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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 14-18 

Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction 

WHEREAS, pursuant to R.S. 39:75(A)(1), the 
Division of Administration is directed to submit a monthly 
budget status report to the Joint Legislative Committee on 
the Budget (hereafter "the Committee") indicating the 
balance of the budget for the State General Fund and 
dedicated funds by comparing the official forecast for these 
funds to the total authorized appropriations from each fund; 
once approved by the Committee, the most recent budget 
status report becomes the official budget status of the State;  

WHEREAS, if the most recently approved budget 
status report indicates that the total appropriation from any 
fund will exceed the official forecast for that fund, R.S. 
39:75(B) requires the Committee to immediately notify the 
Governor that a projected deficit exists for that fund; 

WHEREAS, on November 21, 2014, the Committee 
notified the Governor that it approved a budget status report 
at its November 21, 2014, meeting, indicating that a 
projected deficit of One Hundred Seventy-Nine Million Five 
Hundred Thirty-Three Thousand Five Hundred Ninety-Two 
Dollars ($179,533,592) exists in the State General Fund for 
Fiscal Year 2014-2015, based mainly on the revised official 
forecast of revenue available for appropriation adopted by 
the Revenue Estimating Conference on November 14, 2014, 
compared to total appropriations; 

WHEREAS, at its December 18, 2014 meeting, the 
Committee amended the fiscal status statement and approved 
a budget status report indicating that an amended projected 
deficit of One Hundred Seventy Million Four Hundred 
Ninety-One Thousand Five Hundred Ninety-Two Dollars 
($170,491,592) exists in the State General Fund for Fiscal 
Year 2014-2015; 

WHEREAS, once notified that a projected deficit 
exists, pursuant to Article VII, Section 10, of the 
Constitution of Louisiana and R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a), the 
Governor has interim budget balancing powers to adjust the 
budget, including the authority to reduce appropriations for 
the executive branch of government for any program that is 
appropriated from a fund that is in a deficit posture, not 
exceeding three percent (3%) in the aggregate of the total 
appropriations for each budget unit for the fiscal year, and if 
the Governor does not make necessary adjustments in the 
appropriations to eliminate the projected deficit within thirty 
(30) days of the determination of the projected deficit in a 
fund, R.S. 39:75(D) mandates that the Governor call a 
special session of the Louisiana Legislature for that purpose; 

WHEREAS, as authorized by R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a), I 
am exercising my unilateral interim budget balancing 
powers to reduce the projected deficit by $153,080,648, 
which reductions exceed in the aggregate seven-tenths of 
one percent of the total of State General Fund allocations or 
appropriations of $61,304,260; 

WHEREAS, after utilizing that authority, 
$17,410,944 remains of the projected deficit which must be 
eliminated, therefore I direct the Commissioner of 
Administration to present to the Committee for its approval a 
plan to eliminate the remaining amount of the projected 
deficit pursuant to R. S. 39:75(C)(2); 

WHEREAS, this Executive Order and the plan to be 
submitted to the Committee may utilize all or a portion of 
the General Fund dollar savings objective specified in 
Executive Order BJ 2014-1 and Executive Order BJ 2014-
16. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, Bobby Jindal, Governor of the 
State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by the 
Constitution and laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby 
order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The following departments, agencies, 
and/or budget units (hereafter "Unit" and/or "Units") of the 
executive branch of the State of Louisiana, as described in 
and/or funded by appropriations through Acts 15, 25, and 45 
of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
(hereafter "the Acts"), shall reduce expenditure of funds 
appropriated to the Unit from the State General Fund by the 
Acts, in the amounts shown below: 

 
Act 15-General Operating Appropriations Act: 

Schedule 01-Executive Department State General Fund 
01-107 Division of Administration $ 3,053,127 
01-111 Governor’s Office of Homeland Security $ 100,000 
01-112 Military Affairs $ 359,000 
Schedule 03-Veterans Affairs 
03-130 Veteran's Affairs $ 240,000 
Schedule 04-Elected Officials 
04-160 Agriculture and Forestry $ 208,316 
Schedule 06-Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
06-262 Office of the State Library $ 26,450 
06-264 Office of State Parks $ 132,569 
Schedule 08-Corrections Services 
08A-400 Corrections Administration $ 142,715 
08A-402 Louisiana State Penitentiary $ 59,692 
08A-405 Avoyelles Correctional Center $ 13,500 
08A-406 Louisiana Correctional Institute  
 for Women $ 7,764 
08A-409 Dixon Correctional Institute $ 30,689 
08A-413 Elayn Hunt Correctional Center $ 22,863 
08A-414 David Wade Correctional Center $ 2,355 
08A-416 B.B. Sixty Rayburn Correctional Center $ 1,577 
08A-415 Adult Probation and Parole $ 55,625 
Schedule 08-Youth Services 
08C-403 Office of Juvenile Justice $ 1,984,208 
Schedule 09-Health and Hospitals 
09-305 Medical Vendor Administration $ 2,635,465 
09-306 Medical Vendor Payments $ 127,441,478 
09-307 Office of the Secretary $ 231,721 
09-320 Office of Aging and Adult Services $ 98,754 
09-324 Louisiana Emergency Response Network $ 10,500 
09-326 Office of Public Health $ 620,289 
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09-330 Office of Behavioral Health $ 443,156 
09-340 Office of Citizens with Developmental  
 Disabilities $ 308,213 
Schedule 10-Department of Children and Family Services 
10-360 Office of Children and Family Services $ 964,980 
Schedule 11-Natural Resources 
11-432 Office of Conservation $ 325,046 
11-434 Office of Mineral Resources $ 363,319 
Schedule 13-Environmental Quality 
13-850 Office of the Secretary $ 9,908 
Schedule 19-Higher Education 
19A-661 Office of Student Financial Assistance $ 4,946,681 
Schedule 19-Special Schools and Commissions 
19B-662 Louisiana Educational TV Authority $ 45,000 
Schedule 19-Education 
19D-678 State Activities $ 1,185,733 
19D-681 Subgrantee Assistance $ 4,465,411 
19D-695 Minimum Foundation Program $ 1,123,045 
Schedule 20-Other Requirements 
20-931 LED Debt Service/State Commitments $ 1,421,499 

 
SECTION 2:  

A. No later than December 19, 2014, the head of 
each Unit listed in Section 1 of this Order shall submit to the 
Commissioner of Administration (hereafter 
"Commissioner") a mid-year budget reduction plan, on the 
BA-7 form and questionnaire, which reflects the Unit’s 
proposed allocation of the expenditure reduction ordered in 
Section 1 of this Order (hereafter "mid-year budget 
reduction plan"), and a description of the methodology used 
to formulate the mid-year budget reduction plan. 

B. In the event that positions of employment will be 
affected by the mid-year budget reduction, these positions 
should be included in your mid-year budget reduction plan. 

C. No Unit shall implement the expenditure 
reduction mandated by Section 1 of this Order without the 
Commissioner’s prior written approval of the Unit’s mid-
year budget reduction plan. 

D. After the Commissioner has given approval of a 
Unit’s mid-year budget reduction plan, any change to the 
mid-year budget reduction plan requires prior written 
approval from the commissioner. 

SECTION 3: The Commissioner is authorized to 
develop additional guidelines as necessary to facilitate the 
administration of this Order. 

SECTION 4: All departments, commissions, boards, 
offices, entities, agencies, and officers of the State of 
Louisiana, or any political subdivision thereof, are 
authorized and directed to cooperate in the implementation 
of the provisions of this Order. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature and 
shall remain in effect through June 30, 2015, unless 
amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded prior to that 
date. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially 
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of Louisiana, at the 
Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 18th day of 
December, 2014. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Tom Schedler 
Secretary of State 
1412#037 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Beef Industry Council 

Beef Promotion and Research Program 
(LAC 7:V.Chapter 27) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
enabling authority of R.S. 3:2054(E), notice is hereby given 
that the Louisiana Beef Industry Council (LBIC) is adopting 
this renewal of an Emergency Rule in order to establish rules 
and regulations for its own government and for 
administration of the affairs of the Council. The declaration 
of emergency, originally published in the August 20, 2014 
State Register, is being renewed to ensure continuous 
application until the Permanent Rule is in effect. 

This declaration of emergency is required because the 
October, 2013 Louisiana Supreme Court ruling in Krielow v. 
Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, which 
declared R.S. 3:3534 and R.S. 3:3544, statutes that allow a 
voting majority of rice producers to levy an assessment on 
all producers, to be unconstitutional, calls into question the 
constitutionality of sections 3:2055 through 2062 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. The Revised Statutes 
established, by referendum vote, the Louisiana Beef 
Promotion and Research Program (LBPRP) and the LBIC. 
Among other things, these statutes included procedures for 
the governance and administration of the LBIC.  

Louisiana’s cattle industry is essential to the health, safety 
and welfare of the citizens of this state. In 2004, Louisiana’s 
cattle industry was the second-largest agricultural sector 
with about $365 million in sales. The LBPRP and the LBIC 
promote the growth and development of the cattle industry 
in Louisiana by research, advertisement, promotions, 
education, and market development, thereby promoting the 
general welfare of the people of this state.  

The LBRPR and the LBIC are the mechanisms through 
which the state’s cattle production and feeding industry 
develop, maintain, and expand the state, national, and 
foreign markets for cattle and beef products produced, 
processed, or manufactured in this state and through which 
the cattle production and feeding industry of this state 
contributes otherwise to the development and sustenance of 
a Louisiana coordinated promotion program and nationally 
coordinated programs of product improvement through 
research in consumer marketing via the accepted industry 
organization of the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and 
Research Board and its Beef Industry Council, thus 
benefiting the entire United States cattle industry and the 
American public. 

This Declaration of Emergency is required in order to 
provide a means for the LBIC to continue to govern and 
administer the affairs of the Council, and to allow the 
Council to continue, to the maximum extent possible within 
the constraints announced in Krielow, the LBIC’s support of 

the program and protection of the huge investment that has 
been made, thus insuring the marketability of Louisiana 
beef, until such time as there is a permanent legislative 
solution. Failure to promulgate these rules would jeopardize 
the significant investment to promote the growth and 
development of Louisiana’s cattle industry since the 
program’s inception, and would pose an imminent peril to 
the health and welfare of the Louisiana’s citizens and the 
state’s cattle industry.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law five days 
after its promulgation in the official journal of the State of 
Louisiana and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed 
by the LBIC or until permanent rules are promulgated in 
accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part V.  Advertising, Marketing and Processing 
Chapter 27. Beef Promotion and Research Program 
§2701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to provide for the 
government and for the administration of the affairs of the 
Louisiana Beef Industry Council. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2051, 2052, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Beef 
Industry Council, LR 41: 
§2703. Powers and Duties of the Council; Quorum 

A. The council shall: 
1. receive and disburse funds, as prescribed elsewhere 

in this Chapter, to be used in administering and 
implementing the provisions and intent of this Chapter; 

2. meet regularly, not less often than once in each 
calendar quarter or at such other times as called by the 
chairman, or when requested by six or more members of the 
council; 

3. maintain a permanent record of its business 
proceedings; 

4. maintain a permanent and detailed record of its 
financial accounts; 

5. prepare periodic reports and an annual report of its 
activities for the fiscal year; 

6. prepare periodic reports and an annual accounting 
for the fiscal year of all receipts and expenditures of the 
council and shall retain a certified public accountant for this 
purpose; 

7. appoint a licensed banking institution as the 
depository for program funds and disbursements; 

8. maintain frequent communications with officers 
and industry representatives of the Cattlemen’s Beef 
Promotion and Research Board. 

B. Six members of the council shall constitute a quorum 
for the purpose of conducting business. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2051, 2052, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Beef 
Industry Council, LR 41: 
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§2705. Use of Funds 
A. The council may expend the funds available to it to: 

1. contract for scientific research with any accredited 
university, college, or similar institution and enter into other 
contracts or agreements which will aid in carrying out the 
purposes of the program, including cattle and beef 
promotion, consumer market development, research 
advertising and, including contracts for the purpose of 
acquisition of facilities or equipment necessary to carry out 
purposes of the program; 

2. disseminate reliable information benefiting the 
consumer and the cattle and beef industry on such subjects 
as, but not limited to, purchase, identification, care, storage, 
handling, cookery, preparation, serving, and the nutritive 
value of beef and beef products; 

3. provide information to such government bodies as 
requested on subjects of concern to the cattle and beef 
industry and act jointly or in cooperation with the state or 
federal government and agencies thereof in the development 
or administration of programs deemed by the council to be 
consistent with the objectives of the program; 

4. cooperate with any local, state, regional, or 
nationwide organization or agency engaged in work or 
activities consistent with the objectives of the program; 

5. pay funds to other organizations for work or 
services performed which are consistent with the objectives 
of the program. 

B. All funds available to the council shall be expended 
only to effectuate the purposes of this Chapter and shall not 
be used for political purposes in any manner. A year-end 
audited report shall be made available annually to the state 
conventions of the Louisiana Cattlemen's Association and 
the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, and shall be posted 
on the Division of Administration website in accordance 
with R.S. 49:1301 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2051, 2052, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Beef 
Industry Council, LR 41: 
§2707. Additional Powers of Council 

A. The council may: 
1. sue and be sued as a council, without individual 

liability of the members for acts of the council when acting 
within the scope of the powers of this Chapter, and in the 
manner prescribed by the laws of this state; 

2. appoint advisory groups composed of 
representatives from organizations, institutions, 
governments, or business related to or interested in the 
welfare of the cattle and beef industry and consumers; 

3. employ subordinate officers and employees of the 
council and prescribe their duties and fix their compensation 
and terms of employment; 

4. accept grants, donations, contributions, or gifts 
from any source, but only if the use of such resources is not 
restricted in any manner which is deemed inconsistent with 
the objectives of the program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2051, 2052, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Beef 
Industry Council, LR 41: 

§2709. Levies, Assessments, Collection, and 
Enforcement 

A. Pursuant to 7 C.F.R. §1260.172, the council is 
authorized to collect any assessment in accordance with the 
Federal Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985 on all 
Louisiana cattle purchased or sold within or outside of 
Louisiana. This assessment shall be known as the "federal 
assessment" for the purposes of this Chapter. The collecting 
person shall deduct the amount of the federal assessment 
subject to any credits due to the producer from the gross 
receipts of the producer at the time of sale. The purpose of 
the federal assessment shall be for the producer's 
participation in the Federal Beef Promotion and Research 
Program and by virtue of the federally authorized credit for 
the producer's participation in the Louisiana Beef Promotion 
and Research Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2051, 2052, and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Beef 
Industry Council, LR 41: 

 
Dale Cambre 
Chairman 

1412#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 135—Health and Safety 
(LAC 28:CLVII.309) 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) has exercised the emergency provision in 
accordance with R.S. 49:953(B), the Administrative 
Procedures Act, and R.S. 17:6, to adopt LAC 28: CLVII, 
Bulletin 135Health and Safety: §309, Communicable 
Disease and Control. This Declaration of Emergency, 
effective October 15, 2014, is being extended beyond the 
initial 120 day period and will remain in effect until the final 
Rule becomes effective. 

Bulletin 135 addresses health and safety issues in 
Louisiana public schools, including the prevention and 
control of communicable diseases.  

Proposed revisions to §309, Communicable Disease 
Control address the dissemination of public health 
information by LDE to school governing authorities, as well 
as the local superintendent or charter school leader's 
exclusion of students or employees having been diagnosed 
with or exposed to communicable diseases. 

A delay in promulgating these rules could result in local 
school districts and other public schools not having critical 
policies in place in the event of a public health emergency.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLVII.  Bulletin 135—Health and Safety 
§309. Communicable Disease Control 

A. The LDE will work cooperatively with the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals for the prevention, 
control and containment of communicable diseases in
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schools and shall assist in the dissemination of information 
relative to communicable diseases to all school governing 
authorities, including but not limited to information relative 
to imminent threats to public health or safety which may 
result in loss of life or disease. 

B. Students are expected to be in compliance with the 
required immunization schedule. 

1. The principal is required under R.S. 17:170 to 
exclude children from school attendance who are out of 
compliance with the immunizations required by this statute. 

2. School personnel will cooperate with public health 
personnel in completing and coordinating all immunization 
data, waivers and exclusions, including the necessary 
Vaccine Preventable Disease Section's school ionization 
report forms (EPI-11, 11/84) to provide for preventable 
communicable disease control. 

C. The local superintendent or chief charter school 
officer may exclude a student or staff member for not more 
than five days, or the amount of time required by state or 
local public health officials, from school or employment 
when reliable evidence or information from a public health 
officer or physician confirms him/her of having a 
communicable disease or infestation that is known to be 
spread by any form of casual contact and is considered a 
health threat to the school population. Such a student or staff 
member may be excluded unless the state or local public 
health or officers determines the condition is no longer 
considered contagious. 

D. Mandatory screening for communicable diseases that 
are known not to be spread by casual contact shall not be 
required as a condition for school entry or for employment 
or continued employment. 

E. Irrespective of the disease presence, routine 
procedures shall be used and adequate sanitation facilities 
shall be available for handling blood or bodily fluids within 
the school setting or on school buses. School personnel shall 
be trained in the proper procedures for handling blood and 
bodily fluids and these procedures shall be strictly adhered 
to by all school personnel 

F. Any medical information that pertains to students or 
staff members, proceedings, discussions and documents shall 
be confidential information. Before any medical information 
is shared with anyone in the school setting, a "need-to-
know" review shall be made which includes the 
parent/guardian, student if age 18, employee or his/her 
representative unless the information is required to meet the 
mandates of federal or state law or regulation, or BESE 
policy. 

G. Age-appropriate instruction on the principal modes by 
which communicable diseases are spread and the best 
methods for the restriction and prevention of these diseases 
shall be taught to students and inservice education provided 
to all staff members. 

H. A local superintendent may only exclude a student or 
employee from a school or employment setting when 
reliable evidence or information from a public health officer 
or physician confirms that a student/staff member is known 
to have a communicable disease or infection that is known 
not to be spread by casual contact if a review panel is held to 
ensure due process. 

I. Due Process Procedures  
1. The Review Panel 

a. Communicable diseases that are known not to be 
spread by casual contact (e.g., AIDS, Hepatitis B and other 
like diseases) will be addressed on a case-by-case basis by a 
review panel. 

b. Panel membership: 
 i. the physician treating the individual; 
 ii. a health official from the local parish health 
department; 
 iii. a child/employee advocate (e.g., nurse, 
counselor, child advocate, social worker, employee 
representative, etc., from in or outside the school setting) 
approved by the infected person or parent/guardian; 
 iv. a school representative familiar with the 
student's behavior in the school setting or the employee's 
work situation (in most cases the building principal or in the 
case of a special education student, a representative may be 
more appropriate); 
 v. either the parent/guardian of a child, a student 
if 18, employee, or their representative; and 
 vi. the school system superintendent. 

c. The superintendent will assign a stenographer to 
record the proceedings. 

d. The superintendent will designate the chair of the 
panel. 

e. The chair of the review panel will designate the 
panel member who will write the proposal for decision. 

2. Case Review Process 
a. Upon learning of a student/staff member with the 

LEA who has been identified as having a communicable 
disease that is known not to be spread by casual contact, the 
superintendent shall: 
 i. immediately consult with the physician of the 
student/staff member or public health officer who has 
evidence of a present or temporary condition that could be 
transmitted by casual contact in the school setting: 

(a). if the public health officer indicates the 
student/staff member is well enough to remain in the school 
setting and poses no immediate health threat through casual 
contact to the school population because of their illness, the 
student/staff member shall be allowed to remain in the 
school setting while the review panel meets; 

(b). if the public health officer indicates the 
student/staff member is currently not well enough to remain 
in the school setting and/or the affected individual currently 
has evidence of an illness or infection that poses a potential 
health threat through casual contact to the school population 
because of the illness, the student/staff member shall be 
excluded from the school setting while the review panel 
meets; 

(c). if the public health officer recommends 
exclusion because a public health threat exists, the review 
panel will discuss the conditions under which the individual 
may return to school; 
 ii. immediately contact the review panel members 
to convene a meeting to explore aspects of the individual's 
case; 
 iii. submit to the parent/guardian or infected 
person if 18 or older, a copy of the communicable disease 
control policy; 
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 iv. observe all federal and state statutes, federal 
and state regulations, and all BESE policies pertaining to 
provision of special educational services. 

3. The Review Panel Process 
a. The review panel shall meet within 24-48 hours 

to review the case. The following aspects should be 
considered in that review: 
 i. the circumstances in which the disease is 
contagious to others; 
 ii. any infections or illnesses the student/staff 
member could have as a result of the disease that would be 
contagious through casual contact in the school situation; 
 iii. the age, behavior, and neurologic development 
of the student; 
 iv. the expected type of interaction with others in 
the school setting and the implications to the health and 
safety of others involved; 
 v. the psychological aspects for both the infected 
individual remaining in the school setting; 
 vi. consideration of the existence of contagious 
disease occurring within the school population while the 
infected person is in attendance; 
 vii. consideration of a potential request by the 
person with the disease to be excused from attendance in 
school or on the job; 
 viii. the method of protecting the student/staff 
member's right to privacy, including maintaining 
confidential records; 
 ix. recommendations as to whether the 
student/staff member should continue in the school setting or 
if currently not attending school, under what circumstances 
he/she may return; 
 x. recommendations as to whether a restrictive 
setting or alternative delivery of school programs is 
advisable; 
 xi. determination of whether an employee would 
be at risk of infection through casual contact when 
delivering an alternative educational program; 
 xii. determination of when the case should be 
reviewed again by the panel; and 
 xiii. any other relevant information. 

b. Proposal for Decision 
 i. Within three operational days (i.e., a day when 
the school board central office is open for business) after the 
panel convenes, the superintendent shall provide a written 
decision to the affected party based on the information 
brought out in the review panel process and will include the 
rationale for the decision concerning school attendance for 
the student or continuation of employment for staff member. 
 ii. If the decision is to exclude the affected person 
from the school setting because of the existence of a 
temporary or present condition that is known to be spread by 
casual contact and is considered a health threat, the written 
decision shall include the conditions under which the 
exclusion will be reconsidered. 
 iii. If the affected person is a special education 
student, an individualized education program conference 
must be convened to determine the appropriateness of the 
program and services for the student. 

4. Appeal Process 
a. Rehearing Request 

 i. The parent, guardian or affected person who 
considers the proposal for decision unjust may request a 
rehearing, in writing, directed to the superintendent within 
three days of the date of the decision. Grounds for requesting 
a rehearing are limited to: 

(a). new evidence or information that is 
important to the decision; or 

(b). substantial error of fact. 
 ii. The superintendent, within 48 hours from the 
date of receipt of the request for rehearing, shall either grant 
or deny the request for rehearing. If the request for rehearing 
is granted, the chair shall reconvene the same panel that 
originally heard the matter within five business days of the 
date the hearing is granted. 
 iii. Within three operational days (a day when the 
school system's central office is open for business) after the 
rehearing, the superintendent shall submit the decision to the 
parent/guardian or affected person. 

b. Request for a Local Board Decision 
 i. The parent/guardian, affected person or their 
representative, may make a final written appeal to the 
president of the local board of education within five 
operational days after the superintendent's decision. The 
board shall meet within three operational days and hear the 
student/staff member's appeal along with the proposal for 
decision and superintendent's decision. Within two business 
days of the hearing, the board shall render its decision in 
writing with copies sent to the superintendent, health 
department official, and parent/guardian or affected person. 
 ii. Should the superintendent deny the request for 
rehearing, the appellant may appeal to the local board of 
education by exercising the process in Subparagraph b. 
 iii. Review Panel Request for Appeal. If the 
proposal for decision or the superintendent's decision is 
contrary to the majority opinion of the review panel, a 
majority of the panel has the right to appeal either decision 
in the same manner stated in the appeal process. 

5. General 
a. If the affected student cannot attend school, the 

LEA will provide an alternative education setting. 
 i. If the public health officer determines there is a 
risk of infection to an employee through casual contact while 
delivering this program, the employee will not be required to 
provide educational services. 
 ii. If the public health officer determines there is 
no risk of infection to an employee, the employee will be 
expected to participate in the delivery of educational 
services. 

b. The review panel member who is serving as the 
advocate for the infected individual (or another person 
designated by the panel and approved by the 
parent/guardian, or the infected person) will serve as the 
liaison between the student/staff member, family and 
attending physician as it relates to the school setting. 

c. These procedures in no way limit or supersede 
the procedural due process requirements established in 29 
USC 706(7), R.S. 17:1941, 7946, and 20 USC 1400-1485 et 
seq. 
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6. Confidentiality 
a. All persons involved in these procedures shall be 

required to treat all proceedings, deliberations, and 
documents as confidential information. Records of the 
proceedings and the decisions will be kept by the 
superintendent in a sealed envelope with access limited to 
only those persons receiving the consent of the 
parent/guardian or infected person as provided in 20 USC 
1232(g). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10)(15); R.S. 17:170; R.S. 17:437; R.S. 17:1941; 20 USCS 
1232. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 39:1035 (April 2013), 
amended LR 41: 

 
Charles E. “Chas” Roemer, IV 
President 

1501#067 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 

(LAC 28:CXV.339 and 1103) 

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) has exercised the emergency provision in 
accordance with R.S. 49:953(B), the Administrative 
Procedures Act, and R.S. 17:6, to adopt LAC 28:CXV, 
Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators: §339, Emergency Planning and Procedures; 
and §1103, Compulsory Attendance. This Declaration of 
Emergency, effective October 15, 2014, is being extended 
beyond the initial 120 day period and will remain in effect 
until the final Rule becomes effective.  

R.S. 17:154.1(B) addresses school closures by local 
superintendents due to emergency situations as defined in 
rules promulgated by BESE. Bulletin 741 addresses school 
emergency planning and response, student absences, and the 
continued education of students who are ill.  

Pursuant to R.S. 17:154.1(B), the proposed revisions to 
Bulletin 741, §339, Emergency Planning and Procedures, 
broadly define emergency situations, inclusive of public 
health emergencies. Proposed revisions to §1103, 
Compulsory Attendance, address the continued education of 
students who have been quarantined following prolonged 
exposure to or direct contact with a person diagnosed with a 
contagious, deadly disease, as ordered by state or local 
health officials. 

A delay in promulgating these rules could result in local 
school districts and other public schools not having critical 
policies in place in the event of a public health emergency.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§339. Emergency Planning and Procedures 
A. Each public school principal or school leader shall 

have written policies and procedures developed jointly with

local law enforcement, fire, public safety, and emergency 
preparedness officials, that address the immediate response 
to emergency situations that may develop in the schools and 
comply with the requirements in R.S. 17:416.16. The 
principal or school leader shall: 

1. submit the crisis management and response plan to 
the local superintendent for approval; 

2. annually review and possibly revise the crisis 
management and response plan; and 

3. within 30 days of each school year, conduct a safety 
drill to rehearse the plan. 

B. The school shall maintain and use contingency plans 
for immediate responses to emergency situations. 

C. The school shall establish and use procedures for 
reporting accidents to parents and/or the central office. 

D. In the absence of a principal or school leader, another 
individual(s) at the school shall be delegated the necessary 
authority to use emergency procedures. 

E. Procedures for the cancellation of school shall be 
established, communicated to students, teachers, and 
parents, and followed when necessary. 

F. The school shall establish procedures for special calls 
to police, fire departments, and hospitals, and practice drills 
shall be used to ensure the effectiveness of the procedure. 

G. The school shall establish procedures for the 
evacuation of the building in the event of fire, severe 
weather conditions, or bomb threats. Practice drills shall be 
used to ensure the effectiveness of the procedure. 

H. The local superintendent or chief charter school officer 
may dismiss any or all schools due to emergency situations, 
including any actual or imminent threat to public health or 
safety which may result in loss of life, disease, or injury; an 
actual or imminent threat of natural disaster, force majeure, 
or catastrophe which may result in loss of life, injury or 
damage to property; and, when an emergency situation has 
been declared by the governor, the state health officer, or the 
governing authority of the school.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:416.16 and R.S. 17:154.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1262 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:3258 (December 2013), LR 41:0000 (January 
2015). 
§1103. Compulsory Attendance 

A. Students who have attained the age of seven years 
shall attend a public or private day school or participate in an 
approved home study program until they reach the age of 18 
years. Any child below the age of seven who legally enrolls 
in school shall also be subject to compulsory attendance. 
Refer to Chapter 33 for information on home study 
programs. 

B. A parent, tutor, or legal guardian who has a student 
who is under the age of 18 and meets one of the 
requirements below shall be in compliance with the 
compulsory attendance law. 

1. A student, under 18 years of age, who withdraws 
from school prior to graduating from high school and who 
has been ruled to be a truant, pursuant to the provisions of 
Chapter 15 of Title VII of the Louisiana Children's Code, by 
a court of competent jurisdiction can be ordered by the court 
to exercise one of the following options within 120 days of 
leaving school: 
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a. reenroll in school and make continual progress 
toward completing the requirements for high school 
graduation; 

b. enroll in a high school equivalency diploma 
program and make continual progress toward completing the 
requirements for earning such diploma; 

c. enlist in the Louisiana National Guard or a 
branch of the United States Armed Forces, with a 
commitment for at least two years of service, and earn a high 
school equivalency diploma during such service period. 

2. If a student is under the age of 18, the parent or 
guardian may withdraw the student from high school if that 
student is accepted into a National Guard Youth Challenge 
Program in this state. 

3. For a student who is under the age of 18 and 
enrolled in school beyond his/her sixteenth birthday, the 
parent or guardian may request a waiver from the local 
superintendent for that student to exit school to enroll in an 
adult education program approved by the Louisiana 
Community and Technical College System (LCTCS). 

a. In the case of a student with no parent or 
guardian, the local school superintendent may act on behalf 
of the student in requesting a waiver if appropriate 
documentation is on file at the local school board office and 
one or more of the following hardships exist: 
 i. pregnant or actively parenting; 
 ii. incarcerated or adjudicated; 
 iii. institutionalized or living in a residential 
facility; 
 iv. chronic physical or mental illness;  
 v. family and/or economic hardships. 

(a). Family and/or economic hardship is defined 
as a student who acts as a caregiver or must work to support 
the family due to a parent's death or illness, or needs to be 
removed from an existing home environment. 

b. The local school superintendent or his/her 
designee may approve the request for exiting public or home 
school without requesting action from BESE. If the request 
to exit school to enroll in a LCTCS approved adult education 
program is denied at the local level, a student may request 
the waiver from the DOE for approval by BESE with 
documentation of reason for denial at the local level. 
Students seeking to exit school to enroll in adult education, 
who are enrolled in a formal education setting other than a 
public K-12 institution, may request a waiver from the 
institutional agency head or his/her designee. Mandatory 
attendance components shall be met in all of the above 
circumstances. 

4. A student who is at least seventeen years of age 
may exit high school without violating compulsory 
attendance statute (R.S. 17:221), if that student has met the 
following criteria: 

a. completed a program established by BESE; 
b. achieved a passing score on the GED test; and 
c. received a Louisiana High School Equivalency 

Diploma issued by the Board of Supervisors of Louisiana 
Community and Technical College System. 

C. Students shall be expected to be in attendance every 
student-activity day scheduled by the LEA. 

D. A student is considered to be in attendance when he or 
she is physically present at a school site or is participating in 

an authorized school activity and is under the supervision of 
authorized personnel. 

1. This definition for attendance would extend to 
students who are homebound, assigned to and participating 
in drug rehabilitation programs that contain a state-approved 
education component, participating in school-authorized 
field trips, or taking a state-approved virtual course. 

a. Half-Day Attendance. Students are considered to 
be in attendance for one-half day when they: 
 i. are physically present at a school site or 
participating in authorized school activity; and 
 ii. are under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 25 percent but not more than half 
(26-50 percent) of the students' instructional day. 

b. Whole-Day Attendance. Students are considered 
to be in attendance for a whole day when they: 
 i. are physically present at a school site or are 
participating in an authorized school activity; and 
 ii. are under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 50 percent (51-100 percent) of the 
students' instructional day. 

E. A student who is enrolled in regular or special 
education and who, as a result of healthcare treatment, 
physical illness, accident, or the treatment thereof is 
temporarily unable to attend school, shall be provided 
instructional services in the home, or hospital environment.  

1. Homebound instruction shall be provided by a 
properly certified teacher on the eleventh school day 
following an absence of more than 10 consecutive school 
days for a qualifying illness.  

a. After a student has been absent for 10 days for 
one of the above identified reasons, the student shall be 
referred for review by the SBLC, to determine need for 
referral for section 504 services if the student has not 
previously been identified as a student with a disability. 

2. Homebound instruction, at a minimum, shall be 
provided in the core academic subjects: 

a. English; 
b. mathematics; 
c. science; and 
d. social studies. 

3. A minimum of four hours of homebound instruction 
shall be provided per week, unless the student's health as 
determined by a physician requires less. 

a. Consideration shall be given to the individual 
need for services beyond the core academic subjects for 
students with disabilities. 

4. Homebound services may be provided via a 
consultative model (properly certified regular or special 
education teacher when appropriate, consults with the 
homebound teacher delivering instruction) for students 
needing such services less than 20 days during a school year. 

F. A student who has been quarantined by order of state 
or local health officers following prolonged exposure to or 
direct contact with a person diagnosed with a contagious, 
deadly disease, and is temporarily unable to attend school, 
shall be provided any missed assignments, homework, or 
other instructional services in core academic subjects in the 
home, hospital environment, or temporary shelter to which 
he has been assigned. The principal, with assistance from the 
local superintendent or chief charter school officer and the
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LDE, shall collaborate with state and local health officers 
and emergency response personnel to ensure the timely 
delivery or transmission of such materials to the student. 

G. Elementary students shall be in attendance a 
minimum of 60,120 minutes (equivalent to 167 six-hour 
days) a school year. In order to be eligible to receive grades, 
high school students shall be in attendance a minimum of 
30,060 minutes (equivalent to 83.5 six-hour school days), 
per semester or 60,120 minutes (equivalent to 167 six-hour 
school days) a school year for schools not operating on a 
semester basis.  

1. Students in danger of failing due to excessive 
absences may be allowed to make up missed time in class 
sessions held outside the regular class time. The make-up 
sessions must be completed before the end of the current 
semester and all other policies must be met. 

H. Each LEA shall develop and implement a system 
whereby the principal of a school, or his designee, shall 
notify the parent or legal guardian in writing upon on or 
before a student's third unexcused absence or unexcused 
occurrence of being tardy, and shall hold a conference with 
such student's parent or legal guardian. This notification 
shall include information relative to the parent or legal 
guardian’s legal responsibility to enforce the student’s 
attendance at school and the civil penalties that may be 
incurred if the student is determined to be habitually absent 
or habitually tardy. The student's parent or legal guardian 
shall sign a receipt for such notification. 

I. Tardy shall include but not be limited to leaving or 
checking out of school unexcused prior to the regularly 
scheduled dismissal time at the end of the school day but 
shall not include reporting late to class when transferring 
from one class to another during the school day. 

J. Exceptions to the attendance regulation shall be the 
enumerated extenuating circumstances below that are 
verified by the Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance 
or the school principal/designee where indicated. These 
exempted absences do not apply in determining whether a 
student meets the minimum minutes of instruction required 
to receive credit: 

1. extended personal physical or emotional illness as 
verified by a physician or nurse practitioner licensed in the 
state; 

2. extended hospital stay in which a student is absent 
as verified by a physician or dentist; 

3. extended recuperation from an accident in which a 
student is absent as verified by a physician, dentist, or nurse 
practitioner licensed in the state;  

4. extended contagious disease within a family in 
which a student is absent as verified by a physician or dentist 
licensed in the state; or 

5. quarantine due to prolonged exposure to or direct 
contact with a person diagnosed with a contagious, deadly 
disease, as ordered by state or local health officials; or 

6. observance of special and recognized holidays of 
the student's own faith; 

7. visitation with a parent who is a member of the 
United States Armed Forces or the National Guard of a state 
and such parent has been called to duty for or is on leave 
from overseas deployment to a combat zone or combat 
support posting. Excused absences in this situation shall not 
exceed five school days per school year; 

8. absences verified and approved by the school 
principal or designee as stated below: 

a. prior school system-approved travel for 
education; 

b. death in the immediate family (not to exceed one 
week); or 

c. natural catastrophe and/or disaster. 
K. For any other extenuating circumstances, the student's 

parents or legal guardian must make a formal appeal in 
accordance with the due process procedures established by 
the LEA. 

L. Students who are verified as meeting extenuating 
circumstances, and therefore eligible to receive grades, shall 
not receive those grades if they are unable to complete 
makeup work or pass the course. 

M. Students participating in school-approved field trips 
or other instructional activities that necessitate their being 
away from school shall be considered to be present and shall 
be given the opportunity to make up work. 

N. If a student is absent from school for 2 or more days 
within a 30-day period under a contract or employment 
arrangement to render artistic or creative services for 
compensation as set forth in the Child Performer Trust Act 
(R.S. 51:2131 et seq.) the employer shall employ a certified 
teacher, beginning on the second day of employment, to 
provide a minimum of three education instruction hours per 
day to the student pursuant to the lesson plans for the 
particular student as provided by the principal and teachers 
at the student's school. There must be a teacher to student 
ratio of one teacher for every 10 students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:112, R.S. 17:221.3-4, R.S. 17:226.1, and R.S. 17:233. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1273 (June 2005), 
amended LR 32:546 (April 2006), LR 32:1030 (June 2006), LR 
33:2351 (November 2007), LR 35:641 (April 2009), LR 35:1097 
(June 2009), LR 35:1475 (August 2009), LR 36:482 (March 2010), 
LR 36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37:1126 (April 2011), LR 37:2132 
(July 2011), LR 38:1000 (April 2012), LR 38:1225 (May 2012), 
LR 38:1399 (June, 2012), LR 39:2205 (August 2013), LR 41:0000 
(January 2015). 

 
Charles E. “Chas” Roemer, IV 
President 

1501#068 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Applied Behavior Analysis-Based Therapy Services 
(LAC 50:XV.Chapters 1-7) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:XV.Chapters 1-7 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 
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The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions of the Children’s Choice 
Waiver in order to provide for the allocation of waiver 
opportunities to Medicaid-eligible children identified in the 
Melanie Chisholm, et al vs. Kathy Kliebert class action 
litigation (hereafter referred to as Chisholm class members) 
who have a diagnosis of pervasive developmental disorder 
or autism spectrum disorder, and are in need of applied 
behavior analysis-based (ABA) therapy services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 39, Number 10). This action was taken as a 
temporary measure to ensure Chisholm class members 
would have access to ABA therapy services as soon as 
possible. 

To ensure continued, long-lasting access to ABA-based 
therapy services for Chisholm class members and other 
children under the age of 21, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which adopted provisions to establish 
coverage and reimbursement for ABA-based therapy 
services under the Medicaid State Plan (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 40, Number 2). The department subsequently 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the February 1, 2014 Emergency Rule to 
ensure compliance with all of the provisions required by the 
court order issued in Melanie Chisholm, et al vs. Kathy 
Kliebert class action litigation (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the October 20, 2014 
Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to avoid imminent peril to the 
public health and welfare of children who are in immediate 
need of ABA-based therapy services, and to comply with the 
judge’s order that these services be provided to Chisholm 
class members. 

Effective February 18, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing applied behavior analysis services 
to clarify these provisions. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1.  Applied Behavior Analysis-Based Therapy 

Services 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Program Description and Purpose 

A. Applied behavior analysis-based (ABA) therapy is the 
design, implementation, and evaluation of environmental 
modification using behavioral stimuli and consequences to 
produce socially significant improvement in human 
behavior, including the direct observation, measurement, and 
functional analysis of the relations between environment and 
behavior. ABA-based therapies teach skills through the use 
of behavioral observation and reinforcement or prompting to 
teach each step of targeted behavior. ABA-based therapies 
are based on reliable evidence and are not experimental. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

§103. Recipient Criteria 
A. In order to qualify for ABA-based therapy services, a 

Medicaid recipient must meet the following criteria. The 
recipient must: 

1. be from birth up to 21 years of age; 
2. exhibit the presence of excesses and/or deficits of 

behaviors that significantly interfere with home or 
community activities (examples include, but are not limited 
to aggression, self-injury, elopement, impaired development 
in the areas of communication and/or social interaction, 
etc.);  

3.  be diagnosed by a qualified health care 
professional with a condition for which ABA-based therapy 
services are recognized as therapeutically appropriate, 
including autism spectrum disorder; and 

4.  have a comprehensive diagnostic evaluation that 
prescribes and/or recommends ABA services that is 
conducted by a qualified health care professional. 

5. - 6. Repealed. 
B. All of the criteria in §103.A must be met to receive 

services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Chapter 3. Services 
§301. Covered Services and Limitations 

A. Medicaid covered ABA-based therapy services must 
be: 

1. medically necessary; 
2. prior authorized by the Medicaid Program or its 

designee; and  
3. delivered in accordance with the recipient’s 

treatment plan.  
B. Services must be provided directly or billed by 

behavior analysts licensed by the Louisiana Behavior 
Analyst Board. 

C. Medical necessity for ABA-based therapy services 
shall be determined according to the provisions of the 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 50, Part I, 
Chapter 11 (Louisiana Register, Volume 37, Number 1). 

D. ABA-based therapy services may be prior authorized 
for a time period not to exceed 180 days. Services provided 
without prior authorization shall not be considered for 
reimbursement, except in the case of retroactive Medicaid 
eligibility. 

E. Service Limitations 
1. Services shall be based upon the individual needs 

of the child, and must give consideration to the child’s age, 
school attendance requirements, and other daily activities as 
documented in the treatment plan. 

2. Services must be delivered in a natural setting (e.g., 
home and community-based settings, including schools and 
clinics). 

a. Services delivered in a school setting must not 
duplicate services rendered under an individualized family 
service plan (IFSP) or an individualized educational program 
(IEP) as required under the federal Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). 

3. Any services delivered by direct line staff must be 
under the supervision of a lead behavior therapist who is a 
Louisiana licensed behavior analyst. 
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F. Not Medically Necessary/Non-Covered Services. The 
following services do not meet medical necessity criteria, 
nor qualify as Medicaid covered ABA-based therapy 
services: 

1. therapy services rendered when measureable 
functional improvement or continued clinical benefit is not 
expected, and therapy is not necessary for maintenance of 
function or to prevent deterioration; 

2. services that are primarily educational in nature; 
3. services delivered outside of the school setting that 

are duplicative services under an individualized family 
service plan (IFSP) or an individualized educational program 
(IEP), as required under the federal Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA); 

4. treatment whose purpose is vocationally- or 
recreationally-based; 

5. custodial care; 
a. for purposes of these provisions, custodial care: 

 i. shall be defined as care that is provided 
primarily to assist in the activities of daily living (ADLs), 
such as bathing, dressing, eating, and maintaining personal 
hygiene and safety;  
 ii. is provided primarily for maintaining the 
recipient’s or anyone else’s safety; and  
 iii. could be provided by persons without 
professional skills or training; and 

6. services, supplies, or procedures performed in a 
non-conventional setting including, but not limited: 

a. resorts; 
b. spas; 
c. therapeutic programs; and 
d. camps. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§303. Treatment Plan 

A. ABA-based therapy services shall be rendered in 
accordance with the individual’s treatment plan. The 
treatment plan shall: 

1. be person-centered and based upon individualized 
goals; 

2. be developed by a licensed behavior analyst; 
3. delineate both the frequency of baseline behaviors 

and the treatment development plan to address the 
behaviors; 

4. identify long, intermediate, and short-term goals 
and objectives that are behaviorally defined; 

5. identify the criteria that will be used to measure 
achievement of behavior objectives; 

6. clearly identify the schedule of services planned 
and the individual providers responsible for delivering the 
services; 

7. include care coordination involving the parents or 
caregiver(s), school, state disability programs, and others as 
applicable; 

8. include parent/caregiver training, support, and 
participation; 

9. have objectives that are specific, measureable, 
based upon clinical observations, include outcome 
measurement assessment, and tailored to the individual; and 

10. ensure that interventions are consistent with ABA 
techniques. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Chapter 5. Provider Participation 
§501. General Provisions 

A. ABA-based therapy services must be provided by or 
under the supervision of a behavior analyst who is currently 
licensed by the Louisiana Behavior Analyst Board, or a 
licensed psychologist, or a licensed medical psychologist. 

B. Licensed behavior analysts that render ABA-based 
therapy services shall meet the following provider 
qualifications:  

1. be licensed by the Louisiana Behavior Analyst 
Board; 

2. be covered by professional liability insurance to 
limits of $1,000,000 per occurrence, $1,000,000 aggregate; 

3. have no sanctions or disciplinary actions on their 
Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA®) or Board 
Certified Behavior Analyst-Doctoral (BCBA-D) certification 
and/or state licensure; 

4. not have Medicare/Medicaid sanctions, or be 
excluded from participation in federally funded programs 
(i.e., Office of Inspector General’s list of excluded 
individuals/entities (OIG-LEIE), system for award 
management (SAM) listing and state Medicaid sanctions 
listings); and 

5. have a completed criminal background check to 
include federal criminal, state criminal, parish criminal and 
sex offender reports for the state and parish in which the 
behavior analyst is currently working and residing. 

a. Criminal background checks must be performed 
at the time of hire and at least five years thereafter. 

b. Background checks must be current, within a 
year prior to the initial Medicaid enrollment application. 
Background checks must be performed at least every five 
years thereafter. 

C. Certified assistant behavior analyst that render ABA-
based therapy services shall meet the following provider 
qualifications: 

1. must be certified by the Louisiana Behavior Analyst 
Board; 

2. must work under the supervision of a licensed 
behavior analyst; 

a. the supervisory relationship must be documented 
in writing; 

3. must have no sanctions or disciplinary actions, if 
state-certified or board-certified by the BACB®; 

4. may not have Medicare or Medicaid sanctions, or 
be excluded from participation in federally funded programs 
(i.e., Office of Inspector General’s list of excluded 
individuals/entities (OIG-LEIE), system for award 
management (SAM) listing and state Medicaid sanctions 
listings); and 

5. have a completed criminal background check to 
include federal criminal, state criminal, parish criminal and 
sex offender reports for the state and parish in which the 
certified assistant behavior analyst is currently working and 
residing.  

a. Evidence of this background check must be 
provided by the employer. 
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b. Criminal background checks must be performed 
at the time of hire and an update performed at least every 
five years thereafter. 

D. Registered line technicians that render ABA-based 
therapy services shall meet the following provider 
qualifications: 

1. must be registered by the Louisiana Behavior 
Analyst Board; 

2. must work under the supervision of a licensed 
behavior analyst; 

a. the supervisory relationship must be documented 
in writing; 

3. may not have Medicaid or Medicare sanctions or be 
excluded from participation in federally funded programs 
(OIG-LEIE listing, SAM listing and state Medicaid 
sanctions listings); and 

4. have a completed criminal background check to 
include federal criminal, state criminal, parish criminal and 
sex offender reports for the state and parish in which the 
certified assistant behavior analyst is currently working and 
residing.  

a. Evidence of this background check must be 
provided by the employer. 

b. Criminal background checks must be performed 
at the time of hire and an update performed at least every 
five years thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Chapter 7. Reimbursements  
§701. General Provisions 

A. The Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 
for ABA-based therapy services to enrolled behavior 
analysts who are currently licensed and in good standing 
with the Louisiana Behavior Analyst Board. Reimbursement 
shall only be made for services billed by a licensed behavior 
analyst, licensed psychologist, or licensed medical 
psychologist. 

B. Reimbursement for ABA services shall not be made 
to, or on behalf of services rendered by, a parent, a legal 
guardian or legally responsible person. 

C. Reimbursement shall only be made for services 
authorized by the Medicaid Program or its designee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§703. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for ABA-based therapy services shall 
be based upon a percentage of the commercial rates for 
ABA-based therapy services in the state of Louisiana. The 
rates are based upon 15 minute units of service, with the 
exception of mental health services plan which shall be 
reimbursed at an hourly fee rate. 

B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O.

Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#043 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health Program 
Rehabilitation Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:XIII.Chapter 9) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repeals the provisions of the June 
20, 1997, May 20, 2001, and the May 20, 2004 Rules 
governing rehabilitation services and adopts LAC 
50:XIII.Chapter 9 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides Medicaid 
reimbursement for rehabilitation services covered in the 
Home Health Program. In compliance with a court order 
from the Melanie Chisholm, et al vs. Kathy Kliebert class 
action litigation, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
rehabilitation services covered under the Home Health 
Program in order to increase the reimbursement rates for 
physical and occupational therapy services for recipients 
under the age of 21, and to discontinue the automatic 
enhanced rate adjustment for these services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 40, Number 2). This Emergency Rule also 
repealed the June 20, 1997, May 20, 2001, and the May 20, 
2004 Rules governing rehabilitation services covered in the 
Home Health Program, and revised and repromulgated the 
provisions in a codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the February 13, 
2014 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring continued access 
to therapy services in the Home Health Program.  

Effective February 11, 2015, the department amends the 
provisions governing the Home Health Program in order to 
increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services provided to recipients under 
the age of 21, and to discontinue the automatic enhanced rate 
adjustment for these services. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIII.  Home Health  
Subpart 1.  Home Health Services 

Chapter 9. Rehabilitation Services 
§901. General Provisions 

A.  The Medicaid Program provides coverage for 
rehabilitation services rendered in the Home Health 
Program. Home Health rehabilitation services include: 

1. physical therapy; 
2. occupational therapy; and 
3. speech/language therapy. 

B. All home health rehabilitation services must be 
medically necessary and prior authorized. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§903. Reserved. 
§905. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The Medicaid Program provides reimbursement for 
physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech/language 
therapy covered under the Home Health Program.   

B. Effective for dates of service on or after February 13, 
2014, reimbursement for physical and occupational therapy 
services shall be 85 percent of the 2013 Medicare published 
rate. There shall be no automatic enhanced rate adjustment 
for physical and occupational therapy services.  

C. Speech/language therapy services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at the flat fee in place as of February 13, 2014 
and in accordance with the Medicaid published fee schedule 
for speech/language therapy services provided in the Home 
Health Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#044 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Children’s Specialty Hospitals Reimbursements 
(LAC 50:V.967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.967 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Due to a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2013, the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
to reduce the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-
state hospitals, including children’s specialty hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 2).  

The department subsequently promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
rendered by children’s specialty hospitals to revise the 
reimbursement methodology and establish outlier payment 
provisions (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 10). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the October 4, 2014 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by maintaining access to neonatal and 
pediatric intensive care unit services and encouraging the 
continued participation of hospitals in the Medicaid 
Program. 

Effective February 2, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by children’s specialty 
hospitals.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. Routine Pediatric Inpatient Services. For dates of 
service on or after October 4, 2014, payment shall be made 
per a prospective per diem rate that is 81.1 percent of the 
routine pediatric inpatient cost per day as calculated per the 
“as filed” fiscal year end cost report ending during SFY 
2014. The “as filed” cost report will be reviewed by the 
department for accuracy prior to determination of the final 
per diem rate. 

1. Repealed. 
B. Inpatient Psychiatric Services. For dates of service on 

or after October 4, 2014, payment shall be a prospective per 
diem rate that is 100 percent of the distinct part psychiatric 
cost per day as calculated per the as filed fiscal year end cost 
report ending during SFY 2014. The as filed cost report will 
be reviewed by the department for accuracy prior to 
determination of the final per diem rate. 

1. Repealed. 
C. Carve-Out Specialty Services. These services are 

rendered by neonatal intensive care units, pediatric intensive 
care units, burn units and include transplants.  

1. Transplants. Payment shall be the lesser of costs or 
the per diem limitation for each type of transplant. The base 
period per diem limitation amounts shall be calculated using 
the allowable inpatient cost per day for each type of 
transplant per the cost reporting period which ended in SFY 
2009. The target rate shall be inflated using the update 
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factors published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
(CMS) beginning with the cost reporting periods starting on 
or after January 1, 2010. 

a. For dates of service on or after September 1, 
2009, payment shall be the lesser of the allowable inpatient 
costs as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid days 
for the period for each type of transplant multiplied times the 
per diem limitation for the period. 

2. Neonatal Intensive Care Units, Pediatric Intensive 
Care Units, and Burn Units. For dates of service on or after 
October 4, 2014, payment for neonatal intensive care units, 
pediatric intensive care units, and burn units shall be made 
per prospective per diem rates that are 84.5 percent of the 
cost per day for each service as calculated per the “as filed” 
fiscal year end cost report ending during SFY 2014. The “as 
filed” cost report will be reviewed by the department for 
accuracy prior to determination of the final per diem rate. 

D. Children’s specialty hospitals shall be eligible for 
outlier payments for dates of service on or after October 4, 
2014. 

1. Repealed. 
E. …  

1. Repealed. 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 

2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.C.1 above 
shall be reduced by 5 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after January 1, 2011, final payment shall be the lesser 
of allowable inpatient acute care costs as determined by the 
cost report or the Medicaid days as specified per §967.C.1 
for the period, multiplied by 95 percent of the target rate per 
diem limitation as specified per §967.C.1 for the period. 

G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.C.1 above 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent. Effective for dates of service 
on or after January 1, 2011, final payment shall be the lesser 
of allowable inpatient acute care costs as determined by the 
cost report or the Medicaid days as specified per §967.C.1 
for the period, multiplied by 90.63 percent of the target rate 
per diem limitation as specified per §967.C.1 for the period. 

H. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 
2011, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.C.1 above 
shall be reduced by 2 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care costs as determined 
by the cost report or the Medicaid days as specified per 
§967.C.1 for the period, multiplied by 88.82 percent of the 
target rate per diem limitation as specified per §967.C.1 for 
the period. 

I. … 
J. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2012, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.C.1 above 
shall be reduced by 3.7 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care costs as determined 
by the cost report or the Medicaid days as specified per 
§967.C.1 for the period, multiplied by 85.53 percent of the 
target rate per diem limitation as specified per §967.C.1 for 
the period. 

K. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 
2013, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.C.1 above 
shall be reduced by 1 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of allowable inpatient acute care costs as determined 
by the cost report or the Medicaid days as specified per 
§967.-C.1 for the period, multiplied by 84.67 percent of the 

target rate per diem limitation as specified per §967.C.1 for 
the period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2562 (November 2010), amended LR 37:2162 (July 2011), LR 
38:2773 (November 2012), LR 39:3097 (November 2013), LR 
40:312 (February 2014), repromulgated LR 40:1940 (October 
2014), amended LR 40:1941 (October 2014), LR 41: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#045 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Public-Private Partnerships 

South Louisiana Area 
(LAC 50:V.1703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.1703 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing inpatient hospital 
services to establish supplemental Medicaid payments to 
non-state owned hospitals in order to encourage them to take 
over the operation and management of state-owned and 
operated hospitals that have terminated or reduced services. 
Participating non-state owned hospitals shall enter into a 
cooperative endeavor agreement with the department to 
support this public-provider partnership initiative (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 38, Number 11). The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing reimbursement for Medicaid payments 
for inpatient services provided by non-state owned major 
teaching hospitals participating in public-private 
partnerships which assume the provision of services that 
were previously delivered and terminated or reduced by a 
state owned and operated facility (Louisiana Register,
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Volume 39, Number 4). The department subsequently 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient services provided by non-state owned hospitals 
participating in public-private partnerships to establish 
payments for hospitals located in the Lafayette and New 
Orleans areas (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 7).  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the June 24, 2013 Emergency 
Rule governing inpatient hospital services to remove the 
provisions governing the cooperative endeavor agreements 
for Lafayette and New Orleans area hospitals as a result of 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ disapproval of the 
corresponding State Plan Amendments (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 40, Number 6). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the June 20, 2014 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by maintaining 
recipient access to much needed hospital services.  

Effective February 17, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services provided by non-state owned 
hospitals participating in public-private partnerships. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 17. Public-Private Partnerships 
§1703. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reserved. 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after April 15, 

2013, a major teaching hospital that enters into a cooperative 
endeavor agreement with the Department of Health and 
Hospitals to provide acute care hospital services to Medicaid 
and uninsured patients and which assumes providing 
services that were previously delivered and terminated or 
reduced by a state owned and operated facility shall be 
reimbursed as follows: 

1. The inpatient reimbursement shall be reimbursed at 
95 percent of allowable Medicaid costs. The interim per 
diem reimbursement may be adjusted not to exceed the final 
reimbursement of 95 percent of allowable Medicaid costs. 

C. Baton Rouge Area Cooperative Endeavor Agreement  
1. The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) 

shall enter into a cooperative endeavor agreement (CEA) 
with a non-state owned and operated hospital to increase its 
provision of inpatient Medicaid hospital services by 
providing services that were previously delivered and 
terminated by the state-owned and operated facility in Baton 
Rouge.  

2. A quarterly supplemental payment shall be made to 
this qualifying hospital for inpatient services based on dates 
of service on or after April 15, 2013. Payments shall be 
made quarterly based on the annual upper payment limit 
calculation per state fiscal year. Payments shall not exceed 
the allowable Medicaid charge differential. The Medicaid 
inpatient charge differential is the Medicaid inpatient 
charges less the Medicaid inpatient payments (which 
includes both the base payments and supplemental 
payments).  

3. The qualifying hospital shall provide quarterly 
reports to DHH that will demonstrate that, upon 
implementation, the annual Medicaid inpatient quarterly 
payments do not exceed the annual Medicaid inpatient 
charges per 42 CFR 447.271. Before the final quarterly 
payment for each state fiscal year the quarterly reports will 
be reviewed and verified with Medicaid claims data. The 
final quarterly payment for each state fiscal year will be 
reconciled and will be adjusted to assure that the annual 
payment does not exceed the allowable Medicaid inpatient 
charge differential.  

4. Inpatient services shall be reimbursed at 95 percent 
of allowable Medicaid costs. The interim per diem 
reimbursement may be adjusted not to exceed the final 
reimbursement of 95 percent of allowable Medicaid costs. 

D. - K. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#046 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 
with Intellectual Disabilities 

Complex Care Reimbursements 
(LAC 50:VII.32915) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:VII.32915 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing currently provides Medicaid 
reimbursement to non-state intermediate care facilities for 
persons with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/ID) for services 
provided to Medicaid recipients.  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ICFs/ID to establish reimbursement for 
complex care services provided to Medicaid recipients 
residing in non-state ICFs/ID (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated
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to continue the provisions of the October 1, 2014 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to protect the public health 
and welfare of Medicaid recipients with complex care needs 
who reside in ICFs/ID.  

Effective January 30, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
amend the provisions governing non-state ICFs/ID to 
establish reimbursement for complex care services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32915. Complex Care Reimbursements 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 
2014, non-state intermediate care facilities for persons with 
intellectual disabilities may receive an add-on payment to 
the per diem rate for providing complex care to Medicaid 
recipients who require such services. The add-on rate 
adjustment shall be a flat fee amount and may consist of 
payment for any one of the following components: 

1. equipment only; 
2. direct service worker(DSW); 
3. nursing only; 
4. equipment and DSW;  
5. DSW and nursing; 
6. nursing and equipment; or 
7. DSW, nursing, and equipment. 

B. Non-state owned ICFs/ID may qualify for an add-on 
rate for recipients meeting documented major medical or 
behavioral complex care criteria. This must be documented 
on the complex support need screening tool provided by the 
department. All medical documentation indicated by the 
screening tool form and any additional documentation 
requested by the department must be provided to qualify for 
the add-on payment. 

C. In order to meet the complex care criteria, the 
presence of a significant medical or behavioral health need 
must exist and be documented. This must include: 

1. endorsement of at least one qualifying condition 
with supporting documentation; and 

2. endorsement of symptom severity in the 
appropriate category based on qualifying condition(s) with 
supporting documentation. 

a. Qualifying conditions for complex care must 
include at least one of the following as documented on the 
complex support need screening tool: 
 i. significant physical and nutritional needs 
requiring full assistance with nutrition, mobility, and 
activities of daily living; 
 ii. complex medical needs/medically fragile; or 
 iii. complex behavioral/mental health needs. 

D. Enhanced Supports. Enhanced supports must be 
provided and verified with supporting documentation to 
qualify for the add-on payment. This includes: 

1. endorsement and supporting documentation 
indicating the need for additional direct service worker 
resources; 

2. endorsement and supporting documentation 
indicating the need for additional nursing resources; or 

3. endorsement and supporting documentation 
indicating the need for enhanced equipment resources 
(beyond basic equipment such as wheelchairs and grab bars). 

E. One of the following admission requirements must be 
met in order to qualify for the add-on payment:  

1. the recipient has been admitted to the facility for 
more than 30 days with supporting documentation of 
necessity and provision of enhanced supports; or 

2. the recipient is transitioning from another similar 
agency with supporting documentation of necessity and 
provision of enhanced supports. 

F. All of the following criteria will apply for continued 
evaluation and payment for complex care. 

1. Recipients receiving enhanced rates will be 
included in annual surveys to ensure continuation of 
supports and review of individual outcomes. 

2. Fiscal analysis and reporting will be required 
annually. 

3. The provider will be required to report on the 
following outcomes: 

a. hospital admissions and diagnosis/reasons for 
admission; 

b. emergency room visits and diagnosis/reasons for 
admission; 

c. major injuries; 
d. falls; and 
e. behavioral incidents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821—9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#047 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 
Intellectual Disabilities—Public Facilities 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:VII.32969) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:VII.32969 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
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provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for public 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
disabilities (ICFs/DD), hereafter referred to as intermediate 
care facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities 
(ICFs/ID), to establish a transitional Medicaid 
reimbursement rate for community homes that are being 
privatized (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 2). This 
Rule also adopted all of the provisions governing 
reimbursements to state-owned and operated facilities and 
quasi-public facilities in a codified format for inclusion in 
the Louisiana Administrative Code.  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the transitional rates for 
public facilities in order to redefine the period of transition 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 10). The 
department subsequently promulgated an Emergency Rule to 
assure compliance with the technical requirements of R.S. 
49:953, and to continue the provisions of the October 1, 
2013 Emergency Rule governing transitional rates for public 
facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 3). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for ICFs/ID to increase the add-on amount to the per diem 
rate for the provider fee (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 3). 

Due to an increase in the add-on amount to the per diem 
rate for the provider fee, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the transitional rates for public facilities in order to increase 
the Medicaid reimbursement rate (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 40, Number 9). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the October 1, 
2014 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to protect 
the public health and welfare of Medicaid recipients 
transitioning from public ICFs/ID by ensuring continued 
provider participation in the Medicaid Program. 

Effective January 30, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
public intermediate care facilities for persons with 
intellectual disabilities.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter C. Public Facilities 
§32969. Transitional Rates for Public Facilities 

A. - F.4. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

2014, the transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate shall be 
increased by $1.85 of the rate in effect on September 30, 
2014.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:326 (February 2013), LR 41: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#048 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility 
Provisional Medicaid Program 

(LAC 50:III.2305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:III.2305 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Section 1902(a)(10) of Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and Section 435.210 of Title 42 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations (CFR) provides states with the option to cover 
individuals under their Medicaid State Plan who are aged or 
have a disability, and who meet the income and resource 
requirements for supplemental security income (SSI) cash 
assistance. These individuals must be referred to the Social 
Security Administration (SSA) for assistance as there 
currently is no eligibility category under the Medicaid 
Program to provide them with Medicaid benefits. Their 
Medicaid eligibility is contingent upon a favorable decision 
for SSI cash assistance.  

Pursuant to Section 1902(a)(10)of Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act and 42 CFR 435.210, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which adopted provisions 
to include this optional coverage group under the Medicaid 
State Plan by implementing the Provisional Medicaid 
Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 2). This 
Medicaid program provides interim Medicaid-only benefits 
to eligible individuals until such time that a decision has 
been rendered on their SSI cash assistance application 
pending with the Social Security Administration. This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 9, 2014 Emergency Rule.  
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This action is being taken to avoid imminent peril to the 
health and safety of certain individuals who would have to 
wait for a Social Security Administration decision to receive 
Medicaid benefits in order to obtain necessary medical care.
 Effective February 7, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
adopts provisions to implement the Provisional Medicaid 
Program. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Subpart 3.  Eligibility Groups and Factors 

Chapter 23. Eligibility Groups and Medicaid 
Programs 

§2305. Provisional Medicaid Program 
A. The Provisional Medicaid Program provides interim 

Medicaid-only coverage to individuals who: 
1. are aged or have a disability; 
2. meet income and resource requirements for 

supplemental security income (SSI) cash assistance; and 
3. have applied for benefits through the Social 

Security Administration (SSA) and are awaiting a decision 
on the pending application. 

a. Applicants shall have 90 days from the date of 
Medicaid application to provide proof to the department of a 
pending application with SSA. If proof of a pending 
application with SSA is not received timely, after 
notification by the department has been issued, interim 
Medicaid benefits shall be terminated. 

b. Individuals who would be ineligible for SSI cash 
assistance due to factors other than excess income and 
resources or meeting the disability criteria of the program 
are exempt from the requirement to have a pending 
application for benefits with the Social Security 
Administration (SSA). 

B. The Provisional Medicaid Program provides coverage 
to individuals with income equal to or less than the federal 
benefit rate (FBR), and resources that are equal to or less 
than the resource limits of the SSI cash assistance program. 

C. A certification period for the Provisional Medicaid 
Program shall not exceed six months, and shall end upon the 
final decision being rendered on the recipient’s pending 
application for benefits through the SSA, whether the 
outcome is receipt of benefits or denial of benefits due to 
excess income and resources or not meeting SSA’s disability 
or age criteria. 

D. Retroactive coverage up to three months prior to the 
receipt of the Medicaid application shall be available to 
recipients in the Provisional Medicaid Program.  

1. Any retroactive coverage period shall not be prior 
to the implementation date of the Provisional Medicaid 
Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#049 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

(LAC 50:XXVII.Chapter 5) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repeals and replaces the 
provisions of the October 20, 1994 Rule governing non-
emergency medical transportation, and amends LAC 
50:XXVII.Chapter 5 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions governing non-emergency medical transportation 
(NEMT) (Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 10). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which repealed 
the October 20, 1994 Rule in order to revise the provisions 
governing NEMT services, and to ensure that these 
provisions are appropriately promulgated in a codified 
format for inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 
This Emergency Rule also amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for NEMT 
services to replace the monthly payment of capitated rates 
with a monthly per trip payment methodology (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 40, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated in order to continue the provisions of the 
October 1, 2014 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken 
to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
ensuring continued access to non-emergency medical 
transportation services. 

Effective January 30, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
non-emergency medical transportation. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§501. Introduction 

A. Non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT) is 
non-emergency transportation to and from the providers of 
routine Medicaid covered services for Medicaid recipients. 
NEMT is intended to provide transportation only after all 
reasonable means of free transportation have been explored 
and found to be unavailable. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§503. Prior Authorization 

A. NEMT services require prior authorization. The 
department or its designee will authorize transportation after 
verifying the recipient’s Medicaid eligibility and validity of 
medical appointment(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§505. Requirements for Coverage 

A. When transportation is not available through family 
and friends, payment shall be authorized for the least costly 
means of transportation available. The least costly means of 
transportation shall be determined by the department and 
shall be determined according to the following hierarchy:  

1. city or parish public transportation;  
2. family and friends who meet the state license and 

insurance requirements and who are willing to: 
a. enroll in the Medicaid Program; and  
b. be paid a published rate for providing non-

emergency transportation; 
3. intrastate public conveyance (such as bus, train or 

plane); 
4. nonprofit agencies and organizations that provide a 

transportation service and who are enrolled in the Medicaid 
Program; and  

5. for profit providers enrolled in the Medicaid 
Program. 

B. Recipients shall be allowed a choice of providers 
when the costs of two or more providers are equal. 

C. Recipients are encouraged to utilize medical providers 
of their choice in the community in which they reside when 
the recipient is also in need of Medicaid reimbursed 
transportation services. The fact that the department will still 
pay for the actual medical service received outside the 
community in which the recipient resides does not obligate 
the department to reimburse for transportation to 
accommodate such a choice. 

D. When the recipient chooses to utilize a medical 
provider outside of the community due to preference and/or 
history, payment may be authorized only for the cost of 
transportation to the nearest available provider. 

E. The recipient may be responsible for securing any 
agreements with family and friends, nonprofit or profit 
providers to make the longer trip for the payment authorized. 
If the recipient needs help with making such arrangements, 
the department will help but the help given will imply no 
obligation to provide a greater reimbursement. 

F. When specialty treatment required by the recipient 
necessitates travel over extended distances, authorization for 
payment for intrastate transportation shall be determined 
according to the following criteria.  

1. Intrastate transportation reimbursement shall be 
authorized when medical services are not available to the 
recipient in his/her community.  

2. Payment shall be authorized when free 
transportation is not available.  

3. The department shall still authorize payment only 
for the most economical means of transportation. This may 

be through negotiating payment for transportation with 
family and or friends or through accessing the public 
conveyance systems such as bus, train or plane.  

4. The determination as to use of public conveyance 
shall be based on least cost, medical condition of the 
recipient to be transported, and availability of public 
conveyance. 

G. When it has been verified that public conveyance is 
unavailable or inappropriate for intrastate transportation the 
recipient shall solicit transportation from family and friends. 
The department will authorize payment to assist the family 
in accessing the needed medical services.  

1. Payment will be based on distance to be traveled to 
the nearest available similar or appropriate medical services, 
parking and tolls. In determining the amount of payment the 
cost of the least costly public conveyance shall be used as 
the base cost to be paid to the family. Payment shall not be 
available for room and board or meals.  

H. When no other means of transportation is available 
through family and friends or public conveyance, the 
department will solicit intrastate transportation through a 
nonprofit provider.  

1. The nonprofit provider will be paid a fee based on 
the current fee schedule.  

2. If the nonprofit provider cannot accept the trip then 
the department will reimburse for-profit providers based on 
the current fee schedule. 

I. The department will not authorize “same day” trips 
except in the instance of need for immediate medical care 
due to injury or illness. Same day trips will not be authorized 
for scheduled appointments for predictable or routine 
medical care. Recipients will be asked to reschedule the 
appointment and make the subsequent request for 
transportation timely. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Subchapter B. Recipient Responsibilities 
§521. General Provisions 

A. Recipients shall participate in securing transportation 
at a low cost and shall agree to use public transportation or 
solicit transportation from family and friends as an 
alternative to more costly means of transport. 

B. When the recipient alleges that public conveyance 
cannot be used due to medical reasons, then verification 
shall be provided by giving the department a written 
statement from a doctor that includes the specific reason(s) 
that the use of public conveyance is contraindicated by the 
medical condition of the recipient. In no case can preference 
of the recipient be the sole determining factor in excluding 
use of public conveyance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Subchapter C. Provider Responsibilities 
§541. Provider Enrollment 

A. For-profit providers must comply with all state laws 
and the regulations of any other governing state agency or 
commission or local entity to which they are subject as a 
condition of enrollment and continued participation in the 
Medicaid Program. 
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B. Nonemergency medical transportation profit 
providers shall have a minimum liability insurance coverage 
of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident or a 
$300,000 combined service limits policy.  

1. The liability policy shall cover any and all:  
a. autos;  
b. hired autos; and  
c. non-owned autos.  

2. Premiums shall be prepaid for a period of six 
months. Proof of prepaid insurance must be a true and 
correct copy of the policy issued by the home office of the 
insurance company. Statements from the agent writing the 
policy will not be acceptable. Proof must include the dates of 
coverage and a 30 day cancellation notification clause. Proof 
of renewal must be received by the department no later than 
48 hours prior to the end date of coverage. The policy must 
provide that the 30 day cancellation notification be issued to 
the Bureau of Health Services Financing.  

3. Upon notice of cancellation or expiration of the 
coverage, the department will immediately cancel the 
provider agreement for participation. The ending date of 
participation shall be the ending date of insurance coverage. 
Retroactive coverage statements will not be accepted. 
Providers who lose the right to participate due to lack of 
prepaid insurance may re-enroll in the transportation 
program and will be subject to all applicable enrollment 
procedures, policies, and fees for new providers. 

C. As a condition of reimbursement for transporting 
Medicaid recipients to medical services, family and friends 
must maintain the state minimum automobile liability 
insurance coverage, a current state inspection sticker, and a 
current valid driver’s license. No special inspection by the 
department will be conducted. Proof of compliance with the 
three listed requirements for this class of provider must be 
submitted when enrollment in the department is sought. 
Proof shall be the sworn and notarized statement of the 
individual enrolling for payment, certifying that all three 
requirements are met. Family and friends shall be enrolled 
and shall be allowed to transport up to three specific 
Medicaid recipients or all members of one Medicaid 
assistance unit. The recipients to be transported by each such 
provider will be noted in the computer files of the 
department. Individuals transporting more than three 
Medicaid recipients shall be considered profit providers and 
shall be enrolled as such. 

D. As a condition of participation for out-of-state 
transport, providers of transportation to out-of-state medical 
services must be in compliance with all applicable federal 
intrastate commerce laws regarding such transportation, 
including but not limited to, the $1,000,000 insurance 
requirement. Proof of compliance with all interstate 
commerce laws must be submitted when enrollment in the 
Medicaid Program is sought or prior to providing any out-of-
state Medicaid transportation. 

E. A provider must agree to cover the entire parish or 
parishes for which he provides non-emergency medical 
transportation services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

§543. Trip Coordination 
A. Dispatch personnel will coordinate to the extent 

possible, trips for family members so that all recipients in a 
family are transported as a unit at one time to the same or 
close proximity providers. 

B. Providers must submit a signed affidavit with claims 
certifying that a true and correct bill is being submitted. 

C. If the provider has declined to accept a trip on a 
particular day the dispatch personnel will not assign 
additional trips to that provider for that same day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§545. Provider Suspension and Termination 

A. Providers are subject to suspension from the NEMT 
Program upon department documentation of inappropriate 
billing practices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§565. General Provisions 

A. Reimbursement for NEMT services shall be based 
upon the current fee schedule. 

B. Reimbursement for NEMT to regular, predictable and 
continuing medical services, such as hemodialysis, 
chemotherapy or rehabilitation therapy, as determined by the 
department, shall be based on a capitated rate paid by 
individual trip. 

C. Reimbursement will not be made for any additional 
person(s) who must accompany the recipient to the medical 
provider. 

D. An individual provider will be reimbursed for a trip to 
the nearest facility that will meet the recipient’s medical 
needs. However, the individual provider may transport the 
recipient to a more distant facility if the individual provider 
will accept reimbursement from the department to the 
nearest facility and assumes responsibility for additional 
expenses incurred. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 
A. - F.5. ... 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

2014, the monthly payment of capitated rates shall be 
replaced with a per trip payment methodology. 

1. Payments previously made using the monthly 
capitated rate shall be made by dividing the monthly rate by 
the number of authorized trips within a given month. Each 
trip will then be reimbursed separately.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:462 (March 2007), LR 34:878 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:2564 (November
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2010), LR 37:3030 (October 2011), amended LR 38:3214 
(December 2012), LR 41: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#050 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Public-Private Partnerships 

South Louisiana Area 
(LAC 50:V.6703) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.6703 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing outpatient hospital 
services to establish supplemental Medicaid payments to 
non-state owned hospitals in order to encourage them to take 
over the operation and management of state-owned hospitals 
that have terminated or reduced services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 38, Number 11). Participating non-state 
owned hospitals shall enter into a cooperative endeavor 
agreement with the department to support this public-private 
partnership initiative. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions of the 
November 1, 2012 Emergency Rule to revise the 
reimbursement methodology in order to correct the federal 
citation (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 3). The 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for outpatient services provided by non-state owned major 
teaching hospitals participating in public-private 
partnerships which assume the provision of services that 
were previously delivered and terminated or reduced by a 
state owned and operated facility (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 39, Number 4). The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the reimbursement methodology for outpatient services 

provided by non-state owned hospitals participating in 
public-private partnerships to establish payments for 
hospitals located in the Lafayette and New Orleans areas 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 7).  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the June 24, 2013 Emergency 
Rule to remove the New Orleans Area hospital which was 
erroneously included in these provisions (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 39, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the October 
20, 2013 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
promote the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 
maintaining recipient access to much needed hospital 
services.  

Effective February 16, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for outpatient hospital services provided by non-state owned 
hospitals participating in public-private partnerships. 

Title 50 
PULIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 67. Public-Private Partnerships 
§6703. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B.5. Reserved. 
C. Baton Rouge Area Cooperative Endeavor Agreement 

1. The Department of Health and Hospitals shall enter 
into a cooperative endeavor agreement with a non-state 
owned and operated hospital to increase its provision of 
outpatient Medicaid hospital services by providing services 
that were previously delivered and terminated by the state-
owned and operated facility in Baton Rouge. 

2. A quarterly supplemental payment may be made to 
this qualifying hospital for outpatient services based on dates 
of service on or after April 15, 2013. Payments may be made 
quarterly based on the annual upper payment limit 
calculation per state fiscal year. Maximum payments shall 
not exceed the upper payment limit per 42 CFR 447.321. 

D. Lafayette Area Cooperative Endeavor Agreement  
1. The Department of Health and Hospitals shall enter 

into a cooperative endeavor agreement with a non-state 
owned and operated hospital to increase its provision of 
outpatient Medicaid hospital services by assuming the 
management and operation of services at a facility in 
Lafayette where such services were previously provided by a 
state owned and operated facility. 

2. Effective for dates of service on or after June 24, 
2013, a quarterly supplemental payment may be made to this 
qualifying hospital for outpatient services. Payments may be 
made quarterly based on the annual upper payment limit 
calculation per state fiscal year. Maximum payments shall 
not exceed the upper payment limit per 42 CFR 447.321. 

E. - E.2. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR: 41 
Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
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Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#051 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Methods of Payment 

(LAC 50:XXIX.105 and Chapter 9) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing hereby rescinds the provisions of 
the November 1, 2012 Emergency Rule which revised the 
reimbursement methodology for pharmacy services covered 
under the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254. This Emergency Rule was adopted on October 19, 
2012 and published in the November 20, 2012 edition of the 
Louisiana Register. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides coverage and 
reimbursement for prescription drugs to Medicaid eligible 
recipients enrolled in the Medicaid Program. The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions of the September 5, 2012 Emergency Rule to 
further revise the provisions governing the methods of 
payment for prescription drugs and the dispensing fee 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11).  

Upon further consideration and consultation with the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) on the 
corresponding Medicaid State Plan Amendment, the 
department determined that it was necessary to rescind the 
provisions of the November 1, 2012 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for services 
rendered in the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program, 
and to return to the reimbursement rates in effect on 
September 5, 2012 which is consistent with the currently 
approved Medicaid State Plan (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the October 1, 2014 Emergency 
Rule.  

Effective January 30, 2015, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the 
Emergency Rule governing pharmacy services which 
appeared in the November 20, 2013 edition of the Louisiana 
Register on pages 2725-2728. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#052 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
State Supplemental Rebate Agreement Program 

(LAC 50:XXIX.Chapter 11) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:XXIX.Chapter 11 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides Medicaid coverage of 
prescription drugs through its Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program. The department amended the 
provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management 
Program in order to establish provisions for the Medicaid 
Program’s participation in The Optimal PDL $olution 
(TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate Agreement Program 
which is a multi-state Medicaid state supplemental drug 
rebate pooling initiative (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, 
Number 10). This program allows states to leverage their 
pharmaceutical purchasing power as a group to achieve 
more supplemental rebates than could be achieved 
independently. It is anticipated that this program will lower 
the net cost of brand drugs and the overall dollars spent on 
pharmacy benefits. The department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule to assure compliance with the technical 
requirements of R.S. 49:953, and to continue the provisions 
of the October 1, 2013 Emergency Rule governing the 
Pharmacy Benefits Management Program which established 
provisions for the Medicaid Program’s participation in The 
Optimal PDL $olution (TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate 
Agreement Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 3). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the February 22, 2014 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs.  

Effective February 20, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the Medicaid coverage of 
prescription drugs to establish provisions for participation in 
TOP$ State Supplemental Rebate Agreement Program. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 11. State Supplemental Rebate Agreement 

Program  
§1101. General Provisions 

A. Effective October 1, 2013, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
establishes provisions for participation in The Optimal PDL 
$olution (TOP$) State Supplemental Rebate Agreement 
(SRA) Program. TOP$ is a multi-state Medicaid state 
supplemental drug rebate pooling initiative approved by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services and administered by 
Provider Synergies, L.L.C/Magellan Medicaid 
Administration. The purpose of this program is to allow 
states the opportunity to leverage their pharmaceutical 
purchasing power as a group to achieve more supplemental 
rebates and discounts from prescription drug companies than 
could be achieved independently.  

B. Pursuant to R.S. 46:153.3, the department shall enter 
into a contractual agreement with Provider Synergies to 
participate in TOP$. Provider Synergies/Magellan Medicaid 
Administration will act on the department’s behalf to 
provide the necessary administration services relative to this 
agreement for the provision of state supplemental drug 
rebate contracting and preferred drug list administration 
services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#053 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Immunizations 

Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:IX.8305 and 8505) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:IX.8305 and 
§8505 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Public Health 
(OPH) adopted provisions to establish Medicaid payment of 
uncompensated care costs for the administration of vaccines 
rendered by OPH to Medicaid eligible recipients (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 39, Number 1). 

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) 
requires states to reimburse certain primary care services, 
including the administration of specified immunizations (if 
they were covered), at an increased rate. In compliance with 
PPACA and federal regulations, the department promulgated 
an Emergency Rule which amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for Medicaid 
payments to providers for the administration of certain 
vaccines to children to increase the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 1). The provisions 
governing an increase in rates for the administration of 
certain vaccines to adults were inadvertently omitted from 
the January 1, 2013 Emergency Rule. The department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
January 1, 2013 Emergency Rule in order to incorporate 
provisions governing an increase in rates for the 
administration of certain vaccines to adults and to revise the 
payment methodology (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, 
Number 2). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the February 20, 2013 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions 
and to secure enhanced federal funding.  

Effective February 16, 2015 the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
the administration of immunizations. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 7.  Immunizations 

Chapter 83. Children’s Immunizations  
§8305. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C.3.a. ... 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2013 through December 31, 2014, certain vaccine 
administration services shall be reimbursed at payment rates 
consistent with the methodologies that apply to such services 
and physicians under Part B of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act (Medicare) and the Vaccines for Children 
(VFC) Program.  

1. The following vaccine service codes, when covered 
by the Medicaid Program and provided under the VFC 
Program, shall be reimbursed at an increased rate: 

a. 90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474; or 
b. their successor codes as specified by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 
2. Qualifying Criteria. Reimbursement shall be 

limited to specified services furnished by a physician, either 
a doctor of osteopathy or a medical doctor or under the 
personal supervision of a physician, who attests to a 
specialty or subspecialty designation in family medicine, 
general internal medicine or pediatrics, and also attests to 
meeting one or more of the following criteria: 

a. certification as a specialist or subspecialist within 
family medicine, general internal medicine or pediatric 
medicine by the American Board of Medical Specialists 
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(ABMS), the American Board of Physician Specialties 
(ABPS), or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); 
or 

b. specified evaluation and management and 
vaccine services that equal at least 60 percent of total 
Medicaid codes paid during the most recently completed 
calendar year, or for newly eligible physicians the prior 
month. 

3. Payment Methodology. For vaccine administration 
services provided under the Vaccines for Children Program 
in calendar years 2013 and 2014, the reimbursement shall be 
the lesser of the: 

a. regional maximum administration fee; or 
b. Medicare fee schedule rate in calendar years 

2013 or 2014 that reflects the mean value over all parishes 
(counties) of the rate for each of the specified code(s) or, if 
greater, the payment rates that would be applicable in those 
years using the calendar year 2009 Medicare physician fee 
schedule conversion factor multiplied by the calendar year 
2013 and 2014 relative value units in accordance with 42 
CFR 447.405 as approved by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services.  

4. The department shall make a payment to the 
provider for the difference between the Medicaid rate and 
the increased rate, if any.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:71 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Public Health, LR 39:96 (January 
2013), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41: 
Chapter 85. Adult Immunizations 
§8505. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B.3.a. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 

2013 through December 31, 2014, certain vaccine 
administration services shall be reimbursed at payment rates 
consistent with the methodology that applies to such services 
and physicians under Part B of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act (Medicare). 

1. The following vaccine service codes, when covered 
by the Medicaid Program, shall be reimbursed at an 
increased rate: 

a. 90471, 90472, 90473 and 90474; or  
b. their successor codes as specified by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 
2. Qualifying Criteria. Reimbursement shall be 

limited to specified services furnished by a physician, either 
a doctor of osteopathy or a medical doctor or under the 
personal supervision of a physician, who attests to a 
specialty or subspecialty designation in family medicine, 
general internal medicine or pediatrics, and also attests to 
meeting one or more of the following criteria: 

a. certification as a specialist or subspecialist within 
family medicine, general internal medicine or pediatric 
medicine by the American Board of Medical Specialists 
(ABMS), the American Board of Physician Specialties 
(ABPS), or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA); 
or 

b. specified evaluation and management and 
vaccine services that equal at least 60 percent of total 
Medicaid codes paid during the most recently completed 
calendar year, or for newly eligible physicians the prior 
month. 

3. Payment Methodology. For vaccine administration 
services provided in calendar years 2013 and 2014, the 
reimbursement shall be the lesser of the: 

a. Medicare fee schedule rate in calendar years 
2013 or 2014 that reflects the mean value over all parishes 
(counties) of the rate for each of the specified code(s) or, if 
greater, the payment rates that would be applicable in those 
years using the calendar year 2009 Medicare physician fee 
schedule conversion factor multiplied by the calendar year 
2013 and 2014 relative value units in accordance with 42 
CFR 447.405 as approved by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services; or 

b. provider’s actual billed charges for the service. 
4. The department shall make a payment to the 

provider for the difference between the Medicaid rate and 
the increased rate, if any.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Public Health, LR 39:97 (January 2013), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#054 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rehabilitation Clinics 
Physical and Occupational Therapies 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:XI.301 and 303) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.301 and §303 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides Medicaid 
reimbursement for physical, occupational and speech



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 25

therapies provided in rehabilitation clinics to recipients 
under the age of 21.  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2013, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing rehabilitation clinics in 
order to terminate the coverage and Medicaid reimbursement 
of services rendered to recipients 21 years of age and older 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 1). In compliance 
with a court order from the Melanie Chisholm, et al vs. 
Kathy Kliebert class action litigation, the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
reimbursement methodology for rehabilitation clinics in 
order to increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services rendered to recipients under 
the age of 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 2). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 13, 2014 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by ensuring continued access to therapy 
services provided by rehabilitation clinics.  

Effective February 11, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for rehabilitation clinics in order to increase the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 1.  Rehabilitation Clinics 

Chapter 3. Reimbursement 
§301. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The Medicaid Program provides reimbursement for 
physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech therapy 
rendered in rehabilitation clinics to recipients under the age 
of 21. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 
2013, reimbursement shall not be made for services rendered 
to recipients 21 years of age and older. 

C. Effective for dates of service on or after February 13, 
2014, reimbursement for physical and occupational therapy 
services shall be 85 percent of the 2013 Medicare published 
rate. There shall be no automatic enhanced rate adjustment 
for physical and occupational therapy services. 

D. Speech/language therapy services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at the flat fee in place as of February 13, 2014 
and in accordance with the Medicaid published fee schedule 
for speech/language therapy services provided to recipients 
under the age of 21 in rehabilitation clinics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1021 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 
§303. Reimbursement (Ages 0 up to 3) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1034 (May 2004), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#055 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

School Based Health Centers 
Rehabilitation Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:XV.9141) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.9141 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions to allow for Medicaid coverage and 
reimbursement of mental health services provided to 
students by School Based Health Centers and to establish 
provisions for other Medicaid-covered services students 
already receive (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 7).  

In compliance with a court order from the Melanie 
Chisholm, et al vs. Kathy Kliebert class action litigation, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for school based health centers in order to 
increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 2). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the February 13, 2014 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
continued access to therapy services in school based health 
centers. 

Effective February 10, 2015, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for school based health centers to increase the 
reimbursement rates for physical and occupational therapies. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 

Treatment 
Chapter 91. School Based Health Centers 

Subchapter E. Reimbursement 
§9141. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after February 13, 

2014, reimbursement for physical and occupational therapy 
services shall be 85 percent of the 2013 Medicare published 
rate.  

D. Speech/language therapy services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at the flat fee in place as of February 13, 2014 
and in accordance with the Medicaid published fee schedule 
for speech/language therapy services provided in school 
based health centers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1420 (July 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 
Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#056 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a  
(LAC 43:XIX.Chapters 2 and 11) 

Order extending the deadline of drilling and completion 
operational and safety requirements for wells drilled in 
search or for the production of oil or natural gas at water 
locations. 

Pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the 
State of Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Revised 
Statutes of 1950, as amended, and in conformity with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
Title 49, Sections 953(B)(1) and (2), 954(B)(2), as amended, 
the following emergency rule and reasons therefore are now 
adopted and promulgated by the Commissioner of 
Conservation as being necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally, by extending the 
effectiveness of the emergency rule this rule supersedes the 
previous emergency rule for drilling and completion 
operational and safety requirements for wells drilled in 
search of oil and natural gas at water locations. The 

following emergency rule provides for Commissioner of 
Conservation approved exceptions to equipment 
requirements on workover operations. Furthermore, the 
extension of the rule allows more time to complete 
comprehensive rule amendments. 

A. Need and Purpose for Emergency Rule 
In light of the Gulf of Mexico Deepwater Horizon oil 

spill incident in federal waters approximately fifty miles off 
Louisiana’s coast and the threat posed to the natural 
resources of the State, and the economic livelihood and 
property of the citizens of the State caused thereby, the 
Office of Conservation began a review of its current drilling 
and completion operational and safety requirements for 
wells drilled in search of oil and natural gas at water 
locations. While the incidents of blowout of Louisiana wells 
is minimal, occurring at less than three-tenths of one percent 
of the wells drilled in Louisiana since 1987, the great risk 
posed by blowouts at water locations to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the State, as well as the 
environment generally, necessitated the rule amendments 
contained herein. 

After implementation of the Emergency Rule, 
Conservation formed an ad hoc committee to further study 
comprehensive rulemaking in order to promulgate new 
permanent regulations which ensure increased operational 
and safety requirements for the drilling or completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations within the State. Based upon 
the work of this ad hoc committee, draft proposed rules that 
would replace these emergency rules are being created for 
the consideration and comment by interested parties. These 
draft proposed rules were published in the Potpourri Section 
of the Louisiana State Register on July 20, 2012. Rule 
promulgation is expected to continue with revised draft rules 
being published as a Notice of Intent within the next sixty 
days. 

B. Synopsis of Emergency Rule 
The Emergency Rule set forth hereinafter is intended to 

provide greater protection to the public health, safety and 
welfare of the people of the State, as well as the environment 
generally by extending the effectiveness of new operational 
and safety requirements for the drilling and completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations. Following the Gulf of 
Mexico-Deepwater Horizon oil spill, the Office of 
Conservation ("Conservation") investigated the possible 
expansion of Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a 
requirements relating to well control at water locations. As 
part of the rule expansion project, Conservation reviewed the 
well control regulations of the U.S. Department of the 
Interior's Mineral Management Service or MMS (now 
named the Bureau of Safety and Environmental 
Enforcement). Except in the instances where it was 
determined that the MMS provisions were repetitive of other 
provisions already being incorporated, were duplicative of 
existing Conservation regulations or were not applicable to 
the situations encountered in Louisiana's waters, all 
provisions of the MMS regulations concerning well control 
issues at water locations were adopted by the preceding 
Emergency Rules, which this rule supersedes, integrated into 
Conservation's Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a.  

Conservation is currently performing a comprehensive 
review of its regulations as it considers future amendments 
to its operational rules and regulations found in Statewide 
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Order No. 29-B and elsewhere. Specifically, the Emergency 
Rule extends the effectiveness of a new Chapter within 
Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 2) to 
provide additional rules concerning the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations, 
specifically providing for the following: rig movement and 
reporting requirements, additional requirements for 
applications to drill, casing program requirements, 
mandatory diverter systems and blowout preventer 
requirements, oil and gas well-workover operations, diesel 
engine safety requirements, and drilling fluid regulations. 
Further, the Emergency Rule amends Statewide Order No. 
29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) to provide for and expand 
upon rules concerning the required use of storm chokes in 
oil and gas wells at water locations.  

C. Reasons 
Recognizing the potential advantages of expanding the 

operational and safety requirements for the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
State, it has been determined that failure to establish such 
requirements in the form of an administrative rule may lead 
to the existence of an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the State of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally. By this rule Conservation 
extends the effectiveness of the following requirements until 
such time as final comprehensive rules may be promulgated.  

Protection of the public and our environment therefore 
requires the Commissioner of Conservation to extend the 
following rules in order to assure that drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
State are undertaken in accordance with all reasonable care 
and protection to the health, safety of the public, oil and gas 
personnel and the environment generally. The emergency 
rule, Amendment to Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.Chapter 2) and Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 
43:XIX Chapter 11) (“EMERGENCY RULE”) set forth 
hereinafter are adopted and extended by the Office of 
Conservation.  

D. Effective Date and Duration 
The effective date for this Emergency Rule shall be 

December 19, 2014. This Emergency Rule is a continuation 
of the September 19, 2014 Emergency Rule. The Emergency 
Rule herein adopted as a part thereof, shall remain effective 
for a period of not less than 120 days hereafter, or until the 
adoption of the final version of an amendment to Statewide 
Order No. 29-B and Statewide Order No. 29-B-a as noted 
herein, whichever occurs first. 

The Emergency Rule signed by the commissioner on 
September 19, 2014, 2014 is hereby rescinded and replaced 
by the following Emergency Rule. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 2. Additional Requirements for Water 
Locations 

§201. Applicability  
A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Chapter 1 

of this Subpart, all oil and gas wells being drilled or 
completed at a water location within the State and which are 
spud or on which workover operations commence on or after 
July 15, 2010 shall comply with this Chapter.  

B. Unless otherwise stated herein, nothing within this 
Chapter shall alter the obligation of oil and gas operators to 
meet the requirements of Chapter 1 of this Subpart.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§203. Application to Drill 

A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 
103 of this Subpart, at the time of submittal of an application 
for permit to drill, the applicant will provide an electronic 
copy on a disk of the associated drilling rig’s Spill 
Prevention Control (SPC) plan that is required by DEQ 
pursuant to the provisions of Part IX of Title 33 of the 
Louisiana Administrative Code or any successor rule. Such 
plan shall become a part of the official well file. If the 
drilling rig to be used in drilling a permitted well changes 
between the date of the application and the date of drilling, 
the applicant shall provide an electronic copy on a disk of 
the SPC plan for the correct drilling rig within two business 
days of becoming aware of the change in rigs; but in no case 
shall the updated SPC plan be submitted after spudding of 
the well. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§204. Rig Movement and Reporting 

A. The operator must report the movement of all drilling 
and workover rig units on and off locations to the 
appropriate district manager with the rig name, well serial 
number and expected time of arrival and departure. 

B. Drilling operations on a platform with producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow must comply with the 
following: 

1. an emergency shutdown station must be installed 
near the driller’s console; 

2. all producible wells located in the affected wellbay 
must be shut in below the surface and at the wellhead when: 

a. a rig or related equipment is moved on and off a 
platform. This includes rigging up and rigging down 
activities within 500 feet of the affected platform; 

b. a drilling unit is moved or skid between wells on 
a platform; 

c. a mobile offshore drilling unit (MODU) moves 
within 500 feet of a platform; 

3. production may be resumed once the MODU is in 
place, secured, and ready to begin drilling operations. 

C. The movement of rigs and related equipment on and 
off a platform or from well to well on the same platform, 
including rigging up and rigging down, shall be conducted in 
a safe manner. All wells in the same well-bay which are 
capable of producing hydrocarbons shall be shut in below 
the surface with a pump-through-type tubing plug and at the 
surface with a closed master valve prior to moving well-
completion rigs and related equipment, unless otherwise 
approved by the district manager. A closed surface-
controlled subsurface safety valve of the pump-through type 
may be used in lieu of the pump-through-type tubing plug, 
provided that the surface control has been locked out of 
operation. The well from which the rig or related equipment 
is to be moved shall also be equipped with a back-pressure 
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valve prior to removing the blowout preventer (BOP) system 
and installing the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§205. Casing Program 

A. General Requirements 
1. The operator shall case and cement all wells with a 

sufficient number of strings of casing and quantity and 
quality of cement in a manner necessary to prevent fluid 
migration in the wellbore, protect the underground source of 
drinking water (USDW) from contamination, support 
unconsolidated sediments, and otherwise provide a means of 
control of the formation pressures and fluids. 

2. The operator shall install casing necessary to 
withstand collapse, bursting, tensile, and other stresses that 
may be encountered and the well shall be cemented in a 
manner which will anchor and support the casing. Safety 
factors in casing program design shall be of sufficient 
magnitude to provide optimum well control while drilling 
and to assure safe operations for the life of the well.  

3. All tubulars and cement shall meet or exceed API 
standards. Cementing jobs shall be designed so that cement 
composition, placement techniques, and waiting times 
ensure that the cement placed behind the bottom 500 feet of 
casing attains a minimum compressive strength of 500 psi 
before drilling out of the casing or before commencing 
completion operations. 

4. Centralizers 
a. Surface casing shall be centralized by means of 

placing centralizers in the following manner: 
 i. a centralizer shall be placed on every third joint 
from the shoe to surface, with two centralizers being placed 
on each of the lowermost three joints of casing; 
 ii. if conductor pipe is set, three centralizers shall 
be equally spaced on surface casing to fall within the 
conductor pipe. 

b. Intermediate and production casing, and drilling 
and production liners shall be centralized by means of a 
centralizer placed every third joint from the shoe to top of 
cement. Additionally, two centralizers shall be placed on 
each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 

c. All centralizers shall meet API standards. 
5. A copy of the documentation furnished by the 

manufacturer, if new, or supplier, if reconditioned, which 
certifies tubular condition, shall be provided with the Well 
History and Work Resume Report (Form WH-1). 

B. Conductor Pipe. A conductor pipe is that pipe 
ordinarily used for the purpose of supporting unconsolidated 
surface deposits. A conductor pipe shall be used during the 
drilling of any oil and gas well and shall be set at depth that 
allows use of a diverter system. 

C. Surface Casing 
1. Where no danger of pollution of the USDW exists, 

the minimum amount of surface of or first-intermediate 
casing to be set shall be determined from Table 1 hereof, 
except that in no case shall less surface casing be set than an 
amount needed to protect the USDW unless an alternative 
method of USDW protection is approved by the district 
manager. 

 

Table 1 
Total Depth of 

Contact 
Casing 

Required 
Surface Casing Test 

Pressure  
(lbs. per sq. in.) 

 0-2500  100  300 
2500-3000  150  600 
3000-4000  300  600 
4000-5000  400  600 
5000-6000  500  750 
6000-7000  800 1000 
7000-8000 1000 1000 
8000-9000 1400 1000 

 9000-Deeper 1800 1000 

 
a. In known low-pressure areas, exceptions to the 

above may be granted by the commissioner or his agent. if, 
however, in the opinion of the commissioner, or his agent, 
the above regulations shall be found inadequate, and 
additional or lesser amount of surface casing and/or test 
pressure shall be required for the purpose of safety and the 
protection of the USDW. 

2. Surface casing shall be cemented with a sufficient 
volume of cement to insure cement returns to the surface. 

3. Surface casing shall be tested before drilling the 
plug by applying a minimum pump pressure as set forth in 
Table 1 after at least 200 feet of the mud-laden fluid has 
been displaced with water at the top of the column. If at the 
end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge shows a drop of 10 
percent of test pressure as outlined in Table 1, the operator 
shall be required to take such corrective measures as will 
insure that such surface casing will hold said pressure for 30 
minutes without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test 
pressure. The provisions of Paragraph E.7, below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the surface casing. 

4. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure before initiating test or drilling plug. 
Under pressure is complied with if one float valve is used or 
if pressure is held otherwise. 

D. Intermediate Casing/Drilling Liner 
1. Intermediate casing is that casing used as protection 

against caving of heaving formations or when other means 
are not adequate for the purpose of segregating upper oil, gas 
or water-bearing strata. Intermediate casing/drilling liner 
shall be set when required by abnormal pressure or other 
well conditions. 

2. If an intermediate casing string is deemed necessary 
by the district manager for the prevention of underground 
waste, such regulations pertaining to a minimum setting 
depth, quality of casing, and cementing and testing of sand, 
shall be determined by the Office of Conservation after due 
hearing. The provisions of Paragraph E.7 below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the intermediate casing. 

3. Intermediate casing/drilling liner shall be at 
minimum, cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet 
above all known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure 
isolation and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations 
are isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as an
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intermediate string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid 
entry test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal 
between the liner top and next larger casing string has been 
achieved, and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet 
above the previous casing shoe. The drilling liner (and liner-
lap) shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the 
anticipated pressure to which the liner will be subjected to 
during the formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or 
subsequent liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance 
with Subsection G below. 

4. Before drilling the plug in the intermediate string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 2 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 2. Intermediate Casing and Liner 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000' 800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 

9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that casing is so set and cemented that it will 
hold said pressure for 30 minutes without a drop of more 
than 10 percent of the test pressure on the gauge. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test. Under pressure is complied 
with if one or more float valves are employed and are shown 
to be holding the cement in place, or when other means of 
holding pressure is used. When an operator elects to 
perforate and squeeze or to cement around the shoe, he may 
proceed with such work after 12 hours have elapsed after 
placing the first cement. 

6. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the drilling of the well until a satisfactory test 
has been obtained. 

E. Producing String 
1. Producing string, production casing or production 

liner is that casing used for the purpose of segregating the 
horizon from which production is obtained and affording a 
means of communication between such horizons and the 
surface. 

2. The producing string of casing shall consist of new 
or reconditioned casing, tested at mill test pressure or as 
otherwise designated by the Office of Conservation. 

3. Cement shall be by the pump-and-plug method, or 
another method approved by the Office of Conservation. 
Production casing/production liner shall be at minimum, 
cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet above all 
known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure isolation 
and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations are 
isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as a 
producing string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid entry 

test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal between 
the liner top and next larger casing string has been achieved, 
and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet above the 
previous casing shoe. The production liner (and liner-lap) 
shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the anticipated 
pressure to which the liner will be subjected to during the 
formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or subsequent 
liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance with 
Subsection G below. 

4. The amount of cement to be left remaining in the 
casing, until the requirements of Paragraph 5 below have 
been met, shall be not less than 20 feet. This shall be 
accomplished through the use of a float-collar, or other 
approved or practicable means, unless a full-hole cementer, 
or its equivalent, is used. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test in the producing or oil string. 
Under pressure is complied with if one or more float valves 
are employed and are shown to be holding the cement in 
place, or when other means of holding pressure is used. 
When an operator elects to perforate and squeeze or to 
cement around the shoe, he may proceed with such work 
after 12 hours have elapsed after placing the first cement. 

6. Before drilling the plug in the producing string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 3 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 3. Producing String 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000'  800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 

 9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that the producing string of casing is so set and 
cemented that it will hold said pressure for 30 minutes 
without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test pressure 
on the gauge. 

7. If the commissioner's agent is not present at the 
time designated by the operator for inspection of the casing 
tests of the producing string, the operator shall have such 
tests witnessed, preferably by an offset operator. An affidavit 
of test, on the form prescribed by the district office, signed 
by the operator and witness, shall be furnished to the district 
office showing that the test conformed satisfactorily to the 
above mentioned regulations before proceeding with the 
completion. If test is satisfactory, normal operations may be 
resumed immediately. 

8. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the completion of the well until a satisfactory 
test has been obtained. 

F. Cement Evaluation 
1. Cement evaluation tests (cement bond or 

temperature survey) shall be conducted for all casing and 
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liners installed below surface casing to assure compliance 
with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3. 

2. Remedial cementing operations that are required to 
achieve compliance with LAC 43:XIX.205.D.3 and E.3 shall 
be conducted following receipt of an approved work permit 
from the district manager for the proposed operations. 

3. Cementing and wireline records demonstrating the 
presence of the required cement tops shall be retained by the 
operator for a period of two years.  

G. Leak-Off Tests 
1. A pressure integrity test must be conducted below 

the surface casing or liner and all intermediate casings or 
liners. The district manager may require a pressure-integrity 
test at the conductor casing shoe if warranted by local 
geologic conditions or the planned casing setting depth. 
Each pressure integrity test must be conducted after drilling 
at least 10 feet but no more than 50 feet of new hole below 
the casing shoe and must be tested to either the formation 
leak-off pressure or to the anticipated equivalent drilling 
fluid weight at the setting depth of the next casing string. 

a. The pressure integrity test and related hole-
behavior observations, such as pore-pressure test results, 
gas-cut drilling fluid, and well kicks must be used to adjust 
the drilling fluid program and the setting depth of the next 
casing string. All test results must be recorded and hole-
behavior observations made during the course of drilling 
related to formation integrity and pore pressure in the 
driller's report. 

b. While drilling, a safe drilling margin must be 
maintained. When this safe margin cannot be maintained, 
drilling operations must be suspended until the situation is 
remedied. 

H. Prolonged Drilling Operations 
1. If wellbore operations continue for more than 30 

days within a casing string run to the surface: 
a. drilling operations must be stopped as soon as 

practicable, and the effects of the prolonged operations on 
continued drilling operations and the life of the well 
evaluated. At a minimum, the operator shall: 
 i. caliper or pressure test the casing; and 
 ii. report evaluation results to the district manager 
and obtain approval of those results before resuming 
operations. 

b. If casing integrity as determined by the 
evaluation has deteriorated to a level below minimum safety 
factors, the casing must be repaired or another casing string 
run. Approval from the district manager shall be obtained 
prior to any casing repair activity.  

I. Tubing and Completion 
1. Well-completion operations means the work 

conducted to establish the production of a well after the 
production-casing string has been set, cemented, and 
pressure-tested. 

2. Prior to engaging in well-completion operations, 
crew members shall be instructed in the safety requirements 
of the operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for review 
by the Office of Conservation. 

3. When well-completion operations are conducted on 
a platform where there are other hydrocarbon-producing 

wells or other hydrocarbon flow, an emergency shutdown 
system (ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed 
near the driller's console or well-servicing unit operator's 
work station. 

4. No tubing string shall be placed in service or 
continue to be used unless such tubing string has the 
necessary strength and pressure integrity and is otherwise 
suitable for its intended use. 

5. A valve, or its equivalent, tested to a pressure of not 
less than the calculated bottomhole pressure of the well, 
shall be installed below any and all tubing outlet 
connections. 

6. When a well develops a casing pressure, upon 
completion, equivalent to more than three-quarters of the 
internal pressure that will develop the minimum yield point 
of the casing, such well shall be required by the district 
manager to be killed, and a tubing packer to be set so as to 
keep such excessive pressure off of the casing. 

7. Wellhead Connections. Wellhead connections shall 
be tested prior to installation at a pressure indicated by the 
District Manager in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Whenever such tests are made 
in the field, they shall be witnessed by an agent of the Office 
of Conservation. Tubing and tubingheads shall be free from 
obstructions in wells used for bottomhole pressure test 
purposes. 

8. When the tree is installed, the wellhead shall be 
equipped so that all annuli can be monitored for sustained 
pressure. If sustained casing pressure is observed on a well, 
the operator shall immediately notify the district manager. 

9. Wellhead, tree, and related equipment shall have a 
pressure rating greater than the shut-in tubing pressure and 
shall be designed, installed, used, maintained, and tested so 
as to achieve and maintain pressure control. New wells 
completed as flowing or gas-lift wells shall be equipped with 
a minimum of one master valve and one surface safety 
valve, installed above the master valve, in the vertical run of 
the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§207. Diverter Systems and Blowout Preventers 

A. Diverter System. A diverter system shall be required 
when drilling surface hole in areas where drilling hazards are 
known or anticipated to exist. The district manager may, at 
his discretion, require the use of a diverter system on any 
well. In cases where it is required, a diverter system 
consisting of a diverter sealing element, diverter lines, and 
control systems must be designed, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested to ensure proper diversion of gases, 
water, drilling fluids, and other materials away from 
facilities and personnel. The diverter system shall be 
designed to incorporate the following elements and 
characteristics: 

1. dual diverter lines arranged to provide for 
maximum diversion capability; 

2. at least two diverter control stations. One station 
shall be on the drilling floor. The other station shall be in a 
readily accessible location away from the drilling floor; 

3. remote-controlled valves in the diverter lines. All 
valves in the diverter system shall be full-opening. 
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Installation of manual or butterfly valves in any part of the 
diverter system is prohibited; 

4. minimize the number of turns in the diverter lines, 
maximize the radius of curvature of turns, and minimize or 
eliminate all right angles and sharp turns; 

5. anchor and support systems to prevent whipping 
and vibration; 

6. rigid piping for diverter lines. The use of flexible 
hoses with integral end couplings in lieu of rigid piping for 
diverter lines shall be approved by the district manager. 

B. Diverter Testing Requirements 
1. When the diverter system is installed, the diverter 

components including the sealing element, diverter valves, 
control systems, stations and vent lines shall be function and 
pressure tested. 

2. For drilling operations with a surface wellhead 
configuration, the system shall be function tested at least 
once every 24-hour period after the initial test. 

3. After nippling-up on conductor casing, the diverter 
sealing element and diverter valves are to be pressure tested 
to a minimum of 200 psig. Subsequent pressure tests are to 
be conducted within seven days after the previous test. 

4. Function tests and pressure tests shall be alternated 
between control stations. 

5. Recordkeeping Requirements 
a. Pressure and function tests are to be recorded in 

the driller’s report and certified (signed and dated) by the 
operator’s representative.  

b. The control station used during a function or 
pressure test is to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

c. Problems or irregularities during the tests are to 
be recorded along with actions taken to remedy same in the 
driller’s report. 

d. All reports pertaining to diverter function and/or 
pressure tests are to be retained for inspection at the wellsite 
for the duration of drilling operations. 

C. BOP Systems. The operator shall specify and insure 
that contractors design, install, use, maintain and test the 
BOP system to ensure well control during drilling, workover 
and all other appropriate operations. The surface BOP stack 
shall be installed before drilling below surface casing.  

1. BOP system components for drilling activity 
located over a body of water shall be designed and utilized, 
as necessary, to control the well under all potential 
conditions that might occur during the operations being 
conducted and at minimum, shall include the following 
components: 

a. annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. two sets of hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

2. Drilling activity with a tapered drill string shall 
require the installation of two or more sets of conventional 
or variable-bore pipe rams in the BOP stack to provide, at 
minimum, two sets of rams capable of sealing around the 
larger-size drill string and one set of pipe rams capable of 
sealing around the smaller-size drill string. 

3. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

4. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
must be flanged, including the connections between the well 

control stack and the first full-opening valve on the choke 
line and the kill line.  

5. The Commissioner of Conservation, following a 
public hearing, may grant exceptions to the requirements of 
LAC 43:XIX.207.C-J.  

D. BOP Working Pressure. The working pressure rating 
of any BOP component, excluding annular-type preventers, 
shall exceed the maximum anticipated surface pressure 
(MASP) to which it may be subjected. 

E. BOP Auxiliary Equipment. All BOP systems shall be 
equipped and provided with the following: 

1. a hydraulically actuated accumulator system which 
shall provide 1.5 times volume of fluid capacity to close and 
hold closed all BOP components, with a minimum pressure 
of 200 psig above the pre-charge pressure without assistance 
from a charging system; 

2. a backup to the primary accumulator-charging 
system, supplied by a power source independent from the 
power source to the primary, which shall be sufficient to 
close all BOP components and hold them closed; 

3. accumulator regulators supplied by rig air without a 
secondary source of pneumatic supply shall be equipped 
with manual overrides or other devices to ensure capability 
of hydraulic operation if the rig air is lost; 

4. at least one operable remote BOP control station in 
addition to the one on the drilling floor. This control station 
shall be in a readily accessible location away from the 
drilling floor. If a BOP control station does not perform 
properly, operations shall be suspended until that station is 
operable; 

5. a drilling spool with side outlets, if side outlets are 
not provided in the body of the BOP stack, to provide for 
separate kill and choke lines; 

6. a kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. 
The choke line shall be installed above the bottom ram. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore; 

7. a valve installed below the swivel (upper kelly 
cock), essentially full-opening, and a similar valve installed 
at the bottom of the kelly (lower kelly cock). An operator 
must be able to strip the lower kelly cock through the BOP 
stack. A wrench to fit each valve shall be stored in a location 
readily accessible to the drilling crew. If drilling with a mud 
motor and utilizing drill pipe in lieu of a kelly, you must 
install one kelly valve above, and one strippable kelly valve 
below the joint of pipe used in place of a kelly. On a top-
drive system equipped with a remote-controlled valve, you 
must install a strippable kelly-type valve below the remote-
controlled valve; 

8. an essentially full-opening drill-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
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times while drilling operations are being conducted. This 
valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the drill string. A wrench to fit the 
drill-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the drilling crew; 

9. a safety valve shall be available on the rig floor 
assembled with the proper connection to fit the casing string 
being run in the hole; 

10. locking devices installed on the ram-type 
preventers. 

F. BOP Maintenance and Testing Requirements 
1. The BOP system shall be visually inspected on a 

daily basis. 
2. Pressure tests (low and high pressure) of the BOP 

system are to be conducted at the following times and 
intervals: 

a. during a shop test prior to transport of the BOPs 
to the drilling location. Shop tests are not required for 
equipment that is transported directly from one well location 
to another; 

b. immediately following installation of the BOPs; 
c. within 14 days of the previous BOP pressure test, 

alternating between control stations and at a staggered 
interval to allow each crew to operate the equipment. If 
either control system is not functional, further operations 
shall be suspended until the nonfunctional, system is 
operable. Exceptions may be granted by the district manager 
in cases where a trip is scheduled to occur within 2 days 
after the 14-day testing deadline; 

d. before drilling out each string of casing or liner 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling out 
each casing string or liner); 

e. Not more than 48 hours before a well is drilled to 
a depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling to a 
depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone); 

f. when the BOP tests are postponed due to well 
control problem(s), the BOP test is to be performed on the 
first trip out of the hole, and reasons for postponing the 
testing are to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

3. Low pressure tests (200-300 psig) of the BOP 
system (choke manifold, kelly valves, drill-string safety 
valves, etc.) are to be performed at the times and intervals 
specified in LAC 43:XIX.207.F.2. in accordance with the 
following provisions.  

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Variable bore pipe rams are to be tested against 
the largest and smallest sizes of pipe in use, excluding drill 
collars and bottom hole assembly. 

c. Bonnet seals are to be tested before running the 
casing when casing rams are installed in the BOP stack. 

4. High pressure tests of the BOP system are to be 
performed at the times and intervals specified in LAC 
43:XIX.207.F.2 in accordance with the following provisions. 

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Ram-type BOP’s, choke manifolds, and 
associated equipment are to be tested to the rated working 

pressure of the equipment or 500 psi greater than the 
calculated MASP for the applicable section of the hole. 

c. Annular-type BOPs are to be tested to 70 percent 
of the rated working pressure of the equipment. 

5. The annular and ram-type BOPs with the exception 
of the blind-shear rams are to be function tested every seven 
days between pressure tests. All BOP test records should be 
certified (signed and dated) by the operator’s representative. 

a. Blind-shear rams are to be tested at all casing 
points and at an interval not to exceed 30 days.  

6. If the BOP equipment does not hold the required 
pressure during a test, the problem must be remedied and a 
retest of the affected component(s) performed. Additional 
BOP testing requirements: 

a. use water to test the surface BOP system; 
b. if a control station is not functional operations 

shall be suspended until that station is operable; 
c. test affected BOP components following the 

disconnection or repair of any well-pressure containment 
seal in the wellhead or BOP stack assembly. 

G. BOP Record Keeping. The time, date and results of 
pressure tests, function tests, and inspections of the BOP 
system are to be recorded in the driller’s report. All pressure 
tests shall be recorded on an analog chart or digital recorder. 
All documents are to be retained for inspection at the 
wellsite for the duration of drilling operations and are to be 
retained in the operator’s files for a period of two years. 

H. BOP Well Control Drills. Weekly well control drills 
with each drilling crew are to be conducted during a period 
of activity that minimizes the risk to drilling operations. The 
drills must cover a range of drilling operations, including 
drilling with a diverter (if applicable), on-bottom drilling, 
and tripping. Each drill must be recorded in the driller’s 
report and is to include the time required to close the BOP 
system, as well as, the total time to complete the entire drill. 

I. Well Control Safety Training. In order to ensure that 
all drilling personnel understand and can properly perform 
their duties prior to drilling wells which are subject to the 
jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation, the operator shall 
require that contract drilling companies provide and/or 
implement the following: 

1. periodic training for drilling contractor employees 
which ensures that employees maintain an understanding of, 
and competency in, well control practices;  

2. procedures to verify adequate retention of the 
knowledge and skills that the contract drilling employees 
need to perform their assigned well control duties.  

J. Well Control Operations 
1. The operator must take necessary precautions to 

keep wells under control at all times and must: 
a. use the best available and safest drilling 

technology to monitor and evaluate well conditions and to 
minimize the potential for the well to flow or kick; 

b. have a person onsite during drilling operations 
who represents the operators interests and can fulfill the 
operators responsibilities; 

c. ensure that the tool pusher, operator's 
representative, or a member of the drilling crew maintains 
continuous surveillance on the rig floor from the beginning 
of drilling operations until the well is completed or 
abandoned, unless you have secured the well with blowout 
preventers (BOPs), bridge plugs, cement plugs, or packers; 
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d. use and maintain equipment and materials 
necessary to ensure the safety and protection of personnel, 
equipment, natural resources, and the environment. 

2. Whenever drilling operations are interrupted, a 
downhole safety device must be installed, such as a cement 
plug, bridge plug, or packer. The device must be installed at 
an appropriate depth within a properly cemented casing 
string or liner. 

a. Among the events that may cause interruption to 
drilling operations are: 
 i. evacuation of the drilling crew; 
 ii. inability to keep the drilling rig on location; or 
 iii. repair to major drilling or well-control 
equipment. 

3. If the diverter or BOP stack is nippled down while 
waiting on cement, it must be determined, before nippling 
down, when it will be safe to do so based on knowledge of 
formation conditions, cement composition, effects of 
nippling down, presence of potential drilling hazards, well 
conditions during drilling, cementing, and post cementing, 
as well as past experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§209. Casing-Heads 

A. All wells shall be equipped with casing-heads with a 
test pressure in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Casing-head body, as soon as 
installed shall be equipped with proper connections and 
valves accessible to the surface. Reconditioning shall be 
required on any well showing pressure on the casing-head, 
or leaking gas or oil between the oil string and next larger 
size casing string, when, in the opinion of the district 
managers, such pressure or leakage assume hazardous 
proportions or indicate the existence of underground waste. 
Mud-laden fluid may be pumped between any two strings of 
casing at the top of the hole, but no cement shall be used 
except by special permission of the commissioner or his 
agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§211. Oil and Gas Well-Workover Operations 

A. Definitions. When used in this section, the following 
terms shall have the meanings given below:  

Expected Surface Pressurethe highest pressure 
predicted to be exerted upon the surface of a well. In 
calculating expected surface pressure, reservoir pressure as 
well as applied surface pressure must be considered. 

Routine Operationsany of the following operations 
conducted on a well with the tree installed including cutting 
paraffin, removing and setting pump-through-type tubing 
plugs, gas-lift valves, and subsurface safety valves which 
can be removed by wireline operations, bailing sand, 
pressure surveys, swabbing, scale or corrosion treatment, 
caliper and gauge surveys, corrosion inhibitor treatment, 
removing or replacing subsurface pumps, through-tubing 
logging, wireline fishing, and setting and retrieving other 
subsurface flow-control devices. 

Workover Operationsthe work conducted on wells 
after the initial completion for the purpose of maintaining or 
restoring the productivity of a well. 

B. When well-workover operations are conducted on a 
well with the tree removed, an emergency shutdown system 
(ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed near the 
driller’s console or well-servicing unit operator’s work 
station, except when there is no other hydrocarbon-
producing well or other hydrocarbon flow on the platform. 

C. Prior to engaging in well-workover operations, crew 
members shall be instructed in the safety requirements of the 
operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for 
review. 

D. Well-Control Fluids, Equipment, and Operations. The 
following requirements apply during all well-workover 
operations with the tree removed: 

1. the minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is less than or equal to 5,000 psi 
shall include one annular-type well control component, one 
set of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear 
ram component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before; 

2. the minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is greater than 5,000 psi shall 
include one annular-type well control component, two sets 
of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear ram 
component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before; 

3. BOP auxillary equipment in accordance with the 
requirements of LAC 43:XIX.207.E; 

4. when coming out of the hole with drill pipe or a 
workover string, the annulus shall be filled with well-control 
fluid before the change in such fluid level decreases the 
hydrostatic pressure 75 pounds per square inch (psi) or every 
five stands of drill pipe or workover string, whichever gives 
a lower decrease in hydrostatic pressure. The number of 
stands of drill pipe or workover string and drill collars that 
may be pulled prior to filling the hole and the equivalent 
well-control fluid volume shall be calculated and posted near 
the operator's station. A mechanical, volumetric, or 
electronic device for measuring the amount of well-control 
fluid required to fill the hold shall be utilized; 

5. the following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

a. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
b. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device 

for determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; 
and 

c. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 
mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed 
through the wellhead inside of conventional tubing using 
small-diameter jointed pipe (usually 3/4 inch to 1 1/4 inch)
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as a work string, i.e., small-tubing operations, shall include 
two sets of pipe rams, and one set of blind rams. 

1. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

F. For coiled tubing operations with the production tree 
in place, you must meet the following minimum 
requirements for the BOP system. 

1. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are less than or equal to 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically operated pipe rams. 

2. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are greater than 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams. These 

rams should be located as close to the tree as practical. 
3. BOP system components must be in the following 

order from the top down for wells with returns taken through 
an outlet on the BOP stack: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. a flow tee or cross; 
h. hydraulically-operated pipe rams. Hydraulically-

operated blind-shear rams on wells with surface pressures 
less than or equal to 3,500 psi. As an option, the pipe rams 
can be placed below the blind-shear rams. The blind-shear 
rams should be placed as close to the tree as practical. 

4. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

5. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the hydraulic two-way slip rams and the 
hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

6. A dual check valve assembly must be attached to 
the coiled tubing connector at the downhole end of the 
coiled tubing string for all coiled tubing well-workover 
operations. To conduct operations without a downhole check 
valve, it must be approved by the District Manager. 

7. A kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 

between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore. 

8. The hydraulic-actuating system must provide 
sufficient accumulator capacity to close-open-close each 
component in the BOP stack. This cycle must be completed 
with at least 200 psi above the pre-charge pressure without 
assistance from a charging system. 

9. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
from the tree to the uppermost required ram must be flanged, 
including the connections between the well control stack and 
the first full-opening valve on the choke line and the kill 
line.  

10. The coiled tubing connector must be tested to a low 
pressure of 200 to 300 psi, followed by a high pressure test 
to the rated working pressure of the connector or the 
expected surface pressure, whichever is less. The dual check 
valves must be successfully pressure tested to the rated 
working pressure of the connector, the rated working 
pressure of the dual check valve, expected surface pressure, 
or the collapse pressure of the coiled tubing, whichever is 
less. 

G. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed by 
moving tubing or drill pipe in or out of a well under pressure 
utilizing equipment specifically designed for that purpose, 
i.e., snubbing operations, shall include the following: 

1. one set of pipe rams hydraulically operated; and 
2. two sets of stripper-type pipe rams hydraulically 

operated with spacer spool.  
H. Test pressures must be recorded during BOP and 

coiled tubing tests on a pressure chart, or with a digital 
recorder, unless otherwise approved by the District Manager. 
The test interval for each BOP system component must be 5 
minutes, except for coiled tubing operations, which must 
include a 10 minute high-pressure test for the coiled tubing 
string.  

I. Wireline Operations. The operator shall comply with 
the following requirements during routine, as defined in 
Subsection A of this section, and nonroutine wireline 
workover operations: 

1. Wireline operations shall be conducted so as to 
minimize leakage of well fluids. Any leakage that does occur 
shall be contained to prevent pollution. 

2. All wireline perforating operations and all other 
wireline operations where communication exists between the 
completed hydrocarbon-bearing zone(s) and the wellbore 
shall use a lubricator assembly containing at least one 
wireline valve. 

3. When the lubricator is initially installed on the well, 
it shall be successfully pressure tested to the expected shut-
in surface pressure. 

J. Following completion of the well-workover activity, 
all such records shall be retained by the operator for a period 
of two years. 
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K. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

L. The commissioner may grant an exception to any 
provisions of this section that require specific equipment 
upon proof of good cause. For consideration of an exception, 
the operator must show proof of the unavailability of 
properly sized equipment and demonstrate that anticipated 
surface pressures minimize the potential for a loss of well 
control during the proposed operations. All exception 
requests must be made in writing to the commissioner and 
include documentation of any available evidence supporting 
the request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§213. Diesel Engine Safety Requirements 

A. On or after January 1, 2011, each diesel engine with 
an air take device must be equipped to shut down the diesel 
engine in the event of a runaway. 

1. A diesel engine that is not continuously manned, 
must be equipped with an automatic shutdown device. 

2. A diesel engine that is continuously manned, may 
be equipped with either an automatic or remote manual air 
intake shutdown device. 

3. A diesel engine does not have to be equipped with 
an air intake device if it meets one of the following criteria: 

a. starts a larger engine; 
b. powers a firewater pump; 
c. powers an emergency generator; 
d. powers a bop accumulator system; 
e. provides air supply to divers or confined entry 

personnel; 
f. powers temporary equipment on a nonproducing 

platform; 
g. powers an escape capsule; or 
h. powers a portable single-cylinder rig washer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§215. Drilling Fluids 

A. The inspectors and engineers of the Office of 
Conservation shall have access to the mud records of any 
drilling well, except those records which pertain to special 
muds and special work with respect to patentable rights, and 
shall be allowed to conduct any essential test or tests on the 
mud used in the drilling of a well. When the conditions and 
tests indicate a need for a change in the mud or drilling fluid 
program in order to insure proper control of the well, the 
District Manager shall require the operator or company to 
use due diligence in correcting any objectionable conditions. 

B. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations shall 
be designed, utilized, maintained, and/or tested as necessary 
to control the well in foreseeable conditions and 
circumstances.  

C. The well shall be continuously monitored during all 
operations and shall not be left unattended at any time unless 
the well is shut in and secured. 

D. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

1. a fill-up line above the uppermost bop; 
2. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device for 

determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; and 
3. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 

mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E.Safe Practices 
1. Before starting out of the hole with drill pipe, the 

drilling fluid must be properly conditioned. A volume of 
drilling fluid equal to the annular volume must be circulated 
with the drill pipe just off-bottom. This practice may be 
omitted if documentation in the driller's report shows: 

a. no indication of formation fluid influx before 
starting to pull the drill pipe from the hole; 

b. the weight of returning drilling fluid is within 0.2 
pounds per gallon of the drilling fluid entering the hole.  

2. Record each time drilling fluid is circulated in the 
hole in the driller’s report. 

3. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe, the 
annulus must be filled with drilling fluid before the 
hydrostatic pressure decreases by 75 psi, or every five stands 
of drill pipe, whichever gives a lower decrease in hydrostatic 
pressure. The number of stands of drill pipe and drill collars 
that may be pulled must be calculated before the hole is 
filled. Both sets of numbers must be posted near the driller's 
station. A mechanical, volumetric, or electronic device must 
be used to measure the drilling fluid required to fill the hole. 

4. Controlled rates must be used to run and pull drill 
pipe and downhole tools so as not to swab or surge the well. 

5. When there is an indication of swabbing or influx 
of formation fluids, appropriate measures must be taken to 
control the well. Circulate and condition the well, on or near-
bottom, unless well or drilling-fluid conditions prevent 
running the drill pipe back to the bottom. 

6. The maximum pressures must be calculated and 
posted near the driller's console that you may safely contain 
under a shut-in BOP for each casing string. The pressures 
posted must consider the surface pressure at which the 
formation at the shoe would break down, the rated working 
pressure of the BOP stack, and 70 percent of casing burst (or 
casing test as approved by the district manager). As a 
minimum, you must post the following two pressures: 

a. the surface pressure at which the shoe would 
break down. This calculation must consider the current 
drilling fluid weight in the hole; and 

b. the lesser of the BOP's rated working pressure or 
70 percent of casing-burst pressure (or casing test otherwise 
approved by the district manager). 

7. An operable drilling fluid-gas separator and 
degasser must be installed before you begin drilling 
operations. This equipment must be maintained throughout 
the drilling of the well. 

8. The test fluids in the hole must be circulated or 
reverse circulated before pulling drill-stem test tools from 
the hole. If circulating out test fluids is not feasible, with an
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appropriate kill weight fluid test fluids may be bullhead out 
of the drill-stem test string and tools. 

9. When circulating, the drilling fluid must be tested 
at least once each work shift or more frequently if conditions 
warrant. The tests must conform to industry-accepted 
practices and include density, viscosity, and gel strength; 
hydrogen ion concentration; filtration; and any other tests 
the district manager requires for monitoring and maintaining 
drilling fluid quality, prevention of downhole equipment 
problems and for kick detection. The test results must be 
recorded in the drilling fluid report. 

F. Monitoring Drilling Fluids 
1. Once drilling fluid returns are established, the 

following drilling fluid-system monitoring equipment must 
be installed throughout subsequent drilling operations. This 
equipment must have the following indicators on the rig 
floor: 

a. pit level indicator to determine drilling fluid-pit 
volume gains and losses. This indicator must include both a 
visual and an audible warning device; 

b. volume measuring device to accurately determine 
drilling fluid volumes required to fill the hole on trips; 

c. return indicator devices that indicate the 
relationship between drilling fluid-return flow rate and pump 
discharge rate. This indicator must include both a visual and 
an audible warning device; and 

d. gas-detecting equipment to monitor the drilling 
fluid returns. The indicator may be located in the drilling 
fluid-logging compartment or on the rig floor. If the 
indicators are only in the logging compartment, you must 
continually man the equipment and have a means of 
immediate communication with the rig floor. If the 
indicators are on the rig floor only, an audible alarm must be 
installed. 

G. Drilling Fluid Quantities 
1. Quantities of drilling fluid and drilling fluid 

materials must be maintained and replenished at the drill site 
as necessary to ensure well control. These quantities must be 
determined based on known or anticipated drilling 
conditions, rig storage capacity, weather conditions, and 
estimated time for delivery. 

2. The daily inventories of drilling fluid and drilling 
fluid materials must be recorded, including weight materials 
and additives in the drilling fluid report. 

3. If there are not sufficient quantities of drilling fluid 
and drilling fluid material to maintain well control, the 
drilling operations must be suspended. 

H. Drilling Fluid-Handling Areas 
1. Drilling fluid-handling areas must be classified 

according to API RP 500, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class I, Division 1 and 
Division 2 or API RP 505, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class 1, Zone 0, Zone 1, 
and Zone 2. In areas where dangerous concentrations of 
combustible gas may accumulate. A ventilation system and 
gas monitors must be installed and maintained. Drilling 
fluid-handling areas must have the following safety 
equipment: 

a. a ventilation system capable of replacing the air 
once every 5 minutes or 1.0 cubic feet of air-volume flow 
per minute, per square foot of area, whichever is greater. In 
addition: 
 i. if natural means provide adequate ventilation, 
then a mechanical ventilation system is not necessary; 
 ii. if a mechanical system does not run 
continuously, then it must activate when gas detectors 
indicate the presence of 1 percent or more of combustible 
gas by volume; and 
 iii. if discharges from a mechanical ventilation 
system may be hazardous, the drilling fluid-handling area 
must be maintained at a negative pressure. The negative 
pressure area must be protected by using at least one of the 
following: a pressure-sensitive alarm, open-door alarms on 
each access to the area, automatic door-closing devices, air 
locks, or other devices approved by the District Manager;  

b. gas detectors and alarms except in open areas 
where adequate ventilation is provided by natural means. 
Gas detectors must be tested and recalibrated quarterly. No 
more than 90 days may elapse between tests; 

c. explosion-proof or pressurized electrical 
equipment to prevent the ignition of explosive gases. Where 
air is used for pressuring equipment, the air intake must be 
located outside of and as far as practicable from hazardous 
areas; and 

d. alarms that activate when the mechanical 
ventilation system fails. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 

Subpart 4.  Statewide Order No. 29-B-a 
Chapter 11. Required Use of Storm Chokes 
§1101. Scope 

A. Order establishing rules and regulations concerning 
the required use of storm chokes to prevent blowouts or 
uncontrolled flow in the case of damage to surface 
equipment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by the Department of Natural Resources, Office 
of Conservation, LR 20:1127 (October 1994), amended LR 41: 
§1103. Applicability 

A. All wells capable of flow with a surface pressure in 
excess of 100 pounds, falling within the following 
categories, shall be equipped with storm chokes.: 

1. any locations inaccessible during periods of storm 
and/or floods, including spillways; 

2. located in bodies of water being actively navigated; 
3. located in wildlife refuges and/or game preserves; 
4. located within 660 feet of railroads, ship channels, 

and other actively navigated bodies of water; 
5. located within 660 feet of state and federal 

highways in Southeast Louisiana, in that area East of a 
North-South line drawn through New Iberia and South of an 
East-West line through Opelousas; 
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6. located within 660 feet of state and federal 
highways in Northeast Louisiana, in that area bounded on 
the West by the Ouachita River, on the North by the 
Arkansas-Louisiana line, on the East by the Mississippi 
River, and on the South by the Black and Red Rivers; 

7. located within 660 feet of the following highways: 
a. U.S. Highway 71 between Alexandria and Krotz 

Springs; 
b. U.S. Highway 190 between Opelousas and Krotz 

Springs; 
c. U.S. Highway 90 between Lake Charles and the 

Sabine River; 
8. located within the corporate limits of any city, 

town, village, or other municipality. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

157 of the Legislature of 1940. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), amended LR 41: 
§1104. General Requirements for Storm Choke Use at 

Water Locations 
A. This Section only applies to oil and gas wells at water 

locations.  
B. A subsurface safety valve (SSSV) shall be designed, 

installed, used, maintained, and tested to ensure reliable 
operation. 

1. The device shall be installed at a depth of 100 feet 
or more below the seafloor within two days after production 
is established. 

2. Until a SSSV is installed, the well shall be attended 
in the immediate vicinity so that emergency actions may be 
taken while the well is open to flow. During testing and 
inspection procedures, the well shall not be left unattended 
while open to production unless a properly operating 
subsurface-safety device has been installed in the well. 

3. The well shall not be open to flow while the SSSV 
is removed, except when flowing of the well is necessary for 
a particular operation such as cutting paraffin, bailing sand, 
or similar operations. 

4. All SSSV's must be inspected, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested in accordance with American 
Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 14B, 
Recommended Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and 
Operation of Subsurface Safety Valve Systems. 

C. Temporary Removal for Routine Operations 
1. Each wireline or pumpdown-retrievable SSSV may 

be removed, without further authorization or notice, for a 
routine operation which does not require the approval of 
Form DM-4R. 

2. The well shall be identified by a sign on the 
wellhead stating that the SSSV has been removed. If the 
master valve is open, a trained person shall be in the 
immediate vicinity of the well to attend the well so that 
emergency actions may be taken, if necessary. 

3. A platform well shall be monitored, but a person 
need not remain in the well-bay area continuously if the 
master valve is closed. If the well is on a satellite structure, it 
must be attended or a pump-through plug installed in the 
tubing at least 100 feet below the mud line and the master 
valve closed, unless otherwise approved by the district 
manager. 

4. Each operator shall maintain records indicating the 
date a SSSV is removed, the reason for its removal, and the 
date it is reinstalled 

D. Emergency Action. In the event of an emergency, 
such as an impending storm, any well not equipped with a 
subsurface safety device and which is capable of natural 
flow shall have the device properly installed as soon as 
possible with due consideration being given to personnel 
safety. 

E. Design and Operation 
1. All SSSVs must be inspected, installed, maintained, 

and tested in accordance with API RP 14B, Recommended 
Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and Operation of 
Subsurface Safety Valve Systems.  

2. Testing Requirements. Each SSSV installed in a 
well shall be removed, inspected, and repaired or adjusted, 
as necessary, and reinstalled or replaced at intervals not 
exceeding 6 months for those valves not installed in a 
landing nipple and 12 months for those valves installed in a 
landing nipple. 

3. Records must be retained for a period of two years 
for each safety device installed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 41: 
§1105. Waivers 

A. Onshore Wells. Where the use of storm chokes would 
unduly interfere with normal operation of a well, the District 
Manager may, upon submission of pertinent data, in writing, 
waive the requirements of this order. 

B. Offshore Wells 
1. The district manager, upon submission of pertinent 

data, in writing explaining the efforts made to overcome the 
particular difficulties encountered, may waive the use of a 
subsurface safety valve under the following circumstances, 
and may, in his discretion, require in lieu thereof a surface 
safety valve: 

a. where sand is produced to such an extent or in 
such a manner as to tend to plug the tubing or make 
inoperative the subsurface safety valve; 

b. when the flowing pressure of the well is in excess 
of 100 psi but is inadequate to activate the subsurface safety 
valve; 

c. where flow rate fluctuations or water production 
difficulties are so severe that the subsurface safety valve 
would prevent the well from producing at its allowable rate; 

d. where mechanical well conditions do not permit 
the installation of a subsurface safety valve; 

e. in such other cases as the district manager may 
deem necessary to grant an exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 1, 1961, amended March 15, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 41: 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1501#007 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2015-16 Commercial King Mackerel Season 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953 which 
allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to employ emergency 
procedures to establish seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, 
R.S. 56:6(25)(a) and 56:326.3 which provide that the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set seasons for 
saltwater finfish; the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby sets the following season for the commercial harvest 
of king mackerel in Louisiana state waters: 

The commercial season for king mackerel in Louisiana 
state waters will open at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 2015 and remain 
open until the allotted portion of the commercial king 
mackerel quota for the western Gulf of Mexico has been 
harvested or projected to be harvested. 

The commission grants authority to the secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 
commercial king mackerel season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed by the National Marine Fisheries 
Service (NMFS) that the commercial king mackerel quota 
for the western Gulf of Mexico has been harvested or is 
projected to be harvested, such closure order shall close the 
season until 12:01 a.m., July 1, 2016, which is the date 

expected to be set for the re-opening of the 2016-17 
commercial king mackerel season in federal waters. 

The commission also authorizes the secretary to open 
additional commercial king mackerel seasons in Louisiana 
state waters if he is informed that NMFS has opened such 
additional seasons and to close such seasons when he is 
informed that the commercial king mackerel quota for the 
western Gulf of Mexico has been filled, or is projected to be 
filled, or as needed to effectively implement the provisions 
herein upon notification to the chairman of the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission. 

Effective with seasonal closures under this rule, no person 
shall commercially harvest, possess, purchase, exchange, 
barter, trade, sell, or attempt to purchase, exchange, barter, 
trade, or sell king mackerel, whether taken from within or 
without Louisiana territorial waters. Also effective with this 
closure, no person shall possess king mackerel in excess of a 
daily bag limit, which may only be in possession during the 
open recreational season by legally licensed recreational 
fishermen. Nothing shall prohibit the possession or sale of 
fish by a commercial dealer if legally taken prior to the 
closure providing that all commercial dealers possessing 
such fish taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6. 

 
Edwin “Pat” Manuel 
Chair 

1501#039 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board 

Seafood Promotion and Marketing (LAC 76:I.Chapter 5) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 
56:578.2(B) and R.S. 56:578.3, the Louisiana Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board has amended its rules for 
internal governance. The revisions are made to be consistent 
with applicable state law, including Act No. 228 of the 
Regular Session 2013, to update its procedures, and the 
names of standing committees. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part I.  Wildlife and Fisheries Commission  
and Agencies Thereunder 

Chapter 5. Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board 
§501. Bylaws 

A. The specific location of the principal office of the 
Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board as a part 
of the Office of the Secretary of the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism shall be in Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
as established by title 56 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:578.2 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015). 
§503. Meetings 

A. Regular Meetings. The regular meetings of the board 
shall be as set at any regular or special meeting by resolution 
adopted by a majority of the members present. 

B. Special Meetings 
1. Special meetings of the board may be called by the 

chairman, at his discretion, and shall be called by the 
chairman upon written request of any eight members. The 
notice of each special meeting shall state the purpose for 
which it is called, and only those matters shall be considered 
that have been included in the call, unless the board agrees 
to take up other matters by unanimous vote. 

2. The chairman shall cause written notices of the 
time and place of special meetings to be emailed, to each 
member, at the addresses as they appear in the records of the 
board, in accordance with the open meetings law.  

C. Quorum; Minutes 
1. The attendance of eight members at any regular 

meeting shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all 
business. 

2. Minutes will be available to board members not 
later than the next regular meeting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015). 
§505. Election of Officers and Appointments 

A. Officers shall be elected annually at the first regular 
meeting held in the third quarter of each state fiscal year, at 
which the members shall elect, from among their own 
number, a chairman, a vice-chairman, who shall also be the 
chairman-elect, and a secretary-treasurer to hold office for 
one year, or until their successors are elected. No member 
shall be elected as an officer until such member has served at 
least one year on the board. 

B. … 
C. No member elected chairman shall serve consecutive 

terms and no member may serve as chairman more than two 
terms. No chairman shall serve as vice-chairman in the term 
following his term as chairman.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015). 
§507. Duties of the Chairman 

A. The powers and duties of the chairman shall be: 
1. to preside as chairman at al meetings of the board, 

with the right to vote on all motions; 
2. to see that the laws of the state, pertaining to the 

purposes and functions, of the board, the motions of the 
board and its policies are faithfully observed and executed; 

3. to call special meetings of the board, at his 
discretion, or upon the written request of eight members; 

4. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015). 
§509. Duties of the Vice-Chairman 

A. Whenever the chairman is absent from any regularly 
scheduled meeting, his duties shall be performed by the 
vice-chairman. Whenever the chairman is absent from a 
special meeting called by him, upon his own initiative, or 
upon written request of eight board members, his duties shall 
be performed by the vice-chairman. The vice-chairman may 
not assume the duties of the chairman for the purpose of 
calling a special meeting when the chairman is temporarily 
absent from the state, or when the chairman is temporarily 
incapacitated through illness, or otherwise, unless the 
chairman or eight members, direct the vice-chairman to 
assume the office of chairman for the purpose of calling such 
special meeting. 

B. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 
56:578.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:39 (January 2015). 
§511. Duties of Secretary-Treasurer 

A. To serve as chairman of Finance Committee. 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:126 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 
§513. Board Committees 

A. … 
B. The standing committees of the board are: 

1. executive, which shall consist of the elected officers 
of the board; 

2. finance; 
3. marketing; 
4. legislative; and 
5. education. 

C. The member appointed in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2(A)(2)(g) to serve as a marketing specialist shall 
chair the marketing committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 
§515. Order of Business 

A. The chairman of the board, in consultation with the 
executive director, shall prepare and submit to the board an 
agenda covering the items of business to be considered and 
acted upon at each meeting of the board. The agenda shall be 
submitted to the board seven days before a regular meeting. 
The board may consider such matters as may properly be 
brought before it.  

B. In accordance with R.S. 42:14(D), the board shall 
provide an opportunity for public comment at any point in 
the meeting prior to action on an agenda item upon which a 
vote is to be taken. Public comment is restricted to matters 
included on the agenda. Public comment is limited to three 
minutes for each speaker on each matter unless additional 
time is allowed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 
§519. Amendment of Bylaws 

A. Amendments to these bylaws may be adopted at any 
regular meeting of the board by a majority vote of the board 
members present at the meeting. However, no such alteration 
or amendment shall be considered unless: 

1. notice of the intention to amend the bylaws shall 
have been given in writing at a previous meeting of the 
board; and 

2. a draft of the proposed amendment shall have been 
sent to each member of the board at least 48 hours in 
advance of the meeting at which the action of such alteration 
or amendment is to be taken. 

B. In accordance with R.S. 56:578.2, the amendments 
adopted by the board shall be amended or promulgated by 
rule in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 
§520. Election 

A. The election of the chairman, vice-chairman, 
secretary-treasurer will be held at the first regular meeting 
held in the third quarter of each state fiscal year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:578.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 
§521. Disqualification 

A. The board, by a two-thirds vote of the members 
present, may remove a member for cause, including but not 
limited to abandonment of office, conviction of a felony, or a 
plea of nolo contendere thereto, malfeasance, or gross 
misconduct in office.  

B. A board member may be deemed to have abandoned 
his office upon failure to attend any three consecutive board 
meetings or any three meetings in a calendar year, unless the 
absence was excused by the chairman in response to the 
member’s request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 
56:578.2 and R.S. 56:578.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Board of Seafood Promotion and 
Marketing, LR 11:127 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Seafood 
Promotion and Marketing Board, LR 41:40 (January 2015). 

 
Karen Profita 
Executive Director 

1501#008 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 134—Tuition Donation Rebate Program  
(LAC 28:CLV.103, 303, 901, and 1303) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has adopted revisions to Bulletin 
133―Scholarship Programs: §103, Definitions; §303,



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 41

Awarding of Scholarships; §901, General Audits and 
Financial Reviews; and §1303, Annual Report on Program 
Implementation. The revisions effectuate the provisions of 
Act 424 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session regarding 
the definition of an eligible student, portability of 
scholarships, audit requirements, and reporting student 
testing results. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLV.  Bulletin 134—Tuition Donation Rebate 
Program 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

A. - A.2. … 
* * * 

Qualified Studenta child who is a member of a 
family that resides in Louisiana with a total household 
income that does not exceed an amount equal to 250 percent 
of the federal poverty level based on the federal poverty 
guidelines established by the federal Office of Management 
and Budget and is a student who: 
 i. is entering kindergarten for the first time; 
 ii. was enrolled in a public school in Louisiana on 
October 1 and February of the most recent school year; or 
 iii. received a scholarship from a school tuition 
organization or the Student Scholarships for Educational 
Excellence Program for the previous school year. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6301. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 39:1024 (April 2013), 
amended LR 41:41 (January 2015). 
Chapter 3.  School Tuition Organizations 
§303. Awarding of Scholarships 

A. - B. … 
C. School tuition organizations shall award scholarships 

to qualified students on a first-come, first-serve basis, with 
priority given to students who received a scholarship from 
the school tuition organization or the Student Scholarships 
for Educational Excellence Program in the previous year.  

D. - F.4. … 
G. Scholarships granted to qualified students shall be 

portable during the school year and can be used at any 
qualifying school served by the school tuition organization 
that accepts a qualified student. If the parent of a qualified 
student who is receiving a scholarship desires the student to 
move to a new qualified school served by the school tuition 
organization during a school year, the scholarship amount 
may be prorated. 

H. - I.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6301. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education LR 39:1025 (April 2013), 
amended LR 40:499 (March 2014), LR 41:41 (January 2015). 
Chapter 9. Review of School Tuition Organizations 
§901. General Audits and Financial Reviews  

A. The LDE shall annually conduct an audit of a school 
tuition organization. The LDE shall bar a school tuition 
organization from participating in the rebate authorized 
under this Section if the school tuition organization 

intentionally or substantially fails to comply with the 
requirements of this Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6301. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 39:1027 (April 2013), 
amended LR 41:41 (January 2015). 
Chapter 13. Testing 
§1303. Annual Report on Program Implementation 

A. - B. … 
C. The LDE shall publically report state test scores for 

each student receiving a scholarship the entirety of the 
students participating in the tuition donation rebate program 
in accordance with the requirements of the federal FERPA 
statute (20 U.S.C. 1232g) and regulations (34 CFR 99.1 et 
seq.). However, the LDE shall not include the name or any 
other identifying information for individual students 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6301. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 39:1029 (April 2013), 
amended LR 41:41 (January 2015). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1501#019 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators (LAC 28:CXV.701) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has adopted revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §701, Maintenance 
and Use of System Records and Reports. The revision is 
required by the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. The Louisiana Department of Education is 
required to develop a system of unique student identification 
numbers for the purpose of maintaining accurate and current 
student information. Each local school board is required to 
assign the unique student identification numbers to all of the 
students enrolled in public elementary and secondary 
schools in their respective districts. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CVX.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 7. Records and Reports 
§701. Maintenance and Use of System Records and 

Reports 
A. - B.2. … 

3. By not later than May 1, 2015, the LDE shall 
develop a system of unique student identification numbers. 
By not later than June 1, 2015, each local public school 
board shall assign such a number to every student enrolled in 
a public elementary or secondary school. Student 
identification numbers shall not include or be based on 
Social Security numbers, and a student shall retain his 
student identification number for his tenure in Louisiana 
public elementary and secondary schools. 
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4. Information files and reports shall be stored with 
limited accessibility and shall be kept reasonably safe from 
damage and theft. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:93, R.S. 17:411, R.S. 17:415, and R.S. 17:3913 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1268 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37:1380, 1380 (May 2011), LR 40:764 (April 2014), 
LR 41:41 (January 2015). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1501#020  
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Pardons 

Committee on Parole 

Parole—Administration, Eligibility  
and Types of Parole, Meetings and Hearings  

(LAC 22:V.119 and 205 and XI.Chapters 1, 3, 5, and 8) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons, 
Committee on Parole has amended and promulgated its rules 
in LAC 22:XI.102, 117, 307, 501, 504, 507, 511, 514, and 
Chapter 8. This rulemaking contains technical revisions and 
also incorporates acts of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session. Act 52 requires that the committee notify the 
district attorney in the parish of conviction in advance of a 
scheduled parole hearing; Act 153 amends certain eligibility 
requirements for medical parole; Act 306 provides with 
respect to education, experience, and training requirements 
of committee members and provides with respect to majority 
vote in certain circumstances; Act 340 provides with respect 
to ameliorative penalty consideration. In addition, the Board 
of Pardons has amended its rules of LAC 22:V.119 and 205. 
These rule changes incorporate Act 6 of the 2014 Regular 
Legislative Session. Act 6 reduces the length of time before 
an individual serving a life sentence can re-apply for a 
clemency. In addition, the board has made technical changes 
to training requirements, authorizing the training curriculum 
to be developed by the board chairman in collaboration with 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part V.  Board of Pardons 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§119. Training 

A. Within 90 days of being appointed to the board, each 
member shall complete a comprehensive training course 
developed by the board chairman in collaboration with the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections. Each member 
shall complete a minimum of eight hours of training 
annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15.572.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2253 (August 2013), amended 

by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on 
Parole, LR 41:42 (January 2015). 
Chapter 2. Clemency 
§205. Application Filing Procedures 

A. - C. ... 
D. Reapplication upon Denial. Any applicant denied by 

the board shall be notified, in writing, of the reason(s) for the 
denial and thereafter may file a new application as indicated 
below. 

1. Applicants Sentenced to Life Imprisonment. Any 
applicant with a life sentence may reapply five years after 
the initial denial; and every five years thereafter. Applicant 
must also meet the criteria stated in §203.C.2.a-d. 

2. - 4. ... 
5. Denial/No Action Taken by Governor after 

Favorable Recommendation. The board shall notify an 
applicant after its receipt of notification from the governor 
that the board's favorable recommendation was denied or no 
action was taken. The applicant may submit a new 
application within one year from the date on the board's 
notification to the applicant of governor's denial or no 
action.  

E. Notice of Action Taken on Application. After review 
of application for clemency by the board, applicants shall be 
notified, in writing, of action taken by the board. Action can 
include granting a hearing before the board or denial of a 
hearing. If the applicant does not re-apply within the one 
year period, the application filing procedures in A-D.3 of 
this Section, shall apply 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:573.1, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2255 (August 2013), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on 
Parole, LR 41:42 (January 2015). 

Part XI.  Committee on Parole 
Chapter 1. Administration 
§102. Powers and Duties of the Committee 

A. The Louisiana Committee on Parole shall: 
1. make parole release and revocation decisions under 

R.S. 15:574.2; 
2. evaluate any application filed pursuant to R.S. 

15:308 and taking into consideration the risk of danger the 
applicant would pose to society if released from 
confinement, shall make recommendations to the Board of 
Pardons as to whether the applicant is eligible for a 
reduction in sentence pursuant to R.S. 15:308; 

3. adopt rules not inconsistent with law as the 
committee deems necessary and proper with respect to the 
eligibility of offenders for parole and the conditions imposed 
upon offenders who are released on parole; 

4. keep records of its official actions and make them 
accessible according to law; 

5. collect, develop, and maintain statistical 
information concerning its services and decisions; 

a. notify the district attorney of the parish where the 
conviction occurred; the notification shall be in writing and 
shall be issued at least 30 days prior to the hearing date. The 
district attorney of the parish where the conviction occurred 
shall be allowed to review the record of the offender since 
incarceration, including but not limited to any educational or 
vocational training, rehabilitative program participation,
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disciplinary conduct and risk assessment score. The district 
attorney shall be allowed to present testimony to the 
committee and submit information relevant to the 
proceedings; 

6. when requested to do so, submit written notification 
of the offender's pending release, at least seven days prior to 
the offender's date of release, to the chief of police, sheriff, 
or district attorney of the parish where the offender will 
reside and where the conviction(s) occurred; 

7. submit an annual report on the committee's 
performance to the Secretary of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections on or before February 1 each year for 
the previous calendar year, to include statistical and other 
data with respect to the determination and work of the 
committee, relevant data of committee decisions, a summary 
of past practices and outcomes, plans for the upcoming year, 
research studies which the committee may make of 
sentencing, parole, or related functions, and may include 
recommendations for changes considered necessary to 
improve its effectiveness. 

B. - B.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2258 
(August 2013), amended LR 41:42 (January 2015). 
§103. Composition of the Committee 

A.1. - C. ... 
D. All members, except the ex-officio member, 

appointed after August 1, 2014 shall possess not less than a 
bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, 
and shall possess not less than five years actual experience 
in the field of corrections, law enforcement, sociology, law, 
education, social work, medicine, psychology, psychiatry, or 
a combination thereof. If a member does not have a 
bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, 
he shall have no less than seven years experience in a field 
listed in this Subsection. The provisions of this Subsection 
shall not apply to any person serving as a member of the 
board on August 1, 2012. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 2:113 (April 1976), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, 
LR 24:2292 (December 1998), amended by Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 36:2872 
(December 2010), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2259 (August 2013), LR 
41:43 (January 2015). 
§117. Training 

A. Within 90 days of being appointed to the committee, 
each member shall complete a comprehensive training 
course developed by the board chairman in collaboration 
with the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. Each 
member shall complete a minimum of eight hours of training 
annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 2:115 (April 1976), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, 
LR 24:2294 (December 1998), amended by the Office of the

Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2261 
(August 2013), LR 41:43 (January 2015). 
Chapter 3. Parole―Eligibility and Types 
§307. Medical Parole 

A. An offender determined by the secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections to be 
permanently disabled or terminally ill may be eligible for 
parole release consideration. 

1. Upon referral by the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, the committee may schedule the offender 
for a hearing for medical parole consideration. 

2.  Offenders who are serving a sentence for first 
degree murder, second degree murder, or who are awaiting 
execution are not eligible for medical parole consideration. 

B. Permanently Disabled Offenderany offender who is 
unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason 
of any medically determinable physical impairment which 
can be expected to result in death or which is or can be 
expected to be permanently irreversible. 

C. Terminally Ill Offenderany offender who, because 
of an existing medical condition, is irreversibly terminally 
ill. For the purposes of this section, "terminally ill" is 
defined as having a life expectancy of less than one year due 
to an underlying medical condition. 

D. Public hearings for medical parole consideration will 
be held at a location convenient to the committee and the 
offender. The committee may request that additional medical 
information be provided or that further medical 
examinations be conducted. The committee shall determine 
the risk to public safety and shall grant parole only after 
determining that the offender does not pose a threat to public 
safety. In the assessment of risk, emphasis shall be given to 
the offender's medical condition and how this relates to his 
overall risk to society. 

E. The authority to grant medical parole shall rest solely 
with the committee.  

1. The committee shall not grant medical parole 
unless advised by the secretary of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections or the secretary's designated 
healthcare authority that the offender is permanently 
disabled or terminally ill.  

2. The committee, if it grants medical parole, may 
establish any additional conditions of medical parole as it 
may deem necessary to monitor the offender's physical 
condition and to assure that the offender is not a danger to 
himself and society. 

F. Supervision of an offender released on medical parole 
shall consist of periodic medical evaluations at intervals to 
be determined by the committee at the time of release. 

1. An offender released on medical parole may have 
his parole revoked if his medical condition improves to such 
a degree that he is no longer eligible for medical parole. 

2. Medical parole may also be revoked for violation of 
any condition of parole as established by the committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2297 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2270 (August 2013), LR 
41:43 (January 2015). 
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Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearings of the Committee 
on Parole 

§501. Types of Meetings 
A. All meetings and hearings of the committee shall be 

open to the public, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 
42:1 et seq., (public policy for open meetings) and Robert's 
Rules of Order. For the purpose of convenience and in order 
to differentiate between the different types of forums for 
conducting business, the following designation or title has 
been given, depending upon the nature of the matters or 
actions to be considered. 

1. A business meeting is a meeting of the full 
committee to discuss all general business matters as set forth 
in §507. 

2. A public hearing is a meeting of randomly selected, 
three-member panels, as set forth in §511. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2298 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2262 (August 2013), LR 
41:44 (January 2015). 
§503. Parole Panels 

A - C. ... 
D. A member may request a change in the composition 

of a panel to which that member has been assigned. 
However, such requests shall be carefully considered and 
shall generally only be made in the case of illness or 
emergency.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2298 
(December 1998), amended by the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 36:2872 (December 
2010), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, 
Committee on Parole, LR 39:2262 (August 2013), LR 41:44 
(January 2015). 
§504. General Procedures 

A. Minutes. The committee's minutes of public hearings 
shall include the following information as applicable: 

1. name and Department of Corrections (DOC) 
number of the offender; 

2. name of counsel representing the offender (an 
offender docketed for a public hearing may be represented 
by counsel); 

3. the vote of each member; and 
4. the decision of the committee. 

B. Votes 
1. The vote of each panel member shall be recorded 

by name and date on the vote sheet. 
2. Only those members present shall vote; voting by 

proxy is prohibited. 
3. No vote shall be taken while the panel is in 

executive session. 
4. The panel shall not rescind the original vote 

without conducting a new hearing, except as provided in 
§505.L, §513.A.1-3, and §711. 

5. The original vote sheet shall remain in the inmate's 
DOC file and a copy shall be attached to the minutes and 
maintained in a separate locked file in the committee office. 

C. Accuracy of Vote. The chairperson of the panel shall 
ensure that support staff reviews case records subsequent to 
voting to assure the accuracy of all documents. 

D. Continuance/Recess. A majority vote is required to 
continue or recess a meeting or hearing. Generally, the 
matter will be rescheduled for the next month, but may be 
rescheduled for an earlier date if deemed appropriate by the 
panel (see §514, Voting/Votes Required). 

E. Executive Session. A panel may go into executive 
session to discuss each offender's case prior to a decision 
pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 42:6, 42:6.1 and 
15:574.12. No vote shall be taken while the panel is in 
executive session. 

F. Observance of Proceedings. The committee may 
extend invitations to individuals to observe committee 
proceedings.  

G. Testimony. The committee may direct questions to 
and/or request statements from anyone appearing before the 
committee. 

H. Children Under 12. It is generally inappropriate for 
children under the age of 12 years, except when the child is a 
victim and chooses to appear, to be present during any 
public meeting or hearing of the committee. 

I. Space and Security. The number of people supporting 
or opposing the granting of parole, including victims and/or 
family members of victims will be limited only by space and 
security considerations. 

J. Meeting/Hearing Schedule. The chairman shall be 
responsible for schedules of business meetings and public 
hearings. 

1. Such schedules may be changed, only upon prior 
notice, provided that such changes are made in a timely 
manner in order to notify all concerned. 

2. Such meetings may be rescheduled without notice 
due to inclement weather, or any other emergency or 
unforeseen situation. 

K. Upon notification by the secretary of the Department 
of Public Safety and Corrections that an offender has 
violated the terms of work release granted under §311 or has 
engaged in misconduct prior to the inmate's release, the 
committee may rescind its decision to grant parole. In such 
cases, the inmate shall promptly receive another parole 
hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:44 
(January 2015). 
§505. Duty Officer 

A. The chairman of the committee or his or her designee 
shall develop a duty calendar and shall designate one 
committee member as the daily duty officer. 

1. The duty officer shall be available and present to 
act on behalf of the committee concerning both routine 
office and administrative matters as authorized by these 
rules. 

2. If the duty officer must substitute for another 
member at a hearing or is absent for any other reason, he or 
she need not be replaced by another duty officer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:44 
(January 2015). 
§507. Business Meetings  

A. - B.4. ... 
C. Business meetings should be audio recorded and 

copies of the audio recording and/or written minutes shall be 
available upon request. 

D. At business meetings, detailed minutes indicating 
time of commencement, persons present (including visitors 
and witnesses), adoption of previous minutes, motions and 
seconds, and time of adjournment shall be recorded and 
maintained by the committee staff member so designated by 
the chairman. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2299 
(December 1998), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2263 (August 2013) 
amended LR 41:45 (January 2015). 
§511. Panel Action 

A. The chairman shall schedule public hearings. A copy 
of the schedule shall be available for public inspection at the 
committee office. 

B.1. - B.2.c. ... 
d. to evaluate and consider any application filed 

pursuant to R.S. 15:308 in accordance with rules 
promulgated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections and Chapter 8, "Ameliorative Penalty 
Consideration." 

C. - C.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and RS. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2299 
(December 1998), amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections 
Services, LR 36:2872 (December 2010), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2263 
(August 2013), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board of 
Pardons, LR 40:57 (January 2014), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:45 
(January 2015). 
§514. Voting/Votes Required 

A. - A.4. ... 
B. Majority Vote 

1. The committee may grant parole with two votes of 
a three-member panel, or, if the number exceeds a three-
member panel, a majority vote of those present if all of the 
following conditions are met. 

a. The offender has not been convicted of a crime 
of violence as defined in R.S. 14:2(B) or a sex offense as 
defined in R.S. 15:541, or convicted of an offense which 
would constitute a crime of violence as defined in R.S. 
14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541, 
regardless of the date of conviction. 

b. The offender has not committed any major 
disciplinary (schedule B) offenses in the 12 consecutive 
months prior to the parole hearing date. If the offender's 
period of incarceration is less than 12 months, the offender 
must not have committed any disciplinary offenses during 
his/her entire period of incarceration. 

c. The offender has completed the mandatory 
minimum of 100 hours of pre-release programming in 
accordance with R.S. 15:827.1, if such programming is 
available at the facility where the offender is incarcerated. 

d. The offender has completed substance abuse 
treatment as applicable, if such programming is available at 
the facility where the offender is incarcerated. 

e. The offender has obtained a HSE credential, 
unless the offender has previously obtained a high school 
diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being 
incapable of obtaining a HSE credential due to a learning 
disability. If the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a 
HSE credential, the offender must complete at least one of 
the following:  
 i. a literacy program; 
 ii. an adult basic education program; or  
 iii. a job skills training program. 

f. The offender has obtained a low-risk level 
designation determined by a validated risk assessment 
instrument approved by the secretary of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections. 

2. A majority vote is required to revoke parole. 
3. A majority vote is required to continue or recess a 

meeting or hearing. 
4. A majority vote is required to grant an offender's 

request for a rehearing. 
5. A majority vote is required for executive session. 
6. A majority vote is required to recommend to the 

Board of Pardons as to whether an applicant is eligible for a 
reduction in sentence pursuant to R.S. 15:308 and Chapter 8, 
"Ameliorative Penalty Consideration." 

C. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 39:2264 
(August 2013), amended LR 41:45 (January 2015). 
Chapter 8. Ameliorative Penalty Consideration 
§801. Application 

A. An offender may apply for ameliorative penalty 
consideration in as provided by R.S. 15:308(C) relative to 
ameliorative penalty provisions, in accordance with rules 
promulgated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:45 
(January 2015). 
§803. Committee Evaluation 

A. After a determination that an offender qualifies for 
consideration under R.S. 15:308(C) and rules set by the 
department, the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections shall forward all such applications to the 
Committee on Parole. The case shall be set for 
administrative review by a parole panel. 

B. The panel shall evaluate the record of any offender 
whose application is submitted by the department, taking 
into consideration the risk of danger the applicant would 
pose to society if released from confinement. Such 
evaluation may be conducted by record review, telephone or 
video conference, or other meeting technology at the 
discretion of the panel. 
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C. The criteria for such evaluation includes, but is not 
limited to the guidelines listed in Chapter 7, §701.C.1, 2, 4, 
and D.8. In addition, an offender shall be considered 
inappropriate for recommendation to the Board of Pardons 
for ameliorative penalty consideration for one or any 
combination of the following: 

1. poor conduct and/or disciplinary record, including 
habitual and compulsive violent behavior, consistent signs of 
bad work habits, lack of cooperation or good faith effort 
and/or other undesirable behavior; 

2. maximum custody status, except those offenders 
assigned to maximum custody based solely upon 
classification criteria other than disciplinary reasons; 

3. low level of program activity and/or completion 
when compared to program opportunity and availability; 

4. extensive habitual and or violent criminal history; 
5. extensive supervision revocation history. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:45 
(January 2015). 
§805. Parole Panel Decision/Recommendation 

A. All members of the panel will vote individually to 
grant or deny (with or without instructions) the offender's 
application. Any recommendation of the panel shall not be 
binding on the board. 

1. If the offender's application is granted, the 
application and packet shall be forwarded to the Board of 
Pardons with a recommendation for reduction in sentence 
pursuant to R.S. 15:308. 

B. The panel may also recommend new, additional, 
and/or require completion of programming, within the 
department, such as substance abuse treatment, educational 
or vocational training, etc. 

C. The committee shall notify each offender in writing of 
the panel's decision in his/her case with instructions, if 
applicable. A copy of all decisions shall be disseminated to 
the warden of the facility where the offender is housed, the 
offender's master prison record, and the offender's case 
record.  

D. In the event the offender is instructed to re-apply to 
the Committee on Parole, re-application frequency shall be a 
minimum of 12 months. 

E. The decision of the parole panel is final and shall not 
be appealed through the administrative remedy procedure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:46 
(January 2015). 
§807. Victim Notification 

A. The committee shall ensure victims registered with 
the Crime Victims Services Bureau of the department 
receive written notification of the date and time an offender 
is docketed for review by a parole panel. Such notice shall 
be made no less than 30 days prior to the scheduled docket 
date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on Parole, LR 41:46 
(January 2015). 

 
Sheryl M. Ranatza 
Board Chair 

1501#004  
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Technology Services 

Office of Technology Services Consolidation  
(LAC 4:XV.101, 301, 303, 501, 503, and 701) 

The Office of Technology Services, Division of 
Administration has repealed LAC, Title 4 Part XV 
Information Technology, Chapter 3, Section 303; and has 
amended Chapter 1, Section 101; Chapter 3, Section 301; 
Chapter 5, Sections 501 and 503; and Chapter 7, Section 
701. 

Act 712 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session created a 
consolidated Office of Technology Services (OTS) headed 
by the state chief information officer and granted the new 
office sole authority in establishing, defining, and 
coordinating all IT systems and services affecting the 
management and operations of the in-scope executive 
cabinet agencies of state government. The transfer of 
functions, positions, assets, and funds between and within 
departments to form OTS and its ancillary responsibilities to 
charge user agencies for all or part of the cost of its 
operation have also been authorized. In addition, OTS will 
have the sole responsibility for the procurement of IT 
systems and services for in-scope agencies. Act 712 became 
effective July 1, 2014. 

The fiscal impact in FY 2015 of the IT consolidation is 
projected to be a net savings in state general fund of 
$24,700,000. Savings will be realized through leveraging 
economies of scale in consolidated procurements, improved 
resource utilization, maximizing shared services, and 
efficiency gains in provision of IT support services. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part XV.  Information Technology 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. General 

A. Under the authority of the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with R.S. 
39:15.1-6 in Act 712 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session, the position of the state chief information officer 
(CIO) and the Office of Technology Services were 
established to manage and direct the following information 
technology initiatives: 

1. establishing and coordinating all information 
technology systems and information technology services 
affecting the management and operations of the executive 
branch of state government; 
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2. overseeing and implementing a state master 
information technology plan on an annual basis;  

3. establishing and directing the implementation of 
information technology standards, architecture, and 
guidelines; 

4. reviewing, coordinating, and standardizing 
information technology; 

5. implementing strategic information technology 
planning; 

6. assessing the performance of information 
technology systems and technology operations and 
personnel; 

7. overseeing and coordinating the centralization of 
the technology systems and data processing systems; 

8. overseeing all telecommunication systems; 
9. assuring compatibility and connectivity of 

Louisiana's information systems; 
10. facilitating and fostering innovative applications of 

emerging technologies; 
11. reviewing and overseeing information technology 

projects and systems for compliance with statewide 
strategies, policies, and standards; 

12. providing support and technical assistance to the 
Office of State Procurement, the Office of Facility Planning 
and Control, and the Office of Planning and Budget; 

13. overseeing and coordinating access to state 
information that is electronically available online from 
agency websites; 

14. facilitating a process among state agencies to 
identify services that are favorable for electronic delivery; 

15. providing direction to the Louisiana Geographic 
Information Systems Council and the Louisiana Geographic 
Information Center (LAGIC) for coordination of geographic 
data, geographic technology, and geographic standards of the 
state; 

16. identifying information technology applications 
that should be statewide in scope; 

17. reviewing and approving the receipt by executive 
agencies of information technology goods and services and 
telecommunication systems and services from non-
appropriated sources, including but not limited to grants, 
donations, and gifts; 

18. preparing annual reports and plans concerning the 
status and result of the state's specific information 
technology plans; 

19. facilitating and fostering the identification of the 
policy and planning data needs of the state; 

20. charging respective user agencies for the cost of 
information technology systems and information technology 
services provided by the office of technology services and 
may include all or part of the cost of the operation of the 
office; 

21. acting as the sole centralized customer for the 
acquisition, billing, and record keeping of information 
technology systems or information technology services 
provided to state agencies; 

22. developing coordinated information technology 
systems or information technology services within and 
among all state agencies and require, where appropriate, 
cooperative utilization of information technology; and 

23. reviewing, coordinating, approving, or 
disapproving requests by state agencies for the procurement 
of information technology systems or information 
technology services including information technology 
proposals, studies, and contracts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
712 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 28:1583 (July 2002), repromulgated LR 28:1954 
(September 2002), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Technology Services, LR 
41:46 (January 2015). 
Chapter 3. State Agencies Responsibilities 
§301. General 

A. All agencies under the authority of Act 712 must 
comply with the policies and guidelines promulgated by the 
Office of Technology Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
712 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 28:1583 (July 2002), repromulgated LR 28:1955 
(September 2002), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Technology Services, LR 
41:47 (January 2015). 
§303. Information Technology Coordination 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

712 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 28:1583 (July 2002), repromulgated LR 28:1955 
(September 2002), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, Office of Technology Services, LR 41:47 
(January 2015). 
Chapter 5. Policy and Guidelines 
§501. General 

A. It is the intent of the Office of Technology Services to 
develop formal IT policies, standards and guidelines relative 
to information technology activities including but not limited 
to the following: 

1. implementing IT standards for hardware, software, 
and consolidation of services; 

2. directing and managing IT planning, procurement, 
and budgeting; 

3. directing and managing centralization/consolidation 
of technology systems and services and provision of shared 
IT resources; 

4. assuring compatibility and connectivity of 
Louisiana's information systems; 

5. directing and managing IT projects and systems for 
compliance with statewide strategies, goals, and standards. 

B. The policies, standards and guidelines of the Office of 
Technology Services will be promulgated via the OTS 
website at http://doa.louisiana.gov/. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
712 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 28:1583 (July 2002), repromulgated LR 28:1955 
(September 2002), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Technology Services, LR 
41:47 (January 2015). 
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§503. Policy Distribution 
A. The official method of publishing/distributing OTS 

policies, standards and guidelines will be via the OTS 
website at: http://doa.louisiana.gov. 

B. Other electronic delivery systems will be utilized as 
appropriate to notify agencies of adopted policies and 
guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
712 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 28:1583 (July 2002), repromulgated LR 28:1955 
(September 2002, amended by the Office of the Governor, Division 
of Administration, Office of Technology Services, LR 41:48 
(January 2015). 
Chapter 7. Submitting and Receiving Electronic Bids 

for Public Works Contracts and for the 
Purchase of Materials and Supplies by 
Political Subdivisions 

§701. General Provisions 
A. Electronic bid is to be an alternative, rather than 

exclusive, method to a paper bid. 
B. In addition to including the information required for 

paper bidding, when accepting bids electronically, the 
advertisement must: 

1. specify any special condition or requirement for the 
submission; 

2. contain the electronic address of the public entity. 
C. Online service provider minimum requirements: 

1. compliance with applicable law and rules: 
a. Public Works contract law, R.S. 38:2212; 
b. materials and supplies contract law, R.S. 

38:2212.1; 
c. the Louisiana Uniform Electronic Transaction 

Act, R.S. 9:2601-2619, particularly R.S. 9:2619(A) which 
provides that the commissioner of administration shall 
encourage and promote consistency and interoperability with 
similar requirements adopted by other governmental 
agencies of this state, other states, federal government, and 
nongovernmental persons interacting with governmental 
agencies of this state [R.S. 9:2619(A)] while recognizing 
that, if appropriate, standards may specify differing levels of 
standards from which governmental agencies of this state 
may choose in implementing most appropriate standard for 
particular application. [R.S. 9:2619(B)]; 

d. Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 4, Part XV, 
Chapter 7, Implementation of Electronic Signatures in 
Global and National Commerce Act―P.L. 106-229; 

e. security standards promulgated by the Office of 
Technology Services of the state's Division of 
Administration; 

2. be accessible over the internet via a modem or a 
network connection; 

3. be available daily, 7 days a week, 24 hours daily, 
except for maintenance, and be reliable with better than 
99.95 percent uptime with backup; 

4. provide two-way service―publishes on the internet 
public works bid-related information from the political 
subdivision to the contracting community, and allows online, 
secure public works bid submission from the contracting 
community to the political subdivision; 

5. automatically send bid receipt to bidder whenever a 
bid is submitted to the provider, with the receipt digitally 

signed by the provider and using the same technology used 
by the bidder to sign the bid; 

6. have accurate retrieval or conversion of electronic 
forms of such information into a medium which permits 
inspection and copying; 

7. ensure that bid cannot be read by anyone until the 
public bid opening. When bid is submitted to the provider, 
bid must be encrypted before sending using the political 
subdivision's key. Encryption level must ensure security; 

8. ensure that if a bidder requests that an electronic 
bid be withdrawn before the bid deadline, it will not be 
passed on, or be accessible, to the political subdivision; 

9. ensure that only the last electronic bid submission 
from a person is kept and passed on, or made accessible, to 
the political subdivision; 

10. ensure that bid is not passed on, or accessible, to 
political subdivision until the public bid opening; 

11. enable electronic bid bond submission and 
verification with at least two participating surety agencies; 

12. ensure secure digital signature; 
13. uses public/private key pair technology for 

encrypting and digitally signing documents; 
14. provide telephone support desk, at a minimum, 

from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for 
legal holidays. Provides voice mail after business hours with 
messages being addressed the next business day. Email and 
fax support addresses are available 24 hours a day and be 
answered the next business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
831 of the 2003 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and 
Act 203 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Information 
Technology, LR 32:2052 (November 2006), amended by the Office 
of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Technology 
Services, LR 41:48 (January 2015). 

 
Richard Howe 
State Chief Information Officer 

1501#006 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Public Defender Board 

Performance Standards for Criminal Defense Representation 
in Indigent Capital Cases (LAC 22:XV.Chapter 19) 

The Public Defender Board, a state agency within the 
Office of the Governor, has adopted LAC 22:XV.Chapter 19, 
as authorized by R.S. 15:148. These rules are promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. The purpose of these 
rules is to establish policies and procedures to ensure that 
public defenders, assistant public defenders, and assigned 
counsel perform to a high standard of representation and to 
promote professionalism in the representation of indigent 
capital defendants.  

R.S. 15:148 directs the Louisiana Public Defender Board 
to adopt rules to create mandatory statewide public defender 
standards and guidelines that require public defender 
services to be provided in a manner that is uniformly fair and 
consistent throughout the state; and create separate 
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performance standards and guidelines for attorney 
performance in capital case representation, juvenile 
delinquency, appellate, and any other subspecialties of 
criminal defense practice as well as children in need of care 
cases determined to be feasible, practicable, and appropriate 
by the board. In compliance with the directives of R.S. 
15:148, the Public Defender Board has adopted these 
performance standards for attorneys representing indigent 
capital defendants. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE  

AND LAW ENFORCEMENT 
Part XV.  Public Defender Board 

Chapter 19. Performance Standards for Criminal 
Defense Representation in Indigent 
Capital Cases 

§1901. Purpose, Findings and Intentions 
A. The standards for attorneys representing indigent 

defendants in capital cases are intended to serve several 
purposes. First and foremost, the standards are intended to 
encourage public defenders, assistant public defenders, and 
assigned counsel to perform to a high standard of 
representation and to promote professionalism in the 
representation of indigent capital defendants. These 
standards apply to trial level, appellate, and post-conviction 
representation. It is the intention of these rules to adopt and 
apply the standards for capital defense set out by the 
American Bar Association’s Guidelines for the Appointment 
and Performance of Defense Counsel in Death Penalty 
Cases, its associated commentary, and the Supplementary 
Guidelines for the Mitigation Function of Defense Teams in 
Death Penalty Cases. 

B. The standards are also intended to alert defense 
counsel to courses of action that are necessary, advisable, or 
appropriate, and thereby to assist attorneys in deciding upon 
the particular actions that should be taken in each case to 
ensure that the capital client receives high quality legal 
representation. The standards are further intended to provide 
a measure by which the performance of individual attorneys 
and defender offices may be evaluated by case supervisors, 
responsible agencies and the state public defender and to 
assist in training and supervising attorneys. While the great 
majority of the requirements detailed in these standards 
reflect accepted minimum levels of practice in capital 
defense, some standards have been added to assist in the 
supervision, development and accountability of indigent 
capital defense service provision. 

C. The language of these standards is general, implying 
flexibility of action which is appropriate to the situation. Use 
of judgment in deciding upon a particular course of action is 
reflected by the phrases “should consider” and “where 
appropriate”. In those instances where a particular action is 
required in providing quality representation, the standards 
use the words “should” or “shall”. Even where the standards 
use the words “should” or “shall”, in certain situations the 
lawyers best informed professional judgment and discretion 
may indicate otherwise. 

D. There is a limitless variety of circumstances presented 
by indigent capital defense and this variation in combination 
with changes in law and procedure requires that attorneys 
approach each new case with a fresh outlook. Therefore, 
though the standards are intended to be comprehensive, they 

are not exhaustive. Depending upon the type of case and the 
particular jurisdiction, there may well be additional actions 
that an attorney should take or should consider taking in 
order to provide zealous and effective representation. 
Attorneys are expected to use their individual professional 
judgment in representing clients. If that judgment mandates 
a departure from these standards, the attorney should be 
aware of and be able to articulate the reasons that a departure 
from the standards is in the client’s best interests and 
consistent with high quality legal representation. 

E. Minimum standards that have been promulgated 
concerning representation of defendants in non-capital cases, 
and the level of adherence to such standards required for 
non-capital cases are not sufficient for death penalty cases. 
Counsel in death penalty cases are required to perform at the 
level of an attorney reasonably skilled in the specialized 
practice of capital representation, zealously committed to the 
capital case, who has adequate time and resources for 
preparation. These performance standards have been adapted 
from the State of Louisiana Performance Standards for 
Criminal Defense Representation in Indigent Criminal Cases 
in the Trial Court, adding capital specific issues and 
procedures where necessary. In light of the recognition that 
“death is different” and capital prosecutions necessitate 
heightened procedural safeguards, these standards should be 
interpreted in order to compel high quality legal 
representation. 

F. In accordance with R.S. 15:173 the exercise of the 
authority to promulgate standards is not intended to create 
any new right, right of action, or cause of action or eliminate 
any right, right of action, or cause of action existing under 
current law. Accordingly, these standards shall not be 
construed to provide any criminal defendant the basis of any 
claim that the attorney or attorneys appointed to represent 
him pursuant to the Louisiana Public Defender Act of 2007 
performed in an ineffective manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:49 (January 2015). 
§1903. General Standards for Capital Defense Counsel 

A. Obligations of Defense Counsel 
1. Since the death penalty differs from all other 

criminal penalties, defense counsel in a capital case should 
respond to this difference by making extraordinary efforts on 
behalf of the accused. 

2. The minimum standard in a capital case is high 
quality representation. To provide high quality 
representation counsel should zealously preserve, protect, 
and promote the client’s rights and interests, and be loyal to 
the client. Counsel should serve as the client’s counselor and 
advocate with courage and devotion, free from conflicts of 
interest and political or judicial interference. Zealous, high 
quality representation is to be provided in accordance with 
the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct. 

3. To ensure the preservation, protection and 
promotion of the client’s right and interests, counsel should: 

a. be proficient in the applicable substantive and 
procedural law; 

b. acquire and maintain appropriate experience, 
skills and training; 

c. devote adequate time and resources to the case; 
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d. engage in the preparation necessary for high 
quality representation; 

e. endeavor to establish and maintain a relationship 
of trust and open communication with the client; 

f. make accommodations where necessary due to a 
client’s special circumstances, such as incompetence, mental 
or physical disability/illness, language barriers, youth, 
cultural differences, and circumstances of incarceration. 

4. The primary and most fundamental obligation of a 
capital defense attorney to the administration of justice and 
as an officer of the court is to provide zealous, effective, 
high quality, ethical representation for his or her clients at all 
stages of the criminal process. 

5. If personal matters make it impossible for defense 
counsel to fulfill the duty of zealous, high quality 
representation, he or she has a duty to refrain from 
representing the client. 

6. Where counsel is unable to provide high quality 
representation in a particular case, counsel must promptly 
bring this deficiency to the attention of the capital case 
supervisor and the capital case coordinator or Responsible 
Agency. If the deficiency cannot be remedied, then counsel 
must bring the matter to the attention of the court and seek 
the relief appropriate to protect the interests of the client. 
Counsel may be unable to provide high quality 
representation due to a range of factors: lack of resources, 
insufficient time, excessive workload, poor health or other 
personal considerations, inadequate skill or experience etc. 

7. Counsel assigned in any case in which the death 
penalty is a possible punishment should, even if the 
prosecutor has not indicated that the death penalty will be 
sought, begin preparation for the case as one in which the 
death penalty will be sought while employing strategies to 
have the case designated as a non-capital one. Even if the 
case has not been filed as a capital case, if there exists a 
reasonable possibility to believe that the case could be 
amended to a capital charge, counsel should be guided by 
capital defense techniques and these standards. In 
considering whether there is any reason to believe that the 
case could be amended, counsel should have regard to the 
nature of the allegations, the practice of the local prosecuting 
agency, statements by law enforcement and prosecutors, 
media and public sentiment, and any political factors that 
may impact the charging decision. 

B. Training and Experience of Capital Defense Counsel 
1. In order to provide high quality legal 

representation, counsel should have a mastery of any 
substantive criminal law and laws of criminal procedure that 
may be relevant to counsel’s representation. Counsel should 
also be familiar with the prevailing customs or practices of 
the relevant court, and the policies and practices of the 
prosecuting agency.  

2. In providing representation at any stage in a capital 
case, counsel should be familiar with all applicable areas of 
law relevant to capital trials, appeals, and state and federal 
post-conviction relief. 

3. Prior to agreeing to undertake representation in a 
capital case, counsel should have sufficient experience or 
training to provide high quality representation. Counsel 
should not accept a capital case assignment unless he or she 
has been certified for the specific level of representation 

assigned, and has the necessary knowledge and skills to 
handle the particular case. 

4. If after being assigned a case counsel finds that the 
case involves particular issues or procedures in which 
counsel does not have the experience or training necessary to 
provide high quality legal representation, counsel should 
acquire the necessary knowledge or skills or request 
resources for another attorney to provide such services.  

5. In providing high quality representation, counsel 
should consult with and take advantage of the skills and 
experience of other members of the criminal defense 
community and certified capital defenders, in particular. 
Further, where considerations of timing, resources or the 
interests of the client make it appropriate, counsel should 
request assignment of an additional attorney(s). Similarly, 
where appropriate, counsel should request assignment of an 
additional attorney(s) with specialized experience or 
knowledge to assist directly in particular aspects of the 
representation. 

6. Capital defense counsel should complete a 
comprehensive training program in the defense of capital 
cases as required by the capital guidelines. Counsel should, 
on an ongoing basis, attend and successfully complete 
specialized training programs in the defense of capital cases. 
In addition to specific training, counsel should stay abreast 
of changes and developments in the law and other matters 
relevant to the defense of capital cases. 

7. As a component of acquiring and maintaining 
adequate training, counsel should consult with other 
attorneys to acquire knowledge and familiarity with all 
facets of criminal representation, including information 
about practices of judges, prosecutors, and other court 
personnel. More experienced counsel should offer to mentor 
less experienced attorneys.  

C. Resources and Caseload 
1. Counsel should not accept a capital case assignment 

unless he or she has available sufficient resources to offer 
high quality legal representation to the client in the particular 
matter, including adequate funding, investigative services, 
mitigation services, support staff, office space, equipment, 
and research tools. 

2. If after being assigned a case counsel discovers that 
he or she does not have available sufficient resources, then 
counsel should demand on behalf of the client all resources 
necessary to provide high quality legal representation. 
Counsel should seek necessary resources from all available 
sources, including litigating for those resources or for 
appropriate relief should the resources not be made 
available. Counsel should document in the file the resources 
he or she believes are needed and any attempts to obtain 
those resources. Counsel should create an adequate record in 
court to allow a full review of the denial of necessary 
resources or the failure to provide appropriate relief. 

3. Counsel should maintain compliance with all 
applicable caseload and workload standards. When counsel's 
workload is such that counsel is unable to provide each 
client with high quality legal representation in accordance 
with the capital guidelines and these performance standards, 
counsel shall inform the case supervisor. If counsel believes 
the case supervisor has inadequately resolved the issue, 
counsel should raise the question progressively with the
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district and the state public defender, as appropriate. Where 
counsel has exhausted all avenues for reasonable resolution 
and the excessive workload issue has not been resolved 
counsel should, after providing the state public defender 
with reasonable notice, move to withdraw from the case or 
cases in which capital defense services in compliance with 
the guidelines and these performance standards cannot be 
provided.  

4. Counsel should never give preference to retained 
clients over indigent clients, or suggest that retained clients 
should or would receive preference. 

5. Counsel representing capital clients should, due to 
the nature of capital cases and the necessity for time-
consuming research and preparation, give priority to death 
penalty cases over their other caseload. 

D. Professionalism 
1. Counsel has an obligation to keep and maintain a 

thorough, organized, and current file relating to the 
representation of each client. Counsel’s file relating to a 
representation includes both paper and electronic documents 
as well as physical objects, electronic data and audio-visual 
materials. Counsel’s file should be maintained in a fashion 
that will allow counsel to provide high quality representation 
to the client and allow successor counsel to clearly and 
accurately identify the work performed, the tactical 
decisions made, the materials obtained, the source from 
which materials and information were obtained, and the 
work product generated in the representation. Counsel 
should clearly document work performed, including analysis 
of file materials, in such a way that other team members and 
successor counsel may take advantage of the work 
performed and avoid unnecessary duplication of effort. 

2. Counsel should act with reasonable diligence and 
promptness in representing the client. Counsel should be 
prompt for all court appearances and appointments and, in 
the submission of all motions, briefs, and other papers. 
Counsel should ensure that all court filings are proofread and 
edited to protect the client’s rights from being forfeited due 
to error. Counsel should be present, alert, and focused on the 
client’s best interests during all critical stages of the 
proceedings.  

3. Counsel’s obligation to provide high quality 
representation to the client continues until counsel formally 
withdraws, or an order relieving counsel becomes final. 
Unless required to do so by law or the rules of professional 
conduct, counsel should not withdraw from a case until 
successor counsel has enrolled. Counsel who withdraws or is 
relieved should take all steps necessary to ensure that the 
client’s rights and interests are adequately protected during 
any transfer of responsibility in the case. Such steps should 
include ensuring compliance with any filing or other 
deadlines in the case, and ensuring the collection or 
preservation of any evidence that may cease to be available 
if investigation were delayed. 

4. All persons who are or have been members of the 
defense team have a continuing duty to safeguard the 
interests of the client, and should cooperate fully with 
successor counsel. This duty includes, but is not limited to: 

a. maintaining the records of the case in a manner 
that will inform successor counsel of all significant 
developments relevant to the representation and any 
litigation; 

b. promptly providing the client’s files, as well as 
information regarding all aspects of the representation, to 
successor counsel; 

c. sharing potential further areas of investigation 
and litigation with successor counsel; and 

d. cooperating with such professionally appropriate 
legal strategies as may be chosen by successor counsel. 

5. Where counsel enrolls in a case in which other 
counsel have previously provided representation, counsel 
should take all steps necessary to ensure the client’s rights 
and interests are fully protected during any transfer or 
reallocation of responsibility in the case. Counsel should 
seek to interview all persons who are or have been members 
of the defense team with an aim to: 

a. promptly obtaining the client’s files or a copy of 
the files, as well as information regarding all aspects of the 
representation; 

b. discovering potential further areas of 
investigation and litigation; and 

c. facilitating cooperation from current and former 
defense team members in order to coordinate professionally 
appropriate legal strategies. 

6. Current and former counsel should maintain the 
confidences of the client and assert all available privileges to 
protect the confidentiality of work product and 
communications with the client. Where disclosure of 
privileged or confidential information is strictly necessary in 
carrying out the representation, such disclosures should be 
limited to those necessary to advance the interests of the 
client and should be made in circumstances that limit the 
extent of any waiver of privilege or confidentiality. 

7. Where appropriate counsel may share information 
with counsel for a co-defendant, and work together with 
counsel for a co-defendant on investigatory, preparatory 
and/or strategic matters, but counsel’s decisions should 
always reflect the needs of counsel’s client with special 
consideration for client confidentiality. Counsel should never 
abdicate the client’s defense to a co-defendant’s counsel. 
Counsel should maintain full control of all decisions 
affecting the client. Counsel should consider whether it is 
appropriate to enter a formal joint defense agreement with 
one or more co-defendants. 

8. Counsel and defense team members should provide 
full and honest cooperation with successor counsel 
undertaking the investigation and preparation of a claim of 
ineffective assistance of counsel. In providing honest 
cooperation, counsel should be alert to and avoid any 
improper influence arising from a desire to assist the client 
or to protect him or herself. 

9. Where counsel is the subject of a claim of 
ineffective assistance of counsel, he or she should not 
disclose any confidential or privileged information without 
the client’s consent, unless and until a court formally 
determines that privilege has been waived and then only to 
the extent of any such waiver. The disclosure of confidential 
or privileged information in such circumstances should be 
limited to those matters necessary to respond to specific 
allegations by the client concerning the lawyer’s 
representation of the client. Nothing in this Standard shall 
diminish the responsibility of counsel to cooperate fully with 
the client and successor counsel, nor limit the ability of 
counsel to communicate confidential or privileged 
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information to the client or his legal representativeness 
within the protection of the lawyer-client relationship. 

10. While ensuring compliance with the Louisiana 
Rules of Professional Conduct in relation to extrajudicial 
statements, counsel should consider the potential benefits 
and harm of any publicity in deciding whether or not to 
make a public statement and the content of any such 
statement. When making written or oral statements in 
judicial proceedings, counsel should consider the potential 
benefits and harm likely to arise from the public 
dissemination of those statements. In responding to adverse 
publicity, counsel should consider the interests of the client 
and whether a statement is required to protect the client from 
the substantial undue prejudicial effect of recent publicity 
not initiated by the lawyer or the lawyer's client. 

11. At each stage and subject to the circumstances of 
each case, counsel should be mindful of the desirability of 
treating any victim or other person affected by the crime 
alleged against the client with respect, dignity, and 
compassion. Counsel should avoid disparaging the victim 
directly or indirectly, unless necessary and appropriate in the 
circumstances of the particular case. Counsel should 
undertake victim outreach through an appropriately qualified 
team member, or the use of an expert in defense initiated 
victim outreach. 

E. Conflicts of Interest 
1. Counsel should be alert to all potential and actual 

conflicts of interest that would impair counsel's ability to 
represent a client. Conflicts of interest experienced by one 
counsel are relevant to all counsel: the existence of a conflict 
free lawyer on the defense team does not ameliorate the 
potential harm caused by a conflict affecting another lawyer 
on the team. Counsel should have a procedure for 
identifying conflicts when receiving new assignments and 
reviewing existing cases for conflicts where there is a 
relevant change in circumstances. At a minimum, counsel 
should maintain a conflict index containing the names of 
current and former clients which should be checked against 
the name of the client and, where known, the name of the 
victim(s), the name of any co-defendant(s), and the names of 
any important witnesses. 

2. Where a capital case involves multiple defendants, 
a conflict will be presumed between the defendants and 
separate representation will be required. However, there are 
many other situations in which conflicts can arise. In 
addition to the current or prior representation of co-
defendants or witnesses, conflicts can arise, for example, 
when a capital defense lawyer: is subject to investigation or 
criminal prosecution by state or federal authorities; is 
representing or has represented a witness or victim; is 
seeking employment with prosecuting agencies; has a 
financial, political or personal interest in the proceedings; 
has an excessive workload; or, is related to a victim or the 
judge. Disclosure of potential conflicts should be made 
under any of these circumstances and counsel should err in 
favor of disclosure of any other potential conflicts. 

3. Conflicts of interest should be promptly resolved in 
a manner that advances the interests of the client and 
complies with the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct. 

4. If a conflict develops during the course of 
representation, counsel has a duty to notify the client and, 
where required, the court in accordance with the rules of the 

court and the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct. 
Defense counsel should fully disclose to the client, at the 
earliest feasible opportunity, any interest in or connection 
with the case or any other matter that might be relevant to 
counsel's continuing representation. Such disclosure should 
include communication of information reasonably sufficient 
to permit the client to appreciate the significance of any 
conflict or potential conflict of interest.  

5. Where the client files a motion, complaint, or 
grievance against counsel in regard to the quality of his or 
her representation, counsel should notify the Case 
Supervisor and the agency responsible for the assignment of 
counsel to the case.  

6. Any waiver of conflict that is obtained should 
comply with the requirements of the Louisiana Rules of 
Professional Conduct, and should be obtained only after the 
client has been told: that a conflict of interest exists; the 
consequences to his defense from continuing with conflict-
laden counsel; and that he has a right to obtain other counsel. 
In a capital case, any waiver of conflict should be obtained 
through and after consultation by the client with independent 
counsel. In order to allow the monitoring of the procedure of 
obtaining of a waiver, the capital case coordinator should be 
advised prior to obtaining a conflict waiver from an indigent 
capital defendant and should approve or provide for the 
assignment of independent counsel. 

F. Allocation of Authority between Counsel and Client 
1. The allocation of authority between counsel and the 

client shall be managed in accordance with Louisiana’s 
Rules of Professional Conduct, having particular regard to 
rules 1.2, 1.4, 1.14 and 1.16. 

2. Counsel serves as the representative of the client 
and shall abide by the client’s decisions regarding the 
objectives of the representation. However, counsel shall 
provide the client with his or her professional opinions with 
regard to the objectives of the representation. In counseling 
the client, counsel shall refer not only to the law but to other 
considerations such as moral, economic, social, and political 
factors that may be relevant to the client’s situation. Counsel 
may enlist the assistance of others to assist in ensuring that 
the client is able to make informed decisions. Counsel shall 
reasonably consult with the client about the means by which 
the client’s objectives are to be accomplished and may take 
such action as is impliedly authorized by the representation. 

3. The attorney shall explain to the client those 
decisions that ultimately rest with the client and the 
advantages and disadvantages inherent in these choices. 
Counsel shall abide by the client’s decision, made after 
meaningful consultation with counsel, as to a plea to be 
entered, whether to waive jury trial, whether the client will 
testify, and whether to appeal. However, counsel shall not 
abide by such a decision where the client is incompetent, 
including where the client is, in the circumstances, incapable 
of making a rational choice not substantially affected by 
mental disease, disorder or defect. In such circumstances, 
counsel should take the steps described in these standards 
relating to the representation of persons with diminished 
capacity and the raising of the client’s incompetence. 

4. Strategic and tactical decisions should be made by 
counsel after consultation with the client where feasible and 
appropriate. When feasible and appropriate, counsel and 
other team members should seek the client’s input regarding 
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decisions to be made in the case. Counsel should candidly 
advise the client regarding the probable success and 
consequences of adopting any particular posture in the 
proceedings, and provide the client with all information 
necessary to make informed decisions. Counsel should 
provide the client with his or her professional opinion on 
what course to adopt whenever possible. In order to ensure 
that consultation with the client is meaningful, counsel 
should make accommodations where necessary due to a 
client's special circumstances, such as incompetence, mental 
or physical disability/illness, language barriers, youth, 
cultural differences, and circumstances of incarceration. 

5. While counsel is ordinarily responsible for 
determining the means by which the objectives of 
representation are to be accomplished, where the client 
revokes counsel’s express or implied authority to take a 
particular course of action, counsel may not act as the agent 
of the client without that authority. This will not prevent 
counsel from taking professionally responsible steps 
required by these Standards but counsel must not purport to 
be speaking on behalf of or otherwise acting as the agent of 
the client. 

6. Counsel shall not take action he or she knows is 
inconsistent with the client’s objectives of the representation. 
Counsel may not concede the client’s guilt of the offense 
charged or a lesser included offense without first obtaining 
the consent of the client. 

7. Where counsel and the client disagree as to the 
means by which the objectives of the representation are to be 
achieved counsel should consult with the client and seek a 
mutually agreeable resolution of the dispute. Counsel should 
consult with the case supervisor and utilize other defense 
team members in his or her efforts to resolve a dispute.  

8. Where the client seeks to discharge counsel, every 
reasonable effort should be made to address the client’s 
grievance with counsel and avoid discharge. Counsel should 
caution the client as to the possible negative consequences of 
discharging or attempting to discharge counsel and the likely 
result if any such attempt. Should the client persist with his 
desire to discharge counsel, the case supervisor and 
responsible agency should be immediately informed and 
counsel may request a substitution of counsel by the 
responsible agency. Counsel must move to withdraw when 
actually discharged by the client. 

9. Where the client insists upon taking action with 
which the counsel has a fundamental disagreement or the 
representation has been rendered unreasonably difficult by 
the client, counsel shall advise the case supervisor and may 
request a substitution of counsel by the responsible agency. 
Where a substitution of counsel is not permitted, counsel 
may move to withdraw from the representation only with the 
prior consent of the responsible agency. 

10. Any withdrawal of counsel, including a substitution 
of counsel, should occur with the leave of the court. Should 
the court refuse counsel leave to withdraw, then counsel 
should continue to represent the defendant. 

11. Where counsel or a client make a reasonable 
request for substitution of counsel, the district defender or 
state public defender, as appropriate, shall take all 
reasonable steps to substitute counsel. Where substitution of 
counsel is not possible, every effort should be made to avoid

the withdrawal or discharge of counsel, including the 
assignment of additional counsel, consultation with persons 
experienced in resolving such disputes and providing 
counsel access to expert advice and training designed to 
assist in resolving the dispute.  

12. A client’s capacity to make adequately considered 
decisions in connection with the representation may be 
diminished, whether because of mental impairment or for 
some other reason. Where counsel reasonably believes that 
the client has diminished capacity, he or she should: 

a. as far as reasonably possible, maintain a normal 
client-lawyer relationship with the client; 

b. if the client is at risk of substantial harm unless 
action is taken and the client cannot adequately act in his 
own interests, take reasonably necessary protective action. 
Such action may include: consulting with family members, 
using a reconsideration period to permit clarification or 
improvement of circumstances, using voluntary surrogate 
decision making tools such as durable powers of attorney or 
consulting with support groups, professional services, adult-
protective agencies or other individuals or entities that have 
the ability to protect the client. In appropriate cases, counsel 
may seek the appointment of a fiduciary, including a 
guardian, curator or tutor, to protect the client’s interests; 

c. in taking any protective action, be guided by such 
factors as the wishes and values of the client to the extent 
known, the client’s best interests and the goals of intruding 
into the client’s decision-making autonomy to the least 
extent feasible, maximizing client capacities and respecting 
the client’s family and social connections. 

13. If counsel believes that the client will now or in the 
future seek to abandon some or all of the mitigation case or 
waive appellate or post-conviction review, counsel should 
notify the case supervisor and appropriate action should be 
taken to respond to this situation. Given the gravity and 
complexity of this situation, counsel and the case supervisor 
should consider consultation with additional counsel 
experienced and skilled in this area. 

14. The client has a right to view or be provided with 
copies of documents in counsel’s file. Acknowledging the 
dangers of case related materials being held in custodial 
facilities, counsel should strongly advise the client against 
maintaining possession of any case related material. Counsel 
should provide alternatives to satisfy the client’s requests, 
such as more frequent visits with team members to review 
relevant documents in a confidential setting, or transferring 
file to successor counsel. Upon the termination of the 
representation, the client will ordinarily be entitled to 
counsel’s entire file upon request. 

G. Assembling the Defense Team 
1. Counsel are to be assigned in accordance with the 

capital defense guidelines. Where possible, lead counsel 
should participate in the decision of who should be assigned 
as additional counsel. Lead counsel should advocate for the 
assignment of additional counsel with the skills, experience 
and resources appropriate to the provision of high quality 
representation in the case. Lead counsel should have regard 
to his or her own strengths and weaknesses in 
recommending the assignment of additional counsel in order 
to ensure the formation of a defense team capable of 
providing high quality representation to the client in the 
particular case. 
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2. Lead counsel bears overall responsibility for the 
performance of the defense team, and should allocate, direct, 
and supervise its work in accordance with these performance 
standards and the associated guidelines. Subject to the 
foregoing, lead counsel may delegate to other members of 
the defense team duties imposed by these standards, unless 
the standard specifically imposes the duty on “lead counsel.” 

3. As soon as practical after assignment and at all 
stages of a capital case, the director of the law office 
assigned the case, the contracting agency or lead counsel 
should assemble a defense team by: 

a. providing advice regarding the number and 
identity of the additional counsel to be assigned; 

b. selecting and making any appropriate staffing, 
employment or contractual agreements with non-attorney 
team members in such a way that the defense team includes: 
 i. at least one mitigation specialist and one fact 
investigator; 
 ii. at least one member with specialized training 
in identifying, documenting and interpreting symptoms of 
mental and behavioral impairment, including cognitive 
deficits, mental illness, developmental disability, 
neurological deficits; long-term consequences of 
deprivation, neglect and maltreatment during developmental 
years; social, cultural, historical, political, religious, racial, 
environmental and ethnic influences on behavior; effects of 
substance abuse and the presence, severity and consequences 
of exposure to trauma; 
 iii. individuals possessing the training and ability 
to obtain, understand and analyze all documentary and 
anecdotal information relevant to the client’s history; 
 iv. sufficient support staff, such as secretarial, law 
clerk and paralegal support, to ensure that counsel is able to 
manage the administrative, file management, file review, 
legal research, court filing, copying, witness management, 
transportation and other practical tasks necessary to provide 
high quality representation; and 
 v. any other members needed to provide high 
quality legal representation, including people necessary to: 
reflect the seriousness, complexity or amount of work in a 
particular case; meet legal or factual issues involving 
specialist knowledge or experience; ensure that the team has 
the necessary skills, experience and capacity available to 
provide for the professional development of defense 
personnel through training and case experience; or, for other 
reasons arising in the circumstances of a particular case. 

4. In selecting team members, lead counsel should 
have specific regard to the overall caseload of each team 
member (whether indigent, pro bono or privately funded) 
and should monitor the caseloads of all team members 
throughout the representation. Counsel should have regard to 
the benefits of a racially and culturally diverse team. 

5. Where staff assignments to a team are made by the 
director of a law office or the contracting agency, rather than 
lead counsel, lead counsel remains responsible for ensuring 
that the staffing assignments and the defense team are in 
compliance with the Capital Guidelines and Performance 
Standards and are sufficient to permit high quality 
representation. 

6. The defense team refers to those persons directly 
responsible for the legal representation of the client and 
those persons directly responsible for the fact and mitigation 

investigation. While others may assist the defense team, 
including lay and expert witnesses, they are not a part of the 
defense team as that term is used in this Section. The 
mitigation specialist retained as a part of the defense team is 
not intended to serve as a testifying witness and, if such a 
witness is necessary, a separate expert mitigation specialist 
should be retained. 

7. Team members should be fully instructed on the 
practices and procedures to be adopted by the team, 
including the procedure for communication and decision-
making within the team and how such matters will be 
recorded in the client file. Team meetings should be 
conducted no less than once every two weeks and should, 
wherever possible, include the in-person attendance of all 
team members. Team meetings should have an agenda and a 
record of the matters discussed, tasks assigned and decisions 
made at the team meeting should be maintained in the client 
file. All members of the team should be encouraged to 
participate and contribute. 

8. Counsel should demand on behalf of the client all 
resources necessary to provide high quality legal 
representation. Counsel should promptly take the steps 
necessary to ensure that the defense team receives the 
assistance of all expert, investigative, and other ancillary 
professional services reasonably necessary or appropriate to 
provide high quality legal representation at every stage of 
the proceedings. If such resources are denied, counsel should 
make an adequate record to preserve the issue for judicial 
review and seek such review. It is the responsibility of 
counsel to be fully aware of the potential resources available 
to assist in the representation of the client and the rules and 
procedures to be followed to seek and obtain such resources. 

9. While lead counsel bears ultimate responsibility for 
the performance of the defense team and for decisions 
affecting the client and the case, all additional counsel 
should ensure that the team and its members are providing 
high quality representation in accordance with these 
Performance Standards and associated Guidelines. 

10. In general, counsel should avoid assigning one 
lawyer to handle the guilt-innocence phase and another 
lawyer to handle the penalty phase. 

H. Scope of Representation 
1. Counsel should represent the client in the matter 

assigned from the time of assignment until relieved by the 
assignment of successor counsel or by order of the court. 

2. Ordinarily, counsel representing a capital defendant 
should assume responsibility for the representation of the 
defendant in all pending criminal and collateral proceedings 
involving the client for which counsel is adequately 
qualified and experienced. Counsel should represent the 
client in any new criminal proceeding arising during the 
course of the capital representation. Counsel should 
investigate and commence appellate or collateral 
proceedings regarding other criminal convictions of the 
client where the favorable resolution of such an action is 
likely to be of significance in the capital proceeding. 
Counsel shall have the discretion to assist incarcerated 
clients seeking redress of institutional grievances or 
responding to institutional proceedings and should do so 
where the resolution of the grievance or proceeding is likely 
to be of significance in the capital proceeding. 
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3. Where it is not appropriate for counsel to assume 
the representation of the defendant in other proceedings due 
to a lack of appropriate experience or qualifications, lack of 
sufficient resources, or for other reasons, counsel should take 
all reasonable steps to ensure that appropriately qualified 
counsel is representing the client and is, where possible, 
capitally certified. 

4. Counsel should maintain close communication with 
and seek the cooperation of counsel representing the client in 
any other proceeding to ensure that such representation does 
not prejudice the client in his capital proceedings and is 
conducted in a manner that best serves the client’s interests 
in light of the capital proceedings. 

5. Where counsel’s representation of a defendant is 
limited in its scope, lead counsel should ensure that the 
limitation is reasonable in the circumstances and obtain the 
client’s informed consent to the limited scope of the 
representation. In obtaining informed consent, lead counsel 
should explain the exact limits of the scope of the 
representation, including both those purposes for which the 
client will and will not be represented. Where possible, the 
agreement to provide representation that is limited in its 
scope should be communicated in writing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:49 (January 2015). 
§1905. Performance Standard 2: Relations with Client 

A. Counsel’s Obligation to Build and Maintain 
Relationship with Client 

1. Counsel at all stages of the case should make every 
appropriate effort to establish a relationship of trust and 
confidence with the client, and should maintain close contact 
with the client. Representation of a capital client should 
proceed in a client-centered fashion with a strong emphasis 
on the relationship between the defense team and the client. 

2. Counsel should make every appropriate effort to 
overcome barriers to communication and trust, including 
those arising from the client's special circumstances, such as 
incompetence, mental or physical disability/illness, language 
barriers, youth, and cultural differences, circumstances of 
incarceration, prior experiences in the criminal justice 
system, and prior experiences of legal representation. Where 
barriers to communication or trust with counsel cannot be 
adequately overcome to allow for high quality representation 
of the client, the capital case supervisor should be informed, 
and such further steps as are necessary should be taken. In 
an appropriate case, this may include seeking the assignment 
of additional counsel or other team members or the 
substitution of counsel. 

3. Lead counsel should ensure that the defense team 
as a whole is able to establish and maintain a relationship of 
trust and confidence with the client. Where a particular team 
member is unable to overcome barriers to communication or 
trust, lead counsel should take all reasonable steps to remedy 
the problem. Where the relationship cannot be sufficiently 
improved, lead counsel should strongly consider removing 
or replacing the team member, or seeking removal or 
replacement from the director of the law office or 
contracting agency. 

4. Understanding that a relationship of trust and 
confidence with the client is essential to the provision of 
effective representation of a capital client, the defense team 

must take all reasonable steps to ensure that both the 
representation provided and the manner in which that 
representation is provided operate to develop and preserve 
such a relationship. 

5. Understanding that regular contact and meaningful 
communication are essential to the provision of effective 
representation of a capital client, the defense team should 
take all reasonable steps to ensure that the client is able to 
communicate regularly with the defense team members in 
confidential circumstances and should ensure that the client 
is visited by defense team members frequently, particularly 
where the client is in custody. Counsel may rely upon other 
members of the defense team to provide some of the 
required contact with the client, but visits by other team 
members cannot substitute for counsel’s own direct contact 
with the client. Given lead counsel’s particular 
responsibilities, visits by other counsel in the case cannot 
substitute for lead counsel’s own direct contact with the 
client. 

6. In a trial level case, a capital client should be 
visited by a member of the defense team no less than once 
every week, though visits would be expected to be much 
more frequent where there is active investigation or 
litigation in the case or in the lead up to trial. In a trial level 
case a capital client should be visited by an attorney member 
of the defense team no less than once every two weeks and 
by lead counsel no less than once month, though visits by 
counsel would be expected to be much more frequent where 
there is active investigation or litigation in the case or in the 
lead up to, during, and following trial. 

7. In an appellate or post-conviction case, a capital 
client may be visited less frequently, but regular 
communication and actual visits remain critical to effective 
representation. In an appellate or post-conviction case, a 
capital client should be visited by a member of the defense 
team no less than once every two weeks, by an attorney 
member of the defense team no less than once a month and 
by lead counsel no less than once every two months, though 
visits would be expected to be much more frequent where 
there is active investigation or litigation in the case or in the 
lead up to, during, and following any major hearing and in 
the lead up to any execution date. 

8. In all capital cases, where barriers to 
communication or trust exist or the circumstances call for 
more frequent contact, visits by defense team members, 
including counsel, should be as frequent as necessary to 
ensure high quality representation and to protect the interests 
of the client. 

9. Counsel at all stages of the case need to monitor the 
client’s physical, mental, and emotional condition and 
consider any potential legal consequences or adverse impact 
upon the adequate representation of the client. Counsel 
should monitor the client’s physical, emotional, and mental 
condition throughout the representation both personally, 
through the observations of other team members and experts, 
and through review of relevant records. If counsel observes 
changes in the client’s appearance or demeanor, counsel 
should promptly conduct an investigation of any 
circumstances contributing to this change, and take all 
reasonable steps to advance the best interests of the client. 
Recognizing the potential adverse consequences for the 
representation inherent in any substantial impairment of the 
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client’s physical, mental and emotional condition, counsel 
should take all reasonable steps to improve the client’s 
physical, mental and emotional condition where possible.  

10. Counsel at all stages of the case should engage in a 
continuing interactive dialogue with the client concerning all 
matters that might reasonably be expected to have a material 
impact on the case, such as: 

a. the progress of and prospects for the 
investigation and what assistance the client might provide; 

b. current or potential legal issues; 
c. current or potential strategic and tactical 

decisions, including the waiver of any rights or privileges 
held by the client; 

d. the development of a defense theory; 
e. presentation of the defense case; 
f. potential agreed-upon dispositions of the case, 

including any possible disposition currently acceptable to the 
prosecution; 

g. litigation deadlines and the projected schedule of 
case-related events; and 

h. relevant aspects of the client’s relationship with 
correctional, parole, or other governmental agents (e.g., 
prison medical providers or state psychiatrists). 

11. Counsel shall inform the client of the status of the 
case at each step and shall provide information to the client 
regarding the process and procedures relevant to the case, 
including any anticipated time frame. 

12. In the absence of a specific agreement to the 
contrary, counsel shall provide the client with a copy of each 
substantive document filed or entered in the case by the 
court and any party. Counsel shall warn any incarcerated 
client of the dangers of keeping case related material in a 
custodial environment and take steps to ensure that the client 
may have reasonable access to the documents and materials 
in the case without the necessity of keeping the documents 
in the prison. 

13. Upon disposition of the case or any significant 
issue in the case, counsel shall promptly and accurately 
inform the client of the disposition. 

14. Counsel should treat the client with respect. 
Counsel should never demean, disparage, or be hostile 
towards the client. It is the responsibility of lead counsel to 
ensure that all members of the defense team satisfy this 
standard. 

15. Counsel shall respond in a timely manner to all 
correspondence from a client, unless the correspondence is 
wholly unreasonable in its volume or interval. 

16. Counsel should maintain an appropriate, 
professional office and should maintain a system for 
receiving regular collect telephone calls from incarcerated 
clients. Counsel should provide incarcerated clients with 
directions on how to contact the office via collect telephone 
calls (e.g. what days and/or hours calls will be accepted). 
Counsel should determine whether telephone 
communications will be confidential and where they are not, 
should take all reasonable steps to ensure that privileged, 
confidential, or potentially damaging conversations are not 
conducted during any monitored or recorded calls. 

17. Counsel should advise the client at the outset of the 
representation and frequently remind the client regarding his 
rights to silence and to counsel.  

a. Counsel should carefully explain the significance 
of remaining silent, and how to assert the rights to silence 
and counsel. Counsel should specifically advise the client to 
assert his rights to silence and counsel if approached by any 
state actor seeking to question him about the charged 
offense, any other offense, or any other matter relevant to 
guilt, penalty, or a possible claim for relief. Counsel should 
take all reasonable steps to assist the client in asserting these 
rights, including providing a written assertion of rights for 
the client to use and asserting these rights on behalf of the 
client. Counsel should have regard to any special need or 
vulnerability of the client likely to impact his effective 
assertion of his rights. 

b. In particular, counsel should advise the client not 
to speak with police, probation officers, or other government 
agents about the offense, any related matters, or any matter 
that may prove relevant in a penalty phase hearing without 
the presence of counsel. The client should be advised not to 
speak or write to any other person, including family 
members, friends, or co-defendants, about any such matters. 
The client should also be advised not to speak to any state or 
court appointed expert without the opportunity for prior 
consultation with counsel.  

c. Counsel should also be conscious of the possible 
interest of media organizations and individual journalists and 
should advise the client not to communicate with the media, 
except as a part of a considered strategy undertaken on the 
advice of counsel. 

18. If counsel knows that the client will be coming into 
contact with a state actor in circumstances relevant to the 
representation, counsel should seek to accompany the client 
to prevent any potentially harmful statements from being 
made or alleged. 

B. Counsel’s Initial Interviews with Client 
1. Recognizing that first contact with a capital client is 

an extremely important stage in the representation of the 
client, counsel should take all reasonable steps to conduct a 
prompt initial interview designed to protect the client’s 
position, preserve the client’s rights, and begin the 
development of a relationship of trust and confidence. 

2. Counsel should take all reasonable steps to ensure 
that the client’s rights are promptly asserted, that the client 
does not waive any right or entitlement by failing to timely 
assert the right or make a claim, and that any exculpatory or 
mitigating evidence or information that may otherwise 
become unavailable is identified and preserved. 

3. Counsel should ensure that a high level of contact is 
maintained at the outset of the representation that is at least 
sufficient to begin to develop a relationship of trust and 
confidence, and to meaningfully communicate information 
relevant to protecting the client’s position and preserving the 
client’s rights. 

4. An initial interview of pre-trial clients should be 
conducted within twenty-four hours of counsel’s entry into 
the case unless exceptional circumstances require counsel to 
postpone this interview. In that event or where the client is 
being represented in appellate or post-conviction 
proceedings, the interview should be conducted as soon as 
reasonably possible. 

5. If non-certified counsel is meeting with the client 
before the assignment of appropriately certified counsel, the
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information obtained should ordinarily be limited to that 
necessary to advise the client concerning the current 
procedural posture of the case and to provide for the 
assertion of the client’s rights to silence and to counsel. 

6. Preparing for the Initial Interview: 
a. prior to conducting the initial interview of a pre-

trial client, counsel should, where possible and without 
unduly delaying the initial interview: 
 i. be familiar with the elements of the offense(s) 
and the potential punishment(s), where the charges against 
the client are already known; 
 ii. obtain copies of any relevant documents that 
are available, including copies of any charging documents, 
warrants and warrant applications, law enforcement and 
other investigative agency reports, autopsy reports, and any 
media accounts that might be available; and, 
 iii. consult with any predecessor counsel to 
become more familiar with the case and the client. 

b. In addition, where the pre-trial client is 
incarcerated, counsel should: 
 i. be familiar with the legal criteria for 
determining pretrial release and the procedures that will be 
followed in setting those conditions; 
 ii. be familiar with the different types of pretrial 
release conditions the court may set and whether private or 
public agencies are available to act as a custodian for the 
client's release; and 
 iii. be familiar with any procedures available for 
reviewing the trial judge's setting of bail. 

c. prior to conducting the interview of a client at 
appellate and post-conviction stages, counsel should, where 
possible and without unduly delaying the initial interview: 
 i. be familiar with the procedural posture of the 
case; 
 ii. obtain copies of any relevant documents that 
are available that provide information on the nature of the 
offense and the conduct and outcome of prior stages of the 
proceedings; 
 iii. consider consulting with any predecessor 
counsel to become more familiar with the case and the 
client. 

7. Conducting the Interviews 
a. Counsel should not expect to adequately 

communicate all relevant information or begin to develop 
the necessary relationship with the client in a single 
interview but should undertake an initial series of interviews 
designed to achieve these goals. Given the peculiar pressures 
and issues presented in a capital case, counsel should seek to 
develop a relationship of trust and confidence before 
questioning the client about matters relevant to the offense 
or mitigation. 

b. Counsel should always interview the client in an 
environment that protects the attorney-client privilege. 
Counsel should take reasonable efforts to compel court and 
other officials to make necessary accommodations for 
private discussions between counsel and client in 
courthouses, lock-ups, jails, prisons, detention centers, 
hospitals, forensic mental health facilities and other places 
where clients confer with counsel.  

c. Counsel should take all reasonable steps to 
ensure, at the initial interview and in all successive 

interviews and proceedings, that barriers to communication 
and trust are overcome. 

d. The scope and focus of the initial interviews will 
vary according to the circumstances of the case, the 
circumstances of the client, and the circumstances under 
which the interviews occur.  

e. Information to be provided to the client during 
initial interviews includes, but is not limited to: 
 i. the role of counsel and the scope of 
representation, an explanation of the attorney-client 
privilege, the importance of maintaining contact with 
counsel, and instructions not to talk to anyone, including 
other inmates, about the facts of the case or matters relevant 
to the sentencing hearing without first consulting with the 
attorney; 
 ii. describing the other persons who are members 
of the defense team, how and when counsel or other 
appropriate members of the defense team can be contacted 
and when counsel or other members of the defense team will 
see the client next; 
 iii. a general overview of the procedural posture 
and likely progression of the case, an explanation of the 
charges, potential penalties, and available defenses; 
 iv. what arrangements will be made or attempted 
for the satisfaction of the client’s most pressing needs; e.g., 
medical or mental health attention, contact with family or 
employers; 
 v. realistic answers, where possible, to the client’s 
most urgent questions;  
 vi. an explanation of the availability, likelihood, 
and procedures that will be followed in setting the conditions 
of pretrial release; and 
 vii. a detailed warning of the dangers with regard 
to the search of client's cell and personal belongings while in 
custody, and the fact that conversations with other inmates, 
telephone calls, mail, and visitations may be monitored by 
jail officials. The client should also be warned of the 
prevalence and danger presented by jailhouse informants 
making false allegations of confessions by high profile 
prisoners and advised of the strategies the client can employ 
to protect himself from such false allegations. 

f. Information that should be acquired as soon as 
appropriate from the client includes, but may not be limited 
to: 
 i. the client's immediate medical needs and any 
prescription medications the client is currently taking, has 
been prescribed or might require; 
 ii. whether the client has any pending 
proceedings, charges, or outstanding warrants in or from 
other jurisdictions or agencies (and the identity of any other 
appointed or retained counsel); 
 iii. the ability of the client to meet any financial 
conditions of release or afford an attorney; 
 iv. the existence of potential sources of important 
information which counsel might need to act immediately to 
obtain and/or preserve. 

g. Appreciating the unique pressure placed upon 
capital defendants and the extremely sensitive nature of the 
enquiries that counsel must make, counsel should exercise 
great caution in seeking to explore the details of either the 
alleged offense or matters of personal history until a 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 58

relationship of trust and confidence has been established that 
will permit full and frank disclosure. 

h. Where possible, counsel should obtain from the 
client signed release forms necessary to obtain client’s 
medical, psychological, education, military, prison, and other 
records as may be pertinent. 

i. Counsel should observe, and consider arranging 
for, documentation of any marks or wounds pertinent to the 
case, and secure and document any transient physical 
evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:55 (January 2015). 
§1907. Performance Standard 3: Investigation 

A. Counsel’s Responsibility to Investigate 
1. Counsel has an ongoing duty to conduct a high 

quality, independent, exhaustive investigation of all matters 
relevant to the guilt phase, penalty phase, any possible 
agreed upon disposition, any potential claim for relief, and 
any possible reduction of the case to a non-capital 
prosecution. A high quality, exhaustive investigation will be 
prompt, thorough, and independent. 

2. Counsel should act promptly to ensure that the 
client is not prejudiced by the loss or destruction of evidence 
or information, whether in the form of physical evidence, 
records, possible witness testimony or information from a 
non-testifying witness. Counsel should take reasonable steps 
to gather and preserve evidence and information at risk of 
loss or destruction for later use in the case or for use by 
successor counsel. These steps may include retaining an 
expert to gather, preserve or examine evidence before it is 
altered or destroyed or to interview witnesses who may 
become unavailable. Counsel should be conscious of any 
procedural limitations or time bars and ensure that the 
investigation be conducted in a timely fashion to avoid any 
default or waiver of the client’s rights. Similarly, counsel 
should be aware of or promptly become aware of the period 
for which relevant records are retained and ensure that the 
investigation be conducted in a timely fashion to avoid the 
destruction of relevant records. 

3. The investigation relevant to the guilt phase of the 
trial should be conducted regardless of any admission or 
statement by the client concerning the facts of the alleged 
crime, or overwhelming evidence of guilt, or any statement 
by the client that evidence bearing upon guilt is not to be 
collected or presented. 

4. The investigation relevant to the penalty phase of 
the trial should be conducted regardless of any statement by 
the client that evidence bearing upon the penalty is not to be 
collected or presented. This investigation should comprise 
extensive and ongoing efforts to discover all reasonably 
available mitigating evidence and evidence to rebut any 
aggravating evidence or argument that may be offered by the 
prosecutor. 

5. No area of inquiry or possible evidence in the guilt 
or penalty phase investigations should be ruled out until a 
thorough investigation has been conducted. Counsel should 
seek to investigate all available evidence and information 
and defer strategic decisions regarding what evidence to 
present until after a thorough investigation has been 
conducted. Both at guilt and penalty phases, counsel should 
not halt investigation after one seemingly meritorious 

defense theory has been discovered, but should continue to 
investigate, both following up on evidence supporting 
known defense theories and seeking to discover other 
potential defense theories. 

6. Where counsel enrolls in a case in which other 
counsel have previously provided representation, counsel 
should not rely on a prior defense team’s investigation or 
theory of the case, but rather should independently and 
thoroughly investigate and prepare the defense, especially 
where prior counsel had a conflict of interest, or there is 
reason to believe counsel’s performance was deficient. 

7. Counsel are responsible for ensuring that a high 
quality, exhaustive investigation is conducted but are not 
personally responsible for performing the actual 
investigation. A team should be assembled containing 
sufficient members possessing the appropriate skills and 
resources to conduct a high quality and exhaustive 
investigation. 

B. Conduct of the Investigation 
1. Counsel should conduct a high quality, independent 

and exhaustive investigation of all available sources of 
information utilizing all available tools including live 
witness interviews, compulsory process, public records law, 
discovery, scene visits, obtaining releases of confidential 
information, pre-trial litigation, the use of experts in the 
collection and analysis of particular kinds of evidence and 
audio/visual documentation. Principle sources of 
information in an investigation will include: information 
obtained from the client; information and statements 
obtained from witnesses; discovery obtained from the state; 
records collected; physical evidence; and direct 
observations.  

2. A high quality, independent and exhaustive 
investigation will include investigation to determine the 
existence of other evidence or witnesses corroborating or 
contradicting a particular piece of evidence or information.  

3. A high quality, independent and exhaustive 
investigation will include an investigation of all sources of 
possible impeachment of defense and prosecution witnesses.  

4. Information and evidence obtained in the 
investigation provided should be properly preserved by 
memo, written statement, affidavit, or audio/video 
recordings. The manner in which information is to be 
obtained and recorded should be specifically approved by 
lead counsel having regard to any discovery obligations 
which operate or may be triggered in the case. In particular, 
the decision to take signed or recorded statements from 
witnesses should be made in light of the possibility of 
disclosure of such statements through reciprocal discovery 
obligations. Documents and physical evidence should be 
obtained and preserved in a manner designed to allow for its 
authentication and with regard to the chain of custody. 

5. A high quality, exhaustive investigation should be 
conducted in a manner that permits counsel to effectively 
impeach potential witnesses, including state actors and 
records custodians, with statements made during the 
investigation. Unless defense counsel is prepared to forgo 
impeachment of a witness by counsel's own testimony as to 
what the witness stated in an interview or to seek leave to 
withdraw from the case in order to present such impeaching 
testimony, defense counsel should avoid interviewing a 
prospective witness except in the presence of a third person. 
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6. A written record should be kept of all investigative 
activity on a case, including all record requests and 
responses and attempts to locate and interview witnesses, 
whether successful or unsuccessful. The written record 
should be sufficient to allow counsel to identify and prove, if 
necessary, when, where and under what circumstances each 
piece of information or evidence was obtained. The written 
record should also be sufficient to allow counsel to identify 
and prove that the investigation disclosed an absence of 
relevant information or evidence, for example, where a 
record custodian denies possession of relevant records or a 
witness denies knowledge of a relevant fact. 

7. Counsel should conduct a high quality, exhaustive 
investigation of matters relevant to guilt and penalty phase, 
bearing in mind at all times the relevance of all information 
sought and obtained to each phase of the trial. Such an 
investigation shall extend beyond the particular client and 
the particular offense charged and include an investigation 
of: other charged or uncharged bad acts that may be alleged 
directly or as impeachment; any co-defendant or alleged co-
conspirator; any alternate suspects; any victim or victims; 
relevant law enforcement personnel and agencies; and, 
forensic and other experts involved in the case.  

8. Considerations in respect of particular sources of 
information will include the following. 

a. Interviews with the client should be conducted in 
accordance with performance standard 2.B. In particular, 
counsel should be conscious of the need for multiple 
interviews, a relationship of trust and confidence with the 
client and for interviews on sensitive matters to be 
conducted by team members with appropriate skill and 
experience in conducting such interviews. 

b. When interviewing witnesses, live witness 
interviews are almost always to be preferred and telephone 
interviews will rarely be appropriate. Barring exceptional 
circumstances, counsel should seek out and interview all 
potential witnesses including, but not limited to: 
 i. eyewitnesses or other witnesses potentially 
having knowledge of events surrounding the alleged offense 
itself including the involvement of co-defendants, or 
alternate suspects; 
 ii. potential alibi witnesses; 
 iii. witnesses or other witnesses potentially having 
knowledge of events surrounding the alleged offense itself 
including the involvement of co-defendants, or alternate 
suspects: 

(a). members of the client’s immediate and 
extended family; 

(b). neighbors, friends and acquaintances who 
knew the client or his family throughout the various stages 
of his life; 

(c). persons familiar with the communities where 
the client and the client’s family live and have lived; 

(d). former teachers, coaches, clergy, employers, 
co-workers, social service providers, and doctors; 

(e). correctional, probation or parole officers; 
 iv. witnesses to events other than the offense 
charged that may prove relevant to any affirmative defense 
or may be relied upon by the prosecution in its case in chief 
or in rebuttal of the defense case; and 
 v. government experts who have performed the 
examinations, tests, or experiments. 

c. Discovery should be conducted in accordance 
with performance standard 5.F. 

d. Counsel should be familiar with and utilize 
lawful avenues to compel the production of relevant records 
beyond formal discovery or compulsory process, including, 
the Public Records Law, the Freedom of Information Act, 
statutory entitlements to records such as medical treatment, 
military service, social security, social services, correctional 
and educational records. Counsel should also be familiar 
with and utilize avenues to obtain records through voluntary 
release and publicly available sources including web based 
searches and social media. 
 i. Counsel should strive to obtain records by 
means least likely to alert prosecution to the investigative 
steps being taken by the defense or the content of the records 
being obtained. 
 ii. Where appropriate, counsel should seek 
releases or court orders to obtain necessary confidential 
information about the client, co-defendant(s), witness(es), 
alternate suspect(s), or victim(s) that is in the possession of 
third parties. Counsel should be aware of privacy laws and 
procedural requirements governing disclosure of the type of 
confidential information being sought. 
 iii. Unless strategic considerations dictate 
otherwise, counsel should ensure that all requests, whether 
by compulsory process, public records law, or other specific 
statutory procedures, are made in a form that will allow 
counsel to enforce the requests to the extent possible and to 
seek the imposition of sanctions for non-compliance. 
Counsel should seek prompt compliance with such requests 
and must maintain a system for tracking requests that have 
been made: following up on requests; triggering enforcement 
action where requests are not complied with; documenting 
where responses have been received; and, identifying which 
documents have been received in response to which requests 
and on what date. 
 iv. Counsel should obtain all available information 
from the client’s court files. Counsel should obtain copies of 
the client’s prior court file(s), and the court files of other 
relevant persons. Counsel should also obtain the files from 
the relevant law enforcement and prosecuting agencies to the 
extent available.  
 v. Counsel should independently check the 
criminal records for both government and defense witnesses, 
and obtain a certified copy of all judgments of conviction for 
government witnesses, for possible use at trial for 
impeachment purposes. 

e. Counsel should move promptly to ensure that all 
physical evidence favorable to the client is preserved, 
including seeking a protective court order to prevent 
destruction or alteration of evidence. Counsel should make a 
prompt request to the police or investigative agency for 
access to any physical evidence or expert reports relevant to 
the case. Counsel should examine and document the 
condition of any such physical evidence well in advance of 
trial. With the assistance of appropriate experts, counsel 
should reexamine all of the government’s material forensic 
evidence, and conduct appropriate analyses of all other 
available forensic evidence. Counsel should investigate not 
only the accuracy of the results of any forensic testing, but 
also the legitimacy of the methods used to conduct the 
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testing and the qualifications of those responsible for the 
testing. 

f. Counsel should take full advantage of the direct 
observation of relevant documents, objects, places and 
events by defense team members, experts and others. 
 i. Counsel should attempt to view the scenes of 
the alleged offense and other relevant events as soon as 
possible after counsel is assigned. The visit to any relevant 
scene should include visiting under circumstances as similar 
as possible to those existing at the time of the alleged 
incident (e.g., weather, time of day, and lighting conditions). 
Counsel should extensively, precisely, and accurately 
document the condition of any relevant scene using the most 
appropriate and effective means, including audio-visual 
recordings, diagrams, charts, measurements, and descriptive 
memoranda. The condition of the scenes should always be 
documented in a manner that will permit counsel to identify 
and prove the condition of the scenes without personally 
becoming a witness. Where appropriate, counsel should 
obtain independently prepared documentation of the 
condition of the scenes, such as maps, charts, property 
records, contemporaneous audio-visual recordings 
conducted by media, security cameras or law enforcement. 
 ii. Counsel should exercise the defendant’s right 
to inspect, copy, examine, test scientifically, photograph, or 
otherwise reproduce books, papers, documents, photographs, 
tangible objects, buildings, places, or copies or portions 
thereof, which are within the possession, custody, or control 
of the state. 
 iii. Counsel for a client with one or more co-
defendants should attend hearings of co-defendants, even if 
the issue at stake does not seem directly relevant to the 
client. Counsel should be particularly interested in 
discovering the strength of the prosecution’s case against the 
co-defendant, and the similarities and differences between a 
co-defendant’s defense and the client’s. 
 iv. Counsel should also attend potentially relevant 
hearing involving state or defense witnesses. 

C. Duty of Counsel to Conduct Penalty Phase 
Investigation 

1. Counsel should lead the defense team in a 
structured and supervised mitigation investigation where 
counsel is coordinating and, to the extent possible, 
integrating the case for life with the guilt phase strategy.  

2. Despite the integration of the two phases of the 
trial, counsel should be alert to the different significance of 
items of evidence in the two phases and direct the 
investigation of the evidence for the penalty phase 
accordingly. Where evidence is relevant to both phases, 
counsel should not limit the investigation to guilt phase 
issues, but should further develop the mitigating evidence 
into a compelling case for life to be stressed at the penalty 
phase. All information obtained in the guilt phase 
investigation should be assessed for its significance to the 
penalty phase and, where possible, the guilt phase theory 
should reflect this assessment. Counsel should actively 
consider the benefits of presenting evidence admissible in 
the guilt phase that is also relevant in mitigation of 
punishment, and conduct the investigation and development 
of evidence accordingly. 

3. Counsel should direct the investigation of 
mitigating information as early as possible in the case. 

Mitigation investigation may affect many aspects of the case 
including the investigation of guilt phase defenses, charging 
decisions and related advocacy, motion practice, decisions 
about needs for expert evaluations, client relations and 
communication, and plea negotiations. 

4. Counsel has an ongoing duty to conduct a high 
quality, independent and exhaustive investigation of every 
aspect of the client’s character, history, record and any 
circumstances of the offense, or other factors, which may 
provide a basis for a sentence less than death. 

5. Counsel should investigate all available sources of 
information and use all appropriate avenues to obtain all 
potentially relevant information pertaining to the client, his 
siblings, parents, and other family members extending back 
at least three generations, including but not limited to: 
medical history consisting of complete prenatal, pediatric, 
and adult health information (including hospitalizations, 
mental and physical illness or injury, pre-natal and birth 
trauma, malnutrition, developmental delays, and 
neurological damage); exposure to harmful substances in 
utero and in the environment; substance abuse and treatment 
history; mental health history; history of maltreatment and 
neglect; trauma history (including exposure to criminal 
violence, exposure to war, the loss of a loved one, or a 
natural disaster; experiences of racism or other social or 
ethnic bias; cultural or religious influences); educational 
history (including achievement, performance, behavior, 
activities, special educational needs including cognitive 
limitations and learning disabilities, and opportunity or lack 
thereof); social services, welfare, and family court history 
(including failures of government or social intervention, 
such as failure to intervene or provide necessary services, 
placement in poor quality foster care or juvenile detention 
facilities), employment and training history (including skills 
and performance, and barriers to employability); military 
experience (including length and type of service, conduct, 
special training, combat exposure, health and mental health 
services); immigration experience; multi-generational family 
history, genetic disorders and vulnerabilities, as well as 
multi-generational patterns of behavior; prior adult and 
juvenile criminal and correctional experience; religious, 
gender, sexual orientation, ethnic, racial, cultural and 
community influences; socio-economic, historical, and 
political factors. 

6. Counsel should not refrain from fully investigating 
potentially double-edged mitigation and such an 
investigation should include the full context of the 
mitigating evidence so as to reduce any potentially negative 
impact of such evidence at trial or to ensure that the 
mitigating effect of the evidence outweighs any negatives 
that may arise from the introduction of the evidence. 
Counsel should adopt such strategies as are necessary to 
reduce any potentially negative impact of such evidence, 
including effective voir dire, motions in limine, limiting 
instructions and the presentation of other evidence designed 
to maximize the mitigating effect of the evidence and reduce 
its negative potential. 

7. While the client and the client’s immediate family 
can be very important sources of information, they are far 
from the only potentially significant and powerful sources of 
information for mitigation evidence, and counsel should not 
limit the investigation to the client and his or her family. 
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Further, when evaluating information from the client and the 
client’s family, counsel should consider any impediments 
each may have to self-reporting or self-reflection. 

8. Counsel should exhaustively investigate evidence 
of any potential aggravating circumstances and other adverse 
evidence that may be used by the state in penalty phase to 
determine how the evidence may be rebutted or mitigated.  

a. Counsel should interview all known state 
witnesses for the penalty phase, including any expert 
witnesses. 

b. Counsel’s investigation of any prior conviction(s) 
which may be alleged against the client should include an 
investigation of any legal basis for overturning the 
conviction, including by appellate, state post-conviction or 
federal habeas corpus proceedings. Where such a basis 
exists, counsel should commence or cause to be commenced 
litigation directed to overturning the conviction. 
Representation in such proceedings should be determined in 
accordance with standard 1.H. 

c. Counsel should actively consider the evidence 
that the state may be permitted to present in rebuttal of the 
defense case at penalty phase and investigate the evidence to 
determine how the evidence may be excluded, rebutted or 
mitigated. 

9. Counsel should exhaustively investigate the 
possibility that there exists any absolute bar to the 
imposition of the death penalty. 

a. Counsel should conduct a high quality, 
independent, exhaustive investigation to determine whether 
the client may suffer from intellectual disability. Counsel 
should not rely on his or her own assessment or impression 
of the client in determining whether the client has a viable 
claim of mental retardation as intellectual disability may be 
difficult to accurately assess and many clients will mask 
such disability even at the risk of their lives. Where a 
potential intellectual disability claim exists, the defense team 
should include members with expertise in the recognition, 
investigation and development of evidence of intellectual 
disability as well as the litigation of issues of intellectual 
disability. Where the defense team does not contain 
sufficient expertise in this regard, lead counsel should use all 
available avenues to secure additional counsel or other team 
members with expertise in investigating and litigating issues 
of intellectual disability. 

b. In view of the decision of Roper v. Simmons, 543 
U.S. 551 (2005), especially in cases involving foreign born 
clients, where the client’s date of birth may be difficult to 
document, a special investigation may be required to 
ascertain the true “age” of the client to ensure that he is 
“death eligible” and, if not, ensure that the client is not 
exposed to the possibility of a death sentence. 

c. Counsel should attempt to identify and develop 
other grounds which, though currently not providing an 
absolute bar to imposition of a death sentence, may in the 
future provide such exemption, such as serious mental 
illness, post-18 cognitive impairment, or guilt as a principal 
not directly responsible for the death. 

d. Counsel should ensure that the presentation of 
evidence of an absolute bar to the death penalty, such as 
intellectual disability, is not limited to bare proof of the 
dispositive fact but fully presents the mitigating effect of the 
evidence, including the continuing mitigating effect of the 

evidence even where the evidence does not wholly satisfy 
the legal bar to the death penalty. 

10. Counsel should direct team members to conduct in-
person, face-to-face, one-on-one interviews with the client, 
the client’s family, and other witnesses who are familiar with 
the client’s life, history, or family history or who would 
support a sentence less than death. Counsel should not fail to 
seek to interview any of the client’s immediate family 
members. Multiple interviews will be necessary to establish 
trust, elicit sensitive information, and conduct a thorough 
and reliable life-history investigation. Team members should 
endeavor to establish the rapport with the client and 
witnesses that will be necessary to provide the client with a 
defense in accordance with constitutional guarantees 
relevant to a capital sentencing proceeding 

11. Counsel should direct team members to gather 
documentation to support the testimony of expert and lay 
witnesses, including, but not limited to, school, medical, 
employment, military, criminal and incarceration, and social 
service records, in order to provide medical, psychological, 
sociological, cultural or other insights into the client’s 
mental and/or emotional state, intellectual capacity, and life 
history that may explain or diminish the client’s culpability 
for his conduct, demonstrate the absence of aggressive 
patterns in the client’s behavior, show the client’s capacity 
for empathy, depict the client’s remorse, illustrate the client’s 
desire to function in the world, give a favorable opinion as to 
the client’s capacity for rehabilitation or adaptation to prison, 
explain possible treatment programs, rebut or explain 
evidence presented by the prosecutor, or otherwise support a 
sentence less than death. Records should be reviewed as they 
are received by the team so that any gaps in the evidence can 
be discovered and filled, further areas of investigation can be 
uncovered and pursued, and the defense theory can properly 
incorporate all available documentary evidence. 

12. Counsel should direct team members to provide 
counsel with documentary evidence of the investigation 
through the use of such methods as memoranda, 
genealogies, social history reports, chronologies and reports 
on relevant subjects including, but not limited to, cultural, 
socioeconomic, environmental, racial, and religious issues in 
the client’s life. The manner in which information is 
provided to counsel is determined on a case by case basis, in 
consultation with counsel, considering jurisdictional 
practices, discovery rules and policies. 

13. Counsel should ensure that the investigation 
develops available evidence to humanize the client in the 
eyes of the jury, reflect the client’s inherent dignity and 
value as a human being, demonstrate the client’s positives 
and provide a basis for demonstrating these matters through 
factually valid narratives and exhibits, rather than merely 
adjectives. The investigation shall focus more broadly than 
identifying the causes of any offending conduct. 

14. After thorough investigation counsel should begin 
selecting and preparing witnesses who will testify, who may 
include but are not limited to: 

a. lay witnesses, or witnesses who are familiar with 
the client or his family, including but not limited to: 
 i. the client’s family and those familiar with the 
client; 
 ii. the client’s friends, teachers, classmates, co-
workers, employers, and those who served in the military 
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with the client, as well as others who are familiar with the 
client’s early and current development and functioning, 
medical history, environmental history, mental health 
history, educational history, employment and training 
history, military experience and religious, racial, and cultural 
experiences and influences upon the client or the client’s 
family; 
 iii. social service and treatment providers to the 
client and the client’s family members, including doctors, 
nurses, other medical staff, social workers, and housing or 
welfare officials; 
 iv. witnesses familiar with the client’s prior 
juvenile and criminal justice and correctional experiences; 
 v. former and current neighbors of the client and 
the client’s family, community members, and others familiar 
with the neighborhoods in which the client lived, including 
the type of housing, the economic status of the community, 
the availability of employment and the prevalence of 
violence; 
 vi. witnesses who can testify about the applicable 
alternative to a death sentence and/or the condition under 
which the alternative sentence would be served; 
 vii. witnesses who can testify about the adverse 
impact of the client’s execution on the client’s family and 
loved ones; 

b. expert witnesses, or witnesses with specialized 
training or experience in a particular subject matter. Such 
experts include, but are not limited to: 
 i. medical doctors, psychiatrists, psychologists, 
toxicologists, pharmacologists, social workers and persons 
with specialized knowledge of medical conditions, mental 
illnesses and impairments; neurological impairment (brain 
damage); substance abuse, physical, emotional and sexual 
maltreatment, trauma and the effects of such factors on the 
client’s development and functioning; 
 ii. anthropologists, sociologists and persons with 
expertise in a particular race, culture, ethnicity, religion; 
 iii. persons with specialized knowledge of specific 
communities or expertise in the effect of environments and 
neighborhoods upon their inhabitants; 
 iv. persons with specialized knowledge about 
gangs and gang culture; and 
 v. persons with specialized knowledge of 
institutional life, either generally or within a specific 
institution, including prison security and adaptation experts. 

15. Counsel should direct team members to aid in 
preparing and gathering demonstrative evidence, such as 
photographs, videotapes and physical objects (e.g., trophies, 
artwork, military medals), and documents that humanize the 
client or portray him positively, such as certificates of earned 
awards, favorable press accounts and letters of praise or 
reference. 

D. Securing the Assistance of Experts 
1. Counsel should secure the assistance of experts 

where appropriate for: 
a. an adequate understanding of the prosecution's 

case and the preparation and presentation of the defense 
including for consultation purposes on areas of specialized 
knowledge or those lying outside counsel’s experience; 

b. rebuttal of any portion of the prosecution's case 
at the guilt or sentencing phase of the trial; 

c. investigation of the client’s competence to 
proceed, capacity to make a knowing and intelligent waiver 
of constitutional rights, mental state at the time of the 
offense, insanity, diminished capacity and competence to be 
executed; and 

d. obtaining an agreed disposition or assisting the 
client make a decision to accept or reject a possible agreed 
disposition. 

2. An expert is retained to assist counsel in the 
provision of high quality legal representation. It is counsel’s 
responsibility to provide high quality legal representation 
and the hiring of an expert, even a well-qualified expert, will 
not be sufficient to discharge this responsibility. Counsel has 
a responsibility to support and supervise the work of an 
expert to ensure that it is adequate and appropriate to the 
circumstances of the case. 

3. When selecting an expert, counsel should consult 
with other attorneys, mitigation specialists, investigators and 
experts regarding the strengths and weaknesses of available 
experts. Counsel should interview experts and examine their 
credentials and experience before hiring them, including 
investigating the existence of any significant impeachment 
that may be offered against the expert and reviewing 
transcripts of the expert’s prior testimony. If counsel 
discovers that a retained expert is unqualified or his opinions 
and testimony will be detrimental to the client, counsel 
should replace the expert and where appropriate, seek other 
expert advice. 

4. When retaining an expert, counsel should provide 
clear information regarding the rate of payment, 
reimbursement of expenses, the method of billing, the timing 
of payment, any cap on professional fees or expenses and 
any other conditions of the agreement to retain. Counsel 
should ensure that the expert is familiar with the rules of 
confidentiality applicable in the circumstances and where 
appropriate, have the expert sign a confidentiality 
agreement. Counsel should monitor the hours of work 
performed and costs incurred by an expert to ensure that the 
expert does not exceed any pre-approved cap and in order to 
certify that the expert’s use of time and expenses was 
appropriate in the circumstances. 

5. Defense counsel should normally not rely on one 
expert to testify on a range of subjects, particularly where 
the witness lacks sufficient expertise in one or more of the 
areas to be canvassed. Counsel should determine whether an 
expert is to be used as a consulting expert or may testify in 
the case and should make appropriate distinctions in 
communications with the expert and disclosure of the 
identity and any report of the expert to the state. Counsel 
should use separate experts in the same field for consultation 
and possible testimony where the circumstances of the case 
make this necessary or appropriate. 

6. Counsel should not simply rely on the opinions of 
an expert, but should seek to become sufficiently educated in 
the field to make a reasoned determination as to whether the 
hired expert is qualified, whether his or her opinion is 
defensible, whether another expert should be hired, and 
ultimately whether the area of investigation should be 
further pursued or abandoned.  

7. Experts assisting in investigation and other 
preparation of the defense should be independent of the
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court, the state and any co-defendants. Expert work product 
should be maintained as confidential to the extent allowed 
by law. Counsel and support staff should use all available 
sources of information to obtain all necessary information 
for experts. Counsel should provide an expert with all 
relevant and necessary information, records, materials, 
access to witnesses and access to the client within sufficient 
time to allow the expert to complete a thorough assessment 
of the material provided, conduct any further investigation, 
formulate an opinion, communicate the opinion to counsel 
and be prepared for any testimony. Ordinarily, counsel 
should not retain an expert until a thorough investigation has 
been undertaken. 

8. Counsel should not seek or rely upon an expert 
opinion in the absence of an adequate factual investigation 
of the matters that may inform or support an expert opinion. 
While an expert may be consulted for guidance even where 
relatively little factual investigation has been completed, 
counsel may not rely upon an expert opinion in limiting the 
scope of investigation, making final decisions about the 
defense theory or determining the matters to be presented to 
any court in the absence of a factual investigation 
sufficiently thorough to ensure that the expert’s opinion is 
fully informed and well supported. Ultimately, it is the 
responsibility of counsel, not the expert, to ensure that all 
relevant material is gathered and submitted to the expert for 
review. 

9. Counsel should ensure that any expert who may 
testify is not exposed to privileged or confidential 
information beyond that which counsel is prepared to have 
disclosed by the witness during his or her testimony. 

E. Development of a Strategic Plan for the Case 
1. During investigation and trial preparation, counsel 

should develop and continually reassess a strategic plan for 
the case. This should include the possible defense theories 
for guilt phase, penalty phase, agreed upon disposition, 
litigation of the case and, where appropriate, litigation of the 
case on appeal and post-conviction review.  

2. The defense theory at trial should be an integrated 
defense theory that will be reinforced by its presentation at 
both the guilt and penalty phase and should minimize any 
inconsistencies between the theories presented at each stage 
and humanize the client as much as possible. Counsel should 
strongly consider, with the consent of the client, forgoing a 
guilt-innocence phase plan that denies the defendant had any 
involvement in the offense and instead attempt to raise 
doubts about whether the offense was a first-degree murder 
(e.g., because of the defendant’s role, mental state or intent).  

3. A strategy for the case should be developed from 
the outset of counsel’s involvement in the case and 
continually updated as the investigation, preparation and 
litigation of the case proceed. Counsel should not make a 
final decision on the defense theory to be pursued at trial or 
foreclose inquiry into any available defense theory until a 
high quality, exhaustive, independent investigation has been 
conducted and the available strategic choices fully 
considered. 

4. However, a defense theory for trial should be 
selected in sufficient time to allow counsel to advance that 
theory during all phases of the trial, including jury selection, 
witness preparation, motions, opening statement, 
presentation of evidence, closing argument and jury 

instructions. Similarly, the defense theory for the post-
verdict, appellate and post-conviction stages of the 
proceedings be selected in sufficient time to allow counsel to 
advance that theory in the substantive filings and hearings in 
the case. 

5. In arriving at a defense theory counsel should 
weigh the positive aspects of the defense theory and also any 
negative effect the theory may have, including opening the 
door to otherwise inadmissible evidence or waiving 
potentially viable claims or defenses. 

6. From the outset of counsel’s involvement in the 
case, a strategic planning document or documents should be 
produced in writing and maintained in the client’s file. The 
strategic planning document should be amended as the 
investigation, preparation and litigation of the case proceed 
to accurately reflect the current theory or theories. The 
strategic planning document should be made available to all 
members of the defense team to assist in coordinating work 
on the case. However, it should remain privileged and not be 
shared with non-team members or any team member or 
expert who may testify. 

7. The current strategic planning document and any 
prior drafts of the document should be maintained in the 
client’s file. The capital case supervisor should be given 
access to the strategic planning document and any prior 
drafts to assist in the supervision and support of the defense 
team. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:58 (January 2015). 
§1909. Performance Standard 4: Agreed Dispositions 

A. Duty of Counsel to Seek an Agreed Disposition 
1. Counsel at every stage of the case have an 

obligation to take all steps that may be appropriate in the 
exercise of professional judgment in accordance with these 
Standards to achieve an agreed-upon disposition. 

2. After interviewing the client and developing a 
thorough knowledge of the law and facts of the case, counsel 
at every stage of the case should explore with the client the 
possibility and desirability of reaching an agreed-upon 
disposition of the charges rather than proceeding to a trial or 
continuing with proceedings seeking judicial or executive 
review. In doing so counsel should fully explain the rights 
that would be waived by a decision to enter a plea or waive 
further review, the possible collateral consequences, and the 
legal factual and contextual considerations that bear upon 
that decision. Counsel should advise the client with complete 
candor concerning all aspects of the case, including a candid 
opinion as to the probable outcome. Counsel should make it 
clear to the client that the ultimate decision to enter a plea of 
guilty or waive further review has to be made by the client. 

3. Counsel should keep the client fully informed of 
any discussions or negotiations for an agreed disposition and 
promptly convey to the client any offers made by the 
prosecution for an agreed disposition. Counsel shall not 
accept or reject any agreed-upon disposition without the 
client's express authorization. 

4. Initial refusals by the prosecutor to negotiate should 
not prevent counsel from making further efforts to negotiate. 
Despite a client’s initial opposition, counsel should engage 
in an ongoing effort to persuade the client to pursue an 
agreed disposition that is in the client’s best interest. 
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Consideration of an agreed disposition should focus on the 
client’s interests, the client’s needs and the client’s 
perspective. 

5. The existence of ongoing negotiations with the 
prosecution does not in any way diminish the obligations of 
defense counsel respecting investigation and litigation. 
Ongoing negotiations should not prevent counsel from 
taking steps necessary to preserve a defense nor should the 
existence of ongoing negotiations prevent or delay counsel's 
investigation into the facts of the case and preparation of the 
case for further proceedings, including trial. 

B. Formal Advice Regarding Agreed Dispositions 
1. Counsel should be aware of, and fully explain to 

the client: 
a. the maximum penalty that may be imposed for 

the charged offense(s) and any possible lesser included or 
alternative offenses, and any mandatory (minimum) 
punishment, sentencing enhancements, habitual offender 
statutes, mandatory consecutive sentence requirements 
including restitution, fines, assessments and court costs; 

b. any collateral consequences of potential penalties 
less than death including but not limited to forfeiture of 
assets, deportation or the denial of naturalization or of 
reentry into the United States, imposition of civil liabilities, 
loss of parental rights, the forfeiture of professional 
licensure, the ineligibility for various government programs 
including student loans, the prohibition from carrying a 
firearm, the suspension of a motor vehicle operator's license, 
the loss of the right to vote, the loss of the right to hold 
public office, potential federal prosecutions, and the use of 
the disposition adverse to the client in penalty phase 
proceedings of other prosecutions of him, as well as any 
direct consequences of potential penalties less than death, 
such as the possibility and likelihood of parole, place of 
confinement and good-time credits; 

c. any registration requirements including sex 
offender registration and job specific notification 
requirements; 

d. the general range of sentences for similar 
offenses committed by defendants with similar backgrounds, 
and the impact of any applicable sentencing guidelines or 
mandatory sentencing requirements including any possible 
and likely sentence enhancements or parole consequences; 

e. the governing legal regime, including but not 
limited to whatever choices the client may have as to the fact 
finder and/or sentence; 

f. available drug rehabilitation programs, 
psychiatric treatment, and health care; 

g. the possible and likely place of confinement; 
h. credit for pretrial detention; 
i. the effect of good-time credits on the client’s 

release date and how those credits are earned and calculated; 
j. eligibility for correctional programs, work release 

and conditional leaves; 
k. deferred sentences, conditional discharges and 

diversion agreements; 
l. probation or suspension of sentence and 

permissible conditions of probation; 
m. parole and post-prison supervision eligibility, 

applicable ranges, and likely post-prison supervision 
conditions; and 

n. possibility of later expungement and sealing of 
records. 

2. Counsel should be completely familiar with, and 
fully explain to the client: 

a. concessions the client may make as part of an 
agreed disposition, including: 
 i. to waive trial and plead guilty to particular 
charges; 
 ii. to decline from asserting or litigating any 
particular pretrial motions; or to forego in whole or in part 
legal remedies such as appeals, motions for post-conviction 
relief, and/or parole or clemency applications. However, the 
client should receive independent legal advice before being 
asked to waive any future claim of ineffective assistance of 
counsel. 
 iii. to proceed to trial on a particular date or within 
a particular time period; 
 iv. to enter an agreement regarding future 
custodial status, such as one to be confined in a more 
onerous category of institution than would otherwise be the 
case, or to fulfill specified restitution conditions and/or 
participation in community work or service programs, or in 
rehabilitation or other programs; 
 v. to provide the prosecution with assistance in 
prosecuting or investigating the present case or other alleged 
criminal activity; 
 vi. to enter an agreement to permit a judge to 
perform functions relative to guilt or sentence that would 
otherwise be performed by a jury or vice versa; 
 vii. to enter an agreement to engage in or refrain 
from any particular conduct, as appropriate to the case; 
 viii. to enter an agreement with the victim’s family, 
which may include matters such as: a meeting between the 
victim’s family and the client, a promise not to publicize or 
profit from the offense, the issuance or delivery of a public 
statement of remorse by the client, or restitution; and 
 ix. to enter agreements such as those described in 
the above subsections respecting actual or potential charges 
in another jurisdiction. 

b. benefits the client might obtain from a negotiated 
settlement, including, but not limited to an agreement: 
 i. that the death penalty will not be sought; 
 ii. to dismiss or reduce one or more of the charged 
offenses either immediately, or upon completion of a 
deferred prosecution agreement; 
 iii. that the client will receive, with the agreement 
of the court, a specified sentence or sanction or a sentence or 
sanction within a specified range; 
 iv. that the client will receive, or the prosecution 
will recommend, specific benefits concerning the accused's 
place and/or manner of confinement and/or release on parole 
and the information concerning the accused's offense and 
alleged behavior that may be considered in determining the 
accused's date of release from incarceration; 
 v. that the client may enter a conditional plea to 
preserve the right to further contest certain legal issues; 
 vi. that the prosecution will not oppose the client's 
release on bail pending sentencing or appeal; 
 vii. that the client will not be subject to further 
investigation or prosecution for uncharged alleged or 
suspected criminal conduct; 
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 viii. that the prosecution will take, or refrain from 
taking, at the time of sentencing and/or in communications 
with the preparer of the official pre-sentence report, a 
specified position with respect to the sanction to be imposed 
on the client by the court; 
 ix. that the prosecution will not present certain 
information, at the time of sentencing and/or in 
communications with the preparer of the official pre-
sentence report, or will engage in or refrain from engaging in 
other actions with regard to sentencing; 
 x. such as those described in Subsections (i)-(ix) 
respecting actual or potential charges in another jurisdiction. 

c. the position of any alleged victim (and victim’s 
family members) with respect to conviction and sentencing. 
In this regard, counsel should: 
 i. consider whether interviewing or outreach to 
an alleged victim (or a victim’s family members) is 
appropriate; 
 ii. consider to what extent the alleged victim or 
victims (or a victim’s family members) might be involved in 
the plea negotiations;  
 iii. be familiar with any rights afforded the alleged 
victim or victims (and a victim’s family members) under La. 
Const. Art I, § 25, R.S. 46:1841 et seq., or other applicable 
law; and 
 iv. be familiar with the practice of the prosecutor 
and/or victim-witness advocate working with the prosecutor 
and to what extent, if any, they defer to the wishes of the 
alleged victim. 

3. In conducting plea negotiations, counsel should be 
familiar with and should fully explain to the client: 

a. the various types of pleas that may be agreed to, 
including a plea of guilty, a nolo contendere plea in which 
the client is not required to personally acknowledge his or 
her guilt (North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970)), and 
a guilty plea conditioned upon reservation of appellate 
review of pre-plea assignments of non-jurisdictional error 
(State v. Crosby, 338 So.2d 584 (La. 1976)); 

b. the advantages and disadvantages of each 
available plea according to the circumstances of the case; 
and 

c. whether any plea agreement is or can be made 
binding on the court and prison and parole authorities, and 
whether the client or the state has a right to appeal the 
conviction and/or sentence and what would happen if an 
appeal was successful. 

4. In conducting plea negotiations, counsel should 
become familiar with and fully explain to the client, the 
practices, policies, and concerns of the particular 
jurisdiction, judge and prosecuting authority, probation 
department, the family of the victim and any other persons 
or entities which may affect the content and likely results of 
plea negotiations. 

5. In conducting plea negotiations counsel should be 
familiar with and fully explain to the client any ongoing 
exposure to prosecution in any other jurisdiction for the 
same or related offending and where possible, seek to fully 
resolve the client’s exposure to prosecution for the offending 
and any related offending. 

C. The Advice and Decision to Enter a Plea of Guilty 
1. Subject to considerations of diminished capacity, 

counsel should abide by the client’s decision, after 
meaningful consultation with counsel, as to a plea to be 
entered.  

2. Counsel should explain all matters relevant to the 
plea decision to the extent reasonably necessary to permit 
the client to make informed decisions regarding the 
appropriate plea. In particular, counsel should investigate 
and explain to the client the prospective strengths and 
weaknesses of the case for the prosecution and defense at 
both guilt and penalty phase and on appellate post-
conviction and habeas corpus review.  

3. Counsel should carefully and thoroughly explore 
the client’s understanding of the matters explained including, 
in particular, the procedural posture of his case, the trial and 
appellate process, the likelihood of success at trial, the likely 
disposition at trial and the practical effect of each 
disposition, the practical effect of each available plea 
decision and counsel’s professional advice on which plea to 
enter. 

4. In providing the client with advice, counsel should 
refer not only to law but to other considerations such as 
moral, economic, social and political factors that may be 
relevant to the client's situation. Counsel may enlist the 
assistance of others to assist in ensuring that the client is able 
to make an informed decision having regard to these 
considerations. 

5. Counsel should pursue every reasonable avenue to 
overcome any barriers to communication and trust in 
discussing a possible agreed disposition. Counsel should 
take all reasonable steps to ensure that the client’s capacity 
to make a decision in his own best interests is not impaired, 
for example, by the effects of mental health, family 
dysfunction or conditions of confinement. 

6. The considerations applicable to the advice and 
decision to enter a plea of guilty will also apply to the 
decision to enter into an agreed disposition in an appellate or 
post-conviction posture. 

D. Entering the Negotiated Plea before the Court 
1. Notwithstanding any earlier discussions with the 

client, prior to the entry of the plea, counsel should meet 
with the client in a confidential setting that fosters full 
communication and: 

a. make certain that the client understands the rights 
he or she will waive by entering the plea and that the client’s 
decision to waive those rights is knowing, voluntary and 
intelligent; 

b. make certain that the client receives a full 
explanation of the conditions and limits of the plea 
agreement and the maximum punishment, sanctions and 
collateral consequences the client will be exposed to by 
entering a plea; 

c. explain to the client the nature of the plea hearing 
and prepare the client for the role he or she will play in the 
hearing, including answering questions of the judge and 
providing a statement concerning the offense; 

d. make certain that if the plea is a non-negotiated 
plea, the client is informed that once the plea has been
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accepted by the court, it may not be withdrawn after the 
sentence has been pronounced by the court; 

e. ensure that the client is mentally competent and 
psychologically capable of making a decision to enter a plea 
of guilty; 

f. be satisfied that the client admits guilt or believes 
there is a substantial likelihood of conviction at trial, and 
believes that it is in his or her best interests to plead guilty 
under the plea agreement rather than risk the consequence of 
conviction after trial; and 

g. be satisfied that the state would likely be able to 
prove the charge(s) against the client at trial. 

2. When entering the plea, counsel should make sure 
that the full content and conditions of the plea agreement are 
placed on the record before the court. 

3. Subsequent to the acceptance of the plea, counsel 
should review and explain the plea proceedings to the client, 
and respond to any questions or concerns the client may 
have. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:63 (January 2015). 
§1911. Performance Standard 5: Pre-Trial Litigation 

A. Obligations regarding Court Hearings 
1. Counsel should prepare for and attend all court 

proceedings involving the client and/or the client’s case. 
Counsel should be present, alert and focused on client’s best 
interests during all stages of the court proceedings. 

2. As soon as possible after entry of counsel into the 
case, counsel should provide general advice to the client on 
how court proceedings will be conducted, how the client 
should conduct himself in court settings, how the client 
should communicate with counsel and others in the court 
setting and how the client should react to events in court. 
Counsel should advise the client on appropriate demeanor 
and presentation in court and take reasonable steps to assist 
the client in maintaining an appropriate demeanor and 
presentation. 

3. Prior to any court hearing, counsel should meet 
with and explain to the client the purpose and procedure to 
be followed at the hearing. Where the client may be directly 
addressed by the court or asked to speak on the record, 
counsel should warn the client in advance and advise the 
client on how to proceed. Counsel should advise the client 
that he has the right to confer with counsel before answering 
any question, even if it means interrupting the proceedings. 

4. Counsel should take all necessary steps to 
overcome any barriers to communication or understanding 
by the client during court proceedings, including the use of 
interpreters, slowing the rate of proceedings, taking adequate 
breaks, using appropriate language and explaining 
proceedings to the client during the hearing. 

5. Counsel should document in the client’s file a 
summary of all pertinent information arising from each court 
hearing and take particular care to memorialize 
communications and events that will not appear in the court 
record or transcript. 

6. Counsel should ensure that the court minutes and 
any transcript accurately reflect the orders, statements and 
events occurring in court and that all exhibits have been 
marked, identified and placed into the record. 

B. Obligations of Counsel Following Arrest 
1. Counsel or a representative of counsel have an 

obligation to meet with incarcerated clients for an initial 
interview within 24 hours of counsel’s initial entry into the 
case, barring exceptional circumstances, and shall take other 
prompt action necessary to provide high quality legal 
representation including: 

a. invoking the protections of appropriate 
constitutional provisions, federal and state laws, statutory 
provisions, and court rules on behalf of a client, and 
revoking any waivers of these protections purportedly given 
by the client, as soon as practicable by correspondence and a 
notice of appearance or other pleading filed with the State 
and court. More specifically, counsel should communicate in 
an appropriate manner with both the client and the 
government regarding the protection of the client’s rights 
against self-incrimination, to the effective assistance of 
counsel, and to preservation of the attorney-client privilege 
and similar safeguards. Counsel at all stages of the case 
should re-advise the client and the government regarding 
these matters as appropriate and assert the client’s right to 
counsel at any post-arrest procedure such as a line-up, 
medical evaluation, psychological evaluation, physical 
testing or the taking of a forensic sample. 

b. where possible, ensuring that capitally certified 
counsel shall represent the client at the first appearance 
hearing conducted under La. C.Cr.P. art. 230.1 in order to 
contest probable cause for a client arrested without an arrest 
warrant, to seek bail on favorable terms (after taking into 
consideration the adverse impact, if any, such efforts may 
have upon exercising the client's right to a full bond hearing 
at a later date), to invoke constitutional and statutory 
protections on behalf of the client, and otherwise advocate 
for the interests of the client.  

2. Prior to indictment, counsel should take steps to 
secure the pretrial release of the client where such steps will 
not jeopardize the client’s ability to defend against any later 
indictment. Where the client is unable to obtain pretrial 
release, counsel should take all reasonable steps to identify 
and ensure that the client’s medical, mental health and 
security needs are being met. 

3. While counsel should only seek to submit evidence 
for the client to the grand jury in exceptional cases, counsel 
should consider in each particular case whether such an 
application is appropriate in the circumstances.  

4. Where counsel is assigned to the case of a capital 
defendant arrested outside of Louisiana, counsel should 
immediately contact any attorney representing the client in 
the jurisdiction of arrest to share information as appropriate 
and coordinate the representation of the client. Where the 
client is not represented in the jurisdiction of arrest, counsel 
should take all reasonable steps to arrange effective 
representation for him. Ordinarily, counsel should travel to 
the jurisdiction of arrest to consult with and provide legal 
advice to the client with respect to the capital case and the 
ramifications for the capital case of waiving or contesting 
extradition. Counsel should conduct the initial interviews 
with the client, the assertion and protection of the client’s 
rights and the investigation of the case, including the 
circumstances of the arrest, in accordance with these 
standards, regardless of whether the client is being held in 
the jurisdiction of arrest or has been extradited to Louisiana. 
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Counsel should not wait for the client to be extradited before 
commencing active representation of the client. 

C. Counsel’s Duties at the Preliminary Hearing 
1. In the absence of exceptional circumstances, 

counsel should move for a preliminary hearing in all pre-
indictment cases. Counsel should move for and attempt to 
secure a preliminary hearing in a timely fashion having 
regard to prosecution practices in the particular jurisdiction 
and the likely timing of any indictment. 

2. While the primary function of the preliminary 
hearing is to ensure that probable cause exists to hold the 
client in custody or under bond obligation, the hearing may 
provide collateral advantages for the client by: creating a 
transcript of cross-examination of state’s witnesses for use as 
an impeachment tool; preserving testimony favorable to the 
client of a witness who may not appear at trial; providing 
discovery of the state’s case; allowing for more effective and 
earlier preparation of a defense; and, persuading the 
prosecution to refuse the charges or accept lesser charges for 
prosecution. 

3. Counsel should conduct as thorough an 
investigation of the case as is possible in the time allowed 
before the preliminary hearing to best inform strategic 
decisions regarding the subpoenaing of witnesses and the 
scope and nature of cross-examination. Counsel should fully 
exercise the rights to subpoena and cross-examine witnesses 
to seek a favorable outcome at the preliminary hearing and 
maximize the collateral advantages to the client of the 
proceedings. 

4. In preparing for the preliminary hearing, the 
attorney should be familiar with: 

a. the elements of each of the offenses alleged; 
b. the requirements for establishing probable cause; 
c. factual information which is available concerning 

the existence of or lack of probable cause; 
d. the tactics of full or partial cross-examination, 

including the potential impact on the admissibility of any 
witness’ testimony if they are later unavailable for trial and 
how to respond to any objection on discovery grounds by 
showing how the question is relevant to probable cause; 

e. additional factual information and impeachment 
evidence that could be discovered by counsel during the 
hearing; and 

f. the subpoena process for obtaining compulsory 
attendance of witnesses at preliminary hearing and the 
necessary steps to be taken in order to obtain a proper 
recordation of the proceedings. 

5. Counsel should not present defense evidence, 
especially the client’s testimony, except in unusual 
circumstances where there is a sound tactical reason that 
overcomes the inadvisability of disclosing the defense case 
at this stage. 

D. Counsel’s Duties at Arraignment 
1. Where possible, capitally certified counsel should 

be assigned prior to arraignment and should represent the 
client at arraignment. 

2. Counsel should preserve the client's rights by 
entering a plea of not guilty in all but the most extraordinary 
circumstances where a sound tactical reason exists for not 
doing so. 

3. If not already done, counsel should assert the 
client’s fifth and sixth amendment rights to silence and to 
counsel and should review with the client the need to remain 
silent. 

4. If not already done, counsel should take all 
reasonable steps to identify and ensure that the client’s 
medical, mental health and security needs are being met. 

E. Counsel’s Duty in Pretrial Release Proceedings 
1. Counsel should be prepared to present to the 

appropriate judicial officer a statement of the factual 
circumstances and the legal criteria supporting release 
pursuant to C.Cr.P. art. 331, and, where appropriate, to make 
a proposal concerning conditions of release. Client’s charged 
with capital crimes remain eligible to be admitted to bail 
even after indictment and counsel should consider and, 
where appropriate, pursue an application to have the client 
admitted to bail. 

2. Counsel should carefully consider the strategic 
benefits or risks of making an application for bail, including 
the timing of any application and any collateral benefits or 
risks that may be associated with a bail application. 

3. Where the client is not able to obtain release under 
the conditions set by the court, counsel should consider 
pursuing modification of the conditions of release under the 
procedures available. 

4. If the court sets conditions of release which require 
the posting of a monetary bond or the posting of real 
property as collateral for release, counsel should make sure 
the client understands the available options and the 
procedures that must be followed in posting such assets. 
Where appropriate, counsel should advise the client and 
others acting in his or her behalf how to properly post such 
assets. 

F. Formal and Informal Discovery 
1. Counsel 
2. Unless: 

a. the precise statutory provision relied upon for the 
charge or indictment, including any aggravating factors that 
may be relied upon by the prosecution to establish first 
degree murder under R.S. 14:30; 

b. any aggravating circumstances that may be relied 
upon by the prosecution in the penalty phase pursuant to La. 
C.Cr.P. art. 905.4; 

c. any written, recorded or oral statement, 
confession or response to interrogation made by or attributed 
to the client. Such discovery should, where possible, include 
a copy of any such confession or statement, the substance of 
any oral confession or statement and details as to when, 
where and to whom the confession or statement was made; 

d. any record of the client’s arrests and convictions 
and those of potential witnesses; 

e. any information, document or tangible thing 
favorable to the client on the issues of guilt or punishment, 
including information relevant for impeachment purposes; 

f. any documents or tangible evidence the state 
intends to use as evidence at trial, including but not limited 
to: all books, papers, documents, data, photographs, tangible 
objects, buildings or places, or copies, descriptions, or other 
representations, or portions thereof, relevant to the case; 

g. any documents or tangible evidence obtained 
from or belonging to the client, including a list of all items 
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seized from the client or from any place under the client’s 
dominion; 

h. any results or reports and underlying data of 
relevant physical or mental examinations, including medical 
records of the victim where relevant, and of scientific tests, 
experiments and comparisons, or copies thereof, intended for 
use at trial or favorable to the client on the issues of guilt or 
punishment; 

i. one half of any DNA sample taken from the 
client; 

j. any successful or unsuccessful out-of-court 
identification procedures undertaken or attempted; 

k. any search warrant applications, including any 
affidavit in support, search warrant and return on search 
warrant; 

l. any other crimes, wrongs or acts that may be 
relied upon by the prosecution in the guilt phase; 

m. any other adjudicated or nonadjudicated conduct 
that may be relied upon by the prosecution in the penalty 
phase; 

n. any victim impact information that may be relied 
upon by the prosecution in the penalty phase, including any 
information favorable to the client regarding the victim or 
victim impact; 

o. any statements of prosecution witnesses, though 
counsel should be particularly sensitive to the effect of any 
reciprocal discovery obligation triggered by such discovery; 

p. any statements of co-conspirators; 
q. any confessions and inculpatory statements of co-

defendant(s) intended to be used at trial, and any exculpatory 
statements; and 

r. any understanding or agreement, implicit or 
explicit, between any state actor and any witness as to 
consideration or potential favors in exchange for testimony, 
including any memorandum of understanding with a 
prisoner who may seek a sentence reduction. 

3. Counsel should ensure that discovery requests 
extend to information and material in the possession of 
others acting on the government's behalf in the case, 
including law enforcement. This is particularly important 
where the investigation involved more than one law 
enforcement agency or law enforcement personnel from 
multiple jurisdictions. 

4. Counsel should take all available steps to ensure 
that prosecutors comply with their ethical obligations to 
disclose favorable information contained in rule 3.8(d) of the 
Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct. 

5. Counsel should ensure that discovery requests 
extend to any discoverable material contained in memoranda 
or other internal state documents made by the district 
attorney or by agents of the state in connection with the 
investigation or prosecution of the case; or of statements 
made by witnesses or prospective witnesses, other than the 
client, to the district attorney, or to agents of the state. 

6. Counsel should not limit discovery requests to 
those matters the law clearly requires the prosecution to 
disclose but should also request and seek to obtain other 
relevant information and material. 

7. When appropriate, counsel should request open file 
discovery. Where open file discovery is granted, counsel 
should ensure that the full nature, extent and limitations of 
the open file discovery policy are placed on the court record. 

Where inspection of prosecution or law enforcement files is 
permitted, counsel should make a detailed and complete list 
of the materials reviewed and file this list into the court 
record. 

8. Counsel should seek the timely production and 
preservation of discoverable information, documents or 
tangible things likely to become unavailable unless special 
measures are taken. If counsel believes the state may destroy 
or consume in testing evidence that is significant to the case 
(e.g., rough notes of law enforcement interviews, 911 tapes, 
drugs, or biological or forensic evidence like blood or urine 
samples), counsel should also file a motion to preserve 
evidence in the event that it is or may become discoverable. 

9. Counsel should establish a thorough and reliable 
system of documenting all requests for discovery and all 
items provided in discovery, including the date of request 
and the date of receipt. This system should allow counsel to 
identify and prove, if necessary, the source of all 
information, documents and material received in discovery, 
when they were provided and under what circumstances. 
This system should allow counsel to identify and prove, 
where necessary, that any particular piece of information, 
document or material had not previously been provided in 
discovery. 

10. Counsel should scrupulously examine all material 
received as soon as possible to identify and document the 
material received, to identify any materials that may be 
missing, illegible or unusable and to determine further areas 
of investigation or discovery. Where access is given to 
documents, objects or other materials counsel should 
promptly and scrupulously conduct an inspection of these 
items and carefully document the condition and contents of 
the items, using photographic or audio-visual means when 
appropriate. Expert assistance should be utilized where 
appropriate to ensure that a full and informed inspection of 
the items is conducted. Where a reproduction of an original 
document or item is provided (including photocopies, 
transcripts, photographs, audio or video depictions) counsel 
should promptly and scrupulously inspect and document the 
original items in order to ensure the accuracy of the 
reproduction provided and to identify any additional 
information available from inspection of the original that 
may not be available from the reproduction. 

11. Counsel should file with the court an inventory of 
all materials received or inspected in discovery. This 
inventory should be sufficiently detailed to identify precisely 
each piece of information, document or thing received 
including, for example, how many pages a document 
contained and any pages that may have been missing. 

12. Unless strong strategic considerations dictate 
otherwise, counsel should ensure that all discovery requests 
are made in a form that will allow counsel to enforce the 
requests to the extent possible and to seek the imposition of 
sanctions for non-compliance. Counsel should seek prompt 
compliance with discovery demands.  

13. Where the state asserts that requested information is 
not discoverable, counsel should, where appropriate, request 
an in camera inspection of the material and seek to have the 
withheld material preserved in the record under seal. 
Counsel should recognize that a judge undertaking in camera 
review may not have sufficient understanding of the possible 
basis for disclosure, especially the ways in which 
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information may be favorable to defense in the particular 
case. Where in camera review is undertaken, counsel should 
take all available steps to ensure that the judge is sufficiently 
informed to make an accurate assessment of the information, 
including through the use of ex parte and under seal proffer, 
where appropriate and permissible. 

14. Counsel should timely comply with requirements 
governing disclosure of evidence by the defendant and 
notice of defenses and expert witnesses. Counsel also should 
be aware of the possible sanctions for failure to comply with 
those requirements. Unless justified by strategic 
considerations, counsel should not disclose any matter or 
thing not required by law and should seek to limit both the 
scope and timing of any defense discovery. Counsel should 
take all reasonable steps to prevent the prosecution from 
obtaining private or confidential information concerning the 
client, including matters such as medical, mental health, 
social services, juvenile court, educational and financial 
information. 

15. Counsel should understand the law governing the 
prosecution’s power to require a defendant to provide non-
testimonial evidence (such as handwriting exemplars, 
lineups, photo show-ups, voice identifications, and physical 
specimens like blood, semen, and urine), the circumstances 
in which a defendant may refuse to do so, the extent to 
which counsel may participate in the proceedings, and the 
required preservation of the record. Counsel should raise 
appropriate objections to requests for non-testimonial 
evidence and should insist on appropriate safeguards when 
these procedures are to occur. Counsel should also prepare 
the client for participation in such procedures. Counsel 
should accompany the client, insist that the police not 
require the client to answer any questions and, if necessary, 
return to court before complying with the order. 

G. The Duty to File Pretrial Motions 
1. Counsel at every stage of the case, exercising 

professional judgment in accordance with these Standards 
should consider all legal and factual claims potentially 
available, including all good faith arguments for an 
extension, modification or reversal of existing law. Counsel 
should thoroughly investigate the basis for each potential 
claim before reaching a conclusion as to whether it should 
be asserted. 

2. Counsel should give consideration to the full range 
of motions and other pleadings available and pertinent to a 
capital case when determining the motions to be filed in the 
particular case, including motions to proceed ex parte. 
Counsel should file motions tailored to the individual case 
that provide the court with all necessary information, rather 
than pro forma or boilerplate motions. The requirement that 
counsel file motions tailored to the individual case is not a 
prohibition against also filing motions that raise previously 
identified legal issues, nor is it a prohibition on the filing of 
boilerplate motions where no tailoring of the motion is 
necessary or appropriate in the case. 

3. The decision to file pretrial motions and 
memoranda should be made after considering the applicable 
law in light of the circumstances of each case. Each potential 
claim should be evaluated in light of: 

a. the unique characteristics of death penalty law 
and practice; 

b. the potential impact of any pretrial motion or 
ruling on the strategy for the penalty phase; 

c. the near certainty that all available avenues of 
appellate and post-conviction relief will be pursued in the 
event of conviction and imposition of a death sentence; 

d. the importance of protecting the client’s rights 
against later contentions by the government that the claim 
has been waived, defaulted, not exhausted, or otherwise 
forfeited; 

e. the significant limitations placed upon factual 
development of claims in subsequent stages of the case; and 

f.  any other professionally appropriate costs and 
benefits to the assertion of the claim. 

4. Among the issues that counsel should consider 
addressing in pretrial motions practice are: 

a. matters potentially developed in early stages of 
investigation, including: 
 i. the pretrial custody of the accused; 
 ii. the need for appropriate, ongoing and 
confidential access to the client by counsel, investigators, 
mitigation specialists and experts; 
 iii. the need for a preliminary hearing, including a 
post-indictment preliminary hearing; 
 iv. the statutory, constitutional and ethical 
discovery obligations including the reciprocal discovery 
obligations of the defense; 
 v. the need for and adequacy of a bill of 
particulars; 
 vi. the need for and adequacy of notice of other 
crimes or bad acts to be admitted in the guilt or penalty 
phase of trial; 
 vii. the need for and adequacy of notice of any 
victim impact evidence; 
 viii. the preservation of and provision of unimpeded 
access to evidence and witnesses; 
 ix. the use of compulsory process to complete an 
adequate investigation, including the possible use of special 
process servers; 
 x. the prevention or modification of any 
investigative or procedural step proposed by the state that 
violates any right, duty or privilege arising out of federal 
state or local law or is contrary to the interests of the client; 
 xi. access to experts or resources which may be 
denied to an accused because of his indigence; 
 xii. the defendant’s right to a speedy trial; 
 xiii. the defendant’s right to a continuance in order 
to adequately prepare his or her case; 
 xiv. the need for a change of venue; 
 xv. the need to obtain a gag order; 
 xvi. the need to receive notice of and be present at 
hearings involving co-defendants and to receive copies of 
pleadings filed by any co-defendant; 
 xvii. the dismissal of a charge on double jeopardy 
grounds; 
 xviii. the recusal of the trail judge, the prosecutor 
and/or prosecutor’s office; 
 xix. competency of the client; 
 xx. intellectual disability; 
 xxi. the nature, scope and circumstances of any 
testing or assessment of the client; 
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 xxii. extension of any motions filing deadline or the 
entitlement to file motions after the expiration of a motions 
deadline; and 
 xxiii. requiring the state to respond to motions in 
writing; 

b. matters likely to be more fully developed after 
comprehensive discovery, including: 
 i. the constitutionality of the implicated statute or 
statutes, including the constitutionality of the death penalty 
or the proposed method of execution; 
 ii. the potential defects in the grand jury 
composition, the charging process or the allotment; 
 iii. the sufficiency of the charging document under 
all applicable statutory and constitutional provisions, as well 
as other defects in the charging document such as surplusage 
in the document which may be prejudicial; 
 iv. any basis upon which the indictment may be 
quashed; 
 v. the adequacy and constitutionality of any 
aggravating factors or circumstances; 
 vi. the propriety and prejudice of any joinder of 
charges or defendants in the charging document; 
 vii. the permissible scope and nature of evidence 
that may be offered by the prosecution in aggravation of 
penalty or by the defense in mitigation of penalty; 
 viii. the constitutionality of the death penalty both 
generally and as applied in Louisiana; 
 ix. abuse of prosecutorial discretion in seeking the 
death penalty; 
 x. the suppression of evidence or statements 
gathered or presented in violation of the Fourth, Fifth or 
Sixth Amendments to the United States Constitution, or 
corresponding state constitutional and statutory provisions; 
 xi. suppression of evidence or statements gathered 
in violation of any right, duty or privilege arising out of state 
or local law; 
 xii. the admissibility of evidence other crimes, 
wrongs or acts that may be relied upon by the prosecution in 
the guilt phase; 
 xiii.  the admissibility of any unrelated criminal 
conduct that may be relied upon by the prosecution in the 
penalty phase; 
 xiv. the suppression of a prior conviction obtained 
in violation of the defendant’s right to counsel; 
 xv. notices of affirmative defenses with all 
required information included; and 
 xvi. notices necessary to entitle the client to present 
particular forms of evidence at trial, such as alibi notice and 
notice of intention to rely upon mental health evidence; 

c. matters likely arising later in pretrial litigation 
and in anticipation of trial, including: 
 i. in-limine motions to exclude evidence that is 
inadmissible as a result of a lack of relevance, probative 
force being outweighed by prejudicial effect, the lack of a 
necessary foundation, failure to satisfy the threshold for 
expert evidence or for other reasons; 
 ii. the constitutionality of the scope of and any 
limitations placed upon any affirmative defense or the use of 
a particular form of favorable evidence; 
 iii. the competency of a particular witness or class 
of witnesses; 

 iv. the nature and scope of victim impact 
evidence; 
 v. in limine motions to prevent prosecutorial 
misconduct or motions to halt or mitigate the effects of 
prosecutorial misconduct; 
 vi. matters of trial evidence or procedure at either 
phase of the trial which may be appropriately litigated by 
means of a pretrial motion in limine; 
 vii. matters of trial or courtroom procedure, 
including: recordation of all proceedings, including bench 
and chambers conferences; timing and duration of hearings; 
prohibition of ex parte communications; manner of 
objections; ensuring the client’s presence at hearings; 
medication of the client; avoiding prejudice arising from any 
security measures; 
 viii. challenges to the process of establishing the 
jury venire; 
 ix. the use of a jury questionnaire; 
 x. the manner and scope of voir dire, the use of 
cause and peremptory challenges and the management of 
sequestration; 
 xi. the desirability and circumstances of the jury 
viewing any scene; and 
 xii. the instructions to be delivered at guilt and 
penalty phase. 

5. Counsel should withdraw or decide not to file a 
motion only after careful consideration, and only after 
determining whether the filing of a motion may be necessary 
to protect the client’s rights, including later claims of waiver 
or procedural default. In making this decision, counsel 
should remember that a motion has many objectives in 
addition to the ultimate relief requested by the motion. 
Counsel thus should consider whether: 

a. the time deadline for filing pretrial motions 
warrants filing a motion to preserve the client’s rights, 
pending the results of further investigation; 

b. changes in the governing law might occur after 
the filing deadline which could enhance the likelihood that 
relief ought to be granted; and 

c. later changes in the strategic and tactical posture 
of the defense case may occur which affect the significance 
of potential pretrial motions. 

6. Counsel should timely file motions according to the 
applicable rules and case law, provide notice of an intention 
to file more motions where appropriate, reserve the right to 
supplement motions once discovery has been completed, 
offer good cause and seek to file appropriate motions out of 
time and seek to file necessary and appropriate motions out 
of time even where good cause for delay is not available. If 
counsel needs more time to file a motion, counsel should 
request more time.  

7. Counsel should give careful consideration before 
joining in co-defendants’ motions and should avoid any 
possibility that the client will be deemed to have joined in a 
co-defendant’s motions without a knowing, affirmative 
adoption of the motions by counsel. 

8. As a part of the strategic plan for the case, counsel 
should maintain a document describing the litigation theory 
in the case, including a list of all motions considered for 
filing and the reason for filing or not filing each motion 
considered. The litigation theory document should also detail
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the timing and disposition of all motions. The current 
litigation theory document and any prior drafts of the 
document should be maintained in the client’s file. The 
capital case supervisor should be given access to the 
litigation theory document and any prior drafts to assist in 
the supervision and support of the defense team. 

H. Preparing, Filing, and Arguing Pretrial Motions 
1. Motions should be filed in a timely manner, should 

comport with the formal requirements of the court rules and 
should succinctly inform the court of the authority relied 
upon. Counsel should seek an evidentiary hearing for any 
motion in which factual findings or the presentation of 
evidence would be in the client’s interests. Where an 
evidentiary hearing is denied, counsel should make a proffer 
of the proposed evidence. 

2. When a hearing on a motion requires the taking of 
evidence, counsel's preparation for the evidentiary hearing 
should include: 

a. factual investigation and discovery as well as 
careful research of appropriate case law relevant to the claim 
advanced; 

b. the subpoenaing of all helpful evidence and the 
subpoenaing and preparation of all helpful witnesses; 

c. full understanding of the burdens of proof, 
evidentiary principles and trial court procedures applying to 
the hearing, including the benefits and potential 
consequences of having the client and other defense 
witnesses testify; 

d. familiarity with all applicable procedures for 
obtaining evidentiary hearings prior to trial; 

e. obtaining the assistance of expert witnesses 
where appropriate and necessary; 

f. careful preparation of any witnesses who are 
called, especially the client; 

g. careful preparation for and conduct of 
examination or cross-examination of any witness, having 
particular regard to the possibility that the state may later 
seek to rely upon the transcript of the evidence should the 
witness become unavailable; 

h. consideration of any collateral benefits or 
disadvantages that may arise from the evidentiary hearing; 

i. obtaining stipulation of facts by and between 
counsel, where appropriate; and 

j. preparation and submission of a memorandum of 
law where appropriate. 

3. When asserting a legal claim, counsel should 
present the claim as forcefully as possible, tailoring the 
presentation to the particular facts and circumstances in the 
client’s case and the applicable law in the particular 
jurisdiction. Counsel should pursue good faith arguments for 
an extension, modification or reversal of existing law. 

4. Counsel should ensure that a full record is made of 
all legal proceedings in connection with the claim. If a 
hearing on a pretrial motion is held in advance of trial, 
counsel should obtain the transcript of the hearing where it 
may be of assistance in preparation for or use at trial. 

5. In filing, scheduling, contesting or consenting to 
any pretrial motion, including scheduling orders, counsel 
should be aware of the effect it might have upon the client’s 
statutory and constitutional speedy trial rights. 

I. Continuing Duty to File Motions 
1. Counsel at all stages of the case should be prepared 

to raise during subsequent proceedings any issue which is 
appropriately raised at an earlier time or stage, but could not 
have been so raised because the facts supporting the motion 
were unknown or not reasonably available. 

2. Further, counsel should be prepared to renew a 
motion or supplement claims previously made with 
additional factual or legal information if new supporting 
information is disclosed or made available in later 
proceedings, discovery or investigation. 

3. Where counsel has failed to timely provide a 
required notice or file a motion, counsel should seek to file 
the motion or notice out of time regardless of whether good 
cause exists for the earlier failure to file and be prepared to 
present any argument for good cause that is available. Where 
a court bars a notice or motion as untimely, counsel should 
ensure that a copy of the notice or motion is maintained in 
the record and available for any subsequent review. 

4. Counsel should also renew pretrial motions and 
object to the admission of challenged evidence at trial as 
necessary to preserve the motions and objections for 
appellate review. 

5. Counsel shall have the discretion to assist 
incarcerated clients seeking redress of institutional 
grievances or responding to institutional proceedings and 
should do so where the resolution of the grievance or 
proceeding is likely to be of significance in the capital 
proceeding. 

J. Duty to File and Respond to Supervisory Writ 
Applications 

1. Where appropriate, counsel should make 
application for supervisory writs in the Circuit Court of 
Appeal or the Louisiana Supreme Court following an 
adverse district court ruling or failure to rule. Counsel 
should give specific consideration to: the extent to which 
relief is more likely in an interlocutory posture or after a 
final decision on the merits of the case; the extent of 
prejudice from the ruling of the district court and the likely 
ability to demonstrate that prejudice following a final 
decision on the merits of the case; the impact of the district 
court’s current ruling on the conduct of the defense in the 
absence of intervention by a reviewing court; the impact of a 
ruling by a reviewing court in a writ posture on any 
subsequent review on direct appeal; the adequacy of the 
record created in the district court and whether the record for 
review may be improved through further district court 
proceedings. 

2. Counsel should seek expedited consideration or a 
stay where appropriate and consider the simultaneous filing 
of writ applications in the Court of Appeal and Supreme 
Court in emergency circumstances. 

3. Counsel should take great care to ensure that all 
filings in the Courts of Appeal and the Louisiana Supreme 
Court comply with the requirement of the relevant rules of 
Court, including any local rules. 

4. Counsel should ensure that an adequate record is 
created in the district court to justify and encourage the 
exercise of the supervisory jurisdiction of the Courts of 
Appeal or Louisiana Supreme Court. 
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5. Counsel should seek to respond to any state 
application for supervisory writs except where exceptional 
circumstances justify the choice not to respond.  

6. A lack of adequate time, resources or expertise is 
not an adequate reason for failing to make application for 
supervisory writs or failing to respond to a state application. 
Where counsel lacks adequate time, resources or expertise, 
counsel should take all available steps to ensure that the 
defense team has sufficient time, resources and expertise, 
including advising the capital case supervisor of the situation 
and seeking assignment of additional counsel. Counsel shall 
ensure that the role of lack of time or resources upon the 
decision to file a writ application is reflected in the record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:66 (January 2015). 
§1913. Performance Standard 6: Special Circumstances 

A. Duties of Counsel at Re-trial 
1. The standards for trial level representation apply 

fully to counsel assigned to represent a client at a re-trial of 
the guilt or penalty phase. Counsel should be careful to 
clarify on the record the status of prior rulings made and 
orders issued in the proceedings. Where appropriate, counsel 
should seek to renew and re-litigate pre-trial claims, and to 
raise any new claims which have developed or been 
discovered since the first trial. Counsel should not rely on 
the investigation or presentation of evidence from the first 
trial, but rather should start anew and seek to develop and 
present all available evidence, with the knowledge gained 
from the results of the first trial. Except in circumstances 
where counsel has substantial reason to believe the results 
will be different or no other witnesses are available, counsel 
should not present witnesses who provided unhelpful 
testimony earlier in the case. 

B. Continuing Responsibility to Raise Issue of Client’s 
Incompetence 

1. Competence is far more likely to be present as an 
issue in a capital case than a non-capital case due to the high 
prevalence of mental illness and impaired reasoning in the 
population of capital clients and the increased likelihood of 
incompetence due to the nature of the charge, the complexity 
of the case and the gravity of the decisions with which the 
client is faced. As a result, counsel should proceed with 
increased sensitivity to the question of competency and 
ensure that the defense team has members with sufficient 
skill and experience to identify and respond to issues relating 
to competency. 

2. Counsel should be sensitive to the increased risk in 
a capital case that given the nature of the charge, the 
complexity of capital cases and the life and death stakes of 
the case a client may not sufficiently understand and 
appreciate: the nature of the charge and its seriousness; the 
defenses available at guilt and penalty phase and how each 
affects the other; the consequences of each available plea on 
both guilt and penalty phase; and, the range of possible 
verdicts and the consequences of those verdicts at guilt and 
penalty phase.  

3. In considering the client’s ability to assist counsel 
in a capital case, counsel should have particular regard to the 
requirement that the client be able to assist counsel not only 
as to the guilt phase but in the development of the mitigation 
case and the presentation of the penalty phase case; a 

process that will include an exhaustive investigation of the 
client’s character, history, record, the offense and other 
factors which may provide a basis for a sentence less than 
death. The possibility of a death sentence and the necessity 
to prepare for and present a penalty phase case greatly 
increase the complexity and weight of the demands placed 
upon the client in assisting counsel, including considerations 
of whether the client: is able to recall and relate facts 
pertaining to his actions and whereabouts at certain times; is 
able to maintain a consistent defense; is able to listen to the 
testimony of witnesses and inform counsel of any distortions 
or misstatements; has the ability to make simple decisions in 
response to well explained alternatives; is capable of 
testifying in his own defense; and, is apt to suffer a 
deterioration of his mental condition under the stress of trial 
or at a later stage of the case. 

4. Counsel involved in a capital case at stages 
following the trial should be alert to additional concerns 
regarding the client’s mental state, functioning and ability 
including existing issues that could be exacerbated by the 
reality that a death sentence has been imposed, that an 
execution date is approaching, as well as by the effects of 
confinement, particularly prolonged confinement, on death 
row, such as the development or progression of depression 
or other mental illnesses. Similarly, counsel at later stages 
should have particular regard to issues such as the client’s 
ability to establish relationships with new counsel at later 
stages in the case, especially where earlier relationships were 
difficult for the client, and the client’s ability to assist 
counsel with tasks such as investigations taking place years 
after the trial when deficiencies such as memory loss may 
become more pervasive. 

5. In every capital case, counsel should conduct a 
thorough, sensitive and ongoing inquiry into the competence 
of the client. Where concerns exist about a client’s 
competence, counsel should ensure that the defense team 
documents in the client’s file observations and interactions 
relevant to the client’s competence. 

6. Recognizing that raising competency may expose 
the client himself and otherwise confidential information to 
state actors, counsel should not raise competency unless 
satisfied that: a sufficient investigation has been conducted 
to make a reliable strategic decision in this regard; the client 
is likely not competent; and, the benefits to the client of 
raising competency outweigh the negatives. Counsel should 
consider the possibility that any information disclosed in 
competency proceedings will become admissible at trial as a 
result of the client’s mental health being placed in issue. 

7. In considering whether to raise competence, 
counsel should take into account all relevant circumstances, 
including: the likely outcome of an assessment by a sanity 
commission; the likely outcome of an assessment by a state 
expert; any negative findings, including malingering 
findings, that may arise from an assessment of the client; any 
negative information that may be divulged to the state from 
a review of records; any waiver of confidentiality arising 
from raising competence; the impact upon counsel’s 
relationship with the client and his family of raising 
competence; the impact of raising competence before or 
during trial on any subsequent guilt or penalty phase 
presentation; and, the effect on any subsequently available 
claim that the client was incompetent. 
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8. The delay caused by raising a question of 
competence with the court is not a proper reason for raising 
competence. Seeking to defray defense costs by having a 
court appointed mental health examination is not a proper 
reason for raising competence. 

9. Prior to raising competence with the court, counsel 
should consult with a defense mental health expert, 
including having the expert review the available information 
and records relating to the client and, where appropriate, 
assessing the client. 

10. Counsel should fully advise the client concerning 
the procedures for mental examinations, the reasons 
competence is in question, the possibility of hospitalization, 
and the consequences of an incompetency determination. 

11. Where the court or the state raises the issue of 
competency, counsel should consider whether it is 
appropriate to resist any competency examination or advise 
the client not to cooperate with any such examination. 

12. Where a sanity commission is appointed, counsel 
should ensure that the members of the sanity commission are 
independent and appropriately qualified. Counsel should 
ensure that the scope of any examination is limited to the 
proper purposes for which it has been ordered. Counsel 
should consider seeking to be present, have a defense expert 
present or have recorded any examination of the client. 
Counsel should consider which records and witnesses, if 
any, should be identified and made available to the sanity 
commission. 

13. Where the state seeks an examination of the client 
by a physician or mental health expert of the state’s choice, 
counsel should consider opposing or seeking to limit such an 
examination and should also consider whether to advise the 
client not to cooperate with any such examination. Counsel 
should ensure that the scope of any examination is limited to 
the proper purposes for which it has been ordered. Counsel 
should consider seeking to be present, have a defense expert 
present or have recorded any examination of the client. 
Counsel should consider which records and witnesses, if 
any, should be identified and made available to the state’s 
expert. 

14. Counsel should obtain copies of: each examiner’s 
report, all underlying notes and test materials; and, all 
records and materials reviewed. Where the client is 
hospitalized or otherwise placed under observation, counsel 
should obtain copies of all records of the hospitalization or 
observation. 

15. Counsel should not stipulate to the client’s 
competence where there appears a reasonable possibility that 
the client is not competent. Counsel is not obligated to 
develop frivolous arguments in favor of incompetency but 
must investigate and advocate in a way that ensures that 
there is meaningful adversarial testing where there is a good 
faith basis to doubt the client’s competency. 

16. At the competency hearing, counsel should protect 
and exercise the client's constitutional and statutory rights, 
including cross-examining the sanity commissioners and the 
state's witnesses, calling witnesses on behalf of the client 
including experts, and making appropriate evidentiary 
objections. Counsel should make sure that the inquiry does 
not stray beyond the appropriate boundaries. Counsel should 
consider the advantages and disadvantages to the client’s 

whole case when determining how to conduct the 
competency hearing. 

17. Counsel may elect to relate to the court personal 
observations of and conversations with the client to the 
extent that counsel does not disclose client confidences. 
Counsel may respond to inquiries about the attorney-client 
relationship and the client's ability to communicate 
effectively with counsel to the extent that such responses do 
not disclose the confidential or privileged information. 

18. If a client is found to be incompetent, counsel 
should advocate for the least restrictive level of supervision 
and the least intrusive treatment. 

19. Where competency is at issue, or where the client 
has been found incompetent, counsel has a continuing duty 
to investigate and prepare the case. Where a client has been 
found unrestorably incompetent, counsel should continue to 
investigate and prepare the case sufficiently to ensure that 
the client will not be prejudiced by any delay or hiatus in the 
preparation of the case should he subsequently be returned to 
competence and the prosecution resumed. 

20. Where a capital client is found incompetent or 
unrestorably incompetent, capitally certified counsel should 
remain responsible for all competency reviews. 

21. A previously competent client may become 
incompetent over the course of a case and particularly under 
the stress of hearings and trial. Counsel should be vigilant 
and constantly reassess the client’s competence and be 
prepared to raise the matter when appropriate. It is never 
untimely to raise a question concerning a client’s 
competence. 

22. Some clients object strenuously to taking 
psychotropic medication and counsel may be called upon to 
advocate for protection of the client’s qualified right to 
refuse medication. 

C. Duties of Counsel When Client Attempts to Waive 
Right to Counsel, and Duties of Standby and Hybrid 
Counsel 

1. When a client expresses a desire to waive the right 
to counsel, counsel should take steps to protect the client’s 
interests, to avoid conflicts and to ensure that the client 
makes a knowing, voluntary and intelligent decision in 
exercise of his rights under the Sixth Amendment and La. 
Const. art. I, § 13. In particular, counsel should: 

a. meet with the client as soon as possible to discuss 
the reasons the client wishes to proceed pro se and to advise 
the client of the many disadvantages of proceeding pro se. 
Such advice should include: the full nature of the charges; 
the range of punishments; the possible defenses; the role of 
mitigation prior to and at trial; the complexities involved and 
the rights and interests at stake;, and the client’s capacity to 
perform the role of defense attorney. Such advice should 
also include an explanation of the stages of appellate, post-
conviction and habeas corpus review of any conviction or 
sentence, the effect of failing to effectively preserve issues 
for review and the impact of waiver of counsel on any 
possible ineffective assistance of counsel claim. 

b. if the client maintains an intention or inclination 
to waive counsel, counsel should immediately inform the 
capital case coordinator of the client’s desire and should 
request that the capital case coordinator assign independent 
counsel to advise the client. The capital case coordinator 
shall immediately assign at least one attorney certified as 
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lead counsel to consult with the defendant and provide 
independent advice on the exercise of his Sixth Amendment 
rights. The role of independent counsel in this situation is 
not to represent the client in the exercise of his Sixth 
Amendment rights but instead to ensure that the client 
receives full and independent legal advice before choosing 
whether to waive his right to counsel. 

c.  in addition to seeking the assignment of 
independent counsel, counsel assigned to represent the 
defendant should immediately commence a thorough 
investigation into the question of the defendant’s 
competence to waive counsel and whether, in the 
circumstances, any such waiver would be knowing, 
voluntary and intelligent. Such an investigation should not 
be limited to information obtained from interaction with the 
client but should include a detailed examination of available 
collateral sources (including documents and witnesses) as 
well as consultation with relevant experts. 

2. Where a client asserts his right to self-
representation counsel has an obligation both to investigate 
the question of the client’s competence and the quality of the 
purported waiver and to bring before the court evidence 
raising doubts about these matters. Counsel should submit 
the case for the client’s competent, knowing, voluntary and 
intelligent waiver to full adversarial testing. Counsel is not 
obligated to develop frivolous arguments in favor of 
incompetency but must investigate and advocate in a way 
that ensures that there is meaningful adversarial testing of 
the question of the waiver of representation by counsel. 
Counsel remains responsible for the representation of the 
client until such a time as the court grants the client’s motion 
to proceed pro se and must continue to perform in 
compliance with the Capital Guidelines and Performance 
Standards. Where appropriate, counsel should object to a 
court’s ruling accepting a waiver of counsel, should ensure 
that the issue is preserved for appellate review and should 
seek interlocutory review of the decision. 

3. Where a capital defendant has been permitted to 
proceed pro se, counsel should move for the appointment of 
standby counsel and should seek to persuade the defendant 
to accept the services of standby counsel. The court may 
appoint stand by counsel over the defendant’s objection and 
counsel should ordinarily accept such an appointment. The 
court may place constraints on the role of standby counsel 
and standby counsel should object to any constraints beyond 
those required by the Sixth Amendment. Where the quality 
of the defendant’s relationship with counsel assigned to 
represent the defendant is such that his or her ability to serve 
as standby counsel would be significantly impaired, the 
capital coordinator may assign additional counsel and urge 
the court to appoint such additional counsel as are assigned 
to the role of standby counsel. 

4. Attorneys acting as standby counsel shall comply 
with the Guidelines and Performance Standards for capital 
defense to the extent possible within the limitations of their 
role as standby counsel. Counsel shall not accept 
appointment as standby counsel unless certified as lead trial 
counsel or certified as associate trial counsel where certified 
lead trial counsel is also appointed. Counsel appointed as 
standby counsel shall be entitled to be remunerated and to 
have their expenses met in the same manner and to the same 

extent as they would if assigned to represent a defendant 
who was not proceeding pro se. 

5. With the defendant’s consent, and subject to any 
prohibition imposed by the court, standby counsel may 
perform any role in the case that counsel would ordinarily 
perform whether in front of or in the absence of the jury. 

6. In the absence of his consent to do otherwise, a pro 
se defendant must be allowed to preserve actual control over 
the case he chooses to present to the jury and is entitled to 
ensure that the jury’s perception that he is representing 
himself is preserved. Accordingly, a defendant must be 
allowed to control the organization and content of his own 
defense, to make motions, to argue points of law, to 
participate in voir dire, to question witnesses, and to address 
the court and the jury at appropriate points in the trial. 

7.  Where the defendant does not consent to the 
actions of standby counsel, the permissible conduct of 
standby counsel is different depending on whether the jury is 
present, the issue is raised solely before a judge or the action 
is taken entirely out of court. 

a. Where the defendant does not consent to the 
actions of standby counsel, counsel must not in the presence 
of the jury make or substantially interfere with any 
significant tactical decisions, control the questioning of 
witnesses or speak instead of the defendant on any matter of 
importance. Participation by counsel to steer a defendant 
through the basic procedures of trial is, however, 
permissible. Standby counsel should assist the pro se 
defendant in overcoming routine procedural or evidentiary 
obstacles to the completion of some specific task, such as 
introducing evidence or objecting to testimony, that the 
defendant has clearly shown he wishes to complete. Counsel 
should also assist to ensure the defendant’s compliance with 
basic rules of courtroom protocol and procedure. 

b. Counsel’s participation outside the presence of 
the jury is far less constrained. Even without the consent of 
the defendant, counsel may proactively participate in 
proceedings outside of the presence of the jury as long as the 
pro se defendant is allowed to address the court freely on his 
own behalf and disagreements between counsel and the pro 
se defendant are resolved by the judge in the defendant's 
favor whenever the matter is one that would normally be left 
to the discretion of counsel. Counsel should, in the absence 
of the jury, take such actions in the case as are consistent 
with the best interests of the client, including making any 
objections, and motions as would be consistent with high 
quality representation of the defendant. 

8. Where it appears to standby counsel during the 
course of the proceedings that the decision to permit the 
defendant to proceed pro se or any decision to constrain the 
role of standby counsel should be revisited, counsel should 
move for reconsideration of those decisions. 

9. Without interfering with the defendant’s right to 
present his case in his own way, standby counsel should 
continue to fully prepare the case in order to be ready to 
assume responsibility for the representation of the defendant 
should the court or the defendant reverse the waiver of 
counsel. Where standby counsel is given or resumes 
responsibility for the representation of the defendant, 
counsel should move for all necessary time to prepare a 
defense for both the guilt and penalty phases of the trial, as 
appropriate. Where there is reason to believe that the client 
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may re-invoke his right to counsel, the capital coordinator 
should ensure that a full defense team remains assigned and 
available to assume the representation. 

D. Counsel’s Additional Responsibilities when 
Representing a Foreign National 

1. Counsel at every stage of the case should make 
appropriate efforts to determine whether any foreign country 
might consider the client to be one of its nationals. Unless 
predecessor counsel has already done so, counsel 
representing a foreign national should: 

a. immediately explain the benefits that the client 
may obtain through consular assistance; 

b. immediately notify the client of the right to 
correspond with and have access to consular officers from 
his or her country of nationality via the nearest consulate; 

c. with the permission of the client, contact the 
nearest consulate, and inform the relevant consular officials 
about the client’s arrest and/or detention. In cases where 
counsel is unable to secure informed permission, 
professional judgment should be exercised to determine 
whether it is nevertheless appropriate to inform the 
consulate; 

d. where contact is made with the relevant 
consulate, counsel should discuss what specific assistance 
the consulate may be able to provide to the client in the 
particular case; 

e. research, consider and preserve any legal rights 
the client may have on account of foreign nationality status; 
and 

f. consider whether the client’s foreign accent, 
dialect or knowledge of English is such that the client 
requires an interpreter and, if so, take steps to secure one 
without delay for the duration of proceedings. 

2. Where counsel has reason to believe that the client 
may be a foreign national, counsel should advise the capital 
case supervisor. Counsel should ensure that the defense team 
includes adequate expertise and experience in dealing with 
the defense of foreign nationals in capital cases and where 
this is not the case should advise the capital case supervisor 
and seek additional support, including the assigning of 
additional counsel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:72 (January 2015). 
§1915. Performance Standard 7: Trial 

A. Counsel’s Duty of Trial Preparation 
1.  Throughout preparation and trial, counsel should 

consider the defense case theory and ensure that counsel’s 
decisions and actions are consistent with that theory. Where 
counsel’s decisions or actions are inconsistent with the 
theory, counsel should assess and understand why this is the 
case and then either change the conduct or change the theory 
to accommodate the new approach. 

2. Counsel should complete the investigation, 
discovery, and research in advance of trial, such that counsel 
is confident that the most viable defense theory has been 
fully developed, pursued, and refined. Ordinarily, this 
process should be sufficiently advanced at least 180 days 
before trial to ensure that issues related to funding, expert 
witnesses, witness availability, securing witness attendance 
and accommodation, witness preparation and other trial 

preparation can proceed in an orderly and well planned 
fashion. 

3. Counsel should not forgo investigation and 
preparation of a defense on the basis that the prosecution 
case appears weak or counsel believes that no penalty phase 
will be required.  

4. Preparation for trial should include: 
a. causing subpoenas to be issued for all potentially 

helpful witnesses, and all potentially helpful physical or 
documentary evidence: 
 i. counsel should ensure that all subpoenaed 
witnesses are aware of the correct date and time to appear in 
court, the action they should take when they appear in 
response to the subpoena and how to contact counsel if 
necessary; 
 ii. counsel should consider utilizing ex parte 
procedures for the subpoena of persons, documents or things 
when available; 
 iii. counsel should follow up on all subpoenas and 
follow procedures for informing the court of non-compliance 
and seeking enforcement; 
 iv. counsel may refrain from issuing subpoenas for 
particular witnesses based on strong tactical considerations 
and in the awareness of the waiver of the defendant’s rights 
to compulsory process that this may entail; 

b. arranging for defense experts to consult and/or 
testify on evidentiary issues that are potentially helpful (e.g., 
testing of physical evidence, opinion testimony, etc.): 
 i. adequate arrangements for the funding, 
scheduling and, where necessary, transport and 
accommodation of expert witnesses should be made; 
 ii. counsel should prepare with the experts and 
should be fully aware of the experts’ opinions on all relevant 
matters, including relevant prior testimony, before deciding 
whether or not to present them at trial; 
 iii. counsel should determine the extent to which 
evidence to be addressed by an expert witness may be 
presented through lay witnesses; 

c. ensuring that counsel has obtained, read and 
incorporated into the defense theory all discovery, results of 
defense investigation, transcripts from prior or related 
proceedings and notices, motions and rulings in the case; 

d. obtaining photographs and preparing charts, 
maps, diagrams, or other visual aids of all scenes, persons, 
objects, or information which may assist the fact finder in 
understanding the defense; 

e. ensuring that the facilities at the courthouse will 
be adequate to meet the needs of the trial and the defense 
team. 

5. Counsel should have available at the time of trial all 
material relevant to both the guilt and penalty phases that 
may be necessary or of assistance at trial, including: 

a. copies of all relevant documents filed in the case; 
b. relevant documents prepared or obtained by 

investigators; 
c. voir dire questions, topics or plans; 
d. outline or draft of opening statements for both 

guilt and penalty phases; 
e. cross-examination plans for all possible 

prosecution witnesses; 
f. direct examination plans for all prospective 

defense witnesses; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 76

g. copies of defense subpoenas and proof of service; 
h. prior statements and testimony of all prosecution 

witnesses (e.g., transcripts, police reports) and counsel 
should have prepared transcripts of any audio or video taped 
witness statements. Counsel should also be prepared to 
prove the prior statements if required; 

i. prior statements of all defense witnesses; 
j. reports from defense experts; 
k. a list of all defense exhibits, and the witnesses 

through whom they will be introduced (as well as a 
contingency plan for having necessary exhibits admitted if, 
for example, a witness fails to appear); 

l. exhibits, including originals and copies of all 
documentary exhibits; 

m. demonstrative materials, charts, overheads, 
computer presentations or other similar materials intended 
for use at trial; 

n. proposed jury instructions with supporting case 
citations, and where appropriate, consider and list the 
evidence necessary to support the defense requests for jury 
instructions; and 

o. relevant statutes and cases. 
6. Counsel should be fully informed as to the rules of 

evidence, court rules, and the law relating to all stages of the 
trial process, and should be familiar with legal and 
evidentiary issues that can reasonably be anticipated to arise 
in the trial. During case preparation and throughout trial, 
counsel should identify potential legal issues and the 
corresponding objections or motions. Counsel should 
consider when and how to raise those objections or motions. 
Counsel should also consider how best to respond to 
objections or motions that could be raised by the 
prosecution. 

7. Counsel should anticipate state objections and 
possible adverse court rulings that may impact the defense 
case theory, be prepared to address any such issues and have 
contingency plans should counsel’s efforts be unsuccessful. 
Counsel should consider in advance of trial and prepare for 
the possibility of any emergency writ applications which 
may be filed by either party as well as making arrangements 
to ensure that the defense team is able to efficiently and 
effectively litigate any unanticipated emergency writ 
applications. 

8. Counsel should decide if it is beneficial to secure an 
advance ruling on issues likely to arise at trial (e.g., use of 
prior convictions to impeach the defendant, admissibility of 
particular items of evidence) and, where appropriate, counsel 
should prepare motions and memoranda for such advance 
rulings. 

9. Counsel should advise the client as to suitable 
courtroom dress and demeanor. Counsel should ensure that 
the client has appropriate clothing and the court personnel 
follow appropriate procedures so as not to reveal to jurors 
that the client is incarcerated. Counsel should ensure that the 
client is not seen by the jury in any form of physical 
restraint. Counsel should ensure that steps are taken to avoid 
prejudice arising from any security measures in the court and 
object to the use of both visible restraints on the client and 
any concealed restraints that adversely impact the client 
physically or psychologically or impair the client’s ability to 
consult freely with counsel. 

10. Counsel should plan with the defense team the most 
convenient system for conferring throughout the trial. Where 
necessary, counsel should seek a court order to have the 
client available for conferences and all required court 
appearances. 

11. Counsel should plan with the defense team for 
contingencies arising from the absence or unavailability of 
any team member and the procedure for accessing additional 
resources for the team whenever required. Lead counsel 
should ensure that additional resources, including legal, 
investigative and support personnel, are available and 
utilized as appropriate immediately prior to and during trial. 
Lead counsel should ensure that all members of the defense 
team are fully aware of their role and responsibilities at trial. 

12. Throughout preparation and trial, counsel should 
consider the potential effects that particular actions may 
have upon the mitigation presentation and any verdict at the 
penalty phase if there is a finding of guilt. 

13. Counsel shall take necessary steps to ensure full, 
official recordation of all aspects of the court proceeding 
including motions, bench conferences in chambers or at 
sidebar, opening statements, closing arguments, and jury 
instructions. If something transpires during the trial that is 
relevant and significant and has not been made a part of the 
record (for instance, communications out of the presence of 
the court-reporter or non-verbal conduct), counsel should 
ensure that the record reflects what occurred.  

14. Counsel should make a written request for a 
continuance if he or she determines that the defense is not 
adequately prepared for trial or otherwise not able to present 
a high quality defense on the scheduled trial date. Counsel 
should be prepared to proffer a full justification for the 
continuance, explaining the incomplete preparation, 
unavailable witness, prejudice from late disclosure by the 
state or other reason for the continuance. Counsel should be 
prepared to demonstrate reasonable diligence in preparing 
for trial but should request any necessary continuance even 
where counsel has not shown reasonable diligence. Counsel 
should avoid prematurely exposing the defense case theory 
by seeking to make any proffer of the reasons for the 
continuance on an ex parte and under seal basis. 

15. Counsel should take all necessary steps to secure 
conditions of trial that allow for the provision of high quality 
representation, that allow the client to participate 
meaningfully in his own defense and that make adequate 
accommodations for any special needs the client may have. 
Such conditions may include the hours of court, the number 
and length of breaks, particular technological resources, the 
use of interpreters or other assistants to the client’s 
understanding and communication, the pace of questioning 
and argument, medical assistance for the client and adequate 
space in the courtroom for the client’s family and supporters. 

16. Counsel should attempt to present as much 
mitigation evidence as possible during the guilt-innocence 
phase. 

B. Jury Selection 
1. Preparing for Voir Dire 

a. Counsel should be familiar with the procedures 
by which a jury venire is selected in the particular 
jurisdiction and should be alert to any potential legal 
challenges to the composition or selection of the venire,
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including the creation of the jury pool from which the venire 
is selected. Similarly, counsel should be familiar with the 
law concerning challenges for cause and peremptory 
challenges and be alert to any potential legal challenges to 
the law, practice or procedure applied. Counsel should 
undertake a factual as well as legal investigation of any 
potential challenges that may be made. 

b. Counsel should be familiar with the local 
practices and the individual trial judge's procedures for 
selecting a jury from a panel of the venire, and should be 
alert to any potential legal challenges to these practices and 
procedures including any disproportionate impact the 
practices and procedures may have on the gender or racial 
makeup of the jury. 

c. Counsel should determine whether any special 
procedures have been instituted for selection of juries in 
capital cases that present particular legal bases for challenge. 
Counsel should be mindful that such challenges may include 
challenges to the selection of the grand jury and grand jury 
forepersons as well as to the selection of the petit jury 
venire. 

d. Prior to jury selection, counsel should seek to 
obtain a prospective juror list and should develop a method 
for tracking juror seating and selection. Counsel should be 
aware of available juror information and, where appropriate, 
should submit a request for a jury questionnaire by a pretrial 
motion. In those cases where it appears necessary to conduct 
a pretrial investigation of the background of jurors, 
investigatory methods of defense counsel should neither 
harass nor unduly embarrass potential jurors or invade their 
privacy and, whenever possible, should be restricted to an 
investigation of records and sources of information already 
in existence. 

e. Counsel should develop voir dire questions in 
advance of trial. Counsel should tailor voir dire questions to 
the specific case. Voir dire should be integrated into and 
advance counsel’s theory of the case for both guilt and 
penalty phase. Creative use of voir dire can foreshadow 
crucial, complex, expert, detrimental, or inflammatory 
evidence, and emphasize the need for impartiality 
notwithstanding the nature of the offense charged. Effective 
voir dire will lay much of the ground work for the opening 
statement.  

f. Voir dire questions should be designed to elicit 
information about the attitudes and values of individual 
jurors, which will inform counsel and the client in the 
exercise of peremptory challenges and challenges for cause. 
Areas of inquiry should include: 
 i. attitude towards the death penalty and, in 
particular, each juror’s willingness and capacity to return a 
verdict of death or life if selected as a juror in the case; 
 ii. attitudinal bias or prejudice (including those 
based on race, religion, political beliefs, and sexual 
preference); 
 iii. pretrial publicity (including the nature, extent 
and source of the juror’s knowledge, and whether they have 
learned information that will not be admitted at trial; have 
discussed what they have read or heard; have heard, formed 
or expressed opinions on guilt or innocence; and can set 
such knowledge and opinions aside); 
  

 iv. feelings regarding the nature of the offense; 
 v. juror experience (or that of a close relative) 
similar to evidence in the case; 
 vi. experience (or that of a close relative) as a 
crime victim, witness, or defendant; 
 vii. amount of weight given to testimony of a 
police officer (including any experience in law enforcement 
or relationship with those in law enforcement); 
 viii. acquaintance with witness, counsel or 
defendant; 
 ix. attitudes toward defenses; 
 x. ability to understand principles of law and 
willingness to accept the law as given by the court; 
 xi. prior experience as a juror; 
 xii. formal qualifications to serve as a juror; 
 xiii. ability to render an impartial verdict according 
to the law and the evidence; and 
 xiv. other areas of inquiry particular to the juror, 
such as whether a bilingual juror is willing to abide by the 
translator’s version of the testimony, or whether a hearing 
impaired juror will refrain from reading lips of parties 
having private conversations unintended for the jurors’ 
perception. 

g. Among the other purposes voir dire questions 
should be designed to serve are the following: 
 i. to convey to the panel legal principles which 
are important to the defense case and to determine the jurors’ 
attitudes toward those legal principles (especially where 
there is some indication that particular legal principles may 
not be favored or understood by the population in general or 
where a principle is peculiarly based on specific facts of the 
case); 
 ii. to preview the case for the jurors so as to 
lessen the impact of damaging information which is likely to 
come to their attention during the trial; 
 iii. to present the client and the defense case in a 
favorable light, without prematurely disclosing information 
about the defense case to the prosecutor; and 
 iv. to establish a relationship with the jury. 
Counsel should be aware that jurors will develop 
impressions of counsel and the defendant, and should 
recognize the importance of creating a favorable impression. 

h. Counsel should be familiar with the law 
concerning mandatory and discretionary voir dire inquiries 
so as to be able to defend any request to ask particular 
questions of prospective jurors. 

i. Counsel should be familiar with the law 
concerning challenges for cause and peremptory challenges. 
Voir dire should be responsive to this legal framework and 
designed to ensure that any basis for a cause challenge is 
adequately disclosed by the questions and answers. 

j. Counsel should be aware of the waiver of judicial 
review of any cause challenge denied by the trial court 
where the defense does not exhaust its peremptory 
challenges. Counsel should create an appropriate record in 
the trial court where peremptory challenges are exhausted 
without the defense successfully removing all jurors against 
whom an unsuccessful challenge for cause had been made. 

k. Where appropriate, counsel should consider 
seeking expert assistance in the jury selection process.
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Recognizing the scope of the task of adequately recording all 
relevant information during the voir dire process, lead 
counsel should ensure that the team has secured adequate 
resources, in the form of additional personnel or equipment, 
to adequately perform this task. 

2. Examination of the Prospective Jurors 
a. Counsel should personally voir dire the panel. 
b. If the court denies counsel’s request to ask 

questions during voir dire that are significant or necessary to 
the defense of the case, counsel should take all steps 
necessary to protect the voir dire record for judicial review 
including, where appropriate, filing a copy of the proposed 
voir dire questions or reading proposed questions into the 
record. 

c. Counsel should consider requesting individual, 
sequestered voir dire, particularly in cases where the voir 
dire will canvas sensitive or potentially prejudicial subjects, 
for example, personal experiences of jurors of abuse, prior 
exposure to media coverage of the case and knowledge of 
the case. If particular voir dire questions may elicit sensitive 
or prejudicial answers, counsel should consider requesting 
that those parts of the questioning be conducted outside the 
presence of the other jurors. Counsel may also consider 
requesting that the court, rather than counsel, conduct the 
voir dire as to sensitive questions.  

d. In a group voir dire, counsel should take care 
when asking questions which may elicit responses capable 
of prejudicing other prospective jurors. Counsel should 
design both questions and questioning style in group voir 
dire to elicit responses in a way that will minimize any 
negative effect and maximize any favorable effect on other 
prospective jurors having regard to counsel’s objectives in 
voir dire. 

e. When asking questions for the purpose of 
eliciting information from a juror, counsel should usually 
phrase questions in an open-ended fashion that elicits 
substantive responses, rather than allowing the juror to 
respond by silence or with a simple yes or no. 

f. Counsel should ensure that the record reflects all 
answers of all jurors to all questions asked. Counsel should 
ensure that the record clearly reflects which juror in a panel 
is being asked a particular question and which gives a 
particular answer. Where questions are asked of an entire 
panel or non-verbal responses are given, counsel should 
ensure that the record accurately reflects all of the responses 
given and which jurors gave those responses. 

g. Counsel should ensure that other members of the 
defense team are making detailed notes of the responses of 
individual jurors, the responses of venire panels to more 
generally directed questions and the demeanor and reactions 
of members of the venire. 

3. Death Qualification 
a. Counsel should be intimately familiar with the 

constitutional, statutory and case law relating to questioning 
and challenging of potential jurors as they relate to “death 
qualification.” 

b. Counsel should apply techniques of voir dire 
designed to overcome the tendency of the process of death 
qualification to undermine the presumption of innocence and 
increase the perception of death as the appropriate penalty. 

c. Counsel should ensure that an individual inquiry 
is made of each juror as to his or her views on the death 
penalty. 

d. Counsel should apply techniques of voir dire 
designed to ensure that the view each juror expresses 
regarding the death penalty: 
 i. is pertinent to the situation the juror will face in 
penalty phase (e.g. after hearing all the evidence, full 
deliberation and a unanimous determination of guilt beyond 
reasonable doubt); 
 ii. is in the context of a finding of guilt of first 
degree murder having regard to the aggravator(s) in the case 
(e.g. specific intent to kill or cause great bodily harm to a 
child under 12); and 
 iii. is not obscured by consideration of any lawful 
defense or justification that will necessarily have been 
rejected by penalty phase (e.g. the killing was not in self-
defense, he knew the difference between right and wrong, he 
was not in a sudden passion or heat of blood); 

e. Counsel should determine the extent to which 
each juror could give meaningful consideration to mitigating 
circumstances, having particular regard to those 
circumstances defined as mitigating in the statute and the 
case law. 

f. Counsel should determine the extent to which a 
juror’s views on the death penalty or mitigation may 
substantially impair his or her ability to make an impartial 
decision at guilt or return a life verdict. Counsel may 
consider exploring factors such as the strength of the juror’s 
views on the death penalty, the origin of those views, how 
long they have been held and whether the juror has 
discussed those views with others. 

g. Counsel should apply techniques of voir dire 
designed to insulate jurors who are to be challenged for 
cause against rehabilitation based, in particular, upon their 
stated willingness to follow the law; 

h. Counsel should mount a challenge for cause in all 
cases where there is a reasonable argument that the juror’s 
views on the death penalty or mitigation would prevent or 
substantially impair the performance of the juror’s duties in 
accordance with the instructions or the oath. 

i. Counsel should apply techniques of voir dire 
designed to rehabilitate jurors who have expressed scruples 
against the infliction of capital punishment. 

j. Counsel should apply techniques of voir dire 
designed to ensure that each prospective juror understands 
and accepts: 
 i. that each juror is entitled to their own opinion 
and vote and so each juror must individually decide whether 
the client is sentenced to life or death following a penalty 
phase; 
 ii. that while the juror must deliberate, the juror’s 
opinion is not subject to negotiation or compromise and is 
free from criticism by or explanation to the judge, the 
prosecutor or others; 
 iii. that each juror can give life for whatever 
reason he or she wishes; 
 iv. that each juror is entitled to the assistance of 
the court in having his or her opinion respected; and 
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 v. the procedures for bringing penalty phase 
deliberations to an end and the effect of a hung jury at 
penalty phase. 

k. Counsel should consider exercising peremptory 
challenges solely or principally on the assessment of each 
juror’s attitude to the death penalty and mitigation. 

l. Counsel should document and, where appropriate 
litigate the effect of death qualification on the 
representativeness of the qualified jury venire. 

4. Other challenges for Cause and Peremptory 
Challenges 

a. Counsel should challenge for cause all 
prospective jurors against whom a legitimate challenge can 
be made when it is likely to benefit the client. 

b. When a challenge for cause is denied, counsel 
should consider exercising a peremptory challenge to 
remove the juror. 

c. In exercising challenges for cause and 
peremptory strikes, counsel should consider both the 
panelists who may replace a person who is removed and the 
total number of peremptory challenges available to the state 
and the defense. In making this decision counsel should be 
mindful of the law requiring counsel to use one of his or her 
remaining peremptory challenges curatively to remove a 
juror upon whom counsel was denied a cause challenge or 
waive the complaint on appeal, even where counsel 
ultimately exhausts all peremptory challenges. 

d. Counsel should timely object to and preserve for 
appellate review all issues relating to the unconstitutional 
exclusion of jurors by the prosecutor or the court.  

e. Counsel should request additional peremptory 
challenges where appropriate in the circumstances present in 
the case. 

5. Unconstitutional Exclusion of Jurors 
a. In preparation for trial, during voir dire and at 

jury selection, the defense team should gather and record all 
information relevant to a challenge to the state’s use of 
peremptory strikes based in part or in whole on race, gender 
or any other impermissible consideration. This will include: 
the race and gender of the venire, the panel, the petit jury 
and the jurors struck for cause and peremptorily; any 
disparity in questioning style between jurors; a comparative 
analysis of the treatment of similarly placed jurors; non-
verbal conduct of potential jurors; historical evidence of 
policy, practice or a pattern of discriminatory strikes; and, 
other evidence of discriminatory intent. Such material 
should be advanced in support of any challenge to the 
exercise of a state peremptory strike where available and 
appropriate in the circumstances. Counsel should ensure that 
the record reflects the racial and gender composition of the 
jury pool, the venire, each panel, the peremptory challenges 
made by both parties, and of the petit jury. The record should 
also reflect the race and gender of the defendant, the 
victim(s) and potential witnesses, and any motivation the 
state may have to have regard to race or gender in exercising 
peremptory challenges. Counsel should also ensure that, 
where necessary the record reflects non-verbal conduct by 
jurors such as demeanor, tone and appearance. 

b. Where evidence of the discriminatory use of 
peremptory strikes, including evidence of the presence of a 
motive for discriminatory use of peremptory strikes emerges 

after the jury is sworn, counsel should make or reurge any 
earlier objection to the state’s strikes. 

c. Counsel should not exercise a peremptory strike 
on the basis of race, gender or any other impermissible 
consideration and should maintain sufficient 
contemporaneous notes to allow reasons for particular 
peremptory strikes to be proffered if required by the court. 

6. Voir Dire After the Jury has been Impanelled 
a. Counsel should consider requesting additional 

voir dire whenever potentially prejudicial events occur, for 
instance, when jurors are exposed to publicity during the 
trial, jurors have had conversations with counsel or court 
officials, jurors learn inadmissible evidence, it is revealed 
that jurors responded incorrectly during voir dire, or jurors 
otherwise violated the court’s instructions. 

b. Counsel should be diligent and creative in 
framing questions that not only probe the particular issue, 
but also avoid creating or increasing any prejudice. Counsel 
should consider requesting curative instructions, seating 
alternate jurors, a mistrial, or other corrective measures. 

c. If the verdict has already been rendered, counsel 
should request a post-trial hearing and an opportunity to 
examine jurors within the scope permitted by law. 

C. Objection to Error and Preservation of Issues for Post 
Judgment Review 

1. Counsel should be prepared to make all appropriate 
evidentiary objections and offers of proof, and should 
vigorously contest the state’s evidence and argument through 
objections, cross-examination of witnesses, presentation of 
impeachment evidence and rebuttal. Counsel should be alert 
for, object to, and make sure the record adequately reflects 
instances of prosecutorial misconduct. 

2. Counsel should make timely objections whenever a 
claim for relief exists under the law at present or under a 
good faith argument for the extension, modification or 
reversal of existing law unless sound tactical reasons exist 
for not doing so. There should be a strong presumption in 
favor of making all available objections and any decision not 
to object should be made in the full awareness that this may 
constitute an irrevocable waiver of the client’s rights. 

3. Where appropriate, objections should include 
motions for mistrial and/or admonishments to ignore or limit 
the effect of evidence. Counsel should seek an evidentiary 
hearing where further development of the record in support 
of an objection would advance the client’s interests. Areas in 
which counsel should be prepared to object include: 

a. the admissibility or exclusion of evidence and the 
use to which evidence may be put; 

b. the form or content of prosecution questioning, 
including during voir dire; 

c. improper exercises of prosecutorial or judicial 
authority, such as racially motivated peremptory challenges 
or judicial questioning of witnesses that passes beyond the 
neutral judicial role and places the judge in the role of 
advocate; 

d. the form or content of prosecution argument, 
including the scope of rebuttal argument; 

e. jury instructions and verdict forms; and 
f. any structural defects. 

4. Counsel should ensure that all objections are made 
on the record and comply with the formal requirements
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applicable in the circumstances for making an effective 
objection and preserving a claim for subsequent review. 
These formal requirements may relate to a range of 
considerations, including: timing of the objection; whether 
an objection is oral or written; the need to proffer excluded 
testimony or questions; requesting admonishment of the 
jury; requesting a mistrial; exhausting peremptory 
challenges; providing notice to the attorney-general; and, the 
specific content of the objection. In addition to the objection 
itself, counsel should ensure that information relevant to 
potential review is preserved in the record, i.e., that the 
transcript, the court file, or the exhibits preserved for review 
include all the information about the events in the trial court 
that a reviewing court might need to rule in the client’s 
favor. 

5. Before trial, counsel should ascertain the particular 
judge’s procedures for objections. If the judge orders that 
counsel not state the grounds for the objection in the jury’s 
presence, or if the reasons for the objection require 
explanation or risk prejudicing the jury, counsel should 
request permission to make the objection out of the hearing 
of the jury, for example, by approaching the bench. Counsel 
should ensure that any objection and ruling is made on the 
record and where this is not possible at a bench conference, 
should request another procedure for making objections, 
such as having objections handled in chambers in the 
presence of the court reporter. Where, despite counsel’s 
efforts, objections are made or rulings announced in the 
absence of the court reporter, counsel should ensure that 
those objections and rulings are subsequently placed on the 
record in as full a detail as possible. 

6. Where an objection is made, counsel should state 
the specific grounds of objection and be prepared to fully 
explain and argue all bases of the objection. Where a claim 
for relief exists based on constitutional grounds, counsel 
should ensure that the record reflects that the objection is 
brought on those constitutional grounds. Counsel should be 
particularly careful to ensure that the record reflects the 
federal nature of any objection based in federal 
constitutional law or any other federal law. 

7. Counsel’s arguments to the court should explain 
both why the law is in the client’s favor and why the ruling 
matters. Arguments should be precise; objections should be 
timely, clear and specific. For example: 

a. if the court excludes evidence, counsel should 
proffer what the evidence would be, why it is important to 
the defense, and how its exclusion would harm the defense; 

b. if the court limits cross-examination, counsel 
should proffer what counsel was attempting to elicit and why 
it is important; 

c. if the court admits evidence over defense 
objection, counsel should, where appropriate, move for a 
limiting instruction; 

d. if the court rules inadmissible prejudicial 
evidence already placed before the jury, counsel should seek 
a mistrial and/or an admonishment, as appropriate. 

8. Counsel should not refrain from making objections 
simply because they are unsure of the precise legal principle 
or case name to invoke. In these situations, counsel should 
explain the client’s position in factual terms, explaining why 
a certain ruling under specified facts is prejudicial to the 
client. 

9. Counsel should not rely on objections made by co-
defendant’s counsel unless the judge has made clear that an 
objection on behalf of one defendant counts as an objection 
for all defendants. Even in that situation, counsel may want 
to identify specific prejudice that would befall her client if 
the court ruled adversely.  

10. Counsel should take care not to appear to acquiesce 
in adverse rulings, by, for example, ending the discussion 
with comments intended to reflect politeness (e.g. “Thank 
you, Your Honor”) but which may appear in the transcript as 
an abandonment of counsel’s earlier objection and 
agreement with the trial court’s rationale. Accordingly, 
counsel should find ways to be polite while making clear 
that the objection has not been abandoned. 

11. Counsel should insist on adequate methods for 
recording demonstrative evidence. For example, diagrams 
should be drawn on paper instead of blackboards, and 
demonstrations not amenable to verbal descriptions should 
be videotaped. Requests for preservation of exhibits and 
diagrams should be made in a timely manner. Counsel 
should make sure that all references to exhibits contain the 
exhibit number. 

12. Counsel at every stage have an obligation to satisfy 
themselves independently that the official record of the 
proceedings is complete and accurate and to supplement or 
correct it as appropriate. 

13. If something transpires during the trial that is 
relevant and significant and has not been made a part of the 
record (for instance, communications out of the presence of 
the court-reporter or non-verbal conduct), counsel should 
ensure that the record reflects what occurred. 

D. Opening Statement 
1. Counsel should make an opening statement. 
2. Prior to delivering an opening statement, counsel 

should ask for sequestration of witnesses, including law 
enforcement, unless a strategic reason exists for not doing 
so. 

3. Counsel should be familiar with the law of the 
jurisdiction and the individual trial judge’s practice 
regarding the permissible content of an opening statement. 

4. Counsel should consider the strategic advantages 
and disadvantages of disclosure of particular information 
during opening statement. For example, if the evidence that 
the defense might present depends on evidence to be 
introduced in the state’s case, counsel should avoid making 
promises of what evidence it will present because counsel 
may decide not to present that evidence. Counsel should not 
discuss in the opening statement the defense strategy with 
the jury to the extent that later defense decisions, such as 
putting the client or particular defense witnesses on the stand 
can be interpreted as concessions of the prosecution meeting 
its burden, or of weakness of the defense case. Counsel 
should consider the need to, and if appropriate, ask the court 
to instruct the prosecution not to mention in opening 
statement contested evidence for which the court has not 
determined admissibility.  

5. Before the opening statement, counsel should be 
familiar with the names of all witnesses and the crucial 
dates, times and places, and should have mastered each 
witness’s testimony so that favorable portions can be 
highlighted. If the complainant and defendant know each
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other, counsel should consider discussing their relationship 
and previous activities to create a context for the alleged 
offense. Counsel may wish to disclose defense witnesses’ 
impeachable convictions, only if counsel is certain that the 
witnesses will testify. Where evidence is likely to be ruled 
inadmissible, counsel should refer to it only after obtaining a 
ruling from the court. 

6. Counsel’s objectives in making an opening 
statement may include the following: 

a. to provide an overview of the defense case, 
introduce the theory of the defense, and explain the evidence 
the defense will present to minimize prejudice from the 
government case; 

b. to identify the weaknesses of the prosecution's 
case, point out facts that are favorable to the defense that the 
government omitted in its opening, create immediate 
skepticism about the direct testimony of government 
witnesses and make the purpose of counsel’s cross-
examination more understandable; 

c. to emphasize the prosecution's burden of proof; 
d. to summarize the testimony of witnesses, and the 

role of each in relationship to the entire case and to present 
explanations for government witnesses’ testimony, i.e. bias, 
lack of ability to observe, intoxication and Giglio evidence; 

e. to describe the exhibits which will be introduced 
and the role of each in relationship to the entire case; 

f. to clarify the jurors’ responsibilities; 
g. to point out alternative inferences from 

circumstantial evidence arising from either the government’s 
case or evidence the defense will present, and to state the 
ultimate inferences which counsel wishes the jury to draw; 

h. to establish counsel's credibility with the jury; 
i. to personalize and humanize the client and 

counsel for the jury; and 
j. to prepare the jury for the client’s testimony or 

decision not to testify. 
7. Counsel should consider incorporating the promises 

of proof the prosecutor makes to the jury during opening 
statement or the defense summation. Counsel should keep 
close account of what is proffered. Variances between the 
opening statement and the evidence may necessitate a 
mistrial, a cautionary instruction, or prove to be a fruitful 
ground for closing argument. 

8. Whenever the prosecutor oversteps the bounds of 
proper opening statement (by, for example, referencing 
prejudicial material or other matters of questionable 
admissibility and assertions of fact that the government will 
not be able to prove), counsel should object, requesting a 
mistrial, or seeking cautionary instructions, unless clear 
tactical considerations suggest otherwise. Such tactical 
considerations may include, but are not limited to: 

a. the significance of the prosecutor’s error; 
b. the possibility that an objection might enhance 

the significance of the information in the jury’s mind, or 
negatively impact the jury; and 

c. whether there are any rules made by the judge 
against objecting during the other attorney’s opening 
argument. 

9. Improper statements that counsel should consider 
objecting to may include: 

a. attempts to arouse undue sympathy for the victim 
of a crime or put the jurors in the shoes of the victim; 

b. appeals to the passions and prejudices of the 
jurors; 

c. evidence of other crimes; 
d. defendant’s prior record; 
e. reciting evidence at great length or in undue 

detail; 
f. personal evaluation of the case or of any state’s 

witness; 
g. argument on the merits of the case or the 

pertinent law; and 
h. defendant’s possible failure to testify on present 

evidence. 
E. Preparation for Challenging the Prosecution’s Case 

1. Counsel should attempt to anticipate weaknesses in 
the prosecution's proof. Counsel should systematically 
analyze all potential prosecution evidence, including 
physical evidence, for evidentiary problems and, where 
appropriate, challenge its admissibility and/or present other 
evidence that would controvert the state’s evidence. Counsel 
should make all appropriate challenges to improper 
testimony. Counsel should challenge improper bolstering of 
state witnesses. 

2. Counsel should consider the advantages and 
disadvantages of entering into stipulations concerning the 
prosecution’s case. If a fact or facts to be stipulated are 
harmful to the client but there is still an advantage to 
stipulating, counsel should make certain that the stipulation 
is true before consenting to a stipulation. While there may be 
strategic reasons to forgo cross-examination of particular 
witnesses or objections to evidence, counsel should make 
sure to subject the state’s case to vigorous adversarial 
testing. 

3. In preparing for cross-examination, counsel should 
be familiar with the applicable law and procedures 
concerning cross-examinations and impeachment of 
witnesses. In order to develop material for impeachment or 
to discover documents subject to disclosure, counsel should 
be prepared to question witnesses as to the existence of prior 
statements which they may have made or adopted. 

4. In preparing for cross-examination, counsel should: 
a. consider the need to integrate cross-examination, 

the theory of the defense and closing argument; 
b. consider whether cross-examination of each 

individual witness is likely to generate helpful information, 
and avoid asking questions that are unnecessary, might elicit 
responses harmful to the defense case or might open the 
door to damaging and otherwise improper redirect 
examination; 

c. anticipate those witnesses the prosecutor might 
call in its case-in-chief or in rebuttal; 

d. prepare a cross-examination plan for each of the 
anticipated witnesses; 

e. be alert to inconsistencies, variations and 
contradictions in a witness’ testimony; 

f. be alert to possible inconsistencies, variations 
and contradictions between different witnesses' testimony; 

g. be alert to significant omission or deficiencies in 
the testimony of any witnesses; 

h. review and organize all prior statements of the 
witnesses and any prior relevant testimony of the 
prospective witnesses; 
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i. have prepared a transcript of all audio or video 
tape recorded statements made by the witness; 

j. where appropriate, review relevant statutes and 
local law enforcement policy and procedure manuals, 
disciplinary records and department regulations for possible 
use in cross-examining law enforcement witnesses; 

k. be alert to and raise where appropriate issues 
relating to witness competency and credibility, including 
bias and motive for testifying, evidence of collaboration 
between witnesses, innate physical ability to perceive, 
external impediments to the witness’ perception, 
psychological hindrances to accurate perception, and faulty 
memory; 

l. have prepared, for introduction into evidence, all 
documents which counsel intends to use during the cross-
examination, including certified copies of records such as 
prior convictions of the witness or prior sworn testimony of 
the witness; 

m. be alert to potential Fifth Amendment and other 
privileges that may apply to any witness; 

n. elicit all available evidence to support the theory 
of defense; and 

o. prepare a memorandum of law in support of the 
propriety of any line of impeachment likely to be 
challenged. 

5. Counsel should consider conducting a voir dire 
examination of potential prosecution witnesses who may not 
be competent to give particular testimony, including expert 
witnesses whom the prosecutor may call. Counsel should be 
aware of the applicable law of the jurisdiction concerning 
competency of witnesses in general and admission of expert 
testimony in particular in order to be able to raise 
appropriate objections. Counsel should not stipulate to the 
admission of expert testimony that counsel knows will be 
harmful to the defense where there exists a viable claim 
regarding its admissibility. Counsel should be alert to 
frequently encountered competency issues such as: age 
(chronological and developmental), taint of witness’ ability 
to recall events by external factors such as suggestion, 
mental disability due to drug or alcohol abuse, and mental 
illness. 

6. Before trial, counsel should ascertain whether the 
prosecutor has provided copies of all prior statements of the 
witnesses to the extent required by the law. If disclosure was 
not properly made counsel should consider requesting relief 
as appropriate including: 

a. adequate time to review the documents or 
investigate and prepare further before commencing cross-
examination, including a recess or continuance if necessary; 

b. exclusion of the witness’ testimony and all 
evidence affected by that testimony; 

c. a mistrial; 
d. dismissal of the case; and/or 
e. any other sanctions counsel believes would 

remedy the violation. 
7. Counsel should attempt to mitigate the prejudicial 

impact of physical evidence where possible by: attempting 
to stipulate to facts that the government seeks to establish 
through prejudicial evidence, moving to redact irrelevant 
and unduly prejudicial information from documents, 
recordings and transcripts, and/or asking the court to exclude 
part of the proposed evidence as unnecessarily cumulative. 

Where prejudicial physical evidence will be admitted, 
counsel should seek to lessen its prejudice by seeking 
restrictions on the form of the evidence (e.g. size of 
photographs, black and white, rather than color), the manner 
of presentation of the evidence and to bar undue emphasis or 
repetitive presentation of the evidence. Similarly, where 
necessary, counsel should object to the exclusion or 
redaction of exculpatory portions of evidence. 

8. Counsel should become familiar with all areas in 
which expert evidence may be offered and should develop a 
strong knowledge of all forensic fields involved in the case 
with the assistance of experts as appropriate. 

F. Presenting the Defendant’s Case 
1. Counsel should develop, in consultation with the 

client, an overall defense strategy. Counsel should prepare 
for the need to adapt the defense strategy during trial where 
necessary. In extreme cases where a defense theory is no 
longer tenable, counsel should abandon that theory rather 
than losing all credibility with the jury, and proceed to 
emphasize the available defense evidence which supports 
another theory of defense. In deciding on defense strategy, 
counsel should consider whether the client's interests are 
best served by not putting on a defense case, and instead 
relying on the prosecution's failure to meet its constitutional 
burden of proving each element beyond a reasonable doubt. 
Even where no affirmative defense to guilt is mounted, 
counsel must be conscious of the potential for the case to 
proceed to penalty phase and should ensure that the guilt 
phase is conducted in a way that supports and extracts any 
available advantages in the guilt phase for the penalty phase 
presentation. Counsel should be conscious of the perils of a 
denial defense and the likely negative effect such a defense 
will have should the case proceed to penalty phase. 

2. Counsel should not put on a non-viable defense but 
at the same time, even when no theory of defense is 
available, if the decision to stand trial has been made, 
counsel must hold the prosecution to its heavy burden of 
proof beyond reasonable doubt.  

3. Counsel should discuss with the client all of the 
considerations relevant to the client's decision to testify, 
including but not limited to, the client’s constitutional right 
to testify, his or her right to not testify, the nature of the 
defense, the client’s likely effectiveness as a witness on 
direct and under cross-examination, the client’s 
susceptibility to impeachment with prior convictions, bad 
acts, out-of-court statements or evidence that has been 
suppressed, the client’s demeanor and temperament, and the 
availability of other defense or rebuttal evidence. Counsel 
should give special consideration to the likely impact of the 
client’s testimony on any defenses and any possible 
mitigation presentation, particularly where questions of 
mental health and mental capacity are in issue. Counsel shall 
recommend the decision which counsel believes to be in the 
client’s best interest. The ultimate decision whether to testify 
is the client’s. Counsel should also be familiar with his or 
her ethical responsibilities that may be applicable if the 
client insists on testifying untruthfully. The client should be 
called to testify in a capital case only in rare circumstances, 
however, counsel should prepare for the possibility that the 
client’s testimony may become essential to the defense case. 
Therefore, the client should be thoroughly prepared for both 
direct and cross-examination before trial. Counsel should 
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familiarize the client with all prior statements and exhibits, 
and review appropriate demeanor for taking the stand. 
Counsel should be respectful of the client when conducting 
the direct examination, eliciting testimony that will be 
helpful to the client’s defense. Counsel should avoid 
unnecessary direct examination that opens the door to 
damaging cross examination. 

4. Counsel should be aware of the elements of any 
affirmative defense and know whether, under the applicable 
law of the jurisdiction, the client bears a burden of 
persuasion or a burden of production. Counsel should be 
familiar with the notice requirements for affirmative 
defenses and introduction of expert testimony. 

5. In preparing for presentation of a defense case, 
counsel should, where appropriate: 

a. consider all potential evidence which could 
corroborate the defense case, and the import of any evidence 
which is missing; 

b. after discussion with the client, make the decision 
whether to call any witnesses and, if calling witnesses, 
decide which witnesses will provide the most compelling 
evidence of the client’s defense. In making this decision, 
counsel should consider that credibility issues with particular 
witnesses can be overcome when several witnesses testify to 
the same facts. Counsel should not call witnesses who will 
be damaging to the defense; 

c. develop a plan for direct examination of each 
potential defense witness; 

d. determine the implications that the order of 
witnesses may have on the defense case; 

e. determine what facts necessary for the defense 
case can be elicited through the cross-examination of the 
prosecution's witnesses; 

f. consider the possible use and careful preparation 
of character witnesses, and any negative consequences that 
may flow from such testimony; 

g. consider the need for, and availability of, expert 
witnesses, especially to rebut any expert opinions offered by 
the prosecution, and what evidence must be submitted to lay 
the foundation for the expert's testimony; 

h. consider and prepare for the need to call a 
defense investigator as a witness; 

i. review all documentary evidence that must be 
presented; 

j. review all tangible evidence that must be 
presented; 

k. consider using demonstrative evidence (and the 
witnesses necessary to admit such evidence); and 

l. consider the order of exhibit presentation and, if 
appropriate, with leave of court prior to trial, label each 
exhibit. 

6. In developing and presenting the defense case, 
counsel should consider the implications it may have for a 
rebuttal by the prosecutor. 

7. Counsel should prepare all witnesses for direct and 
possible cross-examination. Where appropriate, counsel 
should also advise witnesses of suitable courtroom dress and 
demeanor, and procedures including sequestration. 

8. Counsel should systematically analyze all potential 
defense evidence for evidentiary problems. Counsel should 
research the law and prepare legal arguments in support of 
the admission of each piece of testimony or other evidence. 

Counsel should plan for the contingency that particular items 
of evidence may be ruled inadmissible and prepare for 
alternative means by which the evidence, or similar 
evidence, can be offered. Similarly, counsel should have 
contingency plans for adjusting the defense case theory 
where important evidence may be ruled inadmissible. 
Counsel should not seek to have excluded prosecution 
evidence that is helpful to the defense. 

9. Counsel should conduct a direct examination that 
follows the rules of evidence, effectively presents the 
defense theory, and anticipates/defuses potential weak 
points. 

10. If a prosecution objection is sustained or defense 
evidence is improperly excluded, counsel should make 
appropriate efforts to rephrase the question(s) and/or make 
an offer of proof. 

11. Counsel should object to improper cross-
examination by the prosecution. 

12. Counsel should conduct redirect examination as 
appropriate. 

13. At the close of the defense case, counsel should 
renew the motion for a directed verdict of acquittal on each 
charged count. 

14. Counsel should keep a record of all exhibits 
identified or admitted. 

15. If a witness does not appear, counsel should request 
a recess or continuance in order to give counsel a reasonable 
amount of time to locate and produce the witness. Counsel 
should request any available relief if the witness does not 
appear. 

16. Understanding that capital jurors frequently 
determine the applicable punishment prior to penalty phase 
and that the jury in penalty phase will be permitted to rely 
upon all evidence introduced in the guilt phase, counsel 
should actively consider the benefits of presenting evidence 
admissible in the guilt phase that is also relevant in 
mitigation of punishment. 

G. Preparation of the Closing Argument 
1. Counsel should make a closing argument. 
2. Counsel should be familiar with the substantive 

limits on both prosecution and defense summation. 
3. Counsel should be familiar with the court rules, 

applicable statutes and law, and the individual judge’s 
practice concerning limits and objections during closing 
argument, and provisions for rebuttal argument by the 
prosecution. 

4. Well before trial, counsel should plan the themes, 
content, and organization of the summation. The basic 
argument should be formulated before the first juror is 
sworn, with accurate notes taken throughout the trial to 
permit incorporation of the developments at trial. In 
developing closing argument, counsel should review the 
proceedings to determine what aspects can be used in pursuit 
of the defense theory of the case and, where appropriate, 
should consider: 

a. highlighting weaknesses in the prosecution's 
case, including what potential corroborative evidence is 
missing, especially in light of the prosecution’s burden of 
proof; 

b. describing favorable inferences to be drawn from 
the evidence; 

c. incorporating into the argument: 
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 i. the theory of the defense case; 
 ii. helpful testimony from direct and cross-
examinations; 
 iii. verbatim instructions drawn from the expected 
jury charge; 
 iv. responses to anticipated prosecution 
arguments; 
 v. the promises of proof the prosecutor made to 
the jury during the opening statement; and 
 vi. visual aids and exhibits; 

d. the effect of the defense argument on the 
prosecutor’s rebuttal argument. 

5. Counsel should not demean or disparage or be 
openly hostile towards the client. 

6. Whenever the prosecutor exceeds the scope of 
permissible argument or rebuttal, counsel should object, 
request a mistrial, or seek a cautionary instruction unless 
strong tactical considerations suggest otherwise. 

H. Jury Instructions and Verdict  
1. Counsel should be familiar with the Louisiana 

Rules of Court and the individual judge’s practices 
concerning ruling on proposed instructions, charging the 
jury, use of standard charges and preserving objections to the 
instructions. 

2. Counsel should always submit proposed jury 
instructions in writing. 

3. Counsel should review the court’s proposed jury 
charge and any special written charge proposed by the state 
and, where appropriate, counsel should submit special 
written charges which present the applicable law in the 
manner most favorable to the defense in light of the 
particular circumstances of the case, including the 
desirability of seeking a verdict on a lesser included offense. 

4. Where possible, counsel should provide citations to 
statute and case law in support of any proposed charge. 
Counsel should endeavor to ensure that all jury charge 
discussions are on the record or, at the very least, that all 
objections and rulings are reflected in the record. 

5. Where appropriate, counsel should object to and 
argue against any improper charge proposed by the 
prosecution or the court. 

6. If the court refuses to adopt a charge requested by 
counsel, or gives a charge over counsel's objection, counsel 
should take all steps necessary to preserve the record, 
including ensuring that a written copy of any proposed 
special written charge is included in the record. 

7. During delivery of the charge, counsel should be 
alert to any deviations from the judge's planned instructions, 
object to deviations unfavorable to the client, and, if 
necessary request an additional or curative charge.  

8. If there are grounds for objecting to any aspect of 
the charge, counsel should seek to object before the verdict 
form is submitted to the jury and the jury is allowed to begin 
deliberations. 

9. If the court proposes giving a further or 
supplemental charge to the jury, either upon request of the 
jurors or upon their failure to reach a verdict, counsel should 
request that the judge provide a copy of the proposed charge 
to counsel before it is delivered to the jury. Counsel should 
be present for any further charge of the jury and should 
renew or make new objections as appropriate to any further 
charge given to the jurors after the jurors have begun their 

deliberations. Counsel should object to any charge which 
expressly or implicitly threatens to keep the jury sequestered 
indefinitely until a verdict is reached or is otherwise 
improperly coercive, for example, by omitting the caution to 
jurors that they should not abandon their deeply held beliefs. 

10. Counsel should reserve the right to make 
exceptions to the jury instructions above and beyond any 
specific objections that were made during the trial. 

11. Upon a finding of guilt, counsel should be alert to 
any improprieties in the verdict and should request the court 
to poll the jury. In a multi-count indictment, defense counsel 
normally should request a poll as to each count on which the 
jury has convicted. 

I. The Defense Case Concerning Penalty 
1. Preparation for the sentencing phase should begin 

immediately upon counsel’s entry into the case. Counsel at 
every stage of the case have a continuing duty to investigate 
issues bearing upon penalty and to seek information that 
supports mitigation, explains the offense, or rebuts the 
prosecution’s case in aggravation. Counsel should not forgo 
investigating or presenting mitigation in favor of a strategy 
of relying only on residual doubt or sympathy and mercy. 
Counsel should exercise great caution in seeking to rely 
upon residual doubt as to the defendant’s guilt. 

2. Trial counsel should discuss with the client early in 
the case the sentencing alternatives available, and the 
relationship between the strategy for the sentencing phase 
and for the guilt phase. 

3. Prior to the sentencing phase, trial counsel should 
discuss with the client the specific sentencing phase 
procedures of the jurisdiction and advise the client of steps 
being taken in preparation for sentencing.  

4. Counsel at every stage of the case should discuss 
with the client the content and purpose of the information 
concerning penalty that they intend to present to the jury, 
means by which the mitigation presentation might be 
strengthened, and the strategy for meeting the prosecution’s 
case in aggravation. 

5. As with the guilt phase, counsel should consider 
and discuss with the client, the advisability and possible 
consequences of the client testifying in the penalty phase. 

6. Counsel should present to the jury all reasonably 
available evidence in mitigation unless there are strong 
strategic reasons to forgo some portion of such evidence. 
Counsel should make every effort to find a way to 
successfully present all of the mitigating evidence rather 
than to abandon a piece or pieces of mitigating evidence due 
to potential negatives arising from the evidence. Counsel 
should not make agreements with the prosecution whereby 
the defense agrees to put on little or no mitigation evidence.  

7. Counsel should present mitigating evidence in an 
organized and coherent fashion, especially when it is of a 
complex nature involving expert testimony. Counsel should 
seek to present a narrative of the client’s life story that serves 
to humanize the client and offers a cohesive theory for life 
rather than presenting each mitigating circumstance as 
separate and distinct from each other. Counsel should seek to 
illustrate the ways different pieces of mitigation evidence 
interrelate to ensure a comprehensive picture of the client’s 
life and the mitigation case is produced. Counsel should 
consider the need to utilize an expert witness to synthesize 
or explain various and/or divergent elements of a mitigation 
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presentation. However, counsel should be conscious of the 
desirability of presenting such evidence through lay 
witnesses, rather than relying too heavily upon expert 
testimony. Counsel should present all mitigating evidence in 
such a way that it maintains the defense theory of the case, 
and should avoid presenting or opening the door to evidence 
that undermines the defense theory.  

8. In developing and advancing the defense theory of 
the case in the penalty phase, counsel should seek to 
integrate the defense theories at guilt and penalty phase into 
a complimentary whole or, where this is not possible, seek to 
minimize any discordance between the defense theories in 
guilt and penalty phase. 

9. In deciding the defense theory in the penalty phase 
and which witnesses, evidence and arguments to prepare, 
counsel must exercise a high degree of skill and care as an 
advocate to determine the most persuasive course to adopt in 
the circumstances of each particular case. Counsel should 
consider evidence and arguments that would: be explanatory 
of the offense(s) for which the client is being sentenced; 
reduce the client’s moral culpability for the offense; 
demonstrate the client’s capacity for rehabilitation or 
adaptation to prison; demonstrate the client’s remorse; rebut 
or explain evidence presented by the prosecutor; present 
positive aspects of the client and the client’s life; humanize 
the client; engender sympathy or empathy in the jury,; or 
would otherwise support a sentence less than death. Counsel 
should always consider and seek to address the likely 
concern the jury has regarding the possibility that the client 
will represent a future danger if sentenced to life 
imprisonment, rather than death. 

10. The witnesses and evidence that counsel should 
prepare and consider for presentation in the penalty phase 
include: 

a. witnesses familiar with and evidence relating to 
the client’s life and development, from conception to the 
time of sentencing, that would be explanatory of the 
offense(s) for which the client is being sentenced, would 
rebut or explain evidence presented by the prosecutor, would 
present positive aspects of the client’s life, or would 
otherwise support a sentence less than death; 

b. expert and lay witnesses along with supporting 
documentation (e.g. school records, military records) to 
provide medical, psychological, sociological, cultural or 
other insights into the client’s mental and/or emotional state 
and life history that may explain or lessen the client’s 
culpability for the underlying offense(s); to give a favorable 
opinion as to the client’s capacity for rehabilitation, or 
adaptation to prison; to explain possible treatment programs; 
or otherwise support a sentence less than death; and/or to 
rebut or explain evidence presented by the prosecutor. 
Supporting documentation should be read, organized, 
evaluated and condensed to a form that is most conducive to 
explaining to the jury how and why this mitigation is 
relevant.;  

c. Witnesses who can testify about the effect of a 
sentence of life imprisonment and/or the conditions under 
which a sentence of life imprisonment would be served; 

d. witnesses who can testify about the adverse 
impact of the client’s execution on the client’s family and 
loved ones; 

e. demonstrative evidence, such as photos, videos, 
physical objects and documents that humanize the client, 
portray him positively or add emphasis to an aspect of the 
testimony of a witness or witnesses. 

f. witnesses drawn from the victim’s family or 
intimates who are able to offer evidence that may support an 
argument for a sentence other than death. 

11. Among topics counsel should consider presenting 
through evidence and argument are: 

a. positive character evidence and evidence of 
specific positive acts, including evidence of positive 
relationships with others, contributions to individuals and 
the community, growth and progress over his life and since 
arrest, adaptation to incarceration, prospects for 
rehabilitation during a life sentence and reputation evidence; 

b. family and social history (including physical, 
sexual, or emotional abuse; family history of mental illness, 
cognitive impairments, substance abuse, or domestic 
violence; poverty, familial instability, neighborhood 
environment, and peer influence); other traumatic events 
such as exposure to criminal violence, the loss of a loved 
one, or a natural disaster; experiences of racism or other 
social or ethnic bias; cultural or religious influences; failures 
of government or social intervention (e.g., failure to 
intervene or provide necessary services, placement in poor 
quality foster care or juvenile detention facilities); 

c. medical and mental health history (including 
hospitalizations, mental and physical illness or injury, 
trauma, intellectual impairment, alcohol and drug use, pre-
natal and birth trauma, malnutrition, developmental delays, 
and neurological damage). Evidence relating to medical and 
mental health matters should normally include the symptoms 
and effect of any illness rather than just solely presenting a 
formal diagnosis; 

d. educational history (including achievement, 
performance, behavior, and activities), special educational 
needs (including mental retardation, cognitive limitations 
and learning disabilities) and opportunity or lack thereof, 
and activities; 

e. military service, (including length and type of 
service, conduct, special training, combat exposure, health 
and mental health services); 

f. employment and training history (including skills 
and performance, and barriers to employability); 

g. record of prior offenses (adult and juvenile), 
especially where there is no record, a short record, or a 
record of non-violent offenses; 

h. prior juvenile and adult correctional experience 
(including conduct while under supervision, in institutions of 
education or training, and regarding clinical services); and 

i. a prior relationship between the client and the 
victim(s) which might help to explain the offense. 

12. In determining what presentation to make 
concerning penalty, counsel should consider whether any 
portion of the defense case could be damaging in and of 
itself or will open the door to the prosecution’s presentation 
of otherwise inadmissible aggravating evidence. Counsel 
should pursue all appropriate means (e.g., motions in limine) 
to ensure that the defense case concerning penalty is 
constricted as little as possible by this consideration, and 
should make a full record in order to support any subsequent 
challenges. 
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13. Trial counsel should determine at the earliest 
possible time what aggravating circumstances the 
prosecution will rely upon in the penalty phase, any 
adjudicated or nonadjudicated wrongful acts the prosecution 
intends to prove and the nature and scope of any victim 
impact evidence the prosecution may present. Counsel at all 
stages of the case should object to any non-compliance with 
the rules of discovery and applicable case law in this respect 
and challenge the adequacy of those rules. 

14. Counsel at all stages of the case should carefully 
consider whether all or part of the evidence the state may 
seek to call in the penalty phase may appropriately be 
challenged as improper, unduly prejudicial, misleading or 
not legally admissible. Counsel should challenge the 
admissibility of evidence brought in support of an 
aggravating circumstance that cannot legally be established 
in the circumstances of the case. Counsel should investigate 
and present evidence that specifically undermines or 
mitigates the aggravating circumstances and any other 
adverse evidence to be presented by the prosecution. 

15. If the prosecution is granted leave at any stage of 
the case to have the client interviewed by witnesses 
associated with the government, defense counsel should: 

a. carefully consider: 
 i. what legal challenges may appropriately be 
made to the interview or the conditions surrounding it, and 
 ii. the legal and strategic issues implicated by the 
client’s co-operation or non-cooperation; 

b. ensure that the client understands the significance 
of any statements made during such an interview, including 
the possible impact on the sentence and later potential 
proceedings (such as appeal, subsequent retrial or 
resentencing); and 

c. attend the interview, unless prevented by court 
order. 

16. Counsel at every stage of the case should take 
advantage of all appropriate opportunities to argue why 
death is not a suitable punishment for their particular client. 

17. Counsel should make an opening statement. 
18. In closing argument, counsel should be specific to 

the client and should, after outlining the compelling 
mitigating evidence, explain to the jury the significance of 
the mitigation presented. Counsel’s closing argument should 
be more than a general attack on capital punishment and 
should not minimize the jury’s verdict. Counsel should never 
ask, instruct, or give permission to the jury to return a death 
sentence, but rather should appeal to the jury for, and 
provide reasons for, a life sentence. Counsel’s closing 
argument should not be contradictory. Counsel should not 
demean, disparage, be hostile towards, or make 
inappropriate comparisons regarding the client. 

19. Trial counsel should request jury instructions and 
verdict forms that ensure that jurors will be able to consider 
and give effect to all relevant mitigating evidence. Trial 
counsel should object to instructions or verdict forms that 
are constitutionally flawed, or are inaccurate, or confusing 
and should offer alternative instructions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:75 (January 2015). 

§1917. Performance Standard 8: Post-Verdict Motions 
and Formal Sentencing 

A. Motion for a New Trial and Other Post-Verdict 
Motions 

1. Counsel should be familiar with the procedures and 
availability of motions for new trial, for arrest of judgment 
and for a post-verdict judgment of acquittal, including the 
time period for filing such motions, the formal requirements 
of each motion, the evidentiary rules applicable to each 
motion and the grounds that can be raised. 

2. A motion for new trial should be filed in each case 
where a death verdict is returned by the jury. A motion in 
arrest of judgment or for a post-verdict judgment of acquittal 
should be filed in each case in which there exists a colorable 
basis for the relief sought to be granted. 

3. In preparing the motion for new trial, counsel 
should conduct an intensive and thorough investigation 
designed to identify and develop: evidence of prejudice 
arising from any adverse rulings of the trial court; evidence 
not discovered during the trial that would likely have 
changed the verdict at either guilt or penalty phase; evidence 
of prejudicial error or defect not discovered before the 
verdict or judgment; and, evidence that would otherwise 
support an argument that the ends of justice would be served 
by the granting of a new trial.  

4. Counsel should utilize all of the investigative tools 
described in these standards in conducting the investigation, 
including the use of fact investigators, mitigation specialists, 
experts, record requests, discovery requests, compulsory 
process and motions practice. 

5. Recognizing that the post-verdict litigation 
represents a critical stage of proceedings that requires 
extensive investigation and development of potentially 
dispositive claims: 

a. counsel should seek a postponement of formal 
sentencing for a sufficient period to allow adequate 
investigation and development of the motion for new trial or 
other post-verdict motions; and 

b. counsel should seek additional resources 
sufficient to allow adequate investigation and development 
of the motion for new trial or other post-verdict motions. 

6. In preparing and presenting claims in post-verdict 
motions, counsel should have particular regard to the need to 
fully plead the claims and their factual basis in a manner that 
will preserve the claims for subsequent review. Counsel 
should request an evidentiary hearing on the motion for new 
trial in order to present new evidence and preserve claims 
for appeal. 

7. Counsel should prepare post-verdict motions urging 
that the death penalty is not a legally permissible penalty in 
the circumstances of the case, including that the death 
penalty would be constitutionally excessive, where such an 
arguments are available under existing law, or under a good 
faith argument for the extension, modification, or reversal of 
existing law. 

8. Counsel should review the court record and ensure 
that it is complete and that matters relevant to any future 
review of the case are contained in the record including, for 
instance, race and gender of jurors in the venire, juror 
questionnaires, jury questions during deliberations, and all 
defense proffers appropriate to preserve any defense 
objections for review. 
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9. Following formal sentencing, counsel shall 
continue to conduct an intensive investigation designed to 
identify and develop evidence not discovered during the trial 
that would likely have changed the verdict at either guilt or 
penalty phase in order that any available motion for new trial 
may be filed within one year of the verdict or judgment of 
the trial court. 

B. Preparation for Formal Sentencing, the Sentence 
Investigation Report and the Uniform Capital Sentencing 
Report 

1. In preparing for sentencing, counsel should: 
a. inform the client of the sentencing procedure, its 

consequences and the next steps in the client’s case, 
including any expected change in the client’s representation; 

b. maintain regular contact with the client prior to 
the sentencing hearing, and inform the client of the steps 
being taken in preparation for sentencing; 

c. inform the client of his or her right to speak at the 
sentencing proceeding and assist the client in preparing the 
statement, if any, to be made to the court, considering the 
possible consequences that any statement may have upon the 
sentence to be imposed, any appeal or review, subsequent 
retrial or trial on other offenses; 

d. become familiar with the procedures governing 
preparation, submission, and verification of the sentence 
investigation report and uniform capital sentencing report. In 
addition, counsel should: 
 i. consider providing to the report preparer 
information favorable to the client; 
 ii. consider whether the client should speak with 
the person preparing the report; if the decision is made that 
the client not speak to the report preparer, the client should 
be advised to exercise his rights to silence and the presence 
of counsel and the report preparer should be advised that the 
client is asserting his right not to participate in an interview. 
If the determination is made for the client to speak to the 
report preparer, counsel should discuss the interview in 
advance with the client and attend the interview; 
 iii. obtain a copy of the sentence investigation 
report and uniform capital sentencing report, once 
completed. Review the completed reports and discuss their 
contents with the client; 
 iv. file a written opposition to the factual contents 
of the reports where appropriate and seek a contradictory 
hearing. 

C. Obligations of Counsel at Sentencing Hearing and 
Following Sentencing 

1. Understanding that the formal imposition of a death 
sentence following a jury’s death verdict is neither 
automatic, nor inevitable, counsel should actively advocate 
for a disposition other than the imposition of a death 
sentence. Such advocacy should include presenting to the 
court evidence and argument in favor of any categorical bar 
to the imposition of the death penalty and in support of an 
argument that the death penalty, in the circumstances of the 
particular case, is unconstitutionally excessive. Counsel’s 
presentation should not be limited to existing law but should 
include all good faith arguments for an extension, 
modification or reversal of existing law. 

2. Following the imposition of a death sentence, 
counsel should prepare and file a motionfor reconsideration 
of sentence. 

3. Upon denial of a motion for reconsideration, 
counsel should timely file a motion for appeal, including a 
comprehensive request for transcription of the proceedings 
and designation of the record as follows: 

a. the minutes of all of the proceedings connected 
with the case; 

b. the indictment and any and all proceedings 
concerning the appointment and/or selection of the grand 
jury; 

c. the transcript of arraignment; 
d. the transcript of all pre-trial proceedings 

regardless of whether defense counsel and the defendant 
were present; 

e. the transcript of any proceeding in which 
allotment of the case occurred; 

f. the transcript of any joint proceedings held with 
another defendant(s); 

g. the transcript of the entirety of voir dire, 
including the transcript of any communication made by the 
judge or the court staff whether within or outside the 
presence of defense counsel; 

h. the transcript of all bench conferences, in 
chambers hearings or charge conferences; 

i. the transcript of all argument and instruction; 
j. the transcript of all testimony, including 

testimony at the penalty phase of the trial; 
k. any and all exhibits introduced in connection 

with the case; 
l. the jury questionnaires, verdict forms, polling 

slips, and verdicts imposed in the case. 
4. In the period following the imposition of a sentence 

of death and the lodging of the appellate record, counsel 
should continue to actively represent the client’s interests, 
including investigation and development of arguments 
relevant to a post-sentencing motion for new trial or 
defendant’s sentence review memorandum. Counsel should 
take action to preserve the client’s interests in his appeal, 
state post-conviction, federal habeas corpus and clemency 
proceedings pending the assignment of appellate counsel. 

5. Where appropriate, counsel should timely file a 
post-sentencing motion for new trial. 

6. Counsel shall continue to represent the client until 
successor counsel assumes responsibility for the 
representation. When counsel’s representation terminates, 
counsel shall cooperate with the client and any succeeding 
counsel in the transmission of the record, transcripts, file, 
and other information pertinent to appellate and post-
conviction proceedings. Counsel should notify the client 
when the case assignment is concluded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:86 (January 2015). 
§1919. Performance Standard 9: Direct Appeal 

A. Duties of Appellate Counsel 
1. Appellate counsel should comply with the capital 

guidelines, and these performance standards, except where 
clearly inapplicable to the representation of the client during 
the period of direct appeal, including the obligations to: 

a. maintain close contact with the client regarding 
litigation developments; 
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b. continually monitor the client’s mental, physical 
and emotional condition for effects on the client’s legal 
position; 

c. keep under continuing review the desirability of 
modifying prior counsel’s theory of the case in light of 
subsequent developments; 

d. take all steps that may be appropriate in the 
exercise of professional judgment in accordance with these 
Standards to achieve an agreed-upon disposition; and 

e. continue an aggressive investigation of all 
aspects of the case. 

2. Appellate counsel should be familiar with all state 
and federal appellate and post-conviction options available 
to the client, and should consider how any tactical decision 
might affect later options. 

3. Appellate counsel should monitor and remain 
informed of legal developments that may be relevant to the 
persuasive presentation of claims on direct appeal and in any 
application for certiorari to the United States Supreme Court 
as well as the preservation of claims for subsequent review 
in federal habeas corpus proceedings and international legal 
fora. 

a. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in and be aware of current legal claims 
pending in relevant cases in front of the Louisiana Supreme 
Court, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and the United 
States Supreme Court.  

b. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in Louisiana’s Courts of Appeal including 
splits between the circuit courts of appeal. 

c. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in the superior courts of other states, 
particularly in the interpretation and application of federal 
constitutional law.  

d. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in the federal courts of appeal, including splits 
between circuit courts of appeal. 

e. Counsel should monitor relevant developments in 
international law. 

4. When identifying potential conflicts, appellate 
counsel should have particular regard to areas of potential 
conflict that may arise at this stage of proceedings, 
including: 

a. when the defendant was represented at the trial 
level by appellate counsel or by an attorney in the same law 
office as the appellate counsel, and it is asserted by the client 
that trial counsel provided ineffective representation, or it 
appears to appellate counsel that trial counsel provided 
ineffective representation; 

b. when it is necessary for the appellate attorney to 
interview or examine in a post-conviction evidentiary 
hearing another client of the attorney’s office in an effort to 
substantiate information provided by the first client; and 

c. when, in the pursuit of an appeal or post-
conviction hearing, it is necessary to assert for the first time 
that another client of the office committed perjury at trial. 

5. Counsel should explain to the client counsel’s role, 
how counsel was appointed to the case, and the meaning and 
goals of the appeal, and counsel should encourage the client 
to participate in the appellate process. 

6. Counsel shall consult with the client on the matters 
to be raised on appeal and give genuine consideration to any 

issue the client wishes to raise on appeal. What claims to 
raise on appeal, and how to raise them, are generally matters 
entrusted to the discretion of counsel. When counsel decides 
not to argue all of the issues that his or her client desires to 
be argued, counsel should inform the client of that decision, 
of the reasons for the decision, and of his or her right to file 
a pro se brief. 

7. Appellate counsel should obtain and review a 
complete record of all proceedings relevant to the case 
including the appellate record, the district court file, any file 
in the court of appeal or supreme court, and the files in any 
other related or prior proceedings in the cause.  

8. Appellate counsel should obtain and review all 
prior counsels’ file(s). Appellate counsel should retain and 
preserve prior counsel’s files as far as possible in the 
condition in which they were received until transmitted to 
successor counsel. 

9. Appellate counsel should ensure that the record on 
appeal is complete. If any item is necessary to appellate 
review but is not included in the record, it is appellate 
counsel’s responsibility to file a motion to supplement the 
record and to seek to have the briefing schedule stayed 
pending completion of the record. 

10. Appellate counsel should interview the client and 
previous defense team members about the case, including 
any relevant matters that do not appear in the record. 
Appellate counsel should consider whether any potential off-
record matters may have an impact on how the appeal is 
pursued, and what kind of an investigation of the matter is 
warranted.  

11. Appellate counsel should seek to investigate and 
litigate all issues, whether or not previously presented, that 
are arguably meritorious under the standards applicable to 
high quality capital defense representation, including 
challenges to any overly restrictive procedural rules and any 
good faith argument for the extension, modification or 
reversal of existing law. If an error warranting relief has not 
yet been presented, Counsel should present it and request 
error patent review. 

12. Counsel should make every professionally 
appropriate effort to present issues in a manner that will 
preserve them for subsequent review. Claims raised should 
include federal constitutional claims which, in the event that 
relief is denied in the state appellate courts, could form the 
basis for a successful petition for writ of certiorari to the 
Supreme Court or for a writ of habeas corpus in the federal 
district court. Counsel should present all claims in a manner 
that will meet the exhaustion requirements applicable in 
federal habeas corpus proceedings. Where pending claims in 
another case may be resolved in a manner that would benefit 
the client, counsel should ensure that the relevant issues are 
preserved and presented for review in the client’s case and, 
where appropriate, counsel should seek to keep the client’s 
direct appeal open pending the determination of the other 
case. 

13. Petitions and briefs shall conform to all rules of 
court and shall have a professional appearance, shall 
advance argument and cite legal authority in support of each 
contention and shall conform to Blue Book rules of citation. 
Regardless of the existence of local authority, federal 
authority should also be relied upon to present and preserve 
for later review any federal constitutional claims, 
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particularly any applicable decision of the United States 
Supreme Court. 

14. Counsel should be scrupulously accurate in 
referring to the record and the authorities upon which 
counsel relies in the briefing and oral argument. All 
arguments on assignments of error should include references 
by page number, or by any more precise method of location, 
to the place(s) in the transcript which contains the alleged 
error. 

15. Counsel should not intentionally refer to or argue 
on the basis of facts outside the record on appeal, unless 
such facts are matters of common public knowledge based 
on ordinary human experience or matters of which the court 
may take judicial notice. If appropriate, counsel should 
move for the remand of the matter and conduct such 
evidentiary hearings as may be required to create or 
supplement a record for review of any claim of error or 
argument for excessiveness that is not adequately supported 
by the record.  

16. Where counsel is considering seeking a remand for 
further hearing, counsel should undertake a full factual 
investigation of the issue for which the remand would be 
sought so that the decision as to whether to seek remand may 
be made in light of the evidence that might be adduced at 
such a hearing. Where counsel does seek remand for further 
hearing, counsel should ensure that adequate investigation 
and preparation has been undertaken to allow counsel to 
promptly litigate the matter if the case is remanded for 
further hearing. 

17. The identification and selection of issues is the 
responsibility of lead counsel. Lead counsel shall adopt 
procedures for providing an “issues meeting” between the 
attorneys handling the case and other relevantly qualified 
attorneys, including at least one qualified as lead appellate 
counsel, at which the issues raised in the case and the 
defense theory on appeal can be discussed. the issues 
meeting will ordinarily be conducted in the course of a case 
review meeting under these standards but where this is not 
possible, the issues meeting should be conducted 
independently of the case review. 

18. Counsel should complete a full review of the 
records of relevant proceedings and trial counsels’ files prior 
to completing a draft of the brief. Lead counsel shall adopt a 
procedure for screening the brief, which should include a 
careful review of the brief by an attorney not involved in 
drafting the pleading. The reviewing attorney should be 
qualified as lead appellate counsel. 

19. The review of the records and files should be 
completed a sufficient time before the filing deadline to 
allow for the issues meeting, the drafting of the brief, the 
review of the brief and the finalization of the brief. If 
appellate counsel is unable to prepare the brief within the 
existing briefing schedule in a manner consistent with these 
standards and with high quality appellate representation, it is 
counsel’s responsibility to file a motion to extend the 
briefing schedule. 

20. Counsel shall be diligent in expediting the timely 
submission of the appeal and shall take all steps necessary to 
reduce delays and time necessary for the processing of 
appeals which adversely affect the client. 

21. Where counsel is unable to provide high quality 
representation in appellate proceedings in a particular case, 

counsel must bring this deficiency to the attention of the 
capital case supervisor and the capital case coordinator. If 
the deficiency cannot be remedied then counsel must bring 
the matter to the attention of the court and seek the relief 
appropriate to protect the interests of the client. Counsel may 
be unable to provide high quality representation due to a 
range of factors: lack of resources, insufficient time, 
excessive workload, poor health or other personal 
considerations, inadequate skill or experience etc.  

22. Following the filing of appellee’s brief and before 
filing a reply brief, a second case review meeting shall be 
conducted to discuss the defense theory on appeal in light of 
the issues raised in the original brief, appellee’s brief and the 
issues to be addressed in reply and at oral argument. 

23. Counsel should, no less than two weeks prior to 
oral argument, where possible, file a reply brief rebutting 
legal and factual arguments made by the state. The reply 
brief should not simply repeat the contents of the original 
brief but should respond directly to the contentions of the 
state and any issues arising from the state’s brief. Where 
appropriate, counsel should file a supplemental brief on the 
merits, seeking leave to do so if the case has already been 
submitted. 

24. Counsel should prepare and timely file a sentence 
review memorandum in each case. The sentence review 
memorandum shall address itself to the state’s sentence 
review memorandum and to the question of whether the 
sentence is excessive, having regard to: the influence of 
passion, prejudice, or other arbitrary factors; whether the 
evidence supports the jury’s finding of a statutory 
aggravating circumstance; and whether the sentence is 
disproportionate to the penalty imposed in similar cases, 
considering both the crime and the defendant. The sentence 
review memorandum need not be limited to the matters 
contained in the record and shall furnish additional 
information relevant to the court’s considerations under La. 
C.Cr.P. art. 905.9 and Supreme Court Rule XXVIII based 
upon the results of investigation undertaken pursuant to 
performance standard 9(25). 

25. Counsel should undertake a detailed and intensive 
investigation of the matters relevant to the sentence review 
memorandum. Counsel shall not rely upon the contents of 
the state’s sentence review memorandum without confirming 
the accuracy of that memorandum. The investigation should 
be commenced as soon as practicable after counsel is 
assigned to the case. Where additional favorable information 
is developed, counsel should seek a remand of the matter for 
the development of facts relating to whether the sentence is 
excessive. 

26. Counsel should promptly review the uniform 
capital sentence report for accuracy and completeness. 
Where a response to the uniform capital sentence report has 
not previously been filed in the case, or where the response 
was incomplete or inaccurate, counsel should prepare and 
file an opposition to the report in accordance with these 
standards. 

27. Counsel shall promptly inform the client of the 
date, time and place scheduled for oral argument of the 
appeal as soon as counsel receives notice thereof from the 
appellate court. Counsel shall not waive oral argument.  

28. To prepare for oral argument, counsel should 
review the record and the briefs of the parties, and should 
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update legal research. If binding dispositive or contrary 
authority has been published since the filing of the brief, 
counsel shall disclose the information to the court. Counsel 
should be prepared to answer questions propounded by the 
court. In particular, counsel should be prepared to address 
whether and where the questions presented were preserved 
in the record, the applicable standards of review and the 
prejudice associated with the errors alleged. 

29. Lead counsel shall adopt procedures, including at 
least two moot court arguments, to assist counsel in 
preparing to present argument. The moot court shall include 
at least one attorney qualified as lead appellate counsel who 
was not involved in drafting the brief. The moot will 
ordinarily be conducted in the course of a case review 
meeting under these standards but where this is not possible, 
the moot should be conducted independently of the case 
review. 

30. Counsel presenting oral argument should be the 
person best qualified to present oral argument taking into 
account experience, the complexity of the case and time to 
prepare. That person will ordinarily be lead counsel. 
However, after consultation with the case supervisor and 
defense team, lead counsel may designate other counsel to 
present argument, including outside counsel. 

31. Where pertinent and significant authorities come to 
counsel’s attention following oral argument, counsel should 
bring the authorities to the attention to the court by letter or, 
where appropriate, should seek leave to file a supplemental 
brief.  

32. Counsel shall promptly inform the client of any 
decision of the appellate court in the client's case and shall 
promptly transmit to the client a copy of the decision. 
Counsel should accurately inform the client of the courses of 
action which may be pursued as a result of the decision. If 
the case has been returned to a lower court on remand, 
counsel should continue in his or her representation (unless 
and until other counsel has been assigned and formally 
enrolled) providing any necessary briefing to the court to 
continue to advocate for the client. 

33. Counsel shall promptly inform the capital case 
coordinator of the disposition in any capital appeal case. 

34. Counsel shall timely prepare and file a motion for 
rehearing, raising all arguments for which a meritorious 
motion for rehearing can be advanced. Counsel should have 
particular regard to any changes or developments in the law 
since the case had been submitted and any errors of fact or 
law appearing in the decision that may be corrected by 
reference to the record. 

35. The duties of the counsel representing the client on 
direct appeal ordinarily include filing a petition for certiorari 
in the Supreme Court of the United States. If appellate 
counsel does not intend to file such a petition, he or she 
should immediately notify the capital coordinator and the 
state public defender. In developing, drafting and filing a 
petition for certiorari, appellate counsel should consult with 
counsel with particular expertise and experience in litigating 
applications for certiorari before the United States Supreme 
Court. 

36. In preparing and filing a petition for certiorari, 
counsel should consider the benefit to the client of the 
support of amici and seek appropriate support where it is in 
the client’s interests. 

37. Appellate counsel should be familiar with the 
procedure for setting execution dates and providing notice of 
them. Counsel should also be thoroughly familiar with all 
available procedures for seeking a stay of execution. If an 
execution date is set, counsel should immediately take all 
appropriate steps to secure a stay of execution and pursue 
those efforts through all available fora. 

38. In the event that the client’s appeal to the Louisiana 
Supreme Court and application for certiorari to the United 
States Supreme Court are unsuccessful, appellate counsel 
shall advise the client of: his or her right to seek state post-
conviction relief and federal habeas corpus relief; the one-
year statute of limitations for the filing of a petition for a 
writ of habeas corpus in federal district court; the procedure 
and effect of filing of a petition for post-conviction relief in 
the state trial court to raise new claims and to exhaust any 
federal constitutional issues for federal habeas review; and, 
the procedure for assignment of counsel to represent the 
client in post-conviction proceedings. 

39. Appellate counsel shall, with the client’s consent, 
continue to represent the client for the limited purpose of 
preserving the client’s interests in his state post-conviction, 
federal habeas corpus and clemency proceedings pending the 
assignment of post-conviction counsel. Counsel shall 
carefully explain the limited scope of this representation to 
the client and provide advice of this limited scope in writing 
when obtaining the client’s consent. 

40. Counsel should be aware of the statute of 
limitations for filing a petition for writ of habeas corpus in 
federal court, and should file pleadings in state court so as to 
allow adequate time for preparation and filing of such a 
petition if state post-conviction relief is denied. 

41. When counsel’s representation terminates, counsel 
shall cooperate with the client and any succeeding counsel in 
the transmission of the record, transcripts, file, capital case 
direct appeal review form, and other information pertinent to 
post-conviction proceedings. Counsel should notify the 
client when the case assignment is concluded.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:87 (January 2015). 
§1921. Performance Standard 10: State Post-Conviction 

and Clemency 
A. Duties of Post-Conviction Counsel 

1. Post-conviction counsel should comply with the 
capital guidelines, and these performance standards, except 
where clearly inapplicable to the representation of the client 
in the post-conviction period of the case, including the 
obligations to: 

a. maintain close contact with the client regarding 
litigation developments; 

b. continually monitor the client’s mental, physical 
and emotional condition for effects on the client’s legal 
position; 

c. keep under continuing review the desirability of 
modifying prior counsel’s theory of the case in light of 
subsequent developments; 

d. take all steps that may be appropriate in the 
exercise of professional judgment in accordance with these 
standards to achieve an agreed-upon disposition; and 

e. continue an aggressive investigation of all 
aspects of the case. 
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2. Post-conviction counsel should be familiar with all 
state and federal appellate and post-conviction options 
available to the client, and should consider how any tactical 
decision might affect later options. 

3. Post-conviction counsel should monitor and remain 
informed of legal developments that may be relevant to the 
persuasive representation of claims in state post-conviction 
proceedings, in federal habeas corpus proceedings and in 
any application for certiorari to the United States Supreme 
Court as well as the preservation of claims for subsequent 
review in state and federal proceedings and international 
legal fora. 

a. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in and be aware of current legal claims 
pending in relevant cases in front of the Louisiana Supreme 
Court, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and the United 
States Supreme Court.  

b. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in Louisiana’s Courts of Appeal including 
splits between the circuit courts of appeal. 

c. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in the superior courts of other states, 
particularly in the interpretation and application of federal 
constitutional law. 

d. Counsel should monitor relevant legal 
developments in the federal courts of appeal, including splits 
between circuit courts of appeal. 

e. Counsel should monitor relevant developments in 
international law. 

4. Counsel should explain to the client counsel’s role, 
how counsel was appointed to the case, and the meaning and 
goals of post-conviction and federal habeas corpus 
proceedings, and counsel should encourage the client to 
participate in the collateral review process. 

5. Counsel shall consult with the client on the matters 
to be raised in any post-conviction petition or federal 
application for habeas corpus and give genuine consideration 
to any issue the client wishes to raise. What claims to raise, 
and how to raise them, are generally matters entrusted to the 
discretion of counsel. When counsel decides not to argue all 
of the issues that his or her client desires to be argued, 
counsel should inform the client of that decision, of the 
reasons for the decision, and of his or her right to file a pro 
se brief. 

6. Post-conviction counsel should obtain and review a 
complete record of all proceedings relevant to the case 
including the appellate record, the district court file, any file 
in the court of appeal or Supreme Court, and the files in any 
other related or prior proceedings in the cause.  

7. Post-conviction counsel should obtain and review 
all prior counsels’ file(s). Post-conviction counsel should 
retain and preserve prior counsel’s files as far as possible in 
the condition in which they were received until transmitted 
to successor counsel. 

8. Post-conviction counsel should ensure that the 
record of proceedings available for review is complete. If 
any item is necessary to post-conviction review but is not 
included in the record of proceedings, it is post-conviction 
counsel’s responsibility to ensure that the record available 
for review is supplemented. 

9. Post-conviction counsel should interview the client 
and previous defense team members about the case, 
including any relevant matters that do not appear in the 
record. Post-conviction counsel should consider whether any 
potential off-record matters should have an impact on how 
post-conviction review is pursued, and what kind of an 
investigation of the matter is warranted.  

10. Post-conviction counsel should seek to investigate 
and litigate all issues, whether or not previously presented, 
that are arguably meritorious under the standards applicable 
to high quality capital defense representation, including 
challenges to any overly restrictive procedural rules and any 
good faith argument for the extension, modification or 
reversal of existing law. Counsel should undertake a high 
quality, independent, exhaustive investigation and should not 
assume that investigation of issues by prior counsel has been 
complete or adequate. 

11. The investigation and litigation of claims should 
encompass all arguably available claims for relief, including 
those based upon the grounds that: 

a. the defendant is in custody or the sentence was 
imposed in violation of the Constitution or laws or treaties of 
the United States; 

b. the execution of the defendant would violate the 
Constitution, laws or treaties of the United States or the 
Constitution or laws of the state of Louisiana; 

c. the conviction was obtained in violation of the 
constitution of the state of Louisiana; 

d. the sentence was obtained in violation of the 
constitution of the state of Louisiana or is otherwise an 
illegal sentence; 

e. the court exceeded its jurisdiction; 
f. the conviction or sentence subjected the 

defendant to double jeopardy; 
g. the limitations on the institution of prosecution 

had expired; 
h. the statute creating the offense for which the 

defendant was convicted and sentenced is unconstitutional; 
i. the conviction or sentence constitute the ex post 

facto application of law in violation of the constitution of the 
United States or the state of Louisiana; 

j. the results of DNA testing performed pursuant to 
an application granted under La. C. Cr. P. art. 926.1 proves 
that the petitioner is factually innocent of the crime for 
which he was convicted; or 

k. the defendant is otherwise shown to be factually 
innocent of the crime for which he was convicted or not 
eligible for the death penalty. 

12. In conducting the investigation, counsel should 
have particular regard to the possibility that claims for relief 
may arise from matters not previously fully investigated or 
litigated, including: 

a. the possibility that the state failed to turn over 
evidence favorable to the defendant and material to his guilt 
or punishment; 

b. the possibility that the state knowingly used false 
testimony to secure the conviction or sentence; 

c. the possibility that the client received ineffective 
assistance of counsel as to either guilt or penalty in the 
course of his representation in the trial court or on appeal; 
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d. the possibility that the jury’s verdict is tainted by 
issues such as jury misconduct, improper separation of the 
jury, and false answers on voir dire examination; and, 

e. the possibility that the client is innocent of the 
offense charged or not eligible for the death penalty. 

13. In investigating the possibility that the client 
received ineffective assistance of counsel, post-conviction 
counsel must review both the record in the case and also 
conduct a thorough investigation of the facts and 
circumstances beyond the record in order to determine 
whether a claim exists that counsel’s performance was 
deficient. As these Standards are intended to reflect accepted 
minimum standards for performance in capital cases, in 
determining the scope of the investigation to be conducted, 
post-conviction counsel shall have regard to these Standards 
as they describe the responsibilities of trial and appellate 
counsel. Post-conviction counsel shall conduct a sufficiently 
thorough investigation to determine either that prior 
counsel’s responsibilities were met or to determine the 
extent of any prejudice arising from the failure to meet those 
responsibilities. 

14. In investigating and developing claims of 
ineffective assistance of counsel or the suppression of 
favorable evidence, counsel shall be conscious that evidence 
will be assessed for its cumulative impact and so should not 
limit the investigation to those matters that might, in and of 
themselves, justify relief. Instead, the investigation should 
extend to those matters which, in combination with others, 
may justify relief. 

15. In investigating, preparing and submitting a 
petition, counsel should seek such pre-filing discovery, 
compulsory process, requests for admissions, depositions 
and other orders as are available and appropriate to a high 
quality, independent, exhaustive investigation. Counsel 
should investigate the possibility of and, where appropriate, 
file an application for DNA testing pursuant to La. C.Cr.P. 
art. 926.1. 

16. Counsel should make every professionally 
appropriate effort to present issues in a manner that will 
preserve them for subsequent review. Claims raised should 
include federal constitutional claims which, in the event that 
relief is denied, could form the basis for a successful petition 
for writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court or for a writ of 
habeas corpus in the federal district court. Where pending 
claims in another case may be resolved in a manner that 
would benefit the client, counsel should ensure that the 
relevant issues are preserved and presented for review in the 
client’s case and, where appropriate, counsel should seek to 
keep the client’s post-conviction proceedings open pending 
the determination of the other case. 

17. Petitions and supporting memoranda shall conform 
to all rules of court, including Supreme Court Rule XXVII 
and shall have a professional appearance, conform to 
acceptable rules of grammar, be free from typographical 
errors and misspellings, shall advance argument and cite 
legal authority in support of each contention. Counsel shall 
utilize out-of-state and federal authority in support of 
positions when no local authority exists or local authority is 
contrary to the weight of recent decisions from other 
jurisdictions. Regardless of the existence of local authority,

federal authority should also be relied upon to present and 
preserve for later review any federal constitutional claims, 
particularly any applicable decision of the United States 
Supreme Court. 

18. Counsel should be scrupulously accurate in 
referring to the record and the authorities upon which 
counsel relies.  

19. The post-conviction petition should clearly allege a 
factual basis for each claim which, if established, would 
entitle the petitioner to relief and clearly allege all facts 
supporting the claims in the petition. Counsel shall include 
with the petition all documents and exhibits that would 
establish or support the factual basis of the petitioner’s 
claims, including but not limited to court records, transcripts, 
depositions, admissions of fact, affidavits, statements, 
reports and other records. In determining the scope of the 
material to be presented in state court, counsel shall have 
regard to the likelihood that federal review will be limited to 
the material presented in state court and so should not refrain 
from presenting any relevant material unless there are strong 
strategic reasons to do so. 

20. Where counsel raises a claim that has previously 
been fully litigated in earlier appeal proceedings in the case, 
counsel shall fully investigate, prepare and submit an 
argument that the claim is nevertheless eligible for 
consideration in the interests of justice. 

21. Where counsel raises a claim that was not raised in 
the proceedings leading to conviction or sentence, was not 
pursued on appeal or was not included in a prior post-
conviction petition, counsel shall fully investigate, prepare 
and submit a claim that the failure to previously raise the 
claim is excusable. 

22. The identification and selection of issues is the 
responsibility of lead counsel. Lead counsel shall adopt 
procedures for providing an “issues meeting” between the 
attorneys handling the case and other relevantly qualified 
attorneys, including at least one qualified as lead post-
conviction counsel, at which the issues raised in the case and 
the defense theory in post-conviction can be discussed. The 
issues meeting will ordinarily be conducted in the course of 
a case review meeting under these standards but where this 
is not possible, the issues meeting should be conducted 
independently of the case review.  

23. Counsel should complete a full review of the 
records of relevant proceedings, trial counsels’ files and the 
fruits of the post-conviction investigation prior to 
completing a draft of the petition. Lead counsel shall adopt a 
procedure for screening the petition, which should include a 
careful review of the brief by an attorney not involved in 
drafting the pleading. The reviewing attorney should be 
qualified as lead post-conviction counsel. 

24. The review of the records and files should be 
completed a sufficient time before the filing deadline to 
allow for the issues meeting, the drafting of the petition, the 
review of the petition and the finalization of the petition. If 
post-conviction counsel is unable to complete the post-
conviction investigation and prepare the petition within the 
existing briefing schedule in a manner consistent with these 
standards and with high quality post-conviction 
representation, it is counsel’s responsibility to file a motion 
to extend the filing deadline. 
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25. Counsel shall be diligent in expediting the timely 
submission of the post-conviction petition and shall take all 
steps necessary to reduce delays and time necessary for the 
processing of petitions which adversely affect the client. 

26. Where counsel is unable to provide high quality 
representation in post-conviction proceedings in a particular 
case, counsel must promptly bring this deficiency to the 
attention of the capital case supervisor and the capital case 
coordinator. If the deficiency cannot be remedied then 
counsel must bring the matter to the attention of the court 
and seek the relief appropriate to protect the interests of the 
client. Counsel may be unable to provide high quality 
representation due to a range of factors: lack of resources, 
insufficient time, excessive workload, poor health or other 
personal considerations, inadequate skill or experience etc.  

27. Counsel should be aware of the statute of 
limitations for filing a petition for writ of habeas corpus in 
federal court, and should file pleadings in state court so as to 
allow adequate time for preparation and filing of such a 
petition if state post-conviction relief is denied. 

28. Where the state files procedural objections or an 
answer on the merits, counsel should file a response 
rebutting legal and factual arguments made by the state. The 
response brief should not simply repeat the contents of the 
original petition but should respond directly to the 
contentions of the state and any issues arising from the 
state’s filing. Where appropriate, counsel should file a 
supplemental petition or briefing, seeking leave to do so if 
required. 

29. Counsel should seek such discovery, compulsory 
process, requests for admissions, depositions and other 
orders as are available and appropriate to the full 
development and presentation of all claims in the petition 
and should document the denial of any such attempts to 
secure facts in support of possible claims. 

30. Counsel should request an evidentiary hearing for 
all claims in which the state does not clearly admit the 
factual allegations contained in the petition and seek to 
prove by admissible evidence those factual allegations that 
support or establish the client’s claims for relief. 

31. Where counsel is considering seeking an 
evidentiary hearing, counsel should undertake a full factual 
investigation of the issue for which the hearing would be 
sought so that the decision as to whether to seek a hearing 
may be made in light of the evidence that might be adduced 
at such a hearing. Where counsel does seek an evidentiary 
hearing, counsel should ensure that adequate investigation 
and preparation has been undertaken to allow counsel to 
promptly litigate the matter if an evidentiary hearing is 
granted. 

32. Following any evidentiary hearing, counsel should 
file supplemental briefing demonstrating the client’s 
entitlement to relief based upon the petition filed and the 
evidence adduced at the hearing. 

33. Counsel should timely make application for 
supervisory writs if the trial court dismisses the petition or 
otherwise denies relief on an application for post-conviction 
relief. Counsel should take great care to ensure that all writ 
applications comply with the requirements of the relevant 
rules of court and present all claims in a manner that will 
meet the exhaustion requirements applicable in federal 
habeas corpus proceedings. Counsel should ensure that an 

adequate record is created in the trial court to justify and 
encourage the exercise of the supervisory jurisdiction of the 
reviewing court. Counsel should respond to any state 
application for supervisory writs or appeal except where 
exceptional circumstances justify the choice not to respond.  

34. A lack of adequate time, resources or expertise is 
not an adequate reason for failing to make application for 
supervisory writs or failing to respond to a state application. 
Where counsel lacks adequate time, resources or expertise, 
counsel should take all available steps to ensure that the 
defense team has sufficient time, resources and expertise, 
including advising the capital case supervisor of the situation 
and seeking assignment of additional counsel. Counsel shall 
ensure that the role of lack of time or resources upon the 
decision to file a writ application is reflected in the record. 

35. Counsel shall promptly inform the client of the 
decision of the trial court and any reviewing court in the 
client's case and shall promptly transmit to the client a copy 
of the decision. Counsel should accurately inform the client 
of the courses of action which may be pursued as a result of 
the decision.  

36. The duties of the counsel representing the client in 
state post-conviction proceedings include filing a petition for 
certiorari in the Supreme Court of the United States. If post-
conviction counsel does not intend to file such a petition, he 
or she should immediately notify the capital coordinator and 
the state public defender. 

37. In preparing and filing a petition for certiorari, 
counsel should consider the benefit to the client of the 
support of amici and seek appropriate support where it is in 
the client’s interests. 

38. Post-conviction counsel should be familiar with the 
procedure for setting execution dates and providing notice of 
them. Counsel should also be thoroughly familiar with all 
available procedures for seeking a stay of execution. If an 
execution date is set, counsel should immediately take all 
appropriate steps to secure a stay of execution and pursue 
those efforts through all available fora. 

39. In the event that the client’s state post-conviction 
application is unsuccessful, post-conviction counsel shall 
advise the client of: his right to seek federal habeas corpus 
relief; the one-year statute of limitations for the filing of a 
petition for a writ of habeas corpus in federal district court; 
and, the procedure for assignment of counsel to represent the 
client in federal habeas corpus proceedings. Having regard 
to tolling, counsel shall advise the client of the actual period 
of time that will be remaining for filing a federal petition 
upon finalization of the state post-conviction proceedings. 
Counsel shall provide such advice a sufficient period prior to 
the finalization of state post-conviction proceedings to allow 
the client to take adequate steps to protect his rights to 
federal review. 

40. Counsel shall promptly inform the capital case 
coordinator of the disposition in any capital post-conviction 
case. 

41. Counsel shall take all necessary steps to preserve 
the client’s right to federal review, including ensuring that 
the client is not time barred from seeking relief. Post-
conviction counsel shall be responsible for protecting the 
client’s interests in this regard, including ensuring that a 
federal petition is filed while state post-conviction 
proceedings remain pending where the time remaining for 
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filing a federal petition following finalization of the state 
post-conviction proceedings will be inadequate to allow a 
timely filing at that time. 

42. State post-conviction counsel may continue to 
represent the client in his federal habeas corpus proceedings 
only with the consent of the capital case coordinator and the 
informed consent of the client. Adequate representation in 
federal habeas corpus proceedings will include an 
investigation of whether state post-conviction counsel 
provided ineffective assistance in failing to adequately raise 
a meritorious claim of ineffective assistance of trial or 
appellate counsel. Just as trial counsel is poorly placed to 
investigate or litigate his or her own ineffectiveness, state 
post-conviction counsel may be similarly limited. In these 
circumstances, the capital case coordinator should not 
ordinarily consent to continuing representation by state post-
conviction counsel in the absence of: informed consent from 
the client obtained through independent counsel; and, the 
assignment to the defense team of at least one attorney 
qualified and experienced in federal habeas corpus 
proceedings in capital cases who was not involved in the 
preparation and presentation of the state post-conviction 
petition. 

43. When counsel’s representation terminates, counsel 
shall cooperate with the client and any succeeding counsel in 
the transmission of the record, transcripts, file, and other 
information pertinent to post-conviction proceedings. 
Counsel should notify the client when the case assignment is 
concluded. 

44. Counsel should closely monitor the client’s 
competence in post-conviction proceedings, having regard to 
the requirement that the client be sufficiently competent to 
be lawfully executed and should investigate and litigate this 
issue where it is possible that the client does not meet the 
necessary degree of competence. 

B. Duties of Clemency Counsel  
1. Clemency counsel should be familiar with the 

procedures for and permissible substantive content of a 
request for clemency. 

2. Clemency counsel should conduct an investigation 
of matters relevant to clemency consistent with these 
standards and should not assume that the investigation 
conducted by prior counsel was complete or adequate. 

3. Clemency counsel should ensure that clemency is 
sought in as timely and persuasive a manner as possible, 
tailoring the presentation to the characteristics of the 
particular client, case and jurisdiction. 

4. Clemency counsel should ensure that the process 
governing consideration of the client’s application is 
substantively and procedurally just, and, if it is not, should 
seek appropriate redress. 

5. Clemency counsel should fully discharge the 
ongoing obligations imposed by the guidelines, and 
standards including the obligations to: 

a. maintain close contact with the client regarding 
litigation developments; 

b. continually monitor the client’s mental, physical 
and emotional condition for effects on the client’s legal 
position; 

c. keep under continuing review the desirability of 
modifying prior counsel’s theory of the case in light of 
subsequent developments; and 

d. continue an aggressive investigation of all 
aspects of the case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:90 (January 2015). 
§1923. Performance Standard 11: Supervision, Review 

and Consultation 
A. Supervision of the Defense Team 

1. Primary responsibility for the supervision of the 
defense team and the team’s compliance with these 
standards and the guidelines rests with lead counsel. Lead 
counsel shall establish a system for communication, 
feedback and supervision of the defense team that shall 
ensure that the team provides high quality representation and 
that any deficiencies in compliance with the guidelines or 
standards are promptly identified and remedied. Lead 
counsel should ensure that all team members are aware of 
their obligations under the guidelines and performance 
standards. 

2. Primary responsibility for the supervision of 
experts rests with lead counsel, though this responsibility 
may be delegated to other counsel who are more directly 
responsible for working with a particular expert. Counsel 
supervising an expert shall ensure that appropriate funding is 
secured and maintained for the expert’s services, that the 
expert performs the requested services in a timely fashion 
and to a high quality and that the expert’s services are 
promptly invoiced and paid. By submitting an expert’s 
invoice to the office of the state defender for payment, 
counsel certifies that the work performed was reasonably 
necessary and that it was completed to an appropriate 
standard. 

3. The case supervisor is responsible for monitoring 
the correct, effective and appropriate implementation of the 
capital guidelines and performance standards in each case. In 
contrast to the responsibilities of lead counsel to make 
strategic decisions in the case, this is an administrative level 
of supervision designed to ensure that the team is assembled 
and is functioning in accordance with the guidelines and 
standards. The case supervisor shall be certified as lead 
counsel and shall have a comprehensive knowledge of the 
requirements of the capital guidelines and performance 
standards. The case supervisor shall not be a staff member in 
the same office as members of the defense team or district 
defender of the district responsible for the case. 

4. The case supervisor for each case shall meet with 
the defense team no less than once every three months and 
provide a quarterly report to the capital case coordinator in 
the form provided, advising of the extent to which the team 
and its representation are in compliance with the guidelines 
and standards. 

5. The case supervisor is a lawyer engaged to consult 
with counsel on the defense team within lawyer-client 
privilege to assist in ensuring that each client is receiving 
high quality representation in compliance with the capital 
guidelines and performance standards. The case supervisor 
does not, by virtue of being case supervisor, have the 
authority to act on behalf of the defendant or to direct 
members of the defense team to take any action or refrain 
from taking any action. The case supervisor may make 
recommendations to the defense team, resolve workload
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questions pursuant to guideline §919 and report non-
compliance with the guidelines to the district public 
defender and state public defender. All members of the 
defense team shall cooperate with the case supervisor and 
provide access to the case file and case theory documents as 
requested. 

6. The state defender, district defender or director of a 
defender organization having an employment or contractual 
relationship with counsel on a defense team may exercise 
such supervisory and regulatory authority as is consistent 
with the Louisiana Rules of Professional Conduct and 
provided for within that employment or contractual 
relationship. However, it shall remain at all times the 
responsibility of individual counsel to ensure that 
representation is provided in accordance with the capital 
guidelines and performance standards. 

7. The capital case coordinator shall have 
responsibility for monitoring the performance of counsel and 
defender organizations providing capital representation in 
the state and reporting to the state defender. In performing 
this supervisory role, the capital case coordinator shall have 
particular regard to: the capital guidelines and performance 
standards; applications for certification and re-certification 
of counsel; quarterly reports submitted by case supervisors; 
requests for expert assistance by counsel; briefings from 
counsel following the closure of cases; findings and 
recommendations of case review committees formed under 
guideline §921(C); case observation; and other reliable 
sources of information. 

8. Where the capital case coordinator becomes aware 
that a defense team is not providing representation consistent 
with these guidelines and associated performance standards, 
the capital case coordinator, shall take necessary action to 
protect the interests of the attorney's current and potential 
clients. 

B. Case Review Meetings, Consulting Counsel and 
Practice Advisories 

1. In order to ensure high quality legal representation 
in each case, identify any problems in the case in a timely 
fashion, develop the knowledge and skill of capital 
defenders and build the capacity of the indigent capital 
defense community in this state, representation in each case 
should include the use of case review meetings. 

2. Case review meetings are meetings facilitated by a 
professional external to the team. Case review meetings will 
include the whole defense team, the facilitator and a diverse 
group of appropriately qualified professionals external to the 
team (both lawyers and non-lawyers). The case review 
meeting will involve a systematic and comprehensive review 
of the case and the representation appropriate to the stage of 
proceedings and preparation of the case. The case review 
meeting will involve a structured dialogue and critical 
thinking designed to empower the defense team and is not 
designed as a mechanism for assessing the performance of 
the defense team or its members. The case review meeting 
will produce a list of concrete commitments from the 
defense team arising from the discussions in the case review 
meeting. 

3. The documents prepared for each case review 
meeting, the minutes of the case review meeting and the 
commitments arising from each case review meeting shall be 

maintained by counsel in the relevant case file and shall be 
available for review by the case supervisor. 

4. At each stage of representation in a case (trial, 
appellate and post-conviction) there should ordinarily be a 
minimum of three case review meetings conducted. Case 
review meetings will ordinarily be conducted: early in the 
assignment of the case (to ensure the team has been properly 
assembled, is adequately resourced and has an appropriate 
plan for advancing representation in the case); once 
substantial work on the case has been commenced (to ensure 
that the work is proceeding appropriately, to provide 
feedback on the defense theory, to provide input on 
investigative and litigation planning and to respond to 
particular issues that have developed in the case); and, as the 
case is approaching the culmination of the work at the 
particular stage of representation (to ensure that the case is 
ready to proceed, to provide feedback on the planned 
execution of the case theory that has been developed and to 
troubleshoot any final issues that have arisen). 

5. Facilitators for case reviews conducted pursuant to 
these standards shall be approved by the capital case 
coordinator. 

6. In addition to counsel assigned as a part of the 
defense team and the case supervisor, counsel should consult 
with and take advantage of the skills and experience of other 
certified capital defenders. The state defender may require as 
a condition of provisional certification that counsel consult 
with other counsel designated by the state defender. Counsel 
may consult on a specific issue or issues, or may consult in 
an ongoing fashion with the defense team. 

7. Counsel consulting on a case is acting within 
lawyer-client privilege and should maintain confidentiality 
accordingly. 

8. Counsel consulting with a defense team should 
ensure that their work as a consulting counsel and any 
advice provided is fully documented. In order to ensure the 
accuracy of any advice provided, consulting counsel should 
seek to reduce that advice to writing, including a notation of 
the issue presented and the factual or legal assumptions that 
underpin the advice. This requirement is not intended to 
require consulting counsel to provide briefing on the basis of 
any advice or otherwise increase the scope of the 
responsibility of counsel consulting on the case but instead 
to ensure that such advice as is given is reduced to writing to 
avoid the miscommunications inherent in oral 
communication. 

9. In order to assist capital defenders in the 
performance of their duties, the capital case coordinator may 
from time to time issue practice advisories. These practice 
advisories shall not have the status or effect of rules 
promulgated by the Louisiana Public Defender Board. The 
practice advisories represent the opinion of the office of the 
state public defender as to best practices and are intended to 
provide a timely and flexible way to provide expert advice to 
the field on specific or emerging areas in capital defense. 

10. Before a practice advisory may be issued, it must 
be approved by an advisory committee of no less than four 
members including counsel actively engaged in capital 
defense at trial, appellate and post-conviction level. No 
practice advisory shall be issued without the approval of the 
state public defender. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Public Defender Board, LR 41:94 (January 2015). 

 
James R. Dixon, Jr. 
State Public Defender 

1501#070 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators 

Preceptor Update, Continuing Education, and Fee Schedule 
(LAC 46:XLIX.703, 903, and 1201) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 37:2501 et seq., the Louisiana Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators has amended 
LAC 46:XLIX.703, 903, and 1201. The Rule increases the 
number of hours of approved continuing education credits 
that must be completed annually from 15 to 18 and limits the 
maximum number of those hours from approved online 
courses to 9. The Rule also increases specific fees to provide 
sufficient revenues for increases in the operating costs of the 
Board of Examiners. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLIX.  Nursing Facility Administrators 

Chapter 7. Administrator-in-Training (AIT) 
§703. Preceptor 

A. - E. … 
F. Preceptor Update. Preceptors must undertake an 

approved training course every three years sponsored by the 
board in order to maintain this certification. The training 
qualifies as required continuing education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 19:1023 (August 1993), LR 37:593 (February 
2011), LR 41:96 (January 2015). 
Chapter 9. Continuing Education 
§903. Requirements 

A. Number of Hours. Each licensee must complete a 
minimum of 18 hours of approved continuing education, or 
the portion thereof as designated by the board during the 
12-month period preceding the date of re-registration of 
licenses. 

1. A maximum of 9 hours of approved online 
continuing education may be credited towards the total 18 
hours.  

B. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 11:864 (September 1985), LR 13:240 
(April 1987), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 19:1023 
(August 1993), repromulgated LR 19:1322 (October 1993), 
amended LR 37:593 (February 2011), LR 39:1046 (April 2013), 
LR 41:96 (January 2015). 
Chapter 12. Fees and Assessments 
§1201. Fee Schedule 

A. The board hereby establishes the following fees and 
costs to be imposed for the purpose of implementing and 
enforcing the provisions of this Part. 

 
Administrator address labels/page $8 
Annual Conditional Registration Fee $210 
Annual Registration Fee $395 
Application Packet $100 
Certification of document as true copy $10 
CNA/DSW Card  $13 
Continuing Education Provider (annually) $600 
Delinquent fee $250 
Directory of Administrators $15 
Failure to maintain current information $80 
Handling and mailing per page $2 
Initial Registration Fee $395 
Minimum Licensure Standards Book $15 
NFA Application Fee $600 
NFA Replacement Card (with photo) $17 
NSF Fee $50 
Photocopies of document/page $0.50 
Reciprocity Fee (to another state) $50 
Reciprocity Fee (to Louisiana) $125 
Replace License Card $12 
Replace License (original) $50 
Replace Registration Certificate or 2nd copy $25 
Request for CEU Approval (applicant) $50 
Request for CEU Approval (vendor) $75 
Seminars (per hour of instruction) $50 
State Exam Fee $120 
State Exam Retake Fee $150 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:596 (February 2011), amended LR 39:1047 
(April 2013), LR 41:96 (January 2015). 

 
Mark A. Hebert 
Executive Director 

1501#002 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators 

Refusal, Suspension, and Revocation of License 
(LAC 46:XLIX.1105) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 37:2501 et seq., the Louisiana Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators has amended 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 97

LAC 46:XLIX.1105 relative to the administration of nursing 
facility administrators and their licensure to amend the 
refusal, suspension and revocation of license policy to 
include administrators-in-training, to add an additional 
violation complaint category, and to expand the disciplinary 
action options available to the board. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLIX.  Nursing Facility Administrators 

Chapter 11. Licenses 
§1105. Refusal, Suspension and Revocation of License 

A. Board Review; Notice of Hearing 
1. Upon the determination that a licensee or 

administrator-in-training applicant has violated one or more 
provisions of this Part the board may suspend, revoke, or 
refuse to issue a license or certificate of registration for 
nursing home administrator found in violation of this Part. In 
addition, the board may place a licensed administrator on 
probation, and/or in remedial training, and/or officially 
reprimand or otherwise discipline a licensee or 
administrator-in-training applicant, including but not limited 
to the imposition of a fine as set forth in this Part. 

2. Once a complaint under the categories that follow 
has been received by the board, the board shall provide 
licensee or administrator-in-training applicant with adequate 
notice and an opportunity to respond as provided in Chapter 
13 of this Part. 

a. Category One 
 i. - x. ... 
 xi. has used alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs in a 
manner that interferes with the actual ability to practice as a 
nursing facility administrator or train as a administrator-in-
training applicant. 

b. - e. ... 
3. Disciplinary Action 

a. Category One. A fine of not less than $500 nor 
more than $2,000, and/or probation not to exceed three 
years, and/or suspension of license for not less than 30 days 
nor more than three years, denial of licensure and/or 
remedial training, counseling or revocation of license. 

A.3.a.i. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504, R.S. 37:2509 and R.S. 37:2510. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:461 (July 1983), LR 12:366 (June 
1986), amended by Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 15:195 (March 
1989), repealed and repromulgated LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:595 (February 2011), LR 39:1046 (April 
2013), LR 41:97 (January 2015). 

 
Mark A. Hebert 
Executive Director 

1501#001 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Compounding (LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 25) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended Chapter 25, Prescriptions, Drugs and 
Devices, and more specifically, Subchapter C, Compounding 
of Drugs, of its rules. The Rule changes are intended to 
harmonize the board’s rules on this topic with recently 
enacted federal legislation, the Drug Quality and Security 
Act of 2013. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 25. Prescriptions, Drugs, and Devices 
Subchapter C. Compounding of Drugs 
§2531. Purpose and Scope 

A. Purpose. The rules of this Subchapter describe the 
requirements of minimum current good compounding 
practices for the preparation of drug formulations by 
Louisiana-licensed pharmacists, pharmacy interns, pharmacy 
technicians, and pharmacy technician candidates for 
dispensing and/or administration to patients. 

B. Scope. These requirements are intended to apply to all 
compounded preparations, sterile and non-sterile, regardless 
of the location of the patient, e.g., home, hospital, nursing 
home, hospice, or practitioner’s office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 29:2105 (October 
2003), effective January 1, 2004, LR 41:97 (January 2015). 
§2533. Definitions 

A. As used in this Subchapter, the following terms shall 
have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section. 

* * * 
Preparation—a compounded drug dosage form or 

dietary supplement or a device to which a compounder has 
introduced a drug. This term will be used to describe 
compounded formulations. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 29:2105 (October 
2003), effective January 1, 2004, LR 41:97 (January 2015). 
§2535. General Standards  

A. Compounding Practices. Compounded medications 
may be prepared using prescription medications, over-the-
counter medications, chemicals, compounds, or other 
components. 
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1. A pharmacy shall have written procedures as 
necessary for the compounding of drug preparations to 
assure that the finished preparations have the identity, 
strength, quality, and purity they are represented to possess. 

2. All compounding activities shall be accomplished 
utilizing accepted pharmacy techniques, practices, and 
equipment, as well as the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic 
Act of 1938 as subsequently amended, most recently in 
November 2013 (FDCA), the 2014 edition of title 21 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and all relevant 
chapters of the 2014 edition of the United States 
Pharmacopeia-National Formulary (USP 37-NF 32). 

a. The compounding of sterile preparations 
pursuant to the receipt of a patient-specific prescription shall 
comply with the provisions of section 503A of the FDCA 
and USP chapter 797. 

b. The compounding of non-sterile preparations 
pursuant to the receipt of a patient-specific prescription shall 
comply with the provisions of section 503A of the FDCA 
and USP chapter 795. 

c. The compounding of preparations for veterinary 
use shall comply with the provisions of section 530 of Title 
21 of the CFR. 

d. The compounding of positron emission 
tomography (PET) drugs shall comply with the provisions of 
section 212 of title 21 of the CFR. 

3. Products or duplicates of products removed from 
the market for the purposes of safety shall not be used to 
compound prescriptions for human use. 

B. Board Notification. An applicant or pharmacy permit 
holder who wishes to engage in the compounding of sterile 
preparations shall notify the board and shall receive approval 
from the board prior to beginning that practice.  

C. Training and Education. All individuals compounding 
sterile preparations shall: 

1. obtain practical and/or academic training in the 
compounding and dispensing of sterile preparations; 

2. complete a minimum of one hour of Accreditation 
Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredited or 
board-approved continuing education, on an annual basis, 
related to sterile drug preparation, dispensing, and 
utilization; 

3. use proper aseptic technique in compounding of all 
sterile preparations, as defined by the pharmacy practice 
site’s policy and procedure manual; 

4. qualify through an appropriate combination of 
specific training and experience to operate or manipulate any 
item of equipment, apparatus, or device to which such 
persons will be assigned to use to make and dispense sterile 
preparations; and 

5. maintain in the pharmacy practice site a written 
record of initial and subsequent training and competency 
evaluations. The record shall contain the following minimum 
information: 

a. name of the individual receiving the 
training/evaluation; 

b. date of the training/evaluation; 
c. general description of the topics covered; 
d. signature of the individual receiving the 

training/evaluation; and 
e. name and signature of the individual providing 

the training/evaluation. 

D. Anticipated Use Preparations. The pharmacist shall 
label any excess compounded preparation so as to reference 
it to the formula used and the assigned lot number and 
estimated beyond use date based on the pharmacist’s 
professional judgment and/or other appropriate testing or 
published data. 

E. Compounding Commercial Products not Available. A 
pharmacy may prepare a copy of a commercial product 
when that product is not available as evidenced by either of 
the following: 

1. products appearing on a website maintained by the 
federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and/or the 
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP); 

2. products temporarily unavailable from 
manufacturers, as documented by invoice or other 
communication from the distributor or manufacturer. 

F. Labeling of Compounded Preparations 
1. The labeling requirements of R.S. 37:1225, or its 

successor, as well as this Chapter, shall apply. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 23:1316 (October 
1997), LR 29:2105 (October 2003), effective January 1, 2004, LR 
41:97 (January 2015). 
§2537. Requirements for Compounding Sterile 

Products 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1182. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 29:2106 (October 
2003), effective January 1, 2004, repealed LR 41:98 (January 
2015). 

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1501#009 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Pharmacy 

Prescriptions (LAC 46:LIII.2511) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended §2511, Prescriptions of its rules. The 
Rule updates the requirements for prescription forms and to 
codify contemporary practice standards for the minimum 
data set for prescriptions. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 25. Prescriptions, Drugs, and Devices 
Subchapter B. Prescriptions 
§2511. Prescriptions 

A. … 
* * * 
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B. Requirements. A prescription shall contain the 
following data elements: 

1. prescriber’s name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and if for a controlled substance, the 
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration 
number; 

2. patient’s name, and if for a controlled substance, 
address; 

3. date prescription issued by the prescriber; 
4. name of drug or device, and if applicable, strength, 

and quantity to be dispensed; 
5. directions for use; 
6. signature of prescriber; and 
7. refill instructions, if any. In the absence of refill 

instructions on the original prescription, the prescription 
shall not be refilled. 

C. Written Prescriptions. A written prescription shall 
conform to the following format. 

1. The prescription form shall be of a size not less 
than 4 inches by 5 inches, and shall bear a single printed 
signature line. 

2. The prescription form shall clearly indicate the 
authorized prescriber’s name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and, if for a controlled substance, the 
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration 
number. In the event that multiple practitioners are identified 
on the prescription form, the authorizing prescriber’s 
specific identity shall be clear and unambiguous. This 
identification may be indicated by any means, including but 
not limited to, a marked check box next to, or circling the 
authorizing prescriber’s printed name. 

3. No prescription form shall contain more than four 
prescription drug orders. Each prescription drug order 
recorded on the form shall provide the following: 

a. check box labeled “Dispense as Written”, or 
“DAW”, or both; and 

b. the number of refills, if any. 
4. The prescription shall be written with ink or 

indelible pencil, typewriter, or printed on a computer printer 
and shall be manually signed by the practitioner on the date 
issued and in the same manner as he would sign a check or 
legal document (e.g., J. H. Smith or John H. Smith). 
Examples of invalid signatures include rubber stamps, 
signatures of anyone other than the prescriber, and computer 
generated signatures. 

5. Facsimile Prescription 
a. The receiving facsimile machine of a prescription 

transmitted by facsimile shall be located within the 
pharmacy department. 

b. The prescription transmitted by facsimile shall be 
on a non-fading legible medium. 

c. All requirements applicable to written 
prescriptions in this Subsection shall apply to facsimile 
prescriptions, except Subparagraph B.7.c. 

6. Forms used by pharmacists to record telephoned or 
transferred prescriptions are exempt from the format 
requirements listed above.  

7. Equivalent Drug Product Interchange 
a. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent 

drug product when the prescriber handwrites a mark in the 
check box labeled “Dispense as Written”, or “DAW”, or 
both, and personally handwrites his signature on a printed 
single signature line. Otherwise, the pharmacist may select 
an equivalent drug product provided the patient has been 
informed of, and has consented to, the proposed cost saving 
interchange. 

b. In the event an authorized prescriber has 
indicated that an equivalent drug product interchange is 
prohibited by handwriting a mark in the check box labeled 
“Dispense as Written” or “DAW” or both, then a non-
licensed, non-certified, or non-registered agent of the 
pharmacy shall not inquire as to a patient’s desire for an 
equivalent drug product interchange. 

c. For prescriptions reimbursable by Medicaid, the 
authorized prescriber may only prohibit equivalent drug 
product interchange by handwriting the words “brand 
necessary” or “brand medically necessary” on the face of the 
prescription order or on a sheet attached to the prescription 
order. 

D. Oral Prescriptions 
1. Upon receipt of an oral prescription from an 

authorized prescriber, the pharmacist or pharmacy intern or 
pharmacy technician shall reduce the order to a written form 
prior to dispensing the medication. As an alternative to 
recording such prescriptions on paper forms, a pharmacist 
may enter the prescription information directly into the 
pharmacy’s dispensing information system. In the event a 
pharmacy intern or pharmacy technicians transcribes such a 
prescription, the supervising pharmacist shall initial or 
countersign the prescription form prior to processing the 
prescription. 

2. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent drug 
product when the authorized prescriber or his agent has 
verbally indicated a specific brand name drug or product is 
ordered. 

3. The pharmacist may select an equivalent drug 
product if the authorized prescriber or his agent has given 
his approval to the equivalent drug product interchange. The 
patient shall be informed of, and consent to, the proposed 
cost saving interchange. 

E. Electronic Prescriptions 
1. The prescription shall clearly indicate the 

authorized prescriber’s name, licensure designation, address, 
telephone number, and if for a controlled substance, DEA 
registration number. 

2. The pharmacist shall not select an equivalent drug 
product when the prescriber indicates “Dispense as Written”, 
“DAW” or “Brand Medically Necessary” and transmits his 
electronic signature. Otherwise, the pharmacist may select 
an equivalent drug product, provided the patient has been 
informed of, and consents to, the proposed cost saving 
interchange. 

F. Exclusion. The provisions of this Section shall not 
apply to medical orders written for patients in facilities 
licensed by the Department of Health and Hospitals or its 
successor. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 
1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 29:2102 (October 
2003), effective January 1, 2004, LR 41:98 (January 2015).  

 
Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1501#010 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Pharmacy 

Special Event Pharmacy Permit 
(LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 24) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 
Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy has amended Chapter 24, Limited Service 
Providers, of its rules by adding Subchapter B, Special Event 
Pharmacy Permit. The Rule is intended to authorize the 
issuance of a pharmacy permit to the sponsor of a special 
event, e.g., medical missions, to facilitate the dispensing of 
prescription medications to patients at the special event. The 
Rule establishes the general requirements and standards of 
practice for pharmacies operating with a special event 
pharmacy permit. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 24. Limited Service Providers 
Subchapter A. Durable Medical Equipment 
§2409. (Reserved) 
Subchapter B. Special Event Pharmacy Permit 
§2411. Special Event Pharmacy Permit 

A. For good cause shown, the board may issue a special 
event pharmacy permit when the scope, degree, or type of 
pharmacy practice or service to be provided is of a special, 
limited, or unusual nature as compared to a regular 
pharmacy service. The permit to be issued shall be based on 
special conditions as requested by the applicant and imposed 
by the board in cases where certain requirements or 
standards of practice may be waived. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1223. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 41:100 (January 
2015). 
§2413. General Requirements 

A. Authority and Limitation 
1. A special event pharmacy permit shall authorize the 

permit holder to procure and possess prescription and non-
prescription drugs and devices, and hold such items for 
immediate administration directly to a patient and/or 
dispense such items to a patient for later use upon the order 
of a practitioner with prescriptive authority. 

2. In the absence of a Louisiana controlled dangerous 
substance (CDS) license, the holder of a special event 

pharmacy permit shall not procure or possess any controlled 
dangerous substances. 

B. Licensing Procedure 
1. A person or other entity desiring to obtain a special 

event pharmacy permit shall complete the application form 
supplied by the board and submit it with any required 
attachments and the application fee to the board. 

2. The applicant shall provide a complete physical 
address reflecting the location where the applicant will hold 
the drugs and devices and engage in the activity for which 
the permit is acquired. The board shall not issue more than 
one permit for the same physical space. 

3. The board shall not process applications received 
by facsimile, or that are incomplete, or submitted with the 
incorrect fee. 

4. A person or other entity who knowingly or 
intentionally submits a false or fraudulent application shall 
be deemed to have violated R.S. 37:1241(A)(2). 

5. Once issued, the special event permit shall expire 
30 days thereafter. No person or other entity shall operate a 
special event pharmacy with an expired permit; the 
continued operation of a special event pharmacy with an 
expired permit shall constitute a violation of R.S. 
37:1241(A)(12). Upon written request to the board, and with 
the concurrence of the board’s president and executive 
director, the expiration date of the special event pharmacy 
permit may be extended up to an additional 30 days. No 
special event pharmacy permit shall be valid for more than 
60 days. 

C. Maintenance of Permit 
1. A special event pharmacy permit shall be valid only 

for the person or other entity to whom it is issued and shall 
not be subject to sale, assignment or other transfer, voluntary 
or involuntary, nor shall a special event pharmacy permit be 
valid for any premises other than the physical location for 
which it is issued. 

2. A duplicate or replacement permit shall be issued 
upon the written request of the permit holder and payment of 
the required fee. A duplicate or replacement permit shall not 
serve or be used as an additional or second permit. 

D. Closure of Permit 
1. At the conclusion of the special event, the permit 

holder shall terminate the dispensing and/or distribution of 
drugs and/or devices from the pharmacy. 

2. Disposition of Inventory 
a. Controlled Dangerous Substances Listed in 

Schedule II. These drugs shall be either returned to the 
supplier or transferred to an authorized registrant, 
accompanied by an executed DEA Form 222, or its 
successor. Alternatively, these drugs shall be inventoried on 
the DEA Form 41 (registrant’s inventory of drugs 
surrendered), or its successor, and then either returned to the 
regional DEA office or destroyed, but only pursuant to 
permission from the DEA or agent of the board. The permit 
holder shall retain triplicate copies of returns, transfers, 
and/or destructions. 

b. Controlled Dangerous Substances Listed in 
Schedules III, IV, or V. These drugs shall be either returned 
to the supplier or transferred to an authorized registrant, 
accompanied by appropriate inventory records. 
Alternatively, these drugs shall be inventoried on the DEA 
Form 41, or its successor, and then either returned to the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 101

regional DEA office, or destroyed pursuant to permission 
from the DEA or agent of the board. 

c. All Other Prescription and Non-prescription 
Drugs and/or Devices. These items shall be returned to the 
supplier, transferred to an authorized registrant, or destroyed. 

3. Surrender of Credentials and Board Notice 
a. All drugs, devices, prescription records and other 

pharmacy records have been removed from the premises, the 
permit holder shall prepare and render a final closure notice 
to the board. The notice shall contain the following: 
 i. disposition and destination of all drugs and/or 
devices held by the pharmacy; 
 ii. disposition and destination of all prescriptions 
and medical orders dispensed or administered to patients; 
 iii. disposition and destination of all other 
pharmacy records, including acquisition, inventory, and 
disposition records for all drugs and/or devices; 
 iv. the commitment to store such records for no 
less than two years following the closure of the pharmacy, 
and further, to make any and all such records available for 
inspection by the board no later than 72 hours following a 
request from the board; 
 v. the certification that all signage indicating the 
presence of a pharmacy has been removed from the 
premises; 
 vi. the confirmation of the surrender of any federal 
DEA registration held by the pharmacy to the regional DEA 
office; and 
 vii. the original and all duplicate copies of the 
special event pharmacy, and if applicable, Louisiana CDS 
license. 

b. The pharmacist-in-charge of the special event 
pharmacy permit has the primary responsibility for the 
proper closure of the pharmacy permit. However, in the 
event the pharmacist-in-charge fails to complete the task, 
then the permit holder shall be responsible for the proper 
closure of the pharmacy permit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 41:100 (January 
2015). 
§2415. Standards of Practice 

A. General Requirements 
1. The special event pharmacy shall be of sufficient 

size and shall contain sufficient fixtures, equipment, and 
supplies commensurate with the scope of practice for that 
pharmacy, provided: 

a. the pharmacy shall be of sufficient size to allow 
for the safe and proper storage of prescription drugs and, if 
applicable, controlled dangerous substances; 

b. all areas where drugs and devices are stored shall 
be dry, well-lighted, well ventilated, and maintained at 
temperatures which will ensure the integrity of drugs prior to 
their dispensing as stipulated by the United States 
Pharmacopeia (USP) and/or manufacturer’s or distributor’s 
product labeling unless otherwise indicated by the board; 

c. the pharmacy shall be secured by either a 
physical barrier with suitable locks and/or an electronic 
barrier to detect entry at a time when the pharmacist is not 
present; and 

d. prescription and other patient healthcare 
information shall be maintained in a manner that protects the 
integrity and confidentiality of such information. 

2. The pharmacist-in-charge of the special event 
pharmacy shall be responsible for all pharmacy operations 
including supervision of all pharmacy personnel. 

3. The pharmacy shall have at least one licensed 
pharmacist on duty and physically present in the pharmacy 
at all times the pharmacy is open for the transaction of 
business. 

4. The pharmacy shall have a sufficient number of 
pharmacists and/or other pharmacy personnel on duty to 
operate the pharmacy competently, safely, and adequately to 
meet the needs of the patients of the pharmacy. 

5. When the pharmacy is closed or there is no 
pharmacist on duty, other individuals shall not have access 
to the pharmacy except for temporary absences as provided 
for in Chapter 11 of these rules. 

6. The special event pharmacy shall comply with the 
recordkeeping requirements identified in Chapter 11 of these 
rules. 

7. The compounding of preparations in a special event 
pharmacy shall be accomplished in compliance with the 
current federal standards applicable to such practices: USP 
chapter 795, or its successor, for the compounding of non-
sterile preparations and USP chapter 797, or its successor, 
for the compounding of sterile preparations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1182. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 41:101 (January 
2015). 

 

Malcolm J. Broussard 
Executive Director 

1501#011 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Crisis Receiving Centers 
Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.Chapters 53 and 54) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 48:I.Chapters 
53 and 54 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. This Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part 1.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 53. Level III Crisis Receiving Centers 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§5301. Introduction 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to: 
1. provide for the development, establishment, and 

enforcement of statewide licensing standards for the care of 
patients and clients in level III crisis receiving centers 
(CRCs); 
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2. ensure the maintenance of these standards; and 
3. regulate conditions in these facilities through a 

program of licensure which shall promote safe and adequate 
treatment of clients of behavioral health facilities. 

B. The purpose of a CRC is to provide intervention and 
stabilization services in order for the client to achieve 
stabilization and be discharged and referred to the lowest 
appropriate level of care that meets the client's needs. The 
estimated length of stay in a CRC is 3-7 days. 

C. In addition to the requirements stated herein, all 
licensed CRCs shall comply with applicable local, state, and 
federal laws and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:101 (January 2015). 
§5303. Definitions 

Active Clienta client of the CRC who is currently 
receiving services from the CRC. 

Administrative Procedure ActR.S. 49:950 et seq. 
Administrative ReviewHealth Standards Section's 

review of documentation submitted by the center in lieu of 
an on-site survey.  

Adulta person that is at least 18 years of age. 
Authorized Licensed Prescribera physician or nurse 

practitioner licensed in the state of Louisiana and with full 
prescriptive authority authorized by the CRC to prescribe 
treatment to clients of the specific CRC at which he/she 
practices. 

Building and Construction Guidelinesstructural and 
design requirements applicable to a CRC; does not include 
occupancy requirements. 

Change of Ownership (CHOW)the sale or transfer, 
whether by purchase, lease, gift or otherwise, of a CRC by a 
person/corporation of controlling interest that results in a 
change of ownership or control of 30 percent or greater of 
either the voting rights or assets of a CRC or that results in 
the acquiring person/corporation holding a 50 percent or 
greater interest in the ownership or control of the CRC. 

CLIAclinical laboratory improvement amendment. 
Client Recorda single complete record kept by the CRC 

which documents all treatment provided to the client. The 
record may be electronic, paper, magnetic material, film or 
other media.  

Construction Documentsbuilding plans and 
specifications. 

Contrabandany object or property that is against the 
CRC's policies and procedures to possess.  

Coroner's Emergency Certificate (CEC)a certificate 
issued by the coroner pursuant to R.S. 28:53.3. 

Crisis Receiving Servicesservices related to the 
treatment of people in behavioral crisis, including crisis 
identification, intervention and stabilization. 

Departmentthe Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals.  

Direct Care Staffany member of the staff, including an 
employee or contractor, that provides the services delineated 
in the comprehensive treatment plan. Food services, 
maintenance and clerical staff and volunteers are not 
considered as direct care staff.  

Disaster or Emergencya local, community-wide, 
regional or statewide event that may include, but is not 
limited to: 

1. tornados; 
2. fires; 
3. floods; 
4. hurricanes; 
5. power outages; 
6. chemical spills; 
7. biohazards; 
8. train wrecks; or 
9. declared health crisis. 

Division of Administrative Law (DAL)The Louisiana 
Department of State Civil Service, Division of 
Administrative Law or its successor entity. 

Grievancea formal or informal written or verbal 
complaint that is made to the CRC by a client or the client's 
family or representative regarding the client's care, abuse or 
neglect when the complaint is not resolved at the time of the 
complaint by staff present. 

HSSthe Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 
the Secretary, Office of Management and Finance, Health 
Standards Section.  

Human Services Fieldan academic program with a 
curriculum content in which at least 70 percent of the 
required courses for the major field of study are based upon 
the core mental health disciplines.  

Level III Crisis Receiving Center (or Center or CRC)an 
agency, business, institution, society, corporation, person or 
persons, or any other group, licensed by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals to provide crisis identification, 
intervention and stabilization services for people in 
behavioral crisis. A CRC shall be no more than 24 beds. 

Licensed Mental Health Professional (LMHP)an 
individual who is licensed in the state of Louisiana to 
diagnose and treat mental illness or substance abuse, acting 
within the scope of all applicable state laws and their 
professional license. A LMHP must be one of the following 
individuals licensed to practice independently:  

1. a physician/psychiatrist; 
2. a medical psychologist; 
3. a licensed psychologist; 
4. a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW); 
5. a licensed professional counselor (LPC); 
6. a licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT);  
7. a licensed addiction counselor (LAC);  
8. an advanced practice registered nurse or APRN 

(must be a nurse practitioner specialist in adult psychiatric 
and mental health or family psychiatric and mental health); 

9. a certified nurse specialist in one of the following: 
a. psychosocial, gerontological psychiatric mental 

health; 
b. adult psychiatric and mental health; or 
c. child-adolescent mental health. 

LSBMELouisiana State Board of Medical Examiners. 
MHEREmental health emergency room extension 

operating as a unit of a currently-licensed hospital. 
Minora person under the age of 18. 
OBHthe Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 

Behavioral Health. 
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OHSEPOffice of Homeland Security and Emergency 
Preparedness. 

On Callimmediately available for telephone 
consultation and less than one hour from ability to be on 
duty.  

On Dutyscheduled, present, and awake at the site to 
perform job duties. 

OPCorder for protective custody issued pursuant to R.S. 
28:53.2. 

OSFMthe Louisiana Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Office of State Fire Marshal.  

PECan emergency certificate executed by a physician, 
psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, or psychologist 
pursuant to R.S. 28:53. 

Physicianan individual who holds a medical doctorate 
or a doctor of osteopathy from a medical college in good 
standing with the LSBME and a license, permit, 
certification, or registration issued by the LSBME to engage 
in the practice of medicine in the state of Louisiana. 

Qualifying Experienceexperience used to qualify for 
any position that is counted by using one year equals 12 
months of full-time work.  

Seclusion Rooma room that may be secured in which 
one client may be placed for a short period of time due to the 
client's increased need for security and protection. 

Shelter in Placewhen a center elects to stay in place 
rather than evacuate when located in the projected path of an 
approaching storm equal to or greater than tropical storm 
strength. 

Sleeping Areaa single constructed room or area that 
contains a minimum of three individual beds. 

Tropical Storm Strengtha tropical cyclone in which the 
maximum sustained surface wind speed (using the U.S. 1 
minute average standard) ranges from 34 kt (39 mph 17.5 
m/s) to 63 kt (73 mph 32.5 mps). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:102 (January 2015). 
Subchapter B. Licensing 
§5309. General Licensing Provisions 

A. All entities providing crisis receiving services shall be 
licensed by the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH). 
It shall be unlawful to operate as a CRC without a license 
issued by the department. DHH is the only licensing 
authority for CRCs in Louisiana.  

B. A CRC license authorizes the center to provide crisis 
receiving services. 

C. The following entities are exempt from licensure 
under this Chapter: 

1. community mental health centers;  
2. hospitals;  
3. nursing homes;  
4. psychiatric rehabilitative treatment facilities;  
5. school-based health centers;  
6. therapeutic group homes;  
7. HCBS agencies; 
8. substance abuse/addictive disorder facilities;  
9. mental health clinics; 
10. center-based respites;  
11. MHEREs; 

12. individuals certified by OBH to provide crisis 
intervention services; and  

13. federally-owned facilities. 
D. A CRC license is not required for individual or group 

practice of LMHPs providing services under the auspices of 
their individual professional license(s). 

E. A CRC license shall: 
1. be issued only to the person or entity named in the 

license application; 
2. be valid only for the CRC to which it is issued and 

only for the geographic address of that CRC approved by 
DHH; 

3. be valid for up to one year from the date of 
issuance, unless revoked, suspended, or modified prior to 
that date, or unless a provisional license is issued; 

4. expire on the expiration date listed on the license, 
unless timely renewed by the CRC;  

5. be invalid if sold, assigned, donated or transferred, 
whether voluntary or involuntary; and 

6. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises at all times. 

F. In order for the CRC to be considered operational and 
retain licensed status, the following applicable operational 
requirements shall be met. The CRC shall:  

1. be open and operating 24 hours per day, 7 days per 
week; 

2. have the required staff on duty at all times to meet 
the needs of the clients; and  

3. be able to screen and either admit or refer all 
potential clients at all times. 

G. The licensed CRC shall abide by any state and federal 
law, rule, policy, procedure, manual or memorandum 
pertaining to crisis receiving centers. 

H. The CRC shall permit designated representatives of 
the department, in the performance of their duties, to: 

1. inspect all areas of the center's operations; and 
2. conduct interviews with any staff member, client, or 

other person as necessary. 
I. CRC Names  

1. A CRC is prohibited from using: 
a. the same name as another CRC; 
b. a name that resembles the name of another 

center; 
c. a name that may mislead the client or public into 

believing it is owned, endorsed, or operated by the state of 
Louisiana when it is not owned, endorsed, or operated by the 
state of Louisiana. 

J. Plan Review 
1. Any entity that intends to operate as a CRC, except 

one that is converting from a MHERE or an existing CRC, 
shall complete the plan review process and obtain approval 
for its construction documents for the following types of 
projects: 

a. new construction;  
b. any entity that intends to operate and be licensed 

as a CRC in a physical environment that is not currently 
licensed as a CRC; or 

c. major alterations. 
2. The CRC shall submit one complete set of 

construction documents with an application and review fee 
to the OSFM for review. Plan review submittal to the OSFM
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shall be in accordance with R.S. 40:1574, and the current 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) provisions governing 
fire protection for buildings (LAC 55:V.Chapter 3 as of this 
promulgation), and the following criteria: 

a. any change in the type of license shall require 
review for requirements applicable at the time of licensing 
change;  

b. requirements applicable to occupancies, as 
defined by the most recently state-adopted edition of 
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 101, where 
services or treatment for four or more patients are provided;  

c. requirements applicable to construction of 
business occupancies, as defined by the most recently state-
adopted edition of NFPA 101; and 

d. the specific requirements outlined in the Physical 
Environment requirements of this Chapter. 

3. Construction Document Preparation 
a. The CRC's construction documents shall be 

prepared by a Louisiana licensed architect or licensed 
engineer as governed by the licensing laws of the state for 
the type of work to be performed. 

b. The CRC's construction documents shall be of an 
architectural or engineering nature and thoroughly illustrate 
an accurately drawn and dimensioned project that contains 
noted plans, details, schedules and specifications. 

c. The CRC shall submit at least the following in 
the plan review process: 
 i. site plans;  
 ii. floor plan(s). These shall include architectural, 
mechanical, plumbing, electrical, fire protection, and if 
required by code, sprinkler and fire alarm plans; 
 iii. building elevations; 
 iv. room finish, door, and window schedules; 
 v. details pertaining to Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements; and 
 vi. specifications for materials. 

4. Upon OSFM approval, the CRC shall submit the 
following to DHH: 

a. the final construction documents approved by 
OSFM; and  

b. OSFM's approval letter. 
K. Waivers  

1. The secretary of DHH may, within his/her sole 
discretion, grant waivers to building and construction 
guidelines which are not part of or otherwise required under 
the provisions of the state Sanitary Code.  

2. In order to request a waiver, the CRC shall submit a 
written request to HSS that demonstrates: 

a. how patient safety and quality of care offered is 
not comprised by the waiver; 

b. the undue hardship imposed on the center if the 
waiver is not granted; and  

c. the center's ability to completely fulfill all other 
requirements of service.  

3. DHH will make a written determination of each 
waiver request.  

4. Waivers are not transferable in an ownership 
change or geographic change of location, and are subject to 
review or revocation upon any change in circumstances 
related to the waiver.  

5.  DHH prohibits waivers for new construction.  

L. A person or entity convicted of a felony or that has 
entered a guilty plea or a plea of nolo contendere to a felony 
is prohibited from being the CRC or owner, clinical 
supervisor or any managing employee of a CRC.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:103 (January 2015). 
§5311. Initial Licensure Application Process 

A. Any entity, organization or person interested in 
operating a crisis receiving center must submit a completed 
initial license application packet to the department for 
approval. Initial CRC licensure application packets are 
available from HSS.  

B. A person/entity/organization applying for an initial 
license must submit a completed initial licensing application 
packet which shall include: 

1. a completed CRC licensure application; 
2. the non-refundable licensing fee as established by 

statute;  
3. the approval letter of the architectural center plans 

for the CRC from OSFM, if the center must go through plan 
review; 

4. the on-site inspection report with approval for 
occupancy by the OSFM, if applicable; 

5. the health inspection report from the Office of 
Public Health (OPH); 

6. a statewide criminal background check, including 
sex offender registry status, on all owners and managing 
employees;  

7. except for governmental entities or organizations, 
proof of financial viability, comprised of the following: 

a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 
licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$100,000;  

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $500,000; and  

c. worker's compensation insurance;  
8. an organizational chart and names, including 

position titles, of key administrative personnel and the 
governing body;  

9. a legible floor sketch or drawing of the premises to 
be licensed; 

10. a letter of intent indicating whether the center will 
serve minors or adults and the center's maximum number of 
beds;  

11. if operated by a corporate entity, such as a 
corporation or an limited liability corporation (LLC), current 
proof of registration and status with the Louisiana Secretary 
of State's office;  

12. a letter of recommendation from the OBH regional 
office or its designee; and 

13. any other documentation or information required by 
the department for licensure. 

C. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 
applicant shall:  

1. be notified of the missing information; and  
2. be given 90 days from receipt of the notification to 

submit the additional requested information or the 
application will be closed.  
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D. Once the initial licensing application is approved by 
DHH, notification of such approval shall be forwarded to the 
applicant.  

E. The applicant shall notify DHH of initial licensing 
survey readiness within the required 90 days of receipt of 
application approval. If an applicant fails to notify DHH of 
initial licensing survey readiness within 90 days, the 
application will be closed.  

F. If an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in operating a CRC must 
submit a:  

1. new initial licensing packet; and 
2. non-refundable licensing fee. 

G. Applicants must be in compliance with all appropriate 
federal, state, departmental or local statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations and fees before the CRC will 
be issued an initial license to operate.  

H. An entity that intends to become a CRC is prohibited 
from providing crisis receiving services to clients during the 
initial application process and prior to obtaining a license, 
unless it qualifies as one of the following facilities: 

1. a hospital-based CRC; 
2. an MHERE;  
3. an MHERE that has communicated its intent to 

become licensed as a CRC in collaboration with the 
department prior to February 28, 2013; or 

4. a center-based respite. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:104 (January 2015). 
§5313. Initial Licensing Surveys 

A. Prior to the initial license being issued, an initial 
licensing survey shall be conducted on-site to ensure 
compliance with the licensing laws and standards. 

B. If the initial licensing survey finds that the center is 
compliant with all licensing laws, regulations and other 
required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 
fees, the department shall issue a full license to the center.  

C. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the center is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations, or any other required rules or regulations, that 
present a potential threat to the health, safety, or welfare of 
the clients, the department shall deny the initial license. 

D. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the center is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations, or any other required rules or regulations, and 
the department determines that the noncompliance does not 
present a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the clients, 
the department:  

1. may issue a provisional initial license for a period 
not to exceed six months; and 

2. shall require the center to submit an acceptable plan 
of correction.  

a. The department may conduct a follow-up survey 
following the initial licensing survey after receipt of an 
acceptable plan of correction to ensure correction of the 
deficiencies. If all deficiencies are corrected on the follow-
up survey, a full license will be issued.  

b. If the center fails to correct the deficiencies, the 
initial license may be denied. 

E. The initial licensing survey of a CRC shall be an 
announced survey. Follow-up surveys to the initial licensing 
surveys are unannounced surveys. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:105 (January 2015). 
§5315. Types of Licenses  

A. The department has the authority to issue the 
following types of licenses. 

1. Initial License 
a. The department shall issue a full license to the 

CRC when the initial licensing survey indicates the center is 
compliant with: 
 i. all licensing laws and regulations; 
  ii. all other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 
rules, regulations; and  
 iii. fees. 

b. The license shall be valid until the expiration date 
shown on the license, unless the license is modified, 
revoked, or suspended. 

2. Provisional Initial License 
a. The department may issue a provisional initial 

license to the CRC when the initial licensing survey finds 
that the CRC is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations or any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, 
rules, regulations or fees, but the department determines that 
the noncompliance does not present a threat to the health, 
safety or welfare of the clients. 
 i. The center shall submit a plan of correction to 
the department for approval, and the center shall be required 
to correct all such noncompliance or deficiencies prior to the 
expiration of the provisional license.  
 ii. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 
corrected on the follow-up survey, a full license will be 
issued.  
 iii. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 
not corrected on the follow-up survey, or new deficiencies 
affecting the health, safety or welfare of a client are cited, 
the provisional license will expire and the center shall be 
required to begin the initial licensing process again by 
submitting a new initial license application packet and the 
appropriate licensing fee.  

3. Renewal License. The department may issue a 
renewal license to a licensed CRC that is in substantial 
compliance with all applicable federal, state, departmental, 
and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations and 
fees. The license shall be valid until the expiration date 
shown on the license, unless the license is modified, 
revoked, suspended, or terminated. 

4. Provisional License. The department may issue a 
provisional license to a licensed CRC for a period not to 
exceed six months.  

a. A provisional license may be issued for the 
following reasons: 
 i. more than five deficiencies cited during any 
one survey; 
 ii. four or more validated complaints in a 
consecutive 12-month period; 
 iii. a deficiency resulting from placing a client at 
risk for serious harm or death; 
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 iv. failure to correct deficiencies within 60 days of 
notification of such deficiencies, or at the time of a follow-
up survey; or 
 v. failure to be in substantial compliance with all 
applicable federal, state, departmental and local statutes, 
laws, ordinances, rules regulations and fees at the time of 
renewal of the license. 

b. The department may extend the provisional 
license for an additional period not to exceed 90 days in 
order for the center to correct the deficiencies. 

c. The center shall submit an acceptable plan of 
correction to DHH and correct all noncompliance or 
deficiencies prior to the expiration of the provisional license.  

d. The department shall conduct a follow-up survey 
of the CRC, either on-site or by administrative review, prior 
to the expiration of the provisional license.  

e. If the follow-up survey determines that the CRC 
has corrected the deficiencies and has maintained 
compliance during the period of the provisional license, the 
department may issue a license that will expire on the 
expiration date of the most recent renewal or initial license.  

f. The provisional license shall expire if: 
 i. the center fails to correct the deficiencies by 
the follow-up survey; or  
 ii. the center is cited with new deficiencies at the 
follow-up survey indicating a risk to the health, safety, or 
welfare of a client. 

g. If the provisional license expires, the center shall 
be required to begin the initial licensing process by 
submitting a:  
 i. new initial license application packet; and 
 ii. non-refundable fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:105 (January 2015). 
§5317. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel  

A. Within five days of the occurrence, the CRC shall 
report in writing to HSS the following changes to the:  

1. CRC's entity name; 
2. business name; 
3. mailing address; or 
4. telephone number. 

B. Any change to the CRC's name or "doing business as 
name requires a $25 nonrefundable fee for the issuance of an 
amended license with the new name. 

C. A CRC shall report any change in the CRC's key 
administrative personnel within five days of the change. 

1. Key administrative personnel include the: 
a. CRC manager;  
b. clinical director; and  
c. nurse manager. 

2. The CRC's notice to the department shall include 
the incoming individual's: 

a. name; 
b. date of appointment to the position; and 
c. qualifications. 

D. Change of Ownership (CHOW) 
1. A CRC shall report a CHOW in writing to the 

department at least five days prior to the change. Within five 
days following the change, the new owner shall submit: 

a. the legal CHOW document;  

b. all documents required for a new license; and  
c. the applicable nonrefundable licensing fee.  

2. A CRC that is under license revocation, provisional 
licensure, or denial of license renewal may not undergo a 
CHOW. 

3. Once all application requirements are completed 
and approved by the department, a new license shall be 
issued to the new owner.  

E. Change in Physical Address 
1. A CRC that intends to change the physical address 

of its geographic location shall submit: 
a. a written notice to HSS of its intent to relocate; 
b. a plan review request; 
c. a new license application; 
d. a nonrefundable license fee; and 
e. any other information satisfying applicable 

licensing requirements. 
2. In order to receive approval for the change of 

physical address, the CRC must: 
a. have a plan review approval;  
b. have approval from OSFM and OPH 

recommendation for license;  
c. have an approved license application packet; 
d. be in compliance with other applicable licensing 

requirements; and  
e. have an on-site licensing survey prior to 

relocation of the center.  
3. Upon approval of the requirements for a change in 

physical address, the department shall issue a new license to 
the CRC.  

F. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 
accompanied by a $25 fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:106 (January 2015). 
§5319. Renewal of License 

A. A CRC license expires on the expiration date listed on 
the license, unless timely renewed by the CRC.  

B. To renew a license, the CRC shall submit a completed 
license renewal application packet to the department at least 
30 days prior to the expiration of the current license. The 
license renewal application packet includes: 

1. the license renewal application; 
2. a current State Fire Marshal report; 
3. a current OPH inspection report; 
4. the non-refundable license renewal fee; 
5. any other documentation required by the 

department; and 
6. except for governmental entities or organizations, 

proof of financial viability, comprised of the following:  
a. a line of credit issued from a federally insured, 

licensed lending institution in the amount of at least 
$100,000;  

b. general and professional liability insurance of at 
least $500,000; and 

c. worker's compensation insurance. 
C. The department may perform an on-site survey and 

inspection of the center upon renewal. 
D. Failure to submit a completed license renewal 

application packet prior to the expiration of the current 
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license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the CRC 
license upon the license's expiration. 

E. The renewal of a license does not in any manner 
affect any sanction, civil monetary penalty, or other action 
imposed by the department against the center.  

F. If a licensed CRC has been issued a notice of license 
revocation or suspension, and the center's license is due for 
annual renewal, the department shall deny the license 
renewal application and shall not issue a renewal license. 

G. Voluntary Non-Renewal of a License  
1. If a center fails to timely renew its license, the 

license:  
a. expires on the license's expiration date; and  
b. is considered a non-renewal and voluntarily 

surrendered. 
2. There is no right to an administrative 

reconsideration or appeal from a voluntary surrender or non-
renewal of the license. 

3. If a center fails to timely renew its license, the 
center shall immediately cease providing services, unless the 
center is actively treating clients, in which case the center 
shall: 

a. within two days of the untimely renewal, provide 
written notice to HSS of the number of clients receiving 
treatment at the center; 

b. within two days of the untimely renewal, provide 
written notice to each active client's prescribing physician 
and to every client, or, if applicable, the client's parent or 
legal guardian, of the following: 
 i. voluntary non-renewal of license; 
 ii. date of closure; and 
 iii. plans for the transition of the client; 

c. discharge and transition each client in accordance 
with this Chapter within 15 days of the license's expiration 
date; and 

d. within 30 days of the license's expiration date, 
notify HSS of the location where records will be stored in 
compliance with federal and state laws and the name, 
address, and phone number of the person responsible for the 
records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:106 (January 2015). 
§5321. Licensing Surveys 

A. The department may conduct periodic licensing 
surveys and other surveys as deemed necessary to ensure 
compliance with all laws, rules and regulations governing 
crisis receiving centers and to ensure client health, safety 
and welfare. These surveys may be conducted on-site or by 
administrative review and shall be unannounced. 

B. If deficiencies are cited, the department may require 
the center to submit an acceptable plan of correction.  

C. The department may conduct a follow-up survey 
following any survey in which deficiencies were cited to 
ensure correction of the deficiencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:107 (January 2015). 

§5323. Complaint Surveys 
A. Pursuant to R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq., the department 

has the authority to conduct unannounced complaint surveys 
on crisis receiving centers. 

B. The department shall issue a statement of deficiency 
to the center if it finds a deficiency during the complaint 
survey.  

C. Plan of Correction 
1. Once the department issues a statement of 

deficiencies, the department may require the center to submit 
an acceptable plan of correction.  

2. If the department determines that other action, such 
as license revocation, is appropriate, the center: 

a. may not be required to submit a plan of 
correction; and 

b. will be notified of such action. 
D. Follow-up Surveys 

1. The department may conduct a follow-up survey 
following a complaint survey in which deficiencies were 
cited to ensure correction of the deficient practices.  

2. If the department determines that other action, such 
as license revocation, is appropriate: 

a. a follow-up survey is not necessary; and 
b. the center will be notified of such action. 

E. Informal Reconsiderations of Complaint Surveys  
1. A center that is cited with deficiencies found during 

a complaint survey has the right to request an informal 
reconsideration of the deficiencies. The center's written 
request for an informal reconsideration must be received by 
HSS within 10 calendar days of the center's receipt of the 
statement of deficiencies. 

2. An informal reconsideration for a complaint survey 
or investigation shall be conducted by the department as a 
desk review.  

3. Correction of the violation or deficiency shall not 
be the basis for the reconsideration.  

4. The center shall be notified in writing of the results 
of the informal reconsideration. 

5. Except for the right to an administrative appeal 
provided in R.S. 40:2009.16, the informal reconsideration 
shall constitute final action by the department regarding the 
complaint survey, and there shall be no further right to an 
administrative appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:107 (January 2015). 
§5325. Statement of Deficiencies 

A. The CRC shall make any statement of deficiencies 
available to the public upon request after the center submits 
a plan of correction that is accepted by the department or 90 
days after the statement of deficiencies is issued to the 
center, whichever occurs first. 

B. Informal Reconsiderations 
1. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in this 

Chapter, a CRC has the right to an informal reconsideration 
of any deficiencies cited as a result of a survey. 

2. Correction of the violation, noncompliance or 
deficiency shall not be the basis for the reconsideration. 

3. The center's written request for informal 
reconsideration must be received by HSS within 10 calendar 
days of the center's receipt of the statement of deficiencies. 
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4. If a timely request for an informal reconsideration 
is received, the department shall schedule and conduct the 
informal reconsideration. 

5. HSS shall notify the center in writing of the results 
of the informal reconsideration. 

6. Except as provided pursuant to R.S. 40:2009.13 et 
seq., and as provided in this Chapter: 

a. the informal reconsideration decision is the final 
administrative decision regarding the deficiencies; and 

b. there is no right to an administrative appeal of 
such deficiencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:107 (January 2015). 
§5327. Cessation of Business 

A. Except as provided in §5407 of these licensing 
regulations, a license shall be immediately null and void if a 
provider ceases to operate.  

B. A cessation of business is deemed to be effective the 
date on which the provider stopped offering or providing 
services to the community.  

C. Upon the cessation of business, the provider shall 
immediately return the original license to the department.  

D. Cessation of business is deemed to be a voluntary 
action on the part of the provider. The provider does not 
have a right to appeal a cessation of business. 

E. A CRC that intends to cease operations shall: 
1. provide 30 days advance written notice to HSS and 

the active client, or if applicable, the client's parent(s), legal 
guardian, or designated representative; and  

2. discharge and transition all clients in accordance 
with this Chapter. 

F. The provider shall notify the department in writing 30 
days prior to the effective date of the closure or cessation. In 
addition to the notice, the provider shall submit a written 
plan for the disposition of patient medical records for 
approval by the department. The plan shall include the 
following: 

1. the effective date of the closure; 
2. provisions that comply with federal and state laws 

on storage, maintenance, access, and confidentiality of the 
closed provider's patients medical records; 

3. an appointed custodian(s) who shall provide the 
following: 

a. access to records and copies of records to the 
patient or authorized representative, upon presentation of 
proper authorization(s); and 

b. physical and environmental security that protects 
the records against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized 
access, loss and destruction; 

4. public notice regarding access to records, in the 
newspaper with the largest circulation in close proximity to 
the closing provider, at least 15 days prior to the effective 
date of closure. 

G. If a CRC fails to follow these procedures, the 
department may prohibit the owners, managers, officers, 
directors, and/or administrators from opening, managing, 
directing, operating, or owning a CRC for a period of two 
years. 

H. Once the provider has ceased doing business, the 
provider shall not provide services until the provider has 
obtained a new initial license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:108 (January 2015). 
§5329. Sanctions 

A. The department may issue sanctions for deficiencies 
and violations of law, rules and regulations that may include, 
but are not limited to: 

1. civil fines; 
2. directed plans of correction;  
3. provisional licensure; and/or 
4. license revocation or denial of license renewal. 

B. The department may deny an application for an initial 
license or a license renewal, or may revoke a license in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

C. The department may deny an initial license, revoke a 
license or deny a license renewal for any of the following 
reasons, including but not limited to: 

1. failure to be in compliance with the CRC licensing 
laws, rules and regulations; 

2. failure to be in compliance with other required 
statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or regulations; 

3. failure to comply with the terms and provisions of a 
settlement agreement or education letter; 

4. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the clients; 
5. misappropriation or conversion of the property of 

the clients; 
6. permitting, aiding or abetting the unlawful, illicit or 

unauthorized use of drugs or alcohol within the center of a 
program; 

7. documented information of past or present conduct 
or practices of an employee or other staff which are 
detrimental to the welfare of the clients, including but not 
limited to: 

a. illegal activities; or 
b. coercion or falsification of records; 

8. failure to protect a client from a harmful act of an 
employee or other client including, but not limited to: 

a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation or 
extortion;  

b. any action posing a threat to a client's health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation; 
e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity; 

9. failure to notify the proper authorities, as required 
by federal or state law or regulations, of all suspected cases 
of the acts outlined in Paragraph D.8 above; 

10. knowingly making a false statement in any of the 
following areas, including but not limited to: 

a. application for initial license or renewal of 
license; 

b. data forms; 
c. clinical records, client records or center records; 
d. matters under investigation by the department or 

the Office of the Attorney General; or 
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e. information submitted for reimbursement from 
any payment source; 

11. knowingly making a false statement or providing 
false, forged or altered information or documentation to 
DHH employees or to law enforcement agencies; 

12. the use of false, fraudulent or misleading 
advertising; or 

13. the CRC, an owner, officer, member, manager, 
administrator, medical director, managing employee, or 
clinical supervisor has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a 
felony, or is convicted of a felony, as documented by a 
certified copy of the record of the court; 

14. failure to comply with all reporting requirements in 
a timely manner, as required by the department; 

15. failure to allow or refusal to allow the department 
to conduct an investigation or survey or to interview center 
staff or clients; 

16. interference with the survey process, including but 
not limited to, harassment, intimidation, or threats against 
the survey staff; 

17. failure to allow or refusal to allow access to center 
or client records by authorized departmental personnel; 

18. bribery, harassment, intimidation or solicitation of 
any client designed to cause that client to use or retain the 
services of any particular CRC; 

19. failure to repay an identified overpayment to the 
department or failure to enter into a payment agreement to 
repay such overpayment;  

20. failure to timely pay outstanding fees, fines, 
sanctions or other debts owed to the department; or 

21. failure to uphold client rights that may have 
resulted or may result in harm, injury or death of a client.  

D. If the department determines that the health and safety 
of a client or the community may be at risk, the imposition 
of the license revocation or license non-renewal may be 
immediate and may be enforced during the pendency of the 
administrative appeal. The department will provide written 
notification to the center if the imposition of the action will 
be immediate. 

E. Any owner, officer, member, manager, director or 
administrator of such CRC is prohibited from owning, 
managing, directing or operating another CRC for a period 
of two years from the date of the final disposition of any of 
the following: 

1. license revocation;  
2. denial of license renewal; or 
3. the license is surrendered in lieu of adverse action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:108 
(January 2015). 
§5331. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 

Revocation and Denial of License Renewal 
A. The department shall provide written notice to the 

CRC of the following: 
1. license denial;  
2. license revocation; or  
3. denial of license renewal. 

B. The CRC has the right to an administrative 
reconsideration of the license denial, license revocation or 
denial of license renewal.  

1. If the CRC chooses to request an administrative 
reconsideration, the request must: 

a. be in writing addressed to HSS; 
b. be received by HSS within 15 calendar days of 

the center's receipt of the notice of the license denial, license 
revocation or denial of license renewal; and  

c. include any documentation that demonstrates that 
the determination was made in error. 

2. If a timely request for an administrative 
reconsideration is received, HSS shall provide the center 
with written notification of the date of the administrative 
reconsideration. 

3. The center may appear in person at the 
administrative reconsideration and may be represented by 
counsel. 

4. HSS shall not consider correction of a deficiency or 
violation as a basis for the reconsideration. 

5. The center will be notified in writing of the results 
of the administrative reconsideration. 

C. The administrative reconsideration process is not in 
lieu of the administrative appeals process. 

D. The CRC has a right to an administrative appeal of 
the license denial, license revocation or denial of license 
renewal.  

1. If the CRC chooses to request an administrative 
appeal, the request must: 

a. be received by the DAL within 30 days of: 
 i. the receipt of the results of the administrative 
reconsideration; or  
 ii. the receipt of the notice of the license denial, 
revocation or denial of license renewal, if the CRC chose to 
forego its rights to an administrative reconsideration;  

b. be in writing;  
c. include any documentation that demonstrates that 

the determination was made in error; and 
d. include the basis and specific reasons for the 

appeal. 
2. The DAL shall not consider correction of a 

violation or a deficiency as a basis for the administrative 
appeal. 

E. Administrative Appeals of License Revocations and 
Denial of License Renewals  

1. If a timely request for an administrative appeal is 
received by the DAL, the center will be allowed to continue 
to operate and provide services until the DAL issues a final 
administrative decision. 

F. Administrative Appeals of Immediate License 
Revocations or Denial of License Renewals 

1. If DHH imposes an immediate license revocation or 
denial of license renewal, DHH may enforce the revocation 
or denial of license renewal during the appeal process.  

2. If DHH chooses to enforce the revocation or denial 
of license renewal during the appeal process, the center will 
not be allowed to operate and/or provide services during the 
appeal process. 

G. If a licensed CRC has a pending license revocation, 
and the center's license is due for annual renewal, the 
department shall deny the license renewal application. The 
denial of the license renewal application does not affect, in 
any manner, the license revocation. 

H. Administrative Hearings of License Denials, Denial 
of License Renewals and License Revocations 
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1. If a timely administrative appeal is submitted by the 
center, the DAL shall conduct the hearing in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act. 

2. If the final DAL decision is to reverse the license 
denial, denial of license renewal or license revocation, the 
center's license will be re-instated upon the payment of any 
outstanding fees or sanctions fees due to the department. 

3. If the final DAL decision is to affirm the denial of 
license renewal or license revocation, the center shall:  

a. discharge and transition any and all clients 
receiving services according to the provisions of this 
Chapter;  

b. comply with the requirements governing 
cessation of business in this Chapter; and 

c. notify HSS within 10 days of closure of the 
location where the records will be stored and the name, 
address and phone number of the person responsible for the 
records. 

I. There is no right to an administrative reconsideration 
or an administrative appeal of the issuance of a provisional 
initial license to a new CRC, or the issuance of a provisional 
license to a licensed CRC.  

J. Administrative Reconsiderations and Administrative 
Appeals of the Expiration of a Provisional Initial License or 
Provisional License 

1. A CRC with a provisional initial license, or a 
provisional license that expires due to deficiencies cited at 
the follow-up survey, has the right to request an 
administrative reconsideration and/or an administrative 
appeal of the deficiencies cited at the follow-up survey.  

2. The center's request for an administrative 
reconsideration must: 

a. be in writing;  
b. be received by the HSS within five calendar days 

of receipt of the notice of the results of the follow-up survey 
from the department; and 

c. include the basis and specific reasons for the 
administrative reconsideration.  

3. Correction of a violation or deficiency after the 
follow-up survey will not be considered as the basis for the 
administrative reconsideration or for the administrative 
appeal. 

4. The issue to be decided in the administrative 
reconsideration and the administrative appeal is whether the 
deficiencies were properly cited at the follow-up survey. 

5. The CRC's request for an administrative appeal 
must:  

a. be in writing; 
b. be submitted to the DAL within 15 calendar days 

of receipt of the notice of the results of the follow-up survey 
from the department; and 

c. include the basis and specific reasons for the 
appeal.  

6. A center with a provisional initial license or a 
provisional license that expires under the provisions of this 
Chapter shall cease providing services and discharge or 
transition clients unless the DAL or successor entity issues a 
stay of the expiration.  

a. To request a stay, the center must submit its 
written application to the DAL at the time the administrative 
appeal is filed. 

b. The DAL shall hold a contradictory hearing on 
the stay application. If the center shows that there is no 
potential harm to the center's clients, then the DAL shall 
grant the stay.  

7. Administrative Hearing 
a. If the CRC submits a timely request for an 

administrative hearing, the DAL shall conduct the hearing in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

b. If the final DAL decision is to remove all 
deficiencies, the department will reinstate the center's license 
upon the payment of any outstanding fees and settlement of 
any outstanding sanctions due to the department.  

c. If the final DAL decision is to uphold the 
deficiencies, thereby affirming the expiration of the 
provisional license, the center shall discharge any and all 
clients receiving services in accordance with the provisions 
of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:109 (January 2015). 
Subchapter C. Organization and Administration 
§5337. General Provisions 

A. Purpose and Organizational Structure. The CRC shall 
develop and implement a statement maintained by the center 
that clearly defines the purpose of the CRC. The statement 
shall include: 

1. the program philosophy; 
2. the program goals and objectives; 
3. the ages, sex and characteristics of clients accepted 

for care; 
4. the geographical area served; 
5. the types of services provided; 
6. the admission criteria;  
7. the needs, problems, situations or patterns 

addressed by the provider's program; and 
8. an organizational chart of the provider which 

clearly delineates the lines of authority. 
B. The CRC shall provide supervision and services that: 

1. conform to the department's rules and regulations; 
2. meet the needs of the client as identified and 

addressed in the client's treatment plan; 
3. protect each client's rights; and 
4. promote the social, physical and mental well-being 

of clients. 
C. The CRC shall maintain any information or 

documentation related to compliance with this Chapter and 
shall make such information or documentation available to 
the department. 

D. Required Reporting. The center shall report the 
following incidents in writing to HSS within 24 hours of 
discovery:  

1. any disaster or emergency or other unexpected 
event that causes significant disruption to program 
operations;  

2. any death or serious injury of a client: 
a. that may potentially be related to program 

activities; or 
b. who at the time of his/her death or serious injury 

was an active client of the center; and  
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3. allegations of client abuse, neglect, exploitation and 
misappropriation of client funds.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:110 (January 2015). 
§5339. Governing Body 

A. A crisis receiving center shall have the following:  
1. an identifiable governing body with responsibility 

for and authority over the policies and operations of the 
center; 

2. documents identifying the governing body's: 
a. members; 
b. contact information for each member; 
c. terms of membership; 
d. officers; and 
e. terms of office for each officer. 

B. The governing body of a CRC shall: 
1. be comprised of one or more persons; 
2. hold formal meetings at least twice a year; 
3. maintain written minutes of all formal meetings of 

the governing body; and 
4. maintain by-laws specifying frequency of meetings 

and quorum requirements.  
C. The responsibilities of a CRC's governing body 

include, but are not limited to: 
1. ensuring the center's compliance with all federal, 

state, local and municipal laws and regulations as applicable; 
2. maintaining funding and fiscal resources to ensure 

the provision of services and compliance with this Chapter; 
3. reviewing and approving the center's annual 

budget; 
4. designating qualified persons to act as CRC 

manager, clinical director and nurse manager, and delegating 
these persons the authority to manage the center;  

5. at least once a year, formulating and reviewing, in 
consultation with the CRC manager, clinical director and 
nurse manager, written policies concerning: 

a. the provider's philosophy and goals;  
b. current services;  
c. personnel practices and job descriptions; and 
d. fiscal management; 

6. evaluating the performances of the CRC manager, 
clinical director and nurse manager at least once a year; 

7. meeting with designated representatives of the 
department whenever required to do so; 

8. informing the department, or its designee, prior to 
initiating any substantial changes in the services provided by 
the center; and 

9. ensuring statewide criminal background checks are 
conducted as required in this Chapter and state law.  

D. A governing body shall ensure that the CRC 
maintains the following documents: 

1. minutes of formal meetings and by-laws of the 
governing body; 

2. documentation of the center's authority to operate 
under state law; 

3. all leases, contracts and purchases-of-service 
agreements to which the center is a party; 

4. insurance policies; 
5. annual operating budgets;  

6. a master list of all the community resources used by 
the center;  

7. documentation of ownership of the center;  
8. documentation of all accidents, incidents, 

abuse/neglect allegations; and 
9. a daily census log of clients receiving services. 

E. The governing body of a CRC shall ensure the 
following with regards to contract agreements to provide 
services for the center. 

1. The agreement for services is in writing. 
2. Every written agreement is reviewed at least once a 

year. 
3. The deliverables are being provided as per the 

agreement. 
4. The center retains full responsibility for all services 

provided by the agreement. 
5. All services provided by the agreement shall: 

a. meet the requirements of all laws, rules and 
regulations applicable to a CRC; and  

b. be provided only by qualified providers and 
personnel in accordance with this Chapter. 

6. If the agreement is for the provision of direct care 
services, the written agreement specifies the party 
responsible for screening, orientation, ongoing training and 
development of and supervision of the personnel providing 
services pursuant to the agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:111 (January 2015). 
§5341. Policies and Procedures  

A. Each CRC shall develop, implement and comply with 
center-specific written policies and procedures governing all 
requirements of this chapter, including, but not limited to the 
following areas: 

1. protection of the health, safety, and wellbeing of 
each client; 

2. providing treatment in order for clients to achieve 
optimal stabilization; 

3. access to care that is medically necessary; 
4. uniform screening for patient placement and quality 

assessment, diagnosis, evaluation, and referral to appropriate 
level of care; 

5. operational capability and compliance; 
6. delivery of services that are cost-effective and in 

conformity with current standards of practice;  
7. confidentiality and security of all client 

information, records and files; 
8. prohibition of illegal or coercive inducement, 

solicitation and kickbacks; 
9. client rights; 
10. grievance process; 
11. emergency preparedness; 
12. abuse and neglect; 
13. incidents and accidents, including medical 

emergencies; 
14. universal precautions; 
15. documentation of services; 
16. admission, including descriptions of screening and 

assessment procedures; 
17. transfer and discharge procedures; 
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18. behavior management; 
19. infection control; 
20. transportation; 
21. quality assurance; 
22. medical and nursing services;  
23. emergency care; 
24. photography and video of clients; and 
25. contraband. 

B. A center shall develop, implement and comply with 
written personnel policies in the following areas: 

1. recruitment, screening, orientation, ongoing 
training, development, supervision and performance 
evaluation of staff including volunteers; 

2. written job descriptions for each staff position, 
including volunteers; 

3. conducting staff health assessments that are 
consistent with OPH guidelines and indicate whether, when 
and how staff have a health assessment; 

4. an employee grievance procedure; 
5. abuse reporting procedures that require: 

a. staff to report any allegations of abuse or 
mistreatment of clients pursuant to state and federal law; and  

b. staff to report any allegations of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation or misappropriation of a client to DHH; 

6. a non-discrimination policy; 
7. a policy that requires all employees to report any 

signs or symptoms of a communicable disease or personal 
illness to their supervisor, CRC manager or clinical director 
as soon as possible to prevent the spread of disease or illness 
to other individuals; 

8. procedures to ensure that only qualified personnel 
are providing care within the scope of the center's services; 

9. policies governing staff conduct and procedures for 
reporting violations of laws, rules, and professional and 
ethical codes of conduct; 

10. policies governing staff organization that pertain to 
the center's purpose, setting and location; 

11. procedures to ensure that the staff's credentials are 
verified, legal and from accredited institutions; and 

12. obtaining criminal background checks. 
C. A CRC shall comply with all federal and state laws, 

rules and regulations in the implementation of its policies 
and procedures. 

D. Center Rules 
1. A CRC shall: 

a. have a clearly written list of rules governing 
client conduct in the center; 

b. provide a copy of the center's rules to all clients 
and, where appropriate, the client's parent(s) or legal 
guardian(s) upon admission; and 

c. post the rules in an accessible location in the 
center.  

E. The facility shall develop, implement and comply 
with policies and procedures that: 

1. give consideration to the client's chronological and 
developmental age, diagnosis, and severity of illness when 
assigning a sleeping area or bedroom;  

2. ensure that each client has his/her own bed; and 
3. prohibit mobile homes from being used as client 

sleeping areas. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:111 (January 2015). 
Subchapter D. Provider Operations 
§5347. Client Records 

A. The CRC shall ensure: 
1. a single client record is maintained for each client 

according to current professional standards;  
2. policies and procedures regarding confidentiality of 

records, maintenance, safeguarding and storage of records 
are developed, implemented and followed; 

3. safeguards are in place to prevent unauthorized 
access, loss, and destruction of client records;  

4. when electronic health records are used, the most 
up to date technologies and practices are used to prevent 
unauthorized access; 

5. records are kept confidential according to federal 
and state laws and regulations; 

6. records are maintained at the center where the client 
is currently active and for six months after discharge;  

7. six months post-discharge, records may be 
transferred to a centralized location for maintenance;  

8. client records are directly and readily accessible to 
the clinical staff caring for the client; 

9. a system of identification and filing is maintained 
to facilitate the prompt location of the client's record;  

10. all record entries are dated, legible and 
authenticated by the staff person providing the treatment, as 
appropriate to the media; 

11. records are disposed of in a manner that protects 
client confidentiality; 

12. a procedure for modifying a client record in 
accordance with accepted standards of practice is developed, 
implemented and followed; 

13. an employee is designated as responsible for the 
client records;  

14. disclosures are made in accordance with applicable 
state and federal laws and regulations; and 

15. client records are maintained at least 6 years from 
discharge. 

B. Record Contents. The center shall ensure that client 
records, at a minimum, contain the following: 

1. the treatment provided to the client; 
2. the client's response to the treatment; 
3. other information, including: 

a. all screenings and assessments; 
b. provisional diagnoses;  
c. referral information;  
d. client information/data such as name, race, sex, 

birth date, address, telephone number, social security 
number, school/employer, and next of kin/emergency 
contact;  

e. documentation of incidents that occurred; 
f. attendance/participation in services/activities; 
g. treatment plan that includes the initial treatment 

plan plus any updates or revisions;  
h. lab work (diagnostic laboratory and other 

pertinent information, when indicated);  
i. documentation of the services received prior to 

admission to the CRC as available; 
j. consent forms; 
k. physicians' orders; 
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l. records of all medicines administered, including 
medication types, dosages, frequency of administration, the 
individual who administered each dose and response to 
medication given on an as needed basis; 

m. discharge summary;  
n. other pertinent information related to client as 

appropriate; and  
4. legible progress notes that are documented in 

accordance with professional standards of practice and:  
a. document implementation of the treatment plan 

and results; 
b. document the client's level of participation; and 
c. are completed upon delivery of services by the 

direct care staff to document progress toward stated 
treatment plan goals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:112 (January 2015). 
§5349. Client Funds and Possessions 

A. The CRC shall: 
1. maintain and safeguard all possessions, including 

money, brought to the center by clients; 
2. maintain an inventory of each client's possessions 

from the date of admission; and 
3. return all possessions to the client upon the client's 

discharge.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:113 (January 2015). 
§5351. Quality Improvement Plan 

A. A CRC shall have a quality improvement (QI) plan 
that: 

1. assures that the overall function of the center is in 
compliance with federal, state, and local laws;  

2. is meeting the needs of the citizens of the area; 
3. is attaining the goals and objectives established in 

the center's mission statement;  
4. maintains systems to effectively identify issues that 

require quality monitoring, remediation and improvement 
activities;  

5. improves individual outcomes and individual 
satisfaction;  

6. includes plans of action to correct identified issues 
that: 

a. monitor the effects of implemented changes; and 
b. result in revisions to the action plan; 

7. is updated on an ongoing basis to reflect changes, 
corrections and other modifications. 

B. The QI plan shall include: 
1. a sample review of client case records on a 

quarterly basis to ensure that: 
a. individual treatment plans are up to date; 
b. records are accurate, complete and current; and  
c. the treatment plans have been developed and 

implemented as ordered; 
2. a process for identifying on a quarterly basis the 

risk factors that affect or may affect the health, safety and/or 
welfare of the clients that includes, but is not limited to: 

a. review and resolution of grievances; 

b. incidents resulting in harm to client or 
elopement;  

c. allegations of abuse, neglect and exploitation; 
and 

d. seclusion and restraint; 
3. a process to correct problems identified and track 

improvements; and 
4. a process of improvement to identify or trigger 

further opportunities for improvement.  
C. The QI plan shall establish and implement an internal 

evaluation procedure to:  
1. collect necessary data to formulate a plan; and  
2. hold quarterly staff committee meetings comprised 

of at least three staff members, one of whom is the CRC 
manager, nurse manager or clinical director, who evaluate 
the QI process and activities on an ongoing basis.  

D. The CRC shall maintain documentation of the most 
recent 12 months of the QI activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:113 (January 2015). 
Subchapter E. Personnel 
§5357. General Requirements 

A. The CRC shall maintain an organized professional 
staff who is accountable to the governing body for the 
overall responsibility of: 

1. the quality of all clinical care provided to clients;  
2. the ethical conduct and professional practices of its 

members;  
3. compliance with policies and procedures approved 

by the governing body; and 
4. the documented staff organization that pertains to 

the center's setting and location. 
B. The direct care staff of a CRC shall: 

1. have the appropriate qualifications to provide the 
services required by its clients' treatment plans; and 

2. not practice beyond the scope of his/her license, 
certification or training. 

C. The CRC shall ensure that: 
1. qualified direct care staff members are present with 

the clients as necessary to ensure the health, safety and well-
being of clients; 

2. staff coverage is maintained in consideration of: 
a. acuity of the clients being serviced; 
b. the time of day; 
c. the size, location, physical environment and 

nature of the center;  
d. the ages and needs of the clients; and 
e. ensuring the continual safety, protection, direct 

care and supervision of clients;  
3. all direct care staff have current certification in 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and 
4. applicable staffing requirements in this Chapter are 

maintained. 
D. Criminal Background Checks 

1. For any CRC that is treating minors, the center 
shall obtain a criminal background check on all staff. The 
background check must be conducted within 90 days prior to 
hire or employment in the manner required by R.S. 15:587.1. 

2. For any CRC that is treating adults, the center shall 
obtain a statewide criminal background check on all 
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unlicensed direct care staff by an agency authorized by the 
Office of State Police to conduct criminal background 
checks. The background check must be conducted within 90 
days prior to hire or employment. 

3. A CRC that hires a contractor to perform work 
which does not involve any contact with clients is not 
required to conduct a criminal background check on the 
contractor if accompanied at all times by a staff person when 
clients are present in the center. 

E. The CRC shall review the Louisiana state nurse aide 
registry and the Louisiana direct service worker registry to 
ensure that each unlicensed direct care staff member prior to 
hire or employment and at least annually thereafter, does not 
have a negative finding on either registry. 

F. Prohibitions 
1. The center providing services to minors is 

prohibited from knowingly employing or contracting with, 
or retaining the employment of or contract with, a person 
who supervises minors or provides direct care to minors 
who:  

a. has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, 
no contest, or has been convicted of a felony involving: 
 i. violence, abuse or neglect against a person;  
 ii. possession, sale, or distribution of illegal 
drugs; 
 iii. sexual misconduct and/or any crimes that 
requires the person to register pursuant to the Sex Offenders 
Registration Act; 
 iv. misappropriation of property belonging to 
another person; or 
 v. a crime of violence; 

b. has a finding placed on the Louisiana state nurse 
aide registry or the Louisiana direct service worker registry. 

2. The center providing services to adults is prohibited 
from knowingly employing or contracting with, or retaining 
the employment of or contract with, a member of the direct 
care staff who: 

a. has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, 
no contest, or has been convicted of a felony involving: 
 i. abuse or neglect of a person;  
 ii. possession, sale, or distribution of a controlled 
dangerous substance 

(a). within the last five years; or  
(b). when the employee/contractor is under the 

supervision of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections, the U.S. Department of Probation and 
Parole or the U.S. Department of Justice; 
 iii. sexual misconduct and/or any crimes that 
requires the person to register pursuant to the Sex Offenders 
Registration Act;  
 iv. misappropriation of property belonging to 
another person;  

(a). within the last five years; or 
(b). when the employee is under the supervision 

of the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, the U.S. Department of Probation and Parole or 
the U.S. Department of Justice; or 
 v. a crime of violence; 

b. has a finding placed on the Louisiana state nurse 
aide registry or the Louisiana direct service worker registry.  

G. Orientation and In-Service Training 
1. All staff shall receive orientation prior to providing 

services and/or working in the center.  
2. All direct care staff shall receive orientation, at 

least 40 hours of which is in crisis services and intervention 
training. 

3. All direct care staff and other appropriate personnel 
shall receive in-service training at least once a year, at least 
twelve hours of which is in crisis services and intervention 
training.  

4. All staff shall receive in-service training according 
to center policy at least once a year and as deemed necessary 
depending on the needs of the clients.  

5. The content of the orientation and in-service 
training shall include the following: 

a. confidentiality; 
b. grievance process; 
c. fire and disaster plans; 
d. emergency medical procedures; 
e. organizational structure and reporting 

relationships; 
f. program philosophy; 
g. personnel policies and procedures; 
h. detecting and mandatory reporting of client 

abuse, neglect or misappropriation; 
i. an overview of mental health and substance 

abuse, including an overview of behavioral health settings 
and levels of care; 

j. detecting signs of illness or dysfunction that 
warrant medical or nursing intervention; 

k. side effects and adverse reactions commonly 
caused by psychotropic medications; 

l. basic skills required to meet the health needs and 
challenges of the client; 

m. components of a crisis cycle; 
n. recognizing the signs of anxiety and escalating 

behavior; 
o. crisis intervention and the use of non-physical 

intervention skills, such as de-escalation, mediation conflict 
resolution, active listening and verbal and observational 
methods to prevent emergency safety situations; 

p. therapeutic communication; 
q. client's rights; 
r. duties and responsibilities of each employee; 
s. standards of conduct required by the center 

including professional boundaries; 
t. information on the disease process and expected 

behaviors of clients; 
u. levels of observation; 
v. maintaining a clean, healthy and safe 

environment and a safe and therapeutic milieu; 
w. infectious diseases and universal precautions;  
x. overview of the Louisiana licensing standards for 

crisis receiving centers;  
y. basic emergency care for accidents and 

emergencies until emergency medical personnel can arrive at 
center; and  

z. regulations, standards and policies related to 
seclusion and restraint, including the safe application of 
physical and mechanical restraints and physical assessment 
of the restrained client. 
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6. The in-services shall serve as a refresher for 
subjects covered in orientation.  

7. The orientation and in-service training shall:  
a. be provided only by staff who are qualified by 

education, training, and experience; 
b. include training exercises in which direct care 

staff members successfully demonstrate in practice the 
techniques they have learned for managing the delivery of 
patient care services; and 

c. require the direct care staff member to 
demonstrate competency before providing services to 
clients. 

I. Staff Evaluation 
1. The center shall complete an annual performance 

evaluation of all employees.  
2. The center's performance evaluation procedures for 

employees who provide direct care to clients shall address 
the quality and nature of the employee's relationships with 
clients.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:113 (January 2015). 
§5359. Personnel Qualifications and Responsibilities 

A. A CRC shall have the following minimum staff: 
1. a CRC manager who: 

a. has a minimum of a master's degree in a human 
services field or is a licensed registered nurse;  

b. has at least one year of qualifying experience in 
the field of behavioral health; 

c. is a full time employee; and 
d. has the following assigned responsibilities:  

 i. supervise and manage the day to day operation 
of the CRC; 
 ii. review reports of all accidents/incidents 
occurring on the premises and identify hazards to the clinical 
director; 
 iii. participate in the development of new 
programs and modifications; 
 iv. perform programmatic duties and/or make 
clinical decisions only within the scope of his/her licensure; 
and 
 v. shall not have other job responsibilities that 
impede the ability to maintain the administration and 
operation of the CRC; 

2. a clinical director who is: 
a. a physician licensed in the state of Louisiana with 

expertise in managing psychiatric and medical conditions in 
accordance with the LSBME; or  

b. a psychiatric and mental health nurse practitioner 
who has an unrestricted APRN license with prescriptive 
authority, and who is in collaborative practice with a 
Louisiana licensed physician for consultation in accordance 
with the Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN) 
requirements; 

c. responsible for developing and implementing 
policies and procedures and oversees clinical services and 
treatment;  

d. on duty as needed and on call and available at all 
times; 

3. a nurse manager who: 

a. holds a current unrestricted license as a registered 
nurse (RN) in the state of Louisiana;  

b. shall be a full time employee;  
c. has been a RN for a minimum of five years; 
d. has three years of qualifying experience 

providing direct care to patients with behavioral health 
diagnoses and at least one year qualifying experience 
providing direct care to medical/surgical inpatients; 

e. has the following responsibilities:  
 i. develop and ensure implementation of nursing 
policies and procedures;  
 ii. provide oversight of nursing staff and the 
services they provide;  
 iii. ensure that any other job responsibilities will 
not impede the ability to provide oversight of nursing 
services; 

4. authorized licensed prescriber who: 
a. shall be either:  

 i. a physician licensed in the state of Louisiana 
with expertise in managing psychiatric and medical 
conditions in accordance with the LSBME; or  
 ii. a psychiatric and mental health nurse 
practitioner who has an unrestricted license and prescriptive 
authority and a licensed physician on call at all times to be 
available for consultation; 

b. is on call at all times; 
c. is responsible for managing the psychiatric and 

medical care of the clients; 
5. licensed mental health professionals (LMHPs): 

a. the center shall maintain a sufficient number of 
LMHPs to meet the needs of its clients; 

b. there shall be at least one LMHP on duty during 
hours of operation; 

c. the LMHP shall have one year of qualifying 
experience in direct care to clients with behavioral health 
diagnoses and shall have the following responsibilities: 
 i. provide direct care to clients and may serve as 
primary counselor to specified caseload;  
 ii. serve as a resource person for other 
professionals and unlicensed personnel in their specific area 
of expertise;  
 iii. attend and participate in individual care 
conferences, treatment planning activities, and discharge 
planning; and 
 iv. function as the client's advocate in all treatment 
decisions; 

6. nurses: 
a. the center shall maintain licensed nursing staff to 

meet the needs of its clients; 
b. all nurses shall have: 

 i. a current nursing license from the state of 
Louisiana;  
 ii. at least one year qualifying experience in 
providing direct care to clients with a behavioral health 
diagnosis; and  
 iii. at least one year qualifying experience 
providing direct care to medical/surgical inpatients. 

c. the nursing staff has the following 
responsibilities: 
 i. provide nursing services in accordance with 
accepted standards of practice, the CRC policies and the 
individual treatment plans of the clients; 
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 ii. supervise non-licensed clinical personnel; 
 iii. each CRC shall have at least one RN on duty at 
the CRC during hours of operation; and 
 iv. as part of orientation, all nurses shall receive 
24 hours of education focusing on psychotropic medications, 
their side effects and possible adverse reactions. All nurses 
shall receive training in psychopharmacology for at least 
four hours per year. 

B. Optional Staff 
1. The CRC shall maintain non-licensed clinical staff 

as needed who shall: 
a. be at least 18 years of age; 
b. have a high school diploma or GED;  
c. provide services in accordance with CRC 

policies, documented education, training and experience, and 
the individual treatment plans of the clients; and 

d. be supervised by the nursing staff. 
2. Volunteers  

a. The CRC that utilizes volunteers shall ensure that 
each volunteer: 
 i. meets the requirements of non-licensed clinical 
staff; 
 ii. is screened and supervised to protect clients 
and staff;  
 iii. is oriented to facility, job duties, and other 
pertinent information;  
 iv. is trained to meet requirements of duties 
assigned;  
 v. is given a written job description or written 
agreement;  
 vi. is identified as a volunteer;  
 vii. is trained in privacy measures; and 
 viii. is required to sign a written confidentiality 
agreement. 

b. The facility shall designate a volunteer 
coordinator who: 
 i. has the experience and training to supervise the 
volunteers and their activities; and 
 ii. is responsible for selecting, evaluating and 
supervising the volunteers and their activities.  

3. If a CRC utilizes student interns, it shall ensure that 
each student intern: 

a. has current registration with the appropriate 
Louisiana board when required or educational institution, 
and is in good standing at all times; 

b. provides direct client care utilizing the standards 
developed by the professional board; 

c. provides care only under the direct supervision of 
an individual authorized in accordance with acceptable 
standards of practice; and 

d. provides only those services for which the 
student has been properly trained and deemed competent to 
perform. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:115 (January 2015). 
§5361. Personnel Records 

A. A CRC shall maintain a personnel file for each 
employee and direct care staff member in the center. Each 
record shall contain: 

1. the application for employment and/or resume, 
including contact information and employment history for 
the preceding five years, if applicable; 

2. reference letters from former employer(s) and 
personal references or written documentation based on 
telephone contact with such references; 

3. any required medical examinations or health 
screens; 

4. evidence of current applicable professional 
credentials/certifications according to state law or 
regulations; 

5. annual performance evaluations to include evidence 
of competency in performing assigned tasks; 

6. personnel actions, other appropriate materials, 
reports and notes relating to the individual's employment;  

7. the staff member's starting and termination dates; 
8. proof of orientation, training and in-services; 
9. results of criminal background checks, if required;  
10. job descriptions and performance expectations;  
11. a signed attestation annually by each member of the 

direct care staff indicating that he/she has not been convicted 
of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a crime, other than 
traffic violations; and 

12. written confidentiality agreement signed by the 
personnel every twelve months. 

B. A CRC shall retain personnel files for at least three 
years following termination of employment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:116 (January 2015). 
Subchapter F. Admission, Transfer and Discharge 
§5367. Admission Requirements 

A. A CRC shall not refuse admission to any individual 
on the grounds of race, national origin, ethnicity or 
disability. 

B. A CRC shall admit only those individuals whose 
needs, pursuant to the screening, can be fully met by the 
center. 

C. A CRC shall expect to receive individuals who 
present voluntarily to the unit and/or individuals who are 
brought to the unit under an OPC, CEC, or PEC. 

D. The CRC shall develop and implement policies and 
procedures for diverting individuals when the CRC is at 
capacity, that shall include: 

1. notifying emergency medical services (EMS), 
police and the OBH or its designee in the service area; 

2. conducting a screening on each individual that 
presents to the center; and 

3. safely transferring the presenting individual to an 
appropriate provider; 

E. Pre-Admission Requirements  
1. Prior to admission, the center shall attempt to 

obtain documentation from the referring emergency room, 
agency, facility or other source, if available, that reflects the 
client's condition. 

2. The CRC shall conduct a screening on each 
individual that presents for treatment that:  

a. is performed by a RN who may be assisted by 
other personnel;  
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b. is conducted within 15 minutes of entering the 
center; 

c. determines eligibility and appropriateness for 
admission;  

d. assesses whether the client is an imminent danger 
to self or others; and 

e. includes the following: 
 i. taking vital signs; 
 ii. breath analysis and urine drug screen 
 iii. brief medical history including assessment of 
risk for imminent withdrawal; and 
 iv. clinical assessment of current condition to 
determine primary medical problem(s) and appropriateness 
of admission to CRC or transfer to other medical provider;  

F. Admission Requirements  
1. The CRC shall establish the CRC's admission 

requirements that include:  
a. availability of appropriate physical 

accommodations;  
b. legal authority or voluntary admission; and 
c. written documentation that client and/or family if 

applicable, consents to treatment.  
2. The CRC shall develop, implement and comply 

with admission criteria that, at a minimum, include the 
following inclusionary and exclusionary requirements:  

a. inclusionary: the client is experiencing a 
seriously acute psychological/emotional change which 
results in a marked increase in personal distress and exceeds 
the abilities and resources of those involved to effectively 
resolve it; 

b. exclusionary: the client is experiencing an 
exacerbation of a chronic condition that does not meet the 
inclusionary criteria listed in §5367.F.2.a. 

3. If the client qualifies for admission into the CRC, 
the center shall ensure that a behavioral health assessment is 
conducted: 

a. by an LMHP;  
b. within four hours of being received in the unit 

unless extenuating or emergency circumstances preclude the 
delivery of this service within this time frame; and  

c. includes the following: 
 i. a history of previous emotional, behavioral and 
substance use problems and treatment; 
 ii. a social assessment to include a determination 
of the need for participation of family members or 
significant others in the individual's treatment; the social, 
peer-group, and environmental setting from which the 
person comes; family circumstances; current living situation; 
employment history; social, ethnic, cultural factors; and 
childhood history; current or pending legal issues including 
charges, pending trial, etc.; 
 iii. an assessment of the individual's ability and 
willingness to cooperate with treatment; 
 iv. an assessment for any possible abuse or 
neglect; and 
 v. review of any laboratory results, results of 
breath analysis and urine drug screens on patients and the 
need for further medical testing. 

4. The CRC shall ensure that a nursing assessment is 
conducted that is: 

a. begun at time of admission and completed within 
24 hours; and 

b. conducted by a RN with the assistance of other 
personnel. 

5. The center shall ensure that a physical assessment 
is conducted by an authorized licensed prescriber within 12 
hours of admission that includes: 

a. a complete medical history;  
b. direct physical examination; and  
c. documentation of medical problems. 

6. The authorized license prescriber, LMHP and/or 
RN shall conduct a review of the medical and psychiatric 
records of current and past diagnoses, laboratory results, 
treatments, medications and dose response, side-effects and 
compliance with: 

a. the review of data reported to clinical director; 
b. synthesis of data received is incorporated into 

treatment plan by clinical director. 
G. Client/Family Orientation. Upon admission or as soon 

as possible, each facility shall ensure that a confidential and 
efficient orientation is provided to the client and the client's 
designated representative, if applicable, concerning:  

1. visitation;  
2. physical layout of the center; 
3. safety;  
4. center rules; and 
5. all other pertinent information.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:116 (January 2015). 
§5369. Discharge, Transfer and Referral Requirements 

A. The CRC shall develop, implement and comply with 
policies and procedures that address when and how clients 
will be discharged and referred or transferred to other 
providers in accordance with applicable state and federal 
laws and regulations.  

B. Discharge planning shall begin upon admission.  
C. The CRC shall ensure that a client is discharged: 

1. when the client's treatment goals are achieved, as 
documented in the client's treatment plan; 

2. when the client's issues or treatment needs are not 
consistent with the services the center is authorized or able 
to provide; or 

3. according to the center's established written 
discharge criteria.  

D. Discharge Plan. Each CRC client shall have a written 
discharge plan to provide continuity of services that 
includes:  

1. the client's transfer or referral to outside resources, 
continuing care appointments, and crisis intervention 
assistance;  

2. documented attempts to involve the client and the 
family or an alternate support system in the discharge 
planning process;  

3. the client's goals or activities to sustain recovery;  
4. signature of the client or, if applicable, the client's 

parent or guardian, with a copy provided to the individual 
who signed the plan; 

5. name, dosage and frequency of client's medications 
ordered at the time of discharge;  

6. prescriptions for medications ordered at time of 
discharge; and 
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7. the disposition of the client's possessions, funds 
and/or medications, if applicable.  

E. The discharge summary shall be completed within 30 
days and include:  

1. the client's presenting needs and issues identified at 
the time of admission;  

2. the services provided to the client;  
3. the center's assessment of the client's progress 

towards goals;  
4. the circumstances of discharge; and  
5. the continuity of care recommended following 

discharge, supporting documentation and referral 
information. 

F. Transfer Process. The CRC responsible for the 
discharge and transfer of the client shall:  

1. request and receive approval from the receiving 
facility prior to transfer;  

2. notify the receiving facility prior to the arrival of 
the client of any significant medical/psychiatric 
conditions/complications or any other pertinent information 
that will be needed to care for the client prior to arrival; and  

3. transfer all requested client information and 
documents upon request.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:117 (January 2015). 
Subchapter G. Program Operations 
§5375. Treatment Services 

A. A CRC shall: 
1. operate 24 hours per day seven days a week; 
2. operate up to 24 licensed beds; 
3. provide services to either adults or minors but not 

both; 
4. provide services that include, but are not limited to: 

a. emergency screening; 
b. assessment; 
c. crisis intervention and stabilization;  
d. 24 hour observation; 
e. medication administration; and 
f. referral to the most appropriate and least 

restrictive setting available consistent with the client's needs. 
B. A CRC shall admit clients for an estimated length of 

stay of 3-7 days. If a greater length of stay is needed, the 
CRC shall maintain documentation of clinical justification 
for the extended stay. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:118 (January 2015). 
§5377. Laboratory Services  

A. The CRC shall have laboratory services available to 
meet the needs of its clients, including the ability to:  

1. obtain STAT laboratory results as needed at all 
times;  

2. conduct a dipstick urine drug screen; and  
3. conduct a breath analysis for immediate 

determination of blood alcohol level.  
B. The CRC shall maintain a CLIA certificate for the 

laboratory services provided on-site. 

C. The CRC shall ensure that all contracted laboratory 
services are provided by a CLIA clinical laboratory 
improvement amendment (CLIA) certified laboratory.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:118 (January 2015). 
§5379. Pharmaceutical Services and Medication 

Administration 
A. The CRC may provide pharmaceutical services on-

site at the center or off-site pursuant to a written agreement 
with a pharmaceutical provider. 

B. All compounding, packaging, and dispensing of 
medications shall be accomplished in accordance with 
Louisiana laws and Board of Pharmacy regulations and be 
performed by or under the direct supervision of a registered 
pharmacist currently licensed to practice in Louisiana. 

C. The CRC shall ensure that a mechanism exists to: 
1. provide pharmaceutical services 24 hours per day; 

and 
2. obtain STAT medications, as needed, within an 

acceptable time frame, at all times. 
D. CRCs that utilize off-site pharmaceutical providers 

pursuant to a written agreement shall have: 
1. a physician who assumes the responsibility of 

procurement and possession of medications; and 
2. an area for the secure storage of medication and 

medication preparation in accordance with Louisiana Board 
of Pharmacy rules and regulations. 

E. A CRC shall maintain:  
1. a site-specific Louisiana controlled substance 

license in accordance with the Louisiana Uniform Controlled 
Dangerous Substance Act; and 

2. a United States Drug Enforcement Administration 
controlled substance registration for the facility in 
accordance with title 21 of the United States Code. 

F. The CRC shall develop, implement and comply with 
written policies and procedures in accordance with 
applicable federal, state and local laws and ordinances that 
govern:  

1. the safe administration and handling of all 
prescription and non-prescription medications; 

2. the storage, recording and control of all 
medications;  

3. the disposal of all discontinued and/or expired 
medications and containers with worn, illegible or missing 
labels; 

4. the use of prescription medications including: 
a. when medication is administered, medical 

monitoring occurs to identify specific target symptoms; 
b. a procedure to inform clients, staff, and where 

appropriate, client's parent(s), legal guardian(s) or 
designated representatives, of each medication's anticipated 
results, the potential benefits and side-effects as well as the 
potential adverse reaction that could result from not taking 
the medication as prescribed; 

c. involving clients and, where appropriate, their 
parent(s) or legal guardian(s), and designated representatives 
in decisions concerning medication; and 

d. staff training to ensure the recognition of the 
potential side effects of the medication; 
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5. the list of abbreviations and symbols approved for 
use in the facility; 

6. recording of medication errors and adverse drug 
reactions and reporting them to the client's physician or 
authorized prescriber, and the nurse manager; 

7. the reporting of and steps to be taken to resolve 
discrepancies in inventory, misuse and abuse of controlled 
substances in accordance with federal and state law; 

8. provision for emergency pharmaceutical services; 
9. a unit dose system; and 
10. procuring and the acceptable timeframes for 

procuring STAT medications when the medication needed is 
not available on-site.  

G. The CRC shall ensure that: 
1. medications are administered by licensed health 

care personnel whose scope of practice includes 
administration of medications;  

2. any medication is administered according to the 
order of an authorized licensed prescriber; 

3. it maintains a list of authorized licensed prescribers 
that is accessible to staff at all times; 

4. all medications are kept in a locked illuminated 
clean cabinet, closet or room at temperature controls 
according to the manufacturer's recommendations, 
accessible only to individuals authorized to administer 
medications; 

5. medications are administered only upon receipt of 
written orders, electromechanical facsimile, or verbal orders 
from an authorized licensed prescriber; 

6. all verbal orders are signed by the licensed 
prescriber within 72 hours; 

7. medications that require refrigeration are stored in a 
refrigerator or refrigeration unit separate from the 
refrigerators or refrigeration units that store food, beverages, 
or laboratory specimens; 

8. all prescription medication containers are labeled to 
identify: 

a. the client's full name; 
b. the name of the medication;  
c. dosage;  
d. quantity and date dispensed;  
e. directions for taking the medication; 
f. required accessory and cautionary statements; 
g. prescriber's name; and 
h. the expiration date; 

9. medication errors, adverse drug reactions, and 
interactions with other medications, food or beverages taken 
by the client are immediately reported to the client's 
physician or authorized licensed prescriber, supervising 
pharmacist and nurse manager with an entry in the client's 
record; 

10. all controlled substances shall be kept in a locked 
cabinet or compartment separate from other medications; 

11. current and accurate records are maintained on the 
receipt and disposition of controlled substances; 

12. controlled substances are reconciled: 
a. at least twice a day by staff authorized to 

administer controlled substances; or 
b. by an automated system that provides 

reconciliation; 

13. discrepancies in inventory of controlled substances 
are reported to the nurse manager and the supervising 
pharmacist in accordance with federal and state laws.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:118 (January 2015). 
§5381. Transportation 

A. The CRC shall establish, implement and comply with 
policies and procedures to: 

1. secure emergency transportation in the event of a 
client's medical emergency; and 

2. provide non-emergent medical transportation to the 
clients as needed. 

B. The facility shall have a written agreement with a 
transportation service in order to provide non-emergent 
transport services needed by its clients that shall require all 
vehicles used to transport CRC clients are:  

1. maintained in a safe condition; 
2. properly licensed and inspected in accordance with 

state law; 
3. operated at a temperature that does not compromise 

the health, safety and needs of the client;  
4. operated in conformity with all applicable motor 

vehicle laws; 
5. current liability coverage for all vehicles used to 

transport clients; 
6. all drivers of vehicles that transport CRC clients are 

properly licensed to operate the class of vehicle in 
accordance with state law; and 

7. the ability to transport non-ambulatory clients in 
appropriate vehicles if needed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:119 (January 2015). 
§5383. Food and Diet 

A. The CRC shall ensure that:  
1. all dietary services are provided under the direction 

of a Louisiana licensed and registered dietician either 
directly or by written agreement; 

2. menus are approved by the registered dietician; 
3. meals are of sufficient quantity and quality to meet 

the nutritional needs of clients, including religious and 
dietary restrictions; 

4. meals are in accordance with Federal Drug 
Administration (FDA) dietary guidelines and the orders of 
the authorized licensed prescriber; 

5. at least three meals plus an evening snack are 
provided daily with no more than 14 hours between any two 
meals; 

6. meals are served in a manner that maintains the 
safety and security of the client and are free of identified 
contraband;  

7. all food is stored, prepared, distributed, and served 
under safe and sanitary conditions in accordance with the 
Louisiana Sanitary Code;  

8. all equipment and utensils used in the preparation 
and serving of food are properly cleaned, sanitized and
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stored in accordance with the Louisiana Sanitary Code; and 
9. if meals are prepared on-site, they are prepared in 

an OPH approved kitchen. 
B. The CRC may provide meal service and preparation 

pursuant to a written agreement with an outside food 
management company. If provided pursuant to a written 
agreement, the CRC shall: 

1. maintain responsibility for ensuring compliance 
with this Chapter; 

2. provide written notice to HSS and OPH within 10 
calendar days of the effective date of the contract; 

3. ensure that the outside food management company 
possesses a valid OPH retail food permit and meets all 
requirements for operating a retail food establishment that 
serves a highly susceptible population, in accordance with 
the special requirements for highly susceptible populations 
as promulgated in the Louisiana Sanitary Code provisions 
governing food display and service for retail food 
establishments (specifically LAC 51:XXIII.1911 as amended 
May 2007); and 

4. ensure that the food management company employs 
or contracts with a licensed and registered dietician who 
serves the center as needed to ensure that the nutritional 
needs of the clients are met in accordance with the 
authorized licensed prescriber's orders and acceptable 
standards of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:119 (January 2015). 
Subchapter H. Client Rights 
§5389. General Provisions 

A. The CRC shall develop, implement and comply with 
policies and procedures that:  

1. protect its clients' rights; 
2. respond to questions and grievances pertaining to 

these rights; 
3. ensure compliance with clients' rights enumerated 

in R.S. 28:171; and 
4. ensure compliance with minors' rights enumerated 

in the Louisiana Children's Code.  
B. A CRC's client and, if applicable, the client's parent(s) 

or legal guardian or chosen designated representative, have 
the following rights: 

1. to be informed of the client's rights and 
responsibilities at the time of or shortly after admission; 

2. to have a family member, chosen representative 
and/or his or her own physician notified of admission at the 
client's request to the CRC; 

3. to receive treatment and medical services without 
discrimination based on race, age, religion, national origin, 
gender, sexual orientation, disability, marital status, 
diagnosis, ability to pay or source of payment; 

4. to be free from abuse, neglect, exploitation and 
harassment; 

5. to receive care in a safe setting; 
6. to receive the services of a translator or interpreter, 

if applicable, to facilitate communication between the client 
and the staff; 

7. to be informed of the client's own health status and 
to participate in the development, implementation and 
updating of the client's treatment plan; 

8. to make informed decisions regarding the client's 
care in accordance with federal and state laws and 
regulations;  

9. to consult freely and privately with the client's legal 
counsel or to contact an attorney at any reasonable time; 

10. to be informed, in writing, of the policies and 
procedures for initiation, review and resolution of grievances 
or client complaints; 

11. to submit complaints or grievances without fear of 
reprisal;   

12. to have the client's information and medical 
records, including all computerized medical information, 
kept confidential in accordance with federal and state 
statutes and rules/regulations;  

13. to be provided indoor and/or outdoor recreational 
and leisure opportunities;  

14. to be given a copy of the center's rules and 
regulations upon admission or shortly thereafter;  

15. to receive treatment in the least restrictive 
environment that meets the client's needs;  

16. to be subject to the use of restraint and/or seclusion 
only in accordance with federal and state law, rules and 
regulations; 

17. to be informed of all estimated charges and any 
limitations on the length of services at the time of admission 
or shortly thereafter;  

18. to contact DHH at any reasonable time; 
19. to obtain a copy of these rights as well as the 

address and phone number of DHH and the Mental Health 
Advocacy Service at any time; and 

20. to be provided with personal hygiene products, 
including but not limited to, shampoo, deodorant, 
toothbrush, toothpaste, and soap, if needed. 

C. A copy of the clients' right shall be posted in the 
facility and accessible to all clients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:120 (January 2015). 
§5391. Grievances 

A. The facility shall develop, implement and comply 
with a written grievance procedure for clients designed to 
allow clients to submit a grievance without fear of 
retaliation. The procedure shall include, but not be limited 
to: 

1. process for filing a grievance;  
2. a time line for responding to the grievance; 
3. a method for responding to a grievance; and 
4. the staff responsibilities for addressing and 

resolving grievances. 
B. The facility shall ensure that: 

1. the client and, if applicable, the client's parent(s) or 
legal guardian(s), is aware of and understands the grievance 
procedure; and 

2. all grievances are addressed and resolved to the 
best of the center's ability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:120 (January 2015). 
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Subchapter I. Physical Environment 
§5397. Interior Space 

A. The CRC shall: 
1. have a physical environment that protects the 

health, safety and security of the clients;  
2. have routine maintenance and cleaning programs in 

all areas of the center; 
3. be well-lit, clean, and ventilated;  
4. conduct a risk assessment of each client and the 

physical environment of the facility in order to ensure the 
safety and well-being of all clients admitted to the facility;  

5. maintain its physical environment, including, but 
not limited to, all equipment, fixtures, plumbing, electrical, 
and furnishings, in good order and safe condition in 
accordance with manufacturer's recommendations; 

6. maintain heating, ventilation and cooling systems in 
good order and safe condition to ensure a comfortable 
environment; and 

7. ensure that electric receptacles in client care areas 
are tamper-resistant or equipped with ground fault circuit 
interrupters.  

B. Common Area. The CRC shall have designated space: 
1. to be used for group meetings, dining, visitation, 

leisure and recreational activities;  
2. that is at least 25 square feet per client and no less 

than 150 square feet exclusive of sleeping areas, bathrooms, 
areas restricted to staff and office areas; and  

3. that contains tables for eating meals.  
C. Bathrooms  

1. Each bathroom to be used by clients shall contain: 
a. a lavatory with:  

 i. paper towels or an automatic dryer; 
 ii. a soap dispenser with soap for individual use; 
and 
 iii. a wash basin with hot and cold running water;  

b. tubs and/or showers that: 
 i. have hot and cold water;  
 ii. have slip proof surfaces; and 
 iii. allow for individual privacy; 

c. toilets: 
 i. an adequate supply of toilet paper;  
 ii. with seats; and 
 iii. that allow for individual privacy; 

d. a sink, tub or shower and toilet for the number of 
clients and in accordance with the Louisiana Sanitary Code; 

e. shatterproof mirrors secured to the walls at 
convenient heights; 

f. plumbing, piping, ductwork, and that are 
recessed or enclosed in order to be inaccessible to clients; 
and 

g. other furnishings necessary to meet the clients' 
basic hygienic needs.  

2. A CRC shall have at least one separate toilet and 
lavatory facility for the staff. 

D. Sleeping Areas and Bedroom(s) 
1. A CRC that utilizes a sleeping area for multiple 

clients shall: 
a. ensure that the sleeping area has at least 60 

square feet per bed of clear floor area and does not contain 
or utilize bunk beds; and 

b. shall maintain at least one separate bedroom. 

2. Bedrooms. A CRC that utilizes individual bedrooms 
shall ensure that each bedroom: 

a. accommodates no more than one client; and 
b. has at least 80 square feet of clear floor area.  

3. The CRC shall ensure that each client: 
a. has sufficient separate storage space for clothing, 

toilet articles and other personal belongings of clients; 
b. has sheets, pillow, bedspread, towels, washcloths 

and blankets that are: 
 i. intact and in good repair; 
 ii. systematically removed from use when no 
longer usable; 
 iii. clean; 
 iv. provided as needed or when requested unless 
the request is unreasonable; 

c. is given a bed for individual use that:  
 i. is no less than 30 inches wide; 
 ii. is of solid construction; 
 iii. has a clean, comfortable, impermeable, 
nontoxic and fire retardant mattress; and 
 iv. is appropriate to the size and age of the client. 

E. Administrative and Staff Areas 
1. The CRC shall maintain a space that is distinct 

from the client common areas that serves as an office for 
administrative functions. 

2. The CRC shall have a designated space for nurses 
and other staff to complete tasks, be accessible to clients and 
to observe and monitor client activity within the unit.  

F. Counseling and Treatment Area 
1. The CRC shall have a designated space to allow for 

private physical examination that is exclusive of sleeping 
areas and common spaces.  

2. The CRC shall have a designated space to allow for 
private and small group discussions and counseling sessions 
between individual clients and staff that is exclusive of 
sleeping areas and common space.  

3. The CRC may utilize the same space for the 
counseling area and examination area. 

G. Seclusion Room  
1. The CRC shall have at least one seclusion room 

that: 
a. is for no more than one client; and 
b. allows for continual visual observation and 

monitoring of the client either: 
 i. directly; or 
 ii. by a combination of video and audio; 

c. has a monolithic ceiling; 
d. is a minimum of 80 square feet; and 
e. contains a stationary restraint bed that is secure to 

the floor; 
f. flat walls that are free of any protrusions with 

angles; 
g. does not contain electrical receptacles. 

H. Kitchen 
1. If a CRC prepares meals on-site, the CRC shall 

have a full service kitchen that:  
a. includes a cooktop, oven, refrigerator, freezer, 

hand washing station, storage and space for meal 
preparation;  

b. complies with OPH regulations;  
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c. has the equipment necessary for the preparation, 
serving, storage and clean-up of all meals regularly served to 
all of the clients and staff; 

d. contains trash containers covered and made of 
metal or United Laboratories-approved plastic; and  

e. maintains the sanitation of dishes. 
2. A CRC that does not provide a full service kitchen 

accessible to staff 24 hours per day shall have a nourishment 
station or a kitchenette, restricted to staff only, in which staff 
may prepare nourishments for clients, that includes: 

a. a kitchen sink; 
b. a work counter; 
c. a refrigerator; 
d. storage cabinets; 
e. equipment for preparing hot and cold 

nourishments between scheduled meals; and 
f. space for trays and dishes used for non-scheduled 

meal service. 
3. A CRC may utilize ice making equipment if the ice 

maker: 
a. is self-dispensing; or  
b. is in an area restricted to staff only. 

I. Laundry 
1. The CRC shall have an automatic washer and dryer 

for use by staff when laundering clients' clothing. 
2. The CRC shall have: 

a. provisions to clean and launder soiled linen, other 
than client clothing, either on-site or off-site by written 
agreement;  

b. a separate area for holding soiled linen until it is 
laundered; and 

c. a clean linen storage area. 
J. Storage: 

1. the CRC shall have separate and secure storage 
areas that are inaccessible to clients for the following: 

a. client possessions that may not be accessed 
during their stay;  

b. hazardous, flammable and/or combustible 
materials; and 

2. records and other confidential information.  
K. Furnishings 

1. The CRC shall ensure that its furnishings are: 
a. designed to suit the size, age and functional 

status of the clients; 
b. in good repair; 
c. clean; 
d. promptly repaired or replaced if defective, run-

down or broken.  
L. Hardware, Fixtures and other Protrusions 

1. If grab bars are used, the CRC shall ensure that the 
space between the bar and the wall shall be filled to prevent 
a cord from being tied around it. 

2. All hardware as well as sprinkler heads, lighting 
fixtures and other protrusions shall be: 

a. recessed or of a design to prohibit client access; 
and 

b. tamper-resistant. 
3. Towel bars, shower curtain rods, clothing rods and 

hooks are prohibited. 
M. Ceilings 

1. The CRC shall ensure that the ceiling is: 

a. no less than 7.5 feet high and secured from 
access; or 

b. at least 9 feet in height; and 
c. all overhead plumbing, piping, duct work or 

other potentially hazardous elements shall be concealed 
above the ceiling. 

N. Doors and Windows  
1. All windows shall be fabricated with laminated 

safety glass or protected by polycarbonate, laminate or 
safety screens. 

2. Door hinges shall be designed to minimize points 
for hanging.  

3. Except for specifically designed anti-ligature 
hardware, door handles shall point downward in the latched 
or unlatched position. 

4. All hardware shall have tamper-resistant fasteners. 
5. The center shall ensure that outside doors, windows 

and other features of the structure necessary for safety and 
comfort of individuals: 

a. are secured for safety;  
b. prohibit clients from gaining unauthorized 

egress; 
c. prohibit an outside from gaining unauthorized 

ingress;  
d. if in disrepair, not accessible to clients until 

repaired; and 
e. repaired as soon as possible. 

6. The facility shall ensure that all closets, bedrooms 
and bathrooms for clients that are equipped with doors do 
not have locks and can be readily opened from both sides.  

O. Smoking 
1. The CRC shall prohibit smoking in the interior of 

the center. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:121 (January 2015). 
§5399. Exterior Space Requirements 

A. The CRC shall maintain all exterior areas to prevent 
elopement, injury, suicide and the introduction of 
contraband, and shall maintain a perimeter security system 
designed to monitor and control visitor access and client 
egress. 

B. The facility shall maintain all exterior areas and 
structures of the facility in good repair and free from any 
reasonably foreseeable hazard to health or safety.  

C. The facility shall ensure the following: 
1. garbage stored outside is secured in non-

combustible, covered containers and are removed on a 
regular basis; 

2. trash collection receptacles and incinerators are 
separate from any area accessible to clients and located as to 
avoid being a nuisance; 

3. unsafe areas, including steep grades, open pits, 
swimming pools, high voltage boosters or high speed roads 
are fenced or have natural barriers to protect clients; 

4. fences that are in place are in good repair; 
5. exterior areas are well lit; and 
6. the facility has appropriate signage that: 

a. is visible to the public; 
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b. indicates the facility's legal or trade name; 
c. clearly states that the CRC provides behavioral 

health services only; and 
d. indicates the center is not a hospital or 

emergency room. 
D. A CRC with an outdoor area to be utilized by its 

clients shall ensure that the area is safe and secure from 
access and egress. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:122 (January 2015). 
Chapter 54. Crisis Receiving Centers 
Subchapter J. Safety and Emergency Preparedness 
§5401. General Safety Provisions 

A. The CRC shall provide additional supervision when 
necessary to provide for the safety of all clients. 

B. The CRC shall: 
1. prohibit weapons of any kind on-site; 
2. prohibit glass, hand sanitizer, plastic bags in client-

care areas;  
3. ensure that all poisonous, toxic and flammable 

materials are: 
a. maintained in appropriate containers and labeled 

as to the contents; 
b. securely stored in a locked cabinet or closet; 
c. are used in such a manner as to ensure the safety 

of clients, staff and visitors; and 
d. maintained only as necessary;  

4. ensure that all equipment, furnishing and any other 
items that are in a state of disrepair are removed and 
inaccessible to clients until replaced or repaired; and 

5. ensure that when potentially harmful materials such 
as cleaning solvents and/or detergents are used, training is 
provided to the staff and they are used by staff members 
only. 

C. The CRC shall ensure that a first aid kit is available in 
the facility and in all vehicles used to transport clients. 

D. The CRC shall simulate fire drills and other 
emergency drills at least once a quarter while maintaining 
client safety and security during the drills.  

E. Required Inspections. The CRC shall pass all required 
inspections and keep a current file of reports and other 
documentation needed to demonstrate compliance with 
applicable laws and regulations.  

F. The CRC shall have an on-going safety program to 
include: 

1. continuous inspection of the facility for possible 
hazards; 

2. continuous monitoring of safety equipment and 
maintenance or repair when needed; 

3. investigation and documentation of all accidents or 
emergencies; and 

4. fire control, evacuation planning and other 
emergency drills. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:123 (January 2015). 
§5403. Infection Control 

A. The CRC shall provide a sanitary environment to 
avoid sources and transmission of infections and 
communicable diseases.  

B. The CRC shall have an active Infection Control 
Program that requires: 

1. reporting of infectious disease in accordance with 
OPH guidelines;  

2. monitoring of: 
a. the spread of infectious disease; 
b. hand washing; 
c. staff and client education; and 
d. incidents of specific infections in accordance 

with OPH guidelines; 
3. corrective actions; 
4. a designated infection control coordinator who: 

a. has education and/or experience in infection 
control; 

b. develops and implements policies and procedures 
governing the infection control program; 

c. takes universal precautions; and  
d. strictly adheres to all sanitation requirements;  

5. the CRC shall maintain a clean and sanitary 
environment and shall ensure that:  

a. supplies and equipment are available to staff; 
b. there is consistent and constant monitoring and 

cleaning of all areas of the facility;  
c. the methods used for cleaning, sanitizing, 

handling and storing of all supplies and equipment prevent 
the transmission of infection;  

d. directions are posted for sanitizing both kitchen 
and bathroom and laundry areas;  

e. showers and bathtubs are to be sanitized by staff 
between client usage; 

f. clothing belonging to clients must be washed and 
dried separately from the clothing belonging to other clients; 
and 

g. laundry facilities are used by staff only; 
h. food and waste are stored, handled, and removed 

in a way that will not spread disease, cause odor, or provide 
a breeding place for pests. 

C. The CRC may enter into a written contract for 
housekeeping services necessary to maintain a clean and 
neat environment. 

D. Each CRC shall have an effective pest control plan.  
E. After discharge of a client, the CRC shall: 

1. clean the bed, mattress, cover, bedside furniture and 
equipment; 

2. ensure that mattresses, blankets and pillows 
assigned to clients are intact and in a sanitary condition; and  

3. ensure that the mattress, blankets and pillows used 
for a client are properly sanitized before assigned to another 
client. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:123 (January 2015). 
§5405. Emergency Preparedness 

A. The CRC shall have a written emergency 
preparedness plan to:  

1. maintain continuity of the center's operations in 
preparation for, during and after an emergency or disaster; 
and  

2. manage the consequences of all disasters or 
emergencies that disrupt the center's ability to render care 
and treatment, or threaten the lives or safety of the clients.  

B. The CRC shall: 
1. post exit diagrams describing how to clear the 

building safely and in a timely manner; 
2. have a clearly labeled and legible master floor 

plan(s) that indicates: 
a. the areas in the facility that are to be used by 

clients as shelter or safe zones during emergencies; 
b. the location of emergency power outlets and 

whether they are powered;  
c. the locations of posted, accessible, emergency 

information; and 
d. what will be powered by emergency generator(s), 

if applicable; 
3. train its employees in emergency or disaster 

preparedness. Training shall include orientation, ongoing 
training and participation in planned drills for all personnel.  

C. The CRC's emergency preparedness plan shall include 
the following information, at a minimum: 

1. if the center evacuates, the plan shall include: 
a. provisions for the evacuation of each client and 

delivery of essential services to each client; 
b. the center's method of notifying the client's 

family or caregiver, if applicable, including: 
 i. the date and approximate time that the facility 
or client is evacuating; 
 ii. the place or location to which the client(s) is 
evacuating which includes the name, address and telephone 
number; and 
 iii. a telephone number that the family or 
responsible representative may call for information 
regarding the client's evacuation; 

c. provisions for ensuring that supplies, 
medications, clothing and a copy of the treatment plan are 
sent with the client, if the client is evacuated; 

d. the procedure or methods that will be used to 
ensure that identification accompanies the client including: 
 i. current and active diagnosis; 
 ii. medication, including dosage and times 
administered; 
 iii. allergies; 
 iv. special dietary needs or restrictions; and 
 v. next of kin, including contact information if 
applicable; 

e. transportation or arrangements for transportation 
for an evacuation; 

2. provisions for staff to maintain continuity of care 
during an emergency as well as for distribution and 
assignment of responsibilities and functions; 

3. the delivery of essential care and services to clients 
who are housed in the facility or by the facility at another 
location, during an emergency or disaster; 

4. the determination as to when the facility will shelter 
in place and when the facility will evacuate for a disaster or 
emergency and the conditions that guide these 
determinations in accordance with local or parish OSHEP; 

5. if the center shelters in place, provisions for seven 
days of necessary supplies to be provided by the center prior 
to the emergency, including drinking water or fluids and 
non-perishable food. 

D. The center shall:  
1. follow and execute its emergency preparedness plan 

in the event of the occurrence of a declared disaster or other 
emergency; 

2. if the state, parish or local OHSEP orders a 
mandatory evacuation of the parish or the area in which the 
agency is serving, shall ensure that all clients are evacuated 
according to the facility's emergency preparedness plan; 

3. not abandon a client during a disaster or 
emergency;  

4. review and update its emergency preparedness plan 
at least once a year; 

5. cooperate with the department and with the local or 
parish OHSEP in the event of an emergency or disaster and 
shall provide information as requested; 

6. monitor weather warnings and watches as well as 
evacuation order from local and state emergency 
preparedness officials; 

7. upon request by the department, submit a copy of 
its emergency preparedness plan for review;  

8. upon request by the department, submit a written 
summary attesting to how the plan was followed and 
executed to include, at a minimum: 

a. pertinent plan provisions and how the plan was 
followed and executed; 

b. plan provisions that were not followed; 
c. reasons and mitigating circumstances for failure 

to follow and execute certain plan provisions; 
d. contingency arrangements made for those plan 

provisions not followed; and 
e. a list of all injuries and deaths of clients that 

occurred during execution of the plan, evacuation or 
temporary relocation including the date, time, causes and 
circumstances of the injuries and deaths. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:124 (January 2015). 
§5407. Inactivation of License due to a Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 
A. A CRC located in a parish which is the subject of an 

executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766, may 
seek to inactivate its license for a period not to exceed one 
year, provided that the center: 

1. submits written notification to HSS within 60 days 
of the date of the executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster that: 

a. the CRC has experienced an interruption in the 
provisions of services as a result of events that are the 
subject of such executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 
or R.S. 29:766; 
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b. the CRC intends to resume operation as a CRC in 
the same service area; 

c. includes an attestation that the emergency or 
disaster is the sole casual factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; 

d. includes an attestation that all clients have been 
properly discharged or transferred to another facility; and 

e. lists the clients and the location of the discharged 
or transferred clients; 

2. resumes operating as a CRC in the same service 
area within one year of the issuance of an executive order or 
proclamation of emergency or disaster in accordance with 
R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 

3. continues to pay all fees and cost due and owed to 
the department including, but not limited to, annual licensing 
fees and outstanding civil fines; and 

4. continues to submit required documentation and 
information to the department. 

B. Upon receiving a completed request to inactivate a 
CRC license, the department shall issue a notice of 
inactivation of license to the CRC. 

C. In order to obtain license reinstatement, a CRC with a 
department-issued notice of inactivation of license shall:  

1. submit a written license reinstatement request to 
HSS 60 days prior to the anticipated date of reopening that 
includes: 

a. the anticipated date of opening, and a request to 
schedule a licensing survey;  

b. a completed licensing application and other 
required documents with licensing fees, if applicable; and 

c. written approvals for occupancy from OSFM and 
OPH recommendation for license. 

D. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate a CRC license and other required documentation, 
the department shall conduct a licensing survey.  

E. If the CRC meets the requirements for licensure and 
the requirements under this Subsection, the department shall 
issue a notice of reinstatement of the center's license.  

F. During the period of inactivation, the department 
prohibits: 

1. a change of ownership (CHOW) in the CRC; and 
2. an increase in the licensed capacity from the CRC's 

licensed capacity at the time of the request to inactivate the 
license. 

G. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a 
CRC which has voluntarily surrendered its license. 

H. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the CRC 
license.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 28:2180.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:124 (January 2015). 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#061 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Children’s Choice Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXI.11107, 11303, 11527, 
11529, 11703, 11901, 11905, and 12101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities have amended LAC 
50:XXI.11107, §11303, §§11527-11529, §11703 and 
Chapters 119-121 under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 9.  Children’s Choice 

Chapter 111. General Provisions 
§11107. Allocation of Waiver Opportunities 

A. The order of entry in the children’s choice waiver is 
first come, first served from a statewide list arranged by date 
of application for the developmental disabilities request for 
services registry for the new opportunities waiver (NOW). 
Families shall be given a choice of accepting an opportunity 
in the children’s choice waiver or remaining on the 
DDRFSR for the NOW. 

A.1. - B.1.b. … 
C. Four hundred twenty-five opportunities shall be 

designated for qualifying children with developmental 
disabilities that have been identified by the local governing 
entity (LGE) as needing more family support services than 
what is currently available through state funded family 
support services. 

1. To qualify for these waiver opportunities, children 
must: 

a. ... 
b. be designated by the LGE as meeting priority 

level 1 or 2 criteria; 
c. - e. … 

2. Each LGE shall be responsible for the prioritization 
of these opportunities. Priority levels shall be defined 
according to the following criteria. 

a. Priority Level 1. Without the requested supports, 
there is an immediate or potential threat of out-of-home 
placement or homelessness due to: 
 i. - iii. … 
 iv. death or inability of the caregiver to continue 
care due to his/her own age or health; or 
 v. … 
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b. Priority Level 2. Supports are needed to prevent 
the individual’s health from deteriorating or the individual 
from losing any of his/her independence or productivity. 

3. … 
4. Each LGE shall have a specific number of these 

opportunities designated to them for allocation to waiver 
participants. 

5. In the event one of these opportunities is vacated, 
the opportunity shall be returned to the allocated pool for 
that particular LGE for another opportunity to be offered. 

6. … 
D. The Office for Citizens with Developmental 

Disabilities (OCDD) has the responsibility to monitor the 
utilization of children's choice waiver opportunities. At the 
discretion of the OCDD, specifically allocated waiver 
opportunities may be reallocated to better meet the needs of 
individuals with developmental disabilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 35:1892 
(September 2009), amended LR 40:539, 540 (March 2014), LR 
41:125 (January 2015). 
Chapter 113. Service 
§11303. Service Definitions 

A. - E.1. … 
2. Family training must be prior approved by the LGE 

and incorporated into the approved plan of care. 
3. - 4. … 

F. Family support services are services that enable a 
family to keep their child or family member at home, 
thereby enhancing family functioning. Services may be 
provided in the home or outside of the home in settings such 
as after school programs, summer camps, or other places as 
specified in the approved plan of care. 

1. Family support includes: 
a. assistance and prompting with eating, bathing, 

dressing, personal hygiene, and essential housekeeping 
incidental to the care of the child, rather than the child’s 
family. The preparation of meals is included, but not the cost 
of the meals themselves; and 

b. assistance with participating in the community, 
including activities to maintain and strengthen existing 
informal networks and natural supports. Providing 
transportation to these activities is also included. 

2. Family members who provide family support 
services must meet the same standards of service, training 
requirements and documentation requirements as caregivers 
who are unrelated to the participant. Services cannot be 
provided by the following individuals: 

a. legally responsible relatives (spouses, parents or 
step-parents, foster parents, or legal guardians); or  

b. any other individuals who live in the same 
household with the waiver participant. 

3. - 3.b. Repealed. 
G. - G.7.j. … 
H. Aquatic Therapy 

1.  Aquatic therapy uses the resistance of water to 
rehabilitate a participant with a chronic illness, poor or lack 
of muscle tone or a physical injury/disability. 

2. Aquatic therapy is not for participants who have 
fever, infections and are bowel/ bladder incontinent. 

3. Repealed. 
I. Art Therapy 

1. Art therapy is used to increase awareness of self 
and others; cope with symptoms, stress and traumatic 
experiences; enhance cognitive abilities; and as a mode of 
communication and enjoyment of the life-affirming pleasure 
of making art.  

2. Art therapy is the therapeutic use of art by people 
who experience illness, trauma, emotional/behavioral or 
mental health problems; by those who have learning or 
physical disabilities, life-limiting conditions, brain injuries 
or neurological conditions and/or challenges in living; and 
by people who strive to improve personal development. 

J. Music Therapy 
1. Music therapy services help participants improve 

their cognitive functioning, motor skills, emotional and 
affective development, behavior and social skills and quality 
of life.  

2. Repealed. 
K. Sensory Integration 

1. Sensory integration is used to improve the way the 
brain processes and adapts to sensory information, as 
opposed to teaching specific skills. Sensory integration 
involves activities that provide vestibular, proprioceptive 
and tactile stimuli which are selected to match specific 
sensory processing deficits of the child. 

L. Hippotherapy/Therapeutic Horseback Riding 
1. Hippotherapy/therapeutic horseback riding are 

services used to promote the use of the movement of the 
horse as a treatment strategy in physical, occupational and 
speech-language therapy sessions for people living with 
disabilities. 

2. Hippotherapy improves muscle tone, balance, 
posture, coordination, motor development as well as motor 
planning that can be used to improve sensory integration 
skills and attention skills.  

a. Specially trained therapy professionals evaluate 
each potential participant on an individual basis to determine 
the appropriateness of including hippotherapy as a treatment 
strategy. 

b. Hippotherapy requires therapy sessions that are 
one-on-one with a licensed physical therapist, speech 
therapist or occupational therapist who works closely with 
the horse professional in developing treatment strategies. 
The licensed therapist must be present during the 
hippotherapy sessions. 

c. Hippotherapy must be ordered by a physician 
with implementation of service, treatment strategies and 
goals developed by a licensed therapist. Services must be 
included in the participant’s plan of care. 

3. Therapeutic horseback riding teaches riding skills 
and improves neurological function and sensory processing. 

a. Therapeutic horseback riding must be ordered by 
a physician with implementation of service, treatment 
strategies and goals developed by a licensed therapist. 
Services must be included in the participant’s plan of care. 

M. Housing Stabilization Transition Services 
1. Housing stabilization transition services enable 

participants who are transitioning into a permanent
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supportive housing unit, including those transitioning from 
institutions, to secure their own housing. The service is 
provided while the participant is in an institution and 
preparing to exit the institution using the waiver. 

2. Housing stabilization transition services include the 
following components: 

a. conducting a housing assessment to identify the 
participant’s preferences related to housing (i.e., type, 
location, living alone or with someone else, accommodations 
needed, and other important preferences), and his/her needs 
for support to maintain housing, including: 
 i. access to housing; 
 ii. meeting the terms of a lease; 
 iii. eviction prevention; 
 iv. budgeting for housing/living expenses; 
 v. obtaining/accessing sources of income 
necessary for rent; 
 vi. home management; 
 vii. establishing credit; and  
 viii. understanding and meeting the obligations of 
tenancy as defined in the lease terms; 

b. assisting the participant to view and secure 
housing as needed, which may include arranging for and 
providing transportation; 

c. assisting the participant to secure supporting 
documents/records, completing/submitting applications, 
securing deposits, and locating furnishings; 

d. developing an individualized housing support 
plan based upon the housing assessment that: 
 i. includes short and long term measurable goals 
for each issue; 
 ii. establishes the participant’s approach to 
meeting the goal; and 
 iii. identifies where other provider(s) or services 
may be required to meet the goal; 

e. participating in the development of the plan of 
care and incorporating elements of the housing support plan; 
and 

f. exploring alternatives to housing if permanent 
supportive housing is unavailable to support completion of 
the transition. 

3. Housing stabilization transition services are only 
available upon referral from the support coordinator. This 
service is not duplicative of other waiver services, including 
support coordination. This service is only available to 
persons who are residing in a state of Louisiana permanent 
supportive housing unit, or who are linked for the state of 
Louisiana permanent supportive housing selection process. 

a. Repealed. 
4. Participants may not exceed 165 combined units of 

this service and housing stabilization services.  
a. Exceptions to exceed the 165 unit limit may be 

made only with written approval from the Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities. 

N. Housing Stabilization Services 
1. Housing stabilization services enable waiver 

participants to maintain their own housing as set forth in the 
participant’s approved plan of care. Services must be 
provided in the home or a community setting. 

2. Housing stabilization services include the following 
components: 

a. conducting a housing assessment to identify the 
participant’s preferences related to housing (i.e., type, 
location, living alone or with someone else, accommodations 
needed, and other important preferences), and his/her needs 
for support to maintain housing, including: 
 i. - vii. … 

b. participating in the development of the plan of 
care and incorporating elements of the housing support plan; 

c. developing an individualized housing 
stabilization service provider plan based upon the housing 
assessment that includes short and long term measurable 
goals for each issue, establishes the participant’s approach to 
meeting the goal, and identifies where other provider(s) or 
services may be required to meet the goal; 

d. providing supports and interventions according to 
the individualized housing support plan (If additional 
supports or services are identified as needed outside the 
scope of housing stabilization service, the needs must be 
communicated to the support coordinator.); 
 i. - iii. Repealed. 

e. providing ongoing communication with the 
landlord or property manager regarding the participant’s 
disability, accommodations needed, and components of 
emergency procedures involving the landlord or property 
manager; 

f. updating the housing support plan annually or as 
needed due to changes in the participant’s situation or status; 
and 

g. providing supports to retain housing or locate and 
secure housing to continue community-based supports if the 
participant’s housing is placed at risk (e.g., eviction, loss of 
roommate or income); this includes locating new housing, 
sources of income, etc. 

3. Housing stabilization services are only available 
upon referral from the support coordinator. This service is 
not duplicative of other waiver services, including support 
coordination. This service is only available to persons who 
are residing in a state of Louisiana permanent supportive 
housing unit. 

4. Participants may not exceed 165 combined units of 
this service and housing stabilization transition services. 

a. ... 
O. - O.4.a. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 33:1871 (September 2007), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, amended LR 36:324 (February 2010), 
LR 39:2498 (September 2013), LR 40:67 (January 2014), LR 
41:126 (January 2015). 
Chapter 115. Providers 
Subchapter B. Provider Requirements 
§11527. Direct Service Providers 

A. - A.1.d. … 
e. All services must be performed and completed 

during the current approved plan of care year. Services that 
are not completed by the end of the current approved plan of 
care year will be voided and deemed as non-billable. 
Services cannot carry over into the next plan of care year. 
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4. - 7. … 
8. The agency shall document that its employees and 

the employees of subcontractors do not have a criminal 
record as defined in 42 CFR 441.404(b). Providers of 
community supported living arrangement services must: 

a. not use individuals who have been convicted of 
child abuse, neglect, or mistreatment, or of a felony 
involving physical harm to an individual; and 

8.b. - 12. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 28:1985 
(September 2002), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 33:1872 (September 2007), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities, LR 39:2501 (September 2013), LR 
41:127 (January 2015). 
§11529. Professional Services Providers 

A. Professional services are direct services to 
participants, based on need, that may be utilized to increase 
the participant’s independence, participation and 
productivity in the home and community. Service intensity, 
frequency and duration will be determined by individual 
need. Professional services include the following: 

1. aquatic therapy; 
2. art therapy; 
3. music therapy; 
4. sensory integration; and 
5. hippotherapy/therapeutic horseback ridng. 
6. Repealed. 

B. - F. … 
G. All services must be documented in service notes 

which describe the services rendered and progress towards 
the participant’s personal outcomes and his/her plan of care. 

H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 39:2501 
(September 2013), LR 41:128 (January 2015). 
Chapter 117. Crisis Provisions 
§11703. Crisis Designation Criteria 

A. - A.2. … 
3. the child is committed to the custody of the 

Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) by the court; or 
A.4. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 28:1986 
(September 2002), amended LR 29:704 (May 2003), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 39:2503 (September 2013), LR 41:128 (January 
2015). 
Chapter 119. Noncrisis Provisions 
§11901. General Provisions 

A. Restoring the participant to the DDRFSR under 
noncrisis provisions will allow that individual to be placed in 

the next available waiver opportunity (slot) that will provide 
the appropriate services, provided the participant is still 
eligible when a slot becomes available. The fact that the 
participant is being restored to the DDRFSR does not require 
that the department immediately offer him/her a waiver slot 
if all slots are filled or to make a slot available to this 
participant for which another participant is being evaluated, 
even though that other participant was originally placed on 
the DDRFSR on a later date. Waiver services will not be 
terminated as a result of a participant’s name being restored 
to the registry. 

B. … 
C. In the event that the waiver eligibility, other than for 

the developmental disabilities waiver, of a person who 
elected or whose legal representative elected that he/she 
receive services under the children’s choice waiver is 
terminated based on inability to assure health and welfare of 
the waiver participant, the department will restore him/her to 
the DDRFSR for the developmental disabilities waiver in the 
date order of the original request. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 28:1986 
(September 2002), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 39:2503 (September 
2013), LR 41:128 (January 2015). 
§11905. Determination Responsibilities and Appeals 

A. The LGE shall have the responsibility for making the 
determinations as to the matters set forth in this Chapter 119. 
Persons who have elected or whose legal representatives 
have elected that they receive services under the children’s 
choice waiver have the right to appeal any determination of 
the department as to matters set forth in this Chapter 119, 
under the regulations and procedures applicable to Medicaid 
fair hearings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 28:1987 
(September 2002), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 39:2504 (September 
2013), LR 41:128 (January 2015). 
Chapter 121. Reimbursement 
§12101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B. … 
1. Family support, crisis support, center-based respite, 

aquatic therapy, art therapy, music therapy, sensory 
integration, and hippotherapy/therapeutic horseback riding 
services shall be reimbursed at a flat rate per 15-minute unit 
of service, which covers both service provision and 
administrative costs. 

2. - 4. … 
a. Effective February 9, 2007, an hourly wage 

enhancement payment in the amount of $2 will be 
reimbursed to providers for full-time equivalent (FTE) direct 
support professionals who provide family support services to 
children’s choice participants. 
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b. Effective May 20, 2007, an hourly wage 
enhancement payment in the amount of $2 will be 
reimbursed to providers for full-time equivalent (FTE) direct 
support professionals who provide center-based respite 
services to children’s choice participants. 

B.4.c. - D.1.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1987 (September 2002), LR 33:1872 
(September 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 
34:250 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36:324 (February 
2010), LR 36:2280 (October 2010), LR 37:2157 (July 2011), LR 
39:2504 (September 2013), LR 40:68 (January 2014), LR 41:128 
(January 2015). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#062 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Hospice Services (LAC 50:XV.Chapters 33-43) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, has amended LAC 
50:XV.Chapters 33-43 under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 3.  Hospice 

Chapter 33. Provider Participation 
§3301. Conditions for Participation 

A. Statutory Compliance 
1. Coverage of Medicaid hospice care shall be in 

accordance with: 
a. 42 USC 1396d(o); and 
b. the Medicare Hospice Program guidelines as set 

forth in 42 CFR Part 418. 
1.c. - 2. Repealed. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1466 (June 2002), amended LR 30:1024 
(May 2004), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:129 (January 2015). 

Chapter 35. Recipient Eligibility 
§3501. Election of Hospice Care 

A. - B. … 
1. The election must be filed by the eligible individual 

or by a person authorized by law (legal representative) to 
consent to medical treatment for such individual. 

a. A legal representative does not have the authority 
to elect, revoke, or appeal the denial of hospice services if 
the recipient is able to and wishes to convey a contrary 
choice. 

B.2. - F. … 
G. Election Statement Requirements. The election 

statement must include: 
1. … 
2. the individual's or his/her legal representative's 

acknowledgment that he or she has been given a full 
understanding of the palliative rather than curative nature of 
hospice care, as it relates to the individual's terminal illness;  

3. - 4. … 
5. the signature of the individual or his/her legal 

representative. 
H. Duration of Election. An election to receive hospice 

care will be considered to continue through the initial 
election period and through the subsequent election periods 
without a break in care as long as the individual: 

1. remains in the care of a hospice; 
2. does not revoke the election under the provisions of 

§3505; and 
3. is not discharged from hospice in accordance with 

§3505. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 19:749 (June 1993), amended LR 28:1466 
(June 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:129 (January 2015). 
§3503. Waiver of Payment for Other Services  

A. Individuals who are 21 and over may be eligible for 
additional personal care services as defined in the Medicaid 
state plan. Services furnished under the personal care 
services benefit may be used to the extent that the hospice 
provider would routinely use the services of the hospice 
patient’s family in implementing the patient’s plan of care. 
The hospice provider must provide services to the individual 
that are comparable to the services they received through 
Medicaid prior to their election of hospice. These services 
include, but are not limited to: 

1. pharmaceutical and biological services; 
2. durable medical equipment; and 

a. - c. Repealed. 
3. any other services permitted by federal law; 
4. the services listed in §3503.A.1-3 are for illustrative 

purposes only. The hospice provider is not exempt from 
providing care if an item or category is not listed. 

B. Individuals under age 21 who are approved for 
hospice may continue to receive curative treatments for their 
terminal illness; however, the hospice provider is responsible 
to coordinate all curative treatments related to the terminal 
illness. 

1. Curative Treatments—medical treatment and 
therapies provided to a patient with the intent to improve
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symptoms and cure the patient's medical problem. 
Antibiotics, chemotherapy, a cast for a broken limb are 
examples of curative care.  

2. Curative care has as its focus the curing of an 
underlying disease and the provision of medical treatments 
to prolong or sustain life. 

3. The hospice provider is responsible to provide 
durable medical equipment or contract for the provision of 
durable medical equipment. Personal care services, extended 
home health, and pediatric day health care must be 
coordinated with hospice services pursuant to §3705.C.  

C. Individuals who elect hospice services may also 
receive early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment 
(EPSDT) personal care services (PCS) concurrently. The 
hospice provider and the PCS provider must coordinate 
services and develop the patient’s plan of care as set forth in 
§3705. 

D. The hospice provider is responsible for making a 
daily visit to all clients under the age of 21 and for the 
coordination of care to assure there is no duplication of 
services. The daily visit is not required if the person is not in 
the home due to hospitalization or inpatient respite or 
inpatient hospice stays. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:129 (January 2015). 
§3505. Revoking the Election of Hospice 

Care/Discharge 
A. - A.4.b. … 

5. Re-election of Hospice Benefits. If an election has 
been revoked in accordance with the provisions of this 
§3505, the individual or his/her representative may at any 
time file an election, in accordance with §3501, for any other 
election period that is still available to the individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:130 (January 2015). 
Chapter 37. Provider Requirements 
§3701. Requirements for Coverage 

A. To be covered, a certification of terminal illness must 
be completed as set forth in §3703, the election of hospice 
care form must be completed in accordance with §3501, and 
a plan of care must be established in accordance with §3705. 
A written narrative from the referring physician explaining 
why the patient has a prognosis of six months or less must 
be included in the certificate of terminal illness. 

B. Prior authorization requirements stated in Chapter 41 
of these provisions are applicable to all election periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1467 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:130 (January 2015). 

§3703. Certification of Terminal Illness 
A. … 

1. For the first 90-day period of hospice coverage, the 
hospice must obtain a verbal certification no later than two 
calendar days after hospice care is initiated. If the verbal 
certification is not obtained within two calendar days 
following the initiation of hospice care, a written 
certification must be made within 10 calendar days 
following the initiation of hospice care. The written 
certification and notice of election must be obtained before 
requesting prior authorization for hospice care. If these 
requirements are not met, no payment is made for the days 
prior to the certification. Instead, payment begins with the 
day certification, i.e., the date all certification forms are 
obtained. 

a. - c. Repealed. 
2. For the subsequent periods, a written certification 

must be included in an approved prior authorization packet 
before a claim may be billed. 

2.a. - 4. Repealed. 
B. Face-to-Face Encounter 

1. A hospice physician or hospice nurse practitioner 
must have a face-to-face encounter with each hospice patient 
whose total stay across all hospices is anticipated to reach 
the third benefit period. The face-to-face encounter must 
occur no more than 30 calendar days prior to the third 
benefit period recertification, and every benefit period 
recertification thereafter, to gather clinical findings to 
determine continued eligibility for hospice care. 

2. The physician or nurse practitioner who performs 
the face-to-face encounter with the patient must attest in 
writing that he or she had a face-to-face encounter with the 
patient, including the date of that visit. The attestation of the 
nurse practitioner or a non-certifying hospice physician shall 
state that the clinical findings of that visit were provided to 
the certifying physician for use in determining continued 
eligibility for hospice care. 

C. Content of Certifications 
1. Certifications shall be based on the physician's or 

medical director's clinical judgment regarding the normal 
course of the individual's illness.  

2. The certification must specify that the individual's 
prognosis is for a life expectancy of six months or less if the 
terminal illness runs its normal course. 

3. Written clinical information and other 
documentation that support the medical prognosis must 
accompany the certification of terminal illness and must be 
based on the physician’s clinical judgment regarding the 
normal course of the individual’s illness filed in the medical 
record with the written certification, as set forth in §3703.C. 

4. The physician must include a brief written narrative 
explanation of the clinical findings that support a life 
expectancy of six months or less as part of the certification 
and recertification forms, or as an addendum to the 
certification/recertification forms: 

a. if the physician includes an addendum to the 
certification and recertification forms, it shall include, at a 
minimum: 
 i. the patient’s name; 
 ii. physician’s name; 
 iii. terminal diagnosis(es); 
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 iv. prognosis; and 
 v. the name and signature of the IDG member 
making the referral; 

b. the narrative must reflect the patient's individual 
clinical circumstances and cannot contain check boxes or 
standard language used for all patients; 

c. the narrative associated with the third benefit 
period recertification and every subsequent recertification 
must include an explanation of why the clinical findings of 
the face-to-face encounter support a life expectancy of six 
months or less, and shall not be the same narrative as 
previously submitted; 

d. prognosis; and  
e. the name and signature of the IDG member 

taking the referral. 
5. All certifications and recertifications must be 

signed and dated by the physician(s), and must include the 
benefit period dates to which the certification or 
recertification applies. 

D. Sources of Certification 
1. For the initial 90-day period, the hospice must 

obtain written certification statements as provided in 
§3703.A.1 from: 

a. the hospice’s medical director or physician 
member of the hospice’s interdisciplinary group; and  

b. the individual’s referring physician. 
 i. The referring physician is a doctor of medicine 
or osteopathy and is identified by the individual, at the time 
he or she elects to receive hospice care, as having the most 
significant role in the determination and delivery of the 
individual's medical care. 
 ii. The referring physician is the physician 
identified within the Medicaid system as the provider to 
which claims have been paid for services prior to the time of 
the election of hospice benefits. 

2. For subsequent periods, the only requirement is 
certification by either the medical director of the hospice or 
the physician member of the hospice interdisciplinary group. 

E. Maintenance of Records. Hospice staff must make an 
appropriate entry in the patient's clinical record as soon as 
they receive an oral certification and file written 
certifications in the clinical record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 19:749 (June 1993), amended LR 28:1468 
(June 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:130 (January 2015). 
§3705. Plan of Care 

A. - B. … 
C. When developing the plan of care (POC), the hospice 

provider must consult with, and collaborate with the 
recipient, his/her caregiver, and his/her long-term personal 
care services provider, and if the recipient is under age 21, 
his/her extended home nursing provider and/or pediatric day 
health care provider. If the recipient is receiving any of these 
services at the time of admission to hospice, the hospice 
provider must ensure that the POC clearly and specifically 
details the services and tasks, along with the frequency, to be 
performed by the non-hospice provider(s), as well as the

services and tasks, along with the frequency, that are to be 
performed by the hospice provider to ensure that services are 
non-duplicative and that the recipient’s needs are being met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1468 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:131 (January 2015). 
Chapter 39. Covered Services 
§3901. Medical and Support Services 

A. - A.11.b.iv. … 
c. Inpatient Respite Care Day. An inpatient respite 

care day is a day on which the individual receives care in an 
approved facility on a short-term basis, not to exceed five 
days in any one election period, to relieve the family 
members or other persons caring for the individual at home. 
An approved facility is one that meets the standards as 
provided in 42 CFR §418.98(b). This service cannot be 
delivered to individuals already residing in a nursing facility. 

d. General Inpatient Care Day. A general inpatient 
care day is a day on which an individual receives general 
inpatient care in an inpatient facility that meets the standards 
as provided in 42 CFR §418.98(a) and for the purpose of 
pain control or acute or chronic symptom management 
which cannot be managed in other settings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1468 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:131 (January 2015). 
Chapter 41. Prior Authorization  
§4101. Prior Authorization of Hospice Services 

A. Prior authorization is required for all election periods 
as specified in §3501.C of this Subpart. The prognosis of 
terminal illness will be reviewed. A patient must have a 
terminal prognosis and not just certification of terminal 
illness. Authorization will be made on the basis that a patient 
is terminally ill as defined in federal regulations. These 
regulations require certification of the patient’s prognosis, 
rather than diagnosis. Authorization will be based on 
objective clinical evidence contained in the clinical record 
which supports the medical prognosis that the patient’s life 
expectancy is six months or less if the illness runs its normal 
course and not simply on the patient’s diagnosis.  

1. The Medicare criteria found in local coverage 
determination (LCD) hospice determining terminal status 
(L32015) will be used in analyzing information provided by 
the hospice to determine if the patient meets clinical 
requirements for this program. 

2. Providers shall submit the appropriate forms and 
documentation required for prior authorization of hospice 
services as designated by the department in the Medicaid 
Program’s service and provider manuals, memorandums, etc.  

B. Written Notice of Denial. In the case of a denial, a 
written notice of denial shall be submitted to the hospice 
recipient, recipient’s legal representative, and nursing 
facility, if appropriate. 
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C. Reconsideration. Claims will only be paid from the 
date of the hospice notice of election if the prior 
authorization request is received within 10 days from the 
date of election and is approved. If the prior authorization 
request is received 10 days or more after the date on the 
hospice notice of election, the approved begin date for 
hospice services is the date the completed prior authorization 
packet is received. 

D. Appeals. If the recipient does not agree with the 
denial of a hospice prior authorization request, the recipient, 
the recipient’s legal representative, or the hospice on behalf 
of the recipient, can request an appeal of the prior 
authorization decision. The appeal request must be filed with 
the Division of Administrative Law within 30 days from the 
date of the postmark on the denial letter. The appeal 
proceedings will be conducted in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:131 (January 2015). 
Chapter 43. Reimbursement 
§4303. Levels of Care for Payment 

A. - B.3. … 
C. Inpatient Respite Care. The inpatient respite care rate 

is paid for each day the recipient is in an approved inpatient 
facility and is receiving respite care (see §3901.A.11.c). 
Respite care may be provided only on an occasional basis 
and payment for respite care may be made for a maximum of 
five days at a time including the date of admission but not 
counting the date of discharge. Payment for the day of 
discharge in a respite setting shall be at the routine home 
level-of-care discharged alive rate.  

1. … 
2. Respite care may not be provided when the hospice 

patient is a nursing home resident, regardless of the setting, 
i.e., long-term acute care setting. 

D. General Inpatient Care. Payment at the inpatient rate 
is made when an individual receives general inpatient care in 
an inpatient facility for pain control or acute or chronic 
symptom management which cannot be managed in other 
settings. General inpatient care is a short-term level of care 
and is not intended to be a permanent solution to a negligent 
or absent caregiver. A lower level of care must be used once 
symptoms are under control. General inpatient care and 
nursing facility or intermediate care facility for persons with 
intellectual disabilities room and board cannot be reimbursed 
for the same recipient on the same covered days of service. 
Payment for the day of discharge in a general inpatient 
setting shall be at the routine home level-of-care discharged 
alive rate. 

1. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:132 (January 2015). 
§4305. Hospice Payment Rates 

A. - A.2. … 
a. The hospice is paid for other physicians' services, 

such as direct patient care services, furnished to individual 
patients by hospice employees and for physician services 
furnished under arrangements made by the hospice unless 
the patient care services were furnished on a volunteer basis. 
The physician visit for the face-to-face encounter will not be 
reimbursed by the Medicaid Program.  

b. - d.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1470 (June 2002), LR 34:441 (March 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 41:132 (January 2015). 
§4307. Payment for Long Term Care Residents 

A. … 
1. who is residing in a nursing facility or intermediate 

care facility for persons with intellectual disabilities 
(ICF/ID); 

2. who would be eligible under the state plan for 
nursing facility services or ICF/ID services if he or she had 
not elected to receive hospice care; 

3. … 
4. for whom the hospice agency and the nursing 

facility or ICF/ID have entered into a written agreement in 
accordance with the provisions set forth in the licensing 
standards for hospice agencies (LAC 48:I.Chapter 82), under 
which the hospice agency takes full responsibility for the 
professional management of the individual’s hospice care 
and the facility agrees to provide room and board to the 
individual. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 19:749 (June 1993), amended LR 28:1471 
(June 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1894 (September 
2009), LR 41:132 (January 2015). 
§4309. Limitation on Payments for Inpatient Care 

A. … 
1. During the 12-month period beginning November 1 

of each year and ending October 31, the number of inpatient 
days for any one hospice recipient may not exceed five days 
per occurrence. 

2. - 2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1472 (June 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41:132 (January 2015). 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#063 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments 
(LAC 50:V.953) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:V.953 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX. This Rule is promulgated 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - S. ... 
T. Effective for dates of service on or after November 

20, 2013, supplemental payments to non-rural, non-state 
acute care hospitals that qualify as a high Medicaid hospital 
shall be annual. The amount appropriated for annual 
supplemental payments shall be reduced to $1,000,000. Each 
qualifying hospital’s annual supplemental payment shall be 
calculated based on the pro rata share of the reduced 
appropriation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), LR 35:1896 (September 2009), repromulgated LR 35:2182 
(October 2009), amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2561 
(November 2010), LR 39:3095 (November 2013), LR 39:3297 
(December 2013), LR 40:312 (February 2014), LR 41:133 (January 
2015). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#064 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Leave of Absence Days 

Reimbursement Reduction 
(LAC 50:II.20021) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20021 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20021. Leave of Absence Days 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1321] 
A. - E. ... 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2013, 

the reimbursement paid for leave of absence days shall be 10 
percent of the applicable per diem rate in addition to the 
provider fee amount.  

1. The provider fee amount shall be excluded from the 
calculations when determining the leave of absence days 
payment amount.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1899 (September 2009), amended LR 41:133 (January 2015). 

  
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#065 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pediatric Day Health Care Program 
(LAC 48:I.Chapters 52 and 125 and LAC 50:XV.27503) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 48:I.5237, 
§5247, §5257, §12501-12503, adopted §12508, and 
amended LAC 50:XV.27503 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
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Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 52. Pediatric Day Health Care Facilities 
Subchapter D. Participation Requirements 
§5237. Acceptance Criteria 

A. - D.1. … 
2. The medical director of the PDHC facility may 

provide the referral to the facility only if he/she is the child’s 
prescribing physician, and only if the medical director has 
no ownership interest in the PDHC facility. 

3. No member of the board of directors of the PDHC 
facility may provide a referral to the PDHC. No member of 
the board of directors of the PDHC facility may sign a 
prescription as the prescribing physician for a child to 
participate in the PDHC facility services. 

4. No physician with ownership interest in the PDHC 
may provide a referral to the PDHC. No physician with 
ownership interest in the PDHC may sign a prescription as 
the prescribing physician for a child to participate in the 
PDHC facility services. 

5. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary, providers 
are expected to comply with all applicable federal and state 
rules and regulations including those regarding anti-referral 
and the Stark Law. 

E. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2193-40:2193.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:2768 (December 2009), amended LR 41:134 (January 2015). 
Subchapter E. Pediatric Day Health Care Services 
§5247. Developmental and Educational Services 

A. … 
B. For any child enrolled in the early intervention 

program (EarlySteps) or the local school district’s program 
under the Individuals with Disabilities Act, the PDHC 
facility shall adhere to the following. 

1. …  
2. The PDHC facility shall not duplicate services 

already provided through the early intervention program or 
the local school district. EarlySteps services cannot be 
provided in the PDHC unless specifically approved in 
writing by the DHH EarlySteps Program. Medicaid waiver 
services cannot be provided in the PDHC unless specifically 
approved in writing by the Medicaid waiver program. The 
PDHC shall maintain a copy of such written approval in the 
child’s medical record. 

B.3. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2193-40:2193.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:2770 (December 2009), amended LR 41:134 (January 2015). 
§5257. Transportation 

A. The PDHC facility shall provide or arrange 
transportation of children to and from the facility; however, 
no child, regardless of his/her region of origin, may be in 
transport for more than one hour on any single trip. The 
PDHC facility is responsible for the safety of the children 
during transport. The family may choose to provide their 
own transportation.  

1. - 1.b. Repealed. 
B. Whether transportation is provided by the facility on a 

daily basis or as needed, the general regulations under this 
Section shall apply. 

C. If the PDHC facility provides transportation for 
children, the PDHC facility shall maintain in force at all 
times current commercial liability insurance for the 
operation of PDHC facility vehicles, including medical 
coverage for children in the event of accident or injury. 

1. This policy shall extend coverage to any staff 
member who provides transportation for any child in the 
course and scope of his/her employment. 

2. The PDHC facility shall maintain documentation 
that consists of the insurance policy or current binder that 
includes the name of the PDHC facility, the name of the 
insurance company, policy number, and period of coverage 
and explanation of coverage. 

3. DHH Health Standards shall specifically be 
identified as the certificate holder on the policy and any 
certificate of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the 
insurer or producer (agent). The policy must have a 
cancellation/change statement requiring notification of the 
certificate holder 30 days prior to any cancellation or change 
of coverage. 

D. If the PDHC facility arranges transportation for 
children through a transportation agency, the facility shall 
maintain a written contract which is signed by a facility 
representation and a representative of the transportation 
agency. The contract shall outline the circumstances under 
which transportation will be provided. 

1. The written contract shall be dated and time limited 
and shall conform to these licensing regulations.  

2. The transportation agency shall maintain in force at 
all times current commercial liability insurance for the 
operation of transportation vehicles, including medical 
coverage for children in the event of accident or injury. 
Documentation of the insurance shall consist of the: 

a. insurance policy or current binder that includes 
the name of the transportation agency; 

b. name of the insurance agency; 
c. policy number; 
d. period of coverage; and  
e. explanation of coverage.  

3. DHH Health Standards shall specifically be 
identified as the certificate holder on the policy and any 
certificate of insurance issued as proof of insurance by the 
insurer or producer (agent). The policy must have a 
cancellation/change statement requiring notification of the 
certificate holder 30 days prior to any cancellation or change 
of coverage.  

4. - 10. Repealed. 
E. Transportation arrangements, whether provided by the 

PDHC facility directly or arranged by the PDHC facility 
through a written contract with a transportation agency shall 
meet the following requirements.  

1. Transportation agreements shall conform to state 
laws, including laws governing the use of seat belts and 
child restraints. Vehicles shall be accessible for people with 
disabilities or so equipped to meet the needs of the children 
served by the PDHC facility.  

2. The driver or attendant shall not leave the child 
unattended in the vehicle at any time. 
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2.a. - 6.  Repealed. 
F. Vehicle and Driver Requirements 

1. The requirements of Subsection F of this Section 
shall apply to all transportation arrangements, whether 
provided by the PDHC facility directly or arranged by the 
PDHC facility through a written contract with a 
transportation agency. 

2. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair with 
evidence of an annual safety inspection. 

3. The following actions shall be prohibited in any 
vehicle while transporting children: 

a. the use of tobacco in any form; 
b. the use of alcohol; 
c. the possession of illegal substances; and 
d. the possession of firearms, pellet guns, or BB 

guns (whether loaded or unloaded). 
4. The number of persons in a vehicle used to 

transport children shall not exceed the manufacturer’s 
recommended capacity. 

5. The facility shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana driver’s license for all individuals who 
drive vehicles used to transport children on behalf of the 
PDHC facility. At a minimum, a class “D” chauffeur’s 
license is required for all drivers who transport children on 
behalf of the PDHC facility. 

6. Each transportation vehicle shall have evidence of a 
current safety inspection. 

7. There shall be first aid supplies in each facility or 
contracted vehicle. This shall include oxygen, pulse 
oximeter, and suction equipment. Additionally, this shall 
include airway management equipment and supplies 
required to meet the needs of the children being transported. 

8. Each driver or attendant shall be provided with a 
current master transportation list including: 

a. each child’s name; 
b. pick up and drop off locations; and 
c. authorized persons to whom the child may be 

released. 
 i. Documentation shall be maintained on file at 
the PDHC facility whether transportation is provided by the 
facility or contracted. 

9. The driver or attendant shall maintain an attendance 
record for each trip. The record shall include: 

a. the driver’s name; 
b. the date of the trip; 
c. names of all passengers (children and adults) in 

the vehicle; and  
d. the name of the person to whom the child was 

released and the time of release. 
10. There shall be information in each vehicle 

identifying the name of the administrator and the name, 
telephone number, and address of the facility for emergency 
situations. 

G. Child Safety Provisions 
1. The requirements of Subsection G of this Section 

shall apply to all transportation arrangements, whether 
provided by the PDHC facility directly or arranged by the 
PDHC facility through a written contract with a 
transportation agency. 

2. The driver and one appropriately trained staff 
member shall be required at all times in each vehicle when 
transporting any child. Staff shall be appropriately trained on 

the needs of each child, and shall be capable and responsible 
for administering interventions when appropriate.  

3. Each child shall be safely and properly: 
a. assisted into the vehicle; 
b. restrained in the vehicle; 
c. transported in the vehicle; and 
d. assisted out of the vehicle. 

4. Only one child shall be restrained in a single safety 
belt or secured in any American Academy of Pediatrics 
recommended age appropriate safety seat. 

5. The driver or appropriate staff person shall check 
the vehicle at the completion of each trip to ensure that no 
child is left in the vehicle. 

a. The PDHC facility shall maintain documentation 
that includes the signature of the person conducting the 
check and the time the vehicle is checked. Documentation 
shall be maintained on file at the PDHC facility whether 
transportation is provided by the facility or contracted. 

6. During field trips, the driver or staff member shall 
check the vehicle and account for each child upon arrival at, 
and departure from, each destination to ensure that no child 
is left in the vehicle or at any destination. 

a. The PDHC facility shall maintain documentation 
that includes the signature of the person conducting the 
check and the time the vehicle was checked for each loading 
and unloading of children during the field trip. 
Documentation shall be maintained on file at the PDHC 
facility whether transportation is provided by the facility or 
contracted. 

7. Appropriate staff person(s) shall be present when 
each child is delivered to the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2193-40:2193.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:2771 (December 2009), amended LR 41:134 (January 2015). 

Subpart 5.  Health Planning 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§12501. Definitions 

A. Definitions. When used in this Chapter the following 
terms and phrases shall have the following meanings unless 
the context requires otherwise. 

* * * 
Pediatric Day Health Care (PDHC) Providers—a 

facility that may operate seven days a week, not to exceed 
12 hours a day, to provide care for medically fragile children 
under the age of 21, including technology dependent 
children who require close supervision. Care and services to 
be provided by the pediatric day health care facility shall 
include, but not be limited to: 

a. nursing care, including, but not limited to: 
 i. tracheotomy and suctioning care; 
 ii. medication management; and 
 iii. intravenous (IV) therapy; 

b. respiratory care; 
c. physical, speech, and occupational therapies; 
d. assistance with activities of daily living; 
e. transportation services; and 
f. education and training. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:806 (August 1995), amended LR 
25:1250 (July 1999), LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1023 
(May 2004), LR 32:845 (May 2006), LR 34:2611 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:2437 (November 
2009), LR 36:323 (February 2010), LR 38:1961 (August 2012), LR 
41:135 (January 2015). 
§12503. General Information 

A. - B. … 
C. The department will also conduct a FNR for the 

following provider types to determine if there is a need to 
license additional units, providers or facilities: 

1. - 3. … 
4. hospice providers or inpatient hospice facilities;  
5. outpatient abortion facilities; and 
6. pediatric day health care facilities. 

D. - F.4. … 
G. Additional Grandfather Provision. An approval shall 

be deemed to have been granted under FNR without review 
for HCBS providers, ICFs-DD, ADHC providers, hospice 
providers, outpatient abortion facilities, and pediatric day 
health care centers that meet one of the following conditions: 

1. - 3. … 
4. hospice providers that were licensed, or had a 

completed initial licensing application submitted to the 
department, by March 20, 2012;  

5. outpatient abortion facilities which were licensed 
by the department on or before May 20, 2012; or 

6. pediatric day health care providers that were 
licensed by the department before March 1, 2014, or an 
entity that meets all of the following requirements: 

a. has a building site or plan review approval for a 
PDHC facility from the Office of State Fire Marshal by 
March 1, 2014; 

b. has begun construction on the PDHC facility by 
April 30, 2014, as verified by a notarized affidavit from a 
licensed architect submitted to the department, or the entity 
had a fully executed and recorded lease for a facility for the 
specific use as a PDHC facility by April 30, 2014, as verified 
by a copy of a lease agreement submitted to the department; 

c. submits a letter of intent to the department’s 
Health Standards Section by April 30, 2014, informing the 
department of its intent to operate a PDHC facility; and 

d. becomes licensed as a PDHC by the department 
no later than December 31, 2014. 

H. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 28:2190 (October 2002), LR 30:1483 (July 
2004), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 34:2612 (December 
2008), LR 35:2437 (November 2009), LR 36:323 (February 2010), 
LR 38:1593 (July 2012), LR 38:1961 (August 2012), LR 41:136 
(January 2015). 
Subchapter B. Determination of Bed, Unit, Facility or 

Agency Need 
§12508. Pediatric Day Health Care Providers 

A. No PDHC provider shall be licensed to operate unless 
the FNR Program has granted an approval for the issuance 
of a PDHC provider license. Once the FNR Program 

approval is granted, a PDHC provider is eligible to be 
licensed by the department, subject to meeting all of the 
requirements for licensure. 

B. For purposes of facility need review, the service area 
for a proposed PDHC shall be within a 30 mile radius of the 
proposed physical address where the provider will be 
licensed. 

C. Determination of Need/Approval 
1. The department will review the application to 

determine if there is a need for an additional PDHC provider 
in the geographic location and service area for which the 
application is submitted. 

2. The department shall grant FNR approval only if 
the FNR application, the data contained in the application, 
and other evidence effectively establishes the probability of 
serious, adverse consequences to recipients’ ability to access 
health care if the provider is not allowed to be licensed. 

3. In reviewing the application, the department may 
consider, but is not limited to, evidence showing: 

a. the number of other PDHC providers in the same 
geographic location, region, and service area servicing the 
same population; and  

b. allegations involving issues of access to health 
care and services. 

4. The burden is on the applicant to provide data and 
evidence to effectively establish the probability of serious, 
adverse consequences to recipients’ ability to access health 
care if the provider is not allowed to be licensed. The 
department shall not grant any FNR approvals if the 
application fails to provide such data and evidence. 

D. Applications for approvals of licensed providers 
submitted under these provisions are bound to the 
description in the application with regard to the type of 
services proposed as well as to the site and location as 
defined in the application. FNR approval of licensed 
providers shall expire if these aspects of the application are 
altered or changed. 

E. FNR approvals for licensed providers are non-
transferable and are limited to the location and the name of 
the original licensee. 

1. A PDHC provider undergoing a change of location 
in the same licensed service area shall submit a written 
attestation of the change of location and the department shall 
re-issue the FNR approval with the name and new location. 
A PDHC provider undergoing a change of location outside 
of the licensed service area shall submit a new FNR 
application and appropriate fee and undergo the FNR 
approval process. 

2. A PDHC provider undergoing a change of 
ownership shall submit a new application to the 
department’s FNR Program. FNR approval for the new 
owner shall be granted upon submission of the new 
application and proof of the change of ownership, which 
must show the seller’s or transferor’s intent to relinquish the 
FNR approval. 

3. FNR approval of a licensed provider shall 
automatically expire if the provider is moved or transferred 
to another party, entity or location without application to and 
approval by the FNR program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2116. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
41:136 (January 2015). 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 19.  Pediatric Day Health Care Program 

Chapter 275. General Provisions 
§27503. Recipient Criteria 

A. In order to qualify for PDHC services, a Medicaid 
recipient must meet the following criteria. The recipient 
must:  

1. ... 
2. require ongoing skilled medical care or skilled 

nursing care by a knowledgeable and experienced licensed 
professional registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical 
nurse (LPN);  

3. have a medically complex condition(s) which 
require frequent, specialized therapeutic interventions and 
close nursing supervision. Interventions are those medically 
necessary procedures provided to sustain and maintain 
health and life. Interventions required and performed by 
individuals other than the recipient’s personal care giver 
would require the skilled care provided by professionals at 
PDHC centers. Examples of medically necessary 
interventions include, but are not limited to: 

a. suctioning using sterile technique; 
b. provision of care to a ventilator dependent and/or 

oxygen dependent recipients to maintain patent airway and 
adequate oxygen saturation, inclusive of physician 
consultation as needed; 

c. monitoring of blood pressure and/or pulse 
oximetry level in order to maintain stable health condition 
and provide medical provisions through physician 
consultation; 

d. maintenance and interventions for technology 
dependent recipients who require life-sustaining equipment; 
or 

e. complex medication regimen involving, and not 
limited to, frequent change in dose, route, and frequency of 
multiple medications, to maintain or improve the recipient’s 
health status, prevent serious deterioration of health status 
and/or prevent medical complications that may jeopardize 
life, health or development;  

4. have a medically fragile condition, defined as a 
medically complex condition characterized by multiple, 
significant medical problems that require extended care. 
Medically fragile individuals are medically complex and 
potentially dependent upon medical devices, experienced 
medical supervision, and/or medical interventions to sustain 
life; 

a. medically complex may be considered as 
chronic, debilitating diseases or conditions, involving one or 
more physiological or organ systems, requiring skilled 
medical care, professional observation or medical 
intervention; 

b. examples of medically fragile conditions include, 
but are not limited to:  
 i. severe lung disease requiring oxygen; 
 ii. severe lung disease requiring ventilator or 
tracheotomy care;  

 iii. complicated heart disease;  
 iv. complicated neuromuscular disease; and 
 v. unstable central nervous system disease;  

5. have a signed physician’s order, not to exceed 180 
days, for pediatric day health care by the recipient’s 
physician specifying the frequency and duration of services; 
and 

6. be stable for outpatient medical services. 
B. If the medical director of the PDHC facility is also the 

child’s prescribing physician, the department reserves the 
right to review the prescription for the recommendation of 
the child’s participation in the PDHC Program. 

1. - 1.j. Repealed. 
C. Re-evaluation of PDHC services must be performed, 

at a minimum, every 120 days. This evaluation must include 
a review of the recipient’s current medical plan of care and 
provider agency documented current assessment and 
progress toward goals. 

D.  A face-to-face evaluation shall be held every four 
months by the child’s prescribing physician. Services shall 
be revised during evaluation periods to reflect accurate and 
appropriate provision of services for current medical status. 

E. Physician’s orders for services are required to 
individually meet the needs of each recipient and shall not 
be in excess of the recipient’s needs. Physician orders 
prescribing or recommending PDHC services do not, in 
themselves, indicate services are medically necessary or 
indicate a necessity for a covered service. Eligibility for 
participation in the PDHC Program must also include 
meeting the medically complex provisions of this Section. 

F. When determining the necessity for PDHC services, 
consideration shall be given to all of the services the 
recipient may be receiving, including waiver services and 
other community supports and services. This consideration 
must be reflected and documented in the recipient’s 
treatment plan.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1557 
(July 2010), amended LR 41:137 (January 2015). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#066 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Emergency Response Network 

Trauma Protocols, Stroke Protocols and STEMI Protocols 
(LAC 48:I.Chapters 191, 193 and 195) 

The Louisiana Emergency Response Network Board has 
exercised the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, and codifies in LAC
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48:I.Chapters 191, 193 and 195, all protocols heretofore 
adopted and promulgated by the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board for the transport of trauma and 
time sensitive ill patients, adopted as authorized by R.S. 
9:2798.5. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 15.  Louisiana Emergency  
Response Network Board 

Chapter 191. Trauma Protocols 
§19101. Entry Criteria and Region 4 LERN LCC 

Destination Protocol 
A. On November 15, 2007, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] adopted and 
promulgated “LERN Entry Criteria” and "LERN Region 4 
LCC Destination Protocol" for region 4 of the Louisiana 
Emergency Response Network (R.S. 40:2842(3)), which 
region includes the parishes of Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, 
Lafayette, St. Martin, St. Landry, and Vermilion, as follows. 

1. LERN Entry Criteria 
 

LERN Entry Criteria 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

YES Call 
LCC 

Neurologic Trauma 
� GCS <14 + one or more of the following: 

� Penetrating head injury or depressed 
skull fracture 

� Open head injury with or without CSF 
leak 

� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-

sided weakness, motor, or sensory 
deficit) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Physiologic 
� SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and > 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, 

lateral deviation of foot) 
� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 

elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits 
distal to fracture, etc.) 

YES Call 
LCC 

LERN Entry Criteria 
Mechanism 
� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 

> 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

Intrusion > 12 in. occupant site: 
>20 in. any site 

� Ejection, partial or complete from 
automobile 

� Death in same passenger compartment 
� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run 

over or >5 MPH impact 
� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES Call 
LCC 

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES Call 

LCC 
Other 
� Age ≥55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES Call 
LCC 

 
2. LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol 
 

LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

YES Closest 
ED 

NO 
       

Neurologic Trauma 
� GCS <14 + one or more of the following: 

� Penetrating head injury or depressed 
skull fracture 

� Open head injury with or without CSF 
leak 

� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-

sided weakness, motor, or sensory 
deficit) 

YES LERN 
Level II 

NO 
       

Physiologic 
� SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and ≥ 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES 
LERN 

Level II 
or III 

NO 
       

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, 

lateral deviation of foot) 
� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 

elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits 
distal to fracture, etc.) 

YES 
LERN 

Level II 
or III 
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LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol 
       

Mechanism 
� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 

> 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 
� Intrusion > 12 in. occupant site: 

>20 in. any site 
� Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
� Death in same passenger compartment 
� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run 

over or >5 MPH impact 
� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES 
LERN 

Level II 
or III 

NO 
       

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES LERN  

NO 
       

Other 
� Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES 
LERN 

Level II, 
III or IV 

 
B. On June 26, 2008, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board passed a resolution allowing any 
region of the Louisiana Emergency Response Network 
which agreed to use the foregoing "LERN Entry Criteria" 
and "LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol" to begin 
operating using the "LERN Entry Criteria" and "LERN 
Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol" set forth above. 

C. This protocol was published at LR 35:1181-1183 
(June 20, 2009). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:138 
(January 2015). 
§19103. Region 7 LERN Entry and Destination Protocols 

A. On November 15, 2007, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] adopted and 
promulgated "Region 7 LERN Entry and Destination 
Protocol" for region 7 of the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network [R.S. 40:2842(3)], which region includes the 
parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, 
Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine and Webster, as follows. 

1.a. Traumatic patients who meet the following criteria 
will be entered to LERN call center and should be 
transported directly to LSUHSC in Shreveport, Louisiana, if 
possible: 
 i. airway compromise (intubated, apneic, or 
obstructed airway); 
 ii. penetrating wound of head, neck, chest, 
abdomen, groin, or buttocks; 
 iii. blood pressure ≤ 100 or signs of shock; 
 iv. GCS 12 or less; 
 v. new onset neurological deficit associated with 
traumatic event; 
 vi. extremity wound with absent pulse or 
amputation proximal to foot or hand. 

b. Trauma patients who meet the following criteria, 
and are located outside the city limits of Shreveport and 
Bossier City, should be taken to nearest hospital for 

immediate stabilization followed by continued rapid 
transport to LSUHSC Shreveport per the LERN hospital 
protocol: 
 i. unable to establish and maintain adequate 
airway/ventilation; 
 ii. hypotension unresponsive to crystalloids (no 
more than 2 L); 
 iii. patients who meet trauma center criteria but 
have a transport time > 60 minutes; 
 iv. traumatic arrest. 

B. On May 8, 2008, the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network Board (R.S. 40:2842(1)) amended and 
promulgated, as amended, "Region 7 LERN Entry and 
Destination Protocol" for region 7 of the Louisiana 
Emergency Response Network (R.S. 40:2842(3)), which 
region includes the parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, 
Claiborne, DeSoto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine and 
Webster, which protocol was originally adopted and 
promulgated on November 15, 2007, so that the "Region 7 
Louisiana Emergency Response Network Entry and 
Destination Protocol," as amended, effective May 8, 2008, is 
as follows. 

1.a. Traumatic patients who meet the following criteria 
will be entered to LERN call center and should be 
transported directly to LSUHSC in Shreveport, if possible: 
 i. airway compromise (intubated, apneic, or 
obstructed airway); 
 ii. penetrating wound of head, neck, chest, 
abdomen, groin, or buttocks; 
 iii. blood pressure ≤ 100 or signs of shock; 
 iv. GCS 12 or less; 
 v. new onset neurological deficit associated with 
traumatic event; 
 vi. extremity wound with absent pulse or 
amputation proximal to foot or hand; 
 vii. burn patients as identified following ABA 
guidelines; 
 viii. healthcare provider discretionpatients 
evaluated by hospitals may be entered into LERN if the 
evaluating hospitals medical personnel determines the 
patient has a medical condition requiring immediate surgical 
evaluation and/or intervention and the transferring hospital 
does not have these services immediately available at that 
facility (Healthcare provider discretion does not include 
orthopedic injuries.). 

b. Patients that have been entered into LERN but 
will require greater than 60 minute transport time from the 
field should stop at local area hospitals for stabilization. 
These patients should still be entered into LERN from the 
field but will require transport to local area hospitals for 
stabilization. LERN will facilitate the movement of these 
patients from the local hospital once stabilizing measures are 
completed. 
 i. The following are conditions requiring 
immediate stabilization by local area hospitals: 

(a). unable to establish and maintain adequate 
airway/ventilation; 

(b). hypotension unresponsive to crystalloids (no 
more than 2 L); 

(c). patients who meet trauma center criteria but 
have a transport time > 60 minutes; 

(d). traumatic arrest. 
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C. The following will be routed directly to the LSUHSC 
Burn Unit from local area hospitals or from the field: 

1. partial-thickness and full thickness burns greater 
than 10 percent of the total body surface area (TBSA) in 
patients younger than 10 years of age or older than 50 years 
of age; 

2. partial-thickness and full thickness burns greater 
than 20 percent of the total body surface area (TBSA) in 
other age groups; 

3. partial-thickness and full thickness burns involving 
the face, eyes, ears, hands, feet, genitalia, perineum, or skin 
overlying major joints; 

4. full-thickness burns greater than 5 percent TBSA in 
any age group; 

5. electrical burns, including lightning injury; 
6. chemical burns; 
7. patients with inhalation injury; 
8. burn injury in patients with pre-existing illnesses 

that could complicate management, prolong recovery, or 
adversely affect mortality risk; 

9. any burn patient in whom concomitant trauma 
poses an increased risk of morbidity or mortality may be 
treated initially in a trauma center until stable before transfer 
to a burn center; 

10. children with burns seen in hospitals without 
qualified personnel or equipment for their care; 

11. burn injury in patients who will require special 
social and emotional or long-term rehabilitative support, 
including cases involving suspected child abuse or neglect. 

D. These protocols were published at LR 35:1183-1184 
(June 20, 2009). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:139 
(January 2015). 
§19105. Standard LERN Entry Criteria; Standard 

Destination Protocol 
A. On June 18, 2009, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board (R.S. 40:2842(1)) adopted and 
promulgated "Standard LERN Entry Criteria" and "Standard 
Destination Protocol" for use in all regions, except region 7, 
of the Louisiana Emergency Response Network (R.S. 
40:2842(3)), replacing the “LERN Entry Criteria” and 
"LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol," adopted and 
promulgated November 15, 2007, as follows. 

1. Standard LERN Entry CriteriaPre-Hospital and 
Hospital Triage Protocol 

 
Standard LERN Entry Criteria 

Pre-Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

YES Call 
LCC 

Neurologic Trauma 
� GCS <14 + one or more of the following: 

� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull 
fracture 

� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Standard LERN Entry Criteria 
Pre-Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol 

Physiologic 
� SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and > 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 

deviation of foot) 
� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 

elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal 
to fracture, etc.) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Mechanism 
� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 

> 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

Intrusion > 12 in, occupant site: 
>18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
 Death in same passenger 

compartment 
� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 

significant (>20 MPH) impact 
� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES Call 
LCC 

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES Call 

LCC 
Other 
� Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES Call 
LCC 

 
2. Standard Destination Protocol 
 

Standard Destination Protocol 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

YES Closest 
ED 

NO 
   

Neurologic Trauma 
� GCS <14 
� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull 

fracture 
� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis 

(i.e., one-sided weakness, motor, or sensory 
deficit) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I 

or II 

NO 
   

Physiologic 
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Standard Destination Protocol 
� SBP <90 (adults and >9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and >9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I, 
II or III 

NO 
   

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 

deviation of foot) 
� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 

elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal 
to fracture, etc.) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I, 
II or III 

NO 
   

Mechanism 
� Falls >20 ft. (adults) 

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

 Intrusion >12 in. occupant site: 
 >18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
 Death in same passenger compartment 

� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 
significant (>20 MPH) impact 

� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES 
LERN 
Level 

II or III 

NO 
   

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES 

LERN 
Level 

II or III 
NO 
   

Other 
� Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES 

LERN 
Level 
II, III 
or IV 

 
B. These protocols were published at LR 35:1409 (July 

20, 2009). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:140 
(January 2015). 
§19107. Interregional Transfer Protocol 

A. On June 18, 2009, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] adopted and 
promulgated “Interregional Transfer Protocol” for the 
Louisiana Emergency Response Network [R.S. 40:2842(3)], 
as follows. 

1. The LERN interregional transfer protocol only 
applies to those regions and (hospitals/EMS) that are 
participating in the LERN network. 

2. The interregional transfer protocol will be tested 
over a 90 day period. At the end of the 90 days all 
interregional transfers will be reviewed for compliance with 
protocols, quality, patient safety and standards of care. This 
information will be shared with commissions of the regions 
participating as well as the LERN board and the “design the 
system group”. Decisions regarding the interregional transfer 
protocol will be made at the end of the 90 days trial period. 

3. Interregional Transfer Protocol 
a. All patients whose condition exceeds the 

regionally available resources provided by local area 
hospitals may be transferred from one region to another 
following LERN interregional transfer protocol. Destination 
to the definitive care hospital in the receiving region will 
follow the LERN standard protocol (all laws regarding 
EMTALA apply). 

b. Only regions operating with the LERN standard 
protocol will be involved in the LERN interregional transfer 
protocol. 

c. Patients being transferred via the LERN 
interregional transfer protocol must: 
 i. be assessed at a local area hospital for 
treatment and stabilized by a physician and meet the entry 
criteria as determined by LERN standard protocol; 
 ii. treating physician will call LERN to request a 
transfer to another hospital; 
 iii. LCC (LERN call center) will determine the 
closest and most appropriate facility available following 
LERN standard protocol; 
 iv. if there are no available resources in the region 
then the LCC will locate an appropriate facility outside the 
region, and an interregional transfer will be considered. (All 
LERN interregional transfers will be reviewed by LERN 
medical directors and data will be collected for QI/PI.) 

d. Exceptions 
 i. EMS requesting LERN for patients located on 
or close to borders between two regions will and can be 
directed to either region based on the patient needs and 
available resources. 
 ii. Air-med at the scene that is able to mitigate the 
time of transfer of long distances will and can be directed to 
hospitals outside the region they originate from based on 
patients needs and available resources. 
 iii. LERN medical directors will be involved in the 
decision making (real time) in all patients that fall into the 
exception category. 

B. On August 20, 2009, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] adopted and 
promulgated the amended “Interregional Transfer Protocol” 
for the Louisiana Emergency Response Network [R.S. 
40:2842(3)], as follows. 

1. The LERN interregional transfer protocol only 
applies to those regions, hospitals and pre-hospital providers 
that are participating in the LERN network. 

2. The interregional transfer protocol will be tested 
over a 90 day period, at the end of which all interregional 
transfers will be reviewed for compliance with protocols, 
quality, patient safety and standards of care. This 
information will be shared with regional commissions, 
LERN Board, and LERN design the system work group. 
Decisions regarding the Interregional Transfer Protocol will 
be made at the end of the 90-day trial period. 
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3. Interregional Transfer Protocol 
a. All patients whose conditions exceed the 

regionally available resources provided by local area 
hospitals may be transferred from one region to another 
following LERN interregional transfer protocol. Destination 
to the definitive care hospital in the receiving region will 
follow the LERN standard protocol. All laws regarding 
EMTALA apply. 

b. Only regions operating with the LERN standard 
protocol will be involved in the LERN interregional transfer 
protocol. 

c. Patients transferred via the LERN interregional 
transfer protocol must: 
 i. be assessed at a local area hospital for 
treatment, be stabilized by a physician, and meet the entry 
criteria as determined by LERN standard protocol; and 
 ii. have a treating physician call LERN to request 
a transfer to another hospital. 

d. The LERN call center (LCC) will determine the 
closest and most appropriate facility available following 
LERN standard protocol. 

e. If there are no available resources in the region, 
the LCC will locate an appropriate facility outside the 
region, and a interregional transfer will be considered. 

f. All LERN interregional transfers will be 
reviewed by LERN medical directors and data will be 
collected for QI/PI. 

g. Exceptions 
 i. Pre-hospital providers requesting LERN for 
patients located on or close to borders between regions will 
and can be directed to either region based on the patient 
needs and available resources. 
 ii. Air-med at the scene able to mitigate the time 
of transfer of long distances will and can be directed to 
hospitals outside the region they originate from, based on 
patient needs and available resources. 
 iii. LERN medical directors will be involved in the 
decision making for all patients in the exception category. 

C. These protocols were published at LR 35:2109-2110 
(September 20, 2009). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:141 
(January 2015). 
§19109. Standard LERN Entry and Destination Criteria 

A. On October 21, 2010, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] revised, adopted 
and promulgated “Standard LERN Entry Criteria” and 
“Standard Destination Protocol” for use in all regions, 
except region 7, of the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network [R.S. 40:2842(3)], replacing the “LERN Entry 
Criteria” and “LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol,” 
adopted and promulgated June 18, 2009, as follows. 

1. Standard LERN Entry CriteriaPre-Hospital and 
Hospital Triage Protocol 

 
Standard LERN Entry Criteria 

Pre-Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 

YES Call 
LCC 

Standard LERN Entry Criteria 
Pre-Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol 

� Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

Neurologic Trauma 
� GCS <14 + one or more of the following: 

� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull 
fracture 

� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Physiologic 
� SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and ≥ 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 

deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip 
fractures from same level falls 

� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 
elbow) 

� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal 
to fracture, etc.) 

YES Call 
LCC 

Mechanism 
� Falls >20 ft. (adults) 

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

Intrusion >12 in. occupant site: 
>18 in. any site 

 Ejection, partial or complete from 
automobile 

 Death in same passenger compartment 
� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 

significant (>20 MPH) impact 
� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES Call 
LCC 

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES Call 

LCC 
Other 
� Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES Call 
LCC 

 
2. Standard Destination Protocol 
 

Standard Destination Protocol 
� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

YES Closest 
ED 

NO 
   

Neurologic Trauma 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 1   January 20, 2015 143

Standard Destination Protocol 
� GCS <14 
� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull 

fracture 
� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I 

or II 

NO 
   

Physiologic 
� SBP <90 (adults and >9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

� RR <10 or >29 (adults and ≥9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I, 
II or III 

NO 
   

Anatomic 
� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, 

lateral deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip 
fractures from same level falls 

� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 
elbow) 

� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal 
to fracture, etc.) 

YES 
LERN 
Level I, 
II or III 

NO 
   

Mechanism 
� Falls >20 ft. (adults) 

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

 Intrusion >12 in. occupant site: 
 >18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
 Death in same passenger compartment 

� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over 
or significant (>20 MPH) impact 

� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES 
LERN 
Level 

II or III 

NO 
   

Special 
� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) YES 

LERN 
Level 

II or III 
NO 
   

Other 
� Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

YES 

LERN 
Level 
II, III 
or IV 

 
B. These protocols were published at LR 36:2743-2745 

(November 20, 2010).  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:142 
(January 2015). 

§19111. Interregional Transfer Protocol 
A. On January 20, 2011, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board (R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)) adopted 
and promulgated "LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer 
Guidelines” and “LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer 
Protocol", replacing "Interregional Transfer Protocol" 
adopted June 18, 2009, as follows. 

1. LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer Guidelines 
a. All patients whose conditions exceed the 

regionally available resources provided by local area 
hospitals may be transferred from one region to another 
following LERN interregional transfer protocol.  

b. The LERN hospital interregional transfer 
protocol only applies to hospitals that are participating in the 
LERN network.  

c. Regions or individual parishes that have MOU’s 
(which include medical control and destination guidelines), 
between an ACS verified level 1 trauma center and a local 
parish medical society(ies) will be incorporated into the 
LCC standard operating procedure for the effected region(s). 

2. LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer Protocol 
a. Patients transferred via the LERN hospital 

interregional transfer protocol must: 
 i. meet LERN standard entry criteria that requires 
resources and/or capabilities not available in that region;  
 ii. be assessed and stabilized to the best of their 
ability at a local area hospital prior to transport to the closest 
appropriate hospital; 
 iii. the treating physician/nurse must contact 
LERN to request a transfer. The LERN communications 
center (LCC) will determine the closest and most 
appropriate facility available following the LERN standard 
destination protocol. 

B. These guidelines and protocols were published at LR 
37:751 (February 20, 2011). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:143 
(January 2015). 
§19113. LERN Entry Criteria: Trauma; LERN 

Destination Protocol: Trauma 
A. On January 20, 2011, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted 
and promulgated "LERN ENTRY CRITERIA: Trauma; Pre-
Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol" and "LERN 
DESTINATION PROTOCOL: Trauma" replacing the 
"Standard LERN Entry Trauma Criteria" and "Standard 
LERN Entry Trauma Criteria Destination Protocol" adopted 
and promulgated January 20, 2011, as follows. 

1. LERN Entry Criteria: Trauma 
a. Pre-Hospital and Hospital Triage Protocol 
 

Call LERN Communications Center for: 
 Unmanageable Airway  
 Tension Pneumothorax  
 Traumatic cardiac arrest  
 Burn Patient without patent airway  
 Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 
Physiologic 
 GCS <14 
 SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months)  
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<60 (term neonate)  
 RR <10 or >29 (adults & ≥ 9 y/o) 

<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

Anatomic 
 Open or depressed skull fractures  
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak  
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided weakness, motor, or 

sensory deficit)  
 All penetrating injuries to head, neck, torso, and extremities proximal 

to elbow and knee 
 Flail Chest  
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures  
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity  
 Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle  
 Pelvic Fractures  
 Hip Fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral deviation of foot) 

excluding isolated hip fractures from same level falls  
 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow)  
 Open Fractures 
 Fractures with neurovascular compromise (decreased peripheral 

pulses or prolonged capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits distal to 
fracture) 

Mechanism 
 Falls >20 ft. adults 

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or significant 

(>20 MPH) impact  
 Motorcycle crash >20 MPH  
 High-risk auto crash  
 Intrusion >12 in, occupant site 

>18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from automobile  
 Death in same passenger compartment 
Other 
 Pregnancy >20 weeks  
 Burns (follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o  
 Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders  
 End stage renal disease  
 Transplant patients  

Multi/Mass Casualty Incident (MCI) 

 
2. LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma 
 

LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma 
 Unmanageable Airway 
 Tension Pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest 
 Burn patient without patent airway 
 Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

YES Closest 
ED 

Physiologic 
 GCS < 14 
 SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
<60 (term neonate) 

 RR <10 or >29 (adults and > 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
<25 or >50 (< 12 m/o) 

YES 
LERN 

Level I, 
II, or III 

Anatomic 
 Open or depressed skull fractures 
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 
 All penetrating injuries to neck, torso and 

extremities proximal to elbow and knee 
 Flail Chest 
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
 Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle 
 Pelvic Fracture 

YES 
LERN 

Level I, 
II, or III 

LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma 
 Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, 

lateral deviation of foot) excluding isolated 
hip fractures from same level falls 

 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 
elbow) 

 Open Fractures 
 Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits 
distal to fracture 

Mechanism 
� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 

> 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
� High-risk auto crash 

Intrusion > 12 in. occupant site: 
>18 in. any site 

� Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
� Death in same passenger compartment 
� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run 

over or significant (>20 MPH) impact 
� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

YES 
LERN 

Level II, 
or III 

Other 
 Pregnancy > 20 weeks 
 Burns (follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age >55 y/o or <8 y/o 
 Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders 
 End stage renal disease 
 Transplant patients 

YES 
LERN 

Level II, 
III, or IV 

MULTI/MASS CASUALTY INCIDENT (MCI) 

YES 

LERN 
Level I, 
II, III, 
or IV 

 
B. These protocols were published at LR 37:1466-1468 

(April 20, 2011). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:143 
(January 2015). 
§19115. LERN Destination Protocol: TRAUMA 

A. On April 26, 2012, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted 
and promulgated "LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma" 
replacing the "LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma" adopted 
and promulgated April 21, 2011, as follows. 

 
 Unmanageable Airway 
 Tension Pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest  
 Burn Patient without patent airway  
 Burn patient >40 percent BSA without IV 

 Closest 
ED 

Physiologic 
 GCS <14 
 SBP <90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

<70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
<70 (age 1 to 12 months)  
<60 (term neonate)  

 RR <10 or >29 (adults and ≥ 9 y/o) 
<15 or >30 (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
<25 or >50 (<12 m/o) 

 Level I, 
II, or III* 

Anatomic 
 Open or depressed skull fractures  
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak  
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 
weakness, motor, or sensory deficit)  
 All penetrating injuries to head, neck, torso, & 
extremities proximal to elbow & knee 
 Flail Chest  

 Level I, 
II, or III* 
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 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures  
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity  
 Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle  
 Pelvic Fractures  
 Hip Fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 
deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip fractures 
from same level falls  
 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 
elbow)  
 Open Fractures 
 Fractures with neurovascular compromise 
(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged capillary 
refill, motor or sensory deficits distal to fracture) 
Mechanism 
 Falls >20 ft. adults  

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
 High-risk auto crash 
 Intrusion > 12 in. occupant site 

   > 18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
 Death in same passenger compartment  

 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 
significant (>20 MPH) impact  

 Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

 Level I, 
II, or III* 

Other 
 Pregnancy >20 weeks  
 Burns (follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o  
 Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders -patients 

w/ head injuries are at high risk for rapid 
deterioration 

 Level II, 
or III* 

MULTI/MASS CASUALTY INCIDENT (MCI)  Level I, 
II, or III* 

*Refers to ACS Verified Level Trauma CenterWhere 
trauma center not available, patient will be routed to facility 
with appropriate resource which may not need be the highest 
level facility. 
 

B. This protocol was published at LR 38:1462-1463 
(June 20, 2012). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:144 
(January 2015). 
§19117. LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma 

A. On November 21, 2013, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted 
and promulgated "LERN Destination Protocol: TRAUMA" 
replacing the "LERN Destination Protocol: Trauma" adopted 
and promulgated April 26, 2012, and repealing "LERN 
ENTRY CRITERIA, Trauma Pre-Hospital and Hospital 
Triage Protocol" adopted and promulgated April 21, 2011, as 
follows. 

1. Call LERN Communication Center at (866) 320-
8293 for patients meeting the following criteria. 

 
 Unmanageable airway 
 Tension pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest 
 Burn patient without patent airway 
 Burn patient > 40 percent BSA without IV 

 
Closest 

ED/Trauma 
Center 

NO 
   

Physiologic 
 GCS < 14 
 SBP < 90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

< 70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
< 70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
< 60 (term neonate) 

 RR < 10 or > 29 (adults & ≥ 9 y/o) 
< 15 or > 30 (age 1 to 8 y/o) 
< 25 or > 50 (< 12 m/o) 

 

To Appropriate 
Trauma Center 
or Hospital as 
Determined by 

LERN 
Communication 

Center 

NO 
   

Anatomic 
 Open or depressed skull fractures  
 Open head injury with or without CSF 

leak  
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-

sided weakness, motor, or sensory deficit)  
 All penetrating injuries to head, neck, 

torso, and extremities proximal to elbow 
and knee 

 Flail Chest  
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures  
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity  
 Amputation proximal to wrist and ankle  
 Pelvic Fractures  
 Hip Fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, 

lateral deviation of foot) excluding 
isolated hip fractures from same level falls  

 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, 
elbow)  

 Open Fractures 
 Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged 
capillary refill, motor or sensory deficits 
distal to fracture) 

 

To Appropriate 
Trauma Center 
or Hospital as 
Determined by 

LERN 
Communication 

Center 

NO 
   

Mechanism 
 Falls >20 ft. adults 

>10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
 High-risk auto crash 

 Intrusion >12 in. occupant site 
>18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from 

automobile 
 Death in same passenger 

compartment  
 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run 

over or significant (>20 MPH) impact 
 Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

 

To Appropriate 
Trauma Center 
or Hospital as 
Determined by 

LERN 
Communication 

Center 

NO 
   

Other 
 Pregnancy >20 weeks  
 Burns (follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age ≥ 55 y/o or <8 y/o  
 Anticoagulation and bleeding disorders -

patients w/ head injuries are at high risk 
for rapid deterioration 

 

To Appropriate 
Trauma Center 
or Hospital as 
Determined by 

LERN 
Communication 

Center 

MULTI/MASS CASUALTY INCIDENT 
(MCI) 

 

To Appropriate 
Trauma Center 
or Hospital as 
Determined by 

LERN 
Communication 

Center 
 
B. This protocol was published at LR 40:190-191 

(January 20, 2014). 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Emergency Response Network, 
LR 41:145 (January 2015). 
Chapter 193. Stroke Protocols 
§19301. LERN Destination Protocol: Stroke 

A. On November 21, 2013, the Louisiana Emergency 
Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted 
and promulgated "LERN Destination Protocol: STROKE," 
as follows. 

1. The following protocol applies to patients with 
suspected stroke. 

 
Compromise Of: 

 Airway 
 Breathing 
 Circulation 

 Closest ED 

NO 
   

 All other patients with suspected stroke 
Patients with seizure with focal 
deficit, extended window (4-8 hrs 
from onset), and patients with 
unknown onset may benefit from 
evaluation at Level I or II hospital 
with on-site stroke expertise. 

 
Transport to 

LERN Stroke 
Level I, II, or III 

NO 
   

Terminally Ill or Palliative Care Patient 
 

Transport to LERN 
Stroke Level I, II, 

III, or IV 
Guiding principles: 

 Time is the critical variable in acute stroke care. 
 Protocols that include pre-hospital notification while en route by 

EMS should be used for patients with suspected acute stroke to 
facilitate primary destination efficiency. 

 Treatment with intravenous tPA is the only FDA approved acute 
therapy for stroke. 

 EMS should identify the geographically closest facility capable of 
providing tPA treatment.  

 Transfer patient to the nearest hospital equipped to provide tPA 
treatment. 

 Secondary transfer to facilities equipped to provide tertiary care and 
interventional treatments should not prevent administration of tPA 
to appropriate patients. 

 
B. This protocol was published at LR 40:189-190 

(January 20, 2014).  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:146 
(January 2015). 
Chapter 195. STEMI Protocols 
§19501. STEMI Triage Protocol for Pre-Hospital 

Providers 
A. On November 21, 2013, the Louisiana Emergency 

Response Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] adopted 
and promulgated "STEMI Triage Protocol for Pre-Hospital 
Providers," as follows. 

 

Acute coronary symptoms ≥ 15 minutes and < 12 hours 
AND 

12 lead ECG criteria of 1 mm ST elevation in 2 or more contiguous leads 
OR 

LBBB NOT KNOWN to be present in the past 

EMS ECG interpreted or transmitted to hospital for MD consult for 
bypass and activation 

   
STEMI-Receiving 
Center with medical 
contact-to-device (PCI) 
≤ 90 minutes (by ground 
or air)? 

YES Transport to nearest 
STEMI-Receiving Center 
with pre-hospital 
notification/activation 

Goal medical contact to 
device (PCI) time of 90 
minutes or less 

NO 
 

  

Transport to closest 
STEMI-Referral 
Hospital with Pre-
hospital 
notification/activation  
Goal medical contact to 
fibrinolytic needle time 
of 30 minutes or less 

 Transport to nearest 
STEMI-Receiving Center 
for subsequent PCI 

*O’Gara PT, Kushner FG, Ascheim DD, et all. 2013 
ACCF/AHA Guideline for the Management of ST-Elevation 
Myocardial Infraction: A Report of the American College of 
Cardiology Foundation/American Heart Association Task 
Force on Practice Guidelines. Journal of the American College 
of Cardiology. 2013;61(4):e78. 
 

B. This protocol was published at LR 50:192 (January 
20, 2014). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
9:2798.5 and R.S. 40:2846(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Emergency Response Network, LR 41:146 
(January 2015). 

 
Paige B. Hargrove 
Executive Director 

1501#034  
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Infant Intervention Services (LAC 48:IX.334) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) has 
adopted LAC Title 48:IX.334 as directed by House Bill 1 of 
the 2013 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which 
states: “The secretary is directed to utilize various cost 
containment measures to ensure expenditures remain at the 
level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not limited 
to precertification, preadmission screening, diversion, fraud 
control, utilization review and management, prior 
authorization, service limitations, drug therapy management, 
disease management, cost sharing, and other measures as 
permitted under federal law.” This proposed Rule is
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promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. 

Act 417 of the 2013 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature provides for authority for the department to 
establish a statewide system of payments; to make 
provisions relative to payment for services; to allow for uses 
of funds for provision of certain services; and provides for 
authority to establish a schedule of fees for services provided 
to certain recipients in EarlySteps, Louisiana’s Early 
Intervention Program for Infants and Toddlers with 
Disabilities and their Families.  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2014, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals promulgated an 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the payment for some EarlySteps services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 39, Number 9). This proposed Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the October 
1, 2013 Emergency Rule. It is estimated that implementation 
of this Emergency Rule will increase revenue by 
approximately $1,200,000 for state fiscal year 2013-2014. 
This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities. 

Effective October 1, 2014, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities establishes a system of payments for some 
services provided through the EarlySteps Program.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 

Part IX.  Developmental Disabilities Services 
Chapter 3. Infant Intervention Services 
§334. System of Payments 

A. The department shall have the authority to establish a 
statewide system of payments in accordance with 34 CFR 
part 303. 

B. In implementing the system of payments: 
1. the department establishes a schedule of monthly 

cost participation for early intervention services per 
qualifying family. Cost participation shall be based on a 
sliding scale; 

2. application of the family’s cost share using the 
sliding scale will include the family’s adjusted gross income, 
family size, financial hardship, extraordinary expenses 
associated with the eligible child, and Medicaid eligibility; 

a. extraordinary expenses may include but are not 
limited to unreimbursed medical expenses, equipment, home 
modifications, or other costs associated with the child with a 
disability; 

b. extraordinary expenses must have been incurred 
during the calendar year that the family’s cost share for 
individualized family services plan (IFSP) services is 
applied; 

c. the family will be required to produce invoices, 
receipts, or other documents which establish the costs and 
payment for these expenses; 

d. the family may request a reassessment of their 
costs based on extraordinary expenses at any time if there 
are significant changes affecting the determination of the 
cost participation amount. The request will be in writing and 
submitted to the service coordinator; 

e. the request for reassessment will be considered 
by the designated EarlySteps office for a determination of 

the family’s request. The family and the service coordinator 
will receive the department’s written response; 

3. the sliding scale shall utilize the most recent federal 
poverty guidelines issued in the Federal Register by the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services as 
the basis for determining the income threshold based on 
family size for eligibility for cost participation; 

4. the department shall not assess any fee or other 
charge through the cost participation schedule upon a family 
which has an annual income of less than 300 percent of the 
federal poverty level; 

5. the department shall not assess fees or other charges 
through the cost participation schedule which totals more 
than 3 percent of the monthly income level for a family of 
four, according to the federal poverty guideline schedule 
which will be updated annually; 

6. once the family’s income has been verified with the 
required documentation and the IFSP services have been 
determined by the IFSP team, the following will occur: 

a. the system point of entry office will issue the cost 
participation statement to notify the family of their assessed 
costs which will be reviewed with the family and a copy 
provided; 

b. following the submission of service claims by the 
child’s provider, the Central Finance Office (CFO) will mail 
a monthly explanation of payment statement (EOP) to the 
family for payment. The EOP will include a notice of the 
family’s right for reconsideration of their financial status and 
their right to apply for exemption from cost participation due 
to financial hardship; 

c. families will remit reimbursement to the CFO at 
the address provided in the EOP; 

7. when a family is not complying with the cost 
participation requirements and procedures for suspending 
services, the following will occur related to the status of the 
child’s services; 

a. a notice will be issued to the family, to the 
service coordinator and to the designated EarlySteps office; 

b. the CFO will notify the department when the 
family is in arrears for a duration of three months at which 
time the service coordinator will discuss the family’s options 
with the family and assist the department with its 
determination of the status of the child’s IFSP services; 

c. if the family provides its consent, a copy of the 
notice that the family is in arrears with payment for three 
months will be sent to the representative and senator in 
whose district the family resides; 

d. the department will make a written determination 
regarding the status of the child’s IFSP services following 
review of information provided by the service coordinator 
and the family. Families will be offered the option to 
continue to receive services available at no cost if they 
choose according to the no-cost provisions which follow; 

e. the department shall not limit early intervention 
services for a child in any month if the cost for the services 
in that month exceeds the maximum contribution from the 
child’s family. 

C. Parents who have public insurance (Medicaid) and 
elect not to assign such right of recovery or indemnification 
to the department or choose not to release financial 
information will be assessed the cost for each early
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intervention service listed on the IFSP according to the most 
current service rate schedule and the cost participation 
schedule.  

D. No-Cost Provision: the following services that a child 
is otherwise entitled to receive will have no costs assessed to 
the parents:  

1. child find activities;  
2. evaluation and assessment for eligibility and IFSP 

planning; 
3. service coordination, administrative and 

coordinative activities related to the development review, 
and evaluation of the IFSP; and  

4. implementation of procedural safeguards and other 
components of the statewide system related to §464 of Act 
417. 

E. The department will provide written, prior 
notification to families for use of Medicaid according to the 
requirements of 34 CFR 303.414. This notice includes a 
statement that there are no costs charged by the department 
for use of the eligible child’s Medicaid. The notification also 
includes a statement of the process for resolutions of 
disputes regarding decisions related to use of Medicaid, 
failure to pay for services and/or the state’s determination of 
a family’s ability to pay. 

F. Dispute Resolution Process 
1. The procedures used by the department to resolve 

such disputes will not delay or deny the parents’ rights or the 
child’s ability to access timely services. 

2. The dispute resolution process can be initiated by 
the parent according to OCDD’s policy for handling system 
complaints when the parent wishes to contest the imposition 
of a fee or the department’s determination of the parents’ 
ability to pay. 

G. Parental Consent. The department will obtain parental 
consent prior to the use of the child’s Medicaid according to 
the following. 

1. EarlySteps will obtain written consent for the use of 
the child’s Medicaid using its established consent for 
services form. 

2. Parental consent will be obtained prior to the initial 
provision of an early intervention service in the IFSP. 

3. Parental consent will be obtained when an increase 
in frequency, length, duration, or intensity of a service is 
determined in the child’s IFSP. 

4. If the parent does not provide consent for the use of 
the child’s Medicaid, the department will make available 
only those early intervention services on the IFSP for which 
the parent has provided consent. 

5. Parents may withdraw consent for use of their 
child’s Medicaid at any time. 

H. Determination of Family Cost. Families are liable for 
the costs of services that their child receives while enrolled 
in EarlySteps as follows: 

1. The aggregate contributions made by the parent 
shall not exceed the aggregate cost of the early intervention 
services received by the child and family (factoring in any 
amount received from other sources for payment for that 
service). 

2. At least annually, or at any time the department 
determines that a reassessment of the parent’s financial 
circumstances is warranted, the department shall conduct 
such reassessment of financial status. 

3. The parent has the right to request a reassessment at 
any time if there are significant changes affecting the 
determination of the cost participation amount. 

4. Families who have the ability to pay and choose not 
to pay may be determined as ineligible to continue to receive 
services until payment is made. 

5. The inability of the family of the eligible infant or 
toddler will not result in a delay or denial of services if the 
family does not meet the cost participation income 
requirements or for services for which there are no costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
28:821 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 41:147 (January 2015). 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#003 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Reclassification of Failure to Obtain a Food Safety 
Certification as a Class A Violation (LAC 51:I.113) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4, R.S. 40:5 et seq., R.S. 
40:6, and in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq. of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedures Act, the state health 
officer, acting through Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health, has amended Title 51, Part I, §113 
(Suspension/Revocation/Civil Fines or Penalties [formerly 
paragraph 1:007-21]) of the Public HealthSanitary Code. 
This Rule reclassifies failure to have a food safety certificate 
from a class B violation to a class A.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH), Office of 
Public Health (OPH) amends Title 51, Part I, Section 113 
(Suspension/Revocation/Civil Fines or Penalties [formerly 
paragraph 1:007-21]) of the Public HealthSanitary Code. 
This Rule reclassifies failure to have a food safety certificate 
from a class B violation to a class A violation. In section 
113(i) class A, the first amendment adds the following 
language, “failure to obtain a food safety certification in 
accordance with §305 of Part XXIII”, as a new violation that 
creates a condition or occurrence, which may result in death 
or serious harm to the public. In §113.A.3.a.ii, Class B, the 
second amendment deletes the following language, “a food 
safety certificate”, relating to permitting, submitting of 
plans, or training requirements. 

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part I.  General Provisions 
§113. Suspension/Revocation/Civil Fines or Penalties 

[Formerly Paragraph 1:007-21]  
A. Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 40:4, R.S. 40:5 and 

R.S. 40:6, the state health officer acting through the Office 
of Public Health, for violation(s) of a compliance order may:  

1. suspend or revoke an existing license or permit;  
2. seek injunctive relief as provided for in R.S. 40:4 

and in 40:6; and/or  
3. impose a civil fine:  
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a. these civil fines shall not exceed $10,000 per 
violator per calendar year applicable to each specific 
establishment, facility, or property that the violator owns, 
manages, operates or leases. The schedule of civil fines by 
class of violations shall be as follows:  
 i. class A. Violations that create a condition or 
occurrence, which may result in death or serious harm to the 
public. These violations include, but are not limited to: 
cooking, holding or storing potentially hazardous food at 
improper temperatures; failure to follow schedule process in 
low acid canned foods or acidified food production; poor 
personal hygienic practices; failure to sanitize or sterilize 
equipment, utensils or returnable, multi-use containers; no 
water; unapproved water source; cross contamination of 
water; inadequate disinfection of water before bottling; 
sewage back up; sewage discharge on to the ground; sewage 
contamination of drinking water; failure to comply with 
human drug current good manufacturing practices (CGMP); 
inadequate labeling of foods or drugs regarding life 
threatening ingredients or information; failure to provide 
consumer advisories; non-compliant UV lamps or 
termination control switch on tanning equipment; the 
inadequate handling and disposal of potentially infectious 
biomedical wastes; failure to obtain food safety certification 
in accordance with §305 of Part XXIII; etc. Class A civil 
fines shall be $100 per day per violation;  
 ii. class B. Violations related to permitting, 
submitting of plans, or training requirements. These 
violations include, but are not limited to: failure to submit 
plans or to obtain or hold: a permit to operate; a commercial 
body art certification; tanning equipment operator training; 
day care training; a license to install, maintain, or pump out 
sewage systems; etc. Class B civil fines shall be $75 per day 
per violation;  
 iii. class C. Violations that create a condition or 
occurrence, which creates a potential for harm by indirectly 
threatening the health and/or safety of the public or creates a 
nuisance to the public. These violations include, but are not 
limited to, failure to: properly label food; properly protect 
food; properly store clean equipment; provide self-closing 
restroom doors; provide adequate lighting; provide hair 
restraints; provide soap and towels at hand-washing 
lavatories; clean floors, walls, ceilings and non-food contact 
surfaces; properly dispose of garbage; maintain onsite 
sewage systems; provide electrical power to onsite sewage 
systems; etc. Class C civil fines shall be $50 per day per 
violation;  
 iv. class D. Violations related to administrative, 
ministerial, and other reporting requirements that do not 
directly threaten the health or safety of the public. These 
violations include, but are not limited to, failure to: retain 
oyster tags; provide hazard analysis critical control plans 
(HACCP); maintain HACCP records; provide consumer 
information; provide written recall procedures; maintain lot 
tracking records; turn in onsite sewage system maintenance 
records or certification of installation; register product 
labels; etc. Class D civil fines shall be $25 per day per 
violation;  

b. the duration of noncompliance with a provision 
of the compliance order shall be determined as follows:  
  

 i. an investigation shall be conducted by staff for 
the purpose of determining compliance/noncompliance 
within five working days after the deadline date(s) specified 
in the compliance order. If non-compliance still exists, staff 
will provide a copy of the post-order investigation report to 
the person in charge and daily penalty assessments shall 
begin to accrue immediately from the date that non-
compliance was determined in the post-order investigation 
report;  
 ii. the daily penalties shall accrue until such time 
as the agency has been notified in writing by the person in 
charge that compliance has been achieved and such 
compliance verified by agency staff, or upon reaching the 
maximum penalty cap of $10,000 per violator per calendar 
year. Upon written notification by the person in charge of 
compliance, an investigation to verify compliance shall be 
made within five working days of receipt of such 
notification;  
 iii. upon verification by investigation that 
compliance has been achieved, the penalties will cease to 
accrue on the date of receipt of notification by the person in 
charge;  

c. the secretary of the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, upon the recommendation of the state health 
officer, may exercise his discretion and mitigate these civil 
fines or in lieu of a civil fine, require the violator or an 
employee designee to attend training seminars in the area of 
the violator's operations in cases where he is satisfied the 
violator has abated the violation and demonstrated a sincere 
intent to prevent future violations;  

d. at the discretion of the state health officer, 
notice(s) imposing penalty assessments may be issued 
subsequent to either initial or continued noncompliance with 
any provision of the compliance order. Notice(s) imposing 
penalty assessments shall be served by United States Postal 
Service, via certified mail-return receipt requested, 
registered mail-return receipt requested, or express mail-
return receipt requested, or hand delivered. Within the notice 
imposing penalty assessment, the state health officer will 
inform the person in charge of the ability to apply for 
mitigation of penalties imposed and of the opportunity to 
petition for administrative appeal within 20 days after said 
notice is served, according to the provisions of R.S. 49:992 
of the Administrative Procedure Act;  

e. once a penalty assessment is imposed, it shall 
become due and payable 20 calendar days after receipt of 
notice imposing the penalty unless a written application for 
mitigation is received by the state health officer within 20 
calendar days after said notice is served or a petition for 
administrative appeal relative to contesting the imposition of 
the penalty assessment is filed with the Division of 
Administrative Law, P.O. Box 44033, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-4033 within 20 calendar days after said notice is 
served;  

f. the department may institute all necessary civil 
action to collect fines imposed;  

g. this Section shall not be construed to limit in any 
way the state health officer's authority to issue emergency 
orders pursuant to the authority granted in R.S. 40:4 and 
§115 of this Part;  
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h. the provisions of Paragraph 3 and Subparagraph 
a shall not apply to floating camps, including but not limited 
to houseboats which are classified as vessels by the United 
States Coast Guard in accordance with R.S. 40:6 as amended 
by Act 516 of the 2001 Regular Legislative Session;  

4. may (in cases involving pollution of streams, rivers, 
lakes, bayous, or ditches which are located in public rights 
of way outside Lake Pontchartrain, Toledo Bend Reservoir 
or the Sabine River, their drainage basins or associated 
waterways):  

a. suspend or revoke the existing license or permit; 
and/or  

b.  issue a civil compliance order and impose a fine 
of $100 per day up to a maximum of $10,000 in cases where 
establishments operate without a license or permit or 
continue to operate after revocation or suspension of their 
license or permit;  

5.  may (in cases involving pollution of Lake 
Pontchartrain, Toledo Bend Reservoir, the Sabine River, 
their drainage basins, or associated waterways and pursuant 
to the provisions of R.S. 40:1152 and 40:1153):  

a. issue a civil compliance order and/or suspend or 
revoke the existing license or permit; and/or  

b. impose a fine of $100 per day up to a maximum 
of $10,000 in cases where establishments operate without a 
license or permit, or continue to operate after revocation or 
suspension of their license or permit.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 27:1694 
(October 2001), repromulgated LR 28:1210 (June 2002), amended 
LR 28:2529 (December 2002), LR 41:148 (January 2015). 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

1501#071 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Coastal Management 

Fisherman’s Gear Compensation Fund (LAC 43:I.1509) 

Under the authority of R.S. 49:214.21-49:214.42 and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:450 et seq., the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Coastal Management has 
amended LAC 43:I.1509 relative to the administration of the 
Fisherman’s Gear Compensation Fund. 

The Rule change better defines the required claim 
documentation and is a change to one of several claim denial 
criteria. The change of the denial criteria is in regards to 
proof of ownership documents of damaged equipment/gear 
and method of payment (i.e., cash paid receipts) and it 
removes the current practice of denying claims for 
equipment that was paid by cash since cash receipts from 
bona fide business will now be accepted as an eligibility 
component. This action is not required by federal regulation. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 15. Administration of the Fisherman's Gear 
Compensation Fund 

§1509. Claims―General Form and Content 
A. - A.5.a. … 

b. the amount claimed together with proof of 
ownership of the gear which was damaged or lost on the 
obstruction. Proof of ownership must include: paid receipts 
which are completely filled out including the date, full name, 
address and telephone of the seller along with the claimant’s 
name and/or address together with proof of payment such as 
copies of money orders or bank cashier's checks for the gear; 
affidavits; or other evidence. No receipts paid by "cash" will 
be accepted for gear purchased after the effective date of this 
rule except for receipts from bona fide businesses in 
possession of a commercial or business permit/license, 
which was in effect at the time of the sale or repair, or a 
notarized affidavit from a business owner or chief executive 
officer of the business supporting the validity of the sale or 
repair. Claimants that made or repaired the damaged gear 
shall submit a notarized statement that he or she made his or 
her own gear along with paid receipts for the materials. If all 
damaged gear was original to the vessel when it was 
purchased or acquired, a copy of the bill of sale of the boat 
or subsequent notarized statement to the effect that all gear 
was original to the boat including date vessel was acquired, 
full name of seller, and sale price must be included;  

A.5.c. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:700.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 6:515 (August 
1980), amended LR 21:957 (September 1995), amended by the 
Office of Coastal Management, LR 40:1944 (October 2014), LR 
41:150 (January 2015). 

 
Keith Lovell 
Assistant Secretary 

1501#014 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of Motor Vehicles  

Driving Schools (LAC 55:III.151) 

Under the authority of R.S. 37:3270 et seq., and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of Motor 
Vehicles has amended Section 151 under Chapter 1, 
Subchapter A, to require employees of driving schools in 
direct care or responsibility for minor students to submit and 
pass a background check. Current regulation only provides 
for instructors and owners supervising students to submit to 
and pass a background check. This regulation ensures 
compliance with the Child Protection Act. 
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Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles  
Chapter 1. Driver’s License 
Subchapter A. General Requirements 
§151. Regulations for All Driver Education Providers 

A. - E.4. … 
5. Any employee of a driving school with direct care 

or responsibility for minor students or who has access to the 
student’s personal information, shall submit to and 
successfully pass a background check prior to any contact 
with minor students. The direct care or responsibility over 
minor students shall consist of any contact with a minor 
student, including, but not limited to, picking up students for 
instruction, monitoring students, or driving students home. 
This rule applies to all driving school employees, including 
instructors, owners and administrative staff. Employees of 
driving schools who are not required to submit to a 
background check or have not passed a background check 
shall not be allowed access to minor students or their 
information. Driving school owners shall be required to 
submit a list of all employees with direct care or 
responsibility for minor students to DPS annually, and any 
time a new employee is hired, by email at 
ladrivingschools@dps.la.gov. Personal information includes, 
but is not limited to, any identifying information such as 
name, address, telephone number, Social Security number, 
parents’ names, name and address of high school attended by 
student, and emergency contacts. 

E.6. - H.10. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:402.1(A)(1), R.S. 40:1461 and R.S. 40:1462. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
38:1977 (August 2012), amended LR 41:151 (January 2015). 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1501#012 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Office of the Secretary 

Louisiana Tax Delinquency Amnesty Act of 2014 
(LAC 61:I.4915) 

The Department of Revenue, Office of the Secretary, is 
exercising the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt this Rule pertaining to the 
Louisiana Tax Delinquency Amnesty Act of 2014 (Acts 
2014, No. 822) in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 
47:1511. The Rule is needed to provide guidelines for 
implementing and administering installment plans for the 
2014 Louisiana Tax Delinquency Amnesty Program.  

The Department of Revenue has established a tax amnesty 
program, hereinafter referred to as “amnesty program,” 
beginning on October 15, 2014 and ending November 14, 
2014. The amnesty program shall apply to all taxes 
administered by the department except for motor fuel, 
prepaid cell phone sales tax, oil field restoration-oil, oil field 
restoration-gas, inspection and supervision fee and penalties 

for failure to submit information reports that are not based 
on an underpayment of tax. Amnesty will be granted only for 
eligible taxes to eligible taxpayers who apply for amnesty 
during the amnesty period on forms prescribed by the 
secretary and who pay or enter into an installment agreement 
for all of the tax, half of the interest due, all fees and costs, if 
applicable, for periods designated on the amnesty 
application. The amnesty application may include issues or 
eligible periods that are not in dispute. The secretary 
reserves the right to require taxpayers to file tax returns with 
the amnesty application. If the amnesty application is 
approved, the secretary shall waive all of the penalties and 
half of the interest associated with the tax periods for which 
amnesty is applied. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 49. Tax Collection 
§4915. Louisiana Tax Delinquency Amnesty Act of 2014 

A. A taxpayers’ application to make installment 
payments of a delinquent tax and its interest, penalties, and 
fees shall, upon approval by the secretary, enter the taxpayer 
into an installment agreement. In order to continue in the 
amnesty program, the taxpayer must make complete and 
timely payments of all installment payments. For the 
payment to be considered timely, all installment payments 
must be received no later than May 1, 2015.  

B. All installment agreements approved by the secretary 
shall require the taxpayer to provide a down payment of no 
less than 20 percent of the total amount of delinquent tax, 
penalty, interest, and fees owed to the department at the time 
the installment agreement is approved by the secretary. Field 
audit and litigation are not eligible to enter into an 
installment agreement. 

C. Every installment agreement shall include fixed equal 
monthly payments that shall not extend for more than six 
months. Applicants seeking to enter into an installment 
agreement with the department shall provide the following 
information: 

1. bank routing number; 
2. bank account number; and 
3. Social Security number or LDR account number. 

D. An installment payment will only be drafted from an 
account from which the taxpayer is authorized to remit 
payment. All payments shall be drafted through electronic 
automated transactions initiated by the department. 
Taxpayers who cannot enter into an agreement to make 
payment by way of automated electronic transactions shall 
not be eligible for an installment agreement with the 
department. 

E. If for any reason a taxpayer subject to an installment 
agreement fails to fulfill his obligation under the agreement 
by remitting the last installment by May 1, 2015, no amnesty 
shall be granted and the installment agreement shall be null 
and void. All payments remitted to the department during the 
duration of the voided installment agreement shall be 
allocated to the oldest outstanding tax period as a regular 
payment. The payment will be applied in the following 
order: tax, penalty and interest. The taxpayer shall be 
obligated to pay the entirety of the delinquent tax, along with 
all applicable interest, penalties, and fees. 
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F. A taxpayer who is approved to participate in the 
amnesty program who is also a party to an existing 
installment agreement with the department may be eligible 
to participate in an installment agreement under the amnesty 
program. Upon approval by the secretary of an installment 
agreement under the amnesty program, the original 
installment agreement with the department shall be cancelled 
in favor of the installment agreement under amnesty. 

G. The secretary may procure tax amnesty program 
collection services for the administration and collection of 
installment agreements. The fee for such services shall be in 
accordance with the fees authorized in R.S. 47:1516.1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47: 1511 and Acts 2014, No. 822. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 41:151 (January 2015). 

 
Tim Barfield 
Secretary 

1501#069  
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Possession of Potentially Dangerous Wild Quadrupeds, 
Big Exotic Cats, and Non-Human Primates (LAC 76:V.115) 

The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission have amended the rules and 
regulations governing the possession of potentially 
dangerous quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-human 
primates. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds 
Chapter 1. Wild Quadrupeds 
§115. Possession of Potentially Dangerous Wild 

Quadrupeds, Big Exotic Cats, and Non-Human 
Primates 

A. This commission finds that possession of certain 
potentially dangerous quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-
human primates poses significant hazards to public safety 
and health, is detrimental to the welfare of the animals, and 
may have negative impacts on conservation and recovery of 
some threatened and endangered species. 

1. The size and strength of such animals in concert 
with their natural and unpredictable and/or predatory nature 
can result in severe injury or death when an attack upon a 
human occurs. Often such attacks are unprovoked and a 
person other than the owner, often a child, is the victim. 
Furthermore, there is no approved rabies vaccine for such 
animals, so even minor scratches and injuries inflicted upon 
humans or other animals could be deadly. 

2. Responsible possession of these potentially 
dangerous wild quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-human 
primates necessitates that they be confined in secure 
facilities. Prolonged confinement is by its nature stressful to 
these animals and proper long-term care by experienced 
persons is essential to the health and welfare of these 
animals and to society. 

3. Certain of these animals are listed as endangered 
species and others are so similar in appearance to 
endangered subspecies as to make practical distinction 
difficult. This similarity of appearance may provide a means 
to market illegally obtained endangered animals and can 
limit the effective enforcement of endangered species laws. 

B. This commission regulation prohibits importation and 
private possession, and otherwise regulates certain wild 
quadrupeds, big exotic cats, and non-human primates as 
provided herein. 

C.1. Except as provided herein, it shall be unlawful to 
import into, possess, purchase or sell within the state of 
Louisiana, by any means whatsoever including but not 
limited to transactions conducted via the internet, any of the 
following species or its subspecies of live wild quadrupeds, 
big exotic cats, or non-human primates, domesticated or 
otherwise (hereinafter "listed animals"): 

a. black bear (Ursus americanus); 
b. grizzly bear (Ursus arctos); 
c. polar bear (Ursus maritimus); 
d. red wolf (Canis rufus); 
e. gray wolf (Canis lupus); 
f. wolf dog hybrid (Canis lupus or Canis rufus x 

Canis familiarus); 
g. all non-human primates; 
h. the following big exotic cats: 

 i. tigers; 
 ii. lions; 
 iii. leopards (including, but not limited to snow 
leopard and clouded leopard); 
 iv. jaguars; 
 v. cheetahs; 
 vi. cougars or mountain lions (Felis concolor); 
 vii. all subspecies of the above listed exotic cats; 
 viii. hybrids resulting from cross breeding of the 
above listed exotic cats. 

2. Holders of a potentially dangerous wild quadruped 
permit allowing possession of any listed animal, where the 
permit is valid on the effective date of this regulation, will be 
"grandfathered" and the permit will be renewed annually 
until existing permitted captive animals expire, or are legally 
transferred out of state, or are transferred to a suitable 
facility. No additional listed animals may be acquired by any 
means whatsoever, including breeding. 

D.1. Wolf-Dog Hybrids. The prohibition against wolf-
dog hybrids expired January 1, 1997. Persons are cautioned 
that local ordinances or other state regulations may prohibit 
possession of these animals. Any animal which appears 
indistinguishable from a wolf, or is in any way represented 
to be a wolf shall be considered to be a wolf in the absence 
of bona fide documentation to the contrary. 

E. Exempted Entities. The following organizations and 
entities shall be exempt from this regulation, including 
permitting: 

1. zoos accredited or certified by the American Zoo 
and Aquarium Association (AZA) and the Zoo of Acadiana 
so long as it meets the American Zoo and Aquarium 
Association standards for enclosures; 

2. research facilities as defined in the Animal Welfare 
Act as found in the United States Code title 7, chapter 54, 
§2132(e), including but not limited to the University of
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Louisiana at Lafayette Primate Center, the Tulane National 
Primate Research Center, and Chimp Haven, Inc., located in 
Shreveport, LA; and 

3. any person transporting any listed animal through 
the state if the transit time is not more than 24 hours and the 
animal is at all times maintained within a confinement 
sufficient to prevent escape and contact with the public. 
Exhibiting the listed animal, in any manner, is prohibited; 

4. circuses, limited to those temporarily in this state, 
offering varied performances by live animals, clowns, and 
acrobats for public entertainment, and which are 
incorporated class C licensees under chapter I of title 9 of 
the Code of Federal Regulations. Notwithstanding the 
above, circuses do not include entertainment that includes 
any listed animal in any type of wrestling, photography 
opportunity with a patron, or an activity in which any listed 
animal and a patron are in close contact with each other; 

5. Louisiana colleges or universities, for possession of 
a big exotic cat of the species traditionally kept by that 
college or university as a school mascot, after proper 
documentation to the department that the college or 
university has consistently over the years possessed a big 
exotic cat as its mascot. 

F. Permitted Entities. The following organizations and 
entities may be exempted from this regulation after applying 
for and receiving a permit from the department to possess 
any listed animal under the following conditions: 

1. other zoos and educational institutions not covered 
under Paragraphs E.1-2 above. The secretary shall determine 
whether to issue a permit and any conditions for the permit 
on a case by case basis. A zoo, for purposes of this 
Subsection, is defined as a publicly or municipally owned 
permanent institution which owns and maintains multiple 
species of wildlife, under the direction of at least one full-
time professional staff member who possesses an 
appropriate body of knowledge and experience in zoological 
park management, provides its animals with appropriate 
care, exhibits the animals to the public on a regular basis, 
and has as its primary mission the exhibition, conservation, 
and preservation of animals in an educational and scientific 
manner: 

a. any entity that has submitted to the department 
on or before July 1, 2014 an application as an other zoo or 
educational institution under this Subsection shall not be 
required to be publicly or municipally owned. Should a 
permit be granted under this exception, future permits shall 
be likewise exempted, provided that a permit had been 
issued for the immediately preceding year; 

2. animal sanctuaries accredited or certified by the 
American Zoo and Aquarium Association (AZA). Permitted 
sanctuaries are prohibited from exhibiting, breeding, or 
selling any listed animal. Listed animals must be surgically 
sterilized or separately housed to prevent breeding. Listed 
animals must be housed in such a manner as to prevent 
public contact and in compliance with the enclosure rules 
provided herein in Subsection I. Permitted animal 
sanctuaries are prohibited from transporting these animals to 
any public building or place where they may come into 
contact with the public including, but not limited to schools, 
hospitals, malls, private residences, or other commercial or 
retail establishments. 

G. Non-Human Primates 
1. As provided below, the following individuals may 

be exempted from this regulation after applying for and 
receiving a permit from the department to possess a non-
human primate. The permit will be for one year and must be 
renewed annually under the following conditions: 

a. an individual who legally possesses one or more 
non-human primates immediately prior to the effective date 
of this regulation and who can prove legal ownership is 
authorized to keep those non-human primates but is 
prohibited from acquiring any additional non-human 
primates by any means whatsoever, including breeding; 

b. the individuals listed in this Subsection must 
annually apply for and receive a permit from the department. 
The permit application shall include: 
 i. the name, address, telephone number, and date 
of birth of applicant; 
 ii. a description of each non-human primate 
applicant possesses, including the scientific name, sex, age, 
color, weight, and any distinguishing marks; 
 iii. a photograph of each non-human primate and 
its permanent enclosure; 
 iv. the physical location where the non-human 
primate is to be kept; 
 v. proof of legal ownership. (Proof of legal 
ownership includes original purchase documents, veterinary 
records, or other documentation, acceptable to the 
department demonstrating ownership); 
 vi. the microchip or tattoo number of each non-
human primate; 
 vii. a health certificate signed by a licensed 
veterinarian within one year prior to the date of the 
application stating that the animal is free of all symptoms of 
contagious and/or infectious diseases at the time of the 
examination and that all appropriate tests and preventative 
measures have been performed as deemed necessary by the 
veterinarian; 
 viii. a signed release statement, on a form provided 
by the department, agreeing to abide by permit terms and to 
cooperate with LDWF personnel;  
 ix. a signed agreement, on a form provided by the 
department, indemnifying and holding harmless the state, 
department, and other applicable public agencies and 
employees, including agents, contractors, and the general 
public from any claims for damages resulting from the non-
human primate(s); 
 x. a signed agreement that the permittee will be 
responsible for any and all costs associated with the escape, 
capture, and disposition of the non-human primate(s); 

c. the department shall only accept applications for 
possession of non-human primates from individuals who 
have not previously possessed a permit until June 30, 2015. 
Thereafter, permits will only be issued for the possession of 
non-human primates to those individuals who were 
permitted in the immediately preceding year and who meet 
all applicable requirements of this Section. 

2. Permittee must allow inspections of premises by 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees for 
purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may be 
unannounced, and may include, but are not limited to, pens,
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stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of animals 
necessary to determine species identification, sex, age, 
health, and/or implanted microchip number. 

3. Permit holders must house their non-human 
primates in such a manner as to prevent public contact and 
are prohibited from transporting their non-human primate to 
any public building or place where the public may come into 
contact with the non-human primate, including, but not 
limited to schools, hospitals or malls. 

4. Permit holders must have their non-human primates 
examined annually by a licensed veterinarian to insure that 
the animal is free of all symptoms of contagious and/or 
infectious diseases at the time of examination and all 
appropriate tests and preventative measures have been 
performed as deemed necessary by the veterinarian. 

5. Permit holders are required to report any escapes to 
the department within 24 hours of discovery of the escape. 

6. Permit holders are required to submit any changes 
to the permit information provided in the permit application 
within 30 days of the date those changes take effect or the 
permit will be considered invalid. 

H. - H.4. … 
5. Permittee must allow inspections of premises by 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries employees for 
purposes of enforcing these regulations. Inspections may be 
unannounced, and may include, but are not limited to, pens, 
stalls, holding facilities, records, and examination of animals 
necessary to determine species identification, sex, age, 
health, and/or implanted microchip number. 

6. - 13. … 
I. Enclosure Requirements. Minimum pen/enclosure 

requirements are as follows: 
1. bears: 

a. single animal: 25 feet long x 12 feet wide x 10 
feet high, covered roof; 

b. pair: 30 feet long x 15 feet wide x 10 feet high, 
covered roof; 

c. materials: chain link 9 gauge minimum; 
d. safety perimeter rail; 
e. pool: 6 feet x 4 feet x 18 inches deep with 

facilities for spraying or wetting bear(s); 
2. wolf: 

a. 15 feet long x 8 feet wide x 6 feet high per 
animal, covered roof; 

b. secluded den area: 4 feet x 4 feet for each animal; 
c. materials: chain link wire or equivalent; 
d. safety perimeter rail; 

3. big exotic cats: 
a. enclosures shall be constructed and covered at 

the top with nine gauge steel chain link or equivalent, with 
tension bars and metal clamps; 

b. enclosures must be well braced and securely 
fastened to the floor or ground and shall utilize metal clamps 
or braces of equivalent strength as that proscribed for cage 
construction; 

c. enclosures shall be secured by at least two sets of 
doors, so that the first door must be closed before the second 
door is opened. The inside door to the animal enclosure must 
open in. These doors must remain locked at all times when 
unattended. The doors must be designed so that the frame, 
hasps and locks are of sufficient strength to restrain the 
exotic cat; 

d. a perimeter fence of at least 8 feet in height 
(secondary barrier) and located a minimum of 5 feet from 
the enclosure sufficient to prevent unauthorized entry or 
direct physical contact with the exotic cat; 

e. the mesh size and/or distance between bars for all 
enclosures and fences shall be sufficiently small to prevent 
escape and/or direct physical contact with the exotic cat; 

f. enclosures shall include a den area or other 
connected housing unit in which the exotic cat may be 
secured for the safe servicing and cleaning of the remaining 
enclosure. This area shall be constructed with steel, 
reinforced cinder block, or concrete sufficient to withstand 
damage from high winds, hard rains, hail, and other natural 
phenomenon. 

J. Penalty for Violation. Unless another penalty is 
provided by law, violation of these regulations will be a class 
two violation as defined in title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes. In addition, upon conviction for violation of these 
regulations, any license/permit may be revoked and the 
quadrupeds or other animals seized in connection with the 
violation will be forfeited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6(31), R.S. 56:115, R.S. 56:171, and R.S. 56:1904(F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:1356 (December 1995), amended LR 32:647 (April 2006), LR 
33:1153 (June 2007), amended by House Concurrent Resolution 6 
of the 2012 Regular Legislative Session, LR 38:1459 (June 2012), 
LR 41:152 (January 2015). 

 
Bryan McClinton 
Undersecretary 

1501#040  
 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Removal of Abandoned Crab Traps (LAC 76:VII.367) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 
56:322(N), the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has 
amended LAC 76:VII.367 to temporarily close a portion of 
state inside waters to the use of crab traps in order to 
facilitate the removal of abandoned crab traps in these 
waters.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
provisions in LAC 76:VII.367 governing the locations of 
temporary crab trap closures to address problems in portions 
of state waters resulting from large numbers of abandoned 
and derelict crab traps (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 1; Volume 31, Number 1; Volume 32, Number 2; 
Volume 33, Number 1; Volume 34, Number 1; Volume 36; 
Number 1; Volume 38, Number 1; Volume 38, Number 12; 
Volume 40, Number 1). The Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission now amends the provisions to describe a new 
portion of state waters to be temporarily closed to the use of 
crab traps for the purpose of conducting a crab trap cleanup. 
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Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 
§367. Removal of Abandoned Crab Traps 

A. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited from 6 a.m., 
Friday, February 20, 2015 through 6 a.m. Sunday, March 1, 
2015 within that portion of Cameron Parish as described 
below. 

1. From a point originating at the Louisiana/Texas 
state line at the mouth of the Sabine River; thence northward 
along the Louisiana/Texas state line through the Sabine 
River and Sabine Lake; thence northward along the 
Louisiana/Texas state line through the Sabine River to the 
intersection of the Sabine River and the northern shore of the 
Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (GIWW); thence eastward along 
the northern shore of the GIWW to 93 degrees 37 minutes 
00 seconds West longitude; thence southward along 93 
degrees 37 minutes 00 seconds West longitude to a point 
along the inside-outside shrimp line as defined in R.S. 
56:495(A); thence westward along the inside-outside shrimp 
line and terminating at the Louisiana/Texas state line and 
mouth of the Sabine River.  

B. All crab traps remaining in the closed area during the 
specified period shall be considered abandoned. These trap 

removal regulations do not provide authorization for access 
to private property; authorization to access private property 
can only be provided by individual landowners. Crab traps 
may be removed only between one-half hour before sunrise 
to one-half hour after sunset. Anyone is authorized to 
remove these abandoned crab traps within the closed area. 
No person removing crab traps from the designated closed 
areas during the closure periods shall possess these traps 
outside of the closed area. The Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission authorizes the secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to designate disposal sites. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:332(N). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
30:101 (January 2004), amended LR 31:108 (January 2005), LR 
32:266 (February 2006), LR 33:113 (January 2007), LR 34:97 
(January 2008), LR 36:77 (January 2010), LR 38:146 (January 
2012), LR 38:12 (December 2012), LR 40:96 (January, 2014), LR 
41:155 (January 2015). 

 
Billy Broussard 
Chairman 

1501#038  
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System (LAC 28:LXXXIII.613) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111―The Louisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System: §613, 
Calculating a Graduation Index. The revisions update and 
clarify policy related to the graduation index. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School,  
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 6. Graduation Cohort, Index, and Rate 
§613. Calculating a Graduation Index 

A. For 2014-15 only (2013-14 graduates), points shall be 
assigned for each member of a cohort according to the 
following table. 

 
Student Result Points 

HS Diploma plus  
(a) AP score of 3 or higher, IB Score of 4 or higher, or CLEP 
score of 50 or higher 
 OR 
(b) Advanced statewide Jump Start credential 
*Students achieving both (a) and (b) will generate 160 points. 150 
HS Diploma plus 
(a) At least one passing course grade of the following type: 
AP**, college credit, dual enrollment, or IB** 
 OR 
(b) Basic statewide Jump Start credential 
*Students achieving both (a) and (b) will generate 115 points, 
if the passing course grade for (a) is earned in a TOPS core 
curriculum course. 
**Students must take the AP/IB exam and pass the course to 
earn 110 points. 110 
Four-year graduate (includes Career Diploma student with a 
regional Jump Start credential)  100 
Five-year graduate with any diploma 
*Five-year graduates who earn an AP score of 3 or higher, an 
IB score of 4 or higher, or a CLEP score of 50 or higher will 
generate 140 points. 75 
Six-year graduate with any diploma 50 
HiSET 25 
Non-graduate without HiSET 0 

 
B. Beginning in 2015-16 (2014-15 graduates), points 

shall be assigned for each member of a cohort according to 
the following table. 

 
Student Result Points 

HS Diploma plus  
(a) AP score of 3 or higher, IB Score of 4 or higher, or CLEP 
score of 50 or higher 
 OR 
(b) Advanced statewide Jump Start credential 
*Students achieving both (a) and (b) will generate 160 points. 150 

Student Result Points 
HS Diploma plus 
(a) At least one passing course grade for TOPS core 
curriculum credit of the following type: AP**, college credit, 
dual enrollment, or IB** 
 OR 
(b) Basic statewide Jump Start credential 
*Students achieving both (a) and (b) will generate 115 points. 
**Students must take the AP/IB exam and pass the course to 
earn 110 points. 110 
Four-year graduate (includes Career Diploma student with a 
regional Jump Start credential)  100 
Five-year graduate with any diploma 
*Five-year graduates who earn an AP score of 3 or higher, an 
IB score of 4 or higher, or a CLEP score of 50 or higher will 
generate 140 points. 75 
Six-year graduate with any diploma 50 
HiSET 25 
Non-graduate without HiSET 0 

 
C. The graduation index of a school shall be the average 

number of points earned by cohort members. 
1. Starting with the graduating class of 2017-2018 

(2019 SPS), only WIC-approved industry based 
certifications (IBCs) will be included as basic statewide 
credentials.  

D.1. The diploma must be earned no later than the third 
administration of the summer retest following the fourth 
year of high school of the students' cohort. 

a. For example, a student who finishes the fourth 
year of high school in 2012 must complete the assessment 
requirements before or during the 2014 summer test 
administration. 

2. When related to awarding fifth year graduate 
points, the enrollment must be continuous and consist of at 
least 45 calendar days. 

E. To ensure the accuracy of data used to calculate the 
graduation index, the calculation shall lag one year behind 
the collection of the data. (The index earned by the 
graduating class of 2012 will be used for 2013 accountability 
calculations.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1025 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:2031 (October 2007), LR 33:2594 (December 
2007), LR 35:1472 (August 2009), LR 36:1769 (August 2010), 
repromulgated LR 36:1994 (September 2010), LR 36:2243 
(October 2010), LR 37:3201 (November 2011), LR 38:1391 (June 
2012), LR 38:3109 (December 2012), LR 39:306 (February 2013), 
LR 39:2444 (September 2013), LR 40:1317 (July 2014), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 
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2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2015, to Shan N. 
Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,

P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9064.  

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policies will have no effect on costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units.   

The proposed policy revisions update and clarify policy 
related to the graduation index. A table related to the 2012-
2013 cohort is removed and the policy updates and clarifies the 
timeline for Industry Based Certifications. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1501#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards 
and Practices (LAC 28:CXI.3307) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 118―Statewide 
Assessment Standards and Practices: §3307, Limited 
English Proficient Students. The proposed revisions align 
policy with assessment accommodations for limited English 
proficient students in grades 3-8 who speak Spanish. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXI.  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 
Standards and Practices 

Chapter 33. Assessment of Special Populations 
§3307. Limited English Proficient Students 

A. - C.1.e. … 
D. Spanish language versions of math state assessments 

are provided for limited English proficient (LEP) students in 
grades 3 through 8. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq., and R.S. 17:24.4 (F)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1562 (July 2005), amended by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, LR 32:240 (February 2006), LR 33:264 
(February 2007), LR 33:1010 (June 2007), LR 36:983 (May 2010), 
LR 37:821 (March 2011) ), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2015, to Shan N. 
Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9064.  

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policies will have no effect on costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions align policy with assessment 
accommodations for limited English proficient students in 
grades 3 - 8 who speak Spanish and update language related to 
accommodations for students with disabilities. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1501#022 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations (LAC 28:CLXI.Chapters 1-21) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early 
Learning Center Licensing Regulations. Act 868 (Early
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Learning Center Act) of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session transfers licensing authority from the Department of 
Children and Family Services (DCFS) to the Louisiana 
Department of Education (LDE), effective October 1, 2014. 
The law requires BESE to establish statewide minimum 
standards for the health, safety and well-being of children in 
early learning centers, ensure maintenance of these 
standards, and regulate conditions in early learning centers 
through a program of licensing administered by the LDE. As 
required by law, the LDE has worked with various 
stakeholders including early learning center providers (child 
care, head start/early head start, nonpublic), the state 
sanitarian, the fire marshal, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, and the Department of Children and Family 
Services since August of 2013 to develop the proposed 
regulations.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CLXI.  Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning 
Center Licensing Regulations 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Purpose and Authorization  

A. The purpose of this bulletin is to set forth the rules 
and regulations necessary to implement the provisions of 
R.S. 17:407.31 et seq. that require the state Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) to establish 
statewide minimum standards for the health, safety and well-
being of children in early learning centers, ensure 
maintenance of these standards, and regulate conditions in 
early learning centers through a program of licensing 
administered by the Department of Education, Licensing 
Division (Licensing Division).  

B. The state superintendent of education (state 
superintendent), in order to carry out functions otherwise 
vested in the state superintendent by law, or by delegation of 
authority pursuant to law, is authorized to make, issue, 
rescind, and amend Licensing Division guidelines, 
interpretive guidance and procedures governing the early 
childhood licensing program administered by the Licensing 
Division.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.32. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41:  
§103. Definitions 

Anniversary Date—the last day of the month in which the 
center’s original license was issued and the date by which 
the license must be renewed each year. 

APA—Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act found at 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Behavior Management—the ongoing positive process of 
helping children develop inner control so that they can 
manage their own behavior in an appropriate and acceptable 
manner by using corrective action to change the 
inappropriate behavior. 

BESE—Louisiana State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

Bureau—Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and 
Information, part of the Office of State Police within the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 

Camp—any place or center operated by any institution, 
society, agency, corporation, person or persons, or any other

group that serves only children ages five and older and 
operates only when schools are not in session for the 
summer months or school holidays. 

Capacity—the number of children the provider is licensed 
to care for at any given time as determined by the Licensing 
Division.  

CBC—criminal background check. 
Center—see early learning center.  
Center staff—see staff. 
Change of Location—change in physical address/location 

of the center. 
Change of Ownership—a transfer of ownership of a 

currently licensed center that is in operation and caring for 
children, to another entity without a break in service to the 
children currently enrolled. 

Child—person who has not reached age 18 or otherwise 
been legally emancipated. 

Child Care Health Consultant—qualified health and safety 
professional approved by DHH to provide training, 
consultation, and technical assistance to out of home child 
care facilities and early childhood education staff (and 
parents) on health and safety topics. 

Child Care Market Rate Survey—a survey that measures 
the prices charged by child care providers and paid by 
parents in a given child care market. The Child Care and 
Development Fund Programs require states to conduct child 
care market rate surveys. 

Child Day Care Center—any place or center operated by 
any institution, political subdivision, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance of 
seven or more children, not including those related to the 
caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or legal custodian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. 

1. If a child day care center provides transportation or 
arranges for transportation to and from the center, either 
directly or by contract with third parties, all hours that a 
child is being transported shall be included in the calculation 
of the hours of operation. 

2. A child day care center that remains open for more 
than 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day week, and in which 
no individual child remains for more than 24 hours in one 
continuous stay shall be known as a full-time child day care 
center.  

3. A child day care center that remains open after 9 
p.m. shall meet the appropriate regulations established for 
nighttime care. 

Child Safety Alarm—an ignition-based alarm system that 
voice prompts the driver to inspect the vehicle for children 
before exiting the vehicle. 

Clock Hour—60 minutes. 
Complaint—an allegation that an owner, provider, or staff 

person is violating any provision of these standards or laws, 
or engaging in conduct, either by omission or commission, 
that negatively affects the health, safety, or well-being of any 
child for which the provider has responsibility. 

DAL—Division of Administrative Law. 
Day Care Center—see child day care center. 
DCFS—Department of Children and Family Services. 
Department—Department of Education.  
DHH—Department of Health and Hospitals. 
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Director—the staff who is responsible for the day-to-day 
operation, management, and administration of the center. For 
the purpose of these regulations, the term “director” means 
director or director designee, if applicable. 

Director Designee—the individual appointed by the 
director to act in lieu of the director when the director is not 
an on-site staff person at the licensed location. This 
individual shall meet director qualifications. 

Discipline—see behavior management. 
Direct Supervision—physically present with visual contact 

at all times and available to respond immediately to the 
emergency needs of children. 

Disqualification Period—the prescriptive period during 
which a center shall not be qualified to submit an application 
for licensure after its license has been revoked, renewal has 
been refused or its license has been surrendered to avoid 
adverse action due to failure to comply with licensing laws, 
regulations or minimum standards.  

Early Learning Staff—see staff. 
Early Learning Center—any child day care center, early 

head start center, head start center, or stand-alone 
prekindergarten program that is not attached to a school. 

Employee—all full or part time paid staff who perform 
services for the center and have direct or indirect contact 
with children at the center. 

Extra-Curricular Personnel—see independent 
contractors.  

Federal Food and Nutrition Programs—federal nutrition 
reimbursement programs funded by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture through the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Division of Nutrition Support.  

Foster Grandparents—a program organized by an agency 
that recruits and trains seniors to provide one-on-one 
attention to a child or to assist a group of children. 

Full-Time—physical presence at the center Monday 
through Friday for at least 32 hours. 

Head Start and Early Head Start Programs—federally-
funded early childhood care and education programs that 
promote and teach school readiness to children ages birth to 
five from low-income families and provide services in the 
areas of education, social services for families, nutrition, 
family engagement, health and mental health, as well as 
providing the physical plant and instructional staff members 
for such purposes. 

Independent Contractors—individuals who are not 
employees of the center, but who render professional, 
therapeutic, or enrichment services within an early learning 
center and who are not required to be under the supervision 
of center staff. Independent contractors include, but are not 
limited to, extra-curricular personnel (dance instructors, 
gymnastic or sports instructors, computer instructors, etc.), 
therapeutic professionals (speech therapists, nutritionists, 
early interventionists, nurses and other licensed health care 
professionals), local school district staff, Department of 
Education, Office of Early Childhood staff, contracted bus 
drivers, electricians and maintenance personnel, and other 
outside contractors. 

Infant—a child who has not yet reached his/her first 
birthday. 

License—any license issued by the Louisiana Department 
of Education, Licensing Division to operate an early learning 
center. 

License Type—the type of license applied for or held by 
an early learning center, which include type I, type II, and 
type III licenses. 

Licensing Division—Louisiana Department of Education, 
Licensing Division. 

Mandated Reporter—professionals who may work with 
children in the course of their professional duties and who 
consequently are required to report all suspected cases of 
child abuse and neglect. This includes any person who 
provides training or supervision of a child, such as a public 
or private school teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional aide, 
school principal, school staff member, social worker, 
probation officer, any other child care institution staff 
member, licensed or unlicensed day care provider, any 
individual who provides such services to a child, or any 
other person made a mandatory reporter under Children’s 
Code article 603 or other applicable law.  

Medication—all internally and externally administered 
drugs, whether over-the-counter or prescribed. 

Monitor—staff with specific transportation-related 
responsibilities that include assisting the driver in ensuring 
the safety of children while they ride in, board, or exit a 
vehicle, and during transportation emergencies. 

Nighttime Care—care provided after 9 p.m. and prior to 5 
a.m. in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay. 

Non-Vehicular Excursion—any activity that takes place 
outside of the licensed area (play yard and premises), that is 
within a safe, reasonable, walking distance, and that does not 
require transportation in a motor vehicle. This does not 
include walking with children to and from schools.  

Notice—written notice to an early learning center is 
considered given: 

1. when it is sent by email or fax to the email address 
or fax number furnished by the center on the center’s current 
application for licensure or renewal; 

2. when it is hand-delivered to a staff member at the 
center; or 

3. on the fifth calendar day after it was mailed to the 
mailing address furnished by the center on the center’s 
current application for licensure or renewal. 

Office of Early Childhood—Louisiana Department of 
Education, Office of Early Childhood. 

Office of Public Health—Louisiana Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of Public Health. 

Owner or Operator—the individual who exercises 
ownership or control over an early learning center, whether 
such ownership or control is direct or indirect. 

Parent—parent or custodian. 
Posted—prominently displayed in a conspicuous location 

in an area accessible to and regularly used by parents. 
Prekindergarten Programs— 

1. per R.S. 17:24.8(A), the youngest age at which a 
child may enter prekindergarten at a local public school is 
four years on or before September 30 of the calendar year in 
which the school year begins; 

2. per R.S. 17:24.8(B), the youngest age at which a 
child may enter prekindergarten at a BESE-approved 
nonpublic school is 3 years old by September 30 of the year 
in which the child enrolls in prekindergarten. 

Premises—buildings and land upon which buildings sit, 
including but not limited to play yards and parking areas. 
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Providers—all owners, operators and directors of a center. 
Related or Relative—natural or adopted child or 

grandchild of the caregiver or a child in legal custody of 
caregiver. 

Rest Time—a daily period for children over age 12 months 
during which children are placed on mats or cots or in cribs 
as age appropriate. 

Staff—all full-time or part-time, paid or non-paid 
individuals that perform services for the early learning 
center and have direct or indirect contact with children at the 
center. Staff includes the director, child care staff, and any 
other employees at the center such as the cook, housekeeper, 
driver, substitutes, secretary, bookkeeper, and foster 
grandparents, but does not include extra-curricular 
personnel, therapeutic professionals and other independent 
contractors. 

Staff-in-Charge—the on-site staff member appointed by 
the director as responsible for supervising the operation of 
the center during the temporary absence of the director or 
during nighttime hours. 

State Central Registry—repository within the Louisiana 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) that 
identifies any individual reported to have a justified (valid) 
finding of abuse or neglect of a child or children by DCFS. 

State Superintendent—Louisiana state superintendent of 
education. 

Student Trainee—a student who is at least age 16 and 
present in the center as an educational course requirement. A 
student trainee shall not be left alone with children and shall 
not counted in the child to staff ratio. 

Supervision—the function of observing, overseeing, and 
guiding a child or group of children, that includes awareness 
of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of each child 
and being near enough to intervene if needed. Supervision 
requires physical presence, accountability for care of the 
children, knowledge of activity requirements, and 
knowledge of the abilities and needs of the children. 

Temporary Absence—absence for running errands, 
attending conferences, etc. 

Therapeutic Professionals—see independent contractors. 
Time-Out—technique for temporarily separating a child 

when inappropriate behavior has occurred, and is intended to 
give a child time to calm down, thereby discouraging such 
behavior. 

Transportation—the arranging or providing of 
transportation of children, whether center-provided, parent-
provided, or contract-provided, for any reason, including 
daily transportation, transportation for field trips, or 
transportation for any other activity that takes place away 
from the licensed center. 

Unlicensed Operation—the operation of any early 
learning center at any location, without a valid current 
license issued by the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Licensing Division. 

Visitor—anyone who enters an early learning center other 
than the parent of an enrolled child, center staff, volunteers, 
extracurricular personnel, therapeutic professionals and 
other independent contractors, and in the case of a church or 
school, any other routine employees, including but not 
limited to a pastor, principal or teacher. 

Volunteer—a full or part-time non-paid staff member. 
Water Activity—a water-related activity in which children 

are in, on, near and accessible to, or immersed in, a body of 
water, including but not limited to a swimming pool, wading 
pool, water park, river, lake, or beach. 

Water Play Activity—water-related activity in which there 
is no standing water, including but not limited to fountains, 
sprinklers, water slip-and-slides and water tables. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.31 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 3. Licensure 
§301. Requirement of Licensure 

A. All early learning centers shall be licensed prior to 
beginning operations in Louisiana. 

B. A prekindergarten program operated by a public 
school serving children in grades kindergarten and above, 
and in which all children have not reached age 4 by 
September 30 of the current school year, shall be licensed. 

C. A prekindergarten program operated by a private 
school serving children in grades kindergarten and above, 
and in which all children have not reached age 3 by 
September 30 of the current school year, shall be licensed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.34 and R.S. 17:407.24.8. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§303. Exemptions from Licensure  

A. A public or non-public day school serving children in 
grades kindergarten and above, including any pre-
kindergarten attached thereto, except as provided in §301.B 
and C, is exempt from the provisions of this bulletin.  

B. Camps and all care given without charge are exempt 
from the provisions of this bulletin.  

C. A center operated by a recognized religious 
organization that is qualified as a tax-exempt organization 
under §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and that does 
not operate more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week 
shall not be considered an early learning center for purposes 
of this bulletin.  

D. Nothing in this bulletin shall apply to children in 
programs licensed or operated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals (DHH) or the Department of Children and 
Family Services (DCFS). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.35. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§305. Operating Without a License; Penalties 

A. Whoever operates any early learning center without a 
valid license shall be fined by the Licensing Division not 
less than $1,000 per day for each day of such offense.  

B. If an early learning center is operating without a valid 
license, the Licensing Division shall file suit for injunctive 
relief in the district court in the parish in which the center is 
located to enjoin the owner or operator from continuing the 
violation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.37. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§307. Types of Licenses 

A. A “type I license” is the type of license issued to an 
early learning center that is owned or operated by a church 
or religious organization that is qualified as a tax exempt 
organization under §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code 
and that receives no state or federal funds directly or 
indirectly from any source. 

1. Grandfathering Clause. A “type I license” is also 
the type of license issued to any early learning center 
holding a “class B” license on October 1, 2014, provided the 
center receives no state or federal funds directly or indirectly 
from any source. “Class B” licenses held by other than tax 
exempt church or religious organizations on October 1, 2014 
shall be grandfathered in as type I centers for the life of the 
existing license. However, if a type I license held by other 
than a tax exempt church or religious organization expires, is 
revoked, or is terminated for any reason, or if a new license 
is required for any reason, including but not limited to a 
change in location or ownership, the center shall not be 
eligible for a new type I license and shall apply for either a 
type II or type III license.  

2. No early learning center holding a type I license 
shall directly or indirectly receive any state or federal funds 
from any source. 

3. If an early learning center holding a type I license 
directly or indirectly receives any state or federal funds, its 
license is immediately revoked. 

B. A “type II license” is the type of license issued to an 
early learning center that either receives no state or federal 
funds directly or indirectly from any source or whose only 
source of state or federal funds is from U.S. Department of 
Agriculture’s food and nutrition programs, hereinafter 
referred to in this bulletin as “federal food and nutrition 
programs.” 

1. No early learning center holding a type II license 
shall directly or indirectly receive any state or federal funds 
from any source, other than those funds received solely for 
federal food and nutrition programs. 

2. If an early learning center holding a type II license 
directly or indirectly receives any state or federal funds from 
any source, other than those received solely for food and 
nutrition programs, its license is immediately revoked. 

C. A "type III license" is the type of license issued to an 
early learning center that directly or indirectly receives state 
or federal funds from any source other than the federal food 
and nutrition programs.  

1. Type III early learning centers shall meet the 
performance and academic standards of the Early Childhood 
Care and Education Network regarding kindergarten 
readiness as determined by BESE.  

D. Nothing in this Section shall prevent an early learning 
center otherwise qualified for a type I license to voluntarily 
seek a type II or type III license, or an early learning center 
otherwise qualified for a type II license to voluntarily seek a 
type III license, provided that such early learning center 
meets the standards set forth for such license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.36. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§309. Term of License 

A. The Licensing Division is authorized to determine the 
period for which a license shall be valid. A license is valid 
for the period for which it is issued unless it is revoked or 
suspended by the Licensing Division for non-compliance 
with the licensing laws, regulations or minimum standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407. 39(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§311. Posting of License 

A. Each early learning center shall display its current 
license in a prominent place at the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§313. Annual Licensure Fee 

A. There shall be an annual licensure fee for each early 
learning center based on the licensed capacity of the center.  

B. Annual Licensure Fees  
 

Licensed Capacity Annual License Fee 
15 or fewer children $25 
16-50 children $100 
51-100 children $175 
101 or more children $250 

 
C. Pursuant to R.S. 17:407.39(G), annual licensure fees 

shall not apply to type I centers operated by churches or 
religious organizations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39(E). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§315. Inspections 

A. The Licensing Division, through its duly authorized 
agents, shall inspect at regular intervals not to exceed one 
year, and as deemed necessary by the Licensing Division 
and without previous notice, all early learning centers 
subject to the provisions of this bulletin. 

B. Whenever the Licensing Division is advised or has 
reason to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating a non-exempt early learning center without a 
license, the Licensing Division shall initiate an investigation 
to ascertain the facts. 

C. Whenever the Licensing Division is advised or has 
reason to believe that any person, agency or organization is 
operating in violation of licensing laws, regulations or 
minimum standards, the Licensing Division shall complete a 
complaint investigation. All reports of mistreatment of 
children coming to the attention of the Licensing Division 
shall be referred to the appropriate agencies, and law 
enforcement personnel if applicable.  

D. The Licensing Division may apply for an 
administrative search warrant to obtain entry to an early 
learning center, if necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.43. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 40: 
§317. Transitional Provisions 

A. Effective immediately, any early learning center 
possessing a class B license that receives no state or federal 
funds directly or indirectly from any source is deemed to be 
a type I center and its current license remains valid for the 
term stated on the face of the license. A new license shall be 
issued upon renewal of the existing license.  

B. Effective immediately, any early learning center 
possessing a class A or class B license that either receives no 
state or federal funds directly or indirectly from any source 
or whose only source of state or federal funds is from federal 
food and nutrition programs is deemed a type II center and 
its current license remains valid for the term stated on the 
face of the license. A new license shall be issued upon 
renewal of the existing license.  

C. Effective immediately, any early learning possessing a 
class A or class B license that receives state or federal funds 
directly or indirectly from any source other than the federal 
food and nutrition programs is deemed a type III center and 
its current license remains valid for the term stated on the 
face of the license. A new license shall be issued upon 
renewal of the existing license.  

D. Nothing in this Section shall prevent an early learning 
center otherwise qualified for a type I license from 
voluntarily seeking a type II or type III license, or an early 
learning center otherwise qualified for a type II license from 
voluntarily seeking a type III license, provided that such 
center meets the standards set forth for such licenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.36 and R.S. 17:407.38(c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§319. Waivers  

A. The state superintendent, pursuant to authority 
delegated by BESE, may, in specific instances, waive 
compliance with a minimum standard or regulation if it is 
determined that the economic impact is sufficiently great to 
make compliance impractical, as long as the health and well-
being of staff and children are not imperiled. If it is 
determined that the center or agency is meeting or exceeding 
the intent of the standard or regulation, the standard or 
regulation may be deemed to be met. 

B. Minimum licensing standards shall not be waived 
unless the state superintendent determines, upon clear and 
convincing evidence, that the demonstrated economic impact 
is sufficiently great to make compliance impractical for the 
center despite diligent efforts, and alternative means have 
been put in place that ensure the health, safety, and well-
being of children and staff. 

C. An application for a waiver shall be submitted in 
writing to the Licensing Division using the request for 
waiver form.  

D. Any waiver is issued at the discretion of the state 
superintendent and may be revoked by the state 
superintendent at any time, either upon violation of any 
condition attached to it or upon the determination of the state 
superintendent that continuance of the waiver is no longer in 
the best interest of children in care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 5. Ownership of Early Learning Centers 
§501. Definitions 

Corporation—any entity incorporated in Louisiana, or 
incorporated in another state and registered with the 
secretary of state in Louisiana, and legally authorized to do 
business in Louisiana.  

Individual Owner—a natural person who directly owns a 
center without setting up a juridical entity.  

Juridical Entity—a corporation, partnership, limited-
liability company, church, university or governmental entity 

Natural Person—a human being.  
Ownership—the right that confers on a person direct, 

immediate and exclusive authority over a thing. The owner 
of a thing may use, enjoy and dispose of it within the limits 
and under the conditions established by law.  

1. Direct Ownership—when the immediate owner is a 
natural person who exercises control personally rather than 
through a juridical entity.  

2. Indirect Ownership—when the immediate owner is 
a juridical entity. 

Partnership—any general or limited partnership licensed 
or authorized to do business in Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.31 et seq., R.S. 17:407.41, and R.S. 17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§503. Individuals and Entities as Owners for Licensing 

Purposes 
A. Individuals by organizational type who are considered 

owners for licensing purposes: 
1. individuals—individual and spouse, unless the 

business is the separate property of the licensee acquired 
before his or her marriage, acquired through a judicial 
separation of property agreement or acquired via a judicial 
termination of the community of aquets and gains; 

2. partnerships—all limited or general partners and 
managers, including but not limited to all persons registered 
as limited or general partners in the Secretary of State’s 
Corporations Division; 

3. head start centers—individual responsible for 
supervising center directors; 

4. church-owned, government entity, or university-
owned—any clergy member or board member that is present 
in the early learning center during the hours of operation or 
when children are present. Clergy or board members not 
present in the early learning center shall complete a 
statement attesting to such; 

5. corporations (includes limited liability 
companies) 

a. any person who has 25 percent or greater share in 
the ownership or management of the business; or  

b. any person who has less than a 25 percent share 
in the ownership or management of the business and meets 
one or more of the following criteria: 
 i. has unsupervised access to the children in care 
at the center; 
 ii. is present in the center during hours of 
operation; 
 iii. makes decisions regarding the day-to-day 
operations of the center; 
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 iv. hires or fires staff including the director; or 
 v. oversees staff or conducts personnel 
evaluations of the staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.31 et seq., R.S. 17:407.41, and R.S. 17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§505. Prohibitions 

A. Criminal Offenses. No person who has been 
convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C), shall directly or indirectly 
own, operate, or participate in the governance of an early 
learning center.  

B. Crimes of Fraud. In addition, neither an owner, nor a 
director, nor a director designee shall have been convicted 
of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any of the following 
crimes of fraud: 18 U.S.C. 287, 18 U.S.C. 1341, R.S. 
14:67.11, R.S. 14:68.2, R.S. 14:70, R.S. 14:70.1, R.S. 
14:70.4, R.S. 14:70.5, R.S. 14:70.7, R.S. 14:70.8, R.S. 
14:71, R.S. 14:71.1, R.S. 14:71.3, R.S. 14:72, R.S. 14:72.1, 
R.S. 14:72.1.1, R.S. 14:72.4, R.S. 14:72.5, R.S. 14:73.5, and 
R.S. 14:133. 

C. State Central Registry in DCFS. No individual whose 
name is recorded on the state central registry within DCFS 
as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) finding of abuse or 
neglect of a child pursuant to R.S. 46:1414.1 shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate, or participate in the governance of 
an early learning center, unless the individual has a current 
determination from DCFS indicating that he or she does not 
pose a risk to children.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§507. Criminal Background Checks for Owners  

A. All owners of an early learning center shall provide 
the center documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint based 
criminal background check (CBC) or provide the center 
information, signatures and fingerprints necessary for the 
center to obtain a CBC. A copy of a CBC shall be submitted 
for each owner with an initial application for licensure and 
the center shall have copies of said documentation on-site at 
all times and available for inspection upon request by the 
Licensing Division.  

1. CBC from Bureau. An early learning center may 
request a CBC from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information (bureau) for any owner by 
submitting a request to the bureau that shall be made on a 
form prepared by the bureau, signed by a responsible officer 
or official of the center, and include a statement signed by 
the person about whom the request is being made giving 
permission for such information to be released and the 
person’s fingerprints in a form acceptable to the bureau. 

2. Certified Copy of Individual’s CBC. An owner of a 
center may provide a certified copy of his/her CBC obtained 
from the bureau to the center, and it shall be accepted for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance by the bureau. 
Prior to the one year expiration of an owner provided 
certified CBC, a new satisfactory fingerprint based CBC 
shall be obtained by the center or the person is no longer 
eligible to own, operate, or participate in the governance of 
the center.  

3. Affidavits for Specified Owners. If a person owns 
less than a 25 percent share in the ownership or management 
of an early learning center and does not meet one or more of 
the criteria listed in §503.A.5.b, said owner may submit a 
signed, notarized affidavit to the center in lieu of providing a 
CBC. The affidavit shall acknowledge that the individual has 
less than a 25 percent share in the ownership or management 
of the early learning center and does not meet any of the 
criteria listed in §503.A.5.b. 

B. New members and owners that are to be added to a 
partnership, church, corporation, limited liability company 
or governmental entity, where such change does not 
constitute a change in ownership for licensing purposes, 
shall provide the center with documentation of a satisfactory 
CBC in the same manner as original owners and members. 

C. A CBC is satisfactory for purposes of this Bulletin if 
it shows no arrests for any enumerated offense, or if an arrest 
is shown on the CBC for any excludable offense, the CBC or 
documentation from the jurisdiction of arrest affirmatively 
shows that the charges were disposed of without a 
conviction. A plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be 
deemed to be a conviction. 

D. If a CBC shows that any owner, operator or other 
participant in the governance of the center has been 
convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere of any 
enumerated offense under R.S. 15:587.1(C), or those crimes 
of fraud listed in §505.B, the center, upon receipt of the 
result, shall submit the information to the Licensing Division 
within 24 hours or no later than the next business day, 
whichever is sooner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§509. State Central Registry Disclosure Forms for 

Owners 
A. An early learning center shall obtain a copy of a 

completed state central registry disclosure form indicating 
no justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect, or a current 
finding by the DCFS indicating that the individual does not 
pose a risk to children, for each owner with its initial 
application for a license, and the center shall have said 
documentation on-site at all times and available for 
inspection upon request by the Licensing Division. 

B. All owners of an early learning center shall report on 
the state central registry disclosure form prior to being on 
the premises of the center, and shall update the report 
annually, and at any time upon request by the Licensing 
Division, whether or not the individual’s name is currently 
recorded on the state central registry for a justified finding of 
abuse or neglect, or shall submit a current finding by the 
DCFS indicating that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

C. Any state central registry disclosure form that is 
maintained by an early learning center is subject to the 
confidentiality provisions of R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to 
investigations of abuse and neglect.  

D. New members and owners to be added to a 
partnership, church, corporation, limited liability corporation 
or governmental entity, where such change does not 
constitute a change in ownership for licensing purposes,
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shall provide a completed state central registry disclosure 
form or a current finding by the DCFS indicating that the 
individual does not pose a risk to children in the same 
manner as original owners and members. 

E. Within 24 hours or no later than the next business day, 
whichever is shorter, of current owners receiving notice of a 
justified (valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect against 
them, an updated state central registry disclosure form shall 
be completed by the owner and submitted to Licensing 
Division.  

1. The owner shall request a risk evaluation 
assessment from DCFS in accordance with LAC 67:I.305 
within 10 calendar days from completion of the state central 
registry disclosure form or the license shall be revoked.  

2. Immediately upon the knowledge that a justified 
(valid) finding has been issued by DCFS, the owner, at any 
and all times when he/she is in the presence of a child or 
children, shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
(employee) of the center. Under no circumstances may an 
owner with a justified finding be left alone and unsupervised 
with a child or children pending the determination by DCFS 
that the owner does not pose a risk to children.  

3. Any owner with a justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect on the state central registry must submit, 
together with the disclosure form required above either:  

a. a written, signed, and dated statement to 
Licensing Division acknowledging that they are aware of the 
supervision requirements and understand that under no 
circumstances are they to be left alone and unsupervised 
with a child and that they shall be directly supervised by a 
paid staff (employee) of the center; or  

b. a written, signed, and dated statement to 
Licensing Division that he/she will not be on the premises of 
the center at any time when a child is present nor during the 
center’s hours of operation.  

4. If DCFS determines that the owner poses a risk to 
children, the center shall no longer be eligible for licensure 
and an existing license shall be revoked.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 7. Licensing Process and Procedures 
§701. Initial Application Process  

A. Forms. Applications for licensure of new early 
learning centers shall be made to the Licensing Division on 
forms furnished by the Licensing Division. See the 
Department of Education’s website for current forms and for 
directions as to how and where applications for licensure 
may be submitted. 

B. Each center shall provide a current email address to 
the Licensing Division on its initial application for licensure. 
The center shall maintain a current email address and notify 
the Licensing Division immediately upon a change in such 
email address by submitting a change of email address form 
to amend the existing licensing application. All 
communication from the Licensing Division shall be sent via 
email to the most recent email address provided to the 
Licensing Division on the center’s current application for 
licensure or renewal. 

C. Initial Licensing Packet. After the center’s location 
has been established, a completed initial licensing packet 
shall be submitted to the Licensing Division. 

D. Review of Licensing Packet  
1. If a submitted application is incomplete, the 

Licensing Division shall notify the applicant of the missing 
information.  

a. The applicant shall have 21 calendar days from 
receipt of notification to submit the additional information. 

b. If the Licensing Division does not receive the 
additional information within 14 calendar days of 
notification, the application shall be closed and the 
application fee shall be forfeited. 

c. Once an application has been closed, an applicant 
still interested in obtaining a license must submit a new 
application and application fee. 

2. If the application is complete, the Licensing 
Division will notify the applicant and will request the Office 
of State Fire Marshall, city fire (if applicable), Office of 
Public Health, and Office of Early Childhood to make an 
inspection of the center, as per their standards. However, it is 
the applicant’s responsibility to obtain these inspections and 
approvals. 

a. Upon receipt of notification that an application is 
complete, the applicant has 45 calendar days in which to 
coordinate an on-site inspection of the center by the 
Licensing Division.  

b. If the applicant fails to coordinate the inspection 
within 45 calendar days, the application shall be closed and 
the application fee shall be forfeited 

c. Once an application has been closed, an applicant 
still interested in obtaining a license must submit a new 
application and application fee. 

E. Initial Licensure. A license shall be issued on a 
completed initial application when the following items have 
been met and written verification has been received by the 
Licensing Division:  

1. Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
2. Office of Public Health approval; 
3. city fire approval, if applicable; 
4. zoning approval, if applicable; 
5. Office of Early Childhood approval, if type III 

center; 
6. full licensure fee paid; 
7. licensure inspection verifying compliance with all 

minimum standards; 
8. satisfactory criminal background check for all 

owners, operators, and staff; and 
9. completed state central registry disclosure forms for 

all owners, operators, and staff indicating no justified (valid) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect, or documentation from 
DCFS indicating that the owner, operator, or staff person 
does not pose a risk to children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§703. Initial Inspection Process  

A. An initial licensing inspection, including a 
measurement of the indoor and outdoor enclosed space, shall 
be conducted at the center to assure compliance with all 
licensing laws, regulations and minimum standards. 

1. If the center is in operation in violation of the law, 
the initial licensing inspection shall not be conducted, the 
application shall be denied and the Licensing Division shall 
pursue appropriate legal remedies. 
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2. If the initial inspection indicates that an early 
learning center is in compliance with all licensing laws, 
regulations and minimum standards, the Licensing Division 
may issue a license. 

3. If an initial inspection indicates that an early 
learning center is in compliance with all minimum standards, 
except the following, the center will be allowed 90 calendar 
days from receipt of the initial completed application to 
submit documentation of compliance with the following, and 
the application may be denied if the information is not 
received within the 90 calendar days: 

a. Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
b. city fire approval, if applicable; 
c. Office of Public Health approval; 
d. Office of Early Childhood Approval, if type III 

center; 
e. documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint based 

criminal background check for all staff not previously 
provided; and 

f. documentation of a completed state central 
registry disclosure form noting indicating no justified (valid) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect of a child or a finding from 
DCFS that the person does not pose a risk to children for all 
staff not previously provided. 

B. Once it has been determined that a center is in 
compliance with all licensing laws, regulations and 
minimum standards, the Licensing Division shall notify the 
center of its total licensure fee based on its capacity.  

1. The $25 application fee shall be applied towards 
the total licensure fee. 

2. The total licensure fee shall be due prior to the 
issuance of a license, and no later than 90 calendar days 
from receipt of the initial completed application packet. 

3. Pursuant to R.S. 17:407.39(G), the annual licensure 
fee shall not apply to type I centers owned or operated by 
churches or religious organizations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§705. Access  

A. An early learning center shall allow the Licensing 
Division staff access to the center, the children, and all files 
and records at any time during any hours of operation or any 
time a child is present. 

B. Licensing Division staff shall be allowed to interview 
any center staff person deemed necessary by the Licensing 
Division. 

C. Licensing Division staff shall be admitted into a 
center immediately and without delay and shall be given free 
access to all areas of a center, including its grounds. 

D. If any portion of a center is set aside for private use 
by an owner of the center, Licensing Division staff shall be 
permitted to verify that no children are present in that 
portion of the center and that such private areas are 
inaccessible to children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.43. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§707. Fees 

A. All fees shall be paid by money order, certified check, 
government check, or electronic payment where available, 

and are non-refundable. Payments shall be made to the 
Louisiana Department of Education, Licensing Division.  

1. Administrative Fees  
a. An administrative fee of $25 shall be submitted 

with each application for initial licensure. This fee shall be 
applied toward the total licensure fee, which is due prior to 
the issuance of an initial license, if applicable. 

b. An administrative fee of $25 shall be submitted 
for any change that requires the issuance of a new license or 
the reissuance of a current license outside of the regular 
renewal of the license. Some examples include changes in 
capacity, name, age range, and transportation. 

c. An administrative fee of $5 is required to issue a 
duplicate license with no changes. 

d. All early learning centers are required to pay 
administrative fees. 

2. Annual Licensure Fees  
a. The full licensure fee based on licensed capacity, 

as provided in §313, shall be submitted prior to the issuance 
of an initial license and shall be submitted with all renewal 
applications.  

b. The full licensure fee based on licensed capacity 
shall be submitted with an application for a change of 
ownership, location or type of license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39 and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§709. Validity of Licenses 

A. A license shall apply only to the location stated on the 
license and shall not transfer from one location to another or 
from one owner to another.  

B. If the location or owner of an early learning center 
changes, the license becomes null and void.  

C. When a business is sold, discontinued, the operation 
has moved to a new location, or the license has been 
revoked, the current license immediately becomes null and 
void. 

D. A new application shall not be processed if an 
application or license is currently on file with the Licensing 
Division for the same location, with the exception of a 
change of ownership application 

E. Two licenses shall not be issued simultaneously for 
the same physical address.  

F. All early learning care and education provided at a 
physical address shall be included under one license. 

G. If an early learning center operates summer and/or 
holiday camps at the location, such care shall be included 
under a single license for the location. 

H. All new construction or renovation of a center 
requires approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal, the 
Office of Public Health and the Licensing Division prior to 
occupying the new or renovated space.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39(C) and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§711. Renewal Applications 

A. A license must be renewed by the last day of the 
month in which the current license expires.  

B. An application for renewal of a license shall be 
submitted to the Licensing Division on a form furnished by 
the Licensing Division.  
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C. Each center is solely responsible for obtaining the 
form to apply for renewal of a license and timely applying 
for renewal. Notice of time for renewal shall not be sent by 
the Licensing Division. 

D. Renewal applications should be submitted prior to the 
first day of the month in which the current license expires. 

E. If a complete renewal application, including the total 
annual licensure fee and all required documentation, is not 
received by or postmarked by the last day of the month in 
which the license expires, the license expires and shall not 
be renewed.  

F. If a license expires, the early learning center shall 
cease operation by close of business on the expiration date 
stated on the license. An application for a new license shall 
be required if the owner desires to resume operations at the 
center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40 and R.S. 17:407.43. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§713. Renewal and Other Inspection Procedures 

A. Annual inspections and current approvals by the 
Office of Public Health, Office of State Fire Marshal, city 
fire (if applicable), Office of Early Childhood (if type III 
center) and the Licensing Division shall be required before 
the expiration of an existing license. 

1. Required approvals from these agencies may be 
extended by such authorized agencies through written 
communication with the center or the Licensing Division. 

2. A renewal inspection by the Licensing Division is 
similar to the initial licensing inspection. 

a. Documentation of the previous 12 months of 
activities at a center shall be available for review during 
renewal and other inspections.  

B. After initial licensure, inspections shall be conducted 
as deemed necessary by the Licensing Division at regular 
intervals not to exceed one year, and without notice to the 
early learning center.  

C. The director shall have an opportunity to review 
inspection deficiencies (if any) in consultation with 
Licensing Division staff. 

1. If the director is not present at the center or is 
unable or unwilling to review the inspection deficiencies, the 
Licensing Division staff shall review with any staff at the 
center. 

2. If Licensing Division staff is unable to conduct 
such a review due to the absence or refusal of staff to 
participate, the licensing staff shall leave a copy of the 
deficiencies at the center, and this shall constitute notice of 
the deficiencies to the center and its owners and director. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 9. Changes Requiring a New License 
§901. Change in Location  

A. Change in Location. When a center changes location, 
it is considered a new operation, and a new application and 
fee for licensure must be submitted and a new license 
obtained, prior to opening at the new location.  

B. Temporary Change in Location 
1. If a currently licensed center closes for reasons, 

including but not limited to fire on the premises or structural 

damages to the center, and the children are relocated to a 
temporary location until repairs have been made, it is 
considered a new operation and a new license is required 
prior to opening at the new temporary location. 

2. The license at the existing location shall not 
transfer to the temporary location. The existing license shall 
be closed on the last day care was provided at that location.  

3. Any change of location, however temporary, 
renders the license for the existing center null and void. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39 and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§903. Change of Ownership 

A. When a center changes ownership, the current license 
is not transferable.  

B. Prior to the ownership change, the new owner shall 
submit a new application and fee for licensure and obtain a 
new license. 

C. Any of the following constitute a change of 
ownership: 

1. change in federal tax ID number; 
2. change in state tax ID number; 
3. change in profit status; 
4. any transfer of the center from an individual or 

juridical entity to any other individual or juridical entity; 
5. termination of child care services by one owner and 

beginning of services by a different owner without a break in 
services to children; and  

6. addition of an individual to the existing ownership 
on file with the Licensing Division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39 and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§905. Change in License Type 

A. Any early learning center holding a type III license 
that intends to change its license type at any time during the 
following calendar year shall notify the Licensing Division 
of its intent to change license type no later than December 
first of the preceding year. 

B. When a center changes license type, the following 
information shall be submitted to the Licensing Division 
prior to the issuance of a new license: 

1. written request from the center; 
2. full licensure fee; and  
3. verification of compliance with current early 

learning center regulations. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.36 and R.S. 17:407.38-39. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§907. Notification of Temporary or Permanent Closure  

A. A center shall notify the Licensing Division in writing 
of a temporary closure (closure of more than 14 calendar 
days, but less than 30 calendar days) within one day of 
closure of the center. 

B. The provider shall notify the Licensing Division in 
writing of a permanent closure of center (closure of more 
than 30 calendar days) within seven calendar days of closure 
of the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.39 and R.S. 17:407.40. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 11. Operating Violations and Incidents; 

Fines; Appeals 
§1101. Non-Critical Operating Violations  

A. When non-critical violations are identified during an 
on-site inspection, the Licensing Division may allow the 
center an opportunity to immediately remedy the violation or 
deficiency, if the Licensing Division determines that 
allowing such remedy does not endanger the health, safety, 
or well-being of any child. The Licensing Division may 
consider the remedy as acceptable corrective action.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with .S. 
17:407.39 and R.S. 17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1103. Critical Incidents and Required Notifications 

A. An early learning center shall make immediate 
notification to emergency personnel, law enforcement as 
applicable, and other appropriate agencies for the following 
types of critical incidents involving children in care:  

1. death; 
2. serious injury or illness that required medical 

attention;  
3. reportable infectious diseases and conditions listed 

in LAC 51.II.105; and 
4. any other significant event relating to the health, 

safety, or well-being of any child, including but not limited 
to a lost child, an emergency situation, fire or other structural 
damage, or closure of the center. 

B. The parent shall be contacted immediately following 
any immediate notifications made under Subsection A. 

C. The Licensing Division and other appropriate 
agencies shall be notified via email within 24 hours of the 
incident.  

D. The Licensing Division shall be notified by written 
report within 24 hours of the incident or the next business 
day. This written notification shall be made on the Licensing 
Division’s critical incidents report form and shall contain all 
information requested on the form.  

E. Reporting deadlines may be adjusted in the event of a 
natural catastrophe and/or disaster, as determined by the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1105. Identified Critical Violations and Fines 

A. For violations related to the following critical 
licensing standards, when such violation does not pose an 
imminent threat to the health, safety, rights, or welfare of a 
child, the Licensing Division may issue a written warning in 
lieu of revoking or refusing to renew the license: 

1. Supervision (§1713);  
2. Criminal History Records Check (§507, §1703);  
3. State Central Registry Disclosure (§509, §1705); 
4. Child to Staff Ratios (§1711);  
5. Motor Vehicle Passenger Checks (§2107); and  
6. Failure to Report Critical Incidents (§1103). 

B. Where such a violation does not result in the 
revocation of or refusal to renew a license, the Licensing

Division shall issue a written warning/notice of violation of 
the standards listed in Subsection A that shall include: 

1. a corrective action plan (CAP) that outlines the 
required actions which shall be implemented or completed 
immediately; and 

2. notice that failure to timely take the required action 
may result in the assessment of a civil fine or the revocation 
of or refusal to renew the license, or both. 

C. Second Violation or Deficiency. If the CAP is not 
timely implemented or if a second violation related to the 
same standard occurs within a 24-month period, and does 
not result in the revocation of or refusal to renew a license, 
the Licensing Division shall issue a written notice of 
violation that: 

1. may include the requirement to take additional 
corrective action; and 

2. may include the assessment of a civil fine of up to 
$250 per day for each day of the violation, not to exceed 
$2,000 within a consecutive 12-month period; and 

a. the factors to be used in determining the type of 
sanction imposed include the severity of the risk, actual 
harm and mitigating circumstances, failure to implement a 
corrective action plan, history of noncompliance, continuing 
and repeat deficiencies, good-faith effort to comply and any 
other relevant factors; 

3. shall include notice of the right to request 
departmental reconsideration if a civil fine/sanction is 
assessed; and that failure to request departmental 
consideration shall result in the loss of any further right to 
appeal the civil fine/sanction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1107. Departmental Reconsideration of Assessment of 

Fine 
A. A request for departmental reconsideration of an 

assessment of fine for a violation of the licensing standards 
listed in §1105.A must be received by the Licensing Division 
within 10 calendar days of the center’s receipt of a written 
notice of assessment of fine.  

B. If a request for departmental reconsideration is not 
timely received by the Licensing Division, the center shall 
not have any further right to appeal the assessment of fine. 

C. A request for departmental reconsideration shall: 
1. include a copy of the original assessment of fine; 
2. provide any new information, if applicable; and  
3. provide specific reasons as to why the Licensing 

Division should reconsider the assessment of fine.  
D. The Licensing Division shall provide notice to a 

center in writing of its decision after reconsidering the 
assessment of fine.  

E. If the Licensing Division determines that the 
assessment of fine is justified, the Licensing Division shall 
provide the center with written notice of the decision that 
includes notice of the center’s right to request an appeal to 
the Division of Administrative Law (DAL) within 15 
calendar days of receipt of said notice and the procedures for 
requesting an appeal.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.46. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 169

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1109. Administrative Appeal of Assessment of Fine 

A. A written request for an appeal to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) of a civil fine for a violation of 
the licensing standards listed in §1105.A must be received by 
the Licensing Division within 15 calendar days of the 
center’s receipt of notice of the Licensing Division’s 
decision upon reconsideration. 

B. The written request for an appeal to the DAL shall 
include: 

1. a copy of the original assessment of fine; 
2. a copy of the decision from the Licensing Division 

upon reconsideration; and 
3. the specific reasons the center believes the decision 

of the Licensing Division was reached in error. 
C. The Licensing Division shall notify the DAL of an 

appeal request within 10 calendar days of receipt of the 
request.  

D. The DAL shall conduct a hearing in the matter in 
accordance with R.S. 17:407.46 and the Administrative 
Procedure Act found at R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

E. The appeal shall be suspensive. 
F. During the pendency of an appeal, the center may 

continue to receive funding for services provided to those 
eligible children as determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1111. Payment of Fines 

A. Fines for violations of critical licensing standards 
listed in §1105.A are due within 30 calendar days of receipt 
of written notice of assessment of fines, unless the center 
timely submits a request for departmental reconsideration. 

B. If the Licensing Division notifies a center that its 
decision upon reconsideration is that the original decision is 
justified, the fine remains due within 30 calendar days of the 
original notice of assessment of fines or within 14 calendar 
days of notice of the decision upon reconsideration, 
whichever is later, unless the center timely submits a request 
for an administrative appeal to the Licensing Division. 

C. If the department timely receives a request for an 
administrative appeal for an assessment of fines based on a 
violation of the critical licensing standards listed in §1105.A 
and said assessment is affirmed by the DAL, the fine shall be 
due and payable within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice 
of the decision by the DAL, unless the center timely seeks 
judicial review of the administrative decision. 

D. If a center timely seeks judicial review of the 
administrative decision, and judicial review is denied or 
dismissed, the fines shall be due and payable within 30 
calendar days of the denial or dismissal. 

E. If a center does not timely pay a fine for a violation of 
the critical licensing standards listed in §1105.A: 

1. its license may be immediately revoked; 
2. the Licensing Division shall refer uncollected fines 

to the Office of the Attorney General for collection, and the 
organization owing the fine shall be assessed, and shall be 
required to pay, the additional collection fee assessed by the 
Office of the Attorney General; 

3. interest shall begin to accrue on a fine at the current 
judicial rate on the day following the day the fine becomes 
due and payable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 13. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of 

License 
§1301. Reasons for Denial, Revocation or Refusal to 

Renew 
A. The following is an illustrative, but not exclusive, list 

of reasons that an application for licensure may be denied or 
a license may be revoked or renewal refused: 

1. violation of any provision of R.S. 17:407.31 et seq.;  
2. violation of any rules and regulations in this 

bulletin; 
3. failure to meet any minimum standards in this 

bulletin; 
4. failure to take steps or actions reasonably necessary 

to ensure the health and safety and well-being of children in 
care; 

5. failure to timely comply with a corrective action 
plan approved by the Licensing Division;  

6. failure to obtain approval of any agency whose 
approval is required for licensure; 

7. failure to report a known or suspected incident of 
abuse or neglect to child welfare authorities;  

8. denial of center access to Licensing Division staff 
or failure or refusal to cooperate with Licensing Division 
staff in the performance of official duties; 

9. history of non-compliance with licensing laws, 
rules, or minimum standards; 

10. nonpayment of licensure fee;  
11. failure to submit application for renewal prior to the 

expiration of the license; 
12. if the owner or director is not reputable;  
13. if the owner, director, or a staff member is unsuited 

for the care of children in the center; 
14. any validated instance of corporal punishment, 

physical punishment, cruel, severe, or unusual punishment, 
or physical or sexual abuse or neglect, if the owner is 
responsible or if the employee who is responsible remains in 
the employment of the center; 

15. any act of fraud, such as the submission of false or 
altered documents or information; and 

16. the center is closed and there are no plans for 
immediate reopening and no means of verifying compliance 
with licensing laws, regulations and minimum standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.44. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1303. Notice of Denial, Revocation or Refusal to 

Renew  
A. The Licensing Division shall provide written notice to 

a center of its reasons for the denial of an application for 
licensure or the revocation of or refusal to renew a license 
and of the right to appeal the decision to the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL).  
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B. The denial, revocation or refusal to renew shall be 
effective on the last day for applying to appeal the action, if 
the action is not appealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.44. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1305. Posting of Notice of Revocation  

A. The Licensing Division shall prominently post notice 
of a revocation action at each public entrance of the center 
within one business day of such action.  

B. Such notice of revocation shall remain posted and 
visible to parents of children at the center throughout the 
pendency of any appeals of the revocation. 

C. The center shall not permit the destruction or removal 
of a notice of revocation action and shall ensure that the 
notice continues to be visible to any person entering the 
center throughout the pendency of any appeals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.44. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1307. Appeal of Denial, Revocation or Refusal to 

Renew  
A. A center has 30 calendar days to request an appeal of 

the denial of its application for licensure and 15 calendar 
days to request an appeal of the revocation of or the refusal 
to renew its license.  

B. The Licensing Division must receive a written request 
for an appeal within 30 calendar days of the center’s receipt 
of notice of the denial of its application and within 15 
calendar days of the center’s receipt of notice of revocation 
of or refusal to renew its license. 

C. A center may continue to operate during the appeals 
process, as provided by the Administrative Procedure Act 
found at R.S. 49:95 et seq. 

D. A request for an appeal submitted to the Licensing 
Division shall include: 

1. a copy of the written reasons for denial, revocation 
or refusal to renew; and  

2. written identification of specific areas of the 
decision believed to be erroneous and/or specific reasons the 
decision is believed to have been reached in error.  

E. The Licensing Division shall notify the Division of 
Administrative Law (DAL) within 10 calendar of receipt of 
a timely request for an appeal of the denial of an application 
or the revocation of or refusal to renew a license. 

F. The DAL shall hold a hearing no later than 30 
calendar days after receipt of such notice, with an 
administrative ruling provided to the center no later than 15 
calendar days from the date of the hearing for revocation or 
refusal to renew a license, or within 30 calendar days from 
the date of a hearing for the denial of a license.  

G. If the DAL affirms the decision of the Licensing 
Division, or if the appeal is dismissed, the center shall 
terminate operations immediately.  

H. The Licensing Division shall have the right to seek 
judicial review of any final decision or order rendered by the 
DAL in any appeal hearing arising under this Chapter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 

§1309. Disqualification Period Following Revocation or 
Refusal to Renew 

A. If a license is revoked or renewal is refused due to 
failure to comply with licensing laws, regulations or 
minimum standards, or if a license is surrendered to avoid 
such adverse action, a center shall not be qualified to submit 
a new application for licensure for a minimum 
disqualification period of 24 months. 

B. The minimum disqualification period shall begin on 
the later of: 

1. the effective date of revocation, refusal to renew, or 
surrender to avoid adverse action; or  

2. the day after all appeal rights have been exhausted.  
C. Any unlicensed operation during the disqualification 

period shall interrupt running of the 24-month prescriptive 
period until the Licensing Division has verification that the 
unlicensed operations have ceased. 

D. Any pending application by the same center shall be 
treated as an application for a new center for purposes of this 
Section and may be denied and subject to the 
disqualification period. 

E. If the owner of a center has multiple licensed early 
learning centers and the license of one center is revoked, 
renewal is refused, or the license is surrendered to avoid 
adverse action, a capacity increase may be denied at any of 
the other existing licensed centers for the minimum 
disqualification period. 

F. If the owner of a center has multiple licensed early 
learning centers, and a license is revoked, renewal is refused, 
or the license is surrendered to avoid adverse action for one 
center due to the actions on the part of the owner or a 
director who is responsible for more than one center, the 
licenses at all locations may be reviewed for possible 
revocation or refusal to renew. 

G. If an applicant has a history of non-compliance with 
licensing laws, regulations or minimum standards, including 
but not limited operating without a license, or has been 
denied one or more previous applications for licensure, the 
Licensing Division may refuse to accept a subsequent 
application from the applicant for the minimum 
disqualification period after the effective date of the most 
recent adverse action. 

H. An application for a new license for a center whose 
license has been revoked or renewal has been refused, or 
whose license has been surrendered to avoid adverse action, 
may be denied if the applicant is an affiliate of the center. 

1. Affiliate for purposes of this Section means: 
a. each partner or member of a partnership or 

limited liability company; 
b. each officer, director and stockholder of a 

corporation;  
c. and with respect to a natural person: 

 i. that person and any individual related by 
blood, marriage or adoption within the third degree of 
kinship to that person; 
 ii. any partnership, together with any or all of its 
partners, in which that person is a partner; and 
 iii. any corporation in which that person is an 
officer, director or stockholder, or directly or indirectly holds 
a controlling interest; 

d. with respect to any of the above, any mandatary, 
agent or representative, or any other natural or juridical 
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person acting at the direction or on behalf of the licensee or 
applicant; and 

e. the director of any such early learning center. 
I. If a license is revoked due solely to the disapproval 

from any agency whose approval is required for licensure, or 
due solely to the center being closed and with no immediate 
plans for re-opening within 30 calendar days and with no 
means for the Licensing Division to verify compliance with 
minimum standards for licensure, the disqualification period 
may be partially or totally waived at the discretion of the 
Licensing Division.  

1. The Licensing Division may accept a subsequent 
application for a license that shall be reviewed by the 
Licensing Division prior to a decision being made to grant a 
license.  

2. The Licensing Division reserves the right to 
determine, at its sole discretion, whether to issue any 
subsequent license. 

J. If an application for a license has been denied or a 
license revoked, renewal refused or the license surrendered 
to avoid adverse action, any owner, officer, member, 
manager, director or administrator of such licensee shall be 
prohibited from owning, managing, directing or operating 
another licensed center for a disqualification period of not 
less than 24 months from the date of the final disposition of 
the most recent adverse action. 

1. The lapse of 24 months shall not automatically 
restore eligibility to a person disqualified under this 
Subsection.  

2. The Licensing Division, at its sole discretion, may 
determine if a longer period of disqualification is warranted 
based upon the facts of each case.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.44 and R.S. 17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1311. Licensure Process Following Disqualification 

Period 
A. Only centers and affiliates that have completed the 

24-month disqualification period and/or other 
disqualification sanctions imposed by the Licensing 
Division, may apply for a new license in accordance with 
this bulletin. 

B. Any application for a new license submitted after the 
minimum disqualification period shall be reviewed by the 
Licensing Division for any unresolved matters pertaining to 
the disqualification prior to making a determination to grant 
a license. The right to deny a subsequent application for 
licensure rests solely in the discretion of the Licensing 
Division.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407. 44 and R.S. 17:407.45. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 15. Minimum General Requirements and 

Standards 
§1501. Operations 

A. A center shall operate within the licensed capacity, 
age range, hours of operation and other specific services 
designated on its license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1503. General Liability Insurance Policy 

A. A center shall maintain in force at all times current 
commercial liability insurance for the operation of the center 
to ensure medical coverage for children in the event of 
accident or injury.  

B. A center is responsible for payment of medical 
expenses of a child injured while in the center’s care. 

C. Documentation of commercial liability insurance 
shall consist of the insurance policy or current binder that 
includes the name of the early learning center, physical 
address of the center, name of the insurance company, policy 
number, period of coverage and explanation of the coverage.  

D. Parents shall not be required to waive the center’s 
responsibility.  

E. Parents may elect to use their own insurance. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1505. Visitors 

A. Any visitor, as defined in §103, to the center shall be 
accompanied by an adult staff person at all times.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1507. Daily Attendance Records 

A. Children. A daily attendance record for children shall 
be maintained that shall: 

1. include the child’s first and last name, arrival and 
departure times, and first and last name of person or entity to 
whom the child is released;  

2. accurately reflect children on the center premises at 
any given time; and 

3. be used to sign in and out if a child leaves and 
returns to the center during the day. 

B. Staff and Owners. A daily attendance record for all 
staff members and owners shall be maintained that shall: 

1. include the first and last name of the staff member 
or owner and arrival and departure times; 

2. accurately reflect the staff members and owners on 
the center premises at any given time; and  

3. be used to document staff members and owners 
who leave and return to the center during the day. 

C. Independent Contractors. A daily attendance record 
for all extracurricular personnel, therapeutic professionals 
and other independent contractors, to include the first and 
last name, date of visit, arrival and departure times, and 
purpose of the visit. 

D. Student Trainees. A daily attendance record for all 
student trainees to include the student’s first and last name, 
school affiliation and date and arrival and departure times. 

E. Visitors. A daily attendance record for all visitors to 
include the name, date of visit, arrival and departure times, 
and the purpose of the visit. 

F. Daily attendance records shall be maintained for three 
years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
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§1509. Policies 
A. An early learning center shall establish in writing and 

implement the following policies and minimum provisions 
of such policies: 

1. child abuse and neglect policy: 
a. as mandated reporters, all staff and owners shall 

report any suspected abuse or neglect of a child to the 
Louisiana Child Protection Statewide Hotline (855) 4LA-
KIDS [(855) 452-5437]; 

b. an early learning center shall not delay the 
reporting of suspected abuse or neglect to the Child 
Protection Statewide Hotline in order to conduct an internal 
investigation to verify the abuse or neglect allegations; and 

c. an early learning center shall not require staff to 
report suspected abuse or neglect to the center or 
management prior to reporting it to the Child Protection 
Statewide Hotline; 

2. non-discrimination policy that prohibits 
discrimination on the basis of race, color, creed, sex, national 
origin, handicap, ancestry or whether a child is being 
breastfed; 

3. admissions policy that includes admission criteria; 
4. disclosure of information policy that provides 

notice to parents of the licensing authority of the Licensing 
Division and the availability of licensing 
surveys/inspections, regulations and information regarding 
early learning centers from the Department of Education’s 
website; 

5. complaint policy: 
a. parents shall be advised of the licensing authority 

of the Licensing Division along with the current telephone 
number and email address. Parents shall also be advised that 
they may call or write the Licensing Division should they 
have significant, unresolved licensing complaints; 

6. parental access policy: 
a. parents shall be allowed to visit the center 

anytime during its regular hours of operation and when 
children are present; 

7. parental involvement policy: 
a. parents shall be offered a minimum of two 

opportunities for involvement each year, which may include 
but are not limited to, an open house, parent education 
session, parent and staff conference, family pot luck dinner, 
holiday party or parent or grandparent’s day; 

8. behavior management policy: 
a. each center shall develop and implement a 

written behavior management policy describing the methods 
of behavior guidance and management that shall be used at 
the center; 

b. the behavior management policy shall prohibit 
children from being subject to any of the following: 
 i. physical or corporal punishment which 
includes but is not limited to yelling, slapping, spanking, 
yanking, shaking, pinching, exposure to extreme 
temperatures or other measures producing physical pain, 
putting anything in the mouth of a child, requiring a child to 
exercise, or placing a child in an uncomfortable position.  
 ii. verbal abuse, which includes but is not limited 
to using offensive or profane language, telling a child to 
“shut up”, or making derogatory remarks about children or 
family members of children in the presence of children; 

 iii. the threat of a prohibited action even if there is 
no intent to follow through with the threat; 
 iv. being disciplined by another child; 
 v. being bullied by another child; 
 vi. being deprived of food or beverages; 
 vii. being restrained by devices such as high chairs 
or feeding tables for disciplinary purposes; and 
 viii. having active play time withheld for 
disciplinary purposes, except timeout may be used during 
active play time for an infraction incurred during the 
playtime; 

c. time out: 
 i. time out shall not be used for children under 
age two; 
 ii. a time out shall take place within sight of staff; 
 iii. the length of each time out shall be based on 
the age of the child and shall not exceed one minute per year 
of age; 
 iv. for children over age six, a time out may be 
extended beyond one minute per year of age, if a signed and 
dated statement, including a maximum time limit, from the 
parent granting such permission, is on file at the center; 

9. electronic devices policy that provides that all 
activities involving electronic devices, including but not 
limited to television, movies, games, videos, computers and 
hand held electronic devices, shall adhere to the following 
limitations: 

a. electronic device activities for children under age 
two are prohibited; and 

b. time allowed for electronic device activities for 
children ages two and above shall not exceed two hours per 
day; 

10. computer practices policy that requires computers 
that allow internet access by children to be equipped with 
monitoring or filtering software that limits access by 
children to inappropriate websites, e-mail, and instant 
messaging; 

11. programs, movies and video games policy: 
a. programs, movies, and video games with violent 

or adult content, including but not limited to soap operas, 
television news, and sports programs aimed at audiences 
other than children, shall not be permitted in the presence of 
children; 

b. all television, video, DVD, or other programming 
shall be suitable for the youngest child present; 

c. “PG” programming or its television equivalent 
shall not be shown to children under age five; 

d. “PG” programming shall only be viewed by 
children age five and above and shall require written 
parental authorization; 

e. any programming with a rating more restrictive 
than “PG” is prohibited; 

f. all video games shall be suitable for the youngest 
child with access to the games: 
 i. “E10+” rated games shall be permitted for 
children ages 10 years and older; 
 ii. “T” and “M” rated games are prohibited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
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§1511. Procedures 
A. An early learning center shall establish in writing and 

implement procedures for: 
1. physical activity: 

a. children under age two shall be provided time 
and space for age appropriate physical activity for a 
minimum of 60 minutes per day; 

b. children age two and older shall be provided a 
minimum of 60 minutes of physical activity per day that 
includes a combination of both teacher led and free play; 

2. sleep/rest: 
a. infants shall be allowed to sleep according to 

their individual schedules; 
b. children under age four shall have daily rest time 

of at least 75 minutes in programs operating more than 5 
hours per day; 

c. children ages four and older shall be offered the 
opportunity for quiet time; 

3. receiving and releasing a child from the center; 
4. biting, treatment of bites and notifications to the 

parents of the children involved.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407. 40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1513. Schedules 

A. An early learning center shall establish in writing and 
post the following schedules:  

1. schedule of days and hours of operation, including 
scheduled days and holidays when center is closed; and 

2. daily schedule that includes times of planned 
activities, including early learning activities, allowing for 
flexibility and change. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1515. Child Records and Cumulative Files 

A. Cumulative File. A cumulative file shall be 
maintained on each child that shall include the following 
records:  

1. an information form signed and dated by the parent 
and updated as changes occur, that contains: 

a. name of child, date of birth, sex, date of 
admission; 

b. name of parents and the home address of both 
child and parents; 

c. phone numbers where parents may be reached 
while child is in care; 

d. name and phone number of person to contact in 
an emergency if parents cannot be located promptly; 

e. name and telephone number of child’s physician, 
if applicable; 

f. name and telephone number of the child’s dentist, 
if applicable; 

g. any special concerns, including but not limited to 
allergies, chronic illnesses, and any special needs of the 
child, if applicable; and 

h. any special dietary needs, restrictions or food 
allergies or intolerances, if applicable. See Paragraph 4; 

2. written authorization signed and dated by the parent 
to secure emergency medical treatment; and 

3. written authorization signed and dated by the parent 
noting the first and last names of individuals to whom the 
child may be released other than the parents, including any 
other early learning centers, transportation services, and any 
person or persons who may remove the child from the 
center: 

a. the parent may further authorize additional 
individuals via a text message or email to the center in 
unplanned situations and follow it with a written 
authorization; 

b. a child shall never be released to anyone unless 
authorized in writing by the parent; 

c. any additions and deletions to the list of 
authorized individuals shall be signed and dated by the 
parent; 

d. the center shall verify the identity of the 
authorized person prior to releasing the child; 

4. special diets: 
a. unless the program is officially on the Child and 

Adult Care Food Program (CACFP), a parent may request 
special diet adjustments (i.e. no milk on a particular day); 

b. if a center is on the CACFP, a written statement 
from a health care provider is required when the child 
requires a special diet for medical reasons; 

c. a written statement from the parent is required 
when the child requires a modified diet.  

B. Consent to Release. The center shall obtain written 
consent from the parent prior to releasing any information, 
recordings, or photographs from which the child might be 
identified, except to authorized state and federal agencies. 
This one-time written consent shall be obtained from the 
parent and updated as changes occur. 

C. Confidentiality. The center shall maintain the 
confidentiality and security of all records of children. Center 
staff is prohibited from disclosing or knowingly permitting 
the disclosure of any information concerning the child or the 
family of the child, either directly or indirectly, to any 
unauthorized person. 

D. Retention of Records. Records of children shall be 
maintained by a center for a minimum of three years from 
the date of termination of the child’s enrollment at the center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 17. Minimum Staffing Requirements and 

Standards 
§1701. Prohibitions  

A. No person who has been convicted of, or pled guilty 
or nolo contendere to any crime included in R.S. 
15:587.1(C) shall be hired by an early learning center as a 
volunteer, staff member, employee or independent contractor 
of any kind.  

B. No individual whose name is recorded on the state 
central registry within DCFS as a perpetrator for a justified 
(valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a child shall be hired 
by a licensed early learning center as a volunteer or staff 
member unless the individual has a current finding from 
DCFS indicating that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.42. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1703. Criminal Background Checks for Volunteers, 

Staff, Visitors and Independent Contractors 
A. Volunteers and Staff. An early learning center shall 

obtain documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint based 
criminal background check (CBC) for each volunteer, staff 
member, or employee of any kind, prior to the person being 
present at the center or performing services for the center, 
and the center shall have copies of said documentation on-
site at all times and available for inspection upon request by 
the Licensing Division.  

B. Visitors and Contractors. An early learning center 
shall obtain documentation of a satisfactory fingerprint 
based CBC for each visitor or independent contractor of any 
kind, prior to the person being present at the center or 
performing services for the center unless the visitor or 
independent contractor will be accompanied at all times 
while on the center premises by an adult, paid, staff member 
who is not being counted in child to staff ratios, and the 
center shall have copies of said documentation on-site at all 
times and available for inspection upon request by the 
Licensing Division. 

1. Documentation of the paid, adult staff member not 
otherwise counted in child to staff ratios who accompanied a 
visitor or independent contractor at all times while the visitor 
or contractor was on the center premises shall include the 
date, arrival and departure time of the visitor or contractor, 
language stating that the visit or contractor was accompanied 
by the staff member at all times while on the premises, and 
the signature of both the contractor and the accompanying 
staff member.  

C. Parents, Grandparents and Siblings 
1. Parents of an enrolled child, or other persons 

authorized in writing by the parents to pick up their child, 
who are only bringing a child to or picking up a child from 
an early learning center are not required to have a CBC. 

2. Parents, grandparents and siblings of an enrolled 
child who are attending a function at the center where center 
staff will be present and supervising all children are not 
required to have a CBC. 

D. CBC from Bureau. An early learning center may 
request a CBC from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information (bureau) for any applicant, 
volunteer or staff member or independent contractor by 
submitting a request to the bureau that shall be made on a 
form prepared by the bureau, be signed by a responsible 
officer or official of the center, and include a statement 
signed by the person about whom the request is being made 
giving permission for such information to be released and 
the person’s fingerprints in a form acceptable to the bureau. 

1. A CBC shall be dated no earlier than 30 calendar 
days of the individual’s hire date at the center. 

2. If staff leave the employ of the center for more than 
30 calendar days, a new satisfactory CBC shall be obtained 
prior to the individual being rehired or present on the early 
learning center premises. 

a. For CBC purposes, staff who are working at a 
center at the end of a school year, are off during the summer 
as part of the center’s scheduled yearly calendar dates of 
operation, and return to work at the same center for the 
beginning of the school year immediately following the 

summer they are off, are not considered to have left the 
employ of the center during the intervening summer. 

3. A CBC is satisfactory for purposes of this Bulletin 
if it shows no arrests for any crime included in R.S. 
15:587.1(C), or if an arrest is shown on the CBC for any 
excludable offense, the CBC or documentation from the 
jurisdiction of arrest affirmatively shows that the charges 
were disposed of without a conviction. A plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere shall be deemed to be a conviction. 

E. Certified Copy of Individual’s CBC. If an applicant 
has previously obtained a certified copy of his/her CBC from 
the bureau, it shall be accepted for a period of one year from 
the date of issuance by the bureau. Prior to the one year 
expiration of the CBC, a new fingerprint based satisfactory 
CBC shall be obtained by the center in order for the 
individual to continue employment or providing services at 
the center. If a new CBC is not obtained prior to the one year 
expiration of the certified copy of the CBC, the individual is 
no longer allowed on the early learning center premises until 
a new satisfactory CBC is obtained. 

F. CBC Affidavits/Annual Letters for Department of 
Education and Local School District Staff 

1. First Year. Prior to being present and working with 
children at an early learning center, Department of Education 
and local school district staff for whom the department or the 
local school district, respectively, has previously obtained a 
CBC may submit to centers an original, completed, signed 
and notarized, affidavit (CBC affidavit) in lieu of providing 
a CBC.  

a. The affidavit shall be on a form prescribed by the 
Licensing Division and shall be signed by the state or local 
superintendent, or his/her designee.  

b. The CBC affidavit shall be acceptable for the 
school year indicated on the affidavit and shall expire on 
July 31 following the end of the indicated school year. 

c. The center shall have a copy of the CBC affidavit 
on-site at all times and available for inspection upon request 
by the Licensing Division. 

2. Subsequent Years. For all subsequent school years 
following the first year, department and local school district 
staff shall present either a new CBC affidavit or an original, 
completed and signed letter (annual CBC letter) from the 
state or local superintendent, or his/her designee, in a form 
prescribed by the Licensing Division. The center shall keep a 
copy of each annual CBC letter on file at the center. The 
annual CBC letter shall be acceptable for the school year 
indicated in the letter and shall expire on July 31 following 
the end of the indicated school year. An annual CBC letter is 
acceptable only if the following conditions are met:  

a. the department or local school district staff 
person has remained employed by the department or the 
school district indicated in the original CBC affidavit on file 
at the center;  

b. the center has maintained a copy of the original 
CBC affidavit on file; and 

c. the annual CBC letter is presented on Department 
of Education or local school district letterhead, and is signed 
by the state or local superintendent, or his/her designee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
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§1705. State Central Registry Disclosure Forms for 
Volunteers and Staff  

A. A completed state central registry disclosure form or a 
current determination from the DCFS indicating that the 
individual does not pose a risk to children, shall be obtained 
by the center for all volunteers and staff prior to an 
individual being present in or providing services to the 
center and the center shall have a copies of such forms on-
site at all times and available for inspection upon request by 
the Licensing Division.  

B. Any volunteer or staff member of an early learning 
center shall report on the state central registry disclosure 
form prior to being on the premises of the center, and shall 
update the report annually, at any time upon request by the 
Licensing Division. 

C. If a current staff member receives notice of a justified 
(valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect against him, he 
shall complete an updated state central registry disclosure 
form noting the existence of the justified (valid) finding. 
This updated form shall be submitted to the Licensing 
Division within 24 hours or no later than the next business 
day, or upon being on the child care premises, whichever is 
sooner. The staff member will have 10 calendar days from 
completion of the state central registry disclosure form to 
request a risk assessment evaluation from DCFS or shall be 
terminated immediately.  

1. If the staff person will no longer be employed at the 
center, the center shall immediately submit to the Licensing 
Division a signed, dated statement noting the individual’s 
name and termination date.  

2. Immediately upon receipt of the knowledge that a 
justified (valid) finding has been issued by DCFS and as a 
condition of continued employment, the staff person with the 
justified (valid) finding, when in the presence of children 
shall be directly supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the 
center. Under no circumstances may the staff person with the 
justified finding be left alone and unsupervised with a child. 
The center shall submit a written statement to Licensing 
Division acknowledging that the staff person with the 
justified finding will not be left alone and unsupervised with 
a child or children pending the disposition by DCFS that the 
staff person does not pose a risk to children. When the 
aforementioned conditions are met, the staff may be counted 
in child/staff ratio.  

D. If DCFS finds the individual does pose a risk to 
children, the staff (employee/volunteer) shall be terminated 
immediately.  

E. Any information received or knowledge acquired that 
a current or prospective volunteer or employee, has falsified 
a state central registry disclosure form shall be reported in 
writing to a Licensing Division as soon as possible, but no 
later than the close of business on the next business day.  

F. Any state central registry disclosure form or finding 
by DCFS the a person poses no risk to children that is 
maintained in an early learning center file shall be 
confidential and subject to the confidentiality provisions of 
R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to the investigations of abuse 
and/or neglect.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.41. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 

§1707. Required Staff 
A. Director or Director Designee. Each center shall have 

a qualified director or qualified director designee. 
1. The director or director designee shall be an on-site, 

full-time staff person at the center during the daytime hours 
of operation (prior to 9 p.m.).  

2. The director or director designee shall be 
responsible for planning, managing, and controlling the 
center’s daily activities, as well as responding to parental 
concerns and ensuring that minimum licensing requirements 
are met.  

B. Staff-in-Charge. When the director or director 
designee is not on the premises due to a temporary absence 
or during nighttime care hours, there shall be an individual 
appointed as staff-in-charge. 

1. The staff-in-charge shall be at least age 21. 
2. The staff-in-charge shall have the authority to 

respond to emergencies, inspections, parental concerns, and 
have access to all required information.  

C. Staff-in-Charge. When the director or director 
designee is not on the premises due to a temporary absence, 
or during nighttime care hours, there shall be an individual 
on-site appointed as the staff-in-charge.  

1. The individual appointed as staff-in-charge shall be 
at least age 21.  

2. The staff-in-charge shall have the authority to 
respond to emergencies, inspections, and parental concerns, 
and shall have access to all required information.  

D. More than 42 Children in Care. When the number of 
children present at an early learning center exceeds 42, the 
duties of the director or director designee shall consist only 
of performing administrative duties or there shall be an 
individual present whose job duties consist solely of 
administrative duties and of ensuring that staff members 
working with children do not leave their classrooms to 
handle administrative duties.  

E. Staff  
1. Staff shall be age 18 or older. 
2. A person age 17 may be included in the child to 

staff ratio if the person works under the direct supervision of 
an adult staff member.  

3. In type I centers only, a person age 16 may be 
included in the child to staff ratios if the person works under 
the direct supervision of an adult staff member.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1709. Director Qualifications  

A. The director/director designee shall be at least 21 
years of age.  

B. The director/director designee shall have 
documentation of at least one of the following upon date of 
hire as director or director designee:  

1. a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university with at least 12 credit hours of child development 
or early childhood education or elementary education or a 
related field, and one year of experience in a licensed early 
learning center or comparable setting, subject to approval by 
the Licensing Division;  

2. an associate of arts degree in child development or 
a closely related area, and one year of experience in a 
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licensed early learning center, or comparable setting, subject 
to approval by the Licensing Division;  

3. a national administrator credential and one year 
experience in a licensed early learning center, or comparable 
setting, plus 6 credit hours in child care, child development 
or early childhood or 90 clock hours of training in child care, 
child development or early childhood, subject to approval by 
the Licensing Division; 

4. a child development associate credential (CDA) 
and one year of experience in a licensed early learning 
center, or comparable setting, subject to approval by the 
Licensing Division;  

5. a diploma from a post-secondary technical early 
childhood education training program approved by the 
Board of Regents or correspondence course approved by the 
Licensing Division and one year of experience in a licensed 
early learning center, or comparable setting, subject to 
approval by the Licensing Division; or 

6. three years of experience as a director or staff in a 
licensed early learning center, or comparable setting, subject 
to approval by the Licensing Division; plus six credit hours 
in child care, child development or early childhood 
education, or 90 clock hours of training approved by the 
Licensing Division. Up to 3 credit hours or 45 clock hours 
may be in management/administration education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1711. Child to Staff Minimum Ratios 

A. Child to staff ratios are established to ensure the 
safety of all children. 

B. Minimum child to staff ratios shall be met at all times. 
1. There shall be a minimum of two staff members 

present at an early learning center when more than one child 
is present.  

2. Only those staff members directly providing care, 
supervision or guidance to children shall be counted in the 
child to staff ratios. 

C. The Licensing Division form noting required child to 
staff ratios shall be posted in each room included in the 
center’s licensed capacity. 

D. Minimum Child to Staff Ratios for Type II and Type 
III Centers 

 
Ages of Children Ratio 

Infants under 1 year 5:1 
1 year 7:1 
2 years 11:1 
3 years 13:1 
4 years 15:1 
5 years 19:1 
6 years and up 23:1 

 
E. Future Minimum Child to Staff Ratios for Two-Year-

Olds in Type II and Type III Centers. If the Louisiana Child 
Care Assistance Program subsidy rate reaches the 75 
percentile of the 2012 Louisiana market rate survey rate for 
weekday care for toddlers by December 1, 2015, the child to 
staff ratios for two-year-olds shall decrease to 10:1 as of July 
1, 2016. 

F. Minimum Child to Staff Ratios for Type I Centers 
 

Ages of Children Ratio 
Infants under 1 year 6:1 
1 year 8:1 
2 years 12:1 
3 years 14:1 
4 years 16:1 
5 years 20:1 
6 years and up 25:1 

 
G. Mixed Age Groups—Minimum Child to Staff Ratios  

1. An average of the child to staff ratios may be 
applied to mixed age groups of children ages two, three, four 
and five. 

2. Child to staff ratios for children under age two are 
excluded from averaging.  

3. When a mixed age group includes children younger 
than age two, the age of the youngest child determines the 
child to staff ratio for the group. 

4. An average may be applied to a mixed age group 
consisting only of children ages five and older. 

H. Rest Time—Minimum Child to Staff Ratios  
1. Sufficient staffing needed to satisfy child to staff 

ratios shall be present on the premises during rest time and 
available to assist as needed.  

2. Children ages one and older may be grouped 
together at rest time with one staff member in each room 
supervising the resting children. If two rooms share a 
common doorway, one staff member may supervise the 
resting children in both rooms. 

3. If the view of the staff supervising the children is 
obstructed by an object such as a low shelving unit, children 
shall be checked by sight by staff circulating among the 
resting children. 

I. Walking To and From School. Minimum child to staff 
ratios shall be met when walking children to and from 
school. 

J. Field Trips—Minimum Child to Staff Ratios  
1. Minimum child to staff ratios, plus one additional 

adult, shall be met for all field trips.  
2. An adult staff member from the center shall be 

present with each group of children.  
3. At no time shall a child or group of children be left 

alone without an adult staff member present unless the child 
is supervised by the parent of the child or designated 
representative authorized in writing by the parent.  

K. Non-vehicular Excursions—Minimum Child to Staff 
Ratios 

1. Minimum child to staff ratio, plus one additional 
adult, shall be met for all non-vehicular excursions.  

2. An adult staff member from the center shall be 
present with each group of children.  

3. At no time shall a child or group of children be left 
alone without an adult staff member present unless the child 
is supervised by the child’s parent or designated 
representative authorized in writing by the parent on the 
non-vehicular excursions. 

L. Water Activities—Minimum Child to Staff Ratios 
1. A minimum of two staff shall be present when 

children are engaged in water activities. 
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2. The following minimum child to staff ratios apply 
when children are engaged in water activities, excluding 
water play activities, unless the children are participating in 
swimming lessons with a certified water safety instructor. 

 
Ages of Children Ratio 

Three years  20:2 
Four years  25:2 
Five years and up 30:2 

 
3. The age of the youngest child determines the child 

to staff ratio when children in a group are of mixed ages. 
M. Special Needs Children—Minimum Child to Staff 

Ratios. When the nature of a child with special health care 
needs or the number of children with special health care 
needs warrants added care, the center shall add sufficient 
staff as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1713. Supervision 

A. Children shall be supervised at all times in the center, 
on the playground, on field trips, on non-vehicular 
excursions, and during all water activities and water play 
activities. 

B. Children shall not be left alone in any room, (except 
the restroom as indicated in Subsection G), outdoors, or in 
vehicles, even momentarily, without staff present. 

C. A staff person shall be assigned to supervise specific 
children whose names and whereabouts that staff person 
shall know and with whom the staff person shall be 
physically present. Staff shall be able to state how many 
children are in their care at all times.  

D. Individuals who do not serve a purpose related to the 
care of children or who hinder supervision of children in 
care shall not be present in the center. 

E. While supervising a group of children, staff shall 
devote their time to supervising the children, meeting the 
needs of the children, and participating with them in their 
activities. 

F. Staff duties that include cooking, housekeeping or 
administrative functions shall not interfere with the 
supervision of children. 

G. Restrooms  
1. Children who are developmentally able may be 

permitted to go to the restroom independently at an early 
learning center, provided that: 

a. a staff member is in proximity to the children to 
ensure immediate intervention to safeguard a child from 
harm while in the restroom; and 

b. individuals who are not staff members may not 
enter the center restroom area while in use by any child other 
than their own child.  

2. A child age four and older may be permitted to go 
and return from the restroom without staff. 

H. Play Yard. When children are at the play yard, the 
supervising staff member must be able to summon another 
adult staff member without leaving the children 
unsupervised. 

I. Water Activities. Staff shall actively supervise 
children engaged in water activities and shall be able to see 
all parts of the swimming pool, including the bottom. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1715. Staff Records and Personnel Files 

A. Staff Members. Personnel files for each staff member 
shall be maintained at the center and shall include the 
following: 

1. an application or staff information form containing 
the following information: name, date of birth, home address 
and phone number, training, work experience, educational 
background and hire date; 

2. copy of a state or federal government issued photo 
identification;  

3. upon termination or resignation of employment, the 
last date of employment and reason for leaving; 

4. documentation of a fingerprint based satisfactory 
criminal background check; and 

5. documentation of a current, completed state central 
registry disclosure form indicating no justified (valid) 
finding of abuse or neglect by the DCFS, or a current 
determination from the DCFS indicating that the individual 
does not pose a risk to children. 

B. Records Retention. Staff records and personnel files 
shall be maintained for a minimum of three years from the 
date of termination of employment.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1717. Records for Independent Contractors and 

Student Trainees 
A.  Independent Contractors. The following information 

shall be maintained for all independent contractors, 
including but not limited to therapeutic professionals, 
extracurricular personnel, contracted transportation drivers, 
Department of Education, Office of Early Childhood staff 
and local school district staff:  

1. an information form that includes the person’s 
name, address and phone number; 

2. a list of duties performed while present at the 
center; and 

3. documentation of a fingerprint based satisfactory 
criminal background check dated prior to the individual 
being present at the center or documentation of the paid, 
adult staff member not otherwise counted in child to staff 
ratios that accompanied the contractor at all times while the 
contractor was on the center premises, to include the date, 
contractor arrival and departure time, language stating that 
the contractor was accompanied by the staff member at all 
times while on the premises, and the signature of both the 
contractor and the accompanying staff member. 

B. Student Trainees. The following information shall be 
maintained for all student trainees: 

1. an application or information form with the 
student’s name, date of birth, address and telephone number, 
name of the educational center and course instructor, and a 
job description that includes duties to be performed. 

C. Records Retention. Records for independent 
contractors and student trainees shall be maintained for a 
minimum of three years from the date the contractor or 
student was last present at the center.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1), R.S. 17:407:40, and R.S. 17:407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1719. Orientation Training 

A. Within seven calendar days of date of hire, and prior 
to assuming sole responsibility for any children, each staff 
member shall receive orientation to the policies and 
practices of the center that at a minimum shall include: 

1. child abuse identification and reporting; 
2. emergency preparation; 
3. licensing regulations; and 
4. safe sleep practices. 

B. Within 30 calendar days of date of hire, each staff 
member shall receive orientation to the additional policies 
and practices of the center that at a minimum shall include:  

1. child development; 
2. child guidance; 
3. learning activities; 
4. health and safety; 
5. shaken baby prevention; and 
6. CPR and first aid, as applicable. 

C. All staff members responsible for transporting 
children shall receive additional orientation training in the 
following areas prior to assuming their transportation duties: 

1. transportation regulations, including the modeling 
of how to properly conduct a vehicle passenger check and 
demonstration by staff to director on how to conduct a 
vehicle passenger check; 

2. proper use of child safety restraints required by 
state law;  

3. proper loading, unloading, and tracking of children 
as required by state law;  

4. location of first aid supplies; and 
5. emergency procedures for the vehicle, including 

actions to be taken in the event of accidents or breakdowns. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1721. Continuing Education 

A. Early learning centers shall provide opportunities for 
continuing education of staff members. The center staff of 
type II and type III centers, excluding foster grandparents, 
shall obtain a minimum of 12 clock hours of training 
annually in the topics found in §1719.A and B conducted by 
trainers approved by the Licensing Division. The Licensing 
Division shall keep a registry of approved trainers. The 
center staff of type I centers, excluding foster grandparents, 
shall obtain a minimum of 3 clock hours of training annually 
in the topics found in §1719.A and B. Beginning July 1, 
2015, type I center staff shall obtain a minimum of 6 clock 
hours of such training annually. Beginning July 1, 2016, type 
I center staff shall obtain a minimum of 9 clock hours of 
such training annually. Beginning July 1, 2017, type I center 
staff shall obtain a minimum of 12 clock hours of such 
training annually.  

B. These hours are in addition to the 3 hours required for 
health and safety in the Louisiana Sanitary Code, found at 
LAC 51:XXI.301.A.9.  

C. Copies of certificates of completion or attendance 
records shall be maintained at the center and available for 
inspection by the Licensing Division upon request.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1) and (3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1723. CPR and First Aid Certifications 

A. Infant and child CPR. Fifty percent of staff members 
on the premises of a center and accessible to children, or at 
least four staff on the premises and accessible to children, 
whichever is less, shall have current certification in infant 
and child CPR. 

B. Adult CPR. Fifty percent of staff members on the 
premises of a center and accessible to children, or at least 
four staff on the premises and accessible to children, 
whichever is less, shall have current certification in adult 
CPR, except for type I centers, which shall have at least one 
staff member on the premises and accessible to children 
trained in adult CPR if there is a child eight years or older on 
the premises. Beginning on July 1, 2016, type I centers shall 
have 50 percent of staff members on the premises of a center 
and accessible to children or at least four staff on the 
premises and accessible to children, whichever is less, 
certified in adult CPR. 

C. Pediatric First Aid. Fifty percent of staff members on 
the premises of a center and accessible to children, or at least 
four staff on the premises and accessible to children, 
whichever is less, shall have current certification in pediatric 
first aid. Beginning on July 1, 2016, this Subsection shall 
apply type I centers.  

D. Certification. A copy of the certification for each such 
staff member shall be on-site at all times and available for 
inspection by the Licensing Division. 

E. First Responder. Staff members who maintain current 
certification as a first responder are considered to have 
current certification in CPR and pediatric first Aid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1725. Medication Management Training 

A. All staff members who administer medication shall 
have medication administration training. 

B. Whether administering medication or not, each early 
learning center shall have at least two staff members trained 
in medication administration. 

C. Such training shall be completed every two years with 
an approved child care health consultant. 

D. A licensed practical nurse (LPN) or registered nurse 
(RN) with a valid nursing license shall be considered to have 
medication administration training. 

E. Beginning on July 1, 2016, this Section shall apply to 
type I centers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
Chapter 19. Minimum Health, Safety, and 

Environment Requirements and 
Standards 

§1901. General Safety Requirements 
A. Telephones and Emergency Numbers 

1. A working phone capable of incoming and outgoing 
calls shall be readily available at the center at all times. 
Cellular phones are not acceptable for this purpose. 
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2. When a center has multiple buildings and a phone 
is not located in each building where children are present, 
the center shall establish and follow written procedures for 
securing emergency help. The written procedures shall be 
posted in each building.  

3. Centers located in schools and churches shall have 
a phone within the licensed area. 

4. Appropriate emergency numbers, including but not 
limited to numbers for the fire and police departments, 
nearby hospitals and medical centers, Louisiana Poison 
Control and Child Protective Services, and the physical 
address of the center, shall be prominently posted on or near 
each phone. 

B. Physical Separation. An early learning center, except 
one located in a church or school, shall be physically 
separated from any other business or enterprise, thereby 
preventing unauthorized access to children in care. 

C. Lighting. Areas used by children shall be lighted in 
such a way as to allow visual supervision of the children at 
all times. 

D. End-of-Day Check. The entire center and play yard 
shall be checked after the last child departs to ensure that no 
child is left at the center and this check shall be documented. 
Documentation shall include date, time of visual check, and 
signature of the staff conducting the visual check.  

E. Sex Offender Registry. An early learning center shall 
register with the Louisiana State Police sex offender registry 
at www.lsp.org to receive updates when a sex offender 
moves within two miles of the center.  

F. Centers shall not permit any individual convicted of a 
sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 to have physical access 
to the center. 

G. The owner or director of an early learning center shall 
immediately notify law enforcement personnel and the 
Licensing Division if they have knowledge that a registered 
sex offender is on the premises of the center. The verbal 
report shall be followed by a written report to the Licensing 
Division within 24 hours. 

H. All equipment used by children shall be maintained in 
a clean and safe condition and in good repair. 

I. Moveable equipment shall be secured and supported 
so that it shall not fall or tip over. 

J. Microwave ovens, bottle warming devices and crock 
pots are prohibited in areas accessible to children. 

K. Items that can be harmful to children, such as 
medications, poisons, cleaning supplies and chemicals, and 
equipment, tools, knives and other potentially dangerous 
utensils, shall kept in a locked cabinet or other secure place 
that ensures they are inaccessible to children. 

L. Plastic bags, when not in use, regardless of purpose or 
use, shall be made inaccessible to children. 

M. Construction, remodeling, and alterations of 
structures shall be done in such a manner so as to prevent 
hazards or unsafe conditions, such as fumes, dust and safety 
hazards. 

N. Strings and cords, including but not limited to those 
found on equipment, window coverings, televisions and 
radios, shall be inaccessible to children under age four.  

O. First aid supplies shall be kept at the center and shall 
be easily accessible to employees but not accessible to 
children. 

P. The center shall prohibit the use of alcohol and 
tobacco and the use or possession of illegal substances, 
unauthorized potentially toxic substances, fireworks and 
firearms, and pellet and BB guns on the center premises and 
notice to this effect shall be posted. 

Q. The personal belongings of center staff members shall 
be inaccessible to children. 

R. The center shall post a copy of the current “The 
Safety Box” newsletter issued by the Louisiana Office of the 
Attorney General and shall immediately remove from the 
early learning premises any items listed as recalled.  

S. Lawn cutting services shall not occur while children 
are on the playground or outside the early learning center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1903. Physical Environment 

A. Exclusive Use of Space. Indoor and outdoor space 
shall be used exclusively by children in care and center staff 
during hours of operation. 

1. Exceptions are allowed only for schools or 
churches regarding the shared use of kitchens, dining rooms, 
restrooms and outdoor space. 

2. If a center is located in a school or church, the 
center shall have time designated for exclusive use of the 
outdoor play area. 

B. Physical Separation. An early learning center, except 
one located in a church or school, shall be physically 
separated from any other business or enterprise, thereby 
preventing unauthorized access to children in care. 

C. Indoor and outdoor areas shall be free of hazards. 
D. Indoor Space 

1. A minimum of 35 square feet of usable indoor 
space shall be available per child. The space shall not 
include toilet facilities, hallways, lofts, storage spaces, 
stairways, lockers, offices, storage or food preparation areas, 
rooms used exclusively for dining or sleeping, or rooms used 
exclusively for the care of ill children. 

2. The maximum number of children in care at one 
time, whether on or off the premises, shall not exceed the 
capacity as specified on the current license, which shall be 
the lessor of the capacity determinations made by the Office 
of State Fire Marshall and the Office of Public Health. 

3. Any room counted as play space shall be available 
for play for the duration of the hours of operation.  

4. Indoor space shall include an area for dining, which 
may be in each classroom. 

5. The number of children using a room shall be based 
on the 35 square feet per child requirement, except for 
dining, sleeping, and other non-routine activities such as 
film viewing and parties. 

6. In rooms with cribs, there shall be adequate open 
floor play space available for crawling, walking, pulling up 
and playing that is free of routine care furniture.  
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7. An indoor area shall be maintained for the purpose 
of providing privacy for diapering, dressing and other 
personal care procedures for children beyond the usual 
diapering age.  

E. Outdoor Space  
1. A minimum of 75 square feet of outdoor play space 

per child using the play space at any one time shall be 
available. 

2. The minimum outdoor play space shall be available 
for at least one third of the licensed capacity. 

3. Outdoor play space shall be available through a 
direct exit from the center into the outdoor play space or 
shall be attached to the center in a manner that ensures 
children are continuously protected by a permanent fence or 
other permanent barrier while going to and from the center 
to the outdoor play space. 

4. Children shall not enter or exit the center through 
the kitchen. 

5. Outdoor play space shall be enclosed with a 
permanent fence or other permanent barrier in a manner that 
protects children from traffic hazards, prevents children from 
leaving the premises without proper supervision, and 
prevents contact with animals or unauthorized persons. 

6. Crawlspaces and mechanical, electrical, or other 
hazardous equipment shall be made inaccessible to children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1905. Nighttime Care for Children  

A. All minimum standards for early learning centers 
apply to centers that care for children after 9 p.m. and prior 
to 5 a.m., and in which no individual child remains for more 
than 24 hours in one continuous day. 

B. The following minimum standards also apply: 
1. there shall be an employee on duty designated as 

staff-in-charge; 
2. in addition to meeting all required staff to child 

ratios in §1711, there shall always be a minimum of two 
staff members present;  

3. staff counted for purposes of meeting child to staff 
ratio shall be awake; 

4. meals shall be served to children at ordinary meal 
times; 

5. time for personal care routines and preparation for 
sleep, such as brushing teeth, washing hands and face, 
toileting and changing clothes shall be provided; 

6. each child shall have a separate, age appropriate 
bed or cot with mat or mattress; 

7. bunk beds are prohibited; 
8. physical restraints shall not be used to confine 

children to bed; and 
9. the center’s entrance and drop off zones shall be 

well lighted during hours of operation.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 

§1907. Furnishings and Equipment 
A. High Chairs 

1. The high chair manufacturer’s restraint device shall 
be used when children are sitting in a high chair.  

2. Children who are either too small or too large to be 
restrained using the manufacturer’s restraint device shall not 
be placed in a high chair. 

B. Eating Practices  
1. Developmentally appropriate seating shall be used.  
2. Chairs and tables of suitable size shall be available 

for each child. 
3. Feeding tables may be used at mealtimes, if 

children’s feet are able to rest comfortably on a foot rest.  
4. Feeding tables may also be used for occasional 

program activities that require a table surface for no longer 
than 30 minutes in one day in addition to mealtime minutes. 

C. Sleeping Arrangements 
1. Individual and appropriate sleeping arrangements 

shall be made available for each child age one and older. 
2. Individual sleeping accommodations shall be 

assigned to a child on a permanent basis and labeled, unless 
the cots or mats are sanitized daily. 

3. For programs serving children ages four and above 
only, individual and appropriate sleeping arrangements shall 
be made available for a child that requests a rest time. 

D. Bed Coverings 
1. A labeled sheet for covering the cot or mat and a 

labeled sheet or blanket for covering the child shall be 
provided by either the center or the parent, unless the cots or 
mats are covered with vinyl or another washable surface.  

2. Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately 
when soiled or wet.  

3. Routine laundering shall occur at least weekly.  
E. Cribs 

1. A safety-approved crib shall be made available for 
each infant in accordance with the Louisiana Sanitary Code 
found at LAC 51:XXI.105.H. 

2. Each crib shall meet U.S. Consumer Product Safety 
Commission requirements for full-size cribs as defined in 16 
CFR 1219, or non-full-size cribs as defined in 16 CFR 1220.  

3. Children are prohibited from sleeping in playpens 
or cribs with mesh sides.  

4. Cribs shall be free of toys and other soft or loose 
bedding, including comforters, blankets, sheets, bumper 
pads, pillows, stuffed animals and wedges when the child is 
in the crib. 

F. Prohibited items: 
1. infant walkers;  
2. toy chests, storage bins and other equipment with 

attached lids;  
3. latex balloons for children under age three; 
4. trampolines; and 
5. culverts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
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§1909. Safe Sleep Practices  
A. Only one infant shall be placed in a crib. 
B. All infants shall be placed on their backs for sleeping. 

1. Written authorization from a physician is required 
for any other sleeping position. 

2. Written notice of the specifically authorized 
sleeping position shall be posted on or near the crib. 

C. Infants shall not be placed in positioning devices, 
unless the center has written authorization from a physician 
to use a positioning device. 

D. Written authorization from a physician is required for 
a child to sleep in a car seat or other similar device and shall 
include the amount of time that the child is allowed to 
remain in said device.  

E. “Back To Sleep” signs shall be posted in the room 
where infants sleep.  

F. Infants who use pacifiers shall be offered their 
pacifier when they are placed to sleep, but it shall not be 
placed back in the mouth once the child is asleep. 

G. Bibs shall not be worn by any child while asleep. 
H. Nothing shall be placed over the head or face of an 

infant.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1911. Care of Children  

A. Diapers shall be changed when wet or soiled.  
B. Children shall be changed and cleaned immediately 

following a toileting accident.  
C. Staff shall respond promptly to a request from a child 

for toileting assistance. 
D. While awake, children shall not remain in a crib, baby 

bed, swing, high chair, carrier or playpen for more than 30 
consecutive minutes.  

E. Daily Reports for Infants. Written reports that include 
the liquid intake, food intake, disposition, bowel movements 
and eating and sleeping patterns shall be given to the parents 
of infants on a daily basis. Reports shall be kept current 
throughout the day.  

F. Children shall not be held by a staff member when the 
staff member is removing a bottle from a warming device. 

G. Pacifiers attached to strings or ribbons shall not be 
placed around the neck or attached to the clothing of a child. 

H. Hot liquids shall not be consumed in the presence of 
children. 

I. Staff members shall adhere to proper techniques for 
lifting a child.  

J. Staff members shall not lift a child by one or both 
arms. 

K. Staff and children shall wash their hands using soap at 
least at the following times: upon arrival at the center, before 
preparing or serving meals, before giving medication, after 
playing in water used by more than one person, after 
toileting, after helping a child use a toilet or changing 
diapers, after wiping noses or cleaning wounds, after 
handling pets and other animals, after playing in sandboxes, 
before eating meals or snacks, upon coming in from 
outdoors, after cleaning or handling garbage and anytime 
hands become soiled with body fluids, such as urine, saliva, 
blood or nasal discharge. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1913. Water Activities 

A. The center shall obtain written parental authorization 
for a child to participate in any water activities or water play 
activities as those activities are defined in §103.  

B. Children under age three shall not engage in water 
activities due to the risk of contamination and disease. 

C. The use of saunas, spas or hot tubs is prohibited. 
D. Swimming, wading and boating is prohibited in lakes, 

ponds and other similar bodies of water.  
E. The center shall have written procedures describing 

the method staff shall use to account for children and ensure 
their safety while engaged in water activities.  

F. When children use a pool or other body of water with 
a depth of more than 2 feet, a certified lifeguard shall be 
present and supervising the children and may be counted in 
the child to staff ratio. 

1. For on-site water activities, the center shall have 
documentation of the current certification of the lifeguard.  

2. For off-site water activities, the center shall have 
documentation of the current certification of the lifeguard, 
whether the lifeguard is furnished by the center or the off-
site water location. 

G. A center shall have at least two staff members who 
are responsible for supervising children in swimming or 
wading pools or in other water activities, whether on-site or 
off-site, who are certified in infant, child, and adult CPR and 
pediatric first aid and shall maintain documentation of such 
certification.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1915. Health Services  

A. Observation. Upon arrival at the center, the physical 
condition of each child shall be observed for possible signs 
of illness, infections, bruises or injuries, and when 
something is observed, it shall be documented and such 
documentation shall include an explanation from the parent 
or child.  

B. Reporting. Incidents, injuries, accidents, illnesses, and 
unusual behavior shall be documented and reported to the 
parent no later than when the child is released to the parent 
or authorized representative on the day of the occurrence. 

C. Immediate Notification. The parent shall be 
immediately notified in the following circumstances:  

1. blood not contained in an adhesive strip; 
2. head or neck or eye injury; 
3. human bite that breaks the skin; 
4. animal bite; 
5. impaled object; 
6. broken or dislodged teeth;  
7. allergic reaction skin changes (e.g. rash, spots, 

swelling, etc.); 
8. unusual breathing; 
9. symptoms of dehydration; 
10. temperature reading over 101 oral, 102 rectal, or 

100 axillary; or 
11. injury or illness requiring professional medical 

attention. 
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D. The center shall not delay seeking care while 
attempting to contact a parent if emergency medical 
attention is required. 

E. Information regarding the medical condition of a 
child may be posted in public view if the center obtains a 
signed and dated statement from the parent granting such 
permission. 

F. Influenza Information. Centers shall provide each 
parent information concerning the influenza immunization 
by November first of each year. The Licensing Division shall 
provide information about influenza annually to each 
licensed center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1917. Medication Administration 

A. Written Authorization. No medication or special 
medical procedure shall be administered to a child unless 
authorized in writing by the parent. Such authorization shall 
include: 

1. name of child; 
2. drug name and strength; 
3. date(s) to be administered; 
4. directions for use, including the route (oral, 

topical), dosage, frequency, time and schedule and special 
instructions, if any. It is not acceptable to note “as indicated 
on bottle”; and 

5. signature of parent and date of signature. 
B. Required Container/Packaging 

1. For prescription medication to be administered at 
the center, the center shall maintain the original pharmacy 
container with the complete pharmacy label.  

2. For non-prescription medication to be administered, 
the center shall maintain the original bottle packing for the 
medicine or a printed document from the manufacturer’s 
website, which shall include the drug name and strength and 
clear directions for use.  

C. All medication shall be sent to the center in its 
original container, shall not have an expired date, and shall 
be clearly labeled with the name of the child to ensure that 
medication is for individual use only.  

D. If a non-prescription medication label reads “consult a 
physician,” the early learning center shall also maintain a 
written authorization from a licensed health care provider for 
the child to take the medicine. 

E. Aerosol. All aerosol medications shall be delivered to 
the center in pre-measured dosages.  

F. Topical. The center shall not apply topical ointments, 
sprays or creams without a written authorization signed and 
dated by the parent.  

G. Self-Administration. Children shall not administer 
their own medications without written authorization from the 
parent and such children shall administer medication in the 
presence of a staff person. 

H. Records. Medication administration records shall be 
maintained for all children regardless of who administers the 
medication. Records shall include the following: 

1. name of the child and medication name and dosage 
administered; 

2. date and time medication administered; 

3. documentation of telephone contact with parent 
prior to giving “as needed” medication; 

4. signature of person administering medication or 
witnessing the child administering own medication;  

5. signature of person completing the form; and 
6. when a parent administers medication to his/her 

own child on center premises, the medication administration 
record shall be documented by either the parent or a staff 
member.  

I. Authorization for “as needed” prescription and non-
prescription medication shall be updated as necessary or at 
least every six months by the parent, and shall include 
circumstances for administering “as needed” medication and 
any applicable special instructions.  

J. Medical Procedures. Children that require medical 
procedures such as tube feeding shall have specific 
instructions from a health care provider as part of the overall 
care plan for the child.  

1. Administration of feedings or medications through 
a tube-feeding apparatus shall be performed by a staff 
member trained and authorized by the parent or individual 
designated by the parent.  

2. Parental authorization and training shall be 
documented and shall include the name of child, date of 
training, name of staff trained, signature of staff trained, and 
signature of parent.  

3. Documentation of feedings and medications 
administered shall include the name of child, date, time, 
what was administered, and signature of administering staff 
member. 

K. Emergency Medications 
1. Children who require emergency medications, such 

as an EpiPen or Benadryl, shall have a written plan of action 
that shall be updated as changes occur or at least every six 
months, and shall include:  

a. method of administration;  
b. symptoms that indicate the need for the 

medication; 
c. actions to take once symptoms occur; 
d. description of how to use the medication; and 
e. signature of parent and date of signature.  

2. Medication administration records for emergency 
medication shall be maintained and include the following: 

a. symptoms that indicated the need for the 
medication; 

b. actions taken once symptoms occurred; 
c. description of how medication was administered; 
d. signature of administering staff member; and 
e. phone contact with the parent after administering 

emergency medication.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1919. Food Service and Nutrition 

A. All meals and snacks provided by the center, and their 
preparation, service and storage, shall meet the requirements 
for meals of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) 
Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) and 7 CFR 
226.20 and the Louisiana Sanitary Code, Title 51, Part 
XXIII, found at LAC 51:XXXIII. For the current CACFP
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meal patterns, contact the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Nutrition Support.  

B. The weekly menu shall: 
1. be planned for each day of the week and list the 

specific food items served; 
2. be prominently posted by the first day of each week 

and remain posted throughout the week; and 
3. have substitutions or additions posted on or near the 

menu.  
C. Information regarding food allergies and special diets 

of children shall be posted in the food preparation area with 
special care taken to ensure that individual names of children 
are not in public view. If a parent chooses to allow the center 
to post the child’s name and allergy information in public 
view, the center shall obtain a signed and dated authorization 
from the parent.  

D. A minimum of a breakfast or morning snack, lunch, 
and afternoon snack shall be served to children, and meals 
and snacks shall be served not more than three hours apart.  

1. Centers who do not serve breakfast shall have 
nutritious food available for children who arrive in the 
morning without having eaten breakfast.  

2. Children under age four shall not have foods that 
are implicated in choking incidents. Examples of these foods 
include, but are not limited to: whole hot dogs, hot dogs 
sliced in rounds, raw carrot rounds, whole grapes, hard 
candy, nuts, seeds, raw peas, hard pretzels, chips, peanuts, 
popcorn, marshmallows, spoonsful of peanut butter, and 
chunks of meat larger than what can be swallowed whole.  

3. Children shall be allowed a reasonable time to eat 
each meal and snack. Children shall not be forced to finish 
all their food. 

4. Food shall be given to children on individual plates, 
napkins, paper towels or in cups, as appropriate.  

5. Drinking water shall be readily available indoors 
and outdoors to children at all times. Water shall be given to 
infants only with written instructions from parents or a 
physician.  

E. Parents shall be allowed to provide breast milk.  
F. Centers may allow parents to bring food into the 

center. 
G. Parents of all children in a class with a child with 

allergies shall be advised to avoid any known allergies in 
class treats or food brought into the center.  

H. Infants that cannot hold a bottle shall be held while 
being bottle-fed. A child shall not be placed lying down on a 
mat or otherwise with a bottle, sippy cup, etc. A bottle shall 
not be propped at any time. 

I. Microwave ovens shall not be used for warming 
bottles or infant food.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§1921. Emergency Preparedness and Evacuation 

Planning 
A. Emergency and Evacuation Plan. The director shall 

consult with appropriate state and local authorities and shall 
establish and follow a written multi-hazard emergency and 
evacuation plan to protect children in the event of 
emergencies that at a minimum shall:  

1. address any potential disaster related to the area in 
which the center is located; 

2. include procedures for sheltering in place, 
lockdown and evacuation to a pre-determined site for 
potential threats to the safety, health and well-being of 
children in care;  

3. include specific procedures for handling infants 
through two year olds; 

4. include specific procedures for handling children 
with special needs, including the evacuation and 
transportation of children in wheelchairs; 

5. include a system to account for all children;  
6. include a system, and a back-up system, for 

contacting parents and authorized third party release 
caretakers;  

7. include a system to reunite children and parents 
following an emergency; 

8. include procedures for providing information about 
the emergency plan to parents at the time of enrollment and 
when changes occur; 

9. be reviewed annually for accuracy and updated as 
changes occur; and  

10. be reviewed with all staff at least once per year.  
B. Individualized Emergency Plan. An individualized 

emergency plan shall be in place for each child with special 
needs and shall include medical contact information and 
additional supplies and equipment as needed. 

C. Evacuation Pack. The center shall have an evacuation 
pack, the location of which is known to all staff, that at a 
minimum shall contain:  

1. a list of area emergency phone numbers; 
2. a list of emergency contact information and 

emergency medical authorization for all enrolled children; 
3. an emergency pick up form; 
4. first aid supplies, hand sanitizer, wet wipes, and 

tissue; 
5. diapers for children who are not toilet trained and 

plastic bags for diapers; 
6. a battery powered flashlight and radio and batteries; 
7. food for children under the age of 4, including 

infant food and formula; and 
8. disposable cups and bottled water. 

D. Records. A center shall maintain a copy of records, 
documents, and computer files necessary for its continued 
operation following an emergency in either a portable file or 
at an off-site location. 

E. Fire Drills. Fires drills shall be conducted at least 
once per month at various times of the day necessary to 
include all children, in accordance with the NFPA 101, 2012 
Life Safety Code, sections 17.71-17.13.3, and shall be 
documented.  

F. Tornado Drills. Tornado drills shall be conducted at 
least once per month in the months of March, April, May, 
and June at various times of the day necessary to include all 
children and shall be documented.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
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Chapter 21. Minimum Transportation Requirements 
and Standards 

§2101. General Requirements (Center-Provided, 
Parent-Provided or Contract Transportation)  

A. These general transportation rules apply to all 
transportation, whether for field trips or daily transportation. 

1. Transportation arrangements shall conform to all 
state laws, as amended, including but not limited to those 
requiring the use of seat belts and child restraints. 

2. Only one child shall be restrained in a single safety 
belt.  

3. The number of persons in a vehicle shall not exceed 
the manufacturer’s recommended capacity. 

4. Children shall never be left unattended in a vehicle. 
5. Each child shall enter and exit a vehicle from the 

curb side of the street or shall be escorted across the street. 
6. Children shall not be transported more than 1 1/2 

hours per trip on a routine basis. 
7. Children shall not be transported to prevent the 

center from being over capacity. 
8. Vehicles shall be maintained in good repair.  
9. Each vehicle shall have evidence of a current safety 

inspection.  
10. First aid supplies shall be located in each center 

vehicle or contracted vehicle. First aid supplies (at least one 
per trip) shall be available for each field trip when parents 
provide transportation.  

11. Center emergency information shall be prominently 
posted in each vehicle and shall provide the name of the 
director and the name, phone number and address of the 
center.  

12. The use or possession of alcohol or tobacco in any 
form, illegal substances, unauthorized toxic substances or 
firearms of any kind is prohibited in any vehicle used to 
transport children. 

13. The center shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana or other state-issued driver's license 
for all individuals who drive vehicles used to transport 
children, whether said drivers are staff members or 
contracted drivers.  

14. Centers shall maintain at all times current 
commercial liability insurance for the operation of center 
vehicles to ensure medical coverage for children in event of 
accident or injury. This policy shall extend coverage to any 
staff member who provides transportation for any child in 
the course and scope of his/her employment. The provider is 
responsible for payment of medical expenses of a child 
injured while in the center’s care. Documentation shall 
consist of the insurance policy or current binder that includes 
the name of the early learning center, the name of the 
insurance company, policy number, period of coverage and 
explanation of coverage. If transportation is provided by 
parents for field trips or transportation is provided by 
contract, whether daily of field trip, a copy of the current 
liability insurance shall be maintained on file at the center. 

15. Centers using contract transportation shall maintain 
a copy of the written contract that includes an express 
provision stating that the contractor shall comply with all 
state laws and regulations, as amended, regarding motor 
vehicles, including but not limited to seat belts and child 
restraints.  

16. Child Safety Alarm. In accordance with R.S. 
32:295.3.1, a center may have a child safety alarm installed 
in any vehicle that has a seating capacity of six or more 
passengers in addition to the driver. This vehicle has to be 
owned or operated by the early learning center, its owner, 
operator, or employees and used to transport children to or 
from the early learning center. The child safety alarm is an 
ignition-based alarm system that voice prompts the driver to 
inspect the vehicle for children before exiting the vehicle 
and shall be installed by a person or business that is 
approved by the manufacturer of the child safety alarm. An 
owner or director of an early learning center who elects to 
have a child safety alarm installed in a vehicle owned or 
operated by the early learning center shall ensure that the 
child safety alarm is properly maintained and in good 
working order each time the vehicle is used for transporting 
children to or from an early learning center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§2103. Daily Transportation (Contract or Center 

Provided) 
A. Written authorization shall be obtained from a parent 

to transport a child on a regular basis. Such authorization 
shall include the name of the child, the type of transportation 
(to and from school, to and from home) and the names of 
individuals, schools, or other entities to whom the child may 
be released.  

B. A staff person shall be present when a child is 
delivered to the center. 

C. When children are picked up or dropped off at the 
center by a public or private school bus, staff shall be present 
to safely escort children to and from the bus. 

D. Vehicle Staff 
1. When transporting children under age four, the 

driver and one staff person shall be in each contracted or 
center provided vehicle at all times.  

2. When transporting children age four and older, the 
driver plus one staff member shall be in each contracted or 
center provided vehicle at all times, unless the vehicle has a 
communication device which allows the driver to contact 
emergency personnel, in which case only the driver is 
needed. 

E. Master Transportation Log  
1. A copy of the current master transportation log 

shall be maintained on file at the center and shall include the 
names of the children, the pickup and drop off locations, and 
the authorized persons to whom the children may be 
released. Documentation shall be maintained whether 
transportation is provided by the center or contracted. 

2. Each driver or monitor, whether provided by the 
center or through a contractor, shall be provided a current 
master transportation log. 

F. Passenger Log 
1. A current passenger log for each trip shall be used 

to track children and staff during transportation.  
2. The log shall be maintained on file at the center and 

a copy shall be provided to the driver or monitor.  
3. The following shall be recorded in the passenger 

log: 
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a. date the transportation is provided; 
b. name of the child; 
c. name of driver and staff members; 
d. pick up and drop off locations; 
e. time child was placed on the vehicle; 
f. time child was released and name of the person 

or entity to whom child was released; and 
g. signature of staff person completing the log. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§2105. Field Trips 

The center shall obtain and maintain a signed parental 
authorization for each field trip.  

B. At least two staff, one of whom may be the driver, 
shall be in each vehicle, unless the vehicle has a 
communication device and the child to staff minimum ratio 
is met in the vehicle.  

C. If transportation is provided by parents, a planned 
route shall be provided to each driver and a copy maintained 
in the center if any parent is transporting a child in addition 
to their own child.  

D. Children shall be supervised during the boarding and 
exiting of vehicles by an adult who remains outside of the 
vehicle. 

E. A written record for each field trip shall be 
maintained and shall include the following:  

1. date, destination(s) and method of transportation; 
2. names of all the children being transported in each 

vehicle; 
3. names of the driver, staff members and other adults 

being transported in each vehicle; 
4. names of other adults who joined the field trip at 

the destination(s) to assist with supervision of children; and 
5. the presence of each child each time the children 

enter or exit the vehicle. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:407.40(A)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§2107. Motor Vehicle Passenger Checks 

A. A visual passenger check of a vehicle is required to 
ensure that no child is left in the vehicle.  

1. A staff person shall physically walk through the 
vehicle and inspect all seat surfaces, under all seats, and in 
all enclosed spaces and recesses in the interior of the vehicle.  

2. The staff member shall record the time of the visual 
passenger check and sign the log, indicating that no child 
was left on the vehicle.  

B. For field trips, each vehicle shall have a visual 
passenger check and a face-to-name count conducted at all 
of the following times: 

1. prior to leaving center for destination; 
2. upon arrival at and prior to departure from each 

destination; and 
3. upon return to center.  

C. For daily transportation services, the vehicle shall 
have a visual passenger check made at the completion of 
each trip or route, prior to the staff member exiting the 
vehicle. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 
§2109. Non-Vehicular Excursions 

A. Written parental authorization shall be obtained for all 
non-vehicular excursions. Authorization shall include the 
name of the child, type and location of the activity, date and 
signature of the parent, and shall be updated at least 
annually.  

B. Centers shall maintain records of all non-vehicular 
excursion activities to include the date, time, list of children, 
staff, and other adults, and type of activity.  

C. Children shall not be taken on any vehicular or non-
vehicular excursion to prevent the center from being over 
capacity. Children on excursions shall be included when 
determining whether the center is within its licensed 
capacity. 

D. See §1711.K for child to staff minimum ratios 
applicable to non-vehicular excursions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:407.40(A)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 
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5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? Yes. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2015, to Shan N. 
Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 
P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9064.  

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Act 868 (Early Learning Center Act) of the 2014 Regular 
Legislative Session transfers licensing authority from the 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) to the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) effective October 1, 
2014. The law requires BESE to establish statewide minimum 
standards for the health, safety and well-being of children in 
early learning centers, ensure maintenance of these standards, 
and regulate conditions in early learning centers through a 
program of licensing administered by the LDE. As required by 
law, the LDE has worked with various stakeholders including 
early learning center providers (child care, Head Start/Early 
Head Start, Nonpublic), the State Sanitarian, the Fire Marshal, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, and the Department of 
Children and Family Services since August of 2013 to develop 
the proposed regulations. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be indeterminable costs and/or economic 
benefits to child care centers as a result of changes to the 
licensing policies.  Some changes may result in an increase in 
costs and some may result in a savings.  It is not possible to 
predict the resulting cost or savings.  It will depend on many 
factors such as the number of staff, the activities at the center, 
and past practices. 

If the Louisiana Child Care Assistance Program subsidy 
rate reaches the 75th percentile of the 2012 Louisiana Market 
Rate Survey rate for weekday care for toddlers by December 1, 
2015, the child to staff ratios for two-year-olds shall decrease to 
10:1 as of July 1, 2016.  If there is a reduction in child to staff 
ratios, there will likely be an increase in costs to parents of two 
year olds as providers will pass on the cost for the increase in 
staffing.  However for those centers receiving funds from the 
Louisiana Child Care Assistance Program, funding increases 
for parents could be mitigated. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1501#026 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (LAC 28:CXV.2313 and 2323) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2313, Elementary 
Program of Studies; and §2323, TOPS Honors Course 
Standards. The revisions update policy and provide 
requirements for honors courses that will qualify for the 
TOPS five-point GPA as required by Act 733 of the 2014 
Regular Session of the Legislature. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter A. Standards and Curricula 
§2313. Elementary Program of Studies 

A. Elementary schools shall adhere to the curricular and 
time requirements established by the LDE and approved by 
BESE. 

B. Schools and LEAs providing prekindergarten 
programs shall offer a curriculum that is developmentally 
appropriate and informal in nature with a balance of both 
teacher-directed and student-initiated activities. 

NOTE: Refer to Bulletin 136—The Louisiana Standards for 
Early Childhood Care and Education Programs Serving 
Children Birth-Five Years. 
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B.1. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7(26), R.S. 17:17.1, R.S. 17:24.8, R.S. 17:81, R.S. 17:154-
154.1, and R.S. 17:261 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1289 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:2353 (November 2007), LR 36:1225 (June 2010), 
LR 37:1135 (April 2011), LR 39:2215 (August 2013), LR 39:3259 
(December 2013), LR 41: 
§2323. TOPS Honors Course Standards 

A.  TOPS honors courses meeting the standards listed in 
this section shall qualify for the TOPS five-point GPA 
calculation beginning with students graduating in 2017-
2018. 

1. English 
a. English III. Students shall complete an additional 

unit of instruction beyond the regular course. The unit of 
instruction shall include additional grade-level, complex 
texts and related writing and research tasks. 

b. English IV. Students shall complete an additional 
unit of instruction beyond the regular course. The unit of 
instruction shall include additional grade-level, complex 
texts and related writing and research tasks.   

2. Mathematics 
a. Probability and Statistics. Students shall 

complete an additional unit of instruction beyond the regular 
course.  
 i. The unit of instruction shall exemplify the 
following shifts identified in the math standards: 

(a). focus; 
(b). coherence; 
(c). rigor–conceptual understanding, procedural 

skill and fluency, and application. 
 ii. All standards marked with a “+” from the 
statistics and probability domain of the high school 
standards must be included in the course.  
 iii. Students must design and implement a research 
project requiring mathematical modeling. 

b. Pre-Calculus. Students shall complete an 
additional unit of instruction beyond the regular course.  
 i. The unit of instruction shall exemplify the 
following shifts identified in the math standards: 

(a). focus; 
(b). coherence; 
(c). rigor–conceptual understanding, procedural 

skill and fluency, and application. 
 ii. All standards marked with a “+” from the 
number and quantity, algebra, functions, and geometry 
domains of the high school standards must be included in the 
course.  
 iii. Students must design and implement a research 
project requiring mathematical modeling. 

c. Calculus. Students shall complete an additional 
unit of instruction beyond the regular course. The unit of 
instruction shall reflect the shifts identified in the math 
standards. 
 i. The unit of instruction shall exemplify the 
following shifts identified in the math standards: 

(a). focus; 
(b). coherence; 
(c). rigor–conceptual understanding, procedural 

skill and fluency, and application. 

3. Science 
a. Biology II. Students shall complete two 

additional labs beyond the regular course. 
b. Chemistry I. Students shall complete two 

additional labs beyond the regular course. 
c. Chemistry II. Students shall complete two 

additional labs beyond the regular course.  
d. Physics. Students shall complete two additional 

labs beyond the regular course. 
e. Environmental science students shall complete 

two additional labs beyond the regular course. 
4. Social Studies 

a. U.S. History. Students shall complete two 
additional research projects beyond the regular course 
resulting in a written or performance-based product (e.g. 
formal debate, delivery of a speech, etc.). 

b. Government. Students shall complete two 
additional research projects beyond the regular course 
resulting in a written or performance-based product (e.g. 
formal debate, delivery of a speech, etc.). 

c. World History. Students shall complete two 
additional research projects beyond the regular course 
resulting in a written or performance-based product (e.g. 
formal debate, delivery of a speech, etc.). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 
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2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2015, to Shan N. 
Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 
94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064.  

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policies will have no effect on costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units over the next three 
fiscal years.  However, there is a potential but indeterminable 
impact to the TOPS program beginning in FY19 depending 
upon the extent to which students complete honors courses 
which could increase the number and/or value of TOPS awards.  

The revisions update policy and provide requirements for 
honors courses that will qualify for the TOPS five-point GPA 
as required by Act 733 of the 2014 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There could be an economic benefit beginning in FY19 for 
students who would qualify for TOPS awards or receive an 
increased TOPS award as a result of a higher gpa based on 
honors courses. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1501#027 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel (LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapters 2 and 6) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §233, 
The Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative Path to 
Certification (Minimum Requirements); §235, The Master's 
Degree Program Alternative Path to Certification (Minimum 
Requirements); §237, Certification-Only Program 
Alternative Path to Certification; §243, PRAXIS Exams and 
Scores and Section 504 Students; §605, Requirements to add 
Early Childhood (Grades PK-3); §607, Requirements to add 
Elementary (Grades 1-5); and §630, Requirements to add 
Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8) and (6-12)—Mandatory 
7/1/2010. The proposed revisions include two new Praxis 
elementary content exams (5001 and 5018). Praxis exams 
are regenerated on a five-year cycle or on an as-needed 
basis. The current elementary content exam will not be 
offered by the Educational Testing Service after August 31, 
2015. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Educator Preparation 
Programs 

Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 
§233. The Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative 

Path to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. - B.4. … 

5. pass the Praxis content-specific examinations: 
a. candidates for grades PK-3, pass elementary 

education; 
b. candidates for grades 1-5 (regular education and 

mild/moderate), pass elementary education; 
c. - e. ... 

6. meet other non-course requirements established by 
college or university. 

C. - I.3. … 
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4. passed the Praxis specialty examination for the 
area(s) of certification: 

NOTE: This test was required for admission. 
a. grades PK-3—elementary education; 
b. grades 1-5 (regular and special education)—

elementary education; 
I.4.c. - L. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1790 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:1387 (July 2008), LR 35:1477 (August 2009), LR 
36:2261, 2263 (October 2010), LR 37:549, 558 (February 2011), 
LR 37:3208 (November 2011), LR 39:1460 (June 2013), LR 
40:276 (February 2014), LR 41: 
§235. The Master's Degree Program Alternative Path 

to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. - C.3. … 

4. pass the Praxis content-specific subject area 
examination: 

a. candidates for PK-3 (regular education)—
elementary education; 

b. candidates for grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—elementary education; 

c. - e. … 
f. candidates for special education early 

interventionist birth to five years, significant disabilities 1-
12, hearing impaired K-12, visual impairments/blind K-12—
elementary education; 

5. meet other non-course requirements established by 
the college/university. 

D. Program Requirements 
1. Knowledge of Learner and the Learning 

Environment (15 credit hours) 
1.a. - 5.a. … 

E. Certification Requirements. Colleges/universities will 
submit signed statements to the Louisiana Department of 
Education indicating that the student completing the 
master's degree program alternative certification path met 
the following requirements: 

1. passed core academic skills for educators 
components of Praxis (as required for admission); 

2. completed all coursework in the master's degree 
alternate certification program with a 2.50 or higher grade 
point average (GPA); 

3. passed the specialty examination (Praxis) for the 
area of certification (this test was required for admission): 

a. grades PK-3 (regular education)—elementary 
education; 

b. grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—elementary education; 

c. - e. … 
f. special education early interventionist (birth to 

five years), significant disabilities 1-12, hearing impaired K-
12, and visual impairments/blind K-12—elementary 
education specialty examination; 

4. - 5.b. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1792 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:1480 (August 2009), LR 36:2262, 2263 (October 
2010), LR 37:549 (February 2011), LR 37:3209 (November 2011), 
LR 39:1460 (June 2013), LR 40:276 (February 2014), LR 41: 
§237. Certification-Only Program Alternative Path to 

Certification 
A. - C.3.b. … 

4. Testing requirements: 
a. pass the Praxis core academic skills for 

educators. Candidates who already possess a graduate 
degree will be exempted from this requirement. An ACT 
composite score of 22 or a SAT combined verbal/critical 
reading and math score of 1030 may be used in lieu of 
Praxis core academic skills for educators exams; 

b. pass the Praxis content-specific subject area 
examination: 
 i. candidates for PK-3 (regular education)—
elementary education; 
 ii. candidates for grades 1-5—elementary 
education; 
 iii. candidates for grades 4-8—pass the middle 
school subject-specific examination for the content area(s) to 
be certified; 
 iv. candidates for grades 6-12—pass the secondary 
subject-specific examination for the content area(s) to be 
certified. If no examination has been adopted for Louisiana 
in the certification area, candidates must present a minimum 
of 31 semester hours of coursework specific to the content 
area; 
 v. candidates for all-level K-12 areas of art, 
dance, foreign language, health and physical education, and 
music—pass the subject-specific examination for the content 
area(s) to be certified. If no examination has been adopted 
for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates must 
present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area for admission to the program. 
Provider must develop a process to ensure that candidates 
demonstrate necessary performance skills in the all-level 
certification area; 
 vi. candidates for special education early 
interventionist birth to five years, significant disabilities 1-
12, hearing impaired K-12, and visual impairments/blind K-
12—elementary education. 

D. - E.2.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1794 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:1482 (August 2009), LR 36:2262, 2263 (October 
2010), LR 37:550 (February 2011), LR 37:3210 (November 2011), 
LR 39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 41: 
Subchapter D. Testing Required for Licensure Areas 
§243. PRAXIS Exams and Scores 

A. - A.2. … 
* * * 
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B. Content and Pedagogy Requirements 

 

Certification Area Name of Praxis Test 
Content 

Exam Score 

Pedagogy: Principles of Learning and Teaching 
PLT K-6 
(#0622 or 

5622) 

PLT 5-9 
(#0623 or 

5623) 

PLT 7-12 
(#0624 or 

5624) 

Early Childhood PK-3 Elementary Content Knowledge 
(0014 or 5014) prior to 9/1/15 150 PLT: Early Childhood 0621 or 5621 (Score 157) 

Early Childhood PK-3 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 
 OR 
 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

163 
 
 
 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

PLT: Early Childhood 0621 or 5621 (Score 157) 

Mandatory  9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Grades 1-5 Elementary Content Knowledge 
(0014 or 5014) prior to 9/1/15 

150 160 --- --- 

Grades 1-5 

Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 
OR 
 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 
 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

163 
 
 
 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

160   

Grades 4-8 
Mathematics 

Middle School Mathematics (0069) 
Prior to 1/1/14 

Middle School Mathematics  (5169) Effective 1/1/14 

148 
 

165 

--- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 Science 

Middle School Science (0439) Prior to 6/8/14 
Middle School Science (5440) Effective 6/8/14 

150 
 

150 

--- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 Social 
Studies 

Middle School Social Studies (0089 or 5089) 149 --- 160 --- 

Grades 4-8 English/ 
Language Arts 

Middle School English/Language Arts (0049 or 5049) Prior to 
1/1/14 
 
Middle School English (5047) Effective 
1/1/14 

160 
 
 

164 

--- 160 --- 

C. - C.2. … 
* * * 
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D. Special Education Areas 
 

Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
All Special Education Area(s) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15 
(0014 or 5014) 
 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 OR 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
150 

 
163 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) and 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early Childhood 
(0621 or 5621 Effective 1/1/12 

 
Special Education: Early Childhood (0691) and 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early Childhood 
(0621 or 5621) Effective 1/1/14 

145 
 

157 
 
 

159 
157 

Hearing 
Impaired 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15 
(0014 or 5014) 
 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 OR 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 
  

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
150 

 
163 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) and Education of Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing Students (0271) Effective 11/1/11 

 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354 or 5354) and Special Education: Education of 
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (0272 or 5272) 
Effective 1/1/14 

145 
160 

 
 

145 
160 

Mild to 
Moderate 
Disabilities 

ALL Candidates must pass a content area exam appropriate to certification 
level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12 (e.g., Elementary, or core subject-specific exams for 
middle or secondary grades) 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to 
Moderate Applications (0543 or 5543) and PLT  
specific to grade level (K-6, or 5-9 or 7-12). 

153 

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15 
(0014 or 5014) 
 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
 OR  
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 
  

Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

150 
 
 
 

163 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to 
Profound Applications (0545 or 5545) 

153 
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Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
Visual 
Impairments/ 
Blind 

Elementary Content Knowledge prior to 9/1/15 
(0014 or 5014) 
 
Effective 9/1/15 to 8/31/17 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (5018) 
OR 
Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

 
Mandatory 9/1/17 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects 
(5001) 

 Reading/Language Arts(5002) 
 Mathematics (5003) 
 Social Studies (5004) 
 Science (5005) 

150 
 
 
 

163 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

 
 
 
 

157 
157 
155 
159 

Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (0354 or 5354) Effective 11/1/11 

 
Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (0354 or 5354) and Special Education: 
Teaching Students with Visual Impairments (0282) 
Effective 1/1/14  

145 
 
 

145 
163 

 
E. … 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41: 
Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter A. Regular Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§605. Requirements to add Early Childhood (Grades 

PK-3) 
A. - A.2. … 
B. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or 

middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary 
school certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), special education 
certificate (other than early interventionist), or an all-level 
K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign language, health, 
physical education, health and physical education, music) 
must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxiselementary education; 
2. passing score for Praxisprinciples of learning and 

teaching early childhood (0621 or 5621) or accumulate 12 
credit hours of combined nursery school and kindergarten 
coursework. 

C. Individuals holding a valid early interventionist 
certificate must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxiselementary education; 
2. - 3. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:883 (March 2011), repromulgated LR 37:1561 
(June 2011), amended LR 37:3215 (November 2011), LR 38:44 
(January 2012), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), LR 41:  
§607. Requirements to add Elementary (Grades 1-5) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3) must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxiselementary education; 
2. passing score for Praxisprinciples of learning and 

teaching K-6 exam; and 
3. nine semester hours of reading or passing score for 

Praxisteaching reading exam (0204 or 5204). 
B. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or 

middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary 
certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), special education 
certificate, or all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign 
language, health, physical education, health and physical 
education, and music) must achieve the following: 

1.a. passing score for Praxiselementary education; or 
b. accumulate: 

 i. 12 semester hours of mathematics; 
 ii. 12 semester hours of science; 
 iii. 12 semester hours of English language arts; 
and 
 iv. 12 semester hours of social studies; 

2. passing score for Praxis principles of learning and 
teaching K-6 exam; and 

3. 9 semester hours of reading. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006), 
amended LR 38:44 (January 2012), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), LR 
41: 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§630. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8) 

and (6-12)—Mandatory 7/1/2010 
A. - B.1.f. … 

2. passing score for Praxis exams—special education: 
core knowledge and mild to moderate applications (0543 or 
5543), principles of learning and teaching (PLT): K-6, and 
elementary exam. 

C. - E.2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 
17:22(6), R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
amended LR 37:553 (February 2011), LR 39:1464 (June 2013), LR 
41: 
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Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 953 and 974 of title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No.  

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No.  

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In accordance with section 973 of title 49 of the Louisiana 

Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a Poverty Impact 
Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, amendment, or 
repeal. All Poverty Impact Statements shall be in writing and 
kept on file in the state agency which has adopted, amended, 
or repealed a Rule in accordance with the applicable 
provisions of the law relating to public records. For the 
purposes of this Section, the word “poverty” means living at 
or below 100 percent of the federal poverty line. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the household 
income, assets, and financial security? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development? Yes. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect employment and 
workforce development? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect taxes and tax credits? 
No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect child and dependent 
care, housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and 
utilities assistance? No. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., February 8, 2015, to Shan N. 
Davis, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policies will have no effect on costs or 
savings to state or local governmental units. 

The proposed revisions include two new Praxis Elementary 
Content exams (5001 and 5018).  Praxis exams are regenerated 
on a five-year cycle or on an as-needed basis.  The current 
Elementary Content exam will not be offered by the 
Educational Testing Service after August 31, 2015. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
1501#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Home Inspectors 

Visually Observable Evidence of 
Suspected Mold Growth (LAC 46:XL.303) 

The Board of Home Inspectors proposes to amend LAC 
46:XL.303 in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and the 
Louisiana Home Inspector Licensing Law, R.S. 37:1471 et 
seq. The text is being amended and adopted to provide a 
definition for required reporting in accordance with recently 
enacted R.S. 37:1478(A).  
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XL.  Home Inspectors 

Chapter 3. Standards of Practice 
§303. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Visually Observable Evidence of Suspected Mold 
Growthvisually observable discoloration of the interior 
components within the climate controlled living space 
apparently occurring from moisture that may be indicative of 
mold or microbial growth which is visually observable, 
without employing moisture, environmental or other testing 
methods. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1475. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Board of Home Inspectors, LR 26:2745 
(December 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Board 
of Home Inspectors, LR 30:1689 (August 2004), LR 36:2861 
(December 2010), LR 38:2532 (October 2012), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule amendment has no known impact on 

family formation, stability and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested parties may submit written comments to 

Morgan Dampier, Chief Operating Officer, Louisiana State 
Board of Home Inspectors, 4664 Jamestown, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70898-4868, or by facsimile to (225) 248-1335. 
Comments will be accepted through the close of business 
February 10, 2015.  

Public Hearing 
If it becomes necessary to convene a public hearing to 

receive comments in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act, the hearing will be held on February 23, 
2015 at 9 a.m. at the office of the State Board of Home 
Inspectors, 4664 Jamestown, Suite 220, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 
Albert J. Nicaud 
Board Attorney 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Visually Observable Evidence of 
Suspected Mold Growth 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated implementation costs (savings) to 

state or local governmental units as the result of the proposed 
rule change other than those directly associated with 
publication. The purpose of the proposed rule change is to 
define terms of art to comply with LSA R.S. 37:1478A, as 
amended by Act 572 of 2014. These changes involve how 
inspectors are to report potential cases of mold. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will likely be no increase in costs to licensed home 
inspectors as a result of the proposed administrative rule. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed administrative rule will have no effect on 
competition among home inspectors. 

 
Albert Nicaud Evan Brasseaux 
Board Attorney Staff Director 
1501#016 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration  

Office of State Procurement 

Procurement (LAC 34:V.2101, 2518, and 2521) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated to 
correct an error upon submission. The original Notice of Intent 
can be viewed in the November 20, 2014 edition of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 2346-2348. 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Procurement, proposes to amend Chapters 21 and 25 of LAC 
34:V, Procurement. 

The laws governing procurement by state executive 
branch agencies defines “written” or “in writing” as 
including “information that is electronically transmitted and 
stored.” As currently written, the rules governing the review 
of professional, personal, consulting, and social service 
contracts require original contracts with original signatures 
to be submitted to the Office of State Procurement. The 
following amendments to LAC 34:V.2518 and LAC 
34:V.2521.E.1 are necessary in order to allow for the review 
of electronically transmitted documents. 

The amendment to LAC 34:V.2521.M is necessary to 
correct an inconsistency between the rule as now written and 
governing law (see R.S. 39:1595(B)(10)(a)). 

The amendment to LAC 34:V.2101 is necessary to be 
consistent with the provisions of R.S. 39:1661. 
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Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part V.  Louisiana Procurement Code  

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions 
§2101. Contract Provisions 

[Formerly LAC 34:I.2101] 
A. When a contract is to contain an option for renewal, 

extension, or purchase, notice of such provision shall be 
included in the solicitation. When such a contract is awarded 
by competitive sealed bidding, exercise of the option shall 
be at the state's discretion only, and shall be at the mutual 
agreement of the state and the contractor. 

B. Contract Clauses. Contracts may include clauses 
providing for equitable adjustments in prices, time for 
performance, or other contract provisions, as appropriate, 
covering the following subjects: 

1. the unilateral right of the state to order in writing 
changes in the work within the general scope of the contract 
in any one or more of the following: 

a. drawings, designs, or specifications, if the 
supplies to be furnished are to be specially manufactured for 
the state in accordance therewith;. 

b. method of shipment or packing; or 
c. place of delivery; 
d. security for contract performance; 
e. insurance requirements including as appropriate 

but not limited to general liability, automobile coverage, 
workers' compensation, and errors and omissions; 

f. beginning and ending dates of the contract; 
g. maximum compensation to be paid the 

contractor; 
2. the unilateral right of the state to order in writing 

temporary stopping of the work or delaying of performance; 
3. variations between estimated quantities of work in a 

contract and actual quantities; 
4. manufacturers' design drawings shall be supplied in 

duplicate for all state buildings, to the appropriate state 
agency at the conclusion of the contract. 

C. Additional Contract Clauses. Contracts shall include 
clauses providing for appropriate remedies and covering the 
following subjects: 

1. liquidated damages as may be appropriate; 
2. specified excuses for delay or nonperformance as 

may be appropriate; 
3. termination of the contract for default; and 
4. termination of the contract in whole or in part for 

the convenience of the state. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1581. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 8:337 (July 1982), amended LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
repromulgated LR 40:1362 (July 2014), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Procurement, LR 41: 

Chapter 25. Procurement of Professional, Personal, 
Consulting, Social Services,  
and Energy Efficiency Contracts 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§2518. Submission of Contracts 

[Formerly LAC 34:V.118] 
A. At least one copy of said contract and attachments 

shall be submitted to the Office of State Procurement. The 
Office of State Procurement shall submit a list of all 
contracts for $25,000 or more to the Legislative Fiscal 
Office. Copies of such contracts shall be forwarded to the 
Legislative Fiscal Office upon request. The Office of State 
Procurement will not accept for review and approval any 
contract that is not accompanied by the necessary 
attachments and copies as required herein. (Attachments 
being submittal letters, R.S. 39:1497 certification, BA-22, 
etc.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1490(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Contractual 
Review, LR 4:497 (December 1978), amended LR 7:182 (April 
1981), LR 8:592 (November 1982), LR 10:456 (June 1984), LR 
11:1068 (November 1985), LR 13:653 (November 1987), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Procurement, LR 40:2562 
(December 2014), LR 41: 
§2521. Contractual Review Process 

[Formerly LAC 34:V.121] 
A. Contracts arriving in the Office of State Procurement 

will be date stamped and logged in. Contracts should be 
submitted prior to their effective dates and no contract shall 
be approved which has been submitted 60 days after its 
effective date unless written justification is provided by the 
using agency and approval granted by the state chief 
procurement officer or his designee. All submittals will be 
required to have a cover letter attached thereto in conformity 
with §195, Appendix D of this Part. 

B. If a contract does not appear to be out of the ordinary 
and appears to have the necessary attachments and 
inclusions, it will be routed as appropriate to the Division of 
Administration budget analyst for the submitting agency. A 
BA-22, or its equivalent, shall be submitted with every 
contract submitted to the Office of State Procurement, which 
contains any expenditures or reduction in expenditures. 

C. Contracts that are incomplete as to form may be 
returned to the submitting agency. If a contract is merely 
missing an attachment then the necessary attachment may be 
secured from the submitting agency. 

D. Contracts Returned from Budget 
1. Not Recommended for Approval. If a contract is 

not recommended for approval, the Office of State 
Procurement shall discuss the reason with the budget 
analyst. If the problem cannot be resolved, the contract shall 
be returned to the submitting agency with a letter explaining 
the problem. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 196

2. Recommended for Approval. If a contract is 
recommended for approval the review process shall 
continue. 

E. Legal and Content Review. There are a number of 
different types of contracts, and content requirements may 
vary a little. All contracts shall contain the following: 

1. signatures of both the head of the using agency or 
his designee and the contractor.  

E.2. - L. … 
M. A performance evaluation for every personal, 

professional, consulting or social services contract shall be 
done by the using agency in accordance with R.S. 39:1500. 
This performance evaluation shall be retained by the using 
agency for all small purchase contracts approved under 
delegated authority. For all other contracts this performance 
evaluation shall be submitted to the Office of State 
Procurement within 60 days after the termination of the 
contract. An example evaluation form can be found in §195, 
Appendix F of this Part. Using agencies should use their 
own formats. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39: 1490(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Contractual 
Review, LR 7:182 (April 1981), amended LR 8:592 (November 
1982), LR 10:456 (June 1984), LR 11:1069 (November 1985), LR 
13:87 (February 1987), LR 13:653 (November 1987), LR 15:81 
(February 1989), repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 40:2562 
(December 2014), amended LR 40:2545 (December 2014), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this Rule will have no impact on family functioning, stability 
and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action will have no 

significant impact on: 
1. household income, assets, and financial security; 
2. early childhood or educational development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; or 
5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Statement 

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 
been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

The agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental 
and economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 
should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service;  

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

George Grazioso, Office of State Purchasing, P.O. Box 
94095, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. All 
comments must be received by February 9, 2015, by close of 
business. 

 
Jan B. Cassidy 
Assistant Commission 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Procurement 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes are anticipated to result in no 

significant cost or savings for either state or local governmental 
entities. The laws governing procurement by state executive 
branch agencies defines “written” or “in writing” as including 
“information that is electronically transmitted and stored.” As 
currently written, the rules governing the review of professional 
personal, consulting, and social service contracts require 
original contracts with original signature to be submitted to the 
Office of State Procurement. The following amendments to 
LAC 34:V.118 and LAC 34:V.121(E)(1) are necessary in order 
to allow for the review of electronically transmitted documents. 
These modifications will likely result in non-quantifiable time 
savings for various state employees handling contracts and 
procurement in the various state agencies. 

The amendment to LACV.121(m) is necessary to correct an 
inconsistency between the rule as now written and governing 
law (see, R.S. 39:1595(b)(10)(a)). 

The amendment to LAC 34:V.2101(M) is necessary to 
correct an inconsistency between the rule as now written and 
governing law (see, R.S. 39:1595(B)(10)(a)). 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementing the rule changes will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental entities. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no specific costs to directly affected persons 
or non-governmental groups as a result of the proposed rule. 
However, there will likely be a non-quantifiable economic 
benefit to the state through the ability to accept for review 
electronically transmitted documents. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment as 
a result of implementing this rule. 

 
Jan B. Cassidy Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1501#017 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Property Assistance Agency 

Electronic Media Sanitization  
(LAC 34:VII.307 and 509) 

Under the authority of R.S. 39:332, and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana Property Assistance 
Agency proposes to adopt a Rule relative to sanitizing 
surplus electronic equipment to prevent the release of 
sensitive personal information. This proposed Rule also 
requires all electronic media assets be tagged and entered 
into the agency’s official system of recordation regardless of 
original acquisition cost. 

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part VII.  Property Control 

Chapter 3. State Property Inventory 
§307. Items of Property to be Inventoried 

A. All items of moveable property having an "original" 
acquisition cost, when first purchased by the state of 
Louisiana, of $1000 or more, all gifts and other property 
having a fair market value of $1000 or more, and all 
weapons and electronic media assets, regardless of cost, with 
the exception of items specifically excluded in §307.E, must 
be placed on the statewide inventory system. The term 
“moveable” distinguishes this type of equipment from 
equipment attached as a permanent part of a building or 
structure. The term “property” distinguishes this type of 
equipment from "supplies" with supplies being consumable 
through normal use in no more than one year's time. All 
acquisitions of qualified items must be tagged with a 
uniform state of Louisiana identification tag approved by the 
Commissioner of Administration and all pertinent inventory 
information must be forwarded to the Louisiana Property 
Assistance Agency director or his designee within 60 
calendar days after receipt of these items. In instances when 
equipment must be installed and/or tested before acceptance 
by the agency, the calendar days will begin upon official 
acceptance by the agency. 

B. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:321 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Property Control Section, 
LR 2:228 (August 1976), amended 8:277 (June 1982), amended by 
the Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Louisiana 
Property Assistance Agency, LR 15:832 (October 1989), LR 
18:1256 (November 1992), LR 28:481 (March 2002), LR 41: 
Chapter 5. State Property Disposition 
§509. Disposal and Surplus of Electronic Equipment 

A. Policy. Electronic media, as defined by Office of 
Technology Services IT-POL-1-04 Data Sanitization Policy, 
that are subject to surplus, transfer, disposal, or otherwise 
permanently leave the possession of a state agency or its 
agents, except for lawful purpose shall be sanitized in 
accordance with Office of Technology Services IT-STD-1-17 
Data SanitizationStandards and Requirements. 

B. Scope. All entities under the authority of the 
Louisiana Property Assistance Agency, pursuant to the 
provisions of R.S. 39:321 et seq., or any political subdivision 
that desires to utilize LPAA services must comply with this 
policy. 

C. Responsibilities 
1. Agencies shall establish policies and procedures to 

ensure compliance with this policy. 
2. Agencies shall attest that they have sanitized all 

electronic equipment in accordance with the Office of 
Technology Services Policy IT-POL-1-04 Data Sanitization 
Policy prior to requesting permission to surplus or dispose of 
the electronic equipment.  

3. Attestation shall be evidenced in a manner 
prescribed by LPAA PPM 11, Data Sanitization.  

D. Related Policies, Standards, Guidelines. The 
following policies can be viewed on the respective agencies’ 
websites: 

1. Office of Technology Services IT-POL-1-04 Data 
Sanitization Policy; 

2. Office of Technology Services IT-STD-1-17 Data 
SanitizationStandards and Requirements; 

3. LPAA PPM No. 11, Data Sanitization. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:200(C), R.S. 39:326, R.S. 39:330, R.S. 39:330.1-2 and R.S. 
39:332. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Property Assistance Agency, 
LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule should have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual and community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 
In compliance with Act 820 of the 2008 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the economic impact of this 
proposed Rule on small businesses has been considered. It is 
anticipated that this proposed Rule should have no impact on 
small businesses, as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Steve 

Bice, Louisiana Property Assistance Agency, P.O. Box 
94095, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
February 12, 2015. 

 

Steve Bice 
Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Electronic Media Sanitization 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule amendments are not expected to produce 
additional costs or savings to the state. The proposed rule 
changes seek to amend the Property Control rules governing 
the disposal of electronic media. The changes strengthen 
existing data sanitization requirements and are designed to 
reduce the possibility for personal information to be contained 
in any asset subject to surplus, transfer, disposal, or otherwise 
permanently leave the possession of a state agency or its 
agents.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state of 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Since sanitization was previously required, there are no 
expected increases to costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Steve Bice Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1501#042 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Ambient Air Quality StandardsPM10 
(LAC 33:III.711)(AQ351ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.711 
(Log #AQ351ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 40 
CFR 50, which are applicable in Louisiana. For more 
information regarding the federal requirement, contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3985 or 
P.O. Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302. No fiscal or 
economic impact will result from the Rule. This Rule will be 
promulgated in accordance with the procedures in R.S. 
49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule includes LAC 33:III.711,Tables 1, 1a and 2. The 
Rule updates the national ambient air quality standards 
(NAAQS) language for particulate matter (PM10). The 
Clean Air Act (CAA) directs EPA to propose and promulgate 
primary and secondary NAAQS. Louisiana is adopting the 
updated NAAQS language. This Rule is necessary to 
maintain equivalency with the federal regulations and/or 
standards which enable Louisiana to carry out its duty 
required by R.S. 30:2054, the provisions of the CAA and 
state implementation plan (SIP) to implement, maintain and 

enforce the NAAQS in each affected region within the state. 
The basis and rationale for this Rule are to update the 
NAAQS language to mirror federal regulations as it applies 
to Louisiana affected sources. This Rule meets an exception 
listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 
therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 
and social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 7. Ambient Air Quality 
§711. Tables 1, 1a, 2—Air Quality 

A. Table 1. Primary Ambient Air Quality Standards 
 

Table 1. Primary Ambient Air Quality Standards 
Air Contaminant Maximum Permissible Concentration 

PM10 150 µg/m3  

(Maximum 24-hour 
concentration not to be 
exceeded more than once per 
year averaged over a three-year 
period) 

*** 

 
1. - 2. … 

B. Table 1a. Secondary Ambient Air Quality Standards 
 

Table 1a. Secondary Ambient Air Quality Standards 
Air Contaminant Maximum Permissible Concentration 

PM10 150 µg/m3 

(Maximum 24-hour 
concentration not to be 
exceeded more than once per 
year averaged over a three-year 
period) 

*** 

 
1. - 2. … 

C. Table 2. Ambient Air—Methods of Contaminant 
Measurement 

 
Table 2. Ambient Air—Methods of Contaminant Measurement 

Air Contaminant Sampling 
Interval Analytical Method 

PM10 24 hours 

Reference method based on 
appendix J to 40 CFR 50 and 
designated in accordance with 
40 CFR 53, or an equivalent 
method designated in 
accordance with 40 CFR 53. 

*** 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:348 (June 1988), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 32:1602 (September 2006), LR 34:433 
(March 2008), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Division, LR 40:1690 (September 2014), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 199

Provider Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014.  
Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ351ft. Such 
comments must be received no later than February 25, 2015, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, P.O. Box 
4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-
4068 or by e-mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. The comment 
period for this Rule ends on the same date as the public 
hearing. Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased 
by contacting the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-
3168. Check or money order is required in advance for each 
copy of AQ351ft. This regulation is available on the internet 
at www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held on February 25, 2015, at 

1:30 p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1501#015 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors 

License, Internship and Inspection  
(LAC 46:XXXVII.707, 901, 903, 907, 909, 1107 and 2001) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated 
due to an error upon submission. The original Notice of Intent 
can be viewed in the December 20, 2014 edition of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 2656-2658. 

The Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors proposes 
to amend LAC 46:XXXVII.Chapters 7, 9 and 11 pursuant to 
the authority granted by R.S. 37:840 and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
40:950 et seq. The board finds it necessary to revise, amend 
and/or add provisions of the rules, regulations, and 
procedures relative to providing useful guidance and 

information for the purpose of improving regulatory 
compliance and to enhance understanding of these changes. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AN OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part XXXVII.  Embalmers and Funeral Directors 
Chapter 7. License 
§707. Licensure by Endorsement Requirements 

A. Any person desiring a temporary license in Louisiana 
for an embalmer and funeral director or a funeral director 
license, shall before practicing, make application on forms 
furnished by the board. Said application shall be 
accompanied by a permit fee as established by the board, 
which is not refundable. If applicant meets all requirements, 
the secretary shall issue a temporary license. The board 
cannot, at its discretion, extend the temporary license period. 

B.1. - C. Repealed. 
D.1. The temporary license entitles the licensee to 

practice embalming and/or funeral directing in this state. 
However, it shall become null and void if the original license 
is revoked, suspended, or lapsed. 

2. - 3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

37:840 and R.S. 37:842. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, amended LR 11:688 (July 1985), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and 
Funeral Directors, LR 30:2821 (December 2004), LR 41: 
Chapter 9. Internship 
§901. Requirements for an Embalmer and Funeral 

Director License 
A. Any person desiring to engage in the practice of 

embalming and funeral directing in this state, except those 
holding a temporary license, shall serve as an intern within 
the state of Louisiana. 

1. - 5. Repealed. 
6. The employment of the intern at the funeral home 

may be verified by the board. Verification of employment 
may be made by presenting the quarterly returns submitted 
either to the Internal Revenue Service or the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, or, alternatively, some 
other official form used to verify employment which is 
acceptable to the board. 

7. The board registered supervisor shall certify or 
verify the cases and the contact hours that the intern worked 
during the month. 

8. Any internship shall be considered stale/null and 
void and unavailable for consideration after the passage of 
10 years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:840. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, promulgated LR 5:277 (September 1979), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Embalmers 
and Funeral Directors, LR 15:10 (January 1989), LR 16:769 
(September 1990), amended LR 30:2823 (December 2004), LR 
34:2400 (November 2008), LR 41: 
§903. Requirements for a Funeral Director License 

A. Any person desiring to engage in the profession of 
funeral directing in this state, except those holding a 
temporary license, shall serve as an intern within the state of 
Louisiana. 
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1. The employment of the intern at the funeral home 
may be verified by the board. Verification of employment 
may be made by presenting the quarterly returns submitted 
either to the Internal Revenue Service or the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, or, alternatively, some 
other official form used to verify employment which is 
acceptable to the board. 

2. The board registered supervisor shall certify or 
verify the cases and the contact hours that the intern worked 
during the month. 

3. Any internship shall be considered stale/null and 
void and unavailable for consideration after the passage of 
10 years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
37:840. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, amended March 1974, promulgated LR 5:278 
(September 1979), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, LR 15:10 
(January 1989), LR 19:744 (June 1993), LR 30:2823 (December 
2004), LR 34:2400 (November 2008), LR 41: 
§907. Affidavits Required 

A. When tenure of internship is completed, an affidavit 
by both the intern and the person under whose supervision 
he or she served, shall be filed not later than 15 days with 
the board. Said affidavit shall list the number of bodies 
embalmed and/or funerals assisted in and the number of 
contact hours served. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
37:840. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, amended March 1974, promulgated LR 5:278 
(September 1979), repromulgated by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, LR 30:2824 
(December 2004), LR 41: 
§909. Notification to Licensed Person 

A. The secretary of the board, upon notification by the 
applicant, will inform the licensed person responsible for the 
supervision and the training of the intern of the rules and 
regulations concerning the internship and that he or she will 
be responsible to the board for the application and 
enforcement of these rules and regulations. 

B. Repealed. 
C. Each intern is required to file a complete case report 

for each individual case handled during the internship which 
must be signed by the individual licensee who was 
supervisor of that case and must also file a monthly report 
providing the board with a summary of the cases worked 
during that period and the number of contact hours served 
which shall be signed by the licensee designated as the 
supervisor of the intern. The report is due on the tenth day of 
the month and delinquent on the fifteenth day. Delinquent 
reports may result in the loss of credit for that month. 

1. It shall be a requirement and responsibility of the 
intern to make these reports monthly and to have them in the 
office of the secretary on the date specified. Failure to 
perform as specified in this rule will mean automatic loss of 
that monthly credit. Failure of the licensed supervisor to 
perform as agreed or to in any way falsify the records of the 
internship will cause a fine to be levied in accordance with 
the provisions of R.S. 37:850 for said violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
37:840. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, promulgated LR 5:278 (September 1979), amended 
LR 11:946 (October 1985), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, LR 
15:11 (January 1989), LR 30:2824 (December 2004), LR 41: 
Chapter 11. Funeral Establishments 
§1107. Inspection 

A. - B. … 
1. area for displaying funeral merchandise which may 

consist of but not be limited to full size caskets, cuts, 
photographs or electronic images; 

a. a minimum of three adult caskets of a variety of 
styles and quality must be kept on premises, one of which 
must consist of the minimal adult casket on the 
establishment’s casket price list; 

2. … 
a. floors, tile, cement, linoleum, or like 

composition, finished with a glaze surface or epoxy flooring. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

37:840. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
August 1966, amended November 1972, February 1973, amended 
LR 4:295 (August 1973), LR 4:356 (September 1978), LR 5:278 
(September 1979), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, LR 20:191 
(February 1994), LR 20:1380 (December 1994), LR 30:2825 
(December 2004), LR 41: 
Chapter 20. Fees 
§2001. Fees 

A. - A.11. … 
12. A fee of $100 from each person applying for a 

temporary license within this state; 
13. …   

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
37:840 and 37:845. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 
LR 30:2828 (December 2004), amended LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed additions and/or changes to the rules of the 

board, Professional and Occupational Standards for 
Embalmers and Funeral Directors should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically, there should be no known or 
foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family’s earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the family’s ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 
defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 
known or foreseeable effect on: 
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1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Statement  

The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 
been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act.  

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule does not impact or affect a provider. 

"Provider" means an organization that provides services for 
individuals with developmental disabilities as defined in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Legislature. In 
particular, the proposed Rule has no effect or impact on a 
provider in regard to: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 
required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the cost to the provider to provide the same level of 
service; 

3. the ability of the provider to provide the same level 
of service. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Kim 

W. Michel, Executive Director, Louisiana State Board of 
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 3500 North Causeway 
Blvd., Suite 1232, Metairie, LA 70002. Written comments 
must be submitted to and received by the board within 30 
days of this notice. A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953 (A)(2) 
for oral presentation, argument, or public hearing must be 
made in writing and received by the board within 20 days of 
the date of this notice. 

 
Kim W. Michel 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  License, Internship and Inspection 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no estimated implementation cost or savings due 

to the proposed rule changes except for the publication of the 
proposed rules estimated at $450. In FY 15. The proposed rule 
changes codify legislative action per Act 264 of the 2014 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, specifically with 
regard to licensure and internships of embalmers/funeral 
directors. The proposed rule changes additionally modify 
requirements regarding casket displays in funeral homes, 
allowing alternative to the previous minimum of six full sized 
caskets on display. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

To the degree that the expanded internship options under 
Act 264 of 2014 may result in additional applicants to the 
relevant embalmer/funeral director positions, the board may 
realize a modest, but indeterminable increase in revenues 
through licensure application. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The expansion of internship opportunities as detailed in Act 
264 of 2014 may facilitate additional individuals seeking to 
enter into the profession of embalmer/funeral director. The 
proposed rule changes may enable funeral homes to limit costs 
associated with the previous requirements to display a 
minimum of six full-sized caskets, with new rule requiring only 
three caskets. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes are not expected to have a 
significant effect on competition and/or employment, but the 
expansion of internship opportunities as detailed in Act 264 
may ease entry into the profession of embalmer/funeral 
director. 

 
Kim W. Michel Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1501#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 
Per Diem Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:II.20005) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:II.20005 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for nursing 
facilities to reduce the per diem rates paid to non-state 
nursing facilities in order to remove the rebased amount and 
sunset the state fiscal year (SFY) 2012-13 nursing facility 
rate rebasing (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 5).  

For SFY 2013-14, state general funds were required to 
continue nursing facility rates at the rebased level. Because 
of the fiscal crisis facing the state, the state general funds 
were not available to sustain the increased rates. 
Consequently, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates for non-state nursing 
facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 7). This 
proposed Rule is being promulgated to continues the 
provisions of the July 1, 2013 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 
Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 
§20005. Rate Determination 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1305] 
A. - O. … 
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P. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2013, 
the per diem rate paid to non-state nursing facilities, 
excluding the provider fee, shall be reduced by $18.90 of the 
rate in effect on June 30, 2013 until such time that the rate is 
rebased. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 
31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 
(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 
amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:1782 (August 2010), LR 
36:2566 (November 2010), LR 37:092 (March 2011), LR 37:1174 
(April 2011), LR 37:2631 (September 2011), LR 38:1241 (May 
2012), LR 39:1286 (May 2013), LR 39:3097, (November 2013), 
LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact 
on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required 
to provide the same level of service, but may increase the 
total direct and indirect cost of the provider to provide the 
same level of service due to the decrease in payments. The 
proposed Rule may also have a negative impact on the 
provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as 
described in HCR 170 if the reduction in payments adversely 
impacts the provider’s financial standing. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118,

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities, 

Per Diem Rate Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $46,003,628 for FY 14-15, $47,246,578 for FY 15-16 and 
$48,663,975 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $432 ($216 
SGF and $216 FED) will be expended in FY 14-15 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 62.06 percent in FY 14-15 and 62.17 percent in 
FY 15-16.  The enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the first 
three months of FY 15 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery 
FMAP adjustment states. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$75,250,140 for FY 14-15, $77,645,248 for FY 15-16 and 
$79,974,605 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $216 will be 
expended in FY 14-15 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.06 percent 
in FY 14-15 and 62.17 in FY 15-16. The enhanced rate of 
62.11 percent for the first three months of FY 15 is the federal 
rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment states. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule amends the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates for non-state nursing facilities. 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule will 
reduce program expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $121,254,200 for FY 14-15, $124,891,826 for 
FY 15-16 and $128,638,580 for FY 16-17. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to nursing 
facilities.  The reduction in payments may adversely impact the 
financial standing of nursing facilities and could possibly cause 
a reduction in employment opportunities. 

 
J. Ruth Kennedy Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1501#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 203

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rehabilitation Clinics 
Physical and Occupational Therapies 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:XI.301 and 303) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XI.301 and §303 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides Medicaid 
reimbursement for physical, occupational and speech 
therapies provided in rehabilitation clinics to recipients 
under the age of 21.  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2013, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing rehabilitation clinics in 
order to terminate the coverage and Medicaid reimbursement 
of services rendered to recipients 21 years of age and older 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 39, Number 1). In compliance 
with a court order from the Melanie Chisholm, et al vs. 
Kathy Kliebert class action litigation, the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
reimbursement methodology for rehabilitation clinics in 
order to increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services rendered to recipients under 
the age of 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 2). 
This proposed Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the February 13, 2014 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 1.  Rehabilitation Clinics 

Chapter 3. Reimbursement 
§301. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The Medicaid Program provides reimbursement for 
physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech therapy 
rendered in rehabilitation clinics to recipients under the age 
of 21.  

B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after February 13, 

2014, reimbursement for physical and occupational therapy 
services shall be 85 percent of the 2013 Medicare published 
rate. There shall be no automatic enhanced rate adjustment 
for physical and occupational therapy services. 

D. Speech/language therapy services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at the flat fee in place as of February 13, 2014 
and in accordance with the Medicaid published fee schedule 
for speech/language therapy services provided to recipients 
under the age of 21 in rehabilitation clinics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services financing, LR 30:1021 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 40:1533 (August 2014), LR 41: 
§303. Reimbursement (Ages 0 up to 3) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1034 (May 2004), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 
It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have no impact 
on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required 
to provide the same level of service, and may reduce the 
total direct and indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service and enhance the provider’s ability to 
provide the same level of service since this proposed Rule 
increases the payment to providers for the same services 
they already render. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Rehabilitation Clinics 
Physical and Occupational Therapies 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
costs of $72,300 for FY 14-15, $73,975 for FY 15-16 and 
$76,195 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $540 ($270 SGF 
and $270 FED) will be expended in FY 14-15 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
62.06 percent in FY 14-15 and 62.17 percent in FY 15-16. The 
enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the first three months of FY 
15 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment 
states. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$118,092 for FY 14-15, $121,572 for FY 15-16 and $125,219 
for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $270 will be expended in FY 
14-15 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule. The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.06 percent in FY 14-15 and 
62.17 in FY 15-16. The enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the 
first three months of FY 15 is the federal rate for disaster-
recovery FMAP adjustment states. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the 
February 13, 2014 Emergency Rule which amended the 
reimbursement methodology for rehabilitation clinics in order 
to increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services rendered to recipients under the 
age of 21. It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase program expenditures in the Medicaid 
program for rehabilitation clinics by approximately $189,852 
for FY 14-15, $195,547 for FY 15-16 and $201,414 for FY 16-
17. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition and employment. 

 
J. Ruth Kennedy Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1501#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

School Based Health Centers 
Rehabilitation Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 
(LAC 50:XV.9141) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:XV.9141 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions to allow for Medicaid coverage and 
reimbursement of mental health services provided to 
students by School Based Health Centers and to establish 
provisions for other Medicaid-covered services students 
already receive (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 7).  

In compliance with a court order from the Melanie 
Chisholm, et al vs. Kathy Kliebert class action litigation, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for school based health centers in order to 
increase the reimbursement rates for physical and 
occupational therapy services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
40, Number 2). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the February 13, 2014 Emergency 
Rule. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 

Treatment 
Chapter 91. School Based Health Centers 
Subchapter E. Reimbursement 
§9141. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after February 13, 

2014, reimbursement for physical and occupational therapy 
services shall be 85 percent of the 2013 Medicare published 
rate.  

D. Speech/language therapy services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at the flat fee in place as of February 13, 2014 
and in accordance with the Medicaid published fee schedule 
for speech/language therapy services provided in school 
based health centers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:1420 (July 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by increasing access to school based rehabilitation 
services. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule may have a positive impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 
by increasing access to school based rehabilitation services.  
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Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
but may reduce the total direct and indirect cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service, and may 
enhance the provider’s ability to provide the same level of 
service as described in HCR 170 since this proposed Rule 
increases payments to providers for the same services they 
already render. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  School Based Health Centers 

Rehabilitation ServicesReimbursement Rate Increase 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
costs of $72,167 for FY 14-15, $73,896 for FY 15-16 and 
$76,113 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $432 ($216 SGF 
and $216 FED) will be expended in FY 14-15 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
62.06 percent in FY 14-15 and 62.17 in FY 15-16.  The 
enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the first three months of FY 
15 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment 
states. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$117,911 for FY 14-15, $121,440 for FY 15-16 and $125,083 
for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $216 will be expended in FY 
14-15 for the federal administrative expenses for promulgation 
of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected 
above are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance 
Percentage (FMAP) rate of 62.06 percent in FY 14-15 and 
62.17 in FY 15-16.  The enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the

first three months of FY 15 is the federal rate for disaster-
recovery FMAP adjustment states. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the 
February 13, 2014 Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
school based health centers in order to increase the 
reimbursement rates for physical and occupational therapy 
services. It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase program expenditures for school based health 
centers by approximately $189,646 for FY 14-15, $195,336 for 
FY 15-16 and $201,196 for FY 16-17. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition and employment. 

 
J. Ruth Kennedy Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1501#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

State Children’s Health Insurance Program 
Coverage of Prenatal Care Services 

(LAC 50:III.20301 and 20303) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to amend LAC 
50:III.20301 and 20303 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XXI of 
the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule which adopted provisions to expand coverage to 
children under Title XXI of the Social Security Act by 
implementing a stand-alone State Children’s Health 
Insurance Program (SCHIP) to provide coverage of prenatal 
care services to low-income, non-citizen women and to 
clarify the service limits and prior authorization criteria for 
SCHIP prenatal care services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
35, Number 1).  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions of the January 20, 2009 Rule 
in order to include Medicaid coverage for the unborn 
child(ren) of any pregnant woman with income between 138 
percent and 214 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 40, Number 1). The department 
subsequently promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the December 31, 2013 Emergency Rule in order 
to clarify these provisions (Louisiana Register, Volume 40, 
Number 4). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the April 20, 2014 Emergency 
Rule.  
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Subpart 11.  State Children’s Health Insurance Program 
Chapter 203. Prenatal Care Services 
§20301. General Provisions 

A. …  
B. Effective December 31, 2013, coverage of SCHIP 

prenatal care services shall be expanded to include any 
pregnant woman with income between 138 percent and 214 
percent of the FPL. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XXI of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:72 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 
§20303. Eligibility Criteria 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Recipients must have family income at or below 214 

percent of the FPL.  
D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XXI of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:72 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 41: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule may have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by increasing recipient access to prenatal care 
services that will promote better health outcomes for babies. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule may have a positive impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973 
by increasing access to prenatal care services which is 
expected to improve medical conditions and reduce health 
care costs to families. 

Provider Impact Statement 
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to J. 

Ruth Kennedy, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Kennedy is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on 
the next business day following the public hearing. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 173, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. 

 
Kathy H. Kliebert 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  State Children’s Health Insurance 

Program, Coverage of Prenatal Care Services 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
costs of $6,405,291 for FY 14-15, $6,569,905 for FY 15-16 and 
$6,767,002 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $432 ($216 SGF 
and $216 FED) will be expended in FY 14-15 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule. The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
73.44 percent in FY 14-15 and 73.55 percent in FY 15-16.  The 
enhanced rate of 62.11 percent for the first three months of FY 
15 is the federal rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment 
states. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$17,710,635 for FY 14-15, $18,269,054 for FY 15-16 and 
$18,817,126 for FY 16-17. It is anticipated that $216 will be 
expended in FY 14-15 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 73.44 percent 
in FY 14-15 and 73.55 in FY 15-16.  The enhanced rate of 
62.11 percent for the first three months of FY 15 is the federal 
rate for disaster-recovery FMAP adjustment states. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule continues the provisions of the April 
20, 2014 Emergency Rule which amended the provisions 
governing coverage of prenatal care services in the State 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) in order to 
include Medicaid coverage for the unborn child(ren) of any 
pregnant woman with income between 138 percent and 214 
percent of the Federal Poverty Level, and amended these 
provisions for clarification. It is anticipated that 
implementation of this proposed rule will increase program 
expenditures in the SCHIP by approximately $24,115,494 for 
FY 14-15, $24,838,959 for FY 15-16 and $25,584,128 for FY 
16-17. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition and employment.   

 
J. Ruth Kennedy Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1501#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners  

PLPC and PLMFT Regulations; Fee Structure 
Adjustments/Changes (LAC 46:LX.Chapters 1-47) 

In accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedures Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and through the 
authority of the Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act 
(R.S. 37:1101 et seq.), the Louisiana Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners hereby gives notice of its 
intent to adopt rules and to amend existing rules to 
implement Act 484 of the 2014 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature and changes associated with Act 173 
if the 2013 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and 
Act 736 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LX.  Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 

Examiners 
Subpart 1.  Licensed Professional Counselors 

Chapter 1.  General Provisions 
§101. Statutory Authority 

A. The Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners was initially created and empowered by 
Act 892 of the 1987 Legislature to provide regulation of the 
practice of mental health counseling and provide for the 
regulation of the use of the title "Licensed Professional 
Counselor" (R.S. 37:1102). Subsequently Act 1195 of 2001 
empowered the board to provide regulation of marriage and 
family therapy and the use of the title "Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapist" [R.S.37:1102(B)]. Act 484 of the 
2014 Legislative Session empowered the board to provide 
regulation of the practice and use of the titles “Provisional 
Licensed Professional Counselor” and “Provisional Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapist”. Therefore, the Louisiana 
Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
establishes the rules and regulations herein pursuant to the 
authority granted to, and imposed upon said board under the 
provisions of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 37, 
Chapter 13, R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:128 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2782 
(December 2003), LR 41: 
§103. Description of Organization 

A. … 
1. The licensed professional counselor board shall 

establish a marriage and family therapy advisory committee, 

which shall consist of the four board members appointed by 
the governor from the list of names submitted by the 
executive board of the Louisiana Association for Marriage 
and Family Therapy. 

A.2. - A.3.a. … 
b. examine and qualify all applicants for licensure 

or provisional licensure as marriage and family therapists 
and recommend to the board each successful applicant for 
licensure or provisional licensure, attesting to the applicant’s 
professional qualifications to be a licensed or a provisionally 
licensed marriage and family therapist; 

c. develop for the board application forms for 
licensure and provisional licensure pursuant to this Chapter; 
and  

d. maintain complete records of all meetings, 
proceedings, and hearings conducted by the advisory 
committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:128 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2782 
(December 2003), LR 39:1782 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§111. Notification of Change 

A. Every licensed or provisional licensed professional 
counselor and every licensed or provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist shall immediately notify in 
writing the Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners of any and all changes in name, address, and 
phone number. Failure to comply with this rule within 30 
days of change will result in a fine as set forth in §901.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 26:493 (March 2000), amended LR 29:129 
(February 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 3. Board Meetings, Procedures, Records, 

Powers and Duties 
§307. Meetings 

A. The board shall be domiciled in Baton Rouge and 
shall hold its meetings in places to be designated by the 
board. The chair will call meetings after consultation with 
board members or by a majority of members voting at a 
regular meeting. Reasonable notice of all board meetings 
will be given by posting the meeting place and time, seven 
days before the meeting, on the door of the office of the 
board and in two places in the building housing the office of 
the board. The board may examine, approve, revoke, 
suspend, and renew the license or provisional license of 
applicants and shall review applications at least once a year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:82 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:129 (February 2003), 
39:1782 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§309. Quorum 

A. Six members of the board shall constitute a quorum of 
the board at any meeting or hearing for the transaction of 
business and may examine, approve, and renew the license 
or provisional license of applicants. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:129 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2783 
(December 2003), LR 41: 
§313. Code of Ethics 

A. The board has adopted the Code of Ethics of the 
American Counseling Association for Licensed and 
Provisional Licensed Professional Counselors as specified in 
R.S. 37:1105(D) and may adopt any revisions or additions 
deemed appropriate or necessary by the board. Applicable 
ethics requirements for Licensed Marriage and Family 
Therapists and Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family 
Therapists are addressed at §4301 of these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:83 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 22:101 (February 1996), LR 
29:130 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§315. Records of Proceedings 

A. The board shall keep a record of its proceedings 
including applicant examinations, a register of applicants for 
licenses, and a register of licensed and provisionally licensed 
professional counselors which shall be made available to the 
public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:83 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:130 (February 2003), LR 
41: 
Chapter 5. License and Practice of Counseling 
§501. License of Title and Practice 

A. As stated in R.S. 37:1111(A), no person shall assume 
or use the title or designation "licensed professional 
counselor" or “provisional licensed professional counselor” 
or engage in the practice of mental health counseling unless 
the person possesses a valid license issued by the board 
under the authority of this Chapter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:83 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:130 (February 2003), LR 
39:1782 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§503. Definitions for Licensed Professional Counselors 

and Provisional Licensed Professional 
Counselors 

A. For purposes of this rule, the following definitions 
will apply. 

Active Supervision—the process by which a supervisee 
receives one hour of face-to-face supervision with his/her 
board-approved supervisor for every 20 hours of direct client 
contact or at least once every three-month period. 

Board—the Louisiana Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners. 

Licensed Professional Counselor—any fully licensed 
person (i.e. one who may practice independently as specified 
in R.S. 37: 1107(A)) who holds oneself out to the public for 
a fee or other personal gain, by any title or description of 
services incorporating the words "licensed professional 
counselor" or any similar term, and who offers to render 
professional mental health counseling/psychotherapy 
services denoting a client-counselor relationship in which 
the counselor assumes the responsibility for knowledge, 
skill, and ethical consideration needed to assist individuals, 
groups, organizations, or the general public, and who implies 
that he/she is licensed to practice mental health counseling. 

Licensee—an individual holding either a full or 
provisional license issued by the Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners. All licensees 
must accurately identify themselves as fully licensed (i.e., 
licensed) or provisionally licensed. 

Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor—any 
person by title or description of services incorporating the 
words "provisional licensed professional counselor" and 
who, under board-approved supervision (i.e. may not 
practice independently), renders professional mental health 
counseling/psychotherapy services denoting a client-
counselor relationship in which the licensee assumes the 
responsibility for knowledge, skill, and ethical consideration 
needed to assist individuals, groups, organizations, or the 
general public, and who implies that he/she is provisionally 
licensed to practice mental health counseling. 

Supervisee—a provisional licensed professional 
counselor under the active supervision of his/her board-
approved supervisor. 

Mental Health Counseling/Psychotherapy Services—
rendering or offering prevention, assessment, diagnosis, and 
treatment, which includes psychotherapy of mental, 
emotional, behavioral, and addiction disorders to 
individuals, groups, organizations, or the general public by a 
licensed or provisional licensed professional counselor 
which is consistent with his/her professional training as 
prescribed by R.S. 37:1107(A)(8), and code of 
ethics/behavior involving the application of principles, 
methods, or procedures of the mental health counseling 
profession. However, nothing in this Chapter shall be 
construed to authorize any person licensed or provisionally 
licensed hereunder to administer or interpret tests in 
accordance with the provision of R.S.37:2352(5), except as 
provided by LAC 46:LXIII.1702.E, or engage in the practice 
of psychology or to prescribe, either orally or in writing, 
distribute, dispense, or administer any medications. 

Practice of Mental Health Counseling/Psychotherapy—
rendering or offering prevention, assessment, diagnosis, and 
treatment, which includes psychotherapy of mental, 
emotional, behavioral, and addiction disorders to 
individuals, groups, organizations, or the general public by a 
licensed or provisional licensed professional counselor, 
which is consistent with his/her professional training as 
prescribed by R.S. 37:1107(A)(8), and code of 
ethics/behavior involving the application of principles, 
methods, or procedures of the mental health counseling 
profession which includes but is not limited to: 

a. - e.ii. … 
 iii. Appraisals done within the practice of mental 
health counseling must be performed in accordance with the 
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requirements of the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 46, 
Part LX, Chapter 21, Code of Conduct for Licensed 
Professional Counselors and Provisional Licensed 
Professional Counselors. A licensed professional counselor 
must be privileged by this board to utilize formal appraisal 
instruments and shall limit such use to those areas heretofore 
mentioned in this Chapter. A licensed professional counselor 
who wishes to be board privileged to utilize formal appraisal 
instruments in the appraisal of individuals shall additionally 
furnish this board satisfactory evidence of formal graduate 
training in statistics, sampling theory, test construction, test 
and measurements and individual differences and must 
renew this privileging designation every two years (as 
defined in Chapter 7). Formal training shall include a 
practicum and supervised practice with appraisal 
instruments. 

f. - g. … 
h. Supervision—the process as defined in Chapter 

7, §705 whereby a board-approved supervisor assists a 
provisional licensed professional counselor in developing 
expertise in the use of mental health 
counseling/psychotherapeutic practices. 

i. … 
j. Repealed. 
k. Internet Counseling—mental health services 

delivered over the internet are rendered where the 
patient/client is situated. All counselors/therapists serving 
Louisiana residents via internet counseling must be fully 
licensed in Louisiana and must adhere to all applicable state 
laws relative to the practice of mental health counseling. 
R.S. 37:1111 prohibits any person from engaging in the 
practice of mental health counseling in Louisiana unless 
he/she possesses a full and valid license issued by the 
Louisiana LPC Board. No individuals holding a provisional 
license may engage in internet counseling. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
371101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:83 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 16:302 (April 1990), LR 18:51 
(January, 1992), LR 22:101 (February 1996), LR 24:437 (March 
1998), LR 24:2124 (November 1998), LR 26:493 (March 2000), 
LR 29:130 (February 2003), LR 33:2654 (December 2007), LR 
39:1783 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§505. Serious Mental Illnesses 

A. …  
1. Mental Health Counseling/Psychotherapy 

Servicesrendering or offering prevention, assessment, 
diagnosis, and treatment, which include psychotherapy, of 
mental, emotional, behavioral, and addiction disorders to 
individuals, groups, organizations, or the general public by a 
licensee, which is consistent with his/her professional 
training as prescribed by R.S. 37:1107(A)(8), and code of 
ethics/behavior involving the application of principles, 
methods, or procedures of the mental health counseling 
profession. 

2. However, a licensee may not assess, diagnose, or 
provide treatment to any individual suffering from a serious 
mental illness when medication may be indicated, unless the 
licensee consults and collaborates with a practitioner who is

licensed or holds a permit with the Louisiana state Board of 
Medical Examiners or an advanced practice registered nurse 
licensed by the Louisiana state Board of Nursing who is 
certified as a psychiatric nurse practitioner. 

B. Applicability. The requirement for collaboration and 
consultation set forth above shall apply only if any of the 
following conditions are assessed, diagnosed, or treated by 
the licensee: 

1. - 12. … 
C. Definitions 

1. - 2.i. … 
 ii.  when the licensee, client, or legal guardian 
believes that the use of prescribed psychiatric medication 
may facilitate treatment goals and improve client 
functioning. 

3. As used herein, Consultation and 
Collaborationmay be specific or general in nature. 
 i. Specific Consultation and Collaboration. When 
medication is indicated for clients who have been diagnosed 
with a serious mental illness and if the client assents to 
consultation, the licensee must attempt to consult with the 
client’s practitioner within a reasonable time after receiving 
the consent for the purpose of communicating the diagnosis 
and plan of care. 

(a). If the licensee’s attempts to consult directly 
with the practitioner are not successful, the licensee must 
notify the practitioner within a reasonable time that he or she 
is providing services to the client. Also, the licensee must 
document in the client’s file the date of client consent, the 
date of consultation, or, if attempts to consult did not 
succeed, the date and manner of notification to the 
practitioner. The licensee will inform the client of the 
inability to consult directly with the practitioner and will 
discuss and document additional options with the client, 
including that of general consultation and collaboration. The 
licensee will provide information to the practitioner 
regarding client progress as conditions warrant. Consultation 
and collaboration, for purposes of these rules and otherwise, 
shall not be construed as supervision. Further, consultation 
and collaboration does not include the transfer between the 
consulting professionals of responsibility for the client’s care 
or the ongoing management of the client’s presenting 
problem(s). 

(b). If attempts to consult directly with a 
practitioner for a specific consultation are successful, the 
licensee must document in the client’s file the information 
obtained in the specific consultation. The licensee will 
provide information to the practitioner regarding client 
progress as conditions warrant.  
 ii. General Consultation and Collaboration. 
When medication is indicated for clients who have been 
diagnosed with a serious mental illness and when the client 
does not assent to a specific consultation, the licensee must 
attempt to consult with a practitioner within a reasonable 
time for a general consultation without releasing any 
identifying information about the client. 

(a). If the licensee’s attempts to consult directly 
with a practitioner are not successful, the licensee must 
document in the client’s file the date of client refusal for 
consent to consult, the date of general consultation, or if 
attempts to consult did not succeed, the date and manner of 
notification to a practitioner.  
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(b). If attempts to consult directly with a 
practitioner for a general consultation are successful, the 
licensee must document in the client’s file the information 
obtained in the general consultation. The licensee will 
provide general information to the practitioner regarding 
client progress as conditions warrant. 
 iii. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1105(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 39:1784 (July 2013), LR 41: 
Chapter 6. Application, Practice, and Renewal 

Requirements for Provisional Licensed 
Professional Counselors 

§601. General Provisions 
A. Pursuant to Act 484 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 

Session and effective May 1, 2015, an individual previously 
registered as a counselor intern with the Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners and under 
active board-approved supervision will be issued a 
provisional license as a provisional licensed professional 
counselor and subject to R.S. 37:1101-1123 and board rules 
herein. 

1. Any counselor intern who has surpassed their 
seven-year registration period, with the exception of those 
granted an extension by the board, must reapply to the board 
as a provisional licensed professional counselor under 
current law and board rules in order to practice mental health 
counseling.  

2. Counselor interns granted an extension beyond 
May 1, 2015 will be issued a provisional license. Such 
provisional license will become invalid upon expiration of 
the board granted extension. The individual must then apply 
under current law and board rules for provisional licensure 
as a provisional licensed professional counselor or for 
licensure as a licensed professional counselor in order to 
practice mental health counseling.  

B. The board shall provisionally license to practice all 
persons who present satisfactory evidence of qualifications 
as specified in these rules and regulations of the board. No 
provisional license shall be denied any applicant based upon 
the applicant's: 

1. age; 
2. culture; 
3. disability; 
4. ethnicity; 
5. race; 
6. religion/spirituality; 
7. gender; 
8. gender identity; 
9. sexual orientation; 
10. marital status/partnership; 
11. language preference; 
12. socioeconomic status; or 
13. any basis proscribed by law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners, LR 41: 

§603. Provisional Licensed Professional Counselors 
Licensing Requirements  

A. The board shall issue a provisional license to each 
provisional licensed professional counselor applicant who 
files an application upon a form designated by the board and 
in such a manner as the board prescribes, accompanied by 
such fee required by R.S. 37:1106 and who furnishes 
satisfactory evidence to the board that he/she: 

1. is at least 21 years of age; 
2. is of good moral character; 
3. is not in violation of any of the provisions of R.S. 

37:1101-1123 and the rules and regulations adopted herein; 
4. has received a graduate degree, as defined in 

Chapter 5, the substance of which is professional mental 
health counseling in content from a regionally-accredited 
institution of higher education offering a master's and/or 
doctoral program in counseling that is approved by the board 
and has accumulated at least 48 graduate credit hours as part 
of the graduate degree plan containing the eight required 
areas, the supervised mental health practicum and supervised 
internship in mental health counseling (as defined in Chapter 
5). Applicants may apply post-masters counseling courses 
towards licensure if their degree program consisted of less 
than 48 hours. All post-masters counseling courses must be 
completed with a grade no lower than C. All field experience 
courses must be completed with a grade of A, B, or P as 
specified in Chapter 5, Section 503(A)(a)(i)(ii). Beginning 
September 1, 2015, all applicants whose academic 
background has not been previously approved by the board, 
must have accumulated at least 60 graduate credit hours as 
part of the graduate degree plan containing the eight required 
areas, the supervised mental health practicum and supervised 
internship in mental health counseling (as defined in Chapter 
5). Applicants may apply post-masters counseling courses 
towards licensure if their degree program consisted of less 
than 60 hours; 

a. To be eligible for supervision as a provisional 
licensed professional counselor, the applicant must provide 
proof of completion of a supervised practicum and 
internship as listed in §503 (Definitions) and at least one 
three-credit hour course in each of the following eight 
content areas. In order for a course to fulfill a content area 
requirement, it must include in a substantial manner the area 
in the description for the content areas. 
 i. Counseling/Psychotherapy Theories of 
Personalitydescription: 

(a). counseling/psychotherapy theories, including 
both individual and systems perspectives; 

(b). research and factors considered in 
applications of counseling/psychotherapy theories; or 

(c). theories of personality including major 
theories of personality. 
 ii. Human Growth and 
Developmentdescription: 

(a). the nature and needs of individuals at 
developmental levels; 

(b). theories of individual and family 
development and transitions across the life-span; 

(c). theories of learning and personality 
development; 
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(d). human behavior, including an understanding 
of developmental crises, disability, addictive behavior, 
psychopathology, and environmental factors as they affect 
both normal and abnormal behavior; 

(e). strategies for facilitating development over 
the lifespan. 
 iii. Abnormal Behaviordescription: 

(a). emotional and mental disorders experienced 
by persons of all ages; 

(b). characteristics of disorders; 
(c). common nosologies of emotional and mental 

disorders utilized within the U.S. health care system; 
(d). the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and 

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, as published by the 
American Psychiatric Association; 

(e). preferred treatment approaches for disorders 
based on research; 

(f). common medications used by psychiatrists 
to treat disorders; 

(g). working with other health care and mental 
health care professionals in treating individuals with 
emotional and mental disorders. 
 iv. Techniques of Counseling/ 
Psychotherapydescription: 

(a). basic interviewing, assessment, and 
counseling/psychotherapeutic skills; 

(b). counselor characteristics and behaviors that 
influence helping processes, including: 
 (i). age; 
 (ii). gender and ethnic differences; 
 (iii). verbal and nonverbal behaviors and 
personal characteristics; 
 (iv). orientations; and 
 (v). skills; 

(c). client characteristics and behaviors that 
influence helping processes, including: 
 (i). age; 
 (ii). gender and ethnic differences; 
 (iii). verbal and nonverbal behaviors and 
personal characteristics; 
 (iv). traits; 
 (v). capabilities; and 
 (vi). life circumstances. 
 v. Group Dynamics, Processes, and 
Counseling/Psychotherapydescription: 

(a). principles of group dynamics, including: 
 (i). group process components; 
 (ii). developmental stage theories; and 
 (iii). group members' roles and behaviors; 

(b). group leadership styles and approaches, 
including characteristics of various types of group leaders 
and leadership styles; 

(c). theories of group counseling/psychotherapy, 
including: 
 (i). commonalities; 
 (ii). distinguishing characteristics; and 
 (iii). pertinent research and literature; 

(d). group counseling/psychotherapeutic 
methods, including: 
 (i). group counselor orientations and 
behaviors; 
 (ii). ethical standards; 

 (iii). appropriate selection criteria and 
methods; and 
 (iv). methods of evaluation of effectiveness; 

(e). approaches used for other types of group 
work, including: 
 (i). task groups; 
 (ii). prevention groups; 
 (iii). support group; and 
 (iv). therapy groups. 
 vi. Lifestyle and Career 
Developmentdescription: 

(a). career development theories and decision-
making models; 

(b). career, a vocational, educational, and labor 
market information resources, visual and print media, and 
computer-based career information systems; 

(c). career development program planning, 
organization, implementation, administration, and 
evaluation; 

(d). interrelationships among work, family, and 
other life roles and factors including multicultural and 
gender issues as related to career development; 

(e). career and educational placement, follow-up 
and evaluation; 

(f). assessment instruments and techniques 
relevant to career planning and decision-making; 

(g). computer-based career development 
applications and strategies, including computer-assisted 
guidance systems; 

(h). career counseling processes, techniques, and 
resources, including those applicable to specific populations. 
 vii. Appraisal of Individualsdescription: 

(a). theoretical and historical bases for 
assessment techniques; 

(b). validity, including evidence for establishing: 
 (i). content; 
 (ii). construct; and 
 (iii). empirical validity; 

(c). reliability, including methods of establishing: 
 (i). stability; 
 (ii). internal and equivalence reliability; 

(d). appraisal methods, including: 
 (i). environmental assessment; 
 (ii). performance assessment; 
 (iii).[a]. individual and group test and 
inventory methods; 
 [b]. behavioral observations; and 
 [c]. computer-managed and computer-
assisted methods; 

(e). psychometric statistics, including: 
 (i). types of assessment scores; 
 (ii). measures of central tendency; 
 (iii). indices of variability; 
 (iv). standard errors; and 
 (v). correlations; 

(f). age, gender, ethnicity, language, disability, 
and culture factors related to the assessment and evaluation 
of individuals and groups; 

(g). strategies for selecting, administering, 
interpreting, and using assessment and evaluation 
instruments and techniques in counseling. 
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 viii. Ethics and Professional 
Orientationdescription: 

(a). ethical standards of the American 
Counseling Association, state counselor licensure boards, 
and national counselor certifying agencies; 

(b). ethical and legal issues and their applications 
to various professional activities; 

(c). history of the helping professions, including 
significant factors and events; 

(d). professional roles and functions of 
counselors, including similarities and differences with other 
mental health professionals; 

(e). professional organizations, primarily the 
American Counseling Association, its divisions, branches, 
and affiliates, including membership benefits, activities, 
services to members, and current emphases, professional 
preparation standards, their evolution, and current 
applications; 

(f). professional credentialing, including 
certification, licensure, and accreditation practices and 
standards, and the effects of public policy on these issues; 

(g). public policy processes, including the role of 
the professional counselor in advocating on behalf of the 
profession and its clientele. 

5. has obtained a Board-Approved Supervisor  
a. The provisional licensed professional counselor 

will identify an individual who agrees to serve as his/her 
board-approved supervisor. This individual must hold the 
licensed professional counselor-supervisor designation as 
issued by the Louisiana LPC Board of Examiners.  

b. The provisional licensed professional counselor, 
along with his/her desired board-approved supervisor, will: 
 i. provide the board with a written proposal 
outlining with as much specificity as possible the nature of 
the counseling duties to be performed by the provisional 
licensed professional counselor and the nature of the board-
approved supervision; 
 ii. submit this written proposal on forms provided 
by the board prior to the proposed starting date of the board-
approved supervision; 
 iii. submit, along with the written proposal, the 
appropriate fee determined by the board. 

c. Following the board's review, the provisional 
licensed professional counselor will be informed by letter 
either that the proposed supervision arrangement has been 
approved or that it has been rejected. Any rejection letter 
will outline, with as much specificity as practical, the 
reasons for rejection.  

d. All proposed supervision arrangements must be 
approved by the board prior to the starting date of the 
supervised experience. An applicant may not accrue any 
supervised experience hours, including face-to-face 
supervision hours, until the applicant is approved as a 
provisional licensed professional counselor.  
 i. Should the provisional licensed professional 
counselor add a board-approved supervisor, face-to-face 
supervision hours may not be accrued with the added 
supervisor until the application for supervision has been 
filed and approved by the LPC Board. 
 ii. Should the provisional licensed professional 
counselor change board-approved supervisors, supervised 
experience hours, including face-to-face supervision hours, 

may not be accrued with the new supervisor until the 
application for supervision has been filed and approved by 
the LPC Board. If the provisional licensed professional 
counselor remains under active supervision with his/her 
current board-approved supervisor, he/she may continue to 
practice mental health counseling and accrue supervised 
experience hours until the change is approved by the LPC 
Board. 
 iii. A provisional licensed professional counselor 
may not be directly or indirectly employed or supervised 
(administrative supervision or board-approved supervision) 
by a relative of the provisional licensed professional 
counselor. For example, the licensee’s board-approved 
supervisor cannot be supervised or employed by a relative of 
the licensee. Relative of the provisional licensed 
professional counselor is defined as spouse, parent, child, 
sibling of the whole- or half-blood, grandparent, grandchild, 
aunt, uncle, one who is or has been related by marriage or 
has any other dual relationship. Any exception must be 
approved by the board. 

6. has obtained a board-approved practice setting  
a. The provisional licensed professional counselor 

will identify a practice setting wherein he/she may accrue 
direct and/or indirect supervised experience hours. To obtain 
approval of a practice setting for accrual of direct client 
contact hours, the supervisee must engage in the practice of 
mental health counseling as defined in Chapter 5. 

b. The practice setting must be approved by the 
supervisee’s desired and/or designated board-approved 
supervisor prior to submission of the practice setting on 
forms provided by the board.  

c. Board-approval of the supervisee’s practice 
setting is required in order to begin accruing supervised 
experience hours at such practice setting, 

d. No supervised experience hours (direct, indirect, 
or face to face supervision) may be accrued at a practice 
setting that is not approved by the board. Furthermore, 
should a provisional licensed professional counselor fail to 
inform the board of a practice setting by submitting 
appropriate documentation within 30 days of the date of hire 
at such setting, the provisional licensed professional 
counselor will forfeit all supervised experience hours 
accrued and be subject to a fine as defined in Chapter 9 
whether or not the setting is approved by the board.  

e. The professional practice setting cannot include 
any practice setting in which the provisional licensed 
professional counselor operates, manages, or has an 
ownership interest (e.g., private practice, for-profit, non-
profit, etc.).  

f. The licensee must be supervised by an 
administrative supervisor (in addition to receiving active, 
board-approved supervision) in order to volunteer 
counseling services or receive a wage for services rendered 
as an employee or private contractor. The control, oversight, 
and professional responsibility for provisional licensed 
professional counselors rests with the licensee’s 
administrative supervisor in the setting in which they are 
employed, contracted or volunteering. 

g. Provisional licensed professional counselors must 
notify their administrative supervisor of the identity of their 
board-approved supervisor and the nature of the supervisory 
activities, including any observations or taping that occurs 
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with clients, after obtaining the client's permission, in the 
setting. 

h. A licensed mental health professional (e.g. LPC, 
LMFT, LCSW) must be employed in the professional setting 
in which the provisional licensed professional counselor is 
rendering counseling services and be available for case 
consultation and processing. The provisional licensed 
professional counselor must have obtained the 
administrative supervisor’s approval of the licensed mental 
health professional prior to submitting the practice setting 
for board review. The licensed mental health professional 
may be the board-approved supervisor or the administrative 
supervisor if he/she meets each of the aforementioned 
requirements. 

i. Supervised experience accrued by the provisional 
licensed professional counselor in an exempt setting needs to 
meet the requirements in this rule if that supervised 
experience is to meet the requirements for licensure as set 
forth by R.S. 37:1107(A). 

7. has provided to the board a declaration of practices 
and procedures, with the content being subject to board 
review and approval. 

8. has received a letter from the board certifying that 
all the requirements for provisional licensed professional 
counselor, as defined in this Chapter, were met before 
accruing supervised experience hours.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners, LR 41: 
§605. Board-Approved Supervised Practice 

Requirements for Provisional Licensed 
Professional Counselors  

A. Board-Approved Supervision Requirements 
1. Supervision is defined as assisting the provisional 

licensed professional counselor (supervisee) in developing 
expertise in methods of the professional mental health 
counseling practice and in developing self-appraisal and 
professional development strategies. Supervision must 
comply with standards as set by the board. 

2. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1107(A), a supervisee must 
document a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-master's 
experience in professional mental health counseling under 
the clinical supervision of a board-approved supervisor, with 
said supervision occurring over a period of no less than two 
years and not more than six years from the original date such 
supervision was approved. A supervisee must remain under 
supervision of a board-approved supervisor until receiving 
written notification of approval for licensure. 

a.i. Based on the above, the required 3,000 hours of 
counseling/psychotherapeutic experience shall be accrued in 
the following manner: 

(a). a minimum of 1,900 hours (up to 2,900) in 
direct counseling/psychotherapeutic services involving 
individuals, couples, families, or groups; 
 i. An applicant may utilize supervised direct 
hours earned in post-master's degree practicum and 
internship courses in counseling (from a regionally 
accredited university) toward the required 1900 hours of 
direct counseling/psychotherapeutic services. In order to be 
counted, the direct hours earned in practicum and internship

courses must have occurred after the applicant has been 
approved for provisional licensure and is under the 
supervision of the applicant’s board approved supervisor. An 
applicant may not count hours spent supervising others (i.e., 
supervision courses, doctoral students supervising master’s 
level students) as direct hours. 
 (b). a maximum of 1,000 hours in additional client 
contact, counseling related activities (i.e., case notes, 
staffing, case consultation, or testing/assessment of clients) 
or education at the graduate level in the field of mental 
health as defined above; 

i. Five hundred indirect hours of supervised 
experience may be gained for each 30 graduate semester 
hours earned beyond the required master's degree provided 
that such hours are clearly related to the field of mental 
health counseling, are earned from a regionally accredited 
institution, and are acceptable to the board. Practicum and 
internship courses may not be included in the 30 graduate 
semester hours that are used to substitute for 500 hours of 
supervised experience if they are used to count toward an 
applicant’s direct hours. 

(c). a minimum of 100 hours of face-to-face 
supervision by a board-approved supervisor. Up to 25 of the 
100 face-to-face hours may be conducted by synchronous 
videoconferencing.  
 i. The board recommends one hour of 
supervision for every 20 hours of direct client contact as 
outlined in Subclause A.2.a.i.(a). Supervision may not take 
place via mail, email, or telephone. Telephone, mail, or 
email contacts with supervisor may be counted under 
Subclause A.2.a.i.(b) (i.e., consultation), however, it cannot 
be counted as face to face supervision as defined in 
Subclause A.2.a.i.(c). 
 ii. Acceptable modes for supervision of direct 
clinical contact are the following. 

(a.) Individual Supervision. The supervisory 
session is conducted by the board-approved supervisor(s) 
with one provisional licensed professional counselor present. 

(b.) Group Supervision. The supervisory session 
is conducted by the board-approved supervisor(s) with no 
more than 10 provisional licensed professional counselors 
present. 
 iii. At least 100 hours of the provisional licensed 
professional counselor’s direct clinical contact with clients 
must be supervised by the board-approved supervisor(s), as 
defined below. 

(a). At least 50 of these 100 hours must be 
individual supervision as defined above.  

(b). The remaining 50 hours of these 100 hours 
may be either individual supervision or group supervision as 
defined above. 

B. Responsibility of Supervisee under Board-Approved 
Supervision 

1. During the period of supervised 
counseling/psychotherapy experience, the only proper 
identification title is provisional licensed professional 
counselor or PLPC. Provisional licensed professional 
counselors shall not identify or represent themselves by any 
other term or title, including “licensed”, “fully licensed”, 
“Licensed Professional Counselor”, “LPC”, or “counselor”. 

2. Each provisional licensed professional counselor 
must provide his/her clients with a disclosure statement (as 
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outlined in the Appendix of the Code of Conduct) that 
includes: 

a. his/her training status; and 
b. the name of his/her supervisor for licensure 

purposes. 
3. Provisional licensed professional counselors must 

comply with all laws and regulations relating to the practice 
of mental health counseling (R.S. 37:1101-1123). 

4. The provisional licensed professional counselor 
must maintain contact with his/her board-approved 
supervisor to ensure that active supervision requirements (as 
defined in Chapter 5) are met. 

5. Provide updates to the board and board-approved 
supervisor regarding changes in status on forms provided by 
the board within 30 days of said change. Failure to comply 
may result in a fine, loss of supervised experience hours, 
and/or disciplinary action. Changes in status include changes 
in: 

a. relevant personal information, including contact 
information, physical address, name; 

b. relevant practice setting information, including 
job title/duties, employment status;  

c. status with the justice system, including 
notification of arrest, charges, convictions, 

d. status with another licensure/credentialing body, 
including notification of suspension, revocation, or other 
disciplinary proceedings/actions. 

e. the use of any narcotics, controlled substances, or 
any alcoholic beverages in a manner that is dangerous to the 
public or in a manner that impairs the supervisee’s ability to 
provide mental health services to the public. 

f. any medical condition which may in any way 
impair or limit the supervisee’s ability to provide mental 
health services to the public with reasonable skill or safety. 

6. The supervisee must maintain documentation of all 
supervised experience hours by employment location and 
type of hour (indirect, direct, and face to face supervision). It 
is recommended that a supervisee obtain the signature of the 
board-approved supervisor indicating review and approval 
of documentation at regular intervals.  

7. The supervisee must renew his/her provisional 
license in accordance with Chapter 6, Section 611 and 
maintain a valid provisional license in order to practice 
mental health counseling.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners, LR 41: 
§607. Out-of-State Applicants for Provisional Licensed 

Professional Counselor 
A. The decision to approve transfer of any supervised 

experience hours and board-equivalent supervisors from out-
of-state shall be made at the discretion of the board. An out-
of-state applicant may transfer up to 2500 supervised 
experience hours if such hours meet the requirements as 
stated in Section 605. Out of state supervised experience 
hours may be endorsed according to the following limits: 

1. a maximum of 1600 direct client contact hours;  
2. a maximum of 815 indirect hours;  
3. a maximum of 85 hours of face-to-face supervision.  

a. All face to face supervision hours must have been 
accrued under the clinical supervision of an approved 
supervisor within their state who meets the qualifications of 
a supervisor of provisional licensed professional counselors 
set forth by the Licensed Professional Counselor Board of 
Examiners.  

B. An applicant must also be in good standing in all 
jurisdictions in which they are licensed or credentialed and 
must not have been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, 
or revocation of a license or credential to practice mental 
health counseling in the state of Louisiana at the time the act 
was committed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners, LR 41: 
§609. Renewal Requirements for Provisional Licensed 

Professional Counselors  
A. A provisional licensed professional counselor shall 

renew his/her provisional license every two years in the 
month of October by meeting the following requirements 
each renewal period: 

1. 20 clock hours of continuing education in 
accordance with Section 611. 

2. Submit a renewal fee as prescribed in Chapter 9. 
3. Submit supervised experience hours accrued 

(direct, indirect, face to face supervision) since 
approval/renewal as a provisional licensed professional 
counselor.  

4. Take National Counselors Examination (NCE) or 
National Clinical Mental Health Counselors Examination 
(NCMHCE) and request the National Board of Certified 
Counselors (NBCC) submission of score report to the board 
until a passing score is achieved. If a passing score is not 
achieved, the NCE or NCMHCE must be taken at least once 
per renewal period. At the discretion of the board, an oral 
examination may be required as well.  

5. Submit an updated declaration statement if there 
has been a change in the area of focus or area of expertise, 
with the content being subject to board review and approval. 
The board, at its discretion, may require the licensee to 
present satisfactory evidence supporting any changes in area 
of focus or expertise noted in the declaration statement. All 
other changes as defined in Chapter 6, Section 605(B)(5) 
should be submitted to the board within thirty days of said 
change.  

B. The chair shall issue a document renewing the 
provisional license for a term of two years. The provisional 
license of any licensee who fails to have his/her provisional 
license renewed every two years during the month of 
October shall lapse. An individual with a lapsed license may 
not practice mental health counseling, identify his/herself as 
a provisional licensed professional counselor or accrue any 
supervised experience hours. A lapsed provisional license 
may be renewed within a period of 90 days or postmarked 
by January 31 upon payment of all fees and arrears and 
presentation of all required documentation. After ninety 
days, the licensee will forfeit all supervised experience hours 
accrued during that renewal period and must reapply for 
provisional licensure under current requirements and submit 
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recent continuing education hours (CEHs) as part of 
reapplication.  

C. The provisional licensee must apply and be approved 
for licensure within six years from date of approval as a 
provisional licensed professional counselor. After six years, 
the licensee will forfeit all supervised experience hours 
accrued and must reapply for provisional licensure under 
current requirements and submit recent continuing education 
hours (CEHs) as part of reapplication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Licensed Professional Counselors 
Board of Examiners, LR 41: 
§611. Continuing Education Requirements for 

Provisional Licensed Professional Counselors  
A. A provisional licensee must accrue 20 clock hours of 

continuing education by every renewal period every two 
years. Of the 20 clock hours of continuing education, one 
and a half clock hours must be accrued in ethics and one and 
a half clock hours must be accrued in diagnosis (assessment, 
diagnosis, and treatment under the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders 5, as published by the 
American Psychiatric Association). 

1. One continuing education hour (CEH) is equivalent 
to one clock hour. 

2. Accrual of continuing education begins only after 
the date the license was issued. 

3. CEHs accrued beyond the required 20 hours may 
not be applied toward the next renewal period. A provisional 
licensee renewal period runs November 1 to October 31, 
every two years. 

4. The licensee is responsible for keeping a personal 
record of his/her CEHs until official notification of renewal 
is received. Licensees should not forward documentation of 
CEHs to the board office as they are accrued. 

5. At the time of renewal, 10 percent of the licensees 
will be audited to ensure that the continuing education 
requirement is being met. Audited licensees will be notified 
to submit documentation of accrued CEHs. 

B. Approved Continuing Education for Provisional 
Licensed Professional Counselors  

1. Continuing education requirements are meant to 
encourage personal and professional development 
throughout the licensee’s career. For this reason, a wide 
range of options are offered to accommodate the diversity of 
licensees' training, experience, and geographic locations. 

2. A licensee may obtain the 20 CEHs through one or 
more of the options listed below. A maximum of 10 CEHs 
may be obtained through an online format, with the 
exception of coursework obtained through a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education. 

a. Continuing Education Approved by Other 
Organizations. Continuing education that is approved by 
either the American Counseling Association (ACA), its 
divisions, regions and state branches, Louisiana Counseling 
Association (LCA), or the National Board of Certified 
Counselors (NBCC) will be accepted by the board of 
examiners. One may contact these associations to find out 
which organizations, groups or individuals are approved 
providers. One may receive one clock hour of continuing 
education for each hour of direct participation in a structured

educational format as a learner. Credit cannot be granted for: 
business/governance meetings; breaks; social activities 
including meal functions, except for actual time of a content 
speaker. Credit cannot be given for an approved session to 
persons who leave early from that session. Verification can 
consist of copies of certificates of attendance. 

b. Continuing Education Not Preapproved. For 
those organizations, groups or individuals that do not carry 
provider status by one of the associations listed in 
Subparagraph a of this Paragraph, the continuing education 
hours will be subject to approval by the Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners at the time of 
renewal. The board will not pre-approve any type of 
continuing education. The continuing education must be in 
one of the 14 approved content areas listed in §611.C, and be 
given by a qualified presenter. A qualified presenter is 
considered to be someone at the master's level or above and 
trained in the mental health field or related services. One 
may receive one clock hour of continuing education for each 
hour of direct participation in a structured educational 
format as a learner. Credit cannot be granted for 
business/governance meetings, breaks, social activities, 
including meal functions, except for actual time of a content 
speaker. Credit cannot be given for an approved session to 
persons who leave early from that session. Verification for 
workshops, seminars, or conventions can consist of copies of 
certificates of attendance. Typically one continuing 
education unit (CEU) is equivalent to 10 clock hours (CEH). 

c. Coursework. CEHs may also be gained by taking 
coursework (undergraduate or graduate) from a regionally 
accredited institution in one of the 12 approved content areas 
for continuing education listed in §611.C. One may take a 
course for credit or audit a course. In a college or university 
program, one semester hour is equivalent to 15 clock hours 
and one quarter hour is equivalent to 10 clock hours. 
Therefore, 45 CEHs will be given for a three hour university 
course completed at a regionally accredited university. 
Verification for coursework can consist of either copies of 
transcripts for coursework taken for credit or letter of 
attendance from instructor for courses audited. 

d. Home Study (5 hours maximum per renewal 
period). Journals published by ACA, LCA, professional 
refereed journals, video presentations, and webinars are all 
approved home study options. Each option must carry a 
provider number from either NBCC, ACA, LCA, or other 
board-approved mental health organizations. Each activity 
will specify the number of CEHs that will be granted upon 
completion. Verification consists of a certificate issued by 
NBCC, ACA, LCA, or certificates from other professional 
mental health organizations that will be reviewed by the 
board. 

e. Presentations (5 hours maximum per renewal 
period). Presenters may get credit for original presentations 
at a rate of five clock hours per one hour presentation. 
Presenters must meet the qualifications stated in 
Subparagraph B.2.b above. The presentation must be to the 
professional community, not to the lay public or a classroom 
presentation. The presentation must also be in one of the 14 
approved content areas listed in §611.C. Verification of the 
presentation consists of obtaining a letter from the 
workshop/convention coordinator stating the topic, date, and 
number of hours of presentation. 
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f. Publishing (5 hours maximum per renewal 
period). Authors may receive five clock hours per article or 
chapter in a book. The article must be published in a 
professional refereed journal. Both articles and chapters 
must be in one of the 14 approved content areas listed in 
§611.C. Verification will consist of either a reprint of the 
article/chapter, or a copy of the article/chapter, cover of the 
book/journal and page listing the editor or publisher. 

g. Counseling (5 hours maximum per renewal 
period). One may receive one clock hour of continuing 
education per counseling hour as a client. To qualify, one 
must be a client receiving services from a licensed mental 
health professional having qualifications equal to, or 
exceeding, those currently required of counselors. 
Consultation and supervision hours do not qualify. 
Verification will consist of a letter from the counseling 
mental health professional verifying client therapy hours. 

h. Research (5 hours maximum per renewal period). 
One may receive one clock hour of continuing education per 
hour of planning or conduct of, or participation in, 
counseling or counseling-related research. To qualify, this 
activity must constitute an original and substantive 
educational experience for the learner. Verification will 
consist of a letter from the faculty member or researcher. 

C. Approved Content Areas. Continuing education hours 
must be in one of the following 14 content areas. 

1. Counseling Theory―includes a study of basic 
theories, principles and techniques of counseling and their 
application in professional settings. 

2. Human Growth and Development―includes 
studies that provide a broad understanding of the nature and 
needs of individuals at all developmental levels, normal and 
abnormal human behavior, personality theory and learning 
theory within appropriate cultural contexts. 

3. Social and Cultural Foundations―includes studies 
that provide a broad understanding of societal changes and 
trends, human roles, societal subgroups, social mores and 
interaction patterns, and differing lifestyles. 

4. The Helping Relationship―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of philosophic bases of 
helping processes, counseling theories and their applications, 
basic and advanced helping skills, consultation theories and 
their applications, client and helper self-understanding and 
self-development, and facilitation of client or consultee 
change. 

5. Group Dynamics, Processing and 
Counseling―includes studies that provide a broad 
understanding of group development, dynamics, and 
counseling theories, group leadership styles, basic and 
advanced group counseling methods and skills, and other 
group approaches. 

6. Lifestyle and career development includes: 
a. studies that provide a broad understanding of 

career development theories, occupational and educational 
information sources and systems, career and leisure 
counseling, guidance, and education; 

b. lifestyle and career decision-making, career 
development program planning and resources, and 
effectiveness evaluation. 

7. Appraisal of Individuals―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of group and individual 
educational and psychometric theories and approaches to 

appraisal, data and information gathering methods, validity 
and reliability, psychometric statistics, factors influencing 
appraisals, and use of appraisal results in helping processes. 

8. Research and Evaluation―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of types of research, basic 
statistics, research report development, research 
implementation, program evaluation, needs assessment, 
publication of research information, and ethical and legal 
considerations associated with the conduct of research. 

9. Professional Orientation―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of professional roles and 
functions, professional goals and objectives, professional 
organizations and associations, professional history and 
trends, ethical and legal standards, professional preparation 
standards, professional credentialing and management of 
private practice and agency settings. 

10. Marriage and Family―includes studies that provide 
a broad understanding of marriage and family theories and 
approaches to counseling with families and couples. This 
includes appraisal of family and couples systems and the 
application of these to counseling families and/or couples. 

11. Chemical Dependency―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of chemical dependency 
issues, theories, and strategies to be applied in the helping 
relationship for chemical dependency counseling. 

12. Supervision―includes studies in theory and 
techniques of supervision as well as ethical and legal issues, 
case management, and topics relative to the specific 
supervised setting. 

13. Abnormal includes studies of emotional and mental 
disorders experienced by persons of all ages, characteristics 
of disorders, common nosologies of emotional and mental 
disorders utilized within the U.S. health care system, and the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5, as 
published by the American Psychiatric Association. This 
includes: 

a. studies of preferred treatment approaches for 
disorders based on research; 

b. common medications used by psychiatrists to 
treat disorders, and 

c. working with other health care and mental health 
care professionals in treating individuals with emotional and 
mental disorders. 

14. Psychopharmacology includes the scientific study 
of the effects of drugs on mood, sensation, thinking, and 
behavior. This also includes a range of substances with 
various types of psychoactive properties, which involves 
drugs used in the treatment of psychopathological disorders 
and drugs of abuse, and focuses on the chemical interactions 
with the brain. 

D. Types of Documentation Needed for Verification 
1. Copy of certificate of attendance for workshops, 

seminars, or conventions. 
2. Copy of transcript for coursework taken for 

credit/letter of attendance from instructor for courses 
audited. 

3. Home study verification form or certificate issued 
by NBCC/ACA/LCA. 

4. Letter from workshop/convention coordinator 
verifying presentations. 

5. Copy of article, cover and editorial board page for 
publications. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 217

6. Letter from counseling mental health professional 
verifying number of hours in counseling as a client. 

7. Letter from the faculty member or researcher 
verifying number of hours in research. 

8. Letter or certificate from the LPC Board of 
Examiners, or from the board-approved counseling service 
organization, verifying number of hours of service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 41:  
Chapter 7. Application and Renewal Requirements 

for Licensed Professional Counselors 
§703. Licensed Professional Counselors Licensing 

Requirements 
A. - A.3. … 

4. can document a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-
master's experience in professional mental health counseling 
under the clinical supervision of a board-approved 
supervisor, with said supervision occurring over a period of 
no less than two years and not more than six years from the 
original date such supervision was approved. Five hundred 
indirect hours of supervised experience may be gained for 
each 30 graduate semester hours earned beyond the required 
master's degree, provided that such hours are clearly related 
to the field of mental health counseling, are earned from a 
regionally accredited institution, and are acceptable to the 
board provided that in no case the applicant has less than 
2,000 hours of board-approved supervised experience within 
the aforementioned time limits.  

5. has declared special competencies and 
demonstrated professional competence therein by passing a 
written exam (NCE or NCMHCE) and, at the discretion of 
the board, an oral examination as shall be prescribed by the 
board. 

6. has received a graduate degree, as defined in 
Chapter 5, the substance of which is professional mental 
health counseling in content from a regionally-accredited 
institution of higher education offering a master's and/or 
doctoral program in counseling that is approved by the board 
in accordance with the requirements listed in Chapter 6, 
Section 603. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:83 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 18:269 (March 1992), LR 
22:102 (February 1996), LR 24:1294 (July 1998), LR 24:2124 
(November 1998), LR 29:131 (February 2003), LR 39:1785 (July 
2013), LR 41: 
§705. Renewal 

A. A licensed professional counselor shall renew his/her 
license and privileging designation(s) every two years in the 
month of June by meeting the requirement that 40 clock 
hours of continuing education be obtained prior to each 
renewal date every two years in an area of professional 
mental health counseling as approved by the board and by 
paying a renewal fee.  

B. The licensee should submit a declaration statement 
with any changes not reviewed and approved by the board, 
including a change in area of expertise or area of focus, with 

the content being subject to board review and approval. The 
board, at its discretion, may require the licensee to present 
satisfactory evidence supporting any changes in areas of 
expertise or focus noted in the declaration statement.  

C. The chair shall issue a document renewing the license 
for a term of two years.  

D. The license or privileging designation of any mental 
health counselor who fails to have this license or privileging 
designation renewed every two years during the month of 
June shall lapse; however, the failure to renew said license or 
privileging designation shall not deprive said counselor the 
right of renewal thereafter.  

1. A lapsed license or privileging designation may be 
renewed within a period of two years after the date of 
licensure lapse upon payment of all fees in arrears and 
presentation of evidence of completion of the continuing 
education requirement.  

2. Application for renewal after two years from the 
date of licensure lapse will not be considered for renewal; 
the individual must apply under the current licensure and/or 
privileging guidelines and submit recent continuing 
education hours (CEHs) as part of application for licensure 
or privileging designation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
§707. Renewal Requirements for Licensed 

Professional Counselors and Board Approved 
Supervisors  

A. General Guidelines 
1. A licensee must accrue 40 clock hours of 

continuing education by every renewal period every two 
years. Of the 40 clock hours of continuing education, 3 clock 
hours must be accrued in ethics and 6 clock hours must be 
accrued in diagnosis (assessment, diagnosis, and treatment 
under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 
Disorders 5, as published by the American Psychiatric 
Association). A board-approved supervisor must accrue 3 
clock hours (of the required 40 clock hours of continuing 
education) in supervision. 

2. One continuing education hour (CEH) is equivalent 
to one clock hour. 

3. Accrual of continuing education begins only after 
the date the license was issued. 

4. CEHs accrued beyond the required 40 hours may 
not be applied toward the next renewal period. Renewal 
periods run from July 1 to June 30, every two years. 

5. The licensee is responsible for keeping a personal 
record of his/her CEHs until official notification of renewal 
is received. Licensees should not forward documentation of 
CEHs to the board office as they are accrued. 

6. At the time of renewal, 10 percent of the licensees 
will be audited to ensure that the continuing education 
requirement is being met. Audited licensees will be notified 
to submit documentation of accrued CEHs. 

B. Approved Continuing Education for Licensed 
Professional Counselors and Board Approved Supervisors 

1. Continuing education requirements are meant to 
encourage personal and professional development 
throughout the counselor’s career. For this reason, a wide 
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range of options are offered to accommodate the diversity of 
counselors' training, experience, and geographic locations. 

2. A licensee may obtain the 40 CEHs through one or 
more of the options listed below. Effective July 1, 2014 a 
maximum of 20 CEHs may be obtained through an online 
format, with the exception of coursework obtained through a 
regionally accredited institution of higher education. 

a. Continuing Education Approved by Other 
Organizations. Continuing education that is approved by 
either the American Counseling Association (ACA), its 
divisions, regions and state branches, Louisiana Counseling 
Association (LCA), or the National Board of Certified 
Counselors (NBCC) will be accepted by the Board of 
Examiners. One may contact these associations to find out 
which organizations, groups or individuals are approved 
providers. One may receive one clock hour of continuing 
education for each hour of direct participation in a structured 
educational format as a learner. Credit cannot be granted for: 
business/governance meetings; breaks; social activities 
including meal functions, except for actual time of a content 
speaker. Credit cannot be given for an approved session to 
persons who leave early from that session. Verification can 
consist of copies of certificates of attendance. 

b. Continuing Education Not Preapproved. For 
those organizations, groups or individuals that do not carry 
provider status by one of the associations listed in 
Subparagraph a of this Paragraph, the continuing education 
hours will be subject to approval by the Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners at the time of 
renewal. The board will not pre-approve any type of 
continuing education. The continuing education must be in 
one of the 14 approved content areas listed in §707.C, and be 
given by a qualified presenter. A qualified presenter is 
considered to be someone at the master's level or above and 
trained in the mental health field or related services. One 
may receive one clock hour of continuing education for each 
hour of direct participation in a structured educational 
format as a learner. Credit cannot be granted for 
business/governance meetings, breaks, social activities, 
including meal functions, except for actual time of a content 
speaker. Credit cannot be given for an approved session to 
persons who leave early from that session. Verification for 
workshops, seminars, or conventions can consist of copies of 
certificates of attendance. Typically one continuing 
education unit (CEU) is equivalent to 10 clock hours (CEH). 

c. Coursework. CEHs may also be gained by taking 
coursework (undergraduate or graduate) from a regionally 
accredited institution in one of the 14 approved content areas 
for continuing education listed in §707.C. One may take a 
course for credit or audit a course. In a college or university 
program, one semester hour is equivalent to 15 clock hours 
and one quarter hour is equivalent to 10 clock hours. 
Therefore, 45 CEHs will be given for a three hour university 
course completed at a regionally accredited university. 
Verification for coursework can consist of either copies of 
transcripts for coursework taken for credit or letter of 
attendance from instructor for courses audited. 

d. Home Study (10 hours maximum per renewal 
period, effective July 1, 2014). Journals published by ACA, 
LCA, professional refereed journals, video presentations, 
and webinars are all approved home study options. Each 
option must carry a provider number from either NBCC, 

ACA, LCA, or other board-approved mental health 
organizations. Each activity will specify the number of 
CEHs that will be granted upon completion. Verification 
consists of a certificate issued by NBCC, ACA, LCA, or 
certificates from other professional mental health 
organizations that will be reviewed by the board. 

e. Presentations (10 hours maximum per renewal 
period, effective July 1, 2014). Presenters may get credit for 
original presentations at a rate of five clock hours per one 
hour presentation. Presenters must meet the qualifications 
stated in Subparagraph B.2.b above. The presentation must 
be to the professional community, not to the lay public or a 
classroom presentation. The presentation must also be in one 
of the 14 approved content areas listed in §707.C. 
Verification of the presentation consists of obtaining a letter 
from the workshop/convention coordinator stating the topic, 
date, and number of hours of presentation. 

f. Publishing (10 hours maximum per renewal 
period, effective July 1, 2014). Authors may receive five 
clock hours per article or chapter in a book. The article must 
be published in a professional refereed journal. Both articles 
and chapters must be in one of the 14 approved content areas 
listed in §707.C. Verification will consist of either a reprint 
of the article/chapter, or a copy of the article/chapter, cover 
of the book/journal and page listing the editor or publisher. 

g. Counseling (10 hours maximum per renewal 
period). One may receive one clock hour of continuing 
education per counseling hour as a client. To qualify, one 
must be a client receiving services from a licensed mental 
health professional having qualifications equal to, or 
exceeding, those currently required of counselors. 
Consultation and supervision hours do not qualify. 
Verification will consist of a letter from the counseling 
mental health professional verifying client therapy hours. 

h. Research (10 hours maximum per renewal 
period, effective July 1, 2014). One may receive one clock 
hour of continuing education per hour of planning or 
conduct of, or participation in, counseling or counseling-
related research. To qualify, this activity must constitute an 
original and substantive educational experience for the 
learner. Verification will consist of a letter from the faculty 
member or researcher. 

i. Peer Supervision (10 hour maximum per renewal 
period). One may receive one clock hour of continuing 
education per hours of performing peer supervision 
activities. For example, case work consultation. 

C. Approved Content Areas. Continuing education hours 
must be in one of the following 14 content areas. 

1. Counseling Theory―includes a study of basic 
theories, principles and techniques of counseling and their 
application in professional settings. 

2. Human Growth and Development―includes 
studies that provide a broad understanding of the nature and 
needs of individuals at all developmental levels, normal and 
abnormal human behavior, personality theory and learning 
theory within appropriate cultural contexts. 

3. Social and Cultural Foundations―includes studies 
that provide a broad understanding of societal changes and 
trends, human roles, societal subgroups, social mores and 
interaction patterns, and differing lifestyles. 

4. The Helping Relationship―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of philosophic bases of 
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helping processes, counseling theories and their applications, 
basic and advanced helping skills, consultation theories and 
their applications, client and helper self-understanding and 
self-development, and facilitation of client or consultee 
change. 

5. Group Dynamics, Processing and 
Counseling―includes studies that provide a broad 
understanding of group development, dynamics, and 
counseling theories, group leadership styles, basic and 
advanced group counseling methods and skills, and other 
group approaches. 

6. Lifestyle and career development includes: 
a. studies that provide a broad understanding of 

career development theories, occupational and educational 
information sources and systems, career and leisure 
counseling, guidance, and education; 

b. lifestyle and career decision-making, career 
development program planning and resources, and 
effectiveness evaluation. 

7. Appraisal of Individuals―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of group and individual 
educational and psychometric theories and approaches to 
appraisal, data and information gathering methods, validity 
and reliability, psychometric statistics, factors influencing 
appraisals, and use of appraisal results in helping processes. 

8. Research and Evaluation―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of types of research, basic 
statistics, research report development, research 
implementation, program evaluation, needs assessment, 
publication of research information, and ethical and legal 
considerations associated with the conduct of research. 

9. Professional Orientation―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of professional roles and 
functions, professional goals and objectives, professional 
organizations and associations, professional history and 
trends, ethical and legal standards, professional preparation 
standards, professional credentialing and management of 
private practice and agency settings. 

10. Marriage and Family―includes studies that provide 
a broad understanding of marriage and family theories and 
approaches to counseling with families and couples. This 
includes appraisal of family and couples systems and the 
application of these to counseling families and/or couples. 

11. Chemical Dependency―includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of chemical dependency 
issues, theories, and strategies to be applied in the helping 
relationship for chemical dependency counseling. 

12. Supervision―includes studies in theory and 
techniques of supervision as well as ethical and legal issues, 
case management, and topics relative to the specific 
supervised setting. 

13. Abnormal includes studies of emotional and mental 
disorders experienced by persons of all ages, characteristics 
of disorders, common nosologies of emotional and mental 
disorders utilized within the U.S. health care system, and the 
most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 
of Mental Disorders, as published by the American 
Psychiatric Association. This includes: 

a. studies of preferred treatment approaches for 
disorders based on research; 

b. common medications used by psychiatrists to 
treat disorders, and 

c. working with other health care and mental health 
care professionals in treating individuals with emotional and 
mental disorders. 

14. Psychopharmacology includes the scientific study 
of the effects of drugs on mood, sensation, thinking, and 
behavior. This also includes a range of substances with 
various types of psychoactive properties, which involves 
drugs used in the treatment of psychopathological disorders 
and drugs of abuse, and focuses on the chemical interactions 
with the brain. 

D. Types of Documentation Needed for Verification 
1. Copy of certificate of attendance for workshops, 

seminars, or conventions. 
2. Copy of transcript for coursework taken for 

credit/letter of attendance from instructor for courses 
audited. 

3. Home study verification form or certificate issued 
by NBCC/ACA/LCA. 

4. Letter from workshop/convention coordinator 
verifying presentations. 

5. Copy of article, cover and editorial board page for 
publications. 

6. Letter from counseling mental health professional 
verifying number of hours in counseling as a client. 

7. Letter from the faculty member or researcher 
verifying number of hours in research. 

8. Letter or certificate from the LPC Board of 
Examiners, or from the board-approved counseling service 
organization, verifying number of hours of service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
Chapter 8. Licensed Professional Counselor 

Supervisors 
§801. Licensed Professional Counselor Supervisor 

Requirements 
A. Qualifications of a Supervisor of Provisional Licensed 

Professional Counselors 
1. Supervision of provisional licensed professional 

counselors is a specialty area and requires privileging 
review. Those individuals who may provide supervision to 
provisional licensed professional counselors must meet the 
following requirements. 

a. Licensure Requirements. The supervisor must 
hold a Louisiana license as a licensed professional counselor.  

b. Counseling Practice. The supervisor must have 
been practicing mental health counseling in their setting (i.e., 
school, agency, private practice) for at least five years. Two 
of the five years experience must be post licensing 
experience. 

c. Training in Supervision. Supervisors must have 
successfully completed either Clauses i or ii below. 
 i. Graduate-Level Academic Training. At least 
one graduate-level academic course in counseling 
supervision. The course must have included at least 45 clock 
hours (equivalent to a three credit hour semester course) of 
supervision training. 
 ii. Professional Training. A board-approved 
professional training program in supervision. The training 
program must be a minimum of 25 direct clock hours with 
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the trainers and meet presentation standards established by 
the board. 

2. A supervisor may not be a relative of nor be 
employed by a relative of the provisional licensed 
professional counselor. Relative of the provisional licensed 
professional counselor is defined as spouse, parent, child, 
sibling of the whole- or half-blood, grandparent, grandchild, 
aunt, uncle, one who is or has been related by marriage or 
has any other dual relationship. 

3. No person shall serve as a supervisor if his/her 
license is lapsed, expired, or subject to terms of probation, 
suspension, or revocation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
§803. Supervised Experience of Provisional Licensed 

Professional Counselors  
A. Supervision Requirements 

1. Supervision is defined as assisting the provisional 
licensed professional counselor in developing expertise in 
methods of the professional mental health counseling 
practice and in developing self-appraisal and professional 
development strategies. Supervision must comply with 
standards as set by the board. 

2. A supervisor may not supervise more than 10 
provisional licensed professional counselors at any given 
time. 

3. Supervisors of provisional licensed professional 
counselors, as defined in these rules, have the responsibility 
of assisting provisional licensed professional counselors in 
increasing their skills as a mental health professional. 
Supervisors, as defined in these rules, have no control, 
oversight, or professional responsibility for the services of 
provisional licensed professional counselors whom they are 
supervising, unless a supervisor also serves as the 
administrative supervisor of a provisional licensed 
professional counselors in the setting in which the 
provisional licensed professional counselor is employed or 
contracted or is rendering counseling services on a volunteer 
basis. The control, oversight, and professional responsibility 
for provisional licensed professional counselors rests with 
the provisional licensed professional counselor’s 
administrative supervisor in the setting in which they are 
employed or contracted or are rendering counseling services 
on a volunteer basis. A licensed mental health professional 
(e.g. LPC, LMFT, LCSW), not necessarily the board-
approved supervisor, must be employed in the professional 
setting in which the provisional licensed professional 
counselor is rendering counseling services and be available 
for case consultation and processing. In obtaining 
permission for outside supervision, provisional licensed 
professional counselors must notify their administrative 
supervisor of the identity of their supervisor for the purpose 
of gaining the supervised experience for licensure and the 
nature of the supervisory activities, including any 
observations or taping that occurs with clients, after 
obtaining the client's permission, in the setting. 

4. The process of supervision must encompass 
multiple modes of supervision, including regularly 
scheduled live observation of counseling sessions (where 
possible) and review of audiotapes and/or videotapes of 
counseling sessions. The process may also include 
discussion of the provisional licensed professional 
counselor’s self-reports, microtraining, interpersonal process 
recall, modeling, role-playing, and other supervisory 
techniques. (Supervision as defined in these rules does not 
require the approved supervisor to be in the same room with 
the provisional licensed professional counselor during the 
provisional licensed professional counselor’s provision of 
services to clients.) 

5. The supervisor must provide nurturance and 
support to the provisional licensed professional counselor, 
explaining the relationship of theory to practice, suggesting 
specific actions, assisting the provisional licensed 
professional counselor in exploring various models for 
practice, and challenging discrepancies in the provisional 
licensed professional counselor’s practice. 

6. The supervisor must ensure the provisional licensed 
professional counselor’s familiarity with important literature 
in the field of counseling, LPC Board rules, regulations, 
guidelines, policies, and position statements as well as state 
law. 

7. The supervisor must provide training appropriate to 
the provisional licensed professional counselor’s intended 
area of expertise and practice. 

8. The supervisor must model effective professional 
counseling practice. 

9. The supervisor must ensure that the mental health 
counseling and the supervision of the mental health 
counseling is completed in an appropriate professional 
setting. 

10. The provisional licensed professional counselor 
must have received a letter from the board certifying that all 
the requirements for provisional licensed professional 
counselor, as defined in this Chapter, were met. 

11. The professional setting cannot include private 
practice in which the provisional licensed professional 
counselor operates, manages, or has an ownership interest in 
the private practice.  

12. Supervisors may employ provisional licensed 
professional counselors in their private practice setting. The 
supervisor may bill clients for services rendered by the 
provisional licensed professional counselor, however, under 
no circumstances can the provisional licensed professional 
counselor bill clients directly for services rendered by 
him/herself. 

13. The supervisor must certify to the board that the 
provisional licensed professional counselor has successfully 
complied with all requirements for supervised counseling 
experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
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Chapter 9. Fees 
§901. General 

A. The board shall collect the following fees. 
1. Licensure Application, License and Seal$200 
2. Out of State Licensure Application, License, and 

Seal$300 
3. Provisional Licensure Application and 

License$100  
4. Out of State Provisional Licensure Application and 

License$150 
5. Application for Appraisal, Board-Approved 

Supervisor, and Other Specialty Areas$100 
6. Application for Change/Additional Board-

Approved Supervisor$50 
7. Application for Expedited Review$55 
8. Renewal of License$170 
9. Renewal of Provisional License$85 
10. Renewal of Appraisal, Board-Approved Supervisor, 

and Other Specialty Areas$50 
11. Late Fee for Renewal of License$55 
12. Late Fee for Renewal of Provisional License$55 
13. Late Fee for Renewal of Appraisal, Board-

Approved Supervisor, and Other Specialty Areas$25 
14. Reissue of License Duplicate$25 
15. Name Change on Records$25 
16. Copy of File$25 
17. Copy of Any DocumentsCost Incurred  

B. - E. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:136 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2783 
(December 2003), LR 39:1790 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§903. Deposit and Use of Fees and Funds 

A. All fees collected and all gifts or grants shall be 
deposited and credited to the account of the board in a 
licensed financial institution of the board's choosing. The 
funds of the board may be used for printing, travel expenses 
of the board, and for other necessary expenses as are 
essential to carrying out of the provisions of R.S. 37:1101-
1123. Expenses shall be paid under the written direction of 
the chair of the board in accordance with procedures 
established by the Division of Administration. Any surplus at 
the end of the fiscal year shall be retained by the board for 
future expenditures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:84 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:137 (February 2003), LR 
39:1790 (July 2013), LR 41: 
Chapter 11. Endorsement and Expedited Processing 
§1101. Endorsement  

A. Upon recommendation of the board, the board shall 
issue a license to any person who has been licensed as a 
licensed professional counselor and has actively practiced 
mental health counseling for at least five years in another 
jurisdiction. The applicant must submit an application on 
forms prescribed by the board in the prescribed manner and 

pay the required licensure fee. Applicants must also provide 
proof of having passed the National Counselor Examination 
(NCE) or the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling 
Examination (NCMHCE) or successfully complete an oral 
exam administered by the board. An applicant must submit 
documentation of at least 40 CEHs, in accordance with the 
requirements listed in Chapter 7, within two years of the date 
of application for licensure endorsement in Louisiana. An 
applicant must also be in good standing in all jurisdictions in 
which they are licensed and must not have been disciplined 
in any jurisdiction for an act that would have constituted 
grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to 
practice mental health counseling in the state of Louisiana at 
the time the act was committed.  

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 39:1790 (July 2013), LR 41:  
Chapter 13. Disciplinary Proceedings for Licensed 

Professional Counselors 
§1301. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The board, after due notice and hearing as set forth 
herein and the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., may withhold, deny, revoke or suspend any 
license issued or applied for or otherwise discipline a 
Licensed Professional Counselor on a finding that the person 
has violated the Louisiana Mental Health Counselor 
Licensing Act, any of the rules and regulations promulgated 
by the board, the Code of Ethics of the American Counseling 
Association, or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 
involving the Licensed Professional Counselor, Provisional 
Licensed Professional Counselor, or applicant for licensure 
or provisional licensure. Sometimes hereinafter in this 
Chapter, where the context allows a Licensed Professional 
Counselor, Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor, or 
applicant for licensure or provisional licensure may be 
referred to as "person." 

B. The board shall also deny, revoke or suspend any 
license or provisional license issued or applied for, or 
otherwise discipline a Licensed Professional Counselor or 
Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor on a finding 
that such person has violated any other applicable state law 
which themselves requires denial, revocation, or suspension 
of the license of such Licensed Professional Counselor, 
Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor, or applicant. 
Such statutes include, but are not limited to R.S. 37:2951 et 
seq. (nonpayment of certain student loans), and R.S. 37:2952 
et seq. (nonpayment of child support). 

C. In addition to the Code of Conduct adopted by the 
LPC Board as Chapter 21, §2101-2117, the following 
actions or inactions by a licensed professional counselor or 
provisional licensed professional counselor shall also be 
considered ethical violations by a licensed professional 
counselor or provisional licensed professional counselor 
which may allow denial revocation, or suspension of license 
or provisional license. 

1. - 3. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1122. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
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Counselors, LR 14:84 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:837 (October 1989), LR 
17:778 (August 1991), LR 18:52 (January 1992), LR 25:259 
(February 1999), LR 29:137 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§1303. Disciplinary Process and Procedures 

A. - B. … 
C. The purpose of a disciplinary proceeding is to 

determine contested issues of law and fact; whether the 
person did certain acts or omissions and, if he/she did, 
whether those acts or omissions violated the Louisiana 
Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act, the rules and 
regulations of the board, the code of ethics of the American 
Counseling Association, or prior final decisions and/or 
consent orders involving the licensed professional counselor, 
provisional licensed professional counselor, or applicant for 
licensure or provisional licensure and to determine the 
appropriate disciplinary action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:259 (February 1999), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:137 (February 2003), LR 
39:1791 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§1305. Initiation of Complaints 

A. - B. … 
C. Pursuant to its authority to regulate this industry, the 

board through its Ad Hoc Committee on Disciplinary 
Affairs, may conduct investigations into alleged violations 
by a licensed professional counselor, provisional licensed 
professional counselor, or applicant of this Chapter or rules 
and regulations promulgated pursuant thereto, may issue 
subpoenas to secure evidence of alleged violations of the 
Louisiana Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act, any of 
the rules and regulations promulgated by the board, the Code 
of Ethics of the American Counseling Association, or prior 
final decisions and/or consent orders involving the licensed 
professional counselor, provisional licensed professional 
counselor, or applicant for licensure. The confidential or 
privileged records of a patient or client which are 
subpoenaed are to be sanitized by the custodian of such 
records so as to maintain the anonymity of the patient or 
client. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:260 (February 1999), amended LR 26:496 
(March 2000), LR 29:138 (February 2003), LR 39:1791 (July 
2013), LR 41: 
§1309. Formal Hearing 

A. The board has the authority, granted by R.S. 37:1101 
et seq., to bring administrative proceedings against persons 
to whom it has issued a license to practice as a licensed 
professional counselor, or provisional license as a 
provisional licensed professional counselor, or any applicant 
requesting a license or provisional license. The person has 
the right to: 

A.1. - C.12.a.iii. … 
b. Deliberation 

 i. - ii. … 

 iii. after considering and voting on each charge, 
the board will vote on a resolution to dismiss the charges, 
withhold, deny, revoke or suspend any license or provisional 
license issued or applied for or otherwise discipline a 
licensed professional counselor, provisional licensed 
professional counselor, or applicant for licensure or 
provisional licensure; and 
 iv. the board by affirmative vote of a majority of 
those members voting, shall be needed to withhold, deny, 
revoke, or suspend any license or provisional license issued 
or applied for in accordance with the provisions of this 
Chapter or otherwise discipline a licensed professional 
counselor, provisional licensed professional counselor, or 
applicant. 

c. … 
13. Every order of the board shall take effect 

immediately on its being rendered unless the board in such 
order fixes a probationary period for an applicant, or 
licensee, or provisional licensee. Such order shall continue 
in effect until expiration of any specified time period or 
termination by a court of competent jurisdiction. The board 
shall notify all licensees and provisional licensees of any 
action taken against a licensee or provisional licensees and 
may make public its orders and judgment in such manner 
and form as it deems proper if such orders and judgments are 
not consent orders or compromise judgments. 

14.a. - 14.c.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:260 (February 1999), amended LR 26:496 
(March 2000), LR 29:138 (February 2003), LR 39:1791 (July 
2013), LR 41: 
§1315. Refusal to Respond or Cooperate with the Board 

A. … 
B. If the person refuses to reply to the board's inquiry or 

otherwise cooperate with the board, the board shall continue 
its investigation. The board shall record the circumstances of 
the person's failure to cooperate and shall inform the person 
that the lack of cooperation may result in action which could 
eventually lead to the withholding, denial, revocation or 
suspension of his/her license, provisional license, or 
application for licensure or provisional licensure, or 
otherwise issue appropriate disciplinary sanction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:262 (February 1999), amended LR 29:140 
(February 2003), LR 41: 
§1317. Judicial Review of Adjudication 

A. Any person whose license, provisional license, or 
application for licensure or provisional licensure, has been 
withheld, denied, revoked or suspended or otherwise 
disciplined by the board shall have the right to have the 
proceedings of the board reviewed by the state district court 
for the parish of East Baton Rouge, provided that such 
petition for judicial review is made within 30 days after the 
notice of the decision of the board. If judicial review is 
granted, the board's decision is enforceable in the interim 
unless the court orders a stay. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:263 (February 1999), amended LR 29:141 
(February 2003), LR 41: 
§1321. Reinstatement of Suspended or Revoked License 

or Provisional License 
A. The board is authorized to suspend the license of a 

licensed professional counselor and the provisional license 
of a provisional licensed professional counselor for a period 
not exceeding two years. At the end of this period, the board 
shall re-evaluate the suspension and may recommend to the 
chair the reinstatement or revocation of the license or 
provisional license. A person whose license or provisional 
license has been revoked may apply for reinstatement after a 
period of not less than two years from the date such denial or 
revocation is legally effective. The board may, upon 
favorable action by a majority of the board members present 
and voting, recommend such reinstatement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 25:263 (February 1999), amended LR 29:141 
(February 2003), LR 39:1792 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§1327. Disciplinary Costs and Fines 

A. The board may assess and collect fines not to exceed 
five thousand dollars for violation of any causes for 
administrative action as specified in Section 1301. 

B. The board may assess all costs incurred in connection 
with disciplinary proceedings including but limited to the 
costs of an investigator, stenographer, legal fees, or witness 
fees, and any costs and fees incurred by the board on any 
judicial review or appeal, for any licensee who has been 
found in violation of any causes for administrative action as 
specified in 1301. 

C. After the decision of the board becomes final and 
delays for judicial review have expired, all costs and fees 
must be paid no later than ninety days or within a time 
period specified by board. 

D. The board may withhold any issuance or reissuance of 
any license or certificate until all costs and fees are paid.  

E.  A person aggrieved by a final decision of the board 
who prevails upon judicial review may recover reasonable 
costs as defined in R.S. 37:1106(D)(2).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
Chapter 15. Privileged Communication for Licensed 

Professional Counselors and Provisional 
Licensed Professional Counselors  

§1501. Privileged Communications with Clients 
A. The confidential relations and communications 

between a licensee and client are placed upon the same basis 
as those provided by statute between an attorney and client. 
Nothing in these rules shall be construed to require that any 
such privileged communication be disclosed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 

Counselors, LR 14:85 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:141 (February 2003), LR 
41: 
Chapter 17. Exclusions for Licensed Professional 

Counselors 
§1703. Exemptions 

A. - C. …  
D. Any persons licensed, certified, or registered under 

any other provision of the state law, as long as the services 
rendered are consistent with their laws, professional training, 
and code of ethics, provided they do not represent 
themselves as licensed professional counselors, provisional 
licensed professional counselors, or mental health 
counselors, unless they have also been licensed under the 
provisions of R.S. 37:1107. 

E. Any priest, rabbi, Christian Science practitioner, or 
minister of the gospel of any religious denomination, 
provided they are practicing within the employment of their 
church or religious affiliated institution and they do not 
represent themselves as licensed professional counselors, 
provisional licensed professional counselors, or mental 
health counselors unless they have also been licensed under 
the provisions of R.S. 37:1107. 

F. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 14:85 (February 1988), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:545 (July 1989), LR 
22:103 (February 1996), LR 29:142 (February 2003), LR 39:1792 
(July 2013), LR 41:  
Chapter 21. Code of Conduct for Licensed 

Professional Counselors 
§2101. Preamble 

A. … 
B. Specification of a code of conduct enables the board 

to clarify to present and future licensees and to those served 
by licensees the responsibilities held in common by persons 
practicing mental health counseling.  

C. … 
D. The existence of this code of conduct serves to govern 

the practice of mental health counseling and the professional 
functioning of licensed professional counselors and 
provisional licensed professional counselors in the state of 
Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:622 (August 1989), amended LR 24:438 (March 
1998), LR 29:142 (February 2003), LR 39:1792 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
§2103. Counseling Relationship 

A. Licensees encourage client growth and development 
in ways that foster the interest and welfare of clients and 
promote formation of healthy relationships. Licensees 
actively attempt to understand the diverse cultural 
backgrounds of the clients they serve. Licensees also explore 
their own cultural identities and how these affect their values 
and beliefs about the counseling process. Licensees are 
encouraged to contribute to society by devoting a portion of 
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their professional activity to services for which there is little 
or no financial return (pro bono publico).  

1. Welfare of Those Served by Licensees 
a. Primary Responsibility. The primary 

responsibility of licensees is to respect the dignity and to 
promote the welfare of clients. 

b. Records. Licensees maintain records necessary 
for rendering professional services to their clients and as 
required by laws (see Chapter 15, §1505.A.), regulations, or 
agency or institution procedures. Licensees include 
sufficient and timely documentation in their client records to 
facilitate the delivery and continuity of needed services. 
Licensees take reasonable steps to ensure that documentation 
in records accurately reflects client progress and services 
provided. If errors are made in client records, licensees take 
steps to properly note the correction of such errors according 
to agency or institutional policies. 

c. Counseling Plans. Licensees and their clients 
work jointly in devising integrated, counseling plans that 
offer reasonable promise of success and are consistent with 
abilities and circumstances of clients. Licensees and clients 
regularly review counseling plans to ensure their continued 
viability and effectiveness, respecting the freedom of choice 
of clients. 

d. Support Network Involvement. Licensees 
recognize that support networks hold various meanings in 
the lives of clients and consider enlisting the support, 
understanding, and involvement of others (e.g., 
religious/spiritual/community leaders, family members, 
friends) as positive resources, when appropriate, with client 
consent. 

e. Employment Needs. Licensees work with their 
clients considering employment in jobs that are consistent 
with the overall abilities, vocational limitations, physical 
restrictions, general temperament, interest and aptitude 
patterns, social skills, education, general qualifications, and 
other relevant characteristics and needs of clients. When 
appropriate, licensees appropriately trained in career 
development will assist in the placement of clients in 
positions that are consistent with the interest, culture, and the 
welfare of clients, employers, and/or the public. 

2. Informed Consent in the Counseling Relationship  
a. Informed Consent. Clients have the freedom to 

choose whether to enter into or remain in a counseling 
relationship and need adequate information about the 
counseling process, and the counselor. Licensees have an 
obligation to review, in writing and verbally with clients, the 
rights and responsibilities of both the licensee and the client. 
Informed consent is an ongoing part of the counseling 
process, and licensees appropriately document discussions of 
informed consent throughout the counseling relationship. 

b. Types of Information Needed 
 i. Licensees explicitly explain to clients the 
nature of all services provided. They inform clients about 
issues such as, but not limited to, the following: 

(a). the purposes, goals, techniques, procedures, 
limitations, potential risks, and benefits of services; 

(b). the licensee’s qualifications, credentials, and 
relevant experience; 

(c). continuation of services upon the 
incapacitation or death of a counselor; and 

(d). other pertinent information. 

 ii. Licensees take steps to ensure that clients 
understand the implications of diagnosis, the intended use of 
tests and reports, fees, and billing arrangements. 
 iii. - iii.(d). …  

c. Development and Cultural Sensitivity. Licensees 
communicate information in ways that are both 
developmentally and culturally appropriate. Licensees use 
clear and understandable language when discussing issues 
related to informed consent. When clients have difficulty 
understanding the language used by licensees, they provide 
necessary services (e.g., arranging for a qualified interpreter 
or translator) to ensure comprehension by clients. In 
collaboration with clients, licensees consider cultural 
implications of informed consent procedures and, where 
possible, licensees adjust their practices accordingly. 

d. Inability to Give Consent. When counseling 
minors or persons unable to give voluntary consent, 
licensees seek the assent of clients to services, and include 
them in decision making as appropriate. Licensees recognize 
the need to balance the ethical rights of clients to make 
choices, their capacity to give consent or assent to receive 
services, and parental or familial legal rights and 
responsibilities to protect these clients and make decisions 
on their behalf. 

3. Clients Served by Others. When licensees learn that 
their clients are in a professional relationship with another 
mental health professional, they request written release of 
information that the clients sign in order to communicate 
with other professionals and strive to establish positive and 
collaborative professional relationships. 

4. Avoiding Harm and Imposing Values 
a. Avoiding Harm. Licensees act to avoid harming 

their clients, trainees, and research participants and to 
minimize or to remedy unavoidable or unanticipated harm. 

b. Personal Values. Licensees are aware of their 
own values, attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors and avoid 
imposing values that are inconsistent with counseling goals. 
Licensees respect the diversity of clients, trainers, and 
research participants. 

5. Roles and Relationships with Clients 
a. Current Clients. Sexual or romantic licensee-

client interaction or relationships with current clients, their 
romantic partners, or their family members are prohibited.  

b. Former Clients. Sexual or romantic client 
interactions or relationships with former clients, their 
romantic partners, or their family members are prohibited for 
a period of five years following the last professional contact. 
Licensees, before engaging in sexual or romantic 
interactions or relationships with clients their romantic 
partners, or client family members after five years following 
the last professional contact, demonstrate forethought and 
document (in written form) whether the interactions or 
relationships can be viewed as exploitive in some way 
and/or whether there is still potential to harm the former 
client; in cases of potential exploitation and/or harm, the 
counselor avoids entering such an interaction or relationship. 

c. Nonprofessional Interactions or Relationships 
(other than sexual or romantic interactions or relationships). 
Licensee-client nonprofessional relationships with clients, 
former clients, their romantic partners, or their family 
members should be avoided, except when the interaction is 
potentially beneficial to the client.  
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d. Potentially Beneficial Interactions. When a 
licensee-client nonprofessional interaction with a client or 
former client may be potentially beneficial to the client or 
former client, the licensee must document in case records, 
prior to the interaction (when feasible), the rationale for such 
an interaction, the potential benefit, and anticipated 
consequences for the client or former client and other 
individuals significantly involved with the client or former 
client. Such interactions should be initiated with appropriate 
client consent. Where unintentional harm occurs to the client 
or former client, or to an individual significantly involved 
with the client or former client, due to the non professional 
interaction, the licensee must show evidence of an attempt to 
remedy such harm. Examples of potentially beneficial 
interactions include, but are not limited to: 
 i. - iii. …   

e. Role Changes in the Professional Relationship. 
When a licensee changes a role from the original or most 
recent contracted relationship, he or she obtains informed 
consent from the client and explains the right of the client to 
refuse services related to the change. Examples of role 
changes include: 
 i. - ii. …  
 iii. changing from a licensee to a researcher role 
(i.e., enlisting clients as research participants), or vice versa; 
and  
 iv. changing from a licensee to a mediator role, or 
vice versa.  

(a). Clients must be fully informed of any 
anticipated consequences (e.g., financial, legal, personal, or 
therapeutic) of licensee role changes. 

6. Roles and Relationships at Individual, Group, 
Institutional and Societal Levels 

a. Advocacy. When appropriate, licensees advocate 
at individual, group, institutional, and societal levels to 
examine potential barriers and obstacles that inhibit access 
and/or the growth and development of clients. 

b. Confidentiality and Advocacy. Licensees obtain 
client consent prior to engaging in advocacy efforts on 
behalf of an identifiable client to improve the provision of 
services and to work toward removal of systemic barriers or 
obstacles that inhibit client access, growth, and 
development.  

7. Multiple Clients 
a. When a licensee agrees to provide counseling 

services to two or more persons who have a relationship, the 
licensee clarifies at the outset which person or persons are 
clients and the nature of the relationships the licensee will 
have with each involved person. If it becomes apparent that 
the licensee may be called upon to perform potentially 
conflicting roles, the licensee will clarify, adjust, or 
withdraw from roles appropriately.  

8. Group Work 
a. Screening. Licensees screen prospective group 

counseling/therapy participants. To the extent possible, 
licensees select members whose needs and goals are 
compatible with goals of the group, who will not impede the 
group process, and whose well-being will not be jeopardized 
by the group experience. 

b. Protecting Clients. In a group setting, licensees 
take reasonable precautions to protect clients from physical, 
emotional, or psychological trauma. 

9. End-of-Life Care for Terminally Ill Clients 
a. Quality of Care. Licensees strive to take 

measures that enable clients: 
 i. - iv. …   

b. Licensee Competence, Choice, and Referral. 
Recognizing the personal, moral, and competence issues 
related to end-of-life decisions, licensees may choose to 
work or not work with terminally ill clients who wish to 
explore their end-of-life options. Licensees provide 
appropriate referral information to ensure that clients receive 
the necessary help. 

c. Confidentiality. Licensees who provide services 
to terminally ill individuals who are considering hastening 
their own deaths have the option of breaking or not breaking 
confidentiality, depending on applicable laws and the 
specific circumstances of the situation and after seeking 
consultation or supervision from appropriate professional 
and legal parties. 

10. Fees and Bartering 
a. Accepting Fees from Agency Clients. Licensees 

refuse a private fee or other remuneration for rendering 
services to persons who are entitled to such services through 
the licensee’s employing agency or institution. The policies 
of a particular agency may make explicit provisions for 
agency clients to receive counseling services from members 
of its staff in private practice. In such instances, the clients 
must be informed of other options open to them should they 
seek private counseling services. 

b. Establishing Fees. In establishing fees for 
professional counseling services, licensees consider the 
financial status of clients and locality. In the event that the 
established fee structure is inappropriate for a client, 
licensees assist clients in attempting to find comparable 
services of acceptable cost. 

c. Nonpayment of Fees. If licensees intend to use 
collection agencies or take legal measures to collect fees 
from clients who do not pay for services as agreed upon, 
they first inform clients of intended actions and offer clients 
the opportunity to make payment. 

d. Bartering. Licensees may barter only if the 
relationship is not exploitive or harmful and does not place 
the licensee in an unfair advantage, if the client requests it, 
and if such arrangements are an accepted practice among 
professionals in the community. Licensees consider the 
cultural implications of bartering and discuss relevant 
concerns with clients and document such agreements in a 
clear written contract.  

e. Receiving Gifts. Licensees understand the 
challenges of accepting gifts from clients and recognize that 
in some cultures, small gifts are a token of respect and 
showing gratitude. When determining whether or not to 
accept a gift from clients, licensees take into account the 
therapeutic relationship, the monetary value of the gift, a 
client’s motivation for giving the gift, and the licensee’s 
motivation for wanting or declining the gift.  

11. Termination and Referral 
a. Abandonment Prohibited. Licensees do not 

abandon or neglect clients in counseling and inform clients 
of professional limitations. Licensees assist in making 
appropriate arrangements for the continuation of treatment, 
when necessary, during interruptions such as vacations, 
illness, and following termination. 
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b. Inability to Assist Clients. If licensees determine 
an inability to be of professional assistance to clients, they 
avoid entering or continuing counseling relationships. 
Licensees are knowledgeable about culturally and clinically 
appropriate referral resources and suggest these alternatives. 
If clients decline the suggested referrals, licensees should 
discontinue the relationship. 

c. Appropriate Termination. Licensees terminate a 
counseling relationship when it becomes reasonably 
apparent that the client no longer needs assistance, is not 
likely to benefit, or is being harmed by continued 
counseling. Licensees may terminate counseling when in 
jeopardy of harm by the client, or another person with whom 
the client has a relationship, or when clients do not pay fees 
as agreed upon. Licensees provide pretermination counseling 
and recommend other service providers when necessary.  

d. Appropriate Transfer of Services. When licensees 
transfer or refer clients to other practitioners, they ensure 
that appropriate clinical and administrative processes are 
completed and open communication is maintained with both 
clients and practitioners.  

12. Technology Applications 
a. Benefits and Limitations. Licensees inform 

clients of the benefits and limitations of using information 
technology applications in the counseling process and in 
business/billing procedures. Such technologies include, but 
are not limited to: 
 i. - vi. … 

b. Technology-Assisted Services. When providing 
technology-assisted distance counseling services, licensees 
determine that clients are intellectually, emotionally, and 
physically capable of using the application and that the 
application is appropriate for the needs of clients. 

c. Inappropriate Services. When technology-
assisted distance counseling services are deemed 
inappropriate by the licensee or client, licensees consider 
delivering services face-to-face. 

d. Access. Licensees provide reasonable access to 
computer applications when providing technology-assisted 
distance counseling services. 

e. Laws and Statutes. Licensees ensure that the use 
of technology does not violate the laws of any local, state, 
national, or international entity and observe all relevant 
statutes. 

f. Assistance. Licensees seek business, legal, and 
technical assistance when using technology applications, 
particularly when the use of such applications crosses state 
or national boundaries. 

g. Technology and Informed Consent. As part of the 
process of establishing informed consent, licensees do the 
following: 
 i. - v. … 
 vi. when the use of encryption is not possible, 
licensees notify clients of this fact and limit electronic 
transmissions to general communications that are not client 
specific; 
 vii. - viii. … 
 ix. inform clients of emergency procedures, such 
as calling 911 or a local crisis hotline, when the licensee is 
not available; 
 x. - xi. … 

h. Sites on the World Wide Web. Licensees 
maintaining sites on the world wide web (the internet) do the 
following: 
 i. … 
 ii. establish ways clients can contact the licensee 
in case of technology failure; 
 iii. - viii. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:622 (August 1989), amended LR 24:438 (March 
1998), LR 29:142 (February 2003), LR 39:1792 (July 2013), LR: 
41 
§2105. Confidentiality, Privileged Communication, and 

Privacy 
A. Licensees recognize that trust is a cornerstone of the 

counseling relationship. Licensees aspire to earn the trust of 
clients by creating an ongoing partnership, establishing and 
upholding appropriate boundaries, and maintaining 
confidentiality. Licensees communicate the parameters of 
confidentiality in a culturally competent manner. 

1. Respecting Client Rights 
a. Multicultural/Diversity Considerations. 

Licensees maintain awareness and sensitivity regarding 
cultural meanings of confidentiality and privacy. Licensees 
respect differing views toward disclosure of information. 
Licensees hold ongoing discussions with clients as to how, 
when, and with whom information is to be shared. 

b. Respect for Privacy. Licensees shall respect their 
clients' right to privacy and avoid legal and unwarranted 
disclosures of confidential information.  

c. Respect for Confidentiality. Licensees do not 
share confidential information without client consent. The 
right to privacy may be waived by the client or their legally 
recognized representative. 

d. Explanation of Limitations. At initiation and 
throughout the counseling process, licensees inform clients 
of the limitations of confidentiality and seek to identify 
foreseeable situations in which confidentiality must be 
breached.  

2. Exceptions 
a. Danger and Legal Requirements. The general 

requirement that licensees shall keep information 
confidential does not apply when disclosure is required 
because a patient has communicated a threat of physical 
violence, which is deemed to be significant in the clinical 
judgment of the licensee, against a clearly identified victim 
or victims, coupled with the apparent intent and ability to 
carry out such threat, or when legal requirements otherwise 
demand that confidential information be revealed. Licensee 
shall consult with other professionals when in doubt as to the 
validity of an exception.  

b. Contagious, Life-Threatening Diseases. When 
clients disclose that they have a disease commonly known to 
be both communicable and life threatening, licensees may be 
justified in disclosing information to identifiable third 
parties, if they are known to be at demonstrable and high 
risk of contracting the disease. Prior to making a disclosure, 
licensees confirm that there is such a diagnosis and assess 
the intent of clients to inform the third parties about their
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disease or to engage in any behaviors that may be harmful to 
an identifiable third party.  

c. Court-Ordered Disclosure. When subpoenaed to 
release confidential or privileged information without a 
client’s permission, licensees obtain written, informed 
consent from the client or take steps to prohibit the 
disclosure or have it limited as narrowly as possible due to 
potential harm to the client or counseling relationship.  

d. … 
3. Information Shared with Others  

a. Subordinates. Licensees make every effort to 
ensure that privacy and confidentiality of clients are 
maintained by subordinates, including employees, 
supervisees, students, clerical assistants, and volunteers.  

b. … 
c. Confidential Settings. Licensees discuss 

confidential information only in settings in which they can 
reasonably ensure client privacy. 

d. Third-Party Payers. Licensees disclose 
information to third-party payers only when clients have 
authorized such disclosure. 

e. Transmitting Confidential Information. Licensees 
take precautions to ensure the confidentiality of information 
transmitted through the use of: 
 i. - vii. … 

f. Deceased Clients. Licensees protect the 
confidentiality of deceased clients, consistent with legal 
requirements and agency or setting policies. 

4. Groups and Families  
a. … 
b. Couples and Family Counseling. In couples and 

family counseling, licensees clearly define who is 
considered “the client” and discuss expectations and 
limitations of confidentiality. Licensees seek agreement and 
document in writing such agreement among all involved 
parties having capacity to give consent concerning each 
individual’s right to confidentiality and any obligation to 
preserve the confidentiality of information known. 

5. Clients Lacking Capacity to Give Informed 
Consent  

a. Responsibility to Clients. When counseling 
minor clients or adult clients who lack the capacity to give 
voluntary, informed consent, licensees protect the 
confidentiality of information received in the counseling 
relationship as specified by federal and state laws, written 
policies, and applicable ethical standards. 

b. Responsibility to Parents and Legal Guardians. 
Licensees inform parents and legal guardians about the role 
of licensees and the confidential nature of the counseling 
relationship. Licensees are sensitive to the cultural diversity 
of families and respect the inherent rights and 
responsibilities of parents/guardians over the welfare of their 
children/charges according to law. Licensees work to 
establish, as appropriate, collaborative relationships with 
parents/guardians to best serve clients. 

c. Release of Confidential Information. When 
counseling minor clients or adult clients who lack the 
capacity to give voluntary consent to release confidential 
information, licensees seek permission from an appropriate 
third party to disclose information. In such instances, 
licensees inform clients consistent with their level of 

understanding and take culturally appropriate measures to 
safeguard client confidentiality. 

6. Records 
a. Confidentiality of Records. Licensees ensure that 

records are kept in a secure location and that only authorized 
persons have access to records. 

b. Permission to Record. Licensees obtain 
permission from clients prior to recording sessions through 
electronic or other means. 

c. Permission to Observe. Licensees obtain 
permission from clients prior to observing counseling 
sessions, reviewing session transcripts, or viewing 
recordings of sessions with supervisors, faculty, peers, or 
others within the training environment. 

d. Client Access. Licensees provide reasonable 
access to records and copies of records when requested by 
competent clients. Licensees limit the access of clients to 
their records, or portions of their records, only when there is 
compelling evidence that such access would cause harm to 
the client. Licensees document the request of clients and the 
rationale for withholding some or all of the record in the 
files of clients. In situations involving multiple clients, 
licensees provide individual clients with only those parts of 
records that related directly to them and do not include 
confidential information related to any other client. 

e. Assistance with Records. When clients request 
access to their records, licensees provide assistance and 
consultation in interpreting counseling records. 

f. Disclosure or Transfer. Unless exceptions to 
confidentiality exist, licensees obtain written permission 
from clients to disclose or transfer records to legitimate third 
parties. Steps are taken to ensure that receivers of counseling 
records are sensitive to their confidential nature.  

g. Storage and Disposal after Termination. 
Licensees store records following termination of services to 
ensure reasonable future access, maintain records in 
accordance with state and federal statutes governing records, 
and dispose of client records and other sensitive materials in 
a manner that protects client confidentiality. When records 
are of an artistic nature, licensees obtain client (or guardian) 
consent with regards to handling of such records or 
documents.  

h. Reasonable Precautions. Licensees take 
reasonable precautions to protect client confidentiality in the 
event of the licensee’s termination of practice, incapacity, or 
death.  

7. Research and Training 
a. Institutional Approval. When institutional 

approval is required, licensees provide accurate information 
about their research proposals and obtain approval prior to 
conducting their research. They conduct research in 
accordance with the approved research protocol. 

b. Adherence to Guidelines. Licensees are 
responsible for understanding and adhering to state, federal, 
agency, or institutional policies or applicable guidelines 
regarding confidentiality in their research practices. 

c. …  
d. Disclosure of Research Information. Licensees 

do not disclose confidential information that reasonably 
could lead to the identification of a research participant 
unless they have obtained the prior consent of the person. 
Use of data derived from counseling relationships for 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 228

purposes of training, research, or publication is confined to 
content that is disguised to ensure the anonymity of the 
individuals involved.  

e. … 
8. Consultation 

a. Agreements. When acting as consultants, 
licensees seek agreements among all parties involved 
concerning each individual’s rights to confidentiality, the 
obligation of each individual to preserve confidential 
information, and the limits of confidentiality of information 
shared by others. 

b. … 
c. Disclosure of Confidential Information. When 

consulting with colleagues, licensees do not disclose 
confidential information that reasonably could lead to the 
identification of a client or other person or organization with 
whom they have a confidential relationship unless they have 
obtained the prior consent of the person or organization or 
the disclosure cannot be avoided. They disclose information 
only to the extent necessary to achieve the purposes of the 
consultation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:623 (August 1989), amended LR 24:440 (March 
1998), LR 29:144 (February 2003), LR 39:1796 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
§2107. Professional Responsibilities  

A. Licensees aspire to open, honest, and accurate 
communication in dealing with the public and other 
professionals. They practice in a non-discriminatory manner 
within the boundaries of professional and personal 
competence and have a responsibility to abide by the code of 
conduct and standards of practice. Licensees actively 
participate in local, state, and national associations that 
foster the development and improvement of counseling. 
Licensees advocate to promote change at the individual, 
group, institutional, and societal levels that improves the 
quality of life for individuals and groups and remove 
potential barriers to the provision or access of appropriate 
services being offered. Licensees have a responsibility to the 
public to engage in counseling practices that are based on 
rigorous research methodologies. In addition, licensees 
engage in self-care activities to maintain and promote their 
emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual well-being to best 
meet their professional responsibilities. 

1. Knowledge of Standards 
a. Licensees have a responsibility to read, 

understand, and follow the code of conduct and standards of 
practice and adhere to applicable laws and regulations. 

2. Professional Competence 
a. Boundaries of Competence. Licensees practice 

only within the boundaries of their competence, based on 
their education, training, supervised experience, state and 
national professional credentials, and appropriate 
professional experience. Licensees gain knowledge, personal 
awareness, sensitivity, and skills pertinent to working with a 
diverse client population. All licensees must submit to the 
board a written statement of area(s) of intended practice 
along with supporting documentation of qualifications for 
the respective area(s) in which practice is intended. 

b. New Specialty Areas of Practice. Licensees 
practice in specialty areas new to them only after appropriate 
education, training, and supervised experience. While 
developing skills in new specialty areas, licensees take steps 
to ensure the competence of their work and to protect others 
from possible harm. All licensees must submit to the board a 
written statement of new area(s) of intended practice along 
with supporting documentation of qualifications for the 
respective area(s) in which practice is intended before 
claiming said specialty area(s). At the discretion of the board 
an oral examination may be required before approval of 
specialty area(s). 

c. Qualified for Employment. Licensees accept 
employment only for positions for which they are qualified 
by education, training, supervised experience, state and 
national professional credentials, and appropriate 
professional experience. Licensees hire for professional 
counseling positions only individuals who are qualified and 
competent for those positions. 

d. Monitor Effectiveness. Licensees continually 
monitor their effectiveness as professionals and take steps to 
improve when necessary. Licensees in private practice take 
reasonable steps to seek peer supervision as needed to 
evaluate their efficacy as licensees. 

e. Consultation on Ethical Obligations. Licensees 
take reasonable steps to consult with other licensees or 
related professionals when they have questions regarding 
their ethical obligations or professional practice. 

f. Continuing Education. Licensees recognize the 
need for continuing education to acquire and maintain a 
reasonable level of awareness of current scientific and 
professional information in their fields of activity. They take 
steps to maintain competence in the skills they use, are open 
to new procedures, and keep current with the diverse 
populations and specific populations with whom they work. 

g. Impairment. Licensees are alert to the signs of 
impairment from their own physical, mental, or emotional 
problems and refrain from offering or providing professional 
services when such impairment is likely to harm a client or 
others. They seek assistance for problems that reach the level 
of professional impairment, and, if necessary, they limit, 
suspend, or terminate their professional responsibilities until 
such time it is determined that they may safely resume their 
work. Licensees assist colleagues or supervisors in 
recognizing their own professional impairment and provide 
consultation and assistance when warranted with colleagues 
or supervisors showing signs of impairment and intervene as 
appropriate to prevent imminent harm to clients.  

h. Licensees Incapacitation or Termination of 
Practice. When licensees leave a practice, they follow a 
prepared plan for transfer of clients and files. Licensees 
prepare and disseminate to an identified colleague or 
“records custodian” a plan for the transfer of clients and files 
in the case of their incapacitation, death, or termination of 
practice (see §2105.A.6.h). 

3. Advertising and Soliciting Clients 
a. Accurate Advertising. When advertising or 

otherwise representing their services to the public, licensees 
identify their credentials in an accurate manner that is not 
false, misleading, deceptive, or fraudulent. 

b. Testimonials. Licensees who use testimonials do 
not solicit them from current clients nor former clients nor 
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any other persons who may be vulnerable to undue 
influence. 

c. Statements by Others. Licensees make reasonable 
efforts to ensure that statements made by others about them 
or the profession of counseling are accurate. 

d. Recruiting Through Employment. Licensees do 
not use their places of employment or institutional affiliation 
to recruit or gain clients, supervisees, or consultees for their 
private practices. 

e. Products and Training Advertisements. Licensees 
who develop products related to their profession or conduct 
workshops or training events ensure that the advertisements 
concerning these products or events are accurate and 
disclose adequate information for consumers to make 
informed choices.  

f. Promoting to Those Served. Licensees do not use 
counseling, teaching, training, or supervisory relationships to 
promote their products or training events in a manner that is 
deceptive or would exert undue influence on individuals 
who may be vulnerable. However, counselor educators may 
adopt textbooks they have authored for instructional 
purposes. 

4. Professional Qualifications 
a. Accurate Representation. Licensees claim or 

imply only professional qualifications actually completed 
and correct any known misrepresentations of their 
qualifications by others. Licensees truthfully represent the 
qualifications of their professional colleagues. Licensees 
clearly distinguish between paid and volunteer work 
experience and accurately describe their continuing 
education and specialized training.  

b. Credentials. Licensees claim only licenses or 
certifications that are current and in good standing. 

c. Educational Degrees. Licensees clearly 
differentiate between earned and honorary degrees. 

d. Implying Doctoral-Level Competence. Licensees 
clearly state their highest earned degree in counseling or 
closely related field. Licensees do not imply doctoral-level 
competence when only possessing a master’s degree in 
counseling or a related field by referring to themselves as 
“Dr.” in a counseling context when their doctorate is not in 
counseling or related field. A doctoral degree in counseling 
or a closely related field is defined as a doctoral degree from 
a regionally accredited university that shall conform to one 
of the criteria below: 
 i. … 
 ii. a doctoral counseling program incorporating 
the word "counseling" or "counselor" in its title; 
 iii. a doctoral program incorporating a counseling-
related term in its title (e.g., "marriage and family therapy"); 
or 
 iv. … 

e. Program Accreditation Status. Licensees clearly 
state the accreditation status of their degree programs at the 
time the degree was earned. 

f. Professional Membership. Licensees clearly 
differentiate between current, active memberships and 
former memberships in associations. Members of the 
American Counseling Association must clearly differentiate 
between professional membership, which implies the 
possession of at least a master’s degree in counseling, and 
regular membership, which is open to individuals whose 

interests and activities are consistent with those of ACA but 
are not qualified for professional membership. 

5. Nondiscrimination 
a. Licensees do not condone or engage in 

discrimination based on age, culture, disability, ethnicity, 
race, religion/spirituality, gender, gender identity, sexual 
orientation, marital status/partnership, language preference, 
socioeconomic status, or any basis proscribed by law. 
Licensees do not discriminate against clients, students, 
employees, supervisees, or research participants in a manner 
that has a negative impact on these persons. 

6. Public Responsibility 
a. Sexual Harassment. Licensees do not engage in 

or condone sexual harassment. 
 Sexual Harassmentsexual solicitation, physical 
advances, or verbal or nonverbal conduct that is sexual in 
nature, that occurs in connection with professional activities 
or roles, and that either  

(a). is unwelcome, is offensive, or creates a 
hostile workplace or learning environment, and licensees 
know or are told this; or  

(b). … 
b. Reports to Third Parties. Licensees are accurate, 

honest, and objective in reporting their professional 
activities and judgments to appropriate third parties, 
including courts, health insurance companies, those who are 
the recipients of evaluation reports, and others.  

c. Media Presentations. When licensees provide 
advice or comment by means of public lectures, 
demonstrations, radio or television programs, prerecorded 
tapes, technology-based applications, printed articles, mailed 
material, or other media, they take reasonable precautions to 
ensure that: 
 i. - iii. … 

d. Exploitation of Others. Licensees do not exploit 
others in their professional relationships. 

e. Scientific Bases for Treatment Modalities. 
Licensees use techniques/procedures/modalities that are 
grounded in theory and/or have an empirical or scientific 
foundation. Licensees who do not must define the 
techniques/procedures as “unproven” or “developing” and 
explain the potential risks and ethical considerations of using 
such techniques/procedures and take steps to protect clients 
from possible harm.  

7. Responsibility to Other Professionals 
a. Personal Public Statements. When making 

personal statements in a public context, licensees clarify that 
they are speaking from their personal perspectives and that 
they are not speaking on behalf of all licensees or the 
profession. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:624 (August 1989), amended LR 24:441 (March 
1998), LR 26:496 (March 2000), LR 29:145 (February 2003), LR 
39:1798 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§2109. Relationships with Other Professionals 

A. Professional licensees recognize that the quality of 
their interactions with colleagues can influence the quality of 
services provided to clients. They work to become 
knowledgeable about colleagues within and outside the field 
of counseling. Licensees develop positive working 
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relationships and systems of communication with colleagues 
to enhance services to clients. 

1. Relationships with Colleagues, Employers, and 
Employees 

a. Different Approaches. Licensees are respectful of 
approaches to counseling services that differ from their own. 
Licensees are respectful of traditions and practices of other 
professional groups with which they work.  

b. Forming Relationships. Licensees work to 
develop and strengthen interdisciplinary relations with 
colleagues from other disciplines to best serve clients. 

c. Interdisciplinary Teamwork. Licensees who are 
members of interdisciplinary teams delivering multifaceted 
services to clients keep the focus on how to best serve the 
clients. They participate in and contribute to decisions that 
affect the well-being of clients by drawing on the 
perspectives, values, and experiences of the counseling 
profession and those of colleagues from other disciplines. 

d. Confidentiality. When licensees are required by 
law, institutional policy, or extraordinary circumstances to 
serve in more than one role in judicial or administrative 
proceedings, they clarify role expectations and the 
parameters of confidentiality with their colleagues. 

e. Establishing Professional and Ethical 
Obligations. Licensees who are members of interdisciplinary 
teams clarify professional and ethical obligations of the team 
as a whole and of its individual members. When a team 
decision raises ethical concerns, licensees first attempt to 
resolve the concern within the team. If they cannot reach 
resolution among team members, licensees pursue other 
avenues to address their concerns consistent with client well-
being.  

f. Personnel Selection and Assignment. Licensees 
select competent staff and assign responsibilities compatible 
with their skills and experiences. 

g. Employer Policies. The acceptance of 
employment in an agency or institution implies that 
licensees are in agreement with its general policies and 
principles. Licensees strive to reach agreement with 
employers as to acceptable standards of conduct that allow 
for changes in institutional policy conducive to the growth 
and development of clients. 

h. Negative Conditions. Licensees alert their 
employers of inappropriate policies and practices. They 
attempt to effect changes in such policies or procedures 
through constructive action within the organization. When 
such policies are potentially disruptive or damaging to 
clients or may limit the effectiveness of services provided 
and change cannot be effected, licensees take appropriate 
further action. Such action may include referral to 
appropriate certification, accreditation, or state licensure 
organizations, or voluntary termination of employment. 

i. Protection from Punitive Action. Licensees take 
care not to harass or dismiss an employee who has acted in a 
responsible and ethical manner to expose inappropriate 
employer policies or practices. 

2. Consultation 
a. Consultant Competency. Licensees take 

reasonable steps to ensure that they have the appropriate 
resources and competencies when providing consultation 
services. Licensees provide appropriate referral resources 
when requested or needed.  

b. Understanding Consultees. When providing 
consultation, licensees attempt to develop with their 
consultees a clear understanding of problem definition, goals 
for change, and predicted consequences of interventions 
selected. 

c. … 
d. Informed Consent in Consultation. When 

providing consultation, licensees have an obligation to 
review, in writing and verbally, the rights and responsibilities 
of both licensees and consultees. Licensees use clear and 
understandable language to inform all parties involved about 
the purpose of the services to be provided, relevant costs, 
potential risks and benefits, and the limits of confidentiality. 
Working in conjunction with the consultee, licensees attempt 
to develop a clear definition of the problem, goals for 
change, and predicted consequences of interventions that are 
culturally responsive and appropriate to the needs of 
consultees.  

e. Consultation with Medical Practitioners. In the 
event a client is diagnosed with a “serious mental illness”, 
licensees must consult and collaborate on an ongoing basis 
with a practitioner who is licensed by the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners and is authorized to prescribe 
medications in the management of psychiatric illness.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:625 (August 1989), amended LR 24:443 (March 
1998), LR 29:146 (February 2003), LR 39:1800 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
§2111. Evaluation, Appraisal, and Interpretation 

A. General 
1. Appraisal Techniques. The primary purpose of 

appraisal (henceforth known as "appraisal") is to provide 
measures that are objective and interpretable in either 
comparative or absolute terms. Licensees shall recognize the 
need to interpret the statements in this Section as applying to 
the whole range of appraisal techniques, including test and 
non-test data. Licensees shall recognize their legal 
parameters in utilizing formalized appraisal techniques and 
adhere to such. 

2. Client Welfare. Licensees shall promote the welfare 
and best interests of the client in the development, 
publication and utilization of appraisal techniques. They 
shall not misuse appraisal results and interpretations and 
shall take reasonable steps to prevent others from misusing 
the information these techniques provide. They shall respect 
the client's right to know the result, the interpretations made, 
and the bases for their conclusions and recommendations. 

B. Competence to Use and Interpret Tests 
1. Limits of Competence. Licensees shall recognize 

the limits of their competence and perform only those testing 
and appraisal services for which they have been trained and 
is within R.S 37:1101-1122. They shall be familiar with 
reliability, validity, related standardization, error of 
measurement, and proper application of any technique 
utilized. Licensees using computer-based test interpretations 
shall be trained in the construction being measured and the 
specific instrument being used prior to using this type of 
computer application. Licensees shall take reasonable
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measures to ensure the proper use of formalized appraisal 
techniques by persons under their supervision. 

2. Appropriate Use. Licensees shall be responsible for 
the appropriate application, scoring, interpretation, and use 
of appraisal instruments, whether they score and interpret 
such tests themselves or use computerized or other services. 

3. Decisions Based on Results. Licensees shall be 
responsible for decisions involving individuals or policies 
that are based on appraisal results have a thorough 
understanding of formalized measurement technique, 
including validation criteria, test research, and guidelines for 
test development and use. 

4. Accurate Information. Licensees shall provide 
accurate information and avoid false claims or 
misconceptions when making statements about formalized 
appraisal instruments or techniques. 

C. Informed Consent 
1. Explanation to Clients. Prior to performing such, 

licensees shall explain the nature and purposes of a formal 
appraisal and the specific use of results in language the 
client (or other legally authorized person on behalf of the 
client) can understand, unless as explicit exception to this 
right has been agreed upon in advance. Regardless of 
whether scoring and interpretation are completed by 
licensees or by computer or other outside services, licensees 
shall take reasonable steps to ensure that appropriate 
explanations are given to the client. 

2. Recipients of Results. The examinee's welfare, 
explicit understanding, and prior agreement shall determine 
the recipients of test results. Licensees shall include accurate 
and appropriate interpretations with any release of individual 
or group test results. 

D. Release of Information to Competent Professionals 
1. Misuse of Results. Licensees shall not misuse 

appraisal results, including test results, and interpretations, 
and shall take reasonable steps to prevent the misuse of such 
by others. 

2. Release of Raw Data. Licensees shall ordinarily 
release data (e.g., protocols, counseling or interview notes, 
or questionnaires) in which the client is identified only with 
the consent of the client or the client's legal representative. 
Such data are usually released only to persons recognized by 
counselors as competent to interpret the data. 

E. Test Selection 
1. Appropriateness of Instruments. Licensees shall 

carefully consider the validity, reliability, psychometric 
limitations, and appropriateness of instruments when 
selecting tests for use in a given situation or with a particular 
client. 

2. Culturally Diverse Populations. Licensees shall be 
cautious when selecting tests for culturally diverse 
populations to avoid inappropriateness of testing that may be 
outside of socialized behavioral or cognitive patterns. 

F. Conditions of Test Administration 
1. Administration Conditions. Licensees shall 

administer tests under the same conditions that were 
established in their standardization. When tests are not 
administered under standard conditions or when unusual 
behavior or irregularities occur during the testing session, 
those conditions shall be noted in interpretation, and the 
results may be designated as invalid or of questionable 
validity. 

2. Computer Administration. Licensees shall be 
responsible for ensuring that administration programs 
function properly to provide clients with accurate results 
when a computer or other electronic methods are used for 
test administration. 

3. Unsupervised Test-Taking. Licensees shall not 
permit unsupervised or inadequately supervised use of tests 
or appraisals unless the tests or appraisals are designed, 
intended, and validated for self-administration and/or 
scoring. 

4. … 
G. Diversity in Testing Licensees shall be cautious in 

using appraisal techniques, making evaluations, and 
interpreting the performance of populations not represented 
in the norm group on which an instrument was standardized. 
They shall recognize the effects of age, color, culture, 
disability, ethnic group, gender, race, religion, sexual 
orientation, and socioeconomic status on test administration 
and interpretation and place test results in proper perspective 
with other relevant factors. 

H. Test Scoring and Interpretation 
1. Reporting Reservations. In reporting appraisal 

results, licensees shall indicate any reservations that exist 
regarding validity or reliability because of the circumstances 
of the appraisal or the inappropriateness of the norms for the 
person tested. 

2. Research Instruments. Licensees shall exercise 
caution when interpreting the results of research instruments 
possessing insufficient technical data to support respondent 
results. The specific purposes for the use of such instruments 
shall be stated explicitly to the examinee. 

3. Testing Services. Licensees who provide test 
scoring and test interpretation services to support the 
appraisal process shall confirm the validity of such 
interpretations. They shall accurately describe the purpose, 
norms, validity, reliability, and applications of the 
procedures and any special qualifications applicable to their 
use. The public offering of an automated test interpretations 
service is shall be considered a professional-to-professional 
consultation. The formal responsibility of the consultant 
shall be to the consultee, but the ultimate and overriding 
responsibility shall be to the client. 

I. Test Security. Licensees shall maintain the integrity 
and security of tests and other appraisal techniques 
consistent with legal and contractual obligations. Licensees 
shall not appropriate, reproduce, or modify published tests or 
parts thereof without acknowledgment and permission from 
the publisher. 

J. Obsolete Tests and Outdated Test Results. Licensees 
shall not use data or test results that are obsolete or outdated 
for the current purpose. Licensees shall make every effort to 
prevent the misuse of obsolete measures and test data by 
others. 

K. Test Construction. Licensees shall use established 
scientific procedures, relevant standards, and current 
professional knowledge for test design in the development, 
publication, and utilization of appraisal techniques. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of
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Examiners, LR 15:625 (August 1989), amended LR 24:443 (March 
1998), LR 29:147 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§2113. Supervision, Training, and Teaching  

A. Licensees aspire to foster meaningful and respectful 
professional relationships and to maintain appropriate 
boundaries with supervisees and students. Licensees have 
theoretical and pedagogical foundations for their work and 
aim to be fair, accurate, and honest in their assessments of 
counselors-in-training.  

1. Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor 
Supervision and Client Welfare 

a. Client Welfare. A primary obligation of 
counseling supervisors is to monitor the services provided 
by other licensees or counselors-in-training. Counseling 
supervisors monitor client welfare and supervisee clinical 
performance and professional development. To fulfill these 
obligations, supervisors meet regularly with supervisees to 
review case notes, samples of clinical work, or live 
observations. Supervisees have a responsibility to 
understand and follow the code of conduct and standards of 
practice. 

b. Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor 
Credentials. Counseling supervisors work to ensure that 
clients are aware of the qualifications of the supervisees who 
render services to the clients.  

c. … 
2. Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor 

Supervision Competence 
a. Supervisor Preparation. Prior to offering clinical 

supervision services, licensed professional counselors are 
trained in supervision methods and techniques. Licensed 
Professional Counselors who offer clinical supervision 
services regularly pursue continuing education activities 
including both counseling and supervision topics and skills.  

2.b. - 3.b. … 
e. Potentially Beneficial Relationships. Counseling 

supervisors are aware of the power differential in their 
relationships with supervisees. If they believe 
nonprofessional relationships with a supervisee may be 
potentially beneficial to the supervisee, they take precautions 
similar to those taken by licensees when working with 
clients. Examples of potentially beneficial interactions or 
relationships include attending a formal ceremony; hospital 
visits; providing support during a stressful event; or mutual 
membership in a professional association, organization, or 
community. Counseling supervisors engage in open 
discussions with supervisees when they consider entering 
into relationships with them outside of their roles as clinical 
and/or administrative supervisors. Before engaging in 
nonprofessional relationships, supervisors discuss with 
supervisees and document the rationale for such interactions, 
potential benefits or drawbacks, and anticipated 
consequences for the supervisee. Supervisors clarify the 
specific nature and limitations of the additional role(s) they 
will have with the supervisee. 

4. - 4.b. … 
c. Standards for Supervisees. Supervisors make 

their supervisees aware of professional and ethical standards 
and legal responsibilities. Supervisors of provisional 
licensed professional counselors encourage these supervisees 
to adhere to professional standards of practice.  

4.d. - 5.b. … 

c. Counseling for Supervisees. If supervisees 
request counseling, supervisors provide them with 
acceptable referrals. Supervisors do not provide counseling 
services to their supervisees. Supervisors address 
interpersonal competencies in terms of the impact of these 
issues on clients, the supervisory relationship, and 
professional functioning (see F.3.a). 

5.d. - 7.b. … 
8. Student Responsibilities 

a. Standards for Students. Counselors-in-training 
have a responsibility to understand and follow the ACA code 
of ethics and Code of Conduct adopted by the LPC Board 
and adhere to applicable laws, regulatory policies, and rules 
and policies governing professional staff behavior at the 
agency or placement setting. Students have the same 
obligation to clients as those required of licensees.  

b. …  
9. Evaluation and Remediation of Students 

a. Evaluation. Counselor educators clearly state to 
students, prior to and throughout the training program, the 
levels of competency expected, appraisal methods, and 
timing of evaluations for both didactic and clinical 
competencies. Counselor educators provide students with 
ongoing performance appraisal and evaluation feedback 
throughout the training program. 

9.b. - 10.e. … 
f. Potentially Beneficial Relationships. Counselor 

educators are aware of the power differential in the 
relationship between faculty and students. If they believe a 
nonprofessional relationship with a student may be 
potentially beneficial to the student, they take precautions 
similar to those taken by licensees when working with 
clients. Examples of potentially beneficial interactions or 
relationships include, but are not limited to, attending a 
formal ceremony; hospital visits; providing support during a 
stressful event; or mutual membership in a professional 
association, organization, or community. Counselor 
educators engage in open discussions with students when 
they consider entering into relationships with students 
outside of their roles as teachers and supervisors. They 
discuss with students the rationale for such interactions, the 
potential benefits and drawbacks, and the anticipated 
consequences for the student. Educators clarify the specific 
nature and limitations of the additional role(s) they will have 
with the student prior to engaging in a nonprofessional 
relationship. Nonprofessional relationships with students 
should be time-limited and initiated with student consent. 

11. - 11.c.… 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:626 (August 1989), amended LR 24:445 (March 
1998), LR 29:149 (February 2003), LR 39:1800 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
§2115. Research and Publication 

A. Licensees who conduct research are encouraged to 
contribute to the knowledge base of the profession and 
promote a clearer understanding of the conditions that lead 
to a healthy and more just society. Licensees support efforts 
of researchers by participating fully and willingly whenever 
possible. Licensees minimize bias and respect diversity in 
designing and implementing research programs. 
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1. Research Responsibilities 
a. Use of Human Research Participants. Licensees 

plan, design, conduct, and report research in a manner that is 
consistent with pertinent ethical principles, federal and state 
laws, host institutional regulations, and scientific standards 
governing research with human research participants. 

b. Deviation from Standard Practice. Licensees seek 
consultation and observe stringent safeguards to protect the 
rights of research participants when a research problem 
suggests a deviation from standard or acceptable practices. 

c. … 
d. Precautions to Avoid Injury. Licensees who 

conduct research with human participants are responsible for 
the welfare of participants throughout the research process 
and should take reasonable precautions to avoid causing 
injurious psychological, emotional, physical, or social 
effects to participants. 

e. … 
f. Minimal Interference. Licensees take reasonable 

precautions to avoid causing disruptions in the lives of 
research participants that could be caused by their 
involvement in research. 

g. Multicultural/Diversity Considerations in 
Research. When appropriate to research goals, licensees are 
sensitive to incorporating research procedures that take into 
account cultural considerations. They seek consultation 
when appropriate. 

2. Rights of Research Participants 
a. Informed Consent in Research. Individuals have 

the right to consent to become research participants. In 
seeking consent, licensees use language that: 
 i. - ix. … 

b. Deception. Licensees do not conduct research 
involving deception unless alternative procedures are not 
feasible and the prospective value of the research justifies 
the deception. If such deception has the potential to cause 
physical or emotional harm to research participants, the 
research is not conducted, regardless of prospective value. 
When the methodological requirements of a study 
necessitate concealment or deception, the investigator 
explains the reasons for this action as soon as possible 
during the debriefing. 

c. … 
d. Client Participation. Licensees conducting 

research involving clients make clear in the informed 
consent process that clients are free to choose whether or not 
to participate in research activities. Licensees take necessary 
precautions to protect clients from adverse consequences of 
declining or withdrawing from participation. 

e. … 
f. Persons Not Capable of Giving Informed 

Consent. When a person is not capable of giving informed 
consent, licensees provide an appropriate explanation to, 
obtain agreement for participation from, and obtain the 
appropriate consent of a legally authorized person. 

g. Commitments to Participants. Licensees take 
reasonable measures to honor all commitments to research 
participants.  

h. Explanations after Data Collection. After data are 
collected, licensees provide participants with full 
clarification of the nature of the study to remove any 
misconceptions participants might have regarding the 

research. Where scientific or human values justify delaying 
or withholding information, licensees take reasonable 
measures to avoid causing harm. 

i. Informing Sponsors. Licensees inform sponsors, 
institutions, and publication channels regarding research 
procedures and outcomes. Licensees ensure that appropriate 
bodies and authorities are given pertinent information and 
acknowledgement. 

j. Disposal of Research Documents and Records. 
Within a reasonable period of time following the completion 
of a research project or study, licensees take steps to destroy 
records or documents (audio, video, digital, and written) 
containing confidential data or information that identifies 
research participants. When records are of an artistic nature, 
researchers obtain participant consent with regard to 
handling of such records or documents.  

3. - 3.d. … 
4. Reporting Results 

a. Accurate Results. Licensees plan, conduct, and 
report research accurately. They provide thorough 
discussions of the limitations of their data and alternative 
hypotheses. Licensees do not engage in misleading or 
fraudulent research, distort data, misrepresent data, or 
deliberately bias their results. They explicitly mention all 
variables and conditions known to the investigator that may 
have affected the outcome of a study or the interpretation of 
data. They describe the extent to which results are applicable 
for diverse populations. 

b. Obligation to Report Unfavorable Results. 
Licensees report the results of any research of professional 
value. Results that reflect unfavorably on institutions, 
programs, services, prevailing opinions, or vested interests 
are not withheld. 

c. Reporting Errors. If licensees discover significant 
errors in their published research, they take reasonable steps 
to correct such errors in a correction erratum, or through 
other appropriate publication means. 

d. Identity of Participants. Licensees who supply 
data, aid in the research of another person, report research 
results, or make original data available take due care to 
disguise the identity of respective participants in the absence 
of specific authorization from the participants to do 
otherwise. In situations where participants self-identify their 
involvement in research studies, researchers take active steps 
to ensure that data are adapted/changed to protect the 
identity and welfare of all parties and that discussion of 
results does not cause harm to participants.  

e. Replication Studies. Licensees are obligated to 
make available sufficient original research data to qualified 
professionals who may wish to replicate the study. 

5. Publication 
a. Recognizing Contributions. When conducting 

and reporting research, licensees are familiar with and give 
recognition to previous work on the topic, observe copyright 
laws, and give full credit to those to whom credit is due. 

b. Plagiarism. Licensees do not plagiarize, that is, 
they do not present another person’s work as their own work. 

c. Review/Republication of Data or Ideas. 
Licensees fully acknowledge and make editorial reviewers 
aware of prior publication of ideas or data where such ideas 
or data are submitted for review or publication. 
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d. Contributors. Licensees give credit through joint 
authorship, acknowledgment, footnote statements, or other 
appropriate means to those who have contributed 
significantly to research or concept development in 
accordance with such contributions. The principal 
contributor is listed first and minor technical or professional 
contributions are acknowledged in notes or introductory 
statements. 

e. Agreement of Contributors. Licensees who 
conduct joint research with colleagues or 
students/supervisees establish agreements in advance 
regarding allocation of tasks, publication credit, and types of 
acknowledgement that will be received. 

f. … 
g. Duplicate Submission. Licensees submit 

manuscripts for consideration to only one journal at a time. 
Manuscripts that are published in whole or in substantial part 
in another journal or published work are not submitted for 
publication without acknowledgment and permission from 
the previous publication. 

h. Professional Review. Licensees who review 
material submitted for publication, research, or other 
scholarly purposes respect the confidentiality and 
proprietary rights of those who submitted it. Licensees use 
care to make publication decisions based on valid and 
defensible standards. Licensees review article submissions in 
a timely manner and based on their scope and competency in 
research methodologies. Licensees who serve as reviewers at 
the request of editors or publishers make every effort to only 
review materials that are within their scope of competency 
and use care to avoid personal biases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:626 (August 1989), amended LR 24:446 (March 
1998), LR 29:150 (February 2003), 39:1803 (July 2013), LR 41: 
§2117. Resolving Ethical Issues 

A. Licensees behave in a legal, ethical, and moral 
manner in the conduct of their professional work. They are 
aware that client protection and trust in the profession 
depend on a high level of professional conduct. They hold 
other licensees to the same standards and are willing to take 
appropriate action to ensure that these standards are upheld. 
Licensees strive to resolve ethical dilemmas with direct and 
open communication among all parties involved and seek 
consultation with colleagues and supervisors when 
necessary. Licensees incorporate ethical practice into their 
daily professional work. They engage in ongoing 
professional development regarding current topics in ethical 
and legal issues in counseling. 

1. Standards and the Law 
a. Knowledge. Licensees understand the ACA code 

of conduct and other applicable ethics codes from other 
professional organizations or from certification and licensure 
bodies of which they are members. Lack of knowledge or 
misunderstanding of an ethical responsibility is not a defense 
against a charge of unethical conduct. 

b. Conflicts between Ethics and Laws. If ethical 
responsibilities conflict with law, regulations, or other 
governing legal authority, licensees make known their 
commitment to the code of conduct and standards of practice 

and take steps to resolve the conflict. If the conflict 
cannot be resolved by such means, licensees may adhere to 
the requirements of law, regulations, or other governing 
legal authority. 

2. Suspected Violations 
a. Ethical Behavior Expected. Licensees expect 

colleagues to adhere to the code of conduct and standards of 
practice. When licensees possess knowledge that raises 
doubts as to whether another licensee is acting in an ethical 
manner, they take appropriate action.  

b. Informal Resolution. When licensees have reason 
to believe that another licensee is violating or has violated an 
ethical standard, they attempt first to resolve the issue 
informally with the other licensee, if feasible, provided such 
action does not violate confidentiality rights that may be 
involved. 

c. Reporting Ethical Violations. If an apparent 
violation has substantially harmed, or is likely to 
substantially harm a person or organization and is not 
appropriate for informal resolution or is not resolved 
properly, licensees take further action appropriate to the 
situation. Such action might include referral to state or 
national committees on professional ethics, voluntary 
national certification bodies, state licensing boards, or to the 
appropriate institutional authorities. This standard does not 
apply when an intervention would violate confidentiality 
rights or when licensees have been retained to review the 
work of another licensee whose professional conduct is in 
question. 

d. Consultation. When uncertain as to whether a 
particular situation or course of action may be in violation of 
the code of conduct, licensees consult with other licensees 
who are knowledgeable about ethics and the code of 
conduct, with colleagues, or with appropriate authorities 

e. Organizational Conflicts. If the demands of an 
organization with which licensees are affiliated pose a 
conflict with the code of conduct, licensees specify the 
nature of such conflicts and express to their supervisors or 
other responsible officials their commitment to the code of 
conduct. When possible, licensees work toward change 
within the organization to allow full adherence to the Code 
of Conduct of Ethics. In doing so, they address any 
confidentiality issues. 

f. Unwarranted Complaints. Licensees do not 
initiate, participate in, or encourage the filing of ethics 
complaints that are made with reckless disregard or willful 
ignorance of facts that would disprove the allegation. 

g. Unfair Discrimination Against Complainants and 
Respondents. Licensees do not deny persons employment, 
advancement, admission to academic or other programs, 
tenure, or promotion based solely upon their having made or 
their being the subject of an ethics complaint. This does not 
preclude taking action based upon the outcome of such 
proceedings or considering other appropriate information. 

3. Cooperation with Ethics Committees 
a. Licensees assist in the process of enforcing the 

code of conduct. Licensees cooperate with investigations, 
proceedings, and requirements of the LPC Board 
disciplinary committee. Licensees are familiar with the code 
of conduct as established by the LPC Board and the 
professional and occupational standards and procedures for 
processing complaints of ethical violations as it pertains to 
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the enforcement of the code of conduct and standards of 
practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:626 (August 1989), amended LR 24:447 (March 
1998), LR 29:151 (February 2003), LR 39:1805 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
§2118. Appendix―Declaration of Practices and 

Procedures for Licensed Professional Counselors 
and Provisional Licensed Professional 
Counselors  

A. The following comprises the information that must be 
available in writing for each client seen by a licensed 
professional counselor or provisional licensed professional 
counselor in the state of Louisiana. Licensed professional 
counselors or provisional licensed professional counselors 
must read and incorporate the Code of Conduct for 
Professional Counselors in their declaration statement. 

1. Licensed professional counselor or provisional 
licensed professional counselor’s name, mailing address, and 
telephone number. 

2. Qualifications 
a. … 
b. Give your license number, specifying the LPC 

Board of Examiners including address and telephone number 
as the grantor of your license or provisional license. 

c. An individual under supervision must refer to 
him/herself as a provisional licensed professional counselor 
and include the name and address of his/her board-approved 
supervisor. 

3. - 9. … 
10. Client Responsibilities. List client responsibilities, 

e.g., clients are expected to follow office procedures for 
keeping appointments, clients must pay for services at the 
time of each visit, and clients must terminate the counseling 
relationship before being seen by another mental health 
professional and/or notify the licensee of any other ongoing 
professional mental health relationship. If a client is seeing 
another mental health professional (psychologist, board 
certified social worker, etc.), then permission must be 
granted by the first therapist for the second to work with the 
same client. (See Code of Conduct). 

11. … 
12. Potential Counseling Risks. Indicate that as a result 

of mental health counseling, the client may realize that 
he/she has additional issues which may not have surfaced 
prior to the onset of the counseling relationship. The licensee 
may also indicate possible risk within specific specialty 
areas (i.e., marriage and family: as one partner changes, 
additional strain may be placed on the martial relationship if 
the other partner refuses to work). 

13. It is also required that a place be provided for the 
date and signatures of the licensee, the client(s) and, if 
warranted, the date and signatures of the parent/guardian and 
the licensee’s supervisor. A general statement is required 
indicating that the client has read, understands, and agrees to 
the conditions set forth by the declaration statement. Minor 
clients must have an accompanying parent/guardian 
signature which provides consent for their treatment. 

B. To practice mental health counseling in Louisiana the 
licensed professional counselor or provisional licensed 
professional counselor must have a current copy of his/her 
declaration statement on file in the LPC Board office. The 
provisional licensed professional counselor must include a 
copy of his/her declaration statement with each application 
for or change in supervision. The Code of Conduct can be 
duplicated for clients and additional copies are available 
from the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 15:627 (August 1989), amended LR 20:544 (May 
1994), LR 29:152 (February 2003), LR 39:1806 (July 2013), LR 
41: 
Chapter 23. Licensed Professional Counselor, 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, 
Provisional Licensed Professional 
Counselor, Provisional Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapist Professional 
Assistance Program  

§2301. Authority 
A. The Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors 

Board of Examiners recognizes that impairments in the 
functioning of persons licensed or provisionally licensed, to 
practice as licensed professional counselors, provisional 
licensed professional counselors, licensed marriage and 
family therapists, or provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapists can affect the competent delivery of mental 
health counseling and marriage and family therapy, and 
impair professional judgment. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1110 and 37: 1120. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:344 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2303. Purpose and Scope; Immunity 

A. The goal of the professional assistance program is to 
provide for public protection through monitoring and a 
remedial course of action applicable to licensed and 
provisional licensed professional counselors and to licensed 
and provisional licensed marriage and family therapists who 
are functionally impaired in their ability to safely practice. 
Impairments include, but are not limited to mental, physical, 
and addictive disorders or other conditions. The program 
also supports recovery through preventative measures and 
allows entrance into the program before harm occurs. 

B. A licensed or provisional licensed professional 
counselor or licensed or provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapist may enter the program subsequent to 
voluntary disclosure of impairment via an initial or renewal 
application for a license or provisional license. When 
evidence of impairment arises as a possible causative or 
contributing factor in disciplinary proceedings, the board 
may offer this program to the subject of those proceedings. 
If the subject agrees to enter the program, disciplinary 
proceedings may be suspended pending program 
completion. If the subject refuses to enter the program, the 
disciplinary process shall continue. Participation in the
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program can be voluntary, but may also be required as a 
prerequisite to continued mental health counseling practice 
or marriage and family therapy in accordance with the 
conditions of any consent order, compliance or adjudication 
hearing. A licensed or provisional licensed professional 
counselor or licensed or provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapist who enters the program may be allowed to 
maintain his/her license or provisional license while in 
compliance with the requirements of their program, subject 
to the board’s discretion. 

C. Professionals who participate in evaluation, 
monitoring or treatment and who are approved or designated 
by the board to render these services, as well as professional 
assistance program committee members and board members, 
who participate in professional assistance program activities, 
will be provided immunity. The participating licensed or 
provisional licensed professional counselor or licensed or 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist will be 
responsible for executing all required releases of information 
and authorizations required for the board or its designees to 
obtain information from any monitor, treatment or service 
provider concerning the licensed or provisional licensed 
professional counselor or licensed or provisional licensed 
marriage family therapist’s progress and participation in the 
program, the professional assistance program participant 
must agree in writing, to grant full immunity to, and hold 
harmless from any suit or claim, all professional assistance 
program committee members, board members and those 
professionals who assist in their evaluation, monitoring, or 
treatment. This grant of immunity shall extend to all actions 
by such board members, professional assistance program 
committee members, or participating professionals acting in 
good faith in the discharge of their duties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:344 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2305. Program Implementation 

A. - A.1.c. … 
2. The participant may be required to submit to 

ongoing monitoring for a period of up to five years. The 
beginning date of the monitoring period will be the date 
upon which a consent order is formally signed by the 
licensed or provisional licensed professional counselor or 
licensed or provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist and the board, or the date of the board’s official 
decision to require program participation in the event of an 
adjudication hearing. 

3. During the monitoring period the licensed or 
provisional licensed professional counselor or licensed or 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist may be 
required to submit to random drug and/or alcohol screenings 
as determined appropriate by the board, or other monitoring 
requirements which are pertinent and relative to the 
documented impairment. 

a. - b. … 
4. Receipt by the board of any positive, unexplained 

substance abuse/drug screen or reports of non-compliance or 
complications relative to the impairment during the 
monitoring period may result in suspension, revocation, or 
other appropriate action pertaining to the licensed or

provisional licensed professional counselor, licensed or 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist’s license 
or provisional license as determined appropriate by the 
board. 

5. When the impairment is substance-related, the 
participant may be required to attend Twelve Step meetings 
on a regular basis as determined appropriate by the 
designated licensed substance abuse professional, and as 
approved or required by the board, but no less than four 
times monthly. 

a. A pre-approved monthly log must be submitted 
to and received by the board at least five days after the final 
business day of the month following completion of the 
required meetings. It is the participant’s responsibility to 
ensure that these logs are properly completed and received 
by the board by the designated date. 

b. - c. … 
6. During the monitoring period for the participant, 

the participant may be required to participate in professional 
supervision with a board-approved and designated licensed 
professional counselor supervisor or licensed marriage and 
family therapist supervisor at a frequency determined by the 
board for a period of time up to and including the entire five 
year period of monitoring. 

7. The board, in addition to other conditions, may 
require that the participant obtain regularly scheduled 
therapy, at a prescribed interval. 

a. - b. … 
c. The participant may choose the licensed 

substance abuse professional or other qualified professional 
to provide this therapy, subject to board approval. 

8. Other requirements for participation in the program 
may include, but are not limited to, limitations in the scope 
of the participant’s mental health counseling or marriage and 
family therapy practice, suspension of practice, or voluntary 
withdrawal from practice for a specific time. 

9. In the event that the participant relocates to another 
jurisdiction, the participant will within five days of 
relocating be required to either enroll in the other 
jurisdiction’s professional assistance program and have the 
reports required under the agreement sent to the Louisiana 
Professional Counselor’s Board of Examiners or if the other 
jurisdiction has no impairment professional program, the 
participant will notify the licensing board of that jurisdiction 
that the participant is impaired and enrolled in the 
professional assistance program. Should the participant fail 
to adhere to this requirement, in addition to being deemed in 
violation of the program requirements and corresponding 
consent order or adjudication, the participant’s license or 
provisional license will be suspended or revoked. 

10. The participant shall notify the board office by 
telephone within 48 hours and in writing within five working 
days of any changes of the participant’s home or work 
address, telephone number, employment status, employer 
and/or change in scope or nature practice. The participant 
may satisfy the notice requirement by telephone, leaving a 
voice message on the board’s office voicemail at times when 
the office is closed. A written confirmation from the 
participant of the phone message is expected within five 
working days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:345 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2307. Violations 

A. Notification of a violation of the terms or conditions 
of this agreement, consent order or adjudication order may 
result in the immediate suspension of the participant’s 
license or provisional license to practice in the state of 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:346 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2309. Costs and Fees 

A. The participant shall be responsible for all fees and 
costs incurred in complying with the terms of this 
agreement, including but not limited to therapy, assessments, 
supervision, drug/alcohol screens, and reproduction of 
treatment or other records. By agreeing to participate in the 
professional assistance program, the participant agrees to be 
solely responsible for all such costs or expenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:346 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2311. Acceptance of Terms; Program Agreement 

A. The participant must submit to the board a notarized 
agreement indicating acceptance of the required conditions 
of participation in the professional assistance program as 
mandated by the board, along with all initial (or updated) 
releases or authorizations for the board or its designees to 
obtain information concerning the participant’s participation 
and progress in the program. Such agreement shall also 
delineate requirements for release from the program, 
including but not limited to certification of completion by 
treatment providers, written evidence of full compliance 
with the program agreement, and two written reports 
attesting to the participant’s current mental status to be 
submitted by mental health professionals approved by the 
board. The program agreement shall also state that the board 
may monitor the participant for up to two years following 
program completion. This agreement and the required 
release and authorizations must be submitted prior to the 
issuance of any initial license or provisional license or re-
issuance of a renewal of a license or provisional license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:346 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2313. Confidentiality 

A. The board will, to the full extent permissible, under 
R.S. 44:4 et seq., maintain an agreement or consent order 
relating to the participant’s participation in the professional 
assistance program as a confidential matter. The board 
retains the discretion to share information it deems necessary 
with those persons providing evaluation/assessment, therapy, 
treatment, supervision, monitoring or drug/alcohol testing or 
reports. Violation of any terms, conditions, or requirements 
contained in any consent order, or board decision can result 
in a loss of the participant’s license or provisional license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:346 (January 2011), LR 41: 
§2315. Recusal 

A. Any board members or professional assistance 
program committee members who participate in any manner 
in any particular professional assistance program case shall 
recuse themselves from voting in any subsequent application 
or disciplinary matter involving the licensed or provisional 
licensed professional counselor or licensed or provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapist who is the subject of 
such professional assistance program case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1110 and 37: 1120. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:347 (January 2011), LR 41: 

Subpart 2.  Professional Standards for Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapists and Provisional 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists 
Chapter 27. General Provisions 
§2703. Statutory Authority of the Marriage and Family 

Therapy Advisory Committee 
A. The Marriage and Family Therapy Advisory 

Committee was created and empowered by Act 1195 of the 
2001 Legislature to provide for the regulation of the use of 
the title "Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist" (R.S. 
37:1101-1122). Therefore, the Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, hereafter 
referred to as the board, establishes the Marriage and Family 
Therapy Advisory Committee as directed by the 2001 
Legislature. Act 484 of the 2014 Legislative Session 
empowered the board to provide regulation of the practice 
and use of the titles “Provisional Licensed Professional 
Counselor” and “Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family 
Therapist”. The Marriage and Family Therapy Advisory 
Committee shall develop the rules and regulations herein 
pursuant to the authority granted to, and imposed upon, said 
advisory committee under the provisions of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes, Title 37, Chapter 13, §1101-1123. The 
Health and Welfare Committees in the House and Senate 
shall jointly approve these rules and regulations. The board 
shall promulgate these rules and regulations [R.S. 37: 
1104(B)(2)(b)]. The board shall approve, revoke, suspend, 
and renew the license of applicants for licensure as licensed 
marriage and family therapists and the provisional license of 
applications for provisional licensure as provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapists upon recommendation of the 
Marriage and Family Therapy Advisory Committee [R.S. 
37:1105(G)]. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:153 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§2705. Description of Organization 

A. The Marriage and Family Therapy Advisory 
Committee, hereafter referred to as the advisory committee, 
consists of four members, who shall be residents of the state 
of Louisiana. All candidates and advisory committee 
members shall be licensed marriage and family therapists. 
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The four advisory committee members shall be members of 
the board. 

B. - C. … 
D. Any vacancy occurring in advisory committee 

membership, other than by expiration of term, shall be filled 
for the remainder of the unexpired term by the governor 
within 30 days from a list of qualified candidates supplied 
by the LAMFT board as prescribed in Section 1104 of R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:153 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2783 
(December 2003), LR 41: 
§2709. Notification of Change 

A. Licensed marriage and family therapists, provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapists, and LMFT-
approved supervisors/supervisors-in-training shall notify the 
Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners in 
writing of any and all changes in name, address, and phone 
number within 30 days. Failure to do so will result in a fine 
as set forth in §901.C. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:153 (February 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 29. Advisory Committee Meetings, 

Procedures, Records, Powers and Duties 
§2905. Quorum 

A. Three members of the advisory committee shall 
constitute a quorum at any meeting or hearing for the 
transaction of business. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 29:154 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§2907. Procedures 

A. … 
B. The advisory committee shall review applications for 

examination, licensure, provisional licensure, and renewal 
for recommended approval to the board. The advisory 
committee shall recommend to the board to withhold, deny, 
revoke, or suspend any license or provisional license of an 
applicant, or impose any other sanctions on licensed or 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapists. 

C. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 29:154 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§2911. Records 

A. The advisory committee shall maintain records of 
pertinent matters relating to application, licensure, and 
discipline. Registers of LMFT-approved supervisors and 
LMFT-registered supervisor candidates and a register of 
licensed and provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapists shall be made available to the public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 29:154 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2784 
(December 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 31. License of Title for Marriage and Family 

Therapy 
§3101. License of Title for Marriage and Family 

Therapy 
A. … 
B. As stated in R.S. 37:1122(A), no person, unless he/she 

holds a provisional license as a provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist, shall advertise as being a 
"provisional licensed marriage and family therapist" or hold 
themselves out to the public or make use of any title, words, 
letters or abbreviations that may reasonably be confused 
with the title "provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:154 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3103. Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy by 

Other Licensed Mental Health Professionals 
A. Nothing in this subpart shall be construed as 

prohibiting qualified members of other professional groups 
including but not limited to clinical social workers, 
psychiatric nurses, psychologists, physicians, licensed 
professional counselors, or members of the clergy, including 
Christian science practitioners, from doing or advertising 
that they perform work of a marriage and family therapy 
nature consistent with the accepted standards of their 
respective professions. No such person, however, shall use 
the title, or use any words or abbreviations that may 
reasonably be confused with the title, "Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapist” or “Provisional Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapist”. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:154 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3105. Definitions for Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapists and Provisional Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapists 

Active Supervision—the process by which a supervisee 
receives one hour of face-to-face supervision with his/her 
board-approved supervisor for every 20 hours of direct client 
contact or at least once every three-month period. 

* * * 
Licensee—an individual holding either a full or 

provisional license issued by the Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners. All licensees 
must accurately identify themselves as fully licensed (i.e., 
licensed) or provisionally licensed. 

* * * 
Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist—

any person by title or description of services incorporating 
the words "provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist" and who, under board-approved supervision (i.e. 
may not practice independently), renders marriage and 
family therapy denoting a client-therapist relationship in 
which the licensee assumes the responsibility for knowledge, 
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skill, and ethical consideration needed to assist individuals, 
groups, organizations, or the general public, and who implies 
that he/she is provisionally licensed to practice marriage and 
family therapy. 

* * * 
Supervisee—a provisional licensed marriage and family 

therapist under the active supervision of his/her board-
approved supervisor or board-approved supervisor 
candidate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:154 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2784 
(December 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 33. Requirements for Licensure and 

Provisional Licensure  
§3301. General Provisions 

A. The board upon recommendation of the marriage and 
family therapy advisory committee shall license or 
provisionally license to practice all persons who present 
satisfactory evidence of qualifications as specified in these 
rules and regulations of the advisory committee. Such 
licensure shall be signed by the chairman and vice chairman 
of the board and the chairman and vice chairman of the 
advisory committee. No license or provisional license shall 
be denied any applicant based upon the applicant's race, 
religion, creed, national origin, sex, or physical impairment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:155 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3303. Definitions 

Applicant―any individual seeking licensure or 
provisional licensure who has submitted an official 
application and paid the application fee. 

* * * 
Direct Client Contact―face-to-face (therapist and client) 

therapy with individuals, couples, families, and/or groups 
from a relational perspective. Activities such as telephone 
contact, case planning, observation of therapy, record 
keeping, travel, administrative activities, consultation with 
community members or professionals, or supervision, are 
not considered direct client contact. Assessments done  
face-to-face and more than clerical in nature and focus may 
be counted as direct client contact. Psychoeducation may be 
counted as direct client contact. 

Supervision―the professional relationship between a 
supervisor and supervisee that promotes the development of 
responsibility, skill, knowledge, and ethical standards in the 
practice of marriage and family therapy. In addition to 
monitoring the student's supervised face-to-face therapy with 
individuals, couples, families, and/or groups from a 
systemic/relational perspective, the supervisor provides 
regular, face-to-face guidance and instruction. Supervision 
may include, without being limited to, the review of case 
presentations, audiotapes, videotapes, and direct observation. 
Supervision will be distinguishable from psychotherapy and 
teaching. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:155 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2784 
(December 2003), LR 35:1113 (June 2009), LR 37:1601 (June 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:2162 (July 2011), LR 41: 
§3305. General Licensing Requirements 

A. Each person desiring to obtain a license or provisional 
license as a practicing marriage and family therapist shall 
make application to the board upon such forms and 
completed in such manner as the board prescribes, 
accompanied by such fee prescribed. An applicant shall 
furnish evidence satisfactory to the board and the advisory 
committee that such person: 

1. …  
2. is not engaged or has not engaged in any practice or 

conduct that would be grounds for refusing to issue a license 
or provisional license; 

3. is qualified for licensure or provisional licensure 
pursuant to the requirements provided for in this Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:155 (February 2003), amended LR 37:1601 
(June 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2163 (July 2011), LR 41: 
§3309. Academic Requirements for MFT Licensure or 

Provisional Licensure 
A. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:156 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2785 
(December 2003), LR 35:1113 (June 2009), LR 37:1602 (June 
2011), repromulgated LR 37:2163 (July 2011), amended LR 
38:1965 (August 2012), LR 41: 
§3311. Coursework and Academic Supervision 

Requirements, for Options 2, 3, and 4 
A. - A.8. … 

9. Up to 220 of the required 500 hours of supervised 
direct client contact and 44 of the required 100 hours of 
face-to-face supervision not completed during a practicum 
and/or internship during the completion of the qualifying 
degree program or postgraduate training institute may be 
completed once an applicant is provisionally licensed as a 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist and is 
under the supervision of a LMFT board approved supervisor. 
These hours shall be added to the required 2000 hours of 
supervised direct client contact required for licensure. 

B. - B.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37:1602 (June 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2163 
(July 2011), amended LR 38:1966 (August 2012), LR 41: 
§3315. Application, Practice, and Renewal 

Requirements for Provisional Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapists 

A. General Provisions 
1. Pursuant to Act 484 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 

Session and effective May 1, 2015, an individual previously 
registered as a MFT intern with the Louisiana Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners and under 
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active board-approved supervision will be issued a 
provisional license as a provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapists and subject to R.S. 37:1101-1123 and board 
rules herein. 

2. Any MFT intern who has surpassed their seven-
year registration period, with the exception of those granted 
an extension by the board, must reapply to the board as a 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist under 
current law and board rules in order to practice marriage and 
family therapy.  

3. MFT interns granted an extension beyond May 1st, 
2015 will be issued a provisional license. Such provisional 
license will become invalid upon expiration of the board 
granted extension. The individual must then apply under 
current law and board rules for provisional licensure as a 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist or for 
licensure as a licensed marriage and family therapist in order 
to practice marriage and family therapy. 

4. Persons who apply to the board for qualification as 
a provisional licensed marriage and family therapist must 
meet the specified degree requirements and must 
successfully complete a minimum of two years of post-
graduate clinical experience in marriage and family therapy 
as specified in Section 3315.C.1 under qualified supervision 
as determined by the advisory committee and approved by 
the board. Upon qualification, the provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist shall be considered an 
applicant in process for licensure as a LMFT. 

5. A member of the advisory committee who has 
functioned as a board-approved supervisor for a person 
making application for licensure as a LMFT or certification 
as a board-approved supervisor shall not participate in 
deliberations in regard to or vote on the approval of said 
applicant. 

6. A provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist must provide updates to the board and board-
approved supervisor regarding changes in status on forms 
provided by the board within 30 days of said change. Failure 
to comply may result in a fine, loss of supervised experience 
hours, and/or disciplinary action. Changes in status include 
changes in: 

a. relevant personal information, including contact 
information, physical address, name; 

b. relevant practice setting information, including 
job title/duties, employment status;  

c. status with the justice system, including 
notification of arrest, charges, convictions, 

d. status with another licensure/credentialing body, 
including notification of suspension, revocation, or other 
disciplinary proceedings/actions. 

e. the use of any narcotics, controlled substances, or 
any alcoholic beverages in a manner that is dangerous to the 
public or in a manner that impairs the supervisee’s ability to 
provide mental health services to the public. 

f. any medical condition which may in any way 
impair or limit the supervisee’s ability to provide mental 
health services to the public with reasonable skill or safety. 

7. The supervisee must maintain documentation of all 
supervised experience hours by employment location and 
type of hour (indirect, direct, and face to face supervision). It 
is recommended that a supervisee obtain the signature of the 

board-approved supervisor indicating review and approval 
of documentation at regular intervals.  

B. Definitions for Supervision 
Consultation—a voluntary relationship between 

professionals of relatively equal expertise or status wherein 
the person being consulted offers advice or information on 
an individual case or problem for use by the person asking 
for assistance. The consultant has no functional authority or 
legal or professional responsibility for the consultee, the 
services performed by the consultee, or the welfare of the 
consultee’s client. Consultation is not supervision. 
Experience under contract for consultation will not be 
credited toward fulfillment of supervision requirements of 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapists or 
supervisor candidates. 

Co-Therapy Supervision―qualified supervision that 
takes place during a therapy session in which the LMFT 
board-approved supervisor acts as a co-therapist with the 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist. 

Direct Work Experience―psychotherapeutic services 
delivered face-to-face to individuals, couples, families, or 
groups in a setting and in a manner approved by the advisory 
committee as part of the supervisee’s plan of supervision. 

Group Supervision―qualified supervision of more than 
two and no more than six provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapists with one or more board-approved 
supervisors. Group supervision provides the opportunity for 
the supervisee to interact with other supervisees and offers a 
different learning experience than that obtained from 
individual supervision. 

* * * 
Live Supervision―individual and/or group supervision 

in which the supervisor directly observes the case while the 
therapy is being conducted and has the opportunity to 
provide supervisory input during the session. When a 
supervisor conducts live supervision the time is counted as 
individual supervision for up to two provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapists providing therapy in the room 
with the client(s) and for up to two provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapists observing the therapy and 
interacting with the supervisor. The time is counted as group 
supervision when more than two provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapists involved in direct client 
contact or more than two observers interacting with the 
supervisor are present, providing that there are no more than 
six provisional licensed marriage and family therapists 
involved. 

LMFT Board-Approved Supervisor―an individual who 
has made formal application for certification as an LMFT 
board-approved supervisor documenting that he or she has 
satisfactorily met the standards specified in the Rule for 
LMFT board-approved supervisors as determined by the 
advisory committee and has received a letter from the board 
certifying them as such. Under no circumstances may an 
LMFT board-approved supervisor be related to by birth or 
marriage, live in the same household with, be an employee 
of, or maintain any other relationship with the provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapist that may be 
considered a dual relationship which may impede the LMFT 
board-approved supervisor from effectively providing for 
the professional development of the supervisee and 
monitoring the ethical and professional quality of the 
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supervisee’s service delivery to clients. During the course of 
the supervisory process, The LMFT board-approved 
supervisor maintains an appropriate level of responsibility 
for the supervisee’s delivery of services and provides an 
accurate and true representation to the public of those 
services and the supervisor/supervisee relationship. A LMFT 
board-approved supervisor may use the initials LMFT-S for 
licensed marriage and family therapy supervisor after his or 
her name. Henceforth, the LMFT board-approved supervisor 
will be called the approved supervisor or the supervisor. 

* * * 
Qualified Supervision—supervision of the clinical 

services of a provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist by a board-approved supervisor or supervisor 
candidate for the purpose of qualifying the provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapist for licensure as a 
LMFT in Louisiana in accordance with the plan of 
supervision approved by the advisory committee. Under no 
circumstances shall any contact that is not face-to-face (such 
as interaction by conventional correspondence, telephone, e-
mail, instant message, video conference, etc.) between an 
LMFT board-approved supervisor or supervisor candidate 
and a provisional licensed marriage and family therapist be 
considered qualified supervision unless such contact is pre-
approved by the advisory committee as part of the 
supervisee’s plan of supervision.  

a. … 
b. Any didactic process wherein techniques or 

procedures are taught in a group setting, classroom, 
workshop, or seminar shall not normally be considered 
qualified supervision. If, however, the board-approved 
supervisor deems such experience as necessary to the 
supervisee’s successful completion of his or her post- 
graduate clinical supervised experience, such experience 
may be included in the supervisee’s plan of supervision. 
Approval of such experience as qualified supervision will be 
at the discretion of the advisory committee. 

c. … 
Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family 

Therapist―an individual who has made formal application 
for provisional licensure as a provisional licensed marriage 
and family therapist documenting that he or she has 
satisfactorily met the standards specified in the Rule for a 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist as 
determined by the advisory committee and who has received 
a letter from the board indicating their provisional licensure 
as such. A provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist may use the initials PLMFT after his or her name. 
Provisional licensed marriage and family therapists shall not 
identify or represent themselves by any other term or title, 
including “licensed”, “fully licensed”, “Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapist”, “LMFT”, or “therapist”. It is the 
responsibility of the provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapist to comply with this Rule and board policy in 
the provision of services to their clients during their 
postgraduate supervised clinical experience. It is also the 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist’s 
responsibility to offer reasonable compliance to the plan of 
supervision and to the directives and suggestions of their 
supervisor as they are consistent with law, ethics, statutes, 
and board policy. It is the primary responsibility of the 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist to ensure 

that he or she has a thorough, current knowledge of his or 
her legal, ethical, and professional responsibilities and that 
his or her behavior is in compliance with ethical and legal 
requirements. Henceforth, the provisional licensed marriage 
and family therapist will be called the PLMFT or in some 
instances the supervisee or licensee. 

Supervision―the professional relationship between a 
supervisor and supervisee that nurtures the professional self 
of the supervisee, promotes the development of the 
supervisee’s therapeutic knowledge and skill, contributes to 
the supervisee’s development of sound ethical judgment, and 
reasonably ensures that the therapeutic services delivered by 
the supervisee meet a minimum standard of clinical and 
ethical quality. The supervisor provides guidance and 
instruction that is of such quality, frequency, and regularity 
that the clinical and professional development of the 
supervisee is promoted and the supervisee’s service delivery 
is adequately monitored. Supervision involves the clinical 
review of the superviee’s work with clients that may utilize 
therapist self-report and review of clinical documentation, 
review of audiotapes or videotapes, or direct observation of 
live therapy sessions. 

Supervisee—a provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist under the active supervision of his/her board-
approved supervisor or board-approved supervisor 
candidate.  

The Plan of Supervision for PLMFTs―a written 
agreement between the board-approved supervisor and the 
PLMFT that establishes the supervisory framework for the 
postgraduate clinical experience of the supervisee and 
describes the expectations and responsibilities of the board-
approved supervisor and the PLMFT as a supervisee. It is 
the responsibility of the PLMFT to submit the plan of 
supervision to the advisory committee in a manner 
consistent with advisory committee policy. 

* * * 
C. PLMFT Supervision Requirements for Licensure 

1. A PLMFT must complete qualified postgraduate 
clinical experience under the supervision of a board-
approved supervisor or registered supervisor candidate that 
consists of work experience in marriage and family therapy 
and that includes at least 3,000 hours of clinical services to 
individuals, couples, families, or groups. An out-of-state 
applicant may transfer up to 2500 hours of supervised 
experience towards licensure (a maximum of 1600 direct 
client contact hours, a maximum of 815 indirect hours, and a 
maximum of 85 hours of face-to-face supervision). The 
aforementioned hours must have been accrued under the 
clinical supervision of an approved supervisor within their 
state who meets the qualifications of a supervisor of 
PLMFTs set forth by the advisory committee. The decision 
to approve transfer of hours and supervisors from out of 
state shall be made at the discretion of the advisory 
committee.  

a. - b. … 
c. The provisional licensee must apply and be 

approved for licensure within six years from date of 
approval as a provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapists. After six years, the licensee will forfeit all 
supervised experience hours accrued and must reapply for 
provisional licensure under current requirements and submit 
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recent continuing education hours (CEHs) as part of 
reapplication. 

d. Applicants for provisional licensure as PLMFTs 
shall not provide psychotherapeutic services to clients unless 
they have received an official letter from the board 
qualifying them to do so or unless some other qualifying 
mental health license allows them to deliver such services. 
To continue employment in a clinical setting post-
graduation, applicants who have graduated with qualifying 
degrees have 60 days from their date of graduation to apply 
for provisional licensure.  

2. The postgraduate clinical experience must include 
at least 200 hours of qualified supervision, of which at least 
100 hours must be individual supervision. The remaining 
100 hours may be group supervision. 

a. Up to 100 hours of face-to-face supervisor 
contact received during the completion of the applicant’s 
qualifying academic experience graduate program that is 
systemically oriented as determined by the advisory 
committee may be counted toward the required 200 hours of 
qualified supervision. Of these 100 hours, only 50 hours may 
be counted as individual supervision.  

3. The supervisee’s plan of supervision must reflect 
that the supervisee is receiving supervision in the application 
of systemically based approaches to therapy with all clients.  

4. The supervisee may begin accruing client- and 
supervisor-contact hours only after the supervisee has 
received an official letter of approval as a provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapist from the board. 

5. The supervisee will be granted a change of 
approved supervisors or an additional approved supervisor 
only upon payment of the fee as defined in Chapter 9 and 
upon the approval of appropriate documentation as 
determined by the advisory committee.  

a. In the event of a change or addition of 
supervisor(s), the supervisee must submit appropriate 
documentation for each proposed supervisor. Supervision 
with the new supervisor is not approved until the supervisee 
receives a letter from the board approving the new 
supervisor and plan of supervision.  

b. A change of supervisors or additional 
supervisor(s) will not be approved until all of the 
supervisee’s existing supervisor(s) have submitted a 
documentation of experience form for the supervisee in 
accordance with advisory committee policy. 

6. Final approval of the supervisee’s supervised work 
experience toward licensure shall be at the discretion of the 
advisory committee and only upon recommendation of the 
board-approved supervisor(s). 

7. - 7.e. … 
D. Renewal Requirements for Provisional Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapists 
1. A provisional licensed marriage and family therapist 

shall renew his/her provisional license every two years in the 
month of October by meeting the following requirements 
each renewal period: 

a. 20 clock hours of continuing education in 
accordance with 3315.E. 

b. Submit a renewal fee as prescribed in Chapter 9. 
c. Submit supervised experience hours accrued 

(direct, indirect, face to face supervision) since 

approval/renewal as a provisional licensed marriage and 
family therapist.  

d. Take the national marriage and family therapist 
examination as determined by the advisory committee and 
request the submission of a score report to the board by the 
testing agency until a passing score is achieved. If a passing 
score is not achieved, the national marriage and family 
therapist examination must be taken at least once per 
renewal period. At the discretion of the advisory committee, 
an oral examination may be required as well.  

e. Submit an updated statement of practice if there 
has been a change in the area of expertise, with the content 
being subject to board review and approval. The advisory 
committee, at its discretion, may require the licensee to 
present satisfactory evidence supporting any changes in area 
of expertise noted in the declaration statement. All other 
changes as defined in Chapter 33, Section 3315(A)6) should 
be submitted to the board within thirty days of said change.  

2. The board chair, upon recommendation of the 
advisory committee, shall issue a document renewing the 
provisional license for a term of two years. The provisional 
license of any licensee who fails to have his/her provisional 
license renewed every two years during the month of 
October shall lapse. An individual with a lapsed license may 
not practice mental health counseling, identify his/herself as 
a provisional licensed marriage and family therapist or 
accrue any supervised experience hours. A lapsed 
provisional license may be renewed within a period of ninety 
days or postmarked by January 31 upon payment of all fees 
and arrears and presentation of all required documentation. 
After ninety days, the licensee will forfeit all supervised 
experience hours accrued during that renewal period and 
must reapply for provisional licensure under current 
requirements and submit recent continuing education hours 
(CEHs) as part of reapplication.  

3. The provisional licensee must apply and be 
approved for licensure within six years from date of 
approval as a provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist. After six years, the licensee will forfeit all 
supervised experience hours accrued and must reapply for 
provisional licensure under current requirements and submit 
recent continuing education hours (CEHs) as part of 
reapplication. 

E. Continuing Education Requirements for Provisional 
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists 

1. A provisional licensee must accrue 20 clock hours 
of continuing education by every renewal period every two 
years. Of the 20 clock hours of continuing education, one 
and a half clock hours must be accrued in ethics specific to 
marriage and family therapy and one and a half clock hours 
must be accrued in diagnosis (assessment, diagnosis, and 
treatment under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) as published by 
the American Psychiatric Association on May 18th, 2013). 
The required training in diagnosis, assessment, and treatment 
under the DSM-5 may be specific to a particular condition 
and/or may be general training in diagnosis, assessment, and 
treatment. A generic ethics course is not acceptable.  

a. One continuing education hour (CEH) is 
equivalent to one clock hour. 

b. Accrual of continuing education begins only after 
the date the license was issued. 
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c. CEHs accrued beyond the required 20 hours may 
not be applied toward the next renewal period. A provisional 
licensee renewal period runs November 1 to October 31, 
every two years. 

d. The licensee is responsible for keeping a personal 
record of his/her CEHs until official notification of renewal 
is received. Licensees should not forward documentation of 
CEHs to the board office as they are accrued. 

e. At the time of renewal, 10 percent of the 
licensees will be audited to ensure that the continuing 
education requirement is being met. Audited licensees will 
be notified to submit documentation of CEHs. 

f. Those provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapists who hold another license that requires CEHs may 
count the CEHs obtained for that license toward their 
PLMFT continuing education hour requirements. Of the 20 
CEHs submitted, however, 10 hours must be in the area of 
marriage and family therapy with an emphasis upon 
systemic approaches or the theory, research, or practice of 
systemic psychotherapeutic work with couples or families 
including one and a half clock hours of ethics specific to 
marriage and family therapy and one and a half clock hours 
specific to diagnosis. 

2. Approved Continuing Education for Provisional 
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists  

a. Continuing education requirements are meant to 
encourage personal and professional development 
throughout the licensee’s career. For this reason, a wide 
range of options are offered to accommodate the diversity of 
licensees' training, experience, and geographic locations. 

b. A licensee may obtain the 20 CEHs through one 
or more of the options listed below. A maximum of 10 CEHs 
may be obtained through an online format, with the 
exception of coursework obtained through a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education. 
 i. The advisory committee will accept workshops 
and presentations approved by the American Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) and its regional or 
state divisions including the Louisiana Association for 
Marriage and Family Therapy (LAMFT). Contact them 
directly to find out which organizations, groups, or 
individuals are approved providers graduate coursework 
either taken for credit or audit must be from a regionally 
accredited college or university and in the areas of marriage 
and family therapy described in §3315.E.4. 
 ii. Licensees may receive one clock hour of 
continuing education for each hour of direct participation in 
a structured educational format as a learner (either for credit 
or audit). Credit cannot be given to persons who leave early 
from an approved session or to persons who do not 
successfully complete graduate coursework. 
 iii. Continuing education taken from 
organizations, groups, or individuals not holding provider 
status by one of the associations listed in Clause i will be 
subject to approval by the advisory committee at the time of 
renewal. 

(a). The advisory committee will not pre-approve 
any type of continuing education. 

(b). The continuing education must be in one of 
the seven approved content areas listed in §3315.E.4 and 
given by a qualified presenter. 

(c). A qualified presenter is someone deemed by 
the advisory committee to be a professional in marriage and 
family therapy, another mental health profession, or another 
profession with information, knowledge, and skills relevant 
to the practice of marriage and family therapy. 

(d). One may receive one clock hour of 
continuing education for each hour of direct participation in 
a structured educational format as a learner. 

(e). Credit cannot be granted for 
business/governance meetings; breaks; and social activities 
including meal functions, except for the actual time of an 
educational content speaker. 

(f). Credit may not be given for marketing the 
business aspects of one's practice, time management, 
supervisory sessions, staff orientation, agency activities that 
address procedural issues, personal therapy, or other 
methods not structured on sound educational principles or 
for content contrary to the LMFT Code of Ethics (Chapter 
43). 

c. Optional Ways to Obtain Continuing Education 
(10 Hours Maximum) 

i. Licensees may receive one clock hour of 
continuing education for each hour of direct work in: 
 (a). teaching a marriage and family therapy course 
(10 hours maximum) in an area as described in §3315.E.4. in 
an institution accredited by a regional accrediting 
association. Continuing education hours may be earned only 
for the first time the individual teaches the course, or 
 (b). authoring, editing, or reviewing professional 
manuscripts or presentations (10 hours maximum) in an area 
of marriage and family therapy as described in §3315.E.4. 
Articles must be published in a professional refereed journal. 
 ii. Presentations at workshops, seminars, 
symposia, and meetings in an area of marriage and family 
therapy as described in §3315.E.4 may count for up to 10 
hours maximum at a rate of two clock hours per one-hour 
presentation. Presenters must meet the qualifications stated 
in §3315.E.2.b.iii.(c). The presentation must be to the 
professional community, not to the lay public or a classroom 
presentation. 

3. Continuing education hours must be relevant to the 
practice of marriage and family therapy and generally evolve 
from the following seven areas. 

a. Theoretical Knowledge of Marriage and Family 
Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall contain such 
content as the historical development, theoretical and 
empirical foundations, and contemporary conceptual 
directions of the field of marriage and family therapy and 
will be related conceptually to clinical concerns. 

b. Clinical Knowledge of Marriage and Family 
Therapy: Continuing education in this area shall contain 
such content as: 
 i. couple and family therapy practice and be 
related conceptually to theory; 
 ii. contemporary issues, which include but are not 
limited to gender, violence, addictions, and abuse, in the 
treatment of individuals, couples, and families from a 
relational/systemic perspective; 
 iii. a wide variety of presenting clinical problems; 
 iv. issues of gender and sexual functioning, sexual 
orientation, and sex therapy as they relate to couple, 
marriage and family therapy theory and practice; 
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 v. diversity and discrimination as it relates to 
couple and family therapy theory and practice. 

c. Assessment and Treatment in Marriage and 
Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall 
contain such content from a relational/systemic perspective 
as psychopharmacology, physical health and illness, 
traditional psychodiagnostic categories, and the assessment 
and treatment of major mental health issues. 

d. Individual, Couple, and Family Development. 
Continuing education in this area shall contain such content 
as individual, couple, and family development across the 
lifespan. 

e. Professional Identity and Ethics in Marriage and 
Family Therapy. Continuing education in this area shall 
contain such content as: 
 i. professional identity, including professional 
socialization, scope of practice, professional organizations, 
licensure and certification; 
 ii. ethical issues related to the profession of 
marriage and family therapy and the practice of individual, 
couple and family therapy. Generic education in ethics does 
not meet this standard; 
 iii. the AAMFT Code of Ethics, confidentiality 
issues, the legal responsibilities and liabilities of clinical 
practice and research, family law, record keeping, 
reimbursement, and the business aspects of practice; 
 iv. the interface between therapist responsibility 
and the professional, social, and political context of 
treatment. 

f. Research in Marriage and Family Therapy. 
Continuing education in this area shall include significant 
material on research in couple and family therapy; focus on 
content such as research methodology, data analysis and the 
evaluation of research, and include quantitative and 
qualitative research. 

g. Supervision in Marriage and Family Therapy: 
Continuing education in this area include studies in theory 
and techniques of supervision as well as ethical and legal 
issues, case management, and topics relative to the specific 
supervised training. 

F. Types of documentation needed for continuing 
education audit: 

1. copy of certificate of attendance for workshops, 
seminars, or conventions; 

2. copy of transcript for coursework taken for 
credit/audit; 

3. letter from workshop/convention coordinator 
verifying presentation; 

4. copy of article plus the table of contents of the 
journal it appears in, copy of chapter plus table of contents 
for chapter authored for books, title page and table of 
contents for authoring or editing books, letter from 
conference coordinator or journal editor for reviewing 
refereed workshop presentations or journal articles. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:158 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2787 
(December 2003), LR 35:1114 (June 2009), LR 38:1966 (August 
2012), LR 39:1806 (July 2013), LR 41: 

§3317. Qualifications of the LMFT-Approved 
Supervisor, LMFT-Registered Supervisor 
Candidate, Board-Approved Supervisor, and 
Registered Supervisor Candidate  

A. Qualifications of an LMFT-Approved Supervisor and 
a LMFT-Registered Supervisor Candidate 

1. Supervision not provided by an LMFT-approved 
supervisor or an LMFT-registered supervisor candidate as 
determined by the advisory committee will not be counted 
toward licensure. 

2. A supervisor may not have more than a combined 
total of 10 supervisees, including PLMFTs and licensees in 
other disciplines and/or registered supervisor candidates at 
the same time. 

3. A person who wishes to become an LMFT-
approved supervisor must be a licensed marriage and family 
therapist and must submit a completed application that 
documents that he or she meets the requirements. in one of 
two ways. 

a. The applicant may meet the requirements by 
meeting the following coursework, experience, and 
supervision of supervision requirements. 
 i. Coursework requirements: 

(a). a one-semester graduate course in marriage 
and family therapy supervision from a regionally accredited 
institution; or 

(b). an equivalent course of study consisting of a 
15-hour didactic component and a 15-hour interactive 
component in the study of marriage and family therapy 
supervision approved by the advisory committee. The 
interactive component must include a minimum of four 
persons. 
 ii. Experience requirements: 

(a). has a minimum of two years experience as a 
licensed marriage and family therapist. 
 iii. Supervision of Supervision requirements: 

(a). Thirty-six hours of supervision of 
supervision for marriage and family therapy must be taken 
from an LMFT-approved supervisor. 

b. Designation as an AAMFT approved supervisor 
qualifies a person to become an LMFT approved supervisor. 
Documentation must be submitted and recommended by the 
advisory committee for board approval. 

4. LMFT-registered Supervisor Candidate 
a. A person who wishes to become an LMFT- 

registered supervisor candidate must submit an application 
provided by the board upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee that: 
 i. includes documentation of a minimum of two 
years of experience as a licensed marriage and family 
therapist; 
 ii. either documents that he or she has met the 
coursework and interactional requirement specified in 
Clause D.3.a.i. or proposes how this requirement shall be 
met; 
 iii. includes the name of the LMFT-approved 
supervisor who will be supervising his or her supervision of 
PLMFTs and the approximate dates such supervision will 
begin and end. 
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b. The advisory committee will review the 
application and inform the individual in writing that the 
proposed supervision of supervision arrangement either has 
been approved or rejected. Any rejection letter will outline 
the reasons for rejection. 

c. An advisory committee member cannot 
participate in deliberations or votes on any applicant who 
has been supervised by that advisory committee member. 

d. Upon completion of the required hours of 
supervision of supervision, the registered supervisor 
candidate must submit an application to become an LMFT 
approved supervisor. 

B. Qualification of the Board-Approved Supervisor and 
Registered Supervisor Candidate 

1. The board, upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee, shall grant those persons that make formal 
application and satisfactorily meet all the requirements of 
this Rule the position of board-approved supervisor or 
registered supervisor candidate. 

2. The applicant for certification as a board-approved 
supervisor or registration as a supervisor candidate shall 
have maintained an active license in good standing as a 
LMFT for a minimum of two years.  

3. The applicant who has an unresolved or outstanding 
complaint or who is under a consent order or participating in 
a plan of discipline as a mental health professional must 
indicate this on his or her formal application and shall be 
granted board-approved supervisor or supervisor candidate’s 
status only at the discretion of the advisory committee. 

C. Requirements for Certification as a Board-Approved 
Supervisor 

1. Applicants for certification as a LMFT board-
approved supervisor must make formal application to the 
board in accordance with advisory committee policy 
demonstrating that he or she has satisfactorily met the 
following requirements. 

a. Experience Requirements. While maintaining a 
license in good standing as a LMFT, the applicant must have 
completed a minimum of two years of professional 
experience as a marriage and family therapist working with 
individuals, couples, families or groups from a systemic 
perspective or working as an academic clinical supervisor 
utilizing a systemic orientation as determined by the 
advisory committee. 

b. Coursework Requirements. The applicant must 
have completed: 
 i. a one-semester graduate course in marriage and 
family therapy supervision from a regionally accredited 
institution; or 
 ii. an equivalent course of study consisting of a 
15-hour didactic component and a 15-hour interactive 
component in the study of marriage and family therapy 
supervision approved by the advisory committee. The 
interactive component must include a minimum of four 
persons. 

c. Supervision-of-Supervision Requirements. The 
applicant must have completed 36 hours of supervision-of-
supervision of marriage and family therapy with the 
oversight of a designated board-approved supervisor as 
determined by the advisory committee. Registered 
supervisor candidates may not qualify to provide 

supervision-of-supervision to other registered supervisor 
candidates. 

d. The applicant for the position of LMFT board-
approved supervisor who is not registered as a supervisor 
candidate may not begin qualified supervision of PLMFTs 
until receipt of an official approval letter from the board as a 
LMFT board-approved supervisor. 

2. Applicants for certification as a board-approved 
supervisor must submit with their application for 
certification a nonrefundable application fee of $100. 

3. Designation as an AAMFT board-approved 
supervisor may qualify a person to become an LMFT board-
approved supervisor. AAMFT supervisors must make 
application to the board in accordance with advisory 
committee policy in order to certify as board-approved 
supervisors. AAMFT supervisors who have not certified to 
be LAMFT board-approved supervisors shall not supervise 
PLMFTs. Supervision provided by an AAMFT supervisor 
who has not received certification from the board qualifying 
them as a LMFT board-approved supervisor shall not count 
toward licensure. 

4. The board-approved supervisor shall attend a 
LMFT board-approved supervisor’s orientation approved by 
the advisory committee within one year of the board-
approved supervisor’s date of certification. This orientation 
may also be counted as continuing education toward the 
board-approved supervisor’s licensure renewal as a marriage 
and family therapist. 

a. Board-approved supervisors who fail to meet this 
requirement within one year of their initial certification as 
board-approved supervisors will not be approved for new 
supervisees until the requirement is met. Failure to meet this 
requirement within two years of the date of approval may 
result in the suspension of approved supervisor status.  

b. This requirement may be met during the 
supervisor candidate’s supervision-of-supervision. If the 
candidate elects to do so, the orientation hours may count 
toward the continuing education requirements for renewal of 
his or her LMFT license.  

D. Requirements for Registration as a Registered 
Supervisor Candidate 

1. The applicant for registration as a LMFT registered 
supervisor candidate must submit to the board a formal 
application and a plan of supervision-of-supervision in 
accordance with advisory committee policy. 

a. The registered supervisor candidate’s 
supervision-of-supervision must include: 
 i. a minimum of two MFT students or PLMFTs 
supervised for a minimum of nine months each; 
 ii. at least 90 hours of supervision of approved 
supervisees. These 90 hours of supervision must be 
completed in no less than one year and no more three years 
with the oversight of his or her designated board-approved 
supervisor. 
 b. The applicant for registration as a LMFT 
registered supervisor candidate shall not supervise PLMFTs 
or begin accruing supervisor or supervisee contact hours 
toward his or her certification as a board-approved 
supervisor until he or she has received an official letter from 
the board approving his or her registration as a supervisor 
candidate. 
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2. The registered supervisor candidate who has 
successfully completed his or her plan of supervision-of-
supervision must make formal application in accordance 
with advisory committee policy to be considered for 
certification as a board-approved supervisor. 

3. Final approval of the approved supervisor 
candidate’s supervised work experience toward certification 
as an approved supervisor shall be at the discretion of the 
advisory committee and only upon recommendation of the 
candidate’s board-approved supervisor(s). 

E. Renewal of Certification as a Board-Approved 
Supervisor 

1. The board-approved supervisor shall renew his or 
her board certification to supervise PLMFTs every four 
years. Supervisors will receive a renewal announcement 
from the board providing them with their required renewal 
date and will receive a renewal notice every four years 
thereafter. 

2. To qualify for renewal, board-approved supervisors 
must: 

a. maintain an active LMFT license in good 
standing as defined by this Rule. Applicants for renewal of 
their board-approved supervisory status that are under a 
consent order as a licensee may be renewed only at the 
discretion of the advisory committee. 

b. complete six clock hours of continuing education 
in clinical MFT supervision prior to each renewal date for 
current renewal period. These continuing education hours 
may also count toward the board-approved supervisor’s 
renewal requirements for licensure as a LMFT; 
 i. continuing education for board-approved 
supervisors must be specifically relevant to the renewal 
candidate’s role as clinical supervisor of PLMFTs as 
determined by the advisory committee. The content of 
workshops and seminars that qualify for continuing 
education credit for renewal candidates may be in theories 
and techniques of MFT supervision as well as ethical and 
legal issues related to MFT supervision, case management, 
or topics relative to a specific supervised setting; 

ii. requirements otherwise applicable to continuing 
education hours for board-approved supervisors are the same 
as continuing education hours required for maintenance of 
the supervisor’s LMFT license as defined in these rules; 

c. successfully complete the board-approved 
orientation workshop for supervisors. The orientation shall 
not count toward the required six hours of required 
continuing education for board-approved supervisors; 

d. submit a completed board-approved supervisor 
renewal application along with any updates to the 
supervisor’s statement of practice in accordance with 
advisory committee policy; 

e. remit a renewal fee of $100. 
3. After the renewal candidate has successfully 

completed the above requirements, the board upon 
recommendation of the advisory committee shall issue a 
document renewing the supervisor’s board certification for a 
term of four years. 

a. The board approval of any board-approved 
supervisor who fails to meet renewal requirements shall 
lapse; however, the failure to renew said approval shall not 
deprive said supervisor the right of renewal thereafter.  

b. Board-approved supervisors who do not renew 
their board-approved supervisor’s status will not be 
approved for new PLMFTs until the board-approved 
supervisor has renewed his or her supervisory approval or 
has successfully reapplied for board-approved supervisor 
status.  

c. A board-approved supervisor who has allowed 
his or her board-approved supervisor status to lapse may 
renew within a period of two years after the lapsed renewal 
date upon payment of all fees in arrears and presentation of 
evidence of completion of the continuing education and 
orientation requirements.  

d. Upon late renewal or reapplication, the board-
approved supervisor’s four-year renewal cycle will begin on 
his or her nearest licensure renewal date to the supervisor’s 
renewal/reapproval. 

e. Application for renewal after two years from the 
date of supervisor status lapse will not be considered for 
renewal. Applicants whose supervisor status has lapsed for 
two years or more must re-apply for certification as a board-
approved supervisor under current requirements. 

f. Failure to renew or reapply for board approved 
supervisory status does not necessarily impact the 
supervisor’s right or ability to renew or reapply as a LMFT. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
§3319. Responsibilities of the Provisional Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapist  
A. General Responsibilities 

1. The PLMFT is responsible to be thoroughly aware 
of his or her legal, ethical, and professional responsibilities 
as a supervisee and to maintain a level of care for clients that 
meets the standards for licensed marriage and family 
therapists as described in this Rule. 

2. The PLMFT is responsible to meet with the board-
approved supervisor(s) for qualified supervision in the 
manner prescribed in the plan of supervision. The PLMFT 
must receive active supervision as defined in §3105. 

3. The PLMFT is responsible to collaborate with his 
or her approved supervisor(s) in order to develop and submit 
to the advisory committee a plan of supervision as defined in 
Section 3315.B. 

4. It is the responsibility of the supervisee to 
immediately report to the approved supervisor(s), the 
supervisee’s employer or contractor, and the board any 
changes in the supervisee’s status (loss of employment, 
change of job status, serious illness, legal difficulty, etc.) that 
significantly affect the supervisee’s continued qualification 
as a PLMFT, due qualification as a LMFT, ability to meet 
the terms of the plan of supervision, or ability to provide the 
standard of care to clients as defined in this Rule.  

a. The supervisee shall report to the approved 
supervisor(s) and the board within thirty days any change in 
status that would affect the ability of the supervisor or the 
board to contact the supervisee, such as changes in postal 
address, telephone number, or e-mail address. 

b. As the board-approved supervisor has 
knowledge, he or she shall ensure that the supervisee reports 
such changes in status to the board in accordance with 
advisory committee policy. 
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c. The supervisee is responsible to collaborate with 
his supervisor(s) over the course of his or her postgraduate 
clinical experience to develop, maintain, and fulfill a plan of 
supervision that meets the developmental needs of the 
supervisee, provides for an appropriate level of professional 
care for the supervisee’s clients, allows for the adequate 
monitoring of the supervisee’s practice by the board-
approved supervisor(s) or supervisor candidate, and allows 
for the supervisee’s timely qualification as a LMFT. 

d. It is the responsibility of the supervisee to submit 
amendments to the plan of supervision to the advisory 
committee within thirty days for approval in accordance 
with advisory committee policy. 

5. The PLMFT is responsible to meet with the 
approved supervisor(s) with a regularity, frequency, and 
manner prescribed by the board-approved plan of 
supervision.  

a. The supervisee shall inform the board in writing 
within 30 days in accordance with advisory committee 
policy in the event that the supervisee’s supervisor becomes 
unwilling or unable to fulfill his or her responsibility to the 
supervisee as defined in the board-approved plan of 
supervision. 

b. In the event that an approved supervisor becomes 
unwilling or unable for any reason to fulfill the duties as a 
qualified supervisor, the advisory committee shall assist this 
supervisor's supervisees according to advisory committee 
policy in acquiring interim supervision until a suitable 
board-approved supervisor can be located in order to 
preserve continuity of care for the supervisee’s clients. 

c. Should an interim supervisor not be located in a 
timely manner as determined by the advisory committee, the 
supervisee must suspend services to clients until such time 
as a new supervisor can be located. In such circumstances it 
is the responsibility of the supervisee to work with his 
administrative supervisor to see that his clients are 
appropriately referred.  

6. The supervisee is responsible to be thoroughly 
aware of the terms of his or her employment as an employee 
or private contractor as well as the administrative policies 
and procedures of his employer and/or administrative 
supervisor. 

a. In the event that the standard of professional 
behavior and/or client care provided by the supervisee’s 
employer or administrative supervisor exceeds that of the 
minimum standards in this Rule, the supervisee should to the 
best of his ability adhere to the higher standard. 

b. In the event that a conflict between the policies, 
procedures, or directives of the supervisee’s employer or 
administrative supervisor impedes the ability of the 
supervisee to comply with the directives of the supervisee’s 
board-approved supervisor(s), the terms of the supervisee’s 
plan of supervision, or the standard of professional behavior 
described in this Rule, the supervisee shall inform his or her 
approved supervisor(s) immediately. 

7. The supervisee may not have ownership of all or 
part of any mental health counseling practice or accept any 
direct fee for service from therapy clients. The supervisee 
may receive a wage for services rendered as an employee or 
as a private contractor. Should the supervisee receive 
monetary compensation as a private contractor for services 
for which his status as a supervisee qualifies him, the 

contractual agreement under which the supervisee receives 
compensation must specify a person who functions in the 
workplace as an administrative on-site supervisor for the 
supervisee in his delivery of services under the contract.  

B. Specific Responsibilities of the PLMFT to the 
Approved Supervisor. It is the responsibility of the PLMFT 
to: 

1. follow to the best of the supervisee’s ability the 
clinical suggestions and directives of the supervisor as the 
supervisor’s suggestions and directives are consistent with 
the ethical, legal, and professional standards provided in this 
Rule as determined by the advisory committee; 

2. provide the supervisor with adequate information 
about his or her clinical work with clients such that the 
supervisor can monitor the supervisee’s clinical practice and 
assist the supervisee in maintaining an appropriate standard 
of care for all clients. The supervisee shall provide his 
supervisor(s) with reasonable access to all written or 
electronic documentation that relates to the supervisee’s 
provision of therapeutic services to his clients; 

a. The supervisee shall inform the supervisor(s) 
immediately in the event that the supervisee believes that a 
client has committed or is a risk for suicide, homicide, or 
any other seriously harmful behavior to self or others or is 
the perpetrator of abuse to a minor, elderly, or disabled 
person. 

b. The supervisee’s reporting such information as 
described in Subparagraph B.2.a of this Section to the 
supervisor is not a substitute for the supervisee’s preeminent 
obligation to report directly to appropriate authorities in 
circumstances in which the law or ethics requires the 
mandatory reporting of suspected abuse or imminent 
personal risk. 

3. earnestly endeavor to resolve with the supervisee’s 
supervisor(s) any personal or professional conflict that may 
hinder the supervisee in collaborating with supervisor(s) in 
the provision of an appropriate standard of care to clients, 
successfully completing the terms of the plan of supervision, 
or successfully qualifying for licensure as a LMFT; 

a. In the event that such conflict cannot be resolved 
in a timely manner, the supervisee shall request assistance in 
writing from the advisory committee in accordance with 
advisory committee policy. 

b. The supervisee will accept as final any plan to 
resolve such conflict upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee as approved by the board. 

4. in the event of multiple supervisors, the supervisee 
will immediately inform the supervisor(s) if the clinical 
directives or ethical guidance of one supervisor seem to 
significantly conflict with another such that the supervisee is 
impeded in providing an appropriate level of client care. In 
the event that such conflict cannot be resolved in a timely 
manner, the supervisee or the supervisor(s) may request 
assistance in writing from the advisory committee in 
accordance with advisory committee policy. 

C. Revocation, Suspension, or Limitation of the Terms of 
the Provisional Licensure of the PLMFT.  

1. The board upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee may withhold, deny, revoke, suspend or 
otherwise limit the terms of the provisional licensure of a 
PLMFT on a finding that the PLMFT has violated any of the 
rules, regulations, or ethical standards for licensed or 
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provisionally licensed marriage and family therapists as 
pertains to the supervision of PLMFTs contained in this Rule 
or prior final decisions and/or consent orders involving the 
PLMFT. 

2. The advisory committee shall provide due notice to 
the supervisee’s designated approved supervisor(s) of any 
change or potential change in the supervisee’s qualification 
as a PLMFT in accordance with advisory committee policy. 

3. The approved supervisor(s) of a supervisee whose 
provisional licensure as a PLMFT has been revoked, 
suspended, or otherwise limited shall immediately inform 
his administrative or site supervisor(s) of the supervisee’s of 
change in status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 38:1970 (August 2012), LR 41: 
§3321. Responsibilities of the LMFT Board-Approved 

Supervisor and Registered Supervisor 
Candidate 

A. General Responsibilities 
1. It is the primary function of supervisors in their 

relationships with their supervisees to protect the welfare of 
the public in every circumstance. Supervisors work with the 
board and their supervisee to protect the right of every client 
to ethical, professional treatment. Henceforth, any portion of 
the Rule that applies to board-approved supervisors will also 
be considered to apply to supervisor candidates except 
where specifically noted. 

a. The supervisor shall maintain a current 
knowledge of and represent accurately to supervisees and to 
the public the process of qualification of PLMFTs for 
licensure. 

b. The supervisor shall manage all information 
pertaining to the clients of the supervisee with the same level 
of confidentiality mandated in this Rule for licensed 
marriage and family therapists as in their interaction with 
their own clients. 

c. The supervisor shall, to the best of his ability and 
knowledge, address in an accurate, timely fashion any 
reasonable question or concern directed to the supervisor by 
clients of the supervisee about the professional status of the 
supervisee or the quality of care being provided to the client 
by the supervisee. 

d. In the event that the client of an supervisee 
makes a complaint or provides information to the supervisor 
that the supervisee may have committed a breach of the 
minimum standards of client care provided in this Rule 
resulting in harm or potential harm to the client, it is the 
responsibility of the supervisor to provide corrective 
feedback to the supervisee, warn the client of potential risk, 
and report the actions of the supervisee to the board in 
accordance with advisory committee policy. 

2. A supervisor may not have more than a combined 
total of 10 supervisees, including PLMFTs and supervisees 
in other disciplines and/or registered supervisor candidates. 

3. The supervisor is responsible for assisting the 
supervisee in developing and maintaining the plan of 
supervision and monitoring the timely submission of 
appropriate documentation to the board on behalf of the 
supervisee. 

4. The supervisor shall provide qualified supervision 
to the supervisee until the supervisor has received official 
notice from the board that the supervisee is licensed as a 
LMFT, been officially assigned by the board to another 
supervisor, or has otherwise lost or forfeited qualification as 
a PLMFT. Nonpayment of the supervisor’s fees by the 
supervisee is not grounds for the suspension by the 
supervisor of supervisory meetings with the supervisee as 
specified by the board-approved plan of supervision. 

5. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to 
immediately report to the board and his/her designated 
supervisees in accordance with advisory committee policy 
any changes in his status (loss of employment, serious 
illness, legal problems, etc.) that may significantly affect 
his/her certification as an approved supervisor or supervisor 
candidate or his/her ability as an approved supervisor to 
fulfill his/her duties as described in this Rule or in the plan 
of supervision/plan of supervision-of-supervision. The 
supervisor shall within thirty days also report to the board 
any change in status that may affect the ability of the board 
to contact him or her (change of address, telephone number, 
e-mail address, etc.). 

6. As he/she has knowledge, the supervisor shall 
ensure that the supervisee reports such changes in status to 
the board in accordance with advisory committee policy that 
would affect the ability of the supervisor or the board to 
contact the supervisee, such as changes in postal address, 
telephone number, or e-mail address. 

7. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to supervise 
supervisees within his or her scope of practice. The 
supervisor shall not present himself as providing supervision 
in any particular therapeutic approach, technique, or 
theoretical orientation in which the supervisor has not been 
thoroughly trained and had adequate experience to provide 
competent supervision as determined by the advisory 
committee. 

8. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to observe 
the practice of the supervisee through clinical case review, 
real-time observation of the supervisee’s sessions, or by 
reviewing session video- or audio-tapes such that the 
supervisor is sufficiently able to monitor the practice of the 
supervisee and guide the supervisee in maintaining the 
minimum standard of care for his clients defined in this Rule 
and the plan of supervision. 

a. The supervisor shall ensure that the regularity, 
duration, and quality of supervision sessions are adequate to 
provide continuity, support, and nurturance to the supervisee 
and to monitor the professional quality of the supervisee’s 
service provision to clients. 

b. The supervisor shall provide timely, accurate 
feedback to the supervisee, the supervisee’s other 
supervisors, and the advisory committee in accordance with 
advisory committee policy in regard to the professional 
developmental of the supervisee, his or her progress in 
completing the plan of supervision, or any other information 
that relates to the supervisee’s ability to provide adequate 
care to clients.  

c. When a supervisor receives information that 
suggests that the behavior of a supervisee may present a 
clear and significant threat to the welfare of a client, it is the 
responsibility of the supervisor to immediately provide 
corrective feedback to the supervisee.  
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d. In the event of Subparagraph A.8.c of this 
Section and if the supervisor determines that the supervisee 
has failed to respond appropriately by acting to protect the 
welfare of the client, it is the responsibility of the supervisor 
to immediately report the behavior of the supervisee to the 
board according to advisory committee policy and 
immediately inform the client of the potential risk. The 
supervisor should use his clinical judgment in such matters, 
balancing his or her roles as mentor to the supervisee and 
protector of the public with protection of the public 
preeminent.  

9. The supervisor shall keep true, accurate, and 
complete records in accordance with advisory committee 
policy of his or her interactions with supervisees and their 
clients and respond within 30 days to any request by the 
board to audit records pertaining to the supervision of 
supervisees.  

10. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to 
recommend for licensure as a LMFT those and only those 
PLMFTs that to the best of his or her knowledge have 
completed the requirements for licensure contained in this 
statute, satisfactorily fulfilled the terms of the board-
approved plan of supervision, and have otherwise 
demonstrated a satisfactory level of competence in 
delivering professional services to their clients during the 
course of their postgraduate clinical experience.  

11. … 
B. Specific Responsibilities of the Supervisor to the 

PLMFT. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to: 
1. review with the supervisee a copy of the 

supervisor’s board-approved statement of practice, provide a 
copy of this statement to the supervisee, and file a copy of 
this statement with the board in accordance with advisory 
committee policy; 

2. provide guidance and training to the supervisee in 
the ethical and competent delivery of psychotherapeutic 
services in a manner that leads the supervisee toward 
qualification as a LMFT. This includes but is not limited to 
guidance and training in diagnosis and treatment of 
emotional, mental, behavioral, and addictive disorders, 
problem assessment, treatment plan development, 
application of therapeutic knowledge, joining skills, 
technique selection, intervention skills/outcome assessment, 
application of ethical and legal principles, case 
documentation and reporting, case management, and 
consultation protocol; 

3. provide a respectful and confidential learning 
environment for the supervisee that promotes the 
supervisee’s professional development as a LMFT, 
encourages the supervisee’s successful completion of the 
plan of supervision, and provides a controlled space for 
supervision sessions where the supervisee may discuss 
confidential case material without the risk of violating client 
confidentiality; 

4. oversee the formulation of the supervisee’s plan of 
supervision in accordance with advisory committee policy 
that provides reasonable access for the supervisee to the 
board-approved supervisor and the supervision process, 
meets the developmental needs of the supervisee, and 
affords the supervisor adequate contact with the supervisee 
to appropriately monitor the quality of the supervisee’s 
service delivery to clients; 

a. The supervisee or the supervisor may request to 
amend the plan of supervision during the course of post- 
graduate clinical experience. Changes to the plan of 
supervision should be the result of collaboration between the 
supervisee and the board-approved supervisor; 

b. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to 
oversee the supervisee’s submission of amendments to the 
plan of supervision to the advisory committee within thirty 
days for approval in accordance with advisory committee 
policy. 

5. assist the supervisee in finding a suitable resolution 
in the event that the policies of the supervisee’s employer or 
contractor impede the supervisee in providing a level of care 
to clients that meets the standards provided by board policy 
or this Rule. The supervisor should make reasonable effort to 
assist the supervisee in resolving such conflicts in a manner 
that if possible allows the supervisee to maintain his or her 
employment, comply fully with responsibilities as described 
in this statute, and complete the plan of supervision 
successfully; 

6. assist the supervisee in identifying personal and 
professional strengths and weaknesses that affect the 
supervisee’s development as a family therapist and provide 
regular, meaningful feedback in accordance with advisory 
committee policy that will help the supervisee reinforce his 
strengths while improving his weaknesses; 

7. avoid any dual relationship that could result in 
exploitation of the supervisee, compromise the supervisor’s 
ability to prioritize the welfare of the supervisee’s clients, or 
hinder the supervisor in providing objective feedback to the 
board or the supervisee’s about his progress toward 
qualification as a LMFT; 

a. in the event that the supervisor also has 
administrative responsibility for the supervisee in an agency 
or business, it is the responsibility of the supervisor to 
prioritize the welfare of the supervisee’s clients and the 
developmental needs of the supervisee over the needs of the 
supervisor’s employing organization; 

b. the supervisor should not employ the supervisee 
in his or her business as an employee or as a private 
contractor. In the event that such employment is necessary to 
the supervisee’s ability to qualify as a PLMFT, special 
permission for such employment may be granted at the 
discretion of the advisory committee; 

c. if the PLMFT is employed by or contracts with 
the supervisor in his business or private practice to provide 
services for which his status as PLMFT qualifies him, the 
supervisor must not profit monetarily from the services of 
the supervisee beyond the supervisor’s reasonable and 
customary fee for supervision as reflected in the board-
approved supervisor’s statement of practice and as defined in 
the supervisee’s board-approved plan of supervision; 

d. the supervisor shall not maintain any social 
relationship (friendship or romantic relationship) with the 
supervisee that could result in exploitation of the supervisee 
or could impair the objectivity of the supervisor in his or her 
roles as trainer of the supervisee and protector of the public; 

8. submit all appropriate documentation designated 
for supervisors using the appropriate forms as determined by 
the advisory committee and in a manner that does not 
unnecessarily impede the supervisee’s ability in a timely 
manner to qualify as a LMFT; 
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9. refer the supervisee for counseling or 
psychotherapy at the request of the supervisee or as the 
supervisor may deem prudent in assisting the supervisee in 
maintaining mental and emotional health sufficient to 
provide services to clients that meet the standard of care as 
defined by this Rule. The supervisee’s supervisor(s) shall not 
under any circumstances provide counseling, psychotherapy, 
or psychological testing to the supervisee; 

10. earnestly endeavor to resolve with the supervisee 
any personal, professional, or ethical conflicts that hinder the 
supervisor in effectively collaborating with the supervisee 
toward the provision of an appropriate standard of care to 
clients or successfully completing the terms of the plan of 
supervision. 

a. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to take 
appropriate initiative to resolve such conflicts in a manner 
that is respectful to the supervisee and preserves continuity 
of care for the supervisee’s clients. 

b. …  
D. Revocation, Suspension, or Limitation of the Board-

Approved Supervisor Certificate of a Licensed Marriage and 
Family Therapist 

1. The board upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee may withhold, deny, revoke, suspend or limit the 
board-approved supervisor certification of a LMFT on a 
finding that the board-approved supervisor has violated any 
of the rules, regulations, or ethical standards for board-
approved supervisors as pertains to the supervision of 
PLMFTs contained in this Rule or prior final decisions 
and/or consent orders involving the board-approved 
supervisor or supervisor candidate.  

2. The advisory committee shall provide due notice to 
the supervisor and his or her assigned PLMFTs and/or 
supervisor candidates of any change in the supervisor’s 
qualification in accordance with advisory committee policy. 

3. The board-approved supervisor or supervisor 
candidate has ninety days to appeal to the advisory 
committee in writing in accordance with advisory committee 
policy any withholding, denial, revocation, suspension, or 
limiting of the licensee’s certification as board-approved 
supervisor or registration as a board-approved supervisor 
candidate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 38:1972 (August 2012), LR 41: 
Chapter 35. Renewal of License for Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapists  
§3503. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. - A.4. … 
5. The licensee is responsible for keeping a personal 

record of his/her continuing education hours until official 
notification of renewal is received. Licensees should not 
forward documentation of CEHs to the board office as they 
are accrued. 

6. - 8. … 
9. A licensee must accrue six clock hours of training 

in diagnosis every renewal period that specifically addresses 
the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of clinical 
conditions under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), as published by 
the American Psychiatric Association on May 18, 2013. This 

required training may be specific to the diagnosis, 
assessment, and treatment of a particular condition and/or 
may be general training in diagnosis, assessment, and 
treatment under the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5), as published on 
May 18, 2013 

10. Those licensed marriage and family therapists who 
hold another license that requires continuing education hours 
may count the continuing education hours obtained for that 
license toward their LMFT CEH requirements. Of the 40 
CEHs submitted, however, 20 hours must be in the area of 
marriage and family therapy with an emphasis upon 
systemic approaches or the theory, research, or practice of 
systemic psychotherapeutic work with couples or families 
including three clock hours of ethics specific to marriage and 
family therapy and six clock hours specific to diagnosis. 

11. The approval of and requirements for continuing 
education are specified in Subsection C. 

B. - B.4. … 
C. Approved Continuing Education for Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapists 
1. … 
2. An LMFT may obtain the 40 clock hours of 

continuing education through the options listed. Effective 
January 1, 2017, a maximum of 20 CEHs may be obtained 
through an online format, with the exception of coursework 
obtained through a regionally accredited institution of higher 
education. All continuing education hours may be obtained 
through Subparagraph a or 20 of the 40 hours may be 
obtained through Subparagraph b: 

2.a. - 3.g. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:160 (February 2003), repromulgated LR 29:581 
(April 2003, amended LR 29:2789 (December 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 37. Endorsement and Expedited Processing  
§3701. Endorsement 

A. Upon recommendation of the board and Marriage and 
Family Therapy Advisory Committee, the board shall issue a 
license to any person who has been licensed as a marriage 
and family therapist and has actively practiced marriage and 
family therapy for at least five years in another jurisdiction. 
The applicant must submit an application on forms 
prescribed by the board in the prescribed manner and pay the 
required licensure fee. Applicants must also have passed the 
Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory 
Board's examination in marital and family therapy. An 
applicant must submit documentation of at least 40 CEHs, in 
accordance with the requirements listed in Chapter 35, 
within two years of the date of application for licensure 
endorsement in Louisiana. An applicant must also be in good 
standing in all jurisdictions in which they are licensed and 
must not have been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 
that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, 
or revocation of a license to practice marriage and family 
therapy in the state of Louisiana at the time the act was 
committed.  

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:162 (February 2003), LR 39:1806 (July 2013), 
LR 41: 
Chapter 39. Disciplinary Proceedings  
§3901. Causes for Administrative Action  

A. The board, upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee, after due notice and hearing as set forth herein 
and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
may withhold, deny, revoke or suspend any license or 
provisional license issued or applied for or otherwise 
discipline a licensed marriage and family therapist or 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist on a 
finding that the person has violated R.S. 37: 1101-1123, any 
of the rules, regulations, and ethical standards for marriage 
and family therapy promulgated by the board for the 
advisory committee, or prior final decisions and/or consent 
orders involving the licensed marriage and family therapist, 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist, or 
applicant for licensure or provisional licensure. Additionally, 
the board, upon recommendation of the advisory committee, 
may withhold, deny, revoke, or suspend any license or 
provisional license issued or applied for, or otherwise 
discipline or a LMFT or PLMFT as provided by other 
applicable state or federal laws, including but not limited to 
the following violations: 

1. - 5. … 
B. Sometimes hereinafter, where the context allows, a 

licensed marriage and family therapist, provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or applicant for licensure or 
provisional licensure may be referred to as a licensee or 
applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Professional 
Counselors, LR 29:162 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3903. Disciplinary Process and Procedures 

A. - B. … 
C. The purpose of a disciplinary proceeding is to 

determine contested issues of law and fact; whether the 
person did certain acts or omissions and, if he did, whether 
those acts or omissions violated the Louisiana Mental Health 
Counselor Licensing Act, the rules and regulations and 
ethical standards for licensed marriage family therapy 
promulgated by the board for the advisory committee, or 
prior final decisions and/or consent orders involving the 
licensed marriage and family therapist, provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or applicant for licensure or 
provisional licensure and to determine the appropriate 
disciplinary action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:162 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3905. Initiation of Complaints 

A. - B. … 
C. Pursuant to its authority to regulate this industry, the 

board, upon recommendation of the advisory committee 
through its disciplinary committee, may issue subpoenas to 
secure evidence of alleged violations of the Louisiana 
Mental Health Counselor Licensing Act, any of the rules and 
regulations or ethical standards for licensed marriage and 

family therapists or provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapists promulgated by the board for the advisory 
committee, or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 
involving the licensed marriage and family therapist, 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapists, or 
applicant for licensure or provisional licensure. The 
subpoenaed confidential or privileged records of a patient or 
client are to be sanitized by the custodian of such records so 
as to maintain the anonymity of the patient or client. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:162 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3909. Formal Hearing 

A. The board upon recommendation of the disciplinary 
committee has the authority, granted by R.S. 37:1101 et seq., 
to bring administrative proceedings against persons to whom 
it has issued a license or provisional license upon 
recommendation of the advisory committee to practice as a 
licensed marriage and family therapist, provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or any applicant requesting a 
license or provisional license. The person has the right to: 

A.1. - C.2.b.iv. … 
3. A notice of hearing is issued pursuant to R.S. 

49:955, charging the violation of one or more of the 
provisions of the Louisiana Mental Health Counselor 
Licensing Act, the rules and regulations and ethical 
standards for licensed marriage and family therapists and 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapists 
promulgated by the board for the advisory committee 
thereto, or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 
involving the person. 

4. - 8.d.  … 
9. The board chair presides as chair of the board over 

all hearings for licensed marriage and family therapists and 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapists. The 
customary order of proceedings at a hearing is as follows. 

9.a. - 13.a.ii. … 
 iii. Determine whether charges brought are a 
violation of the Louisiana Mental Health Counselor 
Licensing Act or rules and regulations and ethical standards 
for marriage and family therapy promulgated by the board 
for the advisory committee. 

b. Deliberation 
 i. - iii. … 
 iv. After considering and voting on each charge, 
the board will vote on a resolution to dismiss the charges, 
withhold, deny, revoke or suspend any license or provisional 
license issued or applied for or otherwise discipline a 
licensed marriage and family therapist, provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or applicant for licensure or 
provisional licensure. 
 v. The board by affirmative majority vote may 
vote to withhold, deny, revoke, or suspend any license or 
provisional license issued or applied for in accordance with 
the provisions of R.S. 37, Chapter 13, or otherwise discipline 
a licensed marriage and family therapist, provisional 
licensed marriage and family therapist, or applicant. 

c. Sanctions against the person who is party to the 
proceedings are based upon findings of fact and conclusions 
of law determined as a result of the hearing. The party is 
notified by certified mail of the final decision of the board. 
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14. - 15.c.iv. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:163 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3915. Refusal to Respond or Cooperate with the Board 

A. … 
B. If the person refuses to reply to the board's inquiry or 

otherwise cooperate with the board, the board shall continue 
its investigation. The board shall record the circumstances of 
the person's failure to cooperate and shall inform the person 
that the lack of cooperation may result in action by the board 
that could eventually lead to the withholding, denial, 
revocation or suspension of his/her license, provisional 
license, or application for licensure or provisional licensure, 
or otherwise issue appropriate disciplinary sanction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:165 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3917. Judicial Review of Adjudication 

A. Any person whose license, provisional license, or 
application for licensure or provisional licensure, has been 
withheld, denied, revoked or suspended or otherwise 
disciplined by the board shall have the right to have the 
proceedings of the board reviewed by the 19th Judicial 
District Court for the parish of East Baton Rouge, provided 
that such petition for judicial review is filed within 30 days 
after receipt of the notice of the decision of the board. If 
judicial review is granted, the board's decision remains 
enforceable in the interim unless the 19th Judicial District 
Court orders a stay. Pursuant to the applicable section of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
this appeal shall be taken as in any other civil case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:166 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3921. Reinstatement of Suspended or Revoked License 

A. The board is authorized to suspend the license of a 
licensed marriage and family therapist and the license of a 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist for a 
period not exceeding two years. At the end of this period, the 
board shall re-evaluate the suspension and may reinstate or 
revoke the license or provisional license. A person whose 
license or provisional license has been revoked may apply 
for reinstatement after a period of not less than two years 
from the date such denial or revocation is legally effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:166 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§3927. Disciplinary Costs and Fines 

A. The board may assess and collect fines not to exceed 
five thousand dollars for violation of any causes for 
administrative action as specified in Section 3901. 

B. The board may assess all costs incurred in connection 
with disciplinary proceedings including but limited to the 
costs of an investigator, stenographer, legal fees, or witness 
fees, and any costs and fees incurred by the board on any 

judicial review or appeal, for any licensee who has been 
found in violation of any causes for administrative action as 
specified in 3901. 

C. After the decision of the board becomes final and 
delays for judicial review have expired, all costs and fees 
must be paid no later than ninety days or within a time 
period specified by board. 

D. The board may withhold any issuance or reissuance of 
any license or certificate until all costs and fees are paid.  

E.  A person aggrieved by a final decision of the board 
who prevails upon judicial review may recover reasonable 
costs as defined in R.S. 37: 1106(D)(2).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41: 
Chapter 41. Informed Consent  
§4101. General Provisions 

A. Licensees obtain appropriate informed consent to 
therapy or related procedures before the formal therapeutic 
process begins. Information provided to clients by licensees 
about the treatment process shall include, but is not limited 
to, the licensee’s statement of practice as outlined in the 
Appendix (§4720). The licensee should be sure that the 
client understands all information provided before asking for 
consent to treatment. The content of informed consent may 
vary depending on the client and treatment plan; however, 
informed consent generally necessitates that the client: 

1. - 5. … 
B. When persons, due to age or mental status, are legally 

incapable of giving informed consent, licensees obtain 
informed permission from a legally authorized person, if 
such substitute consent is legally permissible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:166 (February 2003), LR 41:  
Chapter 43. Privileged Communications 
§4301. Privileged Communication with Clients 

A. Licensees disclose to clients and other interested 
parties, as early as feasible in their professional contacts, the 
nature of confidentiality in the therapeutic process and 
possible limitations of the clients' right to confidentiality. 
Licensees review with clients the circumstances where 
confidential information may be requested and where 
disclosure of confidential information may be legally 
required. Circumstances may necessitate repeated 
disclosures. Licensees also shall be aware of specific ethical 
requirements concerning marriage and family therapy as 
specified in the Code of Ethics (Chapter 47) and in §4301.C. 

B. Licensees do not disclose client confidences except 
by written authorization or waiver, court order, or where 
mandated or specifically permitted by law, or reasonably 
necessary to protect the client or other parties from a clear 
and imminent threat of serious physical harm. Verbal 
authorization may be sufficient in emergency situations or 
where otherwise permitted by law. 

C. Licensees shall be cognizant of and adhere to any 
confidentiality requirement that may differ from 
requirements in other licenses they hold. Licensees have 
unique confidentiality concerns because the client in a 
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therapeutic relationship may be more than one person. 
Licensees respect and guard the confidences of each 
individual client within the system of which they are 
working as well as the confidences of the system. 

1. When providing couple, family, or group treatment, 
a licensee shall not disclose information outside the 
treatment context without a written authorization from each 
individual competent to execute a waiver. 

2. In the context of couple, family, or group treatment, 
the licensee may not reveal any individual's confidences to 
others in the client unit without the prior written permission 
of that individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:167 (February 2003), LR 41: 
Chapter 45. Exemptions 
§4501. Exemptions 

A. No person shall be required to obtain a license as a 
licensed marriage and family therapist or a provisional 
license as a provisional licensed marriage and family 
therapist. As stated in R.S. 37:1122(A), no person shall use 
of the title "Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist" or 
“Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist”. 

B. Nothing in this Chapter shall prevent qualified 
members of other professional groups as defined by the 
board upon recommendation of the advisory committee 
including but not limited to clinical social workers, 
psychiatric nurses, psychologists, physicians, licensed 
professional counselors, or members of the clergy, including 
Christian science practitioners, from doing or advertising 
that they perform work of a marriage and family therapy 
nature consistent with the accepted standards of their 
respective professions. However, no such person shall use 
the title "Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist" or 
“Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist”. 
(R.S. 37:1121). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:167 (February 2003), LR 41:  
Chapter 47. Code of Ethics 
§4701. General 

A. The Marriage and Family Therapy Advisory 
Committee strives to honor the public trust in licensed 
marriage and family therapists and provisional licensed 
marriage and family therapists by setting the standards for 
ethical practice as described in this code of ethics. 

B. Licensees have an obligation to be familiar with this 
code of ethics and its application to their professional 
services. They also must be familiar with any applicable 
ethical codes that govern other licensure that they hold or are 
responsible for through certification or membership in 
professional organizations. Lack of awareness or 
misunderstanding of an ethical standard is not a defense to a 
charge of unethical conduct. 

C. These ethical standards govern the practice of 
marriage and family therapy and professional functioning of 
the advisory committee and shall be enforced by the board 
through the advisory committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:167 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4703. Resolving Ethical Issues 

A. The absence of an explicit reference to a specific 
behavior or situation in the code does not mean that the 
behavior is ethical or unethical. The standards are not 
exhaustive. Licensees shall consult with other licensees who 
are knowledgeable about ethics, with colleagues, with 
LMFT-approved supervisors, or with appropriate authorities 
when: 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:167 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4705. Responsibility to Clients 

A. Licensees advance the welfare of families and 
individuals. They respect the rights of those persons seeking 
their assistance and make reasonable efforts to ensure that 
their services are used appropriately. 

B. Licensees provide professional assistance to persons 
without discrimination on the basis of race, age, ethnicity, 
socioeconomic status, disability, gender, health status, 
religion, national origin, or sexual orientation. 

C. Licensees obtain appropriate informed consent to 
therapy or related procedures early in the therapeutic 
relationship, usually before the therapeutic relationship 
begins, and use language that is reasonably understandable 
to clients. The licensee will provide all clients with a 
statement of practice subject to review and approval by the 
advisory committee (See §4720, Appendix). The content of 
informed consent may vary depending upon the licensee’s 
areas of expertise, the client(s) and treatment plan. 

1. - 1.c. … 
2. When persons, due to age or mental status, are 

legally incapable of giving informed consent, licensees 
obtain informed permission from a legally authorized 
person, if such substitute consent is legally permissible. 

D. Licensees are aware of their influential positions with 
respect to clients, and they avoid exploiting the trust and 
dependency of such persons. Licensees, therefore, make 
every effort to avoid conditions and multiple relationships 
with clients that could impair professional judgment or 
increase the risk of exploitation. Such relationships include, 
but are not limited to, business or close personal 
relationships with a client or the client's immediate family. 
When the risk of impairment or exploitation exists due to 
conditions or multiple roles, therapists take appropriate 
precautions. 

E. …  
F. Sexual intimacy with former clients is likely to be 

harmful and is therefore prohibited for two years following 
the termination of therapy or last professional contact. In an 
effort to avoid exploiting the trust and dependency of clients, 
licensees should not engage in sexual intimacy with former 
clients after the two years following termination or last 
professional contact. Should licensees engage in sexual 
intimacy with former clients following two years after 
termination or last professional contact, the burden shifts to 
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the licensee to demonstrate that there has been no 
exploitation or injury to the former client or to the client's 
immediate family. 

G. Licensees comply with applicable laws regarding the 
reporting of alleged unethical conduct. 

H. Licensees do not use their professional relationships 
with clients to further their own interests. 

I. Licensees respect the rights of clients to make 
decisions and help them to understand the consequences of 
these decisions. Licensees clearly advise the clients that they 
have the responsibility to make decisions regarding 
relationships such as cohabitation, marriage, divorce, 
separation, reconciliation, custody, and visitation. 

J. Licensees continue therapeutic relationships only so 
long as it is reasonably clear that clients are benefiting from 
the relationship. 

K. Licensees assist persons in obtaining other therapeutic 
services if the licensee is unable or unwilling, for 
appropriate reasons, to provide professional help. 

L. Licensees do not abandon or neglect clients in 
treatment without making reasonable arrangements for the 
continuation of such treatment. 

M. Licensees obtain written informed consent from 
clients before videotaping, audio recording, or permitting 
third-party observation. 

N. Licensees, upon agreeing to provide services to a 
person or entity at the request of a third party, clarify, to the 
extent feasible and at the outset of the service, the nature of 
the relationship with each party and the limits of 
confidentiality. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 29:168 (February 2003), LR 
41: 
§4707. Confidentiality  

A. Licensees have unique confidentiality concerns 
because the client in a therapeutic relationship may be more 
than one person. Licensees respect and guard the 
confidences of each individual client. 

B. Licensees disclose to clients and other interested 
parties, as early as feasible in their professional contacts, the 
nature of confidentiality and possible limitations of the 
clients' right to confidentiality. Licensees review with clients 
the circumstances where confidential information may be 
requested and where disclosure of confidential information 
may be legally required. Circumstances may necessitate 
repeated disclosures. 

C. Licensees do not disclose client confidences except 
by written authorization or waiver, or where mandated or 
permitted by law. Verbal authorization will not be sufficient 
except in emergency situations, unless prohibited by law, 
specifically in instances of danger to self or others, 
suspected child abuse/neglect, elderly abuse/neglect, or 
disabled adult abuse/neglect. When providing couple, family 
or group treatment, the licensee does not disclose 
information outside the treatment context without a written 
authorization from each individual competent to execute a 
waiver. In the context of couple, family or group treatment, 
the licensee may not reveal any individual's confidences to 
others in the client unit without the prior written permission 
of that individual. 

D. Licensees use client and/or clinical materials in 
teaching, writing, consulting, research, and public 
presentations only if a written waiver has been obtained in 
accordance with this Section, or when appropriate steps have 
been taken to protect client identity and confidentiality. 

E. Licensees store, safeguard, and dispose of client 
records in ways that maintain confidentiality and in accord 
with applicable laws and professional standards. 

F. Subsequent to the licensee moving from the area, 
closing the practice, or upon the death of the licensee, a 
licensee arranges for the storage, transfer, or disposal of 
client records in ways that maintain confidentiality and 
safeguard the welfare of clients. 

G. Licensees, when consulting with colleagues or 
referral sources, do not share confidential information that 
could reasonably lead to the identification of a client, 
research participant, supervisee, or other person with whom 
they have a confidential relationship unless they have 
obtained the prior written consent obtained in accordance 
with this Section of the client, research participant, 
supervisee, or other person with whom they have a 
confidential relationship. Information may be shared only to 
the extent necessary to achieve the purposes of the 
consultation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:168 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4709. Professional Competence and Integrity 

A. Licensees maintain high standards of professional 
competence and integrity. 

B. Licensees pursue knowledge of new developments 
and maintain competence in marriage and family therapy 
through education, training, or supervised experience. 

C. Licensees maintain adequate knowledge of and 
adhere to applicable laws, ethics, and professional standards. 

D. Licensees seek appropriate professional assistance for 
their personal problems or conflicts that may impair work 
performance or clinical judgment. 

E. Licensees do not provide services that create a 
conflict of interest that may impair work performance or 
clinical judgment. 

F. Licensees, as presenters, teachers, supervisors, 
consultants and researchers, are dedicated to high standards 
of scholarship, present accurate information, and disclose 
potential conflicts of interest. 

G. Licensees maintain accurate and adequate clinical and 
financial records. 

H. While developing new skills in specialty areas, 
licensees take steps to ensure the competence of their work 
and to protect clients from possible harm. Licensees practice 
in specialty areas new to them only after appropriate 
education, training, or supervised experience. 

I. Licensees do not engage in sexual or other forms of 
harassment of clients, students, trainees, supervisees, 
employees, colleagues, or research subjects. 

J. Licensees do not engage in the exploitation of clients, 
students, trainees, supervisees, employees, colleagues, or 
research subjects. 

K. Licensees do not give to or receive from clients: 
1. - 2. … 
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L. Licensees do not diagnose, treat, or advise on 
problems outside the recognized boundaries of their 
competencies. 

M. Licensees make efforts to prevent the distortion or 
misuse of their clinical and research findings. 

N. Licensees, because of their ability to influence and 
alter the lives of others, exercise special care when making 
public their professional recommendations and opinions 
through testimony or other public statements. 

O. To avoid a conflict of interests, licensees who treat 
minors or adults involved in custody or visitation actions 
may not also perform forensic evaluations for custody, 
residence, or visitation of the minor. The licensee who treats 
the minor may provide the court or mental health 
professional performing the evaluation with information 
about the minor from the licensee’s perspective as a treating 
licensed or provisionally licensed marriage and family 
therapist, so long as the licensee does not violate 
confidentiality. 

P. Licensees are in violation of this code and subject to 
revocation or suspension of licensure or provisional 
licensure or other appropriate action by the board through 
the advisory committee if they: 

1. - 5. … 
6. continue to practice marriage and family therapy 

while no longer competent to do so because they are 
impaired by physical or mental causes or the abuse of 
alcohol or other substances; or 

7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:169 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4711. Responsibility to Students and Supervisees 

A. Licensees do not exploit the trust and dependency of 
students and supervisees. 

B. Licensees are aware of their influential positions with 
respect to students and supervisees, and they avoid 
exploiting the trust and dependency of such persons. 
Licensees, therefore, make every effort to avoid conditions 
and multiple relationships that could impair professional 
objectivity or increase the risk of exploitation. When the risk 
of impairment or exploitation exists due to conditions or 
multiple roles, licensees take appropriate precautions. 

C. Licensees do not provide therapy to current students 
or supervisees. 

D. Licensees do not engage in sexual intimacy with 
students or supervisees during the evaluative or training 
relationship between the therapist and student or supervisee. 
Should a supervisor engage in sexual activity with a former 
supervisee, the burden of proof shifts to the supervisor to 
demonstrate that there has been no exploitation or injury to 
the supervisee. 

E. Licensees do not permit students or supervisees to 
perform or to hold themselves out as competent to perform 
professional services beyond their training, level of 
experience, and competence. 

F. Licensees take reasonable measures to ensure that 
services provided by supervisees are professional. 

G. Licensees avoid accepting as supervisees or students 
those individuals with whom a prior or existing relationship 
could compromise the licensee’s objectivity. When such 

situations cannot be avoided, therapists take appropriate 
precautions to maintain objectivity. Examples of such 
relationships include, but are not limited to, those 
individuals with whom the licensee has a current or prior 
sexual, close personal, immediate familial, or therapeutic 
relationship. 

H. Licensees do not disclose supervisee confidences 
except by written authorization or waiver, or when mandated 
or permitted by law. In educational or training settings where 
there are multiple supervisors, disclosures are permitted only 
to other professional colleagues, administrators, or 
employers who share responsibility for training of the 
supervisee. Verbal authorization will not be sufficient except 
in emergency situations, unless prohibited by law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:170 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4713. Responsibility to Research Participants 

A. - C. … 
D. Investigators respect each participant's freedom to 

decline participation in or to withdraw from a research study 
at any time. This obligation requires special thought and 
consideration when investigators or other members of the 
research team are in positions of authority or influence over 
participants. Licensees, therefore, make every effort to avoid 
multiple relationships with research participants that could 
impair professional judgment or increase the risk of 
exploitation. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:170 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4715. Responsibility to the Profession 

A. Licensees respect the rights and responsibilities of 
professional colleagues and participate in activities that 
advance the goals of the profession. 

B. Licensees remain accountable to the standards of the 
profession when acting as members or employees of 
organizations. If the mandates of an organization with which 
a licensee is affiliated, through employment, contract or 
otherwise, conflict with the Code of Ethics, licensees make 
known to the organization their commitment to the Code of 
Ethics and attempt to resolve the conflict in a way that 
allows the fullest adherence to the Code of Ethics. 

C. Licensees assign publication credit to those who have 
contributed to a publication in proportion to their 
contributions and in accordance with customary professional 
publication practices. 

D. Licensees do not accept or require authorship credit 
for a publication based on research from a student's program, 
unless the therapist made a substantial contribution beyond 
being a faculty advisor or research committee member. 
Coauthorship on a student thesis, dissertation, or project 
should be determined in accordance with principles of 
fairness and justice. 

E. Licensees who are the authors of books or other 
materials that are published or distributed do not plagiarize 
or fail to cite persons to whom credit for original ideas or 
work is due. 
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F. Licensees who are the authors of books or other 
materials published or distributed by an organization take 
reasonable precautions to ensure that the organization 
promotes and advertises the materials accurately and 
factually. 

G. Licensees participate in activities that contribute to a 
better community and society, including devoting a portion 
of their professional activity to services for which there is 
little or no financial return. 

H. Licensees are concerned with developing laws and 
regulations pertaining to marriage and family therapy that 
serve the public interest, and with altering such laws and 
regulations that are not in the public interest. 

I. Licensees encourage public participation in the design 
and delivery of professional services and in the regulation of 
practitioners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors, LR 
29:170 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4717. Financial Arrangements 

A. Licensees make financial arrangements with clients, 
third-party payors, and supervisees that are reasonably 
understandable and conform to accepted professional 
practices. 

B. Licensees do not offer or accept kickbacks, rebates, 
bonuses, or other remuneration for referrals; fee-for-service 
arrangements are not prohibited. 

C. Prior to entering into the therapeutic or supervisory 
relationship, licensees clearly disclose and explain to clients 
and supervisees: 

1. - 4. … 
D. Licensees give reasonable notice to clients with 

unpaid balances of their intent to seek collection by agency 
or legal recourse. When such action is taken, licensees will 
not disclose clinical information. 

E. Licensees represent facts truthfully to clients, third 
party payors, and supervisees regarding services rendered. 

F. Licensees ordinarily refrain from accepting goods and 
services from clients in return for services rendered. 
Bartering for professional services may be conducted only 
if: 

1. - 4. … 
G. Licensees may not withhold records under their 

immediate control that are requested and needed for a 
client's treatment solely because payment has not been 
received for past services, except as otherwise provided by 
law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:171 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4719. Advertising 

A. Licensees engage in appropriate informational 
activities, including those that enable the public, referral 
sources, or others to choose professional services on an 
informed basis. 

B. Licensees accurately represent their competencies, 
education, training, and experience relevant to their practice 
of marriage and family therapy. 

C. Licensees ensure that advertisements and publications 
in any media (such as directories, announcements, business 
cards, newspapers, radio, television, Internet, and facsimiles) 
convey information that is necessary for the public to make 
an appropriate selection of professional services. 
Information could include: 

1. - 3. … 
4. licensed or provisional licensed marriage and 

family therapist status; and 
5. … 

D. Licensees do not use names that could mislead the 
public concerning the identity, responsibility, source, and 
status of those practicing under that name, and do not hold 
themselves out as being partners or associates of a firm if 
they are not. 

E. Licensees do not use any professional identification 
(such as a business card, office sign, letterhead, Internet, or 
telephone or association directory listing) if it includes a 
statement or claim that is false, fraudulent, misleading, or 
deceptive. 

F. In representing their educational qualifications, 
licensees list and claim as evidence only those earned 
degrees: 

1. - 3. … 
G. Licensees correct, wherever possible, false, 

misleading, or inaccurate information and representations 
made by others concerning the licensee’s qualifications, 
services, or products. 

H. Licensees make certain that the qualifications of their 
employees or supervisees are represented in a manner that is 
not false, misleading, or deceptive. 

I. Licensees do not represent themselves as providing 
specialized services unless they have the appropriate 
education, training, or supervised experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors, LR 
29:171 (February 2003), LR 41: 
§4720. Appendix―Statement of Practice for Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapists 
A. Each licensed marriage and family therapist/PLMFT 

in Louisiana shall write a statement of practice incorporating 
the following information to provide to all clients. Licensees 
also licensed in other mental health professions may need to 
add additional information required by that licensure. This 
statement is subject to review and approval by the advisory 
committee. Sample statements of practice are available from 
the board office. 

1. …  
2. Qualifications: 

a. … 
b. your LMFT or PLMFT licensure or provisional 

licensure number, noting that the Board of Examiners is the 
grantor of your license or provisional license. Include the 
address and telephone number of the board; 

c. …  
d. a PLMFT must use this title and include the 

name and address of his/her approved supervisor and a brief 
explanation of how supervision affects the therapy provided. 

3. - 6.c. … 
7. Code of Ethics 
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a. State that you are required by state law to adhere 
to The Louisiana Code of Ethics for Licensed and 
Provisionally Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists; and 

b. - c. … 
8. Describe the rules governing privileged 

communication for licensees. You may use your own 
language, but need to cover all the areas included in the 
Sample Statement and Subparagraphs 8.a-c. 

a. … 
b. Include the information that when providing 

couple, family or group treatment, a licensee cannot: 
8.b.i. - 12.  
13. End with a general statement indicating that the 

client(s) have read and understand the statement of practice, 
providing spaces for the date, client(s)' signatures, and your 
signature. PLMFTs need to have a line for their  
LMFT-approved supervisor's signature. 

B. … 
C. A Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist/ 

Provisional Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist must 
have a current copy of his/her statement of practice on file in 
the board office. A PLMFT must include a copy of his/her 
statement of practice with each application for or change in 
supervision. The Code of Ethics can be duplicated for clients 
and additional copies are available at www.lpcboard.org or 
from the board office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:172 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2791 
(December 2003), LR 41:  

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact on this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a neutral impact on family 
formation, functioning, stability, and autonomy as described 
in R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have a neutral impact on child, 
individual, or family poverty in relation to individual or 
community asset development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement  
In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 

qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via U.S. 

Mail to Mary Alice Olsan, Executive Director, Licensed 
Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, 8631 Summa 
Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 until 4:30 p.m. on 
February 20, 2015. 

Mary Alice Olsan 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  PLPC and PLMFT Regulations;  

Fee Structure Adjustments/Changes 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be an estimated one-time implementation cost to 
the Board of $25,600 in FY15 that includes the cost of 
promulgating the rule ($20,000), forms ($300), postage 
($3,300), and staff augmentation ($2,000). There will be an 
estimated annual cost beginning in FY16 of $4,000 that 
includes forms ($300), postage ($1,700), and staff 
augmentation ($2,000). All costs will be absorbed within the 
budget of the Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors 
(LPC) Board.  There will be no impact on any other state or 
local governmental agency. 

The proposed rule changes codify statutory requirements 
made necessary by the adoption of Act 173 of the 2013 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and by Acts 484 and 736 
of the 2014 Regular Session.  The proposed changes provide 
for requirements and fees associated with provisional licensure 
and renewal of provisional licensure as a Provisional Licensed 
Professional Counselor (PLPC) or a Provisional Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapist (PLMFT), for supervisory 
requirements of provisional licensees, for certain definitions 
and conditions of professional practice, and for disciplinary 
actions. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is projected to decrease self-generated 
revenues to the LPC Board by $1,200 in FY15.  This projected 
loss is the result of a reduced “Change/Add Board-Approved 
Supervisor” fee in the proposed rule from $100 to $50.   

The LPC Board projects to receive additional net self-
generated revenues of approximately $25,450 in FY16.  This 
calculation is based on a loss of $4,150 in change/add Board-
Approved Supervisor fees (83 applicants x $100 vs. 83 
applicants x $50) and an increase in the Licensed Professional 
Counselor (LPC) and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist 
(LMFT) renewal fee (from $150 every two years to $170 every 
two years). 

The LPC Board projects to receive additional net self-
generated revenues of approximately $29,190 in FY17. This 
calculation is based on a loss of $4,150 in change/add Board-
Approved Supervisor fees (83 applicants x $100 vs. 83 
applicants x $50) and an increase in revenue received from the 
LPC and LMFT renewal fee (from $150 to $170 every two 
years).  

The cost of a provisional license in the proposed rule will 
be equal to the current cost for registration as a Counselor 
Intern or Marriage and Family Therapist Intern and will affect 
the same population.  Consequently, no increase or decrease in 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 258

revenue is expected for the issuance of provisional licenses.  
Once current and new registrants have a provisional license, the 
proposed rule establishes that the provisional license will 
require renewal every two (2) years for a cost of $85.  
Beginning in FY18, the LPC Board expects to receive 
increased self-generated revenue of approximately $76,500 
(900 applicants x $85) associated with renewal fees for 
provisional licensees.   

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Persons affected by the proposed rule would include those 
applicants who currently apply for registration as a Counselor 
Intern or Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) Intern.  This 
population is primarily composed of recent graduates seeking 
registration to begin their supervised experience needed for 
licensure as a LPC or LMFT.  The process, amount of 
documentation needed, and cost to apply for a Provisional LPC 
(PLPC) or a Provisional LMFT (PLMFT) license will be equal 
to the current process, amount of documentation needed, and 
cost to apply for a Counselor Intern or MFT Intern registration.  
Given that no renewal process or fee exists for a registrant 
presently, the proposed rule will result in additional costs, time, 
and documentation for PLPCs and PLMFTs.  Specifically, the 
provisional licensees will have to submit a renewal application 
and renewal fee of $85 every two (2) years, and documentation 
of continuing education hours (CEHs) if audited every two (2) 
years.  All PLPCs and PLMFTs must complete 20 CEHs every 
two (2) years.  Ten of the required 20 CEHs may be completed 
online, thereby potentially reducing travel and associated costs.  
Also, of the 20 CEHs, 1 ½ hours must be relative to ethics and 
1 ½ hours must be relative to diagnosis. 

All licensed Professional Counselors and Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapists will realize an increase of $20 
for the licensure renewal fee every two years, from $150 to 
$170. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Future PLPCs and PLMFTs, as defined in the proposed 
rule, will have the same scope of practice as current Counselor 
Interns and MFT Interns; however, the LPC Board believes 
PLPCs and PLMFTs will have better employment opportunities 
with a provisional license rather than registration. The LPC 
Board surmises that PLPCs and PLMFTs will have a greater 
chance of obtaining positions in the mental health field than 
current Counselor Interns and MFT Interns based on the 
anecdotal feedback submitted to the Board by current 
Counselor Interns and MFT Interns. 

 
Mary Alice Olsan Evan Brasseux 
Executive Director Legislative  
1501#036 Fiscal Officer/Designee 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil Recovery (LAC 43:XIX.405) 
Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated 
due to an error upon submission. The original Notice of Intent 
can be viewed in the December 20, 2014 edition of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 2692-2694. 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation proposes to amend LAC 43:XIX.Subpart 1 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 
The proposed amendment is made to implement application 
requirements for carbon dioxide enhanced oil recovery. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 4. Pollution Control (Class II 
Injection/Disposal Well Regulations) 

Editor's Note:  Statewide Order 29-B was originally codified 
in LAC 43:XIX as §129. In December 2000, §129 was 
restructured into Chapters 3, 4 and 5. Chapter 3 contains the 
oilfield pit regulations. Chapter 4 contains the 
injection/disposal well regulations. Chapter 5 contains the 
commercial facility regulations. A cross-reference chart in the 
December 2000 Louisiana Register, page 2798, indicates the 
locations for the rules in each existing Section. 

§405. Application Requirements for New Enhanced 
Recovery Injection and New Saltwater Disposal 
Wells 

A. - B.5.f. … 
C. Area of Review for Enhanced Oil Recovery Wells 

Injecting Carbon Dioxide 
1. The area of review (AOR) will be the project area 

plus the surrounding region where USDWs may be 
endangered by the carbon dioxide (CO2) injection activities, 
at a minimum, no less than 1/4 mile beyond the project area. 
The AOR will be delineated by a computational model 
acceptable to the commissioner. For enhanced oil recovery 
(EOR) projects injecting CO2 that are permitted as of the 
effective date of these regulations, the owner or operator of 
the project has thirty days from the effective date of these 
regulations to submit a plan to the commissioner to come 
into compliance with §405.C, D, and E. 

2. The owner or operator of a class II EOR CO2 
injection well must submit a plan acceptable to the 
commissioner to periodically reevaluate the AOR for the 
proposed CO2 EOR project and perform corrective action for 
any identified deficient wells. The AOR must be reevaluated 
on a frequency not to exceed five years. 

3. The owner or operator of the class II EOR CO2 
injection well must identify all penetrations within the 
defined AOR including active and abandoned wells, 
underground mines, and any other man-made penetrations 
that penetrate the confining and injection zones. 

4. The owner or operator must determine which wells 
within the AOR have been constructed and/or plugged in a 
manner that prevents movement of CO2 or other fluids that 
may endanger USDWs, and any wells which may require 
corrective action to ensure protection of USDWs. 

D. Corrective Action for Enhanced Oil Recovery 
Projects Injecting Carbon Dioxide 

1. Owners or operators of class II EOR CO2 injection 
wells must perform corrective action on all wells in the area 
of review that the commissioner has determined to require 
corrective action. 

2. Owners or operators of class II EOR CO2 injection 
wells shall submit a corrective action plan acceptable to the 
commissioner addressing all identified deficiencies within a 
time specified by the commissioner. 
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E. Emergency and Remedial Response for Enhanced Oil 
Recovery Projects Injecting Carbon Dioxide 

1. As part of the permit application for a class II EOR 
CO2 well, the owner or operator must provide the 
commissioner with an emergency and remedial response 
plan that describes actions the owner or operator must take 
to address movement of the injection or formation fluids that 
may cause an endangerment to a USDW during 
construction, operation, and post-injection site care periods.  

2. If the owner or operator obtains evidence that the 
injected carbon dioxide stream and associated pressure front 
may cause an endangerment to a USDW, the owner or 
operator must: 

a. take all steps reasonably necessary to identify, 
characterize, and control any release; 

b. notify the commissioner within 24 hours; and 
c. Implement the emergency and remedial response 

plan approved by the commissioner. 
3. The owner or operator shall review the emergency 

and remedial response plan developed under §405.E.1 at 
least once every five years. Based on this review, the owner 
or operator shall submit an amended emergency and 
remedial response plan or demonstrate to the commissioner 
that no amendment to the emergency and remedial response 
plan is needed. Any amendments to the emergency and 
remedial response plan must be approved by the 
commissioner and are subject to the permit modification 
requirements at §411, as appropriate. Amended plans or 
demonstrations shall be submitted to the commissioner as 
follows: 

a. within one year of an area of review reevaluation; 
b. following any significant changes to the facility, 

such as addition of injection or monitoring wells; or 
c. when required by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2807 (December 
2000), amended LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on small businesses as 

described in R.S. 49:965.6. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing at the 
public hearing in accordance with R.S. 49:953. Written 
comments will be accepted by hand delivery or USPS only, 
until 4:30 p.m., March 5, 2015, at Office of Conservation, 
Injection and Mining Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton 
Rouge, LA, 70804-9275; or Office of Conservation,

Injection and Mining Division, 617 North Third Street, 
Room 817, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Reference Docket No. 
CON I and M 2014-12 on all correspondence. All inquiries 
should be directed to Steve Lee at the above addresses or by 
phone to (225) 342-5569. No preamble was prepared. 

Public Hearing 
The commissioner of conservation will conduct a public 

hearing at on Wednesday, February 26, 2015 at 9 a.m., in the 
LaBelle Room located on the first floor of the LaSalle 
Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA.  

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil Recovery 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no anticipated implementation costs to State or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change.  Application requirements already exist for Enhanced 
Oil Recovery methods, although none specifically address the 
use of Carbon Dioxide.  The proposed rule seeks to implement 
application requirements for Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil 
Recovery.  Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil Recovery is a 
process in which carbon dioxide is injected into an oil reservoir 
to push any remaining oil to the top of the reservoir for 
extraction.  It is typically used as a tertiary method of 
extraction after primary and secondary techniques have 
extracted the bulk of the oil from a reservoir. As such, the new 
requirements specific to Carbon Dioxide Enhanced Oil 
Recovery will be evaluated using existing documents and staff. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The group directly affected by these rules changes will be 
Exploration and Production (E&P) companies.  For those who 
desire to implement or continue to operate Carbon Dioxide 
Enhanced Oil Recovery projects, additional information 
beyond what is already required for other Enhanced Oil 
Recovery operations may be needed.  Currently, Denbury 
Onshore, LLC and Marlin Resources, L.L.C. are the only 
companies in the state using these techniques for extraction.  
The standards listed in the proposed rule change are the 
standards currently in place, resulting in no additional costs.   
This may change if other companies enter Louisiana with the 
intent to perform Carbon Dioxide Oil Recovery, but those 
impacts cannot be accurately assessed at this time. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition and employment 

 
James H. Welsh Evan Brasseaux 
Commissioner Staff Director 
1501#032 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Extending Commercial Facilities and 
Transfer Stations Setbacks under 

Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.507) 

Editor’s Note: This Notice of Intent is being repromulgated 
due to an error upon submission. The original Notice of Intent 
can be viewed in the December 20, 2014 edition of the 
Louisiana Register on pages 2694-2695. 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation proposes to amend LAC 43:XIX.507 in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 
The current regulations pertaining to commercial facilities 
and transfer stations require a setback of 500 feet from a 
residential, commercial, or public building, church, school or 
hospital. The proposed Rule change adds an additional 
setback area associated with new commercial facilities and 
transfer stations in that they may not be located within1,250 
feet from a school, hospital or public park. Existing facilities 
and transfer stations will be exempt from the 1,250 foot rule. 
The facilities and stations handle the off-site storage, 
treatment and/or disposal of exploration and production 
waste generated from drilling and production of oil and gas 
wells. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 5. Off-Site Storage, Treatment and/or 
Disposal of Exploration and Production 
Waste Generated from Drilling and 
Production of Oil and Gas Wells 

§507. Location Criteria 
A. Commercial facilities and transfer stations may not be 

located in any area: 
1. … 
2. where type A and B facilities and transfer stations, 

Class II disposal wells, storage containers and E and P waste 
treatment systems and related equipment are located within 
500 feet of a residential, commercial, or public building, 
church, school or hospital or for any proposed new 
commercial facility or transfer station where publication of 
the notice of intent or date of the permit application filed 
with the Office of Conservation is dated after the 
promulgation date of this rule, where type A and B facilities 
and transfer stations, class II disposal wells, storage 
containers and E and P waste treatment systems and related 
equipment are located within 1,250 feet of a school, hospital, 
or public park; 

3. - 7. … 
B. If the owner of the residence or commercial building 

or the administrative body responsible for the public 
building, hospital, church or public park waives the distance 
requirements of §507.A.2 above, such waiver must be in 
writing, shall contain language acceptable to the 
commissioner, and shall be included in the permit 
application. 

C. … 
D. Any encroachment upon applicable location criteria 

after the date the notice of intent is published or the 
application is filed, whichever is earlier, shall not be 
considered a violation of this Section. 

E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2817 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1901 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on small businesses as 

described in R.S. 49:965.6. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing at the 
public hearing in accordance with R.S. 49:953. Written 
comments will be accepted by USPS or hand delivery only, 
until 4:30 p.m., March 5, 2015, at Office of Conservation, 
Environmental Division, P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA, 
70804-9275; or Office of Conservation, Environmental 
Division, 617 North Third St., Room 817, Baton Rouge, LA 
70802. Reference Docket No. ENV 2014-12 on all 
correspondence. All inquiries should be directed to John 
Adams at the above addresses or by phone to (225) 342-
7889. No preamble was prepared. 

Public Hearing 
The commissioner of conservation will conduct a public 

hearing at 9 a.m., February 26, 2015, in the LaBelle Room 
located on the first floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA.  

 
John H. Wells 
Commissioner 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Extending Commercial Facilities and 
Transfer Stations Setbacks under 

Statewide Order No. 29-B 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 
local governmental expenditures as a result of the proposed rule 
change.  The proposed rule change adds an additional setback 
area associated with new commercial facilities and transfer 
stations in that they may not be located within 1,250 feet from a 
school, hospital or public park. Existing facilities and transfer 
stations will be exempt from the 1,250 foot rule. The facilities 
and stations handle the off-site storage, treatment and/or 
disposal of exploration and production waste generated from 
drilling and production of oil and gas wells. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will only affect the owners of 
commercial facilities and transfer stations associated with the 
Exploration and Production (E&P) of oil and gas. There are no 
anticipated cost increases associated with the rule change and 
all required documentation will be provided on existing 
paperwork. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
James H. Welsh Evan Brasseaux 
Commissioner Staff Director 
1501#031 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Office of Operations 

Advertising on DOTD-Owned Assets and Sponsorships 
 and Acknowledgment Signs on Public Rights of Way  

(LAC 70:III.Chapter 8) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provision of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 48:274.2, that the 
Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Operations, proposes to amend Chapter 8 to allow signs and 
plaques on public rights-of-way to acknowledge sponsors 
who have contributed funds, services or materials for 
highway related purposes. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part III.  Outdoor Advertising 
Chapter 8. Advertising on Department of 

Transportation and Development owned 
Assets and Sponsorships on Public Rights 
of Way 

§801. Advertising on Department Assets 
A. Purpose 

1. The purpose of this Section is to establish a policy 
within the Department of Transportation and Development 
(department) for allowing certain limited types of 
advertising on high-visibility assets owned by the 
department for the sole purpose of raising revenue to defray 
some costs of departmental services. This Section shall not 
apply to advertisements or acknowledgments on roadway 
rights-of way. 

2. The establishment of this policy is not for the 
purpose of creating a public forum, but is for the purpose of 
allowing tasteful, visually appealing and inoffensive content 
for the department’s customers while simultaneously 
supplementing departmental revenues. 

3. The display of advertising on departmental assets 
will not constitute an endorsement by the department of any 
of the products, services or messages advertised. 

B. Requests for Proposals 
1. The department may issue requests for proposals in 

order to secure bidders for advertisement spaces on state-
owned assets.  

2. The requests for proposals will be reviewed by a 
committee appointed by the secretary and the most suitable 
proposal, as determined by the committee, shall be selected. 

3. The committee has the discretion to make 
reasonable choices concerning the types of advertising that 
may be displayed and shall utilize the criteria which follow 
in this Rule. 

4. The department may limit the number of assets 
available for advertising displays. 

5. The department may limit the term of the contract 
with the advertiser. 

C. Guidelines for Content of Advertising 
1. Only commercial advertising will be accepted. It 

should have content that promotes a commercial transaction. 
2. No content promoting illegal activity or obscene, 

vulgar or offensive conduct shall be allowed. 
3. No content that demeans or disparages individuals 

or groups shall be allowed. 
4. No political advertising shall be allowed. 
5. No advertising of adult oriented products shall be 

allowed. Exception: advertising of gambling facilities shall 
be allowed. 

6. The advertising should not be so controversial that 
it can promote vandalism of advertising materials and 
associated departmental property. 

D. Guidelines for Placement of Advertising on Assets 
1. For advertising which requires a power source, 

such as electronics or LED lighting, the advertiser will be 
required by the department to submit and maintain detailed 
plans and provisions. The use of the powered advertising 
devices shall not have any adverse effect on the safety and 
functionality of the asset. If the safety and functionality of 
the asset is compromised after installation, the advertising 
shall be removed. 

2. On ferries or vehicles, advertising may be placed on 
the inside or the outside of the ferry or vehicle. However, the 
advertising shall not be erected in such a manner that it 
impedes current lines of sight. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:21-26 and 48:274.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 37:3533 (December 2011), amended by the Office of 
Operations, LR 41: 
§803. Sponsorship Agreements and Acknowledgment 

Signs and Plaques on Public Rights of Way 
A. Applicability 

1. As provided in Federal Highway Administration 
Order 5160.1A (FHWA Order 5160.1A), this Section shall 
apply to any street or roadway that is open to public travel. 

B. Purpose 
1. The purpose of this Section is to allow the use of 

signs and plaques to acknowledge a provision of highway-
related services under both corporate and volunteer 
sponsorship programs while maintaining highway safety and 
minimizing driver distraction. 

C. All sponsorship agreements and acknowledgment 
signs and acknowledgment plaques shall comply with the 
manual on uniform traffic control devices for streets and 
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highways (MUTCD), published by the Federal Highway 
Administration (FHWA) under 23 CFR Part 655, Subpart F, 
and shall be administered pursuant to FHWA Order Number 
5160.1A. 

D. General Principles 
1. If federal-aid funds were used within the corridor or 

facility for which sponsorship is being provided, then 
monetary contributions received as part of sponsorship 
agreements shall be spent only for highway purposes. If 
federal-aid funds were not used within the corridor or 
facility for which sponsorship is being provided, then, where 
practical, monetary contributions received as part of 
sponsorship agreements should be used only for highway 
purposes. 

2. Agreements shall contain a provision requiring 
sponsors to comply with state laws prohibiting 
discrimination based on race, religion, color, age, sex, 
national origin, and all other applicable laws, rules and 
regulations. 

3. All sponsorship agreements involving the interstate 
highway system are contingent upon the approval of the 
FHWA division administrator. 

4. Sponsorship agreements shall include a termination 
clause giving the department the right to end such agreement 
at any time based on any of the following: 

a. safety concerns; 
b. interference with the free and safe flow of traffic; 
c. a determination that the sponsorship agreement 

or acknowledgement is not in the public interest; 
d. for the convenience of the department. 

5. The department will maintain full ownership of any 
sponsored product, event, and asset. 

6. The department shall maintain all authorship rights 
to publications. 

7. The sponsoring organization is not permitted to 
charge fees for state owned products, events, or access to 
state property. 

8. The sponsoring organization is not permitted to 
alter publications or other property without the written 
permission of the department. 

E. Sponsorship Contractors 
1. In some cases, the department may issue requests 

for proposals in order to secure bidders for the 
administration of the department’s sponsorship program. 
Payment for such services may be based upon revenues or 
in-kind services generated from sponsors for highway 
related services. 

2. Sponsorship contracts shall require the prior 
approval of the FHWA if the agreement relates to the 
Interstate highway system. 

F. Eligibility Requirements 
1. The department recognizes that entering into a 

sponsorship agreement with an external entity does not 
constitute an endorsement of the entity or its services and 
products but does imply an affiliation. Such affiliation can 
affect the reputation of the state among its citizens and its 
ability to govern effectively. Therefore, any proposal for 
sponsorship of a state program or service in which the 
involvement of an outside entity compromises the public’s 
perception of the state’s neutrality or its ability to act in the 
public interest will be rejected. 

2. The department shall consider the following criteria 
before entering into a sponsorship agreement: 

a. whether the sponsorship is consistent with the 
goals, objectives, and mission of the department and the 
current priorities that support these goals, objectives, and 
mission; and 

b. the importance of the sponsorship to the mission 
of the department; and 

c. the extent and prominence of the public display 
of sponsorship; and 

d. aesthetic characteristics of the public display of 
sponsorship; and 

e. the level of support provided by the sponsor; and 
f. the cooperation necessary from the department to 

implement the sponsorship; and 
g. any inconsistencies between the department’s 

policies and the known policies of the potential sponsor; and 
h. other factors that might undermine public 

confidence in the department’s impartiality or interfere with 
the efficient delivery of department services or operations, 
including, but not limited to, current or potential conflicts of 
interest, or perception of a conflict of interest, between the 
sponsor and department employees, officials, or affiliates; 
and the potential for the sponsorship to tarnish the state’s 
standing among its citizens or otherwise impair the ability of 
the state to govern its citizens. 

3. The amount of the approved financial or in-kind 
support is at the discretion of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:21-26 and 48:274.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Operations, LR 41: 
§805. Advertising and Sponsorship Standards 

Committee 
A. The secretary shall establish a three member 

Advertising and Sponsorship Standards Committee. Such 
committee shall be independent and its determinations shall 
constitute final departmental determinations. 

B. The committee shall review: 
1. all requests for proposals; 
2. the content of all advertisements; 
3. all sponsorship agreements; and 
4. the content of all acknowledgments signs and 

plaques to determine consistency with department policies 
and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:21-26 and 48:274.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Operations, LR 41: 
§807. Guidelines for Placement of Advertising on 

Assets 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:21-26 and 48:274.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 37:3533 (December 2011), repealed by the Office of 
Operations, LR 41: 
§809. Advertising Standards Committee 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:21-26 and 48:274.2. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 37:3533 (December 2011), repealed by the Office of 
Operations, LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
Implementation of this proposed Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically: 

1. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the stability of the family; 

2. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children; 

3.  the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the functioning of the 
family; 

4. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the family earnings and 
family budget; 

5. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children; 

6. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the ability of the family or 
local government to perform this function. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The implementation of this proposed Rule should not have 

any known or foreseeable impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as defined by R.S. 49:973. Specifically: 

1. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on household income, assets, 
and financial security; 

2. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development; 

3. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on employment and 
workforce development; 

4. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on taxes and tax credits; 

5. the implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities 
assistance. 

Small Business Statement 
The implementation of this proposed rule on small 

businesses, as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has 
been considered. The proposed Rule is not expected to have 
a significant adverse impact on small businesses. The 
department, consistent with health, safety, environmental 
and economic welfare factors, has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of the 
proposed statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the Rule on small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The implementation of this proposed Rule does not have 

any known or foreseeable impact on a provider as defined by 

House Concurrent Resolution No. 170 of the 2014 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana State Legislature. Specifically: 

1. the implementation of this proposed Rule does not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on the staffing level 
requirements or qualifications required to provide the same 
level of service; 

2. the implementation of this proposed Rule does not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on the total direct and 
indirect effect on the cost to a provider to provide the same 
levels of service; 

3. the implementation of this proposed Rule does not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on the overall effect 
on the ability of a provider to provide the same level of 
service. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons so desiring shall submit oral or 

written data, views, comments or arguments no later than 30 
days from the date of publication of this Notice of Intent to 
Kevin Reed, Ferry Administrator, Office of Operations, 
Department of Transportation and Development, P.O. Box 
94245, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9245, telephone (225) 379-
1916. 

 
Sherri H. LeBas 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Advertising on DOTD-Owned  
Assets and Sponsorships and Acknowledgment  

Signs on Public Rights of Way 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change establishes guidelines for the 
implementation of a program authorizing the Department of 
Transportation and Development (department) to enter into 
agreements with private sponsors for the placement of 
acknowledgment signs and plaques on public rights-of-way in 
exchange for funds, services or materials to be used for 
highway purposes. The department intends to hire a contractor 
to manage the sponsorship program. The contractor will be 
responsible for finding eligible sponsors and for all costs 
associated with installation, maintenance and removal of the 
acknowledgment signs and plaques. The contractor will retain a 
percentage of the total annual revenues generated (estimated to 
be between 25 and 30 percent, or between $500,000 and 
$640,000) as payment for services. The proposed rule will not 
result in any SGF expenditures.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to increase revenue 
collections for the department. It is estimated that the 
department will generate fees and self-generated revenues of 
approximately $500,000 in the first year and $1,500,000 
annually in future years after contract costs. This estimate is 
based upon information contained in a report prepared by 
Alvarez and Marsal Public Sector Services, LLC., entitled 
Governmental Efficiencies Management Support (GEMS) 
Transportation and Development Assessment / Plan.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs to directly affected persons 
or non-governmental groups as a result of this proposed rule 
change. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Acknowledgment signs and plaques may increase business 
activity through name recognition for commercial sponsors and 
may generate goodwill for both commercial and private 
sponsors. All businesses affected by this proposed rule change 
will be affected equitably. 

 
Eric Kalivoda, Ph.D., P.E. Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Secretary Staff Director 
1501#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Resident Game Hunting Season and Game Birds and 
Animals, General and Wildlife Management Area Provisions 

and Turkey Hunting Provisions, 
Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

(LAC 76:XIX.Chapter 1) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
general and wildlife management area rules and regulations 
for the 2015-2016 season, the resident game hunting season 
for the 2015-2017 hunting seasons, the general and wildlife 
management area rules and regulations for the turkey season, 
the turkey hunting areas, and seasons, and bag limits for the 
2016 turkey season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§101. General 

A. The resident game hunting season regulations are 
hereby adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. A 
complete copy of the regulation pamphlet may be obtained 
from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), LR 
26:1506 (July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 
2002), LR 29:1122 (July 2003), LR 30:1493 (July 2004), LR 
31:1627 (July 2005), LR 32:1253 (July 2006), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37:2206 (July 2011), LR 38:1747 (July 
2012), LR 40:1534 (August 2014), LR 41: 
§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals 

A. Shooting Hoursone-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

B. Consult Regulation Pamphlet for Seasons or Specific 
Regulations on Wildlife Management Areas or Specific 
Localities 

 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 

Quail 

OPENS:  
3rd Saturday of November 
CLOSES:  
Last Day of February 10 20 

Rabbit 
and 
Squirrel 

OPENS:  
1st Saturday of October 
CLOSES:  
Last Day of February 8 16 

Squirrel
* 

OPENS:  
1st Saturday of May for 23 
days 3 6 

Deer 
2015-17 See Schedule 

1 antlered 
and 1 
antlerless 
(when 
legal) 

6/season (not 
to exceed 3 
antlered deer 
or 4 antlerless 
deer) 

*NOTE: Spring squirrel season is closed on the Kisatchie National 
Forest, National Wildlife Refuges, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
property. Some state wildlife management areas will be open, check 
WMA season schedule. 

 
 
C. Deer Hunting Schedule 2015-2016 
 

Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  
(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 
Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
1 OPENS: 1st day of 

Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. 

2 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 
CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. in odd numbered years and on 
Wed. during even numbered years 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Tues. in odd numbered years or Wed. 
during even numbered years before 
the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd Sat. 
of Dec. in odd numbered years 
and on Thurs. during even 
numbered years EXCEPT when 
there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then it 
will open on the Wed. before the 
1st Sat. of Dec. on odd years and 
Thurs. during even numbered 
years 
CLOSES: 40 days after opening 
in odd numbered years or 39 days 
after opening in even numbered 
years 
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Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  
(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 
Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. 

of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days  

  

4 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of 
Nov.(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. (EITHER 
SEX FOR 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS 
ONLY FOR REMAINDER OF 
SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Nov. CLOSES: 
Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Nov. (EITHER 
SEX) 
OPENS: Friday after Thanksgiving 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. CLOSES: 
Sun. after 1st Sat. of Dec. (EITHER 
SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Jan. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Jan. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 4th Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 4th Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

5 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Day after the close of 
Modern Firearm Season 
CLOSES: After 7 consecutive days 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: Day after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: 2nd Sun. of Jan.(BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS:  Fri. after Thanksgiving 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
(EITHER SEX)  
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: 1st Sun. of Dec. (EITHER 
SEX) 

  

6 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. 

7 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct.(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. (BUCKS ONLY). 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Mon. after 3rd Sun. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri Before 1st Sat. of Nov. 
(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 
(EITHER SEX)  

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days(BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX) 
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Area Archery 

Primitive Firearms  
(All Either Sex  

Except as Noted) 
Still Hunt  

(No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. 

of Sept. 
CLOSES: 
Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

9 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 3rd 
Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov. and then it will close on the 
Fri. before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS)  
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 
Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
day. (EITHER SEX)  

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX)  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. 
of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 
Day(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 
PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days(BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. in Oct. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 
(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX) 

  

 
D. Deer Hunting Schedule 2016-2017 

 

Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
1 OPENS: 1st day of 

Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 

of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 

Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov., then it will open on 
the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov. and then it will close 
on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of 

Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 

Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 

Jan. 
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Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
2 OPENS: 1st day of 

Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day 

of Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of Oct. 

OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 

CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. in odd numbered years and on 
Wed. during even numbered years 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov. and then it will close on the 
Tues. in odd numbered years or 

Wed. during even numbered years 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd Sat. 
of Dec. in odd numbered years 

and on Thurs. during even 
numbered years EXCEPT when 
there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then it 
will open on the Wed. before the 
1st Sat. of Dec. on odd years and 

Thurs. during even numbered 
years 

CLOSES: 40 days after opening in 
odd numbered years or 39 days 
after opening in even numbered 

years 
3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 

Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 

CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days 

 

4 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 

CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 

Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. (EITHER 

SEX FOR 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS 
ONLY FOR REMAINDER OF 

SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov., then it will open on 
the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov. and then it will close 
on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of 

Dec. 
(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Nov. CLOSES: 

Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: Friday after Thanksgiving 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. CLOSES: 
Sun. after 1st Sat. of Dec. (EITHER 

SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Jan. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Jan. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Jan. 

(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 

Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 

PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of 

Dec. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 4th Sat. of Dec. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 4th Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 

Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

6 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 

CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Nov. 

OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 

CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov., then it will open on 
the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov. and then it will close 
on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of 

Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 

Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 

7 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 

CLOSES: Last day 
of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 

Oct.(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
(BUCKS ONLY). 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of Oct. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Mon. after 3rd Sun. of Oct. 

CLOSES: Fri Before 1st Sat. of 
Nov. (BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS EITHER 
SEX SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. of 

Nov. (EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving. 

CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 
(EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 

CLOSES: After 35 days(BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 

CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX) 
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Area Archery 
Primitive Firearms (All Either Sex 

Except as Noted) Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) With or Without Dogs 
8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 

Sept. 
CLOSES: 

Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 

OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 

CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

Day. 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

9 OPENS: 1st day of 
Oct. 

CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are 
BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 

Nov.(BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 

Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan.(EITHER 
SEX 1ST 7 DAYS, BUCKS ONLY 
FOR REMAINDER OF SEASON) 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving 
Day EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov., then it will open on 
the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. EXCEPT when there are 5 

Sats. in Nov. and then it will close 
on the Fri. before the 1st Sat. of 
Dec. (BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 

PROGRESS) 
OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving 

Day. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

day. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in 
Nov., then it will open on the 1st 

Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of Jan. 

(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 

PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Dec. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. in Jan. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. in 
Jan. (EITHER SEX) 

10 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of 
Sept. 

CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of Oct. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 

Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Dec. 

(BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving 

Day(BUCKS ONLY UNLESS 
EITHER SEX SEASON IS IN 

PROGRESS) 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 

CLOSES: After 37 days(BUCKS 
ONLY UNLESS EITHER SEX 
SEASON IS IN PROGRESS) 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 3rd Sat. in Oct. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 

CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. (EITHER SEX) 

OPENS: Fri. after Thanksgiving. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving. 

(EITHER SEX) 
OPENS: Sat. after Christmas. 

CLOSES: Sun. after Christmas. 
(EITHER SEX) 

 

 
E. Farm-raised white-tailed deer on supplemented 

shooting preserves: 
1. archery, firearm, primitive firearmsOctober 1-

January 31 (either-sex). 
F. Exotics on supplemented shooting preserves: 

1. either sexno closed season. 
G. Spring squirrel hunting: 

1. season datesopens 1st Saturday of May for 23 
days; 

2. closed areas: 
a. Kisatchie National Forest, national wildlife 

refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers property and all 
WMAs except as provided in Paragraph 3 below; 

3. wildlife management area scheduleopens first 
Saturday of May for nine days on all WMAs except Fort 
Polk, Peason Ridge, Camp Beauregard, Pass-a-Loutre and 
Salvador. Dogs are allowed during this season for squirrel 
hunting. Feral hogs may be taken on wildlife management 
areas during this season; 

4. limitsdaily bag limit is three and possession limit 
is nine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115, R.S. 56:109(B) and R.S. 56:141(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), LR 26:1506 (July 
2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 
29:1122 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1521 (August 2003), 
LR 30:1494 (July 2004), LR 31:1627 (July 2005), LR 32:1254 
(July 2006), LR 33:115 (January 2007), LR 33:1399 (July 2007), 
LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1280 (July 2009), LR 35:2856 
(December 2009), LR 36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37: 2207 (July 
2011), LR 38:1747 (July 2012), LR 40:1535 (August 2014), LR 41: 
§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 
A. Hunting Seasons and Wildlife Management Area 

(WMA) Regulations 
1. The rules and regulations contained within this 

digest have been officially approved and adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission under authority vested 
by sections 115 and 116 of title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and are in full force and effect in 
conjunction with all applicable statutory laws. The secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) has the 
authority to close or alter seasons in emergency situations in 
order to protect fish and wildlife resources. 
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2. Pursuant to section 40.1 of title 56 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes of 1950, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission has adopted monetary values which are 
assigned to all illegally taken, possessed, injured or 
destroyed fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life. Anyone taking, possessing, injuring 
or destroying fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life shall be required to reimburse the 
LDWF a sum of money equal to the value of the wildlife 
illegally taken, possessed, injured or destroyed. This 
monetary reimbursement shall be in addition to any and all 
criminal penalties imposed for the illegal act. 

B. Resident Game Birds and Animals 
1. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to 

one-half hour after sunset. 
C. Other Season Dates 

1. Turkey. Please refer to turkey regulations. 
2. Raccoon and Opossum. No closed season. Raccoon 

and opossum can be taken at night by one or more licensed 
hunters with one or more dogs and one .22 caliber or smaller 
rimfire firearm. A licensed hunter may take raccoon or 
opossum with .22 caliber or smaller rimfire firearm, .36 
caliber or smaller muzzleloader rifle or shotgun during 
daylight hours. Hunting from boats or motor vehicles is 
prohibited. No bag limit for nighttime or daytime raccoon or 
opossum hunting during the open trapping season except on 
certain WMAs as listed. The remainder of the year, the 
raccoon and opossum bag limit for daytime or nighttime is 
two per person per day or night. No one who hunts raccoons 
or opossums as prescribed above shall pelt during the closed 
trapping season nor sell skins or carcasses of raccoons and 
opossums taken during the open trapping season unless he is 
the holder of a valid trapping license which shall be required 
in addition to his basic hunting license. Pelting or selling 
carcasses is illegal during closed trapping season. 

3. Nutria. On WMAs and private property nutria may 
be taken recreationally by licensed hunters from September 
1 through the last day of February, during legal shooting 
hours by any legal hunting method with a daily limit of five. 
Except nutria may be taken on Atchafalaya Delta, 
Salvador/Timken, Pointe-Aux-Chenes and Pass-a-Loutre 
WMAs from September 1 to March 31. When taken with a 
shotgun, non-toxic shot must be used. On WMAs during 
waterfowl seasons, nutria may be taken only with the use of 
shotguns with shot no larger than F steel, and during gun 
deer seasons, anyone taking nutria must display 400 square 
inches of “hunter orange” and wear a “hunter orange” cap or 
hat. Recreational nutria hunters must remove each nutria 
carcass in whole condition from the hunting area, except that 
nutria may be gutted. Possession of detached nutria parts, 
including nutria tails, by recreational hunters is illegal. 
Nutria harvested recreationally may not be pelted nor may 
such nutria or any nutria parts from recreationally taken 
nutria be sold, including the tail. Trespassing upon private 
property for the purpose of taking nutria or other furbearing 
animals is punishable by fines and possible jail time (R.S. 
56:265). The Coastwide Nutria Control Program is a 
separate program and is in no way related to the nutria 
recreational season. For questions on the Coastwide Nutria 
Control Program, call the New Iberia office (337) 373-0032. 

4. Blackbirds and Crows. The season for crows shall 
be September 1 through January 1 with no limit; however 
crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles may be taken year 
round during legal shooting hours if they are depredating or 
about to depredate upon ornamentals or shade trees, 
agricultural crops, livestock, wildlife, or when concentrated 
in such numbers as to cause a health hazard. Louisiana has 
determined that the birds listed above are crop depredators 
and that crows have been implicated in the spread of the 
West Nile virus in humans. As described in 50 CFR Part 21, 
non-toxic shot must be used for the take of crows, 
blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles under the special 
depredation order. In addition an annual report has to be 
submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for those that 
participate in the take of these species. 

5. Pheasant. Open concurrently with the quail season; 
no limit. 

6. Falconry. Special permit required. Resident and 
migratory game species may be taken except turkeys. 
Seasons and bag limits are the same as for statewide and 
WMA regulations. Refer to LAC 76:V.301 for specific 
falconry rules. 

7. Licensed Hunting Preserve, October 1-April 30, 
Pen-Raised Birds Only. No limit entire season. Refer to LAC 
76:V.305 for specific hunting preserve rules. 

8. Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP). 
Refer to LAC 76:V.111 for specific DMAP rules. Deer 
management assistance tags must be in the possession of the 
hunter in order to harvest an antlerless deer. The tag shall be 
attached through the hock in such a manner that it cannot be 
removed before the deer is transported (including those 
taken on either-sex days and those taken with approved 
archery equipment or primitive firearms).  Failure to do so is 
a violation of R.S. 56:115. Deer harvested on property 
enrolled in DMAP do not count in the season or daily bag 
limit for hunters when legally tagged with DMAP tags. 
Failing to follow DMAP rules and regulations may result in 
suspension and cancellation of the program on those lands 
involved.  

9. Farm Raised White-tailed Deer and Exotics on 
Licensed Supplemented Shooting Preserves 

a. Definitions 
 Exotics—for purposes of this Section means any 
animal of the family Bovidae (except the Tribe Bovini 
[cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to Louisiana 
and which is confined on a supplemented hunting preserve. 
Exotics shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red 
deer, elk, sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope. 
 Hunting—in its different tenses and for purposes of 
this Section means to take or attempt to take, in accordance 
with R.S. 56:8. 
 Same as Outside—for purposes of this Section 
means hunting on a supplemented hunting preserve must 
conform to applicable statutes and rules governing hunting 
and deer hunting, as provided for in title 56 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission. 
 Supplemented Hunting Preserve—for purposes of 
this Section means any enclosure for which a current farm-
raising license has been issued by the Department of
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Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) with concurrence of the 
LDWF and is authorized in writing by the LDAF and LDWF 
to permit hunting. 
 White-Tailed Deer—for purposes of this Rule 
means any animal of the species Odocoileus virginianus 
which is confined on a supplemented hunting preserve. 

b. Seasons: 
 i. farm-raised white-tailed deer: consult the 
regulations pamphlet; 
 ii. exotics: year round. 

c. Methods of take: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: exotics may be taken with traditional 
bow, compound bow and crossbow or any bow drawn, held 
or released by mechanical means; shotguns not larger than 
10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or rifled slug; handguns and 
rifles no smaller than .22 caliber centerfire; or 
muzzleloading rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, using 
black powder or an approved substitute only, and using ball 
or bullet projectile, including saboted bullets only and other 
approved primitive firearms. 

d. Shooting hours: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

e. Bag limit: 
 i. farm-raised white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: no limit. 

f. Hunting licenses: 
 i. white-tailed deer: same as outside; 
 ii. exotics: no person shall hunt any exotic 
without possessing a valid basic and big game hunting 
license. 

g. Tagging. White-tailed deer and exotics: each 
animal shall be tagged in the left ear or left antler 
immediately upon being killed and before being moved from 
the site of the kill with a tag provided by the LDAF. The tag 
shall remain with the carcass at all times. 

10. Bobcat. No person other than the holder of a valid 
big game license may take or possess bobcat, except 
licensed trappers who may take or possess bobcat during the 
open trapping season. A big game licensee shall only take 
bobcat during the time period from one-half hour before 
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset with approved archery 
equipment, shotgun, muzzleloader or centerfire firearm. A 
big game licensee shall not take more than one bobcat per 
calendar year. This regulation applies only to property that is 
privately owned, state WMAs, Kisatchie National Forest, 
and the Bayou des Ourses, Bodcau, Bonnet Carre, and 
Indian Bayou tracts owned by the Corps of Engineers, but 
does not apply to state wildlife refuges, or other federally 
owned refuges and lands. On state WMAs and Kisatchie 
National Forest, the take of bobcat is restricted to those open 
seasons on the WMAs which require the respective legal 
weapons noted above. 

D. Hunting-General Provisions 
1. A basic resident or non-resident hunting license is 

required of all persons to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported by any other person any wild bird or quadruped. 
See information below for exceptions. 

2. No person born on or after September 1, 1969, shall 
hunt unless that person has first been issued a certificate of 
satisfactory completion of a firearm and hunter education 
course approved by the department, except any active or 
veteran member of the United States armed services or any 
POST-certified law enforcement officer. Application for the 
exemption shall be filed in person at the LDWF main office 
building in the city of Baton Rouge. A person under sixteen 
years of age may hunt without such certificate if he/she is 
accompanied by and is under the direct supervision of a 
person who was born before September 1, 1969, and has a 
valid hunting license or who is eighteen years of age or older 
and has proof of successful completion of a firearm and 
hunter education course approved by the department. 

3. A big game license is required in addition to the 
basic hunting license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any deer. A separate wild turkey license is 
required in addition to the basic hunting license and the big 
game license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be transported 
any turkey. 

4. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft or 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

5. Methods of Taking Resident Game Birds and 
Quadrupeds 

a. It is illegal to intentionally feed, deposit, place, 
distribute, expose, scatter, or cause to be fed, deposited, 
placed, distributed, exposed, or scattered raw sweet potatoes 
to wild game quadrupeds. 

b. Use of a traditional bow, compound bow and 
crossbow or any bow drawn, held or released by mechanical 
means or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge fired from the 
shoulder shall be legal for taking all resident game birds and 
quadrupeds. Also, the use of a handgun, rifle and falconry 
(special permit required) shall be legal for taking all game 
species except turkey. It shall be illegal to hunt or take 
squirrels or rabbits at any time with a breech-loaded rifle or 
handgun larger than .22 caliber, any centerfire firearm, or a 
muzzleloading firearm larger than .36 caliber. It shall be 
legal to hunt or take squirrels, rabbits, and outlaw 
quadrupeds with air rifles.  

c. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still 
hunting season or area is designated, and will be strictly 
enforced. Shotguns larger than 10 gauge or capable of 
holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs 
used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed 
without disassembly. Refer to game schedules contained 
within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of 
firearms and other devices. 

d. No person shall take or kill any game bird or wild 
quadruped with a firearm fitted with an infrared sight, laser 
sight, or except as provided in R.S. 56:116(A)(8) any 
sighting device which projects a beam of light to the target 
or otherwise electronically illuminates the target, or device 
specifically designed to enhance vision at night [R.S. 
56:116.1.B(3)]. 

6. Nuisance Animals. Landowners or their designees 
may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their 
property without a special permit. Water set traps and 
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firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be 
removed by any means except that nutria cannot be taken by 
the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise. With a special permit issued by the LDWF, beavers 
may be taken between one-half hour after official sunset to 
one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of three 
consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date of the 
permit.  Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot 
outside open trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A 
trapping license is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers 
or nutria taken during open trapping season. Squirrels found 
destroying commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-
round by permit issued by the LDWF. This permit shall be 
valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. Contact the local 
region office for details. 

7. Threatened and endangered species: Louisiana 
black bear, Louisiana pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher 
tortoise, ringed sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, 
peregrine falcon, whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping 
plover, interior least tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-
cockaded woodpecker, Bachman's warbler, West Indian 
manatee, Florida panther, pallid sturgeon, Gulf sturgeon, 
Atwater’s greater prairie chicken, whales and red wolf. 
Taking or harassment of any of these species is a violation of 
state and federal laws. 

8. Outlaw Quadrupeds. Holders of a legal hunting 
license may take coyotes, feral hogs, and armadillos year 
round during legal daylight shooting hours. The running of 
coyotes with dogs is prohibited in all turkey hunting areas 
during the open turkey season. Coyote hunting is restricted 
to chase only when using dogs during still hunting segments 
of the firearm and archery only seasons for deer. Foxes are 
protected quadrupeds and may be taken only with traps by 
licensed trappers during the trapping season. Remainder of 
the year "chase only" allowed by licensed hunters. 

9. Nighttime Take of Nuisance Animals and Outlaw 
Quadrupeds. On private property, the landowner, or his 
lessee or agent with written permission and the landowner’s 
contact information in his possession, may take outlaw 
quadrupeds (coyotes, armadillos and feral hogs), nutria, or 
beaver during the nighttime hours from one-half hour after 
official sunset on the last day of February to one-half hour 
after official sunset the last day of August of that same year. 
Such taking may be with or without the aid of artificial light, 
infrared or laser sighting devices, or night vision devices. In 
addition, pursuant to R.S. 56:116(D)(3) any person who is 
authorized to possess a firearm suppressor may use a firearm 
fitted with a sound suppressor when taking outlaw 
quadrupeds, nutria, or beaver. Any person attempting to take 
outlaw quadrupeds under the provisions of the paragraph, 
within 24 hours prior to the attempted taking, shall notify the 
sheriff of the parish in which the property is located and the 
LDWF Enforcement Division by calling (800) 442-2511 of 
their intention to attempt to take outlaw quadrupeds under 
the provision of this Paragraph. 

10. Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public 
Roads. Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game 
quadrupeds or game birds while on a public road or public 
road right-of-way is prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of 
firearms on roads or highways located on public levees or 
within 100 feet from the centerline of such levee roads or 
highways is prohibited. Spot lighting or shining from public 

roads is prohibited by state law. Hunting from all public 
roads and public road rights-of-way is prohibited. 

11. Tags. Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided 
shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big 
game license number of the person killing the deer or wild 
turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be 
legibly written in pen or pencil, on any piece of paper or 
cardboard or any material, which is attached or secured to or 
enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer 
management assistance tags must be attached and locked 
through the hock of antlerless deer, (including those taken 
with approved archery and primitive firearms, and those 
antlerless deer taken on either-sex days) in a manner that it 
cannot be removed, before the deer is moved from the site of 
the kill. 

12. Sex Identification. Positive evidence of sex 
identification, including the head or sex organs, shall remain 
on any deer taken or killed within the state of Louisiana, or 
on all turkeys taken or killed so long as such deer or turkey 
is kept in camp or field, or is in route to the domicile of its 
possessor, or until such deer or turkey has been stored at the 
domicile of its possessor or divided at a cold storage facility 
and has become identifiable as food rather than as wild 
game. 

E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 
1. Prior to hunting deer, all deer hunters, regardless of 

age or license status, must obtain deer tags and have in 
possession when hunting deer. Immediately upon harvesting 
a deer, the hunter must tag the deer with the appropriate 
carcass tag and document the kill on the deer tag license. 
Within seven days the hunter must validate the kill. Hunters 
harvesting deer on DMAP lands can validate deer per 
instructions by LDWF using the DMAP harvest data sheets.  
Hunters on WMAS can validate deer during mandatory deer 
check hunts, when deer check stations are in operation. 
Hunters may validate deer by calling the validation toll free 
number or using the validation website.  

2. 2015-2016 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest , Indian Bayou Area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day. 
Season limit is six, not to exceed three antlered deer or four 
antlerless deer (all segments included) by all methods of 
take, except antlerless harvest on property enrolled in 
DMAP does not count in the season or daily bag limit for 
hunters. Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer 
season on private lands (all seasons included) except as 
specified in deer hunting schedule. Consult deer hunting 
schedule in the regulations pamphlet for either-sex days for 
these parishes and areas. This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

3. 2016-2017 Season. One antlered and one antlerless 
deer per day (when legal) except on Kisatchie National 
Forest, Indian Bayou area owned by the US Army Corps of 
Engineers, and some federal refuges (check refuge 
regulations) where the daily limit shall be one deer per day. 
Season limit is six, not to exceed three antlered deer or four 
antlerless deer (all segments included) by all methods of 
take, except antlerless harvest on property enrolled in 
DMAP does not count in the season or daily bag limit for 
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hunters. Antlerless deer may be harvested during entire deer 
season on private lands (all seasons included) except as 
specified in deer hunting schedule. Consult deer hunting 
schedule in the regulations pamphlet for either-sex days for 
these parishes and areas. This does not apply to public lands 
(WMAs, national forest lands, and federal refuges) which 
will have specified either-sex days. 

4. A legal antlered deer is a deer with at least one 
visible antler of hardened bony material, broken naturally 
through the skin, except on Alexander State Forest WMA, 
Bayou Macon WMA, Big Lake WMA, Bodcau WMA, 
Boeuf WMA, Buckhorn WMA, Dewey Wills WMA, 
Jackson-Bienville WMA, Loggy Bayou WMA, Ouachita 
WMA, Pearl River WMA, Pomme de Terre WMA, Red 
River WMA, Russell Sage WMA, Sicily Island Hills WMA, 
Spring Bayou WMA, Three Rivers WMA and Union WMA 
during the experimental quality deer season (See the specific 
WMA schedule for more information.). A legal antlered deer 
during the experimental quality deer season shall be defined 
as a deer with at least four points on one side. To be counted 
as a point, a projection must be at least on inch long and its 
length must exceed the length of its base. The beam tip is 
counted as a point but not measured as a point. Killing 
antlerless deer is prohibited except where specifically 
allowed. 

5. Either-sex deer is defined as male or female deer. 
Taking or possessing spotted fawns is prohibited. 

6. It is illegal to hunt or shoot deer with firearms 
smaller than .22 caliber centerfire or a shotgun loaded with 
anything other than buckshot or rifled slug. Handguns may 
be used for hunting. 

7. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft, 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

8. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs or moving vehicles, including ATVs, 
when or where a still hunting season or area is designated, is 
prohibited and will be strictly enforced. The training of deer 
dogs is prohibited in all still hunting areas during the gun 
still hunting and archery only season. Deer hunting with 
dogs is allowed in all other areas having open deer seasons 
that are not specifically designated as still hunting only. A 
leashed dog may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or 
unrecovered deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used 
to trail or retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have 
on a collar with owner’s name, address, and phone number. 
In addition, a dog may be used to trail and retrieve 
unrecovered deer after legal hunting hours; however, no 
person accompanying a dog after legal hunting hours may 
carry a firearm of any sort. 

9. It is illegal to take deer while deer are swimming or 
while the hunter is in a boat with motor attached in operating 
position; however the restriction in this paragraph shall not 
apply to any person who has lost one or more limbs. 

10. Areas not specifically designated as open are 
closed. 

11. Primitive Firearms Season: Still Hunt Only. 
Specific WMAs will also be open, check WMA schedule for 
specific details. Primitive firearms license is required for 
resident hunters between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and 

non-residents 16 years of age and older. Either-sex deer may 
be taken in all deer hunting areas except as otherwise 
specified. It is unlawful to carry a gun, other than a primitive 
firearm, including those powered by air or other means, 
while hunting during the special primitive firearms segment. 
Except, it is lawful to carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded 
with #12 shot (ratshot only). 

a. Legal Firearms for Primitive Firearms Season  
 i. Rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or 
shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which must load 
exclusively from the muzzle, use black powder or approved 
substitute only, take ball, shot, or bullet projectile only, 
including saboted bullets, and may be fitted with magnified 
scopes.  
 ii. Single shot, breech loading rifles or pistols, .35 
caliber or larger, having an exposed hammer, that use 
metallic cartridges loaded either with black powder or 
modern smokeless powder, and may be fitted with magnified 
scopes. 
 iii. Single shot, breech loading shotguns, 10 gauge 
or smaller, having an exposed hammer, loaded with buckshot 
or rifled slug. 
 iv. Youths 17 or younger may hunt deer with any 
legal weapon during the primitive firearms season in each 
deer hunting area. 

12. Archery Season. Archery license required for 
resident bow hunters between the ages of 16 and 59 
inclusive and non-residents 16 years of age and older. Either-
sex deer may be taken in all areas open for deer hunting 
except when a bucks only season is in progress for gun 
hunting, and except in areas 6 and 9 from October 1-15. 
Archers must conform to the bucks only regulations. Either-
sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any time during archery 
season except when bucks only seasons are in progress on 
the respective WMA. Also, archery season restricted on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Salvador, Lake Boeuf, and Pointe-aux-
Chenes WMAs (see schedule). 

a. Bow and Arrow Regulations. Traditional bow, 
compound bow and crossbow or any bow drawn, held or 
released by mechanical means will be a legal means of take 
for all properly licensed hunters. Hunting arrows for deer 
must have well-sharpened broadhead points. Bow and arrow 
fishermen must have a sport fishing license and may not 
carry any arrows with broadhead points unless a big game 
season is in progress. 
 i. It is unlawful: 

(a). to carry a gun, including those powered by 
air or other means, while hunting with bow and arrow during 
the special bow and arrow deer season except it is lawful to 
carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded with #12 shot 
(ratshot) only; 

(b). to have in possession or use any poisoned or 
drugged arrow or arrows with explosive tips; 

(c). to hunt deer with a bow having a pull less 
than 30 pounds; 

(d). to hunt with a bow or crossbow fitted with 
an infrared, laser sight, electrically-operated sight or device 
specifically designed to enhance vision at night (does not 
include non-projecting red dot sights) [R.S. 56:116.1.B.(4)]. 

13. Hunter Orange. Any person hunting any wildlife 
during the open gun deer hunting season and possessing 
buckshot, slugs, a primitive firearm, or a centerfire rifle shall 
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display on his head, chest and/or back a total of not less than 
400 square inches of "hunter orange". Persons hunting on 
privately owned land may wear a hunter orange cap or hat in 
lieu of the 400 square inches. These provisions shall not 
apply to persons hunting deer from elevated stands on 
property that is privately owned or to archery deer hunters 
hunting on lands where firearm hunting is not allowed by 
agreement of the landowner or lessee. However, anyone 
hunting deer on such lands where hunting with firearms is 
allowed shall be required to display the 400 square inches or 
a hunter orange cap or hat while walking to and from 
elevated stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated 
stand, the 400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed. 
Warning: deer hunters are cautioned to watch for persons 
hunting other game or engaged in activities not requiring 
"hunter orange". 

14. Physically Challenged Season on Private Lands 
(Either-Sex): first Saturday of October for two days. 
Restricted to individuals with physically challenged hunter 
permit. 

15. Youth and Honorably Discharged Veterans Season 
on Private Lands (Either-Sex). Areas 1, 4, 5, 6 and 9: last 
Saturday of October for seven days; area 2: second Saturday 
of October for seven days; and areas 3, 7, 8 and 10: fourth 
Saturday of September for seven days. Youths 17 or younger 
only. Youths must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of 
age or older. Youths must possess a hunter safety 
certification or proof of successful completion of a hunter 
safety course. If the accompanying adult is in possession of 
hunter safety certification, a valid hunting license or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course, this 
requirement is waived for the youth. Adults may not possess 
a firearm. Youths may possess only one firearm while 
hunting. Legal firearms are the same as described for deer 
hunting. The supervising adult shall maintain visual and 
voice contact with the youth at all times. Except properly 
licensed youths 16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or 
older who have successfully completed a hunter safety 
course may hunt without a supervising adult. One of the 
following must be carried by veterans while hunting: 

a. Louisiana OMV issued U.S. Veterans Driver’s 
License; or 

b. U.S. Department of Defense Form 214 or one of 
the following DD_214 equivalents: 
 i. pre DD 214 era documents (1941_1950): 

(a). WE AGO (war department adjutant general) 
forms, to include WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD AGO 
53_55; 

(b). JAVPERS (naval personnel) discharge 
documents, to include NAVPERS 553, NAVMC78PD, 
NAVCG 553; 
 ii. National Personnel Records Center NPRC 
"statement of service," issued as a result of a destroyed 
discharge record during the 1973 National Archives fire; 
 iii. National Guard/Air National Guard must have 
NGB_22 with 6 or more years of service. 

F. Description of Areas, 2015-2017 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Madison, Richland, 
Tensas. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Catahoulaeast of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, east of Ouachita River from its confluence with Boeuf 
River to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 southwesterly to 
parish line; 
 ii. Granteast of US 165 and south of LA 8; 
 iii. LaSallesouth of a line beginning where 
Little River enters Catahoula Lake following the center of 
the lake eastward to Old River then to US 84, east of US 84 
northward to LA 8, south of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 iv. Ouachitasouth of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake; 
 v. Rapideseast of US 165 and north of Red 
River. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Catahoulasouth of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 913 and 
LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 ii. East Carrollall; 
 iii. Franklinall; 
 iv. Morehouseeast of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of LA 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of LA 139 at Bastrop to junction of LA 593, east and 
north of LA 593 to Collinston, east of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and south of LA 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake; 
 v. Ouachitasouth of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Bake; 
 vi. Richlandall. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Claiborne, 
DeSoto, Jackson, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, 
Union, Webster, Winn; 
 ii. except: Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allennorth of US 190 from parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of US 165 from Kinder northward 
to LA 10 at Oakdale, north of LA 10 from Oakdale westward 
to the parish line; 
 ii. Avoyellesthat portion west of I-49; 
 iii. Catahoulawest of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, west of Ouachita River from its confluence with 
Boeuf River to LA 8, north and west of LA 8 southwesterly 
to parish line; 
 iv. Evangelineall except the following portions: 
east of I-49 to junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 
to Ville Platte, and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 v. Grantall except that portion south of LA 8 
and east of US 165; 
 vi. Jefferson Davisnorth of US 190; 
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 vii. LaSallenorth of a line beginning where Little 
River enters Catahoula Lake, following the center of the lake 
eastward to Old River then to US 84, west of US 84 
northward to LA 8, north of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 viii. Morehousewest of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of LA 139 to junction of LA 593, west and 
south of LA 593 to Collinston, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and north of LA 134 to Ouachita Parish line at 
Wham Brake; 
 ix. Ouachitaall except south of US 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of 
LA 134, south of LA 134 to Morehouse Parish line at Wham 
Brake; 
 x. Rapidesall except north of Red River and 
east of US 165, south of LA 465 to junction of LA 121, west 
of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill, and north of LA 113 
from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line, and that portion south 
of Alexandria between Red River and US 167 to junction of 
US 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 
southward to parish line; 
 xi. Vernonnorth of LA 10 from the parish line 
westward to LA 113, south of LA 113 eastward to parish 
line. Also the portion north of LA 465 west of LA 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville and north of LA 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line.  

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Claiborne and WebsterCaney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest (see Kisatchie 
National Forest regulations); 
 ii. Ouachitaeast of Ouachita River; 
 iii. Rapideswest of US 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, west of I-49 
southward to parish line, north of parish line westward to US 
165, east of US 165 northward to US 167 at Alexandria. 
North of LA 465 from Vernon Parish line to LA 121, west of 
LA 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 
to LA 118 (Mora Road), south and west of LA 118 to 
Natchitoches Parish line; 
 iv. Vernoneast of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches Parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to LA 465, east and north of LA 465 to 
Rapides Parish line. 

3. Area 3 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Acadianorth of I-10; 
 ii. Allensouth of US 190 and west of LA 113; 
 iii. Beauregardwest of LA 113 and east of LA 
27 from the parish line northward to DeRidder and north of 
US 190 westward from DeRidder to Texas state line; 
 iv. Calcasieueast of LA 27 from Sulphur 
northward to the parish line, and north of I-10; 
 v. Jefferson Davisnorth of I-10 and south of US 
190; 
 vi. Lafayettewest of I-49 and north of I-10; 
 vii. Rapidessouth of LA 465 to junction of LA 
121, west of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill and north of 
LA 113 from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line; 

 viii. St. Landrywest of US 167; 
 ix. Vernonwest and north of LA 113, south of 
LA 465, east of LA 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of LA 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. Area 4 
a. All of St. Helena and Washington Parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. East Baton Rougeall except that portion 
north of I-110 and west of US 61; 
 ii. East Felicianaeast of US 61; 
 iii. West Felicianaeast of US 61; 
 iv. Livingstonnorth of I-12; 
 v. Tangipahoanorth of I-12; 
 vi. St. Tammanyall except that portion south of 
I-12, west of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to 
Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. East Feliciana and East Baton Rougeeast of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to LA 10, 
north of LA 10 from Thompson Creek to LA 67 at Clinton, 
west of LA 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line, south 
of Mississippi state line from LA 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of LA 67 
from LA 64 north to Parish Line, south of Parish Line from 
LA 64 eastward to Amite River, west of Amite River 
southward to LA 64, north of LA 64 to LA 37 at Magnolia, 
east of LA 37 northward to LA 64 at Indian Mound, north of 
LA 64 from Indian Mound to LA 67. Also, that portion of 
East Feliciana Parish east of LA 67 from parish line north to 
LA 959, south of LA 959 east to LA 63, west of LA 63 to 
Amite River, west of Amite River southward to parish line, 
north of parish line westward to LA 67; 
 ii. St. Helenanorth of LA 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to LA 449, east and south of 
LA 449 from LA 16 at Pine Grove northward to Rohner 
Road, south of Rohner Road to LA 1045, south of LA 1045 
to the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from LA 
1045 southward to LA 16 at Montpelier; 
 iii. Tangipahoathat portion of Tangipahoa Parish 
north of LA 10 from the Tchefuncte River to LA 1061 at 
Wilmer, east of LA 1061 to LA 440 at Bolivar, south of LA 
440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte River 
from LA 440 southward to LA 10; 
 iv. Washington and St. Tammanyeast of LA 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from LA 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to LA 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of LA 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
Parish line, north of the St. Tammany Parish line to the



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 275

Tangipahoa Parish line, east of the Tangipahoa Parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with LA 25; 
 v. West Felicianawest of Thompson Creek to 
Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central Railroad 
to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the junction of 
US 61 and LA 966, east of LA 966 from US 61 to Chaney 
Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson Creek. 

5. Area 5 
a. All of West Carroll Parish is open. 

6. Area 6 
a. All of Point Coupee Parish is open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Avoyellesall except that portion west of I-
49; 
 ii. Evangelinethat portion east of I-49 to 
junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 iii. Ibervilleall north of I-10, and that portion 
south of I-10 at the Atchafalaya Basin protection levee south 
to Upper Grand River, then north of Upper Grand River to 
the Intracoastal Canal at Jack Miller, then west of the 
Intracoastal Canal northward to Bayou Plaquemine, then 
north of Bayou Plaquemine to the Mississippi River; 
 iv. Lafayettenorth of I-10 and east of I-49; 
 v. Rapidessouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 vi. St. Landryeast of US 167; 
 vii. St. Martinnorth of I-10; 
 viii. East Baton Rougenorth of I-110 and west of 
US 61; 
 ix. West Felicianawest of US 61; 
 x. East Felicianawest of US 61; 
 xi. West Baton Rougenorth I-10. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Avoyellesnorth of LA 1 from Simmesport 
westward to LA 115 at Marksville, east of LA 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to LA 1 at Simmesport; 
 ii. Rapidessouth of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 iii. West Felicianawest of Thompson Creek to 
Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central Railroad 
to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the junction of 
US 61 and LA 966, east of LA 966 from US 61 to Chaney 
Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson Creek. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Iberiasouth of LA 14 and west of US 90; 
 ii. St. Maryall except that portion north of US 
90 from Iberia Parish line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east 
of Wax Lake Outlet southward to Intracoastal Waterway, 
north of Intracoastal Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya 
River, east of the Atchafalaya River. 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Allenthat portion east of LA 113 from the 
parish line to US 190, north of US 190 eastward to Kinder, 

west of US 165 northward to LA 10 at Oakdale and south of 
LA 10 from Oakdale westward to parish line; 
 ii. Beauregardthat portion east of LA 113. Also 
that portion west of LA 27 from parish line northward to 
DeRidder, south of US 190 from DeRidder to Texas state 
line; 
 iii. Calcasieuthat portion west of LA 27 from 
the parish line southward to Sulphur and north of I-10 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line; 
 iv. Vernonthat portion west of LA 113 from the 
parish line northward to Pitkin and south of LA 10 from 
Pitkin southward to the parish line. 

9. Area 9 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

Ascension, Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, 
Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John, 
Terrebonne. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Iberiaeast of US 90; 
 ii. Ibervillesouth of I-10, and west of the
Atchafalaya Basin Protection levee, to Upper Grand River, 
then South of Upper Grand River to the Intracoastal Canal at 
Jack Miller, then east of the Intracoastal Canal to Bayou 
Plaquemines, then south of Bayou Plaquemines to the 
Mississippi River; 
 iii. Lafayettesouth of I-10 and east of US 90; 
 iv. Livingstonsouth of I-12; 
 v. St. Martinsouth of I-10; 
 vi. St. Marynorth of US 90 from Iberia Parish 
line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east of Wax Lake Outlet 
southward to Intracoastal Waterway, north of Intracoastal 
Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya River, east of the 
Atchafalaya River; 
 vii. St. Tammanythat portion south of I-12, west 
of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 
 viii. Tangipahoasouth of I-12; 
 ix. high water benchmark closure. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberia, Iberville, St. Martin, and St. Mary 
parishes south of I-10, west of the East Guide Levee, east of 
the West Guide Levee, and north of US 90 will be closed 
when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 18 feet 
at Butte LaRose. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Ibervilleeast of the Mississippi River; 
 ii. Plaquemineseast of the Mississippi River; 
 iii. St. Bernardall of the parish shall be still 
hunting only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the 
spoil area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal 
on the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou 
la Loutre; 
 iv. St. Johnsouth of Pass Manchac from Lake 
Pontchartrain to US 51, east of US 51 from Pass Manchac to 
LA 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of LA 638 from US 51 
to Lake Pontchartrain, west of Lake Pontchartrain from LA 
638 to Pass Manchac. 

10. Area 10 
a. All of Cameron and Vermillion Parishes are 

open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
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 i. Acadiasouth of I-10; 
 ii. Calcasieusouth of I-10; 
 iii. Iberiawest of US 90 and north of LA 14; 
 iv. Jefferson Davissouth of I-10; 
 v. Lafayettesouth of I-10 and west of Hwy 90. 

G. WMA Regulations 
1. General 

a. The following rules and regulations concerning 
the management, protection and harvest of wildlife have 
been officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, section 109 
of title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

b. Citizens are cautioned that by entering a WMA 
managed by the LDWF they may be subjecting themselves 
and/or their vehicles to game and/or license checks, 
inspections and searches. 

c. WMA seasons may be altered or closed anytime 
by the LDWF secretary in emergency situations (floods, fire 
or other critical circumstances). 

d. Hunters may enter the WMA no earlier than 4 
a.m. unless otherwise specified. Hunters must check out and 
exit the WMA no later than two hours after sunset, or as 
otherwise specified. 

e. Lands within WMA boundaries will have the 
same seasons and regulations pertaining to baiting and use of 
dogs as the WMA within which the lands are enclosed; 
however, with respect to private lands enclosed within a 
WMA, the owner or lessee may elect to hunt according to 
the regular season dates and hunting regulations applicable 
to the geographic area in which the lands are located, 
provided that the lands are first enrolled in DMAP. 
Interested parties should contact the nearest LDWF region 
office for additional information. 

f. Dumping garbage or trash on WMAs is 
prohibited. Garbage and trash may be properly disposed of 
in designated locations if provided. 

g. Disorderly conduct or hunting under influence of 
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances 
is prohibited. 

h. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast 
(including but not limited to acorns and pecans), wild plants, 
non-game wildlife (including reptiles and amphibians) or 
any species of butterflies, skippers or moths is prohibited 
without a permit from the LDWF. Gathering and/or removal 
of soft fruits, mushrooms and berries shall be limited to five 
gallons per person per day. 

i. Burning of marshes is prohibited. Hunting 
actively burning marsh is prohibited. 

j. Nature Trails. Trails shall be limited to 
pedestrians only. No vehicles, ATVs, horses, mules, bicycles, 
etc. allowed. Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or 
other natural material prohibited. 

k. Deer seasons are for legal buck deer unless 
otherwise specified. 

l. Small game, when listed under the WMA 
regulations may include both resident game animals and 
game birds as well as migratory species of birds. 

m. Oysters may not be harvested from any WMA, 
except that oysters may be harvested from private oyster 
leases and state seed grounds located within a WMA, when 
authorized by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and 
upon approval by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

n. Free ranging livestock prohibited. 
2. Permits 

a. A WMA hunting permit is required for persons 
ages 18 through 59 to hunt on WMAs. 

b. Self-Clearing Permits. A self-clearing permit is 
required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, bird 
watching, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise 
specified. The self-clearing permit will consist of two 
portions: check in, check out. On WMAs where self-clearing 
permits are required, all persons must obtain a WMA self-
clearing permit from an information station. The check in 
portion must be completed and put in a permit box before 
each day's activity on the day of the activity (except if 
hunting from a private camp adjacent to the WMA being 
hunted or if camping on the WMA, users need only to check 
in once during any 72 hour period). Users may check-in one 
day in advance of use. The check-out portion must be carried 
by each person while on the WMA and must be completed 
and put in a permit box immediately upon exiting the WMA 
or within 72 hours after checking in if hunting from a private 
camp adjacent to the WMA being hunted or if camping on 
the WMA. No permit is required of fishers and boaters who 
do not travel on a WMA road and/or launch on the WMA as 
long as they do not get out of the boat and onto the WMA. 
When mandatory deer checks are specified on WMAs, 
hunters must check deer at a check station. (Self-clearing 
permits are not required for persons only traveling through 
the WMA provided that the most direct route is taken and no 
activities or stops take place.)  

c. Persons using WMAs or other LDWF 
administered lands for any purpose must possess one of the 
following: a valid wild Louisiana stamp, a valid Louisiana 
fishing license, or a valid Louisiana hunting license. Persons 
younger than 16 or older than 60 years of age are exempt 
from this requirement. Also a self-clearing WMA permit, 
detailed above, may be required (available at most entrances 
to each WMA). Check individual WMA listings for 
exceptions. 

3. Special Seasons 
a. Youth Deer Hunt. Youths 17 or younger only. 

Youths must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or 
older. Youths must possess a hunter safety certification or 
proof of successful completion of a hunter safety course. If 
the accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. Legal 
firearms are the same as described for deer hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
and youths 12 years old or older who have successfully 
completed a hunter safety course may hunt without a 
supervising adult. Contact the appropriate region office for 
maps of specific hunting areas. Either-sex deer may be taken
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on WMAs with youth hunts. Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering youth hunts.  

NOTE: Some hunts may be by pre-application lottery. 
b. Youth Squirrel Hunt (on selected WMAs only). 

Only youths 17 or younger may hunt. Squirrel, rabbit, 
raccoon, hogs and opossum may be taken. No dogs allowed. 
All other seasons will remain open to other hunters. Youths 
must possess a hunter safety certification or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must 
be accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
and youths 12 years old or older who have successfully 
completed a hunter safety course may hunt without a 
supervising adult. Self-clearing permits are required. Consult 
the regulations pamphlet for WMAs offering youth squirrel 
hunts. 

c. Youth Mourning Dove Hunt. A youth mourning 
dove hunt will be conducted on specific WMAs and will 
follow the same regulations provided for youth deer hunts on 
the first or second weekend of the mourning dove season 
(Saturday and/or Sunday only). Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering youth mourning dove hunts. 

d. Physically Challenged Season. An either-sex deer 
season will be held for hunters possessing a physically 
challenged hunter permit on WMAs during the dates 
specified under the individual WMA. Participants must 
possess a physically challenged hunter permit. Contact 
region office for permit application and map of specific 
hunting area. Consult the regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering physically challenged seasons.  

e. Turkey Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to those 
persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
for deadlines. All turkeys must be reported at self-clearing 
station. Contact region offices for more details. Consult 
separate turkey hunting regulations pamphlet for more 
details. 

f. Waterfowl Lottery Hunts. Hunts restricted to 
those persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for deadline. Consult regulations pamphlet for 
individual WMA schedules or contact any Wildlife Division 
Office for more details. 

g. Mourning Dove Lottery Hunts. Consult 
regulations pamphlet for individual WMA schedules or 
contact any Wildlife Division office for more details. 

h. Trapping. Consult annual trapping regulations for 
specific dates. All traps must be run daily. Traps with teeth 
are illegal. Hunter orange required when a deer gun season is 
in progress.  

i. Raccoon Hunting. A licensed hunter may take 
raccoon or opossum, one per person per day, during daylight 
hours only, during the open rabbit season on WMAs.  
 Nighttime Experimentalall nighttime raccoon 
hunting where allowed is with dogs only. There is no bag 
limit. Self-clearing permit required. 

j. Sport Fishing. Sport fishing, crawfishing and 
frogging are allowed on WMAs when in compliance with 

current laws and regulations except as otherwise specified 
under individual WMA listings. 

k. Small Game Emphasis Areas. Specially 
designated areas on certain WMAs will allow small game 
hunting with dogs, confined to that specific area when the 
remainder of the WMA is restricted to still hunt only. 
Additionally, off season training of rabbit and bird dogs may 
be allowed on some of the small game emphasis areas. Small 
game emphasis areas are offered on Big Colewa Bayou, 
Bayou Macon, Bayou Pierre, Boeuf, Dewey W. Wills, Marsh 
Bayou, Ouachita, Richard K. Yancey, Sandy Hollow, 
Sherburne, and Walnut Hill WMAs.  

4. Firearms 
a. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber, 

magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms and 
crossbows cocked in the ready position are not allowed in or 
on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles, ATVs, UTVs, 
ATCs or in camping areas on WMAs. Firearms may not be 
carried on any area before or after permitted hours except in 
authorized camping areas and except as may be permitted 
for authorized trappers. 

b. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on 
WMAs during closed seasons except on designated shooting 
ranges or as permitted for trapping and except as allowed 
pursuant to R.S. 56:109(C) and R.S. 56:1691. Bows and 
broadhead arrows are not allowed on WMAs except during 
deer archery season, turkey season or as permitted for 
bowfishing. Active and retired law enforcement officers in 
compliance with POST requirements, federal law 
enforcement officers and holders of Louisiana concealed 
handgun permits or permit holders from a reciprocal state 
who are in compliance with all other state and federal 
firearms regulations may possess firearms on WMAs 
provided these firearms are not used for any hunting 
purpose. 

c. Encased or broken down firearms and any game 
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most 
direct route provided that no other route exists except as 
specified under WMA listing. 

d. Loaded firearms are not allowed near WMA 
check stations. 

e. Centerfire rifles and handguns larger than .22 
caliber rimfire, shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or 
F steel shot cannot be carried onto any WMA except during 
modern and primitive firearm deer seasons and during 
special shotgun season for feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, 
Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and Salvador WMAs 
(consult regulations pamphlet for specific WMA 
regulations). 

f. Target shooting and other forms of practice 
shooting are prohibited on WMAs except as otherwise 
specified. 

g. Discharging of firearms on or across, or hunting 
from designated roads, ATV/UTV trails, nature trails, hiking 
trails, and their rights-of-way is prohibited during the 
modern firearms and primitive firearms deer seasons. 

5. Methods of Taking Game 
a. Moving deer or hogs on a WMA with organized 

drives and standers, drivers or making use of noises or noise-
making devices is prohibited. 

b. On WMAs the daily limit shall be one antlered 
deer and one antlerless deer (when legal) per day, not to 
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exceed three antlered deer or four antlerless deer per season 
(all segments included) by all methods of take.  

c. Baiting, hunting over bait, or possession of bait is 
prohibited on all WMAs, EXCEPT bait may be kept in a 
vehicle traversing a WMA road or parked on a WMA road. 
Bait is defined as any substance used to attract game via 
ingestion.  

d. During mandatory deer check hunts, deer may 
not be skinned nor have any external body parts removed 
including but not limited to feet, legs, tail, head or ears 
before being checked out. 

e. Deer hunting on WMAs is restricted to still 
hunting only.  

f. Construction of and/or hunting from permanent 
tree stands or permanent blinds on WMAs is prohibited. Any 
permanent stand or permanent blind will be removed and 
destroyed. A permanent blind is any blind using non-natural 
materials or having a frame which is not dismantled within 
two hours after the end of legal shooting time each day. 
Blinds with frames of wood, plastic, metal poles, wire, 
mesh, webbing or other materials may be used but must be 
removed from the WMA within two hours after the end of 
legal shooting time each day. Blinds made solely of natural 
vegetation and not held together by nails or other metallic 
fasteners may be left in place but cannot be used to reserve 
hunting locations. Natural vegetation (including any material 
used as corner posts) is defined as natural branches that are 2 
inches or less in diameter. All decoys must be removed from 
the WMA daily. Permanent tree stands are any stands that 
use nails, screws, spikes, etc., to attach to trees and are 
strictly prohibited. Deer stands may not be left on WMAs 
unless the stands are removed from trees, placed flat on the 
ground, and left in a non-hunting position (a non-hunting 
position is one in which a hunter could not hunt from the 
stand in its present position). Also, all stands left must be 
legibly tagged with the user’s name, address, phone number 
and LDWF i.d. number. No stand may be left on any WMA 
prior to the day before deer season opens on that WMA and 
all stands must be removed from the WMA within one day 
after the close of deer hunting on that WMA. Free standing 
blinds must be disassembled when not in use. Stands left 
will not reserve hunting sites for the owner or user. All 
portable stands, blinds, tripods, etc., found unattended in a 
hunting position, not placed flat on the ground, or untagged 
will be confiscated and disposed of by the LDWF. LDWF is 
not responsible for unattended stands left on an area. 

g. Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined 
Deer and Waterfowl Hunting Areas: special deer and 
waterfowl hunting areas, blinds and stands identified with 
LDWF logos, have been established for physically 
challenged hunter permit (PCHP) wheelchair confined 
hunters on WMAs. Hunters must obtain a PCHP permit and 
are required to make reservations to use blinds and stands. 
PCHP wheelchair hunting areas are available on Alexander 
State Forest, Big Colewa Bayou, Buckhorn, Clear Creek, 
Elbow Slough, Floy McElroy, Jackson-Bienville, Ouachita, 
Sandy Hollow, and Sherburne WMAs. Check WMA hunting 
schedules or call the LDWF field offices in Pineville, Lake 
Charles, Opelousas, Minden, Monroe or Hammond for 
information. 

h. Hunting from utility poles and structures, and oil 
and gas exploration facilities or platforms is prohibited. 

i. It is illegal to save or reserve hunting locations 
using permanent stands or blinds. Stands or blinds attached 
to trees with screws, nails, spikes, etc. are illegal. 

j. Tree climbing spurs, spikes or screw-in steps are 
prohibited. 

k. Unattended decoys will be confiscated and 
forfeited to the LDWF and disposed of by the LDWF. This 
action is necessary to prevent preemption of hunting space. 

l. Spot lighting (shining) from vehicles is 
prohibited on all WMAs. 

m. Horses and mules may be ridden on WMAs 
except where prohibited and except during gun seasons for 
deer and turkey. Riding is restricted to designated roads and 
trails depicted on WMA map, self-clearing permit is 
required. Organized trail rides prohibited except allowed by 
permit only on Camp Beauregard. Hunting and trapping 
from horses and mules is prohibited except for quail hunting 
or as otherwise specified. Horse-drawn conveyances are 
prohibited. 

n. All hunters (including archers and small game 
hunters) except waterfowl hunters and mourning dove 
hunters on WMAs must display 400 square inches of "hunter 
orange" and wear a “hunter orange” cap during open gun 
season for deer. Quail and woodcock hunters and hunters 
participating in special dog seasons for rabbit, squirrel and 
feral hogs are required to wear a minimum of a “hunter 
orange” cap. All other hunters and archers (while on the 
ground) except waterfowl hunters also must wear a 
minimum of a “hunter orange” cap during special dog 
seasons for rabbit and squirrel and feral hogs. Also all 
persons afield during hunting seasons are encouraged to 
display "hunter orange". Hunters participating in special 
shotgun season for feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-
Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and Salvador WMAs must 
display 400 square inches of hunter orange and wear a 
“hunter orange” cap. 

o. Deer hunters hunting from concealed ground 
blinds must display a minimum of 400 square inches of 
“hunter orange” above or around their blinds which is visible 
from 360 degrees. 

p. Archery Season for Deer. The archery season on 
WMAs is the same as outside and is open for either-sex deer 
except as otherwise specified on individual WMAs. Archery 
season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta and closed on certain 
WMAs when special seasons for youth or physically 
challenged hunts are in progress. Consult regulations 
pamphlet for specific seasons. 

q. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any 
time during archery season except when bucks only seasons 
are in progress on the respective WMAs. Archers must abide 
by bucks only regulations and other restrictions when such 
seasons are in progress. 

r. Primitive Firearms Season for Deer. Either-sex 
unless otherwise specified. See WMA deer schedule. Except 
youths 17 or younger may use any legal weapon during the 
primitive firearm season. 

6. Camping 
a. Camping on WMAs, including trailers, 

houseboats, recreational vehicles and tents, is allowed only 
in designated areas and for a period not to exceed 16 
consecutive days, regardless if the camp is attended or 
unattended. At the end of the 16-day period, camps must be 
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removed from the area for at least 48 hours. Camping area 
use limited exclusively to outdoor recreational activities. 

b. Houseboats are prohibited from overnight 
mooring within WMAs except on stream banks adjacent to 
LDWF-owned designated camping areas. Overnight 
mooring of vessels that provide lodging for hire are 
prohibited on WMAs. Houseboats shall not impede 
navigation. On Atchafalaya Delta WMA houseboats may be 
moored by permit only in designated areas during hunting 
season. Permits are available by lottery annually or by three 
year lease through a bid program.  

c. Discharge of human waste onto lands or waters 
of any WMA is strictly prohibited by state and federal law. 
In the event public restroom facilities are not available at a 
WMA, the following is required. Anyone camping on a 
WMA in a camper, trailer, or other unit (other than a 
houseboat or tent) shall have and shall utilize an operational 
disposal system attached to the unit. Tent campers shall have 
and shall utilize portable waste disposal units and shall 
remove all human waste from the WMA upon leaving. 
Houseboats moored on a WMA shall have a permit or letter 
of certification from the Health Unit (Department of Health 
and Hospitals) of the parish within which the WMA occurs 
verifying that it has an approved sewerage disposal system 
on board. Further, that system shall be utilized by occupants 
of the houseboats when on the WMA. 

d. No refuse or garbage may be dumped from these 
boats. 

e. Firearms may not be kept loaded or discharged in 
a camping area unless otherwise specified. 

f. Campsites must be cleaned by occupants prior to 
leaving and all refuse placed in designated locations when 
provided or carried off by campers. 

g. Trash must be contained at all times while 
camping.  

h. Burning of trash is prohibited. 
i. Glass containers prohibited on campgrounds.  
j. Non-compliance with camping regulations will 

subject occupant to immediate expulsion and/or citation, 
including restitution for damages. 

k. Swimming is prohibited within 100 yards of boat 
launching ramps. 

7. Restricted Areas 
a. For your safety, all oil and gas production 

facilities (wells, pumping stations and storage facilities) are 
off limits. 

b. No unauthorized entry or unauthorized hunting in 
restricted areas, refuges, or limited use areas unless 
otherwise specified. 

8. Dogs. All use of dogs on WMAs, except for bird 
hunting and duck hunting, is experimental as required by 
law. Having or using dogs on any WMA is prohibited except 
for nighttime experimental raccoon hunting, squirrel 
hunting, rabbit hunting, bird hunting, duck hunting, hog 
hunting and bird dog training when allowed; see individual 
WMA season listings for WMAs that allow dogs. Dogs 
running at large are prohibited on WMAs. The owner or 
handler of said dogs shall be liable. Only recognizable 
breeds of bird dogs and retrievers are allowed for quail and 
migratory bird hunting. Only beagle hounds which do not 
exceed 15 inches at the front shoulders and which have 
recognizable characteristics of the breed may be used on 

WMAs having experimental rabbit seasons. A leashed dog 
may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or unrecovered 
deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used to trail or 
retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have on a collar 
with owner’s name, address and phone number. In addition, 
a dog may be used to trail and retrieve unrecovered deer 
after legal hunting hours; however, no person accompanying 
a dog after legal hunting hours may carry a firearm of any 
sort. 

9. Vehicles 
a. An all-terrain vehicle is an off-road vehicle (not 

legal for highway use) with factory specifications not to 
exceed the following: weight-750 pounds, length-85", and 
width-48". ATV tires are restricted to those no larger than 26 
x 12 with a maximum l” lug height and a maximum 
allowable tire pressure of 12 psi. as indicated on the tire by 
the manufacturer. Use of all other ATVs or ATV tires are 
prohibited on a WMA. 

b. Utility type vehicle (UTV, also utility terrain 
vehicle) is defined as any recreational motor vehicle other 
than an ATV, not legal for highway use, designed for and 
capable of travel over designated unpaved roads, traveling 
on four or more low-pressure tires, with factory 
specifications not to exceed the following: weight-1900 
pounds, length-128" and width-68". UTV tires are restricted 
to those no larger than 26 x 12 with a maximum 1" lug 
height and a maximum allowable tire pressure of 12 psi. 
UTV’s are commonly referred to as side by sides and may 
include golf carts. 

c. Vehicles having wheels with a wheel-tire 
combination radius of 17 inches or more measured from the 
center of the hub and horizontal to ground are prohibited. 

d. The testing, racing, speeding or unusual 
maneuvering of any type of vehicle is prohibited within 
WMAs due to property damages resulting in high 
maintenance costs, disturbance of wildlife and destruction of 
forest reproduction. 

e. Tractor or implement tires with farm tread 
designs Rl, R2 and R4 known commonly as spade or lug 
grip types are prohibited on all vehicles.  

f. Airboats, aircraft, personal water craft, “mud 
crawling vessels” (commonly referred to as crawfish 
combines which use paddle wheels for locomotion) and 
hover craft are prohibited on all WMAs and refuges. 
Personal water craft are defined as a vessel which uses an 
inboard motor powering a water jet pump as its primary 
source of propulsion and is designed to be operated by a 
person sitting, standing or kneeling on the vessel rather than 
in the conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the 
vessel. Personal water craft allowed on designated areas of 
Alexander State Forest WMA. Except, type A personal water 
craft, model year 2003 and beyond, which are eight feet in 
length and greater, may be operated in the areas of Catahoula 
Lake, Manchac WMA, Maurepas Swamp WMA, Pearl River 
WMA and Pointe-aux-Chenes WMA from April 1 until the 
Monday of Labor Day weekend, from sunrise to sunset only. 
No person shall operate such water craft at a speed greater 
than slow/no wake within 100 feet of an anchored or moored 
vessel, shoreline, dock, pier, persons engaged in angling or 
any other manually powered vessel. 

g. Driving or parking vehicles on food or cover 
plots and strips is prohibited. 
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h. Blocking the entrance to roads and trails is 
prohibited. 

i. Licensed motorized vehicles (LMVs) legal for 
highway use, including motorcycles, are restricted entirely to 
designated roads as indicated on WMA maps. UTVs are 
restricted to marked UTV trails only, EXCEPT that those 
UTVs in which the manufacturer’s specifications do not 
exceed the weight, length, width, and tire restrictions for 
ATVs are allowed on ATV trails. ATVs are restricted to 
marked ATV trails only when WMA roads are closed to 
LMVs, ATVs and UTVs may then use those roads when 
allowed.  This restriction does not apply to bicycles.  

NOTE: Only ATV and UTV trails marked with signs and/or 
paint, and depicted on WMA maps are open for use. 

j. Use of special ATV trails for physically 
challenged persons is restricted to ATV physically 
challenged permittees. Physically challenged ATV 
permittees are restricted to physically challenged ATV trails 
or other ATV trails only as indicated on WMA maps or as 
marked by sign and/or paint. Persons 60 years of age and 
older, with proof of age, are also allowed to use special 
physically challenged trails and need not obtain a permit. 
However, these persons must abide by all rules in place for 
these trails. Physically challenged persons under the age of 
60 must apply for and obtain a physically challenged hunter 
program permit from the LDWF. 

k. Entrances to ATV trails will be marked with 
peach colored paint. Entrances to physically challenged-only 
ATV trails will be marked with blue colored paint. Entrances 
to ATV trails that are open all year long will be marked with 
purple paint. The end of all ATV trails will be marked by red 
paint. WMA maps serve only as a general guide to the route 
of most ATV trails, therefore all signage and paint marking 
as previously described will be used to determine 
compliance. Deviation from this will constitute a violation of 
WMA rules and regulations.  

l. Roads and trails may be closed due to poor 
condition, construction or wet weather. 

m. ATVs, and motorcycles cannot be left overnight 
on WMAs except on designated camping areas. ATVs are 
prohibited from two hours after sunset to 4 a.m., except 
raccoon hunters may use ATVs during nighttime raccoon 
take seasons only. ATVs are prohibited from March 1 
through August 31 except squirrel hunters are allowed to use 
ATV trails during the spring squirrel season on the WMA 
and except certain trails may be open during this time period 
to provide access for fishing or other purposes and some 
ATV trails will be open all year long on certain WMAs.  

n. Caution. Many LDWF-maintained roadways on 
WMAs are unimproved and substandard. A maximum 20 
mph speed limit is recommended for all land vehicles using 
these roads, unless specific signage otherwise allows or 
restricts. 

o. Hunters are allowed to retrieve their own downed 
deer and hogs with the aid of an ATV except on 
Thistlethwaite, Sherburne, Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, 
Pointe-aux-Chenes, Salvador, Timken, Lake Bouef, and 
Biloxi WMAs under the following conditions: 
 i. no firearms or archery equipment is in 
possession of the retrieval party or on the ATV; 
 ii. the retrieval party may consist of no more than 
one ATV and one helper; 

 iii. ATVs may not be used to locate or search for 
wounded game or for any other purpose than retrieval of 
deer and hogs once they have been legally harvested and 
located; 
 iv. UTV’s may not be used to retrieve downed 
deer or hogs. 

10. Commercial Activities 
a. Hunting Guides/Outfitters. No person or group 

may act as a hunting guide, outfitter or in any other capacity 
for which they are paid or promised to be paid directly or 
indirectly by any other individual or individuals for services 
rendered to any other person or persons hunting on any 
WMA, regardless of whether such payment is for guiding, 
outfitting, lodging or club memberships. 

b. Except for licensed activities otherwise allowed 
by law, commercial activities are prohibited without a permit 
issued by the secretary of the LDWF. 

c. Commercial Fishing. Permits are required of all 
commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre 
and Spring Bayou WMAs. Gill nets or trammel nets and the 
take or possession of grass carp are prohibited on Spring 
Bayou WMA. Drag seines (except minnow and bait seines) 
are prohibited except experimental bait seines allowed on 
Dewey Wills WMA north of LA 28 in Diversion Canal. 
Commercial fishing is prohibited during regular waterfowl 
seasons on Grand Bay, Silver Lake and Lower Sunk Lake on 
Richard K. Yancey WMA. Commercial fishing is prohibited 
on Salvador/Timken, Ouachita and Pointe-aux-Chenes 
WMAs except commercial fishing on Pointe-aux-Chenes is 
allowed in Cut Off Canal and Wonder Lake. No commercial 
fishing activity shall impede navigation and no unattended 
vessels or barges will be allowed. Non-compliance with 
permit regulations will result in revocation of commercial 
fishing privileges for the period the license is issued and one 
year thereafter. Commercial fishing is allowed on Pass-a-
Loutre and Atchafalaya Delta WMAs. See Pass-a-Loutre for 
additional commercial fishing regulations on mullet. 

11. WMAs Basic Season Structure. For season dates, 
bag limits, shooting hours, special seasons and other 
information consult the annual regulations pamphlet for 
specific details. 

12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, 
mourning dove, woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Same 
as outside except closed during modern firearm either-sex 
deer seasons on certain WMAs (see WMA schedule) and 
except non-toxic shot must be used for rail, snipe, and 
gallinule. Consult regulations pamphlet. Unless otherwise 
specified under a specific WMA hunting schedule, the use of 
dogs for rabbit and squirrel hunting is prohibited. Spring 
squirrel season with or without dogs: first Saturday of May 
for nine days. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
WMAs. 

13. Waterfowl (ducks, geese and coots). Consult 
regulations pamphlet. Hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited on all 
WMAs except for Atchafalaya Delta, Attakapas, Biloxi, 
Lake Boeuf, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes, and 
Salvador/Timken WMAs. Consult specific WMA 
regulations for shooting hours on these WMAs. 

14. Archery. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
15. Hogs. Feral hogs may be taken during any open 

hunting season on WMAs by properly licensed and/or
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permitted hunters using only guns or bow and arrow legal 
for specified seasons in progress, except take of hogs is 
prohibited during nighttime raccoon seasons. Hogs may not 
be taken with the aid of dogs, except feral hogs may be taken 
with the aid of dogs during the month of February on 
Attakapas, Bodcau, Boeuf, Clear Creek, Dewey Wills, 
Jackson-Bienville, Little River, Pass a Loutre, Pearl River, 
Richard K. Yancey, Sabine, Sabine Island, and West Bay 
WMAs by self-clearing permit. All hogs must be killed 
immediately and may not be transported live under any 
conditions, except as allowed by permit from either the 
Minden, Lake Charles, Monroe, Pineville, Hammond or 
Opelousas offices.  During the February dog season hunters 
may use centerfire pistols in addition to using guns allowed 
for season in progress. Additionally, feral hogs may be taken 
on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador WMAs from February 16 through March 31 with 
shotguns loaded with buckshot or slugs or rimfire rifles no 
larger than .22 caliber. Additional requirements may be 
specified under individual WMAs, see regulation pamphlet.  

16. Outlaw Quadrupeds and Birds. Consult regulations 
pamphlet. During hunting seasons specified on WMAs, 
except the turkey and spring squirrel seasons, take of outlaw 
quadrupeds and birds, with or without the use of electronic 
calls, is allowed by properly licensed hunters and only with 
guns or bows and arrows legal for season in progress on 
WMA. However, crows, blackbirds, grackles and cowbirds 
may not be taken before September 1 or after January 1. As 
described in 50 CFR Part 21, non-toxic shot must be used 
for the take of crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles 
under the special depredation order. In addition an annual 
report has to be submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service for those that participate in the take of these species. 

17. WMAs Hunting Schedule and Regulations 
a. Alexander State Forest. From December through 

February all hunters must check daily with the Office of 
Forestry for scheduled burning activity. No hunting or other 
activity will be permitted in burn units the day of the 
burning. Call (318) 487-5172 or (318) 487-5058 for 
information on burning schedules. Vehicles restricted to 
paved and graveled roads. No parking on or fishing or 
swimming from bridges. No open fires except in recreation 
areas. 

b. Atchafalaya Delta. Water control structures are 
not to be tampered with or altered by anyone other than 
employees of LDWF. All-terrain vehicles, motorcycles, 
horses, and mules prohibited except as permitted for 
authorized WMA trappers. Mudboats or air-cooled 
propulsion engines powered by more than 36 total 
horsepower are prohibited on the WMA. Limited access 
area, no internal combustion engines allowed from 
September through January. See WMA map for specific 
locations. 

c. Bayou Macon. All night activities prohibited 
except as otherwise provided.  

d. Big Colewa Bayou. All nighttime activities 
prohibited. 

e. Big Lake. Use of nets, yoyos, and trotlines 
prohibited on Big and Chain Lakes. 

f. Biloxi. ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, horses, and 
mules are prohibited. Mud boats or air-cooled propulsion 
vessels can only be powered by straight shaft “long tail” air-

cooled mud motors that are 16 total horsepower or less on 
the WMA.  All other types of mud boats or air cooled 
propulsion vessels (including “surface drive” boats) are 
prohibited. All ATVs, UTVs, and motorcycles are prohibited. 

g. Bodcau-towable watersports not allowed in Ivan 
Lake.  Nets and traps prohibited on Ivan Lake. 

h. Camp Beauregard. Daily military clearance 
required for all recreational users. Retriever training allowed 
on selected portions of the WMA. Contact the LDWF field 
office for specific details.  

i. Dewey W. Wills. Crawfish: 100 pounds per 
person per day.  

j. Elbow Slough. Non-toxic shot (minimum size 
#6) only for all hunting. All motorized vehicles prohibited. 

k. Elm Hall. No ATVs or UTVs allowed. 
l. Fort Polk. Daily military clearance required to 

hunt or trap. New special regulations apply to ATV users. 
m. Grassy Lake. Commercial Fishing: Permitted 

except on Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake 
proper on Saturday and Sunday and during waterfowl 
season. Permits available from area supervisor at Spring 
Bayou headquarters or Opelousas field office. No 
crawfishing traps or nets may be left overnight.  No hunting 
in restricted area. 

n. Joyce. Swamp Walk: no loaded firearms or 
hunting allowed within 100 yards of walkways. Crawfish: 
100 pounds per person per day.  

o. Lake Boeuf. Hunting allowed until 12 noon on 
all game, except deer may be hunted until one-half hour after 
sunset. All nighttime activities prohibited. All-terrain 
vehicles, motorcycles, horses, and mules are prohibited. 

p. Lake Ramsay. Foot traffic onlyall vehicles 
restricted to parish roads. 

q. Manchac. Crabs: no crab traps allowed. Attended 
lift nets are allowed. 

r. Maurepas Swamp. No loaded firearms or hunting 
allowed within 100 yards of nature trail. Crawfish: 100 
pounds per person per day.  

s. Ouachita. Waterfowl Refuge: north of LA 15 
closed to all hunting, fishing and trapping and ATV/UTV use 
during duck season including early teal season, except 
hunting allowed during waterfowl falconry season. 
Crawfish: 100 pounds per person per day limit. Night 
crawfishing prohibited. No traps or nets left overnight. All 
nighttime activities prohibited except as otherwise provided. 

t. Pass-a-Loutre. Commercial Fishing: same as 
outside. Commercial mullet fishing open only in: South 
Pass, Pass-a-Loutre, North Pass, Southeast Pass, Northeast 
Pass, Dennis Pass, Johnson Pass, Loomis Pass, Cadro Pass, 
Wright Pass, Viveats Pass, Cognevich Pass, Blind Bay, 
Redfish Bay, Garden Island Bay, Northshore Bay, East Bay 
(west of barrier islands) and oil and gas canals as described 
on the LDWF Pass-a-Loutre WMA map. All ATVs, UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses, and mules prohibited on this area. 
Oyster harvesting is prohibited. Mudboats or air-cooled 
propulsion engines powered by more than 36 total 
horsepower are prohibited on the WMA. Limited access 
area, no internal combustion engines allowed from 
September through January. See WMA map for specific 
locations. 

u. Pearl River. All roads closed 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. to 
all vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge at 
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Pearl River, Louisiana, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting except 
waterfowl will be closed when the river stage at Pearl River 
reaches 16.5 feet. No hunting in the vicinity of nature trail. 
Observe "No Hunting" signs. Rifle range open Friday, 
Saturday and Sunday with a fee. Type A personal water craft, 
model year 2003 and beyond, which are eight feet in length 
and greater, may be operated in the areas of Pearl River 
wildlife management area, south of U.S. 90 from April 1 
until the Monday of Labor Day weekend, from sunrise to 
sunset only. No person shall operate such water craft at a 
speed greater than slow/no wake within 100 feet of an 
anchored or moored vessel, shoreline, dock, pier, persons 
engaged in angling or any other manually powered vessel. 
Crawfish: 100 pounds per person per day.  

v. Peason Ridge. Daily military clearance required 
to hunt or trap. Special federal regulations apply to ATV 
users.  

w. Pointe-aux-Chenes. Hunting until 12 noon on all 
game, except for mourning dove hunting and youth lottery 
deer hunt as specified in regulation pamphlet. Point Farm: 
gate will be open all weekends during month of February. 
No motorized vessels allowed in the drainage ditches. 
Recreational fishing: shrimp may be taken by the use of cast 
nets only. During the inside open shrimp season, 25 pounds 
per boat per day (heads on) maximum shall be allowed. Size 
count to conform with open season requirements. During the 
inside closed season, 10 pounds per boat per day (heads on) 
may be taken for bait. All castnet contents shall be contained 
and bycatch returned to the water immediately. Oyster 
harvesting is prohibited. Fish may be taken only by rod and 
reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. Crabs may 
be taken only through the use of hand lines or nets; however, 
none are to remain set overnight. Twelve dozen crabs 
maximum are allowed per boat or vehicle per day. Crawfish 
may be harvested in unrestricted portions of the WMA and 
shall be limited to 100 pounds per person per day. Fishing 
gear used to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. 
The harvest of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for 
recreational purposes only and any commercial use is 
prohibited. All boats powered by engines having total 
horsepower above 25 h.p. are not allowed in the Grand 
Bayou, Montegut and Pointe-aux-Chenes water management 
units. Public is permitted to travel anytime through the 
WMA for access purposes only, in the waterways known as 
Grand Bayou, Humble Canal, Little Bayou Blue, Grand 
Bayou Blue, St. Louis Canal and Bayou Pointe-aux-Chenes 
unless authorized by the LDWF. All other motorized 
vehicles, horses and mules are prohibited unless authorized 
by the LDWF. Limited access area, no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations. All ATVs, UTVs, 
motorcycles, horses, and mules prohibited. 

x. Pomme de Terre. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday, except closed during duck season. 
Commercial fishing permits available from area supervisor, 
Opelousas field office or Spring Bayou headquarters. Sport 
fishing: same as outside except allowed only after 2 p.m. 
only during waterfowl season. Crawfish: March 15-July 31, 
recreational only, 100 lbs. per person per day. No 
crawfishing traps or nets may be left overnight. 

y. Richard K. Yancey. Recreational Crawfishing: 
west of the Mississippi River Levee March 15-July 31. 100 

pounds per person per day. No traps or nets left overnight. 
No motorized watercraft allowed. 

z. Russell Sage. Transporting trash or garbage on 
WMA roads is prohibited. All nighttime activities prohibited 
except as otherwise provided. On Wham Brake, all nighttime 
activity prohibited during open waterfowl seasons. Internal 
combustion engines and craft limited to 10 h.p. rating or less 
in the Greentree Reservoirs.  

NOTE: All season dates on Chauvin Tract (U.S. 165 North) 
same as outside, except still hunt only and except deer hunting 
restricted to archery only. All vehicles including ATVs 
prohibited. 

aa. Sabine Island. Sabine Island boundaries are 
Sabine River on the west, Cut-Off Bayou on the north, and 
Old River and Big Bayou on the south and east. 

bb. Salvador/Timken. Hunting until 12 noon only for 
waterfowl. Recreational Fishing: Shrimp may be taken by 
the use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp 
season, 25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) maximum 
shall be permitted. Size count to conform with open season 
requirements. During the inside closed season, 10 pounds 
per boat per day (heads on) maximum may be taken for bait. 
All castnet contents shall be contained and bycatch returned 
to the water immediately. Fish may be taken only by rod and 
reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. Crabs may 
be taken only through the use of hand lines or nets; however, 
none of the lines are to remain set overnight. Twelve dozen 
crabs maximum are allowed per boat or vehicle per day. 
Crawfish may be harvested in unrestricted portions of the 
WMA and shall be limited to 100 pounds per person per day. 
Fishing gear used to catch crawfish shall not remain set 
overnight. The harvest of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish 
are for recreational purposes only and any commercial use is 
prohibited. Use of mudboats powered by internal 
combustion engines with more than four cylinders is 
prohibited. Pulling boats over levees, dams or water control 
structures or any other activities which cause detriment to 
the integrity of levees, dams and water control structures is 
prohibited. Limited access area, no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations. 

cc. Sandy Hollow. Bird Dog Training: consult 
regulation pamphlet. Wild birds only (use of pen-raised birds 
prohibited). Bird dog field trials: permit required from 
Hammond field office. Horseback riding: self-clearing 
permit required. Organized trail rides prohibited. Riding 
allowed only on designated roads and trails depicted on 
WMA map. Horses and mules are specifically prohibited 
during turkey and gun season for deer except as allowed for 
bird dog field trials. No horses and mules on green planted 
areas. Horse-drawn conveyances are prohibited. 

dd. Sherburne. Crawfishing: recreational crawfishing 
only. Crawfish harvest limited to 100 pounds per person per 
day. No traps or nets left overnight. No motorized watercraft 
allowed on farm complexes. Retriever training allowed on 
selected portions of the WMA. Contact the Opelousas field 
office for specific details. Vehicular traffic prohibited on 
Atchafalaya River levee within Sherburne WMA boundaries. 
Rifle and pistol ranges open daily. Skeet ranges open by 
appointment only, contact Hunter Education office. No 
trespassing in restricted area behind ranges.  

NOTE: Atchafalaya National Wildlife Refuge, and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land holdings adjacent to the Sherburne 
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WMA will have the same rules and regulations as Sherburne 
WMA. No hunting or trapping in restricted area.  

ee. Soda Lake. No motorized vehicles allowed. 
Bicycles allowed. All trapping and hunting prohibited except 
archery hunting for deer and falconry. Closed to fishing west 
of Twelve Mile Bayou from October 1-March 31.  

ff. Spring Bayou. Commercial Fishing: permitted 
Monday through Friday except slat traps and hoop nets 
permitted any day and except gill or trammel nets or the take 
or possession of grass carp are prohibited. Permits available 
from area supervisor or Opelousas field office. Closed until 
after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season. Sport fishing: same as 
outside except allowed only after 2 p.m. during waterfowl 
season. Crawfish: recreational only, limit 100 pounds per 
person per day. No hunting allowed in headquarters area. 
Only overnight campers allowed in the improved Boggy 
Bayou camping area. Rules and regulations posted at camp 
site. A fee is assessed for use of this campsite. Water skiing 
allowed only in Old River and Grand Lac.  

gg. Sicily Island Hills. Fishing restricted to rod and 
reel, and pole fishing only.  All other gear prohibited. 

hh. Tangipahoa Parish School Board. No horseback 
riding during gun season for deer or turkey. ATVs/UTVs are 
not allowed except as otherwise specified. 

ii. Thistlethwaite. All motorized vehicles restricted 
to improved roads only. All users must enter and leave 
through main gate only.  

jj. Tunica Hills. Camping limited to tents only in 
designated area.  

kk. Union. All nighttime activities prohibited except 
as otherwise provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29:1124 (July 
2003), repromulgated LR 29:1522 (August 2003), amended LR 
30:1495 (July 2004), LR 31:1611 (July 2005), LR 32:1251 (July 
2006), LR 33:1382 (July 2007), LR 34:1429 (July 2008), LR 
35:1264 (July 2009), LR 36:1566 (July 2010), LR 37:2190 (July 
2011), LR 38:1732 (July 2012), LR 40:1540 (August 2014), LR 41:  
§113. General and WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. General Regulations. Only gobblers (male turkeys) 
may be taken. Taking of hen (female) turkeys, including 
bearded hens, is prohibited; still hunting only. Use of dogs, 
electronic calling devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys 
may be hunted with shotguns, including muzzleloading 
shotguns, using shot not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, 
and approved archery equipment but by no other means. 
Shooting turkeys from a moving or stationary vehicle is 
prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding more than three 
shells prohibited. The running of coyote with dogs is 
prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey 
season. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is 
directly or indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed 

or scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. Wildlife agents are authorized to 
close such baited areas and to place signs in the immediate 
vicinity designating closed zones and dates of closures. No 
person hunting turkeys more than 200 yards from a baited 
area will be in violation of the turkey baiting regulation. 

B. Tags 
1. Prior to hunting turkeys, all turkey hunters, 

regardless of age or license status, must obtain turkey tags 
and have them in their possession while turkey hunting. 
Immediately upon killing a turkey, hunters must attach a 
carcass tag to the turkey before it is moved from the site of 
the kill and must document the kill on the turkey harvest 
report card. The date of kill and parish of kill must be 
recorded on the carcass tag. The tag must remain attached to 
the turkey while kept at camp or while it is transported to the 
domicile of the hunter or to a cold storage facility. Hunters 
who keep the carcass or meat at a camp must also comply 
with game possession tag regulations. Within seven days of 
the kill, the hunter must report the kill. Hunters may report 
turkeys by calling the validation phone number or using the 
validation website. 

2. Turkey hunters purchasing licenses by phone or 
internet will be given an authorization number and a LDWF 
identification number that will serve as their license and tags 
until the physical license and tags arrive by mail. Turkey 
hunters who have purchased a license with tags, but have not 
yet received their physical license and tags, must 
immediately tag their kill with a possession tag before 
moving it from the site of the kill. The authorization number 
and LDWF identification number must be recorded on the 
possession tag. Hunters must retain documentation of any 
turkeys killed and upon receiving their physical tags and 
harvest report card, validate their kill as required in these 
regulations. The tags for turkeys killed prior to receiving the 
physical tags must be removed from the turkey harvest 
report card and discarded. 

3. Tags removed from the turkey harvest report card 
prior to killing a turkey are no longer valid and if lost will 
not be replaced. Duplicate tags and turkey harvest report 
cards are available to replace lost report cards and attached 
tags. Hunters will be charged a fee for duplicate turkey 
harvest report cards and tags. Hunters that have killed a 
turkey prior to losing their remaining tag and harvest report 
card must remove and discard the duplicate tag to account 
for the original tag that was used and validated. Hunters 
must record any previously validated turkey on the duplicate 
turkey harvest report card. 

C. Possession of Live Wild Turkeys. No person shall 
take live wild turkeys or their eggs from the wild. No person 
shall possess captive live wild turkeys, (Meleagris gallopavo 
silvestris, M.g. osceola, M.g. intermedia, M.g. merriami, 
M.g. mexicana) or their eggs, regardless of origin, without a 
valid game breeder license. No penraised turkeys from 
within or without the state shall be liberated (released) 
within the state. 

D. Statewide Youth and Physically Challenged Season 
Regulations. Only youths 17 years of age or younger or 
hunters possessing a physically challenged hunter permit 
with wheelchair classification may hunt. Youth must possess 
a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
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completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for youth younger than 16 years of age. Adults 
accompanying youth may not possess a firearm or bow. 
Youths may possess only one firearm or bow while hunting. 
The supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or older who have 
successfully completed a hunter safety course may hunt 
without a supervising adult. Only one gobbler per day may 
be taken and any gobbler taken by the hunter during this 
special season counts towards their season bag limit of two.  

E. Shooting Hours—one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

F. Turkey Hunting Area Descriptions 
1. Area A 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Beauregard; 
 ii. Bienville; 
 iii. Claiborne; 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

 iv. East Baton Rouge; 
 v. East Feliciana; 
 vi. Grant; 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates; 

 vii. Jackson; 
 viii. LaSalle; 
 ix. Lincoln; 
 x. Livingston; 
 xi. Natchitoches; 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

 xii. Pointe Coupee; 
Exception: see Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all 
state, federal, and private lands within Sherburne boundaries. 

 xiii. Rapides; 
Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

 xiv. Sabine; 
 xv. St. Helena; 
 xvi. Tangipahoa; 
 xvii. Union; 
 xviii. Vernon; 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

 xvix. West Baton Rouge; 
 xx. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island); 
 xxi. Winn. 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen—north of LA 104, west of LA 26 south 
of junction of LA 104 to US 190, north of US 190 east of 
Kinder, west of US 165 south of Kinder; 
 ii. Avoyelles—that portion bounded on the east 
by the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the west Atchafalaya Basin protection 
levee southward; 

 iii. Calcasieu—north of I-10;  
 iv. Caldwell—west of Ouachita River southward 
to Catahoula Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula—south and west of the Ouachita 
River from the Caldwell Parish line southward to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, north and west of LA 8 from Harrisonburg to 
the LaSalle Parish line, also that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Evangeline—north and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 west of LA 115 to US 167, west of US 167 south 
to LA 10, north of LA 10 west of US 167 to LA 13, west of 
LA 13 south of LA 10 to Mamou and north of LA 104 west 
of Mamou; 
 vii. Franklin—that portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 viii. Iberville—west of the Mississippi River; 

Exception: see Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all 
state, federal and private lands within Sherburne boundaries. 

 ix. Jefferson Davis—north of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 
 x. Madison—that portion lying east of US 65 
from East Carroll Parish line to US 80 and south of US 80. 
Also, all lands east of the main channel of the Mississippi 
River; 
 xi. Morehouse—west of US 165 from the 
Arkansas line to the junction of LA 140 at Bonita, north and 
west of LA 140 to junction of LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake 
Road), west of LA 830-4 to US 165 at Bastrop, south of US 
165 to junction of LA 3051 (Grabault Road) south of LA 
3051 to junction of LA 138, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134, north of LA 134 to the Ouachita Parish line; 
 xii. Ouachita—all west of the Ouachita River. That 
portion east of the Ouachita River lying north of US 80; 
 xiii. Richland—that portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xiv. St. Landry—that portion bounded on the west 
by the west Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River; 

Exception: the Indian Bayou area; see federal lands hunting 
schedule for Indian Bayou area dates. 

 xv. Upper St. Martin—all within the Atchafalaya 
Basin; 

Exceptions: Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou area, see 
WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season dates on 
all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne WMA 
boundaries and see federal lands hunting schedule for Indian 
Bayou dates. 

 xvi. Tensas—that portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry; also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River. 

2. Area B 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension; 
 ii. DeSoto; 
 iii. Red River; 
 iv. St. Tammany; 
 v. Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Bossier—all open except that portion bounded 
on the north by I-20, on the west by LA 164, on the south by 
LA 164, and on the east by the Webster Parish line; 
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 ii. Caddo—all except that portion north of I-20 
from the Texas state line to I-220. west of I-220 to LA 1. 
west of LA 1 to Caddo Lake, south of Caddo Lake to the 
Texas state line;  
 iii. East Carroll—east of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 iv. Iberville—all east of the Mississippi River; 
 v. Webster—all open except that portion bounded 
on the north by I-20, on the east by U.S. 371, on the south by 
LA 164, and on the west by the Bossier Parish line. 

Exception: see federal lands hunting schedule for Kisatchie 
National Forest dates. 

3. Area C 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Concordia. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caldwell—all east of the Ouachita River; 
 ii. Catahoula—all of the parish except for that 
portion located in area A; 
 iii. Franklin—west of LA 17 from the Richland 
Parish line southward to Winnsboro, west of LA 15 
southward to the Catahoula Parish line; 
 iv. Iberia—east of the west Atchafalaya Basin 
protection levee; 
 v. Richland—west of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Road, south of Ringle Road to Ferguson Road, 
south of Ferguson Road to Little Road, south of Little Road 
to Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vi. Tensas—east and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

4. Turkey season dates on wildlife management areas, 
national wildlife refuges, Kisatchie National Forest and U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers land located within areas A, B, 
and C may vary from the season set for the parish in which 
they are located. Seasons for these lands are specified in 
LAC 76:XIX.115. 

G. WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 
1. WMAs with youth turkey hunts are closed to all 

activities except turkey hunting by authorized youth hunt 
participants, shooting range use, and fishing on the day(s) of 
the youth hunt.  

2. Self-Clearing Permits—all turkey hunts, including 
lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter’s 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

3. Lottery Hunts—all or portions of some WMA 
seasons are designated as lottery hunts and are restricted to 
hunters selected by pre-application lottery. To apply for these 
lottery hunts, a hunter must submit a completed official 
application form to the Baton Rouge office by the deadline 
printed on the application. A non-refundable fee of $5 must 
be sent with each application. Applicants for WMA youth 
hunts must be 17 years of age or younger and at least 8 years 
old on the day of the hunt. Applicants may submit only one 
application and may be selected for only one spring WMA 
turkey lottery hunt annually, except, youths may also apply 

for the regular WMA turkey lottery. Submitting more than 
one application per lottery type will result in 
disqualification. Hunters must abide by self-clearing permit 
requirements. Hunters chosen for WMA lottery hunts may 
be accompanied by one person. The person accompanying a 
lottery hunter shall not possess a firearm/bow or take a 
turkey, and must remain within a distance that allows normal 
voice contact with the lottery hunter at all times. Youths 
chosen for special youth only hunts may be assigned a guide 
on the day of the hunt provided that guides are available. 
One person may accompany the youth and guide, but may 
not hunt. 

4. WMA Physically Challenged Hunt (wheelchair 
confined)—open only to hunters with a physically 
challenged hunter permit with wheelchair classification. 
During this hunt, ATVs may be used by hunters on all 
designated ATV trails in accordance with the physically 
challenged hunter permit. Hunters must abide by self-
clearing permit requirements. 

5. Rules Specific to Certain WMAs 
a. Sandy Hollow. No turkey hunting within 100 

yards of food plots identified by two yellow paint rings 
around the nearest tree. 

b. Sherburne. All turkeys taken must be checked at 
the WMA headquarters.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2874 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2469 (November 2007), LR 35:91 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2478 (November 2009), LR 36:2581 (November 2010), LR 
37:3535 (December 2011), LR 38:2941 (November 2012), LR 
40:1554 (August 2014), LR 41: 
§115. Turkey Hunting Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler. Season limit is two 
gobblers. Turkeys taken on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey may be taken during spring WMA 
lottery hunts. 

B. Turkey season will open on the fourth Saturday in 
March. The area A turkey season will be 30 consecutive days 
in length, the area B turkey season will be 23 consecutive 
days in length, and the area C turkey season will be 16 
consecutive days in length. Wildlife management areas, 
national forests, national wildlife refuges, and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land may vary from this framework. 
Deviation from this framework may occur in those years 
when the fourth Saturday in March falls the day before 
Easter. 

C. Statewide youth turkey and physically challenged 
season on private lands shall be the weekend prior to the 
start of the regular turkey season.  

D. Only those wildlife management areas listed herein 
are open to turkey hunting. All other wildlife management 
areas are closed. 

E. 2016 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Season Dates 
A March 26-April 24 
B March 26-April 17 
C March 26-April 10 
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Area Season Dates 
Private Lands Youth and Physically Challenged 
Hunter (Wheelchair Confined) Hunt 

March 19-20 

 
F. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

WMA 
Non-Lottery  
Hunt Dates Lottery Hunt Dates 

Attakapas March 26-April 3 None 
Bayou Macon None April 16-17 
Big Lake March 26-April 10 None 
Bodcau March 26-April 10 None 
Boeuf March 26-April 10 None 
Camp Beauregard March 26-April 3 None 

Clear Creek April 4-24 
March 26-27 
April 2-3 

Dewey Wills None March 26-27 April 2-3 
Fort Polk-Vernon March 26-April 24 None 
Grassy Lake March 26-April 3 None 
Hutchinson Creek March 26-April 24 None 
Jackson-Bienville March 26-April 10 None 
Lake Ramsey March 26-April 10 None 
Little River March 26-April 10 None 
Loggy Bayou None April 15-17 
Pearl River None March 26-27 
Peason Ridge March 26-April 24 None 
Pomme de Terre April 20-April 24 None 
Richard K. Yancey March 26-April 10 None 

Sabine None 
April 1-3 
April 15-17 

Sandy Hollow March 26-April 10 None 
Sherburne March 28-30  March 26-27 

Sicily Island None 

March 26-28 
March 29-31 
April 1-3 
April 4-6 
April 7-10  

Tangipahoa Parish 
School Board March 26-April 24 None 

Tunica Hills  April 11-17 

March 26-27 
April 2-3 
April 9-10 

Union April 4-10 April 2-3 
Walnut Hills March 26-April 24 None 

West Bay None 

March 26-27 
April 2-3 
April 9-10 

 
G. Wildlife Management Area Lottery Youth Hunts 
 

WMA/Ranger District 
Lottery Youth 
Hunt Date 

Bodcau March 19-20 
Clear Creek March 19 
Fort Polk-Vernon/Peason 
Ridge  

March 19 

Grassy Lake March 19 
Jackson-Bienville March 19-20 
Loggy Bayou April 9-10 
Pearl River March 19 
Pomme de Terre April 9-10 
Richard K. Yancey March 19-20 
Sherburne March 19 
Sicily Island March 19 
Spring Bayou April 9-10 
Tunica Hills March 19 
Union March 19-20 
West Bay March 19 

 

H. Non-Lottery WMA Youth Hunts 
1. Big Lake will be open March 19-20 (only youths 

may hunt). 
2. Bodcau WMA will be open April 16-17 (only 

youths may hunt). 
3. Jackson-Bienville WMA will be open April 16-17 

(only youths may hunt). 
I. Wildlife Management Area Physically Challenged 

(Wheelchair Confined) Hunt 
1. Jackson-Bienville WMA will be open April 18-24 

to holders of valid physically challenged hunter (wheelchair 
classification) permits. 

J. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 
1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) turkey hunting 

schedule: (youth only) March 19-20 on all Ranger Districts 
(except Vernon Unit lands within Ft. Polk-Vernon WMA) 
Caney Ranger District, March 26-April 10; all remaining 
KNF lands, March 26-April 17 (including Catahoula and 
Red Dirt National Wildlife Management Preserves, except 
self-clearing permit required to hunt turkey on Catahoula 
and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management Preserves). 

2. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers turkey hunting 
schedule: Indian Bayou area, March 19-20 youth and 
physically challenged lottery only hunt, and lottery hunt only 
on March 26-27 and April 2-3, and open April 9-10. Old 
River Control and Lock Areas, March 26-April 10. 

3. National wildlife refuges: Bogue Chitto NWR, 
March 26-April 17, March 19-20 (youth only); Lake Ophelia 
NWR, March 19 (youth lottery only), March 26-April 10 
hunt ends at 12 p.m. each day; Tensas NWR, March 19-20 
(youth only), March 26-April 10; Upper Ouachita NWR, 
March 19 (youth lottery only).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002), LR 29:2513 (November 2003), LR 30:2875 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2470 (November 2007), LR 35:90 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2481 (November 2009), LR 36:2583 (November 2010), LR 
37:3541 (December 2011), LR 38:2944 (November 2012), LR 
40:1556 (August 2014), LR 41: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act #1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 
its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 
preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 
no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative 

to the proposed Rule until 4:30 p.m., Thursday, April 2, 2015 
to Steve Smith, Wildlife Division, Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries, P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-
9000, or via email to ssmith@wlf.la.gov. 
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Public Hearing 
Public hearings will be held at the following locations: 

February 23 beginning at 6 p.m., LDWF Woodworth 
Outdoor Education Center, 661 Robinson Bridge Road, 
Woodworth; February 24 beginning at 6:00 p.m., Ruston 
Civic Center, 401 North Trenton Street, Ruston; February 24 
beginning at 6:30 p.m., LSU Ag Center (next to Burton 
Coliseum), 7101 Gulf Highway, Lake Charles; February 24 
beginning at 6:30 p.m., Natchitoches Event Center, 750 
Second Street, Natchitoches; February 25 beginning at 6:00 
p.m., Caldwell Parish Courthouse, 201 Main Street, 
Columbia; February 26 beginning at 6:30 p.m., Slidell 
Municipal Auditorium, 2056 Second Street, Slidell. Also, 
comments will be accepted at regularly scheduled Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission meetings from February through 
April.  

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including, but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

 
Billy Broussard 
Chairman 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Resident Game Hunting Season and 
Game Birds and Animals, General and Wildlife 

Management Area Provisions and Turkey Hunting 
Provisions, Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The various proposed rule changes will have no impact on 

state or local governmental units.  The proposed rule change 
adjusts the calendar for resident game and turkey hunting, bans 
the possession of bait on wildlife management areas (W.M.A.s) 
except in vehicles traversing or parked along W.M.A. roads, 
and addresses the absorption of Deer Area 5 into Deer Area 1.   

The proposed rule change permits the training of bird dogs 
in some Small Game Emphasis Areas on W.M.A.s.   

The proposed rule change contains alterations to the gear 
and practices fishermen can use on certain specific bodies of 
water in Bodcau, Big Lake, Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre, and 
Sicily Island Hills W.M.A.s.  The rule change specifies a 100-
pound per person per day limit on crawfish harvested in Joyce 
and Maurepas Swamp W.M.A.s 

The proposed rule change clarifies the methods and 
equipment hunters can use on W.M.A.s when hunting hogs.  

The proposed rule change allows certain utility terrain 
vehicles (U.T.V.) on all-terrain vehicle (A.T.V.) trails and on 
certain roads, when allowed within W.M.A.s.   

The proposed rule change clarifies the requirements, rules, 
and districts open during youth hunting events in deer and 
turkey season.  The proposed rule change clarifies acceptable 
forms of honorably discharged status for Youth and Honorably 
Discharged Veterans season on private lands.  

The proposed rule change prohibits all nighttime activity on 
Wham Brake W.M.A. during open waterfowl season. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no impact 
on revenue collections of the state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may have minimal economic 
impact on persons and non-governmental entities.  

The proposed rule change regarding calendar adjustments, 
identification requirements, approved equipment, and 
acceptable hunting methods for turkey, deer, and hog hunters is 
not anticipated to have any economic impact on hunters.  The 
proposed rule change banning possession of bait on W.M.A.s 
will have no fiscal impact on persons with bait as it is not 
required that the bait be destroyed when on a W.M.A., but 
remain stored in the vehicle driven to the W.M.A.   

 The proposed rule change allowing certain U.T.V.s on 
A.T.V. trails and the proposed rule change regarding dog 
training in Small Game Emphasis Areas are not expected to 
have any fiscal impact on U.T.V. enthusiasts or dog trainers, 
respectively.  

The proposed rule change containing alterations to the gear 
and practices fishermen can use on certain specific bodies of 
water in Bodcau, Big Lake, Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre, and 
Sicily Island Hills wildlife management areas (W.M.A.s) are 
not expected to have any economic impact as relatively few 
fishermen utilize the practices and gear discussed.  

The proposed rule change that prohibits the keeping of 
crawfish traps or nets overnight on Grassy Lake W.M.A. and 
Pomme de Terre W.M.A. may negatively affect some 
commercial fishermen who harvest wild crawfish on these 
W.M.A.s by increasing costs and potentially lowering yield.  
Because the amount of crawfishing effort expended on these 
W.M.A.s in recent years is relatively low, according to 
L.D.W.F. records, the effect of the proposed rule change is 
expected to be relatively minor.  The proposed rule change 
limiting crawfish harvests on Joyce W.M.A. and Maurepas 
Swamp W.M.A. is a clarification of an established rule with no 
expected effect on persons or groups. 

The proposed prohibition on nighttime activities on Wham 
Brake in Russell Sage W.M.A. during open waterfowl season is 
not expected to have any economic impact on sportsmen. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule changes. 

 
Bryan McClinton Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1501#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Workforce Commission 
Plumbing Board 

Water Supply Protection Specialists Recertification 
Requirements (LAC 46:LV.1003) 

The Louisiana state Plumbing Board (board), pursuant to 
R.S. 37:1366(I), which authorizes the board to establish and 
determine by rule minimum requirements relative to 
continuing professional development for the renewal or 
reinstatement of any license or special endorsement issued 
by the board, proposes to amend the plumbing regulations,
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LAC 46:LV.1003, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. The proposed rule change allows the board to 
accept proof of attendance at a board-approved industry 
related recertification program compliant with the guidelines 
of the American Society of Sanitary Engineers (ASSE) 
series 5000/5110 Professional Qualification Standards or its 
equivalent, effective upon final publication in the Louisiana 
Register. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 
Programs 

§1003 Water Supply Protection Specialists 
Recertification Requirements 

A. Effective January 1, 2015, in addition to the yearly 
renewal of their endorsement, every three years all persons 
holding a water supply protection specialist endorsement 
issued by the Louisiana state Plumbing Board are required to 
show proof of attendance at a board-approved industry 
related recertification program compliant with the guidelines 
of the American Society of Sanitary Engineers (ASSE) 
series 5000/5110 Professional Qualification Standards or its 
equivalent as defined in §310(D). Such recertification shall 
satisfy the endorsee’s obligation to maintain continuing 
professional education relative to a water supply protection 
specialist endorsement, but shall not diminish or affect 
endorsee’s obligation to fulfill continuing professional 
education requirements for journeyman or master plumbing 
licenses or medical gas installer or verifier endorsements, if 
applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1366(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2071 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37:905 (March 2011), LR 37:2441 (August 2011), 
amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 41: 

All currently stated rules of the board, unless amended 
herein, shall remain in full force and effect. 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated effect on the stability of the family? There 

is no estimated effect on the stability of the family. 
2. Estimated effect on the authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children? 
There is no estimated effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. Estimated effect on the functioning of the family? 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated effect on family earnings and family 
budget? There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children? There is no estimated effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule? There is no estimated effect on the ability of 
the family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed amended Rule will have no impact on 

poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Statement 

The proposed amended Rule will have no adverse impact 
on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed amended Rule is not anticipated to have any 

impact on providers of services funded by the state as 
described in HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative 
Session. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding the content of this proposed Rule change to John 
Barker, Executive Director, 12497 Airline Highway, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70817, no later than 5 p.m., February 20, 2015. 

 
John Barker 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Water Supply Protection Specialists 

Recertification Requirements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no implementation costs to State or local 
governmental units. The proposed amendment to the rule seeks 
to clarify the language regarding the recertification of Water 
Supply Protection Specialist endorsement by referring licensees 
to the American Society of Sanitation Engineers (ASSE) 
standards rather than those of the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board (LSPB). LSPB has always followed ASSE qualification 
standards and guidelines. However, the LSPB would publish 
the ASSE guidelines only to rewrite and republish the standards 
when ASSE made any alterations. Due to the proposed rule 
change, rather than consistently republishing alterations, LSPB 
can direct members to the ASSE as their primary source for 
information. A Water Supply Protection Specialist is the only 
endorsement that allows for the testing and repair of water 
backflow prevention equipment. This endorsement is not 
necessary to obtain a plumbing license in Louisiana.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no effect on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost or economic benefit for affected 
persons resulting from the proposed amendment to this rule. It 
simply clarifies the continuing training and recertification that 
will be acceptable for maintaining a specific endorsement to a 
plumbing license. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on competition and 
employment.  

 
Louis L. Robein Evan Brasseaux 
Board Attorney Staff Director 
1501#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Administrative Code Update 
CUMULATIVE:  January-December 2014 

 
   Location: 

LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 40 
Page# 

4 III.1111 Amended Dec. 2574 
 V.Chapter 15 (PPM) Amended June 1052 
 V.Chapter 47 (PPM) Adopted Sept. 1646 
     
7 XIII.Chapters 1-11 Amended April 743 
 XIII.107,145,303 Repealed April 743 
 XIII.Chapter 7 Repromulgated May 992 
 XV.127 Amended July 1308 
 XV.123,303,307-313,315,319-323 Amended Aug. 1516 
 XV.301 Adopted Aug. 1516 
 XV.325,327 Repealed Aug. 1516 
 XV.Chapters 5-7 Repromulgated May 926 
 XXI.Chapters 1-23 Repromulgated May 926 
 XXIX.Chapter 1 Amended April 757 
     
10 XV.1303,1315 (HCR No. 3) Amended June 1225 
 XIX.Chapters 1-3 Amended July 1387 
     
13 I.701-749 Amended Mar. 490 
 I.751 Adopted Mar. 490 
 I.Chapter 29 Amended Aug. 1524 
 I.2901-2905,2911 Amended Jan. 49 
 I.2913,2915 Adopted Jan. 49 
 I.3921-3933 Adopted Nov. 2238 
 I.3935,3937 Adopted Nov. 2238 
 III.101-115 Amended Feb. 264 
 III.131-145 Repealed Feb. 264 
     
19 VII.109,309 Amended Feb. 273 
 VII.7713,8713 Amended Feb. 274 
     
22 I.319 Amended Nov. 2268 
 I.321 Adopted Dec. 2599 
 I.331 Amended Dec. 2600 
 I.341 Amended May 1010 
 I.341 Repromulgated June 1104 
 I.401 Repealed Nov. 2268 
 V.101 Repealed Jan. 57 
 XI.108 Repealed Jan. 57 
 XI.511,701,705,1115,1301 Amended Jan. 57 
 XI.513,1113,1115 Amended Aug. 1528 
 XI.513,1113,1115 Repromulgated Sept. 1695 
 XI.903 Amended Mar. 527 
 XI.904-909 Repealed Mar. 527 
     
25 I.Chapter 13 Adopted Sept. 1679 
     
28 I.709 Amended Nov. 2243 
 III.901 Amended Sept. 1687 
 III.2301 Adopted Sept. 1687 
 IV.301,703,1701,1703 Amended Jan. 53 
 IV.301,1903 Amended Feb. 281 
 IV.701,705,805,1903 Amended May 1002 
 IV.1805 Amended Jan. 52 
 VI.315 Amended Oct. 1926 
 XXXIX.503 Amended July 1332 
 XXXIX.503,701,703 Amended April 765 
 XXXIX.503,705 Amended Dec. 2533 
 XXXIX.707 Amended Nov. 2242 
 XLI.1501 Adopted July 1333 
 XLIII.133 Amended Dec. 2533 
 XLV.105,107,307,701,1301 Amended May 1001 
 LXXIX.121 Amended April 766 
 LXXIX.2102 Amended Feb. 275 
 LXXIX.2102,2109,Chapter 23 Amended Sept. 1682 
 LXXIX.2109,2305,2309,2313,2317,2323 Amended Dec. 2535 
 LXXIX.2325,2329,2331,2337 Amended Dec. 2535 
 LXXXIII.301,303,409,413,517,521,603 Amended July 1313 
 LXXXIII.301,515,519,703-707,3901,3905 Amended Dec. 2507 
 LXXXIII.303,1101,1102,4301,4311 Amended April 760 
 LXXXIII.611,613,1301,2301,3101 Amended July 1313 
 LXXXIII.3301,3303,4101,4301,4317 Amended July 1313 
 LXXXIII.3503,3505 Amended Nov. 2240 
 LXXXIII.4310 Amended Dec. 2507 
 XCVII.Chapter 4 Adopted Dec. 2531 
 CXI.107,303,305,309,312,313,316,319,701 Amended Dec. 2509 
 CXI.113 Adopted May 993 
 CXI.701,3501  Amended July 1319 
 CXI.1301,1803,2000,2001,2035,2037,2501 Amended Dec. 2509 
 CXI.2003,2011,2012,2013,2014,2015,2016 Repealed Dec. 2509 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 40 
Page# 

28 CXI.2039 Repealed Dec. 2509 
 CXI.2209 Adopted July 1319 
 CXI.2901,3303,3501 Amended Dec. 2509 
 CXIII.301,303,2303, 2503,2509,2511 Amended Dec. 2516 
 CXIII.2509 Amended July 1320 
 CXV.337,2305,2347 Amended Dec. 2530 
 CXV.523 Adopted Nov. 2241 
 CXV.701,2301,2303 Amended April 763 
 CXV.901,2319,2397 Amended Dec. 2522 
 CXV.1129 Adopted Dec. 2529 
 CXV.1302 Amended Dec. 2529 
 CXV.Chapter 23 Amended May 994 
 CXV.2314 Amended Feb. 275 
 CXV.2317 Repromulgated Aug. 1528 
 CXV.2317 Amended Dec. 2530 
 CXV.2317,2318 Amended July 1328 
 CXV.2318 Amended Sept. 1679 
 CXV.2318,2333,2337,2341,2345,2353 Amended Dec. 2524 
 CXV.2355,2361,2363,2369 Amended Dec. 2524 
 CXV.2905 Amended Nov. 2241 
 CXXXI.Chapters 2,3,6 Amended Feb. 276 
 CXXXI.243 Amended Sept. 1680 
 CXXXI.Chapter 5 Amended July 1329 
 CXXXI.601 Amended Nov. 2242 
 CXXXIX.103,105,505,1101,1103,1303 Amended July 1320 
 CXXXIX.309 Adopted Dec. 2517 
 CXXXIX.512 Amended April 761 
 CXXXIX.1503,1903,1905,2301,2303,2713 Amended July 1320 
 CXXXIX.2907 Repealed July 1320 
 CXXXIX.2909 Amended July 1320 
 CXLVII.303,325 Amended April 761 
 CLI.103,301-701,1101,1301 Amended Dec. 2518 
 CLIII.101,301,501,1101 Amended Dec. 2520 
 CLIII.501 Amended Mar. 498 
 CLV.303,311,501,505,703,705,1103,1107 Amended Mar. 498 
 CLV.1109 Amended Mar. 498 
 CLVII.Chapters 5,7 Amended April 762 
 CLXIII.Chapters 1-3 Adopted July 1325 
     
31 II.105 Amended Feb. 372 
     
32 VII.101,505,721 Amended Nov. 2280 
     
33 III.311 Amended April 779 
 III.506,507,2160,3003,5116,5122,5311 Amended July 1333 
 III.711,918 Amended Sept. 1689 
 III.2701-2707,2711-2725,2735,2739,2799 Amended Mar. 500 
 III.2741 Adopted Mar. 500 
 III.3003 Amended Dec. 2540 
 III.5151 Amended Mar. 518 
 III.5901 Amended July 1333 
 V.105,109 Amended July 1336 
 V.4999 Amended Sept. 1691 
 V.10107 Amended Dec. 2608 
 V.10303,10309 Amended Feb. 371 
 VII.303,407,513,517,519,527,709,717,719 Amended Feb. 292 
 VII.1303,1399,10313 Amended Feb. 292 
 IX.Chapter 11 Amended Nov. 2243 
 IX.Chapter 21 Amended April 767 
 IX.4901,4903 Amended Sept. 1692 
 XV.102,304,322,324,328,399,460,465,499 Amended Feb. 282 
 XV.102,304,322,328,410,417,431,499,573 Amended July 1338 
 XV.102,325,326,331,550,1519,1599,1731 Amended Oct. 1926 
 XV.713,763 Amended July 1338 
 XV.717,729,731,732,735,1302 Amended Feb. 282 
 XV.1733 Amended Oct. 1926 
     
     
34 V.Chapters 1-27 Repromulgated Dec. 2547 
 V.Chapters 3-33 Repromulgated July 1346 
 V.901,2503,2506,2521,2534,2545,2549 Amended Dec. 2544 
 V.2547,2589,2591,2592,2593,2594,2595 Repealed Dec. 2544 
 V.2587,3103 Amended Dec. 2544 
 V.2596 Repealed Dec. 2544 
     
35 I.1797 Amended Mar. 528 
     
37 XI.2100,2101,2103,2105,2107,2108,2109 Amended Sept. 1702 
 XI.2106,2113 Adopted Sept. 1702 
 XI.2111 Amended Sept. 1702 
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LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 40 
Page# 

37 XIII.Chapter 51 Amended April 795 
 XIII.5101,5117,5119 Adopted April 795 
 XIII.Chapter 145 Adopted Dec. 2592 
     
40 I.271 Amended June 1163 
 I.306,307,4119,4339,5101,5127,5157,5315 Amended Feb. 374 
 I.2001-2011,2015-2023,2103,2119,2203 Amended June 1119 
 I.2217,2303,2317 Amended June 1119 
 I.5321,5399 Amended Feb. 374 
 I.6631 Amended Feb. 386 
 IV.111 Amended Feb. 374 
 IV.303,364 Adopted Feb. 374 
 IV.317 Adopted Mar. 549 
 IV.365 Repealed June 1118 
 IV.371 Amended June 1118 
 IV.375 Adopted Mar. 548 
 IV.377 Adopted April 806 
     
42 III.120 Amended July 1379 
 III.401 Amended July 1381 
 III.2117,2325 Amended July 1380 
 III.4212 Amended Nov. 2271 
 III.4732 Adopted Nov. 2270 
 III.4733 Amended Nov. 2271 
 XI.Chapter 24 Amended June 1108 

 XI.Chapter 24 Repromulgat
ed July 1381 

 XI.2405 Amended July 1384 
 XI.2405,2424 Amended June 1105 
 XI.2407,2424 Amended June 1106 
 XI.2409,2424 Amended June 1107 
 XI.2413,2424 Amended July 1384 
 XI.2415 Amended June 1106 
 XI.2415,2424 Amended July 1386 
 XI.2424 Amended July 1385 
     
 I.723 Amended Dec. 2595 
43 I.724 Amended Jan. 88 
 I.724 Amended May 1010 
 I.724 Amended Dec. 2594 
 I.Chapter 15 Amended Oct. 1943 
 XVII.Chapter 3 Adopted Feb. 342 
 XVII.Chapter 33 Adopted Feb. 316 
 XIX.121,137 Amended Dec. 2596 
 XIX.311,313 Amended Dec. 2596 
 XIX.Chapter 7 Amended Nov. 2266 
     
46 I.1315 Amended Sept. 1693 
 III.1117,1119 Amended Dec. 2540 
 III.1118 Adopted Dec. 2540 
 VIII.Chapter 3 Adopted Oct. 1929 
 VIII.Chapter 4 Adopted Oct. 1932 
 VIII.Chapter 5 Adopted Oct. 1933 
 VIII.Chapter 6 Adopted Oct. 1931 
 XXV.117,119,307,315,319,703,705,905 Amended Feb. 303 
 XXV.907,911 Amended Feb. 303 
 XXVII.321,322,601,603 Adopted April 781 
 XXIX.113,307,507,509,515-519,1103 Amended Dec. 2574 
 XXIX.119,1107 Repealed Dec. 2574 
 XXIX.319,321 Adopted Dec. 2574 
 XXIX.1505,1509,1511 Amended Dec. 2574 
 XXXIII.1202,1203 Amended May 1006 
 XXXIII.1206 Adopted Aug. 1529 
 XXXIII.Chapter 15 Amended June 1094 
 XXXIII.1508 Amended Sept. 1696 
 XXXIII.1709 Amended April 783 
 XXXIII.1809 Amended May 1005 
 XXXIV.Chapters 1-5 Repealed Feb. 369 
 XL.119,121,703,705,707 Amended May 1003 
 XL.122 Adopted May 1003 
 XLIII.Chapter 9 Amended Dec. 2542 
 XLIII.915 Adopted Dec. 2542 
 XLIII.1001 Amended Sept. 1694 
 XLV.Chapters 2,27,58 Adopted July 1370 
 XLV.7303-7307,7309,7311 Amended Nov. 2246 
 XLV.7308,7314 Adopted Nov. 2246 
 XLVII.937,939,1715 Amended Dec. 2577 
 XLVII.3328,4513 Amended Nov. 2248 
 XLVII.3341 Amended Sept. 1696 
 XLVII.Chapter 45 Amended Jan. 59 
 LI.107,503,801 Amended Nov. 2249 

 LI.107,503,801 Repromulgat
ed Dec. 2578 

 LIII.1119,1124 Adopted Nov. 2252 
 LIII.1121,1123,1125,1127,1213,1503,1509 Amended Nov. 2252 
 LIII.1129 Repealed Nov. 2252 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 40 
Page# 

46 LIII.Chapter 29 Amended June 1095 
 LXI.707,1305,1509 Amended July 1388 
 LXVI.Chapters 1,3,7,9,11,12,13 Amended Nov. 2262 
 LXVII.Chapter 19 Adopted Nov. 2245 
 LXVII.2501 Amended Nov. 2244 
 LXIX.Chapter 1 Amended Feb. 301 
 LXXX.703,705 Amended May 1005 
 LXXXV.301,303,307,700,702,801,803,816 Amended Feb. 307 
 LXXXV.501,505 Amended Nov. 2258 
 LXXXV.1103,1200,1201 Amended Feb. 307 
     
48 I.Chapter 19 Amended Jan. 84 
 I.Chapter 50 Amended May 1007 
 I.Chapter 95 Adopted June 1099 
 I.Chapter 161 Amended Aug. 1522 
 I.Chapters 187,189 Adopted Dec. 2590 
     
50 I.Chapter 13 Adopted Dec. 2589 
 I.Chapter 21 Adopted April 784 
 I.Chapters 31,33 Amended Feb. 310 
 I.3103 Amended Nov. 2258 
 I.3103,3105 Amended June 1096 
 I.3303,3503 Amended Jan. 66 
 I.8341-8349 Amended Jan. 83 
 I.8345 Repealed Jan. 83 
 II.Chapter 109 Repealed Dec. 25 
 II.20003 Amended Mar. 541 
 II.20010 Amended April 794 
 II.20025 Adopted April 793 
 II.20027 Adopted Mar. 541 
 III.2308 Adopted Nov. 2260 
 III.10305 Amended Nov. 2260 
 III.10305 Amended Nov. 2260 
 III.20305 Amended Mar. 545 
 III.20509 Amended May 1008 
 V.107 Adopted Aug. 1530 
 V.113 Adopted June 1104 
 V.551 Amended Feb. 312 
 V.551,967 Amended Oct. 1941 
 V.Chapter 9 Amended Feb. 312 

 V.Chapter 9 Repromulgat
ed Oct. 1940 

 V.901-905,15105 Adopted Feb. 315 

 V.953 Repromulgat
ed Oct. 1939 

 V.1125 Amended Mar. 541 
 V.1301-1305,1309 Amended Sept. 1697 
 V.1307 Repealed Sept. 1697 
 V.2501,2705,2707 Amended April 790 
 V.2701 Repealed April 790 
 V.2701 Adopted Oct. 1935 
 V.Chapter 29 Adopted Nov. 2259 
 V.5117 Amended Nov. 2261 
 V.5311,5511,5711,5911,6113 Amended Mar. 542 
 V.5313,5317,5513,5517,5713,5719,6115 Amended Feb. 313 
 V.5315,5515,5717,5915,6117 Amended Sept. 1699 
 V.5319,5519,5715,6127 Amended Feb. 314 
 V.6119 Amended Feb. 313 
 VII.32969 Amended Dec. 2588 
 IX.15109 Adopted Aug. 1533 
 IX.15145 Adopted Nov. 2261 
 IX.15151,15153 Adopted Mar. 544 
 XI.103,301 Amended Aug. 1533 
 XI.16301,16701 Amended Jan. 82 
 XV.6905 Amended May 1007 
 XV.7305 Amended Nov. 2259 
 XV.10505,10701 Amended Sept. 1700 
 XV.10505,10701 Amended Sept. 1701 
 XV.Chapter 111 Repealed Sept. 1701 
 XV.Chapter 119 Repealed Sept. 1700 
 XV.Chapter 161 Repealed Aug. 1532 
 XV.Chapter 163 Adopted April 794 
 XV.Chapters 251-257 Adopted June 1097 
 XXI.Chapter 1 Adopted June 1098 
 XXI.Chapter 5 Amended Oct. 1936 
 XXI.2301 Amended April 791 
 XXI.5301,5501,5701,5703,5705,5707,5709 Amended Dec. 2583 
 XXI.5503 Adopted Dec. 2583 
 XXI.5711 Repealed Dec. 2583 
 XXI.5713,5715,5719,5901,6101 Amended Dec. 2583 
 XXI.5717,5719 Adopted Jan. 81 
 XXI.6101 Amended Jan. 81 
 XXI.8101,8307,8313,9501 Amended April 791 
 XXI.8329,8601 Adopted April 791 
 XXI.11107 Amended Mar. 539 
 XXI.11107 Amended Mar. 540 
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50 XXI.11303,12101 Amended Jan. 67 
 XXI.13701-13709,13901-13929,14101 Amended Jan. 68 
 XXI.13931-13937 Adopted Jan. 68 
 XXI.14301 Amended Jan. 68 
 XXV.701 Amended May 1006 
 XXVII.325,353 Amended July 1379 
 XXVII.327,355 Adopted Aug, 1530 
 XXIX.123,991 Amended Jan. 82 
 XXIX.993 Adopted Jan. 82 
 XXXIII.1701 Adopted Sept. 1697 
 XXXIII.1701 Amended Oct. 1934 
 XXXIII.Chapter 161 Adopted Aug, 1529 
     
51 II.503 Amended Oct. 1941 
 VI.101,105 Amended Oct. 1943 
 IX.Chapter 3 Amended May 1009 
 XXIII.4513,4523 Amended May 1008 
     
52 I.1703 Amended Sept. 1678 
     
55 I.1505 Amended Dec. 2608 
 I.1575 Amended Feb. 370 
 I.Chapter 19 Amended April 797 
 I.2103,2107,2109,2117 Amended June 1111 
 I.2106 Adopted June 1111 
 III.Chapter 1 Amended Jan. 90 
 III.146,147 Amended Dec. 2603 
 III.155,156,157,185,187 Amended Dec. 2603 
 III.300,331,333,335 Adopted Dec. 2602 
 III.329 Adopted Dec. 2607 
 III.395,397 Adopted Dec. 2607 
 III.Chapter 4 Adopted Dec. 2604 
 VI.301,901 Amended Dec. 2611 
 VII.321 Amended June 1114 
 VII.323 Amended June 1112 
 VII.331 Adopted June 1113 
 VII.505,509 Amended June 1113 
 VII.Chapter 31 Amended June 1114 
     
58 III.Chapter 15 Adopted Nov. 2272 
     
61 I.1401 Amended Jan. 91 
 I.1907 Amended Dec. 2611 
 I.4907 Amended Dec. 2615 
 III.2505 Adopted April 801 
 V.101,304,703,907,1103,1307,1503,2503 Amended Mar. 528 
 V.3101 Amended Mar. 528 
     
67 III.1213,1229,5703-5709,5713-5729 Amended Sept. 1675 
 III.1259,5351 Amended Aug. 1520 
 III.1907,1987 Amended July 1311 
 III.5124 Adopted Jan. 49 
 III.5599 Adopted April 759 
 III.5727 Repealed Sept 1675 

   Location: 
LAC 
Title Part #.Section # Action Month 

LR 40 
Page# 

67 III.Chapter 73 Amended Sept. 1674 
 III.7302-7305,7311,7315,7317 Amended Feb. 243 
 III.7331-7335 Amended Feb. 243 
 III.7355-7365,7371  Amended Feb. 253 
 III.7372 Adopted Feb. 253 
 III.7385 Repealed Feb. 253 
 VII.Chapter 19 Repealed Jan. 84 
     
70 I.Chapter 15 Amended May 1011 
 XI.303 Amended Oct. 1946 
 XXV.Chapter 1 Repealed Dec. 2597 
 XXV.101-105 Adopted Dec. 2597 
     
73 I.303 Amended Oct. 1945 
 I.1703 Amended June 1116 
     
76 I.Chapter 7 Amended April 804 

 I.Chapter 7 Repromulgat
ed July 1390 

 I.703 Amended Dec. 2616 
 I.704 Adopted April 804 
 III.320 Repealed Jan. 94 
 III.329 Amended June 1117 
 V.115 Amended Dec. 2616 
 V.135 Adopted Nov. 2282 
 V.321 Amended Aug. 1534 
 VII.Chapter 1 Amended Oct. 1946 
 VII.110 Amended April 802 
 VII.113 Repealed Mar. 548 
 VII.125 Amended Mar. 548 
 VII.131 Repealed Mar. 548 
 VII.133 Adopted Oct. 1947 
 VII.149 Amended April 803 
 VII.149 Amended Aug. 1558 
 VII.159 Repealed Mar. 546 
 VII.183 Repealed Mar. 545 
 VII.191 Repealed April 803 
 VII.197 Amended Nov. 2285 
 VII.335 Amended Jan. 95 

 VII.335 Repromulgat
ed June 1116 

 VII.335 Amended Nov. 2281 
 VII.361 Amended Jan. 101 
 VII.367 Amended Jan. 96 
 VII.375 Adopted Jan. 100 
 VII.377 Amended Jan. 94 
 VII.379 Adopted Feb. 373 
 VII.701 Amended Mar. 545 
 VII.907 Amended Mar. 546 
 IX.Chapter 1 Amended Mar. 546 
 XIX.Chapter 1 Amended Aug. 1534 
 XIX.113 Amended Jan. 96 
 XIX.115 Amended Jan. 99 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 41, No. 01   January 20, 2015 292

Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Caseload Reduction 

The Department of Children and Family Services hereby 
gives notice that, in accordance with federal regulations at 
45 CFR 261.40, the Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) caseload reduction report for Louisiana is 
now available to the public for review and comment. 

In order to receive a caseload reduction credit for 
minimum participation rates, the agency must submit a 
report based on data from the Family Independence 
Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) and the Strategies 
to Empower People Program (STEP) containing the 
following information: 

1. a listing of, and implementation dates for, all state 
and federal eligibility changes, as defined at §261.42, made 
by the state after FY 2005; 

2. a numerical estimate of the positive or negative 
impact on the applicable caseload of each eligibility change 
(based, as appropriate, on application denials, case closures, 
or other analyses); 

3. an overall estimate of the total net positive or 
negative impact on the applicable caseload as a result of all 
such eligibility changes; 

4. an estimate of the state's caseload reduction credit; 
5. a description of the methodology and the 

supporting data that it used to calculate its caseload 
reduction estimates; 

6. a certification that it has provided the public an 
appropriate opportunity to comment on the estimates and 
methodology, considered their comments, and incorporated 
all net reductions resulting from federal and state eligibility 
changes; and 

7. a summary of all public comments. 
Copies of the TANF caseload reduction report may be 

obtained by writing Brandy Bonney, Department of Children 
and Family Services, P.O. Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9065, by telephone at (225) 342-4096, or via e-mail 
at brandy.bonney@la.gov. 

Written comments regarding the report should also be 
directed to Ms. Bonney. These must be received by close of 
business on February 19, 2015. 

 
Suzy Sonnier 
Secretary 

1501#018 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Public Hearings—State Fiscal Year 2016  
Draft Annual Plan 

Pursuant to R.S. 49:214.5.3(B)(2), the Coastal Protection 
and Restoration Authority is required to contact the parish 
governing authorities, regional flood protection authorities, 
levee districts, and the state legislators of the parishes in the 
coastal zone for the purpose of soliciting their comments and 
recommendations on the draft 2016 Annual Plan: Integrated 
Ecosystem Restoration and Hurricane Protection in Coastal 
Louisiana, as well as to notify them of the public hearing to 
be held in their area. 

The following public hearings have been scheduled to 
receive comments and recommendations from the public and 
from elected officials on the “Fiscal Year 2016 Annual Plan: 
Integrated Ecosystem Restoration and Hurricane Protection 
in Coastal Louisiana”.  

 

Feb. 9 5:30 p.m. Open House 
6 p.m. Public Meeting 

New Orleans Mosquito, Termite 
and Rodent Control Board 
Training Room 
2100 Leon C. Simon Drive 
New Orleans, LA 70122 

Feb. 10 5:30 p.m. Open House 
6  p.m. Public Meeting 

Lake Charles Civic Center 
Jean Lafitte Room 
900 Lakeshore Drive 
Lake Charles, LA 70601 

Feb. 11 5:30 p.m. Open House 
6 p.m. Public Meeting 

Houma Terrebonne Civic Center 
Room 3 
346 Civic Center Boulevard 
Houma, LA 70360 

 
The CPRA will receive written comments and 

recommendations on the draft annual plan until March 18, 
2015. Written comments should be mailed (to arrive no later 
than March 18, 2015) to the following address: 

 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
Attn: Chuck Perrodin 
P.O. Box 44027 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4027 
 

If, because of a disability, you require special assistance to 
participate, please contact the CPRA Administrative 
Assistant at P.O. Box 44027, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4027, 
or by telephone at (225) 342-7308, at least five working days 
prior to the hearing. 
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Please visit http://coastal.la.gov/ for more detailed 
information and a copy of the draft annual plan, which will 
be posted prior to the public meetings.  

For questions regarding the meetings or to record your 
comments on the draft plan please contact Chuck Perrodin, 
chuck.perrodin@la.gov, or (225) 342-7615. 

 
Jerome Zeringue 
Chairman 

1501#073 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Tax Commission 

Public Hearing—Ad Valorem Taxation 
Oil and Gas Properties (LAC 61:V.Chapter 9) 

The Louisiana Tax Commission published a Notice of 
Intent and Emergency Rule to promulgate Chapter 9, Oil and 
Gas Properties, in the December 20, 2014 edition of the 
Louisiana Register (LR 41, pages 2653-2654 and LR 41, 
pages 2460-2465). The Notice of Intent, as it was published, 
reflected changes to Chapter 9. 

The Tax Commission received written comments and a 
request for a public hearing on the changes to Chapter 9, Oil 
and Gas Properties. 

A public hearing will be held on Tuesday, February 24, 
2015, at 10 a.m., at the Louisiana State Capitol Building, 
900 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, to discuss 
the proposed real and personal property rules and regulations 
as it pertains to Chapter 9, Oil and Gas Properties. 

 
James D. “Pete” Peters 
Chairman 

1501#033 
 

POTPOURRI 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Judicial Interest Rate for 2015 

Editor’s Note: This Potpourri is being republished to correct a 
printing error. The original Potpourri can be viewed in the 
December 20, 2014 edition of the Louisiana Register on page 
2709. 

Pursuant to authority granted by R.S. 13:4202(B)(1), as 
amended, the Louisiana commissioner of Financial 
Institutions has determined that the judicial rate of interest 
for calendar year 2015 will be 4 percent per annum. 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 

1501#035 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Public Hearing—Substantive Changes to Proposed Rule 
Amendments—Physician Practice; Telemedicine 

(LAC 46:XLV.7507, 7509, and 7513) 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (the 
“board”) published a Notice of Intent to amend its rules in 
the October 20, 2014 edition of the Louisiana Register (LR 
40:2066-2069). The notice solicited comments. As a result of 
the board’s consideration of the comments received during a 
subsequent meeting on December 8, 2014, it agreed to revise 
the original proposed amendments in the following respects: 
(i) in §7507.C.1, to delete the words and e-mail address; (ii) 
in §7509A.4, to delete the word immediately and adding the 
words “within a reasonable period of time;” (iii) in 
§7513C.1, after the word amphetamines, to add 
“/stimulants”; (iv) in §7513.C.1.d, after the word 
regulations, to delete reference to the Ryan Haight Online 
Pharmacy Consumer Protection Act; and (v) to amend the 
wording of §7513.C.2 so that: after the word opioid, add the 
words “and the requirement for an in-person visit within the 
past year,”; replace the word addictive with “addiction”; 
after the word medicine, add the words “or a physician who 
is certified by the American Society of Addiction Medicine, 
or its successors,”; replace the word using with 
“prescribing”; and after the words in the treatment of, add 
the words “his or her patients suffering from”. As 
substantively amended, these provisions will read as set 
forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 75. Telemedicine 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§7507. Prerequisite Conditions; Disclosures 

A. - B.2.d. ... 
C. Disclosures. Prior to utilizing telemedicine a 

physician shall insure that the following disclosures have 
been made to the patient and documented in the medical 
record. Such disclosures need not be made or documented 
more than once, except to update the information provided: 

1. the name, Louisiana medical license number and 
contact information (address, telephone number(s)) of the 
physician; 

2. - 6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1262, 1270, 1271, 1275 and 1276.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1533 
(August 2009), amended LR 41: 
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§7509. Patient Records 
A. Patient records shall be: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. made available to the patient or a physician to 

whom the patient may be referred within a reasonable period 
of time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1262, 1270, 1271, 1275, and 1276.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1533 
(August 2009), amended LR 41: 
§7513. Prohibitions 

A. - B.4. ... 
C. Exceptions. The following exceptions are recognized 

to the prohibitions set forth in §7513.B.3 and/or §7513.B.4. 
1. Amphetamines. The prohibition against the 

prescription of an amphetamine and the requirement for an 
in-person visit within the past year, shall not apply to a 
psychiatrist who prescribes amphetamines/stimulants in the 
treatment of his or her patients suffering from attention 
deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), provided all of the 
following conditions are satisfied: 

a. - c. ... 
d. such is permitted by and in conformity with all 

applicable state and federal laws and regulations.  
2. Buprenorphine-Naloxone Preparations. The 

prohibition against the prescription of an opioid and the 
requirement for an in-person visit within the past year, shall 
not apply to a psychiatrist who is board certified in the 
subspecialty of addiction medicine or a physician who is 
certified by the American Society of Addiction Medicine, or 
its successors, from prescribing buprenorphine-naloxone 
preparations in the treatment of his or her patients suffering 
from an addictive disorder, provided all of the following 
conditions are satisfied: 

C.2.a. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1262, 1270, 1271, 1275 and 1276.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1534 
(August 2009), amended LR 41: 

No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
amendments proposed in this notice.  

Public Hearing 
In accordance with R.S. 49:968(H)(2), the board gives 

notice that a public hearing to receive comments and 
testimony on these substantive amendments to the Rule 
amendments original1y proposed will be held February 26, 
2015, at 10 a.m. in the office of the Louisiana State Board of 
Medical Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 
70130. Interested persons may submit written comments on 
these proposed substantive changes to Rita Arceneaux, 
Confidential Executive Assistant, Louisiana State Board of 
Medical Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 
70130, (504) 568-6820, ex. 242. She is responsible for 
responding to inquiries. Written comments will be accepted 
until 4 p.m., February 19, 2015. 

 
Cecilia Mouton, M.D. 
Executive Director 

1501#030 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Public Hearing—Substantive Changes to Proposed Rule 
Amendments—Physician Practice; Unprofessional Conduct 

(LAC 46:XLV.7603) 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (the 
“board”) published a Notice of Intent to amend its rules in 
the October 20, 2014 edition of the Louisiana Register (LR 
40:2069-2070). The notice solicited data, views, arguments, 
information or comments. As a result of the board’s 
consideration of the comments received during a subsequent 
meeting on December 8, 2014, it agreed with the request to 
revise the original proposed amendments: by separating 
§7603.A.9.b into §7603.A.9.b.i and A.9.b.ii; deleting the 
word fellowship in §7603A.9.b; making technical changes to 
name of the accrediting entity the Accreditation Council on 
Graduate Medical Education; and adding §7603.A.9.b.ii to 
include additional certifying entities falling within the scope 
of the amendment. As substantively amended, these 
provisions will read as set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 76. Definition of Enforcement Terms 
Subchapter B. Unprofessional Conduct 
§7603. Unprofessional Conduct 

A. - A.8.b. ... 
9. Failing to Adhere to Accepted Practices; 

Misleading Practices—a physician shall: 
a. ... 
b. not hold himself or herself out as a specialist in 

an area of medical practice unless the physician: 
 i. has successfully completed a residency training 
program, which is accredited by the Accreditation Council 
on Graduate Medical Education, the American Osteopathic 
Association (AOA), or the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada; or 
 ii. is certified in the specialty by a member board 
of the American Board of Medical Specialties, the AOA or 
such other medical specialty certifying entity as the board 
may approve. 

A.10. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1261-1292, 37:1270, 37:1285. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37:336 
(January 2011), amended LR 41: 

No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
amendments proposed in this notice.  

Public Hearing 
In accordance with R.S. 49:968(H)(2), the board gives 

notice that a public hearing to receive comments and 
testimony on these substantive amendments to the Rule 
amendments originally proposed will be held on February 
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26, 2015, at 11 a.m. in the office of the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New 
Orleans, LA 70130. Interested persons may submit written 
comments on these proposed substantive changes to Rita 
Arceneaux, Confidential Executive Assistant, Louisiana 
State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp Street, New 
Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, ex. 242. She is 
responsible for responding to inquiries. Written comments 
will be accepted until 4 p.m., February 19, 2015. 

 
Cecilia Mouton, M.D. 
Executive Director 

1501#029 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the oilfield 
sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared orphaned oilfield sites. 

 

Operator Field District 
Well 

Name 
Well 

Number 
Serial 

Number 

Kelton L. 
Howard Monroe M 

Emma 
Antley et 
al Unit 3 001 57533 

Kelton L. 
Howard Monroe M 

E. J. H. 
Howard 001 87492 

Kelton L. 
Howard Monroe M 

E. J. H. 
Howard 002 89817 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1501#013 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Environmental Division 

Legal NoticeDocket No. ENV 2015-01 

Notice is hereby given that the commissioner of 
conservation will conduct a hearing at 6 p.m., Thursday, 
February 26, 2015, at the Belle River Volunteer Fire 
Department located at 1207-A Hwy 70, Belle River, LA. 

At such hearing, the commissioner, or his designated 
representative, will hear testimony relative to the application 
of F.A.S. Environmental Services, LLC, P.O. Box 760, 
Pierre Part, LA 70339. The applicant requests approval from 
the Office of Conservation to construct and operate a 
commercial transfer station for temporary storage of 
exploration and production waste (E and P waste) fluids 
located in Township 13 South, Range 12 East, Section 22 in 
St. Martin Parish. 

The application is available for inspection by contacting 
Mr. Daryl Williams, Office of Conservation, Environmental 
Division, eighth floor of the LaSalle office building, 617 
North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. Copies of the 
application will be available for review at the St. Martin 
Parish Council in St. Martinville and the public library in 
Pierre Part, Louisiana no later than 30 days prior to the 
hearing date. Verbal information may be received by calling 
Mr. Williams at (225) 342-7286. 

All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
present data, views or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
public hearing. Written comments which will not be 
presented at the hearing must be received no later than 4:30 
p.m., Thursday, March 5, 2015, at the Baton Rouge office. 
Comments should be directed to: 

Office of Conservation 
Environmental Division 
P.O. Box 94275 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804 
Re: Docket No. ENV 2015-01 
FAS Transfer Station Application 
St. Martin Parish 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1501#024 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 41, Number 1) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2014-December 2014,  289QU 
 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Beef Industry Council 

Beef promotion and research program, 3ER 
 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Division of Programs 

Temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) 
Caseload reduction, 292P 

 
 
 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board 

Seafood promotion and marketing, 38R 
 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 156N 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards 
and Practices, 157N 

Bulletin 134—Tuition Donation Rebate Program, 40R 
Bulletin 135—Health and Safety, 4ER 
Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center 
Licensing Regulations, 158N 

Bulletin 741Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 7ER, 41R, 186N 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 188N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Secretary, Office of the 
Legal Division 

Air quality, standards, 198N 
 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
BJ 14-18 Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction, 
1EO 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Property Assistance Agency 
Electronic media sanitization, 197N 

State Procurement, Office of 
Procurement, 194N 

Tax Commission 
Public hearing 

Ad valorem taxation, oil and gas properties, 293P 
Technology Services, Office of 

Office of technology services consolidation, 46R 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Public Hearings 
State fiscal year 2016 draft annual plan, 292P 

Financial Institutions, Office of 
Judicial interest rate, 2015293P 

Home Inspectors, Board of 
Mold growth, visually observable evidence of 
suspected, 193N 

Pardons, Board of 
Parole, Committee on 

Parole 
Administration, 42R  
Eligibility, 42R 
Hearings, 42R 
Meetings, 42R 
Types of parole, 42R  

Public Defender Board 
Performance standards, criminal defense representation 
in indigent capital cases, 48R 

 
 
 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Home and community-based services waivers 
Children’s choice waiver, 125R 

Infant intervention services, 146R 
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, Board of 

License, 199N 
Internship, 199N 
Inspection, 199N 

2014 
Pages    Issue 
1-298 ................................................... January 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
Emergency Response Network 

Protocols 
STEMI, 137R 
Stroke, 137R 
Trauma, 137R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
Applied behavior analysis-based therapy services, 9ER 
Crisis receiving centers 

Licensing standards, 101R 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Children’s choice waiver, 125R 
Home health program 

Rehabilitation services, reimbursement rate increase, 
12ER 

Hospice services, 129R 
Inpatient hospital services 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Children’s specialty hospitals reimbursements, 
13ER 

Supplemental payments, 133R 
Public-private partnerships, south Louisiana area, 
14ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 
disabilities 
Complex care reimbursements, 15ER 
Public facilities, reimbursement rate increase, 16ER 

Medicaid eligibility 
Provisional medicaid program, 17ER 

Medical transportation program 
Non-emergency medical transportation, 18ER 

Nursing facilities 
Leave of absence days, reimbursement reduction, 
133R 

Per diem rate reduction, 201N 
Outpatient hospital services 

Public-private partnerships, south Louisiana area, 
21ER 

Pediatric day health care program, 133R 
Pharmacy benefits management program 

Methods of payment, 22ER 
State supplemental rebate agreement program, 22ER 

Professional services program 
Immunizations, reimbursement methodology, 23ER 

Rehabilitation clinics 
Physical and occupational therapies, reimbursement 
rate increase, 24ER, 203N 

School based health centers 
Rehabilitation services, reimbursement rate increase, 
25ER, 204N 

State children’s health insurance program 
Prenatal care services, coverage of, 205N 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
PLPC and PLMFT, 207N 
Fee structure adjustments/changes, 207N 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Public hearing—substantive changes to proposed rule 
amendments, physician practice 
Telemedicine, 293P 
Unprofessional conduct 294P 

Nursing Facility Administrators, Board of Examiners 
Continuing education, 96R 
Fee schedule, 96R 
License, refusal, suspension, and revocation, 96R  
Preceptor update, 96R 

Pharmacy, Board of 
Compounding, 97R 
Permit, special event, 100R 
Prescriptions, 98R 

Public Health, Office of 
Reclassification of failure to obtain a food safety 
certification as a class A violation, 148R 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Coastal Management, Office of 

Fisherman’s gear compensation fund, administration, 
150R 

Conservation, Office of 
Carbon dioxide enhanced oil recovery, 258N 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 295P 
Statewide orders 

29-B, 26ER 
Commercial facilities and transfer stations setbacks, 
260N 

29-B-a, 26ER 
Environmental Division 

Legal notice 
Docket no. ENV 2015-01, 295P 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Motor Vehicles, Office of 

Driving schools, 150R 
 
 
 

REVENUE 
Policy Services Division 
Secretary, Office of the 

Louisiana tax delinquency amnesty act of 2014, 151R 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION 
Operations, Office of 

Advertising on DOTD-owned assets, 261N 
Sponsorships and acknowledgment signs on public 
rights of way, 261N 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Crab traps 
Abandoned, removal, 154R 

King mackerel season 
Commercial, 2015-16 season, 38ER 

Resident game hunting season 
Areas, seasons, and bag limits, 264N 
Game birds and animals, 264N 
General and wildlife management area, 264N 
Turkey hunting, 264N 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 
Wild quadrupeds, possession of potentially dangerous 
big exotic cats and non-human primates, 152R 

 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Plumbing Board 

Water supply protection specialist, recertification, 287N 
 

 


