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Executive Orders 
 

 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 08-16 

Advance Refunding Bond Allocation Procedures 

WHEREAS, Sections 1400M and 1400N of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (hereafter "the Code"), 

limit the total principal amount of certain Advance 

Refunding Bonds, hereinafter defined, that may be issued 

and designated by the governor to an amount not exceeding 

four billion five hundred million ($4,500,000,000) dollars 

during the period commencing December 22, 2005, and 

before January 1, 2011; 

WHEREAS, the governor has successfully authorized 

existing systems used to allocate ceilings on certain other 

types of bonds authorized to be issued, the interest on which 

is excluded from income tax for federal tax purposes and for 

which limitations are placed on such bonds by the federal 

government; 

WHEREAS, the governor hereby elects to (a) establish 

the method to be used in allocating the ceilings, (b) provide 

the application procedure for obtaining an allocation of 

Bonds subject to such ceilings, and (c) establish a system of 

record keeping for such allocations, for Advance Refunding 

Bonds all as hereinafter defined; and 

WHEREAS, the best interests of the state of Louisiana 

would be served by establishing a bond allocation system to 

coordinate the cooperative efforts of the Louisiana State 

Bond Commission and the Governor to allocate bonds in a 

fair and equitable manner and in a manner providing the best 

and most effective results for the state and its local 

governments; furthermore, the methodologies and 

procedures set up by this Order will result in allocating the 

ceilings for the bonds described herein, from which the 

governor may designate the Advance Refunding Bonds, 

hereinafter defined. 

NOW THEREFORE I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 

the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 

the Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, do 

hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: DEFINITIONS 

A. Each abbreviation provided in the preamble of this 

Order, supra, shall have the same meaning throughout all the 

sections, subsections, and paragraphs of this Order. 

B. The following definitions shall apply: 

1. "Advance Refunding Bonds" means bonds issued 

between the period of December 22, 2005, and before 

January 1, 2011, meeting the requirements of Section 

1400N(b) of the Code, as determined by the letter of bond 

counsel submitted in connection with an application by the 

Issuer of such bonds for an allocation from the ceiling of 

four billion five hundred million ($4,500,000,000) dollars 

available for such purpose and for designation of such bonds 

as Advance Refunding Bonds under the ceiling; 

2. "Issuer" means the issuer of the Advance 

Refunding Bonds (including the state of Louisiana or any 

political subdivision thereof and including those entities that 

issue bonds on behalf of such entities under the Code and 

regulations and procedures related thereto). 

SECTION 2: CREATION OF POOLS; METHOD 

OF ALLOCATION; DESIGNATION OF SUCH BONDS 

A. A pool designated as the "Advance Refunding 

Bonds Pool" is hereby created, from which allocations from 

the ceiling of up to four billion five hundred million 

($4,500,000,000) dollars of Advance Refunding Bonds shall 

be granted. Provided that the governor is furnished sufficient 

back-up and support for the efficiency and economic 

benefits of each application for an allocation from the 

Advance Refunding Bonds Pool, the governor will approve, 

subject to review of the efficiency and economic benefits of 

each such request, an allocation of a portion of the ceiling 

for such Advance Refunding Bonds on a first come - first 

served basis and designate such bonds as Advance 

Refunding Bonds under the provisions of Section 1400N of 

the Code until such Pool is reduced to one billion five 

hundred million ($1,500,000,000) dollars at which point the 

governor will devise criteria to evaluate the relative value 

and benefit for each financing thereafter. 

B. The issuance of an executive order by the governor 

awarding a portion of the respective ceilings for Advance 

Refunding Bonds and designating such bonds as such shall 

be evidence of each allocation granted for such purposes 

pursuant to this Order. A copy of such executive order shall 

be promptly furnished to the Louisiana State Bond 

Commission for information and record keeping purposes. 

SECTION 3: APPLICATION PROCEDURE FOR 

ALLOCATIONS 

A. An application for an allocation from the Advance 

Refunding Bond Pool shall be submitted by the Issuer to the 

Louisiana State Bond Commission, with a copy to the 

governor, or the governor's designee, requesting an 

allocation from the ceiling with respect thereto and 

designation of such bonds as Advance Refunding Bonds and 

together with back-up and support for the efficiency and 

economic benefits of each application. Such request for an 

allocation shall be accompanied by the letter of bond counsel 

determining that such allocation will constitute an allocation 

for bonds that meet the requirements of Advance Refunding 

Bonds under Section 1400N of the Code, provided the Issuer 

receives an allocation and designation. 

B. At a minimum, all requests for allocations from the 

Advance Refunding Bond Pool must contain the following 

information: 

1. The name and address of the Issuer of the bonds; 

 (a) an appropriate person from whom information 

regarding the project can be obtained, and 

 (b) the person to whom notification of the 

allocation should be made; 

2. The amount of the ceiling which the Issuer is 

requesting be allocated; 

3. A specific date as to when the bond allocation is 

required and when the financing is intended to close; 

4. schedule showing the projected timing of the use 

of the bond proceeds; 

5. information necessary to evidence compliance 

with any additional criteria established from time to time by 

the governor; and 
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6. A letter from bond counsel, addressed to the 

governor and the Louisiana State Bond Commission, 

expressing that the bonds for which an allocation is 

requested are subject to the ceiling from which the allocation 

is requested. 

C. Upon receipt of the application, the Louisiana State 

Bond Commission staff shall determine if the requirements 

of this Order for such application have been met and report 

to the governor. 

D. Any allocation from the ceiling shall expire unless 

the bonds receiving the allocation are delivered by the earlier 

of (1) two hundred forty (240) days from the date of notice 

of allocation is mailed to the person designated. 

E. The Louisiana State Bond Commission staff shall 

promptly notify the governor when the Advance Refunding 

Bond Pool approaches or reaches a level of one billion five 

hundred million ($1,500,000,000) dollars. 

F. The Louisiana State Bond Commission staff shall 

maintain accurate records of all allocations and all Bonds 

delivered. All Issuers of bonds that have received an 

allocation shall notify the Louisiana State Bond Commission 

staff of the delivery of bonds within five (5) days after the 

delivery of such bonds and shall specify the total principal 

amount of bonds issued. The Louisiana State Bond 

Commission staff shall provide to any person so requesting, 

within a reasonable time:  

 (a) the amount of unallocated ceiling remaining on 

such date as specified by the Bond Commission in its 

response to the request;  

 (b) a list of allocations (naming the Issuer and 

amount of allocation) which have been made and the date of 

each allocation;  

 (c) a list of applications being held by the 

Louisiana State Bond Commission staff which have not 

received an allocation; and  

 (d) a list of bonds which have been given an 

allocation and have been delivered. 

G. The governor may, at his election, grant allocations 

and/or designations thereunder by executive order, letter or 

other written evidence of such allocations and/or 

designations signed by the governor. Such allocations and/or 

designations by the governor shall be delivered and retained, 

for record keeping purposes, in the same manner as the 

executive orders issued thereunder and shall have the same 

force and effect in granting allocations and/or designations 

thereunder. 

H. This Order only relates to Advance Refunding 

bonds subject to the bond volume limitations set forth in 

Section 1004N of the Code. No Issuer shall apply for or be 

entitled to an allocation from the ceiling for bonds that are 

not subject to the limitations set forth in Section 1004N. 

I. Any modification, amendment, supplementation, or 

rescission of this Order, if any, shall not rescind any 

allocation and/or designation of bonds pursuant to the terms 

of this Order if such allocation and/or designation is required 

under federal law in order to maintain the tax-exempt status 

of the bonds receiving the allocation and/or designation. 

SECTION 4: MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

A. The responsibility of the Louisiana State Bond 

Commission staff as set forth in this Order shall be exercised 

by the Louisiana State Bond Commission staff independent 

of its other duties and responsibilities owed to the Louisiana 

State Bond Commission.  

B. This Order is effective upon signature and shall 

continue in effect until amended, modified, terminated, or 

rescinded by the governor, or terminated by operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 

officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 

Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 

21st day of April, 2008. 

 

Bobby Jindal 

Governor 

ATTEST BY 

THE GOVERNOR 

Jay Dardenne 

Secretary of State 
0804#074 

 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 08-17 

Bond Allocation—Industrial Development Board  

of the City of New Orleans, Louisiana, Inc. 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 

and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature, Executive Order No. KBB 2005-12 was issued 

to establish:  

(1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 

activity bond volume limits, including the method of 

allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 

limits for the calendar year of 2008 (hereafter "the 2008 

Ceiling");  

(2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 

bonds under the 2008 Ceiling; and  

(3) a system of central record keeping for such 

allocations; and 

WHEREAS, the Industrial Development Board of the 

City of New Orleans, Louisiana, Inc. has requested an 

allocation from the 2008 Ceiling to provide a multifamily 

low-income residential rental facility located in the Upper 

Ninth Ward, in the city of New Orleans, parish of Orleans, 

state of Louisiana, in accordance with the provisions of 

Section 146 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 

amended; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 

the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 

the Constitution and the laws of the state of Louisiana, do 

hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The bond issue, as described in this 

Section, shall be and is hereby granted an allocation from the 

2008 Ceiling in the amount shown: 

 
Amount of 

Allocation Name of Issuer Name of Project 

$18,600,000 
Industrial Development 
Board of the City of New 

Orleans, Louisiana, Inc. 

New Savoy Place 

Phase I Project 
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SECTION 2: The allocation granted herein shall be 

used only for the bond issue described in Section 1 and for 

the general purpose set forth in the "Application for 

Allocation of a Portion of the State of Louisiana's Private 

Activity Bond Ceiling" submitted in connection with the 

bond issue described in Section 1. 

SECTION 3: The allocation granted herein shall be 

valid and in full force and effect through December 31, 

2008, provided that such bonds are delivered to the initial 

purchasers thereof on or before August 5, 2008. 

SECTION 4: This Order is effective upon signature 

and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 

terminated, or rescinded by the governor, or terminated by 

operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 

officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 

Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 

7th day of May, 2008. 

 

 

Bobby Jindal 

Governor 

ATTEST BY 

THE GOVERNOR 

Jay Dardenne 

Secretary of State 
0804#075 
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Emergency Rules 
 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

Boxing and Wrestling Standards 

(LAC 46:XI.102, 108 and 737) 

The Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

does hereby exercise the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(b) and 

49:967(D), and adopts the following Rule. The Louisiana 

State Boxing and Wrestling Commission, by this Emergency 

Rule, will make changes to LAC 46:XI.102, Annual License 

Fees, to properly reflect the amendments to and language of 

R.S. 65, Licenses, Fees, Bonds previously promulgated by 

HB 348 in 2007. It will also add a required minimum of 

$10,000 injury/$10,000 death insurance for each contestant 

to be provided by the promoter of said event to Chapter 1. 

General Rules. 

This Emergency Rule will also delete discovered 

redundant rules which are addressed in other Sections of the 

Mixed Technique Event Chapter previously published as an 

Emergency Rule in February 2008 and to make minor 

changes to update these new rules to reflect the norms 

accepted by national associations regulating oversight of 

Mixed Technique Events. 

This Emergency Rule is effective May 10, 2008, and will 

remain in effect for a period of 120 days, unless renewed by 

the commissioner or until adoption of the final Rule, 

whichever occurs first. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XI.  Boxing and Wrestling 

Chapter 1. General Rules 

§102. Annual License Fees 

A. The following is a scale of fees for licensees. 

1. Wrestling and Mixed Technique Event  

Promoters—$250 

2. Boxing Promoters—$500 

3. Matchmakers—$250 

4. Referees—$25 

5. Managers—$25 

6. Announcers—$25 

7. Professional Boxing Contestants in Main  

Bouts—$25 

8. Seconds—$25 

9. Professional Wrestling Contestants—$25 

10. Other licenses—$25 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:65(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 

1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 

amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 

Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling 

Commission LR 34: 

§108. Medical Requirements 

A. Each contestant participating in any sport under this 

commission's jurisdiction must furnish to the commission 

physician a certified medical certificate evidencing that the 

contestant has been tested for HIV and said test results are 

negative. Said test and certificate shall be dated not more 

than six months prior to the scheduled event and said 

certificate is to be presented at the time of "weigh in." 

B. A promoter shall provide insurance and pay all 

deductibles for contestants, to cover medical, surgical and 

hospital care with a minimum limit of $10,000 for injuries 

sustained while participating in a contest and $10,000 to a 

contestant's estate if he dies of injuries suffered while 

participating in a contest. At least ten calendar days before 

an event the promoter shall provide to the department for 

each event to be conducted, a certificate of insurance 

showing proper coverage. The promoter shall supply to 

those participating in the event the proper information for 

filing a medical claim. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61.D, R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 32:242 

(February 2006), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission LR 34: 

Chapter 7. Mixed Technique Events 

§737. Mixed Technique Event Exhibition Rules  

A. MTE Exhibitions shall be conducted using §707, 

Professional Mixed Technique Rules, above with the 

following modifications. 

1. Conduct of Promotion. If you are interested in 

staging a mixed technique event exhibition contest you must 

notify the commission in writing and to be considered for 

approval you must: 

a. submit a written list of the name, address, age, 

height, weight, trainer and training gym of each contestant 

said list to be submitted no later than the Monday prior to 

the event and any changes to said list to be within a 

reasonable time based upon the approval of the chairman; 

b. submit a writing from each contestant that he or 

she has never engaged in a professional Mixed Technique 

Event or professional mixed martial arts contest; 

c. submit writing from the contestant's trainer that 

the contestant is skilled enough and healthy to compete and 

that the contestant has been training for the sport longer than 

30 days; 

d. submit the name of the referee(s) you intend to 

use; however the commission may mandate that you use a 

referee approved by the commission; 

e. agree to abide by any other conditions which the 

commissioner may impose on this new activity as events are 

reviewed and amendments may be made; 

f. agree in writing that you will observe all Mixed 

Technique Event Rules; 
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g. submit in writing a statement to the affect that the 

fighter is not being paid any gratuity for participating in the 

event, and memorialize each and every actual expense, to a 

maximum of $100 that is being reimbursed to the fighter; 

h. if you are not a promoter who also owns and 

operates his own gym you must utilize a matchmaker 

approved by the commission who shall arrange and approve 

all fights on the card; and 

i. ensure that all advertising concerning the event to 

be conducted indicates that it is an amateur event, and the 

word "amateur" must be a large as any other print on the 

advertisement on a written or printed advertisement and 

must be announced in any television or radio advertisements. 

B. Equipment. Exhibition contestants shall use a 

minimum 7 ounce open fingered gloves. 

C. Acts Constituting Fouls in addition to those listed 

under §707, Professional Mixed Technique Event Rules, 

Subsection G, Acts Constituting Fouls: 

1. illegal techniques while standing: 

a. elbowing; and 

b. kneeing to the head; 

2. illegal techniques while on the ground: 

a. any downward striking to an opponent's head 

while the back of that opponent's head is pinned to the mat 

or when the opponent has both shoulders pinned to the mat; 

3. additional items: 

a. if punch or kick (excluding kicks to the legs or 

leg sweeps) causes a knockdown: 

 i. the action will not continue; 

 ii. the standing fighter will not continue to attack; 

 iii. the referee will begin a 10 count and the 

standing fighter must go to a neutral corner during the count; 

and 

 iv. if the referee determines that the downed 

fighter can continue, then the fight shall resume with the 

fighters in a standing position; 

b. in the event that the referee believes that the 

fighter is in trouble he is authorized to give an eight count; 

this shall be a standing eight while the parties are standing; 

or simply an eight count if they are on the ground with the 

position of the fighters to be maintained when the actions 

continues; 

c. in the event that the referee feels that the two 

fighters in the ring are mismatched to the point where the 

contest is not fair, then he shall immediately stop the fight at 

that point. Any matchmaker or promoter who arranged that 

fight shall be subject to immediate suspension of their 

license by the attending commission member as the 

commission deems the mismatching of amateur fighters to 

present an immediate danger to the public and the fighters; 

d. the referee has as his number one concern the 

welfare of the fighters and shall conduct himself and the 

fight at all times with the understanding that the fighters are 

amateur fighters and are not to be subjected to undue 

punishment; which will require stoppages much sooner than 

those in a professional mixed technique event. Any referee 

who permits an amateur fighter to absorb undue punishment 

or grossly fails to stop a fight in a timely manner shall be 

subject to immediate suspension by the attending 

commission member as the commission deems that 

unnecessary injury of amateur fighters to present an 

immediate danger to the public and the fighters; 

e. in the event that the commission member in 

attendance feels that the promoter has violated any of the 

rules of this Section concerning mixed technique exhibitions 

or has submitted forms or paperwork to the commission that 

are fraudulent, or determines that the fighters were paid any 

gratuity, the commission member shall, at the close of the 

fight issue a summons to that promoter to appear before the 

commission at the next scheduled meeting to determine 

whether his license shall be suspended. 

D. At each MTE exhibition event there shall also 

professional MTE bouts equaling either 25 percent of the 

number of bouts on the card or a minimum of two 

professional bouts whichever is greater; however this rule 

will be inapplicable to venues with a occupancy capacity of 

500 people or less, as set by the fire marshal, with the further 

understanding that this Rule shall always apply to any 

outdoor event or other venue where it is impossible for the 

firemarshal to set the occupancy capacity. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61.D, R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission LR 

34: 

 

Alvin Topham 

Chairman 
0805#069 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Non-Rural Community Hospitals and 

Federally Mandated Statutory Hospitals 

(LAC 50.V.2701 and 2703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 

LAC 50:V.2701 and 2703 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 

shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 

Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

repromulgated all of the rules governing the 

Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payment 

methodology in LAC 50:V.Chapters 25 and 27 (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 34, Number 4). The department now 

proposes to amend the April 20, 2008 Rule to revise the 

provisions governing non-rural community hospitals and 

federally mandated statutory hospitals to clarify that 

hospitals qualifying as a non-rural community hospital in 

state fiscal year 2007-2008 may also qualify in the federally 

mandated statutory hospital category. 

This action is being taken to promote the public health and 

welfare of uninsured individuals, and ensure their continued 
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access to health services by assuring that hospitals are 

adequately reimbursed for furnishing uncompensated care. It 

is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 

will have no fiscal impact for state fiscal year 2007-2008. 

Effective May 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the April 20, 2008 Rule governing 

disproportionate share hospital payments. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Medical Assistance Program—Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 

§2701. Non-Rural Community Hospitals 

A. Definitions 

Non-Rural Community Hospital—a non-state hospital 

that does not receive disproportionate share payments under 

any other qualification category except the federally 

mandated statutory hospital category. These hospitals may 

be either publicly or privately owned. In addition, 

psychiatric, rehabilitation and long term hospitals may 

qualify for this category. 

B. - I. … 

J. Hospitals qualifying as non-rural community 

hospitals in state fiscal year 2007-2008 may also qualify in 

the federally mandated statutory hospital category. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:655 (April 2008), amended LR 34: 

§2703. Federally Mandated Statutory Hospitals  

A. Definition 

Federally Mandated Statutory Hospital—a hospital that 

meets the federal DSH statutory utilization requirements in 

§2503.A.4.a-b.ii. 

B. - D.2. … 

E. The federally mandated statutory hospital category 

may also include hospitals qualifying as non-rural 

community hospitals in state fiscal year 2007-2008. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:656 (April 2008), amended LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#019 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally Qualified Health Centers 

Reimbursement Methodology—Payment for Adjunct 

Services (LAC 50:XI.10703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:XI.10703 in the Medical Assistance Program 

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing established 

provisions governing provider enrollment and clarified the 

provisions governing services and the reimbursement 

methodology for federally qualified health centers 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 10). Act 18 of the 

2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 

authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor Program to 

reimburse professional services providers, including 

federally qualified health centers (FQHCs), who provide and 

report services rendered in settings other than hospital 

emergency departments during evening, weekend or holiday 

hours. 

In compliance with the directives of Act 18, the 

department adopted provisions to allow for the 

reimbursement of an additional payment to FQHCs for 

professional services provided during evening, weekend or 

holiday hours (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 10). 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 

provisions of the October 20, 2007 Emergency Rule. This 

action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 

Medicaid recipients by ensuring recipient access to primary 

and urgent care that can be acquired in a setting other than 

hospital emergency departments. 

Effective June 18, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing FQHCs to adopt provisions establishing 

reimbursement for the payment of adjunct services when 

professional services are provided during evening, weekend 

or holiday hours. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 13.  Federally Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 

§10703. Alternate Payment Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 20, 

2007, the Medicaid Program establishes an alternate
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payment methodology for adjunct services provided by 

federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) when these 

professional services are rendered during evening, weekend 

or holiday hours. This alternate payment methodology is in 

addition to the prospective payment system methodology 

established for FQHC services. 

1. A payment for adjunct services is not allowed when 

the encounter is for dental services only. 

B. The reimbursement for adjunct services is a flat fee, 

based on the current procedural terminology (CPT) 

procedure code, in addition to the reimbursement for the 

associated office encounter. 

C. Reimbursement is limited to services rendered 

between the hours of 5 p.m. and 8 a.m., Monday through 

Friday, on weekends and state legal holidays. 

Documentation relative to this reimbursement must include 

the time that the services were rendered. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A copy 

of this Emergency Rule is available for review by interested 

parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#039 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services―Non-Rural, 

Non-State Hospitals Reimbursement Methodology 

Coverage of Hemophilia Blood Products 

(LAC 50:V.965) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:V.965 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 

by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 

Rule in June of 1994 which established the prospective 

reimbursement methodology for inpatient services provided 

in private (non-state) acute care general hospitals (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The reimbursement 

methodology was subsequently amended to establish a 

weighted average per diem for each hospital peer group and 

discontinue the practice of automatically applying an 

inflation adjustment to the reimbursement rates in those 

years when the rates are not rebased (Louisiana Register, 

Volumes 22 and 25, Numbers 1 and 5). 

The department now proposes to amend the 

reimbursement methodology for non-rural, non-state acute 

care hospitals to provide additional reimbursements to 

certain hospitals, classified as major teaching hospitals, for 

the extraordinary costs incurred in the purchase of blood 

products for Medicaid recipients who have been diagnosed 

with hemophilia. This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 

to avoid imminent peril to public health, safety and welfare 

of Medicaid recipients by ensuring that they have access to 

medically necessary hospital services and medications. It is 

estimated that the implementation of this proposed Rule will 

increase expenditures for inpatient hospital services by 

approximately $132,329 for state fiscal year 2007-2008. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§965. Hemophilia Blood Products 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after May 20, 

2008, the Department of Health and Hospitals shall provide 

additional reimbursements to certain non-rural, non-state 

acute care hospitals for the extraordinary costs incurred in 

purchasing blood products for certain Medicaid recipients 

diagnosed with, and receiving inpatient treatment for 

hemophilia. 

B. Hospital Qualifications. To qualify for the additional 

reimbursement, the hospital must: 

1. be classified as a major teaching hospital and 

contractually affiliated with a university located in Louisiana 

that is recognized by the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention and the Health Resource and Services 

Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau as 

maintaining a comprehensive hemophilia care center; 

2. have provided recombinant therapy to a Medicaid 

recipient who has been diagnosed with hemophilia and has 

been hospitalized at the qualifying hospital for a period 

exceeding six days; and 

3. have actual cost exceeding $50,000 for acquiring 

the blood products used in the provision of recombinant 

therapy during the hospitalization: 

a. actual cost is the hospital's cost of acquiring 

blood products for the approved inpatient hospital dates of 

service as contained on the hospital's original invoices, less 

all discount and rebate programs applicable to the invoiced 

products. 

C. Reimbursement. Hospitals who meet the 

aforementioned qualifications may receive reimbursement 

for their actual costs that exceed $50,000 if the hospital 

submits a request for reimbursement to the Medicaid 

Program within 180 days of the patient's discharge from the 

hospital. 

1. The request for reimbursement shall be submitted 

in a format specified by the department. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 34, No. 05   May 20, 2008 848 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#032 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services—Small Rural Hospitals 

Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:V.1125 and 1127) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:V.1123 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 

by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 

Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 

Rule which established the prospective reimbursement 

methodology for inpatient hospital services provided in 

private (non-state) acute care general hospitals (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 20, Number 6), free-standing psychiatric 

hospitals and distinct part psychiatric units (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 19, Number 6). In compliance with the 

directives of Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature, the bureau amended the 

reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 

to increase the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid to private 

hospitals and free-standing and distinct part psychiatric units 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 2). 

Act 327 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized the department to amend the 

reimbursement methodology governing state fiscal year 

2009 Medicaid payments to small rural hospitals for 

inpatient and outpatient hospital services and psychiatric 

services, including services provided by hospital-based rural 

health clinics. In compliance with the directives of Act 327, 

the department proposes to amend the provisions governing 

the reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital 

services and psychiatric services rendered by small rural 

hospitals. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 

health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 

sufficient provider participation in the Hospital Services 

Program and recipient access to providers of these medically 

necessary services. It is estimated that the implementation of 

this proposed Rule will increase expenditures for inpatient 

hospital services by approximately $1,988,258 for state 

fiscal year 2008-2009. 

Effective July 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing payments to small rural hospitals for inpatient 

hospital services and psychiatric services for state fiscal year 

2009. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 11. Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§1125. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the prospective per diem rate paid to small rural hospitals for 

inpatient acute care services shall be the median cost amount 

plus 10 percent. 

1. The per diem rate calculation shall be based on 

each hospital's year-end cost report period ending in 

calendar year 2006. If the cost reporting period is not a full 

period (12 months), the latest filed full period cost report 

shall be used. 

B. The Medicaid cost per inpatient day for each small 

rural hospital shall be inflated from their applicable cost 

reporting period to the midpoint of the implementation year 

(December 31, 2008) by the Medicare market basket 

inflation factor for PPS hospitals, then arrayed from high to 

low to determine the median inpatient acute cost per day for 

all small rural hospitals. 

C. The median cost and rates shall be rebased at least 

every other year using the latest filed full period cost reports 

as filed in accordance with Medicare timely filing 

guidelines. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§1127. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the prospective per diem rate paid to small rural hospitals for 

psychiatric services rendered in distinct part psychiatric units 

shall be the median cost amount per inpatient day plus 10 

percent. 

1. The per diem rate calculation shall be based on 

each hospital's year-end cost report period ending in 

calendar year 2006. If the cost reporting period is not a full 

period (12 months), the latest filed full period cost report 

shall be used. 

B. The Medicaid cost per inpatient psychiatric day for 

each small rural hospital shall be inflated from their 

applicable cost reporting period to the midpoint of the 

implementation year (December 31, 2008) by the Medicare 

market basket inflation factor for PPS hospitals, then arrayed 

from high to low to determine the median inpatient acute 

cost per day for all small rural hospitals. 

C. The median cost and rates shall be rebased at least 

every other year using the latest filed full period cost reports 
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as filed in accordance with Medicare timely filing 

guidelines. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#033 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 

Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program 

(LAC 50:III.2303 and 10305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:III.2303 and 10305 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 

shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 

Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. 

The Family Opportunity Act, signed into law by Congress 

as part of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, contains 

provisions which allow states to offer a Medicaid buy-in 

program for children with disabilities. This optional 

Medicaid coverage is available to families with income 

above the financial standards for Supplemental Security 

Income (SSI) benefits but not more than 300 percent of the 

federal poverty level. 

In compliance with the directives of the Family 

Opportunity Act, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

implemented a Medicaid buy-in program, known as the 

Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program, to provide 

health care coverage to children with disabilities who are not 

eligible for SSI disability benefits due to excess income or 

resources (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 10). This 

Emergency Rule is being promulgated to amend the 

provisions of the October 20, 2007 Emergency Rule to 

clarify the program's income limits and to revise the 

provisions governing premium payments to incorporate a 

sliding fee scale as recommended by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. This action is being taken 

to secure enhanced federal revenue. 

Effective May 20, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the provisions of the October 20, 2007 

Emergency Rule governing the Family Opportunity Act 

Medicaid Program. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 

Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Programs 

§2303. Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program 

A. The Family Opportunity Act, signed into law by 

Congress as part of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, 

allows states to offer a Medicaid buy-in program to families 

with income up to 300 percent of the Federal Poverty Level 

(FPL) for children with disabilities who are not eligible for 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits due 

to excess income or resources. The department hereby 

implements a Medicaid buy-in program called the Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program to provide Medicaid 

coverage to children with disabilities. 

B. Eligibility Requirements. Children born on or after 

October 1, 1995 and who meet the following requirements 

may receive health care coverage through the Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program. 

1. The child must have a disability which meets the 

Social Security Administration's childhood disability criteria. 

2. Gross family income must not be more than 300 

percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) using the income 

methodologies of the SSI program. 

a. For the purpose of determining family income, 

the family unit shall consist of the following members: 

 i. child(ren) with disabilities; 

 ii. natural or legal parent(s); and 

 iii. siblings under age 19. 

b. Step-parents and step-siblings are excluded from 

the income determination. 

3. The child may be uninsured or underinsured. 

a. Parents are required to enroll in available 

employer-sponsored health plans when the employer 

contributes at least 50 percent of the annual premium costs. 

Participation in such employer-sponsored health plans is a 

condition of continuing Medicaid coverage. 

C. Children eligible under the Family Opportunity Act 

Medicaid Program shall receive coverage of medically 

necessary health care services provided under the Medicaid 

State Plan.  

D. Premium Payments. Families with gross income 

above 200 percent but not more than 300 percent of the FPL 

are required to pay premiums for Medicaid coverage. 

Families with gross income up to 200 percent of the FPL are 

not required to pay premiums for Medicaid coverage. 

1. The amounts paid for premiums for Medicaid-

required family coverage and other cost-sharing may not 

exceed 5 percent of a family's income for families with 

income up to 200 percent of the FPL and 7.5 percent of a 

family's income for families with income above 200 percent 

of the FPL. 

2. For families with gross income above 200 percent 

but not more than 300 percent of the FPL, the premium 

amount for Medicaid is determined by whether the natural or 

legal parent(s) living in the household is paying for other 

creditable health insurance that covers the child(ren) with 

disabilities. 
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a. Families who have other creditable health 

insurance that provides coverage to the child(ren) with 

disabilities will pay a family Medicaid premium on a sliding 

scale as follows: 

 i. $12 per month for families with income above 

200 percent up to 250 percent of the FPL; 

 ii. $15 per month for families with income above 

250 percent but not more than 300 percent of the FPL; 

b. Families who do not have other creditable health 

insurance that provides coverage to the child(ren) with 

disabilities will pay a family Medicaid premium on a sliding 

scale as follows: 

 i. no premium is required for 

families with income from 0 percent and up to 200 percent 

of the FPL; 

 ii. $30 per month for families with income above 

200 percent and up to 250 percent of the FPL; 

 iii. $35 per month for families with income above 

250 percent but not more than 300 percent of the FPL; 

3. The first premium is due the month following the 

month that eligibility is established. Prepayment of 

premiums is not required. A child's eligibility for medical 

assistance will not terminate on the basis of failure to pay a 

premium until the failure to pay continues for at least 60 

days from the date on which the premium was past due. 

4. The premium may be waived in any case where it is 

determined that requiring a payment would create an undue 

hardship for the family. Undue hardships exist when a 

family: 

a. is homeless or displaced due to a flood, fire, or 

natural disaster; 

b. resides in an area where there is a presidential-

declared emergency in effect; 

c. presents a current notice of eviction or 

foreclosure; or 

d. has other reasons as determined by the 

department. 

5. Families whose eligibility has been terminated for 

non-payment of premiums must pay any outstanding 

premium balances for Medicaid-covered months before 

eligibility can be re-established, unless: 

a. the liability has been canceled by the Bureau of 

Appeals or the Medicaid Recovery Unit; or 

b. there has been a lapse in Medicaid coverage of at 

least 12 months. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Subpart 5.  Financial Eligibility 

Chapter 103. Income 

§10305. Income Disregards 

A. For recipients in the Family Opportunity Act 

Medicaid Program, an income disregard of $85 will be 

applied to total gross (earned and unearned) family income 

and then half of the remaining income will be disregarded. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A copy 

of this Emergency Rule is available for review by interested 

parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#035 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 

(LAC 50:XV.Chapters 251-257) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:XV.Chapter 251 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B (1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt provisions governing the coverage and reimbursement 

of Multi-Systemic Therapy (MST) for youth with serious 

emotional/behavioral disturbances who are at risk of out-of-

home placement or returning home from out-of-home 

placement as a result of the emotional/behavioral 

disturbance. The MST model is based on empirical data and 

evidence-based interventions that target specific behaviors 

with individualized behavioral interventions. 

This action is being taken to avoid imminent peril to the 

health and welfare of youth who are in critical need of this 

service. It is estimated that implementation of this 

Emergency Rule will increase expenditures in the Medicaid 

Program by approximately $3,033,188 for state fiscal year 

2008-2009. 

Effective July 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing adopts provisions governing the coverage and 

reimbursement of Multi-Systemic Therapy. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 

Subpart 17.  Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Chapter 251. General Provisions  

§25101. Introduction 

A. Effective July 1, 2008, the Medicaid Program shall 

provide for the coverage and reimbursement of Multi-

Systemic Therapy (MST) for youth. MST provides an 

intensive home/family and community-based treatment for 

youth who are at risk of out-of-home placement or who are 

returning home from placement which resulted from serious 

emotional/behavioral disturbance. 
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B. The MST model is based on empirical data and 

evidence-based interventions that target specific behaviors 

with individualized behavioral interventions. 

C. Services are provided through a team approach to 

individuals and their families. The intent of the team 

approach is to: 

1. promote the family's capacity to monitor and 

manage the youth's behavior; 

2. involve families and other systems, such as schools, 

probation officers, extended families and community 

connections; 

3. provide access to a variety of interventions 24 

hours per day, seven days per week by staff that will 

maintain contact and intervene as one organizational unit; 

and 

4. include structured face-to-face therapeutic 

interventions to provide support and guidance in all areas of 

functional domains (adaptive, communication, psychosocial, 

problem solving, behavior management, etc.). 

D. A psychiatric, psychological or psychosocial 

evaluation completed by a licensed psychiatrist, psychologist 

or licensed clinical social worker no more than 12 months 

prior to the admission to MST services shall be on file to 

document medical necessity for MST services. 

E. All MST services must be provided to, or directed 

exclusively toward the treatment of the Medicaid eligible 

youth. 

F. Medicaid coverage of MST services is contingent 

upon appropriation of funding by the Louisiana Legislature. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§25103. Recipient Qualifications 

A. Admission Criteria. In order to receive MST services, 

the recipient must be a youth from 11 through 17 years of 

age with serious emotional/behavioral disturbances and meet 

the following criteria. The youth is: 

1. involved in, or at serious risk of involvement with 

the juvenile justice system; and 

2. at risk of out-of-home placement as a result of one 

or more of the following behaviors, or returning from out-of-

home placement where one or more of these behaviors was 

the focus of treatment; 

a. anti-social behavior; 

b. aggressive/violent behavior; or 

c. substance abusing behavior. 

B. MST services may not be clinically appropriate for 

individuals who meet the following conditions: 

1. youth who meet criteria for out-of-home placement 

due to suicidal, homicidal or psychotic behavior; 

2. youth living independently, or youth for whom a 

primary caregiver cannot be identified despite extensive 

efforts to locate all extended family, adult friends and other 

potential surrogate caregivers; 

3. the referral problem is limited to serious sexual 

misbehavior; or 

4. youth has a primary diagnosis of an autism 

spectrum disorder. 

C. Continuing Treatment Criteria. Individuals must meet 

all of the following criteria for continuing treatment through 

MST: 

1. treatment does not require a more intensive level of 

care; 

2. the treatment plan has been developed, 

implemented, and updated based on the youth's clinical 

condition and response to treatment, as well as the strengths 

of the family, with realistic goals and objectives clearly 

stated; 

3. progress is clearly evident in objective terms, but 

goals of treatment have not yet been achieved, or 

adjustments in the treatment plan to address the lack of 

progress are evident; and 

4. the family is actively involved in treatment, or there 

are active, persistent efforts being made which are expected 

to lead to engagement in treatment. 

D. Discharge Criteria. Individuals who meet one or more 

of the following criteria no longer meet medical necessity 

criteria for MST and shall be discharged from MST 

treatment: 

1. the recipient's treatment plan goals and objectives 

have been substantially met; 

2. the recipient meets criteria for higher or lower level 

of treatment, care or services; 

3. the recipient, family, guardian and/or custodian are 

not engaging in treatment or not following program rules 

and regulations despite attempts to address barriers to 

treatment; 

4. consent for treatment has been withdrawn; or 

5. the youth and/or family have not benefitted from 

MST, despite documented efforts to engage, and there is no 

reasonable expectation of progress at this level of care 

despite treatment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 253. Services 

§25301. Covered Services 

A. The components of MST services include: 

1. an initial assessment to identify the focus of the 

MST intervention; 

2. therapeutic interventions with the individual and his 

or her family; 

3. peer intervention; 

4. specialized therapeutic and rehabilitative 

interventions to address all areas seen as contributing to an 

individual's delinquency including, but not limited to: 

a. substance abuse; 

b. sexual abuse; or 

c. domestic violence; and 

5. crisis stabilization. 

B. The duration of MST intervention is typically three to 

six months. Weekly interventions may range from three to 

20 hours per week and may be less as a case nears closure. 

C. Services are primarily provided in the home, but may 

also be provided at school and in other community settings. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§25303. Service Exclusions 

A. MST services are comprehensive of all other mental 

health services, with the exception of 

psychiatric/psychological evaluation or assessment and 

medication management. These may be provided and billed 

separately for a recipient receiving MST services. 

B. MST shall not be billed in conjunction with the 

following services: 

1. mental health rehabilitation (MHR) services other 

than medication management and assessment; 

2. partial hospitalization; 

3. day treatment; 

4. residential services, including therapeutic foster 

care;  

5. respite care; or 

6. any other outpatient therapies (individual, family 

and group). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:  

Chapter 255. Provider Participation 

§25501. Provider Qualifications 

A. In order to enroll to participate in the Louisiana 

Medicaid Program as a Medicaid provider of MST services, 

agencies must be licensed to provide such services by MST 

Services, Inc. of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, or any of 

its approved subsidiaries. 

B. An MST agency must be a behavioral 

health/substance abuse provider organization which: 

1. is a legally recognized entity in the United States 

and qualified to do business in Louisiana; and 

2. meets the standards established by the Bureau of 

Health Services Financing or its designee. 

C. Providers must document team coordination on each 

case at least once per week. Weekly standardized MST 

documentation will be required and the provider must allow 

the bureau to access its MST report data. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§25503. Staffing Requirements 

A. Clinical services and supervision must be provided by 

licensed behavioral health practitioners in accordance with 

their respective licensing board regulations. All practitioners 

must hold an unrestricted Louisiana license. 

B. Staffing for MST services shall be comprised of no 

more than one-third bachelors level staff and, at a minimum, 

two-thirds licensed masters level staff. MST team members 

must include, at a minimum: 

1. a Masters level clinical supervisor who is an 

independently licensed behavioral health professional; and 

2. licensed masters, non-licensed masters or bachelors 

level behavioral health staff able to provide 24 hour 

coverage, seven days per week: 

a. licensed masters level behavioral health 

practitioners may perform all therapeutic interventions and 

supervision of non-licensed staff; 

b. non-licensed master's level and bachelors level 

behavioral health practitioners may not provide clinical 

supervision and must be supervised by a licensed masters 

level practitioner for all clinical activities: 

 i. bachelor's level staff must have a degree in 

social work, counseling, psychology or a related human 

services field and must have at least three years of 

experience working with the target population (youth and 

their families). 

3. All college degrees must be from a nationally 

accredited institution of higher education as defined in 

Section 102(b) of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 

amended. 

C. All clinical staff is required to participate in and 

complete a prescribed five day MST introductory training 

and subsequent quarterly trainings. 

D. MST direct service staff to family ratio shall not 

exceed one to six (1:6). 

E. Clinical Supervision. Weekly supervision shall be 

provided by an independently licensed masters level 

behavioral health practitioner who is MST trained. This 

supervision, following the MST supervisory protocol, shall 

be provided to team members on topics directly related to 

the needs of MST individuals and their families on an 

ongoing basis. 

1. A minimum of one hour local group supervision per 

week and one hour of telephone consultation per week with 

an MST systems supervisor is required. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 257. Reimbursement 

§25701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for MST services shall be a 

prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service 

provided to the recipient. One quarter hour (15 minutes) is 

the standard unit of service, which covers both service 

provision and administrative costs. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#036 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services—Small Rural Hospitals 

Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:V.Chapters 51-61) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:V.Chapters 51-61 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 

Rule which established the reimbursement methodology for 

outpatient hospital services at an interim rate of 60 percent 

of billed charges and cost settlement adjusted to 83 percent 

of allowable costs documented in the cost report, except for 

laboratory services subject to the Medicare fee schedule, 

outpatient rehabilitation and outpatient surgeries (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 22, Number 1). The January 20, 1996, 

Rule was subsequently amended to reduce the 

reimbursement rate paid for outpatient services (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 26, Number 12). Rules were later 

promulgated to increase the reimbursement paid for 

outpatient hospital rehabilitation services rendered to 

Medicaid recipients who are age 3 and older, outpatient 

clinic services and outpatient laboratory services (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 29, Number 7). In compliance with Act 17 

of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 

the department amended the reimbursement methodology 

for outpatient services to increase the Medicaid 

reimbursement rates paid for outpatient services rendered in 

private (non-state) acute hospitals (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 33, Number 2). 

Act 327 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized the department to amend the 

reimbursement methodology governing state fiscal year 

2009 Medicaid payments to small rural hospitals for 

inpatient and outpatient hospital services and psychiatric 

services, including services provided by hospital-based rural 

health clinics. In compliance with the directives of Act 327, 

the department proposes to amend the provisions governing 

the reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital 

services rendered by small rural hospitals. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 

health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 

sufficient provider participation in the Hospital Services 

Program and recipient access to providers of these medically 

necessary services. It is estimated that the implementation of 

this proposed Rule will increase expenditures for outpatient 

hospital services by approximately $645,661 for state fiscal 

year 2008-2009. 

Effective July 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing payments to small rural hospitals for outpatient 

hospital services for state fiscal year 2009. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 51. General Provisions (Reserved) 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 

§5311. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement amount paid to small rural hospitals for 

outpatient hospital surgery services shall be as follows: 

1. Small rural hospitals shall receive an interim 

payment for claims which shall be the Medicaid fee schedule 

payment on file for each service as of July 1, 2008. 

2. A quarterly interim cost settlement payment shall 

be made to each small rural hospital to estimate a payment 

of 110 percent of allowable cost for fee schedule services. 

a. The interim cost settlement payment shall be 

calculated by subtracting the actual quarterly payments for 

the applicable dates of services from 110 percent of the 

allowable costs of the quarterly claims. The cost to charge 

ratio from the latest filed cost report shall be applied to 

quarterly charges for the outpatient claims paid by fee 

schedule and multiplied by 110 percent of the allowable 

costs as calculated through the cost report settlement 

process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 55. Clinic Services 

§5511. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement amount paid to small rural hospitals for 

outpatient hospital clinic services shall be as follows: 

1. Small rural hospitals shall receive an interim 

payment for claims which shall be the Medicaid fee schedule 

payment on file for each service as of July 1, 2008. 

2. A quarterly interim cost settlement payment shall 

be made to each small rural hospital to estimate a payment 

of 110 percent of allowable cost for fee schedule services. 

a. The interim cost settlement payment shall be 

calculated by subtracting the actual quarterly payments for 

the applicable dates of services from 110 percent of the 

allowable costs of the quarterly claims. The cost to charge 

ratio from the latest filed cost report shall be applied to 

quarterly charges for the outpatient claims paid by fee 

schedule and multiplied by 110 percent of the allowable 

costs as calculated through the cost report settlement 

process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 

§5711. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement amount paid to small rural hospitals for 

outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory services shall be a 
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fee schedule amount equal to the Medicare Fee Schedule 

amount on file as of July 1, 2008. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 59. Rehabilitation Services 

§5911. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement amount paid to small rural hospitals for 

rehabilitation services shall be as follows. 

1. Small rural hospitals shall receive an interim 

payment for claims which shall be the Medicaid fee schedule 

payment on file for each service as of July 1, 2008. 

2. A quarterly interim cost settlement payment shall 

be made to each small rural hospital to estimate a payment 

of 110 percent of allowable cost for fee schedule services. 

a. The interim cost settlement payment shall be 

calculated by subtracting the actual quarterly payments for 

the applicable dates of services from 110 percent of the 

allowable costs of the quarterly claims. The cost to charge 

ratio from the latest filed cost report shall be applied to 

quarterly charges for the outpatient claims paid by fee 

schedule and multiplied by 110 percent of the allowable 

costs as calculated through the cost report settlement 

process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 61. Other Covered Services 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§6113. Other Outpatient Hospital Services Not 

Included In Any Other Group 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement amount paid to small rural hospitals for 

outpatient hospital services other than clinical diagnostic 

laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, rehabilitation 

services, and outpatient hospital facility fees shall be as 

follows. 

1. Small rural hospitals shall receive an interim 

payment for claims which shall be 110 percent of each 

hospital’s cost to charge ratio as calculated from the latest 

filed cost report. 

2. Final reimbursement shall be 110 percent of 

allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 

settlement process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#034 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pain Management Clinics—Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.7801) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 

LAC 48:I.7801 as authorized by R.S 36:254 and R.S. 

40:2198.11-13. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 

period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 

Rule, whichever occurs first. 

In compliance with Act 488 of the 2005 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing adopted provisions establishing the licensing 

standards for pain management clinics (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 34, Number 1). Pain management clinics are public 

or private facilities which primarily engage in the treatment 

of pain by prescribing narcotic medications. The department 

promulgated an Emergency Rule to amend the provisions 

contained in the January 20, 2008 Rule to further clarify the 

definition of pain management specialist as related to 

services furnished by urgent care facilities (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 34, Number 1). This Emergency Rule is 

being promulgated to continue the provisions of the January 

20, 2008 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 

promote the health and well-being of Louisiana citizens by 

assuring access to these medically necessary health care 

services while enhancing the quality of care being furnished 

to patients. 

Effective May 30, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the provisions governing pain 

management clinics. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 78. Pain Management Clinics 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§7801. Definitions 

* * * 

Pain Specialist—a physician, licensed in Louisiana, with a 

certification in the subspecialty of pain management by a 

member board of the American Boards of Medical 

Specialties. 
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1. For urgent care facilities in operation on or before 

June 15, 2005, the definition of pain specialist is a physician 

who is licensed in the state of Louisiana, board certified in 

his or her area of residency training and certified within one 

year from the adoption of this rule in the subspecialty of pain 

management by any board or academy providing such 

designation such as the American Boards of Medical 

Specialties, American Board of Pain Management, American 

Academy of Pain Management or the American Board of 

Interventional Pain Physicians. Any conflict, inconsistency 

or ambiguity with any other regulations contained in this 

chapter shall be controlled by §7801. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

R.S. 40.2198.11-13. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:0000 (January 2008), amended LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#040 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program—Adult Immunizations 

(LAC 50:IX.Chapters 83-87) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:IX.Chapters 83-87 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 

period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 

Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 18 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor 

Program to allow for the coverage of certain adult 

immunizations provided by a medical professional for 

influenza, pneumococcal and human papillomavirus (HPV) 

diseases. These immunizations will be covered for Medicaid 

recipients who are age 21 or older. In compliance with the 

directives of Act 18, the Department by Emergency Rule 

adopted provisions to allow for the reimbursement of adult 

immunizations for influenza, pneumococcal and HPV 

diseases (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 9). This 

Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 

provisions of the October 1, 2007 Emergency Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 

health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 

recipient access to preventive care to aid in the eradication 

of serious illnesses that may disrupt normal family 

functioning. 

Effective May 30, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing adopts provisions for the coverage of certain adult 

immunizations. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 

Subpart 7.  Immunizations 

Chapter 83. Children's Immunizations (Reserved) 

Chapter 85. Adult Immunizations 

§8501. General Provisions 

A. Effective October 1, 2007, the department shall 

provide Medicaid coverage for certain immunizations 

administered by enrolled Medicaid providers for adult 

recipients, age 21 or older. Adult immunizations shall be 

covered for the following diseases: 

1. influenza; 

2. pneumococcal; and 

3. human papillomavirus (HPV). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§8503. Coverage Restrictions 

A. HPV Immunizations. Immunizations for HPV are 

restricted to female recipients from age 21 through 26 years 

old. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Chapter 87. Reimbursement 

§8701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Adult Immunizations. Providers shall be reimbursed 

according to the established fee schedule for the vaccine and 

the administration of the vaccine. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this proposed Rule 

shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#041 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program—Physicians Services 

Payment for Adjunct Services  

(LAC 50:IX.15121) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:IX.15121 in the Medical Assistance Program 

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 18 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor 

Program to reimburse professional services providers who 

provide and report services rendered in settings other than 

hospital emergency departments during evening, weekend or 

holiday hours. 

In compliance with the directives of Act 18, the 

department adopted provisions allowing for the 

reimbursement of an additional payment to professional 

services providers for services provided in settings other 

than hospital emergency departments during evening, 

weekend or holiday hours (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, 

Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 

continue the provisions of the October 20, 2007 Emergency 

Rule. This action is being taken to promote the health and 

welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring recipient access 

to primary and urgent care that can be acquired in a setting 

other than hospital emergency departments. 

Effective June 18, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing professional services to adopt provisions 

establishing reimbursement for the payment of adjunct 

services when professional services are provided in a setting 

other than hospital emergency departments during evening, 

weekend or holiday hours. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 

Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 

§15121. Payment for Adjunct Services  

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 20, 

2007, the Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 

for the payment of adjunct services in addition to the 

reimbursement for evaluation and management services and 

the associated ancillary services when these professional 

services are rendered in settings other than hospital 

emergency departments during evening, weekend or holiday 

hours. 

B. The reimbursement for adjunct services is a flat fee in 

addition to the reimbursement for the associated evaluation 

and management and ancillary services. 

C. Reimbursement is limited to services rendered 

between the hours of 5 p.m. and 8 a.m., Monday through 

Friday, on weekends and state legal holidays. 

Documentation relative to this reimbursement must include 

the time that the services were rendered. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this proposed Rule 

shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#042 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health Clinics 

Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:XI.16705) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 

50:XI.16705 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 

provisions governing services, provider participation and 

reimbursement methodology for rural health clinics 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 12). The 

department promulgated an Emergency Rule to amend the 

provisions of the December 20, 2006 Rule governing the 

reimbursement methodology for rural health clinics to allow 

for the reimbursement of an additional payment to rural 

health clinics for professional services provided during 

evening, weekend or holiday hours (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 33, Number 10). 
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Act 327 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature authorized the department to amend the 

reimbursement methodology governing state fiscal year 

2009 Medicaid payments to small rural hospitals for 

inpatient and outpatient hospital services and psychiatric 

services, including services provided by hospital-based rural 

health clinics. In compliance with the directives of Act 327, 

the department proposes to amend the provisions governing 

the reimbursement methodology for hospital-based rural 

health clinics. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 

health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 

sufficient provider participation in the Medicaid Program 

and recipient access to providers of these medically 

necessary services. It is estimated that the implementation of 

this proposed Rule will increase expenditures for rural health 

clinic services by approximately $2,541,131 for state fiscal 

year 2008-2009. 

Effective July 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing payments to hospital-based rural health clinics for 

state fiscal year 2009. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 

§16705. Hospital-Based Rural Health Clinics 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, 

the reimbursement methodology for services rendered by a 

rural health clinic that was licensed as part of a small rural 

hospital as of July 1, 2007 shall be as follows. 

1. Hospital-based rural health clinics shall be 

reimbursed in the aggregate at 110 percent of reasonable 

costs. 

2. Interim payments for claims shall be the Medicaid 

PPS per visit rate in effect as of July 1, 2008 for each 

provider. 

3. Final reimbursement shall be 110 percent of 

allowable cost as calculated through the cost settlement 

process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#037 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health Clinics 

Reimbursement Methodology—Payment for Adjunct 

Services (LAC 50:XI.16703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:XI.16703 in the Medical Assistance Program 

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 

provisions governing services, provider participation and 

reimbursement methodology for rural health clinics 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 12). Act 18 of the 

2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 

authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor Program for 

payments to private and public providers of health care 

services. In order to facilitate access to primary and urgent 

care in settings other than hospital emergency departments 

and encourage utilization, the bureau determined that it was 

necessary to provide reimbursement to professional services 

providers, including rural health clinics, for furnishing 

services during evening, weekend or holiday hours. 

In compliance with the directives of Act 18, the 

department by Emergency Rule adopted provisions to allow 

for the reimbursement of an additional payment to rural 

health clinics for professional services provided during 

evening, weekend or holiday hours (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 33, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being 

promulgated to continue the provisions of the October 20, 

2007 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 

the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 

recipient access to primary and urgent care that can be 

acquired in a setting other than hospital emergency 

departments. 

Effective June 18, 2007, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing rural health clinics to allow for the reimbursement 

of an additional payment to rural health clinics for 

professional services provided during evening, weekend or 

holiday hours. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 

Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 

§16703. Alternate Payment Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 20, 

2007, the Medicaid Program establishes an alternate 

payment methodology for adjunct services provided by rural
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health clinics (RHCs) when these professional services are 

rendered during evening, weekend or holiday hours. This 

alternate payment methodology is in addition to the 

prospective payment system methodology established for 

RHC services. 

1. A payment for adjunct services is not allowed when 

the encounter is for dental services only. 

B. The reimbursement for adjunct services is a flat fee, 

based on the current procedural terminology (CPT) 

procedure code, in addition to the reimbursement for the 

associated office encounter. 

C. Reimbursement is limited to services rendered 

between the hours of 5 p.m. and 8 a.m., Monday through 

Friday, on weekends and state legal holidays. 

Documentation relative to this reimbursement must include 

the time that the services were rendered. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A copy 

of this Emergency Rule is available for review by interested 

parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#038 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Targeted Case Management Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:XV.10701-10703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 

LAC 50:XV.10701 and adopts §10703 under the Medical 

Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 

pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 

Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 

period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or 

until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

repromulgated the rules governing optional targeted case 

management services under the Medicaid Program for 

inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative Code (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 30, Number 5). The department now 

proposes to amend the provisions of the May 20, 2004 Rule 

governing the reimbursement methodology for targeted case 

management to require case management agencies to bill in 

15 minute increments. This Rule also adopts provisions 

establishing cost reporting requirements for targeted case 

management. 

This action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions. It is 

anticipated that the implementation of this Emergency Rule 

will be cost neutral for state fiscal year 2008-2009. 

Effective May 1, 2008, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends the reimbursement methodology 

governing targeted case management services. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 

Subpart 7.  Targeted Case Management 

Chapter 107. Reimbursement 

§10701. Reimbursement 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2008, 

reimbursement for case management services shall be a 

prospective rate for each approved unit of service provided 

to the recipient. 

1. One quarter hour (15 minutes) is the standard unit 

of service which covers both service provision and 

administrative costs. 

2. All services must be prior authorized. 

B. ... 

C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 30:1040 (May 2004), amended LR 31:2032 

(August 2005), amended LR 34: 

§10703. Cost Reports 

A. Case management agencies shall provide annual cost 

reports based on the state fiscal year, starting with the period 

beginning July 1, 2008 and ending June 30, 2009. 

Completed reports are due within 90 calendar days after the 

end of each fiscal year. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#020 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels 

(LAC 22:I.109) 

In accordance with the provisions R.S. 49:953, the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections 

Services, hereby determines that adoption of an Emergency 

Rule for implementation of the Louisiana Sex Offender
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Assessment Panels mandated by Act No. 186 of the 2006 

Regular Session and Act No. 126 of the 2007 Regular 

Session is necessary and that for the following reasons 

failure to adopt the Rule on an emergency basis will result in 

imminent peril to the public health, safety and welfare. 

Act No. 186 of the 2006 Regular Session created the 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels within the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections. The Act 

mandated membership and duties for the panels. The panels 

were to evaluate each offender convicted of a sex offense as 

defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) who were to be released from 

the custody of the department by any means, to determine if 

the offender may be a child sexual predator or sexually 

violent predator. 

This Act required the membership of a panel to be 

comprised of a psychologist and a physician who are 

qualified in forensic evaluations of sex offenders, along with 

a retired law enforcement officer, the Secretary of the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections or his 

designee, the warden or deputy warden of the institution 

where the offender was incarcerated and a probation and 

parole officer with a minimum of 10 years experience to be 

appointed by the governor. 

The members outside of the Department of Public Safety 

and Corrections were to receive a per diem not to exceed 

$40/hr. for each day in meetings. 

Due to the minimum compensation offered to 

professionals, the cumbersome volume of work and the 

inability to recruit psychologists and physicians to serve on a 

panel, the panels were never properly appointed. 

Act No. 126 of the 2007 Regular Session amended R.S. 

15:560 et seq., and reduced the membership from six to 

three members. A psychologist or a psychiatrist in the 

employment or under contract to the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections was required to be a member. 

The department has maintained a list of all sex offenders 

that were convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 

15:541(14.1) or who were released from the custody of the 

department by any means, on or after August 15, 2006. This 

list contains over 700 sex offenders. The department is 

concerned with the imminent peril to the public health, 

safety and welfare of the department and the general public 

and desires to adopt the Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment 

Panels process as an Emergency Rule. The panels must 

immediately begin reviewing information on the released 

offenders and the department desires to proceed at once. 

For the foregoing reasons, the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has 

determined that the adoption of an Emergency Rule for 

implementation of the Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment 

Panels is necessary and hereby provides notice of its 

declaration of emergency effective on June 15, 2008, in 

accordance with R.S. 49:953. This Emergency Rule shall be 

in effect for 120 days or until adoption of the final Rule, 

whichever occurs first. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 1. Secretary's Office 

§109. Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels 

A. Purpose. To establish the secretary's policy relative to 

the formation of the Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment 

Panels pursuant to legislative intent and the provisions of 

Act 186 of the 2006 Regular Session and Act 126 of the 

2007 Regular Session. The provisions of this regulation shall 

apply to all sex offenders as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

who are convicted or who are released by any means from 

the department's custody on or after August 15, 2006. 

B. Applicability: deputy secretary, chief of operations, 

undersecretary, assistant secretary, wardens, Director of the 

Division of Probation and Parole, Chairman of the Board of 

Pardons, Chairman of the Board of Parole and local jail 

administrators. Each unit head is responsible for ensuring 

that appropriate unit written policy and procedures are in 

place to comply with the provisions of this regulation. 

C. Policy. To constitute the department's policy regarding 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels pursuant to 

legislative intent. 

D. Definitions 

Child Sexual Predator—a person determined by a 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panel who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

and who is likely to engage in additional sex offenses against 

children because he has a mental abnormality or condition 

which can be verified by a psychiatrist or psychologist, or 

because he has a history of committing crimes, wrongs, or 

acts involving sexually assaultive behavior or acts which 

indicate a lustful disposition toward children. 

Mental Abnormality—a congenital or acquired 

condition of a person that affects the emotional or volitional 

capacity of the person in a manner that predisposes that 

person to the commission of criminal sexual acts to a degree 

that makes the person a menace to the health and safety of 

others. Nothing in this definition is intended to supersede or 

apply to the definitions found in R.S. 14:10 or 14 in 

reference to criminal intent or insanity. 

Sexually Violent Predator—a person who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

and who has a mental abnormality or anti-social personality 

disorder that makes the person likely to engage in predatory 

sexually violent offenses as determined by a Louisiana Sex 

Offender Assessment Panel. 

E. Panel Composition and Guidelines 

1. Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 15:560.2, the 

secretary is hereby authorized to create not more than three 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels. An employee of 

the Office of Adult Services shall be designated by the 

secretary to serve as coordinator for the panels. Each panel 

shall consist of three members as follows: 
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a. one member shall be a psychologist licensed by 

the Louisiana State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

who has been engaged in the practice of clinical or 

counseling psychology for not less than three consecutive 

years or a psychiatrist in the employ or under contract to the 

department whose credentials and experience are not 

incompatible with the evaluation of the potential threat to 

public safety that may be posed by a child sexual predator or 

a sexually violent predator; 

b. one member shall be the secretary or designee 

who shall be chairman; 

c. one member shall be the warden, or in his 

absence the deputy warden, of the institution where the 

offender is incarcerated or a probation and parole officer 

with a minimum of 10 years experience, or a retired law 

enforcement officer with at least five years of experience in 

investigating sex offenses. 

2. A majority of the members of a panel shall 

constitute a quorum. All official actions of a panel shall 

require an affirmative vote of a majority of the members of 

the panel. 

3. Each panel shall meet at least once quarterly and 

upon the call of the chairman or upon the request of any two 

members. 

4. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.12, 

each panel shall review presentence reports, prison records, 

medical and psychological records, information and data 

gathered by the staffs of the Board of Pardons and the Board 

of Parole, information provided by the sex offender (which 

may include a personal interview), the district attorney or the 

assistant district attorney from the judicial district which 

prosecuted the sex offender and any other information 

obtained by the boards or the department. 

5. Each panel shall have the duty to evaluate every 

offender who has been convicted of a sex offense as defined 

in R.S. 15:541(14.1) and who is to be released from the 

custody of the department, by any means, to determine if he 

is a child sexual predator or a sexually violent predator in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:560.1. 

6. Each panel shall meet and evaluate every sex 

offender as defined by this regulation at least six months 

prior to the release date of the sex offender. 

7. Any decision by a panel may be appealed in 

accordance with Department Regulation No. B-05-005 

"Administrative Remedy Procedure." 

8. A panel's review will be conducted via file review 

utilizing the information contained in Paragraph E.4. 

Telephone or video conferencing may be conducted at the 

discretion of the panel. 

9. Panel decisions will be recorded by individual vote 

and official results shall be maintained on a docket sheet 

results form. 

10. Recommendations made by individuals other than 

those employed by the department or the local jail facility 

where the inmate is housed shall be made in writing. 

11. Pursuant to R.S. 15:560.3A.(1), (2), and (3), upon a 

determination by a panel that a sex offender is a child sexual

predator or a sexually violent predator, the sex offender shall 

be: 

a. required to register as a sex offender in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:542 et seq., for the 

duration of his natural life; 

b. required to provide community notification in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:542 et seq., for the 

duration of his natural life; 

c. required to be electronically monitored pursuant 

to the provisions of R.S. 15:560.4. 

F. Electronic Monitoring of Child Sexual Predators or 

Sexually Violent Predators 

1. Each sex offender determined to be a child sexual 

predator or a sexually violent predator pursuant to the 

provisions of this regulation shall be required to be 

electronically monitored in a fashion that provides for 

electronic location tracking. 

2. Unless it is determined pursuant to Department 

Regulation No. C-07-004 "Offender Payment for Electronic 

Monitoring" that a sex offender is unable to pay all or any 

portion of the costs for electronic monitoring, each sex 

offender to be electronically monitored shall pay the cost of 

such monitoring. 

3. The costs attributable to the electronic monitoring 

of an offender who has been determined unable to pay shall 

be borne by the department if, and only to the degree that 

sufficient funds are made available for such purpose whether 

by appropriation of state funds or from any other source. 

4. Only in the case that a sex offender determined to 

be a child sexual predator or a sexual violent predator is 

unable to pay his own electronic monitoring costs, and there 

are no funds available to the department to pay for such 

monitoring, may the requirements of electronic monitoring 

be waived. 

G. Notification of Release 

1. In accordance with R.S. 40:2528, Public Safety 

Services shall promulgate rules and regulations regarding the 

department's notification to the Office of State Police when a 

child sexual predator or sexually violent predator has been 

released from imprisonment. State police shall then send out 

an alert by means of a predator alert system to local law 

enforcement officials to inform them of such releases. 

H. Rights of Action 

1. Any employee who participates in the sex offender 

review process pursuant to this regulation shall be immune 

from civil or criminal liability when the actions taken are in 

good faith in a reasonable manner in accordance with 

generally accepted medical or other professional practices. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:560.3(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 34: 

 
James M. Le Blanc 

Secretary 
0804#030 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2008 Deepwater Grouper and Tilefishes  

Commercial Season Closure 

The commercial seasons for the harvest of deepwater 

groupers and tilefishes in Louisiana state waters will close 

effective 12:01 a.m. on May 10, 2008. The deepwater 

grouper assemblage includes misty, snowy, yellowedge, 

Warsaw grouper, and speckled hind. The tilefish assemblage 

includes tilefish, goldface tilefish, blackline tilefish, anchor 

tilefish and blueline tilefish. The secretary has been 

informed that the commercial seasons for deepwater 

groupers and tilefishes in the Federal waters of the Gulf of 

Mexico off the coast of Louisiana will both close at 12:01 

a.m. on May 10, 2008, and will remain closed until 12:01 

a.m., January 1, 2009.  

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 

49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 

which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 

the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 

procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 

provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 

seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 

secretary of the department by the commission in its 

resolution of January 9, 2008 to modify opening and closing 

dates of 2008 commercial reef fish seasons in Louisiana 

state waters when he is informed by the Regional Director of 

NOAA Fisheries that the seasons have been closed in 

adjacent Federal waters, and that NOAA Fisheries requests 

that the season be modified in Louisiana State waters, the 

Secretary hereby declares: 

The commercial fisheries for deepwater groupers and 

tilefishes in Louisiana waters will both close at 12:01 a.m. 

on May 10, 2008, and remain closed until 12:01 a.m., 

January 1, 2009. Effective with these closures, no person 

shall commercially harvest, possess, purchase, barter, trade, 

sell or attempt to purchase, barter, trade or sell deepwater 

groupers or tilefishes whether within or without Louisiana 

waters. Effective with the closures, no person shall possess 

deepwater groupers or tilefishes in excess of a daily bag 

limit, which may only be in possession during the open 

recreational season. Nothing shall prohibit the possession or 

sale of fish legally taken prior to the closure providing that 

all commercial dealers possessing deepwater groupers or 

tilefishes taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 

appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 

R.S. 56:306.6. 

The secretary has been notified by NOAA Fisheries that 

the commercial deepwater grouper and tilefish seasons in 

Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico will both close at 

12:01 a.m. on May 10, 2008, and the seasons will remain 

closed until 12:01 a.m., January 1, 2009. Having compatible 

season regulations in state waters is necessary to provide 

effective rules and efficient enforcement for the fishery, to 

prevent overfishing of these species in the long term. 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0804#060 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2008 Spring Shrimp Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 

49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 

Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 

use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 

56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 

Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 

year for all or part of inside waters and shall have the 

authority to open or close outside waters, the Wildlife and 

Fisheries Commission does hereby set the 2008 Spring 

Shrimp Season in Louisiana state waters to open as follows: 

Shrimp Management Zone 1, that portion of Louisiana's 

inside waters from the Mississippi/Louisiana state line to the 

eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River, to open 

at 12 noon June 2, 2008, and 

Shrimp Management Zone 2, that portion of Louisiana's 

inside waters from the eastern shore of South Pass of the 

Mississippi River to the western shore of Vermilion Bay and 

Southwest Pass at Marsh Island and that portion of the 

State’s Outside Waters south of the Inside/Outside Shrimp 

Line as described in R.S. 56:495 from the Atchafalaya River 

Ship Channel at Eugene Island as delineated by the River 

Channel Buoy Line to the eastern shore of Freshwater Bayou 

at 92 degrees 18 minutes 33 seconds west longitude to open 

at 12 noon May 12, 2008. 

Shrimp Management Zone 3, that portion of Louisiana's 

inside waters from the western shore of Vermilion Bay and 

Southwest Pass at Marsh Island westward to the 

Louisiana/Texas State Line, to open at 12 noon June 2, 2008. 

The commission also hereby grants authority to the 

Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 

close any portion of the state's inside waters to protect small 

white shrimp if biological and technical data indicates the 

need to do so, or enforcement problems develop. 

 

Patrick C. Morrow 

Chairman 
0805#013 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Season Reopening—St. Bernard Parish 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and R.S. 

49:967(D), and under the authority of R.S. 56:433(B)1 

which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

may designate what parts or portions of the natural reefs 

may be fished for oysters, and a Resolution adopted by the 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on August 2, 2007 which 

authorized the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries to take emergency action if necessary to reopen 

areas, the secretary hereby declares: 
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The 2007/2008 oyster season shall reopen at one-half hour 

before sunrise on Sunday, April 13, 2008 and shall close at 

one-half hour after sunset on Saturday, April 26, 2008 within 

the public oyster seed grounds located within Department of 

Health and Hospitals (DHH) harvest areas 1, 2, and 3 in St. 

Bernard Parish. Harvestable quantities of oyster resources 

continue to exist in these public oyster seed grounds and the 

possible opening of the Bonnet Carre Spillway has placed 

that resource in imminent peril. As the oyster resources in 

these areas are in imminent peril from the spillway opening, 

allowing limited harvest of the resource is in the best interest 

of the Louisiana oyster industry. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

is authorized to take emergency action as necessary to close 

areas if oyster mortalities are occurring or to delay the 

season or close areas where it is found that there are 

excessive amounts of non-living reef material in seed oyster 

loads, or if oyster resources and/or reefs are being adversely 

impacted, or if enforcement problems are encountered. 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0805#001 
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Rules 
 

 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Seed Commission 

Seeds (LAC 7:XIII.129 and 131) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 3:1433, the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Seed Commission, 

adopted regulations governing the use of a global positioning 

satellite (GPS) as well as amending the deadline for 

sugarcane application. 

In order for USDA and the Louisiana Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry to get a more accurate location of 

seed stock fields to be certified for seed production, the 

department is amending regulations to require the use of GPS 

coordinates. In the past farmers and inspectors of seed stock 

fields have had difficulties determining the correct fields to 

be inspected due to a lack of accurate information. GPS 

coordinates submitted with the application will correct these 

difficulties and will provide valuable reference information 

for both the department and farmers. 

The department is also adopting Rules regarding the 

current application deadline for sugarcane field inspections. 

The current deadline is May 1st. However, sugarcane field 

inspections usually begin in April. Therefore, under the 

current deadline an application may be received after the first 

field inspection is due thereby disqualifying the crop from 

being certified. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1433. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XIII.  Seeds 

Chapter 1. Contaminated Seed Stock and Other 

Propagating Stock 

Subchapter B. General Seed Certification Requirements 

§129. Application for Field Certification 

A. The grower must apply for certification on or before 

the application deadline shown in §131 for seed stock to be 

certified by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The 

grower must submit a completed application on the form 

provided by the department.  

B. Applications for certification of seed stock for a crop 

or variety listed in §131 which are submitted after the 

deadline specified in §131 will not be approved unless field 

inspection(s) can be completed prior to harvest. 

C. Information to accompany application: 

1. name of variety; 

2. GPS coordinates at or about the center point of each 

field presented for certification; 

3. copy of the purchase invoice, or statement showing 

class of seed purchased; 

4. one sample tag from each lot number (If the grower 

plants seed of his own production, the class of seed and lot 

number shall be identified by documentation acceptable to 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry); and 

5. a map of each field presented for certification. 

D. It is the duty of the grower to notify the department at 

least two weeks prior to harvest of the anticipated harvest 

date for each field presented for certification.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1433 and R.S. 3:1434. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:565 (November 1982), 

amended LR 12:825 (December 1986), LR 34:863 (May 2008). 

§131. Application Deadlines 

A. Onion bulbs and seed, and shallots—March 1. 

B. Tissue Culture Sugarcane—April 1. 

C. Clover (crimson, red, white), rescue grass, harding 

grass, vetch, and Irish potatoes—April 1. 

D. Oats, wheat, ryegrass, singletary peas—April 15. 

E. Watermelon—May 1. 

F. Sweet potatoes and sweet potato plants: 

1. greenhouse plantings (virus-tested)—45 days prior 

to planting; 

2. field plantings—June 1. 

G. Okra—June 15. 

H. Rice—July 1. 

I. Cotton, millet, sesame, sunflower, tree—July 15.  

J. Tomatoes (Spring)—June 1, (Fall)—July 15. 

K.  Soybeans—August 1. 

L. Corn—a minimum of 30 days prior to pollination. 

M. Cowpeas—a minimum of 30 days prior to harvest. 

N. Grasses: 

1. bermuda grasses: 

a. new plantings—minimum of 30 days prior to 

harvest; 

b. established stands (fields certified the previous 

year)—June 1. Renewal application must be submitted; 

2. turf and pasture grass: 

a. new plantings—at least 15 days prior to land 

preparation for planting; 

b. established stands (fields certified the previous 

year)—June 1. Renewal application must be submitted. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:565 (November 1982), 

amended LR 9:195 (April 1983), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Seed Commission, LR 12:825 (December 

1986), LR 13:155 (March 1987), LR 13:232 (April 1987), LR 

14:603 (September 1988), LR 23:1283 (October 1997), LR 25:1617 

(September 1999), LR 34:863 (May 2008). 

 

Bob Odom 

Commissioner 
0805#061 
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RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Motor Fuels UST Trust Fund Procedures 

(LAC 33:XI.1121)(UT012) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary has amended the Underground Storage Tanks 

regulations, LAC 33:XI.1121 (Log #UT012). 

This Rule provides for the use of a lien in substitute for the 

owner's financial responsibility required by law for an 

underground storage tank owner who has established 

inability to pay and who has ceased operations. In addition, 

the Rule provides that the use of the lien be limited to 20 

percent of the amount collected in the previous fiscal year. 

The Rule also defines, from the requirements of R.S. 

30:2195.2 and 2194.4(A)(1), that reimbursement from the 

Motor Fuels Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund 

(MFUSTTF) for "all necessary and appropriate expenditures" 

to owners for response actions taken "when authorized by the 

secretary" shall be made, in cases with multiple releases 

from, and multiple owners of, one or more UST systems, for 

work done in compliance with a single corrective action plan 

approved by the department. The Rule allows the department 

to choose a response action contractor (RAC) should the 

owners, within 90 days of the most recent release, be unable 

to agree on a single RAC to submit work plans and 

applications to investigate and perform the cleanup. This 

Rule revision implements Act 447 of the 2006 Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature, provides guidance for 

the regulated community, and eliminates the recurring 

problem concerning multiple RACs when a site has more 

than one release and more than one owner. These changes are 

necessary to ensure the fiscal stability of the MFUSTTF. The 

basis and rationale for this Rule are to implement Act 447 

and to ensure the continuing financial viability of the Motor 

Fuels Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 

and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 

environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 

required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part XI.  Underground Storage Tanks 

Chapter 11. Financial Responsibility 

§1121. Use of the Motor Fuels Underground Storage 

Tank Trust Fund  

The administrative authority was authorized by R.S. 

30:2194-2195.10 to receive and administer the Motor Fuels 

Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund (MFUSTTF) to 

provide financial responsibility for owners and/or operators 

of underground motor fuel storage tanks. Under the 

conditions described in this Section, an owner and/or 

operator who is eligible for participation in the MFUSTTF 

may use this mechanism to partially fulfill the financial

responsibility requirements for eligible USTs. To use the 

MFUSTTF as a mechanism for meeting the requirements of 

LAC 33:XI.1107, the owner and/or operator must be an 

eligible participant as defined in Subsection A of this 

Section. In addition, the owner and/or operator must use one 

of the other mechanisms described in LAC 33:XI.1111-1119 

or 1123-1125 to demonstrate financial responsibility for the 

amounts specified in Subsection C of this Section, which are 

the responsibility of the participant and not covered by the 

MFUSTTF. 

A. Definitions. The following terms shall have the 

meanings ascribed to them as used in this Section. 

* * * 
Eligible Participant—any owner of an operating or 

newly-installed underground storage tank who has registered 

the tank with the department prior to the date of a release, 

has paid the annual tank registration fees along with any late 

payment fees, has met the financial responsibility 

requirements imposed by Subsection B of this Section, and, 

if applicable, has met the noncompliance financial 

responsibility amounts provided in R.S. 30:2195.10. 

* * * 

B. Financial Responsibility Requirements for MFUSTTF 

Participants 

1. Unless revised by the administrative authority in 

accordance with R.S. 30:2195.9(A)(3), MFUSTTF 

participants taking response actions must pay the following 

amounts before any disbursements are made from the fund: 

a. $10,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $10,000 per occurrence for third-party judgments, 

for the period from July 15, 1988 through December 31, 

1989;  

b. $15,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $15,000 per occurrence for third-party judgments, 

for the period from January 1, 1990 through July 14, 1992; 

c. for the period from July 15, 1992 through June 

15, 1995: 

 i. $5,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $5,000 for third-party judgments for owners with 

1 to 12 tanks in Louisiana; 

 ii. $10,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $10,000 for third-party judgments for owners with 

13 to 99 tanks in Louisiana; and 

 iii. $15,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $15,000 for third-party judgments for owners with 

100 or more tanks in Louisiana; and 

d. $5,000 per occurrence for cleanup and an 

additional $5,000 per occurrence for third-party judgments, 

for the period from June 16, 1995 through December 31, 

2001. 

2. Thereafter, the advisory board shall review the 

financial responsibility requirements on an annual basis and 

may recommend adjustments to the requirements to the 

administrative authority. The administrative authority shall 

determine and set the financial responsibility requirements 

annually [as provided in R.S. 30:2195.9(A)(3)]. 

3. Eligible participants must demonstrate financial 

responsibility for the established amounts by the allowable 

mechanisms described in LAC 33:XI.1111-1119 and LAC 

33:XI.1123-1125. 
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4. Substitution of a Departmental Lien 

a. A lien filed by the department with the same 

ranking and privilege as that authorized by R.S. 

30:2195(F)(2) may be substituted for the financial 

responsibility requirement of this Section, but in no case 

shall the lien be substituted on behalf of an owner and/or 

operator who continues to operate the system. The use of the 

funds in the MFUSTTF during any fiscal year on a site for 

which the lien, as authorized by this Section, has been used 

to substitute for the financial responsibility amount shall not 

exceed 20 percent of the amount collected in the previous 

fiscal year. The administrative authority is authorized to 

exceed the 20 percent limitation contained in this Paragraph 

upon recommendation by the advisory board. 

b. Upon recommendation by the advisory board to 

exceed the 20 percent limitation as provided in Subparagraph 

B.4.a of this Section, the administrative authority shall 

provide written notification to the Senate Committee on 

Environmental Quality and the House Committee on the 

Environment listing the project name, the project location, 

and the amount of the project that exceeds the 20 percent 

limitation. 

C. - D.2. … 

3. For sites with more than one eligible release and 

with multiple owners and/or operators wishing to use 

MFUSTTF monies, cost effective procedures shall require 

that the multiple owners and/or operators provide to the 

administrative authority a single investigation and corrective 

action plan that complies with the requirements of LAC 

33:XI.709, 711, and 715. The MFUSTTF shall reimburse the 

owners and/or operators only after the submittal of one 

certified request for reimbursement for work that has been 

completed according to the administrative authority's 

approved investigation and corrective action plan. 

4. For sites with more than one eligible release and 

with multiple owners and/or operators wishing to use 

MFUSTTF monies who cannot agree on the selection of a 

single qualified response action contractor (RAC) for the 

purpose of complying with Paragraph D.3 of this Section, or 

who have failed to begin investigation or corrective action 

within the time required by the administrative authority, the 

administrative authority shall select a RAC to carry out the 

investigation and/or corrective action or order the respective 

owners and/or operators to begin investigation or corrective 

action without MFUSTTF monies. The administrative 

authority, in choosing a RAC, shall solicit notices of interest 

in the project from all approved RACs and select a RAC 

randomly through a public drawing from all RACs 

expressing an interest in the project. The RAC selected shall 

not be one currently under contract to any one of the multiple 

owners and/or operators of the site. Owners and/or operators 

shall continue to monitor site cleanup and shall sign and 

submit a sworn application requesting reimbursement. 

Thereafter, the administrative authority shall determine all 

reasonable costs and shall pay the RAC directly. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and specifically 2195-2195.10. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 16:614 (July 1990), 

amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 

26:2561 (November 2000), LR 27:521 (April 2001), amended by 

the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1577 (July 2005), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 

34:864 (May 2008). 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM 

Executive Counsel 
0805#077 

 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs Division 

Incorporation by Reference―2007 

(LAC 33:I.3931; V.3099; IX.2301, 4901,  

and 4903; and XV.1517)(MM007ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary has amended the Environmental Quality 

regulations, LAC 33:I.3931; V.3099; IX.2301, 4901, and 

4903; and XV.1517 (Log #MM007ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 10 

CFR Part 71, Appendix A, January 1, 2007; 40 CFR 117.3, 

Part 136, Part 266, Appendices I-IX and XI-XIII, 302.4, 

302.6(e), 355.40(a)(2)(vii), Part 401, Parts 405-415, and 

Parts 417-471, July 1, 2007; and 72 FR 40245-40250, July 

24, 2007, which are applicable in Louisiana. For more 

information regarding the federal requirement, contact the 

Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550 or Box 

4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302. No fiscal or economic 

impact will result from the Rule. This Rule will be 

promulgated in accordance with the procedures in R.S. 

49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule incorporates by reference into LAC 33:I, V, IX, 

and XV the corresponding federal reportable quantity list of 

hazardous substances in 40 CFR 117.3 and 302.4, July 1, 

2007; administrative reporting exemptions for certain air 

releases of NOx in 40 CFR 302.6(e) and 355.40(a)(2)(vii), 

July 1, 2007; hazardous waste regulations in 40 CFR Part 

266, Appendices I-IX and XI-XIII, July 1, 2007; National 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System regulations in 40 

CFR Parts 136, 401, 405-415, and 417-471, July 1, 2007; 

radiation regulations in 10 CFR Part 71, Appendix A, 

January 1, 2007; and amendments to the Concentrated 

Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) Point Source Category 

Regulations (40 CFR Part 412) at 72 FR 40245-40250, July 

24, 2007. In order for Louisiana to maintain equivalency 

with federal regulations, the most current Code of Federal 

Regulations must be adopted into the LAC. This rulemaking 

is necessary to maintain delegation, authorization, etc., 

granted to Louisiana by EPA. This incorporation by reference 

package has been amended to keep Louisiana's regulations 

current with their federal counterparts. The basis and 

rationale for this Rule are to mirror the federal regulations in 

order to maintain equivalency. This Rule meets an exception 

listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 

therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 

and social/economic costs is required. 
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Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 

Subpart 2.  Notification 

Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures 

for Unauthorized Discharges 

Subchapter E. Reportable Quantities for Notification of 

Unauthorized Discharges 

§3931. Reportable Quantity List for Pollutants 

A. Incorporation by Reference of Federal Regulations 

1. Except as provided in Subsection B of this Section, 

the following federal reportable quantity lists are 

incorporated by reference: 

a. 40 CFR 117.3, July 1, 2007, Table 117.3—

Reportable Quantities of Hazardous Substances Designated 

Pursuant to Section 311 of the Clean Water Act; and 

b. 40 CFR 302.4, July 1, 2007, Table 302.4—List of 

Hazardous Substances and Reportable Quantities.  

2. Notification Requirements. The following 

administrative reporting exemptions are hereby incorporated 

by reference: 

a. 40 CFR 302.6(e), July 1, 2007—Notification 

Requirements; and  

b. 40 CFR 355.40(a)(2)(vii), July 1, 2007—

Emergency Release Notification. 

B. - Note #. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C), 2204(A), and 

2373(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 

1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:183 (February 

1994), amended by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 

22:341 (May 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 

24:1288 (July 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:2229 

(December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29:698 (May 2003), 

LR 30:751 (April 2004), LR 30:1669 (August 2004), amended by 

the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:919 (April 2005), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 

32:603 (April 2006), LR 32:2248 (December 2006), LR 33:640 

(April 2007), LR 33:2628 (December 2007), LR 34:866 (May 

2008). 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 

Chapter 30. Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers and 

Industrial Furnaces 

§3099. Appendices―Appendix A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, 

J, K, and L 

Appendix A. Tier I and Tier II Feed Rate and Emissions 

Screening Limits For Metals 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix I, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix B. Tier I Feed Rate Screening Limits for Total 

Chlorine 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix II, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix C. Tier II Emission Rate Screening Limits for 

Free Chlorine and Hydrogen Chloride 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix III, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix D. Reference Air Concentrations 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix IV, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 

incorporated thereby, references to 40 CFR 261, Appendix 

VIII and 266, Appendix V shall mean LAC 33:V.3105, Table 

1 and LAC 33:V.3099.Appendix E, respectively. 

Appendix E. Risk-Specific Doses (10
-5

) 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix V, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix F. Stack Plume Rise [Estimated Plume Rise (in 

Meters) Based on Stack Exit Flow Rate and Gas 

Temperature] 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VI, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix G. Health-Based Limits for Exclusion of 

Waste-Derived Residues 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VII, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 

incorporated thereby, 40 CFR 261, Appendix VIII, 

266.112(b)(1) and (b)(2)(i), and 268.43 shall mean LAC 

33:V.3105, Table 1, 3025.B.1 and B.2.a, and LAC 

33:V.2299.Appendix, Table 2, respectively. 

Appendix H. Organic Compounds for Which Residues 

Must Be Analyzed 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix VIII, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix I. Methods Manual for Compliance with the 

BIF Regulations 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix IX, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except as follows. 

A.1. - B. … 

Appendix J. Lead-Bearing Materials That May Be 

Processed in Exempt Lead Smelters 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XI, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

Appendix K. Nickel or Chromium-Bearing Materials 

That May Be Processed in Exempt Nickel-Chromium 

Recovery Furnaces 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XII, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that the footnote should be 

deleted. 

Appendix L. Mercury-Bearing Wastes That May Be 

Processed in Exempt Mercury Recovery Units 

A. 40 CFR 266, Appendix XIII, July 1, 2007, is hereby 

incorporated by reference, except that in regulations 

incorporated thereby, 40 CFR 261, Appendix VIII shall mean 

LAC 33:V.3105, Table 1. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 22:827 (September 1996), amended 

by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 

Planning Division, LR 27:300 (March 2001), LR 27:2231 

(December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 2002), LR 29:700 (May 2003), 

LR 30:751 (April 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, LR 31:919 (April 2005), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:603 (April 2006), LR 

33:640 (April 2007), LR 34:866 (May 2008). 
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Part IX.  Water Quality 

Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (LPDES) Program 

Chapter 23. Definitions and General LPDES Program 

Requirements 

§2301. General Conditions 

A. - E. … 

F. All references to the Code of Federal Regulations 

(CFR) contained in this Chapter shall refer to those 

regulations published in the July 1, 2007 CFR, unless 

otherwise noted. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 

(September 1995), amended LR 23:199 (February 1997), LR 

23:722 (June 1997), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1467 

(August 1999), LR 26:1609 (August 2000), LR 27:2231 (December 

2001), LR 28:996 (May 2002), LR 29:700 (May 2003), 

repromulgated LR 30:230 (February 2004), LR 30:752 (April 

2004), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 

31:920 (April 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 

Affairs Division, LR 32:604 (April 2006), LR 33:641 (April 2007), 

LR 33:2365 (November 2007), LR 34:867 (May 2008). 

Chapter 49. Incorporation by Reference 

§4901. 40 CFR Part 136 

A. 40 CFR Part 136, Guidelines Establishing Test 

Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants, July 1, 2007, in its 

entirety, is hereby incorporated by reference. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 

(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended by 

the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 

Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999), LR 26:1609 (August 2000), 

LR 27:2231 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 2002), LR 29:700 

(May 2003), repromulgated LR 30:232 (February 2004), amended 

LR 30:752 (April 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, LR 31:920 (April 2005), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:604 (April 2006), LR 

33:641 (April 2007), LR 34:867 (May 2008). 

§4903. 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N 

A. 40 CFR Chapter I, Subchapter N, Effluent Guidelines 

and Standards, Parts 401 and 405-471, July 1, 2007, are 

hereby incorporated by reference. 

B. Amendments as promulgated on July 24, 2007, in the 

Federal Register, 72 FR 40245-40250, to 40 CFR Part 412, 

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFO) Point 

Source Category, are hereby incorporated by reference. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 

(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended by 

the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 

Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999), LR 26:1609 (August 2000), 

LR 27:2232 (December 2001), LR 28:996 (May 2002), LR 29:700 

(May 2003), LR 29:1467 (August 2003), repromulgated LR 30:232 

(February 2004), amended LR 30:752 (April 2004), amended by the 

Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:920 (April 2005), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division LR 

32:604 (April 2006), LR 32:819 (May 2006), LR 33:641 (April 

2007), LR 34:867 (May 20008). 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 

Chapter 15. Transportation of Radioactive Material 

§1517. Incorporation by Reference 

A. 10 CFR Part 71, Appendix A, January 1, 2007, is 

hereby incorporated by reference. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2104 and 2113.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1270 (June 2000), 

amended LR 27:2233 (December 2001), LR 28:997 (May 2002), 

LR 29:701 (May 2003), LR 30:752 (April 2004), amended by the 

Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:920 (April 2005), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 

32:604 (April 2006), LR 33:641 (April 2007), LR 34:867 (May 

2008) 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM 

Executive Counsel 
0805#078 

 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School,  

District, and State Accountability System 

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.703, 3501-3507, and 4310) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education has amended Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System (LAC Part Number 

LXXXIII). Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session 

called for the development of an Accountability System for 

the purpose of implementing fundamental changes in 

classroom teaching by helping schools and communities 

focus on improved student achievement. The State's 

Accountability System is an evolving system with different 

components that are required to change in response to state 

and federal laws and regulations. 

The changes to Bulletin 111 §703 and §4310 clarify how 

calculations are rounded off for students who may achieve 

proficiency on alternate assessments. The changes in §§3501, 

3503, 3505, and 3507 eliminate references to defunct tests, 

change the wording for "routing" options available to 

schools, and limit the number of times to three that 

assessment results for GED/Skills Options students may be 

included in accountability calculations. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part.  LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School,  

District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 7. Subgroup Componet 

§703. Inclusion of Students in the Subgroup 

Component 

A. - C.1.b.ii. … 

c. Beginning in Fall 2007, districts that exceed the  

2 percent cap may do so without penalty if the sum of LAA1 

and LAA2 students labeled proficient does not exceed  

3 percent of all students tested within the district. 
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d. When calculating the 1 percent, 2 percent, and  

3 percent caps for alternate assessment purposes, all decimals 

in results shall be rounded to the next highest whole number. 

 i. 1.0 percent of 628 students is 6.28 students. 

The 1.0 percent cap, in this instance, is 7 students. 

C.2. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2743 (December 

2003), amended LR 30:1619 (August 2004), repromulgated LR 

30:1996 (September 2004), amended LR 30:2256 (October 2004), 

amended LR 30:2445 (November 2004), LR 31:912  (April 2005), 

LR 31:2762 (November 2005), LR 33:253 (February 2007), LR 

34:867 (May 2008). 

Chapter 35. Inclusion of Alternative Education 

Students 

§3501. Routing Choices 

A. Each superintendent, in conjunction with the 

alternative school director, shall choose from one of two 

routing options for including assessment results in the 

Louisiana Accountability System for the system's alternative 

education schools. 

B. … 

1. For those LEAs providing educational services 

directly to students in these programs/facilities, the LEA 

must designate the program/facility as a routing or non-

routing alternative school, and the students' assessment, 

dropout/exit and attendance data shall be included in the 

LEA's data for district accountability purposes. 

2. … 

a. If an LEA does satisfy its educational obligations 

by contract, the program/facility shall be designated as a non-

routing alternative school and will receive its own SPS.  

b. The data for these students shall not be included 

in the local school district's data for district accountability 

purposes.  

c. The assessment, dropout/exit and attendance 

results for these students shall be included in a "R.S. 

17:100.1 school district" for accountability purposes. The 

department shall have the discretion to create multiple "R.S. 

17:100.1 school districts" so that the accountability data 

accurately reflects the operation of the various 

programs/facilities.  

C. GED/Skills Option students' iLEAP, LAA 1, and LAA 

2 assessment results shall be included in accountability no 

more than three times. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2753 (December 

2003), amended 31:423 (February 2005), LR 34:868 (May 2008). 

§3503. Routing Schools  

A. The assessment results, and beginning in 2008 with 

the Baseline SPS, the dropout, and graduation data for every 

alternative education student at a routing alternative school 

shall be returned to ("sent back") and included in the home-

based school's and district's accountability calculations for 

both the SPS and subgroup components. The alternative 

school itself shall receive a "diagnostic" SPS, not to be used 

for rewards or corrective actions, if a statistically valid 

number of students were enrolled in the school at the time of 

testing 

B. Students included in the GED/Skills Option program 

will be included in school accountability. They will be 

required to take the 9th grade iLEAP exams or participate in 

LEAP Alternate Assessment Level 1 or Level 2 (LAA 1 or 2) 

while enrolled. All programs will be considered routing for 

alternative education purposes, and student test score data, 

and beginning in 2008 with the Baseline SPS, dropout, and 

graduation data will be sent back to the sending high schools 

and districts for accountability purposes.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2753 (December 

2003), amended LR 30:2446 (November 2004), LR 32:1028 (June 

2006), LR 33:2600 (December 2007), LR 34:868 (May 2008). 

§3505. Non-Routing Schools 

A. … 

B. In order to be eligible for non-routing status, an 

alternative school shall meet all of the following 

requirements: 

1. - 2. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2753 (December 

2003), LR 34:868 (May 2008). 

§3507. Option Considerations 

A. Once routing status is selected for an alternative 

school, it shall retain that status for at least 10 years. An 

appeal to the SBESE may be made to change the status prior 

to the end of 10 years if a school's purpose and/or student 

eligibility changes. 

B. All students pursuing a regular high school diploma, 

working in curricula developed from Louisiana Content 

Standards, shall be included in the state-testing program, 

with those scores included in an SPS, and the subgroup 

component. 

B.1. - C. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2753 (December 

2003), amended LR 33:2600 (December 2007), LR 34:868 (May 

2008). 

§4310. Subgroup Component AYP (Adequate Yearly 

Progress) 

A. - B.3.d.i. …  

e. LEP students shall participate in the statewide 

assessments. 

 i. Scores shall not be included in AMO or 

improvement in percent proficient calculations for LEP 

students who have not been enrolled in an English-speaking 

school for one full school year. 

f. When calculating the 1 percent, 2 percent, and 3 

percent caps for alternate assessment purposes, all decimals 

in results shall be rounded to the next highest whole number. 

 i. 1.0 percent of 1341 students is 13.41 students. 

The 1.0 percent cap, in this instance, is 14 students. 

B.4. - E.2.b.NOTE … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:1447 (July 2004), 

amended LR 30:2446 (November 2004), LR 31:424 (February 

2005), LR 31:633 (March 2005), LR 31:913 (April 2005), LR 

32:1029 (June 2006), amended LR 33:635 (April 2007), LR 34:868 

(May 2008). 

Weegie Peabody 

Executive Director 
0805#006 

 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification  

of School Personnel—Cooperative Education 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.657) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of School Personnel: 

§657.Cooperative Education. This revision will expand the 

option of having certification endorsements added to valid 

standard Louisiana certificates in the areas of Cooperative 

Office Education (COE), Cooperative Agriculture Education 

(CAE), Cooperative Marketing Education (CME), 

Cooperative Family/Consumer Sciences (CFCS), and 

Cooperative Technology Education (CTE). In addition, 

Career and Technical Industrial Education (CTTIE) teachers 

will be eligible to add-on Trade and Industrial Cooperative 

Education (TICE) or Cooperative Health Occupations (CHO) 

to their valid Louisiana CTTIE certificates. Previously 

teachers were only able to add Cooperative Office Education 

to Business Education certificates. This will allow teachers to 

add cooperative education in the area of their teaching 

assignment. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certification 

Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 

§657. Cooperative Education 

A. Cooperative education eligibility requirements for 

certification in Cooperative Agriculture Education (CAE), 

Cooperative Office Education (COE), Cooperative 

Marketing Education (CME), Cooperative Family and 

Consumer Sciences (CFCS), or Cooperative Technology 

Education (CTE): 

1. hold a valid Louisiana teaching certificate in the 

area of Business, Agriculture, Marketing, Family and 

Consumer Science or Technology Education; 

2. have a minimum of one year of teaching experience 

in Business, Agriculture, Marketing Family and Consumer 

Science or Technology Education; 

3. have completed six semester hours, to include 

Principles and/or Philosophy of Vocational Education and 

Cooperative Education Methods (Method and/or Techniques 

of Teaching Cooperative Education); 

4. have a minimum of 1,500 hours of employment in 

program occupations approved by the Family, Career and 

Technical Education, Career and Technical Education 

Section, Louisiana Department of Education or a minimum 

of 120 hours in a supervised field practicum in the area of 

occupational certification, offered by a regionally accredited 

post secondary institution, or other requirements as specified 

by the industry.  

B. Cooperative Education eligibility requirements for 

Trade and Industrial Cooperative Education (TICE ) and 

Cooperative Health Occupations (CHO) for teachers holding 

CTTIE certificates:  

1. hold a valid Louisiana CTTIE teaching certificate in 

the area of the CTTIE certification area; 

2. have a minimum of one year teaching experience in 

the CTTIE certification area; 

3. have completed six semester hours, to include 

Principles and/or Philosophy of Career and Technical 

Education and Cooperative Education Methods (Method 

and/or Techniques of Teaching Cooperative Education); 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 

R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006), 

amended LR 34:869 (May 2008). 

 

Weegie Peabody 

Executive Director 
0805#007 

 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Pick N (LAC 35:XIII.Chapter 116) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission has amended 

LAC 35:XIII.116 "Pick Four," to revise all Sections of the 

existing "Pick Four" Rule to include "Pick N" wagering. 

Title 35 

HORSE RACING 

Part XIII.  Wagering  

Chapter 116. Pick N 

§11601. Description; Selection; Principle 

A. The Pick N is a form of pari-mutuel wagering where 

N is a varying number of races. Bettors select the first horse 

in each of N consecutive races designated as the Pick N by 

the permit holder. The principle of a Pick N is in effect a 

contract by the purchaser of a Pick N ticket to select the 

winners of each of the N races designated as the Pick N. The 

sale of Pick N tickets other than from pari-mutuel machines 

shall be deemed illegal and is prohibited. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1014 (May 2002), amended LR 34:869 (May 2008). 

§11603. Wagering Pool 

A. The Pick N pool shall be held entirely separate from 

all other pools and is no part of a daily double, exacta, 

trifecta, quinella, or any other wagering pool. The Pick N 

pool is a pool wherein the bettor is required to select N 

consecutive winning horses and is not a parlay. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1014 (May 2002), amended LR 34:869 (May 2008). 

§11605. Denominations  

A. Pick N tickets shall be sold in not less than 

denominations approved by commission. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission LR 

28:1014 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11607. Approval; Notation 

A. Races in which Pick N pools are conducted shall be 

approved by the commission and clearly designated in the 

program, and Pick N tickets will be clearly marked as "Pick 

N" tickets. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1014 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11609. Procedure 

A. After the wagering closes for the first race of the N 

designated "Pick N" races, the commission will be deducted 

from the pari-mutuel pool in accordance with Louisiana law. 

The remaining net pool, subject to distribution among 

winning ticket holders shall be distributed among the holders 

of tickets which correctly designate the winner in each of the 

N races comprising the Pick N and the aggregate number of 

winning tickets shall be divided into the net pool and be paid 

the same payoff price. 

1. In the event no ticket is sold combining winners of 

all the races comprising the Pick N, the holders of tickets 

which correctly designate the most official winners, but less 

than N, in each of the N races comprising the Pick N shall be 

deemed winning ticket holders, and the aggregate number of 

winning tickets shall be divided into the net pool and be paid 

the same payoff price. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1014 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11611. No Winning Ticket 

A. In the event no winning ticket is sold that would 

require the distribution of the Pick N pool as mentioned in 

§11609, the association shall make a complete refund of the 

Pick N pool. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11613. Cancelled Races 

A. If for any reason one or more of the races comprising 

the Pick N is/are cancelled or declared "no race," the net pool 

shall be distributed as provided in §11609. 

B. In the event the Pick N pool is opened and wagers 

accepted, and all N races comprising the Pick N are 

cancelled for any reason, the association shall make a 

complete refund of the Pick N pool.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11615. Dead Heats 

A. In the event of a dead heat for win between two or 

more horses in any Pick N race, all such horses in the dead 

heat for win shall be considered as wining horses in the race 

for the purpose of calculating the pool. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11617. Closing Time; Disclosure 

A. No pari-mutuel ticket for the Pick N pool shall be 

sold, exchanged or cancelled after the time of the closing of 

wagering in the first of the N races comprising the Pick N 

except for such refunds on Pick N tickets as required by this 

regulation, and no person shall disclose the number of tickets 

sold in the Pick N pool or the number or amount of tickets 

selecting winners of Pick N races until such time as the 

stewards have determined the last race comprising the Pick N 

to be official. At the conclusion of the race immediately prior 

to the last race of the Pick N, the association may display 

potential distributions to ticket holders depending upon the 

outcome of the last race of the Pick N. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11619. Entry or Field 

A. Those horses constituting an entry or a field as defined 

within the rules of racing shall race in any Pick N race as a 

single wagering interest for the purpose of the Pick N pari-

mutuel pool calculations and payouts to the public. A scratch 

after wagering has begun of any part of an entry or field 

selection in such race shall have no effect with respect to the 

status of such entry and/or field as a viable wagering interest. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11621. Scratches and Non-Starters 

A. At anytime after wagering begins on the Pick N pool 

should a horse, entire betting entry or field be scratched, 

excused or declared a non-starter in any Pick N race, no 

further tickets selecting such horse, betting entry or field 

shall be issued, and wagers upon such horse, betting entry or 

field, for purposes of the Pick N pool shall be deemed wagers 

upon the horse, betting entry or field upon which the most 

money has been wagered in the win pool at the close of win 

pool betting for such race. In the event of a money tie in the 

win pool, the tied horse, betting entry or field with the lowest 

running number, as designated by the official racing 

program, shall be designated as the favorite for substitution 

purposes. For the purpose of this Section, when horses are 

prevented from starting by any malfunction of the starting 

gate itself they shall be considered as having been excused 

by the stewards. After close of betting, there shall be no 

refund, except as provided in §11611 or §11613. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:870 (May 2008). 

§11623. Display 

A. These rules shall be prominently displayed in the 

betting area of the association conducting the Pick N. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:871 (May 2008). 

§11625. Unforeseen Circumstances 

A. Should circumstances occur which are not foreseen in 

these rules, questions arising thereby shall be resolved by the 

association and/or commission in accordance with general 

pari-mutuel practices. Decisions regarding distribution of the 

Pick N pools shall be final. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 

28:1015 (May 2002), amended LR 34:871 (May 2008). 

 

Charles A. Gardiner III 

Executive Director 
0805#008 

 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Office of Financial Institutions 

Louisiana Trust Company  

(LAC 10:I.1501 and 1503) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, as provided under R.S. 6:126(A), and as 

authorized by R.S. 6:576; 6:592; and 6:613, the 

Commissioner of the Office of Financial Institutions has  

promulgated a Rule to provide for the administration and 

regulatory oversight of the Louisiana Trust Company Statutes 

(R.S. 6:571, et seq.).  The Rule establishes fees and 

assessments to cover anticipated regulatory costs. 

Title 10 

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 

Part I.  Financial Institutions 

Chapter 15. Louisiana Trust Company 

§1501. General Provisions 

A. The Depository Institutions' Section of the Louisiana 

Office of Financial Institutions ("OFI") is funded entirely 

through assessments and fees levied on state-chartered 

financial institutions for services rendered. All fees detailed 

in this rule are nonrefundable and must be paid at the time 

the application is filed with this office. An applicant may 

submit a request that a reduced fee be charged for the 

simultaneous filing of similar multiple applications other 

than de novo applications. This request will not be approved 

for applications that are not expected to be consummated 

within 12 months of the filing date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:121; 6:576; 6:592; and 6:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 34:871 (May 2008). 

§1503. Fees and Assessments 

A. Pursuant to the authority granted under R.S. 6:121; 

6:576; 6:592; and 6:613, the following fee and assessment 

structure is hereby established to cover necessary costs 

associated with the administration of the Louisiana Trust 

Company Law, R.S. 6:571 et seq. 

 

Description Fee 

A. Application for a de novo public trust 

company, or the merger or 

consolidation of public trust 
companies.  

$10,000 

B. The conversion from a national or 

federally-chartered trust company to a 

state-chartered public trust company. 

$1,500 

C. Application for a Louisiana trust 
company to establish a trust office or 

trust representative office.  

Standard Form: $1,000 

Short Form: $250 

D. Application to form a de novo private 
trust company 

$5,000 

E. Application for a conversion or merger 

of a state-chartered trust company into 

a federally chartered depository 
institution or a federal trust company.  

$1,500 

F. Semi-annual assessment for each 

public trust company domiciled in 

Louisiana to be assessed no later than 
June 30th and December 31st.  

$2,500 

G. Semi-annual assessment for each 

private trust company domiciled in 
Louisiana to be assessed no later than 

June 30th and December 31st. 

$1,000 

H. Examination fee for each trust 

company domiciled in Louisiana. Fee 
per examiner. 

$50 per hour 

I. Review of a restatement and/or 

amendment to the Articles of 

Incorporation of a state-chartered 
Louisiana trust company.  

$250 

J. Application by a state-chartered trust 

company to establish or acquire a 
subsidiary. 

$500 

K. Annual certification for each private 

trust company 
$500 

L. The conversion from a private trust 

company to a public trust company.  
$5,000 

M. Examination fee for each out-of-state 

branch, administrative office, trust 

production office, or representative 
office of any trust company domiciled 

in Louisiana. 

Any fees assessed 

pursuant to this rule plus 

any amounts assessed 
by the host state 

regulator for 

participating in the 
examination of the 

Louisiana entity. 

N. Examination fee for each branch, 

administrative office, or representative 
office of any out-of-state trust 

company operating in Louisiana in the 

absence of a sharing agreement 
between OFI and the host state that 

establishes fees for examinations and 

other administrative cost. This fee 
shall be billed to the primary regulator 

of the out-of-state entity being 

examined, and due upon receipt of the 
OFI invoice. 

$50/hour per examiner 

plus the actual expenses 
incurred by this office to 

conduct or assist in 

conducting such 
examinations. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:121; 6:576; 6:592; and 6:613. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 34:871 (May 2008). 

 

John Ducrest, CPA 

Commissioner 
0805#027 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Board of Optometry Examiners 

Optometry Regulations (LAC 46:LI.107 and 503) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the Louisiana State Board of 

Optometry Examiners, pursuant to authority vested in the 

Louisiana State Board of Optometry Examiners by the 

Optometry Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041-1068, has amended 

Title 46, Part LI by promulgating the following amendments 

to the Sections set forth below.  

The Louisiana State Board of Optometry Examiners 

amended Sections 107 and 503, Title 46, Part LI of the 

Louisiana Administrative Code by adoption of the following 

amended Sections.  

A preamble which explains the basis and rationale for the 

intended action, and summarizing the information and data 

supporting the intended action has not been prepared. A 

description of the subjects and issues involved is as follows:  

Section 107(B)(3) strikes "or", "applied" and "or oral 

antibiotic, and oral antihistamines" and adds "or other form", 

"used", and "or orally" within the definition of Diagnostic 

and Therapeutic Agent in order to conform the Rule to Act 

66 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 

which changed the definition. 

Section 107(B)(3) strikes "including contact lenses" and 

adds "including plano and zero power contact lenses" and 

",or for orthotic or prosthetic purposes, or cosmetic purposes 

with respect to the adaption of contact lenses" within the 

definition of Optometry in order to conform the Rule to Act 

596 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 

which changed the definition.  

Section 107(B)(3) strikes "incision and" and adds "and its 

adnexa" and ", provided, however, no optometrist shall carry 

out any such procedures referenced in this Paragraph unless 

certified by the board to treat those abnormal conditions and 

pathology of the human eye and its adnexa" within Clause iii 

of the definition of Optometry in order to conform the Rule 

to Act 596 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature which changed the definition.  

Section 503(G)(1) strikes "or oral antibiotics, or oral 

antihistamines" and adds, "or other form" and "when used 

topically or orally" and "diagnosis," within the definition of 

Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents in order to conform the 

Rule to Act 66 of the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature which changed the definition.  

The Rule is adopted in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LI.  Optometrists 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§107. Organization of the Board 

A. Introduction. See the provision of the Act relative to 

the organization of the board, in particular, R.S. 37:1041-

1048. 

B. Definitions 

1. As used in this Chapter, the following terms have 

the meaning ascribed to them in this Section, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

2. Masculine terms shall include the feminine and, 

when the context requires, shall include partnership and/or 

professional corporations. 

3. Where the context requires, singular shall include 

the plural or plural shall include the singular. 

Act—the Optometry Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041 et seq. 

Board—the Louisiana State Board of Optometry 

Examiners. 

Diagnostic and Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent—

any chemical in solution, suspension, emulsion,ointment 

base, or other form when used topically or orally that has the 

property of assisting in the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, 

or mitigation of abnormal conditions and pathology of the 

human eye and its adnexa, or those which may be used for 

such purposes, and certain approved narcotics, only when 

used in treatment of disorders or diseases of the eye and its 

adnexa. Licensed pharmacists of this state shall fill 

prescriptions for such pharmaceutical agents of licensed 

optometrists certified by the board to use such 

pharmaceutical agents.  

 i. Any diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical 

agent as defined above listed in Schedules III, IV and V of 

the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Law shall be 

limited to use or to be prescribed by a licensed optometrist 

for a maximum of 48 hours when used in treatment or 

disorders or diseases of the eye and its adnexa.  

 ii. Diagnostic and therapeutic pharmaceutical 

agent shall not include any drug or other substances listed in 

Schedules I and II of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous 

Substances Law provided in R.S. 40:963 and 964 which shall 

be prohibited from use by a licensed optometrist. 

 iii. A licenced optometrist may prescribe one 

additional 48 hour prescription only if warranted by a follow-

up exam.  

Licensed Optometrist—a person licensed and holding 

a certificate issued under the provisions of the act. 

Optometry—that practice in which a person employs 

primary eye care procedures or applies any means other than 

ophthalmic surgery for the measurement of the power and 

testing the range of vision of the human eye, and determines 

its accommodative and, refractive state, general scope of 

function, and the adaptation of frames and lenses, in all their 

phases, including plano and zero power contact lenses, to 

overcome errors of refraction and restore as near as possible 

normal human vision, or for orthotic or prosthetic purposes,
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or cosmetic purposes with respect to the adaption of contact 

lenses. Optometry also includes the examination and 

diagnosis, and treatment, other than by ophthalmic surgery, 

of abnormal conditions and pathology of the human eye and 

its adnexa, including the use and prescription of diagnostic 

and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents. Optometrists shall 

issue prescriptions, directions and orders regarding 

medications and treatments which may be carried out by 

other health care personnel including optometrists, 

physicians, dentists, osteopaths, pharmacists, nurses, and 

others. 

 i. Ophthalmic Surgery—a procedure upon the 

human eye or its adnexa in which in vivo human tissue is 

injected, cut, burned, frozen, sutured, vaporized, coagulated, 

or photodisrupted by the use of surgical instrumentation such 

as, but not limited to, a scalpel, cryoprobe, laser, electric 

cautery, or ionizing radiation. Nothing in this Optometry 

Practice Act shall limit an optometrist's ability to use 

diagnostic instruments utilizing laser or ultrasound 

technology in the performance of primary eye care. Only 

persons licensed to practice medicine by the Louisiana State 

Board of Medical Examiners under the laws of this state may 

perform ophthalmic surgery.  

 ii. Nothing in the Optometry Practice Act shall 

prohibit the dilation and irrigation of lacrimal ducts, insertion 

and removal of lacrimal plugs, foreign body removal from 

superficial ocular tissue, suture removal, removal of 

eyelashes, drainage of superficial lesions of the eye and its 

adnexa, or corneal shaping with external ophthalmic devices 

such as contact lenses by optometrists, provided, however, no 

optometrist shall carry out any such procedures referenced in 

this Paragraph unless certified by the board to treat those 

abnormal conditions and pathology of the human eye and its 

adnexa. 

C. Purpose. The purpose of the board is to regulate the 

practice of optometry in Louisiana and to carry out the 

purposes and enforce the provision of the law of Louisiana 

relating thereto. The laws of Louisiana relating to the 

practice of optometry are set forth, in part, in the Optometry 

Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041 et seq. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:629 

(April 2006), amended LR 34:872 (May 2008). 

Chapter 5. Practicing Optometry 

§503. License to Practice Optometry 

A. - F.5. … 

G. Certification to Use Diagnostic and Therapeutic Drugs 

and to Treat Ocular Pathology. An optometrist may be 

certified to use ocular diagnostic and therapeutic 

pharmaceutical agents and to diagnose and treat ocular 

pathology. In order to obtain such certification, an 

optometrist shall comply with the following requirements. 

1. Certification to Use Diagnostic Drugs 

a. In order to be approved as an optometrist 

authorized to use diagnostic drugs, as set forth in Act 123 of 

the 1975 Session of the Louisiana Legislature, an optometrist 

shall present to the secretary of the Louisiana

State Board of Optometry Examiners for approval by the 

board, the following: 

 i. evidence that the applicant is a licensed 

Louisiana optometrist, holding a current license in 

compliance with all license and renewal requirements of the 

Louisiana Optometry Practice Act for the year in which he 

applies for certification; 

 ii. transcript credits, in writing, evidencing that the 

applicant has completed a minimum of five university 

semester hours in pharmacology from an accredited 

university or college of optometry, subsequent to December 

31, 1971. The pharmacology hours shall consist of a 

minimum of two hours in general pharmacology and a 

minimum of three hours in ocular pharmacology. 

b. Upon submission of the above, the secretary shall 

present same to the board for approval at the next regular 

meeting. Upon approval by the board, the secretary shall 

cause to be issued to the optometrist a certificate indicating 

compliance with the legislative requirement and intent. 

c. The certificate issued by the secretary shall be 

over the secretary's signature and bear a number identical to 

the number on the license originally issued by the board to 

the optometrist. 

2. Certification to Treat Pathology and to Use and 

Prescribe Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents.  

a. Definitions. For purposes of this Paragraph 2 the 

following definitions shall apply: 

  Application Date—the date the board receives 

in its office by certified mail an application for certification 

under this Paragraph 2. 

  Approved Educational Institution—an 

educational institution providing education in optometry that 

is approved by the board and is accredited by a regional or 

professional accrediting organization which is recognized or 

approved by the Council of Post-Secondary Accreditation of 

the United States Department of Education. 

  Board—the Louisiana State Board of 

Optometry Examiners. 

  Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents—any 

chemical in solution, suspension, emulsion, ointment base, or 

other form that when used topically or orally has the property 

of assisting in the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, or 

mitigation of abnormal conditions and pathology of the 

human eye and its adnexa, or those which may be used for 

such purposes, and certain approved narcotics when used in 

the treatment of disorders or diseases of the eye and its 

adnexa. 

* * * 

G.2.b. - H.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1048. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Optometry Examiners, LR 32:632 

(April 2006), amended LR 34:873 (May 2008). 

 

James D. Sanderfur, O.D. 

Secretary 
0805#009 

 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 34, No. 05   May 20, 2008 874 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Board of Practical Nurse Examiners 

Approved Fees 

(LAC 46:XLVII.1715) 

The Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, in accordance 

with R.S. 37:961-979 and with the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby amends LAC 

46:XLVII.1715.Approved Fees. The change will increase 

certain fees collected by the board and is needed to allow the 

board to continue to operate. Fees were last increased in 

1999. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XLVII. Nurses 

Subpart 1.  Practical Nurses 

Chapter 17. Licensure 

§1715. Approved Fees 

A. Fees 

1. License by examination $100 

2. License by endorsement $  50 

3. Duplicate license $  30 

4. Renewal of license $  50 

5. Reinstatement of license which 

has been suspended, revoked or 

which has lapsed by nonrenewal $150 

6. Duplicate renewal $  20 

7. Delinquency fee in addition to 

renewal fee for nursing license 

(per year delinquent) $  70 

8. Survey fee $500 

9. Renewal of certificate of 

accreditation $200 

10. Evaluation of credits of applicants 

for admission to approved 

program $  50 

11. Evaluation of credits of out-of-

state applicants for Louisiana 

practical nurse license $  50 

12. Verification of Louisiana license 

to out-of-state board $  30 

13. Certification of good-stand license $    5 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:969 and 37:977 as amended Act 272, 1982 and Act 54, 1991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 

LR 3:200 (April 1977), amended LR 10:342 (April 1984), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical 

Nurse Examiners LR 18:1130 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 

18:1263 (November 1992), amended LR 26:2618 (November 

2000), LR 34:874 (May 2008). 

 

Claire Doody Glaviano 

Executive Director 
0805#002 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors 

License Procedure 

(LAC 46:XCI.103, 301, 309, and 311) 

The Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors has 

amended LAC 46:XCI.103, 301, 309, and 311 in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 37:3467 et seq., of the 

Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors Practice 

Act. These Rule amendments will assist and support the 

board in its ability to license and regulate entities in the 

wholesale distribution of legend drugs and medical devices 

in/within the state.  

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATION STANDARDS 

Part XCI.  Wholesale Drug Distributors 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§103. Definition 

A. As used in this regulation, unless the context 

otherwise requires: 

* * * 

Applicant or Responsible Party—an individual 

designated by the applying or licensed entity as the person 

responsible for facility operations and/or licensing for the 

applying or licensed facility location. 

* * * 

Drug or Device—any legend drug or legend device 

intended for use by humans which can be dispensed by 

prescription or order of a licensed practitioner and whose 

labeling contains the legend "Caution: Federal law prohibits 

dispensing without a prescription." or "Caution: Federal law 

restricts this device to sale by or on the order of a (licensed 

healthcare practitioner)." or "Rx only." 

* * * 

Legend Drug— 

a. a drug limited by Section 503(b)(1) of the federal 

Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act to being dispensed by or upon 

a licensed practitioner's prescription because the drug is: 

 i. habit-forming; 

 ii. toxic or having potential for harm; 

 iii. limited in its use to use under a practitioner's 

supervision by the new drug application for the drug. 

b. The product label of a legend drug is required to 

contain the statement "Rx Only" or "CAUTION: FEDERAL 

LAW PROHIBITS DISPENSING WITHOUT A PRESCRIPTION". 

c. ... 

* * * 

Medical Gas—any pure gas or gas mixture packaged as 

any liquefied (cryogenic) or compressed gas (vaporized) that 

is designated as a drug product. 

* * * 

Off-Site Storage Facility—a structure, warehouse, or 

building used by a licensed wholesale drug or device 

distributor strictly for storage of legend drugs or devices. 

* * * 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 

18:381 (April 1992), amended LR 29:1479 (August 2003), LR 

32:394 (March 2006), LR 34:874 (May 2008). 

Chapter 3. Wholesale Drug or Device Distributors 

§301. Licensing, Renewal and Reinstatement 

Requirements 

A. Every wholesale drug or device distributor who 

engages in the wholesale distribution of drugs or devices, to 

include without limitation, manufacturing in this state, 

shipping in or into this state or selling or offering to sell in or 

into this state, shall register annually with the board by 

application for a license on a form furnished by the board 

and accompanied by the license fee. 

1. The board shall require a separate license for each 

facility or physical location directly or indirectly owned or 

operated by the same business entity or for a parent entity 

with divisions, subdivisions, subsidiaries, and/or affiliate 

companies when operations are conducted at more than one 

location and there exists joint ownership and control among 

all the entities. 

2. Parent entity must license all divisions, 

subdivisions, subsidiaries, and/or affiliate companies owned 

by the parent company that sell and/or ship legend drugs or 

devices in or into Louisiana. 

B. - C. … 

D. Each application for the renewal of the license must be 

made on or before December 31 of each year. 

1. If a license is not timely and properly renewed on or 

before the December 31 expiration date, a person may apply 

for reinstatement of the expired license within one year, or by 

the next December 31 after expiration of the license, upon 

timely and properly submitting an application to the board, 

and other pertinent information which may be requested, as 

well as payment of the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee. 

2. During the period the license is expired until 

reinstatement of the expired license, the person may not 

lawfully operate as a wholesale drug or device distributor in 

Louisiana. 

3. If a license is expired beyond one year, a person 

may apply for reinstatement of the expired license by 

submitting an application to the board, along with any 

pertinent information and documents which may be required, 

as well as payment of the application fee and the 

reinstatement fee. 

E. - I.1. … 

J. If a licensed in-state wholesale drug or device 

distributor has an additional off-site storage facility, the off-

site storage facility may operate under the current wholesale 

drug or device distribution license held by the licensee as 

long as the off-site storage facility is in compliance with 

§309A.1 of these regulations and has temperature monitoring 

and an alarm system and the off-site storage facility does not 

physically receive or distribute legend drugs or devices from 

its location. 

K. A license shall not be issued by the board for any 

wholesale drug or device distributor to operate from or out of 

a dwelling, building, or property zoned as residential. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 

18:382 (April 1992), amended LR 29:1479 (August 2003), LR 

32:396 (March 2006), LR 34:875 (May 2008). 

§309. Storage and Handling Requirements 

A. - A.3.a. … 

b. Appropriate electromechanical or electronic 

temperature recording equipment, devices, and logs approved 

by the board shall be utilized to document proper storage of 

drugs or devices. Spring-loaded or mercury driven 

temperature monitoring devices are not approved by the 

board for use in monitoring and recording product 

temperature. 

3.c - 5.d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 18:382 

(April 1992), amended LR 29:1480 (August 2003), LR 32:398 

(March 2006), LR 34:875 (May 2008). 

§311. Drug or Device Distribution Recordkeeping 

A. - C. … 

D. Copies of current licenses for customers who are 

authorized by law or regulation to procure or possess drugs 

or devices shall be maintained for all customers that are 

shipped or sold drugs or devices. If customer licenses are 

maintained off site, a list of customer names, addresses, 

license numbers, and license expiration dates shall be 

maintained at the licensed distribution location for all 

customers that are shipped or sold drugs or devices. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 18:383 

(April 1992), amended LR 29:1480 (August 2003), LR 32:399 

(March 2006), LR 34:875 (May 2008). 

 

Kimberly B. Barbier 

Executive Assistant 
0805#021 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services―Non-Rural, Non-State 

Hospitals―Children's Specialty Hospitals Psychiatric Units 

(LAC 50:V.911) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:V.911 in the Medical Assistance Program as
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authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural Private Hospitals 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§911. Children's Specialty Hospitals Psychiatric Units 

A. A psychiatric sub-provider unit in a Medicare 

Prospective Payment System (PPS) exempt children's 

specialty hospital may enroll in the Medicaid Program. The 

hospital must submit an attestation to the department that the 

unit meets the PPS exempt criteria outlined in 42 CFR 

412.25 [except 412.25(a)(1)(ii)]. Enrollment of the new unit 

will be effective upon verification of the hospital's attestation 

by the department.  

B. Changes in the number of beds in existing units may 

only be made at the start of the hospital's cost reporting 

period. The hospital must notify the department of changes in 

bed size at least 90 days prior to the end of the hospital's cost 

reporting period. Qualifying Medicaid services provided in 

these approved units shall be subjected to the existing pre-

admission certification requirements for children and 

adolescents in distinct part psychiatric/substance abuse units 

in acute care general hospitals. 

C. Reimbursement for services will be the inpatient 

psychiatric prospective per diem rate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008). 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#045 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services—Non-Rural, Non-State 

Hospitals—Reimbursement Rate Increase 

(LAC 50:V.953-959) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:V.953-959 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural private (non-

state) acute care hospitals for inpatient services shall be 

increased by 4.75 percent of the rate on file for August 31, 

2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008). 

§955. Long Term Hospitals 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

prospective per diem rate paid to long term hospitals for 

inpatient services shall be increased by 4.75 percent of the 

rate on file for August 31, 2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008). 

§957. Hospital Intensive Neurological Rehabilitation 

Units 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

prospective per diem rate paid to hospital intensive 

neurological rehabilitation care units shall be increased by 

4.75 percent of the rate on file for August 31, 2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008). 

§959. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

prospective per diem rate paid to private free-standing 

psychiatric hospitals and distinct part psychiatric units shall 

be increased by 4.75 percent of the rate on file for August 31, 

2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008). 

 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#043 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services―Non-Rural, Non-State 

Hospitals—Supplemental Payments  

(LAC 50:V.901, 953 and 1331) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:V.901, 953 and 1331 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with provisions of the Administrative Procedure 

Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§901. Definitions 

Non-Rural, Non-State Hospital—a hospital which is 

either owned and operated by a private entity, a hospital 

service district or a parish and does not meet the definition of 

a rural hospital as set forth in R.S. 40:1300.143(3)(a). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008). 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-state acute 

care hospitals for inpatient services shall be increased by 

4.75 percent of the rate on file for August 31, 2007. 

B. Effective for dates of services on or after October 1, 

2007, a quarterly supplemental payment will be issued to 

non-rural, non-state acute care hospitals that qualify as a high 

Medicaid hospital. 

1. Qualifying Criteria. A hospital is considered to be a 

"high Medicaid hospital" if it has a Medicaid inpatient 

utilization percentage greater than 30 percent based on the 12 

month cost report period ending in SFY 2006. For the 

purposes of calculating the Medicaid inpatient utilization 

percentage, Medicaid days shall include nursery and distinct 

part psychiatric unit days, but shall not include Medicare 

crossover days. 

2. Each eligible hospital will receive a quarterly 

supplemental payment which shall be calculated based on the 

pro rata share of each qualifying hospital's paid Medicaid 

days (including covered nursery and distinct part psychiatric 

unit days) for dates of service in SFY 2007 to the total 

Medicaid days of all eligible hospitals multiplied by

$5,000,000 which is the amount appropriated for these 

supplemental payments. 

3. Rehabilitation hospitals, long term acute care 

hospitals and free-standing psychiatric hospitals are not 

eligible for this supplemental payment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008). 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of services on or after October 1, 

2007, a quarterly supplemental payment will be issued to 

non-rural, non-state acute care hospitals that furnish 

additional graduate medical education (GME) services. 

B. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 

supplemental payment, an acute care hospital must meet the 

following criteria. The hospital must: 

1. be a non-rural, non-state hospital; 

2. have a documented affiliation agreement with a 

Louisiana medical school accredited by the Liaison 

Committee on Medical Education (LCME); 

3. have greater than five additional intern and resident 

full time equivalencies (FTEs) in SFY 2007 and the first six 

months of 2008 as compared to the pre-Hurricane Katrina 

period of SFY 2005; 

a. these additional intern and residency FTEs must 

directly result from the graduate medical education (GME) 

programs that were formerly taught at the Medical Center of 

Louisiana at New Orleans (MCLNO) and the suspension of 

training at MCLNO due to the impact of Hurricane Katrina; 

and 

4. reimburse the medical school for the direct GME 

costs. Direct GME costs are defined as the costs of the 

residents' salaries and the faculty and administrative costs 

from the medical school. 

C. Each qualifying hospital shall be paid their pro rata 

share of the $5,000,000 supplemental GME payment pool 

based on their weighted Medicaid days. Paid Medicaid days 

(including newborn days included with the mother's stay) for 

dates of service in SFY 2007 shall be weighted using the 

following factor(s) as applicable: 

1. 1.0―if the qualifying hospital has average 

additional resident FTEs of greater than 5, but less than or 

equal to 10; or 

2. 1.5―if the qualifying hospital has average 

additional resident FTEs of equal to or greater than 10, but 

less than or equal to 20; or 

3. 2.0―if the qualifying hospital has an average 

additional resident FTEs of equal to or greater than 20; and 

4. 1.5―if the qualifying hospital's cost is at least 20 

percent more than the current Medicaid per diem rate. 

D. Payment of one-third of $5,000,000 will be made at 

the beginning of each calendar quarter in SFY 2007 

beginning with October 2007. 
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E. Rehabilitation hospitals, long term acute care hospitals 

and free-standing psychiatric hospitals are not eligible for 

this supplemental payment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  

R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#044 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility―Disability Medicaid Program 

(LAC 50:III.2305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:III.2305 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 

Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Medicaid 

Programs 

§2305. Disability Medicaid Program 

A. The Disability Medicaid Program provides Medicaid-

only coverage to individuals who are aged or have a 

disability, and who meet income and resource requirements 

for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) cash assistance. 

B. Individuals receiving services in the Disability 

Medicaid Program will be included as an optional coverage 

group under the Medicaid state plan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008) 

 
Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#046 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program—Emergency and Non-

Emergency Ambulance Services—Reimbursement Rate 

Increase (LAC 50:XXVII.325, 571, and 573) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:XXVII.325, 571, and 573 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part.  XXVII. Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 3. Emergency Medical Transportation 

Subchapter B. Ground Transportation 

§325. Reimbursement 

A. The Medicaid reimbursement for land-based 

ambulance services is the rate established in the state fee 

schedule (based on Medicare rates) for emergency 

ambulance transport, basic life support, advanced life support 

and mileage, oxygen, intravenous fluids, and disposable 

supplies administered during the emergency ambulance 

transport minus the amount paid by any liable third party 

coverage. 

B. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2006, the 

base rate for emergency ambulance transportation services is 

increased by 5 percent of the rates in effect on August 31, 

2006. 

C. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2006, the 

ground mileage reimbursement rate for emergency 

ambulance transportation services is increased by 17 percent 

of the rates in effect on August 31, 2006. 

D. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

ground mileage reimbursement rate for emergency 

ambulance transportation services in effect on August 31, 

2007 is increased by $2.50. 

E. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

ancillary services rate for emergency ambulance 

transportation services is increased by 70 percent of the rate 

in effect on August 31, 2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008). 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

Subchapter D. Reimbursement 

§571. Non-Emergency Ambulance Transportation 

A. Reimbursement for non-emergency ambulance 

transportation claims shall be allowed only when 

accompanied by the medical certification form justifying the 

need for ambulance services. 
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B. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

ground mileage reimbursement rate in effect on August 31, 

2007 for non-emergency ambulance transportation services is 

increased by $2.50. 

C. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2007, the 

ancillary services rate for non-emergency ambulance 

transportation services is increased by 70 percent of the rate 

in effect on August 31, 2007. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008). 

§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 

A. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2006, the 

reimbursement rate for non-emergency, non-ambulance 

medical transportation services is increased by 5 percent of 

the rates in effect on August 31, 2006. 

B. For dates of service on or after December 1, 2006, the 

reimbursement rate for non-emergency, non-ambulance 

medical transportation services is increased by an additional 

9 percent of the rates in effect on November 30, 2006. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008). 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#047 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Evacuation and Temporary  

Sheltering Costs (LAC 50:VII.1319)  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:VII.1319 as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant 

to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE  

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 

Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities  

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 

§1319. Evacuation and Temporary Sheltering Costs 

A. Nursing facilities required to participate in an 

evacuation, as directed by the appropriate parish or state 

official, or which act as a host shelter site may be entitled to 

reimbursement of its documented and allowable evacuation 

and temporary sheltering costs. 

1. The expense incurred must be in excess of any 

existing or anticipated reimbursement from any other 

sources, including the Federal Emergency Management 

Agency (FEMA) or its successor. 

2. Nursing facilities must first apply for evacuation or 

sheltering reimbursement from all other sources and request 

that the department apply for FEMA assistance on their 

behalf. 

3. Nursing facilities must submit expense and 

reimbursement documentation directly related to the 

evacuation or temporary sheltering of Medicaid nursing 

home residents to the department. 

B. Eligible Expenses. Expenses eligible for 

reimbursement must occur as a result of an evacuation and be 

reasonable, necessary, and proper. Eligible expenses are 

subject to audit at the department's discretion and may 

include the following. 

1. Evacuation Expenses. Evacuation expenses include 

expenses from the date of evacuation to the date of arrival at 

a temporary shelter or another nursing facility. Evacuation 

expenses include: 

a. resident transportation and lodging expenses 

during travel; 

b. nursing staff expenses when accompanying 

residents, including: 

 i. transportation; 

 ii. lodging; and 

 iii. additional direct care expenses, when a direct 

care expense increase of 10 percent or more is documented: 

(a). the direct care expense increase must be 

based on a comparison to the average of the previous two 

pay periods or other period comparisons determined 

acceptable by the department; 

c. any additional allowable costs as defined in the 

CMS Publication 15-1, last modified 9/8/2005, that are 

directly related to the evacuation and that would normally be 

allowed under the nursing facility case-mix rate. 

2. Non-Nursing Facility Temporary Sheltering 

Expenses. Non-nursing facility temporary sheltering 

expenses include expenses from the date the Medicaid 

residents arrive at a non-nursing facility temporary shelter to 

the date all Medicaid residents leave the shelter. A non-

nursing facility temporary shelter includes shelters that are 

not part of a licensed nursing facility and are not billing for 

the residents under the Medicaid case-mix reimbursement 

system or any other Medicaid reimbursement system. Non-

nursing facility temporary sheltering expenses may include: 

a. additional nursing staff expenses including: 

 i. lodging; and 

 ii. additional direct care expenses, when a direct 

care expense increase of 10 percent or more is documented: 

(a). the direct care expense increase must be 

based on a comparison to the average of the previous two 

pay periods or other period comparisons determined 

acceptable by the department; 

b. care-related expenses as defined in LAC 

50:VII.1305 and incurred in excess of care-related expenses 

prior to the evacuation; 

c. additional medically necessary equipment such as 

beds and portable ventilators that are not available from the 

evacuating nursing facility and are rented or purchased 

specifically for the temporary sheltered residents, and: 

 i. these expenses will be capped at a daily rental 

fee not to exceed the total purchase price of the item; 
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 ii. the allowable daily rental fee will be 

determined by the department; 

d. any additional allowable costs as defined in the 

CMS Publication 15-1, last modified 9/8/2005, that are 

directly related to the temporary sheltering and that would 

normally be allowed under the nursing facility case-mix rate. 

3. Host Nursing Facility Temporary Sheltering 

Expenses. Host nursing facility temporary sheltering 

expenses include expenses from the date the Medicaid 

residents are admitted to a licensed nursing facility to the 

date all temporary sheltered Medicaid residents are 

discharged from the nursing facility, not to exceed a  

six-month period. 

a. The host nursing facility shall bill for the 

residents under Medicaid's case-mix reimbursement system. 

b. Additional direct care expenses may be submitted 

when a direct care expense increase of 10 percent or more is 

documented. 

 i. The direct care expense increase must be based 

on a comparison to the average of the previous two pay 

periods or other period comparisons determined acceptable 

by the department. 

C. Payment of Eligible Expenses 

1. For payment purposes, total eligible Medicaid 

expenses will be the sum of nonresident-specific eligible 

expenses multiplied by the facility's Medicaid occupancy 

percentage plus Medicaid resident-specific expenses. 

a. If Medicaid occupancy is not easily verified using 

the evacuation resident listing, the Medicaid occupancy from 

the most recently filed cost report will be used. 

2. Payments shall be made as quarterly lump-sum 

payments until all eligible expenses have been submitted and 

paid. Eligible expense documentation must be submitted to 

the department by the end of each calendar quarter. 

3. All eligible expenses documented and allowed 

under §1319 will be removed from allowable expense when 

the nursing facility's Medicaid cost report is filed. These 

expenses will not be included in the allowable cost used to 

set case-mix reimbursement rates in future years. 

a. Equipment purchases that are reimbursed on a 

rental rate under §1319.B.2c. may have their remaining basis 

included as allowable cost on future costs reports provided 

that the equipment is in the nursing facility and being used. If 

the remaining basis requires capitalization under CMS 

Publication 15-1 guidelines, last modified 9/8/2005, then 

deprecation will be recognized. 

4. Payments shall remain under the upper payment 

limit cap for nursing facilities. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008). 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#048 

 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities―Resident Personal Fund Accounts 

(LAC 48:I.9734) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has amended 

LAC 48:I.9734 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950, et seq. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH―GENERAL 

PART I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing 

Chapter 97. Nursing Homes 

Subchapter C. Resident Rights 

§9734. Resident Personal Fund Account 

A. - C. … 

D. The provisions of this Section shall have no effect on 

federal or state tax obligations or liabilities of the deceased 

resident's estate. If there are other laws or regulations which 

conflict with these provisions, those laws or regulations will 

govern over and supersede the conflicting provisions. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 33:1350 (July 2007), amended LR 34:880 

(May 2008). 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#049 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program―Antihemophilia 

Drugs Reimbursements (LAC 50:XXIX.971) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted 

LAC 50:XXIX.971 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq. 
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Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 

Chapter 9. Methods of Payment 

Subchapter F. Antihemophilia Drugs 

§971. Reimbursement 

A. Anti-hemophilia drugs purchased by a covered entity 

through the 340B Program and dispensed to Medicaid 

recipients shall be billed to Medicaid at actual acquisition 

cost plus 10 percent and the dispensing fee unless the 

covered entity has implemented the Medicaid carve-out 

option. If the covered entity has implemented the Medicaid 

carve-out option, such drugs shall be reimbursed at AWP 

minus 30 percent plus the dispensing fee or the billed 

charges, whichever is less. 

B. Anti-hemophilia drugs purchased by a non-340B 

covered entity shall be reimbursed at AWP minus 30 percent 

plus the dispensing fee or the billed charges, whichever is 

less. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:881 (May 2008). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#050 

 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Prosthetics and Orthotics―Reimbursement Rate Increase 

(LAC 50:XVII.501, 1505, 1707, 1907 and 10117) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has amended 

LAC 50:XVII.501 and repealed LAC 50:XVII.1505, 1707, 

1907 and 10117 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII.  Prosthetics and Orthotics 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 5. Reimbursement 

§501. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after September 6, 

2007, the reimbursement for prosthetic and orthotic devices 

is 90 percent of the 2007 Medicare Fee Schedule amount or 

billed charges, whichever is the lesser amount, unless 

otherwise stipulated. If an item is not available at 90 percent

of the 2007 Medicare fee schedule amount, the flat fee that 

will be utilized is the lowest cost at which the item has been 

determined to be widely available by analyzing usual and 

customary fees charged in the community. 

1. This rate does not apply to prosthetics and orthotics 

that are: 

a. already reimbursed at a higher amount than 90 

percent of the 2007 Medicare Fee Schedule; or 

b. not included on the 2007 Medicare Fee Schedule, 

such as customized items for which there is no established 

fee. These items must be individually priced. 

B. Items not listed on the Medicare Fee Schedule will 

continue to be reimbursed at the lowest cost at which the 

item has been determined to be widely available by 

analyzing usual and customary fees charged in the 

community for the HCPC procedure code. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:1597 (July 2005), amended LR 34:881 

(May 2008). 

Subpart 3.  Prosthetic Devices 

Chapter 15. Artificial Eyes, Scleral Shell, and Related 

Services 

§1505. Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:1598 (July 2005), repealed LR 34:881 

(May 2008). 

Chapter 17. Breast or Mammary Prostheses 

§1707. Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:1598 (July 2005), repealed LR 34:881 

(May 2008). 

Chapter 19. Support and Surgical Stockings 

§1907. Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:1598 (July 2005), repealed LR 34:881 

(May 2008). 

Subpart 5.  Orthotic Devices 

Chapter 101. General Provisions 

§10117. Reimbursement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 31:1599 (July 2005), repealed LR 34:881 

(May 2008). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of
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Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 
0805#051 

 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Hazardous Material Information Development  

Preparedness and Response Act 

(LAC 33:V.10111 and 10119) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 

of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 30:2361 et seq., hereby amends its rules regulating 

hazardous materials release reporting and chemical inventory 

filing to redefine the term "hospitalization", to reflect the 

current address for the Transportation and Environmental 

Safety Section of the Office of State Police, and to clarify 

release reporting requirements for the chemicals, nitrogen 

oxide and nitrogen dioxide. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections—Hazardous Materials 

Chapter 101. Hazardous Material Information 

Development, Preparedness, and 

Response Act 

§10111. Release and Incident Reporting 

A. - E.1.e. … 

f. Releases of nitrogen oxide to the air that are the 

result of combustion and combustion-related activities that 

are less than 1,000 pounds per 24 hours, and releases of 

nitrogen dioxide to the air that are the result of combustion 

and combustion-related activities that are less than 1,000 

pounds per 24 hours are not reportable. 

E.2. - G.15. … 

H. Facilities must also make follow-up written reports for 

all reportable releases and incidents within five business days 

after the release or incident has occurred. This report must be 

made to the local emergency planning committee with 

jurisdiction over a facility and to the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, TESS-Right-

to-Know Unit, P.O. Box 66168, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. 

The format for this report should be as outlined in Subsection 

G above. Any additional information not given in the initial 

telephone notification should also be included. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2361 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:329 

(May 1986), amended LR 13:186 (March 1987), LR 13:761 

(December 1987), LR 14:803 (November 1988), LR 16:975 

(November 1990), LR 27:861 (June 2001), LR 34:882 (May 2008). 

§10119. Inventory Form 

A. - B. … 

C. The "Louisiana Tier Two Emergency and Hazardous 

Chemical Inventory" form is the official inventory form for 

compliance with R.S. 30:2361-2380, Louisiana's Right-to-

Know law, and is the form selected by the Louisiana 

Emergency Response Commission for inventory reporting as 

required under Section 312 of SARA. The inventory form 

can be obtained via the Right-to-Know website at 

www.lsp.org/rtk.html or upon request to the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section P.O. Box 

66168, Baton Rouge, LA 70896. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2361 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:330 

(May 1986), amended LR 13:186 (March 1987), LR 13:762 

(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 16:975 

(November 1990), LR 27:865 (June 2001), LR 28:2554 (December 

2002), LR 34:882 (May 2008). 

 

Jill P. Boudreaux 

Undersecretary 
0805#071 

 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous Materials   

(LAC 33:V.10303) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 

of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 32:1501 et seq., hereby amends its rules regulating 

motor carrier safety and hazardous materials by adopting 49 

Code of Federal Regulations Parts 107, 355, 360, 365, 367, 

373, 374, 375, 376, 379, 384, 387, 388, and 389 by reference. 

This amendment will enable the state of Louisiana to become 

compliant with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Assistance 

Program and to enforce these additional regulations. This 

amendment also updates the revised edition of the Code of 

Federal Regulations in which the adopted parts are located. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections—Hazardous Materials 

Chapter 103. Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 

§10303. Federal Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 

A. The following federal motor carrier safety regulations 

and hazardous materials regulations promulgated by the 

United States Department of Transportation, revised as of 

http://www.lsp.org/rtk.html
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September 1, 2007, and contained in the following Parts of 

49 CFR as now in effect or as hereafter amended, are made a 

part of this Chapter. 

 

Hazardous Material Regulations 

Part 107 Hazardous Materials Program Procedures 

Part 171 General Information, Regulations, and Definitions 

Part 172 Hazardous Materials Table, Special Provisions, and 
Hazardous Materials Communications, Emergency 

Response Information, and Training Requirements 

Part 173 Shippers―General Requirements for Shipments and 
Packagings 

Part 177 Carriage by Public Highways 

Part 178 Specifications for Packagings 

Part 180 Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of Packagings 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 

Part 355 Compatibility of State Laws and Regulations Affecting 

Interstate Motor Carrier Operations 

Part 360 Fees for Motor Carrier Registration and Insurance 

Part 365 Rules Governing Applications for Operating Authority 

Part 367 Standards for Registration with States 

Part 373 Receipts and Bills 

Part 374 Passenger Carrier Regulations 

Part 375 Transportation of Household Goods in Interstate 

Commerce: Consumer Protection Regulations 

Part 376 Lease and Interchange of Vehicles 

Part 379 Preservation of Records 

Part 382 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 

Part 383 Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and 

Penalties 

Part 384 State Compliance with Commercial Driver's License 

Program 

Part 385 Safety Fitness Procedures 

Part 386 Rules of Practice for Motor Carrier, Broker, Freight 
Forwarder and Hazardous Materials Proceedings 

Part 387 Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor 

Carriers 

Part 388 Cooperative Agreements with States 

Part 389 Rulemaking Procedures-Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Part 390 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General 

Part 391 Qualifications of Drivers 

Part 392 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles 

Part 393 Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation 

Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers 

Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance 

Part 397 Transportation of Hazardous Materials; Driving and 

Parking Rules 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 32: 

1501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 

(January 1988), amended LR 17:1115 (November 1991), LR 19:351 

(March 1993), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 24:956 (May 1998), 

LR 24:2321 (December 1998), LR 29:711 (May 2003), LR 30:447 

(March 2004), LR 32:641 (April 2006), LR 34:882 (May 2008). 

 

 

Jill P. Boudreaux 

Undersecretary 
0805#070 

 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 

State Uniform Construction Code (LAC 55:VI.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of Act 12 of the 2005 

First Extraordinary Session, R.S. 40:1730:22(C) and (D) and 

R.S. 40:1730.34(B) relative to the authority of the Louisiana 

State Uniform Construction Code Council to promulgate and 

enforce rules, the Louisiana State Uniform Construction 

Code Council has amended a Section under Chapter 3 to 

include the mechanical and electrical chapters into the 

International Residential Code as part of the Louisiana State 

Uniform Construction Code. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 

Chapter 3. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 

§301. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

A. - A.2. ... 

3.a. International Residential Code, 2006 Edition, not 

including Parts I-Administrative, V-Mechanical, VII-

Plumbing and VIII-Electrical. The applicable standards 

referenced in that code are included for regulation of 

construction within this state. The enforcement of such 

standards shall be mandatory only with respect to new 

construction, reconstruction, additions to homes previously 

built to the International Residential Code, and extensive 

alterations. Appendix J, Existing Buildings and Structures, 

may be adopted and enforced only at the option of a parish, 

municipality, or regional planning commission. For purposes 

of this part, section R301.2.1.1 of the 2003 edition of the 

International Residential Code is hereby specifically adopted 

in lieu of the 2006 edition and shall remain in effect until the 

2009 edition of the International Residential Code is 

published. Part IV-Energy Conservation of the latest edition 

of the International Residential Code is hereby amended to 

require that supply and return ducts be insulated to a 

minimum of R-6. Furthermore, IRC R301.2.1.1 (Design 

Criteria) shall be amended as follows and shall only apply to 

the International Residential Code:  

 i. amendment of R301.2.1.1 (Design Criteria); 

 ii. item 6, the American Concrete Institute, Guide 

to Concrete Masonry Residential Construction in High Winds 

Areas, shall be added; 

 iii. item 7, Institute for Business and Home Safety, 

Optional Code-plus Fortified for Safer Living, shall be 

added; 

 iv. item 8, Federal Alliance for Safe Homes, 

Optional Code-plus Blueprint for Safety, shall be added. 

b. Additionally, Section 302, R302.1 Exterior Walls 

shall be amended to add the following exception: 

 i. On lots that are 50 feet or less in width and that 

contain a one or two family dwelling or townhouse that was 

in existence prior to October 1, 2005, the following are 

permitted for rebuilding: 
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(a). a projection 2 feet from the property line with a 1 

hour minimum fire-resistance rating on the underside. 

(b). a wall 3 feet or more from the property with a 0 

hour minimum fire-resistance rating. 

4. - 7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Uniform Construction Code Council, 

LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:883 (May 2008). 

 

Jill Boudreaux 

Undersecretary 
0805#066 

 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 

Office of Community Services 

Refugee Resettlement Program (LAC 67.V.Chapter 5) 

The Louisiana Department of Social Services, Office of 

Community Services, has repealed LAC 67: Part V, Subpart 

2, Chapter 5, Refugee Resettlement Program, in its entirety. 

This program is no longer administered by the Office of 

Community Services. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Office of Community Services 

Subpart 2.  Community Services 

Chapter 5. Refugee Resettlement Program 

Subchapter A. Goals and Services 

§501. Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

§503. Program Goals 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

§505. Program Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

Subchapter B. Refugee Cash Assistance  

§507. Application, Eligibility, and Incentive Bonuses 

for Refugee Cash Assistance  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

§509. Amount of Refugee Cash Assistance 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

§511. Mandatory Participation in Employment 

Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 2003), 

repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

Subchapter C. Refugee Medical Assistance  

§513. Eligibility and Furnishing Services for Refugee 

Medical Assistance 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.36:474(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 

2003), repealed LR 34:884 (May 2008). 

Subchapter D. Refugee Social Services 

§515. Application, Eligibility, and furnishing of 

Refugee Social Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:474(3).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 17:1226 (December 

1991), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office of 

Community Services, LR 29:713 (May 2003), repealed LR 34:884 

(May 2008). 

 

Ann Silverberg Williams 

Secretary 
0805#058 

 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 

Office of Family Support 

Food Stamp Program—Work Participation Requirements  

for Able-Bodied Adults without Dependents 

(LAC 67:III.1940) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 

Support, amended the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:953(B) in Title 67:III, Subpart 3, Food Stamp Program, 

Chapter 19, Certification of Eligible Households, Section 

1940, Work Participation Requirements for Able-bodied 

Adults Without Dependents. 

Revisions are needed in order to be consistent with federal 

regulations for the Food Stamp Program in 7 CFR 273.24. 

Failure to comply with federal regulations regarding the
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Food Stamp Program can result in federal sanctions. Changes 

include corrections to the exemptions to the work 

participation requirements for able-bodied adults without 

dependents and clarification of language concerning the one-

time three month extension of eligibility for individuals who 

regain eligibility but are no longer fulfilling the work 

requirement provisions. The changes do not affect current 

recipients because prior to November 1, 2007, Louisiana had 

a statewide waiver from the work participation requirements 

for able-bodied adults without dependents. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 

Subpart 3.  Food Stamp Program 

Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households 

Subchapter G. Work Requirements 

§1940. Work Participation Requirements for Able-

bodied Adults without Dependents  

[Effective 10/1/97 by Emergency Rule] 

A. - A.3. ... 

B. An individual is exempt from this requirement if the 

individual is: 

1. under age 18, or 50 years of age or older; 

2. medically certified as physically or mentally unfit 

for employment; 

3. a parent of a household member under age 18, even 

if the household member who is under age 18 does not 

receive food stamps; 

4. residing in a household where a household member 

is under age 18, even if the household member who is under 

age 18 does not receive food stamps; 

5. pregnant; or 

6. otherwise exempt from work registration 

requirements. 

C. Individuals can regain eligibility for assistance. 

1.-1.c. ... 

2. An individual who regained eligibility and who is 

no longer fulfilling the work requirement is eligible for three 

consecutive countable months one time in any 36 month 

period, starting on the date the individual first notifies the 

agency that he or she is no longer fulfilling the work 

requirement, unless the individual has been satisfying the 

work requirement by participating in a work or workfare 

program, in which case the period starts on the date the 

agency notifies the individual that he or she is no longer 

meeting the work requirement. 

D. The first countable month of this provision is 

November, 1996. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, 7 CFR 273.24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:81 (January 

1997), amended LR 34:885 (May 2008). 

 

Ann Silverberg Williamson 

Secretary 
0805#056 

 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Flotation Devices (LAC 76:XI.103) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby amends 

Rules governing the wearing of personal flotation devices 

being worn by persons aboard Class A motorboats propelled 

by a hand tiller outboard motor while underway. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XI.  Boating 

Chapter 1. Vessel Equipment; Requirements; 

Penalties 

§103. Flotation Devices 

A. In accordance with R.S. 34:851.24(F)1, the provisions 

of this Act shall apply on all waters within the jurisdiction of 

this state. 

B. Definitions 

Hand Tiller Outboard Motor—an outboard motor that 

has a tiller or steering arm attached to the outboard motor to 

facilitate steering and does not have any mechanical assist 

device which is rigidly attached to the boat and used in 

steering the vessel, including but not limited to mechanical, 

hydraulic, or electronic control systems. Hand tiller outboard 

motor shall not mean any type of electronic trolling motor. 

Operate—to navigate or otherwise control the 

movement of a vessel, including controlling the vessel's 

propulsion system. 

Operator—any person who navigates or is otherwise in 

control or in charge of the movement of a vessel, including 

the vessel's propulsion system. 

Owner—a person, other than the lienholder, having the 

property in or registration to the vessel. 

Personal Flotation Device or PFD—a device approved 

by the United States Coast Guard under 46 CFR Part 160, 

which is labeled with such approval and with the appropriate 

size for the person intended and which is in serviceable 

condition. 

Readily Accessible—easily located and retrieved without 

searching, delay, hindrance or being in a locked area. 

Serviceable Condition—a condition as defined by the 

United States Coast Guard under 33 CFR Part 175.23. 

Trick Water-skier—a trick water-skier is a person whose 

equipment and activities have all of the following 

characteristics:  

a. type of skis: for standard double trick skis, a 

length of no more than 46 inches and width of at least 8 

inches, with no keels on the bottom; for single trick boards, a 

length of no more than 56 inches and width of at least 22 

inches, with no keel on bottom; and  

b. tow rope no longer than 50 feet. 

Vessel—watercraft and airboats of every description, 

other than seaplane(s), located on the water and, used or
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capable of being used as a means of transportation on the 

water. 

Watersports—activities that involve being towed by, or 

riding in the wake of, a vessel and include but are not limited 

to water skiing, wake boarding, wake surfing, and tubing. 

C. Personal Flotation Device Requirements 

1. Every operator of a vessel shall ensure that the 

vessel is carrying at least one readily accessible Type I, II, or 

III wearable personal flotation device for each person on 

board. In addition, vessels 16 feet or over in length shall 

carry at least one Type IV throwable personal flotation 

device. 

2. A United States Coast Guard approved Type V PFD 

may be used in lieu of a Type I, II, or III PFD required by 

this Part provided:  

a. the approval label on the Type V PFD indicates 

that the device is approved by the United States Coast Guard: 

 i. for the activity for which the vessel is being 

used; or 

 ii. as a substitute for a PFD of the type required by 

this Act on the vessel in use; and 

b. the PFD is used in accordance with any 

requirements of its approval label; and  

c. the PFD is used in accordance with requirements 

in its owner's manual, if its approval label makes reference to 

such manual. 

3. All persons onboard a Class A motorboat which is 

being propelled by a hand tiller outboard motor shall be 

required to wear a USCG approved Type I, II, III, or V 

personal flotation device while the motorboat is underway. 

a. The operator shall be responsible to ensure all 

persons on board are in compliance with this Section. 

Violation of this Section is a class one violation as defined in 

R.S. 56:31. 

4. Persons engaged in watersports shall wear a Type I, 

II, III or V PFD. No vessel operator shall tow a watersports 

participant who is not wearing such a device. No person shall 

use an inflatable PFD to meet the requirements of this 

Section. Exceptions to the requirements of this Subsection 

are allowed during Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

and/or United States Coast Guard permitted marine events 

under the following conditions: 

a. a skier engaged in barefoot water-skiing who 

wears a barefoot wetsuit designed specifically for such 

activity; 

b. a skier engaged in trick water-skiing whose 

movements would be restricted or impeded by the bulk of a 

PFD; 

c. the operator of a vessel towing a trick water-skier 

or barefoot water-skier shall make a PFD readily available 

aboard the tow vessel for each such skier who elects not to 

wear such a device while skiing. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:851.24 and R.S. 34:851.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR

11:705 (July 1985), amended LR 26:1493 (July 2000), LR 33:538 

(March 2007), LR 34:885 (May 2008). 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0805#015 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Gill Net, Trammel Net and Grass Carp Prohibitions 

(LAC 76:VII.112) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby prohibits 

the take of grass carp and prohibit the use and possession of 

gill and trammel nets in designated areas stocked with 

triploid grass carp. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 

Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial 

Fishing 

§112. Prohibit the Use and Possession of Gill Nets and 

Trammel Nets; Prohibit the Taking of Grass 

Carp 

A. No person shall use or possess any gill net or trammel 

net in the areas designated below as restricted areas. No 

person shall take or sell any fish taken with the prohibited 

gear. Additionally, no person shall take or possess any grass 

carp within the restricted areas. 

1. Restricted areas: 

a. Spring Bayou Wildlife Management Area 

(WMA), Avoyelles Parish; 

b. Old River, Avoyelles Parish; 

c. Little River, Avoyelles Parish. 

B. Violation of the provisions of this Section constitutes a 

class two violation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:21, R.S. 56:22. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 

34:886 (May 2008). 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0805#014 

 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Marine Event Permits (LAC 76:XI.305) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has adopted a 

Rule governing the permitting of marine events on the 

navigable waterways within the jurisdiction of the state of 

Louisiana.  
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Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XI.  Boating 

Chapter 3. Boating Safety 

§305. Marine Event Permits 

A. The following regulations shall prescribe the 

permitting requirements for marine events on the navigable 

waterways within the jurisdiction of this state so as insure the 

safety of life. Through Memorandum of Understanding 

between the United States Coast Guard and the Louisiana 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and authority vested in 

the commission, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

has the responsibility to permit and regulate marine events on 

navigable waters over which the state has jurisdiction. 

B. Definitions 

Marine Event or Events—an organized event of limited 

duration held on the water, including but not limited to 

regattas, parades, fireworks displays, and boat races, which 

by its nature, circumstances or location, will introduce extra 

or unusual hazards to the safety of lives on the navigable 

waters within the jurisdiction of the state of Louisiana. 

a. Examples of conditions which are deemed to 

introduce extra or unusual hazards to the safety of life 

include but are not limited to: 

 i. an inherently hazardous competition; 

 ii. an event occurring in an area where there is a 

customary presence of pleasure craft; 

 iii. any obstruction of navigable channel which 

may reasonably be expected to result; and 

 iv. the expected accumulation of spectator craft. 

C. An individual or organization planning to hold a 

marine event, shall submit an application to the LDWF. 

1. The application shall be submitted 30 days prior to 

the proposed event. 

2. The application shall include the following details: 

a. name and address of sponsoring person or 

organization; 

b. name, address, and telephone of person in charge 

of the event; 

c. nature and purpose of the event; 

d. information as to general public interest; 

e. estimated number and types of watercraft 

participating in the event; 

f. estimated number and types of spectator 

watercraft; 

g. number of boats being furnished by sponsoring 

organizations to patrol event; 

h. a time schedule and description of events; and 

i. a section of a chart or scale drawing showing the 

boundaries of the event, various water courses, or areas to be 

utilized by participants, officials, and spectator craft. 

D. The department's law enforcement division may issue 

regulations to promote safety of life on waters before, during, 

and after a marine event. The departments law enforcement 

division can limit, exclude or restrict movement of vessel 

traffic before, during, and after a marine event and may 

assign patrol boats, if safety requires, to enforce regulations 

and provide assistance work. 

E. Violation of this Section is a class one violation as 

provided in R.S. 56:31. The department is authorized to 

prohibit, suspend or terminate any marine event in order to 

protect life, public safety or for failure to secure a marine 

event permit. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

34:851.24 and R.S. 34:851.27. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 

34:887 (May 2008). 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0805#016 

 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Vessel Monitoring System Requirements 

(LAC 76:VII.369, 371, and 515) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby enacts 

Rules governing the use of Vessel Monitoring Systems 

(VMS) for Out-of-State Landing Program for Oysters, VMS 

requirements as provided for in Title 56 and closed season 

shrimp penalty provisions in R.S. 56:495.1 and 56:497.1 

provides for consolidation of VMS regulations. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 

Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishing 

§369. Shrimping Closed Season, Vessel Monitoring 

System 

A. Purpose. To maximize voluntary compliance with 

shrimping regulations and to reduce purposeful shrimping 

violations by providing adequate deterrence thereby reducing 

recidivism. 

B. Persons who are required to be monitored:  

1. any person subject to a court order requiring 

monitoring; 

2. any person having two or more convictions during 

the preceding five year period for harvesting shrimp during 

closed season. 

C. Persons required to be monitored shall not be present 

on board any vessel harvesting or possessing shrimp, or 

which has any trawl, skimmer, or butterfly net on board, 

unless that vessel is equipped with and is using and 

employing an approved, fully functional and operating vessel 

monitoring system (VMS) as required by R.S. 56:495.1 and 

R.S. 56:497.1 and these regulations. 

D. Required monitoring periods: 

1. persons who are subject to a court order requiring 

that they be monitored shall be monitored and who do not 

have two or more convictions during the preceding five year 

period for harvesting shrimp during closed season for the 

period specified by the order of the court; 

2. persons who have had two convictions during the 

preceding five year period for harvesting shrimp during 

closed season shall be monitored for a period of three years 

from the date of the most recent conviction; 

3. persons who have had three or more convictions 

during the preceding five year period for harvesting shrimp 

during closed season shall be monitored for a period of ten 

years from the date of the most recent conviction.  
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E. The VMS unit must be approved and certified, must 

be installed onboard the vessel, and must be fully 

operational. The department must first be notified of the 

installation, before a person who is required to be monitored 

may be present onboard the vessel. If a person who is 

required to be monitored is found to be on any vessel-

harvesting shrimp or possessing shrimp, or possessing any 

trawl, skimmer, or butterfly net without an approved VMS 

device being on board and operating, the person who is 

required to be monitored shall be in violation of VMS 

shrimping requirements and shall be guilty of a class four 

violation pursuant to R.S. 56:497.1.C and R.S. 56:34. Each 

license issued to a person who is required to be on a VMS 

monitored vessel shall indicate that the licensee may only be 

present on a VMS monitored vessel. 

F. Persons who are required to be monitored shall be 

responsible for the VMS Requirements as specified in LAC 

76:VII.371. 

G. Violation. Failure to abide by any regulation set forth 

regarding the use or operation of VMS, or failure to have 

VMS when required shall be a violation of R.S. 56:497.1.C 

and requirements of probation where applicable. All shrimp 

taken or possessed by a person in violation of these rules, and 

who is identified on his commercial license as required to be 

VMS monitored, shall be deemed illegally taken and 

possessed. The provisions of this Section do not exempt any 

person from any other laws, rules, regulation, and license 

requirements for this or other jurisdictions. Violations of this 

Section shall constitute a class 4 violation.  

H. All costs and monthly fees associated with the 

installation, operation and monitoring of any VMS system in 

accordance with these rules shall be the responsibility of the 

person required to be monitored and shall be paid by him 

directly to the approved VMS supplier and monitoring 

facilitator.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56.495.1, and R.S. 56:497.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 

32:1255 (July 2006), amended LR 34:887 (May 2008). 

§371. Vessel Monitoring System (VMS) Requirements 

A. The following provisions regarding VMS shall be 

applicable to all provisions of law requiring the use of VMS: 

1. the vessel must have onboard a fully operational and 

approved VMS Device. Approved devices are those devices 

approved by NOAA Fisheries Service or the Secretary of the 

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) for 

fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico Reef Fish fishery and which 

meet the minimum performance criteria specified in 

Paragraph 2 of this Subsection. In the event that a VMS 

device is removed from the list of approved devices, vessel 

owners who installed an approved VMS prior to approval of 

any revised list will be considered in compliance with 

requirements of this Paragraph, unless otherwise notified by 

the LDWF; 

2. minimum VMS performance criteria: Basic required 

features of the VMS are as follows: 

a. the VMS shall be satellite-based and tamper 

proof, i.e., shall not permit the input of false positions; 

furthermore, satellite selection must be automatic to provide 

an optimal fix and shall not be capable of being manually 

overridden; 

b. the VMS shall be fully automatic and operational 

at all times, regardless of weather and environmental 

conditions; 

c. the VMS shall be fully operable and capable of 

tracking the vessel in all of Louisiana coastal waters and 

throughout the Gulf of Mexico; 

d. the VMS shall be capable of transmitting and 

storing information including vessel identification, date, time 

and latitude/longitude; 

e. the VMS unit shall make all required 

transmissions to a designated and approved VMS vendor 

who shall be responsible for monitoring the vessel and 

reporting information to the LDWF; 

f. the VMS shall provide accurate position 

transmissions every half-hour, except for those vessels 

operating solely under the Out-of-State Landing Permit 

mentioned in Paragraph 3 that require accurate position 

transmissions every hour, every day of the year, during 

required monitoring period. In addition, the VMS shall allow 

polling of individual vessels or any set of vessels at any time 

and permit those monitoring the vessel to receive position 

reports in real time. For the purposes of this specification, 

real time shall constitute data that reflect a delay of 15 

minutes or less between the displayed information and the 

vessel's actual position; 

g. the VMS vendor shall be capable of transmitting 

position data to a LDWF designated computer system via a 

modem at a minimum speed of 9600 baud. Transmission 

shall be in a file format acceptable to the LDWF. Such 

transmission must be made at any time upon demand of the 

LDWF; 

h. the VMS vendor shall be capable of archiving 

vessel position histories for a minimum of three months, as 

transmitted by the VMS unit, and provide transmissions to 

the LDWF of specified portions of archived data in response 

to LDWF requests in a variety of media (tape, compact disc, 

etc.) as specified by the LDWF. 

3. Operating Requirements. Except as provided in 

Paragraph 4 (Power Down Exemption) of this Subsection, or 

unless otherwise required by law, all required VMS units 

must transmit a signal indicating the vessel's accurate 

position at least every half hour, 24 hours a day, throughout 

the year. However, those vessels operating solely under the 

Out-of-State Landing Permit shall transmit a signal 

indicating the vessel's accurate position at least every hour, 

24 hours a day throughout the year. 

4. Power Down Exemption. Any vessel required to 

have on board a fully operational VMS unit at all times, as 

specified in Paragraph 3 of this Subsection, is exempt from 

this requirement provided: 

a. the vessel will be continuously out of the water 

for more than 72 consecutive hours; and 

b. a valid letter of exemption obtained pursuant to 

Subparagraph 5.a of this Subsection has been issued to the 

vessel and is on board the vessel and the vessel is in 

compliance with all conditions and requirements of said 

letter. 

5. Letter of Exemption 

a. Application. A vessel owner may apply for a letter 

of exemption from the operating requirements specified in 

Paragraph 3 of this Subsection for his/her vessel by sending a 

written request to the LDWF and providing the following: 
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Sufficient information to determine that the vessel will be out 

of the water for more than 72 continuous hours; the location 

of the vessel during the time an exemption is sought; and the 

exact time period for which an exemption is needed (i.e., the 

time the VMS will be turned off and turned on again). 

b. Issuance. Upon receipt of an application, the 

LDWF may issue a letter of exemption to the vessel if it is 

determined that the vessel owner provided sufficient 

information as required under Subparagraph 5.a of this 

Subsection and that the issuance of the letter of exemption 

will not jeopardize accurate monitoring of the vessel's 

position. Upon written request, the LDWF may change the 

time period for which the exemption was granted. 

6. Presumption. If a VMS unit fails to transmit the 

required signal of a vessel's position, the vessel shall be 

deemed to have incurred a VMS violation, for as long as the 

unit fails to transmit a signal, unless a preponderance of 

evidence shows that the failure to transmit was due to an 

unavoidable malfunction, or disruption of the transmission 

that occurred while the vessel was declared out of the fishery, 

as applicable, or was not at sea. 

7. Replacement. Should a VMS unit require 

replacement, a vessel owner must submit documentation to 

the LDWF Law Enforcement Division Headquarters VMS 

coordinator, within 3 days of installation and prior to the 

vessel's next trip, verifying that the new VMS unit is an 

operational, approved system as described in this Section. 

8. Access. All vessel owners shall allow the LDWF, 

and their authorized wildlife enforcement agents or designees 

access to the vessel's VMS unit and data, if applicable, and 

location data obtained from its VMS unit, if required, at the 

time of or after its transmission to the vendor or receiver, as 

the case may be. 

9. Tampering. Tampering with a VMS, a VMS unit, or 

a VMS signal, is prohibited. Tampering includes any activity 

that is likely to affect the unit's ability to operate properly, 

signal, or accuracy compute the vessel's position fix. 

10. Violation. Failure to abide by any regulation set 

forth regarding the use or operation of VMS, or failure to 

have VMS when required shall be a violation of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes which mandates VMS and 

requirements of probation where applicable. All fish taken or 

possessed by a person in violation of these rules, and who is 

identified on his commercial license or permit as required to 

be VMS monitored, shall be deemed illegally taken and 

possessed. The provisions of this Section do not exempt any 

person from any other laws, rules, regulation, and license 

requirements for this or other jurisdictions. Violations of this 

Section shall constitute a violation of the Section of law 

requiring the use of VMS. 

11. All costs and monthly fees associated with the 

installation, operation and monitoring of any VMS system in 

accordance with these rules shall be the responsibility of the 

person required to be monitored and shall be paid by him 

directly to the approved VMS supplier and monitoring 

facilitator. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S 

56:424, 56:424.1, R.S. 56.495.1, and R.S. 56:497.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 

34:888 (May 2008). 

Chapter 5. Oysters 

§515. Oyster Lessee Out-of-State Landing Program 

A. Policy. The oyster lessee out-of-state landing permit is 

intended for the benefit of an oyster leaseholder, or his duly 

authorized designee, who desires to land oysters, from 

privately leased water bottoms only, outside the state of 

Louisiana, and to provide an effective method of regulating 

the transportation of oysters landed or off-loaded from a 

vessel outside of Louisiana. It is for use by Louisiana 

licensed oyster fishermen. Violation of any provision of the 

rules, regulations or statutes concerning the oyster out-of-

state landing permit by the permittee, oyster harvester or 

vessel owner while operating under the permit shall result in 

the suspension and/or revocation of the permit in addition to 

any citations resulting from activities. The permit shall be 

valid for up to one calendar year beginning on January 1 and 

ending on December 31 of the same year. The cost per permit 

shall be $100. 

B. Permit Application and Procedures 

1. Applications shall be available from the Louisiana 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) licensing 

office in Baton Rouge at any time during regular business 

hours. Completed applications, along with required 

documentation, will be accepted only by appointment at the 

LDWF Marine Fisheries Division in Baton Rouge. 

Applications shall only be accepted from the oyster 

leaseholder, or harvester operating on the leaseholder's 

behalf. All required information shall be provided before a 

permit is issued. 

2. Applications shall include the following 

information: 

a. applicant information including name, address, 

telephone number, social security number, and driver's 

license number. If applicable, commercial license numbers 

(vessel, oyster harvester, commercial fisherman) and vessel 

registration or U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) documentation; 

b. leaseholder information including name, address, 

and leaseholder account identification number: 

 i. if name of leaseholder is a corporation, 

partnership, or other legal entity, the Louisiana Secretary of 

State Charter/Organization number must be provided; 

 ii. if the name of the leaseholder is different than 

the applicant, the applicant must provide valid permission 

from the leaseholder (also refer to Subparagraph B.2.i 

below); 

c. harvester information including name, address, 

telephone number, social security number, and driver's 

license number. If applicable, commercial license numbers 

(vessel, oyster harvester, commercial fisherman) may be 

required; 

d. vessel owner information including name, 

address, telephone number, social security number, and 

driver's license number. If applicable, commercial license 

numbers (vessel, oyster harvester, commercial fisherman) 

may be required; 

e. vessel information including name of vessel, 

vessel license number, USCG vessel documentation number, 

and/or vessel registration number, if applicable; 

f. lease number(s) to be fished, and leaseholder 

name and identification number for each lease, while 

operating under the permit; 
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g. copies of vessel registration certificate(s) or U.S. 

Coast Guard vessel documentation certificate; 

h. proof of lease ownership by supplying copies of 

certified lease plats and/or documents: 

 i. corporation—if lessee name on plat is a 

corporation, provide the Louisiana Secretary of State 

Charter/ Organization number. The applicant must be a 

registered director or agent of the corporation. If the 

applicant has been given permission to fish the lease(s) by 

the corporation, please refer to Subparagraph B.2.i below; 

 ii. power of attorney—if lease(s) listed on the 

application are not listed under the applicant's account, the 

applicant shall provide documentation of power of attorney 

for the estate of the leaseholder. If the applicant has been 

given permission to fish the lease(s) by the estate of the 

leaseholder, please refer to Subparagraph B.2.i below; 

i. written, signed, notarized, and dated permission 

from the leaseholder to fish the lease(s), if applicable. 

 i. corporation—the person granting permission 

must be a registered director or agent of the corporation 

which owns the lease(s) listed on the application. 

 ii. power of attorney—the person granting 

permission must provide documentation of power of attorney 

for the estate of the leaseholder which owns the lease(s) 

listed on the application. 

C. Operations. Permits are non-transferable and only the 

vessel listed on the permit can be used with the permit and 

only one vessel is allowed per permit. The vessel must 

maintain the original permit on board at all times while 

operating under the permit, including during times of fishing 

and transportation. Valid permission from the leaseholder 

must be present on the permitted vessel while operating 

under the permit. The complete original permit must be 

surrendered to the department in the event the permittee 

chooses to have the permit modified. Any change in leases 

fished shall require the permittee to submit a new application 

at no additional expense prior to fishing different leases. Any 

change in vessel shall require the permittee to submit a new 

application and permit fee. At no time while operating under 

the permit and transporting oysters out-of-state shall the 

permittee have on board the permitted vessel oysters taken 

from non-leased water bottoms of the state or from oyster 

leases not listed on the original permit. The permitted vessel 

shall display signs, visible from either side of the vessel and 

from the air, with the words "Oyster Permit" and the permit 

number shall be placed on these signs in letters at least 12 

inches high. 

D. Records, Reporting, and Severance Tax. The permittee 

shall maintain an up-to-date daily record of the number of 

sacks of oysters landed under the permit on forms provided 

by the department for that purpose. The permittee shall 

submit to the department a monthly record of the

number of sacks of oysters landed under the permit and the 

name and Food and Drug Administration interstate certified 

shellfish shipper's number of the business to whom the 

oysters were sold no later than 15 days following the last day 

of the month on forms provided by the department for that 

purpose, even if no landings occurred. Failure to submit 

monthly records or incomplete records to the department 

before the reporting deadline shall result in suspension or 

revocation of the permit, at the discretion of the department. 

Payment of severance tax owed, as outlined in Louisiana 

R.S. 56:446(A) must accompany the monthly report. 

E. Monitoring. The vessel utilized under this permit shall 

have on-board and in working order an electronic vessel 

monitoring system as required by R.S. 56:424, as provided 

herein. Oyster vessels, the owner or operator of any vessel 

issued an oyster lessee out-of-state landing permit or a vessel 

that landed oysters from a private lease in Louisiana waters, 

at a location outside of Louisiana, or intends to land, or lands 

oysters out of state, must have an operable vessel monitoring 

system (VMS) unit installed on board that meets the 

requirements of LAC 76:VII.371. The VMS unit must be 

certified, installed on board and operable, and the department 

notified of the installation, before the vessel may begin 

dredging or transporting oysters.  

F. Violation. Failure to abide by any regulation set forth 

regarding the use or operation of VMS, or failure to have 

VMS when required shall be considered a violation of the 

Section of law requiring the use of VMS and requirements of 

probation where applicable. All fish taken or possessed by a 

person in violation of these rules shall be deemed illegally 

taken and possessed. The provisions of this Section do not 

exempt any person from any other laws, rules, regulation, 

and license requirements for this or other jurisdictions. 

Violations of this Section shall constitute a class 2 violation. 

As a condition maintaining and operating under this permit, 

persons shall comply with the VMS provisions regardless of 

the vessels location, failure to comply with VMS rules and 

regulations, the department shall revoke and not reinstate the 

Out-of-State Landing Permit for that vessel and person for 

the period in which it was issued. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56.6(10), R.S. 56:422, R.S. 56:424(B, G), and R.S. 56:425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 22:120 (February 

1996), amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 31:1624 (July 2005), LR 

34:889 (May 2008). 

 

Robert J. Barham 

Secretary 
0805#017 
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Notices of Intent 
 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

Boxing and Wrestling Standards 

(LAC 46:XI.108, 303 and Chapter 7) 

The Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

does hereby exercise the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(b) and 49:967(D) to propose the 

following Rule. The Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling 

Commission proposes to adopt the rules of the United States 

Amateur Boxing, Inc., and/or the Golden Gloves of America 

pursuant to amateur boxing contestants and events; to clarify 

the definitions of "amateur" and "professional" and the 

corresponding rules thereto in order to ensure that a proper 

forum for amateur fighters is encouraged; that amateur 

shows are properly advertised as such and that amateur 

contestants are equally matched. 

Testing for Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C will be added the 

current HIV drug testing requirements. This proposed Rule 

will also introduce a new Chapter, Chapter 7. mixed 

technique events, which is necessary to promote the safety 

of mixed technique contestants, other participants and 

spectators in that it will require participants in all mixed 

technique events to be under the jurisdiction of The 

Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling Commission. This 

new chapter will introduce rules specific to amateur mixed 

technique events and professional mixed technique events 

and outlines the commission's demands pertaining to 

contestants, amateur or professional; rules citing the 

responsibility of promoters of amateur shows, in particular, 

and professional mixed technique events; bout durations; 

judges and referees; and the safety and ring requirements of 

both. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XI.  Boxing and Wrestling 

Chapter 1. General Rules 

§108. Medical Requirements 

A. Each contestant participating in any sport under this 

commission's jurisdiction must furnish to the commission 

physician a certified medical certificate evidencing that the 

contestant has been tested for HIV, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis 

C and said test results are negative. Said tests and certificates 

shall be dated not more than six months prior to the 

scheduled event and said certificates are to be presented at 

the time of "weigh in". 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61.D, R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 32:242 

(February 2006), amended by the Department of Economic 

Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 34: 

Chapter 3. Professional Boxing 

§303. Amateur Boxing Associations  

A. The commission will recognize an amateur boxing 

contest or exhibition only if it is registered and sanctioned 

by United States Amateur Boxing, Inc., and/or the Golden 

Gloves of America as an amateur boxing contest or 

exhibition. 

B. An amateur boxing contest or exhibition is governed 

by the rules adopted for amateur boxing contests or 

exhibitions by United States Amateur Boxing, Inc. The 

commission hereby adopts by reference those rules as they 

exist in the form most recently adopted by United States 

Amateur Boxing, Inc. A copy of those rules may be 

purchased for a price of $15, from United States Amateur 

Boxing, Inc., One Olympic Plaza, Colorado Springs, 

Colorado 80909. If those rules do not cover a particular 

situation in an amateur boxing contest or exhibition, the 

provisions of this chapter concerning unarmed combat and 

professional boxing contests or exhibitions apply. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

Chapter 7. Mixed Technique Events 

§701. Application of Professional and Amateur Boxing 

Rules 

A. The following conditions specifically described in the 

professional boxing rules also apply to amateur and 

professional mixed technique sports and events as put forth 

in the foregoing Chapter 1, General Rules of Boxing and 

Wrestling, Title 46, Professional and Occupational 

Standards, §§101 through 113 except where the intention 

would to be to modify rules which are specific to mixed 

technique events. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§703. Mixed Technique Events (MTE) 

A. All mixed technique events shall be conducted under 

the authority and supervision of the commission. 

B. There are hereby established three types of mixed 

technique event (MTE): 

1. MTE amateur events; 

2. MTE exhibition events; and 

3. MTE professional event. 

C. MTE amateur events are defined as those MTE events 

using amateur fighters and being sponsored by a recognized 

amateur mixed technique association, duly recognized by the 

commission. 

1. Pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statute 4:67 there 

shall be no taxes charged to a MTE amateur event sponsored 

by an AMTA approved by the commission. 
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D. MTE exhibition events are defined as those MTE 

events using amateur fighters conducted by a promoter 

licensed by the commission. 

1. MTE exhibition events shall be conducted under 

the mixed technique event exhibition rules set forth below. 

E. MTE professional events are defined as those MTE 

events using professional fighters conducted by a promoter 

licensed by the commission. 

1. MTE professional events shall be conducted under 

the mixed technique event professional rules set forth below. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§705. Mixed Technique Ring Rules 

A. Mixed technique events contests and exhibitions may 

be held in a ring or in a fenced area. 

B. A ring used for a contest or exhibition mixed 

technique event must meet the following requirements. 

1. The ring must be no smaller than 20 feet square and 

no larger than 32 feet square within the ropes. 

2. The ring floor must extend at least 18 inches 

beyond the ropes. The ring floor must be padded with 

ensolite or another similar closed-cell foam, with at least a  

1-inch layer of foam padding. Padding must extend beyond 

the ring ropes and over the edge of the platform, with a top 

covering of canvas, duck or similar material tightly stretched 

and laced to the ring platform. Material that tends to gather 

in lumps or ridges must not be used. 

3. The ring platform must not be more than 4 feet 

above the floor of the building and must have suitable steps 

for the use of the unarmed combatants. 

4. Ring posts must be made of metal, not more than  

3 inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the 

building to a minimum height of 58 inches above the ring 

floor, and must be properly padded in a manner approved by 

the commission. Ring posts must be at least 18 inches away 

from the ring ropes. 

5. There must be five ring ropes, not less than 1 inch 

in diameter and wrapped in soft material. The lowest ring 

rope must be 12 inches above the ring floor. 

6. There must not be any obstruction or object, 

including, without limitation, a triangular border, on any part 

of the ring floor. 

C. A fenced area used in a contest or exhibition mixed 

technique event must meet the following requirements. 

1. The fenced area must be circular or have at least 

eight equal sides and must be no smaller than 20 feet wide 

and no larger than 32 feet wide. 

2. The floor of the fenced area must be padded with 

ensolite or another similar closed-cell foam, with at least a  

1-inch layer of foam padding, with a top covering of canvas, 

duck or similar material tightly stretched and laced to the 

platform of the fenced area. Material that tends to gather in 

lumps or ridges must not be used. 

3. The platform of the fenced area must not be more 

than 4 feet above the floor of the building and must have 

suitable steps for the use of the unarmed combatants. 

4. Fence posts must be made of metal, not more than  

6 inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the 

building to between 5 and 7 feet above the floor of the 

fenced area, and must be properly padded in a manner 

approved by the commission. 

5. The fencing used to enclose the fenced area must be 

made of a material that will prevent an unarmed combatant 

from falling out of the fenced area or breaking through the 

fenced area onto the floor of the building or onto the 

spectators, including, without limitation, chain link fence 

coated with vinyl. 

6. Any metal portion of the fenced area must be 

covered and padded in a manner approved by the 

commission and must not be abrasive to the unarmed 

combatants. 

7. The fenced area must have two entrances. 

8. There must not be any obstruction on any part of 

the fence surrounding the area in which the unarmed 

combatants are to be competing. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§709. Safety Zone 

A. At each event there shall be an area around the ring or 

fenced in area, extending eight feet as measured from said 

ring or fenced in area, which shall be partitioned from the 

public seating and said area shall be referred to as the "safety 

zone." 

1. No one may enter the safety zone unless authorized 

by the commission. 

2. All seating inside of the safety zone shall be 

authorized by the attending commissioner. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§711. Duration of Rounds 

A. Except with the approval of the commission or its 

chairman: 

1. a non-championship contest or exhibition of mixed 

technique events must not exceed three rounds in duration; 

2. a championship mixed technique event must be five 

rounds in duration; 

3. a period of unarmed combat in any mixed 

technique event must be 5 minutes in duration. A period of 

rest following a period of unarmed combat in a mixed 

technique event must be 1 minute in duration. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§713. Weight Classes of MTE contestants; weight loss 

A. Except with the approval of the commission or its 

commissioner, the classes for unarmed combatants 

competing in mixed technique events and the weights for 

each class are shown in the following schedule. 

 
Flyweight...........................................  up to 125 lbs. 

Bantamweight........................... over 125 to 135 lbs. 

Featherweight ........................... over 135 to 145 lbs. 

Lightweight .............................. over 145 to 155 lbs. 

Welterweight ............................ over 155 to 170 lbs. 
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Middleweight............................ over 170 to 185 lbs. 

Light Heavyweight ................... over 185 to 205 lbs. 

Heavyweight ............................. over 205 to 265 lbs. 

Super Heavyweight ........................ all over 265 lbs. 

 

B. After the weigh-in of an unarmed combatant 

competing in a mixed technique events: 

a. weight loss in excess of 2 pounds is not permitted 

for an unarmed combatant who weighed in at 145 pounds or 

less; 

b. weight loss in excess of 3 pounds is not permitted 

for an unarmed combatant who weighed in at over  

145 pounds; 

3. the weight loss described in Paragraph 2 must not 

occur later than 2 hours after the initial weigh-in. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§715. Proper Attire for Unarmed Combatants 

A. An unarmed combatant competing in a mixed 

technique event: 

1 must wear shorts approved by the commission or 

the commission’s representative; 

2. may not wear shoes or any padding on his feet 

during the contest. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§717. Method of Judging  

A. Each judge of a mixed technique event that is being 

judged shall score the contest or exhibition and determine 

the winner through the use of the following system. 

1. The better unarmed combatant of a round receives 

10 points and his opponent proportionately less. 

2. If the round is even, each unarmed combatant 

receives 10 points. 

3. No fraction of points may be given. 

4. Points for each round must be awarded immediately 

after the end of the period of unarmed combat in the round. 

B. After the end of the contest or exhibition, the 

announcer shall pick up the scores of the judges from the 

commission's desk. 

C. The majority opinion is conclusive and, if there is no 

majority, the decision is a draw. 

D. When the commission’s representative has checked 

the scores, he shall inform the announcer of the decision. 

The announcer shall inform the audience of the decision 

over the speaker system. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§719. Fouls 

A. The following acts constitute fouls in a mixed 

technique event: 

1. butting with the head; 

2. eye gouging of any kind; 

3. biting; 

4. hair pulling; 

5. fishhooking; 

6. groin attacks of any kind; 

7. putting a finger into any orifice or into any cut or 

laceration on an opponent; 

8. small joint manipulation; 

9. striking to the spine or the back of the head; 

10. striking downward using the point of the elbow; 

11. throat strikes of any kind, including, without 

limitation, grabbing the trachea; 

12. clawing, pinching or twisting the flesh; 

13. grabbing the clavicle; 

14. kicking the head of a grounded opponent; 

15. kneeing the head of a grounded opponent; 

16. stomping a grounded opponent; 

17. kicking to the kidney with the heel; 

18. spiking an opponent to the canvas on his head or 

neck; 

19. throwing an opponent out of the ring or fenced 

area; 

20. holding the shorts or gloves of an opponent; 

21. spitting at an opponent; 

22. engaging in any unsportsmanlike conduct that 

causes an injury to an opponent; 

23. holding the ropes or the fence; 

24. using abusive language in the ring or fenced area; 

25. attacking an opponent on or during the break; 

26. attacking an opponent who is under the care of the 

referee; 

27. attacking an opponent after the bell has sounded the 

end of the period of unarmed combat; 

28. flagrantly disregarding the instructions of the 

referee; 

29. timidity, including, without limitation, avoiding 

contact with an opponent, intentionally or consistently 

dropping the mouthpiece or faking an injury; 

30. interference by the corner; 

31. throwing in the towel during competition. 

B. Fouls―Deduction of Points 

1. If an unarmed combatant fouls his opponent during 

a mixed technique event, the referee may penalize him by 

deducting points from his score, whether or not the foul was 

intentional. The referee shall determine the number of points 

to be deducted in each instance and shall base his 

determination on the severity of the foul and its effect upon 

the opponent. 

2. When the referee determines that it is necessary to 

deduct a point or points because of a foul, he shall warn the 

offender of the penalty to be assessed. 

3. The referee shall, as soon as is practical after the 

foul, notify the judges and both unarmed combatants of the 

number of points, if any, to be deducted from the score of 

the offender. 

4. Any point or points to be deducted for any foul 

must be deducted in the round in which the foul occurred 

and may not be deducted from the score of any subsequent 

round. 

C. Accidental Fouls 

1. If a mixed technique event is stopped because of an 

accidental foul, the referee shall determine whether the 

unarmed combatant who has been fouled can continue or 

not. If the unarmed combatant’s chance of winning has not 

been seriously jeopardized as a result of the foul and if the 
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foul did not involve a concussive impact to the head of the 

unarmed combatant who has been fouled, the referee may 

order the contest or exhibition continued after a recuperative 

interval of not more than 5 minutes. Immediately after 

separating the unarmed combatants, the referee shall inform 

the commission's representative of his determination that the 

foul was accidental. 

2. If the referee determines that a mixed technique 

event may not continue because of an injury suffered as the 

result of an accidental foul, the contest or exhibition must be 

declared a no contest if the foul occurs during: 

a. the first two rounds of a contest or exhibition that 

is scheduled for three rounds or less; or 

b. the first three rounds of a contest or exhibition 

that is scheduled for more than three rounds. 

3. If an accidental foul renders an unarmed combatant 

unable to continue the contest or exhibition after: 

a. the completed second round of a contest or 

exhibition that is scheduled for three rounds or less; or 

b the completed third round of a contest or 

exhibition that is scheduled for more than three rounds, the 

outcome must be determined by scoring the completed 

rounds and the round during which the referee stops the 

contest or exhibition. 

4. If an injury inflicted by an accidental foul later 

becomes aggravated by fair blows and the referee orders the 

contest or exhibition stopped because of the injury, the 

outcome must be determined by scoring the completed 

rounds and the round during which the referee stops the 

contest or exhibition. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§721. Results of Contests 

A. A mixed technique event may end under the following 

results. 

1. Submission by: 

a. physical tap out; 

b. verbal tap out. 

2. Technical knockout by the referee stopping the 

contest. 

3. Decision via the scorecards, including: 

a. unanimous decision; 

b. split decision; 

c. majority decision; 

d. draw, including: 

 i. unanimous draw; 

 ii. majority draw; 

 iii. split draw; 

4. technical decision; 

5. technical draw; 

6. disqualification; 

7. forfeit; 

8. no contest. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§723. Referees and Judges 

A. No referee may officiate a mixed technique event 

unless he has been duly qualified by the commission. The 

commission may approve referees based upon their 

qualifications or may require the attendance of a mandatory 

seminar. 

B. No judge may officiate a mixed technique event 

unless he has been duly qualified by the commission. The 

commission may approve judges based upon their 

qualifications or may require the attendance of a mandatory 

seminar. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§725. Promoters 

A. The promoter must provide one licensed physician, 

for each event; if the physician is called away from ringside 

for any reason, the event may not continue until the 

physician returns ringside. 

B. The promoter must provide at least one licensed 

physician to conduct pre-fight physicals. and provide a 

private area for the physician to perform pre-fight 

examinations. 

C. The promoter shall ensure that at all times an 

ambulance and two EMTs are present at the event; if the 

attending ambulance is forced to leave for any reason, 

including, but not limited to transporting a participant, the 

event shall not resume until the event is attended by another 

ambulance and two EMTs. 

D. Only the fighter; his trainer and chief seconds shall 

enter the fenced off area around the ring or cage. Any other 

member of the contestants entourage who enters the fenced 

off area for any reason shall be ejected from the event. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§727. Equipment for Contestants 

A. Required equipment: 

1. mouth guard; 

2. open finger gloves (minimum 4 oz.) with an open 

palm with no insert and the majority of the weight of the 

glove to be around the knuckles; 

3. groin protection (male only); 

4. breast protection (female). 

B. Disallowed equipment: 

1. no vaseline on the body; 

2. no shoes; 

3. no shirts for male contestants; 

4. no metal zippers on shorts. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§729. Corner Requirements  

A. For each bout, the promoter shall provide a clean 

water bucket and a clean plastic water bottle in each corner. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§731. Specifications: Bandaging of MT Contestant's 

Hands 

A. In all weight classes, the bandages on each 

contestant’s hand shall be restricted to soft gauze cloth not 

more than 13 yards in length and 2 inches in width, held in 

place by not more than 10 feet of surgeon's tape, 1 inch in 

width, for each hand. 

B. Surgeon's adhesive tape shall be placed directly on 

each hand for protection near the wrist. The tape may cross 

the back of the hand twice and extend to cover and protect 

the knuckles when the hand is clenched to make a fist. 

C. The bandages shall be evenly distributed across the 

hand. 

D. Bandages and tape shall be placed on the contestant's 

hands in the dressing room in the presence of the inspector 

and in the presence of the manager or chief second of his or 

her opponent. 

E. Under no circumstances are gloves to be placed on 

the hands of a contestant until the approval of the inspector 

is received. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§733. Mouth Pieces 

A. All contestants are required to wear a mouthpiece 

during competition. The mouthpiece shall be subject to 

examination and approval by the attending physician. 

B. The round cannot begin without the mouthpiece in 

place. 

C. If the mouthpiece is involuntarily dislodged during 

competition, the referee shall call time, clean the mouthpiece 

and reinsert the mouthpiece at the first opportune moment, 

without interfering with the immediate action. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§735. Amateur Mixed Technique Associations 

A. An Amateur Mixed Techniques Association (AMTA) 

must provide proof to the commission that it is either a non-

profit organization certified by the state of Louisiana or that 

it is approved as a non-profit organization under the 

provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. 

B. An AMTA shall file with the commission rules for 

conducting the organization's affairs and the conduct of its 

members. The rules must include provisions to: 

1. establish conditions for membership; 

2. provide guidelines for training its members in 

preparation for a contest; 

3. establish a minimum training period before a 

contest; 

4. indicate which class(es) of combative sports the 

AMTA will conduct; 

5. require that all referees and judges participating in 

events conducted by the AMTA are approved by the 

commission; and 

6. establish a set of rules for determining the amateur 

status of each participant in any event which the AMTA 

sponsors; including a method for recording the names of all 

mixed technique fighters in the state of Louisiana, both 

professional and amateur; 

7. may include provisions to: 

a. provide for payment of actual expenses, up to a 

maximum of One Hundred and No/100 for the contestants 

who participate in an event; and 

b. allow members of other AMTAs to participate as 

a visiting member in an event conducted by it without the 

other AMTA participating in the conducted event, so long as 

it ascertains that the visiting member is qualified under the 

rules to be a contestant in the event. 

C. An AMTA may not conduct or participate in any 

event unless it has received the commission's written 

approval of rules required in Subparagraph b above. 

D. An AMTA may not conduct or participate in an event 

unless it has applied for and received approval for status as 

an AMTA by the commission. 

E. An AMTA shall provide insurance and pay all 

deductibles for contestants, to cover medical, surgical and 

hospital care with a minimum limit of $20,000 for injuries 

sustained while participating in a contest and $50,000 to a 

contestant’s estate if he dies of injuries suffered while 

participating in a contest. At least 10 calendar days before an 

event the AMTA shall provide to the department for each 

event to be conducted, a certificate of insurance showing 

proper coverage. The AMTA shall supply to those 

participating in the event the proper information for filing a 

medical claim. 

F. An AMTA shall ensure that all contestants 

participating in contests it conducts are amateurs. 

G. An AMTA may not allow any person who has not 

been a member of the AMTA for at least 30 days to 

participate as a contestant in any event in which the AMTA 

participates. 

H. An AMTA conducting an event shall: 

1. bear all financial responsibility for the event; 

2. provide the commission with written notice of all 

proposed event dates, ticket prices, and participants of the 

main event, at least 21 days before the proposed event date 

and obtain written approval from the commission to promote 

the event prior to advertising or selling tickets; 

3. provide one licensed physician, for each event; if 

the physician is called away from ringside for any reason, 

the event may not continue until the physician returns 

ringside; 

4. provide at least one licensed physician to conduct 

pre-fight physicals. Provide a private area for the physician 

to perform pre-fight examinations; 

5. insure that only referees and judges approved by 

the commission participate in the event; 

6. assure that no alcoholic beverages or illegal drugs 

are in the dressing room; 

7. ensure the safety of the contestants, officials, and 

spectators: 

a. a sufficient number of security personnel shall be 

retained to maintain order; 

8. ensure that the rules set forth herein below 

regarding equipment and gloves that apply to a particular 
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type of event are followed; 

9. ensure that each contest is conducted as provided 

by the AMTA's rules approved by the commission; 

10. ensure that each event has the appropriate 

equipment as described by the AMTA's rules approved by 

the department; 

11. ensure that all advertising concerning an event to be 

conducted indicates that it is an amateur event, and includes 

the name of the AMTA that will conduct the event; and 

12. ensure that at all times an ambulance and two 

EMTs are present at the event; if the attending ambulance is 

forced to leave for any reason, including, but not limited to 

transporting a participant, the event shall not resume until 

the event is attended by another ambulance and two EMTs. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

§737. Mixed Technique Event Exhibition Rules  

A. MTE Exhibitions shall be conducted using §707. 

Professional Mixed Technique Rules above with the 

following modifications. 

1. Conduct of Promotion. If you are interested in 

staging a mixed technique event exhibition contest you must 

notify the commission in writing and to be considered for 

approval you must: 

a. submit a written list of the name, address, age, 

height, weight, trainer and training gym of each contestant 

said list to be submitted no later than two weeks prior to the 

event and any changes to said list to be within a reasonable 

time based upon the approval of the chairman; 

b. submit a writing from each contestant that he or 

she has never engaged in a professional mixed technique 

event or professional mixed martial arts contest; 

c. submit writing from the contestant's trainer that 

the contestant is skilled enough and healthy to compete and 

that the contestant has been training for the sport longer than 

30 days; 

d. submit the name of the referee(s) you intend to 

use; however the commission may mandate that you use a 

referee approved by the commission; 

e. agree to abide by any other conditions which the 

commissioner may impose on this new activity as events are 

reviewed and amendments may be made; 

f. agree in writing that you will observe all mixed 

technique event rules; 

g. submit in writing a statement to the affect that the 

fighter is not being paid any gratuity for participating in the 

event, and memorialize each and every actual expense, to a 

maximum of $100 that is being reimbursed to the fighter; 

h. if you are not a promoter who also owns and 

operates his own gym you must utilize a matchmaker 

approved by the commission who shall arrange and approve 

all fights on the card; and 

i. ensure that all advertising concerning the event to 

be conducted indicates that it is an amateur event, and the 

word "amateur" must be a large as any other print on the 

advertisement on a written or printed advertisement and 

must be announced in any television or radio advertisements. 

B. Equipment. Exhibition contestants shall use a 

minimum 7 ounce open fingered gloves. 

C. Acts constituting fouls in addition to those listed 

under §707, Professional Mixed Technique Event Rules, 

Subsection G, Acts Constituting Fouls: 

1. illegal techniques while standing: 

a. elbowing; and 

b. kneeing to the head; 

2. illegal techniques while on the ground: 

a. any downward striking to an opponent's head 

while the back of that opponent's head is pinned to the mat 

or when the opponent has both shoulders pinned to the mat; 

3. additional items: 

a. if punch or kick (excluding kicks to the legs or 

leg sweeps) causes a knockdown: 

 i. the action will not continue; 

 ii. the standing fighter will not continue to attack; 

 iii. the referee will begin a 10 count and the 

standing fighter must go to a neutral corner during the count; 

and 

 iv. if the referee determines that the downed 

fighter can continue, then the fight shall resume with the 

fighters in a standing position; 

b. in the event that the referee believes that the 

fighter is in trouble he is authorized to give an eight count; 

this shall be a standing eight while the parties are standing; 

or simply an eight count if they are on the ground with the 

position of the fighters to be maintained when the actions 

continues; 

c. in the event that the referee feels that the two 

fighters in the ring are mismatched to the point where the 

contest is not fair, then he shall immediately stop the fight at 

that point. Any matchmaker or promoter who arranged that 

fight shall be subject to immediate suspension of their 

license by the attending commission member as the 

commission deems the mismatching of amateur fighters to 

present an immediate danger to the public and the fighters; 

d. the referee has as his number one concern the 

welfare of the fighters and shall conduct himself and the 

fight at all times with the understanding that the fighters are 

amateur fighters and are not to be subjected to undue 

punishment; which will require stoppages much sooner than 

those in a professional mixed technique event. Any referee 

who permits an amateur fighter to absorb undue punishment 

or grossly fails to stop a fight in a timely manner shall be 

subject to immediate suspension by the attending 

commission member as the commission deems that 

unnecessary injury of amateur fighters to present an 

immediate danger to the public and the fighters; 

e. in the event that the commission member in 

attendance feels that the promoter has violated any of the 

rules of this section concerning mixed technique exhibitions 

or has submitted forms or paperwork to the commission that 

are fraudulent, or determines that the fighters were paid any 

gratuity, the commission member shall at the close of the 

fight issue a summons to that promoter to appear before the 

commission at the next scheduled meeting to determine 

whether his license shall be suspended. 

D. At each MTE Exhibition event there shall also 

Professional MTE bouts equaling either 25 percent of the 

number of bouts on the card or a minimum of two 

professional bouts whichever is greater; however this rule
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will be inapplicable to venues with a occupancy capacity of 

500 people or less, as set by the fire marshal, with the further 

understanding that this rule shall always apply to any 

outdoor event or other venue where it is impossible for the 

fire marshal to set the occupancy capacity. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 

34: 

All interested persons are invited to submit comments, 

views or positions on the proposed Rule, in writing, to Alvin 

Topham, Chairman, Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling 

Commission, 1125 Mobile St., Lake Charles, LA 70605 or 

by facsimile at (337) 475-4888. 

 

Alvin Topham 

Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Boxing and Wrestling Standards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The commission anticipates an increase in the regular 

expenses associated with the training and hiring of referees and 

commission oversight. The additional costs will be funded 

through self-generated revenue collected in the form of licenses 

and fees, as with current boxing and wrestling rules. These 

additional expenses are not anticipated to be significant. 

Any other expenses incurred associated with bringing MT 

(Mixed Technique) ring sports under the jurisdiction of The 

Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling commission, such as 

physician fees, ambulance and EMT costs, etc., will be borne 

by promoters and gyms sponsoring these events, as it is now 

for amateur and professional boxing and wrestling events. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

As a result of this rule change, there will be a slight 

increase in self-generated revenue secured from professional 

MT events and license fees from contestants paid to the 

commission. We anticipate this increase in self-generated 

revenues to be offset by the direct expenses involved in 

oversight of these events and training expenses as cited above. 

Accordingly, we expect the addition of this new MTE chapter 

to be revenue/cost neutral. These funds, as with other regulated 

ring sports under our jurisdiction, are deposited into the 

commission's account to fund commission operations. If at the 

fiscal year end there is determined to be an increase in funds 

over the budgeted expenses, the surplus then accrues to the 

state general fund. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Professional promoters and Amateur Mixed Technique 

Associations (AMTA) will fund expenses related to promoting 

amateur shows; however, an increase in shows and spectators 

will increase revenue to community centers, auditoriums, 

concessions, and other venues and their associated partners in 

towns and cities across the State of Louisiana. All contestants 

are required to apply for licenses and pay a nominal fee to this 

commission. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

By bringing the Mixed Technique ring sports under the 

jurisdiction of this commission, it is expected that competition 

would increase and create a safe, competitive environment for 

amateurs to practice their sport. Adopting amateur boxing 

associations rules will offer extra protections and level playing 

fields for amateur boxing contestants. The expected increase in 

events would boost local economies in the form of revenues to 

community centers, auditoriums, concession stands and other 

fields associated with the promotion of public events. 

 

Addie L Fields H. Gordon Monk 

Promulgator Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0804#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  

(LAC 28:IV.301, 507, and 1301) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 

(LASFAC) announces its intention to amend its 

Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-

3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1). 

This rulemaking will revise the definition of "tuition" to 

include fees charged for certain compressed programs 

approved by the Board of Regents, clarify the deadline for 

submission of applications by students returning from out-of 

state colleges, provide deadlines for submission of 

documents supporting applications by students returning 

from out-of state colleges, and correct a citation of legal 

authority for the Leveraging Educational Assistance 

Partnership. 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 

49:972. (SG0895NI) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 

Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 3. Definitions 

§301. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 

shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 

this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 

includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 

used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 

Tuition―the fee charged each student by a post-

secondary institution to cover the student's share of the cost 

of instruction, including all other mandatory enrollment fees 

charged to all students except for the technology fee 

authorized by Act 1450 of the 1997 Regular Session of the 

Legislature: 

a. which were in effect as of January 1, 1998; 

b. any changes in the cost of instruction authorized 

by the legislature and implemented by the institution after 

that date; and 

c. for programs with alternative scheduling formats 

that are approved in writing by the Board of Regents after 

that date. Any payment for enrollment in one of these 

programs shall count towards the student's maximum 

eligibility for his award: 
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 i. up to the equivalent of eight full time semesters 

of postsecondary education in full time semesters for the 

TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Award; or 

 ii. up to the equivalent of two years of 

postsecondary education in full time semesters and summer 

sessions for the TOPS Tech Award. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 

LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 

1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 

25:1458 and 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 

26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 

2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 

2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 

LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 

(August 2001), LR 27:1840 (November 2001), LR 27:1875 

(November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 

2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 

2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 

30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 

(January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33:86 (January 

2007), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 33:1339 (July 2007), LR 

33:2612 (December 2007), LR 34:234 (February 2008), LR 34: 

Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 

Test 

§507. Final Deadline for Submitting Documentation of 

Eligibility 

A. - B.2. … 

C. Returning Students 

1 - 2. … 

3.a. Returning students, who enroll in an eligible 

college or university in academic year (college) 2005-2006 

or academic year (college) 2006-2007, must submit an 

application to return from an out-of-state college no later 

than July 1 immediately following the academic year 

(college) the student enrolls as a full-time student in an 

eligible college or university and must submit any 

supporting documentation required by the application no 

later than April 15 following the July 1 deadline. 

b. Returning students, who enroll in an eligible 

college or university in the fall semester of 2007 or later, 

must submit an application to return from an out-of-state 

college no later than July 1 immediately following the 

academic year (college) the student enrolls as a full-time 

student in an eligible college or university and must submit 

any supporting documentation required by the application no 

later than January 15 following the July 1 deadline. 

c. Examples 

 i. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 

college or university in the fall semester of 2005 must 

submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 

no later than July 1, 2006, and any required supporting 

documentation such as college transcripts no later than April 

15, 2007. 

 ii. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 

college or university in the spring semester of 2007 must 

submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 

no later than July 1, 2007, and any required supporting 

documentation such as college transcripts no later than April 

15, 2008. 

 iii. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 

college or university in the fall semester of 2007 must 

submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 

no later than July 1, 2008, and any required supporting 

documentation such as college transcripts no later than 

January 15, 2009. 

 iv. A returning student who enrolled in an eligible 

college or university in the spring semester of 2008 must 

submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 

no later than July 1, 2008, and any required supporting 

documentation such as college transcripts no later than 

January 15, 2009. 

 v. A returning student who enrolls in an eligible 

college or university in the fall semester of 2009 must 

submit the application to return from an out-of-state college 

no later than July 1, 2010, and any required supporting 

documentation such as college transcripts no later than 

January 15, 2011. 

4.a. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 

(college), all documentation and certifications necessary to 

establish a returning student's initial eligibility including, but 

not limited to, high school and/or college transcripts and 

certifications, copies of student aid reports, ACT and/or SAT 

scores, residency affidavits, proof of citizenship or 

permanent residency status and other documents that may be 

utilized in determining eligibility, must be received by 

LASFAC no later than January 15 immediately following the 

deadline for receipt of the student's FAFSA or on-line 

application. 

b. Examples 

 i. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 

eligible Louisiana college or university for the fall semester 

of 2007, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 

application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line 

application is received no later than July 1, 2008, and if all 

the necessary supporting documentation relevant to 

establishing eligibility is in LASFAC's possession by 

January 15, 2009, the student will receive his TOPS award 

(reduced by the number of semesters/terms he enrolled out-

of-state) retroactively beginning the fall semester of 2007. 

 ii. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 

eligible Louisiana college or university for the spring 

semester of 2008, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 

application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line 

application is received no later than July 1, 2008, and if all 

the necessary supporting documentation relevant to 

establishing eligibility is in LASFAC's possession by 

January 15, 2009, the student will receive his TOPS award 

(reduced by the number of semesters/terms he enrolled  

out-of-state) retroactively beginning the spring semester of 

2008. 

 iii. If a returning student enrolls full time in an 

eligible Louisiana college or university for the spring 

semester of 2008, his deadline to file the FAFSA or on-line 

application is July 1, 2008. If his initial FAFSA or on-line 

application is received after July 1, 2008, but no more than 

120 days later, and if all the necessary supporting 

documentation relevant to establishing eligibility is in 

LASFAC's possession by January 15, 2009, the student will 

receive his TOPS award (reduced by the number of 

semesters/terms he enrolled out-of-state and further reduced 

by one additional semester if 1 to 60 days late or by two 
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additional semesters if 61 to 120 days late) retroactively 

beginning the spring semester of 2008. 

D.1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 

LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1847 

(November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 30:1161 

(June 2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 

2004), LR 32:2238 (December 2006), LR 33:2357 (November 

2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 13. Leveraging Educational Assistance 

Partnership (LEAP) 

§1301. General Provisions 

A. - A.2. … 

a. R.S. 17: 3031 

A.2.b -F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 

LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:641 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR 25:1458 (August 1999), 

repromulgated LR 27:1860 (November 2001), amended LR 

28:2332 (November 2002), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 

33:440 (March 2007), LR 34:240 (February 2008), LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG0895NI) until 4:30 p.m., June 9, 2008, 

to Melanie Amrhein, Executive Director, Office of Student 

Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9202. 

 

George Badge Eldredge 

General Counsel 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Overall, the proposed changes will not result in any 

increase or decrease in the expenditure of funds. One portion of 

the change allows schools to bill TOPS for students in 

programs that use an alternative scheduling format. Generally, 

these programs are accelerated to allow completion of an 

academic or technical program in a reduced amount of time but 

also at a higher cost. The proposed change allows schools to 

bill TOPS for these programs at the higher rate, but limits 

payments in these cases to the current TOPS maximum limit. 

Therefore, some costs may be moved from one fiscal year to 

another resulting in a cost increase in one year and a decrease 

in the subsequent year. The net effect is no increase. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 

be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The TOPS program helps students obtain post-secondary 

education. The higher level of education or technical training 

for students will have a positive impact on their earning 

potential and make them more marketable in the job market, 

thus eligible for higher paying jobs. This will provide 

Louisiana employers a better-educated workforce and may also 

attract out-of-state employers to Louisiana thus providing 

additional better paying jobs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The TOPS program affected by these changes allows 

students to seek post-secondary education. Any increase in the 

number of students attending post-secondary education will 

result in an increase in the number of educated/trained workers 

in the state and that will have a positive impact on competition 

and employment. 
 

George Badge Eldredge  H. Gordon Monk 

General Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0805#004 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Tuition Trust Authority 

Office of Student Finanical Assistance 

START Savings Program 

(LAC 28:VI.107, 307, and 315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority announces its 

intention to amend its START Savings Program rules (R.S. 

17:3091 et seq.). 

As required by R.S. 17:3093.D(1)(f), this rulemaking will 

provide the determination of the interest rates paid and 

approved by the state treasurer for deposits in START 

accounts invested in fixed earnings and for the Savings 

Enhancements Fund for the calendar year ending December 

31, 2007. 

This rulemaking will redesignate the maximum of 

deposits in an account for which Earnings Enhancements 

will be paid from "fully funded account" to earnings 

enhancement cap." 

This rulemaking will redesignate references to the 

"earnings enhancements fund" as the "saving enhancement 

fund." 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 

49:972. (ST0894NI) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 

Education Savings 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

Subchapter A. Tuition Trust Authority 

§107. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 

shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 

this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 

includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 

used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 

Earnings Enhancement Cap―the maximum of deposits 

in an account for which Earnings Enhancements will be 

paid. The Earnings Enhancement Cap is reached when an 

account has a current value that is equal to or exceeds five 

times the annual qualified higher education expenses at the 

highest cost Louisiana public college or university, projected 

to the scheduled date of first enrollment. The projected 

qualified higher education expenses at each eligible 
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educational institution shall be updated by the administering 

agency. On the date of the beneficiary's first enrollment in an 

eligible educational institution, the Earnings Enhancement 

Cap will be fixed at five times the annual qualified higher 

education expenses at the highest cost Louisiana public 

college or university, for the academic year of enrollment or 

the projected amount, whichever is greater. 

* * * 

Scheduled Date of First-Enrollment, (for a dependent 

beneficiary)―the month and year in which the beneficiary 

turns 18 years of age. For an independent student over the 

age of 18, the scheduled date of first-enrollment is the date 

the account is opened. This date is used to determine 

eligibility for EEs. See the term earnings enhancement cap. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 

1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 

1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 

27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 

(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 

2002), LR 29:556 (April 2003), LR 30:786 (April 2004), LR 

30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 31:639 

(March 2005), LR 32:1433 (August 2006), LR 32:2240 (December 

2006), LR 33:443 (March 2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 

§307. Allocation of Earnings Enhancements 

A. - F. … 

G. Restrictions on allocation of earnings enhancements 

to education savings accounts. The allocation of earnings 

enhancements is limited to education savings accounts 

which: 

1. have not reached the earnings enhancement cap 

(see §107); and 

G.2 - J.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 

1997), amended LR 24:1271 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 

1999), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), LR 26:2263 (October 2000), LR 

27:37 (January 2001), LR 27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1880 

(November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:788 (April 

2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 34: 

§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - B.5. … 

6. For the year ending December 31, 2001, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 6.38 

percent. 

7. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 5.82 percent. 

8. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 5.91 

percent. 

9. For the year ending December 31, 2003, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 5.33 percent. 

10. For the year ending December 31, 2003, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 5.17 

percent. 

11. For the year ending December 31, 2004, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 4.72 percent. 

12. For the year ending December 31, 2004, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 5.12 

percent. 

13. For the year ending December 31, 2005, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 3.64 percent. 

14. For the year ending December 31, 2005, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 4.92 

percent. 

15. For the year ending December 31, 2006, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 5.11 percent. 

16. For the year ending December 31, 2006, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 4.67 

percent. 

17. For the year ending December 31, 2007, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 

interest rate of 5.28 percent. 

18. For the year ending December 31, 2007, the 

Savings Enhancement Fund earned an interest rate of 5.25 

percent. 

C. - P.1. … 

2. If the change in school results in a change in the 

account's earnings enhancement cap or maximum allowable 

account balance, the account owner will be notified. 

Q. - S.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 

1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), 

repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended LR 27:1221 

(August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 28:1761 

(August 2002), LR 28:2335 (November 2002), LR 29:2038 

(October 2003), repromulgated LR 29:2374 (November 2003), 

amended LR 30:791 (April 2004), LR 30:1472 (July 2004), LR 

31:2216 (September 2005), LR 32:1434 (August 2006), LR 

32:2240 (December 2006), LR 33:2359 (November 2007), LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (ST0894NI) until 4:30 p.m., June 9, 2008, 

to Melanie Amrhein, Executive Director, Office of Student 

Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 

70821-9202. 

 

George Badge Eldredge 

General Counsel 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  START Savings Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 

state or local governmental units as a result of these changes.
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This amendment reflects the actual earnings realized by 

START account owners who invested in the Louisiana 

Principal Protection investment option and the actual earnings 

realized on the investment of Earnings Enhancements. This 

increase in START funds belongs to the account owner (it is 

not state general fund money), and no expenditure of state 

general funds is required. No cost to the state will result from 

this change. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 

be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

These changes adopt the actual interest rates for deposits 

made to the START Louisiana Principal Protection investment 

option and earnings enhancements for the year ending 

December 31, 2006. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on competition and 

employment resulting from these measures. 

 

George Eldredge H. Gordon Monk 

General Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0804#003 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs Division 

2007 Incorporation by Reference for Air Quality 

(LAC 33:III.507, 2160, 3003,  

5116, 5122, 5311, and 5901)(AQ293ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 

initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.507, 

2160, 3003, 5116, 5122, 5311, and 5901 (Log #AQ293ft). 

This proposed Rule is identical to federal regulations 

found in 40 CFR Parts 51, Appendix M, 60, 61, 63, 68, and 

70.6(a) (July 1, 2007); 72 FR 2930-2961 (1/23/07), 38864-

38917 (7/16/07), 73180-73211 (12/26/07), 73611-73625 

(12/28/07), and 74088-74116 (12/28/07); and 73 FR 226-265 

(1/2/08), 1738-1768 (1/9/08), 1916-1953 (1/10/08), 3568-

3614 (1/18/08), 15923-15930 (3/26/08), and 17252-17257 

(4/1/08), which are applicable in Louisiana. For more 

information regarding the federal requirement, contact the 

Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550 or Box 

4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302. No fiscal or economic 

impact will result from the proposed Rule. This Rule will be 

promulgated in accordance with the procedures in R.S. 

49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

The proposed Rule incorporates by reference (IBR) into 

the Air regulations, LAC 33:Part III, the following federal 

regulations in the July 1, 2007, edition of the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR): 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix M, 

Capture Efficiency Test Procedures; 40 CFR Part 60,

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, 

including two new subparts; 40 CFR Part 61, National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 

(NESHAP); 40 CFR Part 63, NESHAP for Source 

Categories; 40 CFR Part 68, Chemical Accident Prevention 

and Minimization of Consequences; and 40 CFR 70.6(a), 

Part 70 Operating Permits Program. Also incorporated are 

subsequent revisions to 40 CFR Part 63 promulgated in the 

Federal Register. Any exception to the IBR is explicitly 

listed in the regulations. In order for Louisiana to maintain 

equivalency with federal regulations, the most current Code 

of Federal Regulations must be adopted into the LAC. This 

rulemaking is necessary to maintain delegation authority 

granted to Louisiana by the Environmental Protection 

Agency. The basis and rationale for this rule are to mirror the 

federal regulations as they apply to Louisiana's affected 

sources. This proposed Rule meets an exception listed in 

R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 

report regarding environmental/health benefits and 

social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 

Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 

§507. Part 70 Operating Permits Program 

A. - B.1. … 

2. No Part 70 source may operate after the time that 

the owner or operator of such source is required to submit a 

permit application under Subsection C of this Section, unless 

an application has been submitted by the submittal deadline 

and such application provides information addressing all 

applicable sections of the application form and has been 

certified as complete in accordance with LAC 

33:III.517.B.1. No Part 70 source may operate after the 

deadline provided for supplying additional information 

requested by the permitting authority under LAC 33:III.519, 

unless such additional information has been submitted 

within the time specified by the permitting authority. Permits 

issued to the Part 70 source under this Section shall include 

the elements required by 40 CFR 70.6. The department 

hereby adopts and incorporates by reference the provisions 

of 40 CFR 70.6(a), July 1, 2007. Upon issuance of the 

permit, the Part 70 source shall be operated in compliance 

with all terms and conditions of the permit. Noncompliance 

with any federally applicable term or condition of the permit 

shall constitute a violation of the Clean Air Act and shall be 

grounds for enforcement action; for permit termination, 

revocation and reissuance, or revision; or for denial of a 

permit renewal application. 

C. - J.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011, 2023, 2024, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 

Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 

Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 

Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1375 (December 

1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2447 (November 2000), 

LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29:698
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(May 2003), LR 30:1008 (May 2004), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1061 (May 2005), LR 31:1568 

(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 31:2437 (October 2005), LR 32:808 (May 2006), LR 

33:1619 (August 2007), LR 33:2083 (October 2007), LR 33:2630 

(December 2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 

Compounds 

Subchapter N. Method 43Capture Efficiency Test 

Procedures 
NOTE: This Subchapter was moved and renumbered from 

Chapter 61 (December 1996). 

§2160. Procedures 

A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 

the regulations at 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix M, July 1, 

2007, are hereby incorporated by reference. 

B. - C.2.b.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:653 (July 1991), amended 

LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1680 (December 1997), LR 

24:1286 (July 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:1224 

(August 2001), LR 29:698 (May 2003), LR 30:1009 (May 2004), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1568 

(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 32:809 (May 2006), LR 33:1620 (August 2007), LR 

34: 

Chapter 30. Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources (NSPS) 

Subchapter A. Incorporation by Reference 

§3003. Incorporation by Reference of 40 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 60 

A. Except for 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAA, and as 

modified in this Section, Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources, published in the Code of Federal 

Regulations at 40 CFR Part 60, July 1, 2007, are hereby 

incorporated by reference as they apply to the state of 

Louisiana. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 22:1212 (December 1996), 

amended LR 23:1681 (December 1997), LR 24:1287 (July 1998), 

LR 24:2238 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 

25:1239 (July 1999), LR 25:1797 (October 1999), LR 26:1607 

(August 2000), LR 26:2460, 2608 (November 2000), LR 27:2229 

(December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 28:2179 (October 

2002), LR 29:316 (March 2003), LR 29:698 (May 2003), LR 

30:1009 (May 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, LR 31:1568 (July 2005), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2446 (October 2005), LR 

32:809 (May 2006), LR 32:1596 (September 2006), LR 33:1620 

(August 2007), LR 33:2092 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 

(December 2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant 

Emission Control Program 

Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 61 (National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants) 

§5116. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 61 

(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants) 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 

below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants, published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 

40 CFR Part 61, July 1, 2007, and specifically listed in the 

following table, are hereby incorporated by reference as they 

apply to sources in the state of Louisiana. 

 
40 CFR Part 61 Subpart/Appendix Heading 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Subpart A – Appendix C] 

 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997), 

amended LR 23:1658 (December 1997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1464 (August 1999), LR 

25:1797 (October 1999), LR 26:2271 (October 2000), LR 27:2230 

(December 2001), LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2179 (October 

2002), LR 29:699 (May 2003), LR 30:1009 (May 2004), amended 

by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1569 (July 

2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 31:2448 (October 2005), LR 32:809 (May 2006), LR 

33:1620 (August 2007), LR 33:2094 (October 2007), LR 34: 

Subchapter C. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 63 (National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories) as It Applies to Major 

Sources 

§5122. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63 

(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants for Source Categories) as It Applies to 

Major Sources 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 

below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants for Source Categories, published in the Code of 

Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 63, July 1, 2007, are 

hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to major 

sources in the state of Louisiana. Also incorporated by 

reference are revisions to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart ZZZZ as 

promulgated on January 18, 2008, in the Federal Register, 

73 FR 3568-3614, applicable to major sources. 

B. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997),
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amended LR 23:1659 (December 1997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998), 

LR 24:2240 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 

25:1464 (August 1999), LR 25:1798 (October 1999), LR 26:690 

(April 2000), LR 26:2271 (October 2000), LR 27:2230 (December 

2001), LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2180 (October 2002), LR 

29:699 (May 2003), LR 29:1474 (August 2003), LR 30:1010 (May 

2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 31:2449 (October 2005), LR 31:3115 (December 

2005), LR 32:810 (May 2006), LR 33:1620 (August 2007), LR 

33:2095 (October 2007), LR 33:2677 (December 2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 53. Area Sources of Toxic Air Pollutants 

Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR 

Part 63 (National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories) as It Applies to Area Sources 

§5311. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63 

(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants for Source Categories) as It Applies to 

Area Sources 

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified 

below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants for Source Categories, published in the Code of 

Federal Regulations at 40 CFR Part 63, July 1, 2007, are 

hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to area 

sources in the state of Louisiana. Also incorporated by 

reference are the revisions to 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart M as 

promulgated on April 1, 2008, in the Federal Register, 73 

FR 17252-17257; Subpart WWWWW as promulgated on 

December 28, 2007, in the Federal Register, 72 FR 73611-

73625; Subpart YYYYY as promulgated on December 28, 

2007, in the Federal Register, 72 FR 74088-74116; Subpart 

ZZZZZ as promulgated on January 2, 2008, in the Federal 

Register, 73 FR 226-265; Subparts BBBBBB-CCCCCC as 

promulgated on January 10, 2008, in the Federal Register, 

73 FR 1916-1953; Subparts DDDDDD-GGGGGG as 

promulgated on January 23, 2007, in the Federal Register, 

72 FR 2930-2961; Subpart HHHHHH as promulgated on 

January 9, 2008, in the Federal Register, 73 FR 1738-1768; 

Subparts LLLLLL–QQQQQQ as promulgated on July 16, 

2007, in the Federal Register, 72 FR 38864-38917; Subparts 

RRRRRR-TTTTTT as promulgated on December 26, 2007, 

in the Federal Register, 72 FR 73180-73211; and 

amendments to Subparts LLLLLL-QQQQQQ as 

promulgated on March 26, 2008, in the Federal Register, 73 

FR 15923-15930, applicable to area sources. 
 

40 CFR Part 63 Subpart/Appendix Heading - Repealed 
 

B. Copies of documents incorporated by reference in this 

Chapter may be obtained from the Superintendent of 

Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington, 

D.C. 20242 or their website, 

www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html, from the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental 

Assessment, or from a public library. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:63 (January 1997), 

amended LR 23:1660 (December 1997), LR 24:1279 (July 1998), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1464 (August 1999), LR 

27:2230 (December 2001), LR 28:995 (May 2002), LR 28:2180 

(October 2002), LR 29:699 (May 2003), LR 30:1010 (May 2004), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1569 

(July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 31:2451 (October 2005), LR 32:810 (May 2006), LR 

33:1620 (August 2007), LR 33:2096 (October 2007), LR 34: 

Chapter 59. Chemical Accident Prevention and 

Minimization of Consequences 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§5901. Incorporation by Reference of Federal 

Regulations 

A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, 

the department incorporates by reference 40 CFR Part 68, 

July 1, 2007. 

B. - C.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2063. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:421 (April 1994), amended 

LR 22:1124 (November 1996), repromulgated LR 22:1212 

(December 1996), amended LR 24:652 (April 1998), LR 25:425 

(March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:70 (January 

2000), LR 26:2272 (October 2000), LR 28:463 (March 2002), LR 

29:699 (May 2003), LR 30:1010 (May 2004), amended by the 

Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2463 (November 

2004), LR 31:1570 (July 2005), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:810 (May 2006), LR 

33:1621 (August 2007), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 2008, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 

Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 

comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 

with a disability need an accommodation in order to 

participate, contact Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., at the 

address given below or at (225) 219-3550. Parking in the 

Galvez Garage is free with a validated parking ticket. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 

should reference this proposed regulation by AQ293ft. Such 

comments must be received no later than June 24, 2008, at 

4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., 

Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, Box 4302, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-3582 or 

by e-mail to judith.schuerman@la.gov. The comment period 

for this rule ends on the same date as the public hearing. 

Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased by 

contacting the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-

3168. Check or money order is required in advance for each 

copy of AQ293ft. This regulation is available on the Internet 

at www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 

following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 

602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 

546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 

Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 

Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 
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Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 

70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471. 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM 

Executive Counsel 
0804#012 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs Division 

Electronic Documents and Signatures 

(LAC 33:I.2101, 2103, 2105, and 2107)(OS079) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 

initiated to adopt the Office of the Secretary regulations, 

LAC 33:I.2101, 2103, 2105, and 2107 (Log #OS079). 

This Rule will establish procedures for the use of 

electronic documents and electronic signatures associated 

with documents that are required for compliance with the 

environmental regulations and are submitted to and 

processed by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

Electronic submittal of documents will be a voluntary 

process offered to the regulated community. The federal 

Cross-Media Electronic Reporting Rule (CROMERR) sets 

standards for EPA-delegated programs to receive electronic 

documents and electronic signatures. The federal rule was 

promulgated on October 13, 2005, and was published at 70 

FR 59848. CROMERR standards must be established by the 

states to provide security and validation for documents and 

those submitting the documents for compliance purposes to 

the department. The department is given authority in R.S. 

30:2043(D) and (E) to regulate the use of electronic 

documents and electronic signatures. This Rule provides the 

process required for acceptance of these documents as 

mandated by the statutes and in order to be in compliance 

with CROMERR. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 

comply with R.S. 30:2043(D) and (E) and the federal 

CROMERR application process. This proposed Rule meets 

an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 

49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 

environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 

required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 

Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 21. Electronic Submittals and Electronic 

Signatures 

§2101. Purpose 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 30:2043, electronic documents will 

be accepted by the department in satisfaction of the 

requirements of department regulations, notwithstanding any 

other department regulation to the contrary. 

B. This Chapter provides for the submittal of electronic 

documents and electronic signatures to the department as 

original documents to meet requirements set forth in 

department regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2043 and 9:2601.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 34: 

§2103. Definitions 

A. For all purposes of this Chapter, the terms defined in 

this Section shall have the following meanings, unless the 

context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

Electronic Document—any document in electronic, 

magnetic, optical, or other format, except an audio 

recording, used to create, transfer, approve, or store the 

document for subsequent retrieval. This may include data, 

text, codes, computer programs, software, or databases. 

Electronic Document Receiving System—a set of 

apparatus, procedures, software, and/or records used to 

receive electronic documents. 

Electronic Signature—any information in digital form 

that is included in or logically associated with an electronic 

document for the purpose of expressing the same meaning 

and intention as would a handwritten signature if affixed to 

an equivalent paper document with the same reference to the 

same content. An electronic document bears or has on it an 

electronic signature when it includes or has logically 

associated with it such information. 

Subscriber—a person who has submitted a subscriber 

agreement to the department and has received authorization 

from the department to submit electronic documents using 

one of the department's electronic document receiving 

systems. 

Subscriber Agreement—a document drafted by the 

department and signed with a handwritten wet ink signature 

by a person as defined in R.S. 30:2004, or with respect to an 

electronic signature device that the person will use to create 

his or her electronic signature, and whereon the person 

acknowledges the obligations connected with preventing 

compromise of the electronic signature device. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2043 and 9:2601. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 34: 

§2105. Procedures 

A. Any person may submit an electronic document to the 

department, in lieu of a paper document, provided that: 

1. the person has executed the proper subscriber 

agreement in accordance with department instructions; 

2. the secretary has first published a notice on the 

department's website announcing that the department is 

prepared to receive, in electronic form, documents submitted 

to satisfy the requirements of one or more specific programs; 

3. the person transmits the electronic document to an 

electronic document receiving system designated by the 

department for the receipt of such submissions, complying 

with the system's requirements for submission; and 

4. the electronic document bears valid electronic 

signatures at all locations where the signatory would be 

required to sign the paper document for which the electronic 

document substitutes. 

B. Each subscriber agreement shall include one or more 

handwritten wet ink signatures, receive approval from the 
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department, and be retained on file with the department 

while the subscriber agreement is active and for an 

additional five years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2043 and 9:2601. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 34: 

§2107. Enforcement 

A. A person who submits an electronic document and 

fails to comply with the provisions of this Chapter is subject 

to penalties and remedies for failure to comply with 

department reporting requirements. 

B. When an electronic document bears an electronic 

signature, the electronic signature legally binds, obligates, 

and makes the signatory responsible, to the same extent as 

the signatory's handwritten signature would on a paper 

document. 

C. Nothing in this Chapter limits the use of an electronic 

document or information derived from electronic documents 

as evidence in enforcement or other proceedings. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2043 and 9:2601. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 

Division, LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 2008, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 

Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 

comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 

with a disability need an accommodation in order to 

participate, contact Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., at the 

address given below or at (225) 219-3550. Parking in the 

Galvez Garage is free with a validated parking ticket. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 

should reference this proposed regulation by OS079. Such 

comments must be received no later than July 1, 2008, at 

4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., 

Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, Box 4302, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-3582 or 

by e-mail to judith.schuerman@la.gov. Copies of this 

proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 

DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 

money order is required in advance for each copy of OS079. 

This regulation is available on the Internet at 

www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 

following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 

602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 

546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 

Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 

Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 

Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 

70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471. 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM 

Executive Counsel 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Electronic Documents and Signatures 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The electronic submittal of documents to the department 

that is provided for in this proposed rule will be voluntary. The 

computer program was developed as a small task of a larger 

enhancement to the department's database system with funding 

acquired from an EPA grant of $498,250.00. Therefore, no 

additional expenditure of state money will be used for the 

development of the electronic submittal program. Once the 

program is in place and operational it will allow alternatives for 

submittal of documents that will reduce the handling of 

paperwork and ultimately decrease staff workload. This 

proposed rule will allow local governmental staff to submit 

compliance documents electronically, which will decrease their 

expenditures for postage, document preparation, and staff 

handling. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no change in revenue collections for state or 

local governments. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This program is voluntary, but those in the regulated 

community who choose to use the process could see a savings 

as a result of the proposed action. Paperwork and document 

preparation costs are greatly reduced when submitting 

documents electronically. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There will be no affect on competition or employment. 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM H. Gordon Monk 

Executive Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0804#026 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs Division 

Lyondell Delisting Petition 

(LAC 33:V.4999)(HW099P) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 

initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste regulations, LAC 

33:V.4999.Appendix E (Log #HW099P). 

Lyondell Chemical Company is petitioning to exclude 

from the hazardous waste regulations (delist) the company's 

incinerator direct contact cooling wastewater and fire 

suppression automatic sprinkler ("deluge") system 

wastewater. The incinerator design uses direct contact 

cooling water to quench and scrub hot combustion gases 

resulting from the destruction of the listed hazardous waste. 

This primary cooling wastewater is blown down and pH-
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adjusted before being discharged at an LPDES-permitted 

outfall. Also, when the normal cooling water system fails, 

wastewater may be generated from the activation of the fire 

suppression automatic sprinkler ("deluge") backup system 

for the incinerator. The cooling wastewater effluent is 

currently being discharged after treatment under the facility's 

LPDES permit. After delisting, this effluent will continue to 

be discharged under the facility's LPDES permit. Routine 

operational and regulatory costs for Lyondell will not 

change. Lyondell is seeking agency approval to delist, or 

exclude, the wastewater from the definition of "derived 

from" hazardous waste to reduce its potential liability 

resulting from an unplanned, non-recurring cooling system 

release (spill or leak) or catastrophic event (fire). 

The delisting program is regulated by LAC 33:V.105, 

which includes a formal rulemaking process. Applicants who 

wish to remove a waste from the list of hazardous wastes 

must submit a petition and satisfy all requirements of LAC 

33:V.105. The department has reviewed Lyondell's petition 

and found that it satisfies the delisting requirements in LAC 

33:V.105.M. The department used the Delisting Risk 

Assessment Software (DRAS) in the evaluation of the 

impact of the petitioned waste on human health and the 

environment. The department's proposed action to grant the 

petition is based on an evaluation of waste-specific 

information provided by the petitioner. Based on the 

information submitted by Lyondell, the results of the 

analytical data, and the results of the DRAS, the department 

has determined that the nature of this material does not 

warrant retaining the material as a hazardous waste. 

Also included in this Rule is a reorganization of Table 1 in 

LAC 33:V.4999.Appendix E, such that the entries are listed 

in alphabetical order by facility name. Another clarification 

made is that facilities granted one-time exclusions, as 

opposed to conditional exclusions, are moved from Table 1 

to Table 2. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to grant 

the petition on an evaluation of waste-specific information 

provided by the petitioner. This proposed Rule meets an 

exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 

49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 

environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 

required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 

Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 

§4999. Appendices—Appendix A, B, C, D, and E 

Appendix A. - D. … 

Appendix E. Wastes Excluded under LAC 33:V.105.M 

A. Each facility granted a conditional exclusion must 

comply with the specific conditions for the waste exclusion 

as listed in Table 1 of this Appendix. Each facility granted a 

one-time exclusion is listed in Table 2 of this Appendix. 

Each waste exclusion listed in Table 1 shall begin with a 

waste description and include details for the following 

conditions: 

A.1. - B.3.b. … 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

BFI Waste Systems of Louisiana LLC, Colonial Landfill,  

Sorrento, LA 

* * * 

[see prior text] 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

DuPont Dow Elastomers LLC, LaPlace, LA 

* * * 

[see prior text] 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

Lyondell Chemical Company, Lake Charles, LA 

Incinerator direct contact cooling wastewater and fire suppression 

automatic sprinkler ("deluge") system wastewater are generated at a 

maximum annual generation rate of 800,000 cubic yards (162 million 
gallons) per year. Lyondell’s wastestream includes the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) hazardous waste codes 

D001, D019, D021, D030, F002, F003, K027, K112-114, U037, U221, 
and U223. The constituents of concern for these waste codes are listed 

in LAC 33:V.4901. This exclusion applies only to incinerator direct 

contact cooling wastewater and fire suppression automatic sprinkler 

("deluge") system wastewater at the Lake Charles, LA facility. The 

cooling wastewater effluent is currently being discharged after 

treatment under the facility’s LPDES permit. After delisting, this 
effluent will continue to be discharged under the facility’s LPDES 

permit. 

  (1). Testing 
Sample collection and analyses, including quality control (QC) 

procedures, must be performed according to methods described in Test 

Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA 
Publication SW-846, as incorporated by reference in LAC 33:V.110. 

  (1)(A). Inorganic Testing 

During the first 12 consecutive months of this exclusion, Lyondell 

must collect and analyze one monthly grab water sample from the fire 
water pond and one monthly grab water sample from the incinerator 

blowdown stream. These two monthly samples must be analyzed for 

the constituents listed in condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the 
source water. Lyondell must report to the department the unit operating 

conditions and analytical data (reported in milligrams per liter), for 

arsenic, barium, chromium, lead, nickel, vanadium, and zinc, including 
quality control information. If the department and Lyondell concur that 

the analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly testing periods 

have been significantly below the delisting levels in condition (3)(A), 
Lyondell may replace the testing required in condition (1)(A) with the 

testing required in condition (1)(B). 

  (1)(B). Subsequent Inorganic Testing 

After concurrence by the department, Lyondell may substitute the 
following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(A). Lyondell 

must continue to analyze quarterly grab water samples from the fire 

water pond and the incinerator blowdown stream. Lyondell must report 
to the department the unit operating conditions and analytical data 

(reported in milligrams per liter), for arsenic, barium, chromium, lead, 
nickel, vanadium, and zinc, including quality control information. Grab 

water samples from the fire water pond and the incinerator blowdown 

stream must be taken during the first month of each quarterly period. 
These quarterly samples must be analyzed for the constituents listed in 

condition (3)(A) prior to disposal of the source water. If delisting levels 

for any constituents listed in condition (3)(A) are exceeded in any 

quarterly sample, Lyondell must re-institute testing as required in 

condition (1)(A). 

 (1)(C). Organic Testing 

During the first 12 consecutive months of this exclusion, Lyondell 
must collect and analyze one monthly grab water sample from the fire 

water pond and one monthly grab water sample from the incinerator 

blowdown stream. These two monthly samples must be analyzed for 
the constituents listed in condition (3)(B) prior to disposal of the source 

water. Lyondell must report to the department the unit operating 

conditions and analytical data (reported in milligrams per liter), for 2,4-
dinitrotoluene, bromoform, chloroform, and hexachlorobenzene, 

including quality control information. If the department and Lyondell 

concur that the analytical results obtained during the 12 monthly 
testing periods have been significantly below the delisting levels in 

condition (3)(B), Lyondell may replace the testing required in 

condition (1)(C) with the testing required in condition (1)(D). 
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Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

Lyondell Chemical Company, Lake Charles, LA 

  (1)(D). Subsequent Organic Testing 
After concurrence by the department, Lyondell may substitute the 

following testing conditions for those in condition (1)(C). Lyondell 

must continue to analyze quarterly grab water samples from the fire 
water pond and the incinerator blowdown stream. Lyondell must report 

to the department the unit operating conditions and analytical data 

(reported in milligrams per liter), for 2,4-dinitrotoluene, bromoform, 
chloroform, and hexachlorobenzene, including quality control 

information. Grab water samples from the fire water pond and the 

incinerator blowdown stream must be taken during the first month of 
each quarterly period. These quarterly samples must be analyzed for 

the constituents listed in condition (3)(B) prior to disposal of the source 

water. If delisting levels for any constituents listed in condition (3)(B) 
are exceeded in any quarterly sample, Lyondell must re-institute testing 

as required in condition (1)(C). 

  (2). Waste Holding and Handling 

Lyondell must treat water in the fire water pond and the incinerator 
blowdown stream as hazardous wastes until the verification testing is 

completed, as specified in conditions (1)(A) - (1)(D), and the 

wastewater has satisfied the delisting criteria, as specified in condition 
(3). If the levels of constituents in the samples from the fire water pond 

and the incinerator blowdown stream are below all of the applicable 

levels set forth in condition (3), then the incinerator direct contact 
cooling wastewater and the fire suppression automatic sprinkler 

("deluge") system wastewater thereby become nonhazardous. If 
hazardous constituent levels in any monthly grab sample equal or 

exceed any of the delisting levels set in condition (3), the wastewater 

must be managed and disposed of in accordance with Subtitle C of 
RCRA until the wastewater meets the delisting levels. Lyondell must 

repeat the analyses for the constituents listed in conditions (3)(A) and 

(3)(B) prior to disposal. 

  (3). Delisting Levels 
Concentrations in conditions (3)(A) and (3)(B) must be measured in 

the extract from the samples by the method specified in LAC 

33:V.4903.E. All concentrations in the wastewater must be less than the 
following levels (all units are milligrams per liter). 

  (3)(A). Inorganic Constituents (all units are milligrams per liter) 

arsenic—0.5; barium—50.0; chromium—1.0; lead—1.0; nickel—10.0; 

vanadium—15; and zinc—200. 

  (3)(B). Organic Constituents (all units are milligrams per liter) 

2,4-dinitroluene-—0.02; bromoform—10.0, chloroform—0.14; 

hexachlorobenzene—0.13. 

  (4). Changes in Operating Conditions 
If Lyondell significantly changes the operating conditions specified in 

the petition, Lyondell must notify the department in writing. Following 

receipt of written approval by the department, Lyondell must re-
institute the testing required in conditions (1)(A) and (1)(C) for a 

minimum of four consecutive months. Lyondell must report unit 

operating conditions and test data required by conditions (1)(A) and 
(1)(C), including quality control data, obtained during this period no 

later than 60 days after the changes take place. Following written 

notification by the department, Lyondell may replace testing conditions 
(1)(A) and (1)(C) with (1)(B) and (1)(D). Lyondell must fulfill all other 

requirements in condition (1). 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

Marathon Oil Co., Garyville, LA 

* * * 

[see prior text] 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

Motiva Enterprises LLC, Norco, LA 

* * * 

[see prior text] 

 

Table 1 - Wastes Excluded 

Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc., St. Gabriel, LA 

* * * 

[see prior text] 

 

Table 2 - One-Time Wastes Excluded 

Murphy Exploration and Production Company, Amelia, LA 

Hazardous waste incinerator ash was generated by the combustion of 

hazardous wastes and nonhazardous wastes in a rotary kiln incinerator 

at Marine Shale Processors in Amelia, LA. In 1986 and 1987, this ash 
was used as fill material for the Rim Tide barge slip area at Murphy 

Exploration and Production Company (Murphy) in Amelia, Louisiana. 

For the purpose of this exclusion, ash used as fill material by Murphy 
includes all hazardous waste codes listed in LAC 33:V.4901. This is a 

one-time exclusion for a maximum volume of 6,200 cubic yards of ash 

subsequent to its excavation from the Rim Tide barge slip area at 
Murphy for the purpose of transportation and disposal in a Subtitle D 

landfill after June 20, 2007. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), amended 

by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 

Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:830 (September 

1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 

Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 

25:2397 (December 1999), LR 26:2509 (November 2000), LR 

29:1084 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1475 (August 2003), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2464 

(November 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 

Affairs Division, LR 33:445 (March 2007), LR 33:825 (May 2007), 

LR 33:1016 (June 2007), LR 34:73 (January 2008), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 2008, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 

Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 

comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 

with a disability need an accommodation in order to 

participate, contact Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., at the 

address given below or at (225) 219-3550. Parking in the 

Galvez Garage is free with a validated parking ticket. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 

should reference this proposed regulation by HW099P. Such 

comments must be received no later than July 1, 2008, at 

4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Judith A. Schuerman, Ph.D., 

Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, Box 4302, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-3582 or 

by e-mail to judith.schuerman@la.gov. Copies of this 

proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 

DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 

money order is required in advance for each copy of 

HW099P. This regulation is available on the Internet at 

www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 

following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 

602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 

546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 

Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 

Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 

Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 

70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471. 
 

Herman Robinson, CPM 

Executive Counsel 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Lyondell Delisting Petition 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No costs to state governmental units or local governmental 

units are expected due to implementation of this proposed 

change. Similarly, no savings to state or local governmental 

units is anticipated. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No effect on revenue collections of state or local 

governmental units is anticipated. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Only Lyondell will be directly affected, and then only if a 

system failure or catastrophic event generates wastewater that 

otherwise would be classified as "derived from" hazardous 

waste. The proposed action will provide Lyondell a reduction 

in workload, paperwork, recordkeeping, and discharge/disposal 

costs associated with such an event, including potential 

liability. A past occurrence resulted in additional costs of 

$501,139 for Lyondell. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

No effect on competition and/or employment is anticipated. 

 

Herman Robinson, CPM H. Gordon Monk 

Executive Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0805#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Board of Architectural Examiners 

Examination and Practical Experience  

(LAC 46:I.701 and 1107) 

Under the authority of R.S. 37:144(C) and in accordance 

with the provisions of R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Board of 

Architectural Examiners ("board") gives notice that 

rulemaking procedures have been initiated for the 

amendment of LAC 46:I.701 and the adoption of LAC 

46:I.1107. Since the late 1980's, the board has required the 

completion of the Intern Development Program ("IDP") 

administered by the National Council of Architectural 

Registration Boards as a condition for taking the 

Architectural Registration Examination ("ARE"). The 

amendment to LAC 46:I.701 will for the first time allow a 

candidate to take the ARE upon enrollment in IDP. The 

adoption of LAC 46:I.1107 will require the satisfactory 

completion of IDP prior to initial licensure. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part I.  Architects 

Chapter 7. Application for Examination 

§701. Making Application for Architectural 

Registration Examination 

A. - B. ... 

C. For the purpose of qualifying for the examination, the 

applicant shall: 

1. be of good moral character; 

2. have paid his debt to society if he has ever been 

convicted of a felony; 

3. be the holder of a professional degree from a school 

whose curriculum has been accredited by the National 

Architectural Accrediting Board; and 

4. be enrolled in the Intern Development Program 

administered by the National Council of Architectural 

Registration Boards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated and amended in 

accordance with R.S. 37:144-45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:562 (April 

2003), amended LR 34: 

Chapter 11. Certificates 

§1107. Practical Experience 

A. To obtain an initial license to practice architecture in 

Louisiana, an applicant must present satisfactory evidence to 

the board of either practical experience of training or 

experience in the field of architecture. This experience may 

be demonstrated only by: 

1. satisfactory completion of the training requirements 

delineated by the National Council of Registration Boards in 

the Intern Development Program; or 

2. a certificate record certified by the National 

Council of Registration Boards that the applicant is currently 

registered to practice architecture in another state. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated and amended in 

accordance with R.S. 37:144-45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule of the Louisiana State Board of 

Architectural Examiners should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 

49:972.D or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 

Specifically, there should be no known or foreseeable effect 

on: 
1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family's earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the family's ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

proposed Rule to Mary "Teeny" Simmons, Executive 

Director, Board of Architectural Examiners, 9625 Fenway 

Ave., Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 

Mary "Teeny" Simmons 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Examination and Practical Experience 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs (savings) to state or local 

governmental units associated with this proposed rule. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule may result in a small increase in the 

number of newly licensed architects in this state, and therefore 

may slightly increase initial and renewal licensing fees paid to 

the Board of Architectural Examiners. However, since it is 

unknown how many candidates will attempt to become 

licensed at a date earlier than presently allowed and how many 

will be successful in that attempt, any increase in revenue 

collections is impossible to estimate. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule may be of economic benefit to those 

candidates who choose to take the architectural registration 

examination and become licensed as architects at a date earlier 

than presently allowed. The amount of this benefit is 

impossible to estimate, since it is unknown how many 

candidates will attempt to avail themselves of this opportunity 

and how many will succeed. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rule may have some effect upon competition 

or employment, since it may result in a small increase in the 

number of newly licensed architects in this state. However, the 

market is presently favorable for architectural work, and there 

are ample employment opportunities for newly licensed 

architects. Although the exact effect is impossible to estimate, 

it is anticipated that any effect upon competition or 

employment will be minimal. 

 

Mary "Teeny" Simmons H. Gordon Monk 

Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0804#024 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Commission on Law Enforcement and  

Administration of Criminal Justice 

Peace Officer Training  

(LAC 22:III.4709 and 4731) 

In accordance with the provision of R.S. 40:2401 et seq., 

the Peace Officer Standards and Training Act, and R.S. 

40:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, the Peace 

Officer Standards and Training Council hereby gives notice 

of its intent to promulgate rules and regulations relative to 

the training of peace officers. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND  

LAW ENFORCEMENT 

Part III.  Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 

Subpart 4.  Peace Officers 

Chapter 47. Standards and Training 

§4709. Interruption of Full-Time Service 

A. - A.2. ... 

B. Any officer hired after January, l986, who interrupts 

his full-time law enforcement service for a period not to 

exceed five years, must qualify with his/her firearms to 

reinstate their certification. If the officer fails to requalify, 

then the officer must attend a full 40 hour training course 

with firearms and successfully requalify to reinstate their

certification. If the officer had interrupted his full time 

service for a period of five years, then the officer must meet 

the requirements for "refreshers" outlined in §4709.A.2. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 

Criminal Justice, LR 13:434 (August 1987), amended LR 25:664 

(April l999), LR 31:3159 (December 2005), LR 34: 

§4731. Revocation of Certification 

A. - C. ... 

D. Any hearings conducted by the council shall be 

conducted according to guidelines established by the 

council. 

E. Any peace officer whose certification has been 

revoked by the council may file an appeal under the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act under R.S. 

49:964. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 

Criminal Justice, LR 25:665 (April 1999), amended LR 34: 

Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

proposed rule no later than August 6, 2008, at 5 p.m. to Bob 

Wertz, Peace Officer Standards and Training Council, 

Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement, 1885 

Wooddale Boulevard, Room 1230, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. 

 

Judy Dupuy 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Peace Officer Training 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will potentially result 

in a decrease in expenditures for state and local government 

units because the proposal will clarify the break in service time 

in which a peace officer must requalify and may result in a 

reduction in training costs. The exact amount of savings cannot 

be quantified at this time. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will not affect revenue 

collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The revenues of the POST accredited training academies, 

which provide the training, may be negatively impacted. To the 

extent that officers are no longer required to attend "refreshers" 

courses, revenues generated by training academies will be 

reduced. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment as 

a result of this rule change. 

 
Judy Dupuy H. Gordon Monk 

Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0805#062 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Office of Elderly Affairs 

State Plan on Aging (LAC 4:VII.1301-1305) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Governor's 

Office of Elderly Affairs (GOEA) intends to amend LAC 

4:VII.1301-1305. 

The purpose of this amended Rule is to acknowledge that 

the Office of Elderly Affairs will develop a State Plan that 

will be submitted to the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Administration on Aging to receive grants 

from its allotment under Title III of the Older Americans Act 

of 1965 as amended (the Act). Title III authorizes formula 

grants to state agencies on aging to assist states and local 

communities to develop comprehensive and coordinated 

systems for the delivery of services to older persons. 

Title 4 

ADMINISTRATION 

Part VII.  Governor's Office 

Chapter 13. State Plan on Aging 

§1301. State Plan on Aging 

A. To receive funding from the Older Americans Act the 

State Agency on Aging must have an approved State Plan on 

Aging. This plan must be on file with the Administration on 

Aging and be available for public review. At the minimum, 

the plan must include: 

1. identification by the state of the sole state agency 

that has been designated to develop and administer the plan; 

2. statewide program objectives to implement the 

requirements under Title III of the Act and any objectives 

established by the commissioner through the rulemaking 

process; 

3. a resource allocation plan indicating the proposed 

use of all Title III funds administered by the state agency and 

the distribution of Title III funds to each planning and 

service area; 

4. identification of the geographic boundaries of each 

planning and service area and of area agencies on aging; 

5. prior federal fiscal year information related to low 

income minority and rural older individuals; 

6. all assurances and provisions as outlined in the 

Older Americans Act and regulations, as well as the 

following assurances: 

a. reference is given to older persons in greatest 

social or economic need in the provision of services under 

the plan; 

b. procedures exit to ensure that all services under 

this part are provided without use of any means tests; 

c. all services provided under Title III meet any 

existing state and local licensing, health and safety 

requirements for the provisions of those services; 

d. older persons are provided opportunities to 

voluntarily contribute to the cost of services; 

e. other such assurances as are needed for 

compliance with the Act, regulations, other applicable 

federal law, state statutes, and/or state policy. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:932(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 11:342 (April 1985), 

amended LR 12:366 (June 1986), LR 12:511 (August 1986), LR 

13:569 (October 1987), LR 17:1207 (December 1991), LR 19:1317 

(October 1993), LR 23:1146 (September 1997), LR 26:1610 

(August 2000), LR 30:1695 (August 2004), LR 34: 

§1303. Development of the State Plan 

A. The state agency will develop a state plan according 

to the following: 

1. elect to utilize a one, two, three, or four-year format 

for the state plan; 

2. develop a data profile on the older Louisianan from 

available census data; 

3. conduct statewide needs assessment activities 

including, but not limited to, public hearings; 

4. assurances for state and area agencies on aging as 

set forth by the Older Americans Act; 

5. goals and objectives; 

6. publicize public hearing(s) giving dates, times, 

locations to public officials and other interested parties for 

their participation; 

7. conduct public hearings and incorporate written and 

verbal comments into the revised plan, as appropriate; 

8. submit final revised plan for approval by the 

governor; 

9. submit approved plan from the governor to the 

Administration on Aging Regional Office for approval. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:932(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 11:342 (April 1985), 

amended LR 12:366 (June 1986), LR 12:511 (August 1986), LR 

13:569 (October 1987), LR 15:263 (April 1989), LR 17:1207 

(December 1991), LR 19:1317 (October 1993), LR 23:1146 

(September 1997), LR 26:1611 (August 2000), LR 30:1696 

(August 2004), LR 34: 

§1305. Intrastate Funding Formula 

A. Intrastate Funding Formula 

1. The following is a descriptive summary of the 

current Intrastate Funding Formula's assumptions and goals, 

and the application of the definitions of greatest economic or 

social need and a demonstration of the allocation of funds, 

pursuant to the formula, to each PSA. 

2. Descriptive Statement 

a. The current intrastate funding formula for the 

distribution of Older Americans Act Title III funds in 

Louisiana provides for a base allocation by parish. The 

following factors are considered in the distribution of funds 

remaining after base allocations are made: population aged 

60 and over; population aged 60 and over below the Bureau 

of the Census poverty threshold; population aged 75 and 

over; and land area in square miles. Each of these factors is 

derived by dividing the planning and service area total by 

the state total. 

b. Population aged 60 and over, and land area in 

square miles is assigned weights of one each. Population 

aged 60 and over below the Bureau of the Census poverty 

threshold is assigned a weight of nine-tenths. Population 

aged 75 and over is assigned a weight of one-tenth. The sum 

of these four factors is three. 

c. Those elderly in greatest economic need are 

defined as persons aged 60 and older whose incomes are at
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or below the poverty threshold established by the Bureau of 

the Census. Those elderly in greatest social need are defined 

as persons aged 60 and over who have needs based on 

noneconomic factors such as social isolation caused by 

living in remote areas, or who are especially vulnerable due 

to the heightened possibility of frailty among elderly aged  

75 and older. Other social needs are those, which restrict an 

elderly individual's ability to perform normal daily tasks, or 

which restrict his or her ability to live independently; they 

can be caused by racial or ethnic status or language barriers. 

The intra-state funding formula accounts for these 

individuals by not allocating funds solely on the basis of 

population. The land area in square miles factor is included 

to compensate area agencies serving predominantly rural 

areas for the special problems encountered by sparse 

populations who may be spread over large geographical 

areas. The four funding factors combine to meet the special 

needs of socially and economically needy elderly, urban 

elderly and rural elderly. 

d. The base funding allocation of $12,000 per parish 

is established on the assumption that this amount represents 

a minimum allocation for the administration of Older 

Americans Act programs. There is an increasing need to 

provide a continuum of care for the very old (aged 75 and 

older) as this segment of the population gets larger each 

year. Funding limitations dictate that this group is given 

special emphasis. 

3. Numerical Statement of the Intrastate Funding 

Formula 

a. Base Allocation per PSA: $12,000 per parish 

b. Formula Allocation per PSA 

 
Factors Weight 

   i.    PSA 60+Population  

         State 60+Population 1.0 

  ii.    PSA 60+Population below Poverty Threshold  

         State 60+Population below Poverty Threshold 0.9 

 iii.    PSA Land Mass in Square Miles  

         State Land Mass in Square Miles 1.0 

 iv.    PSA 75+Population  

         State 75+Population      0.1 

  v.    Sum 3.0 

 

4. PSA FORMULA = (i) X 1 + (ii) X 0.9 + (iii) X 1 + (iv) X 0.1 

  3 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:932(8) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 11:342 (April 1985), 

amended LR 12:366 (June 1986), LR 12:511 (August 1986), LR 

13:569 (October 1987), LR 17:1207 December 1991), LR 19:1317 

(October 1993), LR 23:1146 (September 1997), LR 26:1611 

(August 2000), LR 30:1695 (August 2004), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. The Effect of This Rule on the Stability of the 

Family. This Rule does not affect the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect of This Rule on the Authority and Rights 

of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their 

Children. This Rule does not deal with the education or 

supervision of children and will not make an impact of 

families with children. 

3. The Effect of This Rule on the Functioning of the 

Family. This Rule does not effect the functioning of the 

family. 

4. The Effect of This Rule on the Behavior and 

Personal Responsibly of Children. This Rule does not deal 

with children and will not have any impact. 

5. The Effect of This Rule on the Ability of the Family 

or Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained 

in the Proposed Rule. N/A. 

Interested person should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule to Margaret McGarity, Office of Elderly 

Affairs through the close of business on May 30, 2008, at 

412 North Fourth Street, Third Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 

70802. 

 

Ronald Blereau 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  State Plan on Aging 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The only cost of implementation is the minimal cost of 

printing the plan and publishing the rulemaking. No saving to 

the state is anticipated, and there are no anticipated costs or 

savings to local governmental units. The Older American's Act 

requires that state units on aging to submit a new State Plan at 

least every four years. This plan is approved by the 

Administration on Aging before funding is released to the state 

unit on aging. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will not affect revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule outlines the requirements of the state 

agency in fulfilling its mission as prescribed in the Older 

American's Act. There will be no additional costs to the 

Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs contractors and 

subcontractors, including area agencies on aging, parish 

councils on aging and other service providers, or the elderly 

residents of the state. This proposed rule will not make any 

changes in the economic benefits to the elderly. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

This rule is not anticipated to have any effect on 

competition or employment in the public or private sectors. 

 

Ronald Blereau H. Gordon Monk 

Assistant Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0805#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Real Estate Commission 

Prohibitions in Real Estate Schools, Real Estate Education 

Vendors, and Instructors (LAC 46:LXVII.5319) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate License 

Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with the 

provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Louisiana 

Real Estate Commission has initiated procedures to amend 
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LAC 46:LXVII.Real Estate, Chapter 53, Section 5319. The 

purpose of the amendment is to remove the prohibition in 

Chapter 53, Subsection 5319.B that restricts real estate pre-

licensing school promotions on websites and online/distance 

education courses, as there is no similar restriction imposed 

on continuing education vendors. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXVII.  Real Estate 

Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 53. Real Estate Schools; Real Estate Education 

Vendors; Instructors 

§5319. Prohibitions  
A. … 

B. It shall be prohibited for any real estate brokerage 

firm to operate a real estate school under the same legal 

entity as the real estate brokerage firm. 

C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:54 

(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 

Estate Commission, LR 32:1457 (August 2006), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 

following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 

Notice of Intent for publication in the May 20, 2008, 

Louisiana Register: The proposed Rule has no known impact 

on family, formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Interested parties are invited to submit written comments 

on the proposed regulations through June 20, 2008, at 4:30 

p.m. Submit written comments to Stephanie Boudreaux, 

Public Information Officer, Louisiana Real Estate 

Commission, P.O. Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-

4785 

 

Julius C. Willie 

Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Prohibitions in Real Estate Schools, Real 

Estate Education Vendors, and Instructors 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs (savings) to 

state or local governmental units associated with the repeal of 

Chapter 53.5319.B. The intent of the rule is to remove the 

prohibition that restricts real estate pre-licensing school 

promotions on websites and online/distance education courses, 

as there is no similar restriction imposed on continuing 

education vendors. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The repeal of Chapter 53.5319.B will not impact revenue 

collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs to directly affected persons or 

non-governmental groups associated with the repeal of Chapter 

53.5319.B. Louisiana real estate schools may recognize an 

economic benefit from the ability to distribute promotional 

information on their Websites and online/distance education 

courses. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 

employment. 
 

Julius C. Willie H. Gordon Monk 

Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
0805#011 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 

Licensure, Certification, and Practice 

(LAC 46:LIV.121, 127, 155, 167-173,  

303-311, 315, 321, 323, 327) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et 

seq., and the Administrative Procedure Act, that the 

Louisiana State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 

(Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S. 

2401.2A(3) and the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedures Act, hereby amends its existing rules as set forth 

below. 

The Louisiana State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 

is proposing rule amendments to clarify the application of 

the Physical Therapy Practice Act. The intent of the 

amendments is to clarify and enhance rules applicable to the 

supervision of Physical Therapy Assistants and other support 

personnel and to provide effective documentation of such 

supervision. Additionally, the proposed Rule will reduce the 

potential for noncompliance with the Practice Act, thusly 

decreasing any potential expenses for disciplinary actions or 

loss of income as a result of disciplinary actions. Licensees 

and employers may incur a small indeterminable increase in 

costs for documenting supervision conferences in patient 

records as a result of the proposed Rule. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LIV.  Physical Therapy Examiners 

Subpart 1.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 1. Physical Therapists and Physical 

Therapist Assistants 

Subchapter D. Licensure by Reciprocity 

§121. Qualifications for Licensure by Reciprocity 

A. ... 

B. A foreign Physical Therapy graduate who meets the 

requirements of Subsections 115.A and 121.A and who has 

practiced as a licensed physical therapist in another state for 

at least one year, may, with acceptable documentation of 

clinical experience, be eligible for licensure by reciprocity as 

a physical therapist at the discretion of the board. Licensure 

under this Subsection waives the period of supervised 

clinical practice set forth in Paragraph 115.A.3 of these 

rules. 

C. To be eligible for licensure under Subsections A and 

B, all applicants shall have met the continuing education 

requirements contained in the Practice Act and/or the board 

rules within the 12 months preceding their application. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 17:663 (July 1991), LR 

19:208 (February 1993), LR 34: 

Subchapter E. Application 

§127. Additional Requirements for Foreign Graduates 

A. ... 

B. As a condition to the board's consideration of a 

foreign graduate application, the board must receive a 

comprehensive credential evaluation certificate, based upon 

the Credentialing Coursework Tool, from an approved 

credentialing agency which includes, but is not limited to, 

the Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy 

(FCCPT). 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:745 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:387 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 

LR 26:1444 (July 2000), LR 34: 

Subchapter G. Temporary Permit 

§155. Permit Pending Re-Examination; Examination 

Limit; Additional Requirements 

A. An applicant who possesses all of the qualifications 

for licensure prescribed by §107 of this Chapter, except for 

Paragraphs 107.A.5 and 107.B.5, who has once failed the 

licensing examination, and who has applied to the board for 

re-examination within 10 days of receipt of written notice of 

failure and completed all requirements for re-examination 

shall be issued a new temporary permit to be effective for no 

more than 60 days. 

B. If an applicant has failed to achieve a passing score on 

the required examination after three attempts, the applicant 

may again be examined only upon the board's approval, 

which approval may be conditioned upon the prior 

successful completion by the applicant of any additional 

education or clinical training prescribed by the board. 

C. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 

holding a temporary permit issued under this Section may 

practice physical therapy only with continuous supervision 

as defined in Subsection 305.A. 

D. A temporary permit issued under this Section shall 

expire upon the earliest of: 

1. the expiration of the time period for which the 

permit was issued; 

2. actual receipt by the permit holder of notice from 

the board that he has failed to achieve a passing score on the 

licensing examination; 

3. the licensee's failure to claim notice of his failure, 

which was mailed to the licensee by certified mail, return 

receipt requested, within the time allowed after being 

notified by the United States Postal Service; or 

4. failure of a permit holder to appear for and take the 

licensing examination within the 60 day permit period. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 731 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:747 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 

19:208 (February 1993), LR 26:1446 (July 2000), LR 34: 

Subchapter H. License and Permit Issuance, 

Termination, Renewal and Reinstatement 

§167. Reinstatement of License 

A. - C.2. ... 

D. To be eligible for license reinstatement under this 

Section, all applicants shall have met the continuing 

education requirements contained in the rules within the  

12 months preceding their application. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 28:1979 (September 2002), 

LR 34: 

Subchapter I. Continuing Education 

§169. Requirements 

A. Unless exempted under §173, licensees shall 

successfully complete, document and report to the board at 

least 1.2 units, or 12 hours of acceptable continuing 

education credit during each calendar year. 

B. - B.3.f. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 731 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

15:388 (May 1989), amended LR 17:664 (July 1991), LR 19:208 

(February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 21:1243 (November 

1995), LR 26:1446 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 

34: 

§171. Report Requirements 

A. It is the responsibility of each licensee to assure that 

his continuing education hours are timely reported to the 

board. 

B. The reporting of continuing education hours by 

course sponsors or licensees shall be made only on forms 

approved and available by the board. Forms filed by course 

sponsors or licensees shall be legibly printed or typewritten, 

and shall be completed and signed by the course sponsor or 

licensee. 

C. Continuing education reporting forms shall be filed 

with the board no later than December 31 of each year. 

D.1. The filing date of continuing education reporting 

forms, if mailed and properly addressed to the board with 

sufficient postage, shall be the earliest of: 

a. the legible date of the United States Postal 

Service postmark; or 

b. an official receipt or certificate from the United 

States Postal Service made at the time of mailing which 

indicates the date thereof; or 

c. the date of actual receipt by the board. 

2. Legal holidays and days on which the office of the 

board is officially closed shall not extend the filing deadline 

specified in Subsection C hereof. 

E. Original continuing education documentation, 

including, but not limited to, certificates of participation, 

signed by course instructors verifying course attendance and 
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completion, and official college coursework transcripts shall 

be retained by course sponsors and licensees for a period of 

three years. Upon request, course sponsors and licensees 

shall supply the board with such documentation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

17:665 (July 1991), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 34: 

§173. Exemptions 

A. Physical therapists or physical therapist assistants 

licensed in Louisiana are exempt from the Subchapter I 

continuing education requirements during the calendar year 

in which they graduate from a program accredited pursuant 

to the Practice Act. 

B. Upon approval by the board of a request made in 

compliance with Subsection C, the board may extend the 

period for compliance or exempt the following from 

compliance with the Subchapter I continuing education 

requirements: 

1. licensees on extended active military service for a 

period in excess of three months during the applicable 

reporting period; or 

2. licensees who are unable to fulfill the requirement 

because of illness or other personal hardship. 

C. Written requests for an exemption under Subsection 

B, including supporting documentation, must be received by 

the board at least 90 days prior to the end of the calendar 

year for which the exemption is sought, or immediately after 

the licensee becomes aware of the facts or circumstances 

upon which the exemption is sought, whichever is later. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 731 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

17:665 (July 1991), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 

21:394 (April 1995), LR 34: 

Subpart 2.  Practice 

Chapter 3. Practice 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§303. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms and 

phrases shall have the meanings specified. 

* * * 

Nursing Home―place of residence and not a health care 

facility. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 

LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

19:208 (February 1993), LR 21:394 (April 1995), LR 24:39 

(January 1998), LR 34: 

§305. Special Definition: Practice of Physical Therapy 

A. As used in the definition of practice of physical 

therapy set forth in the Physical Therapy Practice Act, and as 

used in this Chapter, the following terms shall have their 

meanings specified. 

Consultative Services―providing information, advice, 

or recommendations with respect to physical therapy, but 

does not include the administration of physical therapy 

treatment, and therefore, can be performed without referral 

or prescription. 

Continuous Supervision―responsible, continuous, on-

the-premises observation and supervision by a licensed 

physical therapist of the procedures, functions and practice 

rendered by a physical therapy technician; student; physical 

therapist assistant permittee pending licensure by 

examination or re-examination; and physical therapist 

temporary permittee who has once failed the licensing 

examination. 

On Premises―that the supervising physical therapist is 

personally present in the treating facility and immediately 

available to the treatment area. 

Passive Manipulation―manipulation or movement of 

muscular or joints other than by the spontaneous function of 

the body or active effort on the part of the patient. 

Periodic Supervision―as related to: 

a. temporary permit holders who are graduates of 

APTA accredited programs, shall mean: 

 i. daily face to face or phone communication 

between the supervising physical therapist and permit 

holders; and 

 ii. on premises observation of patient care in each 

of the permittees' practice locations, a minimum of two 

hours per day with a minimum total of 10 hours per week; 

b. foreign physical therapy graduates, holding a 

temporary permit, shall mean daily face to face 

communication and on premises observation of patient care 

in each of the permittees' practice settings for at least 1/2 of 

the hours worked each day until the permittee passes the 

licensing exam. After passing the examination, the permittee 

shall require on premises observation of patient care in each 

practice setting a minimum of one hour per day with a 

minimum total of five hours per week. If the permittee fails 

the examination on his first attempt, he shall require 

continuous supervision; 

c. licensed physical therapist assistants and physical 

therapist assistant permittees pending approval of licensure 

by reciprocity shall vary according to the treatment facility 

as outlined in §321. 

Physical Therapy Evaluation―the evaluation of a 

patient by the use of physical and mental findings, objective 

tests and measurements, patient history, and their 

interpretation, to determine musculoskeletal and 

biomechanical limitations, to determine his suitability for 

and the potential efficacy of physical therapy and the 

establishment or modification of treatment goals and a 

physical therapy treatment program. 

Physical Therapy Supportive Personnel― 

a. Physical Therapy Technician―a worker not 

licensed by this board who functions in a physical therapy 

clinic, department or business and assists with preparation of 

the patients for treatment and with limited patient care; 

b. Physical Therapist Assistant―a person licensed 

by the board who is a graduate of an associate degree 

program in physical therapist assisting accredited by the 

Commission on Accreditation of Physical Therapy 

Education (CAPTE) or was granted licensure pursuant to 

R.S. 37:2403.D; 

c. the level of responsibility assigned to physical 

therapy supportive personnel is at the discretion of the 

physical therapist, who is ultimately responsible for the care 
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provided by these individuals. Supportive personnel may 

perform only those functions for which they have 

documented training and skills. The prohibitions for physical 

therapy supportive personnel shall include, but not be 

limited to, interpretation of referrals; performance of 

evaluations; initiation or adjustment of treatment programs; 

assumption of the responsibility for planning patient care; or 

any other matters as determined by the board. The physical 

therapist shall only delegate portions of the treatment session 

to a technician only after the therapist has assessed the 

patient's status. 

Preventative Services―the use of physical therapy 

knowledge and skills by a physical therapist to provide 

education or activities in a wellness setting for the purpose 

of injury prevention, reduction of stress and/or the 

promotion of fitness, but does not include the 

administrations of physical therapy treatment and, therefore, 

can be performed without referral or prescription. 

Topical Agents/Aerosols―topical medications or 

aerosols used in wound care which are obtained over the 

counter or by physician prescription or order. 

Wound Care and Debridement―a physical therapist, 

physical therapist permittee or student physical therapist 

may perform wound debridement and wound management 

that includes, but is not limited to, sharps debridement, 

debridement with other agents, dry dressings, wet dressings, 

topical agents including enzymes, and hydrotherapy. A 

physical therapist assistant, physical therapist assistant 

permittee or student physical therapist assistant shall not 

perform sharps debridement. The board's licensees and 

permittees, as well as students and supportive personnel, 

shall comply with the supervision requirements set forth in 

§321. 

Written Treatment Plan or Program―written statements 

made by a physical therapist that specify the measurable 

goals, specific treatment to be used, and proposed duration 

and frequency of treatment. The written treatment plan or 

program is an integral component of a physical therapy 

evaluation, however, the written treatment plan or program 

must be completed by the physical therapist prior to 

delegation of appropriate treatment of a physical therapist 

assistant. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2(A)3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:748 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 17:666 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 

LR 21:1243 (November 1995), LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 

26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 (September 2002), LR 34: 

Subchapter B. Prohibitions 

§307. Unauthorized Practice 

A. ... 

B. A physical therapist shall exercise sound professional 

judgment based upon his knowledge, skill, education, 

training, and experience, and shall perform only those 

procedures for which he is competent. If diagnostically or 

otherwise the physical therapist becomes aware of findings 

and/or the need for treatment which are outside the scope of 

the physical therapist's knowledge, experience, or expertise, 

the physical therapist shall notify the patient/client and refer 

the patient/client to an appropriate practitioner. 

C. A physical therapist shall use the letters "P.T." in 

connection with his name or place of business to denote 

licensure. A physical therapist assistant shall use the letters 

"P.T.A." in connection with his name to denote licensure. No 

person shall hold himself out to the public, an individual 

patient, a physician, dentist or podiatrist, or to any insurer or 

indemnity company or association or governmental authority 

as a physical therapist, physiotherapist or physical therapist 

assistant, nor shall any person directly or indirectly identify 

or designate himself as a physical therapist, physiotherapist, 

registered physical therapist, licensed physical therapist, 

physical therapist assistant, or licensed physical therapist 

assistant, nor use in connection with his name the letters, 

P.T., L.P.T., R.P.T., or P.T.A., or any other words, letters, 

abbreviations, insignias, or sign tending to indicate or imply 

that the person constitutes physical therapy, unless such 

person possesses a current license or temporary permit duly 

issued by the board. 

D. A physical therapy student who is pursuing a course 

of study leading to a degree as a physical therapist in a 

professional education program approved by the board as is 

satisfying supervised clinical education requirements related 

to his physical therapy education shall use the letters "S.P.T." 

in connection with his name while participating in this 

program. A physical therapist assistant student who is 

pursuing a course of study leading to a degree as a physical 

therapist assistant in a professional education program 

approved by the board and is satisfying supervised clinical 

education requirements related to his physical therapist 

assisting education shall use the letters "S.P.T.A." in 

connection with his name while participating in this 

program. 

E. A licensed physical therapist is authorized to engage 

in the practice of physical therapy as set forth in the Physical 

Therapy Practice Act and the board's rules which includes, 

but is not limited to, the performance of physical therapy 

evaluations, consultative services, wound care and 

debridement, the storage and administration of aerosol and 

topical agents, the performance of passive manipulation, and 

preventative services all as more fully defined in §305. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2(A)3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 

26:1447 (July 2000), LR 34: 

§309. Exemptions 

A. The prohibitions of §307 of this Chapter shall not 

apply to a person employed by any department, agency, or 

bureau of the United States Government when acting within 

the course and scope of such employment, nor shall they 

prohibit a person from acting under and within the scope of a 

license issued by an agency of the state of Louisiana. 

B. A student shall be exempt from licensure when 

pursuing a course of study leading to a degree in physical 

therapy or physical therapist assisting in a professional 

education program approved by the board and is satisfying 

supervised clinical education requirements related to his 

education. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2(A)3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 24:40 (January 1998), LR 34: 

§311. Prohibitions: Licensed or Temporary Permit 

Physical Therapists 

A. A physical therapist shall not: 

1. - 3. ... 

4. undertake to concurrently supervise more than three 

physical therapy technicians and/or physical therapist 

assistants, so that the ratio of supportive personnel to 

supervising licensed physical therapists is not in excess of 

three-to-one. 

B. A physical therapist shall not abuse or exploit the 

physical therapy provider/patient or client relationship, or 

his relationship with peers or subordinates for any purpose, 

including for the purpose of securing personal 

compensation, gratification, or gain or benefit of any kind or 

type, any or all of which are unrelated to the provision of 

physical therapy services, including engaging in 

inappropriate sexual or inappropriately intimate conduct, 

which shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. engaging in or soliciting a sexual or inappropriately 

intimate relationship, whether consensual or non-consensual, 

while a physical therapist or physical therapist 

assistant/patient or client relationship exists. Termination of 

the physical therapist/patient or client relationship does not 

eliminate the possibility that a sexual or inappropriately 

intimate relationship may exploit the vulnerability of the 

former patient/client; 

2. making sexual advances, requesting or offering 

sexual favors or engaging in any other verbal conduct or 

physical contact of a sexual or inappropriately intimate 

nature with patients or clients; or 

3. intentionally viewing a completely or partially 

disrobed patient in the course of treatment, if such viewing is 

not reasonably related to patient diagnosis or treatment 

under current practice standards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 731 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 

LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

17:667 (July 1991), LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 21:1243 

(November 1995), LR 34: 

Subchapter C. Supervised Practice 

§315. Scope of Chapter 

A. ... 

B. Before working in a school or home health setting, a 

physical therapist assistant shall have one year of supervised 

work experience. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 731 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Services, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 

LR 13:749 (December 1987), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

19:208 (February 1993), LR 34: 

§321. Supervision Requirements 

A. Licensed Physical Therapist Assistant 

1. The level of responsibility assigned to the physical 

therapist assistant pursuant to §321.A is at the discretion of 

the physical therapist who is ultimately responsible for the 

care provided by this individual. 

2. In acute care facilities, rehabilitation facilities, 

skilled nursing facilities and out-patient facilities, the 

supervising physical therapist shall: 

a. perform an evaluation and set up a written 

treatment plan on each patient prior to implementation of 

treatment; 

b. treat and reassess the patient and document on at 

least every sixth treatment day, but not less than once per 

month; 

c. treat and assess the patient at discharge and write 

a discharge summary; 

d. be on premises weekly (any seven consecutive 

days) for at least one-half of the physical therapy treatment 

hours in which the physical therapist assistant is rendering 

physical therapy treatment; 

e. be readily accessible by beeper or phone and 

available to the patient by the next scheduled treatment 

session upon request of the patient or physical therapist 

assistant. 

3. In school and home health settings, the supervising 

physical therapist shall: 

a. perform an evaluation and set up a written 

treatment plan on each patient prior to implementation of 

treatment; 

b. treat and reassess the patient and document on at 

least every sixth treatment day but not less than once per 

month; 

c. treat and assess the patient at discharge and write 

a discharge summary; 

d. conduct, once weekly and document, a face to 

face patient care conference with each physical therapist 

assistant to review progress and modification of treatment 

programs for all patients; 

e. be readily accessible by beeper or phone and 

available to the patient by the next scheduled treatment 

session upon request of the patient or physical therapist 

assistant. 

4. In client preventative services rendered by a 

licensed physical therapist assistant, the supervising physical 

therapist: 

a. shall perform an initial screening to determine if 

an individual qualifies for preventative services and 

document; 

b. shall provide education or activities in a wellness 

setting through the establishment of a program for the 

purpose of injury prevention, reduction of stress and/or the 

promotion of fitness; 

c. shall be readily accessible by beeper or mobile 

phone; 

d. shall conduct and document a face to face 

conference with the physical therapist assistant regarding 

each client at least every 30 days commencing with the 

initiation of the preventative services for that client; and 
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e. may delegate only those functions to a physical 

therapist assistant for which he has documented training and 

skills. 

B. - B.3. ... 

C. Physical Therapy Technician 

1. The level of responsibility assigned to a physical 

therapy technician is at the discretion of the physical 

therapist who is ultimately responsible for the care provided 

by the supervised individual(s). 

2. In all practice settings, during the provision of 

physical therapy services, the supervising physical therapist 

shall provide continuous, in-person supervision of the 

physical therapy technician. 

3. A physical therapy technician may assist a physical 

therapist assistant only with those aspects of patient 

treatment which have been assigned to the physical therapy 

technician by a physical therapist. 

4. To ensure the safety and welfare of a patient during 

ambulation, transfers, or functional activities, the physical 

therapist assistant may utilize one or more physical therapy 

technicians for physical assistance. 

5. The supervising physical therapist shall provide 

continuous, in-person supervision of client preventative 

services rendered by a physical therapy technician as 

follows: 

a. perform and document an initial screening to 

determine if an individual qualifies for preventative services; 

b. establish a wellness program, including education 

and activities, to promote injury prevention, reduction of 

stress and/or fitness; 

c. delegate only those functions to a physical 

therapy technician for which the physical therapist has 

documented the training and skills of the physical therapy 

technician; 

d. be available to the technician for direct and 

immediate verbal clarification. 

D. Student. The supervising physical therapist shall 

provide continuous, on-premises supervision of a physical 

therapy or physical therapist assistant student in all practice 

settings. 

E. Supervision Ratio. In any day, a supervising physical 

therapist shall not provide supervision for more than five 

individuals, nor exceed the following limitations as to 

supervised personnel: 

1. more than three physical therapist assistants and/or 

technicians; 

2. more than two permittees; or 

3. more than five students. 

F. Unavailability of Supervising Physical Therapist of 

Record for Permittees and Students. If, for any reason, a 

supervising physical therapist of record cannot fulfill his 

supervisory obligations: 

1. for less than one week, a licensed physical therapist 

in good standing may supervise in his stead. In such case, 

the substitute physical therapist is not required to be 

approved by the board; however, the board approved 

supervisor, the substitute supervisor, as well as the 

supervised individual(s), shall be responsible for the care 

provided by those supervised; 

2. for one week or more, the supervising physical 

therapist shall send written notification to the board for 

approval of a new supervising physical therapist during his 

period of absence. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2(A)3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:388 (May 1989), LR 19:208 (February 1993), 

LR 24:41 (January 1998), LR 26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1980 

(September 2002), LR 34: 

§323. Documentation Standards 

A. A written record of physical therapy provided shall be 

kept on each patient or client served. A complete record shall 

include written documentation of prescription or referral, 

initial evaluation, treatment provided, P.T./P.T.A. 

conferences, progress notes, reassessment, and patient status 

at discharge. 

1. - 2. ... 

3. Progress note is the written documentation of the 

patient's subjective status, changes in objective findings, and 

progression or regression toward established goals. A 

progress note shall be written and signed by the attending 

physical therapist or physical therapist assistant and shall not 

be written or signed by a physical therapy technician. A 

progress note shall be written a minimum of once per week, 

or if the patient is seen less frequently, then at every visit. 

4. - 5. ... 

6. P.T./P.T.A. conference is the written documentation 

of the face-to-face conference held to discuss the status of 

the patient seen in the home health or school settings. 

7. Discharge Summary is the written documentation 

of the reasons for discontinuation of care, degree of goal 

achievement and a discharge plan which shall be written and 

signed by the attending physical therapist. A discharge 

summary shall not be written or signed by a physical 

therapist assistant or other supportive personnel. A discharge 

summary shall be written at the termination of physical 

therapy care. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, LR 15:389 (May 1989), LR 21:395 (April 1995), LR 

26:1447 (July 2000), LR 28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34: 

Subchapter D. Disciplinary Proceedings 

§327. Definitions 

A. - D. ... 

E. As used in R.S. 37: 2413.A.7 of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act, the term unprofessional conduct means: 

1. departure from, or failure to conform to, the 

minimal standards of acceptable and prevailing physical 

therapy practice in the state of Louisiana, regardless of 

whether actual injury to a patient results therefrom, 

including, but not limited to: 

a. failure to use sound professional judgment; 

b. performing procedures for which the physical 

therapist is not competent; or 

c. failure to inform and refer the patient/client to an 

appropriate practitioner, when the physical therapist 

becomes aware of findings and/or the need for treatment 
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which are outside the scope of the physical therapist's 

competence; 

2. - 5. ... 

6. abuse or exploitation of the physical therapy 

provider/patient or client relationship for the purpose of 

securing personal compensation, gratification, or gain or 

benefit of any kind or type, any or all of which are unrelated 

to the provision of physical therapy services, including 

engaging in inappropriate sexual or inappropriately intimate 

conduct, which shall include, but not be limited to: 

a. engaging in or soliciting a sexual or 

inappropriately intimate relationship, whether consensual or 

non-consensual, while a physical therapist or physical 

therapist assistant/patient or client relationship exists; 

b. making sexual or inappropriately intimate 

advances, requesting or offering sexual favors or engaging in 

any other verbal conduct or physical contact of a sexual or 

inappropriately intimate nature with patients or clients; or 

c. intentionally viewing a completely or partially 

disrobed patient in the course of treatment if such viewing is 

not reasonably related to patient diagnosis or treatment 

under current practice standards; 

E.7 - F.1 ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2401.2A(3) and Act 31 of 1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, LR 

15:389 (May 1989), amended LR 19:208 (February 1993), LR 

28:1981 (September 2002), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with the requirements of R.S. 49:972, the 

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners issues the following 

Family Impact Statement regarding the above proposed 

Rule. 

1. There is no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. There is no effect on the authority and rights of 

parents regarding the education and supervision of their 

children. 

3. There is no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. There is no effect on family earnings and family 

budget. 

5. There is no effect on the behavior and personal 

responsibility of children. 

6. There is no effect on the ability of the family or a 

local government to perform the function as contained in the 

proposed Rule. 

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, if oral 

presentation or argument is requested by the requisite 

number of persons or the proper entities, then a public 

hearing on these matters will be held on June 25, 2008, at  

6 p.m. at the office of the Board of Physical Therapy 

Examiners, 104 Fairlane Drive, Lafayette, LA 70507. Please 

contact the board office at (337) 262-1043 extension 102 to 

confirm whether or not the public hearing will be conducted. 

Written comments concerning the proposed Rules may be 

directed to this address and to the attention of Cheryl 

Gaudin, Executive Director. Such comments should be 

submitted no later than the close of business at 4:30 p.m. on 

Wednesday, June 17, 2008. 
 

Cheryl Gaudin 

Executive Director 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Licensure, Certification, and Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Board will incur an implementation cost for 

publication and mailing the revised Practice Act, Rules and 

Regulations booklet. The cost involves reprinting of the booklet 

to incorporate the new amendments which are being 

promulgated. The new booklets, as amended, will be provided 

to the Board's licensees and other interested parties. It is 

anticipated that $6,730 in printing costs, $3,950 in mailing 

costs, and $3,500 in personal and professional services will be 

incurred with the publishing of the proposed rules FY 08. The 

Board has sufficient self-generated funds available to 

implement the proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendment will 

have any effect on the board's revenue collection. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated the proposed rule revisions will clarify the 

application of the PT Practice Act. The intent of the 

amendment is to clarify and enhance rules applicable to the 

supervision of PTA's and other support personnel and to 

provide effective documentation of such supervision. 

Additionally, the proposed rules will reduce the potential for 

noncompliance with the Practice Act, thusly decreasing any 

potential expenses for disciplinary actions or loss of income as 

a result of disciplinary actions. Licensees and employer may 

incur a small indeterminable increase in costs for documenting 

supervision conferences in patient records as a result of the 

proposed rules. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

No effect on competition and employment is anticipated. 

 

Cheryl Gaudin Robert E. Hosse 

Executive Director Staff Director 
0805#010 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Distinct Part Psychiatric Unit Expansions and 

Mental Health Emergency Room Extensions 

(LAC 50:V.2709 and 2711) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:V.2709 and 2711 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated
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an Emergency Rule which repealed and replaced all of the 

Rules governing disproportionate share hospital payment 

methodologies (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 

10). In compliance with Act 18 of the 2007 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the department amended the 

October 20, 2007, Emergency Rule to: 1) adopt provisions 

for the reimbursement of uncompensated care costs for 

psychiatric services provided by non-state acute care 

hospitals that expand their distinct part psychiatric units and 

enter into an agreement with OMH (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 34, Number 1); 2) establish provisions for DSH 

payments to non-state acute care hospitals that enroll a new 

distinct part psychiatric unit and enter into an agreement 

with OMH (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 3); and 

adopt provisions for the reimbursement of uncompensated 

care costs for psychiatric services provided by non-state 

acute care hospitals that establish a Mental Health 

Emergency Room Extension (MHERE) and enter into an 

agreement with the Office of Mental Health (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 34, Number 4). 

The department subsequently promulgated a Notice of 

Intent (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 1) and a 

final Rule to establish the provisions governing DSH 

payments in LAC 50:V.Chapters 25 and 27 (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 34, Number 4). The department now 

proposes to amend the April 20, 2008, final Rule governing 

DSH payments to continue the provisions of the March 3, 

2008 and April 7, 2008, Emergency Rules. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 

functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972 by increasing access to much needed psychiatric 

services. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Medical Assistance Program–Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 

§2709. Distinct Part Psychiatric Unit Expansions 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2008, Medicaid enrolled non-state, acute care hospitals that 

expand their distinct part psychiatric unit beds and sign an 

addendum to the Provider Enrollment form (PE-50) by 

March 1, 2008 with the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Office of Mental Health, shall be reimbursed for their net 

uncompensated care costs for services provided to adult 

patients, age 18 and over, who occupy the additional beds. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after March 3, 

2008, Medicaid enrolled non-state, acute care hospitals that 

enroll a new distinct part psychiatric unit and sign an 

addendum to the Provider Enrollment form (PE-50) by April 

3, 2008 with the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 

of Mental Health, shall be reimbursed for their net 

uncompensated care costs for services provided to adult 

patients, age 18 and over, who occupy the additional beds. 

C. The net uncompensated care cost is the Medicaid 

shortfall plus the cost of treating the uninsured. 

D. The amount appropriated for this pool in SFY 2008 is 

$7,000,000. If the net uncompensated care costs of all 

hospitals qualifying for this payment exceeds $7,000,000, 

payment will be the lesser of each qualifying hospital's net 

uncompensated care costs or its pro rata share of the pool 

calculated by dividing its net uncompensated care costs by 

the total of the net uncompensated care costs for all hospitals 

qualifying for this payment and multiplying by $7,000,000. 

E. Qualifying hospitals must submit costs and patient 

specific data in a format specified by the department. 

1. Cost and lengths of stay will be reviewed for 

reasonableness before payments are made. 

F. Payments shall be made on a quarterly basis. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

§2711. Mental Health Emergency Room Extensions 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after April 7, 2008, 

Medicaid-enrolled non-state, acute care hospitals that 

establish a Mental Health Emergency Room Extension 

(MHERE) and sign an addendum to the Provider Enrollment 

form (PE-50) by June 1, 2008 with the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of Mental Health, shall be reimbursed 

for their net uncompensated care costs for psychiatric 

services rendered to patients. 

1. The net uncompensated care cost is the Medicaid 

shortfall plus the cost of treating the uninsured. 

B. Qualifying non-state, acute care hospitals must: 

1. be located in a region of the state that does not 

currently have an MHERE; and  

2. not receive funding for their MHERE from another 

source. 

C. The amount appropriated for this pool in SFY 2008 is 

$3,500,000. If the net uncompensated care costs of all 

hospitals qualifying for this payment exceeds $3,500,000, 

payment will be each qualifying hospital’s pro rata share of 

the pool calculated by dividing its net uncompensated care 

costs by the total of the net uncompensated care costs for all 

hospitals qualifying for this payment multiplied by 

$3,500,000. 

D. Qualifying hospitals must submit costs and patient 

data in a format specified by the department. 

E. Payments shall be made on a quarterly basis. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 

public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville
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Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 

time all interested individuals will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 

or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all written 

comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 

the public hearing. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Disproportionate Share Hospital 

Payments―Distinct Part Psychiatric Unit Expansions 

and―Mental Health Emergency Room Extensions 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in an estimated increase in expenses to the state 

of $2,963,304 for FY 07-08, $6,142,920 for FY 08-09 and 

$6,327,208 FY 09-10. Expenditures in the out years are subject 

to appropriation. It is anticipated that $408 ($204 SGF and 

$204 FED) will be expended in FY 07-08 for the state's 

administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 

and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 

$7,537,104 for FY 07-08, $15,487,080 for FY 08-09, and 

$15,951,692 for FY 09-10. It is anticipated that $204 will be 

expended in FY 07-08 for the federal administrative expenses 

for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule, which continues the provisions of the March 3, 

2008 and April 7, 2008 Emergency Rules, adopts provisions for 

Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payments to non-state 

acute care hospitals that enter into an agreement with the Office 

of Mental Health and: 1) expand existing, or enroll new, 

distinct part psychiatric nits [$7,000,000 increase]; or 2) 

establish a Mental Health Emergency Room Extension 

(MHERE) [$3,500,000 increase]. It is anticipated that 

implementation of this proposed rule will increase program 

expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 

$10,500,000 for FY 07-08, $21,630,000 for FY 08-09, and 

$22,278,900 for FY 09-10. Expenditures in the out years are 

subject to appropriation. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this rule will not 

have an effect on competition and employment. 

 
Jerry Phillips Robert E. Hosse 

Medicaid Director Staff Director 
0805#052 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities  

and the Office of Aging and Adult Services  

Home and Community Based Services Waivers 

Termination of Services for Displaced Recipients 

(LAC 50:XXI.301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities and the Office of 

Aging and Adult Services proposes to adopt LAC 

50.XXI.301 as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to 

Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 

being promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 

provisions governing eligibility for home and community-

based services waivers (Louisiana Register, Volume 24, 

Number 3). The Office for Citizens with Developmental 

Disabilities and the Division of Long Term Supports and 

Services promulgated an Emergency Rule to adopt 

provisions governing the termination of services and limited 

retention of waiver opportunities for waiver recipients 

displaced by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 32, Number 4). The department now 

proposes to revise the April 20, 2006, Emergency Rule to 

further clarify these provisions for future declared disasters 

that may cause recipients to be displaced. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 

has a positive impact on family functioning, stability, or 

autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972 by allowing displaced 

recipients to return to Louisiana and have preferential 

assignment to available waiver opportunities. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 3. Eligibility 

§301. Termination of Coverage for Displaced 

Recipients 

A. Effective July 1, 2006, waiver recipients who have 

been displaced by declared disasters, such as Hurricanes 

Katrina or Rita, and are currently residing in other states will 

no longer be able to receive waiver services under the 

Louisiana Medicaid Program. 

B. This termination of coverage is applicable to 

recipients receiving services in home and community-based 

waivers. 

C. If the individual returns to live in Louisiana within 

two years of the date of the declared disaster, he/she must
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contact the department to report his/her address and to 

request that waiver services be restarted. 

D. The individual's name will be placed on a preferred 

registry with other disaster evacuees who have returned to 

live in Louisiana and requested that their waiver services be 

restarted. 

E. Waiver opportunities shall be offered to individuals 

on the preferred registry on a first-come, first-serve basis. 

1. The first available waiver opportunity shall be 

offered to an individual on this registry based on the date 

that the request to restart services was received. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 

Disabilities and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34: 

Implementation of this Rule is contingent upon approval 

by the United States Department of Health and Human 

Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Hugh 

Eley, Office of Aging and Adult Services, P.O. Box 2031, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-2031. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 

public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville 

Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 

time all interested individuals will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 

or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all written 

comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 

the public hearing. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Home and Community Based  

Services Waivers―Termination of Services  

for Displaced Recipients 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other 

than cost of promulgation for FY 07-08. It is anticipated that 

$272 ($136 SGF and $136 FED) will be expended in FY 07-08 

for the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 

proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will not affect federal revenue collections other than the 

federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 07-08. It is 

anticipated that $136 will be expended in FY 07-08 for the 

federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 

rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule, which continues the provisions of the April 20, 

2006 Emergency Rule, proposes to adopt provisions governing 

the termination of services and limited retention of waiver 

opportunities for waiver recipients displaced by declared

disasters, such as Hurricanes Katrina and Rita (approximately 

65 recipients may lose waiver slots). It is anticipated that 

implementation of this proposed rule will not have estimable 

cost or economic benefits for directly affected persons or non-

governmental groups in FY 07-08, FY 08-09 and FY 09-10. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 

employment. 

 

Jerry Phillips Robert E. Hosse 

Medicaid Director Staff Director 
0805#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 

Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program 

(LAC 50:III.2303 and 10305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:III.2303 and 10305 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Family Opportunity Act, signed into law by Congress 

as part of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, contains 

provisions which allow states to offer a Medicaid buy-in 

program for children with disabilities. This optional 

Medicaid coverage is available to families with income 

above the financial standards for Supplemental Security 

Income (SSI) but not more than 300 percent of the federal 

poverty level. 

In compliance with the directives of the Family 

Opportunity Act, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

promulgated an Emergency Rule to implement a Medicaid 

buy-in program, known as the Family Opportunity Act 

Medicaid Program, to provide health care coverage to 

children with disabilities who are not eligible for SSI 

disability benefits due to excess income or resources 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 10). The October 

20, 2007, Emergency Rule was amended to clarify the 

program's income limits and to revise the provisions 

governing premium payments to incorporate a sliding fee 

scale as recommended by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 

5). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 

provisions of the May 20, 2008, Emergency Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 

functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972 by providing health care coverage to children with 

disabilities who are not eligible for SSI disability benefits 

due to excess income or resources. 
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Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 

Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Programs 

§2303. Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program 

A. The Family Opportunity Act, signed into law by 

Congress as part of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, 

allows states to offer a Medicaid buy-in program to families 

with income up to 300 percent of the Federal Poverty Level 

(FPL) for children with disabilities who are not eligible for 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits due 

to excess income or resources. The department hereby 

implements a Medicaid buy-in program called the Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program to provide Medicaid 

coverage to children with disabilities. 

B. Eligibility Requirements. Children born on or after 

October 1, 1995 and who meet the following requirements 

may receive health care coverage through the Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program. 

1. The child must have a disability which meets the 

Social Security Administration's childhood disability criteria. 

2. Gross family income must not be more than 300 

percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) using the income 

methodologies of the SSI program. 

a. For the purpose of determining family income, 

the family unit shall consist of the following members: 

 i. child(ren) with disabilities; 

 ii. natural or legal parent(s); and 

 iii. siblings under age 19. 

b. Step-parents and step-siblings are excluded from 

the income determination. 

3. The child may be uninsured or underinsured. 

a. Parents are required to enroll in available 

employer-sponsored health plans when the employer 

contributes at least 50 percent of the annual premium costs. 

Participation in such employer-sponsored health plans is a 

condition of continuing Medicaid coverage. 

C. Children determined eligible under the Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program shall receive coverage of 

medically necessary health care services provided under the 

Medicaid State Plan. 

D. Premium Payments. Families with gross income 

above 200 percent, but not more than 300 percent of the 

FPL, are required to pay premiums for Medicaid coverage. 

Families with gross income up to 200 percent of the FPL are 

not required to pay premiums for Medicaid coverage. 

1. The amounts paid for premiums for Medicaid-

required family coverage and other cost-sharing may not 

exceed 5 percent of a family’s income for families with 

income up to 200 percent of the FPL and 7.5 percent of a 

family’s income for families with income above 200 percent 

of the FPL. 

2. For families with gross income above 200 percent 

but not more than 300 percent of the FPL, the premium 

amount for Medicaid is determined by whether the natural or 

legal parent(s) living in the household is paying for other 

creditable health insurance that covers the child(ren) with 

disabilities. 

a. Families who have other creditable health 

insurance that provides coverage to the child(ren) with 

disabilities will pay a family Medicaid premium on a sliding 

scale as follows: 

 i. $12 per month for families with income above 

200 percent and up to 250 percent of the FPL; 

 ii. $15 per month for families with income above 

250 percent, but not more than 300 percent of the FPL. 

b. Families who do not have other creditable health 

insurance that provides coverage to the child(ren) with 

disabilities will pay a family Medicaid premium on a sliding 

scale as follows: 

 i. no premium is required for families with 

income from 0 percent and up to 200 percent of the FPL; 

 ii. $30 per month for families with income above 

200 percent and up to 250 percent of the FPL; 

 iii. $35 per month for families with income above 

250 percent ,but not more than 300 percent of the FPL. 

3. The first premium is due the month following the 

month that eligibility is established. Prepayment of 

premiums is not required. A child's eligibility for medical 

assistance will not terminate on the basis of failure to pay a 

premium until the failure to pay continues for at least 60 

days from the date on which the premium was past due. 

4. The premium may be waived in any case where it is 

determined that requiring a payment would create an undue 

hardship for the family. Undue hardships exist when a 

family: 

a. is homeless or displaced due to a flood, fire, or 

natural disaster; 

b. resides in an area where there is a presidential-

declared emergency in effect; 

c. presents a current notice of eviction or 

foreclosure; or 

d. has other reasons as determined by the 

department. 

5. Families whose eligibility has been terminated for 

non-payment of premiums must pay any outstanding 

premium balances for Medicaid-covered months before 

eligibility can be re-established, unless: 

a. the liability has been canceled by the Bureau of 

Appeals or the Medicaid Recovery Unit; or 

b. there has been a lapse in Medicaid coverage of at 

least 12 months. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Subpart 5.  Financial Eligibility 

Chapter 103. Income 

§10305. Income Disregards 

A. For recipients in the Family Opportunity Act 

Medicaid Program, an income disregard of $85 will be 

applied to total gross (earned and unearned) family income 

and then half of the remaining income will be disregarded. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 
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Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 

public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville 

Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 

time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 

submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. 

The deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. 

on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Medicaid Eligibility―Family 

Opportunity Act Medicaid Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in an estimated increase in expenses to the state 

of $220,675 for FY 07-08, $2,709,904 for FY 08-09, and 

$3,427,365 for FY 09-10. It is anticipated that $544 ($272 SGF 

and $272 FED) will be expended in FY 07-08 for the state's 

administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 

and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 

$560,887 for FY 07-08, $6,832,012 for FY 08-09, and 

$8,640,822 for FY 09-10. It is anticipated that $272 will be 

collected in FY 07-08 for the federal administrative expenses 

for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule. In 

addition, it is anticipated that this proposed rule will increase 

state revenue collections from the participant's premium 

payments by approximately $24,242 in FY 07-08, $245,928 in 

FY 08-09 and $339,158 for FY 09-10. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule, which continues the provisions of the May 20, 

2008 emergency rule, proposes to implement a Medicaid buy-

in program, known as the Family Opportunity Act Medicaid 

Program, to provide coverage to children with disabilities who 

are not eligible for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 

disability benefits due to excess income or resources. It is 

anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 

increase expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 

approximately $781,018 for FY 07-08, $9,541,916 for FY 08-

09 and $12,068,187 for FY 09-10. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this rule will 

have no effect on competition and employment. 

 
Jerry Phillips Robert E. Hosse 

Medicaid Director Staff Director 
0805#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program—Physician Services 

Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:IX.15103) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 

adopt LAC 50:IX.15103 in the Medical Assistance Program 

as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated 

in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 

professional services in accordance with an established fee 

schedule for Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes 

and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 

(HCPCS) codes. Act 18 of the 2007 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature authorized expenditures to the 

Medical Vendor Program to adjust the Medicaid 

reimbursement rates paid for physician services. In 

compliance with Act 18, the bureau promulgated an 

Emergency Rule to amend the provisions contained in the 

December 20, 2003 and April 20, 2005 Rules governing the 

reimbursement methodology for physician services. In 

addition, the bureau repealed the provisions contained in the 

following Rules governing the reimbursement methodology 

for physician services: December 20, 2000; May 20, 2001; 

August 20, 2002; and February 20, 2007 (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 33, Number 10). The bureau promulgated 

an Emergency Rule to amend the October 15, 2007, 

Emergency Rule to adjust the reimbursement rates paid for 

selected physician services to the 2008 Louisiana Medicare 

Region 99 rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 1). 

This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 

provisions of the January 1, 2008, Emergency Rule. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 

functioning, stability, or autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 

Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

§15103. Physician Services 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 15, 

2007, the reimbursement for selected physician services 

shall be 90 percent of the 2007 Louisiana Medicare Region 

99 allowable or billed charges, whichever is the lesser 

amount, unless otherwise stipulated. 

1. The reimbursement shall remain the same for those 

services that are currently being reimbursed at a rate that is
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between 90 percent and 120 percent of the 2007 Louisiana 

Medicare Region 99 allowable. 

2. For those services that are currently reimbursed at a 

rate above 120 percent of the 2007 Louisiana Medicare 

Region 99 allowable, effective for dates of service on or 

after October 15, 2007, the reimbursement for these services 

shall be reduced to 120 percent of the 2007 Louisiana 

Medicare Region 99 allowable. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2008, the reimbursement for selected physician services 

shall be 90 percent of the 2008 Louisiana Medicare Region 

99 allowable or billed charges, whichever is the lesser 

amount, unless otherwise stipulated. 

1. The reimbursement shall remain the same for those 

services that are currently being reimbursed at a rate that is 

between 90 percent and 120 percent of the 2008 Louisiana 

Medicare Region 99 allowable. 

2. For those services that are currently reimbursed at a 

rate above 120 percent of the 2008 Louisiana Medicare 

Region 99 allowable, effective for dates of service on or 

after January 1, 2008, the reimbursement for these services 

shall be reduced to 120 percent of the 2008 Louisiana 

Medicare Region 99 allowable. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 

Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 

public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Tuesday, June 24, 2008 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville 

Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that 

time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 

submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. 

The deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 

p.m. on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 

Alan Levine 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Professional Services 

Program―Physician Services 

Reimbursement Methodology 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in an estimated increase in expenses to the state 

of $17,663,158 for FY 07-08, $31,386,721 for FY 08-09, and 

$32,328,322 for FY 09-10. It is anticipated that $340 ($170 

SGF and $170 FED) will be expended in FY 07-08 for the 

state's administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed 

rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately  

$44,927,502 for FY 07-08, $79,129,901 for FY 08-09, and 

$81,503, 799 for FY 09-10. It is anticipated that $170 will be 

expended in FY 07-08 for the federal administrative expenses 

for promulgation of this proposed rule and final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule, which continues the provisions of the October 

15, 2007 and January 1, 2008 emergency rules, proposes to 

adjust the reimbursement rates paid for selected physician 

services to the 2007 and 2008 Louisiana Medicare Region 99 

rates, respectively. It is anticipated that implementation of this 

proposed rule will increase certain physician expenditures in 

the Medicaid Program by approximately $62,590,320 for FY 

07-08, $110,516,622 for FY 08-09 and $113,832,121 for FY 

09-10. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this rule will 

have no effect on competition and employment. 

 

Jerry Phillips Robert E. Hosse 

Medicaid Director Staff Director 
0805#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Offender Payment for Electronic Monitoring 

(LAC 22:I.407) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:560.4(B), (C) 

and (D) the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 

Corrections Services, hereby gives notice of its intent to 

promulgate the contents of LAC 22:I.407, Offender Payment 

for Electronic Monitoring. 

The purpose of the aforementioned regulation is to 

establish the secretary's policy regarding a sex offender's 

ability to pay for electronic monitoring. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 4. Division of Probation and Parole 

§407. Offender Payment for Electronic Monitoring 

A. Purpose. To establish the secretary's policy 

regarding a sex offender's ability to pay for electronic 

monitoring. 

B. Applicability. chief of operations, undersecretary, 

assistant secretary, wardens and the Director of Probation 

and Parole. Each unit head is responsible for ensuring that 

appropriate unit written policy and procedures are in place to 

comply with the provisions of this regulation. 

C. Policy 

1. It is the secretary's policy to provide for close 

control and/or tracking of sex offender movement and to 

utilize electronic monitoring to achieve this within resource 

limits. 
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D. Definitions 

1. Child Sexual Predator: A person who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14) and 

who is likely to engage in additional sex offenses against 

children because he has a mental abnormality or condition 

which can be verified or because he has a history of 

committing crimes, wrongs or acts involving sexually 

assaultive behavior or acts which indicate a lustful 

disposition toward children based upon a determination 

made by a Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panel. 

2. Sex Offender: An inmate committed to the custody 

of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections for a 

crime enumerated in R.S. 15:541(14.1). A conviction for any 

offense provided for in this definition includes a conviction 

for the offense under the laws of another state, or military, 

territorial, foreign, tribal, or federal law equivalent to such 

offense. An individual convicted of the attempt of any of the 

defined sex offenses shall be considered a sex offender for 

the purpose of this regulation. 

3. Sexually Violent Predator: A person who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

and who has a mental abnormality or anti-social personality 

disorder which makes the person likely to engage in 

predatory sexually violent offenses based upon a 

determination made by a Louisiana Sex Offender 

Assessment Panel. 

E. Procedures 

1. Sex offenders shall be placed on electronic 

monitoring based on the following levels of priority: 

a. sex offenders with victims under the age of 13 

years pursuant to R.S. 14:43.1(C), 14:43.2(C), 14:43.3(C), 

14:78.1(D), 14:81.1(E) and 14:81.2(E); 

b. child sexual predators and sexually violent 

predators based upon a determination made by a Louisiana 

Sex Offender Assessment Panel. Pursuant to the provisions 

of R.S. 15:560.4, these sex offenders shall be required to be 

electronically monitored utilizing electronic location 

tracking; 

c. sex offenders under supervision by the Division 

of Probation and Parole who pose a high level of risk due to 

indicators such as past and present criminal behavior/arrests, 

citizen complaints/reports, officer observation and/or other 

related risk indicators. 

2. Each sex offender being electronically monitored 

shall pay the cost of such monitoring. The cost attributable 

to the monitoring of a sex offender who has been determined 

unable to pay shall be borne by the department if, and only 

to the degree that such funds are made available by 

appropriation of state funds or from any other source. 

a. A sliding scale of payment may be imposed if the 

offender is unable to pay all (or any portion) of such costs. 

The Division of Probation and Parole shall determine the 

offender's ability to pay by considering income to include all 

earned and unearned income (i.e., benefits, such as 

unemployment, disability, retirement, real estate) and all 

assets and basic living expenses and care of dependents, 

excluding mandated judgments. Factors to be considered 

may also include public assistance, such as food stamps, 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, Medicaid, public 

housing and earnings of less than 200 percent of the Federal 

Poverty Guideline; 

b. Whenever the sex offender cannot fully pay the 

costs, the determination of ability to pay and amount of 

payment will be made by the supervising officer with the 

approval of his supervisor or the district administrator or 

designee. 

c. Failure to comply with established payment 

responsibilities when it is determined the sex offender had 

sufficient income shall be deemed a major violation and 

dealt with according to the Division of Probation and 

Parole's policies and procedures. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:560.4(B), (C), and (D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rules have no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

Written comments may be addressed to Melissa Callahan, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, until 

4:30 p.m. on June 9, 2008. 

 

James M. Le Blanc 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Offender Payment for  

Electronic Monitoring 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The cumulative estimated cost to the state for 

implementation of the Offender Payment for Electronic 

Monitoring for tracking sex offender movement is 

approximately $11.6 million for three fiscal years, assuming 

costs for 2 months implementation in FY 07-08. Based upon 

information provided by the Division of Probation and Parole, 

the total projected fiscal impact for FY 07-08 for 642 offenders 

is $1,819,706; for FY 08-09 $4,839,866; and for FY 09-10 

$4,909,910. Projected FY 07-08 costs include the following 

assumptions―funding for 41 Probation and Parole staff and 

associated recurring and start-up expenditures; the cost per 

offender per day is $10 for active GPS electronic monitoring; 

that 30% of the 2,140 sex offenders under supervision, or 642 

offenders are sexual predators that will be impacted; that 50% 

of the 642 offenders would have sufficient funds to pay for the 

cost of their supervision; and that 100 new cases will be added 

per year, or 30 additional sexual predators; and 1 additional 

probation and parole officer will be added per year for the 

additional sexual predators. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Self-generated revenues for electronic monitoring fees 

would be collected at $10 per offender per day for 50% of 642 

offenders that are projected to be impacted for two months in 

FY 07-08 (321 offenders times 61 days times $10 per offender 

per day equals $195,810); 50% of 672 offenders for 12 months 

in FY 08-09 (336 offenders times 365 days times $10 per 

offender per day equals $1,226,400); and 50% of 702 offenders 

for 12 months in FY 09-10 (351 offenders times 365 days times 

$10 per offender per day equals $1,281,150).   
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There is an indeterminable amount of estimated costs 

and/or economic benefits to directly affected persons or non-

governmental groups. However, the proposed plan will protect 

the public safety by establishing a policy for close control 

and/or tracking of sex offender movement and to utilize 

electronic monitoring to achieve this within resource limits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 

employment. 

 

B.E. "Trey" Boudreaux, III Robert E. Hosse 

Undersecretary Staff Director 
0804#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Sex Offender Assessment Panels 

(LAC 22:I.109) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:560.3(B) the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections 

Services, hereby gives notice of its intent to promulgate the 

contents of LAC 22:I.109, Louisiana Sex Offender 

Assessment Panels pursuant to legislative intent and the 

provisions of Act 186 of the 2006 Regular Session and Act 

126 of the 2007 Regular Session. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 1. Secretary's Office 

§109. Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels 

A. Purpose. To establish the secretary's policy relative to 

the formation of the Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment 

Panels pursuant to legislative intent and the provisions of 

Act 186 of the 2006 Regular Session and Act 126 of the 

2007 Regular Session. The provisions of this regulation shall 

apply to all sex offenders as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

who are convicted or who are released by any means from 

the department's custody on or after August 15, 2006. 

B. Applicability: deputy secretary, chief of operations, 

undersecretary, assistant secretary, wardens, Director of the 

Division of Probation and Parole, Chairman of the Board of 

Pardons, Chairman of the Board of Parole and local jail 

administrators. Each unit head is responsible for ensuring 

that appropriate unit written policy and procedures are in 

place to comply with the provisions of this regulation. 

C. Policy. To constitute the department's policy regarding 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels pursuant to 

legislative intent. 

D. Definitions 

Child Sexual Predator—a person determined by a 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panel who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

and who is likely to engage in additional sex offenses against 

children because he has a mental abnormality or condition 

which can be verified by a psychiatrist or psychologist, or 

because he has a history of committing crimes, wrongs, or 

acts involving sexually assaultive behavior or acts which 

indicate a lustful disposition toward children. 

Mental Abnormality—a congenital or acquired 

condition of a person that affects the emotional or volitional 

capacity of the person in a manner that predisposes that 

person to the commission of criminal sexual acts to a degree 

that makes the person a menace to the health and safety of 

others. Nothing in this definition is intended to supersede or 

apply to the definitions found in R.S. 14:10 or 14 in 

reference to criminal intent or insanity. 

Sexually Violent Predator—a person who has been 

convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541(14.1) 

and who has a mental abnormality or anti-social personality 

disorder that makes the person likely to engage in predatory 

sexually violent offenses as determined by a Louisiana Sex 

Offender Assessment Panel. 

E. Panel Composition and Guidelines 

1. Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 15:560.2, the 

secretary is hereby authorized to create not more than three 

Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment Panels. An employee of 

the Office of Adult Services shall be designated by the 

secretary to serve as coordinator for the panels. Each panel 

shall consist of three members as follows: 

a. one member shall be a psychologist licensed by 

the Louisiana State Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

who has been engaged in the practice of clinical or 

counseling psychology for not less than three consecutive 

years or a psychiatrist in the employ or under contract to the 

department whose credentials and experience are not 

incompatible with the evaluation of the potential threat to 

public safety that may be posed by a child sexual predator or 

a sexually violent predator; 

b. one member shall be the secretary or designee 

who shall be chairman; 

c. one member shall be the warden, or in his 

absence the deputy warden, of the institution where the 

offender is incarcerated or a probation and parole officer 

with a minimum of 10 years experience, or a retired law 

enforcement officer with at least five years of experience in 

investigating sex offenses. 

2. A majority of the members of a panel shall 

constitute a quorum. All official actions of a panel shall 

require an affirmative vote of a majority of the members of 

the panel. 

3. Each panel shall meet at least once quarterly and 

upon the call of the chairman or upon the request of any two 

members. 

4. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S. 15:574.12, 

each panel shall review presentence reports, prison records, 

medical and psychological records, information and data 

gathered by the staffs of the Board of Pardons and the Board 

of Parole, information provided by the sex offender (which 

may include a personal interview), the district attorney or the 

assistant district attorney from the judicial district which 

prosecuted the sex offender and any other information 

obtained by the boards or the department. 

5. Each panel shall have the duty to evaluate every 

offender who has been convicted of a sex offense as defined 

in R.S. 15:541(14.1) and who is to be released from the 

custody of the department, by any means, to determine if he 
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is a child sexual predator or a sexually violent predator in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:560.1. 

6. Each panel shall meet and evaluate every sex 

offender as defined by this regulation at least six months 

prior to the release date of the sex offender. 

7. Any decision by a panel may be appealed in 

accordance with Department Regulation No. B-05-005 

"Administrative Remedy Procedure." 

8. A panel's review will be conducted via file review 

utilizing the information contained in Paragraph E.4. 

Telephone or video conferencing may be conducted at the 

discretion of the panel. 

9. Panel decisions will be recorded by individual vote 

and official results shall be maintained on a docket sheet 

results form. 

10. Recommendations made by individuals other than 

those employed by the department or the local jail facility 

where the inmate is housed shall be made in writing. 

11. Pursuant to R.S. 15:560.3 A.(1), (2), and (3), upon a 

determination by a panel that a sex offender is a child sexual 

predator or a sexually violent predator, the sex offender shall 

be: 

a. required to register as a sex offender in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:542 et seq., for the 

duration of his natural life; 

b. required to provide community notification in 

accordance with the provisions of R.S. 15:542 et seq., for the 

duration of his natural life; 

c. required to be electronically monitored pursuant 

to the provisions of R.S. 15:560.4. 

F. Electronic Monitoring of Child Sexual Predators or 

Sexually Violent Predators 

1. Each sex offender determined to be a child sexual 

predator or a sexually violent predator pursuant to the 

provisions of this regulation shall be required to be 

electronically monitored in a fashion that provides for 

electronic location tracking. 

2. Unless it is determined pursuant to Department 

Regulation No. C-07-004 "Offender Payment for Electronic 

Monitoring" that a sex offender is unable to pay all or any 

portion of the costs for electronic monitoring, each sex 

offender to be electronically monitored shall pay the cost of 

such monitoring. 

3. The costs attributable to the electronic monitoring 

of an offender who has been determined unable to pay shall 

be borne by the department if, and only to the degree that 

sufficient funds are made available for such purpose whether 

by appropriation of state funds or from any other source. 

4. Only in the case that a sex offender determined to 

be a child sexual predator or a sexual violent predator is 

unable to pay his own electronic monitoring costs, and there 

are no funds available to the department to pay for such 

monitoring, may the requirements of electronic monitoring 

be waived. 

G. Notification of Release 

1. In accordance with R.S. 40:2528, Public Safety 

Services shall promulgate rules and regulations regarding the 

department's notification to the Office of State Police when a 

child sexual predator or sexually violent predator has been 

released from imprisonment. State police shall then send out 

an alert by means of a predator alert system to local law 

enforcement officials to inform them of such releases. 

H. Rights of Action 

1. Any employee who participates in the sex offender 

review process pursuant to this regulation shall be immune 

from civil or criminal liability when the actions taken are in 

good faith in a reasonable manner in accordance with 

generally accepted medical or other professional practices. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:560.3(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

Written comments may be address to Melissa Callahan, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, until 

4:30 p.m. on June 9, 2008. 

 

James M. Le Blanc 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Sex Offender  

Assessment Panels 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The annual recurring estimated cost to the state for 

implementation of the Louisiana Sex Offender Assessment 

Panel is approximately $200,000. This law provides that the 

panel shall meet at least quarterly and that the sex offender 

assessment panel consist of three members, who are employees 

of the department selected by the secretary of the department. 

One member will be a licensed psychologist employed by the 

DPS&C. One member will be the secretary of the DPS&C who 

will serve as chairman. One member will be the warden of the 

institution where the offender is incarcerated. Assuming the 

Psychologist works approximately 2 days each quarter at 

$150/hour ($10,000), two full-time social workers are hired at 

$60,000 each or a total of $120,000, and allocating $55,000 for 

other professional or legal services for the three member panel, 

it would cost approximately $185,000 for professional services. 

Also, assuming the social workers would be traveling 

approximately twice a week for 50 weeks, $15,000 has been 

estimated for travel. FY 2007-08 costs assume implementation 

for 2 months. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no effect on revenue collections of state or 

governmental units. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on costs and/or economic 

benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 

groups. 
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 

employment. 
 

B.E. "Trey" Boudreaux, III Robert E. Hosse 

Undersecretary Staff Director 
0804#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Uniform Construction Code Council 

Informal Disciplinary Proceedings (LAC 55:VI.1102) 

In accordance with the provisions of Act 12 of the 2005 

First Extraordinary Session, R.S. 40:1730:22(C) and (D), 

and R.S. 40:1730.34(B) relative to the authority of the 

Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council to 

promulgate and enforce rules, the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code Council hereby proposes to enact a new 

rule under Chapter 11 to revise the informal disciplinary 

procedures against those building code enforcement officers 

and third party providers holding a certificate of registration. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 

Chapter 11. Disciplinary Proceedings 

§1102. Informal Proceedings 

A. Notice. If the council receives written information 

indicating that a person holding a Certificate of Registration 

(registrant) is violating or has violated any provision of R.S. 

40:1730.21 et seq., or this Part, the council, after an informal 

investigation, by the council administrator or his/her 

designee, shall notify the registrant, in writing, of the 

findings of the informal investigation by the council 

administrator. The council administrator is authorized to 

conduct the informal investigation by telephone or site visit 

as deemed necessary by the council administrator. 

Furthermore, for complaints involving an immediate safety 

threat or dangerous condition, the council administrator shall 

notify, in writing, the local building official of the complaint. 

After presentation of a report by the council administrator, 

the council may, in writing, order the registrant to 

immediately cease the conduct or violation. 

B. Response. The registrant after written informal notice 

from the council, shall respond in writing to the council's 

informal notice within 21 days of receipt by providing the 

council with a written statement containing any information 

related to the allegations of the informal notice which would 

show compliance with all requirements for retention or 

renewal of his/her certificate of registration. In lieu of 

providing a written statement, the registrant may request, in 

writing to the council administrator, an informal conference 

with the council chair, code enforcement advisory committee 

chair, council administrator, and legal counsel. In the event 

that a resolution to the matter is not accomplished during the 

informal procedures, the council administrator shall forward 

a report to the council for initiation of the formal procedures. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) & (D) and 40:1730.34(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 

Council, LR 33:293 (February 2007), amended LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

The Effect of This Rule on the Stability of the Family. 

This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the family. 

The Effect of This Rule on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their

Children. This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 

their children. 

The Effect of This Rule on the Functioning of the Family. 

This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of the 

family. 

The Effect of This Rule on Family Earnings and Family 

Budget. This Rule will have no effect on family earning and 

family budget. 

The Effect of This Rule on the Behavior and Personal 

Responsibility of Children. This Rule will have no effect on 

the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

The Effect of This Rule on the Ability of the Family or 

Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 

the Proposed Rules. This Rule will have no effect on the 

ability of the family or local government to perform the 

function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested persons may submit written comments or 

requests for public hearing on this proposed Rule change to 

Paeton Burkett, Attorney, Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code Council, at 7979 Independence 

Boulevard, Suite 106, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. Comments 

will be accepted through close of business June 10, 2008. 

 

Jill Boudreaux 

Undersecretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Informal Disciplinary Proceedings 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 

local governmental units. The proposed rule merely revises the 

informal disciplinary process against those building code 

enforcement officers holding a certificate of registration with 

the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code Council. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed rule change will not have an impact on local 

governmental units that are currently providing code 

enforcement. The rule is merely an internal operating guideline 

for the Uniform Construction Code. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Building code enforcement officers holding a certificate of 

registration with the Uniform Construction Code Council could 

be impacted in that this rule modifies the disciplinary procedure 

impacting those registrants. The extent of impact will be minor 

and no additional paperwork will be incurred as a result of the 

proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There will be no impact upon competition and employment 

as the proposed rule merely changes the informal disciplinary 

process. 

 
Jill Boudreaux Robert E. Hosse 

Undersecretary Staff Director 
0805#067 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 

Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Caterer's Permits (LAC 55:VII.325) 

Under the authority of R.S. 26:71.1, 271.3 and/or 793, and 

in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, proposes 

to amend LAC 55:VII.325 relative to permit holders eligible 

to apply for and obtain Caterer's Permits. 

This proposed amendment to the above-referenced Rule is 

offered under authority delegated by and at the direction of 

the Louisiana Legislature in its amendment and re-enactment 

of R.S. 26:793 to promulgate rules relative to issuance of 

Caterer's Permits. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Chapter 3. Liquor Credit Regulations 

§325. Caterer's Permits 

A. The Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control may issue 

a Class A―Caterer's permit to persons who meet the 

qualifications and criteria of either Paragraph 1 or 2 below. 

1. Holders of any Class A, B or C liquor or beer retail 

permit will be allowed to sell and serve alcoholic beverages, 

on a temporary basis, limited to three days in duration, at 

events other than on the premises for which the holder's 

regular permit is issued. 

a. This holder of a Class A―Caterer's permit must 

use the permit in conjunction with their A, B or C liquor 

and/or beer permit and shall expire at the same time as the 

regular A, B or C permit. 

b. If the regular Class A, B or C permit ceases to be 

valid for cause, the caterer's permit ceases to be valid. 

2. Class B liquor or beer retail permit holders shall be 

subject to the following terms and/or conditions. 

a. Class A―Caterer's permits shall only be issued 

to holders of a Class B liquor and/or beer retail permit whose 

primary purpose is the sale of alcoholic beverages. 

b. Class B liquor or beer retail permit holders who 

applied for and obtained a Class A―Caterer's permit prior to 

August 20, 2008, shall not be subject to Subparagraph a 

above. 

3. Persons who do not otherwise qualify for a retail 

dealer permit pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 26:71.1 or 

R.S. 26:271.2, but who operate a facility with a fully 

equipped kitchen where food is prepared for the purpose of 

catering functions, will be allowed to obtain a Class 

A―Caterer's permit under the following conditions. 

a. This holder of a Class A―Caterer's permit must 

derive 70 percent of their gross annual revenue from the sale 

of food or food-related product, and 40 percent of the gross 

revenue per event must be derived from the sale of food or 

food-related product. 

b. This holder of a Class A―Caterer's permit must 

maintain separate sales figures for alcoholic beverages. 

c. Class A―Caterer's permits shall not be used in 

lieu of Special Event permits. 

B.1. An application for a Class A―Caterer's permit shall 

be made on forms prescribed by the Commissioner of the 

Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control. 

2. A Class A―Caterer must display the permit on the 

premises of the event being catered. 

3. A Class A―Caterer must only cater events in an 

area in which the sale of alcoholic beverages has been 

authorized by local option election and with permission from 

the local governing authority. 

4. A Class A―Caterer must provide the Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control with written notice of the date, 

time, and place of each catered event at least one week prior 

to the date of the event. 

5. All alcoholic beverages at a catered event must be 

dispensed by the holder of the Class A―Caterer's permit or 

his employee, agent, or servant. 

6. Class A―Caterers must comply with the provisions 

of the Responsible Vendor Program of R.S. 26:931 et seq. 

7. The cost of the Class A―Caterer's permit is $200 

per year or any portion thereof; costs shall not be prorated. 

8. Class A―Caterer permits shall be renewed 

annually in accordance with the provisions relative to all 

other retail permits, specifically R.S. 26:88 and 285 and 

LAC 55:VII.321. 

C. Holders of a caterer’s permit must specifically comply 

with provisions of R.S. 26:90, 26:91, 26:286 and 26:287 in 

addition to other provisions not exempted; however, 

exceptions are: when the holder of caterer's permit calls 

upon an industry member to serve an event; at events other 

than upon the premises for which the holder's regular permit 

is issued, the industry member must charge the holder of the 

caterer's permit for all equipment used and services rendered 

in an amount at least equal to that listed as follows: 

1. labor―at a rate equal to that required as a 

minimum wage under the Federal Wage and Hour Act; 

2. self contained electric units in which the beer 

container is refrigerated with the unit―$25 per day; 

3. electric unit in which the beer container sits outside 

the cooling unit―$25 per day; 

4. picnic pumps―$10 per day or may be sold to the 

permit holder in accordance with Paragraph 9 below; 

5. tubs―$10 per day or may be sold to the permit 

holder in accordance with Paragraph 9 below; 

6. cold plates―$25 per day; 

7. trucks designed to handle packaged beer without 

refrigeration―$30 per day; 

8. refrigerated trucks designed to handle packaged or 

draught beer or mobile units such as trailers or other vehicles 

designed to handle package or draught beer―$100 per day; 

9.  cups, ice, additional CO2 gas, gas picnic pumps, 

tubs and similar supplies and equipment―cost to industry 

member; 

10. alcoholic beverages―at the price available to all 

other retail dealers in alcoholic beverages; 

11. stages, including labor to erect―$200 per day; and 

12. tents, including labor to erect: 

a. 12' x 12' or smaller―$30 per day; 

b. larger than 12' x’ 12'―$50 per day. 

D. Any violation of these regulations or causes 

enumerated in Title 26 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes 

shall subject the retailer to revocation, suspension, or 

withholding of his alcoholic beverage permits. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

26:71.1, 271.3 and/or 793. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Alcoholic Beverage 

Control, LR 19:904 (July 1993), amended by the Department of 

Revenue, Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, LR 26:2631 

(November 2000), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 

Implementation of this proposed amendment will have no 

effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 

Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 

Implementation of this proposed amendment will have no 

effect on the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 

Implementation of this proposed amendment will have no 

effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Budget. 

Implementation of this proposed amendment will have no 

effect on family earnings and budget. 

5. The Effect on Behavior and Personal Responsibility 

of Children. Implementation of this proposed amendment 

will have no effect on behavior and responsibility of 

children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or Local Government to 

Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 

Implementation of this proposed amendment will have no 

effect on the ability of the family or local government to 

perform this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Commissioner Murphy J. Painter, Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control, 8585 Archives Avenue, Suite 

220, Baton Rouge, LA 70809; P.O. Box 66404, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70896-6404; or via facsimile to (225) 925-3975. 

All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, 

June 20, 2008. A public hearing will be held on Friday, June 

27, 2008 at 3:30 p.m. in the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco 

Control Hearing Room at 8549 United Plaza Boulevard, 

Second Floor, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 

Murphy J. Painter 

Commissioner 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Caterer's Permits 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this amendment will not result in any costs 

to state or local governmental units, nor is it likely to result in 

any savings to any such units; rather, this proposed rule seeks 

to codify and/or clarify policy that is already in place relative to 

parties eligible to obtain Class-A Caterer's permits. This 

proposed amendment adds holders of the newly-created  

Class-C retail alcoholic beverage permit to those eligible to 

apply for and receive a Class-A Caterer's permit. This proposed 

rule further provides that only bona fide Class-B package stores 

are eligible for Class-A caterer's permits. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this proposed rule will not affect revenue 

collections of state or local governmental units whatsoever. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this proposed rule will not result in any 

costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected persons or 

non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

Promulgation of this proposed rule should have no impact 

on competition among holders of Class-A, B and C retail 

alcoholic beverage permits. 

 

Murphy J. Painter Robert E. Hosse 

Commissioner Staff Director 
0805#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 

Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Regulation Number XI―Fairs, Festivals and Special Events 

(LAC 55:VII.323) 

Under the authority of R.S. 26:793, and in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control, proposes to promulgate LAC 

55:VII.323 relative to issuance of three-day Special Event 

Permits to non-profit and for profit organizations and 

furnishing of tents and/or staging therefor. 

This proposed Rule is being promulgated with authority 

delegated by and at the direction of the Louisiana 

Legislature in its amendment and re-enactment of R.S. 

26:793 to promulgate rules relative to issuance of three-day 

Special Event Permits to organizations authorizing 

temporary sales and/or service of alcoholic beverages to the 

public. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VII.  Alcohol and Tobacco Control 

Chapter 3. Liquor Credit Regulations 

§323. Regulation Number XI―Fairs, Festivals and 

Special Events 

A. For purposes of this regulation, special events are 

defined as events, held at any location, where alcoholic 

beverages are served as an incidental part of the event for 

payment rendered or are supplied as a part of a general 

admission or other type fee. 

B. For such events, this office will issue a special 

temporary retail alcoholic beverage permit. These permits 

will be for a maximum duration of three consecutive days 

only, and no more than 12 such permits shall be issued to 

any one person within a single calendar year. 

1. There shall be three types of temporary alcoholic 

beverage permits―Type A, Type B and Type C. 

a.. Type A permits will be issued only to non-profit 

organizations with tax exempt status under the United States 

Internal Revenue Code, Sections 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(8). To 

qualify for this permit, applicants must submit written proof 

of their tax exempt status, a copy of a local permit or letter 

from the local governing authority granting their permission 

to sell alcoholic beverages, a valid lease, contract or written 

permission of the owner of the property upon which the 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 34, No. 05   May 20, 2008 931 

event is to be held if the property is not owned by the 

applicant and a completed, notarized application form. Type 

A permits shall be issued without charge by the Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control. 

b. Type B permits will be issued only to non-profit 

organizations which are able to provide some type of written 

proof of their non-profit status, but are unable to show 

written proof of their tax exempt status under the Internal 

Revenue Code sections cited above. To qualify for this 

permit, applicants must submit the same documentation as 

for Type A permits, substituting the written proof of non-

profit status for the written proof of tax exempt status. 

Applicants for Type B permits will be assessed a $10 

handling fee to cover the cost of processing the application. 

c. Type C permits will be issued to persons holding 

limited events where alcoholic beverages are sold or 

supplied as part of a general admission or other type fee, but 

who do not meet the requirements for Type A or Type B 

temporary permits. To qualify for a Type C temporary 

permit, applicants must meet the qualifications required of 

permit holders under R.S. 26:80 and R.S. 26:280 and must 

submit a copy of a local permit or letter from the local 

governing authority granting their permission to sell 

alcoholic beverages, a valid lease or contract with the owner 

of the property on which the event is to be held if it is not 

owned by the applicant and a completed, notarized 

application form. A $100 fee will be assessed to cover the 

cost of handling the Type C permit application. 

2. Class A―Caterer's permits shall not be utilized in 

lieu of Special Event permits. 

C. The holders of temporary special event permits may 

return unused product at the conclusion of the event for cash 

or credit refund. 

D. The provisions of R.S. 26:90 and 26:286 shall apply 

to all special events for which temporary permits are issued 

under this regulation, and violations are punishable as 

provided for under the provisions of Title 26 of the Revised 

Statutes. The provisions of R.S. 26:81 and 26:281 shall not 

apply to special event permits. 

E. The provisions of R.S. 26:287(9) and Regulation IX 

dealing with unfair business practices shall not apply to the 

holders of Type A and Type B special event permits, except 

as provided in Subsection F below, but shall fully apply to 

the holders of Type C special event permits. 

F.1. When the holder of a special event permit of any type 

calls upon an industry member to service an event, the 

industry member must charge the permit holder for all 

equipment used and services rendered in an amount at least 

equal to that listed as follows: 

a. labor―at a rate equal to that required as a 

minimum wage under the Federal Wage and Hour Law; 

b. self contained electric units in which the beer 

container is refrigerated within the unit―$25 per day; 

c. electric unit in which the beer container sits 

outside the cooling unit―$25 per day; 

d. picnic pumps―$10 per day or may be sold to the 

permit holder in accordance with Subsection j below; 

e. tubs―$10 per day or may be sold to the permit 

holder in accordance with subsection j. below; 

f. cold plates―$25 per day; 

g. trucks designed to handle packaged beer without 

refrigeration―$30 per day; 

h. refrigerated trucks or mobile units such as trailers 

or other vehicles designed to handle package or draught 

beer―$100 per day; 

i. cups, ice, additional CO2 gas, gas picnic pumps, 

tubs and similar supplies and equipment―cost to industry 

member; 

j. alcoholic beverages―at the price available to all 

other retail dealers in alcoholic beverage;. 

k. stages, including labor to erect―$200 per day; 

and 

l. tents, including labor to erect: 

 i. 12' x 12' or smaller―$30 per day; 

 ii. larger than 12' x' 12'―$50 per day. 

2. Equipment such as that listed above may not be 

furnished to regular licensed retail dealers unless the dealer 

acquires a temporary special event permit. Equipment may 

not be provided by a wholesaler for functions where no 

permit is issued but beer is acquired from a retail dealer, 

such as private parties or receptions. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with La. 

R.S. 26:793. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Alcoholic Beverage 

Control, LR 17:606 (June 1991), amended LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 

the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 

Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 

the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 

and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 

the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Budget. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 

family earnings and budget. 

5. The Effect on Behavior and Personal Responsibility 

of Children. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have 

no effect on behavior and responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or Local Government to 

Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 

the ability of the family or local government to perform this 

function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Commissioner Murphy J. Painter, Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control, 8585 Archives Avenue, Suite 

220, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809; P.O. Box 66404, Baton 

Rouge, Louisiana 70896-6404; or via facsimile to (225) 925-

3975. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m. on 

Friday, June 20, 2008. A public hearing will be held on 

Friday, June 20, 2008 at 3 p.m. in the Office of Alcohol and 

Tobacco Control Hearing Room at 8585 Archives Avenue, 

Second Floor in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 

 

Murphy J. Painter 

Commissioner 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 34, No. 05  May 20, 2008 932 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation Number XI 

Fairs, Festivals and Special Events 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this rule will not result in any costs to state 

or local governmental units, nor is it likely to result in any 

savings to any such units; rather, this rule seeks to codify 

and/or clarify policy that is already in place relative to parties 

eligible to obtain Type A and/or B Special Event Permits. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this rule will not affect revenue collections 

of state or local governmental units whatsoever. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Promulgation of this rule will not result in any costs and/or 

economic benefits to directly affected persons or  

non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

Promulgation of this rule should have no impact on 

competition among bona fide non-profit organizations, but 

should prevent bona fide non-profit organizations from having 

to compete with for-profit organizations. Promulgation of this 

rule should have no impact on employment, as holders of Type 

A, B and C Special Event Permits are subject to the same rules 

and/or regulations relative to employment of persons to assist 

in the sale and/or service of alcoholic beverages. 

 

Murphy J. Painter Robert E. Hosse 

Commissioner Staff Director 
0805#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 

Policy Services Division 

Income and Franchise Tax (LAC 61:I.1911) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:6016, R.S. 47:287.785, and 

R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes 

to adopt LAC 61.I.1911. 

This Notice of Intent was originally published in the 

February 2008, issue of the Louisiana Register. However, 

R.S. 47:6016 was amended in the 2008 Second 

Extraordinary Session, which occurred before this proposed 

Rule could become final. Therefore, this notice has been 

revised to reflect the amendments to R.S. 47:6016. 

Title 61 

REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 

Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 19. Miscellaneous Tax Exemptions, Credits 

and Deductions 

§1911. Louisiana New Markets Tax Credit 

A. Application Process for New Markets Tax Credits 

1. A taxpayer may apply for Louisiana New Markets 

Tax Credits by submitting a Private Letter Ruling request to 

the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division. 

2. If a taxpayer is entitled to the credit, a ruling and a 

Tax Credit Summary Sheet will be issued to the taxpayer. 

a. The Tax Credit Summary Sheet will include: 

 i. the Private Letter Ruling number; 

 ii. the investor and entity type; 

 iii. if the entity is an LLC or partnership, the 

investor's membership interest; 

 iv. the amount invested; 

 v. the amount intended to be invested; 

 vi. the amount of credits; 

 vii. the initial credit allowance date; 

 viii. the anniversary dates; 

 ix. name of the community development entity; 

 x. name of the qualified low-income business, if 

available; and 

 xi. number of credit allowance dates. 

b. The Tax Credit Summary Sheet will also include 

a section that must be updated each time the credit is 

transferred. This section will include: 

 i. the original investor; 

 ii. the transferor; 

 iii. the transferee; 

 iv. all applicable Louisiana tax identification 

numbers; 

 v. the amount of credits previously claimed or 

sold by transferor and/or investor; 

 vi. the transferor's original tax credit balance; 

 vii. the transferor's tax credit balance after transfer; 

 viii. the amount being transferred; 

 ix. nature of transfer, currently available credits or 

future credits; 

 x. if currently available credits, from which credit 

allowance date; and 

 xi. purchase amount. 

3. A Louisiana taxpayer that earned the credit must 

attach the Tax Credit Summary Sheet to their income or 

franchise tax return to claim the credit. 

4. A Louisiana taxpayer that purchases the credit must 

attach the New Markets Transfer Form, issued by the 

transferor, to their return to claim the credit. The New 

Markets Transfer Form is available from the department's 

website, www.revenue.louisiana.gov. 

B. Claiming the New Markets Tax Credit 

1. New Markets Tax Credits earned by a taxpayer or 

received by taxpayer by flow-through from a partnership or 

LLC may be applied as follows. 

a. Credits may be applied to the tax year in which 

the credit allowance date occurred. 

b. Credits may not be applied to penalties and 

interest. 

c. Prior year returns that include the credit 

allowance date may be amended to apply credits. 

d. Credits may be applied against taxes paid in a 

prior year and the taxes paid may be refunded. However, the 

New Markets Tax Credit is nonrefundable and credits in 

excess of the tax paid in a prior year can only be carried 

forward in accordance with R.S. 47:6016(D). 

e. Credits from qualified equity investments made 

on or after April 1, 2008, cannot be claimed on any return or 

prior year return that was due before 2009. 

2. New Markets Tax Credits transferred by sale to a 

taxpayer may be applied as follows. 
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a. Credits may be applied to a prior year's 

outstanding tax liability, including penalties and interest, as 

provided by R.S. 47:1675(H)(1)(c). 

b. A taxpayer that purchases the credits may not 

amend their prior year returns to claim credits where no 

liability is currently outstanding and therefore trigger a 

refund. 

c. Credits purchased from qualified equity 

investments made on or after April 1, 2008, cannot be 

claimed on any return or prior year return that was due 

before 2009. 

C. Limitations on the New Markets Tax Credit 

1. New Markets Tax Credits from qualified equity 

investments issued prior to July 1, 2007, are subject to an 

annual $5,000,000 cap applicable to the total New Markets 

Tax Credits issued for the year. Once the cap is reached, no 

other credits will be granted that year. 

2. New Markets Tax Credits from qualified equity 

investments issued after July 1, 2007, but before April 1, 

2008, are subject to a $50,000,000 cap on the entire New 

Markets Credit program. 

3. New Markets Tax Credits from qualified equity 

investments issued after April 1, 2008, shall be allowed as 

follows: 

a. during the period beginning April 1, 2008, and 

ending December 31, 2008, $25,000,000; 

b. during the period beginning January 1, 2009, and 

ending December 31, 2009, $12,500,000 plus any unissued 

credits from the prior period; 

c. during the period beginning January 1, 2010, and 

ending December 31, 2010, $12,500,000 plus any unissued 

credits from the prior periods; and 

d. during periods beginning January 1, 2011 and 

after, credits shall be limited to only unused credits from 

prior years. 

D. Additional Requirements and Limitations for Credits 

Issued after April 1, 2008, Pursuant to Act 4 of the 2008 

Second Extraordinary Session. 

1. Private Letter Ruling requests for credits must 

include in the statements of facts: 

a. the name of the original investor; 

b. a detailed description and the location of the 

qualified low-income business; 

c. the total amount of the qualified equity 

investment; and 

d. the total amount of Louisiana New Markets Tax 

Credits earned. 

2. To be issued credits on qualified low-income 

investments that exceed $5 million, the Department of 

Economic Development must certify that the qualified  

low-income investment was made to a business in a targeted 

industry. Private Letter Ruling requests for credits from 

qualified low-income investments exceeding $5 million will 

be accepted by the department without certification from the 

Department of Economic Development if the taxpayer 

asserts in the statement of facts that the certification has 

been requested. However, the Private Letter Ruling will not 

be issued to the taxpayer until the department receives a 

copy of the certification letter from the Department of 

Economic Development. 

E. New Markets Tax Credits Transfer Process 

1. Any New Markets Tax Credits not previously 

claimed by a taxpayer against their income or franchise tax 

may be transferred or sold. 

2. The original investor that is transferring credits 

must send an updated Tax Credit Summary Sheet separately 

to the Department of Revenue within 30 days of the sale. 

The original investor should also include a New Markets 

Transfer Form with closing documents to the transferee. 

3. The transferee must submit the New Markets 

Transfer Form with their income or franchise tax return to 

claim the credits. 

4. Any transferor, other than the original investor, 

should use a New Markets Transfer Form to transfer credits 

to another Louisiana taxpayer and send a copy of the form to 

the department within 30 days of the sale. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.47:6016, R.S.47:287.785, and R.S.47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Revenue, LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

This Family Impact Statement is provided as required by 

Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

1. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no 

effect on the stability of the family. 

2. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no 

effect on the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 

3. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no 

effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no 

effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 

5. Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no 

effect on the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform this function. 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, or comments regarding this proposed Rule to 

Michael D. Pearson, Director, Policy Services Division, by 

mail to P.O. Box 44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by 

fax to (225) 219-2759. All comments must be received no 

later than 5 p.m., Monday, July 23, 2008. A public hearing 

will be held on Tuesday, July 24, 2008, at 10:30 a.m. in the 

River Room, on the seventh floor of the LaSalle Building, 

617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 

Cynthia Bridges 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Income and Franchise Tax 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no implementation 

costs to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Act 4 of the 2008 2nd Extraordinary Session added another 

$50 million in aggregate tax credit over the life of the New
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Markets Tax Credit program, but restricted the amounts to the 

following each calendar year: $25 million through 2008, $12.5 

million during 2009, and $12.5 million during 2010. However, 

current law provides that credits issued can only be taken 

against tax liabilities in the following percentages over three 

years: 40% 1st year, 40% 2nd year, and 20% the 3rd year. 

Thus, state general fund revenues will decline by 

approximately the following amounts due to tax credits granted 

by Act 4 and the proposed rule change: Fiscal Year 2008-09 

($10 million), Fiscal Year 2009-10 ($15 million), Fiscal Year 

2010-11 ($15 million), Fiscal Year 2011-12 ($7.5 million) and 

Fiscal Year 2012-13 ($2.5 million). The proposed rule change 

will have no effect on revenue collections of local 

governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The New Markets Tax Credit program exists to create 

investment into urban and rural low-income areas to help 

finance community development projects, stimulate economic 

growth and create jobs. As such, companies operating in these 

areas within the program requirements will receive a subsidy in 

the form of a tax credit. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

Other projects competing for economic resources with 

projects participating in the program may be adversely affected 

or face higher costs than otherwise. Companies with 

participating projects will employ individuals. However, the 

aggregate level of economy wide employment is not likely to 

be materially affected. 

 

Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 

Secretary Staff Director 
0805#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Social Services 

Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Licensing 

Child Residential Regulations (LAC 67:I.Subpart 2) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing proposes to 

amend the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 67, Part I, 

Subpart 2, Residential Licensing. This Rule is mandated by 

R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

As noted in the Rule published in the December 2007 

issue of the Louisiana Register, LAC 48.I.Chapters 53, 57, 

61, 62, 71, and 79 were moved to LAC 67.I and III and 

renumbered as follows: 

 
Previous Placement Current Placement 

Title 48 Title 67 

Part I Part I 

Chapter 57 Chapter 11 

Chapter 61 Chapter 13 

Chapter 62 Chapter 15 

Chapter 71 Chapter 17 

Chapter 79 Chapter 19 

  Part III 

Chapter 53 Chapter 73 

 

Additional renumbering of the chapters within Title 67, 

Part I, Subpart 2, Residential Licensing is necessary to better 

organize this portion of the code. The following changes are 

being proposed. 

 

Current Chapters Effected by 

December 2007 Rule 
Proposed Chapters 

Title 67 Title 67 

Part I Part I 

  Chapter 9. Administration 

Chapter 11. Emergency Shelters Chapter 11. Child Residential Care 

Chapter 13. Foster Care Chapter 13. Emergency Shelter 

Program 

Chapter 15. Transitional Living Unchanged 

Chapter 17. Maternity Home Unchanged 

Chapter 19. Child Residential 

Care 

Chapter 19. Specialized Intensive 

Program 

  Chapter 21. Infant/Parenting 

Program 

  Chapter 23. Therapeutic Wilderness 

Program 

 

Chapter 9, Administration, would be adopted to 

promulgate general information concerning the licensing 

process, core standards, appeals process, and definitions. 

Chapter 19, Child Residential Care, would be divided into 

four separate chapters; Chapter 11. Child Residential Care, 

Chapter 19. Specialized Intensive Program, Chapter 21. 

Infant/Parenting Program, and Chapter 23. Therapeutic 

Wilderness Program. Chapter 19 would also incorporate the 

information in Chapter 13 Foster Care. Chapters 15 and 17 

would not be amended. 

The regulations in LAC 67:I.Subpart 2 are being amended 

to supersede any previous regulations heretofore published. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 

Subpart 2.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 9. Administration 

§901. Applicability and Penalties/Enforcement 

A. Applicability 

1. Any provider or person engaged in providing 

temporary care for children who are not related to the 

operators within Louisiana is required to be licensed as a 

child care facility in Louisiana. Child care facility includes 

community homes, group homes, emergency shelters, and 

residential homes and modular programs, including 

infant/parenting, specialized providers, and therapeutic 

wilderness. 

2. A child care facility that is operated in conjunction 

with other program types which require a license shall obtain 

a license for each of the programs. 

B. Penalties/Enforcement 

1. The Child Care Facilities and Child-Placing 

Agencies Licensing Act, R.S. 46:1401 et seq., the 

department's authority regarding licensing, provides for 

penalties and means of enforcement as follows. 

a. Whoever operates as a child care facility as 

defined herein without a valid license shall be fined not less 

than $75 nor more than $250 for each day of such offense. 

b. If any child care facility operates without a valid 

license issued by the department, the department may file
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suit in the district court in the parish in which the facility is 

located for injunctive relief, including a temporary 

restraining order, to restrain the institution, society, provider, 

corporation, person or persons, or any other group operating 

the facility from continuing the violation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§903. Licensing Process 

A. Application for a License 
1. Prior to beginning operation, the child care facility 

shall obtain an application from the Bureau of Residential 

Licensing within the Department of Social Services and 

shall submit the required documents, application fee and 

application. 

2. An applicant provider shall provide to the bureau 

the required documents and licensure fee as stated on the 

application and have an on-site visit by licensing staff. 

3. Fees are based on program type and licensed 

capacity. 

 

Type of Program 

Fee for 

0 to 3 

Children 

Fee for 

4 to 6 

Children 

Fee for 

7 to 15 

Children 

Fee for 

16 or 

More 

Children 

Child Residential   $400 $500 $600 

Specialized 
Intensive 

  $400 $500 $600 

Therapeutic 

Wilderness 

  $400 $500 $600 

Emergency Shelter $100   $200 $300 

Infant/Parenting  $50 for any capacity 

 

a. An applicant provider shall be inspected and 

determined to be in compliance with all regulations prior to 

receiving a license for a new operation. The license is  

non-transferable to another person or location. A provider 

who fails to be in compliance with all regulations may have 

its application denied. 

4. When a facility changes location, it is considered a 

new operation and a new application and fee for licensure 

shall be submitted. All requirements for new facilities 

including approvals of other jurisdictional bodies (including 

but not limited to state fire and health, local zoning or permit 

authorities, etc.) shall be in compliance for the new location. 

The application and fee for the new location must be 

submitted at least 30 days prior to the change of location. An 

exception may be approved in the event of emergencies such 

as a hurricane which necessitates re-location providing the 

facility complies with all applicable standards in Paragraph 

1107.A.8. 

5. A change in ownership requires a new application 

and only the licensure fee which is to be submitted within 

three business days after the change. Approvals of other 

jurisdictional agencies shall be current. Documentation is 

required from the previous owner confirming the change of 

ownership, (i.e., letter from previous owner, copy of bill of 

sale or a lease agreement.) 

6. If a licensee or applicant or an affiliate of a licensee 

or applicant has had a previous license revoked, refused or 

denied, upon reapplication, the applicant shall provide 

written evidence that the reason for such revocation, refusal 

or denial no longer exists prior to reapplication. Submission 

of such evidence does not ensure issuance of a new license. 

B. License 

1. The license, as defined herein, must be 

conspicuously displayed at the facility. The most recent 

annual survey and follow-up survey, if any must be made 

available for inspection to any person requesting them. 

C. License Renewal 

1. The provider shall submit at least 60 days prior to 

its license expiration date a renewal form and the required 

documentation and renewal fee listed on the renewal form. 

2. The minimum requirements for license renewal are: 

a. the child care facility's submittal of the renewal 

form, required documentation, and renewal fee; 

b. an annual survey showing the facility is in 

substantial compliance with these regulations and there is no 

threat to the health, safety or well-being of children in care; 

c. current approval from state fire and health 

officials; 

d. proof of all required current insurance in force at 

all times, including a comprehensive general liability 

insurance policy and including automobile coverage of 

employees who provide transportation for children in the 

course and scope of their employment; 

e. proof of current accreditation for facilities in 

deemed status. 

3. A license is issued for a one-year term. The month 

of issuance of the initial license becomes the anniversary 

month for renewals. 

D. Licensing Survey 

1. A licensing survey is to determine the degree of a 

provider's compliance with this rule as determined by the 

rating system described at §903.F. 

2. A provider will receive a licensing survey annually 

which may occur three months prior to or after the 

anniversary date when it is due for license renewal. 

3. The bureau may schedule a licensing survey more 

frequently as it deems necessary based on the child-

residential provider's performance and/or in response to 

investigation of complaints regarding the provider. The 

provider under review will develop a Quality Improvement 

Plan with timelines for completion when it is found not to be 

in compliance with these regulations and/or in response to an 

investigation of a complaint. If the provider serves children 

in state custody, the Bureau of Licensing field staff will 

notify the Office of Community Services and Office of 

Juvenile Services of the quality improvement plan and the 

provider's licensing status. 

E. Deeming through Accreditation 

1. Licensing reviewers may accept certain  

non-mandatory sections of standards as being deemed to be 

in compliance in provider programs that have a current 

accreditation from a DSS-approved accrediting body which 

periodically inspects the facility for compliance with a 

standard which is as stringent or more stringent than the 

deemed standard and when the accredited facility has had no 

substantial licensing violations during the past three years 

that affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children 

served by the accredited program. Deeming is available only 

to programs that have received prior written approval for 

deeming from the Bureau of Residential Licensing. 
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a. Critical and significant regulations may be 

deemed when the accrediting agency's own requirements are 

equal to or more stringent than those of DSS and the 

accrediting agency conducts periodic on-site inspection to 

ensure compliance with those regulations. 

b. Mandatory regulations are not deemable. 

c. Deemed standards do not require annual review 

by the DSS Licensing reviewer. Deemed standards may be 

counted as being in compliance, when appropriate 

accrediting exists and the facility's three-year history shows 

substantial compliance. 

d. The Bureau of Residential Licensing will obtain 

a copy of a confirmation letter from the approved accrediting 

provider that the provider is fully accredited and in good 

standing. The provider will provide to the Bureau of 

Residential Licensing a copy of any reports/self-assessments 

it prepares and submits to its accrediting body in preparation 

for the accreditation review. 

e. The Bureau of Residential Licensing retains the 

right to conduct a full review of anything it has concerns 

about which may become known during a review or at any 

other time. 

f. Deemed status is valid for up to two years and 

shall be reviewed by the Bureau of Residential Licensing 

through a full inspection at the end of the deeming period. 

g. If there are licensing violations in deemed or 

non-deemed sections that affect the health, safety, morals or 

welfare of the children served, the facility will be removed 

from deemed status and a full license study shall be 

conducted. 

F. Regulations 

1. The non-mandatory standards within this rule are 

rated on-site using the rating indicators provided with each 

standard. The rating of a standard follows a review of any 

information and/or documents identified as evidence for 

compliance in conjunction with any interpretation provided 

with the standard. These elements are identified by the 

annotation following each standard. 

2. The compliance rating scale for an individual 

standard is usually made up of a graduated scale of four 

choices with ratings of 1 to 4, although a few standards will 

be rated with fewer rating options. Standards are rated on the 

degree of implementation of the standard by the provider, 

i.e., 1 is full implementation and 2 is substantial 

implementation, both of which equal compliance with the 

standard while 3 is partial implementation and 4  

is unsatisfactory implementation, both of which equal  

non-compliance with the standard. The licensing specialist 

uses a combination of knowledge of this rule, professional 

judgment and experience, and the information provided by 

the provider under review to assign a rating for the degree of 

implementation of an individual standard from the scale 

provided for the standard. In addition to the numerical 

rating, the licensing specialist will provide a written basis for 

any rating of 2, 3 or 4 in the comment space provided below 

the standard in order for the provider to narrowly focus its 

efforts for improvement. 

3. A formal Quality Improvement Plan will be 

required of a provider found with standards rated at the 3 

and 4 level. During the process of review the provider will 

have an opportunity to supplement its information for some 

standards rated at less than 1 during a minimum period of 

two business days from the start of the survey up to the 

conclusion of the licensing survey. This provision provides 

fairness in the legally required unannounced review process 

by allowing a provider a brief grace period to provide 

information that may be in existence but unavailable at the 

initiation of the licensing survey and/or when the standard is 

rated. The general rule on supplementation is that 

documentation may be provided to show that the provider 

has met the standard. An example would be that it is 

permissible to obtain documentation of a treatment plan that 

was previously developed for a child in order to improve a 

rating on a standard about treatment plans. However, it 

would not be acceptable to create a treatment plan for the 

child's record in order to comply with the standard on 

treatment plans. The interpretation given with a standard 

provides guidance on what is acceptable supplementation. 

4. An over-sample of 10 to 20 records is selected to 

allow for a sufficient number of records for reading to 

minimize the effect of not-applicable situations. Some 

records pulled for the sample will not be usable if they have 

not been open long enough to meet the time periods 

generally required in the standards. A sample of records 

open for twelve to eighteen months preceding the survey 

should be current enough to meet the requirements of the 

rule and also have enough time open to be rated generally on 

most of the standards. A statistically sound sample is drawn 

according to size of the provider and the universe of records 

available for consideration. The general rule is that at least 

20 cases should be read in order to obtain an accurate picture 

of the provider's work. If the provider has a licensed capacity 

of less than 30 children, a 100 percent record review of 

whatever size shall be done. A personnel record sample 

should include at least ten records or all records if the 

provider has 10 or fewer personnel in direct care worker 

and/or supervisor positions. Other standards will be rated 

using samples pulled focusing on specific areas. A reading 

sample should be identified as early in the survey process as 

possible as the provider being surveyed shall be provided a 

24-hour period from the identification of the sample to 

locate and assemble the records or other documents for 

review. The random sample of names of provider staff 

required for reviewing material such as training records 

should also be identified as early as possible to aid the 

provider in locating the information on a timely basis. 

5. Some standards will be rated following a sample 

reading of records. The goal of the sample reading is to 

provide a snapshot in time of the provider's practice. The 

evidence of compliance statement advises in italics when a 

record review is involved in the rating of a standard. Each 

standard is rated on the degree of implementation of the 

standard by the provider, i.e., 1 is full implementation and 2 

is substantial implementation, both of which equal 

compliance with the standard while 3 is partial 

implementation and 4 is unsatisfactory implementation, both 

of which equal non-compliance with the standard. The 

licensing specialist uses a combination of knowledge of this 

rule, professional judgment and experience, and the 

information provided by the provider under review, to assign 

a rating for the degree of implementation of an individual 

standard from the scale provided for the standard. 

6. Some standards are noted with cumulative record 

review. Once the sample cases are read, a single rating is 
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determined for each specific standard by averaging all the 

rates for the particular standard which were determined from 

the cases read. For a specific standard, the number of ratings 

at a 1 or a 2 level will be divided by the total number of 

ratings completed from the cases read for that standard in 

order to determine a percentage. The percentage determines 

the rating level for the entire specific standard. 

a. 90 percent or more of ratings on a standard at a 

level of 1 or 2 will result in a rating of 1 on that standard for 

a provider. 

b. 80-89 percent of the ratings on a standard at a 

level of 1 or 2 will result in a rating of 2 on that standard for 

a provider. 

c. 70-79 percent of the ratings on a standard at a 

level of 1 or 2 will result in a rating of 3 on that standard for 

providers. 

d. Less than 70 percent of the ratings being at a 

level of 1 or 2 will result in a rating of 4 on that standard for 

the provider. 

7. This rating system uses a compact number of 

standards aimed at sound provider operation, fundamental 

safety of children served, preservation of client rights, and 

basic service practice most likely to result in a good 

outcome. To determine the providers overall standing on the 

total regulations, weighted standards provide integrity in a 

rating system using a smaller number of standards. Each 

standard's weight is designated as M for mandatory, C for 

critical, or S for significant. 

a. Mandatory standards require a rating of a 1-full 

compliance or a 2-substantial compliance on at least  

95 percent of the standards in the mandatory grouping 

applicable to a provider. 

b. Critical standards require a rating of a 1-full 

compliance or a 2-substantial compliance on at least  

90 percent of the standards in the critical grouping 

applicable to a provider. 

c. Significant standards require a rating of 1-full 

compliance or a 2-substantial compliance on at least  

80 percent of the standards in the significant grouping 

applicable to a provider. 

8. When determining how many standards are 

required to meet a level, only the whole number will be used 

and any part less than a whole number will be dropped for 

simplifying this part of the process. A provider achieving 

percentage levels as noted previously for the standards 

applicable to it under this rule meets the condition for 

licensing. 

G. Denial, Revocation, or Non-Renewal of a License 

1. Even if a facility is otherwise in substantial 

compliance with these regulations, an application for a 

license may be denied, revoked or not renewed for any of 

the following reasons: 

a. the owner, director, officer, board of directors 

member, or any person designated to manage or supervise 

the provider has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to any felony, any offense of a violent or sexual 

nature, or any offense involving a juvenile victim. A copy of 

a criminal record check performed by the Louisiana State 

Police or other law enforcement provider, or by the FBI, or a 

copy of court records in which a conviction or plea occurred, 

indicating the existence of such a plea or conviction shall 

create a rebuttals presumption that such a conviction or plea 

exists; 

b. a provider, after being notified that an officer, 

director, board of directors member, manager, supervisor or 

any employee has been convicted of or pled nolo contendere 

to any offense referenced above, allows such officer, 

director, or employee to remain employed, or to fill an office 

of profit or trust with the provider. A copy of a criminal 

record check performed by the Louisiana State Police or 

other law enforcement provider, or by the FBI, or a copy of 

court records in which a conviction or plea occurred, 

indicating the existence of such a plea or conviction shall 

create a rebuttable presumption that such a conviction or 

plea exists; 

c. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the 

children in care; 

d. disapproval from any agency whose approval is 

required for licensure; 

e. nonpayment of licensure fees timely or failure to 

submit a licensure application timely; 

f. any validated instance of child abuse, corporal 

punishment, physical punishment, or cruel, severe or 

unusual punishment if the owner is responsible or if the staff 

member who is responsible remains in the employment of 

the licensee or if the owner failed to prevent foreseeable 

abuse or neglect or failed to take appropriate remedial action 

immediately after learning of the abuse or neglect; 

g. the facility is closed with no plans for reopening 

and no means of verifying compliance with minimum 

standards for licensure; 

h. any act of fraud such as falsifying or altering 

documents required for licensure or defrauding or attempting 

to defraud the state of Louisiana or any of its agencies or 

political subdivisions; 

i. failure of the owner, director or any employee to 

report a known or suspected incident of abuse or neglect to 

child protection authorities; 

j. the owner or director of the provider is not 

reputable; 

k. the owner, director or a member of the staff is 

temperamentally or otherwise unsuited for the care of 

children; 

l. failure to provide adequate care and supervision 

to any children in care; 

m. failure to comply with any provision of state or 

federal law intended to protect the public health or safety; 

n. failure to comply with any provision of state or 

federal law relating to providing care of children; 

o. revocation or non-renewal of a previous license 

issued by a state or federal provider; 

p. a substantial history of non-compliance with 

licensing statutes or regulations, including but not limited to 

failure to take prompt action to correct deficiencies, repeated 

citations for the same deficiencies, or revocation or denial of 

any previous license issued by the department; 

q. failure to timely submit an application for 

renewal or to timely pay required fees; and/or 

r. operating any unlicensed facility and/or program. 

2. If a license is revoked, denied or refused, a license 

may also be denied or refused to any affiliate of the licensee 

or applicant. For the purpose of this section, "affiliate" 

means: 
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a. with respect to a partnership, each partner 

thereof; 

b. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 

director and stockholder thereof; and 

c. with respect to a natural person: anyone related 

within the third degree of kinship to that person; each 

partnership and each partner thereof which that person or 

any affiliate of that person is a partner; and each corporation 

in which that person or any affiliate of that person is an 

officer, director or stockholder. 

3. Once a decision is made to recommend the denial, 

revocation or refusal to renew a license, the department shall 

notify the Child Care Committee in writing of its 

recommendation. If the Committee fails or refuses to reach a 

decision on the recommendation within 30 days of receipt, 

the recommendation of the department becomes the official 

action of the Child Care Committee. The department shall 

proceed with its action and notify the applicant or licensee in 

writing of the action taken and the reasons for that action. 

H. Appeal Procedure 

1. The provider administrator, owner, or designated 

agent may appeal this decision by submitting a written 

request with the reasons to the Bureau of Appeals within the 

department as directed in the certified letter notifying of the 

adverse decision. This written request shall be postmarked 

within 30 days of the receipt of the certified letter notifying 

of the adverse decision. Receipt of the certified letter by the 

child care facility shall be presumed to have occurred 7 days 

after the mailing of the letter to the address on the most 

recent application/renewal form on file with the Bureau of 

Licensing. 

2. The Bureau of Appeals shall set a hearing to be 

held within 30 days after receipt of such a request. 

3. An Appeals Hearing Officer shall conduct the 

hearing. Within 90 days after the date the appeal is filed, the 

Hearing Officer shall advise the appellant by certified letter 

of the decision, either affirming or reversing the original 

decision. If the license is refused or revoked, the child care 

facility shall terminate operation immediately except that in 

the case in which children remain in the provider's care, the 

provider shall work with the department to assure the least 

disruptive transfer of children and records to other 

placements. 

4. If the child care facility continues to operate 

without a license, the department may file suit in the district 

court in the parish in which the provider is located for 

injunctive relief. 

I. Exigent Circumstances. The department may take 

action as it deems necessary to extend a license and/or 

licensing survey of a provider that has been impacted by a 

catastrophic event including but not limited to fire, flood, 

hurricane, or other major disaster for a reasonable period of 

emergency response and recovery. The department will work 

with such a provider to stabilize its program, will be guided 

by the best interests of the children in care, and will closely 

monitor provider efforts to return to normal operating 

circumstances. 

J. Waivers 

1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may waive compliance with a minimum standard 

upon determination that the economic impact is sufficiently 

great to make compliance impractical, as long as the health, 

safety, and well-being of the staff and/or children is not 

imperiled. If it is determined that the facility or provider is 

meeting or exceeding the intent of a standard or regulation, 

then the standard or regulation may be deemed to be met. 

2. The secretary or designee may upon written request 

of a provider waive or modify a provision of these standards, 

unless it is mandated by Louisiana law, upon clear and 

convincing evidence showing the proposed alternative will 

comply with the intent of the standard being waived. The 

secretary or designee may require expert opinion to support 

granting the waiver. 

3. A waiver request from a provider relative to all 

other chapters of this rule, including but not limited to 

Chapters 11, 13, 19, 21, and 23 will be submitted to the 

secretary to the attention of the bureau for processing. 

4. Application for a waiver shall be made in writing 

and shall include: 

a. a statement of the provisions for which a waiver 

is being requested; 

b. an explanation of the reasons why the provisions 

cannot be met and why a waiver is being requested; and 

c. for Paragraph J.2 above a description of the 

alternative method proposed for meeting the intent of the 

provision sought to be waived. 

5. All requests for a waiver will be answered in 

writing and approvals will be maintained on file by the 

requesting provider and the department. A waiver shall be 

granted for a period of one year or as specified by the 

secretary and will not be renewed if the basis for it no longer 

exists. 

6. For the purpose of the licensing of agencies, there 

are certain standards in this rule that are not subject to 

waiver. These standards are identified by the words "safety 

factor" at the conclusion of the annotation following the 

standard. 

K. Complaints 

1. Any complaints about the quality of care/services 

provided by a licensed child care facility and/or applicant 

may be made to the bureau and an investigation of such 

complaint will be conducted. 

2. The department through the bureau has the duty to 

investigate a complaint: 

a. a child care facility's care of a child in violation 

of this rule; and/or 

b. an allegation of child care activities being carried 

out without benefit of a child care license. A licensing survey 

may be made as part of an investigation into a complaint 

about a provider without the giving of prior notice. 

3. Reports of alleged child abuse/neglect shall be 

made to the local child protection provider in the parish in 

which the provider is located and also to local law 

enforcement in that parish if it is believed that a crime has 

been committed and/or the alleged abuse/neglect occurs 

while in the care of a third-party who has no connection to 

the provider home. (La. Children's Code Article 610 A. and 

E.) 

4. Any complaint investigation reports made by the 

bureau or received by the bureau from other investigative 

sources shall be filed in a separate complaint file to be 

available during the annual review of provider. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§905. Definitions 

Abuse―any one of the following acts which seriously 

endanger the physical, mental, or emotional health and 

safety of the child: 

1. the infliction, attempted infliction, or, as a result of 

inadequate supervision, the allowance of the infliction or 

attempted infliction of physical or mental injury upon the 

child by a parent or any other person; 

2. the exploitation or overwork of a child by a parent 

or any other person; 

3. the involvement of the child in any sexual act with 

a parent or any other person, or the aiding or toleration by 

the parent or the caretaker of the child's sexual involvement 

with any other person or of the child's involvement in 

pornographic displays, or any other involvement of a child 

in sexual activity constituting a crime under the laws of this 

state. La. Children's Code Article 603(1). 

Access to Children―any employee, volunteer, intern, 

independent contractor or other individual whose job duties 

require them to be in the presence of children at a facility 

whether such individual is inside or outside of the visual and 

auditory supervision or presence of other facility staff. 

Accreditation―a provider's achievement and maintenance 

of accreditation status by an accrediting body that has been 

approved by the department. 

Administrator―the person responsible for the on-site, 

daily implementation and supervision of the overall facility's 

operation. 

Behavior Management―the techniques, measures, 

interventions, and procedures applied in a systematic fashion 

to promote positive behavioral or functional change by 

fostering the child's self-control, and to prevent or interrupt a 

child's behavior which threatens harm to self or others. 

Appropriate and inappropriate behaviors can be described 

with corresponding rewards or consequences depending on 

the type of behavior. 

Bureau of Appeals―the unit within the Office of the 

Secretary of DSS assigned the responsibility for carrying out 

a fair hearing in an appeal of a departmental action. 

Bureau of Residential Licensing―the unit within the 

Office of the Secretary of DSS assigned the responsibility 

for carrying out the licensing function. Where "the bureau" 

is used without modifiers it refers to the Bureau of 

Residential Licensing. 

Caretaker―someone other than a parent who provides 

care to a child prior to any state intervention that results in 

the child entering state custody and includes the plural as 

well as the singular term. 

Case Plan―the goal-oriented, time-limited, measurable, 

individualized program of action for a child in state custody 

developed by the provider in cooperation with the parent(s) 

and caretakers. 

Child―a person who has not reached age 18 or otherwise 

been legally emancipated, unless another age is otherwise 

provided in law. The word child and children may be used 

interchangeably within this rule. 

Child Care Facility―any place, facility or home operated 

by any institution, society, provider, corporation, facility, 

person or persons, or any other group engaged in providing

full-time care for more children who are not related to the 

operators and whose parents or guardians are not residents of 

the same facility, with or without transfer of custody. Child 

care facility includes community homes, infant/parenting 

programs, group homes, emergency shelters, and residential 

home. 

Compliance―conformity or obedience to a standard or 

regulation, either by actual performance or through 

constructive conformity (deeming, variance, or waiver). 

Confidentiality―the reasonable expectation of privacy of 

a parent and/or a child limiting access to information about 

themselves, their relationship and their interactions with 

child care facilities, health care professionals, and any other 

person or persons where confidentiality is mandated by law, 

custom, or the nature of the relationship. 

Court―the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction that 

granted custody of the child, the court in whose jurisdiction 

the child is domiciled, the court in which an adoption 

petition is filed, or any other court having jurisdiction over a 

provider, a person and/or a child pursuant to this rule, 

depending on the context in which it is used. 

Criminal Record Clearances―the requirements of state 

law and federal funding rule for checking criminal records 

for certain offenses prior to employing an individual who 

will have access to a child in a child care facility. 

Cumulative Record Review―a review of cases pulled for 

sample case reading followed by evaluation and averaging 

for the purpose of calculating a rating on a standard for a 

provider. This review is distinguished from a relative record 

review in that following a relative record review a rating is 

made for a standard simply applying the rating indicators 

relative to the records read as a whole. 

Custodian―the person or provider designated by a court 

to be legally responsible for a minor child or the person or 

provider accepting a child through an act of surrender. 

Deemed―certain identified regulations of these standards 

which are approved by the department as being in 

compliance because the facility maintains full accreditation 

from a DSS-approved accrediting body and the accredited 

facility has had no substantial licensing violations during the 

past three years that affect the health, safety, morals, or 

welfare of children. 

Department―the Department of Social Services. (Herein 

after the department) 

Direct Care Staff―an employee whose primary 

responsibility is the care and supervision of children in the 

child care facility. This may include staff such as 

administrative staff that have the required background 

clearances and appropriate training who may serve 

temporarily as direct care staff in the absence of staff hired 

specifically for the direct care position. 

Director―the person who has program authority. 

Discipline―an educational process by which children in 

state custody are guided to develop the self-control and self-

direction necessary to assume responsibilities, make daily 

living decisions, and learn to live in conformity to accepted 

levels of social behavior. 

Documentation―the written evidence or proof, including 

signatures of appropriate individuals and date, which is 

maintained on site and available for review. When approved 

by the Bureau of Residential Licensing, documentation may 

be in electronic or digital form where digital or electronic 
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documentation is accepted practice and the authenticity of 

the documentation can be assured. 

Emergency Shelter Program―a 24-hour residential 

facility designed to accept on a regular basis emergency 

placements of children under age 18. Facilities caring for 

five or more children must be licensed, but licensure is 

optional when emergency shelter care is provided to fewer 

than five children. This licensure does not apply to state-

approved foster homes or to foster homes developed by 

licensed child placing agencies. 

Extended License― 
1. a license which may be issued as deemed necessary 

by the department in the following circumstances: 

a. issued for six months when the department has 

not completed a required annual survey prior to the end of 

the anniversary month; 

b. issued for three months if the provider lacks 

current fire and/or health approval but does not have a 

current fire or health disapproval. If the provider does not 

submit the necessary approvals within the given timeframe 

the license will be allowed to expire and will not be 

renewed; 

c. in exigent circumstances, for such period as the 

circumstances may require. 

2. Extended licenses are granted only in circumstances 

where the failure to complete the inspection or obtain 

necessary approvals is due to circumstances beyond the 

control of the licensee. If the license was subject to any 

qualifications or conditions at the time the extended license 

was issued, those qualifications/conditions apply to the 

extended license as well. 

Human Service Field―a field of employment similar or 

related to social services such as social work, psychology, 

sociology, special education, rehabilitation counseling, 

juvenile justice and/or corrections and nursing through 

which a person gains experience in providing services to the 

public and/or private clients that serves to meet the years of 

experience required for a job as specified on the job 

description for that position. 

Immediately―as soon as practicable. With regard to a 

requirement or notification, "immediately" means as soon as 

reasonably possible after the facility first becomes aware of 

the incident or condition mandating the requirement or 

notification, but in no event later than 24 hours after the 

incident or condition. When an incident or condition occurs 

outside of normal state business hours or holidays or 

weekends, notice shall be given by facsimile transmission to 

the Bureau of Residential Licensing. 

License―the document issued by the department under 

the authority of R.S. 46:1401 et seq., and these rules 

authorizing the licensee to conduct child care facility 

activities in this state. 

Licensing Standard―the minimum requirement 

established by the state in a certain area related to the health, 

safety and well-being of a child in out-of-home care. For 

children in state custody, this rule recognizes that additional 

good practice requirements are included in the state child-

care agencies' policy, in the federal funding rule and in the 

state's Children's Code and the care of children in custody of 

those state agencies is subjected to additional monitoring as 

required by those sources. 

Licensing Survey―the on-site process used by the bureau 

to determine whether a provider is in compliance with this 

rule. 

Mandatory Regulation or Section―a regulation or section 

with which a licensee is expected to comply at all times. 

Violations of a mandatory regulation or section require 

immediate corrective action. 

Minimum Quality of Care―the following cluster of rights 

to which a child is entitled to while under the supervision of 

a public child-placing provider: 

1. retention of basic constitutional and civil rights, 

notwithstanding his status in out-of-home care; 

2. contact between the child, the child's siblings and 

the child's other family members, as provided in the child's 

case plan unless restricted by the court; 

3. receipt of telephone calls, letters, visits, gifts and 

other communication, unless restricted by the child's case 

plan and court approved; 

4. confidentiality as to the child's status and personal 

information, except for those involved in his care and/or 

oversight; 

5. freedom from coercion regarding participation in 

provider events; 

6. freedom from harsh or demeaning or physical 

discipline, humiliating treatment or punishment; 

7. freedom to participate in religious services and free 

exercise of the faith with which the child's family was 

affiliated, if a faith preference has been expressly made by 

the parent(s) or family; for a child age 16 and over, freedom 

to decide on attendance and/or choice in religious services; 

8. adequate, timely and nutritious food; 

9. possession and use of personal money, belongings, 

hygiene products and gifts; 

10. new, clean, proper fitting, seasonally appropriate 

clothing and shoes; 

11. free and private communication with any regulatory 

or child welfare officials including the child's case worker, 

attorney, Bureau of Residential Licensing, OCS, OYD, or 

Advocacy Center representatives, or other adults charged by 

law with the child's welfare; 

12. opportunity to make a complaint without fear of 

reprisal; 

13. any work assignment is consistent with the age, 

abilities, case plan of the child, and other children's work in 

the household; and 

14. any other restrictions or conditions inconsistent 

with the human dignity and the civil and human rights 

guaranteed under the Constitutions of the United States or 

the State of Louisiana. 

Neglect―the unreasonable refusal or failure of a parent or 

caretaker to supply the child with necessary food, clothing, 

shelter, care, treatment, or counseling for any injury, illness, 

or condition of the child, as a result of which the child's 

physical, mental, or emotional health and safety is 

substantially threatened or impaired. La. Children's Code 

Article 603(14). 

Non-Employees―those individuals who are not facility 

staff but who may be at the facility as volunteers, students, 

interns, tutors, counselors, and other non-staff individuals 

who may or may not work directly with the children. 
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Out-of-Home Care―the circumstance of 24-hour care 

being provided for a child when the child has had to be 

removed from his parents' or other caretakers' care by state 

intervention or the child has been surrendered by his parents 

or by other persons with a legal right to the child to DSS. 

Parents―biological and/or legal parents of a child with 

the term including the singular as well as the plural. 

Partial Compliance―compliance with not less than  

two-thirds (66.66 percent) of mandatory standards and 

compliance with at least a majority (50 percent) of  

non-mandatory standards. Non-compliance means anything 

less than partial compliance. 

Person Affiliated with Provider―a provider's owners, 

officers, board members, volunteers, interns, and/or any 

other such person who may be involved in some capacity 

with the work of the provider but does not include 

employees. 

Physical Restraint―a continuum of nationally-certified 

methods used to prevent or limit free body movement when 

a child may be of danger in harming self or others. 

Placement―as a verb the locating of a child into a foster, 

temporary placement for 24-hour care away from his own 

home and as a noun the physical location of the child. 

Policy―a plan or course of action and/or guiding 

principles and/or procedures adopted by the provider which 

is designed to determine decisions, actions and other matters 

which shall be adhered to by appropriate staff. 

Provider―the owner and/or operator of a child care 

facility and/or his agents, employees and representatives. 

Qualified License―a license issued when a facility is in 

substantial compliance with licensing regulations, issued 

through the facility's anniversary date. If a facility has a 

history of substantial compliance, a multi-year license may 

be issued, at the sole discretion of the bureau, through the 

anniversary date of the year designated. If a multi-year 

license is issued, the provider must still submit the annual 

application and fee as required. However, a full inspection 

will be conducted only in the initial year of the multi-year 

license, with annual compliance visits during the following 

years. A full inspection will be required before the renewal 

of each multi-year license. A license bearing no modifying 

terms (i.e., "extended," "provisional," etc.) is presumed to be 

unqualified. 

Rating System―the process used for determining 

compliance with these rules as described and defined herein. 

Related or Relative―a child in care who is the natural or 

adopted child or grandchild of the provider. 

Residential Care―24-hour care every day for children 

living in a residential facility and the provision of full time 

therapeutic care according to an approved treatment plan for 

each child. 

Residential Facility (Child)―any place, facility or home 

operated by any institution, society, provider, corporation, 

person or persons or any other group to provide full-time 

care (24 hour residential care) for four or more children 

under the age of 18 years who are not related to the 

operators, and whose parents or guardians are not residents 

of the same facility, with or without transfer of custody. This 

does not include any program licensed under other state 

departments such as the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

Revocation―the act of making a license null and void 

through its cancellation. 

Safety Practices―the following specific components to be 

followed by all child care facilities. 

1. Facility staff shall have 24-hour access to telephone 

services. 

2. Each living unit shall have emergency service 

telephone numbers posted. 

3. Fire drills shall be conducted once per month at 

varying times, with one drill per shift every 90 days. 

4. Firearms and chemical weapons shall not be 

maintained in the living units of the facility. 

5. Poisonous, toxic and flammable material shall be 

used appropriately and safely stored in a labeled and suitable 

containers. 

6. Candles shall not be used in the children's sleeping 

areas. 

7. On-going hygienic actions shall be used to prevent 

insect and rodent infestation. 

8. Power-driven equipment shall be safe and properly 

maintained. 

9. Any use of power-driven of equipment by children 

shall be under the direct supervision of a staff person and 

according to any applicable stat law. 

10. Children shall only swim in safe areas and under 

the supervision of a person certified/trained in American Red 

Cross Community Water Safety or equivalent. 

Shall or Must―denotes a mandatory requirement or 

provision. 

Should―strongly suggested or urged as a best practice. 

Staffing Patterns―the minimum number of direct care 

staff to supervise and meet the needs of the children in the 

facility and shall follow these staffing requirements: 

1. at least one adult staff present for every six children 

while children are present and awake; 

2. at least one adult staff present and awake for every 

12 children when children are present and asleep; 

3. on-call staff available and accessible 24 hours per 

day when children are asleep, away from the facility for 

school, work, or recreation and to handle emergencies at all 

times; 

4. arrangements for relief staff to ensure adequate off-

duty time for regular staff, and if applicable, live-in staff; 

5. sufficient provisions made for housekeeping and 

maintenance to ensure direct care staff are able to perform 

direct care functions only; 

6. six or more children under two years of age shall 

have an additional direct care staff person on duty when the 

children are present to provide a staff ratio of one staff per 

every six children under age two. 

Specialized Intensive Program―a staff secure, intensive 

therapeutic residential program designed to serve children 

with serious behavior, emotional, and/or physical challenges 

who, because of their problems, are unable to be cared for in 

a less restrictive program. These programs are the most 

restrictive programs licensed by DSS and have greater 

staffing and other requirements. 

Special Needs― 

1. a placement effected by an intensive recruitment 

effort due to a physical, mental or behavioral condition, race, 

age, membership in a sibling group; or 

2. other unique need of a child or the means of noting 

additional services are required for a child beyond those 

provided to any child. 
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Substantial Compliance―compliance with not less than 

90 percent mandatory standards together with not less than 

80 percent critical standards and not less than 70 percent 

significant standards. Not met will be addressed in the 

quality improvement plan. 

Supervision―an oversight process used by a state 

provider with a child to support his adjustment, to keep 

informed of his progress and well-being, and to identify and 

obtain services he needs in order to carry out its legal 

responsibility to him. Supervision also means the direct 

observation and guidance of children at all times and 

requires being physically present with them. Close physical 

presence and frequent, routine checking is part of 

supervision when children of appropriate ages and abilities 

are allowed private time in bathrooms and bedrooms. 

Temporary License―a license which may be issued by the 

department for a limited period of time subject to the terms 

and conditions set forth at the time of its issuance. The 

designation "temporary" on a license denotes that the 

provider does not meet the minimum standards required for 

licensure. A temporary license expires by its own terms on 

the date stated on its face and may be terminated at any time 

prior to its expiration if the holder violates any of the terms 

of its issuance. 

Time-Out―an intervention utilized when a child needs to 

be removed from a situation or circumstance and does not 

have the ability, at the time, to self-monitor and determine 

readiness to rejoin the group. 

Treatment Plan Manager―the individual, who is assigned 

responsibility for development, supervision of 

implementation, follow-up, monitoring, and other aspects of 

a child's treatment plan as outlined in these regulations. 

Variance―an approved exception to the regulations 

granted temporarily for the purposes of allowing emergency 

admittance of specific children and which does not 

accommodate or result in substantial changes to the 

program. 

Waiver―an exemption from a requirement of this rule that 

requires at a minimum a showing that no child or staff is 

placed at risk if such exemption is granted. 

Wilderness (Therapeutic) Program―an incorporation of a 

primitive camping program with a non-punitive 

environment, and an experience curriculum promoting 

personal growth and group cooperation for residents 9 years 

of age and older who have difficulty functioning in home, 

school and community. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

Chapter 11. Child Residential Care 

§1101. Residential Regulations 

A. All child care agencies must meet the regulations 

listed in §§1103, 1105, and 1107 unless an interpretation 

provides otherwise. The following regulations are listed by 

designated weights with M for mandatory, C for critical and 

S for significant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1103. Mandatory Regulations 

A. Policies 

1. The provider has written policy and implements the 

procedures to ensure that staff documents and continually 

provides adequate communication regarding the children 

and anything which would impact the care of the children. 

Weight―M 

2. The provider has written policy, implements the 

procedures and documents of an on-going safety program. 

Weight―M 

3. The provider has written policy and implements the 

training that includes: specific responses, punishments, and 

discipline staff shall not employ when interacting with 

children. At a minimum, the following responses, 

punishments, and discipline shall be addressed as 

unacceptable: 

a. any type of physical hitting or other painful 

physical contact except as required for medical, dental, or 

first aid procedures necessary to preserve the child's life or 

health; 

b. requiring a child to take an extremely 

uncomfortable position; 

c. verbal abuse, ridicule, or humiliation; 

d. withholding or denial of a meal or sufficient 

sleep, except under a physician's order; 

e. requiring a child to remain silent for a long 

period of time; 

f. denial of shelter, warmth, clothing, shoes or 

bedding; 

g. assignment of harsh physical work; 

h. physical exercise or repeated physical motions as 

punishments; 

i. excessive denial of usual services; 

j. denial of visitation or communication with 

family, legal guardian, or clergy except in accordance with 

the child's written treatment plan and agreed to by the 

parent/legal guardian; 

k. denial of access to or communication with the 

child's attorney, CASA worker, or Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, OCS, OYD, or Advocacy Center representatives; 

l. extensive withholding of emotional response; 

m. punishment of groups of children for actions 

committed by an individual unless part of the LaMOD 

therapeutic behavior management system; and 

n. any other cruel and unusual punishment. 

Weight―M 

4. The provider has written policy and implements the 

training for staff that defines minimum quality of care for 

those children consistent with the definition found in these 

regulations at intake, provides the child information that 

defines minimum quality of care for those children 

consistent with the definition found in these regulations. 

Weight―M 

5. A provider has written procedures consistent with 

and assures for the provision appropriate direct care staffing 

patterns/ratio that is consistent with the definition found in 

these regulations Cumulative Record Review. Weight―M 

B. Personnel Requirements 

1. The provider has written criminal record policy that 

is applicable for each employee or others who perform paid 

or unpaid work regularly in the program such as independent 

contractors, consultants, students, volunteers, and trainees, 
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other person affiliated with the provider and addresses the 

following. 

a. A criminal record clearance shall be received 

from Louisiana State Police prior to employment of an 

individual having any direct supervision or interactions with 

children. 

b. A clear criminal record clearance for any 

employee or others who perform paid or unpaid work 

regularly in the program such as independent contractors, 

consultants, students, volunteers, and trainees. 

c. Employment shall not occur nor continue for any 

person convicted of any crimes listed in the Louisiana Child 

Protection Act or any crime involving a juvenile victim. 

d. Volunteers or contractors, consultants, students, 

or others who do not work regularly in the facility need not 

have a criminal background clearance if they are 

accompanied at all times while they are on the premises by a 

staff person with such clearance. Unsupervised volunteers 

must meet all qualifications of employees, including 

criminal background checks. Weight―M 

2. The agency has written policy and implements the 

practice of requiring a satisfactory health statement verifying 

that each staff member is free of all communicable diseases, 

including verification of a satisfactory TB test. A satisfactory 

health statement is defined as being dated within 3 months 

prior to or 1 month after employment. A new health 

statement is required on an employee every 3 years. 

Weight―M 

C. Child Safety Policy and Procedure Requirements 

1. The provider has written policy and implements the 

procedures for staff awareness on response to reports of 

alleged abuse/neglect of a child in its care which include: 

a. immediate reporting internally and externally; 

b. taking immediate action to protect the child; and 

c. a thorough written record of the provider's 

response. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1105. Critical Regulations 

A. Admissions 

1. The provider has written policy and implements the 

practice prohibiting discrimination in admission and services 

at admission based on race, color, creed, religion, national 

origin, sex, disability, or any other basis prohibited in law. 

Weight―C 

2. A provider only accepts a child for placement with 

a court order and/or with the written authorization of the 

parents or legal guardian. Cumulative record review 

Weight―C 

B. Personnel Qualifications 

1. The chief administrator or a person authorized to 

act on behalf of the chief administrator shall be accessible to 

provider staff and representatives of DSS at all times  

24 hours per day, 7 days per week. The Administrator shall 

have a bachelors' degree in human services field and is to 

have at least 3 years experience in the field of human 

services. Weight―C 

2. The provider has a qualified director who is 

responsible for the general management of the provider 

services. The qualifications are: 

a. at least 21 years of age; 

b. possess a baccalaureate degree in a human 

service field from an accredited college or university; and 

c. a minimum of three years paid full-time 

employment in a human service field or at least three years 

of progressively responsible experience in a program for at-

risk or troubled youth. Weight―C 

C. Orientation and Annual Staff Training 

1. The facility provides and documents a minimum of 

24 hours of orientation training for direct care staff within  

20 working days of the initial date of employment which 

provides the following information: 

a. the requirements of this rule, such as but not 

limited to, reporting abuse/neglect incidents, implementing 

treatment plans, children's rights, philosophy of the provider, 

etc; crisis de-escalation and management of aggressive 

behavior which is to include acceptable and prohibited 

responses; 

b. passive physical restraint which is to include a 

practice element in the chosen method; 

c. CPR and First Aid certification, currently 

possesses or to be obtained within 45 days of employment; 

d. instruction on documentation and communication 

procedures with fellow employees; and 

e. the areas necessary to equip a provider employee 

or other person affiliated with the provider with such 

knowledge as is necessary to undertake assignment in the 

provider's child care program, prior to having unsupervised 

contact with a child/children. Cumulative record review 

Weight―C 

2. A provider must document that the support 

personnel and direct care employees receive in-service 

training for enhancing knowledge annually in four areas: 

a. provider's administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

b. provider's emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

c. children's rights; 

d. detecting and reporting suspected abuse and 

neglect. Record Review Weight―C 

3. A provider must document that direct care 

employees receive, in addition to training required in core 

standards, in-service training for enhancing their knowledge 

and skills annually in ten areas: 

a. reporting and documentation of critical incidents; 

b. implementation of treatment plans; 

c. instruction on documentation and communication 

procedures with fellow employees; 

d. basic preventive skills, to include universal 

precautions, on how to protect/prevent staff, children and 

others from injury/illness; 

e. how to detect signs of illness or dysfunction that 

require medical or nursing intervention; 

f. crisis de-escalation and the management of 

aggressive behavior; 

g. passive restraint which is to include a practice 

element in the chosen method nationally-recognized; 

h. prohibited responses, punishments, disciplines to 

be used with a child or children; 

i. safe administration and handling of medication 

including psychotropic drugs, dosages, and side effects; and 
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j. current certification of CPR and First Aid. 

Cumulative Record Review. Weight―C 
D. Files of Employees and Other Persons Affiliated with 

the Provider 

1. A provider maintains personnel file that tracks the 

chronological history of a person with the provider including 

application, statements of health, criminal record clearance, 

subsequent evaluations of performance, annual training, 

annual checks for valid driving license and proof of 

insurance, and the record of any grievance. Cumulative 

record review. Weight―C 

E. Placement Records 

1. The provider is to maintain a record for each child 

at the facility where the child is placed. The record shall 

include at a minimum the child's name, date of birth, 

parent/guardian information, family and medical history as 

available, educational records as available. Weight―C 

2. The provider has a written treatment plan for each 

child. Cumulative record review. Weight―C 

F. Medications 

1. A provider is to administer and handle medications 

safely and have policy and procedures to address the 

following: 

a. prescription and non-prescription medications are 

to be either self-administered or administered by qualified 

persons according to state law with each drug to be 

identified up to the point of administration; 

b. medication administration records are to contain 

the name of the medication, dosage, time, date and person 

supervising; 

c. only properly certified personnel or the child may 

bottle or pack medications when the child leaves the facility 

on pass; 

d. any side effects observed by staff or serious 

medication errors shall be immediately reported to the 

physician, written in the child's record and reported to the 

child's parent or legal guardian. Record Review Weight―C 

2. A provider is to assure drugs are stored properly 

and comply with the following: 

a. drugs, including refrigerated drugs, shall be kept 

under lock and key; 

b. discontinued, outdated medications and 

containers with worn, illegible or missing labels are to be 

disposed of properly; 

c. drugs shall be stored under proper conditions: 

sanitation, temperature, light, moisture, ventilation, 

segregation, and security; 

d. drugs used externally and drugs taken internally 

shall be stored on separate shelves or in separate cabinets at 

all locations. Record Review Weight―C 

3. Psychotropic medications used on a regular basis 

are only to be used as ordered by the physician for 

therapeutic purposes according to clinical practices and FDA 

approval as well as: 

a. continual physician review at least every 90 days 

with a written renewal order or discontinuation of the drug if 

not necessary; 

b. potential benefits and negative side-effects are 

retained in the child's record. Cumulative record review 

Weight―C 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1107. Significant Regulations 

A. General Organizational Requirements 

1. The provider has a written up-to-date program 

description that includes at a minimum: 

a. its child care philosophy and approach to service 

delivery; 

b. the ages and types of children served by the 

program; 

c. treatment components/approaches/plans; 

d. living arrangements provided; 

e. direct and support services offered; 

f. behavior management policy; 

g. house rules and regulations; 

h. goals of placement; 

i. religious orientation, if applicable; and 

j. the decision-making criteria for admission and 

discharge. Weight―S 

2. The provider has the policies/procedures governing 

its program available for public review during its normal 

business hours of operation. Weight―S 

3. The provider has evidence of its authority to carry 

out its child care function in the state. Weight―S 

4. The provider has external governance and provides 

a list of members. Weight―S 

5. The provider has physical accommodations to carry 

out its child care function competently. Weight―S 

6. The provider has developed and implements written 

policy/procedures requiring measures to enhance the safety 

of children transported in vehicles by provider staff, or other 

persons affiliated with the provider, which include at 

minimum periodic checks on inspection of vehicles, annual 

check of driving licenses, proof of insurance, and child-

safety restraint systems for compliance with state law. 

Weight―S 

7. The provider has developed and implements written 

policy/procedures for its staff that prescribes the minimum 

safety practices, as defined herein, for the facility, staff and 

children. Weight―S 

8. The provider has a written emergency preparedness 

plan that is current for the review period. Weight―S 

9. Provider has written policy and implements the 

procedures to address work performed by a child which is to 

include: 

a. specific work assignments are to be a 

constructive experience and not a means for the provider to 

obtain vital facility functioning services at a low cost; 

b. any unpaid work is to consist only of 

housekeeping tasks or chores similar to those performed in a 

normal family environment; 

c. any additional unpaid services not covered by the 

above is to be compensated at such a rate and under 

conditions that are comparable to similar work in outside 

employment; 

d. any off-grounds or on-grounds paid employment 

must be in the Treatment Plan, which is approved by the 

parent or legal guardian, adhere to applicable state and 

federal laws, cannot conflict with the child's program and 

must not be in any hazardous condition or employment. 

Weight―S 
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B. Discharges 

1. Residents who attain the age of 18 cannot exceed 

the 6-month period beyond their eighteenth birthday to 

complete an educational, vocational, or other program 

offered by the facility. Weight―S 

C. Policies, Documentation, and Job Descriptions 

1. The provider has written policies and implements 

the procedures for all non-employees as defined herein, who 

are involved with the facility which may or may not include 

their involvement with the residing children. Weight―S 

D. Behavior Management 

1. Observational cameras may be installed and used 

only with the knowledge of the children and in common 

areas. Weight―S 

2. Observational cameras and the resulting video 

image records are to be considered confidential material. 

Weight―S 

E. Physical Environment 

1. Recreational space is available for the children. 

Weight―S 

2. Interior requirements for space, safety and well-

being of the children are to include: 

a. a minimum of 60 square feet of floor area per 

child in living areas accessible to children for informal use 

but excludes halls, closets, bathrooms, bedrooms, staff or 

staff's family quarters, laundry areas, storage areas and office 

areas; 

b. a minimum of 60 square feet of floor space is 

required for any room used for time-out, and additionally the 

room is to have no furniture, obstructions, projections and is 

to have a view panel/window that allows staff to observe the 

child at all times; 

c. each single occupancy bedroom space shall have 

a floor area of at least 80 square feet and each multiple 

occupancy bedroom is to have at least 60 square feet floor 

area for each occupant; 

d. bedroom ceiling heights are: 

 i. where the uppermost mattress of any bunk bed 

shall allow the occupant to sit up comfortably in bed; 

 ii. any ceilings heights of less than 7 feet 6 inches 

shall not be used as a bedroom; and 

 iii. a room with varying ceiling heights shall only 

use the portion that allows at least 7 feet 6 inches of height; 

e. stairways are to be safe and secure with handrails 

that are 4 feet from the ground and have gates at the top and 

bottom of the stairs should there be any children under the 

age of two residing in the facility. All such gates must be 

equipped and locked with child-proof locks; and 

f. live-in staff, if utilized, shall have adequate and 

separate space with a private bathroom. Weight―S 

3. Interior doors and windows are maintained for the 

safety and well-being of the children and are to include: 

a. windows which can be opened and are routinely 

utilized are to have insect screening which is in good repair 

and removable; 

b. each bedroom is to have a window; 

c. doors to closets, bedrooms, and bathrooms are to 

open easily from both sides and shall remain unlocked; 

d. doors to closets containing medicines, chemicals, 

or hazardous substances shall be locked at all times when 

not in use; 

e. doors leading into a facility may be locked only 

in the direction of ingress; 

f. doors in the line of egress shall not be locked and 

any deviation of lockage may only be made as agreed upon 

by the provider, the Office of the State Fire Marshall, and a 

state agency acting in a placing/funding capacity; 

g. approval of locked exit doors from the facility 

requires the staff to know the codes to the exit doors and/or 

to keep keys in their possession at all times. Weight―S 

4. Sleeping area requirements are necessary for the 

children and are to include: 

a. occupancy of bedrooms shall be appropriate for 

the sex of the children and are not to exceed more than four 

children in a specific bedroom; 

b. no child over the age of five shall occupy a 

bedroom with a member of the opposite sex; 

c. children shall be reasonably allowed to express 

personal tastes in the decoration of their own sleeping areas; 

d. each child shall have adequate and appropriate 

linens for their bed which is to include sheets, pillows, 

bedspreads, and blankets with the sheets and pillow cases to 

be changed at least weekly or more frequently as necessary; 

e. all children shall have mattresses with moisture 

resistant covers. Weight―S 

5. Bathroom areas and necessities are to include: 

a. an adequate number of bathrooms are available 

to meet the hygienic needs of the children with separate 

toilet and bath facilities for boys and girls age five and older; 

b. each bathroom is large enough for staff to assist 

the children if necessary but also designed to allow privacy 

in the toilet, baths and shower areas; 

c. each bathroom is properly constructed and 

equipped with flush toilets, sinks and baths and/or showers 

which all have a safe and adequate supply of hot and cold 

water and slip-proof surfaces; 

d. mirrors or mirror-like surfaces shall be available. 

Weight―S 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

Chapter 13. Emergency Shelter Program 

§1301. Emergency Shelter Regulations 

A. An Emergency Shelter Program shall meet all the 

core regulations identified in LAC 67:I.Chapter 11 except 

for specific regulations identified in this chapter which may 

be in addition to or not applicable to the core regulations. An 

Emergency Shelter Program shall meet the program-specific 

regulations listed in §§1303 and 1305. The regulations are 

listed by designated weights with C for critical and S for 

significant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1303. Critical Regulations 

A. Placement Records 

1. The provider has a treatment plan for each child. 

Cumulative record review. Weight―C 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1305. Significant Regulations 

A. Admissions 

1. Length of Stay. A child in an emergency shelter 

facility is to be retained no more than 45 days. There can be 

2 renewals of 30 days each by written contract between the 

facility and the placing party. No child may remain more 

than the total of 105 days allowed by using the 2 renewals. 

Cumulative record review Weight―S 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

Chapter 19. Specialized Intensive Program 

§1901. Specialized Intensive Program Regulations 

A. A Specialized Intensive Program shall meet all the 

core regulations listed in LAC67:I.Chapter 11 except for 

specific regulations identified in this chapter which may be 

in addition to or not applicable to the core regulations 

identified in LAC67:I.Chapter 11. A Specialized Intensive 

Program shall meet the program-specific regulations listed in 

§§1903 and 1905. The regulations are listed by designated 

weights with C for critical and S for significant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1903. Critical Regulations 

A. Personnel Requirements 

1. A provider has written policy/procedures consistent 

with and assures for the provision of appropriate direct care 

staffing patterns/ratio that is consistent with the definitions 

herein. In addition, the following minimum staffing patterns 

and arrangements are to be maintained by the direct care 

staff: 

a. only staff members employed in specifically 

designated positions designated as direct care and supervisor 

of children are to be counted in determining child/staff ratio; 

b. administrative and other qualified staff who may 

be present are not to be counted as part of the child/staff 

ratio; 

c. at least one adult staff is present for every two 

children when children are present and awake; 

d. at least one adult staff is present and awake for 

every three children when the children are present and 

asleep; and 

e. direct care staff is available and accessible when 

children are away from the facility for school, work, or 

recreation. Cumulative record review Weight―C 

2. A provider has written policy/procedures consistent 

with and assures for the provision of appropriate supervisory 

staff that are in addition to the required direct care staffing. 

The following requirements are to be fulfilled by the 

supervisory staff: 

a. in addition to the required direct care staff, there 

is to be at least one supervisory staff person on-call who is 

available and accessible to direct care staff to handle 

emergencies; 

b. assure arrangements are made for relief staff to 

ensure adequate off-duty time for the regular shift direct care 

staff; and 

c. assure housekeeping and maintenance and other 

activities are not the responsibilities of the direct care staff. 

Cumulative record review Weight―C 

3. A provider has written policy/procedures consistent 

with and assures for the provision of appropriate qualified 

staff for their designated positions. The following 

qualifications are to be met by the following personnel 

positions: 

a. the director shall have a bachelor's degree plus 

three years experience relative to the population being 

served; 

b. the treatment plan manager shall have a 

bachelor's degree in a human service field plus three years 

experience with the relevant population or a master's degree 

in a human service field plus one year experience with the 

relevant population; 

c. direct care workers shall be at least 20 years old, 

possess a high school diploma or GED and it is preferable 

the worker have experience in child care giving; and 

d. direct care staff shall not be contracted from 

outside agencies. Weight―C 

B. Orientation and Annual Staff Training 

1. The orientation and annual in-service training for 

this program replaces LAC 67:I.1105.C Residential 

Regulations requirements. 

2. The facility provides a minimum of 24 hours of 

orientation training for direct care staff within 20 working 

days of the initial date of employment which provides the 

following information: 

a. the requirements of this rule, such as but not 

limited, to reporting abuse/neglect incidents, implementing 

treatment plans, children's rights, philosophy of the provider, 

etc.; 

b. crisis de-escalation and management of 

aggressive behavior which is to include nationally-

recognized acceptable and prohibited responses; 

c. passive physical restraint which is to include a 

practice element in the chosen method; 

d. CPR and First Aid certification, currently 

possesses or to be obtained within 45 days of employment; 

and 

e. reporting and documentation of critical incidents; 

f. implementation of treatment plans; 

g. instruction on documentation and communication 

procedures with fellow employees; 

h. basic preventive skills, to include universal 

precautions, on how to protect/prevent staff, children and 

others of injury/illness; 

i. how to detect signs of illness or dysfunction that 

require medical or nursing intervention; 

j. crisis de-escalation and the management of 

aggressive behavior; 

k. prohibited responses, punishments, disciplines to 

be used with a child or children; 

l. safe administration and handling of medication 

including psychotropic drugs, dosages, and side effects; and 
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m. procedures for use of locked doors and gates, if 

allowed. Cumulative record review Weight―C 

3. A provider must document that the support and 

clerical support staff and non-employees who have contact 

with the residents are to receive as part of their orientation 

information focusing on the following areas: 

a. provider's administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

b. provider's emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

c. children's rights; 

d. detecting and reporting suspected abuse and 

neglect; 

e. security procedures; and 

f. reporting critical incidents. Weight―C 

4. A provider must document that the support 

personnel and direct care employees receive in-service 

training for enhancing knowledge annually in four areas: 

a. provider's administrative procedures and 

programmatic goals; 

b. provider's emergency and safety procedures 

including medical emergencies; 

c. children's rights; 

d. detecting and reporting suspected abuse and 

neglect. Cumulative record review Weight―C 

5. A provider must document that direct care staff and 

direct care supervisory staff receive, in addition to that 

training listed in LAC67:I.1105.C., in-service training for 

enhancing their knowledge and skills annually in 10 areas: 

a. reporting and documentation of critical incidents; 

b. implementation of treatment plans; 

c. instruction on documentation and communication 

procedures with fellow employees; 

d. basic preventive skills, to include universal 

precautions, on how to protect/prevent staff, children and 

others from injury/illness; 

e. how to detect signs of illness or dysfunction that 

require medical or nursing intervention; 

f. crisis de-escalation and the management of 

aggressive behavior which is to include nationally-

recognized acceptable and prohibited responses; 

g. passive restraint which is to include a practice 

element in the chosen method; 

h. prohibited responses, punishments, disciplines to 

be used with a child or children; 

i. safe administration and handling of medication 

including psychotropic drugs, dosages, and side effects; and 

j. current certification of CPR and First Aid. 

Cumulative record review Weight―C 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§1905. Significant Regulations 

A. Requirements for the Facility. All regulations listed in 

LAC 67:I.1107 are applicable in addition to the following 

standards which may modify and/or add requirements of the 

specific standard. 

1. Exterior security fencing is to comply with the 

following. 

a. A gathering area that is at least 50 feet away from 

the building is to allow for 15 square feet of space per 

resident and staff. 

b. The fencing may not be equipped with razor 

wire. 

c. Staff working in the area must carry keys to gates 

at all times. Weight―S 

2. Sleeping area requirements, are in addition to 

requirements in LAC 67:I.1107, and are to include: 

a. occupancy of bedrooms shall be appropriate for 

the sex of the children and are not to exceed more than two 

children in a specific bedroom; 

b. any deviation from the requirement of no more 

than two children per room must have written approval of 

the Louisiana state placing/funding agency; 

c. doors to the individual bedrooms are not 

equipped with locks and/or other devices that prohibit the 

door from being opened from either side unless there is a 

therapeutic and/or safety reason for the doors to be locked 

from the outside only when the children are involved in a 

structured activity elsewhere. Weight―S 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

Chapter 21. Infant/Parenting Program  

§2101. Infant/Parenting Program Regulations 

A. An Infant/Parenting Program shall meet all the core 

regulations listed in LAC 67:I, Chapter 11 except for 

specific regulations identified in this chapter which may be 

in addition to or not applicable to the core regulations. An 

Infant/Parenting Program shall meet the program-specific 

regulations in §§2103 and 2105. The regulations are listed 

by designated weights with M for mandatory and C for 

critical. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2103. Mandatory Regulations 

A. Personnel Requirements 

1. Residential regulations identified in LAC 

67:I.1103.B are followed in addition to the following 

staffing requirements. 

a. At least one adult staff is present for every five 

infants or toddlers to provide care and supervision during the 

absence of the resident mothers. 

b. The facility staff is not to allow resident mothers 

to provide care or supervision to any child other than her 

own should the other mother or staff be absent. Cumulative 

record review. Weight―M 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2105. Critical Regulations 

A. Orientation and Annual Staff Training  

1. The facility provides orientation to new employees 

as required under the general licensing standards, and on the 

care of infants and the transmission/prevention of HIV/AIDS 
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and bloodborne pathogens. Cumulative record review. 

Weight―C 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

Chapter 23. Therapeutic Wilderness Program  

§2301. Therapeutic Wilderness Program Regulations 

A. A Therapeutic Wilderness Program shall meet all the 

core regulations listed in LAC 67:I, Chapter 11 except for 

the program-specific regulations identified in this Chapter 

which may be in addition to or not applicable to the core 

regulations. The regulations are listed with designated 

weights with M being mandatory, C being critical and S 

being significant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2303. Services for Children 

A. A provider develops and immediately uses a written 

treatment plan of action, which is to be periodically updated, 

as its method of guiding specific strategies, techniques and 

activities in each child's case record toward the identified 

goal/s of service delivery. The treatment plan is to also 

describe how the child will participate and benefit from this 

program. The treatment plan for the therapeutic wilderness 

program is to include the following: 

1. how the therapeutic adventure-based activities will 

help the child develop behaviors, skills, and knowledge 

required to function effectively in life situations; 

2. how the outdoor physical, environmental, 

educational athletic or other challenging activities will be 

provided in a supportive and therapeutic environment; 

3. how the above mentioned activities will be 

designed to stimulate competence and personal growth 

which may be seen by expanded individual capabilities, 

more developed self-confidence and insight, and improved 

interpersonal skills and relationships. Cumulative record 

review. Weight―C 

B. A provider initiates a health examination for a child to 

be performed by a licensed physician no earlier than 30 days 

prior to participation in program activities. Cumulative 

record review. Weight―M 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2305. Child Safety Policy/Procedure Requirements 

A. The provider is to establish a Safety Review 

Committee or similar committee comprised of in-house 

technical and supervisory personnel. This committee is to 

comply with the following requirements: 

1. the committee is to meet monthly; 

2. conduct on-going safety reviews and evaluations of 

accidents, incidents or patterns of incidents; 

3. identify health and safety issues; 

4. implement, authorize, and monitor the corrective 

actions addressing the identified health and safety issues; 

5. establish specific rules and procedures governing 

the safety of each activity including, but not limited to, 

outdoor hiking, horseback riding, ropes course, canoeing and 

any other adventure/sports/recreation activity in which the 

children participate; 

6. rules and procedures in which appropriate safety 

measures are adopted and followed for each type of activity. 

Weight―M 

B. The provider has written policy and implements a 

safety plan for each activity in which the children will 

participate. The safety plan will address at a minimum the 

following items: 

1. a description of the activity including the location; 

2. staff requirements; 

3. children's requirements for participation; 

4. safety equipment and technical requirements 

necessary for the activity; 

5. emergency and evacuation procedures; and 

6. search and rescue procedures. Weight―C 

C. The provider has written procedures, implements the 

procedures, and documents an on-going safety program. 

Weight―C 

D. Equipment safety guidelines and requirements for the 

program are to be as follows: 

1. only sports and outdoor equipment that complies 

with applicable national standards for the equipment is used; 

2. any personal equipment used must adhere to the 

same applicable national standards for the equipment; 

3. repair kits, location devices, reflectors or any 

nighttime activity and other protective gear is provided 

according to the activity; 

4. personal flotation devices (Type III) shall be worn 

at all times when on the water; 

5. children are prohibited from using chainsaws; 

6. firearms are prohibited; and 

7. guidelines are in place governing the uses and 

storage of any potentially hazardous material or equipment 

such as propane, axes, knives, etc. Weight―M 

E. The provider has written policy and implements a 

written safety plan that is utilized prior to any activity in 

which the children will participate. The safety plan will 

address at a minimum the following items: 

1. staff familiarization of the terrain site and/or 

waterways are to be used and with up-to-date information 

about conditions that may be encountered; 

2. no employee or non-employee may be left alone 

with a child or group of children unless the individual has 

been certified in CPR and First Aid; 

3. terrain, water temperatures and other environmental 

conditions involved in the activity are to be assessed as to 

the appropriateness of the group skill levels and contain no 

hazards or threats to the children; and 

4. when the activity includes such activities as hiking, 

running, climbing, canoeing, bicycle touring, or similar 

pursuits, the participants are to be instructed in the proper 

techniques, pacing, need for fluids and sunscreen, 

appropriate footwear and equipment and any potential 

hazards. Weight―M 

F. The provider has implemented a written plan to be 

utilized for any activity in which the children will 

participate. Weight―M 
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G. The provider has implemented a written plan, with 

specific criteria, which is utilized for any ropes courses, 

alpine or climbing towers and artificial wall climbing 

program activity in which the children will participate. 

Weight―M  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2307. Personnel Qualifications 

A. The requirements for direct care staff and treatment 

plan manager remain the same as in the Personnel 

Qualifications for all facilities as listed in LAC 67:I, 

Chapters 11, 13, 19, and 21. 

B. The chief administrator or a person authorized to act 

on behalf of the chief administrator shall be accessible to 

provider staff and designated representatives of DSS at all 

times 24 hours per day, 7 days per week and has educational 

and experience requirements. The designated staff person 

must be available unless the bureau has been informed of a 

change, e.g., all residents and staff go on vacation. The 

administrator shall have a bachelor's degree in human 

services field and have at least 3 years experience in the field 

of human services. Weight―C 

C. The provider has a qualified director who is 

responsible for the general management of the provider's 

services and has educational and experience requirements. 

The qualifications are: 

1. at least 21 years of age; 

2. possess a baccalaureate degree in a human service 

field from an accredited college or university; and 

3. a minimum of 3 years paid full-time employment in 

a human service field or at least 3 years of progressively 

responsible experience in a program for at-risk or troubled 

youth and in the area of therapeutic wilderness programs. 

Weight―C 

D. The provider has at least one activity-certified staff 

member for each adventure. The staff person is certified in 

the adventure activity for which he/she will be supervising 

children. Weight―C 

E. The provider has at least one activity-certified staff 

member for each water event. The staff person is certified in 

emergency water safety and life saving techniques. 

Weight―M 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2309. Personnel Requirements 

A. Personnel requirements in the core standards and 

LAC 67:I.1107.C are to be followed in addition to the 

following staffing requirements: 

1. at least two adult staff must be present at all times 

(24 hours per day) a group of 12 or fewer children requires 

two staff; 

2. if more than 12 children are involved, the ratio is 

one staff to six children; 

3. at least one staff member shall remain awake at 

night and check children every 30 minutes; other night time 

staff may be asleep; 

4. only staff members employed in specific positions 

designated as direct care and supervisor of children are to be 

counted in determining child/staff ratio. Cumulative record 

review. Weight―M 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2311. Annual Staff Training 

A. This standard is in addition to the applicable training 

presented in the core standards. A provider must document 

that the direct care employees receive additional annual in-

service training annually in the four following areas: 

1. emergency procedures, including medical 

emergencies with the employee to be provided a copy of the 

written emergency policy; 

2. specific training for the wilderness activities they 

will be directing and to be certified in areas that require 

certification. Cumulative record review. Weight―C 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2313. Permanent Base Requirements 

A. The following regulations may be additional to the 

core regulations as listed in LAC 67:I, Chapter 11 or may 

replace regulations which are not applicable to Therapeutic 

Wilderness Programs. 

1. The permanent base is required to have permanent 

buildings for designated services. The following buildings or 

space is to be provided at the permanent base: 

a. administrative area; 

b. infirmary space; 

c. laundry space with hot and cold water; 

d. indoor food services with dining and food storage 

area; 

e. toileting and bathing areas; 

f. educational space; 

g. storage area for belongings; and 

h. adequate space to provide shelter for the children. 

Permanent buildings meet the requirements of the Office of 

Public Health, Sanitation Services. Weight―S 

2. Exterior areas of buildings are well-maintained. 

The physical facilities areas have been selected to prevent 

offensive conditions, safety hazards and provide adequate 

drainage. The grounds of the permanent buildings are free of 

debris, noxious plants and uncontrolled weeds and brush. 

Walkways and heavily traveled common areas are 

adequately lighted, safe and adequately maintained. 

Weight―S 

3. Interior requirements for space are to include: 

a. a minimum of 25 square feet of floor space per 

child for the educational area is equipped with chairs, 

tables/desks to accommodate the educational component of 

the program, if applicable; 

b. a minimum of 35 square feet of floor area per 

child in buildings to be used by children for sleeping during 

adverse weather and are maintained at a comfortable 

temperature; 

c. permanent laundry areas have one washer and 

dryer for every 15 children; 
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d. permanent infirmary space for medical purposes 

only, is to: 

 i. be separate and private; 

 ii. accessible to bathrooms; 

 iii. equipped with adequate beds; and 

 iv. have locking medication storage and supplies. 

Weight―S 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 

§2315. The Campsite Requirements 
A. The physical accommodations of the campsites must 

conform to special criteria. 

1. The campsite may consist of tents, tepees, cabins, 

wagon trains, or other non-permanent structures. 

2. There is a sheltered area, with adequate lighting, for 

personal and recreational activities. This area may serve as 

the dining area. 

3. There is an emergency access road to the campsite. 

Weight―S 

B. The campsite is required to have specific equipment 

and storage areas that include: 

1. fire safety equipment, fire extinguishers, sand, 

water, shovels, signaling devices and posted procedures; 

2. first aid equipment, a Red Cross standard or 

equivalent first aid kit; 

3. adequate sanitary storage for cooking utensils, 

food, and cleaning supplies, which must be stored 

separately; and 

4. storage areas, with locks if necessary and 

containers for tools and trash. Weight―S 

C. Structural requirements for the sleeping areas include: 

1. the structure of the sleeping area is sound, sanitary, 

in good repair, and provide adequate storage space for each 

child's personal belongings; 

2. the structure is constructed of durable, flame-

resistant, waterproof material, whether it is tents, tepees, 

wagons, etc.; 

3. the structure has screening or netting to provide 

protection against insects, if applicable; 

4. tents or tepees are on raised platforms and/or 

constructed to prevent the entrance of ground and surface 

water; 

5. the structure allows cross ventilation. Weight―S 

D. Sleeping area furnishings and occupancy are to 

include: 

1. separate suitable beds are provided for each child; 

2. if bunk beds are used, the top bunk is to have 

sufficient clearance between the bunk and ceiling to allow 

the child to sit up in bed. Triple bunk beds are not to be used; 

3. each temporary sleeping unit is to have no more 

than 12 individuals; 

4. males and females are not to sleep in the same 

sleeping units. Counselors are permitted to sleep in the unit 

with the children only if they are the same gender as the 

children; 

5. any counselor's sleeping areas are located so that no 

child's sleeping area will be out of calling range. Weight―S 

E. Bedding requirements for the sleeping areas are for 

the safety of the children and are to include: 

1. the bedding is clean and sanitary; 

2. the mattresses have a protective waterproof 

mattress cover or pad that is in good repair; 

3. linens are changed as often as necessary for 

cleanliness and sanitation, but not less than weekly; 

4. if sleeping bags are used, one is provided for each 

child and is given to the child upon discharge; 

5. sleeping bags are: 

a. placed on a mattress or a plastic-covered foam 

pad; 

b. fire resistant; and 

c. aired every five days and cleaned monthly or as 

often as necessary to maintain sanitary conditions; 

d. of sufficient weight and construction to maintain 

children's comfort in the climate and conditions in which the 

sleeping bag is used, according to the manufacturer's label. 

Weight―S 

F. The toilet and personal hygiene accommodations 

replace the bathroom regulations in LAC 67:I.1107.E.5. The 

bathroom area and necessities are to include: 

1. privies, water closets, latrines, chemical toilets, etc.; 

2. the accommodations are in compliance with Office 

of Public Health, Sanitation Services requirements and are 

constructed, located, and maintained so as to prevent any 

nuisance or public health hazard; 

3. toilet tissue is available at each toilet seat; 

4. an area for personal hygiene is made available with 

wash basins equipped with potable water, soap, towels, and 

clean water for hand washing; 

5. there are separate facilities if the program is co-ed; 

6. accommodations are well lit, ventilated, clean, and 

sanitary; and 

7. individual items such as shampoo, hairbrushes, 

razors, personal hygiene products, toothbrushes, etc., are 

provided for the children. Weight―S 

G. The meal accommodations standards at the campsite 

are to include: 

1. meals coordinated to meet the daily national needs 

of the children as outlined by the Food Nutrition Board of 

the National Research Council; 

2. cooking and eating areas are protected from water 

by locating the areas so that ground and surface water cannot 

accumulate/enter, or have a flooring that is constructed to 

prevent entrance of ground/surface water and is to have a 

covering to protect against rain and the elements; 

3. potable water for cooking and drinking is made 

available; 

4. the areas for food preparation have sanitary 

surfaces with proper food sanitation practices written and 

posted in the cooking area; 

5. eating areas have tables and benches with eating 

utensils at meal times; 

6. appropriate cookware, materials for handling hot 

cookware and materials for cleaning cooking and eating 

utensils are available at the campsite. Weight―S 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 

Licensing, LR 34: 
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Family Impact Statement 

1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? This Rule will have no effect on the stability of 

the family. 

2. What effect will this Rule have on the authority and 

rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 

their children? This Rule will have no effect on the authority 

and rights of persons regarding the education and 

supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this Rule have on the functioning 

of the family? This Rule will have no effect on the 

functioning of the family. 

4. What effect will this Rule have on family earnings 

and family budget? This Rule will have no effect on the 

family's earnings or budget. 

5. What effect will this Rule have on the behavior and 

personal responsibility of children? This Rule will have no 

effect on the behavior or personal responsibility of children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 

the function as contained in this proposed Rule? No, this 

program is strictly an agency function. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ann 

S. Williamson, Secretary, Department of Social Services, 

Post Office Box 3776, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70821. She 

is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 

proposed Rule. Three public hearings on the proposed Rule 

will be held throughout the state during the month of June 

2008, as follows: 
Thursday, June 5, 2008 

Department of Social Services, Iberville Building 

627 N. Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 

9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. 

Thursday, June 12, 2008 

Louisiana United Methodist Children and Family Services, Inc. 

901 South Vienna, Ruston, LA 

9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. 

Thursday, June 19, 2008 

Office of Youth Development 

Lafayette Regional Office 

130 Chappius Drive, Lafayette, LA 

9 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing at said 

hearings. Individuals with disabilities who require special 

services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven 

working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call 

(225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 

Ann S. Williamson 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Child Residential Regulations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The purpose of this proposed rule is to revise the minimum 

standards for the licensure of Class "A" child residential 

facilities and to renumber LAC 67.I.Subpart 2 to better 

organize these portions of the code. R.S. 46:1401-1427 directs 

DSS to conduct a comprehensive review of all standards, rules 

and regulations every three years. This review resulted in the 

agency revising the minimum licensing standards to 

incorporate a rating system to define what constitutes 

"substantial compliance." Currently substantial compliance is 

defined as either pass or fail. This new system establishes a 

numeric system to determine various degrees of compliance 

with licensing standards. 

The total cost to implement this rule in FY 08-09 is 

$64,400 ($48,300 State General Fund; $16,100 IAT from the 

Office of Community Services). This cost includes $3,000 to 

print 1,000 copies of the revised regulations; $49,900 to secure 

the services of four qualified trainers who will be responsible 

for producing a training manual and provider handbook and for 

providing three statewide two-day training sessions for 9 

Department of Social Services (DSS) employees, 10 Office of 

Youth Development (OYD) employees and 95 residential 

providers; and $8,000 for travel costs which includes 

transportation, meals, and lodging for 2 nights for 5 DSS 

employees and 4 contracted trainers. In addition, the cost for 

publishing rulemaking in the Louisiana Register is anticipated 

to be approximately $3,500. The agency anticipates that these 

costs will be absorbed in the FY 08/09 appropriated budget. 

These are one-time costs; therefore, no funding is needed for 

FY 2009-10 and 2010-11. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 

and local governments. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The residential care provider will benefit from this rule 

change because the provider will be rated for implementation 

of licensing standards on a graduated scale of four choices with 

ratings of 1 to 4 (1 is full implementation, 2 is substantial 

implementation, 3 is partial implementation, and 4 is non-

compliance) in lieu of receiving a pass or fail rating. Under the 

current system, a provider's license would not be renewed with 

a failed rating. Under the new rating system, only a rating of 3 

or 4 would mean non-compliance with the standards and the 

provider will be required to submit a Quality Improvement 

Plan. Although, this rule will provide less subjective criteria for 

rating a provider, the agency expects the overall impact for 

passing or failing the standards to be neutral. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no impact anticipated on competition or 

employment. 

 

Ann Silverberg Williamson Robert E. Hosse 

Secretary Staff Director 
0805#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Treasury 

Board of Trustees of the Louisiana  

State Employees' Retirement System 

Voluntary Deductions from Retiree Benefits Payroll  

(LAC 58.I:1101 and 1103) 

The Department of the Treasury, Board of Trustees of the 

Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System ("LASERS") 

proposes to amend LAC 58.I:1101 and LAC 58.I:1103, 

which provide for voluntary deductions by LASERS retirees 

from their retirement benefits. They are being amended in 

order to streamline the process for adding additional 
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insurance vendors. This Rule complies with and is enabled 

by R.S. 11:515. 

Title 58 

RETIREMENT 

Part I.  State Employees’ Retirement 

Chapter 11. Voluntary Deductions from Retiree 

Benefits Payroll 

§1101. Application Process for Voluntary Payroll 

Deduction 

A. - B.7. … 

8. other insurance companies approved by the 

executive director. 

C. … 

D. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 

System, LR 18:1417 (December 1992), amended LR 22:373 (May 

1996), LR 33:676 (April 2007), LR 34: 

§1103. Applicant and Vendor Requirements 

A. General insurance vendors shall meet the 

requirements established by the Division of Administration 

and shall either be included on the annual listing maintained 

by the Office of State Uniform Payroll or approved by the 

executive director. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 

System, LR 18:1417 (December 1992), amended LR 22:373 (May 

1996), LR 33:676 (April 2007), LR 34: 

Family Impact Statement 

These proposed Rule amendments should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 

R.S. 49:972.D or on family formation, stability and 

autonomy. Specifically there should be no known or 

foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 

2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 

3. the functioning of the family; 

4. family earnings and family budget; 

5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 

6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes until 4:30 p.m., June 27, 2008, to Steve 

Stark, Board of Trustees for the Louisiana State Employees' 

Retirement System, P.O. Box 44213, Baton Rouge, LA 

70804. 

 
Cindy Rougeou 

Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Voluntary Deductions from  

Retiree Benefits Payroll 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No implementation costs to state or local governmental 

units are anticipated to result from the implementation of these 

rule changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

No effect on revenue collections of state or local 

governmental units is anticipated to result from the 

implementation of these rule changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

Retirees seeking new insurance vendors would be affected, 

along with insurance vendors. LASERS expects no associated 

costs or economic benefits to result from the proposed rule 

amendments. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

No effect on competition or employment in the public or 

private sectors is anticipated to result from the proposed rule 

changes. 

 
Cindy Rougeou Robert E. Hosse 

Executive Director Staff Director 
0804#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 34, No. 05   May 20, 2008 953 

Potpourri 
 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Horticulture Commission 

Retail Floristry Examination 

The next retail floristry examinations will be given July 

21-25, 2008, 9:30 a.m. at Louisiana Technical College, 

Lomax Hall, Ruston, LA. The deadline for sending in 

application and fee is June 6, 2008. No applications will be 

accepted after June 6, 2007. 

Further information pertaining to the examinations may be 

obtained from Craig Roussel, Director, Horticulture 

Commission, Box 3596, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3596, 

phone (225) 952-8100. 

Any individual requesting special accommodations due to 

a disability should notify the office prior to June 6, 2007. 

Questions may be directed to (225) 952-8100. 

 

Mike Stran, DVM 

Commissioner 
0805#022 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 

Office of Public Health 

Maternal and Child Health Section 

Public Notice—Maternal and Child Health 

The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) intends to 

apply for Maternal and Child (MCH) Block Grant Federal 

Funding for FY 2008-2009 in accordance with Public Law 

97-35 and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981. 

The Office of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health 

Section, is responsible for program administration of the 

grant. 

The Block Grant Application describes in detail the goals 

and planned activities of the State Maternal and Child Health 

Program for the next year. Program priorities are based on 

the results of a statewide needs assessment conducted in 

2005, which is updated annually based on relevant data 

collection. 

Interested persons may request copies of the application 

from: 

State of Louisiana 

DHH―Office of Public Health 

Maternal and Child Health Section 

628 N. Fourth Street 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821 

Or view a summary of the application at:  

http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/offices/ 

publications.asp?ID=267&Detail=1065 

Additional information may be gathered by contacting 

Tracy Hubbard at (225)-342-7805. 

 

M. Rony Francois, M.D., MSPH, Ph.D. 

Assistant Secretary 
0805#065 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 

Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 

set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 

such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District 
Well 

Name 

Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

J. E. Holmes Co. Joyce S Tremont 

LBR CO 

C-1-A 51914 

 

James H. Welsh 

Commissioner 
0805#068 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of the Secretary 

Certification of Land Conservation Organizations  

(LAC 43:I.Chapter 41) 

The Notice of Intent which proposed to adopt new rules to 

govern the Certification of Land Conservation 

Organizations, LAC 43:I.4101, 4103, 4105, 4107, 4109, 

4111, 4113, 4115, 4117, and 4119, was published in the 

January 2008 publication of the Louisiana Register (pp. 178-

186). A deadline for submission of written comments on the 

proposed Rules was originally set for March 7, 2008 at 4:30 

p.m. 

Because several requests have been received requesting 

more time to fully ascertain the effects of this Rule and to 

provide additional comment, the deadline for submission of 

written comments on the proposed Rule governing the 

administration of the Certification of Land Conservations 

Organizations has been reset for July 7, 2008 at 4:30 p.m. 

All interested persons may submit written comments on 

the proposed Rule. Persons commenting should reference 

this proposed Rule by "Certification of Land Conservation 

Organizations" Such comments must be received no later 

than June 20, 2008 at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to the
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following contact person and address: James J. Devitt, 

Deputy General Counsel, Legal Division, Louisiana 

Department of Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, 

P.O. Box 94396, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9396 or to FAX 

(225) 342-2707 or by email to James.Devitt@la.gov. This 

proposed Rule is available on the Internet at 

http://dnr.louisiana.gov. This proposed Rule is available for 

inspection and copying between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 

4:30 p.m. at the following address: Louisiana Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, 617 North Third 

Street, 12th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. 

 

Gerry M Duszynski 

Assistant Secretary 
0804#076 

 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Loran Coordinates 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et. 

seq., notice is given that 11 claims in the amount of 

$39,915.57 were received for payment during the period 

April 1, 2008 - April 30, 2008.  

There were 11 claims paid and 0 claims denied.  

Latitude/Longitude Coordinates of reported underwater 

obstructions are: 

 
2913.732 8954.336 Jefferson 

2924.910 9002.990 Lafourche 

2927.922 9005.302 Jefferson 

2931.039 9218.913 Vermilion 

2940.658 8930.422 St. Bernard 

2944.068 9230.063 Vermilion 

2945.348 9008.010 Jefferson 

2945.424 9230.216 Vermilion 

2946.892 8932.010 St. Bernard 

2952.958 9014.810 St. Charles 

3007.465 8947.848 Orleans 

 

A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 

Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 

70804 or you can call (225)342-0122.  

 

Scott A. Angelle  

Secretary 
08005#018 

 
 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Social Services 

Office of Community Services 

Louisiana's Child and Family Services Plan  

and Annual Progress and Services Report 

The Louisiana Department of Social Services/Office of 

Community Services (DSS/OCS) announces opportunities 

for public review of the state's 2008 Annual Progress and 

Services Report (APSR). The APSR is a report on year four 

of the 2004-2009 Child and Family Services Plan (CFSP) 

with regard to the use of Title IV-B, Subpart 1 and Subpart 2, 

Title IV-E Chafee independence program and Child Abuse 

Prevention & Treatment Act (CAPTA) funds. The APSR is 

the report on the achievement of goals and 

objectives/outcomes and amends any changes to the agency's 

CFSP.  

Louisiana, through the DSS/OCS, provides services that 

include child protection investigations, family services, 

foster care, adoption and the Chafee independence program. 

OCS will use its allotted funds provided under the Social 

Security Act, Title IV-B, Subpart 1, to provide child welfare 

services to prevent child abuse and neglect; to prevent foster 

care placement; to reunite families; to arrange adoptions; 

and, to ensure adequate foster care. Title IV-B, Subpart 2, 

entitled Promoting Safe and Stable Families, includes 

services to support families and prevent the need for foster 

care. The Chafee Independence Program funds services to 

assist foster children 15 years old and older who are likely to 

remain in foster care until age 18. Former foster care 

recipients who are 18 to 21 years of age who have aged out 

of foster care are also eligible for services. The services 

include basic living skills training and education and 

employment initiatives. The CAPTA funding is used to 

complement and support the overall mission of OCS with 

emphasis on developing, strengthening, and carrying out 

child abuse and neglect prevention and treatment programs. 

DSS/OCS is encouraging public participation in the 

planning of services and the writing of this document. The 

report can be found for review on the Internet under 

www.dss.state.la.us by scanning down to the OCS/State and 

Federal Plans and Reports/APSR link.  

All interested persons will have the opportunity to provide 

recommendations on the plan, orally or in writing, at a 

public hearing scheduled for June 5, 2008, at 10:00 a.m. at 

the Iberville Building located at 627 North 4th Street in 

Baton Rouge, on the First Floor, Room 1-127. Comments on 

the plan may be submitted in writing to the OCS Assistant 

Secretary on or before the close of business on June 5, 2008, 

at PO Box 3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

 

Ann S. Williamson 

Secretary 
0805#057 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 

(Volume 34, Number 5) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 

Cumulative 

January 2007—December 2007, 205 

January 2008—March 2008, 831 

 

 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 

Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

2, 4-D or products containing 2, 4-D, 570ER 

Milk producer tax credit, 707N 

Agro-Consumer Services 

Weights and Measures Division 

Handbook 130, 408R 

Commissioner, Office of 

Milk producers tax credit, 570ER 

Horticulture Commission 

Annual quarantine listing, 832P 

Landscape architect  

Registration exam, 208P, 361P 

Retail floristry exam, 361P, 953P 

Seed Commission 

Seeds, 99N, 863R 

 

 

CIVIL SERVICE 

Division of Administrative Law 

Ethics Adjudicatory Board, 710N 

 

 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 

Cultural Development, Office of the 

Cultural districts, 100N, 599R 

 

 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

Boxing and wrestling standards, 371ER, 844ER, 891N 

Business Development, Office of 

Entertainment Industries Development 

Motion picture tax credit programs, 553P 

Mentor-Protégé Program, 602R 

EDUCATION 

Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

BESE Part I Code of Conduct, 409R 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and  

State Accountability System 104N, 427R, 430R, 

867R 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment, Standards and  

Practice, 65R, 431R, 481N 

Bulletin 120—Adult Education Data Quality and  

Procedures, 604R 

Bulletin 121―Students Teaching and Reaching (STAR) 

Content Standards Curriculum Framework, 483N 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 448N 

Bulletin 128―Entrepreneurship Content Standards 

Curriculum Framework, 469N 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School  

Administrators, 607R 

General career and technical education, 477N 

Graduation requirements, 712N 

Bulletin 741―Nonpublic―Louisiana Handbook for 

Nonpublic School Administrators, 229R, 609R 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State  

Certification of School Personnel 

Algebra I, 478N 

Cooperative education, 106N, 869R 

Foreign language special certificate PK-8, 233R 

Junior ROTC, 715R 

Practitioner Teacher Program, 479N 

 Professional level certificates, 233R, 716N 

 ROTC instructor, 432N 

Bulletin 904―Guidelines for Submission of a Charter 

School Proposal, 480N  

Bulletin 1794―State Textbook Adoption Policy and 

Procedure Manual, 64R 

Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform  

Governmental Handbook, 610R 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

Scholarship Grants Programs, 219ER, 487N, 574ER, 

897N 

Financial peril prevention, 234R 

Bylaws of the advisory committee, 610R 

Tuition Trust Authority 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Saving Program, 576ER, 899N 

 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Secretary, Office of the 

Ambient air standards 

Particulate matter, 433R 

Expedited penalty agreement, 377ER, 717N 

Motor fuels UST trust fund, 864R 

Legal Affairs Division 

Byproduct material medical use, 726N 

Clean air interstate, 490N 

Electronic document/signatures, 904 

Emissions 

Annual inventory data submittals, 559P 

2008 

Pages    Issue 

 

1-212 ..................................................... January 

213-366 ................................................. February 

367-566 ................................................. March 

567-840 ................................................. April 

841-959 ................................................. May 

 

EO―Executive Order 

PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 

ER―Emergency Rule 

R―Rule 

N―Notice of Intent 

CR―Committee Report 

GR―Governor's Report 

L―Legislation 

P―Potpourri 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY (continued) 

Evidentiary hearings on hazardous waste permit 

 applications, 68R 

Incorporation by reference-2007, 493N, 865R, 901N 

Permit applications, 107N 

RCRA burden reduction, 736N 

RCRA XVI , 279N, 614R, 753N 

Regulation revisions, 69R 

Licenses, 779N 

Lyondell delisting, 905N 

National source tracking system reporting system, 243R 

Regulatory permits, 772N  

Solid waste exemptions, 612R 

 

 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

KBB 07-33 Bond Allocation―Industrial Development 

Board of the Parish of Jefferson Davis, LA, Inc. 1EO 

KBB 07-34―2007 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation― 

Louisiana Housing Finance Agency, 2EO 

KBB 07-35―2007 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation― 

Louisiana Public Facilities Authority, 2EO 

KBB 07-36―2007 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation― 

Louisiana Housing Finance Agency, 3EO 

KBB 07-37―2007 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation― 

Calcasieu Parish Public Trust Authority, 3EO 

BJ 08-01―Executive Branch―Ethical Standards, 213EO 

BJ 08-02―Executive Department―Transparency, 213EO 

BJ 08-03―Executive Department―Limited Hiring Freeze, 

214EO 

BJ 08-04―Louisiana Recovery Authority, 215EO 

BJ 08-05―Reassignment of Recreational Trails Program, 

216EO 

BJ 08-06―Reassignment of Troops to Teachers Program, 

216EO 

BJ 08-07―Activity and Permit Consistency with 

Louisiana's Comprehensive Master Plan for a Sustainable 

Coast, 216EO 

BJ 08-08―Executive Branch―Green Government, 217EO 

BJ 08-09―Bond Allocation to Louisiana Housing Finance 

Agency―Amend Executive Order No. KBB 07-34 

Concerning Carry-Forward, 367EO 

BJ 08-10―Authorization for Chair of the State Mineral 

Board to Sign Certain Documents on Governor's Behalf, 

367EO 

BJ 08-11―Additional 2007 Carry-Forward Bond 

Allocation Louisiana Housing Finance Agency, 368EO 

BJ 08-12―Department of Health and 

Hospitals―Assistance and Support to Metropolitan 

Human Services District, 369EO 

BJ 08-13—Notice of Policy and Purpose of the Office of 

Inspector General, 567 EO 

BJ 08-14—Capital Outlay Reform, 567 EO 

BJ 08-15—Gulf Opportunity Zone Bond Allocation 

Procedures Rescinding Executive order No. KBB 2006-09 

and No. KBB 2006-27, 568 EO 

BJ 08-16 Advance Refunding Bond Allocation Procedures, 

841EO 

BJ 08-17 Bond Allocation—Industrial Development Board 

of the City of New Orleans, Louisiana, Inc, 842EO 

GOVERNOR 

Administration, Division of 

Facility Planning, Office of 

Design-build method, 781N 

Group Benefits, Office of 

EPO and PPO plan of benefits 

Ambulance services, 108N, 646R 

Durable medical equipment, 109N, 646R 

Genetic testing, 110N, 647R 

Medicare, 111N, 648R 

PPO plan of benefits 

Physician assistants and registered nurse 

practitioners, 208P, 649R 

Racing Commission 

Equine veterinary practices, 5ER 

Pick N, 12ER, 869R 

Timing of entering next claiming race, 496N 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 

Examination, 908N 

Practical experience, 908N 

Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission 

Pumpage fees, 435R 

Elderly Affairs, Office of 

State plan on aging, 910N 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 

Design-build procuring method, 590ER 

Financial Institutions, Office of 

Banking Development Districts Program, 221ER 

Louisiana Trust Company, 384ER, 871R 

Home Inspectors, Board of 

Training, 780R 

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 

Justice, Commission on 

Peace officer training, 909N 

Motor Vehicle Commission 

Advertising, 74R 

Real Estate Commission 

Prohibitions, 911N 

Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission 

Recreational products trade show, 435R 

Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners 

Fees, 434R 

Tax Appeals, Board of 

Office move, 560P 

 

 

GOVERNOR'S REPORTS 

Emergency Rule―Pain management clinics licensing 

standards, 204GR, 204GR 

 

 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 

Dentistry, Board of 

Examination, 782N 

Emergency Response Network Board 

Emergency Response Network, 118N, 386ER, 649R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

General provisions and code of conduct, 499N, 833P 

Medical Examiners, Board of 

Athletic trainers, 113N 

Certification/practice, 786N 

Medical professionals/practice, 438R 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 

Physician assistants licensing, certification,  

 and practice, 243R 

Nursing, Board of 

Continuing education, 440R 

Optometry Examiners, Board of 

Optometry regulations, 115N, 872R 

Pharmacy, Board of  

Interns, 798N 

Pharmacies, 797N 

Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of 

Licensure, 912N 

Certification, 912N 

Practice, 912N 

Practical Nurse Examiners, Board of 

Approved fees, 316N, 496N, 874R 

Public Health, Office of 

Diseases, Genetic  

Newborn heel stick screening, 442R 

Neonatal screening, 13ER 

Yellow fever prevention and control, 444R 

Environmental Health, Center for 
2007 annual beach report, 834P 

General provisions, 133N, 651 

Marine/freshwater animal food products, 444R 

Maternal and Child Health Section 

Public notice, 953N 

Psychologists, Board of Examiners 

Criminal records, 783N 

Secretary, Office of the 

Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home/Community Based Services Waiver 

 Adult day health care, 39ER, 120N 

Direct support professionals wage enhancement, 

251R 

 Displaced recipients, termination of services, 

920N 

Medical Assistance Program, 389ER 

Elderly and disabled adults waiver, 391ER, 517N 

Adult day health care services, 519N 

Direct support professionals wage enhancement, 

251R 

Personal care services, long term 

Personal care workers wage enhancement, 253R 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office of 

Home/Community Based Services Waivers 

Children's Choice 

Direct support professionals wage enhancement, 

250R 

Displaced recipients, termination of services, 

388ER, 920N 

New opportunities waiver 

Direct support professionals wage enhancement, 

252R 

Supports waiver 

Support coordination services, 40ER, 171N, 

662R 

Targeted case management, 40ER, 172N, 663R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

Adult day health care 

Minimum licensing standards, 151N 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 

Distinct part psychiatric unit expansions, 15ER, 

394ER, 918N 

Mental health emergency room extensions, 577ER, 

918N 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment Program 

Dental services reimbursement, 223ER, 521N 

Federally qualified health centers 

Reimbursement methodology 

Adjunct services payment, 16ER, 522N, 846ER 

Home Health Services 

Extended nursing services, 144N, 224ER, 654R 

Hospice payment rates, 441R 

Hospital(s) 

Inpatient 

Disproportionate share hospital, 17ER, 145N 

 Non-Rural/Non State 

Children's specialty hospitals psychiatric units, 

317N, 579ER, 875R 

Community/federally mandated hospitals, 

845ER 

Distinct part psychiatric unit expansions, 

22ER, 579ER 

Hemophilia blood products, 847ER 

Reimbursement rate increase, 318N, 580ER, 

876R 

Supplemental payments, 23ER, 319N, 877R 

 Small rural hospitals 

Outpatient services, 853 

Reimbursement methodology, 848ER 

Medicaid eligibility 

Disability Medicaid Program, 321N, 395ER, 878R 

Family Opportunity Act Medicaid Program, 25ER, 

849ER, 921N 

Pregnant women, termination of presumptive 

eligibility, 168N, 658R 

Presumptive eligibility for children, 26ER 

Spousal impoverishment, 29ER, 581ER, 800N 

SSI related resources, 27ER, 582ER, 801N 

Transfers of assets, 30ER, 584ER, 803N 

Medical Transportation Program 

Emergency ambulance services, 322N, 586ER, 

878R 

Non-emergency ambulance services, 322N, 586ER, 

878R 

Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 

Moratorium on mental health rehabilitation 

providers, 168N, 396ER, 659R 

Multi-systematic therapy, 850ER 

Nursing Facilities 

Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 224ER, 

323N, 879R 

Fair rental value, property tax, insurance incentive 

payments, 523N 

Minimum licensing standards  

Emergency preparedness, 32ER, 396ER, 812N 

Resident personal fund accounts, 325N, 880R 

Standards of payment, level of care determination, 

393ER, 525N 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 

Nurses Aides 

Medication attendant certification, 806N 

Pain management clinics, 35ER, 80R, 816N, 854ER 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 

Antihemophilia drugs, 326N, 560P, 806R 

Dispensing fee, 87R 

Pregnant Women Extended Services 

Dental services, 441R, 817N 

Professional Services Program 

Adult immunizations, 527N 

Physician services 

Adjunct services payment, 528N, 856ER 

Reimbursement methodology, 587ER, 923N 

Prosthetics/Orthotics reimbursement, 327N, 

588ER, 881R 

Rural health clinic, 856ER 

Adjunct service payment, 857ER 

State Children's Health Insurance Program 

Prenatal care, 589ER, 659R 

Targeted case management, 858ER 

Nurse Family Partnership Program, 226ER 

Third party liability, 661R 

Primary Care and Rural Health, Bureau of 

Rural hospitals, primary service areas, 89R 

Professional Services Program 

Adult immunizations, 36ER 

Physician services  

 Adjunct services payment, 37ER 

 Reimbursement methodology, 37ER 

Rural health clinics reimbursement 

Adjunct services payment, 38ER, 529N 

School based health centers, 400ER, 818N 

Social Work Examiners, Board of 

Social work, 246R, 310N 

Speech and Language and Pathology, Board of 

 Examiners 

Board meeting dates, 361P 

Statewide human service framework, 136N 

Targeted case management 

Nurse Family Partnership Program, 530N 

Third party liability 

Provider billing and trauma recovery, 169N 

Twelve months continuous eligibility, 253R 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Student/Shelters and faculty veterinarian, 497N 

Veterinary practice, 385ER 

Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of 

License procedure, 874R 

 

 

INSURANCE 

Commissioner, Office of the 

Premium adjustments for compliance with building 

codes and damage mitigation/Reg 94, 90R 

Public Fire Protection Grading Review Board 

Regulation 95, 174N, 664R 

 

 

LEGISLATION  

Senate  

Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer 

 Protection and International Affairs 

Emergency Rule—Equine veterinary practices health 

and medication, 360CR 

 

 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Conservation, Office of 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 208P, 560P, 834P, 953N 

Statewide order 29-B 

Commercial exploration and product waste facilities, 

532N 

Waste type 04 disposal requirements, 535N 

Mineral Resources, Office of 

Mineral resources/wind energy leasing/Bohemia 

Spillways, 254R  

Secretary, Office of the 

Fisherman's Gear Compensation Fund 

Loran coordinates, 209P, 560P, 834P, 954N 

Land conservation organizations certification, 177N, 

953N 

 

 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 

Corrections Services 

Sex offender 

Assessment panels, 858ER, 926N 

Electronic monitoring, 924N 

Emergency plan, 820N 

Supervised release, 822N 

Gaming Control Board 

Application and license, 329N 

Management and Finance, Office of 

Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code, 93R 

International residential code, 330N 

Private Security Examiners, Board of 

Registration, 594ER, 666R 

Training, 594ER, 666R 

Uniforms, 594ER, 666R 

State Police, Office of 

Explosive code, 531N 

Hazardous Material Information Development 

Preparedness and Response Act, 331N, 882R 

Motor carrier safety and hazardous materials, 332N, 

882R 

User fees, 94R 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 

Uniform Construction Code, 41ER, 42ER, 883R 

Disciplinary proceedings, 595ER, 928N 

 

 

REVENUE  

Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Caterer's permit, 929N 

Fairs, festivals, special events, 930N 
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REVENUE (continued) 

Policy Services Division 

Drug Testing, 667R 

Electronic filing, 824N 

Income and franchise tax, 333N, 932N 

Income tax schedule requirements for nonresident 

athletes, 446R 

Natural gas tax rate, 835P 

Payment of taxes by credit/debit cards, 43ER, 185N, 

671R 

Tax holiday on hurricane items purchase, 596ER, 825N 

Wind or solar energy system tax credits, 404ER, 537N 

Tax Commission 

Ad valorem taxation, 45ER, 673R 

 

 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Community Services, Office of 

Block grant intended use report, 561P 

Child and family services plan, 954N 

Emergency Shelter Grants Program 2008 

Anticipated funds availability, 361P 

Refugee Resettlement Program, 186N, 884R 

Family Support, Office of 

Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) 

Child care provider, 402ER 

Louisiana pathways, 95R 

Provider registration/certification, 187N, 691 

Sliding fee scale, 187N 

Food Stamp Program, 54ER, 335N, 597ER,  

Work requirements, 884R 

Adults without dependents, 884R 

TANF initiatives, 55ER 

Caseload reduction report, 363P 

GED Testing Program, 60ER, 276R 

Language clarifications, 189N, 693 

Nurse Family Partnership Program, 61ER, 277R 

Rehabilitation Services, Office of 

Individual's participation in the cost of vocational 

rehabilitation services, 540N 

Policy manual, 403ER 

Secretary, Office of 

Licensing, Bureau of 

Child residential licensing, 934N 

 

STATE DEPARTMENT 

Secretary of State, Office of the 

Address Confidentiality Program, 336N, 542N 

Elections Division 

Registrars, 704R 

Political party recognition, 702R 

Poll workers, 827N 

Registrars, 828N 

Voting System drayage and storage, 698R 

 

 

 

TREASURY 

Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 

Elections, 446R 

ORP-election to participate, 97R 

Rollover of refunds, 97R 

Spousal consent not required, 545N 

Voluntary deduction, 951N 

Teachers' Retirement System 

Monthly contribution reports and submission 

requirements, 545N 

 

 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Abandoned crab traps, removal, 97R 

Deer Management Assistance Program, 547N 

Emergency cut-off switches, 195N, 363P 

Flotation devices, 196N, 885R 

Fur trapping season, 829N 

General and wildlife management area hunting, 339N 

Gill net and grass carp prohibitions, 197N, 886R 

Grouper, 861ER 

King mackerel, 62ER 

Landowner Antlerless Deer Tag Program, 549N 

Marine event permits, 198N, 886R 

Oyster season, 227ER, 862ER 

Physically challenged hunter permit, 353N 

Reef fish, 62ER, 227ER, 550N 

Resident game hunting, 357N 

Shark, large coastal, 63ER 

Shrimp, 598ER, 861ER 

Snapper, 406ER 

Tilefishes, 861ER 

Vessel monitoring system, 199N, 887R 

Youth fishing, 706R 

 


