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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 21-12 

Bond Allocation 2021 Ceiling 

WHEREAS, Section 146 of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986 (hereafter the “Act”), as amended 
(hereafter the “Code”), restricts the total principal amount 
of certain private activity bonds (hereafter the “Bonds”) 
that exclude interest from gross income for federal 
income tax purposes under Section 103 of the Code; 

WHEREAS, Act No. 51 of the 1986 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature (hereafter “Act No. 
51 of 1986”) authorizes the Governor to allocate the 
volume limit applicable to the Bonds (hereafter the 
“ceiling”) among the State and its political subdivisions 
in such a manner as the Governor deems to be in the best 
interest of the State of Louisiana; 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Act and Act No. 51 
of 1986, Executive Order Number JBE 2016-35 was 
issued to establish:  

(a) the manner in which the ceiling shall be 
determined,  

(b) the method to be used in allocating the 
ceiling,  

(c) the application procedure for obtaining an 
allocation of Bonds subject to such ceiling, and  

(d) a system of record keeping for such 
allocations; and 

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Housing Corporation 
(hereafter the "Corporation") has applied for an allocation 
of the 2021 ceiling to be used in connection with 
providing funds to:  

(i) pay the cost for the acquisition, rehabilitation, 
and/or equipping of multifamily housing facilities serving 
low and moderate income rehabilitation households in 
Shreveport, Caddo Parish (the "Project"),  

(ii) fund such reserve accounts as may be required 
and  

(iii) pay the costs of issuance;  
WHEREAS, the Louisiana Housing Corporation 

(hereafter the “Corporation”) has applied for an allocation of 
the 2021 ceiling to be used in connection with its Single 
Family Mortgage Revenue Bonds (Home Ownership 
Program) Series 2021D (Non-AMT) in the principal amount 
of $60,000,000 (the “Series 2021D Bonds”) and paying the 
costs of issuance; and  

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Housing Corporation 
(hereafter the "Corporation") has applied for an allocation of 
the 2021 ceiling to be used in connection with providing 
funds for the acquisition, rehabilitation, and/or equipping of 

approximately 118 units of residential rental housing for 
individuals and families of low and moderate income. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The bond issue, as described in this 
Section, shall be and is hereby granted an allocation from 
the 2021 ceiling in the amount shown: 

 
Amount of 
Allocation 

Name of Issuer Name of Project 

$14,000,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Corporation 

Millennium Studios 
III 

Series 2021 

$60,000,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Corporation 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bonds (Home 
Ownership Program) 
Series 2021D (Non-

AMT) 

$7,500,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Corporation 

Neil Wagoner & 
Henderson Project, 

Series 2021 

 
SECTION 2: The allocation granted herein shall 

be used only for the bond issues described in Section l 
and for the general purpose set forth in the 
“Application for Allocation of a Portion of the State of 
Louisiana's Private Activity Volume Cap” submitted in 
connection with the bond issues described in Section 
1. 

SECTION 3: The allocations granted herein shall 
be valid and in full force and effect through October 30, 
2021. 

SECTION 4: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated 
by operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana on this 22nd day of July, 2021. 

 
John Bell Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Aroin 
Secretary of State 
2108#020 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability Section 

TANF NRST Benefits and Post-FITAP Transitional 
Assistance (LAC 67:III.1229, 5329, 5551, and 5729) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
Economic Stability, has exercised the emergency provision 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to 
amend LAC 67:III, Subpart 2, Section 1229 Income; Subpart 
13, Section 5329 Income; Subpart 15, Section 5551 
Community Response Initiative; and Subpart 16, Section 
5729 Support Services. This Emergency Rule shall be 
effective August 1, 2021 and shall remain in effect for a 
period of 120 days. 

Pursuant to Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) Block Grant, amendment of Sections 1229 
and 5329 is required to allow TANF nonrecurrent, short-term 
(NRST) benefit payments to FITAP and KCSP recipients to 
mitigate the impact of a specific crisis situation or episode of 
need such as an economic crisis, disaster, pandemic, etc. 
Under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021, $7,905,732 
has been allotted to Louisiana in Pandemic Emergency 
Assistance Funds (PEAF), which are a supplemental 
appropriation to the basic TANF block grant, to assist needy 
families impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. The 
proposed change would allow the department to issue 
PEAF-funded NRST benefits directly to TANF-eligible 
recipients of FITAP and KCSP. 

Section 5551 is being amended to change earned income 
eligibility for those services meeting TANF goals 1 and 2 
from 200 to 250 percent of the federal poverty level. 

Section 5729 is being amended to provide time-limited 
Post-FITAP transitional assistance to families who are 
leaving cash assistance when their FITAP case closes due to 
earned income. Families that leave TANF for work continue 
to face hardships in making ends meet once cash assistance 
ends and may be unable to maintain employment. 
Transitional benefits provided to working families can 
reduce poverty by providing transitional assistance on top of 
the earnings families receive when they go to work and 
improve their ability to maintain employment. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
facilitate the expenditure of TANF funds. The authorization 
to promulgate emergency rules to facilitate the expenditure 
of TANF funds is contained in Act 119 of the 2021 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 
Subpart 2.  Family Independence Temporary Assistance 

Program 
Chapter 12. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§1229. Income 

A. - D. ... 
* * * 

E. Payment Amount 
1. For FITAP basic assistance, the budgetary deficit is 

the amount remaining after subtracting applicable income 
from the total assistance needs (flat grant amount). Round 
down to the next lower dollar of the budgetary deficit to 
determine the payment amount. Prorate the initial assistance 
payment from the date of application if otherwise eligible. 

2. Within the limits of appropriations, a FITAP 
household may also receive a nonrecurrent, short-term 
(NRST) benefit that meets the regulatory definition [45 CFR 
260.31(b)(1)] to mitigate the impact of a specific crisis 
situation broadly affecting needy families or a specific 
episode of need affecting a specific family, such as an 
economic crisis, disaster, pandemic, etc. The department has 
flexibility to respond with a sufficient and appropriate 
response regarding the duration of payments up to four 
months, type of payment (lump-sum or monthly 
installments), number of NRST benefits provided for 
different episodes of crisis or need, payment amount for each 
NRST benefit, and any lifetime limits imposed for eligible 
families. 

F. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq., and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1(B), R.S. 
46:231.2, P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, and 7 CFR 
273.2(j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 26:2831 (December 
2000), LR 31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1616 (September 
2006), LR 32:1912 (October 2006), LR 34:2678 (December 2008), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 
(November 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 40:1675 
(September 2014), LR 42:1651 (October 2016), LR 44:444 (March 
2018), LR 47: 
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Subpart 13.  Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5329. Income 

A. - C. ... 
D. Payment Amount 

1. ... 
2. Within the limits of appropriations, a KCSP 

household may also receive a nonrecurrent, short-term 
(NRST) benefit that meets the regulatory definition (45 CFR 
260.31(b)(1)) to mitigate the impact of a specific crisis 
situation broadly affecting needy families or a specific 
episode of need affecting a specific family, such as an 
economic crisis, disaster, pandemic, etc. The department has 
flexibility to respond with a sufficient and appropriate 
response regarding the duration of payments up to four 
months, type of payment (lump-sum or monthly 
installments), number of NRST benefits provided for 
different episodes of crisis or need, payment amount for each 
NRST benefit, and any lifetime limits imposed for eligible 
families. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 
46:237, and P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, 7 CFR 
273.2(j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:353 (February 
2000), amended LR 26:2832 (December 2000), LR 31:2958 
(November 2005), LR 32:1617 (September 2006), LR 32:1913 
(October 2006), repromulgated LR 32:2098 (November 2006), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2537 
(November 2010), LR 38:1390 (June 2012), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
Section, LR 45:1443 (October 2019), LR 47: 

Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) Initiatives 

Chapter 55 TANF Initiatives 
§5551. Community Response Initiative 

A. The department may enter into Memoranda of 
Understanding or contracts to develop innovative and 
strategic programming solutions suited to the unique needs 
of Louisiana's communities. 

B. The services provided by the various partners must 
meet one, or a combination of, the four TANF goals: 

1. Goal 1―to provide assistance to needy families so 
that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the 
homes of relatives; 

2. Goal 2―to end dependence of needy parents on 
government benefits by promoting job preparation, work, 
and marriage; 

3. Goal 3―to prevent and reduce the incidence of out-
of-wedlock pregnancies; and 

4. Goal 4―to encourage the formation and 
maintenance of two-parent families. 

C. Eligibility for those services meeting TANF goals 1 
and 2 is limited to needy families, that is, a family in which 
any member receives a Family Independence Temporary 
Assistance Program (FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy 
Program (KCSP) grant, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) benefits, Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP) services, Title IV-E, Medicaid, Louisiana Children's 
Health Insurance Program (LaChip) benefits, Supplemental 

Security Income (SSI), Free or Reduced Lunch, or who has 
earned income at or below 250 percent of the federal poverty 
level. For TANF goals 1 and 2 a family consists of minor 
children residing with custodial parents, or caretaker 
relatives of minor children. 

D. Eligibility for those services meeting TANF goals 3 
and 4 may include any family in need of the provided 
services regardless of income. For TANF goals 3 and 4 a 
family consists of a minor child residing with a custodial 
parent or caretaker relative of the minor child, and non-
custodial parents, and legal guardians. 

E. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session, Act 18, 2007 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2374 (November 
2002), amended LR 34:695 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
Section, LR 47: 

Subpart 16.  Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Chapter 57 Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Subchapter C. STEP Program Process 
§5729. Support Services 

A. Clients may be provided support services that include 
but are not limited to: 

1. a full range of case maintenance and case 
management services designed to lead to self-sufficiency; 

2. transportation assistance; 
3. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

(SNAP) benefits; 
4. Medicaid benefits; 
5. child care; 
6. TANF-funded services;  
7. other services necessary to accept or maintain 

employment; and 
8. Post-FITAP transitional assistance benefits. 

a. Effective September 1, 2021, these services may 
be provided to participants who are or become ineligible for 
cash assistance due to earned income within the limits of 
appropriations. They include a monthly transportation 
payment, other supportive service payments used to cover 
certain costs deemed necessary for employment, housing 
assistance used to address a specific episode of need deemed 
necessary to maintain employment, educational assistance, 
and a work retention incentive. The payments may begin 
with the first month of FITAP ineligibility and continue 
through the twelfth month of ineligibility or through the last 
month of employment, whichever comes first. The twelve 
months need not be consecutive. 

B. Support services may be provided to: 
1. persons participating in the family assessment; 
2. persons referred by the department to other 

activities, such as drug counseling, prior to their 
participation in a work activity; 

3. FITAP recipients participating in approved 
activities necessary to meet exemptions to the FITAP time 
limits; 

4. FITAP recipients to facilitate their attendance in the 
FITAP Drug Testing Program or Parenting Skills Program; 
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5. allow participation in educational activities for 
FITAP recipients who are exempt from STEP. 

C. Electronic disbursement of support services payments 
shall be mandatory for all payment types. 

1. Electronic disbursement of support services 
payments includes direct deposit to the STEP participant's 
bank account (checking or savings) or payments to a stored 
value card account for the STEP participant. 

D. The department shall inform participants of available 
supportive services as part of the initial family assessment 
and shall integrate the provision of any necessary supportive 
services to the family success agreement developed and 
signed by the department and the participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
104-193, R.S. 46:231, R.S. 46:460, and Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, 
ACYF-IM-CC-05-03. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 30:500 (March 
2004), amended LR 32:2098 (November 2006), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 38:1391 (June 2012), amended by 
the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability Section, LR 40:1678 (September 2014), LR 47: 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2108#007 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 

Sanctions and Child Placing Supervisory Visits 
Residential Homes (Type IV), and Child Placing Agencies 

(LAC 67:V.7109, 7111, 7311, 7313, and 7321) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
Licensing Section, has exercised the emergency provision of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to amend 
LAC 67:V, Subpart 8, Sections 7109, 7111, 7311, 7313, and 
7321. This Emergency Rule shall be effective August 1, 
2021 and shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days. 

The implementation of this Rule to §§7109, 7111, and 
7311 grants the department the authority to institute 
intermediate sanctions and levy fines to licensed providers 
that fail to comply with the requirement of a state central 
registry clearance for individuals owning, working in, and 
having access to children/youth in DCFS licensed facilities 
and agencies. In accordance with Act 31 of the 2021 Regular 
Legislative Session, it is necessary to promulgate an 
Emergency Rule to implement R.S. 46:1430 effective 
August 1, 2021. 

Pursuant to Children’s Code Article 1213, as amended by 
Act 6 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, the 
department is adopting rules to §§7313 and 7321 in 
accordance with the amended law effective August 1, 2021. 
The department considers emergency action necessary to 
meet the requirements of Children’s Code Article 1213, as 
amended by Act 6 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 71. Residential Homes - Type IV 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§7109. Critical Violations/Fines 

A. - A.5. ... 
6. §7107.A.8, §7107.A.9, §7107.D.4.f.iv, §7107.E.2.g, 

§7111.A.2.c.iii, §7111.A.5.c, §7111.B.2.a.x, §7112.A-D, 
and/or §7117.A.14.k state central registry clearance effective 
August 1, 2021. 

B. - E.1.k. ... 
l. When the cited critical violation was for a state 

central registry clearance not being completed prior to hire 
as required, but obtained before the individual was on the 
premises and/or had access to a resident or child of a 
resident, the fine shall be decreased by $25. 

m. When the cited critical violation was for state 
central registry clearance not being completed prior to the 
individual being on the premises and/or having access to a 
resident or child of a resident, the fine shall be increased by 
$25. 

F. - H.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:258 
(February 2017), amended LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 
44:1991 (November 2018), effective December 1, 2018, amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing 
Section, LR 45:521 (April 2019), effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:674 
(May 2020), effective June 1, 2020, LR 47: 
§7111. Provider Requirements  

A. - A.2.c.ii. ... 
 iii. have a state central registry clearance form 
from Child Welfare as required in §7112; 

A.2.c.iv. - J.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. HISTORICAL NOTE: 
Promulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Community Service, LR 36:811 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 38:979, 984 (April 2012), LR 
42:221 (February 2016), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:261 (February 
2017), LR 43:1725 (September 2017), LR 44:1992 (November 
2018), effective December 1, 2018, amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:521 (April 
2019), effective May 1, 2019, LR 46:674 (May 2020), effective 
June 1, 2020, LR 47: 
Chapter 73. Child Placing Agencies—General 

Provisions 
§7311. Licensing Requirements—Foster Care, 

Adoption, Transitional Placing 
A. - M.1.c. ... 

d. §7309.B., §7311.B.5.d.viii., §7311.B.5.g.v. – vi., 
§7311.B.5.h.iv., §7311.C.2.h., §7313.I.10., §7313.L.6., 
§7313.M.2., §7315.C., and/or §7321.J. 1-2. – state central 
registry clearance effective August 1, 2021. 

M.2. - M.7.i. ... 
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j. When the cited critical violation was for a state 
central registry clearance not being completed prior to hire 
as required, but obtained before the individual was on the 
premises and/or had access to a child/youth, the fine shall be 
decreased by $25. 

k. When the cited critical violation was for state 
central registry clearance not being completed prior to the 
individual being on the premises and/or having access to a 
child/youth, the fine shall be increased by $25. 

M.8. - N.4.  …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:359 
(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:681 (May 2020), 
effective June 1, 2020, amended LR 47:350 (March 2021), 
effective April 1, 2021, repromulgated LR 47:441 (April 2021), LR 
47: 
§7313. Administration and Operation 

A. - H.6.d. ... 
7. Effective April 1, 2019, staff conducting 

supervisory visits with foster parents, children/youth in 
certified foster home placements, and/or youth in transitional 
placing placements shall possess, at a minimum, a bachelor's 
degree in social work or a human service related bachelor's 
degree. 

8. Effective August 1, 2021, in accordance with ACT 
6 of the 2021 regular legislative session, all supervisory 
visits noted in Section 7321.H. shall be conducted by a 
social worker in the employ of the licensed adoption agency, 
licensed social worker, licensed professional counselor, 
licensed psychologist, medical psychologist, licensed 
psychiatrist, or licensed marriage and family therapist. 

I. - U.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, 
LR 45:368 (March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 46:683 (May 
2020), effective June 1, 2020, LR 47:351 (March 2021), effective 
April 1, 2021, repromulgated LR 47:441 (April 2021), LR 47: 
§7321. Adoption Services 

A. - H.1. ... 
2. Provider shall conduct an initial in home in-person 

supervisory visit with the child and one adoptive parent 
within 7 calendar days of the child's placement. Effective 
August 1, 2021 in accordance with Act 6 of the 2021 
Regular Legislative Session, the next in home in-person 
supervisory visit shall occur within 30 calendar days of the 
initial in home in-person supervisory visit. 

3. ... 
4. Provider shall conduct a private supervisory visit 

without the presence of the adoptive parents with each child 
age one year and above every other month with at least a 
segment of the visit occurring in the adoptive home.  

5. - 10. ... 
11. Effective August 1, 2021 and in accordance with 

Act 6 of the 2021 legislative session, provider shall submit a 
confidential report to DCFS, Child Welfare concerning 
requirements noted in §7321.H.2-10 upon completion and to 
the court prior to the hearing on the final decree of the 
adoption. If DCFS requests additional information, the 
provider shall submit the requested information to the 
department by the date specified in the notification 
correspondence. 

I. - L. ... 
1. In domestic adoptions, DCFS may request 

information or documents from the provider required to be 
submitted to the court. The provider shall submit the 
requested information and documents to the department by 
the date specified in the notification correspondence. 

2. - M.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:388 
(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, LR 47:353 (March 2021), 
effective April 1, 2021, repromulgated LR 47:443 (April 2021), LR 
47: 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2108#009 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Broadband Development and Connectivity 

Granting Unserved Municipalities Broadband Opportunities 
(GUMBO) (LAC 4:XXI.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) et seq., and 
pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 51:2370-2370.16, 
the commissioner of administration declares an emergency 
to exist and adopts by emergency process the attached Rule 
relative to the administration of the Granting Unserved 
Municipalities Broadband Opportunities (GUMBO) grant 
program by the Office of Broadband Development and 
Connectivity.  

Like railways in the 19th century and electricity in the 
20th century, broadband internet access has become a critical 
piece of infrastructure, relied upon to ignite economic 
growth and competitiveness, contribute to improved 
outcomes in healthcare, enhance agricultural output, and 
advance the educational experience of our children. In the 
21st century, broadband internet access is a given for many 
Louisianans, who rely on broadband in every aspect of daily 
life.  

The Coronavirus pandemic has forever changed the 
definition and location of “work.” Unemployed Louisianans 
rely on broadband to search and apply for the next 
opportunity. Our state’s families and children have been 
forced to rely upon broadband for virtual education. The 
older and sicker among us are increasingly reliant on 
broadband to schedule telehealth visits and see medical 
specialists. Across fields of rice in Acadia Parish, corn in 
Richland Parish, and sugarcane in Lafourche Parish, farmers 
around the state rely on broadband to take advantage of the 
latest innovations in agricultural technology to increase 
yields. Working remotely, searching for employment, 
attending virtual classes, scheduling a telehealth visit, and 
using the latest technologies in agriculture all depend, in 
part, on having access to broadband. 

However, according to the Federal Communications 
Commission, over 10 percent of Louisianans do not have 
access to broadband through ADSL, cable, fiber, or fixed 
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wireless. In our rural communities, the number of these 
unserved residents rises to nearly 33 percent. Tragically, a 
third of rural Louisianans are without access to high-speed 
broadband, threatening their health, limiting their 
educational opportunities, and constraining their economic 
competitiveness in the digital world. 

Failure to connect the unconnected, and any further delay 
in constructing broadband infrastructure to serve those 
residents without it, would continue the substantial risk of 
hardship currently faced by hundreds of thousands of 
residents throughout the state. As demonstrated, this 
situation constitutes and creates an imminent peril to the 
public health, safety, and welfare of the residents of 
Louisiana, thereby making this Emergency Rule necessary. 

Therefore, the Louisiana Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity is providing grants to private 
providers of broadband services to facilitate the deployment 
of broadband service to unserved areas of the state, defined 
as areas without deployed internet access service providing 
transmission speeds of at least 25 Mbps download and 3 
Mbps upload (25:3 Mbps) through wireline or fixed 
wireless. The GUMBO grant program funds eligible projects 
through a competitive grant application process. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on August 
12, 2021, and will remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed by the Administrative Procedure Act, unless 
renewed by the commissioner of administration, or until 
permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part XXI.  Granting Unserved Municipalities Broadband 
Opportunities (GUMBO) 

Chapter 1. Program Summary 
§101. Background and Authorization 

A. This Part may be cited as the Louisiana GUMBO 
Broadband Grant Program Guide. 

B. The Louisiana Office of Broadband Development and 
Connectivity, as authorized by R.S. 51:2370.1-2370.16, 
provides grants to private providers of broadband services to 
facilitate the deployment of broadband service to unserved 
areas of the state. The Granting Unserved Municipalities 
Broadband Opportunities (GUMBO) grant program funds 
eligible projects, through a competitive grant application 
process, in economically distressed parishes throughout the 
state.  

C. The application materials, program guidelines, and 
criteria set forth in this Part govern the GUMBO grant 
program and have been developed based on the enacting 
legislation for the program, Act 477 of the 2021 Regular 
Legislative Session.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§103. Definitions 

Broadband Service—deployed internet access service with 
a minimum of 25 Mbps download and 3 Mbps upload 
transmission speeds (25:3 Mbps). 

Cooperative—a corporation organized under Part I of 
Chapter 2 of Title 12 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950 or a corporation who becomes subject to those 
provisions pursuant to R.S. 12:401 et seq. 

Director—the Executive Director of the Office of 
Broadband Development and Connectivity within the 
Division of Administration. 

Economically Distressed Parish—an unserved area that is 
in need of expansion of business and industry and the 
creation of jobs, giving consideration to unemployment, per 
capita income, and the number of residents receiving public 
assistance within that unserved area. 

Eligible Grant Recipient—a provider of broadband 
service, including a provider operated by a local government 
if the local government is compliant with the Local 
Government Fair Competition Act prior to July 1, 2021, with 
respect to providing such services, a cooperative, or any 
partnership thereof. 

Eligible Parishes—any parish with unserved structures. 
Eligible Project—a discrete and specific project located in 

an unserved area of an eligible parish seeking to provide 
broadband service to homes, households, businesses, 
educational facilities, healthcare facilities, and community 
anchor points not currently served. A project that is primarily 
engaged in middle-mile, backhaul, or similar work is not an 
eligible project. The inclusion of middle-mile, backhaul, or 
similar capacity is permissible in an eligible project, if the 
capacity does not otherwise exist and is necessary for the 
project’s last-mile broadband connectivity to end-users. If a 
contiguous project area crosses from one eligible parish into 
one or more eligible adjacent parishes, the project shall be 
deemed to be located in the parish where the greatest 
number of unserved households are proposed to be served. 

Household—any individual or group of individuals who 
are living together at the same address as one economic unit. 
A household may include related and unrelated persons. An 
“economic unit” consists of all adult individuals contributing 
to and sharing in the income and expenses of a household. 
An adult is any person eighteen years or older. If an adult 
has no or minimal income, and lives with someone who 
provides financial support to him, both people shall be 
considered part of the same household. Children under the 
age of 18 living with their parents or guardians are 
considered to be part of the same household as their parents 
or guardians. 

In-kind—existing facilities, equipment, materials, and 
structures that a local government makes available in 
partnership with an internet service provider as a 
contribution to the proposed project, consistent with market 
rates. Examples include but are not limited to copper wire, 
coaxial cable, optical cable, loose tube cable, 
communication huts, conduits, vaults, patch panels, 
mounting hardware, poles, generators, batteries and cabinets, 
network nodes, network routers, network switches, 
microwave relays, microwave receivers, site routers, outdoor 
cabinets, towers, easements, rights-of-way, and buildings or 
structures owned by the local government that are made 
available for location or collocation purposes. This term may 
also include fees. 

Infrastructure—existing facilities, equipment, materials, 
and structures that an internet service provider has installed 
either for its core business or public enterprise purposes. 
Examples include but are not limited to copper wire, coaxial 
cable, optical cable, loose tube cable, communication huts, 
conduits, vaults, patch panels, mounting hardware, poles, 
generators, batteries and cabinets, network nodes, network 
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routers, network switches, microwave relays, microwave 
receivers, site routers, outdoor cabinets, towers, easements, 
rights-of-way, and buildings or structures owned by the 
entity that are made available for location or collocation 
purposes. 

Infrastructure Costs—costs directly related to the 
construction of broadband infrastructure for the extension of 
broadband service for an eligible project, including 
installation, acquiring or updating easements, backhaul 
infrastructure, and testing costs. The term does not include 
overhead or administrative costs.  

Local Government—a parish, municipality, or school 
board, or any instrumentality thereof. 

Office—the Office of Broadband Development and 
Connectivity within the Division of Administration.  

Prospective Broadband Recipient—a household, home, 
business, educational facility, healthcare facility, community 
anchor point, agricultural operation, or agricultural 
processing facility that is currently unserved and is identified 
in an application submitted. 

Shapefile—a file format for storing, depicting, and 
analyzing geospatial data depicting broadband coverage, 
comprised of several component files, such as a Main file 
(.shp), an Index file (.sbx), and a dBASE table (.dbf). 

Unserved—notwithstanding any other provision of law, 
any federal funding awarded to or allocated by the state for 
broadband deployment shall not be used, directly or 
indirectly, to deploy broadband infrastructure to provide 
broadband internet service in any area of the state where 
broadband internet service of at least 25:3 Mbps is available 
from at least one internet service provider.  

Unserved Area—a designated geographic area that is 
presently without access to broadband service offered by a 
wireline or fixed wireless provider. Areas included in an 
application where a provider has been designated to receive 
funds through other state or federally funded programs 
designated specifically for broadband deployment shall be 
considered served if such funding is intended to result in the 
initiation of activity related to the construction of broadband 
infrastructure in such area within 24 months of the 
expiration of the 60-day period related to such application 
established pursuant to R.S. 51:2370.4(C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§105. Non-Applicability of other Procurement Law 

A. In accordance with R.S. 51:2370.14(C), grants 
solicited and awarded pursuant to the GUMBO program 
shall not be subject to the provisions of the Louisiana 
Procurement Code, R.S. 39:1551 et seq., or the Public Bid 
Law, R.S. 38:2181 et seq. 

B. The procurement method used by the office to solicit 
applications, identify and score product features, cost, and 
technical factors, and award on the basis of best values shall 
be as set forth in Chapters 3 and 4 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 

Chapter 2. Project Area Eligibility Requirements 
§201. Eligible and Ineligible Project Areas 

A. Eligible areas for the GUMBO grant program are 
areas without deployed internet access service providing 
transmission speeds of at least 25:3 Mbps with wireline or 
fixed wireless, and which qualify as an unserved area as 
defined in this Part. These areas are the focus of broadband 
expansion under this grant program.  

B.1. Ineligible areas for the program are areas that 
already have internet access service available to them at 
transmission speeds of at least 25:3 Mbps with wireline or 
fixed wireless. In addition, areas (census blocks) where a 
private provider has been designated to receive funding 
through Universal Service, Connect America Phase II, Rural 
Digital Opportunity Fund, or other federal or non-federal 
funds shall be considered served and therefore ineligible for 
the GUMBO grant program if such funding is intended to 
result in the initiation of activity related to construction of 
broadband infrastructure in the area within 24 months from 
the expiration of 60 days following the closure of the grant 
application period.  

2. In the initial grant application period, providers 
receiving Universal Service, Connect America Phase II, 
Rural Digital Opportunity Fund, or other federal or non-
federal funds to deploy service, within the established 
timeline of within 24 months from the expiration of 60 days 
following the closure of the grant application period, may 
designate such areas as ineligible and subject to exclusion 
and reservation from the GUMBO grant program, for a 
period of 24 months, by submitting to the office, within 60 
days of the closure of the application period, a listing of the 
census blocks, shapefile areas, individual addresses, or 
portions thereof, comprising the provider’s future project 
areas. 

3. In subsequent grant application periods, in order to 
designate areas as ineligible and subject to exclusion, 
providers shall submit to the office census blocks, shapefile 
areas, individual addresses, or portions thereof, not less than 
60 days prior to the beginning date of the application period.  

4. Failure on the part of a provider to submit a 
relevant project area for ineligibility and exclusion shall 
result in those areas being eligible for GUMBO grant 
funding for the applicable grant application period. 
However, in such circumstance, providers shall be able to 
utilize the protest process.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§203. Resources for Identification of Project Areas 

A. Applicants can apply for funding to serve census 
blocks, shapefile areas, individual addresses, or portions 
thereof, as set forth in Chapter 3: Applications of this Part. 

B. Although the Office of Broadband Development and 
Connectivity cannot provide a listing of all prospective 
broadband recipients within the state that have broadband 
service of less than 25:3 Mbps available, the office advises 
applicants to consider mapping tools and other resources 
located within the office’s website as a starting point for 
identifying project areas. 
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NOTE: Mapping tools and other resources can be found on  
the website of the office, at connect.la.gov. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
Chapter 3. Applications 
§301. Process Overview 

A. No funding shall be disbursed by the GUMBO grant 
program except pursuant to an application submitted in 
accordance with this Chapter. 

B. Applications for the GUMBO grant program shall be 
submitted via the website of the office.  

C. The online application process may provide for 
mandatory and optional materials to be submitted with each 
proposal. 

D. Prior to the publication of an application by the Office 
pursuant to R.S. 51:2370.4(C), the Office shall undertake a 
preliminary evaluation of the application with due diligence 
to examine whether the application appears on its face to 
comply with applicable program requirements. Until such 
time as this preliminary evaluation is complete, the 
provisions of R.S. 51:2370.16(3), relative to public records, 
shall apply. Following the preliminary evaluation, applicant 
financials and proprietary or trade secret information, when 
designated as such by the applicant and approved by the 
office, at its sole discretion, shall be exempt from public 
disclosure.  

E. Through the evaluation and scoring process, if an 
applicant or application or any associated project are deemed 
to be technically unviable for any reason, including, but not 
limited to, applicant ability, proposed technology solution, 
financial stability, or any combination thereof, the office 
shall, at its sole discretion, remove the application or project 
area from consideration for the grant program. Any applicant 
or application or any associated project deemed technically 
unviable in any GUMBO grant application period is eligible 
to reapply in any succeeding GUMBO grant application 
period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§303. Applications with Multiple Providers or Project 

Areas 
A. An applicant may submit one application with 

multiple service providers if the applicant can demonstrate 
how the providers are collaborating to achieve universal 
coverage for the unserved locality or region.  

B. An applicant may submit an application with support 
from more than one unit of local government.  

C. Units of local government may endorse multiple 
applications with different service providers and may 
include project areas that cross jurisdictional boundaries.  

1. Units of local government that provide letters of 
support, matching funds, or in-kind contributions to any 
application should provide the same, on a percentage basis

relative to matching funds and in-kind contributions, to all 
applications proposing the use of like technologies in 
identical unserved areas with access provided to the exact 
number of prospective broadband recipients within its 
jurisdiction. Should multiple applications propose to serve 
unserved areas within its jurisdiction and include the use of 
unlike technologies, differing unserved areas, or a non-
analogous number of prospective broadband recipients to be 
served, as compared against other applications, a local 
government may use reasonable judgement and reserve the 
right to determine its level of support, to include letters of 
support, matching funds, or in-kind contributions, on an 
application by application basis. A unit of local government 
that provides differing levels of support, to include letters of 
support, matching funds, or in-kind contributions, to 
differing applicants proposing one or more projects within 
its jurisdiction shall provide an explanation to the office as to 
why the local government’s differing levels of support do 
not present an unreasonable or undue preference or 
advantage to itself or to any provider of broadband service. 
If, in the opinion of the office, differing levels of support by 
a unit of local government for differing applications presents 
an undue or unreasonable preference or advantage to itself or 
to any provider of broadband service, the office may 
disqualify from grant funding consideration any application 
or project area within the jurisdiction of the unit of local 
government.  

D. An applicant may include one contiguous project area 
or multiple non-contiguous project areas in a single 
application. If designating more than one project area in a 
single application, each project area must be clearly noted 
and delineated, and the required technical data and 
budgetary information must be provided for each project 
area to allow for independent scoring of each project area. 
Any application that contains more than one project area and 
does not provide technical data and budgetary information 
specific to each project area, to allow for independent 
scoring of each project area subject to the scoring criteria 
listed in §405 of this Part, may be removed from grant 
funding consideration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§305. Application Requirements 

A. As set forth in greater detail in §§307-315 of this 
Chapter, each application shall include these components:  

1. applicant information, statement of qualifications, 
and partnerships; 

2. project area(s) and locations to be served; 
3. technical report; 
4. project budget(s), matching funds, costs, and proof 

of funding availability; 
5. proposed services, marketing, adoption, and 

community support. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:2370-2370.16. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§307. Application Information, Statement of 

Qualifications, and Partnerships 
A. Every application shall include: 

1. the identity of the applicant and its qualifications 
and experience with the deployment of broadband; in 
addition, the applicant shall include the following: 

a. the number of years the applicant has provided 
internet services; 

b. a history of the number of households and 
consumers, by year of service, to which the applicant has 
provided broadband internet access, as well as the current 
number of households to which broadband internet access 
(at least 25:3 Mbps) is offered; 

c. the number of completed internet service 
infrastructure projects funded, in part, through federal or 
state grant programs, prior to the date of application 
submittal; 

d. whether the applicant has ever participated in an 
internet service infrastructure project funded, in part, 
through federal or state grant programs, and if so, for each 
project, the nature and impact of the project, the role of the 
applicant, the total cost of the project, and the dollar amount 
of federal or state grant funding; 

e. the number of penalties paid by the applicant, a 
subsidiary or affiliate of the applicant, or the holding 
company of the applicant, relative to internet service 
infrastructure projects funded, in part, through federal or 
state grant programs, prior to the date of application 
submittal; and 

f. the number of times the applicant, a subsidiary or 
affiliate of the applicant, or the holding company of the 
applicant has ever been a defendant in any federal or state 
criminal proceeding or civil litigation as a result of its 
participation in an internet service infrastructure project 
funded, in part, through federal or state grant programs, prior 
to the date of application submittal. 

2. Five years of financial statements, pro forma 
statements, or financial audits of the applicant to ensure 
financial and organizational strength regarding the ability of 
the applicant to successfully meet the terms of the grant 
requirements and the ability to meet the potential repayment 
of grant funds. If an applicant has been in business for less 
than five years, the applicant shall provide financial 
statements, pro forma statements, or financial audits for the 
number of years the applicant has been in business. Should 
an applicant declare that it does not have financial 
statements, pro forma statements, or financial audits, the 
office, at its sole discretion, shall decide what documents are 
necessary to fulfill the requirements of this section. 

3. the identity of any partners or affiliates if the 
applicant is proposing a project for which the applicant 
affirms that a formalized agreement or letter of support 
exists between the provider and one or more unaffiliated 
partners where the partner is one of the following: 

a. a separate private provider of broadband service, 
requiring a formalized agreement; or 

b. a nonprofit or not-for-profit, or a for-profit 
subsidiary of either, and the applicant is: 
 i. being allowed access and use of the partner’s 
infrastructure, on special terms and conditions designed to 

facilitate the provision of broadband services in unserved 
areas, requiring a formalized agreement;  
 ii. utilizing a matching financial and/or in-kind 
contribution provided by one or more partners, requiring a 
formalized agreement; or 
 iii. a parish, municipality, or school board, or any 
instrumentality thereof, may qualify as a nonprofit for the 
purposes of the GUMBO grant program. Letters of support 
by a parish, municipality, or school board, or any 
instrumentality thereof, supporting an application may be 
submitted as part of an application. A letter of support does 
not require a formalized agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§309. Project Area(s) and Locations to be Served 

A. Every application shall include the following. 
1. Mapping and Descriptions  

a. Data relating to areas to be served is required in 
order to confirm that the project is serving eligible areas, to 
accurately score the application or project area, and track 
progress and completion of the project if awarded. 
Applicants shall submit data in any of the following ways, or 
in combination. If documentation is deemed insufficient, the 
office reserves the right to request additional supporting 
documentation. If the proposed project would result in the 
provision of broadband service to areas that are not eligible 
for funding, those ineligible areas shall be identified in the 
application along with the eligible areas.  

b. Data included shall be relevant to the proposed 
project area and include the number of prospective 
broadband recipients that will be served and have access to 
broadband as a result of the project. For the proposed area to 
be served, the infrastructure cost per prospective broadband 
recipient must be provided, as well as the GUMBO cost per 
prospective broadband recipient. Data points should be tied 
to specific locations and be geo-coded for consideration as 
part of the application.  

c. Areas projected to be served must be digitally 
submitted in a GIS shapefile, kml, CAD (.dwg), or 
MicroStation (.dgn) file format, and should be georeferenced 
to either the Louisiana North State Plane NAD83 (US Feet) 
coordinate system or the Louisiana South State Plane 
NAD83 (US Feet) coordinate system. The files can contain 
points representing locations or polygons outlining the 
specific areas to be served. CAD drawings must not contain 
external references. Service to any prospective broadband 
recipient should be referenced. The office reserves the right 
to request data and technical information in any format the 
office deems necessary. 

d. Additionally, applicants may also submit 
applications for areas where transmission speeds are less 
than 25:3 Mbps, if data is available to support differences 
between advertised and transmission speeds. 

e. Data Submission Requirements 
 i. Census Blocks—data shall be submitted as 
corresponding census block numbers encompassing the 
area(s) to be served through the proposed project.  
 ii. Shapefiles—data shall be submitted analyzing 
geospatial data depicting broadband coverage of the 
proposed project area. 
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 iii. Address-Level Data—data shall be submitted 
as individual address points of locations where service will 
be made available through the grant build. All addresses 
must be geocoded to include latitudinal and longitudinal 
coordinates.  
 iv. Polygons—data shall be submitted as polygon 
geometry which contain the areas to be served, or with the 
expectation that the polygon submitted corresponds to 
service being available to all locations within the polygon. 
The applicant must use the most recent data available from 
the state, parish, or local government to identify all locations 
within the project area.  

f. Additional Data Sets 
 i. To assist in clarifying or providing for a greater 
level of detail regarding the areas and locations to be served 
by a proposed project, additional data sets may be provided 
within the application. These data sets should serve as 
supporting information and material to the required data 
listed above and should not be submitted as an alternative.  

Examples of additional data include, but are not limited to: 
• Scrubbed data (no raw data) from citizen survey results or 

demand aggregation results with speed tests, if applicable. 
This data must identify the areas that have less than 25:3 
service.  

• Affidavits from citizens or other individuals certifying 
one or more of the following:  

o they are not able to receive broadband service; or 
o the only available service is cellular or satellite; or  
o the only broadband service available by the existing 

providers is less than 25:3 service. 

2. Assessment of the Current Level of Broadband 
Access in the Proposed Deployment Area 

a. The application requires an assessment of the 
current level of broadband access in the proposed 
deployment area. Within this section of the application, the 
applicant should describe what they believe to be the current 
level of service within the area and provide the data source 
or methodology used to capture this information. Raw data 
may be submitted as part of the assessment. 

3. Attestation of Project Area Eligibility 
a. Applicants are required to sign the statement of 

attestation to attest to the office that the project area(s) 
identified within the application are eligible, as defined by 
Louisiana Revised Statutes 51:2370.1 through 2370.16 and 
this Part, to the best of their knowledge. The attestation 
statement and signature shall be included as part of the 
application.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§311. Technical Report 

A. Applicants must provide a narrative, technical report 
detailing the technology/technologies to be used in the 
proposed project to serve prospective broadband recipients 
at their premises. Applicants must indicate the technology 
that will serve a prospective broadband recipient as wired 
infrastructure or fixed wireless and provide aggregated totals 
for each solution for each project.  

B. Reporting requirements for all deployments: 
1. an explanation of the scalability of the broadband 

infrastructure to be deployed to meet future bandwidth 
needs; 

2. if the applicant is claiming points for partnerships, 
the applicant must provide a brief narrative explaining how 
the partnership or affiliation will facilitate deployment and 
reduce cost per prospective broadband recipient. For 
applications or project areas where the nonprofit or not-for-
profit partner provides only matching financial support, that 
information can be documented in the budget section within 
the relevant application or project area. The applicant must 
also provide evidence of a formalized agreement, when 
applicable, as required in §307 of this Part; 

3. a general explanation of whether work will be 
performed in-house or through contractors, and whether the 
applicant or any subcontractors are certified by the either the 
Hudson Initiative or Veterans Initiative (if any 
subcontractors are certified through the Hudson Initiative or 
the Veterans Initiative, a formalized agreement shall be 
provided);  

4. a proposed construction timeline and duration of 
the deployment project period. The deployment project 
period is the time from award of the grant agreement to the 
time that service is available to the targeted prospective 
broadband recipients under the grant. The applicant shall 
describe deployment roll-out and include the number of end-
users to be served in each phase, as well as an estimated 
timeline for each phase (10 percent, 35 percent, 60 percent, 
85 percent, 100 percent). As it relates to the disbursement of 
grant funding, project completion shall be defined as a 
percentage of the total number of prospective broadband 
recipients proposed to be served by the project; 

5. the average distance, in miles, between prospective 
broadband recipients to be served by the project; and 

6. a business continuity and disaster recovery plan. 
C. Reporting requirements for wired infrastructure 

deployment: 
1. description of the general design of the project and 

deployment plan; 
2. explanation of the existing networks and equipment 

to be used for the project; 
a. if the applicant requires assets owned by another 

entity, the applicant should explain how the assets will be 
used for this project and, if applicable, provide a copy of the 
agreement between the applicant and the owner; 

b. the total number of miles of project infrastructure 
deployment, and the number of miles of project 
infrastructure deployment accounted for by preexisting 
infrastructure;  

3. detailed explanation of how the new or upgraded 
infrastructure will serve the prospective broadband 
recipients. In the case of the installation or upgrade of a 
specific site infrastructure, such as a point of presence or 
fiber hut (fiber), pedestal (cable), or a remote 
exchange/DSLAM (DSL), the applicant must include: 

a. number of prospective broadband recipients that 
will be served by that site infrastructure, including 
businesses; and 

b. the distance from the specific site infrastructure 
such as a POP, pedestal, or DSLAM to the end user(s) and 
the expected broadband speed that will be effectively 
delivered; 

4. detailed description of the design work needed for 
deployment, such as, but not limited to, pole work, acquiring 
or updating easements, and/or property acquisition. 
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D. Reporting requirements for fixed wireless 
deployment: 

1. description of the general design of this project and 
deployment plan; 

2. explanation of the existing networks and equipment 
to be used for this project; 

a. If the applicant requires assets owned by another 
entity, the applicant should explain how the assets will be 
used for this project and, if applicable, provide a copy of the 
agreement between the applicant and the owner; and 

b. the total number of miles of project infrastructure 
deployment, and the number of miles of project 
infrastructure deployment accounted for by preexisting 
infrastructure;  

3. detailed explanation of how the new or upgraded 
infrastructure will serve the prospective broadband 
recipients. In the case of the installation or upgrade of a 
specific site infrastructure, such as a vertical asset, the 
applicant must include: 

a. description and specific location of the vertical 
asset; 

b. owner of the vertical asset; 
c. number of prospective broadband recipients that 

will be served by that site infrastructure, including 
businesses; 

d. the distance from the vertical asset to the end 
user(s) and the expected broadband speed that will be 
effectively delivered; 

4. detailed description of the design work needed for 
deployment, such as, but not limited to, acquiring access to 
existing vertical assets, acquiring or updating easements, 
and/or property acquisition; 

5. description and specific type of the equipment used 
for deployment and the capable speed of the equipment; 

6. explanation of the frequency/frequencies to be 
utilized for the deployment, whether the deployment will use 
licensed or unlicensed technologies, as well as mitigation of 
line-of-sight challenges (which should correspond to the 
number of recipients to be served).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§313. Project Budget, Matching Funds, Costs, and 

Proof of Funding Availability 
A. Budget and Narrative  

1. The project budget should reflect all eligible project 
costs. The project budget should include the minimum 
provider funding match of at least 20 percent, any local 
government funding match from a parish, municipality, 
and/or school board, or any instrumentality thereof, as well 
as in-kind contributions, and the requested GUMBO grant 
program funding.  

2. Matching funds, and their associated sources, shall 
be detailed within the project budget and budget narrative. 
Eligible grant recipients are required to provide at least 20 
percent matching funds of the total proposed project cost to 
participate in the GUMBO grant program. A local 
government, including a parish, municipality, or school 
board, or any instrumentality thereof, may provide matching 
funds for a project, in addition to the applicant. Local 
government matching funds are optional and not required. 

There is no limitation on the minimum or maximum 
percentage of a project’s total cost that a local government 
may provide through a funding match. In-kind contributions 
to the project by a local government should also be listed in 
the project budget and budget narrative, if applicable. 

3. Project funds (GUMBO grant funds and matching 
funds) shall be utilized for the deployment phase of the 
project, not the subsequent years of service. In addition, 
eligible project costs do not include recurring operating or 
maintenance costs, or sales and marketing of services.  

B. Total Project Cost  
1. Costs directly related to the construction of 

broadband infrastructure for the extension of broadband 
service, including installation, acquiring or updating 
easements, backhaul infrastructure, and testing costs are 
infrastructure costs and therefore considered eligible project 
costs. The term does not include overhead or administrative 
costs. 

NOTES:  
A project that is primarily engaged in middle-mile, backhaul 

infrastructure, or similar work is not an eligible project. The 
inclusion of middle-mile, backhaul, or similar capacity is 
permissible in an eligible project, if the capacity does not 
otherwise exist and is necessary for the project’s last-mile 
broadband connectivity to end-users.  

Applicants are encouraged to utilize vertical assets already in 
place or easily installed (poles, small monopoles, repeaters, 
etc.) as much as possible. Including new macro towers in a 
project may create lengthy construction timelines, especially 
around land purchase and environmental regulations.  

C. Total Project Cost—per prospective broadband 
recipient 

D. Infrastructure Cost—per prospective broadband 
recipient 

E. GUMBO Cost—per prospective broadband recipient 
F. Proof of Funding Availability 

1. Applicants must submit a signed letter of funding 
availability from each source of funds committed for the 
project. If loan or other grant funds are pledged, a loan/grant 
commitment letter from each source of funds must be 
included. 

2. Should an applicant be an awardee of Universal 
Service, Connect American Phase II, Rural Digital 
Opportunity Fund, or other federal or non-federal funds for 
the deployment of broadband service, the applicant shall 
attest as to whether or not the applicant’s GUMBO 
application and associated project’s buildout is dependent 
upon such awarded funds.  

3. The applicant shall indicate whether the applicant, a 
subsidiary or affiliate of the applicant, or the holding 
company of the applicant has ever filed for bankruptcy.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§315. Proposed Services, Marketing, Adoption, and 

Community Support 
A. Every application shall include: 

1. a description of services to be provided, including 
the proposed upstream and downstream broadband speeds to 
be delivered and any applicable data caps. Any applicant 
proposing a data cap shall provide justification to the 
satisfaction of the office that the proposed cap is in the 
public interest and consistent with industry standards; 
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2. the proposed advertised speed to be marketed to 
end-users (broken out by prospective broadband recipient); 

3. the prices of all broadband service packages and the 
associated broadband transmission speeds that will be 
offered to consumers as a result of the project; 

4. a plan to encourage users to connect that 
incorporates, at a minimum, community education forums, 
multimedia advertising, and marketing programs; 

5. evidence of support for the project from citizens, 
local government, businesses, and institutions in the 
community. The applicant may provide letters or other 
correspondence from citizens, local government, businesses, 
and institutions in the community that supports the project. 
Letters of support from a parish, municipality, or school 
board, or any instrumentality thereof, will be deemed 
material for scoring purposes; 

6. any low-income household service offerings, digital 
equity or literacy support, or programs or partnerships to 
provide these services. The applicant should also indicate 
current participation in, or plans to, accept the federal 
Lifeline subsidy.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
Chapter 4. Scoring 
§401. Overview 

A. The GUMBO grant program is a competitive grant 
program. Applications, or project areas within applications, 
if applicable, shall be scored independently as provided in 
this Chapter, based upon a system that awards a single point 
for criteria considered to be the minimum level for the 
provision of broadband service, with additional points 
awarded to criteria that exceed minimum levels. 

B. Applications, or project areas within applications, if 
applicable, shall be scored independently, and applications 
or project areas receiving the highest score shall receive 
priority status for the awarding of grants. Should the final 
application or project area with priority status for the 
awarding of a grant have a request for GUMBO funding that 
exceeds the remaining GUMBO funds available, the final 
applicant with priority status shall have the option to agree 
to complete its proposed project in full with the remaining 
GUMBO funds available in that round. Should the final 
priority applicant decline, the office shall propose the same 
to the next highest scored application or project area. This 
process shall continue until such time as an applicant has 
agreed, or all remaining applications or project areas within 
the current grant round have declined. Should all applicants 
decline the office’s offer, the remaining balance of GUMBO 
funding shall be added to the next succeeding round of 
GUMBO.  

C. As a means of breaking a tie for applications or 
project areas receiving the same score, the office shall give 
priority to the application or project area proposing the 
lowest GUMBO cost per prospective broadband recipient.  

D. Upon the close of the application period, and 
throughout the evaluation and scoring phase of the program 
process, a blackout period shall be instituted. This blackout 
period shall remain in effect until the announcement of 
awards. During this blackout period, applicants shall not 
initiate contact with the office, except as otherwise provided 

within this part. The office reserves the right to initiate 
contact with an applicant to seek clarification of an 
application or the data contained therein, request additional 
information, or as necessary in response to an overlapping 
project area or protest. An applicant may initiate contact 
with the office for the purposes of amending an application 
or project area due to overlapping or a protest, or to 
withdraw an application or project area.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§403. Overlapping Applications or Project Areas 

A. At the close of the application period, should one or 
more applications or project areas overlap one or more other 
applications or project areas, relative to one or more 
unserved census blocks, shapefile areas, individual 
addresses, or portions thereof, the impacted applicants, 
relative to overlapping applications or project areas, shall 
have the option and ability to resolve the overlapping 
unserved census blocks, shapfile areas, individual addresses, 
or portions thereof, through the applicants’ own volition, 
discussion, and efforts. Applicants working to resolve an 
instance of overlapping applications or project areas, 
following the close of the application period, shall jointly 
notify the office of such efforts. An acceptable resolution 
and amended applications or project areas will be accepted 
by the office until 5 PM on the 30th day of the 60-day 
evaluation and protest period. Such an acceptable resolution 
between impacted applicants shall not result in the addition 
of partners to a previously submitted application or project 
area nor the expansion of an application’s project area. 

B. Following 5 PM on the 30th day of the 60-day 
evaluation and protest period, should one or more 
applications or project areas overlap one or more other 
applications or project areas, relative to one or more 
unserved census blocks, shapefile areas, individual 
addresses, or portions thereof, each application or project 
area shall be scored independently. The application or 
project area receiving the highest score shall proceed to 
grant funding consideration with its project area boundary 
intact. Any application or project area, regardless of the 
geographical size of the application or project area, 
overlapping a higher scored application or project area, shall 
be removed from grant funding consideration. A project area 
being removed from grant funding consideration shall not 
impact scoring of other project areas within the same 
application, if applicable. All project areas shall be scored 
independently.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§405. Factors Subject to Scoring 

A. Applicant Experience. The office shall award points 
based upon the applicant’s experience, technical ability, 
financial wherewithal in successfully deploying and 
providing broadband service, and the matching funds 
percentage of the total cost of the project. For experience, 
the office shall reference, by date of application submittal 
and without regard to the potential project, the number of 
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years the applicant has provided internet services; the 
number of households to which the applicant currently 
provides broadband internet service access (at least 25:3 
Mbps); the number of internet service infrastructure projects 
completed by the applicant, funded in part through federal or 
state grant programs, prior to the date of application 
submittal; penalties paid by the applicant, relative to internet 
service infrastructure projects funded in part through federal 
or state grant programs, prior to the date of application 
submittal; and whether the applicant, a subsidiary or affiliate 
of the applicant, or the holding company of the applicant has 
ever been a defendant in any federal or state criminal 
proceeding or civil litigation as a result of its participation in 
an internet service infrastructure project funded in part 
through federal or state grant programs, prior to the date of 
application submittal. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Years Providing Internet 

Service Points 
No prior service. 0 
4 years or less 1 
5 years to 9 years 2 
10 years to 14 years 3 
15 years to 19 years 4 
20 years or longer 5 

 
Households Provided Access Points 

None 0 
4,999 or less 1 
5,000 to 14,999 2 
15,000 to 24,999 3 
25,000 to 49,999  4 
50,000 or more 5 

 
Completed Internet Projects Points 

None 0 
1 to 3 projects 1 
4 to 6 projects 2 
7 to 9 projects 3 
10 to 14 projects 4 
15 or more projects 5 

 
Penalties Paid Points 

One or more 0 
None 5 

 
Defendant in Criminal or  

Civil Proceeding Points 
One or more 0 
None 5 

NOTE: If an applicant has not participated in an internet 
service infrastructure project funded, in part, through federal 
or state grant programs, the applicant shall not receive points 
in the “penalties paid” or “defendant in criminal or civil 
proceeding” scoring criteria.  

 
B. Technical Ability. The office shall award points based 

upon the broadband transmission speeds (Mbps download 
and upload) that will be deployed as a result of the project. If 
more than one set of transmission speeds are offered to 
consumers, scoring shall be based on the slowest 
transmission speeds offered. The office shall award points 
based upon the scalability of the project’s technology and 
infrastructure beyond the project’s current maximum speed 
offering for future increases in bandwidth. Should a project 
include a mix of wireline and fixed wireless technology 

solutions, broadband speed and scalability criteria shall be 
scored based upon the technology that serves a majority of a 
project’s prospective broadband recipients. The office shall 
reference the average distance, in miles, between prospective 
broadband recipients to be served by the project and shall 
award points to the five applications or project areas with the 
longest average distance between prospective broadband 
recipients. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Broadband Speeds 

(Mbps Down: Mbps Up) Points 
At least 25:3 1 
At least 50:5 4 
At least 100:10 6 
At least 100:20 8 
At least 100:100 10 

 
Scalability 

(Mbps Down: Mbps Up) Points 
None 0 
Up to 50:5 1 
Up to 100:10 4 
Up to 100:20 6 
Up to 100:100 8 
Beyond 100:100 10 

 
Average Distance (in miles) 

Between Prospective  
Broadband Recipients Points 

Longest average distance 5 
2nd longest average distance 4 
3rd longest average distance 3 
4th longest average distance 2 
5th longest average distance 1 
6th longest average distance or 
shorter  

0 

 
C. Financial Wherewithal. The office shall reference 

both a project’s total cost per prospective broadband 
recipient and GUMBO cost per prospective broadband 
recipient. A project’s total cost per prospective broadband 
recipient shall be calculated by dividing a project’s total cost 
by the total number of prospective broadband recipients to 
be served by the project. A project’s GUMBO cost per 
prospective broadband recipient shall be calculated by 
dividing a project’s total GUMBO requested funding by the 
total number of prospective broadband recipients to be 
served by the project. In each criterion, the office shall 
award points to the 10 applications or project areas with the 
lowest costs per prospective broadband recipient. The office 
shall also reference the number of bankruptcies filed (prior 
to the date of application submission). Points shall be 
awarded as follows. 

 
Cost Per Prospective  
Broadband Recipient Points 

Lowest cost 10 
2nd lowest cost 9 
3rd lowest cost 8 
4th lowest cost 7 
5th lowest cost 6 
6th lowest cost 5 
7th lowest cost 4 
8th lowest cost 3 
9th lowest cost 2 
10th lowest cost 1 
11th lowest cost or higher 0 
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GUMBO Cost Per Prospective 

Broadband Recipient Points 
Lowest cost 20 
2nd lowest cost 18 
3rd lowest cost 16 
4th lowest cost 14 
5th lowest cost 12 
6th lowest cost 10 
7th lowest cost 8 
8th lowest cost 6 
9th lowest cost 4 
10th lowest cost 2 
11th lowest cost or higher 0 

 
Bankruptcies Points 

1 or more. 0 
No prior bankruptcies. 2 

 

D. Matching Funds. The office shall calculate the 
provider’s matching funds percentage of the total cost of the 
project and award points based on matching funds. Points 
shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Provider Matching Funds 
(Percentage of Total Cost) Points 
20 percent 0 
Each additional percentage 
point – beyond required 20 
percent. 

1 

Each increment of 5 
percentage points – beyond 
required 20 percent. 

5 Bonus Points 

NOTE: An applicant will receive 1 point for each percentage 
point of matching funds provided, beyond the required 20 
percent. Additionally, an applicant will receive 5 bonus points 
for each increment of 5 percentage points of matching funds 
provided, beyond the required 20 percent. Points are awarded 
based upon the total percentage of matching funds provided, 
beyond the required 20 percent, irrespective of the number of 
providers contributing to a single project. 
 

E. Local Government Support. The office shall award 
points based upon letters of support from local governments. 
The office shall reference letters submitted by a parish, 
municipality, or school board, or any instrumentality thereof. 
Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Local Government 

Letters of Support, Numbers 
Points 

(max. 3 points) 
1 local government 1 
2 local government 2 
3+ local governments 3 

 
F. Estimated Number of Unserved Households. The 

office shall award points to projects based upon the 
estimated number of unserved households within the eligible 
economically distressed parish, as determined by the most 
recent data published by the Federal Communications 
Commission or the most reliable source of information 
available as of the close of the application period, as 
determined by the office. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Number of  

Unserved Households Points 
499 or fewer 1 
500 to 1,999 2 

Number of  
Unserved Households Points 

2,000 to 4,999 3 
5,000 to 9,999 4 
10,000 or more 5 

NOTE: If a contiguous project area crosses from an eligible 
parish into one or more eligible adjacent parishes, the project 
shall be deemed to be located in the parish where the greatest 
number of unserved households are proposed to be served. 
 

G. Percentage of Total Unserved Households Served. 
The office shall award points to projects that will provide 
broadband service based upon the percentage of the total 
unserved households within the eligible economically 
distressed parish that the project will newly and directly 
serve. Unserved households served as a result of other, non-
GUMBO federal or state grant programs shall not be used in 
the calculation of this criterion. The number of unserved 
households shall be determined using the most recent data 
published by the Federal Communications Commission or 
the most reliable source of information available as of the 
close of the application period, as determined by the office. 
Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Percent of Unserved Households  

Newly & Directly Served Points 
5 percent or less 1 
6 percent to 10 percent 2 
11 percent to 24 percent 3 
25 percent to 49 percent 4 
50 percent or more 5 

NOTE: If a contiguous project area crosses from an eligible 
parish into one or more eligible adjacent parishes, the project 
shall be deemed to be located in the parish where the greatest 
number of unserved households are proposed to be served. 
 

H. Unserved Businesses Served. The office shall award 
points to projects that will provide broadband service to 
unserved businesses newly and directly served by the project 
located within the eligible economically distressed parish, as 
determined by the most recent data published by the Federal 
Communications Commission or the most reliable source of 
information available as of the close of the application 
period, as determined by the office. Unserved businesses 
served as a result of other, non-GUMBO federal or state 
grant programs shall not be used in the calculation of this 
criterion. A residential-based business shall be classified by 
the applicant as either a residence or a business and shall not 
be counted as both. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Number of Unserved Businesses Points 

5 or fewer 1 
6 to 10 2 
11 to 15 3 
15 to 19 4 
20 or more 5 

 
I. Leverage of Existing Infrastructure. The office shall 

award points based upon the applicant’s ability to leverage 
its own or nearby or adjacent broadband service 
infrastructure in the proposed project area. For reference, the 
office will refer to the percentage of total mileage of project 
infrastructure composed of preexisting infrastructure. The 
office will also refer to the project’s proposed estimated 
construction timeline, as measured from the award of the 
grant agreement, and award points in the following 
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categories: construction start date and construction 
completion date. Construction completion date scoring will 
utilize two separate scoring criteria, one for wireline and one 
for fixed wireless. Should a project include a mix of wireline 
and fixed wireless technology solutions, the project 
completion date criterion shall be scored based upon the 
technology that serves a majority of a project’s prospective 
broadband recipients. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Percentage of Mileage of 

Preexisting Infrastructure Points 
None 0 
9 percent or less 1 
10 percent to 19 percent 2 
20 percent to 29 percent 3 
30 percent to 39 percent 4 
40 percent or more 5 

 
Construction Start Date Points 

12 months or longer 1 
Within 8 to 11 months 2 
Within 5 to 7 months 3 
Within 2 to 4 months 4 
Within 1 month 5 

 
Wireline  

Construction Completion Date Points 
24 months or longer 1 
Within 18 to 23 months 4 
Within 13 to 17 months 6 
Within 7 to 12 months 8 
Within 6 months or less 10 

 
Fixed Wireless  

Construction Completion Date Points 
24 months or longer 1 
Within 18 to 23 months 2 
Within 13 to 17 months 3 
Within 7 to 12 months 4 
Within 6 months or less 5 

 
J. Consumer Price. The office shall award points based 

upon the ultimate price of broadband service to the 
consumer as a result of the proposed project and shall 
reference the average price of all broadband service 
packages offered to consumers by an applicant as the result 
of the proposed project. The office shall award points to the 
10 applications or project areas with the lowest average price 
of all broadband service packages offered to consumers by 
an applicant as a result of the proposed project. Points shall 
be awarded as follows. 

 
Consumer Price 

(Lowest Average Package Price) Points 
Lowest average price 10 
2nd lowest average price 9 
3rd lowest average price 8 
4th lowest average price 7 
5th lowest average price 6 
6th lowest average price 5 
7th lowest average price 4 
8th lowest average price 3 
9th lowest average price 2 
10th lowest average price 1 
11th lowest average price or 
higher 

0 

NOTE: An applicant that has offered broadband service to at 
least 1,000 consumers for a period of at least 5 consecutive 
years is required to offer broadband service at prices that are, 
at least, consistent with offers to consumers in other areas of 
the state. 
 

K. Local Government In-Kind Contributions and 
Matching Funds. The office shall award points to projects 
receiving in-kind contributions or matching funds from a 
local government for eligible projects within the 
jurisdictional area of the local government. A local 
government is defined as a parish, municipality, or school 
board, or any instrumentality thereof. Each local government 
has the option to provide in-kind contributions or matching 
funds to a project, and more than one local government can 
provide in-kind contributions or matching funds to any one 
project. Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Local Gov’t  

In-kind & Matching Points 
 No in-kind contribution or 
funding match 

0 

Each percentage point of total 
project cost provided by in-kind 
contributions or funding 
matches. 

1 

Each increment of 5 percentage 
points of total project cost 
provided by in-kind 
contributions or funding 
matches 

5 Bonus Points 

NOTE: An applicant will receive 1 point for each percentage 
point of the total cost of a porject provided by local 
government through in-kind contributions or matching funds. 
Additionally, an applicant will receive 5 bonus points for each 
increment of 5 percentage points of the total cost of a project 
provided by local government through in-kind contributions or 
matching funds. Points are awarded based upon the total 
percentage of in-kind contributions and matching funds 
provided by local governments, irrespective of the number of 
local governments contributing to the project. 
 

L. Small Business Entrepreneurship. The office shall 
award points to projects in which the eligible grant recipient 
is a small business entrepreneurship certified by the Hudson 
Initiative (R.S. 39:2001 et seq.) or the Veteran Initiative 
(R.S. 39:2171 et seq.). Points shall be awarded as follows. 

 
Certified Hudson  

/ Vet Initiative Grant Recipient Points 
Grant recipient certified by the 
Hudson and/or the Veterans 
Initiative 

5 

 
M. Small Business Entrepreneurship Subcontracting. The 

office shall award points to projects in which the eligible 
grant recipient commits to a good faith subcontracting plan 
to contract with or employ a small business entrepreneurship 
certified by the Hudson Initiative (R.S. 39:2001 et seq.) or 
the Veteran Initiative (R.S. 39:2171 et seq.) to substantially 
participate in the performance of the project. Points shall be 
awarded as follows. 

 
Certified Hudson  

/ Vet Initiative Subcontractor(s) 
Points 

(max. 10 points) 
Each subcontractor certified by 
the Hudson and/or the Veterans 
Initiative 

2 
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N. Summary of Scored Sections. As set forth in this 
Section, the scored categories of GUMBO program 
applications or project areas shall be as follows, repeated for 
comprehensive clarity. 

 
Summary 

Scored Section Points 
A-1. Experience (Years Providing Internet Service) 0 – 5 
A-2. Experience (Households Provided Access) 0 – 5 
A-3. Experience (Completed Internet Projects) 0 – 5 
A-4. Experience (Penalties Paid) 0 – 5 
A-5. Experience (Defendant in Criminal or Civil) 0 – 5  
B-1. Technical Ability (Broadband Speeds) 1 – 10 
B-2. Technical Ability (Scalability) 0 – 10 
B-3. Technical Ability (Distance Between 
Broadband Recipients) 

0 – 5 

C-1. Financial Wherewithal (Cost Per Prospective 
Broadband Recipient) 

0 – 10 

C-2. Financial Wherewithal (GUMBO Cost Per 
Prospective Broadband Recipient) 

0 – 20 

C-3. Financial Wherewithal (Bankruptcy) 0 – 2 
D. Provider Matching Funds 0 – 1 – 5+ 
E. Local Government Letters of Support 1 – 3 
F. Number of Unserved Households in Parish 1 – 5 
G. Percent of Total Unserved Households Now 
Served 

1 – 5 

H. Unserved Businesses Now Served 1 – 5 
I-1. Leverage of Existing Infrastructure (Percentage 
of Mileage of Preexisting Infrastructure) 

0 – 5 

I-2. Leverage of Existing Infrastructure (Timing of 
Construction Start Date) 

1 – 5 

I-3. Leverage of Existing Infrastructure (Timing of 
Wireline Construction Completion) 

1 – 10 

Or 
I-4. Leverage of Existing Infrastructure (Timing of 
Wireless Construction Completion) 

1 – 5 

J. Consumer Price 0 – 10 
K. Local Government Matching 0 – 1 – 5+ 
L. Certified Hudson/Vet Initiative Grant Recipient 0 – 5 
M. Certified Hudson/Vet Initiative Subcontractor 0 – 10 

Total Possible Points: 8 – 150+ 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:2370-2370.16. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
Chapter 5. Protests 
§501. Protests 

A. All GUMBO applications shall be publicly available 
on the office’s website for a period of at least 60 days prior 
to award. During the 60-day period, any interested party may 
submit comments to the director concerning any pending 
application.  

B. The protest process, official decisions, and provider 
appeals shall be conducted in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370.4(C) and 2370.5, as well as this Chapter. 

C. A provider of broadband service may submit a protest 
of any application or project area on the grounds the 
proposed project covers an area where either broadband 
service exists, or construction of broadband infrastructure 
will begin within 24 months as described in §201 of this part 
and defined within the GUMBO grant program. Comments 
and protests shall be submitted in writing through the 
office’s website, and all protests shall be accompanied by all 
relevant supporting documentation and shall be considered

by the office in connection with the review of the application 
or project area. The protesting party bears the burden of 
proof.  

D. Protests shall contain all relevant supporting 
documentation, including, but not limited to, the following: 

1. a signed and notarized affidavit affirming the 
protest and attached information are true; 

2. current Federal Communications Commission 
(FCC) Form 477 or equivalent; 

3. minimum/maximum speeds available in the 
proposed project area; 

4. number of serviceable locations within the 
proposed project area, including the speeds those serviceable 
locations are able to receive; 

5. street level data of customers receiving service 
within the proposed project area; 

6. point shapefiles that show each proposed passing in 
the challenged area, designated by a singular mapped point, 
in the protested area containing attribute data showing the 
addresses of each point; 

7. polygon shapefiles delineating the general 
challenged area(s); 

8. through the use of the project area map submitted 
by the applicant, a map indicating where the protested 
serviceable locations are within the proposed project area;  

9. heat maps indicating received signal strength 
indicator (RSSI) in the challenged area. 

E. Upon the close of the application period, and 
throughout the succeeding 60-day protesting period, a 
blackout period shall be instituted. This blackout period shall 
remain in effect until the announcement of awards. During 
this blackout period, protesting parties shall not initiate 
contact with the office, except as provided by this section. 
The office reserves the right to initiate contact with a 
protesting party to seek clarification of a protest, the data 
contained therein, or to request additional information.  

F. Should a protest be validated, the office shall work 
with an applicant to amend an application or project area to 
reduce the number of unserved prospective broadband 
recipients and re-scope the application or project area. The 
office shall revise application or project area scores in 
accordance with amended applications. As a result of a 
validated protest and a reduction in the number of unserved 
prospective broadband recipients, an applicant shall also 
have the option to withdraw its application or project area. 

G. The protest period for protesting an award shall not 
exceed 7 days from the announcement of awards. 

H. Protest and appeal decisions provided by the director 
and the Commissioner of Administration shall be provided 
in writing to the protesting party.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
Chapter 6. Awards 
§601. Protests 

A. The protest period for protesting an award shall not 
exceed 7 days from the announcement of awards. 

B. The protest procedure for protesting an award shall 
follow the rules presented in Chapter 5 of this part. 
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§603. Grant Agreement 
A. A grant recipient shall have 30 days, from award of 

the grant agreement, to negotiate and sign the agreement. If 
the grant agreement is not signed by the grant recipient 
within 30 days from award of the agreement, the office shall 
reserve the right to rescind the award and proceed to award a 
grant agreement to the next highest scored applicant with 
priority status for the awarding of a grant.  

B. Construction start and completion dates shall be 
calculated for scoring, compliance, and failure to perform 
purposes and evaluations, beginning with the date of the 
award of the grant agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
Chapter 7. Compliance 
§701. Speed and Cost Compliance 

A. The office shall require that grant recipients offer the 
proposed advertised minimum download and minimum 
upload speeds of at least 25:3 Mbps. 

B. Grant recipients that have offered broadband service 
to at least one thousand consumers for a period of at least 
five consecutive years shall offer broadband service at prices 
consistent with offers to consumers in other areas of the 
state. Any other broadband provider shall ensure that the 
broadband service is priced to consumers at no more than 
the cost rate identified in the project application, for the 
duration of the five-year service agreement. 

C. In calculating cost, the recipient may adjust annually, 
consistent with the annual percentage increase in the 
Consumer Price Index in the preceding year.  

D. At least annually, a grant recipient shall provide to the 
office evidence consistent with Federal Communications 
Commission attestation that the grant recipient is making 
available the proposed advertised speed, or a faster speed, as 
contained in the grant agreement.  

E. For the duration of the agreement, grant recipients 
shall disclose any changes to data caps. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§703. Reporting 

A. Grant recipients shall submit to the office a monthly 
report for each funded project for the duration of the 
agreement. The report shall include reporting requirements 
selected at the discretion of the office. Such reporting 
requirements, once selected, shall be consistently applied to 
all grant recipients of any grant program round and be 
effective for at least one program year. Monthly reporting 
may be revised from program year to program year, at the 
discretion of the office. 

B. Grant recipients shall submit to the office an annual 
report for each funded project for the duration of the 
agreement. The report shall include, but not be limited to, 
the following summary of the items contained in the grant 
agreement and the following details: 

1. the number of residential and commercial locations 
that have broadband access as a result of the project; 

2. percentage of households in the project area who 
have access to broadband service; 

3. percentage of subscribers in the project area to the 
broadband service; 

4. average monthly subscription rate for residential 
and commercial broadband service in the project area; 

5. any right-of-way fees or permit fees paid to local 
government, state government, railroad, private entity or 
person during the fulfillment of the grant awarded; 

6. any delays encountered when obtaining a right-of-
way permission.  

C. The office, at its sole discretion and at any time, shall 
reserve the right to request any additional data and reporting 
information that the office deems necessary.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§705. Disbursement and Reimbursement 

A. The Division of Administration shall be the 
designated agency for receipt and disbursement of state and 
federal funds intended for the state for broadband expansion 
or allocated by the state for broadband expansion. 

B. All federal grant funds received by the state through 
the American Rescue Plan Act for the purpose of broadband 
expansion shall be disbursed in accordance with the 
GUMBO program. 

C. Funding in accordance with completion shall be 
distributed to a grantee once the grantee has demonstrated 
that a project has reached the following percentile 
completion thresholds, which shall be defined as a 
percentage of the total number of prospective broadband 
recipients proposed to be served by the project: 

1. 10 percent; 
2. 35 percent; 
3. 60 percent; 
4. 85 percent; 
5. 100 percent. 

D. The final 15 percent payment shall not be paid 
without an approved completion report. Invoice for final 
payment shall be submitted within 90 days of completion 
date. All invoices are subject to audit for three years from 
the completion date.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 
§707. Failure to Perform 

A. A grant recipient shall forfeit the amount of the grant 
received if it fails to perform, in material respect, the 
obligations established in the agreement.  

B. Grant recipients that fail to provide the minimum 
advertised connection speed and cost at the advertised rate 
shall forfeit any matching funds, up to the entire amount 
received through the GUMBO program.  

C. The office shall use its discretion to determine the 
amount forfeited.  

D. A grant recipient that forfeits amounts disbursed 
under this part is liable for up to the amount disbursed plus 
interest.  
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E. The number of subscribers that subscribe to 
broadband services offered by the provider in the project 
area shall not be a measure of performance under the 
agreement for the purposes of this Section. 

F. A grant recipient shall not be required to forfeit the 
amount of the grant received if it fails to perform due to a 
natural disaster, an act of God, force majeure, a catastrophe, 
pandemic, or such other occurrence over which the grant 
recipient has no control. 

G. If a grant recipient fails to perform and fails to return 
the full forfeited amount required, the ownership and use of 
the broadband infrastructure funded by the GUMBO 
program shall revert to the Division of Administration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2370-2370.16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Broadband 
Development and Connectivity, LR 47: 

 
Jay Dardenne 
Commissioner 

2108#045 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Programs and Services Amendments due to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers  
and Long-Term Personal Care Services 

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization 
declared a public health emergency of international concern 
and on January 31, 2020, U.S. Health and Human Services 
Secretary Alex M. Azar II declared a public health 
emergency for the United States, effective as of January 27, 
2020, in response to the recent coronavirus disease 2019 
(hereafter referred to as COVID-19) outbreak. On March 11, 
2020, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a statewide 
public health emergency to exist in the State of Louisiana as 
a result of the imminent threat posed to Louisiana citizens by 
COVID-19. Likewise, the presidential declaration of a 
national emergency due to COVID-19 has an effective date 
of March 1, 2020. 

In response to these public health emergency declarations 
and the rapid advancement of COVID-19 throughout 
Louisiana, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS), the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH), and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) 
promulgated Emergency Rules which amended the 
provisions of Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code 
in order to adopt temporary measures to provide for the 
continuation of essential programs and services to ensure the 
health and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, 
Number 4 and Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 7). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule, adopted 
on August 25, 2020, to further amend the Adult Day Health 
Care (ADHC) Waiver and the Community Choices Waiver 
(CCW), and to amend the provisions governing long term-
personal care services (LT-PCS) in order to ensure that these 
services continue uninterrupted throughout the COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration. This Emergency Rule 
also clarified that the home and community-based services 
(HCBS) waiver provisions of the Emergency Rules 
published in the April 20, 2020 edition of the Louisiana 
Register which correspond to Louisiana’s section 1915(c) 
Appendix K waiver will remain in effect for the duration of 
the Emergency Rules published in April 2020 or until the 
Appendix K waiver termination date of January 26, 2021, 
whichever is later (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 
9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on 
August 25, 2020. 

This Emergency Rule shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or 
the duration of the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration, whichever is shorter. 

Effective August 23, 2021, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, OAAS and OCDD 
hereby amend the provisions governing the ADHC Waiver, 
the CCW, and LT-PCS throughout the COVID-19 public 
health emergency declaration, and clarify that the HCBS 
waiver provisions which correspond to Louisiana’s section 
1915(c) Appendix K waiver will remain in effect for the 
duration of the Emergency Rules published in the April 20, 
2020 Louisiana Register or until the Appendix K waiver 
termination date of January 26, 2021, whichever is later, in 
order to continue the provisions of the Emergency Rule 
adopted on August 25, 2020. 
Services for Special Populations—Personal Care Services 

(LAC 50:XV.Subpart 9) 
Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration, the Office of Aging and Adult Services (OAAS) 
may also utilize the level of care eligibility tool (LOCET) to 
determine if an individual meets eligibility qualifications for 
long term-personal care services (LT-PCS) and to determine 
resource allocation while identifying his/her need for support 
in performance of activities of daily living (ADLs) and 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 

The LOCET may also be used to generate a score that 
measures the recipient’s degree of self-performance of late-
loss activities of daily living during the period just before the 
assessment. Criteria used to generate the score will be 
consistent with criteria on the interRAI home care 
assessment tool currently used. This score will correspond 
with the same level of support category and allocation of 
weekly service hours associated with that level. 

OAAS may use the LOCET until such time as the 
applicant/recipient is able to be assessed using the uniform 
interRAI home care assessment tool. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waiver – Adult 
Day Health Care (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 3) 

During the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration, and with approval from the Centers for
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Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the following 
options may be available through the Adult Day Health Care 
(ADHC) Waiver: 

The State may allow ADHC providers to provide services 
telephonically to waiver participants that cannot attend the 
ADHC center to ensure continuity of services. 

The State is adding the following services in the ADHC 
Waiver: 

Home Delivered Meals. The purpose of home delivered 
meals is to assist in meeting the nutritional needs of an 
individual in support of the maintenance of self-sufficiency 
and enhancing the quality of life. Up to two nutritionally 
balanced meals per day may be delivered to the home of the 
participant. This service may be provided by the ADHC 
provider. 

Assistive Devices and Medical Supplies. Assistive 
devices and medical supplies are specialized medical 
equipment and supplies that include: 

Devices, controls, appliances or nutritional 
supplements specified in the Plan of Care that enable 
participants to increase their ability to perform activities of 
daily living (ADLs); 

Devices, controls, appliances or nutritional 
supplements that enable participants to perceive, control or 
communicate with the environment in which they live or 
provide emergency response; 

Items, supplies and services necessary for life 
support, ancillary supplies, and equipment necessary to the 
proper functioning of such items; 

Supplies and services to assure participants’ health 
and welfare; 

Other durable and non-durable medical equipment 
and necessary medical supplies that are necessary but not 
available under the Medicaid State Plan; 

Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS); 
Other in-home monitoring and medication management 

devices and technology; 
Routine maintenance or repair of specialized equipment; 

and 
Batteries, extended warranties and service contracts that 

are cost effective and assure health and welfare. 
This includes medical equipment not available under the 

Medicaid State Plan that is necessary to address participant 
functional limitations and necessary medical supplies not 
available under the Medicaid State Plan. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waiver – 
Community Choices Waiver (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 7) 
During the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration, and with approval from the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the state may allow 
ADHC providers to provide services telephonically to 
waiver participants that cannot attend the ADHC center to 
ensure continuity of services. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Michael Boutte, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Mr. Boutte is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 

Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2107#030 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Emergency Rule 46—Medical Surge-Related Patient 
Transfers in Louisiana during the Outbreak  

of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) 

On January 31, 2020, the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services Secretary Alex M. Azar II 
(“Secretary Azar”) declared a public health emergency for 
the United States to aid the nation’s healthcare community in 
responding to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), with 
such declaration being renewed by Secretary Azar on April 
21, 2020, July 23, 2020, October 2, 2020, and January 7, 
2021, and renewed by United States Department of Health 
and Human Services Xavier Becerra on April 15, 2021 and 
July 19, 2021. The United States Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention has declared COVID-19 a worldwide 
pandemic due to its global effect. 

COVID-19 has increased exponentially in Louisiana. 
Currently, Louisiana remains No. 1 nationwide for the 
numbers of new COVID-19 cases per capita. Over the past 
month, the Louisiana Department of Health’s (“LDH”) 7-
day average daily count of COVID-19 cases has climbed 
from approximately 300 cases per day to over 6,000 cases 
per day. The number of individuals hospitalized with 
COVID-19 has climbed from 319 to 2,350 over the same 
span. Six out of nine LDH regions have over 85% of their 
ICU beds full, and the Greater New Orleans Area region is 
only five beds away from becoming the seventh. This surge 
in cases and hospitalizations has occurred much more 
rapidly than and has exceeded the hospitalization rate of any 
previous surge in Louisiana. The result has been a dangerous 
inundation of acute care hospitals throughout the state, with 
several hospitals reporting that their staffed bed capacity has 
been or will soon be reached. The Delta variant of COVID-
19 has created an imminent peril to the well-being and 
health of many citizens of Louisiana and threatens the 
healthcare capability of hospitals and medical facilities to 
deliver care to these citizens. This imminent peril prompts 
the promulgation of Emergency Rule 46 pursuant to the 
specific authority found in R.S.22:1019.2 to ensure that 
health insurance issuers have adequate networks in place to 
deliver the necessary care to the citizens of Louisiana. 

Emergency Rule 46 is issued to address the statewide 
acute care hospital capacity crisis caused by the surge in 
COVID-19 cases. As such, Emergency Rule 46 is issued 
under the authority of the Commissioner of Insurance for the 
State of Louisiana, pursuant to R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, 
and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

Accordingly, Emergency Rule 46 shall apply to all health 
maintenance organizations (HMOs), managed care 
organizations (MCOs), preferred provider organizations 
(PPOs), pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs), and third party 
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administrators (TPAs) acting on behalf of an HMO, MCO, 
PPO, and any and all other insurance related entities licensed 
by the Commissioner or doing business in Louisiana 
(collectively known as “health insurance issuers”) and their 
insureds, policyholders, members, subscribers, enrollees and 
certificate holders. 

The COVID-19 surge has created a dangerous shortage of 
facility and provider capacity that presents an immediate 
threat to the public health, safety, and welfare of Louisiana 
citizens. Moreover, the unique nature of the COVID-19 
pandemic is such that acute care hospitals in heavily affected 
areas are increasingly being tasked with transferring patients 
to other area facilities to maximize beds and supplies 
available to treat COVID-19 patients. The State of 
Louisiana, through the Louisiana Department of Health, has 
adopted a public policy supporting the use of health care 
facilities not traditionally used in the delivery of general 
acute care to augment the inpatient capacity of acute care 
hospitals through the acceptance of inpatient transfers that 
may not otherwise be permissible. In order for this public 
policy to be implemented safely and effectively and to 
promote continued network adequacy, it is necessary for 
health insurance issuers to appropriately cover such post-
transfer care. In order to respond to the emergency and to 
protect and safeguard the public health, safety, and welfare 
of the citizens of this state, it is necessary to issue 
Emergency Rule 46. Emergency Rule 46 is being issued 
pursuant to the specific authority found in R.S.22:1019.2. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 
Part XI.  Rules 

Chapter 55. Emergency Rule 46—Medical Surge-
Related Patient Transfers in Louisiana 
during the Outbreak of Coronavirus 
Disease (COVID-19) 

§5501. Benefits, Entitlements, and Protections 
A. The benefits, entitlements and protections of 

Emergency Rule 46 shall be applicable to insureds, 
policyholders, members, subscribers, enrollees and 
certificate holders who, as of 12:01 a.m. on August 9, 2021 
have a policy, insurance contract or certificate of coverage 
issued by a health maintenance organization or for any of the 
types of insurance enumerated in La. R. S. 22:47(2)(a) and 
reside in the state of Louisiana. Insureds shall include, but 
not be limited to, any and all policyholders, members, 
subscribers, enrollees and certificate holders.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5503. Applicability 

A. Emergency Rule 46 shall apply to every health 
maintenance organization (HMO), managed care 
organization (MCO), preferred provider organization (PPO), 
pharmacy benefit manager (PBM), and third party 
administrator (TPA) acting on behalf of a health insurance 
issuer, HMO, MCO, PPO, and any and all other insurance 
related entities licensed by the commissioner or doing 
business in Louisiana (collectively known as “health 
insurance issuers”).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5505. Definitions 

A. For purposes of Emergency Rule 46, the following 
definitions shall apply: 

Acute Care Hospital—any facility licensed by the 
Louisiana Department of Health as a hospital and that 
provides inpatient medical care and other related services for 
surgery, acute medical conditions and injury. 

Step-Down facility—any health care facility serving as 
the recipient of inpatient transfers for the purpose of 
reducing occupancy of or providing overflow capacity for an 
acute care hospital during the State of Emergency. 

Government-Sponsored Step-Down Facility—any 
facility serving as the recipient of inpatient transfers for the 
purpose of reducing occupancy of or providing overflow 
capacity for an acute care hospital during the State of 
Emergency, where such services are funded through federal 
or state appropriation or a combination of both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11(A), R.S. 22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5507. Limited Waiver  

A. In any parish or municipality in which daily inpatient 
bed occupancy at any acute care hospital exceeds 85 percent, 
the provisions of R.S. 22:1019.2 requiring the maintenance 
of specialist and primary care provider-to-insured ratios and 
timely nonemergent access are hereby waived for any health 
insurance issuer complying with Emergency Rule 46. 

B. Any health insurance issuer not complying with all 
provisions of this Rule in providing a health benefit plan 
shall not be subject to this waiver of R.S.22:1019.2, shall be 
required to comply with the provider-to-insured ratios and 
timely nonemergent access requirements of R.S.22:1019.2, 
and shall be subject to the commissioner’s reservation of 
right to invoke any appropriate authority to address any 
resulting endangerment of Louisiana residents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5509. Restriction on Authorization of Transfers 

A. Health insurance issuers shall not impose prior 
authorization, utilization, medical necessity, or any related 
review on the transfer of patients from an acute care hospital 
to a step-down facility. 

B. Health insurance issuers shall not engage in post-
service reviews of transfers of patients from acute care 
hospitals to a step-down facility. 

C. Nothing in this Section shall be interpreted to prevent 
a health insurance issuer from applying its existing 
utilization review policies to the underlying provision of 
care when otherwise permissible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5511. Coverage of Post-Transfer Inpatient Stay and 

Services 
A. Health insurance issuers shall cover the remainder of 

the inpatient stay needed after the transfer from an acute care 
hospital to a step-down facility under terms and at a cost 
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sharing rate no less favorable to the insured than those that 
would have applied had the insured remained at the acute 
care hospital. 

B. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to require 
payment of a particular reimbursement rate to the step-down 
facility for the remainder of the inpatient stay. The health 
insurance issuer shall reimburse the step-down facility as 
provided for by any existing agreement between the health 
insurance issuer and that step-down facility or through a 
negotiated rate. 

C. Nothing in this Section shall be interpreted to require 
reimbursement by a health insurance issuer to a government-
sponsored step-down facility where such facility has been 
fully publicly funded to provide otherwise covered services.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5513. Intent and Purpose 

A. The provisions of Emergency Rule 46 shall be 
liberally construed to effectuate the intent and purposes 
expressed herein and to afford maximum consumer 
protection for the insureds of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5515. Sanctions for Violations 

A. The commissioner retains the authority to enforce 
violations of Emergency Rule 46. Accordingly, any health 
insurance issuer enumerated in Emergency Rule 46 or other 
entity doing business in Louisiana and/or regulated by the 
commissioner who violates any provision of Emergency 
Rule 46 shall be subject to regulatory action by the 
commissioner under any applicable provisions of the 
Louisiana Insurance Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5517. Authority  

A. The commissioner reserves the right to amend, 
modify, alter or rescind all or any portions of Emergency 
Rule 46. Additionally, the commissioner reserves the right to 
extend Emergency Rule 46. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5519. Severability Clause 

A. If any section or provision of Emergency Rule 46 is 
held invalid, such invalidity or determination shall not affect 
other sections or provisions, or the application of Emergency 
Rule 46, to any persons or circumstances that can be given 
effect without the invalid sections or provisions and the 
application to any person or circumstance shall be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§5521. Effective Date 

A. Emergency Rule 46 shall become effective on August 
9, 2021. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.22:11(A), R.S.22:1019.2, and R.S.49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

2108#028 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Fall Inshore Shrimp Season Opening Dates  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission received 
information regarding biological sampling for white shrimp 
in state inshore waters. The Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries (LDWF) provided the commission with data that 
projected the date when white shrimp will reach marketable 
size. After considering biological information and public 
input, the commission took action to set the fall shrimp 
season within state inshore waters. Notice of any opening, 
delaying or closing of a season by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission will be made by public notice at least 72 hours 
prior to such action. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.1 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 56:497 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall 
fix no less than two open seasons each year for all or part of 
inside waters and shall have the authority to open or close 
outside waters and to increase the minimum mesh size 
provided in R.S. 56:499 for any trawl, skimmer net, or 
butterfly net for the duration of any special shrimp season or 
regular shrimp season extension, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission does hereby set the 2021 Fall Shrimp Season in 
Louisiana state waters to open as follows: 

That portion of state inside waters from the 
Mississippi/Louisiana state line westward to the eastern 
shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River to open at 6:00 
a.m. August 9, 2021 except for the area as described below 
which will open at 6:00 a.m. August 27, 2021: 

From a point at the intersection of the eastern shore of the 
MRGO and the Shell Beach Cut at 29 degrees 51 minutes 
29.40 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 40 minutes 37.99 
seconds west longitude; thence northerly to a point where 
Shell Beach Cut and the south shore of Lake Borgne 
intersect (29 degrees 52 minutes 00.35 seconds north 
latitude, 89 degrees 40 minutes 25.33 seconds west 
longitude); thence easterly and northerly following the 
southern shore of Lake Borgne and the western shore of the 
Biloxi Marsh to Pointe Aux Marchettes (29 degrees 59 
minutes 26.87 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 34 minutes 
44.91 seconds west longitude); thence northeasterly to 
Malheureax Point (30 degrees 04 minutes 40.57 seconds 
north latitude, 89 degrees 28 minutes 46.59 seconds west 
longitude); thence southeasterly to a point on the western 
shore of Three-Mile Pass (30 degrees 03 minutes 00.00 
seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 22 minutes 23.00 seconds
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west longitude); thence northeasterly to a point on Isle Au 
Pitre (30 degrees 09 minutes 20.50 seconds north latitude, 89 
degrees 11 minutes 15.50 seconds west longitude), which is 
a point on the double–rig line as described in R.S. 
56:495.1(A)2; thence southerly following the double rig line 
to where it intersects with the MRGO (29 degrees 40 
minutes 40.11 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 23 minutes 
07.71 seconds west longitude); thence northwesterly along 
the eastern shore of the MRGO to the point of origin. 

That portion of state inside waters from the eastern shore 
of South Pass of the Mississippi River westward to the 
Atchafalaya River Ship Channel at Eugene Island as 
delineated by the red Channel Buoy Line to open at 6:00 
p.m. August 9, 2021; and, 

That portion of state inside waters from the Atchafalaya 
River Ship Channel at Eugene Island as delineated by the 
red Channel Buoy Line westward to the Louisiana/Texas 
state line to open at 6:00 a.m. August 9, 2021. 

The commission also hereby grants authority to the 
secretary of LDWF to delay or advance these opening dates 
if biological and/or technical data indicate the need to do so, 
and, to close any portion of Louisiana's inside or outside 
waters to protect small juvenile white shrimp if biological 
and technical data indicate the need to do so, or enforcement 
problems develop.  

The secretary is further granted the authority to open any 
area, or re-open any previously closed area, to open and 
close special shrimp seasons, and to increase the minimum 
mesh size provided in R.S. 56:499 for any trawl, skimmer 
net, or butterfly net for the duration of that special shrimp 
season in any portion of state waters.  

Notice of any opening, delaying or closing of a season by 
the secretary will be made by public notice at least 72 hours 
prior to such action. 

 
Jerri G. Smitko 
Chair 

2108#011 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Structural Pest Control  
(LAC 7:XXV.101, 141, and 145) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:3362 and R.S. 3:3366., the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry (“Department”) and the Structural Pest Control 
Commission (“Commission”) have adopted the rules set 
forth below by amending LAC 7:XXV.101 and 141 and 
repealing LAC 7:XXV.145. These amendments add the 
definition for ‘inspection diagram’, which was previously 
not defined, and changes the term “graph” to “inspection 
diagram,” in order to provide more consistency in the 
records that are maintained by pest control companies. The 
amendments further remove the term ‘Borates’ and replaces 
it with ‘wood treatment’, a more appropriate terminology for 
the kind of treatment described in the existing rules. The 
amendments also set minimum specification requirements 
associated with Exterior Perimeter/Localized Interior 
(EP/LI) treatments, which were recently approved by the 
structural pest control commission. And finally, the repeal of 
LAC 7:XXV.145 will remove requirements for treatments of 
Wood-Destroying Beetles. This will allow pest control 
companies to perform preventative treatments not previously 
permitted. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control  

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission  
§101. Definitions 

A. - B. … 
* * * 

Inspection Diagram—a diagram that provides an 
accurate representation of the structure, including 
measurements, treatment types (trench and treat, rodding, 
bath trap, etc.), construction types, and specific treatment 
locations.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3362 and R.S. 3:3366. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:323 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission LR 15:954 (November 1989), 
17:251 (March 1991), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 30:1143 (June 
2004), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, LR 31:26 
(January 2005), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 32:796 (May 
2006), repromulgated LR 32:1015 (June 2006), amended LR 33:39 
(January 2007), LR 35:204 (February 2009), LR 35:1468 (August 
2009), LR 37:272 (January 2011), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 39:300 
(February 2013), LR 41:333 (February 2015), LR 42:213 (February 
2016), LR 44:1235 (July 2018), LR 46:1541 (November 2020), LR 
47:1100 (August 2021). 
§141. Minimum Specifications for Termite Control 

Work 
A. - G.1. … 
H. Waiver of Requirements of Minimum Specifications 

for Termite Control Work 
1. … 

a. inspection diagram identifying the structure and 
the specific area(s) where treatment is waived; 

1.b. - 2. … 
I. Requirements for Baits and Baiting Systems 

1. - 7. … 
8. Records of contracts, inspection diagrams, 

monitoring, and bait applications shall be kept according to 
LAC 7:XXV.117.I. 

9. - 10. … 
J. Requirements for Combination Liquid Spot and Baits 

and Baiting Systems Treatments 
1. - 3. …  
4. Records of contracts, inspection diagrams, 

monitoring (if required), and applications shall be kept 
according to LAC 7:XXV.117.I. At termination of the 
contract, the pest control operator shall remove all 
components of bait and baiting systems. 

J.5. - K.3. … 
L. Requirements for Wood Pre-Construction Treatments 

1. Treat according to the wood treatment label 
approved by the commission. 

2. - 9. …  
M. Requirements for Exterior Perimeter / Localized 

Interior (EP/LI) Treatments 
1. Treat according to the EP/LI section of the product 

label that has been approved by the Commission for EP/LI 
use.  

2. EP/LI treatments may only be used for Post 
Construction treatments.  

3. EP/LI treatment must be specified on the termite 
contract, inspection diagram and subsequent annual renewal 
documentation. 

4. The pest control operator shall provide written 
information to the homeowner, detailing the EP/LI 
treatment, at the time of issuance of the contract and 
treatment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3366. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:330 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:958 (November 1989), 
LR 20:644 (June 1994), LR 21:931 (September 1995), LR 23:1285 
(October 1997), LR 25:235 (February 1999), LR 25:1620 
(September 1999), LR 26:2437 (November 2000), LR 27:1180 
(August 2001), LR 29:1063 (July 2003), LR 30:1145 (June 2004), 
repromulgated LR 30:1614 (August 2004), amended LR 35:207 
(February 2009), LR 35:1469 (August 2009), repromulgated LR 
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35:1872 (September 2009), amended, LR 37:286 (January 2011), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, LR 39:301 (February 2013), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 
39:1413 (June 2013), LR 41:333 (February 2015), LR 42:214 
(February 2016), LR 46:1542 (November 2020), LR 47:1100 
(August 2021). 
§145. Wood-Destroying Beetles 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:332 (April 
1985), amended LR 35:1470 (August 2009), LR 37:292 (January 
2011), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest 
Control Commission, LR 39:302 (February 2013), repealed LR 
47:1101 (August 2021). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

2108#037 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro-Consumer Services 

Indian Creek Campsite Fees (LAC 7:XXXIX.539) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in Act 
591 of 1970, R.S. 36:802, and R.S. 3:4402., notice is hereby 
given that the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(Department) has adopted the rules set forth below by 
amending LAC 7:XXXIX.539. This amendment will allow 
for a change in established fees for campsite fees at the 
Indian Creek Recreation Area. The amendment will change 
all existing fees from a specific amount to a range which 
may or may not result in a nominal increase. The 
amendment will also include fees for newly-added full-
hook-up campsites, which will also be in the form of a range 
rather than a specific amount. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXIX. Forestry  
Chapter 5. Indian Creek Recreation Area 
§539. Fees and Exemptions; Overnight Use 

A. Camping 
1. Standard Campsite. A standard campsite rents for 

up to $20 per night during the winter season (November 1-
February 28) and up to $24 per night during the summer 
season (March 1-October 31). A premium waterfront 
campsite rents for up to $24 per night during the winter 
season (November 1-February 28) and up to $30 per night 
during the summer season (March 1-October 31). 

2. Pull-Thru Campsite. A pull-thru campsite consists 
of two sites. 

a. Pull-Thru Non-Water Front Single Campsite 
(Standard Single Pull-Thru). A pull-thru single non-water 
front campsite rents for up to $20 per night during the winter 

season (November 1-February 28) and up to $24 per night 
during the summer season (March 1-October 31). 

b. Pull-Thru Water-Front Single Campsite 
(Premium Single Pull-Thru). A pull-thru waterfront single 
campsite rented for use by a single tenant camper rents for 
up to $24 per night during the winter season (November 1-
February 28) and up to $30 per night during the summer 
season (March 1-October 31). 

c. Pull-Thru Water-Front Double Campsite (Ultra 
Pull-Thru). A pull-thru waterfront double campsite rented for 
use by a single tenant camper rents for up to $44 per night 
during the winter season (November 1-February 28) and up 
to $56 per night during the summer season (March 1-
October 31). 

3. Primitive Area. A primitive area campsite rents for 
up to $12 per night during the winter season (November 1-
February 28) and up to $16 per night during the summer 
season (March 1-October 31). 

4. Full Hook-Up Sites. A full hook-up site rents for up 
to $30 per night during the winter season (November 1-
February 28) and up to $35 per night during the summer 
season (March 1-October 31). 

B. Rally camping areas are those designated and 
reserved for use by organized groups of overnight campers 
in the primitive area of the campsite. 

1. Fees—Rally Camping 
a. A fee of $50 per night is assessed to the group for 

the exclusive use of an area. Rally camping is available for 
tent camping in the primitive area of the campsite only. 

C. Thirty-Day Off-Season Rates (available November 1-
February 28 only)  

 1. A fee of up to $330 is assessed for use of a 
non-waterfront single campsite for 30 days. 
 2. A fee of up to $435 is assessed for use of a 
single waterfront campsite for 30 days. 

D. The fees set forth in this Section shall become 
effective October 1, 2016. 

E. Online or telephone payments of the fees set forth in 
this Chapter may be subject to a credit card transaction fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
591 of 1970, R.S. 36:802.10, and R.S. 3:4402. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 42:1507 
(September 2016), amended LR 43:1518 (August 2017), LR 
47:229 (February 2021), repromulgated LR 47:1101 (August 
2021). 
 

Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

2108#043 

 
RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Child Welfare  
Child Protective Services 

Maintenance and Disclosure of Information on Reports and 
Investigations on the State Repository (LAC 67:V.1105) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) has amended LAC 67:V.1105 
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Maintenance and Disclosure of Information on Reports and 
Investigations on the State Repository. 

This Rule is necessary to clarify to the public that 
information of individuals is maintained on the State 
Repository within cases of child abuse/neglect and includes 
all individuals involved in the case when there is a 
justified/valid finding for at least one individual. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation, and it is 
effective September 1, 2021. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart 3.  Child Protective Services 

Chapter 11. Administration and Authority 
§1105. Maintenance and Disclosure of Information on 

Reports and Investigations on the State 
Repository 

A. - I. ... 
J. Case information and findings from investigations 

that include individuals with justified/valid findings for their 
involvement as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect in a 
case that includes a tier 1 justified/valid finding will be 
maintained on the state repository indefinitely. Case 
information and findings from investigations that involve 
individuals with justified/valid findings for their 
involvement as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect in a 
case that does not include a tier 1 justified/valid finding will 
be maintained on the state repository for 18 years from the 
date of the finding. 

K. - O. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

Louisiana Children’s Code Article 616. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 26:96 (January 
2000), amended LR 31:1608 (July 2005), LR 36:840 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Child Welfare, LR 44:1000 (June 2018), effective July 
1, 2018, amended LR 45:218 (February 2019), amended LR 
47:1102 (August 2021). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2108#026 

 
RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability Section 

Expungement of Unused Benefits (LAC 67:III.403) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) has amended LAC 67:III.403  
Cash Benefits. 

Pursuant to the authority granted to the department by the 
Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 in accordance with federal 
regulations for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) in 7 CFR and Louisiana’s Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant, the

department considers this amendment necessary to update 
rules that govern Economic Stability programs. 

Section 403 has been amended to update Electronic 
Benefits Transfer (EBT) expungement timeframes of unused 
benefits from 12 months to nine months for Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP), 
Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP), and Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). 

These changes are mandated in accordance with the 
Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (2018 Farm Bill), 
which made additional mandatory changes to the provisions 
of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008, PL 110-
234 (2008 Farm Bill) governing the expungement of unused 
benefits. State agencies must expunge unused benefits after 
nine months (rather than 12 months). This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 
Subpart 1.  General Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 4. Electronic Benefits Issuance System 
§403. Cash Benefits [Formerly §402] 

A. Cash benefits and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) benefits shall be available through EBT in 
staggered cycles to on-going households beginning on the 
first day of each month. The last digit of the Social Security 
number determines the date that benefits are issued. Cash 
benefits will be available within the first five days of each 
month. SNAP benefits will be available within the first 23 
days of each month. SNAP cases that contain elderly or 
disabled persons will have benefits available during the first 
four days of each month. Other issuance authorizations will 
be posted to the EBT account the day after they are 
authorized except in emergency circumstances in which case 
benefits will be available on the same day. 

B. Benefits are delivered in this manner for households 
certified on an on-going basis. Benefits can accumulate but 
are accounted for according to the month of availability and 
will be withdrawn on a first-in-first-out basis. Each month’s 
benefits with no activity by the client for a period of 274 
days from the date of availability will be expunged and will 
not be available to the household after expungement. FITAP 
benefits which have been expunged may be reauthorized for 
availability if the recipient has good cause for not having 
accessed them during the original availability period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
272.3(c)(1)(ii) and P.L. 104-193, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:1322 (July 1998) 
amended LR 33:1878 (September 2007), repromulgated LR 
33:2203 (October 2007), LR 35:689 (April 2009), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of Family 
Support, LR 44:23 (January 2018), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 
46:1669 (December 2020), effective January 1, 2021, LR 47:1102 
(August 2021). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2108#027 
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RULE 

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
Office of Cultural Development 

State Commercial Tax Credit Program Credit  
Reservation Process (LAC 25:I.1301 and 1305) 

The Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
(DCRT), Office of Cultural Development, Division of 
Historic Preservation, in accordance with RS. 47:6019 and 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
has amended LAC 25:I.1301 and adopted LAC 25:I.1305. 

There are two purposes of these regulations. The first 
purpose is to amend §1301 by replacing the definition of 
Qualified Rehabilitation Expenses with the definition of 
Eligible costs and expenses, and to add definitions pertaining 
to the credit cap reservation system. The second purpose is 
to add §1305, thereby creating a process for DCRT to 
administer a credit cap reservation system, as required by 
Act 25 of the First Extraordinary Legislative Session of 
2020. This system includes general provisions, the 
reservation process, the process whereby reservations may 
be forfeited or rescinded, application amendments, and an 
appeals process. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 25 
CULTURAL RESOURCES 

Part 1.  Office of Cultural Development 
Chapter 13. State Commercial Tax Credit for Historic 

Buildings 
§1301. Definitions 

A. … 
Amendment—any modification to the project, as 

described in an approved application including, but not 
limited to, changes in applicant, scope of the project, 
timeline for completion, changes in financing, the 
rehabilitation activities or end use. 

Annual Credit Reservation Cap—the maximum 
aggregate total of tax credits that may be reserved in any one 
calendar year is $125 million. The reservation cap shall 
apply to projects with Part 2 applications received by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism on or after 
January 1, 2021. 

Applicant—the owner or qualified lessee of a historic 
building. 

* * * 
Eligible Costs and Expenses—the qualified 

rehabilitation expenditures (QREs) as defined in Section 
47c(2)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended. 

Project—the activities to be undertaken and costs 
identified as part of an application submitted for a historic 
preservation tax credit. A project may include more than one 
building, such as an industrial or agricultural complex, 
provided there is historical evidence that the buildings 
functioned together to serve an overall purpose, and all are at 
least 50 years old unless also listed individually in the 
National Register of Historic Places. 

* * * 

Qualified Rehabilitation Expenditures (QREs)—
repealed. 

* * * 
SHPO—State Historic Preservation Office, comprised 

of the Divisions of Archaeology and Historic Preservation, 
within the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6019. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Office of Cultural Development, 
Division of Historic Preservation, LR 40:1679 (September 2014), 
amended LR 47:1103 (August 2021). 
§1305. Tax Credit Reservations  

A. General Provisions 
1. For all projects with Part 2 applications received by 

the SHPO on or after January 1, 2021, the maximum amount 
of credits available to be reserved shall not exceed one 
hundred twenty-five million dollars per calendar year. If the 
amount of tax credit reservations issued in a calendar year is 
less than one hundred twenty-five million dollars, the excess 
reservation amount shall be available for issuance in any 
subsequent calendar year. If a tax credit reservation is 
forfeited or rescinded, the forfeited or rescinded reservation 
amount shall be available for issuance.  

2. Reservations of credits shall be first-come first-
served based upon the date of approval of a completed 
reservation application.  

3. If the total amount of credit reservations applied for 
in any calendar year exceeds the amount of tax credits 
available for reservation that year, the excess shall be treated 
as having been applied for on the first day of the subsequent 
calendar year. 

4. All reservation applications received on the same 
business day shall be treated as received at the same time, 
and if the aggregate amount of the requests received on a 
single business day exceeds the total amount of available tax 
credit reservations, tax credits shall be reserved on a pro rata 
basis.  

5. Any rescinded tax credit reservation shall be 
reallocated and made available to other applicants.  

6. The SHPO shall track the cumulative amount of 
approved tax credit reservations. Applicants may review the 
amount of tax credit reservations available per any given 
calendar year on the SHPO’s website. 

7. Applicants must comply with all other program 
requirements set forth by the Division. Claims for the credit 
must also comply with any rules and regulations set forth by 
the Louisiana Department of Revenue within Title 61 of the 
Louisiana Administrative Code.  

B. Reservation Process 
1. Tax credit reservation requests will be accepted 

beginning July 1, 2021 for the 2021 calendar year, and on 
the second Monday in January each subsequent year for that 
year’s reservations. 

2. Tax credit reservation requests will not be approved 
prior to the state Part 2 application approval.  

a. Projects that are going to be completed in phases 
may file a tax credit reservation application for the entire 
project in conjunction with a Part 2 application or may file
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separate tax credit reservation applications, one for each 
phase, prior to the project or a particular separate phase 
being placed in service. 

3. A tax credit reservation form required by the SHPO 
shall contain, at minimum the following: 

a. state issued project number; 
b. project address; 
c. part 2 application approval date; 
d. estimated eligible costs and expenses 
e. amount of tax credit reservation requested 
f. affirmation that project will demonstrate 

reviewable progress within 24 months of the reservation 
approval 

g. project owner information  
h. project owner’s signature and the date the form 

was signed 
i. project contact information (if different than the 

owner)  
4. Applications for all projects shall include a 

reasonably substantiated estimate of the amount of eligible 
costs and expenses the project expects to incur.  

a. For projects which expect to incur at least 
$500,000 of eligible costs and expenses, such estimate shall 
be prepared by a Certified Public Accountant. 

5.a. The SHPO shall issue reservations of tax credits 
generally no later than 30 days from the later of: 
 i. the date properly completed reservation 
applications were received, or  
 ii. the date the state Part 2 application is 
approved.  

b. The reservation shall include the amount of 
credits reserved and the applicable deadlines. 

6. Tax credit reservation requests that have been 
approved by the SHPO will be transmitted to the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue in a manner that is agreed upon by 
both agencies. 

C. Forfeiture or Rescission of Tax Credit Reservation 
1. Tax credit reservations issued pursuant to this 

Subsection shall be rescinded if the applicant fails to provide 
to the SHPO sufficient evidence that the project is 
progressing within 24 months of the date the credit 
reservation is issued. This evidence may include, but is not 
limited, an executed tax credit investor letter of intent, final 
construction drawings, approved building permits, or other 
evidence that construction has commenced; such examples 
of evidence are illustrative but are not exclusive. Failure to 
submit evidence that a project is progressing may result in 
the rescission of the credit reservation.  

2. If, at any time, the SHPO has reason to believe that 
a project has become inactive or that it is not likely to be 
able to meet the requirements of the program, SHPO shall 
contact the applicant by registered or certified mail to 
request a status report that includes evidence showing the 
project is progressing. Status reports shall not be requested 
more than twice during a calendar year and SHPO may 
waive such status reports at its discretion for extenuating 
circumstance including, but not limited to, force majeure 
events.  

3. Projects that are denied during the application 
process by the SHPO shall have the credit reservation 
rescinded after all appeals have been exhausted.  

4. Applicants may forfeit a tax credit reservation by 
submitting to the SHPO a statement that includes the 
information contained within the reservation form with a 
request to rescind the tax credit reservation.  

5. The SHPO shall notify the applicant in writing that 
the tax credit reservation has been forfeited or rescinded.  

6. Tax credit reservation requests that have been 
forfeited or rescinded by the SHPO will be transmitted to the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue in a manner that is agreed 
upon by both agencies. 

7. Nothing in this section prohibits an applicant whose 
tax credit reservation has been forfeited or rescinded from 
submitting a new tax credit reservation. 

D. Amendments 
1. An applicant may amend an existing application, 

and amendments will be submitted in accordance with the 
provisions of this Subsection. Any amendment that does not 
request an increased or decreased reservation amount shall 
not modify a previous reservation. Any amendment that 
decreases a reservation amount shall cause the decreased 
amount of tax credits to be available for issuance to other 
applicants. Any amendment requesting an additional 
reservation amount shall be treated as a new application but 
shall not modify any previous reservation with respect to 
such historic structure.  

2. Any applications filed on or after January 1, 2021, 
to amend a Part 2 application that was submitted prior to 
January 1, 2021, is exempt from credit reservation process. 

E. Appeals 
1. Applicants may appeal any decisions related to the 

tax credit reservation process contained within this section to 
the State Historic Preservation Officer. 

2. Appeals must be received by the SHPO no later 
than 30 calendar days from the date of the decision being 
appealed. Appeals must detail specific reasons the denial 
should be partially or completely reconsidered or 
overturned. 

3. The State Historic Preservation Officer shall 
determine if a hearing if necessary, and if so, the appeal will 
be scheduled within thirty days of the request. 

4. The State Historic Preservation Officer, at his 
discretion, may hold a hearing in connection with the appeal. 

5. Upon review of the appeal and consideration of the 
hearing, if applicable, the State Historic Preservation Officer 
shall take one of the following actions: 

a. sustain, in full or in part, the denial; 
b. overturn, in full or in part, the denial.  

6. The State Historic Preservation Officer’s final 
written decision to any appeal must be issued no later than 
90 days after receiving the full appeal.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6019. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation, and Tourism, Office of Cultural Development, 
Division of Historic Preservation, LR 40:1679 (September 2014), 
amended LR 47:1103 (August 2021). 

 
Kristin P. Sanders 
Assistant Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Angel Investor Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 33) 

Under the authority of R.S.47:6020 through 6020.4 and 
R.S. 36:104, and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Economic Development has amended the 
rules of the Angel Investor Tax Credit Program, to better 
align the rules with current administrative practices and to 
clarify eligibility for convertible and other types of 
subordinate debt. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 13  
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 33. Angel Investor Tax Credit Program 
§3301. General 

A - B. … 
C. Effective date of the 2021 Angel Investor Tax Credit 

Program rule changes. 
1. The provisions of the 2021 rule changes shall apply 

to applications filed after the date of promulgation, detailed 
in the Louisiana Register published on (Month) 20, 2021, 
except for the provisions of Section 3303 codifying current 
administrative practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6020 through 6020.4 and R.S. 36:104. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:228 
(February 2006), amended LR 32:1594 (September 2006), 
amended by Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, LR 37:3495 (December 2011), amended by Department 
of Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 47:1105 
(August 2021). 
§3302. Definitions 

A. Terms not otherwise defined in this Chapter shall 
have the same meaning given to them in R.S. 47:6020 unless 
the context clearly requires otherwise. 

B. In this Chapter, the following terms shall have the 
meaning provided in this Section, unless the context clearly 
requires otherwise. 

Angel Pool—a group of persons including corporations, 
partnerships, limited liability partnerships and limited 
liability corporations composed of persons meeting the 
qualifications of an accredited investor. 

Certification—certification by the department 
recognizing the company as an eligible Louisiana 
Entrepreneurial Business. 

Department—the Department of Economic 
Development 

LEB—Louisiana Entrepreneurial Business 
NAICS―North American Industrial Classification 

System. 
Opportunity Zone—a community development program 

established by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 
2017 defined as a population census tract that is a low-
income community that is designated as a qualified 
opportunity zone. 

Professional Services—occupations requiring 
specialized education, knowledge, labor, judgment or are 
predominantly mental or intellectual in nature; and which 
may require the holding of a professional license. 
Professional services firms may engage in activities which 
include, but are not limited to, architecture, engineering, 
legal services and accounting. 

Qualified Investment—a cash investment into a 
Louisiana Entrepreneurial Business by an Accredited 
Investor which may be in the form of equity, convertible 
debt, or other types of subordinate debt as approved by the 
department. Only the initial principal amount of any debt 
investment is eligible for the credit.  

Reservation Letter—letter issued by the department 
provisionally indicating the dollar amount of credits which 
their investors may be eligible to receive if proof of qualified 
investment can be shown. 

Subordinate Debt— 
a. by its terms requires no repayment of principal 

for the first three years after issuance;  
b. is not guaranteed by any other person or secured 

by any assets of the LEB or any other person; and  
c. is subordinated to all indebtedness and 

obligations of the LEB to its general creditors.  
Tax Credit Certification Letter—letter issued by the 

department certifying the dollar amount of Angel Investor 
Tax Credits earned by an investor for a particular tax year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6020 through 6020.4 and R.S. 36:104. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 47:1105 
(August 2021). 
§3303. Accredited Investor 

A. An accredited investor shall meet the definition 
established by Rule 501 in Regulation D of the General 
Rules and Regulations promulgated under the Securities Act 
of 1933, which may include but not be limited to the 
following: 

1 - 3 … 
4.  the qualified investment in the Louisiana 

Entrepreneurial Business must be maintained for three years 
unless otherwise approved by the Department of Economic 
Development; 

A.5. - B.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6020 through 6020.4 and R.S. 36:104. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:228 
(February 2006), amended LR 32:1594 (September 2006), 
amended by Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, LR 37:3495 (December 2011), amended by Department 
of Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 47:37 
(January 2021), LR 47:1105 (August 2021). 
§3307. The Amount, Allocation and Limitations of the 

Angel Investor Tax Credits 
A. The following rules shall be applicable to qualified 

investments by accredited investors in Louisiana 
entrepreneurial businesses. 

1. For calendar year 2011, the department will begin 
accepting applications on September 1, and for all other 
calendar years, the department will begin accepting 
applications on January 1. The allocation of credits for all 
years will be administered on a first come, first serve basis
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until the annual $3,600,000 cap has been reached. However, 
on the day that the cap is reached, all applications received 
that day will be treated as received at the same time and the 
credits remaining for allocation that day will be prorated. 

a. Upon receipt of an application for the reservation 
of credits, the department will send the business a 
reservation letter indicating the dollar amount of credits 
which their investors are entitled to receive if proof of 
qualified investment can be shown. 

b. Each business applicant will have to decide on 
their application if they are willing to accept a prorated 
credit amount should their application be received on the day 
the cap is reached. The business will also have to determine 
what percentage of proration they will accept. If the business 
does not indicate in their application a willingness to accept 
a prorated credit amount at the percentage of proration 
available on the day the cap is reached, their application will 
be deemed to have been received the day following the day 
in which the cap was reached. 

c. Proof of a qualified investment must be provided 
to the department within 120 days from the date of the 
reservation letter. The department will accept the 
subscription agreement as required by the Securities and 
Exchange Commission as proof of investment.  

d. If proof of a qualified investment is made within 
the requisite 120-day period, the department will issue a tax 
credit certification letter to the investor. 
 i. The tax credit certification letter will include 
the investor’s name, address, Louisiana taxpayer 
identification number and the amount of the credit. The tax 
credit certification letter will include a breakdown of which 
years and in what amounts per year the credit will be 
claimed.  
 ii. The Louisiana Department of Revenue will 
receive a copy of the tax credit certification letter for 
purposes of verification of the credits.  

e. If proof of qualified investment is not provided to 
the Department within the requisite 120-day period, the 
angel investor tax credits which had been reserved for that 
company’s investors will be added to the remaining 
available annual credit cap.  

f. Any returned reservation credits whose 
businesses could not provide proof of qualified investment 
within 120 days, will be allocated when available on a first 
come, first serve basis until the annual cap has been reached. 
However, on the day that the cap is reached, all applications 
received that day will be treated as received at the same time 
and the credits remaining for allocation that day will be 
prorated. Returned reservation credits will be made available 
the sooner of: 
 i. the day returned reservation credits exceed the 
amount of credits requested in applications in line to receive 
credits the next day; or  
 ii. the day all 120-day proof of qualified 
investment periods have expired.  
 iii. the timeline for proof of qualified investment 
will be the same 120-day period as mentioned above.  

g. A business that fails to provide proof of qualified 
investment on the full reservation amount within 120 days 
will not be allowed to apply for angel investor credits again 
for a three-month period. The three-month period will begin 

on the day following the end of the 120-day period for proof 
of qualified investment.  

B. All applications for the reservation of credits shall be 
made on a form prescribed by the department. All 
applications for the reservation of credits shall be submitted 
to the department electronically to an email address 
specified by the department on its website. An application 
fee shall be submitted with all applications for reservation of 
credits. The application fee shall be equal to 0.5 percent 
(0.005) times the total anticipated tax incentive for the 
investors with a minimum application fee of $500 and a 
maximum application fee of $15,000, payable to Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development. 

C. A qualified investment earns tax credits in the 
calendar year in which the qualified investment is made. The 
request for the reservation of credits for a qualified 
investment must be made in the same year in which the 
qualified investment is made. In order to earn credits under 
this program, a qualified investment can be made no earlier 
than 30 days prior to the reservation of credits. 

D. The angel investor tax credits should be claimed on 
the investor’s income and corporation franchise tax returns 
in accordance with the statutory requirements of R.S. 
47:6020(D)(3). 

E. Transfers of the angel investor tax credits will be 
allowed in compliance with R.S. 47:6020(F). 

F. The Angel Investor Tax Credit Program has a 
program cap of $3,600,000 in tax credits granted per 
calendar year. If the department does not grant the entire 
$3,600,000 in tax credits in any calendar year, the amount of 
residual unused tax credits shall carry forward to subsequent 
calendar years and may be granted in any year without 
regard to the $3,600,000 per year limitation. No tax credit 
shall be granted to an investor until the qualified investment 
has been made in the Louisiana Entrepreneurial Business. 

G. For purposes of receiving angel investor tax credits, 
an investor may not invest more than $720,000 per year per 
business or more than $1,440,000 total per business over the 
life of the program. The credit shall be allowed against the 
income tax for the taxable period in which the credit is 
earned and the franchise tax for the taxable period following 
the period in which the credit is earned. The credits 
approved by the department shall be granted at the rate of 25 
percent of the amount of the qualified investment with the 
credit divided in equal portions for two years.  

1. Except as provided in Paragraph 4 of this 
Subsection, applications received on or after July 1, 2020, 
for qualified investments that meet the requirements of 
Subsection C of this Section and the requirements of 26 
U.S.C. 1400Z-1, 1400Z-2, and applicable federal regulations 
shall be entitled to an enhanced credit in accordance with the 
provisions of this Subsection. 

2. The amount of the credit granted by the department 
shall be 35 percent of the amount of the qualified investment 
with the credit divided in equal portions for two years, 

3. In addition to the credit cap provided for in 
Subsection A, the total amount of credits granted under this 
Subsection shall not exceed $3,600,000 per year for a total 
program cap of $7,200,000 per year. If the department does 
not grant the entire $3,600,000 in tax credits in any calendar 
year authorized pursuant to this Subsection, the amount of 
unused tax credits shall carry forward to subsequent calendar 
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years and may be granted in any year without regard to the 
$3,600,000 annual cap provided for in this Subsection. 

4. To the extent that federal laws and regulations 
relative to opportunity zones require that business revenues 
be derived from within the opportunity zone, otherwise 
eligible business shall be exempt from the requirement that 
50 percent or more of sales shall come from out of state as 
specified in Subsection A. 

H. No credits shall be granted or reserved under this 
program for reservation applications received by the 
department on or after July 1, 2025. 

I. The department has the authority to change the 
administration of the Angel Investor Tax Credit Program 
when it is deemed necessary for the effective administration 
of the program. Notice of any change in administration will 
be done with 10-day prior notice published on the 
department’s website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6020 and R.S. 36:104. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 32:229 
(February 2006), amended LR 32:1595 (September 2006), 
amended by Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, LR 37:3196 (December 2011), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 42:35 (January 2016), amended by Department 
of Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 47:37 
(January 2021), amended by Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 47:1105 (August 2021). 

 
Anne G. Villa  
Undersecretary 

2108#007 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Pardons 

Meeting and Hearing for the Board of Parole;  
Inactive Parole Supervision  

(LAC 22:V.211 and XI.510, 514, and 1502) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), and pursuant to R.S. 15:573.1, 
the Board of Pardons has amended LAC 22:V.211 and 
XI.510, 514 and adopted LAC 22:XI.1502 The amendments 
to §211 expand the ability of individuals providing 
testimony to the board to include via phone and 
teleconferencing. The amendments to §510 align the 
notification to timeframe for victims with revised statute and 
expands the ability of individuals providing testimony to the 
board to include via phone and teleconferencing. The 
amendments to §514 remove barriers that are not required by 
law concerning the votes required to grant individuals 
parole. Section 1502 adopts amendments to R.S. 15:574.7 
and adds Inactive Parole Supervision. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part V.  Board of Pardons 

§211. Hearings before the Pardon Board 
A. - D. … 

E. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim or a victim's advocacy group, 
and the district attorney or his representative may also 
appear before the panel by means of teleconference or 
telephone communication. 

1. Only three persons in favor, to include the 
applicant, and three in opposition, to include the 
victim/victim's family member, will be allowed to speak 
either in person, via phone or videoconferencing during the 
clemency hearing. 

2. Any person making an oral presentation to the 
board will be allowed no more than 5 minutes. All persons 
making oral presentations in favor of an applicant shall be 
allowed cumulatively no more than 10 minutes. Any person 
making oral presentations against an applicant, including 
victims, shall be allowed cumulatively no more than 10 
minutes. 

F. There is no limit on written correspondence in favor 
of and/or opposition to the applicant's request. a candidate 
for parole release or an applicant for clemency. 

G. The board shall provide notice to the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Crime Victims Services 
Bureau at least 30 days prior to pardon hearing. 

H. If an applicant is requesting commutation of sentence, 
and is released from custody and/or supervision prior to 
public hearing date, the case will be closed without notice to 
the applicant. Applicant may reapply two years from the date 
of release. 

I. Applicant's failure to attend and/or notify the board of 
pardons office of his/her inability to attend the hearing will 
result in an automatic denial. The applicant may reapply two 
years from the date of scheduled hearing. Lifers who fail to 
attend and/or advise of inability to attend may reapply in 
five years if it is his/her initial hearing, and every five years 
thereafter. 

J. Four members of the board shall constitute a quorum 
for the transaction of business, and all actions of the board 
shall require the favorable vote of at least four members of 
the board. 

1. If a favorable clemency recommendation is reached 
during a pardon hearing, any other specific recommendation 
regarding clemency (i.e., restoration of firearms privileges, 
commutation of sentence to a specified number of years, 
commutation of sentence with or without parole eligibility) 
shall be based on a majority vote of those members who 
voted to recommend clemency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:572.4, 15:574.12, and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2256 (August 2013), amended 
LR 42:1088 (July 2016), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:46 (January 
2017), LR 44:574 (March 2018), LR 44:2140 (December 2018), 
LR 47:359 (March 2021), LR 47:1107 (August 2021). 

Part XI.  Committee on Parole 
Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearings of the Committee 

on Parole 
§510. Victims 

A. Before a parole panel considers parole release for an 
offender who is serving a sentence of an offense in which a 
person was a victim, the direct victim of the offense shall be 
allowed to present written or oral testimony of the victim's 
views about the offense, the offender, and the effect of the 
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offense on the victim. The parole panel shall allow one 
person to appear in person before the panel to present 
testimony on behalf of the victim. Nothing in this Section is 
intended to limit the panel's discretion to allow individual 
victims to make personal appearance or to make contact by 
phone through the local district attorney's victim advocacy 
representative. There is no limit on written correspondence 
in favor of and/or opposition to an offender's consideration 
for parole. 

B. The direct victim, spouse, or next of kin of a deceased 
victim and any person who has filed a victim notice and 
registration form shall be advised in writing no less than 60 
days prior to the scheduled hearing date. 

1. Victiman individual against whom a crime has 
been perpetrated. 

C. The notice shall advise the victim, spouse, or next of 
kin of a deceased victim that: 

1. the hearing is open to the public; 
2. he or she may remain in the hearing room during 

the entire hearing (except during executive session); and 
3. the direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or 

close relative of a deceased victim will be allowed to speak 
to the panel prior to its making a decision in the case. 

D. The Committee on Parole has delegated the 
responsibility for advance notice of a scheduled hearing to 
the direct victim to the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Division of Probation and Parole. This 
notification is not required when the direct victim cannot be 
located despite the exercise of due diligence. 

E. The written notice is not required when the victim, the 
spouse, or next of kin of a deceased victim, advises the 
committee in writing that such notification is not desired. 

F. If victim notification is determined to have not met 
the advance notice time requirements required by this 
section, a victim may request that a hearing be re-scheduled 
if the hearing has not yet been conducted. Likewise, a victim 
may waive the notice requirement; however, such waiver 
must be received in writing from the victim. 

G. Should a hearing be re-scheduled by the board for any 
reason other than the victim’s request, the board shall notify 
the victim as soon as possible by telephone and shall follow-
up with written confirmation of the telephone notification 
via certified U.S. Mail (with return receipt requested). 

H. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim shall have the right to make a 
written or oral statement as to the impact of the crime. 

I. The direct victim, the guardian of the victim, or close 
relative of a deceased victim or a victim's advocacy group, 
and the district attorney or his representative may also 
appear before the panel by means of teleconference or 
telephone communication. 

J. If more than one person is entitled to appear for a 
parole hearing, the person chosen by all persons entitled to 
appear may serve as a spokesperson for all those entitled to 
appear. Any person making an oral presentation to the parole 
panel will be allowed no more than five minutes. However, 
at the parole panel chairman’s discretion more than one 
person may present a written or oral statement to the panel. 

1. All persons making oral presentations in favor of an 
applicant shall be allowed cumulatively no more than 10 
minutes. All persons making oral presentations against an 

applicant, including victims, shall be allowed cumulatively 
no more than 10 minutes. 

K. There is no limit on written correspondence in favor 
of and/or opposition to a candidate for parole release. 

L. The Committee on Parole shall notify all persons who 
have filed a victim notice and registration form with the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections of an 
offender’s release from incarceration by parole. Such written 
notice shall be sent by certified mail (with return receipt 
requested). 

M. Notice to Crime Victim Services Bureau of Parole 
Hearings. The committee shall provide notice to the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections Crime Victims 
Services Bureau at least 30 days prior to parole hearings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2263 
(August 2013), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of 
Pardons and Committee on Parole, LR 43:47 (January 2017), LR 
44:575 (March 2018), LR 44:2142 (December 2018), LR 47:1107 
(August 2021). 
§514. Voting/Votes Required 

A. Unanimous Vote 
1. A unanimous vote of those present is required to 

grant parole when the number of those present exceeds 
three. 

2. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no 
person convicted of a crime of violence against any peace 
officer as defined in R.S. 14:30(B), shall be granted parole 
except after a meeting, duly noticed and held on a date to be 
determined by the chairman, at which at least five of the 
seven members of the committee are present and all 
members present vote to grant parole. 

3. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an 
offender serving a life sentence for second degree murder as 
defined in R.S. 14:30.1 and pursuant to the subsections, shall 
be granted parole except after a meeting, duly noticed and 
held on a date to be determined by the chairman, at which at 
least five of the seven members of the committee are present 
and all members present vote to grant parole. 

a. The offense was committed after July 2, 1973, 
and prior to June 29, 1979. 

b. The offender has served forty years of the 
sentence imposed. 

4. A unanimous vote is required to consider any action 
when the offender is not present as described in §511.B.2.b 
or §513.A.4.a. 

B. Majority Vote 
1. The committee may grant parole with two votes of 

a three-member panel if the following conditions are met. 
a. The offender has not been convicted of a sex 

offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, or convicted of an offense 
which would constitute a sex offense as defined in R.S. 
15:541, regardless of the date of conviction. 

b. The offender has not committed any major 
disciplinary (schedule B) offenses in the 12 consecutive 
months prior to the parole hearing date. If the offender's 
period of incarceration is less than 12 months, the offender 
must not have committed any disciplinary offenses during 
his/her entire period of incarceration. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 47, No. 8   August 20, 2021 1109

c. The offender has completed the mandatory 
minimum of 100 hours of pre-release programming in 
accordance with R.S. 15:827.1, if such programming is 
available at the facility where the offender is incarcerated. 

d. The offender has completed substance abuse 
treatment and or anger management as applicable, if such 
programming is available at the facility where the offender is 
incarcerated. 

e. The offender has obtained a HSE credential, 
unless the offender has previously obtained a high school 
diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being 
incapable of obtaining a HSE credential due to a learning 
disability. If the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a 
HSE credential, the offender must complete at least one of 
the following:  
 i. a literacy program; 
 ii. an adult basic education program; or  
 iii. a job skills training program. 

f. The offender has obtained a low-risk level 
designation determined by a validated risk assessment 
instrument approved by the secretary of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections. 

2. A majority vote is required to impose all special 
conditions of release. 

3. A majority vote is required to revoke parole. 
4. A majority vote is required to continue or recess a 

meeting or hearing. 
5. A majority vote is required to grant an offender's 

request for a rehearing. 
6. A majority vote is required for executive session. 
7. A majority vote is required to recommend to the 

Board of Pardons as to whether an applicant is eligible for a 
reduction in sentence pursuant to R.S. 15:308 and Chapter 8, 
"Ameliorative Penalty Consideration." 

C. Once the panel votes to grant or deny parole at a 
particular hearing, the vote may not be rescinded at that 
hearing. 

D. If a member of a panel moves that a particular 
condition of parole be considered and determined prior to 
the vote to grant or deny parole, that issue shall be 
determined prior to the vote on parole. Otherwise, following 
a vote granting parole, the panel shall consider whether to 
impose special conditions of release.  

E. The ex officio member of the committee is a non-
voting member. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2264 
(August 2013), amended LR 41:45 (January 2015), LR 44:2142 
(December 2018), LR 47:362 (March 2021), LR 47:1108 (August 
2021). 
Chapter 15. Parole Suspension and Termination 
§1502. Inactive Parole Supervision  

A. During the onset of parole supervision and 
development of the Supervision Plan, an offender who is 
free from any conviction for a sex offense as defined in R.S. 
15:541, shall be advised of the incentive to be compliant 
with conditions of supervision in order to be recommended 
for Inactive Parole Supervision. 

1. As determined by the District Manager or during 
the Annual Review, the officer shall review the offender’s 
case based on the following eligibility requirements: 

a. Offender’s instant offense is not a crime of 
violence as defined by R.S. 14;2(B) and the offender has 
served a minimum of three years without a violation of the 
terms and conditions of parole. 

b. Offender’s instant offense is a crime of violence 
as defined by R.S. 14:2(B) and the offender has served a 
minimum of seven years without a violation of the terms and 
conditions of parole. 

c. Upon the offender becoming eligible, the officer 
may shall submit an Activity Report to the Parole Board 
recommending the offender be placed on Inactive Parole 
Supervision. 

d. Upon the Board’s approval, the offender’s 
supervision level will be changed to Administrative-Inactive 
Parole Supervision. At this effective date, the offender is no 
longer subject to the conditions of parole as defined in 
R.S.15:574.4.2(A)(2). Supervision fees will be inactivated in 
the DOC approved offender management system. 

e. Should the parolee have a new arrest, the 
supervising officer will notify the Parole Board and request 
the parolee to be returned to active parole supervision where 
the offender will be subject to the conditions of parole as 
defined in R.S.15:574.4.2(A)(2). Supervision fees will be 
reactivated in the DOC approved offender management 
system. The supervising officer will follow normal 
procedures for the violation process. 

f. Offenders convicted of a new felony conviction 
while under Inactive Parole supervision are subject to 
revocation under La. R.S. 15:574.10. 

g. If the pending charges against the offender are 
rejected or dismissed, an Activity Report will be submitted 
to return the offender to Inactive Parole Supervision. 

h. If the offender completes his period of 
supervision with no new arrests, the case will be closed at 
their earned compliance date or full term date as appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:573.1, and 15:574.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 47:1109 (August 2021). 

 
Sheryl M. Ranatza 
Board Chair 

2108#003 

 
RULE 

Uniform Local Sales Tax Board 

Claims for Refund or Credit (LAC 72:I.111) 

Act 274 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session enacted 
R.S. 47:337.102 in order to establish the Louisiana Uniform 
Local Sales Tax Board and define its powers and authority. 
Under R.S. 47:337.102(C)(2), the board is authorized to 
promulgate rules and regulations in accordance with Part H 
of Chapter 2-D of Subtitle II of Title 47 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Under the authority of the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code, 
R.S. 47:337.1 et seq., and in accordance with the Uniform 
Local Sales Tax Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
47:337.91 et seq., the Louisiana Uniform Local Sales Tax 
Board has adopted LAC 72:I.111 regarding the filing of 
claims for refund or credit of local sales and use taxes. R.S. 
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47:337.77(B) provides that a collector shall make a refund of 
each overpayment of tax under specific conditions. Proper 
notification by taxpayers to collectors in the submission of 
claims is a requirement for issuance of the refund or credit. 
The purpose of this regulation is to clarify how taxpayers 
shall provide proper notification. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 72 
UNIFORM LOCAL SALES TAX 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 1. Administrative Procedures 
§111. Requirements for the Filing of Claims for 

Refund or Credit of Local Sales and Use Taxes 
A. Definitions. For purposes of this Section, the 

following terms have the meanings ascribed to them. 
Board—the Louisiana Uniform Local Sales Tax Board 

and its duly authorized representatives. 
Claim for Refund or Credit—an application form and all 

supporting documents required to confirm the validity of a 
refund or credit that has been submitted by a Taxpayer to the 
Board or a Collector. 

Collector—the single collector for a parish as defined in 
Article VII, Section 3 of the Constitution of Louisiana and 
the Collector’s duly authorized representatives. 

Local Sales Tax—a tax imposed by a Local Taxing 
Authority under the provisions of Article VI, Section 29 of 
the Constitution of Louisiana. 

Local Taxing Authority—a political subdivision of the 
state authorized to impose sales tax under the provisions of 
Article VI, Section 29 of the Constitution of Louisiana. 

Taxpayer—any person defined in R.S. 47:301(8) who 
qualifies as a dealer under R.S. 47:301(4). 

B. Taxpayers who file claims for refund or credit of 
overpayments of tax, penalty or interest as authorized by 
R.S. 47:337.77 or R.S. 47:337.102(G) shall comply with the 
following requirements: 

1. Claims for refund or credit shall be written in the 
English language and be: 

a. submitted electronically to the board through a 
website portal established for multi-parish claims as 
authorized by R.S. 47:337.102(G); 

b. submitted to the collector for the parish where the 
tax was paid in the manner and form established by the 
collector; or 

c. submitted by timely filing an amended return. 
2. Claims for refund or credit shall: 

a. be signed and dated by the taxpayer or his 
authorized representative; 

b. contain a clear statement detailing the reason for 
the claim; and 

c. include a complete application and supporting 
schedules itemizing the overpayment of tax amounts by 
filing period. 

C. Claims must be submitted to an official or entity 
authorized to receive the claim on behalf of the collector. 

1. Taxpayers may submit claims for refund or credit 
that involve two or more Louisiana parishes having 
transactions similar in fact to either the board or the 
individual collectors for each parish. Claims for refund or 
credit submitted to the board must be filed electronically 
through the board’s multi-parish refund system. 

2. Taxpayers shall submit claims for refund or credit 
that involve a single parish or have dissimilar transactions 
directly to the individual collectors for each parish. 

D. Filing Date of Claims 
1. Claims for refund or credit in properly addressed 

envelopes with sufficient postage delivered by the United 
States Postal Service are deemed filed on the date 
postmarked by the United States Postal Service. If a 
postmark is illegible, the taxpayer has the burden of proving 
the date of postmark. The date of registration is treated as the 
date of postmark for claims for refund or credit sent by 
United States registered or certified mail. Postage meter 
dates are valid postmark dates provided they do not conflict 
with a legible United States Postal Service postmark date. If 
the dates conflict, the United States Postal Service date shall 
override the meter date. 

2. Claims for refund or credit delivered by courier are 
deemed filed on the date delivered to the collector’s office. 
The courier’s records shall serve as prima facie evidence of 
the delivery. 

3. Claims for refund or credit delivered by the 
taxpayer or a representative of the taxpayer are deemed filed 
on the date received by the collector’s office. Upon request 
of the taxpayer, the collector shall provide a receipt 
acknowledging the date of receipt. 

4. Claims for refund or credit submitted electronically 
are deemed filed when both the application and supporting 
schedules are received by the board, collector or the 
collector’s agent and available for review by the collector. 

5. Supplemental information requested by a collector 
and timely provided by the applicant shall not alter the filing 
date of the claim. This paragraph shall not apply to 
schedules or documents required to be submitted with claims 
for refund or credit under an ordinance or a collector’s 
written public policy. 

E. Approval of Claims 
1. Claims for refund or credit shall be approved or 

denied by the appropriate collector or his designee in 
accordance with the collector’s written policies and 
procedures and applicable provisions of the Uniform Local 
Sales Tax Code. 

2. Claims for refund or credit that have not been 
approved within one year of the date received or that have 
been denied may be appealed by the taxpayer to the 
Louisiana Board of Tax Appeals in accordance with R.S. 
47:337.81. 
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F. This Section shall apply only to claims for refund or 
credit for overpayments of local sales tax imposed by a local 
taxing authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:337.102(C)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Uniform 
Local Sales Tax Board, LR 47:1110 (August 2021). 

 
Roger Bergeron 
Executive Director 

2108#001 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Fees (LAC46:LXIII.601) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Board of Examiners 
of Psychologists has amended §601 related to licensing fees 
for psychologists in accordance with the Louisiana 
Licensing Law for Psychologist 37:2353.C(1), 37:2354B(1), 
C(1) and E(2), 37:2356A(6), 37:2357A(2), 37:2365.C and 
D; the Administrative Procedure Act §§968 and 971; and 
current requirements promulgated under the LAC 
46:LXIII.305, 701.B, and 1101. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 
Chapter 6. Fees 
§601. Licensing Fees 

  
Licensing Fees  Amount  

Application for Licensure $200
Application for Provisional Licensure 200
Application for Temporary Registration 200
Application for Authorization to Provide
Telesupervision (Valid 1 year, per supervisor, per 
application) 

$25 for first
supervisee, $10

for each
thereafter

Jurisprudence Examination Fee 75
Oral Examination (Licensure, specialty change or 
additional specialty) 

250

License Renewal 400
License Renewal Fee for Psychologists Qualifying 
under R.S. 37:2354.E for a reduced rate 

200

Provisional License Renewal 100
Reinstatement of Lapsed License (Application plus 
renewal fee) 

600

Processing Fees for Paper Renewals 50
License Renewal Extension Request 25

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2354. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 
33:648 (April 2007), amended LR 39:311 (February 2013), 
amended LR 41:2618 (December 2015), amended LR 47:1111 
(August 2021). 

 
Jaime T. Monic 
Executive Director 

2108#002 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Transfer of Marijuana Recommendations  
(LAC 46:LIII.2457) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended §2457 of its rules relative to 
marijuana pharmacies. The change in Subsection E will 
require a marijuana pharmacy to transfer an unexpired 
recommendation for marijuana products to another 
marijuana pharmacy when requested by a patient or 
caregiver. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 24. Limited Service Providers 
Subchapter E. Marijuana Pharmacy 
§2457. Standards of Practice 

A. - D.5. … 
E. Professional Practice Standards  

1. Recommendation/opinion/referral (hereinafter, 
“request”) for Therapeutic Marijuana 

a. - c. ... 
d. A marijuana pharmacy shall transfer an 

unexpired request for marijuana product to another 
marijuana pharmacy when requested by the patient or his 
caregiver. 

2. - 6.e.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1550 (August 2017), amended 
LR 45:1473 (October 2019), LR 47:1111 (August 2021). 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

2108#008 
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RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Cost Reporting Requirements 

(LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 7 and Chapter 29) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult Services have 
amended LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 7 and repealed LAC 
50:XXI.Chapter 29 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day 
of promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 
Waivers 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 
Chapter 7. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Personal Care Services Providers 
§701. General Provisions 

A. The Department of Health (LDH) establishes 
reimbursement methodologies and cost reporting 
requirements for providers of home and community-based 
services waiver programs who provide personal care 
services (including personal care services, personal care 
attendant services, community living supports services, 
attendant care services, personal assistance services, in-
home respite, and individual and family support services). 

B. - C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 39:509 (March 2013), 
amended LR 42:898 (June 2016), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1112 (August 2021). 
§703. Cost Reporting Requirements 

A. Effective July 1, 2012, the department implemented 
mandatory cost reporting requirements for providers of 
home and community-based waiver services listed above in 
§701.A. The cost reports will be used to verify expenditures 
and to support rate setting for the services rendered to 
waiver participants. 

1. - 7. Repealed. 
B. Providers of services in the following waiver 

programs shall be required to submit cost reports: 
1. Adult Day Health Care Waiver; 
2. Children’s Choice Waiver; 

3. Community Choices Waiver; 
4. New Opportunities Waiver; 
5. Residential Options Waiver; and 
6. Supports Waiver. 

C. Each provider shall complete the LDH approved cost 
report and submit the cost report(s) to the department no 
later than five months after the state’s fiscal year ends (June 
30). 

1. - 5. Repealed. 
D. When a provider fails to submit a cost report by the 

last day of November, which is five months after the state 
fiscal year ends (June 30), a penalty of 5 percent of the total 
monthly payment for the first month and a progressive 
penalty of 5 percent of the total monthly payment for each 
succeeding month may be levied and withheld from the 
provider’s payment for each month that the cost report is 
due, not extended and not received. The penalty is non-
refundable and not subject to an administrative appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 39:509 (March 2013), 
amended LR 42:898 (June 2016), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1112 (August 2021). 
§705. Rate Methodology 

EDITOR’S NOTE: This Section was previously numbered 
LAC 50:XXI.703 and complies with Act 299 of the 2011 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

A. Reimbursement for the following services shall be a 
prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service that is 
provided to the participant: 

1. personal care services; 
2. personal care attendant services;  
3. community living supports services;  
4. attendant care services;  
5. personal assistance services;  
6. in-home respite; and  
7. individual and family support services, collectively 

referred to as reimbursable assistance services.  
B. One quarter hour (15 minutes) shall be the standard 

unit of service. Reimbursement shall not be paid for the 
provision of less than one quarter hour (15 minutes) of 
service. 

C. Effective July 1, 2016, a rate validation process 
occurred to determine the sufficiency of reimbursement 
rates. This process will be repeated at a minimum of every 
two years thereafter. The rate validation process will involve 
the comparison of current provider reimbursement rates to 
reimbursement rates established using the department’s 
reimbursement methodology. 

1. The department’s reimbursement methodology will 
establish an estimated reimbursement rate through the 
summation of the following two rate component totals: 

a. adjusted staff cost rate component; and 
b. other operational cost rate component. 

2. The adjusted staff cost rate component will be 
determined in the following manner. 
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a. Direct service worker wage expense, contract 
labor expense, and hours worked for reimbursable assistance 
services will be collected from provider cost reports. 
 i. Collected wage and contract labor expense will 
be divided by collected hours worked, on an individual cost 
report basis, to determine a per hour labor rate for direct 
service workers. 
 ii. The individual cost report hourly labor rates 
will be aggregated for all applicable filed cost reports, 
outliers will be removed, and a simple average statewide 
labor rate will be determined. 

b. A blended direct service worker labor rate will be 
calculated by comparing the simple average statewide labor 
rate to the most recently available, as of the calculation of 
the department’s rate validation process, average personal 
care aide wage rate from the Louisiana Occupational 
Employment and Wages report for all Louisiana parishes 
published by the Louisiana Workforce Commission (or its 
successor). 
 i. If the simple average statewide labor rate is 
less than the wage rate from the Louisiana Occupational 
Employment and Wages report, a blended wage rate will be 
calculated using 50 percent of both wage rates. 
 ii. If the simple average statewide labor rate is 
equal to or greater than the wage rate from the Louisiana 
Occupational Employment and Wages report, the simple 
average statewide labor rate will be utilized. 

c. An employee benefit factor will be added to the 
blended direct service worker wage rate to determine the 
unadjusted hourly staff cost. 
 i. Employee benefit expense allocated to 
reimbursable assistance services will be collected from 
provider cost reports.  
 ii. Employee benefit expense, on an individual 
cost report basis, will be divided by the cost report direct 
service wage and contract labor expense for reimbursable 
assistance services to calculate employee benefits as a 
percentage of labor costs. 
 iii. The individual cost report employee benefit 
percentages will be aggregated for all applicable filed cost 
reports, outliers will be removed, and a simple average 
statewide employee benefit percentage will be determined. 
 iv. The simple average statewide employee benefit 
percentage will be multiplied by the blended direct service 
worker labor rate to calculate the employee benefit factor.  

d. The department will be solely responsible for 
determining if adjustments to the unadjusted hourly staff 
cost for items that are underrepresented or not represented in 
provider cost reports is considered appropriate.  

e. The unadjusted hourly staff cost will be 
multiplied by a productive hours’ adjustment to calculate the 
hourly adjusted staff cost rate component total. The 
productive hours’ adjustment allows the reimbursement rate 
to reflect the cost associated with direct service worker time 
spent performing required non-billable activities. The 
productive hours’ adjustment will be calculated as follows. 
 i. The department will determine estimates for 
the amount of time a direct service worker spends 
performing required non-billable activities during an eight-

hour period. Examples of non-billable time include, but are 
not limited to: meetings, substitute staff, training, wait-time, 
supervising, etc. 
 ii. The total time associated with direct service 
worker non-billable activities will be subtracted from eight 
hours to determine direct service worker total billable time. 
 iii. Eight hours will be divided by the direct 
service worker total billable time to calculate the productive 
hours’ adjustment. 

3. The other operational cost rate component will be 
calculated in the following manner. 

a. Capital expense, transportation expense, other 
direct non-labor expense, and other overhead expense 
allocated to reimbursable assistance services will be 
collected from provider cost reports. 

b. Capital expense, transportation expense, supplies, 
and other direct non-labor expense, and other overhead 
expense, on an individual cost report basis, will be divided 
by the cost report direct service wage and contract labor 
expense for reimbursable assistance services to calculate 
other operational costs as a percentage of labor costs. 

c. The individual cost report other operational cost 
percentages will be aggregated for all applicable filed cost 
reports, outliers will be removed, and a simple average 
statewide other operational cost percentage will be 
determined. 

d. The simple average other operational cost 
percentage will be multiplied by the blended direct service 
worker labor rate to calculate the other operational cost rate 
component. 

4. The calculated department reimbursement rates will 
be adjusted to a one quarter hour unit of service by dividing 
the hourly adjusted staff cost rate component and the hourly 
other operational cost rate component totals by four. 

5. The department will be solely responsible for 
determining the sufficiency of the current reimbursement 
rates during the rate validation process. Any reimbursement 
rate change deemed necessary due to rate validation process 
will be subject to legislative budgetary appropriation 
restrictions prior to implementation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1112 (August 2021). 
Subchapter B. Adult Day Health Care Providers 
§707. General Provisions 

A. The Department of Health (LDH) establishes 
reimbursement methodologies and cost reporting 
requirements for Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) providers 
of home and community-based waiver programs. 

B. ADHC providers in the following waiver programs 
shall be required to submit cost reports: 

1. Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver; 
2. Community Choices Waiver; and 
3. Residential Options Waiver (ROW). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1113 (August 2021). 
§709. Rate Methodology 

A. Adult day health care providers shall be reimbursed a 
per quarter hour rate for services provided under a 
prospective payment system (PPS). The system shall be 
designed in a manner that recognizes and reflects the cost of 
direct care services provided. The reimbursement 
methodology is designed to improve the quality of care for 
all waiver participants by ensuring that direct care services 
are provided at an acceptable level while fairly reimbursing 
the providers. 

B. Reimbursement shall not be made for ADHC waiver 
services provided under the waivers prior to the 
department’s approval of the POC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1114 (August 2021). 
§711. Cost Reporting 

A. Cost Centers Components 
1. Direct Care Costs. This component reimburses for 

in-house and contractual direct care staffing, social services, 
and activities (excluding the activities director) and fringe 
benefits and direct care supplies. 

2. Care Related Costs. This component reimburses for 
in-house and contractual salaries and fringe benefits for 
supervisory and dietary staff, raw food costs, and care 
related supplies. 

3. Administrative and Operating Costs. This 
component reimburses for in-house or contractual salaries 
and related benefits for administrative, housekeeping, 
laundry, and maintenance staff. Also included are: 

a. utilities; 
b. accounting; 
c. dietary supplies; 
d. housekeeping and maintenance supplies; and 
e. all other administrative and operating type 

expenditures. 
4. Property. This component reimburses for 

depreciation, interest on capital assets, lease expenses, 
property taxes, and other expenses related to capital assets, 
excluding property costs related to participant transportation. 

5. Transportation. This component reimburses for in-
house and contractual driver salaries and related benefits, 
non-emergency medical transportation, vehicle maintenance, 
and supply expense, motor vehicle depreciation, interest 
expense related to vehicles, vehicle insurance, and auto 
leases. 

B. Providers of ADHC services are required to file 
acceptable annual cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. An acceptable cost report is one that is 
prepared in accordance with the requirements of this Section 
and for which the provider has supporting documentation 
necessary for completion of a desk review or audit. The 
annual cost reports are the basis for determining

reimbursement rates. A copy of all reports and statistical data 
must be retained by the center for no less than five years 
following the date cost reports are submitted to the bureau. A 
chart of accounts and an accounting system on the accrual 
basis or converted to the accrual basis at year end are 
required in the cost report preparation process. The bureau or 
its designee will perform desk reviews of the cost reports. In 
addition to the desk review, a representative number of the 
centers shall be subject to a full-scope, annual on-site audit. 
All ADHC cost reports shall be filed with a fiscal year from 
July 1 through June 30. 

1. When a provider ceases to participate as an ADHC 
provider the provider must file a cost report covering a 
period under this program up to the effective date of 
cessation of participation in the program. Depending on the 
circumstances involved in the preparation of the provider's 
final cost report, the provider may file the cost report for a 
period of not less than one month or not more than 13 
months. 

C. The cost reporting forms and instructions developed 
by the Bureau must be used by all ADHC centers 
participating in the Louisiana Medicaid Program. Hospital 
based and other provider based ADHC which use Medicare 
forms for step down in completing their ADHC Medicaid 
cost reports must submit copies of the applicable Medicare 
cost report forms also. All amounts must be rounded to the 
nearest dollar and must foot and cross foot. Only per diem 
cost amounts will not be rounded. Cost reports submitted 
that have not been rounded in accordance with this policy 
will be returned and will not be considered as received until 
they are resubmitted. 

D. Annual Reporting. Cost reports are to be filed on or 
before the last day of September following the close of the 
cost reporting period. Should the due date fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or an official state or federal holiday, the due date 
shall be the following business day. The cost report forms 
and schedules must be filed with one copy of the following 
documents: 

1. a cost report grouping schedule. This schedule 
should include all trial balance accounts grouped by cost 
report line item. All subtotals should agree to a specific line 
item on the cost report. This grouping schedule should be 
done for the balance sheet, income statement, and expenses; 

2. a depreciation schedule. The depreciation schedule 
which reconciles to the depreciation expense reported on the 
cost report must be submitted. If the center files a home 
office cost report, copies of the home office depreciation 
schedules must also be submitted with the home office cost 
report. All hospital based centers must submit a copy of a 
depreciation schedule that clearly shows and totals assets 
that are hospital only, ADHC only and shared assets; 

3. an amortization schedule(s), if applicable; 
4. a schedule of adjustment and reclassification 

entries; 
5. a narrative description of purchased management 

services and a copy of contracts for managed services, if 
applicable; 

6. for management services provided by a related 
party or home office, a description of the basis used to



Louisiana Register   Vol. 47, No. 8   August 20, 2021 1115

allocate the costs to providers in the group and to non-
provider activities and copies of the cost allocation 
worksheet, if applicable. Costs of related management/home 
offices must be reported on a separate cost report that 
includes an allocation schedule; and 

7. all allocation worksheets must be submitted by 
hospital-based centers. The Medicare worksheets that must 
be attached by centers using the Medicare forms for 
allocation are: 

a. A; 
b. A-6; 
c. A-7 parts I, II and III; 
d. A-8; 
e. A-8-1; 
f. B part 1; and 
g. B-1. 

E. Each copy of the cost report must have the original 
signatures of an officer or center administrator on the 
certification. The cost report and related documents must be 
submitted to the address indicated on the cost report 
instruction form. In order to avoid a penalty for delinquency, 
cost reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. 

F. When it is determined, upon initial review for 
completeness, that an incomplete or improperly completed 
cost report has been submitted, the provider will be notified. 
The provider will be allowed a specified amount of time to 
submit the requested information without incurring the 
penalty for a delinquent cost report. For cost reports that are 
submitted by the due date, 10 working days from the date of 
the provider’s receipt of the request for additional 
information will be allowed for the submission of the 
additional information. For cost reports that are submitted 
after the due date, five working days from the date of the 
provider’s receipt of the request for additional information 
will be allowed for the submission of the additional 
information. An exception exists in the event that the due 
date comes after the specified number of days for 
submission of the requested information. In these cases, the 
provider will be allowed to submit the additional requested 
information on or before the due date of the cost report. If 
requested additional information has not been submitted by 
the specified date, a second request for the information will 
be made. Requested information not received after the 
second request may not be subsequently submitted and shall 
not be considered for reimbursement purposes. An appeal of 
the disallowance of the costs associated with the requested 
information may not be made. Allowable costs will be 
adjusted to disallow any expenses for which requested 
information is not submitted. 

G. Accounting Basis. The cost report must be prepared 
on the accrual basis of accounting. If a center is on a cash 
basis, it will be necessary to convert from a cash basis to an 
accrual basis for cost reporting purposes. Particular attention 
must be given to an accurate accrual of all costs at the year-
end for appropriate recordation of costs in the applicable 
cost reporting period. Care must be given to the proper 
allocation of costs for contracts to the period covered by 
such contracts. Amounts earned although not actually 
received and amounts owed to creditors but not paid must be 
included in the appropriate cost reporting period. 

H. Supporting Information. Providers are required to 
maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for 

proper determination of reimbursable costs. Financial and 
statistical records must be maintained by the center for five 
years from the date the cost report is submitted to the 
Bureau. Cost information must be current, accurate and in 
sufficient detail to support amounts reported in the cost 
report. This includes all ledgers, journals, records, and 
original evidences of cost (canceled checks, purchase orders, 
invoices, vouchers, inventories, time cards, payrolls, bases 
for apportioning costs, etc.) that pertain to the reported costs. 
Census data reported on the cost report must be supportable 
by daily census records. Such information must be adequate 
and available for auditing. 

I. Attendance Records 
1. Attendance data reported on the cost report must be 

supportable by daily attendance records. Such information 
must be adequate and available for auditing. 

2. Daily attendance records should include the time of 
each participant’s arrival and departure from the center. The 
attendance records should document the presence or absence 
of each participant on each day the center is open. The 
center’s attendance records should document all admissions 
and discharges on the attendance records. Attendance 
records should be kept for all participants that attend the 
adult day center. This includes Medicaid, Veteran’s 
Administration, insurance, private, waiver, and other 
participants. The attendance of all participants should be 
documented regardless of whether a payment is received on 
behalf of the participant. Supporting documentation such as 
admission documents, discharge summaries, nurse’s 
progress notes, sign-in/out logs, etc. should be maintained to 
support services provided to each participant. 

J. Employee Record 
1. the provider shall retain written verification of 

hours worked by individual employees: 
a. records may be sign-in sheets or time cards, but 

shall indicate the date and hours worked; 
b. records shall include all employees even on a 

contractual or consultant basis; 
2. verification of employee orientation and in-service 

training; and 
3. verification of the employee’s communicable 

disease screening. 
K. Billing Records 

1. The provider shall maintain billing records in 
accordance with recognized fiscal and accounting 
procedures. Individual records shall be maintained for each 
participant. These records shall meet the following criteria.  

a. Records shall clearly detail each charge and each 
payment made on behalf of the participant. 

b. Records shall be current and shall clearly reveal 
to whom charges were made and for whom payments were 
received. 

c. Records shall itemize each billing entry. 
d. Records shall show the amount of each payment 

received and the date received. 
2. The provider shall maintain supporting fiscal 

documents and other records necessary to ensure that claims 
are made in accordance with federal and state requirements. 

L. Non-Acceptable Descriptions. Miscellaneous, other, 
and various, without further detailed explanation, are not 
acceptable descriptions for cost reporting purposes. If any of 
these are used as descriptions in the cost report, a request for 
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information will not be made and the related line item 
expense will be automatically disallowed. The provider will 
not be allowed to submit the proper detail of the expense at a 
later date, and an appeal of the disallowance of the costs 
may not be made. 

M. Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the cost report 
filing requirements will be considered on an individual 
provider basis upon written request from the provider to the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Rate and Audit 
Review Section. If an exception is allowed, the provider 
must attach a statement describing fully the nature of the 
exception for which prior written permission was requested 
and granted. Exceptions which may be allowed with written 
approval are as follows. 

1. If the center has been purchased or established 
during the reporting period, a partial year cost report may be 
filed in lieu of the required 12-month report. 

2. If the center experiences unavoidable difficulties in 
preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an 
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests 
for exception must contain a full statement of the cause of 
the difficulties that rendered timely preparation of the cost 
report impossible. 

N. Delinquent Cost Report. When an ADHC provider 
fails to submit a cost report by the last day of September 
following the close of the cost reporting period, a penalty of 
5 percent of the monthly payment for the first month and a 
progressive penalty of 5 percent of the monthly payment for 
each succeeding month may be levied and withheld from the 
ADHC provider’s payment for each month that the cost 
report is due, not extended and not received. The penalty is 
non-refundable and not subject to an administrative appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1114 (August 2021). 
§713. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 

A. Direct Care (DC) Costs 
1. Salaries, Aides-gross salaries of certified nurse 

aides and nurse aides in training. 
2. Salaries, LPNs-gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

licensed practical nurses and graduate practical nurses. 
3. Salaries, RNs-gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

registered nurses and graduate nurses (excluding director of 
nursing and participant assessment instrument coordinator). 

4. Salaries, Social Services-gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory licensed social services personnel providing 
medically needed social services to attain or maintain the 
highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well-
being of the participants. 

5. Salaries, Activities―gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory activities/recreational personnel providing 
an ongoing program of activities designed to meet, in 
accordance with the comprehensive assessment, the interest 
and the physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of the 
participants. 

6. Payroll Taxes—cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for direct care employees. 

7. Group Insurance, DC―cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for direct care employees. 

8. Pensions, DC―cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for direct care employees. 

9. Uniform Allowance, DC―employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for direct care 
employees. 

10. Worker's Comp, DC―cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for direct care employees. 

11. Contract, Aides―cost of aides through contract that 
are not center employees. 

12. Contract, LPNs―cost of LPNs and graduate 
practical nurses hired through contract that are not center 
employees. 

13. Contract, RNs―cost of RNs and graduate nurses 
hired through contract that are not center employees. 

14. Drugs, Over-the-Counter and Non-Legend―cost of 
over-the-counter and non-legend drugs provided by the 
center to its participants. This is for drugs not covered by 
Medicaid. 

15. Medical Supplies―cost of participant-specific 
items of medical supplies such as catheters, syringes and 
sterile dressings. 

16. Medical Waste Disposal―cost of medical waste 
disposal including storage containers and disposal costs. 

17. Recreational Supplies, DC―cost of items used in 
the recreational activities of the center. 

18. Other Supplies, DC—cost of items used in the 
direct care of participants which are not participant-specific 
such as prep supplies, alcohol pads, betadine solution in 
bulk, tongue depressors, cotton balls, thermometers, blood 
pressure cuffs and under-pads and diapers (reusable and 
disposable). 

19. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as direct care costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

20. Miscellaneous, DC—costs incurred in providing 
direct care services that cannot be assigned to any other 
direct care line item on the cost report. 

21. Total Direct Care Costs—sum of the above line 
items. 

B. Care Related (CR) Costs 
1. Salaries—gross salaries for care related supervisory 

staff including supervisors or directors over nursing, social 
service, and activities/recreation. 

2. Salaries, Dietary—gross salaries of kitchen 
personnel including dietary supervisors, cooks, helpers, and 
dishwashers. 

3. Payroll Taxes—cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for care related employees. 

4. Group Insurance, CR—cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident, and disability 
insurance for care related employees. 

5. Pensions, CR—cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for care related employees. 

6. Uniform Allowance, CR—employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for care related 
employees. 
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7. Worker's Comp, CR—cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for care related employees. 

8. Contract, Dietary—cost of dietary services, and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

9. Consultant Fees, Activities—fees paid to activities 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory, and educational services to the center. 

10. Consultant Fees, Nursing—fees paid to nursing 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory, and educational services to the center. 

11. Consultant Fees, Pharmacy—fees paid to a 
registered pharmacist, not on the center’s payroll, for 
providing advisory, and educational services to the center. 

12. Consultant Fees, Social Worker—fees paid to a 
social worker, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory, and educational services to the center. 

13. Consultant Fees, Therapists—fees paid to a 
licensed therapist, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory, and educational services to the center. 

14. Food, Raw—cost of food products used to provide 
meals and snacks to participants. Hospital based facilities 
must allocate food based on the number of meals served. 

15. Food, Supplements—cost of food products given in 
addition to normal meals and snacks under a doctor's orders. 
Hospital based facilities must allocate food-supplements 
based on the number of meals served. 

16. Supplies, CR—the costs of supplies used for 
rendering care related services to the participants of the 
center. All personal care related items such as shampoo and 
soap administered by all staff must be included on this line. 

17. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as care related costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

18. Miscellaneous, CR—costs incurred in providing 
care related care services that cannot be assigned to any 
other care related line item on the cost report. 

19. Total Care Related Costs—the sum of the care 
related cost line items. 

C. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC) 
1. Salaries, Administrator-gross salary of 

administrators excluding owners. Hospital based centers 
must attach a schedule of the administrator's salary before 
allocation, the allocation method, and the amount allocated 
to the nursing center. 

2. Salaries, Assistant Administrator—gross salary of 
assistant administrators excluding owners. 

3. Salaries, Housekeeping—gross salaries of 
housekeeping personnel including housekeeping supervisors, 
maids, and janitors. 

4. Salaries, Laundry—gross salaries of laundry 
personnel. 

5. Salaries, Maintenance—gross salaries of personnel 
involved in operating and maintaining the physical plant, 
including maintenance personnel or plant engineers. 

6. Salaries, Other Administrative—gross salaries of 
other administrative personnel including bookkeepers, 
receptionists, administrative assistants, and other office and 
clerical personnel. 

7. Salaries, Owner or Owner/Administrator—gross 
salaries of all owners of the center that are paid through the 
center. 

8. Payroll Taxes—cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for administrative and 
operating employees. 

9. Group Insurance, AOC—cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident, and disability 
insurance for administrative, and operating employees. 

10. Pensions, AOC—cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for administration, and operating 
employees. 

11. Uniform Allowance, AOC—employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for administration and 
operating employees. 

12. Worker's Compensation, AOC—cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for administration and operating 
employees. 

13. Contract, Housekeeping—cost of housekeeping 
services and personnel hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

14. Contract, Laundry—cost of laundry services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

15. Contract, Maintenance—cost of maintenance 
services and persons hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

16. Consultant Fees, Dietician—fees paid to consulting 
registered dieticians. 

17. Accounting Fees—fees incurred for the preparation 
of the cost report, audits of financial records, bookkeeping, 
tax return preparation of the adult day health care center and 
other related services excluding personal tax planning and 
personal tax return preparation. 

18. Amortization Expense, Non-Capital—costs 
incurred for legal and other expenses when organizing a 
corporation must be amortized over a period of 60 months. 
Amortization of costs attributable to the negotiation or 
settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset on or 
after July 18, 1984, whether by acquisition or merger, for 
which any payment has previously been made are non-
allowable costs. If allowable cost is reported on this line, an 
amortization schedule must be submitted with the cost 
report. 

19. Bank Service Charges—fees paid to banks for 
service charges, excluding penalties and insufficient funds 
charges. 

20. Dietary Supplies—costs of consumable items such 
as soap, detergent, napkins, paper cups, straws, etc., used in 
the dietary department. 

21. Dues—dues to one organization are allowable. 
22. Educational Seminars and Training—the 

registration cost for attending educational seminars and 
training by employees of the center and costs incurred in the 
provision of in-house training for center staff, excluding 
owners or administrative personnel. 

23. Housekeeping Supplies—cost of consumable 
housekeeping items including waxes, cleaners, soap, brooms 
and lavatory supplies. 
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24. Insurance, Professional Liability and Other—
includes the costs of insuring the center against injury and 
malpractice claims. 

25. Interest expense, non-capital interest paid on short 
term borrowing for center operations. 

26. Laundry Supplies—cost of consumable goods used 
in the laundry including soap, detergent, starch and bleach. 

27. Legal Fees—only actual and reasonable attorney 
fees incurred for non-litigation legal services related to 
participant care are allowed. 

28. Linen Supplies—cost of sheets, blankets, pillows, 
and gowns. 

29. Management Fees and Home Office Costs—the 
cost of purchased management services or home office costs 
incurred that are allocable to the provider. Costs for related 
management/home office must also be reported on a separate 
cost report that includes an allocation schedule. 

30. Office Supplies and Subscriptions—cost of 
consumable goods used in the business office such as: 

a. pencils, paper and computer supplies; 
b. cost of printing forms and stationery including, 

but not limited to, nursing and medical forms, accounting 
and census forms, charge tickets, center letterhead and 
billing forms; 

c. cost of subscribing to newspapers, magazines and 
periodicals. 

31. Postage-cost of postage, including stamps, metered 
postage, freight charges, and courier services. 

32. Repairs and Maintenance—supplies and services, 
including electricians, plumbers, extended service 
agreements, etc., used to repair and maintain the center 
building, furniture and equipment except vehicles. This 
includes computer software maintenance. 

33. Taxes and Licenses—the cost of taxes and licenses 
paid that are not included on any other line of the cost report. 
This includes tags for vehicles, licenses for center staff 
(including nurse aide re-certifications) and buildings. 

34. Telephone and Communications—cost of telephone 
services, internet and fax services. 

35. Travel—cost of travel (airfare, lodging, meals, etc.) 
by the administrator and other authorized personnel to attend 
professional and continuing educational seminars and 
meetings or to conduct center business. Commuting 
expenses and travel allowances are not allowable. 

36. Utilities—cost of water, sewer, gas, electric, cable 
TV and garbage collection services. 

37. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—costs that have 
been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital as administrative and operating costs. 

38. Advertising–costs of employment advertising and 
soliciting bids. Costs related to promotional advertising are 
not allowable. 

39. Maintenance Supplies-supplies used to repair and 
maintain the center building, furniture and equipment except 
vehicles. 

40. Miscellaneous—costs incurred in providing center 
services that cannot be assigned to any other line item on the 
cost report. Examples of miscellaneous expenses are small 
equipment purchases, all employees’ physicals and shots, 
nominal gifts to all employees, such as a turkey or ham at 
Christmas, and flowers purchased for the enjoyment of the 

participants. Items reported on this line must be specifically 
identified. 

41. Total administrative and operating costs. 
D. Property and Equipment 

1. Amortization Expense, Capital—legal and other 
costs incurred when financing the center must be amortized 
over the life of the mortgage. Amortization of goodwill is 
not an allowable cost. Amortization of costs attributable to 
the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset on or after July 18, 1984, whether by 
acquisition or merger, for which any payment has previously 
been made are non-allowable costs. If allowable cost is 
reported on this line, an amortization schedule must be 
submitted with the cost report. 

2. Depreciation—depreciation on the center’s 
buildings, furniture, equipment, leasehold improvements, 
and land improvements. 

3. Interest Expense, Capital—interest paid or accrued 
on notes, mortgages, and other loans, the proceeds of which 
were used to purchase the center’s land, buildings and/or 
furniture, and equipment, excluding vehicles. 

4. Property Insurance—cost of fire and casualty 
insurance on center buildings, and equipment, excluding 
vehicles. HCBS providers that share owned or leased space 
with other programs, Medicaid or private, should allocate 
building costs such as property insurance, property taxes, 
depreciation, etc. based on documented square footage used 
by each program. 

5. Property Taxes—taxes levied on the center’s 
buildings and equipment. HCBS providers that share owned 
or leased space with other programs, Medicaid or private, 
should allocate building costs such as property insurance, 
property taxes, depreciation, etc. based on documented 
square footage used by each program. 

6. Rent, Building—cost of leasing the center’s real 
property. 

7. Rent, Furniture and Equipment—cost of leasing the 
center’s furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 

8. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—costs that have 
been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital or state institution as property costs when those 
costs include allocated overhead. 

9. Miscellaneous, Property—any capital costs related 
to the center that cannot be assigned to any other property 
and equipment line item on the cost report. 

10. Total property and equipment. 
E. Transportation Costs 

1. Salaries, Drivers—gross salaries of personnel 
involved in transporting participants to and from the center. 

2. Payroll Taxes, Transportation—the cost of the 
employer’s portion of Federal Insurance Contribution Act 
(FICA), Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State 
Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for 
drivers. 

3. Employee Benefits, Transportation—the cost of 
group insurance, pensions, uniform allowances, and other 
employee benefits related to drivers. 

4. Workers’ Compensation, Transportation—the cost 
of workers’ compensation insurance for drivers. 

5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation—the cost 
of purchased non-emergency medical transportation services 
including, but not limited to: 
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a. payments to employees for use of their personal 
vehicle(s); 

b. ambulance companies; and 
c. other transportation companies for transporting 

participants of the center. 
6. Interest Expenses, Vehicles—interest paid or 

accrued on loans used to purchase vehicles. 
7. Property Insurance, Vehicles—the cost of vehicle 

insurance. 
8. Vehicle Expenses—vehicle maintenance and 

supplies, including gas and oil. 
9. Lease, Automotive—the cost of leasing vehicles 

used for participant care. A mileage log must be maintained. 
If a leased vehicle is used for both participant care and 
personal purposes, cost must be allocated based on the 
mileage log. 

10. Total Transportation Costs. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1116 (August 2021). 
§715. Allowable Costs 

EDITOR’S NOTE: The provisions of this Section were 

previously located in LAC 50:XXI.2907. 

A. Allowable costs include those costs incurred by 
providers to conform to state licensure and federal 
certification standards. General cost principles are applied 
during the desk review and audit process to determine 
allowable costs. 

1. These general cost principles include determining 
whether the cost is: 

a. ordinary, necessary, and related to the delivery of 
care; 

b. what a prudent and cost conscious business 
person would pay for the specific goods or services in the 
open market or in an arm’s length transaction; and 

c. for goods or services actually provided to the 
center. 

B. Through the desk review and/or audit process, 
adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider’s reported costs. The Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual is the final authority for allowable 
costs unless the Department has set a more restrictive policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1119 (August 2021). 
§717. Non-allowable Costs 

EDITOR’S NOTE: The provisions of this Section were 
previously located in LAC 50:XXI.2909. 

A. Costs that are not based on the reasonable cost of 
services covered under Medicare and are not related to the 
care of participants are considered non-allowable costs. 

B. Reasonable cost does not include the following: 
1. costs not related to participant care; 
2. costs specifically not reimbursed under the 

program; 
3. costs that flow from the provision of luxury items 

or services (items or services substantially in excess or more 

expensive than those generally considered necessary for the 
provision of the care); 

4. costs that are found to be substantially out of line 
with other centers that are similar in size, scope of services, 
and other relevant factors; 

5. costs exceeding what a prudent and cost-conscious 
buyer would incur to purchase the goods or services. 

C. General non-allowable costs: 
1. services for which Medicaid participants are 

charged a fee; 
2. depreciation of non-participant care assets; 
3. services that are reimbursable by other state or 

federally funded programs; 
4. goods or services unrelated to participant care; 
5. unreasonable costs. 

D. Specific non-allowable costs (this is not an all-
inclusive listing): 

1. advertising—costs of advertising to the general 
public that seeks to increase participant utilization of the 
ADHC center; 

2. bad debts—accounts receivable that are written off 
as not collectible; 

3. contributions—amounts donated to charitable or 
other organizations; 

4. courtesy allowances; 
5. director’s fees; 
6. educational costs for participants; 
7. gifts; 
8. goodwill or interest (debt service) on goodwill; 
9. costs of income producing items such as fund 

raising costs, promotional advertising, or public relations 
costs, and other income producing items; 

10. income taxes, state, and federal taxes on net income 
levied or expected to be levied by the federal or state 
government; 

11. insurance, officers—cost of insurance on officers, 
and key employees of the center when the insurance is not 
provided to all employees; 

12. judgments or settlements of any kind; 
13. lobbying costs or political contributions, either 

directly or through a trade organization; 
14. non-participant entertainment; 
15. non-Medicaid related care costs—costs allocated to 

portions of a center that are not licensed as the reporting 
ADHC or are not certified to participate in Title XIX; 

16. officers’ life insurance with the center or owner as 
beneficiary; 

17. payments to the parent organization or other related 
party; 

18. penalties and sanctions—penalties and sanctions 
assessed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 
LDH, the Internal Revenue Service or the state Tax 
Commission; 

19. insufficient funds charges; 
20. personal comfort items; and 
21. personal use of vehicles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1119 (August 2021). 
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§719. Audits 
EDITOR’S NOTE: The provisions of this Section were 
previously located in LAC 50:XXI.2911. 

A. Each provider shall file an annual center cost report 
and, if applicable, a central office cost report. 

B. The provider shall be subject to financial and 
compliance audits. 

C. All providers who elect to participate in the Medicaid 
program shall be subject to audit by state or federal 
regulators or their designees. Audit selection shall be at the 
discretion of the department. 

1. The department conducts desk reviews of all of the 
cost reports received and also conducts on-site audits of 
provider cost reports. 

2. The records necessary to verify information 
submitted to the department on Medicaid cost reports, 
including related-party transactions, and other business 
activities engaged in by the provider, must be accessible to 
the department’s audit staff. 

D. In addition to the adjustments made during desk 
reviews and on-site audits, the department may exclude or 
adjust certain expenses in the cost report data base in order 
to base rates on the reasonable and necessary costs that an 
economical and efficient provider must incur. 

E. The center shall retain such records or files as 
required by the department and shall have them available for 
inspection for five years from the date of service or until all 
audit exceptions are resolved, whichever period is longer. 

F. If a center’s audit results in repeat findings and 
adjustments, the department may: 

1. withhold provider’s payments until the center 
submits documentation that the non-compliance has been 
resolved; 

2. exclude the provider’s cost from the database used 
for rate setting purposes; and 

3. impose civil monetary penalties until the center 
submits documentation that the non-compliance has been 
resolved. 

G. If the department’s auditors determine that a center’s 
financial and/or census records are unauditable, the 
provider’s payments may be withheld until the center 
submits auditable records. The provider shall be responsible 
for costs incurred by the department’s auditors when 
additional services or procedures are performed to complete 
the audit. 

H. Provider payments may also be withheld under the 
following conditions: 

1. a center fails to submit corrective action plans in 
response to financial and compliance audit findings within 
15 days after receiving the notification letter from the 
department; or 

2. a center fails to respond satisfactorily to the 
department’s request for information within 15 days after 
receiving the department’s notification letter. 

I. The provider shall cooperate with the audit process 
by: 

1. promptly providing all documents needed for 
review; 

2. providing adequate space for uninterrupted review 
of records; 

3. making persons responsible for center records and 
cost report preparation available during the audit; 

4. arranging for all pertinent personnel to attend the 
closing conference; 

5. insuring that complete information is maintained in 
participant’s records; 

6. developing a plan of correction for areas of 
noncompliance with state and federal regulations 
immediately after the exit conference time limit of 30 
calendar days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1120 (August 2021). 
§721. Exclusions from the Database 

EDITOR’S NOTE: The provisions of this Section were 
previously located in LAC 50:XXI.2913. 

A. The following providers shall be excluded from the 
database used to calculate the rates: 

1. providers with disclaimed audits; and  
2. providers with cost reports for periods other than a 

12-month period. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1120 (August 2021). 
§723. Provider Reimbursement 

A. Cost Determination Definitions 
Base Rate—calculated in accordance with §723.B.5, 

plus any base rate adjustments granted in accordance with 
§723.B.7 which are in effect at the time of calculation of 
new rates or adjustments. 

Index Factor—computed by dividing the value of the 
index for December of the year preceding the rate year by 
the value of the index one year earlier (December of the 
second preceding year). 

Indices— 
a. CPI, All Items—the Consumer Price Index for 

All Urban Consumers-South Region (all items line) as 
published by the United States Department of Labor. 

b. CPI, Medical Services—the Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban Consumers-South Region (medical 
services line) as published by the United States Department 
of Labor. 

Rate Component—the rate is the summation of the 
following: 

a. direct care;  
b. care related costs; 
c. administrative and operating costs;  
d. property costs; and 
e. transportation costs. 

B. Rate Determination 
1. The base rate is calculated based on the most recent 

audited or desk reviewed cost for all ADHC providers filing 
acceptable full year cost reports. The rates are based on cost 
components appropriate for an economic and efficient 
ADHC providing quality service. The participant per quarter
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hour rates represent the best judgment of the state to provide 
reasonable and adequate reimbursement required to cover 
the costs of economic and efficient ADHC. 

2. For rate periods between rebasing, the rates will be 
trended forward using the index factor contingent upon 
appropriation by the legislature. 

3. The median costs for each component are 
multiplied in accordance with §723.B.4 then by the 
appropriate index factors for each successive year to 
determine base rate components. For subsequent years, the 
components thus computed become the base rate 
components to be multiplied by the appropriate index 
factors, unless they are adjusted as provided in §723.B.6 
below. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the state legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 
The inflationary adjustment shall be made prorating 
allocated funds based on the weight of the rate components. 

4. The inflated median shall be increased to establish 
the base rate median component as follows. 

a. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 

b. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 

c. The administrative and operating median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the administrative 
and operating base rate component. 

5. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

6. Formulae. Each median cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 

a. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care 
allowable quarter hour costs from all acceptable full year 
cost reports, except those for which an audit disclaimer has 
been issued, shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The 
cost at the midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. 
Should there be an even number of arrayed cost, an average 
of the two midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The 
median cost shall be trended forward by dividing the value 
of the consumer price index-medical services (south region) 
index for December of the year preceding the rate year by 
the value of the index for the December of the year 
preceding the cost report year. The direct care rate 
component shall be set at 115 percent of the inflated median. 

b. Care Related Cost Component. Care related 
allowable quarter hour costs from all acceptable full year 
cost reports, except those for which an audit disclaimer has 
been issued, shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The 
cost of the center at the midpoint of the array shall be the 
median cost. Should there be an even number of arrayed 
cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be the 
median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward by 
the value of the consumer price index-all items (south 
region) index for December of the year preceding the rate 
year by the value of the index for the December of the year 
preceding the cost report year. The care related rate 
component shall be set at 105 percent of the inflated median. 

c. Administrative and Operating Cost Component. 
Administrative and operating allowable quarter hour cost 
from all acceptable full year cost reports, except those for 
which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be arrayed 
from lowest to highest. The cost of the midpoint of the array 
shall be the median cost. Should there be an even number of 
arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be 
the median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward 
by dividing the value of the CPI-all items (south region) 
index for December of the year preceding the base rate year 
by the value of the index for the December of the year 
preceding the cost report year. The administrative and 
operating rate component shall be set at 105 percent of the 
inflated median. 

d. Property Cost Component. The property 
allowable quarter hour costs from all acceptable full year 
cost reports, except those for which an audit disclaimer has 
been issued, shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The 
cost at the midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. 
Should there be an even number of arrayed cost, an average 
of the two midpoint centers shall be the median cost. This 
will be the rate component. Inflation will not be added to 
property costs. 

e. Transportation Cost Component. The 
transportation allowable quarter hour costs from all 
acceptable full year cost reports, except those for which an 
audit disclaimer has been issued, will be calculated on a 
provider by provider basis. Should a provider not have filed 
an acceptable full year cost report, the provider’s 
transportation cost will be reimbursed as follows. 
 i. New provider, as described in §723.E.1, will be 
reimbursed in an amount equal to the statewide allowable 
quarter hour median transportation costs. 

(a). In order to calculate the statewide allowable 
quarter hour median transportation costs, all acceptable full 
year cost reports, except those for which an audit disclaimer 
has been issued, shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The 
cost at the midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. 
Should there be an even number of arrayed cost, an average 
of the two midpoint centers shall be the median cost. This 
will be the rate component. Inflation will not be added to 
transportation costs. 
 ii. Providers that have gone through a change of 
ownership (CHOW), as described in §723.E.2, will be 
reimbursed for transportation costs based upon the previous 
owner’s specific allowable quarter hour transportation costs 
for the period of time between the effective date of the 
CHOW and the first succeeding base year in which the new 
owner could possibly file an allowable 12-month cost report. 
Thereafter, the new owner’s data will be used to determine 
the provider’s rate following the procedures specified in this 
Rule. 
 iii. Providers that have been issued an audit 
disclaimer, or have a non-filer status, as described in 
§723.E.3, will be reimbursed for transportation costs at a 
rate equal to the lowest allowable quarter hour transportation 
cost (excluding providers with no transportation costs) in the 
state as of the most recent audited and/or desk reviewed rate 
database. 
 iv. For rate periods between rebasing years, if a 
provider discontinues transportation services and reported no
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transportation costs on the most recently audited or desk 
reviewed cost report, no center specific transportation rate 
will be added to the center’s total rate for the rate year. 

7. Budgetary Constraint Rate Adjustment. Effective 
for the rate period July 1, 2011 to July 1, 2012, the allowable 
quarter hour rate components for direct care, care related, 
administrative and operating, property, and transportation 
shall be reduced by 10.8563 percent. 

8.  Interim Adjustments to Rates. If an unanticipated 
change in conditions occurs that affects the cost of at least 
50 percent of the enrolled ADHC providers by an average of 
5 percent or more, the rate may be changed. The department 
will determine whether or not the rates should be changed 
when requested to do so by 25 percent or more of the 
enrolled providers, or an organization representing at least 
25 percent of the enrolled providers. The burden of proof as 
to the extent and cost effect of the unanticipated change will 
rest with the entities requesting the change. The department 
may initiate a rate change without a request to do so. 
Changes to the rates may be temporary adjustments or base 
rate adjustments as described below. 

a. Temporary Adjustments. Temporary adjustments 
do not affect the base rate used to calculate new rates. 
 i. Changes Reflected in the Economic Indices. 
Temporary adjustments may be made when changes which 
will eventually be reflected in the economic indices, such as 
a change in the minimum wage, a change in FICA or a utility 
rate change, occur after the end of the period covered by the 
indices(i.e., after the December preceding the rate 
calculation). Temporary adjustments are effective only until 
the next annual base rate calculation. 
 ii. Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum 
adjustments may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay, such as a 
change in certification standards mandating additional 
equipment or furnishings. Such adjustments shall be subject 
to the bureau’s review and approval of costs prior to 
reimbursement. 

b. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment 
will result in a new base rate component value that will be 
used to calculate the new rate for the next fiscal year. A base 
rate adjustment may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment is not one that would be reflected in the indices. 

9. Provider Specific Adjustment. When services 
required by these provisions are not made available to the 
participant by the provider, the department may adjust the 
prospective payment rate of that specific provider by an 
amount that is proportional to the cost of providing the 
service. This adjustment to the rate will be retroactive to the 
date that is determined by the department that the provider 
last provided the service and shall remain in effect until the 
department validates, and accepts in writing, an affidavit that 
the provider is then providing the service and will continue 
to provide that service. 

C. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component shall 
be subject to cost settlement. The direct care floor shall be 
equal to 70 percent of the median direct care rate component 
trended forward for direct care services (plus 70 percent of 
any direct care incentive added to the rate). The Medicaid 
Program will recover the difference between the direct care 
floor and the actual direct care amount expended. If a 
provider receives an audit disclaimer, the cost settlement for 

that year will be based on the difference between the direct 
care floor and the lowest direct care per diem of all centers 
in the most recent audited and/or desk reviewed database. If 
the lowest direct care per diem of all centers in the most 
recent audited and/or desk reviewed database is lower than 
50 percent of the direct care rate paid for that year, 50 
percent of the direct care rate paid will be used as the 
provider’s direct care per diem for settlement purposes. 

D. Support Coordination Services Reimbursement. 
Support coordination services previously provided by 
ADHC providers and included in the rate, including the 
interRAI Home Care assessment, the social assessment, the 
nursing assessment, the plan of care (POC) and home visits 
are no longer the responsibility of the ADHC provider. 
Support coordination services shall be provided as a separate 
service covered in the waiver programs. As a result of the 
change in responsibilities, the rate paid to ADHC providers 
was adjusted accordingly. 

E. New Centers, Changes of Ownership of Existing 
Centers, and Existing Centers with Disclaimer or Non-Filer 
Status. 

1. New centers are those entities whose beds have not 
previously been certified to participate, or otherwise have 
participated, in the Medicaid program. New centers will be 
reimbursed in accordance with this Rule and receiving the 
direct care, care related, administrative and operating, 
property rate components as determined in §723.B.1-6. 
These new centers will also receive the state-wide average 
transportation rate component, as calculated in 
§723.B.6.e.i.(a), effective the preceding July 1. 

2. A change of ownership exists if the beds of the new 
owner have previously been certified to participate, or 
otherwise have participated, in the Medicaid program under 
the previous owner’s provider agreement. Rates paid to 
centers that have undergone a change in ownership will be 
based upon the rate paid to the previous owner for all rate 
components. Thereafter, the new owner’s data will be used 
to determine the center’s rate following the procedures in 
this Rule. 

3. Existing providers that have been issued an audit 
disclaimer, or are a provider who has failed to file a 
complete cost report in accordance with §711, will be 
reimbursed based upon the statewide allowable quarter hour 
median costs for the direct care, care related, administrative 
and operating, and property rate components as determined 
in §723.B.1-7. No inflation or median adjustment factor will 
be included in these components. The transportation 
component will be reimbursed as described in §723.B.6.e.iii. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging 
and Adult Services, LR 47:1120 (August 2021). 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 3.  Adult Day Health Care 

Chapter 29. Reimbursement 
§2901. General Provisions 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:626 (June 1985), amended LR 13:181 (March 1987), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 23:1154 (September 
1997), repromulgated LR 30:2041 (September 2004), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 32:2257 (December 2006), 
LR 34:2164 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2569 
(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 37:2625 (September 2011), LR 
39:2497 (September 2013), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 47:1122 (August 2021). 
§2903. Cost Reporting 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2164 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2569 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37:2626 (September 2011), LR 41:379 
(February 2015), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2905. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2166 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2571 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37:2626 (September 2011), amended LR 
41:381 (February 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 43:324 (February 2017), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office 
of Aging and Adult Services, LR 47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2907. Allowable Costs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2168 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2573 (December 
2008), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2909. Non-allowable Costs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2169 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2573 (December

2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 41:382 (February 2015), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office 
of Aging and Adult Services, LR 47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2911. Audits 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2169 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2574 (December 
2008), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2913. Exclusions from the Database 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2170 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2574 (December 
2008), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
47:1123 (August 2021). 
§2915. Provider Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2170 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2575 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 37:2157 (July 2011), LR 37:2627 (September 
2011), repromulgated LR 38:1594 (July 2012), amended LR 39:507 
(March 2013), LR 41:382 (February 2015), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office 
of Aging and Adult Services, LR 47:1123 (August 2021). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2108#033 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health Program 
Durable Medical Equipment 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has repealed the following uncodified rules in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act: 
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Register Date Title 

Register 
Volume, 
Number 

Page 
Number 

October 20, 1984 Kangaroo Pump 
Vol. 10,  
No. 10 

802 

June 20, 2004 
Durable Medical 

Equipment Program 
HIPAA Implementation 

Vol. 30,  
No. 6 

1210 

 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2108#034 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for 
Persons with Intellectual Disabilities 

Reimbursement Methodology 
Direct Care Floor Recoupment 

(LAC 50:VII.32901) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:VII.32901 as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A.  Non-State Facilities 
§32901. Cost Reports 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Direct Care Floor 

1. - 4. ... 
5. Upon completion of desk reviews or audits, 

facilities will be notified by the bureau of any changes in 
amounts due based on audit or desk review adjustments. 

a. Direct care floor recoupment as a result of a 
facility not meeting the required direct care per diem floor is 
considered effective 30 days from the issuance of the 
original notice of determination. Should an informal 
reconsideration be requested, the recoupment will be 
considered effective 30 days from the issuance of the results 
of an informal hearing. The filing of a timely and adequate 
notice of an administrative appeal does not suspend or delay 
the imposition of a recoupment(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1592 (July 2005), repromulgated LR 
31:2252 (September 2005), amended LR 33:461 (March 2007), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 44:1446 (August 2018), LR 46:28 (January 2020), 
LR 47:1124 (August 2021). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2108#035 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Targeted Case Management 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapters 101-117) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities have amended LAC 50:XV.Chapters 101-113 
and 117, and repealed Chapter 115 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 7.  Targeted Case Management 

Chapter 101. General Provisions 
§10101. Program Description 

A. This Subpart 7 governs the provision of case 
management services to targeted population groups and 
certain home and community based services waiver groups. 
The primary objective of case management is the attainment 
of the personal outcomes identified in the recipient’s 
comprehensive plan of care. All case management agencies 
shall be required to incorporate personal outcome measures 
in the development of comprehensive plans of care and to 
implement procedures for self-evaluation of the agency. All 
case management agencies shall comply with the policies 
contained in this Subpart 7. Case management is defined as 
services provided to individuals to assist them in gaining 
access to the full range of needed services including: 

1. - 4. ... 
B. The department utilizes a broker model of case 

management in which recipients are referred to other 
agencies for the specific services they need. These services 
are determined by individualized planning with the 
recipient’s family or legal guardian and other 
persons/professionals deemed appropriate. Services are 
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provided in accordance with a written comprehensive plan 
of care which includes measurable person-centered 
outcomes. 

C. Recipient Freedom of Choice. Recipients have the 
right to select the provider of their case management 
services from among those available agencies enrolled to 
participate in the program. If the recipient fails to respond 
the department shall automatically assign them to an 
available provider. Recipients who are auto-assigned may 
change once, after 30 days but before 45 days of auto 
assignment, to an available provider. 

D. Recipients shall be linked to a case management 
agency for a six-month period before they can transfer to 
another agency unless there is good cause for the transfer. 
Approval of good cause shall be made by the LDH case 
management administrator. Good cause is determined to 
exist under the following circumstances: 

1. the recipient moves to another LDH region; or 
2. ... 

E. Recipients who are age 25 and under and require 
ventilator assisted care may receive their case management 
services through the Children’s Hospital Ventilator Assisted 
Care Program. 

F. Monitoring. The Department of Health and the 
Department of Health and Human Services have the 
authority to monitor and audit all case management agencies 
in order to determine continued compliance with the rules, 
policies, and procedures governing case management 
services. 

G. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 19:648 (May 1993), LR 23:732 (June 1997), 
repealed and promulgated LR 25:1251 (July 1999), repromulgated 
for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1036 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office 
for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 32:1607 
(September 2006), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1124 (August 2021). 
Chapter 103. Core Elements 
§10301. Services 

A. - A.1. ... 
2. Case Management Assessment. Assessment is the 

process of gathering and integrating formal and informal 
information regarding a recipient's goals, strengths, and 
needs to assist in the development of a person centered 
comprehensive plan of care. The purpose of the assessment 
is to assess support needs of the recipient for the provision of 
supports. The assessment shall be performed in the 
recipient’s home or another location that the recipient’s 
family or legal guardian chooses. 

3. Comprehensive Plan of Care Development. The 
comprehensive plan of care (CPOC) is a written plan based 
upon assessment data (which may be multidisciplinary), 
observations and other sources of information which reflect 
the recipient's needs, capacities and priorities. The CPOC 
attempts to identify the supports required and the resources 
available to meet these needs. 

a. The CPOC shall be developed through a 
collaborative process involving the recipient, family or legal 
guardian, case manager, other support systems, appropriate 
professionals, and service providers. It shall be developed in 
the presence of the recipient; therefore, it cannot be 
completed prior to a meeting with the recipient. The 
recipient, family or legal guardian, case manager, support 
system and appropriate professional personnel shall be 
directly involved and agree to assume specific functions and 
responsibilities. 

b. The CPOC shall be completed and submitted for 
approval within 60 calendar days of the referral for case 
management services for initial CPOCs. 

4. Case Management Linkage. Linkage is assignment 
of the case management agency (CMA) to an individual. The 
CMA is responsible for the arranging of services agreed 
upon with the recipient and identified in the CPOC. Upon 
the request of the recipient or responsible party, attempts 
shall be made to meet service needs with informal resources 
as much as possible.  

5. Case Management Follow-Up/Monitoring. Follow-
up/monitoring is the mechanism used by the case manager to 
assure the appropriateness of the CPOC. Through follow-
up/monitoring activity, the case manager not only 
determines the effectiveness of the CPOC in meeting the 
recipient's needs, but identifies when changes in the 
recipient's status necessitate a revision in the CPOC. The 
purpose of follow-up/monitoring contacts is to determine: 

a. if supports are being delivered as planned; 
b. if supports are effective and adequate to meet the 

recipient’s needs; and 
c. whether the recipient is satisfied with the 

supports. 
6. Case Management Reassessment. Reassessment is 

the process by which the baseline assessment is reviewed 
and information is gathered for evaluating and revising the 
overall CPOC. At least every quarter, a complete review of 
the CPOC shall be performed to assure that the goals and 
services are appropriate to the recipient's needs as identified 
in the assessment/reassessment process. A reassessment is 
also required when a major change occurs in the status of the 
recipient and/or his family or legal guardian. 

7. Case Management Transition/Closure 
a. Provided that the recipient has satisfied the 

requirements of linkage under §10301.A.4, discharge from a 
case management agency shall occur when the recipient: 

i. - iv. ... 
b. The closure process shall ease the transition to 

other services or care systems. The agency shall not retaliate 
in any way against the recipient for terminating services or 
transferring to another agency for case management 
services. 

B. In addition to the provision of the core elements, a 
minimum of one home visit per quarter is required for all 
recipients of optional targeted and waiver case management 
services with the exception of individuals participating in 
either the Children’s Choice Waiver or the Supports Waiver. 
The Children’s Choice Waiver requires an in-home visit 
within six to nine months of the start of a plan of care. 
Additionally, an in-home visit is required for the annual 
planning meeting. For Supports Waiver, the in-home visit is 
required once a year. The remaining quarterly visit may 
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occur at the vocational agency’s location. The agency shall 
ensure that more frequent home visits are performed if 
indicated in the recipient’s CPOC. The purpose of the home 
visit, if it is determined necessary, is to: 

1. - 3. ... 
C. The case management agency shall monitor service 

providers quarterly through telephone monitoring, on-site 
observation of service visits and review of the service 
providers’ records. The agency shall also ensure that the 
service provider and recipient are given a copy of the 
recipient’s most current CPOC and any subsequent updates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986) amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 19:648 (May 1993), LR 23:732 (June 1997), 
repealed and promulgated LR 25:1251 (July 1999), repromulgated 
LR 30:1036 (May 2004),amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1125 (August 2021). 
Chapter 105. Provider Participation 
§10501. Participation Requirements 

A. In order to participate as a case management services 
provider in the Medicaid Program, an agency shall comply 
with: 

1. ... 
2. provider enrollment; 
3. ... 
4. the specific terms of individual performance 

agreements. 
B. The participation of case management agencies 

providing service to targeted and waiver populations shall be 
limited contingent on the approval of a 1915(b)(4) waiver by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service (CMS). 

C. The following are enrollment requirements applicable 
to all case management agencies, regardless of the targeted 
or waiver group served. Failure to comply with these 
requirements may result in sanctions and/or recoupment and 
disenrollment. The agency shall: 

1. demonstrate direct experience in successfully 
serving the target population and shall have demonstrated 
knowledge of available community services and methods for 
accessing them including: 

a. the maintenance of a current file containing 
community resources available to the target population and 
established linkages with those resources; 

b. demonstrating knowledge of the eligibility 
requirements and application procedures for federal, state, 
and local government assistance programs which are 
applicable to the target population served; 

c. the employ of sufficient number of case manager 
and supervisory staff to comply with the staff coverage, 
staffing qualifications and maximum caseload size 
requirements described in §§10503, Provider 
Responsibilities and 10701, Reimbursement. 

2. demonstrate administrative capacity and financial 
resources to provide all core elements of case management 
services and ensure effective service delivery in accordance 
with LDH licensing and programmatic requirements; 

3. submit a yearly audit of case management costs 
only and have no outstanding or unresolved audit 
disclaimer(s) with LDH; 

4. assure that all agency staff is employed in 
accordance with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and 
Department of Labor regulations. The subcontracting of 
individual case managers and/or supervisors is prohibited. 
However, those agencies who have Medicaid 
contracts/performance agreements for case management 
services may subcontract with another licensed case 
management agency for case manager and/or supervisory 
staff if prior approval has been obtained from the 
department; 

5. assure that all new staff satisfactorily completes an 
orientation and training program in the first 90 days of 
employment. All case managers shall attend all training 
mandated by the department. Each case manager and 
supervisor shall satisfactorily complete case management 
related training annually to meet the minimum training 
requirements; 

6. submit to the local governing entity (LGE) an 
agency quality assurance plan (QAP) for approval within 90 
days of enrollment. Six months following approval of the 
QAP and annually thereafter, the agency shall submit an 
agency self-evaluation in accordance with departmental 
guidelines; 

7. document and maintain recipient records in 
accordance with federal and state regulations governing 
confidentiality and licensing requirements; 

8. assure the recipient's right to elect to receive or 
terminate case management services (except for recipients in 
any OCDD waiver). Assure that each recipient is offered 
freedom of choice in the selection of an available case 
management agency (per agency policy); 

9. assure that the agency and case managers shall not 
provide case management and Medicaid reimbursed direct 
services to the same recipient(s) unless by an affiliate agency 
with a separate board of directors; 

10. with the recipient’s permission, agree to maintain 
regular contact, share relevant information and coordinate 
medical services with the recipient’s qualified licensed 
physician or other licensed health care practitioner who is 
acting within the scope of practice of his/her respective 
licensing board(s) and/or certification(s); 

11. demonstrate the capacity to participate in the 
department’s electronic data gathering system(s). All 
requirements for data submittal shall be followed and 
participation is required for all enrolled case management 
agencies. The software is the property of the department; 

12. complete management reports; and 
13. assure that all current and potential employees, 

contractors and other agents and affiliates have not been 
excluded from participation in any federal health care 
program by checking the Department of Health and Human 
Services’ Office of Inspector General website and the LDH 
Adverse Actions website upon hire and monthly thereafter. 
Potential employees must also have a satisfactory response 
to a criminal background check as required by the 
EarlySteps program. 

D. - D.12. Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986) amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 23:732 (June 1997) repealed and promulgated LR 
25:1251 (July 1999), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports 
and Services, LR 29:38 (January 2003), repromulgated for 
inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1037 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office 
of Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 32:1608 
(September 2006), amended LR 34:663 (April 2008), amended by 
the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and 
the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 
47:1126 (August 2021). 
§10503. Provider Responsibilities 

A. In order to be reimbursed by the Medicaid Program, 
an enrolled provider of targeted or waiver case management 
service shall comply with all of the requirements listed in 
this §10503. 

B. Case management agencies shall maintain sufficient 
staff to serve recipients within the mandated caseload size of 
35 with a supervisor to staff ratio of no more than eight case 
managers per supervisor. Agencies have the option to submit 
a written request to OCDD if they would like to exceed the 
35 recipient maximum caseload per case manager on a time-
limited basis. All exceptions to the maximum caseload size 
or full-time employment of staff requirements shall be prior 
authorized by the OCDD State Office Waiver 
Director/designee. All case managers shall be employed by 
the agency at least 40 hours per week and work at least 50 
percent of the time during normal business hours (8 a.m. to 5 
p.m., Monday through Friday). Case management 
supervisors shall be full-time employees and shall be 
continuously available to case managers. The agency shall 
have a written policy to ensure service coverage for all 
recipients during the normal absences of case managers and 
supervisors or prior to the filling of vacated staff positions. 

C. The agency shall maintain a toll-free telephone 
number to ensure that recipients have access to case 
management services 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 
Recipients shall be able to reach an actual person in case of 
an emergency, not a recording. 

D. ... 
1. Each case management agency shall have a written 

job description and consultation plan that describes how the 
nurse consultant shall participate in the comprehensive plan 
of care (CPOC) development for medically complex 
individuals and others as indicated by the high risk 
indicators. 

2. ... 
3. The nurse consultant shall be available to the case 

management agency at least four hours per week. 
E. Records. All agency records shall be maintained in an 

accessible, standardized order and format at the LDH 
enrolled office site. The agency shall have sufficient space, 
facilities, and supplies to ensure effective record keeping. 

1. Administrative and recipient records shall be 
maintained in a manner to ensure confidentiality and 
security against loss, tampering, destruction, or unauthorized 
use. 

2. The case management agency shall retain its 
records for the longer of the following time frames: 

a. six years from the date of the last payment; or 
b. until the records are audited and all audit 

questions are answered. 
3. Agency records shall be available for review by the 

appropriate state and federal personnel at all reasonable 
times. 

F. - F.3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986) amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 23:732 (June 1997) repealed and promulgated LR 
25:1251 (July 1999), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports 
and Services, LR 29:38 (January 2003), repromulgated for 
inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1038 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1127 
(August 2021). 
§10505. Staff Education and Experience 

A. Each Medicaid-enrolled agency shall ensure that all 
staff providing case management services meet the 
qualifications required in this §10701 prior to assuming any 
full caseload responsibilities. 

B. Case managers hired or promoted on or after the 
effective date of this rule revision shall meet the following 
criteria for education and experience qualifications: 

1. a bachelor’s degree or master’s degree in social 
work from a program accredited by the Council on Social 
Work Education; or 

2. a currently licensed registered nurse (RN); or 
3. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in a human service 

related field which includes psychology education, 
counseling, social services, sociology, philosophy, family 
and consumer sciences, criminal justice, rehabilitation 
services, child development, substance abuse, gerontology, 
and vocational rehabilitation; or 

a. Repealed. 
4. a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts or general studies 

with a concentration of at least 16 hours in one of the fields 
listed in accordance with §10505.B.3. 

C. Case management supervisors hired or promoted on 
or after the effective date of this rule revision, shall meet the 
following criteria for education and experience: 

1. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in social work from 
a program accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education and two years of paid post degree experience in 
providing support coordination services; or 

2. a currently licensed registered nurse with at least 
two years of paid nursing experience; or 

3. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in a human service 
related field which includes psychology, education, 
counseling, social services, sociology, philosophy, family 
and consumer sciences, criminal justice, rehabilitation 
services, child development, substance abuse, gerontology, 
and vocational rehabilitation and two years of paid post 
degree experience in providing support coordination 
services; or 
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4. a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts or general studies 
with a concentration of at least 16 hours in one of the fields 
listed in §10505.C.3 and two years of paid post degree 
experience in providing support coordination services. 

a. Repealed. 
D. Nurse Consultant. The nurse consultant shall meet the 

following educational qualifications: 
1. - 2. ... 

E. – E.2.e. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986) amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 23:732 (June 1997) repealed and promulgated LR 
25:1251 (July 1999), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports 
and Services, LR 29:38 (January 2003), repromulgated for 
inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1038 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office 
for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 32:1608 
(September 2006), amended LR 34:663 (April 2008), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 40:1700, 1701 (September 2014), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1127 
(August 2021). 
§10507. Staff Training 

A. Training for case managers and supervisors shall be 
provided or arranged for by the case management agency. 
Agencies shall send the appropriate staff to all training 
mandated by LDH. 

B. Training for New Staff. A minimum of 16 hours of 
orientation shall be provided to all staff, volunteers, and 
students within one week of employment. A minimum of 
eight hours of the orientation training shall address the target 
population including, but not limited to, specific service 
needs, available resources and other topics. In addition to the 
required 16 hours of orientation, all new employees who 
have no documentation of previous training shall receive a 
minimum of 16 hours of training during the first 90 calendar 
days of employment related to the target population and the 
skills and techniques needed to provide case management to 
that population. 

C. Annual Training. Case managers and supervisors shall 
satisfactorily complete a minimum of 20 hours of case 
management-related training annually which may include 
updates on subjects covered in orientation and initial 
training. The 16 hours of orientation training required for 
new employees are not included in the annual training 
requirement of at least 20 hours. 

D. Documentation. All training required in Subsections 
B and C above shall be evidenced by written documentation 
and provided to the department upon request. 

E. - E.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:834 (December 1986) amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 23:732 (June 1997), repealed and promulgated (LR 
25:1251 (July 1999), amended LR 26:2796 (December 2000), LR 
26:2797 (December 2000), amended by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Community 
Supports and Services, LR 29:39 (January 2003), repromulgated 
LR 30:1039 (May 2004), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1128 (August 2021). 
Chapter 107. Reimbursement 
§10701. Reimbursement 

A. Reimbursement for case management services for the 
Infant and Toddler Program (EarlySteps): 

1. ... 
2. All services shall be prior authorized. 

B. - B.2. ... 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, 

the reimbursement rate for case management services 
provided to the following targeted populations shall be 
reduced by 1.5 percent of the rates on file as of June 30, 
2012: 

1. participants in the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment Program; and 

2. individuals with developmental disabilities who 
participate in the New Opportunities Waiver. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, 
case management services provided to participants in the 
New Opportunities Waiver shall be reimbursed at a flat rate 
for each approved unit of service. 

1. The standard unit of service is equivalent to one 
month and covers both service provision and administrative 
(overhead) costs. 

a. Service provision includes the core elements in: 
 i. §10301 of this Chapter; 
 ii. the case management manual; and 
 iii. performance agreements. 

2. All services shall be prior authorized. 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2018, 

case management services provided to participants in the 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Program shall be reimbursed at a flat rate for each 
approved unit of service. The standard of service is 
equivalent to one month. 

E.1. - L. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1040 (May 2004), amended LR 31:2032 
(August 2005), LR 35:73 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1903 (September 2009), LR 36:1783 (August 
2010), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Public 
Health, LR 39:97 (January 2013), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:3302 (December 2013), LR 40:1700, 1701 (September 2014), 
LR 41:1490 (August 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44:63 (January 2018), LR 
47:1128 (August 2021). 
§10703. Cost Reports 

A. Case management agencies shall provide annual cost 
reports based on the state fiscal year, July 1 through June 30. 
Completed reports are due within 90 calendar days after the 
end of each state fiscal year or by September 28 of each 
calendar year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:73 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1128 
(August 2021). 
Chapter 109. Infants and Toddlers 
§10901. Introduction 

A. This Chapter authorizes federal financial participation 
in the funding of optional targeted case management service 
for title XIX eligible infants and toddlers who are ages birth 
through 2 inclusive (0-36 months) who have a 
developmental delay or established medical condition 
associated with developmental delay according to the 
definition contained in part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act, Sec.635(a)(1) [20 USC 1435 
(a)(1)] and as further defined in Title 34 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Part 303, Section 21 (infant or toddler 
with a disability). 

B. - B.4. ... 
C. Definitions 

* * * 
Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)—a written 

plan that is developed jointly by the family and service 
providers which identifies the necessary services to enhance 
the development of the child as well as the family’s capacity 
to meet the needs of their child. The IFSP shall be based on 
the multidisciplinary evaluation and assessment of the child 
and the family’s identification of their strengths and needs. 
The initial IFSP shall be developed within 45 days following 
the referral to the regional system point of entry office with 
periodic reviews conducted at least every six months and an 
annual evaluation to review and revise the IFSP as 
appropriate. 

Multidisciplinary Evaluation (MDE)—the involvement 
of two or more disciplines or professions in the provision of 
integrated and coordinated diagnostic procedures to 
determine a child’s eligibility for early intervention services. 
The evaluation shall include all major developmental areas 
including cognitive development, physical development 
including: 

a. ... 
b. hearing and communication development; 
c. social-emotional development; 
d. - f. ... 

Parent—the term parent/legal guardian when used 
throughout this Subpart specifically in reference to parents 
or legal guardians of infants and toddlers aged birth through 
2 inclusive (0-36 months) and having a developmental delay 
or an established medical condition associated with 
developmental delay refers to the definition of parent 
according to the Individuals with Disabilities Act, Part C and 
its accompanying regulations for Early Intervention 
Programs for Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities and 
therefore means the following: 

a. a biological or adoptive parent of a child; 

b. a foster parent, unless State law, regulations, or 
contractual obligations with a State or local entity prohibit a 
foster parent from acting as a parent; 

c. a guardian generally authorized to act as the 
child’s parent or authorized to make early intervention, 
educational, health, or developmental decisions for the child 
(but not the State if the child is a ward of the State); 

d. an individual acting in the place of a biological or 
adoptive parent (including grandparent, stepparent, or other 
relative) with whom the child lives, or an individual who is 
legally responsible for the child’s welfare; or 

e. a surrogate parent who has been appointed in 
accordance with 34 CFR 303.422 or with the Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act, Sec. 639(a)(5) [20 USC 
1439(a)(5)]. 

NOTE: When more than one party is qualified under the 
definition contained in this Subsection to act as the parent, the 
biological or adoptive parent must be presumed to be the 
parent for purposes of Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act, when attempting to act as the 
parent under this definition, unless the biological or adoptive 
does not have legal authority to make educational or early 
intervention services decisions for the child. If a judicial 
decree or order identifies a specific person or persons under 
this subsection to act as the parent of a child to make 
educational or early intervention service decisions on behalf of 
the child, then the person or persons must be determined to be 
the parent for purposes of Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act, except that if an early intervention 
services (EIS) provider or a public agency provides any 
services to a child or any family member of that child, that EIS 
provider or public agency may not act as a parent for that 
child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 18:849 (August 1992), amended LR 20:18 
(January 1994), repromulgated for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1040 
(May 2004), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1129 (August 2021). 
§10903. Staff Qualifications 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 18:849 (August 1992), amended LR 20:18 
(January 1994), repromulgated for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1040 
(May 2004), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1129 (August 2021). 
§10905. Staff Training 

A. The provider shall ensure that Medicaid-funded 
family service coordination services for eligible 
beneficiaries are provided by qualified individuals who meet 
the following training requirements: 

1. satisfactory completion of at least 16 hours of 
orientation prior to performing any family service 
coordination tasks and an additional 24 hours of related
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training during the first 90 days of employment. The 16 
hours of orientation cover the following subjects: 

 
Agency Specific Training—Eight Hours 

1 hour Child identification abuse reporting law, emergency and 
safety procedures 

3 hours Facility personnel policy 
4 hours Orientation to agency policy, including billing and 

documentation 
EarlySteps Specific Training—Eight Hours 

1 hour Components of the EarlySteps system 
1 1/2 hours Orientation to family needs and participation 
2 hours Interagency agreement/focus and team building 
1 hour Early intervention services (definition and resources) 
1 hour Child search and family service coordinator roles and 

responsibilities 
1 1/2 hours  Multidisciplinary evaluation (MDE) and individualized 

Family service plan (IFSP) overview. 

 
2. The 24 hours of training to be completed within the 

first 90 days shall cover the following advanced subjects: 
a. state structure for EarlySteps, child search and 

early intervention service programs; 
b. - j. ... 

B. In-service training specific to EarlySteps is to be 
arranged and coordinated by the regional infant and toddler 
coordinator and specific training content shall be approved 
by a subcommittee of the state Interagency Coordinating 
Council, including members from at least the Medicaid 
agency and the Department of Education. Advanced training 
in specific subjects (i.e., multidisciplinary evaluations and 
individualized family service plans) shall be completed by 
the new family service coordinator prior to assuming those 
duties. 

C. The provider shall ensure that each family service 
coordinator has completed the required orientation and 
advanced training during the first 90 days of employment 
and at least 20 hours of approved in-service education in 
family service coordination and related areas annually. 

D. The provider shall ensure that family service 
coordinators are supervised by qualified individuals who 
meet the following licensure, education, experience, 
training, and other requirements: 

1. satisfactorily completion of at least the 20 hours of 
family service coordination and related orientation required 
of family service coordinators during the first 90 days of 
employment before assuming supervision of any family 
service coordination; 

2. supervisors shall also complete 20 hours of in-
service training each year on such subjects as: 

a. - c. ... 
E. The provider shall sign a notarized letter of assurance 

that the requirements of Louisiana Medicaid are met. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 18:849 (August 1992), amended LR 19:648 
(May 1993), LR 20:18 (January 1994), repromulgated for inclusion 
in LAC, LR 30:1040 (May 2004), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1129 (August 
2021). 

Chapter 113. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment 

§11301. Introduction 
A. This Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment (EPSDT) targeted population shall consist of 
recipients who are between the ages of 0 and 21 years old, 
on the Request for Services Registry, and meet the specified 
eligibility criteria. The point of entry for targeted EPSDT 
case management services shall be the state Medicaid data 
contractor for EPSDT case management services. However, 
for those recipients under 3 years of age, case management 
services shall continue to be provided through EarlySteps, 
for eligible children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 26:2797 (December 2000), repromulgated 
for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1042 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1130 
(August 2021). 
§11303. Recipient Qualifications 

A. In order to be eligible to receive case management 
services, the EPSDT recipient shall be between the age of 0 
and 21 and meet one of the following criteria: 

1. placement on the Request for Services Registry and 
determined to be eligible for OCDD services through the 
statement of approval process; or 

2. for those who do not meet eligibility, or who are not 
undergoing eligibility determination, may still receive case 
management services if they meet the definition of a person 
with special needs. 

a. Special Needs—a documented, established 
medical condition, as determined by a licensed physician or 
other qualified licensed health care practitioner in 
accordance with §10501.C.10, that has a high probability of 
resulting in a developmental delay or that gives rise to a 
need for multiple medical, social, educational, and other 
services. In the case of a hearing impairment, the 
determination of special needs must be made by a licensed 
audiologist or physician or other qualified licensed health 
care practitioner in accordance with §10501.C.10. 

3. Documentation that substantiates that the EPSDT 
recipient meets the definition of special needs for case 
management services includes, but is not limited to: 

a. ... 
b. receipt of regular services from one or more 

physicians or other qualified licensed health care practitioner 
in accordance with §10501.C.10; or 

c. ... 
d. a report by the recipient’s physician or other 

qualified licensed health care practitioner in accordance with 
§10501.C.10 of multiple health or family issues that impact 
the recipient’s ongoing care; or 

e. a determination of developmental delay based 
upon: 
 i. ... 
 ii. the Brigance Screens; 
 iii. - v. ... 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 26:2797 (December 2000) repromulgated 
for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1042 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1130 
(August 2021). 
Chapter 115. Foster Care and Family Support Worker 

Services 
§11501. Introduction 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1723 (September 2015), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1131 (August 2021). 
§11503. Covered Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1723 (September 2015), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1131 (August 2021). 
§11505. Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1724 (September 2015), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1131 (August 2021). 
Chapter 117. Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 
§11701. Introduction 

A. The targeted population for case management services 
shall consist of individuals with intellectual disabilities who 
are participants in the New Opportunities Waiver. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 16:312 (April 1990), amended LR 23:732 
(June 1997), repealed and promulgated LR 25:1251 (July 1999), 
repromulgated for inclusion in LAC, LR 30:1043 (May 2004), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 
32:1608 (September 2006), amended LR 34:664 (April 2008), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 47:1131 (August 2021). 
§11703. Electronic Visit Verification 

A. An electronic visit verification (EVV) system shall be 
used for verifying in-home or face-to-face visit requirements 
for case management services. 

1. Case management providers identified by the 
department shall use the (EVV) system designated by the 
department; 

2. Reimbursement for services may be withheld or 
denied if a provider: 

a. fails to use the EVV system; or 

b. uses the system not in compliance with 
Medicaid’s policies and procedures for EVV. 

3. Requirements for proper use of the EVV system are 
outlined in the respective program’s guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 47:1131 (August 
2021). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2108#036 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Physical Therapy Board 

Licensing and Certification (LAC 46:LIV.Chapters 1-3) 

The Louisiana Physical Therapy board, in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 
37:2405, has amended Professional and Occupational 
Standards: Physical Therapy Board, LAC 46:LIV.115, 121, 
123, 145, 147, 151, 153, 155, 157, 159, 169, 171,175, 180, 
181, 183, 185, 187, 194, 195, 199, 303, 309, 311, 319, 325, 
331, 333, 337, 341, 345, 357, 387, 392, 396 and 397.  

The changes to the language found in Louisiana 
Administrative Code (LAC) 46:LIV.115, 121, 123, 145.B, 
153, 155.A, 169.A, 180.F, 185, 187.E.6 and 7, 195, 309, 319, 
333, 337 341.A.6, 341.D, 345.B, 357, 387C.1, 392, 396 and 
397.A do not have substantial changes to any application of 
these rules.  

The board voted to change license application 
requirements, renewal exemptions and types of license 
application rules. Most of the changes do not change 
operations, but the board voted on some licensure 
application changes that will improve board operations and 
efficiencies in board processes. First, to add a requirement 
for applicants to complete the physical therapy minimum 
data set [Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) 46:LIV.151, 
181 and 187.B. and E]. Pursuant to R.S. 37:2405.B.(15), the 
board has promulgated rules for the physical therapy 
minimum data set. The implementation requires technical 
changes to the application form to include a survey link and 
changes to the application form were made prior to the 2021 
renewal cycle. Second, the language changes to the 
application requirement for a signature on application (LAC 
46:LIV.151.M) will allow for the board to move toward 
completely electronic licensing applications. Finally, for 
reinstatement applications it will no longer be required that 
applicants submit verification of license from all states 
where they had previously held a license, the letters of 
character required must now be from a licensed PT or PTA 
in good standing, and those who are applying for a license 
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after being out of the profession for four years or more have 
less restrictive requirements to return to the practice. 

Substantial continuing education requirements, which 
includes the licensure renewal requirements for continuing 
education can all be completed online. Secondly, the 
continuing education requirements for dry needling 
coursework training have been reduced to 25 hours from 50 
hours of training. The purpose for this is that most of the 
training taught in dry needling continuing education is 
taught in entry-level physical therapy academic coursework. 
Continuing education course content requirements have been 
updated to reflect what is acceptable by the board in policy, 
as well as technical changes to the language of rule. Finally, 
the continuing education audit non-compliance rule has 
changed to allow licensees a period of 30 days to get in 
compliance with the requirements in rule, rather than 
automatically lapsing the licensee’s license due to non-
compliance. 

Other substantial changes to Rule include changes to 
supervision requirements and reducing other practice 
restrictions on licensees. The board has reduced the 
qualifications for a supervisor to supervise a foreign-trained 
provisional licensed individual. Furthermore, physical 
therapist assistants who are licensed by the board do not 
need to have limitations on supervising PTAs and no longer 
need one year of work experience before working in home 
health and the education settings. 

These amendments are in response to the decision made 
by the majority of members at the board meetings held 
March 10, 2021. The basis and rationale for the rules are to 
comply with R.S. 37:2405, as well as, R.S. 37:3651, R.S. 
37:2405(B)(15), and R.S. 37:2951. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS  
Part LIV.  Physical Therapy Examiners  
Subpart 1.  Licensing and Certification  

Chapter 1. Physical Therapists and Physical 
Therapists Assistants  

Subchapter A. Board Organization 
§115. Applicable Laws and Rules 

A. Board procedures and operations shall adhere to the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 and following; 
the Open Meetings Law, R.S. 42:11 and following; the 
Public Records Act, R.S. 44:1 and following; Code of 
Governmental Ethics, R.S. 42:1101 and other state and 
federal laws to which board activities are subject. 

B. As an active member of the PT Compact, the Board 
adopts the PT Compact Rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (4) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3032 
(October 2011), amended LR 47:1132 (August 2021). 
§121. Declaratory Statements 

[Formerly §351] 
A. … 

1. A request for a declaratory statement is made in the 
form of a letter to the board. The letter shall include, at 
minimum: 

a. the name and address of the requester; 
b. specific reference to the statute or rule and 

regulation to which the request relates; 
c. a concise statement of the manner in which the 

requester is aggrieved by the rule or statute or by its 
potential application to his concern. 

2. The letter shall be considered by the board within a 
reasonable period of time taking into consideration the 
complexity of the issues raised and the board’s meeting 
schedule. 

3. The declaratory statement of the board in response 
to the letter shall be in writing and shall be made available 
on the board website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:392 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3033 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2170 
(December 2018), LR 47:1132 (August 2021). 
Subchapter B. General Provisions 
§123. Definitions 

[Formerly §§103, 113, 119, 303 and 305] 
Editor’s Note: This Section was amended utilizing information 
from the Sections enumerated. The Historical Note reflects 
prior action for those enumerated Sections. A comprehensive 
revision of the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board book (LAC 
46:LIV) was effective via the board’s October 2011 Rule in 
the Louisiana Register. 

A. … 
* * * 

Clientrecipient of services, information, advice, 
education and/or recommendations for activities related to 
wellness and preventive services including conditioning, 
injury prevention, reduction of stress, or promotion of 
fitness. 

* * * 
Clinical Supervisora licensed PT or PTA in good 

standing and selected with approval of the board who 
directly supervises a CAPTE graduate pending examination 
holding a provisional license in the clinical environment. A 
clinical supervisor may directly supervise a foreign-educated 
physical therapist or foreign-educated physical therapist 
assistant while completing the period of supervised clinical 
practice requirements of §331.  

* * * 
Confidentiality―Except for the reporting requirements 

of R.S. 37:2425, all records of a PT or PTA who has 
successfully completed or is actively participating in the 
non–disciplinary alternative program (CRPTP) set forth 
herein at §357 shall not be subject to public disclosure, and 
shall not be subject to discovery in legal proceedings except 
as required by federal and state confidentiality laws and 
regulations, or order of a Court. However, the records of 
those participating in the CRPTP will be addressed with 
their employer as well as with members of the Board and 
those serving on committees of the Board, as necessary. The 
records of a PT or PTA who fails to comply with the 
program agreement or who leaves the program without 
enrolling in an alternative program in the state to which the
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practitioner moves, or who subsequently violates the 
Louisiana Physical Therapy Act or the board rules, shall not 
be deemed confidential except for those records protected by 
federal and state confidentially laws and regulations. 

* * * 
Dry Needling―a physical intervention which utilizes 

filiform needles for the treatment of neuromuscular pain and 
functional movement deficits. Dry Needling is based upon 
Western medical concepts and does not rely upon the 
meridians utilized in acupuncture and other Eastern 
practices. A physical therapy evaluation will indicate the 
location, intensity and persistence of neuromuscular pain or 
functional deficiencies in a physical therapy patient and the 
propriety for utilization of dry needling as a treatment 
intervention. Dry needling does not include the stimulation 
of auricular points. 

* * * 
Patientthe recipient of physical therapy services 

pursuant to a plan of care, treatment plan or program.  
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2407(A) and Act 535 of 2009.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:744, 745, 748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 17:662, 666 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 
1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 1995), LR 
24:39, 40 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1908 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3033 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2170 
(December 2018), LR 45:1206 (September 2019), LR 47:1132 
(August 2021). 
Subchapter E. Licensure by Reciprocity 
§145. Qualifications for Licensure by Reciprocity 

[Formerly §121] 
A. … 
B. Licensure by endorsement for members of the 

military, their spouses and dependents 
1. Applications for licensure received from members 

of the military, their spouses, or dependents, as defined by 
R.S. 37:3651, will be evaluated and processed in accordance 
with the applicable section of R.S. 37:3651.  

C. Graduates of Approved Schools of Physical Therapy 
or Physical Therapist Assisting  

1. An applicant who possesses and meets all of the 
qualifications and requirements specified by R.S. 37:2409 
and R.S. 37:2411, as interpreted by §§129-139 of this 
Chapter, but who has taken the board approved licensing 
exam in another jurisdiction, shall nonetheless be eligible for 
licensure by reciprocity in accordance with R.S. 37:2412 if 
the following requirements are satisfied:  

a. the applicant possesses, as of the time the 
application is filed and at the time the board passes upon 
such application, a current, unrestricted license in good 
standing or its equivalent issued by another jurisdiction;  

b. the applicant has not been disciplined in any 
jurisdiction for an act which would have constituted grounds 
for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
physical therapy in this state at the time the act was 
committed;  

c. the jurisdiction from whence the applicant comes 
accords a similar licensing privilege to individuals licensed 
as PTs and PTAs in Louisiana; and 

d. the requirements for licensure in the other 
jurisdiction were, at the date of licensing therein, 
substantially equal to the requirements for licensure in 
Louisiana, specifically §129, as set forth now or at the time 
of licensure in the other jurisdiction.  

D. Foreign-Educated Physical Therapist (FEPT) or 
Foreign-Educated Physical Therapist Assistant (FEPTA)  

1. An FEPT or FEPTA is eligible for licensure by 
reciprocity as a PT or PTA in accordance with R.S. 37:2412 
if the following requirements are satisfied:  

a. the applicant possesses, as of the time the 
application is filed and at the time the board passes upon 
such application, a current, unrestricted license in good 
standing or its equivalent issued by another jurisdiction; 

b. the applicant has not been disciplined in any 
jurisdiction for an act which would have constituted grounds 
for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 
physical therapy in this state at the time the act was 
committed; 

c. the jurisdiction from whence the applicant comes 
accords a similar licensing privilege to individuals licensed 
as PTs and PTAs in Louisiana; and 

d. the requirements for licensure in the other 
jurisdiction were, at the date of licensing therein, 
substantially equal to the requirements for licensure of 
foreign-educated PT and PTAs in Louisiana, specifically 
§137, as set forth now or at the time of licensure in the other 
jurisdiction. 

2. An FEPT or FEPTA who meets the requirements of 
§145.C.1 and who has engaged in the practice of physical 
therapy for a minimum of 20 hours per week for at least for 
at least one year in another jurisdiction, may be eligible for 
licensure by reciprocity as a PT or PTA without completing 
the period of supervised clinical practice as set forth in 
§137.C, at the discretion of the board. Such request shall be 
made in writing and submitted with license application and 
acceptable documentation of clinical experience.  

3. In accordance with R.S. 37:2410(6) and R.S. 
37:2411.1(6), the board may, in its discretion, mandate 
completion of a board approved self-assessment tool, 
various education activities, or supervised practice prior to 
issuance of a license by reciprocity to a foreign-educated PT 
or PTA.  

E. To be eligible for licensure under Subsections C. and 
D. of this Section, applicants shall have met the continuing 
education requirements contained in the Practice Act and/or 
board rules for the 24 months preceding their application for 
the jurisdiction where they are currently licensed and 
practicing physical therapy.  

F. An applicant for reciprocity who has a current, 
unrestricted license in good standing or its equivalent issued 
by another jurisdiction, but has not engaged in the practice 
of physical therapy in any jurisdiction or country for a 
period of four or more years may be subject to these 
additional requirements:  

1. licensee may be subject to a three-month period of 
supervised clinical practice;  
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a. if a three-month period of supervised clinical 
practice is required, a supervision agreement must be 
approved by the executive director before a provisional 
license will be issued. The supervision agreement shall be in 
force for the entire three-month supervisory period. This 
licensee may only practice in those facilities and under the 
supervision of the PT named in the approved supervision 
agreement. Any change in practice site or supervisor must be 
submitted in a revised supervision agreement prior to the 
change taking place. At the end of the supervisory period, 
the supervising PT of record shall report to the board the 
satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of the supervision 
period. If an unsatisfactory supervision period is reported by 
the supervising PT of record, the board, in its discretion, 
may require an additional three-month supervisory period; 
and  

2. completion of remedial courses which may be 
prescribed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2412 and (4) and Act 535 of 2009.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 34:1906 (September 2008), amended 
by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3039 (October 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 44:2175 (December 2018), LR 47:1133 (August 2021). 
§147. Temporary Reciprocal Provisional License 

[Formerly §151]  
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with La R.S. 

37:2410 and Act 535 of 2009.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1445 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3040 (October 
2011), repealed LR 47:1134 (August 2021). 
Subchapter F. License Application 
§151. Requirements 

[Formerly §125] 
A. - B.5. … 

6. completion of the Physical Therapy Minimum Data 
Set (PT MDS) survey  

C. … 
D. An applicant must pass the Louisiana jurisprudence 

exam. 
E. In addition to any other requirements established by 

regulation, the board may require an applicant, as a 
condition for eligibility for licensure:  

E.1. - L. … 
M. Every applicant shall personally complete, 

electronically sign, and date his application for licensure and 
oath.  

N. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2413 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy

Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1444 (July 2000), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3040 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 42:1299 
(August 2016), LR 44:2176 (December 2018), LR 47:1134 (August 
2021). 
§153. Effect of Application 

[Formerly §129] 
A. - D. … 
E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with La R.S. 

37:2413 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37:3041 (October 2011), LR 47:1134 (August 
2021). 
Subchapter G. Examination 
§155. Designation of Examination 

[Formerly §131] 
A. The examination approved by the board pursuant to 

R.S. 37:2414 shall be standardized and nationally accepted. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with La R.S. 

37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
26:1445 (July 2000) amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37:3041 (October 2011), LR 47:1134 (August 2021). 
§157. Eligibility for Examination 

[Formerly §133] 
A. An applicant must have graduated from a CAPTE 

accredited program or be enrolled in the final semester of a 
CAPTE accredited program in order to be eligible to sit for 
the examination.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3042 (October 
2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 44:2176 (December 2018), LR 47:1134 (August 2021). 
§159. Dates, Places of Examination 

[Formerly §135] 
A. The applicant will be notified of his eligibility to 

schedule the examination with an approved testing service.  
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with La 

R.S. 37:2414 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:746 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 23:1445 (July 2000), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3042 (October 
2011), LR 47:1134 (August 2021). 
§169. Passing Score 

[Formerly §145] 
A. The board adopts a criterion–referenced passing point 

of the NPTE.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A. (1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 
21:1243 (November 1995), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37:3043 (October 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 47:1134 (August 2021). 
§171. Restriction, Limitation on Examinations, 

Additional Requirements  
[Formerly §147, 153 and 155] 

A. … 
B. An applicant who has failed the examination shall be 

subject to the testing limits set by the exam vendor selected 
by the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405(A)(1) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:387, 388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), 
LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1446 (July 2000), LR 34:1907 
(September 2008),amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37:3043 (October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2177 (December 2018), LR 
47:1135 (August 2021). 
Subchapter I. License Issuance, Termination, Renewal, 

Reinstatement 
§175. Issuance of License 

[Formerly §161] 
A. … 
B. Except for applicants seeking licensure pursuant to 

§139, a license issued pursuant to examination shall be 
issued within seven days following the satisfaction of all 
requirements of §§129 and 151. A license issued pursuant to 
reciprocity under §145 shall be issued within seven days 
following satisfaction of all requirements of §145. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2415(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 
26:1446 (July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37:3044 (October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2178 (December 2018), LR 
47:1135 (August 2021). 
§180. Inactive License 

A. - D.2. … 
a. licensee may be subject to a three-month period 

of supervised clinical practice; 
 i. if a three-month period of supervised clinical 
practice is required, a supervision agreement must be 
approved by the executive director before a provisional 
license will be issued. The supervision agreement shall be in 
force for the entire three-month supervisory period. This 
licensee may only practice in those facilities and under the 
supervision of the PT named in the approved supervision 
agreement. Any change in practice site or supervisor must be 
submitted in a revised supervision agreement prior to the 

change taking place. At the end of the supervisory period, 
the supervising PT of record shall report to the board the 
satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of the supervision 
period. If an unsatisfactory supervision period is reported by 
the supervising PT of record, the board, in its discretion, 
may require an additional three-month supervisory period; 
and 

D.2.b. - E. … 
F. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2415(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2178 (December 2018), 
amended LR 47:1135 (August 2021). 
§181. Renewal of License 

[Formerly §165] 
A. Licensees shall be notified by the board of license 

renewal deadlines. Standard procedure for license renewal, 
completion of the Physical Therapy Minimum Data Set (PT 
MDS) survey and the payment of required fees is by online 
application through the board website. Upon written request, 
a renewal application shall be mailed to the licensee. Failure 
to receive notification of license renewal deadlines shall not 
be a defense for failure to timely renew a license. 

B. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2417 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3044 (October 
2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 42:1300 (August 2016), LR 44:2179 (December 2018), 
LR 47:1135 (August 2021). 
§183. Restrictions on License Renewal; Restoration 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2417 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3045 
(October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 44:2179 (December 2018), repealed LR 
47:1135 (August 2021). 
§185. Reinstatement of Suspended or Revoked License 

[Formerly §349] 
A. The board may, upon favorable vote by a majority of 

the board members present and voting, reinstate or revoke a 
suspended license. 

B. - D.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 37:3045 (October 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2179 
(December 2018), LR 47:1135 (August 2021). 
§187. Reinstatement of Lapsed License 

[Formerly §167]  
A. - B.4. … 

5. completion of the Physical Therapy Minimum Data 
Set (PT MDS) survey. 

C. - E.5. … 
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6. two letters of character recommendation from 
currently licensed physical therapists and/or physical 
therapist assistants in good standing; and 

7. completion of the Physical Therapy Minimum Data 
Set (PT MDS) survey. 

F. - G. … 
1. licensee may be subject to a three-month period of 

supervised clinical practice; 
a. if a three-month period of supervised clinical 

practice is required, a supervision agreement must be 
approved by the executive director before a provisional 
license will be issued to complete the three-month period of 
supervised clinical practice. The supervision agreement shall 
be in force for the entire three-month supervisory period. 
The licensee may only practice in those facilities and under 
the supervision of the PT named in the approved supervision 
agreement. Any change in practice site or supervisor must be 
submitted in a revised supervision agreement prior to the 
change taking place. At the end of the supervisory period, 
the supervising physical therapist shall report to the board 
the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of the 
supervision period. If an unsatisfactory supervision period is 
reported by the supervising physical therapist, the board, in 
its discretion, may require an additional three-month 
supervisory period; and 

2. completion of remedial courses which may be 
prescribed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 28:1979 (September 2002), 
LR 34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37:3045 (October 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 42:1300 (August 2016), LR 
44:2179 (December 2018), LR 47:1135 (August 2021). 
Subchapter J. Continuing Education 
§194. Biennial Requirements 

[Formerly §169] 
A. … 
B. The types of approved courses or activities and 

requirement for each are:  
1. jurisprudence―a minimum of two contact hours. 

Passage of the jurisprudence examination, which may be 
taken online, or attendance at a traditional board-sponsored 
Jurisprudence course, either of which fulfills the two-hour 
Jurisprudence requirement; 

2. … 
3. clinical and/or administrative―a minimum of 26 

contact hours of continuing education, or activities described 
in §195. 

B.4. - C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 
1995), LR 16:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37:3046 (October 2011), LR 47:1136 (August 2021). 

§195. Content Criteria 
[Formerly §169]  

A. Program content must be easily recognizable as 
pertinent to the physical therapy profession. It shall contain 
evidence-led information related to the practice of physical 
therapy or clinical outcomes. Course or activity content shall 
address physical therapy competence and practice and shall 
be designed to meet one of the following goals:  

1. … 
2. allow the licensee to enhance his knowledge and 

skills; and/or 
3. facilitate personal contribution to the advancement 

of the profession. 
B. The minimum requirement for continuing education 

contact hours shall be no less than one hour.  
C. Continuing education hours may be attained through 

the following additional activities:  
1. teaching an approved clinical/preventive course or 

activity. A licensee may receive two hours of credit for each 
contact hour approved for the course or activity, not to 
exceed 10 hours. This credit will be given only for the first 
time the course is presented, during the renewal period; 

2. ten hours of credit for an initial certification by the 
American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties; 

3. one hour of credit for every two hours spent in an 
approved post–professional clinical residency or fellowship, 
not to exceed 10 hours of credit; 

4. coursework in a postgraduate physical therapy 
curriculum, transitional DPT program, or an accredited 
college or university that meets content criteria may be 
accepted. Courses will be credited for each satisfactorily 
completed hour resulting in a grade of B or higher. One 
semester hour shall be equal to 10 contact hours. 

5. teaching in a CAPTE-accredited program. One 
semester hour shall be equal to 10 contact hours. Credit 
earned shall not exceed 10 hours. 

6. six hours of credit for completing a board-approved 
self-assessment tool. 

7. licensees serving in elected or appointed positions 
of national or state physical therapy organizations may 
obtain a maximum of five contact hours for serving in that 
role. 

8. a maximum of five hours of credit for clinical 
instructors serving as the primary clinical instructor for PT 
and PTA students or provisional licensees or serving as a 
mentor to a resident or fellow. One hour of credit may be 
earned per 120 hours of clinical instruction or residency or 
fellowship during the renewal period. Proof of clinical 
instruction or mentorship shall be documented on a form 
provided by the board and shall be signed by two of the 
following:  

a. clinical instructor or mentor; 
b. student or mentee; 
c. site coordinator of clinical education; 
d. director of clinical education; or 
e. program coordinator of the residency or 

fellowship. 
9. a maximum of five-hours credit during the renewal 

period for publication of scientific papers, abstracts, 
textbook chapters and poster or platform presentations at 
conferences relating to PT. Textbook chapter credit will be 
given only for the year of publication. 
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D. Board policy regarding submission of materials to 
demonstrate completion will be available on the board 
website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405(B)(7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 
(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 
1995), LR 16:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 
34:1907 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 37:3047 (October 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 42:1300 (August 2016), LR 
44:2179 (December 2018), LR 47:1136 (August 2021). 
§199. Noncompliance and Reinstatement 

[Formerly §175] 
A. … 
B. Notice. The board shall send written notice of 

noncompliance to a licensee requesting that the licensee 
furnish to the board within 30 days of receipt of the notice, 
the following: 

B.1. - C. … 
1. satisfactorily explains the non-compliance, his 

license may be determined to be in compliance with the CE 
Audit upon payment of an administrative fee; or 

2. does not successfully establish compliance or 
acceptable exemption from compliance with continuing 
educational requirements, he may be subject to disciplinary 
action and may be required to take the licensing examination 
and pay the fees for examination. Passage of the 
examination fulfills the continuing education requirements 
for the year the noncompliance occurred, but shall not be 
applicable for subsequent reporting periods.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (7) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
17:665 (July 1991), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37:3048 (October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 47:1137 (August 2021). 

Subpart 2.  Practice  
Chapter 3. Practice  
Subchapter A. General Provisions  
§303. Professional Standards 

[Formerly §§307 and 315] 
Editor’s Note: This Section was amended utilizing information 
from the Sections enumerated. The Historical Note reflects 
prior action for those enumerated Sections. A comprehensive 
revision of the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board book (LAC 
46:LIV) was effective via the board’s October 2011 Rule in 
the Louisiana Register. 

A. - C. … 
D. Repealed. 
E. A PTA may act as a clinical instructor for a PTA 

student, a supervisor of a PTA CAPTE provisional licensee 
pending examination, or a supervisor of a foreign-educated 
PTA (FEPTA) provisional licensee.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 21:395 (April 1995), 
LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 34:1909, 
1910 (September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, 

LR 37:3048 (October 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2180 (December 2018), LR 
47:1137 (August 2021). 
§309. Early Childhood Services  

A. - B. … 
C. Evaluation and reevaluation will be conducted in 

accordance with federal mandates under Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 
U.S.C. §1436, or when warranted by a change in the child's 
condition, and include reexamination of the child. 

D. In the provision of services for children ages 3 
through 22 in the school setting: 

1. the PT conducts appropriate screenings, 
evaluations, and assessments to determine if the student has 
a gross motor delay or a medical condition that affects gross 
motor functioning in the educational setting. 

2. Subject to the provisions of this Section, the PT 
shall implement physical therapy services in accordance 
with the recommendations accepted by the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) Team. 

3. Evaluation and reevaluation in the educational 
setting will be conducted in accordance with federal 
mandates under Part B of the Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S. Code Subchapter II, Rule 
1414, or when warranted by a change in the child's condition 
and include reexamination of the child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418 and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3049 
(October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 47:1137 (August 2021). 
§311. Treatment with Dry Needling 

A. … 
B. Dry needling is a physical therapy treatment which 

requires specialized physical therapy education and training 
for the utilization of such techniques. Prior to utilizing dry 
needling techniques in patient treatment, a PT shall have 
successfully completed a board-approved course of study 
consisting of no fewer than 25 hours of in-person, hands-on 
instruction in intramuscular dry needling treatment and 
safety. Online and other distance learning courses will not 
satisfy this requirement. Practicing dry needling without 
compliance with this requirement constitutes unprofessional 
conduct and subjects a licensee to appropriate discipline by 
the board.  

C. - E. … 
F. PT students who have met the requirements of 

paragraph B. above may practice dry needling under the 
continuous supervision of a PT who has successfully 
completed the dry needling training requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.A (8) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3049 
(October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 44:2180 (December 2018), LR 45:1206 
(September 2019), LR 47:1137 (August 2021). 
§319. Use of Telehealth in the practice of Physical 

Therapy 
A. …  
B. Individuals who are licensed physical therapists and 

physical therapist assistants in good standing in Louisiana 
may provide physical therapy via telehealth to a patient in an 
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originating site as defined in R.S. 40:1223.3 within the 
jurisdiction of Louisiana and shall follow all requirements 
for standard of practice and documentation as provided in 
the Practice Act and board rules. The standard of care for 
telehealth services shall be substantially equivalent to the 
standard of care for services delivered in person. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2405(A)(8) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2180 (December 2018), LR 
47:1137 (August 2021). 
Subchapter B. Prohibitions 
§325. Exemptions 

[Formerly §309] 
A. - C. … 
D. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 

licensed in a jurisdiction of the United States or credentialed 
in another country contracted or employed to provide 
physical therapy to patients/clients affiliated with or 
employed by established athletic teams, athletic 
organizations or performing arts companies temporarily 
practicing, competing or performing in the jurisdiction for 
no more than 60 days in a calendar year. 

E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2405(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Examiners, 
LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 34:1909 (September 2008), amended 
by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3051 (October 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, 
LR 44:2181 (December 2018), LR 47:1138 (August 2021). 
Subchapter C. Supervised Practice 
§331. Supervised Clinical Practice of Foreign-

Educated Physical Therapist Provisional 
Licensees and Foreign-Educated Physical 
Therapist Assistant Provisional Licensees 
[Formerly §§317 and 319] 

Editor’s Note: This Section was amended utilizing information 
from the Sections enumerated. The Historical Note reflects 
prior action for those enumerated Sections. A comprehensive 
revision of the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board book (LAC 
46:LIV) was effective via the board’s October 2011 Rule in 
the Louisiana Register. 

A. A clinical supervisor is subject to ratio restrictions 
pursuant to R.S. 37:2418(F)(2)(a). 

B. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2410(A) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:667 (July 1991), LR 
19:208 (February 1993), LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 
(July 2000), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3051 
(October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical 
Therapy, LR 44:2182 (December 2018), LR 47:1138 (August 
2021). 

§333. Physical Therapist Responsibilities; Supervision 
of Physical Therapist Assistants 
[Formerly §321] 

A. - B.2.c. … 
d. be readily accessible by telecommunication 

device and available to the patient by the next scheduled 
treatment session upon request of the patient or PTA; and 

B.2.e. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2418(F) and Act 139 of 2010. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3052 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2183 
(December 2018), LR 47:1138 (August 2021). 
§337. Clinical Instruction of Student PTs and PTAs 

[Formerly §321] 
A. A clinical instructor shall provide on-premises 

supervision to a PT student in all practice settings. A clinical 
instructor shall provide continuous supervision to a PTA 
student in all practice settings. A PTA may act as a clinical 
instructor for a PTA student in all practice settings provided 
that the PT supervisor of the PTA is available by 
telecommunication device.  

B. A PTA can be a clinical instructor for the PTA student. 
C. PT students may perform an initial physical therapy 

evaluation and create the plan of care on each patient, treat 
and reassess patients, and write discharge summaries under 
the supervision of a clinical instructor or Supervising PT of 
Record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2418(F) and Act 139 of 2010. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 
(September 2002), LR 34:1910 (September 2008), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3053 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2183 
(December 2018), LR 45:1206 (September 2019), LR 47:1138 
(August 2021). 
§341. Documentation Standards 

[Formerly §323] 
A. - A.5. … 

6. Patient care conference is the documentation of the 
meeting held between a PTA who is providing patient care 
and the PT supervising that care to discuss the status of 
patients. This conference shall be conducted where the PT 
and PTA are both physically present at the same time and 
place, or through live telecommunication conducted in 
accordance with all standards required by federal and state 
laws governing privacy and security of a patient’s protected 
health information. The patient care conference shall be
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signed and dated by the PT and PTA and shall be entered in 
the patient treatment record within five days of the 
conference, documenting treatment recommendations and 
decisions made. 

A.7. - C. … 
D. Forms of electronic signatures, established pursuant 

to written policies and mechanisms to assure that only the 
author can authenticate his own entry, are acceptable. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2405(A)(1) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 
26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 
(September 2008), amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 
37:3053 (October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2183 (December 2018), LR 
47:1138 (August 2021). 
Subchapter D. Disciplinary Proceedings 
§345. Unprofessional Conduct 

[Formerly §327] 
A. The board shall deem a violation any charge of 

conduct which fails to conform to the Practice Act, and 
board rules to carry out the provisions of the Act, and shall 
take appropriate action where violations are found. The rules 
of this Chapter complement the board’s authority to deny, 
suspend, revoke or take such other action against a licensee, 
or Compact Privilege holder as it deems appropriate. 

B. - B.1f. … 
g. causing, or permitting another person to cause, 

physical or emotional injury to the patient, or depriving the 
patient of his individual dignity;  

h. abandoning a patient without documenting the 
transfer of care or by inappropriately terminating the 
patient/practitioner relationship; or 

i. providing services as a PTA without the 
knowledge or supervision of a PT. 

2. - 8. … 
9. utilizing dry needling techniques in patient 

treatment without first obtaining appropriate specialized 
training and education as required by §311. 

B.10. - C. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospital, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 
28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34:1911 (September 2008), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3054 (October 
2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 44:2184 (December 2018), LR 47:1139 (August 2021). 
§357. Admission to the Confidential Recovering 

Physical Therapy Program (CRPTP) 
A. Participation in CRPTP may be voluntary, non-

punitive, confidential, as defined by §123, and in place of 
formal disciplinary proceedings for eligible persons who 
meet the following admission criteria:  

A.1. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2420 and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3056 

(October 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical 
Therapy Board, LR 44:2186 (December 2018), LR 47:1139 
(August 2021). 
§387. Formal Hearings 

[Formerly §337] 
A. - C. … 

1. The board has received or originated a complaint 
alleging that a licensee or applicant has acted in violation of 
the Practice Act or board rules. 

2. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:205(B)(10) and Act 535 of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3060 (October 
2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 44:2188 (December 2018), LR 47:1139 (August 2021). 
§392. Order of Hearing 

[Formerly §337] 
A. - A.9. … 

10. motions may be made before, during, or after a 
hearing. All motions shall be made at an appropriate time, 
according to the nature of the request. Motions made before 
a hearing or after the hearing pursuant to §396, shall be in 
writing. Those made during the course of the hearing may be 
made orally since they become part of the record of the 
proceeding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405(B)(10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3062 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 44:2188 
(December 2018), LR 47:1139 (August 2021). 
Subchapter E. Post–Adjudication Remedies  
§396. Reconsideration of Decisions 

[Formerly §337] 
A. A petition by a party seeking reconsideration or 

rehearing must be in proper form and filed within ten days 
after notification of the board's decision. The petition shall 
set forth the grounds for the rehearing, which shall include 
one or more of the following: 

1. the board's decision is clearly contrary to the law 
and evidence; 

2. there is newly discovered evidence by the party 
since the hearing which is important to the issues and which 
the party could not have discovered with due diligence 
before or during the hearing; 

3. there is a showing that issues not previously 
considered ought to be examined in order to dispose of the 
case properly; or 

4. it would be in the public interest to review and 
further consider the issues and the evidence. 

B. The board’s decision to grant or deny a requested 
reconsideration of its decision is final and not subject to 
review or appeal. 

C. The board shall reconsider a matter when ordered to 
do so when the case is remanded for reconsideration or 
rehearing by a court to which the board's decision has been 
appealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 
15:391 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), amended by the 
Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3062 (October 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Physical Therapy Board, LR 47:1139 
(August 2021). 
§397. Judicial Review of Adjudication 

[Formerly §345] 
A. Any respondent whose license has been revoked, 

suspended, denied or otherwise sanctioned by the board has 
the right to have the proceedings of the board reviewed by 
the state district court having jurisdiction over the board, 
provided that such petition for judicial review is filed within 
30 days from mailing of the notice of the decision of the 
board. If judicial review is granted, the board's decision is 
enforceable in the interim unless the court orders a stay. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2405.B (10) and Act 535 of 2009. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners, LR 15:392 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 
amended by the Physical Therapy Board, LR 37:3063 (October 
2011), amended by the Department of Health, Physical Therapy 
Board, LR 47:1140 (August 2021). 

 
Charlotte Martin 
Executive Director 

2108#014 

 
RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Pipeline Safety 
(LAC 43:XIII:Chapters 3-61 and LAC 33:V.Chapter 304) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation has amended LAC 43:XIII and LAC 33 Part V 
Subpart 3 in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the state 
of Louisiana.  

The rule changes are required as a part of the Department 
of Natural Resources certification agreement with the US 
Department of Transportation and are intended to adopt 
existing federal regulations as state regulations. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIII.  Office of Conservation―Pipeline Safety 
Subpart 2.  Transportation of Natural Gas and Other 

Gas by Pipeline  
[49 CFR Part 191] 

Chapter 3. Annual Reports, Incident Reports and 
Safety Related Condition Reports [49 
CFR Part 191] 

§303. Definitions  
[49 CFR 191.3] 

A. … 
* * * 

Incident—any of the following events: 
a. an event that involves a release of gas from a 

pipeline, gas from an underground natural gas storage 

facility (UNGSF), liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum 
gas, refrigerant gas, or gas from an LNG facility, and that 
results in one or more of the following consequences: 
 i. a death, or personal injury necessitating in-
patient hospitalization; 
 ii.  estimated property damage of $122,000 or 
more, including loss to the operator and others, or both, but 
excluding the cost of gas lost. For adjustments for inflation 
observed in calendar year 2021 onwards, changes to the 
reporting threshold will be posted on PHMSA’s website. 
These changes will be determined in accordance with the 
procedures in Chapter 4, Appendix A to Subpart 2. 
 iii. unintentional estimated gas loss of three 
million cubic feet or more; 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 11:255 (March 
1985), amended LR 18:854 (August 1992), LR 20:442 (April 
1994), LR 27:1536 (September 2001), LR 30:1221 (June 2004), LR 
33:473 (March 2007), LR 38:110 (January 2012), LR 44:1032 
(June 2018), LR 45:66 (January 2019), LR 46:1575 (November 
2020), LR. 47:1140 (August 2021). 
§311. Distribution System: Annual Report 

[49 CFR 191.11] 
A. …  
B. Not required. The annual report requirement in this 

Section does not apply to a master meter system, a 
petroleum gas system that serves fewer than 100 customers 
from a single source, or an individual service line directly 
connected to a production pipeline or a gathering line other 
than a regulated gathering line as determined in § 507. [49 
CFR 191.11(b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:219 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:511 (July 1984), LR 11:255 (March 1985), LR 
30:1222 (June 2004), LR 38:111 (January 2012), LR. 47:1140 
(August 2021). 
§312. Distribution Systems: Mechanical Fitting 

Failure Reports [49 CFR 191.12]  
Repealed 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:111 (January 
2012), repealed LR. 47:1140 (August 2021). 
§322. National and Louisiana Registry of Operators  

[49 CFR 191.22] 
A. OPID Request. Effective January 1, 2012, each 

operator of a gas pipeline, gas pipeline facility, UNGSF, 
LNG plant, or LNG facility must obtain from PHMSA an 
Operator Identification Number (OPID). An OPID is 
assigned to an operator for the pipeline, pipeline facility, or 
pipeline system for which the operator has primary 
responsibility. To obtain an OPID, an operator must submit 
an OPID Assignment Request DOT Form PHMSA F 1000.1 
through the National Registry of Operators in accordance 
with §307. For intrastate facilities subject to the jurisdiction 
of the Office of Conservation, the operator must 
concurrently file an online OR-1 Submission (Operator 
Registration) for Pipeline Safety with the same name as the 
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OPID request at http://www.sonris.com. Each operator must 
validate the OR-1 annually by January 1 each year. [49 CFR 
191.22(a)] 

1. Each operator of a Special Class System must file 
an online OR-1 Submission (Operator Registration) for 
Pipeline Safety at http://www.sonris.com. Each Special 
Class System operator must validate the OR-1 annually by 
January 1 each year. 

B. - D. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:112 (January 
2012), amended LR 44:1032 (June 2018), LR 45:67 (January 
2019), LR 46:1575 (November 2020), LR. 47:1140 (August 2021). 
Chapter 4. Appendix A [49 CFR Part 191] 
§401. Appendix A to Subpart 2—Procedure for 

Determining Reporting Threshold 
A. Procedure for Determining Reporting Threshold 
 

I. Property Damage Threshold Formula 

A. Each year after calendar year 2021, the Administrator will 
publish a notice on PHMSA’s website announcing the updates 
to the property damage threshold criterion that will take effect 
on July 1 of that year and will remain in effect until the June 
30 of the next year. The property damage threshold used in the 
definition of an Incident at §303 shall be determined in 
accordance with the following formula: 

 

Where: 

Tr is the revised damage threshold, Tp is the previous damage 
threshold, CPIr is the average Consumer Price Indices for all 
Urban Consumers (CPI–U) published by the Bureau of Labor 
Statistics each month during the most recent complete 
calendar year, and CPIp is the average CPI–U for the calendar 
year used to establish the previous property damage criteria. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 47:1141 (August 
2021). 

Subpart 3.  Transportation of Natural Gas or Other  
Gas by Pipeline: Minimum Safety Standards  

[49 CFR Part 192] 
Chapter 5. General  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart A]  
§507. What Documents are Incorporated by Reference 

Partly or Wholly in this Part?  
[49 CFR 192.7] 

A. Certain material is incorporated by reference into this 
Subpart with the approval of the Director of the Federal 
Register under 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1 CFR part 51. The 
materials listed in this Section have the full force of law.  
All approved material is available for inspection at Office of 
Pipeline Safety, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials  
Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue S.E., 
Washington, D.C. 20590, 202-366-4046 
https://www.phmsa.dot.gov/pipeline/regs, and is available 
from the sources listed in the remaining Subsections of this 
Section. It is also available for inspection at the National 
Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For 
information on the availability of this material at NARA, 

email fedreg.legal@nara.gov or go to www.archives. 
gov/federalregister/cfr/ibr-locations.html. [49 CFR 192.7(a)] 

1 - 2. … 
 

Source and Name of Referenced Material 
Approved for Title 

43 Reference  
B. American Petroleum Institute (API), 200 Massachusetts Ave 
N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, D.C. 20001, and phone: 202-682-8000, 
Web site: https://www.api.org/. 

1. - 8. .. 
9. API Standard 1104, “Welding of Pipelines 

and Related Facilities,” 20th edition, October 
2005, including errata/addendum (July 2007) and 
errata 2 (2008), (API Std 1104),  

§§1305.A; 1307.A; 
1309.C; 1321.C;Item 

II, 5103. 
B.10 – D.2 …  

E. ASTM International (formerly American 
Society for Testing and Materials), 100 Barr 
Harbor Drive, PO Box C700, West 
Conshohocken, PA 19428, phone: (610) 832-
9585, Web site: http://astm.org  

1 - 10. …  

11. (ASTM D2513-12ae1). ASTM D2513-
18a, “Standard Specification for Polyethylene 
(PE) Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings,” 
approved August 1, 2018, (ASTM D2513),  §5103, Item 1 

12 - 19. …   
20. ASTM F2620-19, “Standard Practice for 

Heat Fusion Joining of Polyethylene Pipe and 
Fittings,” approved February 1, 2019, (ASTM 
F2620),  §§1511.C; 1515.B 

E.21 - K.2. …  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 30:1226 (June 
2004), amended LR 31:680 (March 2005), LR 33:474 (March 
2007), LR 35:2801 (December 2009), LR 38:113 (January 2012), 
LR 44:1033 (June 2018), LR 45:68 (January 2019), LR 46:1578 
(November 2020), LR 47:1141 (August 2021). 

Chapter 9. Pipe Design [49 CFR Part 192 Subpart C] 
§921. Design of Plastic Pipe [49 CFR 192.121] 

A. Design Pressure. The design pressure for plastic pipe 
is determined in accordance with either of the following 
formulas. 

 

 

 
where: 

P = Design pressure, gauge, psig (kPa) 

S = For thermoplastic pipe, the HDB is determined in 
accordance with the listed specification at a temperature equal 
to 73 ºF (23ºC), 100ºF (38ºC), 120ºF (49ºC), or 140ºF (60ºC). 
In the absence of an HDB established at the specified 
temperature, the HDB of a higher temperature may be used in 
determining a design pressure rating at the specified 
temperature by arithmetic interpolation using the procedure in 
Part D.2 of PPI TR-3/2012, HDB/PDB/SDB/MRS Policies”, 
(incorporated by reference, see §507). For reinforced 
thermosetting plastic pipe, 11,000 psig (75,842 kPa).  

t = Specified wall thickness, in. (mm) 

D = Specified outside diameter, in (mm) 

SDR = Standard dimension ratio, the ratio of the average 
specified outside diameter to the minimum specified wall 
thickness, corresponding to a value from a common 
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numbering system that was derived from the American 
National Standards Institute preferred number series 10. 

DF = Design Factor, a maximum of 0.32 unless otherwise 
specified for a particular material in this Section. [49 CFR 
192.121(a)] 

B. - C.1.c. …  
2. For PE pipe produced on or after January 22, 2019, 

a DF of 0.40 may be used in the design formula, provided: 
[49 CFR 192.121(c)(2)] 

C.2.a. - C.2.b. … 
c. the pipe has a nominal size (IPS or CTS) of 24 

inches or less; and [49 CFR 192.121(c)(2)(iii)] 
d. the wall thickness for a given outside diameter is 

not less than that listed in Table 1 to this Subparagraph C.2.d 
: [49 CFR 192.121(c)(2)(iv)] 

 
Table 1 to Subparagraph C.2.d 

PE Pipe: Minimum Wall Thickness and SDR Values 

Pipe Size (inches) Minimum Wall Thickness 
Corresponding 
SDR (values) 

1/2” CTS 0.090 7 
1/2” IPS 0.090 9.3 
3/4” CTS 0.090 9.7 
3/4” IPS 0.095 11 
1” CTS 0.119 11 
1” IPS 0.119 11 

1 1/4” IPS 0.151 11 
1 1/2” IPS 0.173 11 

2” 0.216 11 
3” 0.259 13.5 
4” 0.265 17 
6” 0.315 21 
8” 0.411 21 
10” 0.512 21 
12” 0.607 21 
16 .762 21 
18 .857 21 
20 .952 21 
22 1.048 21 
24 1.143 21 

 

D. - D.2.c. … 
d. the minimum wall thickness for a given outside 

diameter is not less than that listed in Table 2 to 
Subparagraph D.2.d . [49 CFR 192.121(d)(2)(iv)] 

 
Table 2 to Suparagraph D.2.d 

PE Pipe: Minimum Wall Thickness and SDR Values 

Pipe Size (inches) Minimum Wall Thickness 
Corresponding 
SDR (values) 

1/2” CTS 0.090 7.0 
1/2” IPS 0.090 9.3 
3/4” CTS 0.090 9.7 
3/4” IPS 0.095 11 
1” CTS 0.119 11 
1” IPS 0.119 11 

1 1/4 IPS 0.151 11 
1 1/2” IPS 0.173 11 

2” IPS 0.216 11 
3” IPS 0.259 13.5 
4” IPS 0.333 13.5 
6” IPS 0.491 13.5 

 

E. - E.1.c. … 

d. the minimum wall thickness for a given outside 
diameter is not less than that listed in Table 3 to 
Subparagraph E.1.d [49 CFR 192.121(e)(1)(iv)] 

 
Table 3 to Subparagraph E.1.d 

PE Pipe: Minimum Wall Thickness and SDR Values 

Pipe Size (inches) Minimum Wall Thickness
Corresponding 
SDR (values) 

1/2” CTS 0.090 7 
1/2” IPS 0.090 9.3 
3/4” CTS 0.090 9.7 
3/4” IPS 0.095 11 
1” CTS 0.119 11 
1” IPS 0.119 11 

1 1/4” IPS 0.151 11 
1 1/2” IPS 0.173 11 

2” IPS 0.216 11 
3” IPS 0.259 13.5 
4” IPS 0.333 13.5 
6” IPS 0.491 13.5 

 
F. – F.2. …  (will lose chart after 2)  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:222 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:515 (July 1984), LR 24:1308 (July 1998), LR 
27:1538 (September 2001), LR 30:1231 (June 2004), LR 31:682 
(March 2005), LR 33:478 (March 2007), LR 35:2804 (December 
2009), LR 38:115 (January 2012), repromulgated LR 38:828 
(March 2012), amended LR 44:1037 (June 2018), LR 46:1582 
(November 2020), LR. 47:1141 (August 2021). 
Chapter 11. Design of Pipeline Components  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart D] 
§1113. Components Fabricated by Welding 

[49 CFR 192.153] 
A. …  
B. Each prefabricated unit that uses plate and 

longitudinal seams must be designed, constructed, and tested 
in accordance with section 1 of the ASME BPVC (Rules for 
Construction of Pressure Vessels as defined in either Section 
VIII, Division 1 or Section VIII, Division 2; incorporated by 
reference, see §507), except for the following: [49 CFR 
192.153(b)] 

B.1. - D. … 
E. The test requirements for a prefabricated unit or 

pressure vessel, defined for this Subsection as components 
with a design pressure established in accordance with 
Subsection A or Subsection B of this Section are as follows. 
[49 CFR 192.153(e)] 

1. prefabricated unit or pressure vessel installed after 
July 14, 2004 is not subject to the strength testing 
requirements at §2305.B provided the component has been 
tested in accordance with Subsection A or Subsection B of 
this Section and with a test factor of at least 1.3 times 
MAOP. [49 CFR 192.153(e)(1)] 

2. A prefabricated unit or pressure vessel must be 
tested for a duration specified as follows: [49 CFR 
192.153(e)(2)] 

a. A prefabricated unit or pressure vessel installed 
after July 14, 2004, but before October 1, 2021 is exempt 
from §§2305.C and D and 2307.C provided it has been
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tested for a duration consistent with the ASME BPVC 
requirements referenced in Subsection A or B of this 
Section. [49 CFR 192.153(e)(2)(i)] 

b. Consider the information gained from past 
design, operations, and maintenance. [49 CFR 
192.153(e)(2)(ii)] 

3. For any prefabricated unit or pressure vessel 
permanently or temporarily installed on a pipeline facility, 
an operator must either: [49 CFR 192.153(e)(3)] 

a. Test the prefabricated unit or pressure vessel in 
accordance with this Section and Chapter 23 of this Subpart 
after it has been placed on its support structure at its final 
installation location. The test may be performed before or 
after it has been tied-in to the pipeline. Test records that meet 
§2317.A must be kept for the operational life of the 
prefabricated unit or pressure vessel; or [49 CFR 
192.153(e)(3)(i)] 

b. For a prefabricated unit or pressure vessel that is 
pressure tested prior to installation or where a 
manufacturer’s pressure test is used in accordance with 
Subsection E of this Section, inspect the prefabricated unit 
or pressure vessel after it has been placed on its support 
structure at its final installation location and confirm that the 
prefabricated unit or pressure vessel was not damaged 
during any prior operation, transportation, or installation into 
the pipeline. The inspection procedure and documented 
inspection must include visual inspection for vessel damage, 
including, at a minimum, inlets, outlets, and lifting locations. 
Injurious defects that are an integrity threat may include 
dents, gouges, bending, corrosion, and cracking. This 
inspection must be performed prior to operation but may be 
performed either before or after it has been tied-in to the 
pipeline. If injurious defects that are an integrity threat are 
found, the prefabricated unit or pressure vessel must be 
either non-destructively tested, re-pressure tested, or 
remediated in accordance with applicable Subpart 3(Part 
192) requirements for a fabricated unit or with the applicable 
ASME BPVC requirements referenced in Subsections A or 
B of this Section. Test, inspection, and repair records for the 
fabricated unit or pressure vessel must be kept for the 
operational life of the component. Test records must meet 
the requirements in §2317.A. [49 CFR 192.153(e)(3)(ii)] 

4. An initial pressure test from the prefabricated unit 
or pressure vessel manufacturer may be used to meet the 
requirements of this Section with the following conditions: 
[49 CFR 192.153(e)(4)] 

a. The prefabricated unit or pressure vessel is 
newly-manufactured and installed on or after October 1, 
2021, except as provided in Subparagraph E.4.b of this 
Section. [49 CFR 192.153(e)(4)(i)] 

b. An initial pressure test from the fabricated unit or 
pressure vessel manufacturer or other prior test of a new or 
existing prefabricated unit or pressure vessel may be used 
for a component that is temporarily installed in a pipeline 
facility in order to complete a testing, integrity assessment, 
repair, odorization, or emergency response-related task, 
including noise or pollution abatement. The temporary 
component must be promptly removed after that task is 
completed. If operational and environmental constraints 
require leaving a temporary prefabricated unit or pressure 
vessel under this Subsection in place for longer than 30 days, 
the operator must notify PHMSA and State or local pipeline 

safety authorities, as applicable, in accordance with § 518. 
[49 CFR 192.153(e)(4)(ii)] 

c. The manufacturer’s pressure test must meet the 
minimum requirements of this Subpart; and [49 CFR 
192.153(e)(4)(iii)] 

d. The operator inspects and remediates the 
prefabricated unit or pressure vessel after installation in 
accordance with Subparagraph E.3.b of this Section. [49 
CFR 192.153(e)(4)(iv)] 

5. An existing prefabricated unit or pressure vessel 
that is temporarily removed from a pipeline facility to 
complete a testing, integrity assessment, repair, odorization, 
or emergency response-related task, including noise or 
pollution abatement, and then re-installed at the same 
location must be inspected in accordance with Subparagraph 
E.3.b of this Section; however, a new pressure test is not 
required provided no damage or threats to the operational 
integrity of the prefabricated unit or pressure vessel were 
identified during the inspection and the MAOP of the 
pipeline is not increased. [49 CFR 192.153(e)(5)] 

6. Except as provided in Subparagraphs E.4.b and 
Paragraph E.5 of this Section, on or after October 1, 2021, 
an existing prefabricated unit or pressure vessel relocated 
and operated at a different location must meet the 
requirements of this Subpart and the following: [49 CFR 
192.153(e)(6)] 

a. The prefabricated unit or pressure vessel must be 
designed and constructed in accordance with the 
requirements of this Subpart at the time the vessel is 
returned to operational service at the new location; and [49 
CFR 192.153(e)(6)(i)] 

b. The prefabricated unit or pressure vessel must be 
pressure tested by the operator in accordance with the testing 
and inspection requirements of this Subpart applicable to 
newly installed prefabricated units and pressure vessels. [49 
CFR 192.153(e)(6)(ii)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:223 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:516 (July 1984), LR 20:444 (April 1994), LR 
27:1539 (September 2001), LR 30:1234 (June 2004), LR 44:1037 
(June 2018), LR. 47:1142 (August 2021). 
Chapter 13. Welding of Steel in Pipelines [49 CFR 

Part 192 Subpart E] 
§1309. Limitations on Welders [49 CFR 192.229] 

A. …  
B. A welder or welding operator may not weld with a 

particular welding process unless, within the preceding 6 
calendar months, the welder or welding operator was 
engaged in welding with that process. Alternatively, welders 
or welding operators may demonstrate they have engaged in 
a specific welding process if they have performed a weld 
with that process that was tested and found acceptable under 
section 6, 9, 12, or Appendix A of API Std 1104 
(incorporated by reference, see §507) within the preceding 7 
1/2 months. [49 CFR 192.229(b)] 

C. - D.2.b. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:229 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:521 (July 1984), LR 24:1309 (July 1998), LR 
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27:1541 (September 2001), LR 30:1241 (June 2004), LR 31:683 
(March 2005), LR 33:479 (March 2007), LR 44:1038 (June 2018), 
LR. 47:1143 (August 2021). 
Chapter 15. Joining of Materials Other Than by 

Welding  
[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart F] 

§1511. Plastic Pipe 
A. - B.3. …  
C. Heat-Fusion Joints. Each heat-fusion joint on a PE 

pipe or component, except for electrofusion joints, must 
comply with ASTM F2620-12 (incorporated by reference in 
§507), or an alternative written procedure that has been 
demonstrated to provide an equivalent or superior level of 
safety and has been proven by test or experience to produce 
strong gastight joints, and the following. [49 CFR 
192.281(c)] 

C.1 - E.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:231 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:523 (July 1984), LR 20:445 (April 1994), LR 
24:1309 (July 1998), LR 30:1243 (June 2004), LR 38:116 (January 
2012), LR 44:1039 (June 2018), LR 46:1585 (November 2020), 
LR. 47:1144 (August 2021). 
§1513. Plastic Pipe: Qualifying Joining Procedures 

[49 CFR 192.283] 
A. - A.2. … 

3. for procedures intended for non-lateral pipe 
connections, perform testing in accordance with a listed 
specification. If the test specimen elongates no less than 25 
percent or failure initiates outside the joint area, the 
procedure qualifies for use. [49 CFR 192.283(a)(3)]. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:231 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:523 (July 1984), LR 20:445 (April 1994), LR 
24:1310 (July 1998), LR 27:1541 (September 2001), LR 30:1244 
(June 2004), LR 31:683 (March 2005), LR 33:479 (March 2007), 
LR 38:116 (January 2012), LR 44:1039 (June 2018), LR 46:1585 
(November 2020), LR. 47:1144 (August 2021). 
§1515. Plastic Pipe: Qualifying Persons to Make Joints 

[49 CFR 192.285] 
A. - B.2. … 

a. tested under any one of the test methods listed 
under §1513.A, and for PE heat fusion joints (except for 
electrofusion joints) visually inspected in accordance with 
ASTM F2620-12 (incorporated by reference, see §507) or a 
written procedure that has been demonstrated to provide an 
equivalent or superior level of safety, applicable to the type 
of joint and material being tested; [49 CFR 192.285(b)(2)(i)] 

B.2.b. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:231 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:524 (July 1984), LR 30:1244 (June 2004), LR 
33:480 (March 2007), LR 44:1039 (June 2018), LR 46:1586 
(November 2020), LR. 47:1144 (August 2021). 

Chapter 17. General Construction Requirements for 
Transmission Lines and Mains  
[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart G]  

§1725. Underground Clearance [49 CFR 192.325] 
A. Each transmission line must be installed with at least 

12 inches (305 millimeters) of clearance from any other 
underground structure not associated with the transmission 
line. If this clearance cannot be attained, the transmission 
line must be protected from damage that might result from 
the proximity of the other structure. [49 CFR 192.325(a)] 

B. Each main must be installed with enough clearance 
from any other underground structure to allow proper 
maintenance and to protect against damage that might result 
from proximity to other structures. [49 CFR 192.325(b)] 

C. In addition to meeting the requirements of 
Subsections A or B of this Section, each plastic transmission 
line or main must be installed with sufficient clearance, or 
must be insulated, from any source of heat so as to prevent 
the heat from impairing the serviceability of the pipe. [49 
CFR 192.325(c)] 

D. Each pipe-type or bottle type holder must be installed 
with a minimum clearance from any other holder as 
prescribed in §1135.B. [49 CFR 192.325(d)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:233 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:525 (July 1984), LR 20:446 (April 1994), LR 
27:1542 (September 2001), LR 30:1247 (June 2004), LR. 47:1144 
(August 2021). 
§1729. Installation of Plastic Pipelines By Trenchless 

Excavation  
[49 CFR 192.329]  

A. Plastic pipelines installed by trenchless excavation 
must comply with the following. [49 CFR 192.329] 

1. Each operator must take practicable steps to 
provide sufficient clearance for installation and maintenance 
activities from other underground utilities and/or structures 
at the time of installation. [49 CFR 192.329(a)] 

2. For each pipeline section, plastic pipe and 
components that are pulled through the ground must use a 
weak link, as defined by § 503, to ensure the pipeline will 
not be damaged by any excessive forces during the pulling 
process. [49 CFR 192.329(b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46:1586 (November 
2020), amended LR. 47:1144 (August 2021). 
Chapter 21. Requirements for Corrosion Control  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart I] 
§2117. External Corrosion Control: Monitoring  

[49 CFR 192.465] 
A. …  
B. Cathodic protection rectifiers and impressed current 

power sources must be periodically inspected as follows: [49 
CFR 192.465(b)] 

1. Each cathodic protection rectifier or impressed 
current power source must be inspected 6 times each 
calendar year, but with intervals not exceeding 2 1/2 months
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between inspections, to ensure adequate amperage and 
voltage levels needed to provide cathodic protection are 
maintained. This may be done either through remote 
measurement or through an onsite inspection of the rectifier. 
[49 CFR 192.465(b)(1)] 

2. After January 1, 2022, each remotely inspected 
rectifier must be physically inspected for continued safe and 
reliable operation at least once each calendar year, but with 
intervals not exceeding 15 months. [49 CFR 192.465(b)(2)] 

C. - E. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:236 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:528 (July 1984), LR 27:1545 (September 2001), 
LR 30:1253 (June 2004), LR 38:116 (January 2012), LR. 47:1144 
(August 2021). 
§2133. Atmospheric Corrosion Control: Monitoring 

[49 CFR 192.481] 
A. Each operator must inspect each pipeline or portion of 

pipeline that is exposed to the atmosphere for evidence of 
atmospheric corrosion, as follows. [49 CFR 192.481(a)] 

 
If the pipeline 
is located: 

Then the frequency of inspection is: 

Onshore other 
than a service 
line 

At least once every 3 calendar years,  
but with intervals not exceeding 39 months. 

Onshore service 
line 

At least once every 5 calendar years, but with 
intervals not exceeding 63 months, except as 
provided in Subsection D of this Section. 

Offshore At least once each calendar year, but with 
intervals not exceeding 15 months. 

 
B. - C. … 
D. If atmospheric corrosion is found on a service line 

during the most recent inspection, then the next inspection of 
that pipeline or portion of pipeline must be within 3 calendar 
years, but with intervals not exceeding 39 months. [49 CFR 
192.481(d)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:237 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:529 (July 1984), LR 30:1255 (June 2004), LR 
47:1145 (August 2021). 
§2143. Corrosion Control Records [49 CFR 192.491] 

A. - B. …  
C. Each operator shall maintain a record of each test, 

survey, or inspection required by this Section in sufficient 
detail to demonstrate the adequacy of corrosion control 
measures or that a corrosive condition does not exist. These 
records must be retained for at least five years with the 
following exceptions: [49 CFR 192.491(c)] 

1. Operators must retain records related to §§ 2117.A 
and E and 2127.B for as long as the pipeline remains in 
service. [49 CFR 192.491(c)(1)] 

2. Operators must retain records of the two most 
recent atmospheric corrosion inspections for each 
distribution service line that is being inspected under the 
interval in §2133.A. [49 CFR 192.491(c)(2)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:237 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:530 (July 1984), LR 24:1311 (July 1998), LR 
30:1256 (June 2004), LR. 47:1145 (August 2021). 
Chapter 23. Test Requirements  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart J] 
§2307. Test Requirements for Pipelines to Operate at a 

Hoop Stress Less Than 30 Percent of SMYS and 
At or Above 100 psi (689 kPa) Gauge 
[49 CFR 192.507] 

A. - A.3. …  
4. For fabricated units and short sections of pipe, for 

which a post installation test is impractical, a pre-installation 
hydrostatic pressure test must be conducted in accordance 
with the requirements of this Section. [49 CFR 192.507(d)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:238 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:530 (July 1984), LR 27:1545 (September 2001), 
LR 30:1257 (June 2004), LR. 47:1145 (August 2021). 
Chapter 27. Operations  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart L] 
§2719. What is the Maximum Allowable Operating 

Pressure for Steel or Plastic Pipelines?  
[49 CFR 192.619] 

A. - A.2.a. … 
b. for steel pipe operated at 100 psi (689 kPa) gage 

or more, the test pressure is divided by a factor determined 
in accordance with the following table to Subparagraph 
A.2.b. [49 CFR 192.619(a)(2)(ii)] 

 
Table 1 to Subparagraph A.2.b 

Factors1, Segment 

Class 
Location 

Installed 
before  

(Nov. 12, 
1970) 

Installed 
after  

(Nov. 11, 
1970) and 

before July 
1, 2020 

Installed 
on or 

after July 
1, 2020 

Converted 
under  
CFR 

§192.14 

1 1.1 1.1 1.25 1.25 
2 1.25 1.25 1.25 1.25 
3 1.4 1.5 1.5 1.5 
4 1.4 1.5 1.5 1.5 
1For offshore segments installed, uprated or converted after 
July 31, 1977, that are not located on an offshore platform, the 
factor is 1.25. For segments installed, uprated or converted 
after July 31, 1977, that are located on an offshore platform or 
on a platform in inland navigable waters, including a pipe 
riser, the factor is 1.5. 
2For a component with a design pressure established in 
accordance with §1113.A or B installed after July 14, 2004, 
the factor is 1.3. 

 
A.3. - F.3. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:242 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:534 (July 1984), LR 24:1312 (July 1998), LR 
27:1547 (September 2001), LR 30:1264 (June 2004), LR 33:481
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(March 2007), LR 35:2807 (December 2009), LR 46:1590 
(November 2020), LR. 47:1145 (August 2021). 
Chapter 29. Maintenance  

[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart M] 
§2912. Analysis of Predicted Failure Pressure 

[49 CFR 192.712] 
A. - E.2.a.iii. …  

 iv. if the pipeline segment has a history of 
reportable incidents caused by cracking or crack-like 
defects, maximum Charpy v-notch toughness values of 5.0 
ft.-lbs. for body cracks and 1.0 ft.-lbs. for cold weld, lack of 
fusion, and selective seam weld corrosion; or [49 CFR 
192.712(e)(2)(i)(D)] 
 v. other appropriate values that an operator 
demonstrates can provide conservative Charpy v-notch 
toughness values of crack-related conditions of the pipeline 
segment. Operators using an assumed Charpy v-notch 
toughness value must notify PHMSA in advance in 
accordance with § 518 and include in the notification the 
bases for demonstrating that the Charpy v-notch toughness 
values proposed are appropriate and conservative for use in 
analysis of crack-related conditions. [49 CFR 
192.712(e)(2)(i)(E)] 

E.2.b. - G.19. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46:1595 (November 
2020), LR. 47:1146 (August 2021). 
§2940. Pressure Regulating, Limiting, and 

Overpressure Protection—Individual Service 
Lines Directly Connected to Regulated 
Gathering or Transmission Pipelines  
[49 CFR 192.740] 

A. This Section applies, except as provided in Subsection 
C of this Section, to any service line directly connected to a 
transmission pipeline or regulated gathering pipeline as 
determined in § 507 that is not operated as part of a 
distribution system. [49 CFR 192.740(a)] 

B. - B.4. … 
C. This Section does not apply to equipment installed on: 

[49 CFR 192.740(c)] 
1. a service line that only serves engines that power 

irrigation pumps; [49 CFR 192.740(c)(1)] 
2. a service line included in a distribution integrity 

management plan meeting the requirements of Chapter 35 of 
this Subpart; or [49 CFR 192.740(c)(2)] 

3. a service line directly connected to either a 
production or gathering pipeline other than a regulated 
gathering line as determined in §508 of this Subpart. [49 
CFR 192.740(c)(3)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
44:1042 (June 2018), LR 46:1597 (November 2020), LR.47:1146 
(August 2021). 

Chapter 35. Gas Distribution Pipeline Integrity 
Management (IM)  
[49 CFR Part 192 Subpart P] 

§3503. What do the Regulations in this Chapter Cover? 
[49 CFR 192.1003] 

A. General. Unless exempted in Subsection B of this 
Section this Chapter prescribes minimum requirements for 
an IM program for any gas distribution pipeline covered 
under this Subpart, including liquefied petroleum gas 
systems. A gas distribution operator must follow the 
requirements in this Chapter. [49 CFR 192.1003(a)] 

B. Exceptions. This subpart does not apply to: [49 CFR 
192.1003(b) 

1. Individual service lines directly connected to a 
production line or a gathering line other than a regulated 
onshore gathering line as determined in § 507; [49 CFR 
192.1003(b)(1)] 

2. Individual service lines directly connected to either 
a transmission or regulated gathering pipeline and 
maintained in accordance with §2940.A and B; and [49 CFR 
192.1003(b)(2)] 

3. Master meter systems. [49 CFR 192.1003(b)(3)] 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:123 (January 
2012), amended LR 44:1044 (June 2018), LR. 47:1146 (August 
2021). 
§3505. What must a Gas Distribution Operator (other 

than a Small LPG Operator) do to Implement 
this Chapter? [49 CFR 192.1005] 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:123 (January 
2012), repromulgated LR 47:1146 (August 2021). 
§3507. What are the Required Elements of an Integrity 

Management Plan? [49 CFR 192.1007] 
A. - A.1.e. … 

2. Identify Threats. The operator must consider the 
following categories of threats to each gas distribution 
pipeline: corrosion (including atmospheric corrosion), 
natural forces, excavation damage, other outside force 
damage, material, or welds, equipment failure, incorrect 
operations, and other concerns that could threaten the 
integrity of its pipeline. An operator must consider 
reasonably available information to identify existing and 
potential threats. Sources of data may include, but are not 
limited to, incident and leak history, corrosion control 
records, continuing surveillance records, patrolling records, 
maintenance history, and excavation damage experience. [49 
CFR 192.1007(b)] 

3. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:123 (January 
2012), amended LR. 47:1146 (August 2021). 
§3509. What must an operator report when 

compression couplings fail? [49 CFR 192.1009] 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:124 (January 
2012), repealed LR. 47:1147 (August 2021). 
§3515. What must a Small LPGperator do to 

Implement this Chapter? [49 CFR 192.1015] 
A. General. No later than August 2, 2011 a small LPG 

operator must develop and implement an IM program that 
includes a written IM plan as specified in Subsection B of 
this Section. The IM program for these pipelines should 
reflect the relative simplicity of these types of pipelines. [49 
CFR 192.1015(a)] 

B. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:124 (January 
2012), LR. 47:1147 (August 2021). 
Chapter 51. Appendices 
§5103. Appendix B―Qualification of Pipe 

I. Listed Pipe Specifications 
A. Listed Pipe Specifications 
1. API Spec 5L—Steel pipe, “API Specification for Line Pipe” 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
2. ASTM A53/A53M—Steel pipe, “Standard Specification for 
Pipe, Steel Black and Hot-Dipped, Zinc-Coated, Welded and 
Seamless” (incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
3. ASTM A106/A-106M—Steel pipe, “Standard Specification 
for Seamless Carbon Steel Pipe for High Temperature 
Service” (incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
4. ASTM A333/A333M—Steel pipe, “Standard Specification 
for Seamless and Welded Steel Pipe for Low Temperature 
Service” (incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
5. ASTM A381—Steel pipe, “Standard Specification for 
Metal-Arc-Welded Steel Pipe for Use with High-Pressure 
Transmission Systems” (incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
6. ASTM A671/A671M—Steel pipe, “Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion- Welded Pipe for 
Atmospheric and Lower Temperatures” (incorporated by 
reference, see § 507). 
7. ASTM A672/A672M-09—Steel pipe, “Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion- Welded Steel Pipe for High-
Pressure Service at Moderate Temperatures” (incorporated by 
reference, see § 507). 
8. ASTM A691/A691M-09—Steel pipe, “Standard 
Specification for Carbon and Alloy Steel Pipe, Electric-
Fusion-Welded for High Pressure Service at High 
Temperatures” (incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
9. ASTM D2513“Standard Specification for Polyethylene 
(PE) Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (incorporated 
by reference, see § 507). 
10. ASTM D 2517-00—Thermosetting plastic pipe and 
tubing, “Standard Specification for Reinforced Epoxy Resin 
Gas Pressure Pipe and Fittings” (incorporated by reference, 
see § 507). 
11. ASTM F2785-12 “Standard Specification for Polyamide 
12 Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (PA-12) 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
12. ASTM F2817-10 “Standard Specification for Poly (Vinyl 
Chloride) (PVC) Gas Pressure Pipe and Fittings for 
Maintenance or Repair” (incorporated by reference, see § 
507). 
13. ASTM F2945-12a “Standard Specification for Polyamide 
11 Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (PA-11) 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 

B. Other Listed Specifications for Components  
1. ASME B16.40-2008 “Manually Operated Thermoplastic 
Gas Shutoffs and Valves in Gas Distribution Systems” 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
2. ASTM D2513“Standard Specification for Polyethylene 
(PE) Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (incorporated 
by reference, see § 507). 
3. ASTM D 2517-00—Thermosetting plastic pipe and 
tubing, “Standard Specification for Reinforced Epoxy Resin 
Gas Pressure Pipe and Fittings” (incorporated by reference, 
see § 507). 
4. ASTM F2785-12 “Standard Specification for Polyamide 
12 Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (PA-12) 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
5. ASTM F2945-12a “Standard Specification for Polyamide 
11 Gas Pressure Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings” (PA-11) 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
6. ASTM F1055-98 (2006) “Standard Specification for 
Electrofusion Type Polyethylene Fittings for Outside 
Diameter Controlled Polyethylene Pipe and Tubing” 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
7. ASTM F1924-12 “Standard Specification for Plastic 
Mechanical Fittings for Use on Outside Diameter Controlled 
Polyethylene Gas Distribution Pipe and Tubing” (incorporated 
by reference, see § 507). 
8. ASTM F1948-12 “Standard Specification for Metallic 
Mechanical Fittings for Use on Outside Diameter Controlled 
Thermoplastic Gas Distribution Pipe and Tubing” 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
9. ASTM F1973-13 “Standard Specification for Factory 
Assembled Anodeless Risers and Transition Fittings in 
Polyethylene (PE) and Polyamide 11 (PA 11) and Polyamide 
12 (PA 12) Fuel Gas Distribution Systems” (incorporated by 
reference, see § 507). 
10. ASTM F 2600-09 “Standard Specification for 
Electrofusion Type Polyamide-11 Fittings for Outside 
Diameter Controlled Polyamide-11 Pipe and Tubing” 
(incorporated by reference, see § 507). 
11. ASTM F2145-13 “Standard Specification for Polyamide 
11 (PA 11) and Polyamide 12 (PA12) Mechanical Fittings for 
Use on Outside Diameter Controlled Polyamide 11 and 
Polyamide 12 Pipe and Tubing” (incorporated by reference, 
see § 507). 
12. ASTM F2767-12 “Specification for Electrofusion Type 
Polyamide-12 Fittings for Outside Diameter Controlled 
Polyamide-12 Pipe and Tubing for Gas Distribution” 
(incorporated by reference, see §507). 
13. ASTM F2817-10 “Standard Specification for Poly (Vinyl 
Chloride) (PVC) Gas Pressure Pipe and Fittings for 
Maintenance or Repair” (incorporated by reference, see §507). 

II. Steel Pipe of Unknown or Unlisted Specification 
A. Bending properties. For pipe 2 inches (51 millimeters) or 
less in diameter, a length of pipe must be cold bent through at 
least 90 degrees around a cylindrical mandrel that has a 
diameter 12 times the diameter of the pipe, without developing 
cracks at any portion and without opening the longitudinal 
weld. 
For pipe more than 2 inches (51 millimeters) in diameter, the 
pipe must meet the requirements of the flattening tests set 
forth in ASTM A53, except that the number of tests must be at 
least equal to the minimum required in Paragraph II.D of this 
appendix to determine yield strength. 
B. Weldability. A girth weld must be made in the pipe by a 
welder who is qualified under Chapter 13 of this Subpart. The 
weld must be made under the most severe conditions under 
which welding will be allowed in the field and by means of 
the same procedure that will be used in the field. On pipe more 
than 4 inches (102 millimeters) in diameter, at least one test 
weld must be made for each 100 lengths of pipe. On pipe 4 
inches (102 millimeters) or less in diameter, at least one test 
weld must be made for each 400 lengths of pipe. The weld 
must be tested in accordance with API Standard 1104 
(incorporated by reference, see §507). If the requirements of 
API Standard 1104 cannot be met, weldability may be 
established by making chemical tests for carbon and 
manganese, and proceeding in accordance with Section IX of 
the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (IBR, see §507). 
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The same number of chemical tests must be made as are 
required for testing a girth weld. 
C. Inspection. The pipe must be cleaned enough to permit 
adequate inspection. It must be visually inspected to ensure 
that it is reasonably round and straight and there are no defects 
which might impair the strength or tightness of the pipe. 
D. Tensile properties. If the tensile properties of the pipe are 
not known, the minimum yield strength may be taken as 
24,000 p.s.i. (165 MPa) or less, or the tensile properties may 
be established by performing tensile test as set forth in API 
Specification 5L (incorporated by reference, see §507). 
 

Number of Tensile Tests-All Sizes 
10 lengths or less 1 set of tests for each length. 

11 to 100 lengths 
1 set of tests for each 5 lengths, but
not less than 10 tests. 

Over 100 lengths 
1 set of tests for each 10 lengths, but
not less than 20 tests. 

If the yield-tensile ratio, based on the properties determined by 
those tests, exceeds 0.85, the pipe may be used only as 
provided in §705.C5(c). 
 

III. - III.C.2. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
10:541 (July 1984), amended LR 18:859 (August 1992), LR 
27:1551, 1552 (September 2001), LR 30:1287 (June 2004), LR 
31:689 (March 2005), LR 33:487 (March 2007), LR 35:2813 
(December 2009), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 38:125 (January 2012), LR 
44:1045 (June 2018), LR 46:1601 (November 2020), LR. 47:1147 
(August 2021). 

Subpart 4.  Drug and Alcohol Testing 
Chapter 61. General [Part 199―Subpart A] 
§6103. Definitions [49 CFR 199.3]  

* * * 
Prohibited Drug―any of the substances specified in 49 

CFR part 40. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:751-757, redesignated as R.S. 30:701-707 and R.S. 30:501 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
16:134 (February 1990), repromulgated LR 16:533 (June 1990), 
amended LR 18:852 (August 1992), LR 21:826, 829 (August 
1995), LR 24:1306 (July 1998), LR 27:1554 (September 2001), LR 
30:1292 (June 2004), LR 33:488 (March 2007), LR. 47:1148 
(August 2021). 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 3.  Natural Resources 

Chapter 304. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 
Pipeline―Operation and Maintenance 
[49 CFR Part 195 Subpart F] 

§30416. Pipeline Assessments 
[49 CFR 195.416] 

A. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
46:1607 (November 2020), repromulated LR. 47:1148 (August 
2021). 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

2108#004 

 
RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Offshore Terminal Authority 

Offshore Terminal Facilities Air Emissions  
Recordkeeping and Reporting 

(LAC 70:VII.303) 

Under the authority of R.S. 34:3101, et seq., the Offshore 
Terminal Authority has issued the following Order regarding 
Offshore Terminal Facilities Air Emissions Recordkeeping 
and Reporting, in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the state 
of Louisiana. This Order requires that offshore terminal 
facilities within the jurisdiction of the Authority maintain 
records pertaining to certain air emissions information and 
annually report such information to the Authority pursuant to 
the recently amended Superport Environmental Protection 
Plan. 

Pursuant to the authority granted by Louisiana Revised 
Statutes 34:3101 et seq., and particularly R.S. 
34:3109(A)(4), 3113, and 3115(2), I hereby make the 
following findings and order: 

1. The Superport Environmental Protection Plan 
(Protection Plan) is a rule and regulation of the Offshore 
Terminal Authority. The Protection Plan establishes the steps 
to be followed to ensure the protection of the environment 
throughout all phases of the Authority’s development 
program, and it is applicable to all offshore terminal 
facilities within the jurisdiction of the Authority. 

2. On April 20, 2021, the Authority amended the 
Protection Plan to establish certain operational and 
monitoring plans for offshore operations to assure adequate 
protection of Louisiana’s onshore air quality laws. The 
amendment was developed in consultation with the 
Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of 
Transportation and Development. 

3. As amended, Section 7 of Chapter 5 of the 
Protection Plan: 

a. requires, in subsection (j)(2), that the Authority 
ensure that offshore terminal facilities’ operations are 
conducted in a manner that minimizes or prevents any 
significant adverse environmental effects; 

b. requires, in subsection (j)(2)(b)(1), that in 
considering the effect on air quality of a project or activity, 
the Authority examine whether the project or activity has a 
significant effect on onshore air quality in the state of
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Louisiana through consideration of compliance with 
applicable National Ambient Air Quality Standards 
(NAAQS) through air quality modeling based on the project 
or activity’s location, projected operations, and potential 
emission rates; 

c. authorizes, in subsection (m), the Authority to 
issue orders requiring an owner or operator to submit or 
make available reports and records that the Authority may 
reasonably require to assure compliance with the Protection 
Plan; and 

d. requires, in subsection (m)(1), that the owner or 
operator establish and maintain records of operating 
parameters necessary to estimate actual air emissions in each 
calendar year and submit a report to the Authority by March 
31 of the following calendar year on those emissions and a 
comparison to modeled potential emissions, which have 
been demonstrated to comply with the NAAQS. 

4. This Order is issued pursuant to subsection (m) of 
Section 7 of Chapter 5 of the Protection Plan.  

5. This Order is issued as a rule, in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., applicable to all offshore terminal facilities 
within the jurisdiction of the Authority. 

6. LOOP, LLC (Louisiana Offshore Oil Port) currently 
operates the United States’ only offshore deepwater oil port. 
The LOOP facility is an offshore terminal facility located in 
the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of Louisiana within the 
jurisdiction of the Authority and is thus subject to the 
provisions of the Protection Plan and this Order. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part VII.  Offshore Terminal Authority 
§303. Air Emissions Recordkeeping and Reporting 

A. … 
B. The owner or operator of an offshore terminal facility 

shall: 
1. establish and maintain records of operating 

parameters necessary to estimate actual air emissions in each 
calendar year; 

2. submit a report to the Authority within 45 calendar 
days of publication of this Rule, stating the 2020 estimate of 
actual annual air emissions and a comparison to modeled 
potential emissions, which have been demonstrated to 
comply with the NAAQS;  

3. submit a report to the Authority no later than March 
31, 2022, stating the 2021 estimate of actual annual air 
emissions and a comparison to modeled potential emissions, 
which have been demonstrated to comply with the NAAQS; 
and 

4. submit a report no later than March 31 of each year 
thereafter, stating the estimate of actual annual air emissions 
of the preceding calendar year and a comparison to modeled 
potential emissions, which have been demonstrated to 
comply with the NAAQS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:3113. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Offshore Terminal 
Authority (January 1974), amended (October 1975), amended 
(August 1976), LR 47:490 (April 2021), amended LR 47:1149 
(August 2021). 

 
Joseph G. Hollins 
Executive Director 

2108#005 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Medical Use of Byproduct Material 

(LAC 33:XV.102, 328, 331, 613, 706, 708, 710, 712, 718, 
719, 732, 735, 739, 741, 742, 743, 744, 745, 747, 750, 762, 

763, 777, 915, 1510, and 1520) (RP069ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Radiation Protection regulations, LAC 
33:XV.102, 328, 331, 613, 706, 708, 710, 712, 718, 719, 
732, 735, 739, 741, 742, 743, 744, 745, 747, 750, 762, 763, 
777, 915, 1510, and 1520 (Log #RP069ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 10 
CFR 30, 32, and 35, which are applicable in Louisiana. For 
more information regarding the federal requirement, contact 
Deidra Johnson at (225) 219-3985. No fiscal or economic 
impact will result from the Rule. This Rule will be 
promulgated in accordance with the procedures in R.S. 
49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule updates the regulations pertaining to the 
medical use of byproduct material. This Rule was 
promulgated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) 
as RATS IDs 2018-1 and 2020-2. This Rule will update the 
state regulations to be compatible with changes in the federal 
regulations. The changes in the state regulations are category 
B, C, and H&S requirements for the state of Louisiana to 
remain an NRC agreement state. The basis and rationale for 
this Rule are to mirror the federal regulations and maintain 
an adequate agreement state program. This Rule meets an 
exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Part XV.  Radiation Protection 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§102. Definitions and Abbreviations 

A. As used in these regulations, these terms have the 
definitions set forth below. Additional definitions used only 
in a certain chapter may be found in that Chapter. 

* * * 
Associate Radiation Safety Officer—an individual who: 

a. meets the requirements in LAC 33:XV.763.A and 
M; and 

b.  is currently identified as an associate radiation 
safety officer for the types of use of byproduct material for 
which the individual has been assigned duties and tasks by 
the radiation safety officer on: 

 i. a specific medical use license issued by the 
NRC or an agreement state; or 
 ii. a medical use permit issued by a NRC master 
material licensee. 

* * * 
Ophthalmic Physicist—an individual who: 

a. meets the requirements in LAC 33:XV.719.N.1.b 
and 763.M; and 

b. is identified as an ophthalmic physicist on a: 
 i. specific medical use license issued by the NRC 
or an agreement state; 
 ii. permit issued by a NRC or agreement state 
broad scope medical use licensee; 
 iii. medical use permit issued by a NRC master 
material licensee; or 
 iv. permit issued by a NRC master material 
licensee broad scope medical use permittee. 

* * * 
Preceptor―an individual who provides, directs, or 

verifies the training and experience required for an 
individual to become an authorized user, an authorized 
medical physicist, an authorized nuclear pharmacist, a 
radiation safety officer, or an associate radiation safety 
officer. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), LR 19:1421 (November 1993), LR 20:650 (June 1994), LR 
22:967 (October 1996), LR 24:2089 (November 1998), 
repromulgated LR 24:2242 (December 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2563 (November 2000), LR 26:2767 (December 
2000), LR 30:1171, 1188 (June 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:44 (January 2005), LR 31:1064 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 32:811 (May 2006), LR 32:1853 (October 2006), LR 
33:1016 (June 2007), LR 33:2175 (October 2007), LR 34:982 (June 
2008), LR 36:1771 (August 2010), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2748 (November 2012), LR 
40:283 (February 2014), LR 40:1338 (July 2014), LR 40:1926 
(October 2014), LR 41:1276 (July 2015), LR 41:2321 (November 
2015), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 44:2137 (December 2018), 
LR 45:1752 (December 2019), LR 47: 
Chapter 3. Licensing of Byproduct Material 
Subchapter D. Specific Licenses 
§328. Special Requirements for Specific License to 

Manufacture, Assemble, Repair, or Distribute 
Commodities, Products, or Devices that Contain 
Byproduct Material 

A. - J.1.b.v. … 
c. the applicant submits to the Office of 

Environmental Compliance information on the radionuclide, 
the chemical and physical form, the maximum activity per 
vial, syringe, generator, or other container of the radioactive 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 47, No. 8   August 20, 2021 1151

drug; and the shielding provided by the packaging to show it 
is appropriate for the safe handling and storage of the 
radioactive drugs by medical use licensees; and 

d. the applicant commits to the following labeling 
requirements: 
 i. the label is affixed to each transport radiation 
shield, whether it is constructed of lead, glass, plastic, or 
other material, of a radioactive drug to be transferred for 
commercial distribution. The label shall include the radiation 
symbol and the words "CAUTION, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" 
or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL," the name of the 
radioactive drug or its abbreviation, and the quantity of 
radioactivity at a specified date and time. For radioactive 
drugs with a half-life greater than 100 days, the time may be 
omitted; and 
 ii. a label is affixed to each syringe, vial, or other 
container used to hold a radioactive drug to be transferred 
for commercial distribution. The label shall include the 
radiation symbol and the words "CAUTION, RADIOACTIVE 

MATERIAL" or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" and an 
identifier that ensures that the syringe, vial, or other 
container can be correlated with the information on the 
transport radiation shield label. 

2. - 2.e. … 
 i. a copy of each individual's certification by a 
specialty board whose certification process has been 
recognized by the department, the NRC, or agreement state 
as specified in LAC 33:XV.763.K; 

2.e.ii. - 3.b. … 
4. A licensee shall satisfy the labeling requirements in 

Subparagraph J.1.d. of this Section. 
5. Nothing in this Section relieves the licensee from 

complying with applicable FDA, other federal, and state 
requirements governing radioactive drugs. 

K. - M.4.g. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 
(January 1992), LR 24:2092 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2569 (November 2000), LR 26:2768 (December 
2000), LR 27:1228 (August 2001), LR 30:1664 (August 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2526 (October 2005), LR 33:2179 (October 2007), LR 36:1771 
(August 2010), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 38:2746 (November 2012), LR 40:286 (February 
2014), LR 40:1341 (July 2014), LR 41:1278 (July 2015), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 44:2137 (December 2018), LR 47: 
§331. Specific Terms and Conditions of Licenses 

A. … 
B. No license issued or granted in accordance with these 

regulations and no right to possess or utilize radioactive 
material granted by any license issued pursuant to this 
Chapter shall be transferred, assigned, or in any manner 
disposed of, either voluntarily or involuntarily, directly or 
indirectly, through transfer of control of any license to any 
person unless the department shall, after securing full 
information, find that the transfer is in accordance with the 
provisions of the act and shall give its consent in writing. 

1. … 
C. Each person licensed by the administrative authority 

in accordance with these regulations shall confine his use 
and possession of the byproduct material to the locations and 
purposes authorized in the license. Except as otherwise 
provided in the license, a license issued in accordance with 
these regulations shall carry with it the right to receive, 
acquire, own, and possess byproduct material. Preparation 
for shipment and transport of byproduct material shall be in 
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 15. 

D. - F. … 
G. Each licensee preparing technetium-99m 

radiopharmaceuticals from molybdenum-99/technetium-99m 
generators or rubidium-82 from strontium-82/rubidium-82 
generators shall: 

1. test the generator eluates for molybdenum-99 
breakthrough or strontium-82 and strontium-85 
contamination, respectively, in accordance with LAC 
33:XV.732; 

2. record the results of each test and retain each record 
for three years after the record is made; and 

3. report the results of any test that exceeds the 
permissible concentration listed in LAC 33:XV.732.A at the 
time of generator elution, in accordance with LAC 
33:XV.732.D and E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 
(January 1992), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2571 
(November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 31:2527 (October 2005), LR 33:2180 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 40:1928 (October 2014), LR 41:2132 (October 2015), 
LR 47: 
Chapter 6. X-Rays in the Healing Arts 
§613. Notifications, Reports, and Records of Medical 

Events 
A. - C. 
D. All reports, notifications, and records shall be in 

accordance with LAC 33:XV.712.D, E, and G. 
E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1064 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45:751 (June 
2019), LR 45:1758 (December 2019), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
47: 
Chapter 7. Use of Radionuclides in the Healing Arts 
§706. Radiation Safety Officer 

A. A licensee’s management shall appoint a radiation 
safety officer, who agrees, in writing, to be responsible for 
implementing the radiation protection program. The 
licensee, through the radiation safety officer, shall ensure 
that radiation safety activities are being performed in 
accordance with licensee-approved procedures and 
regulatory requirements. A licensee's management may 
appoint, in writing, one or more associate radiation safety 
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officers to support the radiation safety officer. The radiation 
safety officer, with written agreement of the licensee's 
management, shall assign the specific duties and tasks to 
each associate radiation safety officer. These duties and tasks 
are restricted to the types of use for which the associate 
radiation safety officer is listed on a license. The radiation 
safety officer may delegate duties and tasks to the associate 
radiation safety officer but shall not delegate the authority or 
responsibilities for implementing the radiation protection 
program. 

B. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2588 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:813 (May 2006), LR 47: 
§708. Statement of Authorities and Responsibilities 

A. A licensee shall provide sufficient authority, 
organizational freedom, time, resources, and management 
prerogative to the radiation safety officer and the radiation 
safety committee to: 

1. … 
2. initiate, recommend, or provide corrective actions; 
3. stop unsafe operations; and 
4. verify implementation of corrective actions. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§710. Report and Notification of a Dose to an 

Embryo/Fetus or a Nursing Child  
A. A licensee shall report any dose to an embryo/fetus 

that is greater than 50 mSv (5 rem) dose equivalent that is a 
result of an administration of byproduct material or radiation 
from byproduct material to a pregnant individual unless the 
dose to the embryo/fetus was specifically approved, in 
advance, by the authorized user. 

B. A licensee shall report any dose to a nursing child that 
is a result of an administration of byproduct material to a 
breast-feeding individual that: 

B.1. - F.1.a. … 
b. the identification number or if no other 

identification number is available, the social security number 
of the individual who is the subject of the event; and 

F.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:1174 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
33:2185 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 

§712. Notifications, Reports, and Records of Medical 
Events 

A. A licensee shall report any event as a medical event, 
except for an event that results from patient intervention, in 
which the administration of byproduct material or radiation 
from byproduct material, except permanent implant 
brachytherapy, results in: 

1. a dose that differs from the prescribed dose, or the 
dose that would have resulted from the prescribed dosage, 
by more than 0.05 Sv (5 rem) effective dose equivalent, 0.5 
Sv (50 rem) to an organ or tissue, or 0.5 Sv (50 rem) shallow 
dose equivalent to the skin, and: 

1.a. - 2. … 
a. an administration of a wrong radioactive drug 

containing byproduct material or the wrong radionuclide for 
a brachytherapy procedure; 

b. an administration of a radioactive drug 
containing byproduct material by the wrong route of 
administration; 

c. - e. … 
3. a dose to the skin or an organ or tissue other than 

the treatment site that exceeds by: 
a. 0.5 Sv (50 rem) or more the expected dose to that 

site from the procedure if the administration had been given 
in accordance with the written directive prepared or revised 
before administration; and 

b. 50 percent or more the expected dose to that site 
from the procedure if the administration had been given in 
accordance with the written directive prepared or revised 
before administration. 

B. For permanent implant brachytherapy, the 
administration of byproduct material or radiation from 
byproduct material (excluding sources that were implanted 
in the correct site but migrated outside the treatment site) 
that results in: 

1. the total source strength administered differing by 
20 percent or more from the total source strength 
documented in the post-implantation portion of the written 
directive; 

2. the total source strength administered outside of the 
treatment site exceeding 20 percent of the total source 
strength documented in the post-implantation portion of the 
written directive; or 

3. an administration that includes any of the 
following: 

a. the wrong radionuclide; 
b. the wrong individual or human research subject; 
c. sealed source(s) implanted directly into a location 

discontiguous from the treatment site, as documented in the 
post-implantation portion of the written directive; or 

d. a leaking sealed source resulting in a dose that 
exceeds 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to an organ or tissue. 

C. A licensee shall report any event resulting from 
intervention of a patient or human research subject in which 
the administration of byproduct material or radiation from 
byproduct material results or will result in unintended 
permanent functional damage to an organ or a physiological 
system, as determined by a physician. 
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D. The following notifications are required for a medical 
event. 

1. The licensee shall notify the Office of 
Environmental Compliance by telephone at (225) 765-0160 
in the manner provided in LAC 33:I.3923 no later than the 
next calendar day after discovery of the medical event. 

2. The licensee shall submit a written report to the 
Office of Environmental Compliance using the procedures 
provided in LAC 33:I.3925.B and C within 15 days after 
discovery of the medical event. 

a. The written report shall include: 
 i. the licensee's name; 
 ii. the name of the prescribing physician; 
 iii. a brief description of the event; 
 iv. why the event occurred; 
 v. the effect, if any, on the individual(s) who 
received the administration; 
 vi. what actions, if any, have been taken or are 
planned to prevent recurrence; and 
 vii. certification that the licensee notified the 
individual (or the individual's responsible relative or 
guardian), and if not, why not. 

b. The report may not contain the individual's name 
or any other information that could lead to identification of 
the individual. 

3. The licensee shall notify the referring physician and 
also notify the individual who is the subject of the medical 
event no later than 24 hours after its discovery, unless the 
referring physician personally informs the licensee either 
that he or she will inform the individual or that, based on 
medical judgement, telling the individual would be harmful. 
The licensee is not required to notify the individual without 
first consulting the referring physician. If the referring 
physician or the affected individual cannot be reached within 
24 hours, the licensee shall notify the individual as soon as 
possible thereafter. The licensee may not delay any 
appropriate medical care for the individual, including any 
necessary remedial care as a result of the medical event, 
because of any delay in notification. To meet the 
requirements of this Paragraph, the notification to the 
individual who is the subject of the medical event may be 
made instead to that individual's responsible relative or 
guardian. If a verbal notification is made, the licensee shall 
inform the individual, or appropriate responsible relative or 
guardian, that a written description of the event can be 
obtained from the licensee upon request. The licensee shall 
provide such a written description if requested. 

E. Each licensee shall retain a record of each medical 
event for five years. The record shall contain the names of 
all individuals involved (including the prescribing physician, 
allied health personnel, the individual affected by the 
medical event, and the individual's referring physician), the 
individual's driver's license or state identification number 
and the issuing state, a brief description of the medical 
event, why it occurred, the effect on the individual, what 
improvements are needed to prevent recurrence, and the 
actions taken to prevent recurrence. 

F. Aside from the notification requirement, nothing in 
this Section affects any rights or duties of licensees and 
physicians in relation to each other, the individual, or the 
individual's responsible relatives or guardians. 

G. A licensee shall: 

1. annotate a copy of the report provided to the 
department with: 

a. the name of the individual who is the subject of 
the event; and 

b. the identification number or if no other 
identification number is available, the social security number 
of the individual who is the subject of the event; and 

2. provide a copy of the annotated report to the 
referring physician, if other than the licensee, no later than 
15 days after the discovery of the event. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2102 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2588 (November 2000), LR 30:1174 (June 2004), 
LR 30:1679 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2804 (December 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§718. Authorization for Calibration, Transmission, 

and Reference Sources 
A. Any person authorized by LAC 33:XV.702 for 

medical use of byproduct material may receive, possess, and 
use the following byproduct material for check, calibration, 
transmission, and reference use: 

1. sealed sources manufactured and distributed by 
persons specifically licensed in accordance with Chapter 3 
of these regulations or equivalent provisions of the U.S. 
NRC, an agreement state, or a licensing state, and that do not 
exceed 30 millicuries (1.11 GBq) each; 

2. sealed sources redistributed by a licensee 
authorized to redistribute the sealed sources manufactured 
and distributed by a person licensed under LAC 
33:XV.328.L or equivalent agreement state regulations, 
providing the redistributed sealed sources are in the original 
packaging and shielding and are accompanied by the 
manufacturer's approved instructions and do not exceed 30 
mCi (1.11 GBq) each; 

3. any byproduct material with a half-life of 120 days 
or less in individual amounts not to exceed 15 millicuries 
(0.56 GBq); 

4. any byproduct material with a half-life greater than 
120 days in individual amounts not to exceed the smaller of 
200 microcuries (7.4 MBq) or 1000 times the quantities in 
LAC 33:XV.499.Appendix C; or 

5. technetium-99m in amounts as needed. 
B. Byproduct material in sealed sources authorized by 

this provision shall not be: 
1. used for medical use as defined in LAC 33:XV.102 

except in accordance with the requirements in LAC 
33:XV.739; or 

2. combined (i.e., bundled or aggregated) to create an 
activity greater than the maximum activity of any single 
sealed source authorized under this Section. 

C. A licensee using calibration, transmission, and 
reference sources in accordance with the requirements in 
Subsections A or B of this Section need not list these sources 
on a specific medical use license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§719. Requirements for Possession of Sealed Sources 

and Brachytherapy Sources 
A. - K. … 
L. A licensee shall mathematically correct the outputs or 

activities determined in Subsection J of this Section for 
physical decay at intervals consistent with 1 percent physical 
decay. 

M. … 
N. Strontium-90 Sources for Ophthalmic Treatments. 

1.  Licensees who use strontium-90 for ophthalmic 
treatments shall ensure that certain activities as specified in 
Paragraph N.2 of this Section are performed by either: 

a. an authorized medical physicist; or 
b. an individual who: 

 i.  is identified as an ophthalmic physicist on a 
specific medical use license issued by the NRC or an 
agreement state; permit issued by an NRC or agreement state 
broad scope medical use licensee; medical use permit issued 
by an NRC master material licensee; or permit issued by an 
NRC master material licensee broad scope medical use 
permittee; 
 ii. holds a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 
medical physics, other physical sciences, engineering, or 
applied mathematics from an accredited college or 
university; 
 iii. has successfully completed one year of full-
time training in medical physics and an additional year of 
full-time work experience under the supervision of a medical 
physicist; and 
 iv. has documented training in: 

(a). the creation, modification, and completion of 
written directives; 

(b). procedures for administrations requiring a 
written directive; and 

(c). performing the calibration measurements of 
brachytherapy sources as detailed in LAC 33:XV.719.J. 

2. The individuals who are identified in Paragraph N.1 
of this Section shall: 

a. calculate the activity of each strontium-90 source 
that is used to determine the treatment times for ophthalmic 
treatments. The decay shall be based on the activity 
determined under LAC 33:XV.719.J; and 

b. assist the licensee in developing, implementing, 
and maintaining written procedures to provide high 
confidence that the administration is in accordance with the 
written directive. These procedures shall: 
 i. include the frequencies that the individual 
meeting the requirements in Paragraph N.1 of this Section 
will observe treatments; 
 ii. review the treatment methodology; 
 iii. calculate treatment time for the prescribed 
dose; and 
 iv. review records to verify that the 
administrations were in accordance with the written 
directives. 

3. Licensees shall retain a record of the activity of 
each strontium-90 source for the life of the source in 
accordance with LAC 33:XV.744.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2589 (November 2000), 
LR 30:1176 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2533 (October 2005), LR 33:2185 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§732. Permissible Molybdenum-99, Strontium-82, and 

Strontium-85 Concentrations 
A. - C. … 
D. The licensee shall notify the Office of Environmental 

Compliance by telephone at (225) 765-0160 and the 
distributor of the generator within seven calendar days after 
discovery that an eluate exceeded the permissible 
concentration specified in LAC 33:XV.732.A at the time of 
generator elution. The telephone report to the department 
shall include: 

1. the manufacturer; 
2. model number, and serial number (or lot number) of 

the generator; 
3. the results of the measurement; 
4. the date of the measurement; 
5. whether dosages were administered to patients or 

human research subjects; 
6. when the distributor was notified; and 
7. the action taken. 

E. By an appropriate method listed in LAC 33:I.3923, 
the licensee shall submit a written report to the Office of 
Environmental Compliance within 30 calendar days after 
discovery of an eluate exceeding the permissible 
concentration at the time of generator elution. 

1. The written report shall include: 
a. the action taken by the licensee; 
b. the patient dose assessment; 
c. the methodology used to make this dose 

assessment if the eluate was administered to patients or 
human research subjects; 

d. the probable cause and an assessment of failure 
in the licensee's equipment, procedures, or training that 
contributed to the excessive readings if an error occurred in 
the licensee's breakthrough determination; and 

e. the information in the telephone report as 
required by Subsection D of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2589 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 40:291 
(February 2014), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
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§735. Use of Radiopharmaceuticals for Therapy 
A. - B.2. … 
C. A licensee may use any unsealed byproduct material 

identified in 763.E.1.b.i.(b).(vii) prepared for medical use 
and for which a written directive is required that is: 

1. obtained from: 
a. a manufacturer or preparer licensed under LAC 

33:XV.328.J or equivalent agreement state requirements; or 
b. a PET radioactive drug producer licensed in 

accordance with LAC 33:XV.324.D.1 or equivalent NRC or 
agreement state requirements; or 

2. excluding production of PET radionuclides, 
prepared by: 

a. an authorized nuclear pharmacist; 
b. a physician who is an authorized user and who 

meets the requirements specified in LAC 33:XV.763.D or 
E.1; or 

c.  an individual under the supervision, as specified 
in LAC 33:XV.709, of the authorized nuclear pharmacist in 
Subparagraph C.2.a of this Section or the physician who is 
an authorized user in Subparagraph C.2.b of this Section; or 

3. obtained from and prepared by a NRC or agreement 
state licensee, for use in research in accordance with an 
Investigational New Drug (IND) protocol accepted by FDA; 
or 

4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2104 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1178 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 40:292 (February 2014), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§739. Use of Sealed Sources and Medical Devices for 

Diagnosis 
A. A licensee shall use only sealed sources that are not in 

medical devices for diagnostic medical uses if the sealed 
sources are approved in the Sealed Source and Device 
Registry for diagnostic medicine. The sealed sources may be 
used for diagnostic medical uses that are not explicitly listed 
in the Sealed Source and Device Registry but shall be used 
in accordance with the radiation safety conditions and 
limitations described in the Sealed Source and Device 
Registry. 

B. A licensee shall only use medical devices containing 
sealed sources for diagnostic medical uses if both the sealed 
sources and medical devices are approved in the Sealed 
Source and Device Registry for diagnostic medical uses. The 
diagnostic medical devices may be used for diagnostic 
medical uses that are not explicitly listed in the Sealed 
Source and Device Registry but shall be used in accordance 
with the radiation safety conditions and limitations described 
in the Sealed Source and Device Registry. 

C.  Sealed sources and devices for diagnostic medical 
uses may be used in research in accordance with an active 
Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) application 
accepted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
provided the requirements of LAC 33:XV.713.A.1 are met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:1178 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§741. Use of Sources for Brachytherapy 

A. - B. … 
1. as approved in the Sealed Source and Device 

Registry for manual brachytherapy medical use. The manual 
brachytherapy sources may be used for manual 
brachytherapy uses that are not explicitly listed in the Sealed 
Source and Device Registry, but shall be used in accordance 
with the radiation safety conditions and limitations described 
in the Sealed Source and Device Registry; or 

2. in research to deliver therapeutic doses for medical 
use in accordance with an active Investigational Device 
Exemption (IDE) application accepted by the FDA, provided 
the requirements of LAC 33:XV.713.A.1 are met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:1178 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:813 (May 2006), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§742. Safety Instructions 

A. The licensee shall provide oral and written radiation 
safety instruction to all personnel caring for a patient or 
human research subject receiving brachytherapy and cannot 
be released under LAC 33:XV.725. Refresher training shall 
be provided at intervals not to exceed one year. 

B. - B.4.a. … 
b. visitation authorized in accordance with LAC 

33:XV.421.F; 
5. - 6. … 

C. A licensee shall maintain a record of individuals 
receiving instruction required by Subsection A of this 
Section, a description of the instruction, the date of 
instruction, and the name of the individual who gave the 
instruction for three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2105 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1179 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:813 (May 2006), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§743. Safety Precautions 

A. - B. … 
1. dislodged from the patient; and 

B.2. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2105 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1179 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:814 (May 2006), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§744. Brachytherapy Records 

A. - A.1. … 
2. As soon as possible after removing sources from a 

patient or a human research subject, the licensee shall return 
brachytherapy sources to an area of storage from the area of 
use, and immediately count or otherwise verify the number 
returned to ensure that all sources taken from the storage 
area have been returned. 

3. A licensee shall maintain a record of brachytherapy 
source accountability required by Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this 
Section for three years. 

a. For temporary implants, the record shall include: 
 i. the number and activity of sources removed 
from storage, the time and date they were removed from 
storage, the name of the individual who removed them from 
storage, and the location of use; and 
 ii. the number and activity of sources returned to 
storage, the time and date they were returned to storage, and 
the name of the individual who returned them to storage. 

b. For permanent implants, the record shall include: 
 i. the number and activity of sources removed 
from storage, the date they were removed from storage, and 
the name of the individual who removed them from storage; 
 ii. the number and activity of sources not 
implanted, the date they were returned to storage, and the 
name of the individual who returned them to storage; and 
 iii. the number and activity of sources permanently 
implanted in the patient or human research subject. 

B. - C.2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2106 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1179 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
47: 
§745. Surveys After Source Implant and Removal 

A. … 
B. Immediately after removing the last temporary 

implant source from a patient or human research subject, the 
licensee shall perform a radiation survey of the patient or 
human research subject with a radiation detection survey 
instrument to confirm that all sources have been removed. 

C. … 
D. A licensee shall maintain a record of patient or human 

research subject surveys that demonstrates compliance with 
Subsections A, B, and C of this Section for three years. Each 
record shall include the date and results of the survey, the 
survey instrument used, and the name of the individual who 
made the survey. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2106 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1180 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
47: 
§747. Use of Sealed Sources in Teletherapy Units, 

Remote Afterloader Units, and Gamma 
Stereotactic Radiosurgery Units 

A. - A.2. … 
B. A licensee shall use teletherapy units, photon-emitting 

remote afterloader units, or gamma stereotactic radiosurgery 
units: 

1. approved in the Sealed Source and Device Registry 
to deliver a therapeutic dose for medical use. These devices 
may be used for therapeutic medical treatments that are not 
explicitly provided for in the Sealed Source and Device 
Registry, but shall be used in accordance with radiation 
safety conditions and limitations described in the Sealed 
Source and Device Registry; or 

2. in research in accordance with an active 
Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) application 
accepted by the FDA provided the requirements of LAC 
33:XV.713.A.1 are met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:1180 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§750. Safety Procedures and Instructions for Remote 

Afterloader Units, Teletherapy Units, and 
Gamma Stereotactic Radiosurgery Units 

A. - C.2. … 
D. Prior to the first use for patient treatment of a new 

unit or an existing unit with a manufacturer upgrade that 
affects the operation and safety of the unit, a licensee shall: 

1. ensure that vendor operational and safety training is 
provided to all individuals who will operate the unit. The 
vendor operational and safety training shall be provided by 
the device manufacturer or by an individual certified by the 
device manufacturer to provide the operational and safety 
training; and 

2. provide operational and safety instructions, initially 
and at least annually, to all individuals who operate the unit, 
as appropriate to the individual's assigned duties. The 
instructions shall include instructions in: 

a. the procedures identified in Paragraph A.4 of this 
Section; and 

b. the operating procedures for the unit. 
E. … 
F. A licensee shall maintain a record of individuals 

receiving instruction required by Subsection D of this 
Section, a description of the instruction, the date of 
instruction, the name(s) of the attendee(s), and the name of 
the individual who gave the instruction for three years. 

G. A licensee shall retain a copy of the procedures 
required by Paragraphs A.4 and D.2 of this Section until the 
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licensee no longer possesses the remote afterloader, 
teletherapy unit, or gamma stereotactic radiosurgery unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2106 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 30:1180 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
47: 
§762. Full Inspection Servicing for Teletherapy and 

Gamma Stereotactic Radiosurgery Units 
A. A licensee shall have each teletherapy unit and 

gamma stereotactic radiosurgery unit fully inspected and 
serviced during each source replacement or at intervals not 
to exceed five years, whichever comes first, to ensure proper 
functioning of the source exposure mechanism and other 
safety components. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2590 (November 2000), 
LR 30:1186 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§763. Training 

A. Training for a Radiation Safety Officer and Associate 
Radiation Safety Officer. Except as provided in Subsection 
B of this Section, the licensee shall require an individual 
fulfilling the responsibilities of the radiation safety officer or 
an individual assigned duties and tasks as an associate 
radiation safety officer as provided in LAC 33:XV.706 to be 
an individual: 

1. who is certified by a specialty board whose 
certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state, and who meets the requirements in 
Paragraph A.4 of this Section. The names of board 
certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 
Licensee Toolkit web page. To have its certification process 
recognized, a specialty board shall require all candidates for 
certification to: 

a. - b. … 
 i. hold a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 
medical physics, other physical science, engineering, or 
applied mathematics from an accredited college or 
university; 
 ii. - ii.(a). … 

(b). in clinical nuclear medicine facilities 
providing diagnostic or therapeutic services under the 
direction of physicians who meet the requirements for 
authorized users in Subsection B or D, or Paragraph E.1 of 
this Section; and 

1.b.iii. - 2.a.v. … 
b. one year of full-time radiation safety experience 

under the supervision of the individual identified as the 
radiation safety officer on a NRC or agreement state license 
or permit issued by a NRC master material licensee that 
authorizes similar type(s) of use(s) of byproduct material. An 

associate radiation safety officer may provide supervision 
for those areas for which the associate radiation safety 
officer is authorized on a NRC or an agreement state license 
or permit issued by a NRC master material licensee. The 
full-time radiation safety experience shall involve the 
following: 

i. - vi. … 
 vii. disposing of byproduct material; and 
 c. this individual shall obtain a written attestation, 
signed by a preceptor radiation safety officer or associate 
radiation safety officer who has experience with the 
radiation safety aspects of similar types of use of byproduct 
material for which the individual is seeking approval as a 
radiation safety officer or an associate radiation safety 
officer. The written attestation shall state that the individual 
has satisfactorily completed the requirements in Paragraphs 
A.2 and A.4 of this Section, and is able to independently 
fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as a radiation safety 
officer or as an associate radiation safety officer for a 
medical use license; or 

3. … 
a. is a medical physicist who has been certified by a 

specialty board whose certification process has been 
recognized by the NRC or an agreement state in accordance 
with Subsection J of this Section, has experience with the 
radiation safety aspects of similar types of use of byproduct 
material for which the licensee is seeking the approval of the 
individual as radiation safety officer or an associate radiation 
safety officer, and who meets the requirements in Paragraph 
A.4 of this Section; or 

b. is an authorized user, authorized medical 
physicist, or authorized nuclear pharmacist identified on a 
NRC or an agreement state license, or a permit issued by a 
NRC or an agreement state licensee of broad scope, or a 
permit issued by the NRC master material license broad 
scope permittee, has experience with the radiation safety 
aspects of similar types of use of byproduct material for 
which the licensee seeks the approval of the individual as the 
radiation safety officer or associate radiation safety officer, 
and meets the requirements in Paragraph 4 of this Section; or 

c. has experience with the radiation safety aspects 
of the types of use of byproduct material for which the 
individual is seeking simultaneous approval both as the 
radiation safety officer and the authorized user on the same 
new medical use license or new medical use permit issued 
by a NRC master material license. The individual shall also 
meet the requirements in Paragraph A.4 of this Section. 

4. The individual shall have training in the radiation 
safety, regulatory issues, and emergency procedures for the 
types of use for which a licensee seeks approval. This 
training requirement may be satisfied by completing training 
that is supervised by a radiation safety officer, an associate 
radiation safety officer, authorized medical physicist, 
authorized nuclear pharmacist, or authorized user, as 
appropriate, who is authorized for the type(s) of use for 
which the licensee is seeking approval. 

B. … 
1. An individual identified on an agreement state or a 

NRC license or a permit issued by a NRC or an agreement 
state broad scope licensee or master material license permit 
or by a master material license permittee of broad scope as a 
radiation safety officer, a teletherapy or medical physicist, an 
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authorized medical physicist, a nuclear pharmacist, or an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist on or before January 14, 
2019, need not comply with the training requirements of 
Subsections A, J, or K of this Section, respectively, except 
the radiation safety officers and authorized medical 
physicists identified in this Paragraph shall meet the training 
requirements in Paragraphs A.4 or J.3 of this Section as 
appropriate, for any material or uses for which they were not 
authorized prior to this date. 

2. Any individual certified by the American Board of 
Health Physics in Comprehensive Health Physics; American 
Board of Radiology; American Board of Nuclear Medicine; 
American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine; Board of 
Pharmaceutical Specialties in Nuclear Pharmacy; American 
Board of Medical Physics in radiation oncology physics; 
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 
nuclear medicine; American Osteopathic Board of 
Radiology; or American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear 
Medicine on or before October 24, 2005, need not comply 
with the training requirements of Subsection A of this 
Section to be identified as a radiation safety officer or as an 
associate radiation safety officer on a NRC or an agreement 
state license or NRC master material license permit for those 
materials and uses that these individuals performed on or 
before October 24, 2005. 

3. Any individual certified by the American Board of 
Radiology in therapeutic radiological physics, Roentgen ray 
and gamma ray physics, X-ray and radium physics, or 
radiological physics, or certified by the American Board of 
Medical Physics in radiation oncology physics, on or before 
October 24, 2005, need not comply with the training 
requirements for an authorized medical physicist described 
in Subsection J of this Section, for those materials and uses 
that these individuals performed on or before October 24, 
2005. 

4. A radiation safety officer, a medical physicist, or a 
nuclear pharmacist, who used only accelerator-produced 
radioactive materials, discrete sources of radium-226, or 
both, for medical uses or in the practice of nuclear pharmacy 
at a government agency or federally-recognized Indian tribe 
before November 30, 2007, or at any other location of use 
before August 8, 2009, or an earlier date as noticed by the 
NRC, need not comply with the training requirements of 
Subsections A, J, or K of this Section, respectively, when 
performing the same uses. A nuclear pharmacist, who 
prepared only radioactive drugs containing accelerator-
produced radioactive materials, or a medical physicist, who 
used only accelerator-produced radioactive materials, at the 
locations and during the time period identified in this 
Paragraph, qualifies as an authorized nuclear pharmacist or 
an authorized medical physicist, respectively, for those 
materials and uses performed before these dates, for 
purposes of this Chapter. 

5. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists identified as 
authorized users for the medical use of byproduct material 
on a license issued by the NRC or agreement state, a permit 
issued by a NRC master material licensee, a permit issued by 
a NRC or an agreement state broad scope licensee, or a 
permit issued by a commission master material license broad 
scope permittee on or before January 14, 2019, who perform 
only those medical uses for which they were authorized on 

or before that date need not comply with the training 
requirements of this Chapter. 

6. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists not identified as 
authorized users for the medical use of byproduct material 
on a license issued by the NRC or agreement state, a permit 
issued by a NRC master material licensee, a permit issued by 
a NRC or an agreement state broad scope licensee, or a 
permit issued by a NRC master material license of broad 
scope on or before October 24, 2005, need not comply with 
the training requirements of this Chapter for those materials 
and uses that these individuals performed on or before 
October 24, 2005, as follows: 

a. for uses authorized under LAC 33:XV.729 or 
731, or oral administration of sodium iodide I-131 requiring 
a written directive for imaging and localization purposes, a 
physician who was certified on or before October 24, 2005, 
in nuclear medicine by the American Board of Nuclear 
Medicine; diagnostic radiology by the American Board of 
Radiology; diagnostic radiology or radiology by the 
American Osteopathic Board of Radiology; nuclear 
medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons 
of Canada; or American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear 
Medicine in nuclear medicine; 

b. for uses authorized under LAC 33:XV.735.C, a 
physician who was certified on or before October 24, 2005, 
by the American Board of Nuclear Medicine; the American 
Board of Radiology in radiology, therapeutic radiology, or 
radiation oncology; nuclear medicine by the Royal College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; or the American 
Osteopathic Board of Radiology after 1984; 

c. for uses authorized under LAC 33:XV.741, a 
physician who was certified on or before October 24, 2005, 
in radiology, therapeutic radiology, or radiation oncology by 
the American Board of Radiology; radiation oncology by the 
American Osteopathic Board of Radiology; radiology, with 
specialization in radiotherapy, as a British “Fellow of the 
Faculty of Radiology” or “Fellow of the Royal College of 
Radiology”; or therapeutic radiology by the Canadian Royal 
College of Physicians and Surgeons; and 

d. for uses authorized under LAC 33:XV.739, a 
physician who was certified on or before October 24, 2005, 
in radiology, diagnostic radiology, therapeutic radiology, or 
radiation oncology by the American Board of Radiology; 
nuclear medicine by the American Board of Nuclear 
Medicine; diagnostic radiology or radiology by the 
American Osteopathic Board of Radiology; or nuclear 
medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons 
of Canada. 

7. Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists who used only 
accelerator-produced radioactive materials, discrete sources 
of radium-226, or both, for medical uses performed at a 
government agency or federally-recognized Indian tribe 
before November 30, 2007, or at all other locations of use 
before August 8, 2009, or an earlier date as noticed by the 
NRC, need not comply with the training requirements of this 
Chapter when performing the same medical uses. A 
physician, dentist, or podiatrist who used only accelerator-
produced radioactive materials, discrete sources of radium-
226, or both, for medical uses at the locations and time 
period identified in this Paragraph, qualifies as an authorized 
user for those materials and uses performed before these 
dates, for purposes of this Chapter. 
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8. Individuals who need not comply with training 
requirements as described in this Section may serve as 
preceptors for, and supervisors of, applicants seeking 
authorizations on Agreement State or NRC licenses for the 
same uses for which these individuals are authorized. 

C. … 
1. who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 
been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 
posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensees Toolkit web 
page. To have its certification process recognized, a specialty 
board shall require all candidates for certification to: 

a. complete 60 hours of training and experience in 
basic radionuclide handling techniques and radiation safety 
applicable to the medical use of unsealed byproduct material 
for uptake, dilution, and excretion studies as described in 
Clauses C.3.a.i-ii of this Section; and 

b. … 
2. who is an authorized user under Subsection D or 

Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or equivalent agreement state 
requirements, or NRC requirements; or 

3. … 
a. has completed 60 hours of training and 

experience, including a minimum of eight hours of 
classroom and laboratory training, in basic radionuclide 
handling techniques applicable to the medical use of 
unsealed byproduct material for uptake, dilution, and 
excretion studies. The training and experience shall include: 
 i. - ii.(f). … 

b. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraph C.3.a of this Section and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user for the medical uses authorized in LAC 
33:XV.729. The attestation shall be obtained from either: 
 i. a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in Subsections B, C, D, or Paragraph E.1 of 
this Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements; or 
 ii. a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
Subsections B, C, D, or Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or 
equivalent NRC or agreement state requirements, and 
concurs with the attestation provided by the residency 
program director. The residency training program shall be 
approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 
the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or 
the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 
Osteopathic Association and shall include training and 
experience specified in Subparagraph C.3.a of this Section. 

D. … 
1. who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 
been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 
posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit web 
page. To have its certification process recognized, a specialty 
board shall require all candidates for certification to: 

1.a. - 3. … 
a. has completed 700 hours of training and 

experience, including a minimum of 80 hours of classroom 
and laboratory training, in basic radionuclide handling 
techniques applicable to the medical use of unsealed 
byproduct material for imaging and localization studies. The 
training and experience shall include, at a minimum: 
 i. - i.(e). … 
 ii. work experience, under the supervision of an 
authorized user, who meets the requirements in this 
Subsection, Subsection B, or Subclause D.3.a.ii.(g) and 
Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or equivalent agreement state 
requirements, or NRC requirements. An authorized nuclear 
pharmacist who meets the requirements in Subsections B or 
K of this Section may provide the supervised work 
experience for Subclause D.3.a.ii.(g) of this Section. Work 
experience shall involve: 
 (a). - (g). … 

b. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraph D.3.a of this Section and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user for the medical uses authorized in LAC 
33:XV.729 and LAC 33:XV.731.H. The attestation shall be 
obtained from either: 
 i. a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Subsection, Subsection B, or Paragraph 
E.1 and Subclause D.3.a.ii.(g) of this Section, NRC or 
equivalent agreement state requirements; or 
 ii. a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Subsection, Subsection B, or Paragraph E.1 and 
Subclause D.3.a.ii.(g), or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements, and concurs with the attestation provided by 
the residency program director. The residency training 
program shall be approved by the Residency Review 
Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate 
Medical Education or the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada or the Council on Postdoctoral Training 
of the American Osteopathic Association and shall include 
training and experience specified in Subparagraph D.3.a of 
this Section. 

E. - E.1. … 
a. who is certified by a medical specialty board 

whose certification process has been recognized by the NRC 
or an agreement state, and who meets the requirements in 
Division E.1.b.i.(b).(vii) of this Section. The names of board 
certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 
Licensee Toolkit web page. To be recognized, a specialty 
board shall require all candidates for certification to: 
 i. successfully complete residency training in a 
radiation therapy or nuclear medicine training program or a 
program in a related medical specialty. These residency 
training programs shall include 700 hours of training and 
experience as described in Subclause E.1.b.i.(a) through 
Division E.1.b.i.(b).(v) of this Section. Eligible training 
programs shall be approved by the Residency Review 
Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate 
Medical Education, the Royal College of Physicians and 
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Surgeons of Canada, or the Council on Postdoctoral Training 
of the American Osteopathic Association; and 

a.ii. – b. … 
i. has completed 700 hours of training and 

experience, including a minimum of 200 hours of classroom 
and laboratory training, in basic radionuclide handling 
techniques applicable to the medical use of unsealed 
byproduct material requiring a written directive. The training 
and experience shall include: 

(a). - (a).(v). … 
(b). work experience, under the supervision of an 

authorized user who meets the requirements in this 
Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, or equivalent 
agreement state requirements or NRC requirements. A 
supervising authorized user, who meets the requirements in 
Subparagraph E.1.b of this Section, shall also have 
experience in administering dosages in the same dosage 
category or categories (i.e., Division E.1.b.i.(b).(vii) of this 
Section) as the individual requesting authorized user status. 
The work experience shall involve: 
 (i). - (vi). … 
 (vii). administering dosages of radioactive 
drugs to patients or human research subjects from the three 
categories in this Division. Radioactive drugs containing 
radionuclides in categories not included in this Division are 
regulated elsewhere in this Chapter. This work experience 
shall involve a minimum of three cases in each of the 
following categories for which the individual is requesting 
authorized user status: 

[a]. - [b]. … 

 [c]. parenteral administration of any 
radioactive drug that contains a radionuclide that is primarily 
used for its electron emission, beta radiation characteristics, 
alpha radiation characteristics, or photon energy of less than 
150 keV, for which a written directive is required; and 

 ii. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Clause E.1.b.i of this Section, and is able to independently 
fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an authorized 
user for the medical uses authorized in LAC 33:XV.735.C 
for which the individual is requesting authorized user status. 
The attestation shall be obtained from either: 

(a). a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, 
equivalent agreement state requirements, or NRC 
requirements and has experience in administering dosages in 
the same dosage category or categories as the individual 
requesting authorized user status; or 

(b). a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, equivalent 
agreement state requirements, or NRC requirements, has 
experience in administering dosages in the same dosage 
category or categories as the individual requesting 
authorized user status, and concurs with the attestation 
provided by the residency program director. The residency 
training program shall be approved by the Residency

Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for 
Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Council on 
Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 
Association and shall include training and experience 
specified in Clause E.1.b.i of this Section. 

2. … 
a. who is certified by a medical specialty board 

whose certification process includes all of the requirements 
in Clauses E.2.c.i and ii of this Section and whose 
certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 
been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 
posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit web 
page; or 

b. - c. … 
 i. has successfully completed 80 hours of 
classroom and laboratory training, applicable to the medical 
use of sodium iodide I-131 for procedures requiring a 
written directive. The training shall include: 

(a). - (e). … 
 ii. has work experience, under the supervision of 
an authorized user who meets the requirements in this 
Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, or Paragraphs E.1 
or E.3 of this Section, or equivalent agreement state 
requirements or NRC requirements. A supervising 
authorized user who meets the requirements in Subparagraph 
E.1.b of this Section shall also have experience in 
administering dosages as specified in Subdivision 
E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[a] or [b] of this Section. The work 
experience shall involve: 

(a). - (f). … 
 iii. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Clauses E.2.c.i and ii of this Section, and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user for oral administration of less than or equal 
to 1.22 gigabecquerels (33 millicuries) of sodium iodide I-
131 for medical uses authorized in LAC 33:XV.735.C. The 
attestation shall be obtained from either: 

(a). a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, 
Paragraphs E.1 or E.3 of this Section, equivalent NRC or 
agreement state requirements, and has experience in 
administering dosages as specified in Subdivision 
E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[a] or [b] of this Section; or 

(b). a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, Paragraphs E.1 
or E.3 of this Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements, has experience in administering dosages as 
specified in Subdivision E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[a] or [b] of this 
Section, and concurs with the attestation provided by the 
residency program director. The residency training program 
shall be approved by the Residency Review Committee of 
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 
or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada 
or the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American
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Osteopathic Association and shall include training and 
experience specified in Clauses E.2.c.i and ii of this Section. 

3. … 
a. who is certified by a medical specialty board 

whose certification process includes all of the requirements 
in Clauses E.3.c.i and ii of this Section, and whose 
certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 
been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 
posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit web 
page; or 

b. - c. … 
 i. has successfully completed 80 hours of 
classroom and laboratory training, applicable to the medical 
use of sodium iodide I-131 for procedures requiring a 
written directive. The training shall include: 

(a). - (e). … 
 ii. has work experience, under the supervision of 
an authorized user who meets the requirements in this 
Paragraph of this Section, Subsection B of this Section, 
Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or equivalent agreement state 
requirements or NRC requirements. A supervising 
authorized user who meets the requirements in Subparagraph 
E.1.b of this Section shall also have experience in 
administering dosages as specified in Subdivision 
E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[b] of this Section. The work experience 
shall involve: 
 (a). - (f). … 
 iii. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Clauses E.3.c.i and ii of this Section, and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user for oral administration of greater than 1.22 
gigabecquerels (33 millicuries) of sodium iodide I-131 for 
medical uses authorized in LAC 33:XV.735.C. The 
attestation shall be obtained from either: 

(a). a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, 
Paragraphs E.1 of this Section, equivalent NRC or 
agreement state requirements, and has experience in 
administering dosages as specified in Subdivision 
E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[b] of this Section; or 

(b). a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, Paragraphs E.1 
of this Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements, has experience in administering dosages as 
specified in Subdivision E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[b] of this Section, 
and concurs with the attestation provided by the residency 
program director. The residency training program shall be 
approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 
the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or 
the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 
Osteopathic Association and shall include training and 
experience specified in Clauses E.3.c.i and ii of this Section. 

4. … 
a. who is an authorized user in accordance with 

Paragraph E.1 of this Section for uses listed in Subdivision 

E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[c] of this Section, or equivalent agreement 
state requirements or NRC requirements; or 

b. who is an authorized user in accordance with 
Subsections F or I of this Section, or equivalent agreement 
state requirements, NRC requirements, and who meets the 
requirements in Subparagraph E.4.d of this Section; or 

c. who is certified by a medical specialty board 
whose certification process has been recognized by the NRC 
or an agreement state in accordance with Subsections F or I 
of this Section, and who meets the requirements in 
Subparagraph E.4.d of this Section; or 

d. … 
 i. has successfully completed 80 hours of 
classroom and laboratory training, applicable to parenteral 
administrations listed in Subdivision E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[c]. The 
training shall include: 

(a). - (e). … 
 ii. has work experience, under the supervision of 
an authorized user who meets the requirements in this 
Paragraph, Subsection B, or Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or 
equivalent agreement state requirements, or NRC 
requirements in the parenteral administration listed in 
Subdivision E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[c]. A supervising authorized 
user who meets the requirements in this Paragraph, 
Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or equivalent NRC or 
agreement state requirements, shall have experience in 
administering dosages in the same category or categories as 
the individual requesting authorized user status. The work 
experience shall involve: 
 (a). - (e). … 

(f). administering dosages to patients or human 
research subjects, that include at least three cases of the 
parenteral administrations as specified in Subdivision 
E.1.b.i.(b).(vii).[c]; and 
 iii. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Clauses E.4.d.i and ii of this Section, and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user for the parenteral administration of unsealed 
byproduct material requiring a written directive. The 
attestation shall be obtained from either: 

(a). a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, 
Paragraph E.1 of this Section, or equivalent NRC or 
agreement state requirements. A preceptor authorized user 
who meets the requirements in this Paragraph, Paragraph E.1 
of this Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements, shall have experience in administering 
dosages in the same category or categories as the individual 
requesting authorized user status; or 

(b). a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Paragraph, Subsection B of this Section, Paragraph E.1 
of this Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements, has experience in administering dosages in the 
same dosage category or categories as the individual 
requesting authorized user status, and concurs with the 
attestation provided by the residency program director. The 
residency training program shall be approved by the 
Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council 
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for Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Council on 
Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 
Association and shall include training and experience 
specified in Clauses 4.d.i and ii of this Section. 

F. Training for Use of Manual Brachytherapy Sources. 
Except as provided in Subsection B of this Section, the 
licensee shall require the authorized user of a manual 
brachytherapy source for the uses authorized in LAC 
33:XV.741.B to be a physician: 

1. who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 
certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state. The names of board certifications that have 
been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state are 
posted on the NRC's Medical Uses Licensee toolkit web 
page. To have its certification process recognized, a specialty 
board shall require all candidates for certification to: 

a. successfully complete a minimum of three years 
of residency training in a radiation oncology program 
approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 
the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or 
the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 
Osteopathic Association; and 

1.b. - 2.a.i.(d). … 
 ii. 500 hours of work experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Subsection, Subsection B of this Section 
or equivalent agreement state requirements or NRC 
requirements at a medical facility authorized to use 
byproduct materials in accordance with LAC 33:XV.741.B, 
involving: 

(a). - (f). … 
b. has completed three years of supervised clinical 

experience in radiation oncology under an authorized user 
who meets the requirements in this Subsection, Subsection B 
of this Section or equivalent agreement state requirements, 
or NRC requirements as part of a formal training program 
approved by the Residency Review Committee for Radiation 
Oncology of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical 
Education or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons 
of Canada or the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the 
American Osteopathic Association. This experience may be 
obtained concurrently with the supervised work experience 
required in Subparagraph F.2.a.ii of this Section; and 

c. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraphs F.2.a and b of this Section, and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user of manual brachytherapy sources for the 
medical uses authorized in LAC 33:XV.741.B. The 
attestation shall be obtained from either: 
 i. a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Subsection, Subsection B of this 
Section, or equivalent NRC or agreement state requirements; 
or 
 ii. a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Subsection, Subsection B of this Section or equivalent 
NRC or agreement state requirements, and concurs with the 

attestation provided by the residency program director. The 
residency training program shall be approved by the 
Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council 
for Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Council on 
Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 
Association and shall include training and experience 
specified in Subparagraphs 2.a and b of this Section. 

G. - G.2. … 
a. has completed 24 hours of classroom and 

laboratory training applicable to the medical use of 
strontium-90 for ophthalmic radiotherapy. The training shall 
include: 
 i. - iv. … 

b. supervised clinical training in ophthalmic 
radiotherapy under the supervision of an authorized user at a 
medical institution, clinic, or private practice that includes 
the use of strontium-90 for the ophthalmic treatment of five 
individuals. This supervised clinical training shall involve: 
 i. - iv. … 

c. has obtained written attestation, signed by a 
preceptor authorized user who meets the requirements in 
Subsections B or F and G of this Section, or equivalent 
agreement state requirements, or NRC requirements that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraphs G.2.a and b of this Section and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized user of strontium-90 for ophthalmic use. 

H. Training for Use of Sealed Sources and Medical 
Devices for Diagnosis. Except as provided in Subsection B 
of this Section, the licensee shall require the authorized user 
of a diagnostic sealed source or a device authorized in LAC 
33:XV.739 to be a physician, dentist, or podiatrist: 

1. who is certified by a specialty board whose 
certification process includes all of the requirements in 
Paragraphs H.3 and 4 of this Section and whose certification 
has been recognized by the NRC or an agreement state. The 
names of board certifications that have been recognized by 
the NRC or an agreement state will be posted on the NRC's 
Medical Uses Licensee Toolkit web page; or 

2. who is an authorized user for uses listed in LAC 
33:XV.731.H, or equivalent NRC or agreement state 
requirements; or 

3. who has completed eight hours of classroom and 
laboratory training in basic radionuclide handling techniques 
specifically applicable to the use of the device. The training 
shall include: 

a. radiation physics and instrumentation; 
b. radiation protection; 
c. mathematics pertaining to the use and 

measurement of radioactivity; and 
d. radiation biology; and 

4. who has completed training in the use of the device 
for the uses requested. 

I. … 
1. who is certified by a medical specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state, and who meets the requirements in 
Paragraph I.3 of this Section. The names of board 
certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 
Toolkit web page. To have its certification process 
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recognized, a specialty board shall require all candidates for 
certification to: 

a. successfully complete a minimum of three years 
of residency training in a radiation therapy program 
approved by the Residency Review Committee of the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or 
the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or 
the Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 
Osteopathic Association; and 

1.b. - 2.a.i.(d). … 
 ii. 500 hours of work experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Subsection, or Subsection B of this 
Section or equivalent agreement state requirements or NRC 
requirements at a medical facility that is authorized to use 
byproduct materials in LAC 33:XV.747 involving: 

(a). - (f). … 
b. has completed three years of supervised clinical 

experience in radiation therapy under an authorized user 
who meets the requirements in this Subsection, or 
Subsection B of this Section or equivalent agreement state 
requirements, or NRC requirements, as part of a formal 
training program approved by the Residency Review 
Committee for Radiation Oncology of the Accreditation 
Council for Graduate Medical Education or the Royal 
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the 
Council on Postdoctoral Training of the American 
Osteopathic Association. This experience may be obtained 
concurrently with the supervised work experience required 
in Clause I.2.a.ii of this Section; and 

c. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraphs I.2.a and b and Paragraph I.3 of this Section, 
and is able to independently fulfill the radiation safety-
related duties as an authorized user of each type of 
therapeutic medical unit for which the individual is 
requesting authorized user status. The attestation shall be 
obtained from either: 
 i. a preceptor authorized user who meets the 
requirements in this Subsection or Subsection B of this 
Section or equivalent agreement state requirements or NRC 
requirements for the type(s) of therapeutic medical unit for 
which the individual is requesting authorized user status; or 
 ii. a residency program director who affirms in 
writing that the attestation represents the consensus of the 
residency program faculty where at least one faculty 
member is an authorized user who meets the requirements in 
this Subsection, Subsection B of this Section, or equivalent 
NRC or agreement state requirements, for the type(s) of 
therapeutic medical unit for which the individual is 
requesting authorized user status, and concurs with the 
attestation provided by the residency program director. The 
residency training program shall be approved by the 
Residency Review Committee of the Accreditation Council 
for Graduate Medical Education or the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or the Council on 
Postdoctoral Training of the American Osteopathic 
Association and shall include training and experience 
specified in Subparagraphs 2.a and b of this Section. 

3. who has received training in device operation, 
safety procedures, and clinical use for the type(s) of use for 
which authorization is sought. This training requirement may 

be satisfied by satisfactory completion of a training program 
provided by the vendor for new users or by receiving 
training supervised by an authorized user or authorized 
medical physicist, as appropriate, who is authorized for the 
type(s) of use for which the individual is seeking 
authorization. 

J. … 
1. who is certified by a specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state, and who meets the requirements in 
Paragraph J.3 of this Section. The names of board 
certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 
Licensee Toolkit web page. To have its certification process 
recognized, a specialty board shall require all candidates for 
certification to: 

a. hold a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 
medical physics, other physical science, engineering, or 
applied mathematics from an accredited college or 
university; 

b. … 
 i. under the supervision of a medical physicist 
who is certified in medical physics by a specialty board 
whose certification process has been recognized under this 
Section by the NRC or an agreement state; or 
 ii. in clinical radiation facilities providing high-
energy, external beam therapy (photons and electrons with 
energies greater than or equal to 1 million electron volts) and 
brachytherapy services under the direction of physicians 
who meet the requirements for an authorized user in 
Subsection B, F or I of this Section; and 

1.c. - 2. … 
a. holds a master's or doctor's degree in physics, 

medical physics, other physical science, engineering, or 
applied mathematics from an accredited college or 
university, and has completed one year of full-time training 
in medical physics and an additional year of full-time work 
experience under the supervision of an individual who meets 
the requirements for an authorized medical physicist for the 
type(s) of use for which the individual is seeking 
authorization. This training and work experience shall be 
conducted in clinical radiation facilities that provide high-
energy, external beam therapy (photons and electrons with 
energies greater than or equal to 1 million electron volts) and 
brachytherapy services, and shall include: 
 i. - iv. … 

b. has obtained written attestation that the 
individual has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraph J.2.a and Paragraph J.3 of this Section, and is 
able to independently fulfill the radiation safety-related 
duties as an authorized medical physicist for each type of 
therapeutic medical unit for which the individual is 
requesting authorized medical physicist status. The written 
attestation shall be signed by a preceptor authorized medical 
physicist who meets the requirements in this Subsection, 
Subsection B of this Section or equivalent agreement state 
requirements or NRC requirements for an authorized 
medical physicist for each type of therapeutic medical unit 
for which the individual is requesting authorized medical 
physicist status; and 

3. who has training for the type(s) of use for which 
authorization is sought that includes hands-on device 
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operation, safety procedures, clinical use, and the operation 
of a treatment planning system. This training requirement 
may be satisfied by satisfactorily completing either a 
training program provided by the vendor or by training 
supervised by an authorized medical physicist authorized for 
the type(s) of use for which the individual is seeking 
authorization. 

K. … 
1. who is certified by a specialty board whose 

certification process has been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state, and who meets the requirements in 
Subparagraph K. 2.b of this Section. The names of board 
certifications that have been recognized by the NRC or an 
agreement state are posted on the NRC's Medical Uses 
Licensee Toolkit web page. To have its certification process 
recognized, a specialty board shall require all candidates for 
certification to: 

1.a. - 2.a.ii.(e). … 
b. has obtained written attestation, signed by a 

preceptor authorized nuclear pharmacist, that the individual 
has satisfactorily completed the requirements in 
Subparagraph K.2.a, of this Section and is able to 
independently fulfill the radiation safety-related duties as an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist. 

L. - M. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 24:2106 (November 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2590 (November 2000), LR 30:1186 (June 2004), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1061 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 32:814 (May 2006), LR 34:983 (June 2008), LR 
34:2121 (October 2008), LR 36:1772 (August 2010), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2748 (November 
2012), LR 40:1342 (July 2014), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
44:2138 (December 2018), LR 45:1179 (September 2019), LR 47: 
§777. Written Directives 

A. A written directive shall be dated and signed by an 
authorized user before the administration of I-131 sodium 
iodide greater than 1.11 megabecquerels (MBq) (30 
microcuries (Ci)), any therapeutic dosage of unsealed 
byproduct material, or any therapeutic dose of radiation from 
byproduct material. If, because of the emergent nature of the 
patient's condition, a delay in order to provide a written 
directive would jeopardize the patient's health, an oral 
directive is acceptable. The information contained in the oral 
directive shall be documented as soon as possible in writing 
in the patient's record. A written directive shall be prepared 
within 48 hours of the oral directive. 

B. - B.1. … 
2. for an administration of a therapeutic dosage of 

unsealed byproduct material other than sodium iodide I-131: 
2.a. - 5.d. … 

e. the total dose; 
6. for permanent implant brachytherapy: 

a. before implantation: 
 i. the treatment site; 
 ii. the radionuclide; and 
  

 iii. the total source strength; and 
b. after implantation but before the patient leaves 

the post-treatment recovery area: 
 i. the treatment site; 
 ii. the number of sources implanted; 
 iii. the total source strength implanted; and 
 iv. the date; or 

7. for all other brachytherapy, including low, medium, 
and pulsed dose-rate remote afterloaders: 

a. before implantation: 
 i. the treatment site; 
 ii. the radionuclide; and 
 iii. the dose; and 

b. after implantation but before completion of the 
procedure: 
 i. the radionuclide; 
 ii. the treatment site; 
 iii. the number of sources; 
 iv. the total source strength and exposure time (or 
the total dose); and 
 v. the date. 

C. A written revision to an existing written directive may 
be made if the revision is dated and signed by an authorized 
user before the administration of: 

1. the dosage of unsealed byproduct material; 
2. the brachytherapy dose; 
3. the gamma stereotactic radiosurgery dose; 
4. the teletherapy dose; or 
5. the next fractional dose. 

D. If, because of the patient's condition, a delay in order 
to provide a written revision to an existing written directive 
would jeopardize the patient's health, an oral revision to an 
existing written directive is acceptable. The oral revision 
shall be documented as soon as possible in the patient's 
record. A revised written directive shall be signed by the 
authorized user within 48 hours of the oral revision. 

E. The licensee shall retain a copy of each written 
directive as required by this Section for three years. 

F. For any administration requiring a written directive, 
the licensee shall develop, implement, and maintain written 
procedures to provide high confidence that: 

1. the patient's or human research subject's identity is 
verified before each administration; and 

2. each administration is in accordance with the 
written directive. 

G. At a minimum, the procedures required by Subsection 
F of this Section shall address the following items that are 
applicable to the licensee's use of byproduct material: 

1. verifying the identity of the patient or human 
research subject; 

2. verifying that the administration is in accordance 
with the treatment plan, if applicable, and the written 
directive; 

3. checking both manual and computer-generated dose 
calculations; 

4. verifying that any computer-generated dose 
calculations are correctly transferred into the consoles of 
therapeutic medical units authorized by LAC 33:XV.747; 

5. determining if a medical event, as described in 
LAC 33:XV.712, has occurred; and 
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6. determining, for permanent implant brachytherapy, 
within 60 calendar days from the date the implant was 
performed, the total source strength administered outside of 
the treatment site compared to the total source strength 
documented in the post-implantation portion of the written 
directive, unless a written justification of patient 
unavailability is documented. 

H. The licensee shall retain a copy of the procedures 
required under Subsection F of this Section for the duration 
of the license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), amended LR 21:554 (June 1995), LR 24:2110 (November 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2591 (November 2000), 
LR 30:1187 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
Chapter 9. Radiation Safety Requirements for 

Particle Accelerators 
Subchapter B. Radiation Safety Requirements for the 

Use of Particle Accelerators 
§915. Notifications, Reports, and Records of Medical 

Events 
A. - B. … 
C. All reports, notifications, and records shall be in 

accordance with LAC 33:XV.712.D, E, and G. 
D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2104 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1065 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
Chapter 15. Transportation of Radioactive Material 
§1510. General License: Use of Foreign Approved 

Package 
A. - D.1. … 

2. complies with the terms and conditions of the 
certificate and revalidation and with the applicable 
requirements of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2104.B and 2113. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1268 (June 
2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 34:2108 (October 2008), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 45:1183 (September 2019), LR 47: 
§1520. Quality Assurance 

A. - A.3. … 
4. A program for transport container inspection and 

maintenance limited to radiographic exposure devices, 
source changers, or packages transporting these devices, and 
meeting the requirements of LAC 33:XV.547.B or 
equivalent NRC or other agreement state requirement, is 
deemed to satisfy the requirements of LAC 33:XV.1508 and 
LAC 33:XV.1520.A. 

B. - J.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2104.B and 2113. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 34:2112 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2393 
(November 2008), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45:1184 
(September 2019), LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
This Rule has no known impact on small business as 

described in R.S. 49:978.1 - 978.8. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held via Zoom on September 28, 

2021, at 1:30 p.m. Interested persons are invited to attend 
and submit oral comments via PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or 
Android at https://deqlouisiana.zoom.us/j/9373792954 or by 
telephone by dialing 636-651-3182 using the conference 
code 725573. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Deidra 
Johnson at the address given below or at (225) 219-3985.  

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by RP069ft. Such 
comments must be received no later than September 28, 
2021, at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, 
Attorney Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
and Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to DEQ.Reg.Dev.Comments@la.gov. The comment 
period for this Rule ends on the same date as the public 
hearing. Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased 
by contacting the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-
3168. Check or money order is required in advance for each 
copy of RP069ft. This regulation is available on the Internet 
at https://www.deq.louisiana.gov/page/monthly-regulation-
changes-2021%20. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 
Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 
70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, 
LA 70123. 

 
Courtney J. Burdette 
General Counsel 

2108#022 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Regulation and Licensing of Naturally Occurring 
Radioactive Material (NORM) 

(LAC 33:XV.Chapter 14) (RP067) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Radiation Protection regulations, LAC 
33:XV.1403, 1404, 1407, 1408, 1409, 1410, 1411, 1412, 
1416, 1417, 1418, 1420, 1421, and 1499 (RP067). 

This Rule updates the regulations pertaining to Naturally 
Occurring Radioactive Materials (NORM). These proposed 
changes to the state regulations are necessary to clarify some 
misunderstandings and misinterpretations of the previous 
NORM regulations. A section on specific licenses has been 
added and a section on types of general licenses was moved. 
Notification procedures have also been clarified and a new 
section pertaining to acceptable surface contamination levels 
for NORM has been added. The basis and rationale for this 
Rule are to enable the state to more consistently and fairly 
apply the NORM regulations across the entire NORM 
regulated community. This Rule meets an exception listed in 
R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Part XV.  Radiation Protection 

Chapter 14. Regulation and Licensing of Naturally 
Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM) 

§1403. Definitions 
A. … 

* * * 
Decontamination― the cleaning process of removing or 

reducing residual radioactivity from equipment, buildings, 
structures, and land owned, possessed, or controlled by other 
persons to a level that permits release of equipment, 
buildings, structures, and land for unrestricted use or 
termination of license. 

* * * 
Equipment―any apparatus associated with the potential 

for or actual enhancement of NORM. Examples include, but 
are not limited to, tubular goods, piping, vessels, wellheads, 
separators, and condensers. Equipment does not include 
biodegradable material. 

* * * 
Nonhazardous Oilfield Waste (NOW)―a type of 

exploration and production waste; solid material produced 
from oil and gas related activities that contain exempt 
quantities of hazardous components according to the 
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Nuclear Energy Division, LR 15:736 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation 
Protection Division, LR 18:604 (June 1992), LR 21:24 (January 
1995), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1404. Exemptions 

A. - A.2. … 
B. Equipment, which contains NORM, is exempt from 

the requirements of these regulations, except LAC 
33:XV.1409, if the maximum radiation exposure level does 
not exceed 50 microroentgens per hour at any accessible 
point. 

C. Except as provided in LAC 33:XV.1408, 1409, and 
1417, land is exempt from the requirements of this Chapter 
if it contains material at concentrations less than the limits 
specified below, in samples averaged over any 100 square 
meters with no single noncomposited sample to exceed 60 
picocuries per gram of soil: 

C.1. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Nuclear Energy Division, LR 15:736 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation 
Protection Division, LR 18:605 (June 1992), LR 21:25 (January 
1995), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2599 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1407. Surveys 

A. - C. … 
D. Any survey submitted to the department shall include 

the qualifications of the individual performing the survey. 
Individuals performing and documenting the surveys shall 
demonstrate understanding of the subjects outlined in LAC 
33:XV.1499.Appendix A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 21:26 (January 
1995), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2599 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2536 (October 2005), LR 33:2188 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1408. General License 

A. - A.6. … 
a. A general licensee is authorized to store NORM 

waste in a container for 90 days from the date of generation. 
After such time, the NORM waste shall be transferred to an 
authorized facility for purposes of treatment, storage, or 
disposal. 

b. To store NORM waste in a container for up to 
365 days from generation, a general licensee shall first 
submit a written NORM waste management plan to the 
Office of Environmental Compliance and receive 
authorization from the department. The general licensee may 
store NORM waste in containers up to 365 days from



Louisiana Register   Vol. 47, No. 8   August 20, 2021 1167

generation under the written NORM waste management plan 
while waiting for department determination. 

A.7. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 21:26 (January 
1995), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2599 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2536 (October 2005), LR 33:2188 (October 2007), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1409. General Licenses: Pipe Yards, Storage Yards, or 

Production Equipment Yards 
A. A general license is hereby issued for pipe yards or 

storage yards or production equipment yards to receive, 
possess, process, and clean tubular goods or equipment that 
are contaminated with scale or residue but do not exceed 50 
microroentgens per hour, provided: 

1. the department is notified at least 90 days prior to 
receipt of tubular goods or equipment that are contaminated 
with scale or residue but do not exceed 50 microroentgens 
per hour; 

2. a program is developed and submitted to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance for approval to screen 
incoming shipments to ensure that the 50-microroentgens-
per-hour limit is not exceeded for individual pieces of 
tubular goods or equipment; 

3. a program is developed and submitted to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance for approval to ensure worker 
protection, as outlined in LAC 33:XV.1499.Appendix B; 

4. a program is developed and submitted to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance for approval to control soil 
contamination; 

5. a program is developed and submitted to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance for approval to prevent 
release of NORM contamination beyond the site boundary; 

6. a program is developed and submitted to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance for approval for surveying 
and decontamination to ensure that soil contamination is not 
allowed to exceed 200 picocuries per gram of radium-226 or 
radium-228 or an exposure rate of 50 microroentgens per 
hour at one meter from the soil at any time; 

7. a plan for cleanup is submitted to the Office of 
Environmental Compliance within 180 days of the discovery 
of NORM contaminated soil in excess of the limit in 
Paragraph A.6 of this Section. The plan shall include a 
schedule for cleanup that is to be approved by the 
department. The general licensee may include in this plan an 
application to the department for a one time authorization to 
perform this cleanup or use a specific licensee; and 

8. before releasing the property for unrestricted use, 
the soil is decontaminated to a level not to exceed 5 
picocuries per gram above background of radium-226 or 
radium-228 unless other limits are approved by the 
department. 

B. A specific license pursuant to LAC 33:XV.1410 is 
required for the decontamination of tubular goods or 
equipment that exceed the 50 microroentgens per hour limit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Nuclear Energy Division, LR 15:736 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation 
Protection Division, LR 18:605 (June 1992), LR 21:26 (January 
1995), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2599 (November 2000), 
LR 30:1189 (June 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2536 (October 2005), LR 33:2189 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1410. Specific Licenses 

A. Unless otherwise exempted in accordance with LAC 
33:XV.1404, persons receiving NORM waste from other 
persons for storage, disposal, or processing, or persons who 
process NORM for other persons at temporary job sites shall 
be specifically licensed in accordance with the requirements 
of this Section. 

B. Persons conducting deliberate operations to 
decontaminate the following shall be specifically licensed in 
accordance with the requirements of this Section: 

1. buildings and structures owned, possessed, or 
controlled by other persons and contaminated with NORM 
in excess of the levels set forth in LAC 33:XV.1421; or 

2. equipment or land owned, possessed, or controlled 
by other persons and not otherwise exempted under the 
provisions of LAC 33:XV.1404. 

C. Filing Application for Specific Licenses 
1. Applications for specific licenses shall be filed on 

forms DRC-11 and DRC-13. 
2. The department may at any time after the filing of 

the original application, and before the expiration of the 
license, require further information in order to determine 
whether the application should be granted or denied, or 
whether a license should be modified or revoked. 

3. Each application shall be signed by the applicant or 
licensee, or a person duly authorized to act for and on the 
licensee’s behalf. 

4. A license application may include a request for a 
license authorizing one or more activities. 

5. Applications and documents submitted to the 
department may be made available for public inspection. 
The department may, however, withhold any document or 
part thereof from public inspection when a written request 
for confidentiality is submitted and granted in accordance 
with LAC 33:I.Chapter 5. 

6. Each application for a specific license shall be 
accompanied by the fee prescribed in LAC 33:XV.2599. 

D. Requirements for the Issuance of Specific Licenses 
1. A license application will be approved if the 

department determines that: 
a. the applicant is qualified by reason of training 

and experience to handle the material or waste in question 
for the purpose requested, according to this Section, and in a 
manner that minimizes danger to public health and safety, 
property, or the environment; 

b. the applicant’s proposed buildings, structures, 
equipment, and procedures are adequate to minimize danger 
to public health and safety, property, or the environment; 

c. the issuance of the license will not adversely 
affect the health and safety of the public; 

d. the applicant has met the financial security 
requirements of LAC 33:XV.1420; 
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e. the applicant satisfies any applicable special 
requirements in Sections D.2 and D.3. 

2. An application for a specific license to 
decontaminate equipment or land not otherwise exempted 
under the provisions of LAC 33:XV.1404 or buildings and 
structures contaminated with NORM in excess of the levels 
set forth in LAC 33:XV.1421, as applicable, will be 
approved if: 

a. the applicant satisfies the requirements specified 
in LAC 33:XV.1410.D.1; and 

b. the applicant has adequately addressed the 
following items in the application: 
 i. procedures and equipment for monitoring and 
protection of workers; 
 ii. an evaluation of the radiation levels and 
concentrations of contamination expected during normal 
operations; 
 iii. operating and emergency procedures; and 
 iv. a method of managing the NORM waste 
removed from contaminated equipment, buildings, 
structures, and land for disposal or storage. 

3. An application for a specific license for persons 
who receive NORM waste from other persons for processing 
or disposal, or persons who process NORM for other 
persons at temporary job sites in accordance with LAC 
33:XV.1410.A will be approved if: 

a. the applicant satisfies the requirements specified 
in LAC 33:XV.1410.D.1; and 

b. the applicant has adequately addressed the 
following items in the application: 
 i. procedures and equipment for monitoring and 
protection of workers; 
 ii. an evaluation of the radiation levels and 
concentrations of contamination expected during normal 
operations; and 
 iii. operating and emergency procedures; and 

c. additionally, the applicant has adequately 
addressed the following items in the application if the 
applicant is a disposal facility: 
 i. the identity and activity of the radioisotopes 
received; 
 ii. the results of groundwater and stormwater 
analytical testing; 
 iii. procedures for safely receiving the waste and 
on-site storage of the waste. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1411. Protection of Workers during Operations 

A. Each person subject to the general license 
requirements in LAC 33:XV.1408 or 1409 or a specific 
license shall conduct operations in compliance with each of 
the standards for radiation protection set forth in LAC 
33:XV.Chapters 4 and 10. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Nuclear Energy Division, LR 15:737 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Radiation 
Protection Division, LR 18:606 (June 1992), LR 21:27 (January 

1995), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1412. Treatment, Transfer, and Disposal 

A. Each person subject to the general license 
requirements in LAC 33:XV.1408 or 1409 or subject to a 
specific license shall manage, treat or dispose of wastes 
containing NORM in accordance with: 

A.1. - D. … 
E. Notifications 

1. Prior to receipt of NORM waste, the disposal 
facility shall verify that the generator of the waste is 
registered with the department and has a NORM general 
license number. 

2. If the generator of the waste is not registered with 
the department, the generator shall submit a Form RPD-36 
to the department within three business days. 

3. The disposal facility shall notify the department 
within three business days if a shipment is rejected for 
elevated activity levels. 

a. The disposal facility shall not return the waste to 
the generator if the generator is not a registered NORM 
general licensee. 

b. If the generator is not registered with the 
department as a NORM general licensee, the waste facility 
shall request department approval to temporarily store the 
waste on-site for less than 90 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:606 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:27 (January 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2600 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1416. Inspections of Storage Tanks Containing NORM 

Waste 
A. As part of an inspection program the licensee shall 

develop a schedule and procedure for assessing the condition 
of each tank containing NORM waste. The schedule and 
procedure shall be adequate to detect cracks, leaks, 
corrosion, and erosion that may lead to cracks, leaks, or wall 
thinning to less than the required thickness. Procedures for 
emptying a tank to allow entry, procedures for personnel 
protection, and inspection of the interior shall be established 
when necessary to detect corrosion or erosion of the tank 
sides and bottom. The frequency of these assessments shall 
be based on the material of construction of the tank, type of 
corrosion or erosion protection used, rate of corrosion or 
erosion observed during previous inspections, and the 
characteristics of the waste being treated or stored. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:607 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:28 (January 1995), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
47: 
§1417. Release for Unrestricted Use 

A. … 
1. For general or specific licensees that have an area 

or soil with contamination above the limits of LAC 
33:XV.1404 and soil decontamination shall be performed, 
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the decontamination of soil shall be to 5 picocuries per gram 
above background of radium-226 or radium-228. 

2. For general or specific licensees who have 
equipment with a maximum exposure level above that 
specified in LAC 33:XV.1404, equipment decontamination 
shall be performed to reduce the exposure levels below those 
specified in LAC 33:XV.1404 and ensure that the equipment 
is free of loose contamination. 

3. … 
B. If closure activities involve construction with a 

subsurface impact to a depth greater than three feet, prior 
approval by the Office of Environmental Compliance shall 
be attached as part of the application addressing the 
certification of the groundwater quality. All pits, ponds, and 
lagoons shall comply with departmental regulations and/or 
policies dealing with groundwater quality. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:607 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:28 (January 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2600 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2537 (October 2005), LR 33:2189 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1418. NORM Manifests 

A. … 
B. The manifest form shall be obtained from the 

department and shall consist of, at a minimum, the number 
of copies that will provide the licensee, each transporter, and 
the operator of the designated facility with one copy each for 
their records with the remaining copies to be returned to the 
licensee and the other appropriate parties. 

C. … 
1. A licensee who transports, or offers for 

transportation, NORM waste and NORM contaminated 
equipment to a facility specifically licensed for treatment, 
decontamination, storage, or disposal shall prepare and sign 
sufficient copies of a manifest before transporting the 
NORM off-site. 

2. A licensee shall designate on the manifest one 
facility which is permitted to handle the NORM described 
on the manifest. 

3. If the transporter is unable to deliver the NORM to 
the designated facility, the licensee shall either designate 
another facility or instruct the transporter to return the 
NORM. 

4. Licensees shall provide a statement concerning the 
nature of the material and general guidelines for an 
emergency situation involving this waste to accompany the 
manifest on shipments and loads. 

5. … 
6. Before initiating a shipment, licensees shall obtain 

written confirmation of the acceptability of the NORM or 
NORM waste from the operation of the specifically licensed 
commercial treatment, decontamination, storage, or disposal 
facility. The confirmation shall be maintained by the affected 
licensees as part of their manifest records. 

7. The licensee receiving a shipment is required to 
report to the Office of Environmental Compliance and to the 

licensee initiating the shipment any irregularities between 
the NORM actually received by the designated facility and 
the NORM described on the manifest, or any other 
irregularities, within 15 days. If the designated facility or 
receiving licensee is outside the state of Louisiana, the 
generating or originating licensee shall report the 
irregularities to the department. 

D. Required Information 
1. The manifest shall contain all of the following 

information prior to leaving the licensee's site: 
a. - f. … 

2. The certification that appears on the manifest shall 
be read, signed, and dated by the licensee as follows: 

"I hereby declare that the contents of this consignment are 
fully and accurately described above by proper shipping name 
and are classified, packed, marked, and labeled, and are in all 
respects in proper condition for transport according to 
applicable international and national government regulations." 

E. … 
1. The licensee shall: 

a. - c. … 
2. The licensee shall give the transporter the 

remaining copies of the manifest. 
3. The licensee shall receive the fully signed copy of 

the manifest from the designated facility within 45 days 
from the delivery to the initial transporter. In the event the 
licensee does not receive the signed manifest timely, the 
licensee shall: 

E.3.a. - F.1. … 
2. Before transporting the NORM, the transporter 

shall sign and date each copy of the manifest acknowledging 
acceptance of the NORM from the licensee or previous 
transporter and return a signed copy to the licensee or 
previous transporter. 

F.3. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:608 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:28 (January 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2600 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2537 (October 2005), LR 33:2189 
(October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1420. Financial Security Requirements for NORM 

Treaters or Storers 
A. … 

1. name the department as beneficiary with a bond 
issued by a fidelity or surety company authorized to do 
business in Louisiana, a personal bond secured by such 
collateral as the department deems satisfactory, a cash bond, 
a liability endorsement, or a letter of credit. The amount of 
the bond, liability endorsement, or letter of credit shall be 
equal to or greater than the amount of the security required. 
Any security shall be available in Louisiana and subject to 
judicial process and execution in the event required for the 
purposes set forth in this Section, and be continuous for the 
term of the license; 

A.2. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
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Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:609 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:30 (January 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2601 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2537 (October 2005), LR 33:2189 
(October 2007)., amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1421. Acceptable Surface Contamination Levels for 

NORM 
A. The following table is to be used in determining 

compliance with LAC 33:XV.332 and 1408. 
 

 
Averagebcf Maximumbdf Removablebcef 

NORM 5,000 dpm/ 
100 cm2 

15,000 dpm/ 
100 cm2 

1,000 dpm/ 
100 cm2 

a Surfaces suspected of being contaminated with alpha and 
beta emitting naturally occurring radionuclides shall be 
surveyed with detectors that respond to alpha and beta 
radiation. The same method shall be employed when 
evaluating wipe samples for removable contamination. 
b As used in this table, dpm (disintegrations per minute) 
means the rate of emission by naturally occurring radioactive 
material as determined by using a ratemeter or scaler and 
detector appropriate for the type and energy of emissions 
being monitored. The detector shall be capable of responding 
to alpha, beta, and/or gamma radiations. 
c Measurements of average contamination level shall not be 
averaged over more than 1 m2. For objects of less surface area, 
the average shall be derived for each object. 
d The maximum contamination level applies to an area of not 
more than 100 cm2. 
e The amount of removable radioactive material per 100 cm2 
of surface area shall be determined by wiping that area with 
dry filter or soft absorbent paper, applying moderate pressure, 
and assessing the amount of radioactive material on the wipe 
with an appropriate instrument of known efficiency. When 
removable contamination on objects of less surface area is 
determined, the pertinent levels should be reduced 
proportionally and the entire surface shall be wiped. 
f All surveys and efficiency determinations shall be made with 
the detector’s active surface no greater than one centimeter 
from the surface being surveyed, wipe being analyzed, or 
check source being used. A scaler shall be used when 
evaluating wipe samples and count times shall be sufficient to 
detect 10 percent of the applicable limit with 95 percent 
confidence that the activity would be detected. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 
§1499. Appendices A, B, and C 

Appendix A 

Subjects to be Included in Training Courses  

for Individuals Performing NORM Surveys 
The following outline describes the subjects that individuals 

shall demonstrate competence in prior to being approved as a 
NORM surveyor. 

I. - III. … 

Appendix B 

Detailed development of the following shall be included in 
the required worker protection plan: 

I. - VI. … 

VII. Other operational procedures. 

For operations that have the potential to produce NORM 
contaminated dusts (i.e., cutting, grinding, sand-blasting, 
welding, drilling, polishing, or handling soil) or when loose 
contamination is suspected, the following additional precautions 
shall be taken: 

I. … 

II. Safety glasses shall be worn for eye protection. 

III. … 

IV. Ground covers shall be utilized to the extent possible to 
contain contaminants and facilitate cleanup. 

V. … 

In addition to the general requirements given above, there 
may be industrial operations such as vessel entry, dismantling of 
equipment, refurbishing of equipment, or transportation, which 
may require additional precautionary procedures which shall be 
included in the worker protection procedures submitted to the 
department. 

Appendix C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and 2104.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:609 (June 1992), 
amended LR 21:30 (January 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2601 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
This Rule has no known impact on small business as 

described in R.S. 49:978.1 - 978.8. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by RP067. Such 
comments must be received no later than October 5, 2021, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or by fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to DEQ.Reg.Dev.Comments@la.gov. Copies of these 
proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of RP067. 
These proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
https://www.deq.louisiana.gov/page/monthly-regulation-
changes-2021%20. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held via Zoom on September 28, 

2021, at 1:30 p.m. Interested persons are invited to attend 
and submit oral comments via PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or
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Android at https://deqlouisiana.zoom.us/j/9373792954 or by 
telephone by dialing 636-651-3182 using the conference 
code 725573. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Deidra 
Johnson at the address given below or at (225) 219-3985.  

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Courtney J. Burdette 
General Counsel 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation and Licensing of Naturally 
Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM) 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no implementation costs or savings to state or 

local governmental units. This proposed rule change amends 
and updates the current regulation and licensing of Naturally 
Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There may be a minimal increase in state revenue 
collections and no increase in local government revenue 
collections due to a few new license application fees being 
collected. The amount of increase in state revenue collections is 
indeterminable at this time. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be a nominal cost created for NORM waste 
generators and/or disposal facilities to the extent the provisions 
of the proposed rule change require licensure where none 
existed previously. The volume of such transactions cannot be 
estimated at this time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule change will have no impact on 
competition and employment in the public and private sectors. 

 
Courtney J. Burdette Alan M. Boxberger 
General Counsel Staff Director 
2108#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Architectural Examiners 

Adoption and Amendment of Rules 
(LAC 46:I.2303) 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Architectural 
Examiners, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:144(C), 
proposes to amend LAC 46:I.2303 pertaining to adoption 
and amendment of rules. 

R.S. 49:953(C)(1) provides that interested persons may 
petition an agency requesting the adoption, amendment, or 
repeal of a rule, and state agencies shall provide by rule the 
form for petitions and the procedure for their submission, 
consideration, and disposition. The board seeks to comply 
with this statute by amending LAC 46:I.2303 and adopting 
Subsections B-F, the form for petitions requesting the 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule and the procedure 
for their submission, consideration, and disposition.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part I.  Architects 

Chapter 23. Application of Rules 
§2303. Adoption and Amendment of Rules 

A. … 
B. An interested person may petition the board 

requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 
rule. The petition shall be sent to the board at the board’s 
office. The petition shall be titled “Petition for Rule-
Making,” and it shall include the following information: 

1. the name, telephone number, physical address, 
and any email address of the person submitting the 
petition; 

2. a citation to any rule for which a change or repeal 
is requested; 

3. a draft of any proposed new rule or amended 
rule; 

4. an explanation of why the new rule, amendment, 
or repeal is being requested and a detailed statement as to 
the effects of the new rule, amendment, or repeal upon the 
board’s procedures and upon persons regulated by the 
board; and 

5. any other information that the person submitting 
the petition considers relevant. 

C. In its consideration of the petition, the board may 
request further information from the person or persons 
requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule. 

D. The board shall decide whether to grant or deny a 
petition for rule-making within 90 days of its receipt of 
the petition. In making its decision, the board shall 
consider the information submitted with the petition and 
any other relevant information. 

E. If the board denies a rule-making petition, it shall 
send written notice of its denial to the person who 
submitted the petition. The notice shall state in writing the 
reasons for the denial. 

F. If the board grants a rule-making petition, it shall 
initiate rule-making proceedings within 90 days of its 
receipt of the petition, and it shall send written notice that 
rule-making proceedings have been initiated to the person 
who submitted the petition. 

G. The board will presume that its current rules are 
valid unless this presumption is rebutted by persuasive 
evidence is offered in the petition for the declaratory 
ruling. When the board determines that a rule is invalid, 
the board shall initiate rule-making proceedings, sending 
written notice of the proceedings to the person who 
submitted the petition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated 
by the Office of the Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, 
LR 29:577 (April 2003), amended LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on family formation, stability, or autonomy as described in 
R.S. 40:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on child, individual, or family poverty in relation to 
individual or community asset development as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed rules to Katherine E. Hillegas, Executive Director, 
Board of Architectural Examiners, 9625 Fenway Avenue, 
Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 
submitted by 4:30 p.m., September 9, 2021.  

 
Katherine E. Hillegas  
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Adoption and Amendment of Rules 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
R.S. 49:953(C)(1) provides that interested persons may 

petition an agency requesting the adoption, amendment, or 
repeal of a rule, and state agencies shall provide by rule the 
form for petitions and the procedure for their submission, 
consideration, and disposition. The Board seeks to comply with 
this statute by amending existing LAC 46:I.2303 and adopting 
Paragraphs B-F to provide by rule the form for petitions 
requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule and the 
procedure for their submission, consideration, and disposition. 
Although the board has never had a specific rule setting forth 
the form for petitions requesting the adoption, amendment, or 
repeal of a rule or the procedure for their submission, 
consideration, and disposition, the board has always allowed 
any interested person to request the adoption amendment, or 
repeal of a rule, and the board has followed in substance the 
procedures set forth in proposed Paragraphs B-F in considering 
their submission, consideration, and disposition. Accordingly, 
implementing the proposed rule will not increase the board's 
workload, and the proposed rule will have no effect on costs 
(savings) to state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No costs will be charged to a person filing a petition 
requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule, and no 
revenues related to such petitions will be collected by the 
board. Accordingly, the proposed rule will have no effect on 
the revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs or economic benefits to 
architects or any other directly affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups related to the adoption 
of the proposed rule. The board has always allowed any 
interested person, including small businesses, to request the 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule, although it had no 
specific rule requiring it to do so, and the board has in 
substance followed the procedures set forth in Paragraphs B-F 
thereof for their submission, consideration, and disposition. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no estimated effects on competition or 
employment associated with adoption of the proposed rule. The 
board has always allowed any interested person to request the 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule, although it had no 
specific rule requiring it to do so, and the board has in 
substance followed the procedures set forth in Paragraphs B-F 
thereof for their submission, consideration, and disposition. 

 
Kathy E. Hillegas Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#024 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Architectural Examiners 

Declaratory Orders and Rulings 
(LAC 46:I.2305) 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Architectural 
Examiners, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:144(C), 
proposes to adopt LAC 46:I.2305 pertaining to declaratory 
orders and rulings. 

R.S. 49:962 provides that state agencies shall provide by 
rule for the filing and prompt disposition of petitions for 
declaratory orders and rulings as to the applicability of any 
statutory provision or of any rule or order of the agency. The 
board seeks to comply with this statute by adopting the 
proposed Rule, which provides by rule for the filing and 
prompt disposition of petitions for declaratory orders and 
rulings as to the applicability of any statutory provision or of 
any rule or order of the agency. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part I.  Architects 

Chapter 23. Application of Rules 
§2305. Declaratory Orders and Rulings 

A. The board may issue, upon request, a declaratory 
order or ruling as to the applicability of any statutory 
provision or of any rule or order of the board. Declaratory 
orders and rulings shall have the same status as board 
decisions or orders in disciplinary and enforcement 
proceedings. 

B. A request for a declaratory order or ruling shall 
be made in the form of a written petition to the board on a 
form provided by the board. To be considered, the form 
must be completed in full. 

C. A petition properly made shall be considered by the 
board. 

D. In its consideration of the petition, the board may 
request further information from the person or persons 
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who filed the petition. Any such request for further 
information must be answered promptly and fully. 

E. The declaratory order or ruling of the board on said 
petition shall be in writing and mailed to the petitioner at 
the last address furnished to the board. 

F. If the request for declaratory order or ruling 
concerns or is related to pending or anticipated litigation, 
administrative action, or other adjudication, the board 
may defer issuing a declaratory order or ruling until the 
litigation, administrative action, or other adjudication is 
final. 

G. The board will presume that its current rules are 
valid unless this presumption is rebutted by persuasive 
evidence offered by the petitioner for the declaratory 
ruling. When the board determines that a rule is invalid, 
the board shall initiate rule-making proceedings, sending 
written notice of the proceedings to the person who 
submitted the petition. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on family formation, stability, or autonomy as described in 
R.S. 40:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on child, individual, or family poverty in relation to 
individual or community asset development as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments about 

the proposed Rules to Katherine E. Hillegas, Executive 
Director, Board of Architectural Examiners, 9625 Fenway 
Avenue, Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments 
must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., September 9, 2021.  

 
Katherine E. Hillegas  
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Declaratory Orders and Rulings 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
R.S. 49:962 provides that state agencies shall provide by 

rule for the filing and prompt disposition of petitions for 
declaratory orders and rulings as to the applicability of any 
statutory provision or of any rule or order of the agency. The 
Board seeks to comply with this statute by adopting the 
proposed rule. Although the board has never had a specific rule 
requiring it to handle petitions for declaratory orders or rulings, 
the board has long answered all questions concerning the 
applicability of any statutory provision or of any rule or order 

which it has received. Accordingly, implementing the proposed 
rule will not increase the board’s workload, and the proposed 
rule will have no effect on costs (savings) to state or local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No costs will be charged to a person filing for declaratory 
order or ruling, and no revenues related to such petitions will 
be collected by the board. Accordingly, the proposed rule will 
have no effect on the revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs or economic benefits to 
architects or any other directly affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups related to the adoption 
of the proposed rule. The board has long answered all questions 
concerning the applicability of any statutory provision or of any 
rule or order which it has received, although it had no specific 
rule requiring it to do so. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no estimated effects on competition or 
employment associated with adoption of the proposed rule. The 
board has long answered all questions concerning the 
applicability of any statutory provision or of any rule or order 
which it has received, although it had no specific rule requiring 
it to do so. 

 
Kathy E. Hillegas Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Architectural Examiners 

Members of the Military and Spouses and  
Dependents of Members of the Military (LAC 46:I.1109) 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Architectural 
Examiners, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:144(C), 
proposes to amend LAC 46:I.1109 pertaining to Members of 
the Military and Spouses and Dependents of Members of the 
Military. 

Act No. 200 of 2020 amended R.S. 37:3651 which 
pertains to licensure for members of the military, their 
spouses and dependents. This Act requires professional 
licensing boards to adopt rules implementing its provisions, 
and in Subsection B the board seeks to comply with this 
statute by amending LAC 46:I.1109, its current rule 
pertaining to military-trained architects and architect spouses 
of military personnel. Subsection B requires the board to 
issue a license to a military member, including United States 
Department of Defense civilian employee who has been 
assigned to duty in Louisiana, or an applicant who is married 
to or is a dependent of a member of the military or a United 
States Department of Defense civilian employee, if the 
member receives military orders for a change of station to a 
military installation or assignment located in this state or if 
the member has established this state as his state of legal 
residence as reflected in the member's military record, if he 
meets certain requirements. Subsection A adopts the path to 
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licensure for military personnel contained in the 2021 
NCARB Model Law and Regulations. The requirements 
outlined in Subsection A reflect programs that are accepted 
by all architecture licensing boards in the United States. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part I.  Architects 

Chapter 11. Licenses 
§1109. Members of the Military and Spouses and 

Dependents of Members of the Military  
A. Except as provided in §1109.B below, members of the 

military and their spouse and dependents shall meet all of 
the requirements for obtaining licensure set forth in this 
Section. 

1. In evaluating qualifications, the board may, prior to 
reaching its decision, require the applicant to substantiate the 
applicant’s qualifications. 

2. To obtain an initial license, members of the military 
and their spouse and dependents shall be of good character 
as verified to the board by an applicant’s employers or by 
honorable discharge evidenced by a copy of military 
discharge document (DD 214). 

3. To obtain an initial license, members of the military 
and their spouse and dependents shall complete an Approved 
Education Program, or its equivalent, as described herein. 

4. An Approved Educational Program is a degree 
accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board 
(NAAB) or education deemed equivalent by the board to the 
NCARB Education Standard pursuant to Subparagraph b 
below. At a minimum, the criteria for determining such 
compliance with the education requirement shall include: 

a. an original certified transcript from an Approved 
Educational Program transmitted through NCARB; or 

b. as an alternate to satisfying the Approved 
Educational Program requirement, the board may consider 

i. any other architectural curriculum that has not 
been accredited by NAAB, but that has been evaluated and 
found to be an equivalent standard based on NCARB 
Alternatives to Education Requirement as identified in the 
August 2021 NCARB Certification Guidelines, such version 
being incorporated herein by reference; or  

ii. demonstration of successful completion of an 
Education Evaluation Services for Architects (EESA) 
review. The board may also consider an applicant’s 
combination of education and experience that has been 
evaluated and found to be equivalent to the January 2021 
NCARB Education Standard, such version being 
incorporated by reference. 

5. To obtain an initial license, members of the military 
and their spouse and dependents shall complete the 
Approved Experience Program administered by NCARB 
(AXP). In lieu of completing AXP, the board may accept 
professional training while in active duty as it deems 
acceptable and in keeping with the experience requirements 
set forth by NCARB. 

6. To obtain an initial license, members of the military 
and their spouse and dependents shall pass the Architectural 
Registration Examination administered by NCARB. 

B. R.S. 37:3651 enacts special rules for obtaining 
licensure applicable to certain members of the military and 

their spouses and dependents who satisfy the following 
qualifications. Pursuant to such statute: 

1. a member of the military, including a United States 
Department of Defense civilian employee who has been 
assigned to duty in Louisiana, or an applicant who is married 
to or is a dependent of a member of the military or United 
States Department of Defense civilian employee, if the 
member or United States Department of Defense civilian 
receives military orders for a change in station to a military 
installation or assignment located in this state or if the 
member of United States Department of Defense civilian has 
established this state as his state of legal residence as 
reflected in the member’s or United States Department of 
Defense civilian’s military record who demonstrates all of 
the following conditions to the satisfaction of the board shall 
be issued a license, permit pending normal license, or 
registration to practice architecture in Louisiana: 

a. the applicant holds a current and valid 
occupational license in architecture; 

b. the applicant has held the occupational license in 
the other state for at least one year; 

c. the applicant has passed an examination, or met 
any education, training, or experience standards as required 
by the board in the other state; 

d. the applicant is held in good standing by the 
board in the other state; 

e. the applicant does not have a disqualifying 
criminal record as determined by the board; 

f. the applicant has not had an occupational license 
revoked by a board in another state because of negligence or 
intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s work in 
architecture; 

g. the applicant did not surrender an occupational 
license because of negligence or intentional misconduct 
related to the person’s work in architecture in another state; 

h. the applicant does not have a complaint, 
allegation, or investigation pending before a board in another 
state which relates to unprofessional conduct of an alleged 
crime; if the applicant has a complaint, allegation, or 
investigation pending, the board shall not issue or deny a 
license to the applicant until the complaint, allegation, or 
investigation is resolved, or the applicant otherwise satisfies 
his criteria for licensure to the satisfaction of the board; 

i. the applicant pays all applicable fees in this state; 
and 

j. the applicant simultaneously applies for a 
permanent license; if the applicant fails to qualify for a 
permanent license once the permanent application is vetted, 
the permit automatically terminates; 

2. a member of the military, or an applicant who is 
married to or is a dependent of a member of the military, or 
United States Department of Defense civilian employee who 
has been assigned duty in Louisiana, who demonstrates all 
of the following conditions to the satisfaction of the board 
shall be granted a license, permit pending normal license, or 
registration to practice architecture in Louisiana provided: 

a. the applicant worked in a state that does not use 
an occupational license or government certification to 
regulate the practice of architecture; 

b. the applicant worked at least three years in the 
lawful occupation; and 
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c. the applicant satisfies the requirements of 
Subparagraphs B.1.f.-j of this Section; 

3. a member of the military or a United States 
Department of Defense civilian employee who has been 
assigned duty in Louisiana, or an applicant who is married to 
or is a dependent of a member of the military or United 
States Department of Defense civilian employee, shall be 
issued a license, permit pending normal license, or 
registration based on holding a private certification and work 
experience in another state, provided the applicant 
demonstrates all of the following conditions to the 
satisfaction of the board: 

a. the applicant worked in a state that does not use 
an occupational license or government certification to 
regulate the practice of architecture; 

b. the applicant worked for at least two years in the 
occupation privately certified; 

c. the applicant holds a current and valid private 
certification in the lawful occupation; 

d. the private certification organization holds the 
applicant in good standing; and 

e. the applicant satisfies the requirements of 
Subparagraphs B.1.f.-j of this Section; 

4. to wholly or partially satisfy the education, training, 
or experience requirements for architectural licensure, an 
applicant must present clear and convincing evidence of 
comparable education, training, or experience as a member 
of the United States armed forces or any national guard or 
other reserve component. The board will determine whether 
the evidence of education, training, or experience is in fact 
comparable; 

5. for purposes of this rule, military and dependent 
shall have the meanings set forth in R.S. 37:3651(N) and 
(O), such meanings incorporated herein by reference; 

6. this Section shall not apply to any applicant 
receiving a dishonorable discharge or a military spouse 
whose spouse received a dishonorable discharge.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, or autonomy as described in R.S. 
40:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

child, individual, or family poverty in relation to individual 
or community asset development as described in R.S. 
49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Katherine E. Hillegas, Executive Director, Board of 
Architectural Examiners, 9625 Fenway Avenue, Suite B, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be submitted 
no later than 4:30 p.m., September 9, 2021.  

 
Katherine E. Hillegas 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Members of the Military and Spouses 

and Dependents of Members of the Military 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

In 2013, as mandated by Act No. 276 of 2012, the board 
adopted LAC46:I.1109 which provides a path for obtaining a 
license to practice architecture in Louisiana for members of the 
military and military spouses who satisfy certain conditions. In 
the approximately eight (8) years since, one person only has 
sought to avail himself of this path. The proposed rule, 
mandated by Act No. 200 of 2020, modifies the conditions for 
obtaining a license for members of the military and military 
spouses, and it makes this path available to United States 
Department of Defense civilian employees assigned to duty in 
Louisiana, their spouses and dependents. In a typical year, the 
board issues initial licenses to approximately 200 individual 
applicants, and it renews the licenses of approximately 3,300 
individual applicants. Accordingly, even if the proposed rule 
increases the number of persons who seek to avail themselves 
of the path to licensure contained in the proposed rule, the 
board estimates that implementing the proposed rule can be 
handled by existing staff, and it will have no impact on costs / 
savings to the board or other state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No costs will be charged to a person filing an application 
for licensure under the proposed rule, and no revenues related 
to such applications will be collected. Accordingly, the 
proposed rule will not yield any revenues, and it will have no 
effect on the revenue collections of the board or other state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

By providing an alternate path to licensure to practice 
architecture in Louisiana, the proposed rule may provide an 
economic benefit to those members of the military and United 
States Department of Defense civilian employees assigned to 
duty in Louisiana, and to spouses married to or a dependent of 
a member of the military or a United States Department of 
Defense civilian employee assigned to duty in Louisiana, who 
successfully apply for licensure under this alternate path. 
Although the board recognizes that those benefits to a 
particular applicant may be substantial, the board has 
insufficient information and is unable to quantify those 
benefits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The board estimates that, at most, a handful of persons may 
annually obtain a license to practice architecture under the 
proposed rule. Currently, and for the last few years, 
approximately 3,300 architects are and have practiced 
architecture in Louisiana. Accordingly, the board estimates that 
the effect, if any, of this handful of new architects upon the 
marketplace and upon competition and employment will likely 
be none. 

 

Kathy Hillegas Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Colors (LAC 35:VII.Chapter 85) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to amend LAC 35:VII.8501, 8509, 
and 8511.  

The proposed amendment to §8501 specifies the 
requirements for owners to provide racing colors for 
thoroughbred horses and the consequences for not following 
those requirements. The proposed amendment to §8509 adds 
the exception that owners can request approval from the 
stewards to run with a trainer’s racing colors. The proposed 
amendment to §8511 adds to the list of people and entities 
responsible for ensuring that the correct racing colors are 
worn and consequences for failing to follow the 
requirements. 

Title 35  
HORSE RACING 

Part VII.  Equipment and Colors 
Chapter 85. Colors 
§8501. Supplied and Registered 

A. Owners of horses must provide themselves with 
suitable racing colors which must be registered with the 
racing secretary, except at tracks where colors are furnished 
by the association. 

B. Owners of thoroughbred horses must provide 
themselves with suitable racing colors which must be 
registered with the racing secretary and their racing colors 
may not be furnished by an association. 

C. On dates where an owner of thoroughbred horses has 
multiple horses entered on the same race card, the owner 
must provide colors for each horse entered. 

D. Failure of an owner of thoroughbred horses to provide 
themselves with colors and/or register them with the racing 
secretary is a finable offense. The fine for such failure shall 
be $100.00 for a first offense, with increasing fines for 
subsequent offenses. However, an owner shall not be fined 
the first time each meet that they fail to provide themselves 
with colors and/or register them with the racing secretary, 
and it shall not count as an offense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:147 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:442 (December 1976), amended LR 3:38 
(January 1977), LR 4:283 (August 1978), amended by Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 47: 
§8509. Exceptions 

A. Exceptions to the above may be allowed by the 
commission upon request and approval. 

B. Owners may request approval from the stewards to 
run in the colors of the trainer of record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:147 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:443 (December 1976), amended LR 3:39 

(January 1977), LR 4:283 (August 1978), amended by Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 47: 
§8511. Responsibility for Wearing Correct Colors 

A. The clerk of scales, the valet serving a jockey, the 
colors custodian, and the jockey room custodian shall all be 
present on the association premises at their customary 
station during racing and shall all be jointly responsible for 
having the correct colors and cap on each rider when leaving 
the jockey room for the paddock. 

B. Each association shall implement and maintain a 
system of receipts and accounting for the custody, control, 
and return of colors to the rightful owner. 

C. If an owner has provided colors and the association 
fails to place the correct colors on any horse running in a 
race, the association, the clerk of scales, the valet serving a 
jockey, the colors custodian, and the jockey room custodian 
are all subject to a separate fine for each incident. 

D. If the association cannot locate colors registered with 
the racing secretary, the association shall reimburse the 
owner $150.00 for each set of missing silks. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:147 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 2:443 (December 1976), 
amended LR 3:39 (January 1977), LR 4:283 (August 1978), 
amended by Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, 
Racing Commission, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This proposed Rule has no known measurable impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 

services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 
Public Comments 

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - 
Friday, and interested parties may submit oral or written 
comments, data, views, or arguments relative to this 
proposed rule for a period up to 20 days (exclusive of 
weekends and state holidays) from the date of this 
publication to Brett Bonin, Assistant Attorney General, 320 
North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, Louisiana 
70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Colors 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. The proposed amendment to the rule 
specifies the requirements for owners to provide racing colors 
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for thoroughbred horses and the consequences for not 
following those requirements. The proposed amendment to the 
rule also adds the exception that owners can request approval 
from the stewards to run with a trainer’s racing colors. The 
proposed amendment to the rule also adds to the list of people 
and entities responsible for ensuring that the correct racing 
colors are worn and consequences for failing to follow the 
requirements. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Owners, racing associations, clerks of scales, valets, colors 
custodians, and jockey room custodians will be impacted by the 
proposed administrative rule in that it allows for penalties of 
fines associated with not properly displaying registered racing 
colors. This may have an economic impact to directly affected 
persons. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#017 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Declaring a Horse Ineligible to be Claimed at Time of Entry 
(LAC 35:XI.9902) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to adopt LAC 35:XI.9902.  

The proposed Rule specifies who may declare a horse 
ineligible to be claimed at the time of entry and establishes 
the qualifying factors of horses that can be declared 
ineligible to be claimed. 

Title 35  
HORSE RACING 

Part XI.  Claiming Rules and Engagements 
Chapter 99. Claiming Rule 
§9902. Declaring a Horse Ineligible to be Claimed at 

Time of Entry  
A. At the time of entry, the owner, trainer, or authorized 

agent may declare a horse ineligible to be claimed provided: 
The horse has been laid off and has not started in a race for a 
minimum of 120 days and is entered for a claiming price 
equal to or greater than the price at which the horse last 
started. For counting purposes, the day following the horse’s 
last race will count as day one. The horse is eligible to start 
on day 121. 

B. Failure to declare the horse ineligible to be claimed at 
the time of entry may not be remedied. 

C. A horse that enters a claiming race and is declared 
ineligible to be claimed in such race, cannot consider that 

race for eligibility in any starter type race or optional 
claiming race. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142, and 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This proposed Rule has no known measurable impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 

services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 
Public Comments 

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - 
Friday, and interested parties may submit oral or written 
comments, data, views, or arguments relative to this 
proposed rule for a period up to 20 days (exclusive of 
weekends and state holidays) from the date of this 
publication to Brett Bonin, Assistant Attorney General, 320 
North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, Louisiana 
70119-5100. 

 

Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Declaring a Horse Ineligible  
to be Claimed at Time of Entry 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. The proposed Rule specifies who may 
declare a horse ineligible to be claimed at the time of entry and 
establishes the qualifying factors of horses that can be declared 
ineligible to be claimed. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons, small businesses, or non-
governmental groups. The proposed Rule clarifies when an 
owner, trainer, or authorized agent may declare their horse 
ineligible to be claimed. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 

Charles A. Gardiner III Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#018 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Permitted Medications in Quarter Horses (LAC 35:I.1506) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to amend LAC 35:I.1506.  

The proposed amendment adds Albuterol as a prohibited 
substance in horses participating in quarter horse races. 

Title 35  
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 15. Permitted Medication 
§1506. Permitted Medications in Quarter Horses 

A. Any racehorse participating in a quarter horse race 
shall comply with the medication rules set forth herein, 
specifically LAC 35:I.Chapter 15 and LAC 35:I.Chapter 17, 
however the following exception(s) shall apply. 

1. Clenbuterol is a prohibited substance in quarter 
horses and other breeds racing with quarter horses. There is 
no applicable withdrawal guideline for such horses. 

2. Albuterol is a prohibited substance in quarter horses 
and other breeds racing with quarter horses. There is no 
applicable withdrawal guideline for such horses. 

B. Any quarter horse reported positive for Clenbuterol 
and/or Albuterol by the commission’s laboratory and 
following a written ruling by the Stewards shall be placed on 
the Stewards List and is not eligible to be entered in a race 
for a period of 60 days from the race date of the positive. 

C. Penalties assessed pursuant to Subsection B are in 
addition to any set forth in LAC 35.I:1797. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
45:247 (February 2019), amended LR 46:182 (February 2020), LR 
47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This proposed Rule has no known measurable impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 

services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 
Public Comments 

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - 
Friday, and interested parties may submit oral or written 
comments, data, views, or arguments relative to this 
proposed rule for a period up to 20 days (exclusive of 
weekends and state holidays) from the date of this 
publication to Brett Bonin, Assistant Attorney General, 320 

North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, Louisiana 
70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Permitted Medications  

in Quarter Horses 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. The proposed amendment to the rule adds 
Albuterol as a prohibited substance in horses participating in 
quarter horse races. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Trainers, veterinarians, and owners will be impacted by the 
proposed administrative rule in that it adds the penalties 
associated with the prohibited medication Albuterol when a 
quarter horse is found to be positive following a horse race. 
The horse will be placed on a Stewards’ List and will be 
ineligible to race for a period of 60 days from the date of the 
positive. This may have an economic impact to directly 
affected persons.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#016 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Protective Helmets and Safety Vests (LAC 35:I.309) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission proposes to amend LAC 35:I.309.  

The proposed amendment updates the people who need to 
wear protective helmets and safety vests. The proposed 
amendment also specifies the authorities who can impose 
fines and suspensions for non-compliance. 

Title 35  
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 3. General Rules 
§309. Protective Helmets and Safety Vests 

A. All persons mounted on horseback are compelled to 
wear protective helmets recommended by the stewards and 
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approved by the commission, and a safety vest designed to 
provide shock-absorbing protection to the upper body, as 
evidenced by a label with a rating of five, by the British 
Equestrian Trade Association. This shall also apply to 
association outriders, pony riders in post parade, and 
assistant starters. Anyone failing to comply with this 
requirement may be fined or suspended at the discretion of 
the stewards and/or commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:423 (December 1976), amended LR 3:19 
(January 1977), LR 4:271 (August 1978), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
33:844 (May 2007), LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and/or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This proposed Rule has no known measurable impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 

services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 
Public Comments 

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - 
Friday, and interested parties may submit oral or written 
comments, data, views, or arguments relative to this 
proposed Rule for a period up to 20 days (exclusive of 
weekends and state holidays) from the date of this 
publication to Brett Bonin, Assistant Attorney General, 320 
North Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, Louisiana 
70119-5100. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Protective Helmets and Safety Vests 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. The proposed amendment to the rule 
updates the people who need to wear protective helmets and 
safety vests. It also specifies the authorities who can impose 
fines and suspensions for non-compliance. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
administrative rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Jockeys, association riders, pony riders, and assistant 
starters will be impacted by the proposed administrative rule in 

that it allows for penalties of fines and suspensions associated 
with not wearing the recommended protective helmets and 
safety vests at the discretion of the Stewards and Racing 
Commission. This may have an economic impact to directly 
affected persons. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition and employment as a 
result of the proposed administrative rule change. 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III Alan M Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#015 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services 
Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:XIX.4301 and 4334) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XIX.4301 and §4334 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
reimbursement for laboratory and radiology services in order 
to align the reimbursement methodology for new laboratory 
and radiology services added to the Medicaid fee schedule 
with U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
requirements and the CMS-approved State Plan Amendment. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Healthcare Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology Services 

Chapter 43. Reimbursement  
§4301. Laboratory Services Reimbursement 

Methodology 
A. - B. ... 
C. For newly added laboratory services, the Medicaid fee 

shall be set at 75 percent of the current year’s Medicare 
allowable fee. 

1. In the absence of a Medicare fee, the fee shall be set 
at the Medicaid fee for a similar service or the Medicaid fee 
for other states. In the absence of a similar service or a 
Medicaid fee for other states, the fee shall be set at the cost 
of performing the service. 

C.2. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:153, R.S. 49:1008(A), P.L. 98-369, and Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 5:388 
(December 1979), amended LR 8:75 (February 1982), LR 8:144 
(March 1982), LR 10:1034 (December 1984), LR 12:679 (October 
1986), LR 22:107 (February 1996), repromulgated (for LAC) LR 
28:1024 (May 2002), amended by the Department of Health, 
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Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:251 (February 2021), 
LR 47: 
§4334. Radiology Services Reimbursement 

Methodology 
A. - B. ... 
C. For newly added radiology services, the Medicaid fee 

shall be set at 75 percent of the current year’s Louisiana 
Region 99 Medicare allowable fee. 

1. In the absence of a Medicare fee, the fee shall be set 
at the Medicaid fee for a similar service or the Medicaid fee 
for other states. In the absence of a similar service or a 
Medicaid fee for other states, the fee shall be set at the cost 
of performing the service. 

D. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010), LR 37:3029 (October 2011), LR 
39:1284 (May 2013), LR 41:539 (March 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
44:283 (February 2018), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:252 (February 2021), 
LR 47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in in relation to individual or community 
asset development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Michael Boutte, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 

Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030. Mr. Boutte is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written 
comments is at 4:30 p.m. on September 29, 2021. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
September 9, 2021. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on September 29, 2021 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after September 9, 2021. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Laboratory and Radiology Services 

Reimbursement Methodology 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 21-22. It is anticipated that 
$648 ($324 SGF and $324 FED) will be expended in FY 21-22 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 21-22. It is 
anticipated that $324 will be collected in FY 21-22 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing 
reimbursement for laboratory and radiology services in order to 
align the reimbursement methodology for new laboratory and 
radiology services added to the Medicaid fee schedule with 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requirements and the 
CMS-approved State Plan Amendment. Although the 
methodology for newly added laboratory and radiology 
services is being specified more fully in the administrative rule, 
the resulting fee is not anticipated to be materially higher or 
lower than it would have been otherwise; therefore, 
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implementation of this proposed rule is not anticipated to result 
in costs or benefits to providers of these services in FY 21-22, 
FY 22-23, and FY 23-24. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment.c 

 
Michael Boutte Alan M. Boxberger 
Interim Medicaid Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
(LAC 50:XXVII.Chapters 5 and 7) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to repeal and replace the provisions of 
LAC 50:XXVII.Chapter 5 and adopt Chapter 7 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
Medical Transportation Program in order to repeal and 
replace Chapter 5 governing non-emergency medical 
transportation in its entirety and relocate the non-emergency 
ambulance transportation provisions to Chapter 7 to ensure 
that the Louisiana Administrative Code reflects current 
managed care and fee-for-service practices. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH-MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§501. Introduction 

A. Non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT) is 
provided to Medicaid beneficiaries to and/or from a 
medically necessary Medicaid covered service. NEMT is 
intended to provide transportation only after all reasonable 
means of free transportation have been explored and found 
to be unavailable. 

NOTE: Non-emergency ambulance transportation 
(NEAT) is a form of NEMT; NEAT provisions 
are located in LAC 50:XXVII.Chapter 7. 

B. Medicaid covered transportation is available to 
Medicaid beneficiaries when: 

1. the beneficiary is enrolled in a Medicaid benefit 
program that explicitly includes transportation services; and 

2. the beneficiary or their representative has stated 
that they have no other means of transportation. 

C. This Chapter applies to the fee-for-service and 
managed care programs for the provision of NEMT to and/or 
from medically necessary Medicaid covered services. 

1. Managed care entities may utilize fully credentialed 
NEMT providers within their networks to transport managed 
care enrollees to non-Medicaid covered services when 

approved by the department as a value-added benefit at the 
managed care entity’s expense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§503. Prior Approval and Scheduling 

A. The department or its designee will review and 
approve or deny the transportation requests, prior to 
scheduling, for beneficiary eligibility and verification of the 
following: 

1. that the originating or destination address belongs 
to a healthcare provider or facility; or 

2. that the service is a prior authorized Medicaid 
covered service performed in the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§505. Requirements for Coverage 

A. Payment shall only be authorized for the least costly 
means of transportation available. The least costly means of 
transportation shall be determined by the department or its 
designee and considered the beneficiary’s choice of 
transportation, the level of service required to safely 
transport the beneficiary (e.g., ambulatory, wheelchair, 
transfer), and the following hierarchy: 

1. public providers; 
2. gas reimbursement providers who are enrolled in 

the Medicaid Program; 
3. non-profit providers who are enrolled in the 

Medicaid Program; and 
4. profit providers enrolled in the Medicaid Program. 

B. Beneficiaries shall be allowed a choice of 
transportation profit providers as long as it remains the least 
costly means of transportation. 

C. Beneficiaries are encouraged to utilize healthcare 
providers of their choice in the community in which they 
reside when the beneficiary requires Medicaid reimbursed 
transportation services. 

1. Beneficiaries may seek medically necessary 
services in another state when it is the nearest option 
available. 

2. In the managed care program, transportation will 
only be approved to and/or from a healthcare provider within 
the department’s geographic access standards, unless granted 
an extension by the department or its designee. 

D. Beneficiaries and healthcare providers should give 
advance notice when requesting transportation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Subchapter B. Beneficiary Participation 
§511. General Provisions 

A. Beneficiaries shall participate in securing 
transportation at a low cost and shall agree to use public 
transportation or solicit transportation from family and 
friends as an alternative to costlier means of transport. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
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Subchapter C. Provider Responsibilities 
§517. Provider Enrollment 

A. All NEMT providers must comply with all applicable 
federal, state, and local laws and regulations, including, but 
not limited to, those pertaining to enrollment and 
participation in the Medicaid Program. 

B. Non-emergency medical transportation profit 
providers shall have a minimum liability insurance coverage 
of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 
property damage policy. 

1. The liability policy shall cover: 
a. any autos, hired autos, and non-owned autos; or 
b. scheduled autos, hired autos, and non-owned 

autos. 
2. Statements of insurance coverage from the agent 

writing the policy are not acceptable. Proof must include the 
dates of coverage and a 30-day cancellation notification 
clause. Proof of renewal must be received by the department 
or its designee no later than 48 hours prior to the end date of 
coverage. The policy must provide that the 30-day 
cancellation notification be issued to the department or its 
designee. 

3. Upon notice of cancellation or expiration of the 
coverage, the department or its designee will suspend the 
provider’s Medicaid enrollment, effective on the date of 
cancellation or expiration. 

C. As a condition of reimbursement for transporting 
Medicaid beneficiaries to and/or from healthcare services, 
gas reimbursement providers must maintain a current valid 
vehicle registration, the state minimum automobile liability 
insurance coverage, and a current valid driver’s license. 
Proof of compliance with these requirements must be 
submitted to the department or its designee during the 
enrollment process. Gas reimbursement providers are 
allowed to transport up to five specified Medicaid 
beneficiaries or all members of one household. Individuals 
transporting more than five Medicaid beneficiaries or all 
members of one household shall be considered profit 
providers and shall be enrolled as such and comply with all 
profit provider requirements. 

D. A provider must agree to cover the entire parish or 
parishes for which he or she provides non-emergency 
medical transportation services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§523. General Provisions 

A. Reimbursement for NEMT services shall be based 
upon the current fee schedule. 

B. Reimbursement will not be made for any additional 
person(s) who must accompany the beneficiary to the 
medical provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 7. Non-Emergency Ambulance 

Transportation 
§701. Introduction 

A. Non-emergency ambulance transportation (NEAT) is 
ground or air ambulance transportation provided to Medicaid 

beneficiaries to and/or from a medically necessary Medicaid 
covered service when the beneficiary’s condition is such that 
use of any other method of transportation is contraindicated 
or would make the beneficiary susceptible to injury. 

B. Medicaid covered transportation is available to 
Medicaid beneficiaries when: 

1. the beneficiary is enrolled in a Medicaid benefit 
program that explicitly includes transportation services; and 

2. the beneficiary or their representative has stated 
that they have no other means of transportation. 

C. This Chapter applies to the fee for service and 
managed care programs for the provision of NEAT to and/or 
from medically necessary Medicaid covered services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§703. Provider Responsibilities 

A. All ambulance providers must be licensed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency Medical 
Services. 

B. All NEAT providers must comply with all applicable 
federal, state, local laws, and regulations, including, but not 
limited to, those pertaining to enrollment and participation in 
the Medicaid Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§705. Prior Approval and Scheduling 

A. The department or its designee must review and 
approve or deny the transportation requests, prior to 
scheduling, for beneficiary eligibility and verification of the 
following: 

1. that the originating or destination address belongs 
to a healthcare provider or facility; and 

2. that a completed certification of ambulance 
transportation form is received for the date of service. 

B. Out-of-state NEAT and non-emergency air ambulance 
services may require additional approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§707. Reimbursement 

A. Reimbursement for NEAT services shall be based 
upon the current Medicaid fee schedule. 

B. Reimbursement for NEAT claims shall be allowed 
only when accompanied by the certification of ambulance 
transportation form justifying the need for ambulance 
services. 

C. Reimbursement will not be made for any additional 
person(s) who must accompany the beneficiary to the 
medical provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
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Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Michael Boutte, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Mr. Boutte is 
responsible for responding to this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at close of 
business, 4:30 p.m., on September 29,2021. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
September 9, 2021. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on September 29, 2021 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after September 9,2021. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medical Transportation Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 21-22. It is anticipated that 
$1,296 ($648 SGF and $648 FED) will be expended in FY 21-
22 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 21-22. It is 
anticipated that $648 will be collected in FY 21-22 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
Medical Transportation Program in order to repeal and replace 
Chapter 5 governing non-emergency medical transportation in 
its entirety and relocate the non-emergency ambulance 
transportation provisions to Chapter 7 to ensure that the 
Louisiana Administrative Code reflects current managed care 
and fee-for-service practices. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed Rule will not result in any cost 
or benefits to NEMT providers in FY 21-22, FY 22-23, and FY 
23-24, as it aligns the language in the administrative rule with 
current practices. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Michael Boutte Alan M. Boxberger 
Interim Medicaid Executive Director Staff Director 
2108#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 117—Submission of Contact  
Information for Risk-Bearing Entities 

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 175) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 and 22:11 et seq., 
and in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to 
promulgate Regulation 117Submission of Contact 
Information for Risk-Bearing Entities. Regulation 117: 

(1) establishes a procedure for the submission of 
required contact information for risk-bearing entities;  

(2)  sets a specific date and method for the submission 
of the annual filing to inform the commissioner of the 
contact information required pursuant to R.S. 22:41.2;  
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(3) establishes the procedure and time limitation to 
notify the commissioner of a change in the contact 
information that was provided with the annual filing; and  

(4)  provides for penalties for the failure to timely make 
the annual filing or to submit a notice of change in the 
contact information to the commissioner. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 175. Regulation Number 117— Submission of 

Contact Information for Risk Bearing 
Entities 

§17501. Purpose 
A. The purpose of this regulation is to establish a 

procedure for the submission of required contact information 
for risk-bearing entities, to set a specific date and method for 
submission of the annual filing of the contact information, to 
establish the procedure and time limitation to notify the 
commissioner of a change in the contact information that 
was provided with the annual filing, and to provide for 
penalties for the failure to timely make the annual filing or to 
submit a notice of change in the contact information to the 
commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§17503. Definitions 

A. The following terms when used in this Chapter shall 
have the following meanings: 

Commissioner—the Louisiana Commissioner of 
Insurance. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 
Risk-Bearing Entity—any entity included in R.S. 22:48. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§17505. Required Contacts  

A. The following shall be required contacts for each risk-
bearing entity: 

1. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to consumer complaints filed with the department; 

2. an individual responsible for the receipt of rules, 
regulations or other directives from the commissioner; 

3. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to inquiries from the department regarding the 
financial condition of the entity; 

4. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to inquiries from the department regarding tax 
payments; 

5. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to inquiries from the department regarding data 
security and data breaches; 

6. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to inquiries from the department in the event of a 
catastrophe or disaster; 

7. an individual responsible for the receipt of and 
response to inquiries from the department regarding market 
conduct issues. 

B. The risk-bearing entity may designate more than one 
individual to meet any one of the requirements of this 
section.  

C. The risk-bearing entity may designate one individual 
as its primary contact to satisfy any one or more of the 
required contact requirements. 

D. If the phone number provided is a general phone 
number of the risk-bearing entity, the contact information 
submitted shall include the extension of the individual. 

E. The commissioner may provide additional contact 
types for which a risk-bearing entity may submit contact 
information to facilitate communication with the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§17507. Annual Notification of Contact Information 

A. No later than March 1st annually, every risk-bearing 
entity conducting business in Louisiana shall provide notice 
to the commissioner that sets forth the name, mailing 
address, phone number, and electronic mail address for each 
required contact as set forth above in §17505. 

B. This notice shall be made electronically using the 
department’s industry access system or any subsequent 
program provided by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§17509. Notice of Change of Contact Information 

A. Every risk-bearing entity shall notify the 
commissioner within 30 days of any change in the contact 
information that was provided with the annual filing. 

B. The notification of change may be made by using the 
department’s Industry Access System or through an 
electronic filing of a uniform notification created by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 
§17511. Violations 

A. Failure to provide notice to the commissioner of the 
required contact information on or before March 1st or to 
provide a notification of change to the commissioner within 
30 days of any change in the contact information may be 
determined by the commissioner to be a violation of R.S. 
22:41.2 and may result in or subject a risk-bearing entity to 
penalties pursuant to R.S. 22:18 or 22:337(A)(5). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:2E, 22:11, 22:18, 22:41.2, 22:337(A)(5), and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 

the Stability of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no measurable impact upon the 
stability of the family.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 47, No. 8   August 20, 2021 1185

2. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Authority and Rights of Parents Regarding the Education 
and Supervision of their Children. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no impact upon the rights and 
authority of parents regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Functioning of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon the functioning 
of the family. 

4. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
Family Earnings and Budget. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon family 
earnings and budget. 

5. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Behavior and Personal Responsibility of Children. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no impact upon 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Ability of the Family or a Local Government to Perform 
the Function as Contained in the Rule. The proposed 
amended regulation should have no impact upon the ability 
of the family or a local governmental unit to perform the 
function as contained in the rule.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on Household Income, Assets, 

and Financial Security. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on household income assets and 
financial security. 

2. Describe the Effect on Early Childhood 
Development and Preschool through Postsecondary 
Education Development. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. Describe the Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no effect on employment and workforce development. 

4. Describe the Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no effect on taxes 
and tax credits. 

5. Describe the Effect on Child and Dependent Care, 
Housing, Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation and utilities assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed regulation on small businesses 

as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed regulation that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses. 

1. Identification and Estimate of the Number of the 
Small Businesses Subject to the Proposed Rule. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

2. The Projected Reporting, Record Keeping, and 
Other Administrative Costs Required for Compliance with 
the Proposed Rule, Including the Type of Professional Skills 
Necessary for Preparation of the Report or Record. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

3. A Statement of the Probable Effect on Impacted 
Small Businesses. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact upon small businesses. 

4. Describe any Less Intrusive or Less Costly 
Alternative Methods of Achieving the Purpose of the 
Proposed Rule. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact on small businesses; therefore, 
will have no less intrusive or less cost alternative methods. 

Provider Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on the Staffing Level 

Requirements or Qualifications Required to Provide the 
Same Level of Service. The proposed amended regulation 
will have no effect. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed amended regulation will have no effect. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of Service. The proposed amended 
regulation will have no effect. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons who wish to make comments may do so 

by writing to Jennifer Land, Staff Attorney, Louisiana 
Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9214, or by faxing comments to (225) 342-1632. 
Comments will be accepted through the close of business, 
4:30 p.m., September 10, 2021. 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Regulation 117—Submission of  
Contact Information for Risk-Bearing Entities 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will have no cost to state agencies and 

local governmental units. The proposed rule is promulgated to 
establish a procedure for the submission of required contact 
information for risk-bearing entities, and to set a specific date 
and method for the submission of the annual filing to inform 
the commissioner of the contact information required pursuant 
to R.S. 22:41.2. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no impact on state or local 
governmental revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule establishes a procedure for the 
submission of required contact information for risk-bearing 
entities. Failure to provide notice to the commissioner of the 
required contact information on or before March 1st, or failure 
to provide a notification of change to the commissioner within
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30 days of any change, may be determined a violation and may 
result in penalties pursuant to R.S. 22:18 or 22:337(A)(5). 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no impact upon competition 
and employment in the state. 

 
Denise Gardner Alan M. Boxberger 
Chief of Staff Staff Director 
2108#019 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Water Well Registration 
(LAC 56:I.117 and 119) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation proposes to amend LAC 56 I.117.A., B., E., 
M. and LAC 56 I.119.A., B., C.6., C.8. in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the power delegated under 
the laws of the state of Louisiana. The proposed amendment 
clarifies the existing water well requirements and provides 
instructions on how to submit the electronic registration 
forms to the agency in LAC 56 I.117.A., B., E., M. and LAC 
56 I.119.A., B., C.6., C.8.  

Title 56 
PUBLIC WORKS 

Part I.  Water Wells 
Chapter 1. Registering Water Wells 
§117. Water Well Registration (Long Form) 

A. The Water Well Registration Long Form (DNR-GW-
1) and detailed instructions for properly completing and 
distributing the form are available by contacting department 
staff at (225) 342-8244 or by accessing the department’s 
website at www.dnr.louisiana.gov/gwater. A copy is to be 
mailed, or delivered by an Office of Conservation approved 
electronic delivery system, by the water well contractor 
within 30 days after the well has been completed. If by mail, 
send to: 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 

B. A copy of the form is to be retained by the water well 
contractor for their files, and another copy is to be given to 
the well owner immediately upon completion of the work. 
The commissioner will consider and encourages the 
electronic submission of registration, data or reports required 
under this section. 

C - D.2 … 
E. Well Location. List the parish where the well is 

located, including the nearest town, city, physical address, 
etc., and give directions to the well site. The location of the 
well should be described in detail and as accurately as 
possible so that the well can be easily located by the 
department's staff or field inspector. Please include a detailed 
map or sketch on the back of the original form, or provide a 
legible attachment to the original form, showing location of 
well with reference to roads, railroads, buildings, etc. Use an 
(X) to indicate location of the well. Show location of nearest 

existing well(s), if any nearby, by marking (Os), and 
approximate distance between wells. If submitting the 
registration form by an Office of Conservation approved 
electronic delivery system, follow the instructions on the 
electronic form for including a detailed location map. 
Determine the well’s Global Positioning System (GPS) 
location and record the GPS longitude and latitude 
coordinates onto the form.  

F - L. … 
M. Driller's Log. Give a description of the materials 

encountered and depth as detailed in the form instructions. If 
space on front of the form is insufficient, continue driller's 
log on reverse side of original form or attach a copy of the 
driller's log to the original form to be transmitted to the 
department. If submitting the registration form by an Office 
of Conservation approved electronic delivery system, follow 
the instructions on the electronic form for including the 
Driller’s Log information.  

1 - 2. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3098-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 1:249 
(May 1975), amended LR 11:971 (October 1985), repromulgated 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), amended by the 
Department of Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 
37:907 (March 2011), LR 47: 
§119. Water Well Registration (Short Form) 

A. The Water Well Registration Short Form (DNR-GW-
1S) and detailed instructions for properly completing and 
distributing the form are available by contacting department 
staff at (225) 342-8244 or by accessing the department’s 
website at www.dnr.louisiana.gov/gwater. A copy is to be 
mailed, or delivered by an Office of Conservation approved 
electronic delivery system, by the water well contractor 
within 30 days after the well has been completed. If by mail, 
send to: 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 
P.O. Box 94275 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275 

B. A copy of the form shall be retained by the water well 
contractor for their files and another copy shall be given to 
the well owner immediately upon completion of the work. 
The commissioner will consider and encourages the 
electronic submission of registration, data or reports required 
under this section. 

C. - C.5. … 
6. Well Location. List the parish where the well is 

located, including the nearest town, city, physical address, 
etc., and give directions to the well site. The location of the 
well should be described in detail and as accurately as 
possible so that the well can be easily located by the 
department's staff or field inspector. Please include a detailed 
map or sketch on the back of the original form, or provide a 
legible attachment to the original form, showing the location 
of the well with reference to roads, railroads, buildings, etc. 
Use an (X) to indicate location of the well. Show location of 
nearest existing well(s), if any nearby, by making (Os) and 
approximate distance between wells. If submitting the 
registration form by an Office of Conservation approved 
electronic delivery system, follow the instructions on the 
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electronic form for including a detailed location map. 
Determine the well’s Global Positioning System (GPS) 
location and record the GPS longitude and latitude 
coordinates onto the form. For rig-supply wells, attach a 
"registered" permit plat (see §105.I) and for monitoring 
wells, complete spaces provided for the section, township 
and range (see §105.J). 

7. … 
8. Driller's Log. List in the space provided a 

description of the materials encountered and depth as 
detailed in the form instructions. If space on front of the 
form is insufficient, continue driller's log on reverse side of 
original form or attach a copy of the driller's log to the 
original form to be transmitted to the department. If 
submitting the registration form by an Office of 
Conservation approved electronic delivery system, follow 
the instructions on the electronic form for including the 
Driller’s Log information. 

C.9. - E. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3098-38:3098.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 
1:249 (May 1975), amended LR 11:974 (October 1985), 
repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Public Works, LR 31:942 (April 2005), 
amended by the Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 37:908 (March 2011), LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
This Rule has no known impact on small businesses as 

described in R.S. 49:965.6. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, in writing. Written 
comments will be accepted by hand delivery or USPS only, 
until 4:30 p.m., September 10, 2021 at Office of 
Conservation, Executive Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9275; or Office of Conservation, 
Environmental Division, 617 North Third Street, Room 847-
D, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All inquiries should be directed 
to Timothy Schroeder at the above addresses. 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Water Well Registration 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental expenditures as a result of the proposed rule 
change. The proposed rule change provides instructions and 

clarifications on submitting water well registration forms 
through the Office of Conservation approved electronic 
delivery system.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The primary group impacted by these rule changes will be 
water well drillers. There are no anticipated cost increases 
associated with the proposed amendment and all required 
documentation will be provided on existing paperwork.  

The proposed regulatory amendment clarifies the language 
in the water well registration requirements for electronic form 
deliverables. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on water well 
driller competition and employment. 

 
John Adams Alan M. Boxberger 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
2108#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Direct Delivery of Alcohol—Third Party Service Permit  
(LAC 55:VII.807) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 26:792, the Department of Revenue, 
Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC), proposes to 
amend LAC 55:VII, Subpart 3, Beer and Liquor, Chapter 8, 
§807, relative to the regulation of retailers contracting with a 
third party for the direct delivery of alcohol. The basis and 
rationale for the intended action is to protect both retailers 
and third parties who are acting in good faith This proposed 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the authority 
delegated in R.S. 26:307(E) and R.S. 26:308(E) that allow 
the commissioner to promulgate rules related to the 
requirements and qualifications for delivery of alcoholic 
beverages. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY  

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 
Subpart 1.  Beer and Liquor 

Chapter 8. Direct Delivery of Alcohol 
§807. Third Party Alcohol Delivery Service Permit 

A. - I.1.c. … 
2. A retailer may enter into a contract with a third 

party for a fixed fee for services, but the fee shall not be 
based on a percentage of the total receipt as required in R.S. 
26:308(E). 

J. - J.2. …  
3. The retailer is responsible for ensuring that the 

price of the alcoholic beverage product on the third party 
application is the same as the price the product is advertised 
and sold at retail by retail dealer. A contract with a third 
party shall not dictate the price the retailer sets for the 
alcoholic beverage product. The retailer and the third party 
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shall comply with the requirements of R.S. 26:150, R.S. 
26:153 (C)(3) and R.S. 26:308(C)(12)(b). 

4. If the retailer gives good faith notice to the third 
party of a price discrepancy between the beverage product 
on the third party application and the product as advertised 
and sold at retail by retail dealer, the third party is 
responsible for correcting the error on the third party 
application within a reasonable time. Good faith compliance 
with statutory regulation is required as a condition of 
continued good standing and approval of a class D-T third 
party alcohol delivery permit. 

5. The third party delivery company must notify the 
retailer in writing that the retailer is prohibited from profit 
sharing with the third party and is prohibited from paying a 
percentage of the total receipts for alcoholic beverages as a 
requirement of any contract with the third party. The retailer 
and the third party shall comply with the requirements of 
R.S. 51:411, R.S. 51:1402, and R.S. 51:1405. 

K. - N. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:307 and R.S. 26:308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 40:83 
(January 2021), amended LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule. 

This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small Business 
Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through June 10, 2021, to Heather M. Royer, Office of 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, 7979 Independence Blvd., 
Suite 101, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806. 

 
Linda Pham 
Attorney Supervisor 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Direct Delivery of Alcohol 

Third Party Service Permit 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment will not result in significant costs 
or savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed

rules outline standards and requirements for retailers and third 
party direct delivery permit holders to contract with one 
another for the sale of alcoholic beverages through the 
application owned and operated by the third party. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local entities. The proposed rules only 
outline further requirements associated with third party direct 
delivery of alcohol. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment will affect firms choosing to 
participate in third party direct delivery of alcohol services to 
the extent that the retailer and the third party delivery permit 
holder must be in compliance with the new regulations. The 
proposed rules will require that the retailer's store price dictate 
the price of the alcoholic beverages sold on the third party 
application. Third party delivery permit holders will no longer 
be able to markup the price of alcoholic beverages on the 
application. Therefore, the total cost to third party delivery 
permit holders is unknown and dependent on current practices. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The ability for retailers to contract with third party delivery 
permit holders for the sale of alcoholic beverages to consumers 
may result in a competition and employment benefit to retailers 
and third parties choosing to offer this service. The scope of the 
benefit is unknown and dependent upon consumer behavior. 

 
Linda Pham Alan M. Boxberger 
Attorney Supervisor Staff Director 
2108#013 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Consolidated Filer Sales Tax Returns, Form R-1029—
Electronic Filing and Payment Requirement 

(LAC 61.III.1547 and 1548) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 47:1519, 47:1520 
and in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, through this 
Notice of Intent, proposes to adopt rules to require electronic 
filing and payment requirements for consolidated filers who 
are filing the Louisiana Sales Tax Return, Form R-1029. 

R.S. 47:1519(B)(1) authorizes the secretary to require 
payments by electronic funds transfer, and R.S. 
47:1520(A)(2) grants the secretary the discretion to require 
electronic filing of tax returns or reports by administrative 
rule promulgated with legislative oversight in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
The purpose of this regulation is to require consolidated 
filers to electronically file all sales tax returns and 
electronically submit all related sales and use tax payments. 
Recent legislative changes have required more specific 
tracking of sales tax revenues. Requiring consolidated filers 
to file returns and make payments electronically allows for 
targeted tracking while maintaining convenience for 
consolidated filers. 
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Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payment  
§1547. Consolidated Filers – Electronic Filing 

Requirements 
A. Definitions 

Consolidated Filer—taxpayers approved, according to 
LAC 61:I.4351.A.1.a, to file consolidated sales tax returns to 
report sales from multiple locations on one consolidated 
monthly return 

B. For tax periods beginning on or after December 1, 
2021, consolidated filers shall be required to file the Form 
R-1029, Louisiana Sales Tax Return, electronically. 

C. Consolidated filers may not file paper versions of any 
required returns. 

D.1. Failure to comply with the electronic filing 
requirement of this section will result in the assessment of a 
penalty as provided for in R.S. 47:1520(B). 

2. Waiver of the penalty provided for in paragraph 1 
of this subsection shall only be allowed as provided for in 
R.S. 47:1520(B). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 47:1520. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, LR 47: 
§1548. Consolidated Filers - Electronic Payment 

Required  
A. R.S. 47:1519(B)(1) allows the secretary to require 

consolidated filers to pay sales and use tax by electronic 
funds transfer.  

B. Effective for all taxable periods beginning on or after 
December 1, 2021, all payments by any consolidated filer 
shall be electronically transferred to the department on or 
before the twentieth day following the close of the reporting 
period using the electronic format provided. 

C. For purposes of this Rule, specific requirements 
relating to the procedures for making payments by electronic 
funds transfer are set forth in R.S. 47:1519 and LAC 
61.I.4910(E).  

D. Failure to comply with the electronic funds transfer 
requirements shall result in the tax payment being 
considered delinquent and subject to penalties and interest as 
provided under R.S. 47:1601 and 1602. 

E. If a consolidated filer has made a good faith attempt 
and exercises due diligence in initiating a payment under the 
provisions of R.S. 47:1519, this Rule, and LAC 
61.I.4910(E), but because of unexpected problems arising at 
financial institutions, Federal Reserve facilities, the 
automated clearinghouse system, or state agencies, the 
payment is not timely received, the delinquent penalty may 
be waived as provided by R.S. 47:1603. Before a waiver will 
be considered, consolidated filers must furnish the 
department with documentation proving that due diligence 
was exercised and that the delay was clearly beyond their 
control. 

F. In any case where the consolidated filer can prove 
payment by electronic funds transfer would create an undue 
hardship, the secretary may exempt the taxpayer from the 
requirement to transmit funds electronically. 

G. The tax returns must be filed electronically; 
separately from the electronic transmission of the 
remittance.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 47:1519. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of this Rule should have no known 

or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically, the implementation of this proposed rule has no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. The stability of the family. 
2. The authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 
3. The functioning of the family. 
4. Family earnings and family budget. 
5. The behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 
6. The ability of the family or a local government to 

perform this function. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 
described in R.S. 49:973.  

Small Business Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known measurable impact on 

small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known or foreseeable effect on: 
1. The staffing levels requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service. 
2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

provider to provide the same level of service. 
3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding this proposed Rule to Mia 
Strong at P.O. Box 44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. Written 
comments will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, 
September 29, 2021.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on Thursday, September 30, 

2021 at 2 p.m. in the Griffon Room, located on the first floor 
of the LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA. 

 
Kimberly J. Lewis 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Consolidated Filer Sales Tax  

Returns, Form R-1029—Electronic Filing  
and Payment Requirement 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rules require electronic filing of Form R-

1029, Louisiana Sales Tax Return, for sales tax reported by 
consolidated filers. The proposed rules require taxpayers who
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file consolidated tax returns to submit returns and payments 
electronically. The proposed rules also provide for the 
assessment and waiver of penalties for non-compliance. 

Implementation of the proposed rules will result in $30,000 
in additional costs associated with the development and testing 
of the reporting schedule. Computer system acceptance of the 
required electronic return is already in place. Accounting for 
non-compliance penalties will not result in material additional 
costs.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules may increase self-generated revenue 
and state general fund collections from penalties by an 
indeterminable amount beginning FY 2022. Beginning July 1, 
2022, penalties and fees, except compensatory fees, levied by 
the Department will accrue to the state general fund per R.S. 
47:1608, rather than to self-generated revenue for the 
department. 

A modest and temporary increase in revenue from penalties 
may occur as the proposed rules are implemented, although the 
department cannot predict non-compliant behavior. For returns 
that are currently required to be filed electronically, the 
department has collected the following amounts in penalties; 
$7,000 in FY 2017, $1,000 in FY 2018, $6,000 in FY 2019, 
and $45,000 in FY 2020. However, any actual collections in 
penalties are dependent upon non-compliant behavior 
associated with the filing types included in the proposed rules. 
Therefore, any increase in revenue is indeterminable.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The department does not have the information necessary to 
determine the additional costs to comply with the proposed 
rules, but these costs are expected to be minimal. Online access 
and activity by businesses have become standard practice. To 
the extent non-compliance penalties are collected, affected 
taxpayers will incur penalty costs. The department cannot 
estimate the additional penalty amount as it is dependent upon 
taxpayer violations and liabilities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules are not anticipated to affect competition 
or employment.  

 
Kimberly J. Lewis Alan M. Boxberger 
Secretary Staff Director 
2108#042 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Mandatory Electronic Filing of Consumable Hemp Products 
Tax Returns and Payment of Tax 

(LAC 61.III.1535 and 1536) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 47:1519, 47:1520, 
and 47:1695, and in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, gives notice that 
rulemaking procedures have been initiated to amend LAC 
61.III.1535 and 1536, regarding mandatory electronic filing 
and payment requirements for the Industrial Hemp-Derived 
CBD Tax Return. Act 336 of the 2021 Regular Session (“Act 
336”) changed the name of the tax to Consumable Hemp 
Products Tax and expanded its applicability.  

R.S. 47:1519(B)(1) authorizes the secretary to require 
payments by electronic funds transfer, and R.S. 
47:1520(A)(2) authorizes the secretary the discretion to 
require electronic filing of tax returns or reports by 
administrative rule promulgated with legislative oversight in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. The purpose of this amendment is to revise 
the terminology in the regulation consistent with the changes 
to the tax statutes made by Act 336. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative and Miscellaneous Provisions 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payment  
§1535. Industrial Hemp-Derived CBD and Consumable 

Hemp Products Tax Return—Electronic Filing 
Requirements 

A.1. For tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 2020 
and before August 1, 201, every industrial hemp-derived 
CBD retailer shall be required to file the Industrial Hemp-
Derived CBD Tax return electronically with the Department 
of Revenue using the electronic format prescribed by the 
department. 

2. For tax periods beginning on or after August 1, 
2021, every consumable hemp products retailer shall be 
required to file the Consumable Hemp Products Tax return 
electronically with the Department of Revenue using the 
electronic format prescribed by the department. 

B. - C.2. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1511, and 47:1520. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 45:1810 (December 2019), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 
LR 47: 
§1536. Industrial Hemp-Derived CBD and Consumable 

Hemp Products Tax—Electronic Payment 
Required  

A. R.S. 47:1519(B)(1) allows the secretary to require 
payment of tax by electronic funds transfer. 

B.1. Effective for all taxable periods beginning on or 
after January 1, 2020 and before August 1, 2021, all 
payments by an industrial hemp-derived CBD retailer shall 
be electronically transferred to the Department of Revenue 
on or before the twentieth day following the close of the 
reporting period using the electronic format provided by the 
department. 

2. Effective for all taxable periods beginning on or 
after August 1, 2021, all payments by a consumable hemp 
products retailer shall be electronically transferred to the 
Department of Revenue on or before the twentieth day 
following the close of the reporting period using the 
electronic format provided by the department. 

C. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1511, 47:1519, 47:1520 and 47:1695. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 45:1810 (December 2019), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 
LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of this rule should have no known 

or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
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49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically, the implementation of this proposed rule has no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. The stability of the family. 
2. The authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 
3. The functioning of the family. 
4. Family earnings and family budget. 
5. The behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 
6. The ability of the family or a local government to 

perform this function. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rule has no known impact on poverty as 
described in R.S. 49:973.  

Small Business Impact Analysis 
The proposed rule has no known measurable impact on 

small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.6. 
Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed rule has no known or foreseeable effect on: 
1. The staffing levels requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service. 
2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

provider to provide the same level of service. 
3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding this proposed rule to 
Brandea Averett, Attorney, Policy Services Division, Office 
of Legal Affairs, P.O. Box 44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
4098. Written comments will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., 
September 21, 2021.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on September 22, 2021 at 

8:30 a.m. in the LaBelle Room, located on the 1st floor of 
the LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana. 

 
Kimberly J. Lewis 
Secretary of Revenue 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Mandatory Electronic Filing of 

Consumable Hemp Products Tax Returns  
and Payment of Tax 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will not result in implementation costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
amends the electronic filing and payment mandate for 
industrial hemp-derived CBD to update the name of the tax to 
Consumable Hemp Products for periods beginning on or after 
August 1, 2021, as a result of Act 336 of the 2021 Regular 
Session. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no direct impact on annual 
state or local revenue collections. The proposed rule updates 
the name of the tax to comply with recent legislative action as 
provided in Act 336 of the 2021 Regular Session.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have a slight economic impact on 
the affected taxpayer by clarifying the proper name of the tax 
return and payments required to be filed electronically as a 
result of Act 336 of the 2021 Regular Session. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no impact upon competition 
and employment in the state. 

 
Kimberly J. Lewis Gregory V. Albrecht 
Secretary Chief Economist 
2108#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Workers' Compensation 

Medical Treatment Guidelines (LAC 40:I.2201-2227) 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend certain portions of the Medical 
Guidelines contained in the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
Title 40, Labor and Employment, Part I, Workers’ 
Compensation Administration, Subpart 2, Medical 
Guidelines, Chapter 22 regarding Neurological and 
Neuromuscular Disorder. The purpose of this amendment is 
to update the medical treatment guidelines in accordance to a 
reoccurring maintenance schedule and add consistency 
throughout the guidelines. This Rule is promulgated by the 
authority vested in the director of the Office of Workers’ 
Compensation found in R.S. 23:1291 and R.S. 23:1310.1(C). 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Part I.  Workers’ Compensation Administration 
Subpart 2.  Medical Guidelines 

Chapter 22. Neurological and Neuromuscular 
Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines 

Subchapter A. Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (CTS) Medical 
Treatment Guidelines 

Editor’s Note: Repealed. 

§2201. Introduction 
A. This document has been prepared by the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
(OWCA) and should be interpreted within the context of 
guidelines for physicians/providers treating individuals 
qualifying under Louisiana’s Workers’ Compensation Act as 
injured workers with CTS. Although the primary purpose of 
this document is advisory and educational, these guidelines 
are enforceable under the Louisiana Workers Compensation 
Act. All medical care, services, and treatment owed by the 
employer to the employee in accordance with the Louisiana 
Workers’ Compensation Act shall mean care, services, and 
treatment in accordance with these guidelines. Medical care, 
services, and treatment that varies from these guidelines 
shall also be due by the employer when it is evidence, that a 
variance from these guidelines is reasonably required to cure 
or relieve the injured worker from the effects of the injury or 
occupational disease given the circumstances. Therefore, 
these guidelines are not relevant as evidence of a provider’s 
legal standard of professional care. To properly utilize this 
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document, the reader should not skip nor overlook any 
sections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1736 (June 2011), amended LR 47: 
§2203. General Guideline Principles 

A. The principles summarized in this section are key to 
the intended implementation of all Office of Workers’ 
Compensation medical treatment guidelines and critical to 
the reader’s application of the guidelines in this document. 

1. Application of Guidelines. The OWCA provides 
procedures to implement medical treatment guidelines and to 
foster communication to resolve disputes among the 
provider, payer, and patient through the Workers’ 
Compensation Act. 

2. Education. Education of the patient and family, as 
well as the employer, insurer, policy makers and the 
community should be the primary emphasis in the treatment 
of workers’ compensation injuries. Currently, practitioners 
often think of education last, after medications, manual 
therapy, and surgery. Practitioners must implement strategies 
to educate patients, employers, insurance systems, policy 
makers, and the community as a whole. An education-based 
paradigm should always start with inexpensive 
communication providing reassuring and evidence-based 
information to the patient. More in-depth education is 
currently a component of treatment regimens which employ 
functional, restorative, preventive and rehabilitative 
programs. No treatment plan is complete without addressing 
issues of individual and/or group patient education as a 
means of facilitating self-management of symptoms and 
prevention. Facilitation through language interpretation, 
when necessary, is a priority and part of the medical care 
treatment protocol. 

3. Informed Decision Making. Providers should 
implement informed decision making as a crucial element of 
a successful treatment plan. Patients, with the assistance of 
their health care practitioner, should identify their personal 
and professional functional goals of treatment at the first 
visit when a workers’ compensation injury allows functional 
improvement. Progress towards the individual’s identified 
functional goals should be addressed by all members of the 
health care team at subsequent visits and throughout the 
established treatment plan when a chronic pain condition 
allows attainment of functional goals. Injured workers may 
not reach functional goals to return to work and therefore 
they will require a significantly different plan. Nurse case 
managers, physical therapists, and other members of the 
health care team play an integral role in informed decision-
making and achievement of functional goals. Patient 
education and informed decision-making should facilitate 
self-management of symptoms and prevention of further 
injury. 

4. Treatment Parameter Duration. Time frames for 
specific interventions commence once treatments have been 
initiated, not on the date of injury. Obviously, duration will 
be impacted by patient adherence, as well as availability of 
services. Clinical judgment may substantiate the need to 
accelerate or decelerate the time frames discussed in this 
document. Such deviation shall be in accordance with La. 
R.S. 23:1203.1. 

5. Active interventions emphasizing patient 
responsibility, such as therapeutic exercise and/or functional 
treatment, are generally emphasized over passive modalities, 
especially as treatment progresses. Generally, passive 
interventions are viewed as a means to facilitate progress in 
an active rehabilitation program with concomitant 
attainment of objective functional gains. 

6. Active Therapeutic Exercise Program. Exercise 
program goals should incorporate patient strength, 
endurance, flexibility, coordination, and education. This 
includes functional application in vocational or community 
settings. 

7. Positive Patient Response. Positive results are 
defined primarily as functional gains that can be objectively 
measured.  

a. Objective functional gains include, but are not 
limited to, positional tolerances, range-of-motion (ROM), 
strength, and endurance, activities of daily living, ability to 
function at work, cognition, psychological behavior, and 
efficiency/velocity measures that can be quantified. 
Subjective reports of pain and function should be considered 
and given relative weight when the pain has anatomic and 
physiologic correlation. Anatomic correlation must be based 
on objective findings. 

8. Re-Evaluation of Treatment Every Three to Four 
Weeks. If a given treatment or modality is not producing 
positive results within three to four weeks, the treatment 
should be either modified or discontinued. Reconsideration 
of diagnosis should also occur in the event of poor response 
to a seemingly rational intervention. 

9. Surgical Interventions. Surgery should be 
contemplated within the context of expected functional 
outcome and not purely for the purpose of pain relief. The 
concept of "cure” with respect to surgical treatment by itself 
is generally a misnomer. All operative interventions must be 
based upon positive correlation of clinical findings, clinical 
course, and diagnostic tests. A comprehensive assimilation 
of these factors must lead to a specific diagnosis with 
positive identification of pathologic conditions.  

10. Pharmacy-Louisiana Law and Regulation. All 
prescribing will be done in accordance with the laws of the 
state of Louisiana as they pertain respectively to each 
individual licensee, including, but not limited to: Louisiana 
State Board of Medical Examiners regulations governing 
medications used in the treatment of non-cancer-related 
chronic or intractable pain; Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 
Prescription Monitoring Program; Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals licensing and certification standards for 
pain management clinics; other laws and regulations 
affecting the prescribing and dispensing of medications in 
the state of Louisiana. 

11. Six Month-Time Frame. Injuries resulting in 
temporary total disability require maintenance treatment and 
may not attain return to work in six months. 

12. Return to Work. Return to work is therapeutic, 
assuming the work is not likely to aggravate the basic 
problem or increase long-term pain. An injured worker’s 
return-to-work status shall not be the sole cause to deny 
reasonable and medically necessary treatment under these 
guidelines. Two good practices are: early contact with 
injured workers and provide modified work positions for 
short-term injuries. The practitioner may provide specific 
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specific physical limitations and the patient should never be 
released to non-specific and vague descriptions such as 
“sedentary” or “light duty.” The following physical 
limitations should be considered and modified as 
recommended: lifting, pushing, pulling, crouching, walking, 
using stairs, bending at the waist, awkward and/or sustained 
postures, tolerance for sitting or standing, hot and cold 
environments, data entry and other repetitive motion tasks, 
sustained grip, tool usage and vibration factors. Even if there 
is residual chronic pain, return-to-work is not necessarily 
contraindicated. The practitioner should understand all of the 
physical demands of the patient’s job position before 
returning the patient to full duty and should request 
clarification of the patient’s job duties. Clarification should 
be obtained from the employer or, if necessary, from 
including, but not limited to, occupational health nurse, 
physical therapist, occupational therapist, vocational 
rehabilitation specialist, or an industrial hygienist 
chiropractor or another professional. American Medical 
Association clarifies “disability” as “activity limitations 
and/or participation restrictions in an individual with a 
health condition, disorder or disease” versus “impairment” 
as “a significant deviation, loss, or loss of use of any body 
structure or body function in an individual with a health 
condition, disorder or disease”. 

13. Delayed Recovery. Within the discretion of the 
treating physician, strongly consider a psychological 
evaluation, if not previously provided, as well as initiating 
interdisciplinary rehabilitation treatment and vocational goal 
setting, for those patients who are failing to make expected 
progress 6 to 12 weeks after initiation of treatment of an 
injury. The OWCA recognizes that 3 to 10 percent of all 
industrially injured patients will not recover within the 
timelines outlined in this document despite optimal care. 
Such individuals may require treatments beyond the limits 
discussed within this document, but such treatment requires 
clear documentation by the authorized treating practitioner 
focusing on objective functional gains afforded by further 
treatment and impact upon prognosis. 

14. Guideline Recommendations and Inclusion of 
Medical Evidence. Guidelines are recommendations based 
on available evidence and/or consensus recommendations. 
When possible, guideline recommendations will note the 
level of evidence supporting the treatment recommendation. 
When interpreting medical evidence statements in the 
guideline, the following apply to the strength of 
recommendation. 

 
Strong Level 1 Evidence We Recommend 
Moderate Level 2 and Level 3 

Evidence 
We Suggest 

Weak Level 4 Evidence Treatment is an Option 
Inconclusive Evidence is Either Insufficient of Conflicting  

 
a. Consensus guidelines are generated by a 

professional organization that the guidelines are intended to 
serve. A committee of specialists and experts are selected by 
the organization to create an unbiased, vetted 
recommendation for the treatment of specific issues within 
the realm of their expertise. All recommendations in the 
guideline are considered to represent reasonable care in 
appropriately selected cases, regardless of the level of 
evidence or consensus statement attached to it. Those 

procedures considered inappropriate, unreasonable, or 
unnecessary are designated in the guideline as “not 
recommended.” 

15. Treatment of Pre-Existing Conditions The 
conditions that preexisted the work injury/disease will need 
to be managed under two circumstances: 

a. a pre-existing condition exacerbated by a work 
injury/disease should be treated until the patient has returned 
to their objectively verified prior level of functioning or 
Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI); and  

b. a pre-existing condition not directly caused by a 
work injury/disease but which may prevent recovery from 
that injury should be treated until its objectively verified 
negative impact has been controlled. The focus of treatment 
should remain on the work injury/disease. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1203.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1736 (June 2011), amended by the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission, Office of Workers 
Compensation, LR 40:1158 (June 2014), LR 47: 
§2209. Follow-Up Diagnostic Testing Procedures 

A. - C. 6. … 
D. Special tests are generally well-accepted tests and are 

performed as part of a skilled assessment of the patients’ 
capacity to return to work, his/her strength capacities, and 
physical work demand classifications and tolerance. 

1. - 1.c. …  
d. Frequency: one-time visit for the clinical 

interview. If psychometric testing is indicated as a part of the 
initial evaluation, time for such testing shall be allotted at 
least, six hours of professional time or whatever is deemed 
appropriate by the health care professional. 
 i. - iii.(a).  
 iv. Work Tolerance Screening: is a determination 
of an individual's tolerance for performing a specific job as 
based on a job activity or task. It may include a test or 
procedure to specifically identify and quantify work-relevant 
cardiovascular, physical fitness and postural tolerance. It 
may also address ergonomic issues affecting the patient’s 
return-to-work potential. May be used when a full FCE is 
not indicated. 

(a). Frequency: One time for evaluation. May 
monitor improvements in strength every three to four weeks 
up to a total of six evaluations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1740 (June 2011). 
§2211. Therapeutic Procedures―Non-Operative 

A. - G. … 
H. The following procedures are listed in alphabetical 

order. 
1. - 12.c.iii. … 
13. … 

a. Manual Therapy Techniques are passive 
interventions in which the providers use his or her hands to 
administer skilled movements designed to modulate pain; 
increase joint range of motion; reduce/eliminate soft tissue 
swelling, inflammation, or restriction; induce relaxation; and 
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improve contractile and non-contractile tissue extensibility. 
These techniques are applied only after a thorough 
examination is performed to identify those for whom manual 
therapy would be contraindicated or for whom manual 
therapy must be applied with caution. Soft tissue 
mobilization/manipulation techniques are generally accepted 
and widely used adjunctive treatment modalities in the 
treatment of myofascial symptoms related to carpal tunnel 
syndrome. Mobilization and manipulation can include 
myofascial release therapy, muscle energy techniques, neural 
gliding, high velocity, low amplitude (HVLA) technique, 
osteopathic manipulation, joint mobilization and non-force 
techniques.  
 i. Time to produce effect: two to six treatments  
 ii. Frequency: one to three times/week, decreasing 
over time  
 iii. Optimum duration: four to six weeks 
 iv. Maximum duration: eight to ten weeks  

13.b. - 14. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1203.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1743 (June 2011), amended LR 47: 
§2213. Therapeutic Procedures―Operative 

A. Surgical Decompression is well-established, generally 
accepted, and widely used and includes open and endoscopic 
techniques. There is good evidence that surgery is more 
effective than splinting in producing long-term symptom 
relief and normalization of median nerve conduction 
velocity. 

1. Endoscopic and open techniques can be used based 
on the experience and discretion of the surgeon.  

2. - 3.b. … 
4. Surgery may be considered in cases where 

electrodiagnostic testing is normal. A second opinion from a 
hand surgeon is strongly recommended. The following 
criteria should be considered in deciding whether to proceed 
with surgery: 

a. the patient experiences significant temporary 
relief following steroid injection into the carpal tunnel; or 

b. the patient has failed 3 to 6 months of 
conservative treatment including work site change; and 

c. psychosocial factors have been addressed 
through psychological screening requirements as defined 
“Adjunctive Testing” in this Section; and 

d. the patient's signs and symptoms are specific for 
carpal tunnel syndrome 

5. Suggested parameters for return-to-work are: 
 

Time Frame Activity Level 
2 Days Return to Work with Restrictions on utilizing 

the affected extremity 
2-3 Weeks Sedentary and non-repetitive work 

4-6 Weeks Case-by-case basis 
6-12 Weeks Heavy Labor, forceful and repetitive 

NOTE: All return-to-work decisions are based upon clinical 
outcome. 

B. - C. … 
D. Consideration for Repeat Surgery 

1. - 1.d. … 
2. A second opinion by a hand surgeon or qualified 

surgeon in treating peripheral nerve disorders is required if

repeat surgery is contemplated. The decision to undertake 
repeat surgery must factor in all of the above possibilities. 
Results of surgery for recurrent carpal tunnel syndrome vary 
widely depending on the etiology of recurrent symptoms. 

E. Post-Operative Treatment. 
1. Considerations for post-operative therapy are: 

a. - b. … 
c. Supervised Therapy Program: may be helpful in 

patients who do not show functional improvements post-
operatively or in patients with heavy or repetitive job 
activities. The therapy program may include some of the 
generally accepted elements of soft tissue healing and return 
to function:  
 i. … 
 ii. Return to function: Range of motion, 
therapeutic exercises and stretching exercises, strengthening, 
activity of daily living adaptations, joint protection 
instruction, posture/body mechanics education; worksite 
modifications may be indicated. 

(a). Time to produce effect: two- to four weeks 
(b). Frequency: two- to three times/week 
(c). Optimum duration: four- to six weeks 
(d). Maximum duration: eight weeks 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1748 (June 2011). 
Subchapter B. Thoracic Outlet Syndrome 

Editor’s Note: Repealed. 

§2215. Introduction 
A. This document has been prepared by the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
(OWCA) and should be interpreted within the context of 
guidelines for physicians/providers treating individuals 
qualifying under Louisiana’s Workers’ Compensation Act as 
injured workers with upper extremity involvement. Although 
the primary purpose of this document is advisory and 
educational, these guidelines are enforceable under the 
Louisiana Workers Compensation Act. All medical care, 
services, and treatment owed by the employer to the 
employee in accordance with the Louisiana Workers’ 
Compensation Act shall mean care, services, and treatment 
in accordance with these guidelines. Medical Care, services, 
and treatment that varies from these guidelines shall also be 
due by the employer when it is demonstrated to the medical 
director of the office by a preponderance of the scientific 
medical evidence, that a variance from these guidelines is 
reasonably required to cure or relieve the injured worker 
from the effects of the injury or occupational disease given 
the circumstances. Therefore, these guidelines are not 
relevant as evidence of a provider’s legal standard of 
professional care. To properly utilize this document, the 
reader should not skip nor overlook any sections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1750 (June 2011). 
§2217. General Guidelines Principles 

A. The principles summarized in this section are key to 
the intended implementation of all Office of Workers’ 
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Compensation medical treatment guidelines and critical to 
the reader’s application of the guidelines in this document. 

1. Application of Guidelines. The OWCA provides 
procedures to implement medical treatment guidelines and to 
foster communication to resolve disputes among the 
provider, payer, and patient through the Office of Worker’s’ 
Compensation Act.  

2. Education. Education of the patient and family, as 
well as the employer, insurer, policy makers and the 
community should be the primary emphasis in the treatment 
of workers’ compensation injuries. Currently, practitioners 
often think of education last, after medications, manual 
therapy, and surgery. Practitioners must implement strategies 
to educate patients, employers, insurance systems, policy 
makers, and the community as a whole. An education-based 
paradigm should always start with inexpensive 
communication providing reassuring and evidence-based 
information to the patient. More in-depth education is 
currently a component of treatment regime ns which employ 
functional restorative, preventive and rehabilitative 
programs. No treatment plan is complete without addressing 
issues of individual and/or group patient education as a 
means of facilitating self-management of symptoms and 
prevention. Facilitation through language interpretation, 
when necessary, is a priority and part of the medical care 
treatment protocol. 

3. Informed Decision Making. Providers should 
implement informed decision making as a crucial element of 
a successful treatment plan. Patients, with the assistance of 
their health care practitioner, should identify their personal 
and professional functional goals of treatment at the first 
visit when a chronic pain condition allows functional 
improvement. Progress towards the individual’s identified 
functional goals should be addressed by all members of the 
health care team at subsequent visits and throughout the 
established treatment plan when a chronic pain condition 
allows attainment of functional goals. Injured workers may 
not reach functional goals to return to work and therefore 
they will require a significantly different plan. Nurse case 
managers, physical therapists, and other members of the 
health care team play an integral role in informed decision-
making and achievement of functional goals. Patient 
education and informed decision-making should facilitate 
self-management of symptoms and prevention of further 
injury. 

.4. Treatment Parameter Duration. Time frames for 
specific interventions commence once treatments have been 
initiated, not on the date of injury. Obviously, duration will 
be impacted by patient adherence, as well as availability of 
services. Clinical judgment may substantiate the need to 
accelerate or decelerate the time frames discussed in this 
document. Such deviation shall be in accordance with La. 
R.S. 23:1203.1. 

5. Active interventions emphasizing patient 
responsibility, such as therapeutic exercise and/or functional 
treatment, are generally emphasized over passive modalities, 
especially as treatment progresses. Generally, passive 
interventions are viewed as a means to facilitate progress in 
an active rehabilitation program with concomitant 
attainment of objective functional gains. 

6. Active Therapeutic Exercise Program. Exercise 
program goals should incorporate patient strength, 

endurance, flexibility, coordination, and education. This 
includes functional application in vocational or community 
settings. 

7. Positive Patient Response. Positive results are 
defined primarily as functional gains that can be objectively 
measured.  

a. Objective functional gains include, but are not 
limited to, positional tolerances, range-of-motion (ROM), 
strength, and endurance, activities of daily living, ability to 
function at work, cognition, psychological behavior, and 
efficiency/velocity measures that can be quantified. 
Subjective reports of pain and function should be considered 
and given relative weight when the pain has anatomic and 
physiologic correlation. Anatomic correlation must be based 
on objective findings. 

8. Re-Evaluation of Treatment Every Three to Four 
Weeks. If a given treatment or modality is not producing 
positive results within three to four weeks, the treatment 
should be either modified or discontinued. Reconsideration 
of diagnosis should also occur in the event of poor response 
to a seemingly rational intervention. 

9. Surgical Interventions. Surgery should be 
contemplated within the context of expected functional 
outcome and not purely for the purpose of pain relief. The 
concept of "cure” with respect to surgical treatment by itself 
is generally a misnomer. All operative interventions must be 
based upon positive correlation of clinical findings, clinical 
course, and diagnostic tests. A comprehensive assimilation 
of these factors must lead to a specific diagnosis with 
positive identification of pathologic conditions. 

10. Pharmacy-Louisiana Law and Regulation. All 
prescribing will be done in accordance with the laws of the 
state of Louisiana as they pertain respectively to each 
individual licensee, including, but not limited to: Louisiana 
State Board of Medical Examiners regulations governing 
medications used in the treatment of non-cancer-related 
chronic or intractable pain; Louisiana Board of Pharmacy 
Prescription Monitoring Program; Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals licensing and certification standards for 
pain management clinics; other laws and regulations 
affecting the prescribing and dispensing of medications in 
the state of Louisiana. 

11. Six Month-Time Frame. Injuries resulting in 
temporary total disability require maintenance treatment and 
may not attain return to work in six months. 

12. Return to Work. Return to work is therapeutic, 
assuming the work is not likely to aggravate the basic 
problem or increase long-term pain. An injured worker’s 
return-to-work status shall not be the sole cause to deny 
reasonable and medically necessary treatment under these 
guidelines. Two good practices are: early contact with 
injured workers and provide modified work positions for 
short-term injuries. The practitioner may provide specific 
physical limitations and the patient should never be released 
to non-specific and vague descriptions such as sedentary or 
light duty. The following physical limitations should be 
considered and modified as recommended: lifting, pushing, 
pulling, crouching, walking, using stairs, bending at the 
waist, awkward and/or sustained postures, tolerance for 
sitting or standing, hot and cold environments, data entry 
and other repetitive motion tasks, sustained grip, tool usage 
and vibration factors. Even if there is residual chronic pain, 
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return-to-work is not necessarily contraindicated. The 
practitioner should understand all of the physical demands of 
the patient’s job position before returning the patient to full 
duty and should request clarification of the patient’s job 
duties. Clarification should be obtained from the employer 
or, if necessary, from including, but not limited to, 
occupational health nurse, physical therapist, occupational 
therapist, vocational rehabilitation specialist, an industrial 
hygienist, chiropractor or another professional. American 
Medical Association clarifies “disability” as “activity 
limitations and/or participation restrictions in an individual 
with a health condition, disorder or disease” versus 
“impairment” as “a significant deviation, loss, or loss of use 
of any body structure or body function in an individual with 
a health condition, disorder or disease”. 

13. Delayed Recovery. Within the discretion of the 
treating physician, strongly consider a psychological 
evaluation, if not previously provided, as well as initiating 
interdisciplinary rehabilitation treatment and vocational goal 
setting, for those patients who are failing to make expected 
progress 6 to 12 weeks after initiation of treatment of an 
injury. The OWCA recognizes that 3 to 10 percent of all 
industrially injured patients will not recover within the 
timelines outlined in this document despite optimal care. 
Such individuals may require treatments beyond the limits 
discussed within this document, but such treatment requires 
clear documentation by the authorized treating practitioner 
focusing on objective functional gains afforded by further 
treatment and impact upon prognosis. 

14. Guideline Recommendations and Inclusion of 
Medical Evidence. Guidelines are recommendations based 
on available evidence and/or consensus recommendations. 
When possible, guideline recommendations will note the 
level of evidence supporting the treatment recommendation. 
When interpreting medical evidence statements in the 
guideline, the following apply to the strength of 
recommendation. 

 
Strong Level 1 Evidence We Recommend 
Moderate Level 2 and Level 3 

Evidence 
We Suggest 

Weak Level 4 Evidence Treatment is an Option 
Inconclusive Evidence is Either Insufficient of Conflicting  

 
a. Consensus guidelines are generated by a 

professional organization that the guidelines are intended to 
serve. A committee of specialists and experts are selected by 
the organization to create an unbiased, vetted 
recommendation for the treatment of specific issues within 
the realm of their expertise. All recommendations in the 
guideline are considered to represent reasonable care in 
appropriately selected cases, regardless of the level of 
evidence or consensus statement attached to it. Those 
procedures considered inappropriate, unreasonable, or 
unnecessary are designated in the guideline as not 
recommended. 

15. Treatment of Pre-Existing Conditions The 
conditions that preexisted the work injury/disease will need 
to be managed under two circumstances:  

a. A pre-existing condition exacerbated by a work 
injury/disease should be treated until the patient has returned 
to their objectively verified prior level of functioning or 
Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI); and  

b. A pre-existing condition not directly caused by a 
work injury/disease but which may prevent recovery from 
that injury should be treated until its objectively verified 
negative impact has been controlled. The focus of treatment 
should remain on the work injury/disease. 

B. The remainder of this document should be interpreted 
within the parameters of these guideline principles that may 
lead to more optimal medical and functional outcomes for 
injured workers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1750 (June 2011), amended by the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission, Office of Workers 
Compensation, LR 40:1159 (June 2014), LR 47: 
§2223. Follow-up Diagnostic Imaging and Testing 

Procedures 
A. - E. …  
F.  Personality/psychological/psychiatric/psychosocial 

evaluations are generally accepted and well-established 
diagnostic procedures with selective use in the acute TOS 
population and more widespread use in the sub-acute and 
chronic TOS population.  

1. - 3. … 
4. The evaluation will determine the need for further 

psychosocial interventions, and in those cases, a Diagnostic 
Statistical Manual (DSM) of Mental Disorders diagnosis 
should be determined and documented. An individual with a 
PhD, PsyD, or Psychiatric MD/DO credentials should 
perform initial evaluations, which are generally completed 
within one to two hours. A professional fluent in the primary 
language of the patient is strongly preferred. When such a 
provider is not available, services of a professional language 
interpreter must be provided. When issues of chronic pain 
are identified, the evaluation should be more extensive and 
follow testing procedures as outlined in the OWCA’s 
Chronic Pain Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

a. Frequency—one time visit for evaluation. If 
psychometric testing is indicated as a portion of the initial 
evaluation, time for such testing shall be allotted at least, six 
hours of professional time or whatever is deemed 
appropriate by the health care professional. 

G. - G.5.a. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1203.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 

Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37:1753 (June 2011), amended LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
This amendment to Title 40 should have no impact on 

families. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This amendment to Title 40 should have no impact on 
poverty or family income. 
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Provider Impact Statement 
1. This Rule should have no impact on the staffing 

level of the Office of Workers’ Compensation as adequate 
staff already exists to handle the procedural changes. 

2. This Rule should create no additional cost to 
providers or payers. 

3. This Rule should have no impact on ability of the 
provider to provide the same level of service that it currently 
provides. 

Small Business Statement 
This amendment to Title 40 should have no direct impact 

on small or local businesses. 
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments or hearing request on the proposed Rule. Such 
comments or request should be sent to Sheral Kellar, OWC-
Administration, 1001 North 23rd Street, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802. Such comments should be received by 5 pm on 
September 10, 2021. 

 
Ava Cates 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medical Treatment Guidelines 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will have no fiscal impact on state or 

local governmental units, other than the publication fees 
associated with the proposed rule change.   

LA R.S. 23:1203.1 requires the Office of Workers’ 
Compensation Administration (OWCA) assistant secretary, 
with the assistance of the medical advisory council, to review 
and update the medical treatment schedule a minimum of once 
every two years.  In accordance with LA R.S. 23:1203.1, the 
proposed rule amends the medical guidelines for Neurological 
and Neuromuscular Disorder as contained in Title 40, Labor 
and Employment, Part I, Workers’ Compensation 
Administration, Subpart 2, Medical Guidelines, Chapter 22.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule change will have no 
effect on revenue collections of state or local governmental 
units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rules update the medical guidelines for the 
treatment of injured workers. It is not anticipated that the 
proposed rules will result in a direct economic benefit. 
However, it is anticipated that the proposed rules will provide 
an indirect benefit to injured workers, employers, and insurers, 
by providing better medical treatment to injured workers; thus, 
facilitating their recovery and return to work. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change has no known effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Sheral Kellar Alan M. Boxberger 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
2108#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program 
(LAC 76:VII.367) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 56:332(N), that the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission proposes to amend LAC 
76:VII.367 to temporarily close a portion of state inside 
waters to the use of crab traps in order to facilitate the 
removal of abandoned crab traps in these waters. 

These abandoned crab traps can cause navigational 
hazards, user-group conflicts, and cause stress on the state 
blue crab stock by continuing to fish after being abandoned 
or displaced. Traps are often displaced or abandoned due to 
storm and tidal movements, theft, captured in another 
fisherman’s gear, or from having the floats cut by propellers. 
The removal of these traps is necessary to keep Louisiana’s 
coast pristine and to facilitate improvement in the blue crab 
stock. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
provisions in LAC 76:VII.367 governing the locations of 
temporary crab trap closures to address problems in portions 
of state waters resulting from large numbers of abandoned 
and derelict crab traps (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 1; Volume 31, Number 1; Volume 32, Number 2; 
Volume 33, Number 1; Volume 34, Number 1; Volume 36; 
Number 1; Volume 38, Number 1; Volume 38, Number 12; 
Volume 40, Number 1; Volume 41, Number 1; Volume 42, 
Number 1; Volume 42, Number 12; Volume 44, Number 1; 
Volume 45, Number 2; Volume 45, Number 12; Volume 46, 
Number 11). The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission took 
action on August 5, 2021 to describe a new portion of state 
waters to be temporarily closed to the use of crab traps for 
the purpose of conducting a crab trap cleanup. 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of 
intent and final rule, including but not limited to, the filing 
of the Fiscal and Economic Impact statement, the filing of 
the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the preparation of 
reports and correspondence to other agencies of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§367. Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program 

A. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12:00 a.m. February 1, 2022 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 14, 2022 within portions of Terrebonne Parish as 
described below: 

1. from a point originating at the intersection of the 
eastern shoreline of Bayou Dularge and the southern 
shoreline of Falgout Canal (29 degrees 24 minutes 42.57 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 46 minutes 59.40 seconds 
west longitude); thence westerly along the southern 
shoreline of Falgout Canal to its intersection with Lake de
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Cade (29 degrees 24 minutes 51.57 seconds north latitude, 
90 degrees 49 minutes 55.05 seconds west longitude); thence 
southwesterly along the eastern and southern shorelines of 
Lake de Cade to the northern shoreline of Bayou de Cade; 
thence southwesterly along the northern shoreline of Bayou 
de Cade to its intersection with Lost Lake; thence westerly 
and southerly along the northern and western shorelines of 
Lost Lake to its intersection with the western shoreline of 
Rice Bayou; thence southerly along the western shoreline of 
Rice Bayou to its intersection with Blue Hammock Bayou 
(29 degrees 18 minutes 19.26 seconds north latitude, 91 
degrees 05 minutes 05.33 seconds west longitude); thence 
westerly along the northern shore of Blue Hammock Bayou 
to Four League Bay (29 degrees 17 minutes 43.49 seconds 
north latitude, 91 degrees 07 minutes 26.81 seconds west 
longitude); thence southerly along the eastern shoreline of 
Four League Bay to the mouth of Oyster Bayou; thence 
southerly along the eastern shoreline of Oyster Bayou to a 
point along the inside-outside shrimp line as defined in LAC 
76:VII.370 (29 degrees 13 minutes 17.52 seconds north 
latitude, 91 degrees 07 minutes 45.76 seconds west 
longitude); thence easterly along the inside-outside shrimp 
line to the eastern shoreline of Bayou Grand Caillou; thence 
northerly along the eastern shoreline of Bayou Grand 
Caillou to its intersection with the southern shoreline of the 
Tennessee Gas Pipeline (29 degrees 14 minutes 56.52 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 48 minutes 17.97 seconds 
west longitude); thence northwesterly across Bayou Grand 
Caillou to the western shoreline of Bayou Grand Caillou (29 
degrees 15 minutes 4.23 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 
48 minutes 27.57 seconds west longitude); thence northerly 
to the northern shoreline of the Tennessee Gas Pipeline 
Canal (29 degrees 15 minutes 5.55 seconds north latitude, 90 
degrees 48 minutes 26.46 seconds west longitude); thence 
northwesterly along the northern shoreline of the Tennessee 
Gas Pipeline Canal to the eastern shore of Bayou Dularge 
(29 degrees 17 minutes 48.98 seconds north latitude, 90 
degrees 52 minutes 23.57 seconds west longitude); thence 
northerly along the eastern shoreline of Bayou Dularge and 
terminating at its origin. 

B. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12:00 a.m. February 1, 2022 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 14, 2022 within portions of Iberia, St. Mary, and 
Vermilion Parishes as described below: 

1. originating from a point on the northern shoreline 
of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway where it intersects the 
Acadiana Navigational Channel (29 degrees 50 minutes 
37.17 seconds north latitude, 91 degrees 50 minutes 32.40 
seconds west longitude); thence to a point on the southern 
shoreline of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (29 degrees 50 
minutes 28.22 seconds north latitude, 91 degrees 50 minutes 
35.30 seconds west longitude); thence southwesterly along 
the Acadiana Navigational Channel red buoy line to the red 
navigational marker number 12 on the Marsh Island 
shoreline near Southwest Pass (29 degrees 36 minutes 10.81 
seconds north latitude, 92 degrees 00 minutes 17.16 seconds 
west longitude); thence easterly along the northern shoreline 
of Marsh Island to 29 degrees 33 minutes 51.30 seconds 
north latitude, 91 degrees 43 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude; thence north along 91 degrees 43 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude to the northern shoreline of West 
Cote Blanche Bay (29 degrees 44 minutes 21.17 seconds 

north latitude, 91 degrees 43 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude); thence westerly along the northern shoreline of 
West Cote Blanche Bay to its intersection with the Ivanhoe 
Canal (29 degrees 45 minutes 03.58 seconds north latitude, 
91 degrees 44 minutes 15.16 seconds west longitude); thence 
northerly along the eastern shoreline of the Ivanhoe Canal to 
its intersection with the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (29 
degrees 45 minutes 45.92 seconds north latitude, 91 degrees 
44 minutes 20.76 seconds west longitude); thence north to 
the northern shoreline of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (29 
degrees 45 minutes 52.14 seconds north latitude, 91 degrees 
44 minutes 23.78 seconds west longitude); thence westerly 
along the northern shoreline of the Gulf Intracoastal 
Waterway and terminating at the origin.  

C. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12:00 a.m. February 7, 2022 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 20, 2022 within portions of Jefferson, Lafourche, 
and Plaquemines Parishes as described below: 

1. from a point originating at the intersection of the 
Gulf Intracoastal Waterway and the northern shore of Hero 
Canal (29 degrees 48 minutes 12.73 seconds north latitude, 
90 degrees 04 minutes 09.21 seconds west longitude); thence 
westerly to a point along the western shore of the Gulf 
Intracoastal Waterway at 29 degrees 48 minutes 15.14 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 04 minutes 18.67 seconds 
west longitude; thence southerly along the western shore of 
the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway to a point opposite the 
western shore of Bayou Perot (29 degrees 40 minutes 56.67 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 11 minutes 36.79 seconds 
west longitude); thence easterly to a point on the western 
shore of Bayou Perot at 29 degrees 40 minutes 50.66 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 11 minutes 25.48 seconds 
west longitude; thence southerly along the western shore of 
Bayou Perot and Little Lake to Bay L’Ours; thence westerly 
and southerly around the shoreline of Bay L’Ours to Brusle 
Lake; thence southerly and easterly following the shoreline 
of Brusle Lake to a point on the southern shoreline of Bayou 
De Chene at 29 degrees 29 minutes 14.83 seconds north 
latitude, 90 degrees 12 minutes 02.02 seconds west 
longitude; thence easterly along the southern shoreline of 
Bayou De Chene to Round Lake (29 degrees 29 minutes 
10.15 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 11 minutes 38.40 
seconds west longitude); thence southerly and easterly along 
the shoreline of Round Lake to a point on the western 
shoreline of East Fork Bayou L’Ours (29 degrees 28 minutes 
52.30 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 09 minutes 32.60 
seconds west longitude); thence southerly along the western 
shoreline of East Fork Bayou L’Ours to a point at 29 degrees 
27 minutes 35.00 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 08 
minutes 48.23 seconds west longitude; thence eastward 
along 29 degrees 27 minutes 35.00 seconds north latitude to 
the eastern shore of Wilkinson Canal (29 degrees 27 minutes 
35.00 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 57 minutes 04.11 
seconds west longitude); thence northerly along the eastern 
shore of Wilkinson Canal to its termination; thence northerly 
to the western shore of the Mississippi River at 29 degrees 
38 minutes 24.94 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 57 
minutes 01.21 seconds west longitude; thence northerly 
along the western shore of the Mississippi River to a point 
easterly of the northern shoreline of Hero Canal (29 degrees 
47 minutes 09.60 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 01 
minutes 17.77 seconds west longitude); thence westerly to 
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the northern shore of Hero Canal; thence westerly along the 
northern shore of Hero Canal and terminating at the origin.  

D. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 6-day 
period from 12:00 a.m. February 18, 2022 through 11:59 
p.m. February 23, 2022 within portions of Cameron Parish 
as described below: 

1. from a point located where the north bound lane of 
Highway 27 intersects the northern shoreline of West Cove 
Canal at 29 degrees 52 minutes 00.52 seconds north latitude, 
93 degrees 27 minutes 13.66 seconds west longitude; thence 
southwesterly along the north bound lane of Highway 27 to 
its intersection with the southern shoreline of West Cove 
Canal (29 degrees 52 minutes 00.17 seconds north latitude, 
93 degrees 27 minutes 14.29 seconds west longitude); thence 
southeasterly along the southern shoreline of West Cove 
Canal to its intersection with the Calcasieu Lake – West 
Cove (henceforth known as West Cove) at 29 minutes 51 
degrees 44.10 seconds north latitude, 93 degrees 26 minutes 
36.26 seconds west longitude; thence southeasterly 
following the western and southern shorelines of West Cove 
to its intersection with the southern shoreline of the 
Calcasieu Pass West Fork (29 degrees 49 minutes 54.53 
seconds north latitude, 93 degrees 23 minutes 15.81 seconds 
west longitude); thence southerly and easterly along 
southern shoreline of the Calcasieu Pass West Fork to its 
intersection with the Calcasieu Lake Ship Channel (29 
degrees 49 minutes 13.82 seconds north latitude, 93 degrees 
21 minutes 01.03 seconds west longitude); thence northerly 
to a point on the northern shoreline of the Calcasieu Lake 
West Fork (29 degrees 49 minutes 27.26 seconds north 
latitude, 93 degrees 20 minutes 59.79 seconds west 
longitude); thence northwesterly along the northern 
shoreline of the Calcasieu Lake West Fork to its intersection 
with West Cove (29 degrees 49 minutes 45.45 seconds north 
latitude, 93 degrees 22 minutes 56.75 seconds west 
longitude); thence easterly along the southern shoreline of 
West Cove to the eastern shoreline of West Cove; thence 
northerly along the eastern shoreline of West Cove to the 
northern shoreline of West Cove; thence westerly and 
southerly along the northern and western shorelines of West 
Cove to its intersection with the northern shoreline of West 
Cove Canal (29 degrees 51 minutes 46.11 seconds north 
latitude, 93 degrees 26 minutes 35.43 seconds west 
longitude); thence northwesterly along the northern 
shoreline of West Cove Canal and terminating at the origin.  

E. All crab traps remaining in the closed area during the 
specified period shall be considered abandoned. Crab trap 
removal regulations do not provide authorization for access 
to private property; authorization to access private property 
can only be provided by individual landowners. Crab traps 
may be removed only between one-half hour before sunrise 
to one-half hour after sunset. Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries personnel or its designees are authorized to remove 
these abandoned crab traps within the closed area. All traps 
removed during a closed area are to be brought to the 
designated disposal area. The Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission authorizes the secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to designate disposal sites and 
determine the final disposition of crab traps removed from 
the closure areas, including but not limited to disposal, buy-
back, recycling, or returned to industry members 

participating in the retrieval of crab traps from within a 
closure area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:332(N). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
30:101 (January 2004), amended LR 31:108 (January 2005), LR 
32:266 (February 2006), LR 33:113 (January 2007), LR 34:97 
(January 2008), LR 36:77 (January, 2010), LR 38:146 (January 
2012), LR 38:3250 (December 2012), LR 40:96 (January 2014), 
LR 41:155 (January 2015), LR 42:70 (January 2016), amended by 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 42:2196 (December 
2016), LR 44:100 (January 2018), LR 45:78 (January 2019), 
repromulgated LR 45:282 (February 2019), amended LR 45:1815 
(December 2019), LR 46:1613 (November 2020), LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 
its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 
preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 
no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S.49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Small Business Analysis 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on small 

businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 through R.S. 
49:965.8. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative 

to the proposed Rule to Mr. Peyton Cagle, Marine Fisheries 
Biologist DCL-B, Marine Fisheries Section, 1213 N. 
Lakeshore Dr., Lake Charles, LA 70611, or via email to 
pcagle@wlf.la.gov prior to October 5, 2021. 

 
Jerri G. Smitko 
Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 

the LA Department of Wildlife & Fisheries (LDWF) or local 
governmental units as a result of the proposed rule change. The 
proposed rule change would prohibit the use of crab traps in 
portions of eight parishes at different periods in February 2022. 
The proposed rule would establish four area closures in 
February banning the local use of crab traps in parts of 
Terrebonne Parish (February 1 through February 14, 2022), 
portions of Iberia, St. Mary, and Vermilion parishes (February 
1 through February 14, 2022), portions of Lafourche and 
Plaquemines parishes (February 7 through February 20, 2022), 
and parts of Cameron Parish (February 18 through February 23, 
2022).  

The proposed rule change would also mandate the removal 
of crab traps from the designated areas by trap owners prior to
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the closures and authorizes LDWF or their designees, during 
the closure, to remove any crab traps within the closed area and 
transport them to designated disposal sites. LDWF will not 
incur additional costs in order to remove crab traps prior to 
these closures.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to have any 
impact on the revenues of the state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Crab fishermen who utilize the areas proposed for closure 
will experience lost fishing time during the designated period 
and encounter additional costs to temporarily remove their 
traps. These crab fishermen must either move their traps to 
open fishing areas or remove their traps from the water for the 
duration of the closure. Traps that are not removed from waters 
in the closed areas within the allotted time may be destroyed, 
potentially creating an additional cost to replace the traps for 
noncompliant fishermen. 

Local seafood dealers, processors and consumers may 
experience a slight decrease in the availability of fresh crabs 
during the closures, resulting in a slightly higher price for fresh 
crabs in the short term. However, the crab resource will not be 
lost or harmed in any way and will be available for harvest 
when the closed area is reopened. 

The removal of abandoned crab traps should provide 
improved fishing and reduced fishing costs for recreational 
saltwater fishermen, commercial fishermen and individuals 
who operate vessels within the designated areas by reducing 
encounters with abandoned traps that often result in lost fishing 
time and damage to the vessel’s lower unit or fishing gear. The 
removal of abandoned crab traps will reduce the mortality and 
injuries to crabs and by-catch that become ensnared and die in 
these traps, benefiting crab harvesters. 

The overall impact of the proposed area closure is 
anticipated to be minimal because the closure would occur 
during the time of the year with the lowest harvests and 
adjacent waters will remain open for crab fishermen to continue 
to fish.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be a negligible effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the rule change, waters adjacent to 
the closure area will remain open for crab harvest and 
fishermen who fish during this time period are expected to 
relocate their traps to these areas. 

 
Byran McClinton Alan M. Boxberger 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
2108#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Bureau of Family Health 

MCH Block Grant 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) intends to 
apply for Title V Maternal and Child (MCH) Block Grant 
Federal Funding for FFY 2022 in accordance with Public 
Law 97-35 and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 
1981. The Office of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health 
is responsible for program administration of the grant. 

The MCH Block Grant Application includes a five-year 
State Action Plan (FFY 2021-2025) that outlines the goals 
and planned activities to advance maternal and child health 
and systems of care for children and youth with special 
health care needs. Title V priorities are based on the results 
of a statewide needs assessment that was conducted during 
2019-2020. The Title V State Action Plan will be reviewed 
and updated annually based on ongoing needs assessments 
and other relevant population and performance data. 

Additional information may be gathered by contacting Liz 
Keenan at (504) 568-3521 or elizabeth.keenan@la.gov. 

 
Kimberly L. Hood, JD, MPH 
Assistant Secretary, OPH 

2108#010 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number

Coastal States-
Columbia Gas DV 

Tigre 
Lagoon L 

Plan 8 sua; 
E Delcambre 004 130090 

F. E. Hargraves & 
Sons DRL. Co. 

Inc. 

Caddo 
Pine 

Island S Leibman 021 46617 

Operator Field District Well Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number

F. E. Hargraves 
& Sons DRL. 

Co. Inc. 

Caddo 
Pine 

Island S Muslow A 003 174711 

N & M Energy 
Resources  
Co., Inc. Standard M Bruton 001 143120 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner  

2108#012 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Oil Spill Coordinator's Office 

Notice of Settlement Agreement—Mooringsport Oil Spill 

Action: Notice of Availability of a Settlement Agreement 
for Natural Resource Damages—LOSCO NRDA case file # 
LA2014_1013_1210 [Mooringsport]. The Settlement 
Agreement for Natural Resource Damages is available for 
public review and comment for 30 days. 

Agencies: Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office, Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections (LOSCO); Coastal Protection 
and Restoration Authority; Department of Environmental 
Quality; Department of Natural Resources; and Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries (collectively, the “Trustees”).  

Authorities: The Oil Pollution Act of 1990 (OPA), 33 
U.S.C. § 2701 et seq., and the Louisiana Oil Spill Prevention 
and Response Act of 1991 (OSPRA), R.S. 30:2451 et seq., 
are the principal federal and state statutes, respectively, 
authorizing designated federal and state agencies and tribal 
officials to act as natural resource trustees for the recovery of 
damages for injuries to trust resources and services resulting 
from an oil spill. OPA implementing regulations may be 
found at 15 C.F.R. Part 990 and OSPRA regulations at LAC 
43:XXIX.  

By letter dated March 27, 2017, and pursuant to 33 U.S.C. 
§2706(b)(3), the Governor of Louisiana designated the 
Trustees to act on behalf of the public under OPA. These 
same agencies serve as State Trustees under OSPRA 
according to R.S. 30:2451, et seq. and LAC 43:XXIX, 
Chapter 1, Section 101, et seq. Sunoco Pipeline L.P. 
(“Sunoco”), as the operator of the pipeline that discharged 
oil, and Mid-Valley Pipeline Company (“Mid-Valley), as the 
owner of the pipeline that discharged oil, are liable 
according to 33 U.S.C. § 2702 and R.S. 30:2480 for natural 
resource damages resulting from the incident. 
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Summary of Incident: On October 13, 2014, the Trustees 
were notified of an unauthorized discharge of crude oil from 
the Mid-Valley Pipeline near Mooringsport, Louisiana in 
Caddo Parish (hereinafter the “Incident”). Approximately 
4,500 barrels of crude oil were released and ultimately 
traveled into the Miller Branch Creek, Tete Bayou, and 
connecting waterways and wetlands. Sunoco, on behalf itself 
and Mid-Valley, and its oil spill response contractor(s) 
timely initiated, conducted, and participated in response 
actions that continued for several months to contain and 
remove the discharged crude oil. Natural resources within 
the area that provide services to the public were adversely 
impacted by the discharged oil and response actions, 
including wildlife, forest habitat, bayhead swamp, and 
aquatic/bayou habitat.  

On August 20, 2017, the Trustees issued a Notice of Intent 
to Conduct Restoration Planning for this Incident. L.R. 
43:1695 (August 2017). The Trustees and Sunoco, on behalf 
of itself and Mid-Valley, worked cooperatively to evaluate 
and quantify the nature and extent of injures to natural 
resources and services, and to determine the need for, type 
of, and scale of appropriate restoration actions.  

Purpose: Pursuant to LAC 43:XXIX, notice is hereby 
given that a document entitled, “Settlement Agreement for 
Mooringsport Oil Spill” is available for public review and 
comment. Sunoco, Mid-Valley and the Trustees propose to 
expedite restoration for this Incident and to resolve the 
liability of Sunoco and Mid-Valley for natural resource 
damages under Section 1002(a) and (b) of OPA, 33 U.S.C. § 
2702(a) and (b), and Section 2480 of OSPRA, R.S. 30:2480. 
The mutual objectives of the parties in entering into the 
proposed Settlement Agreement are: (i) to provide funding to 
the Trustees to restore, replace, or acquire the equivalent of 
the natural resources injured, destroyed, or lost as a result of 
the Incident; (ii) to provide payment to the Trustees to 
reimburse the remaining unpaid natural resource damage 
assessment costs incurred by the Trustees; and (iii) to resolve 
the Trustees’ claims against Sunoco and Mid-Valley for 
natural resource damages under OPA and OSPRA as provided 
herein.  

The Settlement Agreement is available to the public for a 
30-day comment period, which will begin on the date of this 
public notice announcing availability of the document for 
public review. The Trustees invite the public to review the 
Settlement Agreement and submit comments to the address 
listed below. The Trustees will consider comments received 
during the public comment period on the Settlement 

Agreement before finalizing the document. The Trustees are 
in the process of identifying and evaluating potential 
restoration projects that will appropriately address injuries to 
natural resources resulting from the Incident. 

Public Participation: Interested members of the public 
are invited to view the Settlement Agreement at 
http://www.losco.state.la.us (look under Newsflash/current 
news for Mooringsport Oil Spill Settlement Agreement 
Available For Public Comment) or by requesting a copy of 
the document from Gina Muhs Saizan at the following 
address: 

Gina Muhs Saizan 
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
P.O. Box 66614 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-6606 
losco@la.gov 

Public participation is encouraged. The Trustees have 
opened an Administrative Record (AR) pursuant to 15 
C.F.R. §990.45 and LAC 43:XXIX.127 to document the 
basis for the Trustees’ decisions pertaining to injury 
assessment and selection of restoration alternatives. The AR 
can be found at https://data.losco.org under “Search 
Administrative Records”. Additional opportunities for input 
will include public review and comment on draft restoration 
planning documents that will identify the Trustees’ preferred 
restoration project(s) for this Incident. A restoration plan(s) 
will be finalized and released to the public identifying the 
selected restoration project(s) to be implemented by the 
Trustees. Public participation is consistent with state and 
federal laws and regulations, including Section 1006 of 
OPA, 33 U.S.C. § 2706; the OPA regulations, 15 C.F.R. Part 
990; Section 2480 of OSPRA, R.S. 30:2480; and the OSPRA 
regulations, LAC 43:XXIX. 

Comment Submittals: Comments to the Settlement 
Agreement must be submitted in writing or digitally to Gina 
Muhs Saizan on or before the end of the 30-day comment 
period. 

For Further Information: Contact Gina Muhs Saizan at 
(225) 925-6606 or by email at Gina.Saizan@la.gov.  

 
Samuel E. Jones 
Oil Spill Coordinator 

2108#038 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 47, Number 8) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2020-December 2020, 200QU,  
January 2021-March 2021, 539QU 
January 2021-June 2021, 1067QU 

 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

Annual quarantine listing, 540P 
Certifications, 437R, 717R 
Examinations, 437R, 717R 
Fees, 437R 
Licensing, 437R, 717R 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 
Industrial hemp, 438R 

Horticulture Commission 
Minimum examination performance levels required, 
503N 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Structural pest control, 504N, 1100R 

Agriculture Finance Authority 
Louisiana Agricultural Workforce Development 
Program, 499N, 850R 

Agro-Consumer Services, Office of 
Division of Weights and Measures 
Annual fee for registration of mass flow meters, 501N, 
852R 

Commercial weighing and measuring, 562R 
Fuel price advertising, 562R 
Indian Creek campsite fees, 229R, 1101R 
Meat labeling, 562R 
Suspension of standard fuel specifications for gasoline 
and gasoline-oxygenate blends, 703ER, 703ER, 704ER 

Weights and Measures, Division of 
Truth in labeling of food products, 348R 

Forestry, Office of 
Electronic transfer/driver cards, 276N, 375N, 563R 
Forestry Productivity Program, 277N, 564R 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
Board nominations, 1068P 
Continuing veterinary education, 841ER, 1068P, 
Examination dates, 1068P 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Child Welfare, Division of 

Extended foster care services, 4ER, 36R 
Louisiana’s 2021 Annual Progress and Services Report, 

413P 
Social Services Block Grant Intended Use Report, 413P 

Child Protective Services 
Maintenance and disclosure of information on reports, 

608N, 1101R 
Investigations on the state repository, 608N 

Economic Stability Section 
Caseload reduction, 203P 
Expungement of unused benefits, 609N, 1102R 
Jobs for America's Graduates Louisiana (JAGS-LA) 

Program, 210ER, 350R 
TANF NRST benefits and Post-FITAP transitional 

assistance, 1079ER 
Vulnerable communities and peoples initiative, 36R 

Family Support, Division of 
Caseload reduction, 123P 

Licensing Section 
Child placing provisions, 350R, 441R, 1081ER 
Residential homes (Type IV), 1081ER 
Sanctions, 1081ER 
Suspension of license renewal fees, 229R 

 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Ethics, Board of 

Food and drink limit, 504N, 852R 
Third party ethics training, 376N, 718R 

 
 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
Cultural Development, Office of 
State commercial tax credit program credit  

reservation process, 610N, 1103R 
 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 
Public hearing 
Enterprise Zone Program, 414P, 852R 

Secretary, Office of the 
Angel Investor Tax Credit Program, 37R, 613N, 1105R 

 
 

2021 
Pages    Issue 
1-206 ..................................................... January 
207-329 ................................................. February 
330-427 ................................................. March 
428-552 ................................................. April 
553-701 ................................................. May 
702-835 ................................................. June 
836-1077 ............................................... July 
1078-1208 ............................................. August 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 87N, 444R, 565R 

Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 279N, 565R, 721R 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Fiscal responsibilities, 940N 
School renewals and virtual charter school 
attendance, 284N, 569R 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 354R 

Bulletin 131—Alternative Education Schools/Programs 
Standards, 355R 

Bulletin 135—Health and Safety, 94N, 450R 
Bulletin 137Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 748N 

Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care and Development 
Fund Programs, 4ER, 210ER, 573R 
CCAP household eligibility, 96N, 288N, 452R, 574R, 
754N 

Bulletin 140Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network, 5ER, 98N, 452R, 556ER, 761N 

Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 5ER, 99N, 453R, 
506N, 574R, 839ER, 858R, 941N 

Bulletin 1566―Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures, 944N 

Bulletin 1903—Regulations and Guidelines for 
Implementation of the Louisiana Law for the  
Education of Dyslexic Students, 291N, 722R 

High school assessment requirements, 428ER, 508N, 
859R 

Minimum reopening standards, 705ER, 763N 
Phase 3 minimum requirements pertaining to reopening 
school facilities, 101N, 431ER, 453R 

Physical distance between students in classrooms, 
430ER 

School food service, 945N 
Regents, Board of 
Academic program standards, 616N 
Student level data collection and reporting, 616N 
Proprietary Schools Section 
Affidavits and Bonds, 619N 
General provisions, 619N  
License requirements, 619N 
Proprietary schools applications, 619N 
Student complaint procedure, 619N 
Student records, 619N 
Violations, 619N 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Extension of the ACT testing deadline, 6ER 
Scholarship/Grant Programs 

2020 natural disasters, 103N, 221ER, 863R 
2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 

38R 
2021-2022 Chafee ETV Award amount, 767N 
Chafee Educational and Training Voucher grade 

reporting, 331ER, 380N, 861R 
COVID-19 exceptions, 331ER, 380N, 861R 

Dual enrollment calculus, 331ER, 380N, 861R 
TOPS 5.0 grading scale 
AP Psychology, 38R 

Waivers of certain TOPS initial eligibility for students 
affected by natural disasters in 2020, 383N, 868R 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program, 

295N, 575R 
START Saving Program, 42R, 768N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 
2020 annual incorporation by reference of certain 
federal air quality regulations, 355R 

Brownfields Cleanup Revolving Loan Fund Program, 
511N, 873R 

Lead-Based paint activities 
Accreditation, 513N, 874R 
Recognition, 513N, 874R 
Licensure, 513N, 874R 
Standards for conducting lead-based paint activities, 
446N, 874R 

Medical use of byproduct material, 1150N 
Public hearing and request for comments 
Triennial review of Louisiana water quality standards, 

420P 
Regional Haze 5-Year Report  
State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision, 203P, 542P 

Regulation and licensing of naturally occurring 
radioactive material (NORM), 1166N 

Requirements for credits, 514N, 875R 
Water pollution control, 516N, 876R 
Water Quality Management Plan 
Updates 

Volume 4: Basin and Subsegment Boundaries, 421P 
Appendix A: Subsegment Descriptions by Basin, 

421P 
 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 20-22 Atchafalaya River Basin Restoration and 

Enhancement, 1EO 
JBE 20-23 Flags at Half-Staff—Dr. Adam John Tassin, Jr, 

2EO 
JBE 20-24 Flags at Half-Staff—Victor and Terry Stelly, 

2EO 
JBE 20-25 Flags at Half-Staff—Luke Letlow, 3EO 
JBE 21-01 Flags at Half-Staff—Percy Joseph “P.J.” Mills, 

Jr., 207EO 
JBE 21-02 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2020, 207EO 
JBE 21-03 Amending Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 

2020, 208EO 
JBE 21-04 Flags at Half-Staff—Stephen Frank “Steve” 

Carter, 209EO 
JBE 21-05 Flags at Half-Staff—Michael Hanley O’Keefe, 

330EO 
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS (continued) 
JBE 21-06 Flags at Half-Staff—Dr. Virgil Orr, 553EO 
JBE 21-07 Governor’s Task Force on Murdered and 

Missing Indigenous Women and Girls, 553EO 
JBE 21-08 Flags at Half-Staff—Former Governor Charles 

Elson “Buddy” Roemer, III, 703EO 
JBE 21-09 Flags at Half-Staff—Former Lt. Governor  

James E. “Jimmy” Fitzmorris, Jr., 836EO 
JBE 21-10 Bond Allocation 2021 Ceiling, 836EO 
JBE 21-11 Flags at Half-Staff—Former Governor  

Edwin Washington Edwards, 837EO 
 
 
 

GOVERNOR  
Administration, Division of 

Broadband Development and Connectivity, Office of 
Granting Unserved Municipalities Broadband 
Opportunities (GUMBO), 1082ER 

Racing Commission 
Colors, 1176N 
Declaring a horse ineligible to be claimed at time of 
entry, 1177N 

Permitted medications in quarter horses, 1178N 
Pick N procedure, 630N 
Protective helmets and safety vests, 1178N 

State Procurement, Office of 
PPM 49General Travel Regulations, 814PPM, 

1052PPM 
PPM 56—Delegated Procurement Authority; 

Standard and Special Delegations, 198PPM 
Procurement, 110N, 324P, 578R, 725R 

State Uniform Payroll, Office of 
Temporary extension of time period to meet minimum 

participation level 
Certain approved statewide vendors, 840ER 

Tax Commission 
Ad Valorem taxation, 12ER, 122N, 456R 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 
Adoption and amendment of rules, 1171N 
Declaratory orders and rulings, 1172N 
Members of the military and spouses and dependents of 
members of the military, 1173N 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
Boxing and wrestling standards, 109N, 456R 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill  
Phase II Restoration Plan, 323P 

Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration 
of Criminal Justice 
Peace officer training, 949N 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
Compensation to victims, 364R 

Indian Affairs, Office of 
American Indian Scholarship, 472R 

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on 
Peace officer training, 394N 

Licensing Board for Contractors 
Licensure and exemption of exam for individuals with 

military training and experience, 364R 
Military spouses and dependents, 364R 

New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for 
the Mississippi River, Board of Examiners for 
Examinations, 335ER 
General provisions, 333ER 
Qualifications, 333ER 
Standards of conduct, 12ER, 333ER, 557ER 

Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Notice of Draft Restoration Plan 

Lake Washington 2003 Oil Spill, 421P 
Pardons, Board of 

General provisions, 358R, 455R 
Inactive parole supervision, 627N, 1107R 
Meeting and hearing for the Board of Parole, 627N, 

1107R 
Notification and request for reconsideration of decision, 

947N 
River Port Pilot Commissioners for the Port of New 

Orleans, Board of  
River port pilots, 388N, 877R 

Used Motor Vehicle Commission 
Used motor vehicles, 230R 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR’S REPORTS 
Governor’s review and determination for an Emergency 

Rule adopted by the Board of Examiners for New 
Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for the 
Mississippi River, 690GR 

 
 

HEALTH  
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Community Choices Waiver, 522N, 885R, 1095ER 
Cost reporting requirements, 631N, 1112R 
Support coordination standards for participation, 524N, 
886R 

Personal care services 
Long term care, 304N, 1095ER 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health 
emergency, 213ER, 341ER, 433ER, 711ER, 842ER, 
1095ER 

Behavioral Health, Office of 
Programs and services amendments due to the 

Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health 
emergency, 213ER, 711ER 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 
Act 421 children’s Medicaid option, 43R 
Council on the Purchase of Goods and Services of 

Individuals with Disabilities, 371R 
Home and community-based services waivers, 1095ER 
Cost reporting requirements, 631N, 1112R 
Residential Options Waiver, 986N 

Personal care services 
Long term care, 1095ER 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health 
emergency, 341ER, 433ER, 842ER, 1095ER 

Targeted case management, 646N, 1124R 
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HEALTH (Continued) 
Counselors, Licensed Professional, Board of 

Examiners 
Consulting, 306N 
License renewal, 557ER 
Teletherapy, 558ER 

Dentistry, Board of 
CDC Inspection violation expungement, 42R  
Continuing education requirements, 950N 
Nitrous Oxide Analgesia, 42R 
Teledentistry 

Authorized duties, 236R 
Emergency Medical Services, Bureau of 

Emergency medical services professionals, 1012N 
Emergency Medical Services Certification Commission 

Emergency medical services professionals, 1012N 
Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

2021 fourth quarter hospital stabilization assessment, 
829P 

2021 third quarter hospital stabilization assessment, 
422P 

Abortion facilities 
Licensing standards, 338ER, 708ER 

Act 421 children’s Medicaid option, 43R 
Adult residential care providers 

Licensing standards, 951N 
Case management 
Licensing standards, 763N 

Dental Benefits Prepaid Ambulatory Health Plan 
Payment methodology, 369R 

Emergency telemedicine, 212ER, 710ER 
Facility need review 
Relocation of nursing facility beds, 143N 

Federally qualified health centers, 46R 
Free-standing birth centers 
Licensing standards, 969N 

Home and community-based services providers  
Licensing standards, 47R 

Home and community-based services waivers, 1095ER 
Community Choices Waiver, 522N, 885R 
Cost reporting requirements, 631N, 1112R 
Support coordination standards for participation, 524N, 
886R 

Residential Options Waiver, 986N 
Home Health Program 

Durable medical equipment, 644N, 1123R 
Hospice 

Licensing standards, 771N 
Intermediate care facilities for persons with 

developmental disabilities, 773N 
Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 

disabilities 
Reimbursement methodology, 370R 
Direct care floor recoupment, 645N, 1124R 

Temporary reimbursement for private facilities, 
212ER, 302N, 341ER, 593R 

Laboratory and radiology services, 250R 
Reimbursement methodology, 1179N 

Licensing standards 
Crisis receiving centers, 138N, 472R 

Medicaid eligibility 
Twelve-Month continuous eligibility, 396N, 737R 

Medical Transportation Program, 1181N 

Non-emergency medical transportation, 371R 
Nursing facilities 

Licensing standards, 775N 
Non-Emergency transportation for medical 

appointments, 371R 
Supplemental payments 
Non-State governmental organizations, 144N, 476R 

Personal care services 
Long term care, 304N, 593R, 1095ER 

Professional Services Program, 48R 
Immunizations, 49R 
Reimbursement methodology, 146N, 477R 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) public health 
emergency, 213ER, 215ER, 341ER, 433ER, 711ER, 
713ER, 842ER, 1095ER 

Public Hearing 
Substantive changes to proposed Rule Facility Need 
Review—Relocation of Nursing Facility Beds, 691P 

Reimbursement for Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-
19) laboratory testing, 778N 

Reimbursement to federally qualified health centers and 
rural health clinics for Coronavirus Disease 2019 
(COVID-19) vaccine administration, 1008N 

Reimbursement for vaccine administration during a 
declared public health emergency, 28ER, 434ER, 
459N, 526N, 887R 

Rural health clinics, 50R 
School-Based health services, 398N, 738R 
Targeted case management, 646N, 1124R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
Consulting with medical practitioners, 888R 
Notice of change, 1010N 
Tele-supervision, 1011N 
Teletherapy guidelines for licensees, 714ER, 714ER 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Assessment of costs and fines, 726R 
Complaints and investigations, 735R, 736R, 883R 
Continuing medical education, 727R 
Licensure 
Application, 729R 
Certification, 730R, 731R 

Rules of procedure, 735R, 883R 
Nursing, Board of 
Advanced practice registered nurses, 123N, 300N, 

336ER 
Continuing education, 333ER 
Temporary permits, 211ER 
Delegation of medication administration, 211ER 

Optometry Examiners, Board of 
2020-2021 continuing education, 337ER 
License to practice optometry 
Fees, 237R 
Licensure by endorsement, 237R 

Petitions for rulemaking, 734R 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Automated medication systems, 240R 
Controlled dangerous substance license for hemp facility, 

126N 
Labeling and delivery of marijuana products, 128N, 

590R 
Licensing for military families, 244R 
Marijuana recommendations, 246R 
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HEALTH (Continued) 
Pharmacists, pharmacies and prescriptions, 130N 
Pharmacy benefit managers, 590R 
Prescription Monitoring Program, 84R, 247R 
State of emergency, 136N, 592R 
Temporary suspension of license renewal fees, 338ER 
Transfer of marijuana recommendations, 521N, 1111R 

Physical Therapy Board 
Licensing and certification, 654N, 1131R 

Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 
Fees, 299N, 1111R 

Public Health, Office of 
Automated external defibrillators, 402N, 742R 
Emergency medical services professionals, 1012N 
Mandatory tuberculosis (TB) testing, 405N, 743R 
Registration of foods, drugs, cosmetics and prophylactic 

devices, 148N, 478R 
Sanitary Code  
Disease reporting requirements, 51R 

Family Health, Bureau of 
MCH Block Grant, 1201P 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Emergency Rule 46—Medical Surge-Related Patient 
Transfers in Louisiana during the Outbreak of 
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), 1096ER 

Regulation 17—Reinstatement of Policies, 780N 
Regulation 29—Correlated Sales of Life Insurance and 
Equity Products, 528N 

Regulation 39—Statement of Actuarial Opinion, 52R 
Regulation 42—Group Self-Insurance Funds, 52R 
Regulation 56—Credit for Reinsurance, 781N 
Regulation 65—Bail Bond Licensing 

Requirements/Bounty Hunter, 796N 
Regulation 87—Louisiana Citizens Property Insurance 

Corporation—Producer Binding Requirements, 
1022N 

Regulation 109—Producer, Adjuster and Related 
Licenses, 408N, 745R 

Regulation 112—Adoption of NAIC Handbooks, 
Guidelines, Forms, and Instructions, 530N 

Regulation 115—Title Insurance Record Retention, 
799N 

Regulation 117—Submission of Contact Information for 
Risk-Bearing Entities, 1183N 

Regulation 118—Requirements in the Event of a 
Declared Emergency, 1025N 

Rule 7—Legal Expense Insurers, 1031N 
Rule 9—Prelicensing Education, 307N, 594R 
Rule 10—Continuing Education, 313N, 599R 
Rule 12—Transmission of Forms and Documents, 801N 
Rule 14—Records Management; General, 410N, 736R 

Life and Annuity Insurance, Office of Health 
Annual HIPAA assessment rate, 829N 

 
 
 

LOUISIANA LOTTERY CORPORATION 
On-Line and instant lottery games, 366R 

 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Coastal Management, Office of 

Local coastal management programs, 151N 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Fiscal Year 2022 Draft Annual Plan2, 203P 
Conservation, Office of 

Class VI injection wells, 53R 
Commercial deep well injection waste disposal facility, 

542P 
Fire hazards, 1033N 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 325P, 542P, 691P, 829P, 1069P, 
1201P 

Pipeline safety, 663N, 1140R 
Water well registration, 1186N 

 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 
Access to and release of active and inactive offender 
records, 532N, 888R 

Restoration of good time, 535N, 890R 
Gaming Control Board 
Fantasy sports contest, 255R 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 
Class I-E permit, 29ER, 216ER, 480R 

Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Draft Damage Assessment and Restoration Plan and 
Environmental Assessment for 2008 Mississippi River 
Oil Spill, 694P 

Notice of Restoration Plan—2016 Green Canyon 248 Oil 
Spill, 1070P 

Notice of Final Restoration Plan Lake Washington 2003 
Oil Spill, 695P 

Notice of Settlement Agreement—Mooringsport Oil 
Spill, 1201P 

State Fire Marshal, Office of the 
Fire-resistant material applicators, 253R 
Storm shelters, 79R 
Transporter license/modular homes, 484R 

State Police, Office of 
Hazardous materials, 155N, 489R 
Motor carrier safety, 155N, 489R 

Uniform Construction Code Council 
Storm shelters, 33ER 
 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Direct delivery of alcohol  
Public safety regulations, 80R 
Third party service permit, 1187N 

Regulation IX—Prohibition of Certain Unfair Business 
Practices, 1034N 

Policy Services Division 
Abatement of presumed accuracy-related penalties, 

803N 
Claim for refund requirements, 805N 
Consolidated filer sales tax returns 
Form R-1029—Electronic Filing and Payment 

Requirement, 188N 
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REVENUE (Continued) 
Installment agreement for payment of tax, 537N, 892R 
Mandatory electronic filing, 271R 
Consumable hemp products tax returns, 1190N 
Payment of tax, 1190N 

 
 
 

STATE 
Elections Division 

Opportunity to cure deficiencies in absentee by mail 
ballot, 226ER, 716ER, 807N 

 
 
 
TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Offshore Terminal Authority 
Offshore terminal facilities air emissions, 672N, 1148R 
Recordkeeping and reporting, 672N, 1148R 

Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 
Engineering and land surveying, 893R 
 
 
 

TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration, 346ER, 714ER 
Distribution, 346ERx, 714ER 

Municipal Police Employees’ Retirement System 
Disability retirement, 1035N 
Reinstated employees, 1036N 
Renunciation of benefit, 1038N 
Trustee elections, 1039N 
Withdrawals and interest, 1041N 

Teachers’ Retirement System, Board of Trustees of the 
Optional Retirement Plan (ORP), 808N 
Voluntary deductions from retiree benefits payroll, 

811N 
 
 
 
TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Offshore Terminal Authority 

Superport Environmental Protection Plan, 156N, 490R 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Accredited land surveying curriculum, 490R 
Continuing professional development, 490R 
Military members/spouses/dependents, 490R 
 
 

UNIFORM LOCAL SALES TAX BOARD 
Audit protocols for local sales and use taxes, 518N, 898R 
Claims for refund or credit, 674N, 1109R 
Interest on refunds or credits, 675N 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
Crab 
Derelict Crab Trap Removal Program, 1197N 

Deer Management Assistance Program  
Signage change, 158N, 605R 

Domesticated aquatic organisms, 677N 
Hunting regulations for the 2021-2023 season, 159N, 
900R 

Oyster 
Harvest restriction, 319N, 605R, 746R 

Poverty Point Reservoir 
Netting season extension, 347ER 

Public hearing 
Substantive change to Notice of Intent 
2021-2023 hunting regulations and seasons, 423P 

Recreational reef sites, 319N, 746R 
Shark 
Season adjustment 

Commercial large coastal shark, 435ER 
Shrimp 
Season closure 

Portions of state inside waters, 34ER 
Spring inshore shrimp 
Biloxi Marsh area, 846ER 
Remaining areas, 847ER 

Portions of state inshore and outside waters, 227ER 
Season opening 

Inshore shrimp, 559ER 
Fall season, 1098ER 

Portions of state outside waters, 436ER, 560ER 
Special bait dealer’s permit, 1042N 
Waterfowl 
Hunting zones, 411N, 938R 

Yo-Yo and trotline regulations, 497R 
 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Multi-site signage, 273R 
Rehabilitation Services 

Income scale used for financial needs and budgetary 
analysis tests, 847ER 

Rehabilitation services, 1044N 
Unemployment Insurance Administration, Office of 

State income tax withholding from unemployment 
insurance benefits, 34ER, 560ER 

Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 
Medical treatment guidelines, 320N, 606R, 1191N 
Weekly compensation benefits limits, 326P, 829P 

 


