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Emergency Rules

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education

(Editor’s Note: The following emergency rules
were adopted on November 20, 1975, by the State
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education as
an immediate response to the need for guidelines
for the distribution and administration of adult
Indo-Chinese refugee education funds.)

Additions to Section 5.2 of
the Louisiana 1975-1976 Annual Program
Plan for Adult Education

5.2 Adult Indo-Chinese Refugee Education Program

All adult Indo-Chinese refugee education funds
allocated to the State of Louisiana shall be used to
supplement ongoing adult education programs con-
ducted under the provisions of the Adult Education
Act and provide for the initiation, development,
and/or expansion of Adult Basic Education, Adult
Secondary Education, and bilingual education pro-
grams for adult Indo-Chinese refugees, sixteen years
of age and older who are not currently required to
be enrolled in school, offering them the opportunity
to receive academic instruction with emphasis on
speaking, reading, writing, computational skills, ser-
vices necessary to promote literacy for the purpose
of enabling them to become responsible and pro-
ductive members of American society, meet require-
ments to receive a high school equivalency diploma,
and promote the integration of Indo-Chinese refu-
gees into American society with proper respect for
the preservation of their own culture and language.

5.21 State Administration

A maximum of 7.5 percent of the total
allotment to the State may be utilized for state.
administrative purposes by the Bureau of Adult
and Community Education of the Louisiana
State Department of Education and the State
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
to pay additional costs incurred in the adminis-
tration of the Indo-Chinese Refugees Adult

Education Program.

5.22 Base Allocation to Local School Systems

A minimum of eighty percent of the total
allotment for adult Indo-Chinese refugee educa-
tion programs to the State shall be allocated to
local public school systems through a base
allocation of funds computed on the number of
adult Indo-Chinese refugees, age eighteen and
over, settling in a local school system, as it bears
percentagewise to the total number of Indo-
Chinese refugees initially resettling within the
State from the relocation centers. (Allocations
shall be based on figures submitted to the U.S.
Commissioner of Education by the Interagency
Task Force on Indo-China).

The available State funds multiplied by this
percentage will give the amount available to be
initially allocated to the local school board.

Example:

1. In Louisiana there was an initial estimate of
1,301 adult Indo-Chinese refugees age eight-
een years and over,

2. Suppose 130 is the total number of adult
Indo-Chinese refugees settling within a local
parish or city school system.

3. The parish or city percent then is 1,301
divided by 130 or ten percent.

4. Suppose $80,000 is the available State
funds to be allocated to all local systems in
the State.

5. The local school system’s allocation then
would be: $80,000 x ten percent of
$8,000.00

It must not be assumed by any parish or
city school authority that the initial allocation
to a school system can automatically be in-
creased or that expenditures made in excess of
their initial allocation will be reimbursed to that
system.

5.23 Supplemental Allocations to Local School
Systems

All adult education Into-Chinese refugee
education funds relinquished to the state office
by a local school system which does not plan to
utilize its total allocation prior to the end of the



fiscal year may be reallocated to other local
school systems based on the submission of a
“Supplementary Plan and Request for Alloca-
tion of Funds” (Form DE 520, Exhibit I of the
Louisiana 1975-76 Annual Program Plan for
Adult Education under the Adult Education
Act of 1966) with a letter justifying the need
for additional funds from the local superinten-
dent.

Supplementary requests for funds shall be
approved by the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education based upon recommenda-
tion of the Bureau of Adult and Community
Education, Louisiana State Department of Ed-
ucation.

5.24 Teacher Training

A maximum of 12.5% of the total state
allotment may be utilized for teacher training
programs specifically designed for teachers of
adult Indo-Chinese refugee education programs
provided sufficient funds are available after
state administration, base allocations, and sup-
plemental allocations have been approved.

Funds may be approved and utilized for
teacher training purposes in accordance with the
provisions of Section 309 of the Adult Educa-
tion Act and as outlined in Section 5.15 of the
Louisiana 1975-76 Annual Program Plan for
Adult Education.

5.25 Use of Funds by Local School Systems

5.251 Eligibility to Participate

In order for a local school system to
participate in the aduilt Indo-Chinese refu-
gee program it must comply with the
following:

(1) meet all requirements to participate in
the Adult Education Program as stipu-
lated in Section 1.342 of the Louisiana
1975-76 Annual Program Plan for
Adult Education.

(2) certify by letter from the local superin-
tendent to the Bureau of Adult and
Community Education that all funds
will be expended solely for adult educa-
tion programs and services for adult
Indo-Chinese refugees.

(3) submit to the Bureau of Adult and
Community Education and local assess-
ment of the number of adult Indo-
Chinese refugees eighteen years of age
and older who have resettled in the
parish or city school system.

(4) certify by letter from the local Superin-
tendent to the Bureau that priority will
be given to continuation of existing
programs by those local agencies and/or
organizations currently providing adult
Indo-Chinese refugee education services
based on local education agency evalua-
tion of those existing programs. The
local superintendent is required to con-
tact all local agencies, private and pub-
lic, which might be involved in pro-
grams for Indo-Chinese refugees.

(5) submit to the Bureau of Adult and
Community Education for approval by
the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education an intent to par-
ticipate in the program by completing a
“Plan and Request for an Allocation of
Funds” (Form DE-520) justifying pro-
jected expenditures for the fiscal year.

5.252 Rate of Reimbursement

The rate of reimbursement to the local
school system by the State Department of
Education to support the adult Indo-Chinese
refugee education program must be equal to the
exact expenditures of the operational cost of
the program each month, with the total amount
of approved allocations.

Reimbursement of expenditures to the local
school systems will be made monthly by the
State Department based upon receipt and ap-
proval of a separate Form DE-506—“Monthly
Report and Request for Reimbursement” justi-
fying adult Indo-Chinese refugee education pro-
gram expenditures from the local superinten-
dent. Form DE-506 is included as Exhibit H of
the Louisiana 1975-76 Annual Program Plan for
Adult Education.

5.2521 Local Operational Expenditures
Local school systems may use funds

allocated to them for instructional costs
incurred in the operation of the adult



Indo-Chinese refugee education classes
only.

Instructional costs in the local adult
Indo-Chinese refugee education program
shall consist of the following:

(1) teachers’ salaries

(2) paraprofessionals’ salaries used in an
instructional capacity

(3) employer’s contribution to retirement
and/or social security for instructional
personnel

(4) teacher travel (when required)

(5) in-service education

(6) instructional supplies, books, and
materials

All local operational expenditures for
the above eligible instructional costs of the
adult Indo-Chinese refugee education pro-
gram shall be made in accordance with the
procedures set forth in Section 6.0 of the
Louisiana 1975-76 Annual Program Plan for
Adult Education.

5.253 Records and Reports

Each local school system participating in
the adult Indo-Chinese refugee education pro-
gram must prepare and submit separate forms
for this program to the State Department of
Education for accounting expenditures and
compile all program statistics each fiscal year as
stipulated in Section 6.8 of the Louisiana
1975-76 Annual Program Plan for Adult Educa-
tion in order to assure non-commingling of
funds.

In addition, the local agency will make two
copies of the identification card issued to each
Indo-Chinese refugee participant keeping one of
its official Adult and Community Education.
The copies of these identification cards can be
used to justify the total number of refugees
served in the adult education program.

The Bureau of Adult and Community Edu-
cation of the Louisiana State Department of
Education shall be responsible for compiling all
local reports into a separate composite state
report to the U.S. Commissioner of Education
as a part of the financial and narrative reporting
requirements under the Adult Education Act
and include all information requested under

Section 166.67, Sub-part G, Adult Indo-Chinese
Refugee Education Program.

Earl Ingram
Director

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Louisiana Health and Human Resources Administration
Division of Health
Office of Milk and Dairy Products

The Louisiana Health and Human Resources Admin-
istration, Division of Health, is revising the State
Sanitary Code to provide for administrative hearings to
an applicant upon the denial of permits under Section
5.B4 of the State Sanitary Code and for the payment of
expenses incurred in connection with permits issued
under that section of the State Sanitary Code. The
following is an amended version of Section 5.B.4 of the
State Sanitary Code which is adopted on an emergency
basis effective January 19, 1976, pursuant to R.S.
49:953B:

5.B.4 Imported Milk and Milk Products. (1) It shall be
unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to ship
milk or milk products (except Extra and Standard grades
of dry milk and dry milk products) into Louisiana from
without the State without first obtaining a permit from
the State Health Officer. (2) All milk and milk products
(except Extra and Standard grades of dry milk and dry
milk products) brought into Louisiana from without the
State shall be of Grade A quality. The production
sources may be inspected by a duly authorized represen-
tative of the State Health Officer, or in lieu thereof, the
State Health Officer may accept the certificate of
inspection of a duly authorized governmental represen-
tative, agent or agency of such other state wherein such
products are produced. Any denial of a permit as
required in (1) above shall be made only after an
administrative hearing has been held and if that hearing
is requested by the applicant within fifteen days of said
denial. Said hearing shall afford the applicant an
opportunity to prove that its milk and milk products,
raw and pasteurized, meet the requirements of the
Louisiana State Sanitary Code. The Health Officer or his
duly authorized representative may require a reasonable
deposit in advance and full reimbursement to the State
of Louisiana, Division of Health, for total costs incurred
including salary, travel, per diem, expenses, or fees
incurred for inspection of the milk and milk sources
located outside of the State of Louisiana, whether said
inspection is ordered made by Louisiana officials or by



governmental representatives of another state. (3) All
dry milk and dry milk products brought into Louisiana
from without the state shall meet minimum require-
ments for at least one of the following grade designa-
tions and shall be labeled accordingly: (a) Grade A, as
defined in Section 5.K.15 of this code; (b) Extra, as
defined in Section 5.K.16 of this code; (c) Standard, as
defined in Section 5K.17 of the code. Production
sources and processing plants may be inspected by a
duly authorized representative of the State Health
Officer, or in lieu thereof, the State Health Officer may
accept the certificate of inspection of a duly authorized
governmental representative, agent or agency of such
other state wherein such products are produced.

Copies of the emergency rule are available for public
examination at the Office of the Louisiana Health and
Human Resources Administration, Division of Health,
Milk and Dairy Products, Room 408 Louisiana State
Office Building, 325 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans,
Louisiana 70112.

William H. Stewart, M.D.
Commissioner

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission at
its regular monthly meeting held at its office in New
Orleans on November 18, 1975, considered and ap-
proved, as an emergency item, rules and administrative
procedures for Act 811 of 1975, otherwise known as the
Certificate of Exemption from Louisiana Sales and Use
Taxes, approved by the Governor on August 4, 1975.

In view of the fact that many of our shrimp
fishermen are in serious economic circumstances and
require funds to allow them to shrimp this current
season, the Commission is doing all that is possible to
expedite full participation in securing the exemption
certificates as provided for in the Act.

The text of the emergency rule follows:
Definitions
Act: When used in these regulations and procedures, the
term “‘Act” refers to Act 811 of the Regular Legislative
Session of 1975, creating the sales tax exemption in

favor of Louisiana commercial fishermen.

Commission: The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Com-
mission, 400 Royal Street, New Orleans, Louisiana,

which has been delegated the authority to issue regula-
tions to enforce the provisions of the Act.

Louisiana Commercial Fisherman: Any Louisiana resi-
dent domiciled in the State who possesses a current
commercial fishing license and is an owner-operator of a
vessel principally and predominantly used for commer-
cial fishing ventures and whose catch shall be for human
consumption.

Owner-Operator: The owner of a vessel or one that is
being purchased under a lease purchase arrangement who
physically operates or hires an employee to operate the
vessel. The rental or leasing without purchase option of a
vessel shall not be construed to be included within this
classification and is excluded from the provisions of this
Act.

Principally and Predominantly: Any percentage of use
that exceeds fifty percent.

Human Consumption: That portion of the catch that is
consumed by humans directly and is the principal reason
for the catch.

Application for Exemption: The official form as revised
from time to time issued by Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission to any person who wishes to apply
for and obtain exemption certificates provided for by
the Act.

Certificate of Exemption: The official form issued by
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission without
charge to a Louisiana commercial fisherman for the sales
tax exemption provided by the Act for each vessel
owned by the said fisherman, used by him predominant-
ly for commercial fishing ventures.

Taxes: Louisiana Sale and Use taxes only which:

(1) apply to materials and supplies necessary for
repairs to a vessel if they are purchased by a Louisiana
commercial fisherman and later become a component
part of the vessel;

(2) apply to materials and supplies purchased by a
Louisiana commercial fisherman where such materials
and supplies are loaded upon a vessel for use or
consumption in the maintenance and operation thereof
for commercial fishing ventures whether the said vessel is
engaged in interstate, foreign, or intrastate commerce;

(3) apply to repair services performed for a vessel
owned by a Louisiana commercial fisherman whether
the said vessel is engaged in intrastate, interstate, or
foreign commerce;



(4) apply to the purchase of diesel fuel and lubri-
cant for a vessel owned by the Louisiana commercial
fisherman.

Rules and Procedures

1. All applications for certificates of exemption
may be obtained at the office of the Louisiana Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission, 400 Royal Street, New
Orleans, Louisiana, or at any of its district offices
throughout the State.

2. An application so obtained shall be completed,
with the applicant fumishing all the information re-
quested, shall be signed and filed with the Louisiana
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, 400 Royal Street,
New Orleans, Louisiana.

3. Exemption from the sales and use taxes pro-
vided by the Act as defined in these rules and procedures
is available for each vessel owned by a Louisiana
commercial fisherman and used in commercial fishing.

4. A separate application for each vessel is re-
quired to be filed with the Commission, and a separate
certificate for exemption shall be issued for each
exempted vessel.

5. Upon the receipt of the application, the Louisi-
ana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall determine
whether or not the applicant is eligible for a tax
exemption and upon favorable determination shall issue
a certificate of exemption to each qualified Louisiana
commercial fisherman for each exempted vessel.

6. The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commis-
sion shall issue blank certificates prepared for the
qualified Louisiana commercial fisherman to be com-
pleted by him and presented to each vendor by him as
his authorization for the tax exemption.

7. Each vendor shall be notified by notation on
the exemption certificates that the exemption certifi-
cates so presented to him by the qualified Louisiana
commercial fisherman must be maintained at the office
of the vendor in support for the exempted sales claimed
by him on his Louisiana sales tax returns. No taxfree
purchases may be made without the certificate of
exemption.

8. The blank exemption forms shall be available at
the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, 400
Royal Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, and at its district
offices and will be furnished with the exemption
certificates and upon request.

9. The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commis-
sion may require reasonable substantiation of the ap-
plication for exemption and may refuse to issue a
certificate of exemption to applicants who are deter-
mined to be unqualified. The applicants shall be so
notified in writing and advised of his right to appeal to
the Civil District Court for the Parish of Orleans in
accordance with the provisions of the Act.

10. The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commis-
sion will maintain on file at its office at 400 Royal
Street, New Orleans, Louisiana all applications for
exemption filed and all certificates of exemption issued
to commercial fishermen with all supporting documenta-
tion.

11. The certificates of exemption will expire con-
current with the expiration date of the holder’s commer-
cial fishing license, unless sooner revoked by law, and
must be surrendered to the Louisiana Wildlife and
Fisheries Commission if the holder is no longer qualified
and entitled to the exemption. At the end of the
exemption period, should the certificate still be valid,
the holder thereof shall surrender same to the Commis-
sion for cancellation and must again apply to the
Commission for the certificate of exemption in accor-
dance with the rules and procedures herein provided.

12. There shall also be exempt from Louisiana sale

‘and use taxes the purchase of any vessel which the

Commission determines will be used principally and
predominantly for commercial fishing ventures. The
Louisiana commercial fisherman has the burden to
demonstrate the vessel’s qualification for the exemption.

13, The Commission’s determination can be made
either before or after the purchase. In the event the
Commission makes the determination that the purchase
is exempt but the taxes have been paid, the Department
of Revenue of the State of Louisiana shall rebate the
taxes paid by the Louisiana commercial fisherman upon
his presenting to the proper authority within the
Department of Revenue a certificate of exemption
issued by the Commission.

14. The exclusions provided by the Act and in these
rules and administrative procedures apply to sale and use
taxes imposed by the State of Louisiana, and do not
apply to such taxes authorized and levied by any school
board, municipality, or other local taxing authority.

J. Burton Angelie, Sr.
Director



Rules

RULES

State Board of Architectural Examiners

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the State Board of Architectural Examiners on
December 18, 1975, to be effective on January 20,
1976.)

Amendment to Part VII of
the Rules and Regulations

A) The Louisiana State Board of Architectural Ex-

B)

aminers directs the administrative agency of the
Board to mail a letter to each Louisiana resident

architect on or about the first Friday in March of

each year, stating that the Board will accept
nominees for the Architectural Selection Board, as
provided in Act 721 of 1975, on the following basis:
Any resident architect holding a current valid
Louisiana license who on or before the first Friday
in April of the year in which the election is held
furnishes a petition by certified mail to be received
by 4:15 p.m. on that day, and verified by the
administrative agency of the Board. The petition
shall contain:

1) the signatures of ten qualified (Louisiana li-
censed) architects endorsing his nomination,

2) name, signature, and license number of the
endorsee,

3) biographical statement of 150 words or less.

The Louisiana State Board of Architectural Ex-
aminers shall have election ballots printed for each
registered resident Louisiana architect (as of May 1
of the year in which the election is held), and the
ballots shall contain the embossed seal of the State
Board of Architectural Examiners. Three envelopes
shall be printed; one envelope will be used to mail
the ballot package and one of the two remaining
envelopes will be used as the return envelope which
shall contain the ballot which has been sealed within
the third envelope. A place shall be printed on the
return envelope for the signature and license number
of the qualified voter.

0)

D)

E)

F)

The ballot, containing the names of nominees, shall
be mailed to resident architects the second Friday in
May of the year in which the election is held, and
shall include the following:

“Since four candidates are to be chosen, vote for
four nominees. If more or less than four candidates
are voted for, the ballot will be voided.”

Rules governing election:

The four nominees elected will be based on plural-
ity. No write-in candidates will be counted.

The two candidates receiving the largest number of
votes will serve a one year term beginning July 1 of
the year in which the election is held; the two
receiving the lesser number of votes will serve a one
year term beginning January 1 of the year following
the election.

If two or more candidates are elected from the same
firm, the ones with the least number of votes will be
eliminated. A runoff election will be held if two or
more candidates from the same firm receive the
same number of votes.

The official ballot shall be returned to the Louisiana
State Board of Architectural Examiners, P. O. Box
44095, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70804, and shall be received by 4:15 p.m. the last
Friday in May of the year in which the election is
held.

The Tabulation Committee shall consist of at least
three members of the Architectural Licensing Board,
and a representative of the administrative agency for
the Board. All votes shall be tabulated on the first
Friday in June in the year in which the election is
held.

Alvin J. Unick, Director
Department of Occupational Standards

RULES

Department of Civil Service

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the Civil Service Commission on January 7,
1976, to be effective February 10, 1976.)




Chapter 1:
Amend and reenact Rule 1.5.1 to read as follows:

1.5.1 ‘Bona Fide Student’ means a person enrolled
in an accredited high school, college, or universi-
ty in the State, or a person enrolled in a
State-operated vocational-technical school, in a
sufficient number of courses and classes in such
institution to be classified as a full-time regular
student under the criteria used by the institu-
tion in which he is enrolled; or a person enrolled
in an off-campus college work-study program in
a proprietary institution of higher education as
defined in Section 461(b) of the Higher Educa-
tion Act of 1965, as amended. A bona fide
student shall not lose his status as such because
of vacations during the academic year or be-
cause of his failure to attend summer school.

Chapter 1:
Enact Rule 1.25.1 to read as follows:

1.25.1 ‘Preference Employee’ means an employee
who is an ex-member of the armed forces and
his or her dependents as defined in Rule 7.11.

Chapter 1:
Amend and reenact Rule 1.32 to read as follows:

1.32 ‘Reallocation’ means a change in the allocation
of a position from one class to another class
wherein the duties of the position have under-
gone a change.

Chapter 1:

Enact Rule 1.40.1 to read as follows:

1.40.1 ‘Title Change’ means a change in the title of
the class to which a position is allocated
without change in the position’s duty and
responsibility content.

Chapter 2:
Amend and reenact Rule 2.9(c) to read as follows:

2.9(c) To conduct investigations whenever it has
reason to believe the provisions of the Civil
Service Article or Rules are being violated or
have been violated by any person or depart-
ment; and to hold public hearings when charges

of such violations have been filed with it. The
Commission may issue appropriate orders in any
such case, in addition to those orders provided
for in Subsections (k) and (1) of this Rule.

Chapter 2:
Enact Rule 2.9(k) to read as follows:

2.9(k) To issue orders withholding compensation
from any person who, after investigation by
public hearing, has been found by the Commis-
sion to be employed or paid by the State
contrary to the provisions of the Constitution
or the Rules adopted thereunder. Such orders
may be directed to the officer having the
authority to approve the payroll or assign the
paycheck for such employee; and the officer to
whom it is directed and any other person to
whom such order is directed shall make no
payment of compensation or authorize the
making of any such payment to such person
until authorized by the Commission upon penal-
ty of personal liability for the sum so paid
contrary to the order of the Commission and
such other penalties as are otherwise provided
by the Constitution and/or the Rules.

Chapter 2:
Enact Rule 2.9(1) to read as follows:
2.9(1) To enforce its rules, regulations, and orders

in the courts of this State by mandamus or
injunction suits.

Chapter 3:

Enact Rule 3.1(p) and (q) to read as follows:

3.1(p) To develop and propose to the Commission
uniform classification and pay plans and amend-
ments thereto.

3.1(q) To develop and propose to the Commission,
rules and amendments thereto governing em-
ployment conditions for employees in the Class-
ified Service.

Chapter 5:

Enact Rule 5.7 to read as follows:

5.7 Status of Incumbents when Position is Affected
by Title Change.



When a position is affected by a title change,
the incumbent shall be entitled to serve therein
without change in status.

Chapter 6:
Amend and reenact Rule 6.4(c) to read as follows:

6.4(c) Subject to the provisions of Subsection (a) of
this Rule, the pay of an employee reentering the
Classified Service, other than one being restored
to duty following military service, may be fixed
at a rate within the range for the new position
which does not exceed the highest salary he
previously earned while serving with permanent
status in a classified position under other than
detail to special duty, provided:

Chapter 6:
Enact Rule 6.15(d)(8) to read as follows:

6.15(d)(8) A title change.
Chapter 6:

Amend and reenact Rule 6.25(b)(1) to read as
follows:

6.25(b)(1) While he is occupying a position for
which the current minimum of the pay range is
$896 per month or more, unless this limitation
has been removed through the application of
the provisions of Rule 11.29(j).

Chapter 6:
Enact Rule 6.29(a) and (b) to read as follows:
6.29 Rate of Pay on Titie Change.

(a) When a position is changed from one class
to another class, both classes of which have
the same minimum rate of pay, the em-
ployee’s pay shall not be changed by reason
of the title change.

(b) When a position is changed to another class
having a different minimum rate of pay, the
employee’s pay shall be fixed according to
the provisions of Rule 6.12.

Chapter 7:

Amend and reenact Rule 7.4(d) and (e) as follows:

7.4(d) An applicant who is admitted to and takes

an examination shall not be admitted to another
examination for the same class of position until
a period of at least four weeks has elapsed from
the date he took the examination, provided,
that no such applicant shall be admitted to an
examination for the same class of position more
than three times in any twelve-month period.
The applicant’s official grade shall be the one
obtained on his most recent examination.

(e) Repealed, effective February 10, 1976.
Chapter 7:
Amend and reenact Rule 7.14 to read as follows:

7.14 Rating Candidate in Lower Classes than the
One Applied For.

Whenever a candidate has successfully passed an
examination for which he has applied which
includes questions on subject matter applicable
to a lower class for which he has not applied,
the Director may, with the consent of the
candidate and his representation that he is
available for appointment in the lower class,
place his name on the eligible list for the lower
class with the same final rating earned by him
on the examination which he successfully
passed.

Chapter 8:
Amend and reenact Rule 8.8(b) to read as follows:
8.8(b) If a certified eligible indicates unavailability
for appointment, or if he fails to reply to an
availability inquiry within seven calendar days
after mailing of notification, the appointing

authority may consider his name as having been
removed from the certificate.

Chapter 8:
Amend and reenact Rule 8.18(c) to read as follows:

8.18(c) Repealed, effective February 10, 1976.

Chapter 8:
Enact Rule 8.26 to read as follows:

8.26 Status of Unclassified Employees Upon Con-
stitutional Reorganization of State Government.



When State departments and agencies are re-
organized pursuant to the provisions of the
Constitution of 1974:

(a) An employee occupying a position with
unclassified status and whose position is
retained by the State may be continued in
his position with probationary status with-
out competitive examination provided:

1. His position falls within the classified
service; and

2. He possesses the minimum qualification
requirements established for the class
to which his position has been allocated
by the Director; and

3. He has had at least one year of continu-
ous service with the Department or
agency involved commencing on or
before January 1, 1976, and continuing
until the date of the reorganization.

4. He is otherwise eligible for employment
in the Classified Service.

(b) The rate of pay of an employee entering the
Classified Service pursuant to Subsection
(a) of this Rule shall be fixed in accordance
with the provisions of Rule 6.28.

(c) Unused annual, sick, and compensatory
leave earned by and credited to an em-
ployee entering the Classified Service pur-
suant to Subsection (a) of this Rule shall be
assumed by his acquiring department and
shall be recredited to him. Thereafter, he
shall earn and be credited with leave bene-
fits as provided elsewhere in these Rules.

(d) An employee who enters the Classified
Service pursuant to the provisions of Sub-
section (a) of this Rule shall be amenable to
the provisions of these Rules with respect
to all other aspects of his service as a
Classified employee of the State.

Chapter 11:
Enact Rule 11.23(j) to read as follows:

11.23(j) Engaged in the representation of a client in

a criminal proceeding pursuant to an order of a
court of competent jurisdiction, provided if
compensation for such services is available from

another source, he may not accept the special
leave and the compensation.

Chapter 11:

Amend and reenact Rule 11.29(a) and (b) to read as

follows:

11.29(a) Subject to the provisions of Subsections

(®)

(d) and (i) of this Rule and the requirements of
Federal rules, statutes, regulations, and judicial
decisions, an employee serving in a position for
which the current minimum rate of the range is
$896 per month or more who is required to
perform overtime duty may, in the discretion of
his appointing authority, be credited with com-
pensatory leave equal to the number of extra
hours he has been required to work.

Subject to the provisions of Rules 6.25(b)(3),
11.28(b), 11.29(d), 11.29(i), and 11.29(j), an
employee serving in a position for which the
current minimum of the pay range is less than
$896 per month who is required to perform
overtime duty shall, at the option of his
appointing authority, but in conformity with
the provisions of the Federal rules, statutes,
regulations, and judicial decisions

1. Be credited by his appointing authority
with compensatory leave equal to the num-
ber of extra hours he has been required to
work, or

2. Be compensated for the extra hours of
work as authorized by Rule 6.25.

Chapter 11:

Amend and reenact Rule 11.29(j) to read as follows:

11.29() In unusual cases, and upon recommenda-

tion of the Director, the Commission may
extend the application of the provisions of
Subsection (b) of this Rule to one or more
individual employees or to specific groups or
classes of employees in specific departments
who occupy positions for which the current
minimum rate of the pay range is $896 or more,
and who are required to perform overtime duty;
provided, that the Director’s recommendation
must be accompanied by the appropriate ap-
pointing authority’s representation that the
overtime duty involved will be required over an
extended period of time; except that where the



payment of overtime is required under the
provisions of Federal rules, statutes, regulations,
and judicial decisions, such payment is autho-
rized to be made by the appointing authority.

Chapter 12:

Amend and reenact Rule 12.2(2) and (c) to read as
follows:

12.2(a) Any employee who is suspended without
pay shall be so notified by his appointing
authority on or before the effective date of the
suspension. Each permanent or probationary
employee so suspended shall be furnished de-
tailed reasons therefor in writing within fifteen
calendar days following the effective date of the
suspension. A copy of such detailed reasons
shall be furnished to the Director.

(c) An employee who has been suspended without
pay may ..¢ paid for time lost if his conduct,
ability, or performance is found after investiga-
tion to be such as not to warrant disciplinary or
corrective action. A written report of such
action shall be furnished to the Director.

Chapter 13:

Amend and reenact Rule 13.11(b) and (c) to read as
follows:

13.11(b) Be signed by the appellant, or on his
behalf by an attorney duly licensed to practice
law in the Courts of the State of Louisiana, or
on his behalf by a senior student of law
designated under the provisions of Rule
13.19(b)2; and

(c) Give the name and mailing address of the

appellant, and of his attorney or designated
senior law student, if any and

Chapter 13:
Enact Rule 13.12(d) to read as follows:
13.12(d) No appeal shall be supplemented or

amended following the expiration of the delay
period stipulated by Subsection (a) hereof.

Chapter 13:

Amend and reenact Rule 13.16(a) to read as
follows:
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13.16(a) Subject to the provisions of Subsections
(b) and (c) hereof, all appeals before the
Commission or on referee shall be heard in a
convenient place, accessible to the public, in the
City of Baton Rouge, Louisiana, selected by the
Director.

Chapter 13:

Amend and reenact Rule 13.19(m) to read as
follows:

13.19(mm) Subject to the provisions of Subsections
(r) and (s), the charges expressed in writing by
the appointing authority as cause for demotion,
suspension, dismissal, or other action, shall not
be accepted as prima facie true. Evidence shall
not be received from an appointing authority to
supplement or enlarge the charges contained in
such written document. The appellant may
rebut any proof offered by the appointing
authority in support of the charges.

Chapter 13:

Amend and reenact Rule 13.19(r) to read as
follows:

13.19(r) Subject to the provisions of Subsections
(m) and (s), when a classified employee alleges
that he has been discriminated against because
of his political or religious beliefs, sex, or race,
the facts expressed in writing by the appointing
authority as cause for the demotion, suspension,
dismissal, or other action, shall be accepted as
prima facie true. Evidence shall not be received
from an appointing authority to supplement or
enlarge the facts as so expressed. The appointing
authority may rebut any proof offered by the
appellant employee in contradiction of the facts
expressed in writing by the appointing author-
ity. The burden of proof as to the facts shall be
on the appellant and the Commission may, in its
discretion, require him to open the case. ‘

Chapter 13:
Enact Rule 13.19(s)1 and 2 to read as follows:

13.19(s) In combination appeals, where the ap-
pellant denies the verity or severity of a portion
or all of the charges set forth in writing and
where he alleges discrimination with respect to

all or a portion of the charges:



1. As to that portion of the facts set forth in
writing, the verity or severity of which is
denied by the appellant, the burden of
proof shall rest upon the appointing author-

ity.

2. As to that portion of the appeal in which
the appellant alleges discrimination, the
burden of proof shall rest upon the appel-
lant.

Chapter 13:

Amend and reenact Rule 13.24(a) to read as
follows:

13.24(a) The proceedings of all appellate hearings
before the Commission shall be recorded, but
shall be transcribed only upon order of the
Commission or the Director and upon payment
by the person requesting the transcript of such
cost as may be determined by the Director.

Chapter 13:
Amend and reenact Rule 13.33 to read as follows:

13.33 Interrogatories; Pre-Trial Discovery; Rehear-
ing of Appeal.

(a) Interrogatories and pre-trial discovery pro-
ceedings shall not be recognized by the
Commission.

(b) No rehearing shall be granted from a final
decision of the Commission.

Chapter 14:

Amend and reenact Rule 14.1(e)4 to read as
follows:

14.1(e)4 Note: Deleted effective

1976.

February 10,

Chapter 16:
Amend and reenact Rule 16.3(b) to read as follows:

16.3(b) Within six months following the filing of
written charges with the Director or the Com-
mission by any person of a violation of the
Article or the Rules allegedly committed by any
person within the preceding one year, the
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Commission shall investigate and hold a public
hearing concerning such charges.

Harold E. Forbes
Director

RULES

Board of Trustees for State
Colleges and Universities

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
on December 19, 1975, ta be effective on January
20, 1976.)

Part III

Physical Plants, Building Use,
Capital Outlay, and Construction

Section 3.1 Selection of Professional Architects, Engi-
neers, and Landscape Architects for Public Con-
tracts.

The Regular 1975 session of the Louisiana Legisla-
ture enacted revised statutes which created profes-
sional services selection boards for architects, engi-
neers, and landscape architects.

Architects and engineers to be considered must be
registered and licensed under the law of the State of
Louisiana.

The Legislature provided for three boards as fol-
lows:

A. The Louisiana Architects Selection Board com-
posed of seven members—six regular members
and one member from the particular user
agency.

B. The Louisiana Engineers Selection Board com-
posed of seven members—six regular members
and one member from the particular user
agency. :

C. The Louisiana Landscape Architects Selection
Board composed of five members—four regular
members and one member from the particular
user agency.

Projects which are predominantly architectural in
character shall be classified as architectural projects;



likewise, projects which are predominantly engineer-
ing character shall be classified as engineering
projects. Classification shall be made by the Division
of Administration.

Whenever a particular project is under consideration,
the president of the institution or his designated
representative shall participate as a member of the
professional selection board for architects, engi-
neers, or landscape architects handling the particular
project.

The participation of the user agency member shall
be restricted to matters directly affecting the project
of his agency, and he shall be entitled to vote on all
matters affecting the project of his agency.

Section 3.2 Fees for Bond Attorneys

If bond attorneys are employed by the Board, fees
shall be governed by provisions of Act 619 of 1954
with the concurrence of the State Attorney General.

Section 3.3 Limits of Project Cost and Project Scope

A. Total Construction Budget:
The total construction budget as indicated to
the designer by the owner shall include the
scope of work for which the designer is respon-
sible, including the design fee. Any contingency
fund noted shall be reserved at the time of
award of construction contracts.

B. Cost Limitations:
The designer shall conform his plans to a design
for which the construction cost, together with
the addition of design fees, shall not exceed the
total construction budget.

C. Fees for Architects and Engineers:

Fees for professional services shall be computed
prior to the signing of the contract between
owner and designer. Computation of the base
fee, reimbursable expenses, and charges for any
additional services shall be in accordance with
the latest edition of the Procedure Manual for
Capital Improvement Projects, for Planning,
Design, and Construction issued by the Division
of Administration,

D. Payment to the Designer:
Colleges and universities shall make provision to
pay architects and/or engineers from funds
available and authorized for contractual pur-
poses upon satisfactory completion of the work
as hereinafter indicated:

12

—

Schematic Design, up to fifteen percent

2. Design Development, up to thirty percent

3. Construction Documents, up to seventy
percent

4. Bidding and Contracts, up to seventy-five
percent

5. Construction Contract Administration, up

to one hundred percent

E. Certificates of Payment:

Based on such observation at the site and on the
contractor’s application for payment, the de-
signer (architect/engineer) shall determine the
amount owed the contractor and shall issue
certificates of payment in such amount. The
designer shall submit his certificate and submit
the requests to the owner in triplicate for
payment, all in accordance with the aforemen-
tioned procedure manual of the Division of
Administration.

Section 3.4 Contracts

A. Standard forms approved by the Office of the
Attorney General shall be used by the Board in
connection with architectural and engineering
contractual services.

B. The Board shall not consider any plans sub-
mitted by an architect/engineer for any building
or construction project under its control until a
signed and confirmed contract is on file.

C. Before preliminary or final construction plans
are presented to the Board, the plans shall have
been reviewed by the officials of the institution
affected, Facilities Planning and Control, Divi-
sion of Administration, and the Physical Plant
Committee of the Board.

Section 3.5 Bids and Specifications, Bid Forms

The estimated cost of the items should be.placed on
the bid form when submitted to the Board for
approval and permission to obtain bids.

Section 3.6 Procedure for Bidding

A. The president and business manager of the
university or college together with the technical
representative of the Board are authorized to
receive bids. The advertising for bids and the
opening of bids shall be in strict accordance
with State law pertaining to this procedure. The

bids shall be tabulated and submitted to the



Board for selection of the low bidder meeting
specifications and for the awarding of the
contract.

B. All bid openings on general construction con-
tracts shall be held in an administrative office
on the campuses of the various colleges and
universities under the jurisdiction of the Board
or in Baton Rouge at a designated office in the
State complex.

C. All architects/engineers who are engaged to
perform work for the Board shall be instructed
that, for the purpose of advertising for bids, a
base bid category with approved sequential
alternates shall be the sole figure requested of
bidding contractors.

D. Bid forms with estimated costs and detailed
specifications on furniture and equipment to be
purchased from funds under the jurisdiction of
the Board shall have prior Board approval
before bids are let. The Board shall give autho-
rity and permission to advertise for and to
receive bids.

E. After bids have been duly received, the college
or university shall present a bid tabulation
sheet, signed and certified, to the Board for
approval of the low bidder meeting specifica-
tions.

F. The approval of specifications for the purchase
of furniture and equipment applies only to
those items that have to be approved by the
Board.

Section 3.7 Facilities, Use of

When facilities of the institution are used for
activities other than those of the institution, organi-
zations concerned shall be required to reimburse the
school for all costs incurred in connection with the
affair, and they shall be further required to carry
sufficient public liability insurance to protect all
parties concerned, including the institution.

Section 3.8 Naming of Buildings

A. Recommendations regarding the naming of
buildings on the campuses shall be made by the
president of the institution and received and
approved by the Board.

B. A standard plaque designed by the Board may
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be placed on self-liquidating buildings to be
built on the campuses of colleges and universi-
ties under the supervision of the Board.

C. No plaques shall be installed or designed for any
college or university building until submitted to
the Board.

Section 3.9 Projects

A. Construction projects shall not be accepted by
the Board until final acceptance +is recom-
mended by the architect/engineer, the president
of the institution, Facility Planning and Con-
trol, Division of Administration, and the Physi-
cal Plant Committee of the Board.

Section 3.10 Plans and Specifications

A. Plans for construction of buildings at the
institutions as well as all other matters pertain-
ing to the buildings and grounds, should first be
submitted to the Physical Plant Committee for
examination and approval. The Board will act
only upon the recommendation of the Physical
Plant Committee,

B. All master plans for the colleges and universities
shall be approved by the president of the
institution before they are submitted to the
Physical Plant Committee for consideration.

C. When applications for construction of all build-
ings at the institutions of higher education are
presented to the Board, they must be accom-
panied by all pertinent data on existing facilities
and occupancy. Requests for construction of
new dormitories shall be accompanied by a
special report with reference to the distance the
dormitory students live from a dormitory.

D. All construction projects, additions, change
orders, or any other additions or reductions in
the scope of the contract shall have prior
approval of the Board.

Section 3.11 Construction Under Division of Adminis-

tration

When the final plans and specifications of the
building or construction project under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board have been approved by the
Facilities Planning and Control Section, Division of
Administration for location on a site designated by
the Board, the Division of Administration shall be
requested to proceed with the project with the



understanding that the president of the institution
and the technical representative of the Board shall
collaborate with the Facilities Planning and Control
Section, Division of Administration.

Section 3.12 Easements, Servitudes, and Rights-of-Way

All requests for easements, servitudes, and rights-of-
way on college or university campuses or properties
under the jurisdiction of the Board shall be sub-
mitted fully documented by the president of the
institution to the Physical Plant Committee for

approval by the Board, subject to approval of the
" State Attorney General.

Section 3.13 Options

Any option of the Board on land on which the date
of expiration has passed shall be cancelled and any
such matter shall be brought to the immediate
attention of the Board.

Part Vi

Financial and Leave Policies and Procedures

Section 6.1 Reports

A. All colleges and universities under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board shall submit an annual report
of all funds from all sources by August 1 each
year in order that the Board may see an overall
picture of their financial situations. Such re-
ports shall be submitted on forms prescribed by
the Board staff as approved by the Board.

B. All colleges and universities under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board shall submit to the Board
office one copy of the monthly report of
operations required by the State Division of
Administration.

Section 6.2 Budgets

A. Budgetary requests by each college and univer-
sity for the ensuing fiscal year for presentation
to the Governor and the Legislature shall be
presented to the Board for approval prior to
presentation to the Governor and the Legisla-
ture. After appropriations have been made by
the Legislature and approved by the Governor,
each college and university shall submit a

revised budget to the Board for approval, based
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on the amounts appropriated and changes re-
sulting from legislative action.

B. Budget changes or adjustments within an ap-

proved budget involving transfers between prin-
cipal budget categories, including receipts as
well as expenditures, shall be submitted to the
Board for approval prior to submission to any
other State agency.

C. Any fixed financial relations between students

and a college or university which affect the
budget shall have approval of the Board.

D. All capital outlay budget requests for presenta-

tion to the Governor and the Legislature shall
be submitted to the Board for approval prior to
presentation to the Governor and the Legisla-
ture.

Section 6.3 Federal Funds

A. All colleges and universities are authorized to
make application for Federal funds from any
Federal agency for educational purposes, con-
struction of physical facilities, student aid or
other purpose which will assist the colleges and
universities in carrying out their functions and
responsibilities.

B. Each college and university making application
for Federal grants shall submit a summary of
the application to the Board office; when a
grant award is received, a copy shall be sub-
mitted to the Board office.

C. Colleges and universities are authorized to em-
ploy an independent firm of certified public
accountants to audit Federal programs upon
specific approval of the action by the Board.
Such action shall be taken when the Federal
guidelines for the audit of such programs
necessitate it; payment for such audits shall .be
the responsibility of the college or university
employing the CPA firm.

Section 6.4 Compliance with Federal and State Laws

It shall be the policy of the Board that all colleges
and universities under its control shall comply with
all Federal and State laws and that there shall be no
discrimination on the grounds of race, color, or
national origin in providing individual services,
financial aid, or other benefits; or in the use of
lands, buildings, equipment, or other facilities.



jection 6.5 Student Residence Regulations

Because residence classification is an important part
of fee determination, admission regulations, and
other policies of the colleges and universities, it is
important that colleges and universities have fair and
equitable regulations which can be administered
consistently and still respect the interests of both
the students and the taxpayers of Louisiana. It is the
responsibility of the student to provide the colleges
and universities with such evidence as deemed
necessary to establish his residence status.

The residence status of an applicant or student shall
be determined in accordance with Board regulations
and shall be based upon evidence provided in the
application for admission and related documents.
Residence status shall be determined by the office
of the registrar andfor admissions officer after the
completed application for admission has been sub-
mitted. The regulations shall be based primarily on
the location of the home and the place of employ-
ment. Residence status may not be acquired by an
applicant or student while residing in Louisiana for
the primary purpose of attending school. Residence
status is not determined for students registered for
three semester hours or less.

A. An applicant living with his parents shall be
classified as a resident if the parents have
established a bona fide residence in Louisiana if
he actually resides and is employed full time in
the State. A parent who is unable to be
employed or who is a housewife may be
considered to have established a residence in
Louisiana if there is convincing evidence that
the person continuously resides in Louisiana. If
only one parent qualifies as a resident of
Louisiana, the student shall be classified as a
resident. An individual who resides in Louisiana
and is employed full time in another state, or an
individual who resides in another state and is
employed full time in Louisiana may be classi-
fied as a resident. In such case, appropriate
documentary evidence shall be presented.

B. An applicant who resides in another state may
be considered a resident if a deceased parent
qualified under these regulations as a resident of
Louisiana at the time of his death. Such an
applicant who has resided and been employed
full time in another state for two years or longer
cannot qualify as a resident under this provi-
sion.
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C. A student residing with his parents who enrolls
as a nonresident shall be classified as a resident
if his parents move to Louisiana and acquire
residence as defined in these regulations.

D. A person may be classified as a resident of
Louisiana at the end of twelve consecutive
months of residence if he has been employed
full time in Louisiana and if during that period
he has not been registered in an educational
institution for more than six semester hours or
its equivalent in any semester. A person who is
unable to be employed and who has not been
registered in any educational institution for
more than six semester hours or its equivalent in
any semester may acquire residence in Louisiana
if there is convincing evidence that he continu-
ously resided in Louisiana for twelve consecu-
tive months immediately preceding registration.

E. A student who is married to a Louisiana

resident may acquire the residence status of his
or her spouse.

F. A person who resides in Louisiana for at least

two years, exclusive of military service, and
then moves to another state or foreign country
shall retain the right to enroll himself or any of
his dependents as a resident for a period equal
to the number of years he resided in Louisiana,
but the right shall expire upon the person’s
residing for a period of five years in another
state or foreign country.

G. A member of the armed forces currently sta-

tioned in Louisiana and his dependents shall be
classified as Louisiana residents. A serviceman
who was stationed in Louisiana immediately
prior to his release from active duty may enroll
himself or his dependents as residents during a
period not to exceed six months after the date
of release provided that his term of active duty
shall have been no less than twelve consecutive
months.

H. A member of the armed forces who was a

resident of Louisiana immediately prior to
entering the armed forces shall retain the right
for himself or any of his dependents to be
classified as a resident as long as he is in the
armed forces and for a five-year period after
leaving the armed forces.

I. A resident of Louisiana shall not lose the right

to be classified as a resident during periods of
employment in a foreign country.



An alien who has been lawfully admitted to the
United States for permanent residence as an
immigrant (proof of such status shall be posses-
sion of his Form 1-15]-Alien Registration Re-
ceipt Card) and who has established residence
under any of the foregoing provisions shall be
declared a resident of the State.

. An applicant shall be declared a resident if
either parent is a graduate of any state institu-
tion of higher learning in Louisiana.

The president of each institution shall be authorized
to appoint a Residence Regulations Appeals Com-
mittee. Any student classified as a nonresident may
appeal his classification to this committee.

Section 6.6 Student Fees

A. Application Fee

An application fee of $5.00 for United States
students and $15.00 for foreign students (non-
refundable) shall be assessed each person
making application for admission or re-
-admission to a college or university under the
jurisdiction of the Board.

Activity, Registration, and Tuition Fees

1. Activity Fee—an activity fee of $10 per
semester shall be assessed each student.

2. Registration—a registration fee of $40 per
semester shall be assessed each student.

3. Tuition Fee—a tuition fee of $5 per sem-
ester credit hour shall be assessed each
student.

4. Non-Resident Fee—a non-resident fee of
$25 per credit hour shall be assessed each
student classified as non-resident under the
regulations of the Board. This fee shall be in
addition to Items B.1., B.2., and B.3.

5. Off-Campus Fees
a. Fees for extension courses and other
off-campus offerings (except con-
tractual arrangements) shall be assessed
in the same manner as for on-campus
offerings. (B.1.,B.2.,B.3.,and B4.)

b. Fees for courses offered under con-
tractural arrangements may not be for a
lesser consideration than B.5.a.

6. Late Registration Fee—an additional fee of
$15 will be charged any student registering
after the close of the regular registration
period.

7. Refund Policy—each university shall devel-
op a refund policy for registration fees
appropriate to the individual campus.

C. Drop, Add, and Change Fees

A transaction fee of $5 for a drop, add, or
change of section may be assessed during the
drop-add period when the transaction is for the
convenience of the student. All transactions for
the convenience of the university and beyond
the control of the student shall be without
charge.

. Building Use Fee

All colleges and universities under the Board are
authorized to continue to levy facility use fees
as included in the bond agreements outstanding
and formerly approved by the State Board of
Education. The building use fee is at the rate of
$10 per semester. The revenues derived from
these fees shall be dedicated to the construction
and/or renovation of academic facilities.

. Vehicle Registration Fee

Colleges and universities under the Board are
authorized to assess vehicle registration fees up
to $5 per semester, not to exceed $12.50 per
year, unless approval is granted by the Board of
a different plan. The income from these registra-
tions is to be used for construction, repair,
maintenance, and operation of parking facilities
including streets, roadways, walks, buildings,
and walkways leading into such parking facili-
ties.

Self-Assessment Fees

All self-assessment fee proposals voted by stu-
dents upon themselves and their successors shall
be submitted by the President with his recom-
mendations to the Board for final approval.
Each referendum shall state a specific term of
assessment.

. Room Deposit

A $25 room deposit will be charged each
student reserving a dormitory room. This de-
posit will be forfeited if the student has not
canceled his reservation by forty-five days prior
to the announced opening time of dormitories
for the term for which he has applied,



H. Waiver of Non-Resident (Out-of-State) Fees
Each college and university under the Board is
authorized to identify and award non-resident
fee waiver scholarships to academically talented
students among those out-of-state applicants to
the university.

The criteria to be met by the students are:

Eligibility is limited to beginning students
(freshmen and transfers from other colleges
and universities) who meet four of the
following criteria:

a. Minimum of 3.0 grade point average
(college or seven semesters of high
school).

b. Academic rank in the upper ten percent
of the class.

c. ACT minimum composite score of 23
or equivalent on other nationally recog-
nized tests.

Leadership in extracurricular activities.

e. ‘Satisfactory evaluation resulting from a
personal interview.

Certification of the list of students meeting
these criteria annually shall be made to the
Executive Director of the Board for submission
to the Board.

1. Special Purpose Fees
Special purpose fees may be assessed by each
college or university as appropriate upon review
and approval by the Board.

Section 6.7 Leave Record Establishment and Regula-
tions for All Unclassified, Non-Civil Service Em-
ployees

The rules and policies set forth below shall be
applicable to all unclassified, non-civil service em-
ployees under the jurisdiction of the Board. It is the
policy of the Board that unclassified employees
deserve equal treatment with other classes of State
employees, and these rules and policies are promul-
gated under that concept.

Section 6.8 Annual Leave

A. Workweeks and Attendance Records for Un-
classified Employees

1. For purposes of leave, appointing author-

ities shall establish workweeks of forty

hours per week for full-time employees.

The purpose of establishing the forty-hour

week is merely to provide appointing au-
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thorities a system of accounting for and the
taking of sick leave. Nothing contained in
this policy shall be construed as requiring
academic teaching personnel, whether em-
ployed on a twelve-month basis or on a
basis other than twelve months, to be
physically present for the period of forty
hours per week in their classrooms, labora-
tories, offices, or any other place where
their employment duties are performed.

2. For purposes of leave, appointing author-

ities shall establish for part-time employees
workweeks proportionate to the provisions
of the previous paragraph.

3. Daily attendance and leave records shall be
maintained for all unclassified employees.
The Board may, in the exercise of its
discretion, adopt an attendance form de-
signed merely to indicate that academic
teaching personnel were either present or
absent from their usual duty posts during
the usual working day for such personnel.
These records shall be signed by the em-
ployee and his supervisor and reported at
least monthly to the appropriate office at
the end of each regular pay period.

4. Definitions

a. Annual leave is leave with pay granted
an employee for the purpose of rehabil-
itation, restoration, maintenance of
work efficiency, or attention to other
personal concerns.

b. Faculty leave is leave granted to faculty
members employed on the nine-month
(academic year) basis in lieu of annual
leave and is comprised of the days
between terms and at holiday periods
when students are not in classes. This
special form of leave shall be taken as it
is earned.

B. Earning of Annual Leave by Unclassified Em-

ployees on the Twelve-Month Basis

1. Annual leave shall be eamed by each
eligible employee who has a regular tour of
duty.

2. The earning of annual leave shall be based
on the equivalent of years of full-time State
service and shall be creditable at the end of



Length

of

Contract

9 mos.
9 mos.
9 mos.
9 mos.

each pay period or calendar month in
accordance with the following general
schedule:

a. Less than three years of equivalent
State service: at the rate of one day of
annual leave per month of full time
service, or the equivalent thereof in
hours.

b. Three years, but less than five years, of
State service: at the rate of one and
one-fourth days of annual leave per
month of full-time service, or the equiv-
alent thereof in hours.

c. Five years, but less than ten years, of
State service: at the rate of one and
one-half days of annual leave per
month of full-time service, or the equiv-
alent thereof in hours.

d. Ten years, but less than fifteen years,
of State service: at the rate of one and
three-fourth days of annual leave per
month of full-time service, or the equiv-
alent thereof in hours.

e. Fifteen or more years of State service:
at the rate of two days of annual leave
per month of full-time service, or the
equivalent thereof in hours.

No unclassified employee shall be credited
with annual leave for any calendar month:

a. Until he has completed the calendar
month in which he was employed;

b. During which he has been on leave
without pay for ten or more working

days;

c. While serving in the military.

Summer Less
Session than
Worked 3
12 weeks 12
9 weeks 11 1/4
6 weeks 1012
none 9

C. Earning Annual or Faculty Leave for Employees
Employed on Other Than the Twelve-Month
Basis.

1.

Annual leave or faculty leave shall be
earned by each eligible employee who has a
regular tour of duty.

The earning of annual leave shall be based
on the equivalent years of full-time State
service and shall be creditable at the end of
each pay period or calendar month as
follows:

a. (See chart at bottom of page)

b. For contract periods of less than twelve
months and for part-time employees a
proportionate rate shall be used.

¢. Faculty leave by the nine-month fac-
ulty shall be earned and taken as it is
earned as specified by the official calen-
dar of the institution served.

d. Annual leave for unclassified employees
on a basis of less than twelve months
shall be subject to restrictions cited in
B.3.a.,B.3.b.,and B3.c.

D. Personnel not employed on a continuing basis
(temporary employees) shall not earn annual
leave.

E. Accrued unused annual leave earned by an
employee shall be carried forward to the suc-
ceeding years without limitation.

F. Transfer of Annual Leave
When an employee changes his position from
one State agency to another, his accumulated
annual leave shall be forwarded to the new
agency and shall be credited to him.

Years of Service

3 but 5 but 10 but

fess less less 15and
than 5 than 10 than 15 over
15 18 21 24
14 17 1/4 19 3/4 221/2
13 15 3/4 181/2 21
111/4 131/2 153/4 18
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G. Use of Annual Leave

1.

Legal holidays, State-designated holidays,
days of local conditions and celebrations,
and similar periods when designated, an-
nounced and observed by the institution,
shall not be charged to annual leave.

Annual leave shall be applied for in advance
by the employee and may be taken only
when approved by the appointing author-
ity.

The minimum charge to annual leave shall
be four hours (1/2 day); if more, it shall be

charged in hour increments to the nearest

hour.

Mandatory and other requirements relating
to the taking of annual leave:

a. An appointing authority may require
an employee who has sufficient annual
leave to his credit to take annual leave
whenever the authority feels that it is
best for the employee or the appointing
authority.

b. Except when given special advance ap-!
proval for absence from duty, an em-
ployee must be at his work station for
the day in order to be classified as on
duty. A work station normally will be
in one’s office or at a place elsewhere
on the employer’s premises that is
appropriate for the work of the
moment, but it may also be at a place
off the employer’s premises while trav-
eling or in conference or otherwise
engaged in work for, or representing,
the employer.

Upon resignation, death, removal, or other
termination of employment of an unclassi-
fied employee, annual leave amounting to
the same maximum as is provided for
members of the classified service of the
State by the Civil Service Commission and
approved by the Governor, and accrued to
his credit shall be computed and the value
thereof shall be paid to him or his heirs,
provided that the annual leave has been
accrued under established leave regulations
and an attendance record has been main-
tained for the employee by his supervisor.
Such pay shall be computed at the em-
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ployee’s base rate of pay at the time of
termination.

Section 6.9 Sick Leave

Sick Leave for Unclassified Academic Personnel

A. Employees, work weeks, and definitions

I.

Appointing authorities shall establish work
weeks of forty hours per week for full-time
employees. The purpose of establishing the
forty hour week is merely to provide
appointing authorities a system of account-
ing for and the taking of sick leave. Nothing
contained in this policy shall be construed
as requiring academic teaching personnel,
whether employed on a twelve-month basis
or on a basis other than twelve months, to
be physically present for the period of forty
hours per week in their classrooms, lab-
oratories, offices, or any other place where
their employment duties are performed.

Appointing authorities shall establish for
part-time employees workweeks propor-
tionate to the provisions of the previous
paragraph.

Daily attendance and leave records must be
maintained for unclassified employees. The
Board may, in the exercise of its discretion,
adopt an attendance form designed merely
to indicate that academic teaching person-
nel were either present or absent from their
usual duty posts during the usual working
day for such personnel. The attendance
record shall be signed by the employee and
reported monthly to the personnel office.

Sick leave is leave with pay granted an
employee who is suffering with a disability
which prevents him from performing his
usual duties and responsibilities and who
requires medical, dental, or optical consul-
tation or treatment.

B. Eamning of Sick leave for Twelve-Month Em-
ployees

1.

Sick leave shall be earned by each employee
who has a regular tour of duty.

The earning of such leave shall be based on
the equivalent of years of full-time State



service and shall be creditable at the end of
each calendar month in accordance with the
following general schedule:

a. Less than three years of service: at the
rate of one day of sick leave per month,
or the equivalent thereof in hours.

b. Three years but less than five years of
service: at the rate of one and one-
fourth days of sick leave per month, or
the equivalent thereof in hours.

c. Five years but less than ten years of
service: at the rate of one and one-half
days of sick leave per month, or the
equivalent thereof in hours.

d. Ten years but less than fifteen years of
service: at the rate of one and three-
fourth days of sick leave per month, or
the equivalent thereof in hours.

e. Fifteen or more years of service: at the
rate of two days of sick leave per
month, or the equivalent thereof in
hours.

No twelve-month unclassified employee
shall be credited with sick leave for any
calendar month:

a. Until he has completed the calendar
month in which he was employed;

b. During which he has been on leave
without pay for ten or more working

days;

c. While serving in the military.

C. Eaming of Sick Leave for Employees Employed

Length
of
Contract

9 mos.
9 mos.
9 mos.
9 mos.

on Other Than the Twelve-Month Basis.

Summer Less
Session than
Worked 3
12 weeks 12
9 weeks 11 1/4
6 weeks 10172
none 9

3 but
less
than §

15
14
13
111/4
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1. Sick leave shall be earned by each employee
who has a regular tour of duty.

2. The earning of such leave shall be based on
the equivalent of years of full-time service
and shall be creditable at the end of each
calendar month as follows:

a. (See chart at bottom of page)

b. For contract periods less than twelve
months but different from nine months
a proportionate rate should be used.

3. No unclassified employee employed on a
basis of less than twelve months shall be
credited with sick leave for the reasons
cited in B.3.a., B.3.b.,and B.3.c.

D. Accrued unused sick leave earned by an em-
ployee shall be carried forward to the suc-
ceeding years without limitation.

E. Transfer of Sick Leave
When an employee changes his position from
one State agency to another his accumulated
sick leave shall be forwarded to the new agency
and shall be credited to him.

F. Use of Sick Leave

1. Sick leave with pay may be taken by an
employee who has sufficient leave to his
credit for the following:

a. [Illness or injury which prevents per-
formance of his usual duties.

b. Medical, dental, or optical consultation
or treatment.

2. The minimum charge for sick leave shall be
four hours (1/2 day); and if more, it shall
be charged in hour increments to the
nearest hour.

Years of Service
5 but 10 but
less less 15 and
than 10 than 15 over

18 21 24

17 1/4 19 3/4 22 1/2
153/4 1812 21
1312 153/4 18



3. The employee may use sick leave for
maternity purposes when her postnatal or
prenatal condition prevents the perfor-
mance of usual duties, provided the em-
ployee has sufficient sick leave credit. The
limit to the use of sick leave for a postnatal
condition shall be six weeks unless a physi-
cian certifies employee’s inability to return
to work.

4. An appointing authority may advance sick
leave with pay in an amount not to exceed
twenty-two working days to an unclassified
employee who has exhausted his sick leave.

5. The value of any advance sick leave which
has not been repaid at the time of the
employee’s separation from the unclassified
service shall be deducted from his last
paycheck and/or paid in cash to the ap-
pointing authority, unless the separation is
for the purpose of moving to another State
agency, in which case the advanced sick
leave shall be forwarded to the agency
accepting him as an employee.

6. Upon separation caused by disability, death
or retirement, all advanced sick leave shall
be canceled.

7. Upon death or retirement of an unclassified
employee, sick leave accrued to his credit
shall be computed and the value thereof
shall be paid to him or his heirs, provided
that the sick leave has been accrued under
established leave regulations and a daily
attendance record has been maintained for
the employee by his supervisor, except that
such payment shall not exceed the value of
twenty-five working days computed on the
basis of a five-day week and on a four-week
per month basis for personnel employed on
less than the twelve-month employment
basis and on the basis of a five-day week
and fifty-two week year for twelve-month
employees. The rate of pay shall be com-
puted using the base rate the employee is
receiving at the time of termination.

G. Nothing in this policy shall authorize or require

the reduction of any sick leave benefits pres-
ently available to any unclassified, academic
employee under any contract, law, agreement,
custom or policy in effect at twelve o’clock
noon on July 31, 1974.
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Section 6.10 Leave for Civil and National Services

A.

An employee shall be given time off without
loss of pay, annual leave, or sick leave when:

1. Performing jury duty.

2. Summoned to appear as a witness before a
court, grand jury, or other public body or
commission.

3. Performing emergency civilian duty in re-
lation to national defense.

4. His appointing authority determines that he
is prevented by an act of God from per-
forming his duty.

S. Voting in a primary, general, or special
election which falls on his scheduled work-
ing day, provided that not more than two
hours of leave shall be allowed an employee
to vote in the parish where he is employed,
and not more than one day to vote in a
parish other than the one where he is
employed.

6. The appointing authority shall determine
when local conditions or celebrations make
it impracticable for his employees to work.

Section 6.11 Military Leave

A.

Employees who are members of a reserve
component of the armed forces of the United
States or the National Guard shall be granted
leaves of absence from their positions without
loss of pay, time, or annual or sick leave when
ordered to active duty for field training or
training authorized in lieu thereof when the
individual is given constructive crédit for such
training, such leaves shall be for periods not to
exceed fifteen working days in any calendar
year, but an appointing authority may grant an
employee annual leave or leave without pay or
both, in accordance with other provisions of
these leave regulations for such periods which
exceed fifteen working days in any calendar
year.

Employees who are inducted or ordered to
active duty to fulfill reserve obligations or who
are ordered to active duty in connection with
reserve activities in indefinite periods or for
periods in excess of their annual field training
shall be ineligible for leave with pay.



Section 6.12 Other Leave

A. Workmen’s Compensation Payments—Optional
Leave with Pay.
When an employee is absent from work owing
to disabilities for which he is entitled to
workmen’s compensation, he may, at his
option, use sick or annual leave for any appro-
priate combination of sick and annual leave (not
to exceed the amount necessary) to receive total
payment for leave and workmen’s compensation
in accordance with law,

B. An employee may be given time off without
loss of pay, annual leave, or sick leave when
attending the obsequies of a relative within the
fourth degree of relationship by blood or
affinity, affinity being defined as the relation-
ship by marriage between a husband and his
wife’s blood relatives, or between a wife and her
husband’s blood relatives, provided that such
time off shall not exceed two days on any one
occasion. Relatives within the fourth degree of
relationship for purposes of this section include
the following:

Mother Sister

Father Uncle
Grandmother Aunt
Grandfather Cousin
Great-Grandmother Nephew
Great-Grandfather Grandnephew
Child Niece
Grandchild Grandniece
Great-Grandchild Great-Uncle
Brother Great-Aunt

Section 6.13 Execution of Contracts, Lease Agreements,
Rights-of-Way

Contracts involving the purchase or sale of land,
mineral rights and construction; and lease agree-
ments, right-of-way or easement agreements shall be
signed by the President of the Board only after
approval by the Board.

* * * *
Part IX
Athletic Policies
The intercollegiate athletic programs of the colleges

and universities under the jurisdiction of the Board of
Trustees for State Colleges and Universities shall be
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governed by the athletic policies established by said

Board.

The athletic director of each institution will bex
responsible for the distribution of the athletic policies to
all personnel concerned as well as the purchasing of
current NCAA manuals for all coaches. Each coach will
be personally responsible for his actions regarding the
rules of the Board as well as those of the NCAA.

Section 9.1 Administration

A. Athletic Committee

1.

The athletic policies of schools under the
jurisdiction of the Board will be under the
direct supervision of an Athletic Committee
comprised of five members of the Board
appointed by the President of the Board.

The Committee shall determine, with final
approval of the Board, the athletic policies
of all schools under the jurisdiction of the
Board, as well as any other rules of the
Board and regulatory bodies to which a
school may be held accountable (Board
policy, NCAA policy).

The Committee may suspend or place on
probation any institution under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board found in violation of any
rule, regulation, or policy of the Board.

The Committee may prohibit any student
athlete from competing for any institution
or participating in any championship, meet,
or tournament, if same has been adjudged
in violation of rules, regulations, or policies.

When penalties for certain violations are not
specifically covered by the existing athletic
policies, the Committee shall use its discre-
tion of affixing same.

All actions of the Athletic Committee shall
be subject to approval by the Board.

B. Coordinator of College Athletics

1.

The Coordinator of College Athletics shall
be appointed by the Board and shall im-
plement the athletic policies of the Board.

Duties of the Coordinator—The Coordina-
tor:



Shall interpret the athletic rules and
regulations of the Board and assist the
member institutions in obtaining inter-
pretations of NCAA regulations;

Shall, when a violation becomes known
to him, report it to the president of the
institution involved, its athletic direc-
tor, its faculty representative, and any
other individual or group as he deems
necessary;

Shall be responsible for the enforce-
ment of the athletic rules and regula-
tions of the Board and the NCAA; and
shall report such violations and action
taken to any organization to which an
institution belongs;

Shall maintain a record of all athletic
reports submitted to him in accordance
with Board policies;

May, at his discretion, make such in-
spections and investigations of the ac-
tivities of member institutions as he
deems necessary;

Shall receive and keep a record of every
pre-enrollment application and migrant
or transfer’s athletic participation re-
cord;

Shall impose all penalties prescribed as
well as those penalties shown on the
pre-enroliment application, for rule and
regulation violations. Public announce-
ments pertaining to penalties imposed
upon institutions will be made by the
Coordinator only;

Shall receive and act upon requests for
eligibility rulings:

1. All requests for eligibility rulings
must be submitted in writing by
the athletic director of the institu-
tion requesting the ruling.

2. The following information must be
inctuded in the request:

(a) The athlete’s full name

(b) First date of matriculation in a
junior college, college or umi-
versity

(c) If a transfer, a positive state-
ment that the athlete is eligible
to return to the institution
from which he is transferring

(d) If a veteran, a statement as to
voluntary or involuntary en-
trance to service, academic
status at time of entering ser-
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vice, and length of time spent
in service

(e) A positive statement, signed by
the athletic director, as to
prior athletic participation
(number of years and sports)
in intercollegiate athletics;

3. Omission of any of the
above information will
render the request invalid;

i. Shall have printed the athletic policies

of the Board and will furnish each
institution with twenty copies and each
Board member with two copies;

j- Shall promote the athletic programs of

the State colleges and universities
through all news media, alumni associa-
tions, and public contact;

k. Shall distribute the minutes of the

Faculty Commission to presidents and
athletic directors and commission mem-
bers.

C. Faculty Commission

1.

The Faculty Commission, composed of the
Chairman of the Athletic Committee from
each school under the jurisdiction of the
Board, shall prepare and present guidelines
to the Athletic Committee and act as an
Appeals Committee on rulings by the Co-
ordinator.

Any proposed change originating from the
schools in the athletic policies of the Board
shall be presented through the Coordinator
of College Athletics to the Faculty Commis-
sion for its consideration and presentation
to the Athletic Committee of the Board.
Any proposed change in the athletic
policies must be circulated to the Faculty
Commission, athletic directors, and presi-
dents at least fifteen days prior to any
recorded vote.

The Faculty Commission shall elect a chair-
man and vice chairman on an annual basis
from its own members.

All actions of the Faculty Commission shall
be subject to final approval by the Athletic
Committee of the Board.



Section 9.2 Membership Affiliation
A. National Associations

1. Each institution under the jurisdiction of
the Board must be a member of the
National Collegiate Athletic Association
(NCAA).

2. Any institution under the jurisdiction of
the Board may, in addition to membership
in NCAA, join other national athletic asso-
ciations, such as the National Association of
Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA).

B. Athletic Conferences

The decision as to whether an institution, under
the jurisdiction of the Board, wishes to be a
member of an athletic conference or to partici-
pate in athletics as an independent is left to the
discretion of each institution.

Section 9.3 Finances

All funds, including those from outside sources,
used in the athletic program must be processed by
the college or university accounting system and are
subject to audit.

A. Resources

1. Gate receipts, scholarships appropriations,
coaches’ salaries, concessions and programs,
and the $20,000 which the Board allocates,
are the only funds from State sources which
can be expended for athletics.

2. Funds other than those from State sources,
“outside assistance”, may be used to sup-
port the athletic program, provided that
these monies are handled by the duly
appointed financial official of the institu-
tion.

3. Federal money can be used as aid to
student athletes. However, each student
athlete, so aided, will count as one of the
total number of scholarships allowed as set
forth in the division of scholarships.

4. Any funds generated from athletic activities
on the campus involving coaching personnel
who are employed on a twelve-month basis
will be retained by the institution.
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5. The policy on student athletic fees allows
each institution to assess each student
$10.00 per semester.

B. Expenditures

1. “Qutside assistance” funds can be used only
to the maximum limit of the sports, as
stated in the division of scholarships.

2. Al athletic travel by State institutions must
be charged to their athletic budgets.

Section 9.4 Scholarships

A. Types and Value

1. Full Athletic Scholarships——"['hese scholar-
ships consist of tuition and fees, room and
board, and books.

B. Number of Scholarships

1. Each institution is entitled to 129 full
athletic scholarships from State funds. The
number of scholarships for each sport is
shown under division of scholarships.

2. Each institution may award scholarships
from “outside assistance” only to the maxi-
mum limits of the sports, as stated in the
division of scholarships. The value of a
scholarship from “‘outside assistance” may
not exceed the value of a full athletic
scholarship.

C. Definition of Participant and Competitor

A participant is to be interpreted as any student
who practices with any of the official teams
sponsored by the university for intercollegiate
competition. A participant is also any student
on an athletic scholarship.

A competitor is anyone who takes part in any
official intercollegiate athletic contest.

. Division of Scholarships

Each institution will follow the NCAA regula-
tions regarding the maximum number of initial
signees in all sports in their division.

1. Football-Shall have no more than seventy
full state-supported athletic scholarships, of



which thirty may be for out-of-state stu-
dents.

2. Basketball-Shall follow the formula as set
by the NCAA which will limit the total
awards in effect to sixteen in 1976-77 and
conform to the new limit of fifteen in
1977-78. The first consecutive two-year
period for initial awards shall be 1976-77
and 1977-78 academic years.

3. Track—Shall have no more than fourteen
State-supported full athletic scholarships or
the equivalent of. The total of all scholar-
ships and participants shall not exceed
thirty-five.

4. Baseball-Shall have no more than twelve
State-supported full athletic scholarships or
the equivalent of.

5. Tennis—Shall have no more than four State
supported full athletic scholarships or the
equivalent of.

6. Golf—Shall have no more than four State-
supported full athletic scholarships or the
equivalent of.

7. Spring Sports—Five State-supported schol-
arships may be used in any sport other than'
football or basketball.

8. Student athletes receiving scholarships in
track, baseball, golf, tennis, gymnastics,
weight lifting, swimming, or bowling will
not be permitted to take part in football or
basketball. However, a scholarship holder in
football or basketball may be permitted to
take part in track, baseball, golf, tennis,
gymnastics, weight lifting, swimming, or
bowling.

9. Each school shall abide by the rules and
regulations of the conference to which it
belongs in regard to use of athletic scholar-
ships. However, in no case shall the value of
a scholarship be less than the value of the
tuition at the institution.

Out-Of-State Scholarships

The maximum number of out-of-state scholar-
ships, from State funds, is fifty; of which no
more than thirty may be used in football.
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F.

Out-of-state scholarships in excess of fifty may
be awarded provided the funds used come from
some source other than State funds and are
administered by the institution. This does not
give permission to exceed the total participation
number provided for in the division of scholar-
ships, or the maximum 129 available State-
supported‘scholarships.

Penalties Related to Scholarships

1. All schools that exceed the out-of-state
limit of fifty student athletes will be re-
quired to reduce the total of out-of-state
scholarships allowed the following year by
that respective number.

2. For violation of giving scholarships other
than authorized athletic scholarships, the
institution will be penalized that scholar-
ship, plus another additional scholarship for
no less than one year; and the student
athlete will be rendered ineligible at that
institution for no more than one year.

3. An alternate penalty for carrying a student
athlete on a scholarship with source other
than specified, will be loss of eligibility for
that student for one year. If he is a senior
and has completed his eligibility, then the
institution will be required to refund the
money.

4. For exceeding the total number of partici-
pants allowed for each sport the institution
will be required to reduce immediately the
number over the limit and lose for the
following year one scholarship for each
number over the total allowed participants.
The number of total participants would also
be reduced by the same number.

Section 9.5 Eligibility Rules

A.

Each institution shall follow the eligibility rules
of the NCAA and its conference (if it is a
member of one).

In addition to the eligibility rules referred to in
A (above), the following eligibility rules shall
apply to every student athlete competing in all
institution-sponsored athletic contests as a rep-
resentative of an institution under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board.



Regularly registered students may partici-
pate in intercollegiate athletics for four
years (including freshman, B Team, and
varsity competition) provided they meet
the conditions of all other eligibility rules.
The four years of competition allowed must
be completed during the five consecutive
years, then consecutive semesters or fifteen
consecutive quarters. (Attendance at sum-
mer school excepted.)

a. Actual time spent in the armed services
shall not count as part of the five
consecutive years, ten consecutive sem-
esters, or fifteen consecutive quarter
periods.

b. The five year, ten semester, or fifteen
quarter period shall begin when the
student athlete first registers in the
college department of a junior college,
college, or university.

An athlete, to be eligible to participate,

must be a bona fide registered student,

regularly enrolled as a candidate for a

degree and doing full work in a regular

course of study. Special students or those

auditing classes will not be considered

regularly registered students.

a, He must not compete in any contest
under an assumed name.

b. He must not have received a college
degree.

A high school graduate upon his initial
matriculation into college who is ineligible
according to NCAA academic standards to
participate in athletics or in any organized
athletic practice sessions during the first
year in residence becomes eligible after the
completion of two semesters or three quar-
ters, and twenty-four hours.

A student-athlete beyond his first year in
any Board institution must have earned
twenty-four semester hours or its equivalent
in between his seasons of competition in
that respective sport to be eligible to
compete.

a. All eligibility requirements must be
satisfied during the semester or quarter,
or summer session preceding the sem-
ester or quarter, if a student intends to
participate (incomplete work within his
own institution excepted).
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b. Only those credit hours granted after
regular class attendance will satisfy the
above requirement.

4. A returning veteran will be allowed to

compete in intercollegiate athletic contests
as a member of intercollegiate teams at the
academic level attained at the time of
induction, provided that said competition
shall not exceed four years in any sport and
provided he is eligible under all other rules.

a. If a student athlete serves in the armed
forces for a minimum of eighteen
months, then the twenty-four hour
rules between seasons of participation
are waived.

b. Any athletic participation while a mem-
ber of any unit of the armed forces
(other than the service academies) shall
not count against a student athlete’s
total intercollegiate competition.

c. An athlete dropped for academic, dis-
ciplinary, or personal reasons by a
school and who enlists voluntarily in
the service shall not be eligible upon his
discharge for competition until the
transfer rules subscribed to have been
fulfilled.

d. If a student athlete resigns from the
college or university after mid-term of a
regular semester or quarter and volun-
tarily enlists in the National Guard or
Reserve unit and is on active duty for a
period of at least six months, he shall
be eligible immediately upon return to
the same college or university if at the
time of his resignation, the student
athlete sustains the minimum grade
point average as required by his aca-
demic status for that semester or quar-
ter in courses pursued at the time of
withdrawal.

A student whose eligibility changes at the
end of a quarter or semester shall become
eligible or ineligible to compete in an
NCAA championship on the first day of
classes of the following semester or quarter,
except that if he is eligible to compete at
the time of his or his institution’s first
participation in an NCAA championship, he



shall remain eligible for the remainder of
the meet or tournament.

Transfer student must be eligible to re-enter
the institution from which they are trans-
ferring.

A junior college graduate or a junior college
transfer is eligible upon registration when
he meets the NCAA requirements regarding
the junior college rules.

All junior college level competition while a
student is enrolled in the preparatory de-
partment of a junior college will count as
college competition.

A student attending a junior college or
college that has never sponsored an inter-
collegiate athletic program, ceases to oper-
ate or drops a sport or sports, may be
declared eligible in that sport (or sports)
upon registration provided there is com-
pliance with all other eligibility rules.

C. Penalties

1.

Any student entering an institution under
the jurisdiction of the Board in violation of
V.B.6 above shall be permanently barred
from participation at the school he entered
while under suspension.

Section 9.6 Recruiting

A. It is not permissible to utilize the services of
another institutional employee as a talent scout
(one who travels for a college checking high
school material, grades, and ability during the
season and does not actively take part in
coaching), except on a voluntary basis. He
cannot receive compensation or traveling ex-
penses in any form from any source.

B. Each school under the jurisdiction of the Board
shall be allowed to spend up to $10,000 of their
athletic budget for the recruitment of student
athletes.

C. Signing Dates

1.

The earliest date for signing a student
athlete shall be as follows:

a. Football-Decemberl
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2.

b. Basketball-March 1
c. Spring Sports—April 1

If a high school athlete is participating in a
tournament or playoff in football or basket-
ball, he cannot be signed until after the
completion of the tournament or playoff.
An athlete signed before these dates will be
ineligible to participate at the institution
which signed him.

D. Pre-Enrollment Applications

1.

2.

3.

4.

Pre-enrollment applications must be signed
on approved forms furnished by the Co-
ordinator of College Athletics.

a. A parental (or guardian) signature is
required on the form only if the stu-
dent athlete is a minor (under 18 years
of age).

To be valid and binding, a duly signed
pre-enrollment application must be for-
warded to the Coordinator of College Ath-
letics within fifteen days after a student
athlete and his parent or guardian (if
required to sign) have signed same. Failure
to forward the form as prescribed will
render the student athlete free to sign with
another institution.

A student athlete who signs an application
for an athletic scholarship (part or full)
with one institution under the jurisdiction
of the Board, and said application is filed
with the Coordinator of College Athletics
for the Board within fifteen days of the
signing date, may not sign with another
institution under said jurisdiction without
loss of one year of eligibility, during which
time he may not practice with or play for
the second institution nor be eligible for
any type scholarship award or other finan-
cial assistance. (This ruling also applies to a
student athlete who participates with one
institution and then transfers to another
institution. This ruling shall not apply to a
student athlete whose financial assistance
was terminated by the original institution in
which he is enrolled.)

All athletic scholarships awards given by a
college or university under the jurisdiction



E.

of the Board to high school and transfer
student athletes must be honored by all
institutions under the jurisdiction of the
Board.

Each institution under the jurisdiction of the
Board shall follow the NCAA regulations in
accordance with its divisional membership as
related to academic admission requirements.

Migrants or Transfers

Migrants or transfers are students who enter
college after having been registered in another
college. (Attendance at summer school ex-
cepted.)

A migrant or transfer student from a school not
under the jurisdiction of the Board ceases to be
classified as such after he has completed twenty
-four semester hours or thirty-six quarter hours
or equivalent in residence at a school under the
jurisdiction of the Board provided he is con-
forming to all other eligibility requirements.

A migrant or transfer is eligible for practice and
an athletic scholarship, but is not eligible for
competition.

Penalties

1. If a prospective student athlete is instru-
mental in submitting false records, he shall
be permanently barred from participation
in athletics in situations under the jurisdic-
tion of the Board.

2. If evidence is substantiated that any indivi-
dual who is in any way a representative of
any institution under the jurisdiction of the
Board has been a party to falsifying records,
or participated in any manner in irregular
procedures regarding the establishing of a
student athlete’s average, said institution
shall be barred from any championship and
post-season game participation in that sport
for a period of one year regardless of
conference affiliations.

Section 9.7 Supplemental Regulations

A.

Replacing Participants—It is permissible to re-
place a participant who drops during the season
provided the NCAA tryout regulation is not

violated.
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B. Coaches—Each school is allowed a total of ten
coaches taking part in football, basketball,
baseball, and track providing the money is
available. The athletic directors and athletic
trainers will not be included in this ten unless
they are taking part in the coaching activities of
the four sports.

C. Independent Basketball Teams—Any student
athlete who participates in basketball will be
prohibited from participation in organized out-
side basketball competition, both during and
after permissible basketball playing season, ex-
cept in those instances approved by the NCAA
Council.

D. Practice Dates—All institutions shall be gov-
erned by applicable NCAA rules pertaining to
practice and playing seasons and dates in all
sports in which the institution participates.

E. Baseball Playing Dates—No more than thirty
baseball playing dates will be allowed. Eight of
these dates are limited to single game dates.

F. Probation—When a penalty for violation of any
regulation is assessed against an institution, the
institution shall be placed on probation for a
period not to exceed two years; except, that if
the same violation occurs during the period of
probation, the institution shall be continued on
probation for a period not to exceed two years
and no scholarship awards may be made to new
participants in that sport during the period of
probation.

G. Women’s Athletics—Each school will provide for
a program of competitive athletics for women,
using the basic guidelines recommended by the
President’s Council and the Board.

Section 9.8 Appeals

Rulings of the Coordinator may be appealed. Such
appeals shall go to the Faculty Commission which
shall serve as the appeals committee. Institutions or
student athletes, who wish to appeal a ruling of the
Coordinator shall follow the detailed procedures
below.

A. Procedures for Appealing

1. A notice of appeal must be submitted in
writing to the Coordinator of College Ath-
letics within five days after the Coordinator

has issued the ruling. The Coordinator shall



not make public any penalties until the
institution has had an opportunity for
appeal.

a. If the institution is submitting the
appeal, it must be signed by the athletic
director.

b. If a student athlete wishes to appeal,
his appeal, along with the institution’s
recommendations, must be sent by the
athletic director of the institution
which the student athlete is attending
or wishes to attend.

Only those appeals submitted in accordance
with the above shall be considered as valid
appeals.

Upon receipt of a valid appeal, the Co-
ordinator shall:

a. Call a meeting of the appeals com-
mittee. The meeting of the appeals
committee shall be within fifteen days
of receipt of the appeal.

b. Shall notify all interested parties of the
time and place of the meeting.

B. Meeting of the Appeals Committee

Composition and Organization

a. The representative of the institution(s),
which submitted the appeal may not
participate in the organization or be a
member of the committee at the time
its appeal or that of its student ath-
lete(s) is to be heard.

b. A minimum of five members of the
Faculty Commission, who are eligible
to serve on the committee to hear the
appeal, shall constitute a quorum.

c. The appeals committee shall be pre-
sided over by the chairman of the
Faculty Commission, except in cases
where the school that the chairman of

2. Hearing and Appeal

a. The Coordinator shall present the case
and the basis for his ruling. This pres-
entation shall include a written brief of
the facts along with supporting docu-
ments.

b. The institution or individual shall pre-
sent the information relative to its
appeal. This presentation shall include a
written brief of the facts along with
supporting documents. A written brief
will be provided to each member of the
appeals committee at least seven days
prior to the date of the meeting.

c. The Coordinator, the appealing institu-

tion or individual and members of the
appeals committee may ask questions
of any witness.

d. Copies of all documents related to the

case shall be made a part of the minutes
of the hearing.

e. If information pertinent to the case is
not available at the time of hearing, the
case should be left open until such
information can be secured. If an insti-
tution refuses to provide pertinent in-
formation when requested to do so, or
provided false information, the Co-
ordinator’s ruling shall prevail.

C. Review

1.

An aggrieved party may request through its
chairman a review by the Athletic Com-
mittee within five days after the appeals
committee has reached a decision. The
Athletic Committee may review the deci-
sion to the Board for final approval.

The review by the Athletic Committee shall
be on the record compiled at the appeals
committee hearing, which shall be for-
warded through the Coordinator to the
Athletic Committee chairman if a request
for a review is made.

Section 9.9 Penalties That May Be Assessed By The
the Faculty Commission represents is Coordinator
involved in an appeals case; in that
event, the appeal will be presided over

by the vice chairman.

A. The Coordinator May Impose Any One or
Combination of the Following Penalties:
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Warn an institution to correct specific
violations.

Reduce an institution’s number of scholar-
ships either in total or in a particular sport
for a period of one year or more.

Reduce an institution’s out-of-state scholar-
ships either in total or in a particular sport
for a period of one year or more.

Require an institution to refund monies
spent on scholarships for noneligible stu-
dent athletes.

Declare any student athlete ineligible at one
or all institutions under the Board for any
specified period of time including per-
manent.

Place an institution on probation.

Declare an institution ineligible for champ-
ionships or post-season play in one or more
sports for a specified period of time.

Prevent an institution from issuing new
scholarships in one or more sports for a
specified period.

Section 9.10 Lists and Reports

A. To the Coordinator of College Athletics

1.

Eligibility and squad list—must be in the
hands of the Coordinator the day before
the beginning of competition in that sport.

Participation list—will be sent to the Co-
ordinator within fifteen days after the
completion of each sport.

The points listed below will be followed in
preparing the above lists:

a. Lists must be made up on approved
blanks furnished by the Coordinator of
College Athletics of the Board or ap-
proved blanks furnished by the con-
ference of which the institution is a
member.

b. The registrar at each institution shall
certify all athletes in his institution as
to credits, classifications, hours earned,
and dates of entrance.
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c. These lists shall include a complete
record of each transfer and of each
junior college graduate.

d. Lists shall be signed by the athletic
director and the registrar.

The Coordinator will submit a copy of each
of the above list to each school.

Transfer and junior college student form
must be sent within six weeks of the date
the student entered the institution.

Athletic budgets are to be presented in
advance by each institution to the coordi-
nator’s office for presentation to the ath-
letic committee. This is so that said com-
mittee may make recommendations to the
Board.

B. Reports to the Board of Trustees

1.

An annual report on aid to athletics shall be
made to the Board and the Coordinator of
College Athletics at the close of each fiscal
year. The report shall give the following
information.

a. Names of athletes who participated in
intercollegiate athletics (all squad mem-
bers);

b. High schools from which the athletes
graduated (school, town, state);

c. Sport and sports in which the athlete
participated and type of aid:

1. List sports consecutively

(a) Football
(b) Basketball
(c) Track
(d) Baseball
(e) Golf

(f) Tennis;

2. Indicate type of aid by placing
“A”, “B”, or “C” by the sport:

(a) “A”—full athletic scholarship
—These scholarships consist of
tuition and fees, room and
board, and books.



(b) “B”—outside sources scholar-
ship—Not to exceed the value
of a full athletic scholarship.

(c) “C”—other types of aid;

d. Source of aid for athletes;

e. Dates athletes received aid;

f. Total amount of aid.

2. An annual report of the number of coaches

and their respective salaries shall be made to
the Board and the Coordinator of College
Athletics at the close of each fiscal year.
The report shall give the following informa-
tion.

Names of coaches

Titles

Sport or sports each coaches
Teaching loads, if any
Academic departments
coaches teach

Number of months employed
Amount of salary charged to athletics
Amount of salary charged to other
departments

i. Total salary.
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An annual financial report on athletic in-
come and expenditures shall be made to the
Board and the Coordinator of College Ath-
letics at the close of each fiscal year. The
report shall give the following information:

a. Income by sources:
1. Gate receipts
2. Student fees
3. Guarantees
4. Other income (shall be described
and enumerated according to
specific sources).

b. Expenditures by classification:

. Coaches’ salaries

. Other salaries

. Student wages

. Other wages

. Professional fees for game officials,

physicians, etc.

. Contractual services

7. Travel, including travel of coaches
and teams (All expenses pertaining
to transportation, lodging, meals,
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etc., for teams while away from the
campus will be classified as travel
expense and charged to the athletic
budget.)

8. Supplies and materials

9. Scholarships

10. Awards

11. Guarantees

12. Equipment.

Preparation and Certification of Reports
The reports on scholarships, coaches, and
income and expenditures shall be combined
and appear over the following certificate
which shall be signed by the president and
athletic director: “I hereby certify that the
information given in the foregoing report is
correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief. I further certify that the names of all
athletes who participated in athletics (all
squad members) and all expenditures prop-
erly chargeable to athletics are included
therein.”

Circulation of Report

Copies of the annual reports shall be distrib-
uted accordingly: Two copies to the co-
ordinator; twenty-five copies to the Board
office for distribution to all Board mem-
bers; and two copies to each president.

Section 9.11 Tickets and Passes

A. Football Ticket Prices—Minimum prices for
football tickets at all State colleges and universi-
ties shall be as listed below:
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Box seats—$5.00

Reserved seats—$3.50

General admission—$3.00

Student or children—$1.00
Faculty—Reduced price on purchase of
season tickets only.

Student spouse—$10.00 for pass—good for
all sports.

Ticket prices for standing room space is left
to the discretion of each institution.

It will be permissible to charge $2.50 for
general admission seats in the end zone if
the seats are bleachers

Each school may present to the athletic
committee ticket plans that are projected to
increase revenues and attendance.



B. Complimentary Tickets

and Passes—

Complimentary tickets and passes for home
games may be issued as listed below upon an
advance request for same.

1. Each player or manager—two tickets;
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10.

11.

12.
13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.
19.
20.
21.
22.

23.

24.
25.

. Elected officials—Legislature,

. Each working member of the press, radio

and television—two tickets;

. Each high school coach—two tickets;

. President—twenty-four tickets;

. Athletic director—sixteen tickets;

. Each member of each coaching staff—six

tickets;

. Each institution is allowed to grant three

tickets to prospective student athletes for
attendance at collegiate athletic contests, as
prescribed by the NCAA.

Board of
Trustees, Mayor of city in which institution
is located—two tickets each;

. Coordinator of College Athletics—four
tickets;
Members of the Faculty Commission—four

tickets;

Game officials—two tickets, but only if
working and requested in advance;

Athletic Council members—two tickets;
Visiting teams and managers in football—
140 tickets. Mailed in advance (players and
managers on the traveling teams receive two
tickets each);

Visiting basketball squads—thirty tickets.
Mailed in advance;

Minister pronouncing invocation before
each game—two tickets;

Special occasions (such as band night)—
arrangements may be made to admit these
individuals without issuing actual tickets;
Former lettermen shall be issued one com-
plimentary ticket for a maximum period of
five years following the completion of
eligibility;

Vice presidents of State colleges and univer-
sities—six tickets;

Superintendent of Education—four tickets;
Board of Regents—Two tickets

Members of Board of Trustees representing
the district where institution is located —six
tickets;

Past presidents of State colleges and univer-
sities—four tickets;

Conference commissioners involved—four
tickets;

Team physicians—two tickets;
Identification cards to be printed up and
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26.

sent to Faculty Commission members and
members of the athletic staffs of the institu-
tions under the jurisdiction of the Board.
The bearers of these identification cards
will be eligible for two complimentary
tickets for intercollegiate athletic events for
schools under the jurisdiction of the Board.
Parish Superintendent of Education—two
tickets;

Section 9.12 Other Board Policies

A. Scholastic Probation,

Suspension and Re-

Admission

1.

A full-time or part-time student who does
not make a “D” average (1.0) on all hours
pursued during a semester will be dismissed
for one semester, except first semester
freshmen who will be placed on probation.

A full-time or part-time student who makes
an average ranging form 1.0 to 1.5 on all
hours pursued during a semester will be
placed on probation.

A student on probation will be given one
semester to make a “C” average (2.0) on all
hours pursued during that semester which
will remove him from probation; if he does
not make a “C” average (2.0), he will be
dismissed for one semester.

After the lapse of one semester, a student
may re-enter on probation; but he must
make a “C” average (2.0) on all hours
pursued during the semester or he will be
dismissed again.

A student who resigns after nine weeks of a
semester will receive at the time of with-
drawal, grades of WA, WB, WC, WD, or WF;
and these grades will be used in computing
his academic status.

A student dismissed at the end of the spring
semester may attend the summer session,
but he must remain out during the fall
semester.

A student, after having been dismissed the
fourth time, will be allowed to appeal his
case for re-admittance for one more and
final time provided there has been a lapse of
a reasonable period of time since the fourth
dismissal.



8. A student under suspension for scholastic
reasons may not obtain credit toward a
degree on courses pursued at another insti-
tution during the period when he is in-
eligible to register in an institution under
the jurisdiction of the Board.

The above are minimum standards and are to be
administered by the appropriate faculty com-
mittee in each institution of higher education
under the jurisdiction of the Board. Appeals
must be made to the committee that is going to
execute the rules.

Admission by Transfer
Transfer students must be eligible to re-enter
the institution from which they are transferring.

Information Shown on Transcripts for Students
Transferring

Any transcript issued for a student on scholastic
probation or suspension by an institution under
the jurisdiction of the Board shall show the
effective date of such action and length of
suspension.

Definition of a Full-Time Student

A full-time student is one who is taking at least
twelve semester hours or its equivalent of
scheduled work during a semester or at least six
semester hours in a summer session.

Definition of Hours Pursued

Hours pursued are defined as all courses com-
pleted and those courses not completed in
which the grade of WA, WB, WC, WD, and WF is
received. In the case of a student’s repeating a
course, the last grade and credits made shall be
used in computing the point ratio.

Definition of a Part-Time Student

Any student taking less than twelve semester
hours (eight quarter hours at Louisiana Tech) in
a regular session or less than six semester hours
in a summer session will be a part-time student.

Honor Roll

Any regular student who makes an “B” average
(3.0) or better in any semester on all hours
pursued shall be placed on the honor roll for
that semester.

Quality Point System
Institutions under the jurisdiction of the Board
shall adopt the quality point allotment of four
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points for an “A”, three points for a “B”, two
points for a “C”, one point for a “D”, and zero
points for an “F”; therefore, a 2.0 means a “C”
average.

Louisiana Resident Status

1. An applicant living with his parents is
classified as a resident if the parents have
established a bona fide residence in Louisi-
ana. Ordinarily, a parent is considered to
have established a residence in Louisiana if
he actually resides and is employed full-
time in the State. A parent who is unable to
be employed or who is a housewife may be
considered to have established a residence
in Louisiana if there is convincing evidence
that he continuously resides in Louisiana. If
only one parent qualifies as a resident of
Louisiana, the student shall be classified as
a resident. An individual who resides in
Louisiana and is employed full time in
another state or an individual who resides in
another state and is employed full-time in
Louisiana may be classified as a resident. In
such case, appropriate documentary evi-
dence must be presented.

2. An applicant who resides in another state
may be considered a resident if a deceased
parent qualified under these regulations as a
resident of Louisiana at the time of his
death. Such an applicant who has resided
and been employed full-time in another
state for two years or longer cannot qualify
as a resident under this provision.

3. A student residing with his parents who
enrolls as a nonresident is classified as a
resident if his parents move to Louisiana
and acquire residence as defined in these
regulations.

4. A person may be classified as a resident of
Louisiana at the end of twelve consecutive
months of residence if he has been em-
ployed full time in Louisiana and if during
that period he has not been registered in an
educational institution for more than six
semester hours or its equivalent in any
semester. A person who is unable to be
employed and has not been registered in
any educational institution for more than
six semester hours or its equivalent in any
semester may acquire residence in Louisiana
if there is convincing evidence that he



10.

11.

continuously resided in Louisiana for
twelve consecutive months immediately
preceding registration.

A student who is married to a Louisiana
resident may acquire the residence status of
his or her spouse.

A person who resides in Louisiana for at
least two years, exclusive of military ser-
vice, and then moves to another state or
foreign country retains the right to enroll
himself or any of his dependents as a
resident for a period equal to the number of
years he resided in Louisiana, but the right
shall expire upon the person’s residing for a
period of five years in another state or
foreign country.

A member of the armed forces currently
stationed in Louisiana and his dependents
shall be classified as Louisiana residents. A
serviceman who was stationed in Louisiana
immediately prior to his release from active
duty may enroll himself or his dependents
as residents during a period not to exceed
six months after the date of release pro-
vided that his term of active duty shall have
been no less than twelve consecutive
months.

A member of the armed forces who was a
resident of Louisiana immediately prior to
entering the armed forces retained the right
for him or any of his dependents to be
classified as a resident as long as he is in the
armed forces and for a five-year period after
leaving the armed forces.

A resident of Louisiana does not lose the
right to be classified as a resident during
periods of employment in a foreign coun-

try.

An alien who has been lawfully admitted to
the United States for permanent residence
as an immigrant (proof of such status is his
possession of his Form I-151-Alien Registra-
tion Receipt Card) and who has established
residence under any of the foregoing provi-
sions shall be declared a resident of the
state.

An applicant shall be declared a resident if
either parent is a graduate of any State
institution of higher learning in Louisiana.
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* * * *
Part XI
Code of Ethics Governing

Members of the Board of Trustees
for State Colleges and Universities

A Board Member:

. Owes his primary allegiance to the students

attending the colleges and universities of this
State and not to any political party, faction or
business organization.

. Will not use his office to seek special privileges

or private gain, nor will he use his position to
promote his business or private interest.

Will seek to provide equal educational oppor-
tunities for all students regardless of race, creed,
or locality.

. Recognizes his duty to assist in formulating

educational regulations and policies, but recog-
nizes the duty and responsibility of the college
and university presidents and board staff to see
that these regulations and policies are carried
out.

. Understands that in the selection of academic

staff and all other college and university person-
nel the presidents, with comments as to ap-
proval or rejection by the Director of the Board
staff, shall nominate candidates for these posi-
tions, and that the Board shall select nominees
solely on merit.

. Understands that he has no authority as an

individual Board member but must act through
the Board as a whole, and will abide by the
decisions of the Board.

. Will keep himself as well informed as possible

about the conditions in the college and universi-
ty system and about such other matters as will
help him serve efficiently.

. Will endeavor, as a representative of the public,

to keep the public informed about the progress
and needs of the college and university system.

. Will refrain from making any commitment upon

any matter which rests solely within the Board’s
authority for final discussion and decision.



10. Recognizing that all college and university
personnel should work in close cooperation, will
give his wholehearted support to the total
educational program and will not publicly criti-
cize college or university personnel, but will
make such criticism to the appropriate autho-
rities for investigation and action if necessary.

11. Will affiliate with appropriate professional orga-
nizations and take part in their activities as
much as possible.

12. Will endeavor to see that all public college and
university funds shall be expended efficiently,
economically and for the best interest of the
system.

13. Will attend Board meetings with an open mind
and listen to what other Board members and
other individuals or groups have to say before
making final decisions.

14. Will view his responsibility as being to all
students of the college and university system
and, consider the program for the whole admin-
istrative unit when making decisions.

15. Will follow completely the procedures stipu-
lated by Board policy or law in every case where
an academic person or other employee is being
tried for incompetency or other causes which
may subject him to dismissal.

Bill Junkin
Executive Director

RULES

Governor’s Consumer Protection Division

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the Director of the Governor’s Consumer
Protection Division, on November 10, 1975, and
approved by the Consumer Protection Advisory
Board on December 16, 1975. They will become
effective on January 20, 1976.)

Title 2: Procedures
Chapter 1—-General Procedural Rules

Section 4. Notice
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Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any
rule, the Division shall give at least fifteen days notice of
its intended action. The notice shall include a statement
of either the terms or substance of the intended action
or a description of the subjects and issues involved, and
the time when, the place where, and the manner in
which interested persons may present their views there-
on. The notice shall be mailed to all persons who have
made timely request of the agency for advance notice of
its rule-making proceedings and shall be published at

least once in the official state journal and the Louisiana

Register. For the purpose of timely notice, the date of
notice shall be deemed to be the date of publication of
the issue of the Louisiana Register in which the notice
appears, such publication date to be the publication date
as stated on the first page of said issue.

Section 6. Emergency rules

If the Division finds that an imminent peril to the
public health, safety, or welfare requires adoption of a
rule upon fewer than fifteen days notice, it shall so state
in writing to the Governor of the State of Louisiana, the
Attorney General of Louisiana, and the Division of
Administration its reasons for that finding and may
proceed without prior notice or hearing or upon any
abbreviated notice and hearing that it finds practicable
to adopt an emergency rule.

Section 8. Effective date of rule

Each rule hereafter adopted is effective upon its
publication in the Louisiana Register, said publication to
be subsequent to the act of adoption, except that:

1) If a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule, the later day is the effective date;

2) Subject to applicable constitutional or statutory
provisions, an emergency rule shall become effective
on the date of its adoption, or on a date specified by
the Division to be not more than sixty days future
from the date of its adoption, provided written
notice is given within three days of the date of
adoption to the Governor of Louisiana, the Attor-
ney General of Louisiana, and the Division of
Administration as provided in CPR 2:6. Such
emergency rule shall not remain in effect beyond
the publication date of the Louisiana Register
published in the month following the month in
which the emergency rule is adopted, unless such
rule and the reasons for adoption thereof are
published in said issue; provided, however, that any
emergency rule so published shall not be effective
for a period longer than 120 days, but the adoption
of an identical rule under CPR 2:4 and CPR 2:5 is



not precluded. The Division shall take appropriate
measures to make emergency rules known to the
persons who may be affected by them.

Section 10. Compliance with Federal regulations

When a rule is adopted, amended, or repealed in
compliance with Federal regulations, the Division’s
notice of intent, if such is necessary, and the actual text
of the rule as published in the Louisiana Register, shall
be accompanied by a citation of the Federal Register
issue in which the determining Federal regulation is
published. Such citation shall be by volume, number,
date, and page number.

Charles W. Tapp
Director
RULES

State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education on December 18, 1975, to be effective
January 20, 1976.)

a) The substitution for 6.03.60, Policy and Procedure
Manual, of the following policy relative to personnel
in vocational-technical institutions:

6.03.61 High School Experience

In determining the increment level of beginning
instructional employees in vocational-technical
schools, related teaching experience at the elemen-
tary, secondary, or college level shall be allowed.

b) The adoption until September 1, 1976, of the
following emergency rule declared in the Louisiana
Register on October 20, 1975:

3.01.70

An applicant seeking certification under Bulletin
746 (as revised in 1964) after September 1, 1975,
may have his or her records reviewed for this
purpose until September 1, 1976. During this time
period, certification may be granted according to
the 1964 standards only if the applicant completed
the appropriate requirements prior to September 1,

1975.
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c) Delete 6.03.63.2 and 6.03.63b of the Policy and
Procedure Manual and insert in lieu thereof the
following:

6.03.63 Night School

Full-time day instructors in vocational-technical
schools may be permitted to teach additional night
or extension classes for a maximum of eight hours
weekly. Compensation for such additional instruc-
tion shall be at the hourly wage provided for
part-time instructors in extension and evening
courses.

Earl Ingram
Director

RULE

Louisiana Health and Human Resources Administration
Division of Family Services

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
permanently by the Health and Human Resources
Administration on January 5, 1976, to be effective
on January 20, 1976. They have been in effect on
an emergency basis since December 1, 1975.)

The Louisiana Health and Human Resources Admin-
istration, Division of Family Services, due to the
amendment to R.S. 46:65 in the past legislative session
is revising policy relative to the confidentiality of
information so as to conform to current State law. The
revised policy provides the following:

A. Applications for assistance, and information con-
tained in case records of clients of the Division of
Family Services of the Louisiana Health and Human
Resources Administration, shall be confidential and
that it shall be unlawful for any person to solicit,
disclose, receive, make use of, or to authorize,
knowingly permit, participate in, or acquiesce in the
use of applications or client case records or the
information contained therein for any purpose not
directly connected with the administration of the
Family Services program.

B. Publication of lists of names of clients or applicants
is prohibited.

C. The following information shall not be subject to
waiver, and shall not be released to applicants,



recipients, or outside sources, except those outside
sources engaged in the administration of the Family
Services program:

(1) Records pertaining to foster care of children,
investigations of abuse or neglect of children,
and other child welfare services.

(2) Information furnished to the Division of Family
Services by persons, governmental agencies, or
other legal entities when such furnisher of
information is subject to a confidentiality
statute or regulation which prohibits release of
such information to an outside source. For this
provision to be applicable the limitations of the
furnisher’s confidentiality statute should be
indicated on the material.

(3) Information in case records pertaining to the
Food Stamp Program.

(4) Information contained in applications for assis-
tance and case records that is furnished to all
enforcement agenciés or courts to aid in the
prosecution of criminal offenses related to any
Family Services program.

(5) Information pertaining to adoption of children
shall be strictly confidential and shall only be
released to courts of competent jurisdiction in
accordance with existing laws.

(6) Information pertaining to foster care of chil-
dren, reports and investigations on abuse or
neglect of children, and records of other child
welfare services, shall not be subject to sub-
poena in any judicial proceeding for legal
separation, for divorce, or for custody of
children incidental to a proceeding for legal
separation or divorce; and in the event of the
issuance of a subpoena for such information, or
for any representative or employee of the
Louisiana Health and Human Resources Admin-
istration to testify concerning an applicant or
client in any such proceeding, the court’s
attention shall be called to this.

Confidential information may be released to an
outside source, not directly connected with the
administration of Family Services programs, only
upon written request of the outside source and only
after written waiver by the applicant, client, or his
legal representative, governmental authorities, the
courts, and law enforcement agencies shall be
considered the same as any other outside source.
Confidential information may be released to an
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applicant, client, or his legal representative, provided
that the applicant, client, or legal representative will
be required to complete and sign a written waiver.

William H. Stewart, M.D.
Commissioner

RULES

Commission on Intergovernmental Relations

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
on January 5, 1976, to be effective January 20,
1976.)

IL.

General Rules and Regulations
HUD 701 — Comprehensive Planning
Assistance Program

Purpose

To institute and put forth the policies by which the
State of Louisiana and the Louisiana Commission on
Intergovernmental Relations (IGR), acting as the
officially designated State agency to manage the
Housing and Urban Development (HUD 701) Com-
prehensive Planning Assistance Program, will admin-
ister said program in the areas of regional planning
and management and local assistance.

Definitions

As used in this part, the following terms will have
the meaning indicated:

A. “Consultant” means an organization, private or
non-profit, which has entered into a legal
contract with the Louisiana Commission on
Intergovernmental Relations to do local assis-
tance planning. A consultant can be a private
planning agency or a substate planning district
agency.

B. “Sub-grantee” means a State agency, a private
planning agency, any areawide planning organi-
zation or an urban parish which has entered into
a legal contract with IGR.

III. Local Assistance Program

A. Application Requirements



Applications for grant assistance are re-
quired on an annual basis.

Applications for local assistance grants will
take the form of a resolution from the
locality requesting such assistance. The res-
olution will conform to the standard resolu-
tion approved by IGR. Resolutions will be
submitted to IGR by December 1 of each
year.

The planning commission of the locality
will submit a proposed scope of services to
IGR on an annual basis following submittal
of a resolution requesting planning assis-
tance and prior to March 31.

Amendments to the local assistance work
will be made in writing and will be signed
by the planning commission chairman and
will be submitted to IGR as soon as the
need for a revision becomes evident. Pro-
posed amendments will not be accepted by
IGR after March 31. Final approval of any
amendment will be with HUD.

B. Allocation of Funds for Local Assistance

1.

All applicants submitting a resolution by
December 1 will be considered. Eligible
applicants will be determined based on
HUD guidelines, and will be funded for
eligible activities in accordance with the
following criteria:

(a) The cost of certain elements will have a
direct linear relationship to the size of a
locality (i.e., mapping, existing land-
use, housing).

(b) The cost of certain elements will not
have a linear relationship to the size of
a locality (i.e., ‘population analysis,
codes).

(¢c) In FY °75-76, the substate districts,
with the exception of Capital Regional
Planning Commission and the Regional
Planning Commission of Orleans, Jef-
ferson, St. Bernard, St. Tammany, will
provide the necessary data concerning
existing land-use, base mapping, eco-
nomic development, and future land-
use on the parish level for purposes of

comprehensive planning.

38

(d) Official population projections, pre-
pared by Georgios Christou and Harris
Segal, will serve as the data base for all
parish level population analyses.

C. Performance of Work

1.

Preliminary local assistance plans will be
scheduled for submittal to IGR by the
subgrantee, submittal dates subject to the
approval of IGR.

Non-performance of local assistance plans:
Failure to comply with established prelimi-
nary planning report submittal dates as
specified under contract, may result in the
following action. A grace period beginning
the first working day following the sched-
uled submittal date and not exceeding five
working days will be allowed. Upon expira-
tion of the grace period, there will be a
daily deduction of two percent of the
element cost, that cost as stipulated by
contract, for each working day that the
planning report is overdue past the grace
period, up to a maximum of twenty-five
percent. The entire contract may be subject
to termination if the planning report is not
submitted within thirty working days fol-
lowing the scheduled submittal date.

Local assistance plans will be subject to
approval by IGR in regard to quality of
work performed. Basic standards concern-
ing a planning report will be issued by IGR.
All subgrantees in their preparation and
production of planning reports will meet
these basic standards.

The following procedures will be followed
by IGR and its subcontractors in the
submittal of local assistance planning re-
ports. Two copies of the preliminary report
will be submitted to IGR, one copy to each
planning commission member of the local-
ity and one copy to the substate district
planning agency in which the locality re-
ceiving planning assistance is located to
arrive fifteen working days prior to the
offical planning commission meeting. The
substate district staff will submit written
comments to IGR within seven working
days after receipt of the report. IGR will
review the report and will send written
comments to the planning commission
members and to the consultants within



eight working days after receipt of the
report.

Revisions, due to unfavorable comments
from IGR concerning a planning report, will
be discussed and resolved between IGR and
the planning consultant prior to presenta-
tion of the report at an official meeting. If
more than the allotted fifteen working days
are necessary to resolve all unfavorable
comments, the planning commission will be
advised.

Final reports must be submitted to IGR
upon completion and prior to June 30 of
each year.

D. Publication and Depository Requirements

1.

The individual reports and maps (herein-
after referred to as “product”) which com-
prise a comprehensive plan will be pub-
lished by the consultant in final form, each
product under separate cover, within the
same planning program year in which that
product is funded.

Each final product will meet all HUD
requirements for basic inclusions. In addi-
tion, each final product will include a title
page and a roster sheet, utilizing the stan-
dard format prescribed by IGR, and a
bibliography. All products, preliminary and
final, will have affixed in a conspicious
location the following notation:

Comprehensive Planning Assistance Grant:
(Contract No.) was prepared under contract
for the Louisiana Commission on Intergov-
ernmental Relations by (Name of Consul-
tant). The preparation of this (report or
map) was financially aided through a Fed-
eral grant from the Department of Housing
and Urban Development under the Urban
Planning Assistance Program authorized by
Section 701 of the Housing Act of 1954, as
amended, .and through the financial assis-
tance, in part, by the State of Louisiana,
Commission on Intergovernmental Rela-
tions and in part by (Recipient).

A consultant performing comprehensive
local assistance plans will submit an original
reproduceable or a duplicate film repro-
duceable of the base map of the locality to
IGR.

4. The consultant will provide IGR with the

appropriate number of copies of each of the
final products based on the following distri-
bution needs:

26 copies—Designated HUD depositories

2 copies—Louisiana Commission on Inter-
governmental Relations

2 copies—Louisiana State Library

1 copy—Parish Library

5-9 copies—Planning Commission members

5-16 copies—Mayor, town councilmen, or
police juries

25 copies—Locality (general use)

E. Procedures for Payment

1.

The consultant must submit a standard
invoice to IGR after approval of the final
report by IGR and after presentation of the
final report to the Planning Commission.
The invoice must have the signature of the
Planning Commission chairman or his desig-
nated representative. Comments from' the
Planning Commission, in the form of offi-
cial meeting minutes, must be attached to
the invoice. Processing of the invoice will
require fifteen working days.

IV. Regional Planning and Management Program

A. Application Requirements

1.

Applications for grant assistance are re-
quired on an annual basis.

Areawide planning organizations will sub-
mit Overall Program Designs to IGR by
December 1 of each year. The format will
be subject to the approval of IGR and
HUD.

Amendments to the areawide planning
organization’s OPD will be made in writing
and will be approved by the governing body
of the areawide planning organization, and
will be submitted to IGR as soon as the
need for a revision becomes evident. Pro-
posed amendments cannot be submitted to
IGR after March 31. Final approval of any
amendment will be with HUD.

B. Allocation of Funds for Regional Planning and

1.

Management

There will be an equitable distribution of



money based on five factors. These factors
are: population of the substate district,
excluding SMSA parishes; the number of
localities in a substate district, excluding
those within SMSA parishes; the number of
square miles within a substate district,
excluding SMSA parishes; the average per-
centage of poverty in the substate district;
and the anticipated growth of the substate
district. Performance of work will also be
considered.

C. Performance of Work

1.

Preliminary regional planning reports will
be scheduled for submittal to IGR by the
subgrantee, submittal dates subject to ap-
proval of IGR.

Non-performance of regional planning activ-
ities:

a. Crave discrepancies in the administra-
tion of the areawide 701 planning and
management program resulting in mis-
management of funds or non-
compliance with HUD and State regula-
tions will result in the following action.
Payment on the regional planning and
management program will be stopped
until such time that the affected area-
wide planning organization corrects the
discrepancies to the satisfaction of Lou-
isiana Commission on Intergovern-
mental Relations and Housing and
Urban Development.

b. Non-compliance with established pre-
liminary areawide planning report sub-
mittal dates, as outlined  under con-
tract, may result in the following ac-
tion. A grace period beginning the first
working day following the scheduled
submittal date and not exceeding five
working days will be allowed. Upon
expiration of the grace period, there
will be a daily deduction of two per-
cent of the element cost, that cost as
stipulated in the areawide planning
organizations’ AWP, for each working
day that the planning report is overdue
past the grace period, up to a maximum
of twenty-five percent. The entire con-
tract will be subject to termination if
the planning report is not submitted
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within thirty working days following
the scheduled submittal date.

Areawide planning studies will be subject to
approval by IGR in regard to quality of
work performed. Basic standards concern-
ing a planning report will be issued by IGR.
All subgrantees in their preparation and
production of planning reports will meet
these basic standards.

Preliminary planning reports will be sub-
mitted to IGR for review and comment.
Revisions, due to unfavorable comments
from IGR, will be discussed and resolved
between IGR and the substate district,
metropolitan areawide planning organiza-
tion, or urban parish.

D. Publication and Depository- Requirements

L.

The individual reports and maps (herein-
after referred to as “product”) which are
completed by a regional planning agency
will be published by that agency, each
product under separate cover, within the
same planning program year in which that
product is funded.

Each final product will meet all HUD
requirements for basic inclusions. In addi-
tion, each final product will include a title
page and a roster sheet, utilizing the stan-
dard format prescribed by IGR, and a
bibliography. All products, preliminary and
final, will have affixed in a conspicuous
location the following notation:

Comprehensive Planning Assistance Grant:
(Contract No.) was prepared under contract
for the Louisiana Commission on Inter-
governmental Relations by (Name of
Consultant). The preparation of this (report
or map) was financially aided through a
Federal grant from the Department of
Housing and Urban Development under the
Urban Planning Assistance Program autho-
rized by Section 701 of the Housing Act of
1954, as amended, and through the finan-
cial assistance, in part, by the State of
Louisiana, Commission on Intergovern-
mental Relations and in part by (Name of
Recipient).

The regional planning agency will provide
IGR with the appropriate number of copies



of each of the final products as outlined
below. IGR will distribute these copies as
follows:

26 copies—Designated HUD depositories

2 copies—Louisiana Commission on Inter-
governmental Relations

2 copies—Louisiana State Library

1 to 10 copies—Appropriate parish libraries

1 to 10 copies—Appropriate parish police
juries

25 copies (minimum)—General distribution

E. Procedure for Payment

1.

The areawide planning organizations will
invoice IGR on a cost incurred basis using a
standard invoice form. The invoice will be
in the amount of the expenses accrued and
must be no less than one thousand dollars.
These expenses are subject to monitoring
by IGR. Requisitions must be signed by the
regional planning commission chairman or
his designated representative. The minutes
of official meetings must be attached to the
requisition.

V. General Program Requirements

A. Administrative Requirements

1.

Quarterly reports on the progress of the
work program will be submitted by all local
assistance consultants on local assistance
programs and by the APO’s on regional
planning and management programs to
IGR. These reports are due fifteen working
days following the close of the quarter.
Quarters end on September 30, December
31, and March 31.

The quarterly report will include a narrative
following the semi-annual report format
prescribed in HUD Handbook II and will
include a financial report following the
format prescribed in HUD Handbook II.

The Annual Program Report will be sub-
mitted by all local assistance program con-
sultants on local assistance work and by the
APQ’s on regional planning and manage-
ment work within sixty days following the
close of the fiscal year, which is June 30.
The completion report will follow the
format prescribed in HUD Handbook II.
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Subgrantees will comply with all HUD
regulations as outlined in the Federal Regis-
ter, Volume 37, Number 64, April 1, 1972,
and Volume 39, Number 240, December
12, 1974. Subgrantees will also comply
with all HUD regulations as outlined in
HUD Handbooks I, I1, and III.

In accordance with Section 135.20 (Federal
Register, Volume 38, Number 203, page
29222), all subgrantees will comply with
Section 3 of the Housing and Urban De-
velopment Act of 1968. Section 3 requires
that to the greatest extent feasible, oppor-
tunities for training and employment be
given lower income residents of the project
area and contracts for work in connection
with the project be awarded to business
concerns which are located in, or owned in
substantial part by persons residing in the
area of the project.

B. Financial Support

1.

Louisiana Commission on Intergovern-
mental Relations will support the regula-
tions issued by the Department of Housing
and Urban Development regarding the pro-
vision of financial support. (F.R., Vol. 39,
No. 240, p. 43380, Section 600.106)

The amount of assistance provided by HUD
shall be based upon the following:

(a) The applicant’s performance in admin-
istering its program in accordance with
all HUD requirements, including these
regulations;

(b) The applicant’s past performance in
completing its activities in a timely
fashion;

(c) The applicant’s progress toward the
achievement of its identified objectives;
and

(d) The applicant’s capability to undertake
the activities for which assistance is
requested.

These factors will be considered in the
allocation of HUD 701 planning monies
in subsequent years.



Monies allocated to planning firms, private
or non-profit, but not distributed due to
non-performance of work or non-
compliance with HUD and State regula-
tions, will be reallocated to other eligible
applicants as long as IGR and HUD deem it
practicable. All monies not so allocated will
be returned to HUD.

C. Contracts

Pursuant to Act 593 which amends Sections 572
and 572.1 of Title 15 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes
of 1950 and in compliance with the mandate established
by Section 572.3 thereof, which provides, in part, that
the Board may:

Adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry
out the provisions of this Part and its duties and

functions in connection therewith,

the following rules, having been adopted by the Louisi-

1. In accordance with HUD regulations (Fed- ana Board of Pardons, will govern the processing of
eral Register, Volume 30, No. 240, p. applications for pardons, commutation of sentences, or
43386, Section 600, 120j), the Louisiana restoration of citizenship. It is specifically provided that
Commission on Intergovernmental Rela- rules previously adopted and adhered to, unless included
tions will require that the chief executive of herein, are void.
the unit of general local government or, in
the case of an areawide planning organiza- Rule 1
tion, the highest policy officer (e.g. chair-
man or president), affix his signature to the To constitute a complete application for pardon,
legal contract on the HUD grant agreement. commutation of sentence, or restoration of citizenship

» an applicant must comply with two basic requirements.

2. Any unit of local government which enters
into a contract with IGR for the provision a) Submit a petition setting forth the name of
of local assistance planning will be required applicant, age, offense, parish where tried,
to establish and maintain a planning com- judicial district, sentence and date, length of
mission in conformance with R.S. 33:101 time served, where served, date of parole or
to 119 and R.S. 33:131 to 140. probation, date discharged, reasons for request-

ing clemency, and relief desired. The petition
D. Waivers shall be signed and dated and contain a home
address. There is no requirement that the

1. The Executive Director of IGR may grant a petition be in any particular form or length, so

waiver to any of the policies governing the
administration of the HUD 701 program
provided that the waiver is not in conflict
with HUD policies. A subgrantee desiring a
waiver must submit a written request speci-
fying the details of the desired waiver and
accompanied by substantiative evidence
that such a waiver is necessary. Approval of
a waiver can be given only by the Executive
Director or by his designated representative.

Leon Tarver
Director

RULES

Board of Pardons

- long as it is legible and contains the items
mentioned above. In the case of a request for
pardon or restoration of citizenship, all previous
convictions for which applicant is not pardoned,
must be listed. There will be no deadlines for
purposes of filing petitions.

b) Have published in a newspaper, whose distribu-
tion includes the parish where the offense is
alleged to have been committed, one advertise-
ment that indicates applicant’s intent to apply
to the Board for clemency. For purpose of
compliance with this rule, the Board will accept
an application received within one year of date
of appearance of the advertisement. The appli-
cant shall provide the Board with proof of
publication as evidenced by a certificate fur-
nished by said newspaper.

Rule 2

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the Board of Pardons on January 5, 1975, to be
effective on January 20, 1976.)

The Board shall meet on the second Tuesday of
every month. It also shall meet at such other times as the
Chairman .may determine necessary for the purpose of
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reviewing and taking action upon applications for
pardons pending before it and to transact other business
as it deems necessary.

Rule 3

It shall be the responsibility of the Board to ensure
that before rendering a recommendation in any case,
that it obtains pertinent documents and other informa-
tion from the Department of Corrections, Penal Institu-
tions, and Clerks of Court.

Rule 4

An application may be considered by it anytime
after it is received by the Board but no application will
be considered by the Board until it deems the applica-
tion to have been completed and proper notice given as
required by the next Rule.

Rule 5

Upon receipt of an application, same shall be
registered chronologically. Before considering the ap-
plication for pardon of any person, the Board shall give
written notice to the District Attorney of the parish in
which the applicant was convicted, to the applicant, and
any other interested persons of the date, time, and place
at which the application will be heard and considered.
The District Attorney and any other persons who desire
to do so shall be given a reasonable opportunity to
attend the meeting and be heard.

Rule 6

In addition to those requirements established by
Rule 1 (petition and publication) all applicants are
encouraged to furnish the Board with letters, affidavits,
or signed petitions supporting a request for clemency.

Rule 7

To demonstrate good faith to the Board, an appli-
cant should provide the Board with both an employment
and residence agreement. However, neither an employ-
ment agreement nor a residence agreement are required
documents but are encouraged. The agreement shall
inform the Board of the applicant’s plans for the present
and/or future.

Rule 8

First offenders, who were sentenced after January 1,
1975, will be automatically pardoned under the provi-
sions of the Constitution, Article 4, Section 5(¢) or R.S.
15:572(b). This Rule shall not discourage any first
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offender from applying for relief from this Board prior
to the expiration of his term.

First offenders who had the imposition of their
sentence suspended by the Court prior to January 1,
1975, are directed to apply to the Court for dismissal of
the charges under the provision of Louisiana Code of
Criminal Procedure, Articles 893 and 894, and any such
application which they file with the Pardon Board
should indicate whether they have made such applica-
tion to the sentencing court.

Rule 9

The Board upon denying an application shall within
twenty-one working days inform the applicant of the
denial and the fact that the Board shall review appli-
cant’s petition automatically at least once again at a time
established at the Board’s discretion, but no more than
one year from date of receipt of original petition.

Any additional application or reapplication normal-
ly will not be considered unless one year shall have
elapsed since the date of the last action on applicant’s
file. The Board in its discretion may consider an
application within a year after its last action. However,
such an application filed without prior approval of the
Board is subject to deferred docketing.

Rule 10

The Board shall from time to time automatically
review certain cases of individuals confined without any
action on the latter’s part as determined by the Board,
being guided by the length of sentence, nature of the
offense, conduct during confinement, and recommenda-
tion of the warden or superintendent of the institution
where confined.

Rule 11

Applicants denied before September, 1975, can have
their cases heard anew by complying with the provisions
of Rule 1 (petition and publication).

Rule 12

Applicants are encouraged to provide the Board
with the names of those persons he or she anticipates
will appear in person. Applicants not confined are
advised to make a personal appearance in their own
behalf.

Rule 13

The Board will submit recommendations to the



Governor that will serve the best interest of the
applicant and the State and that are not contrary to the
established laws of the State.

Rule 14

Unless provided subsequent hereto, the above men-
tioned enumerated thirteen rules shall compose the rules
of the Board of Pardons as adopted this S5th day of
January, 1976.

John D. Hunter
Chairman

RULES

Board of Regents

(Editor’s Note: The following rule was adopted
on December 17, 1975, to become effective on
January 20, 1976.)

3.7 Emeritus Status

Effective January 1, 1976, no compensation in
addition to normal retirement is to be paid in connec-
tion with the granting of the honorary title of “Emer-
itus.” However, office services and quarters may be
furnished in State facilities at no charge. Recipients of
this title may receive additional compensation on a
contractural basis for services rendered to or for State
agencies. Such contracts are to conform with applicable
State laws and regulations. All prior commitments may
continue within applicable State laws and regulations
until termination of the agreement or demise of the title
holder.

William Arceneaux
Commissioner of Higher Education

RULES

Board of Trustees of
the Teachers’ Retirement System

(Editor’s Note: The following rules were adopted
by the Board of Trustees of the Teachers’ Retire-
ment System on December 12, 1975, to be
effective on January 20, 1976.) '

Transfers must be approved by the system the
member is leaving.

Transfer of service will be approved for any credit in
any state, municipal, or parochial public retirement
system for any member now eligible for Teachers’
Retirement System upon approval of both boards of
trustees.

If employee and/or employer contributions being
transferred are less than the contributions that
would have been payable had the same earnings
occurred as a member of our system the member
must pay the difference plus five percent interest
per annum compounded. For this amount to be
acceptable the earnings on which the computation is
based must be a reasonable salary for the amount of
credit to be gained and will be subject to approval
by the Board of Trustees. Employee and employer
contributions would have to be made on full salary
earned in the position held, even if social security
contributions were paid on a portion of said salary.
In cases of doubt, where a salary appears unreason-
able for the amount of service credit to be gained,
Teachers” Retirement System shall have the right to
require salary certification from the employer be-
fore granting credit for any year in question.

In no case shall a transfer of credit from any or all

retirement systems combined with credit in Teach-

ers’ Retirement System afford more than 100% or
one full year of credit for any twelve month period.

Fractions of a year to be rounded to hundredths of

a year.

a. Any member who has prior service credit which
was obtained at no cost in another system shall
have to pay for such service at applicable
contribution rates in existence for our system in
order to obtain credit in this system.

Members who have previously obtained reciprocal
transfers may apply for a total transfer under Act
548 of 1975 under the same provisions as any other
eligible member of Teachers’ Retirement System.

After the date on which the transfer is completed
the system from which the member transfers shall
have no liability for the member’s retirement ac-
count. The member, his beneficiary and/or survivors
shall have all the rights and privileges of the system
to which he has transferred except for Paragraph E
of the act concerning eligibility for a retirement
benefit.

Carleton C. Page
Secretary-Treasurer



RULES

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

(Editor’s Note: The following rule was adopted
on December 19, 1975, to be effective on January
20, 1976.)

WHEREAS, Act 616, sponsored by the Louisiana Oyster
Dealers and Growers Association, adopted during the
Regular Session of the 1974 State Legislature, autho-
rized the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to
regulate the size limit and area closures after January 1
of each year on state controlled oyster seed grounds, and
only after affording all interested parties an opportunity
to be heard, and

WHEREAS, a resolution from the Louisiana Oyster
Dealers and Growers Association was submitted request-
ing the removal of the size limit for economic reasons,
but requesting a closing date of April 15, 1976.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the
Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does here-
by approve the removal of the three-inch size limit on all
state controlled oyster seed grounds and natural reefs,
with the exception of Calcasieu Lake, after December
31, 1975, and imposes a closing date of one-half hour
before sunset on April 15, 1976.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Calcasieu Lake will
continue to have a three-inch size limit for oyster
harvesting and that the season will close on March 31,
1976.

(Editor’s Note: The following rule was adopted
on November 18, 1975, to be effective on January
20, 1976.)

WHEREAS, 45,000 hybrid (white bass—striped bass)
bass fingerlings were stocked in False River, Pointe
Coupee Parish, in May 1975, and

WHEREAS, these fish though not likely to reproduce,
have the potential of reaching fifteen—twenty pounds,
feeding primarily on gizzard shad which are very
numerous in the lake, and

WHEREAS, these hybrids now average ten inches in

45

length and are being caught in large numbers by
sportfishermen,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Louisiana Wild-
life and Fisheries Commission hereby imposes the
establishment of a statewide two fish daily, four fish
possession limit on hybrid bass.

J. Burton Angelle, Sr.
Director

Notices of Intent

NOTICE OF INTENT

Board of Trustees for
* State Colleges and Universities

In accordance with the laws of the State of
Louisiana and with reference to the provisions of Title
30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 as
amended, a public hearing will be held in the Mineral
Board Room of the State Land and Natural Resources
Building, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, beginning at 1:30
p-m., February 26, 1976.

At such hearing, the Board will consider the
addition of the following to its, “Faculty and Staff
Personnel Policies and Procedures.”

Section 7.1 Age
A. Administrative Personnel

Presidents of colleges and universities, and
anyone holding a position in an administrative
capacity under the Board shall be retired at the age
of sixty-five years, with the provision that a person
attaining age sixty-five in a school year will be
permitted to continue until the end of the year.

B. Extension—Beyond Age Sixty-five

1. No person shall be continued in the employ-
ment of the Board beyond the end of the fiscal year
in which that person reaches the age of sixty-five
years unless, on application made for such continua-
tion, the Board finds that such person is mentally,
physically, temperamentally, and morally fit to
perform his duties, in which event the Board may, at
its discretion, extend the employment of such
person one year at a time, but not beyond the end



of the fiscal year in which such person reaches the
age of sixty-eight years.

2. Any person requesting retention beyond the
age of sixty-five years shall submit an application in
writing prior to April 1 of the year in which such
person would be retired.

3. All applications for extension must be sup-
ported by the concurrence and written certification
by the president of the institution that, in his
opinion, the person recommended is mentally,
physically, temperamentally, and morally fit to
continue in service and to perform his duties
satisfactorily for one additional year beyond the age
of sixty-five years, or for one year additional
beyond the retirement period previously extended,
together with such other pertinent information and
reasons for continuing the employment as are within
the knowledge of the party making the certificate. If
the party making the certificate knows the facts
through his own personal knowledge, he shall so
state. If the recommendation for retention is based
upon the recommendation of or information by a
dean, department head, or other similar official
having knowledge of the facts, the application shall
be accompanied by a similar certificate executed by
such dean, department head, or other such person.
The Board shall have the right to require such other
information or evidence as it deems necessary in
each case.

4. All employees at the institutions under the
jurisdiction of the Board who have reached the age
of sixty-five must take and pass a physical examina-
tion showing that they are physically able to
continue working in their present positions without
injury to their health; written results of the ex-
aminations shall be made a part of the personnel
records in the institution and must be reported to
the Board.

5. The above policy of the Board which allows
each college and university president to exercise his
judgment in individual requests shall be continued
until June 30, 1977, in accordance with present
policy. On June 30, 1977, the termination of
employment will be mandatory at age sixty-five,
with the provision that a person attaining age
sixty-five in a school year will be permitted to
continue until the end of the year.

All college and university presidents shall be
directed immediately to abide by the present policy
of the Board and shall exercise judgment in each
individual request for continuation of employment
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after the age of sixty-five for one year for those
employees who meet the criteria set forth by the:
Board; any statements in handbooks or documents
of the colleges and universities that categorically
deny any employment after age sixty-five shall be
eliminated. Remuneration for the rank of president
emeritus shall be discontinued with attrition taking
care of those presidents presently drawing president
emeritus pay.

Section 7.2
A. Rank Distribution

Special care shall be exercised in assigning
faculty ranks to new appointees and in making
promotions in rank from year to year. The following
table provides guidelines and limitations on assign-
ments of ranks within each institution:

Percentage
Academic Rank Range Not to Exceed
Professor 20-35% - 35%
Associate Professor 25-35% 70%

Section 7.3
A. Off-Campus Laboratory Schools

Effective the school year 1976-77, the college
or university shall pay a salary to fully qualified and
certified cooperating teachers in accordance with
the following schedule:

a. $200 per semester for first student teacher
at a given school

b. $175 per semester for second student
teacher at a given school

c. $50 per semester for each additional stu-
dent teacher to a maximum of $500 for the
semester at a given school.

The college or university shall pay principals of
schools where student teaching is done according to
the following schedule:

$50 per semester for each cooperating teacher
used in the program to a total of ten ($500 is
the maximum per semester that may be paid a
principal).

The Board of Trustees for State Colleges and
Universities will accept written comments until 5:00
p.m., Monday, February 16, 1976, at the following
address:



Board of Trustees for State
Colleges and Universities

P. 0. Box 44307, Capitol Station

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804.

The public is made aware of the above proposed
changes in compliance with R.S. 49:951-966.

All interested persons will be afforded reason-
able opportunity to submit data, views, comments
or arguments at the regular February Board meeting.

Bill Junkin
Executive Director

NOTICE OF INTENT

State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education

Notice is hereby given that the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education intends to take up
at its regular February, 1976, meeting the consideration
of the proposal stated below (public notification stated
herein indicates no prior approval, merely the intention
to consider):

The addition on a permanent basis to the State
Adult Education Plan of policies relative to the
allocation of adult Indo-Chinese refugee education
funds as published in the January 20, 1976, issue of
the Louisiana Register as an emergency rule.

The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education will accept written comments until 5:00 p.m.,
February 4, 1976, at the following address:

State of Louisiana

Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education

P. O. Box 44064

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804

The public is made aware of the consideration of the
above suggested rule change proposals in compliance
with R.S.49:951 et seq.

All interested parties will be afforded reasonable
opportunity to submit data, views, comments, or argu-
ments at the regular February Board meeting.

Earl Ingram
Director
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Louisiana Health and Human Resources Administration
Division of Health

The Commissioner, Louisiana Health and Human
Resources Administration, proposes to adopt procedurat
rules for applications and administrative hearings for all
matters handled by the Division of Health of said agency
except the Office of Vital Statistics. The Commissioner
proposes to adopt the said rules on February 6, 1976.

Interested persons may obtain copies of the pro-
posed rules and submit written comments until February
5, 1976, at the following address:

Dr. John M. Bruce

Director

Division of Heaith

Louisiana Health and Human
Resources Administration

Room 513

Louisiana State Office Building

325 Loyola Avenue

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

William H. Stewart, M.D.
Commissioner

NOTICE OF INTENT

Louisiana Health and Human Resources Administration
Division of Health

Notice is hereby given that the Louisiana Health and
Human Resources Administration intends to adopt an
amendment to Section 5.B.4 of the State Sanitary Code
entitled “Imported Milk and Milk Products.” The
Commissioner, Louisiana Health and Human Resources
Administration, will accept written comments and re-
quests for modification of the said section of the
Sanitary Code until 4:00 p.m. on February 9, 1976, at
the following address: John M. Bruce, M.D., Director,
Division of Health, Room 513, Louisiana State Office
Building, 325 Loyola Avenue, P. O. Box 60630, New
Orleans, Louisiana 70112.

The proposed amended section 5.B4 of the State
Sanitary Code, adopted as an Emergency Rule, is
published in this issue of the Louisiana Register in the
Section which is entitled Emergency Rules.

William H. Stewart, M.D.
Commissioner



NOTICE OF INTENT

Health and Human Resources Administration
Division of Youth Services

The Health and Human Resources Administration,
Division of Youth Services intends to amend Sections
2.6-1, 2.11-1, and 3.5-1 of the State Plan for Child
Support Enforcement and Establishment of Paternity
under Title IV-D of the Social Security Act. Amend-
ments may be reviewed at the office of the Division of
Youth Services from 8:30 a.m. through 4:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

Interested parties may address comments and ques-
tions to the following:

Mr. Robert R. Rochester, Director
Division of Youth Services

P. 0. Box 44141

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804

William H. Stewart, M.D.
Commissioner

NOTICE OF INTENT
Louisiana Real Estate Commission

Pursuant to R.S. 49:951, et seq., notice is hereby given
that the Louisiana Real Estate Commission intends to
consider at its March 10-11, 1976, meeting adoption of
new andfor revised Rules and Regulations for the
conduct of the real estate business in the State of
Louisiana.

Interested persons may present their views, in writing, to
the Louisiana Real Estate Commission, P. O. Box 44095,
Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804 not later
than March 5, 1976.

Alvin J. Unick
Director

NOTICE OF INTENT
Board of Regents

Notice is hereby given that the Louisiana Board of
Regents intends to adopt fiscal policy 3.11-Inter-
collegiate Athletic Contracts and Agreements at its
regular February, 1976, meeting.
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The proposed policy is available for public inspec-
tion between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., on
any working day, at the Louisiana Board of Regents,
Suite 1530, One American Place, Baton Rouge, Louisi-
ana.

Interested persons may submit their views and
opinions up to fifteen days following publication of this
Notice of Intent at the following address:

Louisiana Board of Regents

P. O. Box 44362, Capitol Station
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804
(504) 389-5206

William Arceneaux
Commissioner of Higher Education

NOTICE OF INTENT
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission proposes to
adopt permanently a resolution closing Lake Bistineau
to all fish netting except minnow seines. This rule has
been in effect on an emergency basis since November 25,
1975. The resolution will be considered at a meeting on
February 24, 1976, in the Wildlife and Fisheries Build-
ing, 400 Royal Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130.

Interested persons may submit written comments to
the above address until February 4, 1976. Reasonable
opportunity for oral comment will be permitted at the
meeting.

J. Burton Angelle, Sr.
Director
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