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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 20-19 

Coastal Resilience 

WHEREAS,  Louisiana and its citizens have suffered 
catastrophic losses and human, economic, and social harm as 
a result of increased flood risk due to coastal land, and the 
continued threat of further land loss to Louisiana’s working 
coast threatens the viability of residential, agricultural, 
energy, and industry development as well as valuable fish 
and wildlife production in coastal Louisiana;  

WHEREAS,  Louisiana continues to experience one 
of the fastest rates of land loss in the world, and parts of our 
state remain unprotected from or vulnerable to future 
hurricane and flood event impacts;  

WHEREAS,  our working coast is a national treasure 
which provides protection for infrastructure that supplies 
90% of the nation’s outer continental oil and gas, 20% of the 
nation’s annual waterborne commerce, 26% (by weight) of 
the continental U.S. commercial fishing lands, and winter 
habitat for five million migratory waterfowl; 

WHEREAS,  coastal Louisiana is also a vital 
regional asset which serves as residence to 2.5 million 
people and as a historical foundation to our unique cultural 
heritage; 

WHEREAS,  Louisiana’s first coastal master plan, 
Integrated Ecosystem Restoration and Hurricane 
Protection: Louisiana’s Comprehensive Master Plan for a 
Sustainable Coast (“master plan”) was approved by the 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority (“CPRA”) 
Board at its April 12, 2007, meeting and unanimously 
approved by the Louisiana Legislature through Senate 
Concurrent Resolution No. 11 during the 2007 Regular 
Session;  

WHEREAS,  Louisiana’s second master plan was 
approved by the CPRA Board at its March 21, 2012, 
meeting, and the revised master plan was unanimously 
approved by the Louisiana Legislature through Senate 
Concurrent Resolution No. 46 during the 2012 Regular 
Session;  

WHEREAS,  Louisiana’s third master plan was 
approved by the CPRA Board at its April 20, 2017, meeting, 
and the revised master plan was unanimously approved by 
the Louisiana Legislature through Senate Concurrent 
Resolution No. 1 during the 2017 Regular Session; 

WHEREAS,  Act 244 of the 2018 Regular Session 
requires the CPRA Board to develop a Coastal Master Plan, 
at a minimum every six years; 

WHEREAS,  the master plan integrates coastal 
protection strategies and coastal restoration strategies to 
provide increased flood protection for communities and to 
maximize the amount of land maintained or restored in 
coastal Louisiana;  

WHEREAS,  billions of dollars have been invested in 
the implementation of projects included in the master plan 
and tremendous progress has been made since the 2007 
master plan, including building or improving approximately 
297 miles of levees, constructing 60 miles of barrier islands 

and berms, and benefiting over 41,305 acres of coastal 
habitat; 

WHEREAS,  the Coastal Master Plan is a $50 
billion, 50-year plan and is a funding-constrained plan that 
will require new investments beyond what has currently 
been identified to fully implement the plan;  

WHEREAS,  even if the CPRA funded and 
completed all projects in the 2017 Coastal Master Plan, 
future, escalating environmental challenges and risks such as 
climate change driven sea level rise are such that the entire 
coast of Louisiana cannot be preserved as it presently exists; 

WHEREAS,  as the coastal crisis continues to unfold 
in the decades to come the State must not only continue to 
prepare for singular natural disasters like hurricanes and 
floods, but also slow-moving, longer-term changes that will 
encompass more than flood risk and land loss but also 
include implications for the economy, transportation 
systems, culture, health, workforce development, and fish 
and wildlife; 

WHEREAS,  these challenges will require a 
coordinated, intentional, collaborative state effort to build 
resilience;  

WHEREAS,  when it created the Coastal Protection 
and Restoration Authority Board, the legislature 
acknowledged the need for coordination among government 
agencies, as well as our local and federal partners, in order to 
ensure consistency with the master plan and to achieve the 
master plan’s missions and objectives; 

WHEREAS,  state agencies must work in a 
cooperative manner and ensure activities subject to its 
jurisdictional authority are performed in a manner that 
expedites and promotes integrated coastal protection 
projects; 

WHEREAS,  Louisiana Revised Statute 49:214.3.1 
directs the Governor, through his Executive Assistant for 
Coastal Activities, to “coordinate the powers, duties, 
functions, and responsibilities of any state agency relative to 
integrated coastal protection”; 

WHEREAS,  the master plan is the State’s plan for a 
sustainable coast and not just the Coastal Protection and 
Restoration Authority’s implementation plan;  

WHEREAS,  the full breadth of tools, expertise, and 
missions of Louisiana’s various state agencies must be 
brought to bear to more fully and more directly address the 
economic and social implications of Louisiana’s degrading 
coast; and  

WHEREAS,  this multi-agency approach will ensure 
the best outcomes for the people of Louisiana and better 
position the state to partner with the parishes and 
municipalities most at risk from coastal change. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested in the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana 
do hereby order and direct as follows:  

SECTION 1: In order to effectively and efficiently 
pursue the State’s integrated coastal protection goals, all 
state agencies, departments, and offices shall administer 
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their regulatory practices, programs, projects, contracts, 
grants, and all other functions vested in them in a manner 
consistent with the Coastal Master Plan and public interest to 
the maximum extent possible. 

To enhance and further the State’s interest in developing 
a more comprehensive and coordinated response to the 
coastal crisis and to meeting the goals and objectives of the 
Coastal Master Plan, the position of Chief Resilience Officer 
is hereby created within the Office of the Governor under 
the direction of the Governor’s Executive Assistant for 
Coastal Activities to further coordinate a cross-agency effort 
to build coastal resilience. 

A. The Chief Resilience Officer will lead efforts to 
collaborate across agencies to assess the vulnerability to 
assets and mission areas posed by coastal change. 

B. The Chief Resilience Officer will provide support 
to agencies as they identify and incorporate projections 
related to coastal change provided by the Coastal Master 
Plan into their strategic plans. 

C. The Chief Resilience Officer will work in 
cooperation with individual agencies and in small groups of 
related agencies to discuss the impacts of coastal change and 
proposed adaptation actions thematically and to collaborate 
on new projects or initiatives to better serve the residents 
and businesses of Louisiana’s coast.  

State agencies shall appoint a “resilience coordinator” to 
be the agency’s point person for adaptation and resilience 
efforts; and to coordinate with the Chief Resilience Officer 
and CPRA Board as requested. The resilience coordinator 
should be an undersecretary or comparable in rank and 
knowledge; able to bring an awareness of the full breadth of 
an agency’s programs and mission. 

SECTION 2: State agencies will further contribute to 
Louisiana’s improved coastal resilience through the 
incorporation of current and future coastal change 
considerations as expressed in Louisiana’s Comprehensive 
Master Plan for a Sustainable Coast into agency plans and 
investments. This effort will begin with an assessment of 
agency vulnerabilities to extreme weather events and 
persistent coastal change and the identification of adaptation 
options for agency assets and the agency’s ability to carry 
out its mission. 

SECTION 3: Each agency will incorporate the results 
from the vulnerability assessment into existing policies and 
strategic plans.  

Each agency will publish within two years of the 
issuance of this Executive Order an update to its strategic 
plan that shall: 

A. Consider and integrate coastal change 
information from the master plan into all planning and 
investments, including accounting for current and future 
conditions in infrastructure investment. 

B. Describe agency-specific resilience strategies that 
align with the goals and objectives of the master plan. 

C. Prioritize resilience-building actions and 
investments with a timeline for achieving those actions and 
investments. 

D. Identify funding sources and financing strategies 
and key partners applicable to the implementation of the 
actions and investments proposed. 

E. Identify and seek to remove or reform barriers 
that discourage investments or other actions to increase the 
state’s resilience. 

F. Recognize that coastal change will 
disproportionately affect some of the state’s most vulnerable 
people and consider how adaptation and resilience activities 
can address that inequity through the vision, goals, and 
actions undertaken in the agency’s strategic plan. 

SECTION 4: Agencies shall report to the Governor the 
results of their vulnerability assessments and how their 
strategic resilience plans, once completed, compliment and 
align with the goals and objectives of the coastal master 
plan. 

After the completion of the initial strategic plan update, 
agencies will again update strategic plans within one year of 
the adoption of each new master plan. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 19th day of 
August, 2020. 
 

John Bell Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Aroin 
Secretary of State 
2010#025 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 20-20 

Flags at Half-Staff—Former Governor 
 Murphy J. “Mike” Foster, Jr. 

WHEREAS, former Governor Murphy James “Mike” 
Foster, Jr. died on October 4, 2020, at the age of 90; 

WHEREAS, on January 8, 1996, Murphy J. Foster, Jr. 
was sworn in as the 53rd governor of the State of Louisiana; 

WHEREAS, on January 10, 2000, he again took the 
oath of office for a second term as the Governor of 
Louisiana, serving until January 12, 2004; 

WHEREAS, with vision and integrity, Governor Foster 
united the people of Louisiana to bring the state into this 
new century; 

WHEREAS, Murphy James Foster, Jr. was born in 
Franklin, Louisiana, on July 11, 1930, the son of Murphy 
and Olive Foster and the grandson of Louisiana’s 31st 
Governor, Murphy J. Foster; 

WHEREAS, he proudly served his nation during the 
Korean War, serving in the United States Air Force from 
1952 until 1956; 

WHEREAS, before serving in the state’s top office, he 
served in the Louisiana Senate, representing Louisiana’s 21st 

Senatorial District; 
WHEREAS, fifty-two years after graduating from 

Louisiana State University with a degree in chemistry, 
Governor Foster demonstrated a lifelong commitment to 
learning and knowledge when he earned his Juris Doctorate 
from the Southern University Law Center in 2004, having 
completed his course of legal studies during his tenure as 
Governor of Louisiana; 
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WHEREAS, Governor Foster was a champion of 
education and educators, creating the Louisiana Community 
and Technical College System, dramatically expanding the 
state’s Taylor Opportunity Program for Students to provide 
greater access to college education to Louisiana’s youth, and 
successfully fighting to raise public teachers’ wages six of 
the eight years he served in office; 

WHEREAS, a relative latecomer to politics, he began 
his career in the public spotlight at the age of 57 with his 
1987 election to the Louisiana Senate, and he quickly rose in 
public stature for eight years before his historic victory in 
the 1995 race for Governor; 

WHEREAS, in 2003, Governor Foster was inducted 
into the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame; 

WHEREAS, Governor Foster was married to his loving 
wife and biggest supporter, Alice, for over fifty years; and 

WHEREAS, a veteran, a businessman and a sportsman, 
Governor Foster was a man of strength, vision, integrity, and 
faith; and while he will be greatly missed, the legacy of his 
work on behalf of the people of Louisiana will live on for 
generations to come.  

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: As an expression of respect and to honor 
former Governor Murphy James “Mike” Foster, Jr., the flags 
of the United States and the State of Louisiana shall be 
flown at half-staff over the State Capitol and all state 
buildings from sunrise on October 5, 2020, through sunset 
on October 9, 2020. 

SECTION 2: This Order is effective upon signature and 
shall remain in effect until sunset, October 9, 2020. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially 
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of Louisiana in the 
City of Baton Rouge, on this 4th day of October, 2020. 

 
John Bell Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Aroin 
Secretary of State 
2010#024 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Structural Pest Control Commission 

Continuing Education for Registered Technicians  
(LAC 7:XXV.113) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:3370(K), the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry and Louisiana Structural Pest 
Control Commission declare an emergency to exist and 
hereby adopt by emergency process the attached regulation 
to supersede the current permanent regulations found at 
LAC 7:XXV.113. The implementation of these regulations 
by the emergency process is necessary to protect the public 
health and safety of employees of structural pest control 
businesses and related businesses during the COVID-19 
pandemic. 

The implementation of this Emergency Rule removes the 
requirement of participation in continuing education 
programs by currently employed and registered technicians 
of permitted place of business to maintain registration status 
for the remainder of 2020 and extends registration card 
expiration dates by a year (12/31/2020 to 12/31/2021). This 
Rule does not prohibit participation and the SPCC 
encourages all employees of structural pest control 
companies to continue their education by participating in 
programs that offer protection for their health and safety 
during the pandemic and improves their knowledge of 
structural pests and pest control strategies. 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective upon 
signature, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 
§113. Registration of Employees; Duties of Licensee 

and Registered Employee with Respect to 
Registration 

A. - O. … 
P. Each registered technician shall participate in an 

entire continuing education program as a condition of 
maintaining his or her status as a registered technician at 
least once annually (January 1 to December 31). Any 
registered technician currently employed by a permitted 
Place of Business with a registration card expiration date of 
12/31/2020 will not be required to participate in a continuing 
education program for the year of 2020 as a condition of 
maintaining his or her status as a registered technician and 
his or her registration card expiration date will be extended 
to 12/31/2021. 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366, 3368 and 3369. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 32:797 (May 2006), repromulgated LR 32:1016 (June 2006), 
amended LR 35:207 (February 2009), LR 37:279 (January 2011), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, LR 39:301 (February 2013), LR 42:213 (February 
2016); LR 44:1236 (July 2018), LR 46: 

 
Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner  

2010#005 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 

Suspension of License Renewal Fees—Child Residential 
Care Class B, Residential Homes (Type IV), Child Placing 

Agencies—General Provisions, and Juvenile Detention 
(LAC 67:V.6953, 7103, 7303, and 7503) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
has exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B) to amend 
LAC 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapter 69, Child Residential 
Care, Class B, Section 6953; Chapter 71, Residential 
Homes-Type IV, Section 7103; Chapter 73, Child Placing 
Agencies, Section 7303; and Chapter 75, Juvenile Detention 
Facilities, Section 7503. This declaration is necessary to 
extend the original Emergency Rule since it is effective for a 
maximum of 120 days and will expire before the Final Rule 
takes effect. This Emergency Rule extension is effective on 
October 28, 2020, and shall remain in effect for a period of 
120 days. 

In accordance with HCR 71 of the 2020 Legislative 
Session, it is necessary to promulgate an Emergency Rule to 
implement a temporary suspension of license renewal fees 
for a limited period of time. During their 2020 Regular 
Session, the Louisiana Legislature adopted House 
Concurrent Resolution 71 which directs state agencies to 
adopt emergency rules to suspend the collection of license 
renewal fees for existing businesses based in Louisiana for 
renewals due from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021 as 
part of Louisiana’s response to and as a way to help 
businesses reopen and recover from COVID-19. This 
emergency rule is necessary to comply with the legislative 
mandate in House Concurrent Resolution 71 of the 2020 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.  
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Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 
Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 
Chapter 69 .  Child Residential Care, Class B 
§6953. Authority 

A. ...  
1. In accordance with HCR 71 of the 2020 Legislative 

Session, license renewal fees due from July 1, 2020 through 
June 30, 2021 are hereby suspended for existing residential 
homes located in Louisiana as part of Louisiana’s response 
to and as a way to help businesses reopen and recover from 
COVID-19. 

B. - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
27:1565 (September 2001), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 
Licensing, LR 33:2740 (December 2007), repromulgated by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 
35:1617 (August 2009), amended LR 36:331 (February 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 39:66 (January 2013), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Licensing Section, LR 46: 
Chapter 71. Residential Homes—Type IV 
§7103. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. - 1.a. ... 
2. In accordance with HCR 71 of the 2020 Legislative 

Session, license renewal fees due from July 1, 2020 through 
June 30, 2021 are hereby suspended for existing residential 
homes located in Louisiana as part of Louisiana’s response 
to and as a way to help businesses reopen and recover from 
COVID-19. 

B. - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Service, LR 36:805 (April 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 39:67 
(January 2013), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 43:246 (February 2017), 
LR 46: 
Chapter 73. Child Placing Agencies—General 

Provisions 
§7303. Authority - Foster Care, Adoption, Transitional 

Placing 
A. - A.6. ... 

7. In accordance with HCR 71 of the 2020 Legislative 
Session, license renewal fees due from July 1, 2020 through 
June 30, 2021 are hereby suspended for existing child 
placing agencies located in Louisiana as part of Louisiana’s 
response to and as a way to help businesses reopen and 
recover from COVID-19. 

B. - E.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1407(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45:352 
(March 2019), effective April 1, 2019, amended LR 46: 

Chapter 75 .  Juvenile Detention Facilities 
§7503. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. ...  
2. In accordance with HCR 71 of the 2020 Legislative 

Session, license renewal fees due from July 1, 2020 through 
June 30, 2021 are hereby suspended for existing juvenile 
detention facilities located in Louisiana as part of 
Louisiana’s response to and as a way to help businesses 
reopen and recover from COVID-19. 

B. - C.1.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1110. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 38:1559 (July 2012), amended LR 39:1006 (April 
2013), effective July 1, 2013, repromulgated LR 39:1264 (May 
2013), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Licensing Section, LR 46: 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2010#070 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs—Hurricane Laura  
Exceptions and Deferments (LAC 28:IV.2103 and 2105) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
(R.S. 49:950 et seq.) to amend the rules of the 
Scholarship/Grant programs [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:5001 et 
seq., and R.S. 56:797.D(2)]. 

This rulemaking provides for a blanket exception to the 
requirements to enroll full time each semester/term during 
the academic year, to maintain continuous enrollment, and to 
earn the required academic hours each academic year for 
TOPS, Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, and GO 
Youth Challenge Recipients impacted by Hurricane Laura. 
In addition, this rulemaking provides deferments for students 
who are currently in repayment status for the Rockefeller 
State Wildlife Scholarship Program and TOPS Teacher. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. The Board of Regents has 
determined that this Emergency Rule is necessary in order to 
prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the 
affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective on September 
23, 2020, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 
(SG21193E) 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance― 
Higher Education  

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - G.5.b.iii. … 
H. Hurricane Laura Exceptions 

1. For the purposes of this subsection, displaced 
students are TOPS, Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, 
and GO Youth Challenge recipients and students eligible for 
TOPS and on August 26, 2020: 

a. were enrolled at SOWELA Technical Community 
College; or 

b. whose home of record was one of the following 
parishes: 
 i. Acadia; 
 ii. Allen; 
 iii. Beauregard; 
 iv. Caddo; 
 v. 
Calcasieu; 
 vi. Cameron; 
 vii. Grant; 
 viii. Jackson; 
 ix. Jefferson Davis; 
 x. LaSalle; 
 xi. Lincoln; 
 xii. Morehouse; 
 xiii. Natchitoches; 
 xiv. Ouachita; 
 xv. Rapides; 
 xvi. Sabine; 
 xvii. St. Landry; 
 xviii. Union; 
 xix. Vermilion; 
 xx. Vernon; or 
 xxi. Winn. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
is: 

a. the domiciliary address of a dependent student’s 
parent or court-ordered custodian; or 

b. the domiciliary address of an independent 
student. 

3. For the 2020-2021 academic year (TOPS), 
displaced students are not required to enroll as full-time 
students, to maintain continuous enrollment, or to earn at 
least 24 hours during the 2020-2021 academic year (TOPS). 

4. Displaced students may enroll on a part-time basis 
in an eligible college or university without losing TOPS 
eligibility.  

a. Upon request of the student, the eligible college 
or university may bill for the TOPS award for these part-
time students. 

b. The terms of eligibility for a displaced student 
whose part-time enrollment is paid by TOPS will be reduced 
by one full semester (term) for each semester (term) paid. 

c. Institutions must document the displaced 
student’s request for part-time payment of TOPS under these 
circumstances. 

d. Any grades earned by a displaced student who 
enrolls part-time during the 2020-2021 academic year 
(TOPS) will be included in the calculation of the student’s 
cumulative grade point average. 

5. Displaced students who are Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship recipients may enroll full-time or part-
time in a college or university that does not offer a course of 
study leading to an undergraduate or graduate degree in 
wildlife, forestry or marine science.  

a. Upon request of the student, the eligible college 
or university may bill for the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship for these students.  

b. The amount paid for any such semester of 
enrollment in accordance with this Subsection shall reduce 
the student’s total eligibility for the Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship Program. 

c. Institutions must document the displaced 
student’s request for payment in accordance with this 
Subsection. 

d. Any grades earned by a displaced student who 
enrolls in school during the 2020-2021 in accordance with 
this Subsection will be included in the calculation of the 
student’s cumulative grade point average. 

6. For the 2020-2021 academic year (TOPS), students 
who are not displaced students, but who, due to the effects of 
Hurricane Laura were unable to enroll for the first time as 
full time students by the applicable deadline, to enroll as 
full-time students, to maintain continuous enrollment in 
school, or to earn 24 hours during the 2020-2021 academic 
year (TOPS) may submit a request for exception in 
accordance with §2103.D. based on the circumstances 
provided in §2103.E.12.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 
(October 1998), LR 26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 
28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330 and 2333 (November 2002), LR 29:126 
(February 2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003), LR 30:785 (April 2004), LR 30:1167 (June 
2004), LR 31:1060 (May 2005), LR 33:440 (March 2007), LR 
35:1233 (July 2009), LR 38:3160 (December 2012), LR 41:657, 
667 (April 2015), amended by the Board of Regents, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, LR 44:562 (March 2018), LR 
45:1173 (September 2019), LR 46: 
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment, Cancellation 

and Reduced Payments 
A. - B.9.e.iii. 

10. Hurricane Laura Deferments 
a. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 

students are recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or TOPS Teacher Award who are in repayment 
status and whose Home of Record on August 26, 2020, and 
whose Home of Record was one of the following parishes:  
 i. Acadia; 
 ii. Allen; 
 iii. Beauregard; 
 iv. Caddo; 
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 v. Calcasieu; 
 vi. Cameron; 
 vii. Grant; 
 viii. Jackson; 
 ix. Jefferson Davis; 
 x. LaSalle; 
 xi. Lincoln; 
 xii. Morehouse; 
 xiii. Natchitoches; 
 xiv. Ouachita; 
 xv. Rapides; 
 xvi. Sabine; 
 xvii. St. Landry; 
 xviii. Union; 
 xix. Vermilion; 
 xx. Vernon; or 
 xxi. Winn. 

11. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
is the domiciliary address of the recipient who is in 
repayment status. 

12. The loans repayments for displaced students are 
deferred and accrual of interest is suspended from August 
26, 2020, through August 31, 2021. 

13. For the period August 26, 2020, through August 31, 
2021, recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or the TOPS Teacher Award who are not 
displaced students, but who, due to the effects of Hurricane 
Laura, are unable to repay their loan may submit a request 
for exception in accordance with §2103.D based on the 
circumstances provided in §2103.E.12. 

C. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3031 and R.S. 17:3042.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1918 (October 1998), LR 
26:1603 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1868 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 30:781 (April 2004), 
LR 30:1167, 1168 (June 2004), LR 33:442 (March 2007), amended 
by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 44:566 (March 2018), LR 46: 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively  
Senior Attorney 

2010#011 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

Class "B" Wrestling—Lab Reports 
(LAC 46:XI.525) 

The Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
does hereby exercise the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B). By this 
Emergency Rule, the commission will amend Chapter 5, 
Subchapter B. Class "B" Wrestling to provide small event 
wrestling promoters’ relief from the responsibility of 
verifying bloodwork lab reports. This responsibility was 
formerly held by ring doctors and/or event coordinators 
under Chapter 1. General Rules. Due to the promulgation of 
R.S. 4.83(B) in 2018, Class B events are not required to have 

a doctor, event coordinator or commissioner in attendance at 
these events to review and verify bloodwork lab reports to 
ensure the validity and negative results of HIV, Hepatitis B 
and C. The commission will provide an avenue for collection 
of these Class "B" lab reports and establish a database 
whereupon the commission will become responsible for the 
review and verification of these lab reports for a fee of $150 
per event. The database will contain no personal medical 
information. This database will be restricted to the name of 
the contestant, date of blood testing, the negative or positive 
results and expiration date so as to track when contestants 
require new testing every six months in accordance with 
§108.A, Medical Requirements, under this title. 

This Emergency Rule is effective October 20, 2020, and 
will remain in effect for a period of 120 days, unless 
renewed by the Commissioner or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Chapter 5. Professional Wrestling 
Subchapter B. Class "B" Wrestling 
§525. Wrestling Promoters Class "B" Licensing 

A. - F. …  
G. Blood work laboratory results for Class "B" 

contestants, as required by §108.A, Medical Requirements, 
will be reviewed and verified by the commission and the 
results entered into an established database. 

1. Class "B" contestant's lab reports will be submitted 
to the commission directly from the testing physician's 
laboratory or independent laboratory via hard copy, fax or 
other electronic submission to confirm negative results and 
verification of legitimacy. 

2. A fee of $150 per Class "B" event will be collected 
by the commission from the promoter to cover the costs of 
this verification process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 4:64, 
4:65 and 4:83(B) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Office of the Governor, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 45:541 (April 2019) 
amended LR 46: 

 
Addie L. Fields 
Administrative Assistant 

2010#027 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 

Qualified Health Care Provider Services (LAC 37:III.127) 

A state of emergency for the state of Louisiana was 
declared by President Donald J. Trump both in August and 
September 2020 due to the devastation caused by Hurricane 
Laura and its aftermath. In addition, pursuant to 
Proclamation Nos. 108, 115, and 124 JBE 2020, Governor 
John Bel Edwards declared a state of emergency for 
Louisiana due to the effects of Hurricane Laura on Louisiana 
and its citizens. 
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Under Section 2 of Proclamation No. 115 JBE 2020, the 
Commissioner of Insurance for the State of Louisiana, James 
J. Donelon (Commissioner Donelon), shall have limited 
transfer of authority from Governor John Bel Edwards to 
suspend provisions of any statute of the Louisiana Insurance 
Code, Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, 
concerning the cancellation, termination, nonrenewal, and 
reinstatement provisions of Title 22. Proclamation No. 124 
JBE 2020 extended the limited transfer of authority from 
Governor John Bel Edwards to Commissioner Donelon to 
October 19, 2020. 

Pursuant to said Proclamations, Commissioner Donelon 
caused the promulgation of Emergency Rule 45, entitled 
“Suspension of Certain Statutes Regarding Cancellations, 
Termination, Non-Renewals, and Nonreinstatements, 
Premium Payments, Claim Filings and Related Provisions 
Regarding Any and All Insurance Matters Affecting Insureds 
in Louisiana Caused by the state of emergency Declared by 
Governor John Bel Edwards on August 31, 2020, Due to 
Hurricane Laura”, which addressed the devastation caused 
by Hurricane Laura and its aftermath that created emergency 
conditions threatening the health, safety and welfare of the 
citizens of Louisiana who are insureds and who either reside 
in, have insured property located in or whose primary place 
of employment is or was in, one of the following 16 
parishes, to wit: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, 
Cameron, Grant, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lincoln, 
Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Sabine, Vermilion, Vernon, 
or Winn. Emergency Rule 45 suspends certain statutes and 
regulations regarding cancellations, non-renewals, 
reinstatements, premium payments, claim filings and related 
provisions regarding any and all insurance matters affecting 
these certain insureds, including healthcare providers, and 
was published in the September 2020 issue of the Louisiana 
Register.  

Upon finding that imminent peril to the public health, 
safety or welfare required adoption of an emergency rule, the 
Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board (oversight 
board), under authority of the Louisiana Medical 
Malpractice Act, R.S. 40:1231.1 et seq. (MMA), and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., adopted this Emergency Rule 7 at its meeting 
held on October 1, 2020.  

Many qualified healthcare providers (QHCPs) enrolled in 
the Patient’s Compensation Fund (fund or PCF) are being 
severely impacted by Hurricane Laura and the disruptions 
therefrom. It is believed that these disruptions have affected 
and will continue to affect for some time, the ability of these 
QHCPs to timely pay their annual renewal PCF surcharges 
in full and, as such, may seriously affect the provision of 
health care services by QHCPs to patients in Louisiana. This 
public health emergency has undoubtedly created a mass 
disruption to the normalcy previously enjoyed by QHCPs 
and patients and produced an immediate threat to the public 
health, safety, and welfare of Louisiana citizens, both 
patients and QHCPs alike. 

Accordingly, Emergency Rule 7 was adopted by the 
Oversight Board and shall apply to all QHCPs as set forth in 
this Emergency Rule. 

In the ordinary course of business and pursuant to LAC 
37:III.517, a QHCP is allowed a grace period of 30 days in 
which to pay the annual renewal PCF surcharge in full to the 
insurer, the PCF or to the self-insurance trust, as applicable, 
to extend PCF coverage for another year. Hurricane Laura 
and its aftermath and the public health emergency resulting 
therefrom have produced a disruption in the ability of many 
QHCPs to timely pay the annual renewal PCF surcharge in 
full to maintain their enrollment in the fund. This could 
result in a QHCP being without PCF coverage or having a 
gap in PCF coverage. Emergency Rule 7 was adopted to 
provide emergency relief to QHCPs as set forth therein. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part III.  Patient's Compensation Fund  
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§127. Qualified Health Care Provider Services 

(Emergency Rule 7) 
A.1. Emergency Rule 7 shall apply to all QHCPs:  

a. who either reside in or whose primary place of 
employment is or was in, one of the following 16 parishes, 
to wit: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, 
Grant, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lincoln, Natchitoches, 
Ouachita, Rapides, Sabine, Vermilion, Vernon, or Winn; and  

b. whose renewal date or 30-day grace period for 
payment of the PCF annual renewal surcharge occurs on or 
after August 27, 2020 but prior to the expiration of this 
Emergency Rule. 

2. For purposes of this Emergency Rule 7, QHCPs 
who meet the above criteria shall be referred to herein as 
affected QHCPs. The provisions of this Emergency Rule 7 
shall not apply to any health care provider not previously 
enrolled in the PCF prior to August 27, 2020. 

3. The Oversight Board's rules, previously 
promulgated in the Louisiana Register, and the applicable 
provisions of the PCF's Rate Manual, to the extent that said 
regulatory provisions impose upon QHCPs a time limit to 
pay the applicable annual PCF renewal surcharges, shall be 
suspended for Affected QHCPs during the effective periods 
set forth in this Emergency Rule 7. Except as provided for in 
Paragraph A.5 of this Section, the cancellation of PCF 
qualification for affected QHCPs for failure to timely pay an 
annual PCF renewal surcharge is hereby suspended until the 
earlier of October 24, 2020 or the date the governor lifts the 
state of emergency presently in effect as a result of 
Hurricane Laura and its aftermath, inclusive of any renewal 
thereof. 

a. PCF surcharges for all affected QHCPs whose 
renewal date or 30 day grace period for payment of the 
annual PCF renewal surcharge occurs on or after August 27, 
2020 but prior to or on the earlier of October 24, 2020 or the 
date the governor lifts the state of emergency presently in 
effect as a result of Hurricane Laura and its aftermath, 
inclusive of any renewal thereof (suspension period), shall 
be due and owing on the date that is 30 days immediately 
following the earlier of October 24, 2020 or the date the 
governor lifts the state of emergency presently in effect as a 
result of Hurricane Laura and its aftermath, inclusive of any 
renewal thereof. affected QHCPs shall also furnish the 
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required proof of financial responsibility concurrently with 
the payment of the appropriate surcharge. PCF surcharges 
for all other QHCPs shall be due, owing and payable 
consistent with the oversight board's previously promulgated 
rules. 

b. The executive director is hereby granted 
continuing authority to reasonably extend the suspension 
period for those affected QHCPs who certify to the oversight 
board in writing that said affected QHCP was impacted by 
the state of emergency in a manner, including but not limited 
to, evacuation, displacement, business interruption, or 
temporary relocation, sufficient to prevent the timely 
payment of the renewal surcharge (extended suspension 
period).  

c. The 30 day grace period provided for in LAC 
37:III.517 for payment of the annual PCF renewal surcharge 
by affected QHCPs who have been granted an extension of 
the suspension period shall commence on the day 
immediately following the end of the extended suspension 
period; the 30 day grace period for all other affected QHCPs 
shall commence on the day immediately following the 
earlier of October 24, 2020 or the date the governor lifts the 
state of emergency presently in effect as a result of 
Hurricane Laura and its aftermath, inclusive of any renewal 
thereof. 

4. In the event an insurer, agent or trust fund collects a 
renewal surcharge during the suspension period from an 
affected QHCP, then the renewal surcharge shall be timely 
remitted to the PCF consistent with the MMA and the 
Oversight Board's applicable rules. 

5. A cancellation of PCF qualification for an affected 
QHCP shall not occur prior to the earlier of October 24, 
2020 or the date the governor lifts the state of emergency 
presently in effect as a result of Hurricane Laura and its 
aftermath, inclusive of any renewal thereof, unless upon the 
documented written request or written concurrence of the 
affected QHCP. 

6. Unless otherwise cancelled pursuant to the 
provisions of Paragraph 5 herein, nothing in this Emergency 
Rule 7 shall be construed to exempt or excuse an affected 
QCHP from the obligation to pay the applicable PCF 
surcharge for renewal or for an extended reporting 
endorsement otherwise due for actual PCF qualification 
provided during the suspension period or the extended 
suspension period. 

7. Emergency Rule 7 shall not relieve an affected 
QHCP from compliance with the MMA and the applicable 
Oversight Board's rules upon receiving notice of the filing of 
a medical review panel request (claim) against the affected 
QHCP. 

8. The provisions of Emergency Rule 7 shall be 
liberally construed to effectuate the intent and purposes 
expressed herein and to afford maximum protection for the 
affected QHCPs and the citizens of Louisiana. 

9. Emergency Rule 7 became effective on August 27, 
2020 and shall continue in full force and effect to the earlier 
of October 24, 2020 or the date the governor lifts the state of 
emergency presently in effect as a result of Hurricane Laura 
and its aftermath, inclusive of any renewal thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1231.4(D)(3) and to be consistent with Emergency Rule No. 45 
of the Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Patient's Compensation 
Fund Oversight Board, LR 46: 
§129. Termination; Survival 

A. Emergency Rule 7 shall terminate on the earlier of 
October 24, 2020 or the date the governor lifts the state of 
emergency presently in effect as a result of Hurricane Laura 
and its aftermath, inclusive of any renewal thereof. However, 
Paragraphs A.3 and A.6 through A.8 of §127 shall survive 
the termination of this Emergency Rule 7. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1231.4(D)(3) and to be consistent with Emergency Rule No. 45 
of the Department of Insurance. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Patient's Compensation 
Fund Oversight Board, LR 46: 
§131. Severability Clause 

A. If any section or provision of Emergency Rule 7, as 
originally adopted and/or amended, is held invalid, such 
invalidity or determination shall not affect other Sections or 
provisions, or the application of Emergency Rule 7, as 
originally adopted and/or amended, to the affected QHCPs 
or circumstances that can be given effect without the invalid 
Sections or provisions and the application to affected 
QHCPs or circumstances shall be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1231.4(D)(3) and to be consistent with Emergency Rule No. 45 
of the Department of Insurance. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Patient's Compensation 
Fund Oversight Board, LR 46: 

 
Ken Schnauder 
Executive Director 

2010#020 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Used Motor Vehicle Commission 

Suspension of Renewal Fees for Businesses Reopening  
or Recovering from COVID-19 (LAC 46:V.4301) 

The Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission is 
promulgating this rule change as an Emergency Rule 
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(B) to avoid imminent peril to the 
public health, safety, or welfare of businesses reopening or 
recovering from COVID-19 and to comply with the time 
periods established by House Concurrent Resolution No. 71 
of the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 2.  Used Motor Vehicles 
Chapter 43. License Renewal 
§4301. Period for Renewals 

A. Applications should be submitted by November 1 of 
each year. If applications have not been made for renewal of 
existing licenses, such licenses shall expire December 31 
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and it shall be illegal for any person to represent himself as a 
dealer thereafter. The commission shall issue all new 
licenses by January 10 of each year. 

B. Pursuant to the directive to certain licensing boards in 
HCR 71 (2020), the Commission hereby suspends the 
renewal fees from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021 for 
businesses existing on June 1, 2020 based in Louisiana 
reopening or recovering from COVID-19 for the following 
license types: 

1. automotive dismantlers and parts recyclers; 
2. auction dealers; 
3. used motor vehicle crushers; 
4. daily rental dealers; 
5. rent with the option to purchase dealers; 
6. used motor vehicle dealers; 
7. used parts and accessories dealers. 

C. Fees suspended pursuant to this section shall be 
submitted with the first renewal application filed after June 
30, 2021. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B(4); House Concurrent Resolution No. 71 (2020) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 
11:1064 (November 1985). Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission LR 46: 

 
Derek Parnell 
Executive Director 

2010#002 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Emergency Telemedicine 
(LAC 50:I.505) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:I.505 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which adopted 
provisions governing coverage of telemedicine during a 
declared disaster (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 
4). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the March 16, 2020 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring continued and 
expanded access to telemedicine services during a declared 
emergency.  

Effective November 13, 2020, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions 
governing the coverage of telemedicine during a declared 
emergency. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 5. Telemedicine 
§505. Telemedicine in the Event of an Emergency 

A. In the event of a declared emergency, Medicaid may 
temporarily cover services provided through the use of an 
interactive audio telecommunications system, without the 
requirement of video, if such action is determined to be 
necessary to ensure sufficient services are available to meet 
recipients' needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 46: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 
Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips  
Secretary 

2010#041 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Providers 
Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.5038) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 48:I.5038 as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.2. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends the provisions governing the licensing 
standards for home and community-based services (HCBS) 
providers in order to adopt provisions to allow licensed 
HCBS providers to operate and provide services outside of 
their licensed geographic areas to existing clients who have 
evacuated or temporarily relocated to another location in the 
state due to a gubernatorial declared state of emergency or 
disaster in Louisiana. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Louisiana citizens by assuring continued access to 
home and community-based services during a declared 
emergency or disaster. It is estimated that implementation of
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this Emergency Rule will have no programmatic costs for 
state fiscal year 2020-2021.  

Effective September 21, 2020, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts provisions to 
allow licensed home and community-based services 
providers to operate outside of their licensed geographic 
areas in the event of a gubernatorial declared state of 
emergency or disaster in Louisiana. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH–GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 50. Home and Community-Based Services 

Providers Licensing Standards 
Subchapter C. Admission, Transfer and Discharge 

Criteria 
§5038. Provisions for Services to Clients Outside of 

Licensed Geographic Area in Event of a 
Gubernatorial Declared State of Emergency or 
Disaster 

A. To ensure the health and safety of clients, and the 
coordination and continuation of services to clients, during a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana, the department, through written notice sent 
electronically to licensed HCBS providers, may allow a 
licensed HCBS provider to operate and provide services to 
existing clients who are receiving personal care services and 
respite services and who have evacuated or temporarily 
relocated to another location in the state when the following 
apply: 

1. the client has evacuated or temporarily relocated to 
a location outside of the provider’s licensed region due to the 
declared state of emergency or disaster; 

2. the client shall have been a client of the HCBS 
provider as of the date of the declared emergency or disaster, 
with an approved plan of care; 

3. the client’s existing caregiver(s) go with the client 
or provide services to the client at the client’s temporary 
location; 

4. the provider is responsible for ensuring that all 
essential care and services, in accordance with the plan of 
care, are provided to the client, and the provider shall have 
sufficient staff and back-up caregivers available to provide 
services; and 

5. the provider shall not interfere with the client’s 
right to choose a provider of his/her choice if the client 
elects a new HCBS provider in the area where the client 
relocates. The provider shall facilitate client’s selection.  

B. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 
providers of center based respite services. 

C. To ensure the health and safety of clients, and the 
coordination and continuation of services to clients, during a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana, the department, through written notice sent 
electronically to licensed HCBS providers, may allow a 
licensed HCBS provider to operate and provide services to 
existing clients who are receiving supervised independent 
living services (SIL) and who have evacuated or temporarily 
relocated to another location in the state when the following 
apply: 

1. the client has evacuated or temporarily relocated to 
a location outside of the provider’s licensed region due to the 
declared state of emergency or disaster; 

2. the client shall have been a client of the HCBS 
provider as of the declared state of emergency or disaster, 
with an approved plan of care; 

3. the provider has sufficient and qualified staff to 
provide SIL services at the client’s temporary location; 

4. the provider is responsible for ensuring that all 
essential SIL services, in accordance with the plan of care, 
are provided to the client; and 

5. the provider shall not interfere with the client’s 
right to choose a provider of his/her choice if the client 
elects a new HCBS provider in the area where the client 
relocates. The provider shall facilitate client’s selection.  

D. Under the provisions of this Section, the department’s 
initial written notice to licensed HCBS providers to 
authorize these allowances shall be for a period not to 
exceed 45 days.  The department may extend this initial 
period, not to exceed an additional 45 days, upon written 
notice sent electronically to the licensed HCBS providers.  

E. Under the provisions of this Section, the department 
in its discretion may authorize these allowances statewide or 
to certain affected parishes. 

F. An HCBS provider who wants to provide services to 
a client that has temporarily relocated out of state must 
contact that state’s licensing/certification department to 
obtain any necessary licensing and/or certification before 
providing services in that state.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 46: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821.  Ms. Castello is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule.  A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#010 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

and 
Office of Behavioral Health 

Programs and Services Amendments Due to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency 

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization 
declared a public health emergency of international concern 
and on January 31, 2020, U.S. Health and Human Services 
Secretary Alex M. Azar II declared a public health 
emergency, effective as of January 27, 2020, for the United 
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States in response to the recent coronavirus disease 2019 
(hereafter referred to as COVID-19) outbreak. On March 11, 
2020, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a statewide 
public health emergency to exist in the State of Louisiana as 
a result of the imminent threat posed to Louisiana citizens by 
COVID-19. Likewise, the presidential declaration of a 
national emergency due to COVID-19 has an effective date 
of March 1, 2020.  

In response to these public health emergency declarations 
and the rapid advancement of COVID-19 throughout 
Louisiana, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS), and the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code 
in order to adopt temporary measures to provide for the 
continuation of essential programs and services to ensure the 
health and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, 
Number 4). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on 
March 19, 2020. This Emergency Rule shall be in effect for 
the maximum period allowed under the Act or the duration 
of the COVID-19 public health emergency declaration, 
whichever comes first. 

Effective November 16, 2020, the department amends 
Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code to continue 
the following provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on 
March 19, 2020 throughout the duration of the COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration: 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology—
Reimbursement Adjustment (LAC 50:II.20006) 

The per diem rate paid to non-state nursing facilities shall 
contain an add-on of $12 for the period of the COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration. 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology—
Leave of Absence Days (LAC 50:II.20021) 

For each Medicaid recipient, nursing facilities shall be 
reimbursed for up to seven hospital leave of absence days 
per occurrence and 15 home leave of absence days per 
calendar year. 

For dates of service during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency declaration, the state may allow the 
reimbursement paid for leave of absence days to be equal to 
100 percent of the applicable per diem rate. 
Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Intellectual 

Disabilities—Emergency Awareness—Payment 
Limitations (LAC 50:VII.33101) 

For dates of service during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency declaration, the state may waive the annual 45 
day limit on the client’s leave of absence, the limitation of 
30 consecutive days, and the inclusion of the leave in the 
written individual habilitation plan for recipients that return 
to the facility for at least 24 hours prior to any 
discharge/transfer. 

Payments to providers for these days will not include any 
enhanced rate add-ons (i.e., Complex Care, Pervasive Plus), 
and providers will appropriately submit them as leave days 
when billing for payment. 

Services for Special Populations—Personal Care Services 
(LAC 50:XV.Subpart 9) 

Relaxation of long term-personal care services (LT-PCS) 
provisions during the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration: 

Recipients of long term-personal care services (LT-PCS) 
may receive more weekly service hours than what is 
assigned for his/her level of support category; 

The state may increase the maximum number of LT-
PCS hours received per week; 

Recipients may receive LT-PCS in another state without 
prior approval of OAAS or its designee; 

Recipients may receive LT-PCS while living in a home 
or property owned, operated or controlled by a provider of 
services who is not related by blood or marriage to the 
recipient; 

Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 
representative for more than two recipients without an 
exception from OAAS;  

The following individuals may provide services to the 
recipient of LT-PCS: the recipient’s spouse; the recipient’s 
curator; the recipient’s tutor; the recipient’s legal guardian; 
the recipient’s responsible representative; or the person to 
whom the recipient has given representative and mandate 
authority (also known as power of attorney); 

The state may allow exceptions to the requirements that 
services must be provided in accordance with the approved 
plan of care and/or supporting documentation; 

The state may allow exceptions to LT-PCS prior 
authorization requirements; 

The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 
rates for LT-PCS; 

Recipients may orally designate/authorize or make 
changes to the responsible representative during the 
emergency. However, once the emergency declaration is 
over, the recipient must submit a written designation on the 
appropriate OAAS form to designate a responsible 
representative; 

The state may offer recipients the freedom to choose 
another LT-PCS provider if the designated provider is not 
able to provide services; 

The state may modify the minimum age requirement for 
direct care workers; and 

The state may allow exceptions to the requirement that 
the place(s) of service must be documented in the plan of 
care. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers— 
Adult Day Health Care Waiver (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 3) 

With approval from the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) as applicable, the following 
provisions of the Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver are 
relaxed during the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration: 

Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver participants are 
allowed to receive ADHC services in his/her home by 
licensed and/or certified ADHC staff (i.e. RN, LPN, PCA 
and/or CNA); 

The current assessments/re-assessments remain in effect 
past the annual (12 month) requirement; 
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Participants are not discharged if services are 
interrupted for a period of 30 consecutive days as a result of 
not receiving or refusing ADHC services; 

Participants are not discharged for failure to attend the 
ADHC center for a minimum of 36 days per calendar 
quarter; 

The state may elect to make retainer payments to ADHC 
providers when the ADHC center is closed; 

Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 
representative for more than two participants without an 
exception from OAAS; 

The state may allow exceptions to prior authorization 
requirements;  

The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 
rates for ADHC providers; and 

The state may allow exceptions to the requirements that 
services must be provided in accordance with the approved 
plan of care and/or supporting documentation. 

Home and Community-Based Services—Waivers 
Community Choices Waiver  

(LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 7) 
With approval from the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) as applicable, the following 
provisions of the Community Choices Waiver (CCW) are 
relaxed during the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration: 

Community Choices Waiver (CCW) participants are 
allowed to receive personal assistance services (PAS) in 
another state without prior approval of OAAS or its 
designee; 

Participants may receive PAS while living in a home or 
property owned, operated or controlled by a provider of 
services who is not related by blood or marriage to the 
participant without prior approval of OAAS or its designee; 

The current assessment/re-assessment remains in effect 
past the annual (12 month) requirement; 

CCW participants are not discharged if services are 
interrupted for a period of 30 consecutive days as a result of 
not receiving and/or refusing services; 

Participants are not discharged from CCW self-directed 
services for failure to receive those services for 90 days or 
more; 

Individuals may concurrently serve as a responsible 
representative for more than two participants without an 
exception from OAAS; 

Participants may receive an increase in his/her annual 
services budget; 

The following individuals may provide services to the 
participant: the participant’s spouse; the participant’s 
curator; the participant’s tutor; the participant’s legal 
guardian; the participant’s responsible representative; or the 
person to whom the participant has given representative and 
mandate authority (also known as power of attorney); 

Participants may receive Adult Day Health Care 
(ADHC) services in his/her home by licensed and/or 
certified ADHC staff (i.e. RN, LPN, PCA and/or CNA); 

The state may elect to make retainer payments to ADHC 
providers when the ADHC center is closed; 

The state may allow exceptions to the requirements that 
services must be provided in accordance with the approved 
plan of care and/or supporting documentation; 

The state may allow exceptions to prior authorization 
requirements; 

Participants may receive more than two home delivered 
meals per day; 

The state may allow monitored in-home caregiving 
(MIHC) providers to monitor participants via frequent 
telephone contacts and/or telehealth; 

The state may modify the minimum age requirement for 
direct care workers; and 

The state may increase and/or modify reimbursement 
rates for CCW providers. 

Behavioral Health Services—Home and Community-
Based Services Waiver (LAC 50:XXXIII.Subpart 9) 
With approval from the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) as applicable, the following 
provisions of the Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) 
Waiver are relaxed during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency declaration: 

Coordinated System of Care (CSoC) Waiver participants 
are allowed to receive CSoC waiver services in another 
state; 

The current level of care evaluation/re-evaluation 
remains in effect beyond the semi-annual requirement; 

CSoC participants are not discharged for failing to 
receive a face-to-face visit from the wraparound facilitator 
for 60 consecutive calendar days or more; 

Services may be provided telephonically or through 
videoconferencing means in accordance with LDH-issued 
guidance; 

Providers and wraparound facilitators are required to 
document all service activities in accordance with guidance 
issued by LDH and the CSoC contractor; and 

Plan of care reviews and timelines may be extended. 
Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 
Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#042 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Programs and Services Amendments Due to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency 

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization 
declared a public health emergency of international concern 
and on January 31, 2020, U.S. Health and Human Services 
Secretary Alex M. Azar II declared a public health
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emergency for the United States, effective as of January 27, 
2020, in response to the recent coronavirus disease 2019 
(hereafter referred to as COVID-19) outbreak. On March 11, 
2020, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a statewide 
public health emergency to exist in the State of Louisiana as 
a result of the imminent threat posed to Louisiana citizens by 
COVID-19. Likewise, the presidential declaration of a 
national emergency due to COVID-19 has an effective date 
of March 1, 2020.  

In response to these public health emergency declarations 
and the rapid advancement of COVID-19 throughout 
Louisiana, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS), the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH), and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) 
promulgated Emergency Rules which amended the 
provisions of Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code 
in order to adopt temporary measures to provide for the 
continuation of essential programs and services to ensure the 
health and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, 
Number 4). The department subsequently promulgated an 
Emergency Rule, adopted on June 24, 2020, which further 
amended Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code due 
to the COVID-19 public health emergency (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 46, Number 7). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the 
Emergency Rule adopted on June 24 2020. This Emergency 
Rule shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Act or the duration of the COVID-19 public health 
emergency declaration, whichever comes first. 

Effective October 23, 2020, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby amends Title 50 
of the Louisiana Administrative Code to continue the 
following provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on 
June 24, 2020 throughout the duration of the COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration: 

Medicaid Eligibility (LAC 50:III.Subpart 1) 
For the duration of the COVID-19 public health 

emergency declaration, the following requirements for 
coverage under the Medical Assistance Program (Medicaid) 
will be relaxed: 
§101.C. General Provisions—Hearings 

The 30 day requirement for the applicant and enrollee to 
request a fair hearing shall be waived. 

Applicants and enrollees must request a fair hearing 
within 120 days of the date of the adequate and/or timely 
decision notice issued by the Medicaid Program or its 
designee. 
§301. Asset Verification Program - General Provisions 

Asset verification for aged, blind, and disabled applicants 
will be performed through a post-eligibility review following 
the certification. 
Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Medicaid 

Programs 
The department shall provide coverage under the Medical 

Assistance Program for uninsured individuals described at 
section 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XXIII) and 1902(ss) of the Social 
Security Act as follows: 

In accordance with section 1902(a)(10)(XVIII) of the 
Social Security Act, the medical assistance made available to 
uninsured individuals (as defined in subsection 1902(ss)) 
eligible for medical assistance only because of subparagraph 
(A)(ii)(XXIII) is limited to medical assistance for any in 
vitro diagnostic product described in section 1905(a)(3)(B) 
administered during the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration (and the administration of such product) and any 
visit described in section 1916(a)(2)(G) furnished during the 
emergency period. 

Services for Special Populations—Hospice Recipient 
Eligibility—Waiver of Payment for Other Services  

(LAC 50:XV.3503) 
During the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration, the department waives the provisions requiring 
daily visits by the hospice provider to all clients under the 
age of 21 in order to facilitate continued care while 
maintaining the safety of staff and beneficiaries. Visits will 
still be completed based on clinical need of the beneficiary 
and family, and availability of staff as requested by the 
family. The use of telemedicine visits as an alternative is 
allowed. 
Medical Transportation Program—Emergency Medical 

Transportation—Ground Transportation 
Reimbursement (LAC 50:XXVII.325) 

For the duration of the COVID-19 public health 
emergency declaration, reimbursement will be allowed for 
ambulance providers for allowable services on site without 
transport. Services provided by the ambulance provider shall 
be within established treatment protocols, under the direct 
supervision of a licensed physician. 

Pharmacy—Copayment and Maximum Quantity  
LAC 50:XXIX.111 and 119) 

During the period of state or federal declared emergency, 
member co-pays may be waived and select pharmacy edits 
may be revised to encourage recipients to get all necessary 
maintenance medications during one pharmacy visit. 

Members are able to start receiving up to a 90-day supply, 
as appropriate, of maintenance medications that are not 
controlled substances. These include cardiovascular drugs 
(hypertension, coronary artery disease, thrombosis), diabetes 
drugs, respiratory drugs (inhaled and oral), contraceptives, 
antiretrovirals, direct-acting antivirals for hepatitis C, 
immunosuppressives, antipsychotics, and antidepressants, 
among others. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 
Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#043 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapists (LAC 46:LX.3503) 

The Louisiana Department of Health, Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners has exercised 
the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, specifically R.S. 49:953(B), to rescind rules relative to 
the Practice of Mental Health Counseling, specifically a line 
in §3503.C.2. which requires Continuing Education Hours to 
not be accrued in an online format. The LPCBE finds an 
imminent danger to the public’s health, safety, and welfare; 
thereby, requiring the immediate adoption of this rule to 
respond to the Covid-19 health emergency. The following 
Emergency Rule, effective October 7, 2020, shall remain in 
effect for a maximum of 120 days. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS REVISED 
Part LX.  Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 

Examiners 
Subpart 1.  Licensed Professional Counselors 

Chapter 35. Renewal of License for Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapists 

§3503. Continuing Education Requirements for 
Provisional Licensed Professional Counselors 

A. - C.1. … 
2. An LMFT may obtain the 40 clock hours of 

continuing education through the options listed: 
2.a. - 3.g. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:160 (February 2003), repromulgated LR 29:581 
(April 2003), amended LR 29:2789 (December 2003), LR 41:752 
(April 2015), LR 46: 

 
Jamie S. Doming 
Executive Director 

2010#033 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Correction 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Class I-E Permit (LAC 55:IX:Chapter 1) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, has exercised the 
emergency provision in accordance with R.S. 49:953(B), the 
Administrative Procedure Act, to amend LAC 55:IX.Chapter 
1, as authorized by R.S. 40:1846. Furthermore, the Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Commission, hereafter referred to as the 
“Commission”, has found an immediate need to adopt 
amendments to create an additional Class I permit, the Class 
I-E permit, the provisions of which are applicable to 
emergencies and/or disasters. 

In August and September 2020, President Donald J. 
Trump declared a State of Emergency in Louisiana due to 
the devastation caused by Hurricane Laura and its aftermath. 
Concurrently, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a State 
of Emergency in Louisiana for the same reasons. 
Furthermore, President Donald J. Trump invoked the 
Stafford Act and declared a national emergency regarding 
Hurricane Laura and its aftermath, which has caused 
destruction and devastation to the lives and property of 
Louisiana residents. As such, the residual effects of the 
storm present a substantial risk to the health, safety and 
welfare of a significant number of citizens in our state. Many 
people were forced to evacuate their homes and businesses, 
including numerous individuals who own, operate, and work 
in the liquefied petroleum gas trade, commonly known as 
the propane industry. From dealers whose businesses are 
currently inoperable to displaced employees who delivered 
propane and serviced tanks, the industry now faces a 
shortage in the workforce. 

Liquefied petroleum gas, also referred to as propane or 
butane, is an efficient energy source used in home and water 
heating appliances and cooking equipment such as stoves 
and grills. In times of emergencies and/or disasters, it is also 
used to operate generators and power temporary/transient 
housing, such as FEMA trailers. Therefore, it is an imminent 
peril to the public health, safety and welfare that the industry 
supply the necessary propane needed to fulfill the supply and 
demand necessitated at this time. Due to the shortage of 
personnel, it is crucial to permit additional, qualified 
individuals from other jurisdictions. 

In particular, the Emergency Rule amends LAC 
55:IX.Chapter 1, Section 107, to permit nonresidents in 
other jurisdictions to enter any phase of the liquefied 
petroleum gas business during an emergency and/or disaster, 
only after the Commission has reached a reciprocal 
agreement with the liquefied petroleum gas regulating 
authority of the state in which the permit applicant resides. 
The Class I-E permit is an exception to the Class I permit, as 
it omits the requirement that holders of the permit provide a 
storage capacity for liquefied petroleum gas of not less than 
15,000 gallons in one location, under fence, located within 
the dealer trade area within the state of Louisiana. It also 
excludes the requirement that the permit holder show 
evidence of ownership of the storage tank, or in the 
alternative, a bona fide lease of five years minimum. This 
requirement is not applicable due to the fact that the Class I-
E permit is only valid during an emergency and/or disaster 
and is issued for a period of 90 days. However, the permit 
may be renewed, prior to its expiration date, during the 
course of the emergency and/or disaster that it was initially 
applied for.  

The adoption of this Rule on an emergency basis is also 
necessary due to the hazardous components of liquefied 
petroleum gas, which are flammable mixtures of 
hydrocarbon. As a result of the storm, many propane tanks 
may have been dislodged or flooded. In haste to evacuate, 
some may have failed to shut off the main gas supply valve 
to their homes or on propane tanks. In addition, water and 
debris may have inundated regulators and controls, causing 
potential safety issues, requiring a qualified propane dealer 
or service technician to inspect the propane system to ensure
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it is leak free. Fallen trees and power lines can create further 
safety concerns. The Commission finds that an imminent 
peril to the public health, safety and welfare requires 
adoption of this Rule. The Emergency Rule was adopted and 
became effective September 8, 2020, upon the signature of 
the agency head, John W. Alario, Executive Director. It shall 
remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act, 120 days, or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part IX.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Chapter 1. General Requirements 
Subchapter A. New Dealers 
§103. Definitions 

A. The following terms, as used in this Part, have the 
meanings listed below. 

* * * 
Disaster˗˗the result of a natural or man-made event 

which causes loss of life, injury, and property damage, 
including but not limited to natural disasters such as a 
hurricane, tornado, storm, flood, high winds, and other 
weather related events, forest and marsh fires, and man-
made disasters, including but not limited to nuclear power 
plant incidents, hazardous materials incidents, oil spills, 
explosion, civil disturbances, public calamity, acts of 
terrorism, hostile military action, and other events related 
hereto. 

* * * 
Emergency—the actual or threatened condition which has 

been or may be created by a disaster or; any natural or man-
made event which results in an interruption in the delivery of 
utility services to any consumer of such services and which 
affects the safety, health, or welfare of a Louisiana resident; 
or  

a. any instance in which a utility’s property is 
damaged and such damage creates a dangerous condition to 
the public; 

b. any national or state emergency, including acts of 
terrorism or a congressional authorization or presidential 
declaration pursuant to the War Powers Resolution (50 
U.S.C. 1541 et seq.). 

* * * 
State of Emergency or Disaster—any event declared by 

the governor of the state by his authority under the 
"Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Assistance 
and Disaster Act" under R.S. 29:721 et seq. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
24:459 (March 1998), LR 29:2508 (November 2003), LR 31:2556 
(October 2005), LR 33:1139 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, 
LR 36:2571 (November 2010), LR 38:1255 (May 2012), LR 46: 
§107. Requirements 

A. Before any permit or registration may be issued from 
the office of the director; all applicants shall have complied 
with or agree to comply with the applicable requirements as 
follows: 

1. Shall deposit filing fee of $100 for Class I, I-E, IV 
and VI; $50 for class VI-X and $25 for all remaining 
permits. This fee shall accompany the application. 

2. - 5.b.  … 
c. Each location of Class I, Class I-E, Class VI and 

Class VIII dealers, which fill DOT specification cylinders of 
200 lbs. or less, liquefied petroleum gas capacity, that are in 
commerce or transportation, shall provide a suitable 
weighing device (scales). 

6. Applicants shall have paid a permit fee in the 
amount of $150, and Class III which shall be $500 and R-1, 
R-2 registrations, which shall be $37.50 and Class VI-X 
shall be in the amount of $150 for each location. ‘For fiscal 
year 2014-2015, and for each subsequent fiscal year, the 
permit fee shall be 0.1369 of 1 percent of annual gross sales 
of liquefied petroleum gas with a minimum of $150 for each 
location. For classes not selling liquefied petroleum gases in 
succeeding years the permit fee shall be $150, except 
registrations shall be $37.50 per year. 

6.a. - 10. … 
11. Applicants for change of name shall deposit a filing 

fee of $25 with a formal application for a name change. The 
office of the director shall administratively grant the name 
change after all commission requirements are met. The 
commission shall ratify the name change at the next 
commission meeting after which a minimum of 20 days have 
elapsed since the administrative granting of the name 
change. A representative of the new firm or corporation shall 
be required to be present when the application is ratified by 
the commission, except in the cases of Class VI-X, and R-1 
and R-2 registrations, when appearance is waived. All 
certificates of competency shall be changed to new name, 
except Class VI-X which does not require certificates of 
competency. 

12. … 
13. The commission shall grant Class I and Class I-E 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas permits to nonresident applicants 
only after the commission has reached a reciprocal 
agreement with the Liquefied Petroleum Gas regulating 
authority of the state in which the applicant resides. 

14. - 15. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, LR 1:315 (July 1975), LR 4:86 (March 
1978), LR 7:633 (December 1981), amended by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 11:557 (May 1985), LR 15:854 (October 1989), 
LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 20:1400 (December 1994), LR 
24:461 (March 1998), LR 24:2311 (December 1998), LR 25:1262 
(July 1999), LR 25:2410 (December 1999), LR 26:1487 (July 
2000), LR 27:2256 (December 2001), LR 28:2553 (December 
2002), LR 29:2509 (November 2003), LR 31:2567 (October 2005), 
LR 33:1140 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, LR 35:2201 
(October 2009), LR 35:2465 (November 2009), LR 38:1256 (May 
2012), LR 41:395 (February 2015), LR 42:427 (March 2016), LR 
42:1671 (October 2016), LR 43:967 (May 2017), LR 46:188 
(February 2020), LR 46: 
§109. Compliance with Rules 

A. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, rules 
and regulations is a mandatory requirement for all permit 
holders. 
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B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
11:557 (May 1985), LR 25:2411 (December 1999), LR 31:2567 
(October 2005), LR 38:1259 (May 2012), LR 46:188 (February 
2020), LR 46: 
§111. Re-Application 

A. Any person, firm or corporation who has made 
application for a permit to enter the liquefied petroleum gas 
business and whose request for permit has been denied, may 
resubmit a permit application 90 days after the date of 
denial, with the exception of a Class I-E permit application. 
Any person, firm or corporation who has made application 
for a Class I-E permit to enter the liquefied petroleum gas 
business and whose request for permit has been denied, may 
resubmit a permit application any time during the same 
disaster and/or emergency that the initial permit application 
was submitted to the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, LR 7:633 (December 1981), LR 38 1259 
(May 2012), LR 46: 
§113. Classes of Permits and Registrations 

A. - A.1.f. … 
2. Class I-E. Holders of these permits may enter any 

phase of the liquefied petroleum gas business. These permits 
shall only be granted during an emergency and/or disaster. 
These permits are valid for 90 days from the date of 
issuance. Permits may be renewed prior to the expiration 
date of the permit during the course of the emergency and/or 
disaster that it was initially applied for. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 coverage per: 
 i. products; 
 ii. manufacturers and contractors; and 
 iii. automobile liability. 

b. Where fuel is used direct from cargo tank, an 
approved valve with proper excess flow device shall be 
used. Connector to vehicle's engine shall be approved for 
such use and protected from mechanical injury. 

c. No truck shall be parked on a street or highway at 
night in any city, town, or village, except for the purpose of 
serving a customer. 

d. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

e. The name of the dealer shall appear on all tank 
trucks, storage tank sites, and/or advertising being used by 
the dealer. At consumer premises, where the tank or the 
container is owned by the dealer, the dealer’s name shall be 
affixed. This requirement is considered met if documentation 
is provided, upon demand, that the dealer’s name was 
affixed at the time of installation. Consumer premises 
requirement is not retroactive. 

3. Class II. Holders of these permits may install and 
service liquefied petroleum gas containers, piping, and 
appliances but shall not sell nor deliver gas with this permit. 
This class is also applicable to the installation and service of 

liquefied petroleum gas containers, piping, and appliances 
on mobile homes, modular homes, manufactured homes, 
motor homes, travel trailers homes or any other recreational 
vehicles. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 coverage per: 
 i. products; 
 ii. manufacturers and contractors; and 
 iii. motor vehicle liability. 

b. Louisiana manufacturers and dealers of mobile 
homes, manufactured homes, modular homes, motor homes, 
travel trailers, or any recreational vehicles shall comply with 
all state and federal safety standards and perform all safety 
tests on mobile homes, modular homes, manufacture homes, 
motor homes, travel trailers, or any recreational vehicles 
using liquefied petroleum gas. 

c. Upon delivery of a mobile home, manufactured 
homes, modular homes, motor home, travel trailer, or any 
other recreational vehicle, new or used, the required 
installation report and inspection and testing of any liquefied 
petroleum gas system and appliances shall be performed by 
the dealer or any entity performing functions as a dealer 
using liquefied petroleum gas in the system. An installation 
report properly completed and signed by the customer or 
his/her authorized representative shall be sent to the office of 
the director verifying that the tests were performed and that 
the test was eye witnessed by the customer or his/her 
authorized representative. 

d. The mobile home, manufactured homes, modular 
homes or recreational vehicle dealer or entity performing 
functions as a dealer shall have a permit with this 
commission and is responsible to this commission to make 
the required installation report, perform the required 
inspection and safety tests, or make arrangements for it to be 
made by a qualified permit holder. 

e. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

4. Class III. Brokers/Special Vendors. Holders of these 
permits may purchase liquefied petroleum gas only from 
dealers who hold a valid liquefied petroleum gas permit and 
resell the aforementioned purchased liquefied petroleum gas 
product to end users utilizing floor maintenance machines 
and/or industrial trucks (forklifts) on their premises. Holders 
of these permits shall not deliver gas or engage in repairing 
liquefied petroleum gas containers or systems. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products liability coverage. 

b. Shall submit a completed “location approval 
form” for each physical location being served, with a 
handling fee of $150 for each location being served. 

c. Compliance with all other statutes, rules and 
regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

d. Shall provide 24-hour emergency contact 
information at each liquefied petroleum gas storage location. 
The person deemed the emergency contact shall have basic 
knowledge regarding liquefied petroleum gas emergencies 
and shall maintain contact information per the servicing 
liquefied petroleum gas supplier. 

e. The Class III permit holder shall post the 
servicing liquefied petroleum gas supplier’s name (name on 
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Louisiana liquefied petroleum gas permit) at each liquefied 
petroleum gas storage site and each end user’s location. 

5. Class IV. Resellers (Wholesalers). Holders of these 
permits may deliver and transport liquefied petroleum gas 
over the highways of the state; may sell liquefied petroleum 
gases only to manufacturers of liquefied petroleum gases, or 
manufacturers of products which liquefied petroleum gases 
form a component part, or to dealers who hold a permit with 
this commission; utilize aboveground steel storage and/or 
approved salt dome, shale and other underground caverns for 
the storage of liquefied petroleum gases; do general 
maintenance work on their equipment, using qualified 
personnel, but shall not sell or install systems and 
appliances. 

a. Shall furnish evidence of general liability 
insurance in the minimum sum of $1,000,000 coverage per: 
 i. products; 
 ii. manufacturers and contractors; and 
 iii. automobile liability. 

b. The name of the dealer shall appear on all tank 
trucks which require registration with the commission and 
storage tank sites. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

6. Class V. Carburetion Permit. Holders of these 
permits may install equipment, including containers, and 
service liquefied petroleum gas equipment used on internal 
combustion engines. They shall not deliver liquefied 
petroleum gas. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per manufacturers and contractors liability 
coverage. 

b. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

7. Class VI. Holders of these permits may engage in 
the filling of approved cylinders and motor fuel tanks with 
liquefied petroleum gas on their premises, but shall not 
deliver gas. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products liability coverage. 

b. The name of the dealer shall appear on storage 
tank sites. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

8. Class VI-X. Holders of these permits may engage 
in the exchange of approved liquefied petroleum gas 
cylinders on their premises, but shall not fill cylinders. They 
shall not deliver gas. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products liability coverage. 

b. Any current Class VI permit holder may convert 
to a Class VI-X permit by filing formal application with the 
commission and submitting a $25 filing fee. Presence of the 
applicant at the commission meeting will be waived. Upon 
receipt of the application and filing fee, permit shall be 
issued. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

9. Class VII. Holders of these permits may transport 
liquefied petroleum gas by motor vehicle over the highways 
of the state of Louisiana but shall not sell product in the 
state.  

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per automobile liability coverage.  

b. Where fuel is used direct from cargo tank, an 
approved valve with proper excess flow device shall be 
used. Connector to vehicle's engine shall be approved for 
such use and protected from mechanical injury. 

c. No truck shall be parked on a street or highway at 
night in any city, town, or village, except for the purpose of 
serving a customer. 

d. The name of the dealer shall appear on all tank 
trucks which require registration with the commission. 

e. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

10. Reserved. 
11. Class VIII. Holders of these permits may store, 

transport and sell liquefied petroleum gas used solely in the 
cutting and metal working industry, sell and install piping 
and containers for those gases and engage in the filling of 
approved ASME tanks, ICC or DOT containers used in the 
metal working industry. 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products, manufacturers and contractors, and 
automobile liability coverage. 

b. The name of the dealer shall appear on all tank 
trucks which require registration with the commission and 
storage tank sites. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

12. Class IX. Holders of these permits may inspect, 
recertify and recondition DOT and ICC cylinders. They shall 
not sell or deliver liquefied petroleum gas or anhydrous 
ammonia. 

a. Holders of these permits shall obtain from DOT a 
retesters identification number, and provide proof of such to 
the commission. 

b. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products liability coverage.  

c. Holders of these permits shall provide drawing 
and description of equipment to be installed to retest 
cylinders. Drawing and description shall be submitted to the 
office of the director for his approval before installation. 

d. Holders of these permits shall maintain an 
accurate log of all cylinders that have been retested by date, 
size, manufacturer name, and serial number. The 
commission reserves the right to inspect such logs at any 
time through its representative. 

e. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations is a mandatory requirement. 

13. Registration 1 (R-1). Holders of these registrations 
shall be a person, firm, or corporation who is engaged in the 
business of plumbing and holds a master plumber's license 
issued by the state of Louisiana. They may install liquefied 
petroleum gas or anhydrous ammonia piping and make 
alterations or modifications to existing piping systems. 
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These registrations shall be issued by the office of the 
director upon meeting the applicable requirements of §107 
and the following: 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per manufacturers and contractors liability 
coverage. 

b. Compliance with the provisions of NFPA 
Pamphlet Number 54 (National Fuel Gas Code) and NFPA 
Number 58 (Standard for the Storing and Handling of 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas) and ANSI K 61.1-1989 is a 
mandatory requirement. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations of the commission is a mandatory 
requirement. 

14. Registration 2 (R-2). Holders of these registrations 
shall be a person, firm, or corporation engaged in the 
mechanical contracting business. They may install liquefied 
petroleum gas and/or anhydrous ammonia appliances and 
equipment, and make alterations or modifications to existing 
liquefied petroleum gas and/or anhydrous ammonia 
appliances and equipment. These registrations shall be 
issued by the office of the director upon meeting the 
applicable requirements of §107 and the following: 

a. Holders of these permits shall furnish evidence of 
general liability insurance in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000 per products and manufacturers and contractors 
liability coverage. 

b. Compliance with the provisions of NFPA 
Pamphlet Number 54 (National Fuel Gas Code) and NFPA 
Number 58 (Standard for the Storing and Handling of 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas) and ANSI K 61.1-1989 is a 
mandatory requirement. 

c. Compliance with all other applicable statutes, 
rules and regulations of the commission is a mandatory 
requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended and promulgated LR 3:315 
(July 1977), amended LR 7:633 (December 1981), LR 8:53 
(January 1982), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 11:557 
(May 1985), LR 12:841 (December 1986), LR 15:855 (October 
1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:904 (July 1993), LR 
20:1400 (December 1994), LR 21:701 (July 1995), LR 24:461 
(March 1998), LR 25:2411 (December 1999), LR 29:2509 
(November 2003), LR 33:1141 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, 
LR 38:1259 (May 2012), LR 41:395 (February 2015), LR 43:967 
(May 2017), LR 46:188 (February 2020), LR 46: 
Subchapter B. Dealers 
§119. Permit Fees 

A. All fees pursuant to R.S. 40:1849 shall be paid before 
a new permit will be issued each year, with the exception of 
a Class I-E permit. For a Class I-E permit, all fees shall be 
paid prior to a renewal permit being issued by the 
commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 38:1262 (May 2012), LR 46: 
§131. Compliance with Rules 

A. Compliance with all other statutes, rules and 
regulations will be required for all permit holders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
46: 

 
John W. Alario 
Executive Director 

2010#001 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Correctioins 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 

Fire-Resistant Material Applicators (LAC 55:V.Chapter 34) 

Notice is hereby given that the Louisiana Office of State 
Fire Marshal is adopting an emergency rule enacting LAC 
Title 55, Part V, Chapter 34, §3401 through §3429. The law 
which prompted the promulgation of these rules (La. R.S. 
40:1603) was adopted in the 2019 Legislative session.  It is 
necessary to have rules in place for the enforcement and 
penalties associated with fire-resistant material applicators 
for the protection and safety of the public and to establish 
accuracy concerning heat and flame protection.  These rules 
also explain the training and certification process for a 
person seeking a certificate of registration as a fire-resistant 
material applicator as required in R.S. 40:1603.  These rules 
ensure that those people conducting fire-resistant material 
application activities are properly trained, certified and 
registered which assures that the work was properly 
performed.  The emergency adoption of these rules will 
further safeguard the citizens and visitors present in 
commercial structures by ensuring that they are safe from 
fires.  As such, the Office of State Fire Marshal finds that an 
imminent peril to the public safety and welfare requires 
adoption of this Rule upon shorter notice than that provided 
in R.S. 49:953(A), as provided in R.S. 49:953(B)(1)(a).  This 
Emergency Rule is being proposed pursuant to the authority 
of the Office of State Fire Marshal contained in R.S. 40:1563 
and R.S. 40:1603. 

This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
953(B)(1) et seq., and becomes effective upon signature of 
the Undersecretary of the Louisiana Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, September 28, 2020, and shall 
remain in effect for 120 days, unless rescinded, renewed or 
until the permanent rules become effective. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part V.  Fire Protection  
Chapter 34. Fire-resistant Material Applicators 
§3401. Purpose 

A. The provisions of this Chapter are to establish the 
training, registration and certification requirements for fire-
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resistant material applicators. The requirements for the 
enforcement of these provisions are established by this 
chapter in the interest of protecting and preserving lives 
pursuant to authority of R.S. 40:1603. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3403. Administration  

A. The Office of State Fire Marshal, which administers 
the provisions of R.S. 40:1603, relating to fire-resistant 
material applicators, is located at 8181 Independence Blvd., 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3405. Applicability of Rules 

A. These rules shall apply to all persons engaged in the 
activity of fire-resistant material application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3407. Exceptions 

A. These rules shall not apply to firms that employ 
persons engaging in the activity of fire-resistant material 
application. The requirements only apply to the individual 
fire-resistant material applicators. 

These rules do not apply to any persons or firms engaged 
in the application of fire-stopping material. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3409. Notices by the State Fire Marshal 

A. Any notice required to be given by the Office of State 
Fire Marshal by any provision of law or these rules shall be 
provided as follows:  

1. personal or domiciliary service or mailed, postage 
prepaid, to the person's residence and/or firm address as it 
appears on the records in the Office of State Fire Marshal. It 
is the responsibility of the person involved to ensure that the 
Office of State Fire Marshal has a correct address for the 
person and firm; or 

2. electronic transmission or electronic mail (email) if 
the electronic transmission or email is retrievable in a 
perceivable form and the office and recipient have consented 
in writing to the use of such form of electronic transmission 
or email for purposes of notice or communication between 
the parties. It is the responsibility of the applicant or 
registered individual to ensure that the Office of State Fire 
Marshal has a correct email address for the person and firm. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 

§3411. Definitions 
A. The following words and terms, when used in these 

rules, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

Certificate of Registration—that document issued by the 
Office of State Fire Marshal to a person authorizing him or 
her to engage in fire-resistant material activity, certifying 
that he or she has obtained the appropriate training as 
required in R.S. 40:1603 and these rules. 

Digital Registration Identification—that electronic 
document provided by the Office of State Fire Marshal to a 
person registered to engage in fire-resistant material activity, 
with the ability to be displayed on a phone or other 
electronic device bearing a photographic image of the person 
and his or her name, evidencing the Office of State Fire 
Marshal’s authorization of the person to engage in the 
activities as defined by these rules. 

Fireproofing—the act of rendering an object, such as a 
structure or material, resistant to fire or incombustible via 
the application of a listed and approved fire-resistant 
material. 

Fire-Resistant Material—includes cementitious, fibrous 
and intumescent materials that are sprayed or applied onto a 
surface to provide fire-resistant protection of the substrate. 

Fire-Resistant Material Activity—the application or the 
act of applying fire-resistant material onto a surface to 
provide fire-resistant protection of the substrate. 

Fire-Resistant Material Applicator—an individual who 
applies fire-resistant material. 

Firestops or Fire-stopping material—a listed and 
approved material used as a form of passive fire protection 
that is utilized for sealing around openings and penetrations 
in fire-rated walls or flooring. The purpose of the utilization 
of firestops and/or fire-stopping material is to impede the 
spread of fire and smoke from one room or area to an 
adjacent room or area. Fire-resistant material is not included 
in this definition. 

Firm—a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, 
limited liability company, or any other entity that employs 
the individual fire-resistant material applicators. 

Office—the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
Person—a natural individual. 
Pocket Registration Card—that document issued by the 

Office to a person registered to engage in fire-resistant 
material activity, in pocket size and bearing a photographic 
image of the person and his or her name, evidencing the 
Office of State Fire Marshal’s authorization of the person to 
engage in the activities as defined by these rules. 

Substrate—an underlying material or layer of materials 
upon which other materials are applied, such as a fire-
resistant coating. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3413. Registration Required 

A. Any person engaged in fire-resistant material activity 
shall be registered in accordance with these rules prior to 
conducting any such activity in this state. Each person who
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is registered with the Office shall receive a certificate of 
registration and a pocket registration card or a digital 
registration identification.  

B. Any person described in Subsection A of this Section 
who has not registered with the Office shall immediately 
cease such fire-resistant material activities. The Office may 
take any steps necessary to enforce an order to cease and 
desist such activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3415. Required Training and Certification 

A. Required Certification  
1. Applicants for fire-resistant material applicator 

registration are required to meet the certification 
requirements pursuant to R.S. 40:1603 and these rules.  

B. Training and certification(s) acceptable to the Office 
shall include:  

1. training provided by the manufacturer(s) of the fire-
resistant spray materials specific to those that the 
applicator(s) will be utilizing. The applicant shall submit a 
copy of all relevant documentation, including training 
completion and certifications, to the office for verification of 
training provided by the manufacturer(s). If an individual 
applies fire-resistant spray material from multiple and/or 
varying manufacturers, the individual must have training and 
certification from each manufacturer. If an individual applies 
fire-resistant material of a manufacturer for which he or she 
has not received training and certification, that individual is 
considered unregistered and/or operating outside his 
certificate of registration and in violation of R.S. 40:1603 
and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3417. Initial Registration; Annual Renewals 

A. Applicants for individual initial registration are 
required to meet the initial registration requirements. As 
such, applications shall provide the following information: 

1. name; 
2. address; 
3. phone number; 
4. email address; 
5. firm name (if any); 
6. firm address;  
7. firm phone number; and 
8. copies of manufacturers’ training and/or 

certifications. 
B. Annual registration renewals required. On or before 

the expiration date, which is displayed on the certificate of 
registration, each person shall submit an application for the 
renewal of their certificate.  

C. Initial and renewal applications for certificates of 
registration shall be submitted on forms provided the Office 
of State Fire Marshal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 

§3419. Certificate of Registration 
A. Every person must obtain from the Office a certificate 

of registration as provided for by R.S. 40:1603, before 
engaging in fire-resistant material activity. 

B. The following shall apply to certificates of 
registration. 

1. Duplicates. A duplicate certificate or pocket 
registration card must be obtained from the Office to replace 
a lost or destroyed certificate or card. The certificate holder 
must submit written or electronic notification of the loss or 
destruction of the certificate within 10 days from the date of 
loss. 

2. Revisions/Changes. The change of a person’s name, 
mailing address, firm, firm address, phone number or email 
address requires a revision of the certificate of registration. 
Certificates requiring changes must be surrendered to the 
Office within 10 calendar days after the change requiring the 
revision. The person must submit written notification of the 
change with the surrendered certificate. 

3. Non-Transferability. A certificate of registration is 
not transferable from one person to another. 

4. Validity. A certificate of registration is valid for one 
year and shall be renewed annually. For a certificate of 
registration to remain valid, the person must provide current 
documentation of required information and training, as 
established by the Office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3421. Alteration of Certificates of Registration.  

A. Any alteration of a certificate of registration or pocket 
registration card renders both invalid and such alteration 
shall be the basis for administrative action in accordance 
with penalties set forth in R.S. 40:1603 and these rules.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3423. Enforcement; Investigations  

A. The state fire marshal or his/her designated 
representative shall investigate all complaints of alleged 
violations of R.S. 40:1603 and these rules. Complaints of 
alleged violations shall be made in writing to the Office of 
State Fire Marshal. The Office shall make available a 
complaint form to be used as needed. Penalties shall be 
administered to those persons found to have violated these 
laws and/or rules. Proposed administrative penalty letters 
provided to violators in accordance with these rules shall act 
as official notification of alleged violations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3425. Administrative Actions 

A. The State Fire Marshal may refuse the issuance or 
renewal of, suspend, or revoke a certificate of registration 
and impose administrative penalties, if, after notice and 
hearing, as provided for by the Administrative Procedure 
Act, it is found that a person failed to comply with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:1603 or these rules.  
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1. Offenses 
a. Any person applying fire-resistant material who 

is not registered with the Office shall be fined up to $250 per 
violation. 

b. Any person who does not receive the required 
training and/or does not obtain a certificate of registration in 
accordance with R.S. 40:1603 and these rules shall be fined 
up to two hundred-fifty ($250.00) per violation. 

c. Any person who continues to engage in fire 
resistant material activity and fails to annually register, 
herein referred to as renewing, shall be fined up to $250 per 
violation. 

d. Any person subject to R.S. 40:1603 who fails to 
maintain his or her registration in accordance with R.S. 
40:1603 and these rules shall be fined up $250 per violation.  

B. Fines shall be made payable to the Office of State Fire 
Marshal.  

C. The Office is empowered to issue an order to any 
person or firm engaged in any activity, conduct, or practice 
constituting a violation of any provision of R.S. 40:1603, 
directing such person or firm to cease and desist from such 
activity, conduct, or practice without a certificate of 
registration. Such order shall be issued in the name of the 
state of Louisiana under the official seal of the State Fire 
Marshal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3427. Severability 

A. If any provision of these rules or the application 
thereof to a person is held invalid for any reason, the 
invalidity shall not affect the other provisions or any other 
application of these rules which can be given effect without 
the invalid provisions or application. To this end, all 
provisions of these rules are declared to be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 
§3429. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. Nothing in these rules shall prevent an appropriately-
registered person from conducting the activity of fire-
resistant material application. 

B. Service Invoices. All service invoices shall reflect all 
fire-resistant material application activity, date the work was 
performed, the name of the employing firm and the name of 
the certified person(s) who performed the work. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1563 and R.S. 40:1603. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 
46: 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

2010#012 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay Rebate Program 
(LAC 61:I.1919) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953 (B), notice is 
hereby given that the Department of Revenue 
(“Department”) is, by Emergency Rule, adopting LAC 
61:I.1919. The purpose of this regulation is to administer 
and implement, on an emergency basis, the provisions of Act 
No. 12 of the 2020 First Extraordinary Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. This Emergency Rule revokes the 
previous Emergency Rule issued on July 13, 2020, and shall 
be effective September 16, 2020 and continue in effect for 
120 days, unless renewed or revoked. This Emergency Rule 
modifies Section 1919(F)(3) to reduce the reserved 
allocation of funds for paper applications from 25 percent 
($12,500,000) to 2 percent ($1,000,000) and is based on the 
quantity of paper applications received by the Department 
since inception of the Frontline Workers COVID-10 Hazard 
Pay Rebate Program.  

The promulgation of this Rule on an emergency basis is 
necessary to avoid sanctions or penalties from the United 
States Government under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic and Security Act (the “CARES Act”). The 
CARES Act established the Coronavirus Relief Fund (the 
“Fund”) and Louisiana received over $1.8 billion from the 
Fund. The Louisiana Legislature has authorized the 
utilization of $50 million of the CARES Act funding to 
provide a one-time hazard pay rebate for essential critical 
infrastructure workers. The CARES Act provides that 
payments from the Fund may only be used for COVID-19 
related expenses and the United States Treasury has issued 
Guidance for State, Local and Tribal Governments providing 
Treasury’s interpretation on the permissible uses of the Fund 
(the “Guidance”). In accordance with the Guidance and the 
Coronavirus Relief Fund Frequently Asked Questions 
Updated as of July 8, 2020, any program created using 
monies from the Fund should be administered in a manner 
that satisfies the requirements of the CARES Act and 
maintain records sufficient to demonstrate the monies have 
been used in accordance with Section 601(d) of the Social 
Security Act. Any State not utilizing the funding in 
accordance with the CARES Act and Guidance is subject to 
a repayment requirement.  

This Emergency Rule provides for the administration and 
implementation of Act No. 12 to provide the $50 million 
from the Fund is timely and efficiently distributed to 
Louisiana’s frontline workers during an application window 
of July 15 to October 31, 2020 in accordance with the 
CARES Act and the Guidance. Absent utilization of the 
emergency rule process, the time delay in the rulemaking 
procedures of R.S. 49:953(A) would render this program 
obsolete because adoption and promulgation would not 
occur until after the program’s application period ends.
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Authorization for promulgation of this rule on an emergency 
basis is hereby deemed necessary by the Secretary of 
Revenue as legislatively delegated to her by R.S. 
51:1787(K)(6). 

Under the authority of R.S. 51:1787(K)(6) and 47:1511 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, adopts LAC 61:I.1919 
regarding the Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay 
Rebate Program. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, Credits 
and Deductions 

§1919. Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay 
Rebate Program 

A. General Description. Act 12 of the 2020 First 
Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides 
for a one-time hazard pay rebate for essential critical 
infrastructure workers as those terms are defined in the 
enabling legislation.  

B. Definitions 
Assistants and Aides—assistants and aides providing 

services in the medical and healthcare fields  
Department—the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 
In-Person Services—services provided on the frontline 

within Louisiana where the worker was in contact with 
customers, patients, or the general public and shall not 
include call center personnel or persons whose job is 
conducted exclusively via telephone, computer, or other 
remote or virtual means.  

Rebate—one-time hazard pay rebate as defined by Act 
12. 

Rebate Program—the Frontline Workers COVID-19 
Hazard Pay Rebate Program. 

Storage and Disposal Personnel—storage and disposal 
personnel providing services related to residential, 
commercial, and industrial solid waste and hazardous waste. 

Workers—essential critical infrastructure workers as 
defined by Act 12. 

Worker’s Residence—any residence or other dwelling 
occupied by the worker, including the worker’s primary 
residence. 

C. Eligibility 
1. The Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay 

Rebate Program provides a one-time $250 rebate for 
applicants who meet all of the following eligibility 
requirements: 

a. the applicant is determined to be an essential 
critical infrastructure worker as that term is defined by the 
federal Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency 
(CISA) in its publication "Guidance on the Essential Critical 
Infrastructure Workforce: Ensuring Community and National 
Resilience in COVID-19 Response Version 3.1"; 

b. the applicant was employed in at least one of the 
following jobs on or after March 11, 2020: 
 i. nurses, assistants, aides, medical residents, 
pharmacy staff, phlebotomists, respiratory therapist, and 
workers providing direct patient care in inpatient and 
outpatient dialysis facilities;  

 ii. housekeeping, laundry services, food services 
and waste management personnel in hospitals and healthcare 
facilities;  
 iii. long-term care facility personnel, outpatient 
care workers, home care workers, personal assistance 
providers, home health providers, home delivered meal 
providers, and childcare service providers;  
 iv. emergency medical services (EMS) personnel, 
fire and rescue personnel, law enforcement personnel, and 
public health epidemiologists; 
 v. bus drivers; retail fuel service personnel; 
sanitation personnel; residential, commercial and industrial 
solid waste and hazardous waste removal personnel; storage 
and disposal personnel; 
 vi. grocery store, convenience store, and food 
assistance program personnel; 
 vii. mortuary service providers; or  
 viii. veterinary service staff; and 

c. the applicant was required to provide in-person 
services outside of the worker’s residence substantially 
dedicated to responding to or mitigating the COVID-19 
public health emergency for at least 200 hours during the 
period from March 22, 2020, through May 14, 2020. 

2. Only applicants whose adjusted gross income is 
$50,000 or less are eligible for the rebate. For purposes of 
this requirement, the adjusted gross income on the 
applicant’s 2019 income tax return shall be used. If the 
applicant has not filed his or her 2019 income tax return, the 
adjusted gross income from the applicant’s 2018 income tax 
return shall be used.  

3. If the applicant is employed in one of the 
enumerated jobs in Subparagraph C.1.b above and worked at 
least 200 hours outside his or her residence during the period 
between March 22, 2020, and May 14, 2020, the applicant 
shall be presumed to have been responding to or mitigating 
the COVID-19 public health emergency. 

a. This presumption shall be rebuttable by evidence 
or documentation obtained from the applicant’s employer. 

4. To the extent possible, the department shall rely 
upon definitions in the CISA guidance of the enumerated 
jobs listed in Subparagraph C.1.b of this Section. However, 
when no definition is provided, the department shall apply a 
broad, definitional approach giving words their common, 
generally understood meaning for purposes of determining 
applicant eligibility. 

5. The representative of the estate of any worker who 
met all rebate eligibility requirements, but who died before 
applying for the rebate, shall be allowed to claim the benefit 
on behalf of the worker.  

D. Application  
1. The department shall receive applications for the 

rebate between July 15, 2020, and October 31, 2020, on 
Form R-6186, Frontline Workers COVID-19 Hazard Pay 
Rebate Application. 

2. Applicants may apply either electronically by 
utilizing a portal on the department’s website or by 
submitting a paper form to the department.  

3. If an applicant files both or more than one electronic 
and paper application, the application received first by the 
department shall be reviewed for eligibility purposes, and 
the second and subsequent applications received by the 
department shall be denied. 
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4. If an applicant does not complete the application in 
its entirety, the department shall notify the applicant of the 
deficiencies by mail. The applicant shall have 30 calendar 
days from the date of the department’s notification to correct 
the deficiencies. If the applicant fails to respond during the 
30-day window, the application shall be denied.  

5. The department may consult with Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development or the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission to verify information provided on 
the application. The applicant shall certify on the application 
that information contained in the files or records of the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission may be shared with the 
department.  

6. Applications for the rebate shall be considered a 
report filed for purposes of R.S. 47:1565. Applications and 
applicant submitted documentation are the records and files 
of the Secretary of the Department of Revenue and are 
subject to the confidentiality provisions of R.S. 47:1508. 

7. The department may request additional information 
from an applicant to determine eligibility. A request for 
additional information shall not impact or change the 
application’s received date for purposes of administration of 
the rebate program cap if the applicant provides the 
requested information within 30 calendar days from date of 
the department’s request letter.  

E. Payment and Offset of the Rebate  
1. Payment of the Rebate 

a. after review and verification of the application, 
payment of the rebate shall be made by direct deposit if bank 
account and routing information is provided with the 
application and verified in the Department’s record. 
Otherwise, the payment shall be made by paper check.  

b. The rebate shall only be direct deposited into a 
bank account on which the applicant is a named account 
holder. 

2. Offset of the Rebate 
a. After consultation with the Department of 

Children and Family Services, the department shall offset 
the rebate for any delinquent child support payments.  

b. The department shall also offset the rebate for 
any reported delinquent spousal support payments.  

c. The department shall not offset the rebate for any 
outstanding tax liabilities or other outstanding judgments or 
liabilities reported to the department. Creditors and banks 
shall take reasonable steps to ensure rebates are not seized 
pursuant to existing judgments and orders. 

F. Limitations on the Rebate Program. The rebate 
program is subject to a $50,000,000 program cap. Additional 
rebates beyond the $50,000,000 may be paid if monies are 
made available and the Joint Legislative Committee on the 
Budget approves payment of additional rebates.  

2. The cap shall be administered on a first-come, first-
served basis based upon the date that the department is in 
receipt of the application. Applications received on the day 
the cap is reached shall be paid in the order in which the 
applications were received and the rebates shall not be 
prorated. 

a. For electronic applications, the receipt date shall 
be the date the application is submitted through the 
department’s website. 

b. For paper applications mailed via the U.S. Postal 
Service, the receipt date shall be the postmark date as shown 
on the envelope containing the paper application.  

c. For paper applications transmitted via common 
carrier, the receipt date shall be the date the application is 
delivered to the department.  

3. Two percent of the cap, or $1,000,000, shall be 
reserved for rebate claims filed on paper applications. If the 
entire $1,000,000 is not utilized to pay rebate claims filed by 
paper applications received on or before October 31, 2020, 
the remaining available amount shall be used to pay any 
remaining rebate claims received by electronically submitted 
applications which have not been paid because the 
remaining $49,000,000 cap has been exhausted.  

4. In the event additional rebates over the $50,000,000 
program cap are made available and the Joint Legislative 
Committee on the Budget approves payment of additional 
rebates, rebate claims previously denied due to the 
attainment of the $50,000,000 cap shall take priority and be 
issued in order of the date that the department received the 
application. In this event, applicants shall not be required to 
submit a subsequent application.  

G. Recapture of the Rebate 
1. In accordance with R.S. 47:1561.2, rebates 

previously granted to an applicant, but later disallowed, may 
be recovered by the secretary of the Department of Revenue 
through any collection remedy authorized by R.S. 47:1561 
and initiated within three years from December 31 of the 
year in which the rebate was paid or to assess or to collect 
under any other provision of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and R.S. 51:1787(K). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 46: 

 
Kimberly Lewis Robinson 
Secretary 

2010#006 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of State 
Elections Division 

Opportunity to Cure Deficiencies in Absentee  
by Mail Ballots (LAC 31:I:Chapter 3) 

The Louisiana Department of State has exercised the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
specifically R.S. 18:18(A)(3) and R.S. 36:742, the Louisiana 
Department of State, Elections Division, is requesting 
Emergency Rules, which will add language to Part I, 
Chapter 3. The added chapter will allow a procedure for 
absentee by mail ballot envelope flaps with deficiencies to 
be cured. An Emergency Rule is necessary so that a 
procedure may be provided for curing absentee by mail 
ballot envelope flaps with deficiencies prior to the 
November 3, 2020 and December 5, 2020 elections. A prior 
rule of a similar nature was made effective on June 15, 2020, 
and will expire on October 12, 2020. This Emergency Rule, 
in effect, renews the prior rule for 120 days to include the
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November 3, 2020 and December 5, 2020 election days. 
Only provisions relating to the July 11, 2020 and August 15, 
2020 election have been removed. The absence of such a 
procedure creates an imminent peril to the welfare of the 
citizens of Louisiana and their right to vote, thereby making 
this emergency rule necessary. This Emergency Rule shall 
have the force and effect of law on October 12, 2020, and 
will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed by the 
Department of State, or until permanent rules are 
promulgated in accordance with law.  

Title 31 
ELECTIONS 

Part I.  Election Process 
Chapter 3. Opportunity to Cure Deficiencies in 

Absentee by Mail Ballots 
§301. Absentee by Mail Ballot Deficiencies that May 

be Cured 
A. Each registrar of voters shall review the absentee by 

mail ballot envelope flap for the following deficiencies:  
1. missing voter signature;  
2. missing witness signature; and  
3. incomplete affidavit information, including but not 

limited to missing election date and voter information.  
B. This review shall be conducted immediately upon 

receipt of the absentee by mail ballot.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

18:18(A)(3) and R.S. 36:742. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

State, Elections Division, LR 46: 
§303. Absentee Ballot Deficiency Notification 

A. Upon receipt of an absentee by mail ballot envelope 
flap with one or more of the above identified deficiencies, 
the registrar of voters shall segregate the ballot envelope and 
promptly notify the voter of the ballot envelope flap 
deficiency and of the opportunity to cure the deficiency.  

B. The registrar of voters shall identify the ballot in the 
voter’s absentee record and notate it as “deficient with 
opportunity to cure.”  

C. The registrar shall contact the voter using the 
telephone number and email address available in the voter’s 
registration record. The registrar shall also mail a written 
notice of the ballot envelope flap deficiency and the 
opportunity to cure the deficiency.  

D. All deficiency notifications shall inform the voter of 
the type of deficiency, the process for curing the deficiency, 
and the deadline and method to cure the deficiency. The 
registrar shall make a log of the date and methods of contact 
for each voter. 

E. Voters are required to appear in person at their 
registrar of voters office during normal business hours until 
4:30 p.m. the day before the election to cure the ballot 
envelope flap deficiency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:18(A)(3) and R.S. 36:742. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 46: 
§305. Curing Absentee by Mail Ballot Deficiencies 

A. To cure a missing voter signature, the voter shall 
appear at the office of the registrar and sign the ballot 
envelope flap in the presence of an employee of the registrar 
of voters. The employee of the registrar who observes the 
signature shall also sign the ballot envelope flap as witness. 

B. To cure a missing witness signature, the voter shall 
appear at the office of the registrar and resign the ballot 
envelope flap in the presence of an employee of the registrar 
of voters. The employee of the registrar who observes the 
signature shall sign the ballot envelope flap as witness. 

C. To cure an incomplete affidavit, the voter shall appear 
at the office of the registrar and complete the affidavit on the 
ballot envelope flap.  

D. If the voter appears at the office of the registrar to 
cure the deficiency, the notation in the voter’s absentee 
record shall be updated to so reflect.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:18(A)(3) and R.S. 36:742.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
State, Elections Division, LR 46: 

 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 

2010#073 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Extension of the Alligator Hunting Season (LAC 
76:V.701)The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has 

historically set a 30-day Alligator Hunting Season beginning 
the last Wednesday of August in the east zone and the first 
Wednesday in September in the west zone. The Commission 
has authorized the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries to close, extend, delay, or reopen the season as 
biologically justifiable. Recognizing a desire to provide for 
additional opportunity for hunters and greater flexibility for 
tag holders, and that alligator harvest is strictly regulated 
based upon habitat and biological factors, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission took action to extend the alligator 
hunting season from 30 to 60 days at its May 7, 2020 
meeting and published the Notice of Intent in the June 
edition of the Louisiana Register. However, that rule will not 
be final before the current 30-day season ends. The secretary 
hereby exercises his authority to modify the season to be 
consistent with the intention of the commission’s action and 
extend the current season from 30 to 60 days. 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953(H) 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to employ 
emergency procedures to promulgate rules and regulations 
relative to hunting seasons and all rules and regulations 
pursuant thereto, R.S. 56:115 and 56:259 which provide that 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set seasons and 
establish associated rules and regulations for hunting 
alligator, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rule amending the 
Alligator Hunting Season dates for the 2020 season: 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds 
Chapter 7. Alligators 
§701. Alligator Regulations 

A - A.6.f.vii. … 
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7. Open Season, Open Areas, and Quotas 
a. Open seasons are as follows. 

 i. The state shall be divided into the east and west 
alligator hunting zones by the following boundary: 
beginning at the southwestern most part of Point Au Fer 
Island thence north along the western boundary of 
Terrebonne Parish to the Atchafalaya River, thence north 
along the Atchafalaya River to the East Atchafalaya 
Protection Levee, thence north along the East Atchafalaya 
Protection Levee, to Interstate 10, thence east along 
Interstate 10 to Interstate 12, thence east along Interstate 12 
to Interstate 55, thence north along Interstate 55 to the 
Mississippi state line. The season for taking alligators in the 
wild shall open on the last Wednesday of August in the east 
zone and the first Wednesday of September in the west zone 
and will remain open for 60 days thereafter in each zone. 
The secretary shall be authorized to close, extend, delay, or 
reopen the season as biologically justifiable.  

A.7.a.ii. - A.18.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115, R.S. 56:259, R.S. 56:262, R.S. 56:263 and R.S. 56:280. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:1070 (December 1990), amended LR 17:892 (September 1991), 
LR 19:215 (February 1993), LR 20:321 (March 1994), LR 26:1492 
(July 2000), LR 28:1996 (September 2002), LR 30:2338 (October 
2004), LR 30:2878 (December 2004), LR 31:2267 (September 
2005), LR 33:677 (April 2007), LR 35:690 (April 2009), LR 
37:2421 (August 2011), LR 39:2291 (August 2013), LR 42:909 
(June 2016), LR 43:90 (January 2017), LR 46:50 (January 2020), 
LR 46: 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective September 
20, 2020, and remain in effect for the duration of the 2020 
Alligator Hunting Season, or until adoption of a final rule 
modifying the Alligator Hunting Season from 30 to 60 days, 
whichever occurs first.  

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2010#002 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Suspension of In-Person Appearance Requirement  
for Oyster Lease Renewal ApplicantsThe Wildlife and 

Fisheries Commission has established by Rule in LAC 
76:VII.501.C.2 that all applicants must appear in person at 
the oyster lease section office to apply for an oyster lease 
renewal. Due to the current public health emergency caused 
by COVID-19 and in an effort to reduce the need for 
exposure of oyster lessees and Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries staff to the virus, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby suspends the in-person appearance 
requirement for oyster lease renewal applicants for the 2020-
21 renewal period and directs the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries to develop an alternative method for applicants 
to submit oyster lease renewal applications in compliance 
with all other applicable laws and rules.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission finds that 
imminent peril to the public welfare requires temporary 
suspension of a Rule due to the extremely communicable 
characteristics of the Novel Coronavirus and the serious 
health risks associated with the COVID-19 epidemic. It is 
necessary to adopt this Emergency Rule to temporarily 
suspend the requirement for in-person appearance to prevent 
mandated interaction for vulnerable individuals in the midst 
of a public health crisis.  

This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedures 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall become effective on 
November 1, 2020. It shall remain in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act (120 days) and expire on 
February 28, 2021. 

 
Jerri Smitko 
Vice-Chair 

2010#016 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Workers' Compensation  

Medical Treatment Guidelines 
(LAC 40:I.5125 and 5157) 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission has exercised the 
emergency provision in accordance with R.S. 49:953 (B), 
the Administrative Procedure Act to amend certain portions 
of the Medical Guidelines contained in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code, Title 40, Labor and Employment, Part 
I, Workers’ Compensation Administration, Subpart 2, 
Medical Guidelines, Chapter 51. This Emergency Rule 
effective September 21, 2020, will remain in effect for a 
period of 35 days. 

The aim of this Emergency Rule is to temporarily add 
additional codes for the purpose of delivering care and 
allowing providers to use telemedicine/telehealth methods. 
This does not affect current existing CPT codes. 

COVID-19 has created a mass disruption to the normalcy 
previously enjoyed by Louisianans and is an immediate 
threat to the public health, safety, and welfare of Louisiana 
citizens. In order to respond to the emergency and to protect 
and safeguard the public, health, safety and welfare of the 
citizens of this state, it is necessary to issue this Emergency 
Rule. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
facilitate the timely payment to HCP for services rendered to 
injured workers pending enactment of a rule through regular 
administrative procedure. Notice is hereby given, in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., that the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation, 
pursuant to authority vested in the Assistant Secretary of the 
Office of Workers’ Compensation by R.S. 23:1291 and 
23:1310.1, and in accordance with applicable provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, proposes to amend LAC 
40:I, Subpart 2, Chapters 51. 
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Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Part I.  Workers’ Compensation Administration 
Subpart 2.  Medical Guidelines 

Chapter 51. Medical Reimbursement Schedule  
Editor's Note: The following Sections of this Chapter are 
applicable and shall be used for the Chapters in this Part 
governing reimbursement. These specific Chapters are: 
Chapter 25, Hospital Reimbursement; Chapter 29, Pharmacy; 
Chapter 31, Vision Care Services; Chapter 33, Hearing Aid 
Equipment and Services; Chapter 35, Nursing/Attendant Care 
and Home Health Services; Chapter 37, Home and Vehicle 
Modification; Chapter 39, Medical Transportation; Chapter 
41, Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies; Chapter 43, 
Prosthetic and Orthopedic Equipment; Chapter 45, Respiratory 
Services; Chapter 47, Miscellaneous Claimant Expenses; 
Chapter 49, Vocational Rehabilitation Consultant; Chapter 51, 
Medical Reimbursement Schedule; and Chapter 53, Dental 
Care Services. 

§5125. Special Instructions 
A. Procedure Codes Not Listed in Rules 

1. - 3. … 
B. Modifiers 

1. Modifier codes must be used by providers to 
identify procedures or services that are modified due to 
specific circumstances. 

2. Modifiers listed in the CPT must be added to the 
procedure code when the service or procedure has been 
altered from the basic procedure described by the descriptor. 

3. When modifier-22 is used to report an unusual 
service, a report explaining the medical necessity of the 
situation must be submitted with the claim to the carrier. It is 
not appropriate to use modifier-22 for routine billing. 

4. The use of modifiers does not imply or guarantee 
that a provider will receive reimbursement as billed. 
Reimbursement for modified services or procedures must be 
based on documentation of medical necessity and must be 
determined on a case by case basis. 

5. The modifier 95 appended to a code indicates it was 
performed by telemedicine/telehealth methods. Services 
should be reimbursed the same amount as the exact same 
codes without the modifier as long as the Emergency Rule 
exist. If carrier requires a place of service (POS) code for 
telemedicine/telehealth, code 02 may be used. 

C. - F. 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1034.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workers' Compensation, LR 19:54 (January 1993), 
repromulgated LR 19:212 (February 1993), amended LR 20:1299 
(November 1994), amended by the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission, Office of Workers' Compensation, LR 46: 
§5157. Maximum Reimbursement Allowances 

A. Table 1 
* ** 

 
B. Table 2 

 

CPT Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

* * * 
86328  IA Infectious Agt Antibody SARS-COV-2 COVID-19  $90   

* * * 
86769  Antb Severe AQT Respir Synd SARS-COV-2 COVID19  $84   

* * * 
87635  IADNA SARS-COV-2 COVID-19 Amplified Probe TQ  $103   

* * * 
90791   Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation   BR     
90792  Psychiatric Diagnostic Eval w/Medical Services  BR   

* * * 
90832  PSYCHOTHERAPY w/PATIENT 30 MINUTES  BR   

90833  
PSYCHOTHERAPY w/PATIENT w/E&M SRVCS 30 
MIN 

 
BR 

  

90834  Psychotherapy w/Patient 45 Minutes  BR   
90836  Psychotherapy w/Patient w/E&M Srvcs 45 Min  BR   
90837  Psychotherapy w/Patient 60 Minutes  BR   
90838  Psychotherapy w/Patient w/E&M Srvcs 60 Min  BR   

* * * 
90863  Pharmacologic Management w/Psychotherapy  BR   

* * * 
92521  Evaluation Of Speech Fluency (Stutter Clutter)  BR   
92522  Evaluation Of Speech Sound Production Articulate  BR   
92523  Eval Speech Sound Product Language Comprehension  BR   
92524  Behavioral and Qualit Analysis Voice and Resonance  BR   

* * * 
96105  Assessment Aphasia w/Interp and Report Per Hour  BR   

* * * 
96156  Health Behavior Assessment/Re-Assessment  BR   
96158  Health Behavior IVNTJ Indiv F2F 1ST 30 MIN  BR   
96159  Health Behavior IVNTJ Indiv F2F EA Addl 15 MIN  BR   

* * * 
97129  Ther IVNTJ Cog Funcj Cntct 1ST 15 Minutes  BR   
97130  Ther IVNTJ Cog Funcj Cntct Ea Addl 15 Minutes  BR   

* * * 
97161  Physical Therapy Evaluation Low Complex 20 Mins  BR   
97162  Physical Therapy Evaluation Mod Complex 30 Mins  BR   
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CPT Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

97163  Physical Therapy Evaluation High Complex 45 Mins  BR   
97164  Physical Therapy Re-Eval Est Plan Care 20 Mins  BR   
97165  Occupational Therapy Eval Low Complex 30 Mins  BR   
97166  Occupational Therapy Eval Mod Complex 45 Mins  BR   
97167  Occupational Therapy Eval High Complex 60 Mins  BR   
97168  Occupational Ther Re-Eval Est Plan Care 30 Mins  BR   

* * * 
98970  QNHP OL Digital Assmt and Mgmt Est PT <7 D 5-10 MIN  $25   
98971 

 
QNHP OL Digital Assmt and Mgmt EST PT <7 D 11-20 
MIN 

 
$65 

  

98972 
 

QNHP OL Digital Assmt and Mgmt EST PT <7 D 21+ 
MIN 

 
$150 

  

* * * 
99421  Online Digital E/M SVC EST PT <7 D 5-10 Minutes   $31 $27 
99422  online digital E/M SVC EST PT <7 D 11-20 Minutes   $62 $55 
99423  Online Digital E/M SVC EST PT <7 D 21+ Minutes   $100 $87 

* * * 
99495  Transitional Care Manage Srvc 14 Day Discharge  BR   
99496  Transitional Care Manage Srvc 7 Day Discharge  BR   

* * * 

 
C. Table 3 

 

Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility 
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

C9803  COVID-19 Specimen Collection HOPD  BR   
G2010  Remot Image Submit By PT  $24   
G2012  Brief Check In By MD/QHP  $27   
G2023  Specimen Collect COVID-19  $47   
G2024  Spec Coll SNF/Lab COVID-19  $51   
G2061  Qual Nonmd Est PT 5-10M  $25   
G2062  Qual Nonmd Est PT 11-20M  $43   
G2063  Qual Nonmd Est PT 21>Min  $68   
U0001  2019-NCOV Diagnostic P  $72   
U0002  COVID-19 Lab Test Non-CDC  $103   
U0003  SARS-COV-2 COVID-19 AMP PRB HTT  $200   
U0004  COVID-19 Lab Test Non-CDC HTT  $200   

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1034.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workers' Compensation, LR 19:54 (January 1993), 
repromulgated LR 19:212 (February 1993), amended LR 20:1299 
(November 1994), LR 27:314 (March 2001), amended by the 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation, LR 
39:1854 (July 2013), LR 40:379 (February 2014), amended by the 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
Administration, LR 42:1696 (October 2016). amended by the 

Louisiana Workforce Commission, Office of Workers' 
Compensation, LR 46: 

Inquiries concerning the proposed enactment may be sent 
to Assistant Secretary Sheral Kellar, OWC-Administration, 
1001 North 23rd Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or at 
MedicalServices@lwc.la.gov. 

 
Ava Dejoie 
Secretary 

2010#007 

 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1371

Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Guava Root Knot Nematode Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.171) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:1652, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(department) has adopted the Rule set forth below by 
amending LAC 7:XV.171. These amendments will allow 
sweet potatoes for processing from quarantined areas into 
Louisiana under special permit. 

The department previously adopted the Guava Root Knot 
Nematode (GRKN) quarantine which restricts the movement 
of sweet potatoes into Louisiana. Excessive rainfall during 
the 2019 fall harvest season has caused a hardship on sweet 
potato production which will likely affect the welfare of the 
sweet potato processing industry in Louisiana if measures 
are not taken to mitigate the situation. A shortage of sweet 
potatoes caused by adverse environmental conditions, along 
with the GRKN quarantine currently in place, has limited the 
amount of sweet potatoes the processing industry can source 
from Louisiana producers and producers from surrounding 
states. Due to these adverse conditions and the current 
GRKN quarantine, Louisiana processors will be short of 
their annual sweet potato volume needed to keep processing 
facilities running year round. Without the ability to purchase 
additional sweet potatoes from outside the mid-south region, 
the industry is in jeopardy of having to cease operations for 
several months. Employees of processing facilities may be 
affected by potential plant closings which could result in lost 
wages and benefits for plant employees. Potential plant 
closings could also affect the welfare of the sweet potato 
industry by creating a limited market for producers to sell 
their sweet potatoes to processors. In 2019, sweet potato 
acreage in Louisiana was approximately 7,600 acres. 
According to Louisiana State University AgCenter, the 
processing market in Louisiana is a significant market and 
utilizes 65 percent of Louisiana’s sweet potato crop. This 
proposed amendment is required in order to provide the 
sweet potato processing industry an opportunity to source 
sweet potatoes from areas quarantined for GRKN to the 
processing facility under special permit issued by the 
department. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 
Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter H. Guava Root Knot Nematode Quarantine 
§171. Guava Root Knot Nematode Quarantine  

A. - D.1. … 
2. certified seed sweet potatoes and sweet potatoes for 

processing may be moved from the quarantine area into 

Louisiana under a special permit issued by Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

D.3. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1652, 3:1653. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 45:1437 (October 2019), amended LR 46:1371 
(October 2020). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

2010#014 

 
RULE 

Department of Civil Service 
Division of Administrative Law 

Commencement of Adjudications (LAC 1:III.509) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
authority set forth in R.S. 49:996(7), the Division of 
Administrative Law has amended LAC 1:III.509. The Rule 
removes unnecessary language, updates the Rule to reflect 
current law and practice regarding the date a pleading or 
document that is electronically transmitted is deemed filed, 
and makes technical changes. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 1 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW 

Part III.  Division of Administrative Law 
Chapter 5. Commencement of Adjudications 
§509. Filing of Pleadings and Documents  

(formerly §307) 
A. Any pleading, document, or other item filed with the 

Administrative Hearings Clerk into the adjudicatory record 
shall be filed by hand delivery, postal mail, common carrier, 
or transmitted by facsimile or other electronic means. 
Documents sent by facsimile should not exceed 20 pages. 

B. Unless otherwise provided by law, all pleadings, 
documents, or other items submitted by hand delivery, 
facsimile, or other electronic means shall be deemed filed on 
the date received by the Administrative Hearings Clerk. 
Pleadings, documents, or other items submitted by postal 
mail or common carrier shall be deemed timely if 
postmarked by the legal deadline.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:991 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Division of Administrative Law, LR 28:41 (January 2002), 
amended LR 38:2946 (November 2012), repromulgated LR 46:319 
(March 2020), amended LR 46:1371 (October 2020). 

 
Emalie A. Boyce 
Director 

2010#069 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System (LAC 28:XI.301, 801 and 803) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education has amended LAC 
28:XI, Accountability/Testing, Subpart 1, Bulletin 111―The 
Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System. 
Proposed amendments provide for a continuation of policy 
related to the Interests and Opportunities index for purposes 
of calculating School Performance Scores (SPS). This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 1.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, 

and State Accountability System 
Chapter 3. School Performance Score Component 
§301. School Performance Score Goal 

[Formerly LAC 28:LXXXIII.301] 
A. - C.3. … 

* * * 
4. For the 2020-2021 school year, when calculating 

the 2021 school performance scores (SPS), if the interests 
and opportunities measure results in a lower SPS than a 
school would earn using the 2018-2019 weights, then the 
SPS will be calculated without the interests and 
opportunities measure using the 2018-2019 weights. 

5. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2737 (December 
2003), amended LR 31:1512 (July 2005), LR 32:1017 (June 2006), 
LR 32:2034, 2035 (November 2006), LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 
33:2349 (November 2007), LR 33:2593 (December 2007), LR 
34:430 (March 2008), LR 35:639 (April 2009), LR 36:1987 
(September 2010), LR 38:3105 (December 2012), LR 39:305 
(February 2013), LR 39:1421 (June 2013), LR 39:2441 (September 
2013), LR 40:1313 (July 2014), LR 40:2507 (December 2014), LR 
41:1481 (August 2015), LR 41:2578 (December 2015), LR 
42:2171, 2172 (December 2016), LR 44:447 (March 2018), LR 
45:1449 (October 2019), LR 46:1372 (October 2020). 
Chapter 8. Interests and Opportunities Index 

Calculations 
§801. Interests and Opportunities Index Components 

A. … 
B. For the 2019-2020 baseline school year and 2020-

2021 school year, the interests and opportunities index for 
K-8 schools will be based in equal parts on survey 
completion and course enrollment. 

* * * 
C. For the 2019-2020 baseline school year and 2020-

2021 school year, the interests and opportunities index for 
high schools will be based on survey completion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:1450 (October 2019), 
amended LR 46:0000 (October 2020). 
§803. Calculating a Survey Completion Score 

A. The LDE will administer an online survey in 2019-
2020 and 2020-2021 to be completed by the principal of 
every school in order to establish baseline data. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:1450 (October 2019), 
amended LR 46:1372 (October 2020). 

 
Shan N. Davis  
Executive Director 

2010#053 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards  
and Practices—LEAP 2025 Transfer Rules  

(LAC 28:XI.6829) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment 
Standards and Practices. The revisions remove the 
requirement that Louisiana public and/or scholarship school 
students, who earned a high school assessment-eligible 
course credit in the spring of the 2019-2020 school year, 
take the LEAP 2025 high school assessment that 
corresponds to course credits earned in the spring of 2020. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 3.  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices 
Chapter 68. LEAP 2025 Assessments for High School 
Subchapter C. LEAP 2025 for High School 

Administrative Rules 
§6829. LEAP 2025 Transfer Rules 

[Formerly LAC 28:CXI.1829] 
A. The following applies to a transfer student who is a 

Louisiana resident transferring into a Louisiana public 
school district from an out-of-state school, nonpublic school, 
or approved home study program. 

1. - 3. … 
B. Exception. A student who earned a high school 

assessment-eligible course credit in the spring of the 2019-
2020 school year in a Louisiana public or scholarship 
school, and has never taken the corresponding LEAP 2025 
test for the course, does not need to take or pass the LEAP 
2025 subject test for the course in order to meet graduation 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:24.4. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:978 (May 2010), 
amended LR 37:820 (March 2011), LR 44:471 (March 2018), LR 
46:1372 (October 2020). 

 
Shan N. Davis  
Executive Director 

2010#054 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 139—Louisiana Child Care and Development  
Fund Programs—CCAP Household Eligibility  

(LAC 28:CLXV.509) 

In accordance with R.S. 17:6 and R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education has amended Bulletin 139—Louisiana 
Child Care and Development Fund Programs. The 
amendments create a limited exception, allowing families to 
qualify for the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) 
while seeking employment or enrolling in school. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXV.  Bulletin 139Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs 

Chapter 5. CCAP Household Eligibility 
§509. Certification Requirements for Non-

Categorically Eligible Households 
A. - A.5.d. … 

e. Exception. If the head of household is actively 
seeking employment and/or training, the employment and/or 
training requirements for household certification provided 
for in this Paragraph may be waived for 90 days. 
 i. To become certified as a CCAP household in 
accordance with this exception, the household must meet all 
certification requirements in this Section other than the 
employment and/or training activities required in this 
Paragraph, and must submit all documentation required for 
certification, as well as documentation establishing that the 
head of household is actively seeking employment and/or 
training. 
 ii. A household certified for CCAP in accordance 
with this exception will be certified for 90 days, beginning 
on the day the household is certified. At the end of 90 days 
from the date of certification, certification under this 
exception ends. However, during the 90-day certification 
period, if the head of household submits documentation 
establishing employment and/or training, meeting the 
requirements in Subparagraph a of this Paragraph, then the 
household may continue to be certified without interruption 
in accordance with the general certification requirements in 
this Section. 
 iii. An application for household certification 
under this exception will be denied if the household has 
previously been certified under this exception within the past 
24 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:407.28 and 45 CFR parts 98 and 99. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 42:43 (January 2016), 
amended LR 42:2175 (December 2016), LR 44:261 (February 
2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 45:900 (July 2019), LR 
46:1373 (October 2020). 

 
Shan N. Davis  
Executive Director 

2010#055 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel 

Deaf or Hard of Hearing; Certification;  
Accredited Institutions; Teaching Authorizations; and 

Montessori Training Providers  
(LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapters 2-7, 803, 805,  

1103, 1105, 1203, 1205, and 1305) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education has amended LAC 
28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746). These amendments will align 
state regulations with the Code of Federal Regulations and 
clarify requirements that are either outdated or inconsistent, 
by: 

 aligning terminology with state guidelines by 
replacing references to “hearing impaired” with “deaf or 
hard of hearing;” 

 updating eligibility requirements for the child 
nutrition program supervisor certification to align with 
federal regulations; 

 aligning terminology with new federal regulations 
relative to national accreditation by replacing references to 
“regionally-accredited” institutions with “institutions 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602”; 

 removing teacher qualifications that were aligned 
with 20 CFR, known as the federal "No Child Left Behind 
Act,” due to these federal regulations being repealed; 

 updating requirements to permit the status for 
educators with standard certificates, ancillary certificates, 
and CTTIE certificates; 

 allowing educators applying for an out-of-state (OS) 
certificate or a resident certificate to waive Praxis with a 
master’s degree, consistent with current regulations that 
allow this waiver for the issuance of a practitioner’s license 
and temporary authority to teach (TAT) authorizations; 

 allowing a letter of eligibility for educational 
leadership 1 certificates that is consistent with current 
regulations that allow this for the OS certificate only; 

 updating advancement and renewal requirements for 
non-public certificates to align with advancement and 
renewal requirements for public certificates; 

 aligning type C renewal requirements with renewal 
requirements for level 1 certificates; and 

 adding the International Montessori Council as a 
Montessori training provider. 

This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Initial Teacher Certification 
Subchapter A. Teacher Certification Areas and Required 

Competencies 
§201. Overview 

A. - C. … 
* * * 

D. Certification Areas and Required Competencies 
 

Certification Areas Required Competencies 
* * * 

Special Education Certification Areas 
Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years Subchapter H, Section 239.A 

Certification Areas Required Competencies 

Hearing Impaired K-12—Repealed. 

Deaf or Hard of Hearing K-12 

Subchapter D, Special Education Teacher 
Competencies  

Subchapter H, Section 239.B 
Mild to Moderate Disabilities 
1-5, 4-8, 6-12 

Subchapter D, Special Education Teacher 
Competencies 

* * *  

Visual Impairments/Blind K-12

Subchapter D, Special Education Teacher 
Competencies 

Subchapter H, Section 239.C 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1783 (October 2006), 
amended LR 43:1291 (July 2017), LR 46:1374 (October 2020). 

 
 
 
Subchapter B. Testing Required for Certification Areas 
§203. Certification Exams and Scores 

(Formerly §243) 
A. - C.2. … 

* * * 
D. Special Education Areas 
 

Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score
All Special Education Area(s) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Prior to 9/1/15: 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014 or 5014) 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

OR 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17: Elementary Education: Multiple 
Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

150 
163 
157 
157 
155 
159 
157 
157 
155 
159 

Effective 1/1/12: 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) and 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early Childhood 
(0621 or 5621) 

Effective 1/1/14: 
Special Education: Early Childhood (0691) 

AND 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early Childhood 
(0621 or 5621) 

145 
157 
159 
157 

Hearing Impaired—Repealed. 
Deaf or Hard 
of Hearing 

Prior to 9/1/15: 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014 or 5014) 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17: 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

OR 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17: 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
150 

 
163 

 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Effective 11/1/11: 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) 

AND 
Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students 
(0271) 
Effective 1/1/14: 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) 

AND 
Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing Students (0272 or 5272) 

145 
160 
145 
160 

Mild to 
Moderate 
Disabilities 

ALL Candidates must pass a content area exam appropriate 
to certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12 (e.g., Elementary, or core 
subject-specific exams for middle or secondary grades) 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to 
Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543) 

AND 
PLT specific to grade level (K-6, 5-9, or 7-12) 

153 

* * *  
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E. Administrative and Instructional Support Areas 
 

Certification 
Area Name of Test 

Area Test 
Score 

Mentor Teacher - Content Leader Repealed. 

Educational 
Leader—Level 1  

School Leaders Licensure Assessment 
(1011 or 6011) 

166 
(Effective 

until 7/31/20) 

School Leaders Licensure 
Assessment (6990)  

151 
(Effective 

9/1/19) 
* * * 

School Librarian Library Media Specialist  
(0311 or 5311) 136 

 
1. Praxis scores, for certification purposes, must be 

received by the LDE via one of the following ways: 
a. the electronic ETS Praxis score report forwarded 

directly from ETS; or 
b. the original Praxis score report issued by ETS 

submitted with the certification application. 
F. Mentor Teacher and Content Leader. The mentor 

teacher certificate and the content leader certificate may be 
earned by passing the applicable Louisiana assessment 
series. 

 
Certification 

Area Name of Test 
Number of 
Tests/Score 

Mentor Teacher 
Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Elementary 

4 

 Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Secondary 
ELA 

 

Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Secondary 
Math 
Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Universal 

Content Leader 
Louisiana Content Leader 
Assessment Series 5 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41:645 (April 2015), LR 41:916 (May 
2015), LR 42:233 (February 2016), LR 43:1292 (July 2017), LR 
44:264 (February 2018), LR 44:1999 (November 2018), LR 
45:228, 230 (February 2019), repromulgated LR 45:403 (March 
2019), amended LR 45:1458 (October 2019), LR 46:325 (March 
2020), LR 46:557 (April 2020), LR 46:1374 (October 2020). 
Subchapter H. Other Certification Area Competencies 
§239. Other Special Education Areas 

A. … 
B. Deaf or Hard of Hearing K-12: CEC Initial Special 

Education Deaf and Hard of Hearing Specialty Set 
C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1303 (July 2017), 
amended LR 46:1375 (October 2020). 
Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 

Certifications 
Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Authorizations 

Editor's Note: The name of the Division of Student Standards 
and Assessments has been changed to The Division of Student 
Standards, Assessments, and Accountability. 

§303. Introduction 
A. The seven types of standard teaching authorizations 

issued by the state of Louisiana: 
1. - 3. … 
4. world language certificates (WLC); 
5. … 
6. extended endorsement license (EEL); and 
7. standard certificates for teachers in non-public 

schools. 
8. Repealed. 

B. … 
C. Non-Practicing Status or Operational Role Status for 

Standard Teaching Certificates 
1. The LDE may grant: 

a. non-practicing status to any teacher who applies 
after ceasing employment as a teacher or leader in a local 
education agency;  

b. operational role status to any teacher who is 
serving in a role that cannot be evaluated per student growth 
measures. 

2. Non-practicing status will take effect on the last day 
of employment in the local education agency evaluated role, 
as verified by the employing LEA. 

3. Operational role status will take effect on the first 
day of employment in a role that cannot be evaluated per 
student growth measures, as verified by the employing LEA. 

4. Operational role teachers returning to a role that can 
be evaluated per student growth measures must be evaluated 
with student growth measures upon return to that role. 

5. Non-practicing teachers returning to practice and 
operational role teachers returning to a role that can be 
evaluated per student growth measures may apply through a 
local education agency for an extension of the certificate for 
the number of years remaining in the renewal period of the 
certificate. 

6. Final effectiveness ratings earned while in active 
status will be retained during non-practicing status and 
operational role status and applied to any subsequent 
renewal or extension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:558 (February 2011), LR 38:1951 (August 2012), 
LR 46:01375 (October 2020). 
§305. Professional Level Certificates 

A. - A.1.a.(e). … 
b. Out-of-State Graduate 

 i. Eligibility requirements: 
(a). possess a minimum of a baccalaureate 

degree from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602; 
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 i.(b). - ii.(c). … 
c. Foreign Applicant―(OS) Certificate 

 i. Eligibility requirements: 
(a). bachelor's or higher level degree verified by 

an institution in the United States accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602. If the institution is located in Louisiana, 
the dean of the College of Education must recommend the 
applicant for certification based upon Louisiana 
requirements. If the institution is located in another 
state/country, the guidelines prescribed for out-of-state 
applicants must be followed; or 

(b). … 
d. Foreign Applicant―Level 1 Certificate 

 i. Eligibility requirements: 
(a). bachelor's or higher level degree verified by 

an institution in the United States accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602. If the institution is located in Louisiana, 
the dean of the College of Education must recommend the 
applicant for certification based upon Louisiana 
requirements. If the institution is located in another 
state/country, the guidelines prescribed for out-of-state 
applicants must be followed; or 

A.1.d.i.(b). - C.1.a. … 
b. a master's degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
C.1.c. - D.2.b. … 
E. - E.6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:433 (March 2007), LR 34:233 (February 2008), 
LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 35:222 (February 2009), LR 
37:558 (February 2011), LR 38:1951 (August 2012), LR 40:279 
(February 2014), LR 41:2128 (October 2015), LR 43:1304 (July 
2017), LR 44:745 (April 2018), LR 45:525 (April 2019), LR 
45:1458 (October 2019), LR 45:1748 (December 2019), LR 46:326 
(March 2020), LR 46:1375 (October 2020). 
§307. Type C Certificates 

A. - B.1.d. … 
2. Renewal Guidelines. The type C certificate may be 

renewed for an additional one-year period upon the request 
of the Louisiana employing authority, subject to the approval 
of the LDE. Type C certificates are limited to two such 
extensions. 

C. - D.1.b. … 
c. a master's degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 
D.1.d. - E.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1798 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:559 (February 2011), LR 38:3136 (December 
2012, LR 43:1306 (July 2017), LR 45:1459 (October 2019), LR 
46:1376 (October 2020). 
§309. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

A. … 
B. Eligibility requirements: 

1. baccalaureate degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

B.2. - C.1. … 
a. present appropriate scores on the NTE core 

battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis exams 
(core academic skills for educators in reading, writing, and 
mathematics); the principles of learning and teaching (PLT) 
or other pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of 
certification; and the specialty area exam in the certification 
area in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued: 
 i. applicants possessing a graduate degree in a 
major other than education from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be exempted 
from the Praxis core academic skills for educators 
requirement; 

b. - c.iii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1799 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:433 (March 2007), LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 
35:222 (February 2009), LR 35:894 (May 2009), LR 37:559 
(February 2011), LR 37:882 (March 2011), LR 40:280 (February 
2014), LR 43:1306 (July 2017), LR 45:1459 (October 2019), LR 
46:1376 (October 2020). 
§313. Practitioner Licenses 

A. - A.3. … 
B. Practitioner License 1—issued to a candidate who is 

admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved practitioner 
teacher program. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. baccalaureate degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
b. … 
c. passing scores on Praxis core academic skills for 

educators and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 30 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602 will be exempted from the core academic 
skills for educators requirement. 

* * * 
2. - 4.e. … 

C. Practitioner License 2—issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved certification-
only alternate certification program. 

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. baccalaureate degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
b. … 
c. passing scores on Praxis core academic skills for 

educators and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 30 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602 will be exempted from the core academic 
skills for educators requirement. 

* * * 
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2. - 4.d. … 
D. Practitioner License 3—issued to a candidate who is 

admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved master's degree 
alternate certification program. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. baccalaureate degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
b. … 
c. passing scores on Praxis core academic skills for 

educators and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 30 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602 will be exempted from the core academic 
skills for educators requirement. 

* * * 
2. - 4.d. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1800 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:221 (February 2009), LR 38:1952 (August 2012), 
LR 40:280 (February 2014), LR 43:1307 (July 2017), LR 45:1748 
(December 2019), LR 46:326 (March 2020), LR 46:1376 (October 
2020). 
§315. Standard Certificates for Teachers in Nonpublic 

Schools 
A. A standard certificate with an asterisk (*) following 

the certificate type is issued to a teacher in a nonpublic 
school and is valid in a nonpublic school setting. Upon 
issuance of a level 2* or level 3* certificate, a teacher’s 
standard certificate will be placed into non-practicing status. 
If the teacher enters a public school system in Louisiana, the 
educator will be required to meet the standards of 
effectiveness pursuant to state law and in accordance with 
LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) for issuance of a level 2 or 
level 3 teaching certificate. 

B. Level 2* (2-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years. 
1. - 1.b. … 

c. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 
years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. … 
3. Repealed. 

C. Level 3* (3-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years. 
1. - 1.c. … 

d. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 
years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. … 
3. Renewal Guidelines for Level 2* and Level 3* 

Certificates 
a. A teacher must earn effective ratings per local 

personnel evaluations for at least three years during the five-
year initial or renewal period. 

b. The Louisiana employing authority must request 
renewal of a level 2* or level 3* certificate. 

4. - 4.d. Repealed. 
D. - E.1.b. … 

c. master's degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602;  

1.d. - 3. … 
F. Reinstating Lapsed Levels 2* or 3*, Types B* or A* 

Certificate 
1. If the holder of a level 2*, level 3*, type B*, or type 

A* certificate allows a period of five consecutive calendar 
years to pass in which the educator is not a regularly 
employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, the certificate will lapse for disuse. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that the educator earned six semester hours 
of credit in state-approved courses (see Chapter 13) during 
the five-year period immediately preceding the request for 
reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request (at the level that was attained prior to disuse) for a 
period of one year, during which time the holder must 
complete reinstatement requirements. 

F.3.a. - G.3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1801 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:752 (April 2010), LR 37:559 (February 2011), LR 
38:1952 (August 2012), LR 43:1309 (July 2017), LR 46:1377 
(October 2020). 
Subchapter B. Nonstandard Teaching Authorizations 
§325. Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT) 

A. - C.2. … 
a. applicants pursuing certification in academically 

gifted, significant disabilities, early interventionist, deaf or 
hard of hearing, and visual impairments/blind may be 
granted two additional years of renewal; 

b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1804 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:2355 (November 2007), LR 35:1487 (August 
2009), LR 43:1311 (July 2017), LR 46:1377 (October 2020). 
§328. Resident Teacher Certificate (R) 

A. - C.2.a. … 
3. passing scores on required core academic skills 

exams for initial issuance: 
a. applicants possessing a graduate degree in a 

major other than education from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be exempted 
from the Praxis core academic skills for educators 
requirement; and 

C.4. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1312 (July 2017), 
amended LR 46:1377 (October 2020), LR 1377 (October 2020). 
Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 
§341. Introduction 

A. - A.2.h. … 
3. Non-Practicing Status or Operational Role Status 

for Ancillary Teaching Certificates Renewal via the 
Standards for Effectiveness in accordance with LAC 
28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902 

a. The LDE may grant: 
 i. non-practicing status to any teacher who 
applies after ceasing employment as a teacher or leader in a 
local education agency. 
 ii. operational role status to any teacher who is 
serving in a role that cannot be evaluated per student growth 
measures. 

b. Non-practicing status will take effect on the last 
day of employment in the local education agency evaluated 
role, as verified by the employing LEA. 

c. Operational role status will take effect on the first 
day of employment in a role that cannot be evaluated per 
student growth measures, as verified by the employing LEA. 

d. Operational role teachers returning to a role that 
can be evaluated per student growth measures must be 
evaluated with student growth measures upon return to that 
role. 

e. Non-practicing teachers returning to practice and 
operational role teachers returning to a role that can be 
evaluated per student growth measures may apply through a 
local education agency for an extension of the certificate for 
the number of years remaining in the renewal period of the 
certificate. 

f. Final effectiveness ratings earned while in active 
status will be retained during non-practicing status and 
operational role status and applied to any subsequent 
renewal or extension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006), 
amended LR 41:917 (May 2015), LR 45:230 (February 2019), LR 
46:1378 (October 2020). 
§344. Early Childhood Ancillary Certificate 

A. - B.1.b.iii.(h). … 
c. an associate degree in an early childhood related 

field from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602; 

1.d. - 2.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), and 
17:407.81. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:917 (May 2015), 
amended LR 43:2135 (November 2017), LR 46:1378 (October 
2020). 
§345. Nonpublic Montessori Teacher Certificate 

A. - B. ... 
C. Eligibility Guidelines 

1. For a Type C Montessori Certificate—the teacher 
must have completed training from one of the approved 
providers listed in §669 of this Part. 

a. - g. Repealed. 
2. For a type B Montessori certificate: 

a. - a.i. ... 
b. completed training from one of the approved 

providers listed in §669 of this Part. 
 i. - vii. Repealed. 

3. For type A, junior class A, and junior Montessori 
certificates: 

a. a bachelor's degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

b. - b.i. ... 
c. completed training from one of the approved 

providers listed in §669 of this Part.  
 i .- vii. Repealed. 

D. This certificate is valid for five years initially and 
may be renewed thereafter for a period of five years at the 
request of a LEA. For renewal of the ancillary certificate, 
candidates must earn effective ratings per local personnel 
evaluations for at least three years during the five-year initial 
or renewal period pursuant to in accordance with LAC 
28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11),and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3136 (December 2012), LR 45:1459 (October 
2019), LR 46:1378 (October 2020). 
§346. Family and Consumer Sciences (Occupational 

Programs) 
A. - B.1.c. … 

2. Renewal Guidelines—valid for three years initially 
and may be renewed thereafter for a period of five years at 
the request of an LEA. For renewal of the ancillary 
certificate, candidates must successfully meet the standards 
of effectiveness for at least three years during initial or 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

C. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1806 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3137 (December 2012), LR 45:1459 (October 
2019), LR 46:1378 (October 2020). 
§348. Math for Professionals Certificate 

A. An ancillary math for professionals certificate is 
issued to an applicant who has an undergraduate degree from 
a university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 
and/or evidence of a math and/or science work-related 
background. 

B. - B.1.c. …. 
2. Renewal requirements: 

a. valid for three years initially and may be renewed 
thereafter for a period of five years at the request of an LEA; 

b. for renewal of the certificate, a candidate must 
successfully meet the standards of effectiveness for at least 
three years during the initial or renewal period in accordance 
with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

3. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:220 (February 2009), 
amended LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 40:281 (February 2014), LR 
44:2000 (November 2018), LR 45:228 (February 2019), LR 
46:1378 (October 2020). 
§350. Mentor Teacher Ancillary Certificate 

A. - C.3. … 
4. On September 1, 2023, the mentor teacher ancillary 

certificate will replace the supervisor of student teaching 
certificate. Individuals who were issued the supervisor of 
student teaching certificate on or before December 31, 2020, 
may serve as a mentor until August 31, 2023. 

D. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:3902. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:230 (February 2019), 
amended LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1379 (October 2020). 
Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
Subchapter A. General Ancillary School Certificates 
§403. Child Nutrition Program Supervisor 

A. … 
B. For certificates issued July 1, 2020 and beyond, the 

minimum eligibility requirements are as follows: 
1. for Child Nutrition Program supervisors in LEAs 

with a student enrollment of 2,499 or less: 
a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 

either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment and: 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and either a state-recognized certificate for 
school nutrition directors or at least one year of relevant 
food service experience; or 
 iii. an associate’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field, and at least one year of relevant 
school nutrition program experience; or 
 iv. a high school diploma or state-issued high 
school equivalency credential and three years of relevant 
food service experience; 

2. for Child Nutrition Program supervisors in LEAs 
with a student enrollment of 2,500 - 9,999: 

a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 
either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment and: 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family  

and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and a state-recognized certificate for school 
nutrition directors; or 
 iii. a bachelor’s degree in any academic major and 
at least two years of relevant school nutrition program 
experience; or 
 iv. an associate’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field, and at least two years of relevant 
school nutrition program experience; 

3. for Child Nutrition Program supervisors in LEAs 
with a student enrollment of 10,000 or more: 

a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 
either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment and: 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and a state-recognized certificate for school 
nutrition directors; or 
 iii. a bachelor’s degree in any major and at least 
five years of experience in management of school nutrition 
programs. 

C. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate. If a certificate 
holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to 
pass in which he/she is not regularly employed as a child 
nutrition program supervisor for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, he/she must present evidence of having 
earned six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
(see Chapter 13). The six semester credit hours must be 
earned during the five-year period immediately preceding 
reinstatement. 

1. - 2.b.iv.(e). Repealed. 
D. A special provisional certificate, acting child nutrition 

program supervisor, may be issued to an individual 
employed in such capacity. 

1. Eligibility Requirements. A baccalaureate or 
master's degree from an institution of higher education 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. Valid for one year and 
renewable each year thereafter upon presentation of six 
semester hours of applicable credit toward completion of all 
requirements for permanent certification as a child nutrition 
program supervisor. 

E. - E.2. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

201.30 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:280 (February 2007), LR 34:432 (March 2008), 
LR 46:1379 (October 2020). 
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§409. School Librarian 
A. School Librarian―valid for five years. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. master's degree in library science from an 

institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 
1.b. - 2.b. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
repromulgated LR 33:1617 (August 2007), amended LR 36:489 
(March 2010), LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 46:1380 (October 
2020). 
§410. Orientation and Mobility 

A. - A.1.a. … 
b. completion of an individual plan of study in 

orientation and mobility at a college or university accredited 
in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

c. - d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:894 (May 2009), 
amended LR 46:1380 (October 2020). 
§411. School Nurse 

A. - C.1.a. … 
b. baccalaureate degree in nursing or a health-

related field from a college or university accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

1.c. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); 17:7(6); 17:10; 
17:22(6); 17:391.1-391.10; and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:1998 (September 2010), LR 37:883 (March 2011), 
LR 38:44 (January 2012), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 
46:1380 (October 2020). 
§415. Special Education Examiners 

A. - D.1.a.ii. … 
b. Levels 

 i. Level A—Applicants must meet requirements 
for the standard certificate and possess a doctoral degree 
(such as Ph.D., Ed. D., or Psy.D.) from an institution 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, in school 
psychology or in psychology with a program of study 
emphasizing child development and knowledge and skills in 
education and assessment. 
 ii. Level B—Applicants must meet requirements 
for the standard certificate and possess a master's or 
specialist degree from a school psychology training program 
in an institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

D.1.c. - F.2. … 
3. Eligibility requirements: 

a. an earned baccalaureate degree in 
speech/language pathology from an institution accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

3.b. - 5. … 

G. Speech Pathologist 
1. Provisional Certificate in Speech Pathology—valid 

for three years. 
a. Eligibility requirements: master's degree in 

speech pathology from a college or university accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

b. ... 
2. Qualified Certificate in Speech Pathology—valid 

for life with continuous service, provided the holder 
maintains a current Louisiana license to serve as a speech 
pathologist. Eligibility requirements are: 

a. master's degree in speech pathology, as specified 
under speech pathology guidelines, from a college or 
university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

G.2.b. - H.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1809 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:768 (March 2012), LR 46:1380 (October 2020). 
§417. Educational Leader in Special Education 

Ancillary Certificate 
A. - D.2.a. … 

3. have completed a graduate degree program from an 
institution of postsecondary education accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

4. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 42:1879 (November 
2016), LR 43:1312 (July 2017), LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 
46:1380 (October 2020). 
§421. Overview 

A. - G.1.a. … 
i. bachelor’s degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
1.a.ii. - 2.a. … 

 i. master’s degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

a.ii. - b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1811 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:433 (March 2008), LR 37:884 (March 2011), LR 
37:2135 (July 2011), LR 46:1380 (October 2020). 
Chapter 5. Standards for Secondary Career and 

Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Personnel 

§501. Introduction 
A. Career and technical trade and industrial education 

(CTTIE) certificates authorize full-time or part-time 
employment for instructors of CTTIE classes. The applicant 
being certified under the requirements found in this Part may 
teach CTTIE courses as listed on the LDE Teach Louisiana 
website (http://www.teachlouisiana.net). 
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B. Non-Practicing Status or Operational Role Status for 
CTTIE Certificates Renewable via the Standards for 
Effectiveness in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 
130) and R.S. 17:3902 

1. The LDE may grant: 
a. non-practicing status to any teacher who applies 

after ceasing employment as a teacher or leader in a local 
education agency. 

b. operational role status to any teacher who is 
serving in a role that cannot be evaluated per student growth 
measures. 

2. Non-practicing status will take effect on the last day 
of employment in the local education agency evaluated role, 
as verified by the employing LEA. 

3. Operational role status will take effect on the first 
day of employment in a role that cannot be evaluated per 
student growth measures, as verified by the employing LEA. 

4. Operational role teachers returning to a role that can 
be evaluated per student growth measures must be evaluated 
with student growth measures upon return to that role. 

5. Non-practicing teachers returning to practice and 
operational role teachers returning to a role that can be 
evaluated per student growth measures may apply through a 
local education agency for an extension of the certificate for 
the number of years remaining in the renewal period of the 
certificate. 

a. Final effectiveness ratings earned while in active 
status will be retained during non-practicing status and 
operational role status and applied to any subsequent 
renewal or extension. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1812 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 40:1329 (July 2014), 
LR 46:1380 (October 2020). 
§506. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificate Eligibility 

Requirements  
[Formerly §505] 

A. - B.2.b. … 
c. graduates with a bachelor's degree from a college 

or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will 
be given credit for two years or 3,840 hours of experience; 

d. graduates with an advanced degree from a 
college or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 
602 will be given credit for three years or 5,760 hours of 
occupational experience; 

e. graduates with a technical degree in the selected 
field and a bachelor's degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given 
credit for three years or 5,760 hours of occupational 
experience; 

f. graduates with a bachelor's degree from a college 
or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 and 
an industry based certification (IBC) in the selected field, or 
who pass the appropriate national occupational competency 
testing institute (NOCTI) exam if industry-based 
certification is not available, will be given credit for three 
years or 5,760 hours of occupational experience; 

2.g. - 6. … 

C. CTTIE-2 Eligibility Requirements 
1. Applicants must hold a current, appropriate, and 

recognized industry instructor certificate aligned with the 
Louisiana Workforce Investment Council IBC list, if 
applicable as determined by the LDE, or a bachelor’s degree 
from a college or university accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602. 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 40:1330 (July 2014), LR 
45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1381 (October 2020). 
§507. CTTIE Areas of Specialization  

[Formerly §505] 
A. - D.1. … 

2. Applicants pursuing a master’s degree in athletic 
training who are working as an athletic trainer graduate 
assistant at a university accredited in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 may count these work experience hours toward 
meeting the required work hours for the CTTIE application. 
CTTIE application must include a letter from the director of 
athletics at the university with the actual number of hours 
worked as well as assigned duties. 

E. Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) Louisiana Job 
Specialist eligibility requirements (one of the following): 

1. a bachelor's degree from a state-approved college or 
university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, plus 
two years of full-time work experience, or 3,840 hours of 
work experience within four years of date of application; or 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 40:1331 (July 2014), LR 
46:1381 (October 2020). 
§509. CTTIE-1 Certificate Renewal Guidelines for 

Certificates Initially issued prior to September 1, 
2014 
[Formerly §507] 

A. - B.18. … 
19. other education pedagogy courses, including online 

courses, from institutions accredited in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and must have prior approval from the employing 
LEA. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:2356 (November 2007), LR 35:2753 (December 
2009), LR 36:2000 (September 2010), LR 38:3137 (December 
2012), LR 40:1331 (July 2014), LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 
46:1381 (October 2020). 
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Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
§601. Introduction 

A. - A.4. … 
5. Semester hours earned from an institution 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 or equivalent 
contact hours from a non-university private provider of 
teacher and/or educational leader preparation program are 
acceptable for endorsement purposes. One semester hour is 
equivalent to 15 contact hours.  

6. - 7. … 
B. A formal request for an additional authorization on a 

certificate must be directed to the LDE. An official transcript 
from an institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 
602, verifying successful completion of endorsement 
requirements (semester hours) or documentation from the 
non-university private provider verifying successful 
completion of endorsement requirements (contact hours) 
must accompany the request. The final authority for 
approval of an additional authorization is the LDE. 

C. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:1381 (May 2011), LR 40:2242 (November 2014), 
LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1382 (October 2020). 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§627. Requirements to add Deaf or Hard of Hearing 

K-12 
A. … 

1. 21 semester credit hours that pertain to children 
who are deaf or hard of hearing, as follows: 

2. - 8. … 
B. Three semester hours of internship of students who 

are deaf or hard of hearing or three years of successful 
teaching experience of students who are deaf or hard of 
hearing. 

B.1. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:552 (February 2011), LR 40:281 (February 2014), 
LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1382 (October 2020). 
§629. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:221 (February 2009), LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
LR 37:553 (February 2011), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), repealed LR 
46:1382 (October 2020). 
§630. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8) 

and (6-12)—Mandatory 7/1/2010 
A. - A.2. … 
B. Mild/Moderate: 1-5. Individuals holding a valid upper 

elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8),

secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), all-level special 
education certificate (Significant Disabilities, Visually 
Impaired or Deaf or Hard of Hearing), or an all-level K-12 
certificate (art, dance, foreign language, health, physical 
education, health and physical education, and music) must 
achieve the following: 

B.1. - D.2.b. … 
E. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-

12. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 6-
12, 7-12, 9-12), all-level special education certificate 
(Significant Disabilities, Visually Impaired or Deaf or Hard 
of Hearing), or an all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, 
foreign language, health, physical education, health and 
physical education, and music) must achieve the following: 

1. - 2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
amended LR 37:553 (February 2011), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), LR 
41:648 (April 2015), LR 41:1271 (July 2015), amended LR 
46:1382 (October 2020). 
Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 
§657. Cooperative Education 

A. - A.3. … 
4. have a minimum of 1,500 hours of employment in 

program occupations approved by LDE, or a minimum of 
120 hours in a supervised field practicum in the area of 
occupational certification, offered by a post-secondary 
institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, or 
other requirements as specified by the industry. 

B. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:869 (May 2008), LR 46:1382 (October 2020). 
§663. Educational Diagnostician (Special Education) 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. a minimum of a master's degree in education earned 

from an institution of higher education accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

A.2. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1820 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1382 (October 2020). 
§665. Educational Technology Areas 

A. - A.1.b.i.(c). ... 
 ii. - ii.(e). Repealed. 

A.1.c. - C.1.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1820 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:2033 (October 2008), LR 38:766 (March 2012), 
LR 46:1382 (October 2020). 
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§669. Montessori Teacher Certification 
A. - A.6. … 

7. International Montessori Council; 
8. any other course jointly approved by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education and the Louisiana 
Montessori Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1821 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§671. Reading Specialist 

A. - B.1. … 
2. advanced degree from an institution accredited in 

accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 
3. - 3.c. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
Chapter 7. Administrative and Supervisory 

Credentials 
Subchapter A. The Educational Leadership Certificate 
§705. Educational Leader Certificate Level 1 (EDL 1) 

A. - A.1.a. … 
b. complete a competency-based graduate degree 

preparation program in the area of educational leadership 
from an institution of higher education accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602, which may be inclusive of 
BESE-approved mentor teacher or content leader training; 
and 

1.c. - 2.a.i. … 
b. have previously completed a graduate degree 

program from an institution of higher education accredited 
in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

c. meet competency-based requirements, as 
demonstrated by completion of an individualized program of 
educational leadership from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. An 
individualized program will be developed based on a 
screening of candidate competencies upon entering into a 
graduate alternative certification program. Service as a 
mentor teacher, content leader, or BESE-approved mentor 
teacher or content leader training may fulfill a maximum of 
40 percent of an individualized program; and 

2.d. - 3.a.ii. … 
b. have previously completed a graduate degree 

program in education from an institution of higher education 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

c. - d. … 
4. Alternate Pathway 3. The alternate pathway 3 is for 

persons who already hold a baccalaureate degree from an 
institution of higher education accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602 and are seeking to receive an EDL 1 through a 
competency-based educational leader practitioner 
(residency) program found in LAC 28:XLV (Bulletin 996, 
Chapter 7). The candidate must: 

4.a.i. - 6. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:819 (May 2007), LR 38:43 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 43:1313 
(July 2017), LR 45:231 (February 2019), LR 45:526 (April 2019), 
LR 45:1461 (October 2019), LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§725. Out-of-State Superintendent (OSS) 

A. - A.1.b. … 
c. a master's degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
1.d. - 2. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3140 (December 2012), LR 45:527 (April 2019), 
LR 45:1462 (October 2019), LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
Subchapter C. Teacher Preparation Programs 
§743. Elementary School Principal 

A. - A.1. … 
2. master's degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
A.3. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 
17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§745. Secondary School Principal  

A. - A.1. … 
2. master's degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
A.3. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1826 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§747. Parish or City School Superintendent 

A. - A.2.a. … 
3. master's degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
A.4. - C.1. … 

2. master's degree in educational administration, 
business administration, public administration, or a related 
area of study including, but not limited to, accounting, 
finance, banking, insurance, and law, from an institution of 
higher education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1333 (July 2017), 
amended LR 45:229 (February 2019), LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§749. Parish or City School Supervisor of Instruction  

A. - A.1. … 
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2. master's degree from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

A.3. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1827 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1383 (October 2020). 
§751. Parish or City School Supervisor/Director of 

Special Education 
A. - A.2. … 

3. master's degree from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

A.4. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1827 (October 2006), 
LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
§755. Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance 

and/or Visiting Teacher  
A. - A.1. … 

2. master's degree from an institution accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602, including 15 semester hours 
of professional education at the graduate level to include 
three semester hours in each of the following areas: 

A.2.a. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
§761. Title Equivalencies 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006), 
amended LR 45:232 (February 2019), repealed LR 46:1384 
(October 2020). 
Subchapter D. All Other Supervisory Endorsements 
§783. Supervisor of School Libraries—Eligibility 

Requirements 
A. - A.2.a. … 

3. master's degree in library science from an 
institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, 
including 12 semester hours of graduate training in library 
science and a minimum of 21 semester hours of 
undergraduate credit in library science. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006), 
amended LR 45:1463 (October 2019), LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
§785. Supervisor of Parish or City Materials and/or 

Media Centers 
A. - A.1. … 

2. advanced degree from an institution accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

3. - 3.d. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006), 
amended LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
§787. Supervisor of Student Teaching 

A. - B.3. … 
4. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 

field of the supervisory assignment and National Board 
Certification in Subsection C of this Section.  

C. On September 1, 2023 the mentor teacher ancillary 
certificate will replace the supervisor of student teaching 
certificate. The supervisor of student teaching certificate will 
no longer be issued effective December 31, 2020. Educators 
who were issued a supervisor of student teaching certificate 
on or before December 31, 2020, may serve as a mentor 
teacher until August 31, 2023. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:2136 (July 2011), LR 45:232 (February 2019), LR 
46:1384 (October 2020). 
Chapter 8. Certification Appeal Process 
§803. Appeal Process 

A. - A.3.e. … 
f. lack a degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; or 
3.g. - 4. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:487 (March 2010), LR 38:3140 (December 2012), 
LR 43:1314 (July 2017), LR 44:2002 (November 2018), LR 
45:1750 (December 2019), LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
§805. Application Packet 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2843 (December 2010), LR 46:1384 (October 
2020). 
Chapter 10. Definitions 
§1001. Terms 

Accredited (formerly regionally accredited)—a term used 
to denote the status of public recognition that a regionally 
recognized accrediting agency grants to an educational 
institution or program that meets the agency's standards and 
requirements in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

NOTE: When used in this Part, regionally accredited shall be 
replaced with accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

Alternate Teacher Preparation Program—a pathway 
designed for candidates with a minimum of a baccalaureate 
degree earned at an institution accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602. An alternate program combines professional 
knowledge with field experiences, including a one-year 
supervised internship in a school setting. For admission to an 
alternate program, applicants must demonstrate content 
mastery. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1385

* * * 
Non-Education Baccalaureate Degree—a baccalaureate 

degree earned through an institution of higher education 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 that does not 
result in eligibility for teacher certification in the state in 
which the program is approved to operate. 

* * * 
Regionally Accredited—see the definition for accredited 

in this Section. 

NOTE: When used in this Part, regionally accredited shall be 
replaced with accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:560 (February 2011), LR 43:1314 (July 2017), LR 
45:233 (February 2019), LR 46:1384 (October 2020). 
Chapter 11. State Guidelines Related to Qualifications 

for Paraprofessionals and Continuing 
Learning Units 

§1103. Highly Qualified Policy for Teachers 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2053 (October 2007), 
amended LR 35:643 (April 2009), repealed LR 46:1385 (October 
2020). 
§1105. Paraprofessional Qualifications 

A. - F.1.a. … 
b. has 2 years of full-time study (48 semester credit 

hours) from the recommended list of state-approved 
institutions of higher education or from an institution of 
higher education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 
A total of 15 hours of general education course requirements 
include English composition (3), English/reading (6), and 
mathematics (6). For the remaining 33 hours of coursework, 
acceptance of credit for a course shown on a transcript from 
an approved higher education institution is left to school 
district discretion in addressing the needs of the specific job; 

1.c. - 2.a. … 
b. has 2 years of full-time study (48 semester credit 

hours) from the recommended list of state-approved 
institutions of higher education or from an institution of 
higher education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. 
A total of 15 hours of general education course requirements 
include English composition (3), English/reading (6), and 
mathematics (6). For the remaining 33 hours of coursework, 
acceptance of credit for a course shown on a transcript from 
an approved higher education institution is left to school 
district discretion in addressing the needs of the specific job; 

F.2.c. - G.3.b.iii.(b). … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2056 (October 2007), 
amended LR 43:1315 (July 2017), LR 46:1385 (October 2020). 

Chapter 12. Approved Courses to Reinstate Lapsed 
Certificates 

§1203. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate 
A. Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate is made only on 

evidence that the holder has earned six semester hours of 
credit in approved courses from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. The 
credit must be earned within the five-year period 
immediately preceding reinstatement of the certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2058 (October 2007), 
amended LR 46:1385 (October 2020). 
§1205. Certificate Reinstatement Coursework 

A. - A.1. … 
2. Coursework must be reflected on a transcript from 

an institution of higher education accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602. 

3. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 34 

CFR 602 and R.S. 17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 
17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2058 (October 2007), 
amended LR 46:1385 (October 2020). 
Chapter 13. Ancillary Certification 
§1305. Ancillary School Service Certificates 

A. - A.7.e. … 
f. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2060 (October 2007), 
amended LR 46:1385 (October 2020). 

 
Shan N. Davis  
Executive Director 

2010#056 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Petition Provisions of the Title V Permitting Program 
(LAC 33:III.531 and 533)(AQ387ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the air regulations, LAC 33:III.531 
and 533 (Log # AQ387ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 85 
CFR Part 24, pages 6431-6446, 40 CFR Part 70.7(h)(2), (5), 
(6), 70.8(a)(1) and (d), 70.12(a), and 70.14, which are 
applicable in Louisiana. For more information regarding the 
federal requirement, contact Deidra Johnson at (225) 219-
3985. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the
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Rule. This Rule will be promulgated in accordance with the 
procedures in R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

On February 5, 2020, the Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) revised its regulations to streamline and 
clarify processes related to submission and review of Title V 
petitions. This Rule will incorporate the relevant provisions 
of the federal Rule into LAC 33:III.531 and 533. Most 
notably, the Rule will require LDEQ to provide EPA with a 
written response to significant comments received on 
proposed Title V permit actions in order to commence EPA’s 
45-day review period described in LAC 33:III.533.C. 

LDEQ’s Part 70 operating permits program, which is 
codified in LAC 33:III.507 and several other sections of 
LAC 33:III.Chapter 5, must conform to the minimum 
requirements of 40 CFR Part 70 (State Operating Permit 
Programs). Per 40 CFR 70.1, “[t]hese regulations define the 
minimum elements required by the Act for State operating 
permit programs.” 40 CFR 70.4(i) allows a state with an 
approved Part 70 operating permits program, like Louisiana, 
to initiate a program revision when relevant federal 
regulations are modified or supplemented. The basis and 
rationale for this Rule are to incorporate the relevant 
provisions of EPA's Rule entitled, "Revisions to the Petition 
Provisions of the Title V Permitting Program" into LAC 
33:III.531 and 533. This Rule meets an exception listed in 
R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§531. Public Notice and Affected State Notice  

A. - A.3.a.ii. … 
b. Such notice shall identify: 

 i. - iv. … 
 v. the name or title, address, and telephone 
number of an LDEQ employee from whom additional 
information may be obtained, including copies of the 
proposed permit, the application, and all supporting 
materials, including the Statement of Basis required by 
Paragraph A.4 of this Section; 

b.vi. - d. … 
4. Statement of Basis. The permitting authority shall 

provide a statement that sets forth the legal and factual basis 
for the proposed permit conditions of any permit issued to a 
Part 70 source, including references to the applicable 
statutory or regulatory provisions. The permitting authority 
shall send this statement to any person who requests it and to 
EPA. 

B. - B.3. … 
C. The permitting authority shall keep a record of the 

commenters and of the issues raised during the public 
participation process, as well as records of the written 
comments submitted during that process. Such records shall 
be available to the public. This requirement may be met by 
making the written comments received and any public 
hearing transcript available on the department’s electronic 
document management system. 

D. The permitting authority shall respond in writing to 
all significant comments raised during the public 
participation process, including any such written comments 
submitted during the public comment period and any such 
comments raised during any public hearing on the proposed 
permit. A copy of the written response to significant 
comments shall be made available to the public on the 
department’s electronic document management system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:1841 (October 2006), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 43:926 (May 2017), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 46:1386 (October 2020). 
§533. EPA Notice, Review, and Objection 

A. … 
B. Transmittal of Information 

1. A copy of each permit application pertaining to a 
major Part 70 source (including an application for a 
significant or minor permit modification) shall be provided 
to EPA by the owner or operator at the time the application is 
submitted to the permitting authority. 

2. A copy of each proposed permit and Statement of 
Basis (SOB) pertaining to a major Part 70 source shall be 
provided to EPA by the permitting authority. 

a. If, during the public participation process, the 
permitting authority receives significant comments on the 
proposed permit before a copy of the proposed permit and 
SOB have been provided to EPA, the permitting authority 
shall provide EPA with a written response to significant 
comments along with the proposed permit and SOB. 

b. If, during the public participation process, the 
permitting authority receives significant comments on the 
proposed permit after a copy of the proposed permit and 
SOB have been provided to EPA, the permitting authority 
shall make any necessary revisions to the permit and/or SOB 
to address such comments and provide EPA with the 
proposed permit, SOB, and written response to significant 
comments after the public comment period has closed. The 
permit submitted to EPA with the written response to 
significant comments after the public comment period has 
closed shall be considered the proposed permit for purposes 
of this Paragraph. 

3. A copy of each final permit issued to a major Part 
70 source shall be provided to EPA by the permitting 
authority. If significant comments were received during any 
required public participation process, a copy of the written 
response to significant comments shall also be provided to 
EPA. 

B.4. - D.3. … 
E. Public Petitions to EPA 

1. If the administrator does not object in writing under 
Subsection D of this Section, any person may petition the 
administrator to make such objection. Such petitions must be 
made within 60 days after the expiration of the 
administrator’s 45-day review period. 
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a. Each public petition filed with the administrator 
must include the elements described in 40 CFR 70.12(a) in 
the order set forth therein and be submitted by one of the 
methods listed in 40 CFR 70.14. 

b. The petitioner shall provide a copy of the petition 
to the permitting authority and to the permit applicant. 

2. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended LR 20:1376 (December 1994), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 38:2745 (November 2012), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 46:1386 (October 2020). 

 
Courtney J. Burdette 
General Counsel 

2010#028 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Applications and Notices (LAC 10:I.Chapter 5) 

The Office of Financial Institutions (OFI) has amended 
LAC 10.I.501 and 509, and adopt LAC 10.I.511 and 513 
relative to Loan Production Offices, deposit production 
offices, and Combination Offices, respectively, of banks, 
savings banks, homestead associations, building and loan 
associations, and savings and loan associations, as 
authorized by R.S. 6:452 and 453. This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

OFI proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
aforementioned offices of affected financial institutions to be 
consistent with Act 183 of the 2020 regular legislative 
session. The amendments allow state-chartered institutions 
to open loan production offices with notice to the 
Commissioner and provide a process by which an institution 
may request permission to engage in activities permissible 
for national banks through such offices. The adoption of 
§§511 and 513 provide similarly relative to deposit 
production offices and combination offices, respectively, 
without restriction on the placement of electronic financial 
terminals. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT,  

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part I.  Financial Institutions 

Chapter 5. Applications and Notices 
Subchapter A Certificate of Authority for New Financial 

Institutions; Branches; or Relocation of 
Main Office or Branch Office 

§501. Definitions 
* * * 

Deposit Production Office—a physically manned location, 
in the State of Louisiana, in another state, or the District of 
Columbia, other than the main office or branch office of a 

financial institution, from which the financial institution 
intends to provide information about deposit products 
offered by such financial institution, solicit deposits, and 
assist persons in completing application forms and related 
documents to open deposit accounts. A deposit production 
office may be a wholly-owned operating subsidiary of a 
financial institution. A deposit production office may also be 
referred to in this rule as a “DPO”. 

* * * 
Loan Production Office―a physically manned location, in 

the state of Louisiana, in another state or the District of 
Columbia, other than the main office or branch office of a 
financial institution from which the financial institution 
intends to provide information about, and solicit and/or 
originate applications for, loans, by such financial 
institution. A loan production office may be a wholly-owned 
operating subsidiary of a financial institution. A loan 
production office may also be referred to in this rule as an 
“LPO”. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:121(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
19:1414 (November 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Office of Financial Institutions, LR 31:2894 (November 2005), LR 
46:1387 (October 2020). 

Subchapter B. Loan Production Offices, Deposit 
Production Offices, and Electronic 
Financial Terminals; Notice, Activities 
and Requirements 

§509. Loan Production Office 
A. Definitions 

Applicant—repealed. 
Application—repealed. 
Commissioner—the commissioner of the Louisiana 

Office of Financial Institutions. 
Federal Financial Institution—any national bank, 

federal savings association, or other depository institution 
chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.  

Financial Institution—any federal financial institution, 
Louisiana financial institution, or out-of-state financial 
institution. 

Letter of Notification—written notice submitted to the 
commissioner by a financial institution indicating its intent 
to establish one or more loan production office(s). The Letter 
of Notification shall identify the financial institution and 
provide the municipal address of the proposed LPO location. 
If the ratio of premises and fixed assets to Tier 1 capital plus 
the allowance for loan and lease losses will, at any time, 
exceed 50 percent, or 45 percent for a new institution, the 
financial institution must also provide supporting 
documentation and a request to exceed this threshold 
pursuant to LAC X:I.1101. 

Loan Production Office―a physically manned location, 
in the state of Louisiana, in another state or the District of 
Columbia, other than the main office or branch office of a 
financial institution from which the financial institution 
intends to provide information about, and solicit and/or 
originate applications for, loans, by such financial 
institution. A loan production office may be a wholly-owned
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operating subsidiary of a financial institution. A loan 
production office may also be referred to in this rule as an 
“LPO”. 

Louisiana Financial Institution—any Louisiana state-
chartered bank, savings bank, homestead association, 
building and loan association, or savings and loan 
association. 

Out-of-State Financial Institution—any state-chartered 
bank, savings bank, homestead association, building and 
loan association, or savings and loan association, chartered 
in a state other than Louisiana or chartered in the District of 
Columbia. 

B. Prior Notification 
1. In accordance with R.S. 6:452, a Louisiana 

financial institution seeking to open a loan production office 
shall provide written prior notification, to the commissioner, 
of the planned loan production office. The notification shall 
be sent to the commissioner at least 45 days prior to the 
proposed opening date of the LPO. 

2. Notification to the commissioner may be delivered 
by U.S. Mail, private commercial courier, hand-delivered, or 
by electronic mail.  

3. If at the time of the notification to the 
commissioner, a Louisiana financial institution plans to 
share the location of an LPO with one or more other 
financial institutions, the name and domicile of each such 
other financial institution shall be included in the written 
prior notice to the commissioner.  

C. Objection by Commissioner 
1. In accordance with R.S. 6:452, after a Louisiana 

financial institution sends notification of its intent to open an 
LPO, the commissioner may object to the proposed loan 
production office based on any of the reasons set forth in 
Paragraph C.2. The commissioner may timely object by 
notifying the Louisiana financial institution within 45 days 
of receiving the Louisiana financial institution’s notification 
of its intent to open an LPO. If the commissioner timely 
objects to the proposed LPO, the Louisiana financial 
institution shall refrain from opening the proposed LPO.  

2. Reasons for Objection. The following factors may 
form the basis for the commissioner’s objection to a loan 
production office as well as any additional factors deemed 
necessary and appropriate: 

a. financial history and condition; 
b. adequacy of capital; 
c. future earnings prospects; 
d. management; 
e. convenience and needs of the community; 
f. concentration risk. 

3. Written Reasons for Objection by Commissioner. 
Following an objection by the commissioner to a Louisiana 
financial institution’s proposed loan production office, a 
Louisiana financial institution may request written reasons 
for the objection.  

4. Out-of-State Financial Institutions. An out-of-state 
financial institution may establish one or more LPOs in 
Louisiana as allowed by, and in compliance with, the laws, 
regulations, rulings, and pronouncements of the state or 
district where such financial institution is chartered that 
apply to the establishment of an LPO by such out-of-state 
financial institution and may conduct at, or from, any of its 
LPOs in Louisiana such activities as are authorized by the 

laws, regulations, rulings, and pronouncements of the state 
or district where such out-of-state financial institution is 
chartered. Except for the requirements of this Paragraph, 
out-of-state financial institutions are not subject to the 
requirements of this Section or §511 of this Chapter.  

5. Federal Financial Institutions. A federal financial 
institution may establish one or more LPOs in Louisiana as 
allowed by, and in compliance with the federal laws, 
regulations, rulings, and pronouncements that apply to the 
establishment of an LPO by a federal financial institution. 
Except for the requirements of this Paragraph, federal 
financial institutions are not subject to the requirements of 
this Section or §511 of this Chapter. 

D. Activities 
1. Permissible Activities. A loan production office of a 

Louisiana financial institution is limited to the following 
activities: 

a. soliciting, and originating, loans on behalf of the 
Louisiana financial institution; 

b. providing information on loan rates and terms; 
c. interviewing and counseling loan applicants 

regarding loans and any provisions for disclosure required 
by various regulation; 

d. aiding customers in the loan application process, 
including the completing of loan applications, the obtaining 
of credit investigations, obtaining title insurance premiums, 
attorney’s fees, title abstract fees, mortgage certificate fees, 
hazard insurance premiums, flood insurance premiums, 
survey costs, recording costs, and any other information 
needed to prepare a good faith estimate, to complete a loan 
application, or to prepare a loan for closing; 

e. making credit decisions and approving or 
declining loans, in accordance with the Louisiana financial 
institution’s lending policies; and 

f. signing any and all loan documents and 
disclosures, including but not limited to promissory notes, 
line of credit agreements, mortgages, security agreements, 
guarantee agreements, any other agreement establishing 
collateral to secure the repayment of the loan, and other 
instruments obligating the loan customer to the Louisiana 
financial institution. 

2. Activities Parity. In addition to the permissible 
activities set forth above, a Louisiana financial institution 
may conduct at, or from, any of its loan production offices 
any other activity that is a permissible for an LPO of a 
national bank or other federal financial institution by 
complying with R.S. 6:242(C). 

3. Electronic Financial Terminals. In addition to the 
permissible activities set forth above, a Louisiana financial 
institution may operate an electronic financial terminal 
(EFT) facility within, adjacent to, or in close proximity to, 
any of its loan production offices, provided that it complies 
with the notice requirements contained in §511 of this 
Chapter. An EFT is defined in R.S. 6:2(7). 

4. Prohibited Activities. The following activities may 
not be conducted at a loan production office of a Louisiana 
financial institution unless the Louisiana financial institution 
has established a combined loan production office and 
deposit production office in accordance with R.S. 6:454, and 
with §511 of this Chapter: 

a. providing forms which enable the customer to 
open deposit accounts directly or by mail; 
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b. counseling customers regarding savings 
accounts, checking accounts or any other services except 
loan origination services; 

c. advertising, stating or implying that the loan 
production office provides services other than loan 
origination services; 

5. Loan Payments. A loan production office of a 
Louisiana financial institution shall not accept loan 
payments; however, the occasional acceptance of loan 
payments is permissible in the event borrowers fail to follow 
established loan payment procedures. 

6. Loan proceeds shall not be physically disbursed in-
person to the borrower at an LPO of a Louisiana financial 
institution. However, this does not restrict the disbursement 
of loan proceeds electronically. 

E. Closure or Change of Location of Loan Production 
Office 

1. Prior to closing or relocating a loan production 
office of a Louisiana financial institution, the Louisiana 
financial institution shall give prior written notice to the 
commissioner for approval at least 45 days prior to closing 
or relocating the LPO. The notification of a relocation shall 
contain the current physical address of the loan production 
office, the proposed new address and the anticipated date of 
relocation. The notification of a closure shall include the 
current location of the loan production office, the reason for 
the closure and the anticipated date of the closure. Approval 
will be deemed to have been granted if the commissioner 
does not respond to the notice within 45 days of receipt. This 
provision may be waived by the commissioner. 

2. At least 30 days prior to the closure date or 
relocation date, the Louisiana financial institution shall post 
a notice in a conspicuous location in the loan production 
office to be closed or relocated, that the LPO will be closed 
or relocated. If the LPO is to be closed, the notice shall state 
the closing date and the nearest location where a customer 
may obtain access to services. If the LPO is to be relocated, 
the notice shall state the relocation date and the address of 
the new location. 

3. The requirements contained in Paragraph E.2 of 
this Subsection may be waived by the commissioner to 
prevent or alleviate any condition which he or she may 
reasonably expect to create an emergency relative to that 
Louisiana financial institution, its employees, or its 
customers. 

F. Other 
1. Emergency Acquisition of a Louisiana Loan 

Production Office. In the case of the acquisition of a failed 
or failing Louisiana financial institution, the commissioner 
may waive any provision of this rule which is not required 
by statute for the purpose of allowing an acquiring financial 
institution to operate a loan production office of the failed or 
failing financial institution.  

2. Name. Each loan production office of a Louisiana 
financial institution shall include the words “Loan 
Production Office” on one primary exterior sign at the loan 
production office and all other signage shall include the 
words “Loan Production Office” or the initials “LPO.” The 
words “Loan Production Office” and the initials “LPO” must 
be reproduced in at least one-half as large a font size as the 
font size used for the name of the Louisiana financial 
institution on signage at the loan production office. 

3. Sharing of Loan Production Office Locations  
a. Loan production office locations may be shared 

by one or more financial institutions provided that each 
Louisiana financial institution complies with the provisions 
of this rule. In addition, any written agreement related to the 
sharing of a loan production office shall accompany, or be 
included in, the prior notice submitted to the commissioner 
as required by §509.B. Further, when engaging in the 
sharing of a loan production office location, the Louisiana 
financial institution shall ensure that:  
 i. each financial institution is conspicuously, 
accurately, and separately identified; 
 ii. each financial institution provides its own 
employee(s) and their affiliation with the financial institution 
by which they are employed is clearly and fully disclosed to 
customers so that customers will know the identity of the 
financial institution that is providing the product or service; 
 iii. the arrangement does not constitute a joint 
venture or partnership with the other financial institution 
under applicable state law; 
 iv. all aspects of the relationship between the 
financial institutions are conducted at arm's length; 
 vi. security issues arising from the activities of the 
other financial institution on the premises are addressed; 
 vi. the activities of the other financial institution 
do not adversely affect the safety and soundness of such 
financial institution; and 
 vii. the assets and records of the financial 
institutions are segregated.  

b. An LPO location sharing agreement involving a 
Louisiana financial institution should outline the manner in 
which: 
 i. the operations of each of the financial 
institutions will be separately identified and maintained 
within the loan production office location; 
 ii. the assets and records of the financial 
institutions will be segregated; 
 iii. expenses will be shared; 
 iv. confidentiality of each of the financial 
institution’s records will be maintained; and 
 v. any additional provisions deemed applicable. 

4. Any an exception and/or waiver of any provision of 
this rule requires the written approval of the commissioner. 

5. Effective Date. This rule shall become effective 
upon final publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:452. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
21:1217 (November 1995), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Office of Financial Institutions, LR 46:1387 (October 2020). 
§511. Deposit Production Office 

A. Definitions 
Commissioner—the commissioner of the Louisiana Office 

of financial institutions. 
Deposit Production Office—a physically manned location, 

in the State of Louisiana, in another state, or the District of 
Columbia, other than the main office or branch office of a 
financial institution, from which the financial institution 
intends to provide information about deposit products 
offered by such financial institution, solicit deposits, and 
assist persons in completing application forms and related 
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documents to open deposit accounts. A deposit production 
office may be a wholly-owned operating subsidiary of a 
financial institution. A deposit production office may also be 
referred to in this rule as a “DPO”. 

Federal Financial Institution—any national bank or 
federal savings association, or other depository institution 
chartered by the Office of the comptroller of the currency.  

Financial Institution—any federal financial institution, 
Louisiana financial institution, or out-of-state financial 
institution. 

Letter of Notification—written notice submitted to the 
commissioner by a Louisiana financial institution indicating 
its intent to establish a deposit production office. The letter 
of notification shall identify the Louisiana financial 
institution and provide the municipal address of the 
proposed DPO location. If the ratio of premises and fixed 
assets to Tier 1 Capital plus the allowance for loan and lease 
losses will, at any time, exceed 50 percent, or 45 percent for 
a new institution, the financial institution must also provide 
supporting documentation with a request to exceed this 
threshold pursuant to LAC X:I.1101. 

Louisiana Financial Institution—any Louisiana state-
chartered bank, savings bank, homestead association, 
building and loan association, or savings and loan 
association. 

Out-of-State Financial Institution—any state-chartered 
bank, savings bank, homestead association, building and 
loan association, or savings and loan association chartered in 
a state other than Louisiana or in the District of Columbia. 

B. Prior Notification 
1. In accordance with R.S. 6:453, a Louisiana 

financial institution seeking to open a deposit production 
office shall provide written prior notification, to the 
commissioner, of the planned deposit production office. The 
notification shall be sent to the commissioner at least 45 
days prior to the proposed opening date of the DPO. 

2. Notification to the commissioner may be delivered 
by U.S. Mail, private commercial courier, hand-delivered, or 
by electronic mail.  

3. If at the time of the notification to the 
commissioner, the Louisiana financial institution plans to 
share the location of the DPO with another financial 
institution, the name and domicile of each such other 
financial institution shall be included in the written prior 
notice to the commissioner.  

C. Objection by Commissioner 
1. In accordance with R.S. 6:453, after a Louisiana 

financial institution sends notification of its intent to open an 
DPO, the commissioner may object to the proposed deposit 
production office based on any of the reasons set forth in 
Paragraph C.2. The commissioner may timely object by 
notifying the Louisiana financial institution within 45 days 
of receiving the Louisiana financial institution’s notification 
of its intent to open a DPO. If the commissioner timely 
objects to the proposed DPO, the Louisiana financial 
institution shall refrain from opening the proposed DPO.  

2. Reasons for Objection. The following factors may 
form the basis of the commissioner’s objection to a deposit 
production office as well as any additional factors deemed 
necessary and appropriate: 

a. financial history and condition; 
b. adequacy of capital; 
c. future earnings prospects; 
d. management; 
e. convenience and needs of the community; 
f. concentration risk. 

3. Written Reasons for Objection by Commissioner. 
Following an objection by the commissioner to a Louisiana 
financial institution’s proposed deposit production office, a 
Louisiana financial institution may request written reasons 
for the objection.  

4. Out-of-State Financial Institutions. An out-of-state 
financial institution may establish a one or more DPOs in 
Louisiana as allowed by, and in compliance with, the laws, 
regulations, rulings, and pronouncements of the state or 
district where the out-of-state financial institution is 
chartered that apply to the establishment of a DPO by such 
out-of-state financial institution and may conduct at, or from 
any of its DPOs in Louisiana such activities as are 
authorized by the laws, regulations, rulings, and 
pronouncements of the state or district where such out-of-
state financial institution is chartered. Except for the 
requirements of this Paragraph, out-of-state financial 
institutions are not subject to the requirements of this 
Section or §511 of this Chapter.  

5. Federal Financial Institutions. A federal financial 
institution may establish one or more DPOs in Louisiana as 
allowed by, and in compliance with, the federal laws, 
regulations, rulings, and pronouncements that apply to the 
establishment of a DPO by a federal financial institution. 
Except for the requirements of this Paragraph, federal 
financial institutions are not subject to the requirements of 
this Section or §511 of this Chapter. 

D. Activities 
1. Permissible Activities. A deposit production office 

of a Louisiana financial institution is limited to the following 
activities: 

a. providing information about deposit products;  
b. assisting persons in completing application forms 

and related documents to open deposit accounts; 
c. providing forms which enable the customer to 

open deposit accounts directly, online, or by mail; 
d. counseling customers regarding savings 

accounts, checking accounts or any other deposit products; 
and 

e. advertising or promoting deposit products. 
2. Activities Parity. In addition to the permissible 

activities set forth above, a Louisiana financial institution 
may conduct at, or from, any of its deposit production 
offices any activity that is permissible for a DPO of a 
national bank or other federal financial institution by 
complying with R.S. 6:242(C). 

3. Electronic Financial Terminals. In addition to the 
permissible activities set forth above, a Louisiana financial 
institution may operate an electronic financial terminal 
(EFT) facility within, adjacent to, or in close proximity to, 
any of its deposit production offices, provided that it 
complies with the notice requirements contained in §511 of 
this Chapter. An EFT is defined in R.S. 6:2(7). 

4. Prohibited Activities. The following activities may 
not be conducted at a deposit production office of a
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Louisiana financial institution unless the Louisiana financial 
institution has established a combined loan production office 
and deposit production office in accordance with R.S. 6:454, 
and with Section 511 of this Chapter: 

a. soliciting loans on behalf of the Louisiana 
financial institution or one of its wholly-owned subsidiaries; 

b. providing information on loan rates and terms; 
c. interviewing and counseling loan applicants 

regarding loans and any provisions for disclosure required 
by various regulation; or 

d. aiding customers in the completion of loan 
applications, including the obtaining of credit investigations, 
obtaining title insurance premiums, attorneys fees, title 
abstract fees, mortgage certificates, hazard insurance 
premiums, flood insurance premiums, survey costs, 
recording costs, and any other information needed to prepare 
a good faith estimate, to complete a loan application, or to 
prepare a loan for closing. 

E. Closure or Change of Location of Deposit Production 
Office 

1. Prior to closing or relocating a deposit production 
office of a Louisiana financial institution, the Louisiana 
financial institution shall give prior written notice to the 
commissioner for approval at least 45 days prior to closing 
or relocating the DPO. The notification of a relocation shall 
contain the current physical address of the deposit 
production office, the proposed new address and the 
anticipated date of relocation. The notification of a closure 
shall include the current location of the deposit production 
office, the reason for the closure and the anticipated date of 
the closure. Approval will be deemed to have been granted if 
the commissioner does not respond to the notice within 45 
days of receipt. This provision may be waived by the 
commissioner. 

2. At least 30 days prior to the closure date or 
relocation date, the Louisiana financial institution shall post 
a notice in a conspicuous location in the deposit production 
office to be closed or relocated, that the DPO will be closed 
or relocated. If the DPO is to be closed, the notice shall state 
the closing date. If the DPO is to be relocated, the notice 
shall state the relocation date and the address of the new 
location. 

3. The requirements contained in Paragraph E.2 of 
this Subsection may be waived by the commissioner to 
prevent or alleviate any condition which he or she may 
reasonably expect to create an emergency relative to that 
Louisiana financial institution, its employees, or its 
customers. 

F. Other 
1. Emergency Acquisition of a Deposit Production 

Office. In the case of the acquisition of a failed or failing 
Louisiana financial institution, the commissioner may waive 
any provision of this rule which is not required by statute for 
the purpose of allowing an acquiring financial institution to 
operate a deposit production office of the failed or failing 
financial institution.  

2. Name. Deposit production offices of Louisiana 
financial institutions shall include the words "Deposit 
Production Office" on one primary exterior sign at the

deposit production office and all other signage shall include 
the words “Deposit Production Office” or the initials 
“DPO.” The words "Deposit Production Office" and the 
initials “DPO” must be reproduced in at least one-half as 
large a font size as the font size used for the name of the 
Louisiana financial institution on signage at the deposit 
production office. 

3. Sharing of Deposit Production Office Locations 
a. Deposit production office locations may be 

shared by one or more financial institutions provided that 
each Louisiana financial institution complies with the 
provisions of this rule. In addition, any written agreement 
related to the sharing of a deposit production office shall 
accompany, or be included in, the Prior Notice submitted to 
the commissioner as required by §510.B, a brief explanation 
of such written agreement, including the names of the 
financial institutions that will share the same location, shall 
accompany, or be included in, the prior notice submitted to 
the commissioner as required by §510.B. Further, when 
engaging in the sharing of a deposit production office, the 
Louisiana financial institution shall ensure that:  
 i. each other financial institution is 
conspicuously, accurately, and separately identified; 
 ii. each financial institution provides its own 
employee(s) and their affiliation with the other financial 
institution is clearly and fully disclosed to customers so that 
customers will know the identity of the financial institution 
that is providing the product or service; 
 iii. the arrangement does not constitute a joint 
venture or partnership with the other financial institution 
under applicable state law; 
 iv. all aspects of the relationship between the 
financial institutions are conducted at arm's length; 
 v. security issues arising from the activities of the 
other financial institution on the premises are addressed; 
 vi. the activities of the other financial institutions 
do not adversely affect the safety and soundness of the 
Louisiana financial institution; and 
 vii. the assets and records of the financial 
institutions are segregated. 

b. A DPO location sharing agreement involving a 
Louisiana financial institution should outline the manner in 
which: 
 i. the operations of each financial institution will 
be separately identified and maintained within the deposit 
production office location; 
 ii. the assets and records of the financial 
institutions will be segregated; 
 iii. expenses will be shared; 
 iv. confidentiality of each of the financial 
institution’s records will be maintained; and 
 v. any additional provisions deemed applicable. 

4. Any exception and/or waiver of any provision of 
this rule requires the written approval of the commissioner. 

5. Effective Date. This rule shall become effective 
upon final publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:453. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Office of Financial Institutions, LR 46:1389 (October 2020). 
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§513. Combination of Loan Production Office, Deposit 
Production Office, and Electronic Financial 
Terminal  

A. Definitions. For purposes of this Section, the 
definitions provided in §§509 and 510 are applicable. 

B. Combined Prior Notification 
1. Any Louisiana financial institution seeking to 

operate at the same location, a loan production office, a 
deposit production office, and an electronic financial 
terminal, or any combination of these facilities, shall provide 
written notice to the commissioner at least 45 days prior to 
the proposed opening date.  

2. A Louisiana financial institution may satisfy the 
notice requirements of R.S. 6:452 and 453 by submitting one 
combined written notice to the commissioner pursuant to 
this Section.  

C. Upon receiving the written notice, the commissioner 
has 45 days to object. If the commissioner does not raise a 
timely objection, the Louisiana financial institution may 
proceed with opening the combined facility. If the 
commissioner raises an objection, the commissioner shall, 
upon request, notify the Louisiana financial institution in 
writing as to the nature of the objection. The commissioner 
may consider the reasons for objection set forth in §§509.C 
and 510.C of this Chapter.  

E. Effective Date. This rule shall become effective upon 
final publication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:454. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 46:1392 (October 
2020). 

 
John Ducrest 
Commissioner 

2010#068 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 
Reimbursement for Independent Laboratory Services 

(LAC 50:XI.6901) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:XI.6901 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 9.  End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 

Chapter 69. Reimbursement 
§6901. General Provisions 

A. ... 
B. Covered non-routine dialysis services, continuous 

ambulatory peritoneal dialysis (CAPD), continuous cycling 

peritoneal dialysis (CCPD), epogen (EPO) and injectable 
drugs are reimbursed separately from the composite rate. 

1. Covered non-routine laboratory services may be 
billed by either the ESRD facility or the facility’s contracted 
outside laboratory. 

C. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1022 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1891 (September 2009), LR 36:2040 (September 
2010), LR 37:1599 (June 2011), LR 39:1284 (May 2013), amended 
by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
LR 46:1392 (October 2020). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#049 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Qualified Disabled and Working Individual Program 

Resources 
(LAC 50:III.10703 and 10705) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:III.10703 and §10705 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Subpart 5.  Financial Eligibility 

Chapter 107. Resources 
§10703. General Provisions 

A. - B ... 
C. The following individual’s resources shall be 

considered in determining eligibility for the Qualified 
Disabled and Working Individual (QDWI) Program: 

1. the applicant/recipient; and 
a. - b. Repealed. 

2. the spouse living in the home with the 
applicant/recipient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2867 (December 2010), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45:1772 (December 
2019), LR 46:1392 (October 2020.). 
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§10705. Resource Disregards 
A. - B.1. ...  
C. All resources shall be disregarded in eligibility 

determinations for the Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries 
(QMB), Specified Low Income Beneficiaries (SLMB) and 
Qualifying Individuals (QI) Programs. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:2867 (December 2010), LR 41:949 (May 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 45:1772 (December 2019), LR 46:1393 (October 
2020). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#050 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.9701 and 9943) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.9701 and 9943 as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 40:2109. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH─GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 97. Nursing Facilities 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9701. Definitions 

* * * 
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19)—a 

communicable, contagious, and infectious disease/virus 
(more specifically, a coronavirus) identified as the cause of 
an outbreak of respiratory illness first detected in Wuhan, 
China. COVID-19 is a new disease, caused by a novel (or 
new) coronavirus that has not previously been seen in 
humans. Persons with COVID-19 have had a wide range of 
symptoms reported-ranging from mild symptoms to severe 
illness. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2009.1-2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1891 
(November 2016), amended LR 46:1393 (October 2020). 

Chapter 99. Nursing Facilities 
Subchapter C. Infection Control and Sanitation 
§9943. Infection Control Program 

A. - D. ... 
E. Reportable diseases as expressed in the LAC Title 51, 

Public Health—Sanitary Code shall be reported to the local 
parish health unit of OPH and other agencies as required by 
state and/or federal laws, statutes, and ordinances. 

F. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Reporting. 
The facility, in addition to any state and/or local reporting, 
shall: 

1. electronically report information about COVID-19 
in the standardized format, and at the frequency, required by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and 
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); and 

2. inform residents, their representatives, and families 
of those residing in facilities, of the conditions of residents 
in the facility, within the timeframe and requirements as 
specified by CMS regulations and CDC reporting guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2009.1-2116. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1930 
(November 2016), amended LR 46:1393 (October 2020). 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2010#051 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Out-of-State Medical Services 
(LAC 50:I.701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:I.701 as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and 254.3, and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing out-
of-state medical services in order to reflect current practices 
and to align the administrative Rule with Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services regulations regarding out-
of-state care. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 7. Out-of-State Services 
§701. Out-of-State Medical Care 

A. Medical claims for out-of-state services are honored 
when: 

1. medical services are needed because of a medical 
emergency; 

2. medical services are needed and the beneficiary’s 
health would be in danger if the beneficiary were required to 
travel to the beneficiary’s state of residence; 
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3. the state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 
that the needed medical services, or necessary 
supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 
other state; or 

4. it is general practice for beneficiaries in a particular 
locality to use medical resources in another state. 

B. Prior authorization is required for out-of-state non-
emergency care. 

1. - 4. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 5:24 (February 1979), amended 
LR 6:491 (August 1980), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 32:847 (May 2006), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 46:1393. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 

Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written 
comments is at 4:30 p.m. on August 29, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 

Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on August 
10, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) are 
satisfied, LDH will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. on 
August 27, 2020 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, 
which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. To confirm whether or not a public hearing will be held, 
interested persons should first call Allen Enger at (225) 342-
1342 after August 10, 2020. If a public hearing is to be held, 
all interested persons are invited to attend and present data, 
views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. In the 
event of a hearing, parking is available to the public in the 
Galvez Parking Garage, which is located between North 
Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner 
from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the 
Galvez Garage may be available to public hearing attendees 
when the parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the 
hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Out-of-State Medical Services 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that 
$540 ($270 SGF and $270 FED) will be expended in FY 20-21 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 20-21. It is 
anticipated that $270 will be collected in FY 20-21 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing out-
of-state medical services in order to reflect current practices 
and to align the administrative Rule with Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services regulations regarding out-of-state care. 
This proposed Rule makes technical language revisions to the 
current administrative Rule which will have no effect on 
recipients or small businesses. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed Rule will not result in any 
increase or decrease in payments to Medicaid providers in FY 
20-21, FY 21-22, and FY 22-23 but will be beneficial by 
ensuring that the provisions are accurately promulgated in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ruth Johnson Christopher Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2007#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 
(LAC 22:I.315) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has amended 
the contents of §315, Telephone Use and Policy, on 
Monitoring of Calls. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day 
of promulgation. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE  

AND LAW ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
§315. Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 

A. Purpose. To state the secretary's policy regarding the 
use of telephones by offenders and the monitoring of 
offender telephone calls at all adult institutions. 

B. Applicability—Deputy Secretary, Chief of 
Operations, Regional Wardens and Wardens. Each warden is 
responsible for ensuring that appropriate unit written policy 
and procedures are in place to comply with the provisions of 
this regulation and for implementing and notifying all 
affected persons of its contents. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary's policy that uniform 
telephone procedures, including the ability to monitor and/or 
record offender telephone calls to preserve the security and 
orderly management of the institution and to protect public 
safety, shall be adhered to at all institutions. Each institution 
shall offer offenders (including the hearing and/or speech 
impaired) reasonable access to telephone communication 
without overtaxing the institution's ability to properly 
maintain security and to avoid abuse of this privilege on the 
part of any offender. Offenders with hearing and/or speech 
disabilities and offenders who wish to communicate with 
parties who have such disabilities shall be given access to 
appropriate auxiliary aids and services. It is further the 
secretary's policy to encourage offenders to maintain 
telephone communications while incarcerated in order to 
maintain family connections that will promote unification 
upon release. 

D. Procedures 
1. General 

a. Each offender shall be assigned a personal 
identification number (PIN) which must be used when 
placing outgoing telephone calls; the PIN shall be the 
offender's DOC number. 

b. Each offender will provide his assigned 
institution a master list of up to 20 frequently called 
telephone numbers inclusive of all family, personal and legal 
calls. Each offender's outgoing telephone calls shall be 
limited to those telephone numbers he has placed on his 
master list. Changes may be made to the master list at the 
discretion of the warden, but no less than once each quarter. 
These changes may be entered by the contractor or by 
appropriately trained institutional staff. No offender shall 
place the telephone number of the family of another offender 

on his master list “except for verified members of his own 
family." 

c. For new offenders, PIN and master list numbers 
shall be entered into the telephone system upon intake at the 
reception and diagnostic centers. 

d. All offender telephone calls made through use of 
the offender telephone system shall be recorded and are 
subject to monitoring, this includes calls made to attorneys 
using the offender telephone system. (See Clause D.6.a.iii 
for additional information.) 

e. A visible sign by each offender telephone shall 
place offenders on notice that all calls shall be recorded and 
are subject to monitoring. 

f. A recorded message shall notify all parties that 
all calls shall be recorded and are subject to monitoring and 
that the call originated from a correctional facility. 

g. Use of the offender telephone system shall 
constitute consent by all parties to the recording and/or 
monitoring of the call. 

h. Upon the request of a telephone subscriber, the 
institution shall block a telephone number and prevent the 
subscriber from receiving calls from an offender housed in 
the facility. To accomplish a block of a particular number for 
all state facilities, the institution should contact the 
contractor to request that a universal block be put into place. 

i. Offenders are allowed to make collect calls to 
cell phones. These calls must be set up as direct remit 
accounts with the department's phone service provider. This 
shall be done after approval is received from the department 
to add the cell number. Prepaid cell phones are not allowed 
to set up the direct bill accounts. Cell phones must have a 
provider from a major wireless company i.e., AT and T, 
Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc. 

j. Disciplinary sanctions may include certain 
restrictions on phone privileges; however, all offenders shall 
be allowed two collect calls per month. 

k. Any offender placed in segregation shall be 
allowed one phone call (either at the offender’s expense or 
via a collect call) within 24 hours of placement into a 
segregation housing unit. 

2. Dormitory Housing (Minimum or Medium 
Custody) 

a. Personal or Family Calls (routine). Collect 
telephone access should be available on a relatively non-
restricted basis. The specific hours in the various living areas 
at the individual institutions shall be established by the 
warden of each institution. The warden shall communicate 
the telephone schedule to the offender population. A time 
limit should be established. 

b. Personal or Family Calls (emergency). Requests 
for access outside of normally scheduled hours may be made 
through the dormitory officer, shift supervisor or other 
appropriate staff who decides if the justification the offender 
presents warrants the request. That decision is then logged. 
No frequency for this type call is established as the severity 
and duration of the emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
schedule for legal calls. Offenders are generally able to place 
legal calls during the lunch period “non-working hours,” or 
after the afternoon count (when "normal office hours" are in 
effect for attorneys.) The warden shall establish an alternate 
procedure if this is not adequate. 
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3. Cellblock Housing (Maximum Custody) 
a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Collect 

telephone access is generally located in the cellblock lobby. 
(In those situations where the telephone is on the tier, the 
offender may be allowed access during the shower or 
exercise period.) Lobby placement may restrict offender 
access. Therefore, posted policy may limit routine personal 
calls for offenders assigned to cellblocks. Access may vary 
by offender classification status. A time limit should be 
established.  

b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). In all 
subclasses of maximum custody, the offender is required to 
request consideration for this type call from the warden's 
designee (shift supervisor, unit major, or program staff) who 
decides if the justification the offender presents warrants the 
request. That decision is then logged. No frequency for this 
type call is established as the severity and duration of the 
emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
procedure for placing legal calls on a reasonable basis during 
"normal office hours." Each housing unit shall maintain a 
legal telephone log for the purpose of monitoring the number 
of legal calls made by offenders on a weekly basis. All legal 
calls are to be logged with the attorney's full name, bar 
number, telephone number called, date, time and whether 
completed. 

4. Incoming Calls 
a. Personal or Family calls (Routine). Messages are 

not accepted or relayed on a routine basis for any offender. 
b. Legal Calls. Offenders may be given notice that 

their attorney has requested contact. Complete verification is 
required prior to processing. If minimum or medium 
custody, the offender may call from the dormitory during 
lunch or after work. If maximum custody, the offender may 
be allowed to call during "normal office hours" at a time 
which does not interfere with the orderly operation of the 
unit. 

5. Emergency Messages/Important Telephone Calls 
Based upon Faith-Based Programs and Services 

a. Emergency messages concerning a serious 
illness, injury, death or other family crisis, etc. shall be 
delivered to an offender by the chaplain or other person 
designated by the warden. Exceptions to this paragraph shall 
only be granted by the warden or designee.  

b. Notification to an offender’s emergency contact 
(or other appropriate person as the situation warrants) of an 
offender’s serious illness, injury or death shall be made in a 
timely manner by the chaplain or other person designated by 
the warden.  

c. Chaplains are allowed discretion to make 
telephone calls for offenders for the purposes of dealing with 
emergency matters. 

6. Monitoring 
a. Offenders shall be put on notice of the following: 

 i. telephone calls in housing areas shall be 
recorded and are subject to monitoring and that “use” 
constitutes “consent”; 
 ii. it is the offender’s responsibility to advise all 
other parties that conversations are subject to being 
monitored and/or recorded; 
 iii. telephone calls to the offender’s designated 
attorney(s) will not be routinely monitored. Any telephone 

calls placed on offender telephones to attorneys shall be 
recorded but not monitored unless the warden determines a 
security need exists. Prior to examination of the content of 
the conversation with the attorney, the party requesting 
examination must put in writing the factors supporting the 
good cause and submit to the warden for approval. Only 
after approval has been received, shall the conversation be 
examined. Only investigators approved by the chief of 
operations shall be allowed to monitor the calls. 

b. The telephone system will normally terminate a 
call at the end of the authorized period (normally 15 
minutes); however, the warden or designee may authorize 
calls of a longer duration as circumstances warrant. Persons 
using the TDD system shall be allowed one-hour telephone 
calls. 

c. Offenders shall not be allowed access to home 
telephone numbers nor be allowed to call any staff member 
of the department (including volunteers, contract workers, 
etc.) by any means whether through call forwarding, texting, 
web based or similar communication platforms or systems. 

d. Only authorized (i.e., those who have been 
assigned a login/password) personnel approved by the 
warden or designee may monitor offender telephone calls. 
Information gained from monitoring calls which affects the 
security of the institution or threatens the protection of the 
public shall be communicated to the warden and other law 
enforcement agencies.  

e. Offenders being processed into the system 
through the reception and diagnostic centers shall be 
required to give “consent” in writing, acknowledging that 
they are aware that their telephone calls shall be recorded 
and are subject to monitoring. A copy of this “consent” shall 
be placed in the offender’s master record. 

f. Each institution’s orientation manual shall 
include the information contained in this regulation as a 
means to notify the offender population of its contents and 
verbal notification shall be given during the orientation 
program. A sign shall be posted at each offender telephone 
which states the following information: 

ATTENTION 
This telephone has been electronically programmed to monitor 
and/or record telephone calls. By using this telephone, you 
consent to the monitoring and/or recording of your 
conversation. Telephone calls to your designated attorney(s) 
will not be routinely monitored. 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Department Regulation No. OP-C-8 

7. Remote Call Forwarding 
a. Remote Call Forwarding (RCF) is a mechanism 

by which offenders may employ a local telephone number 
that automatically forwards the telephone call to a pre-
selected number generally located out of the local calling 
area code or long distance. RCF in essence is an automated 
3-way call. 

b. RCF is also known as automated call forwarding 
or PBX call forwarding. Use of this automated and remote 
mechanism represents significant security risks for several 
reasons. The telephone call terminated number (the end 
destination of the call) cannot be readily identified or 
verified. This number is not a traditional telephone number 
located at a residence, business or other such location but 
merely a number within the telephone switching equipment 
local to the facility where the offender is housed. 
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c. RCF initiated calls to an unidentified terminated 
number can and are being easily forwarded to unauthorized 
telephones. This forwarding is done through the normal 3-
way call hook ups. This in fact negates the security 
mechanisms achieved by the requirement of approved 
telephone lists. Safeguards to prevent calls to victims, to 
blocked or restricted numbers or to prevent other 
unauthorized call activities are defeated by the use of an 
RCF number. 

d. RCF usage creates an opportunity to conduct 
criminal or illegal or unauthorized activities since the end 
call location is not readily being identified, verified or its 
actual location known. This affords untold opportunity for 
offenders to engage in potential scams, to call victims, to 
facilitate escape attempts and to engage in other conduct 
representing significant security risks to the facility. 

e. The offender population shall be put on notice 
that all third-party telephone calls, including RCF calls, are 
strictly prohibited and such activity shall result in 
appropriate disciplinary action. 

f. Wardens shall develop a monitoring system to 
analyze the frequency of local calls. High frequency may 
indicate RCF utilization. When RCF calls are discovered, a 
system-wide block of the number shall be initiated pursuant 
to Subparagraph D.1.i. of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:829. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 29:360 
(March 2003), amended LR 29:2849 (December 2003), LR 35:87 
(January 2009), LR 37:599 (February 2011), LR 46:1395 (October 
2020). 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

2010#030 

 
RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Practice of Engineering and Supervising Professionals 
(LAC 46:LXI.105 and 2305) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Professional 
Engineering and Land Surveying Licensure Law, R.S. 
37:681 et seq., and in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board has amended its rules contained in LAC 46:LXI.105 
and 2305. 

This is a technical revision of existing rules under which 
LAPELS operates. The revision clarifies (a) the 
circumstances under which an architect can perform minor 
mechanical, electrical or civil-structural engineering work 
necessarily incidental to his/her practice of architecture and 
(b) the amount of time that certain licensed professionals 
must work for (and/or the amount of ownership interest that 
certain licensed professionals must have in) a licensed firm 
to be able to serve as the firm’s supervising professional. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXI.  Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§105. Definitions 

A. The words and phrases defined in R.S. 37:682 shall 
apply to these rules. In addition, the following words and 
phrases shall have the following meanings, unless the 
content of the rules clearly states otherwise. 

* * * 
Practice of Engineering― 

a. practice of engineering is defined in R.S. 37:682. 
The board recognizes in the design of buildings and similar 
structures that there is overlap between the work of 
architects and professional engineers. It is recognized that an 
architect who has complied with all of the current laws of 
Louisiana relating to the practice of architecture has a right 
to engage in some activities properly classifiable as the 
practice of engineering insofar as it is necessarily incidental 
to his/her work as an architect. Likewise, it is recognized 
that the professional engineer who has complied with all of 
the current laws of Louisiana and is properly licensed has 
the right to engage in some activities properly classifiable as 
architecture insofar as it is necessarily incidental to his/her 
work as a professional engineer. Furthermore, the architect 
or the professional engineer, as the case may be, shall 
assume all responsibility for compliance with all the laws or 
ordinances relating to the designs or projects in which he/she 
may be engaged. 

b.i. an architect may perform minor mechanical, 
electrical or civil-structural engineering work necessarily 
incidental to his/her practice of architecture, but such 
incidental engineering work shall not include a complete 
engineering system unless such complete engineering 
system does not exceed the area thresholds under the 
occupancy types listed in clause v below. The incidental 
engineering work shall be of a secondary nature and shall be 
substantially less in scope and magnitude when compared to 
the architectural portion of the work. Incidental engineering 
work includes renovations or alterations of any size building 
that do not require significant adjustments to the engineering 
calculations for the changes to the engineering system(s) or 
component(s). The incidental work must be safely and 
competently performed by the architect without jeopardizing 
the life, health, property and welfare of the public. The 
incidental engineering work must also satisfy all of the 
following conditions in new or renovated projects:  

(a). the total occupant load must not exceed 49 
individuals. The occupant load is defined and determined by 
the method set forth in the currently enforced building code; 

(b). the construction value of the incidental 
engineering work must not exceed 15 percent of the total 
construction value for new construction; 

(c). any addition to a building or structure must 
not cause the gross floor areas of the entire building or 
structure to exceed those listed in clause v below; 

(d). any renovations or alterations must not cause 
the overall construction cost to exceed $125,000, exclusive 
of building finishes and furnishings; and 
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(e). any incidental engineering work must not 
exceed the area thresholds under the following occupancy 
types: 
 (i). storage―6,250 sq. ft.; 
 (ii). factory and industrial―5,000 sq. ft.; 
 (iii). mercantile―4,000 sq. ft.; 
 (iv). residential (excluding single 
family)―4,000 sq. ft.; 
 (v). educational―2,500 sq. ft.; 
 (vi). institutional―2,500 sq. ft.; 
 (vii). high hazard―1,500 sq. ft.; 
 (viii). assembly―2,650 sq. ft.; 
 (ix). business―4,000 sq. ft.; 
 (x). utility and maintenance―5,000 sq. ft. 
 ii. Professional judgment should be exercised in 
determining the need for an architect or professional 
engineer on complex projects that do not exceed these area 
thresholds. 

c. teaching of engineering design and the 
responsible charge of the teaching of engineering design 
shall be considered as the practice of engineering. An 
accredited engineering curriculum ensures the minimum 
quality requirements for the teaching of engineering design. 
Thus, the teaching of engineering design courses and the 
responsible charge of the teaching of engineering design 
courses must be conducted by professional engineers or by 
engineering faculty in an accredited engineering curriculum. 
These unlicensed engineering faculty members are exempt 
from licensure by the board only for the purpose of teaching 
of engineering design courses and the responsible charge of 
the teaching of engineering design courses in an accredited 
engineering curriculum and shall not otherwise practice or 
offer to practice engineering in the state of Louisiana as 
defined by R.S. 37:682 without being licensed by the board. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:688. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Surveyors, LR 4:298 (August 1978), 
amended LR 5:110 (May 1979), LR 7:643 (December 1981), LR 
14:449 (July 1988), LR 16:772 (September 1990), LR 17:804 
(August 1991), LR 20:901 (August 1994), amended by the 
Department of Transportation and Development, Professional 
Engineering and Land Surveying Board, LR 27:1020 (July 2001), 
LR 30:1704 (August 2004), LR 32:1618 (September 2006), LR 
35:1908 (September 2009), LR 38:835 (March 2012), 
repromulgated LR 38:1030 (April 2012), amended LR 44:612 
(March 2018), LR 45:75 (January 2019), LR 46:1397 (October 
2020). 
Chapter 23. Firms 
§2305. Supervising Professional 

A.1. Each firm licensed with the board shall designate 
one or more supervising professionals. Each supervising 
professional shall be a licensed professional: 

a. whose primary employment is with the firm, 
provided the supervising professional works for the firm for 
a 12-month average of at least 30 hours per week or 130 
hours per month; or 

b. whose employment is with the firm, provided the 
supervising professional has at least a 25 percent ownership 
interest in the firm. 

A.2. - E. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:689. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 5:115 (May 1979), 
amended LR 8:191 (April 1982), LR 10:343 (April 1984), LR 
11:362 (April 1985), amended by the Department of Transportation 
and Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
Board, LR 27:1036 (July 2001), LR 30:1719 (August 2004), LR 
33:2789 (December 2007), LR 35:2856 (December 2009), LR 
38:1418 (June 2012), LR 44:623 (March 2018), LR 46:1398 
(October 2020). 

 
Donna D. Sentell 
Executive Director 

2010#022 

 
RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligators 
(LAC 76:V.701) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has extended the 
alligator hunting season an additional month and removes 
the deadline to pick up tags prior to the start of the hunting 
season for landowners, land managers, and hunters. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds 
Chapter 7. Alligators 
§701. Alligator Regulations 

A. - A.5.h. … 
6. Alligator Hide Tag Procurement and Tagging 

Requirements 
a. Alligator hide tags may be obtained as follows 

and only to properly licensed alligator hunters and nongame 
quadruped breeders. 

b. Landowners, Land Managers and Hunters. Upon 
application to the department on forms provided for tag 
issuance, applications for alligator tag allotments will be 
taken annually beginning June 1. For alligator hunters 
submitting applications with new/additional properties, 
applications are due by August 20; for alligator hunters 
submitting an application for property previously hunted, 
applications are due by the day before the season opens.  

A.6.b.i. - A.6.f.vii. … 
7. Open Season, Open Areas, and Quota 

a. Open seasons are as follows. 
i. The state shall be divided into the east and west 

alligator hunting zones by the following boundary: 
beginning at the southwestern most part of Point Au Fer 
Island thence north along the western boundary of 
Terrebonne Parish to the Atchafalaya River, thence north 
along the Atchafalaya River to the East Atchafalaya 
Protection Levee, thence north along the East Atchafalaya 
Protection Levee, to Interstate 10, thence east along 
Interstate 10 to Interstate 12, thence east along Interstate 12 
to Interstate 55, thence north along Interstate 55 to the 
Mississippi state line. The season for taking alligators in the
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wild shall open on the last Wednesday of August in the east 
zone and the first Wednesday of September in the west zone 
and will remain open for 60 days thereafter in each zone. 
The secretary shall be authorized to close, extend, delay, or 
reopen the season as biologically justifiable.  

A.7.a.ii. - A.18.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115, R.S. 56:259, R.S. 56:262, R.S. 56:263 and R.S. 56:280. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:1070 (December 1990), amended LR 17:892 (September 1991), 
LR 19:215 (February 1993), LR 20:321 (March 1994), LR 26:1492 
(July 2000), LR 28:1996 (September 2002), LR 30:2338 (October 
2004), LR 30:2878 (December 2004), LR 31:2267 (September 
2005), LR 33:677 (April 2007), LR 35:690 (April 2009), LR 
37:2421 (August 2011), LR 39:2291 (August 2013), LR 42:909 
(June 2016), LR 43:90 (January 2017), LR 46:50 (January 2020), 
LR 46:1398 (October 2020). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2010#017 

 
RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

King and Spanish Mackerel and Cobia Size Limits  
(LAC 76:VII.323) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended 
LAC 76:VII.323 by modifying the recreational and 
commercial minimum size limit for cobia (Rachycentron 
canadum) from 33 inches fork length to 36 inches fork 
length. Authority for this amendment is included in the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 56:6(25)(a), R.S. 
56:320.2, R.S. 56:326.1, and R.S. 56:326.3 to the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission. This Rule is hereby adopted on 
the day of promulgation. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§323. Size Limits of King and Spanish Mackerel and 

Cobia 
A. - A.1. … 

2. The minimum legal size for possession of cobia 
(Rachycentron canadum) whether caught within or without 
the territorial waters of Louisiana shall be 36 inches fork 
length. No person shall possess, sell, barter, trade, or 
exchange or attempt to sell, barter, trade, or exchange cobia 
less than the minimum size requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:326.1 and R.S. 56:326.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
13:502 (September 1987), amended LR 17:207 (February 1991), 
LR 26:1505 (July 2000), LR 46:1399 (October 2020). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2010#019 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Reef Fish—Harvest Regulations 
(LAC 76:VII.335) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended 
LAC 76:VII.335, modifying existing reef fish harvest 
regulations. Changes modify the trip limit for the 
commercial harvest of greater amberjack and provide 
authority to the secretary of the department to modify any 
commercial trip limits for a reef fish species or species 
group when notified by the Regional Administrator of 
NOAA Fisheries that such a change has been made in 
adjacent federal waters. Authority for amendment of this 
Rule is included in the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 
56:6(25)(a), 56:320.2, 56:326.1, and 56:326.3 to the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission. This Rule is hereby adopted on 
the day of promulgation. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§335. Reef Fish—Harvest Regulations 

A. - D.7. … 
8. Commercial trip limits shall include those limits 

listed below. For the purposes of this rule, a trip is defined as 
a fishing trip, regardless of the number of days’ duration, 
that begins with departure from a dock, berth, beach, seawall 
or ramp and that terminates with return to a dock, berth, 
beach, seawall or ramp. The secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries is authorized, upon notification to the 
chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, to 
adjust any trip limit for any commercially harvested reef fish 
species or species group when notified by the Regional 
Administrator of NOAA Fisheries that an adjustment has 
been made to the trip limit for a species or species group in 
adjacent federal waters. 

 
Species or Group Trip Limit 

a. Gray Triggerfish 16 fish 
b. Greater Amberjack 1,000 pounds gutted weight 

 
E. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.56:6(25)(a), R.S. 56:320.2(C), R.S. 56:326.1 and R.S. 
56:326.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
16:539 (June 1990), amended LR 19:1442 (November 1993), LR 
20:797 (July 1994), LR 21:1267 (November 1995), LR 22:860 
(September 1996), LR 24:1138 (June 1998), LR 24:1139 (June 
1998), LR 24:1972 (October 1998), LR 26:793 (April 2000), LR 
26:1505 (July 2000), LR 26:2833 (December 2000), LR 31:3166 
(December 2005), LR 33:1156 (June 2007), repromulgated LR 
33:1397 (July 2007), amended LR 34:2209 (October 2008), LR 
34:2682 (December 2008), LR 36:1791 (August 2010), LR 38: 
2383 (September 2012), LR 39:330 (February 2013), LR 40:95 
(January 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1116 (June 2014), amended
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LR 40:2281 (November 2014), LR 42:908 (June 2016), 
repromulgated LR 43:89 (January 2017), amended LR 44:1458 
(August 2018), LR 46:705 (May 2020), LR 46:1399 (October 
2020). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2010#017 

 
RULE 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration 

Employer Requirement to Provide Notification of the 
Availability of Unemployment Insurance Benefits to Each 

Individual Employee at the Time of Separation 
(LAC 40:IV.381) 

Under the authority of and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., specifically R.S. 49:953(C)(1), and through the 
authority granted in R.S. 36:304, notice is hereby given that 
the Workforce Commission has adopted LAC 40:IV.381. 
The Rule sets forth the requirement that employers notify 
employees of the availability of unemployment insurance 
benefits upon separation, and details the information that 
must be included in the notification, as well as the methods 
of notification. The Rule also advises employers of where a 
form that fulfills the requirements can be found on the 
Workforce Commission’s website. The Rule is one of the 
requirements for the receipt of funding by the Workforce 
Commission under the Families First Coronavirus Response 
Act, Pub. L. 116-127, more specifically, Division D of the 
Emergency Unemployment Insurance Stabilization and 
Access Act of 2020. The Rule is being promulgated in order 
to continue the provisions of the April 23, 2020 Emergency 
Rule and the August 20, 2020 Emergency Rule. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
Part IV.  Employment Security 

Subpart 1.  Board of Review 
Chapter 3. Employment Security Law 
§381. Employer Requirement to Provide Notification 

of the Availability of Unemployment Insurance 
Benefits to Each Individual Employee at the 
Time of Separation 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 23:1621, employers are required to 
provide notification of the availability of unemployment 
insurance benefits (UI). This Section prescribes an additional 
requirement that employers shall notify each individual 
employee at the time of separation from employment of the 
following. 

1. Employees may file a UI claim in the first week 
that employment stops or work hours are reduced. 

2. Employees shall be informed that a UI claim may 
be filed by phone or online stating: 

a. to file a UI claim by phone, call: 1-866-783-
5567; 

b. to file a UI claim online, visit: 
www.louisianaworks.net/hire; 

c. if you have questions about the status of your UI 
claim, you can call the LWC at 866-783-5567 or visit 
www.louisianaworks.net/hire. 

3. Employees shall be given the Workforce 
Commission’s toll free phone number and web address for 
filing and assistance with unemployment insurance claims.  

4. Employees shall be informed of the need to provide 
the Workforce Commission with the following information 
in order for the claim to be processed:  

a. full legal name; 
b. social security number; and  
c. authorization to work (if not a U.S. Citizen or 

resident). 
B. Employers can find a form containing this required 

information at www.laworks.net/Downloads. 
C. Employers shall convey this information at the time 

of separation. This information shall be provided to 
employees in writing either via flyer, letter, email, or text 
message. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1591, R.S. 23:1472(19)(a)(iii), R.S. 23:1621, and R.S. 36:310. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Unemployment Insurance 
Administration, LR 46:1400 (October 2020). 

 
Ava Dejoie 
Secretary 

2010#013 

 
RULE 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Workers' Compensation Administration 

Medical Treatment Guidelines (LAC 40:I.5125 and 5157) 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission has amended 
certain portions of the Medical Guidelines contained in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 40, Labor and 
Employment, Part I, Workers’ Compensation 
Administration, Subpart 2, Medical Guidelines, Chapter 51, 
§§5125 and 5157 regarding medical reimbursement. The 
amendments add applicable billing codes that are pandemic 
related. It allows providers to use telemedicine/telehealth 
methods and deliver care that was established in response to 
COVID-19.  

This Rule is promulgated by the authority vested in the 
director of the Office of Workers’ Compensation 
Administration found in R.S. 23:1291 and R.S. 
23:1310.1(C). This Rule is hereby adopted upon 
promulgation. 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Part I.  Workers’ Compensation Administration 
Subpart 2.  Medical Guidelines 

Chapter 51. Medical Reimbursement Schedule  
Editor's Note: The following Sections of this Chapter are 
applicable and shall be used for the Chapters in this Part 
governing reimbursement. These specific Chapters are: 
Chapter 25, Hospital Reimbursement; Chapter 29, Pharmacy; 
Chapter 31, Vision Care Services; Chapter 33, Hearing Aid 
Equipment and Services; Chapter 35, Nursing/Attendant Care 
and Home Health Services; Chapter 37, Home and Vehicle
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Modification; Chapter 39, Medical Transportation; Chapter 
41, Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies; Chapter 43, 
Prosthetic and Orthopedic Equipment; Chapter 45, Respiratory 
Services; Chapter 47, Miscellaneous Claimant Expenses; 
Chapter 49, Vocational Rehabilitation Consultant; Chapter 51, 
Medical Reimbursement Schedule; and Chapter 53, Dental 
Care Services. 

§5125. Special Instructions 
A. Procedure Codes Not Listed in Rules 

1. - 3. … 
B. Modifiers 

1. Modifier codes must be used by providers to 
identify procedures or services that are modified due to 
specific circumstances. 

2. Modifiers listed in the CPT must be added to the 
procedure code when the service or procedure has been 
altered from the basic procedure described by the descriptor. 

3. When Modifier-22 is used to report an unusual 
service, a report explaining the medical necessity of the 
situation must be submitted with the claim to the carrier. It is 
not appropriate to use Modifier-22 for routine billing. 

4. The use of modifiers does not imply or guarantee 
that a provider will receive reimbursement as billed. 
Reimbursement for modified services or procedures must be 
based on documentation of medical necessity and must be 
determined on a case by case basis. 

5. The modifier 95 appended to a code indicates it was 
performed by telemedicine/telehealth methods. Services 
should be reimbursed the same amount as the exact same 
codes without the modifier as long as the Emergency Rule 
exist. If carrier requires a Place of Service (POS) code for 
telemedicine/telehealth, code 02 may be used. 

C. - F. 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1034.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workers' Compensation Administration, LR 19:54 
(January 1993), repromulgated LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended LR 20:1299 (November 1994), amended by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers' Compensation 
Administration, LR 46:1400 (October 2020). 

 
 
 
§5157. Maximum Reimbursement Allowances 
A. Table 1 

* * * 
B. Table 2 
 

Cpt Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility 
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

* * * 
86328  IA Infectious Agt Antibody SARS-COV-2 COVID-19  $90   

* * * 
86769  Antb Severe Aqt Respir Synd SARS-COV-2 COVID19  $84   

* * * 
87635  IADNA SARS-COV-2 COVID-19 Amplified Probe TQ  $103   

* * * 
90791   Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation   BR     
90792  Psychiatric Diagnostic Eval W/Medical Services  BR   

* * * 
90832  Psychotherapy W/Patient 30 Minutes  BR   
90833  Psychotherapy W/Patient W/E&M Srvcs 30 Min  BR   
90834  Psychotherapy W/Patient 45 Minutes  BR   
90836  Psychotherapy W/Patient W/E&M Srvcs 45 Min  BR   
90837  Psychotherapy W/Patient 60 Minutes  BR   
90838  Psychotherapy W/Patient W/E&M Srvcs 60 Min  BR   

* * * 
90863  Pharmacologic Management W/Psychotherapy  BR   

* * * 
92521  Evaluation Of Speech Fluency (Stutter Clutter)  BR   
92522  Evaluation Of Speech Sound Production Articulate  BR   
92523  Eval Speech Sound Product Language Comprehension  BR   
92524  Behavioral & Qualit Analysis Voice And Resonance  BR   

* * * 
96105  Assessment Aphasia W/Interp & Report Per Hour  BR   

* * * 
96156  Health Behavior Assessment/Re-Assessment  BR   
96158  Health Behavior Ivntj Indiv F2f 1st 30 Min  BR   
96159  Health Behavior Ivntj Indiv F2f Ea Addl 15 Min  BR   

* * * 
97129  Ther IVNTJ Cog Funcj CNTCT 1ST 15 Minutes  BR   
97130  Ther IVNTJ Cog Funcj CNTCT EA Addl 15 Minutes  BR   

* * * 
97161  Physical Therapy Evaluation Low Complex 20 Mins  BR   
97162  Physical Therapy Evaluation Mod Complex 30 Mins  BR   
97163  Physical Therapy Evaluation High Complex 45 Mins  BR   
97164  Physical Therapy Re-Eval Est Plan Care 20 Mins  BR   
97165  Occupational Therapy Eval Low Complex 30 Mins  BR   
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Cpt Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility 
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

97166  Occupational Therapy Eval Mod Complex 45 Mins  BR   
97167  Occupational Therapy Eval High Complex 60 Mins  BR   
97168  Occupational Ther Re-Eval Est Plan Care 30 Mins  BR   

* * * 
98970  QNHP Ol Digital ASSMT&MGMT Est Pt <7 D 5-10 Min  $25   
98971  QNHP OL Digital Assmt and Mgmt Est PT <7 D 11-20 MIN  $65   
98972  QNHP OL Digital Assmt and Mgmt Est PT <7 D 21+ MIN  $150   

* * * 
99421  Online Digital E/M SVC Est Pt <7 D 5-10 Minutes   $31 $27 
99422  Online Digital E/M SVC Est Pt <7 D 11-20 Minutes   $62 $55 
99423  Online Digital E/M SVC Est Pt <7 D 21+ Minutes   $100 $87 

* * * 
99495  Transitional Care Manage Srvc 14 Day Discharge  BR   
99496  Transitional Care Manage Srvc 7 Day Discharge  BR   

* * * 

 
C. Table 3 
 

Code Mod Description 
Global 
Days 

Maximum 
Allowance 

Non-Facility 
Maximum 

Facility 
Maximum 

C9803  COVID-19 Specimen Collection HOPD  BR   
G2010  Remot Image Submit By PT  $24   
G2012  Brief Check In By MD/QHP  $27   
G2023  Specimen Collect COVID-19  $47   
G2024  Spec Coll SNF/Lab COVID-19  $51   
G2061  Qual NonMD Est PT 5-10M  $25   
G2062  Qual NonMD Est PT 11-20M  $43   
G2063  Qual NonMD Est PT 21>Min  $68   
U0001  2019-NCOV Diagnostic P  $72   
U0002  COVID-19 Lab Test Non-CDC  $103   
U0003  SARS-COV-2 COVID-19 Amp Prb Htt  $200   
U0004  COVID-19 Lab Test Non-CDC Htt  $200   

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1034.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workers' Compensation Administration, LR 19:54 
(January 1993), repromulgated LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended LR 20:1299 (November 1994), LR 27:314 (March 2001), 
amended by the Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ 
Compensation Administration, LR 39:1854 (July 2013), LR 40:379

(February 2014), amended by the Workforce Commission, Office 
of Workers’ Compensation Administration, LR 42:1696 (October 
2016), LR 46:1401 (October 2020). 

 
Ava Dejoie 
Secretary 

2010#032 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro Consumer Services 

Commercial Weighing and Measuring Device; 
Meat Labeling; and Fuel Price Advertising 

(LAC 7:XXXV.127, 135, and 321) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:4741 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (“Department”) intends to adopt 
the rules set forth below by revising LAC 7:XXXV.127 and 
321 and repealing 135. These revisions are authorized by 
R.S. 3:4603 through 4622 and R.S. 3:4671, 4672, 4673, 
4680, and 4681. 

The proposed change to LAC 7:XXXV.127.A. clarifies 
that the owner of a weighing and measuring device is 
responsible for registering the device with LDAF. LAC 
7:XXXV.127.A. As it is written, the section does not specify 
who shall register the commercial weighing and measuring 
device. The proposed change to LAC 7:XXXV.127.D 
eliminates the regulation language that scanning devices be 
registered by make, model, and serial number. The repeal of 
LAC 7:XXXV.135 is necessary because the existing rule is 
in conflict with 7 CFR Part 60 and 65 (USDA Country of 
Origin Law). Statements of origin are enforced by LDAF’s 
Meat Inspection Division and are no longer enforced by 
Weights and Measures. The proposed changes to LAC 
7:XXXV.321, include the deletion of the words anti-knock 
index (AKI), which is no longer used and replaces it with 
“automotive fuel rating”. Automotive fuel rating is the 
current terminology used in 16 CRF 306.5 and 306.6. It is 
also proposed to add a Subsection G to LAC 7:XXXV,321. 
Subsection G will clarify signage rules for retailers using 
street signs for advertising fuel prices. The proposed rule 
states that the prices advertised must be equal to the highest 
price for the offered product unless it is clearly specified that 
conditions apply for a lower price. This eliminates consumer 
confusion over fuel prices. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXV.  Agro-Consumer Services 
Chapter 1. Weights and Measures 
§127. Registration 

A. Each commercial weighing and measuring device in 
use in Louisiana shall be registered to the device owner 
annually with the division insofar as is specified in this 
regulation. 

B. - C.5. … 
D. Scanning devices shall be registered according to the 

greatest number of scanning devices in use at a location at 
any given time during the calendar year. 

1.- 4. Repealed. 
E. - R. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4603 (formerly R.S. 55:3), 3:4607, 4608, and 3:4622. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Commission of Weights and Measures, LR 13:158 (March 1987), 
amended LR 15:78 (February 1989), amended by the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 19:1534 (December 1993), 
LR 23:857 (July 1997), LR 41:2098 (October 2015), LR 42:1649 
(October 2016), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services LR 46:  
§135. Meat Labeling 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4608, 3:4607 and R.S. 51:614. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 27:1672 (October 2001), 
repealed by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agro-Consumer Services, LR 46: 
Chapter 3. Petroleum Products 
§321. Classification and Method of Sale of Petroleum 

Products 
A. When gasoline, gasoline-oxygenate blends, 

reformulated gasoline, M85 and M100 fuel methanol, 
ethanol flex fuels, biodiesel, biomass-based diesel, biomass-
based diesel blend, diesel fuel, kerosene, aviation gasoline, 
aviation turbine fuels, or fuel oils are sold, an invoice, bill of 
lading, shipping paper, or other documentation must 
accompany each delivery other than a retail sale. This 
documentation must identify the quantity, the name of the 
product, the particular grade of the product, the applicable 
automotive fuel rating, oxygenate type and content (if 
applicable), the name and address of the seller and buyer, 
and the date and time of the sale. This documentation must 
be retained at the retail establishment for a period not less 
than one year. The sale of any product under any grade name 
that indicates to the purchaser that it is of a certain 
automotive fuel rating shall not be permitted unless the 
automotive fuel rating or ASTM grade indicated in the grade 
name is consistent with the value and meets the requirements 
of 16 CFR 306.5 and 306.6 for transfers to anyone who is 
not a consumer, 16 CFR 306.12 for automotive fuel sold to 
consumers, and this Subchapter. 

B. All retail dispensing devices must identify 
conspicuously the type of product, the particular grade of the 
product, and the applicable automotive fuel rating. The 
device shall automatically show on its face the initial zero 
condition and the quantity delivered (up to the nominal 
capacity). However, the first 0.03 L (or 0.009 gal.) of a 
delivery and its associated total sales price need not be 
indicated. In the event of a power loss, the information 
needed to complete any transaction in progress at the time of 
the power loss (such as the quantity and unit price, or sales 
price) shall be determinable for at least 15 minutes at the 
dispenser or at the console if the console is accessible to the 
customer. The device memory shall retain information on the 
quantity of fuel dispensed and the sales price totals during
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power loss. The primary indicating elements, and primary 
recording elements if the device is equipped to record, shall 
be readily returnable to a definite zero indication. However, 
a key-lock operated or other self-operated device may be 
equipped with cumulative indicating or recording elements, 
provided that it is also equipped with a zero-return indicating 
element. It shall not be possible to return primary indicating 
elements or primary recording elements beyond the correct 
zero position. 

C. - F. … 
G. A retailer is not required to have a street sign or 

billboard to advertise available motor fuels and their prices 
or to advertise every grade of motor fuel available at the 
retail location. However, if a retailer chooses to use a street 
sign and/or billboard to advertise the retail location’s 
available motor fuels, then the street sign and/or billboard 
shall conspicuously display the following:  

1. type(s) or grade(s) of motor fuel being advertised; 
and  

2. the highest price(s) for the advertised grade(s) of 
motor fuel(s). In the event that the same grade of motor fuel 
is sold at different prices at the same retail location, a lower 
price for that grade of motor fuel may be displayed as long 
as the conditions under which the lower price may be 
obtained are clearly posted on the sign and available to 
everyone who qualifies for that lower price. If the sign or 
billboard displays a flashing sign with multiple prices for 
each grade of motor fuel, each price displayed with the 
conditions under which it may be obtained shall be visible 
for a period of at least three seconds.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4671, 4672, 4673, 4680, and 4681. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 31:31 (January 2005), 
amended LR 41:2099 (October 2015), amended by the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services LR 
46:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 
autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 
foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed rule. This proposed rule is not anticipated to have 
an adverse impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small 
Business Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed rule. Written 
submissions must be directed to Bobby Fletcher, Ph.D., 
Director of Weights and Measures Division, Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., Baton Rouge, 
LA 70806 and must be received no later than 4 p.m. on the 
10th day of September October, 2020. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Commercial Weighing and Measuring 
Device; Meat Labeling; and Fuel Price Advertising 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These proposed rule changes are not anticipated to have a 

cost or savings to the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry (LDAF) other than the cost of promulgation for FY20. 
The proposed rule changes are intended to clarify current rules 
and regulations and eliminate outdated and conflicting 
provisions of current rules. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may cause a very small increase 
in revenue collection for the Weights and Measures Division by 
clarifying the responsible party for registering commercial 
weighing and measuring devices (LAC 7:XXXV.127) with 
LDAF. The estimated revenue increase is $1288.00. None of 
the other proposed rule changes are expected to affect revenue 
collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to increase 
costs to the market.  
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The change to LAC 7:XXXV.127.A will transfer the 
responsibility of registration to the owner of the device rather 
than the user of the device in most applications.  

The change to LAC 7:XXXV.127.D. eliminates the need 
for scanning devices to be registered by make, model, and 
serial number.  

The elimination of LAC 7:XXXV.135 is needed because 
the section is outdated and in conflict with USDA Country of 
Origin Law.(COOL) (7 CFR Part 60 & 65). 

The change in LAC 7:XXXV.321 clarifies how a retailer 
must display a price for fuel if they advertise with a “street” 
sign. Retailers will not be required to purchase or have a street 
sign.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to have an 
effect on competition and/or employment. These proposed 
changes are modified to provide clarity to existing rules and 
regulations. 

 
Dane Morgan Christopher A. Keaton 
Assistant Commissioner Legislative Fiscal Office 
2010#008 Legislative Fiscal Officer 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro Consumer Services 

Truth in Labeling of Food Products 
(LAC 7:XXXV.701-715) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent was originally printed in 
the July 20, 2020 Louisiana Register on pages 995-998, and is 

being repomulgated to correct a procedural omission. 
 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:4741 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (“Department”) intends to adopt 
the rules set forth below by promulgating LAC 
7:XXXV.701-715. These rules will set forth requirements for 
labeling food products that are edible by humans and 
prohibit misleading and false labeling of such products.  

The proposed rules, authorized by R.S. 3:4741 through 
4746, provide for the labeling of agricultural products, 
provide for the truth in labeling requirements, provide for 
definitions; prohibit misbranding or misrepresenting a food 
product through certain activities; provide for enforcement 
of violations of these rules and of the Truth in Labeling of 
Food Products Act; and provide for penalties for such 
violations.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXV.  Agro-Consumer Services 
Chapter 7. Truth in Labeling of Food Products 
§701. Authority 

A. The Department of Agriculture and Forestry adopts 
these regulations under the authority of R.S. 3:4741 et seq. 
for the purposes of regulating and enforcing the truthfulness 
in labeling agricultural products and to prohibit the 
misbranding or misrepresentation of food products. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 
§703. Definitions 

A. The provisions of R.S. 3:4741 through 4746, relating 
to definitions, words, and terms are hereby incorporated by 
reference and made a part hereof and will therefore apply 
and govern the interpretation of these rules, unless the 
context otherwise requires or unless specifically redefined in 
a particular Section. Any word or term not defined in these 
rules shall have the same meaning ascribed to it in R.S. 
3:4741 through 4746. Any word or term not defined in R.S. 
3:4741 through 4746 or these regulations shall be construed 
in accordance with its plain and ordinary meaning. 

B. The following words and terms shall have the 
following meanings for purposes of this Chapter: 

Act—Truth in Labeling of Food Products Act, or R.S. 
3:4741 et seq. 

Agricultural product—any beef, pork, poultry, crawfish, 
shrimp, meat, sugar, or rice product intended for human 
consumption. 

Beef—the flesh of a domesticated bovine that is suitable 
for human consumption. 

Beef products—agricultural products that are produced, 
in whole or in part, from beef and are suitable for human 
consumption. Beef products include, but are not limited to, 
beef jerky, beef patties, chopped steak, fabricated steak, 
hamburger, ground beef, ribs, and roast. 

Cell Cultured Food Product—any cultured animal 
tissue produced from in vitro animal cell cultures outside of 
the organism from which it is derived. 

Commissioner—the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

Deceptively Similar—misleading to a reasonable 
person. 

Department—the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

Food Product—any product sold at retail or offered for 
retail sale that is intended for human consumption. 

Label—a display of written, printed, or graphic matter 
upon or affixed to the container or wrapper in which a food 
product is offered for direct retail sale. 

Labeling—the act of identifying, describing, or 
advertising a food product by means of a label or through 
other means. 

Meat—a portion of beef, pork, poultry, alligator, farm-
raised deer, turtle, domestic rabbit, crawfish, or shrimp 
carcass that is suitable for human consumption, but does not 
include: 

a. synthetic product derived from a plant, insect, or 
other source; 

b. cell-cultured food product grown in a laboratory 
from animal cells. 

Meat product—a type of agricultural product that is 
edible by humans and made wholly or in part from meat or 
another portion of a beef, pork, poultry, alligator, farm-raised 
deer, turtle, domestic rabbit, crawfish, or shrimp carcass. 
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Misbrand—to identify or label a food product in a false 
or misleading way. 

Misrepresent—to use any untrue, misleading, or 
deceptive oral or written statement, advertisement, label, 
display, picture, illustration, or sample. 

Person—an individual, partnership, limited liability 
company, limited liability partnership, corporation, trust, 
firm, company, or other entity doing business in Louisiana.  

Pork—the flesh of domesticated swine that is suitable 
for human consumption. 

Pork Products—agricultural products that are produced, 
in whole or in part, from pork and are suitable for human 
consumption. Pork products include, but are not limited to, 
bacon, bratwurst, ground pork, ham, pork chops, ribs, roast, 
and sausage. 

Poultry—the flesh of domesticated birds that is suitable 
for human consumption. 

Principal Display Panel—the part(s) of a label that is so 
designed as to most likely be displayed, presented, shown, or 
examined under normal and customary conditions of display, 
sale, and purchase. Wherever a principal display panel 
appears more than once on a package, all requirements 
pertaining to principal display panels shall pertain to all such 
principal display panels. 

Rice—the whole or broken kernels obtained from the 
species Oryza sativa L. or Oryza glaberrima, or wild rice, 
which is obtained from one of the four species of grasses 
from the genus Zizania or Porteresia. 

Truth in Labeling Food Products Act—R.S. 3:4741 et 
seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 
§705. Application 

A. The provisions of this Chapter shall apply only to 
persons who place a label on retail food products sold or 
offered for sale. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 
§707. Requirements for Food Labeling 

A. All food products in package form shall bear a printed 
or stenciled label that clearly and accurately indicates the 
actual contents of the food product on the principal display 
panel. 

B. If the label of a food product includes the name of a 
food product or agricultural product that is not contained in 
the package, the principal display panel must clearly state 
the actual contents of the package and/or description of the 
food product contained therein.  

C. Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to 
conflict with any other laws, rules, or regulations regarding 
the labeling of food products.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46:  

§709. Prohibitions 
A. Except as otherwise provided herein, no person shall: 

1. misbrand or misrepresent any food product as a 
covered agricultural product; 

2. affix a label to any food product that is false or 
misleading; 

3. Represent a food product as meat or a meat product 
unless the food product is derived from beef, pork, poultry, 
alligator, farm-raised deer, turtle, domestic rabbit, crawfish, 
or shrimp. This shall include representing a cell-cultured 
food product as a meat product; 

4. Represent a food product as rice unless the food 
product is rice or derived from rice; 

a. This shall include using the term “rice” in the 
name of the food product when the food product is not rice 
or derived from rice. 

5. Represent a food product as beef or a beef product 
unless the food product is derived from a domesticated 
bovine; 

6. Represent a food product as pork or a pork product 
unless the food product is derived from a domesticated 
swine; 

7. Represent a food product as poultry or a poultry 
product unless the food product is derived from poultry, as 
defined in this Chapter. 

8. Represent a food product as sugar unless the food 
product is an unaltered plant-based simple sugar or sucrose; 

9. Utilize a term that is the same or deceptively 
similar to a term that has been used or defined historically in 
reference to another agricultural product. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 
§711. Complaints and Investigations. 

A. The department may receive complaints regarding 
violations of this Chapter. Complaints may be directed to the 
department’s Weights and Measures division. 

B. Upon receipt of a complaint, the Department may 
investigate the alleged violation. 

C. The department may also investigate possible 
violations that the department may notice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 
§713. Enforcement 

A. Whenever the department has reason to believe that a 
violation of this Chapter or the Act has occurred, the 
department may present the alleged violations at an 
adjudicatory hearing before the Weights and Measures 
Commission. 

B. The department shall notify the respondent of the 
alleged violation as well as an opportunity to respond 
thereto, by certified mail, prior to any hearing date in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46:  
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§715. Penalties 
A. A person who violates any provision of this Chapter 

or the Act shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than 
$500 for each violation. 

B. Each day on which a violation occurs shall constitute 
a separate offense. 

C. Penalties may be assessed only by a ruling of the 
commissioner based upon a recommendation by the Weights 
and Measures Commission adjudicatory hearing held 
pursuant to R.S. 3:4605 and the Administrative Procedures 
Act. 

D. In addition to civil penalties, the commissioner may 
institute civil proceedings seeking injunctive relief to 
restrain and prevent violation of the provisions of this 
Chapter and the Act in any court of proper jurisdiction and 
venue. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4741. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 
autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 
foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4.  the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule. This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have 
an adverse impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small 
Business Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule. 
Written submissions must be directed to Bobby Fletcher, 
Ph.D., Director of Weights and Measures Division, 
Department of Agriculture & Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received no later than 
4 p.m. on August 10, 2020. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Truth in Labeling of Food Products 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

(“Department”) intends to adopt the proposed rules regarding 
the regulation and enforcement of truth in labeling of certain 
food products, as specified and authorized in R.S. 3:4741 et 
seq. The proposed regulations are being promulgated pursuant 
to Act 273 of the 2019 Regular Session.  

The purposed rule is anticipated to cost $13,440 of 
Statutory Dedication funds for the first year and $6,720 of 
Statutory Dedications funds annually thereafter as a result of 
oversight of the truth in labeling of food products program.  
The annual cost includes $6,720 of existing Weights and 
Measures employees’ time, based on approximately 160 hours 
of work at $42.00 per employee-hour to develop procedures for 
enforcement, to receive and respond to consumer complaints, 
perform routine inspections, investigate complaints, conduct 
enforcement actions, and hold adjudicatory hearings for 
violations.  To perform these inspections, time and resources 
will be taken from other Weights and Measures programs. The 
additional cost for the first year consists of an additional 
$6,720, which covers employees’ time to develop internal 
operating procedures and training for this new program.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to have any direct 
material effect on revenue collections for the Department or 
any other state or local governmental entities. There is no 
inspection or registration fee proposed for these inspections.  
The only revenue that the Department may realize from this 
program would be in the form of penalties assessed against 
violators of these regulations.  However, that amount is 
anticipated to be de minimis, as it is the goal of the Department 
to ensure compliance with these regulations rather than to 
impose monetary penalties.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is not anticipated to increase costs to the 
market. Producers of food products and agricultural products 
that are misbranded and/or misrepresented as beef, pork, 
poultry, alligator, farm-raised deer, turtle, domestic rabbit, 
crawfish, shrimp, sugar, and/or rice and do not meet the criteria
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set forth in these regulations may have a loss in receipts and/or 
income until such time that their labelling comes into 
compliance with these regulations. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule prohibits misbranding and 
misrepresenting some food products as a covered agricultural 
product.  The only effect on competition and/or employment 
would be on products and companies that are misbranding or 
misrepresenting their products and violating R.S.3:4741 et seq. 
and this proposed rule.  These products would need to be 
relabeled to be in compliance or face charges for violating these 
rules. 

 
Dane Morgan Christopher Keaton 
Assistant Commissioner Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#074 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Child Welfare 

Extended Foster Care Services (LAC 67:V.3903) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:953 (B), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, 
Subpart 5, Foster Care, Chapter 39, Chafee Foster Care 
Independence Program and Extended Foster Care, Section 
3903. 

Pursuant to Act 400 of the 2019 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, DCFS will implement extended foster 
care services for foster care youth ages 18 to 21 who are 
completing secondary education or a program leading to an 
equivalent credential, enrolled in an institution that provides 
postsecondary or vocational education, participating in a 
program or activity designed to promote employment or 
remove barriers to employment, employed at least eighty 
hours per month, or is incapable of doing any part of the 
activities in the aforementioned due to a medical condition. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 
Subpart 5.  Foster Care 

Chapter 39. Chafee Foster Care Independence 
Program and Extended Foster Care 

§3903. Extended Foster Care Services 
A. The DCFS will continue to provide foster care 

services to young adults age 18 to 21 who are completing 
secondary education or a program leading to an equivalent 
credential, enrolled in institution that provides postsecondary 
or vocational education, participating in a program or 
activity designed to promote employment or remove barriers 
to employment, employed at least eighty hours per month, or 
is incapable of doing any part of the activities in the 
aforementioned due to a medical condition in accordance 
with R.S. 46:288.1, et seq. They shall be eligible for foster 
care services until their twenty-first birthday as long as the 
youth is willing and continues to meet the above stated 
eligibility criteria. The youth initiates extended foster care

services through signing a voluntary placement agreement. 
The young adult in foster care shall be eligible for all foster 
care services in accordance with their voluntary placement 
agreement and case plan; and, their foster parents, custodian 
or other placement provider continued services and benefits 
for the period of time the young adult is eligible and 
participating in the extended foster care program.  

B. The DCFS will notify all foster children and their 
foster parents/custodians/placement provider in writing of 
the availability of extended foster care services; eligibility 
for the services; and, the benefits at the foster child’s 
seventeenth birthday. The written notifications will continue 
every 90 days unless the foster child and foster 
parents/custodian/placement provider consent to participate 
in extended foster care, or the child becomes ineligible for 
participation in the program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
400 of the 2019 Regular Session and R.S. 46:288.1, et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Child Welfare, LR 45:508 (April 
2019), effective May 1, 2019, amended LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through November 24, 2020, to Rhenda Hodnett, Assistant 
Secretary of Child Welfare, Department of Children and 
Family Services, P. O. Box 3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

Public Hearing 
A virtual public hearing on the proposed rule will be held 

at 10 a.m. on November 24, 2020, by the Department of 
Children and Family Services. All interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments 
via PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android at 
https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/99858573455?pwd=SVU3U3
I5MkswZWUwd1V1aE5UbCtRdz09 using password 
419992; or via telephone by dialing (713)353-0212 and 
entering conference code 848054. To find local AT&T 
numbers visit https://www.teleconference.att.com 
/servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=7133530212
&accessCode=848054. Individuals with disabilities who 
require special services should contact the DCFS Appeals 
Unit at least seven working days in advance of the hearing. 
For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Extended Foster Care Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

In FY 21, this measure is anticipated to increase the 
expenses of the Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) by a maximum of $1,313,132 and annualized in future 
fiscal years.  

This rule is being promulgated pursuant to Act 400 of the 
2019 Regular Legislative Session. The Act provides that youths 
who are in foster care and enrolled in an educational or job 
training program or employed for at least 80 hours per month 
may remain in foster care until the age of 21. The Act also 
provides for an extension of an adoption and guardianship 
subsidy for certain youths up to the age of 21. 

The measure extends foster care ($1,203,051), adoption 
assistance ($94,797) and guardianship assistance ($15,284) to 
age 21 for certain youths, creating a new population of foster, 
adopted, and youth under guardianship that may be eligible for 
services and subsidies from DCFS. This cost is based on 100% 
participation; however, participation in the program is 
voluntary. To the extent that a youth elects not to participate in 
extended services, then total cost will be reduced by $2,892 per 
youth, per month for extended foster care; $348 per youth, per 
month for extended adoption assistance; and $302 per youth, 
per month for extended guardianship assistance. Costs 
associated with these services are funded with 50% State 
General Fund and 50% Federal Funds. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule provides an economic benefit to foster 
children, age 18-21 during their transition to adulthood. This 
rule allows these youth to continue in foster care for the 
purpose of receiving educational or job training. Additional 
education and training will positively impact their 
employability and lifetime earning potential.  

Also, certain youth that were placed in guardianship or 
adopted at age 16 or over will continue to receive a subsidy 
from age 18-21. The average subsidy for adoption assistance is 
$348 per month. The average subsidy for guardianship 
assistance is $302 per month. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule is not expected to 
have an effect on competition and employment. 

 
Rhenda Hodnett Christopher A. Keaton 
Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#071 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability Section 

Vulnerable Communities and Peoples Initiative 
(LAC 67:III.5553) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children

and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to adopt LAC 67:III, 
Subpart 15 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) Initiatives, Chapter 55 TANF Initiatives, Section 
5553 Vulnerable Communities and Peoples Initiative. 

Pursuant to Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) Block Grant, amendment of Section 5553 
adopts provisions necessary to establish the Vulnerable 
Communities and Peoples Initiative to stabilize families and 
improve their economic opportunities. 

This action was made effective by an Emergency Rule 
dated and effective August 1, 2020. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5553. Vulnerable Communities and Peoples Initiative 

A. Effective August 1, 2020, the department shall enter 
into an agreement with the Southern University Law Center 
to establish the Vulnerable Communities and Peoples 
Initiative to stabilize families and improve their economic 
opportunities by reducing and/or eliminating disparities. 

B. Services include, but are not limited to, research and 
development, community networking and partnership 
referrals, employment assistance, and direct and indirect 
legal services. 

C. These services meet TANF goal 3, to prevent and 
reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies and 
TANF goal 4, to encourage the formation and maintenance 
of two-parent families by identifying direct and indirect 
barriers to resources and providing a network of supportive 
services through governmental agencies and community 
partnerships, such as application assistance, legal services, 
and referrals. 

D. Eligibility for services is limited to needy, low-
income family members identified and served by the 
Southern University Law Center. 

E. Services are considered non-assistance by the 
department. 

F. Services are subject to the availability of funds as 
approved and designated by the secretary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231; and R.S. 36:474. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on family formation, stability, and autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972. This rule is anticipated to have a 
positive effect on the stability and functioning of the family 
by assisting the family by reducing and/or eliminating 
disparities. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have a significant 

negative impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. This 
rule is anticipated to help alleviate poverty for those 
participating in the initiative. 

Small Business Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 
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Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, November 24, 2020 to Shavana Howard, Assistant 
Secretary of Family Support, Department of Children and 
Family Services, P.O. Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. 

Public Hearing 
A virtual public hearing on the proposed rule will be held 

at 9:00 a.m. on November 24, 2020, by the Department of 
Children and Family Services. All interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments 
via PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android at 
https://stateofladcfs.zoom.us/j/96143125164?pwd=ZmM5M
DAxcG9RQXFqa255RnJFcFpudz09 using password 
729784; or via telephone by dialing (713) 353-0212 and 
entering conference code 430033. To find local AT&T 
numbers visit https://www.teleconference.att.com/ 
servlet/glbAccess?process=1&accessNumber=USA7133530
212&accessCode=430033. Individuals with disabilities who 
require special services should contact the DCFS Appeals 
Unit at least seven working days in advance of the hearing. 
For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD) 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Vulnerable Communities  

and Peoples Initiative 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

In FY 21, this measure is anticipated to increase the 
expenses of the Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) by $150,974 and annualized in future fiscal years at 
$359,781. These costs are associated with publication of the 
rule ($1,065) and a professional services contract with the 
Southern University Law Center (SULC) ($149,909). Costs 
associated with these services are funded with 100% Federal 
Funds. 

DCFS proposes to adopt LAC 67:III, Subpart 15 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Initiatives, 
Chapter 55 TANF Initiatives, Section 5553 Vulnerable 
Communities and Peoples Initiative to stabilize families and 
improve their economic opportunities by reducing and/or 
eliminating disparities. DCFS will enter into a contract with 
SULC to participate in community networking activities and 
provide partnership referrals, employment assistance, and legal 
services to low income families. 

These services meet TANF goal 3, to prevent and reduce 
the incidence of out-of-wedlock pregnancies and TANF goal 4, 
to encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent 
families by identifying direct and indirect barriers to resources 
and providing a network of supportive services through 
governmental agencies and community partnerships, such as 
application assistance, legal services, and referrals. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule is not anticipated to 
have a cost or direct economic benefit to small businesses or 
non-governmental groups. This rule is anticipated to help 
alleviate poverty for those participating in the initiative. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule is not expected to 
have an effect on competition and employment. 

 

Shavana Howard Christopher A. Keaton 
Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs 
Hurricane Laura Exceptions and Deferments 

(LAC 28:IV.2103 and 2105) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents announces its intention to 
amend the scholarship/grant program Rules [R.S. 17:3021-
3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 
17:5001 et seq., and R.S. 56:797.D(2)]. 

This rulemaking provides for exceptions to the 
requirements to enroll full time, to maintain continuous 
enrollment in school, and to earn the annual required hours 
for TOPS, Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, and GO 
Youth Challenge recipients impacted by Hurricane Laura. In 
addition, this rulemaking provides for deferments for 
students who are currently in repayment status for the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program and TOPS 
Teacher. (SG21193NI) 

The codified text of this proposed rule may be viewed in 
the Emergency Rule section of this edition of the Louisiana 
Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on 

providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG21192NI) until 4:30 p.m., November 
9, 2020, by email to LOSFA.Comments@la.gov or to Sujuan 
Williams Boutté, Ed. D., Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 

Robyn Rhea Lively  
Senior Attorney 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs 
Hurricane Laura Exceptions and Deferments 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to have a 

significant impact on TOPS expenditures for the current fiscal 
year, but could result in increased expenditures in future years. 
A similar rule change was implemented after Hurricanes 
Katrina/Rita. The combined impact of those two hurricanes 
resulted in a slight decrease in TOPS expenditures of less than 
0.2% for the 2005-2006 Academic Year followed by a slightly 
more than 3% increase for the 2006-2007 Academic Year. 
Since Hurricane Laura had a significant but lesser impact than 
Katrina/Rita on students and educational institutions in the 
state, and given the continuing impact of the COVID-19 health 
emergency, it is anticipated that TOPS expenditures will not 
increase beyond the normal 1% to 3% growth rate for future 
fiscal years due to these proposed changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no impact on state or local governmental revenues.  
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

Displaced students will be directly and positively affected 
by the proposed rule. The proposed rule will ensure students 
are not made ineligible for a TOPS, Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or GO Youth Challenge award or endure an 
economic hardship due to repayment of a Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Grant or TOPS Teacher award due solely to the 
consequences of Hurricane Laura. There are no estimated 
effects or economic benefits to non-governmental groups 
resulting from these measures. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on competition and 
employment resulting from these measures other than 
promoting a better educated pool of workers.  

 
Robyn Rhea Lively Alan M. Boxberger 
Senior Attorney Staff Director 
2010#015 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Compensation to Victims (LAC 22:XIII. 301)  

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
which is the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S. 46:1801 
et seq., which is the Crime Victims Reparations Act, the 
Crime Victims Reparations Board hereby gives notice of its 
intent to promulgate rules and regulations regarding the 
awarding of compensation to applicants. The proposed rule 
clarifies the procedure for applying for reparations 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part XIII.  Crime Victims Reparations Board 

Chapter 3. Eligibility and Application Process 
§301. Eligibility 

A. To be eligible for compensation, an individual must 
have suffered personal injury, death or catastrophic property 
loss as a result of a violent crime. 

1. Victim Conduct and Behavior  
a. The Crime Victims Reparations Board may vote 

to deny or reduce an award to a claimant who is a victim, or 
who files an application on behalf of a victim, when any of 
the following occurs: 
 i. … 
 ii. Repealed.  

1.a. iii - 3.g. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1801 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, Crime Victims Reparations Board, LR 20:539 
(May 1994), amended LR 22:710 (August 1996), amended LR 
31:2009 (August 2005), amended LR 35:65(January 2009), LR 
36:2278 (October 2010), LR 37:1605 (June 2011), LR 41:1487 
(August 2015), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
has been considered. This proposed rule will have no impact 
on family functioning, stability, or autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972 since it only clarifies the procedures for 
applying for reparations.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on:  

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security;  

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through post-secondary education development;  

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development;  

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits;  
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule.  

This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small Business 
Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  
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Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on:  

1. the effect of the staffing level requirement or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

proposed Rule no later than November 1, 2020, at 5 p.m. to 
Bob Wertz, Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement, 
P.O. Box 3133, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

 
Amanda Tonkavitch  
Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Compensation to Victims 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will not have a fiscal impact on 

state or local governmental unit expenditures.  
The proposed rule change would comply with the mandate 

of Act 418 of 2019, to repeal a provision of the administrative 
code that permitted the Crime Victims Reparations board to 
deny a claim because of a victim’s previous felony conviction 
in the last three years.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rule will 
not increase revenue collections of state or local governmental 
units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rule will 
not directly affect persons, small businesses or non-
governmental groups. The adoption of the rule seeks to clarify 
the situations in which applicants for reparations would not be 
approved.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition or employment in the 
public or private sector as a result of the proposed rule change.  

 
Jim Craft Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#026 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Adjudication; Practice (LAC 46:XL.9935) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 

Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing adjudication, by inserting a new 
section (§9935), dealing with the assessment of costs and 
fines in board proceedings. The proposed amendments are 
set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 
Subpart 5.  Rules of Procedure 

Chapter 99. Adjudication 
§9935. Assessment of Costs and Fine 

A. Assessment. As part of a decision, consent order, or 
other agreed order, the Board may require a respondent to 
pay all costs of the board proceedings. If costs are assessed 
in a consent or other agreed order, the amount shall be stated 
in the order. 

B. Special Definition. Costs of the Proceedings—for the 
purposes of this rule, shall mean a reasonable charge to meet 
all obligations incurred by the board in the performance of 
its duties, including but not limited to investigators', 
stenographers', and attorney fees, witness fees and expenses, 
and the per diem and expenses of the members of the board's 
hearing panel. 

C. Notice. Notice of the application of this Section shall 
be provided to a respondent with the written notice of filing 
of an administrative complaint, pursuant to 9905.  

D. Timing; Content; Service; Scope and Limitations; 
Exceptions and Requests for Modification; Disposition. 
Statements of Costs shall be processed as follows: 

1. Timing. A statement of costs shall be compiled by 
the board within 20 days from the date on which the board’s 
decision is served on the respondent. 

2. Content. A statement of costs must state with 
particularity the nature and amount of the costs assessed. 
The statement must be signed and certify that all reasonable 
attempts have been made to ensure the statement's accuracy. 

3. Service. A statement of costs shall be served on 
respondent by regular and certified mail at the last known 
address on file with the board not later than 20 days from the 
date on which the board’s decision is served on the 
respondent.  

4. Scope and Limitations. A statement of costs shall be 
assessed in any decision following an administrative 
hearing, in which a respondent is found guilty of a violation 
of a law or rule administered by the board. The statement 
shall include those costs actually incurred by the board from 
the time of filing of an administrative complaint until the 
issuance of a final decision or order; provided, however, and 
except as provided below, that such costs shall not exceed 
for a respondent: 

a. physician, the sum of $75,000; 
b. allied health care practitioner, as to whom the 

board is authorized by law to assess the costs of the 
proceeding, the sum of $25,000. 

5. Exceptions; Requests for Modification. Within 20 
days of the date of service of the statement of costs: 

a. the respondent may file an exception to, or 
submit a request for modification of, a statement of costs. 
Each such exception or request shall be accompanied by a 
concise statement of the grounds on which the exception or 
request is based and any supporting legal or other authority. 
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Within 10 days of such filing or submission, a response may 
be filed by the complainant; 

b. the complainant may request an assessment of 
costs above the amounts specified above. Such a request 
shall be made only when the complainant contends a 
respondent unreasonably increased the costs of the 
proceedings by activities undertaken to harass or create 
undue burden, or by the repetitive, unduly burdensome, or 
unwarranted filing of meritless motions or discovery 
requests. Within 10 days of the filing of such a request, a 
response may be filed by the respondent. 

6. Disposition of Exceptions and Requests for 
Modification. Upon timely filing: 

a. an exception or request shall be referred to the 
presiding officer of the hearing panel with respect to the 
proceeding for a ruling. The presiding officer, in his or her 
discretion, may refer an exception or request to the entire 
hearing panel which considered the case for disposition, and 
any party aggrieved by the ruling of a presiding officer may 
request, within 10 days of receipt of the ruling, that the 
exception or request be reconsidered by the entire panel 
which heard the case; 

b. the matter shall be ordinarily be decided on by 
the presiding officer or the hearing panel, as the case may 
be, on the papers filed, without hearing. On the written 
request of respondent or complainant, however, and on 
demonstration that there are good grounds therefor, the 
presiding officer may grant opportunity for hearing by oral 
argument; 

c. the president of the board or presiding officer of 
the hearing panel, as the case may be, may delegate the task 
of ruling on such exceptions or request to the board’s 
independent legal counsel appointed pursuant to §9921D, 
who is independent of complaint counsel and who has not 
participated in the investigation or prosecution of the case. 

E. Payment of Costs and Expenses; Periodic Payment 
Plan; Waiver 

1. A statement of costs must be satisfied within 30 
days of receipt unless the statement of costs provides 
otherwise or the respondent enters into a periodic payment 
plan with the board’s compliance officer assigned to the 
matter or with another individual designated by the board. 

2. The board’s compliance officer or designee may 
enter into an agreement with a respondent for a reasonable 
periodic payment plan if the respondent demonstrates in 
writing the present inability to pay such costs or provides 
other satisfactory cause to support the request. 

3. A respondent may ask the board to review an 
adverse determination by its compliance officer or designee 
regarding specific conditions for a periodic payment plan. 
Such review shall be conducted in accordance with 
§9935D.6. 

F. Fine. As part of a decision, consent order, or other 
agreed order, the board may require the payment of a fine; 
provided, however, that such fine shall not exceed, as to a 
respondent: 

a. physician, the sum of $5,000;  
b. allied health care practitioner, the amount 

authorized by law, but in no event more than $5,000. 
G. Waiver; Adjustment. A statement of costs or amount 

of a fine, or both, may be waived or reduced by the board, in 
its discretion, in whole or part, upon a request submitted in 

writing that evidences to the board’s satisfaction a 
significant medical, physical, financial or similar 
extenuating circumstance precluding the individual's 
payment of costs or fine or where it appears to the board in 
the interests of justice to do so.  

H. Failure to Comply with Assessment of Costs or Fine. 
A respondent who fails to timely pay a statement of costs or 
fine, or who fails to comply with the terms of a periodic 
payment plan, shall be notified of non-compliance by first 
class and certified mail at his or her last known address on 
file with the board. A respondent’s failure to comply with 
such notice within thirty days of mailing may provide a basis 
for further action by the board. 

I. Nothing in this Section shall delay, suspend, extend, 
or otherwise affect the time authorized by law within which 
a respondent may file a petition for judicial review of a final 
decision or order issued by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292, 37:1270, 37:1285. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board
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within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock 
a.m., at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Adjudication; Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to amend its 
rules on adjudication to insert a new rule regarding the 
assessment of costs and fines against its licensees pursuant to a 
decision, consent order, or other agreed order so as to provide 
for the preparation of a statement detailing the costs, 
service/notice of the costs, a timeline within which the costs 
must be paid, and a maximum sum due depending upon 
whether the licensee is a physician or allied practitioner, with 
the goal of the licensee-respondent paying all costs of the 
Board proceedings where the licensee-respondent was found to 
have violated a law or rule administered by the Board after an 
administrative hearing. (46:XLV.9935). There are provisions 
for requests for modification and/or exceptions as well as a 
periodic payment plan. Finally, there are also provisions for 
fines as part of a decision, consent order, or other agreed upon 
order, with failure to comply with either an assessment of costs 
and/or a fine, establishing a basis for further action at the 
Board’s discretion.  

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Rule attempts to recoup monies the LSBME 
already expends on administrative hearings. Likewise, the 
provisions for fines also attempt to recoup monies the LSBME 
expended or will have to expend in connection with drafting or 
further administration of a consent order or other agreed upon 
order. Accordingly, the Board anticipates additional revenues 
of an indeterminable amount. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Licensure and Certification;  
Physicians (LAC 46:XLV Chapter 3) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing all licensees (443) as to the 
method of providing the board with proof of continuing 
medical education by use of an electronic education tracker 
(435 and 439), and the rules on renewal ineligibility where 
the licensee fails to satisfy the continuing medical education 
requirement (441). The proposed amendments are set forth 
below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 3. Physicians 
Subchapter K. Continuing Medical Education 
§433. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter provide standards for the 
continuing medical education ("CME") requisite to the 
renewal or reinstatement of licensure, as provided by §§417 
and 419 of these rules and prescribe the procedures 
applicable to satisfaction and documentation of continuing 
medical education in connection with applications for 
renewal or reinstatement of licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:695 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
§435. Continuing Medical Educational Requirement 

A. Subject to the waiver of and exceptions to CME 
prescribed by §§445 and 447 and the special requirements 
attendant to initial renewal of licensure specified in §449, 
every physician seeking the renewal or reinstatement of 
licensure shall annually evidence and document, in a manner 
specified by the board, the successful completion of not less 
than 20 hours of board approved CME. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:695 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
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§437. Qualifying Continuing Medical Education 
Programs 

A. Any program, course, seminar or other activity 
offering Category 1 CME shall be deemed approved for 
purposes of satisfying the continuing medical education 
requirements under this Subchapter, if sponsored or offered 
by: 

1. an organization or entity accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education 
(ACCME); 

2. a member board of the American Board of Medical 
Specialties or a specialty board recognized by the AOA; 

3. the American Academy of Family Physicians 
(AAFP); 

4. the American College of Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists (ACOG); 

5. the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); or 
6. an organization or entity accredited by the 

Louisiana State Medical Society or any other ACCME 
recognized state medical society. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:695 
(April 2000), amended LR 31:1584 (July 2005), LR 46: 
§439. Documentation Procedure 

A. Licensees shall insure that documentation of CME (or 
“continuing education”) sufficient to satisfy the annual 
continuing education requirement is submitted to the board. 
Each licensee shall request the organization or entity 
sponsoring or offering the activity to submit proof of the 
licensee’s completion of a continuing education activity to 
the board’s designated electronic education tracker (“EET). 
In the event the sponsoring or offering organization fails or 
refuses to do so, the licensee shall submit such proof directly 
to the EET. 

B. Each licensee shall be: 
1. sent a transcript of the hours/credits/units of 

qualifying continuing education, which the board has then 
received from its designated EET for the licensee. The 
transcript shall reflect the amount of continuing education 
needed to satisfy the continuing education requirement for 
license renewal. The transcript shall be electronically 
transmitted to the licensee’s preferred email address on file 
with the board at periodic intervals in advance of the date for 
licensure renewal; 

2. obligated and responsible for reviewing his/her 
continuing education transcript for accuracy and resolving 
any discrepancies in the amount of credit awarded, lack of 
reporting to the board, or other issues, with the organization 
or entity sponsoring or offering the continuing education 
activity. If issues remain unresolved, the licensee shall 
attempt resolution by way of the board’s designated EET. If 
still unsuccessful, the licensee may then supply 
documentation of his/her efforts to resolve the discrepancy 
or other issues to the board and request its assistance; 

3. A licensee’s failure to notify the board of a change 
in preferred email address will not absolve the licensee from 
his/her obligations and responsibilities under this Section. 

C. A physician shall maintain a record or certificate of 
attendance for at least four years from the date of completion 
of the continuing medical education activity. Satisfactory 

evidence shall consist of a certificate or other documentation 
which shall, at a minimum, contain the: 

1. program title; 
2. sponsor's name; 
3. physician's name; 
4. inclusive date or dates and location of the CME 

event; and 
5. documented verification of successful completion 

of 20 hours of Category 1 CME by stamp, signature, official 
or other proof acceptable to the board. 

D. In addition, the board has the right to audit any 
questionable documentation of activities. 

E. Verification of continuing medical education 
satisfying the requirements of this Subchapter shall be 
submitted by a physician to the board within 30 days of the 
date of mailing of notification of audit or such longer period 
as the board my designate in such notification. A physician's 
failure to notify the board of a change of mailing address 
will not absolve the licensee from the audit requirement. 

F. Any certification of continuing medical education 
which is not approved by the board pursuant to §437 shall 
not be considered as qualifying for CME recognition by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:696 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
§441. Failure to Satisfy Continuing Medical Education 

Requirements 
A. Non-Compliance; Reinstatement of Licensure. A 

licensee:  
1. who fails to satisfy the continuing education 

requirement shall not be eligible for licensure renewal 
consideration;  

2. whose license has not been renewed for failure to 
satisfy the continuing education requirement may be 
reinstated upon application to the board, accompanied by 
payment of the renewal fee required by Subpart 1 of these 
rules, in addition to all other applicable fees and costs, 
together with confirmation of completion of the continuing 
education requirement. 

B. The license of a physician which has expired for 
nonrenewal or been revoked for failure to satisfy the CME 
requirements of §435 of these rules, may be reinstated 
pursuant to §419 upon written application to the board, 
accompanied by payment of the reinstatement fee required 
by §419, in addition to all other applicable fees and costs, 
together with documentation and certification that the 
applicant has, for each year since the date on which the 
applicant's license was last issued or renewed, completed an 
aggregate of 20 hours of board approved CME. 

C. The license of a physician which has expired, has not 
been renewed or been revoked for failure to meet the 
requirements of §449, or one which has expired, has not 
been renewed or revoked on more than one occasion for 
failure to satisfy the CME requirements of §435 of these 
rules shall be deemed in violation of R.S. 37:1285.A(30), 
providing cause for the board to suspend or revoke, refuse to 
issue, or impose probationary or other restrictions on any 
license held or applied for by a physician to practice 
medicine in the state of Louisiana culpable of such violation. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8) and 37:1280.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:696 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
§443. Application of Requirements to All Licensees; 

Resolution of Conflict 
A. Sections 439 and 441 of this Chapter shall apply to 

physicians and all allied health care providers licensed by 
the board who are required to complete continuing education 
as a prerequisite to the renewal of a license or other authority 
to practice a profession regulated by the board. All 
references to CME or continuing education and credits or 
hours, shall apply equally to any word or term utilized in this 
Part to describe the requirement for or amount of continuing 
education required for the renewal of such license or other 
authority, In the event of a conflict between §439 and §441, 
and those of any other Section in this Part, §439 and §441 
shall govern and control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§444. Falsification of Continuing Medical Education 

A. Any licensee or applicant who falsely certifies 
attendance at and/or completion of the required continuing 
medical education requirements of §§433-449 shall be 
deemed in violation of R.S. 37:1285.A(3), (4), (13) and/or 
(30), providing cause for the board to suspend or revoke, 
refuse to issue, or impose probationary or other restrictions 
on any license held or applied for by a physician to practice 
medicine in the state of Louisiana culpable of such violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:696 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
§445. Waiver of Requirements 

A. The board may, in its discretion, waive all or part of 
the CME required by these rules in favor of a physician who 
makes written request to the board and evidences to its 
satisfaction a permanent physical disability, illness, financial 
hardship or other similar extenuating circumstances 
precluding the individual's satisfaction of CME 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:696 
(April 2000), amended LR 46: 
§447. Exceptions to the Continuing Medical Education 

Requirements 
A. Except as provided in §449, the CME requirements 

prescribed by this Subchapter prerequisite to renewal or 
reinstatement of licensure shall not be applicable to a 
physician: 

1. engaged in military service longer than one year's 
duration outside of Louisiana; 

2. who has held an initial Louisiana license on the 
basis of examination for less than one year; 

3. who has within the past year been certified or 
recertified by a member board of the American Board of

Medical Specialties or a specialty board recognized by the 
AOA; 

4. who is in a residency training program approved by 
the board; or 

5. who is a retired physician in accordance with §418 
of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:697 
(April 2000), amended LR 31:1585 (July 2005), LR 46: 
§449. CME Requirement for Initial Renewal of 

License 
A. Effective on and after January 1, 2002, every 

physician seeking the initial renewal of medical licensure, 
whether such license was originally issued by the board on 
the basis of examination, reciprocity or reinstatement shall, 
as part of the continuing medical education required by this 
Subchapter as a condition prerequisite to licensure renewal, 
evidence and document upon forms supplied by the board 
attendance at an orientation program sponsored and/or 
approved by the board. 

B. The program required pursuant to §449.A shall be 
conducted at such locations, on such dates and at such times 
as may be designated by the board, shall consist of not less 
than two hours in duration and involve such content, topic 
and structure as the board may from time to time deem 
appropriate. 

C. Notification of the dates, times and locations at which 
such programs will be offered, as well as the enrollment 
procedure, shall be mailed to the most recent address of each 
applicant subject to the requirements of §449.A as reflected 
in the official records of the board. A physician's failure to 
notify the board of a change of mailing address will not 
absolve the applicant of the requirement to attend a board 
sponsored/approved orientation program as a condition of 
approval of an initial request for licensure renewal. 

D. A physician required to attend an orientation program 
pursuant to §449.A shall, for each hour of attendance as may 
be required by the board, be granted an hour-for-hour credit 
towards the annual CME requirement specified by §435. 

E. A physician who at the time of the initial renewal of 
medical licensure resides and practices medicine exclusively 
outside of Louisiana or who has held an unrestricted license 
to practice medicine in any state for at least 10 years may, in 
lieu of personal attendance, satisfy the mandatory 
requirements of Subsection A of this Section by successfully 
completing the board’s orientation program on-line in a 
manner specified by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:697 
(April 2000), amended LR 27:850 (June 2001), LR 36:1243 (June 
2010), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 
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Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensure and Certification;  

Physicians 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical

Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to amend its 
rules on its licensees’ continuing medical education 
requirements to (a) provide a method by which ALL Board 
licensees must provide the Board, through a Board designated 
electronic education tracker (EET), with documentation the 
licensee has timely fulfilled the continuing medical education 
(CME) requirements of the Board; (b) provide for renewal 
ineligibility where the licensee fails to satisfy the continuing 
medical education requirement; and (c) provide a method for 
and the parameters of licensure reinstatement.  

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Rule attempts to provide a more streamlined 
electronic method for receiving information about CME credits 
from licensees, to provide licensees with up to date CME credit 
transcripts, and to provide for ineligibility to renew if the CME 
has not been timely completed and electronically documented. 
Accordingly, there is no anticipated effect on the revenue 
collections of the LSBME or other state or local governmental 
units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Provisional Temporary Permits 
(LAC 46:XLV.402) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing provisional temporary permits so 
as to provide for an emergency temporary permit to issue for 
previously licensed practitioners who meet certain criteria 
(46:XLV.412) and to provide that the board may waive 
obtaining a criminal history on such a temporary permit 
during a declared emergency (46:XLV.402). The proposed 
amendments are set forth on the next page. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Subchapter H. Restricted Licensure, Permits 
§402. Provisional Temporary Permit Pending Results 

of Criminal History Record Information 
A. - C.2. … 
D. The board may waive the procedures and 

requirements for submitting, requesting and obtaining 
criminal history record information, specified in §402.A, for 
a non-renewable provisional temporary permit issued under 
this Subchapter that is effective for not more than 90 days or 
an emergency temporary permit issued under §412 of these 
rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, R.S. 37:1275 and R.S. 37:1277, R.S. 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 27:843 
(June 2001), amended LR 33:1344 (July 2007), LR 36:1243 (June 
2010); amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 
Examiners, LR 46: 
§412. Emergency Temporary Permits 

A. - G.3. … 
H. The board may, in its discretion, extend or renew an 

expired emergency temporary permit for additional 60-day 
periods provided all conditions prerequisite to original 
issuance are satisfied. 

I. - K. … 
L. The board may, upon its electronic receipt of a 

completed application and/or such information as may be 
required to verify the individual as a former licensee, issue a 
permit under this Section to an individual who does not 
possess a current license to practice medicine or as allied 
health care practitioner in this state, provided: 

1. such individual: 
a. was formerly licensed by the board; 
b. was not, in the preceding 15 years, disciplined by 

the board; 
c. at the time his or her license last expired, held an 

unrestricted license in-good standing with the board and was 
not subject to board order, investigation or disciplinary 
proceedings; 

d. affirms that there is no known condition that 
would impair his/her ability to practice safely; 

e. practices within the scope and expertise of 
his/her education, training and experience and that of the 
formerly held license issued by the board; 

f. has made arrangements and registered to provide 
health care services with a hospital, institution or facility 
licensed by the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) or at 
another site approved by LDH or the board, that: 
 i. is registered as a host entity pursuant to the 
Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners Act, R.S. 
29:781, et seq.; and 
 ii. initiated the individual’s application process by 
providing electronic confirmation to LDH and the board that 
it supports permit issuance and will accept, credential and 
grant privileges to the individual to provide voluntary health 
care services for the facility. 

g. limits the provision of health care services to 
patients of the hospital, institution or facility licensed by 

LDH or at another site specified or approved by LDH or the 
board, at which he is registered to provide services pursuant 
to the Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners 
Act, R.S. 29:781, et seq.; 

2. a permit issued under §412.L shall be available to a 
physician who holds a reduced-fee license pursuant to §418 
of these rules without the necessity of satisfying the 
requirements of §418,C; 

3. permit issuance under this Section may be verified 
from the board’s website.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 1275; R.S. 37:3301-3312; R.S. 37:3421-3433; R.S. 
37:1311-1329; R.S. 37:3240-3257; R.S. 37:3001-3014; R.S. 
37:1331-1343; R.S. 37:1360.21-1360.38; R.S. 37:611-628; R.S. 
37:2861-2870; R.S. 37:1292; R.S. 37:3351-3361 and R.S. 
29:769(E), R.S. 29:785 and R.S. 29:788. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
33:91 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health, 
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
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or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Provisional Temporary Permits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to amend its 
rules governing provisional temporary permits so as to provide 
for an emergency temporary permit to issue for previously 
licensed practitioners who meet certain criteria (46:XLV.412) 
and to provide that the Board may waive obtaining a criminal 
history on such a temporary permit during a declared 
emergency (46:XLV.402).  

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

The proposed changes amend the LSBME’s rules in two 
ways. First, the changes to §402 allow the Board, in its 
discretion, to waive the procedures and requirements for 
submitting, requesting and obtaining criminal history record 
information for an emergency temporary permit issued under 
§412. Second, the changes to §412H allow the Board, in its 
discretion to extend of renew an expired emergency temporary 
permit for additional 60-day time periods provided all 
conditions prerequisite to original issuance are satisfied. Third, 
the changes to 412L. create a new temporary emergency permit 
for a practitioner: 

(a) previously licensed by the Board as long as the 
practitioner’s license at last expiration was in good standing 
and not under investigation and/or involved in disciplinary 
proceedings;  

(b) who has not been disciplined in the last 15 years;  
(c) who has no known condition that would impair 

his/her ability to practice safely;  
(d) who practices within the scope and expertise of 

his/her training, education and experience and previous 
licensure;  

(e) who has made arrangements and registered to 
provide health care services with a hospital, institution or 
facility licensed by the Louisiana Dept of Health (LDH) or at 
another site approved by LDH or the Board that is registered as 
a host entity under the Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health 
Practitioners Act (La. R.S. 29:781 et seq.) (UEVHP Act) and 
that initiated the applicant’s permit application process by 
providing electronic confirmation to LDH and the Board that it

supports permit issuanc and which will accept and 
credential/grant privileges to the applicant to provide voluntary 
health care services for the facility; and,  

(f) who is limited to the location specified by LDH 
and/or approved by the Board, to provide services pursuant to 
the UEVHP Act.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

While the LSBME has no reliable data, it is believed that 
only a very limited number of previously licensed applicants 
are likely to apply for the emergency temporary permit on the 
basis of the proposed amendments. The LSBME is not in a 
position to estimate the proposed amendments’ effect in this 
respect as no information or data is available either as to the 
number of formerly licensed health care practitioners who may 
be offered a position at an approved host hospital, institution or 
facility licensed by LDH, who will confirm to LDH and the 
Board that it supports permit issuance and will accept, 
credential and grant privileges to the permit applicant. It is 
anticipated that qualifying applicants will be infrequent and any 
such applicant would be subject to any medical licensing fees 
specified by the LSBME’s rules. Accordingly, there is no 
anticipated effect on the revenue collections of the LSBME or 
other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
negative impact on competition or employment. The additional 
emergency temporary permit is meant to expand the number of 
health care practitioners available to respond to a declared 
public health emergency or disaster, in which, it is anticipated, 
there is usually a shortage of licensed health care practitioners 
available to respond.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Licensure and Application  
(LAC 46:XLV Chapter 3) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing licensure of foreign medical 
graduates, by adding additional language to a subsection 
(§323A.4), involving an alternative method for licensure for 
international medical graduates, and by repealing other 
subsections (§§361.G and 363.B). The proposed 
amendments are set forth below. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 3. Physicians 
Subchapter C. International Medical Graduates 
§323. Qualifications for License 

A. To be eligible for a license, an international medical 
graduate applicant shall: 

1. - 4. … 
5. or, alternative to the requirements of §323A.4, if the 

IMG is a graduate of a medical school or college which was, 
at the time of graduation, recognized by the World 
Federation for Medical Education (WFME) or another 
organization accepted by the ECFMG for the recognition of 
medical school accrediting agencies, and found to use 
standards comparable to those used to accredit medical 
schools in the United States by the National Committee on 
Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation (NCFMEA) of 
the U.S. Department of Education, have completed post-
graduate clinical training in the manner prescribed by 
§311A.6.b of these rules.  

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1272 and 37:1275.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:909 (November 1984, amended LR 12:528 (August 1986), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 16:514 (June 1990), LR 27:837 (June 
2001), LR 46: 
Subchapter F. Application 
§361. Application Procedure 

A. - F. … 
G. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1277, 37:1278 and 37:1281. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:516 (June 
1990), LR 27:839 (June 2001), LR 46: 
§363. Additional Requirements for International 

Medical Graduates 
A. … 
B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270 and 37:1278. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:517 (June 
1990), LR 27:840 (June 2001), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensure and Application 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to amend its 
rules on the requirements of post graduate training for 
international medical graduates so as to conform those rules 
with the rules applicable to U.S. graduates, provided the 
applicant graduated from an approved medical school as 
outlined in the new rule.  

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1421

Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Board intends to amend its rules governing 
licensure of foreign medical graduates, by adding additional 
language to a subsection (323A.4), involving an alternative 
method for licensure for international medical graduates, and 
by repealing other subsections (361G and 363B) so that the 
rules for international medical graduates who matriculate from 
approved medical schools more closely align with the rules of 
US graduates. Accordingly, there is no anticipated effect on the 
revenue collections of the LSBME or other state or local 
governmental units save for a likely minor increase in revenue 
from possible newly qualified international medical graduate 
license applicants. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Other than a likely minor increase in the number of 
applicants to a given available position due to additional 
international medical graduate licensure, it is not anticipated 
that the proposed changes will have any impact on competition 
or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Licensure and Certification  
(LAC 46:XLV.1307) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing the taking of a complete history 
and physical by a podiatrist certified for advanced practice 
(§1307). The proposed amendments are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 
Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 

Chapter 13.  Podiatrists 
Subchapter B.  Requirements and Qualifications for 

Licensure, Scope of Practice 
§1307. Qualifications for Certification for Advanced 

Practice; Scope of Practice 
A. Certification of an applicant for advanced practice 

may be issued by the board for either the conservative 
treatment of the ankle or the surgical treatment of the ankle, 

or both, depending upon an applicant's education and 
training. 

B. Qualifications for Certification in Conservative 
Treatment of the Ankle. To be eligible for certification for 
the conservative treatment of the ankle an applicant who 
possesses and meets the qualifications and requirements of 
§1305A.1.-5 of this Chapter shall have completed at least 
one year of postgraduate podiatric training in an internship 
or equivalent program accredited by the Council on 
Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric 
Medical Association or its successor association, and 
approved by the board. 

C. Scope of Practice for Conservative Treatment of the 
Ankle. The scope of practice for the conservative treatment 
of the ankle shall be limited to the following: 

1. the prevention, examination, diagnosis, medical, 
surgical, and adjuvant treatment of the human foot, as 
defined in §1303.A, which is authorized for a doctor of 
podiatric medicine without certification in advanced 
practice; 

2. the medical treatment of the ankle to include the 
muscles or tendons of the lower leg governing the functions 
of the foot and ankle; 

3. surgical treatment of the superficial conditions of 
the ankle involving the skin and overlying tissues and 
extending proximally; and 

4. assisting an orthopedic surgeon or a doctor of 
podiatric medicine whose practice prerogatives include 
surgical treatment of the ankle, as defined in this Section. 

D. Qualifications for Certification in Surgical Treatment 
of the Ankle. To be eligible for certification in the surgical 
treatment of the ankle, whether for initial licensure or annual 
renewal, an applicant who possesses and meets the 
qualifications and requirements of §1305.A.1-5 of this 
Chapter shall: 

1. have completed a surgical residency approved by 
the Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American 
Podiatric Medical Association, consisting of: 

a. a three-year podiatric surgery residency (PSR 36) 
program or greater; or 

b. a three-year podiatric medicine and surgery 
residency (PM and S 36) program or greater; or 

c. a two-year podiatric surgery residency (PSR 24) 
program and: 
 i. be board-certified in reconstructive rear foot 
and ankle surgery (RRA) by the American Board of Foot and 
Ankle Surgery (ABFAS), formerly the American Board of 
Podiatric Surgery (APBS); or 
 ii. be board-certified in foot surgery and board 
qualified in reconstructive rear foot/ankle surgery (RRA) by 
the ABFAS. 

E. Scope of Practice for Surgical Treatment of the Ankle. 
The scope of practice for surgical treatment of the ankle 
shall be limited to the following: 

1. the scope of practice as described in this Section for 
the conservative treatment of the ankle; and 

2. surgical treatment of the ankle and muscles or 
tendons of the lower leg governing the functions of the foot 
and ankle, limited to procedures listed by the Council on 
Podiatric Medical Education (CPME) and the American 
Board of Podiatric Surgery (ABPS) as found in the CPME 
320 and ABPS 220 documents (and their successors) as 
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being required for graduate podiatric medical education and 
board certification at the time that an applicant's application 
for initial licensure or annual renewal is filed with the board. 

F. Surgical procedures authorized under this Section 
shall only be performed in the following types of facilities: 

1. a licensed and accredited hospital as defined in R.S. 
40:2102(A) and R.S. 37:611(3)(a), if the podiatrist is granted 
privileges to do the procedures; 

2. a licensed and accredited trauma center as defined 
in R.S. 40:2171(3) and R.S. 37:611(3)(a), if the podiatrist is 
granted privileges to do the procedures; or 

3. a licensed and accredited ambulatory surgical 
center as defined in R.S. 40:2133(A) and R.S. 37:611(3)(a) 
if the podiatrist is granted privileges to do the same 
procedure in a hospital as described in §1307F.1 or a trauma 
center as described in §1307F.2 of this Subsection. 

G. Patient history and examination. A podiatrist certified 
for advanced practice under this Section: 

1. with two or more years of postgraduate training, 
may independently perform a complete history and physical 
(H and P) on his or her patients for the purpose of pre-
operative evaluation and diagnosis before a podiatric 
procedure the podiatrist is authorized to perform under the 
scope of his or her license  

2. may independently perform a complete H and P for 
Institutional Review Board approved research studies. 

H. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for certification 
of practice prerogatives shall be upon the applicant. An 
applicant shall not be deemed to possess such qualifications 
unless the applicant demonstrates and evidences such 
qualifications in the manner prescribed by and to the 
satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:611-37:628. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:241 
(February 2009), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Medical Examiners, LR 42:1519 (September 2016), amended by 
the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
42:2197 (December 2016), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA  70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensure and Certification 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to amend its 
rules governing the taking of a complete history and physical 
by a podiatrist certified for advanced practice to permit 
independent performance of same for the purpose of pre-
operative evaluation and diagnosis prior to a podiatric 
procedure that the advance practice podiatrist is authorized to 
perform under the scope of his/her license and where the 
practitioner has two or more years of post-graduate training.   

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The new rule provides qualifying rules regarding those 
podiatrists certified in advanced practice independently taking a 
complete pre-operative history and physicals, and replaces 
several prior rules. Accordingly, there is no anticipated effect 
on the revenue collections of the LSBME or other state or local 
governmental units. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1423

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups.  Allowing the history 
and physical to be done by certain advanced practice podiatrists 
should actually streamline the delivery of health care.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health  
Board of Medical Examiners 

Physician Licensure and Certification 
(LAC 46:XLV.315, 415, and 417) 

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority 
vested in it by the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 
37:1261-1292, and in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners (board) intends to amend its rules governing 
Licensure and Certification of Physicians, LAC 46:XLV, 
Subpart 2, Chapter 3, Subchapter B, §315 and Subchapter I, 
§415.B and §417.B.  

The proposed amendments to §315.A expand the existing 
discretionary waiver of certain license requirements for 
applicants appointed to a full-time position by a medical 
school or college, at a rank of assistant professor or above, to 
an applicant who would be a full-time employee of an 
academic medical center whose duties and responsibilities 
are devoted primarily to training residents and fellows and 
other academic endeavors within post-graduate medical 
education. As with medical school professors, the proposed 
amendments would limit the applicant’s practice to the 
academic medical center, as defined in §315.B, for which he 
or she has been approved by the board and affiliated 
hospitals and clinics of such center within the same 
geographic area of the state. As is the case under the existing 
rules (§327), the proposed amendments would be available 
to medical educators who graduated from either U.S. or 
international medical schools and the waiver of 
qualifications would expire upon termination of the 
appointment (§415.B).  

The proposed changes to §417.B are intended to conform 
the rules governing notification of license renewal to current 
agency practices (e.g. electronic notification), which resulted 
from the board’s transition from sending out paper license 
renewals to electronic renewals and courtesy notices over 
the past several years. The proposed amendments are set 
forth below.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 3. Physicians 
Subchapter B. Graduates of American and Canadian 

Medical School and Colleges 
§315. Waiver of Qualifications 

A. Upon request by an applicant, supported by 
certification from the dean of a medical school or college or 
chief medical officer of an academic medical center within 
the state of Louisiana which is approved by the board, the 
board may, in its discretion, waive the qualifications for 
licensure otherwise required by §311.A.5 or 6, in favor of an 
applicant who has been formally appointed by a medical 
school or college to a full-time position at a rank of assistant 
professor or above or to a full-time position as an employee 
of an academic medical center whose duties and 
responsibilities are devoted primarily to training residents 
and fellows and other academic endeavors within post-
graduate medical education. The practice of such an 
individual shall be limited to the medical school or college 
or academic medical center for which such person has been 
approved by the board, and to hospitals and clinics affiliated 
with such medical school or college or academic medical 
center within the same geographic area of the state.  

B. Special Definition. For purposes of this Section, the 
term academic medical center shall be a hospital located in 
this state that sponsors four or more post-graduate medical 
education programs approved by the ACGME. At least two 
of such programs shall be in medicine, surgery, obstetrics 
and gynecology, pediatrics, family practice, emergency 
medicine or psychiatry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1271, 37:1272, 37:1274 and 37:1275.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:513 (June 
1990), LR 27:837 (June 2001), LR 35:1110 (June 2009), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46:  
Subchapter I. License Issuance, Termination, Renewal, 

Reinstatement and Exemptions 
§415. Expiration of Licenses and Permits 

A. … 
B. A license issued pursuant to the waiver of 

qualifications provided by §315 or §327 of this Chapter shall 
become null and void on the earlier of the date prescribed by 
§415.A or the date on which the physician's appointment to 
the medical school or college or academic medical center, 
upon which the waiver was granted by the board, is 
terminated. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270 and 37:1280. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523 (June 
1990), LR 24:1500 (August 1998), LR 27:848 (June 2001), LR 
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31:1584 (July 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board 
of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§417. Renewal of License; Prerequisite Condition 

A. … 
B. A courtesy renewal notice shall be mailed or 

electronically transmitted by the board to each person 
holding a license issued under this Chapter at least 30 days 
prior to the expiration of the license each year. Such form 
shall be transmitted to the most recent address of the 
licensee reflected in the official records of the board. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), 37:1271, 37:1272, 37:1274, 37:1275.1, 
37:1280 and 37:1281. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523 (June 
1990), LR 24:1500 (August 1998), LR 26:695 (April 2000), LR 
27:848 (June 2001), amended by the Department of Health, Board 
of Medical Examiners, LR 44:587 (March 2018), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:978.1 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, LSBME, 630 Camp Street, 
New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ext. 2290. She is 
responsible for responding to inquiries. Written comments 
will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 

Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, at 9 a.m., at the office of 
the LSBME, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm the hearing 
is being held, given the public health emergency, and to 
receive instructions regarding participation. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., M.D. 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Physician Licensure and Certification 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will result in a one-time 

publication expense estimated at $789, in FY 20 for the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). 
Otherwise, there is no anticipated impact on any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

The proposed changes amend the LSBME’s rules in two 
ways: first, the changes to §315A expand an existing 
discretionary waiver of certain license requirements for 
applicants appointed to a full-time position by a medical school 
or college, at a rank of assistant professor or above, to an 
applicant who would be a full-time employee of an academic 
medical center whose duties and responsibilities are devoted 
primarily to training residents and fellows and other academic 
endeavors within post-graduate medical education. As with 
medical school professors, the changes would limit the 
applicant’s practice to the academic medical center, as defined 
in §315B and affiliated hospitals and clinics within the same 
geographic area of the state. Also similar to the existing rules 
(§327), the proposed changes would be available to medical 
educators who graduated from either U.S. or international 
medical schools and the waiver of qualifications would expire 
upon termination of the appointment (§415B).  

Second, the proposed changes to §417B are intended to 
conform to the rules governing notification of license renewal 
to current agency practices (e.g. electronic notification), which 
resulted from the Board’s transition from sending out paper 
license renewals to electronic renewals and courtesy notices 
over the past several years.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may result in a nominal SGR 
increase for the Board. While the LSBME has no reliable data, 
the Board anticipates only a very limited number of physician 
applicants may qualify for medical licensure on the basis of the 
proposed amendments. The LSBME cannot estimate potential 
licensees whose duties and responsibilities will be devoted 
primarily to training residents and fellows and other academic 
endeavors within post-graduate medical education. It is 
anticipated that qualifying applicants will be infrequent and any 
such applicant would be subject to the medical licensing fees 
specified by the LSBME’s rules. Accordingly, the LSBME 
may realize a nominal SGR increase associated with the 
proposed rule changes.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may benefit persons seeking 
employment at an academic medical center with limited 
practice abilities by allowing them a process to obtain a 
discretionary waiver to practice in an academic medical center. 
Otherwise, the proposed rule changes are not anticipated to 
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have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to affect 
competition or employment. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., M.D. Christopher A. Keaton 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#004 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health,  
Board of Medical Examiners 

Rules of Procedure; Complaints and Investigations  
(LAC 46:XLV.9714) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing adjudication, by inserting a new 
section (§9714), dealing with guidelines for determining 
whether to issue public or non-public actions. The proposed 
amendments are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 
Subpart 5.  Rules of Procedure 

Chapter 97. Complaints and Investigations 
§9714. Guidelines for Determining Whether to Issue 

Public or Non-Public Actions 
A. The board has the responsibility to consider and 

determine appropriate action as to all conduct alleged to 
violate the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-
1292 et seq., other practice acts respecting allied health care 
practitioners governed by the board, and the rules and 
regulations promulgated by the board in carrying out the 
provisions of this Part.  

B. This Section provides guidance as to the criteria the 
board may consider in determining whether informal 
complaint disposition is non-disciplinary (not public) or 
disciplinary (public).   

C. This Section is intended to compliment, but not limit 
the board's authority to make such dispositions as it may 
deem appropriate under the particular facts and 
circumstances presented in any matter. 

D. In determining whether informal complaint 
disposition is non-disciplinary or disciplinary, as well as the 
terms and conditions of disciplinary dispositions, the board 
may consider aggravating or mitigating circumstances. A list 
of aggravating and mitigating circumstances is set forth 
below but is neither intended to be nor shall it be construed 
as an exclusive listing of circumstances. 

1. Aggravating circumstances may warrant a 
disciplinary disposition or, in the case of a disciplinary 
disposition, justify revocation, the duration of suspension 
and enhancement of the period and type of probationary 

terms, conditions and/or restrictions of a consent or other 
board order. Aggravating circumstances include, but are not 
limited to: 

a. a danger to public health, safety and welfare;  
b. patient(s) harm or one or more violations that 

involve more than one patient; 
c. severity of patient harm; 
d. prior similar violations or board disciplinary 

action; 
e. disciplinary action in another jurisdiction or by a 

government agency, peer review or professional organization 
or health care entity; 

f. conduct involving patient exploitation; 
g. failure to provide professional service to a person 

because of such person’s race, creed, color or national 
origin; 

h. failure to cooperate with board investigation or 
failure to adhere/comply with previous board order; 

i. dishonesty or selfish motive; 
j. attempt to conceal, or refusal to acknowledge 

nature of conduct; 
k. financial benefit to licensee or applicant; 
l. other relevant circumstances increasing the 

seriousness of the misconduct. 
2. Mitigating circumstances may result in a non-

disciplinary disposition or, in the case of a disciplinary 
disposition, justify reduction of the duration of suspension or 
period and type of probationary terms, conditions and/or 
restrictions of a consent or other board order. Mitigating 
circumstances include, but are not limited to:  

a. those that do not constitute an aggravating 
circumstance as set forth in this Section;  

b. practice-related or other professional or 
competency concerns that do not rise to a level of a violation 
of the practice act or board rules; 

c. isolated, minor or technical violation with 
adequate explanation that is not likely to recur; 

d. steps taken to insure nonoccurrence of future 
similar violation; 

e. timely and good faith efforts to rectify or mitigate 
consequences of misconduct; 

f. remorse, recognition/acknowledgment of 
wrongdoing; 

g. cooperation with board and board staff; 
h. potential for rehabilitation; 
i. voluntary participation in board approved 

continuing medical or professional education; 
j. absence of adverse patient impact; 
k. remoteness of misconduct; 
l. other relevant circumstances reducing the 

seriousness of the misconduct. 
E. By setting forth the above guidelines the board does 

not intend to restrict, and indeed reserves unto itself, its 
authority and discretion to take such action it may determine 
appropriate in any particular matter with respect to informal 
and formal complaint disposition.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292 and 37:1270(A)(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
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amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA  70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Rules of Procedure; 

Complaints and Investigations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 

Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes new rules which 
provide guidelines to licensees regarding complaint disposition 
and/or the criteria the Board may consider in determining 
whether complaint disposition is a public action or a non-public 
action.   

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Rule attempts to provide licensees with more 
information in the form of guidelines regarding what the board 
may analyze when determining complaint disposition, and the 
criteria the Board may consider in determining whether to issue 
public or non-public actions.   Accordingly, there is no 
anticipated effect on the revenue collections of the LSBME or 
other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health,  
Board of Medical Examiners 

Rules of Procedure; Complaint Disposition Guidelines 
(LAC 46:XLV.9716) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes to 
amend its rules governing adjudication, by inserting a new 
section (§9716), dealing with the complaint disposition 
guidelines. The proposed amendments are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 
Subpart 5.  Rules of Procedure 

Chapter 97. Complaints and Investigations 
§9716. Complaint Disposition Guidelines 

A. These complaint disposition guidelines are designed 
to: 

1. provide guidance to the board in assessing 
administrative disciplinary dispositions for violations of the 
Louisiana Medical Practice Act and the various practice acts 
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governing allied healthcare practitioners regulated by the 
board; and 

2. promote consistency in administrative disciplinary 
dispositions for similar violations. 

B. In the event that the practice act or rules administered 
by the board for a category of allied healthcare providers do 
not contain the exact charges identified below, but instead 
refer to unprofessional conduct or a violation of the code of 
ethics of a national or professional organization, such 
violations will to the extent applicable be addressed by the 
guidance set forth below. 

C. Special definitions. As used in this Section the 
following terms shall have the meanings specified. 

1. Continuing Medical Education or CME, may 
include, but is not limited to, one or a combination of 
courses on: 

a. medical ethics; 
b. professional boundaries; 
c. professionalism; 
d. proper prescribing of controlled or other 

substances; 
e.  risk management; 
f. medical record keeping;  
g. any CME program developed by the board; and 
h. any designated CME specified by the board;  

2. Probationary Terms and Conditions (T and C) may 
include, but is not limited to, any restriction, limitation, 
condition, requirement, stipulation, or other provision that 
the board may determine appropriate, probationary T and C 
may also include CME, a fine and payment of investigator 
and attorney fees and all costs of the proceeding. The 
duration of probationary T and C rests with the discretion of 
the board following consideration of aggravating and 
mitigating circumstances defined in §9714 of this Part. 

D. The maximum administrative disciplinary disposition 
that may be imposed by the board is denial or revocation of 
a license or permit to practice medicine or the license, 
certificate, registration or permit to practice as an allied 
healthcare practitioner regulated by the board, and an 
administrative fine of $5,000 as to physician and the amount, 
if any, specified by the act governing the allied healthcare 
practitioner. The board may also assess investigator and 
attorney fees and all costs of the proceeding in accordance 
with the applicable practice act. 

E. The administrative disciplinary dispositions identified 
in this Section provide a range from minimum to maximum. 
Each violation constitutes a separate offense; a: 

1. greater disciplinary disposition may be imposed 
based on the number of violations;  

2. disciplinary disposition may be greater or lower 
based on the presence or absence of aggravating or 
mitigation circumstances, identified in §9714 of this Part. 

F. This Section is intended to compliment, and in no 
event shall it be construed to limit the board's authority to 
make such administrative disciplinary dispositions as it may 
deem appropriate under the particular facts and 
circumstances presented and as authorized by the applicable 
practice act in question.  

1. Conviction/plea to a felony: 
a. minimum—suspension for period of 

incarceration plus supervised release. If no incarceration, 
suspension for the duration of the supervised release and 
probationary terms and conditions (T and C) for a minimum 
of one year; 

b. maximum—suspension with probationary terms 
and conditions or revocation; 

2. Conviction/plea to charge related to practice: 
a. minimum—suspension of license for period of 

incarceration plus supervised release. If no incarceration, 
suspension for the duration of the supervised release and 
reprimand and CME or a fine or both; 

b. maximum—suspension or revocation; 
3. Fraud, deceit, or perjury obtaining a diploma, 

license, or permit: 
a. minimum—letter of concern, resubmission of 

corrected application and new application fee; 
b. maximum— if violation renders 

applicant/licensee ineligible for license, suspension or 
revocation; if violation does not render applicant/licensee 
ineligible for license, resubmission of corrected application, 
new application fee and probationary T and C; 

4. Providing false testimony/information to the board: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C; 

5. Abuse of drugs or alcohol. 
a. minimum—when no prior treatment, referral to 

Healthcare Professionals Foundation of Louisiana, Inc.; 
when prior treatment, probationary T and C for minimum of 
1 year; 

b. maximum—suspension, probationary T and C 
and/or revocation; 

6. Providing controlled substances without medical 
justification therefor or in illegitimate manner: 

a. minimum—letter of concern;  
b. maximum—suspension with probationary T and 

C for or revocation; 
7. Solicitation of patients or self-promotion that is 

fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading; 
a. minimum—letter of concern; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C; 
8. currently not enforceable;  
9. currently not enforceable; 
10. Efforts to deceive the public: 

a. minimum—letter of concern; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C; 

11. Making or submitting false, deceptive, or 
unfounded claims or reports: 

a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 
or both; 

b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 
and C; 

12. Inability to practice medicine with skill or safety: 
a. minimum—practice restrictions, probationary T 

and C; 
b. maximum—suspension with probationary T and 

C or revocation; 
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13. Unprofessional conduct: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 

or both; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
14. Medical incompetency: 

a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 
or both; 

b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 
and C or revocation; 

15. Immoral conduct: 
a. minimum—reprimand and CME or a fine or 

both;  
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
16. Gross overcharging for professional services: 

a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 
or both; 

b. maximum—probationary T and C; 
17. Abandonment of a patient: 

a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 
or both; 

b. maximum—probationary T and C; 
18. Assisting an unlicensed person to practice or 

professional association with illegal practitioner: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and/or CME; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C; 
19. Soliciting or accepting, or receiving anything of 

economic value for referral: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 

or both; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
20. Violation of federal or state laws relative to control 

of social diseases: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C; 

21. Interdiction or commitment: 
a. minimum—suspension, demonstration of 

competency to resume practice; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
22. Utilizing a physician's assistant without Board 

registration: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and/or CME. 
b. maximum—reprimand and CME or a fine or 

both; 
23. Employing a physician's assistant whose conduct 

includes any of the causes enumerated in this Section: 
a. minimum—reprimand and CME or a fine or 

both; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C for 1 year and 

fine; 
24. Misrepresenting the qualifications of physician’ 

assistant: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 

or both; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C. 

25. Inability to practice medicine with skill or safety: 
a. minimum—restriction/limitation of practice and 

CME; 

b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 
and C or revocation; 

26. Refusing to submit to evaluation: 
a. minimum—suspension and/or probationary terms 

and conditions; 
b. maximum—suspension and probationary T and 

C; 
27. Currently not enforceable; 
28. Currently not enforceable;  
29. Action by another state that denies, prevents or 

restricts practice in that state: 
a. minimum—letter of concern or probationary T 

and C; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
30. Violation of rules of the board, or any provisions of 

the practice act: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 

or both; 
b. maximum—suspension and/or probationary T 

and C or revocation; 
31. Failure by a physician to self-report personal action 

constituting a violation of this Act within 30 days: 
a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 

or both; 
b. maximum—probationary T and C; 

32. Holding oneself out as "board certified", without 
meeting required criteria: 

a. minimum—letter of concern and CME or a fine 
or both; 

b. maximum—reprimand and CME or a fine or 
both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1261-1292 and 37:1270(A)(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 
46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on those that may be living at or below one 
hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on organizations that provide services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities has been 
considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 
overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 
level of services, as described in HCR 170. 
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Small Business Analysis 
It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 

have any adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA  70130. Any 
person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Rules of Procedure;  

Complaint Disposition Guidelines 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board proposes new rules which 
provide guidelines to licensees regarding complaint disposition 
and/or the criteria the Board may consider in determining 
whether complaint disposition is a public action or a non-public 
action.   

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Rule attempts to provide licensees with more 
information in the form of guidelines regarding what the board 
may analyze when determining complaint disposition, and the 
criteria the Board may consider in determining whether to issue 
public or non-public actions.   Accordingly, there is no 
anticipated effect on the revenue collections of the LSBME or 
other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians or other health care providers licensed by the 
LSBME, nor on receipts and/or income of licensees, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Rules of Procedure; Petitions for Rulemaking  
(LAC 46:XLV.Chapter 93) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et. 
seq., specifically, R.S. 49:952(2) and R.S. 49:953C(1), and 
pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State Board 
of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board intends to adopt the 
following rules to provide the procedures for requesting and 
consideration of the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a 
board rule. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 
Subpart 5.  Rules of Procedure 

Chapter 93. Miscellaneous Provisions 
Subchapter A. Petitions for Rulemaking 
§9301. Scope of Subchapter 

A. This Subchapter prescribes the procedures by which 
interested persons may petition the Louisiana State Board of 
Medical Examiners to exercise its rulemaking authority to 
adopt, amend or repeal administrative rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§9303. Definitions as Used in This Subchapter 

A. As used in this Subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meanings specified. 

Interested Person―a person who or which: 
a. holds or has applied for any license, certificate, 

permit or registration issued by the board; or 
b. is subject to the regulatory jurisdiction of the 

board; or 
c. is or may be affected by the practice of 

individuals regulated by the board. 
Person―an individual natural person, partnership, 

corporation, company, association, governmental 
subdivision or other public or private organization or entity. 

Rulemaking―the process by which the board exercises 
its authority under the laws of the state of Louisiana, 
including the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 
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seq., the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261 et 
seq., and the other acts administered by the board, to 
formulate, propose and adopt, amend or repeal and 
promulgate administrative rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§9305. Petitions for Rulemaking 

A. General Form. A petition for rulemaking must be 
submitted to the board in writing, legibly printed or typed. 

B. Title and Signature. The petition shall be plainly and 
prominently titled as such and manually signed by an 
individual petitioner, authorized officer or representative of 
the petitioner, or attorney representing the petitioner. The 
full name, title or office, if any, address and telephone 
number of a person signing a petition shall be printed or 
typed under the person's signature. Signees signing in a 
representative capacity must be clearly identified. 

C. Required Contents. A petition for rulemaking shall: 
1. clearly identify each petitioner by name and address 

of residence or principal place of business; 
2. describe the legal status or nature of the petitioner 

to establish that the petitioner is an interested person, within 
the meaning of Section 9303 of this Subchapter; 

3. if a petition for adoption of a new rule, set forth a 
concise statement of the substance, nature, purpose and 
intended effect of the proposed rule and citation to the 
statutory authority for the board's rulemaking authority in 
the manner and on the subject requested; 

4. if a petition for amendment of an existing rule, 
specify, by citation to the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
the rule or rules which the petitioner requests that the board 
amend, together with a concise statement of the manner in 
which it is proposed that the rule or rules be amended, the 
purpose and intended effect of the requested amendment, 
and citation to the statutory authority for the board's exercise 
or rulemaking authority in the manner and on the subject 
requested; 

5. if a petition for repeal of an existing rule, specify, 
by citation to the Louisiana Administrative Code, the rule or 
rules which the petitioner requests that the board repeal, 
together with a concise statement of the purpose and 
intended effect of such repeal; 

6. set forth a concise statement of the facts, 
circumstances, and reasons which warrant exercise of the 
board's rulemaking authority in the manner requested.  

7. set forth a statement or prayer expressing the action 
sought by the petition; and 

8. contain any other information deemed necessary by 
the board, in its discretion, in order that it may properly 
consider the petition. 

D. Submission and Filing. A petition for rulemaking shall 
be filed with the board by delivery, U.S. mail to the attention 
of the board's executive director at the offices of the board. 

E. Nonconforming Petitions. The board may refuse to 
accept for filing, or may defer consideration of, any petition 
for rulemaking that does not conform to the requirements of 
this Section. 

F. Public Record. A petition for rulemaking shall be 
deemed a public record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§9307. Consideration 

A. Consideration by the Board. A petition for rulemaking 
may be considered and acted on at any regular or special 
meeting of the board. Within the time prescribed by Section 
9309 of this Subchapter, the board may request additional 
information from the petitioner or interested persons other 
than the petitioner as it may deem relevant to its 
consideration. 

B. Presentations. Within the time prescribed by Section 
9309 of this Subchapter, the board may, on its own initiative 
or at the request of the petitioner or any other interested 
person, permit petitioner and other interested persons to 
appear before the board to make an oral presentation of 
information, data, views, comments and arguments in 
support of or opposition to the requested rulemaking. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§9309. Disposition  

A. Form of Determination. The board may grant or deny 
a petition for rulemaking, in whole or in part. The board's 
determination shall be stated in writing and transmitted by 
U.S. mail to the person signing the petition. If the board 
denies a petition for rulemaking, in whole or in part, its 
determination shall state the reasons. If the board grants a 
petition for rulemaking, in whole or in part, it shall initiate 
rulemaking proceedings in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act. However, nothing in this 
Subchapter shall be construed to require that the board, in 
granting a petition for the adoption or amendment of a rule, 
employ or use the specific form or language requested by the 
petitioner, provided that the rule or amendment proposed by 
the board gives effect to the substance and intent of the 
petition. 

B. Time for Determination. The board will render its 
determination with respect to a petition for rulemaking: 

1. within 90 days of the date on which a complete 
petition conforming to the requirements of §9305 of this 
Subchapter is filed with the board; or 

2. within 60 days of the date on which, at the request 
of the petitioner, the board entertains an oral presentation by 
the petitioner, whichever is later. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 
§9311. Construction and Effect 

A. Board Discretion in Rulemaking. The provisions of 
this Subchapter are intended to provide an orderly and 
reasonable means for interested persons to petition the board 
to exercise its rulemaking authority under law and to provide 
for board consideration of such petitions. Petitions for 
rulemaking are addressed to the board's discretion as to the 
necessity or appropriateness of the adoption, amendment or 
repeal of a rule in the discharge of its licensing and 
regulatory responsibilities under the law. Nothing in this 
Subchapter shall be deemed to create any right or 
entitlement in any person to require the board to exercise its 
rulemaking authority. 
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B. Nature and Effect of Determination. The board's 
disposition of a petition for rulemaking by a determination 
made under §9309 of this Subchapter does not constitute, 
and shall not be deemed to constitute, a decision or order 
within the meaning of Louisiana Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:951(3) or a declaratory order or ruling within 
the meaning of R.S. 49:962 and the procedures prescribed by 
this Subchapter do not constitute an adjudication within the 
meaning of R.S. 49:951(1). A determination by the board 
with respect to a petition for rulemaking is final and not 
subject to judicial review or other appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2), 953C(1), R.S. 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
rules on the family has been considered. It is not anticipated 
that the proposed rules will have any impact on family, 
formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
rules on those that may be living at or below one hundred 
percent of the federal poverty line has been considered. It is 
not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any impact 
on child, individual or family poverty in relation to 
individual or community asset development, as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Statement 
In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
rules on organizations that provide services for individuals 
with developmental disabilities has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed rules will have any impact on 
the staffing, costs or overall ability of such organizations to 
provide the same level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Small Business Statement 
It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any 

adverse impact on small businesses as defined in the 
Regulatory Flexibility Act, R.S. 49:965.2 et. seq. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 
amendments to Jacintha Duthu, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 
Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 
2290. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 
comments will be accepted until the 16th day of November, 
2020 at 4 o’clock p.m. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 
is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 
or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 
the 24th day of November, 2020, starting at 9 o’clock a.m., 
at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any 

person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held, especially during COVID, as the 
attendance may need to occur virtually via Zoom. 

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Rules of Procedure;  

Petitions for Rulemaking 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, the board intends to adopt rules 
which will provide the procedures for the public and/or 
licensees to request consideration of the adoption, amendment, 
or repeal of a Board rule.  

The proposed changes will result in a one-time publication 
expense estimated at $789.00, in FY 20 for the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME). Otherwise, there is no 
anticipated impact on the LSBME or any state or local 
governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in workload and 
paperwork requirements.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the Rule prescribes the method by which interested 
persons may petition the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners to exercise its rulemaking authority to adopt, amend 
or repeal administrative rules. Accordingly, there is no 
anticipated effect on the revenue collections of the LSBME or 
other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of, 
and/or the receipts and/or income of, affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups, including physicians 
or other health care providers licensed by the LSBME.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed changes will have any 
impact on competition or employment.  

 
Vincent A. Culotta, Jr., MD Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Licensing for Military Families (LAC 46:LIII.506 and 904) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to amend two 
sections of its rules relative to licensing procedures for 
pharmacists and pharmacy technicians in military service.
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Act 200 of the 2020 Legislature amended the occupational 
licensing law for military applicants and their spouses to 
include certain dependents. The proposed rule change will 
preserve the current procedures but will add certain 
dependents of military families to the eligibility criteria. The 
proposed changes in Section 506 relate to applications for a 
pharmacist license. The proposed changes in Section 904 
relate to applications for a pharmacy technician certificate. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 5. Pharmacists 
§506. Preferential Licensing Procedures for Military-

Trained Applicants and Their Dependents 
A. Definitions. The following terms shall have the 

meaning ascribed to them in this Subsection: 
Dependent—a resident spouse or resident unmarried 

child under the age of 21 years, a child who is a student 
under the age of 24 years and who is financially dependent 
upon the parent, or a child of any age who is disabled and 
dependent upon the parent. 

Jurisdiction—any state or territory of the United States 
of America. 

Military—the armed forces or reserves of the United 
States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast 
Guard, Air Force, and the reserve components thereof, the 
National Guard of any state, the Military Reserves of any 
state, or the naval militia of any state. 

B. Eligibility. The following persons are eligible for the 
preferential licensing procedures provided by this Section: 

1. a member of the military who has been assigned to 
duty in Louisiana or his dependent; 

2. a civilian employee of the United States 
Department of Defense who has been assigned to duty in 
Louisiana or his dependent; 

3. a member of the military or civilian employee of 
the United States Department of Defense or their dependents 
who have established this state as their state of legal 
residence in their military record. 

C. Requirements. Eligible persons seeking preferential 
licensing procedures shall demonstrate compliance with the 
following requirements: 

1. the applicant holds a current and valid pharmacist 
license in another jurisdiction; 

2. the applicant has held the license in the other 
jurisdiction for at least one year; 

3. the applicant has satisfied all educational and 
experiential requirements required by the pharmacy 
regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction; 

4. the applicant is held in good standing by the 
pharmacy regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction, or in 
the event such status is not used in this jurisdiction, the 
applicant holds an unrestricted license in that jurisdiction; 

5. the applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal 
record as determined by the board; 

6. the applicant has not had an occupational license 
revoked by a board in another jurisdiction due to negligence 
or intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s work in 
the occupation in another jurisdiction; 

7. the applicant has not surrendered an occupational 
license due to negligence or intentional misconduct related 

to the applicant’s work in the occupation in another 
jurisdiction; 

8. the applicant does not have a complaint, allegation, 
or investigation pending before a pharmacy regulatory 
authority in another jurisdiction which relates to 
unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. If the applicant 
has a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the 
board shall not issue or deny a license until the complaint, 
allegation, or investigation is resolved, or the applicant 
otherwise satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to 
the satisfaction of the board; 

9. the applicant has paid all applicable fees in this 
state; 

10. the applicant has applied for permanent licensure in 
this state. In the event the applicant fails to qualify for a 
permanent license as determined by the board, the special 
work permit issued under the authority of Subsection E of 
this Section shall be automatically terminated. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for pharmacist 
licensure by an eligible applicant, the board staff shall mark 
the application for priority processing and preserve that 
status until the license is issued, or in the alternative, the 
board gives notice of its intent to deny the application and 
refuse to issue the license. The board shall notify the 
applicant of its licensing decision within 30 calendar days 
after receiving an application. 

E. In the event the applicant intends to practice 
pharmacy before the issuance of the permanent license, the 
board may issue a special work permit to the applicant. 

1. The special work permit shall expire 120 days after 
the date of issue and the permit shall not be renewable. 

2. The special work permit shall identify the 
applicant, and further, shall indicate the authority for that 
person to practice pharmacy within the state of Louisiana as 
well as the dates of issue and expiration of the credential. 

3. No applicant may practice pharmacy prior to the 
issuance of a special work permit or pharmacist license, or 
with an expired special work permit or pharmacist license. 

4. The special work permit shall not be eligible for 
license transfer or reciprocity to any other jurisdiction. 

5. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a 
member of the military who has received, or is in the process 
of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military. 
Further, the provisions of this Section shall not apply to the 
spouse of a member of the military who has received, or is in 
the process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the 
military. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 39:3075 (November 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 
LR 46: 
Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians 
§904. Preferential Licensing Procedures for Military-

Trained Applicants and Their Dependents 
A. Definitions. The following terms shall have the 

meaning ascribed to them in this Subsection: 
Dependent—a resident spouse or resident unmarried 

child under the age of 21 years, a child who is a student 
under the age of 24 years and who is financially dependent 
upon the parent, or a child of any age who is disabled and 
dependent upon the parent. 
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Jurisdiction—any state or territory of the United States 
of America. 

Military—the armed forces or reserves of the United 
States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast 
Guard, Air Force, and the reserve components thereof, the 
National Guard of any state, the Military Reserves of any 
state, or the naval militia of any state. 

B. Eligibility. The following persons are eligible for the 
preferential licensing procedures provided by this Section: 

1. a member of the military who has been assigned to 
duty in Louisiana or his dependent; 

2. a civilian employee of the United States 
Department of Defense who has been assigned to duty in 
Louisiana or his dependent; 

3. a member of the military or civilian employee of 
the United States Department of Defense or their dependents 
who have established this state as their state of legal 
residence in their military record. 

C. Requirements. Eligible persons seeking preferential 
licensing procedures shall demonstrate compliance with the 
following requirements. 

1. The applicant holds a current and valid pharmacy 
technician credential issued by the pharmacy regulatory 
authority in another jurisdiction. 

2. The applicant has held the license in the other 
jurisdiction for at least one year. 

3. The applicant has satisfied all educational and 
experiential requirements required by the pharmacy 
regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction. 

4. The applicant is held in good standing by the 
pharmacy regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction, or in 
the event such status is not used in this jurisdiction, the 
applicant holds an unrestricted license in that jurisdiction. 

5. The applicant does not have a disqualifying 
criminal record as determined by the board. 

6. The applicant has not had an occupational license 
revoked by a board in another jurisdiction due to negligence 
or intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s work in 
the occupation in another jurisdiction. 

7. The applicant has not surrendered an occupational 
license due to negligence or intentional misconduct related 
to the applicant’s work in the occupation in another 
jurisdiction. 

8. The applicant does not have a complaint, allegation, 
or investigation pending before a pharmacy regulatory 
authority in another jurisdiction which relates to 
unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. If the applicant 
has a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the 
board shall not issue or deny a pharmacy technician 
certificate until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is 
resolved, or the applicant otherwise satisfies the criteria for a 
pharmacy technician certificate in this state to the 
satisfaction of the board. 

9. The applicant has paid all applicable fees in this 
state. 

10. The applicant has applied for a permanent 
pharmacy technician certificate in this state. In the event the 
applicant fails to qualify for a permanent pharmacy 
technician certificate as determined by the board, the special 
work permit issued under the authority of Subsection E of 
this Section shall be automatically terminated. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for a pharmacy 
technician certificate by an eligible applicant, the board staff 
shall mark the application for priority processing and 
preserve that status until the pharmacy technician certificate 
is issued, or in the alternative, the board gives notice of its 
intent to deny the application and refuse to issue the 
certificate. The board shall notify the applicant of its 
licensing decision within 30 calendar days after receiving an 
application. 

E. In the event the applicant intends to assist in the 
practice of pharmacy before the issuance of the permanent 
pharmacy technician certificate, the board may issue a 
special work permit to the applicant. 

1. The special work permit shall expire 120 days after 
the date of issue and the permit shall not be renewable. 

2. The special work permit shall identify the 
applicant, and further, shall indicate the authority for that 
person to assist in the practice of pharmacy within the state 
of Louisiana as well as the dates of issue and expiration of 
the credential. 

3. No applicant may assist in the practice of pharmacy 
prior to the issuance of a special work permit or pharmacy 
technician certificate, or with an expired special work permit 
or pharmacy technician certificate. 

4. The special work permit shall not be eligible for 
license transfer or reciprocity to any other jurisdiction. 

5. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a 
member of the military who has received, or is in the process 
of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military. 
Further, the provisions of this Section shall not apply to the 
spouse of a member of the military who has received, or is in 
the process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the 
military. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 39:3075 (November 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 
LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
family impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. The following statements will be 
published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency Rule. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 
proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the stability of 
the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the 
functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed Rule changes may improve family earnings by 
facilitating employment in the licensed occupation sooner 
than currently possible. 
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5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed Rule changes will 
have no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform the activity as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
poverty impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment.  

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The proposed Rule changes may have a 
positive effect on household income by facilitating 
employment in the licensed occupation sooner than currently 
possible. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
The proposed Rule changes will have no effect on early 
childhood development or preschool through postsecondary 
education development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed Rule changes may have a 
positive effect on employment by facilitating employment in 
the licensed occupation sooner than currently possible. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The proposed 
Rule changes will have no effect on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed Rule changes will have no effect 
on child and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, 
transportation, or utilities assistance.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule 
changes on small businesses: 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule changes will not affect small businesses. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. The proposed Rule changes will not affect 
small businesses. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The 
proposed Rule changes will not affect small businesses. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. The proposed 
Rule changes will not affect small businesses. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed 
Rule. The proposed Rule changes will not affect small 
businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a provider impact statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
The proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the 
staffing level requirements or the qualifications for that staff 
to provide the same level of service. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed Rule changes will have no effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of service. The proposed Rule 
changes will have no effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, via 

United States Postal Service or other mail carrier, or in the 
alternative by personal delivery to Malcolm J Broussard, 
Executive Director, at the office of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-
1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
the proposed Rule amendment.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing to solicit comments and testimony on the 

proposed Rule amendment is scheduled for 9:00 am on 
Wednesday, November 25, 2020. During the hearing, all 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments, either orally or in writing. The 
deadline for the receipt of all comments is 12 p.m. noon that 
same day. To request reasonable accommodations for 
persons with disabilities, please call the board office at 
225.925.6496. 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensing for Military Families 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will require the Louisiana Board 

of Pharmacy (LBP) to publish the proposed and final rules in 
the state register, resulting in printing expenses of $2,000 in FY 
21. There will be no additional expenditures or cost savings for 
LBP or other state or local governmental units. The proposed 
rule changes expand eligibility criteria for preferential licensing 
procedures for applicants seeking a pharmacist license or 
pharmacy technician certificate to include certain dependents of 
military families. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1435

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may allow certain dependents of 
military families to obtain an occupational lilcense sooner than 
currently possible. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes may improve the ability of 
certain dependents of military families to qualify for 
employment opportunities sooner than currently possible. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Marijuana Recommendations (LAC 46:LIII.2457) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to amend two 
subsections of Section 2457 of its rules for marijuana 
pharmacies. Act 286 of the 2020 Legislature amended the 
state medical marijuana law in several respects necessitating 
changes in the board’s rules. The proposed changes in 
Subsection D for recordkeeping requirements include a 
repeal of the existing Paragraph 1 referencing a 
recommendation as an order, a technical change in the re-
numbered Paragraph 1, and a clarification of an inventory 
recordkeeping requirement in the re-numbered Paragraph 3. 
The proposed changes in Subsection E for professional 
practice standards include a new Paragraph 1 with the 
current paragraphs re-numbered sequentially. Within 
Paragraph 1, Subparagraph (a) permits a marijuana 
pharmacy to accept a recommendation from a physician in 
possession of a current and unrestricted license to practice 
medicine as well as a current state controlled substance 
license with privileges for Schedule I. The subparagraph also 
requires the pharmacy to accept the recommendation directly 
from the physician either through electronic prescriptions or 
through facsimile. Subparagraph (b) identifies the 
information which shall be disclosed within the 
recommendation. Subparagraph (c) expires a 
recommendation one year after the date of issue unless a 
shorter period of time is specified by the physician; and 
further, permits a pharmacist to dispense products one or 
more times prior to the expiration date but limits the 
dispensing to a maximum of a 90-day supply in a single 
dispensing and a maximum of a one-year supply pursuant to 
a single recommendation. The proposed change in the re-
numbered Paragraph 4 clarifies the requirement for the 
pharmacist to comply with standards for drug utilization 
review and patient counseling. The proposed changes in the 
re-numbered Paragraph 6 remove the prohibition on the 
return of marijuana product inventory to the marijuana 
producer as well as the additional requirement to record 
product disposal in the Louisiana Medical Marijuana 
Tracking System (LMMTS).  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 24. Limited Service Providers 
Subchapter E. Marijuana Pharmacy 
§2457. Standards of Practice 

A. - C.2.a. … 
D. Recordkeeping Requirements 

1. When the pharmacy receives a request for 
marijuana from a recommending physician in written form, 
the pharmacist 

shall cause the form to be scanned and filed using an 
electronic imaging system in compliance with Section 1123 
of this Part. 

2. Request forms (and electronic images thereof) shall 
be retained on the pharmacy’s premises for at least two years 
after the date of dispensing, and further, shall be readily 
retrievable upon request by the board. 

3. Inventory of Marijuana Product 
a. The pharmacist-in-charge shall develop and 

maintain a perpetual inventory of all marijuana products 
acquired, held, dispensed, and disposed by the pharmacy. 

b. The pharmacy shall access the LMMTS and enter 
all acquisitions and product transfer transactions in that 
system. 

c. In the event the pharmacist-in-charge designates 
an agent to retrieve new marijuana product inventory from 
the production facility, the pharmacist shall verify the agent 
is at least 21 years of age and is eligible to drive on public 
roadways. 

d. The pharmacist-in-charge shall conduct an 
annual inventory of all marijuana products in the possession 
of the pharmacy on any date which is within one year of the 
previous annual inventory, and further, shall conduct 
additional inventory counts on the following occasions: 
 i. arrival of a new pharmacist-in-charge; 
 ii. discovery of any significant loss, 
disappearance, or theft of marijuana product;  
 iii. departure of a new pharmacist-in-charge; and 
 iv. permanent closure of the pharmacy. 

e. Inventory records shall be retained on the 
pharmacy’s premises for at least two years after the most 
recent entry. 

4. The pharmacy shall develop and maintain sufficient 
records to fully reveal the business transactions related to 
marijuana products, including their procurement and sale, 
for the current tax year as well as the two immediately 
preceding tax years, all of which shall be made available to 
the board upon request. 

5. The board may require any pharmacy or its owners 
to furnish such information as the board considers necessary 
for the proper administration of R.S. 40:1046, and may 
require a financial audit of the business of any marijuana 
pharmacy, and the expense thereof shall be paid by the 
marijuana pharmacy. 

E. Professional Practice Standards 
1. Recommendation/opinion/referral (hereinafter, 

“request”) for Therapeutic Marijuana 
a. The pharmacist may accept any request for a 

marijuana product which has been: 
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 i. issued by a physician in possession of a current 
and unrestricted license to practice medicine from the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners as well as a 
current and unrestricted state controlled substance license 
with therapeutic marijuana privileges from the board; and 
 ii. received directly from the physician and not 
from the patient or any third party other than the entity 
transmitting the request, either by electronic means 
conforming with the provisions of 21 CFR 1311 or its 
successor, or in the alternative, by facsimile bearing a 
handwritten or digital signature of the physician. 

b. The request shall disclose the following 
information, at a minimum: 
 i. name, address, telephone number, and national 
provider identifier (NPI) number of the physician issuing the 
request; 
 ii. name, address, and date of birth (or age) of the 
patient for whom the request was issued; 
 iii. identification of the debilitating medical 
condition for which the treatment has been requested; 
 iv. treatment requested; 
 v. date request was issued; 
 vi. self-certification the physician holds a current 
and unrestricted license to practice medicine issued by the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners; and 
 vii. Signature of the physician issuing the 
recommendation, excluding any proxy or agent. 

c. Requests for marijuana products shall expire one 
year after the date of issue, unless a shorter period of time is 
indicated by the physician. A pharmacist may dispense 
marijuana product on multiple occasions as indicated by the 
physician and needed by the patient until the request expires; 
however, the pharmacist shall not dispense more than a 90-
day supply of marijuana product at one time nor more than a 
one-year supply of marijuana product pursuant to a single 
request. A pharmacist shall not dispense marijuana product 
pursuant to an expired request. 

2. Prior to dispensing any marijuana product to a 
patient, the pharmacist shall review the patient’s records in 
the state prescription monitoring program. The pharmacist 
shall resolve any concerns identified in that review by 
consultation with the recommending physician. 

3. Labeling of Marijuana Product Dispensed 
a. The pharmacist shall not dispense any marijuana 

product that does not bear the producer label required by the 
LDAF, 

and further, the pharmacy dispensing label shall not 
overlay or obscure the producer label in any way. 

b. The pharmacy’s dispensing label shall contain, at 
a minimum, the following data elements: 
 i. name and address of the pharmacy dispensing 
the product; 
 ii. telephone number or other contact information 
of the pharmacy dispensing the product; 
 iii. name of the recommending physician; 
 iv. name of the patient; 
 v. date the product was dispensed; 
 vi. prescription number, which shall be a unique 
identifier for that specific transaction; 
 vii. name of the marijuana product, including any 
concentration, strength, or other identifiers of the marijuana 
product; 

 viii. quantity of marijuana dispensed; 
 ix. directions for use of the product; 
 x. expiration date of the product, which shall not 
exceed the expiration date determined by the producer of the 
product; and 
 xi. other information selected by the dispensing 
pharmacist to inform the patient as to the best use of the 
product for the intended purpose. 

4. The pharmacist shall comply with the rules on drug 
utilization review and patient counseling in Chapter 5 of this 
Part. 

5. Reporting transactions to state prescription 
monitoring program. The pharmacy shall comply with the 
reporting 

requirements as found in Chapter 29 of this Part. 
6. Disposal of Marijuana Product 

a. A pharmacy may refuse to accept the delivery of 
marijuana product from a producer when it is determined to 
be 

misbranded, adulterated, expired, deteriorated, undesired, 
excess, unauthorized, or unfit for dispensing. 

b. When the pharmacist determines a marijuana 
product is no longer suitable for dispensing, the product 
shall be removed 

from active dispensing stock and quarantined in the 
pharmacy pending its disposal. 

c.- e.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1550 (August 2017), amended 
LR 45:1473 (October 2019), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
family impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. The following statements will be 
published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency Rule. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 
proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the 
stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the 
functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on family 
earnings or family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed Rule amendment 
will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or a local government to perform the 
activity as contained in the proposed Rule. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
poverty impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment.  

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The proposed Rule amendment will have 
no effect on household income, assets, or financial security. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on early 
childhood development or preschool through postsecondary 
education development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed Rule amendment will have no 
effect on employment or workforce development. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The proposed 
Rule amendment will have no effect on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed Rule amendment will have no 
effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation, or utilities assistance.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses: 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule amendment reduces the recordkeeping and reporting 
requirements related to marijuana product inventory and 
disposal transactions. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. There are no proposed changes related to 
scheduling or deadlines. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule amendment simplifies recordkeeping requirements for 
marijuana product inventory as well as product disposal. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. There are no 
design and operational standards in the proposed Rule 
amendments. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or Any 
Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a provider impact statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 

The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the 
staffing level requirements or the qualifications for that staff 
to provide the same level of service. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to the 
Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed Rule amendment will have no effect on the cost to 
the provider to provide the same level of service. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of service. The proposed Rule 
amendment will have no effect on the ability of the provider 
to provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, via 

United States Postal Service or other mail carrier, or in the 
alternative by personal delivery to Malcolm J Broussard, 
Executive Director, at the office of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-
1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
the proposed Rule amendment.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing to solicit comments and testimony on the 

proposed Rule amendment is scheduled for 9:00 am on 
Wednesday, November 25, 2020. During the hearing, all 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments, either orally or in writing. The 
deadline for the receipt of all comments is 12 p.m. noon that 
same day. To request reasonable accommodations for 
persons with disabilities, please call the board office at 
225.925.6496. 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Marijuana Recommendations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will require the Louisiana Board 

of Pharmacy (LBP) to publish the proposed and final rules in 
the state register, resulting in printing expenses of $5,000 in FY 
21. There will be no additional expenditures or cost savings for 
LBP or other state or local governmental units.  

The proposed rule changes clarify eligibility requirements 
for physicians issuing recommendations for therapeutic 
marijuana and specify the minimum content and expiration date 
of marijuana recommendations as well as the method of 
transmission of such recommendations to marijuana 
pharmacies. The proposed changes specify the limitations on 
the quantity of marijuana products that may be dispensed in 
marijuana pharmacies pursuant to marijuana recommendations. 
The proposed changes reduce some redundant recordkeeping 
requirements in marijuana pharmacies and make other technical 
changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes expands the number of 
physicians authorized to issue marijuana recommendations and 
reduces the number of credentials required for them to issue 
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such recommendations. The proposed rule changes also reduce 
some redundant recordkeeping requirements in marijuana 
pharmacies. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Benefit Managers (LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 30) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.), the Pharmacy Benefit 
Manager Licensing Law (R.S. 40:2861 et seq.), and the 
Pharmacy Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana 
Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to 
promulgate a new chapter of rules for pharmacy benefit 
managers (PBMs). The new rule is intended to implement 
the provisions of Act 124 of the 2019 Legislature which 
requires the Board of Pharmacy to license and regulate 
PBMs when they engage in one or more of the following 
activities construed to be within the scope of the practice of 
pharmacy: (1) adjudication of appeals or grievances related 
to prescription drug coverage. (2) disease management 
programs. (3) drug formularies. (4) drug regimen reviews. 
(5) prescription drug management programs. (6) processing 
of prior authorization requests. (7) quality care dosing 
services. (8) step therapy procedures. (9) utilization 
management and utilization reviews. (10) any other act, 
service, operation, or transaction incidental to or forming a 
part of the compounding, filling, dispensing, exchanging, 
giving, offering for sale, or selling drugs, medicines, 
poisons, or devices in this state by pharmacists or 
pharmacies, pursuant to a prescription or an order of 
physicians, dentists, veterinarians, or other licensed 
practitioners, requiring, involving, or employing the science 
or art of any branch of the pharmacy profession, study, or 
training. Section 3001 provides for definitions of certain 
terms. Section 3003 requires a PBM engaged in any of the 
activities enumerated within R.S. 40:2868 to obtain a PBM 
permit from the board, requires the PBM to register with the 
secretary of state, and provides that a PBM permit is not 
transferable from one owner to another. Section 3005 
provides the procedures for the board to follow with respect 
to applications for the initial issuance of the permit, the 
renewal of the permit, applications for the reinstatement of 
disciplined permits, as well as the permanent closure of a 
permit.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 30. Pharmacy Benefit Managers 
§3001. Definitions 

A. The following terms shall have the meaning ascribed 
to them in this Section: 

Audited Financial Statement—the financial statement 
and related disclosures prepared by an independent certified 
public accountant in accordance with United States 
Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) of the 
specific entity or licensee intending to operate or operating 
in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1253. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 46: 
§3003. Pharmacy Benefit Manager Permit 

A. A pharmacy benefit manager, as defined at R.S. 
40:2863, shall obtain and maintain a pharmacy benefit 
manager permit from the board prior to conducting business 
in Louisiana if it administers, develops, maintains, performs, 
or provides one or more of the pharmacy services 
enumerated in R.S. 40:2868 in the state or that affects one or 
more beneficiaries of a pharmacy benefit management plan, 
as defined at R.S. 40:2863, administered by the pharmacy 
benefit manager. 

B. A pharmacy benefit manager permit shall authorize 
the permit holder to administer pharmacy benefit 
management services. 

C. The board shall not issue a pharmacy benefit manager 
permit to any person or other entity which has not yet 
registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State to conduct 
business within the state. 

D. A pharmacy benefit manager permit is not 
transferable from the original owner. The permit shall not be 
subject to sale, assignment or other transfer, voluntary or 
involuntary. Moreover, in the event the ownership of the 
pharmacy benefit manager changes by 50 percent or more 
after the initial issuance of the permit, the ownership will be 
deemed sufficiently different as to require a new pharmacy 
benefit manager permit. The continued operation of a 
pharmacy benefit manager permit after its ownership has 
changed by 50 percent or more shall constitute sufficient 
basis for the board to issue a finding for the operation of a 
pharmacy benefit manager without a valid permit, in 
violation of R.S. 40:2865. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1253. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 46: 
§3005. Permitting Procedures 

A. Application for Initial Issuance of Permit 
1. The board shall develop an application form 

suitable for the pharmacy benefit manager permit. The board 
may revise that application form on its own initiative in 
order to collect the information it deems necessary to 
properly evaluate an applicant. 

2. The application shall include copies of the 
following documents: 

a. governance documents, including articles of 
incorporation, articles of association, partnership 
agreements, trade name certificates, trust agreements, 
shareholder agreements, and all amendments to such 
documents; 

b. the applicant’s standard generic contract template 
which it uses for contracts entered into by the applicant and 
pharmacies or pharmacy services administrative 
organizations in this state in the administration of pharmacy 
benefits for healthcare insurers, providers, or payors; 
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c. an audited financial statement for the applicant’s 
previous fiscal year. 

3. The board shall not process applications received 
by facsimile, or that are incomplete, or submitted with the 
incorrect fee. 

4. Once received by the board, an application for the 
permit shall expire one year thereafter. 

5. In the event any information contained in the 
application or accompanying documents changes after being 
submitted to the board and before the issuance of the permit, 
the applicant shall immediately notify the board in writing 
and provide corrected information. 

6. The applicant may be required to personally appear 
before the board or any of its committees prior to any 
decision on the permit application. 

7. Upon approval of the application, the board shall 
issue the pharmacy benefit manager permit to the applicant.  

B. Application for Renewal of Permit 
1. All pharmacy benefit manager permits shall expire 

two years after the date of its initial issuance and the 
renewals shall 

expire every two years thereafter on that anniversary date. 
2. The board shall not process applications received 

by facsimile, or that are incomplete. 
3. In the event a pharmacy benefit manager does no 

submit a properly completed renewal application to the 
board prior to the expiration of the permit, the permit shall 
be rendered null and void. The continued operation of a 
pharmacy benefit manager with an expired permit shall 
constitute sufficient basis for the board to issue a finding for 
the operation of a pharmacy benefit manager without a valid 
permit, in violation of R.S. 40:2865. 

4. A pharmacy benefit manager permit not renewed by 
30 days after the expiration date shall be automatically 
terminated by the board. 

C. Application for Reinstatement of Terminated, 
Suspended, or Revoked Permit 

1. The applicant shall complete the application form 
for this specific purpose supplied by the board. 

2. Upon the receipt of a properly completed 
application form, the board staff shall refer the application to 
the board’s 

reinstatement committee for its consideration and shall 
notify the applicant of the time and place for the committee 
meeting. 

D. Maintenance of Permit 
1. A pharmacy benefit manager permit shall be valid 

for the entity to whom it is issued and shall not be subject to 
sale, assignment or other transfer, voluntary or involuntary. 

2. Upon receipt of a written request and payment of 
the fee authorized in R.S. 37:1184, the board shall issue a 
duplicate or 

replacement permit to the applicant; however, such 
duplicate or replacement permit shall not serve or be used as 
an additional or second permit. 

E. Permanent Closure of Permit 
1. In the event the pharmacy benefit manager 

contemplates permanent closure of the pharmacy benefit 
manager business, the owner of the permit shall notify the 
board, in writing, 10 days prior to the anticipated date of 
closure and surrender its permit. 

2. The notice required in this Subsection shall include 
an acknowledgement of the firm’s obligation to maintain 
copies of all records for all patients and pharmacies in 
Louisiana for a minimum of two years following the date of 
closure and surrender of its permit, and further, the point of 
contact for all inquiries and requests for such records during 
that two-year period of time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1253. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
family impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. The following statements will be 
published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency Rule. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on family earnings or 
family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the ability of the 
family or a local government to perform the activity as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
poverty impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment.  

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The proposed Rule will have no effect on 
household income, assets, or financial security. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on early childhood 
development or preschool through postsecondary education 
development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed Rule will have no effect on 
employment or workforce development. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The proposed 
Rule will have no effect on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed Rule will have no effect on child 
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and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, 
transportation, or utilities assistance.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses: 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule contains no compliance or reporting requirements. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. The proposed Rule contains no schedules 
or deadlines for compliance or reporting requirements. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The 
proposed Rule contains no compliance or reporting 
requirements. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. There no design or 
operational standards in the proposed Rule. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed 
Rule. There are no exemptions for small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a provider impact statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the staffing level 
requirements or the qualifications for that staff to provide the 
same level of service. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the cost to the provider 
to provide the same level of service. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of service. The proposed Rule will 
have no effect on the ability of the provider to provide the 
same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, via 

United States Postal Service or other mail carrier, or in the 
alternative by personal delivery to Malcolm J Broussard, 
Executive Director, at the office of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-
1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
the proposed Rule amendment.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing to solicit comments and testimony on the 

proposed Rule is scheduled for 9 am on Wednesday, 
November 25, 2020. During the hearing, all interested 
persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, 

views, or arguments, either orally or in writing. The deadline 
for the receipt of all comments is 12 p.m. noon that same 
day. To request reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities, please call the board office at 225.925.6496. 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Benefit Managers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed will require the Louisiana Board of 

Pharmacy (LBP) to license and regulate any pharmacy benefit 
manager (PBM) operating within the state and engaging in one 
or more of ten specifically identified activities construed to be 
within the practice of pharmacy. 

The proposed rule will require LBP to publish the proposed 
and final rules in the state register, at a cost of $2,000 in FY 21. 
To operationalize the credentialing aspect of the rule, the Board 
will incur a fee of $500 per year to create and maintain the 
PBM permit in its licensure information system. There will be 
no additional expenditures or cost savings for other state or 
local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will generate approximately $20,000 per 
fiscal year for LBP from permit fees paid by pharmacy benefit 
managers. The proposed rule will not affect revenue collections 
for other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will require a PBM operating within the 
state to obtain and maintain a PBM permit from LBP at a cost 
of $500 per year.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Staff Director 
2010#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally Qualified Health Centers 
(LAC 50:XI.10301, 10303, 10503 and 10701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XI.10301, §10303, 
§10503 and §10701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et sec. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, proposes to amend the provisions governing 
federally qualified health centers to ensure the language 
reflects current practices and promulgate these provisions 
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clearly and accurately in the Louisiana Administrative Code, 
and to remove procedural language from the administrative 
Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 13.  Federally-Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 103. Services 
§10301. Scope of Services 

[Formerly §10501] 
A. - A.5. ... 
B. The department shall provide coverage of diabetes 

self-management training services rendered to Medicaid 
beneficiaries diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. 

1. Repealed. 
C. The department shall provide coverage for fluoride 

varnish applications performed in the FQHC.  
1. - 2.b. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2487 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1902 (October 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 37:2629 (September 2011), LR 
39:3076 (November 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1520 (September 
2016), LR 47: 
§10303. Service Limits 

[Formerly §10503] 
A. There shall be no limits placed on the number of 

federally qualified health center visits (encounters) payable 
by the Medicaid program for eligible beneficiaries. 

B. - B.1. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2280 (October 2010), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:2629 (September 2011), LR 41:2637 (December 
2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 105. Provider Participation 
§10503. Standards for Participation 

[Formerly §10303] 
A. Federally qualified health centers must comply with 

the applicable licensure, accreditation and program 
participation standards for all services rendered. If a FQHC 
wishes to initiate participation, it shall be responsible for 
meeting all of the enrollment criteria of the program. The 
FQHC provider shall: 

1. ... 
2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 

extent of services provided to beneficiaries for five years 
from the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

A.3. - B. ... 
C. - D.3. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:2630 (September 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
44:1253 (July 2018), LR 47: 
Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 
§10701. Prospective Payment System 

A. - B.4. ... 
a. Fluoride varnish applications shall only be 

reimbursed to the FQHC when performed on the same date 
of service as an office visit or preventive screening. Separate 
encounters for fluoride varnish services are not permitted 
and the application of fluoride varnish does not constitute an 
encounter visit. 

C. - G.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37:2630 (September 2011), LR 39:3076 (November 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 44:1253 (July 2018), LR 47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
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ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 

Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written 
comments is at 4:30 p.m. on November 29, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 9, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, the department will conduct a 
public hearing at 8:00 a.m. on November 24, 2020 in Room 
118 of the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North 
Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. All interested persons are 
invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 
arguments, orally or in writing. To confirm whether or not a 
public hearing will be held, interested persons should first 
call Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after November 9, 2019. 
If a public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are 
invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 
arguments, orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, 
Parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking 
Garage which is located between North Sixth and North 
Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the 
Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage 
may be available to public hearing attendees when the 
parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Federally Qualified Health Centers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will result in no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other 
than the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated 
that $864 ($432 SGF and $432 FED) will be expended in FY 
20-21 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no impact to revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 20-21. It is 
anticipated that $432 will be collected in FY 20-21 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 
federally qualified health centers in order to ensure the 
language reflects current practices and promulgate these 
provisions clearly in the Louisiana Administrative Code, and to 
remove procedural language from the administrative Rule. This 

rule is anticipated to have no impact on recipients. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will not 
result in any economic impact to Medicaid providers or small 
businesses in FY 20-21, 21-22, and 22-23, but will be 
beneficial in ensuring that the provisions are presented clearly 
and accurately.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will not have any known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ruth Johnson Christopher A. Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Providers 
Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.5038) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to adopt LAC 48:I.5038 as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.2. This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the licensing standards for home 
and community-based services (HCBS) providers in order to 
adopt provisions to allow licensed HCBS providers to 
operate and provide services outside of their licensed 
geographic areas to existing clients who have evacuated or 
temporarily relocated to another location in the state due to a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 10). 
This proposed Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the September 21, 2020 
Emergency Rule. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 50. Home and Community-Based Services 

Providers Licensing Standards 
Subchapter C. Admission, Transfer and Discharge 

Criteria 
§5038. Provisions for Services to Clients Outside of 

Licensed Geographic Area in Event of a 
Gubernatorial Declared State of Emergency or 
Disaster 

A. To ensure the health and safety of clients, and the 
coordination and continuation of services to clients, during a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana, the department, through written notice sent 
electronically to licensed HCBS providers, may allow a 
licensed HCBS provider to operate and provide services to 
existing clients who are receiving personal care services and 
respite services and who have evacuated or temporarily 
relocated to another location in the state when the following 
apply: 
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1. the client has evacuated or temporarily relocated to 
a location outside of the provider’s licensed region due to the 
declared state of emergency or disaster; 

2. the client shall have been a client of the HCBS 
provider as of the date of the declared emergency or disaster, 
with an approved plan of care; 

3. the client’s existing caregiver(s) go with the client 
or provide services to the client at the client’s temporary 
location; 

4. the provider is responsible for ensuring that all 
essential care and services, in accordance with the plan of 
care, are provided to the client, and the provider shall have 
sufficient staff and back-up caregivers available to provide 
services; and 

5. the provider shall not interfere with the client’s 
right to choose a provider of his/her choice if the client 
elects a new HCBS provider in the area where the client 
relocates. The provider shall facilitate client’s selection. 

B. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 
providers of center based respite services. 

C. To ensure the health and safety of clients, and the 
coordination and continuation of services to clients, during a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana, the department, through written notice sent 
electronically to licensed HCBS providers, may allow a 
licensed HCBS provider to operate and provide services to 
existing clients who are receiving supervised independent 
living services (SIL) and who have evacuated or temporarily 
relocated to another location in the state when the following 
apply: 

1. the client has evacuated or temporarily relocated to 
a location outside of the provider’s licensed region due to the 
declared state of emergency or disaster; 

2. the client shall have been a client of the HCBS 
provider as of the declared state of emergency or disaster, 
with an approved plan of care; 

3. the provider has sufficient and qualified staff to 
provide SIL services at the client’s temporary location; 

4. the provider is responsible for ensuring that all 
essential SIL services, in accordance with the plan of care, 
are provided to the client; and 

5. the provider shall not interfere with the client’s 
right to choose a provider of his/her choice if the client 
elects a new HCBS provider in the area where the client 
relocates. The provider shall facilitate client’s selection. 

D. Under the provisions of this Section, the department’s 
initial written notice to licensed HCBS providers to 
authorize these allowances shall be for a period not to 
exceed 45 days. The department may extend this initial 
period, not to exceed an additional 45 days, upon written 
notice sent electronically to the licensed HCBS providers. 

E. Under the provisions of this Section, the department 
in its discretion may authorize these allowances statewide or 
to certain affected parishes. 

F. An HCBS provider who wants to provide services to 
a client that has temporarily relocated out of state must 
contact that state’s licensing/certification department to 
obtain any necessary licensing and/or certification before 
providing services in that state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by assuring continued access to home and 
community-based services during a declared emergency or 
disaster. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have a positive impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 
by assuring continued access to home and community-based 
services during a declared emergency or disaster. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule may have a positive 
impact on small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et 
seq. as it will allow them to continue to provide home and 
community-based services during a declared emergency or 
disaster.  

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and will have a positive impact on the provider’s ability to 
provide the same level of service during a declared 
emergency or disaster as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 

Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821. Ms. Castello is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on 
November 29, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 9, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on November 24, 2020 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after November 9 2020. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
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Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 

Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community-Based  
Services Providers—Licensing Standards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that 
$756 will be expended in FY 20-21 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect federal revenue collections since the 
licensing fees, in the same amounts, will continue to be 
collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the 
September 21, 2020 Emergency Rule which adopted provisions 
to allow licensed home and community-based services (HCBS) 
providers to operate outside of their licensed geographic areas 
to existing clients who have evacuated or temporarily relocated 
to another location in the state due to a gubernatorial declared 
state of emergency or disaster in Louisiana. This Rule will have 
a positive impact on clients by assuring continued access to 
home and community-based services during a declared 
emergency or disaster. This proposed rule may be beneficial to 
small businesses and providers by allowing them to continue to 
provide services during a declared emergency or disaster. It is 
anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will not 
result in costs to the State or to HCBS providers for FY 20-21, 
FY 21-22 and FY 22-23. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ruth Johnson Christopher A. Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
(LAC 50:IX.Chapters 3-9) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to repeal LAC 50:IX.Chapter 3 and 
Chapter 5 and to amend LAC 50:IX.Chapter 6 through 
Chapter 9 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
Professional Services Program in order to remove specific 
clinical information and procedural language from the 
administrative Rule to reflect current practices and ensure 
that the provisions are promulgated clearly and accurately in 
the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 3. Concurrent Care 
§305. Inpatient Concurrent Care 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:463 (March 2007), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
47: 
Chapter 5. Inpatient Physician Services 
§501. Inpatient Physician Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:68 (January 2010), repealed by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 6. Outpatient Physician Services 
§601. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program provides coverage and 
reimbursement for outpatient physician visits. There shall be 
no limits placed on the number of physician visits payable 
by the Medicaid Program for eligible beneficiaries. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:2652 (December 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 7. Diabetes Education Services 
§701. General Provisions 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 
2011, the Medicaid Program provides coverage of diabetes 
self-management training (DSMT) services rendered to 
Medicaid beneficiaries diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:2509 (September 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§703. Scope of Services 

A. DSMT shall consist of individual and group 
instruction on diabetes self-management. 

B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
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39:2509 (September 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§705. Provider Participation 

A. To receive reimbursement, members of the DSMT 
instructional team must be either employed by or have a 
contract with, a Medicaid-enrolled professional services 
provider that will submit the claims for reimbursement of 
DSMT services rendered by the team. 

A.1. - C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:2510 (September 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 9. Fluoride Varnish Application Services 
§901. General Provisions 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 
2011, the Medicaid Program provides coverage of fluoride 
varnish application services to beneficiaries under the age of 
21. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
40:315 (February 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§903. Scope of Services 

A. ... 
B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
40:315 (February 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
§905. Provider Participation 

A. The entity seeking reimbursement for fluoride varnish 
application services must be an enrolled Medicaid provider. 

A.1. - C.2. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
40:315 (February 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1524 (September 
2016), LR 47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 

family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and will have no impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 

Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written 
comments is at 4:30 p.m. on November 29, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 9, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on November 24, 2020 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after November 9, 2020. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Professional Services Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that 
$864 ($432 SGF and $432 FED) will be expended in FY 20-21 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 20-21. It is 
anticipated that $432 will be collected in FY 20-21 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
Professional Services Program in order to remove specific 
clinical information and procedural language from the 
administrative Rule to reflect current practices and ensure that 
the provisions are promulgated clearly and accurately in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will not result in costs to 
the Professional Services Program in FY 20-21, FY 21-22 and 
FY 22-23, but will be beneficial by providing accurate, clearly 
identified program requirements. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 

Ruth Johnson Christopher A. Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#046 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program—Immunizations 
(LAC 50:IX.Chapter 83 and Chapter 85) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:IX.Chapter 83 and 
Chapter 85 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
immunizations in the Professional Services Program in order 
to ensure that the language in the administrative Rule 
reflects current practices and is promulgated clearly and 
accurately in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 7.  Immunizations 

Chapter 83. Children’s Immunizations 
§8301. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide coverage for the 
administration of childhood and adolescent vaccines 
recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization 
Practices and available through the Louisiana Immunization 
Program/Vaccines for Children Program. 

B. To qualify for Medicaid reimbursement for vaccine 
administration, a provider must be: 

1. a licensed health care provider who has the 
authority under Louisiana state law to administer childhood 
and adolescent vaccines; 

2. ... 
3. an enrolled Louisiana Immunization 

Program/Vaccines for Children Program provider. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:70 (January 2009) amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing LR 47: 
§8305. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. There shall be no reimbursement for the cost of 
vaccines that are available from the Louisiana Immunization 
Program/Vaccines for Children Program. 

1. Repealed. 
B. For vaccine administration, providers shall be 

reimbursed according to the established fee schedule or 
billed charges, whichever is the lesser amount. 

C. The reimbursement for the administration of 
childhood and adolescent vaccines shall be 90 percent of the 
2008 Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable or billed 
charges, whichever is the lesser amount, unless otherwise 
stipulated. The reimbursement shall not exceed the 
maximum regional charge for vaccine administration as 
determined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS). 

1. The reimbursement shall remain the same for those 
vaccine administration services that are currently being 
reimbursed at a rate that is between 90 percent and 120 
percent of the 2008 Louisiana Medicare Region 99 
allowable, but not to exceed the maximum regional charge 
for vaccine administration as determined by CMS. 

C.2. - D.4. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:71 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Public Health, LR 39:96 (January 
2013), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:1289 (July 2015), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing LR 47: 
Chapter 85. Other Immunizations 
§8501. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide coverage for 
vaccines recommended by the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices for beneficiaries age 19 and older. 

1. - 3. Repealed. 
B. To qualify for Medicaid reimbursement for the 

vaccine and vaccine administration, a provider must be a 
licensed health care provider who has the authority under 
Louisiana state law to administer vaccines and be an 
enrolled Medicaid provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1035 (June 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
47: 
§8503. Coverage Restrictions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1035 (June 2008), repealed by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
47: 
§8505. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. For the vaccine and vaccine administration, providers 
shall be reimbursed according to the established fee schedule 
or billed charges, whichever is the lesser amount. 

B. The reimbursement methodology for the vaccine is as 
a physician-administered drug under the provisions of LAC 
50:XXIX.949. 

B.1. - B.3.a Repealed. 
C. The reimbursement methodology for vaccine 

administration for beneficiaries age 19 and older is the same 
as for beneficiaries younger than 19 years old under the 
provisions of §8305 of this part. 

C.1. - C.4 Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Public Health, LR 39:97 (January 2013), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:1290 (July 2015), amended by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing LR 47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and will have no impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 

Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this  
proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting written 
comments is at 4:30 p.m. on November 29, 2020. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 9, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on November 24, 2020 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after November 9, 2020. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Professional Services Program 

Immunizations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that 
$864 ($432 SGF and $432 FED) will be expended in FY 20-21 
for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 20-21. It is 
anticipated that $432 will be collected in FY 20-21 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
immunizations in the Professional Services Program in order to 
ensure that the language in the administrative Rule reflects 
current practices and is promulgated clearly and accurately in 
the Louisiana Administrative Code. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will not result in costs to 
the Professional Services Program in FY 20-21, FY 21-22 and 
FY 22-23, but will be beneficial by providing accurate and 
clearly identified program requirements. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ruth Johnson Christopher A. Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health Clinics 
(LAC 50:XI.16301,16303,16503, and 16701) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XI.16301, §16303, 
§16503, and §16701 in the Medical Assistant Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing rural 
health clinics to ensure the language reflects current 
practices and is promulgated clearly and accurately in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code and to remove procedural 
language from the administrative Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 163. Services 
§16301. Scope of Services 

[Formerly §16501] 
A. - A.5. ... 
B. The department shall provide coverage of diabetes 

self-management training services rendered to Medicaid 
beneficiaries diagnosed with diabetes mellitus. 

1. Repealed. 
C. The department shall provide coverage for fluoride 

varnish applications performed in the RHC.  
1. - 2.b.  Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:2631 
(September 2011), LR 40:83 (January 2014), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
42:1524 (September 2016), LR 47: 
§16303. Service Limits 

[Formerly §16503] 
A. There shall be no limits placed on rural health clinic 

visits (encounters) payable by the Medicaid program for 
eligible beneficiaries. 

B. - B.1. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:2632 
(September 2011), LR 41:2653 (December 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
47: 
Chapter 165. Provider Participation 

[Formerly Chapter 163] 
§16503. Standards for Participation 

[Formerly §16303] 
A. - A.1. ... 

2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 
extent of services provided to beneficiaries for five years 
from the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

A.3. - B. ... 
C. - D.3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:2632 
(September 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, LR 47: 
Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 
§16701. Prospective Payment System 

A.- B.4. ... 
a. Fluoride varnish applications shall only be 

reimbursed to the RHC when performed on the same date of 
service as an office visit or preventive screening. Separate 
encounters for fluoride varnish services are not permitted 
and the application of fluoride varnish does not constitute an 
encounter visit. 

C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37:2632 
(September 2011), LR 40:83 (January 2014), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
47: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required.  

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this
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proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and will have no impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Ruth 

Johnson, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. Johnson is 
responsible for responding to this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at close of 
business, 4:30 p.m., on November 29, 2020.  

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 9, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on November 24, 2020 in Room 118 of 
the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after November 9, 2020. If a 
public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are invited 
to attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, parking is 
available to the public in the Galvez Parking Garage, which 
is located between North Sixth and North Fifth/North and 
Main Streets (cater-corner from the Bienville Building). 
Validated parking for the Galvez Garage may be available to 
public hearing attendees when the parking ticket is presented 
to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Rural Health Clinics 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 20-21. It is anticipated that 
$756 ($378 SGF and $378 FED) will be expended in FY 20-21 

for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 20-21. It is 
anticipated that $378 will be collected in FY 20-21 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing rural 
health clinics to ensure the language reflects current practices 
and is promulgated clearly and accurately in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code and to remove procedural language from 
the administrative Rule. This rule is anticipated to have no 
impact on recipients. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will not result in any economic impact to 
Medicaid providers or small businesses in FY 20-21, 21-22, 
and 22-23, but will be beneficial in ensuring that the provisions 
are presented clearly and accurately. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Ruth Johnson Christopher A. Keaton 
Medicaid Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health  
Office of Public Health 

Public Health—Sanitary Code 
Disease Reporting Requirements 

(LAC 51:II.105 and 107) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4 and 40:5, and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the state health 
officer, acting through the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH), intends to reenact and 
amend §105 and 107 of Part II of Title 51 (Public Health-
Sanitary Code) of the Louisiana Administrative Code. This 
proposed rule is being proposed to include COVID-19 in the 
list of diseases and conditions hereby declared reportable as 
a Class A Disease or Condition.  

For the reasons set forth above, the following proposed 
additions and amendments to Title 51 (Public Health—
Sanitary Code) are hereby proposed to be adopted.  

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part II.  The Control of Diseases 
Chapter 1. Disease Reporting Requirements 
§105. Reportable Diseases and Conditions 

[formerly paragraph 2:003] 
A. - D.1.a.x. … 

 xi. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-
19)/Infections with SARS-CoV-2; 
 xii. diphtheria;  
 xiii. Enterobacteriacea, carbenum-resistant; 
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 xiv. fish or shellfish poisoning (domoic acid 
poisoning, neurotoxic shellfish poisoning, ciguatera, 
paralytic shellfish poisoning, scombroid); 
 xv. food-borne illness; 
 xvi. glanders (Burkholderia mallei); 
 xvii. Haemophilus influenzae (invasive infection); 
 xviii. influenza-associated mortality; 
 xix. measles (rubeola, imported or indigenous); 
 xx. melioidosis (Burkholderia pseudomallei); 
 xxi. Neisseria meningitidis (invasive infection); 
 xxii. outbreaks of any infectious diseases; 
 xxiii. pertussis; 
 xxiv. plague (Yersinia pestis); 
 xxv. poliomyelitis (paralytic and non-paralytic); 
 xxvi. Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenem-
resistant; 
 xxvii. Q fever (Coxiella burnettii); 
 xxviii. rabies (animal and human); 
 xxiv. ricin poisoning; 
 xxx. rubella (congenital syndrome); 
 xxxi. rubella (German measles); 
 xxxii. SARS (SARS-CoV-1 infection); 
 xxxiii. Staphylococcus aureus, vancomycin 
intermediate or resistant (VISA.VRSA); 
 xxxiv. staphylococcal enterotoxin B (SEB) pulmonary 
poisoning; 
 xxxv. smallpox; 
 xxxvi. tularemia (Francisella tularensis); 
 xxxvii. viral hemorrhagic fever (Ebola, Lassa, 
Marburg, Crimean Congo, etc.); and 
 xxxviii. yellow fever. 

D.2. - E.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5(2)(10)(11). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1212 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1050 (June 2006), LR 34:2173 (October 
2008), repromulgated LR 34:2582 (December 2008), LR 36:1014 
(May 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1253 (June 2010), amended LR 
39:1053 (April 2013), LR 41:2653 (December 2015), amended by 
the Department of Health, Office of Public Health, amended LR 
45:667 (May 2019), LR 46: 
§107. Laboratory and Healthcare Facility Reporting 

Requirements 
[formerly §113] 

A. - E. … 
F. Electronic reporting by a laboratory/facility shall 

include any results, negative or positive, for all components 
of testing indicative of the following conditions: 

1. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)/Infections 
with SARS-CoV-2; 

2. hepatitis C virus;  
3. human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), including 

nucleotide sequences; and 
4. syphilis. 

G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5(2)(10)(11). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1214 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1052 (June 2006), LR 39:1054 (April 
2013), LR 41:2655 (December 2015), amended by Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 45:669 (May 2019), LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed rule affect the stability of the 

family? Yes. The stability of the family will be enhanced if 
one or more family members has been determined to have a 
positive result of COVID-2 testing. If not previously 
performed, this positive result will trigger certain isolation 
procedures to try to keep the other family members from 
exposure. Also, when the medical provider notifies the OPH 
of the test result, any positive test results will likely trigger 
contact tracing performed by the department to limit its 
spread in the family and the community at large. 

2. Will the proposed rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed rule affect the functioning of the 
family? Yes. The functioning of the family will be enhanced 
since those who have been identified as having a positive 
COVID-2 test results will result in enhanced protective and 
isolation procedures to prevent further transmission to other 
family members and the community at large. 

4. Will the proposed rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No, 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained the proposed rule? The family is 
not able to perform the function as contained in the rule; 
however, any hospital or other medical testing facility 
owned or operated by a local governmental unit would be 
required to perform the function as contained in the rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 

Financial Security. The intent of this disease reporting rule is 
to prevent additional spread of COVID-2; therefore, by the 
prevention of additional cases of the disease will help to 
keep other family members healthy and thus would help to 
prevent the depletion of household income, assets, and 
financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
Other than attempting to keep school aged children healthy, 
there will be no effect on childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. Persons who are able to prevent becoming 
infected with COVID-2 would be expected to remain 
healthy and such healthy persons would improve his or her 
chances to either remain employed or become employed. 
Keeping persons healthy would enhance the workforce as a 
whole. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. Keeping 
persons healthy by implementing this proposed rule should 
help to maintain taxes at a lower level since the fewer sick 
persons there are in the COVID-2 pandemic would be 
expected to check the total amount of funds necessary to 
maintain a healthy population. This, in turn, should help to 
prevent the need for additional taxation. 

5. The effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, And Utilities 
Assistance. There will be no effect on child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance. 
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Small Business Analysis 
It is anticipated that proposed rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Small Business Protection Act.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on:  

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments no later 

than Tuesday, November 24, 2020 to DeAnn Gruber, Bureau 
Director, Bureau of Infectious Diseases, Office of Public 
Health, 1450 Poydras St., Ste. 2136, New Orleans, LA, 
70112 or faxed to (504) 568-7044. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing either by U.S. mail to the Office of 
the Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post 
Office Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, 
such request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
November 10, 2020. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:00 am on Tuesday, November 24, 2020, in 
Room 173 of the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 
North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether 
or not a public hearing will be held, interested persons 
should first call Allen Enger at (225) 342-1342 after 
November 10, 2020. If a public hearing is to be held, all 
interested persons are invited to attend and present data, 
views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. In the 
event of a hearing, parking is available to the public in the 
Galvez Parking Garage which is located between North 
Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner 
from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the 
Galvez Garage may be available to public hearing attendees 
when the parking ticket is presented to the Bienville 
Building’s front security desk. 

 
Jimmy Guidry, MD 
State Health Officer  
and  
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
LDH Secretary  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Public Health—Sanitary Code 

Disease Reporting Requirements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to increase 
expenditures for the Office of Public Health (OPH) by 
approximately $2,630 in FY 2020 for the publication of the 
proposed rule. It is not anticipated that any other state or local 

governmental units will incur costs or savings as a result of this 
rule change.  

The proposed rule includes COVID-19 (Coronavirus 
Disease) to the listing of reportable diseases and conditions set 
forth in §105 of Part II of the Sanitary Code (LAC Title 51).  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The estimated costs to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups is expected to be negligible. 
Hospitals, clinics, laboratories, and other facilities that report 
infectious diseases may be affected by the proposed rule. Due 
to the addition of disease to the list of reportable conditions, 
there may be a slight increase in workload to support these 
reporting requirements. Most of the added conditions are 
uncommon and will not result in a substantial increase in 
reporting effort. Additionally, some diseases will now only be 
reportable by laboratories, rather than all healthcare facilities, 
reducing some of the overall burden of reporting.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule has no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Alexander Billioux, MD, DPhil Christopher A. Keaton 
Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#009 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 39Statement of Actuarial Opinion 
(LAC 37:XIII.705) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to amend 
Regulation 39Statement of Actuarial Opinion by 
amending the definition of “qualified actuary.”  

The purpose of the amendment to Regulation 39 is to 
amend the definition of “qualified actuary” to be in 
accordance with the definition contained in the NAIC’s 
Property/Casualty Annual Statement Instructions. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 7. Regulation 39―Statement of Actuarial 

Opinion 
§705. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Qualified Actuary—a person who: 
a. meets the basic education, experience and 

continuing education requirements of the Specific 
Qualification Standard for Statements of Actuarial Opinion, 
NAIC Property and Casualty Annual Statement, as set forth 
in the Qualification Standards for Actuaries Issuing 
Statements of Actuarial Opinion in the United States (U.S.
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Qualifications Standards), promulgated by the American 
Academy of Actuaries (Academy) and as adopted in Chapter 
161 of this Part; 

b. has obtained and maintains an Accepted Actuarial 
Designation; and 

c. is a member of a professional actuarial 
association that requires adherence to the same Code of 
Professional Conduct promulgated by the Academy, requires 
adherence to the U.S. Qualification Standards, and 
participates in the Actuarial Board for Counseling and 
Discipline when its members are practicing in the U.S. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:904. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:619 (June 1992), 
amended LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 

the Stability of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no measurable impact upon the 
stability of the family.  

2. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Authority and Rights of Parents Regarding the Education 
and Supervision of their Children. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no impact upon the rights and 
authority of children regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Functioning of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon the functioning 
of the family. 

4. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
Family Earnings and Budget. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon family 
earnings and budget. 

5. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Behavior and Personal Responsibility of Children. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no impact upon 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

5. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Ability of the Family or a Local Government to Perform 
the Function as Contained in the Rule. The proposed 
amended regulation should have no impact upon the ability 
of the family or a local governmental unit to perform the 
function as contained in the rule. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed regulation on small businesses 

as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed regulation that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses. 

1. Identification and Estimate of the Number of the 
Small Businesses Subject to the Proposed Rule. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

2. The Projected Reporting, Record Keeping, and 
Other Administrative Costs Required for Compliance with 
the Proposed Rule, Including the Type of Professional Skills 
Necessary for Preparation of the Report or Record. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

3. A Statement of the Probable Effect on Impacted 
Small Businesses. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact upon small businesses. 

4. Describe any Less Intrusive or Less Costly 
Alternative Methods of Achieving the Purpose of the 
Proposed Rule. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact on small businesses; therefore, 
will have no less intrusive or less cost alternative methods. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on Household Income, Assets, 

and Financial Security. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on household income assets and 
financial security. 

2. Describe the Effect on Early Childhood 
Development and Preschool through Postsecondary 
Education Development. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. Describe the Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no effect on employment and workforce development. 

4. Describe the Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no effect on taxes 
and tax credits. 

5. Describe the Effect on Child and Dependent Care, 
Housing, Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on the Staffing Level 

Requirements or Qualifications Required to Provide the 
Same Level of Service. The proposed amended regulation 
will have no effect. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed amended regulation will have no effect. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of Service. The proposed amended 
regulation will have no effect. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed rule. Such comments must be 
received no later than November 20, 2020, by 4:30 p.m. and 
should be addressed to Lisa Henson, Louisiana Department 
of Insurance, and may be mailed to P.O. Box 94214, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9214, or emailed to lisa.henson@ 
ldi.la.gov. If comments are to be shipped or hand-delivered, 
please deliver to Poydras Building, 1702 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation 39 
Statement of Actuarial Opinion 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will not result in additional costs or 

savings for state or local governmental units.  
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rules will not affect revenue collections for 

state or local governmental units. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Denise Gardner Christopher A. Keaton 
Chief of Staff Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 42Group Self-Insurance Funds 
(LAC 37:XIII.1101) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to amend 
Regulation 42Group Self-Insurance Funds by amending 
the definition of “qualified actuary.”  

The purpose of the amendment to Regulation 42 is to 
amend the definition of “qualified actuary” to be in 
accordance with the definition contained in the NAIC’s 
Property/Casualty Annual Statement Instructions. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 11. Regulation 42―Group Self-Insurance 

Funds 
§1101. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Qualified Actuary—a person who: 
a. meets the basic education, experience and 

continuing education requirements of the Specific 
Qualification Standard for Statements of Actuarial Opinion, 
NAIC Property and Casualty Annual Statement, as set forth 
in the Qualification Standards for Actuaries Issuing 
Statements of Actuarial Opinion in the United States (U.S. 
Qualifications Standards), promulgated by the American 
Academy of Actuaries (Academy) and as adopted in Chapter 
161 of this Part; 

b. has obtained and maintains an Accepted Actuarial 
Designation; and 

c. is a member of a professional actuarial 
association that requires adherence to the same Code of 
Professional Conduct promulgated by the Academy, requires 
adherence to the U.S. Qualification Standards, and 
participates in the Actuarial Board for Counseling and 
Discipline when its members are practicing in the U.S. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1195. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 18:1403 (December 
1992), amended LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 

the Stability of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no measurable impact upon the 
stability of the family.  

2. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Authority and Rights of Parents Regarding the Education 
and Supervision of their Children. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no impact upon the rights and 
authority of children regarding the education and supervision 
of their children. 

3. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Functioning of the Family. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon the functioning 
of the family. 

4. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
Family Earnings and Budget. The proposed amended 
regulation should have no direct impact upon family 
earnings and budget. 

5. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Behavior and Personal Responsibility of Children. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no impact upon 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

5. Describe the Effect of the Proposed Regulation on 
the Ability of the Family or a Local Government to Perform 
the Function as Contained in the Rule. The proposed 
amended regulation should have no impact upon the ability 
of the family or a local governmental unit to perform the 
function as contained in the rule. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed regulation on small businesses 

as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed regulation that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses. 

1. Identification and Estimate of the Number of the 
Small Businesses Subject to the Proposed Rule. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 

2. The Projected Reporting, Record Keeping, and 
Other Administrative Costs Required for Compliance with 
the Proposed Rule, Including the Type of Professional Skills 
Necessary for Preparation of the Report or Record. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no measurable 
impact upon small businesses. 
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3. A Statement of the Probable Effect on Impacted 
Small Businesses. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact upon small businesses. 

4. Describe any Less Intrusive or Less Costly 
Alternative Methods of Achieving the Purpose of the 
Proposed Rule. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no measurable impact on small businesses; therefore, 
will have no less intrusive or less cost alternative methods. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on Household Income, Assets, 

and Financial Security. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on household income assets and 
financial security. 

2. Describe the Effect on Early Childhood 
Development and Preschool through Postsecondary 
Education Development. The proposed amended regulation 
should have no effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. Describe the Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed amended regulation should 
have no effect on employment and workforce development. 

4. Describe the Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The 
proposed amended regulation should have no effect on taxes 
and tax credits. 

5. Describe the Effect on Child and Dependent Care, 
Housing, Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed amended regulation should have 
no effect on child and dependent care, housing, health care, 
nutrition, transportation and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 
1. Describe the Effect on the Staffing Level 

Requirements or Qualifications Required to Provide the 
Same Level of Service. The proposed amended regulation 
will have no effect. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed amended regulation will have no effect. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of Service. The proposed amended 
regulation will have no effect. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed Rule. Such comments must be 
received no later than November 20, 2020, by 4:30 p.m. and 
should be addressed to Lisa Henson, Louisiana Department 
of Insurance, and may be mailed to P.O. Box 94214, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-9214, or emailed to lisa.henson@ 
ldi.la.gov. If comments are to be shipped or hand-delivered, 
please deliver to Poydras Building, 1702 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Regulation 42 
Group Self-Insurance Funds 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule will not result in additional costs or 

savings for state or local governmental units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect revenue collections for 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Denise Gardner Christopher A. Keaton 
Chief of Staff Legislative Fiscal Officer 
2010#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Class VI Injection Wells  
(LAC 43:XVII.Chapter 6) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the power 
delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana, notice is 
hereby given that the Department of Natural Resources, 
Office of Conservation proposes to adopt Statewide Order 
No. 29-N-6 (LAC 43:XVII. Subpart 6, Chapter 6), to 
facilitate the permitting, siting, construction, operation, 
monitoring, and site closure of Class VI injection wells, 
which are used to injection carbon dioxide for the purposes 
of geologic sequestration. 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation proposes to adopt provisions governing the 
oversight of the Class VI carbon sequestration program 
within the Underground Injection Control (UIC) Program 
located within the Office of Conservation. Class VI wells are 
a federally-designated well class that inject carbon dioxide 
gas underground for long-term containment or sequestration, 
ultimately limiting net emissions for this greenhouse gas. 
The UIC Program is currently applying for primary 
enforcement authority from the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency (US EPA), modifying the UIC Program 
oversight to include Class VI well in addition to current 
oversight authority for Class I, II, III, IV, and V wells. 
Promulgation of Statewide Order 29-N-6 is required in order 
to obtain primary enforcement authority from the US EPA. 

With the adoption of a new federal tax credit (IRS Section 
45-Q), a large number of companies from oil and gas, utility, 
petrochemical, and other industries plan to construct and 
operate Class VI injection wells at new and existing sites in 
Louisiana to take advantage of 45-Q and mitigate carbon 
dioxide emissions. Currently, companies must submit Class 
VI permit applications to the US EPA. The promulgation of 
this proposed rule will enable the UIC Program to obtain 
primary enforcement authority from the US EPA so that 
permitting and compliance for Class VI wells will be 
incorporated into the UIC Program’s current oversight 
authority for all other categories of injection wells. 
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Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XVII.  Office of Conservation―Injection  
and Mining 

Subpart 6.  Statewide Order No. 29-N-6 
Chapter 6. Class VI Injection Wells 
§601. Definitions 

A. The following definitions apply to all regulations in 
this Chapter. Terms not defined in this Section for Class VI 
wells have the meaning given by R.S. (1950) Title 30, 
section 1103. 

Abandoned Well―a well whose use has been 
permanently discontinued or which is in a state of disrepair 
such that it cannot be used for its intended purpose or for 
observation purposes. 

Act―Part I, Chapter 1 of Title 30 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes. 

Act 517—Act 517 of the 2009 Louisiana regular 
legislative session. See Louisiana Geologic Sequestration of 
Carbon Dioxide Act. 

Application―the filing by a person on the Office of 
Conservation forms for an underground injection permit, 
including any additions, revisions or modifications to the 
forms. 

Aquifer―a geological formation, group of formations, 
or part of a formation that is capable of yielding a significant 
amount of water to a well or spring. 

Area of Review―the region surrounding the geologic 
sequestration project where USDWs may be endangered by 
the injection activity, and is delineated using computational 
modeling that accounts for the physical and chemical 
properties of all phases of the injected carbon dioxide stream 
and displaced fluids, and is based on available site 
characterization, monitoring, and operational data as set 
forth in §§615.B. and 615.C. 

Carbon Dioxide—naturally occurring, geologically 
sourced, or anthropogenically sourced carbon dioxide 
including its derivatives and all mixtures, combinations, and 
phases, whether liquid or gaseous, stripped, segregated, or 
divided from any other fluid stream thereof. 

Carbon Dioxide Plume—the extent underground, in 
three dimensions, of an injected carbon dioxide stream. 

Carbon Dioxide Stream—the carbon dioxide that has 
been captured from an emission source (e.g., a power plant), 
plus incidental associated substances derived from the 
source materials and the capture process, and any substances 
added to the stream to enable or improve the injection 
process. This meaning does not apply to any carbon dioxide 
stream meeting the definition of a hazardous waste under 
Title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 261. 

Casing―a metallic or nonmetallic tubing or pipe of 
varying diameter and weight, lowered into a borehole during 
or after drilling in order to support the sides of the hole and 
thus prevent the walls form caving, to prevent loss of drilling 
mud into porous ground, or to prevent water, gas or other 
fluid from entering or leaving the hole. 

Catastrophic Collapse―the sudden and utter failure of 
overlying strata caused by removal of underlying materials. 

Cementing―the operation whereby a cement slurry is 
pumped into a drilled hole and/or forced behind the casing. 

Cesspool―a drywell that receives untreated sanitary 
waste containing human excreta, and which sometimes has 
an open bottom and/or perforated sides. 

Commissioner―the Assistant Secretary of the Office of 
Conservation, Department of Natural Resources. 

Confining Bed―a body of impermeable or distinctly 
less permeable material stratigraphically adjacent to one or 
more aquifers. 

Confining Zone―a geological formation, group of 
formations, or part of a formation stratigraphically overlying 
the injection zone that acts as a barrier to fluid movement 
above an injection zone. 

Contaminant―any physical, chemical, biological, or 
radiological substance or matter in water. 

Corrective Action—the use of UIC program-approved 
methods to ensure that wells within the area of review do not 
serve as conduits for the movement of fluids into USDWs. 

Disposal Well―a well used for the disposal of waste 
into a subsurface stratum. 

Drilling Mud―heavy suspension used in drilling an 
injection well introduced down the drill pipe and through the 
drill bit.  

Draft Permit―a document prepared under §611.C.1 
indicating the commissioner’s decision to issue or deny, 
modify, revoke and reissue, terminate, or reissue a permit. A 
notice of intent to terminate a permit and a notice of intent to 
deny a permit as discussed in §§613.E.2 and 611.C are types 
of draft permits. A denial of request for modification, 
revocation and reissuance, or termination, as discussed in 
§613.B.4 is not a draft permit. 

Drywell―a well, other than an improved sinkhole or 
subsurface fluid distribution system, completed above the 
water table so that its bottom and sides are typically dry 
except when receiving fluids. 

Effective Date―the date that the Louisiana State UIC 
Program is approved by the Environmental Protection 
Agency. 

Emergency Permit―a UIC permit issued in accordance 
with §115 or §515. 

Exempted Aquifer―an aquifer or its portion that meets 
the criteria of the definition of underground source of 
drinking water but which has been exempted according to 
the procedures set forth in §603.F. 

Existing Injection Well or Project―an injection well or 
project other than a new injection well or project. 

Experimental Technology―a technology which has not 
been proven feasible under the conditions in which it is 
being tested. 

Facility or Activity―any facility or activity, including 
land or appurtenances thereto, that is subject to these 
regulations. 

Fault―a surface or zone of rock fracture along which 
there has been displacement. 

Flow Rate―the volume per time unit given to the flow 
of gases or other fluid substance which emerges from an 
orifice, pump, turbine or passes along a conduit or channel. 
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Fluid―any material or substance which flows or moves 
whether in a semisolid, liquid, sludge, gas or any other form 
or state. 

Formation―a body of consolidated or unconsolidated 
rock characterized by a degree of lithologic homogeneity 
revealingly, but not necessarily, tabular and is mappable on 
the earth's surface or traceable in the subsurface. 

Formation Fluid―fluid present in a formation under 
natural conditions as opposed to introduced fluids, such as 
drilling muds. 

Generator―any person, by site location, whose act or 
process produces hazardous waste identified or listed in the 
Louisiana Hazardous Waste Management Program; or any 
person or entity who generates or causes to be generated any 
fluid for well injection. 

Geologic Storage—the long or short-term underground 
storage of carbon dioxide in subsurface geologic formations. 

Geologic Storage Facility—see Geologic Sequestration 
Site. 

Geologic Storage Site—see Geologic Sequestration 
Site. 

Geologic Sequestration—the long-term containment of 
a gaseous, liquid, or supercritical carbon dioxide stream in 
subsurface geologic formations. This term does not apply to 
carbon dioxide capture or transport. 

Geologic Sequestration Project—an injection well or 
wells used to emplace a carbon dioxide stream beneath the 
lowermost formation containing a USDW; or wells used for 
geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide that have received 
an expansion to the areal extent of an existing Class II 
enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery aquifer 
exemption pursuant to §603.F of this chapter. It includes the 
subsurface three-dimensional extent of the carbon dioxide 
plume, associated area of elevated pressure, and displaced 
fluids, as well as the surface area above that delineated 
region. 

Geologic Sequestration Site—the underground 
reservoir, carbon dioxide injection wells, monitoring wells, 
underground equipment, and surface buildings and 
equipment utilized in the sequestration or storage operation, 
including pipelines owned or operated by the sequestration 
or storage operator used to transport the carbon dioxide from 
one or more capture facilities or sources to the sequestration 
or storage and injection site. The underground reservoir 
component of the sequestration or storage facility includes 
any necessary and reasonable aerial buffer and subsurface 
monitoring zones designated by the commissioner for the 
purpose of ensuring the safe and efficient operation of the 
storage facility for the storage of carbon dioxide and shall be 
chosen to protect against pollution, and escape, or migration 
of carbon dioxide. 

Ground Water―water below the land surface in a zone 
of saturation. 

Hazardous Waste―a hazardous waste as defined in the 
Louisiana Hazardous Waste Management Program. 

Hazardous Waste Management (HWM) Facility―all 
contiguous land, and structures, other appurtenances, and 
improvements on the land, used for treating, storing or 
disposing of hazardous waste. 

Improved Sinkhole―a naturally occurring karst 
depression or other natural crevice found in volcanic terrain 
and other geologic settings which have been modified by 

man for the purpose of directing and emplacing fluids into 
the subsurface. 

Injection Well―a well into which fluids are being 
injected other than fluids associated with active drilling 
operations. 

Injection Interval―that part of the injection zone in 
which the well is screened or perforated or in which injected 
fluids are directly emplaced. 

Injection Zone―a geological formation, group of 
formations or part of a formation receiving fluids through a 
well. For Class VI projects, it must also be of sufficient areal 
extent, thickness, porosity, and permeability to receive 
carbon dioxide through a well or wells associated with a 
geologic sequestration project. 

Ionizing Radiation―any electromagnetic or particulate 
radiation capable of producing ions, directly or indirectly, in 
its passage through matter. It includes any or all of the 
following: alpha rays, beta rays, gamma rays, X-rays, 
neutrons, high-speed electrons, high-speed protons, and 
other atomic particles; but not sound or radio waves, or 
visible, infrared or ultraviolet light. 

Lithology―the description of rocks on the basis of their 
physical and chemical characteristics. 

Louisiana Geologic Sequestration of Carbon Dioxide 
Act—Act 517 of 2009 at Chapter 11 of Title 30 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, 

Major Facility―any Class I or IV hazardous waste 
injection well facility or activity. 

Manifest―the shipping document originated and signed 
by the generator which contains the information required by 
the Hazardous Waste Management Program. 

New Injection Well―a well which began injection after 
the Louisiana Underground Injection Control program is 
approved and the applicable (Office of Conservation) rules 
and regulations are promulgated. 

Operator―the person recognized as being responsible 
to the Office of Conservation for the well, site, facility, or 
activity subject to regulatory authority under these rules and 
regulations. The operator can, but need not be, the owner of 
the well, site, facility, or activity. 

Owner―the person that owns any well, site, facility, or 
activity subject to regulation under the UIC program. The 
owner can, but need not be, the operator of the well, site, 
facility, or activity. 

Packer―a device lowered into a well to produce a fluid 
tight seal within the casing. 

Permit―an authorization, license, or equivalent control 
document issued by the commissioner to implement the 
requirements of these regulations. Permit includes, but it is 
not limited to, area permits and emergency permits. Permit 
does not include UIC authorization by rule or any permit 
which has not yet been the subject of final agency action, 
such as a draft permit. 

Person—any natural person, individual, association, 
corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other 
entity, receiver, tutor, curator, executor, administrator, 
fiduciary, municipality, state or federal agency, or an agent 
or employee of the aforementioned thereof. 

Plugging―the act or process of stopping the flow of 
water, oil or gas into or out of a formation through a 
borehole or well penetrating that formation. 
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Plugging Record―a systematic listing of permanent or 
temporary abandonment of water, oil, gas, test, exploration 
and waste injection wells, and may contain a well log, 
description of amounts and types of plugging material used, 
the method employed for plugging, a description of 
formations which are sealed and a graphic log of the well 
showing formation location, formation thickness, and 
location of plugging structures. 

Point of Injection―the last accessible sampling point 
prior to waste fluids being released into the subsurface 
environment through a Class V injection well. For example, 
the point of injection of a Class V septic system might be the 
distribution box, the last accessible sampling point before 
the waste fluids drain into the underlying soils. For a dry 
well, it is likely to be the well bore itself. 

Post-Injection Site Care—the appropriate monitoring 
and other actions (including corrective action) needed 
following cessation of geologic sequestration injection to 
ensure that USDWs are not endangered, as required under 
§633. 

Pressure―the total load or force per unit area acting on 
a surface. 

Pressure Front—the zone of elevated pressure in the 
subsurface created by injection where there is a pressure 
differential sufficient to cause the movement of injected 
fluids or formation fluids into a USDW. 

Project―a group of wells in a single operation. 
Public Water System―a system for the provision to the 

public of piped water for human consumption, if such 
system has at least 15 service connections or regularly serves 
at least 25 individuals. Such term includes: 

a. any collection, treatment, storage, and 
distribution facilities under control of the operator of such 
system and used primarily in connection with such system; 
and 

b. any collection or pretreatment storage facilities 
not under such control which are used primarily in 
connection with such system. 

Radiation―any electromagnetic or ionizing radiation 
including gamma rays and X-rays, alpha and beta particles, 
high-speed electrons, neutrons, protons and other nuclear 
particles; but not sound waves. Unless specifically stated 
otherwise, these regulations apply only to ionizing radiation. 

Radioactive Material―any material, whether solid, 
liquid, or gas, which emits radiation spontaneously. 

Radioactive Waste―any waste which contains 
radioactive material for which no use or reuse is intended 
and which is to be discarded. 

RCRA―the Solid Waste Disposal Act as amended by 
the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (P.L. 
94-580 as amended by P.L. 95-609, 42 U.S.C. 6901 et seq.). 

Reservoir—that portion of any underground geologic 
stratum, formation, or aquifer, including oil and gas 
reservoirs, or other saline formations, and coal and coalbed 
methane seams, suitable for or capable of being made 
suitable for injection or storage of fluids. 

Sanitary Waste―liquid or solid wastes originating 
solely from humans and human activities, such as wastes 
collected from toilets, showers, wash basins, sinks used for 
cleaning domestic areas, sinks used for food preparation, 
clothes washing operations, and sinks or washing machines 
where food and beverage serving dishes, glasses, and 

utensils are cleaned. Sources of these wastes may include 
single or multiple residences, hotels and motels, restaurants, 
bunkhouses, schools, ranger stations, crew quarters, guard 
stations, campgrounds, picnic grounds, day-use recreation 
areas, other commercial facilities, and industrial facilities 
provided the waste is not mixed with industrial waste. 

Schedule of Compliance―a schedule or remedial 
measures included in a permit, including an enforceable 
sequence of interim requirements (for example, actions, 
operations, or milestone events) leading to compliance with 
the act and these regulations. 

Septic System―a well that is used to emplace sanitary 
waste below the surface and is typically comprised of a 
septic tank and subsurface fluid distribution system or 
disposal system. 

Site―the land or water area where any facility or 
activity is physically located or conducted including adjacent 
land used in connection with the facility or activity. 

Site Closure—the point or time, as determined by the 
UIC program following the requirements under §633, at 
which the owner or operator of a geologic sequestration site 
is released from post-injection site care responsibilities. 

Skin Effect―the blockage or plugging of the well 
perforations or near wellbore formation face from solids in 
the waste stream that results in increased injection pressures 
and can be measured by accepted engineering test 
procedures. 

Sole or Principal Source Aquifer―an aquifer which is 
the sole or principal drinking water source for an area and 
which, if contaminated, would create a significant hazard to 
public health. 

State―the state of Louisiana. 
Stratum (plural Strata)―a single sedimentary bed or 

layer, regardless of thickness, that consists of generally the 
same kind of rock material. 

Subsurface Fluid Distribution System―an assemblage 
of perforated pipes, drain tiles, or other similar mechanisms 
intended to distribute fluids below the surface of the ground. 

Surface Casing―the first string of casing to be installed 
in the well, excluding conductor casing. 

Third Party―a party who is not within the corporate 
structure of the owner or operator. 

Total Dissolved Solids―the total dissolved filterable 
solids as determined by use of the method specified in the 
14th edition, pp. 91-92, of Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Waste Water. 

Transmissive Fault or Fracture—a fault or fracture that 
has sufficient permeability and vertical extent to allow fluids 
to move between formations. 

UIC―the Louisiana State Underground Injection 
Control Program. 

Underground Injection―a well injection. 
Underground Source of Drinking Water (USDW)―an 

aquifer or its portion: 
a. which supplies any public water system; or 
b. which contains a sufficient quantity of ground 

water to supply a public water system; and 
 i. currently supplies drinking water for human 
consumption; or 
 ii. contains fewer than 10,000 mg/1 total 
dissolved solids; and which is not an exempted aquifer. 

USDW―Underground Source of Drinking Water. 
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USEPA—the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency. 

Well―a bored, drilled, or driven shaft whose depth is 
greater than the largest surface dimension; or, a dug hole 
whose depth is greater than the largest surface dimension; or, 
an improved sinkhole; or, a subsurface fluid distribution 
system. 

Well Injection―the subsurface emplacement of fluids 
through an injection well. 

Well Plug―a fluid-tight seal installed in a borehole or 
well to prevent movement of fluids. 

Well monitoring―the measurement by on-site 
instruments or laboratory methods, of the quality of water in 
a well. 

Well Stimulation―several processes used to clean the 
well bore, enlarge channels, and increase pore space in the 
interval to be injected thus making it possible for fluids to 
move more readily into the formation, and includes, but may 
not be limited to: 

a. surging; 
b. jetting; 
c. blasting; 
d. acidizing; or 
e. hydraulic fracturing. 

Workover―to perform one or more of a variety of 
remedial operations on an injection well, such as cleaning, 
perforation, change tubing, deepening, squeezing, plugging 
back, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§603. General Provisions 

A. Applicability. These rules and regulations apply to all 
owners and operators of proposed and existing Class VI 
injection wells and projects in the state of Louisiana.  

1. The commissioner shall administer the provisions 
of Act 517 and these regulations promulgated thereunder for 
geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide. 

2. The provisions of this Chapter only apply to 
geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide in underground 
reservoirs as defined in §601 above. The geologic 
sequestration of carbon dioxide is not permitted in solution-
mined salt caverns under these provisions. 

3. This provisions of this Chapter also apply to 
owners or operators of permit- or rule-authorized Class I, 
Class II, or Class V experimental carbon dioxide injection 
projects who seek to apply for a Class VI geologic 
sequestration permit for their well or wells. Owners or 
operators seeking to convert existing Class I, Class II, or 
Class V experimental wells to Class VI geologic 
sequestration wells must demonstrate to the commissioner 
that the wells were engineered and constructed to meet the 
requirements at §617.A.1 and ensure protection of USDWs, 
in lieu of requirements at §§617.A.2 and 617.B.1 By 
December 10, 2011, owners or operators of either Class I 
wells previously permitted for the purpose of geologic 
sequestration or Class V experimental technology wells no 
longer being used for experimental purposes that will 
continue injection of carbon dioxide for the purpose of GS 
must apply for a Class VI permit. A converted well must still 
meet all other requirements under this Chapter. 

B. Prohibition of Unauthorized Injection. Any 
underground injection, except as authorized by a permit or 
rule, is prohibited after the effective date of these 
regulations. Construction or operation of any well required 
to have a permit under these regulations is prohibited until 
the permit has been issued. 

1. Any underground injection that violates any rule of 
this Chapter is subject to enforcement action. 

C. Classification of Injection Wells 
1. Class VI. Wells not experimental in nature that are 

used for geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide beneath 
the lowermost formation containing a USDW; or wells used 
for geologic sequestration of carbon dioxide that have 
received an expansion to the areal extent of an existing Class 
II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery aquifer 
exemption pursuant to the appropriate parts of §603.F. 

a. During initial Class VI program development, the 
commissioner shall not expand the areal extent of an existing 
Class II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery 
aquifer exemption for Class VI injection wells, and the 
USEPA shall not approve a program that applies for aquifer 
exemption expansions of Class II to Class VI exemptions as 
part of the program description. All Class II to Class VI 
aquifer exemption expansions previously issued by USEPA 
must be incorporated into the Class VI program descriptions 
pursuant to requirements at 40 CFR 145.23(f)(9). 

2. Prohibition of Non-Experimental Class V Wells for 
Geologic Sequestration. The construction, operation or 
maintenance of any non-experimental Class V geologic 
sequestration well is prohibited. 

D. Prohibition of Movement of Fluid into Underground 
Sources of Drinking Water 

1. No authorization by permit or rule shall allow the 
movement of fluid containing any contaminant into 
underground sources of drinking water, if the presence of 
that contaminant may cause a violation of any primary 
drinking water regulation under 40 CFR part 141 or of the 
Louisiana Drinking Water Regulations, Chapter VIII of the 
State Sanitary Code or may otherwise adversely affect the 
health of persons. The applicant for a permit shall have the 
burden of showing that the requirements of this Section are 
met. 

2. For Class VI wells, if any water quality monitoring 
of a USDW indicates the movement of any contaminant into 
the USDW, except as authorized under §603.F, the 
commissioner shall prescribe such additional requirements 
for construction, corrective action, operation, monitoring, or 
reporting (including closure of the injection well) as are 
necessary to prevent such movement. In the case of wells 
authorized by permit, these additional requirements shall be 
imposed by modifying the permit in accordance with 
§613.C, or the permit may be terminated under §613.E if 
cause exists, or appropriate enforcement action may be taken 
if the permit has been violated. In the case of wells 
authorized by rule, see §603.E.1. 

3. If at any time the commissioner learns that a Class 
VI well may cause a violation of the Louisiana Drinking 
Water Regulations, Chapter XII of the State Sanitary Code 
or may be otherwise adversely affecting the health of 
persons, he shall: 

a. require the injector to obtain a permit; 
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b. order the injector to take such actions (including, 
where required, closure of the injection well) as may be 
necessary to prevent the violation or adverse effect; or 

c. take enforcement action. 
4. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 

Section, the commissioner may take emergency action upon 
receipt of information that a contaminant which is present in 
or likely to enter a public water system or underground 
source of drinking water may present an imminent and 
substantial endangerment to the health or safety of persons. 

E. Authorization of Underground Injection by Rule 
1. Class VI wells cannot be authorized by rule to 

inject carbon dioxide. Owners or operators of Class VI wells 
must obtain a permit.  

a. Any authorization by rule for an existing Class II 
enhanced recovery or hydrocarbon storage well shall expire 
upon the effective date of a Class VI permit issued pursuant 
to §603.G, or well plug and abandonment according to an 
approved plug and abandonment plan, or upon well 
conversion. 

F. Identification of Underground Sources of Drinking 
Water and Exempted Aquifers 

1. The commissioner may identify (by narrative 
description, illustrations, maps, or other means) and shall 
protect as an underground source of drinking water, all 
aquifers or parts of aquifers which meet the definition of an 
underground source of drinking water, except where there is 
an applicable aquifer exemption under §§603.F.2 and 4, or 
an expansion to the areal extent of an existing Class II 
enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery aquifer 
exemption for the exclusive purpose of Class VI injection 
for geologic sequestration under §603.F.4. Other than 
approved aquifer exemption expansions that meet the criteria 
set forth in §603.F.2.d, new aquifer exemptions shall not be 
issued for Class VI injection wells. Even if an aquifer has 
not been specifically identified by the commissioner, it is an 
underground source of drinking water if it meets the 
definition. 

2. After notice and opportunity for a public hearing 
the commissioner may identify (by narrative description, 
illustrations, maps, or other means) and describe in 
geographic and/or geometric terms (such as vertical and 
lateral limits and gradient) which are clear and definite, all 
aquifers or parts thereof which the commissioner proposes to 
designate as exempted aquifers if they meet the following 
criteria: 

a. the aquifer does not currently serve as a source of 
drinking water; and 

b. the aquifer cannot now and will not in the future 
serve as a source of drinking water because: 
 i. it is mineral, hydrocarbon or geothermal 
energy producing or can be demonstrated by a permit 
applicant as part of a permit application for a Class III 
operation to contain minerals or hydrocarbons that 
considering their quantity and location are expected to be 
commercially producible; 
 ii. it is situated at a depth or location which makes 
recovery of water for drinking water purposes economically 
or technologically impractical; 
 iii. it is so contaminated that it would be 
economically or technologically impractical to render that 
water fit for human consumption; or 

 iv. it is located over a Class III well mining area 
subject to subsidence or catastrophic collapse; or 

c. the total dissolved solids content of the ground 
water is more than 3,000 and less than 10,000 mg/1 and it is 
not reasonably expected to supply a public water system; 

d. the areal extent of an aquifer exemption for a 
Class II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery 
well may be expanded for the exclusive purpose of Class VI 
injection for geologic sequestration under §103.F.4 if it 
meets the following criteria: 
 i. it does not currently serve as a source of 
drinking water; and 
 ii. the total dissolved solids content of the ground 
water is more than 3,000 mg/l and less than 10,000 mg/l; and 
 iii. it is not reasonably expected to supply a public 
water system. 

3. No designation of an exempted aquifer submitted as 
part of the state’s UIC program shall be final until approved 
by the USEPA. No designation of an expansion to the areal 
extent of a Class II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas 
recovery aquifer exemption for the exclusive purpose of 
Class VI injection for geologic sequestration shall be final 
until approved by the USEPA as a substantial revision of the 
state’s UIC program in accordance with 40 CFR 145.32. 

4. Expansion to the Areal Extent of Existing Class II 
Aquifer Exemptions for Class VI Wells. Operators of Class 
II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery wells 
may request that the commissioner approve an expansion to 
the areal extent of an aquifer exemption already in place for 
a Class II enhanced oil recovery or enhanced gas recovery 
well for the exclusive purpose of Class VI injection for 
geologic sequestration. Such requests are treated as a 
substantial program revision to the state’s UIC program and 
will not be final until approved by USEPA. 

a. The operator of a Class II enhanced oil recovery 
or enhanced gas recovery well that requests an expansion of 
the areal extent of an existing aquifer exemption for the 
exclusive purpose of Class VI injection for geologic 
sequestration must define (by narrative description, 
illustrations, maps, or other means) and describe in 
geographic and/or geometric terms (such as vertical and 
lateral limits and gradient) that are clear and definite, all 
aquifers or parts thereof that are requested to be designated 
as exempted using the criteria in §603.F.2.d. 

b. In evaluating a request to expand the areal extent 
of an aquifer exemption of a Class II enhanced oil recovery 
or enhanced gas recovery well for the purpose of Class VI 
injection, the commissioner must determine that the request 
meets the criteria for exemptions. In making the 
determination, the commissioner shall consider: 
 i. current and potential future use of the USDWs 
to be exempted as drinking water resources; 
 ii. the predicted extent of the injected carbon 
dioxide plume, and any mobilized fluids that may result in 
degradation of water quality, over the lifetime of the project, 
as informed by computational modeling, in order to ensure 
that the proposed injection operation will not at any time 
endanger USDWs including non-exempted portions of the 
injection formation; and 
 iii. whether the areal extent of the expanded 
aquifer exemption is of sufficient size to account for any 
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possible revisions to the computational model during 
reevaluation of the area of review. 

G. Transitioning from Class II to Class VI 
1. Operators of wells used to inject carbon dioxide for 

the primary purpose of long-term storage into an oil or gas 
reservoir must apply for and obtain a Class VI geologic 
sequestration permit when there is an increased risk to 
USDWs compared to Class II operations. The factors 
specified in §603.G.2 below must be considered in 
determining if there is an increased risk to USDWs.  

2. The commissioner shall determine when there is an 
increased risk to USDWs compared to Class II operations 
and when a Class VI permit is required. The commissioner 
must consider the following in order to make this 
determination: 

a. increase in reservoir pressure within the injection 
zone(s); 

b. increase in carbon dioxide injection rates; 
c. decrease in reservoir production rates; 
d. distance between the injection zone(s) and 

USDWs; 
e. suitability of the Class II enhanced oil or gas 

recovery area of review delineation; 
f. quality of abandoned well plugs within the area 

of review; 
g. the owner’s or operator’s plan for recovery of 

carbon dioxide at the cessation of injection; 
h. the source and properties of injected carbon 

dioxide; and 
i. any additional site-specific factors as determined 

by the commissioner. 
H. Additional Requirements 

1. All tests, reports, logs, surveys, plans, applications, 
or other submittals whether required by these rules and 
regulations or submitted for informational purposes are 
required to bear the Louisiana Office of Conservation serial 
number of any Class VI carbon dioxide sequestration well 
associated with the submittal. 

2. All applications, reports, plans, requests, maps, 
cross-sections, drawings, opinions, recommendations, 
calculations, evaluations, or other submittals including or 
comprising geoscientific work as defined by La. R.S. 
37:711.1 et seq. must be prepared, sealed, signed, and dated 
by a licensed Professional Geoscientist (P.G.) authorized to 
practice by and in good standing with the Louisiana Board 
of Professional Geoscientists.  

3. All applications, reports, plans, requests, 
specifications, details, calculations, drawings, opinions, 
recommendations, evaluations or other submittals including 
or comprising the practice of engineering as defined by La. 
R.S. 37:681 et seq. must be prepared, sealed, signed, and 
dated by a licensed Professional Engineer (P.E.) authorized 
to practice by and in good standing with the Louisiana 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board. 

4. The commissioner may prescribe additional 
requirements for Class VI wells or projects in order to 
protect USDWs and the health, safety, and welfare of the 
public. 

I. Confidentiality of Information. Information obtained 
by any rule, regulations, order, or permit term or condition 
adopted or issued hereunder, or by any investigation

authorized thereby, shall be available to the public, unless 
nondisclosure is requested in writing and such information is 
determined by the commissioner to require confidentiality to 
protect trade secrets, processes, operations, style of work, 
apparatus, statistical data, income, profits, losses, or in order 
to protect any plan, process, tool, mechanism, or compound; 
provided that such nondisclosure shall not apply to 
information that is necessary for use by duly authorized 
officers or employees of state or federal government in 
carrying out their responsibilities under these regulations or 
applicable federal or state law. If no claim is made at the 
time of submission, the commissioner may make the 
information available to the public without further notice. 
Claims of confidentiality for the following information shall 
be denied: 

1. the name and address of any permit applicant or 
permittee; and 

2. information which deals with the existence, 
absence, or level of contaminants in drinking water or zones 
other than the approved injection zone. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§605. Permit Requirements, Application, Signatories 

A. Applicability. The rules and regulations of this 
Section apply to all Class VI injection wells or project 
applications required to be filed with the Department of 
Natural Resources (Office of Conservation) for authorization 
under R.S. 1950 Title 30. 

B. The commissioner cannot issue a permit on an area 
basis for a Class VI well or permit. 

C. Application Required 
1. Permit Application. New applicants, permittees, 

and any person required to have a permit shall complete, 
sign, and submit an application to the commissioner as 
described in this Section.  

a. the applicant shall submit one signed paper 
version of the application and an exact duplicate of the 
application in an electronic format approved by the 
commissioner. The commissioner may request additional 
paper copies of the application, either in its entirety or in 
part, as needed.  

b. the electronic version of the application shall 
contain the following certification statement: 

This document is an electronic version of the application titled 
(Insert Document Title) dated (Insert Application Date). This 
electronic version is an exact duplicate of the paper copy 
submitted in (Insert the Number of Volumes Comprising the 
Full Application) to the Louisiana Office of Conservation. 

c. The applicant shall submit the application 
identified in §605.C.1 above to the USEPA in an electronic 
format approved by the USEPA. 

2. Time to Apply. Any person who performs or 
proposes an underground injection for which a permit is or 
will be required shall submit an application to the 
commissioner. 

a. for new Class VI injection wells, a reasonable 
time before construction is expected to begin. 

D. Who Applies. It is the duty of the owner of a facility 
or activity to submit an application for permit. When a
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facility is owned by one person and operated by another, it is 
the operator's duty to obtain a permit. 

E. Signature Requirements. All permit applications shall 
be signed as follows. 

1. Corporations. By a principal executive officer of at 
least the level of vice-president, or duly authorized 
representative of that person if the representative performs 
similar policy making functions for the corporation. A 
person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. the authorization is made in writing by a 
principle executive officer of at least the level of vice-
president; 

b. the authorization specifies either an individual or 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of a 
sequestration well, such as the position of plant manager, 
superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility. A 
duly authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and 

c. the written authorization is submitted to the 
Office of Conservation. 

2. Limited Liability Company (LLC). By a member if 
the LLC is member-managed, by a manager if the LLC is 
manager-managed, or by a duly authorized representative 
only if: 

a. the authorization is made in writing by an 
individual who would otherwise have signature authority as 
outlined in §605.E.2 above; 

b. the authorization specifies either an individual or 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of a 
sequestration well, such as the position of plant manager, 
superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility. A 
duly authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and 

c. the written authorization is submitted to the 
Office of Conservation. 

3. Partnership or Sole Proprietorship. By a general 
partner or proprietor, respectively; or 

4. Public Agency. By either a principal executive 
officer or a ranking elected official of a municipality, state, 
federal, or other public agency. 

F. Signature Reauthorization. If an authorization under 
§605.E is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of a 
sequestration well, a new authorization satisfying the 
signature requirements must be submitted to the Office of 
Conservation before or concurrent with any reports, 
information, or applications required to be signed by an 
authorized representative. 

G. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
§605.E shall make the following certification on the 
application: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or supervision 
in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 
personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 
submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who 
manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for 
gathering the information, the information submitted is, to the 
best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. 
I am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting 
false information, including the possibility of fine and 
imprisonment for knowing violations.” 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§607. Application Content 

A. The following minimum information required in §607 
shall be submitted with a permit application to construct a 
new Class VI well or convert any existing well for Class VI 
service. The applicant shall also refer to the appropriate 
application form for any additional information that may be 
required. For information already on file with the office of 
conservation, the commissioner may accept the required 
information by reference provided they are current, readily 
available to the commissioner, and sufficiently identified to 
be retrieved. 

B. Administrative information: 
1. all required state application form(s); 
2. the nonrefundable application fee(s) as per LAC 

43:XIX.Chapter 7 or successor document; 
3. the name and mailing address of the applicant and 

the physical address of the sequestration well facility; 
4. the operator's name, address, telephone number, 

and email address; 
5. ownership status, and status as federal, state, 

private, public, or other entity; 
6. a brief description of the nature of the business 

associated with the activity; 
7. the activity or activities conducted by the applicant 

which require the applicant to obtain a permit under these 
regulations; 

8. up to four SIC Codes which best reflect the 
principal products or services provided by the facility; 

9. a listing of all permits or construction approvals 
that the applicant has received or applied for under any of 
the following programs or which specifically affect the legal 
or technical ability of the applicant to undertake the activity 
or activities to be conducted by the applicant under the 
permit being sought: 

a. the Louisiana Hazardous Waste Management; 
b. this or any other underground injection control 

program; 
c. NPDES program under the Clean Water Act; 
d. prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) 

program under the Clean Air Act; 
e. nonattainment program under the Clean Air Act; 
f. National Emission Standards for Hazardous 

Pollutants (NESHAPS) preconstruction approval under the 
Clean Air Act; 

g. ocean dumping permit under the Marine 
Protection Research and Sanctuaries Act; 

h. dredge or fill permits under section 404 of the 
Clean Water Act; and  

i. other relevant environmental permits including, 
but not limited to any state permits issued under the 
Louisiana Coastal Resources Program, the Louisiana Surface 
Mining Program or the Louisiana Natural and Scenic 
Streams System; 

10. acknowledgment as to whether the facility is 
located on Indian lands or other lands under the jurisdiction 
or protection of the federal government, or whether the 
facility is located on state water bottoms or other lands 
owned by or under the jurisdiction or protection of the state 
of Louisiana; 
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11. documentation of financial responsibility or 
documentation of the method by which proof of financial 
responsibility will be provided as required in §609.C. Before 
making a final permit decision, final (official) 
documentation of financial responsibility must be submitted 
to and approved by the Office of Conservation; 

12. names and addresses of all property owners within 
the area of review of the Class VI well or project. 

C. Application Contents: An application submitted to 
construct a new Class VI well or convert any existing well to 
Class VI shall contain the following geological and technical 
information: 

1. Maps and Related Information 
a. map(s) showing property boundaries of the 

facility, the location of the proposed Class VI well, and the 
applicable area of review consistent with §§615.B and 
615.C. USGS topographic maps with a scale of 1:24,000 
may be used. The map boundaries must extend at least two 
miles beyond the area of review and include as applicable: 
 i. the section, township and range of the area 
where the activity is located and any parish, city, 
municipality, state, and tribal boundaries. 
 ii. within the area of review, the map(s) must 
identify all injection wells, producing wells, abandoned 
wells, plugged wells or dry holes, deep stratigraphic 
boreholes, State- or USEPA-approved subsurface cleanup 
sites, surface bodies of water, springs, surface and 
subsurface mines, quarries, water wells, other pertinent 
surface features including structures intended for human 
occupancy, and roads. 
 iii. only information of public record is required to 
be included on the map(s), however, the applicant is required 
to make a diligent search to locate all wells not listed in the 
public record. 
 iv. for water wells on the facility property and 
adjacent property, submit a tabulation of well depth, water 
level, owner, chemical analysis, and other pertinent data. If 
these wells do not exist, submit this information for a 
minimum of three other wells in the area of review or a 
statement why this information was not included. 
 v. the protocol followed to identify, locate, and 
ascertain the condition of all wells within the area of review 
that penetrate the injection or confining zone. 

b. information on the geologic structure and 
hydrogeologic properties of the proposed sequestration site 
and overlying formations, to include: 
 i. geologic and topographic maps and cross-
sections illustrating regional geology, geologic structure, and 
hydrology. 
 ii. maps and cross-sections to a scale needed to 
detail the local geology, geologic structure, and hydrology. 
The maps and cross-sections must extend at least two miles 
beyond the area of review; 
 iii. the location, orientation, and properties of 
known or suspected faults and fractures that may transect the 
confining zone(s) in the area of review and a determination 
that they would not interfere with containment; 
 iv. maps and stratigraphic cross-sections showing 
the general vertical and lateral limits of all USDWs, water 
wells and springs within the area of review, their position 
relative to the injection zone(s) and the direction of water 
movement, if known. 

 v. in areas with limited subsurface well control or 
where the subsurface geology is in doubt and cannot be 
described adequately, the commissioner may request the 
applicant to provide geophysical seismic data of the project 
area. 

c. any other maps required by the commissioner to 
evaluate the proposed project. 

2. Application Technical Information 
a. data on the depth, areal extent, thickness, 

mineralogy, porosity, permeability, and capillary pressure of 
the injection and confining zone(s); including geology/facies 
changes based on field data which may include geologic 
cores, outcrop data, seismic surveys, well logs, and names 
and lithologic descriptions; 

b. geomechanical information on fractures, stress, 
ductility, rock strength, and in situ fluid pressures within the 
confining zone(s); 

c. information on the region’s seismic history 
including the presence and depth of seismic sources and a 
determination that the seismicity would not interfere with 
containment; and  

d. a tabulation of all wells within the area of review 
that penetrate the base of the USDW. Such data must include 
a description of each well’s type, construction, date drilled, 
location, depth, record of plugging and/or completion, and 
any other information the commissioner may require; 

e. baseline geochemical data on subsurface 
formations, including injection zones, confining zones and 
all USDWs in the area of review; 

f. proposed operating data: 
 i. average and maximum daily rate and volume 
and/or mass and total anticipated volume and/or mass of the 
carbon dioxide stream; 
 ii. average and maximum injection pressure; 
 iii. source(s) of the carbon dioxide stream; and 
 iv. analysis of the chemical and physical 
characteristics of the carbon dioxide stream. 

g. proposed pre-operational formation testing 
program to obtain an analysis of the chemical and physical 
characteristics of the injection zone(s) and confining zone(s) 
and that meets the requirements at §617.B; 

h. proposed stimulation program, a description of 
stimulation fluids to be used and a determination that 
stimulation will not interfere with containment; 

i. proposed injection operation procedures; 
j. schematics or other appropriate drawings of the 

surface (wellhead and related appurtenances) and subsurface 
construction details of the well; 

k. injection well construction procedures that meet 
the requirements of §617.A; 

l. proposed area of review and corrective action 
plan that meets the requirements under §§615.B and 615.C; 

m. demonstration, satisfactory to the commissioner, 
that the applicant has met the financial responsibility 
requirements under §609.C; 

n. proposed testing and monitoring plan required by 
§625; 

o. proposed injection well plugging plan required 
by §631; 

p. proposed post-injection site care and site closure 
plan required by §633.A.3; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 46, No. 10   October 20, 2020 1463

q. at the commissioner’s discretion, a demonstration 
of an alternative post-injection site care timeframe required 
by §633.A.3; 

r. proposed emergency and remedial response plan 
required (contingency plans for well failures or breaches) by 
§623; 

s. a list of contacts, submitted to the commissioner 
for those states and tribes identified to be within the area of 
review based on information provided in §607.C.1.a.i; and 

t. any additional information required by the 
commissioner to evaluate the proposed project. 

3. The commissioner shall notify in writing, any states 
or tribes within the area of review based on information 
provided by the applicant in §§607.C.1.a.i and 607.C.2.s. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§609. Legal Permit Conditions 

A. Applicability. The rules and regulations of this 
Section set forth legal conditions for Class VI well permits. 
Permits for owners or operators of Class VI injection wells 
shall include conditions meeting applicable requirements of 
§§609, 615, 617, 619, 621, 623, 625, 627, 629, and 631. All 
conditions applicable to all permits shall be incorporated 
into the permits either expressly or by reference. If 
incorporated by reference, a specific citation to these 
regulations must be given in the permit 

B. Signatories. All reports required by permits and other 
information requested by the commissioner shall be signed 
as in applications by a person described in §605.D. 

C. Financial Responsibility 
1. The permit shall require the permittee to maintain 

financial responsibility and resources to close, plug, and 
abandon the underground injection wells and, where 
necessary, related surface facility, and for post-injection site 
care and site closure in a manner prescribed by the 
commissioner. Class VI well operators must also comply 
with §609.C.4. The permittee must show evidence of 
financial responsibility to the commissioner by the 
submission of: 

a. a certificate of deposit issued in sole favor of the 
Office of Conservation in a form prescribed by the 
commissioner. A certificate of deposit may not be 
withdrawn, canceled, rolled over or amended in any manner 
without the approval of the commissioner; 

b. a performance bond (surety bond) in sole favor of 
the Office of Conservation in a form prescribed by the 
commissioner; 

c. a letter-of-credit in sole favor of the Office of 
Conservation in a form prescribed by the commissioner; 

d. site-specific trust account, or 
e. any other instrument of financial assurance 

acceptable to the commissioner. 
2. The amount of funds available in the financial 

instrument shall be no less than the amount identified in the 
cost estimate of the closure plan and any required post-
injection site care and site closure, and must be approved by 
the commissioner. 

3. Any financial instrument filed in satisfaction of the 
financial responsibility requirements shall be issued by and 
drawn on a bank or other financial institution authorized 

under state or federal law to operate in the State of 
Louisiana. 

4. Class VI well owners, operators, or applicants shall 
comply with these additional requirements of financial 
responsibility. 

a.i. Qualifying financial responsibility instruments 
must be sufficient to cover the cost of meeting the 
requirements of: 

(a). corrective action of §615.C; 
(b). injection well plugging of §631; 
(c). post-injection site care and site closure of 

§633; and 
(d). emergency and remedial response of §623.  

 ii. The owner/operator shall maintain third party 
insurance at a sufficient level to respond to any emergency 
or to perform any remedial action that meets the 
requirements of §623. 

b. Financial responsibility instruments must be 
sufficient to address endangerment of underground sources 
of drinking water. 

c. Qualifying financial responsibility instruments 
must comprise protective conditions of coverage. Protective 
conditions of coverage must include at a minimum 
cancellation, renewal, and continuation provisions, 
specifications on when the provider becomes liable 
following a notice of cancellation if there is a failure to 
renew with a new qualifying financial instrument, and 
requirements for the provider to meet a minimum rating, 
minimum capitalization, and ability to pass the bond rating 
when applicable: 
 i. cancellation: an owner or operator must 
provide that their financial mechanism may not cancel, 
terminate or fail to renew except for failure to pay such 
financial instrument. If there is a failure to pay the financial 
instrument, the financial institution may elect to cancel, 
terminate, or fail to renew the instrument by sending notice 
by certified mail to the owner or operator and the 
commissioner. The cancellation must not be final for 120 
days after receipt of the cancellation notice. The owner or 
operator must provide an alternate financial responsibility 
demonstration within 60 days of notice of cancellation, and 
if an alternate financial responsibility demonstration is not 
acceptable or possible, any funds from the instrument being 
cancelled must be released within 60 days of notification by 
the commissioner; 
 ii. renewal: owners or operators must renew all 
financial instruments, if an instrument expires, for the entire 
term of the geologic sequestration project. The instrument 
may be automatically renewed as long as the owner or 
operator has the option of renewal at the face amount of the 
expiring instrument. The automatic renewal of the 
instrument must, at a minimum, provide the holder with the 
option of renewal at the face amount of the expiring 
financial instrument; 
 iii. cancellation, termination, or failure to renew 
may not occur and the financial instrument will remain in 
full force and effect in the event that on or before the date of 
expiration the commissioner deems the facility abandoned; 
or the permit is terminated or revoked or a new permit is 
denied; or closure is ordered by the commissioner or a court 
of competent jurisdiction; or the owner or operator is named 
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as debtor in a voluntary or involuntary proceeding under 
Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code; or the amount due is paid. 

d. Qualifying financial responsibility instruments 
must be approved by the commissioner: 
 i. the commissioner shall consider and approve 
the financial responsibility demonstration for all the phases 
of the geologic sequestration project before issuing any 
authorization to begin geologic sequestration of carbon 
dioxide in a Class VI well; 
 ii. the owner or operator must provide any 
updated information related to their financial responsibility 
instrument(s) annually and if there are any changes, the 
commissioner must evaluate the financial responsibility 
demonstration to confirm that the instrument(s) used remain 
adequate. The owner or operator must maintain financial 
responsibility requirements regardless of the status of the 
commissioner's review of the financial responsibility 
demonstration; 
 iii. the commissioner may disapprove the use of a 
financial instrument if he determines it is not sufficient to 
meet the financial responsibility requirements. 

e. The owner or operator may demonstrate financial 
responsibility by using one or multiple qualifying financial 
instruments for specific phases of the geologic sequestration 
project: 
 i. in the event that the owner or operator 
combines more than one instrument for a specific geologic 
sequestration phase (e.g., well plugging), such combination 
must be limited to instruments that are not based on financial 
strength or performance, for example trust funds, certificates 
of deposit, surety bonds guaranteeing payment into a trust 
fund, and letters of credit. In this case, it is the combination 
of mechanisms, rather than the single mechanism, which 
must provide financial responsibility for an amount at least 
equal to the current cost estimate. 

f. The requirement to maintain adequate financial 
responsibility and resources is directly enforceable 
regardless of whether the requirement is a condition of the 
permit. The owner or operator must maintain financial 
responsibility and resources until: 

i. the commissioner receives and approves the 
completed post-injection site care and site closure plan; and 
 ii. the commissioner approves site closure. 

g. The owner or operator may be released from a 
financial instrument in the following circumstances: 
 i. the owner or operator has completed the phase 
of the geologic sequestration project for which the financial 
instrument was required and has fulfilled all its financial 
obligations as determined by the commissioner, including 
obtaining financial responsibility for the next phase of the 
geologic sequestration project, if required; or 
 ii. the owner or operator has submitted a 
replacement financial instrument and received written 
approval from the commissioner accepting the new financial 
instrument and releasing the owner or operator from the 
previous financial instrument. 

h. The owner or operator must have a detailed 
written estimate, in current dollars, of the cost of performing 
corrective action on wells in the area of review, plugging the 
injection well(s), post-injection site care and site closure, 
and emergency and remedial response: 

 i. the cost estimate must be performed for each 
phase separately and must be based on the costs to the Office 
of Conservation of contracting a third party to perform the 
required activities. A third party is a party who is not within 
the corporate structure of the owner or operator; 
 ii. during the active life of the geologic 
sequestration project, the owner or operator must adjust the 
cost estimate for inflation within 60 days before the 
anniversary date of the establishment of the financial 
instrument(s) and provide this adjustment to the 
commissioner. The owner or operator must also provide the 
commissioner written updates of adjustments to the cost 
estimate within 60 days of any amendments to the area of 
review and corrective action plan, the injection well 
plugging plan, the post-injection site care and site closure 
plan, and the emergency and remedial response plan; 
 iii. the commissioner must approve any decrease 
or increase to the initial cost estimate. During the active life 
of the geologic sequestration project, the owner or operator 
must revise the cost estimate no later than 60 days after the 
commissioner has approved the request to modify the area of 
review and corrective action plan, the injection well 
plugging plan, the post-injection site care and site closure 
plan, and the emergency and response plan, if the change in 
the plan increases the cost. If the change to the plans 
decreases the cost, any withdrawal of funds must be 
approved by the commissioner. Any decrease to the value of 
the financial assurance instrument must first be approved by 
the commissioner. The revised cost estimate must be 
adjusted for inflation as specified at §609.C.4.h.ii. above; 
 iv. whenever the current cost estimate increases to 
an amount greater than the face amount of a financial 
instrument currently in use, the owner or operator, within 60 
days after the increase, must either cause the face amount to 
be increased to an amount at least equal to the current cost 
estimate and submit evidence of such increase to the 
commissioner, or obtain other financial responsibility 
instruments to cover the increase. Whenever the current cost 
estimate decreases, the face amount of the financial 
assurance instrument may be reduced to the amount of the 
current cost estimate only after the owner or operator has 
received written approval from the commissioner. 

i. The owner or operator must notify the 
commissioner by certified mail of adverse financial 
conditions such as bankruptcy that may affect the ability to 
carry out injection well plugging and post-injection site care 
and site closure: 
 i. in the event that the owner or operator or the 
third party provider of a financial responsibility instrument 
is going through a bankruptcy, the owner or operator must 
notify the commissioner by certified mail of the 
commencement of a voluntary or involuntary proceeding 
under Title 11 (Bankruptcy), U.S. Code, naming the owner 
or operator as debtor, within 10 days after commencement of 
the proceeding. 
 ii. an owner or operator who fulfills the financial 
responsibility requirements by obtaining an approved 
instrument of financial assurance will be deemed to be 
without the required financial assurance in the event of 
bankruptcy of the trustee or issuing institution, or a 
suspension or revocation of the authority of the trustee
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institution to act as trustee of the institution issuing the 
financial assurance instrument. The owner or operator must 
establish other financial assurance within 60 days after such 
an event. 

j. The owner or operator must provide the 
commissioner with an adjustment of the cost estimate within 
60 days of notification by the commissioner, if the 
commissioner determines during the annual evaluation of the 
qualifying financial responsibility instrument(s) that the 
most recent demonstration is no longer adequate to cover the 
cost of corrective action, injection well plugging, post-
injection site care and site closure, and emergency and 
remedial response. 

k. The commissioner must approve the use and 
length of pay-in-periods for trust funds or escrow accounts. 

5. The permit shall require the permittee to maintain 
financial responsibility as specified at §609.C.1 until: 

a. the well has been plugged and abandoned in 
accordance with an approved plugging and abandonment 
plan pursuant to §631 and submitted a plugging and 
abandonment report pursuant to §631.A.5; 

b. the well has been converted in compliance with 
the requirements of §609.L.7; or 

c. the transferor of a permit has received notice 
from the commissioner that the owner or operator receiving 
transfer of the permit, the new permittee, has demonstrated 
financial responsibility for the well. 

D. Duty to Comply. The permittee must comply with all 
conditions of a permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the act and is grounds for 
enforcement action or permit termination, revocation and 
reissuance, or modification; or for denial of a permit renewal 
application if the commissioner determines that such 
noncompliance endangers underground sources of drinking 
water.  

E. Duty to Reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue 
an activity regulated by a permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee must apply for and obtain a new 
permit. 

F. Duty to Halt or Reduce Activity. It shall not be a 
defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit. 

G. Duty to Mitigate. The permittee shall take all 
reasonable steps to minimize or correct any adverse impact 
on the environment such as the contamination of 
underground sources of drinking water resulting from 
noncompliance with this permit. 

H. Proper Operation and Maintenance. The permittee 
shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities 
and systems of treatment and control (and related 
appurtenances) which are installed or used by the permittee 
to achieve compliance with the conditions of his permit. 
Proper operation and maintenance includes effective 
performance, adequate funding, adequate operation staffing 
and training, and adequate laboratory process controls, 
including appropriate quality assurance procedures. This 
provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary 
facilities or similar systems only when necessary to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of the permit. 

I. Inspection and Entry. Inspection and entry shall be 
allowed as prescribed in R.S. of 1950, Title 30, Section 4. 

J. Compliance. Compliance with a permit during its 
term constitutes compliance, for purposes of enforcement, 
with the act and these regulations. 

K. Property Rights. The issuance of a permit does not 
convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive 
privilege or servitude. 

L. Notification Requirements 
1. Planned Changes. The permittee shall give notice to 

the commissioner as soon as possible of any planned 
physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility. 

2. Notice of Well Completion. A new injection well 
injection well may not commence injection until 
construction is complete, a notice of completion has been 
submitted to the commissioner, the commissioner has 
inspected or otherwise reviewed the injection well and finds 
it is in compliance with the conditions of the permit, and the 
commissioner has given approval to begin injection. 

3. Anticipated Noncompliance. The permittee shall 
give advance notice to the commissioner of any planned 
changes in the permitted facility or activity which may result 
in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

4. Transfers. A permit is not transferable to any person 
except after notice to the commissioner. The commissioner 
may require modification or revocation and reissuance of the 
permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate 
such other requirements as may be necessary under the Safe 
Drinking Water Act. (See §613.) 

5. Compliance Schedules. Report of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule in 
these regulations shall be submitted to the commissioner no 
later than 14 days following each schedule date. 

6. Twenty-Four Hour Reporting 
a. The permittee shall report to the commissioner 

any noncompliance which may endanger health or the 
environment. Any information pertinent to the 
noncompliance shall be reported by telephone at (225) 342-
5515 within 24 hours from the time the permittee becomes 
aware of the circumstances. A written submission shall also 
be provided within five days of the time the permittee 
becomes aware of the circumstances and shall contain a 
description of the noncompliance and its cause; the period of 
noncompliance, including exact dates and times, and if the 
noncompliance has not been corrected, the anticipated time 
it is expected to continue; and steps taken or planned to 
reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the non-
compliance. 

b. The following additional information must be 
reported within the 24-hour period provided above: 
 i. any monitoring or other information which 
indicates that any contaminant may cause an endangerment 
to a USDW; 
 ii. any noncompliance with a permit condition or 
malfunction of the injection system which may cause fluid 
migration into or between USDWs. 

7. The permittee shall notify the commissioner at such 
times as the permit requires before conversion or 
abandonment of the well or before closure of the project. 
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8. Other Noncompliance. The permittee shall report 
all instances of noncompliance not reported under §§609.L.5 
and 609.L.6, at the time quarterly reports are submitted. The 
reports shall contain the information listed in §609.L.6. 

9. Other Information. Where the permittee becomes 
aware that it failed to submit any relevant facts in a permit 
application, or submitted incorrect information in a permit 
application or in any report to the commissioner, it shall 
promptly submit such facts or information. 

M. Duration of Permits 
1. UIC permits for Class VI wells shall be issued for 

the operating life of the facility and the post-injection site 
care period. The commissioner shall review each issued 
Class VI well permit at least once every five years to 
determine whether it should be modified, revoked and 
reissued, terminated, or a minor modification made. 

2. The term of a permit shall not be extended by 
modification beyond the maximum duration specified in this 
Section, except as provided in §609.M.4 below. 

3. The commissioner may issue, for cause, any permit 
for a duration that is less than the full allowable term under 
this Section. 

4. The conditions of an expired permit may continue 
in force until the effective date of a new permit if the 
permittee has submitted a timely and a complete application 
for a new permit, and the commissioner, through no fault of 
the permittee, does not issue a new permit with an effective 
date on or before the expiration date of the previous permit 
(e.g., when issuance is impracticable due to time or resource 
constraints). 

a. Permits continued under this Section remain fully 
effective and enforceable. 

b. When the permittee is not in compliance with the 
conditions of the expiring or expired permit, the 
commissioner may choose to do any or all of the following: 
 i. initiate enforcement action based upon the 
permit which has been continued; 
 ii. issue a notice of intent to deny the new permit. 
If the permit is denied, the owner or operator would then be 
required to cease the activities authorized by the continued 
permit or be subject to enforcement action for operating 
without a permit; 
 iii. issue a new permit under the requirements of 
these rules for issuing a new permit with appropriate 
conditions; or 
 iv. take other actions authorized by these 
regulations. 

N. Schedules of Compliance. The permit may, when 
appropriate, specify a schedule of compliance leading to 
compliance with the act and these regulations. 

1. Time for Compliance. Any schedules of compliance 
under this Section shall require compliance as soon as 
possible but not later than three years after the effective date 
of the permit. 

2. Interim Dates. Except as provided in §609N.2.b, if 
a permit establishes a schedule of compliance which exceeds 
one year from the date of permit issuance, the schedule shall 
set forth interim requirements and the dates for their 
achievement. 

a. The time between interim dates shall not exceed 
one year. 

b. If the time necessary for completion of any 
interim requirements (such as the construction of a control 
facility) is more than one year and is not readily divisible 
into stages for completion, the permit shall specify interim 
dates for submission of reports of progress toward 
completion of the interim requirements and indicate a 
projected completion date. 

3. Reporting. The permit shall be written to require 
that progress reports be submitted no later than 30 days 
following each interim date and the final date of compliance. 

O. Additional Conditions. The commissioner shall 
impose on a case-by-case basis such additional conditions as 
are necessary to protect underground sources of drinking 
water. 

P. Duty to Establish and Maintain Mechanical Integrity. 
The permittee of a Class VI injection well shall establish 
mechanical integrity prior to commencing injection and on a 
schedule determined by these rules or the commissioner. 
Thereafter, the owner or operator of Class VI injection wells 
must maintain mechanical integrity as defined in §627. The 
Class VI injection well owner or operator shall give notice to 
the commissioner when it is determined the injection well is 
lacking mechanical integrity. Upon receiving such notice, 
the operator shall immediately cease injection into the well. 
The well shall remain out of injection service until such time 
as well mechanical integrity is restored to the satisfaction of 
the commissioner. The owner or operator may resume 
injection upon written notification from the Director that the 
owner or operator has demonstrated mechanical integrity 
pursuant to §627. 

Q. The issuance of a permit does not authorize any injury 
to persons or property or invasion of other private rights, or 
any infringement of State or local law or regulations. 

R. In addition to conditions required in all permits the 
commissioner shall establish conditions in permits as 
required on a case-by-case basis, to provide for and assure 
compliance with all applicable requirements of the SDWA 
and 40 CFR Parts 144, 145, 146 and 124. 

S. New permits, and to the extent allowed under §613 
modified or revoked and reissued permits, shall incorporate 
each of the applicable requirements referenced in this 
section. An applicable requirement is a State statutory or 
regulatory requirement that takes effect prior to final 
administrative disposition of the permit. An applicable 
requirement is also any requirement that takes effect prior to 
the modification or revocation and reissuance of a permit, to 
the extent allowed in §613.  

T. Incorporation. All permit conditions shall be 
incorporated either expressly or by reference. If incorporated 
by reference, a specific citation to the applicable regulations 
or requirements must be given in the permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§611. Permitting Process 

A. Applicability. This Section contains procedures for 
issuing all Class VI permits. 

B. Application Submission and Review 
1. Any person required to have a UIC permit shall 

submit an application to the Office of Conservation, UIC 
Section, as outlined in §605. 
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2. Check for completeness: 
a. the commissioner shall not issue a permit before 

receiving an application form and any required supplemental 
information which are completed to his satisfaction. The 
completeness of any application for a permit shall be judged 
independently of the status of any other permit application or 
permit for the same facility or activity; 

b. each application for a permit submitted for a new 
UIC injection well will be reviewed for completeness by the 
commissioner and the applicant will be notified of the 
commissioner's decision within 30 days of its receipt. Each 
application for a permit submitted for an existing injection 
well will be reviewed for completeness and the applicant 
will be notified of the commissioner's decision within 60 
days of receipt. Upon completing the review, the 
commissioner shall notify the applicant in writing whether 
the application is complete. 

3. Incomplete Applications 
a. If the application is incomplete, the 

commissioner shall list in the notification in §611.B.2.b 
above, the information necessary to make the application 
complete. When the application is for an existing UIC 
injection well, the commissioner shall specify in the notice a 
date for submitting the necessary information. The 
commissioner shall notify the applicant that the application 
is complete upon receiving this information. The 
commissioner may request additional information from an 
applicant only when necessary to clarify, modify, or 
supplement previously submitted material. Requests for such 
additional information will not render an application 
incomplete. 

b. If an applicant fails or refuses to correct 
deficiencies found in the application, the permit may be 
denied and, for existing wells, appropriate enforcement 
actions may be taken under the applicable statutory 
provision. 

4. If the commissioner decides that a site visit is 
necessary for any reason in conjunction with the processing 
of an application, he shall notify the applicant, state the 
reason for the visit, and a date shall be scheduled. 

C. Draft Permits 
1. Once an application is complete, the commissioner 

shall prepare a draft permit or deny the application. 
2. The applicant may appeal the decision to deny the 

application in a letter to the commissioner who may then call 
a public hearing through §611.G.1. 

3. If the commissioner prepares a draft permit, it shall 
contain the following information where appropriate: 

a. all conditions under §§609, 615, 617, 619, 621, 
623, 625, 627, 629, and 631; 

b. all compliance schedules under §609.N; and 
c. all monitoring requirements under applicable 

Paragraphs in §625. 
4. All draft permits prepared under this Section may 

be accompanied by a fact sheet pursuant to §611.D, and shall 
be publicly noticed in accordance with §611.E, and made 
available for public comment pursuant to §611.F. 

D. Fact Sheet 
1. A fact sheet shall be prepared for every draft permit 

for all major UIC facilities or activities and for every draft 
permit which the commissioner finds is the subject of wide-
spread public interest or raises major issues. The fact sheet 

shall briefly set forth the principal facts and the significant 
factual, legal, methodological and policy questions 
considered in preparing the draft permits. The commissioner 
shall send this fact sheet to the applicant and, on request, to 
any other person. 

2. The fact sheet shall include, when applicable: 
a. a brief description of the type of facility or 

activity which is the subject of the draft permit; 
b. the type and quantity of wastes, fluids, or 

pollutants which are proposed to be or are being injected; 
c. a brief summary of the basis for the draft permit 

conditions including references to applicable statutory or 
regulatory provisions; 

d. reasons why any requested variances or 
alternatives to required standards do or do not appear 
justified; 

e. a description of the procedures for reaching a 
final decision on the draft permit including: 
 i. the beginning and ending dates of the comment 
period under §611.F and the address where comments will 
be received; 
 ii. procedures for requesting a hearing and the 
nature of that hearing; and 
 iii. any other procedures by which the public may 
participate in the final decision; 

f. name and telephone number of a person to 
contact for information. 

3. All persons identified in §§611.E.3.a.i, ii, iii, and iv 
shall be mailed or emailed a copy of the fact sheet, the draft 
permit, and a notice that the permit application will be 
available online. 

E. Public Notice of Permit Actions and Public Comment 
Period 

1. Scope 
a. The commissioner shall give public notice 

(including a notice of intent to deny a permit application) 
that the following actions have occurred: 
 i. a draft permit has been prepared under §611.C; 
and 
 ii. a hearing has been scheduled under §611.G. 

b. No public notice is required when a request for 
permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or 
termination is denied under §613. Written notice of that 
denial shall be given to the requester and to the permittee. 

c. Public notices may describe more than one 
permit or permit action. 

2. Timing 
a. Public notice of the preparation of a draft permit 

required under §611.E.1 shall allow 30 days for public 
comment. 

b. Public notice of a public hearing shall be given 
30 days before the hearing. (Public notice of the hearing may 
be given at the same time as public notice of the draft permit 
and the two notices may be combined). 

3. Methods. Public notice of activities described in 
§611.E.1.a shall be given by the following methods: 

a. by electronic mailing (emailing) or by mailing a 
copy of a notice to the following persons (any person 
otherwise entitled to receive notice under this Section may 
waive his rights to receive notice for any classes and 
categories of permits): 
 i. the applicant; 
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 ii. any other agency which the commissioner 
knows has issued or is required to issue a permit for the 
same facility or activity (including EPA); 
 iii. federal and state agencies with jurisdiction 
over fish, shellfish, and wildlife resources and over coastal 
zone management plans, the Advisory Council on Historic 
Preservation, the State Archeological Survey and Antiquities 
Commission, the Director of the Public Water Supply 
Supervision program in the State, the Department of Natural 
Resource, and other appropriate government authorities, 
including any unit of local government having jurisdiction 
over the area where the facility is proposed to be located, 
any affected states or Indian Tribes; and 
 iv. persons on a UIC mailing list developed by: 

(a). including those who request in writing to be 
on the list; 

(b). soliciting persons for “area lists” from 
participants in past permit proceedings in that area; and 

(c). notifying the public of the opportunity to be 
put on the mailing list through periodic publication in the 
public press and in such publications as Regional and State 
funded newsletters, environmental bulletins, or State law 
journals. (The commissioner may update the mailing list 
from time to time by requesting written indication of 
continued interest from those listed. The commissioner may 
delete from the list the name of any person who fails to 
respond to such a request.) 

b. publication of a notice in a daily or weekly 
newspaper within the area affected by the facility or activity; 

c. in a manner constituting legal notice to the public 
under state law; and 

d. any other method reasonably calculated to give 
actual notice of the action in question to the persons 
potentially affected by it, including press releases or any 
other form or medium to elicit public participation. 

4. Contents 
a. All Public Notices. Public notices issued under 

this Section shall contain the following information: 
 i. name and address of the Division of the Office 
of Conservation processing the permit action for which 
notice is being given; 
 ii. name and address of the permittee or permit 
applicant and, if different, of the facility or activity regulated 
by the permit; 
 iii. a brief description of the business conducted at 
the facility or activity described in the permit application or 
the draft permit; 
 iv. name, address, and telephone number of a 
person from whom interested persons may obtain copies of 
the draft permit, the fact sheet, the application, and further 
information concerning the application; 
 v. a brief description of the comment procedures 
required by §611.F and the time and place of any hearing 
that will be held, including a brief statement of procedures to 
request a hearing (unless a hearing has already been 
scheduled) and other procedures by which the public may 
participate in the final permit decision; and 
 vi. any additional information considered 
necessary or proper. 

b. Public Notices for Hearings. In addition to the 
general public notice described in §611.E.4.a, the public 

notice of a hearing under §611.G shall contain the following 
information: 
 i. reference to the date of previous public notices 
relating to the permit; 
 ii. date, time, and place of the hearing; and 
 iii. a brief description of the nature and purpose of 
the hearing, including the applicable rules and procedures. 

F. Public Comments and Requests for Public Hearings. 
During the public comment period provided under §611.G, 
any interested person may submit written comments on the 
draft permit and may request a public hearing, if no hearing 
has already been scheduled. A request for a public hearing 
shall be in writing and shall state the nature of the issues 
proposed to be raised in the hearing. All comments shall be 
considered in making the final decision and shall be 
answered as provided in §611.H. 

G. Public Hearings 
1. The commissioner shall hold a public hearing 

whenever he finds, on the basis of requests, a significant 
degree of public interest in (a) draft permit(s). The 
commissioner also may hold a public hearing at his 
discretion, whenever, for instance, such a hearing might 
clarify one or more issues involved in the permit decision. 
Public notice of the hearing shall be given as specified in 
§611.G. 

2. Any person may submit oral or written statements 
and data concerning the draft permit. Reasonable limits may 
be set upon the time allowed for oral statements, and the 
submission of statements in writing may be required. The 
public comment period under §611.G shall automatically be 
extended to the close of any public hearing under this 
Section. The hearing officer may also extend the comment 
period by so stating at the hearing. 

3. A tape recording or written transcript of the hearing 
shall be made available to the public. 

H. Response to Comments 
1. At the time that any final permit is issued the 

commissioner shall issue a response to comments. This 
response shall: 

a. specify which provisions; if any, of the draft 
permit have been changed in the final permit decision, and 
the reasons for the change; and 

b. briefly describe and respond to all significant 
comments on the draft permit or the permit application 
raised during the public comment period, or during any 
hearing. 

2. The response to comments shall be available to the 
public. 

I. Permit Issuance and Effective Date 
1. After closure of the public comment period, 

including any public hearing, under §611.G on a draft 
permit, the commissioner shall issue a final permit decision 
within 30 days. The commissioner shall notify the applicant 
and each person who has submitted written comments or 
requested notice of the final permit decision. This notice shall 
include reference to the procedure for appealing a decision on a 
UIC permit under La. Title 30 R.S. §30:15. For the purposes of 
this section, a final permit decision means a final decision to 
issue, deny, modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate a 
permit. 

2. A final permit decision shall become effective on 
the date of issuance. 
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3. Approval or the granting of a permit to construct a 
Class VI well shall be valid for a period of one year and if 
not begun in that time, the permit shall be null and void. The 
permittee may request an extension of this one-year 
requirement; however, the commissioner shall approve the 
request for extenuating circumstances only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§613 Permit Modification, Revocation and 

Reissuance, Termination, Transfer or Renewal 
A. Applicability. The rules of this Section set forth the 

standards and requirements for applications and actions 
concerning modification, revocation and reissuance, 
termination, transfer and renewal of permits. 

B. Permit Actions 
1. The permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, 

or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by the 
permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance, does not stay any 
permit condition. 

2. The permittee shall furnish to the commissioner, 
within 30 days, any information which the commissioner 
may request to determine whether cause exists for 
modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating a permit, 
or to determine compliance with the permit. The permittee 
shall also furnish to the commissioner, upon request, copies 
of records required to be kept by the permit. 

3. The commissioner may, upon his own initiative or 
at the request of any interested person, review any permit to 
determine if cause exists to modify, revoke and reissue, or 
terminate the permit for the reasons specified in §§613.C, D, 
and E. All requests shall be in writing and shall contain facts 
or reasons supporting the request. 

4. If the commissioner decides the request is not 
justified, he shall send the person making the request a brief 
written response giving a reason for the decision. Denials of 
requests for modification, revocation and reissuance, or 
termination are not subject to public notice, comment, or 
hearings. 

5. If the commissioner decides to modify or revoke 
and reissue a permit under §§613.C, D, and E, he shall 
prepare a draft permit under §611.C incorporating the 
proposed changes. When a permit is modified, the entire 
permit is reopened and is subject to revision. The 
commissioner may request additional information and, in the 
case of a modified permit, may require the submission of an 
updated permit application. In the case of revoked and 
reissued permits, the commissioner shall require, if 
necessary, the submission of a new application. 

6. In a permit modification under this section, only 
those conditions to be modified shall be reopened when a 
new draft permit is prepared. All other aspects of the existing 
permit shall remain in effect for the duration of the 
unmodified permit. When a permit is revoked and reissued 
under this section, the entire permit is reopened just as if the 
permit had expired and was being reissued. During any 
revocation and reissuance proceeding the permittee shall 
comply with all conditions of the existing permit until a new 
final permit is reissued. 

C. Modification or Revocation and Reissuance of 
Permits 

1. The following are causes for modification and may 
be causes for revocation and reissuance of permits. 

a. Alterations. There are material and substantial 
alterations or additions to the permitted facility or activity 
which occurred after permit issuance which justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different or absent 
in the existing permit. 

b. Information. The commissioner has received 
information pertinent to the permit that would have justified 
the application of different permit conditions at the time of 
issuance. 

c. New Regulations 
 i. The standards or regulations on which the 
permit was based have been changed by promulgation of 
amended standards or regulations or by judicial decision 
after the permit was issued. Permits for Class VI wells may 
be modified during their terms when: 

(a). the permit condition requested to be 
modified was based on a promulgated regulation or 
guideline; 

(b). there has been a revision, withdrawal, or 
modification of that portion of the regulation or guideline on 
which the permit condition was based; and 

(c). a permittee requests modification within 90 
days after Louisiana Register notice of the action on which 
the request is based. 
 ii. When standards or regulations on which the 
permit was based have been changed by withdrawal of 
standards or regulations or by promulgation of amended 
standards or regulations which impose less stringent 
requirements on the permitted activity or facility and the 
permittee requests to have permit conditions based on the 
withdrawn or revised standards or regulations deleted from 
his permit. 
 iii. For judicial decisions, a court of competent 
jurisdiction has remanded and stayed Office of Conservation 
regulations or guidelines and all appeals have been 
exhausted, if the remand and stay concern that portion of the 
regulations or guidelines on which the permit condition was 
based and a request is filed by the permittee to have permit 
conditions based on the remanded or stayed standards or 
regulations deleted from his permit. 

d. Compliance Schedules. The commissioner 
determines good cause exists for modification of a 
compliance schedule, such as an act of God, strike, flood, or 
materials shortage or other events over which the permittee 
has little or no control and for which there is no reasonable 
available remedy. 

e. Additional Modification of Class VI Permits. For 
Class VI wells, whenever the commissioner determines that 
permit changes are necessary based on: 
 i. area of review reevaluations under §615.C.2; 
 ii. any amendments to the testing and monitoring 
plan under §625.A.10; 
 iii. any amendments to the injection well plugging 
plan under §631.A.3; 
 iv. any amendments to the post-injection site care 
and site closure plan under §633.A.1.c; 
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 v. any amendments to the emergency and 
remedial response plan under §625.A.4; or 
 vi. a review of monitoring and testing results 
conducted in accordance with permit requirements. 

2. Causes for modification or revocation and 
reissuance. The following are causes to modify or, 
alternatively, revoke and reissue a permit: 

a. cause exists for termination under §613.E, and 
the commissioner determines that modification or revocation 
and reissuance is appropriate; 

b. the commissioner has received notification of a 
proposed transfer of the permit and the transfer is 
determined not to be a minor modification (see §613.D.4). A 
permit may be modified to reflect a transfer after the 
effective date (§613.F.2.b) but will not be revoked and 
reissued after the effective date except upon the request of 
the new permittee; or 

c. a determination that the waste being injected is a 
hazardous waste as defined in §601 either because the 
definition has been revised, or because a previous 
determination has been changed; or 

d. to incorporate such other requirements as may be 
necessary under the Safe Drinking Water Act. 

3. Facility Siting. Suitability of an existing facility 
location will not be considered at the time of permit 
modification or revocation and reissuance unless new 
information or standards indicate that continued operations 
at the site pose a threat to the health or safety of persons or 
the environment which was unknown at the time of permit 
issuance. A change of injection site or facility location may 
require modification or revocation and issuance as 
determined to be appropriate by the commissioner. 

4. If a permit modification satisfies the criteria of this 
Section, a draft permit must be prepared and other applicable 
procedures must be followed. 

D. Minor Modifications of Permits. Upon the consent of 
the permittee, the commissioner may modify a permit to 
make the corrections or allowances for changes in the 
permitted activity listed in this Section without issuing a 
draft permit and providing for public comment. Minor 
modifications may only: 

1. correct typographical errors; 
2. require more frequent monitoring or reporting by 

the permittee; 
3. change an interim compliance date in a schedule of 

compliance, provided the new date is not more than 120 
days after the date specified in the existing permit and does 
not interfere with attainment of the final compliance date 
requirement; 

4. allow for a change in ownership or operational 
control of a facility where the commissioner determines that 
no other change in the permit is necessary, provided that a 
written agreement containing a specific date for transfer of 
permit responsibility, coverage, and liability between the 
current and new permittees has been submitted to the 
commissioner (see §613.F); 

5. change quantities or types of fluids injected which 
are within the capacity of the facility as permitted and, in the 
judgment of the commissioner, would not interfere with the 
operation of the facility or its ability to meet conditions 
prescribed in the permit, and would not change its 
classification; 

6. change construction requirements or plans 
approved by the commissioner provided that any such 
alteration shall comply with the requirements of this Section 
and §617. No such changes may be physically incorporated 
into construction of the well prior to approval; or 

7. amend a Class VI injection well testing and 
monitoring plan, plugging plan, post-injection site care and 
site closure plan, or emergency and remedial response plan 
where the modifications merely clarify or correct the plan, as 
determined by the commissioner. 

E. Termination of Permits 
1. The commissioner may terminate a permit during 

its term for the following causes: 
a. noncompliance by the permittee with any 

condition of the permit; 
b. the permittee's failure in the application or during 

the permit issuance process to disclose fully all relevant 
facts, or the permittee's misrepresentation of any relevant 
facts at any time; or 

c. a determination that the permitted activity 
endangers the health or safety of persons or the environment 
which activity cannot be regulated to acceptable levels by 
permit modification and can only be regulated to acceptable 
levels by permit termination. 

2. If the commissioner decides to terminate a permit, 
he shall issue a notice of intent to terminate. A notice of 
intent to terminate is a type of draft permit which follows the 
same procedures as any draft permit prepared under §611.C. 

3. The commissioner may alternatively decide to 
modify or revoke and reissue a permit for the causes in 
§613.E.1 (see §613.C.2.a). 

F. Transfers of Permits 
1. A permit may be transferred to a new owner or 

operator upon approval by the commissioner. 
2. The current permittee shall submit an application 

for transfer at least 30 days before the proposed transfer 
date. The application shall contain the following: 

a. name and address of the transferee; 
b. date of proposed transfer; and 
c. a written agreement between the existing and 

new permittees containing a specific date for transfer of 
permit responsibility, coverage and liability between them. 
The agreement should also demonstrate to the satisfaction of 
the commissioner that the financial responsibility 
requirements of §609.C will be met by the new permittee. 

3. If the commissioner does not notify the existing 
permittee and the proposed new permittee of his intent to 
modify or revoke and reissue the permit under §613.C.2.b 
the transfer is effective on the date specified in the 
agreement mentioned in §613.F.2.c. 

4. If no agreement described in §613.F.2.c is provided, 
responsibility for compliance with the terms and conditions 
of the permit and liability for any violation will shift from 
the existing permittee to the new permittee on the date the 
transfer is approved. 

5. If a person attempting to acquire a permit causes or 
allows operation of the facility before approval by the 
commissioner, it shall be considered a violation of these 
rules for operating without a permit or other authorization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§615. Siting Criteria, AOR, and Corrective Action 

A. Minimum Criteria for Siting. Applicants, owners, or 
operators of Class VI wells must demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the commissioner that the wells will be sited 
in areas with a suitable geologic system. The demonstration 
must show that the geologic system comprises: 

1. an injection zone of sufficient areal extent, 
thickness, porosity, and permeability to receive the total 
anticipated volume of the carbon dioxide stream; 

2. confining zone(s) free of transmissive faults or 
fractures and of sufficient areal extent and integrity to 
contain the injected carbon dioxide stream and displaced 
formation fluids, and allow injection at proposed maximum 
pressures and volumes without initiating or propagating 
fractures in the confining zone(s). 

a. The commissioner may require owners or 
operators of Class VI wells to identify and characterize 
additional zones that will impede vertical fluid movement, 
are free of faults and fractures that may interfere with 
containment, allow for pressure dissipation, and provide 
additional opportunities for monitoring, mitigation, and 
remediation. 

B. Area of Review (AOR) 
1. The area of review is the region surrounding the 

geologic sequestration project where USDWs may be 
endangered by the injection activity. The area of review is 
delineated using computational modeling that accounts for 
the physical and chemical properties of all phases of the 
injected carbon dioxide stream and is based on available site 
characterization, monitoring, and operational data. 

2. The owner or operator of a Class VI well must 
prepare, maintain, and comply with a plan to delineate the 
area of review for the proposed geologic sequestration 
project, periodically reevaluate the delineation, and perform 
corrective action that meets the requirements of these 
regulations and is acceptable to the commissioner. The 
requirement to maintain and implement an approved plan is 
directly enforceable regardless of whether the requirement is 
a condition of the permit. As a part of the permit application, 
the owner or operator must submit an area of review and 
corrective action plan that includes the following 
information: 

a. the method for delineating the area of review that 
meets the requirements of §615.B.3, including the model to 
be used, assumptions that will be made, and the site 
characterization data on which the model will be based; 

b. a description of: 
 i. the minimum fixed frequency—not to exceed 
five years—at which the owner or operator proposes to 
reevaluate the area of review; 
 ii. the monitoring and operational conditions that 
would warrant a reevaluation of the area of review prior to 
the next scheduled reevaluation as determined by the 
minimum fixed frequency established in §615.B.2.b.i. 
 iii. how monitoring and operational data (e.g., 
injection rate and pressure) will be used to inform an area of 
review reevaluation; and 
 iv. how corrective action will be conducted to 
meet the requirements of §615.C, including what corrective 
action will be performed prior to injection and what, if any, 

portions of the area of review the operator proposes to have 
corrective action addressed on a phased basis and how the 
phasing will be determined; how corrective action will be 
adjusted if there are changes in the area of review; and how 
site access will be guaranteed for future corrective action. 

3. Area of Review Boundary Delineation. Owners or 
operators of Class VI wells must perform the following 
actions to delineate the area of review and identify all wells 
that require corrective action: 

a. predict, using existing site characterization, 
monitoring and operational data, and computational 
modeling, the projected lateral and vertical migration of the 
carbon dioxide plume and formation fluids in the subsurface 
from the commencement of injection activities until the 
plume movement ceases, until pressure differentials 
sufficient to cause the movement of injected fluids or 
formation fluids into a USDW are no longer present, or until 
the end of a fixed time period as determined by the 
commissioner. The model must: 
 i. be based on detailed geologic data collected to 
characterize the injection zone(s), confining zone(s) and any 
additional zones; and anticipated operating data, including 
injection pressures, rates, and total volumes over the 
proposed life of the geologic sequestration project; 
 ii. take into account any geologic heterogeneities, 
other discontinuities, data quality, and their possible impact 
on model predictions; and 
 iii. consider potential migration through faults, 
fractures, and artificial penetrations. 

b. using methods approved by the commissioner, 
the owner or operator shall at a minimum, identify all 
penetrations, including active and abandoned wells and 
underground mines, in the area of review that penetrate the 
confining and injection zone(s). (See §603.H.4.) Provide a 
description of each well’s type, construction, date drilled, 
location, depth, record of plugging and/or completion, and 
any additional information the commissioner may require; 
and 

c. determine which abandoned wells in the area of 
review have been plugged in a manner that prevents the 
movement of carbon dioxide or other fluids that may 
endanger USDWs, including use of materials compatible 
with the carbon dioxide stream. 

C. Corrective Action 
1. Owners or operators of Class VI wells must 

perform corrective action on all wells in the area of review 
that are determined to need corrective action, using methods 
designed to prevent the movement of fluid into or between 
USDWs, including use of materials compatible with the 
carbon dioxide stream, where appropriate. 

2. At the minimum fixed frequency—not to exceed 
five years—as specified in the area of review and corrective 
action plan, or when monitoring and operational conditions 
warrant, owners or operators must: 

a. reevaluate the area of review in the same manner 
specified in §615.B.3.a; 

b. identify all wells in the reevaluated area of 
review that require corrective action in the same manner 
specified in §615.B.3; 

c. perform corrective action on wells requiring 
corrective action in the reevaluated area of review in the 
same manner specified in §615.C.1; and 
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d. submit an amended area of review and corrective 
action plan or demonstrate to the commissioner through 
monitoring data and modeling results that no amendment to 
the area of review and corrective action plan is needed. Any 
amendments to the area of review and corrective action plan 
must be approved by the commissioner, must be 
incorporated into the permit, and are subject to the permit 
modification requirements at §613, as appropriate. 

3. The emergency and remedial response plan (as 
required by §623) and the demonstration of financial 
responsibility (as described by §609.C must account for the 
area of review delineated as specified in §615.B.3.a or the 
most recently evaluated area of review delineated under 
§615.C.2, regardless of whether or not corrective action in 
the area of review is phased. 

4. All modeling inputs and data used to support area 
of review reevaluations under §615.C.2 shall be retained for 
at least 10 years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§617. Well Construction and Completion 

A. Injection Well Construction Requirements 
1. General. All phases of Class VI well construction 

shall be supervised by a person knowledgeable and 
experienced in practical drilling engineering and is familiar 
with the special conditions and requirements of injection 
well construction. All materials and equipment used in the 
construction of the well and related appurtenances shall be 
designed and manufactured to exceed the operating 
requirements of the specific project, including flow induced 
vibrations. The owner or operator must ensure that all wells 
are constructed and completed to:  

a. prevent the movement of fluids into or between 
USDWs or into any unauthorized zones;  

b. allow the use of appropriate testing devices and 
workover tools; and  

c. allow for continuous monitoring of the annulus 
space between the injection tubing and long string casing.  

2. Casing and Cementing of Class VI Wells 
a. Casing and cement or other materials used in the 

construction of each Class VI well must have sufficient 
structural strength and be designed for the life of the 
geologic sequestration project. All well materials must be 
compatible with fluids that the materials may be expected to 
come into contact and must meet or exceed standards 
developed for such materials by the American Petroleum 
Institute, ASTM International, or comparable standards 
acceptable to the commissioner. The casing and cementing 
program must be designed to prevent the movement of fluids 
into or between USDWs. In order to allow the commissioner 
to evaluate casing and cementing requirements, the owner or 
operator must provide the following information: 
 i. depth to the injection zone(s); 
 ii. injection pressure, external pressure, internal 
pressure, and axial loading; 
 iii. hole size; 
 iv. size and grade of all casing strings (wall 
thickness, external diameter, nominal weight, length, joint 
specification, and construction material); 
 v. corrosiveness of the carbon dioxide stream and 
formation fluids; 

 vi. down-hole temperatures; 
 vii. lithology of injection and confining zone(s); 
 viii. type or grade of cement and cement additives 
including slurry weight (lb/gal) and yield (cu. ft./sack); and 
 ix. quantity, chemical composition, and 
temperature of the carbon dioxide stream.  

b. The surface casing of any Class VI well must 
extend into a confining bed—such as a shale—below the 
base of the deepest formation containing a USDW. The 
casing shall be cemented with a sufficient volume of cement 
to circulate cement from the casing shoe to the surface. The 
commissioner will not grant an exception or variance to the 
surface casing setting depth. 

c. At least one long string casing, using a sufficient 
number of centralizers, shall be utilized in the well. If the 
casing is to be perforated for injection, then the approved 
casing shall extend through the base of the injection zone. If 
an approved alternate construction method is used, such as 
the setting of a screen, the casing shall be set to the top of 
the injection interval. Regardless of the construction method 
utilized, the casings shall be cemented by circulating cement 
from the casing shoe to the surface in one or more stages. 

d. Circulation of cement may be accomplished by 
staging. Circulated to the surface shall mean that actual 
cement returns to the surface were observed during the 
primary cementing operation. A copy of the cementing 
company’s job summary or cementing tickets indicating 
returns to the surface shall be submitted as part of the pre-
operating requirements. 
 i. The commissioner may approve an alternative 
method of cementing in cases where the cement cannot be 
circulated to the surface. If cement returns are lost during 
cementing, the owner or operator shall have the burden of 
showing—using wireline logs—that sufficient cement 
isolation is present to prevent the movement of fluid behind 
the well casing. 
 ii. Remedial cementing shall be done before 
proceeding with further well construction, completion, or 
conversion if adequate cement isolation of the USDW or the 
injection zone within the casing-formation annulus cannot be 
demonstrated. 

e. Cement and cement additives must be compatible 
with the carbon dioxide stream and formation fluids and of 
sufficient quality and quantity to maintain integrity over the 
design life of the geologic sequestration project. The 
integrity and location of the cement shall be verified using 
technology capable of evaluating cement quality radially and 
identifying the location of channels to ensure that USDWs 
are not endangered. 

3. Casing and Casing Seat Tests. The owner or 
operator shall monitor and record the tests using a surface 
readout pressure gauge and a chart or a digital recorder. All 
instruments shall be calibrated properly and in good working 
order. If there is a failure of the required tests, the owner or 
operator shall take necessary corrective action to obtain a 
passing test. 

a. Casing. After cementing each casing, but before 
drilling out the respective casing shoe, all casings shall be 
hydrostatically pressure tested to verify casing integrity and 
the absence of leaks. For surface casing, the stabilized test 
pressure applied at the surface shall be a minimum of 500 
pounds per square inch gauge (PSIG). The stabilized test 
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pressure applied at the surface for all other casings shall be a 
minimum of 1,000 PSIG. All casing test pressures shall be 
maintained for one hour after stabilization. Allowable 
pressure loss is limited to five percent of the test pressure 
over the stabilized test duration. 
 i. Casing test pressures shall never exceed the 
rated burst or collapse pressures of the respective casings. 

b. Casing Seat. The casing seat and cement of any 
intermediate and injection casings shall be hydrostatically 
pressure tested after drilling out the casing shoe. At least 10 
feet of formation below the respective casing shoes shall be 
drilled before the test. The test pressure applied at the 
surface shall be a minimum of 1,000 PSIG. The test pressure 
shall be maintained for one hour after pressure stabilization. 
Allowable pressure loss is limited to five percent of the test 
pressure over the stabilized test duration. 
 i. Casing seat test pressures shall never exceed 
the known or calculated fracture gradient of the appropriate 
subsurface formation. 

4. Tubing and Packer 
a. Tubing and packer materials used in the 

construction of each Class VI well must be compatible with 
fluids that the materials may be expected to come into 
contact and must meet or exceed standards developed for 
such materials by the American Petroleum Institute, ASTM 
International, or comparable standards acceptable to the 
commissioner. 

b. Injection into a Class VI well must be through 
tubing with a packer set at a depth opposite an interval of 
cemented casing at a location approved by the 
commissioner.  

c. In order for the commissioner to determine and 
specify requirements for tubing and packer, the owner or 
operator must submit the following information: 
 i. depth of setting; 
 ii. characteristics of the carbon dioxide stream 
(chemical content, corrosiveness, temperature, and density) 
and formation fluids; 
 iii. maximum proposed injection pressure; 
 iv. maximum proposed annular pressure; 
 v. proposed injection rate (intermittent or 
continuous) and volume and/or mass of the carbon dioxide 
stream; 
 vi. size of tubing and casing; and 
 vii. tubing tensile, burst, and collapse strengths.  

B. Logging, Sampling, and Testing Prior to Injection 
Well Operation 

1. During the drilling and construction of a Class VI 
well, appropriate logs, surveys and tests must be run to 
determine or verify the depth, thickness, porosity, 
permeability, and lithology of, and the salinity of formation 
fluids in all relevant geologic formations to ensure 
conformance with the injection well construction 
requirements of §617 and to establish accurate baseline data 
against which future measurements may be compared. The 
well operator must submit to the commissioner a descriptive 
report prepared by a knowledgeable log analyst that includes 
an interpretation of the results of such logs and tests. At a 
minimum, such logs and tests must include: 

a. deviation checks during drilling of all boreholes 
constructed by drilling a pilot hole, which is enlarged by 
reaming or another method. Such checks must be at 
sufficiently frequent intervals to determine the location of 
the borehole and to ensure that vertical avenues for fluid 
movement in the form of diverging holes are not created 
during drilling; 

b. before and upon installation of the surface 
casing: 
 i. resistivity, gamma-ray, spontaneous potential, 
and caliper logs before the casing is installed; and 
 ii. a cement bond and variable density log to 
evaluate cement quality radially, and a temperature log after 
the casing is set and cemented. 

c. before and upon installation of intermediate and 
long string casing: 
 i. resistivity, gamma-ray, spontaneous potential, 
porosity, caliper, fracture finder logs, and any other logs the 
commissioner requires for the given geology before the 
casing is installed; and 
 ii. a cement bond and variable density log, and a 
temperature log after the casing is set and cemented. 

d. a series of tests designed to demonstrate the 
internal and external mechanical integrity of injection wells, 
which may include: 
 i. a pressure test with liquid or gas; 
 ii. a tracer-type survey to detect fluid movement 
behind casing such as a radioactive tracer or oxygen-
activation logging, or similar tool; 
 iii. a temperature or noise log; 
 iv. a casing inspection log. 

e. any alternative methods that provide equivalent 
or better information and that are required by and approved 
by the commissioner. 

2. The owner or operator must take whole cores or 
sidewall cores of the injection zone and confining system 
and formation fluid samples from the injection zone(s), and 
must submit to the commissioner a detailed report prepared 
by a log analyst that includes: well log analyses (including 
well logs), core analyses, and formation fluid sample 
information. The commissioner may accept information on 
cores from nearby wells if the owner or operator can 
demonstrate that core retrieval is not possible and that such 
cores are representative of conditions at the well. The 
commissioner may require the owner or operator to core 
other formations in the borehole.  

3. The owner or operator must record the fluid 
temperature, pH, conductivity, reservoir pressure, and static 
fluid level of the injection zone(s). 

4. At a minimum, the owner or operator must 
determine or calculate the following information concerning 
the injection and confining zone(s): 

a. fracture pressure; 
b. other physical and chemical characteristics of the 

injection and confining zone(s); and 
c. physical and chemical characteristics of the 

formation fluids in the injection zone(s).  
5. Upon completion, but before operating, the owner 

or operator must conduct the following tests to verify 
hydrogeologic characteristics of the injection zone(s): 
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a. a pressure fall-off test; and, 
b. a pump test; or 
c. injectivity tests. 

6. The owner or operator must notify the Office of 
Conservation at least 72 hours before conducting any 
wireline logs, well tests, or reservoir tests. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§619. Pre-Operations―Completion Report and Site 

Reassessment 
A. Pre-Operating Requirements. The owner or operator 

of the well shall submit the following information to the 
commissioner. The commissioner shall consider the 
information before granting final approval for the operation 
of a Class VI well: 

1. the final area of review based on modeling, using 
data obtained during logging and testing of the well and 
subsurface formations as required by §619.A.2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 
and 10; 

2. any relevant updates—based on data obtained 
during logging and testing of the well and subsurface 
formations as required by §619.A.3, 4, 6, 7, and 10—to the 
information on the geologic structure and hydrogeologic 
properties of the proposed storage site and overlying 
formations, submitted to satisfy the requirements of 
§607.C.1.b; 

3. information on the compatibility of the carbon 
dioxide stream: 

a. with fluids in the injection zone(s); 
b. with minerals in both the injection and the 

confining zone(s), based on the results of the formation 
testing program; and 

c. with the materials used to construct the well; 
4. the results of the formation testing program 

required at §607.C.2.g; 
5. final injection well construction procedures that 

meet the requirements of §617.A; 
6. the status of corrective action on wells in the area 

of review; 
7. all available logging and testing program data on 

the well required by §617.B; 
8. a demonstration of mechanical integrity pursuant to 

§627; 
9. any updates to the proposed area of review and 

corrective action plan, testing and monitoring plan, injection 
well plugging plan, post-injection site care and site closure 
plan, or the emergency and remedial response plan 
submitted under §623, that are necessary to address new 
information collected during logging and testing of the well 
and the formation as required by§617.B, and any updates to 
the alternative post-injection site care timeframe 
demonstration submitted under §633, that are necessary to 
address new information collected during the logging and 
testing of the well and the formation as required by; and 

10. Any additional information requested by the 
commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 

§621. Operations 
A. Injection Well Operating Requirements 

1. Injection Pressure. Except during stimulation, the 
injection well shall be operated so that the injection-induced 
pressure in the injection zone(s) does not exceed 90 percent 
of the fracture pressure of the injection zone(s). This shall 
ensure that the injection does not initiate new fractures or 
propagate existing fractures in the injection zone. In no case 
may injection pressure initiate fractures in the confining 
zone(s) or cause the movement of injection or formation 
fluids that endangers a USDW. Pursuant to requirements at 
§607.C.2.h, all stimulation programs must be approved by 
the commissioner as part of the permit application and 
incorporated into the permit. 

2. Injection between the outermost casing protecting 
USDWs and the wellbore is prohibited. 

3. The owner or operator must fill the annulus 
between the tubing and the long string casing with a non-
corrosive fluid approved by the commissioner or a fluid 
containing a corrosion inhibitor approved by the 
commissioner.  

4. Annulus Pressure. The owner or operator shall 
maintain a tubing-casing annulus pressure that exceeds the 
operating injection pressure, unless the commissioner 
determines that such requirement might harm the integrity of 
the well or endanger a USDW. A request to operate the well 
at a reduced annulus pressure must be in writing and 
approved by the commissioner. 

5. The owner or operator must maintain mechanical 
integrity of the injection well at all times, except when doing 
well workovers, well maintenance, or well remedial work 
approved by the commissioner. 

6. Continuous recording devices shall be installed, 
used, and maintained in proper working order for each well. 

a. continuous recording devices shall monitor: 
 i. surface injection or bottom-hole pressure; 
 ii. flow rate, volume and/or mass, and 
temperature of the carbon dioxide stream; 
 iii. tubing-casing annulus pressure and annulus 
fluid volume; 
 iv. any other data specified by the commissioner. 

b. continuous recordings shall consist of digital 
recordings. Instruments shall be weatherproof or housed in 
weatherproof enclosures when located in areas exposed to 
climatic conditions. 

7. Alarms and Automatic Shutdown Systems 
a. Alarms and automatic shutdown systems 

designed to actuate on exceedance of a predetermined 
monitored condition shall be installed and maintained in 
proper working order as follows:  
 i. for onshore wells, alarms and automatic 
surface shut-off valves or—at the discretion of the 
commissioner—down-hole shut-off systems (e.g., automatic 
shut-off, check valves) or, other mechanical devices that 
provide equivalent protection; and 
 ii. for offshore wells, alarms and automatic down-
hole shut-off systems designed to alert the operator and shut-
in the well when operating parameters such as annulus 
pressure, injection rate, or other parameters diverge beyond 
permitted ranges or gradients specified in the permit. 
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 iii. all alarms must be integrated with any 
automatic shutdown system. 

b. If a shutdown (i.e., down-hole or at the surface) 
is triggered or a loss of mechanical integrity is discovered, 
the owner or operator must immediately investigate and 
identify as expeditiously as possible the cause of the shutoff. 
If, upon such investigation, the well is lacking mechanical 
integrity, or if monitored well parameters indicate that the 
well may be lacking mechanical integrity, the owner or 
operator must: 
 i. immediately cease injection; 
 ii. take all steps reasonably necessary to 
determine whether there may have been a release of the 
injected carbon dioxide stream or formation fluids into any 
unauthorized zone; 
 iii. notify the commissioner within 24 hours; 
 iv. restore and demonstrate mechanical integrity to 
the satisfaction of the commissioner prior to resuming 
injection; and 
 v. notify the commissioner when injection can be 
expected to resume. 

c. All emergency shutdown systems shall be fail-
safe. The operator shall function-test all critical systems of 
control and safety at least once every six months. This 
includes testing of alarms, test tripping of emergency 
shutdown valves ensuring their closure times are within 
design specifications, and ensuring the integrity of all 
electrical, pneumatic, and hydraulic circuits. Test dates and 
results shall be documented and be available for inspection 
by an agent of the Office of Conservation. 

8. Wellhead Identification and Protection 
a. A protective barrier shall be installed and 

maintained around the wellheads, piping, and above ground 
structures that may be vulnerable to physical or accidental 
damage by mobile equipment or trespassers. 

b. An identifying sign shall be placed at the 
wellhead of each injection well and shall include at a 
minimum the operator’s name, well name and number, well 
serial number, section-township-range, and any other 
information required by the commissioner. The sign shall be 
of durable construction with all lettering kept in a legible 
condition. 

9. Well Workovers. No well remedial work, well 
maintenance or repair, well or injection formation 
stimulation, well plug and abandonment or temporary 
abandonment, any other test of the injection well conducted 
by the permittee, or well work of any kind, shall be done 
without prior written authorization from the commissioner. 
The operator shall submit a work permit request form (Form 
UIC-17 or successor) to seek well work authorization. 

10. Pressure gauges that show pressure on the injection 
tubing and tubing-casing annulus shall be installed at each 
wellhead. Gauges shall be designed to read in increments of 
10 PSIG. All gauges shall be properly calibrated and be 
maintained in good working order. The pressure valves onto 
which the pressure gauges are affixed shall have one-half 
inch female fittings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 

§623. Emergency Response 
A. Emergency and Remedial Response. 

1. As part of the permit application, the owner or 
operator must provide the commissioner with an emergency 
and remedial response plan that describes actions the owner 
or operator must take to address movement of the injection 
or formation fluids that may cause an endangerment to a 
USDW during construction, operation, and post-injection 
site care periods. The requirement to maintain and 
implement an approved plan is directly enforceable 
regardless of whether the requirement is a condition of the 
permit. 

2. If the owner or operator obtains evidence that the 
injected carbon dioxide stream and associated pressure front 
may cause an endangerment to a USDW, the owner or 
operator must: 

a. immediately cease injection; 
b. take all steps reasonably necessary to identify 

and characterize any release; 
c. notify the commissioner within 24 hours; and 
d. implement the emergency and remedial response 

plan approved by the commissioner. 
3. The commissioner may allow the operator to 

resume injection prior to remediation if the owner or 
operator demonstrates that the injection operation will not 
endanger USDWs. 

4. The owner or operator shall review the emergency 
and remedial response plan developed under §623.A.1 at 
least once every five years. Based on this review, the owner 
or operator shall submit an amended emergency and 
remedial response plan or demonstrate to the commissioner 
that no amendment to the emergency and remedial response 
plan is needed. Any amendments to the emergency and 
remedial response plan must be approved by the 
commissioner, must be incorporated into the permit, and are 
subject to the permit modification requirements at §613, as 
appropriate. Amended plans or demonstrations shall be 
submitted to the commissioner as follows: 

a. within one year of an area of review reevaluation; 
b. following any significant changes to the facility, 

such as addition of injection or monitoring wells, on a 
schedule determined by the commissioner; or 

c. when required by the commissioner. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§625. Testing and Monitoring 

A. Testing and Monitoring Requirements. The owner or 
operator of a Class VI well must prepare, maintain, and 
comply with a testing and monitoring plan to verify that the 
geologic sequestration project is operating as permitted and 
is not endangering USDWs. The requirement to maintain 
and implement an approved plan is directly enforceable 
regardless of whether the requirement is a condition of the 
permit. The testing and monitoring plan must be included 
with the permit application and must include a description of 
how the owner or operator will meet these requirements, 
including accessing sites for all necessary monitoring and 
testing during the life of the project. Testing and monitoring
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associated with geologic sequestration projects must include, 
at a minimum: 

1. analysis of the carbon dioxide stream with 
sufficient frequency to yield data representative of its 
chemical and physical characteristics; 

2. installation and use of continuous recording devices 
to monitor injection pressure, rate, and volume; the pressure 
on the tubing-casing annulus; and the annulus fluid volume 
added. Continuous monitoring is not required during well 
workovers as defined in §621.A.5;  

3. corrosion monitoring of the well materials for loss 
of mass, thickness, cracking, pitting, and other signs of 
corrosion, which must be performed on a quarterly basis to 
ensure that the well components meet the minimum 
standards for material strength and performance set forth in 
§617.A.2, by: 

a. analyzing coupons of the well construction 
materials placed in contact with the carbon dioxide stream; 
or 

b. routing the carbon dioxide stream through a loop 
constructed with the material used in the well and inspecting 
the materials in the loop; or 

c. using an alternative method approved by the 
commissioner; 

4. periodic monitoring of the ground water quality and 
geochemical changes above the confining zone(s) that may 
be a result of carbon dioxide movement through the 
confining zone(s) or additional identified zones including: 

a. the location and number of monitoring wells 
based on specific information about the geologic 
sequestration project, including injection rate and volume, 
geology, the presence of artificial penetrations, and other 
factors; and 

b. the monitoring frequency and spatial distribution 
of monitoring wells based on baseline geochemical data that 
has been collected under §607.C.2.e and on any modeling 
results in the area of review evaluation required by 
§615.B.3.  

5. a demonstration of external mechanical integrity 
pursuant to §627.A.3 at least once every 12 months until the 
injection well is permanently plugged and abandoned; and, if 
required by the commissioner, a casing inspection log 
pursuant to requirements at §627.A.4 at a frequency 
established in the testing and monitoring plan; 

6. a pressure fall-off test at least once every five years 
unless more frequent testing is required by the commissioner 
based on site-specific information; 

7. testing and monitoring to track the extent of the 
carbon dioxide plume and the presence or absence of 
elevated pressure (e.g., the pressure front) by using: 

a. direct methods in the injection zone(s); and 
b. indirect methods (e.g., seismic, electrical, gravity, 

or electromagnetic surveys and/or down-hole carbon dioxide 
detection tools), unless the commissioner determines that 
such methods are not appropriate, based on site-specific 
geology; 

8. The commissioner may require surface air 
monitoring and/or soil gas monitoring to detect movement of 
carbon dioxide that could endanger a USDW. 

a. Design of Class VI surface air and/or soil gas 
monitoring must be based on potential risks to USDWs 
within the area of review; 

b. The monitoring frequency and spatial distribution 
of surface air monitoring and/or soil gas monitoring must be 
decided using baseline data, and the monitoring plan must 
describe how the proposed monitoring will yield useful 
information on the area of review delineation and/or 
compliance with standards under §603.D; 

c. If an owner or operator demonstrates that 
monitoring employed under 40 CFR 98.440 to 98.449 
accomplishes the goals of §§625.A.8.a. and b., and meets the 
requirements pursuant to §629.A.1.v, a regulatory agency 
that requires surface air/soil gas monitoring must approve 
the use of monitoring employed under 40 CFR 98.440 to 
98.449. Compliance with 40 CFR 98.440 to 98.449 pursuant 
to this provision is considered a condition of the Class VI 
permit;  

9. Any additional monitoring, as required by the 
commissioner, necessary to support, upgrade, and improve 
computational modeling of the area of review evaluation 
required under §615.B.3 and to determine compliance with 
standards under §619; 

10. The owner or operator shall periodically review the 
testing and monitoring plan to incorporate monitoring data 
collected under §625, operational data collected under §621, 
and the most recent area of review reevaluation performed 
under §615.C.2. In no case shall the owner or operator 
review the testing and monitoring plan less often than once 
every five years. Based on this review, the owner or operator 
shall submit an amended testing and monitoring plan or 
demonstrate to the commissioner that no amendment to the 
testing and monitoring plan is needed. Any amendments to 
the testing and monitoring plan must be approved by the 
commissioner, must be incorporated into the permit, and are 
subject to the permit modification requirements at §613, as 
appropriate. Amended plans or demonstrations shall be 
submitted to the commissioner as follows: 

a. within 12 months of an area of review 
reevaluation; 

b. following any significant changes to the facility, 
such as addition of monitoring wells or newly permitted 
injection wells within the area of review, on a schedule 
determined by the commissioner; or 

c. when required by the commissioner. 
11. a quality assurance and surveillance plan for all 

testing and monitoring requirements. 
B. Monitoring and Records 

1. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 
monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 
information, including the following: 

a. calibration and maintenance records and all 
original strip chart recordings for continuous monitoring 
instrumentation, copies of all reports required by this permit, 
and records of all data used to complete the application for 
this permit, for a period of at least 3 years from the date of 
the sample, measurement, report, or application. This period 
may be extended by request of the commissioner at any 
time; and 

b. the nature and composition of all injected fluids 
until three years after the completion of any plugging and 
abandonment procedures specified under §629 The 
commissioner may require the owner or operator to deliver 
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the records to the commissioner at the conclusion of the 
retention period. 

3. Records of monitoring information shall include: 
a. the date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 
b. the individual(s) who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 
c. the date(s) analyses were performed; 
d. the individual(s) who performed the analyses; 
e. the analytical techniques or methods used; and 
f. the results of such analyses. 

4. Owners or operators of Class VI wells shall retain 
records as specified in §§615.C.4, 629.A.4, 631.A.5, 
633.A.6, and 633.A.8 of this chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§627. Mechanical Integrity 

A. Mechanical Integrity 
1. A Class VI well has mechanical integrity if: 

a. there is no significant leak in the casing, tubing, 
or packer; and  

b. there is no significant fluid movement into a 
USDW through channels adjacent to the injection wellbore.  

2. To evaluate the absence of significant leaks, owners 
or operators must: 

a. perform an annulus pressure test: 
 i. after initial well construction or conversion as 
part of the pre-operating requirements; 
 ii. at least once every 12 months witnessed by an 
agent of the Office of Conservation; and 
 iii. after performing any well remedial work that 
involves unseating the tubing or packer. 

b. continuously monitor injection pressure, rate, 
injected volumes; pressure on the annulus between tubing 
and long-string casing; and annulus fluid volume as 
specified in §621.A.6. 

3. At least once every 12 months, use one of the 
following methods to determine the absence of significant 
fluid movement: 

a. an approved tracer-type survey such as a 
radioactive tracer, oxygen-activation log, or similar tool; or 

b. a temperature or noise log.  
4. If required by the commissioner, run a casing 

inspection log at a frequency specified in the testing and 
monitoring plan at §625 to determine the presence or 
absence of corrosion in the long-string casing. 

5. The commissioner may require other tests to 
evaluate well mechanical integrity. 

a. The commissioner may allow the use of a test to 
demonstrate mechanical integrity other than those listed 
above with written approval of the USEPA. To obtain 
approval for the use of a new mechanical integrity test, the 
owner or operator must submit a written request to the 
commissioner with details of the proposed test and all 
technical data supporting its use, and the commissioner will 
submit a written request to the USEPA.  

6. In conducting and evaluating the tests enumerated 
in this section to be allowed by the commissioner, the owner 
or operator and the commissioner must apply methods and

standards generally accepted in the industry. When the 
owner or operator reports the results of mechanical integrity 
tests to the commissioner, a description of the test(s) and the 
method(s) used must be included. In making the evaluation, 
the commissioner must review monitoring and other test 
data submitted since the previous evaluation.  

7. The commissioner may require additional or 
alternative tests if the mechanical integrity test results 
presented are not satisfactory to the commissioner to 
demonstrate that there is no significant leak in the casing, 
tubing, or packer, or to demonstrate that there is no 
significant movement of fluid into a USDW resulting from 
the injection activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§629. Reporting 

A. Reporting Requirements 
1. The owner or operator must provide, at a minimum, 

the following reports to the commissioner, and the USEPA as 
specified in §629.A.3, for each permitted Class VI well: 

a. semi-annual reports containing: 
 i. any changes to the physical, chemical, and 
other relevant characteristics of the carbon dioxide stream 
from the proposed operating data; 
 ii. monthly average, maximum, and minimum 
values for injection pressure, flow rate and volume, and 
annular pressure; 
 iii. a description of any event that exceeds 
operating parameters for annulus pressure or injection 
pressure specified in the permit; 
 iv. a description of any event which triggers a 
shut-off device required by §621 and the response taken; 
 v. the monthly volume and/or mass of the carbon 
dioxide stream injected over the reporting period and the 
volume injected cumulatively over the life of the project; 
 vi. monthly annulus fluid volume added; 
 vii. the results of monitoring prescribed under 
§625; and 
 viii. the raw operating data from the continuous 
recording devices prescribed by §621.A.6 submitted in 
digital format; 

b. report, within 30 days or as specified by permit, 
the results of: 
 i. periodic tests of mechanical integrity; 
 ii. any well workover; and 
 iii. any other test of the injection well conducted 
by the permittee if required by the commissioner; 

c. report, within 24 hours: 
 i. any evidence that the injected carbon dioxide 
stream or associated pressure front may cause an 
endangerment to a USDW; 
 ii. any noncompliance with a permit condition, or 
malfunction of the injection system, which may cause fluid 
migration into or between USDWs; 
 iii. any triggering of a shut-off system (i.e., down-
hole or at the surface); 
 iv. any failure to maintain mechanical integrity; or 
 v. any release of carbon dioxide to the 
atmosphere or biosphere pursuant to compliance with the
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requirement at §625.A.8 for surface air/soil gas monitoring 
or other monitoring technologies, if required by the 
commissioner; 

2. Owners or operators must notify the commissioner 
in writing in advance of doing any well work or formation 
testing as required in §621.A.9. 

3. Regardless of whether the State of Louisiana has 
primary permit and enforcement authority (primacy) for 
Class VI wells, owners or operators of Class VI wells, or 
applicants for Class VI wells must submit all required 
submittals, reports, and notifications under §§605, 607, 615, 
617, 619, 621, 623, 625, 627, 629, 631, and §633 to the 
USEPA in an electronic format approved by the USEPA. 

4. Records shall be retained by the owner or operator 
as follows: 

a. all data collected for Class VI permit applications 
in §§607 and 619 shall be retained throughout the life of the 
geologic sequestration project and at least 10 years 
following site closure. 

b. data on the nature and composition of all injected 
fluids collected under §625.A.1.a shall be retained at least 10 
years after site closure. The commissioner may require the 
owner or operator to deliver the records to the commissioner 
at the conclusion of the retention period. 

c. monitoring data collected under §§625.A.2 
through 625.A.9 shall be retained at least 10 years after it is 
collected. 

d. well plugging reports, post-injection site care 
data, including, if appropriate, data and information used to 
develop the demonstration of the alternative post-injection 
site care timeframe, and the site closure report collected 
pursuant to requirements at §§633.A.6 and 633.A.8 shall be 
retained at least 10 years following site closure. 

e. The commissioner may require the owner or 
operator to retain any records required under these 
regulations for longer than 10 years after site closure. 

B. Recordkeeping. Owners or operators of Class VI 
wells shall retain records as specified in §§615.C.4, 629.A.2, 
631.A.5, 633.A.6, and 633.A.8. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§631. Plugging and Abandonment 

A. Well Plugging and Abandonment. 
1. A Class VI permit shall include conditions that 

meet the requirements set forth in this subsection and shall 
be incorporated into the permit as a permit condition. For 
purposes of this subsection, temporary or intermittent 
cessation of injection operations is not abandonment. 

2. Before well plugging, the owner or operator must 
flush each Class VI well with a buffer fluid, determine 
bottomhole reservoir pressure, and perform a final external 
mechanical integrity test. 

3. Well Plugging Plan. The owner or operator of a 
Class VI well must prepare, maintain, and comply with a 
plan acceptable to the commissioner. The requirement to 
maintain and implement an approved plan is directly 
enforceable regardless of whether the requirement is a 
condition of the permit. The well plugging plan must be 
submitted as part of the permit application, must be designed

in a way that will prevent the movement of fluids into or 
between USDWs or outside the injection zone, and must 
include the following minimum information: 

a. appropriate tests or measures for determining 
bottomhole reservoir pressure; 

b. appropriate testing methods to ensure external 
mechanical integrity as specified in §627; 

c. a description of the size and amount of casing, 
tubing, or any other well construction materials to be 
removed from the well before well closure; 

d. that prior to the placement of plugs, the well shall 
be in a state of static equilibrium with the mud weight 
equalized top to bottom, either by circulating the mud in the 
well at least once or by a comparable method; 

e. the type and number of plugs to be used; 
f. the placement of each plug, including the 

elevation of the top and bottom of each plug; 
g. the type, grade, yield, and quantity of material, 

such as cement, to be used in plugging. The material must be 
compatible with the carbon dioxide stream; 

h. the method of placement of the plugs; 
i. pre-closure and proposed post-closure well 

schematics; 
j. that each plug shall be appropriately tagged and 

tested for seal and stability; 
k. that the well casings shall be cut at least five feet 

below ground surface for land-based wells, and at least 15 
feet below the mud line for wells at a water location. 

l. that upon successful completion of well closure 
of a land-based well, a one-half (½) inch steel plate shall be 
welded across all casings and inscribed with the well’s state 
serial number and date plugged and abandoned, and 

m. any addition information that the commissioner 
may require. 

4. Notice of Intent to Plug. The owner or operator 
must submit the Form UIC-17, or successor form, to the 
commissioner and receive written approval from the 
commissioner before beginning actual well plugging 
operations. The form must contain information on the 
procedures to be used in the field to plug and abandon the 
well. 

5. Well Closure Report. The owner or operator shall 
submit a closure report to the commissioner within 30 days 
after well plug and abandonment. The report shall be 
certified as accurate by the owner or operator and by the 
person charged with overseeing the closure operation (if 
other than the owner or operator). The owner or operator 
shall retain the well closure report at least 10 years following 
site closure. The report shall contain the following 
information: 

a. detailed procedures of the closure operation. 
Where actual closure differed from the approved plan, the 
report shall include a written statement specifying the 
differences between the previous plan and the actual closure; 

b. all state regulatory reporting forms relating to the 
closure activity; and 

c. any information pertinent to the closure activity 
including schematics, tests, or monitoring data. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 
§633. Closure and Post-Closure 

A. Post-Injection Site Care and Site Closure. 
1. The owner or operator of a Class VI well must 

prepare, maintain, and comply with a plan for post-injection 
site care and site closure that meets the requirements of 
§633.A.1.b and is acceptable to the commissioner. The 
requirement to maintain and implement an approved plan is 
directly enforceable regardless of whether the requirement is 
a condition of the permit. 

a. The owner or operator must submit the post-
injection site care and site closure plan as a part of the 
permit application. 

b. The post-injection site care and site closure plan 
must include the following information: 
 i. the pressure differential between pre-injection 
and predicted post-injection pressures in the injection 
zone(s); 
 ii. the predicted position of the carbon dioxide 
plume and associated pressure front at site closure as 
demonstrated in the area of review evaluation required under 
§615.B.3.a; 
 iii. a description of post-injection monitoring 
location, methods, and proposed frequency; 
 iv. a proposed schedule for submitting post-
injection site care monitoring results to the commissioner 
and to the USEPA pursuant to §629.A.3; and, 
 v. the duration of the post-injection site care 
timeframe and, if approved by the commissioner, the 
demonstration of the alternative post-injection site care 
timeframe that ensures non-endangerment of USDWs. 

c. Upon cessation of injection, owners or operators 
of Class VI wells must either submit an amended post-
injection site care and site closure plan or demonstrate to the 
commissioner through monitoring data and modeling results 
that no amendment to the plan is needed. Any amendments 
to the post-injection site care and site closure plan must be 
approved by the commissioner, be incorporated into the 
permit, and are subject to the permit modification 
requirements at §613, as appropriate. 

d. At any time during the life of the geologic 
sequestration project, the owner or operator may modify and 
resubmit the post-injection site care and site closure plan for 
the commissioner’s approval within 30 days of such change. 

2. The owner or operator shall monitor the site 
following the cessation of injection to show the position of 
the carbon dioxide plume and pressure front and 
demonstrate that USDWs are not being endangered. 

a. Following the cessation of injection, the owner or 
operator shall continue to conduct monitoring as specified in 
the commissioner-approved post-injection site care and site 
closure plan for at least 50 years or for the duration of the 
alternative timeframe approved by the commissioner 
pursuant to requirements in §633.A.3, unless the owner or 
operator makes a demonstration under §633.A.2.b. The 
monitoring must continue until the geologic sequestration 
project no longer poses an endangerment to USDWs and the 
demonstration under §633.A.2.b is submitted and approved 
by the commissioner. 

b. If the owner or operator can demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the commissioner before 50 years or prior to 

the end of the approved alternative timeframe based on 
monitoring and other site-specific data, that the geologic 
sequestration project no longer poses an endangerment to 
USDWs, the commissioner may approve an amendment to 
the post-injection site care and site closure plan to reduce the 
frequency of monitoring or may authorize site closure before 
the end of the 50-year period or prior to the end of the 
approved alternative timeframe, where the owner or operator 
has substantial evidence that the geologic sequestration 
project no longer poses a risk of endangerment to USDWs. 

c. Prior to authorization for site closure, the owner 
or operator must submit to the commissioner for review and 
approval a demonstration, based on monitoring and other 
site-specific data, that no additional monitoring is needed to 
ensure that the geologic sequestration project does not pose 
an endangerment to USDWs. 

d. If the demonstration in §633.A.2.c cannot be 
made (i.e., additional monitoring is needed to ensure that the 
geologic sequestration project does not pose an 
endangerment to USDWs) at the end of the 50-year period 
or at the end of the approved alternative timeframe, or if the 
commissioner does not approve the demonstration, the 
owner or operator must submit to the commissioner a plan to 
continue post-injection site care until a demonstration can be 
made and approved by the commissioner. 

3. Demonstration of Alternative Post-Injection Site 
Care Timeframe. The commissioner may approve, in 
consultation with the USEPA, an alternative post-injection 
site care timeframe other than the 50-year default, if an 
owner or operator can demonstrate during the permitting 
process that an alternative post-injection site care timeframe 
is appropriate and ensures non-endangerment of USDWs. 
The demonstration must be based on significant, site-
specific data and information including all data and 
information collected pursuant to §607 and §615, and must 
contain substantial evidence that the geologic sequestration 
project will no longer pose a risk of endangerment to 
USDWs at the end of the alternative post-injection site care 
timeframe. 

a. A demonstration of an alternative post-injection 
site care timeframe must include consideration and 
documentation of: 
 i. the results of computational modeling 
performed pursuant to delineation of the area of review 
under §615.B and §615.C; 
 ii. the predicted timeframe for pressure decline 
within the injection zone, and any other zones, such that 
formation fluids may not be forced into any USDWs; and/or 
the timeframe for pressure decline to pre-injection pressures; 
 iii. the predicted rate of carbon dioxide plume 
migration within the injection zone, and the predicted 
timeframe for the cessation of migration; 
 iv. a description of the site-specific processes that 
will result in carbon dioxide trapping including 
immobilization by capillary trapping, dissolution, and 
mineralization at the site; 
 v. the predicted rate of carbon dioxide trapping in 
the immobile capillary phase, dissolved phase, and/or 
mineral phase; 
 vi. the results of laboratory analyses, research 
studies, and/or field or site-specific studies to verify the 
information required in clauses iv. and v. above; 
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 vii. a characterization of the confining zone(s) 
including a demonstration that it is free of transmissive 
faults, fractures, and micro-fractures and of appropriate 
thickness, permeability, and integrity to impede fluid (e.g., 
carbon dioxide, formation fluids) movement; 
 viii. the presence of potential conduits for fluid 
movement including planned injection wells and project 
monitoring wells associated with the proposed geologic 
sequestration project or any other projects in proximity to 
the predicted/modeled, final extent of the carbon dioxide 
plume and area of elevated pressure; 
 ix. a description of the well construction and an 
assessment of the quality of plugs of all abandoned wells 
within the area of review; 
 x. the distance between the injection zone and the 
nearest USDW above the injection zone; and 
 xi. any additional site-specific factors required by 
the commissioner. 

b. Information submitted to support the 
demonstration in §633.A.3.a must meet the following 
criteria: 
 i. all analyses and tests performed to support the 
demonstration must be accurate, reproducible, and 
performed in accordance with the established quality 
assurance standards; 
 ii. estimation techniques must be appropriate and 
USEPA-certified test protocols must be used where 
available; 
 iii. predictive models must be appropriate and 
tailored to the site conditions, composition of the carbon 
dioxide stream and injection and site conditions over the life 
of the geologic sequestration project; 
 iv. predictive models must be calibrated using 
existing information (e.g., at Class I, Class II, or Class V 
experimental technology well sites) where sufficient data are 
available; 
 v. reasonably conservative values and modeling 
assumptions must be used and disclosed to the commissioner 
whenever values are estimated on the basis of known, 
historical information instead of site-specific measurements; 
 vi. an analysis must be performed to identify and 
assess aspects of the alternative post-injection site care 
timeframe demonstration that contribute significantly to 
uncertainty. The owner or operator must conduct sensitivity 
analyses to determine the effect that significant uncertainty 
may contribute to the modeling demonstration. 
 vii. an approved quality assurance and quality 
control plan must address all aspects of the demonstration; 
and 
 viii. any additional criteria required by the 
commissioner. 

4. Notice of Intent for Site Closure. The owner or 
operator must notify the commissioner in writing at least 120 
days before site closure. At this time, if any changes have 
been made to the original post-injection site care and site 
closure plan, the owner or operator must also provide the 
revised plan. The commissioner may allow for a shorter 
notice period. 

5. After the commissioner has authorized site closure, 
the owner or operator must plug all monitoring wells in a 
manner which will not allow movement of injection or 
formation fluids that endangers a USDW. 

6. The owner or operator must submit a site closure 
report to the commissioner within 90 days after site closure, 
which must also be retained by the owner or operator for at 
least 10 years. The report must include: 

a. documentation of appropriate injection and 
monitoring well plugging as specified in §631 and §633.A.5. 
The owner or operator must provide a copy of a survey plat 
which has been submitted to the local zoning authority 
designated by the commissioner. The plat must indicate the 
location of the injection well relative to permanently 
surveyed benchmarks. The owner or operator must also 
submit a copy of the plat to the USEPA as in §629.A.3; 

b. documentation of appropriate notification and 
information to such State, local and Tribal authorities that 
have authority over drilling activities to enable such State, 
local, and Tribal authorities to impose appropriate conditions 
on subsequent drilling activities that may penetrate the 
injection and confining zone(s); and 

c. records reflecting the nature, composition, and 
volume of the carbon dioxide stream. 

7. Each owner or operator of a Class VI injection well 
must record a notation on the deed to the facility property or 
any other document that is normally examined during title 
search that will in perpetuity provide any potential purchaser 
of the property the following information: 

a. the fact that land has been used to sequester 
carbon dioxide; 

b. the name of the State agency, local authority, 
and/or Tribe with which the survey plat was filed, as well as 
the address of the USEPA Regional Office to which it was 
submitted; and 

c. the volume of fluid injected, the injection zone or 
zones into which it was injected, and the period over which 
injection occurred. 

8. The owner or operator must retain for at least 10 
years following site closure, records collected during the 
post-injection site care period. The owner or operator must 
deliver the records to the commissioner at the conclusion of 
the retention period, and the records must thereafter be 
retained in a form and manner and at a location designated 
by the commissioner. 

B. Certificate of Completion. The commissioner shall 
not issue a certificate of completion pursuant to R.S. 1109 
unless the operator has sufficient financial surety with the 
Office of Conservation to adequately close the facility, plug 
all existing wells, and provide for post-injection site care and 
site closure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq., 30:22 et seq., and 30:1101 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 46: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
on the family has been considered. This proposed rule has a 
positive impact on family functioning, stability, or autonomy 
as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 
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1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule.  

This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small Business 
Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Stephen Lee, Director of the Injection and Mining Division, 
Office of Conservation, Louisiana Department of Natural 
Resources, P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275, 
or by faxing comments to (225) 242-3441. Written 
comments will be accepted through the close of business, 5 
p.m. on December 1, 2020.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing is not currently scheduled, but if 

requested will be held on the morning of Tuesday, December 
1, 2020.  

Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Class VI Injection Wells 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be an increase in expenditures to the Louisiana 

Department of Natural Resources (LDNR) as a result of the 
proposed rules required by Act 517 of 2009. The proposed 
rules govern Class VI wells for the sequestration of carbon 
dioxide in subsurface geologic formations, ultimately limiting 
emissions of this greenhouse gas. LDNR anticipates minimal 
costs to the program in FY 21 (which will be absorbed within 
their existing budget) because LDNR will not receive approval 
from the United States Environmental Protection Agency 
(USEPA) to issue permits for these types of wells until FY 22.  

Expenditures will increase over FY 22 and FY 23 as the 
program is fully staffed and implemented and will require 
approximately $1.135 M for full implementation by FY 23. 
Funding for the program will come from the newly created 
Carbon Dioxide Geologic Storage Trust Fund (CDGSTF), 

federal grants, and State General Fund (Direct) (SGF). The 
largest impact to the SGF will be in FY 23, with an expected 
impact of approximately $500,000. Reliance on the SGF is 
minimal for FY 24 and beyond as the CDGSTF is expected to 
have accrued sufficient funds for program operations, in 
addition to federal grants.  

There will be no impact to local governmental units. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There will be an increase in revenue collections to LDNR 

beginning in FY 22 and increasing each subsequent fiscal year. 
LDNR will experience small increases to the Oil and Gas 
Regulatory Fund each fiscal year ($10,000 by FY 23) and 
significant increases to the new CDGSTF each fiscal year 
($315,000 by FY 23). LDNR anticipates 4 to 6 sites by the end 
of FY 24 with estimated revenue to the CDGSTF between $1.6 
M - $2.4 M. Future grant funding will increase each fiscal year 
and will be based on the Class VI well count.  

There will be an impact to the SGF to the extent that Class 
VI wells are constructed under state property thereby creating 
leasing revenues. However, the number and location of the 
Class VI wells is speculative and future revenues are 
indeterminable.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be positive economic benefits to individuals, 
businesses, and other non-governmental groups as a result of 
this program. Individuals who own surface rights in the area of 
Class VI sequestration projects will be able to negotiate leases 
for storage rights in the subsurface. Non-governmental groups 
in the industrial sector will benefit from increased construction 
as well as the federal tax credits received by the operator who 
is sequestering the carbon dioxide underground. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be a positive impact on employment in the 
industrial construction sector as there will be an increase in the 
availability of construction jobs in order to build pipeline 
infrastructure and injection sites for the Class VI wells. 
However, this is a new industry in the United States and 
therefore potential impacts, while positive, are indeterminable.  

 
Thomas F. Harris Alan M. Boxberger 
Secretary Staff Director 
2010#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 

Uniform Construction Code (LAC 17:I.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Office of State Fire Marshal, Louisiana State 
Uniform Construction Code Council (LSUCCC), hereafter 
referred to as the “LSUCCC” or the “Council”, proposes to 
amend LAC 17:I.Chapter 1 in the State Uniform 
Construction Code, as authorized by R.S. 40:1730.28, to 
provide greater health and safety for the public and those 
providing installation of storm shelters.  

The proposed amendment to the 2015 International 
Building Code, Section 423, provides for storm shelter 
requirements in specific parishes in the northern region of 
the state. These requirements include the construction of 
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new, or the construction of additions to, facilities for schools 
and essential services such as fire, police, EMS and 911 call 
centers. Many design professionals, school boards and 
essential services agencies were unaware of this 
requirement. They secured funding in their proposed budgets 
without this requirement being addressed in the plans and 
specifications. Bonds were secured for funding based on the 
older edition of the code, without the increased cost for 
storm shelters factored into the cost projections. Due to the 
increased cost not being provided for in the budgeting of 
new schools, essential services projects were being canceled 
or placed on indefinite hold until new funding could be 
secured. This proposed Rule amendment addresses this 
requirement by providing for a delay in the effective date for 
enforcement. This delay also allows for more public input 
into the implementation timeline and any needed 
amendments to this section of the International Building 
Code. 

Title 17 
CONSTRUCTION 

Part I.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 1. Uniform Construction Code 
§101. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

(Formerly LAC 55:VI.301.A)  
A. In accordance with the requirements set forth in R.S. 

40:1730.28, effective February 1, 2018 the following is 
hereby adopted as an amendment to the Louisiana State 
Uniform Construction Code.  

B. Projects submitted for permitting prior to January 1, 
2020 shall not be required to comply with the 2015 IBC 
Section 423, Storm Shelters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34:883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010), 
effective January 1, 2011, LR 37:601 (February 2011), LR 37:913 
(March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2187 (July 2011), 
repromulgated LR 37:2726 (September 2011), LR 37:3065 
(October 2011), LR 38:1994 (August 2012), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform 
Construction Code Council, LR 39:1825 (July 2013), LR 39:2512 
(September 2013), LR 40:2609 (December 2014), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Fire 
Marshal, LR 41:2380 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State 
Fire Marshal, Uniform Construction Code Council, LR 42:1672 
(October 2016), LR 44:75 (January 2018) 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
formation/functioning, stability, and autonomy as described 
in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, 
or family poverty in relation to individual or community 
asset development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses.  

Provider Impact Statement 
As described in HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 

Session, the impact of this proposed Rule has been 
considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have 
no impact on the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service, no direct or 
indirect cost to the provider to provide the same level of 
service, and will have no impact on the provider’s ability to 
provide the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments 
should be submitted via the U.S. Mail to Melinda L. Long, 
Department of Public Safety, Office of Legal Affairs, P.O. 
Box 66614, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. Written comments 
may also be hand-delivered to Melinda L. Long, Department 
of Public Safety, Office of Legal Affairs, 7979 Independence 
Boulevard, Suite 308, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. All written 
comments are required to be signed by the person submitting 
the comments, dated, and received on or before November 
10, 2020 at 4:30 p.m. A public hearing will be scheduled 
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a) if needed. 

 
Chief H. “Butch” Browning, Jr 
State Fire Marshal  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Uniform Construction Code 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule adopts amendments to the State Uniform 

Construction Code, International Building Code, Section 423 
that allows exemption from storm shelters on projects 
budgeted, designed, and submitted for review before a specific 
date. The proposed rule is not anticipated to result in additional 
costs for the state or local governmental units. There is an 
anticipated indeterminable impact on cost savings for local 
governmental units as a result of the proposed rule. These 
savings vary due to the size, scope, and occupancy type of 
structure being built. At the request of local governments and 
school boards, this proposed rule adopts changes to the 
requirement for storm shelters in affected areas defined in the 
International Building Code and International Construction 
Code 500. This change will provide a process for architects, 
engineers, and governmental units to meet guidelines by 
allowing an exemption to newer codes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on revenue collections for 
state or local governments as a result of the proposed rule. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS, SMALL BUSINESSES, OR 
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) 

The adoption of the proposed rule is anticipated to impact 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups such as 
private schools. The adoption of the proposed rule is 
anticipated to reduce construction costs while allowing time for 
budgeting of new structures that are proposed after the 
exemption deadline. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to effect competition and 
employment. The proposed rule will provide for new structures 
to be built which were budgeted under previous codes that did 
not require these storm shelters. 

 
Lt. Col. Jason Starnes Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Supervisor, CAO Staff Director 
2010#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
 

POLICY AND PROCEDURE MEMORANDA 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of State Travel 

General Travel―PPM 49  
(LAC 4:V.1506) 

Effective immediately, October 1, 2020, lodging rates for 
Tier I and Tier II have been changed. All other Tier lodging 
prices remain. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part V.  Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
Chapter 15. General Travel Regulations—PPM 

Number 49 
§1506. Lodging and Meals 

A. - C.10. …  
 

TIER I 
 * * * 

Lodging Area Routine Lodging 
In-State Cities (except as listed) $96 
Alexandria/Leesville/Natchitoches $99 
Baton Rouge-EBR $99 
Covington/Slidell-St.Tammany $96 
Lake Charles-Calcasieu $96 
Lafayette $96 

 

TIER II 
* * * 

Lodging Area Routine Lodging 
New Orleans—Orleans, St. Bernard, Jefferson 
and Plaquemines Parishes  
July-September 
October–December 
January-May 

 
 

$136 
$136 
$158 

Out-Of-State 
 (Except Cities Listed in Tier III & IV) 

 
$96 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Published in accordance with R.S. 
39:231. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Written by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, November 1, 1972, published LR 1:179 
(April 1975), amended LR 1:338 (August 1975), LR 2:312 
(October 1976), LR 5:93 (May 1979), LR 6:405 (August 1980), LR 
7:7 (January 1981), LR 8:406 (August 1982), LR 15:820 (October 
1989), LR 16:965 (November 1990), LR 26:1256 (June 2000), LR 
27:807 (June 2001), republished LR 27:1495 (September 2001), 
LR 28:1130 (June 2002), LR 30:1116 (June 2004 LR 31:1189 (June 
2005), LR 32:939 (June 2006), LR 33:967 (June 2007), republished 
LR 33:1320 (July 2007), amended LR 34:1305 (July 2008), LR 
35:1198 (July 2009), LR 36:1654 (July 2010), LR 42:990 (July 
2016), LR 43:1119 (June 2017), LR 45:821 (June 2019), LR 46:849 
(June 2020), amended LR 46:1484 (October 2020). 

 
Tammy Toups 
State Travel Director 

2010#021 
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Administrative Code Update 
CUMULATIVE:  January-September 2020 

 
   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 46 
Page # 

1 I.111,113 Adopted Mar. 334 
 III.101,103,105,301,303,305 Amended Mar. 315 
 III.107,109,111,113,115,117,505,703,715 Adopted Mar. 315 
 III.501,503,507,509,511,513,701,705,707 Repromulgated Mar. 315 
 III.709,711,713,721,723,725,901,1101,1103 Repromulgated Mar. 315 
 III.1105,1107 Repromulgated Mar. 315 
     
4 I.101,103 Adopted Mar. 337 
 III.1301,1303 Adopted Mar. 335 
 VII.2201,2203 Adopted Mar. 331 
 VII.2301 Amended Jan. 020 
 VII.2401 Amended Jan.  020 
 XIII.301,303 Adopted Mar. 335 
 XV.103,105 Adopted Mar. 336 
     
7 V.2901,2903,2905 Amended Jan. 010 
 XIII.1301,1303,1305,1307,1309,1311,1313 Adopted Feb. 169 
 XIII.1315,1317,1319,1321,1323,1325,1327 Adopted Feb. 169 
 XIII.1329,1331,1332,1333,1335,1337,1339 Adopted Feb. 169 
 XIII.1341,1343 Adopted Feb. 169 
 XXIII.711 Amended Feb. 169 
 XXVII.103,141 Amended Mar. 312 
 XXIX.113,115,117 Amended Aug. 1076 
     
13 III.2101,2103,2105,2107,2109,2111,2113 Adopted Aug. 1077 
 III.2115 Adopted Aug. 1077 
 III.2125,2127,2129,2131,2133,2135 Adopted Aug. 1079 
     
19 V.102,702,902,1102,1302 Adopted Sept. 1233 
     
22 III.4703 Amended May 693 
 XI.504 Amended Jan. 042 
 XI.511 Amended Sept. 1232 
     
25 III.301,303,305 Repealed May 692 
     
28 IV.703 Amended Mar. 326 
 IV.1501,1503,1505,1507,1509,1511 Amended Jan. 019 
 VI.107,315 Amended Sept. 1222 
 XI.409,4001,5701,7301,7311,8307,8505 Amended Jan. 014 
 XXXIX.503,705,707,901 Amended Jan. 017 
 XLIII.101,153,450,508,904,1101,1153 Amended Feb. 180 
 XLIII.1508,1511 Amended Feb. 180 
 XLV.303 Repromulgated July 892 
 XLV.745 Amended Mar. 324 
 LXXIX.2102,2109,2319 Amended Aug. 1084 
 LXXIX.2320 Adopted Aug. 1084 
 CXV.345,2319 Amended Aug. 1085 
 CXV.351 Adopted Jan. 014 
 CXV.507 Adopted Mar. 324 
 CXV.901,2324 Amended Aug. 1083 
 CXV.2318,2319 Amended Apr. 556 
 CXXXI.101 Amended Jan. 017 
 CXXXI.203 Amended Apr. 557 
 CXXXI.203,305,313 Amended Mar. 324 
 CXXXI.304 Adopted Mar. 324 
 CXXXIX.1505 Amended June 788 
 CXXXIX.3709 Adopted June 788 
 CLXIII.201 Amended Aug. 1085 
 CLXVII.901,903,905,909 Adopted Apr. 555 
     
32 I.1701,1703 Adopted Mar. 332 
     
33 I.3925 Amended July 949 
 III.327 Adopted Apr. 558 
 III.505,507,2160,3003,5116,5122,5311,5901 Amended July 893 
 III.2301 Amended Sept. 1223 
 V.105,110 Amended July 896 
 V.108 Repealed July 896 
 V.109 Repromulgated July 896 
 V.301,305,311,321,329 Amended July 896 
 V.501 Amended July 896 
 V.1001,1003,1005,1007,1009,1011,1013 Adopted July 896 
 V.1015,1017,1019,1021,1023,1025,1027 Adopted July 896 
 V.1029,1031,1033,1035,1037,1039,1041 Adopted July 896 
 V.1043,1045,1047,1049,1051,1053,1055 Adopted July 896 
 V.1057,1059,1061,1063,1065,1067 Adopted July 896 
 V.1101,1107,1113,1127 Amended July 896 
 V.1103,1105,1109,1111,1121,1199 Repealed July 896 
 V.1301,1305,1309,1319 Amended July 896 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 46 
Page # 

33 V.1501,1509,1513,1516,1529 Amended July 896 
 V.1705,1709,1713,1717 Amended July 896 
 V.1802 Amended July 896 
 V.1901,1903,1905,1907,1909,1915 Amended July 896 
 V.2101,2109,2117 Amended July 896 
 V.2201,2205,2245,2246,2249 Amended July 896 
 V.2203 Amended July 896 
 V.2317 Amended July 896 
 V.2523 Amended July 896 
 V.2604 Amended July 896 
 V.2723 Amended July 896 
 V.2805 Amended July 896 
 V.2917 Amended July 896 
 V.3001,3003,3017 Amended July 896 
 V.3121 Amended July 896 
 V.3513,3515 Amended July 896 
 V.3801,3805,3821,3829,3843,3851,3867 Amended July 896 
 V.3873,3883 Amended July 896 
 V.4003,4007,4013,4035,4049,4069 Amended July 896 
 V.4105,4141,4143,4145 Amended July 896 
 V.4217 Amended July 896 
 V.4301,4317,4385 Amended July 896 
 V.4438 Repealed July 896 
 V.4501,4549,4561 Amended July 896 
 V.4901,4907 Amended July 896 
 V.5101,5121 Amended July 896 
 V.5307 Amended July 896 
 IX.1123 Amended Aug. 1086 
 IX.2501,2707,3113,3705 Amended June 789 
 IX.4901,4903 Amended Mar. 330 
     
34 III.1101,1103 Adopted Mar. 331 
 V.3501,3503 Adopted Mar. 334 
 VII.107,109 Adopted Mar. 337 
 IX.107,109 Adopted Mar. 337 
     
35 I.1506 Amended Feb. 182 
     
37 I.1101,1103 Adopted Mar. 333 
 III.2101,2103 Adopted Feb. 181 
 XI.301,304,311 Amended Aug. 1103 
 XIII.4503,4505,4507,4511,4513,4515 Amended Mar. 360 
 XIII.12301,12303,12305,12307,12309,12311 Repealed May 696 
 XIII.12313,12315,12317,12319,12321,12323 Repealed May 696 
 XIII.12325,12327,12329,12331,12333,12335 Repealed May 696 
 XIII.12337,12339 Repealed May 696 
 XIII.13705,13713,13727 Amended Jan. 035 
 XIII.13728 Adopted Jan. 035 
 XIII.16101 Amended July 993 
 XIII.16501,16503,16505,16507,16509,16511 Adopted Jan. 037 
 XIII.16513,16515,16517,16519,16521,16523 Adopted Jan. 037 
 XIII.16525,16527,16529,16531,16533,16535 Adopted Jan. 037 
 XIII.16537 Adopted Jan. 037 
 XIII.16901,16903,16905,16907,16909,16911 Adopted May 698 
 XIII.16913,16915,16917,16919,16921 Adopted May 698 
     
40 I.2013,2015,2017,2019,2021,2023 Amended Sept. 1243 
 I.2101,2103,2105,2107,2109,2111,2113 Amended Feb. 194 
 I.2115,2117,2119,2125,2127,2131,2133 Amended Feb. 194 
 I.2135 Amended Feb. 194 
 I.2104 Adopted Feb. 194 
 I.2111,2113,2115 Repromulgated Mar. 364 
 I.2111,5701 Amended June 797 
 IV.377 Amended Mar. 364 
 XIX.301 Adopted Jan. 051 
     
43 I.2301,2303 Amended Jan. 041 
 XI.2701,2703,2705,2707,2709,2711,2713 Adopted July 954 
 XIX.433 Amended Sept. 1231 
 XIX.539,545,549 Amended Aug. 1105 
 XXVII.103,105 Adopted Mar. 333 
 XXIX.201,203 Adopted May 703 
     
46 VIII.503,511 Amended Apr. 567 
 XIX.505 Amended Mar. 338 
 XXV.503 Amended June 791 
 XXXIII.105 Amended July 950 
 XLV.7701,7705,7709,7711 Amended Mar. 342 
 XLV.7801,7803,9902 Adopted Mar. 339 
 XLV.9701,9703,9705,9709,9711,9713 Amended Mar. 339 
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   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 46 
Page # 

46 XLV.9905,9916 Amended Mar. 339 
 XLVII.3303,3307 Amended Jan. 021 
 XLVII.3333,3355 Amended Sept. 1224 
 LI.301,501,503 Amended Jan. 023 
 LI.303,505,611 Adopted Jan. 023 
 LIII.113 Adopted Apr. 586 
 LIII.503,903 Amended Apr. 574 
 LIII.505 Amended Sept. 1227 
 LIII.507 Amended Apr. 569 
 LIII.521 Amended Apr. 578 
 LIII.903,905 Amended Apr. 576 
 LIII.1103,1105,1109,1113,1115,1119,1121 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.1123,1124 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.1124 Amended May 693 
 LIII.1145,1147 Adopted Apr. 579 
 LIII.1501,1503,1505,1509,1525 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.1503,1517 Amended Apr. 587 
 LIII.1503,1519,2503,2517,2701,2749 Amended June 792 
 LIII.1507,1527 Repealed Apr. 579 
 LIII.1529 Adopted Apr. 575 
 LIII.1701,1703, 1705,1711,1713,1717,1705 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.1711,1713,1717,1719,1721,1725 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.1801,1803,1805,1807,1809,1811,1813 Amended Apr. 571 
 LIII.1815,1817,1819,2303 Amended Apr. 571 
 LIII.2425 Amended Apr. 586 
 LIII.2441,2443,2451 Amended Sept. 1226 
 LIII.2443 Amended Apr. 568 
 LIII.2447 Amended Apr. 576 
 LIII.2505 Amended Apr. 575 
 LIII.2507,2511,2513,2519,2521 Amended Apr. 579 
 LIII.2519 Amended Apr. 575 
 LIII.2535,2747 Amended Apr. 577 
 LIII.2701,2705,2707,2731,2733,2735 Amended Apr. 569 
 LIII.2741,2751 Amended Apr. 569 
 LV.312 Amended Mar. 400 
     
48 I.601,603,605,607 Adopted Mar. 356 
 I.5603,5605 Amended Apr. 587 
 I.5606 Adopted Apr. 587 
 I.6210 Adopted Mar. 345 
 I.8201,8235 Amended Mar. 343 
 I.9505 Amended Aug. 1087 
 I.9781 Adopted Mar. 344 
 I.10080,10081,10082,10083,10084,10085 Amended Jan. 029 
 I.10086,10087,10088,10089,10090 Amended Jan. 029 
 I.12529 Amended July 953 
 I.18701,18703,18705 Amended Aug. 1088 
 I.18706,18708 Adopted Aug. 1088 
 V.8001,8003,8005,8007,8009,8011,8013 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8015,8017,8019,8021,8023,8025,8027 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8029,8031,8033,8035,8037,8039,8041 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8043,8045,8047,8049,8051,8053,8055 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8057,8059,8061,8063,8065,8067,8069 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8071,8073,8075,8077,8079,8081,8083 Amended Aug. 1090 
 V.8064 Adopted Aug. 1090 
 IX.907 Amended Apr. 589 
 IX.1101,1103,1105,1107,1109,1111,1113 Amended Mar. 349 
 IX.1115,1117,1119,1121,1123,1125,1127 Amended Mar. 349 
 IX.1129,1131,1133,1135,1137 Amended Mar. 349 
     
49 I.501,503,509,515 Amended Mar. 358 
 I.511 Repealed Mar. 358 
 I.517,519,521,523,525,529 Adopted Mar. 358 
 VI.301 Amended Mar. 358 
     
50 I.305 Adopted June 796 
 I.501 Amended June 796 
 I.2101,2103,2105 Amended Sept. 1227 
 I.2111 Amended July 953 
 II.10123,20001 Amended May 695 
 III.10307 Amended Jan. 029 
 III.10905 Amended Apr. 588 
 V.111 Adopted Aug. 1088 
 VII.32901 Amended Jan. 028 
 VII.32917 Adopted Jan. 028 
 XI.10703 Amended Feb. 182 
 XI.16703 Amended Feb. 184 
 XV.7103,7105,9531,9533,9535 Amended Feb. 342 
 XV.9541 Adopted Feb. 185 
 XV.16301,16303,16305 Amended Feb. 184 
 XV.16303,16305 Amended July 954 
 XXVII.541 Amended May 694 
 XXIX.107,111,115,119,501,949,1101 Amended Jan. 033 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 46 
Page # 

50 XXIX.123,991,993 Amended Mar. 345 
 XXIX.701,703,707,709,713,715 Repealed Jan. 033 
 XXXIII.2501,2701,6103,6303,6305,6307 Amended June 794 
 XXXIII.6501,6701 Amended June 794 
 XXXIII.2501,2701,6103,6303,6305,6307 Repromulgated July 951 
 XXXIII.6501,6701 Repromulgated July 951 
 XXXIII.4101,4103,4301,4303,4305,4501 Amended Feb. 185 
 XXXIII.8101,8103 Amended Feb. 183 
 XXXIII.15101,15103,15301,15303,15501 Adopted Jan. 027 
 XXXIII.15701 Adopted Jan. 027 
     
51 II.101,701 Amended Apr. 589 
 II.703 Adopted Apr. 589 
 VI.301 Amended Mar. 358 
 VII.2707 Amended Mar. 356 
 XXI.101 Amended Apr. 589 
     
52 I.1002,1101,1102 Amended Mar. 313 
 I.1611 Adopted Mar. 313 
 I.1701,1719 Repealed Mar. 313 
 I.1703 Amended July 892 
     
55 I.583 Amended June 796 
 I.1307 Amended Sept. 1232 
 I.1503,1543 Amended Apr. 591 
 I.3301,3303 Adopted May 702 
 III.451,453,455,457 Adopted Feb. 186 
 V.101 Amended May 701 
 V.102 Adopted May 701 
 V.555,557 Adopted Feb. 190 
 VI.901 Amended Feb. 191 
 IX.105,107,109,113,133,177,181,205,1513 Amended Feb. 187 
 IX.501,503 Adopted May 700 
 XI.501,503 Adopted May 701 
     
56 III.301,303,315,317,319,321,323,325,327 Adopted Sept. 1235 
 III.501 Adopted Sept. 1235 
     
58 I.1301,1503 Amended Jan. 048 
 I.1901,1903,1905,1907,1909,2501,2503 Repealed Jan. 048 
 III.501,502 Adopted Sept. 1241 
 III.503,505,509,511,513,517 Amended Sept. 1241 
 III.507,510,519,521,901 Repealed Sept. 1241 
 XVIII.106,301 Adopted Aug. 1106 
 XVIII.501,701 Adopted Aug. 1107 
     
61 I.1001 Adopted Jan. 042 
 I.6105,6107 Amended Feb. 179 
 I.6531,6533,6535,6537,6541 Amended Aug. 1081 
 III.1537,1538 Adopted Jan. 044 
 III.2901,2903 Adopted Jan. 045 
 V.101,121,213,303,703,907,1103,1307,1503 Amended Apr. 559 
 V.2503,2711,2713,2717,3103 Amended Apr. 559 
     
67 III.1938,1940,1941,1987,1988,1998 Amended Sept. 1218 
 III.2013,2111 Amended Sept. 1218 
 V.1103 Amended Jan. 013 
 V.4901,4903,5101,5103,5105 Amended Jan. 011 
 V.6703,6705,6707,6708,6710,6712 Amended May  666 
 V.6955,6957,6959,6961,6962 Amended May 687 
 V.6966 Adopted May 687 
 V.7105,7107,7109,7111,7112,7117 Amended May 666 
 V.7124,7314 Adopted May 666 
 V.7307,7309,7311,7313,7315,7323 Amended May 666 
     
69 I.301,309,313,317,321,323,325,327,329 Amended June 785 
 I.501,701,903,905,1101 Amended June 785 
 I.707,909 Adopted June 785 
     
70 XXVII.101 Amended May 703 
     
71 IX.101,103,105,107 Adopted Feb. 192 
     
76 I.317 Amended Feb. 193 
 III.339 Adopted May 705 
 V.111 Amended May 704 
 V.701 Amended Jan. 049 
 VII.335 Amended May 705 
 VII.357 Amended Jan. 050 
 VII.501,505 Amended Apr. 592 
 VII.502,503 Adopted Apr. 592 
 VII.537 Amended Mar. 363 
 XIX.101,103,111,113,115,117 Amended July 955 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Angel Investor Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 33) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Angel Investor Tax Credit Program rules, published as a 
Notice of Intent in the September 2020 Louisiana Register, 
pages 1274- 1276, have been postponed to allow interested 
stakeholders throughout the state and the Department of 
Economic Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 11 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments and 
testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. If 
you have any further questions or need further information, 
please contact Robin Porter at (225) 342-3060 or 
Robin.Porter@la.gov. 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

2010#038 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Enterprise Zone Program  
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 7) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Enterprise Zone Program rules, published as a Notice of 
Intent in the September 2020 Louisiana Register, pages 
1260-1266, have been postponed to allow interested 
stakeholders throughout the state and the Department of 
Economic Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 10 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments and

testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. If 
you have any further questions or need further information, 
please contact Stephanie Le Grange at (225) 342-5406 or 
Stephanie.LeGrange@la.gov. 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

2010#039 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Quality Jobs Program (LAC 13:I.Chapter 11) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Quality Jobs Program rules, published as a Notice of Intent 
in the September 2020 Louisiana Register, pages 1266-1274, 
have been postponed to allow interested stakeholders 
throughout the state and the Department of Economic 
Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 9 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments and 
testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. If 
you have any further questions or need further information, 
please contact Stephanie Le Grange at (225) 342-5406 or 
Stephanie.LeGrange@la.gov. 

 
Anne G. Villa 
Undersecretary 

2010#040 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 
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Operator Field District Well Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 
Amalgamated Bonanza Petr. Ltd. East White Lake L Walter White Heirs 001 150325(29) 

Alta Mesa Services, LP St Gabriel L Mary Walker Goston 1 35184 
Alta Mesa Services, LP St Gabriel L Natalbany Lbr Co B 8 39253 
Alta Mesa Services, LP St Gabriel L Pont Ra Sud;Pontchartrain 1 40642 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island swd 23 50046 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 24 51496 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 30 59932 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 31 60593 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 32 62455 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 33 64470 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 033D 66134 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 45 72754 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 46 73295 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 51 74936 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 046D 75593 
Alta Mesa Services, LP St Gabriel L Natalbany Lbr Co 1 77010 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 55 77632 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 58 78292 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 030D 79534 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 045D 81342 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 59 83368 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 53 84211 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 57 86430 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 057D 88207 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 66 89962 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 67 90313 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 058D 92443 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 68 92628 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 053D 92941 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 059D 92942 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 066D 93007 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 69 93665 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 067D 94755 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 068D 95139 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 069D 96985 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 73 98118 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 073D 101012 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 023D 105117 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 80 110726 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 78 115654 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 080D 116883 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 89 129054 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 92 129832 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 94 131018 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 95 131307 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 99 132809 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 97 133808 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 103 135100 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 105 135289 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 98 135873 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 117 141251 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 121 142240 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 124 142916 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 129 143357 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 130 143358 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 131 143550 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 135 143727 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 132 143820 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 136 144242 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 131-D 144529 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 137 144553 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 139 144663 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 137-D 145114 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 149 145253 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 154 145304 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 127 147468 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 166 158195 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 182 184651 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 184 192628 
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Operator Field District Well Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 181 213187 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 186 225960 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Bayou Biloxi L Cris I Rc Sua;SL 17958 1 229453 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Bayou Biloxi L Cris I Rd Sua;L A Prejean Etal 1 230488 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Chandeleur Sound Addition Block 43 L SL 18315 1 230885 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 190 232244 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 191 232245 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Chandeleur Sound Addition Block 43 L Cris I Ra Sua;SL 18307 1 232396 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Chandeleur Sound Addition Block 43 L SL 18373 1 232567 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 187 233048 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island 189 236373 
Alta Mesa Services, LP St Gabriel L Gueymard A 1 245131 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island swd 1 972539 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Thornwell, South L Lacassane Co swd 1 972572 
Alta Mesa Services, LP Cote Blanche Island L SL 340 Cote Blanche Island swd 2 972588 

 
Richard P. Ieyoub 
Commissioner  

2010#023 

 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Public Hearing—Substantive Changes to Proposed Rule; 
Fantasy Sports Contests 

(LAC 42:III.102, 104, 105, 107,  
120, 1907 and VII.Chapters 1-13) 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board published a Notice 
of Intent to promulgate Fantasy Sports Contests, in the 
August 20, 2020 edition of the Louisiana Register (LR 
46:1160-1177).  The notice solicited comments.  As a result 
of its analysis of the comments received, the board proposes 
to amend certain portions of the proposed Rule.  The board 
proposes to amend the language of Sections 103, 307, 309, 
501, 505, 507, 509, 701, 703, 705, 707, 901, and the heading 
of Chapter 9 of Part VII of Title 42 of the Administrative 
Code. 

Taken together, all of these proposed amendments will 
closely align the proposed Rule with the proposed Rule as 
published by the Louisiana Gaming Control Board in the 
August 2020 edition of the Louisiana Register (LR 46:1160-
1177).  The alignment of these Rules will allow for the 
conducting, application, licensing, enforcement, and 
regulation of fantasy sports contests. No fiscal or economic 
impact will result from amendments in the notice. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part III.  Gaming Control Board 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§102. Issuance and Renewal of Licenses by the 

Department 
A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 22:1140 
(November 1996), LR 46: 
§104. Delegation to Chairman 

A. - B. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, R.S. 27:24 and R.S. 27:220. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Board, LR 22:1140 (November 1996), amended LR 25:80 
(January 1999), LR 46: 
§105. Civil Penalties 

A. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 22:1138 
(November 1996), LR 46: 
§107. Standards of Conduct and Ethical Rules 

A.1. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 22:1139 
(November 1996), LR 46: 
§120. Application and Reporting Forms 

A. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
26:340 (February 2000), amended LR 40:1379 (July 2014), LR 
41:2176 (October 2015), LR 42:575 (April 2016), LR 46: 
Chapter 19. Administrative Procedures and Authority 
§1907. Construction of Regulations and Administrative 

Matters 
A. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 38:1608 
(July 2012), LR 46: 

Part VII.  Louisiana Fantasy Sports Contest 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Statement of Policy 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
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§103. Definitions 
A. … 
B. As used in this Chapter, the following words and 

terms shall have the following meanings. 
Act—Sporting Event— … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, 24, and 304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§105. Gaming Control Board; Duties and Powers 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§107. Construction of Regulations 

A. - B.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 3. Licensing 
§301. Licenses, General 

A. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§303. Permits, General 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§305. Transfers of Interest; Loans and Restrictions 

A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§307. Applications 

A. - A.4. … 
5. The filing of an application under the Act or these 

regulations constitutes a request for a decision upon the 
applicant's general suitability, character, integrity, and ability 
to engage in or be associated with a licensee or permittee. 
By filing an application, the applicant specifically consents 
to the making of such a decision by the board or division. 

A.6. - C.5.g. … 
h. company documents including, but not limited to, 

articles of organization, amendments, operating agreement, 
corporate certificates, charters and bylaws, amended and 
reinstated, meeting minutes, and Louisiana Secretary of 
State filings; 

i. a certification report from a designated gaming 
laboratory specified by the division or board indicating the 
platform is in compliance with the Act, these regulations, 
division technical guidelines, and internal controls; and 

j. such other information and details as the board or 
division may require in order to properly discharge its duties. 

C.6. - D.5.a. … 
b. receives or may receive any share or portion of 

the gross fantasy sports gaming revenues generated by 

gaming activities subject to the limitations provided in R.S. 
27:28(H)(2)(b); 

D.5.c. - J.2.b. … 
c. a list of all administrative actions instituted or 

pending in any other jurisdiction against or involving the 
applicant, parent company of the applicant, or an affiliate 
related to gaming operations, fantasy sports operations, or 
alleged criminal actions or activities; 

J.2.d. - K.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§309. Suitability and Requirements 

A. - D. … 
E. An application for a license to conduct fantasy 

sports contests constitutes a request for a suitability 
determination, as described in R.S. 27:28, of the general 
character, honesty, integrity, and ability of any person 
associated with the applicant to engage in or be associated 
with fantasy sports contests. 

F. - F.1. … 
2. obtain and maintain applicable parish and/or 

municipal occupational and other required permits and 
licenses to operate within said parish or municipality and 
pay all fees required to secure the aforementioned licenses 
and permits prior to being issued a license; and 

F.3. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§311. Continuing Suitability, Duty to Report 

A. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§313. Other Considerations for Licensing 

A. The board may consider the following criteria when 
deciding whether to issue a license or a finding of suitability 
to conduct fantasy sport contest or whether to continue 
licensing or finding a person suitable to engage in fantasy 
sports contests. The various criteria set forth may not have 
the same importance in each instance. Other factors may 
present themselves in the consideration of licensing and a 
finding of suitability.  The following criteria are not listed in 
order of priority: 

1. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§315. Surrender of a License 

A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 5. Rules; Operations 
§501. Fantasy Sports Contest Operator Requirements 

and Restrictions; Internal Controls 
A. - D.3.e. … 
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4. prevent players from participating in a fantasy 
sports contest where the entry fee is greater than the balance 
in the player’s account; 

5. - 6. … 
7. that no winning outcome is based on the score, 

point spread, or any performance of any single real-world 
sports team or combination of such teams or solely on any 
single performance of an individual athlete or person 
engaged in any single real-world sporting event; 

8. that the following persons do not participate in 
fantasy sports contests: 

a. athletes and individuals who engage in or 
officiate a game or competition that is a real-world sport or 
athletic event that is the subject of a fantasy sports contest; 
and 

8.b. - 12. … 
13. segregate fantasy sports contest player funds from 

operational funds or maintain a reserve that exceeds the 
amount of player funds on deposit, which may not be used 
for operational activities. Reserve funds may take the form 
of cash, cash equivalents, payment processor reserves, 
payment processor receivables, an irrevocable letter of 
credit, a bond, or a combination thereof, in the amount that 
must exceed the total balances of the fantasy sports contest 
players' accounts.  If a licensee chooses to utilize a special 
purpose segregated account for the purpose of segregation or 
reserve funds, it shall submit to the division all information 
and documentation regarding the account and shall receive 
approval prior to using the account for such purposes; 

14. prohibit the use of unauthorized scripts or scripting 
programs for any contest that gives an unfair advantage over 
other players in fantasy sports contests and ensure that 
commercially reasonable measures are in place to deter, 
detect, and, to the extent reasonably possible, prevent 
cheating, collusion, and the use of cheating devices, 
including unauthorized software programs that submit entry 
fees or adjust the athletes selected by a player; 

15. not offer fantasy sports contests based on the 
performances of athletes or persons that engage in high 
school or youth athletic events; 

16. … 
17. withhold all winnings from players determined to 

be under the age of 21 or determined to have participated in 
a fantasy sports contest from within a prohibited parish; 

18. - 19.b. … 
20. publish and facilitate parental control procedures to 

allow parents or guardians to exclude minors from access to 
any contest or platform; and 

21. determine the geographical location of a player 
when participating in a fantasy sports contest. 

E. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§503. Platforms; Identification of Licensee; Duties of 

Licensee 
A. - D.1. … 

2. a licensee shall not offer fantasy sports contests 
based on the performances of athletes or persons that engage 
in high school or youth athletics. 

E. - G. … 

H. If a session is terminated due to a player inactivity 
timeout, the player’s device must display to the player that 
the session has timed out and inform him of the steps needed 
to be taken to reestablish the session. If the session is 
terminated due to a player inactivity timeout, no further 
activity is permitted unless and until a new session is 
established by the player. This process shall include, at a 
minimum, the manual entry of the player’s secure password. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, 24, and 304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§505. Scripts 

A. - B. … 
C. Licensees shall monitor fantasy sports contests to 

detect the use of unauthorized scripts and restrict players 
found to have used such scripts from entering or 
participating in further fantasy sports contests. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§507. Prohibited Parish; Geolocation, Geofencing; 

Proxy Servers 
A. … 
B. Licensees shall implement and abide by protocols and 

procedures to ensure a player is not utilizing a proxy server, 
virtual private network, spoofing, or other means to disguise 
their physical location or their computer or device’s physical 
location when participating in or attempting to participate in 
a fantasy sports contest.  Licensees shall use, at a minimum: 

B.1. - B.2. … 
C. Licensees shall prohibited participation in a fantasy 

sports contest if a player is utilizing any means to disguise 
his identity or physical location or his computer or device’s 
physical location or attempting to act as a proxy for another 
player. 

D. If a licensee discovers a player utilizing any means to 
disguise their identity or physical location or their 
computer’s or device’s physical location or acting as a proxy 
for another player in order to participate in a fantasy sports 
contest, the licensee shall immediately suspend the player’s 
participation in any fantasy sports contest and follow 
protocols to reach a final determination about the player’s 
account and future access and account privileges. Licensees 
shall maintain a record of all information, documentation, or 
evidence of such activity. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§509. Player Registration with Licensee Required 

A. - B. … 
B.1. implement security standards to prevent 

participation in fantasy sports contests by a person whose 
location and age have not been verified in accordance with 
the act, these regulations, or internal controls; 

2. - 3. … 
4. clearly and conspicuously publish and facilitate 

parental control procedures to allow parents or guardians to 
exclude minors from access to any contest or platform. 
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C. - C.11. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§511. Limitation on Active Accounts; Obligations to 

Players 
A. - A.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§513. Designation of Players; Games Offered 

A. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§515. Charging for Inactive Accounts 

A. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§517. Protection for Problem or Compulsive Gamblers  

A. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§519. Advertising, Mandatory Signage 

A. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 7. Records; Accounting; Confidentiality 
§701. Financial Statements and Records 

A. - G.1. … 
2. The payment of taxes in accordance with R.S. 

27:316 shall be paid monthly and is due by the twentieth of 
the following month. If the due date is a non-banking day, 
the fees are due the closest banking day prior to the 
twentieth unless it is more than two days before the 
twentieth in which case the taxes are due the first banking 
day after the twentieth. 

G.3. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§703. Record Retention and Backup 

A. … 
B. Each licensee shall conduct a complete system data 

backup to an off-site location a minimum of once a month. 
For purposes of this Section, the licensee shall submit the 
name, location, and security controls of the off-site storage 
facility to the division. Licensees shall submit changes to the 
location and security controls of the off-site storage facility 
at least 30 days prior to the change. Any changes less than 
30 days in advance must include justification for the late 
submission. For licensees using managed cloud service 
backups, the name of the cloud service and region where the 
primary copy of the data shall be provided at the time of 

licensure and at the time of any change thereafter. A 
complete system data backup includes, but is not limited to: 

1. - 3. … 
4. the geographical location of every player 

participating in a fantasy sports contest on a platform of the 
licensee. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§705. Funds; Segregation of Funds 

A. Licensees shall: 
1. segregate fantasy sports contest player funds from 

operational funds in accordance with R.S. 27:308(A)(9); or 
2. maintain a reserve in the form of cash, cash 

equivalents, payment processor reserves, payment processor 
receivables, an irrevocable letter of credit, a bond, or a 
combination of these sources that is at least equal to the 
amount of money deposited in fantasy sports contest player 
accounts. 

B. Licensees may satisfy the requirements of Subsection 
A by establishing a special purpose segregated account that 
is maintained and controlled by a properly constituted 
corporate entity that has a governing board that includes one 
or more independent corporate directors. The corporate 
entity must require a unanimous vote of all corporate 
directors to file bankruptcy and must have articles of 
incorporation that prohibit commingling of funds with those 
of the fantasy sports contest operator, except as necessary to 
reconcile the accounts. 

1. Licensees shall provide the division with any and 
all information and documentation regarding its special 
purpose segregated account and shall receive approval of 
such account by the division prior to the implementation of 
such. 

C. - F … 
G. A licensee may decline to honor a player’s request to 

withdraw funds only if the licensee believes in good faith 
that the player engaged in fraudulent conduct or other 
conduct that would put the licensee in violation of the Act or 
these regulations. In such cases, the licensee may withhold 
the funds for a reasonable investigatory period until the 
investigation is resolved, if the licensee provides notice of 
the nature of the investigation to the player and conducts its 
investigation in a reasonable and expedient fashion 
providing the player additional written notice of the status of 
the investigation every tenth business day starting from the 
day the original notice was provided to the player. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, 24, and 304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§707. Audits and Reporting  

A. - D. … 
E. Each licensee shall submit to the division annual 

audited financial statements reflecting all financial activities 
of the licensee's fantasy sports contest operations subjected 
to an examination conducted according to generally accepted 
auditing standards by an independent Certified Public 
Accountant (CPA). 

1. This shall include auditing total entry fees, entry 
fees from players located in Louisiana, location percentage 
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calculations, winnings paid, net revenue, and taxes paid to 
Louisiana based on net revenues.  The auditor shall reconcile 
these audited amounts to similar amounts on the annual 
audited financial statements and system reports. 

E.2. - F.1. … 
2. The auditor shall include in this report any items 

discovered by the auditor or brought to the auditor’s 
attention where the operator does not act in accordance with 
the internal controls and procedures provided to the division. 
The report should also include notification and explanation 
for all occasions when the operator denies a player’s request 
to withdraw funds and all occasions when the operator 
discovers the use of unauthorized scripts on its platform. 

a. Denial of a withdrawal means the operator or its 
agent issues the decision to deny a player’s request to 
withdraw.  Issues not controlled by the operator, such as 
banking system issues, incorrect deposit account numbers, or 
other issues not controlled by the operator are not included. 

b. Reportable script items includes unauthorized 
scripts discovered on the platform whether used or not. 

F.3. - N.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§709. Public and Confidential Records 

A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 9. Computer Systems; Security 
§901. Computer Systems and Platforms; Security 

A. Licensees shall implement, maintain, and comply 
with procedures, protocols, and security measures required 
by Chapter 28 of Part III of this Title and this Part. 

B. Licensees shall utilize a designated gaming laboratory 
specified by the division or board to complete an initial 
technical certification of the fantasy sports operator’s 
platform to ensure the platform is in operational compliance 
with the Act, these regulations, division technical guidelines, 
and internal controls.  A copy of the certification report shall 
be included with the information and documentation 
submitted to the division when applying for and renewing a 
license. The certification report shall, at a minimum, identify 
applicable methods, programs, protocols and security 
measures implemented by the licensee, a permittee, or an 
approved third party for the following: 

1. player identification and age verification; 
2. location verification methods utilized by the 

platform;  
3. detection of proxy server or VPN use; 
4. methods to detect unauthorized scripts; 
5. process to detect or prevent unauthorized access to 

sensitive areas of the platform; and  
6. procedures to prevent unauthorized access to or 

manipulation of sensitive player data. 
C. At the discretion of the division, additional testing or 

certification of the platform by a designated gaming 

laboratory specified by the division or board may be 
required. The licensee shall incur all costs associated with 
the testing of the platform. Failure on the part of the licensee 
to incur these costs may be grounds for administrative action 
by the division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, 24, and 304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§903. Data Security 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 11. Procedures; Access; Investigations 
§1101. Access to Premises and Records 

A. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§1103. Refusal to Answer 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§1115. Assisting in or Notification of Violations 

A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
Chapter 13. Hearings; Administrative Actions; 

Penalties 
§1301. Administrative Actions 

A. - E.7.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15, 24, and 304. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 46: 
§1303. Civil Penalties 

A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 
Public Hearing 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, specifically at R.S. 49:968(H)(2), the board 
gives notice of a public hearing on these substantive 
amendments to the proposed Rule.  The hearing will be held 
at 10:00 a.m. on Monday, November 23, 2020 at the 
Louisiana State Police Headquarters, Room B located at 
7919 Independence Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA  70806. 

 
Michael Noel 
Chairman 

2010#067 
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Agency Hearings 
Emergency Cancellations or Modifications 

 
Department of Economic Development 

Office of the Secretary 

Angel Investor Tax Credit Program  
(LAC 13: I. Chapter 33) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Angel Investor Tax Credit Program rules, published as a 
Notice of Intent in the September 2020 Louisiana Register, 
pages 1274- 1276, have been postponed to allow interested 
stakeholders throughout the state and the Department of 
Economic Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 11 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments and 
testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. If 
you have any further questions or need further information, 
please contact Robin Porter at (225) 342-3060 or 
Robin.Porter@la.gov. 

Enterprise Zone Program  
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 7) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Enterprise Zone Program rules, published as a Notice of 
Intent in the September 2020 Louisiana Register, pages 
1260-1266, have been postponed to allow interested 
stakeholders throughout the state and the Department of 
Economic Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 10 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street,  
Baton Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments  
and testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. 
If you have any further questions or need further 
information, please contact Stephanie Le Grange at (225) 
342-5406 or Stephanie.LeGrange@la.gov. 

Quality Jobs Program  
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 11) 

In light of recent events, the public hearing to receive 
comments and testimony on the proposed revisions to the 
Quality Jobs Program rules, published as a Notice of Intent

in the September 220 Louisiana Register, pages 1266-1274, 
have been postponed to allow interested stakeholders 
throughout the state and the Department of Economic 
Development to concentrate on the 2020 Second 
Extraordinary Legislative Session. The hearing will now be 
held at 9 am on Friday, November 20, 2020 in the LaBelle 
Room at the LaSalle Building, 617 North 3rd Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70802. The deadline for all comments and 
testimony has been extended to 12 noon that same day. If 
you have any further questions or need further information, 
please contact Stephanie Le Grange at (225) 342-5406 or 
Stephanie.LeGrange@la.gov.  

 
 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

In light of recent events relative to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide public health 
emergency declaration, the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, will modify the format 
of the administrative rules hearing scheduled for October 29, 
2020 @ 9:30 a.m. for the following Medical Assistance 
Program proposed rule revision:  

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology  
(LAC 50:II.20005) 

The hearing will now proceed for the above proposed rule 
revisions on Thursday, October 29, 2020 @ 9:30 a.m. via 
Zoom meeting using the following URL link:   

 
https://zoom.us/j/91874181026  

Alternatively, one can join by telephone at the following 
number: 
Dial: USA 602 333 0032 
Conference code: 768964 

Please refer to the Notices of Intent published in the 
September 20, 2020 edition of the Louisiana Register or the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing Rulemaking website at 
http://ldh.la.gov/index. cfm/newsroom/category/172. 

 
Questions or requests for additional information may be 

directed to Allen Enger, LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, at 
225-342-1342 or by email to Allen.Enger@la.gov. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2019-December 2019, 150QU 
January 2020-March 2020, 639QU 
January 2020-June 2020, 1038QU 
January 2020-September 2020, 1485QU 

 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

Annual quarantine listing for 2020, 640P 
Guava root knot nematode quarantine, 166ER, 776ER, 

799N, 1200ER, 1371R 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Certification of agricultural consultants, 994N 
Certification of commercial applicators, 169R 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 
Industrial hemp, 169R 

Horticulture Commission 
Administration, 52N, 1076R 
Classification form, 52N, 1076R 
Examinations, 52N, 1076R 
Sod quality, 52N, 1076R 

Agro Consumer Services, Office of 
Commercial weighting and measuring device, 1403N 
Fuel price advertising, 1403N 
Meat labeling, 1403N 
Truth in labeling of food products, 995N, 1405N 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 
Number of commission meetings and recordkeeping 

for excessive deduction, 312R 
Forestry, Office of 

Logos for state products, 10R 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Approved termiticides and manufacturers, 153P 
Continuing education for registered technicians, 

1346ER 
Public hearing of substantive changes to proposed 

rule—structural pest control, 1039P 
Structural pest control, 54N 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of  
Board nominations, 859P 
Continuing Veterinary Education, 774ER 
Preceptorship Program, 774ER 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Louisiana’s 2020 Annual Progress and Services Report, 

760P 
Social Services Block Grant Intended Use Report, 760P 

Child Support Enforcement Section 
Criminal history records checks for access to  

federal tax information, 998N 
Child Welfare, Division of 

Adoption petition program, 11R 
Adoption subsidy program, 11R 
Extended foster care services, 2ER, 652ER, 1200ER, 

1408N 
State central registry, 13R 

Economic Stability Section 
Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP), 

800N, 1218R 
Electronic Benefits Issuance System, 1259N 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction, 154P 

Vulnerable communities and people’s initiative, 
1060ER, 1409N 

Licensing Section 
Federal background checks, 57N, 666R 
Public hearing rescheduled, 295P 
State central registry 

Child residential care, Class B, 78N, 687R 
Suspension of license renewal fees 

Child residential care class B, 869ER, 1346ER 
Residential homes (Type IV), 869ER, 1346ER 
Child placing agencies, 869ER, 1346ER 
Juvenile detention, 869ER, 1346ER 

 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Administrative Law, Division of 

Commencement of adjudications, 1000N, 1371R 
Division of Administrative Law adjudications, 315R 

Ethics, Board of 
Campaign finance disclosure, 313R 
Code of governmental ethics, 313R 
Food and drink limit, 601N, 892R 
Hearings and pre-hearing procedures, 313R 

2020 
Pages    Issue 
1-163 ..................................................... January 
164-298 ................................................. February 
299-492 ................................................. March 
493-650 ................................................. April 
651-770 ................................................. May 
771-868 ................................................. June 
869-1057 ............................................... July 
1058-1196 ............................................. August 
1197-1342 ............................................. September 
1343-1503 ............................................. October 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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CIVIL SERVICE (continued) 
Tax Appeals, Board of 

Notice of public hearing 
Substantive changes to proposed rules, 154P 

Procedure and practice, 785R 
 
 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
State Museum, Office of the 

Accessions, 692R 
Deaccessions, 692R 
Loan policy, 692R 
Public access, 692R 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 

Enterprise zone program, 1260N, 1487P 
Quality jobs program, 1266N, 1487P 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 
Entertainment development fund 

Education development grant programs, 268N, 1077R 
Filmmaker matching grants, 402N, 1079R 

Motion picture tax credit program, 179R 
Sound recording investor tax credit program, 404N, 

1081R 
Qualified music company payroll tax credit program, 

407N 
Secretary, Office of 

Angel investor tax credit program, 1274N, 1487P 
 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 
Alternative program candidates, 324R 
Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 1001N, 1372R 

Bulletin 118—Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 870ER 
LEAP 2025 
Science and biology, 2ER 
Transfer rules, 1003N, 1372R 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
Charter School Renewals and Virtual Charter School 
Attendance, 411N, 788R 

Reopening of Schools for the 2020-2021 School Year, 
1276N 

Bulletin 139—Louisiana Child Care and Development 
Fund Programs, 3ER 
CCAP household eligibility, 1004N, 1373R 

Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network 
Academic approval, 84N, 555R 
Accountability, 84N, 555R 
Coordinated enrollment, 84N, 555R 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 
Community Service Diploma Endorsement, 1279N 
Credit recovery courses and units, 707N, 1083R 
Curriculum and instruction, 87N, 556R 
Diploma integrity, 707N, 1083R, 1279N 
Individual graduation plans, 707N, 1083R 
Reopening of schools for the 2020-2020 school year, 
1281N 

TOPS university diploma, 87N, 556R 
Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators 
Carnegie credit, 708N, 1084R 
Credit flexibility, 708N, 1084R 
Health and physical education, 708N 
Reopening of schools for the 2020-2021 school year, 
1284N 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 557R 
Accredited institutions, 1006N, 1372R 
Certifications and endorsements, 17R, 88N 
Child nutrition program supervisor certification, 
1006N, 1372R 

Deaf or hard of hearing, 1006N, 1372R 
Montessori training providers, 1006N, 1372R 
Teaching authorizations,1006N, 1372R 
PRAXIS social studies exam scores, 4ER 

Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs 
Early Childhood Ancillary Programs, 891R 

Bulletin 1566—Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures Regular Placement 
Summer remediation, 17R 

Bulletin 1706—Regulation for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act, 180R 

English language proficiency 
Bulletins 111, 118, and 741, 14R 

Jump Start 
Career diploma, 711N, 1085R 
Program authorization,711N, 1085R 
Waiver requests, 711N, 1085R 

School facilities reopening, 2020-2021, 1060ER 
Regents, Board of 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Go Youth challenge legislation, 19R 
Scholarship/grant programs, 19R 
2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
and TOPS 5.0 grading scale 

AP psychology, 652ER 
2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
and TOPS 5.0 grading scale 

AP psychology, 652ER, 1208ER, 1288N 
Hurricane Laura 

Deferments, 1347ER, 1410N 
Exceptions, 1347ER, 1410N 

TOPS exceptions, 326R 
Tuition Trust Authority 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
START saving program, 653ER, 712N,1222R, 1281N 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Secretary, Office of the 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 
2019 annual incorporation by reference of certain 
federal air quality regulations, 601N, 893R 

2019 annual incorporation by reference of certain 
water regulations, 330R 

Circulation of emissions from organic liquid storage 
tanks, 295P 

Cross Bayou Stream, 714N, 1086R 
Cross Lake, 714N, 1086R 
Definition of treatment, 604N, 8956R 
Hazardous waste generator improvements, 412N, 
896R 

LPDES application and program requirements, 271N, 
789R 

Petition provisions of the Title V permitting program, 
805N, 1385 

 
Recovery furnaces, 807N, 1223R 
Regulatory permit for stationary combustion turbines, 
558R 

State Implementation Plan (SIP) revisions 
Interstate transport prong 4, 1185P 

Water quality standards triennial revision, 1185P 
Written notification procedures, 467N, 949R 

Environmental Services, Office of 
Waste Permits Division 
Medical Waste Incinerator Regulations, 1185P 

 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 19-22 The Louisiana Complete Count Committee, 1EO 
JBE 20-01 Offender Labor, 164EO 
JBE 20-02 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2019, 164EO 
JBE 20-03 Governor’s Advisory Council on Rural 

Revitalization, 299EO 
JBE 20-04 Flags at Half-Staff—Dudley Anthony “Butch” 

Gautreaux, Jr., 300 EO 
JBE 20-05 Work and Career Development Requirements for 

ABAWD Snap Participants—Rescinding Executive Order 
Number JBE 2016-12, 300EO 

JBE 20-06 Broadband for Everyone in Louisiana 
Commission—Amending Executive Order Number JBE 
19-20, 301EO 

JBE 20-07 Governor’s Advisory Council on Disability 
Affairs—Amending Executive Order Number 16-10, 
302EO 

JBE 20-08 Statewide Independent Living Council 
Amending Executive Order Number 16-14, 302EO 

JBE 20-09 Flags at Half-Staff—Clifton Russell Richardson, 
303EO 

JBE 20-10 Flags at Half-Staff—Reggie Paul Bagala, 651EO 
JBE 20-11 Flags at Half-Staff—Glenn Hutto, 771EO 
JBE 20-12 Flags at Half-Staff—Peace Officers Memorial 

Day, 771EO 
JBE 20-13 Flags at Half-Staff—Trooper George Baker, 

771EO 
JBE 20-14 Flags at Half-Staff—Ernest Durham Wooton, 

772EO 
JBE 20-15 Flags at Half-Staff—Ronald Jude “Ron” Landry, 

772EO 
JBE 20-16 Flags at Half-Staff—United States 

Representative John Lewis, 1058EO 

JBE 20-17 Flags at Half-Staff—Frank Alden “Frankie” 
Howard, 1058EO 

JBE 20-18 Climate Initiatives Task Force, 1197EO 
JBE 20-19 Coastal Resilience, 1343EO 
JBE 20-20 Flags at Half-Staff—Former Governor 

 Murphy J. “Mike” Foster, Jr, 1344EO 
 
 
 

GOVERNOR  
Administration, Division of 

Commissioner, Office of the 
PPM 49—General Travel Regulations, 840PPM, 

1484PPM 
Rulemaking petitions, 337R 

Community Development, Office of 
Community water enrichment fund, eligibility, 20R 
Local Government Assistance Program (LGAP), 

Eligibility, 20R 
Rulemaking petitions, 331R 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 
Contract limit adjustment, 155P 
Public hearing, designer contracts, 155P 
Public hearing—substantive changes to proposed 

rule; designer contracts, 1040P 
Rulemaking petitions, 331R 

Group Benefits, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 332R 

Indian Affairs, Office of 
American Indian scholarship, 1289N 

Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board 
Qualified health care service providers, 655ER, 

1349ER 
Rulemaking petitions, 181R 

Property Assistance Agency 
Rulemaking petitions, 337R 

Racing Commission 
Permitted medications in quarter horses, 182R 

Risk Management, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 333R 

State Lands, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 333R 

State Procurement, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 334R 

State Register, Office of the 
Rulemaking petitions, 334R 

State Uniform Payroll 
Rulemaking petitions, 335R 

Statewide Reporting and Accounting Policy,  
Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 335R 

Tax Commission 
Ad valorem taxation, 559R 

Technology Services, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 336R 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
Blood work lab results for class B contestants, 304ER, 

776ER, 1349ER 
Certified Public Accountants of Louisiana, State  
Board of 
Examination, 338R 
Retake, 338R 
Granting of credit requirements, 338R 
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GOVERNOR (continued) 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Deepwater Horizon oil spill 
Birds, 1187P 
Coastal, 1187P 
Cypremort Point State Park improvements project 

modification, 642P 
Marine animals and oysters, 485P 
Nearshore habitats, 1187P 
Upper Barataria, 484P 
Wetlands, 1187P 

Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration 
of Criminal Justice 
Peace officer training, 90N, 693R 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
Victim compensation, 1411N 

Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, Board of 
Certified shorthand reporter fees, 870ER, 1110N 
Continuing education credits (online), 871ER, 1112N 
Digital signature certification, 1109N 
Reciprocal certification for military personnel and 

spouses, 1113N 
Financial Institutions, Office of 

Applications and notices, 1020N, 1387R 
Motor Vehicle Commission 

License renewal fees suspension for Louisiana-based 
business licensees, 871ER 

New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for 
the Mississippi River, Board of Examiners for 
Standards of conduct, 4ER, 654ER 

Pardons and Parole, Board of 
Panel action, 1019N, 1232R 

Used Motor Vehicle Commission 
License renewal fees suspension, 1351ER 

 
 
 

HEALTH  
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide 
public health emergency, 502ER, 504ER, 779ER, 
878ER, 1202ER 

Behavior Analyst Board 
Supervision requirements, 567R 
Temporary reduction of license and certificate renewal 

fees, 1201ER 
Behavioral Health, Office of 

Adult mental health services 
Peer support services, 1296N 

Behavioral health services 
Opioid treatment programs 
Treatment for opioid use disorder, 27R 

Children and adult mental health services, 471N, 794R, 
951R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 
waiver 
Coordinated system of care discharge criteria, 183R 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide 
public health emergency, 502ER, 779ER, 1202ER 

School-based health services 

School-based applied behavior analysis-based therapy 
services, 185R 

Substance Use Disorders Services, 1114N 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Act 421 children’s Medicaid option, 1291N 
Certified medication attendants 

Qualifications, 100N, 589R 
Home and community-based services waivers 

New opportunities waivers 
Individual and family support payments, 1297N 

Individual and family support program, 349R, 1280N 
Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide 
public health emergency, 504ER, 878ER, 1202ER 

Dentistry, Board of 
CDC inspection violation expungement 

Nitrous oxide analgesia, 1290N 
General provisions 

Restricted licensees, 605N, 950R 
Drug and Device Distributors, Board of 

License renewal fee suspension, 1066ER 
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of 

Fees, 274N, 716N 
Funeral establishment and crematory authority renewal 
fee suspension, 777ER 

Heirship clause, 274N, 716N 
Internship application fee, 274N 
License 

Internship, 716N 
Reinstatement, 716N 
Renewal, 274N, 716N 

Prepaid funeral services or merchandise, 274N 
Emergency Response Network Board 

Stroke center recognition, 98N, 486P, 1088R 
Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

2020 fourth quarter hospital stabilization assessment, 
761P 

2021 first quarter hospital stabilization assessment, 
1333P 

Act 421 children’s Medicaid option, 1291N 
Adult mental health services 

Peer support services, 1296N 
Abortion facilities licensing standards, 304ER, 874ER 
Behavioral health service providers 

Licensing standards, 94N, 587R 
Behavioral health services 

Opioid treatment programs 
Treatment for opioid use disorder, 27R 

Children and adult mental health services, 471N, 794R, 
951R 

Dental benefits prepaid ambulatory health plan, 812N, 
1227R 
Network provider reimbursement, 500ER, 620N, 
953R 

Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment, 
342R  

Emergency telemedicine, 501ER, 778ER, 1352ER 
End stage renal disease facilities 

Reimbursement for independent laboratory services, 
1025N, 1392R 

Facility need review 
Relocation of nursing facility beds, 468N, 953R 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Federally qualified health centers, 1440N 

Reimbursement methodology 
Mammography separate payments, 182R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 
waiver 
Coordinated system of care discharge criteria, 183R 

Home and community-based services providers 
Licensing standards, 1352ER, 1442N 

Home and community-based services waivers 
New opportunities waivers 

Individual and family support payments, 1297N 
Hospice  

Licensing standards, 343R 
Pediatric concurrent care, 1115N 

Hospital licensing standards, 1300N 
Obstetrical and newborn services, 470N, 1087R 

Hospital provider fee assessment, 1301N 
Inpatient hospital services 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Reimbursement rate adjustment, 1302N 

Coverage of donor human breast milk, 732N, 1088R 
Intermediate care facilities 

Persons with intellectual disabilities 
Dedicated program funding pool payments, 28R 
Reimbursement methodology, 1201ER 
Direct care floor, 28R 

Licensing standards 
Medication attendant certified, 29R 

Medicaid eligibility 
Modified adjusted gross income groups, 29R 
Qualified disabled and working individual program 

resources, 1027N, 1392R 
Transfers of assets, 96N, 588R 

Medical transportation program 
Non-Emergency medical transportation, 4ER, 276N, 
501ER, 694R 

Nursing facilities 
Licensing standards, 1028N, 1394R 
Virtual visitation, 344R 
Optional state assessment, 278N, 695R, 1305N 
Reimbursement methodology, 1306N 

Out-of-state medical services, 1030N, 1394R 
Outpatient hospital services 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Reimbursement rate adjustment, 1308N 

Pharmacy benefits management program 
Dispense as written electronic prescribing, 33R 
Vaccine administration and reimbursement, 345R 

Pregnant women extended services 
Intervention services, 184R 
Substance use screening, 184R 
Tobacco cessation, 184R 

Counseling, 621N, 954R 
Professional services program, 1444N 

Immunizations, 1446N 
Programs and services amendments due to the 

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide 
public health emergency, 502ER, 504ER, 779ER, 
877ER, 878ER, 1202ER, 1353ER, 1355ER 

Psychological services staffing requirements, 342R 
Routine patient care and clinical trials, 474N, 796R 

Rural health clinics, 1448N 
Reimbursement methodology 

Mammography separate payments, 184R 
School-based health services 

School-based applied behavior analysis-based therapy 
services, 185R 

Substance Use Disorders Services, 1114N 
Telemedicine, 475N, 795R 
Therapeutic group homes 

Criminal background checks, 345R 
Licensing standards, 345R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners  
Criminal history records, 493ER 
Endorsement, 1117N 
Internet counseling, 494ER, 1068ER 
Online continuing education hours, 1070ER, 1357ER 
Teletherapy guidelines, 494ER, 1068ER, 1118N 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Adjudication, 1412N 
Complaints and investigations; adjudication and 
practice-site visits; practice performance reviews, 
339R 

Continuing medical education, 1414N 
Emergency temporary permit, 496ER 
Licensure and application, 1419N 
Licensure and certification, 1412N 
Medical professions, 496ER  
Physician licensure and certification, 1423N 
Physician practice 
Marijuana for therapeutic use, 342R 

Provisional temporary permits, 1417 
Rules of procedure 

Complaint disposition, 1426N 
Complaints and investigation, 1425N 
Petitions for rulemaking, 1419N 

Restricted temporary permits, 496ER 
Nursing, Board of 

Continuing education 
Nursing practice, 497ER 

Licensure by examination, 497ER 
Meetings of the board, 21R 
Officers of the board, 21R 
Renewal 
License and continuing education, 809N, 1224R 

Temporary permits, 498ER 
Optometry Examiners, Board of 

Board nominations, 1042P 
Board nominations and voting, 1331P 
Optometry, 23R 

Pharmacy, Board of 
Automated medication systems, 607N, 1331P 
Cannabis metered-dose inhaler, 568R 
Continuing education records, 569R 
Controlled substance license for third party logistics 
providers, 569R 

Correctional center pharmacy, 571R 
Delays of licensure examinations, 574R 
Dispensing of prescription refills, 575R 
Drug disposal by pharmacies, 485P, 793R 
Investigational drugs, 575R 
License transfer for pharmacy technicians, 576R 
Licensing of marijuana pharmacies, 576R 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Licensing for military families, 1431N 
Limitation on dispensing chloroquine and 
hydroxychloroquine for COVID-19, 499ER, 500ER 

Marijuana recommendations, 1066ER, 1343N 
Notice of public hearing—substantive change to notice 
of intent for proposed rule 
Automated medication systems, 1331P 
Prescription monitoring program, 1042P, 1332P 

Partial fills of Schedule II prescriptions, 577R 
Pharmacist license display, 614N, 1227R 
Pharmacy  
Benefit managers,1438N 
Compounding, 577R 
Immunizations, 578R 
Marijuana, 612N, 1226R 
Records, 579R, 693R 
Veterinary hospital, 587R 

Prescription monitoring program, 616N, 1332P 
Rulemaking procedures, 586R 
Telepharmacy dispensing sites, 586R 
Temporary suspension of license renewal fees, 874ER 

Physical Therapy Board 
Notice of public hearing, 156P 

Public Health, Office of 
Certification of laboratories performing drinking water 
analyses, 718N, 1090R 

Correction of day/date to submit comments on proposed 
rule 
Certification of laboratories performing drinking 

water analyses, 859P 
COVID-19 disease reporting, 781ER 
Dairy products 

Frozen dessert regulations, 356R 
Emergency preparedness activities, 356R 
Louisiana immunization network/LINKS, 101N, 589R 
Registration 

Cosmetics, 307ER, 358R 
Drugs, 307ER, 358R 
Foods, 307ER, 358R 
Prophylactic devices, 307ER, 358R 

Reportable Diseases  
Coronavirus disease, 309ER, 1449N 

Family Health, Bureau of  
Title V Block Grant, 1188P 

Social Work Examiners, Board of 
LMSWs seeking the LCSW credential, 92N, 791R 
Public hearing notice, 156P 

 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Emergency Rule 35—Healthcare Coverage for 
Louisiana Families Protection Act, 5ER, 508ER 

Emergency Rule 36—Patient Protections and Related 
Health Care Services Regarding Health Insurance 
Matters Affecting Insureds in Louisiana Caused by the 
Outbreak of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), 
510ER, 512ER 

Emergency Rule 37—Telemedicine and Network 
Adequacy in Health Insurance in Louisiana during the 
Outbreak of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), 
514ER, 516ER 

Emergency Rule 38—Temporary Licensing of Certain 
Insurance Producers, 518ER 

Emergency Rule 39—Mid-Term Audit of Auditable 
Policies, 519ER, 521ER 

Emergency Rule 40—Moratorium on Policy 
Cancellations/Non-Renewals for Policyholders in 
Louisiana during the Outbreak of Coronavirus Disease 
(COVID-19), 524ER, 528ER 

Emergency Rule 41—Medical Surge-Related Patient 
Transfers in Louisiana during the Outbreak of 
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), 532ER 

Emergency Rule 42—Tax Reporting During Outbreak 
of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19), 534ER, 535ER 

Emergency Rule 43—Temporary Licensing of 
Adjusters, 535ER 

Emergency Rule 44—Extension of Renewal Date, 
657ER 

Emergency Rule 45—Suspension of Certain Statutes 
Regarding Cancellations, Terminations, Non-
Renewals, and Nonreinstatements, Premium Payments, 
Claim Filings and Related Provisions Regarding Any 
and All Insurance Matters Affecting Insureds in 
Louisiana Caused by the State of Emergency Declared 
by Governor John Bel Edwards on August 21, 2020, 
Due to Hurricane Laura, 1203ER 

Regulation 39Statement of Actuarial Opinion, 1451N 
Regulation 30—Certificates of Insurance Coverage, 
105N 

Regulation 42Group Self-Insurance Funds, 1453N 
Regulation 45—Filing of Affirmative Action Plans, 
734N 

Regulation 63—Prohibitions on the Use of Medical 
Information and Genetic Test Results, 360N 

Regulation 81—Automobile Liability Insurance 
Premium Discount and Insurer Premium Tax Credit, 
1120N 

Regulation 82—Insure Louisiana Incentive Program, 
280N, 696R 

Regulation 98—Annual Financial Reporting, 35R 
Regulation 112—Adoption of NAIC Handbooks, 
Guidelines, Forms, and Instructions, 623N 

Regulation 114—Claims Adjuster Pre-Licensing 
Education Program, 37R 

Regulation 116—Stop-Loss or Excess Policies of 
Insurance, 698R 

Rule 4—Interlocal Risk Management Agency, 624N, 
1103R 

Health, Life and Annuity Insurance, Office of 
Annual HIPAA assessment rate, 860P 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Damage prevention, 954R 
Class VI injection wells, 1454N 
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NATURAL RESOURCES (continued) 
Notice of amended public hearing 
RLI Insurance Company, 156P 

Oilfield site restoration, 41R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 157P, 761P, 1043P, 1188P, 

1333P, 1487P 
Pipeline safety, 1124N 
Statewide order no. 29-B 
Disposal of E and P waste 
Slurry fracture injection, 106N, 1231R 

Monitoring requirements 
Commercial class II injection wells, 107N, 1105R 

Public hearing, 1333P 
 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Committee on Parole 

Committee procedures, 42R 
Corrections Services 

Telephone use and policy on monitoring of calls, 
1031N, 1395R 

Gaming Control Board 
Fantasy sports contest, 1160N, 1489P 
Inspections of facilities, 1309N 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 
Rulemaking petitions, 283N, 700R 
Class I-E permit, 1357ER 

Management and Finance, Office of 
Rulemaking petitions, 284N, 701R 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
Child support non-payment suspension, 1310N 
Credit toward suspension time or condition of 

reinstatement time, 187R 
Liquefied petroleum gas, 187R 
Rulemaking petitions, 1311N 

Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 
Notice of settlement agreement 
Raphael Pass Oil Spill, 762P 

Rulemaking petitions, 289N, 703R 
Pardons, Board of 

Committee procedures, 42R 
State Fire Marshal, Office of 

Fire-resistant material applicators, 1361ER 
Manufactured housing repairs, 190R 
Rulemaking petitions, 287N, 701R 

Uniform Construction Code Council 
State uniform construction code, 537ER, 1070ER, 
1177N 
Storm shelters, 1212ER 

Temporary exemption to certification requirements, 
191R 

State Police, Office of 
Breath and blood alcohol analysis methods and 

techniques, 285N, 796R 
Explosives, 108N, 591R 

Issuance of concealed handgun permits, 816N, 1232R 
Rulemaking petitions, 288N, 702R 

 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

CBD product public safety regulations, 538ER, 1313N 
Direct delivery of alcohol public safety regulations, 

545ER, 1319N 
Public hearing—change to proposed rule vapor products 

public safety regulations, 1047P, 1334P 
Vapor products public safety regulations, 628N, 658ER, 

735N, 882ER 
Policy Services Division 

Election of pass-through entities, 42R 
Frontline workers COVID hazard pay, 1072ER, 1364ER 
Mandatory electronic filing of certain excise tax returns, 

1178N 
Tax payment, 1178N 

Sales and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers 
Policy statements and guidance, 45R 
Tax 

Mandatory electronic filing of remote sellers tax, 44R 
Returns and payment of related sales and use tax, 44R 

 
 
 

STATE 
Business Services Division 

Business entities, 476N, 1233R 
Public hearing rescheduling and modification, 860P 

Elections Division 
Opportunity to cure deficiencies in absentee by mail 

ballots, 884ER, 1366ER 
 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Construction management at risk project 

East Baton Rouge Parish, 159P 
State Project No. H.00410 I-10 LA 415 to Essen Lane 

on I-10 and I-1, West and East Baton Rouge Parishes, 
860P, 1044P 

Engineering, Office of 
Louisiana Transportation Research Center (LTRC) 

Transportation training and education fund, 703R 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Public hearing—substantive change to proposed rule 
supervising professionals, 861P 

Practice of engineering, 1397R 
Supervising professionals, 1397R 

Public Works, Office of 
Flood control and water management, 631N 

Secretary, Office of 
Transportation network companies, 1324N 
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TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration and distributions, 886ER 
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, Board 

of Trustees of the 
Computation of final average compensation, 291N, 

1241R 
Disability applications, 48R 
Deferred retirement option plan (DROP), 291N, 1241R 
DROP program, 1329N 
Emergency refund, 48R 
Survivor’s benefits, 48R 
Transferring credit, 48R 

Municipal Police Employees’ Retirement System 
Group trusts investments, 738N, 1106R 
Military service purchases, 741N, 1107R 
New DROP legislation 

True annuity and other approved methods, 740N, 
1106R 

Renunciation of benefit, 742N, 1107R 
State Police Retirement System, Board of Trustees 

Compliance with the Uniformed Services Employment 
and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and 
participation in group trusts, 479N 

Teachers' Retirement System 
Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP), 885ER 

Treasurer, Office of the 
Fiscal administrator revolving loan fund, 192R 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife, Office of 

Threatened and endangered species, 193R 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2020-2022 general and wildlife management  
hunting seasons and regulations, 957R 

Alligators, 1398R 
Hide tag fees, 49R 
Hunting season, 818N, 1367ER 

Crab 
Abandoned crab traps, 1182N 

Cobia 
Size limits, 743N, 1399R 

Deer  
East Carroll Parish deer season, 167ER 
Management assistant program (DMAP), 146N, 704R 

Gray Triggerfish 
2020 private recreational season 
Closure, 661ER 
Reopening, 1215ER 

Harvest regulations 
Reef fish, 147N 
Sharks and sawfishes, 50R 

Hunter Education Program certification policy, 1034N 
Hunting 

Regulations and seasons, 2020-2022, 109N, 487P 

King Mackerel  
Commercial season closure, 166ER 
Size limits, 743N, 1399R 

Lane Snapper 
2019 commercial and recreational, 7ER 

Netting season 
Poverty Point Reservoir, 167ER 

Oyster 
2020/2021 season on public areas, 1213ER 
Calcasieu Lake public oyster area closure, 167ER 
Leasing policies and procedures, 592R, 1368ER 
Restriction of all oyster harvesting on four new reefs, 
363R 

Queen Bess Island wildlife refuge, 147N, 705R 
Red Snapper 

2020 private recreational season, 549ER, 660ER 
Closure, 1214ER 
Modification, 1214ER 

Reef Fish 
Harvest regulations, 705R, 819N, 1399R 

Shark 
2020 commercial large coastal shark season 
adjustment, 549ER 

Shrimp 
2020 spring inshore season 
Opening, 661ER 

2020 fall season, 1074ER 
Portions of state inside waters, 7ER, 168ER 
Closure, 888ER, 888ER 
Delay in opening, 1215ER 

Portions of state outside waters, 8ER 
Season opening, 662ER 

Remaining state outside waters 
Season opening, 662ER 

Spanish Mackerel 
Size limits, 743N 

Turkey 
Grassy Lake wildlife management area, 311ER 
Pearl River wildlife management area 

Turkey season closure, 550ER 
 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Plumbers 
Continuing professional education programs, 400R 
Introductory information, 400R 
Licenses 400R 
Revocation and related administration proceedings, 
400R 

Rehabilitation Services 
Financial needs and budgetary analysis tests, 889ER 

Unemployment Insurance Administration, Office of 
Electronic filing and payment requirements, 364R 
Notification of the availability of unemployment 

insurance benefits, 554ER, 663ER, 820N, 1216ER, 
1400R 
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WORKFORCE COMMISSION (continued) 
Pain medical treatment guidelines, 364R  
State income tax withholding from unemployment 

insurance benefits, 1075ER 
Secretary, Office of the 

Interested party petitions, 51R 
Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Medical treatment guidelines, 482N, 744N, 782ER, 
797R, 821N, 1035N, 1243R, 1368ER, 1400R 

Pain medical treatment guidelines, 194R 
Prescription 

Filing Procedure, 483N, 797R 
Refills 

Patient protections and related health care services, 
550ER, 664ER 

Telemedicine/Telehealth codes, 551ER 
Weekly compensation benefits limits, 160P, 1049P 

 


