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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-1 

Bond Allocation 2022 Ceiling 

WHEREAS, Section 146 of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986 (hereafter the “Act”), as amended 
(hereafter the “Code”), restricts the total principal amount 
of certain private activity bonds (hereafter the “Bonds”) 
that exclude interest from gross income for federal 
income tax purposes under Section 103 of the Code; 

WHEREAS, Act No. 51 of the 1986 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature (hereafter “Act No. 
51 of 1986”) authorizes the Governor to allocate the 
volume limit applicable to the Bonds (hereafter the 
“ceiling”) among the State and its political subdivisions 
in such a manner as the Governor deems to be in the best 
interest of the State of Louisiana; 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Act and Act No. 51 
of 1986, Executive Order No. JBE 2016-35 was issued 
to establish:  

(a) the manner in which the ceiling shall be 
determined,  

(b) the method to be used in allocating the 
ceiling,  

(c) the application procedure for obtaining an 
allocation of Bonds subject to such ceiling, and  

(d) a system of record keeping for such 
allocations; and 

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Housing Corporation 
(hereafter the “Corporation”) has applied for an 
allocation of the 2022 ceiling to be used in connection 
with providing funds for the acquisition, construction, 
rehabilitation, and equipping of residential rental 
housing for individuals and families of low and 
moderate income. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The bond issues, as described in this 
Section, shall be and are hereby granted allocations from the 
2022 ceiling in the amounts shown: 

 
Amount of 
Allocation Name of Issuer Name of Project 

$10,000,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Corporation 
Malcolm Kenner 

Series 2022 

$34,000,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Corporation 

The Reserve at 
Howell Place 
Series 2022 

 
SECTION 2: The allocation granted herein shall be 

used only for the bond issues described in Section l and 
for the general purpose set forth in the “Application for 
Allocation of a Portion of the State of Louisiana's Private 
Activity Volume Cap” submitted in connection with the 
bond issues described in Section 1. 

SECTION 3: The allocations granted herein shall 
be valid and in full force and effect through September 
30, 2022. 

SECTION 4: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated 
by operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana on this 10th day of January, 2022. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#003 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-2 

Emergency Operations Plan 

WHEREAS, the State of Louisiana must be prepared 
to respond and recover in a coordinated, effective and 
efficient manner to all the emergencies and disasters to 
which it is subjected;  

WHEREAS, the State of Louisiana must be 
organized in such a way as to effectively bring available 
state, federal, and private resources together to support the 
response and recovery efforts of our local communities; 

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the State of Louisiana 
for all homeland security and emergency preparedness 
functions to follow the principles outlined in the National 
Incident Management System, or its successor, and La. R.S. 
29:722(C); and  

WHEREAS, the State of Louisiana will best achieve 
effective coordinated emergency planning by updating the 
state’s current emergency operations order through the 
replacement of Executive Order Number JBE 2019-12, 
issued on August 9, 2019 and by the Governor’s Office of 
Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness updating 
its emergency operations plan. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, John Bel Edwards, Governor of 
the state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and the laws of the state of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows:  

SECTION 1: 
A. The director of the Governor’s Office of 

Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness, State of 
Louisiana, (hereafter “director”), shall direct the State of 
Louisiana’s emergency and/or disaster operations.  

B. The director, or the director’s designee, shall also 
coordinate the activities of all non-state agencies, 
departments, and/or organizations involved in emergency 
management within the State of Louisiana.  
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SECTION 2:  
A. This Executive Order shall constitute the State of 

Louisiana Emergency Operations Plan (“Plan”), which shall 
be binding on all departments, commissions, boards, 
agencies, organizations and employees of the State of 
Louisiana, and on all local governments or political 
subdivisions of the state authorized or directed to conduct 
homeland security and emergency management operations.  

B. The director shall supplement the provisions of 
the Plan by prescribing rules, regulations, and procedures. 
Once adopted, the supplement shall also be binding on all 
departments, commissions, boards, agencies, organizations 
and employees of the State of Louisiana, and on all local 
governments or political subdivisions of the state authorized 
or directed to conduct homeland security and emergency 
management operations.  

C. Any supplement or subsequent changes to the 
plan shall continue to follow the principles outlined in the 
National Incident Management System, or its successor, and 
also provide for the emergency operations that may be 
implemented should an emergency and/or disaster strike the 
State of Louisiana or an area within the State of Louisiana; 

SECTION 3: 
A. The Director shall control the activation and/or 

implementation of the Plan and the conclusion and/or 
deactivation of the Plan.  

B. The Director shall also control the activation and 
deactivation of the state Emergency Operations Center 
(hereafter “Center”).  

C. The activation of the Center shall constitute the 
implementation of the Plan.  

SECTION 4: The departments, offices, agencies, and 
organizations of the State of Louisiana government have 
primary and support responsibilities for the following 
Emergency Support Functions (ESF) and Recovery Support 
Functions (RSF): 

 

ESF ANNEX DEPARTMENT/AGENCY 
PRIMARY
/SUPPORT

ESF1 
Transportation 

Department of Transportation and 
Development P 

Louisiana National Guard S 
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S 
Department of Corrections S 
Department of Education S 

Louisiana Department of Health S 
  Louisiana State Police S 

Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries S 

  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S 

  
Non-Governmental Organizations 

(NGO) S 
    

ESF 2 Communications 

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 

Preparedness P 
Louisiana National Guard P 

  Louisiana State Police P 
Governor – Division of 

Administration S 
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S 
Department of Corrections S 

Department of Culture, Recreation 
& Tourism S 

Department of Economic 
Development S 

Department of Education S 
Department of Environmental 

Quality S 
Governor – Office of Elderly 

Affairs S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 

Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinators 
Office S 

Louisiana State University System S 
Louisiana Department of Health S 

Department of Justice S 
Louisiana Workforce Commission S 

Louisiana Public Service 
Commission S 

Louisiana Board of Regents S 
Department of Revenue S 

Department of Children and Family 
Services S 

Department of Transportation & 
Development S 

Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S 

    

ESF 3
Public Works & 

Engineering 
Department of Transportation & 

Development P 

  
Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority P 
Governor – Division of 

Administration S 
Louisiana Department of Health S 
Department of Natural Resources S 

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality S 
  Louisiana National Guard S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S 

    

ESF 4 Firefighting 
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry P 
  State Fire Marshal P 

Louisiana National Guard S 
Department of Environmental 

Quality S 
Department of Transportation and 

Development S 
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S 
Non-Governmental Organizations 

(NGO) S 
    

ESF 5
Emergency 

Management 

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 

Preparedness P 
Louisiana National Guard S 

Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry S 

Department of Corrections S 
Department of Culture, Recreation 

& Tourism S 
Department of Economic 

Development S 
Department of Education S 

Department of Environmental 
Quality S 
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Governor – Division of 
Administration S 

Governor – Office of Disability 
Affairs S 

Governor – Office of Elderly 
Affairs S  

Governor – Office of Indian Affairs S  
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinators 

Office S  
Louisiana State University System S  
Louisiana Department of Health S  

Department of Justice S  
Louisiana Workforce Commission S  
Department of Natural Resources S  

Louisiana Public Service 
Commission S  

Louisiana Board of Regents S  
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 

  
Office of the Lieutenant Governor- 

Volunteer Louisiana S 
Department of Revenue S  

Secretary of State S  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S  
Louisiana State Police S  

Department of Transportation & 
Development S  

Department of the Treasury S  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S  

  
Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority S 
  Department of Public Safety S 
  State Fire Marshall S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

    

ESF 6 

Mass Care, 
Housing and 

Human Services 
Department of Children and Family 

Services P  
  Louisiana Workforce Commission P 

Department of Corrections S 
Governor’s Office of Homeland 

Security and Emergency 
Preparedness S  

Louisiana Housing Corporation S  
Louisiana National Guard S  

Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry S  

Department of Culture, Recreation 
and Tourism S  

  
Department of Economic  

Development S 
Department of Education S  

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality S 
State Fire Marshal S  

Governor – Office of Disability 
Affairs S  

Governor – Office of Elderly 
Affairs S  

Louisiana Department of Health S  
Louisiana State University System 

and Ag Center S  
Department of Insurance S  

Department of Labor S  
Department of Natural Resources S  

  
Louisiana Public Service 

Commission S 
Louisiana Board of Regents S  

Department of Veterans Affairs S  
Department of Revenue S  

  
Department of Transportation and 

Development S 

  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S 
  Louisiana State Police S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
  State Treasurer S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

    

ESF 7
Resources 
Support 

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 

Preparedness P  
Louisiana National Guard P  

Department of Agriculture & 
Forestry S  

Department of Culture, Recreation 
and Tourism S  

Department of Economic 
Development S  

Department of Environmental 
Quality S  

Governor – Division of 
Administration S  

Louisiana State University System S  
Louisiana Department of Health S  

Louisiana Workforce Commission S  
Department of Natural Resources S  

Louisiana Board of Regents S  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S  
Louisiana State Police S  

  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
Department of Transportation & 

Development S  
Department of the Treasury S  

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

ESF 8
Public Health & 

Medical Services Louisiana Department of Health P  
Louisiana National Guard S  

Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry S  

Department of Corrections S  

  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S 
Department of Environmental 

Quality S  
Louisiana State University System S  

Louisiana Board of Regents S  
State Fire Marshal S  

  Louisiana Workforce Commission S 
Department of Transportation & 

Development S  
Department of Veterans Affairs S  

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

    

ESF 9 Search & Rescue
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries P  
  State Fire Marshal P 

Louisiana National Guard S  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S  
  Louisiana Department of Health S 

Department of Corrections S  
Department of Culture, Recreation, 

& Tourism S  
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Louisiana State Police S  
Department of Transportation and 

Development S  
Louisiana State University Fire and 

Emergency Training Institute S  

  
Department of Revenue - Office of 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

    

ESF 10 

Oil Spill, 
Hazardous 

Materials and 
Radiological Louisiana State Police P  

Department of Environmental 
Quality P  

  
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinators 

Office P 
Governor’s Office of Homeland 

Security and Emergency 
Preparedness S  

  
Louisiana  Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority S 
Louisiana National Guard S  

Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry S  

State Fire Marshal S  
Louisiana State University System S  
Louisiana Department of Health S  

Department of Natural Resources S  
Department of Transportation and 

Development S  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S  
Non-Governmental Organizations 

(NGO) S  
    

ESF 11 Agriculture 
Department of Agriculture & 

Forestry P  
Louisiana National Guard S  

  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S 
Department of Corrections S  

Department of Environmental 
Quality S  

Louisiana Department of Health S  
Louisiana Board of Regents S  

  Louisiana National Guard S 
  Louisiana State Police  

Louisiana State University System S  
Department of Transportation and 

Development S  
Governor’s Office of Homeland 

Security and Emergency 
Preparedness S 

  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S 
  Southern University and Ag Center S 

  
Non-Governmental Organizations 

(NGO) S 
    

ESF 12 
Energy and 

Utilities 
Department of Natural 

Resources/Intrastate Natural Gas P  
Louisiana Public Service 

Commission/Power P  
Louisiana Department of Health P 

Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality S 
(Wastewater Utilities) S  

  
Department of Agriculture & 

Forestry S 
  Louisiana National Guard S 

Non-Governmental Organizations 
(NGO) S  

ESF 13
Public Safety 
and Security Louisiana State Police P  

Department of Justice P  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S  
Department of Corrections S  

Department of Culture, Recreation 
and Tourism S  

Department of Revenue - Office of 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control S  

Department of Transportation and 
Development S  

Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries S  

  Louisiana National Guard S 
Office of Juvenile Justice S  

  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
  Office of the State Fire Marshal S 
  

ESF 14
In accordance with the National Disaster Recovery Framework, 

ESF 14 will be organized into Recovery Support Functions (RSF).

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

P 

    

RSF 1

Community 
Planning and 

Capacity 
Building

 
Office of Community Development

 
P 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

  Louisiana Economic Development S 
Louisiana Workforce Commission S 

  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry 
S 

  Department of Insurance S 
Department of Revenue S 

University of Louisiana at 
Lafayette/NIMSAT 

S 

Louisiana State University/SDMI S 
Office of Financial Institutions S 

  
Office of the Lieutenant Governor-

Volunteer Louisiana 
S 

  Department of Education S 
  Louisiana VOAD S 

  
Department of Transportation and 

Development 
S 

  
RSF 2 Economic Louisiana Economic Development P 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

S 

Louisiana Workforce Commission S 

  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry 
S 

  Department of Insurance S 
Department of Revenue S 

University of Louisiana at 
Lafayette/NIMSAT 

S 

Louisiana State University/SDMI S 
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Office of Financial Institutions S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
  Department of Education S 

  
Department of Transportation and 

Development 
S 

  LSU/Southern Agriculture Centers S 

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality 
S 

Louisiana Sea Grant@ LSU S 
  Louisiana Housing Corporation S 
  Louisiana Department of Health S 
  Louisiana VOAD S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

    

RS F 3 
Health and 

Social Services Louisiana Department of Health 
P 

Department of Children and Family 
Services 

P 

Department of Education P 
Louisiana State University Health 

Sciences 
S 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

S 

Louisiana Board of Regents S 
  Office of Community Development S 
  Louisiana VOAD S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office – Children’s 

Cabinet 
S 

  Louisiana Housing Corporation S 
  Louisiana Workforce Commission S 
  Louisiana Board of Regents S 

  
Louisiana Department of 

Corrections 
S 

  
Louisiana Department of 
Environmental Quality 

S 

  Louisiana Department of Revenue S 
  Louisiana United Way & 211 S 
  Feeding Louisiana S 
    

RSF 4 Housing Louisiana Housing Corporation P 

  
Department of Children and Family 

Services 
S 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

S 

Louisiana Economic Development S 
  Louisiana VOAD S 

  
Office of the Lieutenant Governor-

Volunteer Louisiana 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

  

RSF 5 
Infrastructure 

Systems 
Department of Transportation and 

Development 
P 

  
Coastal Protection and Restoration 

Authority 
P 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

S 

  Office of Community Development S 
  Office of Financial Institutions S 

  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry 
S 

  Department of Insurance S 
  Public Service Commission S 
  Louisiana Economic Development S 

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality 
S 

  Department of Natural Resources S 
  Department of Corrections S 
  Department of Public Safety S 

  
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordination 

Officer 
S 

  Office of the State Fire Marshall S 
  Louisiana Housing Corporation S 
  Louisiana Department of Health S 
  Louisiana Department of Education S 
  Louisiana National Guard S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

    

RSF 6

Natural and 
Cultural 

Resources 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife 

and Fisheries 

P 

  
Coastal Protection and Restoration 

Authority 
P 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) 

S 

  Department of Natural Resources S 

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality 
S 

  
Department of Culture, Recreation, 

and Tourism 
S 

  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry 
S 

  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
  Office of Community Development S 
  Secretary of State S 

  
Governor’s Office of Disability 

Affairs 
S 

  
Governor’s Office of Elderly 

Affairs 
S 

    

ESF 15

Emergency 
Public 

Information 

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 

Preparedness 

P  

Louisiana National Guard S  
Senate and House Legislative 

Liaisons S  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S  
Department of Corrections S  

Department of Culture, Recreation 
& Tourism S  

  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
Department of Economic 

Development S  
Department of Education S  

Department of Environmental 
Quality S  

State Fire Marshal S  
Governor – Division of 

Administration S  
Governor – Office of Disability 

Affairs S  
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Governor – Office of Elderly 
Affairs S  

Governor – Office of Financial 
Institutions S  

Governor – Office of Indian Affairs S  
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinators 

Office S  
Louisiana State University System S  
Louisiana Department of Health S  

Department of Justice S  
Department of Insurance S  

Louisiana Workforce Commission S  
Department of Natural Resources S  

Louisiana Public Service 
Commission S  

Louisiana Board of Regents S  
Department of Revenue S  

Department of Children and Family 
Services S  

Secretary of State S  
Louisiana State Police S  

Department of Transportation and 
Development S  

Department of the Treasury S  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S  

  
Louisiana Coastal Protection and 

Restoration Authority S 
Non-Governmental Organizations 

(NGO) S  
    

ESF 16 

Military Support 
to Civilian 

Affairs Louisiana National Guard P 
  

ESF 17 

Cyber Incident 
Response 

Management Division of Administration P 
  Louisiana National Guard P 

  

Governor’s Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency 
Preparedness (GOHSEP) S 

  Louisiana State Police-LA SAFE S 
  Department of Justice S 
  Louisiana Board of Regents S 
  LSU-SDMI S 

  
Louisiana Optical Network 
Initiative (LONI Network) S 

  Louisiana Cyber Innovation Center S 
  Office of the Attorney General S 
  Office of the Governor S 
  Office of the Lieutenant Governor S 
  Secretary of State S 
  Department of the Treasury S 

  
Louisiana Commissioner of 

Insurance S 
  Louisiana Department of Health S 

  
Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry S 

  
Louisiana Public Service 

Commission S 
  Louisiana Workforce Commission S 
  Department of Education S 

  
Department of Children and Family 

Services S 

  
Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries S 

  Department of Natural Resources S 

  
Department of Environmental 

Quality S 

 
SECTION 5: The head of each department, office, 

agency, and organization identified in Section 4 of this 
Order shall designate both an emergency coordinator and an 
alternate coordinator to act on the department’s behalf 
during an emergency situation, and furnish the director with 
their names and all phone numbers. The head shall also 
designate a Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) 
coordinator who will prepare and maintain plans, 
procedures, arrangements, and agreements to ensure that the 
organization will continue to carry out its mission in an 
emergency or disaster.  

SECTION 6: The head of each department, office, 
agency, and organization identified in Section 4 of this 
Order shall designate both an emergency coordinator and an 
alternate coordinator to act on the department’s behalf 
during an emergency situation, and furnish the director with 
their names and all phone numbers. The head shall also 
designate a Continuity of Operations Plan (COOP) 
coordinator who will prepare and maintain plans, 
procedures, arrangements, and agreements to ensure that the 
organization will continue to carry out its mission in an 
emergency or disaster. 

SECTION 7: The head of each department assigned 
emergency support or recovery support responsibilities in 
Section 4 of this Order shall assist its primary department in 
the preparation of their procedures and/or any other 
documents necessary to support the Plan. 

SECTION 8: The head of each department assigned a 
primary and/or a support responsibility in Section 4 of this 
Order will:  

A. Staff the State Emergency Operations Center and 
or Joint Field Office with personnel during training exercises 
and emergencies as requested by the director;  

B. Maintain and operate a 24-hour response 
capability in the department headquarters, or in the 
department’s designated Emergency Operations Center, 
when the Plan is implemented;  

C. Participate in exercises of the Plan when 
scheduled by the Director;  

D. Participate in, and conduct, training essential to 
implementation of the department’s assigned emergency 
service;  

E. Conduct an annual internal review to update the 
details of their department’s implementing procedures and 
advise the director of needed modifications of their 
implementing procedures; and  

F. Maintain logs, records, and reporting systems 
required by all state and federal laws, rules, and regulations.  

SECTION 9: All departments, commissions, boards, 
agencies and officers of the state, or any political 
subdivision thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate 
in the implementation of this Order.  

SECTION 10: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the governor or terminated by 
operation of law. 
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State 
of Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 12th day of 
January, 2022.  

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#004 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-3 

Statewide Litter Abatement and Beautification 

WHEREAS Louisiana is known as the “Sportsman’s 
Paradise” and is recognized worldwide for its tourism, 
natural beauty, outdoor opportunities, beautiful architecture 
and historic communities, biodiversity;  

WHEREAS litter, the uncontrolled release of solid 
waste, is a blight on Louisiana’s natural areas, cities, towns, 
roadways, and waterways;  

WHEREAS, whether trash, debris, or other items, 
litter that has been discarded improperly can end up along 
roadsides, in waterways, or otherwise be uncontained and 
improperly managed;  

WHEREAS, litter has a detrimental impact on 
Louisiana’s economic development by negatively impacting 
investment, infrastructure, and tourism;  

WHEREAS, litter also adversely impacts 
neighborhoods and communities, including quality of life, 
crime and other undesirable impacts;  

WHEREAS, discarded items can impede waterways 
and exacerbate flooding concerns in flood-prone areas of the 
State;  

WHEREAS, litter poses a threat to Louisiana’s 
wildlife as birds and marine life can become entangled in 
refuse or consumer discarded items;  

WHEREAS, following hurricanes, floods and 
tornadoes litter issues can be exacerbated due to widespread 
damage and resulting debris; and 

WHEREAS, a coordinated effort of state, local, 
private industry, non-profit, and Louisiana residents can help 
to combat and minimize litter, identify and pursue 
educational and funding opportunities, and generate new 
ideas to reduce litter in our communities. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested in the Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana 
do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: In partnership with the Lieutenant 
Governor's Office and Keep Louisiana Beautiful, the fourth 
Saturday of every month in 2022 shall be designated as 
"Love the Boot. Don't Pollute" Day and April 18-24 as 
“Love the Boot Week” to encourage private citizens, 
families, businesses, community groups, local government 
entities, and others to identify neighborhoods, parks, 
roadways and other spaces to organize cleanups 
(https://keeplouisianabeautiful.org/love-the-boot/organize-
an-event/) by safely picking up and disposing of litter. 

SECTION 2: The Governor’s Task Force on 
Statewide Litter Abatement and Beautification (hereafter 
“Task Force”) is hereby established and created within the 
executive branch. The Task Force shall be administered by 
the Lieutenant Governor’s Office, Keep Louisiana Beautiful 
Program.  

SECTION 3: The duties of the Task Force shall 
include but are not limited to the following: 

A. Building an understanding of the key drivers of 
litter and barriers to litter abatement from the production of 
items that may become litter to consumer behavior with 
respect to litter; 

B. Identifying solutions to reduce the presence of 
litter throughout Louisiana’s roads, waterways, public 
spaces, parks, and communities; and 

C. Establishing shared goals and values for litter 
abatement. 

SECTION 4: On or before July 1, 2022, the Task 
Force shall submit an initial report including its 
recommendations and key priorities to the Governor. 

SECTION 5: There shall be a chair of the Task Force 
who shall be appointed by the Governor. All other officers, 
if any, shall be elected by the members of the Task Force. 

SECTION 6: The Task Force shall be comprised of a 
maximum of 26 members who, unless otherwise specified, 
shall be designated by and serve at the pleasure of the 
Governor. The membership shall include: 

1. The Governor or his designee;  
2. The Lieutenant Governor or his designee;  
3. Commissioner of the Department of 

Administration or his designee;  
4. The Secretary of the Department of 

Environmental Quality or his designee;  
5. The Secretary of the Department of Corrections 

or his designee;  
6. The Secretary of the Department of Economic 

Development or his designee;  
7. The Secretary of the Transportation and 

Development or his designee;  
8. The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries or his designee;  
9. Deputy Secretary of the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections 
10. The Executive Assistant to the Governor for 

Coastal Activities or his designee;  
11. One representative nominated by the Louisiana’s 

Sheriffs Association;  
12. One representative nominated by the Louisiana 

District Attorneys Association; 
13. One representative nominated by the Louisiana 

Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives; 
14. One representative from the environmental non-

profit sector; 
15. One representative from the Louisiana Municipal 

Association; 
16. One representative from the Police Jury 

Association of Louisiana; 
17. One representative of the tourism industry;  
18. One representative from the recycling/waste 

management industry;  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 236

19. One representative from Louisiana’s higher 
education system; 

20. One representative from the Louisiana 
Department of Education; 

21. One representative of statewide foundations;  
22. One representative from a local chamber of 

commerce;  
23. One representative from a local housing 

authority;  
24. One representative from a local homeowner’s 

association; 
25. One representative from the trucking industry; 

and 
26. One representative from the construction 

industry. 
SECTION 7: The Task Force shall meet at regularly 

scheduled intervals and at the call of the chair. 
SECTION 8: Task Force members shall not receive 

additional compensation or a per diem from the Office of the 
Governor for serving on the Task Force. Task Force 
members who are an employee or an elected public official 
of the state of Louisiana or a political subdivision of the state 
of Louisiana may seek reimbursement of travel expenses, in 
accordance with PPM 49, from their employing and/or 
elected department, agency and/or office. Task Force 
members who are also a member of the Louisiana 
Legislature may seek a per diem from the Louisiana State 
Senate or House of Representatives, as appropriate, for their 
attendance. 

SECTION 9: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall continue in effect until, amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by 
operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana on this 18th day of January, 2022. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#005 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-4 

Elections—Suspending and Rescheduling  
Deadline to Order Special Elections 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Louisiana Homeland 
Security and Emergency Assistance and Disaster Act, La. 
R.S. 29:721, et seq., on March 11, 2020 in Proclamation 
Number 25 JBE 2020, the Governor declared that a 
statewide public health emergency existed in the State of 
Louisiana because of COVID-19 and expressly empowered 
the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness and the Secretary of the Department of Health 
and/or the State Health Officer to take all actions authorized 
under state law; 

WHEREAS, La. R.S. 29:761 provides that 
“[b]ecause the government must do all that is reasonable and 
necessary to protect the health and safety of its citizens; 

because new and emerging dangers, including emergent and 
resurgent infectious diseases ... pose serious and immediate 
threats; because a renewed focus on the prevention, 
detection, management, and containment of public health 
emergencies is essential; and because emergency health 
threats … may require the exercise of extraordinary 
government powers and functions, the state must have the 
ability to respond, rapidly and effectively, to potential or 
actual public health emergencies;” 

WHEREAS, on December 21, 2021, the Governor 
renewed the emergency declaration for the COVID-19 
Emergency, citing rising cases and the increased exposure 
due to gatherings during the holiday season; and on January 
19, 2022, the Governor again renewed the emergency 
declaration in Proclamation No. 6 JBE 2022; 

WHEREAS, the first cases of the Omicron variant of 
COVID-19 were confirmed in the United States in 
December, 2021; 

WHEREAS, Louisiana Department of Health issued 
a press release on December 29, 2021 that Omicron cases 
were elevated in the state, and that "the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates the proportion of 
Omicron in HHS Region 6 (which includes Arkansas, 
Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas) is 86.7%. 
Furthermore, 95% of parishes are at the 2 highest levels of 
community transmission;" 

WHEREAS, parish and municipal employees are 
currently experiencing personnel shortages and absences due 
to the increase in reported Omicron variant cases since 
December; 

WHEREAS, under La. R.S. 18:402(E)(1), the 
deadline to issue a proclamation ordering a special election 
for Spring 2022 was December 29, 2021, four weeks prior to 
the opening of the qualifying period for the special primary 
election; 

WHEREAS, personnel shortages in the state due to 
Omicron infection rates have posed numerous challenges for 
parish and municipal government officials to meet the 
deadline for calling special elections for a primary date on 
March 26, 2022, and a general election date on April 30, 
2022; 

WHEREAS, Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin, in an 
Emergency Certification on January 20, 2022, certified to 
the Governor that a continued state of emergency exists that 
poses obstacles to parish and municipal officials in meeting 
the deadline established under La. R.S. 18:402(E)(1) for 
scheduling a spring primary election for March 26, 2022 and 
a general election date for April 30, 2022; and Secretary 
Ardoin recommended that an executive order be issued to 
suspend the December 29, 2021 deadline and reschedule it 
to January 21, 2022; and 

WHEREAS, a state of emergency exists and it is 
necessary to suspend and reschedule the deadline established 
under La. R.S. 18:402(E)(1) to protect the health and safety 
of the voters of Louisiana. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and the laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The provisions of La. R.S. 
18:402(E)(1), which would have set a December 29, 2021, 
deadline for parish and municipal officials to issue a 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 237

proclamation ordering a special election, are hereby 
suspended. 

SECTION 2: The deadline for parish and municipal 
officials to issue a proclamation ordering a special election 
under La. R.S. 18:402(E)(1), previously set for December 
29, 2021, is hereby rescheduled to January 21, 2022, for a 
special primary election on March 26, 2022, and a general 
election on April 30, 2022, with qualifying dates set for 
January 26 through January 28, 2022. 

SECTION 3: The deadline for ordering proposition 
elections pursuant to La. R.S. 18:1285(B) or La. R.S. 
18:1300(C), previously set for December 29, 2022, shall not 
be suspended or rescheduled. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 21st day of 
January, 2022. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#27 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-5 

Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2021 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (hereafter “Act”), Executive Order Number JBE 
2016-35 was issued to establish  

(1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 
activity bond volume limits, including the method of 
allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limits for the calendar year 2016 and subsequent calendar 
years;  

(2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 
bonds under the ceiling; and  

(3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations;  

WHEREAS, Section 4(H) of Executive Order 
Number JBE 2016-35 provides that if the ceiling for a 
calendar year exceeds the aggregate amount of bonds subject 
to the private activity bond volume limit issued during the 
year by all issuers, by executive order, the Governor may 
allocate the excess amount to issuers or an issuer for use as a 
carry-forward for one or more carry-forward projects 
permitted under the Act;  

WHEREAS, the sum of five hundred ten million nine 
hundred eighty-four thousand nine hundred and eighty 
dollars ($510,984,980) represents the amount of the ceiling 
determined by the staff of the Louisiana State Bond 
Commission (“SBC”) for private activity bond volume limits 
for the year 2021 (“2021 Ceiling”);  

WHEREAS, three hundred ninety-three million four 
thousand nine hundred forty-three dollars ($393,004,943) of 
the 2021 Ceiling was not allocated during the 2021 calendar 
year; and 

WHEREAS, the SBC has determined that three 
hundred ninety-three million four thousand nine hundred 

forty-three dollars ($393,004,943) of the 2021 Ceiling is 
eligible for carry-forward, and the Governor desires to 
allocate this amount as carry-forward for projects which are 
permitted and eligible under the Act. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and the laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:  

SECTION 1: Pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of Section 146(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended, and in accordance with the request for 
carry-forward filed by the designated issuer, the excess 
private activity bond volume limit under the 2021 Ceiling is 
hereby allocated to the following issuer(s), for the following 
carry-forward project(s), and in the following amount(s):  

 

Issuer 
Carry-Forward 

Project 

Carry-
Forward 
Amount 

Louisiana Housing 
Corporation Multifamily Housing $42,004,943 

Louisiana Public 
Facilities Authority ElementUS $30,000,000 

Louisiana Public 
Facilities Authority DG Fuels $50,000,000 

Louisiana Community 
Development Authority LA Green Fuels $250,000,000 
Louisiana Community 

Development Authority American Biocarbon $21,000,000 

 
SECTION 2: All references in this Order to the 

singular shall include the plural, and all plural references 
shall include the singular. 

SECTION 3: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by 
operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State 
of Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 11th day of 
February, 2022.  

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#056 

 
EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 22-6 

Flags at Half-Staff—Senator Sydney Banks Nelson 

WHEREAS, Sydney Banks “Syd” Nelson, a former 
distinguished member of the Senate of the Legislature of 
Louisiana, died on January 10, 2022, at the age of 86; 

WHEREAS, he is survived by his loving wife of 63 
years, Gail Anderson Nelson, daughter Denise Dawn Nelson 
Akers, son Sydney Stephen Nelson, four grandchildren, and 
two great-grandchildren, as well as many extended family 
and dear friends; 

WHEREAS, he attended the University of Oklahoma 
on a Naval ROTC scholarship, and earned a degree in 
accounting; after proudly serving his nation in the United 
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States Navy, he attended the Louisiana State University Law 
Center, excelling in his studies before embarking upon a 
successful and storied career as a preeminent attorney in the 
State of Louisiana; 

WHEREAS, he served his state and his home of 
Northern Louisiana in the Louisiana State Senate for twelve 
years, first taking office in 1980; he is widely remembered 
for showing such strength of character during his tenure of 
service that he earned the moniker the “Conscience of the 
Senate;” and 

WHEREAS, Sydney Banks “Syd” Nelson lived a life 
of tremendous faith, integrity, and honor, and his service as a 
public servant and lawmaker to the State of Louisiana will 
long be remembered. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: As an expression of respect and to 
honor Sydney Banks “Syd” Nelson, the flags of the United 
States and the State of Louisiana shall be flown at half-staff 
over the State Capitol and all state buildings from sunrise 
until sunset on Wednesday, February 9, 2022. 

SECTION 2: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until sunset, February 9, 2022. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 8th day of 
February, 2022. 

 
John Bel Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State 
2202#028 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability Section 

TANF Fatherhood (LAC 67:III.5571) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
Economic Stability, has exercised the emergency provision 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to 
amend LAC 67:III, Subpart 15 Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) Initiatives, Chapter 55 TANF 
Initiatives, §5571 Parenting/Fatherhood Services Program 
(Effective September 30, 2002). This Emergency Rule shall 
be effective February 1, 2022 and shall remain in effect for 
the maximum period of the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Pursuant to Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) Block Grant, amendment of §5571 is 
required to update the TANF goal and eligibility criteria. 
TANF goal 2 (to end the dependence of needy parents on 
government benefits by promoting job preparation, work, 
and marriage) is being removed and the income eligibility 
criteria related to goal 2 is being removed. TANF goal 4 
meets the initiative’s objectives and its associated eligibility 
criteria allows the most flexibility for providers to serve a 
wide variety of disadvantaged families. 

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
facilitate the expenditure of TANF funds. The authorization 
to promulgate emergency rules to facilitate the expenditure 
of TANF funds is contained in Act 119 of the 2021 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5571. Parenting/Fatherhood Services Program 

(Effective September 30, 2002) 
A. The department shall enter into contracts to create 

programs that will assist fathers with various skills which 
may include but are not limited to employment, life, positive 
parenting, fatherhood, marriage and/or relationship building 
activities, and other skills in order to increase their ability to 
provide emotional and financial support for their children 
and build a solid foundation for stronger relationships 
between mothers and fathers. 

B. These services meet TANF goal 4, to encourage the 
formation and maintenance of two-parent families by 
eliminating emotional, social, financial, and legal barriers 
that hinder a father's ability to be fully engaged in his 
children's lives. 

C. Eligibility for services is limited to fathers of minor 
children. The mothers of their children, as well as their 
children, are eligible to participate in program activities. 

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session, Act 18, 2007 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29:191 (February 
2003), amended LR 34:697 (April 2008), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
Section, LR 48: 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

2202#014 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 139—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Development Fund Programs—CCAP Household Eligibility 

(LAC28:CLXV.509 and 515) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
has amended LAC28:CLXV.Bulletin 139—Louisiana Early 
Childhood Care and Development Fund Programs. The 
revisions increase the daily Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP) reimbursement rates and increase the income 
eligibility for CCAP to 85 percent of the State Median 
Income. This Declaration of Emergency, effective February 
1, 2022, is for a period of 180 days from adoption, or until 
finally adopted as Rule. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXV.  Bulletin 139—Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs 

§509. Certification Requirements for Non-
Categorically Eligible Households 

A. To be certified as a CCAP household, households that 
are not categorically eligible for participation in CCAP must 
meet the following requirements: 

1. include at least one child who is eligible for CCAP 
as provided in §503.A;  

2. meet all criteria provided in §507.A; 
3. have household income that does not exceed 85 

percent of the state median income for a household of the 
same size. Household income is defined as: 

3.a. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:6 

and 17:407.28. and 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 42:43 (January 2016), 
amended LR 42:2175 (December 2016), LR 44:261 (February 
2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 45:900 (July 2019), LR 
46:1373 (October 2020), LR 47:573 (May 2021), LR 48: 
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§515. Payments Made on Behalf of Households 
A. The state maximum daily rates for CCAP care are  

as follows. 
 

Child 
Care 

Provider 
Type 

Regular 
Care 

Regular 
Care for 
Toddlers

Regular 
Care 
for 

Infants 

Special 
Needs 
Care 

Incentive

Special 
Needs 
Care 

Incentive 
for 

Toddlers

Special 
Needs
Care 

Incentive 
for 

Infants 
Type III 
Early 
Learning 
Center $31.50 $42.00 $68.00 $39.69 $52.92  $85.68 
School 
Child Care 
Center $24.00 $24.00 $24.00 $30.24 $30.24 $30.24 
Family 
Child Care 
Provider $29.00 

 
$42.00 

 
$61.00 $36.54  $52.92  $76.86 

In-Home 
Provider $25.00 $25.25 $26.65 $31.50 $31.82 $33.58 
Military 
Child Care 
Centers $31.50 $42.00 $68.00 $39.69 $52.92  $85.68 

 
B. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, and R.S. 17:6 and 17:407.28. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2116 (October 2015), 
amended LR 42:44 (January 2016), LR 42:1870 (November 2016), 
LR 44:801 (April 2018), LR 45:1745 (December 2019), LR 47:573 
(May 2021). LR 48: 

 
James Garvey 
President 

2202#007 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel  

(LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapters 3, 5, 7, 11, 13,15 and 23) 

Editor’s Note: In accordance with R.S. 49:954.1, this 
Emergency Rule is being published without regard to its 
validity. The contents of this Emergency Rule contain 
numerous errors to be addressed by the promulgating agency. 
 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
has LAC 28:CXXXI in Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel. The proposed 
revisions: adopt new high school and middle school Math 
Praxis exams; remove the requirement that teaching 
experience be in an educator area of certification as a 
condition of advancing a teaching certificate; require teacher 
preparation providers to submit all practitioner license (PL) 
applications; allow the issuance of Temporary Authority to

Teach (TAT) certifications to applicants who fail to meet 
minimum grade point average requirements, contingent upon 
the applicant's satisfactory completion of a personal 
interview by the employing school system; allow a “family 
childcare” child development associate (CDA) credential for 
purposes of earning an ancillary Early Childhood Certificate; 
allow uncertified nonpublic school educators to serve as 
mentor teachers; align Child Nutrition Coordinator 
requirements with Federal regulations; align CTTIE 
certificate structure issuance and renewal with standard 
teaching certification; reduce the number of years of 
teaching experience for Educational Leader Certificate Level 
3 (EDL3) and Out-of-State Superintendent (OSS) from 5 
years to 3 years; and provide for technical edits. This 
Declaration of Emergency, effective February 14, 2022, is 
for a period of 180 days from adoption, or until finally 
adopted as Rule. 

 
Title 28 

EDUCATION 
Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 
Chapter 2. Initial Teacher Certification 
Subchapter B. Testing Required for Certification Areas 
§303. Certification Exams and Scores 

A. A teacher applicant for certification must successfully 
complete the appropriate written or computer-delivered 
assessment identified in this Section prior to issuance of a 
Louisiana educator certification. 

1. Core Academic Skills for Educators. Teacher 
applicants in all content areas must pass all three Praxis core 
academic skills tests for educators. 

a. An ACT composite score of 22 or an SAT 
combined score of 1100 or higher (new SAT) or 1030 or 
higher (pre-March 2016 SAT) may be used in lieu of 
PRAXIS 1 PPST exams or core academic skills for 
educators in reading, writing and math by prospective 
teachers in Louisiana. 

b. Applicants possessing a non-education graduate 
degree from an institution accredited in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 will be exempted from the core skills exam. 

 
Pre-Professional Skills Test 

“Paper or Computer 
Administrations” Test # Score 

Effective 
Date 

PPST:R�Pre-Professional Skills 
Test: Reading 0710/5710 176 

Effective 
7/1/10 

to 12/31/13 

PPST:W�Pre-Professional Skills 
Test: Writing 0720/5720 175 

PST:M�Pre-Professional Skills 
Test: Mathematics 0730/5730 175 

 

Core Academic Skills for 

Educators Test # Score 
Effective 

Date 
Reading 5712 156 Effective 

1/1/14 to  
12/31/2020

Writing 5722 162 
Mathematics 5732 150 
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Core Academic Skills for 

Educators Test # Score 
Effective 

Date 
Reading 5713 156 

Current- Writing 5723 162 
Mathematics 5733 150 

1NOTE: To differentiate the computer delivered tests, 
Educational Testing Service has placed the number “5” or “6” 
preceding the current test code. The department will accept 
computer delivered passing test scores for licensure 

2. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) Exams 
 

Principles of Learning and 
Teaching: Early Childhood 

0621 or 
5621 

157 

Effective 
1/1/12 

Principles of Learning and 
Teaching: K-6 

0622 or 
5622 

160 

Principles of Learning and 
Teaching: 5-9 

0623 or 
5623 

160 

Principles of Learning and 
Teaching: 7-12 

0624 or 
5624 

157 

 
 
B. Content and Pedagogy Requirements 
 

Certification Area Name of Praxis Test 
Content 

Exam Score 

Pedagogy: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
PLT K-6 
(#0622 or 

5622) 

PLT 5-9 
(#0623 or 

5623) 

PLT 7-12 
(#0624 or 

5624) 

Birth to Kindergarten 

Early Childhood Content Knowledge  
(5022/5025 after September 2015) 

Early Childhood Education (5025)  
or 

Education of Young Children (5024) 
or 

PreK Education (5531) 

160  
(for 5022) 

156  
(for 5025) 

160 
 

155 

PLT: Early Childhood 0621 or 5621 (Score 157) 

Early Childhood PK-3 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014 or 5014) 
prior to 9/1/15 

150 
PLT: Early Childhood 0621 or 5621 (Score 157) 

Early Childhood PK-3 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

or 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

 
163 

 

157 
157 
155 
159 PLT: Early Childhood 0621 or 5621 (Score 157) 

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Grades 1-5 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014 or 5014) 
prior to 9/1/15 

150 160 
--- --- 

Grades 1-5 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

or 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 
Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 

Science (5005) 

 
163 

 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 

 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
160 

  

Grades 4-8 
Mathematics 

Middle School Mathematics (0069) Prior to 1/1/14 
Middle School Mathematics (5169) Effective 1/1/14 
Effective 1/1/14-8/31/2022 
Middle School Mathematics (5164) 
Effective 9/1/2021 
 

148 
165 

 
157 

--- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 Science 
Middle School Science (0439) Prior to 6/8/14 
Middle School Science (5440) Effective 6/8/14 to 3/31/2022 
Middle School Science (5442) Effective 4/1/2021 

150 
150 
152 

--- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 Social 
Studies 

Middle School Social Studies (0089 or 5089) 149 --- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 English/ 
Language Arts 

Middle School English/Language Arts (0049 or 5049) 
Prior to 1/1/14 

Middle School English (5047) Effective 1/1/14 

160 
 

164 

--- 160 --- 
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C. Certification Areas 
1. Grades 6-12 Certification 
 

Grades 6-12 Certification Areas 
Certification Area Name of PRAXIS Test Score     PLT 7-12 
Agriculture Agriculture (0700) Prior to 6/8/14 510 --- --- 

157 Agriculture (5701) Effective 6/8/14 147   

Algebra I 

Algebra I (5162) Effective 8/14/18 157    

Middle School Mathematics (5169) 
Effective 1/1/14-8/31/2022 
Middle School Mathematics (5164) 
Effective 9/1/2021 
 

165 
157 

   

American Sign Language 
American Sign Language Proficiency Interview 
(ASLPI-0634) 

3+170 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 (Score 158) 

Biology Biology: Content Knowledge (0235 or 5235) 150 --- --- 157 
Business Business Education: Content Knowledge (0101 or 

5101) 
154 --- --- 157 

Chemistry Chemistry: Content Knowledge (0245 or 5245) 151   157 
Chinese Chinese (Mandarin): World Language (5665) 164 PLT7-12 (Score 157) until 6/30/13; 

After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 
(Score 158) 

English English Language, Literature, and Composition: 
 Content Knowledge (0041 or 5041) 
 Pedagogy (0043) Prior to 1/1/14 
English Language Arts: Content and Analysis 
(5039) Effective 1/1/14 

160 
130 

 
168 

 
--- 

 
--- 

 
157 

Family and Consumer Sciences  Family and Consumer Sciences (0121 or 5121) Prior 
to 6/8/14 
Family and Consumer Sciences (5122) Effective 
6/8/14 

141 
 

153 

---  
--- 

157 

French French: World Language (5174) 157 PLT7-12 (Score 157) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 

(Score 158) 
General Science General Science: Content Knowledge (0435 or 

5435)  
156 --- --- 157 

German German: World  
Language (5183) 

157 PLT7-12 (Score 157) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 

(Score 158) 
Mathematics Mathematics: Content Knowledge (0061 or 5061) 

Effective 6/1/10-12/31/13 
Mathematics: Content Knowledge (5161)  
Effective 1/1/14-8/31/2022 
Mathematics: Content Knowledge (5165) 
Effective 9/1/2021 
 

135 
 

160 
 

159 
 

--- --- 157 

Physics Physics: Content Knowledge (0265 or 5265) 141    157 
Social Studies Social Studies: Content and Interpretation (0086 or 

5086) 
*153  

--- 
 

--- 
 

157 
Spanish Spanish: World Language (5195) 157 PLT7-12 (Score 157) until 6/30/13; 

After 6/30/13 World languages Pedagogy 0841 
(Score 158) 

Speech Speech Communications (0221 or 5221) 146 --- --- 157 
 

Technology Education Technology Education (0051 or 5051) 159 --- --- 157 
Computer Science 
Earth Science  
Environmental Science 
Journalism  
Latin 
Marketing  

At this time, a content area exam is not required for 
certification in Louisiana. 

--- --- --- 157 

* The passing score for tests taken prior to January 1, 2020 is 160. 
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2. All-Level K-12 Certification 
 

All-Level K-12 Certification Areas 
Subject Area Praxis Test Score PLT K-6   PLT 5-9   PLT 7-12 

Grades K-12 Art  Art: Content Knowledge (0134 or 5134) 159 160 
or 

160 or 157 
Grades K-12 Dance None Available** --- 160 160 or 157 
Grades K-12 Foreign 
Languages 

Chinese (Mandarin):World Language (5665) 164 PLT K-6 (Score 160) or PLT 5-9 (Score 160) or 
PL7-12 (Score 157) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 
(Score 158) 

French: World Language (5174) 157  
German: World Language (5183) 157  
Spanish: World Language (5195) 157 
American Sign Language Proficiency Interview 
(ASLPI - 0634) 

3+ 170 

Grades K-12 Music Music: Content Knowledge (0113 or 5113) 151 160 

or 

160 or 157 
Grades K-12 Health 
and Physical 
Education 

Physical Education: Content Knowledge (0091 or 5091), 
Prior to 6/8/14 

146 
160 160 or 

157 

Health and Physical Education (5857), Effective 6/8/14 160  

**At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification in Louisiana 

 
D. Special Education Areas 
 

Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
All Special Education Area(s) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Prior to 9/1/15: 
 Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15 
(0014 or 5014) 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
 Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

or 
 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts (5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple 
Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts (5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

150 
 

163 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
157 
157 
155 
159 

Effective 1/1/12:
Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications 
(0354 or 5354) and 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early 
Childhood 
(0621 or 5621 

Effective 1/1/14: 
Special Education: Early Childhood (0691)  

and 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early 
Childhood (0621 or 5621) 

145 
 
 

157 
 
 

159 
 

157 

Deaf and Hard 
of Hearing 

Prior to 9/1/15: 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014 or 5014) 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17: 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

or 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17: 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

 
150 

 
163 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Effective 11/1/11: 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications (0354 or 5354) 

and 
Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students 
(0271) 
Effective 1/1/14: 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications (0354 or 5354) 

and 
Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing Students (0272 or 5272) 

 
145 

 
 

160 
 
 

145 
 
 

160 

Mild to 
Moderate 
Disabilities 

ALL Candidates must pass a content area exam appropriate to 
certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12 such as elementary, or core 
subject-specific exams for middle or secondary grades. 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to 
Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543) 

AND 
PLT specific to grade level (K-6, 5-9, or 7-12) 

 
153 

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15
(0014 or 5014) 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 OR  
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple 
Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

150
 
 

163 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to 
Profound Applications (0545 or 5545) 

153
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Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
Visual 
Impairments/ 
Blind 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15
(0014 or 5014) 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 

or 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple 
Subjects (5001) 

Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
Mathematics (5003) 
Social Studies (5004) 
Science (5005) 

150
 
 

163 
 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and
Applications (0354 or 5354) Effective 11/1/11 
Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (0354 or 5354) 

and 
Special Education: Teaching Students with Visual 
Impairments (0282) Effective 1/1/14  

145
 
 

145 
 
 

163 

 
E. Administrative and Instructional Support Areas 
 

Certification 
Area Name of Test Area Test Score

Educational 
Leader—Level 1  

School Leaders Licensure Assessment 
(1011 or 6011) 

166 
(Effective 

until 7/31/20) 

School Leaders Licensure 
Assessment (6990)  

151 
(Effective 

9/1/19) 

Louisiana Leadership Assessment 
Series 
 

 
“Demonstrated” 

(for at least 9 
assessments 
within the 

series) 
Effective 
April 1, 2020 

Educational 
Leader—Level 3 

School Superintendent Assessment 
(6021) 

160  
(Effective until 

7/31/20) 
School Superintendent Assessment 
(6991) 

162 
Current-  

School Counselor 
K-12 

Professional School Counselor (0421 
or 5421) 156 

School Librarian 
Library Media Specialist (0311 or 
5311) 136 

 
F. Reading Exams 
 

Name of Test Area Test Score
Teaching Reading Exam (0204 or 5204) 
Effective 9/1/2011 – 7/31/2020 
 

157 

Teaching Reading Exam (0206 or 5206) 
Effective 9/1/2019 156 

 
1. Praxis scores, for certification purposes, must be 

received by the LDE via one of the following ways: 
a. the electronic ETS Praxis score report forwarded 

directly from ETS; or 
b. the original Praxis score report issued by ETS 

submitted with the certification application. 
G. Mentor Teacher and Content Leader. The mentor 

teacher certificate and the content leader certificate may be 
earned by passing the applicable Louisiana assessment 
series. 

 
Certification 

Area Name of Test Area Test Score 

Mentor Teacher 

Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Elementary 

2  
coaching- related 

components 
Louisiana Mentor Teacher 2  

Certification 
Area Name of Test Area Test Score 

Assessment Series—Secondary 
ELA 

coaching- related 
components

Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Secondary 
Math 

2  
coaching- related 

components 
Louisiana Mentor Teacher 
Assessment Series—Universal 

2  
coaching- related 

components 

Content Leader 

Louisiana Content Leader 
Assessment Series 

4 

Intervention Content Leader 
Assessment Series 

3 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41:645 (April 2015), LR 41:916 (May 
2015), LR 42:233 (February 2016), LR 43:1292 (July 2017), LR 
44:264 (February 2018), LR 44:1999 (November 2018), LR 
45:228, 230 (February 2019), repromulgated LR 45:403 (March 
2019), amended LR 45:1458 (October 2019), LR 46:325 (March 
2020), LR 46:557 (April 2020), LR 46:1374 (October 2020), LR 
48:453 (April 2021), repromulgated LR 48:574 (May 2021), LR 
48: 
Chapter 5. Teaching Credentials, Licenses and 

Certifications 
Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Certificates 
§503. Introduction 

A. There are seven types of standard teaching certificates 
issued by the state of Louisiana: 

1. professional Level 1, 2, and 3 certificates;  
2. type C, B, and A certificates;  
3. out-of-state certificate;  
4. world language certificates (WLC);  
5. practitioner 1, 2, and 3 licenses;  
6. extended endorsement license (EEL); and 
7. standard certificates for teachers in non-public 

schools. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:558 (February 2011)., LR 38:1951 (August 2012), 
LR 46:01375 (October 2020), LR 48: 
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§505. General Provisions 
A. Non-Practicing Status or Operational Role Status for 

Standard Teaching Certificates 
1. The LDE may grant: 

a. non-practicing status to any teacher who applies 
after ceasing employment as a teacher or leader in a local 
education agency;  

b. operational role status to any teacher who is 
serving in a role that cannot be evaluated per student growth 
measures. 

2. Non-practicing status will take effect on the last day 
of employment in the local education agency evaluated role, 
as verified by the employing LEA. 

a. If an educator was never employed in a Louisiana 
school system, the program provider may make the request. 

3. Operational role status will take effect on the first 
day of employment in a role that cannot be evaluated per 
student growth measures, as verified by the employing LEA. 

4. Operational role teachers returning to a role that can 
be evaluated per student growth measures must be evaluated 
with student growth measures upon return to that role. 

5. Non-practicing teachers returning to practice and 
operational role teachers returning to a role that can be 
evaluated per student growth measures may apply through a 
local education agency for an extension of the certificate for 
the number of years remaining in the renewal period of the 
certificate. 

6. Final effectiveness ratings earned while in active 
status will be retained during non-practicing status and 
operational role status and applied to any subsequent 
renewal or extension. 

7. The first date an educator can enter into non-
practicing or operational role is August 1, 2012. 

B. Medical Excuse and Exceptions. Exceptions to policy 
will be considered in the case of serious medical condition 
or unavailability of required coursework or exams. When 
serious medical problems of the teacher or immediate family 
exist, a doctor statement is required with a letter of assurance 
from the teacher that the unmet policy requirements will be 
completed within one year of granting the exception. The 
final authority for approval and policy flexibility is at the 
discretion of the LDE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 46:325 (March 2020), 
amended LR 48: 
§507. Professional Level Certificates 

A. Level 1 is the entry-level professional certificate, 
valid for three years. The level 2 and level 3 certificates are 
valid for five years. 

1. Eligibility Requirements for Level 1 Professional 
Certificate 

a. Louisiana graduate: 
 i. successfully complete a state-approved 
traditional or alternate teacher preparation program: 

(a). for alternate preparation completers, the 
applicant must receive mentoring by a school-based mentor 
teacher in accordance with §553 of this Chapter; 
 ii. have a minimum 2.50 undergraduate grade 
point average (GPA) on a 4.00 scale; 

(a). an applicant who does not meet the GPA 
requirement may be certified if by meeting the following 
requirements in an alternate teacher preparation program: 
 (i). satisfactorily complete a personal 
interview by the program admissions officer; 
 (ii). if the program awards credit hours, the 
applicant shall achieve a minimum grade point average 
(GPA) of 3.00 in alternate teacher preparation program 
courses by the end of the first 12 credit hours and 
successfully complete the program; 
 (iii). if the program does not award credit 
hours, the applicant shall demonstrate mastery of 
competencies as required by the program administrator and 
by the school system in which the applicant completes 
required clinical practice; and 
 (iv). satisfactorily complete all program 
requirements as set forth by BESE, including any 
requirements for clinical practice, at graduation; 
 iii. present appropriate scores on the core exams; 
the principles of learning and teaching (PLT) or other 
pedagogy exam(s) required for the area(s) of certification as 
specified in §303 of this Part; and the specialty area 
(content) exam in the certification area in which the teacher 
preparation program was completed or in which the initial 
certificate was;  

(a). See §303 of this Part for exam substitutions; 
and 
 iv. be recommended by a state-approved 
university or private program provider for certification. 

b. Out-of-State graduate: 
 i. possess a minimum of a baccalaureate degree 
from a college or university accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602; 

(a). credentials may be submitted to a 
credentialing agency that follows the standards of the 
American Association of Collegiate Registrars and 
Admissions Officers (AACRAO) for evaluation with the 
original course-by-course evaluation including a statement 
verifying the comparability of the baccalaureate degree in 
the field of education; 
 ii. hold a standard out-of-state teaching 
certificate, or if no certificate was issued, a letter from the 
state education agency (SEA) or teacher preparation 
program provider in the state of origin verifying eligibility in 
that state for a certificate in the certification area(s); 
 iii. pass all parts of Praxis exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification: 

(a). present appropriate scores on the core 
exams, the principles of learning and teaching (PLT) or other 
pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of certification, and 
the specialty area (content) exam in the certification area in 
which the teacher preparation program was completed or in 
which the initial certificate was issued; 

(b). if applicant has obtained National Board 
Certification (NBC) in corresponding areas for which 
certification is being sought as well as certification/licensure 
in the state of origin, the examination required for NBC will 
be accepted to fulfill the testing requirements for 
certification; 

(a). See §303 of this Part for exam substitutions. 
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 iv. has completed student teaching, an internship, 
or year(s) of teaching experience as required by the teacher 
preparation program provider; and 
 v. has not been out of teaching in the five years 
immediately preceding first employment or application for a 
Louisiana certificate. A candidate who has not taught in five 
years may be issued a one-year non-renewable (OS1) 
certificate during completion of six semester hours required 
for the issuance of a three-year non-renewable (OS) 
certificate. 
 vi. A candidate who is certified in another state 
can qualify for exclusion from the BESE adopted exam(s) 
required for Louisiana certification under the following 
criteria: 

(a). meet all requirements for Louisiana 
certification except the Praxis exam requirements; have at 
least three years of successful teaching experience in another 
state, as verified by the out-of-state employing authority or 
SEA; and teach on an out-of-state certificate for one year in 
a Louisiana-approved public or an approved nonpublic 
school system; 

(b). the employing authority must verify that the 
teacher has completed one year of successful teaching 
experience in a Louisiana approved public or an approved 
nonpublic school and is recommended for further 
employment; 

(c). the employing authority must request that 
the teacher be granted a valid Louisiana teaching certificate. 

c. Foreign Applicant (OS) Certificate eligibility 
requirements: 
 i. possess a minimum of a baccalaureate degree 
verified by an institution in the United States accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602, or if the institution is located 
in Louisiana, the dean of the College of Education must 
recommend the applicant for certification based upon 
Louisiana requirements and submit the original course-by-
course evaluation including a statement verifying the 
comparability of the baccalaureate degree in the field of 
education, or if the institution is located in another 
state/country, the guidelines prescribed for out-of-state 
applicants must be followed; or 
 ii. credentials may be submitted to a credentialing 
agency that follows the standards of the American 
Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions 
Officers (AACRAO) for evaluation, and the original course-
by-course evaluation must include a statement verifying the 
comparability of the baccalaureate degree in the field of 
education. 

d. Foreign Applicant―Level 1 Certificate eligibility 
requirements: 
 i. possess a minimum of a baccalaureate degree 
verified by an institution in the United States accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602, or if the institution is located 
in Louisiana, the dean of the College of Education must 
recommend the applicant for certification based upon 
Louisiana requirements with the original course-by-course 
evaluation including a statement verifying the comparability 
of the baccalaureate degree in the field of education, or if the 
institution is located in another state/country, the guidelines 
prescribed for out-of-state applicants must be followed; or 

 ii. credentials may be submitted by an agency that 
follows the standard of the American Association of 
Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO) 
for evaluation, and the original course-by-course evaluation 
for certification must include a statement verifying the 
comparability of the baccalaureate degree in the field of 
education; and 
 iii. present appropriate scores on the core exams 
for the principles of learning and teaching (PLT) or other 
pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of certification and 
the specialty area (content) exam(s) in the certification 
area(s) in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued. 

(a). See §303 of this Part for exam substitutions. 
B. Level 2 Professional Certificate eligibility 

requirements: 
1. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a level 1 

certificate;  
2. successfully meet the standards of effectiveness for 

three years pursuant to state law and LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130): 

a. all out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 
and 

3. accrue three years of experience in an approved 
educational setting. 

4. If the level 2 certificate is the initial certificate, a 
state-approved teacher preparation program provider must 
submit the request.  

5. If the level 1 certificated teacher qualifies for 
advancement to a level 2 certificate, the request for the 
higher certificate must be submitted directly to the LDE by 
the employing authority. 

C. Level 3 Professional Certificate eligibility 
requirements: 

1. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a level 2 
certificate; 

2. earn a graduate degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

3. have five years of experience in an approved 
educational setting. 

a. All out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA. 

4. If the level 3 certificate is initial certificate, a state-
approved teacher preparation program provider must submit 
the request. 

5. If the level 2 certificated teacher qualifies for 
advancement to a level 3 certificate, the request for the 
higher certificate must be submitted directly to the LDE by 
the employing authority. 

D. Renewal/Extension Guidelines for Level 1, Level 2, 
and Level 3 Certificates 

1. Level 1 certificate: 
a. valid for three years initially and may be 

extended thereafter for a period of one year at the request of 
a Louisiana employing authority with extensions of Level 1 
certificates being limited to two such extensions.  

2. Level 2 and level 3 certificates: 
a. valid for five years initially and may be renewed 

thereafter for a period of five years at the request of a
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Louisiana employing authority, with renewal of level 2 and 
level 3 certificates, contingent upon candidates successfully 
meeting the standards of effectiveness for at least three years 
during the five-year initial or renewal period pursuant to 
state law and Bulletin 130. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 48: 
§509. Type C Certificates 

A. Effective July 1, 2002, type C certificates are no 
longer issued for initial certification. The type C certificate is 
valid for three years. Teachers who hold type B and type A 
lifetime certificates will continue to hold these certificates. 
Effective July 1, 2012, type B and type A lifetime certificates 
will no longer be issued to teachers holding type C 
certificates applying for advanced certificates. Teachers 
holding a type C certificate who wish to apply for more 
advanced certification credentials will be granted a level 2 
certificate, upon meeting the standards of effectiveness for at 
least three years, pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. 

B. Type C Certificate Renewal Guidelines. The type C 
certificate may be renewed for an additional one-year period 
upon the request of the Louisiana employing authority, 
subject to the approval of the LDE. Type C certificates are 
limited to two such extensions. 

C. Type B Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 
continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
where not a regularly employed teacher for at least one 
semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the certificate is not 
revoked by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE). 

D. Type A Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 
continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
where not a regularly employed teacher for at least one 
semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the certificate is not 
revoked by the BESE. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold a type B or B* certificate; 
b. successfully complete the local evaluation plan 

mandated by state law and Bulletin 130; 
c. earn a graduate degree from an institution of 

higher education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
and 

d. have five years of experience in an approved 
educational setting. 

i. All out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA. 

2. The request for the higher certificate must be 
submitted directly to the LDE by the employing authority. 

E. Process for Reinstating Lapsed Types B and A 
Certificates: 

1. A certificate will lapse for disuse if the holder 
allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass 
where not a regularly employed teacher for at least one 
semester, or 90 consecutive days. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence of earning six semester hours of credit in 
state-approved courses during the five-year period 
immediately preceding the request for reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request of the Louisiana employing authority at the level that 
was attained prior to disuse for a period of one year, during 
which time the holder must complete reinstatement 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1798 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:559 (February 2011), LR 38:3136 (December 
2012, LR 43:1306 (July 2017), LR 45:1459 (October 2019), LR 
46:1376 (October 2020). 
§511. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

A. An out-of-state (OS) certificate, valid for a three-year 
period, is not renewable, and is issued to a teacher who has 
completed an out-of-state teacher preparation program and 
either holds or is eligible for a certificate in the state in 
which the program was completed. The teacher is not 
initially eligible for a level 1, 2, or 3 Louisiana certificate but 
meets Louisiana certification requirements with the 
exception of the Praxis/National Teacher Exam 
requirements. OS certification provides a transition period 
that permits the holder to be employed in Louisiana K-12 
schools while completing Louisiana Praxis/NTE 
requirements or meeting Praxis exclusion eligibility 
requirements. For continued employment as a teacher in a 
Louisiana school system after the three-year period has 
elapsed, the OS certificate holder must fulfill guidelines for 
a level 1 or higher-level certificate. 

B. OS Eligibility requirements: 
1. earn a minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a 

college or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 
602; 

2. complete a teacher preparation program in another 
state; 

3. hold a standard out-of-state teaching certificate, or 
if no certificate was issued, a letter from the state department 
of education or college of education dean verifying 
eligibility in that state for a certificate in the certification 
area(s); 

4. complete student teaching or internship in a 
certification area, or in lieu of student teaching or internship 
have three years of successful teaching experience in a 
certification area;  

5. if applicant earned a degree five or more years prior 
to the date of application, the educator must have been a 
regularly employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, within the five year period immediately 
preceding first employment in Louisiana or application for a 
Louisiana certificate, or if lacking this experience, must earn 
six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses during 
the five year period immediately preceding application, and 
a candidate who has not taught in five years may be issued a
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one-year non-renewable (OS1) certificate while completing 
six semester hours required for the issuance of a three-year 
non-renewable (OS) certificate; and 

6. beginning January 1, 2017, the LDE will issue a 
letter of eligibility for an OS certificate to requesting 
teachers at the request of the Louisiana employing authority. 

C. Advancing from OS to Professional Level 1, 2, or 3 
Certificate 

1. Pass all parts of exam(s) required for Louisiana 
certification identified in §303: 

a. present appropriate scores on the core exams; the 
principles of learning and teaching (PLT) or other pedagogy 
exam required for the area(s) of certification, and the 
specialty area (content) exam in the certification area in 
which the teacher preparation program was completed or in 
which the initial certificate was issued: 
 i. (iii). See §303 of this Part for exam 
substitutions; and 

b. if applicant has obtained national board 
certification (NBC) in corresponding areas for which 
certification is being sought as well as certification/licensure 
in the state of origin, the examination required for NBC will 
be accepted to fulfill the testing requirements for 
certification; 

c. a candidate who is certified in another state can 
qualify for exclusion from the exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification under the following criteria:  
 i. meet all requirements for Louisiana 
certification except the Praxis exam requirements with at 
least three years of successful teaching experience in another 
state, prior to issuance of the OS, as verified by the out-of-
state employing authority or SEA, and teach on an OS 
certificate for one year in a Louisiana approved public or an 
approved nonpublic school system; 
 ii. the Louisiana employing authority verifies that 
completion of one year of successful teaching experience in 
a Louisiana approved public or an approved nonpublic 
school and has been recommended for further employment; 
and 
 iii. the employing authority requests issuance of a 
valid Louisiana teaching certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1799 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:433 (March 2007), LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 
35:222 (February 2009), LR 35:894 (May 2009), LR 37:559 
(February 2011), LR 37:882 (March 2011), LR 40:280 (February 
2014), LR 43:1306 (July 2017), LR 45:1459 (October 2019), LR 
46:1376 (October 2020), LR 48: 
§515. Practitioner Licenses 

A. Issuance and Renewals  
1. Practitioner licenses (PL) 1 and 2 may be issued for 

one school year, renewed annually, and held a maximum of 
three years while the holder completes an alternate program. 
Upon completion of the three years of employment on a PL 
certificate, the holder must fulfill guidelines for a level 1 or 
higher-level certificate for continued employment in a 
Louisiana school system. 

2. The practitioner license 3 may be issued for one 
school year, renewed annually, and held a maximum of four 
years while the holder completes an alternate program. Upon 
completion of the four years of employment on a PL 
certificate, the holder must fulfill guidelines for a level 1 or 
higher-level certificate for continued employment in a 
Louisiana school system. 

3. Practitioner Licenses 1-3. Beginning with the 2020-
2021 academic year, in order to obtain the first renewal only 
of a practitioner license 1, 2, or 3 certificate, practitioner 
candidates participating in a residency as a teacher of record, 
must receive mentorship by a school-based mentor teacher 
who may collaborate with other personnel providing 
mentoring support, in accordance with LAC 28:XLV 
(Bulletin 996). 

a. The school-based mentor teacher must be 
credentialed in accordance with §553 or §1369 of this 
Chapter. 

b. The mentorship must be at least 15 percent, or 5 
hours per week, of the instructional time of the school. 

c. The mentorship must include intensive support, 
including: 
 i. co-teaching; 
 ii. collaborative planning; and 
 iii. observation and feedback sessions. 

4. Eligibility requirements: 
a. minimum of a non-education baccalaureate 

degree from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602; 

b. 2.50 or higher undergraduate grade point average 
(GPA) on a 4.00 scale to enter a non-university provider 
program; or a 2.20 or higher undergraduate GPA on a 4.00 
scale to enter a college or university program; or be granted 
conditional admittance into an alternate teacher preparation 
program following a satisfactory personal interview by the 
program admission officer; and 

c. passing scores on core academic skills for 
educators and current Praxis content area exam(s), or if no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 30 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. See §303 of this part for exam 
substitutions. 

d. Special education mild/moderate certification 
candidates must qualify for admission to alternate programs 
by passing a Praxis specialty area exam, and secondary 
education candidates (grades 6-12) must pass a Praxis core 
subject area exam, or if there is no content Praxis exam 
adopted by the State in the specific secondary core subject 
area, candidates must demonstrate content mastery by 
presenting 30 semester credit hours in the core subject area. 

5. The approved teacher preparation program provider 
shall submit the request for the initial practitioner license as 
well as renewals directly to the LDE.  

6. Renewal Requirements. The candidate must remain 
enrolled in the practitioner teacher, certification-only, or 
master’s degree alternate certification program and fulfill a 
minimum of six semester hours of coursework or equivalent 
contact hours per year for PL1, or nine semester hours or
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equivalent contact hours per year for Pl2/3 to the extent that 
required semester hours remain in the program to be 
completed, teaching assignments, and prescribed activities 
identified by the program provider. 

a. Beginning with the 2020-2021 academic year, the 
first renewal only of a PL 1, 2, or 3 will be conducted in 
accordance with §515.A of this Chapter. 

7. For certification purposes, non-university providers 
and colleges or universities will submit signed statements to 
the LDE indicating that the student completing the 
practitioner teacher, certification-only, or master’s degree 
program alternative certification path meets the following 
requirements: 

a. passed all licensure exams required for 
certification pursuant to §503; and 

b. completed all program requirements including 
the residency with a 2.50 or higher GPA for candidates in a 
university program;  

c. if an applicant who does not meet the 
requirement of Subparagraph b of this Paragraph, 
certification may be issued if the following requirements in 
an alternate teacher preparation program are met: 
 i. satisfactory completion a personal interview by 
the program admissions officer; 
 ii. if the program awards credit hours, the 
applicant shall achieve a minimum GPA of 3.00 in alternate 
teacher preparation program courses by the end of the first 
12 credit hours and successfully complete the program; 
 iii. if the program does not award credit hours, the 
applicant shall demonstrate mastery of competencies as 
required by the program administrator and by the school 
system in which the applicant completes required clinical 
practice; and 
 iv. satisfactory completion of all program 
requirements as set forth by BESE, including any 
requirements for clinical practice, at graduation; 

d. demonstrate proficiency in reading and literacy 
competencies through successfully completing the required 
number of credit or contact hours in reading and literacy as 
specified in LAC 28:XLV (Bulletin 996) or passing a 
reading competency assessment noting that the reading 
competency assessment for early childhood PK-3, 
elementary 1-5, and special education candidates is the 
Praxis teaching reading exam, and middle grades 4-8 and 
secondary grades 6-12 will be required to take the required 
reading course credit hours or equivalent contact hours until 
an appropriate reading competency assessment is developed 
and adopted; and 

e. complete prescriptive plans as determined by the 
preparation provider. 

8. The teacher is restricted to the specific grade level 
and content area as designated on the practitioner license as 
outlined in Bulletin 996.  

B. Practitioner License 1 is issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved practitioner 
teacher program. Program requirements must be completed 
within the three-year maximum that the license can be held. 

C. Practitioner License 2 is issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved certification-
only alternate certification program. Program requirements 
must be completed within the three-year maximum that the 
license can be held. 

D. Practitioner License 3 is issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved master's degree 
alternate certification program. Program requirements must 
be completed within the four-year maximum that the license 
can be held. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1800 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:221 (February 2009), LR 38:1952 (August 2012), 
LR 40:280 (February 2014), LR 43:1307 (July 2017), LR 45:1748 
(December 2019), LR 46:326 (March 2020), LR 46:1376 (October 
2020), LR 48: 
§519. Standard Certificates for Teachers in Nonpublic 

Schools 
A. A standard certificate with an asterisk (*) following 

the certificate type is issued to a teacher in a nonpublic 
school. If the teacher enters a public school system in 
Louisiana, the educator will be required to meet the 
standards of effectiveness pursuant to state law and in 
accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) for 
issuance of a level 2 or level 3 teaching certificate. 

B. Level 2* (2-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. a Louisiana level 1 certificate;  
b. successfully taught for three years;  
c. complete a teacher evaluation program for three 

years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. The request for the level 2* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the LDE by the Louisiana employing 
authority. 

C. Level 3* (3-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold a Louisiana level 1, 2 
or 2* certificate; 

b. successfully taught for five years; 
c. graduate degree from college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and  
d. complete a teacher evaluation program for three 

years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. The request for the level 3* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the LDE by the Louisiana employing 
authority. 

3. Renewal Guidelines for Level 2* and Level 3* 
Certificates 

a. A teacher must earn effective ratings per local 
personnel evaluations for at least three years during the five-
year initial or renewal period. 

b. The Louisiana employing authority must request 
renewal of a level 2* or level 3* certificate. 

D. Type B* (B-asterisk) Certificate—a lifetime 
nonpublic school certificate for continuous service, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of 5 or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue where not a regularly 
employed teacher for at least 1 semester, or 90 consecutive 
days, and/or certificate is not BESE. 
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1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a Louisiana type B certificate; 
b. successfully taught for three years; and 
c. complete a teacher evaluation program for three 

years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. The request for the type B* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the LDE by the Louisiana employing 
authority. 

3. The type B* certificate is valid for life of 
continuous service in a nonpublic school setting, and if the 
teacher enters a Louisiana public/charter school the 
requirement shall be to complete the local evaluation plan 
mandated by state law and Bulletin 130 regulations. 

E. Type A* (A-asterisk) Certificate is valid for life for 
continuous service in a nonpublic school setting, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of 5 or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue where not a regularly 
employed teacher for at least 1 semester, or 90 consecutive 
days, and/or the certificate is not revoked by the BESE. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a Louisiana type B, or type B* certificate; 
b. successfully taught for five years; 
c. graduate degree from a college or university 

accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 
d. complete a teacher evaluation program for three 

years at a nonpublic school, with the principal as evaluator 
and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory in the areas 
of planning, management, instruction, and professional 
development. 

2. The request for the type A* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the LDE by the Louisiana employing 
authority. 

3. The type A* certificate is valid for life of 
continuous service in a nonpublic school setting, and if the 
teacher enters a Louisiana public school the requirement 
shall be to successfully complete the local evaluation plan 
mandated by state law and Bulletin 130. 

F. Reinstating Lapsed Types B* or A* Certificate 
1. If the holder of a type B*, or type A* certificate 

allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in 
which the educator is not a regularly employed teacher for at 
least one semester, or 90 consecutive days, the certificate 
will lapse for disuse. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that the educator earned six semester hours 
of credit in state-approved courses during the five-year 
period immediately preceding the request for reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request of the Louisiana employing authority at the level that 
was attained prior to disuse for a period of one year, during 
which time the holder must complete reinstatement 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1801 (October 2006),

amended LR 36:752 (April 2010), LR 37:559 (February 2011), LR 
38:1952 (August 2012), LR 43:1309 (July 2017), LR 46:1377 
(October 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter B. Nonstandard Teaching Credentials 
§525. Introduction 

A. There are five types of nonstandard teaching 
credentials issued in Louisiana: temporary authority to teach 
(TAT); out-of-field authorization to teach (OFAT); temporary 
employment permit (TEP); nonpublic temporary certificate 
(T); and resident teacher certificate (R). Nonstandard 
credentials are of a temporary nature but may be renewed 
under specified guidelines. 

B. Medical Excuse and Exceptions. Exceptions to policy 
will be considered in the case of serious medical condition 
or unavailability of required coursework or exams. When 
serious medical problems of the teacher or immediate family 
exist, a doctor statement is required with a letter of assurance 
from the teacher that the unmet policy requirements will be 
completed within one year of the exception being granted. 
The final authority for approval and policy flexibility is at 
the discretion of the LDE in accordance with BESE policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1803 (October 2006), 
LR 43:1311 (July 2017), LR 48: 
§527. Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT) 

A. Temporary authority to teach (TAT) is issued for one 
calendar year, while the holder pursues alternate certification 
program admission requirements or certification 
requirements. A TAT cannot be issued to teachers who 
previously held a temporary employment permit (TEP) or a 
standard teaching certificate. 

B. Eligibility Requirements: 
1. The applicant must teach in a demonstrated area of 

need as evidenced by LEA-level workforce needs. 
2. The applicant must have a baccalaureate or higher 

degree from an institution accredited in accordance with 34 
CFR 602. 

3. The applicant must possess passing scores on the 
core academic skills for educators in reading and writing 
examinations or appropriate scores on the ACT or SAT. 

a. See §303 for exam substitutions. 
4. The applicant must have at least a 2.20 

undergraduate GPA. An applicant who does not meet the 
GPA requirement may be certified upon satisfactorily 
completion of a personal interview by the employing school 
system. 

C. The employing school system must submit the 
application and provide an affidavit signed by the local 
superintendent, or the designee, verifying that good faith 
efforts for recruiting certified personnel have been made, 
including posting all positions for which TATs are issued and 
that there is no regularly certified, competent, and suitable 
person available for the position. 

D. Renewal Requirements 
1. TATs are valid for one year initially and may be 

renewed twice thereafter provided: 
a. the applicant provides evidence that the required 

exam(s) for admission into a teacher preparation program 
has been taken at least twice since the issuance of the TAT; 
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b. the applicant provides evidence of meeting the 
standards of effectiveness pursuant to Bulletin 130; 

c. the employing school system submits the 
application on behalf of the applicant and provides an 
affidavit signed by the local superintendent, or the designee, 
verifying that good faith efforts for recruiting certified 
personnel have been made, including posting all positions 
for which TATs are issued; and 

d. there is no regularly certified, competent, and 
suitable person available for the position. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1803 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2547 (November 2010), LR 40:280 (February 
2014), LR 44:2000 (November 2018), LR 45:1750 (December 
2019), LR 48: 
§529. Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT) 

A. Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT) is issued 
for one three-year period while the holder pursues 
endorsement or add-on certification requirements. The OFAT 
is limited to two certification areas and is transferable to 
other employing school systems for the remaining validity 
period. If the teacher is actively pursuing certification in the 
field and the LDE has designated the area as an area that 
requires extensive hours for completion, up to two additional 
years of renewal may be granted. Issuance of subsequent 
OFAT requests may be considered once the previous OFAT 
certification area(s) have been added to the holder's standard 
teaching certificate. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. issued to an applicant who holds a valid Louisiana 

out-of-state certificate; 
2. temporary employment permit; or 
3. a type C, type B or B* type A or A*, level 1, level 2 

or 2*, or level 3 or 3* or OS teaching certificate but is 
teaching outside of the certified area(s). 

C. OFAT Stipulations: 
1. LEAs must submit the application and provide an 

affidavit signed by the local superintendent, or the designee, 
verifying that good faith efforts for recruiting certified 
personnel have been made, including consulting the Teach 
Louisiana website, and that there is no regularly certified, 
competent, and suitable person available for the position, 
and that the applicant is the best-qualified person for the 
position. 

2. If the teacher is actively pursuing certification in 
the field and the LDE designates the area as an area that 
requires extensive hours for completion, up to two additional 
years of renewal may be granted. Designated areas are as 
follows: 

a. applicants pursuing certification in academically 
gifted, significant disabilities, early interventionist, deaf or 
hard of hearing, and visual impairments/blind may be 
granted two additional years of renewal; and 

b. applicants pursuing certification in 
mild/moderate may be granted one additional year of 
renewal. 

D. COVID-19 OFAT Extensions. Educators for whom 
the 2019-2020 school year was the final year of OFAT 
validity period and who were unable to successfully meet 
endorsement or add-on certification requirements due to the 
COVID-19 pandemic, shall be granted a one-year OFAT 
extension for the 2020-2021 school year. This OFAT 
extension is only available to educators employed in 2019-
2020 as reported by school systems in the Profile for 
Educational Personnel (PEP). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1804 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:2355 (November 2007), LR 35:1487 (August 
2009), LR 43:1311 (July 2017), LR 46:1377 (October 2020), LR 
48: 
§535. Resident Teacher Certificate (R) 

A. Beginning July 1, 2018, the resident teacher 
certificate (R) shall be required for individuals completing a 
one-year residency required for certification in Louisiana 
pursuant to Bulletin 996. 

B. Resident teacher certificates are valid for one school 
year, are renewable, and may be held a maximum of three 
years while the holder pursues certification through a BESE-
approved teacher preparation program. 

C. Eligibility guidelines:  
1. enrollment in a BESE-approved traditional, 

master’s degree, or certification-only teacher preparation 
program;  

2. placement in a classroom in a public or approved 
nonpublic school with a teacher of record who holds a valid 
level 1, 2, 3, type A, or type B teaching certificate in the area 
for which the candidate is pursuing certification pursuant to 
Bulletin 746; 

a. resident teachers placed in charter schools must 
be placed with a teacher of record who has demonstrated 
effectiveness pursuant to state law and Bulletin 130; and 

3. passing scores on required core academic skills 
exams for initial issuance, including exam substitutions 
outlined §303 of this Part. 

D. Renewal Guidelines: Passing scores on required 
content knowledge exams for renewal. 

E. The request for the Resident Teacher license as well 
as renewal requests must be submitted directly to the LDE 
by the preparation provider.  

F. The LDE will begin issuing resident teacher 
certificates to candidates completing residencies in BESE-
approved programs with one-year residencies beginning July 
1, 2017. 

G. There shall be no fee charged for the resident teacher 
certificate issuance. 

H. Holders of the resident teacher certificate may serve 
as a substitute teacher in the residency school system for up 
to ten days each semester. Such service shall not impede 
residency performance or ability to successfully complete 
the preparation program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1312 (July 2017), 
amended LR 1377 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 
§537. Introduction 

A. Types of Ancillary Certificates 
1. Ancillary certificates are issued by the LDE for 

individuals who provide teaching, support, administrative, or 
supervisory services to children in pre-kindergarten through 
twelfth grade schools and early learning centers serving 
children from birth to five years old. 

a. See Chapter 7 of this Part regarding ancillary 
certificates issued for individuals who provide support 
services in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade schools 
and early learning centers serving children from birth to five 
years old. 

b. See Chapter 15 of this Part regarding ancillary 
certificates issued for individuals who provide 
administrative and supervisory services in pre-kindergarten 
through twelfth grade schools. 

2. Types of ancillary teaching certificates are as 
follows: 

a. ancillary artist or talented; 
b. early childhood ancillary; 
c. nonpublic Montessori teacher; 
d. family and consumer sciences (occupational 

programs); 
e. Junior Reserve Officers Training Corps (JROTC) 

instructor; 
f. math for professionals; 
g. mentor teacher ancillary; and 
h. content leader ancillary. 

3. Non-Practicing status or operational role status for 
ancillary teaching certificates may be granted in accordance 
with §505 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006), 
amended LR 41:917 (May 2015), LR 45:230 (February 2019), LR 
46:1378 (October 2020), LR 48: 
§541. Early Childhood Ancillary Certificate 

A. The early childhood ancillary certificate authorizes an 
individual to teach in a publicly-funded early learning center 
serving children ages birth to five as defined in R.S 
17:407.33, unless program requirements mandate a 
professional-level certificate. After June 30, 2019, an 
individual shall have, at a minimum, an early childhood 
ancillary certificate to serve as a lead teacher in a publicly-
funded early learning center. 

B. Early Childhood Ancillary Certificates 
1. Eligibility Requirements. An early childhood 

ancillary certificate shall be issued to an applicant who 
submits evidence of one of the following to the LDE: 

a. a baccalaureate degree or higher from a college 
or university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

b. a current child development associate (CDA) 
credential, either infant/toddler, preschool or family 
childcare, awarded by the Council for Professional 
Recognition and a high school diploma or equivalent: 
 i. after July 1, 2018, all 120 clock hours of 
coursework for the CDA must be earned from a BESE-

approved early childhood ancillary certificate program 
provider for initial issuance: 

(a). an individual who has completed 36 or more 
clock hours of coursework for the CDA by July 1, 2018, may 
complete the remaining coursework for the CDA from any 
CDA provider; 

(b). an individual who has not completed 36 or 
more clock hours of coursework for the CDA by July 1, 
2018, must earn all 120 hours of coursework for the CDA 
from a BESE-approved early childhood ancillary certificate 
program provider; 

(c). after July 1, 2018, individuals may submit a 
request to the LDE to waive the requirement that all 120 
hours of coursework for the CDA be obtained from a BESE-
approved early childhood ancillary certificate program if the 
individual is able to demonstrate unavailability of enrollment 
options within a reasonable geographic proximity; 
 ii. after July 1, 2018, applicants who obtained a 
CDA or completed coursework from a provider that is not 
BESE-approved while residing in another state shall submit 
additional documentation of program components for 
approval; 
 iii. coursework counting toward the early 
childhood ancillary certificate shall include at least 10 
training hours in each of the following subject areas: 

(a). planning and implementing a safe and 
healthy learning environment; 

(b). advancing physical and intellectual 
development; 

(c). supporting social and emotional 
development; 

(d). building productive relationships with 
families; 

(e). managing an effective program operation; 
(f). maintaining a commitment to 

professionalism; 
(g). observing and recording child behavior; and 
(h). understanding principles of child 

development and learning; 
c. an associate degree in an early childhood related 

field from a college or university accredited in accordance 
with 34 CFR 602; 

d. a technical diploma or certificate of technical 
studies in an early childhood related field from an accredited 
technical or community college: 
 i. after July 1, 2018, all coursework for technical 
diplomas and certificates of technical studies must be earned 
from a BESE-approved provider; 
 ii. after July 1, 2018, individuals may submit a 
request to the LDE to waive the requirement that coursework 
be obtained from a BESE-approved early childhood 
ancillary certificate program if the individual is able to 
demonstrate unavailability of enrollment options within a 
reasonable geographic proximity; and 

e. a career diploma that has been approved by the 
Louisiana Pathways Career Development System, and in 
which coursework began prior to July 1, 2018. 

2. Renewal Requirements: 
a. For individuals meeting eligibility requirements 

with a CDA, the early childhood ancillary certificate shall be 
valid for a three-year period. The ancillary certificate may be 
renewed by the LDE at the request of the applicant employer 
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with submission of either documentation of a renewed CDA 
credential, awarded by the Council for Professional 
Recognition, or documentation of: 
 i. either a 3 credit-hour course or 45 clock hours 
of approved training or professional development in early 
childhood care and education; and 
 ii. a minimum of 80 hours of work experience 
with young children or families with young children within 
the last three years.  

b. For individuals meeting eligibility requirements 
with a baccalaureate degree or higher, associate degree, 
technical diploma, certificate of technical studies, or career 
diploma, the early childhood ancillary certificate shall be 
valid for a three-year period. The certificate may be renewed 
by the LDE at the request of the applicant’s employer with 
submission of documentation of:  
 i. either a 3 credit-hour course, 45 clock hours of 
training in early childhood care and education or a CDA 
credential earned from a BESE-approved early childhood 
ancillary certificate program and awarded by the council for 
Professional Recognition; and 
 ii. a minimum of 80 hours of work experience 
with young children or families with young children within 
the last three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:407.81. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:917 (May 2015), 
amended LR 43:2135 (November 2017), LR 46:1378 (October 
2020), LR 48: 
§549. Math for Professionals Certificate 

A. An ancillary math for professionals certificate is 
issued to an applicant who has an undergraduate degree from 
a university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 
and/or evidence of a math and/or science work-related 
background. 

B. Math for professionals certificate allows an individual 
to teach one or more mathematics courses. 

C. Eligibility requirements: 
1. meets at least one of the following: 

a. earned 30 credit hours of mathematics;  
b. earned a graduate degree in mathematics, 

engineering, or science content area; or 
c. successful passing of the Praxis Secondary 

Mathematics: Content Knowledge test.  
2. recommendation and support of current employing 

school system. Written request is required from the 
Louisiana employing authority indicating that the person 
will be employed in the area upon issuance of certification; 

3. complete a district developed classroom 
readiness/training program, based on state guidelines. 

D. Renewal requirements. Valid for three years initially 
and may be renewed thereafter for a period of five years at 
the request of an LEA. For renewal of the certificate, a 
candidate must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the initial or 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

E. The holder of such certification is not eligible for 
tenure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:220 (February 2009), 
amended LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 40:281 (February 2014), LR 
44:2000 (November 2018), LR 45:228 (February 2019), LR 
46:1378 (October 2020), LR 48: 
§553. Mentor Teacher (MT) Ancillary Certificate 

A. Beginning September 1, 2020, the mentor teacher 
ancillary certificate will be required for individuals who 
serve as a mentor of undergraduate or post-baccalaureate 
teacher residents.  

B. Provisional MT Certification. Individuals serving as 
mentors who have not successfully completed a BESE-
approved mentor training program or mentor assessments 
will be issued a nonrenewable provisional mentor teacher 
ancillary certificate, valid for one calendar year from the 
date of issuance while the holder completes a BESE-
approved mentor training program or mentor assessments. 

C. Provisional certification eligibility requirements: 
1. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 1 

or higher Louisiana teaching certificate; or 
2. if teaching in a charter school without a valid type C, 

level 1 or higher certificate, have at least two years of 
successful teaching in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902; or 

3. if teaching in a nonpublic school without a valid type 
C, level 1, or higher certificate earn at least two years of 
effective ratings per local personnel evaluations; and  

4. all out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 
and 

5. enroll in a BESE-approved mentor training 
program. 

D. MT Ancillary Certification. Individuals who have 
completed a BESE-approved mentor teacher training 
program and earn a passing score on the Louisiana mentor 
teacher assessment series will be issued a mentor teacher 
ancillary certificate. For teachers holding a valid type C, 
Level 1 or higher Louisiana teaching certificate, see §1369 
of this Part. The LDE will begin issuing mentor teacher 
ancillary certificates no later than July 1, 2019. 

E. MT Ancillary certification eligibility requirements: 
1. if teaching in a charter school without a valid type 

C, level 1 or higher certificate, have at least two years of 
successful teaching in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902; or  

2. if teaching in a nonpublic school without a valid 
type C, level 1, or higher certificate earn at least two years of 
effective ratings per local personnel evaluations; and 

3. all out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA;  

4. successfully complete a BESE-approved mentor 
teacher training program; and 

5. earn a passing score on the Louisiana mentor 
teacher assessment series. 

6. Individuals who successfully complete LDE mentor 
teacher training from November 1, 2017 through July 31, 
2020, are eligible for the mentor teacher ancillary certificate 
after passing the Louisiana mentor teacher assessment series. 

7. Individuals who hold National Board certification 
are eligible for mentor teacher ancillary certification after 
passing the coaching-related components of the Louisiana 
mentor teacher assessment series. 
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8. Individuals who currently hold or are eligible to 
hold National Institute for Excellence in Training (NIET) 
Teacher Evaluator Training Certification may apply for the 
ancillary certificate, which makes the individual eligible to 
serve as a mentor of undergraduate or post-baccalaureate 
teacher residents. 

9. Certified CLASS ® observers may apply for the 
ancillary certificate and upon issuance are eligible to serve 
as mentors of undergraduate or post-baccalaureate residents.  

F. MT Ancillary Certificate Renewal Guidelines. Mentor 
teacher ancillary certificates are valid for five years and may 
be renewed at the request of the employing authority. 

1. Teachers in charter schools who do not hold a level 
1, 2, or 3 certificate must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the five-year 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

2. Teachers in nonpublic schools who do not hold a 
level 1, 2, or 3 certificate must earn effective ratings per 
local personnel evaluations for at least three years during the 
five-year renewal period in order to renew the mentor 
teacher ancillary certificate. 

G. For the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 school years, the 
requirement that all undergraduate residents and post-
baccalaureate candidates be placed with mentor teachers 
holding the ancillary mentor teacher certificate, the ancillary 
provisional mentor teacher certificate, or the Supervisor of 
Student Teaching certificate, is waived with the following 
contingencies:  

1. Mentor teacher waivers will be granted on a case-
by-case basis through the application process established by 
the LDE and at no fee to the applicant, school system, or 
teacher preparation provider;  

2. The waiver will be issued by the LDE for educators 
highly recommended by the mentor’s principal and who 
possess one or more of the following qualifications:  

a. Two years of Highly Effective Compass ratings;  
b. National Board Certification;  
c. Statewide or national distinction for excellence in 

teaching;  
d. Experience as a TAP mentor, master teacher, 

executive master teacher or certified TP evaluator;  
e. Content leader experiences, as evidenced by 

participation in Content Leader training or redelivery of 
professional development; or 

f. Master’s or doctorate in education and exemplary 
experience hosting student teachers.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:230 (February 2019), 
amended LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1379 (October 2020), 
LR 48: 
§555. Content Leader (CL) Ancillary Certificate 

(Optional) 
A. The content leader ancillary certificate is an optional 

certificate that districts may require. The LDE will begin 
issuing content leader ancillary certificates to candidates no 
later than July 1, 2019. 

B. CL Ancillary Certificate eligibility requirements: 
1. if teaching in a charter school without a valid type 

C, level 1 or higher certificate, have at least two years of 

successful teaching in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902; or 

2. if teaching in a nonpublic school without a valid 
type C, level 1, or higher certificate, earn at least two years 
of effective ratings per local personnel evaluations; and 

3. all out-of-state experience must be verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 

4. successfully complete a BESE-approved content 
leader training program; and 

5. have a passing score on the Louisiana content 
leader assessment series (see §303 of this Part). 

C. Individuals who have successfully completed LDE 
content leader training from November 1, 2017 through July 
31, 2020, in accordance with Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, 
are eligible for content leader ancillary certification. 

D. Renewal Guidelines. The content leader ancillary 
certificate is valid for a period of five years and may be 
renewed at the request of the employing authority. 

1. Teachers in charter schools who do not hold a level 
1, 2, or 3 certificate must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the five-year 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

2. Teachers in nonpublic schools who do not hold a 
level 1, 2, or 3 certificate must earn effective ratings per 
local personnel evaluations for at least three years during the 
five-year renewal period in order to renew the mentor 
teacher ancillary certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:231 (February 2019), 
amended LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 48: 
Subchapter D.  Special Considerations for Teachers 

Called to Active Military Duty 
§557. Introduction 

A. A teacher employed on a Louisiana certificate of any 
type who is called to active military duty will not be 
penalized for the time spent in active service. The educator 
must present copies of official documents indicating 
beginning and ending dates of active military duty when 
applying for renewal or extension of the certificate. 

B. For the period of military service: 
1. non-practicing status may be requested by the 

educator for the time in active service; and 
2. additional time commensurate with the amount of 

time spent in active duty will be added to the validity period 
on the temporary or regular certificate, for the school year(s) 
or portion thereof spent in active military service. 

C. Upon completion of the validity period, the renewal 
guidelines for temporary and/or regular certificates are 
effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1806 (October 2006), 
amended LR 48: 
Chapter 7. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
§701. Introduction 

A. An individual must have an official license or 
certificate from the state to provide services to children in a 
Louisiana school setting. An ancillary certificate allows a 
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qualified person who is not a certified teacher to provide 
such services. The holder of an ancillary certificate is 
authorized to perform only those services that are 
specifically stated on the certificate in Louisiana school 
systems. 

B. Non-Practicing Status for all Ancillary Teaching 
Certificates or Operational Role Status for Ancillary 
Teaching Certificates may be issued by the LDE in 
accordance with §505.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:432 (March 2008), LR 48: 
Subchapter A. General Ancillary School Certificates 
§703. Child Nutrition Program Supervisor 

A. For certificates issued July 1, 2020 and beyond, 
minimum eligibility requirements: 

1. LEAs with a student enrollment of 2,499 or less: 
a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 

either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment; and 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and either a state-recognized certificate for 
school nutrition directors or at least one year of relevant 
food service experience; or 
 iii. an associate’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field, and at least one year of relevant 
school nutrition program experience; or 
 iv. a high school diploma or state-issued high 
school equivalency credential and three years of relevant 
food service experience; 

2. LEAs with a student enrollment of 2,500 - 9,999: 
a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 

either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment; and 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and a state-recognized certificate for school 
nutrition directors; or 
 iii. a bachelor’s degree in any academic major and 
at least two years of relevant school nutrition program 
experience; or 
 iv. an associate’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with an academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 

and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field, and at least two years of relevant 
school nutrition program experience; 

3. for Child Nutrition Program supervisors in LEAs 
with a student enrollment of 10,000 or more: 

a. at least 8 hours of food safety training is required 
either not more than five years prior to the date of 
employment or completed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of employment and: 
 i. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with academic major or concentration in food 
and nutrition, food service management, dietetics, family 
and consumer sciences, nutrition education, culinary arts, 
business, or a related field; or 
 ii. a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent educational 
experience, with any academic major or area of 
concentration, and a state-recognized certificate for school 
nutrition directors; or 
 iii. a bachelor’s degree in any major and at least 
five years of experience in management of school nutrition 
programs. 

B. Renewal Guidelines. Valid for one year and 
renewable each year thereafter upon presentation of 
completion of twelve hours of annual continuing 
education/training. The annual training must include, but is 
not limited to, administrative practices including training in 
school meal application, certification and verification, and 
meal counting and claiming procedures, as applicable, and 
any other specific topics, as needed, to address program 
integrity or other critical issues. Continuing 
education/training required under this paragraph is in 
addition to the food safety training required in the first year 
of employment under §703 of this Part. 

C. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate. If a certificate 
holder allows a period of one calendar year to elapse where 
not employed as a child nutrition program supervisor, the 
applicant must verify evidence of having met the hiring 
standards under §703 of this Part. 

D. Provisional Certificate. A provisional certificate may 
be issued to an individual employed as an acting child 
nutrition program supervisor. 

1. Eligibility Requirements. For provisional 
certificates issued September 1, 2021 and beyond, the 
minimum requirements include: 

a. High school diploma (or equivalent);  
b. 2 years of relevant school nutrition programs 

experience; and 
c. at least 8 hours of food safety training either not 

more than five years prior to the date of employment or 
completed within 30 calendar days of the date of 
employment. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. Valid for one year initially and 
renewable each year thereafter upon presentation of 12 hours 
of annual food service continuing education/training. A 
provisional certificate may be issued for a maximum of five 
years.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:280 (February 2007), LR 34:432 (March 2008), 
LR 46:1379 (October 2020), LR 48: 
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§705. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 
A. Eligibility Requirements Prior to June, 30, 2017. For 

candidates who completed all courses and degree 
requirements by June 30, 2017, the endorsement add-on 
requirements include: 

1. graduate degree in school counseling from an 
institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 or a 
graduate degree with the equivalent hours and courses 
required for a graduate degree in school counseling; and 

2. graduate training that includes 24 semester hours of 
professional courses distributed so that at least one course 
will be taken in each of the following basic areas: 

a. principles and administration of school 
counseling programs; 

b. career and lifestyle development;  
c. individual appraisal;  
d. counseling theory and practice; 
e. group processes; 
f. human growth and development;  
g. social and cultural foundations in counseling; and 
h. supervised practicum in a school setting. 

B. Eligibility requirements after June 30, 2017: 
1. completion of a standards-based graduate degree 

program in counseling from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 and approved by 
the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Educational Program (CACREP), and candidates completing 
counseling programs not in the specialty area of school 
counseling must complete six credit hours of school 
counseling courses from a CACREP-accredited program; 

2. practicum/internship requirements: 
a. complete a practicum in counseling from a 

CACREP-accredited program to include 100 contact hours; 
and 

b. complete an internship in counseling from a 
CACREP-accredited program to include 600 contact hours 
in a school setting; and 

3. pass the PRAXIS examination in school guidance 
and counseling (0421 or 5421). 

C. Renewal Requirements. Certification is issued for a 
period of five years. For purposes of maintaining a valid 
counseling certificate, any school counselor receiving initial 
or renewal certification after July 1, 2013, must successfully 
meet the standards of effectiveness for at least three years 
during the five-year validity period in accordance with 
Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-391.10, 
and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:1400 (June, 2012), LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 
45:1055 (August 2019), LR 48: 
§711. School Librarian 

A. School Librarian eligibility requirements: 
1. master's degree in library science from an 

institution accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 
2. passing score on Praxis Library Media Specialist 

examination. 
B. Renewal requirements: 

1. candidates must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the five-year 
period of validity pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902;  

2. the Louisiana employing authority must request 
renewal of an ancillary school librarian certificate; and 

3. valid for five years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
repromulgated LR 33:1617 (August 2007), amended LR 36:489 
(March 2010), LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 46:1380 (October 
2020), LR 48: 
§715. School Nurse 

A. Type C School Nurse—valid for three years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. minimum of two years of experience as a 
registered nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
three year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

B. Type B School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. three years of experience as a type C school 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed for a five 
year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

C. Type A School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; 

b. baccalaureate degree in nursing or a health-
related field from a college or university accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602; and 

c. five years of experience as a certified type B 
school nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed for a five 
year period, except for those with a current certificate that is 
valid for life of continuous service. upon presentation of a 
copy of current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse and upon request of Louisiana employing 
authority.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:1998 (September 2010), LR 37:883 (March 2011), 
LR 38:44 (January 2012), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 
46:1380 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter B. School Therapists 
§725. Overview 

A. School Art Therapist—Valid as long as holder 
remains in the same school system. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. verify successful completion of accredited art 

therapy degree program, and current registration or 
membership in the American Art Therapy Association; and 

b. meet requirements of the educational program: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 257

 i. three semester hours, Introduction to Education 
of Exceptional Children; and 
 ii. three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; and 

c. 50 percent of preclinical experience must have 
been directed toward a population aged zero through 21 
years, in both institutional and school settings. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The LEA must request 
renewal with any change of employment to another school 
system.  

B. Dance Therapist—valid as long as holder remains in 
same school system. 

1. Graduate Level 
a. Eligibility requirements:  

 i. graduate degree in dance therapy;  
 ii. requirements of the educational program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; 
 iii. current registration or membership in the 
American Dance Therapy Association. 

b. Renewal Guidelines: The Louisiana employing 
authority must request a renewal with any change of 
employment to another school system.  

2. Bachelor's Level 
a. Eligibility requirements:  

 i. bachelor's degree in dance therapy; 
 ii. requirements of the educational program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children;  
 iii. practicum for two semesters in both a clinical 
and a school setting with fifty percent of the practicum 
involving work with a population aged zero through 21 
years; and 
 iv. current registration or membership the 
American Dance Therapy Association. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. The LEA must request 
renewal with any change of employment to another school 
system.  

C. Music Therapist—valid as long as holder remains in 
same school system. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. evidence of successful completion of an 

accredited music therapy degree program, and registration 
by the National Association of Music Therapy, Inc.; 

b. meet the course requirements of the music 
therapy component of the degree program to include: 

i. three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; 

ii. three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; and 

iii. recreational music; and 
iv. school music; and 

c. 50 percent of pre-clinical and clinical experiences 
should be directed toward a population aged zero through 21 
years, in both institutional and school settings. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The LEA must request 
renewal with any change of employment to another school 
system.  

D. Occupational Therapy 
1. Certified Licensed Occupational Therapist Assistant 

(COTA)―valid for five years; renewable. 
a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid COTA license 

to practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Board of 
Medical Examiners; and 

b. must work under the supervision of a Licensed 
Occupational Therapist. 

c. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present 
copy of current licensure, and renewal request submitted by 
the LEA. 

2. Occupational Therapist Provisional Certification—
valid for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Louisiana 
State Board of Medical Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines—nonrenewable. 
3. Occupational Therapist Full Certificate—valid for 

five years; renewable. 
a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid license to 

practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Board of 
Medical Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present 
copy of current licensure, and renewal request submitted by 
the LEA. 

E. Physical Therapy 
1. Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)⎯valid for five 

years. 
a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid PTA license to 

assist in the practice of physical therapy in compliance with 
R.S. 37:2401-2424, as administered by the Louisiana State 
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. A PTA must work under the supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist. 

c. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present a 
copy of current licensure, and renewal request submitted by 
the LEA. 

2. Physical Therapist Provisional Certification—valid 
for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice physical therapy in compliance with R.S. 37:2401-
2424, as administered by the Louisiana State Board of 
Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines—nonrenewable. 
3. Physical Therapist Full Certificate―valid for five 

years. 
a. Eligibility Requirements: a valid Louisiana 

license to practice physical therapy in compliance with R.S. 
37:2401-2424, as administered by the Louisiana State Board 
of Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines: Applicant must present a 
copy of current licensure, and renewal request submitted by 
the LEA. 

F. Certified Behavior Analyst  
1. Assistant Behavior Analyst (BCaBA) 

a. Eligibility requirements: 
 i. bachelor’s degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
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 ii. current assistant level certification issued by 
the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) or other 
nationally credentialing bodies as approved by the BACB; 
 iii. the word assistant designates that direct 
supervision by a BCBA is required; and 
 iv. a written request from the Louisiana employing 
authority indicating that the person will be employed upon 
certification issuance. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. This certificate is valid 
provided the holder maintains current level certification 
issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) 
or other nationally credentialing bodies as approved by the 
BACB. A worker who changes employing school systems 
must provide a copy of current certification issued by BACB 
to serve as a behavior analyst. 

2. Behavior Analyst (BCBA)  
a. Eligibility requirements: 

 i. graduate degree from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
 ii. current behavior analyst certification issued by 
the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) or other 
nationally credentialing bodies as approved by the BACB; 
and 
 iii. a written request from the LEA indicating that 
the person will be employed upon certification issuance. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. This certificate is valid 
provided the holder maintains current level certification 
issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) 
or other nationally credentialing bodies as approved by the 
BACB. A worker who changes employing school systems 
must provide a copy of current certification issued by BACB 
to serve as a behavior analyst.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1811 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:433 (March 2008), LR 37:884 (March 2011), LR 
37:2135 (July 2011), LR 46:1380 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Chapter 11. Standards for Secondary Career and 

Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Personnel 

§1101. Introduction 
A. Career and technical trade and industrial education 

(CTTIE) certificates authorize full-time or part-time 
employment for instructors of courses aligned to an area of 
expertise. The applicant being certified under the 
requirements found in this Part may teach CTTIE courses as 
listed on the LDE Teach Louisiana website 
(http://www.teachlouisiana.net). 

B. Non-Practicing Status or Operational Role Status for 
CTTIE Certificates shall be in accordance with §505 of this 
Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1812 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 40:1329 (July 2014), 
LR 46:1380 (October 2020), LR 48: 

§1103. Career and Technical Certificate Types Issued 
Prior to July 1, 2006 

A. Vocational Technical Industrial Education (VTIE) 
Certificates—Issued prior to July 1, 2004 

1. Vocational Temporary (VT)—valid for one year; 
renewable annually while holder completes required 
coursework. 

2. Vocational Permanent (VP)—lifetime certificate for 
continuous service. 

B. Career and Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
(CTTIE) Certificates—issued between July 1, 2004, and 
June 30, 2006. 

1. CTTIE Temporary Certificate (CT)—valid for one 
year; renewable annually while holder completes required 
coursework. 

2. CTTIE Permanent Certificate (CP)—lifetime 
certificate for continuous service.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1812 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 48: 
§1105. Career and Technical Certificate Types  

A. CTTIE-Provisional—a one-year, non-renewable 
certificate issued while instructor completes requirements 
for CTTIE-1. 

B. CTTIE-1 Certificate—an entry-level industry-based 
teaching certificate, valid for three years initially and may be 
extended for a period of one year at the request of the LEA. 
CTTIE-1 certificates are limited to two such extensions. 
CTTIE teachers must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S.17:3902 to 
advance to CTTIE-2.  

C. CTTIE-2 Certificate—valid for five years initially and 
may be renewed thereafter for a period of five years at the 
request of the employing LEA.  

1. For renewal of the CTTIE-2 certificate, candidates 
must successfully meet the standards of effectiveness for at 
least three years during the five-year initial or renewal 
period pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2752 (December 
2009), amended LR 38:3137 (December 2012), LR 40:1330 (July 
2014), LR 48: 
§1107. CTTIE Certificate Eligibility Requirements  

A. CTTIE certificates are issued to instructors who teach 
courses listed on the Teach Louisiana website aligned to the 
area of expertise. 

B. CTTIE Provisional Eligibility Requirements 
1. Applicants shall hold a high school diploma, or 

have passed an equivalency test approved by the LDE. 
2. Applicants shall have a minimum of four years of 

full time work experience or 7,680 hours of experience 
aligned to the CIP (Classification of Instructional Programs) 
area in the selected career and technical field, of which at
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least one year of full time work experience or 1,920 hours of 
experience must have been acquired within the five calendar 
years immediately prior to certification: 

a. Technical Diploma or Associate degree, or out-
of-state equivalent, registered apprenticeship, or LWC 
approved training provider aligned to work experience and 
CIP area will be given credit for two years or 3,840 hours of 
occupational experience if the training is in the field for 
which the applicant is applying;  

b. Graduates with a bachelor's degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given 
credit for two years or 3,840 hours of experience; 

c. Graduates with an advanced degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given 
credit for three years or 5,760 hours of occupational 
experience; 

d. Graduates with a technical degree in the selected 
field and a bachelor's degree aligned to work experience and 
CIP area from a college or university accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given credit for three 
years or 5,760 hours of occupational experience; 

e. Graduates with a bachelor's degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 and an industry 
based certification (IBC) in the selected field will be given 
credit for three years or 5,760 hours of occupational 
experience; 

f. Applicants holding current approved industry-
based certification, aligned to work experience and CIP area 
will be given credit for two years or 3,840 hours of work 
experience. An industry-based certification may not be 
combined with educational attainment to qualify for a 
waiver from all required work experience. 

g. Applicants with an earned baccalaureate degree, 
and who hold an industry-based certification (IBC) in the 
selected instructional field aligned to work experience and 
CIP area may also apply years of teaching experience in that 
field toward the required work experience. 

h. Applicants with prior teaching experience at a 
postsecondary institution, registered apprenticeship, or LWC 
approved training provider in the selected instructional field 
may apply those years of teaching at a postsecondary 
institution toward the required work experience. All out-of-
state experience must be verified as successful by the out-of-
state employing authority or SEA. 

3. In addition to CTTIE certification, a current license 
must be held when a state or national license is required in 
the workplace. A state or national license will be recognized 
as an industry-based certification.  

a. Instructors providing content aligned to an 
industry-based certification must carry the IBC in which 
instruction will occur. 

b. If a certifying agency requires specialized 
certification to instruct content, the instructor must carry the 
required certification. 

C. CTTIE-1 Eligibility Requirements 
1. Applicants shall hold a high school diploma, or 

have passed an equivalency test approved by the LDE.  
2. Applicants shall have a minimum of four years of 

full time work experience or 7,680 hours of experience 

aligned to the CIP area in the selected career and technical 
field, of which at least one year of full time work experience 
or 1,920 hours must have been acquired within the five 
calendar years immediately prior to certification: 

a. Technical Diploma or Associate degree, or out-
of-state equivalent, registered apprenticeship, or LWC 
approved training provider aligned to work experience and 
CIP area will be given credit for two years or 3,840 hours of 
occupational experience if the training is in the field for 
which the applicant is applying; 

b. graduates with a baccalaureate degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given 
credit for two years or 3,840 hours of experience; 

c. graduates with an advanced degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given 
credit for three years or 5,760 hours of occupational 
experience; 

d. graduates with a technical degree in the selected 
field and a baccalaureate degree aligned to work experience 
and CIP area from a college or university accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602 will be given credit for three 
years or 5,760 hours of occupational experience; 

e. graduates with a baccalaureate degree aligned to 
work experience and CIP area from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 and an industry 
based certification (IBC) in the selected field, will be given 
credit for three years or 5,760 hours of occupational 
experience; 

f. applicants holding current approved industry-
based certification aligned to work experience and CIP area 
will be given credit for two years or 3,840 hours of work 
experience, but an industry-based certification may not be 
combined with educational attainment to qualify for a 
waiver from all required work experience; 

g.  applicants with a baccalaureate degree and who 
hold an industry-based certification (IBC) in the selected 
instructional field aligned to work experience and CIP area 
may also apply years of teaching experience in that field 
toward the required work experience; 

h. applicants with prior teaching experience at a 
postsecondary institution, registered apprenticeship, or LWC 
approved training provider in the selected instructional field 
may apply the years of teaching at a postsecondary 
institution toward the required work experience with all out-
of-state experience verified as successful by the out-of-state 
employing authority or SEA. 

3. In addition to CTTIE certification, a current license 
must be held when a state or national license is required in 
the workplace. A state or national license will be recognized 
as an industry-based certification. 

a. Instructors who will be providing content aligned 
to an industry-based certification must carry the IBC in 
which instruction will occur. 

b. If a certifying agency requires specialized 
certification to instruct content, the instructor must carry that 
certification. 

4. Applicants shall complete a new instructor 
workshop prior to issuance of CTTIE-1. The LDE shall 
make available a list of new instructor course providers. 
Applicants with at least three years of effective K-12 
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teaching experience as defined by Bulletin 130 or three years 
of post-secondary teaching experience are not subject to the 
New Instructor Workshop completion requirement. 

D. CTTIE-2 Eligibility Requirements 
1. Eligibility Requirements:  

a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a 
CTTIE-1; 

b. successfully meet the standards of effectiveness 
for at least three years during the five-year renewal period 
pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902 with all out-of-
state experience verified as successful by the out-of-state 
employing authority or SEA; and 

c. accrue three years of teaching experience in an 
approved educational setting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 40:1330 (July 2014), LR 
45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1381 (October 2020), LR 48: 
§1109. CTTIE Areas of Specialization 

A. Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation 
Program (NATP/NATCEP)/ Certified Nursing Assistant 
(CNA) Eligibility Requirements: 

1. Applicant shall be a professional nursing program 
graduate with current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
nurse (RN) or licensed practical nurse (LPN).  

2. All instructors shall have one of the following: 
CTTIE,VTIE, master’s degree or above, or a CNA train the 
trainer certificate and meet nurse aide training and 
competency evaluation program (NATP/NATCEP) 
regulations, as mandated by the Louisiana Department of 
Health (LDH), Health Standards Section. 

3. LPNs may serve as a certified nursing 
assistant/NATP instructor under the direct supervision of an 
RN. LPNs, under the general supervision of the primary 
instructor, may provide classroom and skills training 
instruction and supervision with two years of experience in 
provision of long term care services.  

B. Certified Nursing Assistant, Program Coordinator 
Eligibility Requirements. The program coordinator shall 
have the following experience and qualifications: 

1. current Louisiana licensure as a registered nurse 
(RN); 

2. a minimum of two years of nursing experience, of 
which at least one year must be in the provision of long term 
care facility services such as a nursing home or skilled 
nursing facility;  

3. completion of VTIE, CTTIE, CNA train-the-trainer 
program or a graduate degree; and 

4. meet requirements mandated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health (LDH), Health Standards Section; 

C. Emergency Medical Technician 
1. An emergency medical technician (EMT) instructor 

must be approved by the Bureau of EMS. 
D. Sports Medicine Eligibility Requirements 

1. Sports medicine instructors shall have at least a 
Bachelor of Science degree and have a valid current state 
and/or national certification as an athletic trainer and meet 
all CTTIE requirements. 

2. Applicants pursuing a graduate degree in athletic 
training who are working as an athletic trainer graduate 
assistant at a university accredited in accordance with 34 
CFR 602 may count the work experience hours toward 
meeting the required work hours for the CTTIE application. 
CTTIE application must include a letter from the director of 
athletics at the university with the actual number of hours 
worked and assigned duties. 

E. Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) Louisiana Job 
Specialist eligibility requirements: 

1. a bachelor's degree from a state-approved college or 
university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, plus 
two years of full-time work experience, or 3,840 hours of 
work experience within four years of date of application; or 

2. a valid standard Louisiana teaching or school 
counselor certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2752 (December 2009), LR 36:2843 (December 
2010), LR 38:2366 (September 2012), LR 40:1331 (July 2014), LR 
46:1381 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Chapter 13. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§1325. Requirements to add Deaf or Hard of Hearing 

K-12 
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

for PK-K or PK-3, elementary certificate for grade levels 1-
4, 1-5, 1-6, or 1-8, upper elementary or middle school 
certificate for grade levels 4-8, 5-8, or 6-8, secondary 
certificate for grade levels 6-12, 7-12, or 9-12, special 
education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate in art, 
dance, foreign language, health, physical education, health 
and physical education, or music must earn the following: 

1. 21 semester credit hours that pertain to children 
who are deaf or hard of hearing: 

2. introduction to special education; 
3. physiological, psychosocial, historical, sociological, 

and cultural aspects of deafness; 
4. language development that includes linguistic 

principles and assessment strategies in language acquisitions 
for deaf and hard of hearing; 

5. speech and speech reading; 
6. educational audiology, auditory assistive devices 

and technology; 
7. instructional strategies and curriculum development 

for deaf and hard of hearing students; and 
8. communication methodology; and 
9. three semester hours of internship of students who 

are deaf or hard of hearing or three years of successful 
teaching experience of students who are deaf or hard of 
hearing with all out-of-state experience verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 

10. Proficiency in signed, cued, or oral communication 
evidenced by one or more of the following means: 

a. signed: 
 i. Intermediate on the Educational Sign Skills 
Evaluation: Teacher (ESSE:T); 
 ii. Advanced on the Signed Communication 
Proficiency Interview (SCPI); or 
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 iii. Level III of the Educational Interpreter 
Performance Assessment; 

b. cued—mini-proficiency, as measured on the 
Basic Cued Speech Proficiency Rating Test (BCSPR c1983, 
Beaupre); or 

c. oral—successfully passing an additional course 
in Methods in Oral/Auditory Education; and 

11. Passing score for Praxis exams—Special 
Education: Core Content Knowledge and Applications and 
Special Education: Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:552 (February 2011), LR 40:281 (February 2014), 
LR 45:1460 (October 2019), LR 46:1382 (October 2020), LR 48: 
§1327. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8), 

and (6-12)—Mandatory 7/1/2010 
A. Mild/Moderate: 1-5—Individuals holding a valid 

early childhood certificate in PK-K or PK-3, elementary 
certificate in grade levels 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, or 1-8, or Early 
Interventionist certificate must earn the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities. Three semester hours in a course designed for 
teachers to learn to select, adapt, and use instructional 
interventions and behavioral strategies with students in a 
variety of settings to apply knowledge and skills in a 45-
hour field-based experience using theoretical approaches, 
screening/ identification, educational placement 
considerations, and assessment and evaluation; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology. Three 
semester hours of instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use for development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure, addressing 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Behavior Support and Intervention. Three 
semester hours to address the knowledge, skills and 
dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively and 
systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

d. Collaborative Teaming. Three semester hours that 
focuses on developing effective partnerships with parents, 
family members, general educators, and related service 
providers; 

e. Instructional Practices in Special Education. 
Three semester hours that provides teachers with the ability 
to select and utilize appropriate instructional strategies, 
assistive technologies, and instructional materials to address 
the strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 1-5; and 

f. Reading and Literacy. Three semester hours 
regarding all aspects of state reading competencies at the 
elementary level, to include literacy intervention for students 
with disabilities; 

2. Passing score for Praxis exams—Special 
Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications.  

B. Mild/Moderate: 1-5. Individuals holding a valid upper 
elementary or middle school certificate grade levels 4-8, 5-8, 
or 6-8, secondary certificate grade levels 6-12, 7-12, or 9-12, 
all-level special education certificate in significant 
disabilities, visually impaired, or deaf or hard of hearing, or 
an all-level K-12 certificate in art, dance, foreign language, 
health, physical education, health and physical education, or 
music must earn the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities. Three semester hours in a course is designed for 
teachers to learn to select, adapt, and use instructional 
interventions and behavioral strategies with students in a 
variety of settings and to apply knowledge and skills in a 45-
hour field-based experience using theoretical approaches, 
screening and identification, educational placement 
considerations, and assessment and evaluation; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology. Three 
semester hours of instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use, development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure, the use of 
technology for UDL (Universal Design for Learning), and 
how UDL can be used to meet the needs of all students with 
language development issues; 

c. Behavior Support and Intervention. Three 
semester hours regarding the knowledge, skills, and 
dispositions necessary to proactively and systematically 
address student needs that underlie the presence of problem 
behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

d. Collaborative Teaming. Three semester hours that 
focuses on developing effective partnerships with parents, 
family members, general educators, and related service 
providers; 

e. Instructional Practices in Special Education. 
Three semester hours that provide teachers with the ability to 
select and utilize appropriate instructional strategies, 
assistive technologies, and instructional materials to address 
the strengths and needs of diverse learners in grade levels 1-
5; and 

f. Reading and Literacy. Three semester hours 
regarding all aspects of state reading competencies at the 
elementary level, to include literacy intervention for students 
with disabilities; and 

2. passing score for Praxis exams—Special Education: 
Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications (0543 
or 5543), Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): K-6, 
and Elementary Education: Content Knowledge Exam (0014 
or 5014) prior to 9/1/15; effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 pass 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) or 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001); mandatory 
9/1/17 pass Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001). 

C. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate in 
PK-K or PK-3, elementary certificate in grade levels 1-4, 1-
5, 1-6, or 1-8, or early interventionist certificate must earn 
the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 
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a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities. Three semester hours in a course designed for 
teachers to learn to select, adapt, and use instructional 
interventions and behavioral strategies with students in a 
variety of settings, and to apply knowledge and skills in a 
45-hour field-based experience using theoretical approaches, 
screening and identification, educational placement 
considerations, and assessment and evaluation; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology. Three 
semester hours in instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use, development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure, and the use 
of technology regarding UDL (Universal Design for 
Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs of all 
students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition. Three 
semester hours in self-determination and development, 
implementation and evaluation of self-management 
instructional programs for students with an emphasis on 
using self-management and learning strategies to facilitate 
self-determination and provides an understanding of the 
special education transition process as specified by federal 
and state guidelines with the focus on the design and 
implementation of transition planning that meets student 
physical, affective, cognitive, and communicative needs 
across the contexts of school, community, family life, career 
and vocation, and recreation/leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention. Three 
semester hours of the knowledge, skills, and dispositions 
necessary for teachers to proactively and systematically 
address student needs that underlie the presence of problem 
behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

e. Collaborative Teaming. Three semester hours that 
focus on developing effective partnerships with parents, 
family members, general educators, and related service 
providers; and 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education. 
Three semester hours to provide teachers with the ability to 
select and utilize appropriate instructional strategies, 
assistive technologies, and instructional materials to address 
strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 6-12 with 
concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; and 

2. Passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8) 

 i. Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild 
to Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543);  
 ii. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 5-
9; and 
 iii. Middle School Content Exam(s) 

b. Mild/Moderate (6-12) 
 i. Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild 
to Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543); 
 ii. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 7-
12; and  
 iii. Secondary Core Content Exam(s). 

D. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or middle 
school certificate in grade levels 4-8, 5-8, or 6-8 must earn 
the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities. Three semester hours in a course is designed to 
learn to select, adapt, and use instructional interventions and 
behavioral strategies with students in a variety of settings 
and to apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience using theoretical approaches, screening and 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology. Three 
semester hours of instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use regarding development 
of instructional materials and incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure to address 
the use of technology for UDL (Universal Design for 
Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs of all 
students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition. Three 
semester hours regarding self-determination and 
development, implementation, and evaluation of self-
management instructional programs for students with an 
emphasis on using self-management and learning strategies 
to facilitate self-determination that provides the teacher with 
an understanding of the Special Education transition process 
as specified by federal and state guidelines and the focus on 
the design and implementation of transition planning that 
meets student physical, affective, cognitive, and 
communicative needs across the contexts of school, 
community, family life, career and vocation, and recreation 
and leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention. Three 
semester hours to address the knowledge, skills, and 
dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively and 
systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

e. Collaborative Teaming. Three semester hours to 
focus on developing effective partnerships with parents, 
family members, general educators, and related service 
providers; and 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education. 
Three semester hours to provide teachers with the ability to 
select and utilize appropriate instructional strategies, 
assistive technologies, and instructional materials to address 
strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 6-12 with 
concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; and 

2. Passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8)—Special Education: Core 

Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications (0543 or 
5543); and/or 

b. Mild/Moderate (6-12): 
 i. Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild 
to Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543); 
 ii. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 7-
12; and  
 iii. Secondary Core Content Exam(s). 

E. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate in grade 
levels 6-12, 7-12, or 9-12, all-level special education 
certificate for significant disabilities, visually impaired, or 
deaf or hard of hearing), or an all-level K-12 certificate in 
art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, or music must earn the 
following: 
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1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities. Three semester hours in a course is designed to 
learn to select, adapt, and use instructional interventions and 
behavioral strategies with students in a variety of settings 
and to apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience using theoretical approaches, screening and 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology. Three 
semester hours of instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use regarding development 
of instructional materials and incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure to address 
the use of technology for UDL (Universal Design for 
Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs of all 
students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition. Three 
semester hours regarding self-determination and 
development, implementation, and evaluation of self-
management instructional programs for students with an 
emphasis on using self-management and learning strategies 
to facilitate self-determination that provides the teacher with 
an understanding of the Special Education transition process 
as specified by federal and state guidelines and the focus on 
the design and implementation of transition planning that 
meets student physical, affective, cognitive, and 
communicative needs across the contexts of school, 
community, family life, career and vocation, and recreation 
and leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention. Three 
semester hours to address the knowledge, skills, and 
dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively and 
systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

e. Collaborative Teaming. Three semester hours to 
focus on developing effective partnerships with parents, 
family members, general educators, and related service 
providers; and 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education. 
Three semester hours to provide teachers with the ability to 
select and utilize appropriate instructional strategies, 
assistive technologies, and instructional materials to address 
strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 6-12 with 
concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; and 

2. Passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8): 

 i. Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild 
to Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543); and 
 ii. Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): 5-
9; and  
 iii. Middle School Content Exam(s); or 

b. Mild/Moderate (6-12)--Special Education: Core 
Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications (0543 or 
5543) and Secondary Content Exam(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
amended LR 37:553 (February 2011), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), LR 

41:648 (April 2015), LR 41:1271 (July 2015), amended LR 
46:1382 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 
§1333. Introduction 

A. Information on endorsements for administrative and 
supervisory areas can be found in Chapter 15 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006), 
amended LR 48: 
§1347. Computer Literacy 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid OS, Level 1 or higher teaching certificate; and 
2. nine semester hours of coursework in educational 

technology or computer science. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006), 
amended LR 48: 
§1349. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 

A. Individuals who completed all courses and degree 
requirements by June 30, 2017, will have the endorsement 
added to certificates based upon graduate training that 
included 24 semester hours of professional courses 
distributed so that at least one course will be taken in each of 
the basic areas listed below: 

1. Principles and Administration of School Counseling 
Programs; 

2. Career and Lifestyle Development;  
3. Individual Appraisal;  
4. Counseling Theory and Practice; 
5. Group Processes; 
6. Human Growth and Development;  
7. Social and Cultural Foundations in Counseling; and 
8. Supervised Practicum in a School Setting, or three 

years of successful experience as a school counselor.  
B. Eligibility requirements after June 30, 2017: 

1. valid Louisiana teaching certificate; 
2. completion of a standards-based graduate degree 

program in counseling from a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 approved by the 
Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Educational Program (CACREP) or candidates who 
completed counseling programs other than the specialty area 
of school counseling must complete six credit hours of 
school counseling courses from a CACREP-accredited 
program; 

3. practicum/internship requirements: 
a. complete a practicum in counseling from a 

CACREP-accredited program to include 100 contacts hours; 
or 

b. complete an internship in counseling from a 
CACREP-accredited program to include 600 contact hours 
in a school setting; and 

4. completion of the Praxis examination in school 
guidance and counseling (0421 or 5421). 

C. Renewal Requirements. For purposes of maintaining 
a valid counselor endorsement, any school counselor 
receiving certification after July 1, 2013, is required to
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successfully meet the standards of effectiveness for at least 
three years during the five-year renewal period in 
accordance with Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:1618 (August 2007), LR 38:1401 (June, 2012), LR 
39:1465 (June 2013), LR 45:1056 (August 2019), LR 48: 
§1369. Mentor Teacher 

A. A certification to serve as a mentor of undergraduate 
or post-baccalaureate teacher residents may be added to a 
standard teaching certificate for teachers meeting the 
eligibility requirements. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 1, 

or higher Louisiana teaching certificate; 
2. successfully complete a BESE-approved mentor 

teacher training program; and 
3. earn a passing score on the Louisiana mentor 

teacher assessment series. 
C. Individuals who successfully complete LDE mentor 

teacher training from November 1, 2017 through July 31, 
2020, are eligible for the mentor teacher add-on endorsement 
after passing the Louisiana mentor teacher assessment series. 

D. Individuals who hold National Board certification are 
eligible for mentor teacher add-on endorsement after passing 
the coaching-related components of the Louisiana mentor 
teacher assessment series. 

E. Individuals who hold or are eligible to hold a 
Louisiana Administrative or Supervisory Credential as listed 
in Chapter 15 of this Part may apply for the Mentor Teacher 
add-on endorsement, and allows the eligible individual to 
serve as a mentor of undergraduate or post-baccalaureate 
teacher residents without meeting the eligibility 
requirements for a mentor teacher endorsement outlined in 
§1369 of this Part. 

F. Individuals who currently hold or are eligible to hold 
National Institute for Excellence in Training (NIET) Teacher 
Evaluator Training Certification may apply for the Mentor 
Teacher add-on endorsement, and allows the individual 
eligible to serve as a mentor of undergraduate or post-
baccalaureate teacher residents without meeting the 
eligibility requirements for a mentor teacher endorsement 
outlined in §1369 of this Part. 

G. Certified CLASS® observers may apply for the 
Mentor Teacher add-on endorsement, which allow the 
individual eligible to serve as a mentor of undergraduate or 
post-baccalaureate teacher residents without meeting the 
eligibility requirements for a mentor teacher endorsement 
outlined in §1369 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 48: 
§1371. Content Leader 

A. The content leader endorsement is an optional 
endorsement that districts may require. 

B. Eligibility requirements for the content leader 
endorsement: 

1. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 1, 
or higher Louisiana teaching certificate with all out-of-state 
experience verified as successful by the out-of-state 
employing authority or SEA. 

2. successfully complete a BESE-approved content 
leader training program; and 

3. earn a passing score on the Louisiana content leader 
assessment series in §303 of this Part). 

C. Individuals who have successfully completed LDE 
content leader training from November 1, 2017 through July 
31, 2020, in accordance with Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, 
are eligible for content leader ancillary certification. 
Chapter 15. Administrative and Supervisory 

Credentials 
Subchapter A. The Educational Leadership Certificate 
§1503. Introduction 

A. The educational leadership certification structure 
provides for four levels of leader certification: teacher 
leader; educational leader level 1; educational leader level 2; 
and educational leader level 3. The teacher leader certificate 
is an option for a teacher to be identified as a teacher leader 
and is not a state required credential for a specific 
administrative position. The educational leader level 1 
certificate is an entry-level certificate for individuals seeking 
to qualify for school and/or district leadership positions such 
as assistant principals, principals, parish or city supervisors 
of instruction, supervisors of child welfare and attendance, 
special education supervisors, or comparable school/district 
leader positions. An individual advances from a level 1 to a 
level 2 certificate after successfully meeting standards of 
effectiveness for three years pursuant to Bulletin 130 and 
R.S. 17:3902, and completing the required years of 
experience. The level 3 certificate qualifies an individual for 
employment as a district superintendent. The LDE will issue 
a letter of eligibility for an EDL certificate to requesting 
educators not currently serving in an educational leadership 
role. 

B. Educational leadership preparation programs and 
induction programs must be aligned with state and national 
standards in accordance with LAC 28:CXXXVII.301 in 
Bulletin 125. 

C. Medical Excuse and Exceptions. Exceptions to policy 
will be considered in the case of serious medical condition 
or unavailability of required coursework or exams, when not 
in violation of law. When serious medical problems of the 
teacher or immediate family exist, a doctor statement is 
required with a letter of assurance from the teacher that the 
unmet policy requirements will be completed within one 
year of the exception being granted. The final authority for 
approval and policy flexibility is at the discretion of the 
LDE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, 17:411, and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:819 (May 2007), LR 38:42 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 45:231 
(February 2019), LR 48: 
§1505. Educational Leader Certificate Level 1 (EDL 1) 

A. The EDL 1 certificate is needed for school and district 
educational leadership positions such as assistant principal,
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principal, parish or city supervisor of instruction, supervisor 
of child welfare and attendance, special education 
supervisor, or comparable school/district leader positions. 
The EDL certificate is issued upon the request of the LEA 
upon employment to serve as an educational leader. An EDL 
1 certificate may be obtained through either a master's 
degree pathway or through one of three alternate pathways.  

1. Graduate Degree Pathway. To receive an entry-level 
EDL 1, the candidate must: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold a Louisiana type B or 
level 2 teaching certificate or have a comparable level out-
of-state teaching certificate and three years of teaching 
experience in the area of certification; 

b. complete a competency-based graduate degree 
preparation program in the area of educational leadership 
from an institution of higher education accredited in 
accordance with 34 CFR 602, which may be inclusive of 
BESE-approved mentor teacher or content leader training;  

i. If the graduate degree program was not in 
Educational Leadership then a letter from the dean of 
education or the dean of the graduate school will be 
considered and must be submitted verifying that the master’s 
degree program is aligned with the National Policy Board 
for Educational Administration's Professional Standards for 
Educational Leaders (PSEL). The final authority for 
approval is at the discretion of the LDE; and 

c. have a passing score on the BESE approved 
school leaders licensure assessment, in accordance with state 
requirements. 

2. Alternate Pathway 1. The alternate pathway 1 is for 
individuals who already hold a graduate degree and seek 
issuance of an EDL 1. The candidate must: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold a Louisiana type B or 
level 2 teaching certificate or have a comparable level out-
of-state teaching certificate and three years of teaching 
experience with all out-of-state experience verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 

b. have previously completed a graduate degree 
program from an institution of higher education accredited 
in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

c. meet competency-based requirements, as 
demonstrated by completion of an individualized program of 
educational leadership from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602 
developed based on a screening of candidate competencies 
upon entering into a graduate alternative certification 
program and service as a mentor teacher, content leader, or 
BESE-approved mentor teacher or content leader training 
may fulfill a maximum of 40 percent of an individualized 
program; and 

d. earn a passing score on the BESE approved 
school leaders licensure assessment in accordance with state 
requirements. 

3. Alternate Pathway 2. The alternate pathway 2 is for 
individuals who already hold a graduate degree in education 
and seek issuance of an EDL 1. The candidate must: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold, a Louisiana type B or 
level 2 teaching certificate or have a comparable level out-
of-state teaching certificate and three years of teaching 
experience with all out-of-state experience verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 

b. have previously completed a graduate degree 
program in education from an institution of higher education 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 

c. provide documented evidence of leadership 
experiences of 240 clock hours or more at the school and/or 
district level, including service as a mentor teacher or 
content leader of up to 100 clock hours; and 

d. have a passing score on the BESE approved 
school leaders licensure assessment in accordance with state 
requirements. 

4. Alternate Pathway 3. The alternate pathway 3 is for 
persons who already hold a baccalaureate degree from an 
institution of higher education accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602 and are seeking to receive an EDL 1 through a 
competency-based educational leader practitioner 
(residency) program found in LAC 28:XLV (Bulletin 996, 
Chapter 7). The candidate must: 

a. hold, or be eligible to hold, a Louisiana type B or 
level 2 teaching certificate or have a comparable level out-
of-state teaching certificate and three years of teaching 
experience with all out-of-state experience verified as 
successful by the out-of-state employing authority or SEA; 

b. demonstrate strong knowledge of instruction 
through a rigorous screening process by an approved 
program provider; 

c. complete a competency-based educational leader 
practitioner/residency preparation program in the area of 
educational leadership from a non-university provider or an 
institution of higher education accredited in accordance with 
34 CFR 602 with service as a mentor teacher, content leader, 
or BESE-approved mentor teacher or content leader training 
allowed fulfill a maximum of 40 percent of the competency-
based program; and 

d. have a passing score on the BESE approved 
school leaders licensure assessment in accordance with state 
requirements. 

5. EDL 1 Extensions 
a. An EDL 1 is valid for three years initially and 

may be extended thereafter for a period of one year at the 
request of an LEA. EDL 1 certificates are limited to two 
such extensions.  

b. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
school level must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness as a leader for at least three years during the 
five-year initial or renewal period in order to renew. 

c. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
district level must earn effective ratings as a leader per local 
personnel evaluations for at least three years during the five-
year initial or renewal period in order to renew. 

6. Districts may require participation in an education 
leader induction administered by the LEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:819 (May 2007), LR 38:43 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 43:1313 
(July 2017), LR 45:231 (February 2019), LR 45:526 (April 2019), 
LR 45:1461 (October 2019), LR 46:1383 (October 2020), LR 48: 
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§1507. Educational Leader Certificate Level 2 (EDL 2) 
A. To receive an EDL 2, the individual must: 

1. hold or be eligible to hold a EDL 1 certificate, 
Louisiana provisional principal certification, or comparable 
level out-of-state educational leader certificate; 

2. have three years of teaching experience; 
3. if applicable, have all out-of-state experience 

verified as successful by the out-of-state employing 
authority or SEA; 

4. participate in an education leader induction 
administered, if required by the LEA; 

5. for individuals who are employed in a leadership 
capacity at the school level, meet the standards of 
effectiveness as an educational leader for three years 
pursuant to LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 
17:3902; and  

6. for individuals who are employed in a leadership 
capacity at the district level, earn effective ratings per local 
personnel evaluations for three years. 

B. Renewal Requirements. An EDL 2 is valid for five 
years initially and may be renewed thereafter for a period of 
five years at the request of an LEA. For renewal of EDL 2 
certificate:  

1. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
school level must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness as a leader for at least three years during the 
five-year initial or renewal period. 

2. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
district level must earn effective ratings as a leader per local 
personnel evaluations for at least three years during the five-
year initial or renewal period. 

AUTHORITYNOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:820 (May 2007), LR 38:43 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 41:2129 
(October 2015), LR 45:526 (April 2019), LR 45:1461 (October 
2019), LR 48: 
§1509. Educational Leader Certificate Level 3 (EDL 3) 

A. This certificate is required in order to serve as a 
school system superintendent or assistant superintendent. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or be eligible to hold an EDL 2 or one of the 

Louisiana administrative/supervisory certifications that 
preceded the educational leadership certification structure; 

b. three years of teaching experience; 
c. five years of successful administrative or 

management experience in education at the level of assistant 
principal or above with assistant principal experience limited 
to a maximum of two years of the five years of experience 
with all out-of-state experience verified as successful by the 
out-of-state employing authority or SEA; and 

d. earn passing score on the BESE approved school 
superintendent assessment, in accordance with state 
requirements. 

B. Renewal Requirements. An EDL 3 is valid for five 
years initially and may be renewed thereafter for a period of 
five years at the request of an LEA:  

1. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
school level must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness as a leader for at least three years during the 
five-year initial or renewal period. 

2. Individuals who hold an educational leader 
certification and are employed in a leadership capacity at the 
district level must earn effective ratings as a leader per local 
personnel evaluations for at least three years during the five-
year initial or renewal period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1824 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3139 (December 2012), LR 41:2129 (October 
2015), LR 45:526 (April 2019), LR 45:1462 (October 2019), LR 
48: 
Subchapter B. Out-of-State Administrative Certification 

Structure 
§1523. Out-of-State Superintendent (OSS) 

A. The out-of-state superintendent (OSS) certificate is 
valid only for the employing Louisiana public school district 
requesting issuance, is valid for five years from date of first 
appointment as a superintendent, and is renewable every five 
years. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. employment by a Louisiana public school system 

to serve as a superintendent or an assistant superintendent; 
b. a valid teaching certificate from another state 

with authorization to serve as a school superintendent; 
c. a graduate degree from an institution of higher 

education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602; 
d. five years of successful administrative or 

management experience in education at the level of assistant 
principal or above with assistant principal experience limited 
to a maximum of two years of experience in that position; 
and 

e. three years of successful teaching experience 
with all out-of-state experience verified as successful by the 
out-of-state employing authority or SEA. 

2. Renewal Requirements. For renewal of an OSS 
certificate, candidates who are employed in a leadership 
capacity at the school level must successfully meet the 
standards of effectiveness as a leader for at least three years 
during the five-year initial or renewal period pursuant to 
Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. Individuals who are 
employed in a leadership capacity at the district level must 
earn effective ratings per local personnel evaluations as a 
leader for at three years during the five-year initial or 
renewal period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:3140 (December 2012), LR 45:527 (April 2019), 
LR 45:1462 (October 2019), LR 46:1383 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter D. All Other Supervisory Endorsements 
§1547. Supervisor of Student Teaching 

A. This is no longer a required endorsement that must 
appear on a certificate.  
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B. To qualify to perform this supervisory service, a 
teacher must meet one of the following eligibility criteria: 

1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment; 

2. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment and successfully 
complete the three semester-hour course in the supervision 
of student teaching;  

3. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment and successfully 
complete assessor training through the Louisiana Teacher 
Assistance and Assessment Program; or 

4. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate and 
National Board Certification in the field of the supervisory 
assignment.  

C. On September 1, 2023, the mentor teacher 
endorsement or ancillary certificate will replace the 
supervisor of student teaching certificate. The supervisor of 
student teaching certificate will no longer be issued effective 
December 31, 2020.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:2136 (July 2011), LR 45:232 (February 2019), LR 
46:1384 (October 2020), LR 48: 
Chapter 23. Approved Courses to Reinstate Lapsed 

Certificates 
§2301. Period of Validity 

A. The period of validity for a Louisiana teaching 
certificate is subject to the provision that the certificate 
holder does not allow a period of five or more consecutive 
calendar years of disuse to accrue, and/or the certificate is 
not revoked by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education acting in accordance with law. As 
applicable to certificate validity, the term disuse is defined as 
a period of five consecutive calendar years in which a 
certificated individual is not a teacher of record for at least 
one semester, or 90 consecutive days. If such a period of 
disuse occurs, the certificate has lapsed. Lapse does not 
apply to certificates renewable via the standards of 
effectiveness pursuant to Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2058 (October 2007), 
amended LR 48: 
§2303. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate 

A. Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate is made only on 
evidence that the holder has earned six semester hours of 
credit in approved courses from an institution of higher 
education accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602. The 
credit must be earned within the five-year period 
immediately preceding request for reinstatement of the 
certificate. Reinstatement does not apply to certificates 
renewable via the standards of effectiveness pursuant to 
Bulletin 130 and R.S. 17:3902. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2058 (October 2007), 
amended LR 46:1385 (October 2020), LR 48: 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor  
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Wagering on Historical Horse Racing  
(LAC 35:XVII.Chapter 131) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953.1, the Racing 
Commission has adopted LAC 35:XVII.Chapter 131. This 
action has been deemed necessary by the Racing 
Commission to prevent imminent peril to the public health, 
safety, and welfare by providing the initial administrative 
rules regulating historical horse racing in fulfillment of the 
Legislature’s mandate to the Racing Commission “to 
encourage forceful and honest statewide control of horse 
racing for the public health, safety, and welfare by 
safeguarding the people of this state against corrupt, 
incompetent, dishonest and unprincipled horse racing 
practices” and “[t]o institute and maintain a program to 
encourage and permit development of the business of horse 
racing with pari-mutual wagering thereon on a higher 
plane.” R.S. 4:141(A)&(A)(1). 

All in fulfillment of the Legislature’s mandate for the 
Racing Commission to “institute and maintain a regulatory 
program for the business of racing horses, which program 
assures the protection of public health, safety and welfare, 
vesting with the commission forceful statewide control of 
horse racing with full powers to prescribe rules and 
regulations and conditions under which all horse racing is 
conducted with wagering upon the result thereof with the 
state.” R.S. 4:141(A)(3).  

This emergency adoption implements the initial 
administrative Rules for conducting, application, licensing, 
enforcement, and regulation for wagering on historical horse 
racing in accordance with the provisions established in Act 
437 of the 2021 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, which established historical horse racing in the 
state of Louisiana. This Emergency Rule replaces the 
previous emergency adoption of LAC 35:XVII.Chapter 131. 
This Emergency Rule shall become effective January 28, 
2022 and shall remain in effect for a period of 180 days from 
adoption, or until finally adopted as Rule. 

Title 35  
HORSE RACING 

Part XVII.  Historical Horse Racing 
Chapter 131. Wagering on Historical Horse Racing 
§13101. Pari-Mutuel System of Wagering Required for 

Historical Horse Racing 
A. The only wagering permitted for historical horse 

racing shall be under the pari-mutuel system of wagering.
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All systems of wagering other than pari-mutuel shall be 
prohibited for historical horse racing. Any person 
participating or attempting to participate in prohibited 
wagering shall be ejected and excluded from association 
grounds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13103. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms shall have the 
following meanings when used in this chapter, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Applicant—a duly licensed association who has 
submitted an application to obtain a license to offer pari-
mutuel wagering on historical horse racing from the 
commission.  

Commission—the Louisiana State Racing Commission.  
Historical Horse Race—a form of horse racing that 

creates pari-mutuel pools from wagers placed on previously 
conducted horse races and is hosted at an authorized facility, 
including:  

a. any horse race whether running or harness, that 
was previously conducted at a licensed pari-mutuel facility; 

b. concluded with official results; and 
c. concluded without scratches, disqualifications, or 

dead-heat finishes. 
Historical Horse Racing—an electronic wagering 

system used to create and sell pari-mutuel pools from wagers 
placed on historic horse races, or the otherwise offer pari-
mutuel wagers on such races. 

Independent Testing Laboratory—a laboratory with a 
national reputation for honesty, independence, and 
timeliness that is demonstrably competent and qualified to 
scientifically test and evaluate devices for compliance with 
this chapter and to otherwise perform the functions assigned 
to it by this chapter. An independent testing laboratory shall 
not be owned or controlled by a licensee, the state, or any 
manufacturer, supplier, or operator of historical horse racing 
terminals.  

Integrity Auditor—a company that conducts periodic 
and regular tests on the validity of pari-mutuel wagering, 
deductions, and payouts for the applicable historical horse 
racing event, including the legitimacy of the event itself, and 
tests that the order of finish of the race selected in the wager 
is valid, match to the order of finish that occurred 
empirically, and that all runners that were listed as entered 
into the race for the purposes of the wager, legitimately ran 
in the race.  

Key Person License—a license issued to a key person of 
an operator licensed by the commission. 

Key Person—any of the following entities: 
a. an officer, director, trustee, partner, or proprietor 

of a duly licensed association and/or person that has applied 
for or holds an operator, management company, or wagering 
vendor license or an affiliate or holding company that has 
control of a person that has applied for or holds any such 
license; 

b. a person that holds a combined direct, indirect, or 
attributed debt or equity interest of more than 5 percent in a 
person that has applied for or holds an operator, management 
company, or wagering vendor license; 

c. a person that holds a combined direct, indirect, or 
attributed equity interest of more than 5 percent in a person 
that has a controlling interest in a person that has applied for 
or holds an operator, management company, or wagering 
vendor license. 

d. a managerial employee of a person that has 
applied for or holds an operator, management company, or 
wagering vendor license in this state, or a managerial 
employee of an affiliate or holding company that has control 
of a person that has applied for or holds an operator, 
management company, or wagering vendor license in this 
state, who performs the function of principal executive 
officer, principal operating officer, principal accounting 
officer, or an equivalent officer; 

e. a managerial employee of a person that has 
applied for or holds an operator, management company, or 
wagering vendor license, or a managerial employee of an 
affiliate or holding company that has control of a person that 
has applied for or holds an operator, management company, 
or wagering vendor license, who will perform or performs 
the function of historical horse racing operations manager, or 
will exercise or exercises management, supervisory, or 
policy-making authority over the proposed or existing 
historical horse racing wagering operation, or supplier 
business operations in this state and who is not otherwise 
subject to occupational licensing in this state; 

f. any individual or business entity so designated by 
the commission or executive director; and 

g. an institutional investor is not a key person unless 
the institution has a controlling interest or fails to meet the 
standards for waiver of eligibility and suitability 
requirements for qualification and licensure under the Rules 
of Racing. 

Licensee—any entity holding an owner's or operator's 
license under R.S. 4:149, and/or offtrack wagering facility, 
pursuant to R.S. 4:213 who is granted a license by the 
commission under this chapter to conduct pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing. 

Logic Area—a separately locked cabinet area with its 
own monitored, locked door or other monitored, locked 
covering that houses electronic components that have the 
potential to significantly influence the operation of the 
terminal. 

Management Company—an organization retained by an 
association to manage the conducting of historical horse 
racing and provide services such as accounting, general 
administration, maintenance, recruitment, and other 
operational services. 

Operator—a person or entity licensed pursuant to R.S. 
4:141 et seq. to operate historical horse racing terminals in a 
location approved by the commission. 

Takeout—the amount a historical horse racing licensee 
is authorized to withhold from a pari-mutuel wager. Takeout 
is also known as a commission. 

Terminal—any self-service totalizator machine or other 
mechanical or electronic equipment used by a patron to 
place a pari-mutuel wager on a historical horse race, 
including hardware, software, communications equipment, 
and electronic devices that accepts and processes the cashing 
of wagers, calculates the odds or payouts of the wagers, and 
records, displays, and stores pari-mutuel wagering 
information. 
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Wagering Facility—the area approved by the 
commission where historical horsing racing is allowed to be 
operated. 

Wagering Vendor—a person who is licensed by the 
commission to manufacture, fabricate, assemble, produce, 
program, refurbish, or make modifications to any critical 
component of a historical horse racing system, or associated 
program storage device for sale, lease, distribution, use or 
play by an operator in the State of Louisiana, or any supplier 
of goods or services the commission deems critical to the 
operation or integrity of a historical horse racing system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13105. General Provisions 

A. The commission may waive or grant a variance from 
the provisions of these regulations, if the commission 
determines that the waiver or variance is in the best interests 
of the public, is impractical, or overly burdensome. Any 
waiver or variance granted pursuant to this section 
constitutes an order of the commission pertaining to 
historical horse racing, violation of which subjects a licensee 
to discipline. 

B. In granting any variance authorized by this section, 
the commission may impose certain conditions and 
restrictions with which the licensee must comply to accept 
and use the variance. Failure to meet the conditions or 
restrictions contained in the variance will immediately 
render the variance void, and the licensee may be subject to 
discipline in the same manner as if the variance had never 
been issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13107. Records Retention 

A. All operator, management company, or wagering 
vendor licensees shall maintain, in a place secure from theft, 
loss, or destruction, adequate records of its business and 
accounting operations. The licensees shall make the records 
available to the commission or its agents, upon request, 
within a reasonable time prescribed by a subpoena duces 
tecum or by written request of the commission or its agents. 
The licensees shall hold the records for not less than two 
years. The records shall include, but not be limited to, all of 
the following: 

1. all correspondence with, or reports to, the 
commission or any local, state, or federal governmental 
agency regarding the operation of an historical horse racing 
facility; 

2. all correspondence concerning the acquisition, 
construction, maintenance, or business of a proposed or 
existing historical horse racing or support facility; 

3. a personnel file on each employee; 
4. notwithstanding Subsection A of this Section, a 

licensed operator shall hold copies of all promotional and 
advertising material, records, or complimentary distributions 
for at least one year, unless otherwise requested by the 
commission; 

5. an operator licensee shall keep and maintain 
accurate, complete, legible, and permanent records of any 
books, records, or documents pertaining to, prepared in, or 

generated by, the historical horse racing wagering operation, 
as described in its internal controls, as approved by the 
commission; and 

6. an operator shall organize, and index all required 
records in a manner that enables the commission to locate, 
inspect, review, and analyze the records with reasonable ease 
and efficiency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13109. Duties of the Commission 

A. The commission shall enact such policies and 
procedures to implement the following responsibilities: 

1. license and regulate operators for the operation of 
historical horse racing wagering systems authorized pursuant 
to R.S. 4:141 et seq.., including adopting, promulgating, and 
enforcing rules and regulations governing historical horse 
racing wagering consistent with R.S. 4:141 et seq..; 

2. regulate the operation of historical horse racing 
wagering in order to prevent and eliminate corrupt practices 
and fraudulent behavior, and thereby promote integrity, 
security, and honest administration in, and accurate 
accounting of, the operation of historical horse racing 
wagering operations which are subject to R.S. 4:141 et seq..; 

3. establish criteria to license applicants for operator 
licenses and all other types of licenses for other positions 
and functions incident to the operation of historical horse 
racing wagering, including adopting, promulgating, and 
enforcing rules, regulations, and eligibility standards, or 
waiving such criteria in limited circumstances as provided 
for in the Rules of Racing, for such operator licenses, 
management company licenses, vendor licenses, key person 
licenses and other occupational licenses, positions, and 
functions incident to the operation of historical horse racing 
wagering; 

4. charge fees for applications for licenses, to include 
the cost of conducting background investigations, and for the 
issuance of operator licenses, management company 
licenses, vendor licenses, key person licenses and other 
occupational licenses and all other types of licenses to 
successful applicants which will be payable to the 
commission; 

5. charge fees to operators in an amount necessary to 
compensate the commission for the cost of oversight and 
regulatory services to be provided, which will be payable to 
the commission; 

6. grant, deny, revoke, and suspend operator licenses 
and all other types of licenses based upon reasonable criteria 
and procedures established by the commission to facilitate 
the integrity, productivity, and lawful conduct of historical 
horse racing within the State of Louisiana; 

7. to investigate the suitability of applicants for 
operator licenses and all other types of licenses; 

8. to determine the priority and eligibility of any 
applicant for a license and to select among competing 
applicants for a license, the applicant who or which best 
serves the interests of the residents of Louisiana; 

9. to administer oaths and affirmations to the 
witnesses, when, in the opinion of the commission, it is 
necessary to enforce the provisions of R.S. 4:141 et seq.. or 
the Rules of Racing; 
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10. to adopt technical standards governing the design, 
operation and control of historical horse racing equipment; 

11. inspect the operation of any operator conducting 
historical horse racing wagering for the purpose of certifying 
the revenue thereof and receiving complaints from the 
public; 

12. to approve the hours of operation for each historical 
horse racing facility. Change to such hours of operation may 
be made by the operator for extenuating circumstances with 
notice to the commission stating the reasons for the change; 

13. to audit or cause audit of historical horse racing 
wagering operations, including those that have ceased 
operation;  

14. issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses or 
the production of any records, books, memoranda, 
documents, papers, videos, pictures, electronic media, or 
other things at or prior to any hearing as is necessary to 
enable the commission to effectively discharge its duties; 

15. executive director oaths or affirmations as 
necessary to carry out R.S. 4:141 et seq..; 

16. have the authority to impose, subject to judicial 
review, administrative fines not to exceed $25,000 for each 
violation of R.S. 4:141 et seq.. or any Rules of Racing 
adopted and promulgated pursuant to R.S. 4:141 et seq..; 

17. to receive and investigate complaints from patrons 
concerning the conduct of historical horse racing; 

18. to inspect, test and approve historical horse racing 
systems and related equipment proposed for use or placed in 
use in historical horse racing facilities; 

19. to approve locations for the storage and servicing of 
historical horse racing systems and related equipment; 

20. to require that a historical horse racing facility 
make devices and equipment available for examination and 
inspection; 

21. establish procedures for the governance of the 
commission; 

22. acquire necessary offices, and to employ the 
services of persons the commission considers necessary for 
the purposes of consultation or investigation, and fix the 
salaries of, or contract for the services of, legal, accounting, 
technical, operational, and other personnel and consultants; 

23. to secure, by agreement, information and services 
as the commission considers necessary from any other unit 
of government; 

24. maintain the excluded persons database in 
accordance with the provisions of the Rules of Racing; 

25. establish and enforce minimum internal controls for 
the operation of historical horse racing wagering and by 
which each operator will develop their own internal controls; 

26. establish procedures for an applicant for a staff 
position to disclose conflicts of interest as part of the 
application for employment; 

27. to determine any facts or any conditions, practices, 
or other matters as the commission considers necessary or 
proper to aid in the enforcement of R.S. 4:141 et seq..; and 

28. do all things necessary and proper to carry out its 
powers and duties under R.S. 4:141 et seq.., including the 
adoption and promulgation of rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 

§13111. Wagering on Historical Horse Races Authorized 
A. Wagering on historical horse races is hereby 

authorized and may be conducted in accordance with R.S. 
4:149 and 4:213. 

B. Wagering on historical horse races shall only be 
conducted by associations licensed to operate a pari-mutuel 
facility, pursuant to R.S. 4:149, and/or by offtrack wagering 
facilities, pursuant to R.S. 4:213. 

C. The commission may create classifications of licenses 
and establish a fee structure for license categories. 
Applicants for each category of license must apply on forms 
approved by the commission to be accompanied by the 
corresponding license application fee. All application fees 
are non-refundable. 

1. The following license fees have been approved y 
the commission: 

a. applicant association (initial)—$125,000; 
b. license fee per establishment/OTB (initial)—

$7,000; 
c. wagering vendor license (initial)—$2,000; 
d. wagering vendor license (annual renewal)—

$500; 
e. background investigation—up to $4,000; 
f. non-key person license (initial)—$200; and  
g. key person license (initial)—$1,000. 

D. An application for a license under R.S. 4:141 et seq.. 
and this Chapter is a request by the applicant seeking a 
revocable privilege. A license may be granted by the 
commission if the applicant meets the licensing requirements 
of the act and these rules. The commission may require 
holders of a current pari-mutuel wagering facility license to 
complete an updated application form and undergo 
additional background screening prior to being authorized to 
conduct historical horse racing. The commission may issue 
new licenses to such existing license holders to include the 
conditions and licensing requirements contained in this 
Chapter. 

E. An applicant for a license under R.S. 4:141 et seq.. 
and this Chapter shall, at all times, have the burden of 
demonstrating to the commission, by clear and convincing 
evidence, that the applicant is eligible, qualified, and suitable 
to be granted and retain the license for which application is 
made under the applicable licensing standards and 
requirements of R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and the Rules of Racing. 

F. A license issued by the commission under R.S. 4:141 
et seq.. or this Chapter is a revocable privilege granted by 
the commission. A person who holds a license does not 
acquire, and shall not be deemed to acquire, a vested 
property right or other right, in the license. 

G. Applicants for any license issued by the commission 
under the provisions of this Chapter must pay all fees and 
assessments prescribed either by law or the Rules of Racing 
in the manner and at the time prescribed by law and/or the 
Rules of Racing. Application fees and applicable 
assessments for all historical horse racing wagering licenses 
and must be paid by the applicant at the time that an 
application is filed with the commission. None of the 
licenses listed in this Chapter may be transferred or 
assigned. 

H. The commission may refuse to take final action on 
any application if all license regulation, investigation, and 
fingerprint fees have not been paid in full. The commission 
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may deny the application if the applicant refuses or fails to 
pay all such fees. Additionally, an applicant who has refused 
or failed to pay the required costs will not be eligible to file 
any other application with the commission until all such fees 
are paid in full. Neither the license fee or regulation fees nor 
any other fee is refundable. 

I. Materials, or portions of materials, submitted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq.. or these rules may be identified as 
confidential by a licensee, an applicant for a license, or any 
other person. If the materials are exempt from disclosure by 
statute, the materials shall not be disclosed by the 
commission, except to other jurisdictions or law 
enforcement agencies as provided in R.S. 4:141 et seq.. 

J. An applicant or licensee shall accept any risk of 
adverse publicity, public notice, notoriety, embarrassment, 
criticism, financial loss, or other unfavorable or harmful 
consequences that may occur in connection with, or as a 
result of, the application and licensing process or the public 
disclosure of information submitted to the commission with 
a license application or at the commission's request under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and the Rules of Racing. 

K. Licensees have a continuing obligation to demonstrate 
suitability to hold a license by complying with R.S. 4:141 et 
seq.., the Rules of Racing, and all federal, state, and local 
laws relating to the suitability of the licensee. The 
commission may reopen the investigation of a licensee at 
any time. The licensee shall be assessed fees, if any, to cover 
the additional costs of the investigation. 

L. An applicant or licensee may claim any privilege 
afforded by the Constitution or laws of the United States or 
of the State of Louisiana in refusing to answer questions or 
provide information requested by the commission. However, 
a claim of privilege with respect to any testimony or 
evidence pertaining to the eligibility, qualifications, or 
suitability of an applicant or licensee to be granted or hold a 
license under R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and the Rules of Racing 
may constitute cause for denial, suspension, revocation or 
restriction of the license. 

M. An applicant and licensee shall have a continuing 
duty to do all of the following: 

1. promptly notify the commission in writing within 
10 business days of a material change in the information 
submitted in the license application submitted by the 
applicant or licensee or a change in circumstance, that may 
render the applicant or licensee ineligible, unqualified, or 
unsuitable to hold the license under the licensing standards 
and requirements of the act and these rules; and 

2. provide any information requested by the 
commission relating to licensing or regulation, cooperate 
with the commission in investigations, hearings, and 
enforcement and disciplinary actions within the period of 
time requested by the commission, and comply with all 
conditions, restrictions, requirements, orders, and rulings of 
the commission in accordance with R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and 
the Rules of Racing. 

N. The following persons are required to hold an 
occupational license: 

1. a person employed by an association or 
management company and whose duties are directly related 
to the conduct of historical horse racing; 

2. all security personnel; 

3. employees whose duties are performed off the 
wagering facility and whose duties include the handling of 
money or performing accounting and auditing functions that 
involve money obtained as a result of historical horse racing; 

a. an occupational license level one is the highest 
level of occupational license. An occupational licensee may 
perform any activity included within the occupational 
licensee's level of occupational license or any lower level of 
occupational license; 

b. an employee of an association or management 
company who does not hold an occupational license shall 
not perform any duties relating to the conduct of historical 
horse racing at any time; 

c. a person under 18 years of age shall not hold an 
occupational license of any level. Applicants for 
occupational license level one must be at least 21 years of 
age; 

d. an application for an occupational license shall 
not be processed by the commission unless the applicant has 
an agreement or a statement of intent hire with an 
association or management company licensee or applicant, 
documenting that the applicant will be employed upon 
receiving the appropriate occupational license; 

e. employees of an authorized gaming operator who 
perform the following functions, regardless of title, shall 
obtain an occupational license level one: 
 i. audit director; 
 ii. chief regulatory compliance officer; 
 iii. information technology director and managers; 
 iv. security director; 
 v. surveillance director; 
 vi. chief financial officer or controller, or both; 
 vii. historical racing operations director; 
 viii. general manager; 
 ix. assistant general manager; or 
 x. any other employee of an authorized gaming 
operator whom the commission deems necessary, to ensure 
compliance with R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and the Rules of Racing, 
to hold an occupational license level one; 

f. a person holding a level one license employed by 
an association or management company may not be 
employed concurrently by a wagering vendor, except that a 
person holding a level one license may be employed by a 
licensed management company that is also licensed as a 
wagering vendor; 

4. employees of an association who perform the 
following functions, regardless of title, shall obtain an 
occupational license level two: 

a. security personnel and surveillance personnel; 
b. any employee of an association whose duties are 

performed are directly related to the conducting of historical 
horse racing; 

c. any employee of an association whose duties 
include accounting and auditing functions and whose duties 
relate to money obtained as a result of historical horse 
racing; and 

d. any other employee of an association whom the 
commission deems necessary, to ensure compliance with 
R.S. 4:141 et seq.. and the Rules of Racing, to hold an 
occupational license level two; 
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5. the term of all occupational license levels is three 
years and requires an initial license application fee to be 
determined by the commission and an annual license fee. 

O. Applicants for a historical horse racing wagering 
license, an occupational license, and applicants for renewals 
of such licenses shall comply with the following procedures. 

1. Every application for a license category authorized 
by the commission must be submitted on forms supplied or 
approved by the commission and must contain such 
information and documents as required for such license 
category. 

2. The applicant must file with the application all 
required supplemental forms. 

3. Upon request of the commission, the applicant must 
further supplement any information provided in the 
application. The applicant must provide all requested 
documents, records, supporting data, and other information 
within the time period specified in the request. If the 
applicant fails to provide the requested information within 
the required time period as set forth in the request or the 
Rules of Racing, the commission may deny the application 
unless good cause is shown. 

4. All information required to be included in an 
application must be true and complete as of the date of 
commission action sought by the applicant. If there is any 
change in the information contained in the application, the 
applicant must file a written amendment within 30 days of 
the change of information in accordance with the Rules of 
Racing. 

5. The application and any amendments must be 
sworn to or affirmed by the applicant. If any document is 
signed by an attorney for the applicant, the signature must 
certify that the attorney has read the document and that, to 
the best of the attorney’s knowledge, information and belief, 
based on diligent inquiry, the contents of the documents 
supplied are true. 

6. The applicant must cooperate fully with the 
commission with respect to the background investigation of 
the applicant, including, upon request, making available any 
and all of its books and records for inspection. The 
commission will examine the background, personal history, 
financial associations, character, record, and reputation of 
the applicant to the extent the commission determines. 

7. The commission will automatically deny the 
application of any applicant that refuses to submit to a 
background investigation as required pursuant to R.S. 4:141 
et seq.. and the Rules of Racing. 

8. Neither the state, the commission, any agency with 
which the commission contracts to conduct background 
investigations, nor the employees of any of the foregoing, 
may be held liable for any inaccurate information obtained 
through such an investigation. 

P. In addition to specific conditions imposed in any 
license issued by the commission under these rules, any 
license issued by the commission for the operation of 
historical horse racing wagering is subject to the following 
conditions. 

1. With respect to a historical horse racing wagering 
operator’s license, the licensed operator will at all times 
make its wagering facility available for inspection by the 
commission or their authorized representatives with or 
without prior announcement. Additionally, the licensed 

operator understands that a commission agent is authorized 
to be present anywhere within the wagering facility each day 
any time during operation of historical horse racing 
wagering, and whenever else deemed appropriate by the 
director of enforcement. 

2. The operator licensee consents to the examination 
of all accounts, bank accounts, and records of, or under the 
control of the operator licensee, or any entity in which the 
operator licensee has a direct or indirect controlling interest. 
Upon request of the commission or its authorized 
representative, the operator licensee must authorize all third 
parties in possession or control of the requested documents 
to allow the commission or commission agents to examine 
such documents. 

3. The operator licensee will observe and enforce all 
rules, regulations, decisions, and orders issued by the 
commission. The operator’s license is granted on the 
condition that the operator licensee, management, and its 
employees will obey all decisions and orders of the 
commission. Each operator licensee will have a continuing 
duty to report to the commission enforcement division any 
violation of the Rules of Racing or applicable laws of the 
State of Louisiana by the operator licensee, management, 
and its employees. Failure to report violations will result in 
disciplinary action against the operator licensee. The 
licensee is required to notify the commission in writing 
within 30 days of the violation. 

Q. The commission may refuse to issue an operator 
licensee or deny any operator licensee application on any 
grounds deemed reasonable by the commission. Without 
limiting the foregoing, the commission may deny the 
application on any of the following grounds: 

1. evidence of an applicant submitting an untrue or 
misleading statement of material fact, or willful omission of 
any material fact, in any application, statement, or notice 
filed with the commission, made in connection with any 
investigation, including the background investigation, or 
otherwise made to the commission or its staff; 

2. conviction of any felony in any jurisdiction by key 
persons of the applicant or by the applicant which may affect 
the applicant’s ability to properly perform his or her duties 
or reflect unfavorably on the integrity of a historical horse 
racing wagering facility; 

3. conviction of any gambling offense in any 
jurisdiction by key persons or by the applicant;  

4. entry of any civil or administrative judgment 
against the applicant or its key persons that is based, in 
whole or in part, on conduct that allegedly constituted a 
felony crime in the state or other jurisdiction in which the 
conduct occurred that may affect the applicant’s ability to 
properly perform his or her duties or reflect unfavorably on 
the integrity of a historical horse racing wagering facility, or 
involved a gambling violation(s); 

5. association by the applicant, applicant’s spouse or 
members of applicant’s immediate household with persons 
or businesses of known criminal background or persons of 
disreputable character that may adversely affect the general 
credibility, security, integrity, honesty, fairness or reputation 
of the historical horse racing wagering industry; 

6. any aspect of the applicant’s or any key person’s 
past conduct, character, or behavior that the commission 
determines would adversely affect the credibility, security, 
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integrity, honesty, fairness or reputation of the proposed 
historical horse racing wagering activity; 

7. failure of the applicant or its key persons to 
demonstrate adequate business ability and experience to 
establish, operate, and maintain the business for the type of 
activity for which application is made; 

8. failure to demonstrate adequate financing for the 
operation proposed in the application; 

9. failure to satisfy any requirement for application or 
to timely respond to any request by the commission for 
additional information; 

10. permanent suspension, revocation, denial or other 
limiting action on any license related to historical horse 
racing wagering issued by any jurisdiction; and  

11. approval of the application would otherwise be 
contrary to Louisiana law or public policy.  

R. The commission, in the same manner and in 
accordance with the Louisiana Administrative Procedures 
Act, will provide the applicant with written notice of the 
denial, and the applicant shall have the opportunity to appeal 
the commission decision in conformity with R.S. 4:214(J). 

S. The commission may issue a provisional license to 
any applicant who provides the required fingerprint cards, 
photographs, completed application, and intent to employ 
statement. Provisional licenses may be valid for a period 
established by the commission but shall not be more than 90 
days and is subject to the license conditions enumerated in 
the commission’s authorization of the provisional license. 

1. The commission may extend the duration of 
provisional licenses in 30-day increments if the licensing 
process has not been completed. 

T. Wagering on historical horse races shall only be 
permitted in the designated area on the licensed premises of 
the pari-mutuel facility and/or offtrack wagering facility. 
Wagering on historical horse races shall not be offered in 
any other location. 

U. An applicant for a license to offer pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing shall apply for a license 
to conduct the same with the commission at its offices. An 
application fee, set by the commission-approved license fee 
schedule, shall be paid for each location where the applicant 
seeks to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse 
racing to reimburse the commission for the cost of 
regulation. The initial application fee shall be paid upon 
filing of the application. 

1. Licensees authorized to offer pari-mutuel wagering 
on historical horse racing shall pay an annual license fee set 
by the commission-approved license fee schedule, to be paid 
monthly, to reimburse the commission for the cost of 
regulation. 

2. The annual total for initial application fees or 
annual licenses fees shall not exceed the commission’s 
budgeted costs for the regulation of historical horse racing in 
any calendar year. 

V. An applicant for a license to offer pari-mutuel 
wagering on historical horse racing shall submit a plan of 
operation that includes: 

1. the number of terminals to be operated at the 
facility, broken down by terminal provider, make, and 
model; 

2. a detailed description of the proposed area 
designated for the sale of pari-mutuel pool, and the 

placement of terminals within the area, including a drawn-
to-scale architectural rendering that describes: 

a. the size, construction, and capacity of the area; 
b. the number and location of each terminal; and 
c. the location of surveillance and other security 

equipment. 
3. a description of the type of data processing, 

communication, totalizator and transmission equipment to be 
utilized; 

4. a networking diagram detailing the manner in 
which the machines will be networked with the wagering 
servers and back office systems; 

5. an IT security plan detailing the logical security 
measures for the wagering system; 

6. the type, number and denominations of pari-mutuel 
wagers to be offered; 

7. the terminal provider, make, and model of each 
terminal, including a copy of all literature supplied by the 
manufacturer of the terminal; 

8. the maintenance and repair procedures that will 
ensure the integrity of the terminals; 

9. detailed information on the wager types, including 
breakage, to be offered by the applicant, including 
information demonstrating compliance with the 
requirements of this chapter;  

10. wager specification documentation, which shall 
include the rules for the mathematical models, methodology 
of calculating payouts of the pools, configuration of pools, 
how money is allocated to or from the pools (including seed 
pool(s) as applicable), and pool payout methodology. As 
used herein, a seed pool refers to a pool of money that is 
used to ensure that all patrons are paid the minimum payout 
on winning wagers. 

W. Before offering wagering on historical horse races, an 
association shall first obtain the commission's written 
approval of all wagers offered as set forth in LAC 
35:XIII.10703, LAC 35:XIII.10901, LAC 35:XIII.11105, 
LAC 35:XIII.11201, LAC 35:XIII.11507, LAC 
35:XIII.11607, LAC 35:XIII.11701, and LAC 35:XIII.11801 
or other accepted pari-mutuel wager type as approved by the 
commission. 

X. A license for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse racing shall run concurrent with the 
association’s license to conduct horse racing and/or operate 
offtrack wagering facilities. A licensee may not transfer its 
license, or assign responsibility for compliance with the 
conditions of its license, to any party, including, without 
limitation, a transfer of effective control of the licensee, 
without commission approval. 

Y. Failure to comply with requirements in R.S. 4:149, 
and/or offtrack wagering facility requirements pursuant to 
R.S. 4:213 and the Rules of Racing may result in suspension 
or revocation of the license for conducting pari-mutuel 
wagering at the discretion of the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13113. Operational Requirements for the Conduct of 

Historical Horse Racing 
A. An association may conduct wagering on historical 

horse races of any horse breed regardless of the type of
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breed that primarily races in live meets conducted by the 
association. An association may conduct wagering on 
historical horse races on any days and hours approved by the 
commission, and shall not be limited to times during which 
the association is conducting a live horse race meeting. 

B. A mutuel wager on historical horse races may be 
placed only from a physical facility of a licensee. 

C. A mutuel wager on historical horse racing may not be 
placed using a mobile device unless the system 
communicating with the mobile device to place the wager is 
fully controlled and operated by the licensed facility at 
which the wager is placed. For the purposes of this Section, 
“fully controlled and operated” means the licensed facility 
develops, owns, leases, acquires a license for, or otherwise 
contracts for services to operate and control a mobile 
historical horse racing wagering system. 

D. No licensee may accept a mutuel wager on historical 
horse racing if the wager is placed via a mobile phone or 
other personal electronic device, unless the network 
infrastructure and all pari-mutuel wagering software 
complies with the relevant technical requirements within 
these rules. 

E. Nothing in this Section independently authorizes 
wagering or facilitation of wagering on historical horse 
racing outside of the licensed pari-mutuel wagering 
operation. 

F. Any historical horse racing solution that relies on 
wireless networked communications, including all mobile 
historical horse racing systems, shall annually conduct a 
system integrity and security risk assessment performed by 
an independent information technology security professional 
approved by the commission. The system integrity and 
security risk assessment shall be conducted no later than 90 
days after commencing operations and annually thereafter. 
The scope of the pari-mutuel wagering system integrity and 
security assessment is subject to the approval of the 
commission and must include: 

1. A vulnerability assessment of digital platforms, 
mobile applications, internal, external, and wireless 
networks with the intent of identifying vulnerabilities of all 
devices, the historical horse racing system, and applications 
transferring, storing, and/or processing personal identifying 
information or other sensitive information connected to or 
present on the networks; 

2. A penetration test of all digital platforms, mobile 
applications, and internal, external, and wireless networks to 
confirm devices, the historical horse racing wagering 
systems, and applications are not susceptible to compromise; 

3. A review of the firewall rules to verify the 
operating condition of the firewall and the effectiveness of 
its security configuration and rule sets that must be 
performed on all perimeter and internal firewalls; 

4. A technical security control assessment against the 
commission’s technical requirements for security and with 
generally accepted professional standards; 

5. An evaluation of information security services, 
cloud services, payment services, financial institutions, 
payment processors, location services, and any other 
services that may be offered directly by the licensee or 
involve the use of third parties; and 

6. At the discretion of the executive director, any 
additional assessments or specific testing criteria which may 
be required by internal control procedures. 

G. All wagers offered on historical horse races shall 
incorporate the following elements: 

1. A patron may only wager on historical horse races 
on a terminal approved by the commission; 

2. For each different type of exotic wager on historical 
horse races offered by an association, the association shall at 
all times maintain at least two terminals offering each such 
exotic wager; 

3. Once a patron deposits an amount in the terminal 
offering wagering on historical horse races, one or more 
historical horse races shall be made available for wagering 
as set forth in the wagering specification rules; 

4. Prior to the patron making his or her wager 
selections, the terminal shall not display any information that 
would allow the patron to identify the historical horse race 
or races on which he or she is wagering, including the 
location of the race or races, the date on which the race or 
races was run, the names of the horses in the race or races, or 
the names of the jockeys that rode the horses in the race or 
races; 

5. The terminal shall make available true and accurate 
past performance information on the historical horse race to 
the patron prior to making his or her wager selections. The 
information shall be current as of the day the historical horse 
race was actually run. The information provided to the 
patron shall be displayed on the terminal in data or graphical 
form; and 

6. After a patron finalizes his or her wager selections, 
the terminal shall display the patron’s successful selections, 
the official results of each race, and a replay of the race or 
races, or a portion thereof, whether by digital or animated 
depiction or by way of a video recording. The identity of 
each race shall be revealed or made available to the patron 
after the patron has placed his or her wager. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13115. Historical Horse Race Specification and 

Selection Requirements 
A. The outcome of any historical horse race wager shall 

be derived from the result of one or more historical horse 
races.  

B. All historical horse races must be chosen at random 
from a database of actual historical horse races. All races in 
the database shall have a valid historical horse race result 
with details recorded at the same level as other races in the 
database, and shall include:  

1. race location;  
2. race date; and 
3. finishing order.  

C. If available and provided for in the recorded race data, 
other information such as horse name and jockey name or 
associated identifiers may be included in the race database. 

D. In the case where a random process is used to select 
the historical horse races for a wager, all possible races in 
the database shall be available for selection. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 275

E. Each terminal shall: 
1. be tested by an independent testing laboratory, 

selected by the commission, and found to be in compliance 
with all applicable technical standards. Any modifications 
made to the terminal or software shall require re-testing; 

2. provide race information that is current as of the 
day the horse race was actually run;  

3. allow any patron that is handicapping to exit the 
manual handicapping interface;  

4. display the information provided to the patron in 
graphic form which is discernable to the bettor; 

5. not be in the nature of a slot machine. A terminal 
shall not be considered to be in the nature of a slot machine 
when it precludes the use of random elements to determine 
the outcome of a wager other than the selection of a race or 
races from a database of races, when all wagers and prizes 
are pari-mutuel in nature, and when it does not include any 
interest of the licensee.  

F. Prior to the patron making his or her wager selections, 
the terminal shall: 

1. make true and accurate past performance 
information available on each historical horse race; and 

2. not display any information that would allow the 
patron to identify the historical horse race on which the 
patron is wagering, including: 

a. the location of the race; 
b. the date on which the race was run; 
c. the names of the horses in the race; or 
d. the names of the jockeys who rode the horses in 

the race. 
G. In addition to the requirement of Paragraph 2 of 

Subsection F of this Section, the terminal may also display 
the wager and its outcome as part of an entertaining display, 
provided the underlying wager and outcome functions 
according to the pari-mutuel wagering pool specifications 
provided by the historical horse racing licensee to the 
commission.  

H. Approximate odds or payouts for each wagering pool 
shall be posted, or made available, on each terminal for 
viewing by patrons. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13117. Payouts through Pari-Mutuel Pools Authorized 

A. A wager on a historical horse race or races, less 
deductions permitted by R.S. 4:216(E), shall be placed in 
pari-mutuel pools approved by the commission. 

B. A payout to a winning patron shall be paid from 
money wagered by patrons and shall not constitute a wager 
against the association. 

C. An association conducting wagering on historical 
horse races shall not conduct wagering in such a manner that 
patrons are wagering against the association, or in such a 
manner that the amount retained by the association as a 
commission is dependent upon the outcome of any particular 
race or the success of any particular wager. 

D. An association offering wagering on historical horse 
races shall operate a pari-mutuel pool or pools in a manner 
and method approved by the commission. An association

offering wagering on historical horse races may operate a 
player-funded pool or pools in a manner and method 
approved by the commission for the purpose of ensuring that 
sufficient funds are at all times available to pay any winning 
wagers in situations where a pari-mutuel pool becomes a 
minus pool. For each wager made, an association may assign 
a percentage of the wager to a player-funded pool or pools. 

E. If an association chooses to make a deposit into a trust 
account or seed pool for the purpose of ensuring that 
sufficient funds are at all times available to pay any winning 
wagers in situations where a pari-mutuel pool becomes a 
minus pool, then such trust account must be approved by the 
commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13119. Minors Prohibited from Wagering on Historical 

Horse Races 
A. A minor shall not be permitted by any licensed 

association to purchase or cash a pari-mutuel ticket on 
historical horse races. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13121. Responsible Play 

A. A licensee shall implement a program to promote 
responsible play of historical horse racing by its patrons and 
provide details of the same to the commission. At a 
minimum, such program shall require: 

1. posting in a conspicuous place in every facility 
where pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing is 
conducted a sign that bears a toll-free number for an 
approved organization that provides assistance to problem 
gamblers;  

2. providing informational leaflets or other similar 
materials at the licensee's facilities on the dangers associated 
with problem gambling;  

3. including in the licensee's promotional and 
marketing materials information on problem gambling and 
organizations that provide assistance to problem gamblers;  

4. providing patrons expressing concern with a 
gambling problem with information on organizations that 
provide assistance to problem gamblers; and  

5. ensuring that any request by a patron who wishes to 
self-exclude from the licensee's facilities is honored by the 
licensee. 

B. A licensee shall report annually to the commission 
and make a copy available to the public on its efforts to meet 
Subsection A of this Section, its efforts to identify problem 
gamblers, and steps taken to: 

1. prevent such individuals from continuing to engage 
in pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing; and 

2. provide assistance to these individuals to address 
problem gambling activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
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§13123. Totalizator or Other Approved Equipment 
Required 

A. Pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse races shall 
only be conducted through the use of a totalizator or other 
similar mechanical or electrical equipment. 

B. The totalizator or other mechanical or electrical 
equipment shall be available for testing under the 
supervision of the commission upon request by the 
commission to ensure its proper working order. 

C. Wagering on historical horse races shall be offered on 
terminals that include a cabinet in which the electronics and 
other operating components are located. All terminals and 
other equipment shall be subject to inspection by the 
commission. 

D. The terminal cabinet and electronics shall: 
1. protect against electrostatic interference by being 

grounded so that static discharge energy shall not 
permanently damage or inhibit the normal operation of the 
electronics or other components within the wagering 
terminal. In the event that a temporary disruption of the 
normal operation of a wagering terminal occurs as a result of 
an electrostatic discharge, the wagering terminal shall have 
the capacity to recover and complete any interrupted wager 
without loss or corruption of any control or critical data 
information. Each terminal shall be tested to a maximum 
discharge severity level of 27 kilovolt air discharge; 

2. not be adversely affected, other than during resets, 
by surges or dips of up to 20 percent of the supply voltage. If 
a wagering terminal is designed such that a surge or dip of 
up to 20 percent of the supply voltage causes a reset, the 
terminal shall also be designed so that a surge or dip shall 
not result in damage to the equipment or loss or corruption 
of data. Upon reset, the wager play shall return to its 
previous state or return to a wager completion state, 
provided the wagering history and all credit and accounting 
meters comprehend a completed wager play; 

3. have an on/off switch that controls the electrical 
current installed in a readily accessible location within the 
interior of the terminal so that power cannot be disconnected 
from outside of the terminal using the on/off switch. The 
on/off positions of the switch shall be labeled; 

4. be designed so that power and data cables into and 
out of the terminal can be routed so that they are not 
accessible to the general public. Security-related wires and 
cables that are routed into a logic area shall be securely 
fastened within the interior of the terminal; 

5. have an identification badge affixed to the exterior 
of the terminal by the terminal provider that is not 
removable without leaving evidence of tampering. This 
badge shall include the following information: 

a. the name of the terminal provider; 
b. a unique serial number; 
c. the terminal model number; and 
d. the date of manufacture; 

6. have an external tower light located conspicuously 
on the top of the terminal that automatically illuminates 
when a patron has won an amount that the terminal cannot 
automatically pay or when an error condition has occurred; 

7. be constructed of materials that are designed to 
allow only authorized access to the inside of the terminal. 
The terminal and its locks, doors, and associated hinges shall

be capable of withstanding determined and unauthorized 
efforts to gain access to the inside of the terminal and shall 
be designed to leave evidence of tampering if such an entry 
is made;  

8. be equipped with doors of a locked area that are 
designed to resist the use of tools or other objects used to 
breach the locked area by physical force; 

9. have external doors that shall be locked and 
monitored by door access sensors. When the external doors 
are opened, the door access sensors shall: 

a. cause wagering activity to cease; 
b. disable all currency acceptance; 
c. enter an error condition; 
d. illuminate the tower light at a minimum; and  
e. record the error condition. The requirements of 

this Subsection do not apply to the drop box door;  
10. have external doors designed so that it shall not be 

possible to insert a device into the terminal that will disable 
a sensor that indicates “door open” without leaving evidence 
of tampering when the door of the terminal is shut;  

11. have a sensor system that shall provide notification 
that an external door is open when the door is moved from 
its fully closed and locked position, provided power is 
supplied to the device;  

12. have a logic area, which is a separately locked 
cabinet area with its own monitored, locked door or other 
monitored, locked covering that houses electronic 
components that have the potential to significantly influence 
the operation of the terminal. There may be more than one 
such logic area in a terminal. The electronic components 
housed in the logic area shall include:  

a. a central processing unit and any program storage 
device that contains software that may affect the integrity of 
wagering, including the individual play accounting, system 
communication, and peripheral firmware devices involved in 
or that significantly influence the operation and calculation 
of wager plays, wager outcome display, wager result 
determination, or wager play accounting, revenue, or 
security;  

b. communication controller electronics and 
components housing the communication program storage 
device; and  

c. the nonvolatile memory backup device, which if 
located in the logic area, shall be kept within a locked logic 
area; and  

13. have a currency storage area that is separately 
keyed and fitted with sensors that indicate "door open/close" 
or "stacker receptacle removed," provided power is supplied 
to the device. Access to the currency storage area shall be 
secured by two locks before the currency can be removed. 
The locks shall be located on the relevant outer door and on 
at least one other door. 

E. Critical memory requirements shall include the 
following. 

1. Critical memory storage shall be maintained by a 
methodology that enables errors to be identified, including 
signatures, checksums, partial checksums, multiple copies, 
timestamps, effective use of validity codes, or any 
combination of these methods. 

2. Comprehensive checks of critical memory shall be 
made following wager play initiation but prior to display of 
wager outcome to the patron. 
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3. An unrecoverable corruption of critical memory 
shall result in an error state. The memory error shall not be 
cleared automatically and shall cause the terminal to cease 
further functioning. The critical memory error shall also 
cause any communication external to the terminal to 
immediately cease. An unrecoverable critical memory error 
shall require restoration or clearing of software state by an 
authorized person. 

4. If critical memory is maintained in nonvolatile 
memory on the terminal and not by the server-based system, 
then:  

a. the terminal shall have the ability to retain data 
for all critical memory as defined in this Section and be 
capable of maintaining the accuracy of the data for 30 days 
after power is discontinued from the terminal; 

b. for rechargeable battery types only, if the battery 
backup is used as an off-chip battery source, it shall recharge 
itself to its full potential in a maximum of 24 hours, and the 
shelf life of the battery shall be at least five years; 

c. nonvolatile memory that uses an off-chip backup 
power source to retain its contents when the main power is 
switched off shall have a detection system that will provide a 
method for software to interpret and act upon a low battery 
condition before the battery reaches a level where it is no 
longer capable of maintaining the memory in question. 
Clearing nonvolatile memory shall require access to the 
locked logic area or other secure method, provided that the 
method is approved by the commission; and 

d. following the initiation of a nonvolatile memory 
reset procedure, the wagering program shall execute a 
routine that initializes all bits in critical nonvolatile memory 
to the default state. All memory locations intended to be 
cleared as per the nonvolatile memory clear process shall be 
fully reset in all cases. 

5. Critical memory of a server-based wager 
configuration may be maintained by the server, terminal, or 
some combination thereof. The critical memory related to 
each terminal shall: 

a. be kept independent to all other wagering 
terminals. If corruption occurs in any single terminal's 
critical memory no other terminal shall be effected by the 
terminal's corrupt memory state; and  

b. be clearly identified as to which physical 
terminal the critical memory represents, through unique 
identification, such as serial number or other unique terminal 
hardware identifier. 

6. All terminals shall be equipped with a device, 
mechanism, or method for retaining the value of the meter 
information specified in §13135 in the event of a loss of 
power to the terminal. Storage and retrieval of the 
accounting meters from a server is an acceptable method of 
retrieval. 

7. Configuration setting changes shall not cause an 
obstruction to the meters. 

8. If the terminal is in a test, diagnostic, or 
demonstration mode, any test that incorporates credits 
entering or leaving the terminal shall be completed prior to 
resumption of normal operation. In addition, there shall not 
be any mode other than normal wagering operation that 
debits or credits any of the electronic meters. Any wagering 
credits on the terminal that were accrued during the test, 
diagnostic, or demonstration mode shall be cleared before 

the mode is exited. Specific meters are permissible for these 
types of modes, provided the meters are clearly identified. 

9. Terminals shall not allow any information 
contained in a communication to or from the online 
monitoring system that is intended to be protected, including 
validation information, secure personal identification 
numbers, credentials, or secure seeds and keys, to be 
viewable through any display mechanism supported by the 
terminal. 

F. Program storage devices shall be required to comply 
with the following. 

1. All program storage devices shall:  
a. be housed within a fully enclosed and locked 

logic compartment;  
b. validate themselves during each processor reset; 

and  
c. validate themselves the first time they are used. 

2. Program storage devices that do not have the ability 
to be modified while installed in the terminal during normal 
operation shall be clearly marked with information to 
identify the software and revision level of the information 
stored in the devices. 

3. Server-stored information shall be backed up no 
less often than once per day to an offsite storage facility. 
Offsite storage may include storage through a cloud service 
provider if approved by the commission. The server and 
offsite backup storage shall be accessible to the commission 
and subject to third-party checks and validation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13125. Terminal Operational/Software Requirements 

A. Terminals shall have the ability to allow for an 
independent integrity check of all software that may affect 
the integrity of the wagering configurations available to the 
terminal. The integrity check shall be by an independent 
testing laboratory approved by the commission. 

B. If a winning amount is in excess of the thresholds 
established in the Internal Revenue Service reporting 
requirements, the terminal shall cease operation and require 
attendant interaction to proceed. 

C. Terminals shall be capable of detecting and displaying 
the following errors:  

1. open door conditions; 
2. nonvolatile memory errors; 
3. low nonvolatile memory battery for batteries 

external to the nonvolatile memory itself for low power 
source; 

4. program error or authentication mismatch; 
5. display device errors;  
6. the identification of an invalid bill or voucher; and 
7. loss of communication to the tote system. 

D. To protect the integrity of the wagering configuration, 
when a terminal error condition is detected, the terminal 
shall secure itself by:  

1. ceasing play and requiring operator intervention 
prior to returning to normal play; 

2. displaying an appropriate error message; 
3. disabling bill and voucher acceptance; 
4. sounding an alarm, illuminating the tower light, 

displaying the error on screen, or any combination of the 
three; 
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5. communicating the error condition to an online 
monitoring and control system; and 

6. if the terminal is powered down with an unresolved 
error condition, remaining in error mode unless power down 
is used as a part of the error reset procedure. 

E. Upon resolution of an error condition, a terminal may 
return to a wager completion state, provided the wagering 
history, wagering credits, and other meters display the 
completed wager properly. 

F. Terminals shall not be adversely affected by the 
simultaneous or sequential activation of various terminal 
inputs and outputs. 

G. Test, diagnostic, or demonstration modes on a 
terminal shall:  

1. be entered only from an attendant following 
appropriate instructions;  

2. not be accessible to a patron;  
3. be indicated on the terminal via an appropriate 

message; and 
4. upon exiting from test, diagnostic, or demonstration 

mode, a terminal shall return to its previous state. 
H. Available wagering credit may be collected from the 

terminal by the patron at any time other than during:  
1. a bet being wagered;  
2. audit mode;  
3. test mode;  
4. a credit meter or win meter increment; or  
5. an error condition 

I. Terminals shall be capable of displaying wager recall, 
which shall:  

1. include the last 10 wagers on the terminal, 
including at least 50 intermediary steps within those wagers, 
including free spins and bonuses; 

2. be retrievable on the terminal via an external key-
switch or other secure method not available to the patron; 
and  

3. provide all information required to fully reconstruct 
the wagers, including:  

a. initial credits or ending credits associated with 
the wager;  

b. credits wagered;  
c. credits won; 
d. entertaining display symbol combinations and 

credits paid whether the outcome resulted in a win or a loss;  
e. representation in a graphical or text format;  
f. final wager outcome, including all patron choices 

and all bonus features; and  
g. as an optional feature, display of values as 

currency in place of wagering credits. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13127. Requirements for Tickets or Vouchers used in 

Historical Horse Racing 
A. Terminals shall not dispense currency. Payment to 

patrons shall only be accomplished by means of a printed 
voucher. 

B. All vouchers shall contain the following printed 
information at a minimum: 

1. licensee name and site identifier, which may be 
contained on the ticket stock itself;  

2. terminal number or cashier booth location;  
3. date and time stated according to the local time 

zone;  
4. alpha and numeric dollar amount;  
5. ticket or voucher sequence number;  
6. validation number;  
7. bar code or any machine-readable code representing 

the validation number;  
8. type of transaction or other method of 

differentiating voucher types. If the voucher is a noncashable 
item, the ticket shall explicitly express that it has "no cash 
value"; and  

9. the expiration period from date of issue, or date and 
time the ticket or voucher will expire according to the local 
time zone. This information may be contained on the ticket 
stock itself. Payment on valid pari-mutuel tickets, including 
tickets where refunds are ordered, shall be made only upon 
presentation and surrender of valid pari-mutuel tickets to the 
licensee within 180 days after the purchase of the ticket. 
Failure to present any valid pari-mutuel ticket to the licensee 
within 180 days after the purchase of the ticket shall 
constitute a waiver of the right to payment.  

C. A system approved by the commission shall be used 
to validate the payout ticket or voucher. The ticket or 
voucher information on the central system shall be retained 
for two calendar years after a voucher is valid at that 
location. 

D. Payment by voucher as a method of credit redemption 
shall only be permissible when the terminal is linked to a 
computerized voucher validation system that is approved by 
the commission.  

E. The validation system must be able to identify a 
duplicate ticket or voucher to prevent fraud.  

F. Terminals must meet the following minimum 
requirements to incorporate the ability to issue offline 
vouchers after a loss of communication has been identified 
by a wagering terminal.  

1. The wagering terminal shall not issue more offline 
vouchers than it has the ability to retain and display in the 
wagering terminal maintained voucher-out log. 

2. The wagering terminal shall not request validation 
numbers used in the issuance of vouchers until all 
outstanding offline voucher information has been fully 
communicated to the voucher validation system.  

3. The wagering terminal shall request a new set of 
validation numbers used in the issuance of online or offline 
vouchers if the current list of validation numbers has the 
possibility of being compromised, which shall include:  

a. after power has been recycled; or  
b. upon exit of a main door condition.  

4. Validation numbers must always be masked when 
viewable through any display supported by the wagering 
terminal such that only the last four digits of the validation 
number are visible.  

G. Vouchers may be inserted in any terminal 
participating in the validation system providing that no 
credits are issued to the terminal prior to confirmation of 
voucher validity.  

H. The offline voucher redemption may be validated as 
an internal control process. A manual handpay may be 
conducted for the offline voucher value. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13129. Terminal Peripheral Device Requirements 

A. Video monitor touch screens on terminals shall: 
1. be accurate to manufacturer specifications for touch 

point sensitivity; 
2. be able to be calibrated without access to the 

terminal cabinet other than opening the main door, and once 
calibrated shall maintain accuracy for at least the video 
touch screen manufacturer's recommended maintenance 
period; and 

3. have no hidden or undocumented buttons or touch 
points anywhere on the screen that affect wagering or that 
impact the outcome of the bet, except as provided by the 
wagering configuration rules. 

B. Paper currency acceptors used in a terminal shall: 
1. be electronically based; 
2. detect the entry of bills or vouchers inserted into the 

paper currency acceptor and provide a method to enable the 
terminal software to interpret and act appropriately upon a 
valid or invalid input; 

3. be configured to ensure the acceptance of only valid 
bills or vouchers and reject all other items; 

4. return to the patron all rejected bills or vouchers, 
and any other item inserted into the acceptor; 

5. be constructed in a manner that protects against 
vandalism, abuse, or fraudulent activity; 

6. register the actual monetary value or appropriate 
number of wagering credits received for the denomination 
used on the patron's credit meter for each valid bill or 
voucher; 

7. register wagering credits only when the bill or other 
note has passed the point where it is accepted or stacked and 
the acceptor has sent an "irrevocably stacked" message to 
the terminal; 

8. be designed to prevent the use of fraudulent 
crediting, the insertion of foreign objects, and any other 
fraudulent technique; 

9. implement a method of detecting counterfeit bills; 
10. only accept bills or vouchers when the terminal is 

enabled for play; 
11. have the capability of detecting and displaying any 

supported error conditions; 
12. shall communicate with the terminal using a bi-

directional protocol; 
13. be located in a locked area of the terminal that 

requires the opening of the main door for access. The paper 
currency acceptor shall not be located in the logic area. Only 
the bill or voucher insertion area shall be accessible by the 
patron; 

14. have a secure stacker that shall:  
a. deposit into the stacker all accepted items; 
b. be attached to the terminal in such a manner that 

it cannot be easily removed by physical force; and 
c. have a separate keyed lock to access the stacker 

area. The keyed lock shall be separate from the main door, 
and a separate keyed lock shall be required to remove the 
bills from the stacker; and 

15. have a bill validator that shall: 

a. retain in its memory and have the ability to 
display the information required of the last 25 items 
accepted by the bill validator; 

b. have a recall log that may be combined or 
maintained separately by item type. If combined, the type of 
item accepted shall be recorded with the respective 
timestamp; and 

c. give proper credit or return the bill or note if 
power failure occurs during acceptance of a bill or note. 

C. Each terminal shall be equipped with a printer that:  
1. is used to make payments to the patron by issuing a 

printed voucher. The terminal shall transmit the following 
data to an online system that records the following 
information regarding each payout ticket or voucher printed:  

a. the value of credits in local monetary units in 
numerical form;  

b. the time of day the ticket or voucher was printed, 
showing hours and minutes;  

c. the date, in format approved by the commission, 
indicating the day, month, and year that the ticket or voucher 
was issued;  

d. the terminal number; and 
e. a unique ticket or voucher validation number.  

2. prints only one copy to the patron and retains 
information on the last 25 printed vouchers;  

3. is housed in a locked area of the terminal but shall 
not be located within the logic area or the drop box; and 

4. allows control program software to interpret and act 
upon all error conditions. 

D. With appropriate security in place, historical horse 
racing wagering accounts may be funded directly from 
mobile devices and through various advance-deposit account 
funding mechanisms, whether it be through credit card, 
bank, or attendant or kiosk at association locations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13131. Location of Terminals Used for Wagering on 

Historical Horse Races 
A. Terminals offering wagering on historical horse races 

shall be located within designated areas which have the prior 
written approval of the commission. Designated areas shall 
be established in such a way as to control access by the 
general public and prevent entry by any patron who is under 
18 years of age or is otherwise not permitted to place 
wagers. 

B. Each association shall monitor persons entering and 
leaving the designated areas and shall prevent access to any 
patron who is under 18 years of age or is otherwise not 
permitted to place wagers on historical horse races. 

C. Each association shall provide terminals that are 
accessible to handicapped patrons. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13133. Records to be Maintained 

A. Each association shall maintain complete records of 
all pari-mutuel wagering transactions on historical horse 
races, including the amounts wagered at each historical 
horse racing terminal. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 280

B. A copy of the wagering records shall be retained and 
safeguarded for a period of not less than 18 months and shall 
not be destroyed without the prior written permission of the 
commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13135. Accounting and Occurrence Meter 

Requirements 
A. The required accounting meters and related reporting 

as follows using the same or similar terminology: 
1. coin in, which accumulates the total value of all 

wagers, whether the wagered amount results from the 
insertion of bills or vouchers or deduction from a credit 
meter;  

2. coin out, which accumulates the total value of all 
amounts directly paid by the terminal as a result of winning 
wagers, whether the payback is made to a credit meter or 
any other means;  

3. attendant paid jackpot, which accumulates the total 
value of credits paid by an attendant resulting from a single 
wager, in excess of thresholds established by the Internal 
Revenue Service reporting requirements, the amount of 
which results in Internal Revenue Service or applicable 
agency reporting;  

4. attendant paid canceled credit, which accumulates 
the total value paid by an attendant resulting from a patron-
initiated cashout or non-taxable winning wager that exceeds 
the physical or configured capability of the terminal to make 
the proper payout amount; 

5. bill in, which accumulates the total value of 
currency accepted. Each wagering terminal shall have a 
specific occurrence meter for each denomination of currency 
accepted that records the number of bills accepted of each 
denomination;  

6. voucher in, which accumulates the total value of all 
wagering terminal vouchers accepted by the device; 

7. voucher out, which accumulates the total value of 
all wagering terminal vouchers issued by the device;  

8. noncashable electronic promotion in, which 
accumulates the total value of noncashable credits from 
vouchers accepted by the terminal; 

9. cashable electronic promotion in, which 
accumulates the total value of cashable credits from 
vouchers accepted by the terminal;  

10. noncashable electronic promotion out, which 
accumulates the total value of noncashable credits issued to 
vouchers by the device; and  

11. cashable electronic promotion out, which 
accumulates the total value of cashable credits issued to 
vouchers by the device.  

B. Additional required occurrence meters are as follows:  
1. cashable promotional credit wagered, which 

accumulates the total value of promotional cashable credits 
that are wagered;  

2. plays wagered, which accumulates the number of 
wagers placed; and  

3. plays won, which accumulates the number of 
wagers resulting in a win to the patron.  

C. Electronic accounting meters shall maintain and 
calculate data to at least 10 digits in length.  

D. Electronic accounting meters shall be maintained in 
credit units equal to the denomination or in dollars and cents.  

E. If the electronic accounting meter is maintained in 
dollars and cents, eight digits must be used for the dollar 
amount and two digits must be used for the cents amount.  

F. Devices configured for multi-denomination wagering 
shall display the units in dollars and cents at all times. 

G. Any time the meter exceeds a value it is not capable 
of exceeding, the meter must roll over to zero.  

H. Occurrence meters shall be at least eight digits in 
length but are not required to automatically roll over. 

I. Meters shall be identified so that they can be clearly 
understood in accordance with their function.  

J. Meters can be on the server instead of the terminal. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13137. Required Reports for Wagering on Historical 

Horse Races; Audit and Inspection by the 
Commission 

A. All systems used for pari-mutuel wagering on 
historical horse races shall provide financial reports for 
individual approved wager model configurations and total 
pool amounts for each pool. Reports shall be available at the 
end of the wagering day or upon request by the commission 
with information current since the end of the last wagering 
day. The reports shall include: 

1. current values of each pari-mutuel wagering pool;  
2. total amounts wagered for all pools;  
3. total amounts won by patrons for all pools;  
4. total commission withheld for all pools;  
5. total breakage for all pools, where applicable;  
6. total amount wagered at each terminal;  
7. total amount won by patrons at a terminal;  
8. the amount wagered on each mathematical model 

configuration and the amount won from each mathematical 
model configuration offered at a terminal;  

9. total amount of each type of financial instrument 
inserted into a terminal;  

10. total amount cashed out in voucher or handpays at a 
terminal; and  

11. taxable win events including:  
a. time and date of win;  
b. wagering terminal identification number;  
c. amount wagered resulting in taxable win; and  
d. taxable amount won.  

B. As provided in §13118, the commission or its 
authorized representatives may, at any time, conduct an audit 
or inspection of the financial reports, software, terminals, or 
other equipment used by a licensee in conducting operations 
under this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13139. Equipment and Laboratory Testing 

A. Each association shall provide for a nationally 
recognized, independent testing laboratory approved by the 
commission to submit to the commission a general 
functional evaluation laboratory report regarding the 
hardware and software installed on each historical horse
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racing terminal and the software on each historical horse 
racing app indicating whether same is in compliance with 
applicable law and regulations. 

B. Any alterations, modifications, or updates to the 
software or hardware on any historical horse racing terminal 
or the software on any historical horse racing app shall 
require the vendor to submit to the commission a new 
laboratory report as required under Subsection A of this 
Section before the wagering configuration may be used for 
play at an establishment. 

C. If there is a complete breakdown of a terminal 
offering wagering on historical horse racing, the association 
offering the wager shall make a full refund of the patron's 
balance on the terminal at the time of the breakdown. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13141. Minimum Wagers and Payouts 

A. The minimum wager to be accepted by an association 
on a wager based on the outcome of a historical horse race 
or races shall be $0.10. The minimum payout on any wager 
shall not be less than the amount wagered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13143. Odds and Payouts Posted 

A. For wagering on historical horse races, approximate 
odds or payouts for each pari-mutuel pool shall be posted or 
made available on each terminal for viewing by patrons. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13145. Betting Explanation 

A. Each association shall post, in conspicuous places in 
the designated area, a general explanation of pari-mutuel 
wagering offered on historical horse races and an 
explanation of each pari-mutuel pool offered. The 
explanation shall be submitted to the commission for 
approval prior to its posting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13147. Wagering Terminal Historical Horse Race 

Display 
A. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 

clearly identify the entertaining theme, if any, being used to 
offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing. The 
video display shall make available the rules of the historical 
horse racing wager and the award that will be paid to the 
patron when the patron obtains a specific win. 

B. All paytable information, rules of play, and help 
screen information shall be available to a patron prior to 
placing a wager.  

C. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 
make available to the patron the rules of any features or 
interactive functions that may occur on the patron interface 
as part of the entertaining display of the wager and its 
outcome. The video displays shall: 

1. clearly identify the entertaining theme, if any, being 
used to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse 
racing; 

2. make the following information available to the 
patron: 

a. all paytable information, rules of play, and help 
screen information; 

b. the award that will be paid to the patron when the 
patron obtains a specific win; and 

c. the rules of any features or interactive functions 
that may occur as part of the entertaining display of the 
wager and its outcome; 

3. provide the race data in a reasonable manner as to 
not discourage patrons who wish to handicap from doing so; 
and 

4. allows the patron to compare their picks against the 
true order of finish. 

D. The video display shall clearly indicate whether 
awards are designated in credits or currency.  

E. All wagering terminals shall display the following 
information to the patron at all times the wagering terminal 
is available for patron wager input:  

1. the patron's current credit balance in currency or 
credits;  

2. the current bet amount;  
3. the amount won for the last completed wager until 

the next wager starts or betting options are modified; 
4. the patron’s options selected for the last completed 

wager until the next wager starts or a new selection is made; 
and 

5. a disclaimer stating "Malfunction Voids All Pays" 
or some equivalent wording approved by the commission. 
This may be presented as a permanent sign on the terminal.  

F. Entertaining features that simulate bonus or free plays 
shall meet the following requirements:  

1. the initiation of a bonus or free play shall only be 
based on the result of the wager placed by the patron on the 
result of the historical horse race selected for the wager;  

2. the bonus or free play shall not require additional 
money to be wagered by the patron;  

3. the entertaining display shall make it clear to the 
patron that the patron is in bonus mode to avoid the 
possibility of the patron unknowingly leaving the wagering 
terminal while in a bonus mode; and  

4. if the bonus or free play requires an input from the 
patron, the terminal shall provide a means to complete the 
bonus or free play from a touch screen or hard button.  

G. Electronic metering displays shall:  
1. at all times include all credits or cash available for 

the patron to wager or cash out unless the terminal is in an 
error or malfunction state. This information is not required 
when the patron is viewing a menu or help screen item;  

2. reflect the value of every prize at the end of a wager 
and add it to the patron's credit meter, except for handpays; 
and  

3. show the cash value collected by the patron upon a 
cashout unless the terminal is in an error or malfunction 
state. The production of a voucher containing this 
information shall be sufficient. 
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H. A wager is complete when the final transfer to the 
patron's credit meter takes place or when all credits wagered 
are lost. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13149. Access by Commission and Agents of the 

Commission 
A. Each association shall allow the commission and the 

agents of the commission unrestricted access to inspect the 
entire premises wherein historical horse racing is being 
conducted at any time to ensure that the Rules of Racing are 
being followed, this shall include the unrestricted access to 
inspect and test any mechanical, electrical, or electronic 
devices thereon being utilized or capable of being utilized by 
the association for historical horse racing. 

B. Subject to the authority of the executive director, the 
commission may at any time enter into memoranda of 
understanding with other racing jurisdictions to share 
historical horse racing investigatory findings, documents, 
and materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 
§13151. Required Audits and Inspections 

A. Terminals shall have the ability to allow for an 
independent integrity check of all software that may affect 
the integrity of the wagering system. The integrity check 
shall be performed by an independent testing laboratory 
approved by the commission. 

B. The independent testing laboratory's software may be 
embedded within the wagering software, utilize an interface 
port to communicate with the terminal, or require the 
removal of terminal media for external verification. 

C. Each terminal used for wagering on historical horse 
races shall be tested by the independent testing laboratory to 
ensure its integrity and proper working order. This 
evaluation shall include a review of installed software prior 
to implementation and periodically within a timeframe 
established by the commission.  

D. The licensee shall pay the cost of the independent 
testing laboratory's review and testing, and the reports of the 
same shall be delivered to the licensee and the commission.  

E. To ensure the integrity of pari-mutuel wagering and 
validity of the race results, the licensee shall permit an 
integrity auditor, selected and paid for by the commission, 
complete access to review and monitor the integrity, security, 
and operation, including all race and handicapping data used 
in order to detect any compromise of or anomalies that 
would allow a player to have an unfair advantage.  

F. The integrity auditor shall be in a position to extract 
actual data and use a statistically significant portion of this 
data applied to quality assurance testing and assess the 
validity of the vendor's management reporting by cross-
referencing to a body of raw source information to determine 
correctness. The integrity auditor shall have experience and 
expertise involving all components of pari-mutuel wagering 
and totalizator systems.  

G. The integrity auditor will collect and provide 
wagering data and reports from the licensee's vendor. This 
shall include pari-mutuel commission and liability reports 
for analysis and verification of the amounts wagered, 
payouts, takeout, and taxes in addition to all transactional 
data logs and reports daily as specified by the integrity 
auditor.  

H. The licensee shall provide access to the integrity 
auditor to conduct periodic onsite inspections and terminal 
audits at licensed racetracks and satellite wagering facilities 
with assistance from the vendor. The licensee shall notify of 
and any adverse or unusual occurrences relating to the 
operation of play or payouts to the integrity auditor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 48: 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

2202#012 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Payment for Outpatient Surgery Services 

COVID-19 Laboratory Testing 
(LAC 50:V.5301) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopts LAC 50:V.5301 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.1 et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing 
outpatient hospital services in order to provide 
reimbursement for laboratory testing for Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) separately from outpatient 
hospital surgery fee schedule payments. 

It is anticipated that this Emergency Rule will result in 
programmatic costs in the Medicaid Program of 
approximately $37,073 for State Fiscal Year 2021-2022. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by providing additional funding for 
COVID-19 testing. 

Effective February 10, 2022, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing outpatient hospital services in order to provide 
reimbursement for laboratory testing for COVID-19 
separately from outpatient hospital surgery fee schedule 
payments. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5301. Payment for Outpatient Surgery Services 

A. Payment for outpatient surgery services is a flat rate 
in accordance with the published fee schedule. The flat rate 
payment covers all services provided during the outpatient 
surgical admission. There shall be no cost settlement for 
outpatient surgery services except for the specific hospital 
types identified in Subchapter B of this Chapter. 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after February 
10, 2022, the Medicaid Program shall provide 
reimbursement for Coronavirus Disease 2019 laboratory 
testing in addition to the outpatient surgery fee schedule flat 
fee reimbursement amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Patrick Gillies, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Mr. Gillies is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#055 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program  
Over-the-Counter At-Home COVID-19 Tests  

(LAC 50:XXIX.107) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends LAC 50:XXIX.107 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953.1 et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requires 

states to provide reimbursement in the Medical Assistance 
Program for over-the-counter (OTC) at-home tests for 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) that have been 
authorized by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). In 
compliance with CMS requirements, the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby amends 
the provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program in order to include coverage for FDA-
authorized OTC at-home tests for COVID-19. 

It is anticipated that this Emergency Rule will result in 
programmatic costs in the Medicaid Program of 
approximately $34,123 for State Fiscal Year 2021-2022. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring access to COVID-19 tests. 

Effective February 4, 2022, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 
governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program in 
order to provide coverage for OTC at-home COVID-19 
tests. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§107. Prior Authorization 

A. - C.3. ... 
D. Drugs Excluded from Coverage. As provided by 

§1927(d)(2) of the Social Security Act, the following drugs 
are excluded from program coverage: 

1. - 4.o. ... 
5. select nonprescription drugs except OTC 

antihistamines and antihistamine/decongestant combinations 
and polyethylene glycol 3350 (Miralax®) and OTC at-home 
COVID-19 FDA-authorized tests; 

E. - E.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and the 1995-96 
General Appropriations Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1053 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43:1180 (June 2017), LR 43:1553 (August 2017), LR 45:665 (May 
2019), LR 46:33 (January 2020), LR 48: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Patrick Gillies, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030. Mr. Gillies is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#018
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health  
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Programs and Services Amendments Due to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency—

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers and Long-
Term Personal Care Services 

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization 
declared a public health emergency of international concern 
and on January 31, 2020, U.S. Health and Human Services 
Secretary Alex M. Azar II declared a public health 
emergency for the United States, effective as of January 27, 
2020, in response to the recent coronavirus disease 2019 
(hereafter referred to as COVID-19) outbreak. On March 11, 
2020, Governor John Bel Edwards declared a statewide 
public health emergency to exist in the State of Louisiana as 
a result of the imminent threat posed to Louisiana citizens by 
COVID-19. Likewise, the presidential declaration of a 
national emergency due to COVID-19 has an effective date 
of March 1, 2020. 

In response to these public health emergency declarations 
and the rapid advancement of COVID-19 throughout 
Louisiana, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult Services 
(OAAS), the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH), and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) 
promulgated Emergency Rules which amended the 
provisions of Title 50 of the Louisiana Administrative Code 
in order to adopt temporary measures to provide for the 
continuation of essential programs and services to ensure the 
health and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 4 and Louisiana 
Register, Volume 46, Number 7). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule, adopted 
on August 25, 2020, to further amend the Adult Day Health 
Care (ADHC) Waiver and the Community Choices Waiver 
(CCW), and to amend the provisions governing long term-
personal care services (LT-PCS) in order to ensure that these 
services continue uninterrupted throughout the COVID-19 
public health emergency declaration. This Emergency Rule 
also clarified that the home and community-based services 
(HCBS) waiver provisions of the Emergency Rules 
published in the April 20, 2020 edition of the Louisiana 
Register which correspond to Louisiana’s section 1915(c) 
Appendix K waiver will remain in effect for the duration of 
the Emergency Rules published in April 2020 or until the 
Appendix K waiver termination date of January 26, 2021, 
whichever is later (Louisiana Register, Volume 46, Number 
9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 
continue the provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted on 
August 25, 2020. 

This Emergency Rule shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or 
the duration of the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration, whichever is shorter. 

Effective February 20, 2022, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, OAAS and OCDD 
hereby amend the provisions governing the ADHC Waiver, 
the CCW, and LT-PCS throughout the COVID-19 public 
health emergency declaration, and clarify that the HCBS 
waiver provisions which correspond to Louisiana’s section 
1915(c) Appendix K waiver will remain in effect for the 
duration of the Emergency Rules published in the April 20, 
2020 Louisiana Register or until the Appendix K waiver 
termination date of January 26, 2021, whichever is later, in 
order to continue the provisions of the Emergency Rule 
adopted on August 25, 2020. 
Services for Special Populations—Personal Care Services 

(LAC 50:XV.Subpart 9) 
Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration, the Office of Aging and Adult Services (OAAS) 
may also utilize the level of care eligibility tool (LOCET) to 
determine if an individual meets eligibility qualifications for 
long term-personal care services (LT-PCS) and to determine 
resource allocation while identifying his/her need for support 
in performance of activities of daily living (ADLs) and 
instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs). 

The LOCET may also be used to generate a score that 
measures the recipient’s degree of self-performance of late-
loss activities of daily living during the period just before the 
assessment. Criteria used to generate the score will be 
consistent with criteria on the interRAI home care 
assessment tool currently used. This score will correspond 
with the same level of support category and allocation of 
weekly service hours associated with that level. 

OAAS may use the LOCET until such time as the 
applicant/recipient is able to be assessed using the uniform 
interRAI home care assessment tool. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waiver 
Adult Day Health Care (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 3) 

During the COVID-19 public health emergency 
declaration, and with approval from the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the following 
options may be available through the Adult Day Health Care 
(ADHC) Waiver: 

The State may allow ADHC providers to provide services 
telephonically to waiver participants that cannot attend the 
ADHC center to ensure continuity of services. 

The State is adding the following services in the ADHC 
Waiver: 

Home Delivered Meals. The purpose of home delivered 
meals is to assist in meeting the nutritional needs of an 
individual in support of the maintenance of self-sufficiency 
and enhancing the quality of life. Up to two nutritionally 
balanced meals per day may be delivered to the home of the 
participant. This service may be provided by the ADHC 
provider. 

Assistive Devices and Medical Supplies. Assistive 
devices and medical supplies are specialized medical 
equipment and supplies that include: 

Devices, controls, appliances or nutritional supplements 
specified in the Plan of Care that enable participants to 
increase their ability to perform activities of daily living 
(ADLs); 

Devices, controls, appliances or nutritional supplements 
that enable participants to perceive, control or communicate 
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with the environment in which they live or provide 
emergency response; 

Items, supplies and services necessary for life support, 
ancillary supplies, and equipment necessary to the proper 
functioning of such items; 

Supplies and services to assure participants’ health and 
welfare; 

Other durable and non-durable medical equipment and 
necessary medical supplies that are necessary but not 
available under the Medicaid State Plan; 

Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS); 
Other in-home monitoring and medication management 

devices and technology; 
Routine maintenance or repair of specialized equipment; 

and 
Batteries, extended warranties and service contracts that 

are cost effective and assure health and welfare. 
This includes medical equipment not available under the 

Medicaid State Plan that is necessary to address participant 
functional limitations and necessary medical supplies not 
available under the Medicaid State Plan. 

Home and Community-Based Services Waiver 
Community Choices Waiver (LAC 50:XXI.Subpart 7) 
During the COVID-19 public health emergency 

declaration, and with approval from the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the state may allow 
ADHC providers to provide services telephonically to 
waiver participants that cannot attend the ADHC center to 
ensure continuity of services. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Patrick Gillies, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Mr. Gillies is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#047 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Louisiana Sports Wagering 
(LAC 42:III.301, 303, 304 and 

VI.103, 501, 503, 505, 509, 517) 

The Gaming Control Board is exercising the emergency 
provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, specifically 
R.S. 49:953.1, and also R.S.27:15 and 24, to promulgate an 
Emergency Rule to implement the initial administrative rules 
for the conducting, application, licensing, enforcement, and 
regulation of sports wagering. 

During their 2021 Regular Session, the Louisiana 
Legislature adopted Act 440, which directs the Gaming 
Control Board to adopt emergency rules for the 

promulgation of the initial administrative rules pertaining to 
sports wagering that shall be considered to constitute a 
matter of imminent peril to public health, safety, and 
welfare.  

The Gaming Control Board has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary to comply with the legislative 
mandate in Act 440 of the 2021 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. This Emergency Rule shall become 
effective January 23, 2022 and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed by the APA unless extended or 
rescinded. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part III.  Gaming Control Board 
Chapter 3. Compulsive and Problem Gambling 
§301. Problem Gambling Programs 

A. As used in this Chapter, licensee shall mean all 
persons licensed or otherwise authorized to conduct gaming 
operations pursuant to the provisions of Chapters 4, 5 7, and 
10 of the Louisiana Gaming Control Law, R.S. 27:1 et seq., 
including the casino operator and casino manager and sports 
wagering platform providers, but not including persons 
licensed pursuant to Chapter 8 of the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Law. As used in this Chapter, sports wagering 
platform includes all websites and mobile applications used 
to place sports wagers.  

B. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall post or provide written materials concerning 
the nature and symptoms of problem gambling in 
conspicuous places within the gaming establishment in or 
near gaming areas and areas where cash or credit is made 
available to patrons, including cash dispensing machines. 
Licensees shall include access to such written materials on 
its sports wagering platform.  

C. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall post one or more signs, as approved by the 
division, at points of entry to casino gaming establishments 
to inform customers of the toll free telephone number 
available to provide information and referral services 
regarding compulsive or problem gambling. The toll free 
number shall be provided by the division. Licensees shall 
include such information and toll free number on its sports 
wagering platform. 

D. … 
E.1. The casino operator or casino manager and all 

licensees shall develop a comprehensive program for its 
property or properties and sports wagering platform(s), that 
address, at a minimum, the areas of concern described in 
R.S. 27:27.1.C which are designed to: 

a. provide procedures designed to prevent 
employees from willfully permitting a person identified on a 
Self-Exclusion List from engaging in gaming activities at the 
licensed establishment or facility or on the sports wagering 
platform; 

b. … 
c. provide procedures for the development of 

programs to address issues of underage gambling and 
unattended minors at gaming facilities and on sports 
wagering platforms; 

d. - e. … 
f. provide procedures for removing or excluding 

self-excluded persons from the licensed establishment or 
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facility or sports wagering platform. These procedures may 
include, if necessary, procedures that include obtaining the 
assistance of the division or local law enforcement; 

g. … 
h. provide procedures for the distribution or posting 

within the gaming establishment, facility, or sports wagering 
platform of information that promotes public awareness 
about problem gambling and provides information on 
available services and resources to those who have a 
gambling problem; 

1.i. - 2. … 
3. In addition to the areas of concern described in R.S. 

27:27.1.C, the comprehensive program shall also include a 
program that allows patrons to self-limit their access to 
functions and amenities of the gaming establishment, 
facility, or sports wagering platform, including but not 
limited to, the issuance of credit, check cashing or direct 
mail marketing. 

F. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall submit the comprehensive program to the 
board for approval within 120 days from the date this rule 
becomes effective as required by R.S. 27:27.1.C. 
Amendments to the program shall be submitted to the board 
for approval prior to implementation. 

G. Upon approval, the casino operator, casino manager 
and all licensees shall comply with their respective 
comprehensive compulsive and problem gambling programs 
submitted to the board. 

H. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 28:1987 
(September 2002), LR 48: 
§303. Persons Required to be Excluded 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 27:27.2, the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Board hereby provides for the establishment of a list 
of persons who are to be excluded or ejected from any room, 
premises, or designated gaming area of an establishment, or 
from a sports wagering platform, where gaming is conducted 
pursuant to Chapters 4, 5, 7, and 10 of the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Law, R.S. 27:1 et seq. 

B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when 
used in this Section, shall have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Board Exclusion List―a list of names of persons who, 

pursuant to R.S. 27:27.2, are required to be excluded or 
ejected from casino gaming establishments and sports 
wagering platforms. 

* * * 
Casino Gaming Establishment―any room, premises, or 

designated gaming area of any establishment where gaming 
is conducted pursuant to Chapters 4, 5, 7, and 10 of the 
Louisiana Gaming Control Law and all sports wagering 
platforms pursuant to Chapter 10 of the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Law. 

* * * 

C. Criteria for Exclusion 
1. The board exclusion list may include any person 

who meets any of the following criteria: 
a. a Career or Professional Offender whose 

presence on or in a casino gaming establishment would be 
adverse to the interests of the state of Louisiana or to 
authorized gaming therein; 

b. an associate of a career or professional offender 
whose association is such that his or her presence on or in a 
casino gaming establishment would be adverse to the 
interests of the state of Louisiana or to authorized gaming 
therein; 

c. - e. … 
f. is a person whose presence on or in a casino 

gaming establishment would be adverse to the state of 
Louisiana or authorized gaming therein, including, but not 
limited to: 
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. persons who pose a threat to the safety of the 
patrons or employees of the casino operator or casino 
manager or any licensee; 

C.1.f.iv. - F.1.f. … 
g. the person's occupation and his current home, 

business, and electronic mail address; and 
F.1.h. - G.1. … 

2. The list shall be open to public inspection except 
information pertaining to the date of birth, driver's license 
number, state identification number, Social Security number 
and current home, business, and electronic mailing address 
of the board excluded person. 

3. … 
4. No licensee, the casino operator or casino manager 

or any employee, or agent thereof shall disclose the date of 
birth or current home, business, or electronic mailing 
address of a board excluded person to anyone other than 
employees or agents of licensees, or approved contracted 
entities, whose duties and functions require access to such 
information. 

H. Duties of the Casino Operator or Casino Manager and 
Licensees  

1. The casino operator or casino manager, licensees 
and their agents or employees shall exclude or eject the 
following persons from the casino gaming establishment: 

a. - b. … 
2. a. If a board excluded person enters, attempts to 

enter, or is in the casino gaming establishment and is 
discovered by the casino operator or casino manager or any 
licensee, the casino operator or casino manager or licensee 
shall immediately notify the division of such fact and, unless 
otherwise directed by the division, immediately eject such 
excluded person from the casino gaming establishment. 

b. If a board excluded person gains access to a 
sports wagering platform, the licensee shall immediately 
notify the division and immediately exclude the person from 
the platform.  

3. Upon discovery of a board excluded person in or on 
the casino gaming establishment, both the security and 
surveillance departments, or the departments responsible for
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sports wagering platform security, of the casino operator, 
casino manager and licensees shall initiate a joint 
investigation, unless otherwise directed by the division, to 
determine: 

a. - b. … 
4. The casino operator, casino manager, and each 

licensee shall take reasonable steps to ensure that no 
winnings or losses arising as a result of prohibited casino 
gaming activity are paid or recovered by a board excluded 
person. 

5. It shall be the continuing duty of the casino 
operator, casino manager, and each licensee to inform the 
board and division in writing of the names of persons it 
knows or has reason to know are appropriate for placement 
on the board exclusion list. 

I. Sanctions  
1. Any licensee, casino operator or casino manager 

who willfully fails to exclude a board excluded person from 
the casino gaming establishment shall be in violation of 
these rules and may be subject to administrative action 
pursuant to R.S. 27:27.2.F and this Section. 

I.2. - J.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 28:1988 
(September 2002), LR 48: 
§304. Self-Exclusion 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 27:27.1, the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Board hereby provides for the establishment of a list 
of persons who, at his or her request, are to be excluded or 
ejected from all casino gaming establishments licensed or 
operating pursuant to Chapters 4, 5, 7, and 10 of the 
Louisiana Gaming Control Law, R.S. 27:1 et seq. 

B. Definitions 
1. The following words and terms, when used in this 

Section, shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Casino Gaming Establishment―any room, premises, 
or designated gaming area of any establishment where 
gaming is conducted pursuant to Chapters 4, 5, 7, and 10 of 
the Louisiana Gaming Control Law and all sports wagering 
platforms pursuant to Chapter 10 of the Louisiana Gaming 
Control Law. 

* * * 
Self-Exclusion List―a list of names of persons who 

have voluntarily agreed to be excluded from all gaming 
activities and to be prohibited from collecting any winnings 
or recovering any losses at or from all casino gaming 
establishments.  

C. - C.4.a.ii. … 
 iii. current home, business, and electronic mailing 
address; 
 iv. - vii. … 

b. a waiver and release which shall release, forever 
discharge, indemnify and hold harmless the state of 
Louisiana, the Louisiana Gaming Control Board ("Board"), 
the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police ("State Police"), the Department of 
Justice, Office of the Attorney General ("Attorney General's 
Office"), all licensees, the casino operator and casino 
manager and their members, agents, and employees, from 
any liability to the person requesting self-exclusion and his 

or her heirs, administrators, executors and assigns for any 
harm, monetary or otherwise, which may arise out of or by 
reason of any act or omission relating to the request for self-
exclusion, request for removal from the self-exclusion list, 
or removal from the self-exclusion list, including: 
 i. … 
 ii. the failure of the casino operator or casino 
manager or a licensee to withhold gaming privileges from, 
or restore gaming privileges to, a self-excluded person; 
 iii. permitting a self-excluded person to engage in 
gaming activity in or on a casino gaming establishment 
while on the list of self-excluded persons; and 
 iv. … 

c. the following statement signed by the person 
submitting the request for self-exclusion: 

"I understand and read the English language or have had an 
interpreter read and explain this form. I am voluntarily 
requesting exclusion from all gaming activities at or on all 
Louisiana casino gaming establishments (which includes 
sports wagering platforms) because I am a compulsive and/or 
problem gambler. I certify that the information that I have 
provided above is true and accurate, and that I have read, 
understand, and agree to the waiver and release included with 
this request for self-exclusion. I am aware that my signature 
below authorizes the Board or the State Police to direct all 
Louisiana licensees, including the casino operator and casino 
manager and sports wagering platform providers, to restrict 
my gaming activities and access to casino gaming 
establishments for a minimum period of five years from the 
date of exclusion. During such period of time, I will not 
attempt to enter any casino gaming establishment or attempt to 
participate in gaming actity on a sports wagering platform. I 
further understand that my name will remain on the Self-
Exclusion List until 1) I submit a written request to the Board 
to terminate my self-exclusion; 2) a hearing is held; and 3) 
there is a written decision of the Board determining that there 
is no longer a basis for me to be maintained on the list. I am 
aware that I cannot request removal from the list before five 
years have elapsed from the date of exclusion. I am aware and 
agree that during any period of self-exclusion, I shall not 
collect in any manner or proceeding any winnings or recover 
any losses resulting from any gaming activity at any casino 
gaming establishment or on a sports wagering platform and 
that any money or thing of value obtained by me from, or 
owed to me by, the sports wagering platform provider, casino 
operator, casino manager, or a licensee as a result of wagers 
made by me while on the Self-Exclusion List shall be withheld 
and remitted to the state of Louisiana." 

C.4.d. - D.2. … 
3. The list shall be distributed by the division to the 

casino operator or casino manager and each licensee who 
shall acknowledge receipt of the list in writing. The division 
shall notify the casino operator, casino manager and all 
licensees of the addition of new names and removal of 
names from the Self-Exclusion List within two business 
days of the effective date of such action. 

4. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall maintain a copy of the self-exclusion list and 
shall establish procedures to ensure that the self-exclusion 
list is updated and that all appropriate members, employees 
and agents of the casino operator or casino manager and 
each licensee are notified of any addition to or deletion from 
the list within five business days after receipt of the notice 
from the division. Appropriate members, employees, and 
agents of the casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee are those whose duties and functions require access 
to such information. The notice provided by the division 
shall include the name and date of birth of any person whose 
name shall be removed from the self-exclusion list and the 
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following information concerning any person whose name 
shall be added to the self-exclusion list: 

a. - b. … 
c. address of current residence and electronic mail; 

4.d. - 5.  … 
6.a. Except as otherwise provided herein, neither the 

casino operator, casino manager, nor any licensee, 
employee, or agent thereof shall disclose the self-exclusion 
list or the name of, or any information about, any person 
who has requested self-exclusion to anyone other than 
employees and agents of the casino operator, casino 
manager, or licensee whose duties and functions require 
access to such information. Notwithstanding the foregoing, 
the casino operator, casino manager, and each casino 
licensee may disclose the name of and information about a 
self-excluded person to appropriate employees of other 
casino licensees in Louisiana for the purpose of alerting 
other casinos that a self-excluded person has tried to gamble 
or otherwise obtain gaming related privileges or benefits in a 
casino gaming establishment. The casino operator or casino 
manager and each licensee may contract with an entity who 
provides identification services or who assists in identifying 
self-exluded persons in order to exlude the person from 
gaming, and may distribute the self-exclusion list to the 
contracted entity in accordance with internal controls. 
Nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit the licensee 
from disclosing the identity of self-excluded persons to 
affiliated entities in Louisiana and other gaming jurisdictions 
for the limited purpose of assisting in the proper 
administration of compulsive and problem gaming programs 
operated by such affiliated entities. 

b. The casino operator, casino manager, or a 
licensee may release the names and identifying information 
of those persons on the self-excluded list to contracted 
service providers that provide patron identification services, 
or check cashing, marketing, credit evaluations, automated 
teller machines, cash advances, or other financial services 
provided: 
 i. … 
 ii. only the name and identifying information may 
be disclosed to the contracted service provider. The casino 
operator, casino manager, or a licensee shall neither disclose 
the reasons for providing the name and identifying 
information nor shall it be disclosed that the person is on the 
self-excluded list; 
 iii. the casino operator, casino manager, or a 
licensee shall require by written contract that the contracted 
service provider implement measures designed to ensure the 
confidentiality of the names and identifying information and 
to prohibit the release of the names and identifying 
information to any other person or entity; 
 iv. the casino operator, casino manager, or a 
licensee shall immediately report to the Division all 
instances of a self-excluded person accessing or attempting 
to access the services provided by the contracted service 
providers and investigate the incident as required by LAC 
42:III.304(E). 

c. … 

E. Duties of the Casino Operator, Casino Manager, and 
each Licensee 

1. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall establish procedures that are designed, to the 
greatest extent practicable, to: 

a. permit appropriate employees of the casino 
operator or casino manager and the licensee to identify a 
self-excluded person when present on or in the casino 
gaming establishment and, upon such identification, 
immediately notify: 

i. those employees of the casino operator or casino 
manager and the licensee designated to monitor the presence 
of self-excluded persons; and 

a.ii. - d. … 
2. The casino operator or casino manager and each 

licensee shall distribute a packet of written materials 
approved by the division to any person inquiring or 
requesting information concerning the board's self-exclusion 
program. 

3. … 
4.a. If a self-excluded person enters, attempts to enter, 

or is in or on the casino gaming establishment and is 
discovered by the casino operator or casino manager or any 
licensee, the casino operator or casino manager or licensee 
shall immediately notify the division of such fact and, unless 
otherwise directed by the division, immediately eject such 
excluded person from the casino gaming establishment. 

b. If a self excluded person gains access to a sports 
wagering platform, the licensee shall immediately notify the 
division and immediately exclude the person from the 
platform.  

5. Upon discovery of a self-excluded person on or in 
the casino gaming establishment, both the security and 
surveillance departments, or the departments responsible for 
sports wagering platform security, of the casino operator, 
casino manager and licensees shall initiate a joint 
investigation, unless otherwise directed by the division to 
determine: 

a. responsibility of employees of the gaming 
establishment or licensee for allowing an excluded person to 
gain access to the casino gaming establishment; and 

b. the net amount of winnings or losses attributable 
to the excluded person. 

6. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall provide a written report of the results of the 
joint investigation to the division. 

7. The casino operator or casino manager and each 
licensee shall ensure that no winnings or losses arising as a 
result of prohibited gaming activity are paid or recovered by 
a self-excluded person. 

F. Sanctions 
1. Any licensee, casino operator, or casino manager 

who willfully fails to exclude a self-excluded person from 
the casino gaming establishment shall be in violation of 
these rules and may be subject to administrative action 
pursuant to R.S. 27:27.1.J and this Section. 

F.2. - G.2. … 
3. If the hearing officer determines that there is no 

longer a basis for the person seeking removal to be
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maintained on the self-exclusion list, the person's name shall 
be removed from the self-exclusion list and his or her 
exclusion shall be terminated. The division shall notify the 
casino operator or casino manager and all licensees of the 
determination. The casino operator, casino Manger or any 
licensee may continue to deny gaming privileges to persons 
who have been removed from the list. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 28:1990 
(September 2002), amended LR 30:2493 (November 2004), LR 
35:2199 (October 2009), LR 48: 

Part VI.  Sports Wagering 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

A. … 
B. As used in this Chapter, the following words and 

terms shall have the following meanings: 
* * * 

Prohibited Player—a person who is prohibited from 
placing a sports wager for reasons including, but not limited 
to: prohibited by R.S. 27:608; is under the age of 21; has 
self-restricted or self-excluded from the platform or operator 
or licensee; or is excluded or prohibited for any other reason. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 48: 
Chapter 5. Rules; Operations 
§501. Sports Wagering Operator Requirements and 

Restrictions; Internal Controls; Comprehensive 
Rules 

A. - C. … 
D. Licensees and operators shall not accept a sports 

wager from a prohibited player or from anyone employed by 
itself or its sports wagering licensee or sports wagering 
platform provider partner. 

E. - F. … 
1. prohibit a player from placing a sports wagering 

while the player is located in a prohibited parish; 
2. - 11. … 
12. withholding all winnings from players determined 

to be under the age of 21 or for any wagers determined to 
have been placed from within a prohibited parish; 

F.13. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 48: 
§503. Sports Wagering Platforms; Identification of 

Licensee; Duties of Licensee and Operators  
A. - F. … 
G. If the session is terminated due to a player inactivity 

timeout, no further participation is permitted unless and until 
a new session is established by the player. This process shall 
include, at a minimum, the manual entry of the player’s 
secure password or an alternate form of authentication 
approved by the board. 

H. The board may, at its sole discretion, determine 
whether a licensee or operator shall cooperate with 
investigations conducted by sports governing bodies or law 

enforcement agencies. The board, in its sole discretion or 
through the division, may limit or prohibit the sharing of 
certain information or documents requested pursuant to an 
investigation. A licensee or operator shall not share any 
information that would interfere or impede a criminal 
investigation or an investigation of the board or division. 
Information shared under this Subsection by a licensee or 
operator to a sports governing body is confidential, unless 
disclosure is required by the board or division or court order 
for enforcement or legal purposes and ordered to be made 
public in the course thereof. No such information shall be 
used for any commercial or marketing purposes by the 
recipient of any confidential information without the express 
written approval by the providing party.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 48: 
§505. Prohibited Parish; Geolocation, Geofencing; 

Proxy Servers 
A. … 
B. Operators shall implement and abide by protocols and 

procedures to ensure a player is not utilizing remote desktop 
software, rootkits, virtualization, proxy servers, virtual 
private network, spoofing, or other means to disguise their 
physical location or their computer or device’s physical 
location when placing a sports wager. Operators shall use, at 
a minimum: 

B.1. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR. 
§509. Limitation on Active Accounts; Obligations to 

Players 
A. An operator shall: 

1. implement rules and procedures to limit each 
authorized player to one active and continuously used 
account and username; 

2. implement rules procedures to suspend all accounts 
of any player that establishes or seeks to establish more than 
one username or more than one account, whether directly or 
by use of another person as a proxy, for nefarious purposes; 

3. - 9.a. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR. 
§517. Advertising, Mandatory Signage 

A. - I. … 
J. Advertisements, public relations activities, and 

marketing campaigns of sports wagering platform providers 
shall identify the sports wagering licensee on behalf of 
whom it operates the sports book, for purposes of that 
advertisement or campaign. The identifier may be the logo 
of the sports wagering licensee and/or a statement that 
indicates who the sports book is operated on behalf of.  

K. Advertisements by applicants for a sports wagering 
license or sports wagering platform provider must include a 
statement indicating its license or permit is pending.  

L. Licensees or operators shall delete or modify any 
advertisement which does not confirm to the requirements of 
this Section or is necessary for the immediate preservation of 
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public peace, health, safety, and welfare of Louisiana 
residents. 

M. Licensees or operators shall retain a copy of all 
advertising and marketing materials intended to promote any 
sports wagering operation in the state of Louisiana, which 
shall be made available to the division upon request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 48: 

 
Ronnie S. Johns 
Chairman 

2202#009 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Wireless Telecommunications Permit (LAC 70:II.1509) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.1, and pursuant 
to the authority set forth in R.S. 48:381.2, the Secretary of 
the Department of Transportation and Development declares 
an emergency to exist; and hereby adopts by emergency 
process the attached Rule relative to the adjustment of fees 
for cell tower permits.  

The effects of COVID-19 continue to increase the need 
for Louisiana residents to work and attend school virtually; 
thus, necessitating expansion and maximization of 
broadband capacity and wireless communication in 
communities that are markedly lacking in these services. In 
addition to the continued need created by COVID-19, the 
passage of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act 
(“IIJA”) availed funds for future broadband infrastructure. 
As this infrastructure expands, small cell towers are the 
necessary last step to bring high speed internet to all 
Louisiana citizens, especially those located in rural areas. 

The department will charge wireless communication 
companies permit fees, ranging from $1500 to $3500, as 
outlined in Subsection B of §1509 as amended, to erect a 
tower or a pole, or to use an existing pole. The wireless 
communication companies will be allowed to renew each of 
their annual permits based on the total number of installation 
facilities.  

The department will charge installation fees and annual 
renewal fees for small wireless facilities, as outlined in 
Subsection C of §1509 as amended. The department will 
charge $270.00 for annual renewals for each of the small 
wireless facilities, regardless of location. The small wireless 
facility annual renewal rate will be subject to a cost 
reevaluation every three years.  

The expediency of implementation will stimulate 
expansion of facilities across the state, especially in rural 
areas, at a lower cost to the communication carrier, while 
also increasing access to communication services to the 
entire state.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law upon 
signature, and will remain in effect until the expiration of the 
maximum period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedure Act or the adoption of the final rule, whichever 
comes first. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Part II.  Utilities 
Chapter 15. DOTD Wireless Telecommunications 

Permit 
§1509. Fees 

A. Definitions for use in this Section. 
Installation Facility—any tower or pole installed or 

utilized by a wireless telecommunications carrier for 
wireless audio and visual communications. 

Self-Supporting Tower—a three or four sided lattice 
structure with self-supporting frame made from solid rod, 
pipe, or angle. 

Monopole/Guyed Tower—tower that consists of one 
stem or one pole anchored to the ground and supported by a 
structurally designed foundation or guyed anchor system. 
The wires may be anchored to the top of the structure or to 
the ground. 

Pole—column or post, constructed of wood or metal, 
supported by a simple concrete foundation up to 2 feet in 
diameter and/or with partial embedment. 

Small Wireless Facility (SWF)—wireless 
communications facilities that meet each of the following 
conditions: 

a. the facilities: 
 i. are mounted on poles or other structures 50 feet or 
less in height including their antennas; 
 ii. are mounted on poles or other structures no 
more than 10 percent taller than other adjacent poles or 
structures; or 
 iii. do not extend existing poles or other 
structures on which they are located to a height of more 
than 50 feet or by more than 10 percent, whichever is 
greater; 

b. each antenna associated with the deployment, 
excluding associated antenna equipment, is no more than 3 
ft3 in volume; 

c. all other wireless equipment associated with the 
pole or other structure, including the wireless equipment 
associated with the antenna and any pre-existing associated 
equipment on the pole or other structure, is no more than 28 
ft3 in volume; 

d. the facilities do not require antenna structure 
registration under C.F.R. Title 47, Chapter 1 Federal 
Communications Commission, Part 17; 

e. the facilities are not located on Tribal lands, as 
defined under 36 C.F.R. 800.16(x); and 

f. the facilities do not result in human exposure to 
radiofrequency radiation in excess of the applicable safety 
standards specified in 47 C.F.R. Section 1.1307(b). 

Utility Pole—column or post used to support overhead 
power lines and various other public utilities, such as 
electrical cable, fiber optic cable, and related equipment 
such as transformers and streetlights.  
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B. The following fees shall apply to wireless 
telecommunications installations, except for small wireless 
facilities, placed within state highway rights-of-way. 

 
Type of Tower Annual Fee 

Self-Supporting Tower/Antenna $3,500 
Monopole/Antenna $2,000 
Attachments to Existing Utility/Light Poles $1,500 
Co-Location on DOTD Tower $3,500 
Video Cameras Supply feed to DOTD 

 
C. Annual renewal fees for each Small Wireless Facility 

shall be $270.00, regardless of location of the SWF. Permits 
are subject to a reevaluation cost every three years of an 
additional $82.59 per permit. The following fees shall be 
assessed for each initial permit, based on the classifications 
of the roadway in accordance with the most current edition 
of the Federal Highway Administration’s Highway 
Functional Classification Concepts, Criteria, and Procedures. 

 

Highway Classification 

Installation of 
SWF 

on a New Pole 

Installation of 
New SWF 

on Existing Pole
Interstate Urban $2100.00 $1850.00 
Interstate Rural $1575.00 $1387.50 

Freeway/Expressway Urban  $2100.00 $1850.00 
Freeway/Expressway Rural $1575.00 $1387.50 

Principal Arterial Urban $1575.00 $1387.50 
Principal Arterial Rural $1050.00 $925.00 

Minor Arterial Urban $1050.00 $925.00 
Minor Arterial Rural $525.00 $462.50 

Major Collector Urban $525.00 $462.50 
Major Collector Rural $210.00 $185.00 
Minor Collector Urban $525.00 $462.50 
Minor Collector Rural $210.00 $185.00 

 
D. All permit fees must be paid to the department by 

check or money order. The department will not accept cash. 
E. All permits will be in force and effect for a period of 

one year from the date the permit was issued. 
F. The department may waive fees in exchange for 

shared resources. 
G. The department may waive fees for those permit 

applicants who erect facilities, attachments or cameras for 
the use of the department or other state agencies or political 
subdivisions to conduct departmental or state work. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:381.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 25:98 (January, 1999), amended LR 30:272 (February 2004), 
amended by the Department of Transportation and Development, 
Office of Secretary, LR 48: 

 
Shawn D. Wilson, Ph.D. 
Secretary 

2202#006 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Deer Carcass Export and Feeding Ban, Franklin,  
Madison and Tensas Parishes 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.1 and under the authority of R.S. 56:115 and 116, the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and the secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries hereby adopt the 
following Emergency Rule. 

On February 2, 2022, the Louisiana Animal Disease 
Diagnostic Laboratory at LSU detected Chronic Wasting 
Disease (CWD) in a sample submitted by the Louisiana 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) from a 
hunter-harvested adult buck in Tensas Parish. A sample has 
been submitted to the National Veterinary Services 
Laboratory to confirm the result.  

In response to receiving a preliminary positive CWD test 
result on a deer harvested in Louisiana, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission took action on February 3, 2022 to 
direct LDWF to implement its CWD Management Plan to 
monitor and curb the spread of CWD in Louisiana.  

Therefore, the export of any cervid carcass or part of a 
cervid carcass originating within Franklin, Madison, and 
Tensas Parishes is prohibited, except for: meat that is cut and 
wrapped; meat that has been boned out; quarters or other 
portions of meat with no part of the spinal column or head 
attached, antlers, clean skull plates with antlers, cleaned 
skulls without tissue attached, capes, tanned hides, finished 
taxidermy mounts and cleaned cervid teeth. 

Beginning Monday, February 7, 2022, all supplemental 
feeding, including mineral or salt licks, is prohibited in 
Franklin, Madison and Tensas Parishes. The purpose of this 
feeding ban is to reduce the potential for the spread of CWD 
in Louisiana by reducing the risk of exposure when deer are 
concentrated around feeding sites. The use of approved bait 
not normally ingested by deer for feral hog trapping will still 
be allowed. All bait must be placed and contained within the 
trap itself. Backyard bird feeders are also exempt from this 
supplemental feeding prohibition. 

This Declaration of Emergency shall become effective 
February 4, 2022, and will remain in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or 
until rescinded or modified by the Secretary. The Secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is authorized to 
take any and all necessary steps on behalf of the 
Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Declaration of 
Emergency, and to modify, rescind, or extend it upon 
notification of the Chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission.  

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2202#019 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Rescinding the Supplemental Feeding Ban  
in Morehouse and Union Parishes 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.1 and under the authority of R.S. 56:6.1, 115 and 
116, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby adopts 
the following Emergency Rule. 

On December 2, 2021, the Arkansas Game and Fish 
Commission announced that a Chronic Wasting Disease 
(CWD) positive doe was discovered in Union County, 
Arkansas. The CWD positive doe was located just a few 
miles north of the Louisiana Border on Felsenthal National 
Wildlife Refuge. 

In response to the discovery of CWD in Arkansas near 
the Louisiana Border, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries (LDWF) implemented its CWD Response Plan to 
monitor the presence of CWD in Louisiana. The Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission took emergency action resulting 
in an immediate cessation of all supplemental feeding, 
including mineral or salt licks in Union and Morehouse 
parishes effective December 6, 2021. The purpose of the 
feeding ban was to reduce the potential for the spread of 
CWD into Louisiana by reducing the risk of exposure for 
deer concentrated around feeding sites. 

LDWF monitoring efforts resulted in 340 samples 
collected from hunter harvested deer in Morehouse and 
Union parishes, which were subsequently submitted to the 
LSU Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory. CWD was not 
detected. 

As a result of the negative tests and in accordance with 
LDWF’s CWD Response Plan, the Secretary utilized his 
authority to suspend the emergency supplemental feeding 
ban on January 7, 2022.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby ratifies 
the Secretary’s suspension of the Commission’s prior 
emergency action and rescinds the supplemental feeding ban 
for deer in Morehouse and Union parishes. 

This Declaration of Emergency, rescinding the original 
supplemental feeding ban shall become effective February 3, 
2022.  

 
Joe McPherson 
Chairman 

2202#015 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Shrimp Season Closure in Portions of State Inshore  
and Outside Waters 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
has been notified that recent biological sampling conducted 
by the department has indicated that average white shrimp

size within these waters to be closed is smaller than the 
minimum possession count and this action is being taken to 
protect these small white shrimp and provide opportunity for 
growth to larger and more valuable sizes. R.S. 56:498 
provides that the possession count on saltwater white shrimp 
for each cargo lot shall average no more than 100 (whole 
specimens) per pound except during the time period from 
October fifteenth through the third Monday in December.  

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953.1 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons; R.S. 56:497 which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to delegate to the 
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the 
powers, duties and authority to set shrimp seasons; and in 
accordance with a Declaration of Emergency adopted by the 
commission on August 5, 2021, which authorizes the 
secretary of the department to close shrimp season in all or 
parts of state outside waters when biological and technical 
data indicate the need to do so or if enforcement problems 
develop, the secretary does hereby declare:  

The 2021 fall shrimp season shall close on Monday, 
January 24, 2022, at official sunset in the following portions 
of state inside waters: Lake Pontchartrain, Chef Menteur and 
Rigolets Passes, Lake Borgne, Mississippi Sound, 
Mississippi River Gulf Outlet (MRGO), and a section of the 
Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (GIWW) in Orleans Parish from 
the GIWW East Closure Sector Gate westward to the GIWW 
intersection with the Inner Harbor Navigation Canal. With 
this declaration, all inside waters will be closed to shrimping 
with the exception of the open waters of Breton and 
Chandeleur Sounds as bounded by the double-rig line 
described in R.S. 56:495.1(A)2.  

The 2021 shrimp season shall close on Monday, January 
24, 2022, at official sunset, in portions of state outside 
waters between Caillou Boca and Freshwater Bayou Canal. 
The eastern boundary line originates on the northwest shore 
of Caillou Boca at 29 degrees 02 minutes 46 seconds north 
latitude, -90 degrees 50 minutes 27 seconds west longitude 
and ends at a point on the three mile line as described in R.S. 
56:495(A) at 28 degrees 59 minutes 30 seconds north 
latitude, -90 degrees 51 minutes 57 seconds west longitude. 
The western boundary line originates on the western shore of 
Freshwater Bayou Canal at 29 degrees 32 minutes 03 
seconds north latitude, -92 degrees 18 minutes 33 seconds 
west longitude and ends at a point on the three mile line as 
described in R.S. 56:495(A) at 29 degrees 29 minutes 02 
seconds north latitude, -92 degrees 19 minutes 34 seconds 
west longitude. 

Existing data do not currently support shrimping closures 
in additional state inside and outside waters. However, 
historic data suggest additional closures may be necessary 
and the department will continue monitoring shrimp 
populations in these waters. Notice of any opening, delaying 
or closing of a season by the secretary will be made by 
public notice at least 72 hours prior to such action. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

2202#001 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Workforce Commission 
Rehabilitation Services 

Financial Needs and Budgetary Analysis Tests 
(LAC 67:VII.115) 

On January 31, 2020, the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services Secretary Alex A. Azar declared 
a public health emergency (PHE) for the United States to aid 
the nation’s healthcare community in responding to the 
coronavirus disease (COVID-19). The United States Centers 
for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has declared 
COVID-19 a worldwide pandemic due to its global effect. 
COVID-19 has resulted in widespread unemployment, 
economic hardship, and financial uncertainty, which has 
adversely affected the public health, safety, and welfare of 
Louisiana citizens, including Louisiana citizens with 
disabilities. Louisiana citizens with disabilities are even 
more vulnerable to the financial uncertainties, widespread 
unemployment, and economic hardships resulting from 
COVID-19. The LWC/LRS expressly finds that imminent 
peril to the public health, safety, or welfare requires adoption 
of this rule on an emergency basis. This Emergency Rule is 
adopted on January 20, 2022, to continue in effect those 
provisions of the Emergency Rule adopted by Rehabilitation 
Services on July 10, 2020. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission, Louisiana Rehabilitation 
Services (LWC/LRS), amends LAC 67:VII.115 in the 
Vocational Rehabilitation Program, as authorized by R.S. 
23:3022. The LWC/LRS finds it necessary to amend the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Code related to 
the income scale that will be used for financial needs and 
budgetary analysis tests. This proposed rule amendment will 
add greater flexibility to the budgetary analysis and financial 
needs test by revising language, which requires a financial 
need analysis to determine the ability of an individual to 
financially contribute to the cost of “vocational and other 
training services, such as college/university, vocational and 
proprietary school training”. The current rule limits the 
number of Louisiana citizens with disabilities who are 
eligible to receive vocational and other training services, 
such as college/university, vocational and proprietary school 
training. The proposed rule alleviates this burden and will 
allow more of Louisiana’s citizens with disabilities to take 
advantage of training and educational opportunities that are 
designed to help succeed in the labor market by equipping 
them with the additional skill(s) to compete in the post-
COVID economy for in-demand jobs. Failure to adopt the 
proposed rule amendment on an emergency basis will result 
in continued financial restrictions thereby limiting the 
number of Louisiana disabled citizens who can take 
advantage of financial assistance for vocational and other 
available training services offered through the LRS 
programs. This Emergency Rule shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first.  

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part VII.  Rehabilitation Services 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§115. Financial 

A. Comparable Services and Similar Benefits 
1. Determination of Availability 

a. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation 
service to an eligible individual, except those services 
specified below in Subclauses c.i.(a)-(f), LRS will determine 
whether comparable services and benefits are available 
under any other program (other than a program carried out 
under Title IV, Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 2014) 
unless such a determination would interrupt or delay: 
 i. the progress of the individual toward achieving 
the employment outcome identified in the IPE of the 
individual; 
 ii. an immediate job placement; or 
 iii. the provision of such service to any individual 
at extreme medical risk. 

b. Awards and Scholarships. For purposes of the 
determination of availability in Paragraph A.1 above, 
comparable benefits do not include awards and scholarships 
based on merit. 

c. Exceptions to Use of Comparable Services and 
Benefits 
 i. The following vocational rehabilitation 
services can be provided without making a determination of 
the availability of comparable services and benefits: 

(a). services provided through LRS's information 
and referral system; 

(b). assessment for determining eligibility and 
vocational rehabilitation needs, including if appropriate, 
assessment by personnel skilled in rehabilitation technology; 

(c). counseling and guidance, including 
information and support services to assist an individual in 
exercising informed choice; 

(d). referral and other services needed to secure 
necessary services from other agencies through cooperative 
agreements, if such services are not available from LRS; 

(e). job-related services, including job search and 
placement assistance, job retention services, follow-up 
services, and follow-along services; 

(f). rehabilitation technology, including 
telecommunications, sensory, and other technological aids 
and devices. 

B. Individual's Participation in the Cost of Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services 

1. Neither a financial needs test nor a budgetary 
analysis of assets, income, and disability-related expenses 
shall be applied as a condition for furnishing any vocational 
rehabilitation service if the individual in need of the service 
has been determined eligible for Social Security benefits 
under Title II or Title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

2. LRS will consider, through budgetary analysis of 
assets, income, disability-related expenses and comparable 
services and benefits, the financial need of eligible 
individuals; and individuals who are participating in trial 
work periods for purposes of determining the extent of the
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individual's participation in the costs of certain vocational 
rehabilitation services. 

a. Neither a financial needs test, nor a budgetary 
analysis, is applied and no financial participation is required 
as a condition for furnishing the following vocational 
rehabilitation services: 
 i. assessment for determining eligibility and 
priority for services, except those non-assessment services 
that are provided during an evaluation to explore the 
individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform in 
work situations (trial work periods); 
 ii. assessment for determining vocational 
rehabilitation needs; 
 iii. counseling, guidance, including information 
and support services to assist an individual in exercising 
informed choice; 
 iv. referral and other services to secure needed 
services from other agencies through cooperative 
agreements, if such services are not available from LRS; 
 v. job-related services, including job search and 
placement assistance, job retention services, follow-up 
services, and follow-along services; 
 vi. rehabilitation technology assessments; 
 vii. supported employment; 
 viii. on-the-job training; 
 ix. assistive technology devices and services 
(except hearing aids); 
 x. personal assistance services provided 
simultaneously with any of the above-listed vocational 
rehabilitation services; (Examples include attendant, reader, 
scribe, interpreter, ASL, braille, notetaker, and 
adjustment/orientation and mobility training services.) 

b. A financial need analysis will be applied to 
determine the ability of the individual to financially 
contribute to the cost of the following vocational 
rehabilitation services: 
 i. physical restoration and/or mental restoration; 
 ii. hearing aids; 
 iii. maintenance; 
 iv. transportation; 
 v. books and supplies; 
 vi. occupational tools and equipment; 
 vii. cost services to other family members; 
 viii. occupational licenses; 
 ix. discretionary training fees such as car 
registration fees, student health service fees, etc. not 
included in tuition;  
 x. vocational and other training services, such as 
college/university, vocational and proprietary school 
training; 
 xi. other goods and services, not specifically 
identified in Subparagraph d below; 
 xii. post employment services consisting of the 
services listed above. 

c. The only exception to Clause x above is as 
follows. 
 i. To preserve LRS' Continuity of Services 
provision in the Order of Selection, LRS exempted those 
eligible individuals who had an IWRP/IPE in effect prior to 
July 20, 1999, which is the date of the adoption of this rule 
change; therefore, Clause x in Subparagraph b above will 

only apply to those individuals who had an IWRP/IPE 
developed after July 20, 1999. 

d. The following services are exempt from the 
application of a budget surplus, if the counselor determines 
that a surplus exists: 
 i. adjustment/orientation and mobility services; 
 ii. attendant services; 
 iii. reader services; 
 iv. scribe, notetaker/Braille services; 
 v. interpreter services; 
 vi. assistive technology services. 

e. When it is determined by a counselor and an 
eligible client that self-employment, through establishment 
of a small business enterprise, is the best option for the 
client, the client must provide a minimum cash capital 
contribution of 20 percent of the total transaction. (Refer to 
LRS Policy on Small Business Enterprise.) 

f. Individuals who do not provide LRS with 
necessary financial information to perform the budget 
analysis will be eligible only for those vocational 
rehabilitation services that are not conditioned upon an 
analysis to determine the extent of the individual's 
participation in the costs of such services. 

g. Individuals who have defaulted on a student loan 
must make good faith efforts with the lender to clear the 
default or to defer payment before LRS will participate in 
the cost of the client's vocational rehabilitation program. 

h. Simultaneously with the comprehensive 
assessment, at the annual review of the IPE, and at any time 
there is a change in the financial situation of either the client 
or the family, the counselor will perform a budget analysis 
for each client requiring vocational rehabilitation services as 
listed above in § 115.B.2.b.i-xii. The amount of client 
participation in the cost of their vocational rehabilitation 
program will be based upon the most recent budget analysis 
at the time the relevant IPE or amendment is developed. 

3. State and Departmental Purchasing Procedures. All 
applicable state, departmental and agency purchasing 
policies and procedures must be followed. 

a. LRS does not purchase vehicles or real estate. 
b. Fee Schedule. Services and rates of payment 

must be authorized in accordance with LRS's Medical Fee 
Schedule and LRS's Technical Assistance and Guidance 
Manual, Section 500 which lists approved service providers. 

c. Approval of Service Providers 
 i. Any service provider approved by the agency 
must agree not to make any additional charge to or accept 
any additional payment from the client or client's family for 
services authorized by the agency. 
 ii. Relatives of vocational rehabilitation clients 
will not be approved as a paid service provider unless such 
individuals are professionally and occupationally engaged in 
the delivery of such services by offering their services to the 
general public on a regular and consistent basis. 

d. Prior Written Authorization and Encumbrance 
 i. Either before or at the same time as the 
initiation or delivery of goods or services, the agency must 
be in possession of the proper authorizing document. The 
only exception is in an emergency situation. 
 ii. If oral authorization of approved services is 
made in an emergency situation, there must be prompt 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 295

documentation, and the authorization must be confirmed in 
writing and forwarded to the provider of the services. 

C. LRS shall determine an individual's financial need for 
certain vocational rehabilitation services, as listed in B.2.b 
above, is based on the individual's disability related 
expenses, available assets, and a multiple of 250-500 percent 
of the current U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services' poverty guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:3022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 21:837 
(August 1995), LR 24:959 (May 1998), LR 25:1273 (July 1999), 
LR 27:212 (February 2001), LR 27:1561 (September 2001), LR 
29:47 (January 2003), LR 30:1488 (July 2004), LR 34:1038 (June 
2008), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 41:1775 (September 2015), repromulgated LR 
41:2180 (October 2015), LR 48: 

 
Renita Williams 
Deputy Secretary 

2202#008 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agriculture and Finance Authority  

Healthy Foods Retail Program  
(LAC 7:III.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 
3:296, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
(“Department”) has adopted the rules set forth below by 
promulgating LAC 7:III.901-915. The Healthy Foods Retail 
Program will directly benefit low and moderate income 
residents in areas of Louisiana by providing healthy food 
access, creating jobs, and revitalizing neighborhoods. The 
Healthy Foods Retail Program will provide a dedicated 
source of financing for healthy food retailers operating in 
underserved communities in Louisiana, in both urban and 
rural areas; to increase access to affordable healthy food so 
as to improve diets and health; to promote the sale and 
consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables, particularly 
those that are Louisiana grown; and to support expanded 
economic opportunities in low-income and rural 
communities. This program will offer flexible financing to 
healthy food retailers, which may include forgivable, 
interest-bearing, senior, and/or subordinate loans for 
predevelopment, site assembly and improvement, 
construction and rehabilitation, equipment installation and 
upgrades, and inventory and working capital for start-up 
costs. The goal of this program is to meet the financing 
needs of food market operators in communities where 
infrastructure costs and credit needs cannot be filled solely 
by conventional financial institutions. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part III.  Agricultural Finance  
Chapter 9. Healthy Foods Retail Program 
§901. Definitions 

A. The words and terms defined in R.S. 3:296 are 
applicable to this Chapter.  

B. As used in this Chapter, the following terms and 
phrases shall have the meanings hereinafter ascribed to 
them. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of agriculture and 
forestry.  

D-CDBG—Disaster Community Development Block 
Grant.  

Department—the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry.  

Funding—grants, loans, or a combination of grants and 
loans.  

Healthy Food Retailers—for-profit or not-for-profit 
retailers that sell high quality fresh fruits and vegetables at 

competitive prices including but not limited to supermarkets, 
grocery stores, and farmers’ markets.  

HFRP—Healthy Food Retail Program.  
LAFA—Louisiana Agricultural Finance Authority.  
LMI—low- or moderate- income. 
OCD—Office of Community Development. 
Program—a public-private partnership established to 

provide a dedicated source of financing for food retailers 
that increase access to fresh fruits and vegetables and other 
affordable healthy food for Louisiana residents managed by 
the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry.  

Program Partner—consists of LDAF, LAFA, and any 
other contracted nonprofit organization or community 
development financial institution that assists with 
administering the program.  

Underserved Community—a geographic area that has 
limited access to healthy food retailers and is located in a 
lower-income or high-poverty area, or an area that is 
otherwise determined to have serious healthy food access 
limitations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:296 
(February 2022). 
§903. Available Funding 

A. The Healthy Food Retail Program may provide 
funding on a one-time basis for projects such as: 

1. new construction of supermarkets and 
grocery stores;  

2. store renovations, expansion, and infrastructure 
upgrades that improve the availability and quality of 
fresh produce;  

3. farmers’ markets and public markets, food 
cooperatives, mobile markets and delivery projects, and 
distribution projects that enable food retailers in underserved 
communities to regularly obtain fresh produce; or  

4. other projects that create or improve healthy food 
retail outlets as determined by LAFA.  

B. Funding made available for projects included in 
Paragraph A of this Section may be used for the following 
purposes:  

1. site acquisition and preparation;  
2. construction costs;  
3. equipment and furnishings;  
4. workforce training;  
5. security;  
6. certain pre-development costs, such as market 

studies and appraisals; and  
7. working capital for first-time inventory and start-up 

costs.  
C. Applicants shall not use HFRP funding for the 

following: 
1. the sole purpose of refinancing existing debt;  
2. payment of any tax arrearages, government fines, 

or penalties;  
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3. political or religious activities;  
4. buying out any stockholder or equity holder in the 

borrower’s business;  
5. buying out or reimbursing any family member;  
6. purchasing instruments or investments for the sole 

purpose of a return on investment; or  
7. any other activity that LAFA sees fit.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:295 
(February 2022). 
§905. Application Process 

A. Applying to the Healthy Foods Retail Program is a 
two-step process. The applicant must: 

1. complete an initial HFRP Eligibility Application. 
All applications will be submitted to the program partner; 
and  

2. if deemed eligible, the applicant will receive 
confirmation from the program partner, along with an 
invitation to complete a business loan application from the 
program partner. Financing eligibility will be determined 
based criteria set forth by the program partner.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 
§907. Eligibility of Applicant 

A. An applicant for a loan through the HFRP may have a 
for-profit or non-profit status, including but not limited to a 
sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, 
corporation, cooperative, nonprofit organization or nonprofit 
community development entity. An applicant may also be a 
national chain, regional grocery chain, singular retail outlet 
or smaller neighborhood food store. All potential applicants 
must be in good standing with the Louisiana Secretary of 
State.  

B. In order to be eligible to participate in the HFRP, the 
applicant must demonstrate all of the following: 

1. the project for which the applicant seeks funding 
shall benefit an underserved community; 

2. the applicant shall demonstrate a meaningful 
commitment to sell fresh fruits and vegetables; and 

3. generally, the applicant shall accept Food Stamps 
(Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) and WIC 
(Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, 
Infants, and Children) benefits.  
 a. If an applicant is unable to accept Food Stamps 
or WIC benefits, an alternative may be provided by LDAF to 
demonstrate a meaningful commitment to make healthy food 
affordable to low-income households. 

C. Applicants for the HFRP shall be evaluated based on 
the following criteria to determine if funding will be 
awarded:  

1. the applicant demonstrated the capacity to 
successfully implement the project, including the applicant’s 
relevant experience, and the likelihood that the project will 
be economically self-sustaining;  

2. the ability of the applicant to repay debt;  
3. the degree to which the project requires an 

investment of public funding to move forward, create 

impact, or be competitive, as well as the level of need in the 
area to be served; 

a. Additional factors that will improve or preserve 
retail access for low-income residents, such as proximity to 
public transit lines, also may be taken into account.  

4. the degree to which the project will promote sales 
of fresh produce, particularly Louisiana-grown fruits 
and vegetables; 

5. the degree to which the project will have a positive 
economic impact on the underserved community, including 
creating or retaining jobs for local residents; and  

6. any other criteria LAFA determines to be consistent 
with the purposes of this Chapter/Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 
§909. Ineligibility of Applicants 

A. An applicant will be found ineligible to receive 
funding from the HFRP if: 

1. applicant fails to demonstrate a commitment to 
offer fresh, healthy foods in the judgment of LDAF, LAFA, 
and program partners;  

2. projects that are primarily restaurants, cafes, 
or bakeries;  

3. large department stores that specialize in many 
different types of goods, of which groceries are only 
one department;  

4. pharmacies with grocery sections;  
5.  businesses with alcohol or tobacco retail sales as 

the primary source of revenue; or  
6.  public entities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 
§911. Location of Applicant’s Business  

A. The applicant’s business site must be located in a 
community or location that meets Low- or Moderate- 
Income (LMI) criteria. A project will be deemed to meet the 
LMI criteria if it is within a census tract or service area 
where at least 51 percent of persons or households are 
considered low to moderate income, as determined by 
LDAF, LAFA, or program partners.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:296 
(February 2022). 
§913. Borrower Reporting Requirements; Record 

Keeping; Nonperformance 
A. The program partners may enter into a loan agreement 

with all borrowers. Loan proceeds are subject to audit by the 
program partners, LAFA, LDAF, OCD, their auditors, the 
Louisiana Legislative Auditor, HUD, or federal auditors in 
the scope of any audits which any of them deem prudent to 
perform. Borrowers may be required for complying with all 
applicable D-CDBG regulations.  

B. Borrowers may be required to submit CPA-audited 
fiscal year-end financial statements, annual federal tax 
returns for the borrower and all guarantors, quarterly CPA
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prepared financial statements and annual personal financial 
statements for all guarantors. Additional financial and/or 
compliance documentation may be required.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 
§915. Program Reporting 

A. The program partners will annually monitor all 
recipients for program compliance. Program partners may 
also require quarterly financial, program, and impact reports 
from borrowers.  

B. LAFA may require annual reports on the funded 
projects and outcome data. The program partners shall be 
required to submit quarterly progress and financial reports to 
LAFA.  

C. LAFA and the program partners may require 
additional reporting.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:296. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agriculture and Finance Authority, LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

2202#043 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Commission on Law Enforcement and  

Administration of Criminal Justice 

Peace Officer Training (LAC 22:III.4761) 

In accordance with the provision of R.S. 40:2401, et seq., 
the Peace Officer Standards and Training Act, and R.S. 
40:905 et seq., which is the Administrative Procedure Act, 
the Peace Officer Standards and Training Council has 
promulgated rules and regulations relative to the training of 
peace officers. The rules set forth additional training 
requirements for all peace officers as defined in R.S. 
40:2402(3)(a) pursuant to Act 495 of the 2018 Regular 
Session. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part III.  Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 
Subpart 4.  Peace Officers 

Chapter 47. Standards and Training 
§4761.  Advanced Training 

A. - B.3.a. … 
C. Domestic Violence Awareness Training  

1. Each peace officer, as defined in R.S. 40:2402(3)(a) 
shall complete a domestic violence awareness training 
program as provided by the council pursuant to R.S. 
40:2405.8(E). The training program shall be implemented

through a series of learning modules developed for this 
purpose. 

D. Communication with the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
Individuals 

1.  Each peace officer, as defined in R.S. 
40:2402(3)(a) shall complete an interactive training module 
as provided by the council on communicating with deaf and 
hard of hearing individuals pursuant to R.S.40:2405.8(F)(2). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 48:298 (February 2022). 

 
Jim Craft  
Executive Director 

2202#013 

 
RULE 

Department of Health  
Board of Dentistry 

General Provisions; Dentists; Fees and Costs 
(LAC 46:XXXIII.120, 306, and 419) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751, et seq., and particularly 
R.S. 37:760(8), the Department of Health, Board of 
Dentistry has amended LAC 46:XXXIII.120, .306, and .419. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXIII.  Dental Health Profession 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§120. Temporary Licenses and Permits Pending 

Normal Licenses 
A. - J.3. … 
K. Permits Pending Normal Licenses. For applicants 

who qualify under the provisions of R.S. 37:3651 or R.S. 
37:1751, a permit pending normal licensure may be issued if 
an application for full, normal licensure has been completed 
and the board is unable to issue a full license within 30 
calendar days of receiving the completed application. The 
permit pending normal licensure is valid for 30 days and 
may be extended by the board beyond 30 days, but in no 
event beyond the next meeting of the board. The permit 
pending normal licensure expires automatically upon the 
occurrence of any one of the following: 

1. 30 days have passed from the issuance of the permit 
pending normal license without an extension from the board; 
in no event may the permit pending normal licensure be 
extended beyond the next meeting of the board. 

2. a determination by the board that the applicant is 
not qualified for a normal, permanent license. 

3. the issuance of a normal, permanent license by the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760(8).  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:1114 (June 1998), 
amended LR 26:1612 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1893 
(November 2001), amended LR 33:2652 (December 2007), LR 
33:2652 (December 2007), LR 38:2771 (November 2012), LR 
39:2279 (August 2013), LR 41:1285 (July 2015), LR 48:297 
(February 2022). 
Chapter 3. Dentists 
§306. Requirements of Applicants for Dental 

Licensure by Credentials 
A. - B. … 
C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8) and R.S. 37:768. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 18:739 (July 1992), 
amended LR 21:571 (June 1995), LR 22:23 (January 1996), LR 
23:1528 (November 1997), LR 24:1114 (June 1998), LR 25:513 
(March 1999), LR 26:692 (April 2000), LR 26:1612 (August 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1893 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:1777 (August 2002), LR 30:2305 (October 2004), LR 31:927 
(April 2005), LR 32:243 (February 2006), LR 33:846 (May 2007), 
LR 33:2652 (December 2007), LR 34:2564 (December 2008), 
repromulgated LR 35:67 (January 2009), amended LR 37:1405 
(May 2011), LR 37:3515 (December 2011), repromulgated LR 
38:355 (February 2012), amended LR 39:87 (January 2013), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Dentistry, LR 
44:46 (January 2018), LR 48:299 (February 2022). 
Chapter 4. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter D. Fees for Dental Hygienists  
§419. Licenses, Permits and Examinations (Dental 

Hygienists) 
A. - A.13. … 

14. annual fee to support well-being program$15; 
15. retired volunteer hygiene license$35. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8), R.S. 37:768, and R.S. 37:795. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November 
1988), amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992), 
LR 23:1527 (November 1997), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR 
25:1478 (August 1999), LR 26:691 (April 2000), LR 28:1778 
(August 2002), LR 32:243 (February 2006), LR 33:846 (May 
2007), LR 34:2564 (December 2008), repromulgated LR 35:68 
(January 2009), amended LR 37:590 (February 2011), LR:37:2151 
(July 2011), LR 39:2278 (August 2013), LR 48:299 (February 
2022). 

 
Arthur Hickham, Jr. 
Executive Director 

2202#029 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Board of Optometry Examiners 

Optometric Telemedicine (LAC 46:LI.509) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. that the Louisiana State Board of 
Optometry Examiners, pursuant to authority vested in the 
Louisiana State Board of Optometry Examiners by the 
Optometry Practice Act, R.S. 37:1041-1068, has amended 
Title 46, Part LI by adopting the following amendments to 
the Section set forth below. 

A description of the subjects and issues involved is as 
follows. Section 509 is adopted, which establishes specific 
criteria for licensed optometrists to practice telemedicine 
within the bounds of the scope of the practice of optometry 
in accordance with the Louisiana Optometry Act.  

The Rule is adopted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LI.  Optometrists 

Chapter 5. Practicing Optometry 
§509. Optometric Telemedicine 

A. General Provisions 
1. Telemedicine is a tool and not separate field of 

optometry, nor does telemedicine alter the scope of practice 
of Louisiana-licensed optometrists. There is no separate or 
different scope of practice or standard of care applicable to 
those who practice optometry via telemedicine within this 
state or to those optometrists located outside Louisiana who 
diagnose and treat via telemedicine patients located within 
this state. Accordingly, telemedicine in the field of 
optometry, if employed in the appropriate manner and 
circumstances, can provide significant benefits, among them 
increased patient access to health care.  

2. The practice of optometry is deemed to occur both 
where the patient is located and where the optometrist 
providing professional services is located and is hereby 
declared to affect the public health, safety and welfare, and 
is subject to regulation and control in the public interest. It is 
further declared to be a matter of public interest and concern 
that the practice of optometry, as defined in this chapter, 
rendered to a person located in Louisiana or by an 
optometrist located in Louisiana be limited to qualified 
persons licensed to practice optometry in the state of 
Louisiana and registered as a telemedicine provider with the 
board. 

B. Definitions. For the purpose of this Chapter, the 
following terms shall have the respective meaning ascribed 
by this Section.  

Distant Site Provider—the provider providing the 
optometric telemedicine service from a site other than the 
patient’s current location. A distant site provider shall hold 
an active Louisiana license and must hold an active 
optometric license in good standing in Louisiana and be a 
registered Telemedicine provider with the board. 

Established Treatment Site—a location where a patient 
shall present to seek optometric care where there is an 
optometrist present and sufficient technology and equipment 
to allow for an adequate physical evaluation as appropriate 
for the patient’s presenting complaint. The term requires an 
optometrist-patient relationship. A patient’s private home is 
not considered an established treatment site. 

Face to Face Visit—an evaluation and/or treatment 
performed on a patient where both the provider and patient 
are at the same physical location or where the patient is at an 
established treatment site. 

Human Eye and Its Adjacent Structures—the eye and all 
structures situated within the orbit, including the 
conjunctiva, lids, lashes, and lachrymal system. 
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In-Person Evaluation—a patient evaluation and/or 
treatment conducted by a provider who is at the same 
physical location as the location of the patient. 

Optometric Telemedicine—a health service interaction 
that is delivered by a licensed optometrist acting within the 
scope of his or her license between an optometrist in one 
physical location and a patient located in any different 
physical location, accomplished via audio-visual link, 
imaging, telephone, or other appropriate forms of electronic 
communication and/or technology used to allow or assist the 
optometrist in providing care to the patient and may require 
the use of advanced telecommunications technology, other 
than facsimile technology, including all of the following: 

a. compressed digital interactive video, audio, or 
data transmission; 

b. clinical data transmission using computer 
imaging by way of still image capture and store and forward; 

c. other technology that facilitates access to health 
care services or optometric specialty expertise. 

Pharmaceutical Agents—any diagnostic and therapeutic 
drug or combination of drugs that has the property of 
assisting in the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, or 
mitigation of abnormal conditions or symptoms of the 
human eye and its adjacent structures.  

Provider—optometrist holding an active Louisiana 
license in good standing and is a registered telemedicine 
provider with the board. 

C. License, Registration. An optometric telemedicine 
provider must hold an active Louisiana optometric license in 
good standing. Any optometric telemedicine license shall be 
renewed on an annual basis provided the licensee is in good 
standing and shall have the same renewal due dates as the 
basic optometric license.  

D. Prerequisite Conditions  
1. A provider must hold an active Louisiana 

optometric license in good standing and be telemedicine 
registered. 

2. Prior to utilizing optometric telemedicine at an 
established treatment site the provider shall ensure that:  

a. he or she has access to those portions of the 
patient’s medical record pertinent to the visit;  

b. there exists appropriate support staff who:  
 i. are trained to conduct the visit by optometric 
telemedicine;  
 ii. are available to implement optometrist orders, 
identify where medical records generated by the visit are to 
be transmitted for future access, and provide or arrange back 
up, follow up, and emergency care to the patient; and 
 iii. provide or arrange periodic testing and 
maintenance of all optometric telemedicine equipment.  

3. A trained and supervised health care professional 
who can adequately and accurately assist with the 
requirements of LAC 46:XLV.7509-7511 shall be in the 
examination room with the patient at all times that the 
patient is receiving optometric telemedicine services. 

E. Services; Provider-Patient Relationship; Standards of 
Practice; Confidentiality  

1. Optometric telemedicine services provided at an 
established treatment site may be used for all patient visits, 
including initial evaluations to establish a proper doctor-
patient relationship between a provider and a patient.  

a. a provider shall be reasonably available onsite at 
the established medical site to assist with the provision of 
care.  

b. a provider may delegate tasks and activities at an 
established treatment site to an assistant who is properly 
trained and supervised or directed.  

2. A distant site provider who provides optometric 
telemedicine services to a patient that is not present at an 
established treatment site shall ensure that a proper provider-
patient relationship is established, which at a minimum 
includes all of the following: 

a. having had at least one face-to-face meeting at an 
established treatment site before engaging in optometric 
telemedicine services. A face-to-face meeting is not required 
for new conditions relating to an existing patient, unless the 
provider deems that such a meeting is necessary to provide 
adequate care; 

b. if an in-person initial encounter is not possible, 
the optometrist must take the time and effort, and to use 
means and methods appropriate under the circumstances, to 
gain the necessary understanding of the patient and the 
patient’s history, condition, and needs in order to render a 
diagnosis and treatment plan that is consistent with the 
standard of care. 

c. establishing that the person requesting the 
treatment is in fact whom he or she claims to be.  

3. Evaluation, treatment, and consultation 
recommendations made in an optometric telemedicine 
setting, including issuing a prescription via electronic means, 
shall be held to the same standards of appropriate practice as 
those in traditional in-person clinical settings. 

4. Adequate security measures shall be implemented 
to ensure that all patient communications, recordings, and 
records remain confidential. 

a. Written policies and procedures shall be 
maintained when using electronic mail for provider-patient 
communications. Policies shall be evaluated periodically to 
make sure they are up to date. Policies and procedures shall 
address all of the following: 
 i. privacy to assure confidentiality and integrity 
of patient-identifiable information; 
 ii. health care personnel, in addition to the 
provider, who will process messages; 
 iii. hours of operation and availability; 
 iv. types of transactions that shall be permitted 
electronically; 
 v. required patient information to be included in 
the communication, such as the patient name, identification 
number, and type of transaction; 
 vi. archival and retrieval; 
 vii. quality oversight mechanisms. 

b. All relevant provider-patient email, and other 
patient-related electronic communications, shall be stored 
and filed in the patient record.  

c. Patients shall be informed of alternative forms of 
communication for urgent matters. 

F. Protocols; Privacy Practices  
1. A provider who uses optometric telemedicine in his 

or her practice shall adopt protocols to prevent fraud and 
abuse through the use of optometric telemedicine.  

2. Privacy Practices 
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a. A provider that communicates with patients by 
electronic communications other than facsimile shall provide 
patients with written notification of the provider’s privacy 
practices before evaluation or treatment. 

b. The notice of privacy practices shall include 
language that is consistent with federal standards under 45 
CFR Parts 160 and 164 relating to privacy of individually 
identifiable health information. 

c. A provider shall make a good faith effort to 
obtain the patient’s written acknowledgment of the notice. 

3. Limitations of Optometric Telemedicine. A provider 
who uses optometric telemedicine services, before providing 
services, shall give each patient notice regarding optometric 
telemedicine services, including the risks and benefits of 
being treated via optometric telemedicine, and how to 
receive follow-up care or assistance in the event of an 
adverse reaction to the treatment or in the event of an 
inability to communicate as a result of a technological or 
equipment failure. A signed and dated notice, including an 
electronic acknowledgement by the patient, establishes a 
presumption of notice. 

4. Necessity of In-Person Evaluation. When, for 
whatever reason, the optometric telemedicine modality in 
use for a particular patient encounter is unable to provide all 
pertinent clinical information that a healthcare provider 
exercising ordinary skill and care would deem reasonably 
necessary for the practice of optometry at an acceptable level 
of safety and quality in the context of that particular 
encounter, then the distant site provider shall make this 
known to the patient and advise and counsel the patient 
regarding the need for the patient to obtain an additional in-
person evaluation reasonably able to meet the patient’s 
needs. 

G. Maintenance of Records 
1. Patient records shall be maintained for all 

optometric telemedicine services The provider or distance 
site provider shall maintain the records created at any site 
where treatment or evaluation is provided.  

2. Distance site providers shall obtain an adequate and 
complete medical history for the patient before providing 
treatment and shall document the medical history in the 
patient record. 

3. Patient records shall include copies of all relevant 
patient-related electronic communications, including 
relevant provider-patient emails, prescriptions, laboratory 
and test results, evaluations and consultations, records of 
past care, and instructions. If possible, optometric 
telemedicine encounters that are recorded electronically 
shall also be included in the patient record. 

H. Exceptions  
1. A licensed optometrist, who is not licensed in 

Louisiana, who utilizes optometric telemedicine across state 
lines in an emergency, as defined by the board, is not subject 
to the requirements of this article.  

2. A provider that is contacted in an emergency is not 
subject to the notice and security provisions of this rule, but 
is subject to those provisions should any nonemergency care 
continue with the patient. 

I. Limitation on Application of Chapter. This Section 
shall not be construed as authorizing any optician or other 
person selling eyeglasses or contact lenses on prescription as 
authorized above to use any instrumentation or determine 

any data by performing any type of examination or corneal 
evaluation necessary for the fitting of contact lenses or to 
use any drugs in relation thereto. 

J. Penalties. Any person who violates this chapter is 
subject to criminal prosecution for the unlicensed practice of 
optometry, or other action authorized in this state to prohibit 
or penalize continued practice without a license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1041-1068. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Optometry, LR 48:299 (February 2022). 

 
Dr. James D. Sandefur, O.D. 
Executive Director 

2202#041 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Crisis Receiving Centers 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapter 53 and 5415) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 48:I.Chapter 53 and adopted 
§5415 as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.11 et 
seq. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49.950 
et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 53. Level III Crisis Receiving Centers 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5303. Definitions 

* * * 
Community Mental Health Center—a Medicare certified 

program as defined in 42 CFR §410.2. An entity that: 
1. provides outpatient services, including specialized 

outpatient services for children, the elderly, individuals who 
are chronically mentally ill, and clients of its mental health 
service area who have been discharged from inpatient 
treatment at a mental health facility;  

2. provides 24-hour-a-day emergency care services; 
3. provides day treatment or other partial 

hospitalization services, or psychosocial rehabilitation 
services;  

4. provides screening for patients being considered for 
admission to state mental health facilities to determine the 
appropriateness of this admission; 

5. meets applicable licensing or certification 
requirements for CMHCs in the state in which it is located; 
and  

6. provides at least 40 percent of its services to 
individuals who are not eligible for benefits under title 
XVIII of the Social Security Act. 

* * * 
Department—the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH). 

* * * 
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Level III Crisis Receiving Center (or Center or CRC)—an 
agency, business, institution, society, corporation, person or 
persons, or any other group, licensed by the LDH to provide 
crisis identification, intervention and stabilization services 
for people in behavioral crisis. CRCs receive, examine, 
triage, refer, or treat people in behavioral health crisis. A 
CRC shall have no more than: 

1. 36 chairs for crisis stabilization/observation; and 
2. 24 beds for short term stay (three to seven days). 

a. - b. Repealed. 
NOTE: Refer to physical environment Section of this Chapter 
for physical space requirements. 

* * * 
Mental Health Emergency Room Extension (MHERE)—a 

mental health emergency room extension operating as a unit 
of a currently licensed hospital. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:102 (January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:472 (April 2021), LR 
48:301 (February 2022). 
Subchapter B. Licensing 
§5309. General Licensing Provisions 

A. All entities providing crisis receiving services shall be 
licensed by LDH. It shall be unlawful to operate as a CRC 
without a license issued by the department. LDH is the only 
licensing authority for CRCs in Louisiana.  

B. ... 
C. The following entities are exempt from CRC 

licensure under this Chapter, so long as they are providing 
CRC services to existing clients: 

1. community mental health centers (CMHCs);  
2. - 3. ... 
4. psychiatric residential treatment facilities;  
5. - 6. ... 
7. home and community based services (HCBS) 

waiver agencies limited to center-based respite; 
8. substance use/addictive disorder facilities;  
9. mental health clinics as defined in §5603; 
10. ...  
11. MHEREs; and 
12. federally qualified health care centers (FQHCs).  
13. Repealed. 

D. - L. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:103 (January 2015), amended LR 48:301 (February 2022). 
Subchapter I. Physical Environment 
§5397. Interior Space 

A. The CRC shall: 
1. - 5. ... 
6. maintain heating, ventilation and cooling systems in 

good order and safe condition to ensure a comfortable 
environment;  

7. ensure that electric receptacles in client care areas 
are tamper-resistant or equipped with ground fault circuit 
interrupters; and 

8. maintain separate wings or units for voluntary and 
involuntary individuals to include areas for admissions, 

sleeping, shower and toilet areas, and sally ports or other 
entry areas. Further, the CRC shall provide separate areas 
(which may be accomplished by providing areas to 
voluntary individuals at different times than to involuntary 
individuals) for dining, recreational, educational, vocational, 
health care, and passageways, for voluntary and involuntary 
individuals.  

B. - P.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:121 (January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 47:475 (April 2021), LR 
48:302 (February 2022). 
Chapter 54. Crisis Receiving Centers 
Subchapter B. Voluntary-Only Crisis Receiving Center 
§5415 Voluntary-Only Crisis Receiving Center  

A. Any entity, organization, or person applying to be 
licensed as a CRC has the option to be licensed as a 
voluntary-only crisis receiving center (VO-CRC), wherein 
the licensed entity shall only admit or receive individuals 
who present voluntarily to the facility. 

B. Individuals presenting to a VO-CRC shall have the 
ability to come and go to the facility for services as the 
individual deems appropriate; individuals shall not be 
required to sign a formal voluntary admission form under 
R.S. 28:52 or successor statute. 

C. A VO-CRC shall adhere to all the licensing 
requirements for CRCs, including Chapter 53 and Chapter 
54 of this licensing Rule, with the following substitutions: 

1. for §5367.C, a VO-CRC shall only receive 
individuals who present voluntarily to the unit/facility; 

2. for §5367.F.1.b, a VO-CRC does not need to 
establish legal authority for the individual; 

3. for §5397.A.8, the VO-CRC does not need to 
maintain separate spaces for involuntary and voluntary 
admissions or individuals, since the VO-CRC will only serve 
voluntary admissions or individuals; and 

4. for §5397.G, a VO-CRC shall not have a seclusion 
room. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48:302 (February 
2022). 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#050 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Facility Need Review 
Relocation of Nursing Facility Beds 

(LAC 48:I.12529) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amend LAC 48:I.12529 as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and 40:2116. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
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R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day 
of promulgation. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 5.  Health Planning 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 
Subchapter D. Relocation of Nursing Facility Beds 
§12529. General Provisions 

A. - D. ... 
1. The department may approve a one-time temporary 

relocation of a nursing facility’s Medicaid FNR approvals to 
another licensed building that may be outside the existing 
FNR approved service area or parish, provided that all of the 
following provisions are met: 

a. - e. ... 
f. The temporary license shall expire 18 months 

from the date of issuance and the facility shall relocate to its 
new replacement nursing facility building during that period. 
One extension of the temporary license, not to exceed 6 
months, may be granted by the department for good cause 
shown. 

g. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and 40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:806 (August 1995), amended LR 
25:1250 (July 1999), LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1023 
(May 2004), LR 32:845 (May 2006), LR 34:2619 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1009 (May 2010), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing LR 46:953 (July 2020), LR 47:1306 (September 2021), 
LR 48:303 (February 2022). 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#051 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has repealed the following uncodified Rules in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

 

Register Date Title 

Register 
Volume, 
Number 

Page 
Number 

December 20, 1984 Physician 
Recertification for 
Recipients in SNFs 
and ICFs 

Vol 10 
No 12 

1034 

April 20, 1987 MAP - LTC 
Reimbursement 
Methodology - Wage 
Clarification 

Vol 13 
No 04 

243 

Register Date Title 

Register 
Volume, 
Number 

Page 
Number 

August 20, 1989 MAP - Pharmacist 
and Medical Records 
Practitioner 
Consultation for 
LTC Facilities 

Vol 15 
No 08 

628 

April 20, 1990 MAP - Temporary 
Management 

Vol 16 
No 04 

318 

March 20, 1994 Nursing Facility - 
Infectious Disease - 
Tuberculosis 

Vol 20 
No 03 

306 

 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#052 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology 
Cost Reports (LAC 50:II.20003) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20003 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20003. Cost Reports [Formerly LAC 50:VII.1303] 

A. - A.3. ... 
B. Cost reports must be prepared in accordance with the 

cost reporting instructions adopted by the Medicare Program 
using the definition of allowable and non-allowable cost 
contained in the CMS Publication 15-1, Provider 
Reimbursement Manuals, with the following exceptions. 

1. - 2. ... 
3. Amended Cost Reports. The department will accept 

amended cost reports in electronic format for a period of 12 
months following the end of the cost reporting period. Cost 
reports may not be amended after an audit or desk review 
has been initiated; however, the department maintains the 
right, at their discretion, to supersede this requirement and
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allow a cost report to be amended after the desk review or 
audit has been initiated. When an amended cost report is 
received by the department, it will notify the submitting 
facility if a desk review or audit covering the submitted cost 
report period has been initiated and that the amended cost 
report cannot be accepted. Amended cost reports should 
include a letter explaining the reason for the amendment, an 
amended certification statement with original signature, and 
the electronic format completed amended cost reports. Each 
amended cost report submitted should be clearly marked 
with “Amended” in the file name. 

4. Rate Warning. While the Medicare regulations may 
allow more than one option for classifying costs, Medicaid 
will only recognize costs in a rate and floor component 
based on the case mix cross-walk shown on the case mix 
cross-walk tab of the Medicaid Excel cost report template. If 
a facility chooses to classify cost on their Medicare cost 
report in a manner that excludes that cost from their direct 
care or care-related rate component and floor, then the cost 
will forever be excluded from the direct care and care-
related rate and floor, unless adjusted at audit or desk review. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 
LR 32:2263 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
40:541 (March 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:526 (March 2017), LR 
48:303 (February 2022). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#053 

 
RULE 

Workforce Commission 
Rehabilitation Services 

Rehabilitation Services 
(LAC 67:VII.101, 103, 107, 109, 110, 115, 117,  
207, 213, 219, 223, 505, 507, 1501, 1503, 1505,  

1713, 1717, 1723, 1735, 2105, 2115) 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission, Louisiana 
Rehabilitation Services (LRS) has amended Chapters 1, 2, 5, 
15, 17, and 21 of LAC 67, Social Services, as authorized by 
R.S. 23:3022. The amendments are promulgated in 
accordance with provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The amendments to Chapter 1 of LAC 67 clarify the 
overall mission of the Louisiana Rehabilitation Services and 
update regulations related to those programs that are the 
responsibility of the Rehabilitation Services and no longer 
the responsibility of the Department of Social Services. The 
amendments update "enabling legislation" language 

contained in the Chapter. The amendments edit language 
related to "undocumented immigrants". The amendments 
also modify the Order of Selection utilized by LRS in 
determining the placement category of individuals eligible 
for vocational rehabilitation services and the income scale 
used for financial needs and budgetary analysis tests. The 
amendments also add the vocational rehabilitation service of 
customized employment. 

The amendments to Chapter 2 of LAC 67 update language 
related to Community Rehabilitation Program (CRP) 
insurance coverage, CRP safeguards for protecting consumer 
privacy information, and requires that CRP's maintain 
performance-reporting systems.  

The amendments to Chapter 5 of LAC 67 updates 
language related to the legal authority for the Rehabilitation 
program.  

The amendments to Chapter 15 of LAC 67 update 
regulations related to programs that are no longer the 
responsibility of the Department of Social Services. The 
amendments also update the "enabling legislation" section of 
the chapter.  

The amendments to Chapter 17 of LAC 67 updates 
regulations related to federal cost principles that are 
applicable to activities that are assisted by LRS grants to 
institutions of higher education, hospitals, nonprofit 
organizations, and state and local government. 

The amendments to Chapter 21 of LAC 67 updates 
definitions related to the administration of the Louisiana 
Rehabilitative Services. This Rule is hereby adopted on the 
day of promulgation. 

Title 67  
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part VII.  Rehabilitation Services  
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Agency Profile 

A. Mission. To assist persons with disabilities in their 
desire to obtain, maintain or advance in competitive 
integrated employment and achieve independence in their 
communities by providing rehabilitation services and by 
working cooperatively with business and other community 
resources. 

B. Program Administration. Louisiana Rehabilitation 
Services, hereafter referred to as LRS, will secure 
appropriate resources and support in administering the 
various programs under the responsibility of the agency. 
These programs include, but are not limited to: 

1. Vocational Rehabilitation Program; 
2. Title VII Chapter 1, Part B Independent Living 

Program; 
3. Title VII Chapter 2, Independent Living Services 

for Older Individuals Who Are Blind; 
4. Title VI Supported Employment Program; 
5. Randolph-Sheppard Blind Vending Facility 

Program; 
C. - M. … 
N. Comprehensive System of Personnel Development. 

LRS will provide a comprehensive system of personnel 
development in accordance with the Rehabilitation Act 
Amendments of 1998, as amended. 

O. - Q. … 
R. Misrepresentation, Fraud, Collusion, or Criminal 

Conduct 
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1. Individuals who obtain access to the services 
provided by LRS through means of misrepresentation, fraud, 
collusion, or criminal conduct shall be held responsible for 
the return of funds expended by LRS on the individual's 
behalf. Further, such actions shall result in the closure of the 
individual's vocational rehabilitation case record. Failure on 
the individual's part to make reparation of funds to the 
agency may result in legal action being taken by, the 
Louisiana Workforce Commission. 

2. In cases in which LRS is in possession of clear 
evidence of misrepresentation, fraud, collusion, or criminal 
conduct on the part of the individual for the purpose of 
obtaining services for which the individual would not 
otherwise be eligible, the individual's case will be referred to 
the Louisiana Workforce Commission's, General Counsel for 
consultation and/ or investigation. If, the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission's General Counsel concurs or 
determines that the individual has obtained services through 
misrepresentation, fraud, collusion, or criminal conduct, a 
certified letter will be directed to the individual by the LRS 
Counselor demanding payment in full of funds which have 
been expended by the agency on the individual's behalf. The 
failure of the individual to comply with the demand for 
reparation may result in legal action being taken on behalf of 
LRS. 

S. - T. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), 
repromulgated LR 21:189 (February 1995), amended LR 21:473 
(May 1995), LR 21:837 (August 1995), LR 25:1263 (July 1999), 
LR 29:46 (January 2003), by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:8304 (February 2022). 
§103. Enabling Legislation 

A. The Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 2014, as 
amended through P.L. 114-95, enacted December 10, 2015, 
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. 

B. Code of Federal Regulations. Volume 34, Sections 
361, 363, 367, 370, and 397. Volume 45, Section 1329. 

C. - C.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23-3001. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 25:1265 
(July 1999), LR 29:46 (January 2003), amended by Workforce 
Commission, Rehabilitation Services, LR 41:1775 (September 
2015), LR 48:305 (February 2022). 

§107. Applicant/Client Appeal Rights 
A. - C.4.f. …  

* * * 
D. Review of Fair Hearing Decisions 

1. The impartial review for decisions rendered by 
impartial hearing officers is the final level of appeal within 
the Office of Workforce Development regarding disputes 
arising within Louisiana Rehabilitation Services. Subsequent 
to a decision being reached as a result of the impartial 
review by the Office of Workforce Development, any further 
pursuit of the issue by the applicant/client (or, as 
appropriate, the applicant/client's representative) or the 
agency must be by civil action through the public court 
system. 

2. The decision of the impartial hearing officer will be 
final unless the applicant/client or the agency requests a 
review of the impartial hearing officer's decision by making 
a written request to the Assistant Secretary of the Office of 
Workforce Development within 20 days of mailing the 
decision. The Office of Workforce Development Assistant 
Secretary cannot delegate the responsibility for making this 
final decision to any other officer or employee of Louisiana 
Rehabilitation Services. The applicant/client and the agency 
shall be provided an opportunity to submit additional 
evidence and information relevant to the final decision. 

3. The Office of Workforce Development Assistant 
Secretary may not overturn or modify a decision of an 
impartial hearing officer, or part of such a decision, that 
supports the position of the applicant/client unless the 
assistant secretary determines, based on clear and 
convincing evidence, that the decision of the impartial 
hearing officer is clearly erroneous on the basis of being 
contrary to the state plan, the Rehabilitation Act (including 
regulations implementing the Act) or any state regulation or 
policy that is consistent with the federal requirements 
specified in the Act. 

4. The Office of Workforce Development Assistant 
Secretary shall provide the decision reached in writing to the 
applicant/client and to Louisiana Rehabilitation Services. 
This decision shall include a full report of the findings and 
grounds for the decision. 

E. Civil Action. Any party aggrieved by a final decision 
from an impartial review by the Office of Workforce 
Development may bring civil action for review of such 
decision. The action may be brought in any state court of 
competent jurisdiction or in district court of the United 
States of competent jurisdiction without regard to the 
amount in controversy. If a party brings a civil action, the 
final decision of the Office of Workforce Development shall 
be implemented pending review by the court. In any action 
brought under this Subsection, the court shall: 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), 
repromulgated LR 21:189 (February 1995), amended LR 24:958 
(May 1998), LR 25:1266 (July 1999), LR 26:1634 (August 2000), 
LR 29:46 (January 2003), by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:305 (February 2022). 
§109. Eligibility and Ineligibility 

A. - A.1.a. … 
b. requires vocational rehabilitation services to 

prepare for, secure, retain, regain, or advance in 
employment; and 

A.1.c. - E.1.c. … 
d. Louisiana Rehabilitation Services does not 

impose a residence requirement. Undocumented immigrants, 
however, cannot be served. Immigrants who are disabled 
who have a legal, unexpired work visa, and who otherwise 
meet the eligibility criteria, can be served. 

F. - F.2.b.ii. … 
 iii. a referral to any other agencies or programs 
from whom the individual may be eligible to receive 
services, including other components of the statewide 
workforce development system. 
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F.3. - I.1.c.i. … 
 ii. whose vocational rehabilitation can be 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time (extended period of 
time means three months or longer); and 

I.1.c.iii. - K.4.a.i. … 
 ii. the individual's significant physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits three or more functional 
capacity areas; and 
 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time; 

b. Selection Group II―Significantly Disabled. An 
eligible individual is considered significantly disabled when 
the following apply: 
 i. … 
 ii. the individual's severe physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits one or two functional capacity 
areas; and 
 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time. 

c. Selection Group III―Non-Significantly 
Disabled. An individual is considered non-significantly 
disabled when: 
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. the individual does not meet the above stated 
criteria for an individual who is either "most significantly 
disabled" or "significantly disabled." 

4.d. - 5. … 
6. Information and Referral. LRS will, as appropriate, 

refer those individuals in selection groups not being served 
to other components of the statewide workforce 
development system that are best suited to address the 
specific employment needs of the individual with a 
disability. 

7. - 8.a. … 
b. When it is impossible to serve all eligible 

individuals within a priority category, the individuals (in 
addition to referral to other components of the statewide 
workforce development system) will be placed on a deferred 
services waiting list. Individuals on the deferred services 
waiting list will be served in chronological order based on 
the date of application. 

8.c. - 9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 21:191 
(February 1995), LR 22:993 (October 1996), LR 23:995 (August 
1997), LR 25:1267 (July 1999), LR 27:211 (February 2001), by the 
Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:3045 
(February 2022). 
§110. Information and Referral Services 

A. - A.1. … 
2. to ensure that such individuals, as appropriate, are 

referred to other federal and state programs, including other 
components of the statewide workforce development system. 

B. - B.1.a.ii. … 
 iii. supervised job placement referrals to 
Workforce Development; 

1.a.iv.-2.b.iii. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 25:1270 
(July 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:306 (February 2022). 
§115. Financial  

A. Comparable Services and Similar Benefits 
1. Determination of Availability 

a. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation 
service to an eligible individual, except those services 
specified below in Subclauses c.i.(a)-(f), LRS will determine 
whether comparable services and benefits are available 
under any other program (other than a program carried out 
under Title IV, Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 2014) 
unless such a determination would interrupt or delay: 

A.1.a.i. - B.1. … 
2. LRS will consider, through budgetary analysis of 

assets, income, disability-related expenses and comparable 
services and benefits, the financial need of eligible 
individuals; and individuals who are in trial work periods for 
purposes of determining the extent of the individual’s 
participation in the costs of certain vocational rehabilitation 
services.  

a. … 
 i. assessment for determining eligibility and 
priority for services, except those non-assessment services 
that are provided during an evaluation to explore the 
individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to perform in 
work situations (trial work periods);  

2.a.ii. - 3.d.ii. … 
C. LRS shall determine an individual’s financial need for 

certain vocational rehabilitation services, as listed in 
Subparagraph B.2.b above, based on the individual’s 
disability related expenses, available assets, and a multiple 
of 250-500 percent of the current U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services’ poverty guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23-3022. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 21:837 
(August 1995), LR 24:959 (May 1998), LR 25:1273 (July 1999), 
LR 27:212 (February 2001), LR 27:1561 (September 2001), LR 
29:47 (January 2003), LR 30:1488 (July 2004), LR 34:1038 (June 
2008), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 41:1775 (September 2015), repromulgated LR 
41:2180 (October 2015), amended LR 48:306 (February 2022). 
§117. Vocational Rehabilitation Services 

A. Vocational Rehabilitation Services are any services 
described in an IPE necessary to assist an individual with a 
disability in preparing for, securing, advancing in, retaining, 
or regaining an employment goal that is consistent with the 
strengths, resources, priorities, concerns, abilities, 
capabilities, interests, and informed choice of the individual, 
including: 

1.-15. … 
16. supported employment and customized 

employment services; 
A.17. - D.4. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23-3001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
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(September 1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 25:1274 
(July 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 41:1775 (September 2015), LR 48:306 
(February 2022). 
Chapter 2. Community Rehabilitation Program 
§207. Fiscal Accounting Systems and Record Keeping 

A. The CRP must maintain adequate fiscal records and 
accountability so as to demonstrate, upon request, receipt 
and utilization of funds from LRS. Each CRP must have an 
annual external audit and management letter and include a 
single audit where indicated or required by law. 

B. The CRP must have adequate insurance, as 
appropriate to services provided, to protect against 
reasonable claims due to adverse events to protect persons 
served. This includes but is not limited to: 

1. workers' compensation; 
2. liability; 
3. property; 
4. vehicle; 
5. directors’ and officers’ liability; 
6. errors and omissions; 
7. casualty; 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:1955 
(October 1998), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:307 (February 2022). 
§213. Confidentiality and Case Records 

A. - A.2. … 
B. The CRP shall have safeguards in place for electronic 

records to protect the privacy of the consumer's information 
including: 

1. safeguards for names, Social Security numbers, 
birthdates, medical information; 

2. process for reporting breach of security; 
3. notification of appropriate authorities; 
4. notification of LRS; 
5. timelines for reporting breaches of security. 

C. Notification to Clients. Individuals asked to supply 
the CRP with information concerning themselves shall be 
informed of the CRP's need to collect confidential 
information and the policies governing its use, release, and 
access including: 

1. a Consent to Release Case Record Information 
Form contained in case files which must document that 
individuals have been advised of the confidentiality of 
information pertinent to their case; 

2. the principal purpose for which the CRP intends to 
use or release the requested data; 

3. whether the individuals may refuse, or are legally 
required to supply the requested data; 

4. any known consequence arising from not providing 
the requested information; 

5. the identity of other agencies to which information 
is routinely released. 

D. Release of Confidential Information. The case file 
must contain documentation concerning any information 
released with the individual's written consent. 

E. No use shall be made of the name or picture of an 
individual served without the prior written consent of the 
individual, or his or her legal guardian. 

F. Client Access to Data. When requested in writing by 
the involved individual or an authorized representative, 
clients or applicants have the right to see and obtain in a 
timely manner copies of any information that the CRP 
maintains on them, including information in their case files, 
except: 

1. medical and/or psychological information, when 
the service provider states in writing that disclosure to the 
individual would be detrimental to the individual's physical 
or mental health; 

2. medical, psychological, or other information which 
the CRP determines harmful to the individual; 

NOTE: Such information may not be released directly to the 
individual, but must be released, with the individual's 
informed consent, to the individual's representative, or a 
physician or a licensed or certified psychologist. 

3. personal information that has been obtained from 
another agency or organization. Such information may be 
released only by or under the conditions established by the 
other agency or organization. 

G. Informed Consent. Informed consent means that the 
individual has signed an authorization to release information 
and such authorization is as follows: 

1. in a language that the individual understands; 
2. dated; 
3. specific as to the nature of the information which 

may be released; 
4. specifically designates the parties to whom the 

information may be released; 
5. specific as to the purpose(s) for which the released 

information may be used; 
6. specific as to the expiration date of the informed 

consent which must not exceed one year. 
H. Release of Client Information without Informed 

Consent 
1. The CRP must have written authorization to release 

confidential client information except in the following 
instance: 

a. the CRP can release personal information without 
informed written authorization to protect the client or others 
when the client poses a threat to his/her safety or to the 
safety of others; 

b. the CRP can only release that information 
necessary to protect the client or others; 

c. the CRP or employee providing the information 
must carefully record all the facts and circumstances in the 
client's case record. 

2. Examples of Emergency Situations. Emergency 
situations that might require release of personal information 
without informed written authorization could possibly 
include the following: 

a. threats of murder and/or suicide; 
b. threats to the safety of the workplace; 
c. national security violations. 

I. Confidentiality―HIV Diagnosis. Each time 
confidential information is released on applicants or clients 
who have been diagnosed as HIV positive, a specific 
informed written consent form must be obtained. 

J. Location of Records 
1. The CRP shall keep on site the following records: 

a. all IPE's and Agency Service Plans; 
b. all client plan updates and progress notes; 
c. all client evaluations; 
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d. a copy of the CRP's policy and procedure 
manual(s); 

e. a copy of the employee's criminal history check. 
2. All other records shall be kept in the main office of 

the CRP, if applicable. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:1955 
(October 1998), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:307 (February 2022). 
§219. Vocational Modules 

A. - C.2. … 
3. The employment preparation should result in skills 

required for successful placement of the individual into 
competitive integrated employment based on the designated 
employment goal. 

D. - D.4. … 
5. The CRP shall maintain a reporting system that 

reports on the performance of services provided to include: 
a. number of persons served; 
b. characteristics of person served; 
c. number/percentage of persons completing 

service; 
d. number/percentage of consumers achieving 

competitive integrated employment; 
e. number/percentage of consumers who retain 90 

days of competitive integrated employment for six and 
twelve months after exit; 

f. number/percentage of job placements meeting 
high quality indicators; 

g. average rate of hourly pay of those achieving 
employment outcomes. 

D.6. - E.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:1957 
(October 1998), amended by Louisiana Workforce Commission, 
Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 38:148 (January 2012), LR 
48:308 (February 2022). 
§223. Denial or Revocation of Vendorship 

A. - A.1. … 
2. failure to provide required documents for the bi-

annual renewal process or formal request for documents by 
LRS; 

A.3. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Louisiana Workforce 

Commission, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 38:148 
(January 2012), amended LR 48:307 (February 2022). 
Chapter 5. Business Enterprises Program Manual 
§505. Federal Legal Authority 

A. The Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended by the 
Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 1986 and 1992, 1998 and 
2014. In accordance with federal law under title I of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Public Law 93-112) as amended, 
including the Rehabilitation Act amendments of 1986 
(Public Law 99-506), and the Rehabilitation Act 
amendments of 1992 (Public Law 102-569), vocational and 
the Rehabilitation Act amendments of 1998 (Public Law 
105-220) and the Rehabilitation Act amendments of 2014 
(Public Law 114-95 enacted in 2015) other rehabilitation 

services are offered to individuals with disabilities through 
Louisiana Rehabilitation Services. 

B. Code of Federal Regulations – Volume 34, Sections 
361, 363, 370 and 395. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:3022. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 25:527 
(March 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 41:2177 (October 2015), LR 48:308 
(February 2022). 
§507. State Legal Authority 

A. Louisiana Revised Statutes―R.S. 49:664. Section 6B 
(1)(b) (Legislative Act that created the Department of Health 
and Hospitals), R.S. 36:477(c) (Legislative Act that created 
the Department of Social Services), R.S. 36:301 (Legislative 
Act that created the Louisiana Workforce Commission). 

B. Louisiana Act 19 of 1988, effected the merger of the 
Division of Rehabilitation Services with the Division of 
Blind Services to form Louisiana Rehabilitation Services. 
Louisiana Act 939 of 2010 transferred the agency from the 
Department of Social Services to the Louisianan Workforce 
Commission. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:3022. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 25:528 
(March 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 41:2178 (October 2015), LR 48:308 
(February 2022). 
Chapter 15. Independent Living Policy Manual 
§1501. Agency Profile 

A. - J. … 
K. Client Assistance Program. All programs, including 

centers for independent living, community rehabilitation 
programs, and projects that provide services to individuals 
with disabilities under the Rehabilitation Act Amendments 
of 2014 shall advise such individuals, or the parents, family 
members, guardians, advocates, or authorized 
representatives of the individuals, of the availability and 
purposes of the Client Assistance Program, including 
information on means of seeking assistance under such 
program. 

L. - R. … 
1. Individuals who obtain access to the services 

provided by LRS through means of misrepresentation, fraud, 
collusion, or criminal conduct shall be held responsible for 
the return of funds expended by LRS on the individual's 
behalf. Further, such actions shall result in the closure of the 
individual's independent living case record. Failure on the 
individual's part to make reparation of funds to the agency 
may result in legal action being taken by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission. 

2. In cases in which LRS is in possession of clear 
evidence of misrepresentation, fraud, collusion, or criminal 
conduct on the part of the individual for the purpose of 
obtaining services for which the individual would not 
otherwise be eligible, the individual's case will be referred to 
the Louisiana Workforce Commission's General Counsel for 
consultation and/or recommendation regarding judicial 
action. If Louisiana Workforce Commission's, General 
Counsel determines, through reviewing case data, that the 
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individual has obtained services through misrepresentation, 
fraud, collusion, or criminal conduct, a certified letter will be 
directed to the individual by the LRS counselor demanding 
payment in full of funds which have been expended by the 
agency on the individual's behalf. The failure of the 
individual to comply with the demand for reparation may 
result in legal action being taken on behalf of LRS. 

S. -T. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, R.S. 49:664 Section 6B, 
R.S. 36:477 (c), R.S. 46:331-335, R.S. 39:1595.3 and R.S. 39:1594 
(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 17:891 
(September 1991), amended LR 20:673 (June 1994), LR 26:2322 
(October 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:308 (February 2022). 
§1503. Enabling Legislation 

A. The Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 2014, as 
amended through P.L. 114-95, enacted December 10, 2015, 
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, 29 USC Chapter 
16: Vocational Rehabilitation and Other Rehabilitation 
Services. 

B. Code of Federal Regulations, Volume34, Section 365 
and 45 Code of Federal Regulations Part 1329.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, R.S. 49:664 Section 6B, 
R.S.36:477(c), R.S. 46:331-335, R.S. 1595.3 and R.S. 39:1594(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 26:2323 
(October 2000), amended LR 27:428 (March 2001), amended by 
the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:309 
(February 2022). 
§1505. Confidentiality  

A. - C.1.a. … 
b. the Louisiana Workforce Commission and 

military services of the United States government; 
C.1.c. - G.2.b. … 

c. inform the regional manager or designee if the 
above steps do not resolve the situation. In this case, the 
regional manager or designee will then turn the matter over 
to the Louisiana Workforce Commission's legal counsel; 

3. - 3.d.iii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, R.S. 49:664 Section 6B, 
R.S.36:477(c), R.S. 46:331-335, R.S. 1595.3 and R.S. 39:1594(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 26:2323 
(October 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
Chapter 17. Grant Policy 
§1713. Financial Administration 

A. - A.3.d. … 
e. Allowable Cost. Applicable cost principles, 

applicable state laws and regulations, agency program 
regulations, and the terms of grant agreement will be 
followed in determining the reasonableness, allowability and 
allocability of costs; 

3.f. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.6 and R.S. 36.477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:585 (June

1995), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
§1717. Cost Principles 

A. Recipients shall adhere to applicable cost principles 
found in 2 CFR Part 200, Subpart E. All project costs 
charged to this grant will be reasonable, necessary, 
allowable, and allocable according to the applicable cost 
principles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:664.6 and R.S. 36.477. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:585 (June 
1995), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
§1723. Property 

A. - A.2. … 
a. Tangible personal property having an acquisition 

cost of $5,000 or more per unit. 
b. - c. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:664.6 and R.S. 36.477. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:586 (June 
1995), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
§1735. Contract Provisions 

A. - B. … 
C. Audit Requirements. 2 CFR Part 200, Subpart F. 
D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

49:664.6 and R.S. 36.477. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 21:588 (June 
1995), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
Chapter 21. Randolph-Sheppard Trust Fund Policy 
§2105. Definitions 

Agency—Louisiana Rehabilitation Services of the Office 
of Workforce Development within the Louisiana Workforce 
Commission, which licenses blind vendors. 

Blind Enterprise Program―the services available to 
establish business enterprises and other similar programs for 
persons who are blind as provided in the Randolph-Sheppard 
Act. 

Blind Vendors―those individuals who are classified under 
state and federal regulations as legally blind and who are 
licensed to and have a permit to operate vending facilities on 
state, federal, or other property. 

Board―the Blind Vendors Trust Fund Advisory Board. 
Department―the Louisiana Workforce Commission. 
Director―the director of Louisiana Rehabilitation 

Services. 
Fund―the Blind Vendors Trust Fund. 
Randolph-Sheppard Act―the federal law which enables 

the Blind Enterprise Program under the authority of 20 
U.S.C. 107 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:3041-23:3045. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 22:119 (February 
1996), amended by the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation 
Services, LR 41:2180 (October 2015), amended by the Workforce 
Commission, Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:309 (February 2022). 
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§2115. General Requirements 
A. … 
B. Civil Rights and Equal Employment Opportunities 

with Regard to Employees or Agencies Delivering Services. 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 
prohibits discrimination because of race, color, or national 
origin; Title V of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as 
amended, and Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act 
PL 101-336 prohibit discrimination because of disabling 
condition. The provisions of these acts apply to services and 
programs administered by Louisiana Rehabilitation Services. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:3041-23:3045. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 22:120 
(February 1996), amended by the Workforce Commission, 
Rehabilitation Services, LR 41:2180 (October 2015), amended by 
the Workforce Commission, Rehabilitation Services, LR 48:310 
(February 2022). 

 
Ava Cates 
Secretary 

2202#042 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development  
Office of Entertainment Industry Development  

Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program  
(LAC 61:I.Chapter 61)  

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Department of Economic Development proposes to 
amend the Rules for the Motion Picture Production Tax 
Credit Program (R.S. 47: 6007, et seq.) to better align the 
rules with current statutory provisions and administrative 
practices, as required by portions of Act 309 of the 2017 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.  

Title 61  
REVENUE AND TAXATION  

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue Chapter 61. Motion Picture 

Production Tax Credit Program  
§6101. Purpose 

A. … 
B. This Chapter shall be administered to achieve the 

following: 
1. to encourage development of a strong capital base 

within the state for the motion picture and related industries;  
2. to achieve a self-supporting, independent, 

indigenous industry; and 
3. to encourage development of state of the art motion 

picture production and post-production facilities: 
a. in the short-term, to attract private investors in 

state-certified productions; 
b. in the long-term, to encourage the development 

of a skilled state workforce trained in the film and video 
industry. 

C. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1125.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:52 (January 2010), 
repromulgated by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, LR 45:868 (July 2019), LR 48: 
§6103. General Description 

A. For application received on or after July 1, 2017, 
state-certified productions may be eligible for up to a 40 
percent tax credit on total qualified in-state expenditures, 
including resident and non-labor as follows: 

1. Base Investment Credit 
a. Base Rate. State-certified productions with a total 

base investment greater than $300,000, or for Louisiana 
screenplay state-certified productions with a total base 
investment equal to or greater than $50,000, a tax credit of 
25 percent of the base investment may be allowed; 

b. Louisiana Screenplay. State-certified productions 
with expenditures equal to or greater than $50,000, but not 

greater than $5,000,000, based upon a screenplay created by 
a Louisiana resident, may be eligible for an increased 10 
percent credit of the base investment, for a total of 35 
percent. 

c. Out of Zone Filming. State-certified productions 
that have their production office and at least 60 percent of 
principal photography based and occurring outside of the 
New Orleans Metropolitan Statistical Area ( NOLA-MSA) 
may be eligible for an increased 5 percent credit of base 
investment, for a total of 30 percent or 40 percent total for a 
Louisiana screenplay shot out of the zone. 
 i. In NOLA-MSA zone: Orleans, Jefferson, 
Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James and St. 
Tammany Parishes, Out-of-zone: All other parishes 
including St. John the Baptist Parish. 

2. Additional Payroll and Visual Effects (VFX) 
Credits 

a. Louisiana resident payroll. Compensation for 
services paid directly to a Louisiana resident may be eligible 
for an additional 15 percent credit for qualified Louisiana 
resident payroll only. 
 i. Payments made to a loan-out company are not 
eligible for this additional credit.  

b. VFX. If at least 50 percent of the VFX budget is 
expended for services performed in Louisiana by an 
approved Qualified Entertainment Company (QEC), or a 
minimum of $1,000,000 in qualified expenditures are made 
in Louisiana, an additional 5 percent credit may be allowed 
on the qualified VFX spend only.  

3. Tax credits shall be earned at the time expenditures 
are certified by LED. The maximum credit rate, including 
base investment increases and additional payroll credits is 40 
percent of the base investment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1125.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:52 (January 2010), 
repromulgated by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, LR 45:868 (July 2019), LR 48: 
§6105. Definitions  

A. - B. …  
* * * 

Base Investment—cash or cash equivalent investment 
made and used for production expenditures in the state for a 
state-certified production. 

Begin Construction—Repealed. 
* * * 

Commissioner—Repealed. 
* * * 

Division—Repealed. 
* * * 

Expenditure―actual payment of cash or cash 
equivalent, paid by or on behalf of a state certified 
production exchanged for goods or services, as evidenced by 
an invoice, receipt or other such document. 

* * * 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 312

Investor―any individual or entity that makes an 
investment in a state-certified production including but not 
limited to any individual or entity that is identified as a 
source of funds for a state certified production on its 
expenditure verification report, individual or entity identified 
as an irrevocable designee for receipt of tax credits.  

LDR—Louisiana Department of Revenue 
Louisiana Publisher—Repealed. 
Louisiana Resident—a natural person who is required to 

file a Louisiana resident individual income tax return. 
Louisiana Screenplaya screenplay created by a 

Louisiana resident, as evidenced by documents such as 
certificate of authorship, a WGA registration certificate, the 
records of the United States Copyright Office, or other 
documentation approved by the office. 

Non-Applicable Production Expenditures―the 
following expenses are not eligible to earn tax credits: 

a. - h. … 
i. expenditure verification report deposit and fees; 
j. For applications received on or after July 1, 2016, 

bond fees, insurance premiums, finance fees and loan 
interest fees shall not qualify for tax credits, except for fees 
paid to certain Louisiana companies, in which case the 
expenditures to be allocated only on a pro rata basis, 
allocating the fees based on the relative percentage of 
production activity occurring in Louisiana;  

k. For applications received on or after July 1, 2017, 
catering and craft services shall not qualify for tax credits 
unless such expenditures are made to a source within the 
state. 

* * * 
Production Expenditures―preproduction, production 

and postproduction expenditures directly incurred in this 
state that are directly used in a state-certified production, 
whether the production company directly contracts or 
subcontracts such work, including without limitation the 
following: 

a. - l. … 
m. payments to a loan-out or personal services 

corporation for the services of an out-of-state hire are 
allowed as long as the services are performed in Louisiana 
on a state certified production and all withholding 
requirements are met. 

* * * 
Qualified Louisiana Production Company—Repealed. 

* * * 
Source within the State―a physical facility in 

Louisiana, operating with posted business hours and 
employing at least one full-time equivalent employee. 
Procurement companies that meet the requirements of La. 
R.S. 47:6007(B)(30) shall constitute a “source within the 
state”. 

State-Certified Infrastructure Project—Repealed. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:53 (January 2010), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 43:300 (February 2017), LR 48: 

§6107. Certification Procedures  
A. - A.1.b.i.(m).(iii). … 

  ii. - ii,(j). Repealed. 
1.c. - 2.f. … 
3. An application is not deemed to be complete until 

all information requested and required fees are received by 
LED. Required fees include both an application fee and an 
expenditure verification deposit fee.  

B. Qualification. The office and the secretary, and in the 
case of infrastructure projects, the division, shall determine 
whether a production qualifies for certification, by meeting 
all requirements of R.S. 47:6007 and these regulations, and 
taking the following factors into consideration: 

1. the impact of the production on the immediate and 
long-term objectives of R.S. 47:6007; 

2. the impact of the production on the employment of 
Louisiana residents; 

3. the impact of the production on the overall 
economy of the state. 

C. - C.1.b.ii. … 
 iii. - vii. Repealed. 

C.2. - D.1.d. … 
2. When requesting final certification of credits, the 

motion picture production company applicant shall submit to 
the office the following: 

a. a cost report, certified by a state licensed, 
independent certified public accountant and complying with 
the minimum standards as required by R.S. 
47:6007(D)(2)(d). The cost report may be subject to 
additional audit by the department or the Department of 
Revenue, at the applicant’s expense.  
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. Reimbursement of Audit Costs. The 
department may undertake additional audit at the applicant’s 
expense, to be performed by a state certified public 
accountant also certified in financial forensics or also 
certified as a fraud examiner. Audit fees will be assessed at 
the department’s contracted fee; 

b. additional information as may be requested. 
3. - 3.a.i. … 

b. Project-Based Production Tax Creditfor 
Applications Submitted on or after July 1, 2017 
 i. After review and determination of 
qualification, the office and the secretary shall issue a final 
certification letter, in accordance with the provisional 
allocations and amounts set forth in the initial certification 
letter, or a written denial. 
 ii. In the event that less than the reserved amount 
of tax credits has been verified, any unused credits will be 
released and may be available for issuance by the office. 
 iii. In the event that more than the reserved 
amount of tax credits has been verified, the office shall 
preliminarily issue tax credits in an amount not to exceed the 
total indicated in the initial certification letter, but may at its 
discretion, issue any excess credits in the same final 
certification letter or subsequently issue a supplemental tax 
credit for any excess expenditures, subject to availability of 
credits in any given fiscal year.  

D.4 - E.2.c. … 
d. the written determination shall be the final 

agency decision of the department; 
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e. the applicant may appeal an adverse decision to 
the Nineteenth Judicial District Court, which shall be limited 
to a review of the administrative record. 

3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007 and R.S. 36:104.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:55 (January 2010), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
the Secretary, Office of Business Development and the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation, LR 37:514 (February 2011), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 42:39 (January 2016), LR 48: 
§6109. Additional Program Provisions 

A. The following additional provisions shall apply to 
applications received on or after July 1, 2017: 

1. LED total program issuance cap. The aggregate 
dollar amount of tax credits issued for all state-certified 
productions shall not exceed $150,000,000 per fiscal year; 

2. LDR taxpayer claims cap. Tax credit claims and 
transfers to the state (“buy-back”) shall be limited to an 
aggregate total of $180,000,000 per fiscal year; 

3. LED individual project issuance cap. The 
maximum amount of credits certified by LED for a single 
state-certified production shall be $20,000,000, which may 
be structured over two or more years in the initial 
certification letter; 

a. Except for state-certified productions for scripted 
episodic content that may be granted up to $25,000,000 in 
credits per season. 

4. LED individual salary cap. The maximum amount 
of qualifying payroll expenditures per individual shall be 
$3,000,000. Payroll payments in excess of $3,000,000 made 
directly or indirectly to an individual or loan-out shall be 
excluded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1125.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:56 (January 2010), 
repromulgated by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, LR 45:874 (July 2019), LR 48: 
§6111. Additional Program Provisions―Infrastructure 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1125.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development and the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 36:56 (January 2010), 
repromulgated by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, LR 45:874 (July 2019), repealed 
LR 48: 
§6115. Louisiana Screenplay Credit 

Repealed 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development, LR 43:301 (February 
2017), repromulgated by the Department of Economic 

Development, Office of Business Development, LR 45:877 (July 
2019), repealed LR 48: 
§6117. Louisiana Music 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development, LR 42:1656 (October 
2016), repromulgated by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 45:877 (July 
2019), repealed LR 48: 
§6119. Louisiana Promotional Graphic 

A. For applications for state-certified productions 
initially certified received on or after July 1, 2017 at time of 
request for final certification, state certified productions 
shall be required to acknowledge the financial assistance of 
the state of Louisiana either through the inclusion of a 
Louisiana promotional graphic meeting requirements set 
forth below, or that an alternative marketing opportunity has 
been approved in writing by LED. 

1. - 2.ix. … 
3. A donation to a Louisiana nonprofit film grant 

program, as approved by LED. 
B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development, LR 42:1656 (October 
2016), repromulgated by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 45:878 (July 
2019), amended LR 48: 
§6121. Louisiana Filmmaker Credit 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, Office 
of Entertainment Industry Development, LR 43:301 (February 
2017), repromulgated by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 45:878 (July 
2019), repealed LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement  
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Statement  
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Provider Impact Statement  

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
providers of services as described in HCR 170 of the 2014 
Regular Legislative Session.  

Small Business Analysis  
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have a significant 

adverse impact on small businesses as defined in the 
Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses.  
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Public Comments  
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Stephen Hamner through the close of 
business on Tuesday, March 29, 2022 at 617 North Third 
Street, 11th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or via email to 
stephen.hamner@la.gov.  

Public Hearing  
A meeting for the purpose of receiving the presentation of 

oral comments will be held at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, March 
30, 2022 at the La Salle Building, Griffon Room, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802.  

 
Anne G. Villa  
Undersecretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Motion Picture Production  

Tax Credit Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not anticipated to result in 
any direct material effect on governmental expenditures or 
savings for state or local governmental units. They better align 
the rules with current statutory provisions and administrative 
practices as required by portions of Act 309 of the 2017 
Regular Session. Any administrative duties brought about by 
the proposed rule changes will be carried out utilizing existing 
staff and resources at the LA Dept. of Economic Development 
(LED).  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes update provisions for program 
applicants on or after July 1, 2017. However, all issuance 
activity operates under a cap of $150 M each fiscal year. 
Furthermore, film tax credit claims are capped at $180 M each 
fiscal year. Because the rule revisions occur under the auspices 
of these statutory credit issuance and claims caps, aggregate 
revenue for the state will not be affected. NOTE: The $150 M 
cap applies to LED’s issuance of credits. The $180 M cap 
applies to taxpayer claims with LDR. These are statutory, and 
have no bearing on this rule. 

The proposed rule changes will not affect local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Firms who are eligible for film tax credits may realize a 
reduction in tax liabilities to the extent they qualify for the 
credit and are able to receive additional credits to the extent 
other firms do not utilize the entirety of their initial film tax 
credit allocation 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Companies receiving benefits under this program will 
continue to gain competitively over companies that do not 
receive the program’s benefits.  

 
Anne G. Villa Alan M. Boxberger 
Undersecretary Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#030 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
(LAC 28:CXXXIX.4003) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC 28:CXXXIX. Bulletin 126—
Charter Schools in response to Act 353 of the 2021 Regular 
Legislative Session regarding annual in-service training on 
recognizing adverse childhood experiences and the 
utilization of trauma-informed education. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Chapter 40. Charter School Autonomy 
§4003. Applicability of State Laws 

A. Notwithstanding any state law, rule, or regulation to 
the contrary and except as may be otherwise specifically 
provided for in an approved charter, a charter school 
established and operated in accordance with the provisions 
of this Chapter and its approved charter and the school's 
officers and employees shall be exempt from all statutory 
mandates or other statutory requirements that are applicable 
to public schools and to public school officers and 
employees except for the following laws otherwise 
applicable to public schools with the same grades: 

A.1 - 44. … 
45. participation in one hour of annual in-service 

training on recognizing adverse childhood experiences and 
the utilization of trauma-informed education, R.S. 17:437.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3996. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 44:246 (February 
2018), amended LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 
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Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions are in response to Act 353 of the 
2021 Regular Legislative Session, which requires that, 
beginning with the 2021-2022 school year, all public and 
approved nonpublic school teachers, school counselors, 
principals, and other school administrators for whom the 
training is considered beneficial by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education shall annually participate in at least 
one hour of in-service training on recognizing adverse 
childhood experiences (ACEs) and the utilization of trauma-
informed education.  

The Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) has 
partnered with the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 
Bureau of Family Health which operates the ACE Educator 
Program to develop a training video to meet the in-service 
requirement. LDH will not experience costs associated with the 
creation of the training video and LDE will make the training 
video available to schools. No costs are anticipated for charter 
schools, as completion of the training is to be accomplished on 
a day when other types of in-service training are conducted. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs and/or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 127—LEAP Connect Assessment, Louisiana 
Connectors for Students with Significant Cognitive 

Disabilities 
(LAC28:XI.9901) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC28:XI. Bulletin 127—LEAP 
Connect Assessment, Louisiana Connectors for Students with 
Significant Cognitive Disabilities in accordance with 
guidance issued by the United States Department of 
Education regarding Title III of the Elementary and
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Secondary Education Act, as amended by the Every Student 
Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA).  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 
Subpart 5.  Bulletin 127—LEAP Connect Assessment, 

Louisiana Connectors for Students with Significant 
Cognitive Disabilities 

Chapter 99. English Language Learners 
§9901. Alternate Connectors for English Language 

Learners with Significant Cognitive Disabilities 
A. Construct meaning from oral presentations and 

literary and informational text through grade-appropriate 
listening, reading, and viewing.  

B. Participate in grade-appropriate oral and written 
exchanges of information, ideas, and analyses, responding to 
peer, audience, or reader comments and questions.  

C. Speak and write about grade-appropriate complex 
literary and informational texts and topics.  

D. Construct grade-appropriate oral and written claims.  
E. Conduct research and evaluate and communicate 

findings to answer questions or solve problems.  
F. Analyze and critique the arguments of others orally 

and in writing.  
G. Adapt language choices to purpose, task, and 

audience when speaking and writing.  
H. Determine the meaning of words and phrases in oral 

presentations and literary and informational text.  
I. Create clear and coherent grade-appropriate speech 

and text.  
J. Make accurate use of standard English to 

communicate in grade-appropriate speech and writing.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 48: 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 

or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 127—LEAP Connect 

Assessment, Louisiana Connectors for Students with 
Significant Cognitive Disabilities 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
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The proposed revisions will not have an effect on costs or 
savings of state agencies. There may be an increase in local 
expenditures by public school districts associated with training 
as a result of the implementation of the Connectors (standards); 
however, this cost is indeterminable.  

The proposed revisions provide alternative measurements 
of English language proficiency for English Learners with 
significant cognitive disabilities. The Alternate English Learner 
Connectors will be measured by the forthcoming alternate 
English Learner assessment, English Language Proficiency 
Test Connect.  

The Department of Education (LDE) plans to develop an 
assessment associated with the Alternate English Learner 
Connectors through an existing contract, English Language 
Proficiency Assessment for the 21st Century. This initial 
development will not result in additional costs and the proposed 
revisions do not require the purchase of such assessments at 
this time. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will benefit English Learners with 
significant cognitive disabilities by providing Connectors 
(standards) to be used in an alternate assessment of English 
Language Proficiency. This assessment will benefit school- and 
district-level teams as they support these students in learning 
English language knowledge and skills. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#033 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 139—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Development Fund Programs 
(LAC28:CLXV.509 and 515) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC28:CLXV. Bulletin 139—Louisiana 
Early Childhood Care and Development Fund Programs. 
The revisions increase the daily Child Care Assistance 
Program (CCAP) reimbursement rates and increase the 
income eligibility for CCAP to 85 percent of the State 
Median Income. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXV.  Bulletin 139—Louisiana Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs 

Chapter 5. CCAP Household Eligibility 
§509. Certification Requirements for Non-

Categorically Eligible Households 
A. To be certified as a CCAP household, households that 

are not categorically eligible for participation in CCAP must 
meet the following requirements: 

1. include at least one child who is eligible for CCAP 
as provided in §503.A;  

2. meet all criteria provided in §507.A; 
3. have household income that does not exceed 85 

percent of the state median income for a household of the 
same size. Household income is defined as: 

3.a. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:6 

and 17:407.28. and 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 42:43 (January 2016), 
amended LR 42:2175 (December 2016), LR 44:261 (February 
2018), effective March 1, 2018, LR 45:900 (July 2019), LR 
46:1373 (October 2020), LR 47:573 (May 2021), LR 48: 
§515. Payments Made on Behalf of Households 

A. The state maximum daily rates for CCAP care are as 
follows. 

 

Child Care 
Provider 

Type 
Regular 

Care 

Regular 
Care for 
Toddlers

Regular 
Care for 
Infants 

Special 
Needs 
Care 

Incentive

Special 
Needs 
Care 

Incentive 
for 

Toddlers

Special 
Needs
Care 

Incentive 
for Infants

Type III 
Early 
Learning 
Center $31.50 $42.00 $68.00 $39.69 $52.92 $85.68 
School 
Child Care 
Center $24.00 $24.00 $24.00 $30.24 $30.24 $30.24
Family 
Child Care 
Provider $29.00  $42.00  $61.00 $36.54 $52.92 $76.86 
In-Home 
Provider $25.00 $25.25 $26.65 $31.50 $31.82 $33.58
Military 
Child Care 
Centers $31.50 $42.00 $68.00 $39.69 $52.92 $85.68 

 
B. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, and R.S. 17:6 and 17:407.28. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2116 (October 2015), 
amended LR 42:44 (January 2016), LR 42:1870 (November 2016), 
LR 44:801 (April 2018), LR 45:1745 (December 2019), LR 47:573 
(May 2021). LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? Yes. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? Yes. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? Yes. 
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6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? Yes. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? Yes. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? Yes. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 139—Louisiana Early 
Childhood Care and Development Fund Programs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be a significant increase in costs to the Louisiana 

Department of Education (LDE) associated with the proposed 
increases to the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) 
reimbursement rates and income eligibility. The amount of the 
increase will depend upon the number of children enrolled in 
the program and is indeterminable. CCAP is funded with a 
combination of state general fund (SGF) and federal funding 
through the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF). Total 
expenditures are limited by the amount of state appropriations 
and federal grant allocations in any given year. To the extent 
the proposed revisions cause demand for program services to 
exceed available funding, the LDE will need to restrict services 
through wait listing or seek alternative means of financing to 
bridge any funding shortfalls. 

The proposed revisions increase the yearly CCAP 
reimbursement rates per child from approximately $8,500 to 
approximately $12,500. In addition, the proposed revisions 
increase the income eligibility for households participating in 
CCAP from 65 percent to 85 percent of the State Median 
Income (SMI). This would increase the number of eligible 
applicants, and modeling suggests that approximately 3,800 
additional children will participate in the program. Increased 
demand may lead to additional workload for LDE staff to assist 
in processing CCAP applications. 

Although the projected cost of the proposed revisions is 
indeterminable, a narrow cost analysis presented to the Early 
Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) Advisory Council 
estimated the average cost per month for February through 
April 2022 would increase from $16.4 M to $19.9 M. On an 
annual basis, this would total approximately $42 M per year, 
although the use of a waitlist will reduce this amount without a 
corresponding growth in appropriation. In addition, the narrow 
cost analysis estimated that under the proposed CCAP rates, 
wait listing will begin in April 2022. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will benefit child care providers 
who receive increased CCAP payments. In addition, families 
will benefit from expanded access to child care. However, to 
the extent that the proposed revisions reduce the number of 
children served by the program, some child care providers may 
experience reduced income if qualified families are unable to 
enroll their children in the program. Families may also face 
negative economic impacts in comparison to participating 
families if they are waitlisted due to limited CCAP funding. 

The proposed revisions increase the yearly CCAP payment 
rates per child from approximately $8,500 to approximately 
$12,500. Child care providers would receive an additional 
$4,000 per year on average for each CCAP-enrolled child 
currently in their care. Child care providers will receive an 
average $12,500 per year for each new child that enrolls due to 
the expanded eligibility.  

CCAP requires enrolled families to pay a copayment 
determined through a sliding fee scale based on household size 
and income. Currently, copayments can be waived and paid
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instead with federal COVID-19 relief funding. When this 
funding is no longer available, the overall cost of copayments 
to households will depend on the size and income of those 
households and is indeterminable. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions may impact the income of CCAP 
participant child care center employees; however, these 
amounts are indeterminable. The revisions may also incentivize 
child care providers to begin participating in CCAP, increasing 
competition amongst CCAP providers. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 140Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network 

(LAC 28:CLXVII.303, 313, 314, and 511) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC 28:CLXVII Bulletin 140 – 
Louisiana Early Childhood Care and Education Network. 
The proposed revisions allow CCAP-certified family child 
care providers to apply for academic approval and 
participate in the unified quality rating system and 
initiatives.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXVII.  Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood 
Care and Education Network 

Chapter 3. Early Childhood Care and Education 
Network 

§303. BESE Duties and Responsibilities 
A. - A.4. ... 
B. To assist the Louisiana Legislature in evaluating the 

effectiveness of the early childhood care and education 
network and in determining the most efficient and effective 
allocation of funding and services to maximize opportunities 
for children aged birth through five to achieve kindergarten 
readiness, BESE shall:  

1. coordinate and report data relative to the early 
childhood care and education network to assist legislators in 
evaluating the effectiveness of the network and in 
determining the most efficient allocation of funding and 
services to maximize opportunities for children aged birth 
through five to achieve kindergarten readiness; and 

2. annually submit to the Louisiana Legislature a 
written report that shall include, at a minimum, the following 
information: 

a. the number of publicly-funded children 
participating in the network and demographic information 
pertaining to age, race, and socioeconomic status; and 

b. the areas of greatest need according to 
geographic location and student population for the purpose 
of prioritizing funding and services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2582 (December 
2015), LR 48: 
§313. Academic Approval for Type III Early Learning 

Centers 
A. - L.1.e ... 

f. failure to participate in the early childhood site 
improvement planning process, as required by §512 of this 
Part.  

L.2. - M.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6, 17:407.36(C), and 17:407.21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2584 (December 
2015), amended LR 42:1871 (November 2016), LR 43:2129 
(November 2017), LR 44:1439 (August 2018), LR 45:1451 
(October 2019), LR 48: 
§314. Academic Approval for Family Child Care 

Homes 
A. Registered and CCAP-certified family child care 

homes may apply for academic approval from the LDE. 
B. Family child care homes meeting the performance 

and academic standards of the early childhood care and 
education network regarding kindergarten readiness as 
provided in this bulletin shall receive academic approval 
from the LDE. Academic approval includes verification by 
the LDE that the family child care home meets the required 
performance and academic standards.  

C. Initial Academic Approval for an Applicant for a 
Family Child Care Home 

1. In order to obtain initial academic approval as a 
family child care home, a family child care home applying 
for a new academic approval must: 

a. submit a signed copy of the current program 
partner assurances for family child care homes to the LDE, 
thereby agreeing to comply with the provisions of this 
bulletin, which include: 
 i. membership in the corresponding community 
network, as provided in Chapter 3; 
 ii. participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and  
 iii. participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7. 

2. An applicant for a new family child care home 
academic approval who has held a family child care home 
academic approval and received a corrective action plan as 
provided in §313 at any time during the current or preceding 
fiscal year shall not be allowed to apply for academic 
approval for the fiscal year in which the family child care 
home received a corrective action plan and the following 
fiscal year. 

D. Renewal of Academic Approval for Family Child 
Care Homes 

1. Academic approval will be renewed annually for a 
family child care home that: 

a. has current academic approval; 
b. is in compliance with the provisions of this Part; 
c. has not received two unsatisfactory performance 

ratings within any consecutive three school years; and 
d. has submitted a signed copy of the current annual 

program partner assurances for family child care homes to 
the LDE, thereby certifying that: 
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 i. the family child care home shall comply with 
the provisions of this Part, which include: 

(a). membership in the corresponding 
community network, as provided in Chapter 3; 

(b). participation in the early childhood care and 
education accountability system, as provided in Chapter 5; 
and 

(c). participation in the coordinated enrollment 
process, as provided in Chapter 7; and 
 ii. the family child care provider must: 

(a). have an early childhood ancillary certificate 
or other traditional teaching certificate issued by BESE; or 

(b). be in the process of completing training that 
will lead to an early childhood ancillary certificate and will 
have obtained an early childhood ancillary certificate issued 
by BESE within 24 months of the date when academic 
approval is granted. 

2. To renew academic approval, family child care 
homes must annually submit a signed copy of annual 
program partner assurances for family child care homes to 
the LDE prior to July 1, or as requested, whichever occurs 
earlier. 

E. A family child care home that has academic approval 
terminated may not apply for academic approval for the 
fiscal year in which academic approval was terminated or for 
the following fiscal year. 

F. Academic approval will be valid for the fiscal year, 
July 1-June 30, for which granted. 

G. Academic approval is granted to a specific provider 
and a specific location and is not transferable. If a family 
child care home changes owners or location, provider is 
considered a new operation, and academic approval for the 
new owner or location must be obtained prior to beginning 
operations under new ownership or at the new location. 

H. Upon a change of ownership or change of location, 
academic approval granted to the original owner or at the 
original location becomes null and void. 

I. Renewal. Prior to July 1 of each year, the LDE shall 
send notice to each family child care home that has 
academic approval regarding: 

1. renewal of academic approval for the family child 
care home; 

2. notice of the family child care home failure to 
comply with specific requirements in Subsection B of this 
Section and specific corrective actions that must be taken by 
a specified date in order for academic approval to be 
renewed; or 

3. if a family child care home receives the notice 
outlined in Subparagraph J.2.a of this Section within the 
academic year and has not provided the required 
certifications and completed the stated corrective actions, the 
LDE may terminate the family child care home academic 
approval as provided in Subparagraph J.2.c of this Section 
and send notice of termination of the family child care home 
academic approval. 

J. Denial, Termination, or Refusal to Renew Academic 
Approval 

1. The LDE may deny, terminate, or refuse to renew 
academic approval for one or more of the following: 

a. violations of any provisions of this Part; 
b. failure to comply in a timely manner with a 

corrective action plan provided by the LDE; 

c. any act of fraud, such as the submission of false 
or altered documents or information; 

d. failure to timely submit a signed copy of the 
annual program partner assurances; 

e. two unsatisfactory performance ratings within 
any consecutive three school years; or 

f. failure to participate in the early childhood site 
improvement planning process, as required by §512 of this 
Part. 

2. Notice 
a. If a family child care home is in violation of any 

provision of this Part, the LDE shall notify the family child 
care home in writing and may specify in a corrective action 
plan any corrective actions, required to retain academic 
approval. 

b. Within 30 calendar days of receiving such notice, 
the family child care home must submit certification in 
writing to the LDE that: 
 i. corrective actions specified in the corrective 
action plan have been taken or are in the process of being 
taken in compliance with the schedule provided in the 
corrective action plan; and 
 ii. the family child care home will remain in 
compliance with the corrective action plan and all applicable 
regulations. 

c. If the family child care home does not respond in 
a timely or satisfactory manner to the notice and corrective 
action plan or adhere to the implementation schedule 
required in the corrective action plan, the LDE may 
terminate or refuse to renew the family child care home 
academic approval. 

d. The LDE shall provide written notice of a denial, 
termination, or refusal to renew academic approval to the 
family child care home. 

e. The denial, termination, or refusal to renew a 
family child care home academic approval shall be effective 
upon the date if notice of the denial, termination, or refusal 
to renew. 

K. Appeal Procedure 
1. BESE shall have the authority to grant an appeal of 

the denial, termination, or refusal to renew academic 
approval for a family child care home. 

2. The appeal procedure shall address unforeseen and 
aberrant factors impacting family child care homes or issues 
that arise when the literal application of the academic 
approval regulations does not consider certain unforeseen 
and unusual circumstances. 

3. A family child care home may request an appeal of 
the denial, termination, or refusal to renew an academic 
approval by submitting a written request for an appeal to the 
LDE within 15 calendar days of the notice of the denial, 
termination, or refusal to renew an academic approval. 

4. All appeal requests must clearly outline the specific 
reasons for requesting the appeal and the reasons why the 
appeal should be granted and must include any necessary 
supporting documentation. 

5. The LDE shall review all timely-submitted appeal 
requests and make recommendations to BESE during the 
first regularly-scheduled BESE meeting following receipt of 
the appeal requests, or during the second regularly-
scheduled BESE meeting if an appeal request is received 
within fourteen working days of the next regularly-
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scheduled BESE meeting. Within this interval, the LDE shall 
notify the family child care home of the LDE 
recommendation and allow the family child care home to 
respond in writing. The department recommendation and the 
family child care home response must be submitted to BESE 
for final disposition. 

6. A family child care home that appeals the 
termination or refusal to renew academic approval shall 
retain academic approval during the appeal process. 

L. Voluntary Termination or Non-Renewal of Academic 
Approval 

1. The family child care home may voluntarily 
terminate academic approval at any point during the fiscal 
year in which the academic approval is valid.  

a. Voluntary termination of academic approval must 
be reported in writing according to the process developed by 
the LDE. 

2. The family child care home may voluntarily decline 
to renew academic approval during the renewal period for 
the next fiscal year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 48: 
Chapter 5. Early Childhood Care and Education 

Accountability System 
§512. Performance Rating Calculations for 

Community Networks 
A. - A.3. … 
B. Early Childhood Site Improvement Planning Process 

1. Beginning with the 2018-2019 school year, 
publicly-funded sites rated below 3.75 for the previous year 
shall participate in an early childhood site improvement 
planning process. At a minimum, sites must: 

a. develop and submit a plan for site improvement 
in consultation with the department; 

b. implement the plan for site improvement and 
allow for regular monitoring of implementation by the 
department; and 

c. provide any reports or information related to the 
plan for site improvement as requested by the department. 

B.1.d - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:407.21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:2588 (December 
2015), amended LR 42:1874 (November 2016), LR 44:1442 
(August 2018), LR 45:1454 (October 2019), LR 47:1286 
(September 2021), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? Yes. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
Yes. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street,
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Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early 

Childhood Care and Education Network 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will result in increased costs for the 
Department of Education (LDE) and local school districts 
serving as Early Childhood Community Network lead agencies 
to conduct Classroom Assessment Scoring System (CLASS) 
observations of family child care providers which participate in 
the quality rating system. There will also be increased costs to 
the LDE to provide additional funding to Early Childhood 
Community Network lead agencies due to the increased 
number of classrooms within the networks. 

The proposed revisions will result in additional costs for 
the LDE to contract with a third-party provider to conduct 
annual CLASS observations at Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP) certified family child care providers which participate 
in the unified quality rating system. The LDE currently pays 
the Picard Center $450 per CLASS observation. If all 259 
CCAP-certified family child care providers participated in the 
program, the annual cost would be $116,550; however, the 
actual cost will depend on the number of participating 
providers and is indeterminable. 

The proposed revisions will also increase the number of 
classrooms for which the LDE will need to provide funding to 
Early Childhood Community Network lead agencies by an 
indeterminable amount based on the number of family child 
care providers participating in the program. The Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approves funding for 
Community Network lead agencies. The agencies are funded 
with a combination of State General Funds and federal Child 
Care Development Funds (CCDF) at a rate of $525 per 
classroom and $787.50 per classroom for classrooms located 
within a secondary community network under the purview of 
the lead agency. Additionally, the rate of $787.50 applies to 
classrooms located in school systems in community networks 
where more than 10% of their total classroom count are located 
in secondary school systems required to complete the LDE 
Super App. 

The proposed revisions will result in additional costs to 
local school districts which serve as Early Childhood 
Community Network lead agencies to conduct twice-annual 
CLASS observations, which are required in addition to the 
annual LDE observations. Community Networks typically pay 
between $100 and $300 per observation. The cost will depend 
on the number of participating providers and is indeterminable. 

The proposed revisions allow CCAP-certified family child 
care providers to apply for academic approval and participate in 
the unified quality rating system and initiatives. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will lead to a decrease in state 
revenue collections to the extent that family child care 
providers opting in to the academic approval program may be

eligible for the school readiness tax credit (SRTC). The SRTC 
currently applies to Type III early learning centers and includes 
credits for provider staff, the provider itself, the parents or 
guardians of enrolled children, and qualifying business 
expenses in support of child care. Under the proposed 
revisions, family child care providers that participate in the 
quality rating system will qualify for the current SRTC. The 
LDE reports it is planning a separate SRTC track specific to 
family child care providers. The amount of revenue loss is 
indeterminable and will depend upon the SRTC structure as 
well as the number of participating providers. 

For informational purposes, the average amount of SRTC 
claimed per early learning center staff member in 2020 was 
$3,127. As of November 2021, 259 family child care providers 
self-identified to the Louisiana Department of Education, 
resulting in approximately $809,893 in total SRTC potentially 
applied as a result of these revisions. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will result in additional costs to 
nonprofit organizations serving as Early Childhood Community 
Network lead agencies to conduct twice-annual CLASS 
observations for participating child care providers. Community 
Network lead agencies typically pay $100-$300 per 
observation. The cost will depend on the number of 
participating providers and is indeterminable. 

The proposed revisions will benefit participating family 
child care providers by making them eligible for SRTC tax 
credits. The amount of these tax credits will depend upon the 
SRTC structure developed by the LDE for participating family 
child care providers. 

The proposed revisions will require participating family 
child care providers to obtain an Early Childhood Ancillary 
Certificate issued by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE). 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions may result in additional 
employment for contractors who conduct CLASS observations 
on behalf of the LDE and Early Childhood Community 
Network. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Office 
2202#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators 

(LAC 28:LXXIX.119) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC 28:LXXIX. Bulletin 741 
(Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School 
Administrators in response to Act 353 of the 2021 Regular 
Legislative Session regarding annual in-service training on 
recognizing adverse childhood experiences and the 
utilization of trauma-informed education. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators 

Chapter 1. Operation and Administration 
§119. Written Policies 

A. - B. … 
C. Each nonpublic school or system shall have written 

policies and/or procedures requiring at least one hour of 
annual in-service training on recognizing adverse childhood 
experiences and the utilization of trauma-informed 
education, provided on a day that other types of in-service 
training will be provided and including research-based 
information regarding the following: 

1. the impact of adverse childhood experiences on 
student educational experiences and on the school and 
classroom culture;  

2. how to identify the signs and symptoms of adverse 
childhood experiences; 

3. best practices for schools and classrooms regarding 
trauma-informed approaches to education; and 

4. recognition of the impact of secondary trauma on 
school employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, R.S. 44:411, and R.S. 17:437.2.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:3074 (December 2005), LR 38:1008 (April 
2012), LR 39:1439 (June 2013), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana 

Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions are in response to Act 353 of the 
2021 Regular Legislative Session, which requires that, 
beginning with the 2021-2022 school year, all public and 
approved nonpublic school teachers, school counselors, 
principals, and other school administrators for whom the 
training is considered beneficial by the Board of Elementary 
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and Secondary Education shall annually participate in at least 
one hour of in-service training on recognizing adverse 
childhood experiences (ACEs) and the utilization of trauma-
informed education.  

The Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) has 
partnered with the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 
Bureau of Family Health which operates the ACE Educator 
Program to develop a training video to meet the in-service 
requirement. LDH will not experience costs associated with the 
creation of the training video and LDE will make the training 
video available to schools. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs and/or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. No costs are 
anticipated for nonpublic schools, as completion of the training 
is to be accomplished on a day when other types of in-service 
training are conducted. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 

(LAC28:CXV.337) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC 28:CXV. Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators in response to Act 353 
of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session regarding annual in-
service training on recognizing adverse childhood 
experiences and the utilization of trauma-informed 
education. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 3. Operation and Administration 
§337. Written Policies and Procedures 

A. … 
B. Each LEA shall have policies and procedures that 

address, but are not limited to, the following:  
B.1. - 31. … 

32. at least one hour of annual in-service training on 
recognizing adverse childhood experiences and the 
utilization of trauma-informed education, provided on a day

that other types of in-service training will be provided and 
including research-based information regarding the 
following: 

a. the impact of adverse childhood experiences on 
student educational experiences and on the school and 
classroom culture;  

b. how to identify the signs and symptoms of 
adverse childhood experiences;  

c. best practices for schools and classrooms 
regarding trauma-informed approaches to education; and 

d. recognition of the impact of secondary trauma on 
school employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, R.S. 17:7(29), R.S. 17:81, R.S. 17:240, R.S. 17:100.8, and 
R.S.17:437.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1261 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 35:1101 (June 2009), LR 
36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37:1141 (April 2011), LR 37:1380, 1380 
(May 2011), LR 37:2134 (July 2011), LR 38:40, 41 (January 2012), 
LR 39:2197 (August 2013), LR 40:2530 (December 2014), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 325

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions are in response to Act 353 of the 
2021 Regular Legislative Session, which requires that, 
beginning with the 2021-2022 school year, all public and 
approved nonpublic school teachers, school counselors, 
principals, and other school administrators for whom the 
training is considered beneficial by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education shall annually participate in at least 
one hour of in-service training on recognizing adverse 
childhood experiences (ACEs) and the utilization of trauma-
informed education.  

The Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) has 
partnered with the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 
Bureau of Family Health which operates the ACE Educator 
Program to develop a training video to meet the in-service 

requirement. LDH will not experience costs associated with the 
creation of the training video and LDE will make the training 
video available to schools. No costs are anticipated for local 
school districts as completion of the training is to be 
accomplished on a day when other types of in-service training 
are conducted. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not result in costs and/or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons, small 
businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2201#039 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.507) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) proposes to amend LAC 28:CXXXI. Bulletin 746—
Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel to provide for alignment across BESE policy and 
facilitate issuance of initial certifications for educators 
completing both traditional and alternative teacher 
preparation programs. 

Title 28  
EDUCATION  

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel  

Chapter 5. Teaching Credential, Licenses and 
Certifications 

Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Certificates 
§507. Professional Level Certificates 

A. Level 1 is the entry-level professional certificate, 
valid for three years. The level 2 and level 3 certificates are 
valid for five years. 

1. Eligibility requirements for Level 1 Professional 
Certificate: 

a. Louisiana graduate: 
 i. successfully complete a state-approved 
traditional or alternate teacher preparation program, in 
accordance with admission and completion dates, as outlined 
in LAC 28:XLV.Chapter 7: 

(a). for alternate preparation completers 
completing a one-year in-state residency as teacher of 
record, the applicant must hold a Practitioner’s License (PL) 
in the certification area in which the teacher preparation 
program was completed and receive mentoring, as outlined 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 326

in LAC 28:XLV (Bulletin 996), during the first year on a PL 
by a school-based mentor teacher in accordance with §553 
of this Chapter; 

(b). for undergraduate program completers and 
alternate preparation completers completing a one-year in-
state residency, the applicant must hold a Resident Teacher 
certificate in accordance with §535 of this Chapter and 
receive mentoring by a classroom-based mentor teacher in 
accordance with §553 of this Chapter; 

(c). for alternate preparation candidates 
completing a one-year residency out-of-state, the applicant 
must hold a Resident Teacher certificate in accordance with 
LAC 28:XLV.745. If the candidate completed the residency 
as teacher of record, holding a practitioner’s license above is 
not required; 

(d). for undergraduate program completers 
completing a one-year out-of-state residency, the applicant 
must hold a Resident Teacher certificate in accordance with 
LAC 28:XLV.745 and §535 of this Chapter;  

A.1.a.ii. - D.2.a … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1- 
391.10, and 17:411.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 47:1692, LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? Yes. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on costs or 
savings of state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions update existing policy that has 
recently prevented issuance of initial certifications for 
educators completing both traditional and alternative teacher 
preparation programs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 
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The proposed revisions will facilitate issuance of 
certification for educators completing a traditional or 
alternative teacher preparation program. These certified 
educators will be able to contribute to the teacher workforce in 
Louisiana. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will facilitate initial certification for 
educators, further developing the Louisiana educator 
workforce. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#037 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs 

(LAC 28:XLV.743 and 745) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) proposes to amend LAC 28:XLV. Bulletin 996—
Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or Educational 
Leader Preparation Programs to provide for alignment 
across BESE policy and facilitate issuance of initial 
certifications for educators completing both traditional and 
alternative teacher preparation programs. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLV.  Bulletin 996―Standards for Approval of 
Teacher and/or Educational Leader Preparation 

Programs 
Chapter 7. Louisiana State Standards for Educator 

Preparation Programs 
Subchapter C. Teacher Preparation Programs 
§743. Minimum Requirements for Traditional Teacher 

Preparation Programs 
A - C.1. ... 

2. a one-year residency shall take place in a public or 
approved non-public school classroom in the certification 
area with a teacher of record who holds a valid level 1, 2, 3, 
type A, or type B teaching certificate in the area for which 
the candidate is pursuing certification in accordance with 
LAC 28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746). Beginning September 1, 
2020, the teacher of record shall be required to hold a 
provisional mentor teacher ancillary certificate or a mentor 
teacher certificate in accordance with LAC 28:CXXXI 
(Bulletin 746). The mentorship must include intensive 
supports, including co-teaching, collaborative planning, and 
observation and feedback sessions. The residency may 
include practice with other teachers in a public or approved 
non-public school setting. Residents placed in charter 
schools must be placed with a teacher of record who has 
demonstrated effectiveness in accordance with LAC 
28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130): 

a. beginning July 1, 2018, candidates must hold a 
valid resident teacher certificate in order to be placed in a 
one-year residency; 

C.2.b. - E.2. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1330 (July 2017), 
amended LR 43:2492 (December 2017), LR 45:229 (February 
2019). LR 48: 
§745. Minimum Requirements for Alternate Teacher 

Preparation Programs 
A. - D.4... 

a. Beginning in with the 2020-2021 academic year, 
candidates enrolled in an alternate teacher preparation 
program who serve as a teacher of record must be mentored 
at least 15 percent, or 5 hours per week, of the school’s 
instructional time, during the first year, by a school-based 
mentor teacher, who may collaborate with other personnel 
providing mentoring support. 
 i. … 
 ii. The mentorship must include intensive 
supports, including: 

(a). co-teaching; 
(b). collaborative planning; and 
(c). observation and feedback sessions. 

D.4.b. - F.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1331 (July 2017), 
amended LR 43:2492 (December 2017), LR 45:1751 (December 
2019), LR 46:324 (March 2020), LR: 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on rules proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. All Family Impact Statements will be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on rules proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements will be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed rules in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 
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1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial authority? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? Yes. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Analysis 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is 
not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental, and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the providers to provide the same level 
of service; or 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until noon, March 12, 2022, to Shan N. Davis, 
Executive Director, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9064. Written comments may also be hand delivered 
to Shan Davis, Executive Director, Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Suite 5-190, 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by the 
BESE office on the date received. Public comments must be 
dated and include the original signature of the person 
submitting the comments. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of 

Teacher and/or Educational Leader Preparation 
Programs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed revisions will not have an effect on costs or 

savings of state or local governmental units. 
The proposed revisions update existing policy that has 

recently prevented issuance of initial certifications for 

educators completing both traditional and alternative teacher 
preparation programs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will not have an effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions will facilitate issuance of 
certification for educators completing a traditional or 
alternative teacher preparation program. These certified 
educators will be able to contribute to the teacher workforce in 
Louisiana. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed revisions will facilitate initial certification for 
educators, further developing the Louisiana educator 
workforce. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Alan M. Boxberger 
Deputy Superintendent Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Regents 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs—COVID-19 Exceptions 
(LAC 28:IV.703) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents announces its intention to 
amend its Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 
17:3048.5 and R.S. 17:3048.6). 

This rulemaking adds Dual Enrollment African American 
History as a course that may be used to complete the TOPS 
Core Curriculum requirement in social studies and that may 
be graded on a 5.00 grading scale for high school graduates 
of 2022 and later. (SG22202NI) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.i.(g). … 
 (h). For students graduating in academic 
year (high school) 2021-2022 and after, the courses listed in 
the tables below have been approved by the Board of 
Regents and the state Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education to be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to 
complete the core curriculum, and shall be considered 
equivalent to the identified core courses and may be 
substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses for 
purposes of satisfying the requirements of §703.A.5.a.i 
above, or §803.A.6.a. 
 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement

Art 

AP Art History 
AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 
AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus 
AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 
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TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement
Chemistry II AP Chemistry 
Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 
English IV AP English Literature and Composition 
Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 
European History AP European History 
Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 
French AP French Language and Culture 
German AP German Language and Culture 
Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 
Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 
Latin AP Latin 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 
AP Physics II: Algebra Based 
AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 
Statistics 

AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 
US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United States 

US History AP U.S. History 
Western Civilization, 
European History or AP 
European History;  
World Geography, AP 
Human Geography, or 
IB Geography;  
World History, AP 
World History, or 
World History IB; 
History of Religion;  
IB Economics 
Economics,  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

AP Psychology 

World Geography AP Human Geography 
World History AP World History 

  
 (ii). International Baccalaureate Courses 
  

TOPS Core Course 
International 
Baccalaureate 

Advanced Math–Pre Calculus 
IB Math Studies (Math 
Methods) 

Arabic 
IB Language ab initio: Arabic  
IB Language B: Arabic 

Art IB Visual Arts 

Biology II 
IB Biology I 
IB Biology II 

Calculus 
IB Mathematics SL 
IB Mathematics HL 

Chemistry II 
IB Chemistry I 
IB Chemistry II 

Chinese 
IB Language ab initio: Chinese 
IB Language B: Chinese 

Economics IB Economics 

English III 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

English IV 
IB Literature 
IB Language and Literature 
IB Literature and Performance 

Environmental Science IB Environmental Systems 

French 
IB Language ab initio: French  
IB Language B: French 

German 
IB Language ab initio: German  
IB Language B: German 

TOPS Core Course 
International 
Baccalaureate 

Italian 
IB Language ab initio: Italian  
IB Language B: Italian 

Japanese 
IB Language ab initio: Japanese  
IB Language B: Japanese 

Latin IB Classical Language 
Music (Performance) IB Music 

Physics I 
IB Physics I 
IB Physics II 

Pre-Calculus 
IB Math Studies (Math 
Methods) 

Spanish 
IB Language ab initio: Spanish  
IB Language B: Spanish 

Theatre (Performance) 
IB Film Study 
IB Theatre 
IB Dance 

US History IB History of the Americas I 
World Geography IB Geography 
World History IB History of the Americas II 

  
 (iii). Gifted and Talented Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Gifted and Talented 

Art 

Art History 
Talented Visual Arts I 
Talented Visual Arts II 
Talented Visual Arts III 
Talented Visual Arts IV 

Biology II Biology II 

Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 

Chemistry I Chemistry I 

Chemistry II Chemistry II 

Chinese 
Chinese III 
Chinese IV 

Economics  Economics 

English III English III 

English IV English IV 

Environmental Science Environmental Science 

European History European History 

French 
French III 
French IV 

German 
German III 
German IV 

Italian 
Italian III 
Italian IV 

Japanese 
Japanese III 
Japanese IV 

Latin 
Latin III 
Latin IV 

Music (Performance) 

Talented Music I, II, III, IV 
Small Voice Ensemble II 
Choir: Intermediate 
Choir: Advanced 
Orchestra: Intermediate 
Orchestra: Advanced 

Physics I Physics 

Pre-Calculus Pre-Calculus 

Spanish 
Spanish III 
Spanish IV 

Theatre (Performance) 
Introduction to Film Studies 
Talented Theater I, II, III, IV 

US Government or Civics  Government 

US History U.S. History 

World Geography World/Human Geography 
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 (iv). Dual Enrollment Courses 
 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 
Common Course 

Code 
Advanced 
Math–Pre 
Calculus 

Trigonometry 
CMAT 1223 

Advanced 
Math-
Functions and 
Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 

CMAT 1303 

African 
American 
History 

African American History 
CHIS 2103 

Algebra III College Algebra CMAT 1213 

Arabic 
Elementary Arabic I 
Elementary Arabic II 

CARB 1013/1014 
CARB 1023/1024 

Art 
Art History I or II 
Art Structure/2-D Design 
Beginning Drawing 

CART 2103/2113 
CART 1113 
CART 2203 

Biology I 
General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 

Biology II 

General Biology I 
General Biology I (Science Majors) 
General Biology II 
General Biology II (Science 
Majors) 
Human Anatomy & Physiology I  
Human Anatomy & Physiology I 
(Lec/Lab)  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II  
Human Anatomy & Physiology II 
(Lec/Lab  

CBIO 1013 
CBIO 1033 
CBIO 1023 
CBIO 1043 
CBIO 2213  
CBIO 2214  
CBIO 2223  
CBIO 2224  

Calculus 

Applied Calculus 
Calculus I 
Calculus II 
Differential Calculus I 
Integral Calculus I 

CMAT 2103 
CMAT 2113-5 
CMAT 2123-5 
CMAT 2113 
CMAT 2116 

Chemistry I 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 

Chemistry II 

General, Organic and Biochemistry 
General Chemistry Survey I 
Chemistry I 
Chemistry I (Science Majors) 
Chemistry II 
Chemistry II (Science Majors) 

CCEM 1003 
CCEM 1013 
CCEM 1103 
CCEM 1123 
CCEM 1113 
CCEM 1133 

Earth Science 
Physical Geology 
Historical Geology 

CGEO 1103 
CGEO 1113 

Economics 
Economic Principles 
Macroeconomics 
Microeconomics 

CECN 2113 
CECN 2213 
CECN 2223 

English III 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
American Literature I 
American Literature II 
Major American Writers 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2153 
CENL 2163 
CENL 2173 

English IV 

English Composition I 
English Composition II 
British Literature I 
British Literature II 
Major British Writers 
World Literature I 
World Literature II 
Major World Writers  
Introduction to Fiction 
Introduction to Literature 
Introduction to Poetry and/or 
Drama 

CENL 1013 
CENL 1023 
CENL 2103 
CENL 2113 
CENL 2123 
CENL 2203 
CENL 2213 
CENL 2223 
CENL 2303 
CENL 2323 
CENL 2313 

Environmental 
Science 

Environmental Science CEVS 1103 

TOPS Core 
Course 

Dual Enrollment 

Common Course Name 
Common Course 

Code 

Fine Arts 
Survey 

Exploring the Arts 
Introduction to Visual Arts 
Dance Appreciation 
Music Appreciation 

CART 1013 
CART 1023 
CDNC 1013 
CMUS 1013 

French 

Elementary French I 
Elementary French II 
Intermediate French I 
Intermediate French II 

CFRN 1013/1014 
CFRN 1023/1024 
CFRN 2013/2014 
CFRN 2023 

German 

Elementary German I 
Elementary German II 
Intermediate German I 
Intermediate German II 

CGRM 1013/1014 
CGRM 1023/1024 
CGRM 2013 
CGRM 2023 

History Of 
Religion 

World Religions CPHL 2213 

Latin 

Elementary Latin I 
Elementary Latin II 
Intermediate Latin I 
Intermediate Latin II 

CLTN 1013/1014 
CLTN 1023/1024 
CLTN 2013 
CLTN 2023 

Physical 
Science 
 

Physical Science I CPHY 1023 

Physics I 

Physics I (Algebra/Trigonometry 
Based) 
Physics I (Lecture and Lab) 
Physics I (Calculus Based) 

CPHY 2113 
CPHY 2114 
CPHY 2133 

Pre-Calculus Algebra and Trigonometry CMAT 1233 
Probability 
and Statistics 

Introductory Statistics 
CMAT 1303 

Spanish 

Elementary Spanish I 
Elementary Spanish II 
Intermediate Spanish I 
Intermediate Spanish II 

CSPN 1013/1014 
CSPN 1023/1024 
CSPN 2013/2014 
CSPN 2023 

Theatre 
(Performance) 

Acting I or II 
Introduction to Theatre 

CTHE 2103/2113 
CTHE 1013 

US 
Government or 
Civics  

Introduction to American 
Government 
Introduction to State and Local 
Government 
Introduction to Comparative 
Government 

CPOL 2013 
CPOL 2113 
CPOL 2213 

US History American History I or II CHIS 2013/2023 
Western 
Civilization 

Western Civilization I or II CHIS 1013/1023 

World 
Geography 

World Regional Geography CGRG 2113 

World History World Civilization I or II CHIS 1113/1123 

  
 (v). Honors Courses 
 

TOPS Core Course Honors 
Arabic Arabic: Cambridge AICE-AS 
Biology II Biology II: Honors 
IB Biology II Biology II: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Calculus I 
Calculus: Honors 
Math 2 (Part 1): Cambridge AICE-A 
Level 

Calculus II 
Math 2 (Part 2): Cambridge AICE – A 
Level 

Chemistry I Chemistry I: Honors 

Chemistry II Chemistry II: Honors 

IB Chemistry II Chemistry II: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Chinese Chinese: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Economics  Economics: Cambridge AICE - AS 

English III 

English III: Honors  
English Language Part 1: Cambridge 
AICE – AS 
Literature in English Part 1: Cambridge 
AICE - AS 
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TOPS Core Course Honors 

English IV 

English IV: Honors  
English Language Part 2: Cambridge 
AICE – AS 
Literature in English Part 2: Cambridge 
AICE - AS 

Environmental Science Environmental Science: Honors 

European History 
History European: Cambridge AICE-
AS  

French French: Cambridge AICE-AS 

German German: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Government Government: Honors 

Japanese Japanese: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Physics I Physics: Honors 

IB Physics II Physics II: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Pre-Calculus 
Pre-Calculus Honors 
Math 1: (Pure Math): Cambridge 
AICE-AS 

Probability and Statistics 
Probability and Statistics: Honors  
Math 1 (Probability and Statistics)- 
Cambridge AICE 

Spanish Spanish: Cambridge AICE-AS 

Spanish IV Spanish Literature: Cambridge ACE 

US History U.S. History: Honors  

World Geography Geography: Cambridge AICE-AS 

World History 
World History: Honors 
History International: Cambridge 
AICE-AS 

 
A.5.a.ii.(a) - L.2.c.ii. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 
LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 
(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 
2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 
(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 
(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 
(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 
2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 
37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 
(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 
(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 
2015), LR 41:651, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:1486 (August 2015), 
LR 41:2596, 2599 (December 2015), amended by the Board of 
Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 42:1657 
(October 2016), LR 42:1882 (November 2016), LR 43:518 (March 
2017), LR 43:1346 (July 2017), amended by the Board of Regents, 
Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 44:506 (March 2018), 
LR 44:1004 (June 2018), LR 44:1870 (October 2018), LR 46:326

(March 2020), LR 47:39 (January 2021), amended LR 47:861 (July 
2021), LR 47:864 (July 2021), amended LR 47:868 (July 2021), 
LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis Statement 

The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small 
businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on 

providers of services for individuals with developmental 
disabilities as described in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG22202NI) until 4:30 p.m., March 10, 
2022, by email to LOSFA.Comments@la.gov or to Sujuan 
Williams Boutté, Ed. D., Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P. O. Box 91202, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-9202. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively  
Senior Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant Programs 

COVID-19 Exceptions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in an increase in state 
and local expenditures; however, this is indeterminable and 
anticipated to be minimal. The revisions would add African 
American History as a dual enrollment course that can be taken 
to count towards the TOPS social sciences core curriculum 
requirements. As a dual enrollment course, the course may be 
graded on a 5.0 scale for high school graduates of 2022 and 
later for the purposes of determining students’ high school 
grade point average on the TOPS core curriculum courses. This 
grading scale may cause a minimal increase in TOPS 
expenditures due to more students qualifying for a higher 
TOPS award level. In addition, local school districts and other 
public schools may experience increased costs as a result of 
additional students taking dual enrollment courses, however 
this is indeterminable. Course offerings are provided through 
cooperative agreements between individual districts and credit 
granting institutions which vary in terms of tuition and fee 
charges, where the instruction takes place, and who conducts 
the course. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

A small number of students may qualify for a higher TOPS 
award level. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on competition and 
employment resulting from these measures. 

 
Robyn Rhea Lively  Alan M. Boxberger 
Senior Attorney Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Fee Increase—Act No. 405 of the 2021  
Regular Legislative Session  

(LAC 33:I.4707, LAC 33:III.223, LAC 33:VII:1501,  
1503, 1505, 10535, and LAC 33:XV.2599)(MM021) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Office of the Secretary, Air, Solid 
Waste, and Radiation Protection regulations, LAC 33:I.4707, 
LAC 33:III.223, LAC 33:VII:1501, 1503, 1505, 10535, and 
LAC 33:XV.2599 (MM021). 

This Rule provides for the fee changes authorized in Act 
405 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session. Act 405 of the 
2021 Regular Legislative Session authorizes certain fee 
increases, new fees, and other changes to the regulations 
pertaining to fees. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 
implement the fee changes authorized in Act 405 of the 2021 
Regular Legislative Session. This Rule meets an exception 
listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 
therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 
and social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory Accreditation 

Chapter 47. Louisiana Environmental Laboratory 
Accreditation Program (LELAP) State 
Accreditation Requirements 

§4707. Fees 
A. - C. … 
D. The following basic fee structure shall be used in 

determining all application and annual fees due to the 
department. 

 
Accreditation application fee payable every 
scope amendment and every three-year renewal 

$726 

Per major test category per matrix payable 
every year 

$363 

Minor conventional category payable every year $290 
Annual surveillance and evaluation applicable 
to minor conventional facilities and facilities 
applying for only one category of accreditation 

$363 

Annual fee for dependent mobile laboratories, 
per mobile lab 

$363 

Proficiency samples biannually 
to be purchased by 
the laboratory 

Bioassay/biomonitoring annually 
to be purchased by 
the laboratory 

Third-party audit to be billed directly 

to the laboratory 

The accreditation fees for in-state laboratories 
receiving national accreditation (NELAP) 

shall be one and 
one-half times the 
regular fee as stated 
above 

The accreditation fees for out-of-state 
laboratories receiving state accreditation 

shall be one and 
one-half times the 
regular fee as stated 
above 

The accreditation fees for out-of-state 
laboratories receiving national accreditation 
(NELAP) 

shall be two times 
the regular fee as 
stated above 

Interim accreditation application fees  
shall be two times 
the regular fee as 
stated above 

 
E. - H.3.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:920 (May 
1998), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:1436 (July 2000), LR 
29:672 (May 2003), LR 29:2041 (October 2003), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:934 (May 2017), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 48: 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 2. Rules and Regulations for the Fee System of 

the Air Quality Control Programs 
§223. Fee Schedule Listing 

A. … 
* * * 

B. Table 2—Additional Fees 
 

Table 2 

Additional Fees 

Fee 
Number 

Fee Description Amount 

* * * 

2020 

The Issuance of an Asbestos Disposal 
Verification Form (ADVF)—(at least 10 
working days notification given)—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. $73.00 

2025 

The Issuance of Asbestos Disposal 
Verification Forms (ADVF) for a single 
agency interest site for the period of one 
fiscal year—(at least 10 working days 
notification given)—Fee is nontransferable 
and nonrefundable. $5,000.00 

2030 

The Issuance of an Asbestos Disposal 
Verification Form (ADVF)—(less than 10 
working days notification given)—Fee is 
nontransferable and nonrefundable. $109.00 

* * * 

2300 
*Note 14*

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton 
Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Non-Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) $16.61/ton 

2310 
*Note 
14* 

Criteria Pollutant Annual Fee per Ton 
Emitted on an Annual Basis  
(Title V Facility): 
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) 
Non-toxic organic (VOC) 
Particulate (PM10) $16.61/ton 
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Table 2 

Additional Fees 

Fee 
Number 

Fee Description Amount 

2400 

An application approval fee for Stage II 
Vapor Recovery 
An annual facility inspection fee for Stage 
II Vapor Recovery 

$146.00 
 

$218.00 
* * * 

 
NOTE: Explanatory Notes for Fee Schedule 
Note 1. - Note 12. … 
Note 13. Fees will be determined by aggregating and 
rounding (e.g., parts of a ton less than 0.50 are invoiced as 
zero and parts of a ton equal to or greater than 0.50 are 
invoiced as one ton) actual annual emissions of each class of 
toxic air pollutants (as delineated in the tables in LAC 
33:III.5112) for a facility and applying the appropriate fee 
schedule for that class. If a facility emits more than 4000 tons 
per year of any single toxic air pollutant, fees shall be assessed 
on only the first 4000 tons. In no case shall the fee for this 
category be less than $250. 
Note 14. Fees will not be assessed for emissions of a 
single criteria pollutant over and above 4,000 tons per year 
from a facility. Criteria fees will be assessed on actual annual 
emissions that occurred during the previous calendar year. The 
minimum fee for this category shall be $250. 
Note 14a. - Note 22. … 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054, 2341, and 2351 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:613 (September 1988), LR 15:735 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:1205 (December 1991), repromulgated LR 18:31 
(January 1992), amended LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 19:1373 (October 1993), LR 19:1420 
(November 1993), LR 19:1564 (December 1993), LR 20:421 
(April 1994), LR 20:1263 (November 1994), LR 21:22 (January 
1995), LR 21:782 (August 1995), LR 21:942 (September 1995), 
repromulgated LR 21:1080 (October 1995), amended LR 21:1236 
(November 1995), LR 23:1496, 1499 (November 1997), LR 
23:1662 (December 1997), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:267 (February 2000), LR 26:485 (March 2000), LR 26:1606 
(August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:192 (February 2001), 
amended LR 29:672 (May 2003), LR 29:2042 (October 2003), LR 
30:1475 (July 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:2620 (December 2007), LR 34:2560 
(December 2008), LR 37:1145 (April 2011), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:936 (May 2017), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 44:1239 (July 2018), LR 48: 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 15. Solid Waste Fees 
§1501. Standard Permit Application Review Fee 

A. Applicants for type I, I-A, II, and II-A standard 
permits shall pay a $6,125 permit application review fee for 
each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

B. Applicants for type III standard permits or beneficial-
use plans shall pay a permit application review fee of $1,325 
for each facility. The fee shall accompany each permit 
application submitted. 

C. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
type I, I-A, II, and II-A facilities shall pay a $2,650 permit-
modification review fee. The fee shall accompany each 
modification submitted. Permit holders providing mandatory 
modifications in response to these regulations shall pay a 
$825 permit-modification fee. The fee shall accompany each 
mandatory modification submitted. Permit modifications 
required by LAC 33:VII.805.A will not be subject to a 
permit modification fee. 

D. Permit holders providing permit modifications for 
type III facilities or beneficial use facilities shall pay a $813 
modification review fee. The fee shall accompany each 
modification submitted. 

E. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:1108 (June 2007), amended LR 37:3258 
(November 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43:946 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
48: 
§1503. Closure Plan Review Fee 

A. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:688 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:1108 (June 2007), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:947 (May 2017), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations 
Division, LR 48: 
§1505. Annual Fee 

A. Transporters. All transporters of solid waste shall pay 
a fee of $250 per year to the department. There will be only 
one fee regardless of the number of vehicles in the service of 
the transporter. 

B. All holders of permits for solid waste processing 
and/or disposal facilities that have not completed closure, 
including post-closure activities, in accordance with an 
approved plan, shall be charged an annual monitoring and 
maintenance fee and an annual tonnage fee for each permit. 
Annual monitoring and maintenance fees shall be charged 
for each permitted waste type. 

1. Annual monitoring and maintenance fees are as 
follows: 

a. - c. … 
2. Annual tonnage fees will be based on the wet-

weight tonnage, as reported in the previous year's disposer 
annual report, and are calculated as follows: 

a. - f. … 
g. The maximum annual tonnage fee per facility for 

type I facilities (including facilities that handle both 
industrial and non-industrial solid wastes) is $120,000. The 
maximum annual tonnage fee for type II facilities is 
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$30,000. Surface impoundments, as noted above, are 
assessed only the base fee. 

C. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2154, and R.S. 
49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 
22:18 (January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:2241 (December 2006), repromulgated LR 33:1108 (June 2007), 
amended LR 35:2180 (October 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:947 (May 2017), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal 
Investigations Division, LR 48: 

Subpart 2.  Recycling 
Chapter 105. Waste Tires 
§10535. Fees and Fund Disbursement 

A. Permit and Application Fees. Each applicant for the 
following permits or other authorization from the 
administrative authority shall submit with the application or 
request a non-refundable fee for the following categories in 
the amount specified. 

1. Transporter Fees. The transporter authorization 
application fee is $250. There will be only one fee regardless 
of the number of vehicles in the service of the transporter. 

A.2. - E.8. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2411 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended LR 
22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2781 (December 2000), LR 27:832 (June 2001), LR 27:2228 
(December 2001), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1324 (June 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2504 (October 2005), LR 
33:2160 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 42:268 (February 2016), LR 43:948 (May 
2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45:661 (May 2019), LR 48: 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 25. Fee Schedule 
§2599. Appendix A 

A. Appendix ARadiation Protection Program Fee 
Schedule 

 

Appendix A–Radiation Protection 
Program Fee Schedule 

New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
I. Radioactive Material Licensing 
A. - E.3. … 
4. Commercial naturally occurring 
radioactive materials waste disposal 

$23,000 $20,000 

F. - H.4. … 
II. Electronic Product Registration 
1. - 8. … 

Appendix A–Radiation Protection 
Program Fee Schedule 

New/Renewal 
Application 

Fee 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 
III. General Licenses 
A. NORM (Operators reporting 
contamination by field will be invoiced 
for all wellheads in the field. Operators 
reporting contamination by wellhead 
will be invoiced only for contaminated 
units.) 

    

1. Contaminated wellheads per 
wellhead 

$125 $125 

2. Stripper wells-contaminated per 
wellhead 

$125 $125 

3. NORM locations (other than fields):   
a. gas plants, pipeyards, chemical 

plant, refinery 
$458 $458 

b. warehouses, pipeline, 
manufacturing plant, NORM equipment 
storage site, etc. 

$458 $458 

4. Interim container storage per 
NORM Waste Management Plan of an 
approved location 

 $1,525 

5. NORM location as otherwise 
defined in LAC 33:XV.1403 and not 
exempted by LAC 33:XV.1404, not 
included in III.A.1-4 of this Appendix 

$153 $153 

B. - C. … 
IV. Reciprocal Recognition 

* * * 
V. Shielding Evaluation (per room) 
A. - F. … 
VI. Device, Product, or Sealed Source Evaluation 
A. Device evaluation (each) $5,000 * 
B. Sealed source design evaluation 
(each) 

$2,000 * 

C. Update sheet $500 * 
VII. Testing  

* * * 
VIII. Nuclear Electric Generating Station 

* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
LR 10:1014 (December 1984), amended by the Nuclear Energy 
Division, LR 11:530 (May 1985), LR 12:674 (October 1986), LR 
13:569 (October 1987), LR 14:622 (September 1988), LR 15:737 
(September 1989), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:719 
(July 1992), repromulgated LR 18:955 (September 1992), amended 
LR 19:624 (May 1993), LR 21:792 (August 1995), repromulgated 
LR 21:944 (September 1995), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2607 (November 2000), LR 29:691 (May 2003), LR 29:2053 
(October 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 43:952 (May 2017), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 
48: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 
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Small Business Analysis 
This Rule has no known impact on small business as 

described in R.S. 49:978.1 - 978.8. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by MM021. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 5, 2022, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or by fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to DEQ.Reg.Dev.Comments@la.gov. Copies of these 
proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of 
MM021. These proposed regulations are available on the 
Internet at www.deq.louisiana.gov/page/rules-regulations. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held via Zoom on March 29, 

2022, at 1:30 p.m. Interested persons are invited to attend 
and submit oral comments via PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or 
Android at https://deqlouisiana.zoom.us/j/9373792954 or by 
telephone by dialing 636-651-3182 using the conference 
code 725573. Should individuals with a disability need an 
accommodation in order to participate, contact Deidra 
Johnson at the address given below or at (225) 219-3985. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Courtney J. Burdette 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Fee Increase—Act No. 405 of the 2021  

Regular Legislative Session 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to have any 
impact on expenditures for state governmental units. The 
proposed rule provides the regulatory framework for 
implementing the Louisiana Department of Environmental 
Quality’s (DEQ) fee increase package that was passed in the 
2021 Regular Legislative Session. The proposed change 
outlines the new fee amounts and all related and necessary 
provisions. 

The proposed rule change may impact local governmental 
units by increasing costs to the extent those local governments 
are overseen by and pay fees to DEQ. Approximately 25 public 
landfills are regulated by DEQ and will have fees increase for 
FY 2022 in varying amounts based on their permit structure. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Based on the department’s calculations, DEQ anticipates 
that its annual revenue collections for the Environmental Trust 
Dedicated Fund Account will increase by approximately $2 
million annually. Current collections are approximately $56 
million annually; therefore, these regulations represent an 
increase of 3.5%. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Costs to industry businesses impacted by these regulations 
vary widely. Fees were increased to better align with DEQ’s 
costs to regulate and oversee each program. Some fees were 
also added for services that DEQ previously was not assessing 
fees for. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There may be impacts in employment in public or private 
sectors to the extent changes in employment are necessary to 
absorb the costs associated with the increase in fees. However, 
these fees have been discussed with industry participants who 
are subject to the increases and DEQ does not anticipate any 
significant impact on public or private sector employment. 

 
Courtney J. Burdette Alan M. Boxberger 
General Counsel Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#016 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Govenor 
Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters 

Continuing Education (LAC 46:XXI.609) 

The Louisiana Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand 
Reporters, propose to adopt LAC 46:XXI.609 and pursuant 
to R.S. 37:2554. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. Notice is hereby given 
that the Louisiana Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters proposes to adopt changes made to the 
Continuing Education Rule. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXI.  Certified Shorthand Reporters 

Chapter 6. Continuing Education 
§609. Awarding CE Credit for Pro Bono Work  

A. - B. … 
C. A certificate holder may receive one hour of 

continuing education credit for each 60 pages of pro bono 
transcript prepared by the reporter at no cost to an eligible 
organization or individual. An eligible organization must 
have 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(4) tax-exempt, tax-deductible 
designation from the Internal Revenue Service, and an 
eligible individual must have qualified for in forma pauperis 
status by a court. The reporter’s request for continuing 
education credit must be received and approved by the 
Continuing Education Committee Chair on or before 
expiration of the then-current two-year continuing education 
cycle and must provide the following: 
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1. a notice of the deposition, meeting, or other 
proceeding for which the reporter provided pro bono 
services; 

2. an affidavit by the reporter attesting to the number 
of pages of testimony in each transcript and stating that the 
work was done without charge to an eligible organization or 
individual; 

3. proof of tax status from a tax-exempt, tax-
deductible organization or proof of in forma pauperis status 
for an individual, accompanied by a letter of 
acknowledgement from the recipient of pro bono services 
that identifies the reporter by name and certificate number, 
lists all matters on which the reporter rendered pro bono 
services, and states that the reporter’s services were provided 
at no cost to the organization or individual; and 

4. a request by the reporter for a specific number of 
hours of continuing education credit based on the number of 
pages transcribed on a pro bono basis. The request may not 
be used to satisfy any portion of the two hours required for 
ethics education and may not exceed four hours of credit per 
two-year cycle. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2554.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 17:33 (January 1991). Amended LR 
19:1539 (December 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, LR 33:2420 
(November 2007), LR 37:318 (January 2011), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
on the family has been considered. This proposed rule has no 
impact on family functioning, stability, or autonomy as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Small Business Analysis 
Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 

impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule.  

This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small Business 
Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and financial 
security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Judge 

Kimya M. Holmes, Chair of the Louisiana Board of 
Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, 1450 Poydras 
St., Ste. 630, New Orleans, LA 70112.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Monday, March 28, 2022 at 9:30 a.m. in Suite 630, Benson 
Tower, 1450 Poydras St., Ste. 630, New Orleans, LA 70112. 
At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Judge Kimya M. Holmes 
Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Continuing Education 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no impact on the expenditures of the Louisiana 

Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters (CSR 
Board) as a result of the proposed rule that awards continuing 
education credit for pro bono work.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no impact on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units as a result of the proposed rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will affect certified shorthand reporters 
by allowing those persons who complete pro bono work for 
credit of continuing education. The new exception will provide 
additional opportunities to earn continuing education credits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition or 
employment as a result of this rule change. 

 
Judge Kimya M. Holmes Alan M. Boxberger 
Chair Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Capital Area Groundwater Conservation Commission 

Independent Remote Monitoring System and Pumpage Fees 
(LAC 56:V.707 and 1107) 

The Board of Commissioners of the Capital Area 
Groundwater Conservation District, which consists of the 
Parishes of Ascension, East and West Baton Rouge, East and 
West Feliciana, and Pointe Coupee, has determined that the 
users of the Southern Hills Aquifer System must be 
adequately metered to allow the Capital Area Groundwater 
Conservation District the ability to prevent waste of 
groundwater resources, and to prevent or alleviate damaging 
or potentially damaging subsidence of the land surface 
caused by withdrawal of groundwater within the district. The 
Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District plans to 
install an independent remote monitoring system to meter 
and monitor the groundwater users to ensure a precise 
understanding of how much groundwater is being removed 
to ensure the conservation of the aquifer. Additionally, the 
independent remote monitoring system will determine the 
extent of chlorides within the aquifer. This rule change will 
adopt a rule as part of LAC 56:V.707A.2. This action is in 
accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes 38:3076.A.(7), 
(8), (9), (10), (13), (14)(a)(b),(17),(18). 

The Board of Commissioners of the Capital Area Ground 
Water Conservation District has increased the pumping 
charges for non-exempt ground water users from $20 per 
million gallons of water pumped to $65 per million gallons 
of water pumped. The Board has determined that this 
increase is necessary to fund the monitoring and metering of 
groundwater users in the Capital Area. The Capital Area 
Groundwater Conservation District plans to install an 
independent remote monitoring system to meter the 
groundwater users to ensure a precise understanding of how 
much groundwater is being consumed to ensure the 
conservation of the aquifer and monitor the extent of 
chlorides in the aquifer. This rule change will amend the rule 
in LAC 56:V.1007. This action is in accordance with 
Louisiana Revised Statutes 38:3076(14) and 38:3079. 

Title 56 
PUBLIC WORKS 

Part V.  Capital Area Ground Water  
Conservation Commission 

Chapter 7. Rules and Regulations for Metering and/or 
Recording the Yield of Water Wells  

§707. Measuring Well Yield  
A.1. - A.1.c. … 

2. The commission shall have the authority to install 
an independent remote monitoring system on well owner’s 
property for the purpose of ensuring an accurate 
measurement of the total yield of each well and monitor the 
extent of chlorides in the aquifer to prevent waste of 
groundwater resources, and to prevent or alleviate damaging 
or potentially damaging subsidence of the land surface 
caused by withdrawal of groundwater within the district.  

a. If there is a discrepancy or inconsistency between 
the owner’s meter and the commission’s meter, the owner 
may require the commission to hire an independent 

contractor to verify the accuracy of the commission’s meter 
at the owner’s expense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3076(14) and 38:3079. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission, 
LR 3:307 (July 1977), repromulgated LR 33:2647 (December 
2007), amended LR 48: 
Chapter 11. Determination of and Payment of Accounts 
§1107. Pumpage Fee 

A. The pumping charges for ground water users shall be 
$65 per million gallons and is to be paid quarterly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3076(14) and 38:3079. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission, 
LR 1:291 (July 1975), amended LR 10:592 (August 1984) effective 
January 1, 1985, repromulgated LR 33:2649 (December 2007), 
amended LR 34:435 (March 2008), effective April 1, 2008, LR 
39:486 (March 2013), LR 42:403 (March 2016), LR 45:1580 
(November 2019), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy has been 
considered. The proposed Rule should not have any known 
or foreseeable impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; or 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule. This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have 
an adverse impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small 
Business Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Gary 

Beard, Executive Director, Capital Area Groundwater
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Conservation District, 3535 South Sherwood Forest Blvd., 
Ste. 137, Baton Rouge, LA 70816, either by mail or hand 
delivery. Comments may also be sent by email to 
gary@cagwcc.com. All written comments must be received 
no later than 4 p.m., on March 24th.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on March 28th at 1:30 p.m. 

at The Office of Conservation, LaSalle Building, 617 N 
Third Street, LaBelle Room, first floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802. Oral comments will be accepted at that meeting. 

 
Gary Beard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Independent Remote  

Monitoring System and Pumpage Fees 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
pumpage fee increase rule will result in increased 
programmatic costs of approximately $1,492,327 from FY 22 
to FY 23 and $100,505 from FY 23 to FY 24. It is anticipated 
that implementation of this proposed independent remote 
monitoring system rule will result in increased programmatic 
costs of approximately $1.5 million per year. The proposed 
pumpage fee increase rule raises the Capital Area Groundwater 
Conservation District’s pumpage fee from $20 per million 
gallons of groundwater pumped to $65 per million gallons of 
groundwater pumped. The increased revenue is necessary to 
fund the independent remote monitoring system on 
groundwater users in the Capital Area. The Capital Area 
Groundwater Conservation District plans to install an 
independent remote monitoring system of the groundwater 
users to ensure a precise understanding of how much 
groundwater is being consumed to ensure the conservation of 
the aquifer. Additionally, the system will monitor the extent of 
chlorides within the aquifer. There are no estimated 
implementation costs or savings to state or local governmental 
units as a result of the proposed independent remote monitoring 
system rule change. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District 
received $1,144,778 during fiscal year 2021, from pumping 
fees. The District estimates an increase of $2,575,571 of which 
results in an annual pumpage income of $3,720,529. The 
Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District estimates a 
5% increase in revenue from the implementation of the 
independent remote monitoring system.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The 58 users, including municipalities and industries in 
Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Pointe Coupee, 
West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes, which are 
subject to the current $20 per million gallons of groundwater 
pumped, will be charged an additional $45 per million gallons 
of groundwater pumped with the proposed pumpage fee 
increase. Users may experience an increase or decrease of 
monthly payment to the Capital Area Groundwater 
Conservation District based on the data received from the 
Commission’s independent remote monitoring system. 

It is estimated that the average household’s water bill 
would be slightly increased. If the current monthly bill to the 

average household is approximately 8 cents, then the increase 
would be approximately 18 cents per month. This cost reflects 
the actual cost of the water as charged by the District. Thus, the 
local governments would not be affected by the increase since 
it could be a “pass-through” to the consumers. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of these rule changes. 

 
Gary Beard  Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission 

Limitations and Prohibitions on Water Pumping 
(LAC 56:V.Chapter 13) 

The Capital Area Ground Water Conservation 
Commission (also known as the Capital Area Groundwater 
Conservation District) proposes to adopt LAC 56.V.1301-
1305 as authorized by R.S. 38:3071 et seq. This proposed 
Rule is being promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Board of Commissioners of the Capital Area Ground 
Water Conservation Commission approved the necessary 
additions and amendments to the provisions governing 
limitations and prohibitions on water pumping to adopt the 
prohibition of particular water production at certain depths, 
the establishment of a procedure for the issuance of water 
well permits, and a policy of subjecting any existing 
pumping limits to an annual review by the Board of 
Commissioners.  

Title 56 
PUBLIC WORKS 

Part V.  Capital Area Ground Water Conservation 
Commission 

Chapter 13. Limitations and Prohibitions on Pumping 
§1301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to specify any pumping 
limits and prohibitions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3071, et seq., R.S. 38:3076(A)(19) and 3078. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission, 
LR 48: 
§1303. Prohibition of Pumping in Certain Sands 

A. Except for those wells already approved by the Board 
of Commissioners of the Capital Area Ground Water 
Conservation Commission that are currently producing in 
the “1,000-foot”, “1,500-foot” and “1,700-foot” sands 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Capital Area Ground Water 
Conservation Commission, no water production or pumping 
shall be permitted to occur in the “1,000-foot”, “1,500-foot” 
and “1,700-foot” sands of the area subject to the jurisdiction 
of the Capital Area Ground Water Conservation 
Commission, except for those wells devoted exclusively to 
public supply. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3071, et seq., R.S. 38:3076(A)(19) and 3078. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission, 
LR 48: 
§1305. Annual Review of Pumping Limits 

A. Any pumping limits that are in place by the Capital 
Area Ground Water Conservation Commission shall be 
subject to annual review and re-adoption at the last 
Commission meeting each calendar year. 

B. Any pumping limits in place by the Capital Area 
Ground Water Conservation Commission shall be included 
in the Capital Area Ground Water Conservation 
Commission’s policies and procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:3071, et seq., R.S. 38:3076(A)(19) and 3078. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission, 
LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy has been 
considered. The proposed Rule should not have any known 
or foreseeable impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973.B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; or 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Analysis 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:965.6, methods for reduction of the 
impact on small business, as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act, have been considered when creating this 
proposed Rule. This proposed Rule is not anticipated to have 
an adverse impact on small businesses; therefore, a Small 
Business Economic Impact Statement has not been prepared. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Gary 

Beard, Executive Director, Capital Area Groundwater 
Conservation District, 3535 South Sherwood Forest Blvd.,

Ste. 137, Baton Rouge, LA 70816, either by mail or hand 
delivery. Comments may also be sent by email to 
gary@cagwcc.com. All written comments must be received 
no later than 4 p.m., on March 24th.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on March 28th at 1:30 p.m. 

at The Office of Conservation, LaSalle Building, 617 N 
Third Street, LaBelle Room, first floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802. Oral comments will be accepted at that meeting. 

 
Gary Beard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Limitations and  
Prohibitions on Water Pumping 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no costs anticipated for implementing these 

proposed rule changes. These rule changes provides for as 
follows: (1) prohibition of pumping in certain sands to occur in 
1,000-foot, 1,500-foot and 1,700-foot sands of the area subject 
to the jurisdiction of the Capital Area Ground Water 
Conservation Commission (CAGWCC), except for those wells 
devoted exclusively to public supply and (2) any pumping 
limits that are in place by the CAGWCC shall be subject to 
annual review and re-adoption at the Commission meeting each 
calendar year.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units by this rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons, small business, or non-governmental 
groups anticipated from this rule. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule would have no effect on competition and/or 
employment. 

 
Gary J. Beard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#022 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Commission on Law Enforcement and  

Administration of Criminal Justice 

General Subgrant Guidelines 
(LAC 22:III.101, 5101, and 5301) 

In accordance with the provision of R.S. 15:1204, et seq., 
and R.S. 40:905 et seq., which is the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Louisiana Commission on Law 
Enforcement hereby, gives notice of its intent to promulgate 
rules and regulations relative to subgrant applications.  
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Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part III.  Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 
Subpart 1.  Privacy and Security Regulation 

Chapter 1. Preface 
§101. Preface 

A. - B. … 
C. A separate set of guidelines and implementation 

instructions was published to provide significant assistance 
in understanding and adapting the regulations to local needs 
and peculiarities. Questions concerning the regulations or 
guidelines may be addressed to the Louisiana Commission 
on Law Enforcement at its recognized business address.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 3:447 (November 1977), amended LR 4:503 
(December 1978), amended LR 48: 
Subpart 5. Grant Application or Subgrants 

Utilizing Federal, State or Self-Generated 
Funds 

Chapter 51. Appeals Procedure 
§5101. Appeals Procedure 

A. When an application for funding is rejected by the 
commission, or when an approved subgrant is discontinued, 
the applicant or subgrantee may appeal the decision of the 
commission by filing a notice of appeal with the Louisiana 
Commission on Law Enforcement at the recognized business 
address. The notice of appeal must be by certified mail and 
must be filed no later than 15 business days after receipt of 
the notice of denial by the applicant or subgrantee. 

B. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 15:1071 (December 1989), amended LR 48: 
Chapter 53. Drug Abuse Resistance Education 

(D.A.R.E.)  
§5301. Introduction 

A. In response to the mounting concern about the use of 
drugs by youth, the Louisiana Commission on Law 
Enforcement makes Drug Abuse Resistance Education 
(D.A.R.E.) grants available to sheriffs' offices, marshal and 
constable offices, and police departments who can 
demonstrate the capacity to offer the D.A.R.E. program in 
accordance with nationally recognized curriculum standards.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 21:566 (June 1995), amended LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed rule 
has been considered. This proposed rule will have no impact 
on family functioning, stability, or autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972 since it updates grant application procedures for 
the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973. B. In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: (1) the effect on household 
income, assets, and financial security; (2) the effect on early 
childhood development and preschool through post-
secondary education development; (3) the effect on 
employment and workforce development; (4) the effect on 
taxes and tax credits; (5) the effect on child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: (1) the effect on the 
staffing level requirement or qualifications required to 
provide the same level of service; (2) the total direct and 
indirect effect on the cost to the providers to provide the 
same level of service; or (3) the overall effect on the ability 
of the provider to the same level of service.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

proposed Rule no later than March 22, 2022 at 5pm to Bob 
Wertz, Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement, Box 
3133 Baton Rouge, LA 70821. An analysis of the proposed 
rule shows that it will have no impact on the family as 
described in R.S. 49.972, nor any impact on small business 
as defined by Act 820 of 2008.  

 

Jim Craft  
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  General Subgrant Guidelines 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated fiscal impact to state or local 
governmental units as a result of the proposed ruled change. 
The revisions align the administrative code with existing 
practices regarding the law enforcement entities eligible to 
receive DARE grants. The Louisiana Commission on Law 
Enforcement does not anticipate any changes in the number of 
grants awarded. The revisions also make technical changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will not increase 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rules 
will have little or no effect on directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no effect on competition or employment in the 
public or private sector as a result of this proposal.  

 

Jim Craft Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#024 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

Employee Benefits (LAC 32:I.317) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., as authorized pursuant to 
R.S. 42:801 and 42:802, the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
proposes to amend Chapter 3, of LAC 32:I, Employee 
Benefits. The Rule is revised to amend the employee 
benefits provision governing the effective date of change of 
classification for dependents of enrollees for special 
enrollment events.  

Title 32  
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part I.  General Provisions  
Chapter 3. Uniform Provisions – Participation in the 

Office of Group Benefits  
§317. Change of Classification  

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. When a dependent is 
added to the enrollee’s coverage due to a HIPAA special 
enrollment event or deleted from the enrollee’s coverage 
consistent with a change in the dependent’s status, as set 
forth in the applicable OGB health plan document, 
applications made by active enrollees shall be provided to 
their HR liaison and applications made by retired enrollees 
shall be provided to OGB. Application is required to be 
made within 30 days of the event unless a longer application 
period is required by federal or state law. 

B. When a dependent is added to or deleted from the 
enrollee’s coverage during an OGB designated enrollment 
period, application is required to be made as directed for the 
OGB designated enrollment period. 

C. Effective Date of Change in Classification 
1. When adding a dependent due to a HIPAA special 

enrollment event results in a change in classification, the 
change in classification will be effective on the date of the 
event.  

2. When the addition of a dependent changes the 
classification of coverage, the new premium rate will be 
charged for the entire month if the date of the HIPAA special 
enrollment event occurs before the fifteenth day of the 
month. If the date of the HIPAA special enrollment event 
occurs on or after the fifteenth day of the month, the new 
premium rate will not be charged until the first day of the 
following month. 

3. When a dependent is added to an enrollee’s 
coverage under a special enrollment right that requires the 
effective date of coverage to be the same as the date of the 
qualifying event and the addition of the dependent changes 
the enrollee’s coverage classification, the increase in the 
monthly premium due as a result of the coverage change 
shall be prorated from the qualifying event date until the first 
day of the following month.  

D. Notification of Change. It is the enrollee’s 
responsibility to make application for any change in 
classification of coverage that affects the enrollee's 
contribution amount.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, LR 41:341 
(February 2015), effective March 1, 2015, amended LR 41:2351 
(November 2015), effective January 1, 2016, amended LR 42:51 
(January 2016), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement  
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on family formation, functioning, stability, or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement  
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on poverty, as described in R.S. 49:973.  
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an adverse 
effect or economic impact on small businesses in accordance 
with the Regulatory Flexibility Act.  

Provider Impact Statement  
The proposed Rules are not anticipated to have an impact 

on providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session.  

Public Comments  
Interested persons may submit written comments about 

the proposed Rules to the Office of Group Benefits, Attn.: 
Tameika Richard Henry, P.O. Box 44036, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804. The deadline for receipt of written comments is 
Monday, March 14, 2022 by 4:30 PM.  

Public Hearing  
A public hearing on the proposed Rules may be held on 

Tuesday, March 29, 2022, beginning at 8:00 AM, in the 
Louisiana Purchase Room (Room 1-100) on the first floor of 
the Claiborne Building, located at 1201 North Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802, if such a hearing is requested by 
Monday, March 14, 2022. All interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, 
orally or in writing, at the hearing. Individuals with 
disabilities who require special services or accommodations 
should contact Tameika Richard Henry by phone at 225-342-
9589 or by email tameika.richardhenry@la.gov at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance 
in determining if a hearing will be held, please call OGB 
Customer Service at 225-925-6625, or at 1-800-272-8451. 

 
David W. Couvillon 
Chief Executive Officer 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Employee Benefits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed change to LAC 32:I.317 is not anticipated to 

have an impact on the expenditures of the Office of Group 
Benefits ("OGB"). The proposed rule amends the provision 
governing the effective date of change of classification for 
dependents of enrollees for certain special enrollment events. 

There may be individual instances where self-funded health 
plan medical and/or pharmacy claims expenditures increase 
without the benefit of a premium rate change/increase due to a 
change in a subscriber's premium tier classification as a result 
of the addition of a dependent due to birth or marriage.
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However, since the current administrative rule uses a mid-
month cutoff to either charge one month of existing premium 
rates or one month at the new/higher premium rates, no 
changes to agency expenditures is anticipated, as long as the 
HIPAA special enrollment events are distributed uniformly 
throughout the month (which would be expected in incidences 
of births and marriages).  

Additionally, there may be minimal one-time costs 
associated with required programming updates to OGB’s 
IMPACT eligibility and premium billing system, estimated to 
be $7,900.  Costs of programming updates are regularly 
included in the OGB’s annual operating budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed change to LAC 32:I.317 is anticipated to 
result in an approximate $10,000 increase in OGB premium 
revenue in FY 22 and a $20,000 increase in OGB premium 
revenues annually in subsequent fiscal years. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed change to LAC 32:I.317 is anticipated to 
impact various OGB enrollees and dependents who meet 
specific criteria.   

An OGB enrollee who experiences the birth of a child or 
the gain of a spouse through marriage qualifies for a special 
enrollment period (as a result of these qualifying life events or 
“QLEs”), during which time the enrollee may add the 
dependent to their insurance coverage.  OGB’s QLE guidelines 
for the birth of a child or the gain of a spouse through marriage 
provide that the effective date of coverage for the new 
dependent be the same date as the QLE. The addition of the 
new dependent to the enrollee’s coverage results in a change in 
the enrollee’s coverage classification, which will result in a 
change in the amount of monthly premiums billed.  

Those OGB enrollees who meet the criteria mentioned 
above and who experience the following changes in coverage 
classification will be impacted by the proposed changes to LAC 
32:I.317: 

• from “enrollee only” coverage to “enrollee + child(ren)” 
coverage;  

• from “enrollee only” coverage to “enrollee + spouse” 
coverage;  

• from “enrollee only” coverage to “family” coverage; 
• from “enrollee + child(ren)” coverage to “family” 

coverage; and  
• from “enrollee + spouse” coverage to “family” coverage. 
As a result of the proposed change to LAC 32:I.317, such 

OGB enrollees will have the resulting additional premium 
amount prorated for the number of days remaining in the first 
month of coverage following the effective date of such 
coverage. 

The cost to those individual enrollees impacted by the 
proposed change to LAC 32:I.317 cannot be estimated, as it 
depends upon the enrollees’ plan selection, employer 
contribution level, existing coverage classification, and 
employment status. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The effect of the proposed changes to LAC 32:I.317 on 
competition and employment is unknown but estimated to be 
minimal to none. 

 
Col. David W. Couvillon Alan M. Boxberger 
Chief Executive Officer Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Board of Pharmacy 

Fees (LAC 46:LIII.115) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to add a new 
section of rules, §115, to itemize all the fees charged by the 
board. Most of the proposed fees represent increases from 
the current fees identified in R.S. 37:1184.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 1. Introduction 
§115. Fees 

A. The fees charged and collected by the board shall not 
be less nor more than the following schedule. 

1. Credentialing Fees for Persons 
a. Pharmacy Technician Candidate 

 i. Application fee for new pharmacy technician 
candidate registration—$50. 

b. Pharmacy Technician  
 i. Application fee for new pharmacy technician 
certificate—$100. 
 ii. Certificate renewal fee, per year—$60. 
 iii. Delinquent renewal fee, per year (50 percent of 
renewal fee)—$30. 
 iv. Reinstatement fee for lapsed, suspended, or 
revoked certificate—$200. 

c. Pharmacy Intern  
 i. Application fee for new pharmacy intern 
registration—$50. 

d. Pharmacist 
 i. Application fee for new pharmacist license—
$300. 
 ii. Application fee for transfer of pharmacist 
license—$150. 
 iii. License renewal fee, per year—$150. 
 iv. Delinquent renewal fee, per year (50 percent of 
renewal fee)—$75. 
 v. Reinstatement fee for lapsed, suspended, or 
revoked license—$200. 
 vi. Pharmacy education support fee, per year—
$100. 

2. Credentialing Fees for Businesses 
a. Pharmacy 

 i. Application fee for new pharmacy permit—
$500. 
 ii. Application fee for change of location of 
pharmacy permit—$200. 
 iii. Pharmacy permit renewal fee, per year—$200. 
 iv. Delinquent renewal fee for pharmacy permit, 
per year (50 percent of renewal fee)—$100. 
 vi. Application fee for new controlled dangerous 
substance (CDS) license for pharmacy—$25. 
 vii. CDS license renewal fee, per year—$25. 
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 viii. Delinquent renewal fee for CDS license, per 
year (50 percent of renewal fee)—$12.50 
 ix. Application fee for new emergency drug kit 
(EDK) permit—$50.  
 x. EDK permit renewal fee, per year—$50. 
 xi. Application fee for new automated medication 
system (AMS) registration—$150. 
 xii. AMS registration renewal fee, per year—$150. 
 xiii. Application fee for new sterile compounding 
pharmacy permit—$500. 
 xiv. Sterile compounding pharmacy permit renewal 
fee, per year—$500. 
 xv. Reinstatement fee for lapsed, suspended, or 
revoked pharmacy permit, CDS license, EDK permit, AMS 
registration, or sterile compounding pharmacy permit—
$200. 
 xvi. Pharmacy education support fee, per year—
$100. 

b. Durable Medical Equipment Provider 
 i. Application fee for new durable medical 
equipment (DME) permit—$200. 
 ii. DME permit renewal fee, per year—$200. 
 iii. Delinquent renewal fee for DME permit, per 
year (50 percent of renewal fee)—$100. 
 iv. Reinstatement fee for lapsed, suspended, or 
revoked DME permit—$200. 
 v. Pharmacy education support fee, per year—
$100. 

c. Pharmacy Benefit Manager 
 i. Application fee for new pharmacy benefit 
manager (PBM) permit—$500. 
 ii. PBM permit renewal fee, per year—$500. 
 iii. delinquent renewal fee for PBM permit, per 
year (50 percent of renewal fee)—$250. 

3. Fees for Products and Services 
a. Products 

 i. Pharmacist certificate—$75. 
 ii. Pharmacist silver certificate—$100. 
 iii. Louisiana Pharmacy Law Book—$40. 
 iv. Official list of licensees, per credential type—
$150. 
 v. Photocopies of documents, per page—$0.50 

b. Services 
 i. Administrative hearing fee—$250. 
 ii. Certification of credential—$20. 
 iii. Certification of practical experience to another 
jurisdiction—$25. 
 iv. Certification of document as true copy of office 
record—$5. 
 v. Handling and mailing, per page—$1. 

4. Board member per diem, per day—$75. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182(A)(21). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 48: 
Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
family impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. The following statements will be 
published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency Rule. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the stability of the 
family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on family earnings 
but could impact a family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the ability of the 
family or a local government to perform the activity as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
poverty impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment.  

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The proposed Rule will have no effect on 
household income, assets, or financial security. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on early childhood 
development or preschool through postsecondary education 
development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed Rule will have no effect on 
employment or workforce development. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The proposed 
Rule will have no effect on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed Rule will have no effect on child 
and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, 
transportation, or utilities assistance.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses: 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule will have no effect on compliance or reporting 
requirements for small business.  

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. The proposed Rule will have no effect on 
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schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting 
requirements for small business. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on compliance or 
reporting requirements for small business.  

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. The proposed 
Rule will have no effect on standards. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed 
Rule. There are no exemptions for small businesses in the 
proposed Rule. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a provider impact statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
The proposed Rule will have no effect on the staffing level 
requirements or the qualifications for that staff to provide the 
same level of service. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed Rule will have no effect on the cost to the provider 
to provide the same level of service. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of service. The proposed Rule will 
have no effect on the ability of the provider to provide the 
same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, via 

United States Postal Service or other mail carrier, or in the 
alternative by personal delivery to Malcolm J Broussard, 
Executive Director, at the office of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-
1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
the proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing to solicit comments and testimony on the 

proposed Rule is scheduled for 9 a.m. on Friday, March 25, 
2022 at the board office which is located at 3388 Brentwood 
Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809. During the hearing, 
all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit comments and testimony, either verbally or in 
writing. The deadline for the receipt of all comments and 
testimony is 12 p.m. noon that same day. To request 
reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities, 
please call the board office at 225.925.6496. 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Fees 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will require the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy (LBP) to publish the proposed and final rules in the 
State Register, resulting in printing expenses of $1,000 in FY 
2022. There will be no additional expenditures or cost savings 
for LBP or other state or local governmental units. Although 
some state governmental units operate pharmacies licensed by 
LBP, those permits are fee-exempt.  

The proposed rule will create a new section of rules to 
itemize all the fees charged by the Board. The fees listed in the 
proposal represent the first fee increase since 2005. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule fee increases will generate 
approximately $932,800 per fiscal year for LBP from fees paid 
by persons and businesses credentialed by the Board. The 
proposed rule will not affect revenue collections for other state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule fee increases will generate 
approximately $932,800 per fiscal year for LBP from fees paid 
by persons and businesses credentialed by the Board. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Due to the universal nature of these fee increases, the 
proposed rule changes will have an indeterminate but likely 
minimal impact on competition or employment. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health  
Board of Pharmacy 

Raw Marijuana Products  
(LAC 46:LIII.2440, 2443, 2453, and 2457) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy hereby gives notice of its intent to amend §§2440, 
2443, 2453, and 2457 of its rules relative to marijuana 
pharmacies to implement the provisions of Act 424 of the 
2021 Legislature. The proposed changes in §2440 make a 
technical change in the reference to the initial enabling 
legislation for the medical marijuana program and identifies 
the mandates within 2021 legislation. The proposed changes 
in §2443 add raw marijuana products to those items which 
producers are authorized to distribute to marijuana 
pharmacies, identify laboratory testing standards for such 
raw products, add additional dosage forms including pectin-
based chewables as well as combustible and edible dosage
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forms and removes the prohibition on inclusion of marijuana 
in beverages. The proposed changes in §2453 authorize 
marijuana pharmacies to temporarily maintain a supply of 
marijuana products outside safes and vaults during their 
hours of operation. The proposed changes in §2457 remove 
the reference to referral as a description of a 
recommendation form, adds a requirement for 
recommendations for raw products when intended for 
persons under the age of 21 years, and identifies the 
dispensing limitations of raw marijuana products included in 
the 2021 legislation.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 24. Limited Service Providers 
Subchapter E. Marijuana Pharmacy 
§2440. Preamble; Warning; Consultation Suggested 

A. Pursuant to Act 261 of the Regular Session of the 
2015 Legislature as well as subsequent amendments, the 
Board of Pharmacy was directed to: 

1. … 
2. Adopt rules relating to the dispensing of 

recommended marijuana for therapeutic use, with such rules 
to include, at a minimum, the following: 

a. - d. … 
e. Standards, procedures, and protocols to ensure all 

recommended therapeutic marijuana dispensed, with the 
exception of raw or crude marijuana product, is consistently 
pharmaceutical grade. 

f. - k. … 
l. limitations on dispensing of raw or crude 

marijuana. 
B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1538 (August 2017), amended 
LR 48: 
§2443. Marijuana Products 

A. Exclusive Source 
1. The exclusive source of marijuana products shall be 

the producers licensed for that activity by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF). 

2. Licensed producers shall prepare pharmaceutical 
grade marijuana products as well as raw marijuana products 
for distribution to marijuana pharmacies licensed by the 
board. 

3. … 
B. Laboratory Testing 

1. … 
2. A producer shall make available each such batch at 

the production facility for testing by a laboratory approved 
by LDAF. The laboratory employee shall select a random 
sample from each such batch. 

a. Medical marijuana concentrate shall not be used 
to produce any final product until it has passed all analysis 
limits for: 
 i. - v. … 

b. Product shall not be released for delivery to a 
marijuana pharmacy for sale or consumption until it has 
passed all concentrate analysis limits for: 

i. - iii. … 
c. Final products not produced from concentrate, 

e.g., dried and cured flower, shall not be released for 
delivery to a marijuana pharmacy for sale or consumption 
until it has passed all analysis limits for: 
 i. active ingredient analysis for characterization 
of potency; 
 ii. pesticide active ingredients, including but not 
limited to the most recent list of targeted pesticides 
published by LDAF; 
 iii. heavy metals; 
 iv. mycotoxins; 
 v. microbiological contaminants; and 
 vi. homogeneity. 

d. LDAF personnel may select a random sample at 
any point in the process for the purpose of analysis for 
anything the LDAF deems necessary. 

e. Samples shall be secured in a manner approved 
by LDAF at all times when not in immediate use for the 
analyses being conducted. 

3. … 
4. Testing Specifications 

a. - c.iv. … 
d. With respect to the pesticide chemical residue 

test, a marijuana sample shall be deemed to have passed if it 
does not contain any residues appearing on LDAF’s 
approved list and any approved residues present are less than 
the limits allowed by LDAF. 

e. … 
f. With respect to the test for homogeneity, a 

marijuana sample shall be deemed passed if each aliquot 
tested is within plus or minus 15 percent of the total aliquots 
average finding for potency for each labeled active 
ingredient. Any solid product will be considered not 
homogenous if 10 percent of the product contains more than 
20 percent of the total active ingredient. 

g. Every sample shall undergo an active ingredient 
analysis or potency analysis. 
 i. - i.(d). … 
 ii. For product samples, the potency test is to 
establish the active ingredient composition for verification of 
labeling to ensure accurate dosing. The maximum variance 
permitted is 15 percent from the labeled amount. For 
example, a product labeled as containing 10 milligrams of 
tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) shall contain no less than 8.5 
milligrams THC and no more than 11.5 milligrams THC. For 
final products containing THCA, the total THC determined 
shall also be within the variance allowed for the THC as 
labeled. 

5. - 8. … 
C. Product Dosage Forms 

1. The producer shall limit their production of 
pharmaceutical grade products to the following dosage 
forms: 

a. - c. … 
d. gelatin-based or pectin-based chewables; 
e. - h. … 
i. bulk raw product. 

2. The producer may produce other products from raw 
or crude marijuana, including dried flower, buds, and other 
plant material, intended for the following methods of 
administration: 
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a. combustible forms for inhalation, including but 
not limited to pre-rolls; and 

b. edible forms for ingestion. 
3. No marijuana product shall: 

a. include alcoholic liquor, dietary supplements, or 
any drug, except for marijuana. For purposes of this 
provision, alcoholic liquor does not include any liquid or 
solid containing less than 0.5 percent of alcohol by volume, 
or ethanol-based tinctures. 

b. be manufactured or sold in a form or with a 
design that: 
 i. - iv. … 

c. have had pesticide chemicals or organic solvents 
used during the production or manufacturing process other 
than those which may be approved by the commissioner of 
LDAF. 

4. Any marijuana product not in compliance with the 
provisions of this Section shall be deemed adulterated. 

D. - E.4.f. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1540 (August 2017), amended 
LR 45:1473 (October 2019), LR 46:568 (April 2020), LR 46:1227 
(September 2020), LR 47:590 (May 2021), LR 48: 
§2453. Security Requirements for Marijuana 

Pharmacies 
A. A marijuana pharmacy shall: 

1. - 3. … 
4. keep all approved safes and vaults securely locked 

and protected from entry, except for the actual time required 
to remove or replace marijuana, provided that during hours 
of operation the pharmacist-in-charge may authorize the 
placement of a limited quantity of dispensing stock outside 
such safes or vaults but within the secure prescription 
department. 

A.5. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1548 (August 2017), amended 
LR 48: 
§2457. Standards of Practice 

A. - D.5. … 
E. Professional Practice Standards  

1. Recommendation / opinion (hereinafter, “request”) 
for Therapeutic Marijuana 

a. - a.ii. … 
b. The request shall disclose the following 

information at a minimum: 
 i. - iii. … 
 iv. type of marijuana product requested; 
 v. - vii. … 

c. Requests for marijuana products shall expire one 
year after the date of issue, unless a shorter period of time is 
indicated by the physician. A pharmacist shall not dispense 
marijuana product pursuant to an expired request. 

d. Requests for raw or crude marijuana products 
intended for persons under 21 years of age shall specifically 
indicate a recommendation for raw or crude forms of 
marijuana for such persons. 

e. A marijuana pharmacy shall transfer an 
unexpired request for marijuana product to another 
marijuana pharmacy when requested by the patient or his 
caregiver. 

2. Dispensing Marijuana Products 
a. Prior to dispensing any marijuana product to a 

patient, the pharmacist shall review the patient’s records in 
the state prescription monitoring program. The pharmacist 
shall resolve any concerns identified in that review by 
consultation with the recommending physician. 

b. Dispensing Limitations 
 i. A pharmacist shall not dispense more than two 
and one-half ounces, or 71 grams, of raw or crude marijuana 
every 14 days to any person. 
 ii. Subject to the above limitation on dispensing 
raw or crude marijuana products, a pharmacist may dispense 
marijuana products on multiple occasions as indicated by the 
physician and needed by the patient until the request expires; 
however, the pharmacist shall not dispense more than a 90-
day supply of marijuana product at one time nor more than a 
one-year supply pursuant to a single request. 

E.3. - E.6.e.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:1550 (August 2017), amended 
LR 45:1473 (October 2019), LR 47:246 (February 2021), LR 
47:1111 (August 2021), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
family impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment. The following statements will be 
published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency Rule. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 
proposed rule changes will have no effect on the stability of 
the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of their Children. 
The proposed rule changes will have no effect on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed rule changes will have no effect on the functioning 
of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed rule changes will have no effect on family 
earnings or family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed rule changes will 
have no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed rule changes will have no effect on the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform the activity as 
contained in the proposed rule changes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 973 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 347

poverty impact statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal, or amendment.  

1. The Effect on Household Income, Assets, and 
Financial Security. The proposed rule changes will have no 
effect on household income, assets, or financial security. 

2. The Effect on Early Childhood Development and 
Preschool through Postsecondary Education Development. 
The proposed rule changes will have no effect on early 
childhood development or preschool through postsecondary 
education development. 

3. The Effect on Employment and Workforce 
Development. The proposed rule changes will have no effect 
on employment or workforce development. 

4. The Effect on Taxes and Tax Credits. The proposed 
rule changes will have no effect on taxes or tax credits. 

5. The Effect on Child and Dependent Care, Housing, 
Health Care, Nutrition, Transportation, and Utilities 
Assistance. The proposed rule changes will authorize the use 
of raw or crude marijuana for therapeutic purposes, which 
could provide more appropriate dosage forms for children, 
which could affect healthcare of children or other 
dependents.  

Small Business Analysis 
In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses: 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
rule changes will have no effect on compliance or reporting 
requirements for small businesses. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Schedules or 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. The proposed rule changes will have no 
effect on schedules or deadlines for compliance or reporting 
requirements for small businesses. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The 
proposed rule changes will have no effect on compliance or 
reporting requirements for small businesses. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. The proposed rule 
changes do not include design standards but do include a 
provision for temporary relaxation of security standards for 
marijuana products to facilitate efficient dispensing 
operations in marijuana pharmacies. 

5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed 
Rule. There are no exemptions for small businesses in the 
proposed rule changes. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In accordance with House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 

of the Regular Session of the 2014 Legislature, there is 
hereby submitted a provider impact statement on the Rule 
proposed for adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will 
certify the agency has considered, without limitation, the 
following effects on the providers of services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 
The proposed rule changes will have no effect on the staffing 
level requirements or the qualifications for that staff to 
provide the same level of service. 

2. The Total Direct and Indirect Effect on the Cost to 
the Provider to Provide the Same Level of Service. The 
proposed rule changes will have no effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. 

3. The Overall Effect on the Ability of the Provider to 
Provide the Same Level of service. The proposed rule 
changes will have no effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, via 

United States Postal Service or other mail carrier, or in the 
alternative by personal delivery to Malcolm J Broussard, 
Executive Director, at the office of the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, 3388 Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-
1700. He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding 
the proposed Rule amendment.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing to solicit comments and testimony on the 

proposed rule changes is scheduled for 9:00 am on Friday, 
March 25, 2022 at the board office which is located at 3388 
Brentwood Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809. During 
the hearing, all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit comments or testimony, either 
verbally or in writing. The deadline for the receipt of all 
comments and testimony is 12 p.m. noon that same day. To 
request reasonable accommodations for persons with 
disabilities, please call the board office at 225.925.6496. 

 
Malcolm J Broussard 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Raw Marijuana Products 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will require the Louisiana Board 

of Pharmacy (LBP) to publish the proposed and final rules in 
the state register, resulting in printing expenses of $1,000 in FY 
22. There will be no additional expenditures or cost savings for 
LBP or other state or local governmental units.  

The proposed rule changes authorize the use of raw 
marijuana products, establish laboratory and testing standards 
and permissible dosage forms for such products, as well as 
dispensing limitations for such products at marijuana 
pharmacies. Other proposed rule changes include an allowance 
for the temporary placement of marijuana products outside 
safes and vaults but within the prescription department to 
facilitate efficient dispensing operations in marijuana 
pharmacies.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will authorize producers of 
marijuana products to include raw marijuana products among 
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the items they may distribute to marijuana pharmacies. The 
marijuana pharmacies may sell raw marijuana products 
pursuant to recommendations, subject to certain dispensing 
limitations. The addition of new products and dosage forms 
may increase sales transactions in pharmacies , however, 
additional product selection may lead to substitutional rather 
than additive sales. This rule does not directly influence 
existing recommendation volume by prescribers.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

To the extent the addition of new products and dosage 
forms increases the number of sales transactions in marijuana 
pharmacies, it is possible the pharmacies may need to hire more 
employees, which would improve employment opportunities in 
those geographical areas. The proposed rule changes may also 
stimulate price competition among the marijuana pharmacies. 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard Alan M. Boxberger 
Executive Director Interim Fiscal Officer 
2202#020 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Behavioral Health Service Providers 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapters 56 and 57) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.Chapters 56 and 57 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2162. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

Act 328 of the 2020 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature and Acts 372 and 433 of the 2021 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature revised the 
requirements relative to the licensure of certain providers of 
behavioral health services In compliance with Acts 328, 372, 
and 433, the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the licensing of behavioral health service 
providers in order to: 1) provide further definitions and 
provisions related to the geographic service area, 2) update 
the licensure and staff requirements, 3) update admission, 
transfer and discharge requirements, and 4) add provisions 
governing mobile services, mental health intensive 
outpatient programs, and onsite access to medication 
assisted treatment. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 56. Behavioral Health Service Providers  
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5601. Introduction 

A. - B. ... 
C. The following providers shall be licensed under the 

BHS provider license: 
1. substance use/addiction treatment facilities; 
2. - 3. ... 

D. Licensed substance use/addiction treatment facilities 
and mental health clinics have one year from the date of 

promulgation of the final Rule to comply with all of the 
provisions herein. 

NOTE: Existing licensed substance use/addiction treatment 
facilities and mental health clinics shall be required to apply 
for a BHS provider license at the time of renewal of their 
current license(s). 

E. The following entities shall be exempt from the 
licensure requirements for BHS providers: 

1. - 10. ... 
11. an individual licensed physician assistant (PA), or a 

group practice of licensed PAs, providing services under the 
auspices of and pursuant to the scope of the individual's 
license or group's licenses; 

12. school-based health clinics/centers that are certified 
by the LDH, Office of Public Health, and enrolled in the 
Medicaid Program; 

13. those local public school governing authorities, if 
such exemption is applicable to only school-based BHS 
provided through the Medicaid Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment program; 

14. a health care provider or entity solely providing 
case management or peer support services, or a combination 
thereof; 

a. - d.NOTE. Repealed. 
15. facilities or services operated for the sole purpose 

of providing substance use or mental health services to 
courts that are recognized and certified by the Louisiana 
Supreme Court as specialty courts; 

16.  an individual licensed advanced practice registered 
nurse (APRN), or a group practice of licensed APRNs, 
providing services under the auspices of and pursuant to the 
scope of the individual's license or group's licenses; 

17. rural health clinics (RHCs) providing RHC services 
under a license issued pursuant to R.S. 40:2197; and 

18. facilities or services operated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1682 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1379 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5603. Definitions 

* * * 
Addiction Counselor—any person who is licensed, 

certified, or registered in accordance with state statute and 
procedures established by the Addictive Disorder Regulatory 
Authority and who, by means of his special knowledge 
acquired through formal education or practical experience, is 
qualified to provide addiction counseling services to those 
individuals afflicted with or suffering from an addictive 
disorder or certain co-occurring disorders. 

* * * 
Addiction Outpatient Treatment Services (ASAM Level 

1)—an outpatient program that offers comprehensive, 
coordinated, professionally directed and defined addiction 
treatment services that may vary in level of intensity and 
may be delivered in a wide variety of settings. Services are 
provided in regularly scheduled sessions of fewer than nine 
contact hours a week. 

Addictive Disorder—the repeated pathological use of 
substances including but not limited to alcohol, drugs, or 
tobacco, or repeated pathological compulsive behaviors 
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including but limited to gambling, which cause physical, 
psychological, emotional, economic, legal, social, or other 
harms to the individual afflicted with the addiction or to 
others affected by the individual’s affliction. Addiction 
disorder includes instances where withdrawal from or 
tolerance to the substance or behaviors are present, and also 
instances involving use and abuse of substances. 

* * * 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)—a licensed 

health care practitioner who is acting within the scope of 
practice of his/her respective licensing boards(s) and/or 
certifications. 

Alternate Service Delivery Area—an area that is not 
contiguous to the geographic service area of the licensed 
BHS parent location and/or is in an LDH region where a 
BHS provider may be allowed to provide Homebuilders 
services when the provider has less than three staff providing 
such services in that region. 

Ambulatory Withdrawal Management with Extended on-
site Monitoring (ASAM Level 2-WM)—an organized 
outpatient addiction treatment service that may be delivered 
in an office setting or health care or behavioral health 
services provider by trained clinicians who provide 
medically supervised evaluation, withdrawal management 
and referral services. The services are designed to treat the 
client’s level of clinical severity to achieve safe and 
comfortable withdrawal from mood-altering chemicals and 
to effectively facilitate the client’s entry into ongoing 
treatment and recovery. The services are provided in 
conjunction with intensive outpatient treatment services 
(level 2.1). 

* * * 
Authorized Licensed Prescriber—a physician, PA, nurse 

practitioner, or medical psychologist (MP) licensed in the 
state of Louisiana and with full prescriptive authority who is 
authorized by the BHS provider to prescribe treatment to 
clients of the specific BHS provider at which he/she 
practices. 

* * * 
Behavioral Health Services—mental health services, 

substance use/addiction treatment services, or a combination 
of such services, for adults, adolescents and children. Such 
services may be provided in a residential setting, in a clinic 
setting on an outpatient basis, or in a home or community 
setting. 

* * * 
Business Location or Primary Business Office Location—

the physical location/address that is designated by the 
provider as the main or primary business office location; 
there shall be only one designation of the main or primary 
business office location per provider; the main or primary 
business office location may be a licensed residential 
location, a licensed outpatient clinic, or other office location 
within the geographic service area authorized by the license. 

Campus—for purposes of this Chapter, a location where 
BHS services are provided that is within the geographic 
service area as the licensed BHS provider. A campus may 
have multiple buildings/multiple addresses as long as those 
buildings are contiguous and not separated by public streets, 
and are within the same geographic service area as the 
licensed BHS provider.  

* * * 
Certified Addiction Counselor (CAC)—pursuant to R.S. 

37:3387.1, any person who, by means of his specific 
knowledge acquired through formal education and practical 
experience, is qualified to provide addictive disorder 
counseling services and is certified by the ADRA as a CAC. 
The CAC shall not practice independently and shall not 
render a diagnostic impression. 

Certified Clinical Supervisor—any person holding the 
necessary credential of licensed, certified, or registered 
addiction counselor or any person who holds a specialty 
substance use credential in another professional discipline in 
a human services field at the master’s level or higher; and 
who has satisfied the requirements established by the 
Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA) to 
provide clinical supervision. 

Cessation of Business—provider is non-operational and/or 
has stopped offering or providing services to the community.  

Change of Ownership (CHOW)—the addiction, 
substitution, or removal, whether by sale, transfer, lease, gift 
or otherwise, of a licensed health care provider subject to 
this rule by a person, corporation, or other entity, which 
results in a change of controlling interest of assets or other 
equity interests of the licensed entity may constitute a 
CHOW of the licensed entity. An example of an action that 
constitutes a CHOW includes, but is not limited to, the 
leasing of the licensed entity. 

* * * 
Client—any person who seeks and receives treatment or 

services, including but not limited to rehabilitation services 
or addiction counseling services, furnished by a provider 
licensed pursuant to this Chapter. 

* * * 
Clinically Managed High-Intensity Residential Treatment 

Services (ASAM Level 3.5)—a residential program that 
offers continuous observation, monitoring, and treatment by 
clinical staff designed to treat clients experiencing 
substance-related disorders who have clinically-relevant 
social and psychological problems, such as criminal activity, 
impaired functioning and disaffiliation from mainstream 
values, with the goal of promoting abstinence from 
substance use and antisocial behavior and affecting a global 
change in clients’ lifestyles, attitudes and values. 

Clinically Managed Low Intensity Residential Treatment 
Services (ASAM Level 3.1)—a residential program that 
offers at least five hours a week of a combination of low-
intensity clinical and recovery-focused services for 
substance-related disorders. Services may include individual, 
group and family therapy, medication management and 
medication education, and treatment is directed toward 
applying recovery skills, preventing relapse, improving 
emotional functioning, promoting personal responsibility 
and reintegrating the client into the worlds of work, 
education and family life (e.g., halfway house). 

Clinically Managed Population Specific High-Intensity 
Residential Treatment Services (ASAM Level 3.3)—a 
residential program that offers at least 20 hours per week of 
a combination of medium-intensity clinical and recovery-
focused services in a structured recovery environment to 
support recovery from substance-related disorders; is 
frequently referred to as extended or long term care. 
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Clinically Managed Residential Withdrawal Management 
(Social) (ASAM LEVEL 3.2-WM)—an organized residential 
program utilizing 24 hour active programming and 
containment provided in a non-medical setting that provides 
relatively extended, sub-acute treatments, medication 
monitoring observation, and support in a supervised 
environment for a client experiencing non-life threatening 
withdrawal symptoms from the effects of alcohol/drugs and 
impaired functioning and who is able to participate in daily 
residential activities. 

* * * 
Co-Occurring Disorder—a disorder in which an 

individual has at least one psychiatric disorder as well as an 
addictive disorder. 

* * * 
Counselor in Training (CIT)—any person who has not yet 

met the qualification to become a licensed, certified, or 
registered counselor, but who has made application to the 
ADRA in accordance with state statute and procedures 
established by the ADRA. The CIT shall not practice 
independently and shall only work under the direct 
supervision of a licensed addiction counselor (LAC), CAC, 
or registered addiction counselor; or in the absence of a 
licensed, certified, or registered addiction counselor, under 
the direction of a qualified mental health professional. 

* * * 
Department—the LDH or any office or agency thereof 

designated by the secretary to administer the provisions of 
this Chapter. 

* * * 
Dispensing Physician—any physician in the state of 

Louisiana who is registered as a dispensing physician with 
the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (LSBME) 
and who dispenses to his/her patients any drug, chemical, or 
medication, except a bona fide medication sample. 

* * * 
Facility Need Approval (FNA)—the letter of approval 

from the Office of Behavioral Health (OBH) which is 
required for licensure applicants for opioid treatment 
programs prior to applying for a BHS provider license or the 
letter of approval from the Facility Need Review (FNR) 
Committee within the department which is required for 
licensure applicants for psychosocial rehabilitation (PSR) or 
CPST services prior to applying for a BHS provider license. 

FDA—the Food and Drug Administration of the United 
States Department of Health and Human Services. 

Financial Viability—the provider seeking licensure is able 
to provide verification and continuous maintenance of all of 
the following pursuant to R.S. 40:2153: 

1. ... 
2. proof of professional liability insurance of at least 

$500,000 or proof of self-insurance of at least $100,000, 
along with proof of enrollment as a qualified health care 
provider with the Louisiana Patient’s Compensation Fund 
(PCF): 

a. if the BHS provider is self-insured and is not 
enrolled in the PCF, professional liability limits shall be $1 
million per occurrence/$3 million per annual aggregate. 

NOTE: the LDH-HSS shall specifically be identified as the 
certificate holder on any policies and any certificates of 
insurance issued as proof of insurance by the insurer or 
producer (agent). 

3. proof of workers' compensation insurance; and 
4. proof of general liability insurance of at least 

$500,000. 
Geographic Service Area—the geographic service 

location for a public or private behavioral health services 
provider licensed pursuant to this Part shall be defined to 
include: 

1. the parish in which the provider’s business office is 
located; 

2. any parish contiguous to the parish in which the 
provider’s business office is located; and 

3. any distance within a fifty mile radius of the 
provider’s business office. 

* * * 
Health Standards Section (HSS)—the licensing and 

certification section of the LDH.  
High Risk Behavior—includes substance use, gambling, 

violence, academic failure, delinquency behavior, and 
mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, and suicidal 
ideations. 

* * * 
Intensive Outpatient Treatment Services (ASAM Level 

2.1)—professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, 
treatment and recovery services provided in an organized 
non-residential treatment setting, including individual, 
group, family counseling and psycho-education on recovery 
as well as monitoring of drug use, medication management, 
medical and psychiatric examinations, crisis mitigation 
coverage and orientation to community-based support 
groups. Services may be offered during the day, before or 
after work or school, in the evening or on a weekend, and 
the program shall provide nine or more hours of structured 
programming per week for adults and six or more hours of 
structured programming per week for children/adolescents. 

* * * 
Licensed Mental Health Professional (LMHP)—an 

individual who is currently licensed and in good standing in 
the state of Louisiana to practice within the scope of all 
applicable state laws, practice acts and the individual’s 
professional license, as one of the following: 

1. - 6. ... 
7. advanced practice registered nurse (APRN); or 
8. ... 

Licensed Rehabilitation Counselor (LRC)—any person 
who holds himself out to the public, for a fee or other 
personal gain, by any title or description of services 
incorporating the words “licensed professional vocational 
rehabilitation counselor” or any similar terms, and who 
offers to render professional rehabilitation counseling 
services denoting a client-counselor relationship in which 
the counselor assumes responsibility for knowledge, skill, 
and ethical considerations needed to assist individuals, 
groups, organizations, or the general public, and who implies 
that he is licensed to engage in the practice of rehabilitation 
counseling. An LRC is also known as a licensed professional 
vocational rehabilitation counselor. An LRC is not permitted 
to provide assessment or treatment services for substance 
use/addiction, mental health or co-occurring disorders under 
his/her scope of practice under state law. 

* * * 
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Medical Psychologist—a licensed psychological 
practitioner who has undergone specialized training in 
clinical psychopharmacology and has passed a national 
proficiency examination in psychopharmacology approved 
by the LSBME.  

Medically Monitored Inpatient Withdrawal Management 
(Medically Supported ) (ASAM Level 3.7-WM)—a 
residential program that provides 24-hour observation, 
monitoring and treatment delivered by medical and nursing 
professionals to clients whose withdrawal signs and 
symptoms are moderate to severe and thus require 
residential care, but do not need the full resources of an 
acute care hospital. 

Medically Monitored Intensive Inpatient Treatment 
Services (Co-occurring) (ASAM Level 3.7)—a residential 
program that provides a planned regimen of 24-hour 
professionally directed evaluation, observation, medical 
monitoring and addiction treatment to clients with co-
occurring psychiatric and substance disorders whose 
disorders are so severe that they require a residential level of 
care but do not need the full resources of an acute care 
hospital. The program provides 24 hours of structured 
treatment activities per week, including, but not limited to, 
psychiatric and substance use assessments, diagnosis 
treatment, and habilitative and rehabilitation services. 

* * * 
Mental Health Clinic—an entity through which outpatient 

behavioral health services are provided, including screening, 
diagnosis, management or treatment of a mental disorder, 
mental illness, or other psychological or psychiatric 
condition or problem, mental health intensive outpatient 
services, and 24-hour emergency services that are provided 
either directly or through formal affiliation with other 
agencies by an interdisciplinary team of mental health 
professionals and subordinates in accordance with a plan of 
treatment or under the direction of a psychiatrist or another 
qualified physician with psychiatric consultation. 

Mental Health Intensive Outpatient Programs (MH 
IOPs)—professionally directed assessment, diagnosis, and 
treatment provided in an organized non-residential treatment 
setting, including individual, group, family counseling and 
psycho-education as well as, medication management, 
medical and psychiatric examinations, and crisis mitigation 
coverage. Services may be offered during the day, before or 
after work or school, in the evening or on a weekend, and 
the program shall provide nine or more hours of structured 
programming per week for adults and six or more hours of 
structured programming per week for children/adolescents. 

Mental Health Rehabilitation (MHR)—an outpatient 
healthcare program provider of any PSR, crisis intervention 
(CI) and/or CPST services that promotes the restoration of 
community functioning and well-being of an individual 
diagnosed with a mental health or mental or emotional 
disorder. The MHR provider utilizes evidence based 
supports and interventions designed to improve individual 
and community outcomes. 

* * * 
Mobile Crisis Response Team (MCRT)—unlicensed staff 

and recognized peer support specialist deploy in teams 
initially to assess and address a crisis as part of mobile crisis 
intervention response services, enlisting the assistance of an 
LMHP if needed. Exceptions to the team deployment may be 

made by the team leader. One staff person may deploy after 
the initial assessment, if appropriate as determined by the 
team leader. Unlicensed individuals work under the 
supervision of an LMHP or psychiatrist who is acting within 
the scope of his/her professional license and applicable state 
law. MCRTs operate under an agency or facility license 
issued by LDH Health Standards. 

Mobile Unit—any trailer or self-propelled unit equipped 
with a chassis on wheels and intended to provide behavioral 
health services on a temporary basis at a temporary location. 
These units shall be maintained and equipped to be moved. 

Mothers with Dependent Children Program or Dependent 
Care Program—a program that is designed to provide 
substance use/addiction treatment to mothers with dependent 
children who remain with the parent while the parent is in 
treatment. 

* * * 
Nurse—any registered nurse licensed and in good 

standing with the Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN) 
or any practical nurse licensed and in good standing with the 
Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners 
(LSBPE). 

* * * 
Off-Site—a parent facility’s alternate location or premises 

that provides behavioral health services on a routine basis 
within the geographic service area of the licensed BHS 
provider that: 

1. is detached from the parent provider and does not 
share the same campus; 

2.  the geographic service location for a public or 
private behavioral health services provider licensed pursuant 
to this Part shall be defined to include: 

a. the parish in which the provider’s business office 
is located; 

b. any parish contiguous to the parish in which the 
provider’s business office is located; and 

c. any distance within a fifty mile radius of the 
provider’s business office. 

3. is owned by, leased by or donated or loaned to the 
parent provider for the purpose of providing behavioral 
health services; and 

4. has a sub-license issued under the parent facility’s 
license. 

* * * 
Onsite Access—for purposes of §5712 of this Rule, the 

delivery of the treatment to the patient at the location of the 
residential substance use disorder facility. For purposes of 
§5712, onsite access does not mean that the residential 
substance use disorder facility is required to maintain stock 
of the medication-assisted treatment at the facility. 

* * * 
OSFM—the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections (LDPSC), Office of State Fire Marshal (OSM). 
* * * 

Parent Facility—the main building or premises of a BHS 
provider where services are provided on-site and 
administrative records are maintained.  

Partial Hospitalization Services (ASAM Level 2.5)—an 
organized outpatient service that delivers treatment to 
adolescents and adults. This level encompasses services that 
meet the multidimensional instability and complex needs of 
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people with addiction and co-occurring conditions which do 
not require 24-hour care. 

Peer Support Specialist—an individual with personal 
lived experience with a minimum of 12 consecutive months 
of recovery from behavioral health conditions and 
successfully navigating the behavioral health services 
system. Recognized peer support specialists must 
successfully complete an OBH-approved peer training 
program, continuing education requirements, and clinical 
supervision prior to providing peer support services. 

* * * 
Physician Assistant—a licensed health care practitioner 

who is acting within the practice of his/her respective 
licensing boards(s) and/or certifications. 

* * * 
Prevention Specialist—an individual who works with 

individuals, families and communities to create 
environments and conditions that support wellness and the 
ability of individuals to withstand changes. Prevention 
specialists are trained in needs assessment, planning and 
evaluation, prevention education and service delivery, 
communication, community organization, public policy and 
environmental change. A Prevention specialist is any person 
who has received credentials from the ADRA to be a 
licensed, certified, or registered prevention professional. 

Prevention Specialist-in-Training—any person who has 
not yet met the qualifications to become a licensed, certified, 
or registered prevention professional, but who has made 
application to the ADRA in accordance with the provisions 
of state statute and procedures established by the ADRA, 
and works under the supervision as required by ADRA. 

* * * 
Registered Addiction Counselor (RAC)—pursuant to R.S. 

37:3387.2, any person who, by means of his/her specific 
knowledge acquired through formal education and practical 
experience, is qualified to provide addictive disorder 
counseling services and is registered by the ADRA as a 
RAC. The RAC shall not practice independently and shall 
not render a diagnostic impression. 

* * * 
Secretary—the secretary of the LDH or his/her designee. 

* * * 
Site/Premises—a single identifiable geographic location 

owned, leased, or controlled by a provider where any 
element of treatment is offered or provided. Multiple 
buildings may be contained in the license only if they are 
connected by walkways and not separated by public streets. 

* * * 
State Opioid Treatment Authority (SOTA)—the agency or 

other appropriate officials designated by the governor or 
his/her designee, to exercise the responsibility and authority 
within the state for governing the treatment of opiate 
addiction with an opioid drug. The SOTA for the state of 
Louisiana is the OBH. 

* * * 
Substance Use/Addiction Treatment Service—a service 

related to the screening, diagnosis, management, or 
treatment for the use of or addiction to controlled dangerous 
substances, drugs or inhalants, alcohol, problem gambling or 
a combination thereof; may also be referred to as substance 
use disorder service. 

* * * 

Unlicensed Professional (UP)—for purposes of this Rule, 
any unlicensed behavioral health professional who cannot 
practice independently or without supervision by a LMHP. 
This includes but is not limited to CACs, RACs and 
unlicensed addiction counselors, social workers or 
psychologists. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1682 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1380 (July 2017), LR 
46:587 (April 2020), LR 48: 
Subchapter B. Licensing 
§5605. General Provisions 

A. - E. ... 
F. Provider Names. A BHS provider is prohibited from 

using: 
1. ... 
2. a name that resembles the name of another BHS 

provider licensed by the department as determined by the 
Louisiana Secretary of State; 

F.3. - G.11. ... 
H. Plan Review 

1. Plan review is required for outpatient clinics and 
residential BHS provider locations where direct care services 
or treatment will be provided, except for the physical 
environment of a substance use/addiction treatment facility 
or licensed mental health clinic at the time of this Chapter’s 
promulgation. 

2. - 4.b. ... 
I. Waivers 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Waivers are not transferable in a CHOW or 

geographic change of location, and are subject to review or 
revocation upon any change in circumstances related to the 
waiver.  

J. - L.9. ... 
M. Geographic Service Area 

1. The geographic service area is the geographic area 
that a BHS provider’s license allows services (including all 
telehealth services) to be provided to clients. 

2. For purposes of this licensing rule, the geographic 
service area shall be established as follows: 

a. for providers owned and/or operated by a human 
service district or authority, the geographic service area shall 
be the parishes and jurisdiction of the district or authority in 
statute; 

b. for providers participating in the Homebuilders 
program, the geographic service area shall be the parishes of 
the LDH region in which the provider is licensed and has its 
primary business office location; 
 i. upon receipt of a written waiver request from 
such provider, the LDH Health Standards Section may grant 
a waiver to a Homebuilders provider to operate in another 
LDH region for good cause shown; 
 ii. the LDH Health Standards Section may request 
from the Homebuilders provider any documentation or 
information necessary to be able to evaluate and make a 
determination to grant or deny the waiver request; and 
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 iii. if granted, the waiver shall be for a limited 
time, and not to exceed six months. 

c. for mobile crisis response teams, the geographic 
service area shall be the parishes of the LDH region in which 
the provider is licensed and has its primary business office 
location; 

d. for all other BHS providers, the geographic 
service area shall be as follows: 
 i. for providers of residential services the 
geographic service area shall be the fixed, licensed 
residential location geographic address and any licensed 
offsite residential location geographic address only; 
 ii. for providers of outpatient services (other than 
providers with a mental health service program that provide 
services only in the home and community – see below) the 
geographic service area shall be: 

(a). the geographic address of the licensed 
outpatient clinic; 

(b). the geographic address of any licensed 
offsite outpatient clinic; 

(c). in a home or community location in the 
parish in which the primary business office of the BHS 
provider is located; 

(d). in a home or community location in any 
parish contiguous to the parish in which the BHS provider’s 
primary business office is located, and 

(e). in a home or community location that is 
within a 50 mile radius of the BHS provider’s primary 
business office. 
 iii. for providers of a mental health service 
program that provide services only in the home and 
community (defined as providers without a fixed, licensed 
outpatient clinic that only provide behavioral health services 
to clients in a home or community setting) the geographic 
service area shall be: 

(a). the geographic address of the home or 
community location in the parish in which the designated 
primary business office of the BHS provider is located; 

(b). the geographic address of the home or 
community location in any parish contiguous to the parish in 
which the BHS provider’s primary business office is located; 
and 

(c). the geographic address of the home or 
community location that is within a 50 mile radius of the 
BHS provider’s designated primary business office. 

3. A BHS provider may not provide telehealth 
services outside of its geographic service area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2162. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1687 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1380 (July 2017), LR 
46:588 (April 2020), LR 48: 
§5606. License Restrictions and Exceptions 

A. - A.2. ... 
B. A BHS provider may apply for a waiver from the HSS 

to provide home or community services to a client residing 
outside of the provider’s designated geographic service area 
only under the following conditions: 

B.1. - D. ... 
E. Exception to Service Delivery Area. A BHS 

Homebuilders provider may request the approval of an 

alternate service delivery area that shall include the 
following submitted to the HSS: 

1. letter of FNR approval for the alternate geographic 
service delivery area; and 

2. attestation that the Homebuilders program currently 
has less than three staff providing Homebuilders services in 
the alternate geographic service delivery area; 

F. Exceptions during a Gubernatorial Declared State of 
Emergency or Disaster 

1. To ensure the health and safety of clients, and the 
coordination and continuation of services to clients, during a 
gubernatorial declared state of emergency or disaster in 
Louisiana, the department, through written notice sent 
electronically to licensed BHS providers, may allow a 
licensed BHS provider to operate and provide services to 
existing clients who are receiving outpatient BHS services 
and who have evacuated or temporarily relocated to another 
location in the state when the following apply: 

a. the client has evacuated or temporarily relocated 
to a location outside of the provider’s licensed region due to 
the declared state of emergency or disaster; 

b. the client shall have been a client of the BHS 
provider as of the declared state of emergency or disaster, 
with an approved treatment plan; 

c. the provider has sufficient and qualified staff to 
provide services at the client’s temporary location; 

d. the provider is responsible for ensuring that all 
essential services, are provided in accordance with the 
treatment plan; and 

e. the provider shall not interfere with the client’s 
right to choose a provider of his/her choice if the client 
elects a new BHS provider in the area where the client 
relocates. The provider shall facilitate client’s selection. 

2. Under the provisions of §5606.F.1-4, the 
department’s initial written notice to licensed BHS providers 
to authorize these allowances shall be for a period not to 
exceed 45 days. The department may extend this initial 
period, not to exceed an additional 45 days, upon written 
notice sent electronically to the licensed BHS providers. 

3. Under the supervision of §5606.F.1-4, the 
department, in its discretion, may authorize these allowances 
statewide or to certain affected parishes. 

4. A BHS provider who wants to provide services to a 
client that has temporarily relocated out of state must contact 
that state’s licensing/certification department to obtain any 
necessary licensing and/or certification before providing 
services in that state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2162. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 46:588 (April 
2020), amended LR 48: 
§5607. Initial Licensure Application Process 

A. ... 
B. The completed initial licensing application packet 

shall include: 
1. - 2. ... 
3. the LDH plan review approval letter from OSFM, if 

applicable; 
4. - 10. ... 
11. if operated by a corporate entity, such as a 

corporation or a limited liability company, current proof of 
registration and status with the Louisiana Secretary of State; 
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12. any other documentation or information required by 
the department for licensure including, but not limited to: 

a. documentation for opioid treatment programs, 
such as a copy of the OBH FNA letter; and 

b. a copy of the FNR approval letter for providers 
of PSR/CPST; 

13. for a residential substance use disorder facility, 
submission of the attestation in accordance with §5712 of 
this Rule. 

C. Deadline for Submitting Initial Licensure Application 
for Unlicensed Agencies 

1. Any unlicensed agency that is a provider of any 
PSR, CI and/or community psychiatric support and 
treatment services prior to the promulgation of this Rule and 
is required to be licensed as a BHS provider has 180 days 
from the promulgation of this Rule to submit an initial 
licensing application packet to HSS. 

C.2. - H. ... 
I. A BHS provider is prohibited from providing 

behavioral health services to clients during the initial 
application process and prior to obtaining a license, unless 
the applicant qualifies as one of the following facilities: 

1. ... 
2. a licensed substance use/addiction treatment 

facility; or 
3. an agency that is a provider of PSR, community 

psychiatric support and treatment, and/or CI services.  
J. - J.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1688 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1381 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5615. Renewal of License 

A. ... 
B. To renew a license, the BHS provider shall submit a 

completed license renewal application packet to the 
department at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the 
current license. The license renewal application packet shall 
include: 

1. - 5. ... 
6.  payment of any outstanding fees, fines or monies 

owed to the department; 
7. for a residential substance use disorder facility, 

submission of the attestation in accordance with §5712 of 
this Rule; and 

8. any other documentation required by the 
department. 

C. - G.3.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1691 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1381 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5643. Core Staffing Personnel Qualifications and 

Responsibilities 
A. ... 
B.  Professional Staffing Standards. All BHS providers 

shall, at a minimum, have the following staff: 
1. a medical director who: 

a. is a physician, or an APRN, or a MP, with a 
current, unrestricted license to practice in the state of 
Louisiana with two years of qualifying experience in treating 
psychiatric disorders; 

* * * 
b. has the following assigned responsibilities: 

 i. ... 
 ii. provides oversight for provider 
policy/procedure, client treatment plans and staff regarding 
the medical needs of the clients according to the current 
standards of medical practice; 

b.iii. - d. ... 
2. a clinical director who, for those mental health 

rehabilitation providers which exclusively provide the 
evidenced-based practice multi-systemic therapy (MST), 
functional family therapy (FFT) or Homebuilders: 

a. ... 
b. has the following assigned responsibilities: 

 i. ... 
 ii. provides oversight for provider 
policy/procedure, client treatment plans and staff regarding 
the clinical needs of the clients according the current 
standards of clinical practice; 

B.2.b.iii. - 4.viii. ... 
5. nursing staff who, for those BHS providers whose 

services include medication management and/or addiction 
treatment services: 

a. provide the nursing care and services under the 
direction of a registered nurse (RN)necessary to meet the 
needs of the clients; and 

b. - b.i. ... 
 ii. Nursing services may be provided directly by 
the BHS provider or may be provided or arranged via 
written contract, agreement, policy, or other document. The 
BHS provider shall maintain documentation of such 
arrangement. 

C. Other Staffing Requirements. The provider shall abide 
by the following staffing requirements that are applicable to 
its provider: 

1. Licensed Mental Health Professionals 
a. The provider shall maintain a sufficient number 

of LMHPs, who are licensed to practice independently in the 
state of Louisiana to diagnose and treat mental illness and/or 
substance use, to meet the needs of the provider’s clients. 

b. - b.iii. ... 
 iv. provide on-site and direct professional 
supervision of any UP or inexperienced professional; 
 v. - vi. ... 

2. Unlicensed Professionals  
a. The provider shall maintain a sufficient number 

of UPs to meet the needs of its clients; 
b. - b.v. ... 

3. Direct Care Aides 
a. A residential provider shall have a sufficient 

number of direct care aides to meet the needs of the clients; 
b. A provider that provides outpatient services shall 

use direct care aides as needed; 
3.c. - E.2. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1700 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
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Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1383 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5645. Personnel Records 

A. - A.10. ... 
11. prior to hiring the unlicensed direct care staff 

member, and once employed, at least every six months 
thereafter or more often, the provider shall have 
documentation of reviewing the Louisiana state nurse aide 
registry and the Louisiana direct service worker registry on 
the Louisiana Adverse Action website to ensure that each 
unlicensed direct care staff member does not have a negative 
finding on either registry; and 

A.12. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1702 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter F. Admission, Transfer and Discharge 
§5669. Interior Space for Residential Facilities 

A. - C.3. ... 
D. Client Bedrooms. The provider shall ensure that each 

client bedroom in the facility: 
1. - 4. ... 
5. contains no more than four beds; 
EXCEPTION: Providers licensed as substance use/addiction 
treatment residential facilities at the time this Rule is 
promulgated that have more than four clients per bedroom, 
may maintain the existing bedroom space that allows more 
than four clients per bedroom provided that the bedroom space 
has been previously approved by a LDH waiver. This 
exception applies only to the currently licensed physical 
location. 

6. - 7.c. ... 
8. has a window; 

D.9. - E.7. ... 
8. prohibit bunk beds in the following programs: 

a. clinically managed residential withdrawal 
management (ASAM level 3.2-WM); 

b. Clinically Managed High Intensity Residential 
treatment services (ASAM level 3.5); 

c. medically monitored intensive residential 
treatment services(ASAM level 3.7); and 

d. medically monitored inpatient withdrawal 
(ASAM level 3.7WM). 

F. Bathrooms 
1. - 2. ... 
3. The provider shall ensure that each client has 

personal hygiene items, such as a toothbrush, toothpaste, 
shampoo, and soap as needed. 

4. In a multi-level facility, there shall be at least one 
full bathroom with bathing facility reserved for client use on 
each client floor. 

5. ... 
6. The provider shall have at least one separate toilet 

and a lavatory for the staff located within the facility. 
H. - I. ... 
J. Staff Quarters. The provider utilizing live-in staff 

shall provide adequate, separate living space with a private 
bathroom to include a shower for staff usage only. 

K. - L. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1707 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1385 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5670. Mobile Units 

A. All BHS providers offering services via a mobile unit 
shall notify the HSS prior to providing services via a mobile 
unit. 

B. The mobile unit shall be maintained in safe working 
order and in compliance with applicable state and federal 
regulations and laws, including but not limited to those 
regulations and law relative to the safe and effective 
operation of motor vehicles. 

C. A licensed behavioral health provider operating a 
mobile unit shall provide behavioral health services only in 
the geographic service area of the licensed behavioral health 
service provider. 

D. All BHS providers utilizing a mobile unit shall have 
policies and procedures that address the use of mobile units. 

NOTE: The provisions of this Section shall be effective upon 
the promulgation of this Rule and not to exceed one year as a 
pilot program limited only to currently licensed local 
governing entity (LGE) BHS providers. At the end of the one 
year pilot period, LDH will re-evaluate these provisions to 
determine whether they should continue for LGE BHS 
providers only, or whether to apply them to all other licensed 
BHS providers of mobile services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter J. Safety and Emergency Preparedness 
§5673. Infection Control 

A. ... 
B. The provider shall have an active Infection Control 

Program that requires: 
1. reporting of infectious disease in accordance with 

current CDC and state and federal OPH guidelines;  
B.2. - 3. ... 

4. a designated infection control coordinator who: 
a. develops and implements policies and procedures 

related to infection control that follow most recently 
published/current state and federal infection control 
guidelines in preparation for, during, and after a public 
health emergency or disaster; and 

b. ... 
5. universal precautions, including proper 

handwashing and personal protective equipment, as needed; 
and 

6. ... 
C. The provider shall maintain a clean and sanitary 

environment and shall ensure that: 
1. appropriate supplies and personal protective 

equipment, as needed, are available to staff; 
C.2. - F.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR
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41:1709 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5677. Inactivation of License due to a Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 
A. A licensed BHS provider located in a parish which is 

the subject of an executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued, may seek to inactivate its 
license for a period not to exceed one year, provided that the 
provider: 

1. - 1.b. ... 
c. includes an attestation that the emergency or 

disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; 

A.1.d. - E. ... 
F. During the period of inactivation, the department 

prohibits CHOW of the provider. 
G. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1711 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter L. Additional Requirements for Mental 

Health Programs 
* * * 

§5684. Mobile Services 
A. Outreach Mobile Services 

1. community outreach services (including access to 
specialized care; 

2. prevention and awareness strategies (primary 
prevention); 

3. screening, brief intervention and referral to 
treatment (SBIRT); 

4. recovery support services; 
5. peer recovery coaching; 
6. narcan education and distribution; 
7. other similar educational and outreach services; and 
8. may be provided in a car, van, motor home, kiosk, 

etc. 
B. Outreach Mobile Team 

1. LMHP 
2. prevention specialist 
3. peer support specialist 
4. Medical professional (licensed practical nurse 

(LPN), RN, or medical doctor (MD) 
C. Behavioral Health Mobile Clinic (BHMC) Services 

1. behavioral health services provided in a mobile unit 
that travels to various locations within the behavioral health 
service provider (BHSP)’s geographic service area; 

2. only existing licensed LGEs shall be authorized to 
provide behavioral health services in a BHMC; 

3. BHSP may utilize a BMHC to provide services to 
youth and/or adults who may be struggling to access 
behavioral health services through traditional means because 
of barriers to treatment such as transportation, family issues, 
child care concerns or conflicting work schedules; 

4. BHSP shall ensure that services are provided in a 
secure, private/HIPAA compliant space and offering the 
same behavioral health services provided in the brick and 
mortar clinic; 

5. BHSP shall ensure client records are maintained in 
a secure and confidential manner; 

6. BHSP shall ensure staff is available consistent with 
the services provided in the BHMC; and 

7. BHMC service shall be provided in a motor 
home/recreational vehicle type vehicle; 

8. BHMC services include the following: 
a. intake, assessments and enrollment of new 

clients; 
b. medical screens for entrance into a behavioral 

health treatment service/program by appropriate medical 
professional in accordance with their scope of practice; 

c. screening, brief intervention and referral to 
treatment; 

d. counseling services; 
e. coping skills; 
f. case management/care coordination; 
g. stress management; 
h. relapse prevention; 
i. individual recovery planning; 
j. medication assisted treatment (MAT) services 

(Methadone is excluded from this mobile service); and 
k. pharmacy services. 

9. excluded mobile services include, but are not 
limited to the following: 

a. Opioid Treatment Program (OTP); 
b. substance use disorder residential services; 
c. Medicaid home and community based services 

(behavioral health and waiver); and 
d. crisis services. 

NOTE: The provisions of this Section shall be effective upon 
the promulgation of this Rule and not to exceed one year as a 
pilot program limited only to currently licensed local 
governing entity (LGE) BHS providers. At the end of the one 
year pilot period, LDH will re-evaluate these provisions to 
determine whether they should continue for LGE BHS 
providers only, or whether to apply them to all other licensed 
BHS providers of mobile services. 

D. Mobile Crisis Response 
1. mobile crisis response services are an initial or 

emergent crisis intervention response for adults 21 years or 
over intended to provide relief, resolution and intervention 
provided by a mobile crisis response team (MCRT); 

2. this service shall be provided under the supervision 
of an LMHP with experience regarding this specialized 
mental health service. the LMHP or physician shall be 
available at all times to provide back-up, support and/or 
consultation from assessment of risk and through all services 
delivered during a crisis; and 

3. this service is not intended to be conducted or 
provided inside the vehicle; the vehicle is for transport of 
employees to the clients’ location in their home/community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5691. Behavioral Health Service Providers with a 

Mental Health Program that Provide Services 
Only in the Home and Community 

A. ... 
B. Primary Business Office. The provider offering 

behavioral health services only in the home or community 
shall have a business location that: 
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1. - 2. ... 
3. has at least one employee on duty in the primary 

business office during hours of operation listed on the 
approved license application; 

4. - 5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1713 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5692. Mental Health Intensive Outpatient Programs 

(MHIOPs) 
A. The provider shall: 

1. develop admission criteria that recognizes the dual-
function of MHIOPs (i.e., that they can serve as both a step-
down from hospitalization and as a preventative measure to 
hospitalization); 

2. maintain a minimum of nine contact hours per 
week for adults, at a minimum of three days per week, with 
a maximum of 19 hours per week; 

3. maintain a minimum of six hours per week for 
children/adolescents, at a minimum of three days per week, 
with a maximum of 19 hours per week; 

4. review and update the treatment plan in 
collaboration with the client as needed or at a minimum of 
every 30 days; 

5. have the capability to provide: 
a. individual, group, and family therapy; 
b. crisis management/coverage capabilities; 
c. medication management capabilities; and 
d. basic case management services; 

6. conduct a biopsychosocial assessment which must 
include an assessment for substance use/addiction, and refer 
to a proper level of care for addiction treatment, where 
indicated; 

7. offer aftercare/continuing care group counseling 
services to people successfully completing a MH IOP; and 

8. have a structured psychoeducational curriculum in 
place that covers, at a minimum, the following subjects: 

a. disease education (i.e., education on mental 
illness/various psychiatric illnesses); 

b. the role of medication and proper medication 
management in the treatment of psychiatric illnesses; 

c. education on co-occurring illnesses; 
d. education on developing a long-term recovery 

plan, and guidance towards getting grounded in community-
based support programming geared towards people with 
chronic mental health challenges; 

e. education on symptom management; 
f. education on crisis management; 
g. education on the role of nutrition in the treatment 

of mental health issues; and 
h. education on the role of family/key personal 

stakeholders in a recovery plan. 
B. Staffing. The provider shall ensure that: 

1. a physician is on site as needed for the management 
of psychiatric and medical needs and on call 24 hours per 
day, seven days per week; 

2. there is a clinical supervisor on-site 10 hours a 
week and on call 24 hours per day, seven days per week; 

3. there is at least one LMHP on site when clinical 
services are being provided; 

4. each LMHP/UP caseload does not exceed 1:25 
active clients; and 

5. there are nursing services available as needed to 
meet the nursing needs of the clients. 

a. nursing services may be provided directly by the 
BHS provider or may be provided or arranged via written 
contract, agreement, policy or other document. The BHS 
provider shall maintain documentation of such arrangement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter M. Additional Requirements for Substance 

Use/Addiction Treatment Programs 
NOTE: In addition to the requirements applicable to all BHS 
providers, a provider that provides substance use/addiction 
treatment services shall meet the requirements of Subchapter 
M. 

§5695. Addiction Outpatient Treatment Services 
(ASAM Level 1) 

A. The BHS provider shall: 
1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 

level 1into this program; 
A.2. - B.5.a. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1714 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5697. Intensive Outpatient Treatment Services (ASAM 

Level 2.1) 
A. The provider shall: 

1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 
level2.1 into this program; 

A.2. - B.5.a. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1714 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5698. Partial Hospitalization Services (substance use 

only) (ASAM Level 2.5) 
A. The provider shall: 

1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 
level 2.5 into this program; 

A.1.a. - B.5.a. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1387 (July 
2017), LR 48: 
§5699. Ambulatory Withdrawal Management with 

Extended On-Site Monitoring (ASAM Level 2-
WM) (Adults Only) 

A. The BHS provider shall: 
1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 

level 2-WM into this program; 
2. ... 
3. ensure that level 2-WM services are offered in 

conjunction with intensive outpatient treatment services 
(ASAM level2.1); 

B. - B.5. ... 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1715 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5701. Clinically Managed Low-Intensity Residential 

Treatment Services (ASAM Level 3.1) 
A. The BHS provider shall: 

1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 
level 3.1 into its Clinically Managed Low-Intensity 
Residential Treatment Services; 

A.2. - B.4.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1715 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5703. Clinically Managed Residential Withdrawal 

(Social ) (ASAM Level 3.2-WM) 
A. The provider shall: 

1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 
level 3.2-WM into its Clinically Managed Residential 
Withdrawal Management Program; 

A.2. - B.1. ... 
2. The provider shall orient the direct care staff to 

monitor, observe and recognize early symptoms of serious 
illness associated with withdrawal management and to 
access emergency services promptly. 

C. - C.5.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1715 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5705. Clinically Managed Population Specific High-

Intensity Residential Treatment (ASAM Level 
3.3) (Adult Only) 

A. The provider shall: 
1. only admit clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 

level 3.3 into its Clinically Managed High-Intensity 
Residential Treatment Services; 

2. offer at least 20 hours per week of a combination of 
high-intensity clinical and recovery-focused services;  

A.3. - B.6. ... 
C. Mothers with Dependent Children Program 

(Dependent Care Program) 
1. A provider’s Mothers with Dependent Children 

Program shall: 
a. meet the requirements of ASAM level 3.3; 

1.b. - 2.f. ... 
3. Clinical Care for Children. The provider shall: 

a. address the specialized and therapeutic needs and 
care for the dependent children and develop an 
individualized treatment plan to address those needs, to 
include goals, objectives and target dates; 

C.3.b. - 7.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

41:1716 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5707. Clinically Managed High-Intensity Residential 

Treatment Services (ASAM Level 3.5) 
A. The provider shall: 

1. admit only clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 
level 3.5 into its Clinically Managed High Intensity 
Residential Treatment Services; 

A.2. - B.6.d.i. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1717 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5709. Medically Monitored Intensive Inpatient 

Treatment Services (Co-occurring) (ASAM 
Level 3.7) (Adults Only) 

A. The provider shall: 
1. admit only clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 

level 3.7 into its Medically Monitored Intensive Residential 
Inpatient Treatment Services; and 

A.2. - B.4. ... 
5. its on-site nursing staff is solely responsible for 3.7 

program and does not provide services for other levels of 
care at the same time; 

6. - 8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1718 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5711. Medically Monitored Inpatient Withdrawal 

Management (Medically Supported) (ASAM 
Level 3.7-WM) (Adults Only) 

A. The provider shall: 
1. admit only clients clinically appropriate for ASAM 

level 3.7-WM into its Medically Monitored Inpatient 
Withdrawal Management Program; 

A.2. - C.2.e.ii ... 
3. Clinical Supervisor and UPs  
3.a. - 5. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1718 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter N. Additional Requirement for Substance 

Use/Addictive Residential Treatment 
Programs 

NOTE: In addition to the requirements applicable to all BHS 
providers, residential programs that treat substance 
use/addiction shall meet the applicable requirements below. 

§5712. Onsite Access to Medication-Assisted Treatment 
A. Each residential substance use disorder facility 

licensed as a BHS provider that provides treatment for 
opioid use disorder shall provide all of the following: 

1. onsite access, as defined in the Rule, to at least one 
form of FDA-approved opioid antagonist treatment; and 

2. onsite access, as defined in this Rule , to at least 
one form of FDA-approved partial opioid agonist treatment. 
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B. A residential substance use disorder facility licensed 
as a BHS provider shall not be found to be in violation of 
this Section if prior authorization from a patient’s health 
insurer, a Medicaid program, is required, and the 
preapproval request is denied by the patient’s health insurer. 

C. Each residential substance use disorder facility 
licensed as a BHS provider which provides treatment for 
opioid use disorder shall submit to the department on its 
initial licensing application and/or its annual licensing 
renewal application an attestation as to whether it is 
complying with the requirements of §5712.A and when such 
compliance began. 

D. If the licensed facility is not fully complying with the 
requirements of §5712.A, then the attestation that the facility 
submits to the department shall include a report addressing 
its progress toward satisfying the requirements of this 
Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
Subchapter O. Additional Requirement for Substance 

Opioid Treatment Programs 
* * * 

§5723. General Provisions 
A. A provider with an opioid treatment program shall: 

1. meet the requirements of the protocols established 
by OBH/SOTA; 

2. ... 
3. upon the death of a client: 

a. report the death of a client enrolled in their clinic 
to the SOTA within 24 hours of the discovery of the client’s 
death; 

b. ... 
c. submit documentation on the cause and/or 

circumstances to SOTA and to HSS, if applicable, within 24 
hours of the provider’s receipt of the documentation; and 

3.d. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1720 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1388 (July 2017), LR 
48: 
§5725. Treatment 

A. - B.5.c. ... 
C. Counseling. The provider shall ensure that: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. all counseling is provided individually or in 

homogenous groups, including but not limited to family 
member(s), spouse, child(ren) or significant other as 
identified by the client, not to exceed 12 clients. 

D. Physical Evaluations/Examinations. The provider 
shall ensure that each client has a documented physical 
evaluation and examination by a physician or APRN as 
follows: 

1. - 5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1721 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 

§5727. Additional Staffing Requirements 
A. - A.1.b. ... 

c. The provider’s pharmacist or dispensing 
physician shall: 
 i. - v. ... 
 vi. maintain medication records for at least three 
years in accordance with state laws, rules and regulations; 
 vii. approve all transport devices for take-home 
medications in accordance with the program’s diversion 
control policy; 
 viii. work collaboratively with the medical director 
to decrease the dose to accomplish gradual, but complete 
withdrawal, only when requested by the member; 
 ix. contribute to the development of the initial 
treatment plan; 
 x. contribute to the documentation for the 
treatment plan review every 90 days in the first two years of 
treatment; and 
 xi. document response to treatment in progress 
notes at least every 30 days. 

2. Nursing 
a. - b. ... 
c. The responsibilities of the nurse(s) include but 

are not limited to: 
 i. administering medications;  
 ii. monitoring the client’s response to 
medications; 
 iii. evaluating the client’s use of medications and 
treatment from the program and other sources; 
 iv. documenting responses to treatment in progress 
notes at least every 30 days; 
 v. contributing to documentation for the treatment 
plan review every 90 days in the first two years of treatment; 
 vi. conducting drug screens; and  
 vii. participating in discharge planning. 

3. Licensed Mental Health Professionals 
a. ... 
b. licensed mental health professionals shall have a 

current, valid and unrestricted license in the state of 
Louisiana, and must comply with current, applicable scope 
of practice and supervisory requirements identified by their 
respective licensing boards. 
 i. - ii. Repealed. 

c. the LMHP providing substance use treatment 
services shall have documented credentials, experience 
and/or training in working with members who have 
substance use disorders, which shall be maintained in the 
individual’s personnel record. 

d. the provider shall ensure that: 
 i. the caseload of the LMHP shall not exceed 75 
active clients; and 
 ii. there is an LMHP on site at least five 
hours/week. 

e. licensed mental health professionals shall provide 
the following services: 
 i. conduct orientation; 
 ii. develop the initial plan for treatment; 
 iii. revise treatment to include input by all 
disciplines, members and significant others; 
 iv. provide individual counseling; 
 v. contribute to the development as well as 
document the initial treatment plan; 
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 vi. document response to treatment in progress 
notes at least every 30 days; 
 vii. contribute to the development as well as 
document reviews of treatment plan every 90 days in the 
first two years of treatment by the treatment team; and 
 viii. conduct in discharge planning as appropriate. 

4. Unlicensed Professionals 
a. - b. ... 
c. unlicensed professionals of substance use 

services must be registered with the addictive disorders 
regulatory authority (ADRA) and meet regulations and 
requirements in accordance with RS 37:3387 et seq. 
 i. written verification of ADRA registration and 
documentation of supervision when applicable shall be 
maintained in the individual’s personnel record. 
 ii. unlicensed staff who fall under a professional 
scope of behavioral health practice with formal board 
approved clinical supervision and whose scope includes the 
provision of substance use services will not need to register 
with ADRA. 

d. unlicensed substance use providers must meet at 
least one of the following qualifications: 
 i. be a master’s prepared behavioral health 
professional that has not obtained full licensure privileges 
and is participating in ongoing professional supervision. 
When working in substance use treatment settings, the 
master’s-prepared UP must be supervised by an LMHP, who 
meets the requirements of this Section; 
 ii. be a registered addiction counselor; 
 iii. be a certified addiction counselor; or 
 iv. be a CIT that is registered with ADRA and is 
currently participating in a supervision required by the 
addictive disorders practice act. 

e. unlicensed professionals perform the following 
services under the supervision of a physician or LMHP: 
 i. participate in conducting orientation; 
 ii. participate in discharge planning as 
appropriate; and  
 iii. provide support to the treatment team where 
applicable, while only providing assistance allowable under 
the auspices of and pursuant to the scope of the individual’s 
license. 

5. Physician or APRN. There shall be a physician or 
APRN who is on-site as needed or on-call as needed during 
hours of operation. 

a. the physician or APRN shall have a current, valid 
unrestricted license to practice in the state of Louisiana. The 
physician or APRN shall be on-site or on-call as needed 
during the hours of operation to provide the following 
services: 
 i. examine member for admission (physician 
only) 
 ii. administer medications; 
 iii. monitor the member’s response to medications; 
 iv. evaluate the member’s use of medication and 
treatment from the program and other sources; 
 v. contribute to the development of the initial 
treatment plan; 
 vi. contribute to the documentation regarding the 
response to treatment for treatment plan reviews; 

 vii. contribute to the documentation for the 
treatment plan review every 90 days in the first two years of 
treatment; 
 viii. conduct drug screens; and 
 ix. participate in discharge planning. 

6. Medical Director. 
a. the provider shall ensure that its medical director 

is a licensed physician with a current, valid unrestricted 
license to practice in the state of Louisiana with two years of 
qualifying experience in treating psychiatric disorders. 

b. the medical director shall provide the following 
services: 
 i. decrease the dose to accomplish gradual, but 
complete withdrawal, only when requested by the member; 
 ii. provide medically approved and medically 
supervised assistance for withdrawal, only when requested 
by the member; 
 iii. participate in the documentation of reviews of 
treatment plan every 90 days in the first two years of 
treatment; 
 iv. order take home doses; and 
 v. participate in discharge planning. 

7. Clinical Supervisor (CS) 
a. state regulations require supervision of 

unlicensed professionals by a CS, who: 
 i. is an LMHP that maintains a current and 
unrestricted license with its respective professional board or 
licensing authority in the state of Louisiana; 
 ii. shall be on duty and on call as needed; and 
 iii. has two years of qualifying clinical experience 
as an LMHP in the provision of services provided by the 
provider; 

b. the CS shall have the following responsibilities: 
 i. provide supervision utilizing evidenced-based 
techniques related to the practice of behavioral health 
counseling; 
 ii. serve as resource person for other professionals 
counseling persons with behavioral health disorders; 
 iii. attend and participate in care conferences, 
treatment planning activities, and discharge planning; 
 iv. provide oversight and supervision of such 
activities as recreation, art/music, or vocational education; 
 v. function as member advocate in treatment 
decisions; 
 vi. ensure the provider adheres to rules and 
regulations regarding all behavioral health treatment, such 
ad group size, caseload, and referrals; 
 vii. provide only those services that are within the 
person’s scope of practice; and 
 viii. assist the clinical director and/or medical 
director and governing body with the development and 
implementation of policies and procedures. 

B. Training. All direct care employees shall receive 
orientation and training for and demonstrate knowledge of 
the following, including, but not limited to: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. poly-drug addiction; 
5. information necessary to ensure care is provided 

within accepted standards of practice; and 
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6. non-licensed direct care staff are required to 
complete a basic clinical competency training program 
approved by OBH prior to providing the service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1721 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 48: 
§5729. Medications 

A. - B.4. ... 
5. Exceptions to the Standard Schedule. The provider 

shall request and obtain approval for a federally identified 
exception to the standard schedule from the SOTA. Any 
exception shall be for an emergency or severe travel 
hardship. 

C. - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2151-2161. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:1722 (September 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:1388 (July 2017), LR 
48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:978.1 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
and will have no impact on the provider’s ability to provide 
the same level of service as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Tasheka Dukes, RN, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 
3767, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Ms. Dukes is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on 
April 1, 2022. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the

Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on March 
14, 2022. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) are 
satisfied, LDH will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. on 
March 31, 2022 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, 
which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. To confirm whether or not a public hearing will be held, 
interested persons should first call Allen Enger at (225) 342-
1342 after March 14, 2022. If a public hearing is to be held, 
all interested persons are invited to attend and present data, 
views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. In the 
event of a hearing, parking is available to the public in the 
Galvez Parking Garage, which is located between North 
Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner 
from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the 
Galvez Garage may be available to public hearing attendees 
when the parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the 
hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Behavioral Health Service Providers 

Licensing Standards 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 21-22. It is anticipated that 
$7,560 will be expended in FY 21-22 for the state's 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on revenue collections since the fees 
from currently licensed providers will continue to be collected 
in the same amounts. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

In compliance with Act 328 of the 2020 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature and Acts 372 and 433 of the 2021 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, this proposed 
rule amends the provisions governing the licensing of 
behavioral health service providers in order to: 1) provide 
further definitions and provisions related to the geographic 
service area, 2) update the licensure and staff requirements, 3) 
update admission, transfer and discharge requirements, and 4) 
add provisions governing mobile services, mental health 
intensive outpatient programs, and onsite access to medication 
assisted treatment. Implementation of this proposed rule will 
impact behavioral health providers that elect to offer behavioral 
health services via mobile units, since any costs with regard to 
the mobile unit will be incurred by the provider. Since 
behavioral health providers may choose whether or not to 
utilize mobile units, it is not possible to estimate the potential 
impact on these providers in FY 21-22, FY 22-23 and FY 23-
24; however, those that pursue this option will benefit from the 
guidance the rule provides for offering services via a mobile 
unit. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 362

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Tasheka Dukes, RN Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Interim Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.9767) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.9767 as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and 40:2009.1 et seq. This proposed Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
licensing of nursing facilities in order to allow a facility to 
request one six-month extension of a two year license 
inactivation following the issuance of an executive order or 
proclamation of an emergency or disaster. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 97. Nursing Facilities 
Subchapter B. Organization and General Services 
§9767. Emergency Preparedness 

A. - J.2. ... 
K. Inactivation of License due to Declared Disaster or 

Emergency 
1. A licensed nursing facility in an area or areas which 

have been affected by an executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 
or R.S. 29:766 may seek to inactivate its license for a period 
not to exceed two years, provided that the following 
conditions are met: 

a. - a.iii. ... 
* * * 

b. the licensed nursing facility resumes operating as 
a nursing facility in the same service area within two years 
of issuance of an executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or 
R.S. 29:766; 
 i. A nursing facility may request one extension, 
not to exceed an additional six months for good cause shown 
by the facility. This request for an extension may be granted 
at the sole discretion of the department. 

K.1.c. - M.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2009.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1905 
(November 2016), amended LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:978.1 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Tasheka Dukes, RN, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 
3767, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Ms. Dukes is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at 4:30 p.m. on 
April 1, 2022. 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit a written request to 

conduct a public hearing by U.S. mail to the Office of the 
Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post Office 
Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, such 
request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on March 
14, 2022. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 49:953(A)(2)(a) are 
satisfied, LDH will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. on, 
March 31, 2022 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, 
which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. To confirm whether or not a public hearing will be held, 
interested persons should first call Allen Enger at (225) 342-
1342 after March 14, 2022. If a public hearing is to be held, 
all interested persons are invited to attend and present data, 
views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. In the 
event of a hearing, parking is available to the public in the 
Galvez Parking Garage, which is located between North 
Sixth and North Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner
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from the Bienville Building). Validated parking for the 
Galvez Garage may be available to public hearing attendees 
when the parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the 
hearing. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities Licensing Standards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 21-22. It is anticipated that 
$540 will be expended in FY 21-22 for the state's 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not affect federal revenue collections since the 
licensing fees, in the same amounts, will continue to be 
collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
licensing of nursing facilities in order to allow a facility to 
request one six-month extension of a two year license 
inactivation following the issuance of an executive order or 
proclamation of an emergency or disaster. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will not result in costs to 
nursing facility providers in FY 21-22, FY 22-23 and FY 23-
24, but will be beneficial to facilities requiring additional time 
to reopen following a declared emergency or disaster. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Tasheka Dukes, RN Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Interim Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Offender Incentive Pay and Other Wage Compensation 
(LAC 22:I.331) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, hereby gives 
notice of its intent to amend the contents of §331, Offender 
Incentive Pay and Other Wage Compensation.  

Pursuant to R.S. 15:873, the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, Corrections Services, proposes to adjust 
incentive wage pay rates for offender tutors, mentors and 
facilitators on a graduating scale. These changes will 
establish the respective wages and make them uniform 

across all facilities. Also included in the proposed 
amendment are minor language and punctuation changes.  

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
Subchapter A. General 
§331. Offender Incentive Pay and Other Wage 

Compensation 
A. Purpose—this department regulation governs 

payment of incentive pay and other wage compensation to 
offenders. 

B. Applicability—deputy secretary, undersecretary, chief 
of operations, director of prison enterprises, regional 
wardens and wardens. Each warden and the director of 
prison enterprises shall ensure appropriate facility written 
policies and procedures are in place to comply with the 
provisions of this department regulation.  

C. Policy. Compensation shall be paid, in accordance 
with the provisions of this department regulation and the 
applicable and governing laws, to offenders who have 
performed satisfactory work in the job assignment in which 
they have been classified, except those offenders who opt to 
receive good time in lieu of incentive pay pursuant to R.S. 
15:571.3. 

D. Eligibility 
1. An offender sentenced or resentenced or who is 

returning to the physical custody of the department on or 
after September 20, 2008 who is not eligible to earn good 
time at any rate shall serve three years from the date of 
reception prior to becoming eligible to earn incentive pay. 

a. Grandfather Clause: Offenders Received at a 
Reception and Diagnostic Center Prior to September 20, 
2008 
 i. The provisions of Paragraph D.1 above shall 
apply to offenders received at a reception and diagnostic 
center on or after September 20, 2008. Offenders received at 
a reception and diagnostic center prior to September 20, 
2008 shall be subject to the waiting period previously in 
effect for this regulation. Offenders who are currently 
receiving incentive pay shall not be affected and shall 
continue to be eligible to receive incentive pay as they did 
on the effective date of this regulation, but shall be subject to 
the provisions of Subparagraph E.2.a as it applies to job 
changes. 

b. Exception. Offenders participating in a certified 
apprenticeship program 
 i. Offenders in the physical custody of the 
department who are participating in a certified 
apprenticeship program shall not be required to serve three 
years from the date of reception prior to becoming eligible to 
earn incentive pay. These offenders shall be eligible to earn 
incentive pay while participating in the certified 
apprenticeship program. 

2. An offender sentenced or re-sentenced or who is 
returning to the physical custody of the department on or 
after September 20, 2008, who is eligible to earn good time 
at any rate shall not be eligible to earn incentive pay. 

a. Grandfather Clause: Offenders Earning Good 
Time Pursuant to Act 1099 of the 1995 Regular Session 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 48, No. 2   February 20, 2022 364

 i. Offenders currently earning good time at a rate 
of three days for every 17 days served pursuant to Act 1099 
of the 1995 Regular Session who are also earning incentive 
pay shall be allowed to continue to earn incentive pay at 
authorized rates. 

E. Procedures 
1. Pay Rules 

a. 80 hours in a Two-Week Period 
 i. No offender shall earn incentive pay for more 
than 80 hours in a two-week period, unless specifically 
authorized by mutual agreement of the director of prison 
enterprises and the warden of the respective institution. 
 ii. Exception: Governor’s Mansion 

(a). Offenders assigned to job duties at the 
governor’s mansion shall not be limited to 80 hours in a two 
week period. 

b. Actual Hours Worked 
 i. Offenders who are eligible to earn incentive 
pay shall be paid only for actual hours worked in their job 
assignment. Offenders shall not be paid for time spent away 
from their job assignment due to circumstances such as 
holidays, callouts, duty status, weather, illness, etc. 

c. Extra Duty Assignments 
 i. Incentive pay shall not be paid for extra duty 
assignments that are imposed as sanctions through the 
offender disciplinary process. 

d. Forfeiture Due to Disciplinary Sanction 
 i. Any offender whose incentive pay is forfeited 
as a disciplinary sanction shall return to the “introductory 
pay level” of $0.02 per hour for a six-month period if his 
eligibility to earn incentive pay is reinstated. At the end of 
the six-month period, the offender’s pay shall be 
automatically adjusted to the lowest pay rate for the assigned 
job. 

e. Professional Offender Job Classifications 
 i. Offenders who were previously incarcerated 
and working in a professional offender job classification 
who return to the physical custody of the department shall 
not be ensured placement in the previously worked 
professional offender job classification. Placing an offender 
in a previously worked professional offender job 
classification shall be at the discretion of the warden or 
designee. 
 ii. Once eligible to earn incentive pay, if a 
returning offender is placed in a previously worked 
professional offender job classification, the offender shall be 
paid at the lowest pay rate and shall earn any increases in 
pay rate by working his way up the pay scale as if he had not 
previously worked in the professional offender job 
classification. 
 iii. For the purpose of this regulation, a 
professional offender job classification is defined as a peer 
minister/tutor, mentor/tutor, American Sign Language 
interpreter, or counsel substitute.  

f. Private Sector/Prison Industry Enhancement 
(PS/PIE) Programs or Work Release Programs 
 i. For the purpose of this regulation, wages 
earned from a private sector/ prison industry enhancement 
(PS/PIE) program or a work release program shall not be 
considered “incentive pay.” Therefore, offenders employed 
in any of these programs are eligible to earn good time. The 
director of prison enterprises shall establish record-keeping 

procedures relating to wages earned by offenders employed 
in a PS/PIE program which shall include all mandatory 
deductions from offender wages, other deductions such as 
child support or garnishment, and the distribution of net 
offender wages to offender banking. 

2. Pay Rates 
a. Once eligible to earn incentive pay, each offender 

shall initially be paid an “introductory pay level” of $0.02 
per hour for a period of six months. After six months, the 
offender shall be paid at the lowest pay rate that is 
commensurate with the job assignment he is placed in by the 
institution. In the event of a change in an offender’s job 
assignment or custody status, the offender’s rate of 
compensation shall automatically be adjusted to the lowest 
pay rate of the assigned job. If a change in job assignment is 
not for disciplinary reasons, the warden may approve the 
offender to be paid at the same rate as the previous job 
assignment and the rate of compensation shall not be 
automatically adjusted to the lowest pay rate of the new job 
assignment. 
 i. Grandfather Clause: Offenders Earning 
Incentive Pay Prior to Effective Date of this Regulation 

(a). Offenders earning incentive pay at any rate, 
prior to the effective date of this regulation, shall continue to 
earn at these rates. If the offender is reassigned to a new job 
or vacates the job for any reason and it has been determined 
the rate of pay for the job that he is leaving should be lower, 
the next offender to fill that position shall receive the 
adjusted lower rate. 

b. An offender may receive an increase in his/her 
hourly pay rate of no greater than $0.04 per hour on an 
annual basis unless specifically authorized by mutual 
agreement of the director of prison enterprises and the 
warden of the respective institution, except as provided 
below in Subparagraphs E.2.f. - l of this Section. 

c. A series of pay ranges and a standardized list of 
job titles shall be established by the director of prison 
enterprises and approved by the secretary or designee. The 
institutions shall be assigned limits on the total amount of 
incentive pay paid in certain pay ranges. These limits shall 
be derived on a percentage basis determined by the total 
hours worked by offenders who are eligible to earn incentive 
pay at each institution and shall be approved by the director 
of prison enterprises and the secretary or designee. Prison 
enterprises shall issue reports detailing each institution’s 
status with regard to their limits on a quarterly basis. 
Offender banking shall monitor the assigned limits to ensure 
that the institutions remain within their limits and report 
discrepancies to the chief of operations, the appropriate 
regional warden, the director of prison enterprises and the 
warden of the institution. 
 i. The regional wardens shall work closely with 
the director of prison enterprises to ensure that any 
institution that exceeds the established limits is brought back 
into compliance in an expeditious manner. 
 ii. Exception: Offenders in PE Job Titles 

(a). Offenders who work in prison enterprises job 
titles shall not affect an institution’s pay range percentage 
limits. 

d. All offenders classified in limited duty status and 
who are eligible to earn incentive pay shall earn at a rate of 
no more than $0.04 per hour. This excludes offenders 
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classified as regular duty with restrictions or those with a 
temporary limited duty status. 

e. All offenders classified in working cellblocks and 
maximum custody field lines who are eligible to earn 
incentive pay shall earn at the rate of $0.02 per hour. 

f. All offenders assigned as students to educational 
or career and technical education programs who are eligible 
to earn incentive pay shall be paid at the rate of $0.04 per 
hour. 
 i. Exception: Offenders in NOBTS 

(a). Offenders enrolled in the New Orleans 
Baptist Theological Seminary program and its positive 
impact on the department, offenders enrolled in this program 
shall earn incentive pay at the following rates. 

 
Freshmen: $0.14 per hour 
Sophomores: $0.16 per hour 
Juniors: $0.18 per hour 
Seniors: $0.20 per hour. 

 
 ii. Upon completion of any educational or career 
and technical education program, the offender may, upon 
request and at the discretion of the warden and based upon 
availability, return to the same job at the same rate of pay he 
held prior to enrollment in the program. 

g. Offenders assigned to prison enterprises 
industrial, agricultural service or other prison enterprises 
jobs may be compensated at a rate up to $0.40 per hour, 
pursuant to 2009 La. Acts No. 85 § 1 (R.S. 15:873). The pay 
range for prison enterprises jobs shall be established by the 
director of prison enterprises and approved by the secretary 
or designee. 

h. Tutors shall earn incentive pay at the following 
rates. 

 
Registered 
Academic Tutor 

$0.25 per 
hour 

Registered CTE 
Tutor 

$0.25 per 
hour 

Certified 
Academic Tutor 

$0.65 per 
hour 

Certified CTE 
Tutor 

$0.65 per 
hour 

Certified College 
Tutor 

$0.75 per 
hour 

Lead Certified 
CTE Tutor 

$0.75 per 
hour 

 
 i. Registered Tutors my earn $0.25 per hour 
during the first 12 months after registration and may receive 
an annual increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of 
$0.50 per hour. Certified Tutors may earn $0.65 per hour 
during the first 12 months after certification and may receive 
an annual increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of 
$1.00 per hour. 

i. Offenders who have completed the department’s 
American Sign Language course shall earn incentive pay at 
the following rates.  

 
BEI III or BEI Basic $0.70 per hour 
BEI IV or BEI Advanced OR RID NIC $0.80 per hour 
BEI V or BEI Master $0.90 per hour 

May be increased to a 
maximum of $1.00 per 
hour, at the discretion of 
the secretary or designee. 

 
j. Offenders working as mentors shall earn 

incentive pay at the following rates. 
 

Mentor: $0.50 per hour 
Certified Mentor: $0.65 per hour 
Lead Certified Mentor: $0.75 per hour 

 
 i. Mentors may earn $0.50 per hour during the 
first 12 months in this position and may receive an annual 
increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of $0.65 per 
hour. Certified Mentors may earn $0.65 per hour during the 
first 12 months in this position and may receive an annual 
increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of $0.75 per 
hour. Lead certified mentors may earn $0.75 per hour during 
the first 12 months in this position and may receive an 
annual increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of 
$1.00. 

k. Offenders who are assigned to work as counsel 
substitutes shall be paid in accordance with their education 
and years of legal experience. Incentive pay shall be earned 
at the following rates. 

 
Legal Worker 1 $0.25 per hour 

Must be enrolled in paralegal classes OR have 
less than five years legal work experience. 

Legal Worker 2 $0.50 per hour 
Must have attained paralegal certificate or 
paralegal degree and have less than three years 
legal work experience OR have five years legal 
work experience and no paralegal certificate or 
paralegal degree. 

Legal Worker 3 $0.80 per hour 
Must have attained paralegal certificate or 
paralegal degree and have a minimum of three 
years legal work experience OR have ten years 
legal work experience and no paralegal 
certificate or paralegal degree. 

Counsel 
Substitutes 

May receive an annual increase of $0.05 per 
hour, up to a maximum of $1.00 per hour, at 
the discretion of the secretary or designee. 

 
l. Offenders working as facilitators shall earn 

incentive pay at the following rates: 
 
Facilitator $0.20 per hour 

 
a. Facilitators may earn $0.20 per hour during the 

first 12 months in this position and may receive an annual 
increase of $0.05 per hour, up to a maximum of $0.40 per 
hour.  

F. Sources of Funding 
1. Pursuant to R.S. 15:873, offender compensation 

may be paid from the following sources: 
a. offenders assigned to any state agency that 

operates from self-generated revenues shall be paid from 
those self-generated revenues; or  

b. The division of prison enterprises. 
2. Pursuant to R.S. 15:873, offenders who are 

employed in a certified PS/PIE program shall be paid by one 
of the following, in accordance with the PS/PIE program’s 
operational model and the terms of the employment 
agreement: 

a. the private business that employs the offender; or 
b. the Division of Prison Enterprises. 

3. Offenders who are participating in a transitional 
work program shall be paid by the private business that
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employs them, in accordance with the terms of the 
employment agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 34:1927 
(September 2008), amended LR 36:531 (March 2010), LR 38:1253 
(May 2012), LR 40:2600 (December 2014), LR 41: 1307 (July 
2015), LR 45:69 (January 2019), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
Amendment to the current Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on family formation, stability 
or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable costs and/or benefits to directly affected persons, 
small businesses, or non-governmental groups. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2024 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Natalie Laborde, 

Executive Counsel, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 
4:30 p.m. on February 9, 2022. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Offender Incentive Pay  

and Other Wage Compensation 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions regarding offender incentive pay 
and the recategorization and creation of certain positions will 
result in an increase in self-generated revenue expenditures for 
the Department of Public Safety & Corrections (DPS&C); 
however, such costs are indeterminable.  

The proposed rules will increase the incentive pay for 
Tutors in some instances, decrease the incentive pay in others, 
and create new categories of incentive pay. The net fiscal 
impact associated with the incentive pay adjustments is 
indeterminable as it is unknown what number of future Tutors 
will be assigned to each category. In addition, the proposed 
rules will combine multiple mentor programs across 
correctional facilities and reclassify mentor positions; the 
increase in the number of inmates classified as Certified 
Mentors will result in an indeterminable increase in costs. 
Finally, the proposed rules create the new position of 
Facilitator with a pay rate of $0.20 per hour, which will result 
in an increase in the expenditures. The department estimates 
there will be no more than twenty Facilitators per correctional 
facility; actual costs are indeterminable and will depend upon 
the number of participants and hours worked.  

Offender incentive pay is funded through self-generated 
revenue through the Division of Prison Enterprises.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Offenders who receive an increase in their hourly pay will 
experience economic benefits; however, some offenders will 
experience an economic loss due to the decrease in their hourly 
pay as a result of the proposed rules. Other offenders will have 
the opportunity to receive incentive pay with the creation of 
new categories.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule changes. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Alan M. Boxberger 
Undersecretary Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#010 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Income: Withholding Tax (LAC 61:I.1515) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and Act 285 of the 2021 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and R.S. 
47:114, 114.1, 1511, 1520(A)(2) the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, (“the Department”), 
gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been initiated 
to amend LAC 61:I.1515. Louisiana Revised Statute 
1520(A)(2) authorizes the Secretary the discretion to require 
electronic filing of tax returns or reports by administrative 
rule promulgated with legislative oversight in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The purpose of this regulation is to amend the rule on 
Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax Returns to conform to 
the return reporting requirements set forth under Louisiana 
Revised Statute 47:114.1 as authorized by Act 285 of the 
2021 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 
Specifically, this proposed amendment requires service 
recipients who file 50 or more Federal Form 1099-NEC to 
file such forms electronically using the electronic format 
prescribed by the department.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 15. Income: Withholding Tax  
§1515. Withholding Tax Statements and Returns–

Electronic Filing Requirements   
A. - C. … 

a. Service recipients that file 50 or more Federal 
Form 1099-NECs due on or after January 1, 2022, are 
required to electronically file Federal Form 1099-NECs 
using the electronic format prescribed by the department.  

D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:114, R.S. 47:287.614, R.S. 47:609, R.S. 47:1511 and R.S. 
47:1520(A)(2). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 28:1489 
(June 2002), amended LR 35:2204 (October 2009), LR 38:2382 
(September 2012), amended LR44:1638 (September 2018), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 
LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 61:I.1515, regarding 

return reporting requirements for Income Tax withholding, 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on any 
family as defined by R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, 
stability and autonomy. Specifically, the implementation of 
this proposed rule will have no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. The stability of the family. 
2. The authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 
3. The functioning of the family. 
4. Family earnings and family budget. 
5. The behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 
6. The ability of the family or a local government to 

perform this function. 
Poverty Statement 

This proposed regulation will have no impact on poverty 
as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Analysis 
It is anticipated that this proposed amendment should not 

have a significant adverse impact on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic 
factors has considered and, where possible, utilized 
regulatory methods in drafting this proposed amendment to 
accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while 
minimizing any anticipated adverse impact on small 
businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amendment will have no known or 

foreseeable effect on: 
1. The staffing levels requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service. 
2. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

provider to provide the same level of service. 
3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 
Public Comments 

Any interested person may submit written data, views, 
arguments or comments regarding these proposed 
amendments to Christina Junker, Attorney, Policy Services 
Division, Office of Legal Affairs by mail to P.O. Box 44098, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098. All comments must be 
received no later than 4:00 p.m., Friday, March 25, 2022. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on Monday, March 28, 2022, 

at 10:00 a.m. in the LaBelle Room, on the first floor of the 
LaSalle Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802. 

 
Kevin Richard 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Income: Withholding Tax 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule amendment will 
result in approximately $51,360 of programming and testing 
costs to redesign the current web application for electronic 
filing.  This proposed rule amends the rule requiring electronic 
filing of withholding tax statements and returns.   Specifically, 
this proposed amendment requires service recipients who file 
50 or more federal 1099-NEC forms to file such forms 
electronically with the Louisiana Department of Revenue 
(LDR). 

Local governmental units are not affected by this proposal. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There is no anticipated direct material effect on 

governmental revenues as a result of this proposed rule 
amendment. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Although LDR cannot determine the additional costs 
incurred by these service recipients to comply with this change, 
any costs are expected to be minimal, as online access and 
activity has largely become a business standard. These filers 
may incur costs to the extent that additional fees are charged by 
tax preparers or tax preparation software companies.   

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule amendment is not anticipated to have 
any effect on competition or employment. 

 
Kevin J. Richard Alan M. Boxberger 
Secretary Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#026 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Domesticated Aquatic Organisms 
(LAC 76:VII.Chapter 9) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated to 
correct a manifest typographical error. The original document 
may be viewed on pages 1607-1609 of the October 20, 2021 
edition of the Louisiana Register. 
 

Under the authority of R.S. 56:411, et seq., and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, La. R.S. 49:950, et seq., the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission hereby advertises its intent to add and 
update permit fees as mandated in Act 356 of the 2021 
Legislative Session. Additional definitions were added to 
this Rule which further define the permits as updated in law. 
The associated fees serve to offset departmental costs for 
required inspection and oversight. 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of
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Intent and final Rule, including but not limited to, the filing 
of the fiscal and economic impact statement, the filing of the 
notice of intent and final rule and the preparation of reports 
and correspondence to other agencies of government.  

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic life 
Chapter 9. Aquaculture  
§900. Domesticated Aquatic Organisms (DAO) 

A. Definitions 
* * * 

Culture—all activities associated with the rearing, 
nurturing, or growing of approved DAO species and life 
stages.  

* * * 
Species Specific Culture Permits—permits that are 

required for any species which have restricted methods of 
culture. 

* * * 
B. - D.20. … 
E. The Domesticated Aquatic Organism License shall cost 

$25 for residents and $500 for nonresidents. All holders of 
species specific culture permits must have a valid 
domesticated aquatic organism license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:327(A)(2) and R.S. 56:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
47:1335 (September 2021), amended LR 48:  
§901. Triploid Grass Carp (TGC) 

A. - B.3.e. … 
C. TGC Sales Permit 

1. Request Procedure for a TGC Sales Permit 
a. Individuals wishing to sell live TGC in the state 

must first obtain a TGC Sales Permit through an application 
furnished by the department. 

b. The TGC Sales Permit shall be valid for one year 
beginning January 1 and ending December 31 of that same 
calendar year. The permit may be purchased at any time 
during the year for the current permit year and beginning 
November 15 for the immediately following permit year. 
The cost of a TGC Sales Permit is $100. 

C.1.c. - D.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318, R.S. 56:319 and R.S. 56:319.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 17:806 (August 
1991), amended LR 19:511 (April 1993), LR 24:962 (May 1998), 
LR 37:3534 (December 2011), repromulgated LR 38:433 (February 
2012), amended by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 47:1337 (September 2021), 
LR 48: 
§903. Tilapia 

A. - F.4. … 
G. General Rules for Tilapia 

1. The cost of a tilapia culture permit shall be $100 
and live holding permit shall be $50 and may include the 
actual cost of the on-site inspection. Universities conducting 
research approved by the department shall be exempt from 
the fee charge. 

G.2. - G.15. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318, R.S. 56:319 and R.S. 319.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 17:804 (August 
1991), amended LR 20:1022 (September 1994), LR 21:594 (June 
1995), LR 25:1987 (October 1999), amended by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
47:1338 (September 2021), LR 48: 
§911. Shovelnose Sturgeon 

A. - F.3. … 
G. General Rules for Shovelnose Sturgeon 

1. The cost of a Shovelnose Sturgeon permit shall be 
$100 and may include the actual cost of the on-site 
inspection. Universities and other facilities conducting 
research approved by the department shall be exempt from 
the fee charge. 

G.2. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318 and R.S. 56:319. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
44:1455 (August 2018), amended LR 47:1341 (September 2021), 
LR 48: 
§913. Rainbow Trout 

A. - C.4.a. … 
5. The cost of a Rainbow Trout Permit shall be $100 

and may include the actual cost of the on-site inspection. 
Universities and other facilities conducting research 
approved by the department shall be exempt from the fee 
charge. Permits expire on December 31 of every year. Any 
permit issued after November 15, will be valid for the 
remainder of that calendar year and the following calendar 
year.  

C.6. - C.14. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318 and R.S. 56:319. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
47:1344 (September 2021), amended LR 48:  
§915. Aquarium Livestock  

A. - C.8.a. … 
9. The cost of an Aquarium Livestock permit shall be 

$100 and may include the actual cost of the on-site 
inspection. Universities and other facilities conducting 
research approved by the department shall be exempt from 
the fee charge. Permits expire on December 31 every year. 
Any permit issued after November 15 will be valid for the 
remainder of that calendar year and the following calendar 
year. 

C.10. - C.19. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318 and R.S. 56:319. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
47:1345 (September 2021), amended LR 48:  
§919. Freshwater Prawns 

A. - C.8.a. … 
9. The cost of a Freshwater Prawn Permit shall be 

$100 and may include the actual cost of the on-site 
inspection. Universities and other facilities conducting 
research approved by the department shall be exempt from 
the fee charge. Permits expire on December 31 every year. 
Any permit issued after November 15 will be valid for the 
remainder of that calendar year and the following calendar 
year. 
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C.10. - C.18. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:318 and R.S. 56:319. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
47:1346 (September 2021), amended LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 
its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 
preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 
no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

This proposed Rule has no known impact on small 
businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 through R.S. 
49:965.8. 

Provider Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments relative 
to the proposed Rule to Mr. Robert Bourgeois, Fisheries 
Biologist, Office of Fisheries, Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, 
prior to 4:30 p.m., Thursday, December 2, 2021.  

 
Jerri G. Smitko 
Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Domesticated Aquatic Organisms 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no expenditure impact 

on state or local governmental units. 
The proposed rule change adjusts the schedule of fees for 

several permits for the sale or possession of domestic aquatic 
organisms to make the published rule consistent with Louisiana 
Revised Statutes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have a minor 
effect on revenue collections of the Louisiana Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) from license fees, ranging from 
$800 to $1,000. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to result in a minor 
aggregate expenditure increase statewide on persons or 
businesses holding the associated permits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no impact 
on receipts or income in Louisiana. 

 
Bryan McClinton Alan M. Boxberger 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
2202#017 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Workforce Commission 
Plumbing Board 

Continuing Professional Education Programs 
(LAC 46:LV.1001 and 1002) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board (board), hereby determines that the implementation of 
an amendment to LAC 46:LV.1001 and 1002 to removing 
the requirement for continuing education providers (CPE) to 
produce their own course materials which will, upon 
implementation, be produced by the board. This amendment 
will be effective upon final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 
Programs 

§1001. Tradesman, Journeyman and Master Plumbers 
A. CPE Requirement 

1. All persons seeking to renew a tradesman license 
issued by the board are required to attend and show proof of 
attendance at no less than 3 1/2 hours of a board-approved 
CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this 
Section. 

2. All persons seeking to renew a journeyman license 
issued by the board are required to attend and show proof of 
attendance at no less than 3 1/2 hours of a board-approved 
CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this 
Section. 

3. All persons seeking to renew a master plumber 
license or to convert an inactive master plumber license to 
an active master plumber license must attend and show proof 
of attendance at no less than five hours of a board-approved 
CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this 
Section. 

4. A holder of an inactive master plumber license who 
seeks to renew said license must file an affidavit in a form 
provided by the board, that they have been inactive as a 
plumber in the previous year, and that they will remain 
inactive and not work as a plumber for the year for which 
they seek to renew their license. Upon such filing with the 
board, the holder of an inactive master plumber license will 
not be required to meet the CPE requirements set out herein. 

5. A holder of an inactive master plumber's license 
who seeks to function as a journeyman plumber is required 
to attend and show proof of attendance at no less than 3 1/2 
hours of a board-approved CPE class in the prior calendar 
year, as set out in this Section. 

6. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
journeyman plumber or tradesman plumber and gas fitter 
licenses issued by the board are required to attend and show 
proof of attendance at no less than 4 1/2 hours as set out in 
this Section and in §1002. 

7. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
journeyman plumber or tradesman plumber and master gas 
fitter licenses issued by the board are required to attend and 
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show proof of attendance at no less than six hours as set out 
in this Section and in §1002. 

8. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
master plumber and gas fitter licenses issued by the board 
are required to attend and show proof of attendance at no 
less than six hours as set out in this Section and in §1002. 

9. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
master plumber and master gas fitter licenses issued by the 
board are required to attend and show proof of attendance at 
no less than six hours as set out in this section and in §1002. 

B. Course Materials 
1. The board shall be the exclusive agency for 

distribution of CPE course materials. 
2. The course materials will provide the basis for a 

minimum of 3 1/2 hours of study for tradesman plumbers 
and journeyman plumbers. One hour will be in the subjects 
of health protection, consumer protection or environmental 
protection, 1/2 hour shall include information concerning 
R.S. 37:1361, et seq., LAC 46:LV, and 2 hours covering 
current industry practices and codes, and subjects from a list 
approved and published by the board. 

3. The course materials will provide the basis for a 
minimum of 5 hours of study for master plumbers. One hour 
will be in the subjects of health protection, consumer 
protection or environmental protection, 1/2 hour shall 
include information concerning R.S. 37:1361, et seq., LAC 
46:LV, 2 hours covering current industry practices, codes, 
and subjects from a list approved and published by the 
board, and 1 1/2 hours on business topics approved by the 
board. 

4. The course materials will include board forms 
within the binding of the course materials that may be 
removed for use by the licensees. The forms will include 
CPE evaluation forms. 

5. The board must have legal ownership of or an 
appropriate license for the use of all copyrighted material 
included within the course materials. Board approved course 
materials will contain a prominently displayed approval 
statement in 10-point bold type or larger containing the 
following language. 

 
"THIS CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 
COURSE MATERIAL HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD FOR USE IN 
THE (State Year) CPE YEAR. BY ITS APPROVAL OF 
THIS COURSE MATERIAL, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT ASSUME ANY 
RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCURACY OF THE 
CONTENTS. FURTHER, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD HAS NOT MADE ANY 
DETERMINATION THAT THE PARTY PUBLISHING 
THE COURSE MATERIALS HAS COMPLIED WITH ANY 
APPLICABLE COPYRIGHT AND OTHER LAWS IN 
PUBLISHING THE COURSE MATERIAL AND THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT 
ASSUME ANY LIABILITY OR RESPONSIBILITY 
THEREFOR. THE COURSE MATERIAL IS NOT BEING 
PUBLISHED BY NOR IS IT A PUBLICATION OF THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD." 

 
6. The board will conduct instructor training in the use 

of course materials. 
C. Course Providers 

1. Course providers shall offer classroom instruction 
in the course materials used for the CPE required for 
renewal of tradesman, journeymen and master licenses 

issued under the Act. Board approval of course providers 
will be subject to all of the terms and conditions of this 
Section. 

2. CPE courses shall be presented in one of the 
following formats: 

a. for tradesman and journeyman plumbers, a 
minimum of 3 1/2 classroom hours presented on one day; or 

b. for master plumbers, five hours on one day; or 
c. for master plumbers, two sessions totaling five 

classroom hours presented within a 30-day period. 
3. Continuing professional education must be based 

on the course materials and provided in a format approved 
by the board. 

4. In addition to required classroom education offered 
in each region, material may be provided in additional 
formatting as approved by the board. 

5. Each course provider shall, at its own expense and 
in a format approved by the board, mail, fax or electronically 
transmit to the board certification of each licensee’s 
completion of CPE requirements within 10 days of 
completion. 

6. The board is authorized to enter into a cooperative 
endeavor agreement with either the Louisiana Association of 
Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors of Louisiana or 
the Louisiana Pipe Trades Association, or any subsidiary or 
affiliate of either non-profit organization, to jointly provide 
CPE services to licensed journeyman and master plumbers. 
The board is authorized to share costs and expenses with 
either organization under terms and conditions that promote 
the public interest and avoid gratuitous donation of public 
funds. 

7. Each course provider must notify the board at least 
seven working days before conducting classes; the notice 
shall contain the time(s) and place(s) where the classes will 
occur. 

8. Each course provider will perform self-monitoring 
and reporting as required by the board, including a certified 
roster of all persons attending the course, with the license 
number of each attendee included. 

9. Each course provider shall permit any board 
member or a duly designated representative of the board to 
monitor any CPE class for compliance purposes. 

10. Each course provider shall use only course 
instructors that have been approved by the board. Each 
course provider shall annually submit to the board's office a 
list of course instructors it employs and the instructors' 
credentials for approval. 

a. Lists of course instructors to be approved for the 
following year must be submitted no later than 30 days prior 
to the date of the board's last scheduled quarterly meeting for 
approval by the board, unless an extension is requested at or 
before the August board meeting and granted by the board. 

b. Prior to allowing course instructors to teach CPE, 
course providers must provide documentation to the board 
showing the instructor’s qualifications to teach CPE, 
including but not limited to detailed information on an 
experience in providing instruction, assistance in providing 
instruction or successful completion of training for providing 
instruction. 

c. Course instructors must comply with this 
Section. Course providers shall notify the board within 10 
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working days of any change of an instructor's employment 
status with the course provider. 

11. Any individual, business or association who wishes 
to be a course provider shall apply to the board for approval 
using application forms prepared by the board. In order to be 
approved, the application must satisfy the board as to the 
ability of the individual, business or association to provide 
quality instruction in the course materials as required in this 
Section and must include: 

a. name and address of the applicant; 
b. names and addresses of all officers, directors, 

trustees or members of the governing board of any business 
or association applying; 

c. certificate of good standing issued by the 
Louisiana Secretary of State for corporate applicants; 

d. taxpayer identification number; 
e. facsimile number, statewide toll free telephone 

number, Internet web site or electronic mail address; 
f. fees to be charged to licensees for attending the 

course; 
g. a CPE class scheduling plan for providing at least 

one course in each of the following cities: Lafayette, New 
Orleans, Baton Rouge, Alexandria, Shreveport, Lake Charles 
and Monroe; however, the board or its director may, solely at 
their discretion, grant a request that the course not be offered 
in one or more of these locations, upon a demonstration of 
economic infeasibility by the course provider; 

h. a method for quarterly reporting compilations of 
licensee evaluations of course provider and course 
instructors to the board; 

i. identification of the approved course materials 
options which will be used by the course provider; and 

j. an application fee to be set as provided by law. 
12. The course provider shall purchase course materials 

from the board.  
13. The fees charged to the licensees for attending the 

course will be determined by the course provider. 
14. The board may refuse to accept any application for 

approval as a course provider that is not complete. The board 
may deny approval of an application for any of the following 
reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 
Section; 

b. inadequate instruction of the materials required to 
be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course provider 
by licensees, board members or board staff. 

15. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 
notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 
the applicant within 90 days of the date of the decision. 

16. A course provider's authority to offer instruction in 
the course materials for which CPE credit is given expires 
on December 31 of the calendar year following approval. 

17. The board shall review course providers for quality 
of instruction: The board shall also investigate and take 
appropriate action, consistent with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 
revocation of authority to provide CPE, regarding 
complaints involving approved course providers. 

18. A provider's failure to comply with this Section 
constitutes grounds for disciplinary action in accord with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 

revocation of authority to provide CPE, against the provider 
or for denial of future applications for approval as a course 
provider. 

D. Course Instructors 
1. The board will initially approve course instructors 

to provide instruction in the course materials used for the 
CPE required for renewal of tradesman plumber, 
journeyman plumber and master plumber licenses. Board 
approval of course instructors will be subject to all terms and 
conditions of this Section. An individual who wishes to be 
approved by the board as a course instructor must apply to 
the board using an application form approved by the board. 
The following minimum criteria will be used by the board in 
considering approval of course instructors: 

a. all course instructors for master gas fitters must 
hold a Louisiana state master gas fitter license, and those for 
gas fitter must hold a master or gas fitter license; and 

b. demonstrate an ability to train others, including 
but not limited to providing a description of their previous 
training experience; and 

c. must be employed by an approved course 
provider. 

2. An approved course instructor may use, under its 
live supervision, a non-licensed supplemental lecturer to 
present subjects of health protection, consumer protection, or 
environmental protection, information concerning R.S. 
37:1361, et seq., LAC 46:LV published by the board. Prior 
to approval, a course instructor must identify to the board, 
any supplemental lecturer they intend to use, including a 
resume from the supplemental lecturer, and the subject 
matter the supplemental lecturer will discuss within 30 days 
prior to the course being conducted.  

3. As a course instructor and licensee of the board, a 
course instructor must: 

a. be well versed in and knowledgeable of the 
course materials; 

b. maintain an orderly and professional classroom 
environment; and 

c. coordinate with the course provider to develop an 
appropriate method for handling disorderly and disruptive 
students. A course instructor shall report to the course 
provider and the board any non-responsive or disruptive 
student who attends a CPE course. The board may deny CPE 
credit to any such student and require, at the student's 
expense, successful completion of an additional CPE course 
to receive credit. 

4. The board shall review course instructors for 
quality of instruction. The board shall also respond to 
complaints regarding course instructors. 

5. A course instructor's failure to comply with this 
Section constitutes grounds for disciplinary action against 
the instructor or for disapproval of future applications for 
approval as a course instructor, in accord with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

6. A course instructor may use a vendor approved by 
the board to provide instruction on products specific to only 
one approved gas topic and/or one approved plumbing topic. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2068 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37:2440 (August 2011), amended by the Workforce 
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Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:979 (May 2017), LR 44:634 
(March 2018), LR 48: 
§1002. Gas Fitters and Master Gas Fitters 

A. CPE Requirement 
1. All persons seeking to renew a gas fitter license 

issued by the board are required to attend and show proof of 
attendance at no less than 2 1/2  hours of a board-approved 
CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this 
Section. 

2. All persons seeking to renew a master gas fitter 
license or to convert an inactive master gas fitter license to 
an active master gas fitter license must attend and show 
proof of attendance at no less than four hours of a board-
approved CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set out in 
this Section. 

3. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter license who 
seeks to renew said license must file an affidavit in a form 
provided by the board, that they have been inactive as a gas 
fitter in the previous year, and that they will remain inactive 
and not work as a gas fitter for the year for which they seek 
to renew their license. Upon such filing with the board, the 
holder of an inactive master gas fitter license will not be 
required to meet the CPE requirements set out herein. 

4. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter license who 
seeks to function as a gas fitter is required to attend and 
show proof of attendance at no less than 2 ½ hours of a 
board-approved CPE class in the prior calendar year, as set 
out in this Section. 

5. All persons holding and seeking to renew both gas 
fitter and journeyman plumber licenses issued by the board 
are required to attend and show proof of attendance at no 
less than 4 1/2 hours as set out in this Section and in §1001. 

6. All persons holding and seeking to renew both gas 
fitter and master plumber licenses issued by the board are 
required to attend and show proof of attendance at no less 
than six hours as set out in this Section and in §1001. 

7. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
master gas fitter and journeyman plumber licenses issued by 
the board are required to attend and show proof of 
attendance at no less than six hours as set out in this Section 
and in §1001. 

8. All persons holding and seeking to renew both 
master gas fitter and master plumber licenses issued by the 
board are required to attend and show proof of attendance at 
no less than six hours as set out in this Section and in §1001. 

B. Course Materials 
1. The board shall be the exclusive agency for 

distribution of CPE course materials.  
2. The course materials will provide the basis for a 

minimum of 2 1/2 hours of study for gas fitters. One hour 
will be in the subjects of health protection, consumer 
protection or environmental protection, 1/2 hours shall 
include information concerning R.S. 37:1361 et seq., LAC 
46:LV, and one hour covering current industry practices and 
codes, and subjects from a list approved and published by 
the board.  

3. The course materials will provide the basis for a 
minimum of four classroom hours of study for master gas 
fitters. One hour will be in the subjects of health protection, 
consumer protection or environmental protection, 1/2 hour 
shall include information concerning R.S. 37:1361 et seq., 
LAC 46:LV, and one hour covering current industry 

practices, codes, and subjects from a list approved and 
published by the board, and 1 1/2 hours on business topics 
approved by the board.  

4. The course materials will include board forms 
within the binding of the course materials that may be 
removed for use by the licensees. The forms will include 
CPE evaluation forms. 

5. The publishers of course materials must have legal 
ownership of or an appropriate license for the use of all 
copyrighted material included within the course materials. 
Board-approved course materials will contain a prominently 
displayed approval statement in 10-point bold type or larger 
containing the following language. 

 
“THIS CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 
COURSE MATERIAL HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD FOR USE IN 
THE (state year) CPE YEAR. BY ITS APPROVAL OF THIS 
COURSE MATERIAL, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT ASSUME ANY 
RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCURACY OF THE 
CONTENTS. FURTHER, THE LOUISIANA STATE 
PLUMBING BOARD HAS NOT MADE ANY 
DETERMINATION THAT THE PARTY PUBLISHING 
THE COURSE MATERIALS HAS COMPLIED WITH ANY 
APPLICABLE COPYRIGHT AND OTHER LAWS IN 
PUBLISHING THE COURSE MATERIAL AND THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT 
ASSUME ANY LIABILITY OR RESPONSIBILITY 
THEREFOR. THE COURSE MATERIAL IS NOT BEING 
PUBLISHED BY NOR IS IT A PUBLICATION OF THE 
LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD.” 

 
6. The publishers of course materials will conduct 

instructor training in the use of course materials. 
C. Course Providers 

1. Course providers shall offer classroom instruction 
in the course materials used for the CPE required for 
renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter licenses issued 
under the Act. Board approval of course providers will be 
subject to all of the terms and conditions of this Section. 

2. CPE courses shall be presented in one of the 
following formats: 

a. for gas fitters a minimum of 2 ½ classroom hours 
presented on one day; or 

b. for master gas fitters, four hours on one day; or 
c. for gas fitters two sessions totaling 2 1/2 

classroom hours presented within a 30-day period; or 
d. for master gas fitters, two sessions totaling four 

classroom hours presented within a 30-day period. 
3. Continuing professional education must be based 

on the course materials and provided in a format approved 
by the board. 

4. In addition to required classroom education 
provided in each region, material may be provided in 
additional formatting as approved by the board. 

5. Each course provider shall, at its own expense and 
in a format approved by the board, mail, fax or electronically 
transmit to the board certification of each licensee’s 
completion of CPE requirements within 10 days of 
completion. 

6. The board is authorized to enter into a cooperative 
endeavor agreement with either the Louisiana Association of 
Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors of Louisiana or 
the Louisiana Pipe Trades Association, or any subsidiary or 
affiliate of either non-profit organization, to jointly provide 
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CPE services to licensed and master gas fitters. The board is 
authorized to share costs and expenses with either 
organization under terms and conditions that promote the 
public interest and avoid gratuitous donation of public funds. 

7. Each course provider must notify the board at least 
seven working days before conducting classes; the notice 
shall contain the time(s) and place(s) where the classes will 
occur. 

8. Each course provider will perform self-monitoring 
and reporting as required by the board, including a certified 
roster of all persons attending the course, with the license 
number of each attendee included. 

9. Each course provider shall permit any board 
member or a duly designated representative of the board to 
monitor any CPE class for compliance purposes. 

10. Each course provider shall use only course 
instructors that have been approved by the board. Each 
course provider shall initially submit to the board's office a 
list of course instructors it employs and the instructors' 
credentials for approval. Course instructors will be granted 
ongoing approval. Any changes to instructors shall be 
approved by the board. 

a. Lists of course instructors to be approved for the 
following year must be submitted no later than 30 days prior 
to the date of the board’s last scheduled quarterly meeting 
for approval by the board, unless an extension is requested at 
or before the August board meeting and granted by the 
board. 

b. Prior to allowing course instructors to teach CPE, 
course providers must provide documentation to the board 
showing the instructor’s qualifications to teach CPE, 
including but not limited to detailed information on any 
experience in providing instruction, assistance in providing 
instruction or successful completion of training for providing 
instruction. 

c. Course instructors must comply with this 
Section. Course providers shall notify the board within 10 
working days of any change of an instructor's employment 
status with the course provider. 

11. Any individual, business or association who wishes 
to be a course provider shall apply to the board for approval 
using application forms prepared by the board. In order to be 
approved, the application must satisfy the board as to the 
ability of the individual, business or association to provide 
quality instruction in the course materials as required in this 
Section and must include: 

a. name and address of the applicant; 
b. names and addresses of all officers, directors, 

trustees or members of the governing body of any business 
or association applying; 

c. certificate of good standing issued by the 
Louisiana Secretary of State for corporate applicants; 

d. taxpayer identification number;  
e. facsimile number, statewide toll-free telephone 

number, internet website or electronic mail address; 
f. fees to be charged to licensees for attending the 

course; 
g. A CPE class scheduling plan providing for a least 

one course in each region. Course providers must, at a 
minimum, offer the CPE class in each of the following 
cities: Lafayette, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Alexandria, 
Shreveport, Lake Charles and Monroe; any CPE provider for 

gas fitting shall conduct both plumber and gas fitter CPE 
classes. The board or its director may, solely at their 
discretion, grant a request that the course not be offered in 
one or more of these locations, upon a demonstration of 
economic infeasibility by the course provider; 

h. a method for quarterly reporting compilations of 
licensee evaluations of course provider and course 
instructors to the board; 

i. identification of the approved course material 
options which will be used by the course provider; and 

j. an application fee to be set as provided by law. 
12. The course provider shall purchase course materials 

from the board. 
13. The fees charged to the licensees for attending the 

course will be determined by the course provider. 
14. The board may refuse to accept any application for 

approval as a course provider that is not complete. The board 
may deny approval of an application for any of the following 
reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 
Section; 

b. inadequate instruction of the materials required to 
be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course provider 
by licensees, board members or board staff. 

15. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 
notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 
the applicant within 90 days of the date of the decision. 

16. A course provider's authority to offer instruction in 
the course materials for which CPE credit is given expires 
on December 31 of the calendar year following approval. 

17. The board shall review course providers for quality 
of instruction. The board shall also investigate and take 
appropriate action, consistent with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 
revocation of authority to provide CPE, regarding 
complaints involving approved course providers. 

18. A provider's failure to comply with this Section 
constitutes grounds for disciplinary action in accord with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 
revocation of authority to provide CPE, against the provider 
or for denial of future applications for approval as a course 
provider. 

D. Course Instructors 
1. The board will initially approve course instructors 

to provide instruction in the course materials used for the 
CPE required for renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter 
licenses. Board approval of course instructors will be subject 
to all of the terms and conditions of this Section. An 
individual who wishes to be approved by the board as a 
course instructor must apply to the board using an 
application form approved by the board The following 
minimum criteria will be used by the board in considering 
approval of course instructors: 

a. all course instructors for master gas fitters must 
hold a Louisiana state master gas fitter license, and those for 
gas fitter must hold a master or gas fitter license; and 

b. demonstrate an ability to train others, including 
but not limited to providing a description of their previous 
training experience; and 

c. must be employed by an approved course 
provider. 
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2. An approved course instructor may use, under its 
live supervision, a non-licensed supplemental lecturer to 
present subjects of health protection, consumer protection or 
environmental protection, information concerning R.S. 
37:1361, et seq., LAC 46:LV published by the board. Prior 
to approval, a course instructor must identify to the board, 
any supplemental lecturer they intend to use, including a 
resume from the supplemental lecturer, and the subject 
matter the supplemental lecturer will discuss within 30 days 
prior to the course being conducted.  

3. As a course instructor and licensee of the board, a 
course instructor must: 

a. be well versed in and knowledgeable of the 
course materials; 

b. maintain an orderly and professional classroom 
environment; and 

c. coordinate with the course provider to develop an 
appropriate method for handling disorderly and disruptive 
students. A course instructor shall report to the course 
provider and the board any non-responsive or disruptive 
student who attends a CPE course. The board may deny CPE 
credit to any such student and require, at the student's 
expense, successful completion of an additional CPE course 
to receive credit. 

4. The board shall review course instructors for 
quality of instruction. The board shall also respond to 
complaints regarding course instructors. 

5. A course instructor's failure to comply with this 
Section constitutes grounds for disciplinary action against 
the instructor or for disapproval of future applications for 
approval as a course instructor, in accord with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

6. A course instructor may use a vendor approved by 
the board to provide instruction on products specific to only 
one approved gas topic and/or one approved plumbing topic. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(I) and R.S. 37:1368(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 
Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:549 (March 2017), amended 
LR 44:635 (March 2018), LR 48: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 46:1001 and 1002 and 

the adoption of LAC rule should have no known or 
foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically, the implementation of this propose rule has no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. The stability of the family. 
2. The authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children. 
3. The functioning of the family. 
4. Family earnings and family budget. 
5. The behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 
6. The ability of the family or local government to 

perform this function. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments to LAC 46:1001 and 1002 

should have no impact on poverty as described in R.S. 
49:973. 

Small Business Impact Analysis 
The proposed amended Rules should have no adverse 

impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amended Rules are not anticipated to have 

any impact on providers of services funded by the state as 
described in HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding the content of this proposed Rule change to Ashley 
Jones Tullier, Executive Director of the Board, 11304 
Cloverdale Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA, no later than 5:00 
p.m., March 10, 2022. 

 
Ashley Jones Tullier 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Continuing Professoinal  

Education Programs 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The estimated cost to the State Plumbing Board (Board) 
would be approximately ($25) ($19 per continuing professional 
education CPE manual and $6 for training and shipping). The 
rule change removes the requirement for CPE providers to put 
together their own materials based on board-approved topics. It 
now requires the board to compose and distribute all board-
approved CPE material. The baseline number of manuals is 
estimated to be 4,000.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The board’s annual revenue is anticipated to be 
approximately $100,000. CPE manuals are sold to providers at 
$25 per manual for an estimated 4,000 licensees.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will benefit CPE providers by reducing 
the cost for providers to prepare manuals as well as reduce the 
timeframe for providers to obtain the materials to conduct 
classes. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The implementation of proposed rule will benefit all CPE 
providers since none will be required to incur the cost to 
prepare training materials. The manual will be prepared by a 
third-party vendor and have no impact on employment. 

 
Louis L. Robein Evan Brasseaux 
Board Attorney Interim Deputy Fiscal Officer 
2202#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Committee Reports 
 
 

COMMITTEE REPORT 

House of Representatives 
Committee on Commerce 

Oversight Hearing on Rule Proposed by  
Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 

Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River 
Qualifications and Examination of Pilots  

(LAC 46:LXX.Chapter 62) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
particularly the provisions of R.S. 49:968, the House 
Committee on Commerce and the Senate Committee on 
Commerce, Consumer Protection, and International Affairs 
met in a joint meeting on January 24, 2022, for the purpose 
of exercising legislative oversight with respect to 
administrative rules proposed by the Board of Examiners for 
New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for the 
Mississippi River ("the board") to amend the rules regarding 
the qualifications and examination of pilots provided for in 
LAC 46:LXX.6201 et seq., and the standards of conduct for 
pilots provided for in LAC 46:LXX.6301 et seq. The board 
gave notice of its intention to adopt these proposed rules 
through a Notice of Intent published in the September 2021 
edition of the Louisiana Register (LR 47:1381-86 
(September, 2021)). On November 20, 2021, a Potpourri 
notice was published in the November 2021 edition of the 
Louisiana Register (LR 47:1779-1780) because of 
substantive changes to the board's proposed rules. On 
December 20, 2021 the board held a substantive change 
hearing, and on January 12, 2022, the board submitted to the 
House Committee on Commerce, in accordance with R.S. 
49:968(D)(1)(b), its report of public comments on the 
proposed rules with substantive changes. 

In its January 24, 2022, oversight hearing concerning 
these proposed rules, the House Committee on Commerce, 
by a unanimous vote, determined the following: that the 
proposed rules are not in conformity with the intent and 
scope of the enabling legislation purporting to authorize it; 
that the proposed rules are not in conformity with, and are 
contrary to, applicable provisions of law and of the 
Louisiana Constitution; that the proposed rules are not 
advisable; and that the proposed rules are unacceptable. 

These proposed rules by the board purport to set 
qualification, application, licensing, education, experience, 
notice, training, conduct, continuing professional education, 
and recency requirements and standards on all applicants 
and pilots with the New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots Association ("NOBRA"). The rules, as 
proposed, would restrict diversity in the state's piloting 
industry and thus fail to conform with the intent and scope of 
state law providing for the powers and duties of the board. 
Further, the board did not provide any research or data to 
justify the purported need for an increase in the qualification 
and education standards for NOBRA pilots. Primarily for 
these reasons, the House Committee on Commerce 
determined that the proposed rules are not advisable, are 
unacceptable, and are outside the scope of authority granted 
to the board by the constitution and laws of this state. 

By transmittal of this written report and a copy of the 
proposed rules in accordance with R.S. 49:968(F), the House 
Committee on Commerce is notifying the Governor, the 
Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River, and the Louisiana 
Register of the action by which it has determined the 
proposed rules discussed herein to be unacceptable. 

 
Paula Davis 
State Representative, House District No. 69 
Chairwoman 

2202#011 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public Hearing  

In light of recent events relative to the Coronavirus 
Disease 2019 (COVID-19) statewide public health 
emergency declaration, the Louisiana Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, will modify the format 
of the administrative rules hearing scheduled on February 
24, 2022 @ 9:30 am for the following healthcare licensing 
standards proposed rule:  

Home and Community Based Services Providers 
Licensing Standards (LAC 48:1.Chapter 50) 

The hearing will now proceed via Zoom meeting using the 
following URL link:  

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/89147045539 

Alternatively, one can join by telephone at the following 
number: 

Dial: USA 602 333 0032 
Conference code: 768964  

Please refer to the Notice of Intent published in the 
January 20, 2022 edition of the Louisiana Register or the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing Rulemaking website at  

http://ldh.la.gov/index.cfm/newsroom/category/172. 

Questions or requests for additional information may be 
directed to Allen Enger, LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, at 
225-342-1342 or by email to Allen.Enger@la.gov. 

 
Dr. Courtney Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#057 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 
Office of Public Health 

Public Hearing―Substantive Changes to Proposed 
Rule; Registration of Foods, Drugs, Cosmetics  

and Prophylactic Devices (LAC 49:529) 

The Office of Public Health published a Notice of Intent 
to promulgate §§501, 517, 519, 521, 523, 525, 527, and 529 
of Title 49 of the Louisiana Administrative Code in the 
November 20, 2021 edition of the Louisiana Register. Due 
to a legislative request based on constituent feedback, the 
Office of Public Health proposes to amend certain portions 
of the proposed Rule. Within Subsection A of §529, the 
Office of Public Health proposes to amend the requirements 

for hemp flower packaging to no longer require packaging to 
explicitly bear the phrase “not for inhalation” or similar 
language. No fiscal or economic impact will result from this 
amendment.  

Title 49 
PUBLIC HEALTH―FOOD, DRUGS,  

AND COSMETICS 
Chapter 5. Registration of Foods, Drugs, Cosmetics 

and Prophylactic Devices 
§529. Consumable Hemp Products Packaging 

Requirements: Hemp Flower Packaging 
A. Hemp flower consumable products for registration 

must be packaged in tamper-resistant packaging or with 
tamper-evident seals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1483(L) and R.S. 40:604. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR 46:360 (March 2020), amended 
LR 47:480 (April 2021), LR 48: 

Public Hearing 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Michael Vidrine, Director, Sanitarian Services, P.O. Box 
4489, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Mr. Vidrine is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding these substantive 
changes to the proposed Rule. A public hearing on these 
substantive changes to the proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Monday, March 21, 2022 at 2 pm via Zoom using the 
following URL link:  

https://zoom.us/j/99266267815?pwd=K0ljTWdaY2FUeUt
ZMklZeVhra1FDdz09 

At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30pm, Friday, March 25, 2022.  

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 

2202#054 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Justice 
Occupational Licensing Review Program  

Accepting Participants for FY 2022-2023 

The Department of Justice is currently accepting 
occupational licensing boards into the Department of Justice 
Occupational Licensing Review Program established by R.S. 
49:260. This program provides for active state supervision 
and was established to ensure that participating boards and 
board members will avoid liability under federal antitrust 
laws. Participants for the 2022-2023 Fiscal Year will be 
accepted into the program through May 31, 2022. For 
information about participating in the program, contact 
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Emily Andrews, Deputy Director, Louisiana Department of 
Justice at 225-326-6000.  

 
Angelique Freel 
Civil Division Director 

2202#046 

 
POTPOURRI 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Workers' Compensation Administration 

Weekly Compensation Benefits Limits 

Pursuant to R.S. 23:1202, and based on the statewide 
average weekly wage as determined by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, the following limits shall apply to 
weekly compensation benefits for claimants injured during 
the period September 1, 2021 through August 31, 2022. 

 
Average 
Weekly 
Wage 

Maximum 
Compensation 

Minimum 
Compensation 

Mileage 
Reimbursement 

$990.85 $743.00 $198.00 * .58 cents per mile 
*Effective January 10, 2022 the mileage reimbursement is $0.58 per 
mile pursuant to R.S. 23:1203(D). 

 
This information updates R.S. 23:1202 of the Louisiana 

Workers Compensation Act. 
 

  

Average 
Weekly 
Wage 

Maximum 
Comp 

Minimum 
Comp 

Sept 1, 2000-Aug 31, 2001 517.93 388.00 104.00 
Sept 1, 2001-Aug 31, 2002 530.43 398.00 106.00 
Sept 1, 2002-Aug 31, 2003 554.31 416.00 111.00 
Sept 1, 2003-Aug 31, 2004 572.53 429.00 114.00 
Sept 1, 2004-Aug 31, 2005 584.40 438.00 117.00 
Sept 1, 2005-Aug 31, 2006 605.46 454.00 121.00 
Sept 1, 2006-Aug 31, 2007 637.19 478.00 127.00 
Sept.1, 2007-Aug 31, 2008 696.00 522.00 139.00 
Sept. 1, 2008-Aug. 31, 2009 728.10 546.00 146.00 
Sept. 1, 2009-Aug. 31, 2010 768.83 577.00 154.00 
Sept. 1, 2010-Aug. 31, 2011 772.18 579.00 154.00 
Sept. 1, 2011-Aug. 31, 2012 789.00 592.00 158.00 
Sept. 1, 2012-Aug. 31, 2013 807.07 605.00 161.00 
Sept. 1, 2013-Aug. 31, 2014 825.54 619.00 165.00 
Sept. 1, 2014-Aug. 31, 2015 839.76 630.00 168.00 
Sept. 1, 2015-Aug. 31, 2016 865.31 649.00 173.00 
Sept. 1, 2016-Aug. 31, 2017 876.00 657.00 175.00 
Sept. 1, 2017-Aug. 31, 2018 870.00 653.00 174.00 
Sept. 1, 2018-Aug. 31, 2019 886.38 665.00 177.00 
Sept. 1, 2019-Aug. 31, 2020 916.85 688.00 183.00 
Sept. 1, 2020-Aug. 31, 2021 940.00 705.00 188.00 
Sept. 1, 2021-Aug. 31, 2022 990.85 743.00 198.00 

 
Actual wages are to be paid if the wages are less than the 

minimum.  
Approved mileage rate as of January 10, 2022 is $0.58 per 

mile. 
 

Sheral Kellar 
Assistant Secretary 

2202#002
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 48, Number 2) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2021-December 2021, 220QU 
 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agriculture and Animal Sciences, Office of 
Horticulture and Quarantine Programs 
Citrus greening and citrus canker disease quarantine, 
1ER, 76N 

Medical Marijuana Program, 23R 
Minimum specifications for termite control work, 77N 

Within each district, 79N 
Agriculture and Finance Authority 

Healthy Foods Retail Program, 296R 
Agro-Consumer Services, Office of 

Weights and measures, 81N 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Economic Stability Section 

TANF fatherhood, 239ER 
Family Support, Office of 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload reduction, 223P 

 
 

COMMITTEE REPORTS 
House of Representatives 
Committee on Commerce 
Oversight Hearing on Rule Proposed by Board of 
Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River 
Qualifications and Examination of Pilots, 375CR 

 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION, AND TOURISM 
State Parks, Office of 

Rosedown Plantation admission fee, 28R 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 
Quality Jobs Program, 83N 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 
Motion Picture Production Tax Credit Program, 311N 
 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 118Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices—Performance Standards, 90N 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools, 92N, 314N 
Bulletin 127—LEAP Connect Assessment 
Louisiana Connectors for Students with Significant 
Cognitive Disabilities, 314N 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 2ER, 28R 
Personnel evaluation, 100N 

Bulletin 133―Scholarship Programs, 29R 
Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 30R 

Bulletin 139—Louisiana Child Care and Development 
Fund Programs, 30R, 102N, 317N 
CCAP household eligibility, 239ER 

Bulletin 140—Louisiana Early Childhood Care and 
Education Network, 319N 
Childhood Care and Education Accountability 
System, 2ER 

Coordinated Observation Plan and Observation 
Requirements, 107N 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 31R, 109N, 324N 

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)―Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators, 322N 
African American History, 34R 

Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 240ER2, 325N 

Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs, 113N, 
327N 

Bulletin 1566―Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures, 35R 

Bulletin 1706―Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act, 35R 

High School Social Studies Assessment, 37R 
The Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability 

System 
Transition from 2017-2018 to 2024-2025 SPS Release, 
119N 

Regents, Board of 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Scholarship/Grant Programs 
COVID-19 exceptions, 328N 
MJ Foster Promise Program, 120N 

 
 
 

2022 
Pages    Issue 
1-228 ..................................................... January 
229-380 ................................................. February 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Secretary, Office of the 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 
Expansion of the Expedited Penalty Program, 125N 
Fee increase 
Act No. 405 of the 2021 Regular Legislative Session, 
331N 

X-Rays in the healing arts, 140N 
 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
JBE 22-1 Bond Allocation 2022 Ceiling, 229EO 
JBE 22-2 Emergency Operations Plan, 229EO 
JBE 22-3 Statewide Litter Abatement and Beautification, 

235EO 
JBE 22-4 Elections—Suspending and Rescheduling 

Deadline to Order Special Elections, 238EO 
JBE 22-5 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2021, 237 EO 
JBE 22-6 Flags at Half-Staff—Senator Sydney Banks 

Nelson, 237EO 
 
 
 

GOVERNOR  
Administration, Division of 
Group Benefits, Office of 
Employee benefits, 341N 

Racing Commission 
Wagering on historical horse racing, 267ER 

Capital Area Ground Water Conservation Commission 
Independent metering installation, 3ER 
Independent remote monitoring system, 337N 
Limitations and prohibitions on water pumping, 338N 
Pumpage fees, 337N 

Certified Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners of 
Continuing education, 335N 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Public Hearings—State Fiscal Year 2023 Draft Annual 
Plan, 223P 

Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration 
of Criminal Justice 
General subgrant guidelines, 338N 
Peace officer training, 162N, 298R 

Crime Victims Reparations Board 
Compensation to victims, 39R 

 
 
 

HEALTH  
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Adult residential care waiver, 165N 
Programs and services amendments due to the 

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health 
Emergency, 4ER 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers and 
long-term personal care services, 284ER 

Behavioral Health, Office of 
Adult mental health services 
Crisis stabilization, 164N 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Children’s Choice Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 40R 

New Opportunities Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 41R 

Residential Options Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 42R 

Supports Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 43R 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health 
Emergency, 4ER 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers and 
long-term personal care services, 284ER 

Dentistry, Board of 
Dentists, 298R 
Fees and costs, 298R 
General provisions, 298R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Adult mental health services 
Crisis stabilization, 164N 

Adult residential care waiver, 165N 
Behavioral health service providers 
Licensing standards, 348N 

Crisis receiving centers 
Licensing standards, 301R 

Facility need review 
Relocation of nursing facility beds, 302R 

Home and community-based services providers 
Licensing standards, 168N 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Children’s Choice Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 40R 

New Opportunities Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 41R 

Residential Options Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 42R 

Supports Waiver 
Direct support worker wages, 43R 

Nursing facilities, 303R 
Licensing standards, 362N 
Reimbursement methodology 
Cost reports, 303R 

Outpatient hospital services 
Payment for outpatient surgery services 
COVID-19 laboratory testing, 282ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program 
Over-the-Counter At-Home COVID-19 tests, 283ER 

Professional Services Program 
Reimbursement methodology, 170N 

Programs and services amendments due to the 
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health 
Emergency, 4ER,  

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers and 
long-term personal care services, 284ER 

Public hearing notice, 376P 
Optometry Examiners, Board of 
Optometric telemedicine, 299R 
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HEALTH (continued) 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Fees, 342N 
Raw marijuana products, 344N 

Public Health, Office of 
Public Hearing 
Substantive changes to proposed Rule 
Registration of foods, drugs, cosmetics and  
prophylactic devices, 376P 

Sanitary Code 
Community water system accountability, 171N 

 
 
 

JUSTICE 
Occupational Licensing Review Program 
Accepting participants for FY 2022-2023, 224P, 376P 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Water well registration, 44R 
Secretary, Office of the 

Request for comments on proposed requirements for 
solar power generation facility  
Decommissioning and financial assurance, 224P 

 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 

Offender incentive pay and other wage compensation, 
363N 

Gaming Control Board 
Sports wagering, 45R, 285ER 

 
 
 

REVENUE 
Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Direct delivery of alcohol 
Third party service permit, 73R 

Policy Services Division 
Income tax withholding, 366N 
Tables, 8ER 

Partnership returns 
Electronic filing requirements, 177N 

Filing extensions for partnerships filing partnership, 
177N 

Partnership composite returns, 177N 
 
 
 

STATE 
Secretary of State, Office of the 

Remote online notarization, 74R 
 
 
 
TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Secretary, Office of the 
Wireless Telecommunications Permit, 290ER 
 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Deer 
Carcass export and feeding ban 
Franklin, Madison, and Tensas Parishes, 291ER 

Domesticated aquatic organisms, 367N 
Hunting regulations for the 2021-2023 seasons, 178N 
Public hearing 

Substantive change to Notice of Intent  
Menhaden Season, 225P 

Recreational Offshore Landing Permit, 218N 
Rescinding the supplemental feeding ban  
in Morehouse and Union Parishes, 22ER, 292ER 

Shrimp 
Season closure  
Portions of state inshore and outside waters, 292ER 
Portions of state inside waters, 22ER 

 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Continuing professional education programs, 369N 
Rehabilitation Services 

Financial needs and budgetary analysis tests, 293ER 
Rehabilitation services, 304R 

Workers' Compensation Administration, Office of 
Notice of public hearing, 226P 
Weekly compensation benefits limits, 377P 

 


