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Emergency
‘Rules

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Programs

Azinphos-methyl Restrictions

The commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry is
exercising the emergency provision of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to his authority
under R.S. 3:3203(A) hereby adopts the following emergency
rule.

This emergency adoption is necessary in order that the
department may closely monitor the application of the
pesticide azinphos-methyl to sugarcane.

Prior to any application or recommendation for
application of azinphos-methyl to sugarcane, approval shall be
obtained in writing from the Louisiana Department of
Agriculture and Forestry (hereinafter the "LDAF"). Such
approval may be obtained by certified agricultural consultants
from the Office of Agricultural and Environmental Programs
of the LDAF. Where farmers do not use agricultural
consultants, approval may be obtained by the private
applicator or aerial applicators employed by such farmers
from the Office of Agricultural and Environmental Programs
of the LDAF.

The effective date of this rule is August 20, 1992, and
they shall remain in effect for 120 days or until these rules
take effect through the normal promulgation process,
whichever is shortest.

Bob Odom
Commissioner

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Office of the Secretary

Employment Opportunity Loan Program

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the
Secretary, has exercised the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B), to adopt the
following emergency rule for a period of 120 days effective
September 20, 1992. The emergency rule is necessary to
expedite the implementation of -Act 938 of the 1992 Regular
Session of the Louisiana Legislature so that massive
unemployment may be alleviated in the Alexandria-Pineville area
due to'the closing of England Air Force Base.
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Title 13
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Part V. Louisiana Employment Opportunity Loan
Program
Chapter 1. Loan Program
§101. Eligible Applicants

Employers eligible for participation in this program shall be
industries that will locate facilities in Louisiana and existing
Louisiana industries which are expanding their work force.
§103. Application Content

Employers desiring to participate in the Louisiana
Employment Opportunity Loan Program shall submit the
following to the secretary of the Department of Economic
Development:

1. a syllabus of the curricula of the training course to be
offered by the employer;

2. the length of the training course;

3. the cost of the training and the items included in the
cost;

4. a statement of why other federal or state training
programs are not sufficient to satisfy the total training needs of
the employer;

5. intention to locate or expand;

6. number of employees to be hired and number of
employees to be trained.

§105. Department Responsibilities

During the application review and negotiation process the
department shall ensure that syllabus of the curricula of the
training course to be offered by the employer, the length of the
training course, the cost of the training is reasonable in terms of
the skill or occupation being taught. After review and negotiation,
the secretary shall enter into an agreement with the employer
stating that the department has approved a syllabus of the
curricula of the training course to be offered by the employer,
the length of the training course, the cost of the training and the
items included in the cost, the maximum number of trainees to
be covered under the agreement and the maximum amount that
may be borrowed by the student trainee.

§107. Disposition of Agreement

Immediately following the signing of the agreement by
both the department and the employer, the department shall
forward an original copy of the agreement to the Louisiana
Student Financial Assistance Commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3046 through 3046.5.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 18:

Kevin P. Reilly
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Flex Hiring Schedule for Technical Institutes

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, at its
meeting of September 1, 1992, exercised those powers
conferred by the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S.
49:953(B) and suspended the flex hiring scale for technical
institutes for one year which will enable all new personnel,
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with the exception of practical nursing instructors and
individuals . previously employed in the postsecondary
technical institute system to be employed at step one. until
the walkover is fully funded. Practical nursing instructors and
instructors previously employed may .be placed on the
schedule up to and including step five.

This action, which is an amendment to Bulletin 1868,
BESE Personnel Manual, Chapter D, Section 145, deletes
numbers 1 and 2 of the Salary Schedule for Postsecondary
Vocational-Technical Personnel, FY.1991-92 which was
adopted as an emergency rule, effective September 26, 1991
and printed in the October, 1991 issue of the Louisiana
Register.

This board action will relieve problems associated with
hiring individuals during Fiscal Year 1992-93 in the critical
shortage areas and is part of the implementation procedure of
the New Professional Development Salary Scheduled
approved by the 1992 Regular Session of the Legislature to
Fund Act 612 passed by the 1991 Regular Session.

Emergency adoption is necessary in order to employ
individuals at the new salary schedule. Effective date of
emergency rule is September 1, 1992.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching (LCET)

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, at
its meeting of September 1, 1992, exercised those powers
conferred by the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B) and adopted as an emergency rule, the Louisiana

- Components of Effective Teaching (LCET): A Position Paper,
Teacher Evaluation Panel | Report, pages 13-18.

The Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching (LCET)
will be incorporated in the revisions to Bulletin 1525,
Personnel Evaluation, in accordance with R.S. 17:391 .5 (Act
506 of the 1992 Regular Session of the Louisiana
Legislature). Emergency adoption is necessary in order that
copies of the revised Bulletin 1525 can be disseminated to
the local school districts no later than December 31, 1992,
The effective date of this emergency rule is September 1,
1992.

Domain I. Planning

Planning is an important aspect of the teaching/learning
process and is primarily a mental activity. As a result, a
pre-conference is essential to discuss plans and the learning
environment. Assessment should be made following the
pre-conference. The focus of the pre-conference is to be on
the attributes in the planning domain and any additional
teacher-supplied information. Daily written plans should
follow local policy. Requirements for written planning shall
not go beyond what is required by the local school district.
COMPONENT A. The Teacher Plans Effectively for
Instruction
ATTRIBUTES

927

1. Specifies Learner Outcomes . In Clear, Concise
Objectives

It is not necessary to specify different objectives for
each child or groups of children.

2. Includes Activity/activities That Develop Objectives

A required number of activities is not specified because
this decision must be made by the teacher.

3. Identifies And Plans For Individual Differences

It is not necessary to specifically describe ways
individual differences are to be met in written plans. This will
be discussed in the pre-conference.

4. ldentifies Materials, Other Than Standard Classroom
Materials, As Needed For Lesson .

Standard classroom materials include such things as
textbooks, chalkboard, pencils, paper, etc.

5. States Method(s) Of Evaluation To Measure Learner
Outcomes :

Evaluation may be formal or informal.

6. Develops An Individual Education Plan (IEP), ITP,
and/or IFSP*

The Individual Education Plan (IEP), Individual Transition
Plan (ITP), and/or individual Family Service Plan (IFSP) will
meet state guidelines. .

* For special education teachers only.

Domain Il. Management

Management is the organization of the learning
environment and maintenance of student behavior. Focus
should be placed on teacher behavior.
COMPONENT A. The Teacher Maintains an Environment
Conducive to Learning
ATTRIBUTES

1. Organizes available space, materials, and/or
equipment to facilitate learning

2. Promotes a positive learning climate
COMPONENT B. The Teacher Maximizes the Amount of Time
Available for Instruction
ATTRIBUTES ‘

1. Manages routines and transitions in a timely manner

2. Manages and/or adjusts allotted time for activities
planned
COMPONENT C. The Teacher Manages Learner Behavior to
Provide Productive Learning Opportunities
ATTRIBUTES v

1. Establishes expectations for learner behavior

2. Uses monitoring techniques to facilitate learning

This may include reinforcing  positive behavior,
redirecting disruptive behavior, as well as, other methods.

Domain Ill. Instruction

The teacher, as the knowledgeable professional, is the
person best-suited to determine effective instruction for
his/her classroom.

It is the responsibility of the observer to discuss the
lesson with the teacher for clarification. It is important that
the observer understand that variations in the lesson may
occur during delivery, and that the teacher makes
adjustments as necessary to accommodate the needs and
responses of students. The post-conference should provide
an opportunity for the teacher to present his/her rationale for
any modifications during the lesson.

The observer must take into account the special
requirements of Act 504, special education regulations, and
any other identifiable groups. Alternate methods of
assessment must be developed for other professionals holding
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teaching certificates (i.e., librarians, counselors, speech
therapists, and assessment teachers).

COMPONENT A. The Teacher Delivers Instruction Effectively
ATTRIBUTES

1. Uses technique(s) which develop(s) lesson
objective(s) '

Technique(s) may include teacher-directed
activity/activities or student-centered activity/activities.

2. Sequences lesson to promote learning

Sequencing means that the teacher initiates, develops,
and closes the lesson with continuity.

3. Uses available teaching material(s) to achieve lesson
objective(s)

4. Adijusts lesson when appropriate
COMPONENT B. The Teache- Presents Appropriate Content
ATTRIBUTES

1. Presents content at a developmentally appropriate
leve!

The teacher is knowledgeable of the content and relates
it to the abilities and interests of the students.

2. Presents accurate subject matter

3. Relates relevant examples, unexpected situations, or
current events to the content -

4. Answers questions-correctly and/or directs students
to additional sources (i.e., references, labs, learning centers,
etc.) -

COMPONENT C. The Teacher Provides Opportunities for
Student Involvement in the Learning Process
ATTRIBUTES ‘

1. Accommodates individual differences

The teacher recognizes that students perform at
different levels and provides opportunities for them to
become involved. There are many ways of accommodating

individual differences among children. Some of these are not
always evidenced in observations, but in the planning. It
may be necessary for the observer to ask the teacher for
clarification of this in the post-conference.

2. Demonstrates ability to communicate effectively
with students ; :

3. Stimulates and encourages higher order thinking at
the appropriate developmental levels :

B 4. Encourages student participation
COMPONENT D. The Teacher Assesses Student Progress
ATTRIBUTES

1. Uses assessment technique(s) effectively

Assessing student performance may include formal
and/or informal assessment procedures as well as formative
and summative. Feedback may be verbal or non-verbal.

2. Monitors ongoing performance of students

3. Provides timely feedback to students regarding their
progress

Domain IV. Professional Development
(Non-Performance)

Professional development is not a performance
component. It provides the opportunity for the teacher to use
the evaluation process as a professional development plan.
Just as children use different modes of learning, teachers also
need to use a variety of channels to achieve professional
development. The professional development plan may include
a variety of ways in which teachers can engage in growth
activities. The successful teacher shall not be mandated to
participate in any one specific growth activity.

During the post-observation conference, the
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principal/designee -and the teacher will set a date to discuss
the proposed professional self-development plan for the
teacher.

COMPONENT A. The Experienced Teacher Plans for
Professional Self-Development

These recommended activities are not limited to but
may include being a mentor teacher; developing curriculum;
delivering inservices; serving on textbook committees;
developing teaching materials; promoting positive public
relations; serving on SACS committees; reading professional
literature; conducting research; evaluating programs;
participating in workshops, conferences, professional
organizations, school-based activities, classroom observation
of peers, and parent/teacher organizations, etc. These
activities shall be monitored on the local level.

If an experienced teacher does not perform
satisfactorily, anintensive assistance plan shall be developed.
COMPONENT B. The Intern Teacher Plans for Professional
Self-Development

The intent of Component B is that the intern teacher
will concentrate on necessary improvements in Domains |, 1i
and/or lll, as agreed upon with his/her principal and other
members of the support team.

If through the assessment process the intern teacher
does not demonstrate competence in Domains |, Il and/or lil,
a professional growth plan shall be developed which
concentrates on the necessary improvements.

If through the assessment process the intern teacher
has demonstrated competence in Domains |, Il and/or lil, the
intern teacher may select to engage in self-selected growth
activities as outlined in Component A of Domain V.

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Federally Required Amendments to the Louisiana Annual
Special Education Program Plan for FY 91-93

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,
at its meeting of September 1, 1992, exercised those powers
conferred by the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B) and readopted as an emergency rule, the federally
required amendments to the Louisiana Annual Special Edu-
cation Program Plan for FY 91-93.

These amendments were previously adopted as an
emergency rule and printed in full in the May, 1992 issue of
the Louisiana Register. Readoption as an emergency rule is
necessary in order for the present emergency rule to con-
tinue until the amendments can be finally adopted as a rule.
Effective date of this emergency rule is September 1, 1992,

Carole Wallin
Executive Director
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Teacher Evaluation Panel Il Report

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, at
its meeting of September 1, 1992, exercised those powers
conferred by the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953
(B) and adopted as an emergency rule, pages 1-22 of the
Teacher Evaluation Panel Il Report.

The uniform procedure for local evaluation programs on
pages 1-22 of the Teacher Evaluation Panel Il Report will be
incorporated into Bulletin 1525, Personnel Evaluation, in
accordance with R.S. 17:391.5 (Act 506 of the Regular
Session of the 1992 Louisiana Legislature). Emergency
adoption is necessary in order that copies of the revised
Bulletin 1525 can be disseminated to the local school districts
no later than December 31, 1992. Effective date of this
emergency rule is September 1, 1992.

EMERGENCY RULE

Introduction v

Teaching is thinking,

thinking about what students need to know and be able
to do,

thinking about-what the teacher can do to foster such
learning,

thinking about how successful the teacher has been in
achieving the desired learning outcomes, and

thinking about how the teacher should teach that lesson
next time.

Teacher evaluation focuses on what students know and
are able to do and what the teacher can do to strengthen or
enhance the level of learning in the classroom. Teacher
evaluation is meaningful, in that it deals with aspects of
instruction that make sense to both the teacher and
evaluator. Teacher evaluation is productive and results in
recommendations that improve the quality of the teaching-
learning process. This is the conception of teacher evaluation
that guided the panel as it pursued its charge.

The panel’s conception of teacher evaluation is
consistent with the definition of evaluation found within
Personnel  Evaluation Accountability, A Guide for
Implementation, Bulletin 1625, page 7, number 10:

Evaluation--the process of making considered judgments
concerning . the professional accomplishments and
competencies of a certified employee, as well as other
professional personnel, based on a broad knowledge of the
area of performance involved, the characteristics of the
situation of the individual being evaluated, and the specific
standards of performance pre-established for the position.
Distinctions Between Assessment and Evaluation

The panel realized that it was important to make some
distinctions between assessment and evaluation. The
purpose of the state assessment program is to determine
whether a teacher can teach effectively, whereas the local
evaluation program determines whether a teacher does teach
effectively. The Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) is
responsible for the state assessment program while the local

school districts are responsible: for the local teacher
evaluation programs. The Louisiana Components of Effective
Teaching are utilized as performance criteria in both
programs. Panel Il responsibility was to establish guidelines
for strengthening and standardizing local teacher evaluation.
A standardized performance-based instrument for state
assessment, the Louisiana Teacher Appraisal Instrument, will
be developed by Panel IV.

The Panel’s Charge

The panel was charged to make recommendations for
strengthening and standardizing the . teacher evaluatlon
programs employed by school districts across the state. The
panel operated under the assumption that local teacher
evaluation programs would be standardized if they were

a) grounded in the same statement of philosophy. and
purposes,

b) used common criteria to evaluate teachers, and

c) included procedures that complied with uniform
guidelines for teacher evaluation programs. Furthermore, the
panel believed that teacher evaluation programs would be
strengthened, if such philosophy and purposes, criteria, and
guidelines reflected the best current thinking and research
about effective teacher evaluation practices. Thus, panel
members considered the current literature on teacher
evaluation and then developed a statement of philosophy and
purposes for teacher evaluation in Louisiana as well as
uniform guidelines for local teacher evaluation programs
across the state. These guidelines include reference to
common criteria that would be used to evaluate teachers, the
Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching. The Louisiana
Components of Effective Teaching were developed by
another panel.

In addition to developing a common set of state
guidelines for teacher evaluation programs, the: panel
developed criteria for each guideline that can be used to
determine whether a local school district’s teacher evaluation
program complies with that guideline. The panel recommends
that these guidelines be used by the Louisiana Department of
Education to strengthen and to standardize teacher evaluation
programs at the local school district level according to the
following timeline:

1992-93 - All school districts will review their current
teacher evaluation programs in light of the new siate
guidelines and will develop plans to strengthen their programs
if necessary.

1993-94 - All school districts will implement the new
practices needed to strengthen their teaching evaluation
programs.

1994-95 - All school districts will continue to implement
their new teacher evaluation practices and make refinements
if necessary.

As local school . districts proceed to review and to
strengthen their current teacher evaluation programs, the
panel recommends that the Louisiana Department of
Education provide them with resources that can assist them
in this process. Such resources could include information
about teacher evaluation staff development opportunities
available at the state and regional levels, examples of some
more effective teacher evaluation practices being
implemented in Louisiana school districts, and readings such
as A Handbook for Teacher Evaluation and Professional
Growth in More Productive Schools’, among others.

The statement of philosophy and purposes. of teacher
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IIwanicki, E. F. (1992) A Handbook for Teacher Evaluation and Prqfe.;sional
Growth in More Productive Schools. Storrs, CT: The Connecticut Institute for
Personnel Evaluation, Department of Educational Leadership, The University of
Connecticut :
evaluation as well as the guidelines for teacher evaluation
programs developed by this panel are presented in the
subsequent sections of this report. - It is important to note
that the panel viewed teacher evaluation in the generic sense,
a process for the evaluation of all certified professional staff
(i.e., classroom teachers, special services staff, and building
as well as district level -administrators).

Philosophy and Purposes of Teacher Evaluation

As we move through the decade of the nineties, it is
clear that public schools must provide a high quality
education that prepares our youth for the demands of the
21st century. In order to meet these challenges, educators
must focus on providing the best educational opportunities for
all children. Recognizing this, the State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education has established uniform guidelines
for personnel evaluation. ~

Personnel evaluation is directed toward the continued
enhancement of learning through a process of encouraging
professional growth for all educators by establishing a system
of professional accountability. It is an ongoing, shared
process aimed at improving instruction and the learning
environment for all students.

The purposes for which teacher evaluation will be used
in Louisiana are as follows:

1) To assure the public that

‘a) the educational system is providing the best
opportunities for all children to learn,

b) the best qualified personnel are employed in every
position, and

¢) effective teaching continues in the classroom;

2) To foster the continuous improvement of teaching
and learning by providing opportunities for the professional
growth of all educators; and

3) To provide support for the professional development
of new teachers during their period of internship.

Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs

Guidelines for local school district teacher evaluation
programs in Louisiana are presented in the subsequent
sections of this report. Compliance criteria are provided for
each guideline.

Yes - indicates the school district meets the criterion

No - indicates the school district does not meet the
criterion

Partial - indicates the school district has a plan for
meeting the criterion.

A school district’s teacher evaluation program is
approved with respect to a particular guideline if it meets all
criteria for that guideline. The program receives conditional
approval if it meets some criteria and has a plan for meeting
all the others. Disapproval results when the school district
does not meet all the criteria for a particular guideline and has
no plan to rectify this situation.

1. Focus on Educational Improvement

The teacher evaluation program is well grounded in the
local school district’s educational philosophy and goals. An
overview of the district’s philosophy and priority educational
goals is provided and related to the philosophy and purposes
of teacher evaluation. A clear message is provided as to how
teacher evaluation will be used to better facilitate the
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attainment of short and long term goals for educational

improvement at the district and school building levels. -

Compliance criteria:

District’s philosophy and priority educational goals are YNP
related to the philosophy and purposes of teacher evaluation

Teacher evaluation is related to goals for educational YNP
improvement at the district level

Teacher evaluation is related to goals for educational YNP

improvement at the school building level

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval )
2. Staff Involvement in the Teacher Evaluation Program

A teacher evaluation steering committee is formed at
the local school district level that is representative of
administrators and classroom teachers and is selected by
each of these groups. This standing committee is responsible
for assessing the strengths and weaknesses of the school
district’s teacher evaluation program in light of the Louisiana
Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs. Furthermore, it
will oversee the planning and implementation of any revisions
necessary to strengthen the teacher evaluation process.
Periodically, at least every three years, this committee will
evaluate the extent to which the purposes of the local
teacher evaluation program are being achieved.
Compliance criteria:

A represantative teacher evaluation steering YNP
committae has been formed to review the current local teacher
evaluation progrem in light of new state guidelines

This committee has balanced representation of both YNP
teachers and adrninistrators

The committee has developed a plan for strengthening YNP
the current teacher evaluation process where necessary

The committee has developed a plan for evaluating YNP

whether the purposes of the teacher evaiuation nrogram are
being achieved

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
3. Philosophy and Purposes of Teacher Evaluation

The philosophy and purposes for which teacher
evaluation is used in the local school district are stated clearly
in writing. This philosophy is grounded in the beliefs that all
students can learn, good teaching increases the chances of
students learning, and a collegial, collaborative relationship
between a teacher and evaluator creates the appropriate
climate for good teaching. '

A purpose of the teacher evaluation program is to
assure the public that the educational system is providing the
best opportunities for all children to learn, that the best
qualified personnel are employed in every position, and that
effective teaching continues in the classroom. :

Another purpose of the teacher evaluation program is
the improvement of the teaching/learning process. This
includes the encouragement of creativity and innovation in
the planning and implementation of teaching strategies that
are consistent with the conternporary research on effective
classroom processes. Teacher evaluation includes promoting
the professionai growth and development of staff as well as

providing support for new teachers during their period of -

internship.

In summary, teacher evaluation is pursued with the
spirit that it is a process for making good teachers better,
rather than one that is directed toward finding fault with
teaching.

Compliance criteria:

The philosophy and purposes of the local teacher
evaluation program are stated clearly in writing

The philosophy and purposes of the local teacher
evaluation program have been explained to and discussed
with teachers

YNP

YNP




The purposes provide the public assurances that only YNP
effective teachers continue to be employed by the school district

The purposes reflect sound principles of effective YNP
teaching and learning that are supported by contemporary
research

The purposes support the improvement of the YNP

teaching-learning process as well as the continued professional
growth and development of instructional personnel

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
4. Accountability Relationships

Accountability relationships are defined clearly in
writing. These relationships are communicated effectively so
all professional staff know who is accountable to whom for
the purposes of teacher evaluation.
Compliance criteria:

Accountability relationships are defined clearly in
writing

Teachers are informed each year as to who is
responsible for their evaluation

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
5. Evaluation Criteria

The evaluation criteria for each professional staff
position (e.g., teachers, principals, librarians, etc.) are stated
clearly in writing in the job description. Classroom teachers
are evaluated on the basis of job descriptions that include the
Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching and any other
appropriate criteria identified by the local school district. The
Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching are a broad,
general description of good teaching. Because teacher
evaluation results in an in-depth analysis of teaching, it is
usually not advisable to use only a rating scale or checklist to
rate a successful, experienced teacher on all of the criteria
included in the job descriptien. Instead, these criteria shouid
be used as a frame of reference for a descriptive review and
analysis of teaching that focuses the evaluation process on
strengthening and/or enhancing a few critical aspects of
teaching.
Compliance criteria:

YNP

YNP

The evaluation critoria for each professional staff YHP
position are stated clearly in writing in the job description

The Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching are YNP
included in the job descriptions of .nstructional personnel

The evaluation criteriz provide a frame of reference YNP

for a descriptive review and analysis of teaching rather then
only a rating scale or checklist of teaching effectiveness

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
6. The Classroom Observation Process

Classroom observation is a critical aspect of the teacher
evaluation process. The evaluator conducts observations that
are of sufficient duration to see the lesson begin, develop,
and culminate. A pre-observatiun conference is conducted to
review the teacher’s lesson plan. A post-observation
conference is arranged to discuss and analyze the lesson as
well as to prepare an observation report. The primary
purpose of this report is not to rate the teacher on a scale or
checklist, but rather, to reach consensus on commendations
as well as recommendations for strengthening or enhancing
teaching. Follow-up classroom visits and observations are
conducted to determine what impact these recommendations
have had on improving the quality of the teaching-learning
process in the teacher’s classroom.
Compliance criteria:

Teaching is evaluated through periodic classroom YNP
observations
Observations are of sufficient duration to see the lesson YNP

begin, develop, and culminate

931

The primary purpose of the classroom observation is not YNP
to rate the teacher, but rather, to reach consensus on
commendations as well as to make recommendations to
strengthen or enhance teaching

Follow-up classroom visits and observations are YNP

conducted to reinforce positive practice and to determine how
recommendations have impacted the quality of the
teaching-learning process
" Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional

approval () Disapproval
7. Developing the Professional Growth Plan

Periodic evaluation conferences are conducted to
discuss and to analyze teaching for the purpose of developing
longer term (one - two year) professional growth plans to
strengthen or enhance the teaching-learning process in the
classroom. These professional growth plans are based on a
descriptive analysis of teaching rather than only on the results
of a checklist or rating scale. Usually such plans include two
to three objectives developed collaboratively by the teacher
and evaluator. For successful, experienced teachers, these
objectives may extend beyond the professional responsibilities
included in the job description and may be used to explore
new, untried, innovative ideas or projects. Each objective
includes a plan of action to guide the teacher’s progress as
well as observable evaluation criteria that the teacher and
evaluator can use to determine the extent to which each
objective has been achieved. The evaluation criteria show
clearly how achievement of the objective will impact the
quality of the teaching-learning process in the classroom.
Compliance criteria:

Teachers develop longer term profeésional growth YNP
plans to strengthsn or enhance the teaching-learning process

Professional growth plans are based on objectives YNP
developed collaboratively by the teacher and evaluator

A plan of action ard evaluation criteris are specified YNP
for each objective

For succeesful, experienced teachers, objectives are YNP

used to explore new, untried, innovative ideas or projects

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapprcval
8. Teacher Self-Evaluation

Teachers are encouraged to assume significant
responsibility for the evaluation of their performanca. Ample
opportunities are provided throughout the teacher ealuation
process for personal reflection, self-evaluation, znd peer
collaboration. The products of such efforts are shared in self-
evaluation reports which teachers submit as part of the
teacher evaluation process. Training is provided for all
teachers in techriques for reflection and self-evaluation.
Additiona! staff developmenit opportunities are provided for
those teachers who wish to work as peer coaches or in other
peer suprort and assistance roles (i.e., mentors, peer support
persons in intensive assistance programs for experienced
teachers).  Participation in such peer support roles is
voluntary. Teachers serving as peer coaches or oroviding
other peer support and assistance are not evaluators as
defired in these guidelines.
Compliance criteria:

Training is provided for teachers i techniques YNP
for perscnai reflection, self-ovaluation, and peer collaboration

Teachers are providod opportunities throughout the YNP
evaluation prccess jor perzonal reflection, self-evaluation,
and peer collaboration

Teachers include a self-evaluation as part of the overall YNP

evaluation of their teaching
Overall assessment:

() Approval () Conditional
approvel () Disapproval -
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9. The Evaluation Period

Ali professional staff are evaluated in writing each year.
How professional staff are evaluated may vary depending on
their experience and proficiency in the classroom.. The
evaluation process for intern teachers tends to focus on
strengthening proficiency in the classroom, while the
evaluation process for tenured, experienced teachers tends to
focus on professional growth and school improvement.
Beginning teachers and those new to the school district will
be evaluated each year through classroom observations for
their first three years of employment. More experienced
teachers will be evaluated on the basis of classroom
observations at least once every three years. Successful,
tenured teachers may be evaluated on a multi-year cycle that
encourages staff to pursue longer term professional growth
and school improvement initiatives. For example: a three-
year may be implemented as follows:

Year One: Teacher is evaluated formally on the basis of
classroom observation;

Years Two-Three: Teacher is evaluated on the basis of
progress toward those objectives included in his/her
professional growth plan. Periodic classroom visits and/or
observations may be conducted as necessary at the discretion
of the evaluator or at the request of the teacher.

Itisimperative that professional staff clearly understand
the procedures and timelines that will be used to evaluate

their performance.
Compliance criteria:

All professional staff are evaluated in writing each year YNP

The evaluation process is tailored to the levels of YNP
experience and classroom proficiency of the teacher

Successful, tenured teachers are evaluated on a multi-year Y NP

cycle that encourages staff to pursue more meaningful, longer
term professional growth and school improvement initiatives

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
10. Information Included in the Teacher Evaluation Process

The evaluation of teaching is based on one or a
combination of the foliowing:

a) Evaluator’s assessment of teaching based on the
criteria specified in the teacher’s written job description,
including the Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching,

b) Evaluator’s assessment of the progress the teacher
has made toward achieving those objectives included in the
professional growth plan that was developed collaboratively
with the evaluator, and

c) Teacher’s self-evaluation of teaching as well as
progress toward achieving those objectives included in his/her
professional growth plan.

Compliance criteria:

Evaluator’s assessment of teaching is based on the job
description, including the Louisiana Components of Effective
Teaching

Evaluator's assessment of teaching is based on progress
toward the objectives included in the teacher’s professional
growth plan

Evaluation includes the teacher’s self-eveluation of
teaching as well a6 progress toward objectives included in the
professional growth plan

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
epproval () Disapproval
11. Coordination with the Induction of intern Teachers

Mentor support is provided through the teacher
evaluation process for the induction and professional growth
of intern teachers. A concerted effort is made to ensure that
intern teachers are socialized in a professional manner and
that they experience success in the classroom. Assistance

YNP

YNP

YNP
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made available through the local teacher evaluation process
is coordinated with the state support and assessment
program for any beginning teacher with a Provisional or
Temporary Teaching Certificate.

Compliance criteria:

Mentor support is provided for the induction of intern YNP
teachers

The Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching are a YNP
focus for the evaluation of beginning teachers

Assistance made available through the local teacher YNP

evaluation process is coordinated with the state support and
assessment program for beginning teachers

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval

12. Intensive Assistance for Experienced Teachers

If it is determined through the teacher evaluation
process that an experienced teacher does not satisfactorily
meet the local school district’'s standards of performance,
then that teacher is placed in an intensive assistance
program. When the teacher is placed in such a program,
he/she is informed in writing of the reason(s) for the
placement. Then an intensive assistance plan is developed
with the teacher.

The plan specifies:

a) what the teacher needs to do to strengthen his/her
performance including a statement of the objective(s) to be
accomplished and the expected level(s) of performance;

b) what assistance/support is provided by the school
district;

c) a timeline for achieving the objectives and the
procedures for monitoring the teacher’s progress including
classroom observations and conferences; and

d) the action that will be taken if improvement is not
demonstrated.

Experienced teachers can assume that they are
performing satisfactorily unless they have been placed in an
intensive assistance program.

Compliance criteria:

An intensive assistance program is provided for
teachers who do not meet the local district’s standards
of satisfactory performance

Any teacher placed in an intensive assistance
program is informed in writing of the reason(s) for
this placement

An intensive assistance plan is developed for
any teacher placed in such a program

The local school district provides the
professional development support necessary to
enable the teacher to meet the objectives of this
plan

YNP

YNP

YNP

YNP

The local school district takes appropriate YNP

action in accordance with legislative, SBESE and local
school board mandates if satisfactory improcvement
is not demonstrated

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
13. Procedures for Resolving Conflict

The teacher evaluation program includes procedures for
resolving disagreement or conflict in a fair, efficient,
effective, and professional manner. A teacher must sign any
evaluation report placed in his/her personnel file. Signature
indicates oniy that the teacher has received a copy of the
report. If the teacher does not agree with any aspect of a
report, he/she meets with the evaluator to resolve the
disagreement. If the disagreement cannot be resolved, the
teacher will attach a signed statement clarifying or rebutting
that aspect of the report. Also the teacher may initiate any
grievance procedures that apply.

Ve




Compliance criteria:

The evaluation program includes procedures
for resolving conflict in a fair, efficient, effective,
and professional manner

If conflict cannot be resolved, the teacher is
encouraged to submit a signed statement clarifying
or rebuttirg the issue in question

Grievance procedures are clearly specified for
situations where conflict cannot be resolved

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
14. Staff Development for Teacher Evaluation

The school district provides training on a continuing
basis for all staff involved in the teacher evaluation process
(e.g., district level administrators and supervisors, principals
and assistant principals, classroom teachers). This training is
supported by the LDE and coordinated through the Regional
Service Centers (RSCs). Initial training focuses on developing
the following:

a) a positive, constructive attitude toward teacher
evaluation,

b) a knowledge of state laws and local school district
policies governing the teacher evaluation process and
associated due process procedures,

¢) an understanding of the Louisiana Components of
Effective Teaching, and

d) an understanding of the local school district’s
teacher evaluation program, including the philosophy and
purposes, criteria, and procedures.

Further training - focuses on developing those skills
needed to diagnose and to strengthen or enhance teaching
effectively. The skills addressed in such training are as
follows:

a) data collection skills necessary to document a
teacher’s performance accurately,

b) data analysis skills riecessary to make accurate
judgements about a teacher’s performance,

c) conferencing skills necessary to provide clear,
constructive feedback regarding a teacher’s performance,

d) skills in developing and facilitating meaningful
professional growth plans, plans that strengthen or enhance
teaching effectiveness, and

e) skills in writing effective evaluation reports, reports
that document how evaluation has impacted the quality of
the téaching-learning process in the classroom.

Trairing undertaken by administrators to implement the
teacher eveluation process effectively is counted towsard the
accumulation c¢f Louisiana Administrative Leadership
Academy points.

Compliance criteria:

The local school district provides initial training that
focuses on developing the following:

a) a positive constructive attitude toward
teacher evaluation

b) a knowledge of the laws/policies governing
teacher evaluation associated due and process procedures

c) an understanding of the Louisiana
Components of Effective Teaching

d) en understanding of thz schce! district’s
teacher evaluation program

The local school district provides further training in the
following skill areas:

YNP

YNP

YNP

YNP

YNP

YNP

YNP

a) data collection skills nscessary to document YNP
teaching accuretely

b) data urslysis skills needed to miaka accurate YNP
judgements abcut teaching

c) confesencing skills needed tc provide clear, YNP

constructive feedback
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d) skills in developing meaningful professional YNP

growth plans

e) skills in writing effective teachor evaluation YNP
reports

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditionai

approval () Disapproval
15. Impact of the Teacher Evaluation Process

The impact of the teacher evaluation process on
improving teaching and learning at the school building and
district levels is documented and discussed by the staff each
spring. The accomplishments of teachers and administrators
in this regard are celebrated and shared with the school

community.
Compliance criteria:

The impact of the teacher evaluation process YNP
on improving teaching and learning at the school
building and district levels is documented and
discussed each spring

The accomplishments of teachers and YNP

administrators in this regard are celebrated and shared
with the school community

Overall assessment: () Approval () Conditional
approval () Disapproval
Implementation and Staff Development Plan

Earlier in this report, this panel recommended that the
guidelines just presented be used by the LDE to strengthen
and standardize local teacher evaluation programs over a
three year period. An implementation and staff development

plan is provided below to guide this process.

September/October 1992. The LDE and the Regional
Service Center (RSC) staff as well as superintendents and
personnel evaluation contact persons are oriented to:

a) the Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation
Programs; and

b) the procedure for using these guidelines to
strengthen and standardize teacher evaluation programs at
the local school district level.

Teachers and administrators are provided a copy of the
Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs and are
informed how these guidelines will be used to strengthen and
standardize local teacher evaluation programs.

October 1992. The local education agencies (LEAS)
form an 8 to 12 member teacher evaluation steering
committee. The superintendent (or his/her designee) and the
personnel evaluation contact person will serve on this
committee. Two other members of this committee, a teacher
and a building administrator, will be selected to serve as the
LEA’s teacher evaluation resource persons. These two
resource persons, the superintendent (or his/her designee)
and the personnel evaluation contact person will comprise the
LEA’s Core Team for teacher evaluation. This Core Team will
be trained by the LDE through the RSCs to serve as a teacher
evaluation staff development resource to the local school
district and its steering committee. Also, the two resource
persons on this team will assist the LDE in its review of the
teacher evaluation programs of other school districts in the
service region.

October/November 1992. The LDE conducts regional
workshops to crient the LEA Core Teams to:

a) the Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation
Programs; and

b) the procedures for reviewing current teacher
evaluation programs in light of these guidelines.

Deocember 1992. The Core Team orients the LEA’s
teacher evaiuation steering committee to:
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a) the Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation
Programs; and

b) the procedures for reviewing its current teacher
evaluation program in light of these new guidelines. Then
this steering committee develops and implements a plan to
review and revise itc teacher evaluation program. The
revision plan includes:

a list of the modifications/changes needed,

a process and timeline for making these
modifications/changes,

a procedure for sharing the work of the committee with
other teachers and administrators in the school district for
their reaction and feedback.

January 1993. The local steering committee completes
its review of the LEA’s teacher evaluation program and
submits a Teacher Evaluation Self-Assessment Report to the
LDE by February 1, 1993. This is a self-assessment to the
extent to which the LEA believes it complies with each of the
Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs. The
steering committee shares the- essence of this Self-
Assessment Report with other teachers and administrators in
the school district.

February/March 1993. The LDE conducts regional
workshops to orient the LEA teacher evaluation resource
persons to its process for reviewing the Teacher Evaluation
Self-Assessment Reports submitted by the local teacher
evaluation steering committees. The LDE proceeds with its
review of the Teacher Evaluation Self-Assessment Reports.
The Self-Assessment Report submitted by each local teacher
evaluation steering committee is examined by a three member
State Review Team comprised of an LDE staff member and
a teacher and an administrator resource person from another
school district. The State Review Team examines the
steering committee’s Self-Assessment Report to determine
the extent to which the LEA’s teacher evaluation program
complies with the Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation
Programs. The results of this review are summarized in a
Teacher Evaluation Status Report that is shared later with the
LEA.

March 1993. The LDE completes its review of the
Teacher Evaluation Self-Assessment Reports and shares the
Teacher Evaluation Status Reports with the LEAs. Then the
local teacher evaluation steering committee reviews its LEA’s
Status Report. Once the steering committee completes this
review, it can meet with the LDE staff if it wishes to discuss
any aspects of the Status Report or pose any questions it has
about discrepancies between the Status Report and the LEA's
Self-Assessment Report.

March-May, 1893. The local steering committee
follows its plan for making changes/modifications in its
teacher evaluation program. This process includes trying out
any new techniques or approaches to teacher evaluation with
a small sample of teachers to determine whether they would
have the impact desired. Also during this period, the LDE
conducts a five-day training program for Core Team members
through the RSCs. The purpose of this program is to help
teachers and administrators to develop the appropriate
understanding of critical teacher evaluation skills to be able to
go back to their school districts to train their colleagues in
these skills. Topics addressed in this program would include
analyzing teaching using the Louisiana Components of
Effective Teaching, classroom observation, conferencing,
writing effective evaluation reports, developing professional
growth plans, and facilitating self-evaluation.
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June 1993. The local steering committee completes its
plan for implementing the local teacher evaluation program
during the 1993-94 schcol year. Then the committee:

a) orients its teachers and administrators to this plan;
and

b) submits this plan to the LDE by June 15, 1993 as
part of its yearly Personnel Evaluation Report.

July-August 1993. ' The local steering committee
conducts appropriate workshops with teachers and evaluators
to prepare them for the implementation of the teacher
evaluation program during the 1993-94 school year.

September 1993-May 1994. The local steering
committee implements its revised teacher evaluation program
and meets monthly to monitor its implementation.
Implementation is supported by an ongeing staff development
program for teachers and ddministrators.

November 1993 and March 1994. The State Review
Teams conduct fall and spring site visits. Curing these visits
the local steering committee meets with its Review Team to
provide an update on the progress it has made in
implementing and strengthening its teacher evaluation
program. Also, the steering committee indicates what staff
development resources it would like to see provided through
the RSC to support the further implementation of its teacher
evaluation program. The Review Team prepares a Site Visit
Report to document the outcomes of each visit and shares
this report with the LDE and RSC staff.

June 1994. The local Steering committee reviews what
it has accomplished during the 1993-94 school year and
refines its plan for implementing the local teacher evaluation
program during the 1994-95 school year. Then the
committee:

a) orients its teachers and administrators to this plan;
and

b) submits this plan to the LDE by June 15, 1994 as
part of its yearly Personnel Evaluation Report.

July-August 1994. The local steering committee
conducts appropriate workshops with teachers and evaluators
to prepare them for the implementation of the teacher
evaluation program during the 1994-95 school year.

September 1994-May 1995. The local steering
committee implements its refined teacher evaluation program
and meets monthly to monitor its implementation.
Implementation is supported by an ongoing staff development
program for teachers and administrators.

November 1994 and March 1995. The State Review
Teams conduct fall and spring site visits. During these visits
the local steering committee meets with its Review Team to
provide an update on the progress it has made in
implementing and strengthening its teacher evaluation
program. Also, the steering committee indicates what staff
development resources it would like to see provided through
the RSC to support the further implementation of its teacher
evaluation program. The Review Team prepares a Site Visit
Report to document the outcomes of each visit and shares
this report with the LDE and RSC staff.

June 1995. The local steering committee reviews what
it has accomplished during the 1994-95 school year and
refines its plan fcr implementing the local teacher evaluation
program during the 1995-96 school year. Then the
committee:

a) orients its teachers and administrators to this plan;
and '




h) subrnits this plan to the LDE by June 15, 1985 as
part of its yearly Personnel Evaluation Report.
Building a Capacity for Staff Development

The Implementation and Staff Development Plan just
presented requires that thz LDE build a capacity for staff
development through its LEAs and RSCs. In building such a
capacity it is important that training be provided by personnel
that are both knowiedgeable in techniques of teacher
evaluation as well as in the process of effective staff
development. In summary, there is a need to identify or
develop a cadre of good peoplz to conduct the training
necessary to strengthen local teachar evaluation practices.

While some out-of-state consultants could be used, it is
important to develop a local, Louisiana capacity for staff
development in teacher evaluation. This could be
accomplished by meeting with the deans in schools of
education to find out what staff deveiopment resources could
be provided through higher education. In addition,
superintendents could be polled to obtain their
recommendations of people in their districts who are doing
some good things in teacher evaluation that could be called
on to do training. Depending on what resources are identified
through contacts with deans and superintendents, a decision
would need to be made as to whether there is a need to
develop further staff development resources for teacher
evaluation through a trainer of trainers program for select LEA
or RSC personnel.

In addition to identifying staff development resources,
it is important to determine where the training will take place.
Certainly, much of the training will be conducted at the RSCs
and in the LEAs. Also, consideration should be given to
whether some professional development centers might be
established for training in teacher evaluation. These centers
would be schools where good teacher evaluation is being
practiced. Teachers and administrators would come to these
schools to strengthen their evaluation skills through direct
involvement in the teacher evaluation process under the
supervision of knowledgeable practitioners.

In concluding, this panel believes it is critical that the
LDE build an adequate capacity for staff development in
teacher evaluation to support its initiative to strengthen local
teacher evaluation practices. Also, the LDE must develop a
long range plan which clearly conveys to the LEAs those staff
development resources that will be available to support local
efforts to strengthen teacher evaluation programs over the
next three years.

Developing a Process for the Review and Approval of Local
Teacher Evaluation Programs

The focus of the first year of this plan to strengthen and
standardize local teacher evaluation programs is on the
review and approval of such programs. This panel
recommends that an efficient and effective process be
developed by the LDE for the local review as well as state
approval of teacher evaluation programs in licht of the
Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs. More
specifically, the panel recommends that a Teacher Evaluation
Self-Assessment Report such as the one presented in Exhibit
1 be developed to facilitate the local review of teacher
evaluation programs. This Report would be completed first
by individual steering committee members. Next their
individual ratings for each guideline would be discussed and
consensus would be reached as a committee. Then tre LEA
would submit to the LDE a T7eacher Evaluation Self-

Assessment Report that represents tire consensus opinion of
its teacher evaluation steering committee.

As noted earlier, the Teacnher Evaluation Self-
Assessment Report submitted by an LEA would be examined
by a three-member state review team comprised of an LDE
staff member and two teacher evaluation resource persons,
a teacher and an administrator from another school district.
This team would share the results of its review with the LEA
using a Teacher Evaluation Status Report such as the one
presented in Exhibit 2. The review team’s assessment of an
LEA’s teacher evaluation program with respect to the
Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs would
consist of a consensus rating as well as comments regarding
the program’s strengths and aspects that might be improved.
If the review team does not approve the LEA’s teacher
evaluation program with respect to a particular guideline, it
must justify this decision clearly in writing.

Once the LEA receives its Teacher Evaluation Status
Report, it has 30 working days to respond to the LDE, if
either it does not agree with the team’s assessment or it
wishes to submit a plan to comply with any guidelines for
which its teacher evaluation program was not approved. In
situations where an LEA submits such a plan, the state
review team for that school district would be reconvened to
review this plan and to submit a revised Teacher Evaluation
Status Report. Also, the state review team may be
reconvened to deal with those situations where the LDE does
not agree with the team’s assessment.

Exhibit 1
Teacher Evaluation Self-A nt Report

This report has been developed to help your local school districts to
assess the status of its teacher evaluation program in light of the new
Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs. You are being asked
to complete this report as a member of your school district's teacher
evaluation steering committee. Later your steering committee will meet to

a) discuss the responses of committee members and

b) reach consensus as to the status of your school district’s teacher
evaluation program with respect to each guideline.

The Louisiana Guidelines for Teacher Evaluation Programs are listed
in the subsequent section of this report. Following each guideline are criteria
for determining whether a school district complies with that guideline. Please
review each of the criteria and circle the appropriate response. Circle . . .

Y for Yes, if you believe your school district meets the criterion,

N for No, if you believe your school district does not meet the
criterion, or

P for Partial, if you believe your school district has a plan for meeting
the criterion.

If you circle Y, please indicate where evidence can be found to
support your rating. For example, you may simply refer to a section of your
teacher evaluation plan (see pages 7-8 of District Plan). If you circle P, either
attach your school district’s plan for meeting that criterion or indicate in the
evidence section where it can be found (Example: see page 12 of our School
Improvement Plan for 1992-93). .

After you have rated each of the criteria for a particular guideline,
provide an overall assessment of whether you believe your school district’s
teacher evaluation program should be approved with respect to that
guideline. Check...

Approval, if your school district meets all the criteria for that guideline,

Conditional Approval, if your school district has met some of the
criteria and has a plan for meeting the others, or

Disapproval, if your school district does not meet all of the criteria for
that guideline and has no plan to ractify the situation.

After you have assessed the status of your school district’s teacher
evaluation program with respect to a particular guideline, please make a note
in the "Comments” section of any issues or questions you want to address
with your teacher evaluation steering committee when you meet later to
discuss your ratings.

Your cooperation and assistance in carefully completing this report are
appreciated. Thank you!
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1. Focus on Education Improvemer.t

The teacher evaluation program is well grounded in the local school
district’s educational philosophy and goals. An overview of the district’s
philosophy and priority educational goals is provided and related to the
philosophy and purposes of teacher evaluation. A clear message is provided
as to how teacher evaluation will be used to better facilitate the attainment
of short and long term goals for educational improvement at the district-and
school building levels.
Compliance criteria:

District’s philosophy and priority ecucational YNP
goals are related to the philosophy and purnoges of
teacher evaluation ’

Evidence:

Teacher evaluation is related to goalc for YNP
educational improvement at tha district level

Evidence:

Teacher evaluation is related to goals for YNP
educational improvoment at the school building leve!

Evidence:

Gverall assessment: { ) Approval( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval

Comments:
(. .. .The remaining guidelines will be presented in this same format on the
subsequent pages of the Report . . .)
Exhibit 2

Teacher Evaluation Status Report

Overall Summary

District: Review Team:
Date:

1. Focus on Educational Improvement
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
2. Staff Involvement in the Teacher Evaluation Process
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
3. Philosophy and Purposes of Teacher Evaluation
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
4. Accountability Relationships
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval () Disapproval
5. Evaluation Criteria
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
6. The Classroom Observation Process
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
7. Developing the Professional Growth Plan
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
8. Teacher Self-Evaluation
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
9. The Evaluation Period
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
10. Information Included in the Teacher Evaluation
Process
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
11. Coordination with the Induction of Intern Teachers
Overall assessment: ( ) Approva! ( ) Conditional

approval ( ) Disapproval
12. Intensive Assistance for Experienced Teacher
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional

approval ( ) Disapproval
13. Procedures for Resolving Confligt
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval { } Conditional

approval ( ) Disapproval
14. Staff Developmeit for Teacher Evaluztion
Overall asscssment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional

approval ( ) Disapproval
15. Impact of the Teacher Evaluation Process

Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval
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General Comments:

Name: Title: -
Signed: Louisiana Department of Education (

Teacher Evaluation Status Report
Analysis by Guideline
1. Focus on Educational Improvement
Compliance criteria:
District’s philosophy and priority educational YNP
goals are related to the philosophy and purposes of
teacher evaluation

Teacher evaluation is related to goals for YNP
educational improvement at the district level
Teacher evaluation is related to goals for YNP

educational improvement at the school building level
Overall assessment: ( ) Approval ( ) Conditional
approval ( ) Disapproval

Comments:

{. .. .The remasining guidelines will be presented in this same format on the
subsequent pages of the Report . . .}

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

(Editor’s Note: The following Emergency Rule, which (
appeared on page 832 of the August 20, 1992 Louisiana s
Register, is being republished to correct a typographical er-
ror.)

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has exer-
cised the emergency provision of the Administrative Proce-
dure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt the following rule.

On July 1, 1992 the department published an emer-
gency rule expanding coverage under options provided for
under the Social Security Act. The emergency rule is being
redeclared to clarify the options which are being utilized in-
cluding Section 1905 coverage of Long Term Care Services
under the spend down medically needy program.

Section 4723 of Public law 101-508 authorizes states
to provide Medicaid health care coverage to individuals
whose incomes are in excess of federal limits based on pay-
ment of a premium equal to the income above the federal
income standard. Additionally, under Section 1905 of the So-
cial Security Act states may cover Long Term Care Services
for the medically needy whose incomes are reduced below
federal limits as a result of incurred medical expenses. Un-
der these statutory options, Medicaid of Louisiana is expand-
ing coverage to aged, blind, and disabled individuals in
nursing facilities whose incomes are above the federal CAP
of $1,266 per month but below the cost of care. While other
individuals may also benefit from this expansion of coverage,
this option will primarily benefit patients of nursing facilities
whose incomes are insufficient to cover the cost of care. It is <
projected that 300-500 nursing facility patients, currently re-
ceiving limited state funded insurance coverage will benefit
from this coverage expansion. While Medicaid expenditures




\
\

will increase by approximately $5 million per year, total state
expenditures will decline from savings in the cost providing
100 percent state funded reimbursement of incurred medical
expenditures. This emergency rule was effective July 1, 1992
and is being adopted to enhance federal funding through
refinancing of state expenditures. This rule is effective for the
maximum period allowed under R.S. 49:954(B) et seq.
EMERGENCY RULE

Individuals applying for Medicaid health care cover-
age who would otherwise be ineligible based on excess in-
come, shall be allowed to pay a premium equal to the
amount of income in excess of the maximum income autho-
rized to purchase Medicaid coverage in accordance with
Section 1903(f) of the Social Security Act and Louisiana’s
State Plan for Medicaid. Provision of Medicaid health care
coverage through premium purchase shall be governed by
all applicable federal guidelines and the state’s approved Ti-
tle XIX Plan Agreement with the Health Care Financing Ad-
ministration.

The state’s Medically Needy coverage shall include
Long Term Care Services provided by enrolled facilities.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, has exer-
cised the emergency provision of the Administrative Proce-
dure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt the following rule in the
Medical Assistance Program.

Mental Health Rehabilitation Services were adopted
as an optional part of the covered services provided by Medi-

_caid of Louisiana effective July 1, 1989. Recent interpreta-
tions by the Health Care Financing Administration regarding
the definition of these services requires that changes be
made to the program in order to comply with federal regula-
tions. This emergency rule is effective for the maximum per-
iod allowed under R.S. 49:954(B) et seq. It is estimated that
the cost of these programmatic changes will be $6 million.

EMERGENCY RULE

_ Effective September 8, 1992 the Bureau of Health
Services Financing shall define as Medicaid services, the
following mental health rehabilitation services for mentally ill
adults or emotionally disturbed children (as defined by Divi-

~sion of Mental Health) which are necessary to reduce the
disability resulting from mental illness and to restore the indi-
vidual to his/her best possible functioning level in the com-
munity:
I. Mental Health Rehabilitation Management
Mental health rehabilitation services must be provided
according to a mental health rehabilitation plan developed by
a licensed professional who is a QMHP, in conjunction with a
physician. The attending physician must document that the
recipient meets the definition of disability required to receive
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this service, and must order the rehabilitation services on a
mental health rehabilitation plan. A mental health rehabilita-
tion management agency coordinates and manages rehabili-
tation plans presented by referred recipients, and develops
initial plans for those clients referred without one. Mental
health rehabilitation management providers follow-up on
services provided to determine their effectiveness, and assist
the attending physician who must review the progress and
recertify the recipient for services at least quarterly. Manage-
ment providers are responsible for referral to other providers,
such as case management for the chronically mentally ill, if
the recipient has identified needs which are not treatable by
mental health rehabilitation services. Authorized services
must be medically necessary and reasonable in amount and
the management provider is responsible for the judicious
scheduling of them. Mental health rehabilitation manage-
ment services may be provided anywhere in the community.
The only excluded settings are mental institutions (including
distinct part psychiatric units). Services can be delivered in
any setting that is convenient for both the client and the staff
member, that affords an adequate therapeutic environment,
and that protects the client’s rights to privacy and confiden-
tiality. Mental health rehabilitation services are to be provided
within the limits set for each procedure (including some
which may be provided by more than one provider) and ac-
cording to the individual limits established in the rehabilita-
tion plan developed by the QMHP according to physician’s
orders. Services shall be billed per occurrence and reim-
bursement shall be at a negotiated rate established by the
Bureau of Health Services Financing based on prevailing
rates and the cost of the service.

Il. Mental Health Rehabilitation Counseling and

Therapy

Counseling and therapy involves a series of face-to-
face structured, time limited, and verbal interactions between
the counselor or therapist and person(s) receiving services.
The purpose is to attain goals and objectives specified in the
mental health rehabilitation plan. All counseling and therapy
is provided within the scope allowed by the license of the
respective mental health professions. This component of
mental health rehabilitation services also includes treatment
integration which is performed by para-professionals under
the direction of a QMHP. Services can be delivered in any
setting that is convenient for both the client and staff mem-
ber, that affords an adequate therapeutic environment, and
that protects the client’s rights to privacy and confidentiality.
The only excluded settings are hospitals. Mental health reha-
bilitation services are to be provided within the limits set for
each procedure (including some which may be provided by
more than one provider) and according to the individual lim-
its established in the rehabilitation plan developed by the
QMHP according to physician’s orders. Services shall be
billed per unit of time (except for consultations which are re-
imbursed on a per occurence basis) and reimbursement
shall be at a negotiated rate established by the Bureau of
Health Services Financing based on prevailing rates and the
cost of the service.

lll. Mental Health Rehabilitation Psychosocial Skills
Training

These paraprofessional services are provided by ap-
propriately trained and supervised staff to help integrate ther-
apeutic principles into the daily activities of the mental health
rehabilitation recipient. The purpose is to achieve the restora-
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tion, reinforcement and enhancement of the skills and/or
knowledge necessary for the person to achieve the maxi-
mum reduction of psychiatric symptoms, to increase the level
of his/her age appropriate and/or independent functioning,
and to successfully assimilate into the community. Mental
health rehabilitation services are to be provided within the
limits set for each procedure (including some which may be
provided by more than one provider) and according to the
individual limits established in the rehabilitation plan devel-
oped by the QMHP according to physician’s orders. These
services may be provided in a number of community set-
tings, only hospital settings are excluded. Services shall be
billed per unit of time (except for consultations which are re-
imbursed on a per occurence basis) and reimbursement
shall be at a negotiated rate established by the Bureau of
Health Services Financing based on prevailing rates and the
cost of the service.

IV. Medication Services

These professional rehabilitation support services are
provided to assess or monitor a person’s status in relation to
treatment with medication, to instruct the client, family, signif-
icant others or caregivers of the expected effects of therapeu-
tic doses of medications or to administer prescribed
medication when ordered by the supervising physician as
part of a mental health rehabilitation plan. Medication admin-
istration alone does not qualify as a mental health rehabilita-
tion service. It may be included in a rehabilitation plan only
when it is necessary to enable a recipient to make productive
use of other mental health rehabilitation services.

Mental health medication management services may
be provided anywhere in the community. The only excluded
settings are hospitals and nursing facilities. Services can be
delivered in any setting that is convenient for both the client
and staff member, that affords an adequate therapeutic envi-
ronment, and that protects the client’s rights to privacy and
confidentiality. Mental health rehabilitation services are to be
provided within the limits set for each procedure and accord-
ing to the individual limits established in the rehabilitation
plan developed by the QMHP according to physician’s or-
ders. Services shall be billed per occurence and reimburse-
ment shall be at a negotiated rate established by the Bureau
of Health Services Financing based on prevailing rates and
the cost of the service.

V. Mental Health Rehabilitation Crisis Services

These professional rehabilitation services are to pro-
vide immediate emergency intervention with the client, fam-
ily, legal guardian, and/or significant others to ameliorate a
client’s maladaptive emotional/behavioral reaction. Service
is designed to resolve the crisis and develop symptomatic
relief, increase knowledge of where to turn for help at a time
of further difficulty, and facilitate return to pre-crisis routine
functioning.

Crisis services may be provided anywhere in the com-
munity. The only excluded settings are hospitals. Services
can be delivered in any setting that is convenient for both the
client and staff member, that affords an adequate therapeutic
environment, and that protects the clients rights to privacy
and confidentiality. Mental health rehabilitation services are
to be provided within the limits set for each procedure. Crisis
services are not included in the mental health rehabilitation
plan, however, the use of physical restraint and medication
management must be authorized in advance by a physician,
and all crisis services must be reported to the recipient’s
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rehabilitation management provider for documentation in the
recipient’s record within 24 hours of being provided. Services
shall be billed per unit of time and reimbursement shall be at
a negotiated rate established by the Bureau of Health Serv-
ices Financing based on prevailing rates and the cost of the
service.

Standards for Participation

The provider of rehabilitation services for the mentally
ill adult or emotionally disturbed child (as defined by Division
of Mental Health) must:

A. enter into a provider agreement with the Bureau of
Health Services Financing, and abide by the provisions of
the Provider Agreement and other applicable state and fed-
eral regulations related to enroliment as a Medicaid provider;

B. must be certified as'a Comprehensive Community
Mental Health Services Provider by the Division of Mental
Health; or be licensed in the appropriate category to provide
the services by the Division of Licensing and Quality Assur-
ance of the Division of Social Services;

C. ensure that all rehabilitative services are provided
by or under the supervision of a Qualified Mental Health Pro-
fessional (QMHP) as defined by the Division of Mental Health
as follows:

1. a physician who is duly licensed to practice medi-
cine in the State of Louisiana and has completed an accred-
ited training program in psychiatry; or

2. a psychologist who is licensed as a practicing psy-
chologist under the provisions of state law; or

3. a social worker who holds a master’s degree in so-
cial work from an accredited school of social work and is a
board certified social worker under the provisions of R.S.
37:2701-2718; or

4. a nurse who is licensed to act as a registered nurse
in the state of Louisiana by the Board of Nursing and:

a. is a graduate of an accredited master’s level pro-
gram in psychiatric mental health nursing with two years ex-
perience; or has a master’s degree with two year’s of
supervised experience in the delivery of mental health serv-
ices; or

b. has four years of experience in the delivery of men-
tal health services; or

5. a licensed professional counselor who is licensed
as such under the provision of state law and has two years
experience in the delivery of mental health services; or

6. an individual with a master’s degree in a human
services field or education and two years of supervised expe-
rience in the delivery of mental health services; or

7. an individual with a baccalaureate degree in a hu-
man services field or education and four years of supervised
experience in the delivery of mental health services.

D. Ensure that services are provided in accordance
with a mental health rehabilitation plan approved by a li-
censed physician and a qualified mental health professional;

E. Ensure that sufficient records to document the re-
habilitative services being provided to the mentally ill adult or
emotionally disturbed child under this provision are main-
tained in accordance with state and federal regulations;

F. Comply with state and federal regulations regarding
the completion and submittal of cost reports and audit of
same.

G. Comply with state and federal regulations regard-
ing subcontracts.




Reimbursement

Reimbursement for rehabilitative services to mentally
ill adults or emotionally disturbed children shall be in accord-
ance with a negotiated rate per unit of time or a fee for serv-
ice established by the Bureau of Health Services Financing
based on prevailing rates and the cost of providing the serv-
ice. All services are reimbursable only when provided in ac-
cordance with a mental health rehabilitation plan approved
by a licensed physician and a qualified mental health profes-
sional, with the exception of crisis care services which may
be recommended by the qualified mental health professional
or physician on duty during the crisis.

Copies of this rule and all other Medicaid rules and
regulations are available at parish Offices of Family Security
for review by interested parties.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

Food Stamp Program

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, has exercised the emergency. provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt the
following rule effective September 1, 1992 in the Food
Stamp Program.

Emergency rulemaking was necessary to establish the
emergency food assistance program for victims of disaster in
Louisiana.

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, proposes to amend the Louisiana Administrative
Code, Title 67, Part lll, Subpart 3, Food Stamp Program.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part lll. Office of Family Support
Subpart 3. Food Stamps
Chapter 17. Administration
* ¥ ¥
Subchapter C. Emergency Food Assistance Program for
Disaster Victims

A. Under the authority of Section 5(h)(1) of the Food
Stamp Act of 1977 and 7 CFR Part 280, the Department of
Social Services, Office of Family Support, does hereby
establish an Emergency Food Assistance Program for Victims
of Disaster.

B. This program provides emergency food stamp
assistance to households in an area which has been included
in a food stamp disaster declaration. The secretary of the
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), or his designee,
determines the areas to be included in such a declaration, the
temporary eligibility standards, grant amounts, and duration
of the program. The public will be informed of said
determinations via potpourri notice in the Louisiana Register.

C. In order for a parish or community to be eligible for
inclusion in a food stamp disaster declaration, the following
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criteria must be met:

1. Normal commercial channels for food distribution
were disrupted by the disaster. :

2. Normal food distribution channels were restored.

3. The normal, ongoing Food Stamp Program is unable
to expeditiously handle the volume of households affected by
the disaster.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7
CFR 280 and Section 5(h){1) of the Food Stamp Actof 1977.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 18:

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt the fol-
lowing rule effective September 1, 1992 in the Individual and
Family Grant (IFG) Program.

Emergency rulemaking was necessary to amend the
maximum grant amount and the flood insurance amounts in
the Individual and Family Grant Program.

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, proposes to amend LAC 67:lil, Subpart 10 in the
Individual and Family Grant Program.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part lll. Office of Family Support
Subpart 10. Individual and Family Grant Program

Chapter 65. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing As-
sistance

Subchapter C. Need and Amount of Assistance

§6501. Maximum Grant Amount :

A. The maximum grant amount in the IFG Program for
federal fiscal year October 1991 through September 1992 is
$11,500.

B. The amount will be adjusted at the beginning of
each federal fiscal year to reflect changes in the Consumer
Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by the U. S.
Department of Labor. Notice of the applicable grant amount
changes will be published as potpourri in the Louisiana Reg-
ister.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
44 CFR 206.131 and F.R. 54:11610 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations
15:744, LR 18: (September 1989). '

§$6502. Flood Insurance

A. In order to be eligible for assistance under the IFG
Program, an individual or family must agree to purchase ade-
quate flood insurance and maintain such insurance for 3
years or as long as they live in the residence to which the
grant assistance relates, whichever is less.

B. For federal fiscal year October 1991 through Sep-
tember 1992, the dollar value of the required flood insurance
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policy for housing and personal property grants where the
applicant resides in a flood zone is $7,000 building and
$4,500 contents for a homeowner, and $11,500 contents for a
renter. ) '

C. These amounts will be adjusted at the beginning of
each federal fiscal year to reflect changes in the Consumer
Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by the U.S.
Department of Labor. Notice of the applicable flood insur-
ance amounts for housing and personal property will be pub-
lished as potpourri in the Louisiana Register.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
44 CFR 206.131 and F.R. 54:11610 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR
15:744 (September 1989), amended in LR 17:888 (Septem-
ber 1991).

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Transportation and Development
Crescent City Connection Division

The Department of Transportation and Development,
Crescent City Connection Division, has exercised the emer-
gency provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S.
49:953(B) to adopt the following rule effective August 21,
1992 for the passage of firemen and firefighting equipment
on and over the bridges and ferries operated by the Crescent
City Connection Division.

Emergency rule making is necessary to comply with
Act 1072 of 1992, to carry out a program to provide free an
unhampered passage of firemen and firefighting equipment
on and over all toll bridges and ferries.

EMERGENCY RULE
Purpose

All firemen shall have free and unhampered passage
on and over the Crescent City Connection bridges, the Gret-
na/Jackson Avenue ferry, the Algiers/Canal Street ferry and
the Lower Algiers/Chalmette ferry.

Procedure

A. All firemen as defined in R.S. 39:1991(A) shall
present for inspection by the toll collector, an identification
card containing a photographic picture of the fireman. The
identification card must be issued by the municipality, parish
or district as referred to in R.S. 39:1991(A).

B. All firemen shall sign a register at the toll booth or
station, and provide the name of agency, municipality, parish
or district for which they are employed or engaged.

C. After compliance with A and B above, free and un-
hampered passage will be granted to the fireman.

Alan J. LeVasseur
Executive Director
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Transportation and Development
Crescent City Connection Division

The Department of Transportation and Development,
Crescent City Connection Division, has exercised the emer-
gency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B) to adopt the following rule effective August 21,
1992 for the Student Vehicle Pass Program.

Emergency rule making is necessary to comply with
Act 904 of 1992, amending and reenacting R.S. 17:157, to
carry out a program to provide free passage of students who
operate vehicles over all toll bridges and ferries.

EMERGENCY RULE
Purpose

In addition to free passage of students in clearly
marked school busses as is now provided, any motorized
vehicle operated by a student, attending a secondary school,
shall have free passage over the Crescent City Connection
bridges, the Gretna/Jackson Avenue ferry, the Algiers/Canal
Street ferry, and the Lower Algiers/Chalmette ferry, during
the hours of 7 a.m. through 9:30 a.m., and 2:30 p.m. through
6 p.m., for traveling to and from school.

Application

A. A legal parent or guardian shall apply to the Cres-
cent City Connection Division for each student for each
school year, and shall certify to the following:

1. the address of the student’s domicile;

2. the address of the school attended by the student;

3. the student regularly operates a private vehicle to
travel to and from school;

4. the geographic location of the school in relation to
the student’s domicile requires travel across the facilities
stated in the above paragraph pertaining to purpose.

B. The principal, headmaster or administrator of the
school attended by the student, shall certify on the applica-
tion as to the enroliment of the student at the school and the
length of the school year.

Vehicle Passes

A. Upon approval of an application, the Crescent City
Connection Division shall issue vehicle passes for use by the
student.

B. The vehicle passes shall be for the personal use of
the student, while operating a motor vehicle, and are not
transferable.

C. The vehicle passes shall not be used for any other
purpose other than crossing the bridges or ferries for re-
quired attendance at school.

D. Lost, stolen or damaged passes will not be re-
placed.

Loss of Privilege

Any prohibited use of Student Vehicle Passes will
result in the loss of the privilege to obtain and use passes
and/or actions provided by law.

Alan J. LeVasseur
Executive Director
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Alligator Hunting Season, 1992

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the
declaration of emergency passed by the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission on July 7, 1992 which provides that the
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has the
authority to close, extend or reopen the season as biologically
justifiable, the opening and closing dates of the 1992 wild
alligator harvest season are hereby extended as follows:

September 10 through October 4, 1992.

This emergency adoption is necessary to allow department
biologists adequate time to assess the biological impacts of
Hurricane Andrew and perform all of the related activities
necessary to conduct a successful alligator harvest.

Joe L. Herring
Secretary

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Alligator Regulations (LAC 76:V.701)

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the
authority of R.S. 56:115, 259, 261, 262, 263 and 280, the
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission adopts the following
emergency rule as of September 3, 1992, amending and
reenacting Title 76, Chapter 7, Section 701.

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission finds that
imminent peril to the public welfare exists because the
present rule is no longer completely valid because of recent
legislative changes concerning the alligator program adopted
with the recent signing into law of HB923, HB1314 and
SB647, rulings of state courts, pending federal litigation and
concerns of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. These
changes could drastically impact a thriving $30 million
Louisiana industry if action is not immediately taken.
Implementation of the emergency rule will permit
uninterrupted continuation of this valuable renewable natural
resource program. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
does hereby authorize and delegate to the secretary of the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, the authority to take
any and all necessary steps on behalf of the commission to
renew this emergency declaration if needed to ensure the
final rule is promulgated, including but not limited to filing of
the fiscal and economic impact statements, the filing of the
notice of intent and preparation of reports and
correspondence to other agencies of government.
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Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part V. Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds
Chapter 7. Alligators
§701. Aliigator Regulations :

The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby
establish regulations governing the harvest of wild
populations of alligators and alligator eggs, raising and
propagation of farmed alligators tanning of skins and
regulations governing the selling of hides, alligator parts and
farm raised alligators. The administrative responsibility for
these alligator programs shall rest with the department
secretary; the assistant secretary, Office of Wildlife; and the
Fur and Refuge Division.

A. Purpose. These regulations are to govern the
taking, possession, selling, raising and propagation of
alligators statewide, both in the wild and in captivity. They
are enacted to prevent depletion or waste, while enhancing
utilization of this renewable resource. These regulations are
based upon scientific study and population monitoring and are
consistent with federal requirements to qualify alligators and
alligator parts from Louisiana for international export under
the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species
of Wild Fauna and Flora. Alligators in Louisiana are not
endangered but their similarity of appearance to endangered
crocodilian species requires controls on commerce to
minimize illegal trafficking of these species and to regulate
and maintain the wild population of alligators. These
regulations provide rules to enhance alligator -farming
operations; establish the methods of alligator harvest;

establish minimum facility requirements for alligator farming;
regulate commerce in alligators, eggs and parts; streamline
necessary reporting requirements; and, establish a regulated
nuisance alligator control program.

B. Definitions. The following words and phrases for
purposes of these regulations shall have the meaning ascribed
to them in this Section, unless the context wherein the
particular word or phrase is used clearly indicates a different
meaning:

Alligator
mississippiensis).

Alligatoi Egg Collection Permit — A permit issued by the
department allowing for the collection of alligator eggs on
designated properties described as part of the permit. The
permit will be signed by the secretary or his designee, the
permittee and the landowner/land manager.

Alligator Farm (nongame quadruped) — An enclosed
area, constructed so as to prevent the ingress and egress of
alligators from surrounding public or private lands or waters
and meeting other specifications and requirements set by the
department, where alligators are bred, propagated, or raised
as a commercial enterprise under controlled conditions.
"Alligator Farm" also includes alligator ranching wherein eggs
are collected from the wild, and raised, pursuant to
departmental license or permit.

Alligator Farmer — A properly licensed person who
raises alligators under controlled corditions which prohibit
free movement of the animals onto a2nd off of the farm or
controlled area, or who collects and seils wild alligator egygs,
and who may harvcst alligators under the supervision of the
department. An alligator farmer must possess a valid
nongame quadruped breeder’s license.

— American alligator (Alligator
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Alligator Hide Tag — An official CITES serially numbered
tag issued by the department.

Alligator Hunter — A properly licensed resident or
nonresident person who takes wild alligators. Resident
hunters are divided into four classes:

a. Commercial — Anyone who is licensed by the
department to take wild alligators after having filed
application(s) approved by the department which authorize
the issuance of alligator hide tags to him.

b. Helper — Anyone whao is licensed by the department
to assist a commercial hunter during alligator harvest
activities; alligator hide tags cannot be issued to a helper
license holder. .

¢. Sport — Anyone who is licensed by the department
and guided by a commercial hunter during alligator harvest
activities; alligator hide tags cannot be issued to a sport
license holder.

d. MNuisance — A licensed alligator hunter who is
contracted or otherwise selected by the department to
remove designated nuisance alligators and who can be
assigned alligator hide tags by the department.

Alligator Part — Any part of the carcass of an alligator,
except the hide and includes the bony dorsum plates, if
detached from the tagged alligator hide.

Alligator Parts Dealer — Any properly licensed person
who deals in alligator parts other than hides and who:

a. buys unprocessed alligator parts from an alligator
hunter, another parts dealer, or an alligator farmer for the
purpose of resale; or

b. manufactures within the state non-edible alligator
parts into a finished product; or

¢. purchases unprocessed alligator meat or processes
alligator meat for wholesale or retail sale.

Alligator Parts Retailer — Any properly licensed person
who' purchases for retail sale finished alligator- parts made
from parts other than hides.

Alligator Shipping Label — A serially numbered green
label issued by the department required on each shipment of
alligators being transported out of the state.

Bona Fide Resident —

a. Any person who has resided in the state of Louisiana
continuously during the 12 months immediately prior to the
date on which he applies for any license and who has
manifested his intent to remain in this state by establishing
Louisiana as his legal domicile, as demonstrated with all of
the following, as applicable:

i. If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in
Louisiana;

ii. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in
possession of a Louisiana driver’s license;

ii. if owning a motor vehicle located within Louisiana,
he is in possession of a Louisiana registration for that vehicle;

iv. if earning an‘income, he has filed a Louisiana state
income tax return and has complied with state income tax
laws and regulations.

b. As to a corporation or other legal entity, a resident
shall be any which is incorporated or otherwise organized
under and subject to the laws of Louisiana, and as to which
the principal place of business and more than 50 percent of
the officers, partners,  or employees are domiciled in
Louisiana.

Closed Season — That period of time of a calendar year
not specifically included in the open season.
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Commission — The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission.

Common Carrier — Any agency or person transporting
passengers or property of any description for hire.

Confiscation — The exercise of a right under the police
power wherein property is seized and held pending court
order if the seized material is nonperishable, or disposed of
without judicial intervantion if perishable.

Consumer — Restaurants and other places where
alligator, fish, shrimp, or other aquatic life is prepared for
human consumption; or any person using alligator, fish,
shrimp, or other aquatic life for bait or personal consumption.

Department — The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries.

Designated Collection Agent — Anyone who is
permitted by the department to assist an alligator egg
collection permittee during alligator egg collection.

. Dressing, Dressed Skins or Dressed Furs — (See
"Tanning").

Finished Alligator Part — Any non-edible alligator part
that has been completely processed from parts other than
hides for retail sale.

Fur Buyer — Anyone who buys whole nongame
quadrupeds for the purpose of pelting, carcasses of fur
bearing animals, raw furs or skins from fur trappers, alligator
hunters, alligator farmers, fur buyers, or fur dealers and who
sells to another fur buyer or fur dealer within the confines of
the state or to a nonresident fur dealer licensed by the state
of Louisiana in interstate commerce, or who acts as an agent
of another fur buyer or fur dealer in this state in such
purchase or sale. ‘Fur buyers are divided into two classes,
resident and nonresident. Resident fur buyers are those who
are bona fide residents of this state. All others are
nonresident fur buyers.

Fur Dealer — Anyone who deals in whole nongame
quadrupeds for the purpose of pelting, carcasses of fur
bearing animals, raw furs and skins and who:

a. buys from a fur trapper, alligator hunter, or alligator
farmer, either directly or indirectly, and ships or exports from
this state, either directly or indirectly, the raw furs and skins
so bought; or

b. buys from a fur buyer or other fur dealer and exports
from this state the raw furs and skins so bought; or

c. buys from a fur trapper, alligator hunter, alligator
farmer, fur buyer, or other dealer and sells such raw furs and
skins for manufacturing into a finished product in this state;
or ’

d. manufactures such furs and skins into a finished
product in this state, buying directly from a fur trapper,
alligator hunter, alligator farmer, fur buyer, or fur dealer; or

e. transports raw furs or skins into this state for the
purpose of sale within the state. Fur dealers are divided into
two classes, resident and nonresident. Resident fur dealers
are those who are bona fide residents of this state. All others
are nonresident fur dealers;

f. converts raw alligator skins through the tanning
process into finished or partially finished leather and/or
converts raw (green or dried) fur pelts into dressed furs ready
for manufacturing.

Hatchling — A young of the year alligator which is less {

than 23 inches in length.

Hide — (See "Pelt").

Hook — Any curved or bent device attached to a line or
pole for the purpose of taking alligators.

3
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Hunt — In different tenses, attempting to take.

ncubator -— An apparatus designed and used for the
primary purpose of incubating alligator eggs.

~ Land Manager — Any authorized person who represents
the landowner. _

Landowner — Any person who owns land which the
department has designated as alligator habitat.

Licensee — Any resident or nonresident lawful holder of
an effective license duly issued under the authority of the
department.

Nongame Quadruped — Alligators, beavers, bobcats,
coyotes, gray foxes, minks, muskrats, nutrias, opossums,
otters, raccoons, red foxes, skunks, and other wild
quadrupeds valuable for their furs or skins.

Nongame Quadruped Breeder — A person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising, exhibiting and
selling nongame quadrupeds on alligator or fur farms.

Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor — A person properly
licensed to engage in the business of raising and/or exhibiting
nongame quadrupeds.

Nonresident — Any person who is not a bona fide
resident as that term is defined by R.S. 56:8(12).

Nuisance Alligator — A specific (particular) alligator that
poses a threat to human life or property.

Open Season — That period of time set by the
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, during which
wild alligators or their eggs may be lawfully taken.

Out-of-State Shipping Seal — A special locking device
or seal supplied by the department and placed on or across a
shipping container by department personnel prior to shipping
out-of-state.

Out-of-State Shipping Tag — An official, serially
numbered tag, yellow in color, issued by the department
required on each shipment of alligator hides shipped out of
state.

Part — For purposes of this Section, a part is a division
of a subsection.

Pelt — The skin or hide of a quadruped.

Pelting — Removing the skin and/or fur of a quadruped
in such a manner as to render it marketable.

Person — Includes any individual person, association,
corporation, partnership, or other legal entity recognized by
law.

Pole Hunting — The act of taking an alligator from a den
with a hook pole or snagging device of any type and includes
using such devices to induce an alligator to move from a den
prior to taking.

Possess — In its different tenses, the act of having in
possession or control, keeping, detaining, restraining, or
holding as owner, or as agent, bailee, or custodian for
another.

Processed Alligator Part — Any part (and its resulting
products) that has been removed from a legally taken alligator
and for commercial purposes converted into a finished
alligator part, or meat prepared and packaged for retail sale.

Propagation — The holding of live alligators for
production of offspring.

Raising — The production of alligators under controlled
environmental conditions or in outside facilities.

Rearing — (See "Raising").

Resident — (See "Bona Fide Resident").

Secretary — The secretary of the Louisiana Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries.
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Skin — (See "Pelt").

Take — In its different tenses, the attempt or act of
hooking, pursuing, netting, capturing, snaring, trapping,
shooting, hunting, wounding, or killing by any means or
device.

Tanning — The conversion of alligator skins or fur pelts
into an intermediate or finished form and includes the
following: crust tanning alligator leather, dyeing alligator
leather, glazing alligator leather, tanning fur pelts, shearing fur
pelts, and dyeing fur pelts, and includes the dressing of skins
and furs.

Transport — In its different tenses, the act of shipping,
attempting to ship, receiving or delivering for shipment,
transporting, conveying, carrying, or exporting by air, land, or
water, or by any means whatsoever.

Wildlife — All species of wild vertebrates.

Wildlife Management Area -— Any area set aside,
maintained, and supervised by the department for the
purpose of managing and harvesting wild birds, wild
quadrupeds, fish and other aquatic life uncer controlled
conditions to afford maximum public hunting and fishing
opportunity. )

Wildlife Refuge — Any area set aside and designated by
the department as a refuge on which wild birds and animals
are protected. Control of certain forms of wildlife may be
conducted by the department.

C. General Rules '

1. No person shall take, possess, purchase or sell
alligators, alligator eggs, alligator hides, alligator parts, or
goods manufactured from alligators, except as provided in
these regulations and La. R.S. Title 56.

2. Each alligator, alligator hide, alligator egg, or alligator
part taken or possessed in violation of these regulations shall
constitute a separate offense.

3. Alligators or hides of alligators harvested in
Louisiana shall be tagged in accordance with provisions as
prescribed in Subsection F, Paragraph 5 of these regulations
and deviation from those requirements shall be a violation and
subject hides to confiscaiion. Violation of this Part is a class
4 violation as described in Title 56.

4. Pole hunting is prohibited. It is legal for a hunter to
retrieve a shot alligator with a hook pole or to retrieve witha
hook pole an alligator taken on a hook and line. Violation of
this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title 56.

5. An alligator hunter must possess on his person one
or more current alligator hide tags issued for the property on
which he is hunting; and if participating in a joint hunting
operation at least one licensed hunter needs to possess
current hide tags issued for the property on which they are
hunting among a group of licensed hunters who are physically
present in the same location. Violation of this Part is a class
2 violation as described in Title 56.

6. No person shall release any alligator from any taking
device for any purpose without first dispatching the alligator.
After the alligator is removed from the taking device the hide
tag shall be properly attached immediately upon possession.
Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title
56.

7. Taking or collection of any wild alligator illegally is
strictly prohibited. Violation of this Part is a Class 4 violation
for each alligator taken as described in Title 56. All alligators
taken in violation of this Part shall be confiscated and in
addition to all other penalties provided herein, all alligator
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licenses of any type held by the offender(s) shall be revoked
for a period of three calendar years. If violation(s) of this Part
involves a farm operation, no alligators shall be raised or
propagated on the offender’s facilities for a period of three
calendar years. Any live alligator(s) confiscated pertinent to
any violation of this Part must be returned to the wild when
appropriate. Selection of the release site and timz of year of
the release shall be accomplished only after consultation with
and in agreement with biological staff of Fur and Refuge
Division. :

8. The shipment of alligator eggs out of state is
prohibited except where special scientific permits have been
obtained in advance from the department which specify all
such shipments. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

9. Transportation of alligator(s) into this state without
prior written approval of the department is strictly prohibited.
Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title
56.

10. It is unlawful to ship a'ligator eggs into the state of
Louisiana unless they are tc be used for department-
sponsored scientific studies and these shipments shall have
prior written department approval. Violation of this Part is a
class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

11. The shipment of live alligators or alligator eggs out
of the United States is strictly prohibited unless they are used
for department-sponsored scientific studies with an
accompanying authorization signed by the secretary. The
transfer of ownership of live alligators out of their natural
range for commercial purposes is strictly ~prohibited.
However, this Part does not prohibit a licensed Louisiana
alligator farm from raising alligators of Louisiana origin in a
non-range siate provided the non-range farm is in complete
compliance with all applicable state(s) and federal regulations.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title
56.

12. There is levied a severance tax of $.25 on each
alligator hide taken from within the state, payable to the state
through the department by the alligator hunter or alligator
farmer shipping or taking his own catch out of state, or by
the dealer shipping skins or hides out of state or tanning
alligator skins in Louisiana. Violation of this Part is a class 2
violation as described in Title 56.

13. An alligator hunter or alligator farmer may give
alligator parts to anyone for personal use. Any part of an
alligator shall have affixed thereto the name, address, date,
hide tag number, and the license number of the person
donating the alligator part(s). This information shall be legibly
written in pen or pencil on any piece of paper or cardboard or
any material which is attached to the part(s) or to the
container enclosing the part or parts. This information must
remain affixed untid the part(s) has been stored at the
domicile of the possessor. Violation of this Part is a class 2
violation as described in Title 56.

14. a. R.S. 56:280, passed in the regular session of
the 1992 Louisiana Legislature established a state policy
which protects white or albino alligators and except under
department permit prohibits the taking of white or albino
alligators from the wild.

b. Conditions under which any alligator that is white or
albino may be taken from the wild and under official
department permit include:

i. Landowners or licensed alligator farmers or ranching
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operators may capture live and unharmed a white or albino
alligator for its own protection. All such instances of
possession shall be reported immediately to the department.

ii. Any white or albino alligator hatchling produced from
wild collected eggs authorized by a department Alligator Egg
Collection Permit will remain in the possession of such
licensed operators. Any white or albino hatchling must be
reported immediately upon hatching to the department on a
standard activity report form.

iii. Any person who unintentionally takes from the wild
any alligator that is white or albino by hook and line shall
immediately report its presence and location to the
department. Department personnel of the Fur and Refuge
Division will on a case-by-case basis determine the disposition
of any such white or albino alligator which is unintentionally
hooked.

c. Any white or albino hatchling produced from a
licensed breeding pen will remain in the possession of such
licensed operators but must be reported immediately upon
hatching to the department on a standard activity report.

d. It shall be a violation if any person intentionally takes
from the wild any alligator that is white or albino by any
means. _

e. Violation of R.S. 56:280 shall subject the violator to
a fine of not less than $10,000 and imprisonment for not less
than six months or more than 12 months, or both.

15. Alligator meat and parts may be shipped in
containers that are sesaled and the parts identified to the
CITIES tag of origin. A fully executed alligator hunter, farmer,
or parts dealer Alligator Parts Sale or Transaction form shall
meet the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service parts identification
requirements, provided such form(s) is/are prominently
attached to the outside of each shipping container. Alligator
meat/parts shipped o another state must meet applicable
state/federal requiremznts of the receiving state. Alligator
meat/parts exported from the United States must meet the
requirements of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service as well as
those of the receiving country. Alligator skulls being exported
shall carry a "tag” containing the CITIES tag number and the
hunter’s name and license number. The skull must also be
physically marked with the number of the original CITIES tag
used for the hide of the individual alligator. Violation of this

Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

D. Licenses, Permits and Fees

1. The licenses and fees required for activities
authorized by these regulations are as prescribed under
provisions of Title 56, or as prescribed in these regulations,
and are:

a. $25 for a resident alligator hunter’s license; including
commercial, helper, sport, and nuisance types;

b. $150 for a nonresident alligator hunter’s license;

c. $25 for a resident fur buyer’s license;

d. $100 for a nonresident fur buyer’s license;

e. $150 for a resident fur dealer’'s license ($500
deposit required);

f. $300 for a nonresident fur dealer’s license ($1,000
deposit required);

g. $10 for a nongame quadruped exhibitor’s license;

h. $25 for a nongame quadruped breeder’s license;

i. $50 for a alligator parts dealer license;

j. $5 for a alligator parts retailer license;

k. $4 for each alligator hide tag;

. $4 for each whole alligator leaving the state as
alligator shipping label fee;




m. $0.25 severance tax for each alligator hide taken
from within the state;

n. $25 for a Designated Agent Ccllection Permit.

All license types prescribed above except nongame
quadruped exhibitor and breeder expire annually on June 30.
Nongamie quadruped exhibitor and breeder licenses expire
annually on December 31.

2. No person may take, attempt to take, or possess a
wild alligator in this state during the open season for taking
wild alligators unless he or sihz has acquired and possesses an
alligator hunter’s license. An alligator hunter must have in
possession a valid alligator hunter license to take or sell
alligators, their skins, or parts. Violation of this Part is a class
3 violation as describad in Titie 56.

3. No person may engags in the tusiness of buyirg and
selling alligators or alligator skins unless he has acquired a
resident or nonresident fur buyer’s license. No resident or
nonresident fur buyer shall ship furs, alligators, or zlligator
skins out of state. Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation
as described in Title 56.

4. No person may engage in the business of buying and
selling alligator or alligator skins or shipping alligator skins out
of state or tanning alligator skins within the state unless he
has acquired a resident or nonresident fur dealers license.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation.

5. No person may engage in the business o1 raising
and/or exhibiting alligators unless he or she has acquired and
possesses a valid nongame quadruped exhibitor license.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as describe: in Title
56.

6. No person may engage in the business ov raising,
breeding, collecting and selling alligator eggs from the wild,
propagating, exhibiting and selling alligators alive or selling
their parts, and killing and transporting them and selling their
skins and carcasses unless he or she has acquired and
possesses a valid nongame quadruped breeder licensz and
complies with Subsections N and O of these regulations.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title
56.

7. No person shall engage in the business of buying
and selling unprocessed alligator parts unless he has acquired
and possesses a valid alligator parts dealer’s license.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title

56.

8. Each retailer purchasing for retail sale, finished
alligator parts made from parts other than hides, shall secure
from the department an alligator parts retailer license prior to
commencing business. Violation of this Part is a class 2
violation as described in Title 56.

9. No person shall remove and possess alligator eggs
from wild nests unless he has acquired and possesses a valid
nongame quadruped breeder license or a valid Designated
Agent Collection Permit and also has in his possession a valid
alligator egg collection permit. Egg collection permits will
only be issued to those persons who demonstrate
competency in egg collection and handling, have necessary
equipment accessible and comply with all department
requirements as described in Subsection N of these
regulations. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

10. No person shall ship or transport alligaters out of
the state without first applying for and receiving an alligator
shipping label which shall be affixed to each shipment of
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alligators and is properly completed and validated by
department personnel. Violation of this Part is a class 3
violation as described in Title 6.

11. Every alligator hunter or alligator farmer shipping or
transporting his own catch of alligator skins out of state is
liable for the severance tax thereon, and shall apply for an
official out-of-state shipping tag to be attached to the
shipment and shall pay the severance tax prior to shipment.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title
56.

12. Valid holders of alligator hunter license, nongame
quadruped breeder license, fur dealers license and alligator
parts dealer license must comply with the receiving
state/country requirements and with federal licensing, tagging
and permit requirements to engage in interstate and
international commerce involving alligators, alligator hides,
alligator parts and fully manufactured alligator hide products.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title
56.

E. Wild Harvest Methods v

1. Alligators taken from the wild may be removed from
hook and line, and other legal capture devices which may be
used, only during daylight hours, between official sunrise and
official sunset. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

2. There are no size restrictions on wild all‘gators taken
during the general open season.

3. Legal methods for taking alligators in tha wild are as
follows:

a. hook and line;

b. long (including compound) bow and barbed arrow;
and

c. firearms.

Violation of this Part is a class 2 violaticn as described
in Title 56.

4. Hooks and arrows may be used only when a line of
at least 300-pound test is securely attached to the hook or
head of the arrow in such a manner to pravent separation
from the hook or head until the carcass is retrieved. The
other end of the line must be attached to a stationary or
floating object capable of maintaining the line above water
when an alligator is attached. Violation of this Part is a class
2 violation as described in Title 56.

5. Alligator hunters shall inspect their hooks and lines
and remove captured alligators daily. Alligators shall not be
cut loose from hooks and lines for the purpose of selecting
larger alligators. All hooks and lines shall be removed when
an alligator -hunter’s quota is reached. In the event an
alligator is hooked and the hunter’s quota has been reached
the hunter must release the alligator in the most humane
method pcssible. Viclation of this Part is a class 2 violation
as described in Title 56.

6. Baited hooks and lines may be set no more than 24
hours prior to the general open season and shall be removed
no later than sunset of the last day of the open season.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title
56.

7. No person possessing alligator hide tags issued for
privately-owned land or water may take alligators on adjacent
publicly-owned water unless the taking device is anchored to
privately-owned land or the person is on privately-owned land
when the taking occurs, provided that any alligator captured
on a legal taking device that is anchored to privately-owned
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land or held by a person on private|y-owned land may be
dispatched from a floating craft on public water. Violation of
this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title 56.

8. A person possessing alligator hide tags for publicly-
owned areas may take alligators by legal means from a
floating craft on public water for which the tags are issued.

F. Alligator Hide Tag Procurement and Tagging
Requirements )

1. Alligator hide tags may be obtained as follows and
only to properly licensed alligator hunters and nongame
quadruped breeders. :

2. Landowners, Land Managers and Hunters - upon
application to the department on forms provided for tag
issuance. Applications for alligator tag allotments will be
taken annually beginning August 1 and ending 10 days after
the season opens. Tags will not be issued after the tenth day
following the season opening date.

a. Maximum tag issuance to individual landowners,
land managers, or their hunters shall be determined solely by
the department. Landowners, land managers, or their hunters
shall certify total acreage owned or represented on a form
prescribed by the department at the time of application. The
location and acreage of the property must be provided which
includes parish, township, range and section delineation
figures. i

b. Land managers and hunters must present a notarized
document from the landowner verifying their selection to
represerit' that landowner and the total acreage represented
to obtain hide tags.

c. Payment for all alligator tags shall be received by the
department prior to issuance. Numbered alligator hide tags
shall only be issued in the name of the license holder and are
nontransferable. A refund will be issued for all unused
alligator tags which are returned within 15 days following the
close of the season.

3. Alligator farmers - upon request and receipt of
payment to the department at any time at least two weeks
prior to scheduled harvesting, subject to verification of
available stock by department personnel. A refund will be
issued for all unused alligator tags returned to the department
within 15 days following the last day of the year that issued
tags are valid.

4. If an alligator hunter is cited for hunting alligators
out of season, or at night, or on property other than that for
which hide tags were issued, all unused -hide tags and
alligators in possession shall be confiscated and the violator’s
alligator hunting license shall be revoked. Violation of this
Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

5. A hide tag shall be properly attached and locked
using the tag’s locking device in the alligator’s tail
immediately upon possession by an alligator hunter. Alligator
farmers, fur buyers and fur dealers may wait until farm raised
alligators are skinned prior to tagging, but under no
circumstances can the tag be attached using the locking
device more than 48 hours after dispatching the alligator.
Live or dead farm raised alligators may be transported with
their accompanying tags from a licensed alligator farm to a
licensed processing facility, however, each shipment shall be
accompanied with the exact number of alligator hide tags. In
the event that an alligator tag contains a factory defect
rendering it unusable for the purpose intended or becomes
detached from an alligator or hide, the tag must be reattached
to the tail of the alligator/hide. The department will be
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responsible for the replacement of reattached tags prior to
shipping out-of-state or prior to tanning within the state. It
shall be unlawful to tag or attempt to tag an allicator with a
tag that has been locked prior to the taking. Locked tags
may be replaced upon request at the discretion of the
department. The alteration of hide tags is strictly prohibited
and will result in the confiscation of ail tags and
alligators/hides and the revocation of the violator’s alligator
hunting license. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

6. In the event that an alligator hide tag cannot be
located when in the possession of a buyer/dealer, then the
followirg procedure shall be followed:

a. Following discovery of an untagged alligator or
alligator hide by the buyer/dealer, they shail notify the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Fur and Refuge Division
within 24 nours and the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
will place a state tagging device on the alligator or alligator
hide.

b. Upen discovery of an untagged alligator or alligator
hide by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries personnel, such
personnel shall place a state tagging device on the alligator or
alligator hice.

c. The state tagged alligator or alligator hide will remain
in the possession of the buyer/dealer following the placement
of the state tagging device until such time as the hide tag is
located or until December 31st of that year, whichever comes
first. Upon presentation of the missing hide tag and the
corresponding buyer/dealer record which documents a match
between the tag number and the alligator/hide being held, and
if the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries then confirms that
such tag number has not been previously shipped, the
department of Wildlife and Fisheries shall attach a
replacement alligator hide tag. ‘

d. If the buyer/dealer does not locate the missing hide
tag following the placement of the state tagging device by
the end of the allotted time period but is able to identify the
tag number on a Department of Wildlife and Fisheries issued
or approved buyer/dealer record which documents a match
between the tag number and the skin being held, and if the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries then confirms that
subject tag number has not been previously shipped, the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries may, in its discretion,
issue a replacement alligator hide tag.

e. The failure of the buyer/dealer to produce the correct
hide tag and/or correct documentation by the end of the
allotted time period shall constitute a violation of this part.

f. The previous or subsequent attachment to an
alligator or alligator hide of the missing hide tag as described
above shall constitute a violation of this part.

g. Violation of this part is a Class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

G. Open Season, Open Areas, and Quotas

1. Open seasons are as follows.

a. The general open season for taking alligators in the
wild may be established annually by the commission at their
regular July meeting. The secretary shall be authorized to
close, extand, delay, or reopen the season as biologically
justifiable.

b. Nuisance control hunters may take nuisance
alligators at any time as prescribed by the department.

c. Farm-raised alligators may be taken at any time
following the issuance of hide tags by the department.




d. The open season for collection of alligator eggs from
the wild shall be from May 15 through September 1 of each
calendar year. Violation of this Subpart is a class 4 violation
as described in Title 56.

2. The open areas are as foliows.

a. For the general open season, those areas designatad
by the biological staff of the department as a'ligetor habitat
and which can sustain an alligator harvest.

b. The department may select public lakes and lands
for an experimental alligator hunting program. The harvest
will be controlled by a tag aliotment for each lake as
determined by department personnel. Applicants for public
lake hunting must be 16 years of age or older. Applications
must be received at least 10 deys prior to the season opening
date. A public drawing will be keld to select hunters. An
alligator hunter can receive tags for and hunt on only one
public lake per seasor. The tag quota for each lake and
hunter will be established by the biological staff of the
department. Alligator tags issued on public lakes and lands
are nontransferable.

c. Wild alligators in the remainder of the state may be
taken only under provisions as prescribed by the department.

d. The open alligator egg collection season shall be
those areas designated by the biological staff of the
department as alligator habitat which can sustain an egg
collection harvest and egg quotas will be determined by
department biologists.

3. The daily and season quota is equal to the number
of valid alligator hide tags that a licensed alligator hunter
possesses. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

4. Non resident aliigator hunters may only take three
alligators during the open season. Vio'ation of this Part is a
class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

5. Harvest rates will be calculated annually by
department personnel based on biological data. Alligator hide
tag allotments will be established prior to issuanze of alligator
hunting licenses.

H. Possession

1. No person shall possess alligators or alligator hides
in Louisiana without valid official tags properly attached in the
tail using the locking device as prescribed in Subsection F,
Paragraph 5. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

2. Alligator farmers may request hide tags or shipping
labels from the department to be used on farm-raised
alligators that have died and may hold those alligators in
freezers until receipt of the requested hide tags or shipping
labels. These alligators may be held in freezers for a
maximum of 60 days prior to disposal. All alligators 24
inches and greater in length that die may be skinned and
tagged with an alligator hide tag within 48 hours of death.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title
56.

3. No person other than a licensed alligator hunter,
licensed alligator farmer, licensed fur buyer or licensed fur
dealer may possess a tagged or labeled alligator, a tagged
raw or salted hide of an alligator at any time, provided that
legally documented tagged or labeled alligators or tagged
hides may be possessed without license while in transit, or
during processing for tanning or taxidermy. However,
properly tagged and documented alligators or hides may be
stored at any location at the owner’s discretion. Violation of
this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

4. No person other than a licensed alligator farmer or
licensed nongame quadruped exhibitor shall possess live
alligators at any time other than by a permit issued by the
department upon request for use in displays and educational
purposes, and by holders of valid department issued permits
for scientific purposes. Live, farm-raised alligators and their
accompanying alligator hide tags may be held for processing
by a properly licensed alligator skinning facility without a
license or permit. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation
as described in Title 56.

5. No person other than a licensed alligator farmer or
licensed nongame quadruped exhibitor shall possess alligator
€ggs at any time other than department permitted designated
collection agents assisting a licensed and permitted alligator
farmer during wild egg collection, or a holder of a valid
department issued permit for scientific purposes. Violation of
this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

6. Any alligators hatched from scientific permits issued
by the department shall be returned to the wild under
departmental supervision following completion of the research
project.  Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as
described in Title 56. ) :

I. Importation, Exportation, Purchase, and Sale

1. Alligators, alligator hides {raw or salted), or parts of
alligators, may be brought into the state only if the alligators,
alligator hides or parts of alligators were lawfully taken in
another state or country and the person, firm or corporation
bringing the alligators, alligator hides (raw or salted), or
alligator parts intc the state has obtained written permission
from the department. Violation of this Part is a class 4
violation as described in Title 56.

2. Ali alligators, alligator hides (raw or salted), or parts
of alligators possessed, sold, purchased, exported, imported,
or brought into the state from another state shall be
accompanied by documented evidence that they were
lawfully taken. Documented evidence shall consist of, but
not be limited to:

a. aresource user license or permit number allowing
the taking of alligators and tags or other identification
required by the state cr country of origin shall be firmly
attached to the alligator, alligator hide, or parts of alligators;
and

b. a tag or labei is affixed to the outside of any
package or container of alligators, alligator hides, or alligator
parts that specifies type of contents, indicates quantity
contained, and lists applicable license or permit numbers.

Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described
in Title 56. S

3. Purchases of alligators, alligator hides, alligator eggs,
and alligator parts are restricted as follows.

a. A licensed alligator hunter may not purchase
alligators or alligator hides from anyone.

b. Alicensed fur buyer may purchase whole alligators
or alligator hides from a Louisiana licensed alligator hunter,
licensed alligator farmer, licensed fur dealer, or another fur
buyer.

c. Alicensed fur dealer may purchase whole alligators
or alligator hides from a licensed -alligator hunter, licensed
alligator farmer, fur buyer or another fur dealer.

d. A licensed alligator farmer may purchase live
alligators only from another licensed alligator farmer (with a
department-approved Alligator Transfer Authorization Permit)
or the department.
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e. An alligator farmer may purchase alligator eggs only
from another alligator farmer, a landowner/land manager
(with an approved department alligator egg collection permit),
or the department.

f. A licensed alligator parts dealer may purchase
alligator parts from a licensed alligator hunter, alligator
farmer, another alligator parts dealer, or the department.

g. A licensed alligator parts retailer may purchase
finished alligator parts for retail sales.

4. Sales of alligators, alligator eggs, and alligator parts
are restricted as follows:

a. A licensed alligator hunter may sell alligators,
alligator hides, or alligator parts taken by the licensee during
the general open season to anyone who may legally purchase.

b. A licensed alligator farmer may sell alligators,
alligator-eggs, alligater hides, or alligator parts to anyone who
may legally purchase. The sale of alligator eggs or live
alligators shall only occur following the issuance of a Transfer
Authorization Permit. Application for the permit shall be
made at least two weeks prior to the transfer.

c. A licensed fur buyer may sell whole alligators or
alligator hides to a fur dealer or another fur buyer within the
confines of the state.

d. A licensed fur dealer may sell whole alligators or
alligator hides to anyone who may legally purchase.

e. A licensed alligator parts dealer may sell alligator
parts, other than hides, to anyone.

f. A licensed alligator parts retailer may sell finished
alligator parts to anyone.

5. Legally tagged and documented alligators, alligator
hides, and parts of alligators taken in Louisiana may be
shipped out of state or exported by alligator hunters, alligator
farmers, fur dealers and alligator parts dealers subject to
Subsection K of these regulations (relating to report
requirements) provided that no live alligators or eggs
originating in Louisiana may be exported outside of their
natural range without specific department authorization and
the concurrence of the United States Fish and Wildlife
Service, to be used only for scientific purposes. Violation of
this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

6. A special permit is required of anyone who sells
alligator eggs, or live alligators. Violation of this Part is a
class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

J. Nuisance Alligator Control

1. Nuisance alligator hunters will be selected by the
department with proper screening by enforcement personnel
in the region of appointment. Selection may be based upon
recommendations received from the local governing body.
Applicants with prior alligator hunting violations will be
rejected.

2. Nuisance alligator hunters shall purchase a valid
alligator hunter license and are bound by all laws, rules and
regulations governing alligator hunting with the exception that
nuisance alligators may be taken at anytime.

3. Nuisance alligator complaints will be verified by
department personnel prior to being approved for removal.

4. Tags will be issued to nuisance alligator hunters.
Nuisance alligator hunters will attempt to catch nuisance
alligators and relocate to natural habitat selected by the
department. It is unlawful for any nuisance alligator captured
alive to be sold or otherwise disposed of on an alligator farm.
Alligators and alligator parts taken under these provisions may
be retained and sold by the nuisance alligator hunter as any
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other legally taken wild alligator or alligator part. Violation of
this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

5. Nuisance alligator hunters may take alligators by any
means prescribed by the department. Failure to comply with
departmental instructions may result inimmediate termination
of the individual’s participation in the nuisance ailigator
program. . Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as
described in Title 56.

K. Report Requirements

1. Report forms provided by or approved by the
department must be completed and filed with the department
by all persons who have been issued an aligator hunter’s
license, fur buyer’s license, fur dealer’s license, nongame
quadruped exhibitor’s license, nongame quadruped breeder’s
license, alligator parts dealer’s license, or alligator egg
collection permitin accordance with this Subsection. Reports
shall include but not be limited to the information specified in
this Subsection.

2. Alligator nunters receiving hide tags from the
department are respcnsible for disposition of all issued tags
and must:

a. complete ar. official alligator parts transaction form
furnished by or apprcved by the department at the time of
each alligator part transaction. These forms shall be
submitted to the department at the end of the calendar year;

b. complete an official lost tag form, furnished by the
department for any hide tags lost or stolen. These forms
shall be submitted to the department within 15 days
following the close of the season. Lost or stolen tags will not
be replaced;

c. all unused tags must be returned to the department
within 15 days following the clos¢ of the season. Tag fees
will only be reimbursed during this specific time period;

d. the department must be notified of any trophy skins
not sold to commercial buyers or dealers within 30 days
following the close of the season, on official forms provided
by or approved by the department;

e. each licensed alligater hunter selling alligator parts
to a person or a restaurant shall provide that person with a
bill of sale for each transaction;

f. all records of commercial transactions involving
alligator parts by alligator hunters shall be available for
inspection by the department.

Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described
in Title 56.

3. A nuisance alligator hunter shall. comply with the
same report requirements as a commercial alligator hunter
and complete any other reports required by the department.
Violation of this requirement shall result in immediate
termination of nuisance alligator hunter status. Violation of
this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title 56.

4. Alligator farmers receiving hide tags from the
department are responsible for disposition of all issued tags
and must:

a. complete an official alligator parts transaction form,
furnished by or approved by the department at the time of
each alligator parts transaction. These forms shall be
submitted to the department along with the annual report.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title
56;

b. complete an official lost tag form, furnished by the
department, for any hide tags lost or stolen. These forms
shall be submitted to the department within 15 days
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following the last day of the year that issued tags are valid.
Lost or stolen tags will not be replaced. Violation of this Part
is a class 2 violation as described in Title 56.

c. all unused hide tags must be returned to the
department within 15 days following the last day of the year
that issued tags are valid.  Violation of this Part is a class 3
violation as described in Title 56.

d. each alligator farmer shall report annually, no later
than December 1, on an official form provided by the
department, all activities that have occurred on the farm for
the past year including but not limited to the number of live
alligators as of that date, separated by sizes, the number of
eggs collected and hatched, the purchase and sale of
alligators, hides, and parts for the past year and the numbers
of alligators lost. Failure to complete this form properly and
completely will result in nonrenewal of the nongame
quadruped breeder’s license. Violation of this Part is a class
3 violaticn as described in Title 56;

e. each licensed alligator farmer selling alligator parts
to a person or a restaurant shall furnish that person with a bill
oi sale for each transaction. Violation of this Part is a class
2 violation as described in Title 56;

f. each alligator farmer collecting alligator eggs,
hatching alligator eggs, seliing alligators for processing, or
selling alligator skins shall submit completed forms as
provided by the department within 10 days following
completion of the activity. Violation of this Part is a class 3
violation as described in Title 56.

5. Fur buyers, fur dealers, alligator farmers and alligator
hunters engaged in the business of buying and/or selling
whole alligators or alligator hides must keep within the state
a complete record on forms provided by or approved by the
department, all purchases and sales of whole alligators or
alligater hides as described in Title 56, and;

a. every fur buyer, fur dealer, alligator farmer or
alligater hunter having undressed alligator hides in his
possession shall file with the department within 60 days of
purchase or within 60 days of tagging or prior to shipping out
of state or prior to tanning skins in Louisiana, whichever
occurs first, a complete report, on forms provided by or
approved by the cepartment, a detailed description of alligator
hides to be shipped or tanned. At the time of shipment or
prior to tanning, department personnel will inspect hides and
replace any broken or reattached tags. Department personnel
will issue the appropriate number of yellow shipping tags, one
for each shipment. At that time, department personnel will
affix a seal/or locking device to each container and if
container is reopened by anyone other than department
personnel or federal personnel this action will be considered
illegal.  In conjunction with the inspection and prior to
department issuance of shipping tag(s) and seal(s) or locking
device(s), department personnel must collect:

i. all completed buyer/dealer records for skins in each
shipment;

ii. shipping manifest including each skin in shipment;

iii. stub portion of yellow shipping tag completely filled-
out;

iv. severance tax owed by alligator hunter, alligator
farmer or fur dealer.

If any of the above requirements are not satisfied, the
shipment will not be authorized.

Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described
in Title 56.
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6. Fur dealers engaged in the business of buying and
selling alligator hides must maintain complete records of
alligator hides purchased inside and outside the state as
described in Title 56. Fur dealers in the business of tanning
alligator hides must provide a monthly report, on forms
provided by or approved by the department, of all alligator
hides being held in inventory. Failure to maintain complete
records and to pay the required severance tax subjects any
dealer to the full penalties provided and the immediate
revocation of his license by the department. No license shall
be issued to a dealer who has not paid the tax for the
preceding year. Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as
described in Title 56.

7. Alligator parts dealers acquiring alligator parts, shall
complete an official alligator parts purchase form at the time
of each purchase. Alligator parts dealers selling alligator
parts, shall complete an official alligator parts sale form at the
time of each sale. These forms shall be furnished by or
approved by the department and shali be submitted to the
department annually, no later than Jurie 30, and;

a. alligator parts dealers shall furnish a bill of sale to
anyone purchasing alligator parts.

b. the records of transactions involving alligator parts
shall be available for inspection by the department and shall
be maintained complete for a period of one year following any
transaction.

Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described
in Title 56. n

8. Any alligator parts retailer purchasing finished
alligator parts shall maintain a bill of sale for each purchase
for a period of six months after such purchase and these
records shall be available for inspection by the department.
Violation of this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title
56.

L. Alligator Meat

1. Alligator meat from lawfully taken alligators can only
be sold according to state and federal laws, Louisiana
Department of Health and Hospitals regulations and Louisiana
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission regulations. Violation of
this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

2. Alligator meat processed in the State of Louisiana
and sold for human consumption must be processed in a
licensed facility approved by the Louisiana Department of
Health and Hospitals and the facility must display a valid
permit issued by that agency. Violation of this Part is a class
2 violation as described in Title 56.

3. All processed alligator meat for sale must be
packaged in suitable containers which identifies the contents
as alligator meat, marked with a valid department license
number and comply with all state and federal packaging and
labeling requirements. Violation of this Part is a class 2
violation as described in Title 56.

4. All alligator meat shipped into the state and being
offered for sale must meet all of Louisiana’s health,
processing, packaging and labeling requirements. Violation of
this Part is a class 2 violation as described in Title 56.

M. Disposal of Alligators by the Department

1. The department may sell alligators, alligator eggs or
parts of alligators taken for any purpose deemed necessary
for proper management of the species pursuant to Title 56.

2. The department may dispose of alligators, alligator
eggs, or parts of alligators by donation or lending to a
scientific institution or other institutions that the department
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deems have need for such alligators, however, these
institutions cannot sell or barter these animals which must be
returned to the department at the conclusion of the program
or need.

3. Confiscated alligator hides and parts may be
destroyed by the department pending the outcome of the
criminal trial.

4. Confiscated alligator eggs or live alligators may be
sold or may be cared for by the department and released in
suitable alligator habitat when and where they can survive
when appropriate. All costs incurred by the department in
the maintenance of these eggs and animals in captivity shall
be the responsibility of the offender and restitution shall be
made to the department. The department may consign
confiscated alligators to a licensed farm for raising purposes
and may compensate the farmer for his expenses by
transferring ownership to him of a percentage of the
confiscated alligators; not to exceed 50 percent.

N. Alligator Egg Collection

1. Alligator egg collection permits are a three party
permit between the department, the permittee and a
landowner/manager who owns or leases alligator nesting
habitat determiried by department biologists to be capable of
producing alligator eggs. The numbers of eggs to be
collected will be based upon biological management criteria
and will be determined annually by technical staff of the
department. The department only estimates the numbers of
eggs available and assumes no responsibility or offers no
guarantee that those numbers of eggs will be available.
Alligator egg collection permits may be obtained upon
application to the department on forms provided by the
department. The annual deadline for submitting applications
for Alligator Egg Collection Permits is June 1. This program
is experimental and may be changed at any time based on
biological data to insure for proper management of the wild
alligator population.

2. Alligator egg collection permits may be issued by the
department provided: .

a. permittee is a properly licensed alligator farmer and
meets all applicable requirements in Subsection O of these
regulations (Alligator Farm Facility Requirements);

b. all land documentation required on the alligator egg
collection permit has been presented to the department;

c. department biologists determine the properties
described on the permit application are indeed alligator
nesting habitat and can sustain alligator egg collections;

d. applicant has obtained all legal and necessary
signatures from landowners/land managers.

3. It is unlawful for an alligator farmer or a permitted
designated collection agent to collect eggs from properties
other than those described in the alligator egg collection
permit.  Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

4. An alligator farmer or designated collection agent in
the act of collecting or possessing alligator eggs must
possess on his or her person a copy of the fully executed
alligator egg collection permit. The designated collection
agent must also possess a valid designated collection agent
permit.

, Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described
in Title 56.

5. Collection of wild alligator eggs can only be made

after contacting the appropriate regional supervisor of the

Louisiana Register Vol. 18, No. 9 September 20, 1992

Enforcement Division no less than 24 hours prior to each
collection trip. :

Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described

in Title 56.

6. Alligator eggs can only be collected from the wild
from official sunrise to official sunset and only during the
established alligator egg collection season and shall not
exceed the number on his Alligator Egg Collection Permit.
Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title
56.

7. Alligator eggs collected frem the wild must be
collected and transported in a manner which ensures the
greatest survival of viable eggs as determined by cepartment
biologists. Violation of this Part is a class 3 vioiation as
described in Title 56.

8. Failure to hatch at least 70 percent cf viable alligator
eggs collected from the wiid shall be considered a waste of
Louisiana’s natural resources. All alligator egg collection
permits shall be revoked and no new permits issued should an
alligator farmer be found to waste the resources of this state
for two consecutive years.

9. Alligator egg co'lection permits shall be revoked and
no new permits issued to alligator farmers who fail to average
a minimum hstchling survival rate of 85 percent for two
consecutive years.

10. The alligator egg collection permittee and the
landowner are responsible for the physical return of the
percentage of ‘ive alligators to the wild described on the
alligator egg collection permit. This requirement is
nontransferable. Minimum return rates will be based upon
the state average hatching success which is 78 percent.
Each alligator shall be returned to the original egg collection
area within a maximum time of two years from date of
hatching. Each alligator shall be a minimum of 36" and a
maximum of 60" (credit will not be given for inches above
60") in size and the returned sex ratio should contain at least
50 percent females. The - alligator egg collection
permittee/landowner  are responsible for and must
compensate in kind for alligator mortality which occurs for
department authorized return to the wild alligators; while
being processed, stored, or transported. The department
shall be responsible for supervising the required return of
these alligators. A department transfer authorization permit
is not required for return to the wild alligators which are
delivered to the farm of origin no more than 48 hours prior to
being processed for wild release. Releases back to the wild
will only occur between March 15 and September 30 of each
calendar year provided that environmental conditions as
determined by the department are favorable for survival of
the released alligators. Should an alligator egg collection
permittee be unable to release the required number of
alligators to the wild from his own stock, he shall be required
to purchase additional alligators from another farmer to meet
compliance with the alligator egg collection permit and these
regulations, as supervised by the department. Department
sanctioned participants in ongoing studies involving
survivability and return rates are exempt from these
requirements during the period of the study. Violation of this
Part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

11. The percentage of alligators to be returned to the
wild shall be selected from the healthiest of all alligators of
that year class. Abnormal or deformed alligators are not
acceptable for release into the wild. It is unlawful for
alligators that are to be returned to the wild to be transported




out of state. Violation of this Part is a class 4 violation as
described in Title 56.

O. Alligator Farm Facility Requirements

1. All first time applicants for a nongame quadruped
breeder’s or exhibitor’s license who will house alligators on
their  premises shall show compliance of the following
minimum facilities as applicable to their particular operation
during a required facility examination by department
personnel prior to license issuance. °

a. Secured premises with adequate barriers to prevent
escape of enclosed alligators and entry by alligators from
outside the farm and to deter theft of alligators.

b. Source of clean, fresh water which shall be
adequate to ensure for proper care of all alligator stock and
facilities. This requirement shall be determined by department
personnei. '

c. Provisions for both dry area and pooled water within
the secured area adequate for the numbers of alligators to be
housed on the premises. This requirement will be determined
by department personnel.

d. Provision for. winter protection, either through
adequate denning space or an enclosed, controlled-
temperature environment of a design acceptable to the
department.

e. All controlled-temperature alligator sheds shall be of
a design acceptable to the department. Each shed shall be
capable of maintaining a minimum constant temperature of
80 degrees Fahrenheit. Minimum space requirements for
alligators housed in the shed shall be:

i. one square foot of space shall be required for each
alligator less than 24" in length;

ii. three square feet of space shall be required for each
alligator measuring 25" to 48" in length;

iii. one additional square foot of space shall be required
for each additional six inches of alligator length for alligators
above four feet in length.

f. All alligator egg incubators shall be of a design
acceptable to the department. Each incubator shall maintain
a water and air temperature of 85 to 91 degrees Fahrenheit
during the egg incubation.

g. Applicant must be in compliance with all laws and
regulations pertaining to zoning, construction, health and
environmentai standards and must possess any and all
applicable permits and licenses.

h. All alligator facilities should be constructed in a
suitable location so as to minimize contact with people.

2. Following initial issuance of applicable license, all
applicable facility requirements shall be adhered to and
department personnel have the authority to inspect any and
all of the facilities at any time. Faiiure to adhere to the
requirements shali be a violation of these rules and violators
will be given 60 days to correct the problem. Failure to
comply shali result in confiscation of all animals and/or
closure of all facilities. Violation of this Part is a class 3
violation as described in Title 56.

3. Allalligator farmers possessing alligator eggs outside
an alligator nest should house these eggs in an incubator
providing constant temperature and humidity conditions. All
incubators used to incubate alligator eggs shall be of a design
to allow fcr maximum temperature control and conform to
department requirements to allow for the maximum hatching
success. Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as
described in Title 56.
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4. All alligator farmers possessing alligator hatchlings
shall house hatchlings in controlled environmental chambers
capable of maintaining a minimum temperature of 80 degrees
fahrenheit year round and containing dry and wet areas of
sufficient surface area to permit all alligators to completely
submerge in water. All alligators 48" or less in length shall
be housed in environmental chambers unless a special permit
is issued by the department to move them to outside growth
areas. Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described
in Title 56.

5. Alligator farmers shall house alligators of different
lengths into at least three groups, providing separation for all
alligators less than two feet in length, two to four feet in
length, and over four feet in length. Land and water areas
sufficient for complete submersion or complete exit from
water shall be provided for each group of alligators held.
Violation of this Part is a class 3 violation as described in Title
56.

6. All facilities, alligator stock, and records are subject
to examination by department personnel prior to permitting
and thereafter during farm gperation. Violation of this Part is
a class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

7. It shall be unlawful for alligator eggs or alligators to
be moved from a licensed premises without
permitting/approval of the department. Violation of this Part
is a class 3 violation as described in Title 56.

8. Any alligator egg or alligator raised on an alligator
farm shall be cared for under conditions that do not threaten
the survival of such egg and alligator as determined by the
biological staff of the Fur and Refuge Division. In making
such determination, Fur and Refuge Division biolcgists shall
take into consideration sanitary conditions, temperature
control, feeding, overcrowding and other conditions which
effect the survival of alligator eggs and alligators. If the
biological staff of the Fur and Refuge Division determines that
the survival of any alligator egg or alligator is threatened due
to the conditions on an alligator farm, the department shall
notify the alligator farmer and shall provide the farmer with
60 days to take corrective action. If the farmer fails to take
corrective action within 60 days, the department shall have
the authority to confiscate any alligator egg or alligator which
remains under conditions that threaten the survival of such
alligator egg or alligator and to dispose of such alligator egg
or alligator as the department deems necessary. Violation of
this part is a class 4 violation as described in Title 56.

P. Exceptions )

1. The department or an authorized representative of
the department may take by any means and possess
alligators or parts of alligators while in the performance of
official duties.

2. These regulations shall not prohibit a person from
killing an alligator in immediate defense of his or her life or
the lives of others. Alligators killed under this provision must
be reported to the department within 24 hours.

Q. Penalty for Violation

1. In order to facilitate greater control over alligator
trafficking, the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
finds that public welfare imperatively requires emergency
action when the provisions of these regulations are violated.

2. In addition to all penalties set forth herein, violators
may be subject to criminal prosecution under provisions of
the Louisiana Revised Statutes, particularly Titles 14 and 56
and under federal law.
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3. In addition to all other penalties provided by these
rules and by statute, violation of any part of these regulations
may result in the suspension and/or revocation of any or all
alligator licenses/permits held by the violator and, as further
penalty, for serious, repeat, or multiple violations, the
department shall have the right to deny a violator any and all
licenses/permits relating to alligators for a period not to
exceed three years.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Chairman

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

‘Furbearer Trapping Season, 1992-93

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 which
allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency
procedures to set the furbearer trapping season and the rules
regulating it, and R.S. 56:260, the 1992-93 furbearer trapping
season is hereby established in accordance with the following
regulations:

The season for the trapping of furbearers by licensed
trappers shall be:

NORTH ZONE - All furbearers, November 20, 1992
through February 15, 1993;

SOUTH ZONE - All furbearers, December 1, 1992 through
February 28, 1993; .

EXPERIMENTAL SEASON - February 16, 1993 through
March 15, 1993. Soft catch (padded jaw) and non-locking snare
only.

The boundary between the North and South Zones will be
Interstate Highway 10 from the Texas state line to Baton Rouge;
Interstate Highway 12 from Baton Rouge to Slidell; and
Interstate Highway 10 from Slidell to the Mississippi line.

Bobcat and otter by federal restrictions imposed by the
Cities Scientific Authority require the placement of an export tag
prior to out-of-state shipment.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Chairman

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Waterfow! Hunting Seasons, 1992-93

In accordance with the emergency provision of R.S.
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the
authority of R.S. 56:115, the secretary of the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
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hereby adopt the following emergency rule.

The hunting seasons for ducks, coots and geese during

the 1992-93 hunting season shall be as follows:
MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
Ducks and Coots: (Closed Season on Canvasback)

West Zone: (30 days) November 21 - December 5, and
December 26 - January 9.

East Zone: (30 days) November 21 - November 27, and
December 26 - January 17.

Catahoula Lake Zone:
December 20.

Daily Bag Limits: The daily bag limit on ducks is three
and may include no more than two mallards (no more than one
of which may be a female), one black duck, two wood ducks,
one pintail and one redhead. Daily bag limit on coots is 15.

Mergansers: The daily bag limit for mergansers is five,
only one of which may be a hooded merganser. Merganser
limits are in addition to the daily bag limit for ducks.

Possession Limit: The possession limit on ducks, coots
and mergansers is twice the daily bag limit.

Geese: Statewide Season: November 21 - December 12,
December 19 - February 4, and February 5 - February 14.

Daily bag limit is seven in the aggregate of blue, snow and
white-fronted geese of which not more than two may be white-
fronted (specklebellies). During the last 10 days (February 5 -
February 14), only blue and snow geese may be taken. During
the Experimental Canada Goose Season (January 20 - January
28), the daily bag limit for Canada and white-fronted geese is
two, of which not more than one can be a Canada goose.
Possession limit is twice the daily bag limit.

Experimental Canada Goose Season: January 20 - January
28

(30 days) November 21 -

An Experimental Canada Goose Season will be open in a
portion of southwest Louisiana. The area shall be described as
follows:

Easterly from the Texas line along Highway 12 to Ragley;
then easterly along U.S. 190 from Ragley to its junction with |-49
near Opelousas; then south along 1-49 to its junction with
Highway 167 near Lafayette; then south along Highway 167
from Lafayette to its junction with Highway 82 at Abbeville; then
south and west along Highway 82 to the Intracoastal Waterway
at Forked Island; then westerly along the Intracoastal Waterway
from Forked Island to the junction of the Intracoastal Waterway
and the Calcasieu Ship Channel; then south along the west
side of the Calcasieu Ship Channel to Highway 82 at Cameron;
then westerly along Highway 82 to the Texas line. All lands
lying within these boundaries shall be open for the experimental
Canada goose season except all open waters of Lake Arthur
and the Mermentau River from the Highway 14 bridge
southward.

A special permit shall be required to patticipate in the
experimental Canada Goose Season. A permit is required of
everyone, regardless of age, and a non-refundable $5
adr-inistrative fee will be charged. This permit may be obtained
from the Lake Charles, Opelousas, Baton Rouge Offices.

Return of harvest information requested on permit is
mandatory. Failure to submit this information to the department
by February 15, 1993 will result in the hunter not being allowed
to participate in the Experimental Canada Goose Season the
following year.

Shooting Hours: One half hour before sunrise to sunset.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Chairman
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Rules

RULE

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Pesticide - Commercial Applicators Certification
(LAC 7:XXIll.Chapter 131)

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry hereby
adopts rules revising LAC 7:XXIll.Chapter 131. These rules
will establish certification requirements for yearly training
courses on off-target aerial pesticide applications, provide for
yearly registration of commercial aerial applicators using any
of five specifically named pesticides, along with a spray
height limit for same, establish standards for booms, nozzles
and pesticide concentrations on fixed wing aircraft, prohibit
aerial applications in the rain and establish buffer zones
between targets and adjoining areas. These proposed rules
comply with R.S. 3:3201 et seq.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXIIl. Pesticide
Chapter 131. Advisory Commission on Pesticides
§13123. Certification of Commercial Applicators

A.1-3 ...

4. Commercial aerial pesticide applicators, with the
single exception of aerial mosquito pest control applicators,
must attend department-approved off-target training courses
once each year to maintain their certification as a commercial
aerial applicator.

B.-G. ... ‘

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 3:3203, R.S. 3:3242 and R.S. 3:3249.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Advisory Commission on Pesticide,
LR 9:169 (April 1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984},
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, LR 18:
(September 1992).

§13139. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides

A.-d. ..

K. Commercial aerial pesticide applicators who apply
mixtures containing 1:1-Dimethyl-4, 4’-Bipyridinium (cation)
dichloride, Isopropylamine salt of glyphosate, Sulfosate
Trimethylsulfoniumcarboxymethylaminomethylphosphonate,
4-(2, 4-Dichlorophenoxy) butyric acid, and 2,4-
Dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (commonly knownasGramoxone,
Roundup, Touchdown, 2, 4-DB and 2, 4-D, respectively) must
register with the department once yearly on department
approved forms prior to making any applications of these
chemicals. Effective January 1, 1993, N-(3,4-dichlorophenyl)
propionamide (commonly known as Propanil) must be
registered under the provisions of this Subsection.

L. Commercial aerial pesticide applicators applying any
concentrations of agricultural chemicals shall not apply these
chemicals from a height of greater than 18 feet above the
target field crops.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 3:3203.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Advisory Commission on Pesticide,
LR 9:169 (April 1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984),
LR 11:219 (March 1985), LR 11:942 (October 1985),
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, LR 18:
(September 1992).

§13140. Fixed Wing Aircraft; Standards for Commercial
Aerial Pesticide Applications

A. Commercial aerial pesticide applicators, with the
single exception of aerial mosquito pest control applicators,
shall adhere to the following standards for fixed wing aircraft,
regarding boom configurations, nozzle angles, and volume of
pesticides per acre.

1. The effective spray boom length shall not exceed 75
percent of the length of the wing (wing tip to wing tip) on
which the boom is attached.

2. Except as follows, all spray nozzles shall be oriented
to discharge straight back toward the rear of the aircraft.
When applying insecticides to cotton, aircraft with a
maximum flying speed of less than 120 miles per hour shall
have the option to position nozzles at an angle of 45° down
from straight back or 45° back from straight down.

3. The spray boom pressure shall not exceed a
maximum of 40 pounds per square inch (40 PSI).

4. When disc and core type nozzles are used for
herbicide, desiccant or defoliant applications, a number 46 or
larger core must be used.

5. Unless further restricted by other regulations or
labeling, the chemicals listed in §13139.K above shall be
applied in a minimum of five gallons of total spray mix per
acre. All other agriculture pesticides, unless further restricted
by other regulations or labeling, shall be applied in a minimum
of one gallon of total spray mix per acre.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 3:3203. :

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of -Agriculture and
Environmental Sciences, LR 18: (September 1992).
§13142. Special Restrictions on Commercial Aerial
Pesticide Applications; Applications in the Rain and Buffer
Zones

A. All aerial pesticide applicators are prohibited from
making an application of any pesticide while it is raining. This
prohibition shall not apply to a drizzle of rain so light as to not
cause puddling or run-off water from the field.

B. Unless further restricted by other regulations or
labeling, commercial aerial pesticide applicators, with the
single exception of aerial mosquito pest control applicators,
are prohibited from making an application of any pesticide
within 100 feet from the edge of the swath to any inhabited
structure, including but not limited to inhabited dwellings,
schools, hospitals, nursing homes and places of business. No
aerial applicator, with the single exception of aerial mosquito
pest control applicators, shall apply pesticides within 1000
feet of any school grounds during normal school hours.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance wit
R.S. 3:3203. ‘
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and . Forestry, Office of Agriculture and
Environmental Sciences, LR 18: (September 1992).

Bob Odom
Commissioner

RULE

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Seed Commission

In accordance with the provisions of the Administra-
tive Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. and R.S. 3:1433,
notice is hereby given that the Department of Agriculture and
Forestry, Seed Commission amended LAC 7:XIl1.8763.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XIll. Seeds

Chapter 87. Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Loui-
siana Seed Law
Subchapter C. Requirements for Certification of Specific
Crops/Varieties '
§8763. Cottonseed Seed Certification Standards
A. Field Standards

Factor Breeder Foundation Registered  Certified

Isolation 15 ft. 15 ft. 15 ft.

Other varieties &

off-type plants None None 1 plant 5 plants

per acre per acre

Noxious weeds:

Cocklebur - None 5 plants 8 plants 10 plants
per acre per acre per acre

**Fields entered for certification must be isolated at least
600 feet from Sea Island cotton, red leaf cotton, or other cot-
tons which vary greatly in plant characteristics from the vari-
ety entered for certification, and at least one-half mile from
G. barbadense and interspecific hybrids involving G. barba-
dense.

B. Handling and Storage Requirements

1. Ginning. Cottonseed entered in all classes of certifi-
cation shall be ginned on a thoroughly cleaned, one-variety
gin approved by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry
prior to ginning seed to be certified. With special permission
of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,

a. cottonseed for all classes of certification may be
ginned on thoroughly cleaned, mixed variety gins either with
a notarized ginner’s agreement provided by the Louisiana
Department of Agriculture and Forestry or an inspector of the
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry shall be
present if cottonseed for certification is ginned.

b. cottonseed produced for only the certified class
may be ginned on a mixed-variety gin if a minimum of three
bales are ‘“‘blown” through the gin prior to catching of the
cottonseed to be certified. An inspector of the Louisiana De-
partment of Agriculture and Forestry may be present if cot-
tonseed for certification is ginned under special permission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 3:1433.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Agriculture and Forestry, LR 8:570 (November 1982)
amended LR 9:199 (April 1983), LR 10:737 (October 1984),
repealed and repromulgated LR 12:825 (December 1986),
amended LR 13:156 (March 1987), LR 13:232 (April 1987),
LR 18: (September 1992).

Bob Odom
Commissioner

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Migrant Education State Plan, FY-93

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education, pursuant to notice of intent published in
the June 20, 1992 issue of the Louisiana Register, and under
the authority contained in the Louisiana Constitution (1974),
Article VIII, Section 3, Act 800 of the 1979 Regular Session,
adopted the ESEA Chapter 1 FY-93 Migrant Education State
Plan. This is an amendment to the Louisiana Administrative
Code. A copy of the Migrant Education State Plan for FY 1993
may be obtain from the Office of the State Register, 1051 Nortnh
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 (504) 342-5015. Please
use Log No. 9209#065 when referring to this document.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part . Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter B. State Plans
§933. Migrant Education State Plan

A. The ESEA Chapter 1 FY-93 Migrant Education State
Plan is adopted.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L.
100-297; R.S. 17:7(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: ‘Amended by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 18: (September
1992).

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
State Plan for Adult Education

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education, pursuant to Notice of Intent published in
the June 20, 1992 issue of the Louisiana Register, and under
the authority contained in the Louisiana Constitution (1974),
Article VIII, Section 3, Act 800 of the 1979 Regular Session,
adopted the Amended State Plan for Adult Education, FY 1989-
1993. This amended State Plan was also adopted as an
emergency rule and printed in full in the April, 1992 issue of the

o,




Louisiana Register. This is an amendment to the Louisiana
Administrative Code.
Title 28
EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter B. State Plans
§931. Adult Education State Plan
A.The amended Adult Education State Plan, FY 1989-
1993 is adopted.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.
L. 100-297; R. S. 17:7(3); R. S. 17:14.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Amended by the Board of

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Textbook Adoption Cycle

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education, pursuant to notice of intent pub-
lished in the June 20, 1992 issue of the Louisiana Register,
and under the authority contained in the Louisiana Constitu-
tion (1974), Article VIII, Section 3, Act 800 of the 1979 Regu-
lar Session, adopted an amendment to the Textbook
Adoption Cycle which changed the Textbook Adoption Cycle
from a six-year to a seven-year adoption cycle. This is an
amendment to Bulletin 1794.

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 18: (September Amendment to Bulletin 1794, Textbook Adoption
1992). Standards and Procedures:
) Beginning July 1, 1992 and every year thereafter, the
Carole Wallin Textbook Adoption Cycle will be for a period of seven years
Executive Director with the categories each year as follows:
1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997
Social Language Reading Science K-12 Vocational Foreign Math K-12
Studies and Special Health and Agriculture Language Computer
K-12 Composition Ed Physical Handwriting Science
Special Education Business Music/Fine
Ed Literature Special Ed Education Arts
Spelling Home
Special Ed Economics
Computer Computer Computer
Literacy Literacy Literacy

AUTHORITY NOTE: R.S. 17:6(A)(9)

Carole Wallin
Executive Director

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection

Radiation Fee Schedule (NEQS) (LAC 33:XV.Chapter 25)

(Editor’s Note: The following Appendix which appeared on pages 719 - 723
of the July 20, 1992 Louisiana Register, is being republished to correct

typographical errors.)

Title 33

Chapter 25. Fee Schedule

* * %
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APPENDIX A

RADIATION PROTECTION PROGRAM FEE SCHEDULE

Application
Fee

Annual

Mainten.
Fee

ance

A. Medical licenses:

1.Therapy
a.Teletherapy 530 530
b.Brachytherapy 530 530
2.Nuclear medicine diagnostic only 650 650
3.Nuclear medicine diagnostic/therapy 700 700
4.Nuclear pacemaker implantation 260 260
5.Eye applicators 260 260
6.In-vitro studies or radioimmunoassays or calibration sources 260 260
7.Processing or manufacturing and distribution of radiopharmaceuticals 1,030 875
8.Mobile nuclear medicine services 1,030 875
9."Broad scope” medical licenses 1,030 875
10.Manufacturing of medical devices/sources 1,200 1,000
11.Distribution of medical devices/souicss 900 750
12. All other medical licenses 290 290
B. Source material licenses
1.For mining, milling, or processing activities, or utilization which 5,200 5,200
results in concentration or redistribution of naturally occurring
radioactive material
2.For the concentration and recovery of uranium from phosphoric acid
as "yellow cake" (powered solid) 2,600 2,600
3.For the concentration of uranium from or in phosphoric acid
1,300 1,300

4.All other specific "source material” licenses

260 260
C. Special nuclear material (SNM) licenses:
1.For use of SNM in sealed sources contained in devices used in 400 400
measuring systems
2.SNM used as calibration for reference sources

260 260
3.All other licenses for use of SNM in quantities not sufficient to form a
critical mass, except as in .LA.4, 1.C.1, and 2 260 260
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APPENDIX A

RADIATION PROTECTION PROGRAM FEE SCHEDULE

Application Annual
Fee Maintenance
Fee
D. Industrial radioactive material licenses:
1.For processing or manufacturing for commercial distribution 5,150 3,875
2.For industrial radiography operations performed in a shielded
radiography-instaliation(s) or permanently designated areas at the 875 690
address listed in the license
3.For industrial radiography operations performed at temporary job-
site(s) of the licensee 2,580 1,940
4.For possession and use of radioactive materials in sealed sources for
irradiation of materials where the source is not removed from the shield 1,300 650
and is less than 10,000 Curies
5.For possession and use of radioactive materials in led sources for
irradiation of materials when the source is not removed from the shield 2,580 1,290
and is greater than 10,000 Curies, or where the source is removed from
the shield
6.For distribution of items containing radioactive material
1.300 1.300
7.Well-logging and subsurface tracer studies
a. Collar markers, nails, etc. for orientation 260 260
b. Sealed sources less than 10 Curies and/or tracers less than or equal
to 500 mCi 775 775
c. Sealed sources of 10 Curies or greater and/or tracers greater than
500 mCi but less than 5 Ci 1,300 1,300
d. Field flood studies and/or tracers equal to or greater than 5 Curies
1,950 1,950

8.0peration of a nuclear laundry 5,150 2,580
9.Industrial research and development of radioactive materials or
products containing radioactive materials 650 6560
10. Academic research and/or instruction

630 530
11. Licenses of broad scope:
a.Academic, industrial, research and development, total activity equal 1,300 ’1,300
to or greater than 1 Curie
b.Academic, industrial, research and development, total activity less
than 1 Curie 775 775
12. Gas chromatographs, sulfur analyzers, lead analyzers, or
similar laboratory devices 260 260
13. Calibration sources equal to or less than 1 Curie per source

260 260
14. Level or density gauges 400 400
15. Pipe wall thickness gauges 530 530
16. Soil moisture and density gauges 400 400
17. NORM decontamination/maint.
a.at permanently designated areas at the location(s) listed in the license 2,500 1,250
b.at temporary jobsite(s) of the licensee 2,500 1,600
18. Commercial NORM storage 1,250 1,250
19. All other specific industrial licenses except otherwise noted

530 530
E. Radioactive te disposal licenses:
1.Commercial waste disposal involving burial 675,000 675,000
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APPENDIX A

RADIATION PROTECTION PROGRAM FEE SCHEDULE

Application Annual
Fee Maintenance
Fee
2.Commercial waste disposal involving incineration of vials containing
liquid scintillation fiuids ' 5,160 2,580
3.All other cial te disposal involving noragé, packaging
and/or transfer 2,580 2,580
F. Civil defense licenses 315 260
G. Teletherapy service company license
1,300 1,300
H. Consultant licenses
1.No calibration sources 130 75
2.Possession of calibration sources equal to or less than 500 mCi each
190 130
3.Possession of calibration sources greater than 500 mCi 260 190

1.Medical diagnostic x-ray (per registration)

85 85
2.Medical therapeutic x-ray (per registration)
a. below 500 kVp 200 200
b. 500 kVp to 1 MeV (including accelerator and Van de Graaf) 400 400
c. 1 MeV to 10 MeV 600 600
~d. 10 MeV or greater 800 800
3.Dental x-ray (per registration) 75 70
4.Veterinary x-ray (per registration) 75 75
5.Educational institution x-ray (teaching unit, per registration) 125 75
6.Industrial accelerator (includes Van de Graaf machines and neutron
generators) 400 400
7.Industrial radiography (per registration) 200 200

8.All other x-ray (per registration) except as otherwise noted

A. NORM
1.1-5 wellheads per NORM contaminated field 100 100
2.6-20 wellheads per NORM contaminated field
500 500

3.Greater than 20 wellheads per NORM contaminated field

1,500 1,500
4.NORM site as otherwise defined in LAC 33:XV.1403 and not
exempted by LAC 33:XV.1404 100 100
B. Tritium sign 75 V]
C: All'other general licenses which require registration 100

100

The fee for reciprocol recognition of a license or registration from another state or the NRC is the annual fee
of the applicable category. The fee covers activities in the state of Louisiana for one year from the date of

receipt.

A. Diagnostic

100
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APPENDIX A
RADIATION PROTECTION PROGRAM FEE SCHEDULE

Application Annual
Fee Maintenance
Fee

B. Therapeutic (below 500 kVp) 160 .
C. Therapeutic (500 kVp to 1 MeV) 250 *
D. Therapeutic (1 MeV to 10 MeV) 350 .
E. Therapeutic (10 MeV or greater) 750 A
F. Industrial and industrial radiography

360 *

A. Device evaluation (each) 700 -
B. Sealed source design evaluation (each)

450 *
C. Update sheet 150 *
Vil. Testing to determine qualifications of employees, per test
administered 128 *
VIil. Nuclear electric generating station (per site)
Located in Louisiana 283,500
L ted near L (Plume Exposure Pathway Emergency Planning
Zone - includes area in Louisiana) 206,000
Uranium Enrichment Facility 50,000

Sample Type Analysis Unit Price
Air filters:
Particulate Gross beta (1
Gamma 159
Charcoal cartridge Gammal/l-131 169
Milk Gamma 170
1-131 ) 181
Water Gamma 181
11131 ) 181
H-3 68
Sediment Gamma 192
Vegetation Gamma 181
Fish Gamma 192
Leak test Gamma 169
H-3 68
NORM sample Gamma 170
Produced water Gamma 181

* charges are one time and do not recur

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with

R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:719 (July

959

1992), repromulgated LR 18: (September 1992).

James B. Thompson, Il
Assistant Secretary
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RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of the Secretary

Credit for Recycling Equipment
(LAC 33:VI.10405) (0S 11)

(Editor’s Note: A portion of a rule, which appeared on page 841 of the
August 20, 1992 Louisiana Register, is being republished to correct a
typographical error.)

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part VII. Solid Waste
Subpart 2. Recycling

Chapter 104. Credit for Recycling Equipment
§10405. Definitions

For the purpose of this Chapter the terms below shall
have the meaning specified herein as follows:

Post-consumer Waste Material—any product generated
by a business or consumer which has served its intended end
use, and which has been separated from solid waste for the
purposes of collection, marketing and disposition and which
does not include secondary waste material, hazardous waste,
or demolition waste.

* * ¥

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 47:6005.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 18:841
(August 1992), repromulgated LR 18: (September 1992).

James B. Thompson, I
Assistant Secretary

RULE

Office of the Governor
Commission on Law Enforcement
“and Administration of Criminal Justice
Sentencing Commission

The Office of the Governor, Commission on Law En-
forcement and Administration of Criminal Justice, Louisiana
Sentencing Commission, has amended the Felony Sentenc-
ing Guidelines, LAC Title 22:IX. Subpart 1, under the provi-
sions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et
seq. '

Title 22
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE
AND LAW ENFORCEMENT
Part IX. Sentencing Commission
Subpart 1. Felony Sentencing Guidelines

Chapter 2. Determining Sentences Under the Sentencing
Guidelines
§205. Criminal History Index Classification System

* ok Kk

B. Definitions
2. Crime-free time means a period of time during
which the offender was not in a custody status, as defined
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below, and during which the offender has not committed an
offense which subsequently results in a felony or misde-
meanor conviction, as defined herein.

3. Custody status means any form of criminal justice
supervision resulting from a guilty plea, conviction, or an ad-
judication of delinquency including post conviction release or
bail, confinement, probation, or parole.

4. Felony adjudication means any unexpunged adjudi-
cation for delinquency by a court exercising juvenile jurisdic-
tion:

a. for the offense of first degree murder, second de-
gree murder, manslaughter, aggravated rape, forcible rape,
simple rape, sexual battery, aggravated kidnapping, or
armed robbery, or

b. for any felony offense if the defendant was under
the age of 26 years at the time of the commission of the
current offense, or ’

c. for any felony offense if the defendant was 26 years
of age or older at the time of the commission of the current
offense and the defendant previously had been convicted as
an adult of a felony or a misdemeanor in which an element
involved the use of a dangerous weapon.

6. Misdemeanor adjudication means an unexpunged
adjudication for delinquency by a court exercising juvenile

jurisdiction for an offense which, if committed by an adult,

would be a misdemeanor, as defined herein.

C. Criminal History Index Factors

1. The criminal history index is based on points de-
rived from the following factors:

c. prior applicable adjudications of delinquency.

d. custody status at the time of the commission of the
offense serving as the basis for the current conviction.

2. The Criminal History Index is composed of seven
classes ranging from Class A, most serious criminal history,
to Class G, least serious criminal history.

3. Method of Calculation

a. Prior felony convictions and adjudications: Score all
prior felony convictions and applicable felony adjudications
of delinquency by the number of points ascribed to the seri-
ousness level of the offense of conviction as set forth in
Chapter 4, §402.A and C. If the prior felony conviction is
based on an unranked offense, i.e., not ranked on the crime
seriousness ranking table, the court may assign a serious-
ness score of one point to the conviction. If the court believes
that a seriousness score of one point significantly under rep-
resents the seriousness of the prior conviction, the judge
may use the seriousness score of an analogous offense, pro-
vided the court states for the record why the unranked of-
fense is analogous to the ranked offense which serves as the
basis for the score.

b. Prior misdemeanor convictions and adjudications:
Add one-fourth (.25) point, not to exceed a total of one point,
for each of the following misdemeanor convictions or adjudi-
cations:

i. any misdemeanor conviction for an offense in Louisi-
ana Revised Statutes Title 14 or the Uniform Controlled Dan-
gerous Substances Law of Louisiana Revised Statutes Title
40 or any local ordinance which is substantially similar to an
offense in Title 14 or the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Sub-
stances Law of Title 40.
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ii. any misdemeanor conviction for a traffic offense in
Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 32 or local traffic ordinance
substantially similar to any Title 32 traffic offense if the cur-
rent offense of conviction involves the operation of a motor
vehicle.

iii. any misdemeanor adjudication if, at the time of the
commission of the current offense, the offender was under
age 17, and is being prosecuted as an adult.

c. Prior similar criminal behavior: Add one-half (.5)
point for each prior felony conviction or adjudication if the
prior offense of conviction or adjudication is in the same
“crime family” as the current offense of conviction. See
Chapter 4, §402.D., Crime Family Table. The court also may
add the additional one-half point if the court finds that the
prior conviction or adjudication was analogous to the of-
* fenses in the crime family of the current offense, and states
for the record the reasons for the finding.

d. Offenses committed during custody status: Add one
point if the current felony offense was committed while the
offender was in a ‘‘custody status.”’

e. Limitation on prior misdemeanor convictions: Points
added to an offender’s criminal history index score for misde-
meanor convictions or adjudications shall not increase the
offender’s criminal history index more than one level.

f. Multiple convictions on same day: Count only the
most serious conviction or adjudication if more than one con-
viction or adjudication occurred on the same day.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:46 (January 1992), repromulgated LR 18:166 (Febru-
ary 1992), amended LR 18: (September 1992).

§209. Departures From the Designated Sentence Range

* Kk

C. Mitigating circumstance means a factor which is
present to a significant degree which lessens the serious-
ness of the offense below the level of the typical case arising
under the offense of conviction. Factors which constitute a
legal defense shall not be considered mitigating circum-
stances. The following factors constitute mitigating circum-
stances:

17. The offender has spent a significant period of time
free of any custody status during which he has not engaged
in any criminal activity resulting in a felony or misdemeanor
conviction, as defined herein. If deemed appropriate, the
court may consider the suggested crime-free time reduction
factors in Chapter 4, §402.E.

18. Any other relevant mitigating circumstances which
distinguish the case from the typical case of the offense of
conviction.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:47 (January 1992), amended LR 18: (September
1992).

§215. Concurrent and Consecutive Sentences

C. Procedure for Imposing Consecutive Sentences. If

the court finds that a consecutive sentence should be jm-
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posed, the following procedures apply to determine the base
sentence range and the recommended sentence.

1. The base sentence range is established by deter-
mining, from the appropriate cell in the grid, the designated
sentence range for the most serious offense of conviction.
The most serious offense is the offense with the longest stat-
utory term of incarceration or the offense with the longest
term of incarceration within the designated sentence range
under the guidelines, whichever is greater.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:49 (January 1992), amended LR 18: (September
1992).

Chapter 4. Louisiana Sentencing Guidelines Tables
§401. Criminal Seriousness Tables

A. Crime Seriousness Master Ranking List

Negligent Homicide (LRS 14:32): Level 4.

Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana (LRS
40:966(A)(1)): Level 4.

Solicitation for Murder (LRS 14:28.1): Level 4.

Possession of Drugs (Sched. I, Narcotic) (LRS
40:967(C)): Level 5.

* k k

B. Felonies Ranked Numerically by Statute Number

Negligent Homicide (LRS 14:32): Level 4.

Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana (LRS
40:966(A) (1)): Level 4.

Solicitation for Murder (LRS 14:28.1): Level 4.

Possession of Drugs (Sched. Il, Narcotic) (LRS 40:967
(C)): Level 5.

* ok Kk

C. Ranked Felonies in Alphabetical order

Negligent Homicide (LRS 14:32): Level 4.

Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana (LRS
40:966(A) (1)): Level 4.

Solicitation for Murder (LRS 14:28.1): Level 4.

Possession of Drugs (Sched. 1l, Narcotic) (LRS
40:967(C)): Level 5.

. AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:50 (January 1992), amended LR 18: (September
1992).

§402. Criminal History Tables

* ok k

D. Crime Family Table
Negligent Homicide (LRS 14:32): Level 4.
Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana (LRS

40:966(A) (1)): Level 4.

Solicitation for Murder (LRS 14:28.1): "Level 4.
Possession of Drugs (Sched. I, Narcotic) (LRS 40:967
(C)): Level 5.

* Kk Kk
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E. Crime-Free Time

Amount of Crime-Free Time Suggested Multiplication Factor

Less than 5 years 1 (Full value) )

5 years to 10 years .75 (Reduced by one-fourth)
Over 10 years but less than 20 years .50 (Reduced by one-half)
20 years or more .10 (Reduced by 90%)

* Kk Kk

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:50 (January 1992), amended LR 18: (September
1992).

§403. Tables for Determining Designated Sentence

A. Sentencing Guidelines Grid
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E. Intermediate Sanction Definitions

Jail: Incarceration not in custody of the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections. If the court desires to sen-
tence an offender to less than -one month of jail time, the
offender should receive a proportionate reduction in the num-
ber of sanction unit credits. When jail is used as an interme-
diate sanction, sanction unit credit is based on the number of
days or months which the offender will actually serve, de-
ducting the amount of anticipated good time credit which the
offender will earn if he serves his sentence on good behavior.

Louisiana Register Vol. 18, No. 9 September 20, 1992

962

* Kk

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 15:321-329.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administra-
tion of Criminal Justice, Louisiana Sentencing Commission,
LR 18:50 (January 1992), amended LR 18: (September
1992).

Michael A. Ranatza
Executive Director

MAREG\WIP\9209#074.DOC - 09/17/92 1:38pm - nam
RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Nursing

Controlled Dangerous Substances

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, hereby adopts
LAC 48:1.Chapter 39.

In accordance with the regulations and licensing authority
contained in Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 40, §§961 - 1036,
and Title 46, §51; LAC 48:1.Chapter 39, Controlled Dangerous
Substances are being adopted. These regulations concern the
licensing and certification of parties authorized to engage in the
manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of controlled dangerous
substances.

The full text of these final rules may be obtained from the
Office of the State Register, 1051 North Fifth Street, Baton
Rouge, LA (504)342-5015. Please refer to Log 9209#074 when
requesting a copy of this rule.

J. Christopher Pi"ey
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S.
49:950 et seq., that the Board of Physical Therapy Exam-
iners (Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the board
by R.S. 2401.2A(3) and the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, has amended the rules as set forth below.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS
Part LIV. Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Subpart 1. Licensing and Certification

Chapter 1. Physical Therapists
Subchapter C. Graduates of Foreign Physical Therapy
School

§115. Qualifications for License

A. To be eligible for a license, a foreign graduate appli-
cant shall:

4. have achieved passing scores on standardized En-
glish proficiency examinations as approved by the board if




English is not the applicant’s native language;

5. have indisputable documentation (with notarized
English translation) that he has passed licensure or certifica-
tion requirements of and is in good standing with the physical
therapy licensing or certifying agency in his country of edu-
cation or home country.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 37:2401. 2A(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy
Examiners, LR 13:744 (December 1987), amended by the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Ther-
apy Examiners, LR 17:662 (July 1991), LR 18: (September
1992).

" Subpart 5. Fees
Chapter 5. Fees
§501. General
A. The board may collect the following fees:

Examinationfee........................... $225
Reciprocityfee . . ........... ... ... ... . ..., 150
Re-Examinationfee ........................ 200
Re-Instatementfee......................... 75
Renewal of license fee...................... 75
Verification of license fee out-of-state . .. ....... 10
Duplicate wall license fee ................... 30
Duplicate billfold license fee ................. 10

* Kk ok

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 37:2401.2A(3), Act 208 of 1987 and Act 708 of 1990.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Board of Physical Therapy
Examiners, LR 13:750 (December 1987), amended by the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Physical Ther-
apy Examiners, LR 15:632 (May 1989), LR 17:667 (July
1991), LR 18: (September 1992).

Paul A. Lamothe, Jr. PT.
Chairman

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, is adopting the following rule in
the Title XIX (Medicaid) Program. The rule was adopted un-
der the emergency rulemaking provisions of R.S. 49:953(B)
effective February 11, 1991. The rule was published as a
notice of intent in June 20, 1992 (Volume 18, No, 6, page
638).

RULE

Medicaid eligibility is extended to individuals who
would be eligible for but are not receiving cash assistance as
an Optional Categorically Eligible group. This eligibility
group is described as persons who have been determined to
meet all the eligibility criteria for cash assistance under
AFDC or SSI, but are not receiving these benefits.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, is adopting the following rule in
the Title XIX (Medicaid) Program. The rule was adopted by
emergency rulemaking published in the June 20, 1992 Loui-
siana Register (Volume 18, No. 6, page 573). The rule was
published as a notice of intent on June 20, 1992 (Volume 18,
No. 6, page 640).

RULE

Non-emergency medical transportation services under
Title XIX Freedom of Choice Waiver contracted services pro-
visions shall be made available only in the New Orleans Re-
gion comprised of Orleans, St. Bernard, Jefferson,
Plaquemines, and St. Charles parishes. '

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was published as an emergency rule in the Louisiana
Register on September 20, 1990 (Vol. 16, No. 9), June 20,
1991 (Vol. 17, No. 6), January 20, 1991 (Vol. 17, No. 1), Octo-
ber 20, 1991 (Vol. 17, No. 10), January 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No.
1) and as a notice of intent on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

RULE ’

Anesthesiology services shall be reimbursed in ac-
cordance with the guidelines set forth herein when provided
to eligible Title XIX recipients. With some exceptions, anes-
thesia services will be reimbursed by the formula in 1., which
considers Base Units and Time Units and a multiplier Coeffi-
cient along with Modifiers which identify the involvement of
the anesthesia services provider. The exceptions to the for-
mula to determine reimbursement are certain CPT-4 proce-
dure codes identified in 1V., which will continue to be
reimbursed on a flat fee basis. In addition, maternity-related
anesthesia services will be reimbursed on a flat fee basis in
accordance with the provisions set forth in V.

“Personal Medical Direction” as used in this rule is
defined in the same manner as “‘personal medical direction’
in the Medicare billing guidelines.

I. Formula Determining Payment for Anesthesia Services

Reimbursement to anesthesiologists and certified reg-
istered nurse anesthetists will be calculated using the follow-
ing formula: Base Units + Time Units x Coefficient =
Payment. A Base Unit is the relative value assigned to a CPT-
4 procedure code. A Time Unit equals the length of the anes-
thesia service in minutes divided by either 15 or 30. The -
Coefficient will be either $8.49 or $15.

If there are additional minutes remaining when time
units are computed, then reimbursement will only be paid for
five-minute intervals. When 1 unit = 15 minutes and the co-
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efficient is $15, reimbursement will be paid at the rate of $5
for each additional five-minute interval. When 1 unit = 15
minutes and the coefficient is $8.49, reimbursement will be

paid at the rate of $2.83 for each additional five-minute inter- .

val. When 1 unit = 30 minutes and the coefficient is $15,

reimbursement will be paid at the rate of $2.50 for each addi-

tional five-minute interval. Remaining minutes less than five

will not be reimbursed.

Il. Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) Pay-
ment Schedule

Reimbursement to CRNAs will be paid at two levels
differentiated by whether the CRNA is personally medically
directed by an anesthesiologist or works independently of an
anesthesiologist. The Coefficient will be $8.49 for a medi-
cally directed CRNA (designated by modifier AH) and $15 for
a non-medically directed CRNA (designated by modifier Al).
The payment will be calculated as follows:
Modifier AH Base Units + Time Units (1
$8.49 = Payment
Modifier Al Base Units + Time Units (1 = 15 minutes) x
$15 = Payment

No reimbursement will be paid to a surgeon for the
personal medical direction of a CRNA. The anesthesia serv-
ice will be considered non-medically directed and should be
billed as such by the CRNA.

lll. Concurrent Medical Direction by the Anesthesiologist

When an anesthesiologist and a CRNA are both in-
volved in the performance of a single anesthesia service, the
service will be considered as performed by the anesthesiolo-
gist. No separate payment will be made to the CRNA.

An anesthesiologist may bill for personal medical di-
rection only when two or more anesthesia services are being
concurrently performed. When the anesthesiologist is in-
volved in directing two or more concurrent anesthesia proce-
dures, the coefficient for the anesthesiologist is $15 with a
percentage reduction of the Base Units according to the
number of CRNAs under his/her personal medical direction.
Payment will be computed using the following modifiers and
formula:

Modifier AA (Anesthesiologist working alone) Base Units +
Time Units (1 = 15 minutes) x $15 = Payment
Modifier AB (Direction of two CRNAs) Base Units - 10% +
Time Units (1 = 30 minutes) x $15 = Payment
Modifier AC (Direction of three CRNAs) Base Units - 25% +
Time Units (1 = 30 minutes) x $15 = Payment
Modifier AD (Direction of four CRNAs) Base Units - 40% +
Time Units (1 = 30 minutes) x $15 = Payment
IV. CPT-4 Procedure Codes Reimbursed on Flat Fee Basis

The following CPT-4 procedure codes will continue to

be reimbursed on a flat fee basis. Current billing procedures

apply.

15 minutes) x

36000 *36491 62279
*36010 36500 *62282
36405 36600 *62284
*36420 36620 *62289
*36425 *36625 *62290
36430 36640 *62291
*36440 62270 *62292
*36470 62273

*36471 62274

*36490 62278

Under the State Nursing Practice Act, CRNAs do not
have the authority to perform the procedures listed above
which are marked with an asterisk.
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V. Reimbursement for Maternity Related Anesthesia

Maternity-related anesthesia will be reimbursed on a
flat fee basis at three levels differentiated by who personally
administers the anesthesia — the anesthesiologist, the
CRNA, or the surgeon/delivery physician. The only exception
is general anesthesia for vaginal delivery which will continue
to be reimbursed according to base units and time units. The
flat fee will be paid in accordance with the CPT-4 procedure
code and appropriate modifier for both vaginal and cesarean
deliveries.

The surgeon or delivering physician will be reim-
bursed when he initiates the epidural procedure with inclu-
sion of the appropriate procedure code modifier.

The anesthesiologist or CRNA who is called in to con-
tinue administering the anesthesia after the epidural was in-
serted will be reimbursed for the continued administration of
the anesthesia modifier. Anesthesia and operative reports
must substantiate the modifier utilized.

Anesthesiologists and/or CRNAs may not bill for both
continued administration and general anesthesia.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was published as a notice of intent in the Louisiana Reg-
ister on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

RULE

A prospective interim rate of $13.26 per unit of service

for case management services shall be established subject
to adjustment based upon audited cost report data. Based
upon provider audit findings the prospective interim rate shall
be adjusted to assure compliance with federal regulations.
This increase applies only to enrolled providers currently re-
imbursed on a 15 minute service unit basis, The general pro-
visions currently in effect continue to govern reimbursement
for these services.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was published as an emergency rule in the Louisiana
Register dated January 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 1) and as a
notice of intent on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

\4
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RULE

Prescriptions shall be filled within six months of the
date prescribed by a physician or other service practitioner
covered under Medicaid of Louisiana. Schedule Il narcotic
analgesics shall be filled within five days of the date pre-
scribed by a physician or other service practitioner covered
under Medicaid of Louisiana. Transfer of a prescription from
one pharmacy to another is allowed if less than six months
have passed, since the date prescribed, and in accordance
with the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy requirements.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE
Department of Health and Hospitals

Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was published as an Emergency Rule in the Louisiana
Register on November 20, 1991 (Vol. 17, No. 11) and as a
Notice of Intent on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

RULE

Rates for Medicaid non-emergency ambulance trans-
portation services are increased from $2 per mile to $2.11
per mile. Base rate and transfer fees are increased from
$77.50 to $81.84.

All current vehicle requirements for ambulance trans-
port shall remain in effect.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was previously published as an emergency rule in the
Louisiana Register on November 20, 1991 (Vol. 17, No. 11)
and on March 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 3) and as a notice of
intent on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

RULE

All non-emergency, non-ambulance Medicaid pro-
viders of ambulatory transportation services are to receive an
increase in their mileage rates from $.50 per mile to $.55 per
mile. Van services will be reimbursed $.60 per mile when
provided in full size vans equipped with wheelchair lifts,
stretcher carriers and two-way communication systems.
Pick-up fees for non-ambulatory patients transported by full
size vans equipped with wheelchair lifts, stretcher carriers
and two-way communication systems are as follows: two-way
pick-up will be $20, and one-way pick-up will be $10. Pick-up
fees for second and subsequent non-ambulatory riders will
be one half of these rates.

965

The current pick-up rates will remain the same for am-
bulatory transportation services. For a provider to receive re-
imbursement at the van rate, door to door service shall be
provided. Door to door services shall include picking-up and
delivering a patient to a specific department within a facility.
All current vehicle requirements for vans remain in effect.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, is adopting
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program. The
rule was published as an emergency rule in the Louisiana
Register (Vol. 17, No. 10), page 949, on October 20, 1991
and January 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 1) and as a notice of
intent-on June 20, 1992 (Vol. 18, No. 6).

RULE

Nursing homes participating in Medicaid (Title XIX)
shall be required to meet the following standards for payment
for nursing home services in addition to the standards cur-
rently in effect:

1. the ratio of nursing care hours to residents shall be
2:35 on intermediate care level residents;

2. the ratio of nursing care hours to residents shall be
2:60 on skilled level residents;

3. nursing homes with a census of 101 or more shall
have a full-time assistant director of nursing;

4. the assistant director of nursing shall be a regis-
tered nurse unless a written waiver has been approved by
the department;

5. nursing homes shall have at least one Patient Activi-
ties Coordinator (PAC) per facility. An additional PAC per resi-
dent census in excess of 100 shall be required. All PAC
employees shall be full time, or sufficient full-time equivalent
employees shall be maintained to comply with these stand-
ards. Regardless of the number of PAC employees required,
one full-time PAC shall be certified;

6. nursing homes shall employ one additional clerical
employee.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

RULE

Department of Social Services
Office of Community Services

The Department of Social Services (DSS), Office of
Community Services has adopted rules and regulations to
implement a program for subsidizing the adoption of children
with special needs. Louisiana’s Adoption Subsidy Program is
provided for in LA R.S. 46:1790-1792 and P.L. 96-272 (Title
IV-E) of the U.S. Congress.

Vol. 18, No. 9 September 20, 1992

Louisiana Register




This rule reinstates and updates the previously re-
pealed rule in respect to the Adoption Subsidy Program. The
agency through error published a rule in the January, 1992
issue of the Louisiana Register repealing the initial rule that
implemented the Adoption Subsidy Program.

OVERVIEW OF PROGRAM PURPOSE

The subsidized adoption program enables the DSS to
make payments to adoptive parents on behalf of a child who
otherwise might not be adopted because of special needs or
circumstances. Subsidy payments shall be limited to a chil-
d(ren) for whom adoption is indicated but placement through
existing resources is unavailable-because of the child’s phys-
ical or mental condition, race, age, membership in a sibling
group which should not be separated, or other serious im-
pediments or special needs. The adoption subsidy applies to
a special needs child for whom DSS holds full and perma-
nent custody prior to the adoptive placement or to a special
needs child, SSI or AFDC eligible, for whom a private non-
profit agency holds custody and to nonrecurring adoption ex-
penses only for special needs children who are adopted
independently. The adoption laws of the State of Louisiana
shall be adhered to and the granting of a subsidy shall not
affect the legal status of the child nor the rights and responsi-
bilities of the adoptive parents.

The prospective adoptive family must meet basic
adoption eligibility requirements in all respects except for the
ability to-assume complete financial responsibility for the
child’s care. '

TYPES OF SUBSIDY

The child may be subsidized for the following services
up to age eighteen:

1. Maintenance. The maintenance subsidy includes
basic living expenses such as board, room, clothing, spend-
ing money, and ordinary medical and dental costs. The main-
tenance supplement may be ongoing, but must be renewed
on a yearly basis. The amount of payment shall not exceed
80 percent of the state’s regular foster care board rate based
on the monthly flat rate payments for the corresponding age
group. Changes in the maintenance subsidy rate care may
occur once a year and the adjustment is made at the time of
a change in the child’s age group. The monthly maintenance
shall not be based on specialized foster care arrangements
such as Subsidized Foster Care, Alternate Family Care, or
Therapeutic Foster Care.

2. Special Board Rate. Foster parents adopting a fos-
ter child for whom a special board rate was received may
request up to a maximum of 80 percent of the special board
rate amount of $300. This includes adoptive parents who
were not previously certified as the child’s foster parent(s), if
the care and needs of the child in the adoptive home warrant
this same special board rate. Therefore, under the Adoption
Subsidy Program, the special board component for these
types homes shall not exceed $240. The continued need for
the special board rate shall be reviewed at the time of the
annual review. '

For the child placed in a Subsidized Foster Home, Al-
ternate Family Care facility, or-a.Therapeutic Family Care fa-
cility, the maximum amount of the Special Board component
of the Adoption Subsidy shall not exceed $258. This amount
equals the Family Support Case Subsidy (administered by
the Division of Mental Retardation and the Developmental
Disabilities) authorized for the care of special needs children
who are in their own homes.
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3. Special Services. The special services subsidy is
time limited and in some cases may be a one time payment.
It is the special assistance given to handle an anticipated
expense when no other family or community resources is
available. If needed, it can be offered in addition to the main-
tenance subsidy. Special services subsidies include the fol-
lowing type needs: '

A. special medical costs for the child in connection
with any physical or mental condition which existed prior to
the date of the initial judgement of adoption;

B. dental, psychiatric, or psychological expenses, spe-
cial equipment, prosthetic devices, or speech therapy;

C. other services determined to be medically neces-
sary for the care, training and education of the child; and

D. legal and court costs or adoption under special cir-
cumstances. ; ‘

Assessment must be made of the adopting family’s
medical insurance and of other public and voluntary commu-
nity services to determine whether the costs of treatment and
related costs can be covered in part or in whole by insurance
and by other community services.

Reimbursement for special services will be limited to
the usual and customary fee in the community where such
services are rendered.

EXPLORATION OF ADOPTIVE RESOURCES

Before a child is certified by the Office of Community
Services as eligible for a subsidy, resources for adoptive
placement without such benefits must be explored by the
adoption worker. This will include recruitment of adoptive
parents, registrations for a reasonable period on state, re-
gional, and/or national adoption resources exchanges, and
referral to appropriate specialized adoption agencies.

Whenever an eligible child has been available for
adoption for at least six months and every reasonable effort
has been made to place the child for adoption with Louisiana
residents, adoptive parents from other states shall be eligible
for a subsidy under the same conditions as Louisiana resi-
dents, except where the other state has a subsidized adop-
tion program that is available to such non-resident parents.
ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

1. Non IV-E Placements. The income scale determin-
ing eligibility for the non IV-E maintenance subsidy shall be
utilized by the DSS, Office of Community Services to deter-
mine eligibility for non IV-E benefits. The scale is based on
115 percent of Louisiana’s median income for a family of
four, adjusted for family size as published by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Health and Human Services. Figures in the column
on the left refer to the number of family members, including
the adoptive child(ren). Figures in the column on the right
refer to family gross income. Persons living in the household
who are not dependent on the adoptive family’s income,
even though related, are not counted. Families whose in-
come falls below the figures in the right column may apply
for subsidy.

The Office of Community Services, Adoption Subsidy
Program, will determine the appropriateness of subsidy ben-
efits, the type of subsidy, and the level of the subsidy. An
agreement-form between the Office of Community Services
and the prospective adoptive parents with clearly delineated
terms must be signed prior to the granting of the final de-
cree.




Income Chart

EAMILY SIZE GROSS ANNUAL INCOME
1 person $15,399.00
2 persons 20,137.00
3 persons - 24,875.00
4 persons 29,614.00
5 persons 3J4,352.00
6 persons 39,090.00
7 persons 39,978.00
8 persons 40,867.00
9 persons : : 42,052.00

10 persons 42,940.00
11 persons 43,829.00
12 persons 44,717.00
13 persons 45,606.00
14 persons 46,493.00

For each additional family member above 14 persons,
add $888 to the gross annual income.

2. IV-E Placements. Federal regulations prohibit the
use of an income eligibility requirement (means test) for pro-
spective adoptive parents in determining the availability of
payments or other types of adoption assistance. The other-
wise eligible child who has met the ‘“‘special needs” require-
ments in section 473 (c) of the Social Security Act will be
eligible for payments and other types of services and assist-
ance under the Title IV-E Adoption Assistance Program. Par-
ents with whom such a child is placed for adoption are
eligible to receive Title IV-E payments and other assistance
on behalf of that child, under an agreement with the state
agency.

EFFECTS OF DEATHS OF ADOPTIVE PARENTS ON
ADOPTION SUBSIDY

Where an adoption subsidy agreement is in effect and
the adoptive parents die prior to the adopted child reaching
the age of majority, the duly designated tutor or guardian of
the child may continue to receive subsidy payments on be-
half of the child provided that the tutor or guardian is capable
of providing a permanent home for the child in all respects
other that financial, and the child’s needs are beyond the
resources of the tutor or guardian. In these situations, the
child who was Title IV-E eligible prior to the death of the
adoptive parent(s) shall cease being eligible for these federal
benefits. The child’s medicaid certification as a Title IV-E
adoption subsidy child shall be closed and re-opened as a
non IV-E adoption subsidy child. The tutor or guardian
should be encouraged to apply for survivors benefits for the
child and/or AFDC.

It is extremely important to note that if the child is Title
IV-E eligible, section 473 (a)(i) of the Social Security Act (the
Act) prohibits the transfer of this benefit to the guardian. The
Act makes no provision for payments to be made to the child
or others, such as a tutor/guardian. Therefore, in these situa-
tions, the payments made by the Adoption Subsidy Program
are funded with all state dollars.

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary

RULE

Department of Social: Services
Office of Family Support

Project Independence

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, has amended LAC 67:111.2901.

This rule/ is mandated by federal regulations as
published in the Federal Register of Friday, October 13, 1989,
Vol. 64, No. 197, pages 42146-42267, and the Louisiana
Welfare Reform Act, which require the implementation of the
JOBS program for recipients of Aid to Families with
Dependent  Children (AFDC). Project Independence is
administered in accordance with the above-referenced
regulations and law, and the Louisiana State Plan for JOBS.

Title 67
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Part lll. Office of Family Support
Subpart 5. Job Opportunities and Basic Skills

Training Program
Chapter 29. Organization
Subchapter A. Designation and Authority of State Agency
§2901. Implementation ‘

* * *

A.2. Participation Requirements
* * *

c. Final October 1992 Implementation Parishes

i. Complete implementation of Project Independence is
being expanded to include the following parishes: Ascension,
Lafourche, Livingston, St. John, St. Landry, St. Martin, St.
Tammany, and Tangipahoa. The program will be
administered in these additional parishes in the same manner
as in the 20 parishes where it is currently operational.

ii. Minimal implementation of Project Independence is
being done in the following parishes: Acadia, Allen,
Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Caldwell,
Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, DeSoto, Evangeline, East
Carroll, East Feliciana, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson Davis,
LaSalle, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Plaquemines,
Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. James, St. Mary,
Tensas, Union, Vermilion, Washington, Webster, West
Carroll, West Feliciana, and Winn. A minimal program will
include high school or equivalent education, either OJT or Job
Search, and information and referral to Employment Services.

d. Individual Participation Requirements

* ¥ *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
F.R. 54:42146 et seq., 45 CFR 250.11, 45 CFR 250.30, 45
CFR 250.33, and R.S. 460.3(A)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Social Services, Office of Family Support LR 16:626
(July 1990), amended LR 16:1064 (December 1990), LR
17:1227 (December 1991), LR 18: (September 1992).

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary
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RULE

Department of Social Services
Rehabilitation Services
Commission for the Deaf

The Department of Social Services, Commission for
the Deaf, mandated by the 1990 Regular Session, is autho-
rized to certify sign language interpreters of the deaf and to
maintain a registry of sign language interpreters.

Because of the nature of the state mandate, the de-
manids for certified sign language interpreters in all legal set-
tings, mental health areas, and social services areas, as well
as the availability of state funds for evaluation and certifica-
tion for interpreters, the Commission for the Deaf sees an
imminent peril to public health, safety, or welfare requiring
adoption of a rule upon shorter notice than the normal proc-
ess. As a result, the emergency rulemaking process is appli-
cable at this time.

The Commission for the Deaf is revising the certifica-
tion standards for sign language interpreters as published in
the Louisiana Register in April, 1991.

RULE
State Sign Language Interpreter Certification Standards

Certification Statement
All individuals who use the title ‘‘Sign Language Inter-
preter” must be certified by and registered with the Louisi-
ana Commission for the Deaf.
Implementation of the generalists certification process
is projected to be as follows:

Grandfathering July 1, 1991
through December 31, 1991
Screening January 1, 1992
Written Examination April 1, 1992
Situational Ethics April 1, 1992
Performance Examination
Transliterating July 1, 1992
Interpreting July 1, 1992

Situational specialties will require the appropriate sub-
committees of the Interpreter Certification Board to review/re-
vise the Louisiana Registry of Interpreters to reflect
recommended certification levels.

Legal

Medical

Mental Health

Occupational

Educational (Postsecondary)
Governmental Services
Community Services
Tactile/Graphic

August 31, 1991
October 31, 1991
December 31, 1991
February 28, 1992
April 30, 1992
‘June 30, 1992
August 31, 1992
October 31, 1992

Relay December 31, 1992
Cultural Arts April 30, 1993
Educational (Preschool/Elementary) July 1, 1993~
Educational (Secondary) July 1, 1993*
Cued Speech July 1, 1993*

Religious - no testing will be scheduled, as this is con-
sidered to be a function of individual religious bodies.

*or until such time as the appropriate criteria for certi-
fication of educational interpreters, including Cued Speech
Interpreters, developed by an Educational Interpreter Sub-
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committee of the Interpreter Certification Board are in place.

] EXAMINATION

The Louisiana State Certification” Program includes
the following examination components:

Qualifications for Examination:

All individuals who desire to be examined for possible
certification must:

1. be at least 18 years of age; and

2. possess a high school diploma/GED; and

3. submit completed application forms and required
documentation; and

4. pass appropriate examination/s; and

5. abide by state laws, rules, and regulations; and

6. abide by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf,
Inc. (RID) Code of Ethics.

Application:

An individual interested in examination must contact
the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf (LCD). An application
packet will be sent. Upon receipt of the completed applica-
tion, LCD will notify the Chair of the Interpreter Certification
Board to arrange for screening.

Screening:

To begin the certification process, the candidate must
demonstrate sufficient communication skills in Sign Lan-
guage, as demonstrated through the Sign Language Profi-
ciency Interview, and determined as follows:

Level | Intermediate
Level Il Advanced
Level Il Superior
Level IV Superior
Level V Superior

Written Examination:

Upon successful completion of screening, the candi-
date will be eligible for the written examination.

The written examination is designed to assess the
candidate’s knowledge of the general field of deafness, in-
cluding deaf culture and the profession of interpreting, both
general across languages and specific to sign language.

Successful completion of the written examination will
permit continuation of the process through the situational
ethics examination.

Situational Ethics Examination:

Upon successful completion of the written examina-
tion, the candidate will be eligible for the situational ethics
examination.

The candidate will be examined on application of the
RID Code of Ethics, professional attitudes toward deafness
and interpreting, and the ability to react to conflict situations.

Successful completion of the situational ethics exami-
nation will permit continuation of the process through the
performance examination/s.

Interpreting Performance Examination:

Upon successful completion of the situational ethics
examination, the candidate will be eligible for the interpreting
performance examination.

The candidate’s ability to render American Sign Lan-
guage into spoken English and spoken English into Ameri-
can Sign Language will be examined. Factors involved
include clarity of signs, fingerspelling and voice, appropriate-
ness of English structure and register, inflection of signs and
voice to depict affect, and conceptual accuracy.




Transliterating Performance Examination:

Upon successful completion of the situational ethics
examination, the candidate will be eligible for the transliterat-
ing performance examination.

The candidate’s ability to render Sign English into spo-
ken English and spoken English into Sign English will be
examined. Factors considered are clarity of signs, finger-
spelling and voice, appropriateness of English Structure and
register, inflection of signs and voice to depict affect, and
conceptual accuracy.

Examination Dates:

Examinations will be administered a minimum of twice
annually.

No Shows:

Failure to appear at an examination site at the appro-
priate time, for other than just cause, will result in being
placed at the bottom of the waiting list for the next available
date.

Notification of Results:

The candidate will be notified of individual results.
Results of any part of the examination will be maintained in
confidential files, however, successful completion will be a
matter of public record.

Re-Application: » )

Persons who do not successfully pass a section of the
examination may re-apply after a waiting period of at least six
months.

Duration of Certificates:

Certificates shall be continuous as long as the individ-
ual interpreter meets annual renewal requirements.

Level |
(Internship)

Minimum Criteria. The applicant must:

1. possess an Intermediate Sign Language Profi-
ciency Interview rating in American Sign Language or Sign
Language or Sign English; and

2. successfully complete the written examination; and

3. successfully complete the situational ethics exami-
nation; and

4. submit a letter of internship from a certified inter-
preter.

Level ll

Minimum Criteria. The applicant must:

1. possess an Advanced Sign Language Proficiency
Interview Rating; and

2. successfully complete the written examination; and

3. successfully complete the situational ethics exami-
nation; and

4. successfully complete a performance examination;
and

5. submit three letters of reference.

Level 111

Minimum Criteria. The applicant must:

1. possess a Superior Sign Language Proficiency Rat-
ing; and

2. successfully complete the written examination; and

3. successfully complete the situational ethics exami-
nation; and

4. successfully complete a performance examination:
and ‘

5. submit three letters of reference.
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Level IV
Minimum Criteria. The applicant must:
1. possess a Superior Sign Language Proficiency In-
terview Rating; and
2. successfully complete the written examination; and
3. successfully complete the situational ethics exami-
nation; and
4. successfully complete the interpreting performance
examination; or
successfully complete the transliterating perform-
ance examination.
Level V
Minimum Criteria. The applicant must:
1. possess a Superior Sign Language Proficiency In-
terview Rating; and
2. successfully complete the written examination; and
3. successfully complete the situational ethics exami-
nation; and
4. successfully complete the interpreting performance
examination; and
successfully complete the transliterating performance
examination.

RENEWAL
Requirements: To maintain certification, the interpreter will,
on an annual basis:

1. file a renewal form; and

2. provide documentation demonstrating proof of pro-
fessional involvement, professional growth, and field work.

The certificate year is July 1 through June 30.

Should a certificate expire, the interpreter must re-
submit an application and fees, and successfully complete
the State Certification Program.

Grandfather Clause: For the period of July 1, 1991
through December 31, 1991, applicants will be awarded a
certificate according to the following:

Level | - Individuals with one through three Louisiana
Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf Situational Specialities,
or a Louisiana Commission for the Deaf Interim Certificate E.

Level Il - Individuals with four through eight Louisiana
Registry of Interpreter for the Deaf Situational Specialties, or
a Louisiana Commission for the Deaf Interim Certificate D.

Level Ill - Individuals with nine or more Louisiana Reg-
istry of Interpreters for the Deaf Situational Specialties, or a
Louisiana Commission for the Deaf Interim Certificate C.

Level IV - Individuals with Louisiana Commission for
the Deaf Interim Certificate B, or current or past Registry of
Interpreters for the Deaf certification of:

Expressive Interpreting Certificate (EIC), or
Expressive Translating Certificate (ETC), or
Interpreting Certificate (IC), or

Transliterating Certificate (TC), or

Certificate of Interpreting (Cl), or

Certificate of Transliterating (CT).

Level V - Individuals with Louisiana Commission for
the Deaf Certificate A, or current or past Registry of Inter-
preters for the Deaf certification of: :

Specialist Certificate: Legal (SC:L, formerly LSC), or

Specialist Certificate: Performing Arts (SC:PA), or

Master Comprehensive Skills Certificate (MCSC), or

Comprehensive Skills Certificate (CSC), or

Reverse Skills Certification (RSC), or

Certification of Interpretation (Cl), and
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Certificate of Transliteration (CT), formerly EIC and
ETC, and IC and TC, respectively.

Applicants must submit:

1. application form; and -

2. appropriate fee; and

3. Louisiana Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf cre-

dentials or

: 4. Registry of Interpreters for the deaf Certificate/s;
and v
5. resume indicating:
a. education;
b. field experience;
¢. professional involvement; and three references.
Reciprocity.
Reciprocity with other interpreting certificates will be
determined on -an individual basis, as presented to the Inter-
preters Certification Board and approved by the Louisiana
Commission for the Deaf.

A temporary certificate may be issued by the Chair of
the ICB pending resolution of individual reciprocity issues.

Applicants for temporary certificates must submit:

. application form; and

. appropriate fee; and

. resume indicating:

. education;

. field experience;

. professional involvement; and three references.
" Grievance.

Any individual who disagrees with the action of the
Interpreter Certification Board, or the results of any examina-
tion, will be permitted the right of appeal/grievance as out-
lined in Louisiana Commission for the Deaf policy.

) Certification Authority

The Louisiana Commission for the Deaf is authorized
by R.S. 46:2352(7) of the 1990 Louisiana Legislative Session
to certify interpreters for persons who are deaf. Louisiana
Commission for the Deaf, Box 94371, Baton Rouge, LA
70804-9371, (504) 342-2850 (V/T), 1-800-256-1523 (V/T).
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Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary

RULE

Department of Social Services
Office of the Secretary

The Department of Social Services, Office of the Sec-
retary, Bureau of Licensing, hereby amends the Louisiana
Administrative Code, Title 48, Part 1, Subpart 3, Licensing.

This rule is mandated by R.S. 46:1401-1424.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH-GENERAL
Part |. General Administration
Subpart 3. Licensing ‘
Chapter 53. Day Care Centers
§5355. Purpose

A. 1. The Louisiana Committee on Private Child Care
shall meet to develop minimum standards for licensure of
Class B facilities and consult with the department on matters
pertaining to decisions to revoke or refuse to grant Class B
license. The licensing authority of this committee is estab-
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lished by Chapter 14 of Title 46 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes of 1950, to be comprised of R.S. 46:1401 through
1424, relative to the licensing and regulations of child care
facilities and child placing agencies.

B. Waivers

The secretary of the Department of Social Services, in
specific instances, may waive compliance with a minimum
standard if it is determined that the economic impact is suffi-
ciently great to make compliance impractical, as long as the
health and well-being of the staff and/or children is not im-
periled. If it is determined that the facility or agency is meet-
ing or exceeding the intent of a standard or regulation, the
standard or regulation may be deemed to be met.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5357. Relicensing

B. The relicensing process is similar to the original
application.

1. Renewal applications will be mailed to centers ap-
proximately 60 days prior to the expiration for execution. The
application shall indicate any changes the center needs to
make. (Example: hours of operation, ages of children.)

2. Relicensing surveys will be made by the Depart-
ment of Social Services, Licensing, Office of the State Fire
Marshal, the Office of Public Health, and others as City Fire
Marshal, Zoning (if applicable). Approvals of each must be
received by the Department of Social Services, Licensing be-
fore a new license will be issued. The director will review with
the surveyors the findings and will be furnished a copy for

any necessary action. It is the responsibility of the center

owner/director to obtain the approvals before the current li-
cense’s expiration date.

3. The Department of Social Services and the Office
of State Fire Marshal must approved proposed structural
changes, ratio adjustments, and variance of space used be-
fore changes are made which may affect the center’s li-
cense. '

4. If a survey reveals that a center is not substantially
meeting minimum requirements, a recommendation will be
made that a new license not be issued.

C. Appeal Procedure

1. the department shall have the power to deny, re-
voke or refuse to renew a license for a child care facility or
child placing agency if an applicant has failed to comply with
the provisions of this chapter or any applicable published
rule or regulation of the department related to child care facil-
ities and child placing agencies. If a license is denied, re-
voked, or withdrawn, the action shall be effective when made
and the department shall notify the applicant of such action
in writing immediately and of the reason for the denial, revo-
cation, or withdrawal of the license. The department shall
take such action with the advise and consent of the Child
Care Committee, in the case of Class A facilities, and of the
Private Child Care Committee, in the case of Class B facili-
ties.

* k Kk




AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Départment of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5359. Definitions

A. 1. Owner — the individual or organization that
owns the center, but who may employ a person to be full-time
director responsible for the operation of the center or who
may retain the responsibility as director.

2. Director — an individual employed by the owner of
the center or by a board of a church or other organization to
be responsible for the operation of the day care center.

3. Child Care Staff — an individual directly involved in
the care and supervision of the children in the center.

4. Substitute Employee — an individual hired to take
the place of any staff member.

5. Temporary Employee — an individual who, on an
occasional basis, works under the supervision of a regular
staff member.

6. Voluntary Worker — an individual who volunteers
services or supplements the regular staff, on occasional ba-
sis. :

7. Department — the Louisiana Department of Social
Services.

8. The Louisiana Advisory Committee on Child Care
Facilities and Child Placing Agencies — the committee that
will review and revise licensing standards for Class A li-
censed centers.

9. The Louisiana Committee on Private Child Care —
writes and oversees the implementation of the Class B stand-
ards.

10. Child Information Form — an information form that
gives identifying and pertinent information on each child.

11. Class A License — issued to centers that meet
Class A minimum standards.

12. Class B License — issued to centers that meet
Class B minimum standards.

13. Child’s Physician Report Form — gives medical
and immunization information on each child.

14. Personnel Health Record — gives medical infor-
mation of employees indicating a current check of communi-
cable disease.

15. Medication Permission Slip — gives the day care
center parents’ permission (and dosage instructions regard-
ing administering medication to their child).

16. Transportation Authorization Slip — authorized
certain parents and other parties to pick up children from day
care center on a regular basis.

17. Temporary Transportation Authorization Form —
gives parents’ permission for parties other than those al-
ready on record at center to pick up their child on temporary
basis.

18. Discipline Form — form to be distributed to each
parent and outlines the discipline (corporal or noncorporal
punishments plan to be administered by the center).

19. Employee Application Form —. form for day care
center employees providing the name, age, address, tele-
phone number, education background regarding felony re-
cord and psychiatric disorder, if any.

* K K
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5361. Required Records

A. Personnel Records

1. There shall be an employment application for each
regularly employed and substitute member of the staff. This
application shall include the actual date of hire, all pertinent
personal information, past work experience, educational
background, and personal references.

2. Complete 1-9 form (U. S. Immigration and Natural-
ization Service Employment Eligibility form, required after
November, 1986).

3. Documentation of criminal records check and
fingerprinting application as required by R.S. 15:587.1 after
September, 1986.

B. Children’s Records

1. b. All medical information required by the Office of
Public Health (showing health inoculation records). See
Child’s Physician Report Form.

C. Center Records

1. Current written report from the Office of Fire Mar-
shal

2. Current written report from the Office of Public
Health

3. Occupational license (when applicable)

4. Certificate of Occupancy (Zoning requirement)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5363. Personnel

A. Qualifications

1. Director

c. ii. A Child Development Associate Credential which
includes practicum and one year experience in a licensed
center.

d. Licenses issued after June-20, 1990 must meet one
of the requirements i-v. All directors employed prior to June
20, 1990 will be exempt from meeting director qualifications.
These directors, however, are encouraged to work toward
one of these requirements.

3. All Center Staff

a. All center staff include the director, teachers, child
care staff, and any other employees of the center such as the
cook, housekeeper, chauffeur.

b. i. All center staff shall be required to obtain within
two weeks before beginning work and at least every three
years thereafter a written statement from a physician certify-
ing that individual is in good health and is physically able to
care for children and is free from infectious and contagious
diseases.
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e. Substitute or temporary employees shall meet the
same medical requirements as regularly employed person-
nel. Refer to substitute and temporary employees as defined.

C. 4. If day and night care are offered, there must be
separate staff.

D. 1. a. Provisions for a one-day orientation to center
policies and practices, health and safety, and emergency
and evacuation procedures followed by four days of super-
vised working with children.

4. CPR training for infant and child is required of one-
half the current staff on premises, in direct supervision of the
children at all times.

a. Documentation will be a copy of the certification
card on file at the center.

b. This training may satisfy the requirement for those
staff quarterly training session. (See §5363.D.2).

c. Certification will qualify for four ‘‘clock hours’ train-
ing credit toward a new director’s requirements. (See
§5363.a.1.c.iv).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5365. Plant and Equipment

A. Indoor/Outdoor Space Required

1. There shall be outdoor space adjoining the center
which provides a minimum of 75 square feet for each child in
the group. The minimum outdoor play space shall be availa-
ble for at least one-half of the number of children in care.

3. A soft surface shall be provided under climbing ap-
paratus with potential fall of four feet or more to the ground.
Soft surface samples are grass, pea gravel, loosely-packed
soil, sand, wood chips, sawdust, or mats.

a. Climbing apparatus installed prior to the date of
these regulations must come into compliance within 90 days
of the regulations.

B. 2. Play equipment of sufficient quantity and variety

- for indoor and outdoor use, shall be provided which is appro-
priate to the needs of the children.

* K x

D. Fire Safety

"2. Fire drills shall be conducted at least every 30 days.

a. These shall be conducted at various times of the
day and shall be documented as follows:

i. date and time of day;

ii. number of children and staff present;

iii. lapse time of drill.

3. All personnel are to be trained in emergency and
evacuation procedures.

E. Safety Regulations

1. Drugs, poisons, harmful chemicals, equipment and
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tools shall be locked away from children.

a. Whether a cabinet or an entire room, the storage
area must be locked.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424. )

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promuigated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5367. Admission of Children

B. Parents or guardians must be provided with a writ-
ten description of the centers

1. Program, polices, fee (if any), annual and daily
schedule.

C. Discrimination by child day care centers on the ba-
sis of race, color, creed, sex, national origin, handicapping
condition or ancestry is prohibited.

1. A policy shall include this written statement.

D. DELETE

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992). ‘
§5369. Care of Children

A. Nutrition

1. Well-balanced and nourishing meals and snacks
shall be made available to children in care for more than four
holuirs using the four basic food groups (breads, fruits and
vegetables, dairy products, protein products) but, not requir-
ing all components of the food groups be served at one meal
or snack.

a. Milk shall be offered to the children at least once a
day.

4. a. iv. Parents should be encouraged to prepare
meals which are well-balanced and nutritious but, with the
understanding that what the parent provides is acceptable.

5. Infants to be fed and supervised individually.

a. Infants shall be held while feeding.

b. A bottle shall not be propped at any time.

c. Parents should supply center with a schedule of
feedings for each infant.

6. Drinking water shall be readily available to the chil-
dren in single service cups or cups that can be sanitized.

a. Drinking fountains are permissible.

b. Infants and toddlers should be- offered water at in-
tervals.

* Kk *

B. Health Service to the Child

3. b. A physician’s written certification that the child is
free from contagious disease should be required before a
child can return to center. -

* K K




7. An incident/accident report should be maintained
detailing accident of a child and the action taken by the facil-
ity/director.

* ok k

C. Daily Program

5. While awake, infants up to the age of one year, shall
not remain in a crib, a baby bed, or a playpen for more than
30 minutes continuous.

* Kk

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,

Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April

1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).
§5373. Discipline

Each center shall establish a written policy in regard
to methods of discipline stating what actions will and will not
occur.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5375. Abuse and Neglect

A. 1. This statement shall be included in your written
discipline policy.

) AUTHORITY NOTE: Promuigated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
tice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992).

§5377. Supervision

A. 3. At naptime, children may be grouped together
with one worker supervising the children sleeping while oth-
ers workers rotate various duties and lunch time. All children
sleeping must be in the sight of the naptime worker. However,
appropriate staffing must be present within the center to sat-
isfy child/staff ratios. .

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 46:1401-1424.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary,
Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April
1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, Of-
fice of the Secretary, LR 18: (September 1992),

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary
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RULE
Department of Transportation and Development

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. '49:950, et seq., the De-
partment of Transportation and Development adopts the fol-
lowing rule entitled Recycling of Highway Construction and
Maintenance Materials, in accordance with the provisions of
R.S. 30:2415.

Title 70
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
AND DEVELOPMENT
Part lll. Office of Highways

Chapter 9. Recycling of Highway Construction and Main-
tenance Material
§901. Purpose

In compliance with the provisions of R.S. 30:2415, the
Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development
hereby specifies its policy for maximizing the recycling of
highway construction and maintenance materials. The de-
partment currently purchases all items, except road and
bridge materials which are the subject of this rule, through
the Office of State Purchasing. Therefore, all items pur-
chased, other than road and bridge materials, are subject to
any and all rules on the subject of recycling which have been
promulgated by the Office of State Purchasing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Transportation and Development, LR 18: (September
1992).

§903. Tracking

It shall be the responsibility of the Construction and
Maintenance Engineer or his designee to compile an annual
report showing the number or amount of materials recycled
each year. ;

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Transportation and Development, LR 18: (September
1992).

§905. Construction Materials

A. Methods of Recycling

1. Salvage pipe culverts to relay on same project or
deliver to maintenance unit for reuse.

2. Salvage treated timber and deliver to maintenance
unit for reuse.

3. Salvage steel beams and deliver to maintenance
unit for reuse.

4. Reclaim asphalt pavement to use in new mix, blend
into base course, use as aggregate surface course on shoul-
ders and ramps or deliver to maintenance unit for reuse.

5. Salvage concrete pavement to use in asphaltic con-
crete or as riprap.

6. Salvage guardrail and deliver to maintenance unit
for reuse.

7. Experiment with use of shredded tires in asphalt
concrete.

8. Recycle portland cement/concrete for hot mix and
for coarse aggregate in portland cement/concrete for base
course and for shoulders. Crush the portland cement/con-
crete, remove steel to use as coarse aggregate.
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9. Buy or specify in contracts recycled calcium sulfate
as an alternate for base course, embankment and shoulder
materials.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Transportation and Development, LR 18: (September
1992).

§907. Maintenance Materials

A. Methods of Recycling

1. Use materials salvaged from construction projects
and delivered to maintenance units for reuse.

2. Salvage old signs and strip sheeting from alumi-
num to reuse to make signs.

3. Sell scrap aluminum, steel and copper wire to sal-
vage companies for recycling.

4. Salvage signal parts to refurbish and use over again
or sell to salvage companies.

5. Reclaim zylene from stripper cleaning operation.

6. Save used oil and antifreeze for reclaiming. Sell
unusable waste oil to highest bidder who is also a disposer
certified by Department of Environmental Quality.

7. Recap tires when feasible. Sell used tires to highest
bidder who is also a disposer certified by Department of En-
vironmental Quality.

8. Sell batteries to highest bidder who is also a dis-
poser certified by Department of Environmental Quality.

9. Use recycled glass beads for pavement striping.

10. In connection with the disposal of unusable tires
and batteries, the Department of Transportation and Develop-
ment works with Division of Administration toward a plan un-
der which these items are turned in to vendor upon purchase
of new tires or batteries on a ‘‘one for one” basis.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Transportation and Development, LR 18: (September
1992).

Jude W. Patin
Secretary

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule for emergency
refunds (R.S. 42:657(B)).

RULE

A refund of accumulated employee contributions may
be made in less than 30 calendar days after the date of sepa-
ration from state service in the following situations:

1. the refund results from the death of the member,

2. the member is totally and permanently disabled and
is not entitled to disability retirement benefits, or

3. the member has expenses for medical care for an
immediate family member.

4. unusual situations that are determined to be of an
emergency nature by the executive director. The member

Louisiana Register Vol. 18, No. 9 September 20, 1992

974

must provide a written request detailing the emergency situa-
tion and the executive director must provide written justifica-
tion for his approval.

The member or beneficiary must provide a copy of the
death certificate, a doctor’s statement of total and permanent
disability, or a copy of medical invoices to qualify for the
emergency refund.

Upon receipt of the documentation, the retirement
system will issue the refund at the next scheduled date for
issuing refund checks. The refund amount will include all
employee contributions received from the employing agency
and posted to the individual’s account. Any additional contri-
butions received at a later date from the agency will be re-
funded to the individual after they are received and posted to
the account.

_If the amount that is refunded is greater than the
amount actually due the individual, the individual is responsi-
ble for repaying the overpayment upon receiving notification
from the retirement system.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule concerning
judicial retirement as mandated by Act 1063 of the 1991 Reg-
ular Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

Act 1063 of the 1991 Regular Session enacts special
retirement provisions for certain judges whose judicial divi-
sions were not precleared by the U.S. Justice Department,
judges serving on a court restructured by federal court order,
or judges serving on a court found to be in violation of the
Voting Rights Act.

Any judge holding office on the effective date of this
Act may retire at the end of his current term, regardless of
age or years of service, provided that he does not seek re-
election to the current office or seek election to another judi-
cial office.

In order to be eligible for retirement under these provi-
sions, the judge must make application on or before Novem-
ber 21, 1991. A judge who seeks reelection or election to
another judicial office is not eligible to apply for retirement
under this Act. The judicial administrator’s office must certify
that the office held by the judge is covered under the provi-
sions of Act 1063. Once received in the office of LASERS,
the retirement application is irrevocable.

Act 1063 establishes a special retirement. benefit
structure for certain judges. This benefit structure replaces
the structure established in R.S. 42:575 and R.S. 13:15. The
base benefit is defined as ‘‘that proportion of his annual judi-
cial pay, as it exists on the date of his retirement, which his
number of years served on a court of record bears to 25.”
Thus, the base benefit is equal to four percent of judicial pay

instead of three and one-half percent of the average highest:

36 months, and does not include a $300 supplement. The
judicial pay will be based on the base pay reported in the last
monthly earnings report from the agency.

amaN




There is also a supplemental benefit for legislative,
military, and prosecutorial service. The rules for recognizing,
purchasing, or transferring such service are to be in accord-
ance with the “otherwise applicable laws” of the system.
Thus, prior state service with the attorney general, for exam-
ple, where the contributions have been left with the system,
would be credited at two and one-half percent. Service that is
purchased on an actuarial basis, such as military service, will
be credited at three and one-half percent. The formula for
calculating the supplemental benefit for purchased service is
three and one-half percent x final average compensation x
number of years of purchased service. Existing service and
transferred service will be calculated using the rate normally
applicable to such service.

Purchases of service not normally authorized may be
made only for purposes of establishing a benefit under this
Act.

The total retirement benefit is limited to 100 percent of
the judicial pay as it exists on the date of his retirement.

Purchases of service credit may be made by paying
the actuarial cost under the provisions of R.S. 42:697.16.
Military service is defined as regular full-time active duty or
full-time active duty in the national guard or reserve forces,
and does not include periods of annual training. The judge
must provide the appropriate documentation for military serv-
ice (Form DD214) or must provide certification from the politi-
cal subdivision detailing the dates of service and whether the
service was full-time or part-time. If the service was covered
by another retirement system and the judge previously re-
ceived a refund for the service, the refund may be repaid to
the other retirement system in order to transfer the service to
LASERS.

If he has service in another retirement system, the
service may be transferred under the provisions of R.S.
42:697.1. Benefits based on transferred service will be calcu-
lated using the formula from the transferring system.

Reciprocal agreements with other retirement systems
will be processed in accordance with the provisions of R.S.
42:697. The judge must qualify for retirement under the pro-
visions of the reciprocating system in order to receive a ben-
efit from that system.

Since this is not a regular retirement program, judges
retiring under these provisions are not eligible for participa-
tion in the deferred retirement option plan.

RULE

Act 1063 of 1991 provides special retirement options
for certain judges affected by federal court orders. It provides
for an enhanced benefit structure, special purchase of serv-
ice credit provisions, and waives age and years of service
requirements.

This rule will establish the procedures for implement-
ing the provisions of Act 1063.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
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ees’ System hereby gives notice in accordance with law that
it has adopted the following rules for purchase of military
service under R.S. 42:697.11.

RULE

R.S. 42:697.11 as amended by Act 205 of the 1991
Regular Legislative Session provides for the actuarial pur-
chase of military service under certain conditions effective
July 2, 1991, : .

A maximum of four years of credit for military service
may be purchased by members who rendered military serv-
ice prior to January 1, 1982 provided the member received a
discharge other than dishonorable. The member must have
at least 18 months of creditable service in LASERS in order
to purchase the service.

A member who cannot receive credit for service in the
state national guard or in the reserve forces under these pro-
visions unless the service was for full time active duty.

In order to apply for purchase of the service, the mem-
ber must:

1. make application to LASERS,

2. provide a copy of military form DD214,

3. certify that he/she is not drawing a regular retire-
ment benefit based on the military service calculated on the
basis of age and service (restriction does not apply to disabil-
ity benefits based on 25 percent or less disability received as
a result of military service),

4. certify that he/she has not received credit for the
service in any other public retirement system, and ,

5. Pay $75 for the cost of the actuarial calculation to
determine the cost to purchase the service.

The member must pay the actuarial cost to receive the
service credit. Upon receipt of the items listed above, LA-
SERS will issue an invoice to the member. The invoice is void
if not paid within 90 days after the date issued. Payment
must be made in a lump sum.

Military service purchased cannot be used to establish
eligibility for disability or survivor's benefits. Military service
purchased will be used to establish eligibility for regular re-
tirement provided the member has a minimum of 20 years of
state service. The military service purchased will be used. in
the calculation of the retirement benefits but will not be used
to establish the final average compensation.

The payment of the actuarial cost will be credited to
the member’s account as unsheltered employee contribu-
tions. If the member later separates from state employment
and requests a refund of contributions, the amount paid will
be refunded along with other employee contributions.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

~ Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rules for implemen-
tation of Act 6 of the First Extraordinary Session of 1991 for
Retirement System purposes.
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RULE

The Military Service Relief Act (R.S. 29:401-425) pro-
vides for a broad range of benefits for persons who are called
to military service for the security of the nation. The provi-
sions of the law are effective for military service rendered on
and after August 3, 1990, which includes service in Opera-
tion Desert Shield/Storm.

The following rules apply to the provisions that affect
benefits administered by the Louisiana State Employees’ Re-
tirement System (LASERSY) for the service during Operation
Desert Shield/Storm pursuant to Presidential Order.
Requirements

In order to qualify for retirement credit for military serv-
ice, at the time the individual was called to active military
service, he or she must have been:

1. a state employee in a position that is other than
temporary (including but not limited to probational and per-
manent Civil Service positions);

2. a member of the Louisiana State Employees’ Re-
tirement System;

3. a member of the Army National Guard of the United
States, the Army Reserve, the Naval Reserve, the Marine
Corps Reserve, the Air National Guard of the United States,
Air Force Reserve, or the Coast Guard Reserve (hereinafter
called reservist) called to active duty; and

4. must have been released from active duty after sat-
isfactory completion of military duty in accordance with the
provisions of 50 U.S.C. A. §459 (release must have been
other than dishonorable). ‘

In addition, the reservist must apply for reemployment
within 90 days of release from military service or discharge
from hospitalization incidental to the military service.
Exclusions

Employees who were in temporary positions (such as,
but not limited to, restricted appointments, job appointments,
provisional appointments, and student workers) are not eligi-
ble for retirement credit. Elected officials and appointed offi-
cials in positions established by the constitution or laws of
the state are eligible for retirement credit. Reservists who
were participating in the Deferred Retirement Option Plan at
the time of military service are not eligible to receive service
credit.

Limitations

Reservists may not receive more than a total of four
years of military service credit in the retirement system for
military service performed after August 3, 1990. Even if a
reservist has prior credit for military service, he or she may
receive credit for Operation Desert Shield/Storm.

Credit for Eligibility and/or Benefit Purposes

Under the provisions of the Act, a reservist will receive
credit for purposes of determining eligibility for retirement at
no cost to the individual or agency. In order to receive credit
for purposes of calculating the retirement benefit, contribu-
tions must be paid to the retirement system within four years
of release from active military duty. If the employee was on
paid leave during the period of active military service, the
employee has received retirement credit for that service and
no additional information must be furnished to the retirement
system.

Certification of Military Service S

In order to receive retirement credit for eligibility and/
or benefits purposes, the employee must provide:

1. discharge or release notice (Form DD214) and any
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other pertinent documentation from the approWary
entity which provides the inclusive dates of active service or
discharge from hospitalization incidental to the military serv-
ice,

2. documentation from the agency certifying that the
reservist was employed in a position other than temporary on
the date the active duty began, and

3. certification from the agency that the reservist ap-
plied for reemployment within 90 days of release from mili-
tary service or discharge from hospitalization incidental to
the military service.

Differential Payments Made by the Agencies

Under the provisions of this Act, many reservists
whose military active duty base pay was less than their state
base pay will receive compensation from their agency in the
amount of the difference between the base military pay and
base state pay for the time of their eligible active duty. Retire-
ment contributions should not be paid on this differential pay.
The reservist must elect to pay contributions on the entire
amount of state earnings that would have been received in
order to receive retirement credit for benefit purposes.
Payment of Contributions After Military Service is Completed
(R.S. 29:414) :

The reservist may receive credit by paying the amount
of employee contributions that would have been paid if he or
she had continued in state employment during the period of
military service plus compounded interest at the actuarial
valuation rate at the time the payment is made. (In 1991, the
actuarial valuation rate is 8.25 percent). The employer must
pay the employer contribution plus interest.

The amount of contributions is based upon the
amount of earnings the employee would have received if still
employed. This includes any increases in compensation the
employee would have received if he/she had remained in
employment during the period of military service. If the em-
ployee’s compensation varies, such as for legislators, the av-
erage monthly earnings for the 12 months preceding the
active military service should be used to determine the
amount of contributions.

The employer must determine the amount of earnings
that would have been earned and compute the employee
and employer contributions that are due plus interest. The
interest should be calculated from the date the contributions
would have been made to the date the payment is made to
LASERS. LASERS will provide interest tables to the agencies
for the calculation of interest.

The employee must pay the employee contributions
plus interest to the agency. The agency must remit the em-
ployee and employer contributions plus interest to LASERS
within 30 days after the employee has paid his or her portion.
The agency must provide a monthly breakdown of the earn-
ings and contributions for each reservist and the certification
documents to LASERS.

All payments must be made in lump sum within four
years after the reservist returns to employment in order for
the reservist to receive credit for benefit purposes.

Death and Survivor Benefits

The period of military service will be counted as credit-
able service for determining eligibility for death and survivor
benefits. The amount of survivor benefits payable will be cal-
culated as provided for in R.S. 42:601-610.

The final average compensation used for the calcula-
tion will be based on the actual earnings of the member. In




order for the estimated earnings during the period of military
service to be used in the determination of the final average
compensation, the employee and employer contributions
must be paid for the period of military service.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule for purchases
and transfers of service.

RULE

The purchase of service on an actuarial basis and the
transfer of service from other public retirement systems into
LASERS requires an actuarial calculation by the system ac-
tuary. )

The cost of this calculation shall be paid by the mem-
ber requesting the calculation. Payment must be made be-
fore the request for the calculation will be forwarded to the
actuary. '

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule for payments to
certain handicapped or mentally retarded children.

, RULE

R.S. 42:603 provides for payment of survivor benefits
to totally physically handicapped or mentally retarded chil-
dren of deceased members if the child is ‘“‘dependent upon
the surviving spouse or other legal guardian” and does not
receive state assistance.

The statute does not address the situation where the
otherwise qualified surviving child has neither a surviving
parent or legal guardian. For example, the surviving spouse
may die, and if no legal guardian is appointed for a major
child, the child may be dependent upon the survivor benefits
and not upon either a legal guardian or surviving spouse as
stated in the statute.

In order to cover this area not addressed by the stat-
ute, it will be the policy of the Louisiana State Employees’
Retirement System to pay survivor’s benefits to otherwise
qualified physically handicapped or mentally retarded chil-
dren of deceased members who have neither a surviving
parent or legal guardian if such child, or a person holding a
power of attorney or other legal authority to act on behalf of
such child, provides to the system adequate annual docu-
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mentation demonstrating that benefit payments will be uéed
exclusively for the support and care of the child.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule for purchase of
service by reinstated employees.

RULE

When an employee is reinstated to a position in state
government by the Department of Civil Service or a court of
law, the employee is entitled to receive retirement service
credit for the period of time that is reinstated provided pay-
ment of employee and employer contributions plus interest is
made to the retirement system.

In order to receive service credit, the employee must
pay an amount equal to the current employee contributions
based on the earned compensation for the period of time
that was reinstated. The employing agency must pay the em-
ployer contributions which would have been due plus com-
pound interest at the actuarial valuation rate for all
contributions payable from the date the contribution was due
until paid.

Any costs to the retirement system associated with
these procedures shall be paid by the employing agency.

Thomas D. Burbank, Jr.
Executive Director

RULE

Department of the Treasury
Board of Trustees of the
Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System

The Board of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employ-
ees’ Retirement System hereby gives notice in accordance
with law that it has adopted the following rule for credit for
part-time service and service in multiple positions.

RULE

Members of the Louisiana State Employees’ Retire-
ment System will receive service credit (up to a maximum of
one year of service per calendar year) for all service which is
rendered for an employer  agency as defined in R.S.
42:543(12), and which is ‘‘state service’’ as defined in R.S.
42:543(28).

All compensation for such service, which meets the
criteria of R.S.-42:543, will be recognized by the system, and
employer and employee contributions must be paid thereon.

Thomas D. BUrbank, Jr.
Executive Director
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RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Office of Fisheries

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fish-
eries does hereby amend the rule governing the prohibition
on the taking and possession of paddlefish.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part VII. Fish-and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial Fishing
§137. Paddlefish

The prohibition on the taking and possession of pad-
dlefish, Polyodon spathula, commonly called spoonbill cat-
fish, or paddlefish body parts, including eggs (roe) is to
continue indefinitely. This rule will take effect on November 1,
1992.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 56:317.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission,
LR 15:868 (October 1989); amended by the Office of Fish-
eries, LR 18: (September 1992).

Joe L. Herring
Secretary

Notices
of
Intent

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Livestock Sanitary Board

Dead Poultry Disposal

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. , the Department of Agriculture and
Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, in accordance with the
authority granted under R.S. 3:2095 has amended the
following rule governing the diseases of animals.
Title 7

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS

Part XXI. Diseases of Animals
Chapter 117. Livestock Sanitary Board
Subchapter D. Poultry
§11771. Governing the Sanitary Disposal of Dead Poultry

* ® ¥

B. Approved Methods
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* ¥ ¥

1.a. Effective January I, 1993, no disposal pits will be
approved. :

b. Disposal pits that are currently in use will be allowed
to operate until January I, 1995.

* * ¥

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 3:2093.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR
11:615 (June 1985), amended LR 17:874 (September 1991),
LR 18:

Interested persons may comment on the proposed
policy changes and/or additions, in writing, until 4:30 pm.,
September 30, 1992, at the following address: Maxwell Lea,
Jr., D.V.M., State Veterinarian, Department of Agriculture
and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, Box 1951, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821.

Maxwell Lea, Jr.
State Veterinarian

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Dead Poultry Disposal

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There would be no estimated costs or savings to
local governmental units to implement the proposed

rule.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There would be no estimated effect on revenue
collections of state or local governmental units.

.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The initial cost of disposal pits would be $600 to
$1,000 compared to $1,500 to $6,000 for other
methods. The contents of disposal pits leach into the
ground water making them environmentally unsound.
Incinerators and composters produce a by-product that
can be used by the grower or sold.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT -(Summary)
This rule change would have no effect on
competition and employment.
Richard Allen John R. Rombach

Assistant Commissioner Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
Office of the State Library of Louisiana

Public Library Construction and Technological Enhancement

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given

(



that the Office of the State Library of Louisiana intends to
revise the following rules and regulations. The changes will
have no economic impact on the budget of the state, nor are
fees involved. The revisions and changes herein refer to rules
published in:
Title 25
Cultural Resources
Part VII. State Library of Louisiana
. Subpart 3. Library Development

Chapter 21. Public Library Construction
§2101. Administration

The State Library of Louisiana administers the federal
Library Services and Construction Act (Public Law 98-480)
which provides under Title I, funds for public library
construction. The purpose of the act is to assist parishes in
providing public library facilities in areas without library
facilities or with inadequate library facilities.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S.
25:9, R.S. 25:14 and R.S. 25:15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the State Library of
Louisiana at the Office of the State Register, December 11,
1974, amended LR 18:

§2103. Definition

Public Library construction is defined as the
construction of new public library buildings and the
expansion, remodeling, alteration, and technological
enhancement of existing buildings to be used as public
libraries, and the initial equipment of any such buildings (but
not books), including architect’s fees and the cost of the
acquisition of land.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S.
25:9, R.S. 25:14 and R.S. 25:15. ’

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the State Library of
Louisiana at the Office of the State Register, December 11,
1974, amended LR 18:

§2105. Rules Governing Administration of the Act

For the administration of the act the following state
rules are applicable:

A. The public library applying must be a part of a parish
or regional library except where there is evidence of a
cooperative arrangement between the municipal library and
the parish library operating under the laws governing parish
and municipal libraries (R.S.25:211) or the Local Services Act
(R.S. 33:1324).

B. A written building program, the site, the preliminary
drawings and specifications, and final plans and specifications
for the building and equipment must be approved by the State
Library of Louisiana.

C. The facility must meet standards as set forth in
Standards for Public Libraries in Louisiana (1987).

D. The building must be open a minimum of 40 hours
a week and all services must be available to all persons
without discrimination.

E. A public library facility to be attached to another
building or built as a part of a building must be treated as a
separate unit in terms of service, space, and costs. All
documents including contracts must clearly indicate the cost
of the portion of the building to be used for public library
services purposes only. The section of the building to be
used for public library purposes must have a direct outside
entrance.

F. The decision to expand or remodel an existing
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building must be based upon a feasibility study and thorough
examination of the existing structure by a registered architect
and/or licensed engineer.

G. The parish, municipal corporation, or the parish
municipality must provide 50 percent or more of the cost
from local funds.

H. Local matching funds must be public funds for
library construction and on deposit with the parish, the
municipal corporation, or the parish municipality. Separate
financial records must be maintained for the building project.

I.. All applicable regulations of the Public Contract,
Work and Improvements Law, Louisiana Revised Statutes
38:2211 et seq. must be adhered to for the library
construction.

J. As soon as the construction contract is signed one
complete copy must be sent to the State Library of Louisiana.

K. The State Library of Louisiana will provide limited
consultative services for the librarian, members of the Board
of Control, and architect in the planning for and construction
of public library buildings. If the State Library of Louisiana
considers an outside building consultant necessary, the State
Library of Louisiana upon request of the Library Board will
suggest names of qualified building consultants.

L. All equipment must be purchased on the basis of
awards to the lowest qualified bidder on the basis of open
competitive bidding, and according to state and local laws
and regulations.

M. The applicant must send to the State Library of
Louisiana the final fiscal report and the final fiscal audit of the
project.

N. The applicant shall notify the State Library of
Louisiana that the project has been completed according to
the application.

0. The facility must display in a prominent place the
"International Symbol of Access for the Handicapped".

P. In developing plans for public library construction
local and state codes with regard to fire and safety must be
observed.

Q. The State Library of Louisiana or its representative
must have access to all records and documents which are
required to be retained by the applicant.

R. The State Library of Louisiana will apply the
following priorities in making building construction grants:

1. building for library serving as center for library
system;

2. building for library in parish in which the average
family income is less than the median family income in
Louisiana;

3. building for library in parish which has not received
prior grant under Title Il of the Library Services and
Construction Act.

S. The State Library of Louisiana will apply the
following priorities in making grants for technological
enhancements:

1. technology for library which will impact statewide or
regional library services and resource sharing;

2. technology for library which will impact parish wide
library services;

3. technology for library which will assist individual
libraries with needed services;

4. technology for library in parish in which the average
family income is less than the median family income in
Louisiana;
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5. technology for library in parish which has not
received prior grant under Title Il of the Library Services and
Construction Act.

T. All requirements being met and conditions on which
priorities are established being equal, the State Library of
Louisiana will make grants in order that applications are
approved and local funds are available.

U. Architect and applicant must conform to terms and
conditions as set by AIA Document B151, Standard Form of
Agreement Between Owner and Architect.

V. Public library construction projects must follow local
and federal regulations guiding urban development,
environmental impact and protection, and intergovernmental
cooperation currently in force.

W. Public library construction projects must conform
with local and federal rules and regulations on financial
assistance for construction currently in force by the various
levels of government.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S.
25:9, R.S. 25:14 and R.S. 25:15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the State Library of
Louisiana at the Office of the State Register, December 11,
1974, amended LR 18:

Persons interested may submit written comments on
the proposed changes by November 13, 1992 to: Thomas F.
Jaques, State Librarian, State Library of Louisiana, Box 131,
Baton Rouge, LA 70821.

Mark Hilzim
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Public Library Construction

L. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)
TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The rule amendments have no fiscal or economic impact
on state or local governmental units. Changes will expand
the parameters of the LSCA Title Il construction grant
program, but will not increase federal appropnatlon available
for the award.
. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The rule amendments do not involve revenue collections
of the state or local governmental units.

1. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The rule amendments will not cost the affected persons
any funds; federal funds (Library Services and Construction
Act, Title Il) can benefit library users through awarded grants,
providing matching funds for new library building
construction, or matching funds for technology for library
operations.

V. ESTIMATED EFFECT - ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

The rule amendments do not effect competition and

employment.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Thomas F. Jaques
Assistant Secretary
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Economic Development
Office of the Secretary

Employment Opportunity Loan Program

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary intends to adopt a rule
regarding the Louisiana Employment Opportunity Loan
Program to implement Act 938 of the 1992 Regular Session
of the Louisiana Legislature.

The full text of this proposed rule may be viewed in the
Emergency Rule Section of this issue of the Louisiana
Register.

Interested parties may submit written comments until
4 p.m. October 20, 1992 to Nadia L. Goodman, Director of
Policy and Planning, Office of the Secretary, Department of
Economic Development, Box 94185, Baton Rouge, LA
70804-9185.

Kevin P. Reilly
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Employment Opportunity Loan Program

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The Department of Economic Development will
have no implementation costs. See emergency rule
published by the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance
Commission in the August 20, 1992 issue of the
Louisiana Register.
L. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE ORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
This rule will have no direct effect on revenue
collections. See emergency rule published by the
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission in
the August 20, 1992 issue of the Louisiana Register.
lll.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
Trainee/employees participating in the program
! will be provided loans to pursue training, successful
completion of which will result in permanent
employment. Local communities and the state will
ultimately profit from this program as a result of the
expanded tax bases created by the creation of new jobs
in the community. See emergency rule published by the
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission in
the August 20, 1992 issue of the Louisiana Register.
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There will be a beneficial effect to the state and
to its citizens by the stimulation of the state’s
economy.

Nadia L. Goodman
Director

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer




NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection

Toxic Air Pollutants (AQ62)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental
Quality Act, particularly R.S. 30:2060 et seq., and in
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the secretary gives
notice that rulemaking procedures have been initiated to
amend the Air Quality Regulations, LAC 33:lll.Chapter 51,
(AQ62).

~ This proposed rule will expand the current list of toxic
air pollutants to include all those compounds listed as
hazardous air pollutants in the Federal Clean Air Act, S112.
No emission control standards or ambient air standards are
being proposed for these compounds. Other edits include
corrections of typographical errors and internal references, as
well as minor changes to improve clarity in the rule.

These proposed regulations are to become effective on
December 20, 1992, or upon publication in the Louisiana
Register.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part lll. Air
Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant Emission
Control Program _
Subchapter A. Applicability, Definitions, and General
‘Provisions :
§5101. Applicability ,

The provisions of this Subchapter apply to the owner or
operator of any major source, as defined herein.

Until the effective date of.applicable minor source
category rules, the provisions of LAC 33:1l.L5105.A, 5107,
5111.A.4,5113, and 5115 apply to the owner or operator of
any stationary source which was a major source upon
promulgation of this Subchapter but which has achieved
minor source status through reduction of emissions and
reduction of potential to emit. Effective upon promulgation
of applicable source category rules in accordance with R.S.
30:2060, the provisions of this Subchapter apply to the
owner or operator of any minor source, if specified by such
rules.

The provisions of this Subchapter do not apply to the
consumer use, in a duration and frequency intended by the
manufacturer, of products obtained through retail commerce,
or to activities conducted on residential property. The
provisions of this Subchapter do not apply to the distribution
or application of pesticides.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060, and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection,. Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5103. Definitions, Units, and Abbreviations
* * *

Toxic Air Pollutant(TAP)—any substance listed in Table
51.2 or Table 51.3 of this Chapter. Toxic air pollutants are
listed pursuant to R.S. 30:2060 and, except for lead, do not
include those pollutants for which National Ambient Air
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Quality Standards have been established under Section 108
of the Federal Clean Air Act.
* #* *

Wood Residue Fuel—any wood based fuel including, but
not limited to, bark, chips, fines, knots, and lumber.  Unless
approved by the secretary, wood residue fuel shall not include
wood based fuels that have been treated with preservatives
or that are building boards, such as plywood, particleboard,
flakeboard, and oriented strand board.

* * *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5105. Prohibited Activities and Special Provisions

* * *

B. Special Provisions
* * *

7. No later than December 20, 1994, the
administrative authority shall initiate a review of toxic air
pollutants derived from the burning of wood residue fuel at
pulp and paper mills. Emissions from the combustion of such
fuel shall be regulated under this Subchapter if the
administrative authority determines that such regulation is
appropriate and necessary. Until the administrative authority
makes a final determination, emissions from the combustion
of wood residue fuel are exempt from the provisions of LAC
33:11.51089.

* ¥ %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:2104 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5107. Reporting Requirements and Availability of
Information

A. Annual Emissions Reporting

The owner or operator of any stationary source that .
emits any toxic air pollutant listed in Table 51.1 or Table 51.3
shall submit a completed annual emissions report to the
administrative authority in a format specified by the
department. The owner or operator shall identify on the
emissions report the quantity of emissions in the previous
calendar year for any such toxic air pollutant emitted.

1. Initial Annual Emissions Report. The owner or
operator of any major source subject to the requirements in
Subsection A of this Section shall submit the completed initial
annual emissions report to the administrative authority within
180 days of December 20, 1991. The initial report shall
identify the quantity of emissions of toxic air pollutants listed
in Table 51.1 for the calendar year 1991.

2. Subsequent Annual Emissions Reports. After the
initial annual emissions report, the owner or operator of any
stationary source subject to the requirements_in Subsection
A of this Section shall submit a completed annual emissions
report to the administrative authority on or before July 1 of
each year. Each subsequent report shall identify the quantity
of emissions of all toxic air pollutants listed in Table 51.1 or
Table 51.3.

B. Discharge Reporting Requirements
* * *
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2. Except as provided in Subsection B.5 of this
Section, for any discharge into the atmosphere of a toxic air
pollutant as a result of unauthorized bypassing of an emission
control device, the owner or operator of the source from
which the discharge occurs shall notify the department of the
discharge by telephone immediately (but no later than three
hours) after the beginning of the discharge.

* * *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S.-30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5109. Emission Control and Reduction Requirements and
Standards
* # %

C. Standard Operating Procedure Requirements

The owner or operator of any new or existing source
required to report emissions in accordance with LAC
33:111.6107.A shall develop a standard operating procedure
(SOP) within 120 days after achieving or demonstrating
compliance with the standards specified in this Chapter. The
SOP shall detail all operating procedures or parameters
established by the owner or operator to ensure that
compliance with the applicable standards is maintained and
shall address, but not be limited to, operating procedures for
any monitoring system in place, specifying procedures to
ensure compliance with LAC 33:111.5113.C.6. A written copy
of the SOP must be available on site or at an alternate
approved location for inspection by the administrative
authority. A copy of the SOP must be provided within 30
days upon request by the department. The requirements of
this Subsection do not apply to emissions of those pollutants
listed in Table 51.3.

D. The following schedules for compliance will apply:

1. Submittal of any compliance plan or certification of
compliance pursuant to Subsection A or B of this Section and
pertaining to a major source which is a pulp and paper mill
shall be no later than December 20, 1993. Submittal of any
other compliance plan or certification of compliance pursuant
to Subsection A or B of this Section shall be no later than
December 20, 1992.

* # *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18: ‘

§5111. Permit Requirements, Application, and Review

A. Major Source Permit Requirements

No owner or operator shall commence construction or
modification of any major source without first obtaining
written authorization from the administrative authority.

* * *

2. Before commencement of any modification not
specified in a compliance plan submitted under LAC
33:11.5109.D, the owner or operator shall:

* ¥ *
3. Before commencement of any modification specified
in a compliance plan submitted pursuant to LAC
33:111.5109.D, the owner or operator shall obtain written
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authorization from the administrative authority. Concurrently
with submittal of the compliance plan, the owner or operator
of an existing source shall:

a. submit a letter indicating that the necessary permit
modification (or new permit if no existing permit is in place)
will be applied for by a date specified in the compliance
schedule and requesting written authorization to construct; or

b. submit a permit application in accordance with
Subsection B of this Section.

4. The owner or operator of any existing major source
which is operating without a Louisiana Air Permit, or which
is not fully permitted, at the time of promulgation of this
Chapter, shall apply for a permit in accordance with
Subsection B of this Section. For sources not required to
submit a compliance plan pursuant to LAC 33:1I1.5109.D, the
permit application shall be submitted no later than December
20, 1993.

* %

C. Permit Review Process
* * #

4. For applications submitted pursuant to standards
prescribed under LAC 33:11.5117,5121,5133,5137, 5139,
5151, 6161, 5163, and 5171, the administrative authority
will notify the owner or operator of approval or intention to
deny approval of a permit for construction or modification
within 60 days after receiving sufficient information to
evaluate an application under Subsection B of this Section.

* #* *

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5113. Notification of Start-up, Testing, and Monitoring
* ¥ *

B. Emission Tests and Waiver of Emission Tests

1. The department may require any owner or operator
to conduct tests to determine the emission of toxic air
pollutants from any source whenever the department has
reason to believe that an emission in excess of those allowed
by this Chapter is occurring. The department may specify
testing methods to be used in accordance with good
professional practice. The department may observe the
testing. All tests shall be conducted by qualified personnel.
The department shall be given a copy of the test results in
writing signed by the person responsible for the tests within
45 days after completion of the test.

* * ¥

C. Monitoring Requirements
* ¥ #

8. The owner or operator of any monitoring system
shall maintain records of monitoring data, monitoring system
calibration checks, and the occurrence and duration of any
period during which the monitoring system is malfunctioning
or inoperative. These records shall be maintained at the
source, or at an alternate location approved by the
administrative -authority, for a minimum of three years and
made available, upon request, for inspection by the
administrative authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

—
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Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5115. Modification of NESHAP Sources

* % *

Table 51.1 Minimum Emission Rates Toxic Air Pollutants
CLASS | - Known and Probable Human Carcinogens

MINIMUM EMISSION
RATE (POUNDS/YEAR)

COMPOUNDS CAS NO. SYNONYMS

ACRYLONITRILE 107-13-1 ’ 35.0
ARSENIC (AND COMPOUNDS) 7440-38-2 25.0
[11

ASBESTOS (FRIABLE) 1332-21-4 . 25.0
BENZENE 71-43-2 | Benzol, Coal naphtha 260.0
BERYLLIUM [1] 7440-41-7 | Glucinum : 25.0
BIS (2-CHLOROETHYL) ETHER 111-44-4 | Dichloroethyl ether | 2,180.0
CADMIUM (AND COMPOUNDS) 7440-43-9 | - i 25.0
[1]

CHROMIUM VI (AND 7440-47-3 25.0
COMPOUNDS) [1] -
1,‘2-DIBROMOETHANE 106-93-4 | Ethylene bromide, Ethylene 25.0

i ) dibromide ‘
EPICHLOROHYDRIN 106-89-8 "2-Chloropropylene oxide 3.400.0
ETHYLENE OXIDE 75-21-8 35.0
FORMALDEHYDE 50-00-0 | Methylene oxide 260.0
NICKEL (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-02-0 25.0
PROPYLENE OXIDE 75-56-9 | Methyl ethylene oxide 700.0
VINYL CHLORIDE 75-01-4 | Chloroethene, Monochloride 240.0
ethylene
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CLASS |l - Suspected Human Carcinogens and Known or

Suspected Human Reproductive Toxins

MINIMUM
COMPOUNDS CAS NO. SYNONYMS (E,yolgzlgg,yﬁ:,
ACETALDEHYDE 75-07-0 | Acetic aldehyde 700.0
ACETONITRILE 75-05-8 | Cyanomethane, Methyl cyanide 5,000.0
ACROLEIN 107-02-8 | Acrylic aldehyde 25.0
ACRYLAMIDE 79-06-1 | Acrylic amide 25.0
ALLYL CHLORIDE 107-05-1 3-chloropropene 25.0
ANILINE k 62-53-3 | Aminobenzene, Phenylamine 600.0
ANTIMONY (AND COMPOUNDS) 7440-36-0 375
[11
BARIUM (AND COMPOUNDS) 7440-39-3 37.5
[11
BIPHENYL 92-52-4 | 1,1-biphenyl, Xenene 97.5
1,3-BUTADIENE 106-99-0 | Biethylene 25.0
CARBON DISULFIDE 75-15-0 | Carbon bisulfide 2,400.0
CARBON TETRACHLORIDE 56-23-5 | Tetrachloromethane - 83.6
CHLORINATED DIBENZO-P- 3168-87-9 0.0001
DIOXINS [2]
CHLORINATED DIBENZO 51207-31-9 0.0001
FURANS (3]
CHLORINE DIOXIDE 10049-04-4 | Chlorine peroxide 250
CHLOROBENZENE 108-90-7 | Benzene chloride 25.0
CHLOROETHANE 75-00-3 | Ethy! chioride 20,000.0
CHLOROFORM 67-66-3 | Trichloromethane 69.5
CHLOROMETHANE 74-87-3 | Methyl chloride 7.750.0
CHLOROPRENE 126-99-8 2,700.0
COPPER (AND COMPOUNDS) 7440-50-8 25.0
[1
DIAMINOTOLUENE 25376-45-8 250.0
DIBUTYL PHTHALATE 84-74-2 | DBP 380.0
1,4-DICHLOROBENZENE 106-46-7 p-Dichlorobenzene 20,000.0
1,2-DICHLOROETHANE 107-06-2 Ethylene dichloride, EDC 48.5
DICHLOROMETHANE 75-09-2 | Methylene chloride, DCM 540.0
1,2-DICLOROPROPANE 78-87-5 | Propylene dichloride 20,000.0
1,3-DICHLOROPROPYLENE 542-75-6 1,3-dichloropropene, DCP 340.0
2,4-DINITROTOLUENE [5] 121-14-2 | 2,4-DNT 100.0
2,6-DINITROTOLUENE [5] 606-20-2 100.0
1.4-DIOXANE . 123-91-1 Diethylene dioxide, p-dioxane 1,040.0
ETHYL ACRYLATE 140-88-5 Ethyl propenoate 1,500.0
ETHYL BENZENE 100-41-4 | Phenylethane 20,000.0
GLYCOL-ETHERS [6] 109-86-4 1,200.0
HEXACHLORO-1, 3-BUTADIENE 87-68-3 | Hexachlorobutadiene 25.0
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MINIMUM
EMISSION RATE
COMPOUNDS CAS NO. SYNONYMS (POUNDS/YEAR)
HEXACHLOROBENZENE 118-74-1 | Perchlorobenzene 870.0
HEXACHLOROETHANE 67-72-1 | Perchloroethane 700.0
HYDRAZINE 302-01-2 25.0
MANGANESE (AND 7439-96-5 75.0
COMPOUNDS) [1]
MERCURY (AND 7439-97-6 25.0
COMPOUNDS) [1]
NITROBENZENE 98-95-3 | Nitrobenzol 400.0
2-NITROPROPANE 79-46-9 | Dimethylnitromethane 2,700.0
PHENOL 108-95-2 | Benzenol, Carbolic acid 1,400.0
POLYNUCLEAR AROMATIC 206-44-0 | PAHs 25.0
HYDROCARBONS (7]
SELENIUM (AND 7782-49-2 25.0
COMPOUNDS) [1] )
STYRENE 100-42-5 | Vinylbenzene 2,000.0
TETRACHLOROETHANE 79-34-5 | Acetylene tetrachloride 300.0
TETRACHLORO- 127-18-4 | Antisol 1, Carbon dichloride, 2,800.0
ETHYLENE Perchioroethylene
TOLUENE-2, 4-DIISOCYANATE 584-84-9 25.0
[8]
TOLUENE-2, 6-DIISOCYANATE 91-08-7 25.0
[8]
1,1,2-TRICHLOROETHANE 79-00-5 | Vinyl trichloride 4,000.0
TRICHLOROETHYLENE .79-01-6 | Acetylene trichlo;-ide 900.0
VINYLIDINE CHLORIDE 75-35-4 | 1, 1-dichloroethylene 1,500.0
XYLENE (MIXED ISOMERS) [9] 1330-20-7 | ortho-xylene, meta-xylene, para-xylene 20,000.0
ZINC (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-66-6 25.0
CLASS Il - Acute and Chronic (Non-Carc;\ogenic) Toxins
MINIMUM

COMPOUNDS CAS NO. SYNONYMS (E&’hgﬁﬁlggﬂa:::)
ACRYLIC ACID 79-10-7 | Acroleic acid, Propene acid 400.0
AMMONIA [10] 7664-41-7 1,200.0
n-BUTYL ALCOHOL 71-36-3 | n-butanol 11,000.0
CARBONYL SULFIDE 463-58-1 | Carbon oxysulfide 1,000.0
CHLORINE 7782-50-5 100.0
CRESOL [4] 1319-73-3 1,600.0
CUMENE 98-82-8 | Isopropyl benzene 18,000.0
ETHYLENE GLYCOL 107-21-1 9,000.0
n-HEXANE 110-54-3 13,000.0
HYDROCHLORIC ACID 7647-01-0 | Hydrogen chioride 500.0
HYDROGEN CYANIDE 74-90-8 | Cyclon 800.0
HYDROGEN FLUORIDE 7664-39-3 | Fluoric acid 63.0
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MINIMUM
COMPOUNDS CAS NO. SYNONYMS fp?é"ﬁﬁ'gglvnﬁ
HYDROGEN SULFIDE 7783-06-4 1,000.0
MALEIC ANHYDRIDE 108-31-6 cis-Butenedioic anhydride 70.0
METHANOL 67-56-1 | Methyl alcohol 20,000.0
METHYL ETHYL KETONE 78-93-3 | MEK 20,000.0
METHYL ISOBUTYL KETONE 108-10-1 | MIBK 15,000.0
METHYL METHACRYLATE 80-62-6 20,000.0
NITRIC ACID 7697-37-2 300.0
PHOSGENE 75-44-5 | Carbonyl chloride 30.0
PHTHALIC ANHYDRIDE 85-44-9 400.0
PROPRIONALDEHYDE 123-38-6 700.0
PYRIDINE 110-86-1 | Azine 1,200.0
SULFURIC ACID 7664-93-9 75.0
TOLUENE 108-88-3 | Methylbenzene 20,000.0
1.1,1-TRICHLOROETHANE 71-55-6 Chloro'etheﬁe 20,000.0
VINYL ACETATE 108-05-4 2,600.0
EXPLANATORY NOTES: Ethylene glycol monoethyl ether acetate (CAS#

[1] Includes any unique chemical substance that
contains the - listed metal - as part of that chemical’s
infrastructure. Concentrations are based on ug ( x )/m?3, where
X is the elemental form of the metal.

[2] Includes only 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin
(TCDD), and octachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (OCDD).

[3] Includes all isomers of chlorinated dibenzo-furans.

[4] Includes o-, m-, and p-cresol, and mixed isomers.

[5] Includes 2,4- and 2,6-dinitrotoluene and mixed
isomers.

[6] Glycol ethers refers to the following compounds:

Ethylene glycol monomethyl ether (CAS# 109864)

Ethylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (CAS#

110496)

Ethylene glycol monoethyl ether (CAS# 110805)
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111159) :

Diethylene glycol dimethyl ether (CAS# 1119686)

Ethylene glycol dimethyl ether (CAS# 110714)

[7] Includes organic compounds with more than one
fused benzene ring and which have a boiling point greater
than or equal to 100° C.

[8] Includes toluene-2,4- and 2,6-diisocyanate and
mixed isomers.

[9] Includes o-, m-, and p-xylene, and mixed isomers.

[10] Excludes soil or foliar application of ammonia in
agricultural practices.

Table 51.2 Louisiana Toxic Air Pollutant Ambient Air
Standards

T




AMBIENT AIR
STANDARD
COMPOUNDS CASNO. | cLASS (wg/m?*) (wg/m**)
(8 HOUR (ANNUAL
AVG.) AVG.)

ACETALDEHYDE 75-07-0 L 4,290.00
ACETONITRILE 75-05-8 I 940.00
ACROLEIN 107-02-8 i 5.40 “
ACRYLAMIDE 79-06-1 I; 0.08
ACRYLIC ACID 79—1 0-7 n 140.00
ACRYLONITRILE 107-13-1 | 1.47
ALLYL CHLORIDE 107-05-1 Il 71.40

, AMMONIA [11] 7664-41-7 n '640.00
ANILINE 62-53-3 ] 181.00
ANTIMONY (AND COMPOUNDS) (1] 7440-36-0 1 11.90
ARSENIC (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-38-2 | 0.02
ASBESTOS (FRIABLE) 1332-21-4 | +
BARIUM (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-39-3 1 11.90
BENZENE 71-43-2 | 12.00
BERYLLIUM [1] 7440-41-7 ! 0.04
BIPHENYL 92-52-4 ] 31.00
BIS (2-CHLOROETHYL) ETHER 111-44-4 ! 0.30
1,3-BUTADIENE 106-99-0 I 0.92
n-BUTYL ALCOHOL 71-36-3 L} 3,620.00
CADMIUM (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-43-9 | 0.06
CARBON DISULFIDE 75-15-0 ] 86.00
CARBON TETRACHLORIDE 56-23-5 I 6.67
CARBONYL SULFIDE 463-58-1 n 24.30
CHLORINATED DIBENZO-p-DIOXINS [2] 3268-87-9 ] .003
CHLORINATED DIBENZO FURANS [3] .003

51207-31-9 L
CHLORINE 7782-50-5 m 35.7
CHLORINE DIOXIDE 10049-04-4 1 6.67
CHLOROBENZENE 108-90-7 1 1.100.00
CHLOROETHANE 75-00-3 ] 62,900.00
CHLOROFORM 67-66-3 " 4.30
CHLOROMETHANE 74-87-3 I 55.66
CHLOROPRENE 126-99-8 1] 857.00
CHROMIUM VI (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-47-3 | 0.01
COPPER (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-50-8 ] 23.80
CRESOL [4] 1319-73-3 11} 276.00
CUMENE 98-82-8 mn 5,860.00
DIAMINOTOLUENE 25376-45-8 ] 181.00
1,2-DIBROMOETHANE 106-93-4 I 0.45
987 Louisiana Register Vol. 18, No. 9
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AMBIENT AIR
STANDARD
COMPOUNDS CAS NO. CLASS (wg/m°*) | (ug/m>* *)
(8 HOUR (ANNUAL
AVG:) AVG.)

DIBUTYL PHTHALATE 84-74-2 I 119.00

1.4-DICHLORO- 106-46-7 1 10,700.00

BENZENE

1,2-DICHLOROETHANE 107-06-2 ] 3.85
DICHLOROMETHANE 75-09-2 1] 212.77
1, 2-DICHLOROPROPANE 78-87-5 L[} 8,260.00
1,3-DICHLORO-PROPYLENE 542-75-6 [} 107.00

Z,kDINITROTOLUENé [6] 121-14-2 L} 35.70

2,6-DINITROTOLUENE (5] 606-20-2 1] 35.70

1.4-DIOXANE 123-91-1 L[} 2,140.00

EPICHLOROHYDRIN 106-89-8 | 83.00
ETHYL ACRYLATE 140-88-5 LI} 476.00

ETHYL BENZENE 100-41-4 [ 10,300.00

ETHYLENE GLYCOL 107-21-1 n 3,020.00

ETHYLENE OXIDE 75-21-8 il 1.00
FORMALDEHYDE 50-00-0 | 7.69
GLYCOL ETHERS [6] 109-86-4 ] 571.00

HEXACHLORO-1 ,3-BUTADIENE 87-68-3 " 4.55
HEXACHLOROBENZENE 118-74-1 ] 0.20
HEXACHLOROETHANE 67-72-1 ] 25.00
n-HEXANE 110-54-3 1]} 4,190.00

HYDRAZINE 302-01-2 ] 0.02
HYDROCHLORIC ACID 7647-01-0 n 180.00

HYDROGEN CYANIDE 74-90-8 m 260.00

HYDROGEN FLUORIDE 7664-39-3 n 61.90

HYDROGEN SULFIDE 7783-06-4 mn 330.00

MALEIC ANHYDRIDE 108-31-6 Al 23.80

MANGANESE (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7439-96-5 ] 27.60

MERCURY (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7439-97-6 ] 1.19

METHANOL 67-56-1 11} 6,240.00

METHYL ETHYL KETONE 78-93-3 L} 14,000.00

METHYL ISOBUTYL KETONE 108-10-1 1] 4,880.00
METHYLMETH-ACRYLATE 80-62-6 n 9,760.00

NICKEL (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7440-02-0 | 0.1
NICKEL (REFINERY DUST) [1] 7440-02-0 I 0.42
NITRIC ACID 7697-37-2 mn 120.00
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AMBIENT AIR
STANDARD
COMPOUNDS CASNO. | cLass wglm®™) wg/m®**)
(8 HOUR (ANNUAL
AVG.) AVG.)

NITROBENZENE 98-95-3 n 119.00
2-NITROPROPANE 79-46-9 " 20.00
PHENOL 108-95-2 I 452.00
PHOSGENE 75-44-5 " 9.50
PHTHALIC ANHYDRIDE 85-44-9 m 145.00
POLYNUCLEAR AROMATIC 206-44-0 n 0.06
HYDROCARBONS (7]
PROPIONALDEHYDE 123-38-6 m 4,290.00
PROPYLENE OXIDE 75-56-9 I 27.00
PYRIDINE 110-86-1 m 381.00
SELENIUM (AND COMPOUNDS) [1] 7782-49-2 I 4.76
STYRENE 100-42-5 1 5,070.00
SULFURIC ACID 7664-93-9 n 23.80
1,1,2,2 TETRA-CHLOROETHANE 79-34-5 I 1.70
TETRACHLORO- | 127-18-4 || 105.26
ETHYLENE ,
TOLUENE 108-88-3 m 8,900.00
TOLUENE-2,4-DIISOCYANATE (8] 584-84-9 I 0.86
TOLUENE-2,6-DIISOCYANATE [8] 91-08-7 1 0.86
1,1,1-TRICHLOROETHANE 71-55-6 n 4,550.00
1,1,2-TRICHLOROETHANE 79-00-5 I 6.25
TRICHLOROETHYLENE 79-01-6 i 58.80
VINYL ACETATE 108-05-4 i 830.00
VINYL CHLORIDE 75-01-4 I 1.19
VINYLIDENE CHLORIDE 75-35-4 n 2.00
XYLENE (MIXED ISOMERS) [9] 1330-20-7 I 10,300.00
ZINC (AND COMPOUNDS) [11{10] 1314-13-2 I 119.00

EXPLANATORY NOTES:

* Based on one forty-second of the selected the elemental form of the metal.
occupational exposure level, or other data determined to be [2] Includes only 2,3,7,8-tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin
superior by the administrative authority. (TCDD), and octachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin (OCDD).

** Based on unit risk factors and a residual risk of one [3] Includes all isomers of chlorinated dibenzo-furans.
in ten thousand, or other data determined to be superior by [4] Includes o-, m-, and p-cresol, and mixed isomers.
the administrative authority. [5] Includes 2,4- and 2,6-dinitrotoluene and mixed

-+ Refer to standards pursuant to LAC 33:1l1.5151. isomers.

[1] Includes any unique chemical substance that [6] Glycol ethers refers to the following compounds:
contains the listed metal as part of that chemical’s
infrastructure. Concentrations based on ug(x)/m?, where x is
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Ethylene glycol monomethyl ether (CAS# 109864)

Ethylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (CAS#

110496)

Ethylene glycol monoethyl ether (CAS# 110805)

Ethylene . glycol monoethyl ether acetate (CAS#

111159) '

Diethylene glycol dimethy! ether (CAS# 111966)

Ethylene glycol dimethyl ether (CAS# 110714)

[7] Includes organic compounds with more than one
fused benzene ring and which have a boiling point greater

than or equal to 100° C.

[8] Includes toluene-2,4- and 2,6-diisocyanate and
mixed isomers.

[9] Includes o-, m-, and p-xylene, and mixed isomers.

[10] Concentrations based on mg ZnO/m?3.

[11] Excludes soil or foliar application of ammonia in
agricultural practices. )
Table 51.3 LOUISIANA TOXIC AIR POLLUTANTS
SUPPLEMENTAL LIST*

'COMPOUNDS CAS NO. CLASS SYNONYMS
ACETAMIDE 60-35-5 1
ACETOPHENONE 98-86-2 [l
2-ACETYLAMINOFLUORENE 53-96-3 ] N-fluoren-2-yl acetamide
4-AMINOBIPHENYL 92-67-1 | 4-biphenylamine, 4-aminodiphenyl
o-ANISIDINE 90-04-0 ] ‘
'BENZIDINE 92-87-5 1
BENZOTRICHLORIDE 98-07-7 ] Benzy! trichloride
' BENZYL CHLORIDE 100-44-7 S Tolyl chioride
Bis(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate 117-81-7 1] DEHP, Di-(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate
BIS(CHLOROMETHYL)ETHER 542-88-1 |
BROMOFORM 75-25-2 1 Tribromomethane
CALCIUM CYANAMIDE 156-62-7 1]
CAPROLACTAM 105-60-2 [} Hexahydro-2H-azepin-2-one
CAPTAN 133-06-2 ]
CARBARYI 63-25-2 [} 1-naphthalenol, methylcarbonate
CATECHOL 120-80-9 ] Pyrocatechol, o-benzenenedrol
CHLORAMBEN 133-90-4 1] 3-amino-2,5-dichlorobenzoic acid
CHLORDANE 57-74-9 H
CHLOROACETIC ACID 79-11-8 |
2-CHLOROACETOPHENONE 532-27-4 ]
CHLOROBENZILATE 510-15-6 I 4,4’-dichlorobenzilic acid ethyl ester
CHLOROMETHYL METHYL ETHER 107-30-2 | CMME, chlorodimethyl ether
COBALT COMPOUNDS 10210-68-1 ]
COKE OVEN EMISSIONS [1] |
CYANIDE COMPOUNDS [4] 592-01-8 ]
2,4-D, SALTS AND ESTERS 94-75-7 I 2,4-dichlorophenoxy-acetic acid
DDE 72-55-9 [} p.p’-dichlorodiphenyldichloroethylene
DIAZOMETHANE 334-88-3 ] Azinethylene, diazirine
1,2-DIBROMO-3-CHLORO—PROPANE 96-12-8 L DBCP
3.3’-DICHLOROBENZIDENE 91-94-1 I Dichlorobenzidene Base
DICHLORVOS 62-73-7 1] 2, 2-dichlorovinyl dimethyl phosphate
DIETHANOLAMINE 111-42-2 1] DEA, Bis(2-hydroxy ethyl)amine
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N,N-DIETHYL ANILINE

91-66-7

DIETHYL SULFATE 64-67-5 1 Ethyl sulfate
3,3’-DIMETHOXYBENZIDENE 119-90-4 ] o-dianisidine
DIMETHYL AMINOAZOBENZENE 60-11-7 [} 4-dimethylaminoazobenzene
N,N-DIMETHYL ANILINE 121-69-7 i
DIMETHYL FORMAMIDE 68-12-2 ] DMF, DMFA
1,.1-DIMETHYL HYDRAZINE 57-14-7 ] Dimazine
DIMETHYL PHTHALATE 131-11-3 1 Phthalic acid methyl ester
DIMETHYL SULFATE 77-78-1 | Methyl sulfate, DMS
COMPOUNDS CAS NO. CLASS SYNONYMS v‘
3,3’-DIMETHYLBENZIDINE 119-93-7 ] 3,3"-tolidine, diaminoditolyl
N.N-DIMETHYL CARBAMOYL CHLORIDE 79-44-7 | (Dirnetf&llamino)carbonyl chloride
4.6-DINITR0-0~CRESOL, AND SALTS 534-52-1 ]
2,4-DINITROPHENOL 51-28-5 [
1,2-DIPHENYLHYDRAZINE 122-66-7 ] Hydrazobenzene
1,2-EPOXYBUTANE 106-88-7 1] 1,2~butyleilo oxide, 1-butene oxide
ETHYL CARBAMATE 51-79-6 1 Urethane
ETHYLENE blBROMIDE . 106-93-4 | EDB, Dibromoethane
ETHYLENE IMINE 1 51-56-4 ] Aziridine
' ETHYLENE THIOUREA - 96-45-7 VII 2-inidazolidin;thit;ne
ETHYLIDENE DICHLORIDE A 75-34-3 l | 1,1-dichloroathane
FINE MINERAL FIBERS [2] 7440-21-3 I |
GLYCOL ETHERS [3] 52286-19-8 L
HEPTACHLOR 76-44-8 ] 3-chlorochlordene
HEXACHLOROCYCLOPENTADIENE 77-47-4 ] HCCPD
HEXAMETHYLENE-1 ,6-DIISbCYANATE 822-06-0 n 1 ,6-diisocy;natohexane
HEXAMET HYL PHOSPHORAMIDE 680-31-9 ] HMPA, MEMPA, hempa
HYDRbQUINONE 123-31-9 [{[] Quinol, hydroquinol, p-hydroxybenzene.
ISOPHORONE 78-59-1 LI} Isoacetophorone
LEAD COMPOUNDS 7758-97-6 [
LINDANE, (ALL ISOMERS) 58-89-9 ] " Benzene hexachloride (all 5 isomers)
METHOXYCHLOR 72-43-5 ] Methoxy DDT, DMDT, Dimethoxy-DDT
METHYL BROMIDE 74-83-9 1] ~ Bromomethane ‘
METHYL IODIDE 74-88-4 ] lodomethane
METHYL ISOCYANATE 624-83-9 1
METHYL TERT BUTYL ETHER 1634-04-4 ] MTBE
4,4’-METHYLENEBIS(Z-CHLOROANILINé) 101-14-4 ] MOCA, MBOCA ‘
4,4’-METHYLENE DIANILINE 101-77-9 1 " MDA, p,p’-diarﬁinodiphenylmethane
NAPHTHALENE 91-20-3 ] Moth balls
4-NITROBIPHENYL 92-93-3 ] 4-nitrodiphenyl, p-nitrobiphenyl
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4-NITROPHENOL 100-02-7 1] p-nitrophenol
' N-NITROSO-N-METHYLUREA 684-93-5 ] N-methyl-N-nitrosourea
N-NITROSODIMETHYLAMINE 62-75-9 | DMN, dimethylnitrosoamine
N-NITROSOMORPHOLINE 59-89-2 ] 4-nitrosomorpholine
PARATHION 56-38-2 ] AATP, ethyl parathion
PENTACHLORONITROBENZENE 82-68-8 ] Quintobenzene, PCNB
PENTACHLOROPHENOL 87-86-5 ] pPcP
p-PHENYLENEDIAMINE 106-50-3 1} p-diaminobenzene
PHOSPHINE 7803-51-2 LI} Hydrogen phosphide
PHOSPHORUS: 7723-14-0 ] (red 6r white)
POLYCHLORINATED BIPHENYLS 1336-36-3 ] PCB, Aroclors

COMPOUNDS CAS NO. CLASS SYNONYMS
1,3-PROPANE SULTONE 1120-71-4 ] 1,2-oxathiolane-2, 2-dioxode
beta-PROPRIOLACTONE 57-57-8 I 2-oxetanone
PROPOXUR 114-26-1 n Baygon, o-isopropoxyphenyl methylcarbamate
1,2-PROPYLENEIMINE 75-55-8 /- 2-methyl aziridine, Propylene imine
QUINOLINE 91-22-5 1] Chinoline
QUINONE 106-51-4 n Chinone, 1,4-benzoquinone, p-benzoquinone
STYRENE OXIDE 96-09-3 | 1,2-epoxyethylbenzene
TITANIUM TETRACHLORIDE1 7550-45-0 m Titanic chloride
2,4-TOLUENE DIAMINE 95-80-7 1 MTD, Toluene-2,4-diamine
o-TOLUIDINE 95-53-4 1] o-aminotoluene
TOXAPHENE 8001-35-2 ] Chlorinated camphene
1,2,4-TRICHLOROBENZENE 120-82-1 I} unsym-trichlorobenzene
2,4,5-TRICHLOROPHENOL 95.-95-4 m
2,4,6-TRICHLOROPHENOL 88-06-2 ] 2,4,6-T
TRIETHYLAMINE 121-44-8 1]
TRIFLURALIN 1582-09-8 1] 2,6-dinitro-N,N-dipropyl-4-

(trifluoromethyl)benzamine

2,2,4-TRIMETHYLPENTANE 540-84-1 1] Isooctane
VINYL BROMIDE 593-60-2 ] Bromoethane

EXPLANATORY NOTES:

* For pollutants listed in Table 51.3, minimum emission
rates and ambient air standards have not been established.
Certain requirements of this Subchapter do not apply to these
pollutants. For example, the provisions of LAC 33:11.5109,
MACT and Ambient Air Standard Requirements and Standard
Operating Procedure requirments, do not apply. Emissions of
Table 51.3 pollutants shall not be counted toward a facility’s
total toxic air pollutant emissions in determining whether a
stationary source is a major source for the purposes of this
Subchapter. The provisions of LAC 33:1.5107.A, B, and C,
Reporting Requirements and Availability of Information, do
apply to emissions of Table 51.3 pollutants. Such emissions
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shall be reported on the Annual Emissions Reports provided
for under LAC 33:111.5107.A.2, beginning with the report due
July 1, 1993. To determine the applicability of other
provisions to the pollutants listed in this table, refer to the
text of this Subchapter.

[11  Coke manufacturers to which the reporting
requirements of this Subchapter apply should report
emissions of listed Louisiana toxic air pollutants in the same
format used by all other affected major sources in the state.

[2] Includes mineral fiber emissions from facilities
manufacturing or processing glass, rock, or slag fibers (or
other mineral derived fibers) of average diameter 1




micrometer or less.

[3] Excludes those glycol ethers listed in Table 51.2.
Those glycol ethers listed in Table 51.2 are subject to all
provisions of this Subchapter. Includes any other mono- and
di-ethers of ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, and triethylene
glycol RIOCH2CH2),-OR’ where

n=12o0r3

R = alkyl or aryl groups

R’ = R, H, or groups which, when removed, yield glycol
ethers with the structure:

R(OCH2CHO,)-OH. Polymers are excluded from the
glycol category.

[4] X'CN where X = H’ or any group where a formal
dissociation may occur. For example KCN or Ca(CN),

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality,Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

Subchapter B. (Reserved)
Subchapter C. (Reserved)
* % *
§5121. Emission Standard For Vinyl Chloride (Includes
ethylene dichloride and polyvinyl chloride plants)
* * *

F. Emission Standard for Ethylene Dichloride, Vinyl
Chloride, and Polyvinyl Chloride Plants

An owner or operator of an ethylene dichloride, vinyl
chloride, and/or polyvinyl chloride plant shall comply with the
requirements of this Section.

1. Relief Valve Discharge. Except for an emergency
relief discharge and except as provided in Subsection F.4 of
this Section, there is to be no discharge to the atmosphere
from any relief valve on any equipment in vinyl chloride
service. An emergency relief discharge means a discharge
which could not have been avoided by taking measures to
prevent the discharge. Within seven days of any relief valve
discharge, except for those subject to Subsection F.4 of this
Section, the owner or operator of the source from which the
relief valve discharge occurs shall submit to the administrative
authority a report in writing containing information on the
source, nature and cause of the discharge, the date and time
of the discharge, the approximate total vinyl chloride loss
during the discharge, the method used for determining the

- vinyl chloride loss (the calculation of the vinyl chloride loss),
the action that was taken to prevent the discharge, and
measures adopted to prevent future discharges.

* #* ¥

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:

§5161. Emission Standard For Beryllium

* * *

D. Stack Sampling
* ¥ *
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 30:2054.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation

993

Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December
1991), amended LR 18:
§5171. Louisiana Emission Standard for Equupment Leaks
(Fugitive Emission Sources)

A. Applicability and Designation of Sources

* # %

4. Any equipment in benzene service that is located at
a plant site designed to produce or use less than 1100 tons
(300,000 gallons) of benzene per year is exempt from the
requirements of this Section, except that the requirements of
Subsection R.9.a of this Section shall still apply.

* * *

R. Recordkeeping Requirements

9. The following information shall be recorded in a log
that is kept in a readily accessible location for use in
determining exemptions as provided in the applicability
section of this Subchapter and other specific subchapters:

a. an analysis demonstrating the design capacity of the
process unit; or

* * ¥ :

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with :
R.S.30:2054. '

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear
Energy, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December 1991),
amended LR 18:

A public hearing will be held on October 26, 1992, at
1:30 p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 341
(Recital Room), 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge,
LA. Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments
should be submitted no later than October 28, 1992, at 4:30
p.m., to David Hughes, Enforcement and Regulatory
Compliance Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-
2282 or to 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, 4th Floor, Baton
Rouge, LA, 70810. Commentors should reference this
proposed regulation by (AQ62).

James B. Thompson, il
Assistant Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Toxic Air Pollutants (AQ62)

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
In general there is an additional cost (~ $30,000)
to the state governmental unit which will be caused by
the implementation of the proposed rule. Most local
governmental units will not be impacted. However,
local governmental units which operate incinerators
which emit air toxic substances newly listed will incur
an expense to detect, quantify and report the emissions
of those air toxic substances and fees based upon the
reported emissions. This additional - cost to local
governmental units is expected to be negligible
compared to the operating expenses for such a unit.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
In general there is an increase in revenue
collections (~ $30,000) by the state governmental unit
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which is expected from the implementation of the
proposed rule. Local governmental units are not
anticipated to have any effect on revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC
BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY. AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The regulated facilities are expected to incur a

cost less than $10,000 for the expense to detect,
quantify and report those air toxics and a cost less than
$2,500 (average of $200) for fees on their reported
emissions. These costs may vary by methods used
from using acceptable federal AP-42 factors to estimate
emissions to the more expensive method of stack
testing and consulting engineering contract and for
emissions reported. ;

ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

" There is no anticipated effect on competition or
employment within Louisiana or within the United
States. Any impact in the international market will be
experienced by the implementation of the Federal Clean
Air Act Amendment provisions which have not been

projected.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal
Officer

Gus Von Bondungen
Assistant Secretary

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste

‘Hazardous Waste Boilers/Industrial Furnaces Il (HW32)
(LAC 33:V.Subpart I)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental
Quality Act, particularly La. R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, La. R.S. 49:950, et seq., the secretary gives
notice that rulemaking procedures have been initiated to
amend the Hazardous Waste Regulations, LAC 33:V.Subpart
I, (Log HW32).

This proposed rule will revise existing state regulations
to be consistent with current federal regulations. It may be
more stringent than federal regulations in some areas. This
will allow the state to meet all requirements concerning the
authorization process, which will effectively ensure grant
support funds. This proposed rule will expand controls on
hazardous waste combustion to regulate air emissions from
the burning of hazardous waste in boilers and industrial
furnaces. Standards are set for emissions of toxic organic
compounds, toxic metals, hydrogen chloride, chlorine gas,
and particulate matter from boilers and industrial furnaces
burning hazardous waste. This rule will also address facility
standards, storage units, interim status, and other issues.

These proposed regulations are to become effective on
December 20, 1992, or upon publication in the Louisiana
Register.

A public hearing will be held on October 26, 1992, at
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1:30 p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 341
(Recital Room), 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge,
LA. Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments.

Copies of this proposed regulation may be obtained
from the Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments
should be submitted no later than October 28, 1992, at 4:30
p.m., to David Hughes, Enforcement and Regulatory
Compliance Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-
2282 or to 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, 4th Floor, Baton
Rouge, LA, 70810. Commentors should reference this
proposed regulation by the Log HW32. This proposed
regulation is available for inspection at the following locations
from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Department of Environmental Quality, 7290 Bluebonnet
Boulevard, 4th Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.

Department of Environmental Quality, 804 31st Street,
Monroe, LA 71203.

Department of Environmental Quality, State Office
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101.

Department of Environmental Quality, 3519 Patrick
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605. v

Department of Environmental Quality, 3945 North I-10
Service Road West, Metairie, LA 70002.

Department of Environmental Quality,
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508.

100 Asma

James B. Thompson, Il
Assistant Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
for Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Boiler/Industrial Furnace (HW 32)

1 ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE ORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No additional cost to state or local government is
anticipated.

I ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATEORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

State government revenue collections are
expected to increase by about $260,055.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS ON NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The regulated community (facilities with a boiler
or industrial furnace) will experience an approximate
average increase in cost of $13,687 per regulated
facility. There are 19 facilities effected by this rule.
The combined effect for all 19 facilities is a net fee
increase of $260,055 per year.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Little, if any, impact on competition and
employment is expected since the costs are small
relative to the typical facility size and all facilities must
follow the same rules.

Glenn A. Miller John R. Rombach

Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer




NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste

Wood Preserving (HW33) (LAC 33:V.Subpart 1)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, particularly R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950,
et seq., the secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures
have been initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste Regulations,
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1, (Log #HW33).

The proposed regulations would revise existing state
regulations to be consistent with current federal regulations. It
may be more stringent than federal regulations in some areas.
The proposed regulations are concerned with listing as
hazardous three categories of wastes from wood preserving
operations that use chlorophenolic, creosote, and/or inorganic
(arsenical and chromium) preservatives. This rule also includes
permitting and interim status standards for drip pads used to
assist in the collection of treated wood drippage.

These proposed regulations are to become effective on
December 20, 1992, or upon publication in the Louisiana
Register.

A public hearing will be held on October 26, 1992, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 341 (Recital
Room), 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA.
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments should
be submitted no later than October 28, 1992, at 4:30 p.m., to
David Hughes, Enforcement and Regulatory Compliance
Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-2282 or to 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.
Commentors should reference this proposed regulation by the
Log #HW33. Check or money order is required in advance for
each copy of HW33. This proposed regulation is available at
the Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third Street, Baton
Rouge, LA 70804 (504)342-5015, and at the following locations
from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Department of Environmental Quality, 7290 Bluebonnet
Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810;

Department of Environmental Quality, 804 31st Street,
Monroe, LA 71203; i

Department of Environmental Quality, State Office
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101;

Department of Environmental Quality, 3519 Patrick Street,
Lake Charles, LA 70605;

Department of Environmental Quality, 3945 North |-10
Service Road West, Metairie, LA 70002;

Department of Environmental Quality,
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508.

100 Asma

James B. Thompson, i
Assistant Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Wood Preserving Rule (HW33)
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I ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No additional cost to state or local government is
anticipated. '
Il.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no significant effect on revenue
collections of state or local governmental units.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS ON NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
There will be no significant costs and /or economic
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental

groups.
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT .ON' COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There will be no significant effect on competition or
employment.
Glenn A. Miller John R. Rombach

Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste

Solid Waste Revisions (SW05)
(LAC 33:Vil.Chapter 1-11)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Environmental Quality
Act, particularly R.S. 30:2001 et seq., particularly R.S. 30:2154
et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the secretary
gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been initiated to
amend the Solid Waste Division Regulations, LAC
33:VIl.Subpart 1.Chapters 1-11, (Log SWO05).

These regulations will extensively revise the Solid Waste
Regulations (LAC 33:VIl.Subpart 1). These amendments include
permitting requirements for composting facilities, woodwaste
landfills and construction demolition-debris landfills. They will
provide procedural transition for facilities and applications
currently in the program to meet the proposed regulations; and
revise design criteria for liner systems, leachate collection and
removal systems, and gas .monitoring systems. These
regulations will incorporate the federal Subtitle D regulations,
incorporation of which is required before Louisiana can become
an approved state by EPA.

These proposed regulations are to become effective on
December 20, 1992, or upon publication in the Louisiana
Register. .

A public hearing will be held on October 27, 1992, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 341 (Recital
Room), 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA.
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the preposed amendments.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments should
be submitted no later than October 28, 1992, at 4:30 p.m., to
David Hughes, Enforcement and Regulatory Compliance
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Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-2282 or to 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA, 70810.
Commentors should reference this proposed regulation by the
Log #SWO05. Check or money order is required in advance for
each copy of SW05. This proposed regulation is available at the
Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third Street, Baton
Rouge, LA 70804 (504)342-5015 and also at the following
locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Department of Environmental Quality, 7290 Bluebonnet
Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810;

Department of Environmental Quality, 804 31st Street,
Monroe, LA 71203;

Department of Environmental Quality, State Office
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101;

Department of Environmental Quality, 3519 Patrick Street,
Lake Charles, LA 70605;

Department of Environmental Quality, 3945 North |-10
Service Road West, Metairie, LA 70002;

Department of Environmental Quality,
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508.

100 Asma

James B. Thompson, lli
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
Rule Title: Solid Waste Regulations

I ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Estimated implementation costs to state government

are $141,220 for FY 93-94, $135,128 for FY 94-95 and

$140,495 for FY 95-96. These costs result from an

additional five employees in the Solid Waste Division to

implement this rule. The implementation costs are
summarized on the worksheet in Part |.

Il.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

State revenue collection will be increased by the
collection of fees from the following types of facilities for
application and annual monitoring and maintenance for:

Construction/Demolition Debris (88), Composting (7) and

Processors (12) - total for FY 93-94 will be $101,000. For

FY’'s 94-95 and 95-96 the total collection for the annual

monitoring and maintenance fees will be $53,500. The

cost to local governments will be insignificant due to the
implementation of the Subtitle D federal regulations which
will regulate municipal solid waste facilities.
lll.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The costs to affected persons is estimated as
follows: $15,754,000 for FY 93-94, $18,644,000 for FY 94-
95 and $39,242,000 for FY 95-96 chiefly due to
construction requirements for landfills, landfarms and
surface impoundments needed to adequately protect the
environment. The economic benefit due to the avoided
cost of land and groundwater cleanup, and possible
human health effects and other environmental problems
will have considerable impact but it is difficult to quantify.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Construction and operational requirements may
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increase employment (construction, consulting services,

etc.) but this would be difficult to quantify.

Glenn A. Miller
Assistant Secretary

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Office of Telecommunications Management

The Division of Administration, Office of Telecommuni-
cations Management hereby gives notice in accordance with
R.S. 49:950 et. seq., and R.S. 39:140-143 that it intends to
amend LAC 4:IX relative to telecommunications.

Title 4
ADMINISTRATION
Part IX. Telecommunications

Chapter 5. Approval of Non-State Entity Use of State Tele-
communcations Services
§503. Approval Criteria

When one of the following criteria is met and upon
approval of the Office of Telecommunications Management,
non-state entities may use state telecommunications serv-
ices.

A ...

B. The non-state entities shall be either:

1.-4. ...

5. private educational institutions in the state of Louisi-
ana with classes from kindergarten through twelfth grade,
and colleges and universities, when requesting access to the
LaNet Wide Area Network for educational and/or research
purposes.

C.-D..

AUTHORITY NOTE Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 39:140, 141, 143, R.S. 1751-1755.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Telecommuni-
cations Management, LR 6:722 (December 1980), repro-
mulgated LR 10:80 (February 1984), LR 17:267 (March
1991), amended LR 18:610 (June 1992), LR 18:

Interested persons may direct written inquiries until 5
p.m., November 8, 1992 to Rhonda Brown, Education Man-
ager, Office of Telecommunications Managememnt, Box
94280, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9280, (504) 342-7725 (LINC
421-7725).

Joseph A. Lanier
Director

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Telecommunications

|. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The implementation cost is the same as to state agen-
cies; however, all implementation cost will be fully recov-
ered through monthly billing.

(




Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The non-state entities will be charged the same as
state agencies. The revenues collected will cover the cost

of the service. )

lll. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There is no direct economic effect on any person or
non-governmental group.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
PLOYMENT (Summary)

No effect on competition or employment is expected.

John R. Rombach

Joseph A. Lanier
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Director

NOTICE OF INTENT

Office of the Governor
Office of Elderly Affairs

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Adminis-
trative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Gover-
nor’s Office of Elderly Affairs (GOEA) intends to amend the
GOEA Policy Manual, effective December 20, 1992. The pur-
pose of this proposed rule is to establish standards for ar-
rangements that area agencies on aging and/or Title Il
subcontractors may have with private entities to provide serv-
ices to a business firm on behalf of its older employees, retir-
ees, or employees who have caregiver responsibilities for
elderly relatives; and/or one or more components of case
management as defined herein.

Title 4
ADMINISTRATION
Part VII. Governor’s Office of Elderly Affairs

Chapter 11. Elderly Affairs
Subchapter B. Area Agency on Aging
§1127. Area Agency Responsibilities

A.-B. ..

C. Eldercare/Case Management

Area Agencies may provide eldercare and/or one or
more component of case management, as specified in LAC
4:VI1.1237.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
OAA Section 306(a) and 45 CFR 1321.61(a)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 17:600 (June
1991), LR 18:
§1133. Area Plan for Programs on Aging

A.-B. ..

C. Content of the Area Plan

1. The area plan will specify:

a. conditions of older persons in the planning and
service area;

b. current system of service delivery based on the
most recently available data;

C. an assessment of current capacity in the planning
and service area to perform service systems development
activities;
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d. the organization of the area agency;

e. composition and functions of the area agency advi-
sory council;

f. goals and objectives for the conduct of the area
agency functions described in this Section, and for develop-
ment and delivery of services for the aging. Service delivery
objectives include, for each service, the projected numbers
of persons to be served and standard units of service to be
provided;

g. financial plan, showing projected expenditures by
source (federal, state, and local) and service; and

h. standard assurances for complying with applicable
laws, regulations, and other directives.

2. Proposals to provide eldercare and/or one or more
componets of case management for an insurance company
must be submitted to the state agency for approval as part of
the area plan or amendment, in accordance with LAC
4:VI1.1237(D). '

D.-F ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
OAA Section 306(a)(2) and Section 307(a)(5).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 17:57 (January
1991), LR 18:

Subchapter D. Service Provider Responsibilities
§1209. Eldercare/Case Management

Title Il subcontractors may provide eldercare and/or
one or more component of case management as specified in
LAC 4:VII.1237.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
OAA Section 306(a)(2) and Section 307(a)(5).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 18:

Subchapter E. Uniform Service Requirements
§1237. Eldercare

A. Scope

1. This Section governs area agencies on aging and
Title 1ll subcontractors under area plans that enter into con-
tracts to provide eldercare as defined in Subsection B of this
Section. :

2. This Section also applies to arrangements that area
agencies and Title Il subcontractors may have with private
entities to provide case management as defined in Subsec-
tion B of this Section.

B. Definitions

1. Eldercare — a service provided to a business firm
on behalf of its older employees, retirees, or employees who
have caregiver responsibilities for elderly relatives. The serv-
ice most often includes a form of enhanced information and
referral; but may extend to other types of services and/or
programs, as determined by the employer. Typically, elder-
care benefits are provided through a contract under which
the business firm, or an intermediary, makes third party pay-
ments to an area agency on aging (or other agency or organi-
zation) to provide directly or to arrange for the provision of
specified services and/or programs to a defined group of cor-
porate employees on behalf of their older relatives.

2. Business firm — a private. entity.

3. Case Management — a service with several com-
ponents, which collectively make up case management. The
components of case management include a combination of
some or all of the following: Access/Intake/Screening; As-
sessment; Care Planning; Care Plan Implementation/Coordi-
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nation; and Continued Care Management.

4. Access/Intake/Screening — marketing and initial
contact with the area agencies from the individual and/or the
company, usually an insurance company, requesting case
management services.

5. Assessment — a face-to-face evaluation utilizing a
standardized assessment tool to determine the individual’s
needs and resources.

a. The assessment provides some or all of the follow-
ing information regarding the individual:

i. functional level;

ii. cognitive status;

iii. health status;

iv. current living arrangement; and

v. use of formal and informal support systems.

b. There are three possible assessments that can be
conducted for an insurance company:

i. an underwriting assessment;

ii. a benefits assessment; and

iii. a care plan assessment.

6. Care Planning — determining with the individual,
the appropriate and available mix of formal and informal
services and resources to meet the individual’s long term
care needs, and developing a plan of care to meet those
needs.

7. Care Plan Implementation/Coordination — assess-
ing and coordinating the appropriate services (services deliv-
ery) and assisting the individual to make the necessary
financial arrangements to implement an individual’s plan of
care.

8. Continued Care Management — the monitoring, re-
assessment, and discharge or termination component of
case management. More specifically this includes:

a. monitoring the service delivery, quality of care pro-
vided, and status of the individual;

b. reassessing the individual’s cognitive status, health
status, and functional level as they relate to the care provided
and making appropriate changes as needed; and

c. closing the case once an individual no longer re-
quires case management due to depletion of insurance cov-
erage; death; or improved health, whereby case
management services are no longer required.

C. Services Authorized

1. Eldercare

a. Area agencies may provide the following services
under eldercare contracts only under an approved area plan:

i. services directly related to area agency on aging
administrative functions, as defined in §1143 (B)(1) of this
manual;

ii. services the state agency has authorized the area
agency to provide directly during the contract period.

b. Title 1ll subcontractors may provide any service in
the GOEA Taxonomy under eldercare contracts, subject to
applicable licensure requirements only under an approved
area plan.

2. Case Management

Area agencies and/or Title Il subcontractors may pro-
vide one or more components of case management, as de-
fined in Paragraphs three through eight of Subsection B of
this Section, only under an approved area plan.

D. Proposals

Proposals to provide eldercare and/or one or more
components of case management for an insurance company
must be submitted to the state agency for approval as part of
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an area plan or amendment, and shall include the following
information:

a. specify whether the area agency intends to provide
the service(s) directly or whether a Title Il subcontractor un-
der the area plan intends to provide the service(s);

b. identify each business firm with whom the area
agency or subcontractor proposes to contract;

c. specify what service is to be provided under each
contract; and

d. provide the following assurances.

i. Services shall not conflict with, or prevent the area
agency from accomplishing its mission under the Older
Americans Act and Title Ill regulations.

ii. The area agency shall continue to fully and effec-
tively comply with its responsibilities to target its Title 1l re-
sources and services to older persons in the greatest
economic or social need, with particular attention to low in-
come minority older persons.

iii. The area agency or Title lll subcontractors under
an area plan shall not enter into any agreement with a busi-
ness firm which would restrict the area agency from provid-
ing services to older persons and those who support them,
or would prohibit a service provider from entering into agree-
ments with other corporations to provide similar services or
benefits.

iv. The business firm shall pay the full cost associated
with the services being provided under the contract. This in-
cludes any start-up costs, administrative costs, overhead
costs or any other costs that are involved in providing the
service(s).

v. Revenues and expenditures under the contract
shall be accounted for separately from Older Americans Act
funds and other public funds.

vi. Each area agency on aging shall disclose to the
state agency on aging the provisions and terms of all pro-
posed contracts to provide eldercare and/or case manage-
ment as defined in Subsection B of this Section, as required
by the state agency. '

2. The information shall be provided in the format pre-
scribed by the state agency to ensure proper review.

F. Eldercare or Private Case Management Contracts

1. Eldercare or private case management contracts
may be made directly with a business firm or through an
intermediary organization acting on behalf of a business
firm.

2. The area agency shall submit proposed contracts
with a business firm or an intermediary of a business firm for
corporate eldercare service(s) to the state agency for review
and comment.

3. Title Ili subcontractors shall submit proposed con-
tracts with a business firm or an intermediary of a business
firm for an eldercare service(s) to the area agency for review
and comment.

4. To ensure compliance with the provisions of this
Section, the state or area agencies shall review and com-
ment on proposed eldercare and case management con-
tracts, as appropriate, taking into consideration the following
factors:

i. the dollar amount of each contractual arrangement;

ii. the number of eldercare or case management par-
ticipants (including employed caregivers) to be served; and

iii. the percentage of area agency staff time allocated
to this effort.




G. Restrictions

1. This restriction applies to the referrals that might be
made by the staff of an information and referral provider or a
case manager under an eldercare contract.

2. Older persons referred to an Older Americans Act
funded service provider under an eldercare contract shall not
be given any special consideration by service providers.

3. Older persons referred for services funded under
the Older Americans Act shall be subject to the same criteria
that would apply to any other potential recipient of service.

4. An exception to the restriction in Paragraph two,
above, can be made in those instances where the business
firm, under contract, has agreed in the contract to pay the full
cost of any service(s) rendered by the area agency on aging
or provided by a service provider under an area plan.

H. Monitoring and Assessment Responsibilities

1. The state agency shall monitor and assess the area
agency agencies for compliance with all of the provisions of
this Section.

2. The area agency shall monitor and assess the Title
Il subcontractors for compliance with all of the provisions of
this Section.

l. Failure to Comply

Substantial failure of an area agency on aging or Title
11l subcontractor to fulfill all of the provisions of this Section
shall be grounds for termination of the Title Ill contract or
subcontract.

A public hearing on this proposed rule will be held on
Tuesday, October 27, 1992, in the GOEA Conference Room,
4550 North Boulevard, Second Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70805, at 1:30 p.m. All interested parties will be afforded an
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in
writing, at said hearing.

Interested persons may submit written comments to
the following address: Betty Johnson, Planning/Development
Manager, Governor’s Office of Elderly Affairs, Box 80374,
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-0374. She is the person responsible
for responding to inquiries concerning this proposed rule.

-Comments will be accepted until 5 p.m. November 2, 1992.

James R. Fontenot
Director

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Corporate Eldercare/Case Management

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The proposed rule will not result in increased costs or
savings to state or local governmental units.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The proposed rule change will not affect the federal
and state funds available to the area agencies to provide
Older Americans Act services. Other revenues may be
generated for additional services through contractual ar-
rangements with private entities. However, it is impos-
sible to predict what the exact amount will be.

lll. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This rule will affect the area agencies on aging and
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their Title Il subcontractors; private entities with whom
they may enter into contractual or other arrangements to
provide corporate eldercare or case management as de-
fined herein; and the older individuals who ultimately are
served. Such services may be provided only under an
approved area plan or amendment. The fiscal impact is
not known at this time.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
PLOYMENT (Summary)

Many family members involved in caring for elderly
relatives work every day and have many other responsi-
bilities, as well. Many employers are making an effort to
respond to the need for eldercare and case management
services as a special benefit to employees. This pro-
posed rule is intended to provide guidance concerning
how the aging services network should work with the cor-
porate sector to assist in this very worthwhile effort. Area
agencies and their Title lll subcontractors are required to
make such arrangements equally accessible to all em-
ployers.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

James R. Fontenot
Executive Director

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Nursing

Disciplinary Proceedings

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Board
of Nursing (board), pursuant to the authority vested in the
board by R.S. 37:918 K, intends to amend rules prescribing
practice and reporting requirements for registered nurses to
protect the public from the risk of transmission of hepatitis B
virus (HBV) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) as
follows:

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS
Part XLVIl. Nurses
Subpart 2. Registered Nurses
Chapter 33. General Rules
Subchapter C. Disciplinary Proceedings
§3331. Definition of Terms

* % ¥

H. Other causes—includes, but is not limited to:
* ¥ %

11. Intentionally committing any act that adversely
affects the physical or psychosocial welfare of the patient,
including but not limited to failing to practice in accord with
the Federal Centers for Disease Control recommendations for
preventing transmission of human immunodeficiency virus
(HIV) and hepatitis B virus (HBV) when one is infected with
or a carrier of HIV or HBV.

* ¥ #

15. Failing to report to the board one’s status when
one is known to be a carrier of the hepatitis B virus or human
immunodeficiency virus in accord with Act 1009 of the 1991
Louisiana Legislature.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 37:918 K.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 7:74
(March 1981), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, LR 18:

Written comments on the proposed rules may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., November 2, 1992, to Barbara L.
Morvant, Executive Director, Louisiana State Board of
Nursing, 150 Baronne Street, Suite 912, New Orleans, LA
70112,

A public hearing .will be held at 10 a.m., October 30,
1992, at the New Orleans Airport Hilton and Conference
Center, 901 Airline Highway, Kenner, LA.

Barbara Morvant, RN, MN
Executive Director

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Disciplinary Proceedings

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There is no anticipated implementation costs or

savings to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing.
.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE ORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There is no anticipated effect on revenue
collections by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing or
any other state or local government.

. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NON-GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There is no anticipated material effect on costs or
workload of the registered nurse who is not HIV nor
HBV seropositive and who already follow the guidelines
of the Federal Centers for Disease Control. Failure to
report one’s seropositive status for HIV or HBV in
accord with Act 1009 of 1991, or failure to practice in
accord with the proposed LAC 46:XLVI.3914 may
result in suspension of license or other disciplinary
measure.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No material impact on competition or employment
is anticipated if the registered nurse practices in accord
with any restriction necessary to protect the health and
welfare of the patients. Failure to appropriately report
one’s HIV or HBV seropositive status or failure to abide
by any restriction which may be necessary to protect
the health and welfare of the patients may result in
disciplinary action against such licensee.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

Barbara L. Morvant
Executive Director
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Nursing

Prevention of Disease Transmission

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Board
of Nursing (board), pursuant to the authority vested in the
board by R.S. 37:918 K, intends to adopt rules prescribing
practice and reporting requirements for registered nurses to
protect the public from the risk of transmission of hepatitis B
virus (HBV) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), as
follows:

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS
Part XLVIl. Nurses
Subpart 2. Registered Nurses
Chapter 39. Legal Standards of Nursing Practice
§3914. Standard Number 7: Prevention of Disease
Transmission

A. Al registered nurses shall adhere to universal
precautions for the prevention of transmission of infectious
diseases as recommended by the federal centers for disease
control for infection-control programs. These precautions
include the appropriate use of hand washing, protective
barriers, and care in the use and disposal of needles and other
sharp instruments. .

1. Registered nurses who have exudative lesions or
weeping dermatitis shall refrain from all direct patient care
and from handling patient-care equipment and devices used
in performing invasive procedures until the condition resolves.

2. Registered nurses shall also comply with
employing agency’s current guidelines for disinfection and
sterilization of reusable devices uséd in invasive procedures.

B. Registered nurses who know they are HIV or HBV
carriers shall report their status to the Board of Nursing within
30 days from the date of the performance of the diagnostic
test. They shall give notice of such diagnosis to the board on
a reporting form supplied by the board which shall be mailed
to the Nursing Consultant for Compliance, marked "personal
and confidential,” by registered or certified mail. This report
shall be confidential as provided in Act 1009 of the 1991
Louisiana Legislature.

C. Registered nurses who are known to be infected
with HIV or HBV who perform invasive procedures not
identified as exposure-prone shall practice standard surgical
or dental technique and comply with universal precautions
and current standards for sterilization/disinfection.

For the purpose of this Subsection, invasive procedures
shall mean any procedure involving manual or instrumental
contact with, or entry into, any blood, body fluids, cavity,
internal organ, subcutaneous tissue, mucous membrane or
percutaneous wound of the human body.

D. Registered nurses who perform or participate in
exposure-prone procedures shall, in the performance of or
participation in any such procedure or function, be familiar
with, observe and rigorously adhere to both general infection
and control practices and universal blood and body-fluid
precautions as.then recommended by the Federal Centers for
Disease Control to minimize the risk of HBV or HIV from a
practitioner to a patient, from a patient to a practitioner, or

-




from a patient to a patient.

1. Registered nurses who perform or participate in
exposure-prone procedures and who do not have serologic
evidence of immunity to HBV from previous infection, and
have not been vaccinated against HBV, shall obtain their
HBsAg status and, if that is positive, shall also obtain their
HbeAg status.

2. For the purpose of this Subsection, exposure-prone
procedures shall mean an invasive procedure in which there
is risk of percutaneous injury to the practitioner by virtue of
digital palpations of a needle tip or other sharp instrument in
a body cavity or the simultaneous presence of the
practitioner’s fingers and a needle or other sharp instrument
or object in a poorly visualized or highly confined anatomic
site, or any other invasive procedure in which there is a
significant risk of contact between the blood or body fluids of
the practitioner and the blood or body fluids of the patient.

E. Registered nurses who are infected with HIV or HBV
(and are HBeAg positive) shall not perform exposure-prone
procedures unless they have sought counsel from an expert
review panel and been advised under what circumstances, if
any, they may continue to perform these procedures.

An expert review panel shall be constituted of at least
five members representing a balanced perspective, such as
one or more of each of the following: the licensee’s personal
physician, a member of the agency’s infection control
committee (if agency has such committee), a registered nurse
who is an infectious disease specialist with expertise in the
procedures performed by the infected licensee, and a state or
local public health official.

F. Patients of the seropositive registered nurse shall be
notified of the registered nurse’s seropositivity before they
undergo exposure-prone invasive procedures in which the
nurse will participate or perform. If the nurse will perform the
procedure, an informed consent shall be obtained from the
patient.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 37:918(K).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 18:

Written comments on the proposed rules may be
submitted until 4:30 p.m., November 2, 1992, to Barbara L.
Morvant, Executive Director, Louisiana State Board of
Nursing, 150 Baronne Street, Suite 912, New Orleans, LA
70112.

A public hearing will be held at 10 a.m., October 30,
1992, at the New Orleans Airport Hilton and Conference
Center, 901 Airline Highway, Kenner, LA.

Barbara L. Morvant, R.N., M.N.
Executive Director

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Prevention of Disease Transmission

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There is no anticipated implementation costs or
savings to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
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There is no anticipated effect on revenue
collections by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing or
any other state or local government.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There is no anticipated material effect on costs or
workload of the registered nurse who is not HIV nor
HBYV seropositive and who already follow the guidelines
of the Federal Centers for Disease Control. Registered
nurses who are seropositive and who perform or
participate in exposure-prone invasive procedures may
experience a limitation on their practice which is
necessary for the protection of the patients.
ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No material impact on competition or employment
is anticipated. However, the practice of a relatively
small number of registered nurses who are seropositive
and who perform or participate in exposure-prone
invasive procedures may be restricted if this is
necessary to protect the health and welfare of the
patients.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

Barbara L. Morvant, R.N., M.N.
Executive Director

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Department of Social Services
Office of the Secretary

In accordance with the provisions of the Administra-
tive Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, is proposing to
amend regulations pursuant to the cash subsidy payments
under the program entitled Community and Family Support
System.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH - GENERAL
- Part I. General Administration
Subpart 7. Community and Family Support System

Chapter 1. Community and Family Support System Cash
Subsidy
§103. Definitions

F. Individualized Education Program (IEP) — a written
educational plan for each child with a disability which is de-
veloped in a meeting by a representative of the local educa-
tional agency, the teacher, the parents or guardian of such
child, and that child, whenever appropriate.

G. Individualized Family Services Plan (IFSP) — a
written plan for providing early intervention services for
Childnet eligible children and their families.

H. Interagency Service Coordination (ISC) Process —
the interagency process in cooperation with the Child and
Adolescent Service System Program (CASSP) which involves
children and their familys in a multidisciplinary case review
to generate a family service plan which assures appropriate

* ok
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and coordinated care for those children with severe emo-
tional and behavioral impairments who are not adequately
served by the routing services of a single agency and there-
fore require extensive interagency collaboration.

K. Licensed mental health professional — a person
credentialed to provide mental health services by a profes-
sional board established and approved by the State of Louisi-
ana, including those boards which examine physicians
(psychiatrists), psychologists, social workers, counselors,
nurse practitioners, etc.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 28:821 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, and by the
Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR
18:185 (February,1992), amended LR 18:

§107. Application Procedures and Waiting List for Cash

Subsidy

E. To be deemed complete, applications must be
signed by the parent and the following supporting documents
must accompany the application:

4. The following documentation will be accepted to
complete the application for Behavior Disorder/Emotional
Disturbance, even if in the absence of a 1508 evaluation
identifying this as an exceptionality: A treatment plan from a
licensed community mental health center; or, evidence of
present participation of child/family in an Interagency Service
Coordination (ISC) process; or, an evaluation report from a
private licensed mental health professional and indication
that the criteria for Emotional/Behavioral Impairment (EBI) in
Department of Education Bulletin 1508 have been met.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 28:821 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, and by the
Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR
18:185 (February,1992), amended LR 18:

§115. Cash Subsidy Payment Procedures

The cash subsidy payment is provided for the purpose
of assisting families in meeting those needs and extraordi-
nary expenses that enable their child to remain at home and
to keep the family intact. Families will sign an annual state-
ment stating that the subsidy funds are used for the special
needs of the family, but will not be required to document
expenses.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 28:821 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, and by the
Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR
18:185 (February,1992), amended LR 18:

Interested persons may submit written comments on
this proposed rule to Ms. Sue Bowman, Assistant Secretary,
Office of Mental Retardation/Developmental Disabilities, Box
3317, Bin 21, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3317. She is the per-
son responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this
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proposed rule.

J. Christopher Pilley

Secretary

Department of Health
and Hospitals

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary
Department of Social Services

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Community and Family Support Cash
Subsidy

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no implementation costs anticipated from

the adoption of the amendments.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The proposed amendments will have no effect on rev-
enue collections of state or local governmental units.

Ill. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There will be no costs and/or economic benefits di-
rectly affected persons or non-governmental groups.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
.PLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no effect projected on competition and em-
ployment from implementation of these amendments.

David W. Hood
Semior Fiscal Analyst

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of The Secretary

Informed Consent

As authorized by R.S. 40:1299.40E, as enacted by Act
1093 of 1990 and later amended by Act 962 of 1991, the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Medical
Disclosure Panel, is proposing to adopt rules which require
what risks must be disclosed under the Doctrine of Informed
Consent to patients undergoing medical treatments or
procedures and the Consent Form to be signed by the patient
and physician before undergoing any such treatment or
procedure. :

A public hearing on the proposed rules will be held on
October 26, 1992, in the First Floor Auditorium, Department
of Transportation and Development Building, 1201 Capitol
Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, beginning at 2 p.m.
Please submit any written comments to Donald J. Palmisano,
M.D., Chairman, Louisiana Medical Disclosure Panel,
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Legal

~




Services, Box 3836, Baton Rouge, LA 70802.

A copy (full text) of these proposed rules may be
obtained from Donald J. Palmisano, M.D., at the above
address or from the Office of the State Register, 1051 North
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA (504)342-5015.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Informed Consent

L ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)
TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no-implementation costs anticipated from the
adoption of these rules.
. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The proposed rules will have no effect on revenue
collections of state or local governmental units.
il ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)
There will be no costs and/or economic benefits to
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.
V. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There is no effect projected on competition and
employment from implementation of these rules.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

In accordance with the provisions of the Administra-
tive Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of
Health Services Financing, hereby gives notice of its intent to
adopt the following rule in the Title XIX Medicaid Program.

The coverage of chiropractors’ services is optional un-
der the State Medicaid Plan. Chiropractor services were re-
imbursed under the State’s Medicaid Plan from April 1, 1976
through July 31, 1985, when the program was withdrawn due
to lack of state funding capability.

Chiropractic is recognized as a therapy which in-
cludes treatment of individuals with chronic or acute spinal
problems who may avoid hospitalization with chiropractic
services. Chiropractic appears to be cost effective. A study of
Florida’s Workmen’s Compensation system over a two-year
period indicated that patients who utilized chiropractic serv-
ices for initial treatment incurred 50 percent less in treatment
costs and 50 percent less in-time lost from work than patients
who consulted a medical doctor. There are approximately
569,000 individuals eligible for medicaid services in Louisi-
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ana, a population which currently does not have access to
chiropractic services. Therefore, the state proposes to offer -
chiropractic services in accordance with the requirements
and limitations set forth in this proposed rule and the State
Medicaid Plan.

PROPOSED RULE

Effective January 1, 1993, Medicaid of Louisiana will
reimburse chiropractors for their services under the following
conditions:

1. Chiropractors’ services consists of treatment by
means of manual manipulation of the spine that the chiro-
practor is legally authorized by the state to perform.

2. Payment will be made to chiropractors who are li-
censed by the state to practice. In addition, chiropractors
must be enrolled in the Medicaid Program as a medicaid
provider.

3. The State Plan for a limitation of up to 12 out-patient
physician visits per calendar year with provision for extension
if medically approved. This limitation on office visits applies
to other licensed practitioners such as dentists, optometrists,
and podiatrists, and will include chiropractors. For diagnostic
radiology, chiropractors may be reimbursed up to a maxi-
mum of $225 per calendar year per recipient. Chiropractic
treatment will be limited to 25 billable treatment encounters
per calendar year per recipient with a maximum of three bil-
lable services at each encounter. Provision is made for exten-
sion of additional encounters up to a maximum of 35 based
on medical review by the fiscal intermediary which deter-
mines that medical necessity warrants the additional serv-
ices. Early and Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment
(EPSDT) recipients are excluded from the service limitations.

4. Reimbursement will be in accordance with a maxi-
mum fee schedule for each chiropractic service rendered to
Title XIX eligible individuals.

Interested persons may submit written comments to
the following address: John Futrell, Office of the Secretary,
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Box 91030, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is the person responsible for re-
sponding to inquiries regarding this proposed rule.

A public hearing on this proposed rule will be held on
Tuesday, October 27, 1992 in the Department of Transporta-
tion and Development Auditorium, First Floor, 1201 Capitol
Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA at 9:30 a.m. All interested
persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views
or arguments, orally or in writing at the public hearing.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Implementation of Optional Chiropractor’s
Services Under Title XIX Medicaid

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Implementation of this proposed rule is projected to
increase state expenditures by $1,178,209 in SFY 1992-
93; $2,092,281 in SFY 1993-94; and $2,153,031 in 1994-
95.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Implementation of this proposed rule is projected to
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increase federal revenue by $3,377,898 in SFY 1992-93;
$5,998,519 in SFY 1993-94; and $6,172,687 in SFY
1994-95.

Ill. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Chiropractors who provide services to Medicaid recipi-
ents will be directly impacted as will Title XIX eligible re-
cipients who receive the services. Total expenditures are
$4,556,107 in SFY 92-93; $8,090,800 in SFY 93-94; and
$8,325,718 in SFY 94-95.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
PLOYMENT (Summary)

~ This proposed rule will have no known impact on com-
petition or employment.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

John Futrell
Director

NOTICE OF INTENT
Department of Insurance
Commissioner of Insurance

Companies in Hazardous Financial Condition

Under the authority of R.S. 22:2(H), the Department of
Insurance gives notice that the following proposed regulation
is scheduled to become effective December 20, 1992. This
intended action complies with the statutory law administered
by the Department of Insurance.

REGULATION-43
Standards and Authority of the Commissioner
of Insurance Regarding Companies Deemed to be in
Hazardous Financial Condition
§1. Authority

This regulation is adopted and promulgated by the
Louisiana Department of Insurance pursuant toR.S. 22:2(H).
§2. Purpose

The purpose of this regulat|on is to set forth the
standards which the Commissioner of Insurance (the
"commissioner") may use for identifying insurers found to be
in such condition as to render the continuance of their
business hazardous to the public or to holders of their policies
or certificates of insurance.

This regulation shall not be interpreted to limit the
powers granted the commussnoner by any laws or parts of
laws of the state of Louisiana, nor shall this regulation be
interpreted to supersede any laws or parts of laws of the
state of Louisiana.

§3. Definitions

As used in this regulatlon the following terms shall
have the respective meaning hereinafter set forth:

1. Control — as defined in R.S. 22:1002(3).

2. Person — as defined in R.S. 22:1002(7).

§4. Standards

The following standards, either singly or a combination
of two or more, may be considered by the commissioner to
determine whether the continued operation of any insurer
transacting an insurance business in this state might be
deemed to be hazardous to the policyholders, creditors or the
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general public. The commissioner may consider:

1. adverse findings reported in financial condition and
market conduct examination reports;

2. the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
Insurance Regulatory Information System and its related
reports;

3. the ratios of commission expense, general insurance
expense, policy benefits and reserve increases as to annual
premium and net investment income which could lead to an
impairment of capital and surplus;

4. the insurer’s asset portfolio when viewed in light of
current economic conditions is not of sufficient value,
liquidity, or diversity to assure the company’s ability to meet
its outstanding obligations as they mature;

5. the ability of an assuming reinsurer to perform and
whether the insurer’s reinsurance program provides sufficient
protection for the company’s remaining surplus after taking
into account the insurer’s cash flow and the classes of
business written as well as the financial condition of the
assuming reinsurer;

6. the insurer’s operating loss in the last 12-month
period or any shorter period of time, including but not limited
to net capital gain or loss, change in non-admitted assets, and

cash dividends pald to shareholders, is greater than 50
percent of such insurer’'s remaining surplus as regards

policyholders in excess of the minimum required;

7. whether any affiliate, subsidiary or reinsurer is
insolvent, threatened with insolvency, or delinquent in
payment of its monetary or other obligations;

8. contingent liabilities, pledges or guarantees which
either individually or collectively involve a total amount which
in the opinion of the commissioner may affect the solvency
of the insurer;

9. whether any person having control of an insurer is
delinquent in the transmitting to, or payment of, net
premiums to such insurer;

10. the age and collectibility of receivables;

11. whether the management of an insurer, including
officers, directors, or any other person who directly or
indirectly controls the operation of such insurer, fails to
possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and
reputation deemed necessary to serve the insurer in such
position;

12. whether management of an insurer has failed to
respond to inquiries relative to the condition of the insurer or
has furnished false and misleading information concerning an
inquiry;

13. whether management of an insurer either has filed
any false or misleading sworn financial statement, or has
released any false or misleading financial statement to lending
institutions or to the general public, or has made a false or
misleading entry, or has omitted an entry of material amount
in the books of the insurer;

14. whether the insurer has grown so rapidly and to
such an extent that it lacks .adequate financial and
administrative capacity to meet its obligations in a timely
manner; or

15. whether the insurer has experienced or will
experience in the foreseeable future cash flow and/or liquidity
problems.

§5. Commissioner’s Authority

A. For the purposes of making a determination of an

insurer’s financial condition under this regulation, the
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commissioner may:

1. disregard any credit or amount receivable resulting
from transactions with a reinsurer which is insolvent,
impaired or otherwise subject to a delinquency proceeding;

2. make appropriate adjustments to asset values
attributable to investments in or transactions with parents,
subsidiaries, or affiliates;

3. refuse to recognize the stated value of accounts
receivable if the ability to collect receivables is highly
speculative in view of the age of the account or the financial
condition of the debtor; or

4. increase the insurer’s liability in an amount equal to
any contingent liability, pledge, or guarantee not otherwise
included if there is a substantial risk that the insurer will be
called upon to meet the obligation undertaken within the next
12-month period.

B. If the commissioner determines that the continued
operation of the insurer licensed to transact business in this
state may be hazardous to the policyholders or the general
public, then the commissioner may, upon his determination,
issue an order requiring the insurer to:

1. reduce the total amount of present and potential
liability for policy benefits by reinsurance;

2. reduce, suspend or limit the volume of business
being accepted or renewed;

3. reduce general insurance and commission exoenses
by specified methods;

4. increase the insurer’s capital and surplus;

5. suspend or limit the declaration and payment of
dividends by an insurer to its stockholders or to its
policyholders;

6. file reports in a form acceptable to the commissioner
concerning the market value of an insurer’s assets;

7. limit or withdraw from certain investments or
discontinue certain investment practices to the extent the
commissioner deems necessary;

8. document the adequacy of premium rates in relation
to the risks insured; or

9. file, in addition to regular annual statements, interim
financial reports on the form adopted by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners or on such format as
promulgated by the commissioner.

If the insurer is a foreign insurer the commissioner’s
order may be limited to the extent provided by statute.

C. Within 30 days of receipt of notification of the order
of the commissioner to the insurer made pursuant to
Subsection B of this Section, the insurer may make written
demand for a hearing pursuant to the provisions of Part XXIX
of Chapter 1 of Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of
1950; provided, however, that such a hearing will be held
privately, unless the insurer requests a public hearing, in
which case the hearing shall be public.

A public hearing on this proposed regulation will be held
on October 28, 1992 in the Plaza Hearing Room of the
Insurance Building, located at 950 North Fifth Street, Baton
Rouge, LA at 10 a.m. Allinterested persons will be afforded
an opportunity to make comments.

Interested persons may obtain a copy of this proposed
regulation from, and may submit oral or written comments to
Barry W. Karns, Deputy General Counsel, Department of
Insurance, Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214,
telephone (504) 342-5900. Comments will be accepted
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through the close of business at 4:30 p.m., October 28,
1992.

James H. "Jim" Brown
Commissioner of Insurance

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Regulation 43 - Standards Regarding
Companies Deemed to be in Hazardous Financial Condition

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the Department of
Insurance will incur any costs or savings as a result of
implementing this regulation. The regulation does not
impose any new duties on the department that would
require additional funding.

Il.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Adoption of this regulation will not have any
effect on revenue collections by the state or local
governmental units. There are no fees, fines or other
revenue generating activities imposed.

ll.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-':
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) i

It is not anticipated that this regulation will’
impose any additional costs on insurance companies.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that there will be any effect
on either competition or employment resulting from the
adoption of this regulation.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Brenda St. Romain
Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT
Department of Insurance
Commissioner of Insurance

Group Self-Insurance Funds

Under the authority of Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23,
Section 1193, the Department of Insurance gives notice that the
following proposed regulation is to become effective December
20, 1992. This intended action complies with the statutory law
administered by the Department of Insurance.

REGULATION 42
GROUP SELF-INSURANCE FUNDS

§1. This regulation is adopted and promulgated by the
Commissioner of Insurance pursuant to authority granted
by Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, Section 1193.
§2. Definitions

When used in this regulation, the following words or terms
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shall have the meaning as described in this Section.

(1)  Administrator — an individual, partnership or
corporation engaged by a group self-insurance fund to carry out
the policies of the trustees of the fund and to provide day-to-day
management of the fund.

(2) Aggregate Losses— the amount of all claims including
reserves for loss development and losses incurred but not
reported which exceeds the loss fund.

(3) Contingent Liability— the amount that a self-insurance
fund may be obligated to pay in excess of a given fund year's
normal premium collected or on hand.

(4) Fiscal Agent—an individual, partnership or corporation
engaged by a self-insurance fund to carry out the fiscal policies
of the fund, invest and disburse assets and oversee the financial
matters of the fund. An administrator may be a fiscal agent.

(5) Gross Premium— premium determined by multiplying
the payroll (segregated into the proper workers’ compensation
job classifications) times the manual premium rates approved by
the commissioner.

(6) Incurred but not Reported Reserves — a reserve
established which estimates the incurred loss of claims whose
existence is unknown by the fund or claims which have been
reported but not recorded on the books of the fund.

(7) Loss Development— the change in incurred loss from
one point in time to another.

(8) Loss Development Reserve — any amount needed in
a given fund year in addition to current loss reserves to fund
future loss development.

(9) Loss Fund — the retention under the terms of an
aggregate excess contract, or if no aggregate excess is
purchased, the amount remaining from normal premium in each
fund year after all necessary expenses are paid.

(10) Normal Premium — standard premium less allowed
discount.

(11) Qualified Actuary — Either 1) an associate or fellow
of the Casualty Actuarial Society or 2) a member of the
American Academy of Actuaries who demonstrates knowledge
of workers compensation insurance.

(12) Group Self-insurance Fund or Fund— employers who
enter into agreements to pool their workers compensation
liabilities in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23,
§§1191-1193.

(13) Standard Premium — gross premium plus or minus
applicable experience debits or credits.

(14) Surplus — assets of a fund in excess of loss
reserves, actual and contingent liabilities and loss development
reserves in all fund years.

§3. Application to Create a Group Self-Insurance Fund

A. All applications to create a group self-insurance fund
shall meet the requirements of R.S. 23:1191-1193, any other
applicable laws of the state of Louisiana, and this regulation.

B. Applications shall be made in writing on a form
acceptable to the commissioner.

C. Applications shall be submitted to the Department of
Insurance at least 60 days prior to the effective date for
establishment of a fund. Any application submitted with less
than 60 days remaining before the desired effective date or
which does not contain answers to all questions or which is not
notarized may be returned without review by the commissioner.

D. All applications shall be accompanied by:

(1) a properly completed indemnity agreement in a form
acceptable to the commissioner, pursuant to §7 of this
regulation;
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(2) securities or a Self-Insurers Surety Bond on a form
and properly executed by a surety acceptable to the
commissioner, pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23,
§1192(A)(2) and this regulation;

(3) copies of acceptable excess insurance policies,
pursuant to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1192(A)(3)
and this regulation;

(4) afidelity bond covering the service company, pursuant
to Louisiana revised Statutes Title 23, §1192(A)(7);

(5) a certification from a designated depository attesting
to the amount of monies on hand;

(6) copies of the fund bylaws or trust agreement;

(7) individual application of each member of the group
applying for membership in the fund on the effective date of the
fund;

(8) proof that the initial members of the fund have the
combined net worth and membership requirements as specified
in Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1191 and this
regulation;

(9) proof that the fund shall have an annual gross
premium as specified in Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23,
§1192(A)(1);

(10) the current financial statement of any casualty
insurance company writing excess coverage for the fund, which
meets the requirements of Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23,
§1192(A)(6);

(11) the name of the attorney representing the fund and
the name of the certified public accountant who will be
submitting the certified financial statement;

(12) a completed estimated breakdown of policy year
expenses on a form acceptable to the commissioner;

(13) the address in this state where the books and
records of the group will be maintained at all times;

(14) proof of payment to the group self-insurance fund by
each member of not less than 25 percent of that member’s first
year estimated annual net premium;

(15) a pro forma financial statement, pursuant to
Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 23, §1192(A)(8) and §5(A)
hereof.

E. Upon receipt of the application and other required
materials, the commissioner will investigate the application and
will request any additional information which is required in a
letter to the applicant.

F. Failure to meet any of the criteria or provide needed
information shall be grounds for denial of the application.

G. Within 45 days of receipt of all requested information,
the commissioner shall issue a decision approving or denying
the application, or shall extend his time for review.

§4. Conditions for Retaining the Self-Insurance Privilege

A. The self-insurance privilege of a fund is granted
continuously until revoked.

B. All funds shall be required to submit the following
documents and reports:

(1) annual financial statements certified by an
independent certified public accountant pursuant to §5(B) hereof;

(2) estimated breakdown of policy year expenses
pursuant to §5(D) hereof;

(3) actuarial reports as may be required by the
commissioner;

(4) changes in items required to be furnished under
§3(D)(1),(2),(3),(4),(6),(10),(11) and (13), within 10 days.of the
effective date of such change.

C. All funds shall maintain a combined net worth of their
members sufficient to pay all claims.




D. Each fund shall notify the commissioner, within 10
days of receiving knowledge thereof, of any claim, whether such
claim is in litigation or otherwise, against the fund which, if the
claimant is successful, would create an obligation of the fund to
pay more than five percent of the current balance of the loss
fund.

E. The commissioner may prescribe the format and
frequency of other reports which may include, but shall not be
limited to, payroll audit reports, summary loss reports, and
quarterly financial statements.

F. The commissioner may require periodic proof that the
fund is complying with the applicable laws, rules, regulations and
directives of the Department of Insurance.

G. Whenever the commissioner determines that a fund
has knowingly submitted an application or other information
containing false or misleading information, the commissioner
may revoke the Certificate of Authority of the fund.

§5. Financial and Actuarial Reports for Group Self-
Insurance Funds

A. Each fund shall submit a current financial statement,
certified by an- independent certified public accountant, of at
least two members showing, at the inception of the fund, a
combined net worth of a minimum of $500,000, current financial
statements of all other members, a combined ratio of current
assets to current liabilities of more than 1 to 1, a combined
working capital of an amount establishing financial strength and
liquidity of the members to pay normal compensation claims
promptly, and showing evidence of the financial ability of the
group to meet its obligations. A certified audit or a financial
statement properly certified by an officer, owner or partner for all
members joining the fund after the inception date shall be
submitted to the commissioner until such time as a certified
annual audit report is available for the fund as a whole. In no
event shall the cumulative net worth or ratio of the current
assets to current liabilities of all members be less than that
required in this Subsection.

B. The report of financial condition shall be due annually
within six months of the close of the fiscal year of the fund,
unless an extension is granted by the commissioner, on a form
acceptable to the commissioner.

C. Actuarial reviews, if required, shall be made by a
qualified actuary. Actuarial reports shall be due and filed at the
same time as the fund’s annual financial statement, except as
otherwise provided by the commissioner.

D. Each fund shall file an estimated breakdown of
expenses on a form acceptable to the commissioner, within 60
days after the beginning of each fiscal year.

§6. Excess Insurance Requirements for Group Self-
Insurance Funds

A. All funds shall maintain specific excess insurance in
the amount of at least $2,000,000 per occurrence and an
aggregate excess of at least $2,000,000.

B. For the purposes of this Section, no loss fund shall be
less than 70 percent of earned normal premium without the
approval of the commissioner.

C. The maximum retention allowed for a fund’s specific
excess policy shall be in accordance with the following schedule
unless a waiver is granted pursuant to Subsections (D), (E), (F)
and (G) of this Section:

(1) for funds with a loss fund less than $50,000,000, the
maximum retention shall be three percent of the fund’s loss
fund, or $250,000, whichever is greater;

(2) for funds with a loss fund greater than or equal to
$50,000,000 and less than $100,000,000, the maximum
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retention shall be 3.5 percent of the fund’s loss fund;

(3) for funds with a loss fund greater than or equal to
$100,000,000, the maximum retention shall be four percent of
the fund'’s loss fund;

(4) regardless of any maximum contained in this
Subsection, no fund shall secure a retention which in the
commissioner’s opinion is not actuarially sound.

D. If afund wishes to secure a specific excess policy with
a retention greater than the maximum allowed by Subsection C
of this Section, then the fund shall comply with the procedure
described in Subsections E, F and G of this Section.

E. Funds which have been in operation at least 30
months may request permission to secure a retention higher
than that authorized by Subsection C of this Subsection. A fund
shall submit a feasibility study prepared by a qualified actuary
which analyzes the impact on the fund of the higher retention.

F. The commissioner shall deny the use of a higher
retention if he finds (1) that the higher retention will have a
significant adverse effect on the financial condition of the fund,
or (2) that the fund is unable to establish reserves using monies
from (a) premium earned during the year the loss was incurred,
or (b) investment earnings from the year in which the loss was
incurred, or (c) from future investment earnings on the specific
loss reserve.

G. Each fund shall provide security for aggregate losses
by selecting one of the following alternatives:

(1) purchasing an acceptable aggregate excess policy,

(2) upon approval of the commissioner, post a cash
security deposit in the amount of $1,000,000 or 20 percent of
annual standard premium, whichever is greater, or

(3) if the fund has been in operation at least 60 months,
upon approval of the commissioner, establish an actuarially
sound reserve for aggregate losses.

H. Subject to the minimum stated in Subsection A of this
Section, the fund shall secure an aggregate limit of at least 20
percent of the annual standard premium of the fund for the term
of the policy. The retention of the aggregate policy shall be
subject to the approval of the commissioner.

I If the option in Subsection G(2) of this Section is
selected, a fund, upon approval of the commissioner, may self-
insure part of its aggregate limit by posting as a cash security
deposit for the amount which is self-insured.

J. If a fund receives permission to provide security for its
aggregate losses by establishing an aggregate reserve, the fund
shall comply with the following requirements:

(1) At least 60 days prior to the beginning of each policy
year for which an aggregate reserve will be established, the fund
shall submit a plan for that year. Approval of the plan by the
commissioner shall be required before an aggregate reserve
may be established for the next policy year.

(2) Within six months after the end of each fund year, the
fund shall submit an actuarial review, by a qualified actuary, of
its aggregate reserve for each fund year whose aggregate
losses are guaranteed by the reserve.

(3) Along with the actuarial review, the fund shall provide
financial information which sets forth the financial position of the
aggregate reserve.

(4) In actuarially determining the amount of ultimate loss,
the fund and its actuary may take into account current or future
recoveries from any aggregate or specific excess contract, if
such contract complies with this regulation.

K. The commissioner may:

(1) reject an actuarial review or financial report which
does not comply with the requirements of Subsection L of this
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Section. If this occurs, the commissioner may, at the expense
of the fund, conduct his own actuarial or financial review, or,
upon request of the fund, allow the fund to submit another
_actuarial or financial report subject to the commissioner's
approval of the party preparing the report;

(2) for good cause, order a fund to cease using an
aggregate reserve for securing its aggregate losses. Good
cause shall include a finding that the aggregate reserve is
actuarially unsound, that the fund is insolvent, that the fund will
lack sufficient liquidity to run off its claims without reliance on
future premium income, or that the fund has failed to comply
with the provisions of this regulation;

(3) in the event that the fund’'s aggregate reserve, or
reserves, is actuarially unsound, order the fund to take such
corrective action as necessary to make the reserve actuarially
sound.

L. If a fund receives approval of its plan to use an
aggregate reserve to provide security for its aggregate losses,
then:

(1) payment of dividends from premium in a fund year
shall not be requested or approved for that fund year as long as
any claims reserves, reserves for loss development or reserves
for losses incurred but not reported (IBNR) are unfunded by
actual cash reserves;

(2) no dividends shall be requested or approved from
investment earnings unless the aggregate reserves for all years
are actuarially sound, taking into account future contributions,
and aggregate excess insurance;

(3) advance premium discounts and all expenses
unnecessary for the fund to meet its obligations will be reduced
or eliminated, if necessary, to provide funds to make an
aggregate reserve actuarially sound;

(4) amounts actuarially determined to be necessary for
the reserves for loss development and IBNR shall be a part of
the fund’s security deposit requirement;

(5) no premium from a year prior to the year for which the
aggregate reserve is established may be allocated to fund an
aggregate reserve until 12 months after the close of the prior
year.

§7. Indemnity Agreement

A. Each self-insurance fund member shall enter into an
indemnity agreement jointly and severally binding the self-
insurance fund and each member thereof to comply with the
provisions of the applicable Louisiana Revised Statutes and
rules, regulations and directives of the Department of Insurance.

B. The Indemnity Agreement requirement shall not be
applicable to group self-insurance funds of public employers.
§8. Rates and Reporting of Rates

Every workers’ compensation self-insurance fund shall
adhere to a uniform classification system, uniform experience
rating plan, and manual rules approved by the commissioner.
An experience modification shall be determined for each
member of a self-insurance fund annually, or as otherwise
provided, on the same basis as if the employer were insured
under rules approved by the Louisiana Insurance Rating
Commission for admitted carriers and such modification is to be
used to determine the employer's standard premium as provided
by such rules and the indemnity agreement. Should a member
cease to participate in a self-insurance fund and purchase
standard insurance coverage, self-insured experience may be
used in the employer’s future experience rating calculation.
§9. Authorized Investments for Group Self-Insurance
Funds

Amounts not needed for current obligations may be
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invested by the board of trustees in deposits in federally insured
banks or savings and loan associations or in direct obligations
of the United States government or direct obligations of the state
of Louisiana.

§10.  Premium Audit

All self-insurance funds shall determine the normal
premium due from each member in each policy year based on
actual audited payroll. Audits shall consist of physical on-site
audits or mail self-audits. The requirements set forth herein
shall apply to the fund and its present or former members.
Funds shall be responsible for compliance with this Section by
contracted audit personnel or firms.

§11. Board of Trustees

A. Except upon approval of the commissioner, the fund’s
administrator, service company, or any owner, officer, employee
of, or any other person affiliated with, such administrator or
service company shall not serve on the board of trustees of the
fund.

B. All trustees shall be residents of this state or officers
of corporations authorized to do business in this state.

C. The board of trustees of each group shall ensure that
all claims are paid promptly and take all necessary precautions
to safeguard the assets of the group, including all of the
following:

(1) maintain responsibility for all monies collected or
disbursed from the group and segregate all monies into a claims
fund account and an administrative fund account. At least 70
percent of the premium as determined by the commissioner
shall be designated for the sole purpose of paying claims,
allocated claims expenses, and special fund contributions,
including second injury and other loss related funds. This shall
be called the claims fund account. The remaining net premium
shall be designated for the payment of taxes, general regulatory
fees, assessments, and administrative costs. This shall be
called the administrative fund account. The commissioner may
approve an administrative fund account of more than 30 percent
and a claims fund account of less than 70 percent only if the
group shows to the commissioner's satisfaction that (a) more
than 30 percent is needed for an effective safety and loss
control program or (b) the group’s aggregate excess insurance
attaches at less than 70 percent;

(2) maintain minutes of its meetings;

(3) designate an administrator to carry out the policies
established by the board of trustees and to provide day-to-day
management of the group, and delineate in the written minutes
of its meetings the areas of authority it delegates to the
administrator;

(4) retain an independent certified public accountant to
prepare the statement of financial condition required by
Subsections A and B of §5 hereof;

(5) the trustees shall cause to be adopted a set of by-
laws or shall enter into a trust agreement which shall govern the
operation of the fund.

D. The board of trustees shall not:

(1) extend credit to individual members for payment of a
premium, except pursuant to payment plans gpproved by the commissioner;

(2) borrow any monies from the group or in the name of
the group, except in the ordinary course of business, without first
obtaining prior approval from the commissioner.

§12. Group Membership; Termination, Liability

A. An employer joining a group after the group has been
issued a certificate of approval shall: (a) submit an application
for membership to the board of trustees or its administrator and
(b) enter into the indemnity agreement required by Subsection
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C(1) of §3 hereof. Membership shall take effect no earlier than
each member's date of approval. The application for
membership and its approval shall be maintained as permanent
records of the board of trustees.

B. Individual members of a group shall be subject to
cancellation by the group’s cancellation policy. In addition,
individual members may elect to terminate their participation in
the group.

C. The group shall pay all workers’ compensation benefits
for which each member incurs liability during its period of
membership. A member who elects to terminate its membership
or is canceled by a group remains liable jointly and in solido for
claims of the group and its members which were incurred during
the canceled or terminated member's period of membership.

D. A group member is not relieved of its workers’
compensation liabilities incurred during its period of membership
except through payment by the group or the member of required
workers’ compensation benefits.

E. The insolvency or bankruptcy of a member does not
relieve the group or any other member of liability for the
payment of any worker’s compensation benefits incurred during
the insolvent or bankrupt member’s period of membership.
§13. Service Companies

A. All service companies must file a request for approval
by the commissioner and have a letter or certificate of approval
from the commissioner prior to engaging in any service to a
fund. The commissioner may request any information deemed
necessary to establish the ability and financial strength of the
service company to perform the required functions.

B. Except upon approval of the commissioner: (1) no
service company or its employees, officers or directors shall be
an employee, officer, or director of, or have either a direct or
indirect financial interest in, an administrator, and (2) no
administrator or its employees, officers or directors shall be an
employee, officer or director of, or have either a direct or indirect
financial interest in, a service company.

C. The service contract shall state that, unless the
commissioner approves otherwise, the service company shall
handle, to their conclusion, all claims and other obligations
incurred during the contract period.

§14. Licensing of Agents

Any person soliciting membership for a fund must be
licensed by the commissioner as a property and casualty agent;
provided, however, that employees of a bona fide trade or
professional association which has established a fund shall not
be required to be so licensed if such solicitation is not the
primary duty of such employees.

§15. Deficits and Insolvencies

A. Should the commissioner find a fund in danger of
becoming insolvent, the fund shall make up any deficiency owed
or shall submit a plan for elimination of the deficit to the
commissioner in order that he may determine whether or not an
assessment upon its members for the amount needed to make
up the deficiency is required.

B. In the event of a deficiency in any fund year, such
deficiency shall be made up immediately, either from (a) surplus
from a fund year other than the current fund year, (b)
administrative funds, (c) assessment of the membership, if
ordered by the fund, or (d) such alternative method as the
commissioner may approve or direct. The commissioner shall
be notified prior to any transfer of surplus funds from one fund
year to another.

C. Ifthe fund fails to assess its members, otherwise make
up such deficit, or submit a plan, as specified in Subsection A

above, within 60 days of notice by the commissioner, the
commissioner shall order assessment of the members of the
fund.

D. If the fund fails to make the required assessment of its
members within 30 days after the commissioner orders it to do
so, or if the deficiency is not fully made up within 90 days after
the date that such assessment is made, or within such longer
period of time as may be specified by the commissioner, the
fund shall be deemed to be insolvent.

E. For purposes of these provisions, a fund is insolvent
if the fund is unable to pay its outstanding lawful obligations as
they mature in the regular course of business.

F. Inthe event of liquidation of a fund, the commissioner
shall levy an assessment upon its members for such amounts
as the commissioner determines to be necessary to discharge
all liabilities of the fund, including the reasonable costs of
liquidation.

§16. Review of Rate Determination

Funds shall provide reasonable means whereby any
member aggrieved by the application of the fund’s rating system
may, in writing, request a review of the manner in which such
rating system has been applied in connection with the coverage
afforded. The fund shall have 30 days from receipt to grant or
deny the request, in writing. If the fund rejects such request or
fails to grant or reject such request within such 30-day period,
the member may, within 30 days following the expiration of such
30-day period, appeal to the commissioner, who, after a hearing
held upon not less than 10 days’ written notice to the member
and to the fund, may affirm or reverse such action.

§17. Cease and Desist Orders

A. After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the
commissioner may issue an order requiring a person or group
to cease and desist from engaging in an act or practice found to
be in violation of any provision of this regulation.

B.  Upon finding, after notice and opportunity for a
hearing, that any person or group has violated any cease and
desist order, the commissioner may revoke the group’s
certificate of authority.

§18. Revocation of Certificate of Authority

After notice and opportunity for a hearing, the
commissioner may revoke a group’s certificate of authority if:

(1) the group is found to be insolvent,

(2) the group fails to pay any premium tax, regulatory fee
or assessment, or special fund contribution imposed upon it,

(3) the group fails to comply with any of the provisions of
this regulation, or with any lawful order of the commissioner
within the time prescribed,

(4) the certificate of authority issued to the group was
obtained by fraud,

(5) there was a material misrepresentation in the
application for the certificate of authority, or

(6) the group or its administrator has misappropriated,
converted, illegally withheld, or refused to pay over upon proper
demand any monies held in a fiduciary capacity that belong to
a member, an employee of a member, or another person.
§19. Examinations :

The commissioner may examine the affairs, transactions,
accounts, records, assets and liabilities of a fund as often as the
commissioner deems advisable. The expenses of such
examinations shall be paid by the fund being examined.

A public hearing on this proposed regulation will be held
on_October 27, 1992 in the Plaza Hearing Room of the
Insurance Building, located at 950 North Fifth Street, Baton
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Rouge, LA at 10 a.m. All interested persons will be afforded an
opportunity to make comments.

Interested persons may obtain a copy of this proposed
regulation from, and may submit oral or written comments to
Barry W. Karns, Deputy General Counsel, Department of
Insurance, Box 94214, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9214,
telephone (504) 342-5900. Comments will be accepted through
the close of business at 4:30 p.m., October 27, 1992.

James H. "Jim" Brown
Commissioner

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Group Self-Insurance Funds

I ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)

TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
It is estimated that there will be no implementation costs

to state or local governmental units.

1. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS

OF STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is estimated that there will be no effect on revenue
collections of the state or local governmental units.

. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There could be some additional costs to workers
compensation group self-insurance funds because of additional
reporting requirements, but it is estimated that these additional
costs, if any, will be minimal.

Iv. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary) .

It is estimated that there will be no effect on competition

and employment.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Brenda St. Romain
Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Insurance
Commissioner of Insurance

Regulation 44

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 22:644 of the
Insurance Code, which mandates adoption of this regulation,
and R.S. 49:950 et seq. of the Administrative Procedure Act,
the Commissioner of Insurance gives notice of his intent to
adopt Regulation 44. This regulation regulates accelerated
benefit provisions in life insurance policies. It also establishes
required standards for disclosure of information to purchasers
of life insurance policies with accelerated benefit provisions.
This regulation applies to both individual and group life
insurance policies issued or delivered in this state.

Proposed Regulation 44 regulates life insurance policies
which contain accelerated benefits provisions. It sets forth
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the definitions for key terms contained in such policies. It
establishes required standards for disclosure of information to
purchasers of such policies, regulates the payment of benefits
to assignees and beneficiaries and waivers of premiums. It
prohibits discrimination based upon "qualifying events". It
also establishes actuarial standards and actuarial disclosure
and reserve requirements to be followed by insurers which
market such policies.
Regulation 44
Accelerated Benefits

§1. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to regulate accelerated
benefit provisions of individual and group life insurance
policies and to provide required standards of disclosure. This
regulation shall apply to all accelerated benefits provisions of
individual and group life insurance policies except those
subject to the Long-Term Care Insurance Model Act, issued
or delivered in this state, on or after the effective date of this
regulation.

§2. Definitions

A. Accelerated benefits covered under this regulation—
benefits payable under a life insurance contract:

(1) to a policyowner or certificateholder, during the
lifetime of the insured, in anticipation of death or upon the
occurrence of specified life-threatening or catastrophic
conditions as defined by the policy or rider; and

(2) which reduce the death benefit otherwise payable
under the life insurance contract; and

(3) which are payable upon the occurrence of a single
qualifying event which results in the payment of a benefit
amount fixed at the time of acceleration.

B. Qualifying event—includes one or more of the
following:

(1) a medical condition which would result in a
drastically limited life span as specified in the contract, for
example, 24 months or less; or

(2) a medical condition which has required or requires
extraordinary medical intervention, such as, but not limited
to, major organ transplant or continuous artificial life support,
without which the insured would die; or

(3) any condition which usually requires continuous
confinement in an eligible institution as defined in the
contract if the insured is expected to remain there for the rest
of his or her life; or

(4) a medical condition which would, in the absence of
extensive or extraordinary medical treatment, result in a
drastically limited life span. Such conditions may include, but
are not limited to, one or more of he following:

(a) coronary artery disease resulting in an acute
infarction or requiring surgery;

(b). permanent neurological
cerebral vascular accident;

(c) end stage renal failure; :

(d) acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome; or

(e) other medical conditions which the commissioner
shall approve for any particular filing; or

(5) other qualifying events which the commissioner
shall approve for any particular filing.

§3. Type of Product

Accelerated benefit riders and life insurance policies
with accelerated benefit provisions are primarily mortality
risks rather than morbidity risks. They are life insurance
benefits subject to 22:161-181; 22:191-197; and the
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applicable portions of Part XIV (22:611-672).
§4. Assignee/Beneficiary .

Prior to the payment of the accelerated benefit, the
insurer is required to obtain from any assignee or irrevocable
beneficiary a signed acknowledgement of concurrence for
payout. If the insurer making the accelerated benefit is itself
the assignee under the policy, no such acknowledgement is
required. \

§5. Criteria for Payment

A. Lump Sum Settlement Option Required. Contract
payment options shall include the option to take the benefit
as a lump sum. The benefit shall not be made available as an
annuity contingent upon the life of the insured.

B. Restrictions on Use of Proceeds. No restrictions are
permitted on the use of the proceeds.

C. Accidental Death Benefit Provision. If any death
benefit remains after payment of an accelerated benefit, the
accidental death benefit provision, if any, in the policy or rider
shall not be affected by the payment of the accelerated
benefit.

§6. Disclosures

A. Descriptive Title. The terminology accelerated
benefit shall be included in the descriptive title. Products
regulated under this regulation shall not be described or
marketed as long-term care insurance or as providing
long-term care benefits. ,

B. Tax Consequences. A disclosure statement is
required at the time of application for the policy or rider and
at the time the accelerated benefit payment. request is
submitted that receipt of these accelerated benefits may be
taxable and that assistance should be sought from a personal
tax advisor. The disclosure statement shall be prominently
displayed on the first page of the policy or rider and any other
related documents.

C. Solicitations

(1) A written disclosure including, but not necessarily
limited to, a brief description of the accelerated benefit and
definitions of the conditions or occurrences triggering
payment of the benefits shall be given to the applicant. The
description shall include an explanation of any effect of the
payment of a benefit on the policy’s cash value, accumulation
account, death benefit,premium, policy loans and policy liens.

{a) In the case of agent solicited insurance, the agent
shall provide the disclosure form to the applicant prior to or
concurrently with the application.. Acknowledgment of the
disclosure shall be signed by the applicant and writing agent.

(b) In the case of a solicitation by direct response
methods, the insurer shall provide disclosure form to the
applicant at the time the policy is delivered, with a notice that
a full premium refund shall be received if policy is returned to
the company within the free look period.

() In the case of group insurance policies, the
disclosure form shall be contained as part of the certificate of
coverage or any related document furnished by the insurer for
the certificateholder.

(2) If there is a premium or cost of insurance charge,
the insurer shall give the applicant a generic illustration
numerically demonstrating any effect of the payment of a
benefit on the policy’s cash value, accumulation account,
death benefit, premium, policy loans and policy liens.

(a) In the case of agent solicited insurance, the agent
shall provide the illustration to the applicant prior to or
concurrently with the application.
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(b) In the case of a solicitation by direct response
methods, the insurer shall provide the illustration to the
applicant at the time the policy is delivered.

() In the case of group insurance policies, the
disclosure form shall be contained as part of the certificate of
coverage or any related document furnished by the insurer for
the certificateholder.

(3) Disclosure of Premium Charge

(a) Insurers with financing options other than as
described in Section 10 A(2) and (3) of this regulation shall
disclose to the policyowner any premium or cost of insurance
charge for the accelerated benefit. These insurers shall make
a reasonable effort to assure that the certificateholder is
aware of any additional premium or cost of insurance charge
if the certificateholder is required to pay such charge.

(b) Insurers shall furnish an actuarial demonstration to
the state insurance department when filing the product
disclosing the method of arriving at their cost for the
accelerated benefit.

(4) Disclosure of Administrative Expense Charge. The
insurer shall disclose to the policyowner any administrative
expense charge. The insurer shall make a reasonable effort to
assure that the certificateholder is aware of any
administrative expense charge if the certificateholder is
required to pay such charge.

D. Effect of the Benefit Payment. When a policyowner
or certificateholder requests an acceleration, the insurer shall
send a statement to the policyowner or certificateholder and
irrevocable beneficiary showing any effect that the payment
of the accelerated benefit will have on the policy’s cash
value, accumulation account, death benefit, premium, policy
loans and policy liens. The statement shall disclose that
receipt of accelerated benefit payments may adversely affect
the recipient’s eligibility for Medicaid or other government
benefits or entitiements. In addition, receipt of an accelerated
benefit payment may be taxable and assistance should be
sought from a personal tax advisor. When a previous
disclosure statement becomes invalid as a result of an
acceleration of the death benefit, the insurer shall send a
revised disclosure statement to the policyowner or
certificateholder and irrevocable beneficiary. When the insurer
agrees to accelerate death benefits, the insurer shall issue an
amended schedule page to the policyholder or notify the
certificateholder under a group policy to reflect any new,
reduced in-force face amount of the contract.

§7. Effective Date of the Accelerated Benefits

The accelerated benefit provision shall be effective for
accidents on the effective date of the policy or rider. The
accelerated benefit provision shall be effective for illness no
more than 30 days following the effective date of the policy
or rider. .
§8. Waiver of Premiums

The insurer may offer a waiver of premium for the
accelerated benefit provision in the absence of a regular
waiver of premium provision being in effect. At the time the
benefit is claimed, the insurer shall explain any continuing
premium requirement to keep the policy in force.

§9. Discrimination

Insurers shall not unfairly discriminate among insureds
with differing qualifying events covered under the policy or
among insureds with similar qualifying events covered under
the policy. Insurers shall not apply further conditions on the
payment of the accelerated benefits other than those
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conditions specified in the policy or rider.
§10. Actuarial Standards

A. Financing Options

(1) The insurer may require a premium charge or cost
of insurance charge for the accelerated benefit. These
charges shall be based on sound actuarial principles. In the
case of group insurance, the additional cost may also be
reflected in the experience rating.

(2) The insurer may pay a present value of the face
amount. The calculation shall be based on any applicable
actuarial discount appropriate to the policy design. The
interest rate or interest rate methodology used in the
calculation shall be based on sound actuarial principles and
disclosed in the contract or actuarial memorandum. The
maximum interest raté used shall be no greater than the
greater of:

(a) the current yield on 90 day treasury bills; or

(b) the current maximum statutory adjustable policy
loan interest rate.

(3) The insurer may accrue an interest charge on the
amount of the accelerated benefits. The interest rate or
interest rate methodology used in the calculation shall be
based on sound actuarial principles and disclosed in the
contract or actuarial memorandum. The maximum interest
rate used shall be no greater than the greater of:

(a) the current yield on 90 day treasury bills; or

(b) the current maximum statutory adjustable policy
loan interest rate. The interest rate accrued on the portion of
the lien which is equal in amount to the cash value of the
contract at the time of the benefit acceleration shall be no
more than the policy loan interest rate stated in the contract.

B. Effect on Cash Value

(1) Except as provided in Section 10B(2), when an
accelerated benefit is payable, there shall be no more than a
pro rata reduction in the cash value based on the percentage
of death benefits accelerated to produce the accelerated
benefit payment.

(2) Alternatively, the payment of accelerated benefits,
any administrative expense charges, any future premiums and
any accrued interest can be considered a lien against the
death benefit of the policy or rider and the access to the cash
value may be restricted to any excess of the cash value over
the sum of any other outstanding loans and the lien. Future
access to additional policy loans could also be limited to any
excess of the cash value over the sum of the lien and any
other outstanding policy loans.

C. Effect of Any Outstanding Policy Loans on
Accelerated Death Benefit Payment. When payment of an
accelerated benefit results in & pro rata reduction in the cash
value, the payment may not be applied toward repaying an
amount greater than a pro rata portion of any outstanding
policy loans.

§11. Actuarial Disclosure and Reserves

A. Actuarial Memorandum. A qualified actuary should
describe the accelerated benefits, the risks, the expected
costs and the calculation of statutory reserves in an actuarial
memorandum accompanying each state filing. The insurer
shall maintain in its files descriptions of the bases and
procedures used to calculate benefits payable under these
provisions. These descriptions shall be made available for
examination by the commissioner upon request.

B. Reserves

(1) When benefits are provided through the
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acceleration of benefits under group or individual life policies
or riders to such policies, policy reserves shall be determined
in accordance with the Standard Valuation Law. All valuation
assumptions used in constructing the reserves shall be
determined as appropriate for statutory valuation purposes by
a member in good standing of the American Academy of
Actuaries. Mortality tables and interest currently recognized
for life insurance reserves by the NAIC may be used as well
as appropriate assumptions for the other provisions
incorporated in the policy form. The actuary must follow both
actuarial standards and certification for good and sufficient
reserves. Reserves in the aggregate should be sufficient to
cover:

(a) policies upon which no claim has yet arisen;

(b) policies upon which an accelerated claim has arisen.

(2) For policies and certificates which provide
actuarially equivalent benefits, no additional reserves need to
be established.

(3) Policy liens and policy loans, including accrued
interest, represent assets of the company for statutory
reporting purposes. For any policy on which the policy lien
exceeds the policy’s statutory reserve liability such excess
must be held as a non-admitted asset.

§12. Filing Requirement

The filing and prior approval of forms containing an
accelerated benefit is required.

The proposed regulation is scheduled to become
effective December 20, 1992. Interested parties may submit
written comments on the proposed regulation until 4:30 p.m.,
October 16, 1992 to: C. Noel Wertz, Senior Attorney, Box
94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214.

James H. "Jim" Brown
Commissioner

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Regulation 44

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE ORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the Department of
Insurance will incur any costs or savings as a result of
implementing this regulation. The regulation does not
impose any new duties on the department that would
require funding for additional personnel.

Il. "ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE ORLOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Adoption of this regulation will not have any
effect on revenue collections by the state or local
governmental units. There are no fees, fines or other
revenue generating activities imposed.

Il.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that this regulation will
impose any additional costs on those companies which
market insurance policies that contain accelerated
benefits provisions.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that there will be any effect
on either competition or employment resulting from the
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adoption of this regulation.

Johnh R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Brenda St. Romain
Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Insurance
Commissioner of Insurance

Regulation 40

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S.49:950 et seq. and R.S.
22:3 and R.S.22:1395.18(B)(C)(D), the commissioner of
insurance gives notice of his intent to amend Regulation 40.
The amendments to the regulation establish the form and
content for the LLHIGA Summary Document, which includes the
Disclaimer as originally promulgated, and the Notice of
Noncoverage. These documents are to be delivered to
insurance consumers as provided for in R.S. 22:1395.18(B) and
(D). .

Proposed Regulation 40, as amended, sets forth the form
and content of the Summary Document, including the
Disclaimer, which is to be delivered to purchasers of life and
health policies. It also sets forth the form and content of a Notice
of Noncoverage which is to be delivered to purchasers of certain
types of policies or contracts as set forth in R.S. 22:1395.18(D).

The regulation begins with a statement of authority for its
issuance, its purpose and scope. It then prescribes in detail the
form and content of the above documents.

Proposed Regulation 40

LLHIGA Act Summary Document and Disclaimer

and Notice of Noncoverage
§1. Authority

This regulation is promulgated under the authority of Title
22:3 and 22:1395.18(B)(C)(D) of the Insurance Code of
Louisiana and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.49:950 et
seq.

§2. Purpose ‘

The purpose of this regulation is to implement Act 998 of
the 1991 Regular Legislative Session, entitled Louisiana Life and
Health Insurance Guaranty Association (LLHIGA) as set forth in
R.S. 22:1395.1, et seq., which is designed to protect covered
persons against the risk of insurer insolvencies under certain life
and health insurance policies.

The purpose of the documents is to give notice to the
insurance-buying consumer that the LLHIGA Act includes
restrictions as to coverage, and in some instances excludes
coverage for certain types of policies or contracts, and includes
substantial limitations as to the amounts which may be
reimbursed in the event of the insolvency of the insurer.

§3. Applicability and Scope

This regulation applies to the Louisiana Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Association (LLHIGA) and its member
insurers as defined by R.S.22:1395.3.

Exhibit A, which follows hereto and is made a part hereof,
sets forth the form and content of the Summary Document, as
approved by the commissioner of Insurance on August 10, 1992,
summarizes the coverage provided by the Act, and includes a
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Disclaimer statement which is to be conspicuously placed on the
front of the Summary Document. Pursuant to R.S.22:1395.18B
the Summary Document with the Disclaimer is to be delivered
with each life or health insurance policy, as described in
R.S.1395.3(B)(1), issued or delivered in Louisiana.

Exhibit B, which follows hereto and is made apart hereof,
sets forth the Notice of Noncoverage required by R.S.
22:1395.18(D). It is required to be delivered with each policy or

contract referred to in R.S. 22:1395.3(B)(1) and excluded from
coverage under R.S. 22:1395.3(B)(2)(a).

§4. Form and Content

The Summary Document and Disclaimer shall be in a form
which complies with Exhibit A which follows hereto and forming
a part of this regulation.

The Notice of Noncoverage shall be in a form which
complies with Exhibit B which follows hereto and forming a part
of this regulation.

Exhibit A. Summary of the Louisiana Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Association Act and Notice
Concerning Coverage Limitations and Exclusions

Residents of Louisiana who purchase life insurance,
annuities or health insurance should know that the insurance
companies licensed in this state to write these types of
insurance are members of the Louisiana Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Association. The purpose of this Association
is to assure that policyholders will be protected, within limits, in
the unlikely event that a member insurer becomes financially
unable to meet its obligations. If this should happen, the
Guaranty Association will assess its other member insurance
companies for the money to pay the claims of insured persons
who live in this state and, in some cases, to keep coverage in
force. However, the valuable extra protection provided by these
insurers through the Guaranty Association is limited. As noted
in the Disclaimer below, this protection is not a substitute for
consumers’ care in selecting companies that are well-managed
and financially stable.

Disclaimer

The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty
Association provides coverage of claims under some types of
policies if the insurer becomes impaired or insolvent. COVERAGE
MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR YOUR PoLiCY. Even if coverage is
provided, there are significant limits and exclusions. Coverage
is always conditioned upon residence in this state. Other
conditions may also preclude coverage. '

Insurance companies and insurance agents are prohibited
by law from using the existence of the association or its
coverage to sell you an insurance policy.

You should not rely on the availability of coverage under
the Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
when selecting an insurer.

The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty
Association or the Department of Insurance will respond to any
questions you may have which are not answered by this
document.

LLHIGA Department of Insurance
PO Drawer 44126 PO Box 94212
Baton Rouge, LA 70804 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214

The state law that provides for this safety-net coverage is
called the Louisiana Life and- Health Insurance Guaranty
Association Act. The following is a brief summary of this law’s
coverages, exclusions and limits. This summary does not cover
all provisions of the law; nor does it in any way change any
person’s rights or obligations under the Act or the rights or
obligations of the Guaranty Association.
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Coverage

Generally, individuals will be protected by the Life and
Health Insurance Guaranty Association if they live in this state
and hold a life or health insurance contract, or an annuity, or if
they are insured under a group insurance contract, issued by an
insurer authorized to conduct business .in Louisiana. The
beneficiaries, payees or assignees of insured persons are
protected as well even if they live in another state.
Exclusions from Coverage

However, persons holding such poI|C|es are not protected
by this association, if:

(1) they are eligible for protection under the laws of
another state (this may occur when the insolvent insurer was
incorporated in another state whose Guaranty Association
protects insureds who live outside that state);

(2) the insurer was not authorized to do business in this
state;

(3) their policy was issued by a nonprofit hospital or
medical service organization (the "Blues"), an HMO, a fraternal
benefit society, a mandatory state pooling plan, a mutual
assessment company or similar plan in which the policyholder
is subject to future assessments, or by an insurance exchange.

The association also does not provide coverage for:

(1) any policy or portion of a policy which is not
guaranteed by the insurer or for which the individual has
assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by
prospectus;

(2) any policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption
certificate was issued);

(3) interest rate yields that exceed an average rate;

(4) dividends;

(5) credits given in connection with the administration of
a policy by a group contract holder;

(6) employers’ plans to the extent they are self-funded
(that is, not insured by an insurance company, even if an
insurance company administers them);

(7) unallocated annuity contracts (which give rights to
group contract holders, not individuals), unless qualified under
Section 403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that, even
if qualified under Section 403(b), unallocated annuities issued to
employee benefit plans protected by the Federal Pension Benefit
Guaranty Corporation are not covered.

Limits on Amounts of Coverage

The act also limits the amount the association is obligated
to pay out: The association cannot pay more than what the
insurance company would owe under a policy or contract. Also,
for any one insured life, the association will pay a maximum of
$300,000 no matter how many policies and contracts there were
with the same company, even if they provided different types of
coverage. Within this overall $300,000 limit, the Association will
not pay more than $100,000 in cash surrender values, $100,000
in health insurance benefits, $100,000 in present value of
annuities, or $300,000 in life insurance death benefits - again,
no mater how many policies and contracts there were with the
same company, and no matter how many different types of
coverages.

Exhibit B. Notice of Noncoverage

The Louisiana Life and Health Insurance Guaranty
Association (LLHIGA) provides coverage of claims under some
types of policies if the insurer becomes impaired or insolvent.

THE POLICY OR CONTRACT YOU ARE PURCHASING
IS NOT COVERED BY THE LOUISIANA LIFE AND
HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION,
Coverage is specifically excluded by law for the type of
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policy or contract you are purchasing.

The proposed amendments to Regulation 40 are
scheduled to become effective December 20, 1992. Interested
parties may submit written comments on the proposed regulation
until 4:30 p.m., October 16, 1992 to: C. Noel Wertz, Senior
Attorney, Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214.

James H. "Jim" Brown
Commissioner

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Regulation 40

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Itis not anticipated that the Department of Insurance
will incur any costs or savings as a result of implementing
this regulation. The regulation does not impose any new
duties on the department with the exception of reviewing
requests for premium rate increases. The department has
adequate personnel available to handle this responsibility.

I.  ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Adoption of this regulation will not have any effect
on revenue collections by the state or local governmental
units. There are no fees, fines or ther revenue generating
activities imposed.

ll.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that this regulation will impose
any additional costs on those companies which market
medicare supplement insurance policies in Louisiana.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that there will be any effect on
either competition or employment resulting from the
adoption of this regulation.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Brenda St. Romain
Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Revenue and Taxation
Sales Tax Division

Pollution Control Devices-Sales Tax Relief (LAC 61:1.4302)

The Department of Revenue and Taxation advertises its
intent to adopt a rule to be cited as LAC 61:1.4302. The
proposed rule, promulgated pursuant to Act 1019 of the 1991
Legislative Session of the Legislature, sets forth the qualification
criteria and application procedures for the state sales tax relief
provided under R.S. 47:301(10)(1), which excludes pollution
control devices and systems from the definition of "sale at retail.”

This notice of intent replaces a previous notice of intent
published on pages 532-534 of the May, 1992 Louisiana
Register.
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Title 61
Revenue and Taxation
Part I. Taxes Collected and Administered by the
Secretary of Revenue and Taxation
Chapter 43. Sales and Use Tax
§4302. Pollution Control Devices and Systems Excluded
from the Definition of "Sale and Retail"

A. This Section describes the conditions under which
certain sale or lease transactions involving tangible personal
property used for pollution control purposes may be excluded
from the definition of "sale at retail" for purposes of the three
percent tax levied by this Chapter and the Louisiana Tourism
Promotion District. It contains the qualifications which must be
met by the property under consideration, the requirements which
are imposed upon the applicant for the tax relief granted under
this act, and the procedures to be followed in applying for the
relief. :
B. Definitions. For purposes of this Section, the following
terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein:

1. Pollution Control Device or System — any one or more
pieces of tangible personal property which is intended and
installed for the purpose of eliminating, preventing, treating, or
reducing the volume or toxicity or potential hazards of industrial
pollution of air, water, groundwater, noise, solid waste, or
hazardous waste in the state of Louisiana and which has been
approved by the Department of Environmental Quality and the
Department of Revenue and Taxation for the tax relief granted
by this act.

2. Pollution— the environment of the state by any means
that would tend to degrade the chemical, physical, biological, or
radiological integrity of such environment. Pollution includes
solid waste, hazardous waste, sludge, chemical waste,
radiological wastes, noise, and any other pollutants resulting
from industrial emissions, discharges, or releases into air,
water, or land. :

3. Act or This Act — Act 1019 of the 1991 Regular
Session of the Louisiana Legislature.

4. Industrial Application — the use, construction, or
installation of a pollution control device or system by a business
which is primarily engaged in the exploration for or mining of
minerals, the manufacture or processing of raw materials into
tangible personal property for resale, or the processing,
treatment, disposition, control or containment, of polluting
materials produced by another business.

C. Qualifications. To qualify for the tax relief provided
under this Act, a pollution control device or system must comply
with the following requirements:

1. It must demonstrate to the Department ot
Environmental Quality its efficacy to a particular process or
application. The equipment must be approved by both the
Department of Environmental Quality and the Department of
Revenue and Taxation in order to be excluded from the
definition of "sale at retail” for state sales and use tax purposes.

2. It (or the applicant) must demonstrate either:

a. a net decrease in the volume or toxicity or potential
hazards of pollution as a result of the installation of the device
or system; or,

b. that installation is necessary to comply with federal or
state environmental laws or regulations.

3. It must be intended for use in an industrial application.
Use in residential, commercial, recreational, or other
applications do not qualify.

D. Restrictions. This exclusion and the tax relief provided
under this Act does not apply to:
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1. modifications to processes carried out primarily for
reasons other than the reduction of pollution;

2. installation or replacement of existing process units
carried out primarily for reasons other than the reduction of
pollution;

3. vehicles used to assist in operations.

E. Application and Documentation

1. Applicants seeking relief under this Act must submit an
application to the Department of Revenue and Taxation for a
certification of the pollution control device or system.

2. The respective departments may require the applicant
to provide cost estimates, engineering drawings, equipment
specification sheets, and any other documentation necessary to
establish the identity and value of the property qualifying for the
exclusion. The documentation must be sufficient to enable the
Department of Environmental Quality to establish the efficacy of
the pollution control device or system, and to allow the
Department of Revenue and Taxation to ascertain the allowable
tax relief. '

3. After receiving certification from the Department of
Environmental Quality, a certificate of tax exclusion and/or
refund of taxes paid on approved pollution control equipment will
be issued by the Department of Revenue and Taxation.
Applicants must assemble and consolidate all invoices on
purchases made by themselves and their subcontractors.
Refunds will not be issued to subcontractors.

a. Owners and/or operators of qualifying pollution control
devices or systems may apply for cettification and refund of
taxes paid on or after September 6, 1991, and prior to the date
of certification.

b. In order for a pollution control device or system to
qualify as tax free at the time of purchase, applicants must have
received a certification of approval from the Department of
Environmental Quality and the Department of Revenue and
Taxation prior to the purchase or lease of the equipment. The
applicant, or contractors who are duly authorized to act as an
agent of the applicant, may present an approved certification in
lieu of the tax at the time of purchase. )

c. If the application for the tax exemption on the pollution
control device or system cannot be processed and approved
before purchases are made or property is imported into the state
for the project, the state sales or use tax shall be paid at the
time of purchase or importation. Tax refunds will be issued
upon approval of the project and the filing of proper claims.
Applicants filing for refunds will have purchased and installed, or
intend to install, the pollution control device or system.

4. The owner and/or operator must report the final cost of

the poliution control devices or systems to the Department of
Revenue and Taxation. Audits and inspections may be
performed by the respective departments to ascertain the
efficacy of the equipment. The tax refund will be forfeited if the
poliution  control device or system does not meet the
requirements of this act.

5. Approval of the equipment for a sales tax refund does
not relieve the applicant from obtaining any other permits
otherwise required for the pollution control device or system,
including permits to install or construct prior to start of
construction. T

6. Each application for tax relief must be signed by an
officer, principal, or other person authorized to act in the behalf
of the applicant, and must be accompanied by a certification
affidavit executed by the owner and/or operator and a
certification affidavit executed by a professional engineer. Both
certification affidavits will be prepared on the application form
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supplied by the Department of Revenue and Taxation.

F. Confidentiality

Applications and all documentation and cost information
which are submitted to the Department of Revenue and Taxation
under this Act are considered confidential taxpayer information
under the provisions of R.S. 47:1508. Information which
pertains to poliution control devices or systems costs will be
maintained only at the office of the Department of Revenue and
Taxation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 47:301(10)(l).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Division, LR 18:

Interested persons-may submit their written comments on
the proposed rule to Raymond E. Tangney, Director, Sales Tax
Division, Department of Revenue and Taxation, Box 3863, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821.

A public hearing for the purpose of hearing objections to
and comments on this proposed rule will be held on October 21,
1992, at 9 a.m., in the second floor conference room of the
Department of Revenue and Taxation building, 330 N.
Ardenwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA.

Ralph Slaughter, CPA
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Pollution Control Devices and Systems

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)
TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Department of Environmental Quality Costs: It is estimated
that two engineers, one environmental quality specialist and a
secretary will be required to handle the paperwork associated
with this program. The first year personnel cost, including
overhead, is estimated to be $84,064 (assuming personnel are
in place for only six months), the second year cost is $158,897
and the third year cost is $164,802. The second and third year
figures are for a full year. These figures assume a narrow
interpretation of "industrial” and "pollution control device or
system.” If these items are interpreted broadly the
implementation costs could be much higher. These costs will be
borne by state government.

Department of Revenue and Taxation Costs: It is
estimated that one additional revenue accounts auditor will be
required to process the certifications and refund claims

submitted by taxpayers. The cost for the current fiscal year is
$13,520, and the cost for each of the next two fiscal years is
$28,057 and $29,117 respectively.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS
OF STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are several ways to estimate the effect on state
government revenues with each method producing a different
result. The original methodology using Census of Manufacturers
Census of Mineral Industries data projected an annual cost of
$2.7 million. The methodology used here projects an annual -
revenue loss to state government of $6 million when considering
only emissions reduction projects associated with the
Environmental Scorecard and emissions reductions plans
submitted as a result of the DEQ corporate challenge. However,
if this analysis is expanded to include the mining sector (oil and
gas) and the potential impact of just one proposed regulation is
included (restricting produced waters discharges), additional
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costs could escalate program costs by as much as $9 million to
a new annual cost of $15 million (assuming all capital
expenditures related to the produced waters regulations
occurred in one year).

However, it must be noted that because at this time there
is no precise definition for "industrial " or "pollution control device
or system" it is difficult to produce a precise estimate of the cost
to the General Fund of the state sales tax exemption. No matter
which methodology is used the final result will be only an
educated guess and the actual results could vary greatly from
the projected figure.

. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There will be a small cost to firms that purchase qualifying
devices or systems. This will be the cost to complete paperwork
required to be submitted to the Department of Environmental
Quality. The paperwork will document that the equipment
purchased actually meets the pollution reduction standards as
defined in these rules. The cost will be nominal for small
purchases. For large systems the cost is expected to be small
in relation to the tax benefit received.

All firms purchasing or importing qualifying equipment in
Louisiana will benefit in that they will be exempted from the
three percent state sales and use tax.

V. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There should be little effect on competition since the
exemption applies to any company that purchases industrial
pollution control equipment in Louisiana or imports such
equipment into the state.

There might be a slight stimulus to private sector
employment. However, the value of the exemption is only three
percent and some of the equipment to be purchased would have
been bought in any case since it was already required by other
environmental legislation such as the Clean Air Act.

Employment in the public sector will increase by a
minimum of five state government positions.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

Raymond E. Tangney
Director, Sales Tax Division

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Social Services
Office of the Secretary

The Department of Social Services, Office of the Sec-
retary proposes to adopt the following rule in the Child Care
Assistance Program effective December 20, 1992.

This proposed rule removes eligibility requirements for
the Title IV-A At-Risk Child Care program, which was not im-
plemented as originally planned, because of a lack of availa-
ble funds.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part 1. Office of the Secretary

Chapter 1. Child Care Assistance Program
_§101. Child Care and Development Block Grant — Eligibil-
ity Requirements
1. household income does not exceed 75 percent of
the state median income for a household of the same size.

* ok Kk
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6. the family requests child care services, provides the
information necessary for determining eligibility and fees,
and meets appropriate application requirements established
by the state.

§102. Child Care Providers

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
45 CFR Part 98, 99, 255 and 257.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 18:

Interested persons may submit written comments by
October 27, 1992 to the following address: William Ludwig,
Deputy Secretary, Department of Social Services, Box 3776,
Baton Rouge, LA 70821. He is the person responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed rule.

A public-hearing on the proposed rule will be held on
October 27, 1992 in the Second Floor Auditorium, 755 River-
side, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9:30 a.m. All interested
persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views
or arguments, orally or in writing, at said hearing.

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Child Care Assistance Program

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This rule will result in savings to the Department of
Social Services, as follows:

FY TOTAL  FEDERAL  STATE
92/93  ($7,825,982) ($5,903,921) ($ 1,922,061)
93/94 ($7,825,982) ($5.903,921) ($1,922,061)
94/95  ($7,825,982) ($5,903,921) ($ 1,922,061)

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Federal funding by the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services is estimated to be reduced, as follows:

$ 5,903,921 in FY 92/93

$ 5,903,921 in FY 93/94

$ 5,903,921 in FY 94/95
lll. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-

GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This action results in neither costs nor benefits. De-
partment of Social Services had previously published
plans to implement a Child Care Assistance Program,
funded by the Child Care and Development Block Grant
and the Title IV-A At-Risk Child Care program. When the
Child Care Assistance Program was implemented, funds
for the Title IV-A At-Risk program were unavailable, so
that portion of the program was not implemented.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
PLOYMENT (Summary)

Because the Department of Social Services did not
implement the Title IV-A At-Risk portion of the Child Care
Assistance Program, the amount of funds expended on
child care services will be less than originally estimated.
Demand for child care services by low income families
will be less than originally expected, with the result that
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competition and employment in the child care industry
will be less than it would have been if the $7,825,982 in
Title IV-A At-Risk funds had been spent.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

William Ludwig
Deputy Secretary

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Transportation and Development
Office of Engineering

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., notice is
hereby given that the Louisiana Department of Transportation
and Development intends to adopt the attached rule entitled
““Utility Relocation Assistance Funding’’, in accordance with
the provisions of R.S. 48:381.

Title 70
TRANSPORTATION
Part Ill. Highways/Engineering
Chapter 11. Utility Relocation Assistance Funding
§1101. Introduction

When a publicly owned, non-profit utility is not able to
bear its share of the cost for adjusting its facilities to accom-
modate a highway project, it may apply for funding under
R.S. 48:381(C), hereinafter referred to as Utility Relocation
Assistance Funding (URAF).

A. General Conditions

1. In order to qualify for URAF funds, a utility must be
owned by a governmental body such as a municipality or
parish, or be a non-profit utility.

2. In order to qualify for URAF funds, a utility must be
financially unable to bear its share of the adjustment ex-
pense.

3. URAF funding is neither a loan nor a grant and
there is no interest charged on this money. However, the util-
ity must repay this money eventually, or it will not be allowed
to located its facilities within highway right-of-way.

4. Highway adjustments are considered normal, fore-
seeable maintenance for utilities located on highway right-of-
way.

B. Procedure ,

1. The publicly owned or non-profit utility informs the
headquarters utility and permit engineer, in writing, that it is
not financially able to bear the cost of adjusting its facilities,
and formally requests URAF funding.

2. The headquarters utility and permit engineer re-
quests the Legislative Auditor to examine the utility’s records
to determine the utility’s eligibility for URAF funds.

3. The Legislative Auditor examines the utility’s re-
cords and informs the headquarters utility and permit engi-
neer of the utility’s eligibility for URAF funds.

4. If the utility is eligible for URAF funds, executed
agreements are converted to URAF agreements, and/or new
agreements are executed as necessary.

5. The Federal Highway Administration is advised
when URAF funds are approved for federal aid projects.

6. Issuance of permits to the utility is suspended, and
the utility is added to the URAF database. Note that the sus-
pension does not include most crossings.

7. The final amount of URAF funds used is added to
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the URAF database after final payment is made.

8. After final payment is made, Department of Trans-
portation and Development Project Control is informed of the
total amount of URAF funds used and bills the utility accord-
ingly.

9. Issuance of permits to the utility will remain sus-
pended until Department of Transportation and Development
Project Control notifies the utility and permit section that the
utility has repaid the full amount to the Department of Trans-
portation and Development. The utility may repay this
amount as a lump sum, in partial amounts, in exchange for
goods and/or services, or in any combination thereof. De-
partment of Transportation and Development Project Control
shall notify the headquarters utility and permit engineer of
any payments as soon as they are received. Note that an
exchange of goods or services is at the discretion of the De-
partment of Transportation and Development. Note that the
Federal Highway Administration participates in URAF costs.
It is the responsibility of Department of Transportation and
Development Project Control to credit Federal Highway Ad-
ministration, at its participating percentage, for any funds
that are repaid.

C. Issuance of Permits

1. General issuance of permits may resume if the util-
ity shows a good faith effort to repay this debt by making
annual payments to Department of Transportation and Devel-
opment of 5 percent of its gross income, or 10 percent of its
outstanding URAF debt. The first payment must be made
within one year of the date of invoicing of the utility by De-
partment of Transportation and Development, and issuance
of permits shall remain suspended until the first payment is
made. The utility’s payments shall be due by January 15 of
each year. The Department of Transportation and Develop-
ment shall suspend issuance of permits to any utility that
fails to submit payment by this date. Partial payments will be
accepted as payment toward the total debt; however, issu-
ance of permits shall be suspended when a utility fails to
make the required minimum payment. Since these options
were not available prior to the promulgation of these rules,
issuance of permits to utilities that have URAF agreements
that were executed prior to January 1, 1993, may resume, if
the utility begins to show a good faith effort to repay this
debt, by making annual payments to DOTD of 5 percent of its
gross income, or 10 percent of its outstanding URAF debt, by
January 15, 1995. When issuance of permits is suspended
because the utility failed to make the required minimum pay-
ment by the specified deadline, issuance may resume after
the utility makes the minimum required payments on time for
a period of three consecutive years, or by making a lump
sum .payment of 25 percent of the total remaining URAF
funds owed to DOTD.

2. When in the best interest of the public, specific per-
mits may be issued to utilities, without removing the general
suspension, under the following circumstances:

a. eminent danger to the public or to the highway as
the result of a damaged or faulty facility that is located within
highway right-of-way, such as:

i. a leaking water or sewer line that is eroding the
right-of-way;

ii. a leaking or exposed gas line, at Department of
Transportation and Development discretion, these facilities
may be repaired or replaced with a similar facility of equal
capacity;
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b. insufficient right-of-way available to place distribu-
tion lines to serve properties adjacent to the highway. This
may occur in highly urbanized areas where there is no room
to place utilities between the edge of the highway right-of-
way and an adjacent structure, and the adjacent property
cannot be accessed through an alternate route. If the physi-
cal space is available, the utility shall use its expropriation
rights to secure the necessary right-of-way for its facilities.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 48:381(C).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Transportation and Development, Office of Engineering,
LR 18:

All interested persons so desiring shall submit oral or
written data, views, comments or arguments no later than 30
days from the date of publication of this Notice of Intent to:
John Collins, Engineer Supervisor, Department of Transpor-
tation and Development, Box 94245, Baton Rouge, LA
70804-9245, Phone: (504) 379-1509.

Jude W.P. Patin
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Utility Relocation Assistance Funding

|. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no additional cost to DOTD. All funds are
approved on a project basis, and may consist of state
and/or federal funds. The state has provided these funds
to utilities for many years; this rule simply clarifies the
process, and provides a definite means of repayment.
The average cost of each utility relocation is $25,000.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

At this time, issuance of permits is suspended until
the debt is paid in full. This would allow these groups to
save right-of-way expenses by locating their facilities
within highway right-of-way. It is not possible to estimate
this savings.

Ill. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There may be a small decrease in some utility bills as
a result of right-of-way savings, but the savings will be
negligible.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EM-
PLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition or employment.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Jude W.P. Patin
Secretary




NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Treasury
Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana Program

Deferred Retirement Option Plan

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the
Board of Trustees of the Teachers’ Retirement System
approved amendments to the Policies for Implementation of
the Deferred Retirement Option Plan as follows:

6. c. completion of selected DROP participation period
and termination of employment except when the DROP
participation period is completed on any day other than the
last day of any month. In such cases, the DROP account
deposit shall be prorated to coincide with the date of
completion of DROP participation and termination of
employment. Retirement benefits shall begin the day after
completion of the DROP participation period and termination
of employment.

11. When termination of DROP occurs because of the
death of the DROP participant, the participant is considered
retired the day death occurs, and retirement benefits will
become effective for the regular and DROP beneficiary(ies) on
the first day of the month immediately following the death of
the participant. , ’

If the death occurs in the absence of the Affidavit of
Plan Election the deceased participant will be treated as a
non-retired, active death, and benefits will be paid to eligible
survivors including spouses, spouses with minor children,
minor children and non-spousal beneficiaries other than minor
children in accordance with R.S. 11:762(B), (C), (D) and (F).

Interested persons may comment on the proposed
amendments in writing until 4:30 p.m., November 10, 1992
at the following address: Graig A. Luscombe, Assistant
Director, Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana, Box
94123, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9123.

James P. Hadley, Jr.
Director

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Deferred Retirement Option Plan

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)

TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
This rule will have no impact on any expenditures of

state or local governmental units.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This rule will have no impact on any revenues collected
by state or local governmental units. ‘

. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This rule will have no cost or economic benefit to
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. The
Teachers’ Retirement System of Louisiana (TRSL) currently
has statutory provisions in place which govern the duration
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of participation in the Deferred Retirement Option Plan
(DROP) and the treatment of the death of an individual who
is eligible for retirement benefits but has not yet retired. This
rule will permit TRSL to appropriately calculate DROP account
deposits and retirement benefits for DROP participants and
their beneficiary(ies).
V. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This rule has no impact on competition or employment.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

James P. Hadley, Jr.
Director

NOTICE OF INTENT

' Department of Treasury
Deferred Compensation Commission

Member Nomination and Election

In accordance with the Louisiana Administrative
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) notice is hereby given
that the Deferred Compensation Commission intends to
amend the Deferred Compensation Commission Procedures
governing nomination and election of participant members to
read as follows:

Procedures Governing the Nomination and Election of
Participant Members

1. On or before the first day of January of each year,
the commission shall appoint a nominating committee
consisting of five participants, no two of whom are employed
by the same department of state government and none of
whom are members of the commission. Public notice of the
appointment of the nominating committee shall be given in
the same manner as that required for giving public notice of
meetings of the commission.

2. The nominating. committee shall submit to the
commission the name of at least one participant for each
vacancy that has occurred and the name of at least one
participant for each term that is about to expire. Only
participants who have been participants for more than two
years prior to the date on which the term begins may be
nominated.

3. Upon the receipt of the report of the nominating
committee, the commission shall notify personnel officers of
the receipt of the said report and shall request personnel
officers to notify participants (by posting a notice in
appropriate places or by other means) that the said report has
been received and that additional nominations may be made
by petition.

4. A participant may be nominated by petition if the
petition contains the signatures of 12 participants and is
received by the commission chairman or his/her designee prior
to the deadline set forth in the notice supplied to personnel
officers pursuant to Section 3 above. Only participants who
have been participants for more than two years prior to the
date on which the term begins may be nominated by petition.
Petitioning participants’ signatures must be accompanied by
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their social security numbers. Each petition must be
accompanied by a statement signed by the nominee in which
the nominee expresses his or her willingness to serve if
elected.

5. In the event two or more participants are nominated
for a position on the commission, the commission chairman
shall conduct a drawing to determine the order in which
candidates’ names will appear on the ballot. All nominees for
a position shall be invited by the chairman to attend the
drawing. Each ballot shall contain, in addition to the name of
the nominee(s), a statement containing no more than 35
words, which statement shall be prepared by the nominee
and shall contain biographical information and/or a statement
concerning the nominee’s position on one or more issues
pertinent to the deferred compensation program. If and when
the commission determines that the use of photographs of
the nominees on the ballots will be feasible, the chairman
shall provide all nominees with the opportunity to submit

suitable photographs of themselves for use in preparation of
the ballots. The submission of such a photograph shall be
optional for each nominee.

6. A participant shall be eligible to participate in an
election if that participant receives a first quarter statement
of his account with the Louisiana Deferred Compensation Plan
during the year in which the election is held. Ballots shall be
distributed to participants with their first quarter statements.
Each ballot shall be accompanied by a ballot envelope (clearly
marked with instructions that the completed ballot shall be
placed therein and the envelope sealed), a mailing envelope
on which is printed the name and address of the commission,
and a signature slip.

7. The participant’s signature must appear on the
signature slip together with the participant’s social security
number. The signature slip and the ballot envelope shall be
placed in the mailing envelope. The signature slip must not be
placed in the ballot envelope. The mailing envelope shall be
mailed or delivered to the commission at the address printed
on the mailing envelope. '

8. The commission or the commission chairman, if
authorized by the commission, shall appoint a ballot counting
committee and the commission chairman shall invite all
nominees to be present for the ballot counting.

9. The deadline for return of ballots and the date on
which ballots will be counted shall both be fixed by the
commission or by the commission chairman, if authorized by
the commission.

10. Prior to counting the ballots, the ballot counting .
committee shall make such verification as is deemed
appropriate. The committee shall also place the verified
signature slip and the sealed ballot envelope in separate
places of safekeeping pending the count of the vote. In the
case of a questionable or challenged signature slip, the
committee shall retain the signature slip and the sealed ballot
envelope together until the verification has been completed or
the challenge has been resolved.

11. No nominee shall be required to receive a majority
of the votes in order to be elected. The nominee receiving a
plurality of the votes cast shall be declared elected. In the
event two or more nominees receive the same number of
votes, the winner shall be chosen by the toss of a coin.

12. All participants shall be notified by means of a
notice mailed to them with fourth quarter statements that an
election will be held, and that ballots will be distributed to
them with the first quarter statements.
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13. Upon completion of its work, the ballot counting
committee shall submit a written report to the chairman
concerning the result of the election. The chairman shall
make public the result of the election at the next commission
meeting.

Interested persons may submit written comments on
the proposed amendments to Kenneth C. DeJean, Secretary,
Deferred Compensation Commission, Suite 702, 2237 South
Acadian Thruway, Baton Rouge, LA 70808. Comments will
be accepted through the close of business at 5 p.m. on
October 2, 1992.

Kenneth C. DeJean
Secretary

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Nomination and Election of Participant Members

. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS)
TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The estimated costs of implementing the proposed
amendments for 1992-93 is $6,442, or 46 cents per
participant. Because the number of participants is growing
the cost of implementing the proposed amendments is
expected to increase each year. The amount of the increase
can be calculated by multiplying .46 by the number of
participants in excess of 14,000. In addition, printing,
postage and mail handling costs are expected to mcrease at
an average annual rate of 6 percent.
. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The implementation of the proposed rule amendment
will have no effect on revenue collections of state and local
governmental units.

. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The implementation of the proposed rule amendment
will result in neither costs nor economic benefits to the
participants in the Deferred Compensation Program.

V. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

The implementation of the proposed rule amendment

will have no effect on competition and employment.

John R. Rombach
Legislative Fiscal Officer

Emery Bares
Chairman

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Menhaden Season

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give
notice, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
of its intent to promulgate a rule to establish legal menhaden
fishing areas.
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Title 76
Wildlife and Fisheries
Part VII. Fish and Other Aquatic Life
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishing
§307. Menhaden Season
* ¥ *

C. The menhaden season shall apply to all waters
seaward of the inside-outside line described in R.S. 56:495
including waters in the Federal Exclusive Economic Zone
(EEZ), and in Chandeleur and Breton Sounds as described
below. All other inside waters and passes are permanently
closed to menhaden fishing.

D. For purposes of the menhaden season, Breton and
Chandeleur Sounds are described as that portion of the
statutorily described inside waters as shown on a map by
Raymond C. Impastato, P.L.S., dated July 20, 1992, and
more particularly described as follows:

Beginning at the most northerly point on the south side
of Taylor Pass, Lat. 29°23’00"N., Long. 89°20'06"W. which
is on the inside-outside shrimp line as described in R.S.
56:495; thence westerly to Deep Water Point, Lat.
29°23'36"N., Long. 89°22'6564"W.; thence westerly to
Coquille Point, Lat. 29°23'36"N., Long. 89°24'12"W.;
thence westerly to Raccoon Point, Lat. 29°24'06"N., Long.
89°28'10"W.; thence northerly to the most northerly point
of Sable Island, Lat. 29°24'54"N., Long. 89°28'27"W.;
thence northwesterly to California Point, Lat. 29°27°33"N.,
Long. 89°31'18"W.; thence northerly to Telegraph Point, Lat.
29°30'57"N., Long. 89°30'57"W.; thence northerly to
Mozambique Point, Lat. 29°37'20"N., Long. 89°29'11"W.;
thence northeasterly to Grace Point (red light no. 62 on the
M.R.G.0.), Lat. 29°40'40"N., Long. 89°23'10"W.; thence
northerly to Deadman Point, Lat. 29°44’06"N., Long.
89°21'05"W.; thence easterly to Point Lydia, Lat.
29°45'27"N., Long. 89°16'12"W.; thence northerly to Point
Comfort, Lat. 29°49'32"N., Long. 89°14'18"W.; thence
northerly to the most easterly point on Mitchell Island, Lat.
29°5342"N., Long. 89°11'50"W.; thence northerly to the
most easterly point on Martin Island, Lat. 29°57°30"N.,
Long. 89°11'05"W.; thence northerly to the most easterly
point on Brush Island, Lat. 30°02°42"N., Long.
89°10'06"W.; thence northerly to Door Point, Lat.
30°03'45"N., Long. 89°10'08"W.; thence northerly to the
most easterly point on Isle Au Pitre; Lat. 30°09°27"N., Long.
89°11'02"W.; thence north (grid) a distance of 19214.60
feet to a point on the Louisiana - Mississippi Lateral
Boundary, Lat. 30°12°37.1781"N., Long.
89°10'567.8925"W.; thence S60°20'06"E (grid) along the
Louisiana - Mississippi Lateral Boundary a distance of
31555.38 feet, Lat. 30°09'57.4068"N., Long.
89°0548.9240"W.; thence $S82°53’53"E (grid) continuing
along the Louisiana - Mississippi Lateral Boundary a distance
of 72649.38 feet, Lat. 30°08°14.1260"N., Long.
89°52'10.3224"W.; thence South (grid) a distance of
32521.58 feet to the Chandeleur Ligiit, Lat. 30°02'52"N.,
Long. 88°52°18"W., which is on the inside-outside shrimp
line as described in R.S. 56:495; thence southeasterly along
the inside-outside shrimp line as described in R.S. 56:495 to
the point of beginning.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 56:313, 56:6(25)(a), and 56:326.3.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR

5:329 (October 1979), amended LR 15:546 (August 1988),
amended LR 18:

Interested persons may submit written comments
relative to the proposed rule until 4:30 p.m., October 16,
1992 to Vince Guillory, Marine Fisheries Project Coordinator,
Marine Fisheries Division, Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries, Box 189, Bourg, LA 70343.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Chairman

Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement
For Administrative Rules
Rule Title: Menhaden Season

1. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The proposed rule will have no implementation
costs. Enforcement of the proposed rule will be carried
out using the existing staff in conjunction with other
duties.

1l ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The proposed rule will slightly increase revenue
collections of state and local governmental units.

.  ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NON-
GOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The menhaden industry will not incur additional
costs associated with the proposed rule, but will realize
additional, unquantifiable revenues by not excluding the
fishing fleet from productive, historically utilized areas.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

The proposed rule will have no impact on
competition and employment.

David W. Hood
Senior Fiscal Analyst

Joe L. Herring
Secretary

Potpourri

POTPOURRI

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Inspection and Maintenance Program
Public Hearing

The Department of Environmental Quality, Air Quality
Division will conduct a public hearing to receive comments
regarding a proposed commitment to revise the State
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Implementation Plan (SIP). Proposed revisions address the
design and implementation of an enhanced motor vehicle
inspection and maintenance program for the purpose of
controlling emissions of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and
NOx from light duty vehicles in the six parish Baton Rouge
area non attainment area. The hearing will be held on
October 26, 1992 at 1:30 p.m. at the Maynard Ketcham
Building, Room 341 (Recital Room), 7290 Bluebonnet
Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested persons are
invited to attend and submit oral and written comments.

Interested persons may submit written comments no
later than October 27, 1992, at 4:30 p.m. to David Hughes,
Enforcement and Regulatory Compliance Division, Box
82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-2282 or to 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.
Interested persons may review the proposed commitment to
the SIP revision at DEQ headquarters, Second Floor, at 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA.

Joan Albritton
Administrator

POTPOURRI

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

SIP-Public Hearing

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Air
Quality Division will conduct a public hearing to receive
comments regarding proposed revisions to the State
Implementation Plan (SIP). The proposed revisions will
address stage Il vapor recovery systems for control of vehicle
refueling emissions at gasoline dispensing facilities.

The public hearing will be held on October 26, 1992, at
1:30 p.m. on the third floor of the Maynard Ketcham Building,
Room 341 (Recital Room), 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton
Rouge, LA. All interested persons are invited to attend and
submit written and oral comments on the proposed SIP
revisions. Written comments may be submitted no later than
October 27, 1992 at 4:30 p.m., to David Hughes,
Enforcement and Regulatory Compliance Division, Box
82282, Baton Rouge, LA, 70884-2282 or to 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA, 70810.
A copy of the proposed SIP revision will be available for
public review September 20, 1992, from the Enforcement
and Regulatory Compliance Division, Box 82282, Baton
Rouge, LA, 70884-2282 or from 7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard,
Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.

Joan Albritton
Administrator
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POTPOURRI
OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Office of the Oil Spill Coordinator ( ‘

In accordance with R.S. 30:2458(A), notice is hereby
given that the first meeting of the Oil Spill Interagency Coun-
cil will be held on October 22, 1992, at the State Capitol, 4th
Floor Press Conference Room, at 10 a.m. All interested per-
sons are cordially invited to attend.

The public may submit written comments. If you
should need any further information, please call (504) 922-
3230.

Roland J. Guidry
Louisiana Oil Spill Coordinator

POTPOURRI

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors

The Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors will
give the National Board Funeral Director and Embalmer/Fu-
neral Director exams on Saturday, September 26, 1992 at
Delgado Community College, 615 City Park Ave., New Or-
leans, LA.

Interested persons may obtain further information
from the Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Box
8757, Metairie, LA 70011, (504) 838-5109.

Dawn Scardino
Confidential Assistant

POTPOURRI

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Management and Finance
Division of Policy and Program Development

Community-Based and Rural Health Program

The Department of Health and Hospitals’ Division of
Policy and Program Development will accept letters of intent
for the following:

1. EMERGENCY HEALTH SERVICES. Small rural
hospitals, defined herein, on the intended use of up to
$75,000 in State grants to strengthen the capability of small
rural hospitals to provide high quality emergency health serv-
ices to indigent and low-income persons in rural areas. Hos-
pitals that are eligible to apply are public and private acute
care hospitals licensed for 60 beds or less which have a serv-
ice municipality with a population of 20,000 or less.

The letter of intent should reflect how the funds re-
quested will further this goal. Grant recipients will be re-
quired to maintain an audit trail verifying that any monies
received under this grant program were in fact used to en-
hance emergency room services.

Letters of intent will be accepted until September 30,
1992 and processed according to receipt and awards will be
issued accordingly. .

2. PRIMARY CARE CLINIC GRANTS. Eligible appli-
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cants include existing federally funded community health
centers or public or private organizations located in federally
designated medically underserved areas. All interested appli-
cants must submit a letter of intent prior to a completed appli-
cation kit.

Application kits may be obtained by sending letters of
intent to the Department of Health and Hospitals’ Division of
Policy and Program Development, P.O. Box 1349, Baton
Rouge, LA 70821-1349. Completed application kits will be
accepted until November 1, 1992.

3. DEMONSTRATION GRANTS. Existing federally-
funded community health centers or public or private organi-
zations located in local communities or rural areas may apply
for a demonstration grant to fund a project designed to innov-
atively, efficiently, and effectively develop and provide
needed primary health care.

The Department of Health and Hospitals anticipates
awarding demonstration grant(s) to innovatively develop pri-
mary care services in rural areas and local communities, in-
cluding but not limited to such projects as the establishment
or acquisition of mobile health clinics. The amount of availa-
ble funds for this purpose is limited, and the grantee will be
required to provide a 25 percent match to the funds; for ex-
ample, $100,000 State and $25,000 Applicant.

The proposal format should be determined by the ap-
plicant and should clearly describe the proposed project’s
goals and objectives and strategies to accomplish the goals
and objectives. Additionally, the proposal should address a
needs assessment, a management plan, a detailed budget,
and budget justification. The proposal, including any appen-
dices, may not exceed 50 typed double-spaced letter-sized
pages. Completed proposals must be sent to the Division of
Policy. and Program Development, Box 1349, Baton Rouge,
LA 70821-1349. Applications are due by November 15, 1992.

4. STATE MATCHING FUNDS FOR FEDERAL
GRANTS. Applications will be accepted for projects to pro-
vide community-based health services to indigent or low-
income persons, as proposed in a federal grant application
proposal. Applications are due by November 15, 1992.

5. PHYSICIAN SALARY SUBSIDY. Local health agen-
cies or communities may apply for state matching funds for
physician salary guarantees of $100,000 annually in salary
and benefits, to assist in recruiting or retaining primary care
physicians in local communities and rural areas. State salary
subsidies will not exceed $50,000, and the local agency/com-
munity must demonstrate its ability to at least match the state
amount. The local agency/community match may include but
is not limited to cash; fringe benefits; rent; clerical, medical
records, and billing support; continuing education stipend(s);
and medical malpractice coverage.

The Department of Health and Hospitals will contract
directly with local health agencies, who in turn contract with
physicians. As such, local health agencies must submit with
their request for assistance under this provision, a copy of a
proposed contract with a physician. Such contract must ad-
dress the $100,000 guarantee. The Department of Health
and Hospitals will make no payments under this recruitment/
retention incentive until the physician’s actual received in-
come and benefits are reconciled against his/her contract
guarantees.

Should the number of requests under this provision
exceed the available funds, the Department of Health and
Hospitals reserves the right to prioritize requests based on
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the health professional shortage area’s ratio of population to
primary care physicians.

It should be noted that the provisions of this notice are
contingent upon the availability of funds.

Interested persons may submit letters of intent or re-
quest applications to the following address: Suzanne
Lavergne, Office of Management and Finance Division of
Policy and Program Development, Box 1349, Baton Rouge,
LA 70821-1349, FAX number 504/342-5839.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

POTPOURRI

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of
Public Health, as requested, will also hold a public hearing
on September 25, 1992 on proposed changes to Chapters |
and XlIl of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code.

The above referenced proposed changes appeared as
notices of intent on pages 901 and 902 respectively in the
Louisiana Register as published August 20, 1992. The re-
quested public hearing on proposed changes to Chapters |
and Xl of the Sanitary Code will be held on September 25,
1992 beginning at 9 a.m. prior to a previously scheduled
public hearing on Chapter XXI| of the State Sanitary Code.
These scheduled hearings will take place in the first floor
auditorium of the Department of Transportation and Develop-
ment located at 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge,
Louisiana.

J. Christopher Pilley
Secretary

POTPOURRI

Department of Natural Resources
Office of the Secretary
Fishermen’s Gear Compensation Fund

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et
seq., notice is given that 46 claims in the amount of
$120,675.48 were received in the month of August 1992, 68
claims in the amount of $160,063.74 were paid, and four
claims were denied.

Loran C. coordinates of reported underwater obstruc-
tions are:

28793 46775 Plaquemines
28633 46872 Jefferson
26886 46967 Cameron
27255 46938 Vermilion
28790 47040 Lake Pontchartrain
27390 46930 Iberia
29146 49009 St. Bernard
27368 46944 Iberia
28345 46828 Lafourche
27333 46944 Vermilion
28834 46774 . Plaguemines
27519 46914 Iberia
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28576 46857 Jefferson
28808 46844 Plaquemines
28365 46835 Lafourche
28978 46902 St. Bernard
28841 46813 Plaquemines
28630 46868 Plaquemines
27361 46940 Iberia

28967 46883 Plaquemines
29019 46920 St. Bernard
28519 46854 Jefferson

A list of claimants, and amounts paid, may be ob-
tained from the Fishermen’s Gear Compensation Fund, Box
94396, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, or by telephone (504) 342-
0122.

John F. Ales
Secretary

POTPOURRI

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

Food Stamp Disaster Program

Notice is hereby given that the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA), Food and Nutrition Services, because of
Hurricane Andrew, has declared a disaster in all of St. Mary
and lberia Parishes and parts of St. Martin and Terrebonne
Parishes. Therefore, the Department of Social Services,
Office of Family Support, in order to comply with federal
regulations at 7 CFR Part 280, has implemented the
Emergency Food Assistance Program for Victims of Disasters
in those areas. The program is in effect from September 1,
1992 through September 7, 1992. A second Emergency
Food Assistance Program is also being implemented for the
period September 8, 1992 through September 12, 1992
following the USDA declaration of disaster in additional parts
of St. Martin and Terrebonne.

The USDA Disaster Income Limits for the federal fiscal
year October 1,1991 through September 30, 1992 are
provided in the following chart:

Household Standard Shelter 100% +
Size 100% Deduction Deduction Deducts
1 552 122 194 868
2 740 122 194 1,056
3 929 122 194 1,245
4 1,117 122 194 1,433
5 1,305 122 194 1,621
6 1,494 122 194 1.810
7 1,682 122 194 1,998
8 1.870 122 194 2,186
Each Add’l 189 189

Other eligibility criteria designated by USDA are taken
from the proposed federal regulations as published in the
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Federal Register, Vol. 48, No. 17, January 27, 1981. USDA
has established the benefit amounts. Eligible households will
be issued a full one-month allotment.

Gloria Bryant-Banks (

Secretary

-POTPOURRI
Department of Social Services
Rehabilitation Services

Three-Year State Plan Public Hearing

The Department of Social Services, Louisiana Reha-
bilitation Services, is in the process of completing its annual
update and assurance of its Three-Year State Plan and will
conduct public hearings in accordance with its federal man-
date to solicit public input. A copy of the Three-Year State
Plan is available for review by the public at the Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services (LRS) Office, 1755 Florida Boule-
vard, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Interested parties may call the
office at 342-2294 to arrange to review the Three-Year State
Plan. A copy of the Three-Year State Plan may also be re-
viewed at the Office of the State Register, 1051 North Third
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70804.

The public hearings beginning at 10 a.m. will be held,
on September 25, 28, and October 2, 1992, in Baton Rouge,
Shreveport and New Orleans respectively. The hearing loca-
tions are as follows:

Baton Rouge = 1755 Florida Boulevard LRS State Office
Shreveport 1525 Fairfield Avenue LRS Regional Office
New Orleans 2026 St. Charles Avenue LRS Regional Office

All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity
to express issues, views, or concerns at the hearings. Writ-
ten commentary will also be accepted by LRS prior to the
hearings, during the hearings, and up through October 5,
1992, after the hearings.

Gloria Bryant-Banks
Secretary




CUMULATIVE INDEX
(Volume 18, Number 9)

1992
Pages Issue

4— 126 ... January
129— 218 ... ... February
227— 327 .. March
33— 463 .................... April
473— 544 ... ... May
5563— 651 ................... June
662—. 794 .......... ... ... July
803— 921 .................. August
926— 1025 .............. September

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of
Azinphos-methyl, 926ER
Commercial aerial pesticide, 6ER, 477ER, 622N, 953R
Commercial applicators, 819ER
Cotton seed, 624N, 954R
Landscape architect, 240ER
Pesticides, 247R
Pink bollworm quarantine, 124P
Quarantine, 395N, 458P, 700R
Varroa mite quarantine, 124P
Animal Health Services, Office of
(Livestock Sanitary Board)
Brucella Abortus Antigen, 513N, 838R
Cattle, 199N, 509N, 510N, 510N, 511N, 512N, 514N,
835R, 836R, 836R, 837R, 837R, 838R
Poultry, 978N
Swine, 514N, 515N, 516N, 839R, 839R, 840R
Forestry, Office of .
Public lands, 295N, 597R
Horticulture Commission
Examination, 217P, 218P, 544P, 911P
Retail florist, 249R
Stumpage values, 6ER
Secretary, Office of
Rule procedures, 144R

CIVIL SERVICE

Civil Service Commission
Applications/appeals, 878N
Adverse actions, 624N, 768N
Elected Officials, Board of Ethics for
Disclosure statement, 83N, 598R
Public Employees, Commission on Ethics for
Disclosure statement, 85N, 598R

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM

Cultural Development, Office of
Arts program, 769N

Office of State Library of Louisiana
Library construction, 978N

State Parks, Office of
Use/carrying capacity, 663ER
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ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Architectural Examiners, Board of
Continuing education, 250R
Examinations, 87N, 88N, 599R, 599R
Business Development Services, Office of
Regional Economic Development Alliance, 23R
Commerce and Industry, Office of
Environmental tax exemption, 240ER, 296N, 461P, 840R
Finance Division
Capital companies tax credit, 251R
Restoration tax abatement 252R
Economic Development Corporation
BIDCO investment program, 89N
Financial Institutions, Office of
Business/industrial development
corporations, 24R
Checks/money orders, 144R
Licensed lenders, 26R
Oil/gas auction, 625N
Stock exchange, 626N
Racing Commission
Appointment qualifications, 367R
Association’s duties, 366R
Drugged horse, 97N, 138ER, 369R
Failure to comply, 93N, 136ER
Field less than nine, 92N, 135ER, 366R
Horse under investigation, 94N, 136ER, 367R
Other reports, 136ER, 366R
Pari-Mutuel Tickets, 92N, 135ER
Publication of past performances, 94N, 136ER, 366R
Steward qualifications, 137ER
Testing split/referee sample, 95N, 137ER, 368R
Two races on a day, 96N, 138ER, 368R
Whips size/approval, 97N, 139ER, 369R
Real Estate Appraisal Subcommittee
Adjudicatory proceedings, 144R
Certification education, 139ER, 599R, 600R
Real Estate Commission
Agency disclosure, 7ER, 26R
Branch offices, 769N
Out-of-state broker, 770N
Used Motor Vehicle and
Parts Commission
Meeting schedule/location change fee, 771N
Secretary, Office of
Employment Opportunity Loan Program, 926ER, 980N

EDUCATION

Bureau of Continuing Education
Professional Improvement Program (PIP), 301N,
602R

EO—Executive Order
FA—Fee Action

N—Notice of Intent
PFA—Proposed Fee Action
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule
L—Legislation
P—Potpourri
PPM—Policy and Procedure Memorandum
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Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of
8(g) Annual Program, 297N, 600R
8(g) Policy Manual, 878N
ACT/SAT, 255R
Administrators’ Handbook, 663ER, 879N
Adult Education Plan, 344ER, 627N, 664ER, 954R
Algebra/Geometry curriculum, 27R
Children First Legislation, 12ER, 28R
Complaint management, 822ER
Computer literacy, 240ER, 400N, 555ER, 771N
Disabled infants/toddlers, 98N, 241ER, 370R
Dyslexic students, 9ER, 401N, 478ER, 826ER, 880N
Early childhood, 665ER, 881N
Exceptional Children’s Act, 664ER, 824ER, 879N
Exploratory elective, 200N, 492R
Food and nutrition, 241ER, 370R
High school graduation, 27R
Holiday-presidential election, 27R
Home study, 255R
Louisiana Proponents of Effective Teaching (LCET),
927ER
Migrant education, 627N, 954R
Minimum standards, 141ER
Model Career Options Program (MCOP), 146R,
555ER, 880N
Montessori certification, 98N, 369R
Sign language, 297N, 601R
Special education, 12ER, 28R, 300N, 478ER,
602R, 820ER, 882N, 928ER
Teacher evaluation, 929ER
Teacher tuition exemption, 99N, 370R, 667ER, 773N
Teaching certificate revocation, 772N
Temporary employment permit, 13ER, 29R, 666ER,
883N
Textbooks, 479ER, 628N
Transportation services, 819ER
Vo-tech
Fees, 9ER, 13ER, 27R, 29R, 30R
Flex hiring, 926ER
Institute/Regional Management Center, 300N,
602R
Name change, 882N, 882N
Postsecondary curriculum, 27R
Postsecondary salaries, 256R
Salaries, 140ER
Technical institutes, 566ER, 666ER, 772N
Student Financial Assistance, Office of
Award check stop payment, 301N, 603R
Cancelled loan/disbursement, 146R
Employment opportunity loan program, 829ER, 883N
Fee refund, 146R
GSL policy manual, 100N, 492R
Guarantee commitment, 773N
Honors scholarship, 829ER, 884N
Louisiana Opportunity Loan Program (LA-OP), 100N,
370R, 774N
Mid-year scholarship, 302N, 603R
Teacher shortage areas, 147R
Tuition assistance, 147R, 302N, 303N, 603R,
603R, 775N, 775N '
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Office of
Asbestos (AQ58), 777N

Biomedical waste (AQ64), 777N (

Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant
Emission Control (AQ62), 981N
Distillation operations (AQ28), 376R
Fee system (AQ59), 402N, 706R
Hydrogen chloride emissions (AQ55), 258R
Inspection/maintenance, 1021P
Magnetic tape coating (AQ39), 31R
Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM)
(NEO04), 304N, 604R
Nonmetallic mineral processing (AQ45), 201N, 493R
Particulate emissions (AQ43), 262R, 376R
Polychlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins/
dibenzofurans (AQ56), 403N, 707R
Polymer manufacturing (AQ47), 303N, 610R
Polymeric coating (AQ41), 150R
Radiation fees (NE05), 404N, 718R, 955R
Radiation protection (NE02), 34R
Rubber tire manufacturing (AQ46), 205N, 496R
State implementation plan (SIP), 793P, 911P, 1022P
Steam generating units (AQ32), 150R
Steel plants (AQ44), 106N, 377R
Sulfur dioxide (AQ57), 104N, 374R
Toxic air emission (AQ50A), 31R
Toxic air pollutants, 792P
VOC emission
Industrial surface coating (AQ40), 31R
Petroleum refinery wastewater (AQ38), 158R
VOC storage (AQ65), 778N
Toxic emissions report, 650P
Vapor recovery systems (AQ61), 629N
Wood heaters (AQ42), 110N, 380R
Legal Affairs and Enforcement, Office of
Regulatory agenda, 461P
Secretary Office of
Reimbursement bonds, 461P
Recycling tax credit (OS11), 517N, 840R, 960R
Solid and Hazardous Waste, Office of
AMAX metals, 912P
Amends certain rules (HW31), 414N, 723R
Boilers, industrial furnaces (HW32), 994N
Fee amendment petition, 324P
Maintenance/monitoring fee (UT03), 415N, 726R
Non-HWSA Cluster IV-A (HW34), 884N
Permit application (SW04), 416N, 725R
Permit review (HW35), 418N, 723R
Reclaim/recycle fees (HW36), 418N, 723R
Registration exempt tanks (UT04), 421N, 727R
Solid waste revisions (SW05), 995N

EO—EXxecutive Order
FA—Fee Action

N—Notice of Intent
PFA—Proposed Fee Action
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule
L—Legislation
P—Potpourri
PPM—Policy and Procedure Memorandum
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Waste tires (SWO03), 34R, 164R
Wood preserving (HW33), 995N
Water Resources, Office of
Pollution control fees (WP11), 424N, 730R
Public hearing, 793P
Review/approval fees (GW03), 423N, 729R

EXECUTIVE ORDERS

BR 91-23—Allocates $15,200,000 from the 1991 bond ceiling
for the New Orleans Home Mortgage Authority, 4

BR 91-24—Directs the Louisiana Housing Finance Agency to
administer programs and resources and to
promulgate regulations regarding the state’s com-
prehensive housing affordability strategy (CHAS),
4

BR 91-25—Reduces appropriations in certain state agencies
to avoid a general fund deficit, 5

BR 91-26—Allocates excesses to various issuers for carry-
forward projects, 131

BR 91-27—Transfers functions, duties and responsibilities of
the Office of Hospitals (with exceptions) to the
Louisiana Health Care Authority governing board
and the local boards, 131 '

BR 92-1—Authorizes and outlines duties and responsibilities
of the Public Advisory Committee (PAC) with re-
spect to environmental issues, 132

EWE 92-1—Allocates $3,546,611 from the 1992 bond ceiling
for the Louisiana Public Facilities Authority State-
wide Student Loan Program, 134

EWE 92-2—Allocates $20,000,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for Louisiana Power & Light Company (Water-
ford) in St. Charles Parish, 134

EWE 92-3—Creates the Governor’s Advisory Council on
Drug-Free Schools and Communities and defines
certain duties, 227

EWE 92-4—Creates and defines certain personnel and du-
ties of the Office of Permits, 227

EWE 92-5—Creates a Task Force on African Trade, Finance
and Development to market the state’s products,
goods, services and technologies to Africa, 228

EWE 92-6—Creates the Louisiana Interagency Action Coun-
cil for the Homeless, designating agency repre-
sentation and defining certain functions, 228

EWE 92-7—Prohibits sex discrimination by any state agency
in employment practices and policies, in provid-
ing services, in purchasing services or in award-
ing service contracts, 229

EWE 92-8—Authorizes the secretary of the Department of
Transportation and Development, with approval of
the State Bond Commission, to issue Series 1992
Bonds not to exceed $46,000,000 to fund Project
1992, 230

EWE 92-9—Establishes a Land Acquisition Task Force and
defines certain responsibilities and duties, 231

EWE 92-10—Authorizes a substance abuse policy and
awareness program applicable to state employ-
ees, 231

EWE 92-11—Establishes an Office of Maritime Advisor and
defines certain duties and functions of the office,
232

EWE 92-12—Appoints the senior advisor in the Office of
Maritime Advisor, 232
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EWE 92-13—Establishes the Occupational Information Coor-
dinating Committee (LOICC) and assigns its re-
sponsibilities, 233

EWE 92-14—Authorizes inmate labor to be used to replace
roofing at Hunt Correctional Center facilities, 233

EWE 92-15—Establishes the position of Special Assistant to
the Governor for Health Care and Hospitals and
defines certain duties and functions of the posi-
tion, 234

EWE 92-16—Creates and defines certain duties and func-
tions of the Executive Board on Aging, 234

EWE 92-17—Creates the Emergency Response Commission
and designates certain duties, 235

EWE 92-18—Rescinds BR 91-25 and directs adjustments of
appropriations for expenditures to achieve a bal-
anced budget in the current fiscal year, 236

EWE 92-19—Allocates $15,225,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for various projects, 338

EWE 92-20—Adjusts appropriations for expenditures to en-
sure a balanced Transportation Trust Fund
budget, 338

EWE 92-21—Creates the Governor’s Military Advisory Com-
mission and designates certain duties, 339

EWE 92-22—Creates and defines certain functions and
goals of the Governor’s Task Force on Shrimp
Management, 340

EWE 92-23—Establishes the Governor’s Task Force on Mari-
time Industry and designates certain duties, 340

EWE 92-24—Establishes the Office of Minority Affairs and
assigns certain responsibilities and functions, 341

EWE 92-25—Directs that the POW/MIA flag be flown
throughout the remainder of the governor’s term,
342

EWE 92-26—Continues the operations of the Governor’s
Community Development Advisory Committee,
342

EWE 92-27—Establishes individual Joint Committees be-
tween Louisiana and Quebec, Maritime Provinces
and Belgium for cultural and commercial ex-
changes, 343

EWE 92-28—Directs the Department of Transportation and
Development to promulgate emergency rules re-
quiring set-aside or preference programs for
Blacks and women on all construction programs,
473

EWE 92-29—Provides for preferred purchase of products
and services from state supported workshops for
persons with severe disabilities in conjunction
with the Louisiana State Use Program, 474

EWE 92-30—Establishes an Advisory Task Force on Environ-
mental Quality and designates certain responsi-
bilities, 474

EO—Executive Order
FA—Fee Action

N—Notice of Intent
PFA—Proposed Fee Action
R—Rule

CR—Committee Report
ER—Emergency Rule
L—Legislation
P—Potpourri
PPM—Policy and Procedure Memorandum
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EWE 92-31—Expands the Land Acquisition Task Force to in-
clude the State Forester, 475

EWE 92-32—Amends and supplements Executive Orders
EWE 92-9 and EWE 92-31 regarding a Land Ac-
quisition Task Force, 475

EWE 92-33—Amends Executive Order EWE 92-6 to add four
members-at-large to the Louisiana Interagency
Action Council, 476

EWE 92-34—Allocates $10,000,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for Calcasieu Parish’s Public Trust Authority
for the Mortgage Credit Certificate Program, 476

EWE 92-35—Amends Executive Order EWE 92-30 to add
three members-at-large to the Advisory Task
Force on Environmental Quality, 477

EWE 92-36—Amends EWE 92-5 to add members to the Task
Force on African Trade, 553

EWE 92-37—Establishes Governor’s Advisory Council on
Disability Affairs and defines membership and
certain duties, 553

EWE 92-38—Establishes the Inter-Agency Transportation Co-
ordination Committee and defines membership
and certain duties, 554

EWE 92-39—Authorizes the Cash Management Review
Board to prepare an interim agreement pertaining
to exchange of federal and state funds, 554

EWE 92-40—Higher Education Grants Coordinating Commit-
tee Duties, 662

EWE 92-41—Directs the National Guard to provide man-
power and equipment assistance to the Depart-
ment of Public Safety and Correctlons in medical
crises, 662

EWE 92-42—Allocates $25,000,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for Louisiana Public Facilities Authority for the
Baton Rouge Water Company, 806

EWE 92-43—Allocates $1,850,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for the Town of Vivian for Vivian Industries,
Inc., 806

EWE 92-44—Allocates $3,000,000 from 1992 bond ceiling
for Louisiana Public Facilities Authority for
Pellerin Milnor Corporation, 807

EWE 92-45—Establishes Governor’s Advisory Board on In-
dian Gaming and describes dutles and functions,
807

EWE 92-46—Louisiana Tourism Development Commission
designated as responsible for Scenic By-Way Pro-
gram grant funds, 808

EWE 92-47—Continues methods established by the Legisla-
ture regarding bond allocation and record keep-
ing systems, 808

EWE 92-48—Gives the Governor’s Advisory Council on Drug
Free Schools and Communities (Executive Order
EWE 92-3) six additional members, 811

EWE 92-49—Establishes the Calcasieu Estuary Environmen-
tal Task Force and defines certain duties, 811

EWE 92-50—Charges the Department of Economic Develop-
ment with responsibility of promoting high tech-
nology development and other economic
development programs within the state, 813

EWE 92-51—Establishes and defines certain duties of Loui-
siana Commission of Human Rights, 813

EWE 92-52—Establishes and defines certain duties of the
Governor’s Task Force on Nawgabmty and Public
Access, 815
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EWE 92-53—Prescribes procedures for the procurement of
small purchases within the Louisiana Procure-
ment Code, 816

EWE 92-54—Establishes the Natural Gas Marketing Board(
and defines certain duties and functions, 817

EWE 92-55—Allocates $27,140,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for the parish of St. James for Freeport Mc-
Moran Resource Partners, Limited Partnership,
817

EWE 92-56—Allocates $3,625,000 from the 1992 bond ceil-
ing for Louisiana Housing Finance Agency for
Emerald Point Apartments, 818

GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE

Division of Administration
Commissioner’s Office
Medical Review Panel
Change of address, 51R
Louisiana Property Assistance Agency
Inventory property, 430N, 632N
Office of Telecommunications Management
Non-state entity, 610R, 996N
Elderly Affairs, Office of
Area agency on aging, 305N, 610R
Corporate eldercare, 997N
Long-term care, 670ER, 885N
Long-term care ombudsman, 267R
Multipurpose senior center, 431N, 735R
State ombudsman, 265R
Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice
Felony sentencing, 44R, 164R, 480ER, 566ER,
631N, 669ER, 960R
Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board
Enroliment, 167R
Self-insurance, 433N, 737R
Spill Coordinator, Office of
Hearing, 1022P
Veterans Affairs, Department of
War veterans’ home, 269R
Women’s Services, Office of
Marriage license fees, 462P

/ ﬁ\"»

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS

Alcohol and Drug Abuse, Office of

Substance abuse group homes, 519N, 845R
Chiropractic Examiners, Board of

Continuing Ed/General practice, 888N
Dentistry, Board of

Dental hygienists, 307N, 737R

Dental specialist, 308N, 738R
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Display of license, 310N, 740R
Fees/costs, 311N, 741R -
Hepatitis B Virus/HIV, 312N, 741R, 843R
Dietetics and Nutrition, Board of
Examiners in
Licensure, 633N
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of
Examination, 462P, 1022P
Health Care Authority
Annual service agreement, 671ER
Board nominations, 793P
Hospitals, Office of
LHCA service agreement, 14ER, 111N
Human Services, Office of
Case management certification, 434N
Management and Finance, Office of
HIV health care, 125P, 520N, 529N, 569ER, 672ER,
846R, 847R
Nursing facility, 673ER
Rural hospital, 54R, 181R
Rural emergency services, 1022P
Medical Examiners, Board of
Hepatitis/HIV procedures, 207N, 325P
Obesity medication, 205N, 325P, 744R, 843R
Nursing, Board of
Controlled dangerous substances, 962R
Disciplinary proceedings, 999N
Disease transmission, 1000N-
Nursing Home Administrators, Board of Examiners of
Administrator license, 181R, 507R
Pharmacy, Board of
Continuing education, 273R
Drug review, 893N
Out-of-state requirements, 889N
Patient counseling, 890N
Support staff, 891N
Physical Therapy Examiners, Board of
Licensure, fees, 634N, 962R
Practical Nurse Examiners
Education/licensure, 635N, 893N
Professional Counselors, Board of Examiners of
License/practice, 51R
Mental health counseling, 269R
Psychologists, Board of Examiners of
Testing, evaluation, assessment, 633N
Public Health, Office of
Children born outside of hospital, 896N
HIV/AIDS, 182R
Neonatal screening, 779N
Nutrition, 912P
Sanitary Code
Day care/residential facilities, 897N
General provisions, 114N, 386R, 901N
Mechanical wastewater, 115N, 442N, 674ER, 746R
Plumbing, 314N, 618R
Public hearing, 1023P
Sewage disposal, 115N, 387R
Sewage installation, 902N
Water supplies, 116N, 387R, 618R
Tanning facilities, 274R
Yellow fever, 896N
Secretary, Office of
ADMS Block Grant, 531N, 848R
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AFDC/SSI eligibles, 18ER, 572ER, 638N, 963R
Alimony/child support income, 54R
Anesthesia services, 19ER, 636N, 963R
Case management, 570ER, 636N, 964R
Chiropractor, 1003N
Community/family support system, 185R, 1001N
Computer matching programs, 391R
Concurrent care, 54R
Disproportionate share, 16ER, 363ER
Excess income eligibility, 674ER
Federally-qualified health center, 16ER, 571ER, 780N
Home health agencies, 57R
Infant, developmentally delayed, 210N, 849R
Infant inpatient, 572ER, 782N
Informal consent, 1002N
LHCA service agreement, 14ER, 111N
LaSalle Parish nursing facility, 218P
Long-term care, 832ER, 936ER
Maternal and Child Health Block Grant, 531N, 848R
Medicaid eligibility, 832ER
Medicaid interim payment, 912P
Medical transportation, 640N, 963R
Mental health, 937ER
Non-ambulance reimbursement, 243ER, 965R
Non-emergency ambulance, 571ER, 640N, 641N, 964R
Non-emergency transportation, 573ER
Nursing facility, 189R
Nursing home, 18ER, 573ER, 642N
OBRA (1990), 19ER
Outpatient pharmacy, 364ER, 364ER
Personal care attendant, 675ER
Pharmacy service, 57R, 639N, 964R
Prescription limitation, 17ER
Preventive Health and Health Services

Block Grant, 531N, 848R
Psychiatric facility, 781N
Rural care/hospital, 20ER
Traumatic brain injury, 21ER
Urine drug screening, 188R
Utilization review, 643N, 675ER, 794P, 913P
Vendor payments, 391R

Veterinary Medicine, Board of

Fees, 111N, 380R
License, 482ER

Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of

Operating rules, 381R

INSURANCE

Commissioner of Insurance

Accelerated benefits (Reg 44), 1010N
Defense costs within limit (Reg 38), 746R

EO—Executive Order
FA—Fee Action

N—Notice of Intent
PFA—Proposed Fee Action
R—Rule
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Group self-insurance (Reg 42), 1005N

Hazardous financial condition (Reg 43), 1004N

Holding company (Reg 31), 274R

Information transmittal (Rule 12), 316N, 620R

Insolvency disclaimer (Reg 40), 215N, 620R

Insolvency protection (Reg 39), 213N, 619R

LLHIGA (Reg 40), 913P, 1013N

Medicare supplement insurance (Reg 33B), 682ER,
902N

LABOR

Employment Security, Office of
Itinerant services,-v’372R
Magnetic media reports, 372R
Wage, average, 911P

Labor, Office of
JTPA, 102N, 372R, 493R

Plumbing Board
Master plumber, 30R

Worker’s Compensation, Office of
Employee rehabilitation, 147R
Medical fee schedule, 776N
Utilization review, 257R

LOUISIANA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE

Administrative Code Update
Cumulative, January 1991 - December, 1991, 121
Cumulative, January 1992 - March, 1992, 458
Cumulative, January 1992 - June, 1992, 791

NATURAL RESOURCES

Conservation, Office of
Compressed natural gas, 60R
Drug testing, 442N, 852R
Emergency Natural Gas Allocation Plan, 64R
Hazardous liquids transport, 444N, 861R
Pipeline safety, 443N, 852R
Underwater obstructions, 643N
Mineral Resources, Office of
Geophysical/geological surveys, 70R
Secretary, Office of
Coastal restoration, 281R
Fishermen’s Gear
Claims, 125P, 218P, 325P, 463P, 544P, 650P, 794P,
913P, 1023P
Fees, 117N, 391R

PORT COMMISSIONS

Port of New Orleans
Associated Branch Pilots, Board of Examiners of
Conduct/safety, 72R
Associated Branch Pilots, Board of Review of
Complaint procedures, 76R

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS

Corrections Services
Death penalty, 77R
Medical parole, 903N
Fire Marshal, Office of
Uniform construction code, 21ER
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Liquified Petroleum Gas Commission
Gas conversion, 486ER, 532N, 866R
Pardons, Board of

Clemency, 483ER - (

Private Security Examiners, Board of
Contract security, 189R
Training, 449N

State Police, Office of
Bingo, Keno, raffle, 283R
Breath/blood alcohol test, 682ER, 904N
Hazardous materials transport, 78R, 450N, 746R
Video draw poker, 196R

PUBLIC SERVICE

Public Service Commission
Classified employees, 216N

REVENUE AND TAXATION

Sales Tax Division
Pollution control, 532N, 1014N
Sales/use tax, 287R
Severance Tax Division
Natural gas, 463P
Tax Commission
Ad valorem, 197R
Orleans Parish appraisal/assessment, 125P
Stumpage values, 6ER

SOCIAL SERVICES

Community Services, Office of

Adoption, 141ER, 198R, 451N, 487ER, 747R

Adoption subsidy, 574ER, 646N, 965R

Block Grant Program, 451N, 747R

Child abuse/neglect, 79R

Child protection, 198R, 316N, 683ER, 913P

Emergency shelter, 326P

Energy assistance, 794P

Repeal of rules, 79R .

Social Services Block Grant (SSBG), 463P

State Voluntary Registry, 22ER

Vendor day care, 364ER, 534N, 685ER, 868R

Weatherization Assistance Program, 126P

Family Support, Office of

AFDC program, 244ER, 536N, 687ER, 869R, 913P

Flood insurance, 939ER

Food stamps, 22ER, 142ER, 245ER, 394R, 686ER,
687ER, 783N, 905N, 906N, 907N, 914P,
939ER, 1024P

JOBS

Participation requirements, 80R
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Project Independence, 244ER, 453N, 537N, 646N,
748R, 870R, 967R
Lottery winnings, 118N, 507R
Paternity blood tests, 538N, 870R
Refugee assistance, 22ER, 394R
Transitional child care, 908N
Rehabilitation Services, Office of
Examination, 218P
Hearing, 1025P
Sign language, 488ER, 647N, 968R
Secretary, Office of
Child Care and Development Block Grant, 288R, 783N
Child care assistance, 909N, 1016N
Child care providers, 650P
Community/family support system, 185R, 1001N
Daycare centers, 538N, 970R
Title IV-A At-Risk Child Care, 288R

STATE

Uniform Commercial Code, Office of
Secured transactions, 118N, 392R

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT

Crescent City Connection Division
Firemen, equipment, 940ER
Student vehicle, 940ER
Flood Control and Water Management Division
Port construction, 749R, 870R
Highways, Office of
Logo signs, 784N
Recycling highway material, 648N, 973R
Utility relocation, 1017N
Public Transportation, Office of
Railroad traffic, 319N, 761R
Sabine River Compact Administration
Meeting, 544P
Secretary, Office of
Oversize permit, 216N, 508R

TREASURY

Bond Commission
Issuer, reporting, 649N
Deferred Compensation Commission
Restated plan, 323N, 762R
State Employees Group Benefits Program,
Board of Trustees of the
Participant employer, 246ER
Plan document, 575ER
Retirees/dependents surcharge, 454N
State Employees’ Retirement System, Board
of Trustees of the
Actuarial calculation, 977R
Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP), 81R
Emergency refunds, 974R
Handicapped/mentally retarded children, 977R
Judicial retirement, 974R
Military, 975R, 975R
Multiple positions service, 977R
Reinstated employees, 977R
Trustees, 81R
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Teachers’ Retirement System, Board of
Trustees of the
Deferred Retirement Option Plan (DROP), 321N, 621R,
833ER, 1019N
Participant member, 1019N

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

Fisheries, Office of
King Mackerel, 596ER
Red Snapper, 596ER
Wildlife, Office of
Threatened/endangered species, 455N, 877R
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
Alligator, 491ER, 689ER, 689ER, 910N, 941ER, 941ER
Commercial fisherman
Sales card, 81R
Sales report, 82R, 198R
Crab trap, 199R
Fish/wildlife values, 290R
Furbearer trapping, 952ER
Game Breeder’s license, 455N
Gill/trammel net, 294R
King Mackerel, 143ER
Lake Bruin, 294R
Mayhaw fruit, 290R
Menhaden, 833ER, 1020N
Migratory game birds, 834ER
Mullet, 143ER, 596ER, 699ER, 910N
Oyster season, 366ER
Oyster seed grounds, 834ER
Paddlefish, 543N, 978R
Records confidentiality, 82R
Resident game, 323N, 767R
Seed oysters, 23ER
Seismic exploration, 508R
Shrimp season
Chandeleur Sound, 246ER
Spring inshore, 491ER, 700ER, 700ER, 835ER
Fall inshore, 835ER
Spotted Seatrout, 199R, 217CR
Waterfowl, 952ER
Wild birds, 542N
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