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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Horticulture and Quarantine ProgramsCitrus Greening and 
Citrus Canker Disease Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.127) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority of the state entomologist in R.S. 3:1652, 
notice is hereby given that the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry is adopting these emergency regulations 
establishing a quarantine for citrus greening disease (CG) 
and citrus canker disease (CC) caused by the bacterial 
pathogens Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri and 
Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. aurantifolii. The state 
entomologist has determined that CG and CC has been 
found in this state and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine. 

CG and CC pose an imminent peril to the health and 
welfare of the Louisiana commercial citrus industry due to 
their ability to infest rutaceous plants. This industry has a 
farm value of $2,400,000-$5,000,000 in southeastern 
Louisiana in the form of citrus nursery stock, and 
$5,100,000 in the form of commercial citrus fruit in the 
state. CG renders the fruit unmarketable and ultimately 
causes death of infested plants. CC causes premature leaf 
and fruit drop, twig dieback and tree decline in citrus trees 
and is spread by wind-driven rain or through the movement 
of infected plants. Failure to prevent, control, or eradicate 
these diseases threatens to destroy Louisiana’s commercial 
citrus industry and the growing and harvesting of citrus by 
citizens of Louisiana for their own private use. 

Louisiana’s commercial citrus industry adds $7,500,000-
$10,000,000 to the state’s agriculture economy each year. 
Sales of citrus trees and plants by nursery stock dealers to 
private individuals also are important to the state’s economy. 
The loss of the state’s commercial citrus industry and 
privately owned citrus trees and fruit would be devastating 
to the state’s economy and to its private citizens. The 
quarantine established by this emergency regulation is 
necessary to prevent the spread of CG and CC in Louisiana 
outside of the current areas where these diseases have 
already been found. 

For these reasons, the outbreak of CG and CC in 
Louisiana presents an imminent peril to the health, safety 
and welfare of Louisiana’s citizens and the state’s 
commercial and private citrus industry. As a result of this 
imminent peril, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
hereby exercises its full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 
3:1652 to deal with crop and fruit pests and contagious and 
infectious crop and fruit diseases by imposing the 
quarantines set out in these emergency regulations.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law March 3, 
2017 and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed by 
the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or until 
permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 
Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter B. Nursery Stock Quarantines 
§127. Citrus Nursery Stock, Scions and Budwood 

A. - C.6. … 
D. Citrus Greening 

1. The department issues the following quarantine 
because the state entomologist has determined that citrus 
greening disease (CG), also known as huanglongbing 
disease of citrus, caused by the bacterial pathogen 
Candidatus Liberibacter spp., has been found in this state 
and may be prevented, controlled, or eradicated by 
quarantine. 

2. Quarantined Areas. The quarantined areas in this 
state are the parishes of Orleans, Washington, Jefferson, and 
any other areas found to be infested with CG. The 
declaration of any other specific parishes or areas shall be 
published in the official journal of the state and in the 
Louisiana Register. 

3. Regulated Materials. The following materials are 
hosts of CG and their movement is prohibited from CG-
quarantined areas due to the presence of CG: 

a. all plants and plant parts, including but not 
limited to nursery stock, cuttings, budwood, and propagative 
seed (but excluding fruit), of: Aegle marmelos, Aeglopsis 
chevalieri, Afraegle gabonensis, Afraegle paniculata, 
Amyris madrensis, Atalantia spp. (including Atalantia 
monophylla), Balsamocitrus dawei, Bergera (=Murraya) 
koenigii, Calodendrum capense, Choisya ternata, Choisya 
arizonica, X Citroncirus webberi, Citropsis articulata, 
Citropsis gilletiana, Citrus madurensis (= X Citrofortunella 
microcarpa), Citrus spp., Clausena anisum-olens, Clausena 
excavata, Clausena indica, Clausena lansium, Eremocitrus 
glauca, Eremocitrus hybrid, Esenbeckia berlandieri, 
Fortunella spp., Limonia acidissima, Merrillia caloxylon, 
Microcitrus australasica, Microcitrus australis, Microcitrus 
papuana, X Microcitronella spp., Murraya spp., Naringi 
crenulata, Pamburus missionis, Poncirus trifoliata, Severinia 
buxifolia, Swinglea glutinosa, Tetradium ruticarpum, 
Toddalia asiatica, Triphasia trifolia, Vepris (=Toddalia) 
lanceolata, and Zanthoxylum fagara; 

b. any other products, materials, articles, or means 
of conveyance, if an inspector determines that it presents a 
risk of spreading CG, and after the inspector provides written 
notification to the person in possession of the products, 
materials, articles, or means of conveyance that it is subject 
to the restrictions of the regulations. 

E. - E.3.d.iii.(b). … 
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F. Citrus Canker Disease Quarantine  
1. The department issues the following quarantine 

because the state entomologist has determined that citrus 
canker disease (CC), caused by the bacterial pathogen 
Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri (Xac A, A* and AW) with 
synonyms X. citri pv. citri, or X. citri subsp. citri or X. 
campestris pv. citri or X. smithii subsp. citri; and X. 
axonopodis pv. aurantifolii (Xac B and C) with a synonym 
X. fuscans subsp. aurantifolii, has been found in this state 
and may be prevented, controlled, or eradicated by 
quarantine. 

2. No regulated materials as defined in this Subsection 
shall be moved out of any area of this state that is listed in 
this Subsection as a quarantined area for CC, except as 
provided in this Subsection. 

3. Any person violating this quarantine shall be 
subject to imposition of the remedies and penalties provided 
for in R.S. 3:1653 for any violation of this quarantine. 

4. Quarantined areas in this state include: 
a. the entire parishes of Orleans, St. Bernard, 

Plaquemines, Jefferson, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James 
and St. John; 

b. a declaration of quarantine for CC covering any 
other specific parishes or areas of this state shall be 
published in the official journal of the state and in the 
Louisiana Register. 

F.5. - 6(i)(iv) … 
G. Labeling Requirements for Citrus-Related 

Quarantines 
1. Any citrus nursery stock sold, moved, or distributed 

within an area quarantined for Asian citrus psyllid, citrus 
greening, or citrus canker shall have attached to the article or 
to the container of the article, a permanent and weatherproof 
tag or label in a clear and legible format no less that than 14-
point font bearing the exact words: PROHIBITED FROM 
MOVEMENT OUTSIDE OF THE CITRUS 
QUARANTINE AREAS, PENALTY FOR VIOLATION, 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. For a 
current list of quarantine areas, please go to 
www.ldaf.state.la.us. 

2. Citrus nursery stock that is not in or intended for 
movement within an Asian citrus psyllid, citrus greening or 
citrus canker quarantined area shall not be required to be 
labeled as described in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection. 

3. Citrus nursery stock labeled or tagged according to 
Paragraph 1 of this Subsection that is offered for retail sale 
in an area that is not quarantined for Asian citrus psyllid, 
citrus greening or citrus canker may be subject to stop order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1652. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
LR 11:319 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 40:1308 (July 2014), LR 42:730 (May 2016), LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1703#011 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

and 
Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 

Rice Seed Certification (LAC 7:XIII.749) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 3:1433, the commissioner of 
agriculture and forestry and the Agricultural Chemistry and 
Seed Commission declare an emergency to exist and adopt 
by emergency process the attached Rule relative to the sale 
of rice seed that does not meet current minimum certified 
seed germination standards.  

Due to the historic flooding in the rice production area of 
Louisiana in 2016 during seed harvest and processing, seed 
rice quality has been significantly negatively impacted. As a 
result, the department’s seed testing laboratory has analyzed 
numerous rice seed samples and has confirmed that much of 
the seed rice available to producers for the 2017 planting 
season does not meet the current minimum certified seed 
germination standards established by the Agricultural 
Chemistry and Seed Commission. Therefore, there is a 
severe shortage of rice seed that meets minimum 
germination standards established by current rules.  

The rice industry in Louisiana contributes over 
$500,000,000 to Louisiana’s economy through the sale of 
rice. Without a temporary suspension of current minimum 
certified seed germination standards, a substantial portion of 
that contribution will be lost. Some producers will be forced 
out of business, thereby causing permanent economic loss to 
Louisiana’s rice industry and loss of income to the citizens 
of Louisiana and businesses that depend on the rice industry. 
Such a shortage of available seed creates an imminent peril 
to the welfare of the citizens of Louisiana and to Louisiana’s 
economy. The Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 
has determined that a temporary suspension of the current 
minimum certified seed germination standards is necessary 
to help alleviate, to the extent possible, the shortage of rice 
seed available for planting for the 2017 crop year. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 
February 17, 2017, and will remain in effect 120 days, 
unless renewed by the commissioner of the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, or until permanent rules are 
promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XIII.  Seeds 
Chapter 7. Certification of Specific Crops/Varieties 
Subchapter B. Grain and Row Crop Seeds 
§749. Rice Seed Certification Standards  

(Formerly §185) 
A. - C. … 

* * * 
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D. Temporary Suspension of Certified Rice Seed 
Germination Standards 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 
Chapter to the contrary, the germination percentage for rice 
seed offered for sale, whether foundation, registered, or 
certified shall be 60 percent or above. 

2. The label of all classes of certified rice seed with a 
germination percentage below 80 percent shall show the 
seed to be substandard, in addition to any other labeling 
requirements established by law or regulation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:576 (November 1982), 
amended LR 9:201 (April 1983), LR 9:754 (November 1983), LR 
10:495 (July 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Seed 
Commission, LR 12:825 (December 1986), LR 13:157 (March 
1987), LR 13:233 (April 1987), LR 14:606 (September 1988), LR 
14:694 (October 1988), LR 15:613 (August 1989), LR 19:888 (July 
1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and 
the Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission, LR 39:2724 
(October 2013), amended LR 42:212 (February 2016), LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner  

1703#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Sweet Potato Yield Adjustments (LAC 7:XV.143) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 3:1733 and R.S. 3:1734, the 
commissioner of agriculture and forestry declares an 
emergency to exist and adopts by emergency process the 
attached Rule relative to the adjustment to the sweet potato 
yields for purposes of the sweet potato tax and sweet potato 
fee. Sweet potato growers pay a sweet potato tax of $0.04 
per 50 pound bushel and a fee of $0.06 per bushel. The 
payments are based on an average yield of 175 bushels per 
acre. The Louisiana Sweet Potato Advertising and 
Development Commission determines the average yield 
pursuant to LAC 7:XV.143.D.1.a. 

Louisiana’s 2016 sweet potato crop was devastated by 
adverse weather conditions, especially torrential rain that 
occurred just prior to harvest. The adverse weather caused 
many growers to experience a substantial reduction in the 
yield per acre. The losses to the sweet potato crop and the 
inability to timely harvest the crop has caused a severe 
economic hardship for Louisiana’s sweet potato growers. It 
is necessary to allow sweet potato growers an adjustment 
from the average yield per acre to reflect the reduction in the 
yields per acre experienced by growers in order to avoid 
growers paying excess taxes and fees during a time that they 
are experiencing financial hardship. Failure to allow such an 
adjustment creates a substantial risk of causing growers to 
pay more in taxes and fees than the amount actually due and 
has the potential of forcing growers out of business. Both 

situations create an imminent peril to the welfare of the 
citizens of Louisiana and to Louisiana’s economy, thereby 
making this Emergency Rule necessary. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 
February 16, 2017, and will remain in effect 120 days, 
unless renewed by the commissioner of agriculture and 
forestry, or until permanent rules are promulgated in 
accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantines 
Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter C. Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine 
§143. Fees 

A. - D.2. … 
E. A person who commercially grows, sells, or offers for 

sale sweet potatoes (“grower”) may petition the Louisiana 
Sweet Potato Advertising and Development Commission 
(“commission”) for a yield adjustment on the planted acres 
of the grower’s 2016 sweet potato crop. Adjusted yields will 
range from the average yield of 175 bushels per acre set by 
the commission down to 70 bushels per acre, which is the 
minimum adjusted yield the commission will accept. 

1. A grower requesting a yield adjustment shall submit 
a written request to the commission. 

a. The request shall include: 
 i. the farm name and address; 
 ii. the sweet potato dealer’s permit number; 
 iii. the grower’s name, address, telephone number, 
and e-mail address, if available; 
 iv. the acres planted; 
 v. the total fresh market bushels harvested from 
the 2016 crop; and 
 vi. a brief explanation of the reason for the 
request. 

b. The grower shall sign the written request. The 
written request shall be delivered to the commission through 
mail, fax or other form of actual delivery, on or before 4:30 
p.m. on March 3, 2017. A request will also be deemed to be 
timely when the papers are mailed on or before the due date. 
Timeliness of the mailing shall be shown only by an official 
United States postmark or by official receipt or certificate 
from the United States Postal Service made at the time of 
mailing which indicates the date thereof. A fax shall be 
considered timely only upon proof of actual receipt of the 
transmission. 

2. Each grower who has timely filed a request for an 
adjustment with the commission shall be notified of the date, 
time and place the commission is scheduled to consider the 
request at least 10 days prior to the commission meeting. 
The commission shall not consider a written request that is 
untimely. 

3. Each grower who has timely filed a request for an 
adjustment may be present and speak on his behalf at the 
time the grower’s request is considered by the commission. 

4. The commission shall grant or deny the adjustment 
based on the following factors: 

a. the location of the farm; 
b. the yield per planted acre as compared to the 

average statewide yield per planted acre, as set by the 
commission for 2016; 
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c. the reason given for the request for an 
adjustment; and 

d. any other fact that is relevant to the request for an 
adjustment. 

5. The commission may grant a request for adjustment 
if it finds all of the following. 

a. The actual yield per planted acre for 2016 is less 
than the average yield per planted acre set by the 
commission for 2016. 

b. The decreased yield for 2016 is related to factors 
beyond the grower’s control. 

c. The grower or farm submitting the request owes 
no delinquent or outstanding sweet potato fees, taxes or 
fines, levied prior to the 2016 crop year, to the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry or to the commission. 

6. The denial or granting of the request for an 
adjustment shall be a discretionary decision of the 
commission. 

7. Each grower submitting a timely request for an 
adjustment shall be notified in writing of the commission’s 
decision and the amount of the adjustment in the yield per 
planted acre, if any. 

8. If the request for an adjustment is granted, then the 
amount of both the sweet potato fee and sweet potato tax 
owed by the grower shall be based on the adjusted yield set 
by the commission. 

9. Each grower who submits a timely request for an 
adjustment, regardless of whether that adjustment is granted 
or denied by the commission, shall be entitled to pay his 
sweet potato fee and sweet potato tax without imposition of 
a penalty if he pays the fee within 30 days after receiving 
written notification of the commission's decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1733-1734. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
LR 11:321 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:77 (February 1989), LR 18:705 (July 1992), LR 
27:1178 (August 2001), LR 29:2298 (November 2003), LR 43: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner  

1703#001 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Department of Veterans Affairs 

Military Family Assistance Board 

Military Family Assistance Program  
(LAC 4:VII.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 46:121 et seq., the secretary 
of the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs and the 
Military Family Assistance Board declare that an emergency 
exists and adopts by emergency process the attached rules 
relative to the Military Family Assistance Program. The

Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs, Military 
Assistance Board proposes to amend Chapter 9 to comply 
with changes to R.S. 46:121 et seq. that took effect August 1, 
2016 and process claims for disaster relief that resulted 
therefrom, most of which are related to the great flood of 
August 2016. The Louisiana Military Family Assistance 
Board amended the provisions related to persons eligible to 
apply to for assistance to comply with the changes created 
by Act 185 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. The 
amendments will allow all veterans of the armed forces who 
obtained an honorable discharge to apply for disaster 
assistance from the fund. 

The great flood of August 2016, impacted over 120,000 
Louisiana veterans. The adverse weather conditions, 
especially the torrential rains and flooding that occurred, 
caused many veterans to sustain total property losses. These 
losses have caused a severe economic hardship for 
Louisiana’s veterans. Prior to August 1, 2016 the vast 
majority of these veterans were not eligible to apply for 
assistance to the Military Family Assistance Program 
because they served prior to September 11, 2011. As a result 
of changes made in Act 185 of the 2016 Regular Legislative 
Session, pre-September 11, 2001 veterans became eligible to 
apply for relief from the program. Following the Great Flood 
of August 2016, Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs 
received over 3500 applications for disaster related relief 
from veterans now eligible to receive emergency relief from 
the fund, all of whom sustained severe or total property 
losses as a result of the afore mentioned flood. It is 
imperative that funds be awarded to eligible persons as soon 
as possible in order to assist them with their recovery. 
Failure to allow newly eligible person to access these funds 
creates a substantial risk of causing impacted veterans to 
suffer delays in recovering from the damages caused by the 
flood. This in turn will lengthen their exposure to financial 
and environmental hardships. This situation creates an 
imminent peril to the welfare of the thousands of Louisiana 
veterans impacted by the aforementioned flooding, 
specifically their health and livelihood, thereby making this 
Emergency Rule necessary. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 
February 22, 2017, and will remain in accordance with law. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part VII.  Governor’s Office 
Chapter 9. Veterans affairs 
Subchapter D. Military Family Assistance Program 
§965. Definitions 

A. The following terms as used in these regulations, 
unless the context otherwise requires or unless redefined by 
a particular part hereof, shall have the following meanings. 

Activated Military Personnel or Activated Military 
Person—a person domiciled in Louisiana for civilian 
purposes, names Louisiana as home of record (HOR) for 
military purposes, and who is any of the following:  

a. a reserve component of the United States Army, 
Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, including 
the Louisiana National Guard and called to active federal 
service in excess of 30 days;  
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b. a member of the Louisiana National Guard and 
called to active state service pursuant to R.S. 29:7; 

c. a veteran of the United States Army, Navy, Air 
Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, as defined in 
paragraph (4) of R.S. 46:121. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 
2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 
Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 
§967. Eligibility 

A. … 
B. The activated military person must have served in 

excess of 30 consecutive days of active duty since 
September 11, 2001 or be a veteran of the United States 
Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, as 
defined in paragraph (4) of R.S. 46:121, before the activated 
military person or any family member may submit an 
application for assistance to the Louisiana Military Family 
Assistance Program. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 
2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 
Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 
§969. Application Process 

A. - A.9. … 
10. The applications of activated military personnel 

who served after September 11, 2001 shall be given priority 
during the consideration process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:121 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 
2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 
Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 
§973. Award Amounts 

A. - C.3.d. … 
4. Family members of activated military personnel 

who are listed as missing in action or prisoner of war by the 
U.S. Department of Defense shall be eligible for the lump 
sum award. The activated military person must be listed as 
missing in action or a prisoner of war.  

D. - D.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1608 (June 
2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 
Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 

 
Joey Strickland 
Chairman, Military Family 
Assistance Board  
and 
Secretary, Louisiana Department 
of Veterans Affairs 

1703#036 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Abortion Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.4431) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 48:I.4431 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2175.1 et 
seq. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repealed and replaced the 
provisions governing the licensing standards for abortion 
facilities in order to incorporate the changes imposed by 
legislation, and further revise and clarify those provisions 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 4). 

Act 97 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature increased the time period required for certain 
pre-operative services. Act 563 of the 2016 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature provides that at least 72 hours 
before the abortion, the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
shall be given a copy of certain printed information, 
including resources, programs and services for pregnant 
women who have a diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality, 
and given printed information about resources, programs and 
services for infants and children born with disabilities, as 
well as other related matters. Act 593 of the 2016 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides for the 
disposal, by interment or cremation, of fetal remains and 
designates procedures for giving patients options for 
arrangements. The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing outpatient 
abortion clinics in order to comply with the provisions of 
Acts 97, 563 and 593 (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, 
Number 12).  

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the December 3, 2016 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to protect the health and 
welfare of Louisiana citizens by assuring the health and 
safety of women seeking health care services at licensed 
abortion facilities.  

Effective April 3, 2017, the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the licensing standards for abortion facilities. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities 
Subchapter C. Pre-Operative, Intra-Operative, and Post-

Operative Procedures 
§4431. Screening and Pre-Operative Services 

A. - E.1. ... 
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2. Requirements 
a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours prior to the pregnant woman having any part 
of an abortion performed or induced, and prior to the 
administration of any anesthesia or medication in 
preparation for the abortion on the pregnant woman, the 
physician who is to perform the abortion or a qualified 
person who is the physician’s agent shall comply with all of 
the following requirements: 
 i. perform an obstetric ultrasound on the pregnant 
woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which 
depicts the active ultrasound images so that the pregnant 
woman may view them and make audible the fetal heartbeat, 
if present, in a quality consistent with current medical 
practice. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to 
prevent the pregnant woman from not listening to the sounds 
detected by the fetal heart monitor, or from not viewing the 
images displayed on the ultrasound screen; 
 ii. provide a simultaneous and objectively 
accurate oral explanation of what the ultrasound is depicting, 
in a manner understandable to a layperson, which shall 
include the presence and location of the unborn child within 
the uterus and the number of unborn children depicted, the 
dimensions of the unborn child, and the presence of cardiac 
activity if present and viewable, along with the opportunity 
for the pregnant woman to ask questions; 
 iii. offer the pregnant woman the option of 
requesting an ultrasound photograph or print of her unborn 
child of a quality consistent with current standard medical 
practice that accurately portrays, to the extent feasible, the 
body of the unborn child including limbs, if present and 
viewable; 
 iv. from a form that shall be produced and made 
available by the department, staff will orally read the 
statement on the form to the pregnant woman in the 
ultrasound examination room prior to beginning the 
ultrasound examination, and obtain from the pregnant 
woman a copy of a completed, signed, and dated form; and 
 v. retain copies of the election form and 
certification prescribed above. The certification shall be 
placed in the medical file of the woman and shall be kept by 
the outpatient abortion facility for a period of not less than 
seven years. If the woman is a minor, the certification shall 
be placed in the medical file of the minor and kept for at 
least ten years from the time the minor reaches the age of 
majority. The woman's medical files shall be kept 
confidential as provided by law. 

b. If the pregnant woman certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person who is the physician’s agent shall 
comply with all of the requirements of §4431.E.2.a at least 
24 hours prior to the woman having any part of an abortion 
performed or induced. 

c. - e. Repealed. 
E.3. - G.1. ... 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 
least 72 hours before the abortion the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or the referring physician shall provide 
informed consent to the pregnant woman seeking an 

abortion, pursuant to all laws, rules and regulations 
regarding informed consent. The informed consent shall be 
communicated both orally and in-person, and in writing, and 
shall be provided in a private room. Documentation of all 
such informed consent provided shall be maintained in the 
patient’s medical record. 

b.  If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or the referring physician shall comply with all of the 
requirements of §4431.G.1 at least 24 hours prior to the 
abortion. 

1.c. - 3. ... 
a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours before a scheduled abortion the physician who 
is to perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a 
qualified person shall inform the pregnant woman seeking 
an abortion, orally and in-person that: 
 i. - iv. ... 

b. If the woman certifies in writing that she 
currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 
outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 
perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 
the referring physician, or a qualified person shall comply 
with all of the requirements of §4431.G.3 at least 24 hours 
prior to the abortion. 

4. ... 
a. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of the printed materials, pursuant to any applicable state 
laws, rules, and regulations, by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a qualified 
person. These printed materials shall include any printed 
materials necessary for a voluntary and informed consent, 
pursuant to R.S. 40:1061.17. However, if the pregnant 
woman certifies in writing that she currently lives 150 miles 
or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility 
that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a 
copy of the printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an 
elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to 
perform the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 
 i. - NOTE. Repealed. 

b. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 
pregnant woman or minor female considering an abortion 
shall be given a copy of the department’s Point of Rescue 
pamphlet and any other materials described in R.S. 
40:1061.16 by the physician who is to perform the abortion 
or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. However, if the pregnant woman or 
minor female considering an abortion certifies in writing that 
she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 
licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 
to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 
pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these printed 
materials at least 72 hours prior to an elective abortion 
procedure by the physician who is to perform the abortion or 
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a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 
except in the case of medical emergency defined by 
applicable state laws. 
 i. The physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the woman, or minor female seeking an abortion, such 
printed materials individually and in a private room for the 
purpose of ensuring that she has an adequate opportunity to 
ask questions and discuss her individual circumstances. 
 ii. The physician or qualified person shall obtain 
the signature of the woman or minor female seeking an 
abortion on a form certifying that the printed materials were 
given to the woman or minor female. 
 iii. In the case of a minor female considering an 
abortion, if a parent accompanies the minor female to the 
appointment, the physician or qualified person shall provide 
to the parent copies of the same materials given to the 
female. 
 iv. The signed certification form shall be kept 
within the medical record of the woman or minor female for 
a period of at least seven years. 

c. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 
pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 
of a printed informational document including resources, 
programs and services for pregnant women who have a 
diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality and resources, 
programs and services for infants and children born with 
disabilities. However, if the pregnant woman certifies in 
writing that she currently lives 150 miles or more from the 
nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing 
and able to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s 
stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these 
printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an elective 
abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform the 
abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 
40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

d. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion is 
unable to read the materials, the materials shall be read to 
her. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion asks 
questions concerning any of the information or materials, 
answers shall be provided to her in her own language. 

NOTE: The provisions of this Section requiring a physician or 
qualified person to provide required printed materials to a 
woman considering an abortion shall become effective 30 
days after the department publishes a notice of the availability 
of such materials. 

5. ... 
a. Prior to the abortion, the outpatient abortion 

facility shall ensure the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 
has certified, in writing on a form provided by the 
department that the information and materials required were 
provided at least 72 hours prior to the abortion, or at least 24 
hours prior to the abortion in the case of a woman who has 
given prior certification in writing that she currently lives 
150 miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient 
abortion facility that is willing and able to perform the 
abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. This 
form shall be maintained in the woman’s medical record. 

b. ... 

c. The pregnant woman seeking an abortion is not 
required to pay any amount for the abortion procedures until 
the 72-hour period has expired, or until expiration of the 24-
hour period applicable in the case of a woman who has given 
prior certification in writing that she currently lives 150 
miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion 
facility that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 
particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. 

6. - 7.b. ... 
8. Disposition of Fetal Remains 

a. Each physician who performs or induces an 
abortion which does not result in a live birth shall ensure that 
the remains of the fetus are disposed of by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq., and the provisions of LAC 51:XXVI.102 of the 
Sanitary Code. 

b. Prior to an abortion, the physician shall orally 
and in writing inform the pregnant woman seeking an 
abortion in the licensed abortion facility that the pregnant 
woman has the following options: 
 i. the option to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or 
cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 
et seq.; or 
 ii. the option to have the outpatient abortion 
facility/physician make the arrangements for the disposition 
and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or cremation, 
in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et seq. 

c. The pregnant woman shall sign a consent form 
attesting that she has been informed of these options, and 
shall indicate on the form whether she wants to make 
arrangements for the disposition of fetal remains or whether 
she wants the facility to make arrangements for the 
disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains. 

d. The requirements of §4431.G.8 regarding 
dispositions of fetal remains, shall not apply to abortions 
induced by the administration of medications when the 
evacuation of any human remains occurs at a later time and 
not in the presence of the inducing physician or at the 
facility in which the physician administered the inducing 
medications. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:700 (April 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency 
Rule is available for review by interested parties at parish 
Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#037 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Community Choices Waiver 
Electronic Visit Verification 

(LAC 50:XXI.9305) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services adopt 
LAC 50:XXI.9305 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, 
through collaborative efforts, provide enhanced long-term 
services and supports to individuals who are elderly or have 
a disability through the Community Choices Waiver 
program. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the Community Choices Waiver in 
order to adopt requirements which mandate that providers of 
personal assistant services must utilize the electronic visit 
verification (EVV) system designated by the department for 
automated scheduling, time and attendance tracking, and 
billing for certain home and community-based services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 3). This Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the April 1, 
2015 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 
the health and welfare of Community Choices Waiver 
participants by assuring that they receive the services they 
need and to ensure that these services are rendered in an 
efficient and cost-effective manner. 

Effective March 27, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions governing 
the Community Choices Waiver to establish requirements for 
the use of an EVV system. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 7.  Community Choices Waiver 

Chapter 93. Provider Responsibilities 
§9305. Electronic Visit Verification 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2015, 
Community Choices Waiver providers shall use the 
electronic visit verification (EVV) system designated by the 
department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 
tracking, and billing for certain home and community-based 
services.  

B. Reimbursement shall only be made to providers with 
documented use of the EVV system. The services that 
require use of the EVV system will be published in the 
Community Choices Waiver provider manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#038 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesGraduate Medical Education 
Supplemental Payments Pool Elimination (LAC 50:V.1331) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:V.1331 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 
and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to adopt provisions in order to continue 
medical education payments to state hospitals, children’s 
specialty hospitals and acute care hospitals classified as 
teaching hospitals when the hospitals are reimbursed by 
prepaid risk-bearing MCOs for inpatient hospital services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing inpatient hospital services to eliminate 
the total supplemental payments pool for graduate medical 
education payments to qualifying acute care hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 43, Number 3). The department 
has now determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions of the March 1, 2017 Emergency Rule in order to
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clarify these provisions and to correct a technical error to 
assure that the provisions are promulgated in a clear and 
concise manner. This action is being taken to avoid a budget 
deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. 

Effective March 2, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
of the March 1, 2017 Emergency Rule governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
to eliminate the pool for supplemental payments for graduate 
medical education. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - E. Repealed. 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments for inpatient services 
which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing managed 
care organization (MCO) shall be paid monthly by Medicaid 
as interim lump sum payments.  

1. Hospitals with qualifying medical education 
programs shall submit a listing of inpatient claims paid each 
month by each MCO. 

a. Qualifying Medical Education 
Programsgraduate medical education, paramedical 
education, and nursing schools. 

2. Qualifying hospitals must have a direct medical 
education add-on component included in their prospective 
Medicaid per diem rates as of January 31, 2012 which was 
carved-out of the per diem rate reported to the MCOs. 

3. Monthly payments shall be calculated by 
multiplying the number of qualifying inpatient days 
submitted by the medical education costs component 
included in each hospital’s fee-for-service prospective per 
diem rate. Monthly payment amounts shall be verified by the 
department semi-annually using reports of MCO covered 
days generated from encounter data. Payment adjustments or 
recoupments shall be made as necessary based on the MCO 
encounter data reported to the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008), amended LR 38:2773 
(November 2012), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#007 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesGraduate Medical Education 
Supplemental Payments Pool Elimination (LAC 50:V.1331) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:V.1331 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 
and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to adopt provisions in order to continue 
medical education payments to state hospitals, children’s 
specialty hospitals and acute care hospitals classified as 
teaching hospitals when the hospitals are reimbursed by 
prepaid risk-bearing MCOs for inpatient hospital services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing inpatient 
hospital services to eliminate the total supplemental 
payments pool for graduate medical education payments to 
qualifying acute care hospitals. This action is being taken to 
avoid a budget deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. It 
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $5,000,000 for state fiscal year 2016-2017. 

Effective March 1, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to eliminate the pool for supplemental 
payments for graduate medical education. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008), amended LR 38:2773 
(November 2012), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#005 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesHigh Medicaid Hospitals 
Supplemental Payments Pool Reduction (LAC 50:V.953) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:V.953 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 
and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
(SFY) 2014, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services to reduce the total supplemental 
payments pool for non-rural, non-state hospitals classified as 
high Medicaid hospitals, and changed the frequency of the 
payments (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 1). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
now proposes to amend the provisions governing inpatient 
hospital services to reduce the total supplemental payments 
pool for non-rural, non-state hospitals classified as high 
Medicaid hospitals. This action is being taken to avoid a 
budget deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $999,000 for state fiscal year 2016-2017. 

Effective March 1, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-rural, 
non-state inpatient hospital services to reduce the high 
Medicaid supplemental payments pool. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - S. … 
T. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 

2017, supplemental payments to non-rural, non-state acute 
care hospitals that qualify as a high Medicaid hospital shall 
be annual. The amount appropriated for annual supplemental 
payments shall be reduced to $1,000. Each qualifying 
hospital’s annual supplemental payment shall be calculated 
based on the pro rata share of the reduced appropriation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895, 1896 
(September 2009), repromulgated LR 35:2182 (October 2009), 
amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2561 (November 2010), 
LR 37:2161 (July 2011), LR 39:3095 (November 2013), LR 
39:3297 (December 2013), LR 40:312 (February 2014), 
repromulgated LR 40:1939, 1940 (October 2014), LR 41:133 
(January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Intellectual Disabilities 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:VII.32917) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:VII.32917 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
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period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing provides Medicaid reimbursement to non-state 
intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities (ICFs/ID) for services rendered to Medicaid 
recipients. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ICFs/ID in order to adopt provisions to 
establish supplemental Medicaid payments for services 
provided to Medicaid recipients residing in privately-owned 
facilities that enter into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the department (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, 
Number 8). The Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the August 1, 2015 Emergency 
Rule to establish upper payment limits for supplemental 
payments to private intermediate care facilities entering into 
a cooperative endeavor agreement with the department to 
provide a privately operated living setting to residents 
discharging from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center, 
hereafter referred to as Pinecrest (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 42, Number 7). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the July 20, 2016 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to secure new 
federal funding and to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient provider 
participation.  

Effective March 21, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
ICFs/ID. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32917. Supplemental Payments 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2015, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 
qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 
the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2016, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 
qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/ID) to provide a 
privately operated living setting to residents discharging 
from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 
the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department to provide a privately 
operated living setting, with an end goal of increased 
community placement opportunities, to residents of 
Pinecrest who desire to discharge and have been deemed 
ready for discharge by their interdisciplinary teams, and 

meet the admission protocol/criteria of the contracted party 
but have not been successful in securing a placement with a 
private provider. 

C. Supplemental payments for services rendered to 
Medicaid recipients shall not exceed the facility’s upper 
payment limit (UPL) pursuant to 42 CFR 447.272. The UPL 
will be based on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services’ approved ICF transitional rate of $329.26 
including provider fee. 

D. The supplemental payment will be the difference 
between the actual Medicaid payment and what would have 
been paid if the ICF/ID was paid up to the UPL amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#039 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Personal Care ServicesLong-Term 
Standards for Participation 

Electronic Visit Verification 
(LAC 50:XV.12909) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services amend 
LAC 50:XV.12909 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, 
through collaborative efforts, provide enhanced long-term 
personal care services and supports to individuals with 
functional impairments. 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing long-term personal care 
services (LT-PCS) in order to adopt requirements which 
mandate that LT-PCS providers must utilize the electronic 
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visit verification (EVV) system designated by the 
department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 
tracking, and billing for long-term personal care services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 3). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the April 1, 2015 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of persons with a functional impairment by assuring 
that they receive the services they need, and to ensure that 
these services are rendered in an efficient and cost-effective 
manner. 

Effective March 27, 2017, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions governing 
long-term personal care services to establish requirements 
for the use of an EVV system. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long Term Care 
§12909. Standards for Participation 

A. - D.2. ... 
E. Electronic Visit Verification. Effective for dates of 

service on or after April, 1, 2015, providers of long-term 
personal care services shall use the electronic visit 
verification (EVV) system designated by the department for 
automated scheduling, time and attendance tracking, and 
billing for certain home and community-based services. 

1. Reimbursement shall only be made to providers 
with documented use of the EVV system.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2832 
(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2579 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:2451 (November 2009), LR 
39:2508 (September 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#040 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Bait Gulf Menhaden Season2017 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953(H), 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to employ 
emergency procedures, effective March 2, 2017, to establish 
seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:6(25)(a) and 
56:326.3, which provide that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission may set seasons for saltwater finfish, and 
56:325.6, which provides for an extended bait gulf 
menhaden season outside of the regular commercial 
menhaden season, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby sets the following season for the commercial harvest 
of bait gulf menhaden in Louisiana state waters: 

The commercial season for the harvest of bait gulf 
menhaden taken within Louisiana state waters or landed in 
Louisiana shall open at 12:01 a.m., March 15, 2017. The 
harvest of bait gulf menhaden shall not exceed the 
established quota of 3,000 metric tons for the 2016-17 bait 
menhaden season.  

The commission also grants authority to the Secretary of 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to modify the 
season for the commercial harvest of bait gulf menhaden as 
needed to effectively implement the provisions herein upon 
notification to the chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission. 

 
Chad J. Courville 
Chairman 

1703#016 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Honey Bees, Apiaries, and Fire Ants 
(LAC 7:XV.Chapters 5 and 7) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(“department”) has amended LAC 7:XV.501-519 regarding 
honey bees and apiaries. The Rule also repeals in its entirety 
LAC 7:XV.701-725 regarding fire ants.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantines 
Chapter 5. Honey Bees and Apiaries 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.Chapter 25) 
§501. Definitions 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2501) 
A. For purposes of this Chapter, the following terms 

shall have the meaning hereafter ascribed to them, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Agent—an authorized representative of the state 
entomologist and/or the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

Apiary or Yard—the assembly of one or more colonies 
of bees at a single location. 

Apiary Law and Regulation—the provisions in title 3 of 
the Louisiana Revised Statutes regulating apiaries and the 
regulations promulgated in Title 7 of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code regulating apiaries. 

Beekeeper—an individual, firm or corporation, who 
owns or has under his control one or more colonies of bees. 

Certificate of Inspection—a document issued after 
authorized personnel have inspected bees or regulated 
articles prior to, and for the purpose of, the movement of 
such bees or regulated articles. 

Colony or Hive—an aggregate of bees consisting 
principally of workers, but having, when perfect, one queen 
and at times many drones; including brood, combs, honey, 
and the receptacles inhabited by the bees. 

Comb Package—a package of bees shipped or moved 
on a comb containing honey and/or brood, with or without a 
queen. 

Combless Package—a package of bees shipped or 
moved without comb, with or without a queen. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of agriculture and 
forestry. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry. 

Disease or Pest—any infectious condition of bees 
which is detrimental to the honey bee industry, including, 
but not limited to, American foulbrood. 

Frame—a wooden or plastic case for holding 
honeycomb. 

Infested—the presence of any disease or pest of bees. 

Nucleus—bees, brood, combs and honey in or 
inhabiting a small hive or portion of a standard hive or other 
dwelling place. 

Permit—a registration certificate issued by the 
department to a beekeeper upon registration in accordance 
with the apiary laws and regulations. 

Person—an individual, firm, corporation or other legal 
entity. 

Quarantine—an official act of the state entomologist 
which prohibits or limits movement of bees or regulated 
articles when necessary to control, eradicate or prevent the 
introduction, spread or dissemination of any and all diseases 
of bees and all other pests of bees. A quarantine is local 
when it covers specific apiaries, colonies, bees or regulated 
articles, or another specific location. A quarantine is 
geographic when it covers a general area. 

Quarantine Area—any area of the state designated by 
the state entomologist as having regulated articles which are 
or may be infected by a disease and/or infested with a pest, 
which presents a danger to other colonies of bees. 

Queen—a fully developed female bee, capable of being 
fertilized. 

Regulated Areas—geographical areas outside of the 
state of Louisiana which have been designated by the U.S. 
Department of Agriculture, Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, or local governmental officials as 
infested states or counties. Any state or county which fails to 
conduct annual inspections in accordance with inspection 
standards adopted by the Louisiana Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry shall be presumed to be a regulated 
area. 

Regulated Articles—colonies of bees, nuclei, comb or 
combless packages of bees, queens, used or second-hand 
beekeeping fixtures or equipment, and anything that has 
been used in operating an apiary. 

State Entomologist—the entomologist of the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

Super—a standard frame hive body (all depths). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2302 and R.S. 3:2303. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:928 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:510 
(March 2017).  
§503. Restrictions on Movement of Bees or Regulated 

Articles into Louisiana 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2511) 

A. Movement of bees or regulated articles from 
regulated areas into Louisiana may require prior written 
authorization issued by the commissioner, state entomologist 
or department. 

B. If the state entomologist or his agents find that any 
bees and/or regulated articles have been brought into this 
state in violation of any laws and/or regulations governing 
apiaries, the bees and/or regulated articles may be 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 511

immediately placed under stop order until released by the 
commissioner or state entomologist. Upon inspection, the 
bees or regulated articles may be placed under quarantine. 
Any violation of stop order or quarantine shall constitute a 
violation of the apiary law and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2308 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:929 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:510 
(March 2017).  
§505. Interstate Movement of Supers and Frames 

Used in Shipping Honey 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2513) 

A. Class A permit holders, by written authorization of the 
commissioner or state entomologist, may move supers filled 
with frames and/or honey into and out of the state provided 
that each such super is moved free of bees and under a bee 
proof enclosure. Each load of supers must bear a brand or 
label containing the name, address and telephone number of 
the shipper or mover. 

B. The department shall be notified, either in advance of 
or at the time of arrival, of the number of such supers filled 
with frames and/or honey being moved into the state. The 
department shall also be provided the name, address and 
telephone number of the recipient of each super if the 
recipient is not the class A permit holder to whom written 
authorization was issued. 

C. All such supers filled with frames and/or honey shall 
be subject to inspection by authorized department personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 
(March 2017). 
§507. Annual Registration and Designation of Class A 

and B Permits 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2503) 

A. Beekeepers will be designated as class A or class B 
permit holders. To be eligible for a class A permit, an 
applicant must either: 

1. be domiciled in this state; or 
2. have held a class B permit for three consecutive 

violation-free years. If violations are incurred at any time 
during this three-year period, the class B permit holder will 
automatically be placed back at year one, pending payment 
of any fines levied against him by the commissioner. 

B. The holder of a class A permit may do the following: 
1. keep or move bees within Louisiana in new or used 

beekeeping equipment; 
2. apply to the department for an inspection for the 

purpose of moving bees; 
3 move bees out of Louisiana upon receiving a 

certificate of inspection from the department; and 
4. move bees into Louisiana as long as bees are 

accompanied by an inspection certificate from the state of 
origin. 

C. The holder of a class B permit may do the following: 
1. keep or move bees within Louisiana as long as the 

bees or equipment are established in Louisiana and are 
obtained from a beekeeper registered with the department; 

2. keep or move bees obtained as a combless package 
that have been certified from the state of origin into 
Louisiana and move new, but not used, beekeeping 
equipment into Louisiana; and 

3. apply to the department for a certificate of 
inspection for the purpose of determining the general health 
of the bees and to establish that the bees are not in violation 
of any apiary laws or regulations. This certificate of 
inspection will not confer authority on a class B permit 
holder to move bees. 

D. The holder of a class B permit shall do the following: 
1. maintain his yard or apiary a minimum of two miles 

from any other bee yard or apiary for three consecutive 
violation-free years. However, any registered beekeeper who 
owns property may locate his or her own apiary anywhere 
on that property. The holder of a class B permit must be able 
to demonstrate that he made reasonable efforts to ascertain 
and ensure that his bee yard or apiary would not be set up 
within a two mile radius of an existing bee yard or apiary. 
The holder of a class B permit may move his yard or apiary 
within two miles of an existing yard or apiary if the owner of 
the existing apiary gives written permission; 

2. provide the department with a map and the GPS 
coordinates of his bee yard or apiary every year at the time 
when the bees are registered with the department; and 

3. apply for an inspection of the bees and be inspected 
for three consecutive years and be found free of any 
regulated pests of diseases during those years. 

E. Permits issued for registration shall not allow the 
holder to move bees or regulated articles as is provided for 
with a certificate of inspection. 

F. Failure to register colonies of bees in the state of 
Louisiana is a violation of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2305 and R.S. 2:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 
(March 2017). 
§509. Authority to Enter Premises 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2505) 
A. For the purpose of ascertaining whether bees or 

regulated articles may have been or are being transported in 
violation of the apiary law or regulations, authorized 
personnel may enter onto property in the state where 
apiaries, bees or regulated articles are located, or are 
reasonably believed to be located, to determine if colonies or 
apiaries located on the property have been registered and are 
in compliance with all other apiary laws and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2308 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
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Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 
(March 2017). 
§511. Applications for Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2507) 
A. Beekeepers who desire certificates of inspection 

authorizing the movement of bees and/or regulated articles 
shall make application for inspection on a form that will be 
furnished by the department prior to moving the bees and/or 
regulated articles. 

B. The applicant must furnish the department with a map 
showing the location of the bees and/or regulated articles to 
be moved. If the bees or regulated articles are at one or more 
apiaries, then a map showing each apiary where the bees or 
regulated articles are located must be submitted along with 
the application. Any relocation of any bees or regulated 
articles that are scheduled to be moved shall be provided to 
the department prior to or as soon as possible after the 
relocation.  

C. The intrastate relocation of bees or regulated articles 
shall not require a certificate of inspection unless the bees or 
regulated articles are located in an area under a geographic 
or local quarantine or are under stop order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2307 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 
(March 2017). 
§513. Issuance and Use of Certificates of Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2509) 
A. No certificate of inspection shall be issued by the 

department for the movement of bees or regulated articles 
unless the bees or regulated articles come from apiaries that: 

1. are not under a geographic or local quarantine or a 
stop order; 

2. have been inspected at least once in the twelve 
months prior to the date of application for a certificate of 
inspection; 

3. are free of American foulbrood infection; and 
4. have effective control of any other disease or pest, 

if such an infestation is present. 
B. Certificates of inspection shall not be issued to cover 

the shipment or movement of bees and/or regulated articles 
from an area that has been quarantined on account of 
American foulbrood infection until it has been determined 
by state entomologist that the American foul-brood 
infestation has been destroyed.  

C. The issuance of a certificate of inspection by the 
department is discretionary if the applicant is not registered 
with the department, the colony or apiary to be inspected is 
not registered with the department, the applicant owes 
outstanding fines or fees to the department, the apiaries are 
not properly marked, or if the applicant is otherwise not in 
compliance with the apiary laws and regulations. 

D. No certificate of inspection issued by the department 
shall be used to move bees or regulated articles from any 
apiary or other location not listed on the certificate of 
inspection. 

E. All hives shall have removable tops and frames 
allowing inspection at all depths. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2306, R.S. 3:2303, and R.S. 3:2307. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 
(March 2017). 
§515. Quarantines  

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2515) 
A. As an exercise of the full and plenary power granted 

by statute to deal with all diseases and pests of bees the 
commissioner or the state entomologist may declare and 
enforce a geographic quarantine of any area of the state or 
from any regulated area when necessary to control, 
eradicate, or prevent the introduction, spread, or 
dissemination of a disease or pest. 

1. A geographic quarantine shall contain a concise 
statement of the facts supporting the declaration of 
quarantine, the geographical area of quarantine, the date the 
quarantine is to begin, the objectives of the quarantine, the 
prohibitions and restrictions imposed by the quarantine, and 
any other special provisions. 

2. The movement of bees or regulated articles from 
any quarantined area into non-quarantined areas of the state 
is prohibited except as provided by the terms of the 
geographic quarantine or by special permit of the 
commissioner or the state entomologist obtained prior to 
movement. 

3. A geographic quarantine may be amended, lifted, or 
modified by written declaration of the commissioner or state 
entomologist. 

4. A geographic quarantine and any amendment, 
lifting, or modification of such quarantine shall go into effect 
immediately upon being declared unless a later effective date 
is stated.  

5. A geographic quarantine and any amendment to or 
lifting or modification of a geographic quarantine shall be 
published in the next available edition of the Louisiana 
Register. 

B. The commissioner or the state entomologist may 
impose a local quarantine on specific apiaries, colonies, bees 
or regulated articles, or other specific location when 
necessary to control, eradicate, or prevent the introduction, 
spread, or dissemination of a disease or pest. 

1. A local quarantine shall contain a concise statement 
of the facts supporting the declaration of quarantine, the 
beekeeper, the specific apiaries, colonies, bees or regulated 
articles, or location being quarantined, the date the 
quarantine is to begin, the prohibitions and restrictions 
imposed by the quarantine, and any other special provisions. 

2. The movement of bees or regulated articles into or 
out of any apiary or location subject to a local quarantine is 
prohibited except as provided by the terms of the local 
quarantine or by special permit of the commissioner or the 
state entomologist obtained prior to movement. 

3. A local quarantine may be amended, lifted, or 
modified by written declaration of the commissioner or state 
entomologist. 
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4. A local quarantine and any amendment, lifting, or 
modification of such quarantine shall go into effect 
immediately upon being declared unless a later effective date 
is stated.  

5. A local quarantine and any amendment, lifting, or 
modification of such quarantine does not need to be 
published in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2308, R.S. 3:2304 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 
(March 2017). 
§517. Eradication Measures  

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2517) 
A. All persons who know of or suspect an infestation or 

infection of any bees or regulated articles with any disease 
or pest shall immediately report such information to the 
department.  

B. All colonies of bees infected with American 
foulbrood shall be destroyed by burning the frames, bees and 
combs in the presence of or by an agent or specialist of the 
department. Hive bodies and top and bottom boards saved 
from infected colonies shall be moved from the yard during 
the burning process or by a time prescribed by agents of the 
department and are to be scorched or properly treated to 
remove possible sources of reinfestation before re-use. 
Failure to adhere to this requirement shall result in 
destruction of all infected equipment including hive bodies, 
top and bottom boards. 

C. Nuclei exposed to American foulbrood infection by 
the transfer of combs with brood or bees from an infected 
colony or yard shall be destroyed by burning. 

D. If any apiary or yard of bees has 4 percent or less 
American foulbrood infestation, as noted below, the infected 
colony(ies) shall be burned immediately and a stop order 
issued. This shall mean that a second inspection shall be 
made within 21-30 days to insure control of the disease. 
Where a second inspection is required, colonies shall not be 
moved except under special permit issued by the state 
entomologist. 

 
Colonies in Apiary or Yard AFB Infected Colony 

01-25 1 
26-50 2 
51-75 3 

75 or more 4 

 
1. If over 4 percent of the colonies, but not more than 

four colonies in the case of over 100 colonies, in an apiary or 
yard are found to be infested with American foulbrood, the 
colonies shall be burned immediately and the apiary or yard 
shall be placed under a 21-30 day quarantine, during such 
time no drugs will be allowed to be fed to the bees. If after 
21-30 days an inspection shows that the apiary or yard is 
found free from American foulbrood infestation, the 
quarantine shall be lifted. However, if American foulbrood is 
again found, an additional 21-30 day quarantine period shall 
be enforced and infested colonies shall be burned 
immediately. An additional 60-day quarantine shall be 

enforced on any quarantined apiary or yard found to be 
treated with drugs to mask the infection. 

E. All colonies of bees found infected with European 
foulbrood shall be requeened or treated within 30 days after 
infection is found. European foulbrood found in excess of 4 
percent upon second inspection shall be quarantined until the 
disease is under control. 

F. All other bee diseases and/or pests found that are 
considered detrimental to the honeybee industry shall be 
treated as prescribed by the state entomologist or his 
designee for the control of same. Bees or regulated articles 
infested with any pest or infected with any disease shall be 
subject to being placed under a quarantine and treated as 
determined by the commissioner and state entomologist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2308, R.S. 3:2304 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 
(March 2017). 
§519. Penalties and Adjudicatory Proceedings 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2519) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2310 and R.S. 3:2303. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 
2014), repealed by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 
(March 2017). 
Chapter 7. Control of Fire Ants 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.Chapter 27) 
§701. Authority 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2701) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 
2017). 
§703. Definitions of Words, Terms and Phrases 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2703) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 
2017). 
§705. Scouting, Inspection, Control and Eradication 

Authority 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2705) 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 
2017). 
§707. Quarantined Area 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2707) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2353 and R.S. 3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§709. Regulated Products 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2709) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2353 and R.S. 3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§711. Conditions Governing Movement of Regulated 

Products 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2711) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§713. Conditions Governing the Issuance of 

Certificates, Limited Permits and Dealer-
Carrier Agreements 
(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2713) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§715. Assembly of Articles for Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2715) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§717. Cancellation of Certificates or Limited Permits 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2717) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§719. Waiver of Liability 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2719) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§721. Shipments for Scientific Purposes 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2721) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§723. Penalties 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2723) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2354 and R.S. 3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 
§725. Effective Date 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2725) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 
and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of
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Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 
2017). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1703#046 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Placing of Advertising or Sponsorship Signs  
on Department Assets (LAC 7:V.3101) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(“department”) has enacted rules regarding the placing of 
advertising signs on department-owned property. R.S. 3:6, 
enacted by Act 70 of the 2016 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, provides that the department may 
“authorize the placement, erection, and maintenance of 
advertising and sponsorship signs on immovable property, 
improvements on immovable property, vehicles, vessels, 
airplanes, and assets of the department.” R.S. 3:6 further 
authorizes the department to “establish appropriate and 
reasonable fees and promulgate rules and regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to 
implement the provisions of this Section.” 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part V.  Advertising, Marketing and Processing 
Chapter 31. Placing of Advertising or Sponsorship 

Signs on Department Assets 
§3101. Advertising or Sponsorship Signs on 

Department Assets 
A. Purpose 

1. The purpose of this Rule is to establish procedures 
and guidelines within the department for allowing certain 
limited types of advertising and sponsorship signs on high-
visibility assets owned or controlled by the department to 
raise revenue to defray costs of departmental services. 

2. The display of advertising or sponsorship signs on 
departmental assets shall not constitute an endorsement by 
the department of any of the products, services or messages 
of the advertiser or sponsor. 

3. Advertisement or sponsorship signs may be placed 
on immovable property, improvements on immovable 
property, vehicles, vessels, airplanes, and assets of the 
department, including but not limited to websites, 
pamphlets, brochures, and other outreach, communications, 
and educational materials. 

B. Solicitation, Selection and Contracting 
1. The department may issue solicitations to secure 

contracts to determine the market potential for 
advertisements or sponsorships or to place advertisements or 
sponsorship signs on department assets. 

2. The solicitation responses will be reviewed by a 
three person committee appointed by the commissioner, and 
the most suitable proposals, as determined by the committee, 
may be selected. 

3. The committee shall consider the following criteria 
before entering into a sponsorship agreement:  

a. whether the sponsorship is consistent with the 
goals, objectives, and mission of the department and the 
current priorities that support these goals, objectives, and 
mission; and 

b. the importance of the sponsorship to the mission 
of the department; and 

c. the extent and prominence of the public display 
of sponsorship; and 

d. aesthetic characteristics of the public display of 
sponsorship; and 

e. the level of support provided by the sponsor; and 
f. the cooperation necessary from the department to 

implement the sponsorship; and 
g. any inconsistencies between the department’s 

policies and the known policies of the potential sponsor; and 
h. other factors that might undermine public 

confidence in the department’s impartiality or interfere with 
the efficient delivery of department services or operations, 
including, but not limited to, current or potential conflicts of 
interest, or perception of a conflict of interest, between the 
sponsor and department employees, officials, or affiliates; 
and the potential for the sponsorship to tarnish the state’s 
standing among its citizens or otherwise impair the ability of 
the state to govern its citizens. 

4. The committee has the discretion to make 
reasonable recommendations to the commissioner 
concerning the types of advertising or sponsorship signs that 
may be displayed utilizing the criteria established herein. 

5. The commissioner shall have final discretion 
regarding which recommendations and solicitations are 
selected. Selections shall be made for those advertisements 
or sponsorships that do not impact or infringe upon the 
image or reputation of the department. 

6. The amount of the approved financial or in-kind 
support is at the discretion of the department. 

7. The department may limit the number and type of 
assets available for advertising or sponsorship displays. 

8. The department may limit the authorization to 
advertise or place sponsorship signs among the department’s 
divisions, sections, programs and initiatives. 

9. The department may limit the terms and conditions 
of the contract with an advertiser or sponsor. 

10. Sponsorship agreements shall include a termination 
clause giving the department the right to tend such 
agreement at any time based on any of the following: 

a. safety concerns; 
b. a determination that the sponsorship agreement 

or acknowledgement is not in the public interest; or 
c. for the convenience of the department. 

C. Guidelines for Content for Advertising and 
Sponsorship Signs 

1. Only commercial advertising or sponsorships will 
be accepted. The advertisement or sponsorship content shall 
only include content that promotes or informs a commercial 
transaction. 

2. No content promoting illegal activity or obscene, 
vulgar or offensive conduct shall be allowed. 

3. No content that demeans or disparages individuals 
or groups shall be allowed. 
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4. No political or religious advertising or sponsorships 
shall be allowed. 

5. No advertising or sponsorship signs of adult 
oriented products shall be allowed.  

6. Advertising or sponsorship signs of firearms and 
other means authorized in the lawful taking of game in 
Louisiana may be allowed. 

7. The advertising or sponsorships should not be so 
controversial that it can promote vandalism of advertising or 
sponsorship materials and associated departmental property. 

D. Guidelines for Placement of Advertising or 
Sponsorship Signs on Assets 

1. Advertising or sponsorship signs shall not be placed 
in a manner that could interfere or confuse as to the 
identification of department’s ownership or control of the 
asset.  

2. On vehicles and other assets of the department 
traditionally utilized in the transport of personnel or 
equipment, advertising or sponsorships signs may be placed 
on the inside or the outside of equipment. However, the 
signage shall not be erected in such a manner that it impedes 
the asset’s safe utilization and operation. 

3. For advertising or sponsorship signs which require 
a power source, such as electronics or LED lighting, the 
advertiser or sponsor will be required by the department to 
submit and maintain detailed plans and provisions. The use 
of the powered advertising or sponsorship devices shall not 
have any adverse effect on the safety and functionality of the 
asset. If the safety and functionality of the asset is 
compromised after installation, the signage shall be 
removed. 

4. The department will maintain full ownership of any 
sponsored product, event and asset. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 3:6 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:515 
(March 2017). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1703#050 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring Procedures 
(LAC 28:XCI.101, 105, 107, 109, 
301, 303, 305, 307, 311, and 313) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1922―Compliance 
Monitoring Procedures: §101, Monitoring; §105, Local 
Educational Agencies (LEAs); §107, Corrective Action and 
Sanctions; §109, Components of the Continuous 
Improvement Monitoring Process; §301, Categories of 
Monitoring; §303 Timelines; §305, On-Site Visits; §307, 
Regulatory Issues Reviewed On-Site; §311, Activities 
Conducted During the On-Site Visit; and §313, 
Activities/Procedures at the Completion of the On-Site Visit. 
Bulletin 1922 outlines the processes for special education 
monitoring in Louisiana. The revisions align state policy 

with data privacy statutes, place local education agencies 
(LEAs) in tiered categories for monitoring selection: low-, 
moderate-, and high-risk; add types 1B and 3B charter 
schools to list of LEAs subject to monitoring; add LEA 
determinations to list strategies and components that may be 
utilized during the monitoring process; and allow on-site 
visits to be conducted by state-authorized individuals with 
training and experience in the program areas that are being 
monitored. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XCI.  Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring 
Procedures 

Chapter 1. Overview 
§101. Monitoring 

A. - B. … 
C. The quantitative data will be used to determine 

specific performance profiles for local educational agencies 
(LEAs) using data relative to a set of variables referenced in 
101B. Performance profiles will be issued annually. The 
quantitative data will be collected in relation to a set of 
variables selected by a statewide group of stakeholders from 
various agencies and entities. This group will meet at least 
annually with the Department of Education (LDE) to select 
only specific indicators that will be used to determine a 
LEA's performance status. Any changes to the process shall 
be presented to the Special Education Advisory Panel. 

D. LEAs will be placed in tiered categories for 
monitoring selection. The three tiers of monitoring are low-, 
moderate-, and high-risk. Upon validation of quantitative 
data, LEAs will be notified of their performance status and 
monitoring event.  

1. LEAs designated as high-risk will receive an on-
site compliance monitoring visit in order to review 
qualitative data specific to selected qualitative indicators that 
focus on the LEA's lowest performing indicator areas. 
Additional data may be reviewed prior to and during the on-
site visit. 

2. The LEAs designated as continuous improvement 
or have a ranking of low or moderate risk will not be 
targeted to receive an on-site compliance visit. Some 
districts may be required to develop a corrective action plan 
because of triggers within the data that signify concerns such 
as when the performance of students with disabilities is 
disproportionately below the state average in any of the 
required performance indicators. These performance 
indicators include, but are not limited to suspension, 
diploma, dropout, and state-wide assessment rates. 

D.3. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30.414 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3104 (December 2005), LR 37:3216 (November 
2011), LR 43:516 (March 2017). 
§105. Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) 

A. Local educational agencies (LEAs) to be monitored 
are: 

1. city or parish school systems; 
2. special school district; 
3. state Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education special schools; 
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4. type 1B, 2, 3B (if acting as their own LEA) and 5 
charter schools; and 

5. university laboratory schools not under the 
administration of a school district. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:415 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3105 (December 2005), LR 43:516 (March 2017). 
§107. Corrective Action and Sanctions 

A. … 
B. The LDE is authorized to take actions, consistent with 

applicable law, necessary to ensure compliance. Failure on 
the part of a participating agency to comply may result in the 
LDE, with the approval of its governing authority, the Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE), 
withholding funds from the said agency. Prior to withholding 
any funds under this Section, the LDE shall provide 
reasonable notice and an opportunity for a hearing 
conducted by the BESE to the LEA involved. 

C. LDE determines the need for a corrective action plan 
(CAP) to address findings of non-compliance on an 
individual LEA case-by-case basis. If the LDE requires a 
CAP, it will be developed in collaboration with the LDE 
following the LEA’s receipt of the LDE’s monitoring report. 
The CAP shall be submitted for approval to the LDE within 
35 business days of receipt of the monitoring report. 
However, upon receipt of the report, the LEA shall 
immediately begin correcting the findings of non-
compliance documented in the report. The plan will address 
the activities the LEA will implement to correct the areas of 
non-compliance identified during the on-site visit as soon as 
possible, but in no case more than one year from the date of 
the notification report from the LDE. 

D. - E. … 
F. When continuing non-compliance is identified, the 

LDE will require that an intensive corrective action plan 
(ICAP) be developed by the LEA in collaboration with the 
LDE, to address the continuing noncompliance. In 
conjunction with the implementation of the approved plan, 
the LDE will impose one or more of the following sanctions 
described below: 

1. - 2. … 
3. direct the LEA to use IDEA part B flow-through 

funds on the area or areas that the LEA is non-compliant. 
The LEA will submit evidence to the LDE of the specific 
funds targeted for areas of non-compliance. The LDE will 
monitor the expenditure of such funds on a consistent basis; 

4. … 
5. identify the LEA as a high-risk grantee and impose 

special conditions on the LEA's IDEA part B grant. The 
LDE will impose one or more of the following special 
conditions: 

a. for each year of continuing non-compliance, 
withhold not less than 20 percent and not more than 50 
percent of the LEA's IDEA part B grant until the LDE 
determines the LEA has sufficiently addressed the areas in 
which the LEA needs intervention; 

b. - d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:415 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3105 (December 2005), LR 32:1839 (October 
2006), LR 37:3216 (November 2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
§109. Components of the Continuous Improvement 

Monitoring Process 
A. - B.5. … 

6. analyze FAPE tables and other mandated federal 
data reporting (i.e., e.g. personnel tables, child count data, 
LEA determinations); 

7. - 9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 32:1840 (October 
2006), LR 37:3217 (November 2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
Chapter 3. Operational Procedures for Compliance 

Monitoring 
§301. Categories of Monitoring 

A. All LEAs are placed in performance profile categories 
on an annual basis. The performance profile is based upon 
an analysis of quantitative data collected by the LDE. 

B. Monitoring will focus on the variables selected 
annually as risk indicators. LEAs will be ranked into tiered 
categories for purposes of monitoring selection. On-site 
visits will be determined based on a variety of compliance 
and performance measures. LEAs designated as high-risk 
will be subject to on-site compliance visits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3217 (November 
2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
§303. Timelines 

A. A schedule of LEAs selected for monitoring will be 
issued to LEAs by September of each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3217 (November 
2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
§305. On-Site Visits 

A. On-site visits will be conducted by individuals 
authorized by the state with training and experience in the 
program areas that they will be monitoring. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 
2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
§307. Regulatory Issues Reviewed On-Site 

A. For high-risk LEAs, the regulatory issues, qualitative 
and quantitative indicators reviewed will be specific to the 
variables targeted in the LEA's performance profile. These 
visits will focus on selected issues. In the event that other 
critical issues or triggers are identified by means other than 
the performance profiles, the LDE will direct the team to 
monitor those issues for non-compliance. These other means 
may include, but are not limited to, complaint logs, 
evaluation extension requests, and financial risk 
assessments. 

B. - C.13. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 
2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 
§311. Activities Conducted During the On-Site Visit 

A. … 
B. Individuals authorized by the LDE will conduct a 

parent focus group meeting and interview parents to collect 
data/information on their satisfaction of the services 
provided to their children and their involvement in their 
children's program. At the discretion of the parent, 
interviews may be conducted at the school site or via 
teleconference. 

C. During the on-site monitoring of the LEA, the 
monitoring team will schedule an evening town hall meeting 
to provide a forum for parents to engage with team members 
and other parents. Facilitators will be available to answer 
questions if parents should want to discuss a matter privately 
outside the group setting. 

D. LDE team members will visit sites, make 
observations, review records, and interview personnel.  

E. The team leader will meet with the LEA special 
education director to review administrative issues. 
Additional data/information may be requested if further 
analysis is required for determining compliance status for 
specific regulatory issues. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 
2011), LR 43:518 (March 2017). 
§313. Activities/Procedures at the Completion of the 

On-Site Visit 
A. At the completion of the on-site visit, the team will 

meet to discuss, review, and analyze the team findings and to 
summarize their findings on LDE-issued forms. An LDE 
team member will meet with representatives of the LEA at 
the conclusion of the on-site visit. 

B. - D. … 
E. The LEA, in collaboration with the LDE, will be 

required to design a corrective action plan that defines 
specific supports and resources that the LEA must have in 
order to implement the corrective action plan. The CAP must 
demonstrate how the LEA will: 

1. correct each individual case of noncompliance; and 
2. correctly implement the specific regulatory 

requirement. 
F. - G. … 
H. If there is no response from the LEA within the 

established timelines, the LDE may implement any of the 
corrective actions or sanctions as described in §107. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 
2011), LR 43:518 (March 2017). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1703#010 

RULE 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs (LAC 28:IV.703 and 1903) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents has amended its 
scholarship/grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-
3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and 
R.S. 17:3048.6). (SG17173R) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 
(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 
Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility 
A. - A.5.a.ii.(e). … 

* * * 
(f). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the 
tables below have been approved by the Board of Regents 
and the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
to be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the 
core curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 
identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 
corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 
requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 
Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 
English IV AP English Literature and Composition 
Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 
European History AP European History 
Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 
French AP French Language and Culture 
German AP German Language and Culture 
Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 
Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 
Latin AP Latin 
Mathematics AP Computer Science A 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 
Statistics AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 

US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: 
Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United 
States 

US History AP U.S. History 
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TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 
World Geography AP Human Geography 
World History AP World History 

 
A.5.a.ii.(f).(ii). - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015), LR 41:651, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:1486 (August 2015), 
LR 41:2596, 2599 (December 2015), amended by the Board of 
Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 42:1657 
(October 2016), LR 42:1882 (November 2016), LR 43:518 (March 
2017). 
Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of Post-

Secondary Institutions 
§1903. Responsibilities of Post-Secondary Institutions 

A. - B.10.c. … 
11.a. Beginning with the spring semester of 2014 

through the spring semester of 2016, for a public college or 
university to be permitted to bill for a TOPS award amount 
under the provisions of Section 1903.B.6 of these rules, the 
college or university must include on the student fee bill line 
items entitled: 
 i. “Tuition Only” that equals the TOPS award 
amount listed on the fee bill; 
 ii. “TOPS Award Amount” as defined in Section 
301; and 
 iii. “TOPS Stipends” for TOPS Honors and 
Performance Award stipends. These amounts shall not be 
included in the “Tuition Only” or “TOPS Award Amount” 
line items. 

b. There shall be no reference to a tuition amount 
on a student's fee bill other than as provided herein. 

C. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, 17:3041.10-3041.15, 17:3041.21-
3041.26, R.S. 17:3048.1, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998 and 2002 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 
27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 
28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2333

(November 2002), LR 30:784 (April 2004), LR 30:1166 (June 
2004), LR 31:40 (January 2005), LR 31:3111, 3114 (December 
2005), LR 33:1340 (July 2007), LR 35:1233 (July 2009), LR 
35:1490 (August 2009), LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 
(December 2010), LR 40:282 (February 2014), LR 40:1003 (May 
2014), LR 41:667 (April 2015), LR 41:2599 (December 2015), 
amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance, LR 43:519 (March 2017). 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively 
Senior Attorney 

1703#015 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

General ProvisionsMeetings of the Board (LAC 13:I.107) 

These rules are being published in the Louisiana Register 
as required by R.S. 51:921 et seq. The Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
as authorized by and pursuant to the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 
36:104, has amended and reenacted Section 107 of the 
general provisions of the Board of Commerce and Industry, 
LAC 13:I.Chapter 1, to require broadcast of board meetings 
via Livestream where feasible as well as to require that the 
summary agenda and summary tables for all regular board 
meetings be published at least one week prior to the board 
meeting, but no later than 24 hours after the board packets 
were sent to board members.  

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
Subchapter A. General Rules 
§107. Meetings of the Board 

A. Open Meeting. All meetings of the board shall be 
subject to the open meetings law as provided in R.S. 42:1 et 
seq. 

B. Annual Meeting. The year of the board shall begin 
February 1 each year. The meeting following the beginning 
of the year, the board shall elect its officers who shall serve 
until the next annual meeting or until their successors are 
elected. 

C. Regular Meetings. The board may meet as often as it 
deems necessary provided that there shall be not less than 
four regular meetings each year. The summary agenda and 
the summary tables on all applications on the agenda for the 
regular meetings of the board shall be posted to the website 
at least one week prior to the meeting, but no later than 24 
hours from when the board packet is provided to the board 
when feasible.  

D. Special Meetings. A meeting may be called by the 
chairperson or by joint call of at least three of its members, 
to be held at the principal office of the board, or at such 
other place as may be fixed by the board. 

E. Quorum. Excluding any vacancies on the board, a 
majority of the members of the board shall constitute a 
quorum. In the absence of a quorum, a majority of the 
members present at the time and place of any meeting may 
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adjourn such meeting from time-to-time with notice given in 
accordance with the Open Meetings Law. 

F. Parliamentary Procedure. Unless otherwise provided 
by law to the contrary, all meetings of the board shall be 
conducted in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order. 

G. Meeting Place. The board, its committees and sub-
committees, shall hold its meetings at the principal office of 
the board, or at such other place as may be fixed by the 
board. The Board of Commerce and Industry shall have its 
meetings and the meetings of its subcommittees broadcast 
via Livestream when feasible, except for those meetings or 
discussions which are protected from public disclosure by 
Louisiana confidentiality laws.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:921 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Business Division, LR 26:2242 (October 2000), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 43:519 (March 2017). 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

1703#030 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Recordkeeping for Sources Exempt from Air Permitting 
(LAC 33:III.501)(AQ367) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 
33:III.501.B.2.e (AQ367). 

R.S. 30:2054(B)(2)(b)(ix) and LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d 
establish an exemption from the requirement to obtain an air 
permit for certain very small sources of air emissions. This 
Rule requires owners or operators of such sources to 
determine and maintain records of potential criteria and 
toxic air pollutant emissions. 

In accordance with LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d, the requirement 
to obtain an air permit does not apply to any source that is 
not a part 70 source, as defined in LAC 33:III.502, and for 
which facility-wide potential emissions are less than: 

 5 tons per year for each criteria pollutant as defined 
by the Clean Air Act;  

 15 tons per year of all such defined pollutants 
combined; and 

 the minimum emission rate (MER) for each toxic air 
pollutant established by Tables 51.1 and 51.3 of LAC 
33:III.Chapter 51. 

At present, LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d does not expressly 
require the owner or operator of such a source to determine 
and maintain records of potential criteria and toxic air 
pollutant emissions to verify eligibility. However, R.S. 
30:2054(B)(2)(b)(ix) provides that:  

The secretary may adopt, promulgate, and enforce 
standards, limitations, and other regulations applicable to 
sources which are not required to obtain a permit. 

The standards or regulations may include the requirement 
to determine, document, and maintain records to 
demonstrate the potential or actual emissions of the facility. 

This Rule requires owners or operators of sources exempt 
from the requirement to obtain an air permit per LAC 
33:III.501.B.2.d to determine and maintain records of 
potential criteria and toxic air pollutant emissions consistent 
with the authority provided by the statute. This Rule also 
requires such owners or operators to reassess and document 
any change in potential emissions of the aforementioned 
pollutants prior to effecting a modification or otherwise 
increasing the production rate or hours of operation above 
the values previously used to determine potential emissions. 
The basis and rationale for this Rule are to require owners or 
operators of sources exempt from the requirement to obtain 
an air permit per LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d to determine and 
maintain records of potential criteria and toxic air pollutant 
emissions. This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - B.2.d.iii. … 
e. Recordkeeping for Sources Exempt from 

Permitting Requirements 
 i. The owner or operator of a source which is not 
required to obtain a permit per LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d shall 
determine and maintain records of potential criteria and 
toxic air pollutant emissions from such source. 
 ii. The owner or operator shall reassess and 
document any change in potential criteria and toxic air 
pollutant emissions from the source prior to effecting a 
modification as defined in LAC 33:III.111 or otherwise 
increasing the production rate or hours of operation above 
the values previously used to determine potential emissions. 
 iii. For purposes of this exemption, potential 
emissions shall mean the emissions the source is capable of 
emitting considering all control measures in place, utilized, 
and properly maintained; historical practices, including 
hours of operation; and the number of employees at the 
source. 

B.3. - C.14. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011 and 2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 
20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental
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Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 
32:1842 (October 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 
(December 2007), LR 35:461 (March 2009), LR 35:2351 
(November 2009), LR 37:1145, 1148 (April 2011), LR 37:1391 
(May 2011), LR 37:3221, 3233 (November 2011), repromulgated 
LR 37:3507 (December 2011), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:520 (March 2017). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1703#026 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Work Practice Standards During Start-up and Shutdown 
(LAC 33:III.2201)(AQ364) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 
33:III.2201.C and K (Log #AQ364). 

This Rule repeals the exemption set forth in LAC 
33:III.2201.C.8 and replaces it with provisions allowing the 
owner/operator of an affected point source to comply either 
with the emission factors imposed by LAC 33:III.2201.D at 
all times (including periods of startup and shutdown) or with 
newly-established work practice standards designed to 
minimize emissions during periods of startup and shutdown. 

LAC 33:III.2201 establishes NOX standards for certain 
boilers, process heaters/furnaces, stationary gas turbines, and 
stationary internal combustion engines located at affected 
facilities in the following nine parishes: Ascension, East 
Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe 
Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana. 

LAC 33:III.2201.C.8 provides an exemption from the 
aforementioned NOX standards “during start-up and 
shutdown…or during a malfunction.” Notably, this 
exemption does not apply to units that are shut down 
intentionally on a routine basis (i.e., more than once per 
month). This provision was approved by EPA into 
Louisiana’s state implementation plan (SIP) on July 5, 2011 
(76 FR 38977). 

However, on June 12, 2015, EPA promulgated a rule* 
finding that several Louisiana air quality regulations, 
including LAC 33:III.2201.C.8, are “substantially 
inadequate to meet [Clean Air Act] requirements” because 
they provide “automatic exemptions for excess emissions 
from otherwise applicable SIP emission limitations.” 
Consequently, EPA issued a “SIP call” directing affected 
states to submit corrective SIP revisions by November 22, 
2016. 

In this same rulemaking, EPA “revised and updated” its 
startup, shutdown, and malfunction (SSM) policy for SIP 
provisions. According to EPA’s “SSM SIP policy as of 2015” 
(80 FR 33976), SIP emission limitations “must be applicable 
to the source continuously,” but: 

 do not need to be numerical in format; 
 do not have to apply the same limitation (e.g., 

numerical level) at all times; and 
 may be composed of a combination of numerical 

limitations, specific technological control 
requirements and/or work practice requirements, 
with each component of the emission limitation 
applicable during a defined mode of source 
operation. 

In response to EPA’s SIP call, LDEQ has repealed the 
exemption set forth in LAC 33:III.2201.C.8 and amended 
Chapter 22 to allow the owner/operator of an affected point 
source to comply either with the emission factors imposed 
by LAC 33:III.2201.D at all times (including periods of 
startup and shutdown) or with newly-established work 
practice standards designed to minimize emissions during 
periods of startup and shutdown. 

*State Implementation Plans: Response to Petition for 
Rulemaking; Restatement and Update of EPA’s SSM Policy 
Applicable to SIPs; Findings of Substantial Inadequacy; and 
SIP Calls To Amend Provisions Applying to Excess 
Emissions During Periods of Startup, Shutdown and 
Malfunction [80 FR 33840] 

This Rule is also a revision to the Louisiana state 
implementation plan for air quality. The basis and rationale 
for this Rule are to repeal the exemption set forth in LAC 
33:III.2201.C.8 and replace it with provisions allowing the 
owner/operator of an affected point source to comply either 
with the emission factors imposed by LAC 33:III.2201.D at 
all times (including periods of startup and shutdown) or with 
newly-established work practice standards designed to 
minimize emissions during periods of startup and shutdown. 
This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 22. Control of Emissions of Nitrogen Oxides 

(NOX) 
§2201. Affected Facilities in the Baton Rouge 

Nonattainment Area and the Region of Influence 
A. - C.7. … 

8. Reserved. 
C.9. - I.1. ... 

2. The owner or operator of an affected point source 
granted an exemption in accordance with any part of 
Subsection C of this Section or required to demonstrate 
continuous compliance in accordance with Subsection H of 
this Section shall submit a written report within 90 days of 
the end of each ozone season to the administrative authority 
of any noncompliance with the applicable limitations of 
Subsection D or E of this Section or with the applicable 
work practice standards of Paragraph K.3 of this Section. 
The required information may be included in reports 
provided to the administrative authority to meet other 
requirements, so long as the report meets the deadlines and 
content requirements of this Paragraph. The report shall 
include the following information: 

I.2.a - J.2. … 
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K. Start-up and Shutdown 
1. For affected point sources that are shut down 

intentionally more than once per month, the owner or 
operator shall include NOx emitted during periods of start-up 
and shutdown for purposes of determining compliance with 
the emission factors set forth in Subsection D of this Section, 
or with an alternative plan approved in accordance with 
Paragraph E.1 or 2 of this Section. 

2. For all other affected point sources, effective May 
1, 2017, the owner or operator shall either comply with 
Paragraph K.1 of this Section or the work practice standards 
described in Paragraph K.3 of this Section during periods of 
start-up and shutdown. If the owner or operator chooses to 
comply with work practices standards, the emission factors 
set forth in Subsection D of this Section shall not apply 
during periods of start-up and shutdown. 

3. Work Practice Standards 
a. The owner or operator shall operate and maintain 

each affected point source, including any associated air 
pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a 
manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control 
practices for minimizing emissions. 

b. Coal-fired and fuel oil-fired electric power 
generating system boilers and fuel oil-fired stationary gas 
turbines shall use natural gas during start-up. Start-up ends 
when any of the steam from the boiler or steam turbine is 
used to generate electricity for sale over the grid, or for any 
other purpose (including on-site use). If another fuel must be 
used to support the shutdown process, natural gas shall be 
utilized. 

c. Engage control devices such as selective catalytic 
reduction (SCR) or selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR) 
as expeditiously as possible, considering safety and 
manufacturer recommendations. The department shall 
incorporate into the applicable permit for each affected 
facility appropriate requirements describing the source-
specific conditions or parameters identifying when operation 
of the control device shall commence. 

d. Minimize the start-up time of stationary internal 
combustion engines to a period needed for the appropriate 
and safe loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes. 

e. Maintain records of the calendar date, time, and 
duration of each start-up and shutdown. 

f. Maintain records of the type(s) and amount(s) of 
fuels used during each start-up and shutdown. 

g. The records required by Subparagraphs K.3.e and 
f of this Section shall be kept for a period of at least five 
years and shall be made available upon request by 
authorized representatives of the department. 

4. On or before May 1, 2017, the owner or operator 
shall notify the Office of Environmental Services whether 
each affected point source will comply with Paragraph K.1 
or K.3 of this Section during periods of start-up and 
shutdown. 

a. The owner or operator does not have to select the 
same option for every affected point source. 

b. The department shall incorporate into the 
applicable permit for each affected facility the provisions of 
Paragraph K.1 and/or K.3 of this Section, as appropriate. 
The owner or operator may elect to revise the method of 
compliance with Subsection K of this Section for one or 

more affected point sources by means of a permit 
modification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:290 (February 2002), 
repromulgated LR 28:451 (March 2002), amended LR 28:1578 
(July 2002), LR 30:748 (April 2004), LR 30:1170 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2441 (October 2005), LR 33:2088 (October 2007), LR 34:71 
(January 2008), LR 36:60 (January 2010), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:521 (March 2017). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1703#028 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Louisiana Low-Income Academic Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.2501 and Chapter 31) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:V.2501 and adopted LAC 
50:V.Chapter 31 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 25. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment 
Methodologies 

§2501. General Provisions 
A. - C. ... 
D. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:654 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:65 (January 2010), LR 36:512 (March 2010), LR 
40:790 (April 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:522 (March 2017). 
Chapter 31. Louisiana Low-Income Academic 

Hospitals 
§3101. Qualifying Criteria 

A. Hospitals Located Outside of the Baton Rouge and 
New Orleans Metropolitan Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 
2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 
located outside of the Baton Rouge and New Orleans 
metropolitan statistical area (MSA) which: 
 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the State of Louisiana to increase its provision of
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inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 
services that were previously delivered and terminated or 
reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 
 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 
whose ownership change to non-state privately owned and 
operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 
than 18.9 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by 
dividing the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient 
days reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending 
during state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and 
shall include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid 
days per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. 
Column 7 shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid 
days and column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient 
days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident full time 
equivalents (FTEs) to total inpatient beds that is greater than 
.08. Qualification shall be based on the total inpatient beds 
and intern and resident FTEs reported on the 
Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending during state fiscal 
year 2015. The ratio of interns and resident FTEs shall be 
calculated by dividing the unweighted intern and resident 
FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost Report Worksheet E-4, 
line 6 by the total inpatient beds, excluding nursery and 
Medicare designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds, 
reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, lines 1 through 18. 

B. Hospitals Located In the New Orleans Metropolitan 
Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 
2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 
located in the New Orleans MSA which: 
 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 
with the State of Louisiana to increase its provision of 
inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 
services that were previously delivered and terminated or 
reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 
 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 
whose ownership changed to non-state privately owned and 
operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 
than 45 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by dividing 
the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient days 
reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending during 
state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and shall 
include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid days 
per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. Column 7 
shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid days and 
column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident FTEs to total 
inpatient beds that is greater than 1.25. Qualification shall be 
based on the total inpatient beds and intern and resident 
FTEs reported on the Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending 
during state fiscal year 2015. The ratio of interns and 
resident FTEs shall be calculated by dividing the unweighted 
intern and resident FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost 
Report Worksheet E-4, line 6 by the total inpatient beds, 
excluding nursery and Medicare designated distinct part 
psychiatric unit beds, reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, 
lines 1 through 18. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:522 (March 
2017). 
§3103. Payment Methodology 

A. Each qualifying hospital shall be paid DSH 
adjustment payments equal to 100 percent of allowable 
hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 
qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 
specified by the department. 

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 
department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

B. Payment Calculation 
1. For the initial year’s payment calculation, each 

qualifying hospital shall submit interim actual cost data 
calculated utilizing Medicaid allowable cost report 
principles, along with actual Medicaid and uninsured patient 
charge data. Annual Medicaid costs shortfalls and 
unreimbursed uninsured patient costs are determined based 
on review and analysis of these submissions. 

2. For subsequent year’s payment calculations, the 
most recent Medicaid filed cost report along with actual 
Medicaid and uninsured patient charge data annualized from 
the most recent calendar year completed quarter is utilized to 
calculate hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

C. The department shall review cost data, charge data, 
lengths of stay and Medicaid claims data per the Medicaid 
Management and Information Systems (MMIS) for 
reasonableness before payments are made. 

D. The first payment of each fiscal year will be made by 
October 15 and will be 80 percent of the annual calculated 
uncompensated care costs. The remainder of the payment 
will be made by June 30 of each year 

1. Reconciliation of these payments to actual hospital 
specific uncompensated care costs will be made when the 
cost report(s) covering the actual dates of service from the 
state fiscal year are filed and reviewed. 

2. Additional payments or recoupments, as needed, 
shall be made after the finalization of the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandated DSH 
audit for the state fiscal year. 

E. No payment under this Section is dependent on any 
agreement or arrangement for providers or related entities to 
donate money or services to a governmental entity. 

1. A pro rata decrease necessitated by conditions 
specified in §2501.B.1 for hospitals described in this Section 
will be calculated based on the ratio determined by dividing 
the hospital's uncompensated costs by the uncompensated 
costs for all qualifying hospitals in this Section, then 
multiplying by the amount of disproportionate share 
payments calculated in excess of the federal DSH allotment. 
Additional payments shall only be made after finalization of 
the CMS mandated DSH audit for the state fiscal year. 
Payments shall be limited to the aggregate amount recouped 
from the qualifying hospitals in this Section based on these 
reported audit results. If the hospitals' aggregate amount of 
underpayments reported per the audit results exceeds the 
aggregate amount overpaid, the payment redistribution to 
underpaid shall be paid on a pro rata basis calculated using 
each hospital’s amount underpaid divided by the sum of 
underpayments for all hospitals in this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:523 (March 
2017). 

 
Rebekah E Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#042 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Developmental Disabilities 

Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.8595 and 8599) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.8595 and §8599 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 85. Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 

with Developmental Disabilities  
Subchapter G. Emergency Preparedness 
§8595. Emergency Preparedness Plan 

A. The ICF/DD shall incorporate an all hazards risk 
assessment into the facility’s emergency preparedness plan 
which is designed to manage the consequences of medical 
emergencies, power failures, fire, natural disasters, declared 
disasters or other emergencies that disrupt the facility's 
ability to provide care and treatment or threatens the lives or 
safety of the residents. The facility shall follow and execute 
its emergency preparedness plan in the event or occurrence 
of a disaster or emergency. This plan shall be reviewed, 
updated and approved by the governing body at least 
annually. Upon the department’s request, a facility shall 
present its emergency preparedness plan for review. 

B. - B.13. ... 
14. The facility’s plan shall include how the ICF/DD 

will notify OHSEP and LDH when the decision is made to 
shelter in place and whose responsibility it is to provide this 
notification. 

15. - 15.f. ... 
C. An ICF/DD shall electronically enter current facility 

information into the department’s ESF-8 portal or into the 
current LDH emergency preparedness webpage or electronic 
database for reporting. 

1. The following information shall be entered or 
updated before the fifteenth of each month: 

a. operational status; 
b. census; 
c. emergency contact and destination location 

information; and 
d. emergency evacuation transportation needs 

categorized by the following types: 
 i. redhigh-risk residents who will need to be 
transported by advanced life support ambulance due to 

dependency on mechanical or electrical life sustaining 
devices or very critical medical condition; 
 ii. yellowresidents who are not dependent on 
mechanical or electrical life sustaining devices, but cannot 
be transported using normal means (buses, vans, cars), may 
need to be transported by an ambulance; however, in the 
event of inaccessibility of medical transport, buses, vans or 
cars may be used as a last resort; and 
 iii. greenresidents who do not need specialized 
transportation may be transported by car, van, bus or 
wheelchair accessible transportation. 

2. An ICF/DD shall also enter or update the facility’s 
information upon request, or as described per notification of 
an emergency declared by the secretary. Emergency events 
may include, but are not limited to: 

a. hurricanes; 
b. floods; 
c. fires; 
d. chemical or biological hazards; 
e. power outages; 
f. tornados; 
g. tropical storms; and 
h. severe weather. 

3. Effective immediately, upon notification of an 
emergency declared by the secretary, all ICFs/DD shall file 
an electronic report with the ESF-8 portal or into the current 
LDH emergency preparedness webpage or electronic 
database for reporting. 

a. The electronic report shall be filed, as prescribed 
by department, throughout the duration of the emergency 
declaration. 

b. The electronic report shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following: 
 i. status of operation; 
 ii. availability of beds; 
 iii. generator status; 
 iv. evacuation status; 
 v. shelter in place status; 
 vi. mobility status of clients; 
 vii. range of ages of clients; 
 viii. intellectual levels/needs of clients; and 
 ix. any other client or facility related information 
that is requested by the department. 

NOTE: The electronic report shall not be used to request 
resources or to report emergency events. 

D. The facility’s plan shall include a process for tracking 
during and after the emergency/disaster for on-duty staff and 
sheltered clients.  

E. The facility’s plan shall also include a process to 
share with the client, family, and representative appropriate 
information from the facility’s emergency plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:3207 (December 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:524 (March 2017). 
§8599. Notification of Evacuation, Relocation, or 

Temporary Cessation of Operations 
A. In the event that an ICF/DD evacuates, temporarily 

relocates or temporarily ceases operations at its licensed 
location as a result of an evacuation order issued by the 
state, local or parish OHSEP, the ICF/DD must immediately 
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give notice to the Health Standards Section as well as the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) 
and OHSEP as directed by filing an electronic report with 
the ESF-8 portal or into the current LDH emergency 
preparedness webpage or electronic database for reporting: 

A.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:3208 (December 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:524 (March 2017). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#043 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:II.Chapter 200) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:II.Chapter 200 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20001. General Provisions 

A. Definitions 
Active Assessment—a resident MDS assessment is 

considered active when it has been accepted by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The assessment 
will remain active until a subsequent minimum data set 
(MDS) assessment for the same resident has been accepted 
by CMS, the maximum number of days (121) for the 
assessment has been reached, or the resident has been 
discharged. 

* * * 
Assessment Reference Date—the date on the minimum 

data set (MDS) used to determine the due date and 
delinquency of assessments. 

* * * 
Case Mix—a measure of the intensity of care and 

services used by similar residents in a facility. 
Case-Mix Documentation Review (CMDR)—a review 

of original legal medical record documentation and other 
documentation as designated by the department in the MDS 
supportive documentation requirements, supplied by a 
nursing facility provider to support certain reported values 
that resulted in a specific RUG classification on a randomly 
selected MDS assessment sample. The review of the 

documentation provided by the nursing facility will result in 
the RUG classification being supported or unsupported. 

Case-Mix Index (CMI)—a numerical value that 
describes the resident’s relative resource use within the 
groups under the resource utilization group (RUG-III) 
classification system, or its successor, prescribed by the 
department based on the resident’s MDS assessments. CMIs 
will be determined for each nursing facility on a quarterly 
basis using all residents. 

* * * 
Department—the Louisiana Department of Health 

(LDH), or its successor, and the associated work product of 
its designated contractors and agents. 

* * * 
Facility Cost Report Period Case-Mix 

IndexRepealed. 
Example. Repealed. 

Facility-Wide Average Case-Mix Index—Repealed. 
Final Case-Mix Index Report (FCIR)—the final report 

that reflects the acuity of the residents in the nursing facility. 
a. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, resident 

acuity is measured utilizing the point-in-time acuity 
measurement system. 

b. Effective with the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 
resident acuity will be measured utilizing the time-weighted 
acuity measurement system. 

Index Factor—based on the Skilled Nursing Home 
without Capital Market Basket Index published by IHS 
Global Insight (IHS Economics), or a comparable index if 
this index ceases to be published. 

MDS Supportive Documentation Requirements—the 
department’s publication of the minimum documentation 
and review standard requirements for the MDS items 
associated with the RUG-III or its successor classification 
system. These requirements shall be maintained by the 
department and updated and published as necessary. 

Minimum Data Set (MDS)—a core set of screening and 
assessment data, including common definitions and coding 
categories that form the foundation of the comprehensive 
assessment for all residents of long-term care nursing facility 
providers certified to participate in the Medicaid Program. 
The items in the MDS standardize communication about 
resident problems, strengths, and conditions within nursing 
facility providers, between nursing facility providers, and 
between nursing facility providers and outside agencies. The 
Louisiana system will employ the current required MDS 
assessment as approved by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS). 

Nursing Facility Cost Report Period Case Mix Index—
the average of quarterly nursing facility-wide average case 
mix indices, carried to four decimal places. The quarters 
used in this average will be the quarters that most closely 
coincide with the nursing facility provider’s cost reporting 
period that is used to determine the medians. This average 
includes any revisions made due to an on-site CMDR. 

a. For the cost reporting periods utilized in the next 
rebase of rates on or after July 1, 2017, the calendar quarter 
case mix index averages will be calculated using the time-
weighted acuity measurement system, and be inclusive of 
MDS assessments available as of the date of the applicable
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quarterly FCIRs. This average includes any revisions made 
due to an on-site CMDR. 

Example: A January 1, 2015-December 31, 2015 cost report 
period would use the time-weighted facility-wide average case 
mix indices calculated for the four quarters ending March 31, 
2015, June 30, 2015, September 30, 2015 and December 31, 
2015. 

Nursing Facility-Wide Average Case Mix Index—the 
simple average, carried to four decimal places, of all resident 
case mix indices. 

a. Prior to the January 1, 2017, rate setting resident 
case mix indices will be calculated utilizing the point-in-
time acuity measurement system. If a nursing facility 
provider does not have any residents as of the last day of a 
calendar quarter or the average resident case mix indices 
appear invalid due to temporary closure or other 
circumstances, as determined by the department, a statewide 
average case mix index using occupied and valid statewide 
nursing facility case mix indices may be used. 
 i. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 
resident case mix indices will be calculated utilizing the 
time-weighted acuity measurement. If a nursing facility 
provider does not have any residents during the course of a 
calendar quarter, or the average resident case mix indices 
appear invalid due to temporary closure or other 
circumstances, as determined by the department, a statewide 
average case mix index using occupied and valid statewide 
nursing facility provider case mix indices may be used. 

* * * 
Point-In-Time Acuity Measurement System (PIT)—the 

case mix index calculation methodology that is compiled 
utilizing the active resident MDS assessments as of the last 
day of the calendar quarter, referred to as the point-in-time. 

Preliminary Case-Mix Index Report (PCIR)—the 
preliminary report that reflects the acuity of the residents in 
the nursing facility. 

a. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, resident 
acuity is measured utilizing the point-in-time acuity 
measurement system. 

b. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 
resident acuity will be measured utilizing the time-weighted 
acuity measurement system. 

* * * 
RUG-III Resident Classification System—the resource 

utilization group used to classify residents. When a resident 
classifies into more than one RUG-III, or its successor’s 
group, the RUG-III or its successor’s group with the greatest 
CMI will be utilized to calculate the nursing facility 
provider’s total residents average CMI and Medicaid 
residents average CMI. 

Summary Review Results Letter—a letter sent to the 
nursing facility that reports the final results of the case-mix 
documentation review and concludes the review. 

a. The summary review results letter will be sent to 
the nursing facility provider within 10 business days after 
the final exit conference date. 

* * * 
Time-Weighted Acuity Measurement System (TW)—the 

case mix index calculation methodology that is compiled 
from the collection of all resident MDS assessments 
transmitted and accepted by CMS that are considered active 
within a given calendar quarter. The resident MDS 
assessments will be weighted based on the number of 

calendar days that the assessment is considered an active 
assessment within a given calendar quarter. 

* * * 
Unsupported MDS Resident Assessment—an assessment 

where one or more data items that are used to classify a 
resident pursuant to the RUG-III, 34-group, or its 
successor’s resident classification system is not supported 
according to the MDS supportive documentation 
requirements and a different RUG-III, or its successor, 
classification would result; therefore, the MDS assessment 
would be considered “unsupported.” 

B. - B.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 
LR 32:2262 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:825 (March 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1522 (September 
2016), LR 43:525 (March 2017). 
§20003. Cost Reports 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1303] 
A. - B.1. ... 

2. There shall be no automatic extension of the due 
date for the filing of cost reports. If a provider experiences 
unavoidable difficulties in preparing its cost report by the 
prescribed due date, one 30-day extension may be permitted, 
upon written request submitted to the department prior to the 
due date. The request must explain in detail why the 
extension is necessary. Extensions beyond 30 days may be 
approved for situations beyond the facility's control. An 
extension will not be granted when the provider agreement is 
terminated or a change in ownership occurs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 
LR 32:2263 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
40:541 (March 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:526 (March 2017). 
§20005. Rate Determination 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1305] 
A. - B. ... 

1. Effective July 3, 2009, and at a minimum, every 
second year thereafter, the base resident-day-weighted 
median costs and prices shall be rebased using the most 
recent four month or greater unqualified audited or desk 
reviewed cost reports that are available as of the April 1, 
prior to the July 1, rate setting or the department may apply a 
historic audit adjustment factor to the most recently filed 
cost reports. The department, at its discretion, may rebase at 
an earlier time. 

B.1.a. - D.1.g. ... 
 i. Effective for rate periods January 1, 2017 
through June 30, 2017 each nursing facility providers direct 
care and care related floor will be calculated as follows. 

(a). For each nursing facility, the statewide direct 
care and care related floor shall be apportioned between the 
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per diem direct care component and the per diem care 
related component using the facility-specific percentages 
determined in Subparagraph c of this Paragraph. On a 
quarterly basis, each facility's specific direct care component 
of the statewide floor shall be multiplied by each nursing 
facility provider’s most advantageous average case mix 
index for the prior quarter. The most advantageous case mix 
index will be determined by utilizing the nursing facility 
providers’ calculated point-in-time or time-weighted 
measurement system case mix index value that results in the 
lowest direct care and care related floor amount for the 
associated rate quarter. The direct care component of the 
statewide floor will be adjusted quarterly to account for 
changes in the nursing facility-wide average case mix index. 
Each facility's specific direct care and care related floor is 
the sum of each facility's case mix adjusted direct care 
component of the statewide floor plus each facility's specific 
care related component of the statewide floor. 

1.h. - 4.c. ... 
d. Effective for rate periods beginning January 1, 

2017 through June 30, 2017, each applicable nursing facility 
provider will receive an additional pass-through rate 
adjustment to allow for a phase-in of the time-weighted 
acuity measurement system. The nursing facility provider 
pass-through rate adjustment will be calculated and applied 
as follows. 
 i. The nursing facility provider’s rate period 
reimbursement rate will be calculated in accordance with 
§20005.B using the point-in-time acuity measurement 
system for determining the nursing facility-wide average 
case mix index values. The reimbursement rate will be 
determined after considering all other rate period changes to 
the reimbursement rates. 
 ii. The nursing facility provider’s rate period 
reimbursement rate will be calculated in accordance with 
§20005.B using the time-weighted acuity measurement 
system for determining the nursing facility-wide average 
case mix index values. The reimbursement rate will be 
determined after considering all other rate period changes to 
the reimbursement rate. 
 iii. The reimbursement rate differential will be 
determined by subtracting the reimbursement rate calculated 
using the point-in-time acuity measurement system from the 
reimbursement rate calculated using the time-weighted 
acuity measurement system. 
 iv. If the calculated reimbursement rate 
differential exceeds a positive or negative $2, then a pass-
through rate adjustment will be applied to the nursing 
facility provider’s reimbursement rate in an amount equal to 
the difference between the rate differential total and the $2 
threshold, in order to ensure the nursing facility provider’s 
reimbursement rate is not increased or decreased more than 
$2 as a result of the change of the time-weighted acuity 
measurement system. 

(a). Should the nursing facility provider, for the 
aforementioned rate periods, receive an adjusted nursing 
facility-wide average case mix index value due to a CMDR 
change or other factors, the facility will have their rate 
differential recalculated using the revised case mix index 
values. The $2 reimbursement rate change threshold will

apply to the recalculated differential and associated case mix 
index values, not the original differential calculation. 
 v. If a nursing facility provider’s calculated rate 
differential does not exceed the $2 rate change threshold, 
then no pass-through rate adjustment will be applied for the 
applicable rate period. 

D.5. - Q. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 
31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 
(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 
amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:1782 (August 2010), LR 
36:2566 (November 2010), LR 37:902 (March 2011), LR 37:1174 
(April 2011), LR 37:2631 (September 2011), LR 38:1241 (May 
2012), LR 39:1286 (May 2013), LR 39:3097, 3097 (November 
2013), LR 41:707 (April 2015), LR 41:949 (May 2015), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 43:83 (January 2017), LR 43:526 (March 2017). 
§20007. Case-Mix Index Calculation 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1307] 
A. ... 
B. Each resident in the nursing facility, with a completed 

and submitted assessment, shall be assigned a RUG-III, 34-
group, or its successor based on the following criteria. 

1. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, the RUG-
III group, or its successor, is calculated based on the 
resident's most current assessment, available on the last day 
of each calendar quarter, and shall be translated to the 
appropriate case mix index. From the individual resident 
case mix indices, two average case mix indices for each 
Medicaid nursing facility provider shall be determined four 
times per year based on the last day of each calendar quarter. 

2. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, the 
RUG-III group, or its successor, will be calculated using 
each resident MDS assessment transmitted and accepted by 
CMS that is considered active within a given calendar 
quarter. These assessments are then translated to the 
appropriate case mix index. The individual resident case mix 
indices are then weighted based on the number of calendar 
days each assessment is active within a given calendar 
quarter. Using the individual resident case mix indices, the 
calendar day weighted average nursing facility-wide case 
mix index is calculated using all residents regardless of 
payer type. The calendar day weighted nursing facility-wide 
average case mix index for each Medicaid nursing facility 
shall be determined four times per year. 

C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1475 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1792 (August 2002), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:826 (March 
2012), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43:82 (January 2017), LR 43:527 (March 
2017). 
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§20012. Fair Rental Value, Property Tax and Property 
Insurance Incentive Payments to Buyers of 
Nursing Facilities 
[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1312] 

A. - C.3. ... 
4. Base Capital Amount Updates. On July 1 of each 

year, the base capital amounts (as defined in Paragraph 1 of 
this Subsection) will be trended forward annually to the 
midpoint of the rate year using the change in the per diem 
unit cost listed in the three-fourths column of the R.S. Means 
Building Construction Data Publication, or its successor, 
adjusted by the weighted average total city cost index for 
New Orleans, LA. The cost index for the midpoint of the 
rate year shall be estimated using a two-year moving average 
of the two most recent indices as provided in this Paragraph. 
Adjustments to the base capital amount will only be applied 
to purchase and closure transactions occurring after the 
adjustment date. 

D. - E.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1349 (July 2007), amended LR 34:1033 
(June 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 43:528 (March 2017). 
§20013. Case-Mix Documentation Reviews and Case-

Mix Index Reports 
[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1313] 

A. The department shall provide each nursing facility 
provider with the preliminary case-mix index report (PCIR) 
by approximately the fifteenth day of the second month 
following the beginning of a calendar quarter. The PCIR will 
serve as notice of the MDS assessments transmitted and 
provide an opportunity for the nursing facility provider to 
correct and transmit any missing MDS assessments or 
tracking records or apply the CMS correction request 
process where applicable. The department shall provide each 
nursing facility provider with a final case-mix index report 
(FCIR) utilizing MDS assessments after allowing the 
nursing facility providers a reasonable amount of time to 
process their corrections (approximately two weeks). 

1. If the department determines that a nursing facility 
provider has delinquent MDS resident assessments, for 
purposes of determining both average CMIs, such 
assessments shall be assigned the case-mix index associated 
with the RUG-III group “BC1-delinquent” or its successor. A 
delinquent MDS shall be assigned a CMI value equal to the 
lowest CMI in the RUG-III, or its successor, classification 
system. 

B. The department shall periodically review the MDS 
supporting documentation maintained by nursing facility 
providers for all residents, regardless of payer type. Such 
reviews shall be conducted as frequently as deemed 
necessary by the department. The department shall notify 
nursing facility providers of the scheduled case-mix 
documentation reviews (CMDR) not less than two business 
days prior to the start of the review date and a fax, electronic 
mail or other form of communication will be provided to the 
administrator or other nursing facility provider designee on 
the same date identifying possible documentation that will 
be required to be available at the start of the on-site CMDR. 

1. The department shall review a sample of MDS 
resident assessments equal to the greater of 20 percent of the 
occupied bed size of the nursing facility or 10 assessments 
and shall include those transmitted assessments posted on 
the most current FCIR. The CMDR will determine the 
percentage of assessments in the sample that are 
unsupported MDS resident assessments. The department 
may review additional or alternative MDS assessments, if it 
is deemed necessary. 

2. When conducting the CMDR, the department shall 
consider all MDS supporting documentation that is provided 
by the nursing facility provider and is available to the RN 
reviewers prior to the start of the exit conference. MDS 
supporting documentation that is provided by the nursing 
facility provider after the start of the exit conference shall 
not be considered for the CMDR. 

3. Upon request by the department, the nursing 
facility provider shall be required to produce a computer-
generated copy of the MDS assessment which shall be the 
basis for the CMDR. 

4. After the close of the CMDR, the department will 
submit its findings in a summary review results (SRR) letter 
to the nursing facility within 10 business days following the 
final exit conference date. 

5. The following corrective action will apply to those 
nursing facility providers with unsupported MDS resident 
assessments identified during an on-site CMDR. 

a. - b. ... 
c. If the percentage of unsupported MDS 

assessments in the total sample is greater than the threshold 
percentage as shown in column (B) of the table in 
Subparagraph e below, the RUG-III, or its successor, 
classification shall be recalculated for the unsupported MDS 
assessments based upon the available documentation 
obtained during the CMDR process. The nursing facility 
provider’s CMI and resulting Medicaid rate shall be 
recalculated for the quarter in which the FCIR was used to 
determine the Medicaid rate. A follow-up CMDR process 
described in Subparagraphs d and e may be utilized at the 
discretion of the department. 

d. Those nursing facility providers exceeding the 
thresholds (see column (B) of the table in Subparagraph e) 
during the initial on-site CMDR will be given 90 days to 
correct their assessing and documentation processes. A 
follow-up CMDR may be performed at the discretion of the 
department at least 30 days after the nursing facility 
provider’s 90-day correction period. The department or its 
contractor shall notify the nursing facility provider not less 
than two business days prior to the start of the CMDR date. 
A fax, electronic mail, or other form of communication will 
be provided to the administrator or other nursing facility 
provider designee on the same date identifying 
documentation that must be available at the start of the on-
site CMDR. 

e. After the follow-up CMDR, if the percentage of 
unsupported MDS assessments in the total sample is greater 
than the threshold percentage as shown in column (B) of the 
following table, the RUG-III, or its successor, classification 
shall be recalculated for the unsupported MDS assessments 
based upon the available documentation obtained during the 
CMDR process. The nursing facility provider’s CMI and
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resulting Medicaid rate shall be recalculated for the quarter 
in which the FCIR was used to determine the Medicaid rate. 
In addition, facilities found to have unsupported MDS 
resident assessments in excess of the threshold in column 
(B) of the table below may be required to enter into a 
documentation improvement plan with the department. 
Additional follow-up CMDR may be conducted at the 
discretion of the department. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2537 (December 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:826 (March 2012), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:528 (March 
2017). 
§20015. Appeal Process 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1315] 
A. If the facility disagrees with the CMDR findings, a 

written request for an informal reconsideration must be 
submitted to the department within 15 business days of the 
facility’s receipt of the CMDR findings in the SRR letter. 
Otherwise, the results of the CMDR findings are considered 
final and not subject to appeal. The department will review 
the facility’s informal reconsideration request within 10 
business days of receipt of the request and will send written 
notification of the final results of the reconsideration to the 
facility. No appeal of findings will be accepted until after 
communication of final results of the informal 
reconsideration process. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2538 (December 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:827 (March 2012), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:529 (March 
2017). 
§20029. Supplemental Payments 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Payment Calculations. The Medicaid supplemental 

payment for each state fiscal year (SFY) shall be calculated 
immediately following the July quarterly Medicaid rate 
setting process. The total Medicaid supplemental payment 
for each individual NSGO will be established as the 
individual nursing facility differential between the estimated 
Medicare payments for Medicaid nursing facility residents, 
and the adjusted Medicaid payments for those same nursing 
facility residents. A more detailed description of the 
Medicaid supplemental payment process is described below. 

a.  The calculation of the total annual Medicaid 
supplemental payment for nursing facilities involves the 
following four components: 
 i. calculate Medicare payments for Louisiana 
Medicaid nursing facility residents using Medicare payment 
principles; 
 ii. determining Medicaid payments for Louisiana 
Medicaid nursing facility residents;  

 iii. adjust payments for coverage difference 
between Medicare payment principles and Louisiana 
Medicaid payment principles; and 
 iv. calculating the differential between the 
calculated Medicare payments for Medicaid nursing facility 
residents, and Medicaid payments for those same residents. 

b. Calculating Medicaid Rates Using Medicare 
Payment Principles. With Medicare moving to the 
prospective payment system (PPS), Medicare rates will be 
calculated based on Medicaid acuity data. The following is a 
summary of the steps involved. 
 i. Using each resident’s minimum data set 
assessment, the applicable RUG-III grouper code for 
Medicaid residents was identified. A frequency distribution 
of Medicaid residents in each of the Medicare RUG 
classification categories is then generated. 

(a). The resident minimum data set assessments 
will be from the most recently available minimum data set 
assessments utilized in Medicaid rate setting processes as of 
the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 
calculation demonstration. 
 ii. After the Medicaid resident frequency 
distribution was developed, rural and urban rate differentials 
and wage index adjustments will be used to adjust the 
Medicare rate tables. Medicare rate tables will be applicable 
to SFY periods. 

(a). Medicare rate tables will be established 
using information published in 42 CFR part 483 where 
available. Should the finalized Medicare rate tables for any 
portion of the applicable SFY period be unavailable, the 
most recent preliminary Medicare rate adjustment 
percentage published in the federal register available as of 
the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 
calculation demonstration will be utilized as the basis of the 
Medicare rate for that portion of the SFY period. 

(b). The resulting Medicare rates are multiplied 
by the number of Medicaid residents in each RUG category, 
summed and then averaged. The Medicare rate tables 
applicable to each period of the SFY will be multiplied by an 
estimate of Medicaid paid claims days for the specified 
period. Medicaid paid claims days will be compiled from the 
state’s Medicaid Management Information System’s (MMIS) 
most recent 12 months, as of the development of the 
Medicaid supplemental payment calculation demonstration. 

c. Determining Medicaid Payments for Louisiana 
Medicaid Nursing Facility Residents. The most current 
Medicaid nursing facility reimbursement rates as of the 
development of Medicaid supplemental payment calculation 
demonstration will be utilized. These reimbursement rates 
will be multiplied by Medicaid paid claims compiled from 
the state’s MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as 
of the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 
calculation demonstration, to establish total Medicaid per 
diem payments. Total calculated Medicaid payments made 
outside of the standard nursing facility per diem are summed 
with total Medicaid reimbursement from the per diem 
payments to establish total Medicaid payments. Payments 
made outside of the standard nursing facility per diem are 
reimbursement for the following services. 
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 i. Specialized Care Services Payments. 
Specialized care services reimbursement is paid outside of 
the standard per diem rate as an add-on payment to the 
current facility per diem rate. The established specialized 
care add-on per diems will be multiplied by Medicaid paid 
claims for specialized care days compiled from the state’s 
MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as of the 
development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 
calculation demonstration, to establish projected specialized 
care services payments for the applicable SFY. 
 ii. Home/Hospital Leave Day (Bed Hold) 
Payments. Allowable Medicaid Leave days were established 
using Medicaid paid claims days compiled from the state’s 
MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as of the 
development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 
calculation demonstration. Allowable Medicaid Leave days 
will be multiplied by the most recent Medicaid leave day 
quarterly reimbursement rates as of the of the Medicaid 
supplemental payment calculation demonstration to 
established projected Medicaid Leave day payments for the 
SFY. 
 iii. Private Room Conversion Payments. Private 
room conversion (PRC) Medicaid days will be established 
utilizing the most recently reviewed or audited Medicaid 
supplemental cost reports as of the development of the 
Medicaid supplemental payment calculation demonstration. 
The applicable cost reporting period information will be 
annualized to account for short year cost reporting periods. 
Allowable PRC Medicaid days will be multiplied by the 
PRC incentive payment amount of $5 per allowable day to 
establish the total projected Medicaid PRC payments for the 
SFY. 

d. Adjusting for Differences between Medicare 
Principles and Louisiana Medicaid Nursing Facility 
Residents. An adjustment to the calculation of the Medicaid 
supplemental payment limit will be performed to account for 
the differences in coverage between the Medicare PPS rate 
and what Louisiana Medicaid covers within the daily rate 
provided above. To accomplish this, an estimate will be 
calculated for pharmacy, laboratory, and radiology claims 
that were paid on behalf of nursing facility residents for 
other than their routine daily care. These estimates will then 
be added to the total calculated Medicaid payments. 

e. Calculating the Differential Between the 
Calculated Medicare Payments for Medicaid Nursing 
Facility Residents, and Medicaid Payments for Those Same 
Residents. The total annual Medicaid supplemental payment 
will be equal to the individual NSGO nursing facility’s 
differential between their calculated Medicare payments and 
the calculated adjusted Medicaid payments for the applicable 
SFY, as detailed in the sections above. 

4. Frequency of Payments and Calculations. The 
Medicaid supplemental payments will be reimbursed 
through a calendar quarter based lump sum payment. The 
amount of the calendar quarter lump sum payment will be 
equal to the SFY total annual Medicaid supplemental 
payment divided by four. The total annual Medicaid 
supplemental payment calculation will be performed for 
each SFY immediately following the July quarterly 
Medicaid rate setting process. 

a. Repealed. 

5. No payment under this section is dependent on any 
agreement or arrangement for provider or related entities to 
donate money or services to a governmental entity. 

5.a. - 6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
42:63 (January 2016), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:529 (March 2017). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1703#044 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Homeowner and Fire/Commercial 
Insurance Policy Disclosure Forms 

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 153) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 
22:1 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., R.S. 
22:1319, and R.S. 22:1332, the Department of Insurance has 
adopted Regulation 107. The purpose of this regulation is to 
promulgate the homeowner and fire/commercial insurance 
policy disclosure forms developed by the commissioner of 
insurance for use by all property and casualty insurers 
issuing, delivering or renewing homeowner and 
fire/commercial insurance policies that provide coverage for 
damages to property in Louisiana. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 153. Homeowner and Fire/Commercial 

Insurance Policy Disclosure Forms  
§15301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Rule is to adopt the homeowners 
and fire/commercial insurance policy disclosure forms 
developed by the commissioner of insurance for use by all 
property and casualty insurers issuing, delivering or 
renewing homeowners and fire/commercial insurance 
policies that provide coverage for damages to property in 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017). 
§15303. Applicability and Scope 

A. This Rule shall be applicable to all property and 
casualty insurers for all new homeowner policies and all 
renewals of existing homeowner policies.   

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017). 
§15305. Disclosure Forms  

A. Every property and casualty insurer issuing, 
delivering or renewing homeowners or fire/commercial 
insurance policies that provide coverage for damage to 
property in Louisiana shall present to the insured as an insert 
in the front of the policy upon issuance, delivery or renewal 
the appropriate disclosure form.  

B. Formatting Instructions. The text of the disclosure 
form should be formatted as shown in the applicable 
appendix in bold type of not less than a fourteen-point font.  

C. Appendix A contains the form that sets forth the 
disclosures required by R.S. 22:1319 for use by all property 
and casualty insurers issuing fire/commercial policies 
covering property in Louisiana.  

D. Appendix B contains the form that sets forth the 
disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1)-(6) for use by 
all property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner 
policies covering property in Louisiana. 

E. Appendix C contains the form that sets forth the 
disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1)-(7) for use by 
all property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner 
policies for damage to property in Louisiana that use claims 
that do not exceed the policy deductible and that do not 
result in a payment either to the insured or on behalf of the 
insured to increase the cost of the policy premium in the 
future or as part of the basis for cancellation of a policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 
§15307. Rule Amendment 

A. The Commissioner of Insurance reserves the right to 
amend, modify, alter or rescind all or any portion of this 
Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 
§15309. Severability Clause 

A. If any provision of this Rule, or the application 
thereof to any circumstance, is held invalid, such 
determination shall not affect other provisions or 
applications of this regulation which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to that end 
the provisions of this Rule are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 
§15311. Effective Date  

A. The forms provided in Appendix A and Appendix B 
shall become effective immediately upon adoption and the 
form provided in Appendix C shall become effective 6 
months after adoption. All forms shall continue in full force 
and effect until amended, modified, altered or rescinded by 
the commissioner of insurance.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

§15313. Appendices 
A. Appendix A 

Important Information Required by  
the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 
Fire Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary  

(other than Homeowners) 
Or 

Commercial Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 
This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1319 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 
DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  
INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 
POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 

 
**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 
 

COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 
 
[INSERT PROPERTY COVERAGES] 
 
Deductibles 

 
This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 
claims for damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be 
subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 
subject to applicable coverage limits. 

 
• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 
named storm] as defined in the policy.   

 
Separate Deductible  

Examples—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 
to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy:   

 
The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1319 B(3) by selecting either 
option A or B below: 

 
A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 

hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 
under the policy.  The standardized example shall set forth a 
separate loss for each coverage included in the policy for which a 
premium has been paid.  The total of all losses combined shall 
exceed by at least ten percent (10%) the applicable deductible(s) so 
that the example demonstrates a net payment to the insured. 

 
B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 

this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 
deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 
The following assumes no co-insurance penalty and a 2% 
hurricane, wind, or named storm deductible. The amounts of 
loss to the damaged property are $50,000 (building) and 
$20,000 (business personal property).    
 
Limits of insurance on building $ 100,000 
 
Total amount of building loss $ 50,000 
Less 2% deductible ($100,000 X .02) $ 2,000 
Net payment to insured for building loss $ 48,000 
 
Limits of insurance on the business personal property $ 50,000 
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Total amount of business personal property loss $ 20,000 
Less 2% deductible ($50,000 X .02)  - $ 1,000 
Net payment to insured for business personal  

property loss $ 19,000 
 
Total net payment to insured for building and business  
personal property loss ($48,000 + $19,000) $ 67,000 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 
WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 
PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 

 
Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 

 
FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 
caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 
includes, but is not limited to, storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 
Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 
coverage for damage to your dwelling or building and/or contents 
subject to the coverage limits and terms of the policy. 
 
 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 
policy, from this or another insurer, if the amount of the primary 
flood insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 
• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 
 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 
this policy. 

 
**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 

YOUR  
POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 

 
B. Appendix B 

 
Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 
 

Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 
This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1-6) 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 
DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  
INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 
POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 
 

**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  
COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 

 
[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 
Example: 
Coverage A ..................................................................... Dwelling 
Coverage B ......................................................... Other Structures 
Coverage C .......................................................Personal Property 
Coverage D ................................................................ Loss of Use 
Coverage E .......................................................Personal Liability 
Coverage F ..................................................... Medical Payments 

 
Deductibles 

 
This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 
claims for damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be 
subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 
subject to applicable coverage limits. 

 
• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 
named storm] as defined in the policy.  

 
Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 
to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy: 
 
The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1332 B(6) by selecting and 
inserting either option A or B below: 

 
A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 

hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 
under the policy. The standardized example shall set forth a 
separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 
of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 
the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 
insured. 

 
B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 

this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 
deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 
If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 
$200,000 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 
deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm 
deductible would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 
Losses: 
Coverage A – Dwelling ................................................... $15,000 
Coverage B – Other Structures ....................................... $  2,500 
Coverage C – Personal Property ..................................... $  3,000 
Coverage D – Loss of Use .............................................. $  2,000 
Total amount of all losses................................................ $22,500 
Less 2% hurricane, wind or named  

storm deductible ............................................................ $  4,000 
Net payment to insured.................................................... $18,500 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 
WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 
PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 

 
Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 

 
FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 
caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 
includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 
 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 
Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 
coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 
coverage limits and terms of the policy. 
 
 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 
policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 
insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 
• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 
 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 
this policy. 

 
**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 

YOUR  
POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 
 
Claim Filing Process 
 

There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 
satisfactory proof of loss.  There may also be time limitations for 
repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 
recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 
applicable. 
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Payment of Claims 
 

Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 
based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 
replacement cost (RC). 

 
• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 

damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 
• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 

(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 
additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 
to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 

 
**Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions describing 
how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 
Payment and Adjustment of Claims 
 

Pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 
catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 
property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 
expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 
claimant. 
 
In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 
adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 
notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 
Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 
loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 
emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 
disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days.  Thereafter, one 
additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 
adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 
approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 
Committee on Insurance. 

 
All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 
claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 
receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 
 
Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 
such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 
make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 
third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 
proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 
insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 
 
If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 
cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 
insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 
damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 
insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 
well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 

 
C. Appendix C 

 
Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 
 

Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 
This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1-7) 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 
DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  
INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 
POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 

 
**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 
 

COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 
 
[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 
Example: 
Coverage A ..................................................................... Dwelling 

Coverage B ......................................................... Other Structures 
Coverage C ....................................................... Personal Property 
Coverage D................................................................. Loss of Use 
Coverage E ....................................................... Personal Liability 
Coverage F ...................................................... Medical Payments 

 
Deductibles 
 
This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to claims for 
damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be subtracted from your total 
claim and you will be paid the balance subject to applicable coverage limits. 
 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 
your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

• If you file a claim that does not exceed the policy 
deductible and that does not result in a payment either to you 
or on your behalf, that claim may be used to increase the cost 
of your policy’s premium in the future or as part of the basis 
for cancellation of your policy. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 
named storm] as defined in the policy.  

 
Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible 
applying to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under 
your policy: 
 
The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1332 B(6) by selecting 
and inserting either option A or B below: 
 

A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 
hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 
under the policy.  The standardized example shall set forth a 
separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 
of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 
the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 
insured. 

 
B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 

this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 
deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 
If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 
$200,000.00 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 
deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm deductible 
would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 
 
Losses: 

Coverage A – Dwelling ................................................... $15,000 
Coverage B – Other Structures ....................................... $  2,500 
Coverage C – Personal Property ..................................... $  3,000 
Coverage D – Loss of Use .............................................. $  2,000 
Total amount of all losses................................................ $22,500 
Less 2% hurricane, wind or named storm  

deductible .................................................................... $  4,000 
Net payment to insured.................................................... $18,500 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 
WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 
PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 

 
Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 

 
FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 
caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 
includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 
Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 
coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 
coverage limits and terms of the policy. 
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 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 
policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 
insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 
• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 
 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 
this policy. 

 
**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS 
REFER TO YOUR POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS 
ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 

 
Claim Filing Process 

There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 
satisfactory proof of loss.  There may also be time limitations for 
repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 
recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 
applicable. 

 
Payment of Claims 
 

Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 
based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 
replacement cost (RC). 

 
• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 

damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 
• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 

(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 
additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 
to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 

** Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions 
describing how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 
Payment and Adjustment of Claims 
 

Pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 
catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 
property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 
expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 
claimant. 

 
In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 
adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 
notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 
Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 
loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 
emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 
disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days. Thereafter, one 
additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 
adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 
approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 
Committee on Insurance. 
 
All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 
claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 
receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 
 
Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 
such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 
make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 
third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 
proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 
insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 
 
If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 
cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 
insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 
damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 
insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 
well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1703#052 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 76—Privacy of Consumer 
(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 99) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby has amended Regulation 76—Privacy 
of Consumer. 

The purpose of amending Regulation 76 is to comply with 
the passage of the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation 
(“FAST”) Act, which was passed by the United States 
Congress and signed into law (Public Law 114-94; 
December 4, 2015). The FAST Act amended the Gramm-
Leach-Bliley Act to provide an exemption from the annual 
privacy notice requirements required under Gramm-Leach-
Bliley. As Regulation 76 mirrors the duties and 
responsibilities of those in the business of insurance with 
regards to the privacy of insurance consumer’s information, 
any amendments to Gramm-Leach-Bliley that were passed 
into law should likewise be incorporated as an amendment to 
Regulation 76. The FAST Act amendment serves the 
purpose, in both federal law and the Regulation 76 
amendment here, to relieve those in the business of 
insurance to whom it applies from duplicative privacy notice 
requirements, while at the same time continuing to preserve 
the privacy rights of insurance consumers. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 99. Regulation 76―Privacy of Consumer 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9901. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 49:953(B) 
and R.S. 22:2 which charges the commissioner of insurance 
with the duty to enforce and administer all of the provisions 
of the Insurance Code, the purpose of which is to regulate 
the business of insurance in all of its phases in the public 
interest. Sections 501(b) and 505(a)(6) of the Gramm-Leach-
Bliley Act specifically designate the Department of 
Insurance as the agency to establish the appropriate 
standards covering any person engaged in providing 
insurance under state law and the Fixing America’s Surface 
Transportation Act, which provides for certain annual 
privacy reporting exemptions. R.S. 22:11 and R.S. 22:1595 
grants the commissioner of insurance authority to 
promulgate rules and regulations as are necessary for the 
implementation of the provisions of title R.S. 22:1604 
specifically refers to the protection of the interests of 
insurance policyholders in this state with respect to financial 
institution insurance sales, and R.S. 22:1595 grants the
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commissioner of insurance authority to promulgate rules and 
regulations as may be necessary to effectuate the provisions 
of chapter 5, financial institution sales, in title 22.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 
Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 
Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001), 
amended LR 43:534 (March 2017). 
Subchapter B. Privacy and Opt-Out Notices for 

Financial Information 
§9913. Annual Privacy Notice to Customers Required 

A.1. - C. … 
D. Exemption from Annual Privacy Notice. A licensee 

that: 
1. provides nonpublic personal information to 

nonaffiliated third parties only in accordance with 
Emergency Rule 31, Regulation 76 and R.S. 22:1591-R.S. 
22:1605; and 

2. has not changed is policies and practices with 
regard to disclosing nonpublic personal information from the 
policies and practices that were disclosed in the most recent 
disclosure sent to consumers in accordance with this Section, 
shall not be required to provide an annual disclosure under 
this Section until such time as the licensee fails to comply 
with any criteria described in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this 
Subsection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 
Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 
Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:552 (April 2001), 
amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 
Subchapter D. Exceptions to Limits on Disclosures of 

Financial Information 
§9951. Severability  

A. If any provision or item of Regulation 79 or the 
Emergency Rule 31, or the application thereof, is held 
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 
items or applications of Regulation 79 or Emergency Rule 
31 which can be given effect without the invalid provision, 
item, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 
Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 
Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner; LR 27:548 (April 2001), 
amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 
§9953. Effective Date 

A. This Rule shall be effective upon adoption. 
B.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 
Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 
Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner; LR 27:548 (April 2001), 
amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner  

1703#003 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Financial Security for the Plug and Abandonment of  
Oil and Gas Wells and Determinations of Future Utility  

(LAC 43:XIX.104) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation has amended LAC 43:XIX.Subpart 1 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 
The amendments are made to implement the provisions of 
Act 634 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. The amendments reduce the per foot cost of 
financial security for inland wells below 3000 feet to $2 per 
foot and exempt wells orphaned by the commissioner and 
subsequently transferred to another operator from financial 
security requirements. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation—General Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§104. Financial Security 

A. - B.4. … 
C. Financial Security Amount 

1. Land Location 
a. Individual well financial security shall be 

provided in accordance with the following. 
 

Measured Depth Amount 
< 3000' $2 per foot 

3001-10000' $5 per foot 
> 10001' $4 per foot 

 
C.1.b. - H. … 
I. Financial security shall not be required for the 

following wells: 
1. any well declared to be orphaned by the 

commissioner and subsequently transferred to another 
operator, except as required by Act 583 of the 2016 Regular 
Session; 

2. any well to be drilled by an operator who has an 
agreement with the office of conservation to plug a well that 
has been declared to be orphaned by the commissioner and 
that orphaned well is similar to the proposed well in terms of 
depth and location; 

3. the provisions hereof shall not alter or affect the 
requirements for inactive wells given in LAC 43:XIX.137.A.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
30:4, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation LR 26:1306 (June 
2000), amended LR 27:1917 (November 2001), LR 43:535 (March 
2017). 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

1703#017 
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RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Offsite E and P Waste Transfer Pipeline Systems 
(LAC 43:XIX.501 and 571) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation has amended LAC 43:XIX, Subpart 1 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 
The amendment and adoption are made to implement 
requirements for E and P waste transfer pipeline systems.  

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 5. Off-Site Storage, Treatment and/or 
Disposal of Exploration and Production 
Waste Generated from Drilling and 
Production of Oil and Gas Wells 

NOTE: Onsite disposal requirements are listed in  
LAC 43:XIX, Chapter 3. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Statewide Order 29-B was originally 
codified in LAC 43:XIX as §129. In December 2000, §129 
was restructured into Chapters 3, 4 and 5. Chapter 3 contains 
the oilfield pit regulations. Chapter 4 contains the 
injection/disposal well regulations. Chapter 5 contains the 
commercial facility regulations. A cross-reference chart in the 
December 2000 Louisiana Register, page 2798, indicates the 
locations for the rules in each existing Section. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Chapter 5 was amended in November 
2001. A chart showing the restructuring of Chapter 5 is found 
on page 1898 of the Louisiana Register, November 2001. 

§501. Definitions 
* * * 

Transfer Pipeline Systeman offsite pipeline system by 
which only E and P waste is transferred to a permitted in-
state or out-of-state transfer station or disposal facility. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2811 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1898 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 
2003), LR 34:1421 (July 2008), LR 36:2570 (November 2010), LR 
43:536 (March 2017). 
§571. Requirements for E and P Waste Transfer 

Pipeline Systems 
A. Notification 

1. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 
writing at least 30 days prior to installation of an offsite E 
and P waste transfer pipeline system. Written notification 
shall include the following items: 

a. the pipeline system operator/company name, 
address and principal officer contact information including 
emergency contacts; 

b. estimated timeframe construction will begin; 
c. a list of all E and P waste types to be transported 

via the pipeline system; 
d. a list of all E and P waste operators/generators 

that will utilize the pipeline system; 

e. a narrative description, map(s) and schematic 
diagram(s) as necessary to accurately describe the 
geographic location of the entire pipeline system to be 
operated in Louisiana, the pipeline system starting and 
ending point and all points of entry in between, and the final 
in-state or out-of-state disposition of E and P waste 
transmitted through the pipeline system; 

f. detailed plans for generator, transporter and 
commercial facility or transfer station operator compliance 
with manifesting requirements of Subsection C of this 
Section and LAC 43:XIX.545. 

2. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 
writing no later than five calendar days following 
completion of construction of the E and P waste transfer 
pipeline system. Such notification shall include the date, or 
anticipated date, when E and P waste transmission 
operations are scheduled to begin. 

3. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 
writing of any change in the principal officers, management, 
or ownership of an E and P waste transfer pipeline system 
within 10 calendar days of the change. 

4. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 
writing within five calendar days of the effective date of any 
change in the operational status of a pipeline system 
including but not limited to any changes to the items listed in 
Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, if and when a pipeline 
system, or section of the pipeline system is shut-in or 
removed from service, brought back into service, 
permanently removed from service and/or decommissioned.  

B. Design, Operations and Maintenance Criteria 
1. E and P waste transfer pipeline systems shall be 

designed, constructed, operated and maintained in a manner 
which is protective of public health, safety and welfare and 
the environment, surface water, groundwater aquifers and 
underground sources of drinking water. 

C. Manifesting Requirements 
1. All E and P waste transported via an E and P waste 

transfer pipeline system shall be properly manifested in 
accordance with LAC 43:XIX.545. E and P waste 
manifesting plans submitted for compliance with the 
notification requirements of Subparagraph A.1.f of this 
Section shall be approved by the Office of Conservation 
prior to implementation. 

D. Reporting Requirements 
1. Any spills which occur during the offsite 

transportation of E and P waste where any quantity of E and 
P waste is released directly to the environmental, i.e., the 
spilled E and P waste is not completely confined within a 
non-earthen metal, plastic, fiberglass, concrete or other 
impervious containment system, shall be reported by phone 
to the Office of Conservation within 24 hours of the spill and 
other appropriate state and federal agencies in accordance 
with each agencies’ applicable reporting requirements. A 
written report of the incident must be submitted within five 
calendar days detailing the incident and methods of 
corrective action. The report shall also include the 
identification of all operators/generators utilizing the E and P 
waste transfer pipeline system at the time of discharge. 

2. Initiation of pipeline repair and E and P waste 
removal/containment system clean-up activities for any E 
and P waste spill remaining within a containment system not 
required to be reported for compliance with Paragraph 1 of 
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this Subsection shall commence as soon as is practicable 
within 24 hours of detection.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 43:536 (March 
2017). 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

1703#006 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous Materials 
(LAC 33:V.10303) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
R.S. 32:1501 et seq., has amended its rules regulating motor 
carrier safety and hazardous materials by updating the 
revision date of the adopted federal motor carrier regulations 
to November 1, 2016. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections—Hazardous Materials 
Chapter 103. Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 
§10303. Federal Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 
A. The following federal motor carrier safety regulations 

and hazardous materials regulations promulgated by the 
United States Department of Transportation, revised as of 
November 1, 2016, and contained in the following parts of 
49 CFR as now in effect or as hereafter amended, are made a 
part of this Chapter. 

 
Hazardous Material Regulations 

Part 107 Hazardous Materials Program Procedures 
Part 171 General Information, Regulations, and Definitions 
Part 172 Hazardous Materials Table, Special Provisions, and 

Hazardous Materials Communications, Emergency Response 
Information, and Training Requirements 

Part 173 Shippers―General Requirements for Shipments and 
Packagings 

Part 177 Carriage by Public Highways 
Part 178 Specifications for Packagings 
Part 180 Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of Packagings 

 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 

Part 355 Compatibility of State Laws and Regulations Affecting 
Interstate Motor Carrier Operations 

Part 360 Fees for Motor Carrier Registration and Insurance 
Part 365 Rules Governing Applications for Operating Authority 
Part 367 Standards for Registration with States 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
Part 373 Receipts and Bills 
Part 374 Passenger Carrier Regulations 
Part 375 Transportation of Household Goods in Interstate Commerce: 

Consumer Protection Regulations 
Part 376 Lease and Interchange of Vehicles 
Part 379 Preservation of Records 
Part 382 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 
Part 383 Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and 

Penalties 
Part 384 State Compliance with Commercial Driver’s License Program 
Part 385 Safety Fitness Procedures 
Part 386 Rules of Practice for Motor Carrier, Broker, Freight 

Forwarder and Hazardous Materials Proceedings 
Part 387 Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor 

Carriers 
Part 388 Cooperative Agreements with States 
Part 389 Rulemaking Procedures-Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Part 390 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General 
Part 391 Qualifications of Drivers 
Part 392 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles 
Part 393 Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation 
Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers 
Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance 
Part 397 Transportation of Hazardous Materials; Driving and Parking 

Rules 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32: 1501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 
(January 1988), amended LR 17:1115 (November 1991), LR 
19:351 (March 1993), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 24:956 (May 
1998), LR 24:2321 (December 1998), LR 29:711 (May 2003), LR 
30:447 (March 2004), LR 32:641 (April 2006), LR 34:882 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 
Environmental Safety Section, LR 37:1613 (June 2011), LR 
38:1417 (June 2012), amended by the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 40:371 (February 
2014), LR 42:280 (February 2016), amended by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, 
Transportation and Environmental Safety Section, LR 43:537 
(March 2017). 

 
Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

1703#008 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Motor Vehicle Inspections (LAC 55:III.807 and 819) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., Act 
138 of the 2009 Regular Session, and R.S. 32:1304 et seq., 
has amended rules which require a checklist for school bus 
inspections and require vehicle fleets that operate in the five 
parish non-attainment areas (regardless of where the vehicles 
are registered) to have emissions testing. 
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Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles 
Chapter 8. Motor Vehicle Inspection 
Subchapter B. Safety Inspections 
§807. Operation as an Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Station 
A. - H. … 
I. Motor Vehicle Inspection Log Report 

1. All entries must be legible and made in ink only. 
The audit number of the inspection or rejection certificates 
issued must be listed in numerical order and must be shown 
on the report. All other required information must be 
provided for the vehicle inspected. Vehicle information will 
be obtained from the registration. The operator's license 
number must be taken from the driver's license of the person 
presenting the vehicle for inspection and not from the 
registration. 

a. Stations that are required to maintain log sheets 
shall maintain the log sheets for 36 months. 
 i. General MVI Stations. A separate log shall be 
kept for the one- and two-year certificates. 

Exception: Log sheets are not required to be utilized if a 
station is required to enter the inspection information on the 
DEQ computer system. 

 ii. Commercial MVI Stations. The station must 
maintain a copy of each commercial log sheet. 
 iii. School Bus MVI Stations. The station must 
complete and maintain a copy of each school bus inspection 
checklist. 

2. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1304-1310. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Safety 
Enforcement Section, LR 25:2424 (December 1999), amended 
27:2260 (December 2001), repromulgated LR 28:345 (February 
2002), amended LR 30:2859 (December 2004), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State 
Police, LR 38:2552 (October 2012), LR 42:433 (March 2016), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, Transportation and Environmental Safety 
Section, LR 43:538 (March 2017). 
Subchapter C. Vehicle Emission Inspection and 

Maintenance Program 
§819. Anti-Tampering and Inspection and 

Maintenance Parameters 
A. - C. … 
D. Subsections A, B, and C of this Section shall apply to 

those vehicles (belonging to the covered model years and 
vehicle classes) that are routinely operated in the five parish 
non-attainment area as part of a fleet, though the individual 
vehicles are not registered in any one of those five parishes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1304-1310. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Safety 
Enforcement Section, LR 25:2434 (December 1999), amended LR 
27:2260 (December 2001), LR 28:345 (February 2002), LR 
30:2493 (November 2004), amended by the Department of Public

Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 
Environmental Safety Section, LR 43:538 (March 2017). 

 
Jason Starns 
Chief Administrative Officer 

1703#009 
 

RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Military-Trained Individuals/Military Spouses and 
Use of Seals (LAC 46:LXI.903, 909, and 2701) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana professional 
engineering and land surveying licensure law, R.S. 37:681 et 
seq., and in accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board has 
amended its rules contained in LAC 46:LXI.903, 909, and 
2701. 

This is a technical revision of existing rules under which 
LAPELS operates. The revision: (a). incorporates changes 
made to R.S. 37:3651 during the 2016 Regular Session 
relating to the licensure of military-trained individuals and 
military spouses; and (b). clarifies and expands the 
exceptions to the sealing requirements for professional 
engineers. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXI.  Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 

Chapter 9. Requirements for Certification and 
Licensure of Individuals and Temporary 
Permit to Practice Engineering or Land 
Surveying 

§903. Professional Engineer Licensure 
A. - A.6. … 
B. The requirements for licensure as a professional 

engineer under the alternatives provided in R.S. 37:3651(A), 
(B) and (C) are as follows: 

1. the applicant for licensure as a professional 
engineer shall be a military-trained individual who has 
completed a military program of training in engineering at a 
level that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the 
requirements for licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(2) and 
Subsection A herein, who has been awarded a military 
occupational specialty in engineering, who has performed in 
that military occupational specialty at a level that is 
substantially equivalent to or exceeds the requirements for 
licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, 
who has engaged in the active practice of engineering, who 
has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act that 
would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or 
revocation of a license to practice engineering in Louisiana 
at the time the act was committed, who is an engineer intern, 
or an individual who meets the qualifications to be an
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engineer intern, who has a verifiable record of four years or 
more of progressive experience obtained subsequent to 
meeting the educational and applicable experience 
qualifications to be an engineer intern on engineering 
projects of a level and scope satisfactory to the board, who is 
of good character and reputation, who has passed the 
examination required by the board in the principles and 
practice of engineering in the discipline of engineering in 
which licensure is sought, who was recommended for 
licensure by five personal references, three of whom are 
professional engineers who have personal knowledge of the 
applicant's engineering experience and character and ability, 
who has submitted an application for licensure in accordance 
with the requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly 
licensed as a professional engineer by the board; or 

2. the applicant for licensure as a professional 
engineer shall be a military-trained individual who holds a 
current, valid license to engage in the practice of engineering 
issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 
possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 
based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 
exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S. 
37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, who is of good 
character and reputation, who has submitted an application 
for licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 
37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional 
engineer by the board; or 

3. the applicant for licensure as a professional 
engineer shall be a military spouse who holds a current, 
valid license to engage in the practice of engineering issued 
to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 
possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 
based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 
exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S. 
37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, who can demonstrate 
competency in the practice of engineering through an oral 
interview by the board, who has not been disciplined in any 
jurisdiction for an act that would have constituted grounds 
for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
engineering in Louisiana at the time the act was committed, 
who is in good standing with and has not been disciplined by 
the agency that issued the license in the other jurisdiction, 
who is of good character and reputation, who has submitted 
an application for licensure in accordance with the 
requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly licensed as a 
professional engineer by the board. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:688 and 37:3651. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 2:352 (November 
1976), amended LR 5:114 (May 1979), LR 5:365 (November 
1979), LR 6:735 (December 1980), LR 7:644 (December 1981), 
LR 10:804 (October 1984), LR 11:362 (April 1985), LR 19:56 
(January 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board, LR 27:1028 (July 2001), LR 30:1712 (August 2004), LR 
32:1619 (September 2006), LR 37:2412 (August 2011), LR 
38:2564 (October 2012), LR 39:1060 (April 2013), LR 39:2801 
(October 2013), LR 43:538 (March 2017). 

§909. Professional Land Surveyor Licensure 
A. - A.2. … 
B. The requirements for licensure as a professional land 

surveyor under the alternatives provided in R.S. 37:3651(A), 
(B) and (C) are as follows: 

1. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 
surveyor shall be a military-trained individual who has 
completed a military program of training in land surveying 
at a level that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the 
requirements for licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and 
Subsection A herein, who has been awarded a military 
occupational specialty in land surveying, who has performed 
in that military occupational specialty at a level that is 
substantially equivalent to or exceeds the requirements for 
licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, 
who has engaged in the active practice of land surveying, 
who has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, 
or revocation of a license to practice land surveying in 
Louisiana at the time the act was committed, who is a land 
surveyor intern, or an individual who meets the 
qualifications to be a land surveyor intern, who is of good 
character and reputation, who has a verifiable record of four 
years or more of combined office and field experience in 
land surveying including two years or more of progressive 
experience on land surveying projects under the supervision 
of a professional land surveyor, who has passed the oral 
examination required by the board, who has passed the 
examinations required by the board in the principles and 
practice of land surveying and Louisiana laws of land 
surveying, who was recommended for licensure by five 
personal references (at least three of whom must be 
professional land surveyors who have personal knowledge of 
the applicant), who has submitted an application for 
licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 
37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional land 
surveyor by the board; or 

2. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 
surveyor shall be a military-trained individual who holds a 
current, valid license to engage in the practice of land 
surveying issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, 
territory, or possession of the United States, or the District of 
Columbia, based on requirements that are substantially 
equivalent to or exceed the requirements for licensure under 
R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, who is of good 
character and reputation, who has passed the examinations 
required by the board in the fundamentals of land surveying, 
principles and practice of land surveying and Louisiana laws 
of land surveying, who has submitted an application for 
licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 
37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional land 
surveyor by the board; or 

3. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 
surveyor shall be a military spouse who holds a current, 
valid license to engage in the practice of land surveying 
issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 
possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 
based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 
exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S.
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37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, who can demonstrate 
competency in the practice of land surveying through an oral 
interview by the board, who has not been disciplined in any 
jurisdiction for an act that would have constituted grounds 
for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
land surveying in Louisiana at the time the act was 
committed, who is in good standing with and has not been 
disciplined by the agency that issued the license in the other 
jurisdiction, who is of good character and reputation, who 
has passed the examinations required by the board in the 
fundamentals of land surveying, principles and practice of 
land surveying and Louisiana laws of land surveying, who 
has submitted an application for licensure in accordance 
with the requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly 
licensed as a professional land surveyor by the board. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:688 and 37:3651. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 2:244 (August 
1976), amended LR 2:352 (November 1976), LR 5:114 (May 
1979), LR 6:735 (December 1980), LR 7:645 (December 1981), 
LR 11:362 (April 1985), LR 16:773 (September 1990), LR 19:56 
(January 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board, LR 27:1029 (July 2001), LR 30:1713 (August 2004), LR 
32:1619 (September 2006), LR 35:1909 (September 2009), LR 
37:2413 (August 2011), LR 38:2564 (October 2012), LR 39:2802 
(October 2013), LR 43:539 (March 2017). 
Chapter 27. Use of Seals 
§2701. Seal and Signature 

A. The following rules for the use of seals to identify 
work performed by a professional engineer or professional 
land surveyor shall be binding on every licensee. 

1. - 2.f. … 
* * * 

3. Seal Responsibility 
a. … 
b. Responsible Charge 

 i. - i.(d).(ii). … 
 ii. No licensee shall affix his/her seal or signature 
to reports, plats, sketches, working drawings, specifications, 
design calculations, or other engineering and land surveying 
documents developed by others not under his/her responsible 
charge, except: 

(a). in the case of an individual Louisiana 
professional engineer checking and taking the professional 
responsibility for the work of an engineer who is not 
licensed in this state but is properly licensed in the 
jurisdiction of origin of such work, the Louisiana 
professional engineer shall completely check and have 
responsible charge of the work. Such responsible charge 
shall include possession of the sealed, signed and dated 
reproducible drawings, with complete sealed, signed and 
dated calculations indicating all changes; 

(b). certification of standard plans which were 
initially prepared, sealed and signed by an engineer who is 
not licensed in this state but is properly licensed in the 
jurisdiction of origin of such plans. Such plans may then be 
reviewed by a Louisiana professional engineer for code 
conformance, design adequacy, and site adaption for the 
specific application within Louisiana. The Louisiana 
professional engineer assumes responsibility for such plans. 

The plans, which already bear the seal and signature of the 
engineer who is not licensed in this state but is properly 
licensed in the jurisdiction of origin of such plans, shall also 
be sealed, signed and dated by the Louisiana professional 
engineer who is assuming responsibility. In addition to the 
Louisiana professional engineer’s seal, signature and date, a 
statement shall be included on the plans as follows; 

“These standard plans have been properly examined by me, 
the undersigned Louisiana professional engineer. I have 
determined that these plans comply with all applicable 
Louisiana codes and have been properly site adapted to use in 
this area.” 

(c). certification of standard plans, including 
special details, which were initially prepared by the 
Department of Transportation and Development and signed 
and dated by such agency’s chief engineer, but which are not 
for use on such agency’s projects. Such plans may then be 
reviewed by another professional engineer for code 
conformance, design adequacy, and site adaption for the 
specific application. The other professional engineer 
assumes responsibility for such plans. The plans, which 
already bear the signature of the agency’s chief engineer, 
shall be sealed, signed and dated by the other professional 
engineer who is assuming responsibility. In addition to the 
other professional engineer’s seal, signature and date, a 
statement shall be included on the plans as follows; 

“These standard plans have been properly examined by me, 
the undersigned professional engineer. I have determined that 
these plans comply with all applicable codes and have been 
properly adapted to use on this project.” 

(d). certification of single family residential 
design plans for conformance with applicable state and local 
building codes. Such plans shall be sealed, signed and dated 
by the professional engineer who is making such 
certification. In addition to the professional engineer’s seal, 
signature and date, a statement shall be included on the plans 
as follows. 

“These single family residential design plans have been 
properly examined by me, the undersigned professional 
engineer. I have determined that these plans comply with the 
following applicable codes for the jurisdiction in which the 
residence is to be located (check all that apply):  structural; 
 mechanical;  electrical;  plumbing.” 

 iii. - iii.(c). … 
4. Seal Use 

a. - b.ii. … 
c. Exempt Work 

 i. - i.(e). … 
 ii. No seal shall be required on standard plans, 
including special details, which are prepared by the 
Department of Transportation and Development and signed 
and dated by such agency’s chief engineer for use on such 
agency’s projects. 

5. - 5.b. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:696. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 8:192 (April 
1982), amended LR 12:692 (October 1986), LR 16:774 (September 
1990), LR 17:273 (March 1991), LR 19:58 (January 1993), LR 
22:287 (April 1996), LR 23:869 (July 1997), amended by the 
Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution Number 2 of 
the 1998 First Extraordinary Session, LR 24:1207 (June 1998), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
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Board, LR 25:1525 (August 1999), amended LR 27:1039 (July 
2001), LR 30:1723 (August 2004), LR 33:2789 (December 2007), 
LR 34:2415 (November 2008), LR 35:1910 (September 2009), LR 
38:1418 (June 2012), LR 39:1481 (June 2013), LR 42:443 (March 
2016), LR 43:540 (March 2017). 

 
Donna D. Sentell 
Executive Director 

1703#023 
 

RULE 

Workforce Commission 
Plumbing Board 

PlumbersIntroductory Information; Licenses; 
Revocation and Related Administration Proceedings; 

Continuing Professional Education Programs 
(LAC 46:LV.101, 301, 303, 307, 308, 309, 

310, 311, 312, 313, 314, 315, 901, and 1002) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board (board) has amended LAC 46:LV.101, 301, 303, 307, 
308, 309, 310, 311, 312, 313, 314, 315, 901, and 1002 to be 
in compliance with recent legislative changes designated as 
Act No. 297 of 2016. The amended Rule change establishes 
the designation of gas fitter and master gas fitter and 
provides licensing requirements and procedures relative to 
gas fitter and master gas fitter classifications, effective 
January 1, 2017. The addition of this classification resulted 
in the number change for rules formerly numbered as §§307-
313. These adjustments are effective upon this final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 1. Introductory Information 
§101. Definitions 

Apprentice Gas Fitter―a natural person engaged in 
learning the gas fitting trade by working under the direct on-
the-job supervision of a gas fitter and in the employ of an 
employing entity. Apprentice gas fitters shall be indentured 
in an apprenticeship program approved by the Workforce 
Commission. 

* * * 
Employing EntityRepealed. 
Employing Entity Gas Fitteras that term is used in R.S. 

37:1367(B) and (C) and in these regulations, shall mean a 
corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship that holds 
itself out as engaging in the business or art of gas fitting as 
defined in this Section and who employs at least one master 
gas fitter on a regular paid basis for actual services 
performed by that master gas fitter supervising gas fitters. 

Employing Entity Plumbing―as that term is used in R.S. 
37:1367(B) and (C) and in these regulations, shall mean a 
corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship that holds 
itself out as engaging in the business or art of plumbing as 
defined in this Section and who employs at least one master 
plumber on a regular paid basis for actual services 
performed by that master plumber or master plumbers 
supervising journeyman plumbers. 

Gas Fitter―a natural person who possesses the necessary 
qualifications and knowledge to install, alter, and/or repair 
natural gas systems; is licensed as such by the board; is 
supervised by a master gas fitter; and is in the employ of an 
employing entity. 

Gas Fitting―the work or business of installing, repairing, 
improving, altering, or removing natural gas piping, fittings, 
valves, or tanks used for conveying fuel gas for appliances 
on or in premises or in buildings annexed to real property. 
For purposes of this Chapter, gas fitting does not include the 
following: 

1. the installation or maintenance of piping by any 
entity of a municipal or gas district system that is subject to 
the regulatory authority of the Public Service Commission, 
the New Orleans City Council, or the Office of Pipeline 
Safety in the Department of Natural Resources; 

2. any work done by a person who is licensed by the 
Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission or any 
other services performed pursuant to such a license. 

* * * 
Master Gas Fittera natural person who possesses the 

necessary qualifications and knowledge to plan and lay out 
natural gas systems, supervises gas fitters in the installation, 
alteration, and/or repair of natural gas systems, and is 
licensed as such by the board. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 
(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Plumbing Board, LR 42:575 (April 2016), LR 43:541 (March 
2017). 
Chapter 3. Licenses 
§301. Licenses Required 

A. - L. … 
M. No natural person shall engage in doing the work of a 

gas fitter unless he possesses a license or renewal thereof 
issued by the board. A gas fitter may engage in the art of gas 
fitting only when he is under the supervision of a master gas 
fitter licensed by this board.  

N. Apprentices may engage in the art of gas fitting only 
when they are under the direct, constant on-the-job 
supervision of a licensed gas fitter. Direct, constant on-the-
job supervision means that a licensed gas fitter will 
supervise no more than one apprentice on only one job at a 
time. 

O. The board shall issue a license to any person who 
qualifies under the board's regulations and who desires to 
engage in doing the work of a gas fitter if he passes a written 
and manual gas fitter’s examination given by the board and 
pays the fees established by the board. 

P. No natural person shall engage in the work of a 
master gas fitter unless he possesses a master gas fitter’s 
license or renewal thereof issued by the board. The board 
shall issue a master gas fitter license to any person who 
qualifies under the board's regulations and who desires to 
engage in doing the work of a master gas fitter if he passes a 
written examination given by the board and pays the fees 
established by the board. A written examination shall not be 
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required for persons applying pursuant to §310.F. A master 
gas fitter shall not engage in the work of a gas fitter unless 
he also possesses a gas fitter’s license issued by the board or 
previously possessed a gas fitter’s license issued by the 
board. A person issued a master gas fitter's license shall 
designate to the board, as required by the rules of the board, 
an employing entity, which may be a corporation, 
partnership, or sole proprietorship. A licensed master gas 
fitter shall notify the board of any change of employment 
status with an employing entity within 30 days of the 
effective date of change in employment status. A master gas 
fitter shall designate no more than one employing entity at 
any time. The board may charge a reasonable fee for 
processing such redesignations. 

Q. No employing entity shall hold itself out as engaging 
in the business or art of gas fitting unless it employs a master 
gas fitter. No master gas fitter shall knowingly allow an 
employing entity to hold itself out as employing such master 
gas fitter at a time when it does not employ him. In the event 
a master gas fitter employed by an employing entity dies, the 
employing entity will be permitted to operate on the basis of 
the deceased master gas fitter’s license for a period not to 
exceed six months following the death of the master gas 
fitter. The board may require proof of death. The six-month 
grace period provided herein must be applied for, in writing, 
within 30 days of the death of the master gas fitter. The 
employing entity must comply with all other regulations 
issued by the board during the grace period. 

R. Every employing entity shall maintain an established 
place of business, with facilities for receiving complaints, 
calls and notices during normal business hours, from any 
person for whom it is performing gas fitting or from the 
board and its representatives. It shall display a sign, plainly 
visible from the street at every place where it and its 
employees are performing gas fitting work. The sign shall 
designate the employing entity's full name, address, 
telephone number and master gas fitter license number 
issued by the board to the designated active master gas fitter 
in its employ. The sign shall include legible lettering at least 
2 inches high with the words “Louisiana Licensed Master 
Gas Fitter” (or abbreviated “LA Lic. Master Gas Fitter”). 
The employing entity shall also identify itself by permanent 
signs or lettering affixed to its service vehicles on both sides 
of such vehicles indicating the same information required of 
job-site signs, except the master gas fitter license number 
can be abbreviated as “LMGF _________.” All public 
advertising, solicitations, customer invoices, and business 
correspondence issued by or on behalf of an employing 
entity shall set forth the information described herein. 

S. Employment of an active master gas fitter by an 
employing entity on a regular paid basis, as required by 
§301.Q of these rules, shall mean employment or self-
employment for wages or under a bona fide contract of hire 
with no more than one employing entity at any given time. 
Such employment or self-employment must include services 
performed by the active master gas fitter which is within the 
state of Louisiana or both within and without the state of 
Louisiana. 

T. Temporary working permits to gas fitters may be 
issued as required by R.S. 37:1376 and may be issued to a 
holder of a state license from states with like examinations, 
should that state recognize the Louisiana license, or where 

other bona fide evidence shows that the applicant's past 
experience would be capable of protecting the public from 
defective gas fitting. Each temporary permit must be signed 
by both the chairman and the secretary of the board. A 
reasonable fee may be charged for the issuance of temporary 
permits, as fixed by the board (see §312). 

U. An inactive master gas fitter, as that term is used in 
R.S. 37:1368(E), shall mean a natural person who is licensed 
by the board as a master gas fitter or who successfully 
applies for and passes the examination for master gas fitter 
license administered by the board pursuant to §307 of these 
rules. An applicant for inactive master gas fitter status must 
state in a form supplied by the board that he does not wish or 
intend to practice as a master gas fitter. An inactive master 
gas fitter shall not be permitted to designate an employing 
entity, or knowingly allow an employing entity to hold itself 
out as employing him as a master gas fitter. An inactive 
master gas fitter can convert his status to that of a master gas 
fitter by submitting to the board an appropriate form 
supplied by the board and upon payment of a fee established 
by the board. During the period of his inactive status the 
inactive master gas fitter shall pay a fee established by the 
board. An inactive master gas fitter converting his status 
under this Section shall designate an employing entity. An 
inactive master gas fitter shall be permitted to work as gas 
fitter during the period or periods he maintains an inactive 
gas fitter's license, if he is currently or was previously 
licensed by the board as a gas fitter. 

V. The board is empowered to assess special 
enforcement fees on a daily basis at a rate not to exceed $10 
a day relative to any master gas fitter or employing entity, or 
both, that fails or refuses, after due notice, to comply with 
the sign and posting requirements established by Subsection 
R of this Section. The daily enforcement fees assessed by the 
board under this provision shall not exceed, in the aggregate, 
$500. This special enforcement fee shall be in addition to 
any licensing fees required by law, or any other penalty or 
sanction assessed by a court of competent jurisdiction or by 
the board. 

W. In the event any applicant for any license or 
endorsement who successfully completes a required 
examination, but fails to pay to the board any requisite 
license or endorsement fee within 90 days of notice of his 
examination results shall not be issued the applicable license 
or endorsement unless and until he submits to an 
successfully completes re-examination and pays the 
appropriate fees for such re-examination and subsequent 
license or endorsement fee. Imposition of this re-
examination requirement may be waived for good cause. 
Any special endorsement fees incurred before or during the 
re-examination process shall not be affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board LR 19:897 (July 1993), LR 19:1593 (December 
1993), LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 25:1857 (October 1999), 
amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 
42:576 (April 2016), LR 43:541 (March 2017). 
§303. Application for License 

A. - F. … 
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G. Applications for gas fitter license shall be completed 
and sworn to before a notary public by the applicant. Each 
application shall state two years of having performed manual 
labor of gas fitting in that two-year training period was 
under the direct on-the-job supervision of a licensed gas 
fitter, except those completing apprenticeship programs 
recognized by the board.  

1. Each applicant shall be qualified to take the 
examination without assistance, and provide whatever other 
information is requested, on official board application form.  

H. The board must satisfy itself that an indentured 
apprentice gas fitter has satisfactorily completed the 
approved apprenticeship program. 

I. Applications for master gas fitter license shall be 
completed and sworn to before a notary public by the 
applicant. The applicant must submit proof that he is 
licensed by the board at the time of application as a gas fitter 
or the applicant must submit proof that he is a professional 
engineer licensed by the state of Louisiana with experience 
in the art of gas fitting as defined in R.S. 37:1377(K). He 
must furnish whatever other information relevant to his 
experience that is requested in the application form or 
specially requested by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:50 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 
(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Plumbing Board, LR 42:576 (April 2016), LR 43:542 (March 
2017). 
§307. Requirements to Take Exam for Gas Fitter's 

License 
A. Requirements 

1. An applicant for gas fitter's examination must have 
been a registered apprentice with the board for two years and 
shall provide notarized affidavit of having performed manual 
labor of gas fitting in that two year training period under the 
direct on-the-job supervision of a licensed gas fitter. 

2. He shall have sufficient education to read and write 
the answers to the examination questions and shall 
understand the gas fitting terms used in the code acceptable 
to the authority having jurisdiction in regard to the 
installation or repair of gas fitting. 

3. He shall furnish a 2-inch by 2-inch photograph of 
himself with the application. 

4. He shall submit his application and required 
documents to the office of the State Plumbing Board of 
Louisiana not less than 30 days before any scheduled 
examination. The board shall inform all interested persons of 
the examination schedule. 

5. He must attach a money order or check for the 
appropriate fee to the application. The fee is established in 
§310. 

6. No master gas fitter certificate shall permit any 
master gas fitter to do the work of a gas fitter. 

B. Regular quarterly examinations will be held on the 
first Saturday of January, April, July and October in the City 
of Baton Rouge, or on such days specially set by the board. 
Regularly scheduled examinations are subject to 

postponement or relocation to accommodate legal holidays 
or other conditions beyond the control of the board. 

C. Failure to report for examination will result in the 
forfeiture of the applicant's fee. This forfeiture may be 
reversed by the board upon showing a good cause by the 
applicant explaining his failure to attend the scheduled 
examination. 

D. Special examinations may be held at such times and 
places as the board may direct. Any person or persons may 
request that he be examined by the board at times and places 
other than the regularly scheduled examination dates, and 
the board shall examine such applicant or applicants as are 
qualified, at a reasonable time and place designated by the 
board after notice of such request, at the payment of a fee as 
established by the board. 

E. The examination shall be given by one or more 
examiners. At least one board member shall be present. 

F. The chairman of the board shall appoint the examiner 
or examiners, who may be representatives of a private 
professional service provider qualified to administer a 
standardized, nationally recognized test duly adopted by the 
board. If necessary, the chairman shall appoint additional 
examiners to conduct any special examination required as an 
accommodation to a qualified disabled individual under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

G. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this 
Section, any person or persons who at any time within three 
years of being cited by the board or its agents for engaging 
in the work of a gas fitter at a time when he did not possess a 
license or renewal thereof issued by the board, or was 
otherwise subject to civil or criminal prosecution for doing 
the work of a gas fitter without possessing a license or 
renewal thereof issued by the board, may request that he be 
examined by the board pursuant to this Section, but only 
after the payment of a special enforcement fee as established 
by the board, which shall be in addition to the regular license 
fee established by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 
Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:543 (March 2017). 
§308. Requirements to take Exam for Master Gas 

Fitter License 
A. Requirements 

1. An applicant for master gas fitter examination shall 
have a current gas fitter license issued by the board or, hold 
the state Licensing Board for Contractors mechanical work 
(statewide) license or the applicant shall possess a current 
license issued by the Professional Engineering and Land 
Surveying Board certifying or registering him as a 
professional engineer. A registered or certified professional 
engineer must further have experience in the art of gas 
fitting as defined in R.S. 37:1377(K) for a period of five 
years. 

2. In all cases the applicant shall have sufficient 
knowledge and understanding to comprehend, interpret, and 
apply the code acceptable to the authority having 
jurisdiction. In this regard, he must possess sufficient 
knowledge to plan and lay out gas fitting systems. He must 
also possess knowledge and understanding to comprehend 
business and legal terms of the business of gas fitting. 

3. The applicant shall furnish a 2-inch by 2-inch 
photograph of himself with the application. 
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4. He shall submit his application and required 
documents to the office of the State Plumbing Board of 
Louisiana not less than 30 days before any scheduled 
examination. The board shall inform all interested persons of 
the examination schedule. 

5. He must attach a money order or check for the 
appropriate fee to the application. The fee is established in 
§312. 

B. Regular quarterly examinations will be held in 
conjunction with the examination conducted pursuant to 
§307.B, or on such days specially set by the board. 

C. Failure to report for examination will result in the 
forfeiture of the applicant's fee. This forfeiture may be 
reversed by the board upon a showing of good cause by the 
applicant explaining his failure to attend the scheduled 
examination. 

D. Special examinations may be held by the board under 
the same conditions described in §307.D. 

E. The examination shall be given by one or more 
examiners. At least one board member shall be present. The 
examiner must be a master gas fitter licensed by the board or 
a special appointee under this Section. 

F. The chairman of the board shall appoint the examiner 
or examiners, who may be a representative of a private 
professional service provider qualified to administer a 
standardized, nationally recognized test duly adopted by the 
board. If necessary, the chairman shall appoint additional 
examiners to conduct any special examination required as an 
accommodation to a qualified disabled individual under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

G. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this 
Section, any person or persons who at any time within three 
years of being cited by the board or its agents for engaging 
in the work of a master gas fitter at a time when he did not 
possess an appropriate active master gas fitter license or 
renewal thereof issued by the board, or was otherwise 
subject to civil or criminal prosecution for doing the work of 
master gas fitter without possessing a license or renewal 
thereof issued by the board, may request that he be examined 
by the board pursuant to this Section, but only after payment 
of a special enforcement fee as established by the board, 
which shall be in addition to the regular license fee 
established by the board for active master gas fitters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 
Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:543 (March 2017). 
§310. Renewals 

[Formerly §307] 
A. All plumbing and gas fitter, medical gas piping 

installer licenses, medical gas and vacuums systems verifier 
licenses, as well as water supply protection endorsements, 
expire December 31 of each year. Applications for renewal 
will be mailed out by the end of October. The issuance of 
renewals will commence November 1 of each year. The term 
“renewal application,” as used in this Section, shall refer to 
all licenses and endorsements issued by the board. 

B. All renewal applications received at the board's office 
later than midnight the last day of December will be 
delinquent and will require a revival fee in addition to the 
renewal fee. Any license not renewed by the last day of 
December will pay a revival fee, in addition to the renewal 
fee, if renewed between January 1 and March 31. Any 

license renewed after March 31, will require an increased 
revival fee, in addition to the renewal fee. The fees are set 
forth in §312. Any person performing the work of a gas 
fitter, master gas fitter, journeyman plumber or a master 
plumber without the appropriate license issued by the board 
after March 31 of any year without having renewed his 
license from the immediately preceding year shall be subject 
to the special enforcement fee established in §307.G or 
§308.G. 

C. A person who has allowed his previously-issued 
journeyman plumber or master gas fitter license to expire 
may be afforded the option, in lieu of re-examination, of 
paying a special revival fee of $50 per year for each year the 
license was not renewed up to a limit of four consecutive 
years. However, any such person who performs the work of 
a journeyman plumber without possessing a license issued 
by the board during this period shall be subject to the special 
enforcement fee established in §305.H. 

D. A person who has allowed his previously-issued 
master plumber license, inactive master plumber license, 
restricted master plumber, or master gas fitter license to 
expire may be afforded the option, in lieu of re-examination, 
of paying a special revival fee of $250 per year for each year 
the license was not renewed up to a limit of four consecutive 
years. A person who qualifies for issuance of a restricted 
master plumber license by virtue of R.S. 37:1368(C) or (D), 
as amended by Act 752 of the 1990 Regular Session, must 
apply for such license on or before December 31, 1991. A 
first time application by any such person after December 31, 
1991 will be subject to the revival fee provisions. Any 
person who performs the work of a master plumber or 
master gas fitter without possessing a license issued by the 
board during any period of lapsed license or prior to 
applying for a restricted master plumber license as provided 
herein shall be subject to the special enforcement fee 
established in §306.G or §308.G. 

E. To be considered timely filed, any renewal application 
under §307 must actually be received at the office of the 
State Plumbing Board of Louisiana within the time specified 
for filing or be sent to that office by first-class mail, postage 
prepaid, and bearing a postmark showing that the application 
was mailed on or before the last day for filing. 

F.1. As authorized by R.S. 37:1366(J)(3) the board may 
waive the examination required for the issuance of a gas 
fitter or master gas fitter license to any person who meets 
and provides verifiable proof that he met at least one of the 
following requirements:  

a. that prior to July 1, 2016, he held a journeyman 
plumber license issued by the board and was employed by 
an employing entity performing gas fitting work verifiable 
by any such employing entity;  

b. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a journeyman 
gas fitter license issued by a municipality or other local 
governmental authority;  

c. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a master gas 
fitter license issued by a municipality or other local 
governmental authority;  

d. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a state License 
Board for Contractors mechanical work (statewide) license; 
or  

e. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a master 
plumber license issued by the board and performed gas fitter 
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work verified by at least three invoices or building permits 
as proof of work performance.  

2. In any case, any application for such waivers of 
examination, with verified proof, must be submitted before 
December 31, 2017.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, 1968, promulgated LR 2:419 (December 1976), 
amended LR 7:588 (November 1981), amended by Department of 
Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 17:52 (January 
1991), LR 18:30 (January 1992), amended by the Department of 
Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 21:1350 (December 1995), LR 26:329 
(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Plumbing Board, LR 42:577 (April 2016), LR 43:544 (March 
2017). 
§311. Insurance Requirements for Master Plumbers 

and Master Gas Fitters 
[Formerly §308] 

A. No master plumber, restricted master plumber, or 
master gas fitter license shall be issued, renewed, or revived 
until the applicant has provided proof acceptable to the 
board that insurance has been issued to the employing entity 
which is designated in accordance with R.S. 37:1367 by an 
insurer authorized to do business in this state. 

B. The employing entity shall maintain: 
1. worker's compensation insurance as required by 

law; 
2. motor vehicle bodily injury and property damage 

liability insurance in the minimum amount required by law; 
3. comprehensive general liability and property 

damage insurance in a minimum amount of $100,000, 
except on plumbing work or gas fitting work done in 
parishes under 30,000 persons in population; on buildings, 
residences, or structures being no more than 6,000 square 
feet of interior space, the minimum aggregate amount shall 
be $50,000. 

C. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 
master plumbers or master gas fitters applying for and being 
issued an inactive master plumber license or a master gas 
fitter license. 

D. The certification of insurance shall contain a 
provision, and the policy so endorsed, that the insurance 
carrier shall notify the board, in writing, of any change in or 
cancellation of the insurance policy or policies at least 30 
days prior thereto. 

E. In the event a master plumber, restricted master 
plumber, or master gas fitter changes his designation of an 
employing entity, the insurance requirements of this 
Subsection shall remain in effect. 

F. A licensed journeyman plumber performing repairs as 
defined in §101 and §301.E shall be subject to the insurance 
requirements of this Subsection. 

G. Any master plumber, restricted master plumber, or 
master gas fitter subject to the lesser comprehensive general 
liability and property damage insurance requirements in 
parishes described in Paragraph B.3 of this Section on the 
type of work described therein shall be subject to the greater 
insurance requirements generally imposed on master 
plumbers, restricted master plumbers and master gas fitters 
when performing work in all other parishes or on buildings, 
residences or structures being more than 6,000 square feet of 
interior space in any parish. 

H. The board is empowered to assess special 
enforcement fees on a daily basis at a rate not to exceed $10 
a day relative to any master plumber, master gas fitter or 
employing entity, individually or collectively, that fails or 
refuses, after due notice, to comply with the insurance 
requirements for master plumbers and master gas fitters as 
established in this Section. The daily enforcement fees 
assessed by the board under this provision shall not exceed, 
in the aggregate, $500. This special enforcement fee shall be 
in addition to any licensing fees required by law, or any 
other penalty or sanction assessed by a court of competent 
jurisdiction or by the board. 

I. If an employing entity is exempt from the worker's 
compensation laws, as provided by applicable Louisiana law, 
it shall execute an affidavit of non-coverage on a form 
provided by the board. Failure to timely submit this affidavit 
may subject the employing entity to special enforcement 
fees under this Section and/or an action for injunctive relief 
by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366 and R.S. 37:1377. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, 1968, amended by Department of Employment 
and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 17:53 (January 1991), amended 
LR 18:30 (January 1992), amended by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, LR 19:897 (July 1993), LR 25:1856 (October 
1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, 
LR 43:545 (March 2017). 
§312. Fees 

[Formerly §309] 
A. The fees and charges of the board relative to 

journeyman plumbers shall be as follows: 
1. special examinations$500; 
2. examinations$125; 
3. illiterate examinations$150; 
4. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam, in order to receive his first 
license.)$40; 

5. renewal fee$40; 
6. revival fee$15; 

a. if renewed after March 31$30; 
7. temporary permits$75; 
8. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 
application before taking the examination)$62.50; 

9. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 
10. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§305.H$500. 
B. The fees and charges of the board relative to master 

plumbers, restricted master plumbers and inactive master 
plumbers shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 
2. examinations$100; 
3. initial license fee$180; 
4. renewal fee$180; 
5. revival fee$60; 

a. if renewed after March 31$120; 
6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 
application before taking the examination)50 percent of 
exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 
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8. special enforcement fee imposed under 
§306.G$500; 

9. inactive master plumber fee$30; 
10. fee for conversion of inactive master plumber 

license to active master plumber$150; 
11. employing entity redesignation fee$150; 
12. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§301.K$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate; 
13. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§311.H$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate. 
C. The fees and charges of the board relative to medical 

gas piping installers shall be as follows: 
1. special examinations$500; 
2. examination$95; 
3. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam.)$30; 
4. renewal fee$30; 
5. revival fee$10; 

a. if renewed after March 31$20; 
6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should an applicant withdraw 
his application before taking the examination)50 percent 
of exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 
8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§304.K$500. 
D. The fees and charges of the board relative to water 

supply protection specialists endorsements shall be as 
follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 
2. examination$50; 
3. initial endorsement fee (This fee to be paid after 

applicant has successfully passed the exam.)$10; 
4. renewal fee$10; 
5. revival fee$10; 

a. if renewed after March 31$20; 
6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should an applicant withdraw 
his application before taking the examination)50 percent 
of exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 
8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§313.K$500. 
E. The fees and charges of the board relative to medical 

gas and vacuum systems verifier shall be as follows: 
1. application fee$200; 
2. renewal fee$200; 
3. revival fee$65; 

a. if renewed after March 31$130. 
F. The fees and charges of the board relative to gas 

fitters shall be as follows: 
1. special examinations$500; 
2. examinations$125; 
3. ADA accommodation examinations$150; 
4. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam, in order to receive his first 
license.)$40; 

5. renewal fee$40; 
6. revival fee$15; 

a. if renewed after March 31$ 30; 

7. temporary permits$75; 
8. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 
application before taking the examination)$62.50; 

9. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$35; 
10. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§307.H$500. 
G. The fees and charges of the board relative to master 

gas fitters and inactive master gas fitters shall be as follows: 
1. special examinations$500; 
2. examinations$100; 
3. initial license fee$180; 
4. renewal fee$180; 
5. revival fee$60; 

a. if renewed after March 31$120; 
6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 
application before taking the examination)50 percent of 
exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$35; 
8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§307.G$500; 
9. inactive master gas fitter fee$30; 
10. fee for conversion of inactive master gas fitter 

license to active master gas fitter$150; 
11. employing entity re-designation fee$150; 
12. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§301.K$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate; 
13. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§311.H$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1371. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated LR 7:588 
(November 1981), amended LR 15:1089 (December 1989), 
amended by the Department of Employment and Training, 
Plumbing Board, LR 16:23 (January 1990), LR 17:53 (January 
1991), amended by the Department of Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 
19:898 (July 1993), LR 19:1594 (December 1993), LR 21:1351 
(December 1995), LR 26:327 (February 2000), amended by the 
Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:545 (March 
2017). 
§313. Water Supply Protection Specialist Endorsement 

[Formerly §310] 
A. No natural person shall engage in the work of a water 

supply protection specialist unless he possesses an 
endorsement to either a master plumber license or a 
journeyman plumber license or renewals thereof issued by 
the board. The board shall issue such an endorsement to 
either form of license to any person who qualifies under the 
board's regulations and who desires to engage in doing the 
work of a water supply protection specialist, if he passes an 
examination given by the board and pays the fees established 
by the board. 

B. A person possessing a restricted master plumber 
license, who also possesses a water supply protection 
specialist endorsement to that license issued by the board, 
shall not be restricted geographically with respect to his 
work or business as a water supply protection specialist. 
However, the restrictions applicable to his restricted master 
plumber license shall remain in effect. 
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C. As authorized by R.S. 37:1368(H), the board shall 
recognize and certify certain programs of education and 
training of water supply protection offered by private or 
public organizations or institutions compliant with ASSE 
International, Cross-Connection Control Professional 
Qualifications Standard ASSE Series 5000. A journeyman or 
master plumber licensed by this board who successfully 
completes any such program shall qualify for admission to 
an examination offered under Subsection A of this Section. 
Any such organization must satisfy the board that its 
program or programs includes training and testing as 
specified in the ASSE Series 5000, Standard 5110, 
Professional Qualifications for Backflow Prevention 
Assembly Testers. 

D. Courses of instruction defined in §311.C must be 
provided by a person or persons meeting the credentials and 
requirements of ASSE Series 5000, Standard 5110, 
Professional Qualifications Standard for Backflow 
Prevention Assembly Testers and ASSE International 
Guidelines for Cross-Connection Control Certification. 

E. To be eligible for board certification pursuant to R.S. 
37:1368(H), an interested organization providing water 
supply protection specialist training and education must 
complete a written application on a form or forms supplied 
by the board. The board shall be entitled to receive timely 
information on the program or programs administered by 
such organization and background of instructors upon 
request at any time. The board, acting through its 
representatives, may also inspect the facility and observe the 
actual training and education programs used and offered by 
such organization. Failure to cooperate with the board and its 
representatives may be grounds for denial or withdrawal of 
board certification of any such organization. The board may 
investigate complaints concerning such programs. Adverse 
administrative action affecting an organization's application 
for certification or its continued status as an organization 
certified by the board pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(H) will be 
subject to the Administrative Procedure Act. 

F. The board may accept, in lieu of an examination 
directly administered by the board to any applicant, the 
verifiable results of an examination administered by an 
organization certified pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(H) as 
evidence of successful completion of the examination 
referred to in R.S. 37:1368(H). Any papers from such 
examinations must be available for inspection and the board 
may require notarized affidavits from the applicant and the 
administering organization representative attesting to the 
accuracy of the examination results and the scope of any 
such examination, which must minimally include the subject 
areas described in Subsection C of this Section. 

G. An applicant for a water supply protection specialist 
endorsement must attach to his application a money order or 
check for the appropriate fee established in §312 of these 
regulations. 

H. Regular quarterly examinations for water supply 
protection specialist endorsements may be held in 
conjunction with examinations for journeyman or master

plumber license applications, or on such days specially set 
by the board. Interested persons shall be notified of the 
examination schedule. 

I. A water supply protection specialist endorsement 
application must be submitted to the office of the State 
Plumbing Board of Louisiana not less than 30 days before 
any scheduled examination. 

J. The chairman of the board shall appoint an examiner 
or examiners to conduct water supply protection specialist 
endorsement examinations. An examiner may be a 
representative of a private or public professional service 
provider qualified to administer a standardized, nationally 
recognized test duly adopted by the board. 

K. Any person, who at any time is cited by the board for 
working as a water supply protection specialist without 
possessing an endorsement to that effect, shall be subject to 
a special enforcement fee as a precondition to any 
subsequent examination or licensing of any nature. This fee 
shall be in addition to the regular fees assessed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1368(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 21:1350 (December 1995), amended 
by the Department of Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 25:1859 
(October 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing 
Board, LR 42:577 (April 2016), repromulgated LR 43:546 (March 
2017). 
§314. Integrity of Examination 

[Formerly §311] 
A. The board may reject an examination for any license 

or endorsement under this Chapter, if the board determines 
that the applicant completed any portion of any such 
examination with the assistance of any other person or 
unauthorized written materials secreted into the examination 
site. Examinees will be allowed to utilize board approved 
resource or industry code materials or permitted by 
authorized third-party examiners. Examinees determined to 
have violated the prohibitions of this Section shall be 
notified in writing and, upon request by the examinee or at 
the direction of the executive director, an informal 
conference before the executive director or committee 
appointed by the board will be conducted. An affected 
examinee may appeal the determination reached in the 
informal conference by filing a written appeal with the 
board. Such appeal hearings shall comport with the 
provisions of R.S. 49:955(B). Based on the evidence 
adduced at any such hearing, the board may impose 
sanctions upon the examinee with respect to any 
subsequently administered examination and related 
licensing. 

B. The board is empowered to act upon reports of 
violation of Subsection A of this Section by examinees 
received from private or public organizations recognized as 
examiners under §§304.H, 306.F, 313.F or 315.E and impose 
sanctions as described in Subsection A of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366.D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 24:1948 (October 1998), amended LR 
26:328 (February 2000), repromulgated by the Workforce 
Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:547 (March 2017). 
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§315. Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems Verifier 
[Formerly §312] 

A. No natural person shall engage in the work of a 
medical gas and vacuum systems verifier unless he 
possesses a license or renewal thereof issued by this board. 
The board shall issue a medical and vacuum systems verifier 
license to any person who: 

1. qualifies under the board’s regulations; 
2. desires to engage in the work or business of a 

medical gas and vacuum systems verifier; 
3. passes a written and manual examination conducted 

by a nationally recognized organization for this purpose; and 
4. pays the fees established by the board. 

B. As authorized by R.S. 37:1368(I), the board shall 
recognize and certify certain programs of education and 
training of medical gas and vacuum systems verifiers offered 
by private or public organizations or institutions. A natural 
person's satisfactory completion of any such program and 
related exit examination shall qualify him for licensing 
under Subsection A of this Section. Any such organization 
must satisfy the board that its program or programs meet the 
following criteria. 

1. The program is conducted at a training facility and 
given to those persons that meet the requirements of 
American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) 
Professional Qualifications Standard for Medical Gas 
Systems Personnel Series 6000, Standard 6030, latest 
edition. 

2. The program meets criteria prescribed by the board 
and American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE), 
Series 6000, Standard 6030, latest edition. 

3. Courses of instruction defined in this Subsection 
must be provided by a person or persons possessing a 
current medical gas system instructor certification in 
compliance with ASSE Series 6000, Standard 6050, latest 
edition. 

C. To be eligible for board certification pursuant to R.S. 
37:1368(I), an interested organization providing medical gas 
and vacuum systems verification training and education 
must complete a written application on a form or forms 
supplied by the board. The board shall be entitled to receive 
timely information on the program or programs administered 
by such organization and background of instructors upon 
request at any time. The board, acting through its 
representatives, may also inspect the facility and observe the 
actual training and education programs used or offered by 
such organizations. Failure to cooperate with the board and 
its representatives may be grounds for denial or withdrawal 
of board certification of any such organization. The board 
may investigate complaints concerning such programs. 
Adverse administrative action affecting an organization's 
application for certification or its continued status as an 
organization certified by the board pursuant to R.S. 
37:1368(I) will be subject to the Administrative Procedure 
Act. 

D. An applicant for a medical gas and vacuum systems 
verifier license must attach to his application a money order 
or check for the appropriate fees established in §312 of these 
regulations. 

E. The board may accept, in lieu of an examination 
directly administered by the board to any applicant, the 
verifiable results of an examination administered by an 

organization meeting the criteria of ASSE Series 6000, 
Standard 6030, §30-3.2.3, latest edition and certified 
pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(I), as evidence of successful 
completion of the examination necessary for the issuance of 
a license for medical gas and vacuum systems verifier. Any 
papers from such examinations must be available for 
inspection and the board may require notarized affidavits 
from the applicant and the administering organization 
representative attesting to the accuracy of the examination 
results and the scope of any such examination, which must 
minimally include the subject areas described in ASSE Series 
6000, Standard 6030, latest edition. 

F. Any person, who at any time is cited by the board for 
working as a medical gas and vacuum systems verifier 
without possessing the necessary license issued by the board, 
shall be subject to a special enforcement fee as a 
precondition to any subsequent examination or licensing of 
any nature. The fee shall be in addition to the regular fees 
assessed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 26:329 (February 2000), amended by 
the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 42:577 (April 
2016), repromulgated LR 43:548 (March 2017). 
§316. Standards for Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems 

Verifiers 
[Formerly §313] 

A. A medical gas and vacuum systems verifier shall not 
certify to any party the results of any tests on medical gas 
pipeline systems or equipment installed or repaired by any 
person not licensed by the board as a medical gas piping 
installer. 

B. As a condition for licensing and renewal thereof, and 
subject to the disciplinary powers of the board under R.S. 
37:1378(3) and (8), any person licensed by the board as a 
medical gas and vacuum systems verifier shall be obligated 
to cooperate with the Louisiana state fire marshal and his 
agents in connection with his regulation of medical gas 
piping installation and systems verification. 

C. The duties described in Subsection B of this Section 
include the responsibility of a medical gas and vacuum 
systems verifier to accurately report to the fire marshal prior 
to the fire marshal's inspection the following as to any gas 
and vacuum system subject to his verification: 

1. the successful completion of pressure testing of all 
manufactured assemblies for both positive gases and vacuum 
systems, as supplied by the manufacturer of any such 
systems, prior to this installation; 

2. satisfactory cleaning of piping and fittings from the 
cleaning agency in accordance with the standard “cleaning 
equipment for oxygen service” (CGA G-4.1); 

3. documentation of each board-licensed medical gas 
piping installer’s braze performance qualification in 
accordance with NFPA 99, Health Care Facilities Code 
latest edition; 

4. documentation of the medical gas contractor's braze 
procedure specification and procedure qualification record; 

5. documentation of successful completion of the 
board-licensed installer's required testing, including a 
blowdown test, initial pressure test, cross-connection test, 
piping purge test and standing pressure test; 
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6. documentation of the verifier's successful 
completion of required testing, including cross-connection, 
valve test, outlet flow test, alarm testing, piping purge test, 
piping purity test, final tie-in test, operational pressure test, 
medical gas concentration test, medical air purity test and 
labeling. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1336(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 26:330 (February 2000), amended by 
the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 42:578 (April 
2016), repromulgated LR 43:548 (March 2017). 
Chapter 9. Revocation and Related Administration 

Proceedings 
§901. Revocation, Suspension and Probation 

Procedures 
A. All adjudication proceedings initiated pursuant to R.S. 

37:1378 and conducted by the board shall be in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:955 et seq. 
The term licensee as used in this Section, shall refer, where 
applicable, to the holder of a journeyman plumber, restricted 
journeyman plumber, master plumber, restricted master 
plumber, inactive master plumber, gas fitter, master gas 
fitter, medical gas piping installer or medical gas and 
vacuum systems verifier license, and holder of a water 
supply protection specialist endorsement. 

B. - K.2. ... 
3. Suspension 

a. A license or license endorsement to practice 
plumbing, gas fitting, engage in the work of a water supply 
protection specialist and/or medical gas piping installer may 
be withheld by the board as a result of the findings of fact 
presented in a hearing. The duration of a suspension may be 
for a definite or indefinite period of time. A licensee or 
endorsement holder whose license or endorsement is 
suspended may not practice plumbing, gas fitting, the work 
of a water supply protection specialist and/or medical gas 
installer in the state of Louisiana during the designated 
period of suspension. 

L. Revocation. A license or endorsement to practice 
plumbing, gas fitting, engage in the work of a water supply 
protection specialist and/or medical gas piping installer may 
be withdrawn by the board for any reason or ground 
permitted by R.S. 37:1378 or other law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 
Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 
17:55 (January 1991), amended by Department of Labor, Plumbing 
Board, LR 21:1352 (December 1995), LR 26:331 (February 2000), 
amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 
43:549 (March 2017). 
Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 

Programs 
§1002. Gas Fitters and Master Gas Fitters 

A. CPE Requirement 
1. All persons seeking to renew a gas fitter’s license 

issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board are required 
to attend and show proof of attendance at no less than two 
hours of a Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE 
class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

2. All persons seeking to renew a master gas fitter's 
license or to convert an inactive master gas fitter's license to 

an active master gas fitter's license must attend and show 
proof of attendance at no less than 3 1/2 hours of a Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board-approved CPE class in the prior 
calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

3. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter's license 
who seeks to renew said license must file an affidavit in a 
form provided by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board, that 
they have been inactive as a gas fitter in the previous year, 
and that they will remain inactive and not work as a gas 
fitter for the year for which they seek to renew their license. 
Upon such filing with the Louisiana State Plumbing Board, 
the holder of an inactive master gas fitter's License will not 
be required to meet the CPE requirements set out herein. 

4. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter's license 
who seeks to function as a gas fitter is required to attend and 
show proof of attendance at no less than two hours of a 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE class in the 
prior calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

B. Course Materials 
1. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall be the 

exclusive agency for distribution of CPE course materials.  
2. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will annually 

approve course materials to be used for the CPE required for 
renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter licenses. The 
course materials are the printed materials that are the basis 
for a substantial portion of a CPE course and which are 
provided to the licensees. Louisiana State Plumbing Board 
approval of course materials will be subject to all of the 
terms and conditions of this Section. The following 
minimum criteria will be used by the Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board in considering approval of course materials. 

3. The course materials will provide the basis for a 
minimum of two classroom hours of study for gas fitters and 
a minimum of 3 1/2 hours for master gas fitters. One half 
hour will be in the subjects of health protection, consumer 
protection or environmental protection, One half hour shall 
include information concerning the Act, Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board rules with the one remaining hour covering 
subjects, current industry practices and codes, and subjects 
from lists of approved subjects published by the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board. One and one half hour of the 
materials for master gas fitters will be on business topics 
approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. 

4. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will 
periodically publish lists of approved and required subjects. 

5. The course materials must be presentations of 
relevant issues and changes within the subject areas as they 
apply to the gas fitting practice in the current market, public 
health or topics which increase or support the licensee's 
development of skill and competence. 

6. The course materials may not advertise or promote 
the sale of goods, products or services. 

7. The course materials must be printed and bound in 
perfect/standard, metal coil or ring binder form. 

8. The course materials will include perforated 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board forms within the binding of 
the course materials that may be removed for use by the 
licensees. The forms will include CPE evaluation forms, 
license and endorsement examination forms and general 
complaint forms. 

9. All course materials must have the following 
characteristics: 
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a. high quality, readable and carefully prepared 
written materials with correct grammar, spelling and 
punctuation; 

b. appropriate illustrations and graphics to show 
concepts not easily explained in words; and 

c. in depth and comprehensive presentation of 
subject matter which increases or supports the skills or 
competence of the licensees. 

10. The publishers of course materials must have legal 
ownership of or an appropriate license for the use of all 
copyrighted material included within the course materials. 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board approved course materials 
will contain a prominently displayed approval statement in 
10 point bold type or larger containing the following 
language: 

“THIS CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 
COURSE MATERIAL HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD FOR USE IN 
THE (state year) CPE YEAR. BY ITS APPROVAL OF THIS 
COURSE MATERIAL, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT ASSUME ANY 
RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCURACY OF THE 
CONTENTS. FURTHER, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD HAS NOT MADE ANY 
DETERMINATION THAT THE PARTY PUBLISHING 
THE COURSE MATERIALS HAS COMPLIED WITH ANY 
APPLICABLE COPYRIGHT AND OTHER LAWS IN 
PUBLISHING THE COURSE MATERIAL AND THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT 
ASSUME ANY LIABILITY OR RESPONSIBILITY 
THEREFOR. THE COURSE MATERIAL IS NOT BEING 
PUBLISHED BY NOR IS IT A PUBLICATION OF THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD.” 

11. The publishers of course materials will conduct 
instructor training in the use of course materials. 

12. Any individual, business or association who wishes 
to offer to publish course materials shall apply to the 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board for approval using 
application forms prepared by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board.  

13. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may refuse to 
accept any application for approval as a publisher of course 
materials that is not complete. The Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board may deny approval of an application for any of the 
following reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 
Section; 

b. inadequate coverage of the materials required to 
be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course materials 
by licensees or Louisiana State Plumbing Board members or 
staff. 

14. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 
notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 
the applicant within 90 days of the refusal or disapproval. 

15. A publisher's authority to offer the course materials 
for which CPE credit is given expires on December 31 of the 
calendar year following approval. 

16. To be approved, 10 copies of course materials, 
including any handouts and audio/visual aids to be used, 
must be submitted in complete draft form to the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board's office no later than October 15 (or at 
least 30 days prior to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's 
November meeting, whichever is earlier) for Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board approval at its November Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board meeting. At least 10 copies each of all 

course materials that are approved at the Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board's November meeting shall be provided to 
the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's office no later than 
February of the following year, at no cost to the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board. 

17. Upon a showing of compelling necessity, the 
plumbing board, in its discretion, may grant an exception to 
the requirement that material be submitted prior to the 
plumbing board's November meeting, and, pursuant to this 
exception, may approve material submitted at least 30 days 
prior to any quarterly meeting of the plumbing board, which 
otherwise meets the requirements of this Section. 

18. A publisher's failure to comply with this Section 
constitutes grounds for disciplinary action, consistent with 
the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, against the 
provider or for disapproval of future applications for 
approval as a provider of course materials. 

C. Course Providers 
1. Course providers will offer classroom instruction in 

the course materials used for the CPE required for renewal 
of journeymen and master licenses issued under the Act. 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board approval of course 
providers will be subject to all of the terms and conditions of 
this Section. 

2. CPE courses shall be presented in one of the 
following formats: 

a. for gas fitters a minimum of 2 classroom hours 
presented on one day; or 

b. for master gas fitters, 3 1/2 hours on one day; or 
c. for gas fitters not less than two sessions of 1 

classroom hour each presented within a 30-day period; or 
d. for master gas fitters, two sessions totaling 3 1/2 

classroom hours presented within a 30-day period. 
3. Not less than 1/2 hour of the classroom course will 

be in the subjects of health protection, environmental 
protection or consumer protection. 

4. Not less than 1 1/2 hours of the master gas fitters’ 
class will be on business topics approved by the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board. 

5. Presentations must be based primarily on the course 
materials and any other materials approved by the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board. 

6. In addition to course materials, presentations may 
include videos, films, slides or other appropriate types of 
illustrations and graphic materials related to the course 
materials, as approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board. 

7. A course provider may not advertise or promote the 
sale of any goods, products or services between the opening 
and closing hours of any CPE class. 

8. Each course provider shall furnish a uniquely 
numbered certificate of completion of CPE to each licensee, 
but only after the licensee has completed the CPE course. 
The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will assign the unique 
numbers to be used on each certificate to each course 
provider. 

9. Each course provider shall, at its own expense and 
in a format approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board, mail, fax or electronically transmit to the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board certification of each licensee’s 
completion of CPE requirements within ten days of 
completion. 
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10. The board is authorized to enter into a cooperative 
endeavor agreement with either the Louisiana Association of 
Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors of Louisiana or 
the Louisiana Pipe Trades Association, or any subsidiary or 
affiliate of either non-profit organization, to jointly provide 
CPE services to licensed and master gas fitters. The board is 
authorized to share costs and expenses with either 
organization under terms and conditions that promote the 
public interest and avoid gratuitous donation of public funds. 

11. Each course provider must notify the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board at least seven working days before 
conducting classes; the notice shall contain the time(s) and 
place(s) where the classes will occur. 

12. Each course provider will perform self-monitoring 
and reporting as required by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board, including a certified roster of all persons attending 
the course, with the license number of each attendee 
included. 

13. Each course provider shall permit any Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board member or a duly designated 
representative of the Louisiana State Plumbing Board to 
monitor any CPE class for compliance purposes. 

D. Course Provider Instructors 
1. Each course provider shall use only course 

instructors that have been approved by the Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board. Each course provider shall annually submit 
to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's office a list of 
course instructors it employs and the instructors' credentials 
for approval. 

a. Lists of course instructors to be approved for the 
following year must be submitted no later than October 15 
or 30 days prior to the date of the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board’s November meeting (whichever is earlier) for 
approval by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board at its 
November meeting, unless an extension is requested at or 
before the August Louisiana State Plumbing Board meeting 
and granted by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. 

b. Prior to allowing course instructors to teach CPE, 
course providers must provide documentation to the 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board showing the instructor's 
qualifications to teach CPE, including but not limited to 
detailed information on any experience in providing 
instruction, assistance in providing instruction or successful 
completion of training for providing instruction. 

c. Course instructors must comply with Subsection 
E of this Section. Course providers shall notify the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board within 10 working days of any change 
of an instructor's employment status with the course 
provider. 

2. Any individual, business or association who wishes 
to be a course provider shall apply to the Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board for approval using application forms 
prepared by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. In order to 
be approved, the application must satisfy the Louisiana State 
Plumbing Board as to the ability of the individual, business 
or association to provide quality instruction in the course 
materials as required in this Section and must include: 

a. name and address of the applicant; 
b. names and addresses of all officers, directors, 

trustees or members of the governing board of any business 
or association applying; 

c. statement by applicant, and each officer, director, 
trustee or member of governing board (if applicable) as to 
whether he or she has ever been convicted of a felony or 
misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation; 

d. certificate of good standing issued by the 
Louisiana Secretary of State for corporate applicants; 

e. taxpayer identification number; 
f. facsimile number, statewide toll free telephone 

number, internet website or electronic mail address; 
g. fees to be charged to licensees for attending the 

course; 
h. an example of a licensee's certificate of 

completion of CPE; 
i. All CPE class scheduling plans shall provide for 

courses equally across the state. Course providers must, at a 
minimum, offer the CPE class in each of the following 
cities: Lafayette, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Alexandria, 
Shreveport, Lake Charles and Monroe; any CPE provider for 
gas fitting shall conduct both plumber/gas fitter combination 
CPE classes and standalone gas fitting CPE classes. The 
State Plumbing Board Louisiana or its director may, solely at 
their discretion, grant a request that the course not be offered 
in one or more of these locations, upon a demonstration of 
economic infeasibility by the course provider; 

j. a method for quarterly reporting compilations of 
licensee evaluations of course provider and course 
instructors to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board; 

k. identification of the course materials which will 
be used by the course provider; and 

l. an application fee to be set as provided by law. 
3. The course provider shall purchase course materials 

from the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana and may not 
charge the licensees more than the maximum cost set out by 
the course material provider. 

4. The fees charged to the licensees for attending the 
course will be determined by the course provider. 

5. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may refuse to 
accept any application for approval as a course provider that 
is not complete. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may 
deny approval of an application for any of the following 
reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 
Section; 

b. inadequate instruction of the materials required to 
be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course provider 
by licensees, Louisiana State Plumbing Board members or 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board staff. 

6. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 
notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 
the applicant within 90 days of the date of the decision. 

7. A course provider's authority to offer instruction in 
the course materials for which CPE credit is given expires 
on December 31 of the calendar year following approval. 

8. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall review 
course providers for quality of instruction: The Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board shall also investigate and take 
appropriate action, consistent with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 
revocation of authority to provide CPE, regarding 
complaints involving approved course providers. 
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9. A provider's failure to comply with this Section 
constitutes grounds for disciplinary action in accord with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 
revocation of authority to provide CPE, against the provider 
or for denial of future applications for approval as a course 
provider. 

E. Course Instructors 
1. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will annually 

approve course instructors to provide the classroom 
instruction in the course materials used for the CPE required 
for renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter licenses. 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board approval of course 
instructors will be subject to all of the terms and conditions 
of this Section. An individual who wishes to be approved by 
the Louisiana State Plumbing Board as a course instructor 
must apply to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board using an 
application form approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board. The following minimum criteria will be used by the 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board in considering approval of 
course instructors: 

a. all course instructors for master gas fitters must 
hold a Louisiana state master gas fitter's license, and those 
for gas fitter most hold a master's or gas fitter license; and 

b. demonstrate an ability to train others, including 
but not limited to providing a description of their previous 
training experience; and 

c. must be employed by an approved course 
provider. 

2. An approved course instructor may use, under its 
live supervision, a non-licensed supplemental lecturer to 
present additional materials as required. Prior to approval, a 
course instructor must identify to the board, any 
supplemental lecturer they intend to use, including a resume 
from the supplemental lecturer, and the subject matter the 
supplemental lecturer will discuss within 30 days prior to the 
course being conducted.  

3. Course instructors and supplemental lecturers may 
not advertise or promote the sale of goods, products, or 
services between the opening and closing hours of any CPE 
class. 

4. As a course instructor and licensee of the Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board, a course instructor must: 

a. be well versed in and knowledgeable of the 
course materials; 

b. maintain an orderly and professional classroom 
environment; and 

c. coordinate with the course provider to develop an 
appropriate method for handling disorderly and disruptive 
students. A course instructor shall report to the course 
provider and the Louisiana State Plumbing Board any non-
responsive or disruptive student who attends a CPE course. 
The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may deny CPE credit 
to any such student and require, at the student's expense, 
successful completion of an additional CPE course to 
receive credit. 

5. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall review 
course instructors for quality of instruction. The Louisiana 
State Plumbing Board shall also respond to complaints 
regarding course instructors. 

6. A course instructor's failure to comply with this 
Section constitutes grounds for disciplinary action against 
the Instructor or for disapproval of future applications for 
approval as a course instructor, in accord with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1368(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 
Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:549 (March 2017). 

 
James Finley 
Chairman 

1703#047 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

Board of Animal Health 

Equine (LAC 7:XXI.Chapters 5 and 9) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (department), through the Office 
Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health intend to amend the following regulations regarding 
equine: LAC 7:XXI.521-525 and Chapter 9. This revision of 
the equine rules is primarily a reorganization of the rules and 
an attempt to take out sections which are duplicative or no 
longer necessary. The proposed rules allow for electronic 
submission of EIA tests by a laboratory. Proposed §913 
reorganizes and combines current §§913, 917 and 919. The 
proposed Rule changes the requirement for EIA testing from 
every 6 months to every 12 months. Previously, the rules 
were inconsistent on how often EIA testing was required. 
Proposed §913 also exempts a nursing foal under seven 
months of age accompanying its dam from EIA testing. 
Proposed §915 is the same in substance as current §931. 
Proposed §917 is the current §915. The proposed Rule 
removed redundancies from the current Rule and was 
updated to allow electronic VS forms. The proposed Rule 
requires all laboratories that perform official EIA testing to 
be in compliance with 9 CFR 75.4(C). In addition, proposed 
§917 requires EIA testing laboratories to submit a monthly 
report to the Office of the State Veterinarian of all positive 
and negative testing numbers. Proposed §919 adds 
Subsection B regarding falsification of EIA documents. 
Proposed §921 changes the phrase “cause end of life” to 
“cause euthanization” or “euthanize” in two places; 
otherwise, it remains the same. The proposed revision of the 
equine regulations also repeals §§925, 927, 929, 931, 933, 
and 935. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXI.  Animals and Animal Health 
Chapter 5. Entry Requirements to admit Animals 

into this State and into Events 
Subchapter C. Specific Entry Requirements for Horses 

and other Equine 
§521. General Requirements Governing the Admission 

of Equine 
(Formerly §501) 

A. All equine imported into the state shall meet the 
general requirements of §501 and the following specific 
requirements. 

1. All equine moving into Louisiana for any purpose 
other than consignment to an approved Louisiana livestock 
auction market or an approved slaughter establishment for 
immediate slaughter shall be accompanied by a record of a 
negative official test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) 

conducted within the past 12 months. The official test shall 
be conducted by an approved laboratory. The name of the 
laboratory, the case number and the date of the official test 
shall appear on the health certificate as required in §523. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2053. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 11:242 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 
(June 1985), LR 14:222 (April 1988), LR 20:405 (April 1994), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:945 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§523. Admission of Equine to Fairs, Livestock Shows, 

Breeders Association Sales, Rodeos and 
Racetracks 
(Formerly §503) 

A. All equine moving into and within the state of 
Louisiana to fairs, livestock shows, breeder's association 
sales, rodeos, racetracks or any other concentration point, 
must meet general requirements of §503 and shall be 
accompanied by a record of a negative official test for 
equine infectious anemia (EIA), conducted within the past 
12 months. The official test shall be conducted at an 
approved laboratory and the name of the laboratory, the case 
number, and the date of the official test shall appear on the 
record. 

B. Representatives of the Board of Animal Health may 
inspect equine at the shows periodically, and any equine 
showing evidence of a contagious or infectious disease shall 
be isolated and/or removed from the show. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2093. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Animal Health Services, Livestock Sanitary 
Board, LR 11:242 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 (June 1985), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock 
Sanitary Board, LR 14:222 (April 1988), LR 20:405 (April 1994), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:946 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§525. Movement of Equine in Louisiana by Livestock 

Dealers 
(Formerly §505) 

A. All equine which are sold or offered for sale by 
livestock dealers, must meet the general requirements of 
§305 and the following specific requirements. 

1. All equine sold or offered for sale by permitted 
Louisiana livestock dealers must be accompanied by an 
official record of a negative official test for equine infectious 
anemia, conducted at an approved laboratory, within the past 
12 months. The record shall include the name of the 
laboratory, the case number and the date of the official test. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:502. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Animal Health Services, Board of Animal 
Health, LR 11:243 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 (June 1985), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of 
Animal Health, LR 14:223 (April 1988), LR 20:406 (April 1994), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:946 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
Chapter 9. Horses and other Equines 

(Formerly Chapter 5) 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 

(Formerly §511) 
§903. Definitions 

A. Wherever in these EIA rules and regulations the 
masculine is used, it includes the feminine and vice versa; 
wherever the singular is used, it includes the plural and vice 
versa. 

* * * 
EIA Positive Equine―an equine that has completed an 

EIA test with a positive ELISA test result, confirmed with a 
positive AGID test result at Louisiana Animal Disease 
Diagnostic Laboratory or National Veterinary Services 
Laboratory. 

* * * 
In the Presence of―coming within 200 yards of the 

animal or object referred to. 
Livestock Dealer―any person engaged in the buying 

and selling of livestock permitted by the board. Any person, 
who buys and sells the same livestock within 30 days and 
has engaged in five or more purchases and/or sales of the 
same livestock within any 12-month period, is said to be 
engaged in the business of buying and selling livestock. 

Owner―any person who, in any form, possesses, has 
custody of, or has an ownership interest in an equine. A 
person is an owner during the period of time of the described 
relationship. A parent or tutor of an owner who is a minor is 
also an owner during the period of time that the owner-
parent or tutor's minor resides with the parent or tutor. A 
curator of an owner who has been interdicted is an owner 
during the period of time that the interdict is an owner. 

* * * 
Written Proof of EIA Test―the VS Form 10-11 or 

electronic equivalent, approved by the board, completed by 
an approved EIA testing laboratory which, when completed, 
provides the name of the laboratory, the case number, the 
date of completion of the EIA test, the equine owner's name, 
address, telephone number and permanent individual 
identification of the equine and the test results.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:943 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:960 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 

Subchapter B. Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 
§913. Equine Infectious Anemia 

(Formerly §§507, 917 and 919) 
A. Identification. Beginning February 1, 1994, all equine 

prior to an official test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) 
shall be individually and permanently identified by one of 
the following means: 

1. implanted electronic identification transponder with 
individual number; 

2. individual lip tattoo; 
3. individual hot brand or freeze brand. 

B. Equine Required to be Tested 
1. All equine residing in Louisiana shall be tested for 

EIA at least every 12 months. It shall be the responsibility of 
the owner to ensure any and all testing of equine in their 
possession. 

2. All equine moving into the state of Louisiana for 
any purpose other than immediate slaughter, shall be 
accompanied by a record of a negative official test for EIA, 
conducted within the past 12 months. The official test shall 
be conducted by an approved laboratory. The name of the 
laboratory, the case number, and the date of the official test 
shall appear on the health certificate, as required in §523 
except nursing foals under 7 months of age accompanying 
its dam. 

3. All equine within the state or moving within the 
state to fairs, livestock shows, breeder’s association sales, 
rodeos, racetracks, or to any other concentration point, shall 
be accompanied by a record of a negative official test for 
EIA, conducted within the past 12 months. The official test 
shall be conducted by an approved laboratory and the name 
of the laboratory, the case number, and the date of the test 
shall appear on the official record of the test. 

4. All equine, except nursing foals under 7 months of 
age accompanying its dam, sold or purchased in Louisiana 
shall have been officially tested negative for EIA within 12 
months of the date of the sale or shall be officially tested 
negative for EIA at the time of sale or purchase. The official 
test shall be conducted at an approved laboratory. The 
official test record shall accompany the horse at the time of 
the sale or purchase and the name of the laboratory, the case 
number, and the date of the test shall appear on the official 
record of the test, except as provided in this Subsection. 

a. An equine offered for sale at a Louisiana public 
livestock auction market shall be tested for EIA at the 
auction market prior to sale if the equine has not been tested 
or is not accompanied by a current negative official EIA test 
record. The blood sample for the EIA test shall be drawn by 
an accredited veterinarian and submitted for an official EIA 
test in accordance with these regulations. The veterinarian's 
fee for this service shall be collected from the seller by the 
auction market and paid directly to the veterinarian. An 
equine without a current negative official EIA test record 
that is sold at an auction market may be moved to the buyer's 
premises under a Board of Animal Health quarantine after 
the blood sample is taken and the veterinarian and 
identification fees are paid. The equine shall remain under 
quarantine until the official test results show that the animal 
is an EIA negative equine. 
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C. Equine Positive to the Official EIA Test 
1. With the exception of the equine stabled at a 

racetrack regulated by the state Racing Commission, all 
equine testing positive to the official test for EIA shall be 
quarantined to the owner's premises and shall be destroyed 
or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 days of the date of 
the official test for EIA. If destroyed, verification of said 
destruction by written and signed statement must be 
furnished to the office of the state veterinarian. If sold for 
slaughter, the equine shall be accompanied by a VS Form 1-
27 permit issued by Board of Animal Health personnel from 
the owner's premises to an approved Louisiana livestock 
auction market or to an approved slaughter facility. The 
owner or trainer of all equine stabled at a racetrack regulated 
by the state Racing Commission testing positive to an 
official EIA test shall be notified immediately by the testing 
veterinarian, or by racetrack officials, or by Board of Animal 
Health personnel and the equine testing positive shall be 
removed from the racetrack premises immediately. 
Exceptions are: 

a. upon request by the owner, any female equine 
testing positive to the official test for EIA that is at least 270 
days pregnant or has a nursing foal no more than 120 days of 
age at her side may be quarantined to the owner's premises 
and kept at least 200 yards away from any other equine. The 
female equine shall be identified with a “72A” brand at least 
3 inches in height on the left shoulder. The female equine 
may remain in quarantine until her foal dies or reaches an 
age of 120 days at which time the female equine shall be 
destroyed or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 days. If 
destroyed, verification of said destruction by written and 
signed statement must be furnished to the office of the state 
veterinarian. If sold for slaughter, the female equine shall be 
accompanied by a VS Form 1-27 permit issued by Board of 
Animal Health personnel from the owner's premises to an 
approved Louisiana livestock auction market or to an 
approved slaughter facility; 

b. any foal kept in quarantine with its EIA positive 
dam shall be officially tested for EIA no later than 150 days 
after it is weaned. 

2. All equine stabled at a racetrack regulated by the 
state Racing Commission, testing positive to the official EIA 
test and immediately removed from the racetrack shall be 
quarantined to the premises to which they are moved and 
shall be destroyed or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 
days of the date of the official test for EIA. If destroyed, 
verification of said destruction by written and signed 
statement must be furnished to the office of the state 
veterinarian. If sold for slaughter, the equine shall be 
accompanied by a VS Form 1-27 permit issued by Board of 
Animal Health personnel from the owner's premises to an 
approved Louisiana livestock auction market or to an 
approved slaughter facility. 

3. With the exception of the equine stabled at a 
racetrack regulated by the state Racing Commission, the 
following shall be quarantined and officially tested for EIA 
no sooner than 30 days after the positive equine has been 
removed: 

a. all equine on the same premises as an equine 
testing positive to the official EIA test; 

b. all equine on all premises within 200 yards of the 
premises of the equine testing positive to the official EIA 
test; and 

c. all equine which have been on these 
aforementioned premises within the past 30 days at the time 
the equine which is positive to the official EIA test was 
tested. 

4. All equine stabled at a racetrack regulated by the 
state Racing Commission which are stabled in the same barn 
or in a directly adjacent barn of an equine which tests 
positive to the official EIA test shall be quarantined until the 
positive equine is removed and all other horses in the 
aforementioned barns are tested negative to the official EIA 
test. 

5. Equine which are required to be officially tested for 
EIA as a result of being quarantined due to the 
circumstances described in Paragraphs 3 and 4 of this 
Subsection may be tested by an accredited veterinarian 
chosen by the owner or by a state employed veterinarian if 
requested by the owner of the quarantined equine. In the 
event that the official testing for EIA is done by a state 
employed veterinarian, the official record (VS Form 10-11) 
will not be made available to the owner. 

6. Equine positive to the official test for EIA shall be 
identified with a “72A” brand on the left shoulder at least 3 
inches in height, by Board of Animal Health personnel. 
Equine positive to the official test for EIA will be retested 
prior to identification by branding upon request by the 
owner, by Board of Animal Health personnel and the blood 
sample submitted to the Louisiana Veterinary Medical 
Diagnostic Laboratory for confirmation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:967 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§915. Equine Quarantine Holding Area 

(Formerly §931) 
A. Any person desiring to operate an equine quarantined 

holding area must file a written application for approval of 
the facility to the board and shall have: 

1. the equine quarantined holding facility and area 
inspected and approved by the board; and 

2. agreed, in writing, to comply with these EIA rules 
and regulations. 

B. No other equine except equine consigned for 
slaughter shall be kept in an equine quarantined holding area 
and all equine held therein shall be “S” branded. 

C. No equine shall be kept in the equine quarantined 
holding area longer than 60 days by which time the life of 
any such equine shall be ended. 

D. No equine shall be released from an equine 
quarantined holding area except to be delivered direct to 
slaughter. 

E. The equine quarantined holding area shall be an area 
where EIA positive equine, “S” branded equine or both are 
kept at least 440 yards from all other equine at all times. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:967 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§917. Approved Equine Infectious Anemia Testing 

Laboratories 
(Formerly §915) 

A. No person shall operate an approved EIA testing 
laboratory without first obtaining approval from the United 
States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 
Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, and from the Board 
of Animal Health. 

B. The conditions for approving an EIA testing 
laboratory are as follows. 

1. Any person applying for an EIA testing laboratory 
approval must submit a written application for approval by 
the board to the office of the state veterinarian. 

2. An inspection of the facility must be made by a 
representative of the Office of the State Veterinarian or the 
USDA/APHIS/VS who shall submit a report to the board 
indicating whether or not the person applying for an EIA 
testing laboratory approval has the facilities and equipment 
which are called for by the United States Department of 
Agriculture, Veterinary Services. Any person or laboratory 
that performs an official EIA test must meet and be in 
compliance with the requirements found in title 9, CFR 
75.4(c) and with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA 
laboratory guidance. 

3. If the application is given preliminary approval by 
the board, the person applying will proceed with successful 
completion of training, examination, and inspection by the 
United States Department of Agriculture. 

C. Conditions for Maintaining Equine Infectious Anemia 
Testing Laboratory Approval 

1. Approved EIA testing laboratories must maintain a 
work log clearly identifying each individual blood sample, 
EIA test result and VS Form 10-11 or electronic equivalent 
approved by the board, all of which must be preserved and 
available for inspection, for a period of time of not less than 
24 months from the date of the EIA test. 

2. Approved EIA testing laboratories must maintain 
on file and make available for inspection a copy of all VS 
10-11 forms or electronic equivalent approved by the board, 
for a period of 24 months. 

3. Approved EIA testing laboratories shall 
immediately report by telephone and facsimile or email all 
positive EIA test results to the state veterinarian's office 
within 24 hours of detection. 

4. The state veterinarian shall renew the approval of 
approved EIA testing laboratories in January of each year, 
provided the approved EIA testing laboratories maintain the 
standards required by this regulation and by the United 
States Department of Agriculture requirements found in 9 
CFR 75.4(c) and with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA 
laboratory guidance.  

5. Approved EIA testing laboratories must submit a 
report of all positive and negative testing numbers to the 

Office of the State Veterinarian each month in a reporting 
format as prescribed by the Board.  

6. Approved EIA testing laboratories must submit the 
white original of each VS Form 10-11 or electronic 
equivalent approved by the board each month to the Office 
of the State Veterinarian.  

7. Approved EIA testing laboratories may charge a fee 
to the testing veterinarian for conducting an EIA test. 

D. All records of EIA tests conducted by an approved 
EIA testing laboratory shall contain the name of the 
approved EIA testing laboratory. 

E. An approved EIA testing laboratory may have its 
approval canceled if the board finds that the approved 
laboratory has failed to meet the requirements of the EIA 
rules and regulations, has falsified its records or reports, or 
has failed to maintain the standards required by this 
regulation and by the United States Department of 
Agriculture requirements found in title 9, CFR 75.4(c) and 
with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA laboratory 
guidance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§919. Penalties 

(Formerly §923)  
A. The penalty for a violation of these EIA rules and 

regulations shall be a fine of up to $1,000 for each violation. 
With regard to continuing violations, whether acts or 
omissions, each day a violation occurs or continues shall be 
a separate violation. 

B. Any person, whom knowingly falsifies information 
on an official EIA document, alters an official EIA document 
or uses falsified/altered EIA documents for the purpose of 
fraud shall be in violation of these regulations and subject to 
a fine of up to $1,000 for each violation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§921. Enforcement 

(Formerly §925) 
A. In addition to those relevant provisions of law, the 

board may do the following, as is necessary, to carry out the 
board's powers and duties and to accomplish the purpose of 
the EIA eradication program. 

1. The board may brand and permanently, individually 
identify equine. 

2. The board may quarantine equine, EIA-positive 
equine and equine in their presence, cause euthanization of 
EIA-positive equine, euthanize the EIA-positive equine or 
cause the sale of EIA-positive equine for slaughter. 
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3. An authorized agent of the board may enter any 
premises or place where equine are present during 
reasonable hours with or without prior notice for the purpose 
of determining whether these EIA rules and regulations have 
been violated and to inspect the equine for the presence of 
EIA and exposure related to EIA. A testing veterinarian 
employed by the board may draw blood samples from the 
equine present for the EIA test. 

4.a. Any authorized agent of the board shall have access 
to, and may enter at all reasonable hours, all places of 
business dealing in or with equine and all places of business 
where books, papers, accounts, records, or other documents 
related to equine are maintained. 

b. The board may subpoena, and any authorized 
agent of the board may inspect, copy, audit or investigate 
any of the books, papers, accounts, records, or other 
documents pertaining to equine, all for the purpose of 
determining whether there is compliance with the provisions 
of R.S. 3:2091-2100, and with these EIA rules and 
regulations. 

c. The authority granted in Subparagraph b of this 
Paragraph shall also extend to books, papers, accounts, 
records, or other documents of persons doing business with 
the above referenced places of business. 

5. The board may apply to a court of competent 
jurisdiction for a warrant to conduct any reasonable searches 
and seizures as is necessary to carry out the board's powers 
and duties not already provided for in these EIA rules and 
regulations. 

6. The board may issue written orders in preventing, 
controlling or eradicating EIA, and a violation of any such 
order shall constitute a violation of these EIA rules and 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§923. Severability 

(Formerly §935) 
A. If any part of these EIA rules and regulations is 

declared to be invalid for any reason by any court of 
competent jurisdiction, said declaration shall not affect the 
validity of any other part not so declared. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 
of Animal Health, LR 23:949 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 
and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:968 (May 
2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 
LR 43: 
§925. Enforcement 

(Formerly §525) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§927. Fees 

(Formerly §527) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§929. Approved Equine Infectious Anemia Testing 

Laboratories 
(Formerly §529) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§931. Equine Quarantined Holding Area 

(Formerly §531) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:967 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§933. General ProvisionsEquines 

(Formerly §533) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:948 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:967 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 
§935. Severability 

(Formerly §535) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 
Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:949 (August 1997), 
repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 
Health, LR 40:968 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 
autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 
foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule. 
Written submissions must be directed to John Walther, 
Assistant Commissioner of Animal Health and Food Safety, 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., 
Suite 4000, Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received 
no later than 12 p.m. on May 4, 2017. No preamble is 
available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Equine 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not result in any costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units. This proposed rule 
reorganizes chapters 5 and 9 under Part XXI Animals and 
Health, which relates to equine regulation, by combining 
sections that are duplicative and deleting sections that are no 
longer necessary. The proposed rule also allows veterinarians 
to electronically submit Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) tests, 
changes the requirement for EIA testing from every six months 
to every twelve months, and exempts a nursing foal under 
seven months of age accompanying its dam from EIA testing. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not result in an increase or decrease 
in revenue collections to state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes the requirement for EIA testing 
from every six months to every twelve months for equine that 
are being offered for sale. This can reduce the number of EIA 
tests that an owner is required to purchase. However, it should 
be noted that the proposed rule change also removes the $18 
maximum that a veterinarian can charge for an EIA testing fee. 
The veterinarian will be allowed to determine the price he or 
she charges for this testing.  Though this cap is being removed, 
it has not been enforced for several years. Also, due to the 
ability of veterinarians to electronically submit EIA tests, the 
veterinarian may save on printing costs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an effect on 
competition or employment. 

 
Dane K. Morgan Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1703#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Secondary Hazardous Materials 
(LAC 33:V.105, 109, and 322)(HW118) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste regulations, LAC 
33:V.105, 109, and 322 (HW118). 

This Rule requires all secondary hazardous materials 
(materials that are recycled or re-used in industrial 
processes) to be managed as if they were already hazardous 
wastes that have been discarded. It also requires that the uses 
of secondary hazardous materials as ingredients and the 
products created with the materials, be evaluated for 
legitimacy. Any facility that utilizes hazardous secondary
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materials will be required to conduct an evaluation of its 
industrial uses and practices for managing hazardous 
secondary materials. The basis and rationale for this Rule are 
to meet EPA mandatory adoption requirements. This Rule 
meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§105. Program Scope 

These rules and regulations apply to owners and operators 
of all facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, or 
dispose of hazardous waste, except as specifically provided 
otherwise herein. The procedures of these regulations also 
apply to the denial of a permit for the active life of a 
hazardous waste management facility or TSD unit under 
LAC 33:V.706. Definitions appropriate to these rules and 
regulations, including solid waste and hazardous waste, 
appear in LAC 33:V.109. Wastes that are excluded from 
regulation are found in this Section. 

A.1. - C.6. … 
D. Exclusions 

1. Materials that are not Solid Wastes. The following 
materials are not solid wastes for the purpose of this 
Subpart: 

a.i. - w.vi. … 
x. hazardous secondary material generated and 

legitimately reclaimed within the United States of America 
or its territories and under the control of the generator is not 
a solid waste, provided that the material complies with the 
following conditions: 
 i. the hazardous secondary material is generated 
and reclaimed at the generating facility (for purposes of this 
definition, generating facility means all contiguous property 
owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the hazardous 
secondary material generator); or 
 ii. the hazardous secondary material is generated 
and reclaimed at different facilities, if the reclaiming facility 
is controlled by the generator or if both the generating 
facility and the reclaiming facility are controlled by a 
person, as defined in LAC 33:V.109; and 

(a). the generator provides one of the following 
certifications:  
 (i). “On behalf of [insert generator facility 
name], I certify that this facility will send the indicated 
hazardous secondary material to [insert reclaimer facility 
name], which is controlled by [insert generator facility 
name] and that [insert name of either facility] has 
acknowledged full responsibility for the safe management of 
the hazardous secondary material.”; or 
 (ii). “On behalf of [insert generator facility 
name], I certify that this facility will send the indicated 
hazardous secondary material to [insert reclaimer facility 
name], that both facilities are under common control, and 
that [insert name of either facility] has acknowledged full 
responsibility for the safe management of the hazardous 
secondary material.” For purposes of this Paragraph, control 

means the power to direct the policies of the facility, whether 
by the ownership of stock, voting rights, or otherwise, 
except that contractors who operate facilities on behalf of a 
different person as defined in LAC 33:V.109 shall not be 
deemed to “control” such facilities; 

(b). the generating and receiving facilities must 
both maintain at their facilities for no less than three years 
records of hazardous secondary materials sent or received 
under this exclusion. In both cases, the records must contain: 
 (i). the name of the transporter;  
 (ii). the date of the shipment; and 
 (iii). the type and quantity of the hazardous 
secondary material shipped or received under the exclusion;  
 (iv). these record-keeping requirements may 
be satisfied by maintaining routine business records (e.g., 
financial records, bills of lading, copies of DOT shipping 
papers, or electronic confirmations); or 
 iii. the hazardous secondary material is generated 
pursuant to a written contract between a tolling contractor 
and a toll manufacturer and is reclaimed by the tolling 
contractor, if the tolling contractor certifies the following: 
“On behalf of [insert tolling contractor name], I certify that 
[insert tolling contractor name] has a written contract with 
[insert toll manufacturer name] to manufacture [insert name 
of product or intermediate] which is made from specified 
unused materials, and that [insert tolling contractor name] 
will reclaim the hazardous secondary materials generated 
during this manufacture. On behalf of [insert tolling 
contractor name], I also certify that [insert tolling contractor 
name] retains ownership of, and responsibility for, the 
hazardous secondary materials that are generated during the 
course of the manufacture, including any releases of 
hazardous secondary materials that occur during the 
manufacturing process.”; and 

(a). the tolling contractor must maintain at its 
facility for no less than three years records of hazardous 
secondary materials received pursuant to its written contract 
with the tolling manufacturer; and 

(b). the tolling manufacturer must maintain at its 
facility for no less than three years records of hazardous 
secondary materials shipped pursuant to its written contract 
with the tolling contractor; and 

(c). for both the tolling contractor and the tolling 
manufacturer, the records must contain the name of the 
transporter, the date of the shipment, and the type and 
quantity of the hazardous secondary material shipped or 
received pursuant to the written contract. These requirements 
may be satisfied by routine business records (e.g., financial 
records, bills of lading, copies of DOT shipping papers, or 
electronic confirmations). For purposes of this Paragraph: 
 (i). tolling contractora person who 
arranges for the production of a product or intermediate 
made from specified unused materials through a written 
contract with a toll manufacturer; 
 (ii). toll manufacturera person who 
produces a product or intermediate made from specified 
unused materials pursuant to a written contract with a tolling 
contractor; 
 iv. the hazardous secondary material is contained 
as defined in LAC 33:V.109, contained. A hazardous 
secondary material released to the environment is discarded 
and a solid waste unless it is immediately recovered for the 
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purpose of reclamation. Hazardous secondary material 
managed in a unit with leaks or other continuing or 
intermittent unpermitted releases is discarded and a solid 
waste; 
 v. the hazardous secondary material is not 
speculatively accumulated, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, 
accumulated speculatively; 
 vi. notice is provided as required by LAC 
33:V.105.Q; 
 vii. the material is not otherwise subject to 
material-specific management conditions under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed (except as provided for in 
LAC 33:V.105.R.6.e) and it is not a spent lead-acid battery; 
 viii. persons performing the recycling of hazardous 
secondary materials under this exclusion must maintain 
documentation of their legitimacy determination on-site. 
Documentation must be a written description of how the 
recycling meets all four factors in LAC 33:V.105.R. 
Documentation shall be maintained for three years after the 
recycling operation has ceased; 
 ix. persons operating under this exclusion must 
meet the requirements of the Code of Federal Regulations at 
40 CFR 261, subpart M (emergency preparedness and 
response for management of excluded hazardous secondary 
materials), July 1, 2015, which are hereby incorporated by 
reference; 

y. hazardous secondary material that is generated 
and then transferred to a verified reclamation facility for the 
purpose of reclamation is not a solid waste, provided that: 
 i. the material is not speculatively accumulated, 
as defined in LAC 33:V.109, accumulated speculatively; 
 ii. the material is not handled by any person or 
facility other than the hazardous secondary material 
generator, the transporter, an intermediate facility or a 
reclaimer and, while in transport, is not stored for more than 
10 days at a transfer facility, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, 
transfer facility, and is packaged according to applicable 
United States Department of Transportation regulations at 49 
CFR parts 173, 178, and 179 while in transport; 
 iii. the material is not otherwise subject to 
material-specific management conditions under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed (except as provided for in 
LAC 33:V.105.R.6.e), and it is not a spent lead-acid battery; 
 iv. the reclamation of the material is legitimate, as 
specified under LAC 33:V.105.R; 
 v. the hazardous secondary material generator 
satisfies all of the following conditions: 

(a). the material must be contained as defined in 
LAC 33:V.109, contained. A hazardous secondary material 
released to the environment will be considered discarded and 
a solid waste unless it is immediately recovered for the 
purpose of recycling. Hazardous secondary material 
managed in a unit with leaks or other continuing releases is 
discarded and a solid waste; 

(b). the hazardous secondary material generator 
must arrange for transport of hazardous secondary materials 
to a verified reclamation facility (or facilities) in the United 
States of America. A verified reclamation facility is a facility 
that has been granted a variance under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.d 
or a reclamation facility where the management of the 
hazardous secondary materials is addressed under a RCRA 
part B permit or interim status standards. If the hazardous 

secondary material will be passing through an intermediate 
facility, the intermediate facility must have been granted a 
variance under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.d or the management of 
the hazardous secondary materials at that facility must be 
addressed under a RCRA part B permit or interim status 
standards, and the hazardous secondary material generator 
must make contractual arrangements with the intermediate 
facility to ensure that the hazardous secondary material is 
sent to the reclamation facility identified by the hazardous 
secondary material generator; 

(c). the hazardous secondary material generator 
must maintain at the generating facility for no less than three 
years records of all off-site shipments of hazardous 
secondary materials. For each shipment, these records must, 
at a minimum, contain the following information: 
 (i). name of the transporter and date of the 
shipment; 
 (ii). name and address of each reclaimer 
and, if applicable, the name and address of each intermediate 
facility to which the hazardous secondary material was sent; 
 (iii). the type and quantity of hazardous 
secondary material in the shipment; 

(d). the hazardous secondary material generator 
must maintain at the generating facility for no less than three 
years confirmations of receipt from each reclaimer and, if 
applicable, each intermediate facility for all off-site 
shipments of hazardous secondary materials. Confirmations 
of receipt must include the name and address of the 
reclaimer (or intermediate facility), the type and quantity of 
the hazardous secondary materials received and the date 
which the hazardous secondary materials were received. 
This requirement may be satisfied by routine business 
records (e.g., financial records, bills of lading, copies of U.S. 
Department of Transportation shipping papers, or electronic 
confirmations of receipt); 

(e). the hazardous secondary material generator 
must comply with the emergency preparedness and response 
conditions in 40 CFR 261, subpart M (emergency 
preparedness and response for management of excluded 
hazardous secondary materials), July 15, 2015; these 
requirements are hereby incorporated by reference for this 
exclusion; 
 vi. reclaimers of hazardous secondary material 
excluded from regulation under this exclusion and 
intermediate facilities, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, shall 
satisfy all of the following conditions: 

(a). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 
maintain at its facility for no less than three years records of 
all shipments of hazardous secondary material that were 
received at the facility and, if applicable, for all shipments of 
hazardous secondary materials that were received and 
subsequently sent off-site from the facility for further 
reclamation. For each shipment, these records shall at a 
minimum contain the following information: 
 (i). name of the transporter and date of the 
shipment;  
 (ii). name and address of the hazardous 
secondary material generator and, if applicable, the name 
and address of the reclaimer or intermediate facility which 
the hazardous secondary materials were received from;  
 (iii). the type and quantity of hazardous 
secondary material in the shipment; and 
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 (iv). for hazardous secondary materials that, 
after being received by the reclaimer or intermediate facility, 
were subsequently transferred off-site for further 
reclamation, the name and address of the (subsequent) 
reclaimer and, if applicable, the name and address of each 
intermediate facility to which the hazardous secondary 
material was sent; 

(b). the intermediate facility shall send the 
hazardous secondary material to the reclaimer(s) designated 
by the hazardous secondary materials generator; 

(c). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 
send to the hazardous secondary material generator 
confirmations of receipt for all off-site shipments of 
hazardous secondary materials. Confirmations of receipt 
shall include the name and address of the reclaimer (or 
intermediate facility), the type and quantity of the hazardous 
secondary materials received and the date which the 
hazardous secondary materials were received. This 
requirement may be satisfied by routine business records 
(e.g., financial records, bills of lading, copies of DOT 
shipping papers, or electronic confirmations of receipt); 

(d). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 
manage the hazardous secondary material in a manner that is 
at least as protective as that employed for analogous raw 
material and shall be contained. An “analogous raw 
material” is a raw material for which a hazardous secondary 
material is a substitute and serves the same function and has 
similar physical and chemical properties as the hazardous 
secondary material; 

(e). any residuals that are generated from 
reclamation processes will be managed in a manner that is 
protective of human health and the environment. If any 
residuals exhibit a hazardous characteristic according to 
LAC 33:V.4903, or if they themselves are specifically listed 
in LAC 33:V.4901, such residuals are hazardous wastes and 
must be managed in accordance with the applicable 
requirements of this Subpart when disposed or intended for 
disposal; 

(f). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 
provide financial assurance as required under subpart H of 
40 CFR part 261, July 2015, which is hereby incorporated 
by reference; 

(g). the reclaimer and intermediate facility have 
been granted a variance under LAC 33:V.105.O and/or LAC 
33:V.105.K, as applicable, or have a RCRA part B permit or 
interim status standards that address the management of the 
hazardous secondary materials; and 
 vii. all persons claiming the exclusion under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.y shall provide notification as required under 
LAC 33:V.105.Q; 

z. hazardous secondary materials that are generated 
and then transferred to another person for the purpose of 
remanufacturing are not solid waste, provided there is 
compliance with the standards and requirements for this 
conditional exclusion, which are published in the Code of 
Federal Regulations at 40 CFR 261.4(a)(27)-
261.4(a)(27)(vi)(F). Additional requirements, as applicable 
to this exclusion, are located in 40 CFR 261, subpart I (use 
and management of containers), 40 CFR 261, subpart J (tank 
systems), 40 CFR 261, subpart AA (air emission standards 
for process vents), 40 CFR 261, subpart BB (air emission 
standards for equipment leaks), and 40 CFR 261, subpart CC 

(air emission standards for tanks and containers), July 1, 
2015, and are hereby incorporated by reference for the 
purposes of this exclusion. 

D.2. - J.2. … 
K. Variances from Classification as a Solid Waste, Non-

Waste Determinations and/or Variance to be Classified as a 
Boiler 

1. Variance to be Classified as a Boiler. In accordance 
with the standards and criteria in LAC 33:V.109, boiler and 
the procedures in Paragraph K.2 of this Section, the 
administrative authority may determine on a case-by-case 
basis that certain enclosed devices using controlled flame 
combustion are boilers, even though they do not otherwise 
meet the definition of boiler contained in LAC 33:V.109 
after considering the following criteria: 

a. the extent to which the unit has provisions for 
recovering and exporting thermal energy in the form of 
steam, heated fluids, or heated gases; and 

b. the extent to which the combustion chamber and 
energy recovery equipment are of integral design; and 

c. the efficiency of energy recovery, calculated in 
terms of the recovered energy compared with the thermal 
value of the fuel; and 

d. the extent to which exported energy is utilized; 
and 

e. the extent to which the device is in common and 
customary use as a "boiler" functioning primarily to produce 
steam, heated fluids, or heated gases; and 

f. other factors, as appropriate. 
2. Procedures for Variances from Classification as a 

Solid Waste, or Variances to be Classified as a Boiler, or for 
Non-waste Determinations. The administrative authority will 
use the following procedures in evaluating applications for 
variances from classification as a solid waste, applications to 
classify particular enclosed controlled flame combustion 
devices as boilers, or applications for non-waste 
determinations: 

a. the applicant must apply to the administrative 
authority for the variance or non-waste determination. The 
application must address the relevant criteria contained in 
this Subsection or LAC 33:V.105.O as applicable;  

b. the administrative authority will evaluate the 
application and issue a draft notice tentatively granting or 
denying the application. Notification of this tentative 
decision will be provided by newspaper advertisement 
and/or radio broadcast in the locality where the recycler is 
located. The administrative authority will accept comment 
on the tentative decision for 30 days and may also hold a 
public hearing upon request or at his discretion. The 
administrative authority will issue a final decision after 
receipt of comments and after a hearing (if any); 

c. in the event of a change in circumstances that 
affect how a hazardous secondary material meets the 
relevant criteria contained in LAC 33:V.105.K or LAC 
33:V.105.O upon which a variance or non-waste 
determination has been based, the applicant shall send a 
description of the change in circumstances to the 
administrative authority. The administrative authority may 
issue a determination that the hazardous secondary material 
continues to meet the relevant criteria of the variance or non-
waste determination or may require the facility to re-apply 
for the variance or non-waste determination; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 562

d. variances and non-waste determinations issued 
after [date of promulgation] shall be effective for a fixed 
term not to exceed 10 years. If a facility re-applies for a 
variance or non-waste determination within 180 days prior 
to the end of the term, the facility may continue to operate 
under an expired variance or non-waste determination until 
receiving a decision on their re-application from the 
administrative authority; and 

e. facilities receiving a variance or non-waste 
determination issued after [DATE OF PROMULGATION] 
must provide notification as required by LAC 33:V.105.Q. 
Facilities that have already been granted a variance or non-
waste determination prior to [DATE OF PROMULGATION] 
by the administrative authority under LAC 33:V.105.K or 
LAC 33:V.105.O shall continue to operate under the 
previously granted variance or determination, unless there is 
a change in the facility’s process or materials. 

3. Standards and criteria for non-waste determinations 
are listed below. 

a. An applicant may apply to the administrative 
authority for a formal determination that a hazardous 
secondary material is not discarded and therefore not a solid 
waste. The determinations will be based on the criteria 
contained in Subparagraphs b or c of this Paragraph, as 
applicable. If an application is denied, the hazardous 
secondary material might still be eligible for a solid waste 
variance or exclusion (e.g., one of the solid waste variances 
under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.c).  

b. The administrative authority may grant a non-
waste determination for hazardous secondary material which 
is reclaimed in a continuous industrial process if the 
applicant demonstrates that the hazardous secondary 
material is a part of the production process and is not 
discarded. The determination will be based on whether the 
hazardous secondary material is legitimately recycled as 
specified in LAC 33:V.105.R and on the following criteria: 
 i. the extent that the management of the 
hazardous secondary material is part of the continuous 
primary production process and is not waste treatment; 
 ii. whether the capacity of the production process 
would use the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable 
time frame and ensure that the hazardous secondary material 
will not be abandoned (for example, based on past practices, 
market factors, the nature of the hazardous secondary 
material, or any contractual arrangements); 
 iii. whether the hazardous constituents in the 
hazardous secondary material are reclaimed rather than 
released to the air, water or land at significantly higher levels 
from either a statistical or from a health and environmental 
risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 
production process; and 
 iv. other relevant factors that demonstrate the 
hazardous secondary material is not discarded, including 
why the hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or 
should not have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion 
under LAC 33:V.109, solid waste and/or LAC 33:V.105.D.1. 

c. The administrative authority may grant a non-
waste determination for hazardous secondary material which 
is indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 
intermediate if the applicant demonstrates that the hazardous 
secondary material is comparable to a product or 
intermediate and is not discarded. The determination will be 

based on whether the hazardous secondary material is 
legitimately recycled as specified in LAC 33:V.105.R and on 
the following criteria: 
 i. whether market participants treat the hazardous 
secondary material as a product or intermediate rather than a 
waste (e.g., based on the current positive value of the 
hazardous secondary material, stability of demand, or any 
contractual arrangements); 
 ii. whether the chemical and physical identity of 
the hazardous secondary material is comparable to 
commercial products or intermediates; 
 iii. whether the capacity of the market would use 
the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable time frame 
and ensure that the hazardous secondary material will not be 
abandoned (e.g., based on past practices, market factors, the 
nature of the hazardous secondary material, or any 
contractual arrangements); 
 iv. whether the hazardous constituents in the 
hazardous secondary material are reclaimed rather than 
released to the air, water or land at significantly higher levels 
from either a statistical or from a health and environmental 
risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 
production process; and 
 v. other relevant factors that demonstrate the 
hazardous secondary material is not discarded, including 
why the hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or 
should not have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion 
under LAC 33:V.109, solid waste and/or LAC 33:V.105.D.1. 

L. - N.5. … 
O. Variances from Classification as a Solid Waste 

1. In accordance with the standards and criteria in 
Paragraph O.2 and the procedures in LAC 33:V.105.K.2 of 
this Section, the administrative authority may determine on a 
case-by-case basis that the following recycled materials are 
not solid waste(s): 

a. … 
b. materials that are reclaimed and then reused 

within the original production process in which they were 
generated; 

c. … 
d. hazardous secondary materials that are reclaimed 

in a continuous industrial process;  
e. hazardous secondary materials that are 

indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 
intermediate; and 

f. hazardous secondary materials that are 
transferred for reclamation under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y and 
are managed at a verified reclamation facility or 
intermediate facility where the management of the hazardous 
secondary materials is not addressed under a RCRA part B 
permit or interim status standards. 

2. Standards and Criteria for Variances from 
Classification as a Solid Waste 

a. - b.vii. … 
c. The administrative authority may grant requests 

for a variance from classifying as a solid waste those 
hazardous secondary materials that have been partially 
reclaimed, but must be reclaimed further before recovery is 
completed, if the partial reclamation has produced a 
commodity-like material. A determination that a partially-
reclaimed material for which the variance is sought is 
commodity-like will be based on whether the hazardous 
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secondary material is legitimately recycled as specified in 
LAC 33:V.105.R and on whether all of the following 
decision criteria are satisfied: 
 i. whether the degree of partial reclamation the 
material has undergone is substantial as demonstrated by 
using a partial reclamation process other than the process 
that generated the hazardous waste; 
 ii. whether the partially-reclaimed material has 
sufficient economic value that it will be purchased for 
further reclamation; 
 iii. whether the partially-reclaimed material is a 
viable substitute for a product or intermediate produced from 
virgin or raw materials which is used in subsequent 
production steps; 
 iv. whether there is a market for the partially-
reclaimed material as demonstrated by known customer(s) 
who are further reclaiming the material (e.g., records of sales 
and/or contracts and evidence of subsequent use, such as 
bills of lading); and 
 v. whether the partially-reclaimed material is 
handled to minimize loss. 

d. The administrative authority may grant requests 
for a variance from classifying as a solid waste those 
hazardous secondary materials that are transferred for 
reclamation under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y and are managed at 
a verified reclamation facility or intermediate facility where 
the management of the hazardous secondary materials is not 
addressed under a RCRA part B permit or interim status 
standards. The administrative authority's decision will be 
based on the following criteria:  
 i. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 
shall demonstrate that the reclamation process for the 
hazardous secondary materials is legitimate pursuant to LAC 
33:V.105.R; 
 ii. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 
shall satisfy the financial assurance as required under 
subpart H of 40 CFR part 261, July 2015, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 
 iii. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 
shall not be subject to a formal enforcement action in the 
previous three years and not be classified as a significant 
non-complier under RCRA subtitle C, or must provide 
credible evidence that the facility will manage the hazardous 
secondary materials properly. Credible evidence may include 
a demonstration that the facility has taken remedial steps to 
address the violations and prevent future violations, or that 
the violations are not relevant to the proper management of 
the hazardous secondary materials; 
 iv. the intermediate or reclamation facility shall 
have the equipment and trained personnel needed to safely 
manage the hazardous secondary material and shall meet 
emergency preparedness and response requirements under 
40 CFR part 261, subpart M, July 2015, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference; 
 v. if residuals are generated from the reclamation 
of the excluded hazardous secondary materials, the 
reclamation facility shall have the permits required (if any) 
to manage the residuals, have a contract with an 
appropriately permitted facility to dispose of the residuals or 
present credible evidence that the residuals will be managed 
in a manner that is protective of human health and the 
environment; and 

 vi. the intermediate or reclamation facility must 
address the potential for risk to proximate populations from 
unpermitted releases of the hazardous secondary material to 
the environment (i.e., releases that are not covered by a 
permit, such as a permit to discharge to water or air), which 
may include, but are not limited to, potential releases 
through surface transport by precipitation runoff, releases to 
soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, fugitive air 
emissions, and catastrophic unit failures), and must include 
consideration of potential cumulative risks from other 
nearby potential stressors. 

P. - P.2. … 
Q. Notification Requirements for Hazardous Secondary 

Materials 
1. Facilities managing hazardous secondary materials 

under variances or non-waste determinations granted under 
LAC 33:V.105.O or LAC 33:V.105.K (or the exclusions of 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.z), issued after [DATE OF 
PROMULGATION] must send a notification prior to 
operating under the regulatory provision and by March 1 of 
each even-numbered year thereafter to the administrative 
authority using hazardous waste activity Form HW-1 that 
includes the following information: 

a. the name, address, and EPA ID number (if 
applicable) of the facility; 

b. the name and telephone number of a contact 
person; 

c. the NAICS code of the facility; 
d. the regulation under which the hazardous 

secondary materials will be managed; 
e. when the facility began or expects to begin 

managing the hazardous secondary materials in accordance 
with the regulation; 

f. a list of hazardous secondary materials that will 
be managed according to the regulation (reported as the EPA 
hazardous waste numbers that would apply if the hazardous 
secondary materials were managed as hazardous wastes); 

g. for each hazardous secondary material, whether 
the hazardous secondary material, or any portion thereof, 
will be managed in a land-based unit; 

h. the quantity of each hazardous secondary 
material to be managed annually; and 

i. the certification (included in hazardous waste 
activity Form HW-1) signed and dated by an authorized 
representative of the facility. 

2. If a facility managing hazardous secondary 
materials has submitted a notification, but then subsequently 
stops managing hazardous secondary materials in 
accordance with the regulation(s) listed above, the facility 
must notify the administrative authority within 30 days using 
hazardous waste activity Form HW-1. For purposes of this 
Section, a facility has stopped managing hazardous 
secondary materials if the facility no longer generates, 
manages and/or reclaims hazardous secondary materials 
under the regulation(s) above and does not expect to manage 
any amount of hazardous secondary materials for at least one 
year. 

R. Legitimate Recycling of Hazardous Secondary 
Materials 

1. Recycling of hazardous secondary materials for the 
purpose of the exclusions or exemptions from the hazardous 
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waste regulations must be legitimate. Hazardous secondary 
material that is not legitimately recycled is discarded 
material and is a solid waste. In determining if their 
recycling is legitimate, persons must address all the 
requirements of this Subsection.  

2. Factor 1 requires that legitimate recycling shall 
involve a hazardous secondary material that provides a 
useful contribution to the recycling process or to a product 
or intermediate of the recycling process. The hazardous 
secondary material provides a useful contribution if it: 

a. contributes valuable ingredients to a product or 
intermediate; or 

b. replaces a catalyst or carrier in the recycling 
process; or 

c. is the source of a valuable constituent recovered 
in the recycling process; or 

d. is recovered or regenerated by the recycling 
process; or 

e. is used as an effective substitute for a commercial 
product. 

3. Factor 2 requires that the recycling process shall 
produce a valuable product or intermediate. The product or 
intermediate is valuable if it is: 

a. sold to a third party; or 
b. used by the recycler or the generator as an 

effective substitute for a commercial product or as an 
ingredient or intermediate in an industrial process. 

4. Factor 3 requires that the generator and the recycler 
must manage the hazardous secondary material as a valuable 
commodity when it is under their control. Where there is an 
analogous raw material, the hazardous secondary material 
shall be managed, at a minimum, in a manner consistent 
with the management of the raw material or in an equally 
protective manner. Where there is no analogous raw 
material, the hazardous secondary material must be 
contained. Hazardous secondary materials that are released 
to the environment and are not recovered immediately are 
discarded. 

5. Factor 4 requires that the product of the recycling 
process must be comparable to a legitimate product or 
intermediate: 

a. where there is no analogous product, the product 
of the recycling process is comparable to a legitimate 
product or intermediate if: 
 i. the product of the recycling process is a 
commodity that meets widely recognized commodity 
standards and specifications (e.g., commodity specification 
grades for common metals, common acids, common 
chemicals, or refined petroleum products); or 
 ii. the hazardous secondary materials being 
recycled are returned to the original process or processes 
from which they were generated to be reused (e.g., closed 
loop recycling); or 

b. where there is an analogous product or 
intermediate, the product of the recycling process is 
comparable to a legitimate product or intermediate if: 
 i. the product of the recycling process does not 
exhibit a hazardous characteristic as defined in LAC 
33:V.4903 that analogous products do not exhibit; and 
 ii. the concentrations of any hazardous 
constituents found in LAC 33:V.3105, Table 1 that are in the 
product or intermediate are at levels that are comparable to 

or lower than those found in analogous products or at levels 
that meet widely-recognized commodity standards and 
specifications, in the case where the commodity standards 
and specifications include levels that specifically address 
those hazardous constituents; or 

c. if the product of the recycling process has levels 
of hazardous constituents that are not comparable to or 
unable to be compared to a legitimate product or 
intermediate per Subparagraphs a or b of this Paragraph, the 
recycling still may be shown to be legitimate, if it meets the 
following specified requirements. 
 i. The person performing the recycling shall 
conduct the necessary assessment and prepare 
documentation showing why the recycling is, in fact, still 
legitimate. 
 ii. The recycling can be shown to be legitimate 
based on: lack of exposure from toxics in the product, or 
lack of the bioavailability of the toxics in the product, or 
other relevant considerations which show that the product 
made using recycled material does not contain levels of 
hazardous constituents that pose a significant human health 
or environmental risk; and the documentation must include a 
certification statement that the recycling is legitimate and 
must be maintained on-site for three years after the recycling 
operation has ceased. 
 iii. The person performing the recycling must 
notify the administrative authority of this activity using 
hazardous waste activity Form HW-1. 

d. The product of the recycling process is 
comparable to a legitimate product or intermediate if the 
requirements of LAC 33:V.105.R.5.a, b, or c of this Section 
are met. Once the requirements of one of these 
Subparagraphs are met, there is no need to determine 
whether the requirements of any other of these 
Subparagraphs are also met. 

6. Pre-2008 exclusions and their relationship to the 
legitimacy factors are described in this Paragraph.  

a. All four legitimacy factors of LAC 33:V.105.R 
apply to the pre-2008 exclusions. 

b. Determination of legitimacy is a self-
implementing process; documentation is not required for the 
pre-2008 exclusions, except when the recycling of the 
hazardous secondary material must be evaluated under LAC 
33:V.105.R.5.c. 

c. Pre-2008 exclusions are not subject to the 
notification requirements of LAC 33:V.105.Q unless the 
hazardous secondary material is unable to meet the technical 
requirements of LAC 33:V.105.R.5.a or b. Solvent wipes 
managed under the exclusion at LAC 33:V.105.D.1.w are not 
subject to notification unless the requirements of the 
exclusion are not met. 

d. The option for a recycling facility to be verified 
under the exclusion of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y applies to the 
recycling of those hazardous secondary materials that would 
otherwise be regulated as hazardous waste and does not 
apply to materials already excluded under one or more of the 
pre-2008 exclusions (except as provided in LAC 
33:V.105.R.6.e). 

e. If a hazardous secondary material is subject to 
material-specific or facility-specific management conditions 
in LAC 33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed, such a material is not 
eligible for exclusion under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x or y 
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(“under control of generator” or “verified recycler” 
exclusions). The exclusions in LAC 33:V.105.D.1 that are 
subject to material-specific management conditions when 
reclaimed and are thus not eligible for exclusion under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x or y are the following:  
 i. spent wood preserving solutions (LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.i) if recycled on site; shredded circuit boards 
(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.n);  
 ii. mineral processing spent materials (LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.p); 
 iii. spent caustic solutions from petroleum refining 
liquid treating processes (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.s); 
 iv. cathode ray tubes (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.v); 
 v. oil-bearing hazardous secondary materials that 
are generated at a petroleum refinery and recovered oil, 
(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.l) if reclaimed at a refinery and 
petrochemical recovered oil from an associated organic 
chemical manufacturing facility (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.r); and 
 vi. oil-bearing hazardous secondary materials that 
are generated at a petroleum refinery and recovered oil 
(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.l) that are reclaimed at a facility other 
than a refinery are eligible for exclusion under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x or y. 

7. General information pertaining to solid waste 
exclusions, materials contained in units, and pre-existing 
variances and non-waste determinations are described in this 
Paragraph.  

a. The “contained” standard defined in LAC 
33:V.109 does not require a specific type of management 
unit like a container (i.e., all materials are not required to be 
stored in containers). This is a performance-based standard. 
The specific technical requirements depend on the type of 
material that is being managed.  

b. Materials subject to the pre-2008 exclusions do 
not have to be contained, as defined in LAC 33:V.109. 
However, hazardous secondary materials that have no 
analogous raw material, even if subject to one or more of the 
pre-2008 exclusions, shall be contained.  

c. If there has been an accidental release from a unit 
used to manage secondary hazardous materials, it does not 
create a presumption that the material remaining in the unit 
is not contained as defined in LAC 33:V.109. 

d. The new requirements for variances and waste 
determinations do not supersede any of the pre-2008 solid 
waste exclusions, or other prior solid waste determinations 
or variances, including determinations made in letters of 
interpretation and inspection reports. If a hazardous 
secondary material has been determined not to be a solid 
waste for whatever reason, such a determination remains in 
effect, unless there is a change in process or materials. 
Facilities that have already been granted a variance or non-
waste determination by the department prior to [DATE OF 
PROMULGATION] shall continue to operate under the 
conditions of the previously granted variance or 
determination. 

8. Closed-loop recycling, analytical testing 
requirements, and legitimate recycling under LAC 
33:V.105.R.5 are described in this Paragraph. 

a. Analytical testing is not generally required to 
make legitimacy determinations under LAC 33:V.105.R.5. A 
company may use its knowledge of the material it uses and 
of the recycling process to make its legitimacy 

determinations. As with any solid and hazardous waste 
determination, a person may use knowledge of the materials 
used, the hazardous secondary material, product, or 
intermediate he recycles and of the recycling process to 
make legitimate recycling determinations. 

b. Recycling meets legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 
33:V.105.R.5 with no analytical testing and/or with no 
further demonstration of meeting this legitimacy factor 
required under any one of the following circumstances: 
 i. the hazardous secondary materials are returned 
to the original process or processes from which they were 
generated, such as in concentrating metals in minerals 
processing;  
 ii. the recycled product meets widely-recognized 
commodity specifications and there is no analogous product 
made from raw materials (such as scrap metal being 
reclaimed into metal commodities). For specialty products 
such as specialty batch chemicals or specialty metal alloys, 
customer specifications would be sufficient;  
 iii. the recycled product has an analogous product 
made from virgin materials, but meets widely-recognized 
commodity specifications which address the hazardous 
constituents (such as spent solvents being reclaimed into 
solvent products); or 
 iv. the person recycling has the necessary 
knowledge, such as knowledge about the incoming 
hazardous secondary material and the recycling process, to 
be able to demonstrate that the product of recycling does not 
exhibit a hazardous characteristic and contains hazardous 
constituents at levels comparable to or lower than those in 
products made from virgin materials. 

c. If the hazardous secondary materials are being 
returned to the original production process, then there is no 
analogous product and legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 
33:V.105.R.5 is met. The person conducting the recycling 
does not need to do any further analysis for the purpose of 
determining compliance with this factor. For example, 
recycling that takes place under the closed loop recycling 
exclusion is an example of manufacturing that consistently 
includes the hazardous secondary material being returned to 
the original process from which it was generated and that 
would therefore automatically meet legitimacy factor 4 of 
LAC 33:V.105.R.5. Materials re-used within an ongoing 
industrial process are neither disposed of nor abandoned. 
Another example includes primary metals production where 
hazardous secondary materials are returned to the production 
process to ensure that all the valuable metals are extracted 
from the ore. This would be another process that would meet 
legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 33:V.105.R.5 with no further 
analysis needed.  

d. If a chemical product made from a hazardous 
secondary material has an analogous product made from raw 
materials and does not exhibit a hazardous characteristic that 
the analogous product does not exhibit, and the 
concentration of hazardous constituents are comparable to 
those in analogous products, the fourth legitimacy factor of 
LAC 33:V.105.R.5 is met. For example, weak acid by-
products that are concentrated into stronger acids and 
undergo extensive QA/QC processes to assure the quality of 
the concentrated acids. 

e. For the purposes of LAC 33:V.105.R.5 widely-
recognized commodity standards and specifications include 
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those standards and specifications that are used throughout 
an industry, and that are widely available to anyone 
producing the product e.g., in safety data sheets (SDSs), on-
line vendor specifications, sales literature, customer 
specifications, ASTM standards, and others.  

f. Valid comparisons for the purpose of LAC 
33:V.105.R.5 include, but are not limited to: 
 i. the hazardous secondary material that is being 
recycled directly (i.e., without reclamation) as compared to 
the virgin raw material or ingredient that the hazardous 
secondary material is replacing; 
 ii. the hazardous secondary material after 
reclamation that is being recycled as compared to the virgin 
raw material or ingredient that the reclaimed hazardous 
secondary material is replacing; 
 iii. the product/intermediate that results from 
recycling the hazardous secondary material as compared to 
the product/intermediate that results from using the virgin 
raw material or ingredient that the hazardous secondary 
material is replacing; or 
 iv. the product/intermediate that results from 
recycling the hazardous secondary material as compared to a 
substitute product/intermediate that is made without the 
hazardous secondary material by a different company or by 
the same company at a different site or through a different 
process. 

g. Closed-loop recycling is an example of a 
manufacturing process where the hazardous secondary 
material is returned to the original process from which it was 
generated. The reference in LAC 33:V.105.R.5 to hazardous 
secondary materials returned to the original process is not 
limited to closed-loop recycling, nor must the hazardous 
secondary material be returned to the same unit in which it 
was generated. For the purposes of LAC 33:V.105.R.5, a 
hazardous secondary material is returned to the original 
process if it is returned to the same production process or 
processes where it was generated; if it is returned to other 
production processes from which it was derived; if it is 
returned via closed-loop or open-loop; if it is returned from 
on-site or off-site; if it is returned from second, third, or later 
generation use of the hazardous secondary material, product, 
or intermediate; or if it is returned as part of the long-
established recycling of such hazardous secondary material 
in connection with the manufacturing or use, both on-site 
and off-site, of a product or intermediate made with the 
hazardous secondary material. Production process or 
processes include those activities that tie directly into the 
manufacturing operation and those activities that are the 
primary operation at the establishment. 

h. Recycling meets legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 
33:V.105.R.5 if the hazardous secondary material is returned 
to the original production process to produce a product. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq., and in particular, 2186(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 
15:181 (March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217, LR 
16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 
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amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 1997), 
amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous 
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1997), LR 24:298 (February 1998), LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 
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25:431 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
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LR 30:1680 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
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31:2451 (October 2005), LR 32:605 (April 2006), LR 32:821 (May 
2006), LR 33:450 (March 2007), LR 33:2097 (October 2007), LR 
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§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Accumulated Speculatively—a material is accumulated 

speculatively if it is accumulated before being recycled. A 
material is not accumulated speculatively, however, if the 
person accumulating it can show that the material is 
potentially recyclable and has a feasible means of being 
recycled; and that, during the calendar year (commencing on 
January 1), the amount of material that is recycled, or 
transferred to a different site for recycling, equals at least 75 
percent by weight or volume of the amount of that material 
accumulated at the beginning of the period. Materials must 
be placed in a storage unit with a label indicating the first 
date that the material began to be accumulated. If placing a 
label on the storage unit is not practicable, (such as where 
material is stored in batch tanks, continuous-flow tanks, 
waste piles, or containment buildings), the accumulation 
period must be documented through an inventory log or 
other appropriate method. In calculating the percentage of 
turnover, the 75 percent requirement is to be applied to each 
material of the same type (e.g., slags from a single smelting 
process) that is recycled in the same way (i.e., from which 
the same material is recovered or that is used in the same 
way). Materials accumulating in units that would be exempt 
from regulation under LAC 33:V.105.D.3 are not to be 
included in making the calculation. (Materials that are 
already defined as solid wastes also are not to be included in 
making the calculation.) Materials are no longer in this 
category once they are removed from accumulation for 
recycling, however. For example, the following materials are 
either excluded from the definition of solid waste, or are 
solid wastes, and therefore are not included in any 
speculative accumulation calculations:  
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1. scrap metal that is excluded under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.m; 

2. commercial chemical products that are not used in a 
manner constituting disposal (unless they are applied to the 
land and that is their ordinary use), and are not burned for 
energy recovery (unless they are themselves fuels) (LAC 
33:V.109, solid waste, 3); 

3. industrial ethyl alcohol that is reclaimed (LAC 
33:V.4105.A.1.a); 

4. fuels produced from the refining of oil-bearing 
hazardous waste ( LAC 33:V.4105.A.1.c);  

5. wastes from growing and harvesting of agricultural 
crops (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.b.i); 

6. wastes from raising of animals, including animal 
manures (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.b.ii); 

7. mining overburden returned to the mine site (LAC 
33:V.105.D.2.c); 

8. used chlorofluorocarbon refrigerants from totally 
enclosed heat transfer equipment (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.m); 

9. used oil re-refining distillation bottoms that are 
used as feedstock to manufacture asphalt products (LAC 
33:V.105.D.2.o); 

10. materials excluded under closed loop recycling 
with reclamation (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.h) or closed loop 
recycling without reclamation (LAC 33:V.109, solid waste, 
5.a.iii); 

11. solvent wipes excluded under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.w. 
* * * 

Analogous Product—a product made of raw materials or 
made by competing companies with similar specifications 
for which a hazardous secondary material substitutes. 

Analogous Raw Material—a material for which a 
hazardous secondary material substitutes and which serves 
the same function and has similar physical and chemical 
properties as the hazardous secondary material.  

* * * 
Contained—held in a unit (including land-based unit as 

defined LAC 33:V.109) that meets the following criteria: 
1. the unit is in good condition, with no leaks or other 

continuing or intermittent unpermitted releases of the 
hazardous secondary materials to the environment, and is 
designed, as appropriate for the hazardous secondary 
materials, to prevent releases of hazardous secondary 
materials to the environment. Unpermitted releases are 
releases that are not covered by a permit (such as a permit to 
discharge to water or air) and may include, but are not 
limited to, releases through surface transport by precipitation 
runoff, releases to soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, 
fugitive air emissions, and catastrophic unit failures; 

2. the unit is properly labeled or otherwise has a 
system (such as a log) to immediately identify the hazardous 
secondary materials in the unit;  

3. the unit holds hazardous secondary materials that 
are compatible with other hazardous secondary materials 
placed in the unit and is compatible with the materials used 
to construct the unit and addresses any potential risks of fires 
or explosions; 

4. hazardous secondary materials in units that meet 
the applicable requirements of LAC 33:V.Subpart 1 are 
presumptively contained. 

* * * 

Facility— 
1. all contiguous land and structures, other 

appurtenances, and improvements on the land used for 
treating, storing, or disposing of hazardous waste, or for 
managing hazardous secondary materials prior to 
reclamation. A facility may consist of several treatment, 
storage, or disposal operational units (e.g., one or more 
landfills, surface impoundments or a combination of them); 
or 

2. for the purpose of implementing corrective action 
under LAC 33:V.3322, all the contiguous property under the 
control of the owner or operator seeking a permit under 
subtitle C of RCRA. This definition also applies to facilities 
implementing corrective actions under RCRA section 
3008(h); 

3. notwithstanding Paragraph 2 of this definition, a 
remediation waste management site is not a facility that is 
subject to LAC 33:V.3322, but is subject to corrective action 
requirements if the site is located within such a facility. 

* * * 
Hazardous Secondary Material—a secondary material 

(e.g., spent material, by-product, or sludge) that, when 
discarded, would be identified as hazardous waste under 
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1. 

Hazardous Secondary Material Generator—any person 
whose act or process produces hazardous secondary 
materials at the generating facility. For purposes of this LAC 
33:V.Subpart 1, “generating facility” means all contiguous 
property owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 
hazardous secondary material generator. Under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x (“hazardous secondary materials reclaimed 
under the control of the generator”), a facility that collects 
hazardous secondary materials from other persons is not the 
hazardous secondary material generator. 

* * * 
Intermediate—(as used in LAC 33:V.105.R) a substance 

formed as a stage in the manufacture of a desired end-
product. 

Intermediate Facility—any facility that stores hazardous 
secondary materials for more than 10 days, other than a 
hazardous secondary material generator or reclaimer of such 
material. 

* * * 
Land-Based Unit—an area where hazardous secondary 

materials are placed in or on the land before recycling. This 
definition does not include land-based production units. 

* * * 
Pre-2008 Exclusions—the exclusions from the definition 

of solid waste and hazardous waste exemptions in effect 
prior to EPA’s 2008 promulgation of revisions to the 
definition of solid waste to exclude certain hazardous 
secondary materials from hazardous waste regulation in 73 
Federal Register 64668 et seq., October 30, 2008, effective 
December 29, 2008. 

* * * 
Reclaimed Material—a material is reclaimed if it is 

processed to recover a usable product, or if it is regenerated. 
Examples are recovery of lead values from spent batteries 
and regeneration of spent solvents. In addition, for purposes 
of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x and LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, smelting,
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melting, and refining furnaces are considered to be solely 
engaged in metals reclamation if the metal recovery from the 
hazardous secondary materials meets the same requirements 
as those specified for metals recovery from hazardous waste 
found in LAC 33:V.3001.D.1-3 of this Subpart, and if the 
residuals meet the requirements specified in LAC 33:V.3025 
(Regulation of Residues).  

* * * 
Remanufacturing—processing a higher-value hazardous 

secondary material in order to manufacture a product that 
serves a similar functional purpose as the original 
commercial-grade material. For the purpose of this 
definition, a hazardous secondary material is considered 
higher-value if it was generated from the use of a 
commercial-grade material in a manufacturing process and 
can be remanufactured into a similar commercial-grade 
material. 

* * * 
Sham Recycling—a hazardous secondary material found 

to be sham recycled is considered discarded and a solid 
waste. Sham recycling is recycling that is not legitimate 
recycling as defined in LAC 33:V.105.R. 

* * * 
Solid Waste 

1.a. any discarded material that is not excluded by LAC 
33:V.105.D.1 or that is not excluded by a variance or non-
waste determination granted under LAC 33:V.105.K or O; 

1.b. - 2.c. … 
d. sham recycled as defined under LAC 33:V.109, 

sham recycling  
3. - 3.b.ii. … 

c. reclaimed—materials noted with an “*” in 
column 3 of Table 1 in this Chapter are solid wastes when 
reclaimed, except as provided under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.p, or 
unless they meet the requirements of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or 261.4(a)(27), as incorporated by 
reference at LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. Materials noted with a “---
” in column 3 of Table 1 are not solid wastes when 
reclaimed; 

3.d. - 6. … 
 

Table 1 

  

Use 
Constituting 

Disposal 

Energy 
Recovery/ 

Fuel 

Reclamation except 
as Provided in 

LAC 33:V. 105.D.1.p 
for Mineral 
Processing 
Secondary 

Materials, LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.y, or 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

Speculative 
Accumulation 

   (1) (2) (3) (4) 
Spent Materials * * * * 

Sludges (listed in 
LAC 33:V.4901) * * * * 

Sludges 
exhibiting a 

characteristic of 
hazardous waste 

* * .............. * 

By-products  
(listed in 

LAC 33:V.4901) 
* * * * 

Table 1 

  

Use 
Constituting 

Disposal 

Energy 
Recovery/ 

Fuel 

Reclamation except 
as Provided in 

LAC 33:V. 105.D.1.p 
for Mineral 
Processing 
Secondary 

Materials, LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.y, or 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

Speculative 
Accumulation 

   (1) (2) (3) (4) 
By-products 
exhibiting a 

characteristic of 
hazardous waste 

* * ............. * 

Commercial 
chemical products 
(listed in LAC 33: 
V.4901.E and F) 

* * ............. ........... 

Scrap metal that 
is not excluded 

under LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.m 

* * * * 

 
* * * 

Toll Manufacturer—(for purposes of LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x) a person who produces a product or 
intermediate made from specified unused materials pursuant 
to a written contract with a tolling contractor. 

Tolling Contractor—(for purposes of LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.x) a person who arranges for the production of 
a product or intermediate made from specified unused 
materials through a written contract with a toll manufacturer. 

* * * 
Transfer Facility—any transportation-related facility, 

including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas and 
other similar areas where shipments of hazardous waste or 
hazardous secondary materials are held during the normal 
course of transportation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218, 
220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:478 
(May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 
1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 1993), amended LR 
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 
(March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:814 
(September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 1997), amended by the Office 
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:655 (April 
1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 24:1688 (September 1998), LR 
25:433 (March 1999), repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:269 (February 2000), LR 
26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 (March 2001), LR 27:708 
(May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 28:1191 (June 2002), LR 
29:318 (March 2003); amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2452 (October 2005), LR 31:3116 
(December 2005), LR 32:606 (April 2006), LR 32:822 (May 2006),
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LR 33:1625 (August 2007), LR 33:2098 (October 2007), LR 34:71 
(January 2008), LR 34:615 (April 2008), LR 34:1009 (June 2008), 
LR 34:1894 (September 2008), LR 34:2396 (November 2008), LR 
36:1235 (June 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1535 (July 2010), 
amended LR 36:2554 (November 2010), LR 38:774, 781 (March 
2012), repromulgated LR 38:1009 (April 2012), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 40:1338 (July 2014), 
LR 41:2600 (December 2015), LR 42:565 (April 2016), LR 43: 
Chapter 3. General Conditions for Treatment, 

Storage, and Disposal Facility Permits 
§322. Classification of Permit Modifications 

A. The following is a listing of classifications of permit 
modifications made at the request of the permittee. 

 
Modifications Class 

 A.1. - A.7. … 
8. Changes to remove permit conditions applicable to a 

unit excluded under the provisions of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

11 

9. Changes in the expiration date of a permit issued to a 
facility at which all units are excluded under the provisions of 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.z. 

11 

B. - O.4. … 
* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
13:433 (August 1987), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 
1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 
22:815 (September 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 24:2245 (December 1998), amended by the Office of Waste 
Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 25:436 (March 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:270 (February 2000), LR 
27:292 (March 2001), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 34:620 (April 2008), LR 34:992 (June 
2008), amended by the Office of Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by HW118. Such 
comments must be received no later than May 3, 2017, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, P.O. Box 
4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-
4068 or by e-mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. Copies of these 
proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of 
HW118. These proposed regulations are available on the 
internet at www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/ 
default.aspx.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on April 26, 2017, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Secondary Hazardous Materials 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be costs to Louisiana Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) due to the proposed rule change. 
However, the costs incurred will be absorbed with current staff 
and funds from the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) 
Performance Partnership Grant (PPG) awarded to the 
department.  

The costs are due to increased oversight of industries that 
recycle hazardous secondary materials (HSM), additional 
paperwork, additional inspections, a new category of 
registration for users of HSM, and increased notification forms 
from users of HSM (from facilities that recycle by using HSM).  

The Federal Government’s Environmental Protection 
Agency requires adoption of new regulations pertaining to the 
recycling and reclaiming of hazardous secondary materials 
(HSM). Recycling of HSM is a common practice, so most 
petrochemical, refineries, and other manufacturers categorized 
as NAICS Codes 32 and 33 will be affected. This includes 
wood product manufacturing, paper manufacturing, printing 
and related support activities, petroleum and coal products 
manufacturing, chemical manufacturing, plastics and rubber 
products manufacturing, nonmetallic mineral product 
manufacturing, primary metal manufacturing, fabricated metal 
product manufacturing, machinery manufacturing, computer 
and electronic product manufacturing, electrical equipment, 
appliance, and component manufacturing, transportation 
equipment manufacturing, furniture and related product 
manufacturing, and miscellaneous manufacturing. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on revenue collections 
from the implementation of this rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 
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The costs to those directly affected (petrochemical 
manufacturing industries and small manufacturing businesses) 
will include additional paperwork for increased notification, 
additional costs of increased recordkeeping for tracking the use 
of HSM, and increased cost for in-depth legitimacy 
determinations. The EPA estimates a maximum of 1% of 
annual sales approximately $2.4 million for affected industries 
nationwide, which includes labor, operations, and maintenance 
costs. However, EPA also estimates that after the first three 
years of implementation, industries will begin to benefit from 
the regulatory change by approximately $1-2 million per year. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition should remain neutral as all applicable 
industries must comply with the same requirements. It is 
possible that increase employment in the private and public 
sectors may result from this rule, due to an increase in labor 
and regulatory expertise for complying with the new rule. 

 
Herman Robinson Evan Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1703#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Pardons 

Clemency Consideration Eligibility and 
Application Filing (LAC 22:V.205 and 209) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons hereby 
gives notice of its intent to amend its Rules in LAC 22:V.205 
and 209. These proposed Rule changes revise application 
filing procedures. Section 205 provides the application form 
is available on the board's webpage and further sets out 
additional documentation that may be submitted with the 
application. Technical revisions to §209 provide that 
additional documentation relevant to the application may be 
submitted after the applicant has placed the required 
advertisement in the local journal. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part V.  Board of Pardons 

Chapter 2. Clemency 
§205. Application Filing Procedures 

A. All Applicants 
1. Every application must be submitted on the form 

approved by the Board of Pardons which is made available 
on the board's webpage at www.doc.la.gov.  

2. It is the applicant's responsibility to submit a 
complete application. The application shall not be processed 
until it is complete. If any required information does not 
apply, the response should be "NA". 

3. Each answer must be answered fully, truthfully, and 
accurately. The submission of any false information is 
grounds for immediate denial of the application. 

4. Additional documentation that is relevant to the 
application may be also be submitted, including letters of 
support on behalf of the applicant, military DD-214 if 
applicable, other attachments that the applicant would like to 
include that are relevant to the application. 

5. The application must be filled out completely, 
signed, dated, and notarized where required. 

B. In addition to the information submitted by 
application, the following required documents must be 
attached as they apply to each applicant. 

1. Incarcerated Applicants. Any applicant presently 
confined in any institution must attach a current master 
prison record and have the signature of a classification 
officer verifying the conduct of the applicant and a copy of 
conduct report. Applicants sentenced to death must attach 
proof of direct appeal denial. 

2. Parolees. Applicants who have completed parole 
supervision must attach a copy of their parole certificate, a 
certified judgment and sentence on each conviction for 
which they are applying for a pardon; a certified statement 
from the clerk of court that all fines, fees, and court costs 
(including restitution and probation fees) have been paid in 
full; a current credit report (current within 90 days of date of 
application), and proof of residence. 

3. Probationers. Applicants who have completed the 
probationary period must attach a certified copy of 
sentencing minutes or copy of automatic first offender 
pardon, a certified judgment and sentence on each 
conviction for which they are applying for a pardon; a 
certified statement from the clerk of court that all fines, fees, 
and court costs (including restitution and probation fees) 
have been paid in full; a current credit report (current within 
90 days of date of application), and proof of residence. 

4. First Offender Pardons [R.S. 15:572(B)]. 
Applicants who have received an automatic first offender 
pardon must attach a copy of the automatic first offender 
pardon. 

C. No additional information or documents may be 
submitted until applicant has been notified that he/she will 
be given a hearing. The Board of Pardons will not be 
responsible for items submitted prior to notification that a 
hearing will be granted. 

D. Reapplication upon Denial. Any applicant denied by 
the board shall be notified, in writing, of the reason(s) for the 
denial and thereafter may file a new application as indicated 
below. 

1. Applicants Sentenced to Life Imprisonment. Any 
applicant with a life sentence may reapply five years after 
the initial denial; and every five years thereafter. Applicant 
must also meet the criteria stated in §203.C.2.a-d. 

2. Other. Applicants without a life sentence may file a 
new application two years from date of the letter of denial.  

3. Fraudulent Documents or Information. Any 
fraudulent documents or information submitted by an 
applicant will result in an automatic denial by the board and 
no new application will be accepted until four years have 
elapsed from the date of letter of denial.  

4. Governor Granted Clemency. The Office of the 
Governor will notify an applicant if any clemency is granted. 
Any otherwise eligible person who has been granted any 
form of executive clemency by the governor may not 
reapply for further executive clemency for at least four years 
from the date that such action became final. 

5. Denial/No Action Taken by Governor after 
Favorable Recommendation. The board shall notify an 
applicant after its receipt of notification from the governor 
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that the board's favorable recommendation was denied or no 
action was taken. 

a. If the applicant is notified of denial by the 
governor, the applicant may not reapply for clemency for at 
least four years from the date of the denial. The application 
filing procedures in Subsections A-D.3 of this Section shall 
apply. 

b. If the applicant is notified that no action was 
taken by the governor, the applicant may request 
reconsideration of the board's favorable recommendation. 
Applicant must submit a re-application within one year from 
the date on the board's notification to the applicant of no 
action taken by the governor.  
 i. Upon receipt of the re-application in 
accordance with this section, the board shall set the matter 
for an administrative review. At least 30 days prior to the 
scheduled docket date for administrative review, the board 
shall give written notice of the date, time, and place to the 
following: 

(a). the district attorney and sheriff of the parish 
in which the applicant was convicted and, in Orleans Parish, 
the superintendent of police; 

(b). the applicant; 
(c). the victim who has been physically or 

psychologically injured by the applicant (if convicted of that 
offense), and the victim's spouse or next of kin, unless the 
injured victim 's spouse or next of kin advises the board, in 
writing, that such notification is not desired; 

(d). the spouse or next of kin of a deceased 
victim when the offender responsible for the death is the 
applicant (if convicted of that offense), unless the spouse or 
next of kin advises the board in writing that such notification 
is not desired; 

(e). the Crime Victim Services Bureau of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections; and 

(f). any other interested person who has notified 
the board of pardons, in writing, requesting such notice 
providing their name and return address. 

c. The board shall evaluate the record of the 
applicant. Action on the re-application may include setting 
the matter for a clemency hearing, affirming the board's 
previous favorable recommendation, or denying the re-
application. 

d. If the applicant does not apply for 
reconsideration within the one-year period, the application 
filing procedures in Subsections A-D.3 of this Section shall 
apply. 

E. Notice of Action Taken on Application. After review 
of application for clemency by the board, applicants shall be 
notified, in writing, of action taken by the board. Action can 
include granting a hearing before the board or denial of a 
hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:573.1, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2255 (August 2013), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on 
Parole, LR 41:42 (January 2015), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 42:1087 (July 2016), LR 43: 
§209. Hearing Granted 

A. After notice to an applicant that a hearing has been 
granted the applicant must provide the Board of Pardons 
office with proof of advertisement within 90 days from the 

date of notice to grant a hearing. Advertisement must be 
published in the official journal of the parish where the 
offense occurred. This ad must state: 

“I (applicant's name), (DOC number), have applied for 
clemency for my conviction of (crime). If you have any 
comments, contact the Board of Pardons (225) 342-5421.” 

B. At this stage of the process, along with the proof of 
advertisement published in the local journal, the applicant 
may submit additional information, (e.g., letters of 
recommendation and copies of certificates of achievement 
and employment/residence agreement). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:572.4, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2256 (August 2013), amended 
LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
Amendment to the rules has no known impact on family 

formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relations to individual or family poverty in 
relations to individual or community asset development as 
described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2012 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Mona Wagner, 

Executive Management Officer, Board of Pardons and 
Parole, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 4:30 
p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 
Sheryl M. Ranatza 
Board Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Clemency Consideration  

Eligibility and Application Filing 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not expected to result in costs 
or savings to state or local government units. The proposed rule 
changes to Section 205 provides that the clemency application 
form is available on the board's webpage and further sets out 
additional documentation that may be submitted with the 
application. Technical revisions to Section 209 provides that 
additional documentation relevant to the application may be 
submitted after the applicant has placed the required 
advertisement in the local journal. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 
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There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1703#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Facility Planning And Control 

Capital Improvement Projects 
Procedure Manual (LAC 34:III.131) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the provisions of 
R.S. 39:121, the Division of Administration, Office of 
Facility Planning and Control hereby gives notice of its 
intent to amend LAC Title 34, Government Contracts, 
Procurement and Property Control, Part III, Facility 
Planning and Control, Chapter 1, Capital Improvement 
Projects, Section 131, Louisiana Building Code for state-
owned buildings. These rule changes are the result of a 
review by Facility Planning and Control of the editions of 
the codes specified in R.S. 40:1722 and the most recent 
editions of these codes. This review has led to the 
determination that new editions of these codes will provide a 
higher standard than the currently referenced editions. 
Facility Planning and Control is, therefore, establishing the 
appropriate editions of these codes as the standards. 

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part III.  Facility Planning and Control 

Chapter 1. Capital Improvement Projects 
Subchapter A. Procedure Manual 
§131. Louisiana Building Code 

A. R.S. 40:1722 establishes the Louisiana building code 
and directs that the following codes be established as the 
standards as minimum standards for this code. These codes 
shall be established as constituting the code in the editions 
indicated: 

1. the Life Safety Code, standard 101, 2015 edition as 
published by the National Fire Protection Association; 

2. the International Plumbing Code, 2015 edition as 
published by the International Code Council and amended 
by R.S. 40:1730.28.1; 

3. the International Building Code, 2015 edition as 
published by the International Code Council, not including 
chapter 1, administration, chapter 11, accessibility, and 
chapter 27, electrical; 

4. the International Mechanical Code, 2015 edition as 
published by the International Code Council; 

5. the National Electric Code (NFPA no. 70), 2014 
edition as published by the National Fire Protection 
Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Department of Facility Planning and Control, LR 8:473 
(September 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Facility Planning and Control, LR 
11:849 (September 1985), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Facility Planning and 
Control, LR 33:2649 (December 2007), LR 37:3260 (November 
2011), LR 39:86 (January 2013), LR 39:2493 (September 2013), 
effective on January 1, 2014, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the 

Family? This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights 
of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children? This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family? This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget? This Rule will have no effect on family 
earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and 
Personal Responsibility of Children? This Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family 
or Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained 
in the Proposed Rule? This Rule will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973 
Small Business Analysis 

The Office of Facility Planning and Control has 
considered all methods of reducing the impact of the 
proposed Rule on small business as noted in R.S. 49:965.6. 
The intent of the proposed Rule is to upgrade the current 
edition of the Life Safety Code, International Building Code, 
the International Plumbing Code, the International 
Mechanical Code and the National Electric Code established 
as standards for the Louisiana building code. These codes 
are the basis of safety and mobility of the general public in 
the design of state-owned buildings. It would not be feasible 
to consider a partial or modified compliance of these 
building codes specifically for small businesses. Any 
alternative code standards or exemption of small businesses 
from these revised building codes would jeopardize the well 
being of the general public. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR 

107) of the 2014 Regular Session of the Legislature, the 
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive 
impact on providers. However, the particular proposed Rule 
does not impact or affect the staffing level requirements 
required to provide the same level of service. 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit comments to Mark Bell, 

Facility Planning and Control, P.O. Box 94095, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9095. Written comments will be accepted 
through April 10, 2017. 
 

Mark A. Moses 
Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Capital Improvement Projects 

Procedure Manual 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed administrative rule will likely result in a net 
increase per building construction costs for state-owned 
buildings. The proposed administrative rule will not result in 
any implementation costs or savings to local governmental 
units. The proposed administrative rule updates the Louisiana 
Building Code for state-owned buildings as per RS 40:1722 by 
updating the current editions of the Life Safety Code, the 
International Building Code, the International Plumbing Code, 
the International Mechanical Code and the National Electric 
Code established as standards for the Louisiana Building Code. 
Any increases will be small relative to the total construction 
cost and can be covered by project contingency until capital 
funding can be adjusted if necessary. The size of the project 
and the design solutions determined by the architect or engineer 
will determine cost impacts and may be expected to range from 
$1,000 to $100,000 per project. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on 
governmental revenues as a result of this measure. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

To the extent that the net cost per construction project for 
state-owned buildings may increase due to updates to the 
Louisiana Building Code to reflect current construction and 
safety codes, designers and contractors may realize a marginal 
but unknown economic benefit, which will vary depending on 
the size and complexity of individual projects. The LFO 
assumes any training necessary for contractors to comply with 
updated construction and safety codes are a normal part of 
operating within this industry and do not create extraordinary 
economic costs. The Office of Facility Planning and Control 
does not anticipate a material impact to directly affected 
persons or nongovernmental groups as a result of the proposed 
rule change. Any project cost increase as a  result of the 
proposed rule will likely be passed down to the state through 
the public bid process. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on competition 
and employment as a result of the proposed administrative 
rules. There will likely be the same number of jobs though 
some tasks may be slightly different as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. 

 
Mark A. Moses Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1703#019 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Real Estate Commission 

Disbursement of Escrow Deposits ( LAC 46:LXVII.2901) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate 
License Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Real Estate 
Commission has initiated procedures to amend LAC 
46:LXVII.Chapter 29. The proposed Rule change 
provides real estate brokers who have been unable to 
reach parties of a failed sale to return the escrow deposit 
monies, the additional option of transferring the funds to 
the treasurer as unclaimed funds in accordance with the 
Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part LXVII. Real Estate 
Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 29. Disbursement of Escrow Deposits 
§2901. Escrow Disputes 

A. - A.4. … 
5. disburse the funds in accordance with the Uniform 

Unclaimed Property Act of 1997 as set forth in R.S. 9:151 et 
seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:44 
(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 
Estate Commission, LR 32:1454 (August 2006), LR 34:2422 
(November 2007), LR 37:3007 (October 2011), LR 42:53 (January 
2016), LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 

following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 
Notice of Intent for publication in the March 20, 2017 
Louisiana Register: The proposed Rule has no known impact 
on family, formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 
services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 
Interested parties may submit written comments on the 

proposed regulations to Ryan Shaw, Louisiana Real Estate 
Commission, P.O. Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-
4785 or 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 or 
rshaw@lrec.state.la.us, through April 10, 2017 at 4:30 p.m. 

Public Hearing 
If it becomes a necessary to convene a public hearing to 

receive comments, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act, a hearing will be held on April 25, 2017 at 
9:00 a.m. at the office of the Louisiana Real Estate 
Appraisers Board, 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 
70809. 

Bruce Unangst 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Disbursement of Escrow Deposits 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no implementation costs or savings to the 
Louisiana Real Estate Commission due to the proposed rule 
change. The current rule provides guidelines to real estate 
brokers for the disbursement of unclaimed monies in an escrow 
account. The proposed rule change provides real estate brokers 
who have been unable to reach parties of a failed sale to return 
the escrow deposit monies, the additional option of transferring 
the funds to the Treasurer as unclaimed funds in accordance 
with the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may lead to funds being 
transferred to the control of the State Treasurer’s Office as 
unclaimed property. At the end of each fiscal year, all monies 
remaining in the Unclaimed Property Fund will revert to the 
State General Fund to be used for state operations. In 
accordance with the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997, 
any individual with money in the fund has the ability to claim 
their money at any point, which will be paid out of the current 
year’s Unclaimed Property fund. An exact estimate of revenue 
to the state general fund is indeterminable.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs associated with the proposed 
rule change.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Bruce Unangst Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Ethical Code of Conduct of Psychologists  
(LAC 46:LXIII.Chapter 13) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 
46:LXIII.1301; and adopt §§1302 through 1311. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 
§1301. Preamble 

A. Psychologists work to develop a valid and reliable 
body of scientific knowledge based on research. They may 
apply that knowledge to human behavior in a variety of 
contexts. In doing so, they perform many roles, such as 
researcher, educator, diagnostician, therapist, supervisor, 
consultant, administration, social interventionists, court 
mediator, and expert witness. Their goal is to broaden 

knowledge of behavior and, where appropriate, to apply it 
pragmatically to improve the condition of both the 
individual and society. Psychologists respect the central 
importance of freedom of inquiry and expression in research, 
teaching, and publication. Psychologists respect and protect 
human and civil rights, and do not knowingly participate in 
or condone unfair discriminatory practices. They also strive 
to help the public in developing informed judgments and 
choices concerning human behavior. These rules set 
standards and guidelines are established for the welfare and 
protection of the individuals and groups with whom 
psychologists work. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 6:66 (February 1980), amended LR 10:791 
(October 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 29:703 (May 
2003), LR 41:2620 (December 2015), amended by the Department 
of Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1302. Resolving Ethical Issues 

A. Misuse of Psychologists' Work. If psychologists learn 
of misuse or misrepresentation of their work, they take 
reasonable steps to correct or minimize the misuse or 
misrepresentation. 

B. Conflicts between Ethics and Law, Regulations, or 
Other Governing Legal Authority. If psychologists’ ethical 
responsibilities conflict with law, regulations or other 
governing legal authority, psychologists clarify the nature of 
the conflict, and take reasonable steps to resolve the conflict 
consistent with this Chapter. Under no circumstances may 
this standard be used to justify or defend violating human 
rights. 

C. Conflicts between Ethics and Organizational 
Demands. If the demands of an organization with which 
psychologists are affiliated or for whom they are working 
are in conflict with this Chapter, psychologists clarify the 
nature of the conflict, make known their commitment to this 
Chapter and take reasonable steps to resolve the conflict 
consistent with this Chapter. Under no circumstances may 
this standard be used to justify or defend violating human 
rights. 

D. Informal Resolution of Ethical Violations. When 
psychologists believe that there may have been an ethical 
violation by another psychologist, they attempt to resolve the 
issue by bringing it to the attention of that individual, if an 
informal resolution appears appropriate and the intervention 
does not violate any confidentiality rights that may be 
involved. 

E. Reporting Ethical Violations. If an apparent ethical 
violation has substantially harmed or is likely to 
substantially harm a person or organization and is not 
appropriate for informal resolution under §1302.D, or is not 
resolved properly in that fashion, psychologists take further 
action appropriate to the situation. Such action might include 
referral to state or national committees on professional 
ethics, to state licensing boards or to the appropriate 
institutional authorities. This standard does not apply when 
an intervention would violate confidentiality rights or when 
psychologists have been retained to review the work of 
another psychologist whose professional conduct is in 
question.  
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F. Improper Complaints. Psychologists do not file or 
encourage the filing of ethics complaints that are made with 
reckless disregard for or willful ignorance of facts that 
would disprove the allegation. 

G. Unfair Discrimination against Complainants and 
Respondents. Psychologists do not deny any person 
employment, advancement, admissions to academic or other 
programs, tenure, or promotion, based solely upon their 
having made or their being the subject of an ethics 
complaint. This does not preclude taking action based upon 
the outcome of such proceedings or considering other 
appropriate information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1303. Competence 

A. Boundaries of Competence  
1. Psychologists provide services, teach and conduct 

research with populations and in areas only within the 
boundaries of their competence, based on their education, 
training, supervised experience, consultation, study or 
professional experience. 

2. Where scientific or professional knowledge in the 
discipline of psychology establishes that an understanding of 
factors associated with age, gender, gender identity, race, 
ethnicity, culture, national origin, religion, sexual 
orientation, disability, language or socioeconomic status is 
essential for effective implementation of their services or 
research, psychologists have or obtain the training, 
experience, consultation or supervision necessary to ensure 
the competence of their services, or they make appropriate 
referrals, except in emergencies.  

3. Psychologists planning to provide services, teach or 
conduct research involving populations, areas, techniques or 
technologies new to them undertake relevant education, 
training, supervised experience, consultation or study. 

4. When psychologists are asked to provide services 
to individuals for whom appropriate mental health services 
are not available and for which psychologists have not 
obtained the competence necessary, psychologists with 
closely related prior training or experience may provide such 
services in order to ensure that services are not denied if they 
make a reasonable effort to obtain the competence required 
by using relevant research, training, consultation or study. 

5. In those emerging areas in which generally 
recognized standards for preparatory training do not yet 
exist, psychologists nevertheless take reasonable steps to 
ensure the competence of their work and to protect 
clients/patients, students, supervisees, research participants, 
organizational clients and others from harm. 

6. When assuming forensic roles, psychologists are or 
become reasonably familiar with the judicial or 
administrative rules governing their roles. 

B. Providing Services in Emergencies. In emergencies, 
when psychologists provide services to individuals for 
whom other mental health services are not available and for 
which psychologists have not obtained the necessary 
training, psychologists may provide such services in order to 
ensure that services are not denied. The services are 
discontinued as soon as the emergency has ended or 
appropriate services are available. 

C. Maintaining Competence. Psychologists undertake 
ongoing efforts to develop and maintain their competence. 

D. Bases for Scientific and Professional Judgments. 
Psychologists' work is based upon established scientific and 
professional knowledge of the discipline. 

E. Delegation of Work to Others. Psychologists who 
delegate work to employees, supervisees or research or 
teaching assistants or who use the services of others, such as 
interpreters, take reasonable steps to: 

1. avoid delegating such work to persons who have a 
multiple relationship with those being served that would 
likely lead to exploitation or loss of objectivity; 

2. authorize only those responsibilities that such 
persons can be expected to perform competently on the basis 
of their education, training or experience, either 
independently or with the level of supervision being 
provided; and 

3. see that such persons perform these services 
competently. 

F. Personal Problems and Conflicts 
1. Psychologists refrain from initiating an activity 

when they know or should know that there is a substantial 
likelihood that their personal problems will prevent them 
from performing their work-related activities in a competent 
manner. 

2. When psychologists become aware of personal 
problems that may interfere with their performing work-
related duties adequately, they take appropriate measures, 
such as obtaining professional consultation or assistance and 
determine whether they should limit, suspend or terminate 
their work-related duties.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1304. Human Relations 

A. Unfair Discrimination. In their work-related activities, 
psychologists do not engage in unfair discrimination based 
on age, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, culture, 
national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, 
socioeconomic status or any basis proscribed by law.  

B. Sexual Harassment. Psychologists do not engage in 
sexual harassment. Sexual harassment is sexual solicitation, 
physical advances or verbal or nonverbal conduct that is 
sexual in nature, that occurs in connection with the 
psychologist's activities or roles as a psychologist and that 
either: 

1. is unwelcome, is offensive or creates a hostile 
workplace or educational environment, and the psychologist 
knows or is told this; or 

2. is sufficiently severe or intense to be abusive to a 
reasonable person in the context. Sexual harassment can 
consist of a single intense or severe act or of multiple 
persistent or pervasive acts. 

C. Other Harassment. Psychologists do not knowingly 
engage in behavior that is harassing or demeaning to persons 
with whom they interact in their work based on factors such 
as those persons' age, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, 
culture, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, 
disability, language or socioeconomic status. 

D. Avoiding Harm. Psychologists take reasonable steps 
to avoid harming their clients/patients, students, supervisees, 
research participants, organizational clients and others with 
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whom they work, and to minimize harm where it is 
foreseeable and unavoidable. 

E. Multiple Relationships 
1. A multiple relationship occurs when a psychologist 

is in a professional role with a person, and  
a. at the same time is in another role with the same 

person; 
b. at the same time is in a relationship with a person 

closely associated with or related to the person with whom 
the psychologist has the professional relationship; or 

c. promises to enter into another relationship in the 
future with the person or a person closely associated with or 
related to the person. 

2. A psychologist shall not enter into a multiple 
relationship if the multiple relationship could reasonably be 
expected to impair the psychologist's objectivity, 
competence or effectiveness in performing his or her 
functions as a psychologist, or otherwise risks exploitation 
or harm to the person with whom the professional 
relationship exists. 

3. Multiple relationships that would not reasonably be 
expected to cause impairment or risk exploitation or harm 
are not unethical. 

4. If a psychologist finds that, due to unforeseen 
factors, a potentially harmful multiple relationship has 
arisen, the psychologist takes reasonable steps to resolve it 
with due regard for the best interests of the affected person 
and maximal compliance with this Chapter. 

5. When psychologists are required by law, 
institutional policy, or extraordinary circumstances to serve 
in more than one role in judicial or administrative 
proceedings, at the outset they: 

a. obtain written informed consent from all parties 
and/or court order; and 

b. clarify role expectations; and  
c. clarify the extent of confidentiality with regard to 

current roles, and thereafter as changes occur.  
F. Conflict of Interest. Psychologists refrain from taking 

on a professional role when personal, scientific, 
professional, legal, financial or other interests or 
relationships could reasonably be expected to: 

1. impair their objectivity, competence or 
effectiveness in performing their functions as psychologists, 
or  

2. expose the person or organization with whom the 
professional relationship exists to harm or exploitation. 

G. Third-Party Requests for Services. When 
psychologists agree to provide services to a person or entity 
at the request of a third party, psychologists attempt to 
clarify at the outset of the service the nature of the 
relationship with all individuals or organizations involved. 
This clarification includes the role of the psychologist (e.g., 
therapist, consultant, diagnostician, or expert witness), an 
identification of who is the client, the probable uses of the 
services provided or the information obtained, and the fact 
that there may be limits to confidentiality.  

H. Exploitative Relationships. Psychologists do not 
exploit persons over whom they have supervisory, evaluative 
or other authority such as clients/patients, students, 
supervisees, research participants and employees.  

I. Cooperation with Other Professionals. When 
indicated and professionally appropriate, psychologists 

cooperate with other professionals in order to serve their 
clients/patients effectively and appropriately.  

J. Informed Consent 
1. When psychologists conduct research or provide 

assessment, therapy, counseling or consulting services in 
person or via electronic transmission or other forms of 
communication, they obtain the informed consent of the 
individual or individuals using language that is reasonably 
understandable to that person or persons except when 
conducting such activities without consent is mandated by 
law or governmental regulation or as otherwise provided in 
this Chapter.  

2. For persons who are legally incapable of giving 
informed consent, psychologists nevertheless: 

a. provide an appropriate explanation; 
b. seek the individual's assent; 
c. consider such persons' preferences and best 

interests; and 
d. obtain appropriate permission from a legally 

authorized person, if such substitute consent is permitted or 
required by law. 

3. When consent by a legally authorized person is not 
permitted or required by law, psychologists take reasonable 
steps to protect the individual's rights and welfare. 

4. When psychological services are court ordered or 
otherwise mandated, psychologists inform the individual of 
the nature of the anticipated services, including whether the 
services are court ordered or mandated and any limits of 
confidentiality, before proceeding. 

5. Psychologists appropriately document written or 
oral consent, permission, and assent.  

K. Psychologists Delivering Services to or through 
Organizations 

1. Psychologists delivering services to or through 
organizations provide information beforehand to clients and 
when appropriate those directly affected by the services 
about: 

a. the nature and objectives of the services; 
b. the intended recipients; 
c. which of the individuals are clients; 
d. the relationship the psychologist will have with 

each person and the organization; 
e. the probable uses of services provided and 

information obtained; 
f. who will have access to the information; and, 
g. limits of confidentiality.  

2. As soon as feasible, psychologists provide 
information about the results and conclusions of such 
services to appropriate persons. If psychologists will be 
precluded by law or by organizational roles from providing 
such information to particular individuals or groups, they so 
inform those individuals or groups at the outset of the 
service. 

L. Interruption of Psychological Services. Unless 
otherwise covered by contract, psychologists make 
reasonable efforts to plan for facilitating services in the 
event that psychological services are interrupted by factors 
such as the psychologist's illness, death, unavailability, 
relocation or retirement or by the client's/patient's relocation 
or financial limitations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1305. Privacy and Confidentiality 

A. Maintaining Confidentiality. Psychologists have a 
primary obligation and take reasonable precautions to 
protect confidential information obtained through or stored 
in any medium, recognizing that the extent and limits of 
confidentiality may be regulated by law or established by 
institutional rules or professional or scientific relationship.  

B. Discussing the Limits of Confidentiality 
1. Psychologists discuss with persons (including, to 

the extent feasible, persons who are legally incapable of 
giving informed consent and their legal representatives) and 
organizations with whom they establish a scientific or 
professional relationship:  

a. the relevant limits of confidentiality; and  
b. the foreseeable uses of the information generated 

through their psychological activities.  
2. Unless it is not feasible or is contraindicated, the 

discussion of confidentiality occurs at the outset of the 
relationship and thereafter as new circumstances may 
warrant. 

3. Psychologists who offer services, products, or 
information via electronic transmission inform 
clients/patients of the risks to privacy and limits of 
confidentiality. 

C. Recording 
1. Before recording the voices or images of 

individuals to whom they provide services, psychologists 
obtain permission from all such persons or their legal 
representative.  

D. Minimizing Intrusions on Privacy 
1. Psychologists include in written and oral reports 

and consultations only information germane to the purpose 
for which the communication is made. 

2. Psychologists discuss confidential information 
obtained in their work only for appropriate scientific or 
professional purposes and only with persons who have a 
legal or legitimate right to such information. 

E. Disclosures 
1. Psychologists may disclose confidential 

information with the appropriate consent of the 
organizational client, the individual client/patient or another 
legally authorized person on behalf of the client/patient 
unless prohibited by law. 

2. Psychologists disclose confidential information 
without the consent of the individual only as mandated by 
law, or where permitted by law for a valid purpose such as 
to:  

a. provide needed professional services;  
b. obtain appropriate professional consultations;  
c. protect the client/patient, psychologist, or others 

from harm; or  
d. obtain payment for services from a client/patient, 

in which instance disclosure is limited to the minimum that 
is necessary to achieve the purpose.  

F. Consultations 
1. When consulting with colleagues psychologists do 

not disclose confidential information that reasonably could 
lead to the identification of a client/patient, research 
participant or other person or organization with whom they 
have a confidential relationship unless they have obtained 

the prior consent of the person or organization or the 
disclosure cannot be avoided. 

2. When consulting with colleagues psychologists 
disclose information only to the extent necessary to achieve 
the purposes of the consultation.  

G. Use of Confidential Information for Didactic or Other 
Purposes 

1. Psychologists do not disclose in their writings, 
lectures or other public media, confidential, personally 
identifiable information concerning their clients/patients, 
students, research participants, organizational clients or other 
recipients of their services that they obtained during the 
course of their work, unless they take reasonable steps to 
disguise the person or organization, obtain written consent 
from the person or organization, or there is documented legal 
authorization for doing so. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1306. Advertising and Other Public Statements 

A. Avoidance of False or Deceptive Statements  
1. Public statements include but are not limited to paid 

or unpaid advertising, product endorsements, grant 
applications, licensing applications, other credentialing 
applications, brochures, printed matter, directory listings, 
personal resumes or curricula vitae or comments for use in 
media such as print or electronic transmission, statements in 
legal proceedings, lectures and public oral presentations and 
published materials. 

2. Psychologists do not knowingly make public 
statements that are false, deceptive or fraudulent concerning 
their research, practice or other work activities or those of 
persons or organizations with which they are affiliated. 

3. Psychologists do not make false, deceptive or 
fraudulent statements concerning: 

a. their training, experience or competence; 
b. their academic degrees; 
c. their credentials; 
d. their institutional or association affiliations;  
e. their services; 
f. the scientific or clinical basis for or results or 

degree of success of, their services; 
g. their fees; or  
h. their publications or research findings. 

4. Psychologists claim degrees as credentials for their 
health services only if those degrees were earned from a 
regionally accredited educational institution, or were the 
basis for psychology licensure by the state in which they 
practice. 

B. Statements by Others  
1. Psychologists who engage others to create or place 

public statements that promote their professional practice, 
products, or activities retain professional responsibility for 
such statements. 

2. Psychologists do not compensate employees of 
press, radio, television or other communication media in 
return for publicity in a news item.  

3. A paid advertisement relating to psychologists' 
activities must be identified or clearly recognizable as such. 

C. Descriptions of Workshops and Non-Degree-Granting 
Educational Programs. To the degree to which they exercise
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control, psychologists responsible for announcements, 
catalogs, brochures or advertisements describing workshops, 
seminars or other non-degree-granting educational programs 
ensure that they accurately describe the audience for which 
the program is intended, the educational objectives, the 
presenters and the fees involved. 

D. Media Presentations. When psychologists provide 
public advice or comment via print, Internet or other 
electronic transmission, they take precautions to ensure that 
statements: 

1. are based on their professional knowledge, training 
or experience in accord with appropriate psychological 
literature and practice; 

2. are otherwise consistent with this Chapter; and  
3. do not indicate that a professional relationship has 

been established with the recipient. 
E. Testimonials. Psychologists do not solicit testimonials 

from current therapy clients/patients or other persons who 
because of their particular circumstances are vulnerable to 
undue influence. 

F. In-Person Solicitation. Psychologists do not engage, 
directly or through agents, in uninvited in person solicitation 
of business from actual or potential therapy clients/patients 
or other persons who because of their particular 
circumstances are vulnerable to undue influence. However, 
this prohibition does not preclude: 

1. attempting to implement appropriate collateral 
contacts for the purpose of benefiting an already engaged 
therapy client/patient; or  

2. providing disaster or community outreach services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1307. Record Keeping and Fees 

A. Documentation of Professional and Scientific Work 
and Maintenance of Records. Psychologists create, and to 
the extent the records are under their control, maintain, 
disseminate, store, retain and dispose of records and data 
relating to their professional and scientific work in order to:  

1. facilitate provision of services later by them or by 
other professionals; 

2. allow for replication of research design and 
analyses; 

3. meet institutional requirements; 
4. ensure accuracy of billing and payments; and 
5. ensure compliance with law. 

B. Maintenance, Dissemination, and Disposal of 
Confidential Records of Professional and Scientific Work  

1. Psychologists maintain confidentiality in creating, 
storing, accessing, transferring and disposing of records 
under their control, whether these are written, automated or 
in any other medium.  

2. If confidential information concerning recipients of 
psychological services is entered into databases or systems 
of records available to persons whose access has not been 
consented to by the recipient, psychologists use coding or 
other techniques to avoid the inclusion of personal 
identifiers. 

3. Psychologists make plans in advance to facilitate 
the appropriate transfer and to protect the confidentiality of 
records and data in the event of psychologists' withdrawal 
from positions or practice.  

C. Withholding Records for Nonpayment. Psychologists 
may not withhold records under their control that are 
requested and needed for a client's/patient's emergency 
treatment solely because payment has not been received. 

D. Fees and Financial Arrangements  
1. As early as is feasible in a professional or scientific 

relationship, psychologists and recipients of psychological 
services reach an agreement specifying compensation and 
billing arrangements. 

2. Psychologists' fee practices are consistent with law. 
3. Psychologists do not misrepresent their fees. 
4. If limitations to services can be anticipated because 

of limitations in financing, this is discussed with the 
recipient of services as early as is feasible.  

5. If the recipient of services does not pay for services 
as agreed, and if psychologists intend to use collection 
agencies or legal measures to collect the fees, psychologists 
first inform the person that such measures will be taken and 
provide that person an opportunity to make prompt payment.  

E. Barter with Clients/Patients. Barter is the acceptance 
of goods, services, or other nonmonetary remuneration from 
clients/patients in return for psychological services. 
Psychologists ordinarily refrain from accepting goods, 
services, or other non-monetary remuneration from patients 
or clients in return for psychological services because such 
arrangements create inherent potential for conflicts, 
exploitation, and distortion of the professional relationship. 
A psychologist may participate in bartering only if:  

1. it is not clinically contraindicated; and  
2. the resulting arrangement is not exploitative 

F. Accuracy in Reports to Payors and Funding Sources. 
In their reports to payors for services or sources of research 
funding, psychologists take reasonable steps to ensure the 
accurate reporting of the nature of the service provided or 
research conducted, the fees, charges or payments, and 
where applicable, the identity of the provider, the findings 
and the diagnosis.  

G. Referrals and Fees. When psychologists pay, receive 
payment from or divide fees with another professional, other 
than in an employer-employee relationship, the payment to 
each is based on the services provided (clinical, consultative, 
administrative or other) and is not based on the referral 
itself.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1308. Education and Training 

A. Design of Education and Training Programs. 
Psychologists responsible for education and training 
programs take reasonable steps to ensure that the programs 
are designed to provide the appropriate knowledge and 
proper experiences, and to meet the requirements for 
licensure, certification or other goals for which claims are 
made by the program.  

B. Descriptions of Education and Training Programs. 
Psychologists responsible for education and training 
programs take reasonable steps to ensure that there is a 
current and accurate description of the program content 
(including participation in required course- or program-
related counseling, psychotherapy, experiential groups, 
consulting projects or community service), training goals 
and objectives, stipends and benefits and requirements that 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 579

must be met for satisfactory completion of the program. This 
information must be made readily available to all interested 
parties. 

C. Accuracy in Teaching  
1. Psychologists take reasonable steps to ensure that 

course syllabi are accurate regarding the subject matter to be 
covered, bases for evaluating progress and the nature of 
course experiences. This standard does not preclude an 
instructor from modifying course content or requirements 
when the instructor considers it pedagogically necessary or 
desirable, so long as students are made aware of these 
modifications in a manner that enables them to fulfill course 
requirements.  

2. When engaged in teaching or training, 
psychologists present psychological information accurately.  

D. Student Disclosure of Personal Information. 
Psychologists do not require students or supervisees to 
disclose personal information in course- or program-related 
activities, either orally or in writing, regarding sexual 
history, history of abuse and neglect, psychological 
treatment and relationships with parents, peers and spouses 
or significant others except if: 

1. the program or training facility has clearly 
identified this requirement in its admissions and program 
materials; or 

2. the information is necessary to evaluate or obtain 
assistance for students whose personal problems could 
reasonably be judged to be preventing them from performing 
their training- or professionally related activities in a 
competent manner or posing a threat to the students or 
others. 

E. Mandatory Individual or Group Therapy  
1. When individual or group therapy is a program or 

course requirement, psychologists responsible for that 
program allow students in undergraduate and graduate 
programs the option of selecting such therapy from 
practitioners unaffiliated with the program.  

2. Faculty who are or are likely to be responsible for 
evaluating students' academic performance do not 
themselves provide that therapy.  

F. Assessing Student and Supervisee Performance  
1. In academic and supervisory relationships, 

psychologists establish a timely and specific process for 
providing feedback to students and supervisees. Information 
regarding the process is provided to the student at the 
beginning of supervision. 

2. Psychologists evaluate students and supervisees on 
the basis of their actual performance on relevant and 
established program requirements. 

G. Sexual Relationships with Students and Supervisees. 
Psychologists do not engage in sexual relationships with 
students or supervisees who are in their department, agency, 
or training center or over whom psychologists have or are 
likely to have evaluative authority.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1309. Research and Publication 
A. Institutional Approval. When institutional approval is 

required, psychologists provide accurate information about 
their research proposals and obtain approval prior to 
conducting the research. They conduct the research in 
accordance with the approved research protocol. 

B. Informed Consent to Research  
1. When obtaining informed consent psychologists 

inform participants about: 
a. the purpose of the research, expected duration 

and procedures; 
b. their right to decline to participate and to 

withdraw from the research once participation has begun; 
c. the foreseeable consequences of declining or 

withdrawing; 
d. reasonably foreseeable factors that may be 

expected to influence their willingness to participate such as 
potential risks, discomfort or adverse effects; 

e. any prospective research benefits; 
f. limits of confidentiality; 
g. incentives for participation; 
h. whom to contact for questions about the research 

and research participants' rights; and 
g. they provide opportunity for the prospective 

participants to ask questions and receive answers.  
2. Psychologists conducting intervention research 

involving the use of experimental treatments clarify to 
participants at the outset of the research: 

a. the experimental nature of the treatment; 
b. the services that will or will not be available to 

the control group(s) if appropriate; 
c. the means by which assignment to treatment and 

control groups will be made; 
d. available treatment alternatives if an individual 

does not wish to participate in the research or wishes to 
withdraw once a study has begun; and 

e. compensation for or monetary costs of 
participating including, if appropriate, whether 
reimbursement from the participant or a third-party payor 
will be sought.  

C. Informed Consent for Recording Voices and Images 
in Research. Psychologists obtain informed consent from 
research participants prior to recording their voices or 
images for data collection unless: 

1. the research consists solely of naturalistic 
observations in public places, and it is not anticipated that 
the recording will be used in a manner that could cause 
personal identification or harm; or 

2. the research design includes deception, and consent 
for the use of the recording is obtained during debriefing.  

D. Client/Patient, Student, and Subordinate Research 
Participants  

1. When psychologists conduct research with 
clients/patients, students or subordinates as participants, 
psychologists take steps to protect the prospective 
participants from adverse consequences of declining or 
withdrawing from participation. 
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2. When research participation is a course requirement 
or an opportunity for extra credit, the prospective participant 
is given the choice of equitable alternative activities. 

E. Dispensing with Informed Consent for Research. 
Psychologists may dispense with informed consent only 
where research would not reasonably be assumed to create 
distress or harm and involves: 

1. the study of normal educational practices, curricula, 
or classroom management methods conducted in educational 
settings; 

2. only anonymous questionnaires, naturalistic 
observations or archival research for which disclosure of 
responses would not place participants at risk of criminal or 
civil liability or damage their financial standing, 
employability or reputation, and confidentiality is protected; 
or 

3. the study of factors related to job or organization 
effectiveness conducted in organizational settings for which 
there is no risk to participants' employability, and 
confidentiality is protected; or  

4. where otherwise permitted by law or federal or 
institutional regulations. 

F. Offering Inducements for Research Participation  
1. Psychologists make reasonable efforts to avoid 

offering excessive or inappropriate financial or other 
inducements for research participation when such 
inducements are likely to coerce participation. 

2. When offering professional services as an 
inducement for research participation, psychologists clarify 
the nature of the services, as well as the risks, obligations 
and limitations.  

G. Deception in Research  
1. Psychologists do not conduct a study involving 

deception unless they have determined that the use of 
deceptive techniques is justified by the study's significant 
prospective scientific, educational or applied value and that 
effective nondeceptive alternative procedures are not 
feasible. 

2. Psychologists do not deceive prospective 
participants about research that is reasonably expected to 
cause physical pain or severe emotional distress. 

3. Psychologists explain any deception that is an 
integral feature of the design and conduct of an experiment 
to participants as early as is feasible, preferably at the 
conclusion of their participation, but no later than at the 
conclusion of the data collection, and permit participants to 
withdraw their data.  

H. Debriefing  
1. Psychologists provide a prompt opportunity for 

participants to obtain appropriate information about the 
nature, results, and conclusions of the research, and they 
take reasonable steps to correct any misconceptions that 
participants may have of which the psychologists are aware. 

2. If scientific or humane values justify delaying or 
withholding this information, psychologists take reasonable 
measures to reduce the risk of harm. 

3. When psychologists become aware that research 
procedures have harmed a participant, they take reasonable 
steps to minimize the harm. 

I. Humane Care and Use of Animals in Research  
1. Psychologists acquire, care for, use, and dispose of 

animals in compliance with current federal, state and local 
laws and regulations, and with professional standards. 

2. Psychologists trained in research methods and 
experienced in the care of laboratory animals supervise all 
procedures involving animals and are responsible for 
ensuring appropriate consideration of their comfort, health 
and humane treatment. 

3. Psychologists ensure that all individuals under their 
supervision who are using animals have received instruction 
in research methods and in the care, maintenance and 
handling of the species being used, to the extent appropriate 
to their role.  

4. Psychologists make reasonable efforts to minimize 
the discomfort, infection, illness and pain of animal subjects. 

5. Psychologists use a procedure subjecting animals to 
pain, stress or privation only when an alternative procedure 
is unavailable and the goal is justified by its prospective 
scientific, educational or applied value. 

6. Psychologists perform surgical procedures under 
appropriate anesthesia and follow techniques to avoid 
infection and minimize pain during and after surgery. 

7. When it is appropriate that an animal's life be 
terminated, psychologists proceed rapidly, with an effort to 
minimize pain and in accordance with accepted procedures. 

J. Reporting Research Results 
1. Psychologists do not fabricate data.  
2. If psychologists discover significant errors in their 

published data, they take reasonable steps to correct such 
errors in a correction, retraction, erratum or other 
appropriate publication means. 

K. Plagiarism. Psychologists do not present portions of 
another's work or data as their own, even if the other work or 
data source is cited occasionally. 

L. Publication Credit  
1. Psychologists take responsibility and credit, 

including authorship credit, only for work they have actually 
performed or to which they have substantially contributed.  

2. Principal authorship and other publication credits 
accurately reflect the relative scientific or professional 
contributions of the individuals involved, regardless of their 
relative status. Mere possession of an institutional position, 
such as department chair, does not justify authorship credit. 
Minor contributions to the research or to the writing for 
publications are acknowledged appropriately, such as in 
footnotes or in an introductory statement. 

3. Except under exceptional circumstances, a student 
is listed as principal author on any multiple-authored article 
that is substantially based on the student's doctoral 
dissertation. Faculty advisors discuss publication credit with 
students as early as feasible and throughout the research and 
publication process as appropriate.  

M. Duplicate Publication of Data. Psychologists do not 
publish, as original data, data that have been previously 
published. This does not preclude republishing data when 
they are accompanied by proper acknowledgment. 

N. Sharing Research Data for Verification 
1. After research results are published, psychologists 

do not withhold the data on which their conclusions are
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based from other competent professionals who seek to verify 
the substantive claims through reanalysis and who intend to 
use such data only for that purpose, provided that the 
confidentiality of the participants can be protected and 
unless legal rights concerning proprietary data preclude their 
release. This does not preclude psychologists from requiring 
that such individuals or groups be responsible for costs 
associated with the provision of such information. 

2. Psychologists who request data from other 
psychologists to verify the substantive claims through 
reanalysis may use shared data only for the declared 
purpose. Requesting psychologists obtain prior written 
agreement for all other uses of the data. 

O. Reviewers. Psychologists who review material 
submitted for presentation, publication, grant or research 
proposal review respect the confidentiality of and the 
proprietary rights in such information of those who 
submitted it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1311. Assessment 

A. Bases for Assessments  
1. Psychologists base the opinions contained in their 

recommendations, reports and diagnostic or evaluative 
statements, including forensic testimony, on information and 
techniques sufficient to substantiate their findings.  

2. Except as noted in this section, psychologists 
provide opinions of the psychological characteristics of 
individuals only after they have conducted an examination 
of the individuals adequate to support their statements or 
conclusions. When, despite reasonable efforts, such an 
examination is not practical, psychologists document the 
efforts they made and the result of those efforts, clarify the 
probable impact of their limited information on the 
reliability and validity of their opinions and appropriately 
limit the nature and extent of their conclusions or 
recommendations.  

3. When psychologists conduct a record review or 
provide consultation or supervision and an individual 
examination is not warranted or necessary for the opinion, 
psychologists explain this and the sources of information on 
which they based their conclusions and recommendations. 

B. Use of Assessments  
1. Psychologists administer, adapt, score, interpret or 

use assessment techniques, interviews, tests or instruments 
in a manner and for purposes that are appropriate in light of 
the research on or evidence of the usefulness and proper 
application of the techniques. 

2. Psychologists use assessment instruments whose 
validity and reliability have been established for use with 
members of the population tested. When such validity or 
reliability has not been established, psychologists describe 
the strengths and limitations of test results and interpretation. 

3. Psychologists use assessment methods that are 
appropriate to an individual's language preference and 
competence, unless the use of an alternative language is 
relevant to the assessment issues. 

C. Informed Consent in Assessments  
1. Psychologists obtain informed consent for 

assessments, evaluations or diagnostic services, except 
when: 

a. testing is mandated by law or governmental 
regulations; 

b. informed consent is implied because testing is 
conducted as a routine educational, institutional or 
organizational activity (e.g., when participants voluntarily 
agree to assessment when applying for a job); or  

c. one purpose of the testing is to evaluate 
decisional capacity. Informed consent includes an 
explanation of the nature and purpose of the assessment, 
fees, involvement of third parties and limits of 
confidentiality and sufficient opportunity for the 
client/patient to ask questions and receive answers. 

2. Psychologists inform persons with questionable 
capacity to consent or for whom testing is mandated by law 
or governmental regulations about the nature and purpose of 
the proposed assessment services, using language that is 
reasonably understandable to the person being assessed. 

3. Psychologists using the services of an interpreter 
obtain informed consent from the client/patient to use that 
interpreter, ensure that confidentiality of test results and test 
security are maintained, and include in their 
recommendations, reports and diagnostic or evaluative 
statements, including forensic testimony, discussion of any 
limitations on the data obtained.  

D. Release of Test Data  
1. The term test data refers to raw and scaled scores, 

client/patient responses to test questions or stimuli and 
psychologists' notes and recordings concerning client/patient 
statements and behavior during an examination. Those 
portions of test materials that include client/patient responses 
are included in the definition of test data. Pursuant to a 
client/patient release, psychologists provide test data to the 
client/patient or other persons identified in the release. 
Psychologists may refrain from releasing test data to protect 
a client/patient or others from substantial harm or misuse or 
misrepresentation of the data or the test, recognizing that in 
many instances release of confidential information under 
these circumstances is regulated by law.  

2. In the absence of a client/patient release, 
psychologists provide test data only as required by law or 
court order. 

E. Test Construction. Psychologists who develop tests 
and other assessment techniques use appropriate 
psychometric procedures and current scientific or 
professional knowledge for test design, standardization, 
validation, reduction or elimination of bias and 
recommendations for use. 

F. Interpreting Assessment Results. When interpreting 
assessment results, including automated interpretations, 
psychologists take into account the purpose of the 
assessment as well as the various test factors, test-taking 
abilities and other characteristics of the person being 
assessed, such as situational, personal, linguistic and cultural 
differences that might affect psychologists' judgments or 
reduce the accuracy of their interpretations. They indicate 
any significant limitations of their interpretations.  
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G. Assessment by Unqualified Persons. Psychologists do 
not promote the use of psychological assessment techniques 
by unqualified persons, except when such use is conducted 
for training purposes with appropriate supervision.  

H. Obsolete Tests and Outdated Test Results 
1. Psychologists do not base their assessment or 

intervention decisions or recommendations on data or test 
results that are outdated for the current purpose. 

2. Psychologists do not base such decisions or 
recommendations on tests and measures that are obsolete 
and not useful for the current purpose. 

I. Test Scoring and Interpretation Services  
1. Psychologists who offer assessment or scoring 

services to other professionals accurately describe the 
purpose, norms, validity, reliability and applications of the 
procedures and any special qualifications applicable to their 
use. 

2. Psychologists select scoring and interpretation 
services (including automated services) on the basis of 
evidence of the validity of the program and procedures as 
well as on other appropriate considerations.  

3. Psychologists retain responsibility for the 
appropriate application, interpretation and use of assessment 
instruments, whether they score and interpret such tests 
themselves or use automated or other services. 

J. Explaining Assessment Results. Regardless of 
whether the scoring and interpretation are done by 
psychologists, by employees or assistants or by automated or 
other outside services, psychologists take reasonable steps to 
ensure that explanations of results are given to the individual 
or designated representative unless the nature of the 
relationship precludes provision of an explanation of results 
(such as in some organizational consulting, pre-employment 
or security screenings, and forensic evaluations), and this 
fact has been clearly explained to the person being assessed 
in advance. 

K. Maintaining Test Security. The term test materials 
refers to manuals, instruments, protocols and test questions 
or stimuli and does not include test data as defined in 
§1311.D. Release of Test Data. Psychologists make 
reasonable efforts to maintain the integrity and security of 
test materials and other assessment techniques consistent 
with law and contractual obligations, and in a manner that 
permits adherence to this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§1312. Therapy 

A. Informed Consent to Therapy 
1. When obtaining informed consent to therapy as 

required in §1304.J of this Chapter, psychologists inform 
clients/patients as early as is feasible in the therapeutic 
relationship about the nature and anticipated course of 
therapy, fees, involvement of third parties and limits of 
confidentiality and provide sufficient opportunity for the 
client/patient to ask questions and receive answers.  

2. When obtaining informed consent for treatment for 
which generally recognized techniques and procedures have 
not been established, psychologists inform their 
clients/patients of the developing nature of the treatment, the 
potential risks involved, alternative treatments that may be 
available and the voluntary nature of their participation.  

3. When the therapist is a trainee and the legal 
responsibility for the treatment provided resides with the 
supervisor, the client/patient, as part of the informed consent 
procedure, is informed that the therapist is in training and is 
being supervised and is given the name of the supervisor. 

B. Therapy Involving Couples or Families 
1. When psychologists agree to provide services to 

several persons who have a relationship (such as spouses, 
significant others, or parents and children), they take 
reasonable steps to clarify at the outset:  

a. which of the individuals are clients/patients; and  
b. the relationship the psychologist will have with 

each person. This clarification includes the psychologist's 
role and the probable uses of the services provided or the 
information obtained.  

2. If it becomes apparent that psychologists may be 
called on to perform potentially conflicting roles (such as 
family therapist and then witness for one party in divorce 
proceedings), psychologists take reasonable steps to clarify 
and modify, or withdraw from, roles appropriately.  

C. Group Therapy. When psychologists provide services 
to several persons in a group setting, they describe at the 
outset the roles and responsibilities of all parties and the 
limits of confidentiality. 

D. Providing Therapy to Those Served by Others. In 
deciding whether to offer or provide services to those 
already receiving mental health services elsewhere, 
psychologists carefully consider the treatment issues and the 
potential client's/patient's welfare. Psychologists discuss 
these issues with the client/patient or another legally 
authorized person on behalf of the client/patient in order to 
minimize the risk of confusion and conflict, consult with the 
other service providers when appropriate, and proceed with 
caution and sensitivity to the therapeutic issues. 

E. Sexual Intimacies with Current Therapy 
Clients/Patients. Psychologists do not engage in sexual 
intimacies with current therapy clients/patients. 

F. Sexual Intimacies with Relatives or Significant Others 
of Current Therapy Clients/Patients. Psychologists do not 
engage in sexual intimacies with individuals they know to be 
close relatives, guardians, or significant others of current 
clients/patients. Psychologists do not terminate therapy to 
circumvent this standard. 

G. Therapy with Former Sexual Partners. Psychologists 
do not accept as therapy clients/patients persons with whom 
they have engaged in sexual intimacies. 

H. Sexual Intimacies with Former Therapy 
Clients/Patients 

1. Psychologists do not engage in sexual intimacies 
with former clients/patients for at least two years after 
cessation or termination of therapy. 

2. Psychologists do not engage in sexual intimacies 
with former clients/patients even after a two-year interval 
except in the most unusual circumstances. Psychologists 
who engage in such activity after the two years following 
cessation or termination of therapy and of having no sexual 
contact with the former client/patient bear the burden of 
demonstrating that there has been no exploitation, in light of 
all relevant factors, including:  

a. the amount of time that has passed since therapy 
terminated;  

b. the nature, duration, and intensity of the therapy; 
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c. the circumstances of termination; 
d. the client's/patient's personal history; 
e. the client's/patient's current mental status; 
f. the likelihood of adverse impact on the 

client/patient; and 
g. any statements or actions made by the therapist 

during the course of therapy suggesting or inviting the 
possibility of a post-termination sexual or romantic 
relationship with the client/patient.  

I. Interruption of Therapy. When entering into 
employment or contractual relationships, psychologists 
make reasonable efforts to provide for orderly and 
appropriate resolution of responsibility for client/patient care 
in the event that the employment or contractual relationship 
ends, with paramount consideration given to the welfare of 
the client/patient.  

J. Terminating Therapy 
1. Psychologists terminate therapy when it becomes 

reasonably clear that the client/patient no longer needs the 
service, is not likely to benefit, or is being harmed by 
continued service. 

2. Psychologists may terminate therapy when 
threatened or otherwise endangered by the client/patient or 
another person with whom the client/patient has a 
relationship. 

3. Except where precluded by the actions of 
clients/patients or third-party payors, prior to termination 
psychologists provide pre-termination counseling and 
suggest alternative service providers as appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972. 
The proposed Rule related to the continuing education 
requirements of psychologists will have no known or 
foreseeable impact on the stability of the family; authority 
and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision 
of their children; functioning of the family; family earnings 
and family budget; behavior and personal responsibility of 
children; or, the ability of the family or a local government 
to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed modifications regulate licensed 

psychologists in the interest of health, safety and the welfare 
of the public. The Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. Specifically, there is no known or 
foreseeable effect on: household income, assets, and 
financial security; early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 
employment and workforce development; taxes and tax 
credits; or, child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 
known or foreseeable effect on the staffing level

requirements or qualifications required to provide the same 
level of service; the total direct or indirect cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or the overall 
ability of the provider to provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 
Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 
submitted by 12 noon on April 10, 2017. 

 
Jaime T. Monic 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Ethical Code of Conduct of Psychologists 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists $1,000 in FY 17, it is not 
anticipated that state or local governmental units will incur any 
other costs or savings as a result of promulgation of the 
proposed rule. The proposed rule codifies the psychologist’s 
code of ethics into the LAC 46:LXIII, Psychologists. The 
standards are derived from the American Psychological 
Association’s model ethics code, which is currently being 
practiced. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 
governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in 
costs and/or economic benefits to any person or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#022 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Fees (LAC 46:LXIII.601 and 603) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
that the Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to 
amend §§601 and 603 to define fees charged by the board in 
accordance with the Louisiana licensing law for 
psychologist, 37:2354 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:968 and 971. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 6. Fees 
§601. Licensing Fees 

A. Licensing Fees 
 

Licensing Fees Amount 
Application for Licensure $200 
Application for Provisional Licensure 200 
Application for Temporary Registration 125 
Jurisprudence Examination Fee 75 
Oral Examination (Licensure, specialty change or 
additional specialty) 250 
License Renewal 350 
License Renewal Fee for Psychologists Qualifying under 
R.S. 37:2354(E) for a reduced rate 175 
Provisional License Renewal 100 
Reinstatement of Lapsed License 
(Application plus renewal fee) 550 
Processing Fees for Paper Renewals 15 
License Renewal Extension Request 25 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2354. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
33:648 (April 2007), amended LR 39:311 (February 2013), LR 
41:2618 (December 2015), amended the Department of Health, 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 
§603. Administrative/Other Fees 

A. Administrative/Other Fees 
 

Administrative/Other Fees Amount 
Address List/Labels $100 
License Verification 15 
Disciplinary Action Report 25 
Replacement Renewal Certificate 15 
Replacement License Certificate 25 
Miscellaneous Copy Fee (other records) $1 page one, 

$0.25 each page 
thereafter 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2354. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
33:648 (April 2007), amended LR 39:311 (February 2013), LR 
41:2618 (December 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43:  

Family Impact Statement 
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972.The 
proposed Rule related to the supervision requirements of 
psychologists and specialists in school psychology for 
licensure is anticipated to have a positive impact on the 
stability of the family; authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children; 
functioning of the family; behavior and personal 
responsibility of children as it relates to promptly facilitating 
the licensure of qualified professionals who may work with 
families and families of school aged children to promote 
their health, education and well-being. This proposed Rule is 
not anticipated to have an impact on family earnings and 
family budget or the ability of the family or a local 

government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed modifications regulate the licensing 

requirements of the psychologists and specialist in school 
psychology in the interest of health, safety and the welfare of 
the public. The proposed Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable negative impact on any child, individual or 
family as defined by R.S. 49:973(B). Specifically, there is no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 
2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; or 
5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct or indirect cost to the providers to 
provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall ability of the provider to provide the 
same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 
Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 
submitted by 12 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 
Jaime T. Monic 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists $500 in FY17, it is not anticipated 
that state or local governmental units will incur any other costs 
or savings as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will increase the revenue collections of 
the Board by approximately $20,801 in FY 17, $22,954 in FY 
18 and $25,322 in FY 19. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This amendment reinstates fees that were inadvertently 
dropped, adds a new fee for copies, increases annual renewal 
and reinstatement fees, and removes the photo ID card fees.  

The fees that were inadvertently dropped in an amendment 
published in December 20, 2015 include: the Replacement 
Renewal Certificate fee of $10 each, The Processing Fee for 
Paper Renewals at $15 each, and the Renewal Extension 
Request fee at $25 each.  
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This amendment proposes to add a reasonable copy charge 
for other records requested to be provided by the Board in the 
amount of $1 for the first page and $.25 for each page 
thereafter.  

This proposed amendment increases the annual licensing 
renewal fee for psychologists from $320 to $350, or for 
qualifying psychologists 65 years of age or older from $160 to 
$175. In accordance with RS 37:2354.C, the reinstatement fee 
must equal the application fee plus the renewal fee. As a result, 
the reinstatement fee will increase by $30 which is applicable 
only if a psychologist allows their license to lapse for failure to 
pay the required renewal fee or submit continuing education as 
required by the laws and rules that govern this Board.  

This proposed amendment increases the application fee for 
a provisional license by $50. This proposed amendment also 
aims to eliminate obsolete fees, including the Photo ID Card, 
which is no longer available for purchase.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No effect on competition and employment is anticipated as 
a result of this rule change. 

 
Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#020 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Supervision of Psychologists and Licensed Specialists in 
School Psychology (LAC 46:LXIII.703 and 3301) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 
46:LXIII.703 and 3301. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 
Chapter 7. Supervised Practice Leading toward 

Licensure 
§703. Duration and Setting of Supervised Practice 

A. ... 
1. Postdoctoral supervised practice hours can begin 

accruing after the date on which all requirements for the 
doctoral degree are met, with no outstanding points of 
evaluation, and verified by the degree-granting institution. 
Verification must occur via submission of a form and 
process as delineated by the board. Credit shall not be 
granted for practice that is in connection with the course 
work practicum experience for which predoctoral graduate 
credits are granted. 

2. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, LR 5:249 (August 1979), amended LR 7:187 (April 
1981), LR 13:180 (March 1987), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
29:2075 (October 2003), LR 36:1007 (May 2010), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
43: 

Subpart 2.  Licensed Specialists in School Psychology 
Chapter 33. Definition of Applicant for Licensure as a 

Specialist in School Psychology 
§3301. Definition 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. has completed an internship of at least 1200 hours 

and nine months in duration, conducted under the 
supervision of a certified school psychologist in a school 
setting or by a licensed psychologist in a community setting. 
Of the 1200 hundred hours, 600 hours shall be completed in 
a school setting; 

6. has completed three years of supervised experience 
as a certified school psychologist within the public school 
system. One year of full-time employment or experience, 
obtained as part of an acceptable internship as defined by the 
board under §3403 of this Title, may be applied toward the 
three years of required supervision. Such experience must be 
obtained within one academic year, in a public school 
system. Such “academic year” shall be defined by the school 
calendar in the district of practice; 

A.7. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2357. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
41:2621 (December 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972. 
The proposed Rule related to the supervision requirements 
of psychologists and specialists in school psychology for 
licensure is anticipated to have a positive impact on the 
stability of the family; authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children; 
functioning of the family; behavior and personal 
responsibility of children as it relates to promptly facilitating 
the licensure of qualified professionals who may work with 
families and families of school aged children to promote 
their health, education and well-being. This proposed Rule is 
not anticipated to have an impact on family earnings and 
family budget or the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed modifications regulate the licensing 

requirements of the psychologists and specialist in school 
psychology in the interest of health, safety and the welfare of 
the public. The proposed Rule does not have any known or 
foreseeable negative impact on any child, individual or 
family as defined by R.S. 49:973(B). Specifically, there is no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 
2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; or 
5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
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Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct or indirect cost to the providers to 
provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall ability of the provider to provide the 
same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 
Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 
submitted by 12 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 
Jaime T. Monic 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Supervision of Psychologists and 

Licensed Specialists in School Psychology 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 
rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 
Examiners of Psychologists $500 in FY 17, it is not anticipated 
that state or local governmental units will incur any other costs 
or savings as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. The 
proposed rule clarifies that, for individuals applying for a 
license as a Licensed Psychologist, postdoctoral supervision 
hours can accrue after all doctoral degree requirements are met. 
The proposed rule also clarifies that the supervision obtained in 
an internship may be applied toward the required three years of 
supervised experience needed to obtain a Licensed Specialists 
in School Psychology license. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 
governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule benefits those applying for a license as a Licensed 
Psychologist in that it allows postdoctoral supervision hours to 
accrue after doctoral degree requirements are met, but before 
the doctoral degree is conferred. This rule also benefits those 
applying for a license as a Licensed Specialist in School 
Psychology in that it allows for experience gained under a 
supervised internship to be applied toward the experience 
needed to obtain the license.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Athletic Trainers General, Licensure and Practice; 
(LAC 46:XLV.Chapters 1, 31 and 57) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, and the Louisiana 
Athletic Trainers Law, R.S. 37:3303, the board proposes to 
amend its rules on athletic trainers (ATs) to accommodate 
changes to the law resulting from Act 418 of the 2014 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and to update 
the rules generally as made necessary by the passage of time 
and current practices. Among other items, the proposed 
amendments: convert the authority to practice from 
certification to a license (Chapters 1, 31 and 57); revise 
various definitions (§§3103, 5703, 5705); update the 
educational requirements for licensure eligibility for 
consistency with the law (§3107); reduce to a simple 
majority e.g., 4 of the 7 members of its advisory committee 
necessary for a quorum (§3104.E); provide for licensure by 
reciprocity for those possessing the requirements prescribed 
for Louisiana applicants (§3109); repeal various provisions 
that are no longer applicable (§§3111-3125); update 
designation of the examination entity from the National 
Athletic Trainers Association to the BOC (§§3133, 3147); 
simplify seldom-used provisions on temporary permits 
(§3162) and remove the associated fee (§161.B); streamline 
provisions relative to continuing education and provide for 
BOC approved continuing education (CE) programs 
(§§3163-3179). Currently, athletic trainers must earn and 
report 24 credit hours of CE every two years. The proposed 
amendments would require athletic trainers to earn and 
report 12 hours of CE annually (§§3159, 3165). The 
proposed changes also: update the provisions dealing with 
exemptions from licensure to provide for assistant coaches 
administering and supervising their normal sports activities 
and students enrolled in an accredited training program 
(§5111); provide for compliance with the code of ethics of 
the BOC (§5717); and incorporate the causes prescribed by 
law upon which the board may refuse to issue, or take action 
against, a license (§5719). 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter F. Athletic Trainers Fees 
§159. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 
costs applicable to the licensure of athletic trainers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:234 (February 
2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§161. Licenses  

A. For processing applications for licensure as an athletic 
trainer, a fee of $125 shall be payable to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:234 (February 
2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§163. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of 
an athletic trainer's license, a fee of $100 shall be payable to 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 
2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 31. Athletic Trainers 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§3101. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the licensure of 
athletic trainers in the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3103. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms and 
phrases shall have the meanings specified. 

Advisory Committee―the Athletic Training Advisory 
Committee to the Board, constituted under and pursuant to 
§3104. 

Applicant―a person who has applied to the board for 
licensure as an athletic trainer. 

Application―a request received by the board, in a 
manner prescribed by the board, for licensure as an athletic 
trainer in the state of Louisiana. 

Athlete―an individual designated as such by the board, 
an educational institution, a professional athletic 
organization, or other board-approved organization who 
participates in an athletic activity sponsored by such 
institution or organization. 

Athletic Trainer―an individual licensed by the board as 
an athletic trainer with the specific qualifications set forth in 
R.S. 37:3306.1 who, under the general supervision of a 
physician, carries out the practice of prevention, emergency 
management, and physical rehabilitation of injuries and 
sports-related conditions incurred by athletes. In carrying out 
these functions, the athletic trainer shall use whatever 
physical modalities are prescribed by a team physician or 
consulting physician, or both.  

* * * 
Board-Approved Organization―one of the following: 

a. Approved organization, including but not limited 
to the Amateur Athletic Union, the International Olympic 
Committee and its affiliates including but not limited to the 
U.S. Olympic Committee, the Pan American Sports 
Organization, the National Collegiate Athletic Association, 
the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, college 
and university intramural sports, and sports events of the 
National Federation of State High School Associations; 

b. An organization, whose athletic activity meets 
one or more of the following: 
 i. has an officially-designated coach or individual 
who has the responsibility for athletic activities of the 
organization; 
 ii. has a regular schedule of practices or workouts 
that are supervised by an officially-designated coach or 
individual; 
 iii. is an activity generally recognized as having an 
established schedule of competitive events or exhibitions; 
 iv. has a policy that requires documentation of 
having a signed medical clearance by a licensed physician or 
other board authorized health care provider as a condition 
for participation for the athletic activities of the organization.  

BOC―Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer or 
its successor. 

CAATE―the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic 
Training Education or its successor. 

Educational institution―a university, college, junior 
college, high school, junior high school, or grammar school, 
whether public or private. 

LATA―the Louisiana Athletic Trainer’s Association. 
Licensure or License―the board's official recognition of 

a person's lawful authority to act and serve as an athletic 
trainer as such term is defined by the law, R.S. 37:3302. 

Louisiana Athletic Trainers Law or the Law―Acts 
1985, number 288, as amended, R.S. 37:3301-3313. 

* * * 
B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 24:937 (May 1998), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3104. Athletic Training Advisory Committee 

A. ... 
B. Composition and Qualifications. The advisory 

committee shall comprise seven members, including five 
athletic trainers and two physicians, each of whom shall, to 
be eligible for and prior to appointment to the committee, be 
licensed as an athletic trainer or licensed as a physician by 
and in good standing with the board, have maintained 
residency and practice in the state of Louisiana for not less 
than one year and have not less than three years of 
experience in their respective fields. In addition to such 
general qualifications, the athletic trainer and physician 
members of the advisory committee shall satisfy the 
following qualifications. 

1. Athletic Trainer Members. The athletic trainer 
members of the committee shall be appointed and 
apportioned as follows: 
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a. - b. ... 
c. insofar as practical or possible, in its appointment 

of members to the advisory committee, the board shall 
maintain geographic diversity so as to provide membership 
on the advisory committee by licensed athletic trainers 
residing and practicing throughout Louisiana, with at least 
one member from the Alexandria, Louisiana area or north, 
and at least one member from south of such area. 

2. - 2.b. ... 
C. Appointment; Term of Service. Each member of the 

advisory committee shall be appointed by the board. Each 
member of the advisory committee shall serve on the 
committee for a term of three years, or until his or her 
successor is appointed, and shall be eligible for 
reappointment. 

D. Functions and Responsibilities of the Committee. The 
advisory committee is responsible and authorized by the 
board to: 

1. assist the board in examining the qualifications and 
credentials of applicants for athletic trainer licensure and 
make recommendations thereon to the board; 

2. advise and assist the board, as the board may 
request, with respect to investigative and disciplinary 
proceedings affecting licensed athletic trainers; 

3. provide advice and recommendations to the board 
respecting the modification, amendment, and 
supplementation of rules and regulations, standards, policies, 
and procedures respecting athletic trainer licensure and 
practice; and 

4. establish and appoint a continuing education 
subcommittee, comprising no fewer than three athletic 
trainer members of the advisory committee, to discharge the 
responsibilities prescribed by §3169.  

E. Committee Meetings, Officers. The advisory 
committee shall meet at least once each calendar year, or 
more frequently as may be deemed necessary by a quorum 
of the committee or as requested by the board. The presence 
of four members including at least one physician member, 
shall constitute a quorum of the advisory committee. The 
advisory committee shall elect, from among its members, a 
chairman, a vice-chair, and a secretary. The chairman, or in 
his absence or unavailability, the vice-chair, shall call, 
designate the date, time, and place of, and preside at all 
meetings of the committee. The secretary shall record, or 
cause to be recorded, accurate and complete written minutes 
of all meetings of the advisory committee and shall cause 
copies of the same to be provided to the board. 

F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:937 
(May 1998), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for 

Licensure 
§3105. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern and prescribe the 
requirements, qualifications, and conditions requisite to 
eligibility for licensure as an athletic trainer in the state of 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
§3107. Requirements for Licensure 

A. To be eligible and qualified for licensure, an applicant 
shall: 

1. ... 
2. be a citizen of the United States or possess valid 

and current legal authority to reside and work in the United 
States duly issued by the United States Citizenship and 
Immigration Services (USCIS) of the United States, 
Department of Homeland Security, under and pursuant to the 
Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat. 163) and the 
commissioner's regulations thereunder (8 CFR); 

3. possess a degree in athletic training from a CAATE 
accredited program, or a comparable degree accepted by the 
BOC and approved by the board: 

a. an athletic training program accredited by 
CAATE on the date the applicant’s degree was awarded or 
the program or curriculum was completed shall be 
considered a CAATE accredited program; 

b. a degree that is accepted by the BOC as a 
comparable degree to a CAATE accredited athletic training 
program, shall be concurrently considered approved by the 
board for purposes of this Section; 

4. possess BOC certification evidencing the successful 
passage of the certification examination administered by the 
BOC or its successor; 

5. - 6. ... 
7. not be otherwise disqualified for licensure by virtue 

of the existence of any grounds for denial of licensure as 
provided by the law or in these rules. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for licensure 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:522 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 
2004), LR 35:1886 (September 2009), amended by the Department 
of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3109. License by Reciprocity 

A. An individual who possesses a current, unrestricted 
license to practice as an athletic trainer issued by the medical 
licensing authority of another state, the District of Columbia, 
or a territory of the United States, shall be eligible for 
licensure in this state if the applicant meets all of the 
qualifications for licensure specified in §3107 of this 
Subchapter, and satisfies the procedural and other 
requirements specified in this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6) and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter C. Board Approval 
§3111. Scope of Subchapter 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3113. Applicability of Approval  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986) , amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3115. Approval of Schools and Colleges 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3117. Approval of Physical Therapy Schools 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3119. Approval of Athletic Trainers 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3121. Approval of Athletic Organization 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3123. Withdrawal of Approval 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3125. List of Approved Schools, Colleges, and 

Universities 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), repealed 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter D. Application 
§3127. Purpose and Scope 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the procedures 
and requirements applicable to application to the board for 
licensure as an athletic trainer in the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3129. Application Procedure 
A. Application for licensure shall be made in a manner 

prescribed by the board. 
B. Application and instructions may be obtained from 

the board’s website. 
C. An application for licensure under this Chapter shall 

include: 
1. proof, documented in a form satisfactory to the 

board, that the applicant possesses the qualifications for 
licensure set forth in this Chapter; and 

2. such other information and documentation as are 
referred to or specified in this Chapter, or as the board may 
require, to evidence qualification for licensure. 

D. The board may refuse to consider any application 
which is not complete in every detail, including submission 
of every document required by the application. The board 
may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or complete 
response to any request for information set forth in the 
application form as a condition to consideration of an 
application. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:524 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:938 (May 1998), 
LR 30:235 (February 2004), LR 35:1887 (September 2009), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§3131. Effect of Application 

A. The submission of an application for licensure to the 
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization by the 
applicant to each educational institution at which the 
applicant has matriculated, each governmental agency to 
which the applicant has applied for any license, permit, 
certificate, or registration, each person, firm, corporation, 
organization, or association by whom or with whom the 
applicant has been employed as an athletic trainer, each 
physician whom the applicant has consulted or seen for 
diagnosis or treatment, and each professional or trade 
organization to which the applicant has applied for 
membership, to disclose and release to the board any and all 
information and documentation concerning the applicant 
which the board deems material to consideration of the 
application. With respect to any such information or 
documentation, the submission of an application for 
licensure to the board shall equally constitute and operate as 
a consent by the applicant to disclosure and release of such 
information and documentation as a waiver by the applicant 
of any privileges or right of confidentiality which the 
applicant would otherwise possess with respect thereto. 

B. By submission of an application for licensure to the 
board, an applicant shall be deemed to have given his 
consent to submit to physical or mental examinations if, 
when, and in the manner so directed by the board if the 
board has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant's 
capability to act as an athletic trainer with reasonable skill or 
safety to athletes may be compromised by physical or mental 
condition, disease or infirmity, and the applicant shall be 
deemed to have waived all objections as to the admissibility 
or disclosure of findings, reports, or recommendations 
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pertaining thereto on the grounds of privileges provided by 
law. 

C. The submission of an application for licensure to the 
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization and 
consent by the applicant to the board to disclose any 
information or documentation, set forth in or submitted with 
the applicant's application or obtained by the board from 
other persons, firms, corporations, associations, or 
governmental entities pursuant to §3131, to any person, firm, 
corporation, association, or governmental entity having a 
lawful, legitimate, and reasonable need therefor, including, 
without limitation, the athletic trainer licensure or licensing 
authority of any state, the National Athletic Trainer’s 
Association, the Louisiana Athletic Trainer’s Association, 
the Board of Certification, the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals, state, county or parish, and municipal 
health and law enforcement agencies and the armed services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 24:938 (May 1998), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter F. Examination 
§3133. Designation of Examination 

A. The examination administered and accepted by the 
board pursuant to R.S. 37:3306.1.A is the Board of 
Certification or its successor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3147. Passing Score 

A. An applicant will be deemed to have successfully 
passed the examination if he attains a score equivalent to 
that required by the BOC as a passing score.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:525 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3149. Reexamination 

A. An applicant having failed to attain a passing score 
upon taking the licensure examination may take a 
subsequent examination.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:525 (August 1986), amended 
by House Concurrent Resolution 69 of the 2012 Regular 
Legislative Session, LR 38:1460 (June 2012), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter G. License Issuance, Expiration, Renewal, 

Reinstatement, Temporary Permit 
§3153. Issuance of License 

A. If the qualifications, requirements, and procedures 
prescribed or incorporated by §3107 and §3129 are met to 
the satisfaction of the board, the board shall issue to the 

applicant a license to practice athletic training in the state of 
Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 35:1888 (September 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3155. Expiration of Licenses 

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 
shall expire, and thereby become null, void, and to no effect, 
on the 30th day of June next following the date on which 
license was issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
§3157. Renewal of License 

A. Every license issued by the board under this 
Subchapter shall be renewed annually on or before its date 
of expiration by submitting to the board an application for 
renewal, in a format prescribed by the board, together with 
the applicable renewal fee prescribed in Chapter 1 of these 
rules. 

B. A notice for renewal of license shall be sent by the 
board to each person holding a license issued under this 
Chapter on or before the first day of June of each year. Such 
notice shall be sent to the most recent address of each 
licensed athletic trainer as reflected in the official records of 
the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
12:526 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 
2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§3159. Qualifications for Renewal; Continuing 

Education 
A. To be eligible for annual renewal, a licensed athletic 

trainer shall successfully complete 12 credits/hours of 
continuing education recognized by the BOC and shall 
evidence such continuing education as prescribed by the 
board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3161. Reinstatement of License 

A. A license which has expired without renewal may be 
reinstated by the board if application for reinstatement is 
made not more than two years from the date of expiration 
and subject to the conditions and procedures hereinafter 
provided. 

B. An application for reinstatement shall be made in a 
manner prescribed by the board, together with the applicable 
renewal fee plus a penalty equal to twice the renewal fee. 

C. With respect to an application for reinstatement made 
more than one year from the date on which the license 
expired, as a condition of reinstatement the board may
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require that the applicant complete a statistical affidavit in a 
manner prescribed by the board, and/or possess current, 
unrestricted certification or licensure issued by another state. 

D. A licensed issued by the board pursuant to R.S. 
37:3306.1.B is subject to reinstatement provided the 
application is made within the two year time limit specified 
in §3161.A of these rules and in accordance with all other 
requirements specified by this Section.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3162. Temporary Permit 

A. General. The board may, in its discretion, issue such 
temporary licenses as are in its judgment necessary or 
appropriate to its responsibilities under law. A temporary 
license shall be designated and known as a permit. 

B. Effect of Permit. A permit entitles the holder to 
engage in the practice of athletic training in the state of 
Louisiana only for the period of time specified by such 
permit and creates no right or entitlement to licensure or 
renewal of the permit after its expiration. 

C. Permit Pending Application. The board may issue a 
permit to practice athletic training, effective for a period of 
30 days, to an applicant who has made application to the 
board for licensure as an athletic trainer, who provides 
satisfactory evidence of current BOC certification and who 
is not otherwise demonstrably ineligible for certification 
under R.S. 37:3307.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292, 37:1270, 37:3301-3313 and 37:3303.A(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 28:830 
(April 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1888 (September 2009), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter H. Continuing Education 
§3163. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter provide standards for the 
continuing education requisite to renewal of licensure as an 
athletic trainer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 
(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3165. Continuing Education Requirement 

A. To be eligible for annual renewal an athletic trainer 
shall evidence, in a manner prescribed by the board, the 
successful completion of not less than 12 hours of BOC 
approved continuing education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 
(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3167. Qualifying Programs and Activities 

A. ... 
B. Upon application to the board pursuant to §3171 of 

these rules, the board may approve additional programs and 
activities as qualifying for continuing education and specify 

the hours which shall be recognized with respect to such 
program or activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 
(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3169. Continuing Education Subcommittee 

A. The continuing education subcommittee of the 
advisory committee ("the CE subcommittee"), constituted 
under authority of §3104, shall have the authority and 
responsibility to: 

1. ... 
2. review documentation of continuing education by 

licensed athletic trainers, verify the accuracy of such 
information, and evaluate and make recommendations to the 
board with respect to whether programs and activities 
evidenced by applicants for renewal of licensure comply 
with and satisfy the standards for such programs and 
activities prescribed by these rules; 

3. request and obtain from applicants for renewal of 
licensure such additional information as the committee may 
deem necessary or appropriate to enable it to make the 
evaluations and provide the recommendations for which the 
CE subcommittee is responsible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:511 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:938 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3171. Approval of Program Sponsors 

A. Any program, course, seminar, workshop, or other 
activity meeting the standards prescribed by §3167.A 
sponsored or offered by the BOC or LATA shall 
presumptively be deemed approved by the board for 
purposes of qualifying as an approved continuing education 
activity.  

B. Upon the recommendation of the CE subcommittee, 
the board may designate additional organizations and entities 
whose programs, courses, seminars, workshops, or other 
activities shall be deemed approved by the board for 
purposes of qualifying as an approved continuing education 
activity.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:511 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3173. Approval of Activities  

A. A continuing education activity of any type defined 
by §3167 sponsored by an organization or entity not deemed 
approved by the board pursuant to §3171 or an activity of a 
type specified by §3167 may be pre-approved by the board 
prior to participation in such activity or application for 
renewal of licensure upon written request to the board 
therefor accompanied by a complete description of the 
nature, location, date, content, and purpose of such activity 
and such other information as the board may request to 
establish compliance of such activity with the standards 
prescribed by §3167.A.  

B. ... 
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C. Prior approval of a continuing education activity by 
the board is not necessary for recognition of such activity by 
the board for purposes of meeting the continuing education 
requirements requisite to renewal of licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3175. Documentation Procedure 

A. Licensed athletic trainers shall maintain a record or 
certificate of attendance for at least four years from the date 
of completion of the acceptable continuing education 
activity. 

B. Any certification of continuing education activities 
not presumptively approved or preapproved in writing by the 
board pursuant to these rules shall be referred to the CE 
subcommittee for its evaluation and recommendations 
pursuant to §3169.A.2. If the CE subcommittee determines 
that an activity certified by an applicant for renewal in 
satisfaction of continuing education requirements does not 
qualify for recognition by the board or does not qualify for 
the number of continuing education hours claimed by the 
applicant, the board shall give notice of such determination 
to the applicant for renewal and the applicant may appeal the 
CE subcommittee's recommendation to the board by written 
request delivered to the board within 10 days of such notice. 
The board's decision with respect to approval and 
recognition of any such activity shall be final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3177. Failure to Satisfy Continuing Education 

Requirements 
A. An applicant for renewal of licensure who fails to 

evidence satisfaction of the continuing education 
requirements prescribed by the rules shall be given written 
notice of such failure by the board. The license of the 
applicant shall remain in full force and effect for a period of 
60 days following the mailing of such notice, following 
which it shall be deemed expired, un-renewed, and subject to 
revocation without further notice, unless the applicant shall 
have, within such 60 days, furnished the board satisfactory 
evidence, by affidavit, that: 

1. ... 
2. applicant's failure to satisfy the continuing 

education requirements was occasioned by disability, illness, 
acts of God, fire, or other good cause as may be determined 
by the board. 

B. The license of an athletic trainer which has expired by 
nonrenewal or been revoked for failure to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements of these rules may be 
reinstated by the board upon application to the board filed 
within two years of the effective date of expiration, 
nonrenewal, or revocation accompanied by satisfactory 
documentation of the completion of not less than 30 
continuing education hours within the prior two years and

payment of a reinstatement fee, in addition to all other 
applicable fees and costs, of $50. Any continuing education 
activities recognized for purposes of reinstatement shall not 
be recognized for purposes of any subsequent renewal of 
licensure.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§3179. Waiver of Requirements 

A. The board may, in its discretion and upon the 
recommendation of the CE subcommittee, waive all or part 
of the continuing education required by these rules in favor 
of an athletic trainer who makes written request for such 
waiver to the board and evidences to the satisfaction of the 
board a permanent physical disability, illness, financial 
hardship, or other similar extenuating circumstances 
precluding the athletic trainer's satisfaction of the continuing 
education requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:513 
(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 57. Athletic Trainers 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5701. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the employment and 
practice of licensed athletic trainers in the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§5703. General Definitions 

A. The definitions set forth in Chapter 31 of these rules 
shall equally apply to this Chapter, unless the context clearly 
states otherwise. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§5705. Special Definitions 

A. The Activities of an Athletic Trainer—the practice of 
prevention, emergency management, and physical 
rehabilitation of injuries and sports-related conditions 
incurred by athletes. In carrying out these functions, the 
athletic trainer shall use whatever physical modalities are 
prescribed by a team physician or consulting physician, or 
both. The results of these activities should be recorded. 

B. Practice of Prevention shall include but is not limited 
to the following:  

1. working cooperatively with supervisors and 
coaches in establishing and implementing a program of 
physical conditioning for athletes; 

2. applying protective or injury-preventive devices 
such as taping, padding, bandaging, strapping, wrapping, or 
bracing; 
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3. working cooperatively with supervisors, coaches, 
and a team physician or consulting physician in the selection 
and fitting of protective athletic equipment for each athlete 
and constantly monitoring that equipment for safety; and  

4. ... 
C. Emergency Management—the care given to an 

injured athlete under the general supervision of the team or 
consulting physician. To accomplish this care, an athletic 
trainer may use such methods as accepted first aid 
procedures approved by the American Red Cross, the 
American Heart Association, or protocols previously 
established by the athletic trainer and the team or consulting 
physicians. 

D. Physical Rehabilitation—the care given to athletes 
following injury and recovery. These treatments and 
rehabilitation programs may consist of pre-established 
methods of physical modality use and exercise as prescribed 
by a team physician, consulting physician, or both. Physical 
rehabilitation also includes working cooperatively with and 
under the general supervision of a physician with respect to 
the following: 

1. reconditioning procedures; 
2. operation of therapeutic devices and equipment; 
3. fitting of braces, guards, and other protective 

devices; 
4. referrals to other physicians, auxiliary health 

services, and institutions. Referrals will be made with the 
agreement of the athlete or, in the case of a minor, with 
agreement of a parent or guardian except when 
circumstances require emergency transfer and the parent or 
guardian is unavailable. 

E. General Supervision—the service is furnished under a 
physician's overall direction and control, but the physician's 
presence shall not be required during the provision of 
service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter B. Prohibitions 
§5709. Unauthorized Practices 

A. No person shall hold himself out to the public, any 
public educational institution, any athletic organization, or 
any individual student, amateur, or professional athlete as an 
“athletic trainer” or licensed athletic trainer in the state of 
Louisiana, nor identify or designate himself as such, nor use 
in connection with his name the letters, "AT," "CLAT" or 
"ATC," or any other words, letters, abbreviations, insignia, 
or signs tending to indicate or imply that the person is a 
licensed athletic trainer, unless he is currently licensed by 
the board as a licensed athletic trainer. 

B. No person shall undertake to perform or actually 
perform, for compensation or other remuneration, the 
activities of an athletic trainer, as defined in this Chapter 
(§5705) unless he is currently licensed by the board as an 
athletic trainer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5711. Exemptions  
A. The prohibitions of Subsection 5709.B of this Chapter 

shall not apply to: 
1. an assigned athletic coach administering and 

supervising his normal sports activities; 
2. a person who undertakes to perform or actually 

performs the activities of an athletic trainer in the 
employment of an educational institution or athletic 
organization domiciled in another state, while accompanying 
and attending athletes of an educational institution or athletic 
organization domiciled in another state during or in 
connection with an athletic contest conducted in Louisiana;  

3. a person acting under and within the scope of 
professional licensure issued by another licensing agency of 
the state of Louisiana; or 

4. any person enrolled in a CAATE accredited athletic 
training education program and who is designated by a title 
which clearly indicates his status as a student. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§5713. Prohibitions: Licensed Athletic Trainers 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall not: 
1. undertake to perform or actually perform any 

activities, preventive measures, emergency management, 
physical rehabilitation of injury, or any other functions, 
treatments, modalities, procedures, or regimes, except under 
the direction and general supervision of a physician, 
employed or engaged as a team or consulting physician by 
the educational institution or athletic organization by which 
the licensed athletic trainer is employed or engaged; 

2. prescribe, dispense, or administer any controlled 
substances; or 

3. dispense or administer any medications for 
ingestion, subcutaneous, transdermal, intramuscular, or 
intravenous injection or topical application, except upon the 
prescription and direction, or pursuant to the written protocol 
of a physician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter C. Ethical Guidelines and Standards of 

Practice 
§5715. Ethical Guidelines 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall, in performance of the 
activities of an athletic trainer, observe and abide by the code 
of ethics of the Board of Certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§5717. Standards of Practice 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall, in performance of the 
activities of an athletic trainer, observe and abide by the 
standards of practice announced and promulgated from time 
to time by the board pursuant to rules and regulations, 
advisory opinions, and interpretations and statements of 
position. 
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B. It shall be deemed a violation of minimum standards 
of practice applicable to licensed athletic trainers for a 
licensed athletic trainer to violate of the code of ethics of the 
Board of Certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
Subchapter D. Grounds for Administrative Action 
§5719. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The board may refuse to issue a license to, or 
suspend, revoke, or impose probationary conditions and 
restrictions on the license of an applicant for licensure or a 
licensed athletic trainer for any of the causes provided by 
R.S. 37:3308.1 of the Louisiana Athletic Trainers Law (R.S. 
37:3301-3313) if the licensee or applicant: 

1. has been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to a criminal charge constituting a felony 
under the laws of Louisiana, of the United States, or of the 
state in which such conviction or plea was entered; 

2. has been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any criminal charge arising out of or in 
connection with the practice of an athletic trainer; 

3. commits perjury, fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, 
or concealment of material facts in obtaining a license to 
practice as an athletic trainer; 

4. provides false testimony before the board or 
provides false sworn information to the board; 

5. engages in habitual or recurring abuse of drugs, 
including alcohol, which affect the central nervous system 
and which are capable of inducing physiological or 
psychological dependence; 

6. solicits patients or self-promotion through 
advertising or communication, public or private, which is 
fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading; 

7. makes or submits false, deceptive, or unfounded 
claims, reports, or opinions to any patient, insurance 
company, indemnity association, company, individual, or 
governmental authority for the purpose of obtaining 
anything of economic value; 

8. demonstrates cognitive or clinical incompetency; 
9. engages in unprofessional conduct; 
10. engages in continuing or recurring practice which 

fails to satisfy the prevailing and usually accepted standards 
of practice as an athletic trainer in this state; 

11. knowingly performs any act which in any way 
assists an unlicensed person to practice as an athletic trainer, 
or having professional connection with or lending one's 
name to an illegal practitioner; 

12. pays or gives anything of economic value to 
another person, firm, or corporation to induce the referral of 
injured athletes to an athletic trainer; 

13. has been interdicted by due process of law; 
14. is unable to practice as an athletic trainer with 

reasonable competence, skill, or safety to patients because of 
mental or physical illness, condition, or deficiency, including 
but not limited to deterioration through the aging process or 
excessive use or abuse of drugs, including alcohol; 

15. refuses to submit to an examination and inquiry by 
an examining committee of physicians appointed by the 
board to inquire into the applicant's or licensee's physical or 
mental fitness and ability to practice as an athletic trainer 
with reasonable skill or safety; 

16. practices or otherwise engages in any conduct or 
functions beyond the scope of practice of an athletic trainer 
as defined by this Chapter or the board's rules; 

17. has been subjected to the refusal of the licensing 
authority or another state to issue or renew a license, permit, 
or certificate to practice as an athletic trainer in that state, or 
the revocation, suspension, or other restriction imposed on a 
license, permit, or certificate issued by such licensing 
authority which prevents, restricts, or conditions practice, or 
the surrender of a license, permit, or certificate issued by 
another state when criminal or administrative charges are 
pending or threatened against the holder of such license, 
permit, or certificate; 

18. has been subjected to denial, revocation, 
suspension, probation, or other disciplinary sanction from 
the BOC or its successor for violation of the standards of 
professional practice; 

19. has violated any rules and regulations of the board, 
or any provisions of this Chapter. 

B. The board may reinstate any license suspended or 
revoked hereunder, or restore to unrestricted status any 
license subjected to probationary conditions or restrictions 
by the board upon payment of the reinstatement fee and 
satisfaction of such terms and conditions as may be 
prescribed by the board; provided, however, that an 
application for reinstatement of a license revoked by the 
board shall not be made or considered by the board prior to 
the expiration of one year following the date on which the 
board's order of revocation became final. 

C. The board may, as part of a decision, consent order, or 
other agreed order, require the applicant or license holder to 
pay all costs of the board's proceedings and a fine not to 
exceed $1,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§5723. Causes for Action; Definitions  

A. As used in R.S. 37:3308.1 of the law, a person who 
has "secured a license by fraud or deceit" means and 
includes a person who: 

1. makes any representation to the board, knowingly 
or unknowingly, which is in fact false or misleading as to a 
material fact or omits to state any fact or matter that is 
material to an application for licensure under Chapter 31 of 
these rules; or 

2. makes any representation, or fails to make a 
representation, or engages in any act or omission which is 
false, deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading in achieving or 
obtaining any of the questions for licensure required by 
Chapter 31 of these rules. 

B. As used in §5719.A of this Chapter, the term 
convicted, as applied to a licensed athletic trainer or 
applicant for licensure as an athletic trainer, means that a
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judgment has been entered against such person by a court of 
competent jurisdiction on the basis of a finding or verdict of 
guilt or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. Such a judgment 
provides cause for administrative action by the board so long 
as it has not been reversed by an appellate court of 
competent jurisdiction and notwithstanding the fact that an 
appeal or other application for relief from such judgment is 
pending. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendment to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, (504) 568-
6820, Ex. 242. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. 
Written comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., April 21, 
2017.  

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
Monday, April 24, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. at the office of the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp 
Street, New Orleans, Louisiana 70130. Any person wishing 
to attend should call to confirm that a hearing is being held.  

 
Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. 
Interim Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Athletic Trainers General,  
Licensure and Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA State Board of 
Medical Examiners $2,804, it is not anticipated that state or 
local governmental units will incur any other costs or savings 
as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. The proposed 
rule change amends the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners athletic training rules to conform to Act 418 of the 
2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and to 
update the rules to conform to current practices. The proposed 
amendments implement the following: convert the authority to 
practice from a certification to a license; revise various 
definitions; update the educational requirements for licensure 
eligibility for consistency with the law; reduce to a simple 
majority e.g., 4 of the 7 members of its advisory committee 
necessary for a quorum; provide for licensure by reciprocity for 
those possessing the requirements prescribed for Louisiana 
applicants; repeal various provisions that are no longer 
applicable; update the designation of the examination entity 
from the National Athletic Trainers Association to the Board of 
Certification (BOC); simplify the seldom used provisions on 
temporary permits and remove the associated fee; streamline 
provisions relative to continuing education, and provide for 
BOC approved continuing education (CE) programs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This amendment removes fees associated with the issuance 
of temporary permits.  However, it is not anticipated that 
removal of this fee will have an impact on revenue collections 
of the board, given that in recent years, no temporary permits 
have been issued. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule changes the CE requirement for athletic 
trainers from 24 hours in a 2-year period to 12 hours per year.    
The aggregate license cost to trainers over a 2-year period 
remains the same.  Therefore, the proposed rule change is not 
anticipated to result in costs and/or economic benefits to any 
person or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 
and/or employment. 

 
Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. Evan Brasseaux 
Interim Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Physician Assistants, Licensure  
and Certification; Practice 

(LAC 46:XLV Chapters 15 and 45) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State
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Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270 and the Louisiana 
Physician Assistant Practice Act, R.S. 37:1360.21-1360.38, 
the board, working with its Physician Assistant (PA) 
Advisory Committee, intends to amend its rules governing 
PAs, LAC 46:XLV Chapters 15 and 45, to conform them to 
Act 453 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature and to update the rules generally as made 
necessary by the passage of time. Among other items, the 
proposed amendments: revise various definitions; e.g., 
“controlled substance” to include schedule II drugs, and 
“supervision” to clarify that the level and method of PA 
supervision shall be at the physician and PA level (§1503.A); 
clarify exemptions (§1505); update licensure requirements 
(§1507); remove the requirement that a physician hold an 
unrestricted license to serve as a supervising physician (SP) 
(§1508); make various technical changes (§§1510, 1513, 
1517, 1527, 1529) and repeal a section that is no longer 
applicable (§1519); reduce the period of clinical practice 
after graduation from a PA program from one year to six 
months for registration of controlled dangerous substance 
(CDS) authority with the board and remove certain 
impediments to PA CDS registration; e.g., prior action 
against hospital privileges and prior exam failure (§1521); 
remove a prohibition against a SP in a medical residency or 
post-graduate training from delegating prescriptive authority 
to a PA (§1523); and clarify that continuing education 
requirements are the same as needed for maintenance of 
certification by the National Commission on Certificate of 
Physician Assistants (§1529). The amendments also conform 
the rules to Act 453 with respect to: the services performed 
by PAs (§4505), the prescription, ordering and 
administration of CDS (§4505); and the number of PAs for 
whom a physician may serve as primary SP (§4507). The 
changes also update the mutual obligations of the SP and PA 
(§4511) and provide that performance plan requirements 
shall be considered satisfied if the PA’s practice site requires 
chart review as part of its joint commission ongoing 
professional practice evaluation process for PAs (§4512). 
The proposed amendments are set forth below.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 15. Physician Assistants 
§1503. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall 
have the meanings specified. 

* * * 
Controlled Substance―for purposes of this definition, 

any substance designated or that may hereafter be designated 
as a Scheduled II, III, IV, or V controlled substance in R.S. 
40:964. 

* * * 
Physician Assistant (PA)―a health care professional 

qualified by academic and clinical education and licensed by 
the board to provide health care services at the direction and 
under the supervision of a physician or a group of physicians 
approved by the board as a supervising physician(s). 

* * * 

Protocol or Clinical Practice Guidelines or Clinical 
Practice Guidelines or Protocols―a written set of directives 
or instructions regarding routine medical conditions, to be 
followed by a physician assistant in patient care activities. If 
prescriptive authority has been delegated to the physician 
assistant by the supervising physician the clinical practice 
guidelines or protocols shall contain each of the components 
specified by §1521.A.5. The Advisory Committee shall 
periodically publish and disseminate to supervising 
physicians and all physician assistants, model forms and 
examples of clinical practice guidelines and protocols. The 
supervising physician and physician assistant shall maintain 
a written copy of such clinical practice guidelines and 
protocols, which shall be made immediately available for 
inspection by authorized representatives of the board. 

* * * 
Supervision—responsible direction and control, with the 

supervising physician assuming responsibility for the 
services rendered by a physician assistant in the course and 
scope of the physician assistant's employment, with respect 
to patients for whose care, or aspect of care, the physician is 
responsible. Supervision shall not be construed in every case 
to require the physical presence of the supervising physician. 
However, the supervising physician and physician assistant 
must have the capability to be in contact with each other by 
either telephone or other telecommunications device. 
Supervision shall exist when the supervising physician 
responsible for the care, or aspect of care of the patient, 
gives informed concurrence of the actions of the physician 
assistant, whether given prior to or after the action, and 
when a medical treatment plan or action is made in 
accordance with written clinical practice guidelines or 
protocols set forth by the supervising physician. Such 
guidelines or protocols shall require that the physician 
assistant contact the supervising physician when there is a 
question or uncertainty as to what should be done in a given 
case or when an approved protocol does not address the 
clinical situation presented. The level and method of 
supervision shall be at the physician and physician assistant 
level, shall be documented and reviewed annually, and shall 
reflect the acuity of the patient care and nature of the 
procedure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 
(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 
22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:27 (January 1999), LR 31:73 (January 
2005), LR 34:244 (February 2008), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43:  
§1505. Necessity for License; Registration of 

Prescriptive Authority 
A.1. - A.2. ... 
B. Any person who acts or undertakes to perform the 

functions of a physician assistant without a current physician 
assistant license issued under this Chapter, or prescribes 
medication or medical devices without or beyond 
registration of such authority approved by the board, shall be 
deemed to be engaging in the practice of medicine; 
provided, however, that none of the provisions of this 
Chapter shall apply to: 
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1. any physician assistant employed by the federal 
government while performing duties incidental to that 
employment; 

2. ... 
3. any physician assistant student enrolled in a 

physician assistant educational program accredited by the 
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the 
Physician Assistant, its predecessors or successor; provided, 
however, that a physician assistant student shall not 
prescribe legend drugs or medical devices or be eligible for 
registration of prescriptive authority; and 

4. a physician assistant administering medical services 
in cases of emergency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 
(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 
22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:28 (January 1999), LR 31:74 (January 
2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§1507. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. To be eligible for licensure under this Chapter, an 
applicant shall: 

1. - 2. ... 
3. demonstrate his competence to provide patient 

services under the supervision and direction of a supervising 
physician by: 

a. being a graduate of a physician assistant training 
program accredited by the Committee on Allied Health 
Education and Accreditation (CAHEA), or its predecessors 
or successors, including but not limited to the Accreditation 
Review Commission on Education for the Physician 
Assistant, and by presenting or causing to be presented to the 
board satisfactory evidence that the applicant has 
successfully passed the national certification examination 
administered by the National Commission on Certificate of 
Physician Assistants (NCCPA) or its successors, together 
with satisfactory documentation of current certification; or 

A.3.b. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 
(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 
22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:28 (January 1999), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43:  
§1508. Qualifications for Registration as Supervising 

Physician 
A. To be eligible for approval and registration under this 

Chapter, a proposed primary supervising physician or locum 
tenens physician shall, as of the date of the application: 

1. be licensed to practice medicine in the state of 
Louisiana; and 

A.2. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(b)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:202 
(March 1996), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 25:29 (January 1999), 
LR 34:244 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1510. Application for Registration as Supervising 
Physician; Procedure 

A. - A.6. ... 
B. A physician seeking to supervise a physician assistant 

may be required to appear before the board upon his 
notification to the board of his intention to supervise a 
physician assistant: 

1. upon a first notification to the board of the 
physician's intention to supervise a physician assistant if the 
board finds discrepancies in the physician's application; or 

B.2. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:202 
(March 1996), amended LR 25:29 (January 1999), LR 34:245 
(February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§1513. Issuance of License; Registration of Prescriptive 

Authority; Working Permit; Updating 
Information 

A.1. - A.2. ... 
B. The board may grant a working permit (temporary 

license), valid and effective for one year but renewable for 
one additional year, to an applicant who otherwise meets the 
qualifications, requirements and procedures for licensure, 
except that the applicant has not yet taken or is awaiting the 
results of the national certification examination. 

C. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D)and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:110 
(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1103 (November 1991), LR 
22:203 (March 1996), LR 25:30 (January 1999), LR 31:74 (January 
2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§1517. Expiration of Licensure; Renewals; 

Modification; Notification of Intent to Practice 
A. ... 
B. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 

shall be renewed annually on or before the last day of the 
month in which the licensee was born, by submitting to the 
board an application for renewal in a format approved by the 
board, together with: 

1. satisfactory verification of current certification by 
the National Commission on Certificate of Physician 
Assistants or its successors; and 

2. the applicable fee as provided in Chapter 1 of these 
rules. 

C. A physician assistant licensed in this state, prior to 
initiating practice, shall submit in a format approved by the 
board notification of such intent to practice. Such 
notification may be deemed effective as of the date received 
by the board, subject to final approval by the board. 

D. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281, 37:1360.23, 37:1360.24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 
1991), LR 22:203 (March 1996), LR 24:1498 (August 1998), LR 
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25:31 (January 1999), LR 30:238 (February 2004), LR 34:245 
(February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§1519. Transfer of Certification 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 
1991), LR 31:75 (January 2005), LR 34:245 (February 2008); 
repealed, by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 43: 
§1521. Qualifications for Physician Assistant 

Registration of Prescriptive Authority 
A. Legend Drugs/Medical Devices. To be eligible for 

registration of prescriptive authority for legend drugs or 
medical devices, or both, a physician assistant shall: 

1. ... 
2. possess a current license to practice as a physician 

assistant duly issued by the board; 
3. ... 
4. - 4.b. Repealed. 
5. practice under supervision as specified in clinical 

practice guidelines or protocols developed by the 
supervising physician that shall, include a performance plan, 
as specified in §4512 of these rules. 

B. Controlled Substances. To be eligible for prescriptive 
authority for controlled substances, a physician assistant 
shall: 

1. ... 
2. possess a current, unrestricted permit or license to 

prescribe controlled substances in Louisiana duly issued by 
the Board of Pharmacy or its successor, and be currently 
registered to prescribe controlled substances without 
restriction as to the schedules delegated by the supervising 
physician with the Drug Enforcement Administration, 
United States Department of Justice (DEA); 

3. not be deemed ineligible for registration for any of 
the causes set forth in §1521.C; 

4. have completed six months of practice under a 
supervising physician after graduation from an accredited PA 
education program satisfying the requirements of this 
Chapter; and 

5. successfully complete an educational activity 
developed or approved by the board, respecting controlled 
dangerous substances. 

C. - C.4. ... 
C.5. - C.7. Repealed. 
D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 1360.23(D) and (F), and 1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:75 
(January 2005), amended LR 38:3174 (December 2012), LR 
41:925 (May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board 
of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1523. Qualifications of Supervising Physician for 
Registration of Delegation of Prescriptive 
Authority 

A. Legend Drugs and Medical Devices. To be eligible for 
approval of registration to delegate authority to prescribe 
legend drugs or medical devices, or both, to a physician 
assistant a supervising physician shall: 

1. ... 
2. Repealed. 
3. - 4. ... 

B. Controlled Substances. To be eligible for approval of 
registration to delegate authority to prescribe controlled 
substances to a physician assistant a supervising physician 
shall: 

1. satisfy the requirements of §1523.A; and 
2. possess a current, unrestricted permit or license to 

prescribe controlled substances duly issued by the Office of 
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, Department of Health and 
Hospitals, State of Louisiana, and be currently registered to 
prescribe controlled substances, without restriction, with the 
Drug Enforcement Administration, United States 
Department of Justice (DEA); 

C. A physician shall be deemed ineligible for registration 
to delegate authority to prescribe controlled substances to a 
physician assistant for any of the causes enumerated by R.S. 
37:1285(A), or violation of any other provision of the 
Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261 et seq., or the 
board's rules. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D)and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:76 
(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§1527. Supervising Physician Application for 

Registration of Delegation of Prescriptive 
Authority; Procedure 

A. Physician application for approval and registration of 
delegation of prescriptive authority to a physician assistant 
shall be made upon forms supplied by the board and shall 
include: 

1. ... 
2. confirmation that the physician has delegated 

prescriptive authority to the physician assistant and the 
nature, extent, and limits thereof as documented in clinical 
practice guidelines; 

3. a description of the manner and circumstances in 
which the physician assistant has been authorized to utilize 
prescriptive authority and the geographical location(s) where 
such activities will be carried out as documented in clinical 
practice guidelines; 

A.4. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:77 
(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
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§1529. Expiration of Registration of Prescriptive 
Authority; Renewal; Continuing Education 

A. - B. ... 
C. The PA, together with the SP, shall annually verify the 

accuracy of registration information on file with the board, 
and confirm compliance with the continuing education 
requirements prescribed by this Section. 

D. Continuing Education. Every physician assistant 
seeking renewal of registration of prescriptive authority shall 
obtain such continuing education as is required to maintain 
current NCCPA certification. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:77 
(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 45. Physician Assistants 
§4505. Services Performed by Physician Assistants 

A. The practice of a physician assistant shall include the 
performance of medical services that are delegated by the 
supervising physician and are within the scope of the 
physician assistant's education, training, and licensure. A 
physician assistant is considered to be and is deemed the 
agent of his supervising physician in the performance of all 
practice-related activities, including but not limited to 
assisting in surgery and ordering and interpretation of 
diagnostic and other medical services with appropriate 
supervision provided. The level and method of supervision 
shall be at the supervising physician and physician assistant 
level, shall be documented in clinical practice guidelines, 
reviewed annually and shall reflect the acuity of patient care 
and the nature of a procedure.  

B. In accordance with a written clinical practice 
guideline or protocol medical services rendered by a 
physician assistant may include: screening patients to 
determine need for medical attention; eliciting patient 
histories; reviewing patient records to determine health 
status; performing physical examinations; recording 
pertinent patient data; performing developmental screening 
examinations on children; making preliminary decisions 
regarding data gathering and appropriate management and 
treatment of patients being seen for initial evaluation of a 
problem or follow-up evaluation of a previously diagnosed 
and stabilized condition; making appropriate referrals; 
preparing patient summaries; requesting initial laboratory 
studies; collecting specimens for blood, urine and stool 
analyses; performing urine analyses, blood counts and other 
laboratory procedures; identifying normal and abnormal 
findings on history, physical examinations and laboratory 
studies; initiating appropriate evaluation and emergency 
management for emergency situations such as cardiac arrest, 
respiratory distress, burns and hemorrhage; performing 
clinical procedures such as venipuncture, intradermal 
testing, electrocardiography, care and suturing of wounds 
and lacerations, casting and splinting, control of external 
hemorrhage, application of dressings and bandages, 
administration of medications, intravenous fluids, and 
transfusion of blood or blood components, removal of 
superficial foreign bodies, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, 
audiometry screening, visual screening, aseptic and isolation 

techniques; providing counseling and instruction regarding 
common patient problems; monitoring the effectiveness of 
therapeutic intervention; assisting in surgery; signing for 
receipt of medical supplies or devices that are delivered to 
the supervising physician or supervising physician group; 
and, to the extent delegated by the supervising physician, 
prescribing legend drugs and controlled substances listed in 
R.S. 40:964 as schedule II, III, IV and V substances and 
prescribing medical devices. A physician assistant may inject 
local anesthetic agents subcutaneously, including digital 
blocks or apply topical anesthetic agents when delegated to 
so by a supervising physician. This list is illustrative only, 
and does not constitute the limits or parameters of the 
physician assistant's practice. 

C. A physician assistant may prescribe, order and 
administer drugs to the extent delegated by the SP, except as 
provided pursuant to R.S. 37:930 relative to anesthetics. 
Drugs which may be prescribed, ordered, and administered 
by a PA are those listed in schedules II, III, IV and V of R.S. 
40:964 and legend drugs. 

D. The activities listed in this Section may be performed 
in any setting authorized by the supervising physician 
including but not limited to clinics, hospitals, ambulatory 
surgical centers, patient homes, nursing homes, other 
institutional settings, and health manpower shortage areas. 

E. A physician assistant shall not: 
1. - 2 ... 
3. except to the extent delegated by a supervising 

physician, issue prescriptions for any medication; 
4. - 4.b. ... 
5. act as or engage in the functions of a physician 

assistant when the supervising physician and the physician 
assistant do not have the capability to be in contact with each 
other by telephone or other telecommunication device;  

6. identify himself, hold himself out to the public, or 
permit any other person to identify him, as "doctor," 
"medical doctor," "doctor of medicine" or "physician" or 
render any service to a patient unless the physician assistant 
has clearly identified himself as a physician assistant by any 
method reasonably calculated to advise the patient that the 
physician assistant is not a physician licensed to practice 
medicine; or  

7. administer local anesthetics perineurally, 
pericurally, epidurally, intrathecally, or intravenously unless 
such physician assistant is a certified registered nurse 
anesthetist and meets the requirements in R.S 37:930. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1105 (November 
1991), LR 22:204 (March 1996), LR 25:32 (January 1999), LR 
31:78 (January 2005), LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§4506. Services Performed by Physician Assistants 

Registered to Prescribe Medication or Medical 
Devices; Prescription Forms; Prohibitions 

A.1. A physician assistant who is registered with the 
board pursuant to §§1521 and 1525 of these rules to 
prescribe medication and/or medical devices may, to the 
extent delegated by a supervising physician: 

A.1.a. - B.5. ... 
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C. A physician assistant who has been delegated 
prescriptive authority shall not: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. issue a prescription or order for any Schedule I 

controlled substance contained or hereinafter included in 
R.S. 40:964; or 

6. ... 
D. A PA who has been delegated controlled substance 

prescriptive authority shall enroll in and periodically 
accesses the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) 
established by R.S. 40:1001 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:79 
(January 2005), amended LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§4507. Authority and Limitations of Supervising 

Physician 
A. The supervising physician (SP) is responsible for the 

supervision, control, and direction of the physician assistant 
(PA) and retains responsibility to the patient for the 
competence and performance of the PA.  

B. An SP may delegate medical services identified as 
core competencies by the National Commission on 
Certification of Physician Assistants or its successors ("core 
competencies"), under general supervision as defined in 
§1503.A of this Part. 

C. - C.5.b. ... 
D. An SP may not serve as a PSP for more than four PAs.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), R.S. 37:1360.23(D) and (F), R.S. 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:112 
(April 1978), amended LR 17:1106 (November 1991), LR 22:205 
(March 1996), LR 25:32 (January 1999), LR 34:246 (February 
2008), LR 38:1233 (May 2012), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§4511. Mutual Obligations and Responsibilities 

A. The physician assistant and supervising physician 
shall: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. insure that with respect to patient encounters, all 

activities, functions, services, treatment measures, medical 
devices or medication prescribed or delivered to the patient 
by the physician assistant are properly documented in 
written form in the patient's record by the physician assistant 
as evidenced by compliance with the clinical practice 
guidelines established by the supervising physician and 
physician assistant; 

5. - 5.c.  ... 
6. maintains a written agreement in compliance with 

R.S. 37:1360.22(8), that includes a statement that the 
physician shall exercise supervision over the physician 
assistant in accordance with R.S. 37:1360.21 et seq.  

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
4:112 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1106 (November 
1991), LR 22:206 (March 1996), LR 25:33 (January 1999), LR 

31:79 (January 2005), LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
§4512. Performance Plan 

A. - C. ... 
D. For joint commission-accredited practice sites, the 

performance plan requirements of §4512.A.2 and 4512.B.-C. 
of these rules shall be considered satisfied if the practice site 
requires chart review as part of its joint commission ongoing 
professional practice evaluation (OPPE) process for PAs. For 
a hospital practice site that is joint commission-accredited, 
but does not require chart review as part of its OPPE 
process, or that not is joint commission accredited, the PA 
and his or her SP shall be responsible for meeting the 
requirements of §4512.A-C of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23, and 37:1360.28. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 41:925 
(May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
242. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., April 21, 2017.  

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
Monday, April 24, 2017 at 11:30 a.m. at the office of the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp 
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Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any person wishing to 
attend should call to confirm that a hearing is being held. 

 
Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. 
Interim Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Physician Assistants,  
Licensure and Certification; Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA State Board of 
Medical Examiners $1,473, it is not anticipated that state or 
local governmental units will incur any other costs or savings 
as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule.  

The proposed rule change amends the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners physician assistant’s rules to 
conform to Act 453 of the 2016 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and other technical updates. Among the 
changes, the proposed amendments: revise various definitions 
e.g., “Controlled Substance” to include Schedule II drugs, and 
“Supervision” to clarify that the level and method of Physician 
Assistants (PA) supervision shall be at the physician and PA 
level; clarify exemptions; update licensure requirements; 
remove the requirement that a physician hold an unrestricted 
license to serve as a supervising physician (SP); make various 
technical changes and repeal a section that is no longer 
applicable; reduce the period of clinical practice after 
graduation from a PA program from one year to six months for 
registration of controlled dangerous substance (CDS) authority 
with the Board and remove certain impediments to PA CDS 
registration e.g., prior action against hospital privileges and 
prior exam failure; remove a prohibition against a SP in a 
medical residency or post-graduate training from delegating 
prescriptive authority to a PA; and clarify that continuing 
education requirements are the same as needed for maintenance 
of certification by the National Commission on Certificate of 
Physician Assistants. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 
governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed amendments remove certain impediments to 
PA registration of CDS authority with the Board and reduce the 
period of clinical practice after graduation for such registration. 
The proposed amendments also remove the requirement that a 
physician hold an unrestricted license to serve as a SP and 
remove the prohibition from registering to delegate prescriptive 
authority while in a medical residency or post-graduate 
training. These changes may, in turn, increase the income of 
PAs and SPs impacted by these changes by an indeterminable 
amount. Otherwise, it is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any material effect on income, costs, 
paperwork or workload of PAs or SPs licensed to practice in 
this state or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Because of the decreased restrictions, the proposed 
amendments may increase the number of PAs eligible for 
prescriptive authority; physicians eligible to serve as SPs; and 
SPs eligible to delegate prescriptive authority to PAs. These 
changes may, to an extent not quantifiable, enhance 

employment opportunities for PAs and physicians serving as 
SPs.  

 
Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. Evan Brasseaux 
Interim Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Nursing Facilities 
Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 

(LAC 50:II.Chapter 5) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
propose to amend LAC 50:II.Chapter 5 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services repealed the provisions governing admission 
reviews, preadmission screening and medical eligibility 
determination requirements and adopted revised provisions 
governing nursing facility admissions (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 05). The department now proposes to 
amend the provisions governing admissions for nursing 
facilities by revising the procedures for the preadmission 
screening and resident review process in order to: 1) remove 
the requirement that the level I preadmission screening and 
resident review (PASRR) form be completed by a physician; 
2) extend the number of days that the level II authority may 
make an advance group determination for individuals who 
require convalescent care in a nursing facility; 3) require 
nursing facilities to notify the level II authority if a PASRR 
was not completed or was completed incorrectly; and 4) 
clarify existing provisions. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 5. Admissions 
§503. Medical Certification 

A. ... 
1. The following documents are required for all 

nursing facility admissions:  
a. a preadmission screening and resident review 

(level I PASRR) form completed by a qualified health care 
professional as defined by OAAS. The level I PASRR form 
addresses the specific identifiers of MI or ID that indicate 
that a more in-depth evaluation is needed to determine the 
need for specialized services. The need for this in-depth 
assessment does not necessarily mean that the individual 
cannot be admitted to a nursing facility, only that the need 
for other services must be determined prior to admission; 
and  
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b. a level of care eligibility tool (LOCET) 
assessment.  

NOTE: These documents must not be dated more than 30 days 
prior to the date of admission. The level 1 PASRR form must 
be signed and dated on the date that it is completed. 

2. - 3. ...  
B. If the information on the level I PASRR does not 

indicate that the individual may have a diagnosis of MI 
and/or ID and he/she meets the criteria for nursing facility 
level of care, OAAS may approve the individual for 
admission to the nursing facility.  

1. Once approval has been obtained, the individual 
must be admitted to the facility within 30 days of the date of 
the approval notice. The nursing facility shall submit a 
completed BHSF Form 148 to the parish Medicaid office 
and OAAS indicating the anticipated payment source for the 
nursing facility services. 

C. If the information on the level I PASRR indicates that 
the individual may have a diagnosis of MI and/or ID, and the 
individual meets the criteria for nursing facility level of care, 
the individual shall be referred to the Office of Behavioral 
Health or the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities (the state’s mental health and intellectual 
disability level II authorities) for a level II screening to 
determine level of services provided by a nursing facility 
and whether specialized services are needed.  

1. - 2. ... 
D. Vendor Payment. Medicaid vendor payment shall not 

begin prior to the date that medical and financial eligibility 
is established, and shall only begin once the individual is 
actually admitted to the facility.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1011 (May 2010), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 
§505. Categorical Advance Group Determinations  

A. In order to assure timely and appropriate care for 
applicants, the level II authority may make an advance group 
determination by category that takes into account that certain 
diagnoses, levels of severity of illness or need for a 
particular service clearly indicates the need for nursing 
facility admission or that the provision of specialized 
services is not normally needed. The applicable level II 
authority may make an advance group determination that 
nursing facility care is needed for persons in the following 
categories.  

1. Convalescent Care. If an applicant appears to be in 
need of level II assessment but is hospitalized for a serious 
illness and needs time to convalesce before a valid level II 
assessment can be performed, provisions may be made for 
temporary medical certification for nursing facility care. The 
maximum period of time that a level II assessment may be 
delayed is 100 days. The period of convalescence allowed 
will be consistent with the diagnosis and medical condition 
of the individual. 

2. - 3.c. ... 
d. advanced chronic obstructive pulmonary disease;  

A.3.e. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1011 (May 2010), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 
§509. Changes in Level of Care and Status  

A. The nursing facility shall notify the parish Medicaid 
office via the BHSF Form 148 of the following changes in a 
resident’s circumstances: 

1. change in the level of care; 
2. transfer to another nursing facility; 
3. change in payer source; 
4. ... 
5. discharge home, death or any other breaks in 

facility care. 
B. The nursing facility must inform the appropriate level 

II authority if an individual with a diagnosis of MI and/or ID 
is subject to readmission or interfacility transfer and there 
has been a substantial change in the individual’s condition, 
or if a level I screen was not completed or was completed 
incorrectly. 

1. - 2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1012 (May 2010), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service. These provisions will have no impact 
on the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 
as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
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MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, April 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities 

Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 16-17.  It is anticipated that 
$756 ($378 SGF and $378 FED) will be expended in FY 16-17 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 16-17. It is 
anticipated that $378 will be collected in FY 16-17 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
admissions for nursing facilities by revising the procedures for 
the preadmission screening and resident review process in 
order to: 1) remove the requirement that the level I 
Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) form 
be completed by a physician; 2) extend the number of days that 
the level II authority may make an advance group 
determination for individuals who require convalescent care in 
a nursing facility; 3) require nursing facilities to notify the level 
II authority if a PASRR was not completed or was completed 
incorrectly; and 4) clarify existing provisions.  It is anticipated 
that implementation of this proposed rule will have no costs, 
but is beneficial to nursing facilities in FY 16-17, FY 17-18 and 
FY 18-19 by easing the administrative burden on staff by 
allowing more flexibility in the PASRR process. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1703#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Offender Mail and Publications (LAC 22:I.313) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, hereby gives 
notice of its intent to amend the contents of §313, Offender 
Mail and Publications. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
§313. Offender Mail and Publications 

A. - E. … 
* * * 

Nuditypictorial depiction of genitalia or female 
breasts (with the nipple or areola exposed). 

* * * 
F.- H. … 

1. Offenders shall not be allowed to receive or possess 
photographs or digital or other images that interfere with 
legitimate penological objectives (including but not limited 
to deterrence of crime, rehabilitation of offenders, 
maintenance of internal/external security of an institution, or 
maintenance of an environment free of sexual harassment), 
or to prevent the commission of a crime or to protect the 
interests of crime victims. This includes photographs, digital 
or other images which expose the genitals, genital area 
(including pubic hair), anal area or female breasts (or breasts 
which are designed to imitate female breasts). These areas 
must be covered with garments which cannot be seen 
through. 

H.2. - I.1.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:833(A), Guajardo v. Esteile, 580 F.2d 748 (5th Cir.1978). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 5:4 (January 1979), 
amended LR 10:803 (October 1984), LR 11:360 (April 1985), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 33:851 (May 2007), LR 38:830 (March 
2012), LR 39:2281 (August 2013), LR 41:2665 (December 2015), 
LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
Amendment to the current Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on family formation, stability 
or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Natalie LaBorde, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and
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Corrections, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 
4:30 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Offender Mail and Publications 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on State or 

Local Governmental Unit expenditures. The proposed rule 
change is a technical adjustment that amends the current 
regulation to clarify, further define and expand upon the proper 
procedures and rules governing Offender Mail and 
Publications. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1703#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of the Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the 

School Employees’ Retirement System 

Limitation on Benefits (LAC 58:VII.401) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 11:2225(B), the Board of Trustees of the 
School Employees’ Retirement System has approved for 
advertisement the adoption of Subparagraph h to the 
definition of 415 safe-harbor compensation under §401.F of 
Chapter 4 of Part VII, included in Title 58, Retirement, of 
the Louisiana Administrative Code. The proposed Rule is 
being adopted to clarify that the definition of 415 safe-
harbor compensation includes differential wage payments. A 
preamble to this proposed action has not been prepared. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part VII.  School Employees’ Retirement System 
Chapter 4. Internal Revenue Code Provisions 
§401. Limitation on Benefits 

A. - F. … 
* * * 

415 Safe-Harbor Compensation— 
a. - g. … 

h. For limitation years beginning after December 
31, 2008, compensation shall also include any differential 
wage payments as defined in code section 3401(h) which: 
 i. is made by the employer to an individual with 
respect to any period during which an individual is 
performing service in the uniformed services (as defined in 
chapter 43 of title 38, United States Code) while on active 
duty for a period of more than 30 days; and 
 ii. represents all or a portion of the remuneration 
such individual would have received from the employer if he 
or she was performing services for the employer.  

* * * 
G. - G.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:2225(B). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 

of the Louisiana School Employees’ Retirement System, LR 
38:3241 (December 2012), amended by the Department of the 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the School Employees’ Retirement 
System, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 58:VII.401.F, 

Subparagraph h to the definition of 415 Safe-Harbor 
Compensation, should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972(D) or on 
family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 
as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding this proposed Rule to Charles P. Bujol, Executive 
Director, School Employees’ Retirement System, by mail to 
8660 United Plaza Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All 
comments must be received no later than 4:30 p.m., April 9, 
2017. 

 
Charles P. Bujol 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Limitation on Benefits 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change.  The proposed rule codifies federal law that defines 
differential wage payments for those performing uniformed 
service while on active duty. The Internal Revenue Code 
requires inclusion of this definition.  Members of the School 
Employee’s Retirement System do not receive differential pay 
when performing uniformed service while on active duty; 
therefore, there is no fiscal impact. However, to remain an IRS 
qualified plan, the system must include the IRS definition. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the proposed rule change.  In the event employers 
choose to provide differential pay in the future, the plan will 
need to be amended and there will likely be a cost to the 
employer and the retirement system. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
Charles P. Bujol Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#018 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 606

Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Louisiana’s 2017 Annual Progress and Services Report 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
announces opportunities for public review of the state’s 2017 
Annual Progress and Services Report (APSR). The APSR is 
a report on the achievement of goals and objectives and/or 
outcomes for year three of the 2015-2019 Child and Family 
Services Plan (CFSP). This plan addresses the use of Title 
IV-B, Subpart 1 and Subpart 2, Title IV-E Chafee Foster 
Care Independence Program (CFCIP), Educational and 
Training Vouchers (ETV), and Child Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Act (CAPTA) funds and serves as the applications 
for additional funds from these federal sources.  

Louisiana, through the DCFS, provides services that 
include child abuse prevention, child protective services, 
family services-prevention and intervention services, foster 
care, adoption and the youth transition services. The 
Department will use its allotted funds provided under the 
Social Security Act, Title IV-B, Subpart 1, entitled the 
Stephanie Tubbs Jones Child Welfare Services Program, to 
provide child welfare services to prevent child abuse and 
neglect, to prevent foster care placement, to reunite families, 
to arrange adoptions, and to ensure adequate foster care. 
Title IV-B, Subpart 2, entitled Promoting Safe and Stable 
Families, funds services to support families and prevent the 
need for foster care. The CFCIP funds services to assist 
foster children 15 years of age and older who are likely to 
remain in foster care until 18 years of age. Former foster 
care recipients who are 18 years of age who have aged out of 
foster care, and those who were adopted or entered 
guardianship at age 16 years of age or older, are also eligible 
for services. The services include basic living skills training 
and education and employment opportunities. The CAPTA 
funding is used to complement and support the overall 
mission of child welfare with emphasis on developing, 
strengthening, and carrying out child abuse and neglect 
prevention and treatment programs and to support Citizen 
Review Panels statewide. 

The DCFS is encouraging public participation in the 
planning of services and the writing of this document. The 
report can be found for review on the internet under 
http://www.dss.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=
home&pid=132 then the 2016 APSR link. Inquiries and 
comments on the plan may be submitted in writing to the 
DCFS, Attention: Child Welfare Administrator, P O Box 
3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. The deadline for receipt of 
written comments is May 3, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. 

All interested persons will have the opportunity to provide 
comments and/or recommendations on the plan, orally or in

writing, at a public hearing scheduled for May 3, 2017 at 
10:00 a.m. in Room 1-129 of the Iberville Building located 
at 627 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge.  

Individuals with disabilities who require special services 
should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven working 
days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call (225) 
342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters  
Secretary 

1703#013 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Social Services Block Grant Intended Use Report 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
announces opportunities for public review of the state’s pre-
expenditure report on intended uses of Social Services Block 
Grant (SSBG) funds for the state fiscal year (SFY) 
beginning July 1, 2017, and ending June 30, 2018. The 
proposed SFY 2017-2018 SSBG intended use report has 
been developed in compliance with the requirements of 
section 2004 of the Social Security Act (SSA), as amended 
and includes information on the types of activities to be 
supported and the categories or characteristics of individuals 
to be served through use of the state’s allocation of SSBG 
funds. Section 2004 of the SSA further requires that the 
SSBG pre-expenditure report shall be “made public within 
the state in such manner as to facilitate comment by any 
person.” The DCFS, as the designated state department, will 
continue to administer programs funded under the SSBG in 
accordance with applicable statutory requirements and 
federal regulations. The DCFS, Child Welfare Section 
(CWS) will be responsible for provision of social services, 
by direct delivery and vendor purchase, through use of SFY 
2017-2018 SSBG expenditures for adoption, child 
protection, family services, and foster care/residential care 
services. 

Louisiana, through DCFS/CWS, will utilize its allotted 
funds to provide comprehensive social services on behalf of 
children and families in fulfillment of legislative mandates 
for child protection and child welfare programs. These 
mandated services, and certain other essential social 
services, are provided without regard to income (WRI) to 
individuals in need. Individuals to be served also include 
low-income persons as defined in the intended use report 
who meet eligibility criteria for services provided through 
SSBG funding. 

Services designated for provision through SSBG funding 
for SFY 2017-2018 are: 
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A. adoption (pre-placement to termination of parental 
rights); 

B. child protective services including assessment, 
evaluation, social work intervention, shelter care, counseling 
and referrals for child abuse/neglect reports; 

C. family services (social work intervention 
subsequent to validation of a report of child abuse/neglect, 
counseling to high risk groups); 

D. foster care/residential care services (foster, 
residential care, and treatment on a 24-hour basis). 

Definitions for the proposed services are set forth in the 
intended use report. 

Persons eligible for SSBG funded services include: 
A. persons WRI, who are in need of adoption services, 

child protection, family services, and foster care/residential 
services; 

B. individuals WRI who are recipients of Title IV-E 
adoption assistance; 

C. recipients of supplemental security income (SSI) 
and recipients of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) and those persons whose needs were taken into 
account in determining the needs of TANF recipients; 

D. low-income persons (income eligible) whose gross 
monthly income is not more than 125 percent of the poverty 
level. A family of four with gross monthly income of not 
more than $2050 would qualify as income eligible for 
services; 

E. persons receiving title XIX (Medicaid) benefits and 
certain Medicaid applicants identified in the proposed plan 
as eligible groups. 

The post expenditure report for the SSBG program for 
SFY 2016 is included in the SSBG intended use report for 
SFY 2017-2018. Free copies are available by telephone 
request to (225) 342-341-7319 or by writing to the 
Administrator, Child Welfare Section, P.O. Box 3318, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821. 

The report is available for public review online at: 
http://www.dss.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=
home&pid=131, then select the 2016-2017 SSBG link. 
Inquiries and comments on the plan may be submitted in 
writing to the DCFS, Attention Administrator, P.O. Box 
3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. The deadline for receipt of 
written comments is May 3, 2017 at 4 p.m. 

All interested persons will have the opportunity to 
provide comments and/or recommendations on the plan, 
orally or in writing, at a public hearing scheduled for May 3, 
2017 at 11 a.m. in Room 1-129 of the Iberville Building 
located at 627 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge. Individuals 
with disabilities who require special services should contact 
the Bureau of Appeals at least seven working days in 
advance of the hearing. For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 
(voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

1703#012 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Notice of Public HearingSubstantive Changes to Proposed 
Rule: Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Program 

(LAC 13:I.Chapter 5) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the secretary gives notice 
that the department is seeking to incorporate substantive 
changes to LAC 13:I.501, 502, 503, and 505, which were 
originally noticed in the November 20, 2016, issue of the 
Louisiana Register. The department is not making any 
changes to the Notice of Intent as published in the 
November 20, 2016 issue of the Louisiana Register for LAC 
13:I.507-537. 

The department has made the following substantive 
changes to address comments received. These changes 
clarify that: 
 both Executive Orders JBE 16-26 and 16-73 are 

applicable to these rules changes; 
 only those applications with advance notifications 

filed after June 24, 2016 are subject to the rule changes; 
 the definition of manufacturing is to include mass 

production as well as custom production that utilizes 
manual labor; 

 the parish governing authority and municipality by 
resolution speak on behalf of themselves as well as 
other bodies in their jurisdiction that receive millages;  

 failure of a local governing entity to issue a 
resolution or letter within 120 day of a business’ written 
request will result in the business receiving an 
exemption from the silent entity equal to the 
mathematical average of the other parish entities that 
did respond and issue a resolution or letter;  

LED shall receive a copy of the business’ written request 
from the local governing entity to issue a resolution or letter 
and LED shall post those requests on its website; and  

Renewal of miscellaneous capital addition contracts 
granted in compliance with the governor’s executive orders 
shall be treated in accordance with prior rules. 

In the interest of clarity and transparency, the department 
is providing public notice and opportunity to comment on 
the proposed changes to the amendments of the regulations. 

The following changes are to be incorporated into the 
Notice of Intent. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 5. Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption 

Program 
§501. Statement of Purpose 

A. New Rules 
1. These rules amend and restate prior rules and upon 

adoption are to implement two important policies for the 
industrial tax exemption property tax exemption. The first is
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as a competitive incentive for job creation and under 
compelling circumstances, job retention. The second is to 
provide for input from local parish and municipal 
governments, school boards and sheriffs as to the extent of, 
and other terms and conditions for the industrial tax 
exemption. 

2. On all projects, applicant manufacturers are to 
demonstrate a genuine commitment to investing in the 
communities in which they operate, and a genuine 
commitment to creating and retaining jobs in those 
communities. These are the expectations for the program’s 
future, and the board will continue to operate it in a way that 
makes Louisiana competitive with other states in securing 
good jobs for our citizens while giving local governments a 
voice in their taxation. These rules are to be interpreted in a 
manner so as to promote these goals. 

B. Applicability of Prior Rules. Just as the board is 
promoting job growth and economic development and 
extending fairness to communities, the board is promoting 
fairness to manufacturers who have acted in accordance with 
prior rules. Contracts for the industrial property tax 
exemption and the renewal of the exemption and projects 
found to be pending as defined by Executive Orders JBE 16-
26 and JBE 16-73 are to be treated fairly under the rules that 
were in place at the time of the contracts and prior to the 
new rules. Louisiana honors its commitments and the rules 
governing existing contracts and applications not subject to 
the new rules are to be interpreted in order to promote 
fairness and commitment. Therefore, only those applications 
with an advance notification form filed after June 24, 2016, 
are subject to the 2017 rules changes.  

C. Going Forward 
1. Louisiana values its manufacturers and their 

contributions to its economy. The board’s policies going 
forward are to provide all a seat at the table to determine the 
best investment outcome for our industries and our 
communities. 

2. All rules in this chapter are intended to align with 
the above purpose while providing a process that balances 
accountability with reasonable administrative burden for 
state and local government and applicants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 43: 
§502. Definitions 

Addition to a Manufacturing Establishment— 
1.a. a capital expenditure for property that would 

meet the standard of a new manufacturing establishment if 
the addition were treated as a stand-alone establishment;  

b. a capital expenditure for property that is directly 
related to the manufacturing operations of an existing 
manufacturing establishment; or  

c. an installation or physical change made to a 
manufacturing establishment that increases its value, utility 
or competitiveness.  

2. Maintenance capital, environmentally required 
capital upgrades, and replacement parts, except those 
replacements required in the rehabilitation or restoration of 
an establishment, to conserve as nearly, and as long as 
possible, original condition, shall not qualify as an addition 
to a manufacturing establishment. 

3. Expenses associated with the rehabilitation or 
restoration of an establishment as provided for in Section 
511 shall be included as an addition to a manufacturing 
establishment. 

Beginning of Construction—the first day on which 
foundations are started or, where foundations are 
unnecessary, the first day on which installations of the 
manufacturing establishment begins. 

Board—Board of Commerce and Industry. 
Capital Expenditure—the cost associated with a new 

manufacturing establishment or an addition to an existing 
manufacturing establishment, including the purchasing or 
improving real property and tangible personal property, 
whose useful life exceeds one year and which is used in the 
conduct of business. 

Environmentally Required Capital Upgrades—upgrades 
required by any state or federal governmental agency in 
order to avoid fines, closures or other penalty. 

Establishmentan economic unit at a single physical 
location. 

Integral—required to make whole the product being 
produced. 

Job—positions of employment that are: 
1. new (not previously existing in the state) or 

retained; 
2. permanent (without specific term); 
3. full-time (working 30 or more hours per week); 
4. employed directly, by an affiliate or through 

contract labor; 
5. based at the manufacturing establishment; 
6. filled by a United States citizen who is domiciled in 

Louisiana or who becomes domiciled in Louisiana within 60 
days of employment; and 

7. any others terms of employment as negotiated in 
the Exhibit A or Exhibit B.  

LED—Louisiana Economic Development. 
Local Governmental Entity—parish governing authority, 

school board, sheriff, and any municipality in which the 
manufacturing establishment is or will be located. 

Maintenance Capital—costs incurred to conserve as 
nearly as possible the original condition. 

Manufacturer—a person or business who engages in 
manufacturing at a manufacturing establishment. 

Manufacturingworking raw materials by means of mass 
or custom production, including fabrication, applying 
manual labor or machinery into wares suitable for use or 
which gives new shapes, qualities or combinations to matter 
which already has gone through some artificial process. The 
resulting products must be “suitable for use” as 
manufactured products that are placed into commerce for 
sale or sold for use as a component of another product to be 
placed, and placed into commerce for sale.  

Obsolescence—the inadequacy, disuse, outdated or non-
functionality of facilities, infrastructure, equipment or 
product technologies due to the effects of time, decay, 
changing market conditions, invention and adoption of new 
product technologies or changing consumer demands.  

Qualified Disaster— 
1. a disaster which results from: 

a. an act of terror directed against the United States 
of any of its allies; or  
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b. any military action involving the Armed Forces 
of the United States and resulting from violence or 
aggression against the United States or any of its allies (or 
threat thereof), but not including training exercises 

2. any disaster which, with respect to the area in 
which the property is located, resulted in a subsequent 
determination by the president of the United States that such 
area warrants assistance by the federal government under the 
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 
Act; 

3. a disaster which is determined by an applicable 
federal, state, or local authority (as determined by the 
secretary) to warrant assistance from the federal state or 
local government or agency of instrumentality thereof; or  

4. any other extraordinary event that destroys or 
renders all or a portion of the manufacturing establishment 
inoperable 

Rehabilitation—the extensive renovation of a building or 
project that is intended to cure obsolescence or to repurpose 
a facility. 

Restoration—repairs to bring a building or structure to at 
least its original form or an improved condition. 

Secretary—Secretary of Louisiana Economic 
Development. 

Site—One or more contiguous parcels of land which are 
under the control of the manufacturing establishment or 
which contains certain assets of the manufacturing 
establishment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 43: 
§503. Advance Notification; Application 

A. An advance notification of intent to apply for tax 
exemption shall be filed with the LED Office of Business 
Development (OBD) on the prescribed form prior to the 
beginning of construction or installation of facilities on all 
projects for tax exemption except as provided in §505.A and 
B of these rules. An advance notification fee of $250 shall be 
submitted with the form. The advance notification will 
expire and become void if no application is filed within 12 
months of the estimated project ending date stated in the 
advance notification. The estimated project ending date as 
stated on the advance notification may be amended by the 
applicant if the amendment is made prior to the estimated 
project ending date. 

B. All financial incentive programs for a given project 
shall be filed at the same time and on the same advance 
notification. The applicable advance notification fee for each 
program for which the applicant anticipates applying shall 
be submitted with the advance notification. 

C. An application for tax exemption may be filed with 
OBD on the prescribed form: 

1. either concurrent with or after filing the advance 
notification, but no later than 90 days after the beginning of 
operations or end of construction, whichever occurs first; 

2. the deadline for filing the application may be 
extended pursuant to §523; 

3. an applicant filing an application prior to the 
beginning of operations or end of construction of the project 
shall file an annual status report with OBD on the prescribed 
form by December 31, until the project completion report

and affidavit of final cost are filed. If the applicant fails to 
timely file a status report the board may, after notice to the 
applicant, terminate the contract. 

D. In order to receive the board’s approval, applications 
with advance notifications filed after June 24, 2016, shall 
contain both of the following: 

1. an exhibit “A” consisting of a fully executed 
cooperative endeavor agreement between the state, 
Louisiana Economic Development and the applicant 
specifying the terms and conditions of the granting of the 
exemption contract; 

a. the terms and conditions of the exhibit “A” shall 
include the following: 
 i. either number of jobs and payroll to be created 
at the project site or the number of jobs and payroll to be 
retained at the project site where applicable; 
 ii. the term of the exemption contract which shall 
be for up to, but no more than five years and may provide 
for an ad valorem exemption of up to 100 percent and terms 
for renewal may be included provided that the renewal of the 
contract shall be for a period up to, but no more than three 
years and may provide for an ad valorem tax exemption of 
up to, but no more than 80 percent;  
 iii. the percentage of property eligible for the 
exemption;  
 iv. any penalty provisions for failure to create the 
requisite number of jobs or payroll at the project site, 
including but not limited to, a reduction in term, reduction in 
percentage of exemption, or termination of the exemption; 
and  
 v. a statement of return on investment (ROI) as 
determined by the secretary; 

2. an exhibit “B” consisting of resolutions adopted by 
the parish governing authority (speaking on behalf of the 
parish and all parish bodies who are located outside the 
boundary of the affected municipality, where applicable, 
who receive a millage), the school board, and any 
municipality (speaking on behalf of the municipality and all 
municipal bodies who receive a millage) and a letter from 
the sheriff approving the project in which the manufacturing 
establishment is or will be located signifying whether each 
of these authorities is in favor of the project; 

a. exhibit “B” shall include provisions addressing 
the following: 
 i. the number of jobs and payroll to be created at 
the project site required by the local governmental entity for 
approval of the exemption; 
 ii. the term of the exemption contract approved by 
the local governmental entity; and 
 iii. the percentage of property eligible for the 
exemption approved by the local governmental entity; 

b. failure of the parish governing authority, the 
school board, or the municipality to issue a resolution or 
failure of the Sheriff to issue a letter within 120 days of a 
business’ written request for such resolution shall result in an 
exemption equal to the mathematical average of the term and 
percentage exemption granted by the other local governing 
bodies who have issued a resolution or letter; 
 i. the business shall copy LED on its written 
request to the parish governing authority, school board and 
municipality for the required resolutions and its written 
request to the sheriff for the required letter; 
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 ii. LED shall post a copy of the business’ written 
request to the parish governing authority, school board and 
municipality for the required resolutions and the business’ 
written request to the sheriff for the required letter no later 
than three business days after receipt of the request; 

c. LED will provide guidance to local governmental 
entities as to suggested alternatives as it relates parameters 
for job creation, payroll, percentage of exemption and length 
of contract; 

3. the board shall consider the information collected 
and the provisions of exhibits “A” and “B” in determining 
whether to approve the contract for exemption and the 
renewal thereof; 

4. if the terms of exhibit “A” and exhibit “B” as it 
relates to the term of the exemption, and the percentage of 
property tax eligible for exemption are not the same, the 
provisions of exhibit “B” shall prevail.  

E.1. Applications which provide for a new manufacturing 
establishment or which provide for an addition to a 
manufacturing establishment with the creation of new jobs 
or a compelling reason for the retention of existing jobs shall 
be favored by the board. 

2. In determining whether a company has presented a 
compelling reason for the retention of existing jobs, the 
following situations may be considered: 

a. to prevent relocation to another state or country; 
b. to provide an advantage for investment from a 

company with multi-state operations with an established 
competitive capital project program; 

c. to employ best practice or innovative, state of the 
art technology for the establishment’s industry;  

d. to increase maximum capacity or efficiency; or 
e. to provide the state a competitive advantage as 

determined by the secretary or by the board.  
F. An application fee shall be submitted with the 

application in the amount equal to 0.5 percent of the 
estimated total amount of taxes to be exempted. In no case 
shall an application fee be smaller than $500 and in no case 
shall a fee exceed $15,000 per project. 

G. OBD reserves the right to return the advance 
notification, application, or affidavit of final cost to the 
applicant if the form is incomplete or incorrect, or the 
correct fee is not submitted. The document may be 
resubmitted with the correct information and fee.  

H. If the application is submitted after the filing 
deadline, the term of exemption available under an initial 
contract and renewal thereof shall be reduced by one year 
for each year or portion thereof that the application is late, 
up to a maximum reduction up to the maximum remaining 
term. The board may impose any other penalty for late filing 
that it deems appropriate. 

I. The department will provide a copy of the application 
and all relative information to the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue (LDR) for review. LDR may require additional 
information from the applicant. The department must receive 
a letter-of-no-objection or a letter-of-approval from the 
LDR, prior to submitting the application to the board for 
action. 

J. Eligibility of the applicant and the property for the 
exemption, including whether the activities at the site meet

the definition of manufacturing, will be reviewed by the 
board based upon the facts and circumstances existing at the 
time the application is considered by the Board of 
Commerce and Industry. The property exempted may be 
increased or decreased based upon review of the application, 
project completion report or affidavit of final cost. An 
application filed prior to completion of construction may be 
considered by the board and a contract may be executed 
based upon the best available estimates, subject to review 
and approval of the project completion report and affidavit 
of final cost. If the applicant fails to timely file the project 
completion report or affidavit of final cost the board may, 
after notice to the applicant, terminate the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 
Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 
promulgated by Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce 
and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 1985), LR 12:662 (October 
1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 20:864 (August 1994), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, LR 37:2376 (August 2011), LR 41:2318 
(November 2015), LR 43: 
§505. Miscellaneous Capital Additions 

A. The renewal of miscellaneous capital addition 
contracts approved in accordance with JBE 16-26 and 16-73 
shall be treated in accordance with prior rules. 

B. Miscellaneous capital additions which had pending 
contractual applications on June 24, 2016, and which 
provide for new jobs at the completed manufacturing 
establishment shall be considered by the board. 

C. Miscellaneous capital additions which did not have a 
pending contractual application as of June 24, 2016 or those 
with pending applications as of June 24, 2016, but do not 
provide for new jobs, are not eligible for the property tax 
exemption.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 
1985), amended LR 12:662 (October 1986), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 
Industry, LR 20:865 (August 1994), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
37:2377 (August 2011), LR 41:2318 (November 2015), LR 43: 

No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
amendments proposed in this notice. 

The changes are available for viewing on the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development website, at 
www.opportunitylouisiana.com. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the substantive changes to the Notice 

of Intent only will be held on April 20, 2017, at 10 a.m. in 
the LaSalle Building, Griffon Room, 617 N. Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All persons submitting written 
comments should reference the March 2017 ITEP Potpourri. 
Such comments must be received no later than April 20, 
2017, at 12 p.m., and should be sent to Danielle Clapinski, 
Staff Attorney, Louisiana Economic Development, P.O. Box 
94185, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9185, or e-mail at 
danielle.clapinski@la.gov. The comment period for the
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substantive changes to the November 2016 Notice of Intent 
ends on April 20, 2017. 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

1703#031 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Management and Finance 

Fees—Office of the Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste, Water Quality, Underground Storage Tank, and 

Radiation Protection—Risk/Cost Benefit Statement 

Introduction 
The Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 

(LDEQ) is proposing amendments to the Office of the 
Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 
Underground Storage Tank, and Radiation Protection 
regulations that would increase the fees collected in these 
programs. The department collects these fees from members 
of the regulated community covered by these programs. The 
majority of increases are designated for the Environmental 
Trust Fund, while there are minor increases to the Motor 
Fuel Trust Fund, the Waste Tire Trust Fund and the Lead 
Hazard Reduction Fund. Act 451 of the 2016 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature authorized the increase 
in fees. (1703Pot1) 

This statement is prepared to satisfy the requirements of 
R.S. 30:2019(D) and R.S. 49:953(G) (Acts 600 and 642 of 
the 1995 Louisiana Legislature, respectively). However, this 
document is not a quantitative analysis of cost, risk, or 
economic benefit, although costs of implementation were 
identified to the extent practical. The statutes allow a 
qualitative analysis of economic and environmental benefit 
where a more quantitative analysis is not practical. The 
department asserts that the benefits of a Rule designed to 
retain personnel in departmental programs justify the costs 
associated with the fee increases passed by the Louisiana 
Legislature during the 2016 Regular Session. 

Fiscal analysis of the department indicates a need for 
increased revenue to properly perform the necessary 
functions of the department. Currently, the only source of 
funding for the department is through fees charged for 
services provided. An increase in fees is necessary to 
properly fund the department. 

An analysis was made of the department’s historical 
expenditures necessary to operate the programs and to 
enforce the regulations required by state and federal law. 
These expenditures include the costs associated with the 
issuance of permits, licenses, and registrations; enforcement; 
surveillance; and all other program costs including 
equipment, training, and other related expenses. These 
expenditures were compared to the revenue generated for 
each program (e.g., air, water, hazardous waste, solid waste, 
etc.) with the fee structure in place prior to this legislation. 
The percentage increases proposed for the fees for each 
program were aligned with the existing funding deficiency 
and intended to generate sufficient revenues to support all 
program operations. 

Therefore, the qualitative approach is taken with the 
risk/cost benefit statement. As discussed further in this 
document, these amendments to the Office of the Secretary, 
Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 
Underground Storage Tank, and Radiation Protection 
regulations provide environmental and economic benefits. 
Assessing dollar benefits of avoided environmental risk or 
the economic benefits of this rule is not practicable. In 
addition, the department asserts that the indirect and direct 
environmental and economic benefits to be derived from this 
Rule will, in the judgment of reasonable persons, outweigh 
the costs associated with the implementation of the Rule and 
that the Rule is the most cost-effective alternative to achieve 
these benefits. 

Risks Addressed by the Rule 
The Rule addresses the risks associated with the 

potential pollution or toxic releases caused or exacerbated by 
inadequate or lack of department-sponsored surveillance, 
enforcement, and emergency response. The Rule does this 
by providing the funds necessary to allow the department to 
maintain current staffing levels and ensure federal, state, and 
local environmental regulations are properly applied and 
monitored. Without a revenue increase, the department 
would no longer be able to operate at current staffing levels 
in the next several years. If staffing was further reduced, the 
department would be unable to meet its obligations to the 
public, industry, oversight entities, and other stakeholders. 

Environmental and Health Benefits of this Rule 
The additional funds collected through this Rule will 

provide the revenue necessary to carry out the legal 
mandates of the department. This will result in multimedia 
inspections of waste-producing facilities around the state as 
required by local, state, and federal mandates. The fees will 
allow the monitoring of facilities that is necessary for 
curbing or preventing releases into the environment. The fee 
increases will also contribute to the discovery and 
remediation of unauthorized waste sites around the state. 
Overall, the increases will allow LDEQ to continue 
monitoring and maintaining the state’s air, water, and land 
resources, further preventing any incidents or occurrences 
that may jeopardize the safety or health of Louisiana’s 
citizens. 

Social and Economic Costs 
This Rule is an amendment to raise fees that are already 

assessed or assess fees for work already being performed, 
and as such, there are no significant costs to implement the 
Rule. Representatives of the regulated community are in 
favor of the proposed increase to fund the department at a 
level necessary to carry out its mandates. 

Persons currently regulated by the Office of the 
Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 
Underground Storage Tank, and/or Radiation Protection 
regulations would pay additional fees beginning in fiscal 
year 2018. These new fees would generate an estimated $9.4 
million annually in statutory-dedicated fees. 

Persons directly affected will pay additional fees; 
however, these fees will provide benefits in excess of the 
fees. The adequate monitoring of regulated facilities would 
reduce or prevent unauthorized releases into the 
environment. In addition, health hazards will be removed in 
the form of unauthorized waste sites, and sites that may
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endanger the health of Louisiana citizens can be properly 
remediated. These functions will not only protect human 
health and the environment, but will aesthetically enhance 
the state for the benefit of its citizens. 

Conclusion 
The department believes that the benefits of maintaining 

the environmental and public health protection outweigh the 
costs of implementation of the rule. Therefore, the 
department concludes that the Rule is the most cost-effective 
alternative to achieve these benefits. 

 
Karyn Andrews 
Undersecretary 

1703#027 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Bureau of Family Health 

Public Notice of Title V MCH Block Grant 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) intends to 
apply for Title V Maternal and Child (MCH) Block Grant 
Federal Funding for FY 2017-2018 in accordance with 
Public Law 97-35 and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 
Act of 1981. The Office of Public Health, Bureau of Family 
Health is responsible for program administration of the 
grant. 

The block grant application describes in detail the goals 
and planned activities to advance maternal and child health 
and the health and systems of care for children and youth 
with special health care needs. Grant priorities are based on 
the results of a statewide needs assessment conducted in 
2015, which is updated annually based on relevant data 
collection. 

Interested persons may view a summary of the application 
at: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/935  

Additional information may be gathered by contacting 
Gloria Grady at (504) 568-3521. 

 
M. Beth Scalco 
Interim Assistant Secretary 

1703#025 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina 003 150243 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B swd 001 165625 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B 003 171232 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B 006 177918 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northwest 

M Quinn E 001 191757 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northwest 

M Quinn E 
swd 

002 193247 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Southeast 

M Angelina 001 212405 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Mississippi 
Bayou 

M Madison Mb 001 241202 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Mississippi 
Bayou 

M Madison Mb 
swd 

002 241368 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina A 001 242084 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Charenton L May S 
Veeder et al 

001 245586 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Charenton L Henry Ecuer 001 245588 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northwest 

M Quinn E 002 248177 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Prichard M Clovelly Oil 
Co LLC et 

al 

001 248711 

Big River Oil 
Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina 
RC swd 

001 974844 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L W M Elliott 001 40658 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Gill-
Dempsey 

Unit 

001 42513 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Glenmora 
swd 

006 42862 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L WX 1 B ra 
sua;W M 

Elliott 

001-D 127451 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L 10850 sua;J 
J Gill 

001 130961 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Elliott sua;J 
J Gill 

001D 131858 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Audrey G 
Andrus 

001 134909 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L 10850 
suc;W M 

Elliott 

002 136228 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L W M Elliott 002D 136817 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L James P Gill 
et al 

001 197272 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Willow 
Branch 

001 220941 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Morris 
Jones 

001 229715 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Morris 
Jones 

002 231257 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Vud;Mcgilv
ary 

001 233878 

Onyxx Energy 
LLC 

Glenmora L Vue;Mcgilv
ary 

002 234024 

T.O. Greer 
Productions 

San Miguel 
Creek 

S Benton 
Johnson 

001 233799 

East Texas 
Refining Co 

Rodessa S U S 
Government

01-UNIT 22492 

Windsor Oil 
Company 

Red River-
Bull Bayou 

S Jenkins 001 
 

17309 

Aviara Energy 
Corporation 

Le Blanc L J M Leblanc 
et ux 

001 214028(30
) 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Bradford 001 52609 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Bradford 003 52900 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford 

001 89992 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford A 

001 90492 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 010 150673 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford A 

002 156761 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 001 156869 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 003 156871 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 004 157305 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 005 157306 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 006 157307 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 007 157308 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 009 158728 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Ducote B 

001 159300 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 
Mcdade 

002 159426 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Ducote B 

009 159430 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Gamm A 003 159513 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford 

002 159592 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA Su; 
Gamm 

001 159833 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA Su; 

Gamm A 

004 159874 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA 

Su;Mcdade 

003 159899 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA 

Su;Gayle 

002 159943 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford 

003 159998 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford 

004 160282 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Rhoda 
Bradford 

005 160283 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA 

su;Ducote B

013 160533 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA 

su;Gamm 

002 160607 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Gamm Wsw

003 170657 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA 

su;Ducote A

001 172265 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Bradford 

004 174141 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 011 188993 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Trenton S Deason 001 190779 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Lake End S Joe D 
Simpson 

001 195498 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Lake End S Ada Perkins 001 197357 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 012 204041 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 013 204042 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Bradford 

005 217363 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 

Gamm A 

005 218499 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Red River-
Bull Bayou 

S Blount 001 227129 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Red River-
Bull Bayou 

S Blount 002 229017 

High-Hope Oil 
And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Capi Pxy 
RA su; 
Gamm 

005 972520 

Array 
Operating, LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northeast 

M Angelina 
CH 

001 171936 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Array 
Operating, LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northeast 

M Angelina 
CH 

002 171937 

Array 
Operating, LLC 

Bayou 
Cocodrie, 
Northeast 

M Magee  
Heirs swd 

001 972270 

Array 
Operating, LLC 

Bougere, 
North 

M Campbell 
suk;Ashland

008 112800 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

1703#024 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 43, Number 3) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2016-December 2016, 214QU 
 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

Apiaries, 510R 
Fire ants, 510R 
Honey bees, 510R 
Horticulture and quarantine programs 
Diseases, citrus  
Greening and canker, 498ER 

Emerald ash borer, 245R 
Rice seed certification, 499ER 
Sweet potato yield adjustments, 500ER 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Certification, commercial applicators, 9ER 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 
Rice seed certification, 499ER 

Animal Health and Food Safety, Office of 
Animal Health, Board of  

Equine, 553N 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Advertising or sponsorship signs on department assets, 
placement, 515R 

Forestry, Office of 
Severance tax values, 2017, 217P 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Duties, licensee and registered employee with respect 
to registration, 9ER 

Obligations, licensee\permittee, 9ER 
Registration, employees, 9ER 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Annual progress and services report, 2017, 606P 
Block grant intended use report, social services, 606P 

Economic Stability Section 
Temporary assistance for needy families caseload 

reduction, 217P 
Licensing Section 

Residential home, 245R 
 
 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
Cultural Development, Office of 

Archeology, Division of 
Fees, 46R 

State Parks, Office of 
State parks, 290R 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 

Board meetings, 519R 
Industrial ad valorem tax exemption program 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 
607P 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 
Tax credit program 
Motion picture investor, 300R 

 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and 
State Accountability System, 301R 

Bulletin 112Louisiana Connectors for English 
Language Learners, 345N 

Bulletin 113—Louisiana's Reading and Language 
Competencies for New Teachers, 302R 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices 

Test security, 94N 
Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 96N, 306R 
Bulletin 127―LEAP Connect Assessment, Louisiana 

Connectors for Students with Significant Cognitive 
Disabilities, 358N 

Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 99N 

Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring Procedures, 
516R 

2017 
Pages    Issue 
1-222 ................................................... January 
223-497 ............................................... February 
498-619 ............................................... March 
 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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EDUCATION (continued) 
Regents, Board of 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Scholarship/grant programs, 518R 
TOPS core curriculum equivalents 

Human anatomy and physiology, 10ER, 101N 
Pre-calculus, 10ER, 101N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Management and Finance, Office of 

Fees 
Risk/cost benefit statement 

Office of the secretary, air, hazardous waste, solid 
waste, water quality, underground storage tank, 
and radiation protection, 611P 

Secretary, Office of the 
Legal Division 

Air permits 
Actions, electronic notice, 393N 
Recordkeeping, exempt sources, 520R 

Emissions 
Reduction credits (ERC), mobile sources 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 
rule AQ365, 486P 

Fee increase, 104N 
Hazardous materials, secondary, 558N 
Hazardous waste 

Authorization, resource conservation and recovery 
act (RCRA), 396N 

Delisting, Denka Performance Elastomer LLC, 
407N 

Work practice standards, start-up and shutdown, 521R 
 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 16-74 Executive Branch Expenditure Reduction, 

1EO 
JBE 16-75 Rules and Policies on Leave for 

Unclassified Services—Amended December 19, 
2016, 2EO 

JBE 17-01 Mortgage Credit Certificate Certification, 
223EO 

JBE 17-02 Qualified Energy Conservation Bond 
AllocationLouisiana Stadium and Exposition 
District, 223EO 

JBE 17-03 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2016, 
224EO 

JBE 17-04 Emergency Suspension of Certain 
Insurance Code ProvisionsAmended, 225EO 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 
Capital improvement projects 

Procedure manual, 572N 
Contract limit adjustment, 219P 

Racing Commission 
License, training tracks, 316R 

State Lands, Office of 
Rights-of-way, granting 
Corporations, 47R 
Individuals, 47R 

Tax Commission 
Ad valorem taxation, 409N 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Deepwater horizon oil spill 

Final restoration plan #1, Louisiana trustee 
implementation group, 217P 

Birds, 217P 
Habitat projects, federally managed lands, 217P 
Wetlands, coastal and nearshore habitats restoration, 

217P 
Natural resource damage restoration banking, 128N 

Home Inspectors, Board of 
Education, training and testing, 311R 
Testing, 311R 
Training, 311R 

Law Enforcement, Commission on 
Peace officer training, 316R 

Pardons, Board of 
Clemency consideration 

Application filing, 570N 
Eligibility, 570N 

Hearings, board, 46R 
Victims, notification, requirements, 46R 

Parole, Committee on 
Hearings, board, 46R 
Victims, notification, requirements, 46R 

Real Estate Commission 
Broker responsibilities, 136N 
Escrow deposits, disbursement, 573N 

Veterans Affairs, Department of 
Military Family Assistance Board 

Military family assistance program, 501ER 
 
 
 

HEALTH 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 
Transportation costs, 324R 

Community choices waiver 
Electronic visit verification, 505ER 

Nursing facilities 
Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N 

Personal care services, long-term 
Standards for participation, electronic visit 

verification, 508ER 
Behavioral Health, Office of 

Behavioral health services 
Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 

waiver, 321R 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Individual and family support program, 172N 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Dentistry, Board of 

Anesthesia/analgesia administration, 426N 
Certificate, display, 424N 
Continuing education requirements, 426N 
Dentists 

Advertising, 48R 
Complaints, 48R 
Investigations, 48R 
Soliciting, 48R 

Fees and costs 426N 
Certification confirmation, 424N 
Reconfirmation, 424N 

Drug and Device Distributors, Board of 
Distributors, wholesale, 48R 
General Provisions, 48R 
Fees, 48R 
Logistics providers, third-party, 48R 
Recordkeeping, 48R 
Requirements, 48R 
Qualifications, 48R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Abortion facilities, licensing standards, 502ER 
Ambulatory surgical centers, licensing standards, 429N 
Behavioral health services 

Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 
waiver, 321R 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 
Inpatient psychiatric services, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 322R 
Louisiana low-income academic hospitals, 13ER, 

522R 
Payment methodology, 455N 

Major medical centers, 226ER 
Qualifying criteria, 457N 

Family planning waiver, program termination, 458N 
Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities 
Licensing standards, 50R 

Healthcare services provider fees 
Nursing facility services providers, 73R, 323R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 
waiver, 323R 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 
Transportation costs, 324R 

Community choices waiver 
Electronic visit verification, 505ER 

Hospital licensing standards, 74R 
Newborn services, 75R 
Obstetrical services, 75R 

Inpatient hospital services 
Children’s specialty hospitals 
Supplemental payments, New Orleans area hospitals, 
15ER 

Graduate medical education, supplemental payments 
pool elimination, 505ER, 506ER 

High Medicaid hospitals, supplemental payments pool 
reduction, 507ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Public hospitals supplemental payments, 16ER, 
325R 

Reimbursement rate increase, 459N 
Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 16ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
17ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 
Licensing standards, 524R 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 18ER, 

325R 
Public facilities, reimbursement rate increase, 21ER 
Supplemental payments, 160N, 507ER 

Managed care for physical and behavioral health 
Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 161N 

Medicaid eligibility 
Louisiana health insurance premium payment 
program, 162N 

Nursing facilities 
Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 22ER, 
328R 

Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N 
Reimbursement methodology, 525R 
Pass-through rate increase, 82R 

Resident review, 601N 
Outpatient hospital services 

Children’s specialty hospitals 
Reimbursement rate increase, 462N 
Supplemental payments for New Orleans area 
hospitals, 23ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Reimbursement rate increase, 462N 
Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 
hospitals, 24ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 
25ER 

Pediatric day health care facilities 
Licensing standards, 82R 

Pediatric day health care program, 82R 
Personal care services, long-term 

Standards for participation, electronic visit 
verification, 508ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program, 164N 
Methods of payment, 26ER 
State supplemental rebate agreement program, 26ER, 
464N 

Professional services program 
Reimbursement methodology, supplemental 
payments, 227ER 

Psychiatric residential treatment facilities 
Licensing standards, 329R 

Recovery audit contractor program, 229ER 
Medical Examiners, Board of 

Athletic trainers 
Licensure, 586N 
Practice, 586N 

Licensure, telemedicine, 317R 
Physician assistants 

Certification, 595N 
Licensure and certification, 595N 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Physician practice, 317R, 318R 

Marijuana, therapeutic use, 318R 
Telemedicine, 317R 

Nursing, Board of 
Viral infections, prevention, 428N 

Pharmacy, Board of 
CDS license, reinstatement, 156N 
Naloxone, distribution of, standing orders, 158N 
Pharmacy 

Marijuana, 138N 
Nonresident, pharmacist-in-charge, 50R 
Technicians, 153N 

Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 
Fees, 583N 
Psychologists 

Ethical code of conduct, 574N 
Supervision, 585N 

School psychology, licensed specialists, 585N 
Public Health, Office of 

Controlled dangerous substances, added, 27ER 
Ground water, 83R 
Sewerage outfall paths, 465N 
Special supplemental, nutrition program for women, 

infants and children (WIC), 27ER, 330R 
Total coliform, revised, 83R 

Family Health, Bureau of 
Title V MCH block grant, public notice, 612P 

Social Work Examiners, Board of 
Public hearing 

Substantive changes to proposed rule, practice 
requirements, social work relationships, client 
confidentiality, definitions, continuing education 
requirements, and supervision, 487P 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
Fee schedule, 492P 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Emergency Rule 32 
Suspension of right to cancel or nonrenew residential, 
commercial residential, or commercial property 
insurance due to historic flooding, 231ER 

Insurance policy disclosure forms 
Homeowner and fire/commercial, 530R 

Regulation 76, privacy of consumer, 534R 
 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

E and P waste transfer pipeline systems, offsite, 536R 
Oil and gas wells 

Financial security, 535R 
Future utility determinations, 535R 
Plug and abandonment, 535R 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 219P, 493P, 612P 
Transferable plugging credits in lieu of bond with 
security 
Advanced notice of rulemaking and solicitation of 
comments, 492P 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Correction Services 

Offenders 
Mail, 603N 
Publications, 603N 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 
Broker permits, 39ER, 179N 

State Fire Marshal, Office of the 
Building safety, fire protection, 467N 
Code enforcement, 467N 

State Police, Office of 
Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 
Inspections, motor vehicles, 537R 
Motor carrier safety and hazardous materials, 537R 

Uniform Construction Code Council 
Uniform construction code, 180N 

Public hearing, 493P 
 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Alcohol beverage container label restrictions, 471N 
Policy Services Division 

Motion picture investor tax credit brokers, public 
registry, 342R 

 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Advanced engineering degrees, 343R 
Military-trained individuals, military spouses, 538R 
Seals, use, 538R 
Work disclaimers, preliminary, 343R 

 
 
 

TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration, distributions, 41ER 
District Attorneys’ Retirement System, Board of 
Trustees of the 
Retirement system, 201N 

Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, Board 
of Trustees of the 
Provisions, 88R 

School Employees’ Retirement System, Board of 
Trustees of the 
Benefits, limitations, 604N 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Fisheries, Office of 

Reef fish 
Harvest regulations, 89R 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
Alligator egg collections, 90R 
Cervid carcass importation, 344R 
Fishing 

Poverty Point reservoir 
Commercial, 90R 



Louisiana Register  Vol. 43,  No.03  March 20, 2017 619 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 
Freshwater sport, 90R 
Netting prohibition, 90R 

Hunting regulations and seasons, 2017-18, 205N 
King mackerel 

Season 
Commercial harvest, 2017-18, 42ER 
Commercial season closure, 2016-17, 233ER 

Menhaden 
Commercial bait season, 2017, 509ER 

Oysters 
Harvest  

Calcasieu Lake, closure, 234ER, 235ER 
Opening, public oyster area, 234ER 

Closure, east of the Mississippi River, 43ER 
Recreational reef sites, establishment and 
restrictions, 91R 

Red snapper 
Recreational season 
Closure, private and charter, 43ER 
Harvest regulations, 2017, 44ER 

Reef fish 
Harvest regulations, 89R 
2017 recreational red snapper season, 44ER 

Sawfishes 
Harvest regulations, 204N 

Shark 
Harvest regulations, 204N 
Possession limit, commercial non-sandbar large 
coastal, 44ER 

Shrimp 
Season 
Closures, 44ER 

Inshore, fall, 43ER, 235ER 
 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Plumbers 
Administration proceedings; revocation, 235ER, 
484N, 541R 

Education programs, continuing professional, 235ER, 
484N, 541R 

Introductory information, 235ER, 484N, 541R 
Licenses, 235ER, 484N, 541R 

Workforce Commission 
Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Hearings, claim, commencement, 473N 
Medical treatment guidelines 

Upper and lower extremities, 474N 
Utilization review, 474N 

 
 

 


