 
considered to be 100 percent of costs after the costs for the 
case exceed the hospital's prospective payment. In addition, 
the Bureau amends the reimbursement methodology for 
calculating outlier payments for private hospitals by 
changing the hospital specific cost-to-charge ratio from the 
base period currently being utilized to a hospital specific 
cost-to-charge ratio based on the hospital's cost report period 
ending in state fiscal year (SFY) 2000 (July 1, 1999 through 
June 30, 2000). The cost-to-charge ratio for new hospitals 
and hospitals that did not provide Medicaid Neonatal 
Intensive Care Unit (NICU) services in SFY 2000 will be 
calculated based on the first full year cost reporting period 
that the hospital was open or that Medicaid NICU services 
were provided. Outlier payments are not payable for 
transplant procedures as transplants are not reimbursed on a 
prospective basis. 

A deadline of six months subsequent to the date that the 
final claim is paid is established for receipt of the written 
request filing for outlier payments. 

The hospital specific cost-to-charge ratio will be reviewed 
bi-annually and the outlier payment may be adjusted as a 
result of this review at the discretion of the secretary. Upon 
adoption of the Rule, hospitals shall receive notification of 
an impending change to the hospital specific outlier payment 
by means of a letter sent directly to the hospital. 
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Implementation of this proposed Rule shall be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P. O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. A public hearing on this proposed Rule is 
scheduled for Friday, April 25, 2003 at 9:30 a.m. in the Wade 
O. Martin, Jr. Auditorium, State Archives Building, 3851 
Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that time all 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments either orally or in writing. The 
deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. 
on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Private Hos pitalsCOutlier Payments 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will decrease state program costs by approximately 
$1,770,900 for SFY 2002-03, $1,792,672 for SFY 2003-04, 
and $1,846,452 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $270 
($135 SGF and $135 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-03 
for the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this 
proposed rule will decrease federal revenue collections by 
approximately $4,344,283 for SFY 2002-03, $4,506,245 for 
SFY 2003-04, and $4,641,432 for SFY 2004-05. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will reduce the outlier 
payments to private hospitals through a revision in the 
reimbursement methodology for payments to disproportionate 
share hospitals for catastrophic costs associated with providing 
medically necessary services to children under six years of age. 
The reimbursement methodology also addresses payments to 
all acute care hospitals for catastrophic costs associated with 
providing medically necessary services to infants one year of 
age or under. This proposed rule will decrease reimbursement 
by approximately $6,115,453 for SFY 2002-03, $6,298,917 for 
SFY 2003-04, and $6,487,884 for SFY 2004-05. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Pipeline Safety Definitions 
(LAC 43:XIII.125) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation hereby proposes to 
promulgate new definitions for master meter, school and 
special class gas systems in LAC 43:XIII.125 et seq. in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana, 
particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950, R.S. 30:557.G. The proposed new and amended 
definitions will clarify pipeline safety responsibilities of 
master meter, school and special class gas system operators.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XIII.  Office of Conservation–Pipeline Safety 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 1. General 
§125. Definitions 

* * * 
Master Meter SystemCa pipeline system for distributing 

gas within, but not limited to, a definable area such as a 
mobile home park, housing project, apartment complex or 
university, where the operator purchases metered gas from 
an outside source for resale through a gas pipeline system. 
The gas distribution pipeline system supplies the ultimate 
consumer who either purchases the gas directly through a 
meter or by other means, such as by rents. 

* * * 
Special Class SystemCa pipeline system for distributing 

gas to a federal, state or local government facility or a 
private facility performing a government function, where the 
operator receives or purchases gas from an outside source, 
and distributes the gas through a pipeline system to more 
than one outlet beyond the meter or regulator, which 
ultimate outlet may, but need not be, individually metered or 
charged a fee for the gas. Any exemption from pipeline 
safety regulation granted to master meter systems will apply 
to Special Class Systems. 

* * * 
School SystemCa pipeline system for distributing natural 

gas to a public or private pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, 
elementary, secondary, or high school. Upon request for a 
revision of service by the school, or by the school system of 
which the school is a component, the local distribution 
company providing natural gas service to the school shall 
install a meter at the building wall of each building of the 
school that utilizes natural gas. The gas piping from the 
outlet of the meter to the inside of the building shall be 
installed above ground, and shall be maintained by the 
school in accordance with requirements of the Office of the 
State Fire Marshal. The outside piping that is upstream of 
the meter to the outlet of the meter shall be owned and 
maintained by the local distribution company in accordance
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with Minimum Pipeline Safety Regulations. The pipeline 
system of a school that does not request the revision of 
service described by this paragraph shall be deemed a 
Special Class System, and subject to the requirements of 
such system. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:217 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:503 (July 1984), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect of these Rules on the stability of the family. 

These Rules will have no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. The effect of these Rules on the authority and rights 

of parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. These Rules will have no effect on the authority 
and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. The effect of these rules on the functioning of the 
family. These Rules will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The effect of these rules on family earnings and 
family budget. These Rules will have no effect on family 
earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect of these rules on family earnings and 
family budget. These Rules will have no effect on the 
functioning of the family.  

6. The effect of these rules on the ability of the family or 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed rules. These Rules will have not effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rules. 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
and R.S. 30:557.G, notice is hereby given that the 
commissioner of Conservation will conduct a public hearing 
at 9 a.m., Monday, April 28, 2003, in the LaBelle Room 
located on the first floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. A copy of the proposed 
regulations may be obtained by contacting Mariano Hinojosa 
at 225-342-5519 or by writing the Office of Conservation, 
Pipeline Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. 

All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 
submit comments regarding these new and amended 
regulations at the public hearing in accordance with R.S. 
49:953. Written comments will be accepted until 5 p.m., 
Monday, May 5, 2003, at the following address: Office of 
Conservation, Pipeline Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804, Re: Docket No. PL 03- 004. 

All persons having interest in the aforesaid shall take 
notice thereof. 

 

James H. Welsh 
Commissioner of Conservation 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Pipeline Safety Definitions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no additional costs or savings regarding 
the amendment of this Rule. This action amends and adopts 

pipeline safety definitions regarding master meter, special class 
and school natural gas installations. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The effect on state revenue collections will be minimal. 
Currently, every private and public school pays an annual 
pipeline safety inspection fee of $15 per school. Under the 
proposed Rule, schools may request a revision of service and 
thereby opt out of pipeline safety jurisdiction and avoid the 
annual pipeline safety fee. It is estimated that 1,000 public and 
private schools will convert their gas facilities and opt out of 
pipeline safety jurisdiction. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Schools that request a revision of gas service will incur 
conversion costs to install gas service lines and gas meters at 
each building. The total cost will vary from school to school. 
The estimated average cost per school is $2,000. However, all 
schools that request such a revision of service will realize an 
annual savings of approximately $2,000 per year. The savings 
are the avoided cost of leak surveys, reports, and Operations 
and Maintenance Plans. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no significant effect on competition or 
employment. The private entities that provide services and 
reports, which the schools would no longer require, would 
experience reduced revenues equivalent to the savings realized 
by schools. 

 
James H. Welsh Robert E. Hosse 
Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0303#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Surface Mining  
(LAC 43:XV.105, 1105-1109, 2111, 2113, 2311,  

2323, 2731, 2733, 3103, 3115, 3705, 5423, 5424 and 5425) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Surface Mining and 
Reclamation Act, particularly R.S. 30:901 et seq., and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Office of Conservation proposes to adopt rules and 
regulations to amend LAC 43:XV, (Statewide Order 29-O-1) 
the Louisiana Surface Mining Regulations, governing valid 
existing rights and revegetation success standards for post-
mining land uses of pastureland and wildlife habitat. 

The Department of the Interior, Office of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and Enforcement, under the provisions of 30 
CFR 732.17(d), has notified the Louisiana Office of 
Conservation, Injection and Mining Division of changes in 
Public Law 95-87, the Surface Mining Control and 
Reclamation Act of 1977 (SMCRA), and the federal 
regulations promulgated pursuant to SMCRA which make it 
necessary for Louisiana to modify its Surface Mining 
Regulatory Program to remain consistent with all federal 
regulations. The director of the Office of Surface Mining 
Reclamation and Enforcement approved the proposed 
amendments in Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 38, February 
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26, 2002, pp. 8717-8719 and Vol. 67, No. 221, November 
15, 2002, pp. 69123-69129. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XV.  Office of Conservation - Surface Mining 
Subpart 1.  General Information 

Chapter 1. General 
§105. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Valid Existing RightsCa set of circumstances under 
which a person may, subject to office approval, conduct 
surface coal mining operations on lands where §922.D of the 
Act and §1105 of these regulations would otherwise prohibit 
such operations. Possession of valid existing rights only 
confers an exception from the prohibitions of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. A person seeking to 
exercise valid existing rights must comply with all other 
pertinent requirements of the act and the regulatory program. 

a. Property Rights Demonstration. Except as provided 
in §105.Valid Existing Rights.c, a person claiming valid 
existing rights must demonstrate that a legally binding 
conveyance, lease, deed, contract, or other document vests 
that person, or a predecessor in interest, with the right to 
conduct the type of surface coal mining operations intended. 
This right must exist at the time that the land came under the 
protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these 
regulations. Applicable state law will govern interpretation 
of documents relied upon to establish property rights, unless 
federal law provides otherwise. If no applicable state law 
exists, custom and generally accepted usage at the time and 
place that the documents came into existence will govern 
their interpretation. 

b. Except as provided in §105.Valid Existing Rights.c, 
a person claiming valid existing rights also must 
demonstrate compliance with one of the following standards. 

i. Good Faith/All Permits Standard. All permits and 
other authorizations required to conduct surface coal mining 
operations had been obtained, or a good faith effort to obtain 
all necessary permits and authorizations had been made, 
before the land came under the protection of §922.D of the 
Act or §1105 of these regulations. At a minimum, an 
application must have been submitted for any permit 
required under Subpart 3 of these regulations. 

ii. Needed for and Adjacent Standard. The land is 
needed for and immediately adjacent to a surface coal 
mining operation for which all permits and other 
authorizations required to conduct surface coal mining 
operations had been obtained, or a good faith attempt to 
obtain all permits and authorizations had been made, before 
the land came under the protection of §922.D of the Act or 
§1105 of these regulations. To meet this standard, a person 
must demonstrate that prohibiting expansion of the operation 
onto that land would unfairly impact the viability of the 
operation as originally planned before the land came under 
the protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these 
regulations. Except for operations in existence before August 
3, 1977, or for which a good faith effort to obtain all 
necessary permits had been made before August 3, 1977, this 
standard does not apply to lands already under the protection 
of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations when the 
office approved the permit for the original operation or when 

the good faith effort to obtain all necessary permits for the 
original operation was made. In evaluating whether a person 
meets this standard, the office may consider factors such as: 
 (a). the extent to which coal supply contracts or 
other legal and business commitments that predate the time 
that the land came under the protection of §922.D of the Act 
or §1105 of these regulations depend upon use of that land 
for surface coal mining operations; 
 (b). the extent to which plans used to obtain 
financing for the operation before the land came under the 
protection of §922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations 
rely upon use of that land for surface coal mining operations; 
 (c). the extent to which investments in the 
operation before the land came under the protection of 
§922.D of the Act or §1105 of these regulations rely upon 
use of that land for surface coal mining operations; and 
 (d). whether the land lies within the area identified 
on the life-of-mine map submitted under §2535.A.3 before 
the land came under the protection of §1105. 

a. Roads. A person who claims  valid existing rights to 
use or construct a road across the surface of lands protected 
by §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the Act must 
demonstrate that one or more of the following circumstances 
exist if the road is included within the definition of surface 
coal mining operations in §105: 

i. the road existed when the land upon which it is 
located came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act, and the person has a legal 
right to use the road for surface coal mining operations; 

ii. a properly recorded right-of-way or easement for 
a road in that location existed when the land came under the 
protection of §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the 
Act, and, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement and under subsequent conveyances, the person has 
a legal right to use or construct a road across the right-of-
way or easement for surface coal mining operations; 

iii. a valid permit for use or construction of a road in 
that location for surface coal mining operations existed when 
the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act; or 

iv. valid existing rights exist under §105.Valid 
Existing Rights.a and b. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 24:2283 (December 1998), LR 29: 

Subpart 2.  Areas Unsuitable for Mining 
Chapter 11. Areas Designated by Act of Congress 
§1105. Areas Where Mining Is Prohibited or Limited 

A. No surface coal mining operation shall be conducted 
on the following lands unless the applicant has either valid 
existing rights, as determined under §2323, or qualifies for 
the exception for existing operations under §1109. 

A.1. - A.4.a. … 
b. where the office allows the public road to be 

relocated or the area affected to be within 100 feet of such 
road, after public notice and opportunity for a public hearing 
in accordance with §1107.D, and after making a written 
finding that the interests of the affected public and 
landowners will be protected; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 451 

A.5. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
§1107. Procedures 

A. … 
B. The office shall reject any portion of the application 

that would locate surface coal mining operations on land 
protected under §1105 unless: 

1. the site qualifies for the exception for existing 
operations under §1109; 

2. a person has valid existing rights for the land, as 
determined under §2323; 

3. the applicant obtains a waiver or exception from the 
prohibitions of §1105 in accordance with §1107.D or E; or 

4. for lands protected by §1105.A.3, both the office 
and the agency with jurisdiction over the park or place 
jointly approve the proposed operation in accordance with 
§1107.F. 

C. If the office is unable to determine whether the 
proposed operation includes land within an area specified in 
§1105.A.1 or is located closer than the limits provided in 
§1105.A.6 or 7, the office shall transmit a copy of the 
relevant portions of the permit application to the federal, 
state or local government agency with jurisdiction over the 
protected land, structure or feature for a determination or 
clarification of the relevant boundaries or distances, with a 
notice to the appropriate agency that it must respond within 
30 days of receipt of the request. The notice must specify 
that another 30 days is available upon request, and that the 
office will not necessarily consider a response received after 
the comment period provided. If no response is received 
within the 30-day period or within the extended period 
granted, the office may make the necessary determination 
based on the information it has available. 

D. §1107.D does not apply to lands for which a person 
has valid existing rights, as determined under §2323; lands 
within the scope of the exception for existing operations in 
§1109; or access or haul roads that join a public road, as 
described in §1105.A.4.b. Where the mining operation is 
proposed to be conducted within 100 feet, measured 
horizontally, of the outside right-of-way line of any public 
road (except as provided in §1105.A.4.b) or where the 
applicant proposes to relocate or close any public road, the 
office or public road authority designated by the office shall: 

1. require the applicant to obtain necessary approvals 
of the authority with jurisdiction over the public road; 

2. provide an opportunity for a public hearing in the 
locality of the proposed mining operation for the purpose of 
determining whether the interests of the public and affected 
landowners will be protected; 

3. if a public hearing is requested, provide appropriate 
advance notice of the public hearing, to be published in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the affected locale at 
least 2 weeks prior to the hearing; and 

4. make a written finding based upon information 
received at the public hearing within 30 days after 
completion of the hearing, or after any public comment 
period ends if no hearing is held, as to whether the interests 
of the public and affected landowners will be protected from 

the proposed mining operation. No mining shall be allowed 
within 100 feet of the outside right-of-way line of a road, nor 
may a road be relocated or closed, unless the office or public 
road authority determines that the interests of the public and 
affected landowners will be protected. 

E.1. Subsection 1107.E does not apply to lands for which a 
person has valid existing rights, as determined under §2323; 
lands within the scope of the exception for existing 
operations in §1109; or access or haul roads that connect 
with an existing public road on the side of the public road 
opposite the dwelling, as provided in §1105.A.5. Where the 
proposed surface coal mining operations would be 
conducted within 300 feet, measured horizontally, of any 
occupied dwelling, the applicant shall submit with the 
application a written waiver by lease, deed or other 
conveyance from the owner of the dwelling clarifying that 
the owner and signatory had the legal right to deny mining 
and knowingly waived that right. The waiver shall act as 
consent to such operations within a closer distance of the 
dwelling as specified. 

2. Where the applicant for a permit after August 3, 
1977 had obtained a valid waiver prior to August 3, 1977 
from the owner of an occupied dwelling to mine within 300 
feet of such dwelling, a new waiver shall not be required. 

3.a. Where the applicant for a permit after August 3, 
1977 had obtained a valid waiver from the owner of an 
occupied dwelling, that waiver shall remain effective against 
subsequent purchasers who had actual or constructive 
knowledge of the existing waiver at the time of purchase. 

b. A subsequent purchaser shall be deemed to have 
constructive knowledge if the waiver has been properly filed 
in public-property records pursuant to state laws or if the 
mining has proceeded to within the 300-foot limit prior to 
the date of purchase. 

F.1. Where the office determines that the proposed surface 
coal mining operation will adversely affect any publicly 
owned park or any place included in the National Register of 
Historic Places, the office shall transmit to the federal, state 
or local agency with jurisdiction over the park or place a 
copy of applicable parts of the permit application, together 
with a request for that agency's approval or disapproval of 
the operation, and a notice to that agency that it has 30 days 
from receipt of the request within which to respond. The 
notice must specify that another 30 days is available upon 
request, and that failure to interpose a timely objection will 
constitute approval. The office may not issue a permit for a 
proposed operation subject to the provisions of this 
Paragraph unless all affected agencies jointly approve. 

2. Subsection 1107.F does not apply to lands for 
which a person has valid existing rights, as determined under 
§2323 or lands within the scope of the exception for existing 
operations in §1109. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
§1109. Exception for Existing Operations 

A. The prohibitions and limitations of §1105 do not 
apply to surface coal mining operations for which a valid 
permit, issued under Subpart 3 of these regulations, exists 
when the land comes under the protection of §1105. This 
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exception applies only to lands within the permit area as it 
exists when the land comes under the protection of §1105. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29: 

Subpart 3.  Surface Coal Mining and Reclamation 
Operations Permits and Coal Exploration and 

Development Procedures Systems  
Chapter 21. Coal Exploration and Development  
§2111. General Requirements: Development 

Operations Involving Removal of More Than 
250 Tons 

A. - A.7. … 
8. for any lands listed in §1105, a demonstration that, 

to the extent technologically and economically feasible, the 
proposed exploration activities have been designed to 
minimize interference with the values for which those lands 
were designated as unsuitable for surface coal mining 
operations. The application must include documentation of 
consultation with the owner of the feature causing the land 
to come under the protection of §1105, and, when 
applicable, with the agency with primary jurisdiction over 
the feature with respect to the values that caused the land to 
come under the protection of §1105. 

B. - B.3 … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29: 
§2113. Applications: Approval or Disapproval of 

Development of More Than 250 Tons 
A. - B.3 … 

4. will, with respect to exploration activities on any 
lands protected under §1105, minimize interference, to the 
extent technologically and economically feasible, with the 
values for which those lands were designated as unsuitable 
for surface coal mining operations. Before making this 
finding, the office will provide reasonable opportunity to the 
owner of the feature causing the land to come under the 
protection of §1105, and, when applicable, to the agency 
with primary jurisdiction over the feature with respect to the 
values that caused the land to come under the protection of 
§1105, to comment on whether the finding is appropriate. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
Chapter 23. Surface Mining Permit Applications: 

Minimum Requirements for Legal, 
Financial, Compliance and Related 
Information 

§2311. Relationship to Areas Designated Unsuitable for 
Mining 

A. … 
B. If an applicant proposes to conduct surface mining 

activities within 300 feet of an occupied dwelling, the 
application shall contain the waiver of the owner of the 
dwelling as required by §1107.E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29: 
§2323. Valid Existing Rights Determination 

A. OSM is responsible for determining valid existing 
rights for federal lands listed at §1105. The office is 
responsible for determining valid existing rights for all non-
Federal lands listed at §1105. The provisions of this Section 
apply when the office is responsible for determining valid 
existing rights. 

B. A request for a valid existing rights determination 
must be submitted if surface coal mining operations will be 
conducted on the basis of valid existing rights under §1105. 
This request may be submitted before submitting an 
application for a permit or boundary revision. 

1. Requirements for property rights demonstration. If 
the request relies upon the good faith/all permits standard or 
the needed for and adjacent standard in §105.Valid Existing 
Rights.b, the applicant must provide a property rights 
demonstration under §105.Valid Existing Rights.a. This 
demonstration must include the following items: 

a. a legal description of the land to which the 
request pertains; 

b. complete documentation of the character and 
extent of the applicant's current interests in the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which your request pertains; 

c. a complete chain of title for the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which the request pertains; 

d. a description of the nature and effect of each title 
instrument that forms the basis for the request, including any 
provision pertaining to the type or method of mining or 
mining-related surface disturbances and facilities; 

e. a description of the type and extent of surface 
coal mining operations that the applicant claims the right to 
conduct, including the method of mining, any mining-related 
surface activities and facilities, and an explanation of how 
those operations would be consistent with Louisiana 
property law; 

f. complete documentation of the nature and 
ownership, as of the date that the land came under the 
protection §1105, of all property rights for the surface and 
mineral estates of the land to which the request pertains; 

g. names and addresses of the current owners of the 
surface and mineral estates of the land to which the request 
pertains; 

h. if the coal interests have been severed from other 
property interests, documentation that the applicant has 
notified and provided reasonable opportunity for the owners 
of other property interests in the land to which the request 
pertains to comment on the validity of the applicant's 
property rights claims; 

i. any comments that the applicant received in 
response to the notification provided under §2323.B.1.h. 

2. Requirements for Good Faith/All Permits Standard. 
If the request relies upon the good faith/all permits standard 
in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b.i, the applicant must submit 
the information required under §2323.B.1. The applicant 
also must submit the following information about permits, 
licenses, and authorizations for surface coal mining 
operations on the land to which the request pertains: 
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a. approval and issuance dates and identification 
numbers for any permits, licenses, and authorizations that 
the applicant or a predecessor in interest obtained before the 
land came under the protection of §1105; 

b. application dates and identification numbers for 
any permits, licenses, and authorizations for which the 
applicant or a predecessor in interest submitted an 
application before the land came under the protection of 
§1105; 

c. an explanation of any other good faith effort that 
the applicant or a predecessor in interest made to obtain the 
necessary permits, licenses, and authorizations as of the date 
that the land came under the protection of §1105. 

3. Requirements for Needed for and Adjacent 
Standard. If the request relies upon the needed for and 
adjacent standard in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b.ii, the 
applicant must submit the information required under 
§2323.B.1. In addition, the applicant must explain how and 
why the land is needed for and immediately adjacent to the 
operation upon which the request is based, including a 
demonstration that prohibiting expansion of the operation 
onto that land would unfairly impact the viability of the 
operation as originally planned before the land came under 
the protection of §1105. 

4. Roads. If the request relies upon one of the 
standards for roads in §105.Valid Existing Rights.c.i-iii, 
documentation must show that: 

a. the road existed when the land upon which it is 
located came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act, and the applicant has a 
legal right to use the road for surface coal mining operations; 

b. a properly recorded right-of-way or easement for 
a road in that location existed when the land came under the 
protection of §1105 of these regulations or §922.D of the 
Act, and, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement, and under any subsequent conveyances, the 
applicant has a legal right to use or construct a road across 
that right-of-way or easement to conduct surface coal mining 
operations; or 

c. a valid permit for use or construction of a road in 
that location for surface coal mining operations existed when 
the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. 

C. Initial Review of Request 
1. The office shall conduct an initial review to 

determine whether the request includes all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B. 
This review pertains only to the completeness of the request, 
not the legal or technical adequacy of the materials 
submitted. 

2. If the request does not include all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B, the 
office shall notify the applicant and establish a reasonable 
time for submission of the missing information. 

3. When the request includes all applicable 
components of the submission requirements of §2323.B, the 
office shall implement the notice and comment requirements 
of §2323.D. 

4. If the information requested under §2323.C.2 is not 
provided within the time specified or as subsequently 
extended, the office shall issue a determination that valid 

existing rights have not been demonstrated, as provided in 
§2323.E.4. 

D. Notice and Comment Requirements and Procedures 
1. When the request satisfies the completeness 

requirements of §2323.C, the applicant must publish a public 
notice in accordance with §3103.A. This notice must invite 
comment on the merits of the request. The notice shall 
contain, at a minimum: 

a. the location of the land to which the request 
pertains; 

b. a description of the type of surface coal mining 
operations planned; 

c. a reference to and brief description of the 
applicable standards under the definition of valid existing 
rights in §105; 

i. if the request relies upon the good faith/all 
permits standard or the needed for and adjacent standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.b, the notice also must include a 
description of the property rights claimed and the basis for 
that claim;  
 ii. if the request relies upon the standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.c.i, the notice also must include a 
description of the basis for the claim that the road existed 
when the land came under the protection of §1105 of these 
regulations or §922.D of the Act. In addition, the notice must 
include a description of the basis for the claim that the 
applicant has a legal right to use that road for surface coal 
mining operations; 
 iii. if the request relies upon the standard in 
§105.Valid Existing Rights.c.ii, the notice also must include 
a description of the basis for the claim that a properly 
recorded right-of-way or easement for a road in that location 
existed when the land came under the protection of §1105 of 
these regulations or §922.D of the Act. In addition, the 
notice must include a description of the basis for the claim 
that, under the document creating the right-of-way or 
easement, and under any subsequent conveyances, the 
applicant has a legal right to use or construct a road across 
the right-of-way or easement to conduct surface coal mining 
operations; 

d. if the request relies upon one or more of the 
standards in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b, c.i, and c.ii, a 
statement that the office will not make a decision on the 
merits of the request if, by the close of the comment period 
under this notice or the notice required by §2323.D.3, a 
person with a legal interest in the land initiates appropriate 
legal action in the proper venue to resolve any differences 
concerning the validity or interpretation of the deed, lease, 
easement, or other documents that form the basis of the 
claim;  

e. a description of the procedures that the office will 
follow in processing the request; 

f. the closing date of the comment period, which 
must be a minimum of 30 days after the publication date of 
the notice; 

g. a statement that interested persons may obtain a 
30-day extension of the comment period upon request; and 

h. the name and address of the office where a copy 
of the request is available for public inspection and to which 
comments and requests for extension of the comment period 
should be sent. 
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2. The office shall promptly provide a copy of the 
notice required under §2323.D.1 to: 

a. all reasonably locatable owners of surface and 
mineral estates in the land included in the request; and 

b. the owner of the feature causing the land to come 
under the protection of §1105, and, when applicable, the 
agency with primary jurisdiction over the feature with 
respect to the values causing the land to come under the 
protection of §1105. 

3. The letter transmitting the notice required under 
§2323.D.2 must provide a 30-day comment period, starting 
from the date of service of the letter, and specify that another 
30 days is available upon request. At its discretion, the 
agency responsible for the determination of valid existing 
rights may grant additional time for good cause upon 
request. The agency need not necessarily consider comments 
received after the closing date of the comment period. 

E. How a Decision Will Be Made 
1. The office must review the materials submitted 

under §2323.B, comments received under §2323.D, and any 
other relevant, reasonably available information to determine 
whether the record is sufficiently complete and adequate to 
support a decision on the merits of the request. If not, the 
office must notify the applicant in writing, explaining the 
inadequacy of the record and requesting submittal, within a 
specified reasonable time, of any additional information that 
the office deems necessary to remedy the inadequacy. 

2. Once the record is complete and adequate, the 
office must determine whether the applicant has 
demonstrated valid existing rights. The decision document 
must explain how the applicant has or has not satisfied all 
applicable elements of the definition of valid existing rights 
in §105. It must contain findings of fact and conclusions, 
and it must specify the reasons for the conclusions. 

3. Impact of Property Rights Disagreements. This 
Paragraph applies only when the request relies upon one or 
more of the standards in §105.Valid Existing Rights.b, c.i, 
and c.ii. 

a. The office must issue a determination that the 
applicant has not demonstrated valid existing rights if 
property rights claims are the subject of pending litigation in 
a court or administrative body with jurisdiction over the 
property rights in question. The office will make this 
determination without prejudice, meaning that the applicant 
may refile the request once the property rights dispute is 
finally adjudicated. This Paragraph applies only to situations 
in which legal action has been initiated as of the closing date 
of the comment period under §§2323.D.1 or D.3. 

b. If the record indicates disagreement as to the 
accuracy of property rights claims, but this disagreement is 
not the subject of pending litigation in a court or 
administrative agency of competent jurisdiction, the office 
must evaluate the merits of the information in the record and 
determine whether the applicant has demonstrated that the 
requisite property rights exist under §105.Valid Existing 
Rights.a, c.i, or c.ii, as appropriate. The office must then 
proceed with the decision process under §2323.E.2. 

4. The office must issue a determination that the 
applicant has not demonstrated valid existing rights if 
information that the office requests under §§2323.C.2 or E.1 
is not submitted within the time specified or as subsequently 
extended. The office will make this determination without 

prejudice, meaning that the applicant may refile a revised 
request at any time. 

5. After making a determination, the office must: 
a. provide a copy of the determination, together 

with an explanation of appeal rights and procedures, to the 
applicant, to the owner or owners of the land to which the 
determination applies, to the owner of the feature causing 
the land to come under the protection of §1105, and, when 
applicable, to the agency with primary jurisdiction over the 
feature with respect to the values that caused the land to 
come under the protection of §1105; and 

b. publish notice of the determination in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the parish in which the 
land is located. 

F. Administrative and Judicial Review. A determination 
that the applicant has or does not have valid existing rights is 
subject to administrative and judicial review under §§3301 
and 3303. 

G. Availability of Records. The office must make a copy 
of that request available to the public in the same manner as 
the office must make permit applications available to the 
public under §2119. In addition, the office must make 
records associated with that request, and any subsequent 
determination under §2323.E, available to the public in 
accordance with the requirements and procedures of §6311. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29: 
Chapter 27. Surface Mining Permit Applications: 

Minimum Requirements for Reclamation 
and Operation Plan 

§2731. Protection of Public Parks and Historic Places 
A. - A.1. … 

2. if valid existing rights exist or joint agency 
approval is to be obtained under §1107.F, to minimize 
adverse impacts. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
§2733. Relocation or Use of Public Roads  

A. Each application shall describe, with appropriate 
maps and cross-sections, the measures to be used to ensure 
that the interests of the public and landowners affected are 
protected if, under §1107.D, the applicant seeks to have the 
office approve conduction of the proposed surface mining 
activities within 100 feet of the right-of-way line of any 
public road, except where mine access or haul roads join that 
right-of-way, or seeks approval for relocating a public road. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
Chapter 31. Public Participation, Approval of Permit 

Applications and Permit Terms and 
Conditions 

§3103. Public Notices of Filing of Permit Applications 
A. - A.4. … 
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5. if an applicant seeks a permit to mine within 100 
feet of the outside right-of-way of a public road or to 
relocate or close a public road, except where public notice 
and hearing have previously been provided for this particular 
part of the road in accordance with §1107.D, a concise 
statement describing the public road, the particular part to be 
relocated or closed, and the approximate timing and duration 
of the relocation or closing; 

A.6. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), 
LR 29: 
§3115. Criteria for Permit Approval or Denial 

A.-A.4.b. … 
c. not on any lands subject to the prohibitions or 

limitations of §1105; or 
A.4.d. - A.16.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
Chapter 37. Small Operator Assistance 
§3705. Eligibility for Assistance 

A. - A.1. … 
2. establishes that his or her probable total actual and 

attributed production from all locations during any 
consecutive 12-month period either during the term of his or 
her permit or during the first five years after issuance of his 
or her permit, whichever period is shorter, will not exceed 
300,000 tons. Production from the following operations shall 
be attributed to the applicant: 

a. the pro rata share, based upon percentage of 
ownership of the applicant, of coal produced by operations 
in which the applicant owns more than a 10 percent interest; 

b. the pro rata share, based upon percentage of 
ownership of the applicant, of coal produced in other 
operations by persons who own more than 10 percent of the 
applicant's operation; 

A.2.c. - A.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 6:177 (May 1980), 
amended LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 20:447 (April 1994), LR 29: 
Subpart 5.  Permanent Program Performance Standards  
Chapter 53. Permanent Program Performance 

Standards: Surface Mining Activities 
§5423. Revegetation: Standards for Success 

A. - B.1.d.iv. … 
e. The criteria and procedures for determining 

ground cover and production success are found at §5424. 
B.2. - B.8. … 

a. The criteria and procedures for determining 
ground cover and stocking success are found at §5425. 

B.9. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 5:395 (December 
1979), amended LR 6:177 (May 1980), LR 14:441 (July 1988), LR 
20:447 (April 1994), LR 21:1082 (October 1995), LR 29: 
§5424. Revegetation: Standards for SuccessCPost-

Mining Land Use of Pastureland 
A. Introduction 

1. This Section describes the criteria and procedures 
for determining ground cover and production success for 
areas being restored to pastureland.  

2. Pursuant to §5423, ground cover and production 
success on pastureland must be determined on the basis of 
the following conditions: 

a. general revegetation requirements of the 
approved permit; 

b. ground cover density; and 
c. production. 

3. The permittee is responsible for determining and 
measuring ground cover and production and submitting this 
data to the commissioner for evaluation. Procedures for 
making these determinations are described below. 

B. Success Standards and Measurement Frequency 
1. Ground Cover 

a. Ground cover shall be considered acceptable if it 
is at least 90 percent of the approved success standard at a 
90 percent statistical confidence level for any two of the last 
four years of the five-year responsibility period. The success 
standard for ground cover shall be 90 percent. 
 i. Ground cover must be measured over each 
noncontiguous area that is proposed for release. The 
aggregate of areas with less than 90 percent ground cover 
must not exceed 5 percent of the release area. These areas 
must not be larger than 1 acre and must be completely 
surrounded by desirable vegetation that has a ground cover 
of 90 percent. Areas void of desirable vegetation may not be 
larger than 1/4 acre and must be surrounded by desirable 
vegetation that has a ground cover of 90 percent. Refer to 
sampling technique for ground cover in §5424.C.2.a. 

b. Ground cover shall consist of the species mixture 
approved in the original permit or an approved acceptable 
species mixture as recommended by the USDA/Natural 
Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) for use in that area. 
No more than 15 percent of the stand can be approved 
species not listed in the permit. 

c. The sampling techniques for measuring success 
shall use a 90 percent statistical confidence interval (i.e., 
one-sided test with a .10 alpha error). Whenever ground 
cover is equal to or exceeds the success standard, the 
statistical confidence interval test does not have to be 
determined. 

d. Ground cover success and forage production 
success need not be met during the same year. 

e. Ground cover shall be sampled once per year 
during any two of the last four years of the five-year 
responsibility period to verify cover data. 

2.  Forage Production 
a. The success standard for production of hay on 

pastureland shall be 90 percent of an approved reference 
area, if a reference area is established, or 90 percent of the 
estimated yield found in the Soil Conservation Service (now 
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)) parish soil
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survey. The estimated yields are those expected under a high 
level of management and were determined by the NRCS 
based on records of farmers, conservationists and extension 
agents. 

b. Production shall be sampled for at least two 
separate years. Any two of the last four years of the five-year 
responsibility period may be selected. 

3. Reference Area Requirements 
a. Reference areas must be representative of soils, 

slope, aspect, and vegetation in the premined permit area. 
However, in cases where differences exist because of mixing 
of several soil series on the reclaimed area or unavailability 
of a reference area as herein described, yields must be 
adjusted. 

b. Reference area pastureland must be under the 
same management as pastureland in the reclaimed area. This 
means that it must: 
 i. consist of similar plant species and diversity as 
approved in the permit; 
 ii. be currently managed under the same land use 
designation as the proposed mined release area; 
 iii. consist of soils in the same land capability 
class; 
 iv. be located in the general vicinity of the mined 
test area to minimize the impact of differing weather;  
 v. use the same fertilizer and pest management 
techniques; 
 vi. use fertilizer rates based on the same yield 
goal; 
 vii. be mowed at the same time to the same height 
as the reclaimed area; 
 viii. use identical harvest dates and plant 
populations; and 
 ix. use any other commonly used management 
techniques not listed above such as adequate weed and insect 
control, provided the pastureland area and the reference plot 
are treated identically. 

c. Reference areas shall consist of a single plot 
(whole plot) at least four acres in size. Either statistically 
adequate subsampling or whole plot harvesting may be used 
to determine yields. 

d. Reference plot forage yields must be at a level 
that is reasonably comparable to the parish average for the 
given crop. Reference plot yields that are less than 80 
percent of the parish average are highly suspect and may be 
rejected. 

e. Reference areas may be located on undisturbed 
acreage within permitted areas. If not so located, the 
permittee must obtain from the landowner(s) a written 
agreement allowing use of the property as a reference area 
and allowing right of entry for regulatory personnel. 

f. When release areas and reference plots fall on 
different soil series, adjustments must be made to 
compensate for the productivity difference. 

C. Sampling Procedures 
1. Random Sampling 

a. To assure that the samples truly represent the 
vegetative characteristics of the whole release or reference 
area, the permittee must use methods that will provide: 
 i. a random selection of sampling sites; 
 ii. a sampling technique unaffected by the 
sampler's preference; and  

 iii. sufficient samples to represent the true mean of 
the vegetation characteristics. 

b. Sampling points shall be randomly located by 
using a grid overlay on a map of the release or reference area 
and by choosing horizontal and vertical coordinates. Each 
sample point must fall within the release or reference area 
boundaries and be within an area having the vegetative cover 
type being measured. Additionally, at least one ground cover 
sample point must be measured in each noncontiguous unit, 
if the release area does not consist of a single unit. 

c. The permittee shall notify the office 10 days prior 
to conducting sampling or other harvesting operations to 
allow regulatory personnel an opportunity to monitor the 
sampling procedures. 

2. Sampling Techniques 
a. Ground Cover. There are several approved 

methods for measuring ground cover. As stated at 
§5423.A.1, these are: pin method, point frame method and 
line intercept method. The first contact, or "hit", of 
vegetation shall be classified by species as acceptable or 
unacceptable as follows: 

 
Acceptable Unacceptable 

Vegetation approved in permit  Vegetation not approved in permit  
Dead vegetation or litter from 
acceptable species 

Rock or bare ground 

AcceptableCnot approved in permit   

 
 i. Pin Method. In the pin method, a pinpoint is 
lowered to the ground. If vegetation is encountered, a hit is 
recorded. If bare ground is encountered, a miss is recorded. 
Sample locations are distributed randomly throughout the 
area to be measured. Percentage of cover is the number of 
hits divided by the total number of points sampled. Each 
randomly placed pin is considered one sample unit. An 
acceptable type of pin method would include recording each 
pin contact at one-foot intervals along a 100-foot tape. Each 
randomly placed 100-foot tape would be considered one 
sample unit. 
 ii. Point Frame Method. In the point frame 
method, a group of pinpoints is lowered to the ground. If 
vegetation is encountered, a hit is recorded. If bare ground is 
encountered, a miss is recorded. Sample locations are 
distributed randomly throughout the area to be measured. 
Percentage of cover is the number of hits divided by the total 
number of points sampled. Each randomly placed frame is 
considered one sample unit. 
 iii. Line Intercept Method. The sampling unit is a 
tape at least 100 feet long that is stretched from a random 
starting point in a randomly selected direction. The 
procedure consists of recording the length of tape underlain 
by vegetation, then dividing by the total length of tape to 
obtain the percentage of cover. Each randomly located tape 
is considered one sampling unit. 

b. Productivity 
 i. When evaluating productivity, two components 
that may potentially influence the end results of production 
yields are time of harvest and moisture content. 

(a). Time of Harvest. Herbaceous species must 
be harvested at times and frequencies appropriate to the 
plant species (i.e., cool-season species should be sampled in 
the winter or spring; warm-season species should be 
sampled in the summer or fall). Sampling should be timed to 
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coincide with seed ripeness or the mature stage of the target 
vegetative species. Plant communities that are comprised of 
both cool- and warm-season species should be sampled 
when the overall plant community production is at a peak. If 
an area has not had herbaceous biomass removed (i.e., 
mowing, baling, grazing) since the last sampling, then 
sampling must not be conducted until the vegetation is 
removed and regrowth has taken place. 

(b). Moisture Content. The moisture content of 
harvested herbaceous biomass and other vegetative 
components must be standardized, in order to eliminate 
weight variations due to moisture content. The weight of 
harvested vegetation is to be standardized by oven-drying at 
60° C for 24 hours or until the weight stabilizes. 
 ii. Productivity can be evaluated by hand-
harvesting or with mechanized agricultural imp lements. 
Productivity measurements must be obtained during the 
growing season of the primary vegetation species. 
Productivity is estimated from only the current season's 
growth. There are two methods that can be used to evaluate 
production: using sampling frames for harvesting plots or 
whole-field harvests. 

(a). Sampling Frames. A sampling frame shall be 
an enclosure, of known dimension appropriate for sampling 
pasture lands, capable of enclosing the sample location. A 
sample location shall be established at each of the randomly 
chosen sites, such that the center of the sampling frame is 
the random point. The permittee shall clip the biomass 2 
inches above ground level within the frame. The biomass to 
be clipped shall be from all plant species growth whose base 
lies within the sampling frame. This biomass shall then be 
weighed and recorded. As each frame is clipped and 
weighed, the biomass shall be put into a bag for oven drying. 
Samples shall be oven-dried to a constant weight and 
reweighed to determine dried weight. All data collected from 
the clippings within the sampling frame shall be recorded 
and analyzed. 

(b). Whole Area Harvesting. If whole release 
area harvesting is chosen as the method for data collection, 
the entire area shall be harvested and the data recorded and 
analyzed. 
 iii. If truckloads of bales are weighed for hay 
production when a whole area is harvested, at least three 
truckloads from each 100 acres are weighed. Each truckload 
should have at least three large round bales or 20 square 
bales. A sample will consist of the average bale weight per 
truckload. A statistically adequate sample size must be 
obtained. Multiply the number of hay bales per area by the 
average bale weight to obtain total production for that area. 
Total production is then compared to 90 percent of the 
reference or target yield, using a 90 percent or greater 
statistical confidence level. 
 iv. If performing statistical comparisons for hay 
production when a whole field is harvested, the weights of 
either 10 percent or 15 bales, whichever is greater, are 
converted to pounds per acre (lbs/ac) by taking their average 
weight and multiplying that figure by the total number of 
bales, divided by the number of acres harvested. Total 
production is then compared to 90 percent of the reference 
or target yield, using a 90 percent or greater statistical 
confidence level. 

 v. To determine which bales to weigh, randomly 
select a number from one to ten then count and weigh every 
tenth bale thereafter until the minimum number or 10 
percent of the bales have been weighed. The first and last 
bale of any noncontiguous field or site should not be 
weighed. The bales shall be counted, but if the random 
number falls on either of the two bales mentioned, either 
advance one bale or select the bale immediately previous to 
the last bale produced. 

3. Sample Adequacy 
a. Ground Cover Data 

 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 
 

222 )1.0/()( xstn =  
 
Where: 

n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 

reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of 

the average cover (note that this term is squared). 
 

 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples is equal to or less than the initial minimum 
number, the initial sampling will satisfy the sampling 
requirements. If the number of samples needed is greater 
than the initial minimum number, additional samples must 
be taken (Stage Two Sampling), as specified by the formula, 
and n recalculated. This process shall be repeated until 
sample adequacy is met. 

b. Productivity Data 
i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 

sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 

 
222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

(the variance (s2) must be based on oven dry weight) 
 

Where: 
n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 

reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent 

of the average weight (note that this term is squared). 
 

 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

D. Data Submission and Analysis  
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1. If the data shows that revegetation success has been 
met, the permittee shall submit the data to the commissioner 
for review. Ground cover or production for the release area 
will be considered successful when it has been measured 
with an acceptable method, has achieved sample adequacy, 
and where the average ground cover or production value is 
equal to or greater than the success standard. 

2. When the data indicates that the average ground 
cover and average forage production was insufficient, but 
close to the standards, the permittee may submit the data to 
the commissioner to determine if the production was 
acceptable when statistically compared to the standards 
using a t-test at a 90-percent statistical confidence interval. 

3. Raw yield data from reclaimed areas and raw data 
from reference areas must first be oven dried to remove 
moisture, then adjusted by the parish soil survey average 
yields before statistical comparisons can be made. 

E. Maps 
1. When a proposed reclamation phase III release is 

submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of the area covered by the proposed 
release; 

b. the location of reference plots; and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

2. When data from a previously approved plan is 
submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of and reference plots; 
b. the location of each sample point; 
c. the area covered by the sampling; and 
d. all permit boundaries. 

F. Mitigation Plan 
1. Ground cover and forage productivity must equal or 

exceed the standards for reclamation phase III liability 
release for at least two sampling years during the second 
through the fifth years following completion of the last 
augmented seeding. If productivity is not achieved by these 
dates, the permittee must submit a mitigation plan to the 
commissioner that includes the following: 

a. a statement outlining the problem;  
b. a discussion of what practices, beyond normal 

farming practices, the operator intends to use to enable the 
area to finally meet the release standards; and 

c. a new phase III release proposal. 
2. If renovation, soil substitution or any other practice 

that constitutes augmentation is employed, the five-year 
responsibility period shall restart after the mitigation plan is 
approved and the practices are completed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29: 
§5425. Revegetation: Standards for SuccessCPost-

Mining Land Use of Wildlife Habitat 
A. Introduction 

1. This Section describes the criteria and procedures 
for determining ground cover and stocking success for areas 
developed for wildlife habitat. 

2. Pursuant to §5423, ground cover and stocking 
success on wildlife habitat must be determined on the basis 
of the following conditions: 

a. general revegetation requirements of the 
approved permit; 

b. ground cover; and 
c. tree or shrub stocking and survival. 

3. The permittee is responsible for measuring and 
determining ground cover and stocking and submitting this 
data to the commissioner for evaluation. Procedures for 
making these determinations are described below. 

B. Success Standards and Measurement Frequency 
1. Ground Cover 

a. Ground cover shall be considered acceptable if it 
has at least 70 percent density with a 90 percent statistical 
confidence for the last year of the five year responsibility 
period. 

b. The aggregate of areas with less than 70 percent 
ground cover must not exceed five percent of the release 
area. These individual areas must not be larger than 1 acre 
and must be completely surrounded by desirable vegetation 
that has a ground cover of not less than 70 percent. Areas 
void of desirable vegetation may not be larger than 1/4 acre 
and must be surrounded by desirable vegetation that has a 
ground cover of not less than 70 percent. 

c. No more than 35 percent of the stand can consist 
of approved species not listed in the permit. 

2. Tree and Shrub Stocking Rate 
a. The stocking rate for trees and shrubs shall be 

determined on a permit-specific basis after consultation and 
approval by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries. Trees and shrubs that will be used in determining 
the success of stocking and the adequacy of the plant 
arrangement shall have utility for the approved post-mining 
land use. When this requirement is met and acceptable 
ground cover is achieved, the five-year responsibility period 
shall begin. 

b. Tree and shrub stocking rate shall be sampled 
once during the last year of the five-year responsibility 
period. The woody plants established on the revegetated site 
must be equal to or greater than 90 percent of the stocking 
rate approved in the permit with 90 percent statistical 
confidence. Trees and shrubs counted shall be healthy and in 
place for not less than two growing seasons. At the time of 
final bond release at least 80 percent of the trees and shrubs 
used to determine success shall have been in place for 60 
percent of the applicable minimum period of responsibility. 
The permittee must provide documentation of this in the 
form of paid receipts, reclamation status reports, and normal 
correspondence. 

C. Sampling Procedures 
1. Random Sampling 

a. To assure that the samples truly represent the 
vegetative characteristics of the whole release or reference 
area, the permittee must use methods that will provide: 
 i. a random selection of sampling sites, 
 ii. a sampling technique unaffected by the 
sampler's preference, and 
 iii. sufficient samples to represent the true mean of 
the vegetative characteristics. 

b. Sampling points shall be randomly located by 
using a grid overlay on a map of the release or reference area 
and by choosing horizontal and vertical coordinates. Each 
sample point must fall within the release or reference area 
boundaries and be within an area having the vegetative cover 
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type being measured. Additionally, if the release area does 
not consist of a single unit, at least one sample point must be 
measured in each noncontiguous unit. 

c. The permittee shall notify the office 10 days prior 
to conducting sampling or other harvesting operations to 
allow regulatory personnel an opportunity to monitor the 
sampling procedures. 

2. Sampling Techniques 
a. Ground Cover. There are several approved 

methods for measuring ground cover. As stated at 
§5423.A.1, these are: pin method, point frame method and 
line intercept method. The first contact, or "hit", of 
vegetation shall be classified by species as acceptable or 
unacceptable as follows. 
 

Acceptable Unacceptable 
Vegetation approved in permit  Vegetation not approved in permit  
Dead vegetation or litter from 
acceptable species Rock or bare ground 
AcceptableCnot approved in permit   

 
i. Pin Method. In the pin method, a pinpoint is 

lowered to the ground. If vegetation is encountered, a hit is 
recorded. If bare ground is encountered, a miss is recorded. 
Sample locations are distributed randomly throughout the 
area to be measured. Percentage of cover is the number of 
hits divided by the total number of points sampled. Each 
randomly placed pin is considered one sample unit. An 
acceptable type of pin method would include recording each 
pin contact at one-foot intervals along a 100-foot tape. Each 
randomly placed 100-foot tape would be considered one 
sample unit. 
 ii. Point Frame Method. In the point frame 
method, a group of pinpoints is lowered to the ground. If 
vegetation is encountered, a hit is recorded. If bare ground is 
encountered, a miss is recorded. Sample locations are 
distributed randomly throughout the area to be measured. 
Percentage of cover is the number of hits divided by the total 
number of points sampled. Each randomly placed frame is 
considered one sample unit. 
 iii. Line Intercept Method. The sampling unit is a 
tape at least 100 feet long that is stretched from a random 
starting point in a randomly selected direction. The 
procedure consists of recording the length of tape underlain 
by vegetation, then dividing by the total length of tape to 
obtain the percentage of cover. Each randomly located tape 
is considered one sampling unit. 

b. Sampling Circles (Trees/Shrubs) 
 i. A sampling circle shall be a round area of 
known radius. The permittee shall establish a sampling circle 
at each randomly selected sampling point such that the 
center of the sampling circle is the random point. Permittee 
may draw the circle by attaching a string to a stake fixed at 
the random point and then sweeping the end of the string 
(tightly stretched) in a circle around the stake. The permittee 
shall count all living trees and shrubs within each of the 
sampling circles. In more mature tree/shrub areas, the stakes 
may need to be extended to elevate the string above the 
growth. 
 ii. To count as a living tree or shrub, the tree or 
shrub must be healthy and must have been in place for at 
least two years. At the time of liability release, 80 percent 
must have been in place for three years. 

3. Sample Adequacy 
a. Ground Cover Data 

 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 
 

222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

 
Where: 

n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 

reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of 

the average cover (note that this term is squared). 
 

 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

b. Sampling Circles (Trees/Shrubs) Data 
 i. Data shall be collected using a multi-staged 
sampling procedure. During the first stage, an initial 
minimum number of samples is taken. Using this initial 
group and applying the formula below, determine the actual 
number of samples needed: 
 

222 )1.0/()( xstn =  

(the variance (s2) must be based on oven dry weight) 
 
Where: 

n = minimum number of samples needed; 
t2 = squared t-value from the T-Table; 
s2 = initial estimate of the variance of the release (or 

reference) area; and 
(0.1x)2 = the level of accuracy expressed as 10 percent of 

the average weight (note that this term is squared). 
 

 ii. If the formula reveals that the required number 
of samples have been taken, the initial sampling will satisfy 
the sampling requirements. If a greater number of samples is 
needed, additional samples must be taken (Stage Two 
Sampling), as specified by the formula, and n recalculated. 
This process shall be repeated until sample adequacy is met. 

D. Data Submission and Analysis  
1. If the data shows that revegetation success has been 

met, the permittee shall submit the data to the commissioner 
for review. Ground cover or stocking for the release area will 
be considered successful when it has been measured with an 
acceptable method, has achieved sample adequacy, and 
where the average ground cover or stocking value is equal to 
or greater than the success standard. 

2. When the data indicates that the average ground 
cover and/or tree and shrub average stocking density is 
insufficient, but close to the standards, the permittee may 
submit the data to the Commissioner to determine if the 
revegetation is acceptable when statistically compared to the 
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standards using a t-test at a 90-percent statistical confidence 
interval. 

E. Maps 
1. When a proposed reclamation phase III release is 

submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of the area covered by the proposed 
release; 

b. the location of reference plots; and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

2. When data from a previously approved plan is 
submitted to the office, it must be accompanied by maps 
showing: 

a. the location of each transect and sampling circle 
location, 

b. the area covered by the sampling, and 
c. all permit boundaries. 

F. Mitigation Plan 
1. Ground cover must be greater than or equal to 70 

percent coverage and tree and shrub stocking must achieve 
the revegetation standards by the fifth year of the five-year 
responsibility period. If these standards are not achieved by 
this date, the permittee must submit a mitigation plan to the 
commissioner that includes the following: 

a. a statement outlining the problem;  
b. a discussion of what practices, beyond normal 

agronomic practices, the operator intends to use to enable 
the area to finally meet the release standards; and 

c. a new Phase III re lease proposal. 
2. If renovation, soil substitution, or any other practice 

that constitutes augmentation is employed, the five-year 
responsibility period shall restart after the mitigation plan is 
approved and the practices are completed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:901-932. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, hereby issues 
this Family Impact Statement: The proposed amendments 
will have no known impact on family formation, stability, 
and autonomy, as set forth in R.S. 49:972. 

A public hearing will be held at 10 a.m., April 28, 2003, in 
the LaBelle Hearing Room located on the first floor of the 
LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, at 
which time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit oral and written comments regarding 
the proposed amendment to LAC 43:XV, (Statewide Order 
29-O-1) the Louisiana Surface Mining Regulations. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed amendment. Such comments 
must be submitted no later than 5 p.m., May 2, 2003, to Mr. 
Carroll Wascom, Injection and Mining Division, Office of 
Conservation, Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275. 

Copies of the proposed amendment may be obtained or 
viewed at the Office of the State Register, 1201 North Third 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, phone (225) 342-5015 or 
through the Department of Natural Resources, Office of

Conservation, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802, phone (225) 342-5586. 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner of Conservation 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Surface Mining Regulations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no implementation costs or savings to state or 

local governmental units since Louisiana presently has surface 
mining Rules in effect and the proposed change will keep 
Louisiana's Surface Mining Program in compliance with 
federal regulations. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Louisiana presently receives approximately $190,000 in 
federal funds and $280,000 in state matching funds to 
administer the Surface Mining Program. Failure to amend the 
Louisiana Rules to make them consistent with federal 
regulations would cause the state to lose this federal funding. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be negligible costs to directly affected persons 
or surface coal mine operators. Benefits will be realized by 
persons near the surface mining operations and the state's 
citizens generally due to the reclamation of the surface mining 
property according to state and federal standards. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed Rule amendment will bring the Louisiana 
Surface Mining Program into compliance with federal Surface 
Mining Control and Reclamation Act (SMCRA) regulations, 
will ensure the continued operation of surface mining in 
Louisiana and will have no significant effect on competition or 
employment. 

 
Felix J. Boudreaux Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0303#037 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Underwater Obstructions (LAC 43:XI.311) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation hereby proposes to 
define site clearance application fees in LAC 43:XI.311 et 
seq. in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana, 
particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950. The proposed Rule amendment will bring site 
clearance permit application fees into conformance with the 
Office of Conservation's current fee schedule. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 461 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XI.  Office of Conservation-Pipeline Division 
Subpart 2.  Underwater Obstructions 

Chapter 3. Underwater Obstructions  
§311. Abandoned Facilities 

A. - E.1. ... 
2. A procedural plan for site clearance verification of 

platform, well or structure abandonment (§311.E.1.b or 
§311.E.1.c) shall be developed by the lessee and submitted 
to the commissioner of conservation for approval with the 
permit application for platform or structure removal. Vessels 
used for site clearance verification operations in territorial 
seas shall be equipped with a navigational positioning 
system capable of providing position accuracy of ±30-feet. 
The navigational positioning system proposed for use must 
be identified in the procedural plan. Vessels used for site 
clearance verification operations in coastal waters and 
shallow (5 feet or less below mean sea level) territorial seas 
are not required to be equipped with a navigational system 
provided that alternate methods for insuring proper 
positioning during site clearance verification operations are 
described in the plan submitted for approval. Each plan and 
application shall be accompanied by a filing fee. The fee 
shall be the same as the public hearing fee set forth in LAC 
43:XIX, Chapter 7. 

E.2.a. - 3.f. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with RS 

30:4.D-H. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 11:702 (July 1985), 
amended LR 18:1412 (October 1992), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect of these rules on the stability of the family. 

These Rules will have no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. The effect of these rules on the authority and rights of 

parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. These Rules will have no effect on the authority 
and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. The effect of these rules on the functioning of the 
family. These Rules will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The effect of these rules on family earnings and family 
budget. These Rules will have no effect on family earnings 
and family budget. 

5. The effect of these rules on family earnings and family 
budget. These Rules will have no effect on the functioning 
of the family. 

6. The effect of these rules on the ability of the family or 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed rules. These Rules will have not effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rules. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Mariano G. Hinojosa, Louisiana Office of Conservation, P.O. 
Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275. Written 
comments will be accepted through April 25, 2003. 

All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 
submit comments regarding these new and amended 
regulations at the public hearing in accordance with R.S. 
49:953. Written comments will be accepted until 5 p.m., 
Friday, April 25, 2003, at the following address: Office of 

Conservation, Pipeline Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton 
Rouge, LA, 70804, Re: Docket No. PL 03- 009. 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
and R.S. 30:557.G, notice is hereby given that the 
Commissioner of Conservation will conduct a public hearing 
at 9 a.m., Monday, April 28, 2003, in the LaBelle Room 
located on the first floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. A copy of the proposed 
regulations may be obtained by contacting Mariano Hinojosa 
at 225-342-5519 or by writing the Office of Conservation, 
Pipeline Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. 

All persons having interest in the aforesaid shall take 
notice thereof. 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner of Conservation 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Underwater Obstructions  

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no additional costs or savings to local 

governmental units. This action amends the site clearance 
regulations regarding permit application fees. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Under the proposed amendment, site clearance application 
fees will increase from $600 to $755. About 100 site clearance 
applications are reviewed annually. The fee increase will result 
in additional revenue of approximately $15,000. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment will increase the filing fee for 
site clearance permits from $600 to $755. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no effect on competition or employment. 
 

James H. Welsh Robert E. Hosse 
Commissioner General Government Section Director 
0303#027 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Prohibition of Certain Unfair Business Practices 
(LAC 55:VII.317) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the authority of 
R.S. 26:792 and 26:150, the Department of Revenue, Office 
of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, proposes to amend LAC 
55:VII.317 to clarify the restrictions relative to the 
relationship between suppliers and retailers relative to 
internet website advertising. 

The proposed amendment provides that no supplier of 
alcohol beverages shall directly or indirectly furnish or pay 
for any advertising with respect to any one or more retail 
licensees by means of radio or similar media; but for 
purposes of §317.C.2.j, internet websites including related 
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emails or direct mail shall not be construed as "similar 
media." 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 1.  Beer and Liquor 

Chapter 3. Alcoholic Beverages 
§317. Prohibition of Certain Unfair Business Practices 

A. - C.2.j.iii. ... 
k. No supplier of alcohol beverages shall directly or 

indirectly furnish or pay for any advertising with respect to 
any one or more retail licensees by means of radio or similar 
media. For purposes of C.2.j above, internet websites 
including related emails or direct mail shall not be construed 
as "similar media." 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:75.C, R.S. 26:150, R.S. 26:275.B, R.S. 26:287, R.S. 26:792 and 
R.S. 26:793. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of Alcoholic Beverage Control, LR 4:464 
(November 1978), amended LR 5:11 (January 1979), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of 
Alcoholic Beverage Control, LR 17:607 (June 1991), LR 20:671 
(June 1994), amended by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, 
Office of Alcoholic Beverage Control, LR 22:116 (February 1996), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control LR 26:2631 (November 2000), LR 28:1484 (June 
2002), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights  of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Tammy Weaver, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control, Department of Revenue, to 8549 United 
Plaza Blvd., Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Murphy J. Painter 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Prohibition of Certain Unfair Business 
Practices 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local governmental units associated with the proposed Rule. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed Rule  
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Proposed LAC 55:VII.317.C.2.k is to clarify restrictions 
relative to relationship between suppliers and retailers relative 
to internet website advertising. 

Content of Rule will clarify Louisiana law relative to 
prohibition of advertising furnished by suppliers of alcohol 
beverages for retailers of such beverages with respect to any 
means of radio or similar media; and to further clarify that such 
prohibition shall not by way of phrase "similar media" be 
extended to include websites. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule should have no effect on competition 
or employment. 

 
Murphy J. Painter H. Gordon Monk 
Commissioner Staff Director 
0303#097 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Responsible Vendor ProgramCServers 
(LAC 55:VII.507) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the authority of 
R.S. 26:933, the Department of Revenue, Office of Alcohol 
and Tobacco Control, proposes to amend LAC 55:VII.507 to 
require that those who seek certification and enrollment as a 
responsible vendor must be in compliance with R.S. 
37:2951. R.S. 37:2951.A provides that "...default on the 
repayment of any loan guaranteed by the Louisiana Student 
Financial Assistance Commission, hereinafter referred to as 
the special commission, shall be grounds for denying an 
application for, or an application for the renewal of, any 
license, permit, or certificate required by the state of 
Louisiana, or for the granting of a conditional license, 
permit, or certificate required by the state of Louisiana, or 
any of its departments, offices, agencies, and boards in order 
to practice or engage in a trade, occupation, or profession..." 
Attorney General Opinion No. 02-0135 provides that the 
requirements of R.S. 37:2951 are applicable to applicants for 
the licenses and permits issued by the Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control. 
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Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 1.  Beer and Liquor 

Chapter 5. Responsible Vendor Program 
§507. Servers 

A. - B.3. ... 
4. The server shall meet compliance with R.S. 

37:2951. 
C. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:931 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 24:1950 
(October 1998), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Tammy Weaver, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control, Department of Revenue, to 8549 United 
Plaza Blvd., Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Murphy J. Painter 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Responsible Vendor ProgramCServers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local governmental units associated with the proposed Rule. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There could be a possible effect on revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
Rule if those who apply to become approved servers of alcohol 
beverages are induced to pay their loans guaranteed by the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission in order to 
obtain such server permits. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule should have no effect on estimated 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected person and 
non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule could have an effect on employment 
relative to the possible denial of applicants for server permits. 

 
Murphy J. Painter H. Gordon Monk 
Commissioner Staff Director 
0303#095 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Responsible Vendor ProgramCTraining 
(LAC 55:VII.509) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the authority of 
R.S. 26:933, the Department of Revenue, Office of Alcohol 
and Tobacco Control, proposes to amend LAC 55:VII.509 to 
require that those who seek certification and providers and 
trainers under the Responsible Vendor Program must be in 
compliance with R.S. 37:2951. R.S. 37:2951.A provides that 
"...default on the repayment of any loan guaranteed by the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission, 
hereinafter referred to as the special commission, shall be 
grounds for denying an application for, or an application for 
the renewal of, any license, permit, or certificate required by 
the state of Louisiana, or for the granting of a conditional 
license, permit, or certificate required by the state of 
Louisiana, or any of its departments, offices, agencies, and 
boards in order to practice or engage in a trade, occupation, 
or profession..." Attorney General Opinion No. 02-0135 
provides that the requirements of R.S. 37:2951 are 
applicable to applicants for the licenses and permits issued 
by the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 1.  Beer and Liquor 

Chapter 5. Responsible Vendor Program 
§509. Training; Providers and Trainers 

A. - D.4. ... 
5. A person or business entity that applies to become 

an approved provider or trainer for alcohol server education 
shall meet compliance with R.S. 37:2951 and the owners of 
any such a business entity meet compliance with R.S. 
37:2951. 

E. - K.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:931 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 24:1950 
(October 1998), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 
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2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Tammy Weaver, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control, Department of Revenue, to 8549 United 
Plaza Blvd., Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Murphy J. Painter 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Responsible Vendor ProgramCTraining 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local governmental units associated with the proposed Rule. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There could be a possible effect on revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
Rule if those who apply to become approved providers for 
alcohol server education are induced to pay their loans 
guaranteed by the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission in order to obtain such certification. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule should have no effect on estimated 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected person and 
non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule could have an effect on competition or 
employment relative to the possible denial of those who apply 
to become approved providers for alcohol server education as a 
result of their failure to comply with R.S. 37:2951. 

 
Murphy J. Painter H. Gordon Monk 
Commissioner Staff Director 
0303#094 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Responsible Vendor ProgramCVendors 
(LAC 55:VII.505) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the authority of 
R.S. 26:933, the Department of Revenue, Office of Alcohol 
and Tobacco Control, proposes to amend LAC 55:VII.505 to 
require that those who seek certification and enrollment as a 
responsible vendor must be in compliance with R.S. 
37:2951. R.S. 37:2951.A provides that "...default on the 
repayment of any loan guaranteed by the Louisiana Student 
Financial Assistance Commission, hereinafter referred to as 
the special commission, shall be grounds for denying an 
application for, or an application for the renewal of any 
license, permit, or certificate required by the state of 
Louisiana, or for the granting of a conditional license, 
permit, or certificate required by the state of Louisiana, or 
any of its departments, offices, agencies, and boards in order 
to practice or engage in a trade, occupation, or profession..." 
Attorney General Opinion No. 02-0135 provides that the 
requirements of R.S. 37:2951 are applicable to applicants for 
the licenses and permits issued by the Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 1.  Beer and Liquor 

Chapter 5. Responsible Vendor Program 
§505. Vendors 

A. - A.4.b. ... 
5. The vendor shall meet compliance with R.S. 

37:2951. 
B. - B.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:931 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 24:1949 
(October 1998), amended LR 25:879 (May 1999), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 03   March 20, 2003 465 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Tammy Weaver, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control, Department of Revenue, to 8549 United 
Plaza Blvd., Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Murphy J. Painter 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Responsible Vendor ProgramCVendors 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local governmental units associated with the proposed Rule. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There could be a possible effect on revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
Rule if those applying for Responsible Vendor Certification are 
in a position to pay their loans guaranteed by the Louisiana 
Student Financial Assistance Commission and are thereby 
induced to do so. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule should have no effect on estimated 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected person and 
non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule could have an effect on competition or 
employment relative to the possible denial of those who seek 
certification and enrollment as a responsible vendor as a result 
of their failure to comply with R.S. 37:2951. 

 
Murphy J. Painter H. Gordon Monk 
Commissioner Staff Director 
0303#096 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Tobacco Permits (LAC 55:VII.3105) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950, et seq.) and the authority of 
R.S. 26:922, the Department of Revenue, Office of Alcohol 
and Tobacco Control, proposes to amend LAC 55:VII.3105 
to require that any applicant for a tobacco license shall meet 
compliance with R.S. 37:2951. R.S. 37:2951.A provides that 
"...default on the repayment of any loan guaranteed by the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission, 
hereinafter referred to as the special commission, shall be

grounds for denying an application for, or an application for 
the renewal of, any license, permit, or certificate required by 
the state of Louisiana, or for the granting of a conditional 
license, permit, or certificate required by the state of 
Louisiana, or any of its departments, offices, agencies, and 
boards in order to practice or engage in a trade, occupation, 
or profession..." Attorney General Opinion No. 02-0135 
provides that the requirements of R.S. 37:2951 are 
applicable to applicants for the licenses and permits issued 
by the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 2.  Tobacco 

Chapter 31. Tobacco Permits 
§3105. Additional Information for Licenses; 

Partnership, Corporation, Limited Liability 
Company (LLC) 

A. - B. ... 
C. Any applicant for a tobacco license shall meet 

compliance with R.S. 37:2951. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:922 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 24:1320 (July 
1998), amended LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The effect on the stability of the family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The effect on the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Tammy Weaver, Office of Alcohol and 
Tobacco Control, Department of Revenue, to 8549 United 
Plaza Blvd., Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Murphy J. Painter 
Commissioner 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Tobacco Permits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There should be no implementation costs or savings to state 

or local governmental units associated with the proposed Rule. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There could be a possible effect on revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
Rule if those applying for a tobacco license are induced to pay 
their loans guaranteed by the Louisiana Student Financial 
Assistance Commission in order to receive such license. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule should have no effect on estimated 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected person and 
non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed Rule could have an effect on competition or 
employment relative to the possible denial of applicants for a 
tobacco license as a result their failure to comply with R.S. 
37:2951. 

 
Murphy J. Painter H. Gordon Monk 
Commissioner Staff Director 
0303#093 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of the Secretary 

Penalty Waiver  
(LAC 61:III.2101) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1603 and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Office of 
the Secretary, proposes to amend LAC 61:III.2101 
pertaining to a penalty waiver for delinquent filing or 
delinquent payment.  

The purpose of this Rule is to inform the public of the 
documentation required when submitting requests for waiver 
of delinquent filing or late payment penalty and of factors 
that will be considered by the Department of Revenue in 
evaluating waiver requests. Title 47 Section 1603 provides 
that if the failure to file on time or the failure to timely remit 
the full amount due is not due to the negligence of the 
taxpayer, but is due to other causes set forth in written form 
and considered reasonable, the secretary may waive the 
penalty in whole or in part. When the penalty exceeds 
$5,000, the waiver must be approved by the Board of Tax 
Appeals. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Department of Revenue; Administrative  
Provisions and Miscellaneous 

Chapter 21. Interest and Penalties  
§2101. Penalty Waiver 

A. The secretary may waive a penalty in whole or in part 
for the failure to file a return on time or the failure to timely 

remit the full amount due when the failure is not due to the 
taxpayer's negligence and is considered reasonable. All 
penalty waiver requests must be in writing and be 
accompanied by supporting documentation. If the combined 
penalties for a tax period exceed one hundred dollars, all of 
the facts alleged as a basis for reasonable cause must be fully 
disclosed in an affidavit sworn before a notary public in the 
presence of two witnesses and accompanied by any 
supporting documentation. The affidavit must be signed by 
the taxpayer, or in the case of a corporation, by an officer of 
the corporation. Where the taxpayer or officer does not have 
personal knowledge of such facts, the sworn affidavit may 
be signed on the taxpayer's or officer's behalf by a 
responsible individual with personal knowledge of such 
facts. In lieu of an affidavit, the taxpayer may submit a 
Request for Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form 
signed by the taxpayer, or in the case of a corporation, by an 
officer of the corporation. Where the taxpayer or officer does 
not have personal knowledge of such facts, the Request for 
Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form may be signed on 
the taxpayer's or officer's behalf by a responsible individual 
with personal knowledge of such facts. The Request for 
Waiver of Penalties for Delinquency Form must be 
accompanied by any supporting documentation. 

B. Before a taxpayer's request for penalty waiver will be 
considered, the taxpayer must be current in filing all tax 
returns and all tax, penalties not being considered for waiver, 
fees and interest due for any taxes/fees administered by the 
Department of Revenue must be paid. 

C. In determining whether or not to waive the penalty in 
whole or in part, the department will take in account both the 
facts submitted by the taxpayer and the taxpayer's previous 
compliance record with respect to all of the taxes/fees 
administered by the Department of Revenue. Prior penalty 
waivers will be a significant factor in assessing the 
taxpayer's compliance record. Each waiver request submitted 
by the taxpayer will be considered on an individual basis. 
Each tax period or audit liability will be considered 
separately in determining whether the penalty amount 
mandates approval of the waiver by the Board of Tax 
Appeals. The delinquent filing and delinquent payment 
penalties will also be considered separately in making this 
determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 27:866 (June 
2001), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment of LAC 61:III.2101, should not 

have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability 
and autonomy. Specifically: 

1. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the functioning of the 
family. 
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4. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the ability of the family or 
a local government to perform this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Linda Denney, Miscellaneous Taxes & 
Regulatory Services, Policy Services Division, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5428 or by fax to 
(225) 219-2759. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 
p.m. April 23, 2003. A public hearing will be held on April 
24, 2003, at 9:30 a.m. at 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802-5428. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Penalty Waiver 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Implementation of this proposed regulation, which 

establishes the documentation required to be submitted to the 
Department of Revenue for delinquent filing or late payment 
penalty waiver requests, will have no impact on the agency's 
costs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of this proposed regulation. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Taxpayers whose penalties exceed $100 may incur a cost 
for having a document notarized. This amount is 
undeterminable. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed regulation should have no effect on 
competition or employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0303#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Social Services 
Office of the Secretary 

Class "A" Child Day Care (LAC 48:I.Chapter 53) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Licensing proposes to amend the 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 48, Part I, Subpart 3, 
Licensing and Certification. This Rule is mandated by R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. These standards are being revised to 
supersede any previous regulations heretofore published. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH – GENERAL 
Part 1.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 53. Day Care Centers 
§5301. Purpose 

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the health, 
safety, and well-being of the children of the state who are in 
out-of-home care on a regular or consistent basis. Toward 
that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 46 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 to establish statewide 
minimum standards for the safety and well-being of 
children, to ensure maintenance of these standards, and to 
regulate conditions in these facilities through a program of 
licensing. It shall be the policy of the state to ensure 
protection of all individuals under care in child care facilities 
and placement agencies and to encourage and assist in the 
improvement of programs.  

B. It is the further intent of the legislature that the 
freedom of religion of all citizens shall be inviolate. This 
Chapter shall not give the Department of Social Services 
jurisdiction or authority to regulate, control, supervise, or in 
any way be involved in the form, manner, or content of any 
curriculum or instruction of a school or facility sponsored by 
a church or religious organization so long as the civil and 
human rights of the clients and residents are not violated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5302. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. The State of Louisiana, Department of Social 

Services, is charged with the responsibility for developing 
and publishing standards for the licensing of child care 
centers. The licensing authority of the Department of Social 
Services is established by R.S. 46:1401 et seq. (Act 367 of 
1956 and amended by Act 152 of 1962, Act 241 of 1968, Act 
290 of 1976, Act 678 of 1977, Act 409 of 1978, Act 286 of 
1985, Act 1463 of 1997 and Act 1237 of 1999) making 
mandatory the licensing of all child care facilities and child 
placing agencies, including child care centers.  

2. In accordance with Act 1237 of the 1999 
Legislative Session, a child care center is defined as any 
place or facility operated by any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
primary purpose of providing care, supervision, and 
guidance of 7 or more children, not including those related 
to the caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted 
child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal 
custody of the caregiver. A recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and does not 
operate more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week is 
not considered a child care center. 

B. Penalties 
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1. All child care facilities, including facilities owned 
or operated by any governmental, profit, nonprofit, private, 
or church agency shall be licensed. 

2. The law provides a penalty for operation of a center 
without a valid license. The penalty for operation without a 
valid license is a fine of not less than $75 nor more than 
$250 for each day of operation without a license. 

C. Inspections 
1. According to law, it shall be the duty of the 

Department of Social Services, through its duly authorized 
agents, to inspect at regular intervals not to exceed one year 
or as deemed necessary by the department and without 
previous notice all child care facilities and child-placing 
agencies subject to the provisions of the Chapter (R.S. 
46:1401 et seq.) 

2. Whenever the department is advised or has reason 
to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating a non-exempt child care facility without a license, 
the department shall make an investigation to ascertain the 
facts. 

3. Whenever the department is advised or has reason 
to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating in violation of the Child Care Center Class A 
Minimum Standards, the department shall complete a 
complaint investigation. All reports of mistreatment of 
children coming to the attention of the Department of Social 
Services will be investigated. 

D. The Louisiana Advisory Committee 
1. The Louisiana Advisory Committee on Child Care 

Facilities and Child Placing Agencies was created by Act 
286 of 1985 to serve three functions: 

a. to develop new minimum standards for licensure 
of Class "A" facilities ("New" meaning the first regulations 
written after Act 286 of 1985); 

b. to review and consult with the Department of 
Social Services on all revisions written by the Bureau of 
Licensing after the initial regulations and to review all 
standards, Rules, and regulations for Class "A" facilities at 
least every three years; and 

c. to advise and consult with the Department of 
Social Services on matters pertaining to decisions to deny, 
revoke or refuse a Class "A" license. 

2. The committee is composed of 19 voting members, 
appointed by the governor, including provider and consumer 
representation from all types of child care services, the 
educational and professional community and the director of 
the Bureau of Licensing who serves as an ex-officio 
member. 

E. Waivers 
A. The Secretary of the Department of Social Services, 

in specific instances, may waive compliance with a 
minimum standard if it is determined that the economic 
impact is sufficiently great to make compliance impractical, 
as long as the health and well-being of the staff and/or 
children are not imperiled. If it is determined that the facility 
or agency is meeting or exceeding the intent of a standard or 
regulation, the standard or regulation may be deemed to be 
met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 

the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5303. Procedures 

A. Application 
1. Anyone applying for a license after the effective 

date of these standards shall meet all of the requirements 
herein.  

2. Before beginning operation, it is mandatory to 
obtain a license from the Department of Social Services, 
Bureau of Licensing. To do so, the following steps should be 
followed: 

a. Prior to purchasing, leasing, etc., carefully check 
all local zoning and building ordinances in the area where 
the facility is to be located. Standards from Office of Public 
Health, Sanitarian Services; Office of the State Fire Marshal, 
Code Enforcement and Building Safety; and City Fire 
Department (if applicable) should be obtained. 

b. After securing building, obtain an application 
form issued by: 

      Department of Social Services 
      Bureau of Licensing 
      P. O. Box 3078 
      Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3078 
      Phone: (225) 922-0015 
      Fax: (225) 922-0014 

Web address: www.dss.state.la.us/offos/html/licensing.html 

c. The completed application shall indicate Class 
"A" license. Anyone applying for State or Federal funding 
shall apply for Class "A" license. Licensure fees are required 
to be paid by all providers. A Class "A" license may not be 
changed to a Class "B" license if revocation procedures are 
pending. 

d. After the center's location has been established, 
complete and return the application form. It is necessary to 
contact the following offices prior to building or renovating 
a center: 
 i. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; 
 ii. Office of the State Fire Marshal, Code 
Enforcement and Building Safety; 
 iii. Office of City Fire Department (if applicable); 
 iv. Zoning Department (if applicable); and 
 v. City or Parish Building Permit Office. 

e. After the application has been received by the 
Bureau of Licensing, the bureau will request the Office of 
State Fire Marshal, Office of City Fire Department (if 
applicable), Office of Public Health and any known required 
local agencies to make an inspection of the location, as per 
their standards. However, it is the applicant's responsibility 
to obtain these inspections and approvals. 

f. A licensing specialist will visit the center to 
conduct a licensing survey. 

g. A license will be issued on an initial application 
when the following items have been met and written 
verification is received by the Bureau of Licensing: 
 i. state fire approval; 
 ii. city fire approval (if applicable); 
 iii. health approval;  
 iv. zoning approval (if applicable); 
 v. full licensure fee paid; 
 vi. director meets qualifications; 
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 vii. director designee meets qualifications (if 
applicable); 
 viii. three current, positive, signed references on 
director; 
 ix. three current, positive, signed references on 
director designee (if applicable); and 
 x. licensure survey verifying compliance with all 
minimum standards. 

3. When a center changes location, it is considered a 
new operation and a new application and fee for licensure 
shall be submitted. All items listed in Section 5303.A.2.g 
shall be submitted, except references and director/director 
designee qualifications if the director/director designee 
remains the same. 

4. When a center changes ownership, the following 
information must be submitted prior to the sale or day of the 
sale in order for a license to be issued: 

a. a new application; 
b. full licensure fee; 
c. current health and state fire approval;  
d. city fire approval (if applicable); 
e. documentation of director qualifications as listed 

in Section 5310.A and B; 
f. letter from previous owner noting sale of child 

care business; 
g. documentation of director designee qualifications 

as listed in Section 5310.A and B (if applicable);  
h. three current, positive signed references on the 

director; 
i. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); and 
j. copy of bill of sale. 
 

NOTE: If the above information is not received prior to the 
sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate until a 
license is issued. When the application is received, it will be 
treated as an initial application rather than a change of 
ownership. 
 

5. When a center changes class type, the following 
information shall be submitted to the bureau prior to the 
issuance of the new license: 

a. written request from the provider; 
b. full licensure fee; 
c. documentation of commercial liability insurance 

in accordance with Section 5305.B and Section 5331.J; and 
d. documentation of director/director designee 

qualifications as listed in Section 5310.A and B. 
6. A license shall be valid only for the address on the 

application to a particular owner and is not transferable to 
another person or location or subject to sale. Two licenses 
shall not be issued simultaneously for the same physical 
address. 

7. When a business is sold, discontinued, the 
operation has moved to a new location, or the license has 
been revoked, the current license immediately becomes null 
and void. 

8. All new construction or renovation of a center 
requires approval from the agencies listed in Section 
5303.A.2.d and the Bureau of Licensing prior to occupying 
the new space. 

9. The bureau is authorized to determine the period 
during which the license shall be effective. A license is valid 
for the period for which it is issued unless it is revoked due 

to provider's failure to maintain compliance with minimum 
standards. 

B. Fees 
1. All fees shall be paid by certified check or money 

order only and are non-refundable.  
2. An application fee of $25 shall be submitted with 

all initial applications. This fee will be applied toward the 
total licensure fee which is due prior to licensure of the 
provider. This fee is to be paid by all initial and change of 
location providers. The full licensure fee shall be paid on all 
change of ownership applications. The full licensure fee 
shall be paid for all class changes. 

3. Annual licensure fees are required prior to renewal 
of the license. License fee schedules (based on capacity) are 
listed below: 

         15 or fewer: $ 25 
         16 - 50: $100 
         51 - 100: $175 
         101 or more: $250 

4. Other licensure fees: 
a. A replacement fee of $25 for any provider 

replacing a license when changes to the license are 
requested, e.g., change in capacity, name change, age range 
change, transportation change. (There is no processing 
charge when the request coincides with regular renewal of 
license.) 
 i. Capacity increase is effective when the 
following is received and approved by the bureau: written, 
signed request; fee; state fire approval; city fire approval (if 
applicable); state health approval; and measurement of the 
additional space by the bureau. 
 ii. Transportation addition is effective when the 
following is received and approved by the bureau: written, 
signed request; fee; copy of appropriate driver's license(s); 
and insurance. 
 iii. Name change, age range change, and addition 
of nighttime care is effective when the request and fee are 
received and approved. 
 iv. Change in director/director designee does not 
require a fee; however, documentation of qualifications and 
three reference letters are needed in order to process the 
request. 

b. A processing fee of $5 for issuing a duplicate 
license with no changes. 

C. Relicensing 
1. The annual relicensing survey is similar to the 

original licensing survey. Documentation of the previous 12 
months' activity shall be available for review. The director 
will have an opportunity to review the survey deficiencies (if 
any). 

2. A license is issued for a period of up to one year 
based upon provider's compliance with minimum standards. 
Before expiration of the license, re-inspections by the Office 
of Public Health, Sanitarian Services; Office of the State Fire 
Marshal, Code Enforcement and Building Safety; City Fire 
(if applicable) and the Bureau of Licensing shall be required. 

3. If the survey reveals that the provider is not 
meeting minimum requirements, a recommendation will be 
made to the Louisiana Advisory Committee on Child Care 
Facilities and Child Placing Agencies that the license be 
revoked or not renewed. 
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4. The bureau shall be notified prior to making 
changes which may have an effect upon the license, e.g., age 
range of children served, usage of indoor and outdoor space, 
director, hours/months/days of operation, transportation, etc. 

D. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, or a license may be 
revoked, or renewal denied, for any of the following reasons: 

1. violation of any provision of R.S. 46:1401 et seq. or 
failure to meet any of the minimum standards, Rules, 
regulations or orders promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services; 

2. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the 
children; 

3. conviction of or a plea of guilty or nolo contender 
of a felony, or any offense of a violent or sexual nature, or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, 

a. or, if the applicant is a firm or corporation, any of 
its board members or officers; 

b. or, the person designated to manage or supervise 
the center;  

4. hiring or continued employment of any individual 
(paid or non-paid staff) convicted of a felony or a plea of 
guilty or nolo contender of a felony or any offense of a 
violent or sexual nature or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim;  

5. if the owner or director of the center is not 
reputable; 

6. if the owner, director or a member of the staff is 
temperamentally or otherwise unsuited for the care of the 
children in the center;  

7. history of noncompliance; 
8. failure of the owner of the center to hire a qualified 

director; 
9. disapproval from any agency whose approval is 

required for licensure; 
10. non-payment of licensure fee and/or failure to 

submit application for renewal prior to the expiration of the 
current license; 

11. any validated instance of corporal punishment, 
physical punishment, cruel, severe, or unusual punishment, 
physical or sexual abuse and/or neglect if the owner is 
responsible or if the employee who is responsible remains in 
the employment of the provider;  

12. the center is closed and there are no plans for 
immediate re -opening and no means of verifying compliance 
with minimum standards for licensure; 

13. any act of fraud such as falsifying or altering 
documents required for licensure; 

14. provider refuses to allow the bureau to perform 
mandated duties, i.e., denying entrance to the center, lack of 
cooperation for completion of duties, etc.;  

15. presence or use of any recalled product by the 
provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; or 

16. failure to attend any mandatory training session 
offered by the bureau. 

E. Appeal Procedure. If the license is refused, revoked or 
denied because the provider does not ensure the compliance 
with the minimum requirements for licensure, the procedure 
is as follows. 

1. The Department of Social Services, Bureau of 
Licensing, shall advise the director by certified letter of the 

reasons for refusal, revocation, or denial and the right of 
appeal. 

2. The director may appeal this decision by submitting 
a written request with the reasons to the Secretary of the 
Department of Social Services. Write to Department of 
Social Services, Bureau of Appeals, P. O. Box 2944, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-9118. This written request shall be post-
market within 30 days of the director's receipt of the above 
notification. 

3. The Bureau of Appeals shall set a hearing within 30 
days after receipt of such a request. An appeals hearing 
officer shall conduct the hearing. Within 90 days after the 
date the appeal is filed, the hearing officer shall advise the 
appellant by certified letter of the decision, either affirming 
or reversing the original decision. If the appeal is denied, the 
provider shall terminate operation of the center immediately. 

4. If the provider continues to operate without a 
license, the Department of Social Services may file suit in 
the district court in the parish in which the center is located 
for injunctive relief. 

F. Required Notification. Within 24 hours or the next 
workday, the director shall notify the bureau of the following 
reportable incidents. A verbal report is to be followed by a 
written report: 

1. any death of a child while in the care of the 
provider; 

2. any illness or injury requiring hospitalization or 
professional medical attention other than first aid of a child 
while in the care of the provider; 

3. any fire; 
4. any structural disaster;  
5. any emergency situation that requires temporarily 

relocating children; 
6. any unusual situation which affects the care of a 

child or children, e.g. child left unsupervised in the center, 
on the van, in play yard, on field trip, extended loss of 
power, water service, gas, etc.; or 

7. any child leaving the center unsupervised or with 
an unauthorized person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5304. Definitions 

AnniversaryCcenter's licensure year, determined by the 
month in which the initial license was issued to the 
provider/center and in which the license is eligible for 
renewal each year. 

BureauCthe Bureau of Licensing of the Department of 
Social Services. 

CapacityCthe number of children the provider is 
licensed to care for at any given time based on usable indoor 
and outdoor square footage as determined by the bureau. 

CenterCa child care facility as defined in Section 
5302.A.1. 

Center StaffCall full or part-time paid or non-paid staff 
who perform routine services for the child care center and 
have direct or indirect contact with children at the center. 
Center staff includes the director, child care staff, and any 
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other employees of the center such as the cook, housekeeper, 
driver, substitutes, and foster grandparents excluding extra -
curricular personnel. 

Change of LocationCchange of physical address of 
facility. 

Change of OwnershipCtransfer of ownership to 
someone other than the owner listed on the initial 
application. Ownership of the center business, not the 
building, determines the owner. Sale of a corporation also 
constitutes a change of ownership. Leasing of a child care 
business is not considered a change of ownership, but an 
initial application. 

Clock HourCinvolvement or participation in a learning 
situation for 60 minutes. 

Comparable SettingCpre-k, kindergarten, first grade, or 
a registered family day home. 

DepartmentCthe Department of Social Services of the 
State of Louisiana. 

Direct SupervisionCvisual contact at all times. 
DirectorC 

Center DirectorCthe on-site staff who is responsible 
for the day-to-day operation of the center as recorded with 
the Bureau of Licensing. For the purpose of these 
regulations the term director means center director or 
director designee, if applicable. 

Director DesigneeCthe on-site individual appointed 
by the director when the director is not an on-site employee 
at the licensed location. This individual shall meet director 
qualifications. 

Executive DirectorCthe owner or administrator. If on-
site and responsible for the management, administration and 
supervision of the center, the executive director is also the 
center director. If not on-site or not functioning as center 
director, the executive director maintains responsibility for 
the management, administration and supervision of the 
center(s) through a center director or director designee. 

DisciplineCthe ongoing positive process of helping 
children develop inner control so that they can manage their 
own behavior in an appropriate and acceptable manner by 
using corrective action to change the inappropriate behavior. 

DocumentationCwritten evidence or proof, signed and 
dated by parties involved (director, parents, staff, etc.), on 
site and available for review. 

Existing CenterCa provider with a valid license at a 
particular location prior to the effective date of these 
standards. 

Extra-CurricularPersonnel/Therapeutic ProfessionalsC 
individuals who are not employees of the center, but who 
come to the center to provide therapy, services, or 
enrichment activities for an individual child or group of 
children. Examples: computer instructor, dance instructor, 
librarian, tumble bus personnel, therapeutic personnel 
(occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech therapist), 
nutritionist, early interventionist, nurse. 

GroupCthe number of children assigned to a caregiver 
or team of caregivers occupying an individual classroom or 
well-defined space within a larger room on a consistent or 
daily basis. 

MedicationCall internal and external drugs, whether 
over-the-counter or prescribed. Medications include oral, 
inhalant, topical o intments, sprays, creams, etc. 

Montessori SchoolCa facility accredited as a Montessori 
School by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education under La. R.S. 17:3401 et seq. 

Nighttime CareCcare provided after 9:00 p.m. and in 
which no individual child re mains for more than 24 hours in 
one continuous stay. 

Owner or ProviderCa public or private organization or 
individual who delivers child care services for children. 

ParentCparent(s) or guardian with legal custody of the 
child. 

PostedCprominently displayed in a conspicuous 
location in an area accessible to and regularly used by 
parents. 

Shall  or MustCmandatory. 
ShouldCurged, advised or may. 
Staff-in-ChargeCthe on-site staff appointed by the 

director as responsible for supervising the operation of the 
center during the temporary absence of the director.  

Student TraineeCan individual who observes in the 
center as a course requirement, is never left alone with 
children, nor counted in the child/staff ratio. 

Temporary AbsenceCabsence for errands, conferences, 
etc. 

TransportationCarranging or providing transportation 
of children for any reason including field trips and 
transportation by contract. 

Water ActivityCa water-related activity in which 
children, under adult supervision, are in, on, near, or 
immersed in a body of water such as swimming pools, 
wading pools, water parks, lakes, rivers or beaches, etc.  

VisitorCanyone who enters the facility other than center 
staff, therapeutic professionals, extracurricular personnel, 
and in the case of a church or school, any other routine 
employees such as a pastor, principal, teacher, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5305. General Requirements 

A. A Louisiana child care license with current 
information and current expiration date shall be on display in 
an area accessible to and regularly used by parents and 
visitors, except for church affiliated centers (R.S. 
46:1408.D) that choose to keep the license on file and 
available upon request. 

B. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of a 
center to ensure medical coverage for children in the event 
of accident or injury. The provider is responsible for 
payment of medical expenses of a child injured while in the 
provider's care. Documentation shall consist of the insurance 
policy or current binder that includes the name of the child 
care facility, physical address of the facility, name of the 
insurance company, policy number, period of coverage and 
explanation of the coverage.  

C. Parents shall not be required to waive the provider's 
responsibility. 
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D. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
sanitation inspection and current approval from the Office of 
Public Health, Sanitarian Services. If food is catered or 
transported, approval is needed from the health department. 

E. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
safety inspection and current approval from the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. 

F. The provider shall have documentation of yearly 
safety inspection and current approval from the City Fire 
Department (if applicable). 

G. The provider shall have certificate of occupancy 
(zoning), if applicable. 

H. A daily attendance record for children, completed by 
the parent or center staff, including the time of arrival and 
departure of each child and the name of the person to whom 
the child was released, shall be maintained. This record shall 
accurately reflect the children on the child care premises at 
any given time. If the record is completed by center staff, 
that individual shall write the first and last name of the 
person to whom the child was released and sign his/her own 
name. Children who leave and return to the center during the 
day shall be signed in/out. A computerized sign in/out 
procedure is acceptable if the record accurately reflects the 
time of arrival and departure as well as the name of the 
person to whom the child was released. 

I. A daily attendance record for staff, including the 
director/owner, to include the time of arrival and departure 
shall be maintained. Direct care staff shall document in/out 
when not on the child care premises. This record shall 
accurately reflect persons on the child care premises at any 
given time. 

J. The provider shall have an individual immediately 
available in case of emergency. The name and telephone 
number of the emergency person shall be posted near the 
telephone. 

K. Any visitor to the center shall be accompanied by a 
staff person at all times. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5306. Policies and Procedures Related to Children 

A. Prior to admission, the director, in consultation with 
the parent, shall determine that the individual needs of each 
child can adequately be met by the center's program and 
facilities. 

B. A schedule of the day's plan of activities, allowing for 
flexibility and change, shall be posted. The program of 
activities shall be age-appropriate and shall be adhered to 
with reasonable closeness, but shall accommodate and have 
due regard for individual needs and differences among the 
children. The program shall provide time and materials for 
both vigorous and quiet activities for children to share or to 
be alone, indoor and outdoor play, and rest. Regular time 
shall be allowed for routines such as washing, lunch, rest, 
snacks and putting away toys. Active and quiet periods shall 
be alternated so as to guard against over-stimulation of the 
child. 

C. Programs/movies with violent or adult content 
(including soap operas) shall not be permitted in the 
presence of children. 

D. Children five years and younger shall have a daily 
rest period of at least one hour. Providers that serve children 
in half-day programs are not required to schedule napping 
periods for these children. 

E. While awake, children shall not remain in a crib/baby 
bed, swing, highchair, carrier, playpen, etc. for more than 30 
consecutive minutes. 

F. Discipline. The provider shall establish a policy in 
regard to methods of discipline. Any form of punishment 
that violates the spirit of this standard of discipline, even 
though it may not be specifically mentioned as forbidden, is 
prohibited. This written posted policy shall clearly state ALL 
types of positive discipline that are used and that the 
following methods of discipline are prohibited: 

1. No child shall be subject to physical punishment, 
corporal punishment, verbal abuse or threats. 

2. Cruel, severe, unusual, or unnecessary punishment 
shall not be inflicted upon children.  

3. Derogatory remarks shall not be made in the 
presence of children about family members of children in 
care or about the children themselves. 

4. No child or group of children shall be allowed to 
discipline another child. 

5. When a child is removed from the group for 
disciplinary reasons, he shall never be out of sight of a staff 
member. 

6. No child shall be deprived of meals or snacks or 
any part thereof for disciplinary reasons. 

G. Abuse and Neglect 
1. As mandated reporters, all center staff shall report 

any suspected abuse and/or neglect of a child in accordance 
with R.S. 14:403 to the local child protection agency. This 
written policy as well as the local child protection agency's 
telephone number shall be posted. 

H. Complaint Procedure 
1. Parents shall be advised of the licensing authority 

of the bureau along with the current telephone number and 
address. Parents shall also be advised that they may call or 
write the bureau should they have significant, unresolved 
licensing complaints. This written policy as well as the 
current telephone number and address of the bureau shall be 
posted. 

I. Open Door Policy 
1. Parents shall be informed that they are welcome to 

visit the center anytime during regular hours of operation as 
long as their child is enrolled. This written policy shall be 
posted. 

J. Non-discrimination Policy 
1. Discrimination by child care providers on the basis 

of race, color, creed, sex, national origin, handicapping 
condition or ancestry is prohibited. This written policy shall 
be posted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
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§5307. Children's Records  
A. A record shall be maintained on each child to include: 

1. child's information form (mastercard) listing the 
child's name, birth date, sex, date of admission, name and 
phone number of child's physician and dentist, dietary 
restrictions, and allergies; signed and dated by the parent; 

2. parental authorization to secure emergency medical 
treatment; 

3. signed agreements between the provider and the 
parent for each child giving permission to release the child 
to a third party listed by the parent including any other child 
care facilities or transportation services. A child shall never 
be released to anyone unless authorized in writing by the 
parent; 

4. signed agreements between the provider and the 
parent to transport the child. Daily trip authorization shall 
include name of child, type of service (i.e., to and from 
home, to and from school), parent's signature and date. 

B. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality and 
security of all children's records. Employees of the center 
shall not disclose or knowingly permit the disclosure of any 
information concerning the child or his/her family, directly 
or indirectly, to any unauthorized person. 

C. The provider shall obtain written, informed consent 
from the parent prior to releasing any information, 
recordings and/or photographs from which the child might 
be identified, except for authorized state and federal 
agencies. 

D. The provider utilizing any type of recordings or 
taping of children including but not limited to digital 
recordings, videotaping, audio recordings, web cam, etc. 
shall obtain documentation signed and dated by the parent 
indicating their awareness of such recordings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5308. Retention of Records  

A. Documentation of the previous 12 months' activity 
shall be available for review. Records shall be accessible 
during the hours the facility is open and operating. 

B. For licensing purposes, children's information shall be 
kept on file a minimum of one year from date of discharge 
from the center.  

C. For licensing purposes, personnel records shall be 
kept on file a minimum of one year from termination of 
employment from the center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5309. Required Staff 

A. Each center shall have a qualified director who is an 
on-site full-time employee at the licensed location and is 
responsible for planning, managing, and controlling the 
center's daily activities, as well as responding to parental 

concerns and ensuring that minimum licensing requirements 
are met. When the director is not an on-site full-time 
employee at the licensed location, there shall be a qualified 
director designee who is an on-site full-time employee 
responsible for planning, managing, and controlling the 
center's daily activities, as well as responding to parental 
concerns and ensuring that minimum licensing requirements 
are met. 

B. When the director or director designee is not on the 
premises due to a temporary absence, there shall be an 
individual appointed as staff-in-charge who is at least 21 
years of age. This staff shall be given the authority to 
respond to emergencies, inspections/inspectors, parental 
concerns, and have access to all required information. 

C. If the number of children in care exceeds 42, the 
director/director designee's duties shall consist only of 
performing administrative functions. 

D. There shall be regularly employed staff who are 
capable of fulfilling job duties of the position to which they 
are assigned. 

E. Adequate provisions for cooking and housekeeping 
duties shall be provided. These duties shall not interfere with 
required supervision of children or required child/staff ratios. 

F. There shall be provisions for substitute staff who are 
qualified to fulfill duties of the position to which they are 
assigned. 

G. Child care staff shall be age 18 years or older. The 
provider may, however, include in the staff-child ratio, a 
person 16 or 17 years old who works under the direct 
supervision of a qualified adult staff. No one under age 16 
shall be used as child care staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5310. Director Qualifications 

A. The director/director designee shall be at least 21 
years of age. 

B. The director/director designee shall have 
documentation of at least one of the following upon date of 
hire as director or director designee: 

1. a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university with at least 12 credit hours of child development 
or early childhood education and one year of experience in a 
licensed child care center or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; 

2. an Associate of Arts degree in child development or 
a closely related area, and one year of experience in a 
licensed child care center, or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; 

3. a National Administrator Credential as awarded by 
the National Child Care Association, and one year 
experience in a licensed child care center, or comparable 
setting, subject to approval by the bureau; 

4. a Child Development Associate Credential (CDA) 
and one year of experience in a licensed child care center, or 
comparable setting, subject to approval by the bureau; 

5. diploma from a post secondary technical early 
childhood education training program approved by the 
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Board of Regents or child care education certificate 
program, plus one year of experience in a licensed child care 
center, or comparable setting, subject to approval by the 
bureau; 

6. Three years of experience as a director or staff in a 
licensed child care center, or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the bureau; plus six credit hours in child care, 
child development, or early childhood education or 90 
"clock hours" of training approved by the bureau. Up to 
three credit hours or 45 clock hours may be in 
management/administration education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5311. Personnel Records  

A. A record for each paid and non-paid staff person, 
including substitutes and foster grandparents shall be on file 
at the center. Personnel record shall include: 

1. an application and/or a staff information form with 
the following: 

a. name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. address and telephone number; 
d. previous training/work experience; 
e. educational background; and 
f. employee's starting and termination date; 

2. documentation of three current, positive reference 
checks or telephone notes signed and dated. These 
references shall be obtained from persons not related to the 
employee; 

3. written job descriptions for every position at the 
center; 

4. a written statement of good health signed by a 
physician or designee. Health statement dated within three 
months prior to offer of employment or within one month 
after date of employment is acceptable. A health statement is 
required every three years. Originals shall be presented upon 
request;  

5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S.15:587.1. Provider shall request 
this clearance prior to the employment of any center staff. A 
criminal record clearance is not transferable from one 
employer to another. No staff with a criminal conviction of a 
felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contender of a felony, or any 
offense of a violent or sexual nature, or any offense 
involving a juvenile victim shall be employed in a Class "A" 
child care center.  

B. The following information shall be kept on file for 
therapeutic professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g. 
computer instructor, dance instructor, librarian, tumble bus 
personnel, etc.: 

1. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S.15:587.1. Provider shall request 
this clearance prior to individual being present in the center. 
No individual with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea 
of guilty or nolo contender of a felony, or any offense of a 
violent or sexual nature, or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim shall be in a Class "A" child care center. Note: 

Individuals employed by the school system may have on file 
at the center, a letter from school system administrative staff 
documenting that a criminal record check has been 
completed through Louisiana State Police; 

2. documentation of their presence at the facility to 
include: 

a. name; 
b. date of visit; 
c. arrival and departure times; and 
d. reason in center. 

C. The following information shall be kept on file at the 
center for each student trainee: 

1. an application and/or a staff information form with 
the following: 

a. name; 
b. date of birth; and 
c. address and telephone number; 

2. job descriptions to include job duties to be 
performed and name of supervisor;  

3. documentation of their presence at the facility to 
include: 

a. name; 
b. date of visit; 
c. arrival and departure times; and 
d. reason in center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5312. Staff Development and Training 

A. Orientation Training 
1. Within one week of employment and prior to 

having sole responsibility for a group of children, each staff 
member, including substitutes and foster grandparents, shall 
receive orientation training to include the following topics: 

a. center policies and practices including health and 
safety procedures; 

b. emergency and evacuation plan; 
c. supervision of children; 
d. discipline policy; 
e. job description; 
f. individual needs of the children enrolled; 
g. detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect; 
h. current Child Care Class "A" Minimum 

Licensing Standards; and 
i. confidentiality of information regarding children 

and their families. 
2. This training shall be followed by four days of 

supervised work with children. Documentation shall consist 
of a statement/checklist in the staff record signed and dated 
by the staff person and director, attesting to having received 
such orientation training, and the dates of the supervised 
work with children. 

B. Quarterly Training 
1. The director shall conduct, at a minimum, one staff 

training session/meeting every three months. Documentation 
shall consist of the date of the training session, training 
topics, and signatures (not initials) of all staff in attendance. 

C. Annual Review 
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1. All staff, including substitutes and foster 
grandparents, shall have a signed and dated 
checklist/statement that the following topics are annually 
reviewed: 

a. center policies and practices including health and 
safety procedures; 

b. emergency and evacuation plan; 
c. supervision of children; 
d. discipline policy; 
e. job description; 
f. individual needs of the children enrolled; 
g. detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect; 
h. current Child Day Care Class "A" Minimum 

Standards; 
i. confidentiality of information regarding children 

and their families. 
D. Continuing Education 

1. The director shall provide opportunities for 
continuing education of staff through attendance at child 
care workshops or conferences, for paid and non-paid staff 
who are left alone with children, or who have supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children. The child care staff, 
excluding foster grandparents, shall obtain 12 clock hours of 
approved training per center's anniversary year in job related 
subject areas. At least three of the 12 clock hours of training 
for directors/director designees shall be in administrative 
issues. Documentation shall consist of attendance records or 
certificates received by staff. This is in addition to the 
required training hours from the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, pediatric first aid and infant/child/adult CPR. 
Medication administration training by a Child Care Health 
Consultant may count toward fulfilling three of the 
mandated 12 hours of continuing education training. All 
training shall have prior approval by the Department of 
Social Services. Original certificates shall be made available 
upon request. 

2. Cooks or drivers who are neither left alone with 
children, nor have supervisory nor disciplinary authority 
over children shall complete at least three clock hours of 
training in job related topics per center's anniversary year.  

E. CPR and First Aid 
1. A minimum of at least 50 percent of all staff on the 

premises and accessible to the children at all times shall 
have documentation of current infant/child/adult certification 
in CPR. Original cards shall be made available upon request. 
This training shall be approved by the Department of Social 
Services prior to acceptance. 

2. Centers with multiple buildings or floors, however, 
shall have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
infant/child/adult CPR in each building and on each floor of 
the center. 

3. A minimum of at least 50 percent of all staff on the 
premises and accessible to children shall have 
documentation of current pediatric first aid certification. 
Original cards shall be made available upon request. This 
certification shall be approved by the Department of Social 
Services prior to acceptance. 

4. Centers with multiple buildings or floors, however, 
shall have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
pediatric first aid in each building and on each floor of the 
center. 

5. At least one staff in each vehicle (center provided 
or contract) shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and pediatric first aid 
certification.  

6. At least 50 percent of the supervising staff on the 
field trip shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and pediatric first aid 
certification. 

7. Non-vehicular excursions shall require at least one 
staff in attendance and accessible to children at all times 
with documented current certification in infant/child/adult 
CPR and pediatric first aid. 

F. Emergency Procedures 
1. The director shall ensure that written procedures for 

emergencies and evacuation as appropriate for the area in 
which the center is located such as fire, flood, tornado, 
hurricane, chemical spill, train derailment, etc. are available. 

NOTE: For additional information contact the Office of 
Emergency Preparedness (Civil Defense) in your area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5313. Water Activities  

A. The provider shall obtain written authorization from 
the parent for the child to participate in any water activity. 
The statement shall describe all types of water activities 
provided and the authorization shall be updated at least 
annually and shall list the child's name, type of water 
activity, location of water activity, parent's signature and 
date.  

B. On-site and off-site wading/swimming pool, or other 
water activities shall require at least two staff or other 
supervising adults to be trained in infant/child/adult CPR 
and pediatric first aid. One supervising adult shall be trained 
in an approved community water safety course. Providers 
who have wading pools with a depth of less than two feet 
shall not be required to have a staff with community water 
safety training. 

1. If children are taken to off-site water activities, 
documentation shall be on file at the center that the director 
has verified that the supervising adult meets the above 
requirements or the lifeguard on duty is currently certified. 

2. The provider shall ensure that appropriate water 
safety devices are used when children are participating in 
water activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29 
§5315. Required Child/Staff Ratios 

A. Child/staff ratios are established to ensure the safety 
of all children. Only those staff members directly involved in 
child care and supervision shall be considered in assessing
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child/staff ratio. Required staff shall be present in the center 
to meet the child/staff ratios as indicated below; however, 
there shall always be a minimum of two child care staff 
present during hours of operation when children are present. 

 
Child/Staff 

Ages of Children Ratio  
Infants under 12 months 5:1 
One year old 7:1 
Two year old 11:1 
Three year old 13:1  
Four year old 15:1  
Five year old 19:1  
Six year old and up 23:1  

 
1. An average of the child/staff ratio may be applied 

to mixed groups of children ages two, three, four, and five. 
Ratios for children under two or over five years old are 
excluded from averaging. When a mixed group includes 
children less than two years of age, the age of the youngest 
child determines the ratio for the group to which the 
youngest child is assigned. When a mixed group includes 
children both older and younger than six years old and older, 
the ages of the children less than six determine the ratio for 
the group.  

2. During naptime, required staffing shall be present 
in the center to satisfy child/staff ratios. 

B. Child/staff ratio plus one additional adult shall be met 
for all field trips and non-vehicular excursions. 

C. A designated number of children shall relate daily to a 
designated staff on a regular and consistent basis. 

D. When the nature of a special need or the number of 
children with special needs warrants added care, the provider 
shall add sufficient staff as deemed necessary by the bureau 
to compensate for these needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5317. Supervision 

A. Children shall be under direct supervision at all times 
including naptime. Children shall never be left alone in any 
room or outdoors without a staff present. Children, 
excluding infants, may be grouped together at naptime with 
one staff supervising the children sleeping. All children 
sleeping shall be in the sight of the naptime worker. 

B. While on duty with a group of children, child care 
staff shall devote their entire time in supervision of the 
children, in meeting the needs of the children, and in 
participation with them in their activities. 

C. Individuals who do not serve a purpose related to the 
care of children and/or hinder supervision of the children 
shall not be present in the center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 

of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5319. Food Service and Nutrition 

A. Well-balanced and nourishing meals and snacks shall 
be provided as specified under the Child Care Food Program 
of the United States Department of Agriculture (See 
Appendix A). 

B. Additional servings of nutritious food over and above 
the required daily minimum shall be made available to 
children as needed if not contraindicated by special diets. 

C. Meals and snacks shall be served at 2 1/2 to 3-hour 
intervals. 

D. Current weekly menus for meals and snacks listing 
specific food items served shall be prominently posted. 
Menu substitutions shall be recorded on or near the posted 
menu. 

E. Children's food shall be served on individual plates, 
napkins, paper towels or in cups, as appropriate. 

F. Providers who do not serve breakfast shall have food 
available for children arriving in the morning without having 
eaten this meal.  

G. Food shall not be sold to the children. Soft drink 
vending machines and other food dispensers for personnel 
use shall be located outside of the children's play areas.  

H. Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed. An infant 
or any child who can hold a bottle shall not be placed in a 
crib, on a mat, cot, etc. with the bottle unless written 
permission is obtained from the parent. 

I. A bottle shall not be propped at any time. 
J. Daily written reports to include liquid intake, food 

intake, child's disposition, bowel movements, eating and 
sleeping patterns shall be given to parents of infants. 

K. Microwave ovens shall not be used for warming 
infant bottles or infant food. 

L. Developmentally appropriate equipment shall be used 
at mealtimes, such as feeding tables, highchairs, etc.  

M. Drinking water shall be available indoors and 
outdoors to all children. Drinking water shall be offered at 
least once between meals and snacks to all children. Water 
shall be given to infants only with written instructions from 
parents. 

N. Children are not allowed to bring food into the center 
except under the following circumstances. 

1. Bottled formula for infants supplied by the parent 
shall have labeled bottles and labeled caps/covers with the 
child's name or initials and refrigerated upon arrival. 

2. Baby food supplied by the parent shall be in the 
original unopened container and labeled with the child's 
name or initials. 

3. When a child requires a special diet, a written 
statement from a medical authority shall be on file. 

4. Children with food allergies/intolerance shall have 
a written statement signed by the parent indicating the 
specific food allergy/intolerance. 

5. When a child requires a modified diet for religious 
reasons, a written statement to that effect from the child's 
parent shall be on file. 

6. Refreshments for special occasions such as birthday 
parties and holidays, with prior approval from the director 
may be served. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5321. Health Service to the Child 

A. A provider that gives medication assumes additional 
responsibility and liability for the safety of the children. The 
staff person(s) administering medication shall be trained in 
medication administration. The training shall be obtained 
every two years. 

B. No medication of any type, prescription, non-
prescription, special medical procedure shall be administered 
by center staff unless authorized in writing by the parent. 
Authorization shall include: 

1. child's name; 
2. name of the medication; 
3. date(s) to be administered; 
4. dosage; 
5. time to be administered; 
6. special instructions, if applicable; 
7. side effects; 
8. signature of parent and date of signature; and 
9. circumstances for administering "as needed" 

medication. 
C. Medication or medical procedures to be provided on 

an as needed basis or maintenance prescription shall be 
updated as changes occur, or at least every three months by 
the parent.  

D. All medication sent to the center shall be in its 
original container, shall not have an expired date, and shall 
be clearly labeled with the child's name to ensure that 
medication is for individual use only. 

E. The provider shall follow any special directions as 
indicated on the medication bottle, i.e., before or after meals, 
with food or milk, refrigerate, etc. 

F. If medication label reads "to consult physician," a 
written physician authorization with child's name, date, 
medication name and dosage must be on file in order to 
administer the medication in addition to the parental 
authorization. 

G. Medication administration records shall be 
maintained verifying that the medication was given 
according to parent's authorization, which includes: 

1. date;  
2. time;  
3. dosage administered; 
4. signature (not initials) of the staff member who 

gave the medication; and 
5. phone contact (date and time) with the parent prior 

to giving "as needed" medication. 
H. When parents administer medication to their own 

children on the child care premises, the following 
information shall be documented: 

1. date; 
2. child's name; 
3. time administered; 
4. medication name; 
5. dosage administered; 
6. side effects; and 
7. name of person administering medication. 

I. The provider shall not apply topical 
ointments/sprays/creams (i.e. sunscreen, insect repellant, 
diaper rash ointment, etc.) without a written one-time 
authorization signed and dated from the parent, unless 
changes occur. 

J. Upon arrival at the center, each child shall be 
observed for possible signs of illness, infections, bruises, 
injuries, physical condition, etc. When noted, results 
including an explanation from parent and/or child shall be 
documented. 

K. Incidents of injuries or accidents shall be documented. 
Documentation shall include name of child, date and time of 
incident, location where incident took place, description of 
how incident occurred, part of body involved, and actions 
taken. Documentation of all injuries/accidents shall include 
time of parental notification and signature of person 
notifying the parent. The parent or designated person shall 
be notified immediately in the following situations: 

1. blood not contained in an adhesive strip; 
2. head injury; 
3. human bite which breaks the skin; 
4. any animal bite; 
5. an impaled object; 
6. broken or dislodged teeth; or 
7. any injury requiring professional medical attention. 

L. Documentation of illnesses or unusual behavior shall 
be maintained. Documentation shall include child's name, 
type/description of illness or unusual behavior, date and time 
of onset and actions taken, time of parental notification and 
signature of person notifying the parent. The parent or 
designated person shall be notified immediately in the 
following situations: 

1. allergic reaction; 
2. skin changes e.g. rash, spots, swelling, etc.;  
3. unusual breathing; 
4. dehydration; 
5. any temperature reading above normal; or 
6. any illness requiring professional medical attention.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5323. Physical Environment 

A. Indoor Space Required 
1. The center shall be used exclusively by the children 

and center staff during operating hours. Area licensed for use 
as a child care center shall not be dually licensed. A child 
care facility, except those located in a church or school, shall 
be physically separated from any other business or 
enterprise. 

2. A minimum of at least 35 square feet per child of 
indoor space shall be available. The space shall not include 
toilet facilities, hallways, lofts, storage or food preparation 
areas, or offices. Any room counted as play space shall be 
available for play during play hours. If rooms are used 
exclusively for dining or sleeping, they cannot be included 
in the licensed capacity. 

3. For indoor space, the number of children using a 
room shall be based on the 35 square feet per child 
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requirement except for group activities such as film viewing, 
parties, dining and sleeping. 

4. Provisions shall be available indoors for 
temporarily isolating a child having or suspected of having a 
communicable disease so he/she can be removed from the 
other children. Movable partitions are permissible so that the 
space may be used for play when not needed for isolating an 
ill child. 

5. An indoor area shall be maintained for the purpose 
of providing privacy for diapering, dressing and other 
personal care procedures for children beyond the usual 
diapering age. 

B. Outdoor Space Required 
1. Outdoor play space with a direct exit from the 

center into the outdoor play yard shall be available. 
2. The outdoor space shall provide a minimum of 75 

square feet for each child in the outdoor play space at any 
one time. The minimum outdoor play space shall be 
available for at least one-third of the licensed capacity. 

3. The outdoor play space shall be enclosed with a 
fence or other barrier in such a manner as to protect the 
children from traffic hazards; to prevent the children from 
leaving the premises without proper supervision; and to 
prevent contact with animals or unauthorized persons. 

4. Crawlspaces and mechanical, electrical, or other 
hazardous equipment shall be made inaccessible to children. 

5. Areas where there are open cisterns, wells, ditches, 
fish ponds and swimming pools or other bodies of water 
shall be made inaccessible to children by fencing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5325. Furnishings and Equipment 

A. A working telephone capable of incoming and 
outgoing calls shall be available at all times and readily 
available at the center. Coin operated telephones or cellular 
telephones are not acceptable for this purpose. 

B. When a center has multiple buildings and a telephone 
is not located in each building where the children are 
housed, a written plan shall be posted in each building for 
securing emergency help. 

C. Appropriate emergency numbers such as fire 
department, police department, and medical facility shall be 
prominently posted on or near the telephone. 

D. The telephone number for poison control shall be 
prominently posted on or near the telephone. 

E. The center's physical address shall be posted with the 
emergency numbers.  

F. All equipment and materials shall be appropriate to 
the needs and ages of the children enrolled. 

G. All play equipment and equipment necessary for the 
operation of the center shall be maintained in good repair.  

H. Play equipment of sufficient quantity and variety for 
indoor and outdoor use encouraging physical play and quiet 
play/activities which is appropriate to the needs and ages of 
the children shall be provided. 

I. Low, open shelves, bins, or other open containers 
shall be within easy reach of the children for the storage of 
play materials in each play area. 

J. Individual, labeled space shall be available for each 
child's personal belongings. 

K. Chairs and table space of a suitable size shall be 
available for each child two years of age or older. 

L. Individual and appropriate sleeping arrangements 
shall be provided for each child. Each child shall be 
provided with a cot, mat, or crib (baby bed) of appropriate 
size, height, and material, sufficient to ensure his/her health 
and safety. Each infant shall have a crib separated from all 
other cribs (non-stackable). Playpens shall not be substituted 
for cribs.  

M. Mats may be used only if the area used for napping is 
carpeted or if the center is centrally heated and cooled. If 
mats are used, they shall be of adequate size and material to 
provide for the health and safety of the child. 

N. Each child's sleeping accommodations shall be 
assigned to him/her on a permanent basis and labeled. 

O. Sheets for covering the cot or mat shall be provided 
by either the provider or the parent, unless the cots or mats 
are covered with vinyl or another washable surface. 

P. Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately 
when soiled or wet.  

Q. A labeled sheet or blanket shall be provided by either 
the provider or the parent for covering the child. 

R. Cribs, cots, or mats shall be spaced at least 18 inches 
apart. 

S. Cribs shall have spaces between crib slats of no more 
than two and three-eighths inches. 

T. Infant bed railings shall be in the up and locked 
position at all times when the child is in the bed.  

U. Trampolines are prohibited.  
V. Infant walkers are prohibited. 
W. Toy chests with attached lids are prohibited. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing,  LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5327. Safety Requirements 

A. Prescription and over-the-counter medications, 
poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, equipment, 
tools and any substance with a warning label stating it is 
harmful or that it should be kept out of the reach of children, 
shall be locked away from and inaccessible to children. 
Whether a cabinet or an entire room, the storage area shall 
be locked.  

B. Refrigerated medication shall be stored in a secure 
container to prevent access by children and avoid 
contamination of food. 

C. Construction, remodeling, or alterations of structures 
shall be done in such a manner as to prevent hazards or 
unsafe conditions (fumes, dust, safety hazards). 

D. Secure railings shall be provided for flights of more 
than three steps and for porches more than three feet from 
the ground. 
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E. Gates shall be provided at the head or foot of each 
flight of stairs to which children have access.  

F. Accordion gates are prohibited unless there is 
documentation on file that the gate meets requirements as 
approved by the Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services. 

G. Unused electrical outlets shall be protected by a safety 
plug cover. 

H. Strings and cords (such as those found on window 
coverings) shall not be within the reach of children. 

I. First aid supplies shall be kept on-site and easily 
accessible to employees, but not within the reach of children. 

J. All areas of the center used by the children, including 
sleep areas, shall be properly heated, cooled, and ventilated.  

K. Areas used by the children shall be lighted in such a 
way as to allow visual supervision of the children at all 
times. 

L. The center and yard shall be clean and free from 
hazards. 

M. The provider shall prohibit the use of alcohol, 
tobacco, and the use or possession of illegal substances or 
unauthorized potentially toxic substances, fireworks, 
firearms, pellet or BB guns (loaded or unloaded) on the child 
care premises. This notice shall be posted.  

N. The provider shall post "The Safety Box" newsletter 
issued by the Office of the Attorney General as required by 
Chapter 55 of Title 46 of the R.S. 46:2701–2711. 

O. Fire drills shall be conducted at least once per month. 
These shall be conducted at various times of the day and 
night (if nighttime care is provided) and shall be 
documented. One fire drill every six months shall be held at 
naptime. Documentation shall include: 

1. date and time of drill;  
2. number of children present; 
3. amount of time to evacuate the center;  
4. problems noted during drill and corrections noted; 

and 
5. signatures (not initials) of staff present. 

P. The entire center shall be checked after the last child 
departs to ensure that no child is left unattended at the 
center. Documentation shall include date, time, and signature 
of staff conducting the visual check. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5329. Non-Vehicular Excursions 

A. Written parental authorization shall be obtained for all 
non-vehicular excursions. Authorization shall include the 
name of child, type and location of activity, date and 
signature of parent, and shall be updated at least annually. 

B. The provider shall maintain a record of all non-
vehicular excursions activities to include date, time, list of 
children, staff, and other adults, and type of activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 

of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5331. General Transportation (Contract, Center 

Provided, Parent Provided) 
A. Providers who transport or arrange transportation of 

children assume additional responsibility and liability for the 
safety of the children. Whether transportation is provided on 
a daily basis or for field trips only, these general regulations 
shall apply. Transportation arrangements shall conform to 
state laws, including seat belts and child restraints. 

B. Only one child shall be restrained in a single safety 
belt.  

NOTE: For additional information regarding state laws, 
contact Office of Public Safety. 

C. The driver or attendant shall not leave the children 
unattended in the vehicle at any time.  

D. Each child shall safely board or leave the vehicle 
from the curb side of the street and/or shall be escorted 
across the street. 

E. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair.  
F. The use of tobacco in any form, use of alcohol and 

possession of illegal substances or unauthorized potentially 
toxic substances, firearms, pellet or BB guns (loaded or 
unloaded) in any vehicle while transporting children is 
prohibited. 

G. The number of persons in a vehicle used to transport 
children shall not exceed the manufacturer's recommended 
capacity. 

H. The provider shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana driver's license for all individuals who 
drive vehicles (staff, contracted persons, parents) used to 
transport children. 

I. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of 
center vehicles to ensure medical coverage for children in 
the event of accident or injury. This policy shall extend 
coverage to any staff member who provides transportation 
for any child in the course and scope of his/her employment. 
The provider is responsible for payment of medical expenses 
of a child injured while in the provider's care. 
Documentation shall consist of the insurance policy or 
current binder that includes the name of the child care 
facility, the name of the insurance company, policy number, 
period of coverage and explanation of the coverage. If 
transportation is provided by parents for field trips or 
transportation is provided by contract, whether daily or field 
trip, a copy of the current liability insurance shall be 
maintained on file. 

J. The vehicle shall have evidence of a current safety 
inspection. In lieu of a visual inspection of a contracted 
vehicle, a signed statement by the agency representative 
verifying the expiration date of the current inspection is 
acceptable. 

K. There shall be first aid supplies in each provider or 
contracted vehicle. First aid supplies (at least one per trip) 
shall be available for each field trip when parents provide 
transportation. In lieu of a visual inspection of a contracted 
vehicle, a signed statement by the agency representative 
verifying this information is acceptable. 

L. There shall be information in each vehicle identifying 
the name of the director and the name, telephone number, 
and address of the center for emergency situations. In lieu of 
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a visual inspection of a contracted vehicle, a signed 
statement by the agency representative verifying this 
information is acceptable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5333. Field Trips (Contract, Center-Provided, Parent 

Provided) 
A. All requirements for general transportation, Section 

5331, also apply to field trips. 
B. In addition, the following standards shall apply when 

transportation is provided/arranged for field trips. 
1. The provider shall maintain a signed parental 

authorization for each field trip. Field trip authorization shall 
include the type of service (contract vehicle, center owned 
vehicle, parent vehicle) used to transport children, event, 
location, child's name, date and time of event, parent's 
signature and date. 

2. At least two staff, one of whom may be the driver, 
shall be in each vehicle unless the vehicle has a 
communication device and child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

3. The provider shall maintain a record of all field 
trips taken, to include date and destination, list of passengers 
(children, parents, staff) (going & returning) and method of 
transportation.  

4. If transportation is provided by parents, a planned 
route shall be provided to each driver and a copy maintained 
in the center. 

5. Children shall be supervised during boarding and 
exiting vehicles by an adult who remains on the outside of 
the vehicle. 

6. The driver or staff person shall check the vehicle 
and account for each child upon arrival and departure at each 
destination to ensure no child is left on the vehicle or at any 
destination. Documentation shall include the signature of the 
person conducting the check and the time the vehicle is 
checked for each loading and unloading of children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5335. Daily Transportation (Contract or Center 

Provided) 
A. All requirements in general transportation, Section 

5331, also apply for daily transportation. 
B. In addition, the following standards all apply when 

daily transportation is provided/arranged. 
1. A staff person shall be present when the child is 

delivered to the center. 
2. The driver plus one staff are required at all times in 

each vehicle when transporting any child under five years of 
age. 

3. When transporting children five years of age and 
older, the driver plus one staff person shall be in each 

contracted or center provided vehicle unless the vehicle has 
a communication device which allows staff to contact 
emergency personnel, and the child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

4. Each driver or attendant shall be provided with a 
current master transportation list including each child's 
name, pick up and drop off locations and authorized persons 
to whom the child may be released. Documentation shall be 
maintained on file at the center whether provided by center 
or contract. 

5. The driver or attendant shall maintain an attendance 
record for each trip. The record shall include the driver' 
name, the date, name of all passengers (children and adults) 
in the vehicle, the name of the person to whom the child was 
released and the time of release. Documentation shall be 
maintained on file at the center whether provided by center 
or contract. 

6. The staff shall check the vehicle at the completion 
of each trip to ensure that no child is left on the vehicle. 
Documentation shall include the signature of the person 
conducting the check and the time the vehicle is checked. 
Documentation shall be maintained on file at the center 
whether provided by center or contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29 
§5337. Contract Requirements 

A. The provider shall maintain a contract which is signed 
by the provider and a representative of the transportation 
agency outlining circumstances under which transportation 
will be provided. This written contract shall be dated, time 
limited and shall include verbiage in Section 5331. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 
§5339. Care for Children during Nighttime Hours 

A. All minimum standards for child care centers apply to 
providers who care for children after 9:00 p.m. and in which 
no individual child remains for more than 24 hours in one 
continuous stay.  

B. In addition, the following standards shall apply. 
1. There shall be a designated "staff-in-charge" 

employee who is at least 21 years of age. 
2. Adequate staff shall be present in the center to meet 

the child/staff ratios as indicated in Section 5315; however, 
there shall always be a minimum of at least two staff present. 

3. Meals shall be served to children who are in the 
center at the ordinary meal times. 

4. Each child shall have a separate, age appropriate 
bed or cot with mat or mattress covered by a sheet for each 
child, as well as a covering for each child (bunk beds are not 
allowed). 

5. There shall be a posted schedule of activities. 
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6. Evening quiet time activity such as story time, 
games, and reading shall be provided to each child arriving 
before bedtime. 

7. Physical restraints shall not be used to confine 
children to bed. 

8. The center's entrance and drop off zones shall be 
well-lighted during hours of operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What Effect Will this Rule Have on the Stability of 

the Family? This proposed Rule to revise minimum 
standards for licensure of Class "A" child day care facilities 
will have no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. What Effect Will this Have on the Authority and 
Rights of Persons Regarding the Education and Supervision 
of their Children? The proposed Rule provides parents with 
the minimum standards required for Class "A" day care 
facilities. Parents can use the information in these 
regulations to assist them in making an informed decision 
when choosing a day care facility that will educate and 
supervise their children. 

3. What Effect Will this Have on the Functioning of the 
Family? This Rule is not anticipated to have any effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. What Effect Will this Have on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget? There will be no effect on family earnings 
and family budget. 

5. What Effect Will this Have on the Behavior and 
Personal Responsibility of Children? A day care facility 
adhering to the minimum standards in this proposed Rule 
will be better equipped to improve the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children in its care.  

6. Is the Family or Local Government Able to Perform 
the Function as Contained in this proposed Rule? The family 
or local government is not able to perform the function 
contained in this proposed Rule. 

Interested persons may submit written comments within 
the next 20 days to Thalia Stevenson, Director, Bureau of 
Licensing, P. O. Box 3078, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3078. 

Public hearings on this proposed Rule will be held on 
Thursday, April 24, 2003 at the Secretary of State 
Auditorium, 8549 United Plaza Boulevard, Baton Rouge, 
from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.; Friday, April 25, 2003 at the 
Louisiana Methodist Children and Family Services, 901 
South Vienna, Ruston, from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.; and Monday, 
April 28, 2003 at Delgado Community College, Student Life 
Center, 615 City Park Avenue, New Orleans, from 10 a.m. to 
12 p.m. All interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in 
writing at the public hearing. Individuals with disabilities 
who require special services should contact the Bureau of 
Appeals at least seven working days in advance of the

hearing. For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and 
TDD). 

 

Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Class "A" Child Day Care 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be a minimal cost for printing the new 

regulations. A total of 3,500 copies of the regulations will be 
printed at approximately $1.58 per copy (totaling $5,530), and 
a cost of $2,006 for postage to mail regulations to all currently 
licensed facilities. The total cost is $7,536. There are no other 
implementation costs to state or local governmental units 
associated with this proposed Rule to adopt minimum licensing 
standards for Class "A" child day care facilities. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Department of Social Services currently collects 
licensing fees from facilities that are licensed under this 
category. Depending on the capacity of the facility, the fees 
range from $25 for 15 or fewer children up to $250 for 101 or 
more children. This policy revision will not affect the amount 
collected from these facilities. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be some minor additional expenses to some 
facilities relating to the following regulations. 

 5310.B.6. Raising clock hours for director qualifications 
from 60 to 90 hours. This will not affect any current director. 
Any training received through resource and referral classes 
contracted through OFS are for a minimal charge (around $5 
per class) or free. The current regulation requiring 6 credit 
hours is still applicable. 

 5312.D.1 Clarifies 12 clock hours of approved training 
does not include training required by DHH in Health and 
Safety, Pediatric First Aid, and Infant/Child/CPR. This may 
cause an additional cost in training expenses for those facilities 
that are not currently getting those classes.   

 5312.E.1&2 Requires at least 50 percent of the staff on 
the premises and accessible to children have current 
infant/child/adult training in CPR (up from a minimum of two 
staff). Many facilities are already meeting this standard. The 
cost of the class varies by teacher and by the number of staff 
taking the class. 

 5335B.2. Requires two adult staff at all times when 
transporting any child under five years of age, for daily 
transportation. This may require additional staff pay for the 
time spent delivering children to and from home. 

Currently, there are 1,533 licensed Class "A" facilities 
statewide. These facilities have a combined capacity of 
101,324. Depending on the ages of the children in care, the 
average provider could have a staff of six teachers and a full-
time director. An average facility may have additional salary 
expenses to cover two staff at all times in a facility and 
additional salary expenses to provide two staff for transporting 
children under the age of five. This expense will be offset by 
providing additional safety protection to the children in care. 
Additional training expenses may be incurred, but can be kept 
to a minimum by using resources provided by OFS. 
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Other revisions require changes in documentation. All 
proposed revisions were initiated to improve child safety and 
reduce provider liability. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no impact anticipated on competition or 
employment because the Child Care Assistance Program plans 
to give additional reimbursement to child care facilities based 
on the quality of child care. This should ease the burden of 
expenses for additional training. Since providers are allowed to 
charge for providing transportation, if there is an additional 
cost for staffing, they may choose to pass that expense to the 
families. It should be noted that no facility is required to 
provide transportation. 

 
Thalia Stevenson H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0303#083 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of State 
Office of the Secretary of State 

Division of Archives 

Records Management Policies and Practices 
(LAC 4:XVII.Chapters 1-15) 

The Department of State, Division of Archives, Records 
Management and History, in accordance with R.S. 44:405, 
and with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et 
seq., hereby adopts LAC Title 4, Part XVII Records 
Management Policies and Practices. This text is being 
inserted to provide official guidance for state agencies in 
establishing and maintaining an active records management 
program as required by R.S. 44:410 et seq. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part XVII.  Records Management Policies and Practices 
Chapter 1. Agency Records Officer Designation 
§101. Designation 

A. In compliance with R.S. 44:411, on or before July 1 
of each state fiscal year, the chief executive officer of each 
agency, as defined by R.S. 44:402 shall designate a records 
officer to act as liaison between the division and the agency 
on all matters related to records management for the term of 
one year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§103. Process 

A. Each agency shall communicate their records officer 
designation by completing form SS ARC 940 Records 
Officer Designation Form, (including signature of the chief 
executive officer and the date the designation was signed) 
and submitting the completed form to the state archivist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§105. Responsibilities of an Agency Records Officer 

A. Each agency should select a records officer who: 
1. can communicate effectively with agency personnel 

and with the division's personnel;  

2. has adequate knowledge of how your agency is 
organized and its operations; 

3. has the ability to work with the agency's 
information services section on records management issues 
related to electronic records created and maintained by the 
agency; 

4. has the authority to oversee the records 
management program of the agency, including: 

a. the development and implementation of an 
agency retention schedule; 

b. the compliance with Division and legal 
requirements for agency records; 

c. the temporary storage of records at the State 
Records Center (if necessary) or the transfer of records for 
permanent storage with the State Archives (if required or 
requested); 

d. and the processing of disposal requests and 
destruction of agency records as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§107. Changes in Records Officer Designees 

A. Agencies wishing to change their agency's designee 
before their designation period has expired, must notify the 
State Archivist within 30 days of such a change by 
completing form SS ARC 940 and noting "AMENDMENT" on 
top of the page. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 3. Retention Schedule Development 
§301. Definitions 

A. Unless otherwise defined in this Chapter, the 
definitions for key terms in this chapter are provided in R.S. 
44:402. 

Approved Retention ScheduleCa retention schedule 
which has been approved by the state archivist or his 
designee. 

Records SeriesCa group of related or similar records, 
regardless of medium, that may filed together as a unit, used 
in a similar manner, and typically are evaluated as a unit for 
determining retention periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§303. Records Inventory 

A. To facilitate the development of agency retention 
schedules in compliance with R.S. 44:411, each agency 
shall: 

1. review the functions and activities of their agency; 
2. develop a list of records produced, received and 

maintained by the agency; 
3. identify the inclusive dates, the medium and 

volume of records maintained for each record series held by 
the agency. This provision may be facilitated by agencies 
completing a records Management Inventory Form (SS ARC 
960) for each record series to document their decision 
process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§305. Writing the Retention Schedule 

A. Each agency shall submit a draft retention schedule to 
the State Archives for review and approval. In developing 
the draft, each agency will: 

1. conduct adequate research to determine the length 
of time each record series needs to be maintained based on 
their administrative, legal, fiscal, and any 
historical/informational value. Legal citations should be 
included if statutes or rules exist, on either the state or 
federal level, the retention of certain records series; 

2. develop specific retention and disposition 
instructions for each records series, including transference of 
inactive records to an appropriate records storage facility, the 
maintenance of long-term or permanent records within the 
agency, and/or transfer of custody of permanent records to 
the State Archives control. 

3. develop a draft retention schedule, using form 
number SS ARC 932, providing a brief description of the 
records series, suggested retention periods for each records 
series, recommended disposition instructions for non-
permanent records, a notation for any records series that 
contains confidential information at the time of its creation 
in the remarks section and any citations used to formulate 
the retention value, if applicable. In the event that a subset of 
records are "declared" confidential due to pending 
investigation or similar event, a list of the records series 
involved should be transmitted to the State Archives within 
30 days of the declaration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§307. Retention Schedule Maintenance 

A. Each agency shall review its retention schedule 
annually to identify any record series requiring an addition, 
amendment or deletion to the agency's approved schedule. 
Each agency shall submit an amended SS ARC 932 noting 
any changes to its existing retention schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§309. Retention Schedule Renewal 

A. An agency schedule, once approved by the State 
Archives will be valid for five years from the date of 
approval. Ninety days prior to the five year anniversary of a 
schedule's approval, each agency shall submit their schedule 
for renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 5. Storage of Records in State Records 

Center 
§501. Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter the following 
definitions apply. 

Approved Records Center BoxCa box that is 1.2 cubic 
feet in size, with dimensions of 15"x12"x10" and having no 
lids (fan fold tops only). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§503. Eligibility 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:408, the State Records 
Center may accept records from state agencies when they 
meet the following criteria. 

1. The records are scheduled on an approved Records 
Retention Schedule. 

2. The records belong to an office of the State 
Executive or Legislative branches of Louisiana government. 

3. The records are considered inactive (not from 
current operational year). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§505. Packing Instructions 

A. Each box containing eligible records (as listed above) 
must comply with the following requirements. 

1. The records are boxed in an approved records 
center box. 

2. The records in each box are from the same records 
series with the same retention value. 

3. The records should be packed in the same order as 
they are filed in the agency. 

4. Boxes should not contain mixed media (i.e., 
microfiche with paper records). 

5. Approximately 1 inch of space should be left in 
each box to facilitate retrieval. 

6. Records should not be placed on top of other 
records in the box. 

7. The approximate weight of each box should not 
exceed 35 pounds. 

8. Packing tape is discouraged. If utilized, it may only 
be used to reinforce the bottom of the box. 

9. To further protect the records in case of fire, 
agencies are strongly encouraged to pack their boxes with 
the records facing the long (15 inch) side of the box. If 
records being packed are letter-sized (8 1/2" x 11") the 
remaining space in the back of the box, may include 
additional records with the records facing the short side (12 
inch) end of the box. 

10. Boxes should not contain hanging file folders, three 
ring binders or binder clips. 

11. If boxes contain records in a media other than paper 
(i.e., microfilm, audio/video tapes), the media type should be 
noted on the transmittal within the description of contents 
section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§507. Labeling Instructions 

A. Each agency must assign a unique agency box 
number to each box to be transferred by affixing the number 
to the upper right hand corner of the narrow end of the box 
(the end of the box) and may include a brief descriptor for 
the records (i.e., 1997, FY2002, A-F, #1001-2500, etc.) to 
the left of the agency box number. This box number (and 
descriptor) must correspond to an entry made on the 
agency's transmittal forms submitted for the box. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§509. Disposal Date Cycles 

A. Records stored in the State Records Center must be 
assigned one of two disposal cycles. Assignment should be 
made based on the following criteria: 

1. July Cycle. Records that are retained based on 
fiscal year retention periods or meet their retention period 
between January 1 and June 30 during a given year. 

2. January Cycle. Records that are retained based on 
calendar year retention periods or meet their retention period 
between July 1 and December 31 during a given year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§511. Records Transmittal 

A. Prior to the delivery of records to the State Records 
Center for storage, an agency must provide the Records 
Center with completed Records Transmittal and Receipt 
forms (SS ARC 103), which will serve as an inventory 
sufficiently detailed to enable the Records Center to retrieve 
any record needed by the agency for reference. 

1. A separate transmittal form (SS ARC 103) should 
be completed for each disposal date (i.e., January or July of 
a given year). 

2. For each box, the agency should include the 
minimum information on their transmittal forms: 

a. agency box number; 
b. beginning and ending dates for the records in the 

box;  
c. a brief meaningful description of the contents of 

the box (i.e., Employees A -E, Batch 151-210); 
d. a notation if the records are on a media other than 

paper; 
e. a notation if any of the records contain 

confidential information. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§513. Arranging Transfer 

A. After completing the transmittal forms for the boxes 
to be stored at the State Records Center, the agency shall 
mail or fax the transmittals to the State Records Center at 
least two weeks prior to the date of transfer the agency is 
requesting. The State Records Center will contact the 
agency's records officer to finalize the delivery date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§515. Delivery of Records  

A. In general, delivery dates will be set on a first come, 
first serve basis. The State Records Center reserves the right 
to postpone or rearrange delivery dates or accept records of 
an agency in special circumstances or emergency situations, 
if the State Records Center staff or the Records Management 
Officer Statewide determine such an action is necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 

§517. Ownership and Access 
A. Records stored at the State Records Center remain 

property of the agency depositing them at the State Records 
Center. Only the depositing agency's designated employees 
and to a limited extent, State Records Center personnel will 
be provided access to records stored in the State Records 
Center. Any requests to see an agency's records from non-
authorized parties will be forwarded to the agency for 
written approval. A written approval must include the name 
of the person, the Records Center box number for the 
records being requested and the signature of the agency's 
records officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§519. Requesting Stored Records  

A. An agency may request access to or check out their 
agency's records by following the following procedures. 

1. The agency must contact the State Records Center 
by either mail, fax, phone or e-mail requesting access to or 
checking out a file(s) or box(es) by listing the Records 
Center box number for the boxes being requested and 
providing the file name(s) if particular files are being 
requested. 

2. Requests will be processed on a first-come, first-
served basis. In the event that an agency has a true 
emergency, the State Records Center will try to 
accommodate a request for expedited service. 

3. The State Records Center will contact the agency's 
Records Officer when the records in question are ready for 
review or pick-up. Upon arrival to the State Records Center, 
agency personnel will be required to show proper 
identification before access to the records will be granted. 

4. Records being checked out from the State Records 
Center requires a signed check out invoice by the employee 
checking out the records. 

5. Once the agency checks out a record, the 
responsibility to return the record to the State Records 
Center belongs to the agency.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§521. Disposal of Records  

A. Twice a year the State Records Center will generate 
disposal requests for agency records that have met their 
retention periods. Such disposal requests will be forwarded 
to the agency records officer for agency disposal approval. 
The agency will have 45 days to respond to the request. The 
State Records Center reserves the right to return to the 
agency any records listed on the disposal request after the 
allotted 45 days has lapsed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§523. Agency Disposal Approval 

A. Once the agency receives the disposal request, the 
agency records officer must ascertain if any of the records 
listed on the request require further retention or are required 
for pending or on-going litigation. The records officer 
should consult with the agency's legal counsel if there are 
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any legal holds that require the records being retained for a 
longer duration. 

1. If the records are not needed for any legal or 
administrative need, the agency records management officer 
shall sign the statement indicating that in consultation with 
the agency's legal counsel the records are no longer needed 
by the agency and may be destroyed. 

2. If any record is still required by the agency, they 
may designate the records to be retained by noting the new 
disposal date requested and the reason for the extended 
retention. The agency may request the records be transferred 
back to their custody if they do not wish the records to 
remain in the State Records Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§525. Archival Review 

A. Prior to the destruction of any records in the State 
Records Center, the State Archives will review each disposal 
request for possible archival records. In the event that the 
State Archives wishes to retain some records for archival 
review, the State Archives will notify the agency which 
agency records they are transferring to the Archives 
acquisition section for processing. Once transferred to the 
State Archives the ownership of the record will transfer from 
the agency to the State Archives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Transferring Records for Inclusion in 

Archives Collection 
§701. General 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, agency shall secure 
written approval from the state archivist (or his designee) 
prior to the disposing of any records of the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§703. Eligibility 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:401, the State Archives 
may accept records from state agencies according to the 
following criteria: 

1. the records are scheduled on an approved Records 
Retention Schedule; 

2. the records have been determined to be of historical 
value or mandated by law to be kept as permanent records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§705. Packing Instructions 

A. For records that easily fit into archive box, each box 
containing eligible records as listed in §703 must comply 
with the following requirements. 

1. The records are boxed in an approved archival box. 
2. The records in each box are from the same records 

series with the same retention value. 
3. The records should be packed in the same order as 

they are filed in the agency. 
4. Boxes should not contain mixed media (i.e., 

microfiche with paper records). 

5. The approximate weight of each box should not 
exceed 35 pounds. 

6. Taping of printed descriptions to the box and use of 
packing tape is prohibited. 

7. To further protect the records in case of fire, 
agencies are strongly encouraged to pack their boxes with 
the records facing the long (15 inch) side of the box. If 
records being packed are letter-sized (8 1/2" x 11") the 
remaining space in the back of the box, may include 
additional records with the records facing the short side (12 
inch) end of the box. 

8. Boxes should not contain hanging file folders, three 
ring binders or binder clips; 

9. If boxes contain records in a media other than paper 
(i.e., microfilm, audio/video tapes), the media type should be 
noted on the transmittal within the description of contents 
section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§707. Non-Standard Sized Packing Instructions 

A. Prior to sending records that exc eed 8 1/2" x 14", the 
submitting agency should contact the Archives Acquisitions 
Section for further instructions on how to pack such records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§709. Labeling Instructions 

A. For boxes donated or sent to the State Archives for 
permanent storage: 

1. the agency must assign a unique agency number to 
each box to be transferred by affixing the number ONE of 
the long sides of the box;  

2. a brief descriptor for the records (i.e., Dept of State, 
Correspondence 6/1/00C12/31/00; Bd of EthicsCCampaign 
Finance Reports #98-04 through #98-100) under the box 
number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§711. Archives Transmittal Form Required 

A. Prior to the delivery to the State Archives, the 
submitting agency must provide completed Archives 
Transmittal Forms, which will serve as an inventory, 
sufficiently detailed, to enable Archives staff to retrieve 
records as they are needed. 

1. Each transmittal form, the agency shall include: 
a. name and address of agency; 
b. the records officer name and official title within 

the agency; 
c. contact information (phone and e-mail address) 

for the records officer; 
d. any restrictions that exist for the records included 

on the particular form;  
e. the total number of boxes/items to be transferred; 
f. signature of transmitting records officer and date 

signed by officer; 
g. page number and total number of pages of 

transmittal (i.e., Page 1 of 5). 
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2. For each box or item, agency shall include on the 
transmittal: 

a. title of records series as it appears on the agency's 
approved retention schedule; 

b. more that one box may be listed on an Archival 
Transmittal Form. 

3. Submission and the acceptance of an Archives 
Transmittal Form from an agency or donor by the State 
Archives constitutes an Act of Donation to the State 
Archives by the agency or donor, and transfers all rights and 
ownership of the records to the State Archives.  

4. The State Archives will return a signed copy of the 
Archival Transmittal form signed by the receiving archivist 
after the transmittal has been processed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§713. Arranging Transfer 

A. After completing the Archival Transmittal forms for 
the items to be transferred to the State Archives, the agency 
or donor shall transmit the forms at least one week prior to 
the date of transfer requested by the agency or donor. The 
State Archives, after reviewing the forms, will contact the 
agency's or donor's contact listed on the transmittal to 
finalize the delivery date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§715. Delivery of Records  

A. In general, delivery dates will be set on a first-come, 
first-served basis. The State Archives reserves the right to 
postpone or rearrange delivery dates or accept records of an 
agency in special circumstances or emergency situations, if 
the Archives staff or Records Management Officer Statewide 
determine such an action is necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§717. Long Term Records Storage 

A. Records transferred to the State Archives for 
permanent or long-term storage remain property of the 
agency depositing them with the State Archives. Only the 
depositing agency's designated employees and to a limited 
extent, Archives staff, will be provided access to records 
stored with the State Archives. Any requests to see an 
agency's records from non-authorized parties (including 
public records requests) will be forwarded to the owner 
agency for written approval. Written approval must include 
the name of the person authorizing the access, the person 
access is being granted and the archives storage box 
number(s) in which the record(s) are located. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§719. Requesting Stored Records  

A. An agency may request access to or check out their 
agency's records by following the following procedures. 

1. The agency must contact the State Archives by 
either mail, fax, phone or e-mail requesting access to or 
checking out a file(s) or box(es) by listing the agency box 

number for the boxe s being requested and providing the file 
name(s) if particular files are being requested. 

2. Requests will be processed on a first-come, first-
served basis. In the event that an agency has a true 
emergency, the State Archives will try to accommodate a 
request for expedited service. 

3. The State Archives will contact the agency's records 
officer when the records in question are ready for review or 
pick-up. Upon arrival to the State Archives, agency 
personnel will be required to show proper identification 
before access to the records will be granted. 

4. Records being checked out from the State Records 
Center require a signed check out invoice by the employee 
checking out the records. 

5. Once the agency checks out a record, the 
responsibility to return the record to the State Archives 
belongs to the agency.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 9. Destruction of Public Records  
§901. General 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, agency shall secure 
written approval from the State Archivist (or his designee) 
prior to the disposing of any records of the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§903. Scheduled Records  

A. Agencies wishing to dispose of records listed on their 
agency's approved retention schedule shall submit to the 
State Archivist or his designee, Form SS ARC 930 (Request 
for Authority to Dispose of Records). Form SS ARC 930 
must have the signature of either the agency's: 

1. records officer as designated in LAC 4:XVII, 
Chapter 1; or 

2. the chief executive officer; o r 
3. the general counsel for the agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§905. Non-Scheduled Records  

A. Agencies wishing to dispose of records not listed on 
their agency's approved retention schedule shall submit to 
the State Archivist or his designee, Form SS ARC 930 
(Request for Authority to Dispose of Records) and a 
completed Records Management Inventory Form for each 
non-scheduled series listed on the disposal request. Form SS 
ARC 930 must have the signature of either the agency's: 

1. records officer as designated in LAC 4:XVII, 
Chapter 1; or 

2. the chief executive officer; or 
3. the general counsel for the agency 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§907. Destruction Authorization 

A. Once a disposal request has been received by the State 
Archivist (or his designee), the agency will be notified 
within 30 days of receipt that: 
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1. their disposal request has been approved; 
2. their disposal request has been denied along with an 

explanation why approval was not granted; 
3. their disposal request contains records that should 

be transferred to the State Archives for possible inclusion in 
the State Archives; or 

4. their disposal request requires more research and 
requires an additional 30 days to issue a response to the 
request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§909. Legal Hold Policy 

A. Each agency is required to develop and implement an 
internal process for placing legal holds on records that are 
involved in state or federal investigations and/or litigation. 
Agencies should submit their policy within 30 days of 
creation to the State Archives. The policy should address: 

1. the agency's internal disposal approval process; 
2. which employees are notified of a legal hold, when 

they are told and how they are told; 
3. who is responsible for contacting possible third 

party vendors who may house records or data covered under 
a legal hold; 

4. what steps should be taken by notified employees 
to safeguard records or data covered under a legal hold; 

5. the agency’s legal hold forms (including file level 
notice sheets) and instructions for any legal hold 
form/release forms created by the agency to implement the 
plan; 

6. who within the agency has legal authority to lift the 
legal hold once the litigation or investigation has concluded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§911. Disposal Methods  

A. Once approval for disposal has been granted, an 
agency should dispose of the agency records in a manner 
acceptable to the level of confidentiality the record requires. 

1. If a records series contains no information 
considered confidential in nature, an agency may use any 
acceptable disposal method including: 

a. landfill; 
b. recycling; 
c. shredding; 
d. incineration; 
e. maceration; 
f. pulverization. 

2. If a records series contains information considered 
confidential in nature, an agency may use any of the 
following disposal methods: 

a. shredding; 
b. incineration; 
c. maceration; 
d. pulverization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 

§913. Certificate of Destruction 
A. Agencies shall document the destruction of their 

records by maintaining a Certificate of Destruction for all 
records requiring destruction approval from the State 
Archives. Such Destruction Certificate shall consist of 
either: 

1. the current State Archives Certificate of Destruction 
form (SS ARC 933) along with the approved destruction 
request from the State Archives; or 

2. an equivalent document that records the date the 
records were destroyed, the method of destruction, the 
approved authority to dispose of records form and the 
signature of at least one witness to the destruction or 
removal of the records. In the event that a recycling 
company is used for destruction, the date the records are 
transferred to the recycler for destruction will constitute the 
destruction date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 13. Electronic Records  
Subchapter A. Agency Responsibilities 
§1301. Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter the following 
definitions apply. 

Electronic Mail (E-mail)Ca system that enables an 
agency to compose, transmit, receive and manage text and/or 
graphic electronic messages and images across networks and 
through gateways connecting other local area networks. 

Long-Term RecordCa record with a total retention 
requirement of over 10 years but less than permanent. 

PermanentCa record with a total retention of life of the 
agency and/or the state and intended to be maintained in 
perpetuity. 

Short-Term RecordCa record with a total retention 
requirement of 10 years of less. 

State RecordCa record as defined by R.S. 44:402. 
TransitoryCtransitory records are records that have 

limited or no administrative value to the agency and are not 
essential to the fulfillment of statutory obligations or to the 
documentation of agency functions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1303. General 

A. The head of each agency must ensure: 
1. that a program is established for the management of 

state records created, received, retained, used, transmitted, or 
disposed of on electronic media; 

2. that the management of electronic state records are 
integrated with other records and information management 
records management programs of the agency; 

3. that electronic records management objectives, 
responsibilities and authorities are incorporated into 
pertinent agency directives and policies; 

4. that procedures are established for addressing 
records management requirements, including, retention, 
access and disposition requirements; 
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5. that training is provided for users of electronic 
records systems, in the operation, care, and handling of the 
information, equipment, software and media used in the 
systems; 

6. that documentation is developed and maintained 
about all electronic state records in a manner adequate for 
retaining, reading, or processing the records and ensuring 
their timely, authorized disposition; and 

7. that a security program for electronic state records 
is established. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Subchapter B. State Archives Imaging Policy 
§1305. Imaging System Survey; Compliance 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:413, each state agency 
shall complete a State Archives Imaging Survey and provide 
any amendments to their survey in a timely manner when 
original information provided is no longer accurate. 

1. Survey Information. Each agency shall provide the 
following information to the State Archives: 

a. a listing of all records series maintained/managed 
by the system being surveyed; 

b. the hardware and software being used (including 
model and version numbers) including total storage capacity; 

c. the type and density of media being used by the 
system (magnetic, WORM, etc.);  

d. the type and resolution of images being produced 
(TIFF class 3 or 4, and dpi); 

e. the agency's quality control procedures for image 
production and maintenance; 

f. the agency's back up procedures for the system 
and where (on-site, off-site) and how many sets of images 
exist; 

g. the agency's migration plan for purging images 
from the system that have met their retention period. 

2. Initial Su rvey Implementation. Any agency with an 
imaging system in operation before June 1, 2003 shall 
submit their survey response to the State Archives by no 
later than July 31, 2003. 

3. New Systems. In addition to completing the 
Imaging System Survey, any agency implementing an 
imaging system on or after June 1, 2003, must contact the 
State Archives prior to implementation to ensure that a 
retention schedule, approved by the State Archives, is in 
place and that the system can comply with their schedule’s 
requirements. 

4. Amending Imaging Survey Response. In the event 
that any changes in the initial information providing on an 
agency's Imaging Survey response, the agency shall submit 
an amendment to their survey response within 90 days of the 
change occurring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1307. Acceptable Means of Records Preservation 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:410, electronic digitizing 
(imaging) is an acceptable means for records preservation 
for the maintenance of short-term state records, as defined in 
LAC 4:XVII.1301. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1309. Short-Term Records  

A. Agencies utilizing imaging for the creation and 
maintenance of short term records, may use imaging without 
maintaining the original or a microfilm copy of the original 
provided that: 

1. the records series has been included on the agency’s 
retention schedule submitted to and approved by the State 
Archivist or his designee; 

2. a quality control inspection of the images is 
conducted prior to the destruction of the original source 
documents to ensure the visibility and accessibility; 

3. the proper approval has been secured from the State 
Archives prior to the destruction of the original source 
documents; 

4. the records series maintained on imaging systems 
are stored in such a manner as to comply with the retention 
requirements (like retentions on the same optical disk or 
subdirectory). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29: 
§1311. Long-Term and Permanent Records  

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:410, agencies utilizing 
imaging for the creation and maintenance of long term 
and/or archival records, may use imaging for administrative 
purposes provided that for preservation purposes the agency 
either: 

1. maintain the original source documents for the 
retention period listed on the agency’s retention schedule; or 

2. produce a microfilm back up of the records and 
store the microfilm with the State Archives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29: 
Subchapter C. Electronic Mail (E-mail) Guidelines 
§1321. Series Retention of E-mail 

A. E-mail should be retained based on content not on 
media type or storage limitations. Agencies should not 
encourage employees to unilaterally discard E-mail because 
of artificial limits on E-mail box capacities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29: 
§1323. E-Mail is Not a Records Series 

A. E-mail should not be treated as a single record series 
for retention scheduling purposes. E-mail should be 
incorporated into existing records series maintained by an 
agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29: 
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§1325. Types of E-Mail 
A. There are two broad categories of E-mail: record and 

non-record, based on their administrative and retention 
requirements. 

1. Transitory. Transitory records are records that have 
limited or no administrative value to the agency and are not 
essential to the fulfillment of statutory obligations or to the 
documentation of agency functions. 

a. Examples. Transitory information can include the 
following: unsolicited and junk e-mails not related to agency 
work, listserv and other e-mail broadcast lists that require 
subscription (including newspapers), reminders for meetings 
and events (i.e. cake in the conference room, staff meeting 
moved from 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.), personal non-work related e-
mails received by employees. 

b. Retention. There is no retention requirement for 
transitory messages. Public officials and employees 
receiving such communications may delete them 
immediately without obtaining approval from the State 
Archives. 

2. Record. Electronic mail records are records that 
have administrative value to the agency or are required to be 
maintained under state or federal law for a specified amount 
of time. 

a. Retention. The retention requirement for e-mail 
records must follow suit with records with similar content 
found in other media (i.e., paper, film, electronic image). In 
the event that the content of the message does not fit into an 
existing record series on an approved retention schedule, the 
e-mail should be maintained in a manner consistent with 
R.S. 44:36 and should added to the agency's approved 
retention schedule if the series is expected to remain active. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Office of the Secretary of State, Division of 
Archives, LR 29: 
§1327. Maintenance of Electronic Mail 

A. Records created using an e-mail system may be saved 
for their approved retention period by one of the following. 

1. Print message and file in appropriate hard copy file. 
2. Place in folders and save on personal network drive 

or C: drive. 
3. Save to removable disk (including CD-ROM). 3.5" 

disks are not recommended for retention periods of more 
than one year due to the instability of this medium. 

4. Transfer to an automated records management 
software application. 

5. Managed at the server by an automated 
classification system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1329. User Responsibilities 

A. It is the responsibility of the user of the e-mail 
system, to manage e-mail messages according to their 
agency's retention schedule. 

1. It is the responsibility of the sender of e-mail 
messages within the agency's e-mail system and recipients of 
messages from outside the agency to retain the messages for 
the approved retention period. 

2. Names of sender, recipient, date/time of the 
message, as well as any attachments must be retained with 
the message. Except for listserv mailing services, 
distribution lists must be able to identify the sender and 
recipient of the message. 

3. User responsibilities may be mitigated by the use of 
a server level automated classification system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1331. Agency Responsibilities 

A. Each agency should adopt and disseminate to their 
employees an agency Electronic Mail (E-mail) Proper Use 
Policy. The policy should include: 

1. defining official use and set limits on personal use 
of electronic messaging (similar to limitations that exist for 
telephone, fax, and personal mail);  

2. prohibiting the use of electronic messaging system 
to promote the discrimination (on the basis or race, color, 
national origin, age, martial status, sex, political affiliation, 
religion, disability or sexual preference), promotion of 
sexual harassment, or to promote personal, political, or 
religious business or beliefs; 

3. prohibiting employees from sending electronic 
messages under another employee's name without 
authorization; 

4. prohibiting the altering of electronic messages, 
including any attachments; 

5. agency process for storing and maintaining 
electronic messages for the duration of the message's 
retention period; 

6. notice that users of an agency's electronic 
messaging system should not expect a right of privacy and 
that electronic messages may be monitored for compliance 
and abuse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1333. Use of Records Management Application (RMA) 

Software 
A. Agencies may use records management application 

(RMA) software to manage records in digital form. RMA 
software categorizes and locates records and identifies 
records that are due for disposition. RMA software also 
stores, retrieves, and disposes of the electronic records that 
are stored in its repository. Agencies should use RMA 
software that complies with DoD 5015.2-STD, "Design 
Criteria Standard for Electronic Records Management 
Software Applications," as issued by the U.S. Department of 
Defense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
Chapter 15. Microfilm Policy 
§1501. General 

A. This policy applies to the microfilming of any agency 
record that is to be maintained solely in microfilm format 
and to all microfilm which is created or maintained for the 
full retention period of the record as a security copy of an 
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agency record. This policy does not apply to convenience 
film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1503. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this 
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. Terms not defined in these 
sections have the meanings defined in the R.S. 44:402. 

Aperture CardCcard with a rectangular opening(s) into 
which 16mm/35mm microfilm frames can be inserted, 
mounted, or pre-mounted. 

BatchCa quantity of chemicals or film which has been 
prepared at one time, and which has been identified through 
labeling or through other means by the manufacturer as a 
batch or lot. 

CAD (Computer Assisted Design)Ca method of creating 
microimages by computer-driven laser. 

Convenience FilmCmicrofilm copies of records created 
only for convenience of use and considered non records 
under R.S. 44:1. 

Declaration by the Camera OperatorCA target 
photographed on film following the filmed records that 
provides identification of beginning and ending records on 
the film; signature of the camera operator; date the 
declaration was filmed; and reduction range, if more than 
one ratio has been used. 

DiazoCa photographic film containing one or more 
photosensitive layers composed of diazonium salts in a 
polymeric material which react with coupler(s) to form an 
azo dye image after film processing. 

Duplicate MicrofilmCa microfilm copy made from the 
original or master negative. Can be silver, diazo or vesicular 
film. 

Essential RecordCany state record necessary to resume 
or continue a state agency's business; to recreate its legal and 
financial status; and to preserve the rights of the agency, its 
employees, and its clients. 

MicrofilmCroll microfilm, microfiche, computer output 
microfilm (COM), and all other formats produced by any 
method of microphotography or other means of 
miniaturization on film. 

Microfilm ContainerCgeneric term for any enclosure in 
close or direct contact with film such as a reel, can, bag, 
folder, sleeve (sheath), jacket, envelope, window mount or 
mat, slide mount, carton, cartridge, cassette, and aperture 
card. 

MicrofilmingCthe methods, procedures, and processes 
used to produce microfilm. 

Original MicrofilmCfirst generation of film produced 
when records are filmed. 

Silver OriginalCfirst generation silver-gelatin film or 
other archival quality film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1505. Access to Referenced Standards and Practices 

A. The copyrighted standards and recommended 
practices issued by the American National Standards 
Institute (ANSI) and/or the Association for Information and 

Image Management (AIIM) listed in this chapter are 
considered best practice and each agency should strive to 
meet their minimum requirements for all microfilming of 
state records. A copy of each of the standards mentioned in 
this rule will be on file upon adoption of this rule and 
available for public inspection by appointment, during 
regular working hours at the Louisiana State Archives 
Building, 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. The 
standards are distributed by and available from the 
Association for Information and Image Management 
(AIIM), Suite 1100, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 
20910-5699. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1507. Retention Schedule Compliance 

A. Microfilming of records must be in compliance with 
an approved agency retention schedule except, if an agency 
does not have an approved retention schedule, a 
microfilming needs assessment must be completed by the 
State Archives to determine if filming is justified. 

1. For microfilm maintained as roll film, no more than 
one record series is permitted on each roll of microfilm. 

2. Original records that have been microfilmed may 
be destroyed or source documents that have been filmed 
prior to the expiration of their retention periods if the 
microfilm complies with this policy and in accordance with 
R.S. 44:36 and R.S. 44:39. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1509. Use of Original Microfilm 

A. After the completion of production tests and quality 
inspection, original microfilm must not be unwound and 
used for any purpose except: 

1. to produce duplicate copies of the film;  
2. to carry out periodic inspection of stored original 

film;  
3. to expunge records required by law; 
4. to destroy records when retention period has been 

met. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1511. Annual Report Requirement 

A. All state agency microfilm produced in house by a 
state agency or by an outside vendor shall make an annual 
report to the State Archives in the form of letter or report and 
shall include: 

1. equipment used by agency or vendor; 
2. record series annually filmed by agency; 
3. total number of: 

a. 100' 16 mm reels; 
b. 215' 16 mm, reels; 
c. 35 mm reels; 
d. microfiche; 
e. jackets; 
f. aperture cards; 
g. images filmed; 
h. duplicate reels produced. 
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4. the method(s) and/or vendor used to process agency 
microfilm;  

5. the location of the original film produced. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1513. State Centralized Microfilm Unit 

A. In accordance with R.S. 44:415, all state agencies 
shall contract with the State Archives for microfilming 
services. If the State Archives is unable to meet the agency's 
needs, the State Archives can grant permission for the 
agency to contract with a private vendor.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1515. Film Requirement 

A. Film with a polyester base must be used for records 
having a retention period of 10 years or more. Any film type 
may be used for records having a retention period of less 
than 10 years, provided the microfilmed record will last for 
the required retention period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1517. Film Production 

A. The records to be filmed must be arranged, identified, 
and indexed for filming so an individual document or series 
of documents can be located on the film. In instances where 
records are not self-indexing (i.e. not in a readily identifiable 
numeric or alphabetic sequence) an index must be 
maintained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1519. Image Marking 

A. Any use of image marking should comply with 
standard ANSI/AIIM MS8. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1521. Targets 

A. Whenever possible, targets must all face the same 
direction as the records being microfilmed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1523. Image Sequence 

A. Image sequence on roll microfilm must be at a 
minimum: 

1. leaders with a minimum of 3 feet (36 inches) of 
blank film;  

2. density target and resolution target;  
3. title page (including agency of record);  
4. records series identification page; 
5. records on film;  
6. declaration by camera operator;  
7. density target and resolution target;  

8. trailer with a minimum of 3 feet (36 inches) of 
blank film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1525. Retake Sequence 

A. Filming sequence for retakes and additions on all 
microfilm must be: 

1. title target identifying the retake or addition 
records; 

2. the retake or addition records; and 
3. declaration of the camera operator.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1527. Splices 

A. Retakes and additions can be spliced either before the 
density and resolution targets at the beginning of the film or 
after the density and resolution targets at the end of the film. 
Retakes and additions can be on another roll of film if cross-
indexed to the original roll on the title target and the 
container label of the retake. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1529. Inspection 

A. Original processed microfilm must be visually 
inspected according to the following procedures. 

1. A visual inspection of microfilm within two weeks 
of creation must be completed to verify legibility. 

2. Film of essential records or records having a 
retention period of 10 years or more must be inspected 
image by image. 

3. Film of non-essential records having a retention 
period of less than 10 years must be inspected at least every 
10 feet of each roll or every third microfiche. 

4. Images of documents must be uniformly placed on 
the film and must be free of any defects in the filming area 
that would interfere with the documents being read. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1531. Cameras and Ancillary Equipment 

A. It is recommended that camera equipment be 
calibrated, tested, or otherwise inspected and adjusted at 
least twice annually or more often if  required to comply with 
manufacturer's specifications or recommended operating and 
maintenance procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1533. Storage of Original Microfilm 

A. Original film should be stored in a separate building 
from where duplicate copies or the original record are 
housed. In addition, films of different generic types, such as 
silver-gelatin, diazo, and vesicular films, should not be 
stored in the same storage room/vault or in rooms sharing 
common ventilation. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1535. Storage of Original Microfilm at State Archives 

A. Original film of original records at the State Archives 
must be placed in an Archives vault on a different floor than 
the original records or duplicate film. Films of different 
generic types, should not be stored in the same vault. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1537. Storage Environment 

A. Original microfilm must be stored in a storage room 
or vault that: 

1. offers protection from fire, water, steam, structural 
collapse, unauthorized access, and other potential hazards; 

2. is equipped with a fire alarm and fire suppression 
system;  

3. has adequate temperature and humidity controls: 
a. for original film of records with a retention of 10 

years or more, temperature must not exceed 72 degrees 
Fahrenheit, and a constant relative humidity of 45 percent 
must be maintained with a maximum variation of plus/minus 
5.0 percent relative humidity in a 24-hour period; 

b. for original film of records with a retention 
period of 10 years or less, the maximum temperature must 
not exceed 77 degrees Fahrenheit, and a relative humidity 
range between 20 percent and 60 percent must be maintained 
with a maximum variation of plus/minus 5.0 percent relative 
humidity in a 24-hour period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1539. Containers and Storage Housing 

A. Storage housing materials must be noncombustible 
and non-corrosive. Microfilm containers for original 
microfilm must: 

1. be used for processed microfilm to protect the film 
and facilitate identification and handling. 

2. be chemically stable materials such as non-
corrodible metals (anodized aluminum or stainless steel), 
peroxide-free plastics, and acid-free paper to ensure no 
degradation is  caused to the images. 

3. stored in a closed housing or may be stored on open 
shelves or racks if the film is in closed containers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1341. Container Labels 

A. Labels must include: 
1. whether the film is original microfilm or a 

duplicate, including generation number if known;  
2. identification number; 
3. name of agency; 
4. records series title; 
5. inclusive dates of records; 
6. the beginning and ending records; and 
7. retakes/additions, if applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1541. Inspection of Stored Original Microfilm 

A. Inspection of stored original microfilm may be 
conducted in accordance with the following standards: 

1. ANSI IT9.11; 
2. ANSI/AIIM MS45; and 
3. ANSI/NAPM IT9.1. 

B. When inspection is done, the sample of microfilm to 
be inspected for each storage room or vault, if more than 
one, must be 1/1000th of the total volume of stored 
microfilm or at least 100 microforms (rolls, jackets, 
microfiche, aperture cards, COM, etc.), whichever is greater. 
Sampling procedures must be established that will assure 
that all parts of the group of microfilm are represented. 

C. Inspection must be conducted every five years. 
Microfilm that has been stored under temperature and/or 
humidity conditions other than those specified in this policy 
must be inspected every two years. 

D. Containers used to store the film must be inspected 
for evidence of rust, corrosion, or other deterioration and 
replaced, if needed.  

E. Original microfilm must be inspected on a light box 
with rewinds or comparable equipment which will not 
scratch the film.  

F. If deterioration is found, a more extensive inspection 
must be conducted to locate all deteriorating film. 

G. Any deteriorating film must immediately be removed 
from the storage area and the problem corrected before 
returning the film to storage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1543. Computer Output Microfilm (COM) 

A. All policies for COM are the same as other microfilm 
formats, except: 

1. The COM original must be wet processed silver-
gelatin film for essential records and records with a retention 
of 10 years or more.  

2. The following standards for production, testing, and 
inspection of COM are recommended: 

a. ANSI/AIIM MS1; 
b. ANSI/AIIM MS5; 
c. ANSI/AIIM MS28; 
d. ANSI/AIIM MS39; 
e. ANSI/AIIM MS43; and 
f. ANSI/NAPM IT9.17. 

B. If bar coding is used, the procedures in technical 
report AIIM TR12 should be followed. 

C. The COM original must be visually inspected every 
10 feet. 

D. Eye-legible titling information must include the 
following:  

1. name of agency; 
2. records series title; 
3. date(s) of records; and 
4. starting and/or ending indexing information. 

E. A reduction ratio not exceeding 48:1 must be used. 
F. Adherence image sequence for filming, mentioned in 

this policy is not required. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1545. Jacketing 

A. All policies for jacketed microfilm are the same as 
other microfilm formats, except: 

1. original microfilm may be placed in a jacket, if 
there is a security copy stored in the same fashion as original 
microfilm;  

2. jacket header information should include a record 
identifier (name, number). If no security copy exists, the 
following must be included in the jacket header information: 

a. name of agency;  
b. records series title;  
c. date(s) of records; and  
d. starting and/or ending indexing information. 

B. Header information must be created with a black 
carbon-type ribbon or ink that will not bleed, spread, or 
transfer. 

C. Microfilm jackets should comply with ANSI/AIIM 
MS11. 

D. The procedures in AIIM TR11 are recommended for 
the jacketing of film. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1547. Aperture Card/CAD Systems  

A. Film produced by aperture card/CAD systems are the 
same as other microfilm formats, except: 

1. original microfilm and enclosure should pass the 
photographic activity test criteria outlined in the standard 
ANSI IT9.2; 

2. a density test and a resolution test must be 
conducted on a sample of original microfilm at a minimum 
of once every 250 cards or every 1,000 images, whichever is 
greater; 

3. aperture cards must have the following information 
on label headings: 

a. name of agency; 
b. records series title; 
c. date(s) of records; and 
d. unique identifier. 

B. Adherence image sequence for filming, mentioned in 
this policy is not required. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1549. Expungements 

A. Such action must comply with statutory law. 
1. If roll film is spliced, the following information 

must be inserted in place of the expunged record(s): 
a. a start of expungement target; 
b. replacement documents for documents that were 

expunged (if necessary);  
c. an expungement certificate containing the 

following information: 
d. the number of the district court ordering the 

expungement; 

e. the signature, printed name, and title of the 
custodian of expunged records; 

f. the date of expungement. 
B. Images on film must not be expunged by punching 

holes through film, by using opaque, by blotting images with 
ink-type pen, or by using chemical means such as potassium 
dichromate (bleach) on film emulsion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1551. Destruction of Microfilmed Records  

A. Microfilmed records must be destroyed only in 
accordance with R.S. 44:411(A)(2). Microfilmed records 
scheduled for destruction must be disposed of in a manner 
that ensures protection for any sensitive or confidential 
information. Destruction of records on a roll of microfilm 
containing multiple record series must be done by destroying 
the whole roll of film at the time the records on the film that 
have the longest retention period are eligible for destruction 
or, if filmed prior to the effective date of these standards, by 
deleting the section of the film containing records eligible 
for destruction and splicing the film. If the film is spliced, a 
destruction notice containing the following information must 
be inserted in place of the deleted records: 

1. the record series title and the inclusive dates of the 
records; 

2. the signature and printed name of the agency 
records management officer (RMO) approving deletion of 
the records; 

3. the date of the deletion. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

44:405. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 
§1553. Documentation and Record Keeping 

A. Microfilm Production 
1. Agency records management officer (RMO) must 

require documentation to be maintained that identifies titles 
of records filmed, dates records filmed, disposition of 
records after filming, dates film processed, disposition of 
film, reduction ratio used, records series contained on each 
microfilm, and equipment on which each microfilm was 
filmed and processed. The documentation must be retained 
until final disposition of all microfilm documented in the log 
or equivalent. 

B.1. The following information must be recorded for each 
inspection of stored microfilm: 

a. the quantity and identification of microfilm 
inspected; 

b. the condition of the microfilm, including 
description of any deterioration; 

c. any corrective action required; 
d. the date(s) of inspection and signed certification 

of inspector; and 
e. the date any corrective action was completed. 

2. The inspection log of stored microfilm must be 
maintained by year and within each year numerically 
according to microfilm identifier or number. 
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C. Agency microfilm programs must be reviewed yearly 
by the agency records management officer (RMO) for 
compliance with R.S. 44, Chapter 5, and this policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Office of the Secretary of State, Division of Archives, LR 29: 

Family Impact Statement 
These proposed Rules LAC 4:XVII (Chapters 1-15) 

should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
5. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through April 10, 2003 to Carrie Fager, State 
Archives/Records Management, P.O. Box 94125, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9125.  

 
W. Fox McKeithen 
Secretary of State 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Records Management Policies  

and Practices 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The anticipated increase or decrease in costs to implement 
the proposed action cannot be accurately calculated since our 
office does not have figures on what each state and local 
agency spends currently on their records and information 
management program. However, it is likely that some expenses 
in professional services and equipment charges could be 
incurred for agencies that have not complied with the 
provisions of R.S. 44. Once compliant, the savings realized 
would likely offset any required expenditures. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
W. Fox McKeithen Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary of State General Government Section Director 
0303#077 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003-2004 Resident Game Hunting Seasons 
(LAC 76:XIX.101 and 103) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to promulgate Rules and regulations 
governing the hunting of resident game birds and game 
quadrupeds. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§101. General 

A. The Resident Game Hunting Season, 2003-2004 
regulations are hereby adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission. A complete copy of the Regulation Pamphlet 
may be obtained from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), LR 
26:1506 (July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 
2002), LR 29:  
§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals 2003-2004 

A. Shooting Hours. One-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

B. Consult Regulation Pamphlet  for seasons or specific 
regulations on Wildlife Management Areas or specific 
localities. 

 

   Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession 
Limit 

Quail Nov. 15-Feb. 29 10 20 
Rabbit Oct. 4-Feb. 29  8 16 
Squirrel Oct. 4-Feb. 8  8 16 

Deer See Schedule 

1 antlered and  
1 antlerless  

(when legal on 
private lands) 

6/season 

 
C. Deer Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Archery Muzzleloader 
(All Either Sex) 

Still Hunt (No 
Dogs 

Allowed) 

With or 
Without 

Dogs 

1 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Jan. 19-Jan. 25 

Nov. 22-Dec.5 
Jan. 5-Jan.18 

Dec. 6-
Jan. 4 

2 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Oct. 25-Oct. 31 
Jan. 10-Jan. 16 Nov. 1-Dec. 5 Dec. 6-

Jan. 9 

3 Sept.13-
Jan.15 

Oct. 4-Oct.10 
Dec. 1-Dec. 5 

Oct.11-Nov.30 
Dec. 6-Dec.31   

4 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 8-Nov. 14 
Jan. 10-Jan. 18 Nov.15-Jan. 9   

5 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Jan. 10-Jan. 18 
Bucks Only 

Nov.22-
Nov.30   

6 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Nov. 15-Nov. 21 
Jan. 19-Jan. 25 Nov.22-Dec. 5 Dec. 6-

Jan.18 
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7 Oct. 1-
Jan. 31 

Oct. 11-Oct. 17  
Nov. 8-Nov. 14 

Oct.18-Nov. 7 
Nov.15-
Nov.30 

Dec. 1-
Dec.31 

8 Sept.13-
Jan. 15 

Oct. 4-Oct. 10 
Dec. 1-Dec. 5 Oct.11-Nov.30 Dec. 6-

Dec.31 

 
D. Modern Firearm Schedule (Either Sex Seasons) 
 

Parish Modern Firearm Either-Sex Days 
Acadia Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Allen Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Ascension Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Assumption Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Avoyelles Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Beauregard Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Bienville Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Bossier Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Caddo Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Calcasieu Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Caldwell Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Cameron Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-16, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Catahoula Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Claiborne Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Concordia Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21 
DeSoto Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
East Baton 
Rouge 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

East Carroll Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21, East of 
mainline Mississippi River Levee and south and east of La. 
877 from West Carroll Parish line to La. 580, south of La. 
580 to U.S. 65, west of U.S. 65 to Madison Parish line. 

  Nov. 15-16, 28-30 the remainder of the parish. 
East  
Feliciana 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

Evangeline Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Franklin  Nov. 22-23, 26-30 
Grant Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Iberia Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Iberville Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Jackson Nov. 1-3, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Jefferson Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
Jefferson 
Davis 

Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 
6-7 

Lafayette Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-23, 28-
30 

  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Lafourche Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
LaSalle Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Lincoln  Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Livingston Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Madison Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-21 

Parish Modern Firearm Either-Sex Days 
Morehouse Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 4: Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Natchitoches Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Orleans Closed to all deer hunting 
Ouachita Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 4: Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Plaquemines Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Pointe 
Coupee 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

Rapides Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 28-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7 
Red River Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Richland Nov. 15-16, 28-30 
Sabine Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Bernard Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Charles Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Helena Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. James Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. John Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Landry Area 3: Oct. 11-12, Nov. 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Martin  Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
St. Mary Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
St. Tammany Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Tangipahoa Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Tensas Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14, 20-22 
Terrebonne Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
  Area 7: Oct. 18-19, Nov. 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 
Union Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
Vermilion Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30 
Vernon Area 2: Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
  Area 3: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
  Area 8: Oct. 11-12, 18-19, 25-26, Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 22-30, Dec. 

6-7 
Washington Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Webster Nov. 1-9, 15-16, 22-30, Dec. 6-7 
West Baton 
Rouge 

Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

West Carroll Closed 
West  
Feliciana 

Area 1: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 

  Area 6: Nov. 22-23, 26-30, Dec. 6-7, 13-14 
Winn Nov. 1-2, 8-9, 15-16, 22-23, 28-30, Dec. 6-7 

 
E. Farm Raised White-tailed Deer on Supplemented 

Shooting Preserves 
 

Archery Modern Firearm  Either Sex 
Oct. 1-Jan. 31 
(Either Sex) 

Nov. 1-Jan. 31 Nov. 1-7 
Dec. 1-7 
Jan. 1-7 

 
F. Exotics on Supplemented Shooting Preserves: Either 

Sex, no closed season. 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), LR 26:1506 (July 
2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 29:  
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Family Impact Statement 
This Notice of Intent will have no impact on the six 

criteria set out at R.S. 49:972.B. 
Public hearings will be held at the following locations: 

Region 1CMarch 11, 7:00 p.m., Minden Civic Center, 
Minden, Louisiana; Region 2CMarch 19, 7 p.m., Ruston 
Civic Center, Ruston, Louisiana; Region 3CMarch 11, 7 
p.m., Alexandria City Hall Convention Center, Alexandria, 
Louisiana; Region 4CMarch 12, 7 p.m., Concordia Parish 
Community Center, Ferriday, Louisiana; Region 5CMarch 
13, 6 p.m., Burton Coliseum, Chalkley Room, Lake Charles, 
Louisiana; Region 6CMarch 19, 7 p.m., National Marine 
Fisheries Building, Suite 119, Lafayette, Louisiana; Region 
7CMarch 10, 7 p.m., Pontchatoula High School auditorium, 
Pontchatoula, Louisiana. Also comments will be accepted at 
regularly scheduled Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
Meetings from April through July. Interested persons may 
submit written comments relative to the proposed Rule until 
Wednesday, May 7, 2003 to Mr. Tommy Prickett, Wildlife 
Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, 
Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-9000. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  2003-2004 Resident Game  

Hunting Seasons 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. 
The cost of implementing the proposed Rules, aside from staff 
time, is the production of the regulations pamphlet. Cost of 
printing this 2002-2003 state hunting pamphlet was $124,163 
and no major increase in expenditures is anticipated. Local 
government units will not be impacted. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

State hunting license fee collections are between 9.0-10.0 
million dollars annually. Additionally, hunting and related 
activities generate approximately $25.3 million in state sales 
tax, $5.1 million in state income tax and $23 million in local 
sales tax revenues annually (IAFWA; Southwick Associates, 
2002). Failure to adopt Rule changes would result in no hunting 
season being established and a potential loss of some of these 
revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Over 300,000 hunters and numerous businesses that 
provide goods and services to hunters are directly affected by 
this proposal. Hunting in Louisiana generates in excess of 
$581,000,000 annually in retail sales of outdoor related 
equipment, associated items and trip related expenditures 
(IAFWA; Southwick Associates, 2002). Failure to adopt Rule 

changes would result in no hunting seasons being established 
and a potential loss of commerce revenues associated with 
these activities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting in Louisiana provides 9,184 jobs (IAFWA; 
Southwick Associates, 2002). Not establishing hunting seasons 
may have a negative and direct impact on these jobs. 

 
James L. Patton Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary General Government Section Director 
0303#092 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

General and Wildlife Management Area (WMA) Hunting 
(LAC 76:XIX.111) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to promulgate Rules and regulations 
governing the hunting of resident game birds and game 
quadrupeds. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 
A. Hunting Seasons and Wildlife Management Area 

Regulations 
1. The Rules and regulations contained within this 

digest have been officially approved and adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission under authority vested 
by Sections 115 and 116 of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and are in full force and effect in 
conjunction with all applicable statutory laws. The secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has the authority 
to close or alter seasons in emergency situations in order to 
protect fish and wildlife resources. 

2. Pursuant to Section 40.1 of Title 56 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission has adopted monetary values which 
are assigned to all illegally taken, possessed, injured or 
destroyed fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life. Anyone taking, possessing, injuring 
or destroying fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life shall be required to reimburse the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries a sum of money equal 
to the value of the wildlife illegally taken, possessed, injured 
or destroyed. This monetary reimbursement shall be in 
addition to any and all criminal penalties imposed for the 
illegal act. 

B. Resident Game Birds and Animals  
1. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to 

one-half hour after sunset. 
C. Other Season Dates 

1. Turkey. Please refer to separate pamphlet. 
2. Raccoon and Opossum. No closed season. Raccoon 

and opossum can be taken at night by one or more licensed 
hunters with one or more dogs and one .22 rimfire firearm. A 
licensed hunter may take raccoon or opossum with .22 
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rimfire rifle, .36 caliber or smaller muzzleloader rifle or 
shotgun during daylight hours during the open rabbit season. 
Hunting from boats or motor vehicles is prohibited. No bag 
limit for nighttime or daytime raccoon or opossum hunting 
during the open trapping season except on certain WMAs as 
listed. The remainder of the year, the raccoon and opossum 
bag limit for daytime or nighttime is one per person per day 
or night. No one who hunts raccoons or opossums as 
prescribed above shall pelt during the closed trapping season 
nor sell skins or carcasses of raccoons and opossums taken 
during the open trapping season unless he is the holder of a 
valid trapping license which shall be required in addition to 
his basic hunting license. Pelting or selling carcasses is 
illegal during closed trapping season. 

3. Nutria. On WMAs and private property nutria may 
be taken recreationally from September 1 through February 
29 during legal shooting hours by any legal hunting method 
with no limit except if taken with a shotgun, steel shot must 
be used. On WMAs during waterfowl seasons, nutria may be 
taken only with the use of shotguns with shot no larger than 
BB lead or F steel, and during gun deer seasons, anyone 
taking nutria must display 400 square inches of "hunter 
orange" and wear a "hunter orange" cap or hat. Pelting or 
selling of carcasses is illegal except when taken by a 
licensed trapper during the trapping season. Trespass upon 
private property without consent for the purpose of taking 
nutria is punishable by fines and possible jail time (R.S. 
56:265). 

4. Blackbirds and Crows. The season for crows shall 
be September 1 through January 2 with no limit; however 
crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles may be taken year 
round during legal shooting hours if they are depredating or 
about to depredate upon ornamentals or shade trees, 
agricultural crops, livestock, wildlife, or when concentrated 
in such numbers as to cause a health hazard. Louisiana has 
determined that the birds listed above are crop depredators 
and that crows have been implicated in the spread of the 
West Nile virus in humans. 

5. Pheasant. Closed. 
6. Falconry. Special permit required. Resident and 

migratory game species except turkeys may be taken. 
Seasons and bag limits are the same as for statewide and 
WMA regulations except squirrels may be taken by licensed 
falconers until the last day of February. Refer to LAC 
76:V.301 for specific Falconry Rules. 

7. Licensed Hunting Preserve. October 1-April 30. 
Pen-raised birds only. No limit entire season. Refer to LA C 
76:V.305 for specific Hunting Preserve Rules. 

8. Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP). 
Land enrolled in the voluntary program will be assessed a 
$25 registration fee and $0.05/acre fee. Deer management 
assistance tags must be in the possession of the hunter and 
attached and locked to antlerless deer (including those taken 
on either-sex days and those taken with bow or 
muzzleloader) through the hock in a manner that it cannot be 
removed before the deer is moved from the site of the kill. 
Failure to do so is a violation of R.S. 56:115. Failing to 
follow DMAP Rules and regulations may result in 
suspension and cancellation of the program on those lands 
involved. Refer to LAC 76:V.111 for specific DMAP Rules. 

9. Farm Raised White-Tailed Deer and Exotics on 
Licensed Supplemented Shooting Preserves 

a. Definitions 
  ExoticsCfor purposes of this Rule means any 
animal of the family Bovidae (except the Tribe Bovini 
[cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to Louisiana 
and which is confined on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve. 
Exotics shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red 
deer, elk, sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope. 
  HuntingCin its different tenses and for 
purposes of this Rule means to take or attempt to take, in 
accordance with R.S. 56:8. 
  Same as OutsideCfor purposes of this Rule 
means hunting on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve must 
conform to applicable statutes and Rules governing hunting 
and deer hunting, as provided for in Title 56 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission (LWFC). 
  Supplemented Hunting PreserveCfor purposes 
of this Rule means any enclosure for which a current Farm-
Raising License has been issued by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) with concurrence of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) and is 
authorized in writing by the LDAF and LDWF to permit 
hunting. 
  White-Tailed DeerCfor purposes of this Rule 
means any animal of the species Odocoileus virginianus 
which is confined on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve. 

b. Seasons 
 i. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Consult the 
regulations pamphlet. 
 ii. Exotics: year round. 

c. Methods of Take 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: Exotics may be taken with longbow 
(including compound bow) and arrow; shotguns not larger 
than 10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or rifled slug; handguns 
and rifles no smaller than .22 caliber centerfire; or 
muzzleloading rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, using 
black powder or an approved substitute only, and using ball 
or bullet projectile, including saboted bullets only. 

d. Shooting Hours 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

e. Bag Limit 
 i. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as 
outside. 
 ii. Exotics: No limit. 

f. Hunting Licenses 
 i. White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics: No person shall hunt any exotic 
without possessing a valid basic and big game hunting 
license. 

g. Tagging. White-Tailed Deer and Exotics: Each 
animal shall be tagged in the left ear or left antler 
immediately upon being killed and before being moved from 
the site of the kill with a tag provided by the LDAF. The tag 
shall remain with the carcass at all times. 

D. HuntingCGeneral Provisions 
1. A basic resident or non-resident hunting license is 

required of all persons to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
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transported by any other person any wild bird or quadruped. 
See information below for exceptions. 

2. All persons born on or after September 1, 1969 
must show proof of satisfactorily completing a Hunter 
Safety course approved by LDWF to purchase a Basic 
Hunting License, except any active or veteran member of the 
United States armed services or any POST-certified law 
enforcement officer. Application for the exemption shall be 
filed in person at the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
main office building in the city of Baton Rouge. A person 
younger than 16 years of age may hunt without such 
certificate if he is accompanied by, and is under the direct 
supervision of a person 18 years of age or older, except 
during a statewide youth deer hunt, the youth must have 
satisfactorily completed a Hunter Safety course approved by 
LDWF to participate. 

3. A big game license is required in addition to the 
basic hunting license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any deer or turkey. A separate wild turkey stamp 
is required in addition to the basic hunting license and the 
big game license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any turkey. 

4. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft or 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

5. Methods of Taking Resident Game Birds and 
Quadrupeds 

a. Use of a longbow (including compound bow) and 
arrow or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge fired from the 
shoulder without a rest shall be legal for taking all resident 
game birds and quadrupeds. Also, the use of a handgun, rifle 
and falconry (special permit required) shall be legal for 
taking all game species except turkey. It shall be illegal to 
hunt or take squirrels or rabbits at any time with a breech-
loaded rifle or handgun larger than a .22 caliber rimfire or a 
muzzleloader rifle larger than .36 caliber. During closed deer 
gun season, it shall be illegal to possess shotgun shells 
loaded with slugs or shot larger than BB lead or F steel shot 
while small game hunting. 

b. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still 
hunting season or area is designated, and will be strictly 
enforced. Shotguns larger than 10 gauge or capable of 
holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs 
used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed 
without disassembly. Refer to game schedules contained 
within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of 
firearms and other devices. 

6. Nuisance Animals. Landowners or their designees 
may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their 
property without a special permit. Water set traps and 
firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be 
removed by any means except that nutria cannot be taken by 
the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise. With a special permit issued by the department, 
beavers may be taken between one-half hour after official 
sunset to one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of 
three consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date 
of the permit. For specific details contact a regional office 
near you. Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot 

outside open trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A 
trapping license is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers 
or nutria taken during open trapping season. Squirrels found 
destroying commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-
round by permit issued by the department. This permit shall 
be valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. Contact the 
local regional office for details. 

7. Threatened and endangered speciesCLouisiana 
black bear, Louisiana pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher 
tortoise, ringed sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, 
peregrine falcon, whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping 
plover, interior least tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-
cockaded woodpecker, Bachman's warbler, West Indian 
manatee, Florida panther, pallid sturgeon, Gulf sturgeon, 
Attwater's greater prairie chicken, whales and red wolf. 
Taking or harassment of any of these species is a violation of 
state and federal laws. 

8. Unregulated Quadrupeds. Holders of a legal 
hunting license may take coyotes, unmarked hogs where 
legal, and armadillos year round during legal daylight 
shooting hours. The running of coyotes with dogs is 
prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey 
season. Coyote hunting is restricted to "chase only" during 
still hunting segments of the firearm and archery only season 
for deer. Foxes and bobcats are protected quadrupeds and 
may be taken only with traps by licensed trappers during the 
trapping season. Remainder of the year "chase only" allowed 
by licensed hunters. 

9. Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public 
Roads. Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game 
quadrupeds or game birds with a gun during open season 
while on a public highway or public road right-of-way is 
prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of firearms on roads or 
highways located on public levees or within 100 feet from 
the centerline of such levee roads or highways is prohibited. 
Spot lighting or shining from public roads is prohibited by 
state law. Hunting from all public roads and rights-of-way is 
prohibited and these provisions will be strictly enforced. 

10. Tags. Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided 
shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big 
game license number of the person killing the deer or wild 
turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be 
legibly written in pen or pencil, on any piece of paper or 
cardboard or any material, which is attached or secured to or 
enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer 
management assistance tags must be attached and locked 
through the hock of antlerless deer, (including those taken 
with bow, muzzleloader and those antlerless deer taken on 
either-sex days) in a manner that it cannot be removed, 
before the deer is moved from the site of the kill. 

11. Sex Identification. Positive evidence of sex 
identification, including the head, shall remain on any deer 
taken or killed within the State of Louisiana, or on all 
turkeys taken or killed during any special gobbler season 
when killing of turkey hens is prohibited, so long as such 
deer or turkey is kept in camp  or field, or is in route to the 
domicile of its possessor, or until such deer or turkey has 
been stored at the domicile of its possessor or divided at a 
cold storage facility and has become identifiable as food 
rather than as wild game. 

E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 
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1. One antlered and one antlerless (when legal on 
private lands) deer per day except on Wildlife Management 
Areas, Federal Refuges and National Forest Lands where the 
daily limit shall be one deer per day. Six per season (all 
segments included) by all methods of take. 

2. A legal buck is a deer with visible antler of 
hardened bony material, broken naturally through the skin. 
Killing bucks without at least one visible antler as described 
above and killing does is prohibited except where 
specifically allowed and except in West Baton Rouge and 
Pointe Coupee Parishes and that portion of Iberville Parish 
west of the Mississippi River (excluding the Sherburne 
Wildlife Management Complex and those private lands 
which are totally surrounded by the Sherburne Complex) 
where a legal buck shall be defined as a deer with at least six 
points or a deer with both spikes 3 inches long or less. To be 
counted as a point, a projection must be at least 1 inch long 
and its length must exceed the length of its base. The beam 
tip is counted as a point but not measured as a point. 

3. Deer hunting restricted to legal bucks only, except 
where otherwise allowed. 

4. Either-sex deer is defined as male or female deer. 
Taking or possessing spotted fawns is prohibited. 

5. It is illegal to hunt or shoot deer with firearms 
smaller than .22 caliber centerfire or a shotgun loaded with 
anything other than buckshot or rifled slug. Handguns may 
be used for hunting. 

6. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft, 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

7. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs or moving vehicles, including ATVs, 
when or where a still hunting season or area is designated, is 
prohibited and will be strictly enforced. The training of deer 
dogs is prohibited in all still hunting areas during the gun 
still hunting and archery only season. Deer hunting with 
dogs is allowed in all other areas having open deer seasons 
that are not specifically designated as still hunting only. 
Except in wildlife management areas, a leashed dog may be 
used to trail and retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer 
during legal hunting hours. Any dog used to trail or retrieve 
wounded or unrecovered deer shall have on a collar with 
owner's name, address, and phone number. In addition, a dog 
may be used to trail and retrieve unrecovered deer after legal 
hunting hours; however, no person accompanying a dog 
after legal hunting hours may carry a firearm of any sort. 

8. Areas not specifically designated as open are 
closed. 

9. Muzzleloader Segment: (Special license and 
muzzleloader firearms specifications apply only to the 
special state, WMA, National Forest and Preserves, and 
Federal Refuge seasons.) Still hunt only. Specific WMAs 
will also be open, check WMA schedule for specific details. 
Muzzleloader license required for resident hunters between 
the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 16 years of 
age and older. Either-sex deer may be taken in all deer 
hunting areas except Area 5 and as specified on Public 
Areas. It is unlawful to carry a gun, other than a 
muzzleloader, including those powered by air or other 
means, while hunting during the special muzzleloader 

segment. Except, it is lawful to carry a .22 caliber rimfire 
pistol loaded with #12 shot (ratshot only). 

a. Legal Muzzleloader Firearms for Special Season: 
Rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or shotguns 10 gauge 
or smaller, all of which must load exclusively from the 
muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, use black powder or 
approved substitute only, take ball or bullet projectile only, 
including saboted bullets and may be fitted with magnified 
scopes. This includes muzzleloaders known as "inline" 
muzzleloaders. 

10.  Archery Segment: Consult regulations pamphlet. 
WMA seasons are the same as outside except as noted 
below. Archery license required for resident bow hunters 
between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 
16 years of age and older. Residents 60 years of age and 
older may use a crossbow without a special permit or 
license. Either-sex deer may be taken in all areas open for 
deer hunting except when a bucks only season is in progress 
for gun hunting, archer's must conform to the bucks only 
regulations. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at 
anytime during archery season except when bucks only 
seasons are in progress on the respective WMA. Also, 
archery season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta, Salvador, 
Lake Boeuf, and Pointe-aux-Chenes WMAs (see schedule). 

a. Bow and arrow regulations: Hunting arrows for 
deer must have well-sharpened metal broadhead blades not 
less than 7/8 inch in width. Bow and arrow fishermen must 
have a sport fishing license and not carry any arrows with 
broadhead points unless a big game season is in progress. 

i. It is unlawful: 
 (a). to carry a gun, including those powered by air 
or other means, while hunting with bow and arrow during 
the special bow and arrow deer season except it is lawful to 
carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded with #12 shot 
(ratshot) only; 
 (b). to have in possession or use any poisoned or 
drugged arrow, arrows with explosive tips, or any bow 
drawn, held or released by mechanical means except that 
hand held releases are lawful; 
 (c). to hunt deer with a bow having a pull less than 
30 pounds; 
 (d). to hunt with a bow or crossbow fitted with an 
infrared or laser sight. 

11. Hunter Orange. Any person hunting deer shall 
display on his head, chest and/or back a total of not less than 
400 square inches of "hunter orange" during the open deer 
gun season including muzzleloader season. Persons hunting 
on privately owned, legally posted land may wear a hunter 
orange cap or hat in lieu of the 400 square inches. These 
provisions shall not apply to persons hunting deer from 
elevated stands on property that is privately owned and 
legally posted or to archery deer hunters hunting on legally 
posted lands where firearm hunting is not allowed by 
agreement of the landowner or lessee. However, anyone 
hunting deer on such lands where hunting with firearms is 
allowed shall be required to display the 400 square inches or 
a hunter orange cap or hat while walking to and from 
elevated stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated 
stand, the 400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed. 
Warning: deer hunters are cautioned to watch for persons 
hunting other game or engaged in activities not requiring 
"hunter orange." 
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12. Special Handicapped Either-Sex Deer Season on 
Private Land. See regulations pamphlet for dates. Restricted 
to individuals with Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. 

13. Special Youth Deer Hunt on Private Lands (Either-
Sex). See regulations pamphlet for dates. Youth must be 
under the age of 16, must have proof of successfully 
completing a Department approved hunter safety course, and 
must be accompanied by an adult licensed to hunt big game. 
In West Baton Rouge and Pointe Coupee Parishes and that 
portion of Iberville Parish west of the Mississippi River 
antler restrictions for bucks shall be waived. 

F. Description of Areas 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open: East 
Feliciana, St. Helena, Concordia, Franklin, Tensas, East 
Baton Rouge, Madison, Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
i. CatahoulaCAll except that portion lying west of 

Boeuf River from Caldwell parish line to Ouachita River, 
north and east of Ouachita River to La. 559 at Duty Ferry, 
west of La. 559 to La. 124. North and west of La. 124 
westward to LaSalle parish line. 
 ii. GrantCEast of U.S. 165 and south of La. 8. 
 iii. LaSalleCPortion south of La. 8 from Little 
River eastward to La. 127 in Jena, east of La. 127 from Jena 
northward to U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 from La. 127 
northward to La. 124. South of La. 124 eastward to 
Catahoula Parish line. 
 iv. LivingstonCNorth of I-12. 
 v. RapidesCEast of U.S. 165 and north of Red 
River. 
 vi. St. TammanyCAll except that portion south of 
I-12, west of Hwy. 1077 to La. 22, south of La. 22 to 
Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain. 
 vii. TangipahoaCNorth of I-12. 
 viii. West FelicianaCAll except that portion known 
as Raccourci and Turnbull Island. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. CatahoulaCSouth of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to La. 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of La. 8 to La. 913, west of La. 913 and 
La. 15 to Deer Creek. 
 ii. East Feliciana and East Baton RougeCEast of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to La. 10. 
North of La. 10 from Thompson Creek to La. 67 at Clinton, 
west of La. 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line. South 
of Mississippi state line from La. 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of La. 67 
from La. 64 north to Paris h Line, south of Parish Line from 
La. 64 eastward to Amite River. West of Amite River 
southward to La. 64, north of La. 64 to La. 37 at Magnolia, 
east of La. 37 northward to La. 64 at Indian Mound, north of 
La. 64 from Indian Mound to La. 67. Also, that portion of 
East Feliciana Parish east of La. 67 from parish line north to 
La. 959, south of La. 959 east to La. 63, west of La. 63 to 
Amite River, west of Amite River, southward to parish line, 
north of parish line westward to La. 67. 
 iii. FranklinCAll 
 iv. St. HelenaCNorth of La. 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to La. 449, east and south of 

La. 449 from La. 16 at Pine Grove northward to La. 1045, 
south of La. 1045 from its junction with La. 449 eastward to 
the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from La. 1045 
southward to La. 16 at Montpelier.  
 v. TangipahoaCThat portion of Tangipahoa 
Parish north of La. 10 from the Tchefuncte River to La. 1061 
at Wilmer, east of La. 1061 to La. 440 at Bolivar, south of 
La. 440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte 
River from La. 440 southward to La. 10. 
 vi. Washington and St. TammanyCEast of La. 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from La. 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to La. 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of La. 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
Parish line, north of the St. Tammany Parish line to the 
Tangipahoa Parish line, east of the Tangipahoa Parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with La. 25. 
  vii. West FelicianaCWest of Thompson Creek 
to Illinois -Central Railroad, north of Illinois -Central 
Railroad to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the 
junction of U.S. 61 and La. 966, east of La. 966 from U.S. 
61 to Chaney Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson 
Creek. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Jackson, Union, Bossier, Lincoln, 
Webster, Caddo, Natchitoches, Winn, Claiborne, Red River, 
DeSoto, Sabine, Caldwell. 
 ii. except: Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as Area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer and except National Forest Land 
within the Evangeline Unit, Calcasieu Ranger District 
described in Area 2 description shall be still hunting only. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. AllenCNorth of U.S. 190 from the parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of U.S. 165 from Kinder northward 
to La. 10 at Oakdale, north of La. 10 from Oakdale, 
westward to the parish line; 
 ii. AvoyellesCThat portion west of I-49. 
 iii.  CatahoulaCThat portion lying west of Boeuf 
River from Caldwell parish line to Ouachita River, north and 
east of Ouachita River to La. 559 at Duty Ferry. West of La. 
559 to La. 124. North and west of La. 124 westward to 
LaSalle parish line. 
 iv. EvangelineCAll except the following portions: 
east of I-49 to junction of La. 29, east of La. 29 south of I-49 
to Ville Platte, and north of U.S. 167 east of Ville Platte. 
 v. GrantCAll except that portion south of La. 8 
and east of U.S. 165. 
 vi. Jefferson DavisCNorth of U.S. 190. 
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 vii. LaSalleCAll except south of La. 8 from Little 
River eastward to La. 127 in Jena, east of La. 127 from Jena 
northward to U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 from La. 127 
northward to La. 124. South of La. 124 eastward to 
Catahoula parish line. 
 viii. MorehouseCWest of U.S. 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of La. 140 to junction of 
La. 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of La. 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of La. 139 to junction of La. 593, west and 
south of La. 593 to Collinston, west of La. 138 to junction of 
La. 134 and north of La. 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake. 
 ix. OuachitaCAll except south of U.S. 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of La. 139 from Sicard to junction of 
La. 134, south of La. 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Brake. 
 x. RapidesCAll except north of Red River and 
east of U.S. 165. South of La. 465 to junction of La. 121, 
west of La. 121 and La. 112 to Union Hill, and north of La. 
113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line, and that portion 
south of Alexandria between Red River and U.S. 167 to 
junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of 
I-49 southward to parish line. 
 xi. VernonCNorth of La. 10 from the parish line 
westward to La. 113, south of La. 113 eastward to the parish 
line. Also the portion north of La. 465, west of La. 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville, and north of La. 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Claiborne and WebsterCCaney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest. (See 
Kisatchie National Forest Regulations);  
 ii. OuachitaCEast of Ouachita River; 
 iii. RapidesCWest of U.S. 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek Exit, west of I-49 
southward to Parish Line, north of Parish Line westward to 
U.S. 165, east of U.S. 165 northward to U.S. 167 at 
Alexandria. North of La. 465 from Vernon Parish line to La. 
121, west of La. 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to La. 8, south and 
east of La. 8 to La. 118 (Mora Road), south and west of La. 
118 to Natchitoches Parish line; 
 iv. VernonCEast of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches Parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to La. 465, east and north of La. 465 to 
Rapides Parish line. 

3. Area 3 
a. All of Acadia, Cameron and Vermilion Parishes 

are open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. AllenCSouth of U.S. 190 and west of La. 113; 
 ii. BeauregardCWest of La. 113. Also east of La. 
27 from the parish line north to DeRidder and north of U.S. 
190 westward from DeRidder to Texas line; 
 iii. CalcasieuCSouth of U.S. 90. Also east of La. 
27 from Sulphur northward to the parish line; 
 iv. IberiaCWest of U.S. 90 and north of La. 14; 
 v. Jefferson DavisCAll except north of U.S. 190; 
 vi. LafayetteCWest of I-49 and U.S. 90; 
 vii. RapidesCSouth of La. 465 to junction of La. 
121, west of La. 121 and La. 112 to Union Hill and north of 
La. 113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line; 

 viii. St. LandryCWest of U.S. 167; 
 ix. VernonCWest and north of La. 113, south of 
La. 465, east of La. 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of La. 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. Area 4 
a. All of East Carroll and Richland parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. MorehouseCEast of U.S. 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of La. 140 to junction of 
La. 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of La. 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of La. 139 at Bastrop to junction of La. 593, east and 
north of La. 593 to Collinston, east of La. 138 to junction of 
La. 134 and south of La. 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake. 
 ii. OuachitaCSouth of U.S. 80 and east of 
Ouachita River, east of La. 139 from Sicard to junction of 
La. 134, south of La. 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake. 

5. Area 5 
a. All of West Carroll Parish is open. 

 i. All deer hunting with firearms is for bucks 
only including muzzleloader season. 

6. Area 6 
a. All of Orleans Parish is closed to all forms of 

deer hunting. 
b. All of the following parishes are open: 

Ascension, Plaquemines, St. John, Assumption, Pointe 
Coupee, St. Martin, Iberville, St. Bernard, Jefferson, St. 
Charles, Lafourche, St. James, West Baton Rouge. 

c. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. AvoyellesCall except that portion west of I-49; 
 ii. EvangelineCthat portion east of I-49 to 
junction of La. 29, east of La. 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of U.S. 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 iii. IberiaCeast of U.S. 90; 
 iv. LafayetteCeast of I-49 and U.S. 90; 
 v. LivingstonCsouth of I-12; 
 vi. RapidesCsouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and U.S. 167 to the junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 vii. St. LandryCeast of U.S. 167; 
 viii. St. MaryCnorth of U.S. 90; 
 ix. St. TammanyCthat portion south of I-12, west 
of Hwy. 1077 to La. 22, south of La. 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 
 x. TangipahoaCsouth of I-12; 
 xi. TerrebonneCnorth of La. 182 from Assumption 
Parish line eastward to Houma, east of Houma Navigation 
Canal southward to the Gulf of Mexico; 
 xii. West FelicianaCwest of Mississippi River, 
known as Raccourci and Turnbull Islands; 

d. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. AvoyellesCnorth of La. 1 from Simmesport 
westward to La. 115 at Marksville, east of La. 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to La. 1 at Simmesport; 
 ii. PlaqueminesCeast of the Mississippi River; 
 iii. RapidesCsouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and U.S. 167 to the junction of U.S. 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
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 iv. St. BernardCall the parish shall be still hunting 
only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the spoil 
area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal on 
the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou la 
Loutre; 
 v. St. JohnCSouth of Pass Manchac from La ke 
Pontchartrain to U.S. 51, east of U.S. 51 from Pass Manchac 
to La. 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of La. 638 from U.S. 
51 to Lake Pontchartrain. West of Lake Pontchartrain from 
La. 638 to Pass Manchac. 
 vi. St. LandryCThose lands surrounding 
Thistlethwaite WMA bounded north and east by La. 359, 
west by La. 10, and south by La. 103. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i.  Iberia and St. Mary ParishesCSouth of La. 14 
and west U.S. Hwy. 90. 
 ii. TerrebonneCSouth of La. 182 from 
Assumption Parish line eastward to Houma, west of Houma 
Navigation Canal southward to the Gulf of Mexico. 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. AllenCThat portion east of La. 113 from the 
parish line to U.S. 190, north of U.S. 190 eastward to 
Kinder, west of U.S. 165 northward to La. 10 at Oakdale and 
south of La. 10 from Oakdale westward to parish line; 
 ii. VernonCThat portion east of La. 113 from the 
parish line northward to Pitkin, and south of La. 10 from 
Pitkin southward to the parish line; 
 iii. BeauregardCThat portion east of La. 113. Also 
that portion west of La. 27 from parish line northward to 
DeRidder, south of U.S. 190 from DeRidder to Texas state 
line; 
 iv. CalcasieuCThat portion east of La. 27 from the 
parish line southward to Sulphur and north of U.S. 90 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line. 

G. Wildlife Management Area Regulations 
1. General 

a. The following Rules and regulations concerning 
the management, protection and harvest of wildlife have 
been officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

b. Citizens are cautioned that by entering a WMA 
managed by the LDWF they may be subjecting themselves 
and/or their vehicles to game and/or license checks, 
inspections and searches. 

c. Wildlife management area seasons may be 
altered or closed anytime by the Department Secretary in 
emergency situations (floods, fire or other critical 
circumstances). 

d. Hunters may enter the WMA no earlier than 3:00 
a.m. unless otherwise specified. On days when Daily permits 
are required, permit stations will open 2 hours before legal 
shooting hours. Hunters must check out and exit the WMA 
no later than two hours after sunset, except for Lake Boeuf, 
Salvador/Timken and Pointe-aux-Chenes or as otherwise 
specified. 

e. Lands within WMA boundaries will have the 
same seasons and regulations pertaining to baiting and use of 
dogs as the WMA within which the lands are enclosed; 
however, with respect to private lands enclosed within a 
WMA, the owner or lessee may elect to hunt deer according 
to the regular season dates applicable to the geographic area 
in which the lands are located, provided that the lands are 
first enrolled in DMAP. Interested parties should contact the 
nearest LDWF regional office for additional information. 

f. Dumping garbage or trash on WMAs is 
prohibited. Garbage and trash may be properly disposed of 
in designated locations if provided. 

g. Disorderly conduct or hunting under influence of 
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances 
is prohibited. 

h. Commercial activities prohibited without prior 
approval or unless otherwise specified. 

i. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast 
(acorn, pecans, etc.) and wild plants is prohibited without 
prior approval. Gathering and/or removal of soft fruits, 
mushrooms and berries shall be limited to five gallons per 
person per day. Persons engaged in commercial activities 
must obtain a permit from the Region Office. 

j. Burning of marshes is prohibited except by 
permit. Permits may be obtained from the Fur and Refuge 
Division. Hunting actively burning marsh prohibited. 

k. Nature Trails. Access to trails shall be limited to 
pedestrians only. No vehicles, ATVs, horses, mules, bicycles, 
etc. allowed. Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or 
other natural material prohibited. 

l. Deer seasons are for legal buck deer unless 
otherwise specified. 

m. Small game, when listed under the WMA 
regulations may include both resident game animals and 
game birds as well as migratory species of birds. 

n. Oysters may not be harvested from any WMA, 
except that oysters may be harvested from private oyster 
leases and State Seed Grounds located within a WMA, when 
authorized by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and 
upon approval by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

o. Free ranging livestock prohibited. 
2. Permits 

a. Daily. Daily permits when required shall be 
obtained at permit stations on or near each WMA after first 
presenting a valid hunting license to a Department 
employee. Hunters must retain permit in possession while 
hunting. Hunters may enter the area no earlier than two 
hours before legal shooting time unless otherwise specified. 
Hunters must checkout daily and exit the area not later than 
two hours after sunset unless otherwise specified. 

b. Self-Clearing Permits. A Self-Clearing Permit is 
required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, 
birdwatching, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise 
specified. The Self-Clearing Permit will consist of three 
portions: check in, check out and a Vehicle Tag. On WMAs 
where Self-Clearing Permits are required, all persons must 
obtain a WMA Self-Clearing Permit from an Information 
Station. The check in portion must be completed and put in a 
permit box before each day's activity on the day of the 
activity. Users may check-in one day in advance of use. The 
check out portion must be carried by each person while on
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the WMA and must be completed and put in a permit box 
immediately upon exiting the WMA or within 72 hours after 
checking in if hunting from a camp. each person must leave 
the Vehicle Tag portion of his permit on the dashboard of the 
vehicle used to enter into the WMA in such a way that it can 
be easily read from outside of the vehicle. This must be done 
only when the vehicle is parked and left unattended on the 
WMA. If an ATV, boat or other type vehicle was used to 
enter the WMA, then the vehicle tag must be attached to that 
vehicle in such a manner that it can be readily seen and read. 
No permit is required of fishers and boaters who do not 
travel on a WMA road and/or launch on the WMA as long as 
they do not get out of the boat and onto the WMA. When 
Mandatory Deer Checks are specified on WMAs, hunters 
must check deer at a check station. Call the appropriate 
Region office for the location of the deer check station on 
these WMAs. (Self-Clearing Permits are not required for 
persons only traveling through the WMA provided that the 
most direct route is taken and no activities or stops take 
place.) 

c. Wild Louisiana Stamp. Persons using WMAs or 
other department administered lands for purposes other than 
hunting and fishing, such as camping, shooting on rifle 
ranges, berry picking, hiking, photography, bird-watching 
and the like, must possess one of the following: a valid Wild 
Louisiana stamp, a valid Louisiana fishing license, or a valid 
Louisiana hunting license. Persons younger than 16 or older 
than 60 years of age are exempt from this requirement. 

3. Special Seasons 
a. Youth Deer Hunt. Only youths younger than 16 

years of age may hunt. All other seasons are closed except 
Handicapped Seasons. Youths must possess a hunter safety 
certification or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course. Each youth must be accompanied by one adult 
18 years of age or older. If the accompanying adult is in 
possession of a hunter safety certification, a valid Louisiana 
hunting license or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course, this requirement is waived for the youth. 
Adults may not possess a firearm. Youths may possess only 
one firearm while hunting. Legal firearms are the same as 
described for deer hunting. The supervising adult shall 
maintain visual and voice contact with the youth at all times. 
An adult may supervise only one youth during this special 
hunt. Contact the appropriate region office for special check 
station locations when daily permits are required and maps 
of specific hunting areas. Either-sex deer may be taken on 
WMAs with youth hunts. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for WMAs offering youth hunts. 

b. Handicapped Season. For hunters possessing a 
Physically Challenged Hunter Permit only. Participants must 
possess a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. Contact 
region office for permit application and map of specific 
hunting area. Consult the regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering Handicapped Seasons. Pointe-aux-Chenes will have 
an experimental Lottery Handicapped waterfowl hunt. 
Contact New Iberia Office, Fur and Refuge Division for 
details. 

c. Deer Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected as a result of the pre-application lottery. 
Consult the regulations pamphlet for deadlines. A non-
refundable application fee must be sent with application. 

Contact region offices for applications. Consult regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering lottery hunts. 

d. Turkey Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for deadlines. All turkeys must be reported at Self Clearing 
station. Contact Region Offices for more details. Consult 
separate Turkey Hunting Regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering lottery hunts. 

e. Trapping. Permits to take fur bearers from 
WMAs may be obtained at appropriate offices when 
required. Consult Annual Trapping Regulations for specific 
dates. All traps must be run daily. Traps with teeth are 
illegal. On WMAs where permits are required, each trapper 
must submit an annual trapping report to the Region Office 
where his permit was obtained. Non-compliance will result 
in forfeiture of trapping privileges on the WMAs. Permits 
may be obtained only between hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
on normal working days at region offices. Hunter orange 
required when a deer gun season is in progress. A permit is 
required to carry a firearm outside of the normal hunting 
season and is available at the Region Office. 

f. Raccoon Hunting. A licensed hunter may take 
raccoon or opossum, one per person per day, during daylight 
hours only, during the open rabbit season on WMAs. 
Nighttime ExperimentalCSeason dates for specific WMAs 
are for nighttime raccoon hunting and permits may be 
required. There is no bag limit for raccoons at night unless 
specified in the annual regulations pamphlet. Raccoon 
hunters with dogs must submit an annual report of their kill 
to the region office for WMAs where permits are required. 
Non-compliance will result in forfeiture of raccoon or all 
hunting privileges on WMAs. Permits, when required, may 
be obtained at region offices only between hours of 8 a.m. to 
4:30 p.m. on normal working days. 

g. Commercial Fishing. Permits are required of all 
commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre 
and Spring Bayou WMAs. Drag seines (except minnow and 
bait seines) are prohibited except experimental bait seines 
allowed on Dewey Wills WMA north of La. 28 in Diversion 
Canal. Commercial fishing is prohibited during regular 
waterfowl seasons on Grand Bay, Silver Lake and Lower 
Sunk Lake on Three Rivers WMA. Commercial fishing is 
prohibited on Salvador/Timken, Ouachita and Pointe-aux-
Chenes WMAs except commercial fishing on Pointe-aux-
Chenes is allowed in Cut Off Canal and Wonder Lake. No 
commercial fishing activity shall impede navigation and no 
unattended vessels or barges will be allowed. Non-
compliance with permit regulations will result in revocation 
of commercial fishing privileges for the period the license is 
issued and one year thereafter. Commercial fishing is 
allowed on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya Delta WMAs. See 
Pass-a-Loutre for additional commercial fishing regulations 
on mullet.  

h. Sport Fishing. Sport fishing, crawfishing and 
frogging are allowed on WMAs when in compliance with 
current laws and regulations except as otherwise specified 
under individual WMA listings. 

i. Additional Department Lands. The Department 
manages additional lands that are included in the WMA 
system and available for public recreation. Small tracts are 
located in Rapides, Vernon, Evangeline, St. Helena and other 
parishes. These small tracts have been acquired from the 
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Farmers Home Administration or other sources for 
conservation purposes. Contact the appropriate Wildlife and 
Fisheries Region Office for specific information and any 
additional season dates. 

4. Firearms  
a. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber, 

magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms are not 
allowed in or on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles, 
ATVs, ATCs or in camping areas on WMAs. Firearms may 
not be carried on any area before or after permitted hours 
except in authorized camping areas. 

b. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on 
WMAs during closed seasons except on designated shooting 
ranges or as permitted for trapping. Bows and broadhead 
arrows are not allowed on WMAs except during deer 
archery season, turkey season or as permitted for 
bowfishing. 

c. Encased or broken down firearms and any game 
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most 
direct route provided that no other route exists except as 
specified under Wildlife Management Area listing. 

d. Loaded firearms are not allowed near WMA 
check stations. 

e. Centerfire rifles and handguns larger than .22 
caliber rimfire, shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or 
F steel shot cannot be carried onto any WMA except during 
modern firearm deer season. 

f. Target shooting and other forms of practice 
shooting are prohibited on WMAs except as otherwise 
specified. 

g. Discharging of firearms on or hunting from 
designated roads, ATV trails or their rights-of-way is 
prohibited during the modern firearm and muzzleloader deer 
season. 

5. Methods of Taking Game 
a. Moving deer or hogs on a WMA with organized 

drivers and standers, drivers or making use of noises or 
noise-making devices is prohibited. 

b. On Wildlife Management Areas, Federal Refuges 
and National Forest Lands the daily limit shall be one deer 
per day, six per season (all segments included) by all 
methods of take. 

c. Baiting or hunting over bait is prohibited on all 
WMAs (hogs included). Unmarked hogs may be taken on 
some WMAs by properly licensed hunters from the 
beginning of archery season on the area until February 29 
and only with guns/ammunition or bow and arrow legal for 
specified seasons in progress. Consult the specific WMA for 
additional information. Proper licenses and permits are 
required for hunting. 

d. Hunters who kill deer on WMAs that require 
daily permits must have deer checked at the check station on 
same day of kill. Deer may not be skinned or have any 
external body parts removed including but not limited to 
feet, legs, tail, head or ears before being checked out. 

e. Deer hunting on WMAs is restricted to still 
hunting only. No WMA will be open for deer during early 
still hunt season unless specified in the regulation pamphlet. 

f. Construction of and/or hunting from permanent 
tree stands or permanent blinds on WMAs is prohibited. Any 
permanent stand or permanent blind will be removed and 
destroyed. 

g. On Wildlife Management Areas and Refuges, all 
deer stands must be removed from the area no later than two 
hours after the end of legal shooting hours each day. Hunting 
from utility poles, high tension power lines, oil and gas 
exploration facilities or platforms is prohibited. 

h. A permanent blind is any blind using non-natural 
materials or having a frame which is not dismantled within 
two hours after the end of legal shooting time each day. 
Blinds with frames of wood, plastic, metal, poles, wire, 
mesh, webbing or other materials may be used but must be 
removed from the WMA within two hours after the end of 
legal shooting time each day. Blinds made solely of natural 
vegetation and not held together by nails or other metallic 
fasteners may be left in place but cannot be used to reserve 
hunting locations. All decoys must be removed from the 
WMA daily. 

i. It is illegal to save or reserve hunting locations 
using permanent stands or blinds. Stands or blinds attached 
to trees with screws, nails, spikes, etc. are illegal. 

j. Tree climbing spurs, spikes or screw-in steps are 
prohibited. 

k. Unattended decoys will be confiscated and 
forfeited to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
disposed of by the Department. This action is necessary to 
prevent preemption of hunting space. 

l. Hunters shall not hunt, take or pursue birds or 
animals from moving vehicles on any WMA. No person 
shall take birds or animals from or by any motor boat or sail 
boat unless the motor has been completely shut off and/or 
the sail furled and its progress therefrom has ceased. 

m. Spot lighting (shining) from vehicles is 
prohibited on all WMAs. 

n. Horses and mules may be ridden on Wildlife 
Management Areas except where prohibited and except 
during gun seasons for deer and turkey. Riding is restricted 
to designated roads and trails. Hunting and trapping from 
horses and mules is prohibited except for quail hunting or as 
otherwise specified. 

o. All hunters except waterfowl hunters and dove 
hunters (including archers and small game hunters) on 
WMAs must display 400 square inches of "Hunter Orange" 
and wear a "Hunter Orange" cap during open gun season for 
deer. Quail hunters, woodcock hunters and archers (while on 
the ground) as well as hunters participating in special dog 
seasons for rabbit and squirrel are required to wear a 
minimum of a "Hunter Orange" cap. Also all persons afield 
during hunting seasons are encouraged to display "Hunter 
Orange." 

p. Archery Season for Deer. The archery season on 
WMAs is the same as outside and is open for either sex deer 
except as otherwise specified on individual WMAs. Archery 
season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta and closed on certain 
WMAs when special seasons for youth or handicapped hunts 
are in progress. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
seasons. 

q. Either sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any 
time during archery season except when bucks only seasons 
are in progress on the respective WMAs. Archers must abide 
by bucks only regulations and other restrictions when such 
seasons are in progress. 

r. Muzzleloader Season for Deer. Either sex unless 
otherwise specified. See WMA deer schedule. 
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6. Camping 
a. Camping on WMAs, including trailers, 

houseboats, recreational vehicles and tents, is allowed only 
in designated areas and for a period not to exceed sixteen 16 
consecutive days, regardless if the camp is attended or 
unattended. Houseboats shall not impede navigation. At the 
end of the 16 day period, camps must be removed from the 
area for at least 48 hours. Camping area use limited 
exclusively to outdoor recreational activities. 

b. Houseboats are prohibited from overnight 
mooring within WMAs except on stream banks adjacent to 
Department-owned designated camping areas. Overnight 
mooring of vessels that provide lodging for hire are 
prohibited on WMAs. On Atchafalaya Delta WMA and 
Pass-a-Loutre, houseboats may be moored in specially 
designated areas throughout the hunting season. At all other 
times of the year, mooring is limited to a period not to 
exceed 16 consecutive days. Permits are required for the 
mooring of houseboats on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya 
Delta WMAs. Permits must be obtained from the New Iberia 
office.  

c. Discharge of human waste onto lands or waters 
of any WMA is strictly prohibited by State and Federal law. 
In the event public restroom facilities are not available at a 
WMA, the following is required. Anyone camping on a 
WMA in a camper, trailer, or other unit (other than a 
houseboat or tent) shall have and shall utilize an operational 
disposal system attached to the unit. Tent campers shall have 
and shall utilize portable waste disposal units and shall 
remove all human waste from the WMA upon leaving. 
Houseboats moored on a WMA shall have a permit or letter 
of certification from the Health Unit (Department of Health 
and Hospitals) of the parish within which the WMA occurs 
verifying that it has an approved sewerage disposal system 
on board. Further, that system shall be utilized by occupants 
of the houseboats when on the WMA. 

d. No refuse or garbage may be dumped from these 
boats. 

e. Firearms may not be kept loaded or discharged in 
a camping area. 

f. Campsites must be cleaned by occupants prior to 
leaving and all refuse placed in designated locations when 
provided or carried off by campers. 

g. Non-compliance with camping regulations will 
subject occupant to immediate expulsion and/or citation, 
including restitution for damages. 

h. Swimming is prohibited within 100 yards of boat 
launching ramps. 

7. Restricted Areas 
a. All oil and gas production facilities (wells, 

pumping stations and storage facilities) are off limits. 
b. No unauthorized entry or hunting in restricted 

areas or refuges. 
8. Dogs. All use of dogs on WMAs, except for bird 

hunting and duck hunting, is Experimental as required by 
law. Having or using dogs on any WMA is prohibited except 
for nighttime experimental raccoon hunting, squirrel 
hunting, rabbit hunting, bird hunting, duck hunting and bird 
dog training when allowed; see individual WMA season 
listings for WMAs that allow dogs and dates. Dogs running 
at large are prohibited on WMAs. The owner or handler of 
said dogs shall be liable. Only recognizable breeds of bird 

dogs and retrievers are allowed for quail and migratory bird 
hunting. Only beagle hounds which do not exceed 15 inches 
at the front shoulders and which have recognizable 
characteristics of the breed may be used on WMAs having 
experimental rabbit seasons. 

9. Vehicles 
a. An all-terrain vehicle is an off-road vehicle (not 

legal for highway use) with factory specifications not to 
exceed the following: weightC750 pounds, lengthC85 
inches, and widthC48 inches. ATV tires are restricted to 
those no larger than 25 x 12 with a maximum l-inch lug 
height and a maximum allowable tire pressure of 7 psi as 
indicated on the tire by the manufacturer. 

b. Vehicles having wheels with a wheel-tire 
combination having a radius of 17 inches or more from the 
center of the hub (measured horizontal to ground) are 
prohibited. 

c. The testing, racing, speeding or unusual 
maneuvering of any type of vehicle is prohibited within 
wildlife management areas due to property damages 
resulting in high maintenance costs, disturbance of wildlife 
and destruction of forest reproduction. 

d. Tractor or implement tires with farm tread 
designs R1, R2 and R4 known commonly as spade or lug 
grip types are prohibited on all vehicles. 

e. Airboats, aircraft, personal water craft and hover 
craft are prohibited on all WMAs and Refuges. Personal 
water craft are defined as a vessel which uses an inboard 
motor powering a water jet pump as its primary source of 
propulsion and is designed to be operated by a person sitting, 
standing or kneeling on the vessel rather than in the 
conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel. 
Personal water craft allowed on designated areas of 
Alexander State Forest WMA. 

f. No internal combustion engines allowed in 
certain Greentree reservoirs. 

g. Driving or parking vehicles on food or cover 
plots and strips is prohibited. 

h. Blocking the entrance to roads and trails is 
prohibited. 

i. Motorized vehicles, including ATVs, and 
motorcycles, are restricted entirely to designated roads and 
ATV trails as indicated on WMA maps. WMA maps 
available at all region offices. This restriction does not apply 
to bicycles. 

j. Use of special ATV trails for handicapped 
persons is restricted to special ATV handicapped permittees. 
Handicapped ATV permittees are restricted to handicapped 
ATV trails or other ATV trails only as indicated on WMA 
maps. Persons 60 years of age and older, with proof of age, 
are also allowed to use special handicapped trails and need 
not obtain a permit. However, these persons must abide by 
all Rules in place for these trails. Handicapped persons 
should make application for a Physically Challenged Hunter 
Program Permit with the Department. 

k. Entrances to ATV trails will be marked with 
peach colored paint. Entrances to handicapped-only ATV 
trails will be marked with blue colored paint. Routes of all 
trails are as indicated on WMA maps. Deviation from the 
trails indicated on the map constitutes a violation of WMA 
Rules and regulations. 
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l. Roads and trails may be closed due to poor 
condition, construction or wet weather. 

m. ATVs, and motorcycles cannot be left overnight 
on WMAs except on designated camping areas. ATVs are 
prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3 a.m.. ATVs are 
prohibited from March 1 through August 31 except certain 
trails may be open during this time period to provide access 
for fishing or other purpose. These trails will be marked by 
signs at the entrance of the trail and designated on WMA 
maps. Raccoon hunters may use ATVs during nighttime 
raccoon take seasons only. 

n. Caution: Many department-maintained roadways 
on WMAs are unimproved and substandard. A maximum 20 
mph speed limit is recommended for all land vehicles using 
these roads. 

10. Commercial Activities. Hunting Guides/Outfitters: 
No person or group may act as a hunting guide, outfitter or 
in any other capacity for which they are paid or promised to 
be paid directly or indirectly by any other individual or 
individuals for services rendered to any other person or 
persons hunting on any Wildlife Management Area, 
regardless of whether such payment is for guiding, 
outfitting, lodging or club memberships. 

11. Wildlife Management Areas Basic Season 
Structure. For season dates, bag limits, shooting hours, 
special seasons and other information consult the annual 
regulations pamphlet for specific details. 

12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, dove, 
woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Consult regulations 
pamphlet. 

13. Waterfowl (ducks, geese and coots). Consult 
regulations pamphlet. 

14. Archery. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
15. Hogs. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
16. Outlaw Quadrupeds and Birds. Consult regulations 

pamphlet. During hunting seasons specified on WMAs, 
incidental take of outlaw quadrupeds and birds is allowed by 
properly licensed hunters and only with guns or bows and 
arrows legal for season in progress on WMA. However, 
crows, blackbirds, grackles and cowbirds may not be taken 
before September 1 or after January 2. 

17. Wildlife Management Areas Hunting Schedule and 
Regulations 

a. Acadiana Conservation Corridor 
b. Alexander State Forest. Vehicles restricted to 

paved and graveled roads. No parking on or fishing or 
swimming from bridges. No open fires except in recreation 
areas. 

c. Atchafalaya Delta. Water control structures are 
not to be tampered with or altered by anyone other than 
employees of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries at 
any time. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles prohibited. 

d. Attakapas  
e. Bayou Macon. All night activities prohibited 

except as otherwise provided. Mules are allowed for 
nighttime raccoon hunting. 

f. Bayou Pierre 
g. Bens Creek 
h. Big Colewa Bayou. All nighttime activities 

prohibited. 
i. Big Lake 
j. Biloxi 

k. Bodcau 
l. Boeuf 
m. Boise-Vernon 
n. Buckhorn 
o. Camp Beauregard. Daily military clearance 

required for all recreational users. Registration for use of 
Self Clearing Permit required once per year. All game 
harvested must be reported. Retriever training allowed on 
selected portions of the WMA. Contact the Region office for 
specific details. 

p. Dewey W. Wills. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day.  

q. Elm Hall. No ATVs allowed. 
r. Floy McElroy 
s. Fort Polk. Daily military clearance required to 

hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self Clearing Permit 
required once per year. Special regulations apply to ATV 
users. 

t. Grassy Lake. Commercial Fishing: Permitted 
except on Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake 
proper on Saturday and Sunday and during waterfowl 
season. Permits available from area supervisor at Spring 
Bayou headquarters or Opelousas Region Office. No hunting 
in restricted area. 

u. Jackson-Bienville. ATVs are allowed on non-
public maintained gravel roads and timber management 
woods, roads and trails.  

v. Joyce. Swamp Walk: Adhere to all WMA Rules 
and regulations. No firearms or hunting allowed within 100 
yards of walkways. Check hunting schedule and use 
walkway at your own risk. 

w. Lake Boeuf 
x. Lake Ramsay. Foot traffic onlyCall vehicles 

restricted to Parish Roads. 
y. Little River 
z. Loggy Bayou 
aa. Manchac. Crabs: No crab traps allowed. Attended 

lift nets are allowed. 
bb. Maurepas Swamp  
cc. Ouachita. Waterfowl Refuge: North of La. Hwy. 

15 closed to all hunting, fishing and trapping during duck 
season including early teal season. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day limit. Night crawfishing prohibited. No traps 
or nets left overnight. Commercial Fis hing: Closed. All 
nighttime activities prohibited except as otherwise provided. 

dd. Pass-a-Loutre. Commercial Fishing: Same as 
outside. Commercial mullet fishing open only in: South 
Pass, Pass-a-Loutre, North Pass, Southeast Pass, Northeast 
Pass, Dennis Pass, Johnson Pass, Loomis Pass, Cadro Pass, 
Wright Pass, Viveats Pass, Cognevich Pass, Blind Bay, 
Redfish Bay, Garden Island Bay, Northshore Bay, East Bay 
(west of barrier islands) and oil and gas canals as described 
on the Department Pass-a-Loutre WMA map. ATVs, ATCs 
and motorcycles prohibited on this area. Oyster harvesting is 
prohibited. 

ee. Pearl River. All roads closed 8 p.m. to 4:30 a.m. 
to all vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge 
at Pearl River, Louisiana, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting will 
be closed when the river stage at Pearl River reaches 16.5 
feet except waterfowl hunting south of Hwy. 90. No hunting 
in the vicinity of Nature Trail. Observe "No Hunting" signs. 
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Rifle range open noon until 4 p.m. Friday, and 8 a.m. to 4:30 
p.m. Saturday and Sunday with a fee. 

ff. Peason Ridge. Daily military clearance required 
to hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self Clearing Permit 
required once per year. Special federal regulations apply to 
ATV users. 

gg. Plum Creek (Formerly Georgia-Pacific ). except 
as otherwise provided, all nighttime activities prohibited.  

hh. Pointe-aux-Chenes. Hunting until 12 noon on 
ALL GAME, except for DOVE hunting and experimental 
youth deer hunt as specified in regulation pamphlet. Point 
Farm: Gate will be open during each Saturday of the second 
split of dove season and all weekends during month of 
February. No motorized vessels allowed in the drainage 
ditches. Recreational Fishing: Shrimp may be taken by the 
use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp season, 
25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) shall be allowed. Size 
count to conform with open season requirements. During the 
inside closed season, 10 pounds per boat per day (heads on) 
may be taken for bait. Oyster harvesting is prohibited. Fish 
may be taken only by rod and reel or hand lines for 
recreational purposes only. Crabs may be taken only through 
the use of hand lines or nets; however, none are to remain set 
overnight. Twelve dozen crabs are allowed per boat or 
vehicle per day. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted 
portions of the wildlife management area and shall be 
limited to 100 pounds per boat or group. Fishing gear used 
to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. The harvest 
of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for recreational 
purposes only and any commercial use is prohibited. 
Mudboats or vessels with engines larger than 25 h.p. 
prohibited in the Montegut and Grand Bayou marsh 
management units. Public is permitted to travel anytime 
through the WMA for access purposes only, in the 
waterways known as Grand Bayou, Humble Canal, Little 
Bayou Blue and Grand Bayou Blue. Vehicles prohibited on 
Point Farm properties unless authorized by the department. 
ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles prohibited on this area. 

ii. Pomme de Terre. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday, except closed during duck season. 
Commercial Fishing permits available from area supervisor, 
Opelousas Region Office or Spring Bayou headquarters. 
Sport Fishing: Same as outside except allowed after 2 p.m. 
only during waterfowl season. Crawfish: April 1 - July 31, 
recreational only, 100 lbs. per boat or group daily.  

jj. Red River. Crawfishing prohibited on Wetland 
Restoration Areas. 

kk. Russell Sage. Transporting trash or garbage on 
WMA roads is prohibited. All nighttime activities prohibited 
except as otherwise provided. Note: All season dates on 
Chauvin Tract (U.S. 165 North) same as outside, except still 
hunt only and except deer hunting restricted to archery only. 
Waterfowl hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited. All vehicles 
including ATVs prohibited. 

ll. Sabine 
mm. Sabine Island. Sabine Island boundaries are 

Sabine River on the west, Cut-Off Bayou on the north, and 
Old River and Big Bayou on the south and east. 

nn. Salvador/Timken. Hunting until 12 noon only for 
all game. All nighttime activities prohibited, including 
frogging. Recreational Fishing: Shrimp may be taken by the 
use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp season, 

25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) shall be permitted. 
Size count to conform with open season requirements. 
During the inside closed season, 10 pounds per boat per day 
(heads on) may be taken for bait. Fish may be taken only by 
rod and reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. 
Crabs may be taken only through the use of hand lines or 
nets; however, none of the lines are to remain set overnight. 
Twelve dozen crabs maximum are allowed per boat or 
vehicle per day. Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted 
portions of the wildlife management area and shall be 
limited to 100 pounds per boat or group. Fishing gear used 
to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. The harvest 
of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for recreational 
purposes only and any commercial use is prohibited. Boats 
powered by internal combustion engines having horsepower 
ratings above 25 hp are permitted only in oil company 
access canals, Louisiana Cypress Canal, the Netherlands 
Pond including the West Canal, Lakes - "Baie Des Chactas" 
and Baie du Cabanage" and the Rathborne Access ditch. 
Operation of the above described internal combustion 
engines in interior ditches is prohibited except by 
experimental permit to be obtained from the New Orleans 
Office, Fur and Refuge Division, Room 217. Pulling boats 
over levees, dams or water control structures or any other 
activities which cause detriment to the integrity of levees, 
dams and water control structures is prohibited. Special Use 
Permits may be issued for persons interested in clearing 
existing ditches (trenasses). Permits will be considered on a 
case-by-case basis. Contact Pointe-aux-Chenes. ATVs, ATCs 
and motorcycles prohibited on this area. 

oo. Sandy Hollow. Bird Dog Training: Consult 
regulation pamphlet. Wild birds only (use of pen-raised birds 
prohibited). Bird Dog Field Trials: Permit required from 
Baton Rouge Region Office. Horseback Riding: Organized 
trail rides prohibited. Horses and mules are specifically 
prohibited during turkey and gun season for deer except as 
allowed for bird dog field trials. No horses and mules on 
green planted areas. No motorized vehicles allowed off 
designated roads. 

pp. Sherburne. Crawfishing: Recreational 
crawfishing only on the North and South Farm Complexes. 
Crawfish harvest limited to 100 pounds per vehicle or boat 
per day. No traps or nets left overnight. No motorized 
watercraft allowed on farm complex. Commercial 
crawfishing allowed on the remainder of the area. Permit is 
required. Retriever training allowed on selected portions of 
the WMA. Contact the Region office for specific details. 
Vehicular traffic prohibited on east Atchafalaya River levee 
within Sherburne WMA boundaries. Rifle and Pistol Range 
open daily. Skeet ranges open by appointment only, contact 
Hunter Education Office. No trespassing in restricted area 
behind ranges. Note: Atchafalaya National Wildlife Refuge, 
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land holdings adjacent to 
the Sherburne Wildlife Management Area will have the same 
Rules and regulations as Sherburne WMA. No hunting or 
trapping in restricted area.  

qq. Sicily Island Hills. Firearms and any game 
harvested cannot be transported through the area except 
during the corresponding open season on area.  

rr. Soda Lake. No motorized vehicles allowed. All 
trapping and hunting prohibited except archery hunting for 
deer. 
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ss. Spring Bayou. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday except slat traps and hoop nets 
permitted any day. Permits available from area supervisor or 
Opelousas Region Office. Closed until after 2 p.m. during 
waterfowl season. Sport Fishing: Same as outside except 
allowed only after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season. 
Crawfish: recreational only. No hunting allowed in 
headquarters area. Only overnight campers allowed in the 
improved Boggy Bayou Camping area. Rules and 
regulations posted at camp site. A fee is assessed for use of 
this camp site. Water skiing allowed only in Old River and 
Grand Lac. 

tt. Thistlethwaite. No hunting or trapping in 
restricted area (See WMA Map). All motorized vehicles 
restricted to improved roads only. All users must enter and 
leave through main gate only. No entry into restricted areas. 

uu. Three Rivers 
vv. Tunica Hills. All vehicles restricted to Parish 

roads. ATVs restricted to designated trails. Driving on food 
plots prohibited. Access to restricted areas is unauthorized. 
Refer to WMA map. Camping prohibited on area. North of 
Hwy. 66 (Angola Tract) closed to the general public March 
1-September 30 except spring turkey hunting access allowed 
for those individuals drawn for special lottery hunt. 

ww. Union. All nighttime activities prohibited except 
as otherwise provided. 

xx.  West Bay. Road Travel and Hunting Restrictions: 
All motorized vehicles restricted to designated roads. Refer 
to WMA map for location of designated roads. Hunting 
prohibited on roads designated for motorized vehicular 
travel. 

yy. Wisner 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29: 

In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public hearings will be held at the following locations: 
Region 1CMarch 11, 7 p.m., Minden Civic Center, Minden, 
LA; Region 2CMarch 19, 7 p.m., Ruston Civic Center, 
Ruston, LA; Region 3CMarch 11, 7 p.m., Alexandria City 
Hall Convention Center, Alexandria, LA; Region 4CMarch 
12, 7 p.m., Concordia Parish Community Center, Ferriday, 
LA; Region 5CMarch 13, 6 p.m., Burton Coliseum, 
Chalkley Room, Lake Charles, LA; Region 6CMarch 19, 7 
p.m., National Marine Fisheries Building, Suite 119, 
Lafayette, LA; Region 7CMarch 10, 7 p.m., Pontchatoula 
High School Auditorium, Pontchatoula, LA. Also comments 
will be accepted at regularly scheduled Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission Meetings from April through July. 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative to

the proposed Rule until Wednesday, May 7, 2003 to Mr. 
Tommy Prickett, Wildlife Division, Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-9000. 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  General and Wildlife Management Area 

(WMA) Hunting 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This Rule amends permanent Rules and regulations for the 
state at large as well as Wildlife Management Areas. 
Establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. The 
cost of implementing the proposed Rules, aside from staff time, 
is the production of the regulation pamphlet. Cost of printing 
the 2002-2003 state hunting pamphlet was $14, 163 and no 
major increase in expenditures is anticipated. Local 
government units will not be impacted. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

State hunting license fee collections are between 9.0 and 
10.0 million dollars annually. Additionally, hunting and related 
activities generate approximately $25.3 million in state sales 
tax, $5.1 million in state income tax, and $23 million in local 
sales tax revenues annually (IAFWA; Southwick Associates, 
2002). Failure to adopt Rule changes would result in no hunting 
season being established and a potential loss of some of these 
revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Over 300,000 hunters and numerous businesses that 
provide goods and services to hunters are directly affected by 
this proposal. Hunting in Louisiana generates in excess of 
$581,000,000 annually through the sale of outdoor related 
equipment, associated items and trip related expenditures 
(IAFWA; Southwick Associates, 2002). Failure to adopt Rule 
changes would result in no hunting seasons being established 
and a potential loss of commerce revenues associated with 
these activities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting in Louisiana provides 9,184 jobs (IAFWA; 
Southwick Associates, 2002). Not establishing hunting seasons 
might have a negative and direct impact on these jobs. 

 
James L. Patton Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary General Government Section Director 
0303#091 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Public HearingC2002 State Implementation Plan (SIP) 
General Revisions 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2051 et seq., the secretary gives notice of proposed 
general revisions to the air quality State Implementation Plan 
(SIP). The revisions include amendments to various air 
quality rules in LAC 33:III.Chapters 5, 22, 21, and 28 that 
were previously promulgated in 2002, and which were not 
previously included in other revisions to the SIP. 

A public hearing will be held on April 24, 2003, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290 
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Interested 
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments. 
Attendees should report directly to the hearing location for 
DEQ visitor registration, instead of the security desk in the 
DEQ Headquarters building. Should individuals with a 
disability need an accommodation in order to participate, 
contact Lynn WIlbanks, Regulation Development Section, 
Box 82178, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-2178 or (225)  
765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed general revisions to the SIP. 
Comments must be submitted no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
May 1, 2003. Comments should be mailed to Sandra Hilton, 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Plan Development 
Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70884-2178 or 
faxed to (225)765-0617. Copies of this document can be 
purchased by contacting the Records Management Section at 
(225)765-0843. A check or money order is required in 
advance for each copy of the document.  

A copy of the general revisions to the SIP may be viewed 
Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., at the 
following DEQ locations: 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, 
Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810; 1823 Highway 546, 
West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 201 Evans Road, Building 
4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 111 New Center 
Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508, or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0303#074 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well 
Name 

Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Miss-Tex 
Oil 

Producers 

Aubrey M Paul A 
Leblanc 

1 130109 

Edwin L. 
Cox 

Ramos L C SU A; 
Intercstl 
Shipyard 

Inc 

1 122538 

W. L. 
Estis 

St. 
Martinville 

L 3390 RB 
SUA; 

Fournet 
E 

1 (30)1628
60 

MBM 
Equipment 

Wildcat M Norris 1 177884 

 
James H. Welsh  
Commissioner 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Community Services 

Social Services Block Grant Intended Use Report 

The Department of Social Services (DSS) announces 
opportunities for public review of the state's pre-expenditure 
report on intended uses of Social Services Block Grant 
(SSBG) funds for the state fiscal year (SFY) beginning July 
1, 2003, and ending June 30, 2004. The proposed FY  
2003-2004 SSBG Intended Use Report has been developed 
in compliance with the requirements of Section 2004 of the 
Social Security Act, as amended, and includes information 
on the types of activities to be supported and the categories 
or characteristics of individuals to be served through use of 
the state's allocation of SSBG funds. Section 2004 of the 
Social Security Act further requires that the SSBG pre -
expenditure report be "made public within the state in such 
manner as to facilitate comment by any person." The DSS, 
as the designated state services agency, will continue to 
administer programs funded under the SSBG in accordance 
with applicable statutory requirements and federal
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regulations. The DSS/Office of Community Services (OCS) 
will be responsible for provision of social services, by direct 
delivery and vendor purchase, through use of federal SSBG 
funds. Estimated SSBG expenditures for SFY 2003-2004 
total $42,817,517. 

Louisiana through the DSS/OCS will utilize its allotted 
funds to provide comp rehensive social services on behalf of 
children and families in fulfillment of legislative mandates 
for child protection and child welfare programs. These 
mandated services, and certain other essential social 
services, are provided without regard to income to 
individuals in need. Individuals to be served also include 
low-income persons as defined in the Intended Use Report 
who meet eligibility criteria for services provided through 
SSBG funding.  

Services designated for provision through SSBG funding 
for SFY 2003-2004 are: 

1. adoption (pre-placement to termination of parental 
rights); 

2. child protection (investigation of child 
abuse/neglect reports, assessment, evaluation, social work 
intervention, shelter care, counseling, referrals, and follow-
up); 

3. day care for children (direct care for portion of the 
24-hour day);  

4. family services (social work intervention 
subsequent to validation of a report of child abuse/neglect, 
counseling to high risk groups); and, 

5. foster care/residential habilitation services (foster, 
residential care, and treatment on a 24-hour basis). 

B. Definitions for the proposed services are set forth in 
the Intended Use Report. 

C. Persons eligible for SSBG funded services include: 
1. persons without regard to income, who are in need 

of adoption services, child protection, family services, and 
foster care/residential habilitation services; 

2. individuals without regard to income who are 
recipients of Title IV-E adoption assistance; 

3. recipients of supplemental security income and 
recipients of temporary assistance for needy families 
(TANF) and those persons whose needs were taken into 
account in determining the needs of TANF recipients; 

4. low-income persons (income eligibles) whose gross 
monthly income is not more than 125 percent of the poverty 
level. A family of four with gross monthly income of not 
more than $1,917 would qualify as income eligible for 
services; and  

5. persons receiving Title XIX (medicaid) benefits and 
certain medicaid applicants identified in the proposed plan 
as group eligibles. 

The proposed SSBG Intended Use Report for SFY 2003-
2004 will be available for public review at all OCS parish 
and regional offices Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. 
to 4:00 p.m. Copies are available without charge by 
telephone request to (225) 342-1553 or by writing the 
Assistant Secretary, Office of Community Services, Box 
3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821.  

A public hearing on the proposed SSBG Intended Use 
Report for SFY 2003-2004 is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. on 
Thursday, April 10, 2003, at the Office of Community 
Services, in the Commerce Building, 333 Laurel Street, 
Training Room 652, Baton Rouge, LA 70801 

At the public hearing all interested persons will have the 
opportunity to provide recommendations on the proposed 
SSBG plan, orally or in writing. Inquiries and comments on 
the proposed plan may be submitted until the close of 
business, Friday, May 9, 2003, to the Assistant Secretary, 
OCS, at the above mailing address. 

Post expenditure reports for the SSBG program for SFY 
2000-2001 and SFY 2001-2002 are included in the SSBG 
Intended Use Report for SFY 2003-2004, and, are available 
for public review at the Office of Community Services, 333 
Laurel Street, Room 645, Baton Rouge, LA 70801. 

 
Gwendolyn Hamilton 
Secretary 

0303#081 
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