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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER JBE 19-01 

Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2018 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (hereafter “Act”), Executive Order Number JBE 
2016-35 was issued to establish a method for allocating 
bonds subject to private activity bond volume limits, 
including  

(1) the method of allocating bonds subject to the private 
activity bond volume limits for the calendar year 2016 and 
subsequent calendar years;  

(2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of bonds 
under The ceiling; and  

(3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations;  

WHEREAS, Section 4(H) of Executive Order Number 
JBE 2016-35 provides that if the ceiling for a calendar year 
exceeds the aggregate amount of bonds subject to the private 
activity bond volume limit issued during the year by all 
issuers, by executive order, the Governor may allocate the 
excess amount to issuers or an issuer for use as a carry-
forward for one or more carry-forward projects permitted 
under the Act;  

WHEREAS, the sum of four hundred eighty-nine 
million six hundred twenty-four thousand nine hundred 
sixty-five dollars ($489,624,965) represents the amount of 
the ceiling determined by the staff of the Louisiana State 
Bond Commission (“SBC”) for private activity bond volume 
limits for the year 2018 (“2018 Ceiling”);  

WHEREAS, four hundred eighty-nine million six 
hundred twenty-four thousand nine hundred sixty-five 
dollars ($489,624,965) of the 2018 Ceiling was not allocated 
during the 2018 calendar year; and 

WHEREAS, the SBC has determined that four hundred 
eighty-nine million six hundred twenty-four thousand nine 
hundred sixty-five dollars ($489,624,965) of the 2018 
Ceiling is eligible for carry-forward, of which eighty-five 
million dollars ($85,000,000) has been approved by the SBC 
and is pending allocation, leaving four hundred four million 
six hundred twenty-four thousand nine hundred sixty-five 
dollars ($404,624,965) of the excess 2018 Ceiling eligible 
and the Governor desires to allocate this amount as carry-
forward for projects which are permitted and eligible under 
the Act. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, 
Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority 
vested by the Constitution and the laws of the State of 
Louisiana, do hereby order and direct as follows:  

SECTION 1: Pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of Section 146(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended, and in accordance with the request for 
carry-forward filed by the designated issuer, the excess 
private activity bond volume limit under the 2018 Ceiling is 
hereby allocated to the following issuer(s), for the following 
carry-forward project(s), and in the following amount(s):  

 

Issuer 

Carry-Forward 

Project 

Carry-

Forward 

Amount 

Louisiana Community 
Development Authority 

American Biocarbon 
CT, LLC Project $60,000,000 

Louisiana Housing Corporation Single Family Housing $35,000,000 

Louisiana Housing Corporation Multifamily Housing $35,000,000 

Jefferson Parish Finance Authority Single Family Housing $15,000,000 

Lake Charles Harbor and  
Terminal District Big Lake Fuels, LLC $324,000,000 

Louisiana Public  
Facilities Authority Sewage Facilities $20,624,965 

 
SECTION 2: All references in this Order to the singular 

shall include the plural, and all plural references shall 
include the singular. 

SECTION 3: This Order is effective upon signature and 
shall remain in effect until amended, modified, terminated, 
or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by operation of 
law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand officially 
and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 
31st day of January 2019.  

 
John Bell Edwards 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
R. Kyle Aroin 
Secretary of State 
1902#062 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Citrus Greening Quarantine 
(LAC 7:XV.127) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, La. R.S. 49:953(B), and 
pursuant to the authority of the state entomologist in R.S. 
3:1652, notice is hereby given that Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry is adopting these emergency 
regulations establishing a quarantine for citrus greening 
disease (“CG”), also known as Huanglongbing disease of 
citrus, caused by the bacterial pathogen Candidatus 
Liberibacter spp. The state entomologist has determined that 
CG has been found in this state and may be prevented, 
controlled, or eradicated by quarantine. 

CG poses an imminent peril to the health and welfare of 
the Louisiana commercial citrus industry due to its ability to 
infest rutaceous plants. This industry has a farm value of 
$2.4-$5 million in southeastern Louisiana in the form of 
citrus nursery stock, and $5.1 million in the form of 
commercial citrus fruit in the state. CG renders the fruit 
unmarketable and ultimately causes death of infested plants. 
Failure to prevent, control, or eradicate this pest threatens to 
destroy Louisiana’s commercial citrus industry and the 
growing and harvesting of citrus by citizens of Louisiana for 
their own private use. 

Louisiana’s commercial citrus industry adds $7.5 - $10 
million dollars to the state’s agriculture economy each year. 
Sales of citrus trees and plants by nursery stock dealers to 
private individuals also are important to the state’s economy. 
The loss of the state’s commercial citrus industry and 
privately owned citrus trees and fruit would be devastating 
to the state’s economy and to its private citizens. The 
quarantine established by this emergency regulation is 
necessary to prevent the spread of CG in Louisiana outside 
of the current areas where this disease has already been 
found. 

For these reasons, the outbreak CG in Louisiana presents 
an imminent peril to the health, safety and welfare of 
Louisiana’s citizens and the state’s commercial and private 
citrus industry. As a result of this imminent peril, the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry hereby exercises its 
full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 3:1652 to deal with 
crop and fruit pests and contagious and infectious crop and 
fruit diseases by imposing the quarantines set out in these 
emergency regulations.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law upon 
signature, and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed 
by the Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry or until permanent rules are promulgated in 
accordance with law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 

Subchapter B. Nursery Stock Quarantines  

§127. Citrus Nursery Stock, Scions and Budwood 

A. - C. … 
D. Citrus Greening 

1. … 
2. Quarantined Areas. The quarantined areas in this 

state are the parishes of Orleans, Washington, Jefferson, St. 
Bernard, Plaquemines, and any other areas found to be 
infested with CG. The declaration of any other specific 
parishes or areas shall be published in the official journal of 
the state and in the Louisiana Register. 

D.3.- G.3. … 

AUTHORITYNOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 3:1652.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
LR 11:320 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 40:1308 (July 2014), LR 42:730 (May 2016), LR 
44:439 (March 2018), LR 45: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1902#019 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Certification of Commercial Applicators (LAC 7:XXII.711) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry declares an 
emergency to exist and adopts by emergency process the 
attached regulation requiring proficiency testing for all 
commercial applicators in 2018 and 2019. R.S. 3:3203(A) 
provides that the “commissioner shall adopt such rules and 
regulations as are necessary to implement the provisions of 
this Chapter, including but not limited to rules and 
regulations governing the registration, distribution, sale, 
offering for sale, and application of pesticides…” 
Additionally, R.S. 3:3242 provides that the “commissioner 
by rule shall provide for the issuance of annual certification 
cards.” In order to be in compliance with state and federal 
laws regarding testing and licensure, the commissioner 
believes proficiency testing is necessary to protect the health 
and safety of the public. This Emergency Rule was initially 
published at LR 43:9. 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective upon 
signature, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 194 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticides 

Chapter 7. Examinations, Certification and 

Licensing  

Subchapter B. Certification 

§711. Certification of Commercial Applicators 

A. - E. … 
F. The commissioner shall issue a certification card to 

each commercial applicator showing the categories or 
subcategories in which the applicator is certified. This 
certification card shall expire on December 31 of each year. 
Each person wishing to renew a certification card shall do so 
by submitting an application form prescribed by the 
commissioner and by submitting the proper fee. 

1. In order to renew a certification card, a commercial 
applicator shall take and pass a commercial applicator 
proficiency test. All commercial applicators who have not 
passed the commercial applicator proficiency test on or by 
December 31, 2017, shall take and pass the commercial 
applicator proficiency test before their renewal application 
and/or recertification will be processed. 

G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3242 and R.S. 3:324. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:179 (April 
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agriculture and 
Environmental Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), LR 19:735 
(June 1993), LR 20:641 (June 1994), LR 21:928 (September 1995), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Advisory Commission on 
Pesticides, LR 23:193 (February 1997), LR 24:280 (February 
1998), LR 28:39 (January 2002), LR 32:794 (May 2006), 
repromulgated LR 32:1011 (June 2006), amended LR 35:627 
(April 2009), amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Advisory 
Commission on Pesticides, LR 37:3471 (December 2011), LR 45: 

 

Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

1902#013 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Guava Root Knot Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.171) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, La. R.S. 49:953 (B), and the 
authority of the state entomologist under the provisions of 
R.S. 3:1652, and in order to avoid a lapse in coverage until 
the Permanent Rule is in effect, notice is hereby given that 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry is adopting These 
emergency regulations establishing a quarantine for the 
following pest: Guava Root Knot Nematode, Meloidogyne 

enterolobii. The state entomologist has determined that 
Guava Root Knot Nematode has been found in this state and 
may be prevented, controlled, or eradicated by quarantine. 
The effective date of this Rule is upon signature. 

Guava Root Knot Nematode (GRKN) poses an imminent 
threat to the health and welfare of Louisiana’s sweet potato, 
sugarcane, cotton, and soybean industries. In 2017, the total 
value of sweet potato production, including value added was 
$92.6 million (Louisiana State University AgCenter 2017 
Louisiana Summary, Agriculture and Natural Resources). 
Sugarcane is also a host for GRKN. The gross farm value for 
sugarcane in Louisiana was $589.3 million and the total 
value of the sugarcane crop to producers, processors, etc. at 
the first processing level was $989.5 million (LSU AgCenter 
2017 Louisiana Summary, Agriculture and Natural 
Resources). The gross farm value for cotton in Louisiana 
was $139.7 million and the total value of cotton production 
was $210.1 million (LSU AgCenter 2017 Louisiana 
Summary, Agriculture and Natural Resources). The gross 
farm value for soybeans in Louisiana was $679.4 million 
and when value–added activities are included the total 
economic impact of the soybean industry is estimated at 
$798.2 million (LSU AgCenter 2017 Louisiana Summary, 
Agriculture and Natural Resources).  

In addition to the aforementioned crops, GRKN is also a 
threat to the nursery and commercial vegetable industries. 
The gross value of commercial nursery production was 
$107.1 million and the total value of nursery production was 
$166.04 million (LSU AgCenter 2017 Louisiana Summary, 
Agriculture and Natural Resources). Commercial vegetable 
production’s gross value in 2017 was $79.4 million and the 
total value of commercial vegetable production was $186.7 
million (LSU AgCenter 2017 Louisiana Summary, 
Agriculture and Natural Resources). 

Guava Root Knot Nematode has only been positively 
identified in a very small area of Louisiana but this pest 
could impact almost every agriculture related industry in 
Louisiana if it were to become established. GRKN has a 
wide host range of crops and also weeds that it infects. It 
also has a high rate of reproduction so the use of fumigants 
would only temporarily reduce the nematode’s populations. 
In addition, GRKN has been found to attack the native 
Southern root knot nematode resistant varieties of cotton, 
tomato, pepper, soybean and sweet potato. 

The natural dispersal of GRKN is limited to very short 
distances. However without quarantine restrictions, GRKN 
could spread through human assisted means over long 
distances through GRK infested sweet potatoes, nursery 
stock, and commercial farm equipment. 

In other states where GRKN is found, sweet potatoes are 
not harvested because the potatoes are of such poor quality 
and shape that they cannot be sold. Also in some instances, 
only certain crops can be grown in GRKN infested soil 
limiting the farmer’s ability to diversify their crops and 
markets. 

For these reasons the presence of GRKN in Louisiana 
presents a peril to the integrity and stability of Louisiana’s 
agriculture industries. As a result of this imminent peril, the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry hereby exercises its 
full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 3:1652 to deal with 
crop and fruit pests and contagious and infectious crop and 
fruit diseases by imposing the quarantines set out in these 
emergency regulations. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law upon 
signature and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed 
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by the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or until 
permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 

Chapter H. Guava Root Knot Nematode Quarantine 

§171. Guava Root Knot Nematode Quarantine  

A. The department issues the following quarantine 
because the state entomologist has determined that the 
Guava Root Knot Nematode, Meloidogyne enterolobii, has 
been found in this state and may be prevented, controlled, or 
eradicated by quarantine. 

B. Quarantine Areas: 
1. The States of Florida, North Carolina, and South 

Carolina. 
2. a declaration of quarantine for guava root knot 

nematode covering any specific parish or area in Louisiana 
or any other state shall be published in the official journal of 
the state and in the Louisiana Register. 

C. No regulated articles as defined in this Section shall 
be moved into any area of this state, except as provided in 
this Section. 

D. The following articles are hosts of guava root knot 
nematode or may harbor guava root knot nematode and are 
deemed to be regulated articles for purposes of this 
Subsection:  

1. the guava root knot nematode in all of its life 
stages; plant parts, specifically sweet potatoes, from Florida, 
North Carolina, and South Carolina that can harbor the 
guava root knot nematode; soil from the above-mentioned 
quarantined states that may harbor the guava root knot 
nematode; commercial planting and/or harvesting equipment 
from the above-mentioned quarantined states. 

2. Certified seed sweet potatoes may be moved within 
the state from the quarantine area under a Special Permit 
issued by Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

3. Nursery crops may not be moved within the state 
from the quarantine area, whether direct from said area or by 
diversion or reconsignment from any other point, unless 
each shipment or lot is accompanied by a certificate issued 
by the authorized agricultural official of the state, certifying 
the material to be free from guava root knot nematode.  

4. any other article, product, or means of conveyance 
not listed in this Section may be designated as a regulated 
article if an inspector determines that it presents a risk of 
spreading guava root knot nematode and notifies the person 
in possession of the article, product, or means of conveyance 
that it is subject to the restrictions of the regulations. 

E. Commercial planting and/or harvesting equipment 
may be moved from quarantined areas into Louisiana only if 
moved under the following conditions: 

1. The commercial equipment being moved is 
accompanied by a state of origin certificate issued by the 
state regulatory agency.  

2. The commercial equipment must be thoroughly 
cleaned of any soil and plant debris and inspected by the 
state regulatory agency. The state regulatory agency must 
issue a state phytosanitary certificate attesting to the 
inspection and cleaning of the equipment. 

F. Any person violating this quarantine shall be subject 
to imposition of the remedies and penalties set forth in R.S. 
3:1653. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1652, 3:1653. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 45: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner  

1902#063 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agricultural and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Proficiency Testing (LAC 7:XXV.113 and 117) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry and Louisiana 
Structural Pest Control Commission declare an emergency to 
exist and hereby adopt by emergency process the attached 
regulation requiring proficiency testing for all structural 
licensees and registered technicians. R.S. 3:3366 grants the 
Structural Pest Control Commission the authority to adopt 
rules and regulations “to protect the interests, health, safety, 
and welfare of the public.” In order to be in compliance with 
state and federal laws regarding testing and licensure, the 
commissioner believes proficiency testing is necessary to 
protect the health and safety of the public. This Emergency 
Rule was initially published at LR 43:9-10. 

This Emergency Rule shall become effective upon 
signature, and shall remain in effect for 120 days, unless 
renewed or until the permanent rules and regulations become 
effective.  

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control  

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission 

§113. Registration of Employees; Duties of Licensee 

and Registered Employee with Respect to 

Registration 

A. - O. … 
P. Each registered technician shall participate in an 

entire continuing education program as a condition of 
maintaining his or her status as a registered technician at 
least once annually (July 1 to June 30). 

1. Each continuing education program, minimum of 
four hours of technical training, shall be approved in 
advance by the department. 

2. Each continuing education program shall be a 
minimum of one hour in length per phase. 

3. Documentation of the technician attendance and 
participation shall be forwarded to the department and a 
copy retained at the technician's place of employment. 

4. All registered technicians must take and pass the 
registered technician examination and/or the structural 
pesticide proficiency test in order to maintain his or her
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status as a registered technician. Any registered technician 
who has taken and passed the registered technician 
examination prior to January 1, 2017, but has not taken and 
passed the structural pesticide proficiency test on or by 
December 31, 2017, must take the structural pesticide 
proficiency test in order to maintain his or her status as a 
registered technician.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3366, 3368 and 3369. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 32:797 (May 2006), repromulgated LR 32:1016 (June 2006), 
amended LR 35:207 (February 2009), LR 37:279 (January 2011), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control 
Commission, LR 39:301 (February 2013), LR 42:213 (February 
2016), LR 45: 

§117. Obligations of the Licensee\Permittee 

A. - D. … 
E. Maintenance of a Commercial Applicator 

Certification by a Licensee 
1.a. A licensee shall maintain his commercial applicator 

certification in current status by: 
 i. attending a continuing educational program for 
recertification approved by the department; 
 ii. recertification at least once every three years; 
such recertification shall be completed by December 31 of 
the year preceding the third anniversary of either the original 
certification or the most recent recertification; 
 iii. a minimum of six hours of technical training 
which shall include but not limited to the phases of general 
pest control, termite control and commercial vertebrate 
control; 
 iv. a minimum of six hours of technical training 
for the phase of fumigation. 

b. All structural licensees must take and pass the 
structural licensee examination and/or the structural 
pesticide proficiency test in order to maintain his or her 
commercial application certification. Any structural licensee 
who has taken and passed the structural licensee 
examination prior to January 1, 2017, but has not taken and 
passed the structural pesticide proficiency test on or by 
December 31, 2017, must take the structural pesticide 
proficiency test in order to maintain his or her Commercial 
application certification. 

2. A licensee attending an approved recertification 
seminar shall attend the entire approved program; otherwise 
the licensee shall not be recertified at this approved seminar. 

3. Time and location for each licensee recertification 
can be obtained by calling or writing to the department;  

F. - Q. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366 and 3:3368. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:327 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:956 (November 1989), 
LR 21:930 (September 1995), LR 23:855 (July 1997), LR 26:2437 
(November 2000), LR 29:1062 (July 2003), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR

30:196 (February 2004), LR 31:2761 (November 2005), LR 
35:1468 (August 2009), LR 37:280 (January 2011), LR 39:301 
(February 2013), LR 42:214 (February 2016), LR 45:  

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

1902#014 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of the Commissioner 

Medical Marijuana Program 
(LAC 7:XLIX.2303) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 40:1046, the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Forestry declares an emergency to exist and amends by 
emergency process the attached regulations for the handling, 
testing analyzing medical marijuana or product in its 
laboratory. 

This Emergency Rule will allow the licensee to use the 
concentrate to make a final product while the concentrate is 
being tested.  

The entire Subsection A is printed herein, which includes 
both the revisions for this Emergency Rule as well as 
revisions made in a prior (but still in effect) Emergency 
Rule.  

This Emergency Rule becomes effective upon the 
signature of the Commissioner and shall remain in effect for 
120 days, unless renewed or until permanent rules and 
regulations become effective. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 

Part XLIX.  Medical Marijuana 

Chapter 23. Laboratory Approval and Testing  

§2303. Laboratory Testing 

A. Each batch of medical marijuana concentrate and 
product shall be made available by the licensee for an 
employee of the department, an approved laboratory or 
otherwise independent sample collector to select a random 
and representative sample of sufficient volume to conduct 
required analyses, which shall be tested by the department’s 
laboratory or an approved laboratory. 

1. Medical marijuana concentrate shall pass all 
analysis limits for: 

a. - e. … 
2. product shall not be released for delivery to a 

marijuana pharmacy for sale or consumption until it has 
passed all concentrate analysis limits and analysis limits for: 

a. - c. … 
B. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1046. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 43:1266 (July 2017), amended LR 45: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 
Commissioner 

1902#004 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 

State Central Registry—Child Placing Agencies 
General Provisions (LAC 67:V.Chapter 73) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
has exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B) to amend 
LAC 67: V, Subpart 8, Residential Licensing, Chapter 73, 
Child Placing Agencies—General Provisions, Sections 7305, 
7307, 7311, 7313, 7315, and to promulgate Section 7308. 
This Emergency Rule shall be effective January 29, 2019, 
and shall remain in effect until April 1, 2019. 

In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1 of the 2017 Regular 
Legislative Session, any owner, current or prospective 
employee, contractor, or volunteer requesting licensure or 
licensed by the DCFS is prohibited from ownership or 
employment if that person’s name is recorded on the state 
central registry as a perpetrator with a justified finding of 
child abuse and/or neglect. Each provider licensed by the 
DCFS shall submit a request for a state central registry 
check for all owners, staff, and volunteers prior to October 
15, 2018.  

The department considers emergency action necessary to 
ensure that no individual with a justified finding of child 
abuse and/or neglect listed on the state central registry owns, 
provides services for, or is employed in a facility licensed by 
DCFS. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 73. Child Placing Agencies—General 

Provisions 

§7305. Definitions 

* * * 

Owner or Operatorindividual or juridical entity 

exercising direct or indirect control over a licensed entity. 
1. For licensing purposes the following are considered 

owners:  

a. Individual Ownershipindividual and spouse 
who are listed on the Licensing application submitted and 
who have access to the children/youth in care of the provider 
and/or who receive services from the provider and/or who 
are present at any time on the agency premises when 
children/youth are present; 

b. Partnershipall limited or general partners and 
managers who are listed on the Licensing application 
submitted and who have access to the children/youth in care 
and/or who receive services from the provider and/or is 
present at any time on the agency premises when 
children/youth are present; 

c. Church Owned, University Owned or 

Governmental Entityany clergy and/or board members 
who are listed on the Licensing application submitted and 
who have access to the children/youth in care of the provider

and/or who receive services from the provider and/or who is 
present at any time on the agency premises when 
children/youth are present; 

d. Corporation (includes limited liability 

companies)individual(s) who is registered as an officer 
with the Louisiana Secretary of State and/or listed on the 
Licensing application submitted and who has access to the 
children/youth in care of the provider and/or children/youth 
who receive services from the provider and/or is present at 
any time on the agency premises when children/youth are 
present; 

* * * 

Provideran entity that is responsible for the placement 
of children in foster care to include the Department of 
Children and Family Services and any private child placing 
provider licensed by the department. All owners or operators 
of a facility, including the director of such facility. 

* * * 

Reasonable Suspicionto have or acquire information 
containing specific and articulable facts indicating that an 
owner, operator, current or potential employee, or volunteer 
has been investigated and determined to be the perpetrator of 
abuse and/or neglect of a minor with a justified (valid) 
finding currently recorded on the state central registry. 

* * * 

State Central Registry (SCR)repository that identifies 
individuals with certain justified (valid) findings of abuse 
and/or neglect of a child or children by the Department of 
Children and Family Services. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37:821 (March 2011), amended LR 42:221 (February 
2016), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7307. Licensing Requirements 

A. - G.1.d.  ... 
e. any validated instance of abuse and/or neglect as 

noted by inclusion on the state central registry if the owner is 
responsible or if the staff member who is responsible 
remains in the employment of the licensee; 

f. - g. ... 
h. provider refuses to allow the Licensing Section to 

perform mandated duties, i.e., denying entrance to the 
facility, lack of cooperation for completion of duties, 
intimidating or threatening DCFS staff, etc.; 

i. knowingly permit an individual with a justified 
(valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect to be on the 
premises without being directly supervised by another paid 
employee of the facility, who has not disclosed that their 
name appears with a justified (valid) finding prior to receipt 
of the official notification from Child Welfare that the 
individual is listed on the state central registry. 

G.2. - L.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing
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Section, LR 37:823 (March 2011), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7308. State Central Registry 

A. State Central Registry Checks for Owners 
1. Prior to April 1, 2019, in accordance with R.S. 

46:1414.1, all owners and operators affiliated with an agency 
were required to have on file a state central registry 
clearance form from child welfare stating that the 
owners/operators were not listed on the state central registry. 
No person recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse or neglect of 
a child shall be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the 
governance of a child placing agency. 

a. When an individual is listed on the licensing 
application or the Secretary of State’s website as an officer 
and does not have access to children/youth in care or 
children/youth who receive services from the provider 
and/or is not present at any time on the agency premises 
when children/youth are present, a DCFS approved 
attestation form signed and dated by the individual is 
acceptable in lieu of a state central registry clearance. The 
attestation form shall be accepted for a period of one year 
from the date individual signed attestation form. 

2. Prior to April 1, 2019, all owners and operators 
affiliated with an agency were required to have on file a 
clearance from any other state’s child abuse and neglect 
registry in which the owner/operator resided within the 
proceeding five years. No person recorded on any state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry with a justified (valid) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect of a child was eligible to 
own, operate, or participate in the governance of the child 
placing agency.  

3. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 
the state central registry for all owners and operators shall be 
conducted prior to a license being issued or if currently 
licensed, prior to the addition of a new board member who 
meets the definition of an owner. The Louisiana state central 
registry clearance form shall be dated no earlier than 45 days 
prior to the license being issued or the addition of a new 
board member who meets the definition of an owner. For 
states other than Louisiana, clearance forms shall be dated 
no earlier than 120 days prior to the license being issued or 
the addition of a new board member who meets the 
definition of an owner. No person who is recorded on any 
state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid justified 
(valid) finding of abuse or neglect of a child shall be eligible 
to own, operate, or participate in the governance of the child 
placing agency. 

a. When an individual is listed on the licensing 
application or the Secretary of State’s website as an officer 
and does not have access to children/youth in care or 
children/youth who receive services from the provider 
and/or is not present at any time on the agency premises 
when children/youth are present, a DCFS approved 
attestation form signed and dated by the individual is 
acceptable in lieu of a state central registry clearance. The 
attestation form shall be accepted for a period of one year 
from the date individual signed the attestation form. 

4. If an owner/operator resided in another state within 
the proceeding five years, provider shall request a check and 
obtain clearance information from that state’s child abuse

and neglect registry prior to the license being issued or if 
currently licensed, prior to the addition of a new board 
member who meets the definition of an owner. No person 
who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect of a child shall be eligible to own, operate, or 
participate in the governance of a child placing agency.  

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

5. Upon notification from child welfare that an 
owner/operator(s) is not listed on the state central registry, 
the provider shall maintain on file the child welfare 
notification that the owner’s name does not appear on the 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect. 

6. A request for a state central registry clearance shall 
be submitted by provider for all owners/operators to child 
welfare every five years prior to the date noted on the state 
central registry clearance notification and at any time upon 
the request of DCFS if reasonable suspicion exists that an 
individual may be listed on the state central registry.  

7. If the owner/operator receives a justified (valid) 
finding after receiving notification from child welfare that he 
was not listed on the state central registry and the 
owner/operator advises the provider prior to his/her appeal 
rights being exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 
hours or no later than the next business day, whichever is 
shorter. 

a. The owner/operator shall be directly supervised 
by a paid staff (employee) of the child placing agency and at 
any and all times when he/she is in the presence of a 
child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising the 
individual must not be a suspected perpetrator with a 
justified (valid) determination of abuse and/or neglect.  

b. Under no circumstances shall the owner/operator, 
with the justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect, be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

8. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare that the owner/operator is listed on the state central 
registry, the owner/operator shall no longer be eligible to 
own, operate, or participate in the governance of the child 
placing agency. The owner/operator may voluntarily 
withdraw the application for licensure or if he/she chooses 
not to withdraw the application, the application shall be 
immediately denied. If the individual with the justified 
(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect is a member of the 
child placing agency board, the provider shall submit a 
signed, dated statement to licensing within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day indicating that the board 
member has resigned his position on the board or has been 
relieved of his position on the board with the effective date 
of the resignation/removal. Within seven calendar days, 
provider shall also submit to licensing documentation 
verifying that the individual’s name has been removed from 
the Secretary of State’s website if the CPA is 
owned/operated by a corporation. After receipt of the 
statement, the application for licensure may continue to be 
processed.  
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9. Any information received or knowledge acquired 
by a provider that a current owner is a perpetrator of abuse 
and/or neglect with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
or neglect prior to receipt of official notification from child 
welfare, shall be immediately reported verbally to licensing 
management staff and followed up in writing no later than 
the close of business on the next business day. Prior to 
receipt of the official notification and immediately upon the 
knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been issued by 
DCFS, the individual shall be directly supervised by a paid 
staff (employee) of the child placing agency, at any and all 
times when he/she is present on the premises and/or is in the 
presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible for 
supervising the individual must not be a suspected 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the individual 
with the valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

10. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
from one owner to another. 

B. State Central Registry Checks for Staff and 
Volunteers 

1. Prior to employment, staff record shall contain a 
state central registry clearance form indicating that the staff 
(paid, non-paid, and volunteers) person is not listed on the 
state central registry with a justified finding of child abuse 
and/or neglect. 

a. Prior to April 1, 2019, all staff were required to 
have on file a state central registry clearance form from child 
welfare noting that the staff person is not listed on the state 
central registry in accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1. No 
person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and 
neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment in a licensed 
child placing agency. 

b. Prior to April 1, 2019, all staff (paid, non-paid, 
and volunteers) were required to have on file a clearance 
from any other state’s child abuse and neglect registry in 
which the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) person 
resided within the proceeding five years. No person who is 
recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry with 
a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be 
eligible for employment in a licensed child placing agency. 

c. In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, an inquiry of 
the state central registry for all staff(paid, non-paid and 
volunteer) shall be conducted prior to employment being 
offered to a potential hire. Staff (paid, non-paid, and 
volunteers) persons who have resided in another state within 
the proceeding five years, provider shall request a check and 
obtain state central registry clearance from that state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry. Louisiana state central registry 
clearance forms shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior 
to the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) being present on 
the premises or having access to children/youth. Other states 
state central registry clearance forms shall be dated no 
earlier than 120 days prior to the staff (paid, non-paid, and 
volunteers) being present on the premises or having access 
to children/youth. No person who is recorded on any state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry with a valid (justified) 

finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible for 
employment in a licensed child placing agency. 
 i. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

d. Upon notification from child welfare that the 
staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) is not listed on the state 
central registry, the provider shall maintain on file the state 
central registry clearance form noting that the staff’s (paid, 
non-paid, and volunteers) name does not appear on the 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect. A request shall be submitted to child welfare every 
five years for staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) prior to 
the issue date noted on the state central registry clearance 
form and at any time upon the request of DCFS if reasonable 
suspicion exists that a staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) 
may be listed on the state central registry. 

e. If after the initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by provider from child welfare noting that 
the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) is not listed on the 
state central registry and due to a new valid finding, the staff 
(paid, non-paid, and volunteers) receives a subsequent notice 
that he/she is listed on the state central registry (issued after 
the provider was licensed) and advises the provider of the 
new information prior to their appeal rights being exhausted, 
licensing shall be notified within 24 hours or no later than 
the next business day, whichever is shorter. The staff (paid, 
non-paid, and volunteers) with the valid (justified) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect shall be directly supervised by another 
paid staff (employee) of the child placing agency, at any and 
all times when he/she is present on the premises and/or is in 
the presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible for 
supervising the individual shall not be suspected to be a 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the staff (paid, 
non-paid, and volunteers) with the valid (justified) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect be left alone and unsupervised with a 
child/youth pending the official determination from child 
welfare that the individual is or is not listed on the state 
central registry. 

f. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare that the staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) is 
listed on the state central registry, the staff (paid, non-paid, 
and volunteers) shall no longer be eligible for employment 
with the child placing agency. The provider shall submit a 
signed, dated statement to licensing within 24 hours, but no 
later than the next business day indicating that the staff 
(paid, non-paid, and volunteers) with the valid (justified) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect has been terminated. If this 
statement is not received by licensing within the 
aforementioned timeframe, the application shall be denied or 
license shall be immediately revoked.  

g. Any information received or knowledge acquired 
by the provider that a current staff (paid, non-paid and 
volunteers) is a perpetrator of abuse and/or neglect with a 
justified (valid) determination of abuse or neglect prior to 
receipt of official notification from child welfare, shall be 
immediately reported verbally to licensing management staff 
(paid, non-paid, and volunteers) and followed up in writing 
no later than the close of business on the next business day.
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Prior to receipt of the official notification and immediately 
upon the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been 
issued by DCFS, the individual shall be directly supervised 
by a paid staff (employee) of the child placing agency, at any 
and all times when he/she is present on the premises and/or 
is in the presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible 
for supervising the individual must not be suspected to be a 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the individual 
with the valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

h. State central registry clearances are not 
transferable from one owner to another. 

C. State Central Registry Checks for Contractors 
1. Contractors who provide services to children/youth 

unaccompanied by paid staff or have access to 
children/youth unaccompanied by a paid staff shall have on 
file at the agency a state central registry clearance form 
which indicates that the contractor is not listed on any State 
Central registry with a valid finding of child abuse and/or 
neglect. 

a. Prior to April 1, 2019, all contractors providing 
services to the child placing agency were required to have on 
file a state central registry clearance form from child welfare 
that the contractor is not listed on the state central registry in 
accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1. No person who is recorded 
on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid 
(justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible 
for employment or provide services in a licensed child 
placing agency. 

b. Prior to April 1, 2019 , all contractors providing 
services to the child placing agency were required to have on 
file a clearance from any other state’s child abuse and 
neglect registry in which the contractor resided within the 
proceeding five years. No person who is recorded on any 
state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid 
(justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible 
for employment or provide services in a licensed child 
placing agency. 

c. For individuals who have resided in another state 
within the proceeding five years, provider shall request a 
check and obtain clearance information from that state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry prior to providing services 
or having access to children/youth. 
 i. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

d. Louisiana state central registry clearance forms 
shall be dated no earlier than 45 days prior to the individual 
providing services or having access to children/youth. Other 
state’s state central registry clearance information shall be 
dated no earlier than 120 days prior to the individual 
providing services or having access to children/youth. No 
person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and 
neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment in a licensed 
child placing agency.  

e. Upon notification from child welfare that the 
individual is not listed on the state central registry, the 
provider shall maintain on file the state central registry 
clearance indicating that the individual’s name does not 
appear on the registry with a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect. No person who is recorded on any 
state’s child abuse and neglect registry with a valid 
(justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible to 
provide services in a licensed child placing agency. 

f. A request shall be submitted to child welfare 
every five years for contractors prior to the issue date noted 
on the state central registry clearance form and at any time 
upon the request of DCFS if reasonable suspicion exists that 
a staff may be listed on the state central registry.  

g. If after the initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by provider from child welfare noting that 
the individual is not listed on the state central registry and 
due to a new valid finding, the contractor receives a 
subsequent notice that he/she is listed on the state central 
registry (issued after the provider was licensed) and advises 
the provider of the new information prior to their appeal 
rights being exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 
hours or no later than the next business day, whichever is 
shorter. The individual with the valid (justified) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect shall be directly supervised by a paid 
staff (employee) of the child placing agency at any and all 
times when he/she present on the premises and/or is in the 
presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible for 
supervising the individual must not be suspected to be a 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the individual 
with the valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

h. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare that the contractor is listed on the state central 
registry, the individual shall no longer be eligible to provide 
services for the child placing agency. The provider shall 
submit a signed, dated statement to licensing within 24 hours 
or no later than the next business day indicating that the 
individual with the valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect has been relieved of his duties with the child placing 
agency with the effective date of termination of services. If 
this statement is not received by licensing within the 
aforementioned timeframe, the license shall be immediately 
revoked.  

i. Any information received or knowledge acquired 
by the provider that a current contractor is a perpetrator of 
abuse and/or neglect with a justified (valid) determination of 
abuse or neglect prior to receipt of official notification from 
child welfare, shall be immediately reported verbally to 
licensing management staff and followed up in writing no 
later than the close of business on the next business day. 
Prior to receipt of the official notification and immediately 
upon the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been 
issued by DCFS, the individual shall be directly supervised 
by a paid staff (employee) of the child placing agency, at any 
and all times when he/she is present on the premises and/or 
is in the presence of a child/youth,. The employee 
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responsible for supervising the individual must not be 
suspected to be a perpetrator with a justified (valid) 
determination of abuse and/or neglect. Under no 
circumstances shall the individual with the valid (justified) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect be left alone and 
unsupervised with a child/youth pending the official 
determination from child welfare that the individual is or is 
not listed on the state central registry. 

j. State central registry clearances are not 
transferable from one owner to another. 

D. Reasonable Suspicion 
1. Any information received or knowledge acquired 

by the provider that a current owner, contractor, volunteer 
and/or staff, is a perpetrator of abuse and/or neglect after 
October 1, 2018, with a justified (valid) determination of 
abuse or neglect prior to receipt of official notification from 
Child Welfare, shall be verbally reported to Licensing 
management staff immediately and followed up in writing 
no later than the close of business on the next business day. 
Prior to receipt of the official notification and immediately 
upon the knowledge that a justified (valid) finding has been 
issued by DCFS, the individual shall be directly supervised 
by a paid staff (employee) of the child placing agency, at any 
and all times when he/she is present on the premises and/or 
is in the presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible 
for supervising the individual shall not be suspected to be a 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the individual 
with the valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from Child Welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1414.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7311. Provider Responsibilities 

A. - A.7.a.ii. ... 
 iii. have a state central registry notification form 
from Child Welfare as required in §7308.B. 

A.8. - B.2.a.ix. ... 
x. documentation of a state central registry 

clearance as required in §7308.B. 
B.2.b. - H.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37:828 (March 2011), amended LR 42:221 (February 
2016), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7313. Foster Care Services 

A. - A.3.a. ... 
b. An inquiry of the state central registry for 

members of the household 18 years of age and older, 
excluding children in DCFS custody, shall be conducted 
prior to certification and annually thereafter. No person 
whose name is recorded on the state central registry with a 
valid (justified) finding of abuse or neglect of a child shall 
reside in the home.  

c. If any member of the household 18 years of age 
or older resided in another state within the proceeding five 
years, the provider shall request and obtain clearance 
information from that state’s child abuse and neglect registry 
prior to certifying the foster/adoptive parents. Out of state 
clearances shall be requested and clearance information 
obtained after the application is received by the child placing 
agency and prior to certification and placement of a child in 
the home. No person whose name is recorded on any state 
central registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse or 
neglect of a child shall reside in the home.  

d. An inquiry of the state central registry shall be 
submitted within 30 calendar days of a household member, 
excluding children in DCFS custody, attaining their 18th 
birthday. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect of a child can reside in the home. 

e. Prior to any person 18 years or older moving into 
the home, excluding children in DCFS custody, a state 
central registry clearance shall be obtained. No person who 
is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 
with a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect of a 
child can reside in the home. 

f. If an individual recorded on the state central 
registry is found to be living in the home, the children placed 
in the home shall be immediately removed and the 
foster/adoptive parents decertified. 

g. The DCFS state central registry clearance form 
shall be dated no earlier than 45 days of the foster/adoptive 
parents being certified or household members over the age 
of 18 years being present in the home. Out-of-state clearance 
forms shall be dated no earlier than 120 days of 
foster/adoptive parents being certified.  

h. If a foster/adoptive parent receives a valid 
finding after receiving a state central registry clearance form 
from child welfare indicating that he/she was not listed on 
the state central registry and the child placing agency is 
notified prior to the individual’s appeal rights being 
exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is shorter. The 
child placing agency shall follow the recommendations of 
the department regarding any DCFS children in the care of 
the foster/adoptive parents. 

i. State central registry clearances are not 
transferable from one owner to another. 

A.4. - C.5.b.vii. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and Act 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37:833 (March 2011), amended LR 38:985 (April 
2012), LR 42:222 (February 2016), LR 42:1508 (September 2016), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Licensing Section, LR 45:  

§7315. Adoption Services 

A. - A.2.a. ... 
b. An inquiry of the state central registry for 

members of the household 18 years of age and older, 
excluding children in DCFS custody, shall be conducted
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prior to certification and annually thereafter. No person 
whose name is recorded on the state central registry with a 
valid (justified) finding of abuse or neglect of a child shall 
reside in the home.  

c. If any member of the household 18 years of age 
or older resided in another state within the proceeding five 
years, the provider shall request and obtain clearance 
information from that state’s child abuse and neglect registry 
prior to certifying the foster/adoptive parents. Out of state 
clearances shall be requested and clearance information 
obtained after the application is received by the child placing 
agency and prior to certification and placement of a child in 
the home. No person whose name is recorded on any state 
central registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse or 
neglect of a child shall reside in the home.  

d. An inquiry of the state central registry shall be 
submitted within 30 calendar days of a household member, 
excluding children in DCFS custody, attaining their 18th 
birthday. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry with a valid (justified) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect of a child can reside in the home. 

e. Prior to any person 18 years or older moving into 
the home, excluding children in DCFS custody, a state 
central registry clearance shall be obtained. No person who 
is recorded on any state’s child abuse and neglect registry 
with a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect of a 
child can reside in the home. 

f. If an individual recorded on the state central 
registry is found to be living in the home, the children placed 
in the home shall be immediately removed and the 
foster/adoptive parents decertified. 

g. The DCFS state central registry clearance form 
shall be dated no earlier than 45 days of the foster/adoptive 
parents being certified or household members over the age 
of 18 years being present in the home. Out-of-state clearance 
forms shall be dated no earlier than 120 days of 
foster/adoptive parents being certified.  

h. If a foster/adoptive parent receives a valid 
finding after receiving a state central registry clearance form 
from child welfare indicating that he/she was not listed on 
the state central registry and the child placing agency is 
notified prior to the individual’s appeal rights being 
exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is shorter. The 
child placing agency shall follow the recommendations of 
the department regarding any DCFS children in the care of 
the foster/adoptive parents. 

i. State central registry clearances are not 
transferable from one owner to another. 

A.3. - J.4.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and Act 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section LR 37:842 (March 2011), amended LR 42:1508 
(September 2016), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Licensing Section, LR: 45: 

 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 

State Central Registry—Juvenile Detention Facilities 

(LAC 67:V.Chapter 75) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953 (A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, 
Subpart 8, Residential Licensing, Chapter 75, Juvenile 
Detention Facilities. This Emergency Rule shall be effective 
February 28, 2019, and shall remain in effect for a period of 
120 days. 

The proposed Rule amends Chapter 75, Juvenile 
Detention Facilities, §§7505, 7507, and 7511, and 
promulgates §7508. In accordance with R.S. 15:1110.2, any 
owner, operator, current or prospective employee, or 
volunteer requesting licensure or licensed by the DCFS is 
prohibited from ownership or employment if that person’s 
name is recorded on the state central registry as a perpetrator 
with a justified (valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect. 
Each provider licensed by the DCFS shall submit a request 
for a state central registry check for all owners, staff, 
contractors, LDE staff, and volunteers prior to November 16, 
2018. The implementation of this Rule will ensure that no 
individual with a justified (valid) finding of child abuse 
and/or neglect listed on the state central registry owns, 
provides services for, or is employed in a facility licensed by 
DCFS.  

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 75. Juvenile Detention Facilities  

§7505. Definitions 

* * * 

Individual Ownerrepealed. 

* * * 

LDE StaffLouisiana Department of Education or local 
school district staff. 

* * *  

Owner or Operatorindividual or juridical entity 
exercising direct or indirect control over a licensed entity. 

1. For licensing purposes the following are considered 
owners:  

a. Individual Ownershipindividual and spouse 
listed on the licensing application submitted and who have 
access to the children/youth in care of the provider and/or 
children/youth who receive services from the provider 
and/or who are present at any time on the facility premises 
when children/youth are present; 

b. Partnershipall limited or general partners and 
managers who are listed on the licensing application 
submitted and who have access to the children/youth in care 
of the provider and/or children/youth who receive services 
from the provider, and/or who are present at any time on the 
facility premises when children/youth are present; 
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c. Church Owned, University Owned or 

Governmental Entityany clergy and/or board member who 
is listed on the licensing application submitted and who has 
access to the children/youth in care of the provider, and/or 
children/youth who receive services from the provider, 
and/or who is present at any time on the facility premises 
when children/youth are present; 

d. Corporation (includes limited liability 

companies)individual(s) who is registered as an officer of 
the board with the Louisiana Secretary of State and/or listed 
on the licensing application submitted and who has access to 
the children/youth in care of the provider, and/or 
children/youth who receive services from the provider, 
and/or who is present at any time on the facility premises 
when children/youth are present. 

Ownershiprepealed. 

* * * 
Provider──all owners or operators of the facility 

including the director of such facility. 

* * * 
Reasonable Suspicion──suspicion based on specific and 

articulable facts which indicate that an owner, or current or 
potential employee or volunteer has been investigated and 
determined to be the perpetrator of abuse and/or neglect of a 
minor resulting in a justified and/or valid finding prior to 
official notification from child welfare whether the person is 
or is not listed on the state central registry. 

* * * 
State Central Registry (SCR)──a subsystem of the state 

repository that maintains information on perpetrators of 
child abuse and neglect with valid findings on tiers I, II, and 
III of the child welfare tiered validity system. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1110. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 38:1559 (July 2012), amended LR 39:1006 (April 
2013), effective July 1, 2013, amended LR 42:395 (March 2016), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7507. Licensing Requirements 

A. - A.14. ... 
15. Any owner/owners of a juvenile detention facility 

shall provide documentation of a state central registry 
clearance from child welfare and satisfactory fingerprint 
based criminal record check conducted by Louisiana State 
Police. 

a. When an individual is listed on the licensing 
application submitted and/or registered as an officer of the 
board with the Louisiana Secretary of State and does not 
have access to children/youth in care or children/youth who 
receive services from the provider and/or who is not present 
at any time on the facility premises when children/youth are 
present, a DCFS approved attestation form signed and dated 
by the individual is acceptable in lieu of the state central 
registry clearance and a satisfactory fingerprint based CBC 
from LSP. The attestation form shall be accepted for a period 
of one year from the date individual signed attestation form. 

B. - B.1.q. ... 
r. documentation of a state central registry 

clearance as required in §7508. 
B.2. - F.3.a.ix ... 

x. documentation of a state central registry 
clearance as required in §7508. 

F.3.b. - G.1.c. ... 
d. any validated instance of abuse and/or neglect as 

noted by inclusion on the state central registry if the owner is 
named or if the staff member who is named remains in the 
employment of the licensee; 

G.1.e. - G.1.m. ... 
n. knowingly permit an individual with a justified 

(valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect to be on the 
premises without being directly supervised by another paid 
employee of the facility, who has not disclosed that their 
name appears with a justified (valid) finding prior to receipt 
of the official notification from child welfare that the 
individual is listed on the state central registry; 

o. permit an individual to be on the premises or to 
have access to children/youth when listed on the state central 
registry. 

H. - I.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1110. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 38:1561 (July 2012), amended LR 38:3104 (December 
2012), LR 39:1006 (April 2013), effective July 1, 2013, amended 
LR 42:395 (March 2016), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7508. State Central Registry 

A. On November 1, 2018, and no later than November 9, 
2018, provider shall submit a list of all owners/operators, 
contractors, and staff (paid, non-paid, and volunteers) 
employed/providing services as of November 1, 2018, to 
licensing management staff and shall attest that the 
information submitted is true and correct. The list shall be 
signed and dated by the director on file with the Licensing 
Section or by the owner. In addition, provider shall submit a 
list of all owners/operators, contractors, and staff (paid, non-
paid, and volunteers) that have resided in another state 
within the previous five years which shall include the 
individual’s name and state(s) in which the individual 
resided. The list shall be signed and dated by the director on 
file with the Licensing Section or by the owner. If no 
owner/operator, contractor, or staff resided in another state 
within the previous five years, provider shall submit a signed 
statement attesting to such to Licensing Section management 
staff. 

B. Current Owners as of November 1, 2018 
1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, provider shall submit a state central 
registry request for each owner/operator including board 
members who meet the definition of an owner to DCFS 
child welfare to conduct a check of the state central registry. 
The request shall be submitted to child welfare no later than 
November 16, 2018. For owners/operators including board 
members who meet the definition of an owner who have 
resided in another state within the proceeding five years, 
provider shall submit a request to that state’s child abuse and 
neglect registry no later than November 16, 2018. 
Documentation of request shall be available for review. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 
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2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if an owner/operator is currently listed on the state central 
registry as a perpetrator of valid (justified) abuse and/or 
neglect. No person who is recorded on any state central 
registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect of a child shall be eligible to own, operate, or 
participate in the governance or management of the juvenile 
detention facility.  

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years from the issue date noted on 
the state central registry clearance form for all 
owners/operators who meet the definition of an owner and at 
any time upon the request of DCFS when reasonable 
suspicion exists that an individual may be listed on the state 
central registry. If an owner resides in another state and is 
licensed to operate a juvenile detention facility in the state of 
Louisiana, provider shall submit a state central registry 
request to that state’s child abuse and neglect registry every 
five years from the issue date noted on the previous year’s 
registry clearance form. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the owner/operator is not listed on the state central 
registry, the provider shall maintain on file the notification(s) 
that his/her name does not appear on the registry. 

5. Upon notification to the juvenile detention facility 
from child welfare or any other state that the owner/operator 
is listed on the state central registry, the owner/operator shall 
no longer be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the 
governance or management of the juvenile detention facility. 
The owner/operator can voluntarily close the business or if 
he/she chooses not to close the business, the license shall be 
immediately revoked. If the owner/operator is a member of 
the board or clergy, the provider shall submit a signed, dated 
statement to licensing within 24 hours or no later than the 
next business day indicating that the individual has resigned 
or been relieved of his position with the effective date of the 
resignation/removal. If this statement is not received by 
licensing within the aforementioned timeframe, the license 
shall be immediately revoked. Provider shall also submit 
documentation to licensing within seven calendar days 
verifying that the individual’s name has been removed from 
the Secretary of State’s website if owned by a corporation. 

6. If after an initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by the juvenile detention facility from child 
welfare noting that the owner/operator is not listed on the 
state central registry and due to a new justified (valid) 
finding, the owner/operator receives a subsequent notice that 
he/she is listed on the state central registry and he/she 
advises the juvenile detention facility of the new information 
prior to receiving official notification from child welfare, 
licensing shall be notified within 24 hours or no later than 
the next business day, whichever is shorter. The 
owner/operator shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
(employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and all 
times when he/she is on the premises and/or in the presence 
of a child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising 
the individual shall not be a suspected perpetrator with a 
justified (valid) determination of abuse and/or neglect. 
Under no circumstances shall the owner/operator with the 
valid (justified) finding of abuse and/or neglect be left alone 
and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the official 

determination from child welfare that the individual is or is 
not listed on the state central registry. 

7. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

C. Prospective Owners Effective November 1, 2018 
1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, an inquiry of the state central registry 
for all owners (including board members who meet the 
definition of an owner) and operators shall be conducted 
prior to a license being issued. For owners/operators, 
including board members who meet the definition of an 
owner who resided in another state within the proceeding 
five years, provider shall request a state central registry 
check and obtain clearance information from that state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry. Louisiana state central 
registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 45 days 
prior to the license being issued. Out-of-state state central 
registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 120 days 
prior to license being issued. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if the owner/operator is currently listed on the state central 
registry as a perpetrator of justified (valid) abuse and/or 
neglect. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry with a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect of a child shall be eligible to own, 
operate, or participate in the governance or management of 
the juvenile detention facility.  

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years from the issue date noted on 
the state central registry clearance form for all 
owners/operators including board members who meet the 
definition of an owner and at any time upon the request of 
DCFS if reasonable suspicion exists that an individual may 
be listed on the state central registry. If an owner resides in 
another state and is licensed to operate a juvenile detention 
facility in the state of Louisiana, provider shall submit a state 
central registry request to that state’s child abuse and neglect 
registry every five years from the issue date noted on the 
previous year’s registry clearance form. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the owner/operator(s) is not listed on the state 
central registry, the provider shall maintain on file the 
notification(s) that his/her name does not appear on the 
registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect.  

5. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare or any other state that the owner/operator is listed on 
the state central registry, the owner/operator shall no longer 
be eligible to own, operate, or participate in the governance 
or management of the juvenile detention facility. The 
owner/operator can voluntarily withdraw the application for 
licensure or if he/she chooses not to withdraw the 
application, the application shall be immediately denied. If 
the individual with the justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect is a member of the board, the provider shall 
submit a signed, dated statement to licensing within 24 hours 
or no later than the next business day indicating that the
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board member has resigned his/her position on the 
board/been relieved of his position on the board with the 
effective date of the resignation/removal. Within seven 
calendar days, provider shall also submit documentation to 
licensing verifying that the individual’s name has been 
removed from the Secretary of State’s website to licensing if 
owned by a corporation. After receipt of the statement, the 
application for licensure may continue to be processed. 

6. If after an initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by juvenile detention facility from child 
welfare noting that the owner/operator is not listed on the 
state central registry and due to a new valid finding against 
the owner/operator receives a subsequent notice (issued after 
the provider was licensed) that he/she is listed on the state 
central registry and the owner/operator advises the juvenile 
detention facility of the new information prior to his/her 
appeal rights being exhausted, licensing shall be notified 
within 24 hours or no later than the next business day, 
whichever is shorter. The owner/operator, shall be directly 
supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the juvenile 
detention facility at any and all times when he/she is on the 
premises or in the presence of a child/youth. The employee 
responsible for supervising the individual shall not be a 
suspected perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination 
of abuse and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the 
owner/operator, with the justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect, be left alone and unsupervised with a 
child/youth pending the official determination from child 
welfare that the individual is or is not listed on the state 
central registry. 

7. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

D. Current Staff as of November 1, 2018 
1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, provider shall submit a state central 
registry request for each currently employed staff (paid and 
non-paid staff and volunteers) to DCFS child welfare to 
conduct a check of the state central registry. The request 
shall be submitted to child welfare no later than November 
16, 2018. For staff who have resided in another state within 
the proceeding five years, provider shall request information 
from that state’s child abuse and neglect registry no later 
than November 16, 2018. Documentation of request shall be 
available for review. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if the individual is currently listed on the state central 
registry as a perpetrator of justified (valid) abuse and/or 
neglect. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry shall be eligible for employment 
or to provide volunteer services with the facility.  

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years from the issue date noted on 
the state central registry clearance form for all staff and at 
any time upon the request of DCFS if reasonable suspicion 
exists that a staff may be listed on the state central registry. 
If a person resides in another state and is employed at a 
juvenile detention facility in the state of Louisiana, provider 
shall submit a state central registry request to that state’s 

child abuse and neglect registry every five years for this staff 
from the issue date noted on the previous year’s registry 
check form. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the staff is not listed on the state central registry, 
the provider shall maintain on file the notification(s) that the 
staff’s name does not appear on the registry. 

5. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare or any other state that the staff is listed on the state 
central registry, the staff shall no longer be eligible for 
employment with the juvenile detention facility. The 
provider shall submit a signed, dated statement to licensing 
within 24 hours or no later than the next business day 
indicating that the staff has been relieved of his/her position 
at the agency with the effective date of the termination. If 
this statement is not received by licensing within the 
aforementioned timeframe, the license shall be immediately 
revoked.  

6. If after the state central registry clearance form is 
received by provider from child welfare noting that the staff 
is not listed on the state central registry and due to a new 
valid finding the staff receives a subsequent notice that 
he/she is listed on the state central registry and advises the 
provider of the new information prior to his/her appeal rights 
being exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 hours 
or no later than the next business day, whichever is shorter. 
The staff with the justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or 
neglect, at any and all times when he/she is on the premises 
and/or in the presence of a child/youth, shall be directly 
supervised by another paid staff (employee) of the juvenile 
detention facility. The employee responsible for supervising 
the individual shall not be a suspected perpetrator with a 
justified (valid) determination of abuse and/or neglect. 
Under no circumstances shall the staff with the justified 
(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect be left alone and 
unsupervised with a child/youth pending the official 
determination from child welfare that the individual is or is 
not listed on the state central registry. 

7. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

E. Prospective Staff Effective November 1, 2018 
1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 

with R.S. 15:1110.2, an inquiry of the state central registry 
for all staff (paid, non-paid and volunteers) shall be 
conducted prior to employment being offered to a potential 
hire or volunteer services provided. For staff persons who 
have resided in another state within the proceeding five 
years, provider shall request a state central check from that 
state’s child abuse and neglect registry prior to hire. While 
awaiting the results of the out of state central registry results, 
the individual shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
(employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and all 
times when he/she is on the premises and/or in the presence 
of a child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising 
the individual shall not also be awaiting the results of an out 
of state central registry clearance. Under no circumstances 
shall the individual awaiting out of state central registry 
results be left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 206 

pending the official determination from that state that the 
individual is or is not listed on the state central registry. 
Louisiana state central registry clearances shall be dated no 
earlier than 45 days prior to the staff being present on the 
premises or having access to children/youth. Out-of-state 
state central registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 
120 days prior to license being issued. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if the staff is currently listed on the state central registry as a 
perpetrator of justified (valid) abuse and/or neglect. No 
person who is recorded on any state’s child abuse and 
neglect registry with a justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect shall be eligible for employment or to provide 
volunteer services in a licensed juvenile detention facility. 

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years for staff from the issue date 
noted on the state central registry clearance form and at any 
time upon the request of DCFS if reasonable suspicion exists 
that a staff may be listed on the state central registry. If a 
person resides in another state and is employed at a juvenile 
detention facility in the state of Louisiana, provider shall 
submit a state central registry request to that state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry every five years for this staff from 
the issue date noted on the previous year’s registry clearance 
form. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the staff is not listed on the state central registry, 
the provider shall maintain on file the notification(s) that the 
staff’s name does not appear on the registry with a justified 
(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect.  

5. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare or any other state that the staff is listed on the state 
central registry, the staff shall no longer be eligible for 
employment or to provide volunteer services for the juvenile 
detention facility. The provider shall submit a signed, dated 
statement to licensing within 24 hours or no later than the 
next business day indicating that the staff with the justified 
(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect will not be hired for a 
position at the agency. If this statement is not received by 
licensing within the aforementioned timeframe, the 
application shall be denied or license shall be immediately 
revoked.  

6. If after the initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by the juvenile detention facility from child 
welfare noting that the staff is not listed on the state central 
registry and due to a new valid finding, the staff receives a 
subsequent notice that he/she is listed on the state central 
registry (issued after the provider was licensed) and advises 
the provider of the new information prior to his/her appeal 
rights being exhausted, licensing shall be notified within 24 
hours or no later than the next business day, whichever is 
shorter. The staff with the justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect shall be directly supervised by another paid 
staff (employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and 

all times when he/she present on the premises and/or is in 
the presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible for 
supervising the individual shall not be a suspected 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the staff with 
the justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect be left 
alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

7. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

F. Current Contractors and LDE Staff as of November 1, 
2018 

1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 
with R.S. 15:1110.2, provider shall submit a request to 
DCFS child welfare for a check of the state central registry 
for each contractor and LDE staff. The request shall be 
submitted to child welfare no later than November 16, 2018. 
For contractors and LDE staff who have resided in another 
state within the proceeding five years, provider shall request 
a state central registry check no later than November 16, 
2018, and obtain clearance information from that state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry. Documentation of request 
shall be available for review. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if the individual is currently listed on the state central 
registry as a perpetrator of justified (valid) abuse and/or 
neglect. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry shall be eligible to provide 
contracted services for the juvenile detention facility.  

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years for contractors and LDE 
staff from the issue date noted on the state central registry 
clearance form and at any time upon the request of DCFS 
when reasonable suspicion exists that an individual may be 
listed on the state central registry. If a contractor or LDE 
staff resides in another state and provides services in a 
juvenile detention facility in the state of Louisiana, provider 
shall submit a state central registry request to that state’s 
child abuse and neglect registry every five years for this 
contractor or LDE staff from the issue date noted on the 
previous year’s registry clearance form. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the individual is not listed on the state central 
registry, the provider shall maintain on file the notification(s) 
that the individual’s name does not appear on the registry 
with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect.  

5. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare or any other state that the individual is listed on the 
state central registry, the individual shall no longer be 
eligible to provide services for the juvenile detention facility. 
The provider shall submit a signed, dated statement to 
licensing within 24 hours or no later than the next business 
day indicating that the individual will no longer provide 
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services to the agency with the effective date of the 
termination of services. If this statement is not received by 
licensing within the aforementioned timeframe, the license 
shall be immediately revoked.  

6. If after the initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by provider from child welfare noting that 
the individual is not listed on the state central registry and 
due to a new valid finding the contractor or LDE staff 
receives a subsequent notice that he/she is listed on the state 
central registry and advises the provider of the new 
information prior to his/her appeal rights being exhausted, 
licensing shall be notified within 24 hours or no later than 
the next business day, whichever is shorter. The individual 
with the justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect 
shall be directly supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the 
juvenile detention facility at any and all times when he/she is 
on the premises or in the presence of a child/youth. The 
employee responsible for supervising the individual shall not 
be suspected to be a perpetrator with a justified (valid) 
determination of abuse and/or neglect. Under no 
circumstances shall the contractor or LDE staff with the 
justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect be left alone 
and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the official 
determination from child welfare that the individual is or is 
not listed on the state central registry. 

7. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

G. Prospective Contractors and LDE Staff Providing 
Services Effective November 1, 2018 

1. Effective November 1, 2018, and in accordance 
with R.S. 15:1110.2, an inquiry of the state central registry 
for all contractors and LDE staff shall be conducted prior to 
providing contracted services or having access to 
children/youth. For contractors and LDE staff who have 
resided in another state within the proceeding five years, 
provider shall request a state central registry check from that 
state’s child abuse and neglect registry prior to the individual 
providing services or having access to children/youth. While 
awaiting the results of the out of state central registry results, 
the individual shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
(employee) of the juvenile detention facility at any and all 
times when he/she is on the premises and/or in the presence 
of a child/youth. The employee responsible for supervising 
the individual shall not also be awaiting the results of an out 
of state central registry clearance. Under no circumstances 
shall the individual awaiting out of state central registry 
results be left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth 
pending the official determination from that state that the 
individual is or is not listed on the state central registry. 
Louisiana state central registry clearances shall be dated no 
earlier than 45 days prior to the individual providing services 
or having access to children/youth. Out-of-state state central 
registry clearances shall be dated no earlier than 120 days 
prior to license being issued. 

a. If the provider requests an out-of-state state 
central registry check and that state advises that they are 
unable to process the request due to statutory limitations, 
documentation of such shall be kept on file. 

2. A search of the state central registry will determine 
if the individual is currently listed on the state central

registry as a perpetrator of justified (valid) abuse and/or 
neglect. No person who is recorded on any state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry with a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse and/or neglect shall be eligible to provide services for 
the juvenile detention facility.  

3. Provider shall submit a state central registry request 
to child welfare every five years for contractors and LDE 
staff from the issue date noted on the state central registry 
clearance form and at any time upon the request of DCFS if 
reasonable suspicion exists that an individual may be listed 
on the state central registry. If a contractor or LDE staff 
resides in another state but provides services in a juvenile 
detention facility in the state of Louisiana, provider shall 
submit a state central registry request to that state’s child 
abuse and neglect registry every five years for the contractor 
or LDE staff from the issue date noted on the previous year’s 
registry clearance form. 

4. Upon notification from child welfare or any other 
state that the individual is not listed on the state central 
registry, the provider shall maintain on file the notification(s) 
that the individual’s name does not appear on the registry 
with a justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect.  

5. The state central registry clearance form shall be 
dated no earlier than 45 days of the individual being present 
on the juvenile detention facility premises or having access 
to children/youth. 

6. Upon notification to the provider from child 
welfare or any other state that the contractor or LDE staff is 
listed on the state central registry, the individual shall no 
longer be eligible to provide services for the juvenile 
detention facility. The provider shall submit a signed, dated 
statement to licensing within 24 hours or no later than the 
next business day indicating that the individual with the 
justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect has been 
relieved of his duties with the juvenile detention facility with 
the effective date of termination of services. If this statement 
is not received by licensing within the aforementioned 
timeframe, the license shall be immediately revoked. 

7. If after the initial state central registry clearance 
form is received by provider from child welfare noting that 
the individual is not listed on the state central registry and 
due to a new valid finding, the contractor or LDE staff 
receives a subsequent notice that he/she is listed on the state 
central registry (issued after the provider was licensed) and 
advises the juvenile detention facility of the new information 
prior to his/her appeal rights being exhausted, licensing shall 
be notified within 24 hours or no later than the next business 
day, whichever is shorter. The individual with the justified 
(valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect shall be directly 
supervised by a paid staff (employee) of the juvenile 
detention facility at any and all times when he/she present on 
the premises and/or is in the presence of a child/youth. The 
employee responsible for supervising the individual shall not 
be a suspected perpetrator with a justified (valid) 
determination of abuse and/or neglect. Under no 
circumstances shall the individual with the valid (justified) 
finding of abuse and/or neglect be left alone and 
unsupervised with a child/youth pending the official 
determination from child welfare that the individual is or is 
not listed on the state central registry. 
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8. State central registry clearances are not transferable 
between owners. 

H. Reasonable Suspicion 
1. Any information received or knowledge acquired 

by the provider that a current owner/operator, contractor, 
LDE staff, volunteer, and/or staff, is a perpetrator of abuse 
and/or neglect after November 1, 2018, with a justified 
(valid) determination of abuse and/or neglect prior to receipt 
of official notification from child welfare, shall be verbally 
immediately reported to licensing management staff and 
followed up in writing no later than the close of business on 
the next business day. Prior to receipt of the official 
notification and immediately upon the knowledge that a 
justified (valid) finding has been issued by DCFS, the 
individual shall be directly supervised by a paid staff 
(employee) of the juvenile detention facility, at any and all 
times when he/she is present on the premises and/or is in the 
presence of a child/youth. The employee responsible for 
supervising the individual shall not be a suspected 
perpetrator with a justified (valid) determination of abuse 
and/or neglect. Under no circumstances shall the individual 
with the justified (valid) finding of abuse and/or neglect be 
left alone and unsupervised with a child/youth pending the 
official determination from child welfare that the individual 
is or is not listed on the state central registry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1110.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Licensing Section, LR 45: 

§7511. Facility Responsibilities 

A. - A.3.d.i. ... 
e. Each volunteer shall have documentation of a 

state central registry clearance from child welfare as 
required in §7508. 

B. - B.5.b.iii. ... 
c. Documentation of a state central registry 

clearance for all Louisiana Department of Education staff or 
local school district staff that interact with youth following 
the procedure outlined in §7508. 

6. Documentation of a state central registry clearance 
from child welfare as required in §7508. 

C. - H.1.a.vii. ... 
 viii. documentation of a state central registry 
clearance for all owners and staff as required in §7508. 

H.2. - L.2 ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1110. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 38:1565 (July 2012), amended LR 39:1007 (April 
2013), effective July 1, 2013, amended LR 42:396 (March 2016), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Licensing Section, LR 45:  

 
Marketa Garner-Walters 
Secretary 

1902#029 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 

Board of Examiners for New Orleans  

and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots 

Standards of Conduct (LAC 46:LXX.6311) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953 (B), and under 
the authority of R.S. 34:1041, et seq. and Title 46, 
Professional and Occupational Standards, Part LXX. River 
Pilots, Subpart 3. Board of Examiners for the New Orleans 
and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots, et seq. the Board of 
Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship 
Pilots for the Mississippi River declares an emergency to 
exist and adopts by emergency process the attached 
regulation for the increased mandatory rest period for New 
Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots. 

Due to the safety sensitive nature of the duties performed 
by state commissioned pilots, this board has a strong 
commitment to the public and maritime industry. The board 
has promulgated standards of conduct, in order to further 
enhance the safety and well being of the citizens of 
Louisiana and New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship 
Pilots as well as to prevent any imminent peril to public 
health, safety and welfare, and to achieve and maintain 
reliable, safe and efficient pilotage services.  

The board has the authority to compel each and every 
individual pilot to be available for and accept orders for 
pilotage assignments in declared emergency situations or in 
other overriding operational conditions. This emergency rule 
amends LAC 46:LXX.6311 to provide for an increased 
mandatory rest period for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots during time periods of extreme Mississippi 
River gauge levels and river currents. 

This Emergency Rule becomes effective upon the 
signature of the President of the Board of Examiners for 
New Orleans and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots for the 
Mississippi River and shall remain in effect for 120 days, 
unless rescinded, renewed or until permanent rules and 
regulations become effective. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXX River Pilots 

Subpart 3.  Board of Examiners for the New Orleans and 

Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots 

Chapter 63. Standards of Conduct 

§6311. Mandatory Rest Period  

A. For the purpose of this rule, a turn is the time period 
from dispatch to the termination of the allotted travel time. 

B. All pilots shall have a minimum of twelve hours rest 
period between turns. 

C. For the purpose of this rule, the rest period begins at 
the termination of the allotted travel time at the completion 
of one turn and ends at the time of dispatching for the next 
turn.  
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D. Notwithstanding Subsection B, the captain of the 
station and shift pilots shall be exempt from the minimum 12 
hours rest period in between turns. However, in no case shall 
the captain of the station and shift pilots exceed 12 bridge 
hours in any 24-hour period. 

E. Notwithstanding Subsection B, any pilot completing a 
turn lasting less than 4 bridge hours or receiving a discharge, 
shall not be required to comply with the mandatory 12 hours 
rest period. However, in no case shall any pilot acquire more 
than 12 hours in a 24-hour period. Pilots requesting twelve 
hours rest period shall not be called or dispatched in less 
than 12 hours from the completion of their finishing time. 

F. Notwithstanding Subsection B, during a state of 
declared emergency all pilots shall be exempt from the 
minimum 8 hours rest period in between turns. However, in 
no case shall any pilot exceed 12 bridge hours in any 24 
hour period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:1041 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots, LR 31:56 (January 2005), amended by the Office 
of the Governor, Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton 
Rouge Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River, LR 36:500 
(March 2010), LR 38:3167 (December 2012), LR 45: 

 

Captain Robert D. Heitmeier 
President  

1902#005 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Administrative Remedy Procedure (LAC 22:I.325) 

In accordance with the provisions R.S. 49:953, the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections 
Services, hereby determines that adoption of an emergency 
rule for implementation of the amendment of an existing 
Departmental Regulation, B-05-005, “Administrative 
Remedy Procedure”, is necessary. The department has 
entered into a settlement agreement with the Department of 
Justice regarding how offenders may request an 
accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act. 
To ensure that offenders may seek judicial review on any 
accommodations modified or denied, the Administrative 
Remedy Procedure has been altered to enable same. Failure 
to make such amendments to this Departmental Regulation 
will place the department in breach of its agreement with the 
Department of Justice. 

For the foregoing reasons, the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has 
determined that the adoption of an emergency rule for 
implementation of B-05-005,Administrative Remedy 
Procedure”, is necessary and hereby provides notice of its 
declaration of emergency effective on February 8, 2019, in 
accordance with R.S. 49:953. This Emergency Rule shall be 
in effect for 120 days or until adoption of the final rule, 
whichever occurs first. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE  

AND LAW ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 

§325. Administrative Remedy Procedure 

A. Purposeto constitute the department's 
"administrative remedy procedure" for offenders as a 
regulation. 

B. Applicabilitydeputy secretary, chief of operations, 
regional wardens, wardens, and sheriffs or administrators of 
local jail facilities. Each unit head is responsible for ensuring 
that all unit written policies and procedures are in place to 
comply with the provisions of this regulation. Furthermore, 
the provisions of this regulation as amended are applicable 
retroactively, and thus apply to any policy, condition, action, 
or request for administrative remedy filed prior to the date. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary's policy that all offenders 
and employees have reasonable access to and comply with 
the department's "administrative remedy procedure" through 
which an offender may seek formal review of a complaint. 
Offenders housed in local jail facilities shall also be afforded 
reasonable access to a grievance remedy procedure. 
Revisions shall be accomplished through this regulation 
under the signature of the secretary. 

D. Administrative Remedy ProcedurePurpose 
1. On September 18, 1985, the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections installed in all of its adult institutions 
a formal grievance mechanism for use by all offenders 
committed to the custody of the department. The process 
bears the name Administrative Remedy Procedure (ARP). 
Offenders are required to use and complete all steps in the 
procedure properly, including obeying all rules of the 
procedural process, before they can proceed with a suit in 
federal and state courts. No action shall be brought in a 
federal or state court with respect to prison conditions by 
any offender confined in any jail or correctional facility until 
all available administrative remedies are properly exhausted. 

2. Corrections Services has established the 
administrative remedy procedure through which an offender 
may seek formal review of a complaint which relates to any 
aspect of his incarceration if less formal methods have not 
resolved the matter. Such complaints and grievances include, 
but are not limited to any and all claims seeking monetary, 
injunctive, declaratory or any other form of relief authorized 
by law and by way of illustration, includes actions pertaining 
to conditions of confinement, personal injuries, medical 
malpractice, time computations, even though urged as a writ 
of habeas corpus, or challenges to rules, regulations, policies 
or statutes, including grievances such as discrimination 
based on disability, offender requests for accommodations 
under the Americans with Disabilities Act and for 
complaints of sexual abuse under the Prison Rape 
Elimination Act. 

3. Through this procedure, offenders shall receive 
reasonable responses and where appropriate, meaningful 
remedies. 

E. Definitions 

ARP Screening Officera staff member, designated by 
the warden, whose responsibility is to coordinate and 
facilitate the administrative remedy procedure process. 
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Dayscalendar days. 
Emergency Grievance (or Request for Emergency 

Administrative Remedy)a matter in which disposition 
within the regular time limits would subject the offender to a 
substantial risk of personal injury or cause other serious and 
irreparable harm to the offender. 

Exhaustionproper exhaustion only occurs when an 
offender files a timely and procedurally proper request for 
remedy, which after it is accepted, is addressed on the merits 
at both the first and second step. A request for administrative 
remedy which is rejected is not considered properly 
exhausted, as such request has not been addressed on its 
merits at either of the two steps. 

Grievance (or Request for Administrative Remedy)a 
written complaint by an offender on the offender’s own 
behalf regarding anything relating to prison conditions, 
including but not limited to a policy applicable within an 
institution, a condition within an institution, an action 
involving an offender of an institution, or an incident 
occurring within an institution, or discrimination based on 
disability. 

NOTE: The pronouns "he" and "his" as used herein are for 
convenience only and are not intended to discriminate against 
female employees or offenders.  

F. General Policy 
1. Offenders may request administrative remedies to 

situations arising from policies, conditions or events within 
the institution that affect them personally, including 
discrimination based on disability. 

2. All offenders, regardless of their classification, 
impairment or disability, shall be entitled to invoke this 
grievance procedure. It shall be the responsibility of the 
warden to provide appropriate assistance for offenders with 
literacy deficiencies or language barriers (including hearing 
and visual impairments).  

3. There are procedures already in place within all 
DPS and C institutions which are specifically and expressly 
incorporated into and made a part of this administrative 
remedy procedure. These procedures shall constitute the 
administrative remedies for disciplinary matters and lost 
property claims. 

a. General Procedures 
 i. Notification of Procedures 

(a). Offenders must be made aware of the system 
by oral explanation at orientation and should have the 
opportunity to ask questions and receive oral answers. 

(b). The procedures shall be posted in writing in 
areas readily accessible to all offenders. 

(c). All offenders may request information about 
or assistance in using the procedure from their classification 
officer or from a counsel substitute who services their living 
area. 
 ii. Nothing in this procedure should serve to 
prevent or discourage an offender from communicating with 
the warden or anyone else in the department. All forms of 
communication to the warden will be handled, investigated 
and responded to as the warden deems appropriate. 
 iii. The requirements set forth in this document for 
acceptance into the administrative remedy procedure are 
solely to assure that incidents which may give rise to a cause 
of action will be handled through this two step system of 
review. 

 iv. The following matters shall not be appealable 
through this administrative remedy procedure: 

(a). court decisions and pending criminal matters 
over which the department has no control or jurisdiction; 

(b). Board of Pardons and Parole decisions 
(under Louisiana law, these decisions are discretionary and 
may not be challenged); 

(c). sex offender assessment panel 
recommendations; 

(d). lockdown review board decisions (offenders 
are furnished written reasons at the time this decision is 
made as to why they are not being released from lockdown, 
if that is the case. The board’s decision may not be 
challenged. However, a request for administrative remedy on 
lockdown review board hearings can be made in the 
following instances): 
 (i). that no reasons were given for the 
decision of the board; 
 (ii). that a hearing was not held within 90 
days from the offender’s original placement in lockdown or 
from the last hearing. There will be a 20 day grace period 
attached hereto, due to administrative scheduling problems 
of the board; therefore, a claim based on this ground will not 
be valid until 110 days have passed and no hearing has been 
held; 

(e). warden's decision regarding restoration of 
good time. 
 v. A request for accommodation under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act made using the 
administrative remedy procedure process and the resolution 
of the offender's request shall be deemed to be exhaustion of 
the administrative procedure. The initiation of the process 
and deadlines and time limits stated in the administrative 
remedy procedure remain applicable. 
 vi. If an offender registers a complaint against a 
staff member, that employee shall not be involved in the 
decision making process on the request for remedy. 
However, this shall not prevent the employee from 
participating at the step one level, since this employee may 
be the best source from which to begin collecting 
information on an alleged incident. 
 vii. At each stage of decision and review, offenders 
will be provided written answers that explain the 
information gathered or the reason for the decision reached 
along with simple directions for obtaining further review. 
 viii. Prior to filing a grievance in federal or state 
court, unless specifically excepted by law, the offender must 
properly exhaust all available administrative remedies. Only 
after the request for administrative remedy is accepted can 
proper exhaustion occur. Exhaustion can only occur when a 
second step response on the merits has been issued.  
 ix. If an offender submits multiple requests during 
the review of a previous request, they will be logged and set 
aside for handling at such time as the request currently in the 
system has been exhausted at the second step or until time 
limits to proceed from the first step to the second step have 
lapsed. The warden may determine whether a letter of 
instruction to the offender is in order. 
 x. In cases where a number of offenders have 
filed similar or identical requests seeking administrative 
remedy, it is appropriate to respond only to the offender who
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filed the initial request. Copies of the decision sent to other 
offenders who filed requests simultaneously regarding the 
same issue will constitute a completed action. All such 
requests shall be logged separately. 
 xi. When an offender has filed a request at one 
institution and is transferred prior to the review, or if he files 
a request after transfer on an action taken by the sending 
institution, the sending institution shall complete the 
processing through the first step response (form B-05-005-
ARP-2). The warden of the receiving institution shall assist 
in communication with the offender. 
 xii. If an offender is discharged before the review 
of an issue is completed that affects the offender after 
discharge, or if he files a request after discharge on an issue 
that affects him after discharge, the institution shall complete 
the processing and shall notify the offender at his last known 
address. All other requests shall be considered moot when 
the offender discharges and the process shall not be 
completed. 
 xiii. No action shall be taken against anyone for the 
good faith use of or good faith participation in the procedure. 

(a). Reprisals of any nature are prohibited. 
Offenders are entitled to pursue, through the grievance 
procedure, a complaint that a reprisal occurred. 

(b). The prohibition against reprisals should not 
be construed to prohibit discipline of offenders who do not 
use the system in good faith. Those who file requests that are 
frivolous or deliberately malicious may be disciplined 
accordingly.  

b. Maintenance of Records 
 i. Administrative remedy procedure records are 
confidential. Employees who are participating in the 
disposition of a request may have access to records essential 
to the resolution of requests. Otherwise, release of these 
records is governed by R.S. 15:574.12. 
 ii. All reports, investigations, etc., other than the 
offender’s original letter and responses, are prepared in 
anticipation of litigation and to become part of the attorney’s 
work product for the attorney handling any anticipated 
future litigation of this matter; therefore these documents are 
confidential and not subject to discovery or the Public 
Records Act outlined in R.S. 44:1, et seq. 
 iii. Records shall be maintained as follows. 

(a). An electronic log shall document the nature 
of each request, all relevant dates and disposition at each 
step.  
 (i). Each institution shall submit reports on 
administrative remedy procedure activity.  
 (ii). Cross references and notations shall be 
made on other appropriate databases such as ADA and 
PREA as may be warranted. 

(b). Individual requests and disposition, and all 
responses and pertinent documents shall be kept on file at 
the institution or at headquarters. 

(c). Records shall be kept four years following 
final disposition of the request.  

c. Annual Review. The warden shall annually solicit 
comments and suggestions on the processing, the efficiency 
and the credibility of the administrative remedy procedure 
from offenders and staff. A report with the results of such 
review shall be provided to the chief of operations/office of 
adult services no later than January 31 of each year. 

G. Initiating a Formal Grievance  
1. Offenders are encouraged to resolve their problems 

within the institution informally, before initiating the formal 
process. Informal resolution is accomplished through 
communication with appropriate staff members. If an 
offender is unable to resolve his problems or obtain relief in 
this fashion, he may initiate the formal process. In order to 
ensure their right to use the formal procedure, a request to 
the warden shall be made in writing within a 90 day period 
after an incident has occurred. This requirement may be 
waived when circumstances warrant. The warden or 
designee shall use reasonable judgment in such matters. 
There is no time limit imposed for grievances alleging 
sexual abuse.  

a. Initiating a Formal Grievance 
 i. The offender commences the process by 
completing a request for administrative remedy (form B-05-
005-ARP-1) or writing a letter to the warden, in which he 
briefly sets out the basis for his claim, and the relief sought. 
For purposes of this process, a letter is: 

(a). any form of written communication which 
contains the phrase: “This is a request for administrative 
remedy” or "ARP;" or 

(b). request for administrative remedy (form B-
05-005-ARP-1) at those institutions that wish to furnish 
forms for commencement of this process. 
 ii. The institution is not required to be responsible 
for furnishing the offender with copies of his letter of 
complaint. It is the offender's responsibility for obtaining or 
duplicating a copy of his letter of complaint through 
established institutional procedures and for retaining the 
copy for his own records. The form or original letter will 
become a part of the administrative record and will not be 
returned to the offender. 
 iii. Original letters or requests to the warden 
should be as brief as possible. Offenders should present as 
many facts as possible to answer all questions (who, what, 
when, where and how) concerning the incident. If a request 
is unclear or the volume of attached material is too great, it 
may be rejected and returned to the offender with a request 
for clarity or summarization on one additional page. The 
response deadline for a request for clarity or summarization 
begins on the date the resubmission is received by the ARP 
screening officer. 
 iv. No request for administrative remedy shall be 
denied acceptance into the administrative remedy procedure 
because it is or is not on a form; however, no letter as set 
forth above shall be accepted into the process unless it 
contains the phrase, “This is a request for administrative 
remedy or ARP." 

b. Withdrawing a Formal Grievance. After filing a 
formal request for administrative remedy, the offender may 
request in writing that the warden or secretary cancel the 
administrative remedy request at any time and for any 
reason. A withdrawn request cannot constitute a properly 
exhausted administrative remedy. 

H. Emergency or Sensitive Issues 
1. In instances where the offender’s request is of an 

emergency or sensitive issue as defined below, the following 
procedures will apply. 

a. If an offender feels he is subjected to emergency 
conditions, he must send an emergency request to the shift 
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supervisor. The shift supervisor shall immediately review the 
request to determine the appropriate corrective action to be 
taken. All emergency requests shall be documented on an 
unusual occurrence report (form C-05-001-W-1) by the 
appropriate staff member. 
 i. Abuse of the emergency review process by an 
offender shall be treated as a frivolous or malicious request 
and the offender shall be disciplined accordingly. 
Particularly, but not exclusively, matters relating to 
administrative transfers and time computation disputes are 
not to be treated as emergencies for purposes of this 
procedure, but shall be expeditiously handled by the shift 
supervisor, when appropriate. 

b. If the offender believes the complaint is sensitive 
and that he would be adversely affected if the complaint 
became known at the institution, he may file the complaint 
directly with the secretary through the chief of 
operations/office of adult services (second step response-
form B-05-005-ARP-3). The offender must explain, in 
writing, his reason for not filing the complaint at the 
institution. 
 i. If the chief of operations/office of adult 
services agrees that the complaint is sensitive, he shall 
accept and respond to the complaint at the second step. If he 
does not agree that the complaint is sensitive, he shall so 
advise the offender in writing, and return the complaint to 
the warden’s office. The offender shall then have five days 
from the date the rejection memo is received in the warden’s 
office to submit his request through regular channels 
(beginning with the first step if his complaint is acceptable 
for processing in the administrative remedy procedure). 

c. If an emergency complaint alleges that the 
offender is subject to a substantial risk of imminent sexual 
abuse, the grievance shall be sent immediately to the unit's 
PREA compliance manager who shall then immediately 
notify the unit's PREA investigator. The unit PREA 
compliance manager shall provide an initial response with 
48 hours of receipt of the grievance outlining any corrective 
actions warranted and shall issue a first step response within 
five days. If the offender has been secured and is no longer 
in danger or imminent harm, the grievance procedure shall 
proceed as outlined within the deadlines and time limits 
stated in the administrative remedy procedure. 

I. Grievance Screening 
1. The ARP screening officer shall screen all requests 

prior to assignment to the first step. The screening process 
should not unreasonably restrain the offender’s opportunity 
to seek a remedy. 

a. The ARP screening officer shall provide notice to 
the offender that his request is either: 
 i. being accepted and will be processed, or 
 ii. being rejected and will not be processed until 
the noted deficiency is corrected. 

b. Accepted Requests 
 i. If the request is accepted, the warden, or 
designee, will assign a staff member to conduct further fact-
finding and/or information gathering prior to rendering his 
response. 
 ii. Once an offender's request is accepted into the 
procedure, he must use the manila envelope that is furnished

to him with the first step response (form B-05-005-ARP-2) 
to continue in the procedure. The flaps on the envelope may 
be tucked into the envelope for mailing to the facility’s ARP 
screening officer. 

c. Rejected Requests 
 i. If a request is rejected, it must be for one of the 
following reasons: 

(a). This matter is not appealable through this 
process, such as: 
 (i). court decisions; 
 (ii). Board of Pardons and Committee on 
Parole decisions; 
 (iii). sex offender assessment panel 
recommendations; 
 (iv). lockdown review board (refer to 
Subsection F, General Policy). 

(b). There are specialized administrative remedy 
procedures in place for this specific type of complaint, such 
as: 
 (i). disciplinary matters; 
 (ii). lost property claims. 

(c). It is a duplicate request. 
(d). The complaint concerns an action not yet 

taken or a decision which has not yet been made. 
(e). The offender has requested a remedy for 

another offender (unless the request is a third party report of 
an allegation of sexual abuse). 

(f). The request was not written by the offender 
and a waiver was not approved. The only exception is if the 
offender has alleged sexual abuse. In this instance, the 
offender: 
 (i). may seek help from a third party to file 
the initial grievance; 
 (ii). must attach written authorization for 
the named third party to submit the grievance on the 
offender's behalf; and 
 (iii). must personally pursue any remaining 
subsequent steps in the process, including participation in 
any resulting investigation. 

(g). The offender has requested a remedy for 
more than one incident (a multiple complaint) unless the 
request is a report of an allegation of sexual abuse.  

(h). Established rules and procedures were not 
followed. 

(i). There has been a time lapse of more than 90 
days between the event and the initial request, unless waived 
by the warden. Some exceptions may apply such as time 
computation issues, ADA issues, PREA issues, and on-going 
medical issues. 
 (j). The offender does not request some type of 
remedy unless the request pertains to an allegation of sexual 
abuse, in which case stopping the abuse is the implied 
request for remedy. 
 (k). The offender’s request is unclear or the volume 
of attached material is too great. 
 (l). The offender requests a religious exemption 
via this administrative remedy procedure prior to exhausting 
the religious exemption process.  
 ii. The offender shall be provided written 
notification of the grounds upon which the rejection is 
based. 
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 iii. A rejected request is not appealable to the 
second step. If a request is rejected for any of the reasons 
listed above, the offender must correct the noted deficiencies 
and resubmit the request to the ARP screening officer. 
 iv. The offender has not properly exhausted 
administrative remedies if his request is rejected for any of 
the reasons listed above. 

J. Grievance Processing 
1. The following process and time limits shall be 

adhered to in processing any ARP request. 
a. First Step (time limit 40 days/5 days for PREA) 

 i. If an offender refuses to cooperate with the 
inquiry into his allegation, the request may be denied by 
noting the lack of cooperation on the appropriate step 
response and returning it to the offender. 
 ii. The warden shall respond to the offender 
within 40 days/5 days for PREA from the date the request is 
received at the first step utilizing the first step response 
(form B-05-005-ARP-2). 
 iii. If the offender is not satisfied with the decision 
rendered at the first step, he should pursue his grievance to 
the secretary, through the chief of operations/office of adult 
services via the second step. 
 iv. For offenders wishing to continue to the second 
step, sufficient space will be allowed on the response to give 
a reason for requesting review at the next level. It is not 
necessary to rewrite the original letter of request as it will be 
available to all reviewers at each step of the process. 

b. Second Step (time limit 45 days) 
 i. An offender who is dissatisfied with the first 
step response (form B-05-005-ARP-2) may appeal to the 
secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
by so indicating that he is not satisfied in the appropriate 
space on the response form and forwarding it to the ARP 
screening officer within five days of receipt of the decision. 
 ii. A final decision will be made by the secretary 
or designee and the offender shall be sent a response within 
45 days from the date the request is received at the second 
step utilizing the second step response (form B-05-005-
ARP-3). 
 iii. A copy of the secretary’s decision shall be sent 
to the warden. 
 iv. If an offender is not satisfied with the second 
step response (form B-05-005-ARP-3), he may file suit in 
district court. The offender must furnish the administrative 
remedy procedure number on the court documents. 

c. Deadlines and Time Limits. No more than 90 
days from the initiation to completion of the process shall 
elapse, unless an extension has been granted. Absent such an 
extension, expiration of response time limits shall entitle the 
offender to move on to the next step in the process.  
 i. An offender may request an extension in 
writing of up to five days in which to file at any stage of the 
process.  

(a). This request shall be made to the ARP 
screening officer for an extension to initiate a request; to the 
warden for the first step response (form B-05-005-ARP-2) 
and to the secretary through the chief of operations/office of 
adult services for the second step response (form B-05-005-
ARP-3).  

(b). The offender must certify valid reasons for 
the delay, which must accompany his untimely request. The 
issue of sufficiency of valid reasons for delay shall be 
addressed at each step, along with the substantive issue of 
the complaint. 
 ii. The warden may request permission for an 
extension of time not more than five days from the chief of 
operations/office of adult services for the step one 
review/response. 

(a). The offender must be notified in writing of 
such an extension.  

(b). Cumulative extensions of time shall not 
exceed 25 days unless the grievance concerns sexual abuse, 
in which case an extension of time up to 70 days may be 
made. 

(c). If the extension is approved, written 
communication shall be sent to the offender of the extension 
and a date by which the decision shall be rendered. Reasons 
for the extension of time for unusual circumstances shall be 
maintained in the administrative record. 

K. Monetary Damages 
1. Based upon credible facts within a grievance or 

complaint filed by an offender, the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections may determine that such an offender 
is entitled to monetary damages where such damages are 
deemed by the department as appropriate to render a fair and 
just remedy. 

a. Upon a determination that monetary damages 
should be awarded, the only remaining question is quantum 
or the dollar amount of the monetary damages to be 
awarded. 

b. The determination of quantum shall be made 
after a formal review by the case contractor for the Office of 
Risk Management within the Division of Administration. 
The determination reached by the case contractor shall be 
submitted to the Office of Risk Management and the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections for a final 
decision. 

c. If a settlement is reached, a copy of the signed 
release shall be given to the warden on that same date. 

L. Lost Property Claims 
1. The purpose of this section is to establish a uniform 

procedure for handling lost property claims filed by 
offenders in the custody of the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections. Each warden is responsible for ensuring 
that appropriate unit written policy and procedures are in 
place to comply with the provisions of this procedure and for 
advising offenders and affected employees of its contents. 

a. When an offender suffers a loss of personal 
property, he may submit a lost personal property claim (form 
B-05-005-A) to the warden or designee. The claim shall 
include the date the loss occurred, a full statement of the 
circumstances which resulted in the loss of property, a list of 
the items which are missing, the value of each lost item and 
any proof of ownership or value of the property available to 
the offender. All claims for lost personal property must be 
submitted to the warden or designee within 10 days of 
discovery of the loss. 
 i. Under no circumstances will an offender be 
compensated for an unsubstantiated loss, or for a loss which
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results from the offender's own acts or for any loss resulting 
from bartering, trading, selling to or gambling with other 
offenders. 

b. The warden or designee shall assign an employee 
to investigate the claim. The investigative officer shall 
investigate the claim fully and will submit his report and 
recommendations to the warden or designee. 

c. If a loss of an offender's personal property occurs 
through the negligence of the institution and/or its 
employees, the offender's claim may be processed in 
accordance with the following procedures. 
 i. Monetary: 

(a). the warden or designee shall recommend a 
reasonable value for the lost personal property as described 
on the lost personal property claim (form B-05-005-A). The 
state assumes no liability for any lost personal clothing; 

(b). a lost personal property claim response 
(form B-05-005-B) and agreement (form B-05-005-C) shall 
be completed and submitted to the offender for his signature; 
and 

(c). the claim shall be submitted to the chief of 
operations/office of adult services for review and final 
approval. 
 ii. Non-monetary: 

(a). the offender is entitled only to state issue 
where state issued items are available; 

(b). the warden or designee shall review the 
claim and determine whether or not the institution is 
responsible; 

(c). a lost personal property claim response 
(form B-05-005-B) shall be completed and submitted to the 
offender for his signature; 

(d). an agreement (form B-05-005-C) shall be 
completed and submitted to the offender for his signature 
when state issue replacement has been offered. 

d. If the warden or designee determines that the 
institution and/or its employees are not responsible for the 
offender's loss of property, the claim shall be denied, and a 
lost personal property claim response (form B-05-005-B) 
shall be submitted to the offender indicating the reason. If 
the offender is not satisfied with the resolution at the unit 
level, he may indicate by checking the appropriate box on 
the lost personal property claim response (form B-05-005-B) 
and submitting it to the ARP screening officer within five 
days of receipt. The screening officer shall provide the 
offender with an acknowledgment of receipt and date 
forwarded to the chief of operations/office of adult services. 
A copy of the offender's original lost personal property claim 
(form B-05-005-A) and lost personal property claim 
response (form B-05-005-B) and other relevant 
documentation shall be attached. 

M. DPS and C Offenders Housed in Non-DPS and C 
Facilities 

1. Offenders shall have reasonable access to a 
grievance remedy procedure that includes at least two levels 
of review if necessary. 

a. A DPS and C offender housed in a non-DPS and 
C facility with a complaint that relates to time computation, 
requests for transfer, or transitional work program requests 
should submit his grievance request directly to DPS&C 
Headquarters Internal Affairs. A representative from 
Headquarters Internal Affairs shall respond to the offender 

within 90 days. If the offender is not satisfied with the 
response, he may file suit with the 19th Judicial District 
Court. 

b. A DPS and C offender housed in a non-DPS and 
C facility with a complaint that relates to conditions of 
confinement, personal injuries, medical complaints, the 
classification process, challenges to rules, regulations, or 
policies, or any other complaint not outlined above in 
section a. should submit his grievance request to the jail 
administrator of the facility in which he is housed. If the 
offender is not satisfied with the response, he may file suit 
with the district court of the parish in which the facility is 
located. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 28:857 (April 2002), 
amended LR 28:1993 (September 2002), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, 
LR 37:3275 (November 2011), LR 39:2779 (October 2013), LR 45: 

 

James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1902#057 

 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Harvest Reopening—East Portion of Calcasieu Lake 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of Louisiana 
Revised Statutes (R.S.) 49:953, under the authority of R.S. 
56:433, and under the authority of a Declaration of 
Emergency passed by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission on August 2, 2018, which authorized the 
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to take 
emergency action to reopen public oyster seed grounds or 
reservations if sufficient quantities of oysters are available 
and to adjust sack limits and sacking only areas, notice is 
hereby given that the secretary of Wildlife and Fisheries 
hereby declares that the East portion of the Calcasieu Lake 
Public Oyster Area as described in R.S. 56:435.1.1 shall 
reopen for the purposes of market oyster harvest at one half 
hour before sunrise on Monday, January 21, 2019, with the 
following conditions. 

1. The reopening of the East portion of the Calcasieu 
Lake Public Oyster Area shall not supersede any public 
health closures. 

2. All oysters aboard a vessel harvesting on the East 
portion of the Calcasieu Lake Public Oyster Area are 
deemed to have been taken from east portion of the 
Calcasieu Lake Public Oyster Area. 

3. Oyster scrapers are prohibited on vessels harvesting 
oysters in Calcasieu Lake. 

4. The daily and possession sack limit is set at 10 
sacks of oysters per vessel. The following area shall remain 
closed for the entire 2018/2019 oyster season: The Long 
Point cultch plant (2017), located on the east side of 
Calcasieu Lake near Long Point in Cameron Parish, within 
the following coordinates: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 215 

a. 29 degrees 55 minutes 03.45 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 20.26 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 54 minutes 55.75 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 01.32 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 54 minutes 14.64 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 22.67 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 54 minutes 21.22 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 40.43 seconds W; 

e. 29 degrees 54 minutes 31.41 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 12.81 seconds W; 

f. 29 degrees 54 minutes 45.8388 seconds N 
93 degrees 19 minutes 27.6384 seconds W. 

Notice of any opening, delaying, or closing of a season 
will be provided by public notice at least 72 hours prior to 
such action, unless such closure is ordered by the Louisiana 
Department of Health for public health concerns. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1902#007 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Public Oyster Seed Grounds Closure 
East of the Mississippi River 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of Louisiana 
Revised Statutes (R.S.) 49:953, under the authority of R.S. 
56:433, and under the authority of a Declaration of 
Emergency passed by the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission on August 2, 2018, which authorized the 
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to take 
emergency action if oyster resources and/or reefs are being 
adversely impacted, notice is hereby given that the secretary 
does hereby declare that the harvest of oysters from the 
following portions of the public oyster seed grounds east of 
the Mississippi River, as described in LAC 76:VII.511, shall 
close at one half hour after sunset on Sunday, January 20, 
2019: 

a. the area within the portion of Louisiana 
Department of Health (LDH) shellfish harvest area 3 that is 
North of latitude line: 29 degrees 59 minutes 30 seconds 
North, and;  

b. the following cultch plants within the coordinates 
described below:  

1. 3-mile pass (2013)—St. Bernard Parish: 
a. 30 degrees 03 minutes 56.09 seconds N  

89 degrees 22 minutes 32.52 seconds W; 
b. 30 degrees 03 minutes 56.70 seconds N  

89 degrees 22 minutes 15.40 seconds W; 
c. 30 degrees 03 minutes 18.00 seconds N  

89 degrees 22 minutes 06.30 seconds W; 
d. 30 degrees 03 minutes 30.49 seconds N  

89 degrees 22 minutes 38.17 seconds W; 
2. Drum Bay (2013)—St. Bernard Parish: 

a. 29 degrees 53 minutes 13.00 seconds N  
89 degrees 17 minutes 40.21 seconds W; 

b. 29 degrees 53 minutes 16.51 seconds N  
89 degrees 16 minutes 51.12 seconds W; 

c. 29 degrees 52 minutes 56.17 seconds N  
89 degrees 16 minutes 49.80 seconds W; 

d. 29 degrees 52 minutes 53.99 seconds N  
 89 degrees 17 minutes 40.43 seconds W  

The oyster population in the public oyster seed 
grounds has been in decline for several years and the 
recommended threshold in this portion of the public oyster 
seed grounds east of the Mississippi River has been met. The 
closure is also necessary to protect undersized oysters, 
allowing growth for future harvest opportunities. Continued 
commercial harvest might threaten the long-term 
sustainability of remaining oyster resources in these areas. 
Protection of these remaining oyster resources from injury is 
in the best interest of these public oyster seed grounds. 

Notice of any opening, delaying, or closing of a season 
will be provided by public notice at least 72 hours prior to 
such action, unless such closure is ordered by the Louisiana 
Department of Health for public health concerns. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1901#008 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Shrimp Season Closure—Portions of State Inside Waters 

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
has been notified that recent biological sampling conducted 
by the department has indicated that average white shrimp 
size within these waters to be closed is smaller than the 
minimum possession count and this action is being taken to 
protect these small white shrimp and provide opportunity for 
growth to larger and more valuable sizes. R.S. 56:498 
provides that the possession count on saltwater white shrimp 
for each cargo lot shall average no more than 100 (whole 
specimens) per pound except during the time period from 
October fifteenth through the third Monday in December.  

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons; R.S. 56:497 which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to delegate to the 
secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the 
powers, duties and authority to set shrimp seasons; and in 
accordance with a Declaration of Emergency adopted by the 
commission on August 2, 2018, which authorizes the 
secretary of the department to close shrimp season in all or 
parts of state inside waters when biological and technical 
data indicate the need to do so or if enforcement problems 
develop, the secretary does hereby declare:  

The 2018 fall shrimp season shall close on Monday, 
January 21, 2019, at official sunset in the following portions 
of state inside waters: Chef Menteur and Rigolets Passes, 
Lake Borgne, Mississippi Sound, Mississippi River Gulf 
Outlet (MRGO), a section of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway 
(GIWW) in Orleans Parish from the GIWW East Closure 
Sector Gate westward to the GIWW intersection with the 
Inner Harbor Navigation Canal. With this declaration, all 
inside waters will be closed to shrimping with the exception 
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of the open waters of Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as 
bounded by the double-rig line described in R.S. 
56:495.1(A)2.  

Existing data do not currently support shrimping closures 
in additional state inside and outside waters. The department 
will continue monitoring shrimp populations in these waters 
and suggest additional closures if necessary. Notice of any 
opening, delaying or closing of a season by the secretary will 
be made by public notice at least 72 hours prior to such 
action. 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1902#006 

 
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Workforce Commission 

Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration 

Excepted Federal Employees Performing  
Services during Government Shutdown  

(LAC 40:IV.381) 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., to promulgate a 
Rule to address the qualifications for receipt of 
unemployment benefits for federal employees who continue 
to report for work without timely payment during a 
government shutdown. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission to effectively administer the 
unemployment program as it pertains to excepted federal 
workers that are not being promptly paid, but continue to 
report for work during a government shutdown affecting the 
employee's government agency. A delay in promulgating this 
Rule would have an adverse impact on the financial welfare 
of affected individuals and their families. These excepted 
federal employees are uniquely positioned such that they are 
not able and available to search for or accept other 
employment, but cannot meet their financial obligations 
based upon their employment. The temporary suspension of 
work search and availability requirements for these 
employees will provide a small measure of support to cover 
the basic needs of the workers until such time as the workers 
are compensated for their services. The unemployment 
amounts paid to the workers will result in overpayments that 
LWC will collect once the workers are compensated by the 
federal government for their services. R.S. 
23:1472(19)(a)(iii) allows the administrator to prescribe 
regulations applicable to unemployed individuals and to 
make distinctions in the procedures affecting partially 
unemployed individuals attached to their regular jobs. It is 
imperative that the Louisiana Workforce Commission 
proceed expediently with this Rule because the precarious 
position of these excepted federal workers is an imminent 

peril to public health, safety, and welfare that requires 
immediate action on operations, implementation, and use of 
funds to provide benefits. Failure to adopt this Rule on an 
emergency basis may prohibit excepted federal employees, 
who continue to work to secure the safety of the general 
public, the basic support needed to provide for themselves 
and their families. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective January 25, 
2019, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953 (B)(1) et seq., or until a continuing budget resolution 
that provides funding for retroactive payment of the 
excepted federal employees has been passed by the federal 
government, whichever occurs first. 

Title 40 

LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Part IV.  Employment Security 

Chapter 3. Employment Security Law 

§381. Excepted Federal Employees Performing 

Services during Government Shutdown  
A. Federal workers performing services without prompt 

payment of wages during a government shutdown, also 
referred to as excepted federal employees, shall be 
considered as partially unemployed. 

B. Wages earned by excepted federal workers 
performing services shall be considered as wages paid for 
the purpose of claiming weekly benefit amounts only once 
wages are actually paid. Those federal wages that are unpaid 
will not be reported or deducted from the weekly benefit 
amount when claimed, but must be reported when paid and 
will result in a non-fraud overpayment. 

C. Any amounts earned through other employment must 
be reported in the week earned, regardless of actual payment 
date. 

D. For the purpose of availability and reporting 
requirements under R.S. 23:1601(3) and R.S. 23:1600(2) and 
(3), the administrator shall consider job attachment to federal 
employment by excepted federal workers that continue to 
provide services as good cause for not being available for 
work, registering for work, applying for work, accepting 
suitable work, or conducting an active job search.  

E. Excepted federal employees that are required to 
continue to provide services without payment must provide 
proof of this status to the administrator's satisfaction. 

F. This Emergency Rule is effective for the week ending 
January 26, 2019. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1591, La. R.S. 23:1472(19)(a)(iii), and R.S. 36:310. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 

Commission, Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration, 
LR 45: 

 

Ava M. Dejoie 
Secretary  

1902#010 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Division of Child Welfare 

Criminal Background and State Central Registry Checks; 
State Repository, Central Registry 

and Administrative Appeal 
(LAC 67:I.203 and 67:V.1103, 1105 and 1111) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) has amended LAC 67:I.203; 
and LAC 67:V.1103, 1105 and 1111. The amendment 
updates the effective date for the implementation for certain 
provisions related to an administrative appeal when DCFS 
intends to justify/validate individuals for their involvement 
as a perpetrator of child abuse and/or neglect. This Rule is 
adopted on February 7, 2019, and it is effective on March 1, 
2019. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part 1.  General Administration 

Chapter 2. Criminal Background and State Central 

Registry Checks 

§203. Conditions of Employment 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. If the potential employee’s name is recorded on the 

state central registry subsequent to January 1, 2010 and prior 
to August 1, 2018, they shall not be denied consideration for 
employment until the potential employee has exhausted their 
right to an administrative appeal and thereafter the potential 
employee’s name is confirmed to be listed on the state 
central registry. 

4. If the individual’s name is recorded on the state 
central registry as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect 
subsequent to August 1, 2018, they shall not be employed or 
considered for employment by the department in positions 
whose duties include the investigation of child abuse or 
neglect, supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, 
direct care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys.  

B. Any current employee of the department whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys and 
whose name is recorded subsequent to January 1, 2010 and 
prior to August 1, 2018, shall not be terminated from their 
position in the department until the employee has exhausted 
their right to an administrative appeal and thereafter the 
employee’s name is confirmed to be listed on the state 
central registry. If the employee’s name is recorded on the 
state central registry subsequent to August 1, 2018, they 
shall be terminated from their current position whose duties 
include the investigation of child abuse or neglect, 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children, direct 
care of a child, or performance of licensing surveys by the 
department.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:851 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Child Welfare, LR 44:997 (June 2018), amended LR 
45:217 (February 2019). 

Part V.  Child Welfare 

Subpart 3.  Child Protective Services 

Chapter 11. Administration and Authority 

§1103. State Central Registry 

A. - B.1.b. ... 
2. Individuals who have been placed on the SCR as a 

perpetrator of abuse or neglect as the result of an 
investigation determined to be justified/valid prior to August 
1, 2018, will have the right to an administrative appeal 
pursuant to LAC 67:V.1111. Information on such 
determinations will not be released until the individual has 
exhausted their right to an administrative appeal, unless 
otherwise allowed by law. Once the individual has exhausted 
their administrative appeal rights, if an SCR clearance has 
been received by DCFS, the clearance will be completed and 
information released consistent with the administrative 
hearing decision and as permitted for the purpose of the 
clearance request. 

C.1. ... 
2. Individuals in investigations in families who have 

been determined to be justified/valid as a perpetrator of child 
abuse and/or neglect for a tier 1, 2, or 3 finding, as defined 
in LAC 67:V.1103.A, subsequent to July 1, 2018, shall be 
provided written notice of the SCR and the rules governing 
maintenance and release of SCR records. As of August 1, 
2018, the written notice shall also inform the individual of 
their right to an administrative appeal pursuant to LAC 
67:V.1111. The individual’s name will not be placed on the 
SCR until the individual has exhausted his right to an 
administrative appeal. If the individual fails to request an 
administrative appeal within 30 days of the written 
notification of the justified/valid finding, withdraws their 
request for an administrative appeal, or the justified/valid 
finding is upheld by an administrative law judge, the 
individual’s name will be immediately placed on the SCR. 

D. - E. ... 
F.1. Any person whose name is included on the SCR 

subsequent to August 1, 2018, may file a rule to show cause 
against DCFS in the court exercising juvenile jurisdiction in 
the parish in which the investigation was conducted to show 
why the individual’s name should not be removed from the 
SCR. A perpetrator of a tier 1 justified/valid determination 
cannot be removed through this procedure. This rule to show 
cause may be filed for a perpetrator of a tier 2 justified/valid 
determination after nine years from the date of the case 
closure, or, four years from the date of the case closure for a 
perpetrator of a tier 3 justified/valid determination with the 
following circumstances: 

a. there was no child in need of care adjudication 
related to the justified/valid determination; 
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b. no criminal charges are currently pending, 
associated with the incident, or criminal conviction for any 
offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1; and 

c. there have been no subsequent justified/valid 
determinations involving the individual as a perpetrator of 
child abuse or neglect. 

F.2. - G.11. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Children’s Code, title VI, articles 615 and 616 and title XII, article 
1173, R.S. 14:403(H), R.S. 46:51.2(A), R.S 46:56, R.S. 46:1414.1, 
42 USC 15601 et seq., 28 CFR 115.6., and 42 USC 9858f. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 18:79 (January 
1992), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:583 (June 
1995), LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 26:790 (April 2000), LR 
31:1609 (July 2005), LR 36:838 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Child Welfare Section, LR 42:862 (June 2016), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Child Welfare, LR 44:998 (June 2018), amended LR 45:217 
(February 2019). 

§1105. Maintenance and Disclosure of Information on 

Reports and Investigations on the State 

Repository 

A. - L.7. ... 
M. Any person whose name is included on the SCR prior 

to August 1, 2018 with a justified/valid determination may 
file a rule to show cause against DCFS in the court 
exercising juvenile jurisdiction in the parish in which the 
investigation was conducted to show why the information on 
file should not be expunged. DCFS will expunge the 
petitioner's name and other identifying information from the 
SCR upon receipt of a court order to do so. Any 
expungement order issued by a court shall not take effect as 
to non-identifying statistical information on file until the 
three-year record retention period required by federal law for 
audit purposes has expired, counting from the month and 
year of the determination. During the three-year record 
retention period, such records bearing the non-identifying 
statistical information shall be sealed and accessible only to 
the financial auditors. 

N. - O. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

Louisiana Children’s Code Article 616. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 26:96 (January 
2000), amended LR 31:1608 (July 2005), LR 36:840 (April 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Division of Child Welfare, LR 44:1000 (June 2018), amended LR 
45:218 (February 2019). 

§1111. Child Protective Services Administrative Appeal 

A. ... 
B. Individuals with justified/valid findings in an 

investigation prior to August 1, 2018, will have the right to 
an administrative appeal of any/all of their DCFS findings of 
justified/valid. When a request for an SCR clearance is 
received by DCFS, or DCFS verifies that an individual has a 
justified/valid finding, and the individual is listed as a 
perpetrator with a justified/valid finding of abuse or neglect 
in an investigation prior to August 1, 2018; the individual 
will be notified in writing of their right to an administrative 
appeal. The individual will have 30 calendar days from the 
date of the written notification to request an appeal through 
DAL. 

C. Any individual notified of a DCFS justified/valid 
finding in an investigation subsequent to August 1, 2018, 
will have the right to an administrative appeal of any/all of 
their DCFS findings of justified/valid. The individual will 
have 30 calendar days from the date of the written 
notification to request an appeal through the DAL. 

D. - K. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

348 of 2017 and Children’s Code Article 616.1.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Child Welfare, LR 
44:1002 (June 2018), amended LR 45:218 (February 2019). 

 

Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

1902#027 

 
RULE 

Department of Economic Development 

Office of the Secretary 

Research and Development Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 29) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:6015 and R.S. 36:104, and 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Economic Development has amended LAC 13:I.2901 
relative to the administration of the research and 
development tax credit program. 

The purpose of this regulation is to implement legislative 
changes to the research and development tax credit program 
under R.S. 47:6015 as enacted by Act 336 of the 2017 
Regular Session of the Legislature. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 13  

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 

Chapter 29.  Research and Development Tax Credit 

§2903. Definitions 

A. Terms not otherwise defined in this Chapter shall 
have the same meaning given to them in R.S. 47:6015 unless 
the context clearly requires otherwise. 

B. In this Chapter, the following terms shall have the 
meaning provided in this Section, unless the context clearly 
requires otherwise. 

* * * 
Base Amount— 

a. If the taxpayer is an entity that employs fifty or 
more persons, the base amount shall be eighty percent of the 
average annual qualified research expenses within Louisiana 
during the three years preceding the taxable years. 

b. If the taxpayer is an entity that employs less than 
fifty persons, the base amount shall be fifty percent of the 
average annual qualified research expenses within Louisiana 
during the three preceding taxable years. 

Credit Certificationa certification by LED of the 
amount of the research and development tax credit earned by 
a person for a particular tax year. 

Custom Manufacturing or Custom Fabricatingthe 
business of companies (custom fabricators and/or 
manufacturers) that assemble, fabricate, or manufacturer 
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parts, equipment, assemblies, vessels, software or other 
products (“specified item”) in response to specific design 
criteria and delivery schedule provided by the 
customer/client.  

a. The typical business model acquisition process 
utilized by custom fabricators and/or manufacturers is as 
follows: 
 i. the customer/client providing the custom 
fabricator and/or manufacturer with the detail specific design 
criteria for the specified item in a document generally 
referred to as a “request for proposal”; 
 ii. after review and analysis, the custom fabricator 
and/or manufacturer submits a “proposal” to the 
customer/client in which they commit to a specific price and 
delivery schedule to assemble, fabricate, or manufacturer the 
specified item requested by the customer/client in their 
request for proposal;  
 iii. if the proposal is acceptable, the 
customer/client will generally issue a “purchase order” 
commitment document to the custom fabricator and/or 
manufacturer agreeing to the terms of their proposal, and 
authorizing the custom fabricator or manufacturer to begin 
work per their proposal; and 
 iv. although the custom fabricator or manufacturer 
generally commits to a fixed price to produce the requested 
item, they have effectively negated most, if not all, material 
or unusual commercial transaction risks by their ability to 
analyze the required design criteria before committing to a 
specific price and delivery schedule within their proposal. 

* * * 
Professional Services Firm—a firm who is primarily 

engaged in work which requires specialized education, 
knowledge, labor, judgment or is predominantly mental or 
intellectual in nature; and which may require the holding of 
a professional license. These types of firms engage in 
activities which include, but are not limited to, architecture, 
engineering, legal services and accounting. 

Qualified Research Expenses in the Stateexpenses for 
qualified research as defined under 26 U.S.C. §41(d) 
(“qualified research”) that are qualified research expenses 
under 26 U.S.C. §41(b) (“qualified research expenses”) and 
meet the following requirements: 

a. - d. … 
e. 26 U.S.C. §41(d) also excludes expenditures 

associated with certain activities from the definition of 
qualified research. These activities include: 
 i. - vi. …  

Research and Development Tax Credits―credits against 
Louisiana income or corporation franchise taxes that are 
earned by a person pursuant to the provisions of the 
Research and Development Tax Credit Program provided by 
R.S. 47:6015. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Business Resources Division, LR 30:977 (May 2004), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, LR 38:351 (February 2012), amended 
by the Office of Business Development, LR 40:49 (January 2014), 
LR 40:1525 (August 2014), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 45:218 
(February 2019). 

§2904. Type, Amount and Duration of Credit 

A. Type. Any taxpayer meeting the following criteria 
shall be allowed a tax credit to be applied against income 
and corporation franchise taxes due: 

1. employs 50 or more persons (including affiliates) 
and claims for the taxable year a federal income tax credit 
under 26 U.S.C. §41(a) for increasing research activities; 

2. employs less than 50 persons (including affiliates), 
and claims for the taxable year a federal income tax credit 
under 26 U.S.C. 41(a) for the taxable year, or incurs 
qualified research expenses for the taxable year, as defined 
in 26 U.S.C. §41(b); and 

3. receives a small business innovation research grant, 
as defined in R.S. 47:6015(D). 

B. Amount. The amount of the credit authorized shall be 
equal to: 

1. 5 percent of the difference between the qualified in-
state research expenses in the state for the taxable year 
minus the base amount, if the applicant is an entity that 
employs 100 or more persons (including affiliates); or 

2. 10 percent of the difference, between the Louisiana 
qualified in-state research expenses in the state for the 
taxable year minus the base amount, if the applicant is an 
entity that employs 50 to 99 persons (including affiliates); or 

3. 30 percent of the difference, between the qualified 
in-state research expenses in the state for taxable year minus 
the base amount if the applicant is an entity that employs 
fewer than 50 persons (including affiliates); or 

4. 30 percent of the small business innovation 
research grant award or small business technology transfer 
program funding received during the tax year. 

C. Duration. No credit shall be allowed for research 
expenditures incurred, small business technology transfer 
program funds received, or small business innovation 
research grant funds received after December 31, 2021. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
36:1768 (August 2010), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 38:351 (February 2012), amended by the Office of Business 
Development, LR 40:50 (January 2014), LR 40:1526 (August 
2014), amended Office of the Secretary, LR 42:42 (January 2016), 
LR 45:219 (February 2019). 

§2905. Certification of Amount of Credit 

A. Prior to claiming a research and development tax 
credit on any tax return or selling any research and 
development tax credit, a person must apply for and obtain a 
credit certification from LED.  

B. The application for a credit certification shall be 
submitted on a form provided by the LED and shall include, 
but not be limited to the following information: 

1. an application fee equal to 0.5 percent of the 
amount of the tax credits applied for, with a minimum of 
$500 and a maximum of $15,000, payable to Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development; 

2. appropriate supporting documentation: 
a. for taxpayers employing 50 or more residents, a 

federal income tax return and evidence of the amount of 
federal research credit for the same taxable year; 

b. for taxpayers employing up to 50 residents: 
 i. either: 
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(a). a federal income tax return and evidence of 
the amount of federal research credit for the same taxable 
year; or 

(b). a request that LED enter into an attest 
engagement with a certified public accountant (“CPA”) 
authorized to practice in Louisiana or a tax attorney who is 
selected by LED for a report that focuses on verification of 
the applicant’s expenditures and claimed qualified research 
activities as well as pay the deposit for such report in 
accordance with R.S. 36:104.1 and 47:6015; and 
 ii. evidence of the amount of qualified research 
expenses for the same taxable year; 

c. for taxpayers claiming credits based upon the 
federal small business innovation research grant, evidence of 
the amount of such grant; 

d. the LED may also require documentation, 
including but not limited to the following, as proof of an 
expenditure prior to certification: 
 i. wages: 

(a). copy of W-2 for each employee who 
participates in qualifying research and development 
activities; 

(b). percentage of each employee’s salary that is 
dedicated to qualifying research and development activities; 
and 

(c). Louisiana Workforce Commission quarterly 
report of wages paid for the company for the third and fourth 
quarter of the tax year in question; 
 ii. supplies: 

(a). invoices with date of purchase included; 
 iii. contracted research: 

(a). invoices with applicable dates or periods of 
work; and 

(b). contracts for the research to be performed; 
e. in order for any research and development 

project to qualify, the requesting company must identify: 
 i. the business component that was developed or 
improved; 
 ii the uncertainty that existed in the capability, 
method or design related to such business component; 
 iii. how the research was technological in nature; 
and  
 iv. the process of experimentation undertaken; 

3. the total amount of qualified research expenses and 
the qualified research expenses in the state; 

4. the total number of Louisiana residents employed 
by the taxpayer and the number of those Louisiana residents 
directly engaged in research and development; 

5. the average wages of the Louisiana resident 
employees not directly engaged in research and development 
and the average wages of the Louisiana resident employees 
directly engaged in research and development; 

6. the average value of benefits received by all 
Louisiana resident employees; 

7. the cost of health insurance coverage offered to all 
Louisiana resident employees; 

8. any other information required by LED. 
C. Taxpayers qualifying for tax credit transfers under 

§2915 may apply for up to two credit certifications per 
calendar year. All other taxpayers shall be limited to one 
credit certification per calendar year. 

D. LED shall review the application and issue a credit 
certification in the amount determined to be eligible and 
provide a copy to the Department of Revenue. The credit 
certification and the amount of such certification shall be 
considered preliminary and shall be subject in all respects to 
audit by the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 

E. In order for credits to be awarded, a taxpayer must 
claim the expenditures within one year after December 31 of 
the year in which the expenditure was incurred. For 
example, company A buys a piece of equipment that would 
qualify for the research and development tax credit on May 
15, 2011. In order for company A to receive a credit on that 
expenditure, the application for credit on that expense must 
be received by December 31, 2012. 

F. Each year LED shall perform a detailed examination 
of at least 10 percent of all applications received prior to the 
issuance of credits on such applications.  

1. LED shall select applications for examination based 
on one or more of the following: 

a. a random sampling; 
b. applicant’s business sector; and 
c. other selection criteria as determined by LED. 

2. Upon notice that their application has been selected 
for examination, the applicant shall provide all supporting 
documentation requested by LED to show the amount of 
qualified research expenses for such taxable year. 

3. The applicant bears the burden of proving that its 
activities meet the definition of qualified research under 26 
U.S.C. §41(d). 

4. LED still retains the right to examine a taxpayer’s 
application after the issuance of credits and any credits 
disallowed following such examination shall be subject to 
recovery, recapture or offset. 

G. If LED reviews a submission and determines that an 
applicant is not eligible for tax credits for a tax year, the 
company shall have six months from the date of 
disallowance to resubmit additional documentation for 
reconsideration. LED will not consider any additional 
documentation after this six-month period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Business Resources Division, LR 30:977 (May 2004), amended by 
the Office of Business Development, LR 36:1768 (August 2010), 
LR 38:351 (February 2012), LR 40:51 (January 2014), LR 40:1526 
(August 2014), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 42:42 
(January 2016), amended the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 45:219 (February 2019). 

§2911. Recapture of Credits 

A. An application for credit certification shall constitute: 
1. a consent by the taxpayer that credits granted under 

this Section, but later disallowed in whole or in part, may be 
recovered by the secretary of the Department of Revenue 
from the taxpayer applicant through any collection remedy 
authorized by the provisions of R.S. 47:6015(H); and 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6015. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development Services, 
Business Resources Division, LR 30:978 (May 2004), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, LR 38:352 (February 2012), amended
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by the Office of Business Development, LR 40:52 (January 2014), 
LR 40:1527 (August 2014), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 45:220 
(February 2019). 

§2913. Ineligible Businesses 

A. - A.1. … 
2. businesses primarily engaged in custom 

manufacturing or custom fabricating that do not have a 
pending or issued United States patent related to the 
qualified research expenditures claimed. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6015. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
40:52 (January 2014), amended LR 40:1527 (August 2014), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
the Secretary, LR 45:221 (February 2019). 

§2915. Transfer of Certain Research and Development 

Credits 

A. For tax years 2018 and later, credits based upon 
participation in either the Small Business Technology 
Transfer Program or the Small Business Innovation 
Research Grant not previously claimed by a taxpayer shall 
be transferable in accordance with the following provisions. 

1. A single transfer or sale may involve one or more 
transferees.  

2. Notice of the credit transfer shall be submitted by 
the applicant to the Louisiana Department of Revenue in 
writing within 10 business days of the transfer or sale of 
credits.  

a. No transfer or sale of credits shall be effective 
until recorded in the tax credit registry in accordance with 
R.S. 47:1524. 

b. The notification shall include the transferor's tax 
credit balance prior to transfer, a copy of any tax credit 
certification letter issued by the Department of Economic 
Development, the transferor's remaining tax credit balance 
after transfer, all tax identification numbers for both 
transferor and transferee, the date of the transfer, the amount 
transferred, a copy of the credit certificate, the price paid by 
the transferee to the transferor, and any other information 
required by the Department of Revenue. 

c. The notification submitted to the Department of 
Revenue shall include a transfer processing fee of two 
hundred dollars per transferee. 

d. Failure to comply with this Paragraph shall result 
in the disallowance of the tax credit until the taxpayers are in 
full compliance. 

3. The transfer or sale of credits does not extend the 
time in which the credits can be used. The carryforward 
period for a credit that is transferred or sold begins on the 
date on which the credit was earned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
45:221 (February 2019). 

 
Anne Villa 
Undersecretary 

1902#061 

 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System—English Language Proficiency 

Measure of Progress (LAC 28:XI.405 and 409) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System. The amendments 
include a measure of progress to English language 
proficiency for English learners in the assessment index of 
the accountability formula. This Rule is hereby adopted on 
the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part XI.  Accountability/Testing 

Subpart 1.  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, 

and State Accountability System 

Chapter 4. Assessment and Dropout/Credit 

Accumulation Index Calculations 

§405. Calculating a K-8 Assessment Index 

[Formerly LAC 28:LXXXIII.405] 

A. … 

* * * 
B. Beginning no earlier than the 2019-2020 school year, 

the kindergarten through eighth grade assessment index will 
also include a measure of progress to English language 
proficiency for English learners. The improvement of every 
English learner eligible to participate in ELPT counts in 
equal weight to all other exams. 

1. The 2018-2019 school year will be a designated 
learning year. 

a. English language proficiency progress results 
will be calculated but not included in 2018-2019 school 
performance scores. 

b. As required by the federal Every Student 
Succeeds Act (ESSA), performance on the English language 
proficiency progress measure will be used for the purpose of 
identifying schools requiring comprehensive intervention in 
2018-2019. 

c. The Accountability Commission will review 
learning year results no later than August 2019. 

2. For measuring progress on the ELPT assessment, 
the overall proficiency scores will be organized into the 
following levels: 

a. emerging—all domain scores are one or two; 
b. progressing 1—at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is one; 
c. progressing 2—at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is two; 
d. progressing 3—at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is three; and 
e. transitioning—all domain scores are four or five. 

3. Each English learner expected trajectory to 
proficiency will be determined as follows. 

a. The initial proficiency level for each English 
learner will be determined based on the ELPT assessment
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results from the school year in which the student was first 
enrolled in a Louisiana public school and participated in the 
ELPT assessment. 

b. If a student exits the United States for one or 
more school years following the initial ELPT assessment and 
later reenrolls in Louisiana, the student will be considered a 
new student for the purpose of determining the initial 
proficiency level. 

c. For students first identified in prekindergarten 
through fifth grade, use the initial ELPT proficiency level 
and number of years identified as defined in the table below. 

 

Trajectory to English Language Proficiency: 

Students First Identified in Grades PK-5 
Initial ELPT  

Proficiency Level 
Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 

Year 5 

and 

Beyond 
Emerging (E) P1 P2 P3 T 
Progressing 1 (P1) P2 P3 T T 
Progressing 2 (P2) P3 T T T 
Progressing 3 (P3) T T T T 
Transitioning (T) N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
d. For students first identified in sixth through 

twelfth grade, use the initial ELPT proficiency level and 
number of years identified as defined in the following table. 

 

Trajectory to English Language Proficiency: 

Students First Identified in Grades 6-12 
Initial ELPT 

Proficiency Level 
Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 

Year 7 

and 

Beyond 
Emerging (E) P1 P2 P2 P3 P3 T 

Progressing 1 (P1) P2 P2 P3 P3 T T 

Progressing 2 (P2) P2 P3 P3 T T T 

Progressing 3 (P3) P3 T T T T T 

Transitioning (T) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
e. An ELPT score exceeds the trajectory if the score 

is at least one level higher than expected and meets the 
trajectory if the score is the same level as expected based on 
the tables above. 

4. The level of progress on the ELPT assessment will 
be included in the kindergarten through eighth grade 
assessment index for each English learner according to the 
following table. 

 

ELPT Progress Assessment Index Points 

Outcome 
ELP Index 

Points 
ELPT level exceeds trajectory 150 
ELPT level meets trajectory 100 
ELPT level is at least one above the prior year  80 
ELPT level is the same or lower than the prior year 0 

 
C. … 

* * * 
D. Weight each ELP index score by six. 
E. Sum all weighted subject-test and ELP index scores. 

F. Sum all weights applied to subject-test and ELP index 
scores from the tables in Subsections C and D of this 
Section. 

G. Divide the sum from Subsection F of this Section by 
the total scores. 

H. When eighth grade students only participate in the 
algebra I exam but not the grade-level math assessment, the 
algebra I test results will be used in the middle school 
assessment index (80 for basic, 100 for good/mastery, and 
150 for excellent/advanced) and will be weighted by content 
as noted in the table above. Middle schools will also earn 
incentive points for all EOC or high school LEAP 2025 
scores of good/mastery or excellent/advanced earned during 
the same year in which the test was administered. 

1. Incentive points will be awarded as follows: 
a. excellent or advanced = 50; and 
b. good or mastery = 25. 

I. The policy outlined in Subsection G of this Section 
will also apply to combination schools. The EOC or high 
school LEAP 2025 score will be used in middle school 
results for the year in which the assessment is taken, 
incentive points may be awarded, and the score will be 
banked for use in the high school score once the student 
arrives in ninth grade, as outlined in §409.A.3. 

J. In the 2017-2018 school year, the science test will be 
administered as a field test only. When calculating the 
kindergarten through eighth grade assessment index for the 
2017-2018 school year, either the 2015-2016 or 2016-2017 
science assessment index, whichever yields the higher 
school performance score, will be used as the science 
component of the overall assessment index and will be 
weighted by the 2017-2018 social studies assessment index 
tested population in order to limit impact of population 
changes from prior years. 

K. In the 2018-2019 school year, the science test will be 
operational again. When calculating the kindergarten 
through eighth grade assessment index, for the 2018-2019 
school year, either the 2016-2017 or 2018-2019 science 
assessment index, whichever yields the higher school 
performance score, will be used as the science component of 
the overall assessment index and will be weighted by the 
2018-2019 social studies assessment index tested population 
in order to limit impact of population changes from prior 
years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1021 (June 2006), 
amended LR 36:1989 (September 2010), LR 38:3106 (December 
2012), LR 41:2579 (December 2015), LR 42:548 (April 2016), LR 
42:2172 (December 2016), LR 44:448 (March 2018), LR 45:221 
(February 2019). 

§409. Calculating a 9-12 Assessment Index 

[Formerly LAC 28:LXXXIII.409] 

A. - A.4. … 
B. Beginning no earlier than the 2019-2020 school year, 

the ninth through twelfth grade assessment index will also 
include a measure of progress to English language 
proficiency for English learners. English learner



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 223 

improvement on the English language proficiency exam 
counts in equal weight to all other exams. 

1. The 2018-2019 school year will be a designated 
learning year. 

a. English language proficiency progress results 
will be calculated but not be included in 2018-2019 school 
performance scores. 

b. As required by the federal Every Student 
Succeeds Act (ESSA), performance on the English language 
proficiency progress measure may be used for the purposes 
of identifying schools requiring comprehensive intervention 
in 2018-2019. 

c. The Accountability Commission will review 
learning year results no later than August 2019. 

2. For measuring progress on the ELPT assessment, 
the overall proficiency score will be divided into the 
following levels: 

a. emerging: all domain scores are one or two; 
b. progressing 1: at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is one; 
c. progressing 2: at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is two; 
d. progressing 3: at least one domain score of three 

and the lowest domain score is three; and 
e. transitioning: all domain scores are four or five. 

3. Each English learner expected trajectory to 
proficiency will be determined as follows. 

a. The initial proficiency level for each English 
learner will be determined based on the ELPT assessment 
results from the school year in which the student was first 
enrolled in a Louisiana public school and identified as an 
English learner in 2017-2018, whichever is most recent. 

b. For students first identified in prekindergarten 
through fifth grade, consider the initial ELPT proficiency 
level and number of years identified using the following 
table. 

 

Trajectory to English Language Proficiency: 

Students First Identified in Grades PK-5 
Initial ELPT  

Proficiency Level Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 
Year 5 and 

Beyond 
Emerging (E) P1 P2 P3 T 
Progressing 1 (P1) P2 P3 T T 
Progressing 2 (P2) P3 T T T 
Progressing 3 (P3) T T T T 
Transitioning (T) N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
c. For students first identified in six through twelfth 

grade, consider the initial ELPT proficiency level and 
number of years identified using the following table. 

 

Trajectory to English Language Proficiency: 

Students First Identified in Grades 6-12 
Initial ELPT 

Proficiency Level Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 
Year 7 and 

Beyond 
Emerging (E) P1 P2 P2 P3 P3 T 
Progressing 1 (P1) P2 P2 P3 P3 T T 
Progressing 2 (P2) P2 P3 P3 T T T 
Progressing 3 (P3) P3 T T T T T 
Transitioning (T) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
d. An ELPT score exceeds the trajectory if the score 

is at least one level higher than expected and meets the 

trajectory if the score is the same level as expected based on 
the tables above. 

3. The level of progress on the ELPT assessment shall 
be included in the kindergarten through eighth grade 
assessment index for each English learner according to the 
following table. 

 

ELPT Progress Assessment Index Points 
Outcome ELP Index Points 

ELPT level exceeds trajectory 150 
ELPT level meets trajectory 100 
ELPT level is at least one above the prior year  80 
ELPT level is the same or lower than the prior 
year 

0 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1021 (June 2006), 
amended LR 33:252 (February 2007), LR 36:1989 (September 
2010), LR 37:2118 (July 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2382 
(August 2011), amended LR 37:3200 (November 2011), LR 
38:1212 (May 2012), LR 38:2357 (September 2012), LR 38:3106 
(December 2012), LR 39:305 (February 2013), LR 39:1421 (June 
2013), LR 40:1314 (July 2014), LR 41:2579 (December 2015), LR 
42:548 (April 2016), LR 44:448 (March 2018), LR 45:222 
(February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#047 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District—Budget 
Reporting (LAC 28:CXLV.1103 and 1105) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 129—The Recovery School 

District in order align Recovery School District (RSD) 
budget reporting with other budget reviews and approvals 
conducted by BESE. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day 
of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 

Chapter 11. Fiscal Management 

§1103. Annual Budget 

A. … 
B. The RSD direct-operated and charter-operated schools 

shall budget on a fiscal year basis, July 1 through June 30. 
C. The revenues/receipts and expenditures disbursements 

in the RSD budget shall be listed and classified in such 
manner and substance as prescribed by the Division of 
Administration (DOA). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), 17:10.5(A)(1), 17:10.7(A)(1), and 17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:310 (January 2011), 
amended LR 42:553 (April 2016), LR 45:223 (February 2019). 
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§1105. Budget Planning, Preparation, and Schedules 

A. The RSD shall annually present the budget proposal 
to BESE for approval prior to submission to the DOA and a 
report on the status of the budget following the approval by 
the legislature. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), 17:10.7(A)(1), and 
17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:311 (January 2011), 
amended LR 42:553 (April 2016), LR 45:224 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#046 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing 
Regulations—Owners, Directors and Director Designees of 

Type III Early Learning Centers—Fraud and Felony 
Limitations (LAC 28:CLXI.Chapter 18) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended LAC 28:CLXI.Chapter 18 in 
Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning Center Licensing 

Regulations. The revisions pertain to owners, directors and 
director-designees of type III early learning centers, by 
limiting crimes of fraud to felonies within the past 10 years. 
They also provide for a BESE review for these crimes as 
well if the conviction was less than 10 years ago. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CLXI.  Bulletin 137—Louisiana Early Learning 

Center Licensing Regulations 

Chapter 18. Child Care Criminal Background Checks 

(CCCBC) 

§1805. Persons Ineligible for Child Care Purposes 

A. - C. ... 
D. In addition, for type III centers an owner, director, or 

director designee shall not have been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, within the past 10 
years, for any of the following crimes of fraud: 

1. 18 U.S.C. 287 and 1341 and R.S. 14:67.11, 14:68.2, 
14:70.1, 14:70.4, 14:70.5, 14:70.7, 14:70.8, 14:71, 14:71.1, 
14:71.3, 14:72, 14:72.1.1, 14:72.4, 14:73.5, and 14:133. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1 and 407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:252 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 45:224 (February 2019). 

§1806. Types of CCCBC-based Determinations of 

Eligibility for Child Care Purposes 

A. There are two types of CCCBC-based determinations 
of eligibility for child care purposes: 

1. “owner/director/director designee of type III 
centers” determinations of eligibility are required for 

owners, directors and director designees of type III centers; 
and 

2. “child care staff member” determinations of 
eligibility are required for owners, directors and director 
designees of type I and type II centers and volunteers, staff, 
visitors, contractors and other persons providing services in 
any type of child care centers when children are present. 

B. A person with an “owner/director/director designee of 
type III centers” determination of eligibility also has a “child 
care staff member” determination of eligibility.  

C. A person with a “child care staff member” 
determination of eligibility does not have an 
“owner/director/director designee of type III centers” 
determination of eligibility. 

1. For a person with a “child care staff member” 
determination of eligibility, a type III center must obtain an 
“owner/director/director designee of type III centers” 
determination of eligibility before that person can become an 
owner, director or director designee of the type III center. 

2. To obtain an “owner/director/director designee of 
type III centers” determination of eligibility for a person 
with a valid “child care staff member” determination of 
eligibility, the type III center must request the subsequent 
determination from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:224 (February 2019). 

§1819. Termination of Employment and Removal from 

Center and Premises 

A. - C. … 
D. Exception for Owners, Directors and Director 

Designees of Type III Centers with Notices of Ineligibility 
1. Upon receipt of notice from the department that an 

owner, director or director designee of a type III center is 
ineligible for child care purposes based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter, the owner, director 
or director designee of the type III center may remain on the 
premises pending a review of the determination of 
ineligibility by BESE, provided the owner, director or 
director designee of the type III center timely submits the 
following: 

a. a written request to BESE staff for a review of 
the determination of ineligibility pursuant to §1823 of this 
Chapter within 15 business days of receipt of the notice of 
ineligibility from the department; and 

b. documentation listed in §1823.D and E.2 of this 
Chapter to BESE staff within 30 business days of receipt of 
the notice of ineligibility from the department. 

2. If the owner, director or director designee of the 
type III center: 

a. fails to timely comply with Paragraph 1 of this 
Subsection;  

b. chooses not to request a records review for the 
notice of ineligibility; or 

c. remains ineligible because BESE declines to 
conduct a review of the determination, or BESE determines 
that the owner, director or director designee of the type III 
center shall remain ineligible, then the requirements in: 
 i. Subsection A of this Section shall apply to 
directors and director designees of the type III center who 
are not also owners, or the director or director designee of
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the type III center may continue to work as a staff member at 
the type III center other than the director or director 
designee, or as any type of staff member at a type I or type II 
center, including the director or the director designee of the 
type I or type II center; and 
 ii. Subsection B of this Section shall apply to all 
owners of type III centers, whether or not they are directors 
or director designees of type III centers in that such owners 
must: 

(a). divest ownership of the type III center within 
30 calendar days of receipt of the original notice of 
ineligibility from the department if no records review is 
requested, or within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice of 
continuing ineligibility from BESE if a records review is 
requested. The owner may continue to work at the center as 
a staff member other than the director or director designee, 
but may not continue to own the center; or 

(b). change license types for the center from a 
type III to a type I or type II license within 30 calendar days 
of receipt of the original notice of ineligibility from the 
department if no records review is requested, or within 30 
calendar days of receipt of notice of continuing ineligibility 
from BESE if a records review is requested and then may 
continue to own the center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR 98.43 and R.S. 15:587.1 and 407.42. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 44:255 (February 2018), 
effective March 1, 2018, amended LR 45:224 (February 2019). 

§1823. Review of Determinations of Ineligibility for 

Owners, Directors, or Director Designees of 

Type III Centers 

A. A review of a determination of ineligibility for 
owners, directors or director designees of type III centers 
shall not be considered if it is based in part on any crime or 
event listed in §1805.A through C of this Chapter. 

B. A review of a determination of ineligibility may only 
be considered for owners, directors or director designees of 
type III centers if the determination is based solely on a 
crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter. 

C. A review of a determination of ineligibility based 
solely on a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter 
shall not be considered until at least five years have lapsed 
from the date of entry of the final conviction or plea which 
resulted in the determination of ineligibility. 

D. An applicant may apply to the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education (BESE) for a review of his/her 
determination of ineligibility based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter after the lapse of time 
indicated above and under the following conditions: 

1. There are no other crimes or events that would 
render the applicant ineligible to be an owner, director, or 
director designee of a type III center pursuant to §1805 of 
this Chapter other than a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of 
this Chapter; and 

2. There has been successful completion of all 
conditions/requirements of any parole or probation. 

E. The applicant must provide relevant documentation, 
including: 

1. documentation from the department that the 
determination of ineligibility is based solely on a crime of 
fraud listed in §1805.D of this Chapter and there are no other 
crimes or events that would prohibit the applicant from 

being eligible to be an owner, director, or director designee 
of a type III center; and 

2. relevant documentation of all conditions and 
requirements of any parole and/or probation. 

F. Applicant’s responsibilities are as follows: 
1. contact the BESE office and submit a written 

request for a review of records for a determination of 
ineligibility as an owner, director or director designee of a 
type III center based on a crime of fraud listed in §1805.D of 
this Chapter; and 

2. provide each applicable item identified in 
Subsection D of this Section and any evidence of 
rehabilitation. It is recommended that the applicant provide 
letters of support from past/present employers, law 
enforcement officials or other community leaders. 

G. BESE’s Responsibilities 
1. BESE or its designees will consider the request for 

a review of the determination of ineligibility and the 
documentation provided. BESE is not required to conduct a 
review of the determination and may summarily deny a 
request for review. 

2. If BESE or its designees decide to conduct a 
records review of the determination, BESE staff shall notify 
the applicant of a date, time, and place when a BESE 
committee shall consider the applicant’s request. Only 
written documentation provided prior to the records review 
will be considered. 

3. BESE reserves the right to accept or reject any 
document as evidence of rehabilitation and the right to 
determine if adequate rehabilitation has occurred and will 
itself determine if and when an applicant is eligible to be an 
owner, director or director designee of a type III center 
pursuant to §1805.D of this Chapter. 

4. The BESE committee shall make a 
recommendation to the full board regarding whether the 
determination of ineligibility shall be changed to a 
determination of eligibility. Board staff shall notify the 
applicant of BESE’s action. 

5. BESE’s action is a final decision and can only be 
appealed to a court of proper jurisdiction in accordance with 
law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:225 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#045 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—Home Study Programs  

(LAC 28:CXV.Chapter 33) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 

for School Administrators. The amendments update 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 226 

terminology and requirements for home study programs. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 

Chapter 33. Home Study Programs 

§3301. Definition 

Home Study Program—a program that offers a sustained 
curriculum of quality, at least equal to that offered by public 
schools at the same grade level, and implemented under the 
direction and control of a parent, legal guardian, or tutor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1312 (June 2005), 
amended LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3305. Application Process 

A. Initial Home Study Program Application 
1. An initial application must be made within 15 days 

after the beginning of the program to the LDE, on behalf of 
BESE, for review and approval. 

2. The initial application will be accompanied by a 
certified copy or a photocopy of the birth certificate of the 
student. The applicant must certify that the home study 
program will offer a sustained curriculum of quality at least 
equal to that offered by public schools at the same grade 
level. 

3. For purposes of compulsory attendance, a child 
participating in an approved home study program will be 
considered in attendance in a day school. 

B.  Home Study Program Application Renewal 
1. A renewal application must be made October 1 of 

the school year, or within 12 months of the approval of the 
initial application, whichever is later. Parents seeking 
continued approval are required to submit a renewal 
application each year. 

2. A renewal application will be approved if the 
applicant submits to the LDE satisfactory evidence that the 
program offers a sustained curriculum of quality at least 
equal to that of public schools at the same grade level. 

C. Initial and renewal applications will be approved if 
found to meet the requirements set forth in R.S. 17:236.1. 
Upon LDE approval, parents will receive an official 
approval verification letter. Because state law does not 
provide for any exceptions for the deadline for the approval 
of a home study program and does not allow for retroactive 
approval of a previous school year, it is the parent’s 
responsibility to maintain a record of annual home study 
participation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1312 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:2229 (August 2013), LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3307. Instructor 

A. A parent, legal guardian, or tutor will be permitted to 
provide instruction in a home study program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1312 (June 2005), 
amended LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3309. Curriculum 

A. - A.4. … 
B. A high school diploma awarded by a home study 

program approved by LDE, on behalf of BESE, is deemed 
by all public postsecondary education institutions, state 
departments, agencies, boards, commissions, and other state 
and local governmental entities to have the same rights and 
privileges afforded to a high school diploma awarded by a 
state-approved nonpublic school. 

C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:236.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1312 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37:1137 (April 2011), LR 39:2229 (August 2013), LR 
42:1879 (November 2016), LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3311. Testing 

A. A parent or court-appointed custodian of a student in 
a home study program may request of the LEA 
superintendent or the state superintendent that the student be 
administered the LEAP tests in grades 3-8 under the 
following conditions: 

1. - 5. … 
B. Students enrolled in state-approved home study 

programs are not eligible to participate in LEAP connect, 
ELPT, or EOC tests. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1313 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37:1138 (April 2011), LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3313. Admission or Readmission to the Public School 

System 

A. … 
1. The policy includes a placement exam to determine 

grade-level placement. 
2. Repealed. 

B. - B.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and 17:236.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1313 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:2230 (August 2013), LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3315. Due Process 

A.  No public school will deny admission or readmission 
of a home study program student if that student is otherwise 
eligible for enrollment in a public school pursuant to state 
law, the policies of the local school board, and the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1313 (June 2005), 
amended LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

§3317. Cost 

A. All costs directly attributed to the home study 
program will be borne by the parent or court appointed 
custodian approved to offer such program. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:236.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1313 (June 2005), 
amended LR 39:2230 (August 2013), LR 45:226 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#031 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators—STEM Diploma Endorsements  

(LAC 28:CXV.2317) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 

for School Administrators. The amendments establish STEM 
diploma endorsements recognizing high school students who 
exhibit academic achievement in STEM discipline subjects. 
Students completing the required coursework in the BESE 
approved Jumpstart STEM pathways of LSU Digital Design 
and Emergent Media, LSU Pre-Engineering, and 
Environmental Protection and Sustainability will receive an 
endorsement on their high school diploma. This Rule is 
hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum and Instruction 

Subchapter A. Standards and Curricula 

§2317. High Schools 

A. - J.3.b. … 
K. Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics 

(STEM) Diploma Endorsement 
1. Beginning with the 2018-2019 school year, high 

school students completing specified courses in STEM 
discipline subjects that comprise Jump Start STEM 
pathways will be eligible to receive the STEM diploma 
endorsement. 

a. The STEM diploma endorsement is indicated 
with a silver diploma seal and is awarded to students who 
successfully complete a subset of required courses within a 
BESE-approved Jump Start STEM pathway, set forth by the 
LDE. The LDE will annually publish on its website a list of 
courses required for the STEM endorsement for each 
graduating class prior to the beginning of each school year 
and shall notify each LEA of any additions or revisions. 

b. The advanced STEM diploma endorsement is 
indicated with a gold seal and is awarded to students who 
successfully complete all courses that make up a BESE-
approved Jump Start STEM pathway. 

2. Each LEA must: 
a. provide information regarding the requirements 

to attain a STEM diploma endorsement to students and their 
parents or legal custodians as part of the individual 

graduation plan developed beginning in the eighth grade and 
updated annually; and 

b. maintain records needed to verify the eligibility 
of students who have attained a STEM diploma 
endorsement, denote such attainment on the student 
transcript, and affix the applicable diploma seal to the high 
school diploma. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6, 17:7, 17:154, 17:1944, 17:1945, and 17:4073. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 36:1485 (July 2010), LR 37:1137 (April 2011), LR 
38:754 (March 2012), LR 39:1038 (April 2013), LR 39:2216 
(August 2013), LR 40:1328 (July 2014), repromulgated LR 
40:1528 (August 2014), amended LR 40:2530 (December 2014), 
LR 45:227 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#044 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School Personnel—PRAXIS Scores, Endorsements, and 

Certification—Mathematics  
(LAC 28:CXXXI.203, 348 and 648) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of School Personnel. The amendments 
are related to PRAXIS scores, endorsements, and 
certification in the area of mathematics, requiring applicants 
to pass the middle school mathematics PRAXIS (5169) and 
the algebra I content exam (5162). Applicants will be 
required to hold a level 1 or higher certificate. These 
amendments allow candidates holding a "math for 
professionals" certificate to teach full- or part-time. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel  

Chapter 2. Initial Teacher Certification 

Subchapter B. Testing Required for Certification Areas 

§203. PRAXIS Exams and Scores 

(Formerly §243) 

A. - B. … 

* * * 
C. Certification Areas 

1. Grades 6-12 Certification 

 

Grades 6-12 Certification Areas 
Certification 

Area 
Name of 

PRAXIS Test Score 
PLT

7-12 

Agriculture Agriculture (0700)  
Prior to 6/8/14 510 

--- --- 157 

 
Agriculture (5701)  
Effective 6/8/14 147 
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Grades 6-12 Certification Areas 
Certification 

Area 
Name of 

PRAXIS Test Score 
PLT

7-12 

Algebra I Algebra I (5162)  
Effective 8/14/18 157 

         
 Middle School  

Mathematics (5169) 165 

* * * 
 

* * * 
C.2. - D. … 

* * * 
E. Administrative and Instructional Support Areas 
 

Certification 

Area Name of PRAXIS Test 
Area Test 

Score 

Educational 
Leader—Level 1 

School Leaders Licensure 
Assessment (1011 or 6011) 166 

School Leaders Licensure 
Assessment (6990) 
Effective 9/1/2019 

151 
(Effective 

9/1/2019) 
* * * 

All Praxis scores used for certification must be sent directly 
from ETS to the state Department of Education electronically, 
or the original PRAXIS score report from ETS must be 
submitted with the candidate’s application. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41:645 (April 2015), LR 41:916 (May 
2015), LR 42:233 (February 2016), LR 43:1292 (July 2017), LR 
44:264 (February 2018), LR 45:228 (February 2019). 

Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 

Certifications 

Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 

§348. Math for Professionals Certificate 

A. … 
B. Math for professionals certificate is valid for three 

years initially and allows an individual to teach one or more 
mathematics courses. 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:220 (February 2009), 
amended LR 39:1463 (June 2013), LR 40:281 (February 2014), LR 
45:228 (February 2019). 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 

Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 

§648. Algebra I 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid level 1 Louisiana teaching certificate or 

higher; 
2. pass the PRAXIS middle school mathematics exam 

(5169); 
3. pass the algebra I PRAXIS exam (5162). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:1386 (July 2008), 
amended LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 40:281 (February 2014), LR 
45:228 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#049 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Mentor Teacher and Content Leader Credentials  
(LAC 28:XLV.303, 401, 743, and 747; CXXXI.203, 240, 

Chapter 3, Chapter 7 and 1001; CXXXVII.301; and 
CXLVII.101 and Chapter 3) 

Under the authority granted in R.S. 17:6 and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended: 

Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 

Educational Leader Preparation Programs,  

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 

Certification of School Personnel,  

Bulletin 125—Standards for Educational Leaders in 

Louisiana, and  

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 

Assessment of School Personnel. 

The amendments establish mentor teacher and content 
leader credentials and provide for mentor and content leader 
training, experience, and credentialing to contribute to 
school leader licensure. This Rule is hereby adopted on the 
day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part XLV.  Bulletin 996—Standards for Approval of 

Teacher and/or Educational Leader Preparation 

Programs 

Chapter 3. Initial State Approval for Teacher or 

Educational Leader Preparation 

Programs 

§303. Initial Approval 

[Formerly §203] 

A. - K. … 
L. Providers seeking approval to offer a mentor teacher 

or content leader training program must submit: 
1. a proposal from the director of the institution or 

organization that outlines the training design, coursework, 
and a system for evaluating the quality of training content, 
delivery, and operations, including analysis of the 
performance of participants; 

2. evidence to show that the governing authority of 
the institution or organization endorses and financially 
supports mentor teacher or content leader training; 

3. a full budget report for the implementation of 
training, including internal and external sources of funding: 
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a. university-based BESE-approved teacher 
preparation providers are exempt from this requirement; 

4. evidence that the training program, if offered as a 
university course, will be offered for graduate credit; and 

5. any additional information required by the state 
superintendent of education. 

M. Mentor teacher and content leader training proposals 
will be accepted by the LDE and considered at least twice 
per year by BESE, beginning in the fall of 2019. 

N. The LDE will review applications from providers to 
offer mentor teacher or content leader training. The state 
superintendent will provide a recommendation for the 
board’s consideration for each complete application 
received. Upon approval by BESE, the provider may begin 
admitting candidates to the mentor teacher or content leader 
training program. 

O. Candidates completing training programs from 
providers or programs not approved by BESE in accordance 
with this Section will not qualify to receive an ancillary 
certificate as a mentor teacher or content leader in 
accordance with LAC 28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10), 17:7(6), and 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:2453 (November 
2004), amended LR 35:2327 (November 2009), LR 37:561 
(February 2011), LR 43:2486 (December 2017), LR 45:228 
(February 2019). 

Chapter 4. Teacher and Leader Preparation Program 

Accountability, Renewal, and Approval 

§401. Ongoing Approval of Teacher and Leader 

Preparation Programs 

[Formerly §1101] 

A. - D.2.d. … 
E. Certification Preparation. In order to offer state-

approved mentor teacher or content leader training that 
prepares individuals to earn a mentor teacher ancillary 
certificate or a content leader ancillary certificate in 
accordance with LAC 28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746), providers 
must follow the process detailed in Chapter 3 of this Part. 
For continued state approval, providers must demonstrate 
that training participants are earning effective ratings on the 
Louisiana mentor teacher assessment series or the Louisiana 
content leader assessment series. 

F. Provider Effectiveness. By no later than December 1, 
2019, and biannually thereafter, the LDE will review and 
report to BESE effectiveness data of each approved provider 
offering mentor teacher or content leader training. 
Effectiveness data will include Louisiana mentor teacher 
assessment series or Louisiana content leader assessment 
series passage rates and may include additional information. 
Based upon these results, BESE may require an 
improvement plan or may discontinue the provider’s ability 
to recommend candidates for mentor teacher or content 
leader certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10), 17:7(6), and 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:754 (April 2010), 
amended LR 37:565 (February 2011), LR 43:2488 (December 
2017), LR 45:229 (February 2019). 

Chapter 7. Louisiana State Standards for Educator 

Preparation Programs 

Subchapter C. Teacher Preparation Programs 

§743. Minimum Requirements for Traditional Teacher 

Preparation Programs 

A. - C.1. … 
2. a one-year residency shall take place in a public or 

approved non-public school classroom in the certification 
area with a teacher of record who holds a valid level 1, 2, 3, 
type A, or type B teaching certificate in the area for which 
the candidate is pursuing certification in accordance with 
LAC 28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746). Beginning September 1, 
2020, the teacher of record shall be required to hold a 
provisional mentor teacher ancillary certificate or a mentor 
teacher ancillary certificate in accordance with LAC 
28:CXXXI (Bulletin 746). The residency may include 
practice with other teachers in a public or approved non-
public school setting. Residents placed in charter schools 
must be placed with a teacher of record who has 
demonstrated effectiveness in accordance with LAC 
28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130): 

C.2.a. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1330 (July 2017), 
amended LR 43:2492 (December 2017), LR 45:229 (February 
2019). 

Subchapter D. Alternate Educational Leader 

Preparation Programs 

§747. Educational Leader Practitioner (Residency) 

Program 

A. State-approved non-university providers and 
Louisiana colleges or universities may choose to offer an 
educational leader practitioner (residency) program for 
certifying successful candidates for educational leader, level 
1 certification. (Two additional alternate paths are available 
to individuals seeking an educational leader certificate level 
1; see LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapter 7 (Bulletin 746), for paths 1 
and 2.) Educational leader practitioner program providers 
must submit a program proposal to the Louisiana 
Department of Education. Programs will be reviewed for 
adherence to program requirements, and may be 
recommended to BESE for approval status. 

1. - 4.b.iii. … 
 iv. A minimum of 45 contact hours (or 3 credit 
hours) may be earned through service as a mentor teacher or 
content leader in accordance with LAC 28:CXXXI (Bulletin 
746), during the first or second session. 

5. - 10. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 43:1333 (July 2017), 
amended LR 45:229 (February 2019). 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Initial Teacher Certification 

Subchapter B. Testing Required for Certification 

§203. Certification Exams and Scores 

[Formerly §243] 

A. - D. … 

* * * 
E. Administrative and Instructional Support Areas 
 

Certification 

Area Name of Test 

Area Test 

Score 

Mentor Teacher 

Louisiana Mentor Teacher Assessment 
Series—Elementary 

6 

Louisiana Mentor Teacher Assessment 
Series—Secondary ELA 

4 
Louisiana Mentor Teacher Assessment 

Series—Secondary Math 

Louisiana Mentor Teacher Assessment 
Series—Universal 

Content Leader 
Louisiana Content Leader Assessment 

Series 
5 

* * * 

All Praxis scores used for certification must be sent directly 
from ETS to the state Department of Education electronically, 
or the original Praxis score report from ETS must be 
submitted with the candidate’s application. The mentor 
teacher certificate may be earned by passing one of the cohort-
specific Louisiana mentor teacher assessment series tests. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011), repromulgated LR 37:556 
(February 2011), amended LR 37:3210 (November 2011), LR 
39:1461 (June 2013), LR 40:277 (February 2014), LR 40:1680 
(September 2014), LR 41:645 (April 2015), LR 41:916 (May 
2015), LR 42:233 (February 2016), LR 43:1292 (July 2017), LR 
44:264 (February 2018), LR 45:230 (February 2019). 

Subchapter H. Other Certification Area Competencies 

§240. Educational Leader Practitioner (Residency) 

Program 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:818 (May 2007), 
amended LR 38:42 (January 2012), amended LR 38:765 (March 
2012), LR 39:1461 (June 2013), repealed LR 45:230 (February 
2019). 

Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 

Certifications 

Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 

§341. Introduction 

A. Types of Ancillary Certificates 
1. Ancillary certificates are issued by the LDE for 

individuals who provide teaching, support, administrative, or 
supervisory services to children in pre-kindergarten through 
twelfth grade schools and early learning centers serving 
children from birth to five years old. 

a. See Chapter 4 of this Part regarding ancillary 
certificates issued for individuals who provide support 
services in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade schools 
and early learning centers serving children from birth to five 
years old. 

b. See Chapter 7 of this Part regarding ancillary 
certificates issued for individuals who provide 
administrative and supervisory services in pre-kindergarten 
through twelfth grade schools. 

2. Types of ancillary teaching certificates are as 
follows: 

a. ancillary artist or talented; 
b. early childhood ancillary; 
c. nonpublic Montessori teacher; 
d. family and consumer sciences (occupational 

programs); 
e. Junior Reserve Officers Training Corps (JROTC) 

instructor; 
f. math for professionals; 
g. mentor teacher ancillary; and 
h. content leader ancillary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006), 
amended LR 41:917 (May 2015), LR 45:230 (February 2019). 

§350. Mentor Teacher Ancillary Certificate 

A. Beginning September 1, 2020, the mentor teacher 
ancillary certificate will be required for individuals who 
serve as a mentor of undergraduate or post-baccalaureate 
teacher residents. 

B. Provisional Certification. Individuals serving as 
mentors who have not successfully completed a BESE-
approved mentor training program will be issued a 
nonrenewable provisional mentor teacher ancillary 
certificate, which is valid for one calendar year from the date 
of issuance while the holder completes a BESE-approved 
mentor training program. 

1. Eligibility requirements for the provisional mentor 
teacher ancillary certificate are as follows. A teacher must: 

a.i. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 1 
or higher Louisiana teaching certificate; or 
 ii. have at least two years of successful teaching 
in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 
17:3902, if teaching in a charter school without a valid type 
C, level 1 or higher certificate; and 

b. enroll in a BESE-approved mentor training 
program. 

C. Certification. Individuals who have completed a 
BESE-approved mentor teacher training program and have a 
passing score on the Louisiana mentor teacher assessment 
series will be issued a mentor teacher ancillary certificate. 

1. Eligibility requirements for the mentor teacher 
ancillary certificate are as follows. A teacher must: 

a.i. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 1 
or higher Louisiana teaching certificate; or 
 ii. have at least two years of successful teaching, 
in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 
17:3902, if teaching in a charter school; 

b. successfully complete a BESE-approved mentor 
teacher training program; and 
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c. have a passing score on the Louisiana mentor 
teacher assessment series. 

2. Individuals who successfully completes LDE 
mentor teacher training from November 1, 2017 through 
July 31, 2020, are eligible for the mentor teacher ancillary 
certificate after passing the Louisiana mentor teacher 
assessment series. 

3. Individuals who hold National Board certification 
are eligible for mentor teacher ancillary certification after 
passing the coaching-related components of the Louisiana 
mentor teacher assessment series. 

4. On September 1, 2023, the mentor teacher ancillary 
certificate will replace the supervisor of student teaching 
certificate. Individuals who were issued the supervisor of 
student teaching certificate on or before December 31, 2018, 
may serve as a mentor until August 31, 2023. 

D. Certification Issuance. The LDE will begin issuing 
mentor teacher ancillary certificates no later than July 1, 
2019. 

E. Renewal Guidelines. Mentor teacher ancillary 
certificates are valid for five years and may be renewed at 
the request of the employing authority. 

1. A request from an employing authority to renew a 
level 1, 2, or 3 certificate shall also serve as the request to 
renew the mentor teacher ancillary certificate. 

2. Teachers in charter schools who do not hold a level 
1, 2, or 3 certificate must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the five-year 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902 in order to renew the 
mentor teacher ancillary certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:230 (February 2019). 

§351. Content Leader Ancillary Certificate (Optional) 

A. The content leader ancillary certificate is an optional 
certificate that districts may require. 

1. Eligibility requirements for the content leader 
ancillary certificate include that the candidate must: 

a.i. hold, or be eligible to hold, a valid type C, level 
1, or higher Louisiana teaching certificate; or 
 ii. have at least two years of successful teaching 
in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130) and R.S. 
17:3902, if teaching in a charter school without a valid type 
C, level 1 or higher certificate; 

b. successfully complete a BESE-approved content 
leader training program; and 

c. have a passing score on the Louisiana content 
leader assessment series (see §203 of this Part). 

2. Individuals who have successfully completed LDE 
content leader training from November 1, 2017 through July 
31, 2020, in accordance with Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, 
are eligible for content leader ancillary certification. 

B. The LDE will begin issuing content leader ancillary 
certificates to candidates no later than July 1, 2019. 

C. Renewal Guidelines. The content leader ancillary 
certificate is valid for a period of five years and may be 
renewed at the request of the employing authority. 

1. A request from an employing authority to renew a 
level 1, 2, or 3 certificate shall also serve as the request to 
renew the content leader ancillary certificate. 

2. Teachers in charter schools who do not hold a level 
1, 2, or 3 certificate must successfully meet the standards of 
effectiveness for at least three years during the five-year 
renewal period in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII 
(Bulletin 130) and R.S. 17:3902. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:231 (February 2019). 

Chapter 7. Administrative and Supervisory 

Credentials 

Subchapter A. The Educational Leadership Certificate 

§703. Introduction 

A. The educational leadership certification structure 
provides for four levels of leader certification: teacher 
leader; educational leader level 1; educational leader level 2; 
and educational leader level 3. The teacher leader certificate 
is an option for a teacher to be identified as a teacher leader; 
it is not a state required credential for a specific 
administrative position. The educational leader level 1 
certificate is an entry-level certificate for individuals seeking 
to qualify for school and/or district leadership positions (e.g., 
assistant principals, principals, parish or city supervisors of 
instruction, supervisors of child welfare and attendance, 
special education supervisors, or comparable school/district 
leader positions). An individual moves from a level 1 to a 
level 2 certificate after successfully meeting standards of 
effectiveness for three years pursuant to Bulletin 130 and 
R.S. 17:3902, and completing the required years of 
experience. The level 3 certificate qualifies an individual for 
employment as a district superintendent. 

1. Teacher Leader. The teacher leader certificate is an 
option for a teacher to be identified as a teacher leader, and it 
is not a state-required credential for a specific administrative 
position. 

2. Educational Leader, Level 2. An individual 
qualifies to upgrade from an educational leader, level 1 to an 
educational leader, level 2 certificate by: 

a. successfully meeting standards of effectiveness 
for three years in accordance with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 
130) and R.S. 17:3902; and 

b. completing the required years of experience. 
3. Educational Leader, Level 3. The educational 

leader, level 3 certificate qualifies an individual for 
employment as a district superintendent. 

B. Educational leadership preparation programs and 
induction programs must be aligned with state and national 
standards in accordance with LAC 28:CXXXVII.301 
(Bulletin 125). 

1. - 3. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, 17:411, and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:819 (May 2007), LR 38:42 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 45:231 
(February 2019). 

§705. Educational Leader, Level 1 (EDL 1) Certificate 

A. The EDL 1 certificate is needed for school and district 
educational leadership positions (e.g., assistant principal, 
principal, parish or city supervisor of instruction, supervisor 
of child welfare and attendance, special education 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 232 

supervisor, or comparable school/district leader positions). 
The certificate is issued upon the request of the LEA once 
the individual is hired to serve as an educational leader. An 
EDL 1 certificate may be obtained through either a master's 
degree pathway or through one of three alternate pathways. 

1. - 1.a. … 
b. complete a competency-based graduate degree 

preparation program in the area of educational leadership 
from a regionally accredited institution of higher education, 
which may be inclusive of BESE-approved mentor teacher 
or content leader training; and 

1.c. - 2.b. … 
c. meet competency-based requirements, as 

demonstrated by completion of an individualized program of 
educational leadership from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education. An individualized program 
will be developed based on a screening of candidate 
competencies upon entering into a graduate alternative 
certification program. Service as a mentor teacher, content 
leader, or BESE-approved mentor teacher or content leader 
training may fulfill a maximum of 40 percent of an 
individualized program; and 

2.d. - 3.b. ... 
c. provide documented evidence of leadership 

experiences (240 clock hours or more) at the school and/or 
district level, including service as a mentor teacher or 
content leader (up to 100 clock hours); and 

3.d. - 4.b. ... 
c. complete a competency-based educational leader 

practitioner/residency preparation program in the area of 
educational leadership from a non-university provider or a 
regionally-accredited institution of higher education. Service 
as a mentor teacher, content leader, or BESE-approved 
mentor teacher or content leader training may fulfill a 
maximum of 40 percent of the competency-based program; 
and 

4.d. - 6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:10, R.S. 17:22(6), 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:819 (May 2007), LR 38:43 (January 2012), LR 
38:3138 (December 2012), LR 39:1465 (June 2013), LR 43:1313 
(July 2017), LR 45:231 (February 2019). 

§713. Educational Leader Certification 

Implementation Timeline 

A. By the spring of 2019, the LDE will: 
1. develop and recommend to BESE the adoption of a 

Louisiana leadership assessment series (LLAS) that serves 
as an alternative to the Praxis school leaders licensure 
assessment (SLLA) and that will be inclusive of assessment 
components from the Louisiana mentor teacher assessment 
series and the Louisiana content leader assessment series; 

2. pilot and study the LLAS in the winter of 2019, to 
ensure suitability for its use as a required assessment for the 
educational leader level 1 certification: 

a. candidates for the educational leader, level 1 
certification who earn a passing score on the LLAS during 
the pilot phase will be eligible for the educational leader, 
level 1 certificate, provided that the candidate has met all 
other requirements for the master's degree pathway or one of 
three alternate pathways; and 

3. review and report on the efficacy of the assessment, 
including, but not limited to, the passage rates and the 
number of educational leader, level 1 certificates issued. 

B. Beginning in the spring of 2019, the LDE will begin 
issuing: 

1. mentor teacher ancillary certificates upon 
successful completion of the Louisiana mentor teacher 
assessment series in accordance with §350 of this Part; and 

2. content leader ancillary certificates upon successful 
completion of the Louisiana content leader assessment series 
in accordance with §351 of this Part. 

D. Prior to September 1, 2019, the LDE will: 
1. review Chapters 3 and 7 of this Part; and 
2. recommend revisions to BESE as necessary and 

based on findings from a learning phase. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 and R.S 17:3886. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 45:232 (February 2019). 

Subchapter D. Educational Leadership Title 

Equivalencies 

§761. Title Equivalencies 

A. Certification Endorsement and Licensure Structure 
 

Educational Leadership Title Equivalencies 

Administrative 

Guidelines per 

Bulletin 741 

Certification 

Endorsement Prior to 

Educational Leader 

Licensure Structure 

Certification under 

Educational Leader 

Licensure Structure 
* * * 

Child Welfare 
and Attendance 
Supervisor 

Supervisor of Child 
Welfare and Attendance 
and/or Visiting Teacher 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

Principal or 
Assistant Principal 

Provisional Elementary 
Principal 
Elementary Principal 
Provisional Secondary 
Principal 
Secondary Principal 
Provisional Principal 
Principal 
Combination School 
Principal 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

Supervisor Parish/City Supervisor of 
Instruction 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006), 
amended LR 45:232 (February 2019). 

Subchapter E. All Other Supervisory Endorsements 

§787. Supervisor of Student Teaching Certificate 

A. - B.4. ... 
C. On September 1, 2023 the mentor teacher ancillary 

certificate will replace the supervisor of student teaching 
certificate. Educators who were issued a supervisor of 
student teaching certificate on or before December 31, 2018, 
may serve as a mentor teacher until August 31, 2023. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:2136 (July 2011), LR 45:232 (February 2019). 

Chapter 10. Definitions 

§1001. Terms 

* * * 
Content Leader—a teacher who is responsible for delivery 

of professional development aligned with state academic 
standards. The content leader is formally certified and has 
the knowledge, skills, and resources to provide high-quality, 
content-rich, and curriculum-specific professional 
development to yearlong residents, new teachers, and/or 
developing teachers in need of instructional support. 

Content Leader Ancillary Certificate—a type of certificate 
that authorizes an individual to serve as a school- or district-
based instructional expert who is responsible for delivery of 
professional development that is aligned with state content 
standards found throughout the Louisiana Administrative 
Code, Title 28, Education. 

* * * 
Mentor Teacher—a teacher who supports aspiring 

teachers participating in undergraduate and post-
baccalaureate residencies or experienced teachers. Mentor 
teachers use a cycle of coaching focused on instructional 
decisions that meet the needs of all students. Mentors may 
co-teach with yearlong residents or may support teachers 
without co-teaching. Mentors may also support new teachers 
or developing teachers in need of coaching, including 
teachers with an intensive assistance plan, in accordance 
with LAC 28:CXLVII (Bulletin 130). 

Mentor Teacher Ancillary Certificate—a type of 
certificate that authorizes an individual to serve as a mentor 
for undergraduate or post-baccalaureate teacher residents. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:560 (February 2011), LR 43:1314 (July 2017), LR 
45:233 (February 2019). 

Part CXXXVII.  Bulletin 125—Standards for 

Educational Leaders in Louisiana 

Chapter 3. Professional Standards 

§301. Professional Standards for Educational Leaders 

A. The state Department of Education has adopted the 
National Policy Board for Educational Administration's 
Professional Standards for Educational Leaders (PSEL), 
2015 edition, as standards for educational leaders, which 
aligns to the Louisiana state standards for educational 
leaders as defined by performance expectations 1-6 outlined 
in this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17 
and 17:6(A)(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:1335 (July 2007), 
repromulgated LR 37:861 (March 2011), amended LR 45:233 
(February 2019). 

Part CXLVII.  Bulletin 130—Regulations for the 

Evaluation and Assessment of School Personnel 

Chapter 1. Overview 

§101. Guidelines of the Program 

A. In accordance with R.S. 17:391.2 et seq., and this 
Part, each LEA must develop a uniform system for the 

annual evaluation of certified and other professional 
personnel. 

B. The guidelines approved by BESE to strengthen local 
teacher evaluation programs include the components of 
effective teaching in §901 of this Part and the Performance 
Expectations and Indicators for Educational Leaders, 2008 
edition. 

C. The requirements referred to in Subsection B of this 
Section will form the basis for the local evaluation 
programs. 

D. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), 17:10.1, 17:391.10, 17:3881-3886, 17:3901-3904, and 
17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2250 (October 2010), 
amended LR 38:1214 (May 2012), LR 45:233 (February 2019). 

Chapter 3. Personnel Evaluation 

§307. Observation Tools 

A. LEAs must utilize an observation tool to conduct a 
qualitative assessment of teacher, content leader, mentor 
teacher, and administrator performance that is not based on 
measurements of growth in student learning and will 
represent 50 percent of all evaluations. 

B. - B.2. … 
3. Observation tools for content leader and mentor 

teacher evaluation shall align to the components of effective 
teaching in §901 of this Part and the Performance 
Expectations and Indicators for Educational Leaders, 2008 
edition, as well as the competencies for content leaders or 
mentor teachers in LAC 28:CXXXI.350 and 351. 

C. - D.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), 17:10.1, 17:391.10, 17:3881-3886, 17:3901-3904, and 
17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1216 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38:2360 (September 2012), LR 45:233 (February 
2019). 

§311. Evaluators 

A. - B. … 
1. Other designees, such as instructional coaches, 

content leaders, master teachers, and mentor teachers may 
conduct observations to help inform the evaluator 
assessment of teacher performance. These designees shall be 
recorded as additional observers within the accountability 
relationships register. 

C. - D.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

17:6(A)(10), 17:10.1, 17:391.10, 17:3881-3886, 17:3901-3904, and 
17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1217 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38:2360 (September 2012), LR 45:233 (February 
2019). 

§325. Extenuating Circumstances 

A. - C. … 
D. In the event that a yearlong resident has substantially 

negatively impacted student learning in the mentor teacher 
classroom, the district superintendent or CEO may submit a 
written request to the state superintendent for invalidation of 
student achievement growth data with relation to the value-
added assessment model, in accordance with processes and 
timelines set forth by the LDE. 
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E. In cases where value-added data is invalidated, the 
principal or designee will have the discretion to determine 
the evaluation rating, based on the evidence available from 
students learning targets and observations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), 17:391.10, 17:3881-3886, 17:3901-3904, 17:3997, 
and 17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 38:1220 (May 2012), 
amended LR 38:2361 (September 2012), LR 39:1274 (May 2013), 
LR 40:761 (April 2014), LR 45:233 (February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#048 

 
RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Teaching Authorizations (LAC 28:CXXXI.906) 

Editor’s Note: Section 906 is being repromulgated to correct a 
manifest error typographical error. The original Rule may be 
viewed in its entirety on pages 2132-2137 of the December 20, 
2018 edition of the Louisiana Register. 

 
In accordance with R.S. 17:6 and 49:950 et seq., the 

Administrative Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education has amended Bulletin 741 

(Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School 

Administrators; Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators; Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of Personnel; Bulletin 126—Charter 

Schools; and Bulletin 745—Louisiana Teaching 

Authorizations of School Personnel. The revisions align state 
policy with Act 634 of the 2018 Regular Legislative Session. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 9. Actions Related to the Suspension/Denial 

and Revocation of Louisiana Certificates 

§906. Issuance of a Denied Certificate 

A. Issuance will never be considered for teachers who 
have been convicted of a felony for the following crimes: 

1. R.S. 14:283, 14:30, 14:30.1, 14:31, 14:32.6, 
14:32.7, 14:32.8, 14:41, 14:42, 14:42.1, 14:43, 14:43.1, 
14:43.1.1, 14:43.2, 14:43.3, 14:43.4, 14:43.5, 14:44, 14:44.1, 
14:45, 14:46.2, 14:46.3, 14:46.4, 14:78, 14:78.1, 14:80, 
14:80.1, 14:81, 14:81.1, 14:81.2, 14:81.3, 14.81.4, 14:82, 
14:82.1, 14:84, 14:86, 14:89, 14:89.1, 14.92, 14:93, 14:93.3, 
14:93.5, 14:106, 14:283, and 14:286. 

B. Issuance of certificates shall not be considered until at 
least five years have elapsed from the date of entry of final 
conviction or submission of fraudulent documentation, or 
the date of investigation results regarding the participation in 
cheating or professional license/certificate censure as noted 
in §905.B of this Chapter, which resulted in certification 
denial. 

C. - E.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), (11), and (15), 17:7(6), 17:10, 17:22(6), 17:391.1-
391.10, and 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:1999 (September 
2010), amended LR 38:763 (March 2012), LR 44:266 (February 
2018), LR 44:2133 (December 2018), repromulgated LR 45:234 
(February 2019). 

 
Shan N. Davis 
Executive Director 

1902#043 

 
RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division 

Closure Requirements for Surface Impoundments 
(LAC 33:VII.115 and 713)(SW064) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Solid Waste regulations, LAC 
33:VII.115 and 713.E (SW064). 

This Rule creates and defines risk-based closure standards 
for solid waste surface impoundments using the LDEQ Risk 
Evaluation/Corrective Action Program (RECAP). The 
definitions and rule changes allow for the closure of solid 
waste surface impoundments under RECAP equivalent to 
and in lieu of clean closure. This Rule also amends the 
definition of clean closure for solid waste surface 
impoundments. 

The basis and rationale for this Rule are pursuant to two 
rulemaking petitions from stakeholders. The current 
regulations only allow facilities to clean close 
impoundments or close with waste in place. This revision to 
the regulations allows facilities to close surface 
impoundments utilizing risk-based closure standards in 
accordance with RECAP.  

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 

Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 

§115. Definitions 

A. For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the 
terms defined in this Section shall have the following 
meanings, unless the context of use clearly indicates 
otherwise. 

* * * 
Clean Closure—the act of closing a solid waste unit or 

facility whereby all solid waste is removed, and the 
constituent of concern concentrations in soil and 
groundwater meet background conditions. 

* * * 
Risk-Based Closure—the act of closing a surface 

impoundment whereby solid waste is removed and managed 
as approved by the department, and the concentrations of the 
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constituents of concern in soil and groundwater comply with 
LAC 33:I.Chapter 13 (RECAP). 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended LR 22:279 
(April 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 23:1145 (September 1997), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2514, 2609 (November 2000), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1576 (July 2005), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
33:1019 (June 2007), LR 34:1023 (June 2008), LR 34:1399 (July 
2008), LR 37:1563 (June 2011), LR 37:3233 (November 2011), LR 
38:46 (January 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45:234 
(February 2019). 

Chapter 7. Solid Waste Standards 

Subchapter A. Landfills, Surface Impoundments, 

Landfarms 

§713. Standards Governing Surface Impoundments 

(Type I and II) 

A. - E.1.a. … 
b. an updated closure plan, if applicable; and 
c. … 

2. Preclosure Requirements. The following standards 
apply to preclosure requirements for any surface 
impoundments seeking closure. 

a. ... 
b. The runoff-diversion system shall be maintained 

and modified to prevent overflow from the facility to off-site 
areas. 

3. Closure Requirements. Surface impoundments may 
be closed pursuant to a clean-closure, risk-based closure, or 
closure with waste in place. 

a. For all closures, surface liquids and sludges 
containing free liquids shall be dewatered or removed from 
the surface impoundment. 

b. For a clean closure or risk-based closure, the 
closure plan shall reflect a method for determining that all 
waste has been removed and such a plan shall, at a 
minimum, include the following: 
 i. identification (waste analysis of total 
constituent concentrations; not toxicity characteristic 
leaching procedure (TCLP)) of the wastes that have been 
disposed of or managed in the surface impoundment; 
 ii. identification of the constituents of concern 
that are intrinsic to the wastes that have been disposed of or 
managed in the surface impoundment. Justification of the 
constituents of concern shall be provided in the closure plan; 
 iii. collection of soil and groundwater samples to:  

(a). establish site-specific background levels for 
the constituents of concern and to document that post-
excavation constituent of concern concentrations in 
groundwater and the bottom and side wall soils of the 
impoundment are consistent with background levels; or  

(b). documentation that the post-excavation 
constituent of concern concentrations in groundwater and the 
bottom and side wall soils of the impoundment are less than 
or equal to the applicable RECAP standards in accordance 
with LAC 33:I.Chapter 13. 

 iv. documentation regarding the sampling and 
testing methods (i.e., including a plan view of the facility, a 
diagram of sampling locations, and sampling quality-
assurance/quality control programs) shall be provided and 
the Office of Environmental Services shall be notified at 
least five days prior to any sampling event; 
 v. analyses to be sent to the Office of 
Environmental Services confirming that clean closure or 
risk-based closure has been achieved; 
 vi. identification of the facility to be used for the 
disposal of the excavated waste; and 
 vii. a statement from the permit holder indicating 
that, after the closure requirements have been met, the 
permit holder will file a request for a closure inspection with 
the Office of Environmental Services before backfilling 
takes place. The administrative authority shall determine 
whether the facility has been closed properly. 

c. Except as otherwise provided in Clause E.3.b of 
this Section, when determining what site investigation is 
required for clean closure or risk-based closure, the 
department shall consider existing data on the site and the 
surface impoundment in the department’s electronic 
document management system and shall not require 
duplication or redevelopment of that data.  

d. If concentrations of constituents of concern in 
soil and groundwater at the time of closure meet background 
or comply with LAC 33:I.Chapter 13, the requirements of 
Subsection F of this Section shall not apply. 
 i. For surface impoundments that achieve risk-
based closure for industrial/commercial land use and/or 
groundwater meeting the definition of Groundwater 
Classification 2 [where constituent concentrations in 
groundwater exceed the GW2 RECAP standard (without the 
application of a dilution and attuenuation factor) within the 
property boundaries], the permit holder shall comply with 
the conveyance notification requirements of LAC 
33:I.Chapter 13 within 90 days after the surface 
impoundment is closed. The conveyance notice shall be 
approved by the department prior to filing the notice in the 
records of the parish in which the property is located. Upon 
submittal of the conveyance notification and filing with the 
parish, the department will approve closure of the 
impoundment. 

e. If solid waste remains at the facility, a final cover 
shall be required that meets the following standards. 
 i. Final cover shall be a minimum of 24 inches of 
recompacted clay with a permeability of less than 1x10-7 
cm/sec overlain with an approved geomembrane covering 
the entire area. Areas that are steeper than 4:1 slope do not 
require geomembrane overlay. Final slopes shall not be less 
than four percent nor greater than 3(H):1(V). Alternative 
final slopes may be approved by the administrative authority. 
 ii. The Office of Environmental Services shall be 
notified after the final cover is applied. 
 iii. A minimum of 6 inches of topsoil shall be 
placed on top of the soil cover to support vegetative growth 
to prevent erosion. 
 iv. Other covers that satisfy the purposes of 
minimizing infiltration of precipitation, fire hazards, odors, 
vector food and harborage, as well as discouraging 
scavenging and limiting erosion, may be submitted for 
consideration and approval by administrative authority. 
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 v. Alternate final cover used in accordance with 
Clause E.3. e.iv of this Section must provide performance 
equivalent to or better than the final cover requirements in 
Clauses E.3. e.i and iii of this Section. 
 vi. The finished grade shall be sufficiently sloped 
for proper maintenance and drainage. 
 vii. All facilities with a potential for gas production 
or migration shall provide a gas collection/treatment or 
removal system. 

f. After a closure inspection and approval, the 
permit holder shall plant a ground cover to prevent erosion 
and to return the facility location to a more natural 
appearance. 

g. Surface impoundments shall be closed in a 
manner that minimizes the need for further maintenance and 
minimizes the post-closure release of leachate to 
groundwaters or surface waters to the extent necessary to 
protect human health and the environment. Quality-
assurance/quality-control procedures shall be developed and 
implemented to ensure that the final cover is designed, 
constructed, and installed properly. 

4. Upon determination by the administrative authority 
that a facility has completed closure in accordance with an 
approved plan, the administrative authority shall release the 
closure fund to the permit holder. The permit holder shall 
submit a request for the release of this fund to the Office of 
Management and Finance. 

F. Facility Post-Closure Requirements 
1. The following standards regarding post-closure 

requirements apply to surface impoundments closed with 
waste in place or surface impoundments that did not achieve 
clean closure or risk-based closure. 

a. Post-Closure Care Length 
 i. Facilities that receive solid waste on or after 
October 9, 1993, must remain in post-closure care for 30 
years after closure of the facility. 
 ii. Existing facilities that do not receive waste on 
or after October 9, 1993, must remain in post-closure care 
for three years after closure of the facility. 
 iii. However, if the facility received waste on or 
after October 9, 1991, the final cover must be maintained as 
specified in Subparagraph F.2.b of this Section for 30 years 
after closure. 

b. The post-closure care, except as otherwise 
specified above, must consist of at least the following: 
 i. maintaining the integrity and effectiveness of 
the final cover (including making repairs to the cover as 
necessary to correct the effects of settling, subsidence, 
erosion, or other events), preventing run-on and runoff from 
eroding or otherwise damaging the final cover; and 
providing annual reports to the Office of Environmental 
Services on the integrity of the final cap; 
 ii. maintaining and operating, if applicable, the 
leak-detection system; 
 iii. maintaining and operating the gas 
collection/treatment or removal system and the gas-
monitoring system; and 
 iv. maintaining the groundwater-monitoring 
system and monitoring the groundwater in accordance with 
LAC 33:VII.805. 

2. The post-closure period begins when the Office of 
Environmental Services approves closure. The length of the 
post-closure care period for surface impoundments may be: 

a. increased by the administrative authority if the 
administrative authority determines that the lengthened 
period is necessary to protect human health and the 
environment in accordance with LAC 33:I.Chapter 13; or 

b. decreased by the administrative authority if the 
permit holder demonstrates that the reduced period is 
sufficient to protect human health and the environment in 
accordance with LAC 33:I.Chapter 13 and this 
demonstration is approved by the administrative authority 
(Any demonstration must provide supporting data, including 
adequate groundwater monitoring data.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), repromulgated LR 
19:1316 (October 1993), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 24:2251 (December 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2524 (November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:704 (May 2001), 
amended LR 30:1676 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2025 (September 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2493 (October 2005), LR 33:1053 (June 2007), LR 33:2146 
(October 2007), LR 36:1241 (June 2010), LR 37:1564 (June 2011), 
LR 37:3250 (November 2011), repromulgated LR 37:3511 
(December 2011), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45:235 (February 
2019). 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

1902#052 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

Boxing and Wrestling Standards 
(LAC 46:XI.Chapters 1 and 3) 

The Louisiana State Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
does hereby exercise the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(b) and 49:967(D) to amend the 
following Rules. This Rule is necessary to promote the 
safety of contestants, other participants and spectators by 
updating medical and safety requirements, modernize 
language and reorganize the text for clarity and to introduce 
new definitions and sections to signify current national and 
international standards of modern ring sports.  

The commission will move the following rules, with 
amendments, to Chapter 1. General Rules: §305. Contestant, 
§311. Officials Weighing In, §313. Contestants Apparel and 
Physical Appearance, §319. Permissible Items in Corner, 
§323. Bell or Gong, §325. Physicians, §327. Timekeeper, 
§341. Seconds and §347. Presence in Dressing Room. 

The commission also repeals the following rules as 
obsolete, redundant or incorporated into existing or new
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rules: §103. Insulting or Abusive Remarks, §301. 
Commission Demands, §309. Recommended Weight 
Differences, §331. Announcer, §333. Manager, §335. 
Compensation of Officials and §345. Termination of Bouts. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XI.  Boxing and Wrestling 

Chapter 1. General Rules 
§101. Definitions 

A. The following words and phrases when used in this 
Subpart shall have the meanings given to them in this 
Section unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

B. No definition contained in this section shall be 
interpreted or construed or applied in a manner which is 
inconsistent with the definitions contained under R.S. 4:85. 

Amateur―any of the following: 
a. contests or exhibitions of armed or unarmed 

combat or any combination thereof conducted by or 
participated in exclusively by any state-accredited middle 
school or high school, college, or university, or by any 
association or organization of a school, college, or 
university, when each participant in the contests or 
exhibitions is a bona fide student in the state-accredited 
middle school or high school, college, or university; 

b. any boxing contest or exhibition if it is registered 
and sanctioned by United States Amateur Boxing, Inc., or 
Golden Gloves of America as an amateur boxing contest or 
exhibition; 

c. any contest or exhibition which specifically has 
been named by the commission as an amateur event. 

Boxing―the act of attack and defense with the fists, 
practiced as a sport.  

* * * 
Commission―the Boxing and Wrestling Commission 

for the state of Louisiana, as well as the commissioner in 
attendance at the event, an individual commissioner, deputy 
commissioner or Commission personnel where applicable. 

Commissioner in Attendance―this shall be the 
Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner or event coordinator 
who is in attendance at the event and who is primarily 
responsible not only for the supervision of the event, but the 
enforcement of the rules set forth herein as well as any 
statutory regulations. 

Contest―a boxing or mixed technique event in which 
contestants strive earnestly in good faith to win. 

Contestant—any participant in all sports under the 
jurisdiction of this commission including but not limited to 
boxing, wrestling, and mixed technique event. 

* * * 
Exhibition―as applied to boxing and MTE events, any 

event in which the participants show or display their skills 
without necessarily striving to win. As applied to 
professional wrestling events, bouts for entertainment 
purposes wherein there are no dangerous blows intended to 
be struck and the result of each bout is predetermined. As 
applied to mixed technique events, see §737 in Chapter 7, 
Mixed Technique Events herein. 

* * * 

Manager―a person who, directly or indirectly, controls 
or administers the affairs of any boxer, wrestler or MTE 
contestant. 

* * * 
Mixed Technique Event – contests in which contestants 

attack and defend with wrestling or grappling and with the 
fists and other parts of the human body including, but not 
limited to, the foot, knee, leg, elbow, or head, wherein 
dangerous blows are intended to be struck with full contact. 

Physician―a person possessing a doctor of medicine 
(allopathic/M.D.), doctor of osteopathy or doctor of 
osteopathic medicine degree (osteopathic/D.O.) or an 
equivalent degree duly awarded by a medical or osteopathic 
educational institution approved by the commission; such 
person shall have in their possession a permanent license in 
the State of Louisiana, or a person licensed in another State, 
who is recognized by the commission.  

* * * 
Professional―Repealed. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 
22:697 (August 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), 
LR 32:242 (February 2006), LR 45:237 (February 2019). 

§102. Annual License Fees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:65(B). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 35:53 (January 2009), repealed LR 45:236 
(February 2019). 

§103. Annual License Fees 

[Formerly §102] 

A. The following is a scale of fees for licensees. 
1. Wrestling and Mixed Technique Event 

Promoters―$250 
2. Boxing Promoters―$500 
3. Matchmakers―$250 
4. Referees―$25 
5. Managers―$25 
6. Announcers―$25 
7. Professional Boxing Contestants in Main 

Bouts―$25 
8. Seconds―$25 
9. Professional Wrestling Contestants―$25 
10. Other licenses $2511. Mixed Technique 

Exhibition Event Contestant―$0 
B. Each license or renewal thereof shall be in effect for a 

license year from January 1 of the year issued and expiring 
on the 31st day of December in the year of issuance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:65(B). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 35:53 (January 2009), LR 45:237 (February 
2019). 

§107. Use of Drugs 

A. No participant before entering a contest or exhibition, 
shall have taken or had administered to him any drug, 
narcotic, alcohol, stimulant, depressant, diuretic, IV fluids, 
androgenic steroids or analgesic of any description. See 
complete list of prohibited drugs in The World Anti-Doping 
Code’s Prohibited List, a copy of which can be found on 
Louisianaboxing.org. 

B. The physician in attendance, or the commission may 
on a case-by-case basis, allow exceptions to Subsection A.  

C. Anyone having knowledge of activity described in 
Subsection A shall immediately report this information to the 
commission.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 4:61(D) 
and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:238 (February 2019). 

§109. Concealment of Disability  

A. Any contestant, who conceals from a commission 
physician, commissioner or commission official any known 
disability shall, at the discretion of the commission, either 
forfeit his license or be suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:238 (February 2019). 

§111. Event Coordinator 

A. The commission may appoint an event coordinator for 
any event the commission deems necessary at a fee not to 
exceed $350 per event to be paid by the promoter of said 
event. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:79. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 36:757 (April 
2010), amended LR 45:238 (February 2019). 

§113. Financial Reports 

A. The financial report of boxing, wrestling and mixed 
technique event shows and other sanctioned events must 
include the number of complimentary tickets made available 
and those actually used, in addition to the other requirements 
prescribed by law. As per R.S. 4:68, each event promoter 
shall provide to the commission a gate receipt and tax report 
form or a certified ticket manifest and taxes due for the event 
within 24 hours of the event.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:238 (February 2019). 

§115. Medical Equipment Required 

A. There shall be an ambulance no further than 300 feet 
from the ring and duly licensed EMT's or paramedics with 
appropriate resuscitation equipment no further than 100 feet 
away from the ring at all times. EMT's will be paid directly 
by the promoters/producers of events with fees in 
accordance with LAC 46:XXXVIII, Professional and 
Occupational Standards: Emergency Medical Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D, R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:67. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 
2005), amended LR 45:238 (February 2019). 

§117. Medical Requirements 

[Formerly §108] 

A. Each contestant participating in any sport under this 
commission’s jurisdiction must furnish to the commission 
physician a certified medical certificate evidencing that the 
contestant has been tested for current 4th generation immuno 
assay for HIV, Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C and said test 
results are negative. Said tests and certificates shall be dated 
not more than six months prior to the scheduled event. Said 
certificate is to be presented at least five business days prior 
to any event to the commission with the only exception to be 
those allowed by the commission on a case by case basis to 
extend the time period for submission of the test results, or 
to require the test results be submitted earlier than five day 
prior. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D, R.S. 4:64, and R.S. 4:67 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 32:242 
(February 2006), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 34:1601 
(August 2008), LR 35:53 (January 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 36:756 
(April 2010), LR 36:992 (May 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1242 
(June 2010), LR 45:238 (February 2019). 

§121. Physical Examination of Contestants 

[Formerly 325] 

A. Each contestant must be examined prior to entering 
the ring by a commission physician. The physician shall 
certify in writing over his signature as to the contestant's 
physical condition to engage in such contest. The physician 
(and in the case of certain contracts two physicians) shall be 
in attendance during the contest, prepared to deal with any 
emergency which may arise. The physician shall file his 
report of examination with the commission. Blank forms of 
physician's reports may be obtained from the commission 
office. All questions must be answered in full. 

B. The examination given contestants must be as 
follows: temperature, pulse (sitting and standing), lungs, 
heart, blood pressure and urine analysis (when deemed 
necessary). 

C. No contestant shall be allowed to engage in any 
contest if one or more of the following conditions are found 
by the commission physician: 

1. any hernia, or bubonocele; 
2. organic heart murmurs; 
3. active pulmonary lesions; 
4. temperature over 100.8 degrees; 
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5. systolic pressure over 150; 
6. infectious skin lesions, such as boils or infected 

wounds; 
7. recent wounds, especially on face and ears; 
8. hand injuries and fractures less than six weeks old 

if in the doctor's opinion, the injury would be detrimental to 
his showing; 

9. use of illegal drugs, abuse of prescription 
medications, alcohol, stimulants, depressants or analgesics 
of any description except as permitted by §107, Use of 
Drugs; 

10. current 4th generation immuno assay for HIV, 
Hepatitis B and Hepatitis C positive test results. 

D. Female Contestants 
1. Medical examinations for female contestants will 

be the same as for male contestants however, the female 
contestant is subject to the following provisions: 

a. the commission may order a pelvic and breast 
exam by a gynecologist and any evidence of 
ovarian/uterine/pelvic or breast disease may result in 
disqualification; 

b. a pregnancy test shall be obtained the day before 
or day of the fight and the results submitted to the 
commission physician before weigh-in; and 

c. the commission physician may request a buccal 
smear if there is any doubt regarding the contestant's sex. 

2. Rounds for female contestants will be two-minute 
rounds for boxing, or time limits set for championship bouts, 
up to three minute rounds for MTE exhibition contestants 
and up to five minute rounds for professional MTE 
participants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 36:757 (April 2010), LR 45:238 (February 2019). 

§123. Ringside Physicians  

A. … 
B. The ringside physician may advise the referee to 

terminate any contest or exhibition at any time if in the 
opinion of such physician the health or well-being of any 
participant would be significantly jeopardized by the 
continuation of the contest or exhibition. In the event of any 
serious physical injury, such physician shall immediately 
render any emergency treatment necessary, recommend 
further treatment or hospitalization if required, and fully 
report the entire matter to the commission within 24 hours, 
and thereafter, as required by the commission. Such 
physician may also require that the injured participant and 
his or her manager remain in the ring or on the premises or 
report to a hospital after the contest for such period of time 
as such physician deems advisable. 

C. … 
D. Per R.S. 4:70, the services of the physician shall be 

secured and paid for by the promoter. It shall be the 
responsibility of promoter to secure the attendance of the 
physician at the event and the commission shall approve the 
physician and appoint him to service the event. 

E. Each physician approved by the commission shall 
execute a contract with the LSBWC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:70. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and 
Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), amended LR 
36:757 (April 2010), LR 45:239 (February 2019). 

§125. Health Insurance 

[Formerly §108.B] 

A. The promoter shall provide insurance and pay all 
deductibles for contestants to cover medical, surgical, and 
hospital care with a minimum limit of $20,000 for injuries 
sustained while participating in a contest and $50,000 to a 
contestant’s estate if he dies of injuries suffered while 
participating in a contest. At least 10 calendar days before an 
event the promoter shall provide to the commission for each 
event to be conducted, a certificate of insurance showing 
proper coverage. The promoter shall supply to those 
participating in the event the proper information for filing a 
medical claim. The promoter must keep records proving the 
proper insurance information was filed with contestant 
and/or medical facility; if promoter fails to provide proof 
that contestant and/or medical facility has received the 
insurance information, promoter will bear the burden of 
paying all costs associated with medical treatment of injured 
party.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D, R.S. 4:64, and R.S. 4:67 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 32:242 
(February 2006), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 34:1601 
(August 2008), LR 35:53 (January 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 36:756 
(April 2010), LR 36:992 (May 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1242 
(June 2010), LR 45:239 (February 2019). 

§126. Medical Suspensions  

[Formerly §108.C] 

A. The commission hereby finds that injuries sustained 
in the ring by contestants are, pursuant to R.S. 49:961.C, a 
danger to the public health and injured participants are 
thereby subject to immediate medical suspension as set forth 
below.  

1. A contestant losing by way of a technical knockout 
(TKO) resulting from head blows may shall receive a 
medical suspension of a minimum of 30 days; and may not 
participate in any sparring for a minimum of 30 days. A 
contestant losing by way of a knock out (KO) shall receive a 
medical suspension of a minimum of 60 days and may not 
participate in any sparring for a minimum period of 60 days. 
At the discretion of the physician, longer suspension periods 
may be issued for either the TKO or KO. 

2. A ringside physician may issue a medical 
suspension any time he/she believes it to be in the best 
interest for the safety of a contestant (i.e., high blood 
pressure at pre-fight physical). In any/all cases, the decision 
by the physician to issue or extend a suspension is final. 

3. The commission may deny a contestant a license if 
their license to participate or compete has been denied, 
refused or disciplined for a medical condition by another 
state, tribal athletic commission, territory, federal agency or 
country.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D, R.S. 4:64, and R.S. 4:67 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 32:242 
(February 2006), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 34:1601 
(August 2008), LR 35:53 (January 2009), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 36:756 
(April 2010), LR 36:992 (May 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1242 
(June 2010), LR 45:239 (February 2019). 

§129. Tickets and Sale of Tickets 

A. - B. … 
C. Under no circumstances shall a ticket holder be 

passed through the gate without having the ticket separated 
from the stub, or be allowed to occupy a seat unless in 
possession of the ticket stub.  

D. The commission may approve the use of roll tickets. 
No advance sale of roll tickets shall be permitted. Each roll 
must be numbered and priced according to the color of the 
roll. The commission or representative of the commission 
must be informed of the price of the tickets before they can 
be sold. The starting ticket number of each roll must be 
recorded by the commission or the commission 
representative. 

E. Promoters shall provide complimentary tickets or 
official passes to the commission for seating in the safety 
zone. If necessary, 30 complimentary tickets or passes will 
be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:73. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and 
Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2004 (August 2005), LR 45:240 
(February 2019). 

§133. Official Weighing In  

[Formerly §311] 

A. Contestants shall be weighed within 24 hours of the 
scheduled match, at a time and place designated by the 
commission. 

B. Each contestant may be weighed in the presence of 
the public, the other contestant, a representative of the 
commission and an official representing the promoter, on 
scales approved by the commission. 

C. A contestant must have all weights stripped from his 
body before he is weighed in, but may wear shorts. 

D. This section shall not apply to wrestling events. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:236 (February 2019). 

§135. Permits  

[Formerly §117] 

A. Any promoter who wishes to reserve a specific date 
for a show shall submit the reservation of show date form 
and the sum of $250. 

B. No date shall be reserved until the $250 show date fee 
is received by the Commission. 

C. No more than two show dates may be reserved per 
promoter at one time. 

D. The $250 show date fee is non-refundable and no 
portion of this fee shall be applied to satisfy any official’s 
fees or tax liability or any other sum owed by the promoter 
to the Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 31:2003 (August 2005), LR 45:240 (February 
2019). 

§137. Event Approval  

[Formerly §125] 

A. Before any event will be considered by the 
Commission, the Promoter must comply with the provisions 
under §135, Permits herein. 

B. Major Event 
1. A member of the Louisiana Boxing and Wrestling 

Commission, including the chairman, may not legally and/or 
officially authorize and/or give approval to any television 
network, corporation, limited liability company, promoter, 
match-maker or any other entity, private or corporate, for 
any major event date and site selection, without the prior 
approval of a majority of the commission members voting in 
favor.  

2. Major Event in this rule means any boxing, MTE or 
wrestling (WWE, WWF, etc.) contests that the state of 
Louisiana authorizes this commission to sanction. Minor 
local wrestling shows may be excluded from this rule. 
(Local area commissioners should coordinate these shows 
through the deputy commissioners and chairman, once they 
are made aware of such events.) 

3. Once a commissioner is contacted by a promoter 
regarding a major event, he must advise the promoter that a 
typewritten request on official letterhead must be submitted 
to the chairman by mail or facsimile. In the request 
disclosure must be made regarding the venue (television 
contracts, promoter, matchmaker, number of bouts, bout 
contracts, arena contracts, sanctioning bodies, ticket 
information, etc.) After date and site selection is approved, 
full disclosure of all venue information must be submitted no 
later than two weeks prior to the event. 

C. Once an official request is made, a quorum, according 
to state statute, must be attained to approve or reject such 
requests as per state open meeting laws. Emergency 
meetings will not be deemed necessary, if the time table is 
such, that the request may be discussed at an upcoming, 
regular scheduled commission meeting. Requests approved 
or rejected by quorum in the interim will be noted in the 
minutes of the next meeting of the commissioners. 

D. The commission may demand that all monies relative 
to any event sanctioned by the commission be placed in 
escrow in the commission treasury. Monies in this rule 
means fighters purses and ring officials (referees, 
timekeepers, inspectors, physicians, judges, etc.) expenses. 
All ring officials and their pay will be determined by the 
commission and will be communicated to the promoter. The 
promoter shall be responsible for and pay all fees of ring 
officials directly to the commission, and the ring officials 
will be paid by commission checks the same day or night 
before the start of the first bout. If the commission required 
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fighters' purses to be placed in escrow then the fighters also 
will be paid by commission checks, less any expenses due 
the commission. 

1. Ring officials (judges, referees, etc.) for all ring 
sports under the jurisdiction of this commission will be 
appointed and/or approved by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D and R.S.4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2004 (August 
2005), amended LR 36:757 (April 2010), LR 45:240 (February 
2019). 

§139. Advertising of Contests 

A. No promoter or other individual whether licensed by 
the commission or not shall advertise an event which has not 
been approved by the commission. 

B. No promoter or other individual whether licensed by 
the commission or not shall advertise a contestant(s) 
participation in their show unless and until a signed contract 
has been executed securing the contestant(s) participation for 
the date of the event. 

C. No promoter, manager or matchmaker or other 
individual whether licensed by the commission or not shall 
advertise their affiliation or, legal relationship with or ability 
to promote a contestant(s) unless and until a signed contract 
has been executed between that person and the contestant(s) 
securing the right advertised; 

D. No promoter or other individual whether licensed by 
the commission or not shall advertise using the photo, 
drawing, video or any other form of likeness of any 
individual to advertise their show without the express 
written consent of that individual; 

E. Any person advertising an amateur event shall ensure 
that all advertising concerning the event to be conducted 
indicates that it is an amateur event, and the word "amateur" 
must be a large as any other print on the advertisement on a 
written or printed advertisement and must be announced in 
any television or radio advertisements and is free from the 
use of the word “professional” 

F. Any person(s) who violates the provisions of this 
section are subject to immediate and summary denial or 
cancellation of their show date by the commission, and may 
be fined or suspended as determined by the commission, and 
or denial of license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:70. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 45:241 
(February 2019). 

§141. Unauthorized Matchmakers, Promoters, 

Managers [Formerly §133] 

A. Anyone licensed by or under the authority of the 
commission who utilizes or conducts any business regulated 
by this commission with unlicensed matchmakers, promoters 
or managers or anyone under suspension by this commission 
shall be subject to fines, suspension or the denial of licenses 
by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and 

Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2005 (August 2005), LR 45:241 
(February 2019). 

§143. Safety 

[Formerly §135] 

A. Licensed clubs shall take all necessary precautions 
looking toward safety, order and proper behavior. 

B. The commission will inspect all cages and rings prior 
to any events to ensure safety and stability. 

C. The commission shall have the right to request from 
the promoter or the club owner that security personnel be 
posted at various places designated by the commission in 
attendance, and, where appropriate may require that that 
additional security be provided by the promoter or club 
owner; and 

D. The commission is hereby authorized to delay, 
suspend or terminate any show where the commission in 
attendance, commissioner or commission representative 
reasonably believes the continuation of the show presents an 
immediate danger to the public, to the commission or its 
personnel or to the participants. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
repromulgated by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and 
Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2005 (August 2005), amended LR 
36:757 (April 2010), LR 45:241 (February 2019). 

§145. Safety Zone 

[Formerly §709] 

A. At each event, there shall be an area around the ring 
or cage extending no less than eight feet as measured from 
said ring or cage, which shall be partitioned at that distance 
of eight feet using ropes, fencing, police barriers, bicycle 
barriers or other emplacements from the public seating and 
said area shall be referred to as the "safety zone." 

1. No one may enter the safety zone unless authorized 
by the commission. 

2. All seating inside of the safety zone shall be 
authorized only by the commission in attendance; and 

3. Anyone entering the safety zone without the 
authority of the commission may be ejected from the event. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 
34:1603 (August 2008), LR 45:241 (February 2019). 

§147. Interference with the Commission  

A. No person attending any event supervised by the 
commission shall bother, harass, threaten or intimidate the 
commissioner in attendance or any commissioner or 
commission personnel. 

B. No person attending any event supervised by the 
commission shall interfere with the commissioner in 
attendance or any commissioner or commission personnel 
during the performance of their duties.  

C. Any person who violates this provision may at the 
discretion of the commissioner in attendance or any 
commissioner or commission personnel be ejected from the 
event. 

D. Any person licensed by the commission who violates 
this provision may at the discretion of the commission be 
suspended or fined.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:70. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission LR 45:241 
(February 2019). 

§149. Contestants Apparel and Physical Appearance  

[Formerly §313] 

A. Contestants must be in commission approved proper 
athletic attire, specifically for male fighters, including 
protection cup, which must be securely strapped to the body. 
The contestants in professional bouts agree to equip 
themselves with an abdominal guard of standard type 
approved by the commission. Female boxing contestants 
may also wear a breast protector. 

B. Each contestant must be clean and present a tidy 
appearance. The excessive use of grease or any other foreign 
substance may not be used on the face of a contestant. The 
referees or commission's representative in charge shall cause 
any excessive grease or foreign substance to be removed. 

C. The commission or representative shall determine 
whether head or facial hair presents any hazard to the safety 
of the contestant or his opponent or will interfere with the 
supervision and conduct of the contest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:242 (February 2019). 

§151. Contestant Age Limits 

[Formerly §305] 

A. No person under 18 years of age, excepting at the age 
of 16 with notarized consent by legal guardian or parent, 
shall be permitted to participate in any boxing, wrestling or 
mixed technique event contest sanctioned by this 
commission.  

B. A 16-year-old contestant shall be limited to four 
round fights. 

C. A 17 year old contestant shall be limited to six round 
fights. 

D. No person 40 years of age or over shall be permitted 
to participate in any boxing, or mixed technique event 
contest sanctioned by this commission except under the 
following circumstances: 

1. at their costs, complete the medical examinations, 
procedures or testing as prescribed below: 

a. a complete history and physical examination by a 
qualified physician; and: 

b. a dilated eye exam by a qualified 
ophthalmologist; 

c. a complete neurological examination by a 
qualified neurologist; 

d. a magnetic resonance imaging study to include 
angiographic analysis of the brain; 

e. an electrocardiogram; if in any way abnormal, 
then an exercise stress test and echocardiogram; 

f. a chest X-ray; 
g. a complete blood count; 
h. a comprehensive metabolic panel; 
i. a urinalysis; 

j. a urine drug screen; and  
k. the already required testing for all fighters, i.e. 

HIV and Hepatitis B and C testing; 
2. provide written confirmation from a duly licensed 

physician that he is in proper physical condition to compete 
in the contest proposed; 

3. at his costs, complete any future testing required by 
the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:242 (February 2019). 

§153. Contractual Agreements; Enforcement by the 

Commission  

A. Any contestant or manager for a contestant who has 
entered into a contract with any promoter to participate in a 
contest who finds that for any reason or cause the contestant 
will not be able to fully carry out his contract, and does not 
notify the promoter and the commission of his incapacity 
and the reason therefor, may be penalized by the commission 
by a suspension, fine or both.  

B. Any promoter who has entered into a contract with 
any contestant or manager of any contestant to participate in 
a contest and cancels the proposed match without the 
knowledge of the contestant, manager and commission, will 
be subject to a fine in the amount of the purse agreed upon 
for the match and may be suspended by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 45:242 
(February 2019). 

§155. Conduct in the Ring  

A. Ring girl contests, musical entertainment and other 
forms of amusement shall be conducted only during the 
intermission between the undercard and main event. All 
national anthems are excluded from this regulation. It shall 
be understood that all activities carried on within the ring 
before a match begins and after it is over shall be the sole 
responsibility of the promoter. Additionally, at no time 
during an event sanctioned by the commission shall there be 
music played that contains foul or offensive language, racial 
or ethnic slurs or sexually explicit content.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 45:242 
(February 2019). 

§157. Permissible Items in Contestant’s Corner 

[Formerly §319] 

A. A bucket, plastic water bottle, water, sponge, extra 
mouthpiece, q-tips, surgical gauze, ice bag, scissors and 
surgical tape may be available in each contestant corner at 
all times during the contest or exhibition. The only other 
material which may be present or used at ringside are 
vaseline, endswell, topical epinephrine 1:1000, avintine and 
thromblin. There shall be no Vaseline in MTE corner. The 
ring physician or commission's representative may at any 
time inspect the items found in the contestant’s corner. 
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B. A towel is permitted in the corner; however, no one 
shall throw any towel in the ring as a signal of defeat or for 
any other reason. 

C. There shall be no loose ice the corner. 
D. Surgical gloves are required to be worn by corner 

inspectors and referees. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:242 (February 2019). 

§159. Timekeepers and Corner Inspectors  

[Formerly §327] 

A. The timekeeper must be seated outside the ring close 
to the bell/horn. He shall indicate the beginning and ending 
of each round by striking the bell/horn. He shall provide 
himself a whistle and a stop watch, which shall have been 
properly examined and certified as to accuracy before the 
bout by a commissioner. Ten seconds before the beginning 
of each round the timekeeper shall give warnings to the 
seconds of contestant by blowing of the whistle. The 
timekeeper shall signal by striking a clapper to indicate 
when only 10 seconds remain in a round. 

B. One corner inspector must be in each corner. 
Contestant’s cornermen present will be approved and 
appointed by the commissioner in attendance to ensure 
adherence to rules and regulations, whose authority is 
recognized, and whose directions will be followed by all 
contestants and cornermen. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:243 (February 2019). 

§161. Presence in Dressing Rooms 

[Formerly §347] 

A. No one shall be allowed in the dressing rooms except 
manager, seconds, contestants or others authorized by 
commission representatives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:243 (February 2019). 

§163. Seconds 

[Formerly §341] 

A. Each second must have a current license from the 
commission before assisting a contestant in the ring. The 
chief second is responsible for the conduct of all seconds 
and violations of the commission's rules by any second may 
be punished by fine, suspensions or both. A manager of a 
contestant may act as chief second when holding a current 
license issued by the commission to act as a manager of a 
contestant. 

B. In all boxing bouts not more than three seconds shall 
attend or assist a contestant, only one second is allowed in 
the ring. When the timekeeper notifies the referee that the

round will begin in 10 seconds the referee shall order 
"seconds out." Seconds shall leave the ring promptly and 
clear it of corner equipment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D), R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:78. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:243 (February 2019). 

§165. Bell 

[Formerly §323] 

A. The promoter shall be responsible for providing a bell 
of sufficient size, that when struck by the timekeeper, to be 
clearly audible by participants, officials, and spectators. The 
bell shall be approved by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:243 (February 2019). 

Chapter 3. Professional Boxing 

§301. Commission Demands  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:243 (February 2019). 

§303. Amateur Boxing Associations 

A. … 
B. An amateur boxing contest or exhibition is governed 

by the rules adopted for amateur boxing contests or 
exhibitions by United States Amateur Boxing, Inc. The 
commission hereby adopts by reference those rules as they 
Amateur Boxing, Inc. A copy of those rules may be 
purchased from United States Amateur Boxing, Inc., One 
Olympic Plaza, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80909. If those 
rules do not cover a particular situation in an amateur boxing 
contest or exhibition, the provisions of this Chapter 
concerning unarmed combat and professional boxing 
contests or exhibitions apply. 

C. Despite the two forgoing sections, any person who 
competes in a boxing match without headgear is declared to 
be a professional boxer by the commission and will be 
treated as a professional under these rules and shall be 
licensed and promoted as a professional under this Chapter 
and under R.S. 4:61, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Economic Development, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 
34:1601 (August 2008), LR 45:243 (February 2019). 

§305. Limitations on Contestants 

A. The commission may require boxers to observe a 7-
day rest period after competing in an event. Day one of the 
rest period shall commence on the first day following the 
event. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 45:243 
(February 2019). 

§307. Weight Classes, Weight Differences, and Glove 

Weights 

A. No contest may be scheduled and no contestants may 
engage in a boxing contest without the approval of the 
commission or the commission's representative if the 
difference in weight between contestants exceed the 
allowance shown in the following schedule or if a glove’s 
weight is deemed to be insufficient in any manner. 
Regardless of the weights set forth below all female fighters 
shall use 10 oz. gloves, unless the bout is a championship 
event or the commission approves a different glove weight. 

 

Weight Class 

Weight Difference 

Allowance 

Glove 

Weight 

Mini Flyweight 
(up to and including 108 pounds) 

not more than 
3 pounds 8 oz. 

Flyweight 
(over 108 to 111 pounds) 

not more than 
3 pounds 8 oz. 

Bantamweights 
(over 112 to 118pounds) 

not more than 
3 pounds 8 oz. 

Featherweights 
(over 119 to 126 pounds) 

not more than 
3 pounds 8 oz. 

Jr. Lightweight 
(over 127 to 130 pounds) 

not more than 
4 pounds 8 oz. 

Lightweight 
(over 131 to 135 pounds) 

not more than 
5 pounds 8 oz. 

Jr. Welterweight 
(over 136 to 140 pounds) 

not more than 
5 pounds 8 oz. 

Welterweight 
(over 141 to 147 pounds) 

not more than 
7 pounds 8 oz. 

Jr. Middleweight 
(over 148 to 154 pounds) 

not more than 
7 pounds 10 oz. 

Middleweight 
(over 155 to 160 pounds) 

not more than 
7 pounds 10 oz. 

Super Middleweight 
(over 161 to 168 pounds) 

not more than 
7 pounds 10 oz. 

Light Heavyweight 
(over 169 to 175 pounds) 

not more than 
7 pounds 10 oz. 

Cruiserweight 
(over 176 to 190 pounds) 

not more than 
12 pounds 10 oz. 

Heavyweight 
(over 190 pounds) no limit 10 oz. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 36:757 (April 2010), LR 45:244 (February 2019). 

§309. Hand Wraps 

[Formerly §313.D] 

A. Bandages may not exceed one winding of surgeon's 
adhesive tape, over 1 1/2 inches wide, placed directly on the 
hand to protect the part of the hand near the wrists. The tape 
may cross the back of the hand twice but may not extend 
within 1 inch of the knuckles when the hand is clenched to 
make a fist. Each contestant shall use soft surgical bandage 
not over 2 inches wide held in place by not more than 6 feet 
of surgeon's adhesive tape for each hand. Up to 15 yards of 
bandage may be used to complete the wrappings for each 
hand. Strips of tape may be used between the fingers to hold 
down the bandages. Bandages must be applied in the 
dressing room in the presence of a representative of the 

commission. Either contestant or his representative may 
witness the bandaging of his opponent's hands. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:244 (February 2019). 

§311. Judges and Referees  

[Formerly §315] 

A. Referees 
1. The commission is authorized to grant referee 

licenses to a competent officials upon application and 
investigation. 

2. A licensed referee must be in attendance at every 
exhibition and shall work in such bouts as directed by the 
commission. The referee, subject to the approval of the 
commission, has the power in his discretion to declare 
forfeited all or any part of the purse of any contestant who, 
in the referee’s judgment, is not contesting in good faith. 

3. Before starting each bout the referee shall ascertain 
the name of the chief second in each corner and shall hold 
the chief second responsible for all conduct in the corner. 

4. No licensed referee or other club official shall act 
as a promoter for an organization or as a manager for any 
contestant. The referee or referees are to be appointed by the 
commission and the commission must approve their 
compensation in advance. The referee is charged with the 
enforcement of all rules and regulations of the commission 
which apply to the execution of performance and the 
conduct of boxers in the ring. 

5. Before the start of each bout the referee shall call 
the contestants together for final instructions, at which time 
each contestant shall be accompanied by his chief second 
only, except in the case of a boxer who also requires the 
services of an interpreter. After receiving the referee's 
instructions, the boxers shall shake hands and return to their 
corners to await the gong for the first round. 

B. Judges 
1. The commission shall appoint three judges to 

officiate at each contest or exhibition, except exhibitions 
conducted solely for training or instruction purposes. 

2. Judges shall be stationed at separate sides of the 
ring as directed by the commission and shall observe 
carefully and expertly the performance of the contestants in 
each contest or exhibition to which they are appointed; to 
appraise each such contest or exhibition fairly and accurately 
in the light of these rules and the generally recognized rules 
of boxing; to inscribe the results of such appraisal after each 
round on the commission scorecard according to the scoring 
system adopted by the commission; and to deliver said score 
cards to the referee or to such other official as designated by 
the commission. 

C. The referee is the sole arbiter of a bout and is the only 
individual authorized to stop a contest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D. R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:79. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
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Commission, LR 31:2005 (August 2005), LR 45:244 (February 
2019). 

§317. Bout Judging and Procedures  
A. Scoring 

1. All boxing contests and exhibitions shall be scored 
by three judges. Judges shall score all contests and 
determine the winner through the use of 10 point must 
system. In this system the winner of each round receives 10 
points and the opponent a proportionately less number. If the 
round is even, each boxer receives 10 points. No fraction of 
points may be given. In each round judges shall score on 4 
factors in the following order: 

B. Knockdown 
1. A contestant shall be deemed "down" when: 

a. clean hits;  
b. effective aggressiveness; 
c. defense; 
d. ring generalship. 

2. In the event a boxer has been knocked down, the 
referee shall order the boxer’s opponent to the farthest 
neutral corner, and the opponent shall remain there. Should 
the opponent refuse to do so, or leave the farthest neutral 
corner, the referee may stop counting. Upon compliance by 
the opponent, however, the referee shall continue counting 
where he left off. 

3. After having been knocked down, the fighter must 
get up unassisted within 10 seconds. The referee shall count 
off the seconds. If the contestant attempts to get up, and goes 
back down, the count shall be continued by the referee 
where he left off. If the contestant fails to get to his feet by 
the count of 10 the referee shall declare a knockout and the 
contest will end. In every round including the last round of a 
bout, should a boxer be down at the time the bell rings 
ending the round, the count shall continue until the boxer 
gets up or is counted out. 

C. Boxer out of the Ring 
1. If a contestant, who has fallen out of the ring during 

a contest, fails to return immediately, the referee shall count 
him out as if he were "down" allowing 20 seconds. 

2. Should a contestant leave the ring during the one-
minute period between rounds, and fail to be in the ring 
when gong rings to resume boxing, the referee shall declare 
his opponent the winner. 

D. Answering the Bell  
1. Should a contestant finish any one round of a 

contest and fail to answer the bell for the succeeding round 
for any one of numerous reasons, such as cuts, injuries or 
admission of overwhelming superiority, the proper 
termination of the bout is by a technical knockout in the 
round for which he fails to answer the bell. For instance, 
both contestants have finished Round 6. One of them fails to 
answer the bell for Round 7, or indicates to the referee that 
he will not answer the bell. It is a "TKO-7."  

E. There is no standing eight count. 
F. There is no three knockdown rule. 
G. When a boxer loses his mouthpiece, the referee shall 

call time as soon as possible and instruct such boxer's 
seconds to promptly wash or replace such boxer's 
mouthpiece and re-install same. If a referee determines that a 
boxer has deliberately spit out his mouthpiece for any 
reason, the referee shall issue a warning for the first such

infraction and instruct the judges at the end of the round 
following a second such infraction to deduct one point from 
their scores for such boxer for that round. A boxer may be 
disqualified for deliberately spitting out his mouthpiece for 
the third time in any one round and his opponent declared 
the winner. 

H. At the end of each round, each judge shall mark his or 
her scorecard in ink or indelible pencil with the score of each 
boxer in such round, and shall deliver the scorecard to the 
referee, who shall in turn deliver the scorecard of all judges 
to the commission. 

I. At the conclusion of a contest or exhibition, except a 
contest or exhibition which has been concluded by knockout, 
technical knockout or disqualification, the commission shall 
tally the total points awarded to each participant and inform 
the announcer of the decision of the three judges. 

J. The announcer shall announce the decision of the 
judges from the ring, and in the main events, the announcer 
shall call out the total points awarded by each judge. The 
boxer who has more points on the scorecard of the official is 
the winner on that judge's scorecard. The boxer who has 
been awarded the decision on at least two of the three judge's 
scorecard is the winner of the bout. In the event that neither 
boxer has been awarded the decision on at least two of the 
three judge's scorecard the decision shall be a draw, majority 
draw and all other possibilities. 

K. If the referee or the commission decides, at any time, 
that either contestant did not enter into the contest in good 
faith, or if the commission or referee discovers, at any time, 
that either or both contestants are not performing their part 
in good faith, or is guilty of any foul tactic, or of faking, or 
of violating any rule of the commission, the referee or 
commission may stop the contest.  

L. The chief second may forfeit the contest by stepping 
up onto the ring apron during any round and signaling the 
referee. If the chief second steps up on the apron before the 
round is ended the contest is immediately forfeited.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:61.D, R.S.4:64, R.S. 4:76 and R.S. 4:79. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 31:2005 (August 2005), LR 45:245 (February 
2019). 

§320. Boxing Ring and Ropes 

A. The boxing ring shall not be less than 16 feet nor 
more than 24 feet square within the ropes. The ring floor 
must extend at least 18 inches beyond the ropes. The ring 
floor must be padded with ensolite not less than 1 inch in 
thickness. Padding must extend beyond the ring ropes and 
over the edge of the platform, with a top covering of canvas, 
tightly stretched and laced to the ring platform. Material that 
tends to gather in lumps or ridges must not be used. The ring 
platform shall be approximately 4 feet above the floor of the 
building, and shall be provided with suitable steps for use of 
contestants. Ring post shall be of metal, not more than 4 
inches in diameter, extending from the floor of the building 
to a height of 58 inches above the ring floor. Corners shall 
have protective padding extending from the top to the 
bottom rope. 
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B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. Amended 2018 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:245 (February 2019). 

§321. Fouls, Deductions of Points Because of a Foul 

and Accidental Fouling  

A. - I.3.b. … 
4. A fighter who is hit with an accidental low blow 

must continue after a reasonable amount of time but no more 
than five minutes or he/she will lose the fight. 

J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61.D and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Boxing and Wrestling 
Commission, LR 31:2006 (August 2005), LR 36:758 (April 2010), 
LR 45:246 (February 2019). 

§322. Gloves  

A. - B. … 
C. Gloves for preliminary events shall be of the same 

brand and style. If gloves used in preliminary bouts have 
been used before, they shall be whole, clean, in sanitary 
condition and subject to inspection by the referee or 
commission representative as to condition. Any such gloves 
found to be unfit shall be immediately discarded and 
replaced with gloves meeting the above requirements. 

D. … 
E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

§325. Promoters and Matchmakers 

[Formerly §329] 

A. Each promoter at the time of promoting any contest or 
exhibition must have a current license issued by the 
commission. Before acting upon any application for a 
license, the commission may in its discretion examine under 
oath the applicant and other witnesses. 

B. At the time of submitting a match for approval, 
promoters of professional boxing contest or exhibition shall 
submit to the commission a fight card consisting of 28 
rounds of three minutes each, but not less than six contests 
(exclusive of female boxers which are two-minute rounds) 
plus the national record keeping authorities approved by the 
commission of the proposed boxers in said match, including 
the last six. Matches will not be considered unless this is 
done. This rule applies specifically to visiting boxers who 
have not previously performed in Louisiana. 

C. No person connected with the promotion of 
professional boxing may have anything to do with the 
management of boxers; and no persons involved in

professional boxing as managers, boxers, trainers or 
seconds, shall have anything to do with the promotion of 
such bouts. A licensed promoter may not act as a 
matchmaker. A professional contest or exhibition may not be 
arranged on behalf of any promoter except by a licensed 
matchmaker. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

§327. Withholding  

[Formerly §339] 

A. If a match is stopped by the commission, or its 
representative in charge, for infraction of the rules or for a 
violation of any law or ordinance, the promoter shall hold all 
box office receipts and remuneration for contestants for said 
match pending the decision of the commission. 

B. The commission may cause the promoter to hold the 
purse of any contestant who, through violation of the rules 
and regulations of this Chapter; and/or Title 4:61 et seq., 
affected or attempted to affect the outcome of any contest. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 4:61(D) 
and R.S. 4:64. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

§331. Announcer 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

§333. Manager 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

§335. Compensation of Officials 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:61.D, R.S. 4:64 and R.S. 4:67. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 31:2007 (August 
2005), LR 45:246 (February 2019). 

§345. Termination of Bouts 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

4:61(D) and R.S. 4:64. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Commerce, Boxing and Wrestling Commission 1967, amended 
1974, amended by the Department of Economic Development,
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Boxing and Wrestling Commission, LR 22:697 (August 1996), LR 
45:246 (February 2019). 

 
Anthony "Buddy" Embanato 
Chairman 

1902#003 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Permitted Medications in Quarter Horses (LAC 35:I.1506) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, notice is hereby given that the Racing 
Commission has adopted LAC 35:I.1506. The Rule prohibits 
the use of Clenbuterol in any quarter horse racing in 
Louisiana. This Rule hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 35  

HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 

Chapter 15. Permitted Medication  

§1506. Permitted Medications in Quarter Horses  

A. Any racehorse participating in a quarter horse race 
shall comply with the medication rules set forth herein, 
specifically LAC 35:I.Chapter 15 and LAC 35:I.Chapter 17, 
however the following exception(s) shall apply. 

1. Clenbuterol is a prohibited substance in quarter 
horses and other breeds racing with quarter horses. There is 
no applicable withdrawal guideline for such horses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
45:247 (February 2019). 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1902#022 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Preference for Eliminated Horses (LAC 35:V.6336) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 4:148, the Racing Commission has amended 
LAC 35:V.6336. Previously in an overfilled race, a single 
entry (where a trainer has one horse entered) had preference 
over a double entry (where a single trainer has entered two 
horses with different owners). The Rule amendment has 
removed this preference and treats single entries and double 
entries equal in overfilled races. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 35 

HORSE RACING 

Part V.  Racing Procedures 

Chapter 63. Entries 

§6336. Preference for Eliminated Horses 

A. Should two horses which are owned separately, but 
trained by the same trainer, be entered in any race, causing 
an excess of the number of horses which may, because of 
track limitation, be permitted to start, the horses to start shall 
be determined and selected by lot from all of the horses 
entered. Those entries which are eliminated shall receive a 
preference as provided in these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 13:289 (May 1987), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing 
Commission, LR 14:702 (October 1988), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
45:247 (February 2019). 

 

Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

1902#060 

 
RULE 

Office of the Governor 

Office of Financial Institutions 

Interested Party Petitions (LAC 10:XVII.503) 

Under the authority of and in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
specifically R.S. 49:953(C)(1) and R.S. 49:952(2), along 
with the commissioner’s rulemaking authority, including but 
not limited to, R.S. 6:101, R.S. 36:4.1(C)(1), and R.S. 
36:801.1(B), the commissioner of the Office of Financial 
Institutions has adopted the following Rule to provide for an 
interested person to petition the agency for the adoption, 
amendment, or repeal of a rule. This Rule is hereby adopted 
on the day of promulgation. 

Title 10 

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, AND UCC 

Part XVII.  Miscellaneous Provisions  

Chapter 5. Procedures 

§503. Interested Party Petitions 

A. Any interested person may petition the Office of 
Financial Institutions requesting the adoption, amendment, 
or repeal of a rule. 

B. A petition for adoption, amendment or repeal of a rule 
shall be plainly and prominently titled and styled as such and 
shall be manually signed by an individual petitioner, and by 
any attorney representing the petitioner. The full name, title 
or office if any, address, telephone number and email 
address of all signees of the petition shall be printed or typed 
under the signature. Signees signing in a representative 
capacity must be clearly identified. 

C. A petition filed in accordance with this Section shall 
contain the following:  
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1. the name and number of any license or other 
certification issued by the commissioner to the petitioner and 
a statement regarding whether the petitioner is subject to the 
regulatory jurisdiction of the commissioner and if the 
petitioner is or may be affected by the laws included within 
the scope of the commissioner’s jurisdiction; 

2. in the case of a petition for the adoption of a new 
rule, set forth a concise statement of the nature, purpose, and 
intended effect of the rule which petitioner requests be 
adopted, and the citation to the statutory authority for the 
commissioner’s exercise of or rulemaking authority in the 
manner and on the subject requested;  

3. in the case of a petition for amendment of an 
existing rule, specify by citation to the Louisiana 

Administrative Code the rule or rules which the petitioner 
requests be amended, together with a concise statement of 
the manner in which it is proposed that the rule or rules be 
amended, the purpose and intended effect of the requested 
amendment, and citation to the statutory authority for the 
commissioner’s exercise of or rulemaking authority in the 
manner and on the subject requested; 

4. in the case of a petition for repeal of an existing 
rule, specify by citation to the Louisiana Administrative 

Code the rule or rules which the petitioner requests be 
repealed, together with a concise statement of the purpose 
and intended effect of such repeal; 

5. provide an estimate of the fiscal and economic 
impact of the requested adoption, amendment, or repeal of 
the rule on the revenues and expenses of the Office of 
Financial Institutions and any other state and local 
governmental units, on the costs/benefits to directly affected 
persons, and on the competition and employment in the 
public and private sectors. If the petitioner has insufficient 
information or is otherwise unable to provide a reasonable 
estimate of such impact, the petitioner shall include a 
statement attesting to the lack of such information; 

6. an estimate of any impact on family formation, 
stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972; 

7. an estimate of any impact on poverty as described 
in R.S. 49:973; 

8. an estimate of any impact on small business as 
described in R.S. 49:965.5; 

9. an estimate of any impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014; 

10. all pertinent allegations of facts, circumstances, and 
reasons supporting the action sought by the petitioner; 

11. a statement or prayer expressing the action sought 
by the petition; 

12. any other information deemed necessary by the 
commissioner, in his discretion, in order that he may 
properly consider the petition.  

D. The commissioner may refuse to accept for filing or 
defer consideration of any petition for adoption, amendment, 
or repeal, of a rule, which does not conform to the 
requirements of this section. 

E. After submission of a petition pursuant to this section, 
the Office of Financial Institutions shall either deny the 
petition in writing stating the reasons for denial, or shall 
initiate rulemaking proceedings in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act.  

F. Nothing herein shall be construed to require that the 
commissioner, in granting a petition for the adoption, 

amendment, or repeal of a rule, adopt or employ the specific 
form or language requested by the petitioner, provided that 
the commissioner’s action gives effect to the substance and 
intent of the petition.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:952(2) 49:953(C)(1), R.S. 6:101, R.S. 36:4.1(C)(1), and R.S. 
36:801.1(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions LR 45:247 (February 
2019). 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 

1902#009 

 
RULE 

Department of Health  

Board of Nursing 

Disciplinary Proceedings (LAC 46:XLVII.3405) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 37:918, the Louisiana State Board of Nursing 
(LSBN) has made amendments that add clarifying language 
to the definitions “revoke” and “suspend” in Chapter 34, 
Section 3405 of the administrative rules. This change may 
affect the licensure of Registered Nurses (RNs) and 
Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs). 
Amendments to the definition of “revoke” include language 
allowing for the reinstatement of a revoked license five years 
after revocation of a license. The revised definition aligns 
with recent changes in Chapter 34, §3415 of the 
administrative rules, which modifies the reinstatement of 
licenses process for RNs and APRNs. The changes in 
Chapter 34, §3415 allow for the RN and/or the APRN to 
submit an application for the consideration of reinstatement 
by the board if his/her license has been revoked. The rule 
changes to Chapter 34, §3415 were published in October 
2018. 

Additionally, the rule changes amend the definition of 
“suspend” regarding the licensure of RNs and APRNs, 
implementing a maximum cap on license suspensions of 
three years. Under the prior definition the LSBN could 
suspend licenses indefinitely. The revised definition further 
clarifies the powers of an RN or APRN under license 
suspension. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XLVII.  Nurses: Practical Nurses and Registered 

Nurses 

Subpart 1.  Practical Nurses 

Chapter 34. Disciplinary Proceedings: Alternative to 

Disciplinary Proceedings. 

§3405 Definition of Terms 

A. ... 

* * * 
Revoke—to annul or make void by calling back. A 

person who is licensed as a registered nurse, an advanced 
practice registered nurse, or both, and whose license or 
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licenses are revoked, but not declared “permanently 
revoked,” loses his/her license(s) to practice registered 
nursing, advanced practice registered nursing or both is no 
longer a registered nurses, advanced practice registered 
nurse, or both, but may apply for reinstatement for five years 
from the date the board’s revocation order became a final 
judgement. A person whose license or licenses are revoked 
permanently or are declared permanently revoked, however, 
never again shall be allowed to practice registered nursing in 
Louisiana, and an application for reinstatement shall not be 
considered. 

* * * 
Suspend—to hold license to practice as a registered 

nurse, an advanced practice register nurse, or both, in 
abeyance for a definite period of time. A suspension shall not 
exceed a maximum term or time period of three years. A 
suspended registered nurse or advanced practice registered 
nurse remains a registered nurse, an advanced practice 
registered nurse, or both, during the period of suspension 
and retains a license to practice. But cannot practice, and 
shall not practice, registered nursing, advanced practice 
registered nursing, or both, during the term of suspension. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:918(K), R.S. 37:921, and R.S. 37:1744-1747. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 7:74 (March 
1981), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Nursing, LR 19:1145 (September 1993), LR 21:271 
(March1995), LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 31:1585 ( July 2005), 
LR 35:1535 (August 2009), LR 36:2278 (October 2010), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Nursing, LR 43:1379 (July 
2017), LR 45:248 (February 2019). 

 
Dr. Karen C. Lyon 
Executive Director 

1902#001 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 

Speech-Pathology and Audiology 
(LAC 46:LXXV.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the 
authority granted in R.S. 37:3085, the Board of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology has amended its current 
regulations to make technical changes and clarifications, add 
definitions for telehealth/telepractice, remove hearing aid 
dispensing fee from renewal and initial applications, and add 
telehealth registration fees. This Rule is hereby adopted on 
the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXXV.  Speech Pathology and Audiology 

Chapter 1. General Rules 

§103. Definitions 

A. ... 

* * * 

Accredited Educational Institution―college or 
university that holds regional accreditation. 

Accredited Educational Program—a graduate program 
in audiology or speech-language pathology that is accredited 
by the Council for Academic Accreditation in Audiology and 
Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) or the Accreditation 
Commission for Audiology Education (ACAE). 

Aides―individuals not licensed by the Louisiana Board 
of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology (LBESPA) who, after appropriate training, 
perform tasks that are prescribed, directed, and supervised 
by audiologists or speech-language pathologists licensed in 
accordance with R.S. 37:2659(A) or (B). Licensed 
audiologists and licensed speech-language pathologists are 
legally, ethically, and morally responsible for the services 
provided by aides working under their direction. 

Assistant Licensee—an individual who meets the 
qualifications established by R.S. 37:2659(F), and works 
under the direct supervision of a licensed speech-language 
pathologist and performs only those duties specified in §119. 

* * * 
Criminal History Record Information―information 

collected by state and federal criminal justice agencies 
consisting of identifiable descriptions and notations of 
arrests, detentions, indictments, bills of information or any 
other formal criminal charges, and any disposition arising 
therefrom, including sentencing, criminal correctional 
supervision and release. 

Direct Patient/Client Contact—practicum experience 
obtained during performance of a clinical activity with a 
patient/client. 

Direct Supervision—the supervisor observing the 
licensee engaging in a specified clinical activity with a 
patient/client in order to obtain knowledge and provide 
guidance regarding the supervisee’s clinical work. The 
supervisor shall accomplish this task either by being 
physically present in the room or through the use of a secure 
live video, live stream or web cam. 

* * * 
Facilitator―the individual at the client site who assists 

with the delivery of telehealth services at the direction of the 
audiologist or speech-language pathologist. 

* * * 
Full-time Supervised Professional 

Employment/Experience―a minimum of thirty-six weeks 
engaged in the provision of clinical services. Volunteer 
services are not acceptable. 

* * * 
Grace Period―the period in which an applicant may be 

employed while an initial application for licensure is being 
considered by the board. The grace period cannot exceed 60 
days from the date that the application is received by the 
board. 

* * * 
Indirect Supervision―the utilization of alternative 

methods, other than direct supervision, to acquire knowledge 
of a supervisee’s clinical work, e.g. review of client folders 
and record keeping, scheduling, and planning. 

* * * 
Nine Months of Full-Time Supervised Postgraduate 

Professional Employment/Experience—Repealed. 
* * * 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 250 

Part-Time Postgraduate Professional Employment 

Experience―part-time experience greater than or equal to an 
average of 5 hours per week which culminates in an 
equivalent of 36 weeks of full-time employment experience. 

Provisional Assistant Licensee―an individual who 
meets the qualifications established in R.S. 37: 2659(G) and 
works under the direct supervision of a licensed speech-
language pathologist and performs only those duties 
specified in §121. This person has completed a minimum of 
100 of 225 supervised clinical practicum hours and is 
working to complete the remaining hours on-the-job and/or 
through a regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs. 

Supervised On-the-Job Training―direct supervision 
hours which have been obtained during paid employment, 
and documented on the form provided by the board. 

* * * 
Telehealth―also known as telepractice, is a mode of 

delivering audiology and speech-language pathology 
services that utilizes information and communication 
technologies to enable the diagnosis, consultation, treatment, 
education, care management, and self-management of clients 
at a distance from the audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist provider. Telehealth allows services to be 
accessed when providers are in a distant site and patients are 
in the originating site. Telehealth facilitates self-management 
and caregiver support for patients and includes synchronous 
interactions and asynchronous store and forward transfers. 

Telehealth Registration―limited to out-of-state 
residents whose out-of-state audiology or speech-language 
pathology license does not require supervision, is an 
unrestricted and unencumbered license in good standing to 
perform audiology or speech-language pathology in the state 
in which the provider is located, and the license is 
comparable to the license in Louisiana as determined by this 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:705 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), LR 28:1781 
(August 2002), LR 30:2307 (October 2004), LR 33:2192 (October 
2007), LR 37:2392 (August 2011), amended by the Department of 
Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 
42:1665 (October 2016), LR 45:249 (February 2019). 

§105. Designations 

A. - A.2. … 
3. Repealed. 

A.4. - B. … 
1. When signing professional documents, Speech-

Language Pathology Assistants and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistants shall write their full license 
title, e.g., B.A., SLP Assistant or B.A., Provisional SLP 
Assistant. Speech-Language Pathology Assistants and 
Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistants shall 
always identify themselves as such in professional 
interactions. 

C. Titles and academic credential designations shall 
represent earned degrees obtained through regionally 
accredited university programs. To appropriately represent 
the level of education in the area of practice, when listing an 
educational designation, the licensee shall list the highest 

degree earned in audiology or speech-language pathology. In 
addition, graduate degrees earned in other disciplines must 
specify the area in which the degree was earned [e.g., B.S. 
(Speech-Language Therapy), M.Ed. (Administration)]. 
When listing credentials, licensees should sequentially list 
their name, educational designation, license designation, and 
professional certification, e.g., M.A., L-SLP, CCC-SLP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:346 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:197 (February 2001), LR 30:2308 (October 2004), LR 33:2192 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:250 (February 
2019). 

§107. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. Coursework RequirementsAudiology License. The 
applicant shall submit official transcripts from one or more 
regionally accredited colleges or universities evidencing 
completion of at least 75 semester credit hours of post-
baccalaureate coursework for applicants who began a 
doctoral program after January 1, 2005. 

B. Coursework RequirementsAudiology License. The 
following coursework requirements apply to applicants who 
began a master's program after January 1, 1994. 

1. - 2.b. … 

* * * 

C. Coursework RequirementsAudiology License. The 
following coursework requirements apply to applicants who 
began a master's program prior to January 1, 1994. 

C.1. - F.2.b. … 
c. A maximum of 6 academic semester credit hours 

associated with clinical practicum may be counted toward 
the minimum of 30 semester credit hours of professional 
coursework, but those hours may not be used to satisfy the 
minimum of 12 semester credit hours in speech/language 
disorders, 6 hours in language disorders, or 3 hours in 
audiology, or the 21 graduate credits in the professional area 
for which the license is sought. 

* * * 
G. - H.1.c. … 

2. Audiology License 
a. 1820 clinical practicum hours if the graduate 

program began after January 1, 2005; 
b. - c. … 

3. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License 
a. 225 clinical practicum hours are required, the 

first 100 of which shall have been obtained through a 
regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs. Of the 100 hours obtained through a 
regionally accredited educational institution, 75 shall be 
obtained through direct patient/client contact, and the 
remaining 25 hours may be obtained through observation of 
assessment and therapy. It is recommended that the direct 
patient/client contact hours be obtained in at least two 
practicum sites with one site being a public school setting. 
The first 75 hours of direct patient/client contact shall be 
obtained in the following categories: 
 i. - ii. … 
 iii. the remaining 35 hours may be obtained in the 
areas of speech, language or hearing disorders. A maximum 
of 5 of these hours may be in the area of audiology. It is 
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recommended that a minimum of 20 hours be obtained in 
articulation. 

3.b. - 4.a.i.(b). … 
(c) the remaining 35 hours may be obtained 

in the areas of speech, language or hearing disorders. A 
maximum of 5 of these hours may be in the area of 
audiology. It is recommended that a minimum of 20 hours be 
obtained in articulation. 

b. The additional 125 hours required to upgrade to 
the Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License shall be 
obtained within three years of the date of issuance of the 
provisional assistant license and may be obtained by 
completing the remaining hours on-the-job and/or through a 
regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs. Those hours obtained through 
supervised on-the-job training must consist of direct 
supervision hours and will only be accepted from the date 
that the application for license is received by the board. 

c. A provisional speech-language pathology 
assistant may request deferment of the three-year period to 
complete licensure upgrade requirements. Such deferment 
may only be requested if there is an extenuating 
circumstance, such as inability to obtain employment in the 
area of speech-language pathology. The license must be 
renewed annually. Such deferment may only be held for a 
period of three years from the time of board approval. 
 i. If the licensee has never worked as a 
provisional speech-language pathology assistant, a notarized 
statement shall be submitted to the board office annually. 
 ii. … 
 iii. Licensees on inactive status may retain their 
license by payment of the annual renewal fee. In order to 
resume practice as a speech-language pathology assistant, 
licensees on inactive status shall demonstrate completion of 
5 clock hours of continuing education in the area of 
licensure for each year that inactive status was maintained 
(maximum of 25 hours). 

I. Equivalency RequirementsSpeech-Language 
Pathology, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology, or 
Audiology License 

1. Individuals who do not possess a graduate degree in 
either audiology or speech-language pathology but wish to 
obtain a license through the equivalency process shall meet 
the coursework, practicum and examination requirements for 
the area in which licensure is sought as defined in the board's 
rules entitled Coursework Requirements: Audiology License 
Coursework Requirements: Speech-Language Pathology 
License and Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
License; Clinical Practicum Hour Requirements and 
Examination Requirement. 

J. Postgraduate Professional Employment/Experience 
1. A graduate-level speech-language pathologist must 

submit verification of thirty-six weeks of full-time 
postgraduate professional employment/experience or its full-
time equivalent. 

2. Repealed. 
K. Examination Requirement—Speech-Language 

Pathology License, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
License, Audiology License 

1. The board recognizes only the Educational Testing 
Service’s specialty area examinations for audiology and 
speech-language pathology as the licensure examination for 
audiology and/or speech-language pathology. Scores 
received directly from the applicant are not acceptable for 
licensing purposes. 

2. - 3. … 
4. If an individual has never held a license to practice 

audiology or speech-language pathology in another state, 
and if the degree program was completed greater than 10 
years from the date of application, the passing score on the 
specialty area examination for audiology or speech/language 
pathology must have been obtained within the last 5 years. 

L. - L.1.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1690 (October 2001), amended LR 28:1781 (August 2002), 
LR 30:2308 (October 2004), LR 33:2192 (October 2007), LR 
37:2393 (August 2011), LR 39:1042 (April 2013), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 42:1666 (October 2016), LR 45:250 (February 
2019). 

§109. Licensure Application Procedures 

A. An application for a license to practice audiology 
and/or speech-language pathology shall be made on board-
approved forms. 

B. Criminal history record information must be 
submitted with the application form. 

C. Official transcripts shall be sent to this board directly 
from the college or university from which the academic 
requirements were earned. Documentation of supervised 
clinical practicum hours shall be submitted on university 
forms signed by a clinical supervisor or director, and must 
be submitted along with the application form 

D. Documentation of supervised clinical practicum hours 
shall be submitted on university forms signed by a clinical 
supervisor or director, and must be submitted along with the 
application form 

E. The initial license fee submitted to this board with the 
application form and shall be paid by check, money order, or 
credit card. 

F. Audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and/or 
assistants who have held a license in another state, shall 
provide official verification of their licensure status in each 
state, including any formal disciplinary action resulting in 
sanction and/or disciplinary proceedings which are pending. 
Verification of licensure status must be submitted along with 
the application form. 

G. Documentation of thirty-six weeks of postgraduate 
professional employment/experience shall be submitted 
directly to the board in writing on official agency letterhead. 

H. Documentation of thirty-six weeks of postgraduate 
professional employment/experience, a passing score on the 
Educational Testing Service's specialty area examination, 
and verification of supervised clinical practicum hours may 
be waived for individuals who submit verification that they
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hold the Certificate of Clinical Competence from the 
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 
Documentation must be submitted with the application form. 

I. Postgraduate professional employment/experience 
which counts toward upgrading the license status, will only 
be accepted from the date that a licensee's application is 
received by the board. 

J. While an initial application for licensure is being 
considered by the board, the applicant may be employed as 
an audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or speech-
language pathology assistant for a period not to exceed 60 
calendar days from the date that their completed application 
is received by the board. In no event may the applicant be 
employed as an audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or 
speech-language pathology assistant after the application has 
been denied. 

K. An applicant, with the exception of military 
applicants and military spouses, may be granted only one 
60-day period to work while his/her initial application is 
being processed. No additional grace period may be granted 
to an applicant, regardless of whether the application is a 
new license or a request to reinstate or upgrade a license. 

L. The board may refuse to consider any application 
which is not complete in every detail, including submission 
of every document required by the application form and 
instructions. The board may, at its discretion, require a more 
detailed or complete response to any request for information 
set forth in the application form as a condition for 
consideration of an application. 

M. Applications from individuals who have defaulted on 
a loan from the Louisiana Office of Financial Assistance as 
per R.S. 37:2951 will be denied until such time as a release 
from the Louisiana Office of Financial Assistance has been 
received noting that a repayment agreement has been 
established. 

N. Applicants who have not obtained licensure within 
one year of the board’s receipt of the application shall be 
deemed to have abandoned the application, resulting in 
mandatory reporting to the appropriate federal data bank. An 
applicant may request a withdrawal of the application 
subject to review and approval by the board. 

O. Individuals holding an unrestricted audiology or 
speech-language pathology license from another state shall 
be allowed to practice in Louisiana for five consecutive days 
within each renewal period upon proof of current licensure 
submitted to the board office 10 days prior to the scheduled 
activity. 

P. When there is probable cause to believe that an 
applicant practiced illegally in Louisiana as an audiologist, 
speech-language pathologist, and/or speech-language 
pathology assistant, the board may offer a consent agreement 
and order which will grant the individual a license, subject to 
the following specified terms and conditions. 

1. Within 90 days of the date of the consent agreement 
and order, the applicant shall take and pass an open book 
examination regarding R.S. 37:2650-2666, the board's rules 
and regulations, and ethical questions. 

a. Open book test fee shall be $30. The retest fee 
shall be $10 per section. 

b. Applicants have 4 1/2 hours to complete all 
sections of the test. 

c. The open book examination or any section may 
be re-taken anytime within the 90 days. 

d. Notice of the consent agreement and order shall 
be published. 

e. If the applicant fails to successfully complete all 
requirements set forth in the above paragraphs, the 
applicant's license shall be suspended without further notice 
until the board receives and accepts documentation of the 
applicant's completion of the consent agreement and order 
requirements. 

Q. Temporary Registration during a Declared Public 
Health Emergency 

1. In a public health emergency lawfully declared as 
such by the governor of Louisiana, the requirement for a 
Louisiana license as an audiologist, speech-language 
pathologist, or speech-language pathology assistant may be 
waived by the board at that time to those out-of-state 
audiologists, speech-language pathologists, or speech-
language pathology assistants, whose licenses, certifications 
or registrations are current and unrestricted in another 
jurisdiction of the United States, for a period of time not to 
exceed the duration and scope of R.S. 29:769(E), as more 
particularly set forth in this Section. 

2. The following requirements for temporary 
registration may be imposed pursuant to the declared state of 
emergency and shall be in accordance with rules 
promulgated by the board. 

3. An audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or 
speech-language pathology assistant not licensed in 
Louisiana, whose licenses, certifications or registrations are 
current and unrestricted in another jurisdiction of the United 
States, may gratuitously provide audiology and speech-
language pathology services if: 

a. the audiologist, speech-language pathologist, or 
speech-language pathology assistant has photo identification 
and a license to verify a current and unrestricted license, 
certification or registration in another jurisdiction of the 
United States, and properly registers with the board prior to 
providing audiology or speech-language pathology services 
in Louisiana as follows: 
 i. the audiologist, speech-language pathologist, 
or speech-language pathology assistant is engaged in a 
legitimate relief effort during the emergency period, and 
provides satisfactory documentation to the board of the 
location site(s) that he/she will be providing gratuitous 
audiology or speech-language pathology services; 
 ii. the audiologist, speech-language pathologist, 
or speech-language pathology assistant shall comply with 
the Louisiana Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
Practice Act, board rules, and other applicable laws, as well 
as practice in good faith, and within the reasonable scope of 
his/her skill, training, and ability; and 
 iii. the audiologist, speech-language pathologist, 
or speech-language pathology assistant renders services on a 
gratuitous basis with no revenue of any kind to be derived 
whatsoever from the provision of services within the state of 
Louisiana. 
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4. This temporary registration period shall not exceed 
60 days at the discretion of the board, with the potential 
extension of up to two additional periods not to exceed 60 
days for each extension as determined appropriate and 
necessary by the board. 

5. All interested audiologists, speech-language 
pathologists, and speech-language pathology assistants shall 
submit a copy of their respective current and unrestricted 
licenses, certifications or registrations issued in other 
jurisdictions of the United States and photographic 
identification, as well as other requested information, to the 
Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology for registration with this agency 
prior to gratuitously providing audiology or speech-language 
pathology services in Louisiana. 

6. Should a qualified audiologist, speech-language 
pathologist, or speech-language pathology assistant 
registered with the board fail to comply with any 
requirement or condition established by this Section, the 
board may terminate his/her registration upon notice and 
hearing. 

7. In the event an audiologist, speech-language 
pathologist, or speech-language pathology assistant fails to 
register with the board, but practices audiology or speech-
language pathology, whether gratuitously or otherwise, then 
such conduct will be considered the unlawful practice of 
audiology or speech-language pathology and prosecuted 
accordingly. 

R. Volunteer Services. Individuals seeking to provide 
services on a voluntary basis shall hold an unrestricted out-
of-state license in the area of practice, shall be deemed to 
meet all of the qualifications for license set forth by this 
Chapter, and shall abide by the Code of Ethics. 

S. Licensing Military Members and Military Spouses 
1. Expedited application for licensure in the area of 

audiology or speech-language pathology shall be granted to 
military members and military spouses licensed, certified or 
registered in another jurisdiction, while the individual is 
satisfying the requirement for licensure. 

a. Applications shall be submitted in accordance 
with §109. 

b. Military members shall submit with the 
application a copy of current military-issued identification 
and military orders. 

c. Applicants who are the spouse of military 
personnel shall submit with the application a copy of current 
military-issued identification, marriage license, and an 
affidavit attesting that applicant is married to military 
personnel. 

2. Military applicants shall submit: 
a. military members—official, primary-source 

documentation verifying requirements met in accordance 
with §107 and §115; 

b. military spouseofficial, primary-source 
documentation verifying requirements met in accordance 
with §107 and §115. 

3. Military members and military spouses shall be 
given a 60-day grace period for submission of official 
documentation from the date their notarized application and 
license fee are received by the board office, regardless of 
lapsed license status. The board may consider an extension 

of this grace period as per House Concurrent Resolution 74 
of the 2015 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

4. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any 
applicant receiving a dishonorable discharge or a military 
spouse whose spouse received a dishonorable discharge. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:352 (May 1996), LR 27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1974 
(September 2002), LR 30:2311 (October 2004), LR 33:2193 
(October 2007), LR 37:2393 (August 2011), repromulgated LR 
37:2623 (September 2011), LR 39:1043 (April 2013), amended by 
the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 42:1666 (October 2016), LR 45:251 (February 
2019). 

§111. Application for Telehealth Registration 

A. An application to practice audiology and/or speech-
language pathology via telepractice shall be made on forms 
supplied by the board. 

B. Proof of unrestricted, unencumbered current licensure 
granted in the home state based on standards at least 
equivalent to those in Louisiana shall be submitted. 

C. Applicants shall provide official verification of 
licensure and/or registration status in each state, including 
any formal disciplinary action resulting in sanction and/or 
disciplinary proceedings which are pending. 

D. The initial telehealth registration fee submitted to this 
board shall be paid by cashier’s check, money order, or 
credit card. 

E. Until an application has been approved by the board, 
the audiologist and/or speech-language pathologist shall not 
engage in delivery of telepractice services to Louisiana 
residents. 

F. Applicants who have not obtained registration within 
one year of having submitted the application shall be 
deemed to have abandoned the application, resulting in 
mandatory reporting to the appropriate federal data bank. An 
applicant may request a withdrawal of the application 
subject to review and approval by the board. 

G. In order for telehealth registration to remain current in 
Louisiana, the individual must maintain an unrestricted, 
unencumbered current license in another state, whose 
standards are at least equivalent to those in Louisiana. 

H. When there is probable cause to believe that an 
applicant practiced illegally in Louisiana as an audiologist 
and/or speech-language pathologist, the board may offer a 
consent agreement and order which will grant the individual 
registration, subject to the following specified terms and 
conditions. 

1. Within 90 days of the date of the consent agreement 
and order, the applicant shall take and pass an open book 
examination regarding R.S. 37:2650-2666, the board’s rules 
and regulations, and ethical questions. 

a. Open book test fee shall be $30. The retest fee 
shall be $10 per section. 

b. Applicants have 4.5 hours to complete all 
sections of the test. 

c. The open book examination or any section may 
be re-taken anytime within the 90 days. 

d. Notice of the consent agreement and order shall 
be published. 
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e. If the applicant fails to successfully complete all 
requirements set forth in the above paragraphs, the 
applicant’s registration shall be suspended without further 
notice until the board receives and accepts documentation of 
the applicant’s completion of the consent agreement and 
order requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:253 (February 2019). 

§113. Criminal History Record Information 

A. In addition to any other requirements established by 
regulation, an applicant is required, as a condition for 
eligibility for licensure, to: 

1. submit a full set of fingerprints, in a form and 
manner prescribed by the board; 

2. permit the board to obtain state and national 
criminal history record information on the applicant; 

3. submit the fee for state and national criminal 
history record information on the applicant. 

B. Any and all state or national criminal history record 
information obtained by the board from the bureau or FBI 
which is not already a matter of public record shall be 
deemed non-public and confidential information restricted to 
the exclusive use of the board, its members, investigators, 
agents, and attorneys in evaluating the applicant’s suitability 
and eligibility for licensure. No such information or records 
shall, except with the written consent of the applicant or by 
order of a court of competent jurisdiction, be released or 
otherwise disclosed by the board to any other person or 
agency. 

C. An applicant who denies the existence or extent of 
criminal history record information on an application, which 
is discovered by information, records, or documentation 
provided by the state police, FBI, or any other state, 
national, or foreign jurisdiction shall, in addition to the 
potential disqualification of licensure for any of the causes 
specified in §141 of this Chapter, be deemed to have 
provided false, misleading, or deceptive information, or false 
sworn information on an application for licensure, and to 
have engaged in unprofessional conduct, providing 
additional cause for the board to suspend or revoke, refuse to 
issue, or impose probationary or other restrictions on any 
license held or applied for by an applicant in the state of 
Louisiana culpable of such violation, pursuant to R.S. 
37:2662.  

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:254 (February 2019). 

§115. Licensure by Reciprocity 

(Formerly §111) 

A. The board may waive the examination for applicants 
who present proof of current licensure in another state with 
standards equivalent to those of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:354 (May 1996), LR 30:2311 (October 2004), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:254 (February 2019). 

§117. Additional Requirements for International 

Applicants/Speakers of English as a Second 

Language 

(Formerly §113) 

A. Any document required to be submitted to this board 
with an application for a license shall be in the English 
language, or accompanied by a certified translation thereof 
into the English language. 

B. As a condition of the board's consideration of the 
license application of a graduate of a foreign college or 
university, the applicant shall provide the board with an 
evaluation of the applicant's transcript from an approved 
credentials evaluation agency. A list of approved agencies, 
and their addresses, may be obtained from the board. 

C. Because the essence of the practice of audiology and 
speech-language pathology is communication, an applicant 
whose primary language is not English shall submit a 
passing score on a nationally recognized English proficiency 
examination as approved by the board, and make an 
appearance before the board or its designees before a license 
may be issued. An English proficiency assessment shall be 
conducted by the board or its designees as a condition for 
licensure. At the board’s discretion, the license may be 
conditionally granted subject to an English remediation plan 
and/or restrictions on practice. 

D. The clinical observation and clinical practicum for a 
speech-language pathologist educated outside the United 
States must consist of at least 400 patient contact hours, to 
include: 

1. at least 25 hours in supervised observation prior to 
the clinical practicum. Patient contact hours in excess of the 
required minimum may be substituted for the required 25 
hours of supervised observation; 

2. at least 375 patient contact hours in speech-
language pathology. Practicum experiences must be: 

a. across the scope of practice in speech-language 
pathology; 

b. with clients across the lifespan; 
c. across the range of clinical severity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:354 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 30:2311 
(October 2004), LR 37:2394 (August 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:254 (February 2019). 

§119. Requirements to Upgrade License 

(Formerly §115) 

A. The provisional speech-language pathology licensee 
who has not passed the examination at the time of initial 
licensure shall submit the following to upgrade his/her 
license status: 

1. an official copy of a passing score on the 
Educational Testing Service area examination; 

2. verification of 36 weeks of full-time postgraduate 
professional employment/experience or its part-time 
equivalent in the field the license is held; 

3. proof of supervision through date of upgrade (Form 
100); 
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4. upgrade fee of $30. 
B. The provisional speech-language pathology licensee 

who has not completed the thirty-six weeks of postgraduate 
professional employment/experience at the time of initial 
licensure shall submit the following to upgrade his/her 
license status: 

1. verification of 36 weeks of full-time postgraduate 
professional employment/experience or its part-time 
equivalent in the field the license is held; 

2. proof of supervision through date of upgrade (Form 
100); 

3. upgrade fee of $30. 
C. The provisional speech-language pathology assistant 

shall submit the following to upgrade his/her license status: 
1. proof of 225 supervised clinical practicum hours 

shall be on file in the board's office. Only direct supervision 
hours and/or university practicum hours may be counted 
towards the 225 hours; 

2. upgrade fee of $30. 
D. The restricted audiology or restricted speech-language 

pathology licensee who holds a master's degree or its 
equivalent in audiology or speech-language pathology shall 
submit the following documents to upgrade their license: 

1. an official copy of a passing score on the 
Educational Testing Service area examination; 

2. verification of 36 weeks of post-graduate 
professional employment/experience or its part-time 
equivalent in the field in which the license is held; 

3. proof of supervision through date of upgrade (Form 
100); 

4. upgrade fee of $30. 
E. Only those hours that have been obtained on-the-job 

as paid professional experience may be counted towards an 
upgrade. 

F. Restricted speech-language pathology licensees who 
hold a bachelor's degree who wish to change their status to a 
provisional speech-language pathology license shall submit 
an application for license and meet the requirements of R.S. 
37:2659. 

G. Speech-language pathology assistant licensees who 
wish to change their status to a provisional speech-language 
pathology license shall submit an application for license and 
meet the requirements of R.S. 37:2659. 

H. Postgraduate professional employment/experience 
which counts toward upgrading the license status will only 
be accepted from the date that the licensee's application was 
received by the board. 

I. It is the responsibility of the licensee to submit the 
documents and make a written request for upgrade of his/her 
license status. Licensees shall complete all supervision 
requirements consistent with the license held and 
immediately thereafter submit appropriate supervision forms 
to the board office along with a written request for license 
upgrade and the upgrade fee. The licensee shall remain 
under supervision until the upgrade has been approved by 
the board. 

J. If a passing score on the Educational Testing 
Service’s specialty area examination in speech-language 
pathology is not submitted within one year from the date of 
issuance of the license, a provisional licensee must apply for 
a speech-language pathology assistant license. This

individual may perform only those duties as specified in 
§119 and must be supervised in accordance with the 
requirements specified in §129. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:349 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:197 (February 2001), LR 28:1971 (September 2002), LR 
30:2312 (October 2004), LR 33:2194 (October 2007), LR 37:2394 
(August 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:254 (February 
2019). 

§121. Duties: Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 

License and Provisional Speech-Language 

Pathology Assistant License (Formerly §117) 

A.1. All duties performed by the speech-language 
pathology assistant licensee or provisional speech-language 
pathology assistant licensee shall be assigned by a licensed 
speech-language pathologist and shall be supervised in 
accordance with the rules and regulations specified by the 
board. Caseload assignments shall be consistent with the 
knowledge base and training of the licensee for the 
performance of the following tasks:  

a. conduct speech-language screenings and 
assessments without interpretation, following specified 
protocols as developed by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist. An assistant may not administer a test if the 
publisher’s examiner requirements dictate administration by 
a graduate-degreed individual. All screening and assessment 
reports shall be cosigned and interpreted by the supervising 
speech-language pathologist; 

b. perform hearing screenings limited to a pass/fail 
determination for the purpose of initial identification of 
disorders, following specified protocols as approved by the 
supervising speech-language pathologist; 

c. provide direct treatment which is within the level 
of training and experience as prescribed by the supervising 
speech-language pathologist to a caseload of patients/clients 
who demonstrate communication disorders. Supervision of 
treatment shall be in accordance with the rules and 
regulations specified by the board; 

d. follow treatment plans or protocols as developed 
and documented by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist; 

e. document patient/client progress toward meeting 
established objectives as stated in the treatment plan; 

f. schedule activities, prepare charts, records, 
graphs, or otherwise display data; 

g. perform checks and maintenance of equipment; 
h. speech-language pathology assistants may 

participate in parent conferences, individual education plan 
meetings (IEP), case conferences, interdisciplinary team 
conferences, and research projects. Provisional speech-
language pathology assistants may participate in these 
activities only with the supervising speech-language 
pathologist. 

2. Duties outside the Scope of Practice of a Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant 

a. The speech-language pathology assistant licensee 
and provisional speech-language pathology assistant shall 
not: 
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 i. perform clinical tasks without the knowledge 
and approval of the supervising speech-language 
pathologist; 
 ii. conduct evaluations, even under supervision. 
 iii. interpret test and assessment results; 
 iv. screen or diagnose clients for feeding and 
swallowing disorders; 
 v. demonstrate swallowing strategies or 
precautions to clients, family, or staff;  
 vi. engage in service delivery via telepractice; 
however, the individual may function as a facilitator given 
appropriate training. 
 vii. work with a communication or related disorder 
unless s/he has had sufficient coursework with appropriate 
supervised practicum in that area obtained through a 
regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs; 
 viii. provide patient/client or family counseling; 
 ix. select and/or discharge patients/clients for 
services without the approval of the supervising speech-
language pathologist; 
 x. disclose clinical or confidential information 
either orally or in writing to anyone not designated by the 
supervising speech-language pathologist and without the 
authorization of the patient/client or their designee; 
 xi. make referrals for additional services without 
the approval of the supervising speech-language pathologist; 
 xii. participate in individualized family service 
plan (IFSP) meetings without the supervising speech-
language pathologist. 

3. The speech-language pathology assistant and the 
provisional speech-language pathology assistant shall not 
perform any clinical task without the knowledge and 
approval of the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

4. Failure to comply with these rules and regulations 
may result in disciplinary action against the assistant and/or 
the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 30:2312 (October 2004), amended 
LR 33:2194 (October 2007), LR 37:2394 (August 2011), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 45:255 (February 2019). 

§123. Fees 

(Formerly §119) 

A. The board collects the following fees, which are non-
refundable: 

1. initial Louisiana license application—$125; 
2. dual license application—$225; 
3. renewal of license submitted on or before June 30, 

of each year—$65: 
a. dual licensure renewal—$90; 

4. delinquent renewal fee submitted between July 1 
and July 31, of each year—$130; 

a. dual licensure renewal—$180; 
5. initial telehealth registration fee—$50; 
6. renewal of telehealth registration submitted on or 

before June 30, of each year—$25; 
7. renewal of telehealth registration submitted 

between July 1 and July 31, of each year—$50; 
8. licensure upgrade—$30; 

9. continuing education pre-approval fee for 
corporations or individuals who are not LBESPA licensees—
$50; 

10. mailing lists: 
a. $200 for speech-language pathologists; 
b. $25 for audiologists 
c. $25 for speech-language pathology assistants 

11. NSF or returned check—$40; 
12. open book test fee—$30; 

a. open book retest fee, per section—$10; 
13. publications to include law, rules, etc.—$5 ea. plus 

postage and handling; 
14. re-issuance of license or registration certificate—

$25; 
15. subpoena within East Baton Rouge Parish—$50: 

a. subpoena plus state-allowed travel rate per mile 
outside East Baton Rouge Parish—$50; 

16. verification of license or registration (written)—
$10; 

17. an additional fee may be charged for credit card 
transactions in accordance with state treasury rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:350 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1691 (October 2001) amended LR 30:2313 (October 2004), 
LR 33:2195 (October 2007), LR 37:2395 (August 2011), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 42:1666 (October 2016), LR 45:256 (February 
2019). 

§125. Renewals 

(Formerly §121) 

A. All licenses and registrations shall be renewed 
annually by June 30, to avoid delinquent renewal fees. 

B. Initial licenses and registrations issued during the last 
quarter of the fiscal year, i.e., April, May, and June, will not 
be required to be renewed during that fiscal year. No 
continuing education hours will be required of the licensee 
or registrant for that period. 

C. Licensees shall list on their renewal form the 
licensees (i.e., provisional speech-language pathologists, 
restricted speech-language pathologists, restricted 
audiologists, speech-language pathology assistants, or 
provisional speech-language pathology assistants) and aides 
that they are supervising. 

D. It is the licensee’s and registrant's continuing 
obligation to keep the board informed of his/her current 
mailing address. 

E. Licensees shall participate in continuing professional 
education activities for each license period, July 1-June 30, 
in accordance with §127. 

F. Inactive status is granted to licensees who are retired 
or who do not practice audiology or speech-language 
pathology during the fiscal year, July 1-June 30. 

1. Licensees on inactive status may retain their license 
by payment of the annual renewal fee. 

2. These licensees shall complete the affidavit on the 
continuing education report and submit it at the time of 
licensure renewal. 

3. The licensee may submit the required five hours of 
continuing education each year he/she is on inactive status or 
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submit all of the hours the year he/she returns to work in the 
profession. 

4. Licensees on inactive status or who are retired shall 
not supervise individuals or otherwise engage in the practice 
of audiology or speech-language pathology. 

5. In order to resume the practice of audiology or 
speech-language pathology, licensees on inactive status shall 
demonstrate completion of 5 clock hours of continuing 
education in the area of licensure for each year that inactive 
status was maintained (maximum of 25 hours). In addition, a 
letter requesting a change to active status must be submitted 
to the board office prior to resuming the practice of 
audiology or speech-language pathology. 

G. Licensees who hold a license requiring supervision 
and who are not working in the field of audiology and/or 
speech-language pathology shall submit a notarized 
statement at the time of license renewal attesting to the fact 
that they did not work in the profession during the license 
period. 

H. The board may refuse to consider any renewal 
application which is not complete in every detail, including 
submission of every document required by the application 
form and instructions. The board may, in its discretion, 
require additional information as a condition for 
consideration of the application. 

I.  Renewal applications from individuals who have 
defaulted on a loan from the Louisiana Office of Financial 
Assistance as per LA R.S. 37:2951 will be denied until such 
time as a release if received from the Louisiana Office of 
Financial Assistance noting that a repayment agreement has 
been established. 

J. Renewal will be denied for licensees who are in 
default on the repayment of any loan guaranteed in 
accordance with R.S. 17:3023(A)(8) and R.S. 
37:2951(A)(E). 

K. Delinquent Renewal 
1. Delinquent requests for renewals will be accepted 

by the board through July 31, provided the delinquent 
renewal fee is paid in accordance with §121(4) and the 
continuing education requirements have been met. 

2. A licensee whose license lapsed on August 1, and 
applies to reinstate prior to the following June 30, is required 
to submit a completed application, proof of continuing 
education, initial license fee and delinquent renewal fee in 
accordance with §123 and §127. 

3. A licensee whose license lapsed on August 1, and 
applies for reinstatement after June 30, of the following year, 
is required to submit a completed application, proof of 
continuing education, and is subject to the initial license fee 
and delinquent renewal fee and the requirements of §127. 

4. A registrant whose registration lapsed on August 1, 
must complete the initial application process for telehealth 
registration. 

L. Conditional Renewal 
1. Licensees who previously held a full, valid license 

which was obtained under the grandfather clause of Act 260 
of the 1978 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, 
whether delinquent or lapsed, for a period not to exceed five 
years, shall be eligible for licensure renewal or reinstatement 
upon meeting the continuing education requirement and 
submitting the appropriate renewal fee in accordance with 
§123. If the license has lapsed for a period of more than five 

years, applicants shall reapply in accordance with the 
requirements enumerated in R.S. 37:2651 et seq., as 
amended by Act 892 of the 1995 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

2. Licensees who previously held a restricted license 
which was obtained under Act 260 of the 1978 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, whether delinquent or 
lapsed, shall be eligible for licensure renewal or 
reinstatement, upon meeting the continuing education 
requirement and submitting the appropriate renewal fee as 
required in accordance with §123 and §127. 

3. Licensees who allow their license to lapse (August 
1) shall submit documentation of completion of five clock 
hours of continuing education (maximum of 25 hours) in the 
area of licensure for each year that the license has lapsed in 
addition to meeting the license requirements enumerated in 
R.S. 37:2650 et seq. 

4. Licensees who have allowed their license to lapse 
for a period of 5 years or greater, and do not hold a current 
audiology or speech-language pathology license in another 
state, must submit evidence of 25 continuing education 
hours directly related to the clinical practice of the license 
being sought and must have been obtained within the past 18 
months. 

5. Licensees who have allowed their license to lapse 
for a period of 10 years or greater, and do not hold a current 
audiology or speech-language pathology license in another 
state, must submit a passing score on the Educational Testing 
Service’s specialty area examination for audiology or 
speech-language pathology, as applicable to the license 
being sought, achieved no more than five years prior to the 
submission of the request for reinstatement. 

6. Renewal of a license will not be granted until all 
requirements including mandated continuing education 
hours have been completed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:351 (May 1996), LR 27:198 (February 2001), LR 28:1972 
(September 2002), LR 30:2314 (October 2004), LR 33:2195 
(October 2007), LR 37:2395 (August 2011), LR 39:1043 (April 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 42:1667 (October 2016), 
LR 45:256 (February 2019). 

§127. Continuing Education Requirements 

(Formerly §123) 

A. Each licensee shall complete continuing professional 
education activities of at least 10 clock hours each license 
period, July 1-June 30. 

B. Of the 10 hours, five shall be educational activities 
directly related to the scope of practice of the licensee and 
must be designed to increase the knowledge and skills in the 
area of licensure. 

C. Of the 10 hours, five may be in areas related to the 
professions of audiology and speech-language pathology. 
Such activities shall increase knowledge and skills pertinent 
to practice. Examples include: billing, coding, and 
reimbursement; record-keeping; ethics; supervision. 

D. Audiologists who dispense shall ensure that at least 3 
of the total 10 hours are in areas directly related to hearing 
aid dispensing, such as business/practice management, 
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marketing, aural habilitation/rehabilitation, diagnostic 
assessment, characteristics of hearing aids and their 
application, etc. 

E. Dual licensees shall complete 15 hours per year with 
a minimum of five hours in audiology and five hours in 
speech-language pathology; the remaining five may be in 
areas related to the professions of audiology and speech-
language pathology. 

F. Out-of-state audiologists and speech-language 
pathologists who hold telehealth registration shall complete 
the continuing education requirements consistent with the 
license the individual possesses for the state in which the 
provider is located. Telehealth registrants residing in states 
which do not require continuing education for audiologists 
and/or speech-language pathologists shall complete the 
annual continuing education requirements specified in this 
Section and may be audited. 

G. Continuing education events occurring in the month 
of June will be accepted for the collection period in which 
they occur or they may be counted in the following 
collection period which begins on July 1. Hours from one 
event may not be divided between two collection periods. 

H. The graduated scale for the collection of continuing 
education hours is based on the date an applicant receives 
his/her initial license or registration. 

 

License Received Hours Required 

April, May, June  0 

January, February, March  3 

October, November, December  6 

July, August, September 10 

 
I. In the case of extenuating circumstances, when the 

licensee does not fulfill the continuing education 
requirements, the licensee shall submit a written request for 
extension to the board for consideration. 

J. Continuing education hours accrued during the 
applicant's grace period will be accepted. 

K. Acceptable continuing education sponsors and 
activities that are directly related to the practice of audiology 
and/or speech-language pathology: 

1. board-sponsored activities; 
2. presentations in the area of communication 

disorders sponsored by professional organizations such as 
American Academy of Audiology (AAA), American 
Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), Louisiana 
Academy of Audiology (LAA), Louisiana Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (LSHA), Speech Pathologists 
and Audiologists in Louisiana Schools (SPALS), Louisiana 
Society for Hearing Aid Specialists, etc. Business meetings, 
luncheons, award ceremonies, receptions, and other non-
content area events are not recognized as acceptable 
continuing education activities; 

3. activities provided by ASHA-approved continuing 
education providers or AAA-approved continuing education 
activities; 

4. meetings of related professional organizations (e.g., 
Council for Exceptional Children, International Dyslexia 
Association); 

5. college courses in the area of licensure with the 
exception of clinical practicum taken for credit or official 
audit (3 semester hours or 6 quarter hours=10 hours of 
continuing education); 

6. distance learning (video conferences, telephone 
seminars and internet courses sponsored by universities, 
schools, clinics, state agencies, hospitals, professional 
organizations, or related professional organizations); 

7. workshops and in-services that are university, 
school, clinic, hospital or state agency sponsored (maximum 
of five hours in a related area). Only content area workshop 
and in-service time shall count as earned continuing 
education. Documentation of staff development content must 
be separated from employee meeting activities such as 
announcements, review of deadlines, event planning, and 
other non-content area activities; 

8. publication of an article in a peer-reviewed journal 
for the year in which it was published; 

9. digital media (e.g. CD, DVD, online webinars, etc.) 
which is ASHA-approved or AAA-approved continuing 
education media; 

10. the presenting licensee may count 1 1/2 times the 
value of an activity the first time it is presented to allow for 
preparation time (example: a 3 hour workshop=4 1/2 hours). 
The activity will count for the actual hour value for each 
subsequent presentation of the same activity; 

11. teaching at the college level in the area of 
communication disorders is not acceptable. 

L. Pre-Approval Policy 
1. Pre-approval is required for continuing education 

events that do not meet the requirements as listed under 
§125.K.1-11, and pre-approval of continuing education 
events is required in those situations where it is unclear 
whether the topic is relevant to the profession or will further 
a professional's expertise in a particular area. 

2. The licensee shall request pre-approval (minimum 
of 30 days in advance) of self-study activities, or other 
appropriate activities. 

3. Individuals not licensed by LBESPA as well as 
corporations offering continuing education not addressed 
under §127.K., must submit a $50 continuing education 
review fee along with the pre-approval request. 

4. Licensees who elect to attend university 
classes/courses in audiology and/or speech-language 
pathology without payment of the university fee shall submit 
a self-study plan for pre-approval from the Louisiana Board 
of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology to receive continuing education credits. 

5. Self-study activities in the area of communication 
disorders: 

a. digital media (maximum of 5 hours); 
b. reading of journal articles that contain self-

examination questions. Articles shall be submitted for pre-
approval (maximum of 5 hours). 

6. Publication of diagnostic and/or therapeutic 
materials (maximum of 5 hours). 

M. Recording of Continuing Education Activities 
1. Licensees shall record all continuing education 

activities as prescribed by the board and submitted at the 
time of renewal. 

2. Licensees shall maintain records of continuing 
education activities completed for three years.  

3. Licensees shall not submit repeated continuing 
education activities for credit within a three-year period.  

4. A percentage of licensees will be audited each year 
as a means of evaluating compliance with the continuing 
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education requirements. The board may request, through 
random audit, verification of clock hours submitted, 
including information regarding content and attendance. If 
the title of the activity does not clearly state the content, a 
description and/or time-ordered agenda may be required.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:351 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1973 (September 2002), LR 
30:2314 (October 2004), LR 33:2196 (October 2007), LR 37:2395 
(August 2011), LR 39:1043 (April 2013), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 42:1667 (October 2016), LR 45:257 (February 
2019). 

§129. Supervision Requirements for Restricted 

License and Provisional Speech-Language 

Pathology License 

(Formerly §125) 

A. Restricted licensees and provisional speech-language 
pathology licensees are required to undergo direct 
supervision by a licensed speech-language pathologist, 
licensed in accordance with R.S. 37:2659(B). Direct and 
indirect supervision must occur in every work setting in 
which the licensee is employed. An audiologist, licensed in 
accordance with R.S. 37:2659(A) may supervise these 
individuals for the purpose of hearing screening.  

B. A supervising speech-language pathologist must have 
a minimum of one year of full-time professional speech-
language pathology experience following the postgraduate 
professional/employment experience. Full-time employment 
in a school system for the school year is considered to meet 
this requirement. 

C. Prior to the initiation of supervision of a restricted or 
provisional licensee, training in the area of supervision is 
strongly recommended. 

D. An individual may not be supervised by a provisional 
licensee, restricted licensee, assistant licensee, an individual 
on inactive status, a telehealth registrant, or a family 
member. 

E. Supervision must involve the direct participation of 
the supervisor in order for the supervisor to monitor, 
observe, evaluate, and make suggestions for improvement 
regarding the supervisee’s professional employment. 

F. Restricted licensees and provisional speech-language 
pathology licensees must submit a supervisory agreement 
signed by the supervisor and supervisee as prescribed by the 
board. The form must be submitted to the board by the 
supervisee within 30 days of employment and submitted 
annually at the time of renewal. If there is a change in 
supervisor(s) at any time, a new supervisory agreement must 
be submitted to the board within 30 days of the change in 
supervision. If there are multiple supervisors for the same 
supervisee, all supervisors must sign the supervisory 
agreement. 

G. Speech-language pathologists may share the 
supervision responsibility for provisional or restricted 
licensees, but each supervising speech-language pathologist 
shall complete and submit the necessary supervision forms. 

H. Supervisory records, including supervision logs and 
other documentation of supervision, shall be maintained by 
both the supervisor and supervisee for a period of three 
years. Documentation of supervision may be requested by 
the board. 

I. The direct supervision of the licensee, whether 
employed full-time or part-time, shall include 16 monitoring 
activities annually. 

1.  At least eight shall be direct observations 
divided between the areas of diagnostics and management. 
The direct observations must be equal to or greater than a 
total of eight hours. Indirect supervision may include 
conferences, audio and video recordings, review of written 
records, staffings and discussions with other persons who 
have participated in the licensee's training. 

2. For 12-month employees, two direct observations 
shall be conducted each quarter. 

3. For nine-month employees, four direct observations 
shall occur in each semester. If the nine-month employment 
is extended for a period of time, additional direct as well as 
indirect supervision must occur. 

J. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted 
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 100 
provided by the board. 

K. Licensees shall complete all supervision requirements 
consistent with the license held and immediately thereafter 
submit appropriate supervision forms to the board office 
along with a written request for license upgrade and the 
upgrade fee. The licensee shall remain under supervision 
until the upgrade has been approved by the board. 

L. The board will accept supervision provided out-of-
state by an individual licensed or ASHA-certified in the area 
of practice. Supervision must be documented on Form 100. 

1. Restricted licensees and provisional speech-
language pathology licensees who have not worked in 
Louisiana may submit their clinical fellowship report as 
proof of supervision that was carried out during the license 
period. Otherwise, licensees must submit at the time of 
license renewal, appropriate proof of supervision consistent 
with Louisiana supervision requirements. 

M. Licensees who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology and who hold a license requiring 
supervision, shall submit a notarized statement at the time of 
license renewal attesting to the fact that they did not work in 
the profession during the license period. 

N. All costs of supervision shall be borne by the licensee 
or his/her employer, but in no event will those costs be borne 
by the board. 

O. When supervision requirements have not been met in 
accordance with §129, licensees shall complete additional 
months of supervision to replace months of incomplete 
supervision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:352 (May 1996), LR 27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1974 
(September 2002) LR 30:2315 (October 2004), LR 33:2196 
(October 2007), LR 37:2396 (August 2011), LR 39:1043 (April
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2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:259 (February 2019). 

§131. Supervision Requirements for Speech-Language 

Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-

Language Pathology Assistant  

(Formerly §127) 

A. A supervising speech-language pathologist must have 
a minimum of one year of full-time professional speech-
language pathology experience following the postgraduate 
professional/employment experience. Full time employment 
in a school system for the school year is considered to meet 
this requirement. 

B. Prior to the initiation of supervision of an assistant or 
provisional assistant, training in the area of supervision is 
strongly recommended. 

C. An individual may not be supervised by a provisional 
licensee, restricted licensee, assistant licensee, an individual 
on inactive status, a telehealth registrant, or a family 
member. 

D. The supervision requirements specified in these 
regulations are minimum requirements. It is the 
responsibility of the speech-language pathologist to design 
and provide a supervision system that protects patient/client 
care and maintains the highest possible standards of quality. 

E. Supervision must involve the direct participation of 
the supervisor in order for the supervisor to monitor, 
observe, evaluate, and make suggestions for improvement 
regarding the supervisee’s employment. 

F. The supervisor is responsible for ensuring that the 
assistant does not make decisions regarding evaluation, 
management and future disposition of clients. 

G. The supervisor is responsible for initial consultation 
with the assistant regarding coursework and practicum 
experiences prior to caseload assignment. The supervising 
speech-language pathologist shall assign only those tasks for 
which the assistant has been trained. 

H. Decision-making regarding specification of on-going 
treatment protocol and necessary modifications, is the 
responsibility of the supervisor. The level of supervision 
required is considered the minimum necessary to ensure 
appropriate patient/client care. 

I. The supervising speech-language pathologist shall be 
readily available for consultation with the assistant licensee. 
This includes personal contact, telephone, or other means of 
communication. 

J. Speech-language pathology assistants and provisional 
speech-language pathology assistants must submit a 
supervisory agreement signed by the supervisor and 
supervisee as prescribed by the board. The form must be 
submitted to the board by the supervisee within 30 days of 
employment and submitted annually at the time of renewal. 
If there is a change in supervisor(s) at any time, a new 
supervisory agreement must be submitted to the board 
within 30 days of the change in supervision. If there are 
multiple supervisors for the same supervisee, all supervisors 
must sign the supervisory agreement. 

K. Speech-language pathologists may share the 
supervision responsibility for speech-language pathology 
assistants or provisional speech-language pathology 
assistants, but each supervising speech-language pathologist 
shall complete and submit the necessary supervision forms. 

L. Supervisory records, including supervision logs and 
other documentation of supervision, shall be maintained by 
both the supervisor and supervisee for a period of three 
years. Documentation of supervision may be requested by 
the board. 

M. The board will accept supervision given out-of-state 
by a licensed or ASHA certified speech-language pathologist 
in the area of licensure. Licensees must submit at the time of 
license renewal, appropriate proof of supervision consistent 
with Louisiana supervision requirements. 

N. Assistants who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology shall submit a notarized statement at the 
time of license renewal attesting to the fact that they did not 
work in the profession during the license period. 

O. Although more than one speech-language pathologist 
may provide supervision of an assistant licensee and 
provisional assistant licensee, at no time may a licensed 
speech-language pathologist supervise or be listed as a 
supervisor for more than three assistant or provisional 
assistant licensees. When multiple supervisors are used, the 
supervisors are encouraged to coordinate and communicate 
with each other. 

P. Provisional speech-language pathology assistants and 
speech-language pathology assistants must undergo direct 
supervision as well as indirect supervision in every work 
setting in which the licensee is employed. 

Q. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted 
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 200 
provided by the board. 

R. Supervision Requirements for the Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant 

1. A minimum of one clock hour of direct supervision 
shall be completed in the primary work setting each week 
for each licensee. If the assistant is employed in more than 
one work setting, additional direct supervision must occur in 
the secondary work setting. 

2. A minimum of one clock hour of indirect 
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee. 
These activities should include, but are not limited to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and 
documenting approval; 

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring, scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 
g. directing research projects, in-service training 

and public relations programs; 
h. conducting telephone conferences. 

3. If circumstances prohibit a supervisor from 
completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§131.R.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
shall be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week. 

4. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is unavailable for supervision for more than one week,
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arrangements shall be made for another qualified supervisor 
or the speech-language pathology assistant shall be 
transferred to other duties. 

5. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Full-Time 
and Part-Time Supervision Requirements 

 

Hours Worked 

Required Direct 

Supervision 

Required Indirect 

Supervision 

21-40 hours  1 hour/week 1 hour/week 

20 hours or less  1 hour/every 2 weeks 1 hour/every 2 weeks 

 
6. Assistant licensees shall be supervised only by a 

speech-language pathologist licensed under the provisions of 
R.S. 37:2659(B) with the exception of hearing screenings 
which may be supervised by an audiologist, licensed under 
the provisions of R.S. 37:2659(A).  

S. Supervision Requirements for the Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant 

1. A minimum of three clock hours of direct 
supervision shall be completed in the primary work setting 
each week for each licensee. If the provisional speech-
language pathology assistant is employed in more than one 
work setting, additional direct supervision must occur in the 
secondary work setting. 

2. A minimum of two clock hours of indirect 
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee. 

3. These activities should include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and 
documenting approval; 

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 
g. directing research projects, in-service training 

and public relations programs; 
h. conducting telephone conferences. 

4. If extenuating circumstances prohibit a supervisor 
from completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§131.S.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
shall be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week. 

5. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is out for more than one week, arrangements shall be made 
for another qualified supervisor or the provisional speech-
language pathology assistant shall be transferred to other 
duties. 

6. When supervision requirements have not been met, 
in accordance with §131 licensees shall complete additional 
months of supervision to replace months of incomplete 
supervision.  

7. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
Full-Time and Part-Time Supervision Requirements 

 

Hours Worked 

Required Direct 

Supervision 

Required Indirect 

Supervision  

21-40 hours 3 hours/week 2 hours/week 

Hours Worked 

Required Direct 

Supervision 

Required Indirect 

Supervision  

20 hours or less 1.5 hours/every 2 weeks 1 hour/every 2 weeks 

 
8. Provisional assistant licensees shall be supervised 

by a speech-language pathologist licensed under the 
provisions of R.S. 37:2659(B) with the exception of hearing 
screenings which may be supervised by an audiologist, 
licensed under the provisions of R.S. 37:2659(A).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:353 (May1996), LR 27:200 (February 2001), repromulgated LR 
27:1691 (October 2001), amended LR 30:2316 (October 2004), LR 
33:2197 (October 2007), LR 37:2396 (August 2011), amended by 
the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 45:260 (February 2019). 

§133. Independent Practice 

(Formerly §129) 

A. Licensed audiologists and speech-language 
pathologists, by virtue of academic coursework, clinical 
practicum, and professional experience, are qualified to 
engage in the autonomous or independent practice of the 
professions. Individuals who hold a license, i.e., provisional, 
restricted, assistant or provisional assistant, mandating 
supervision during the practice of the professions may not 
engage in the autonomous or independent practice of 
audiology or speech-language pathology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 33:2198 (October 2007), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 45:261 (February 2019). 

§135. Telepractice  

(Formerly §130) 

A. Telepractice, regardless of where the service is 
rendered or delivered, constitutes the practice of audiology 
or speech-language pathology and shall require Louisiana 
licensure for in-state practitioners and telehealth registration 
for out-of-state licensed practitioners. 

B. A provider of telehealth services shall be competent in 
both the type of services provided and the methodology and 
equipment used to provide the services. 

C. A provider of telehealth services must use methods 
for protecting client information that include authentication 
and encryption technology. 

D. The standard of care shall be the same as if the 
audiology or speech-language pathology services were 
delivered face-to-face. It is the responsibility of the provider 
to determine candidacy and to ensure that the client is 
comfortable with the technology being utilized. 

E. The client shall be notified of telehealth services 
including but not limited to the right to refuse telehealth 
services, options for service delivery, and instructions on 
filing and resolving complaints, in all applicable 
jurisdictions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 39:1044 (April 2013), amended by 
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the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 42:1668 (October 2016), LR 45:261 (February 
2019). 

§137. Hearing Aid Dispensing (Formerly §131) 

A. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall meet the 
coursework and practicum requirements for dispensing as 
specified in R.S. 37:2650 et seq. 

B. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall maintain 
annual calibration records on audiometric equipment. 

C. Audiologists who dispense hearing aids shall comply 
with the following: 

1. Audiologists shall ensure that a pre-purchase 
evaluation includes: 

a. a case history; 
b. an otoscopic examination; 
c. a basic audiological test battery conducted within 

the preceding six-month period in a sound-treated 
environment unless the patient’s physical condition prohibits 
accomplishment of these procedures. The battery shall 
include: 
 i. basic comprehensive audiometry; 
 ii. appropriate tolerance testing; 

d. middle ear measurements shall also be obtained 
when indicated. 

2. Audiologists shall provide the consumer with a 
minimum 30-day trial period on all new hearing aids 
purchased. 

3. Audiologists shall inform the consumer of the total 
cost of the hearing aid, including any fees for returning the 
aid at the end of the trial period. 

4. Audiologists shall conduct a post-fitting evaluation 
that includes functional gain measurements conducted in a 
sound treated environment and/or real ear measurements 
unless the patient's physical conditions prohibit 
accomplishment of these procedures. 

5. Audiologists who engage in the fitting or selling of 
hearing aids shall deliver to each person supplied with a 
hearing aid, a bill of sale which shall contain the dispenser's 
signature, address and license number, together with a 
description of the make, model and serial number of the 
hearing aid and the amount charged. The bill of sale shall 
also indicate whether the hearing aid is new, used, or 
reconditioned. 

D. Licensed Audiologists who did not hold a doctoral 
degree and were not registered to dispense hearing aids prior 
to August 1, 2016 and who wish to include hearing aid 
dispensing as a component of their practice, must have proof 
of appropriate training, education and experience in the area 
of hearing aid dispensing. These audiologists who wish to 
include dispensing as part of their practice shall submit a 
self-study for pre-approval by the board. Upon culmination, 
the audiologist must submit a report documenting 
completion. An audiologist who meets the qualifications for 
licensure but lacks the coursework and practicum 
requirements necessary for registration as a dispenser may 
fulfill the requirements by: 

1. Completing nine months of postgraduate 
professional employment/experience under the supervision 
of a licensed dispensing audiologist, and  

2. By proof of the successful completion of a study 
course by the National Institute for Hearing Instruments 
Studies, or its equivalent. Equivalency for National Institute 
for Hearing Instruments Studies is defined as: 

a. an individualized program of study that shall 
include: 
 i. hearing aid technology and dispensing courses 
sponsored by hearing aid manufacturers to include a 
minimum of 15 clock hours; 
 ii. workshops in the area of hearing aid 
technology and dispensing sponsored by professional 
organizations or individual practitioners to include a 
minimum of 15 clock hours; 
 iii. successful completion of university 
coursework in the area of hearing aid technology and 
dispensing; or 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:353 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:201 (February 2001), LR 28:1975 (September 2002), LR 
30:2317 (October 2004), LR 33:2198 (October 2007), LR 37:2398 
(August 2011), repromulgated LR 37:2624 (September 2011), 
amended by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 42:1668 (October 2016), LR 45:262 
(February 2019). 

§139. Qualifications and Duties of Aides 

(Formerly §133) 

A. Audiologists and speech-language pathologists are 
legally, ethically, and morally responsible for the services 
provided by aides working under their direction. 

B. Requirements for the use of aides follow: 
1. A licensed audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist may utilize an aide who meets the following 
qualifications. The aide shall: 

a. be of good moral character; 
b. be at least 18 years old; 
c. possess appropriate communication skills; 
d. have a high school diploma or G..E.D. 

2. The supervising audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist is responsible for determining that the aide is 
qualified and prepared for the duties which s/he will be 
assigned. It is recommended that the aide be afforded 
continuing education opportunities. Appropriate areas of 
training may include: 

a. normal processes in speech, language and 
hearing; 

b. disorders of speech, language and hearing; 
c. record-keeping and data compilation; 
d. utilization of equipment and materials; 
e. professional ethics and their application to the 

aide's duties; 
f. administration of hearing screening tests. 

C. Supervision 
1. The licensed audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist shall provide periodic direct observation for each 
aide at least once per month during the initial year of the 
aide's employment. Speech-language pathology aides are 
required to undergo direct supervision by a licensed speech-
language pathologist, licensed in the area in accordance with 
R.S. 37:2659(B). Audiology aides are required to undergo 
direct supervision by a licensed audiologist, licensed in the 
area in accordance with R.S. 37:2659(A). Audiology aides 
and speech-language pathology aides may not be supervised 
by a provisional licensee, restricted licensee, or assistant 
licensee. 
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2. The direct observation in subsequent years shall be 
established by the supervising audiologist or speech-
language pathologist on an individual basis but shall be no 
less than once every three months. 

3. The supervising audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist shall be readily available for consultation with 
the aide at all times. 

4. Documentation of direct supervision shall be 
maintained by the supervising audiologist or speech-
language pathologist and shall be submitted to the board 
upon request. 

5. The supervising audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist shall report to the board at the time of licensure 
renewal, the names and employment locations of aides. 

D. The speech-language pathology aide may engage in 
activities limited to those that are planned and directed by 
the supervising speech-language pathologist. Providing that 
the preparation, training, and supervision are appropriate, the 
following tasks may be assigned to speech-language 
pathology aides: 

1. setting up room and equipment; 
2. clearing room and storing equipment; 
3. preparing materials (such as making copies, typing 

forms) for use by the speech-language pathologist; 
4. checking equipment to determine if the equipment 

is performing adequately; 
5. transporting patients/clients to and from sessions; 
6. assisting with field trips; 
7. performing hearing screenings limited to pure-tone 

air conduction screening and screening tympanometry; 
8. recording, charting, graphing, or otherwise 

displaying objective data relative to the patient's/client's 
performance. 

E. The audiology aide may engage in activities limited to 
those that are planned and directed by the supervising 
audiologist. Providing that the preparation, training, and 
supervision are appropriate, the following tasks may be 
assigned to audiology aides: 

1. setting up room and equipment; 
2. clearing room and storing equipment; 
3. preparing materials (such as making copies, typing 

forms) for use by the audiologist; 
4. checking equipment to determine if the equipment 

is performing adequately; 
5. transporting patients/clients to and from sessions; 
6. assisting with field trips; 
7. performing hearing screening tests and pure-tone 

air conduction threshold tests without interpretation; 
8. recording, charting, graphing, or otherwise 

displaying objective data relative to the patient’s/client's 
performance. 

F. Only the audiologist or speech-language pathologist 
shall exercise independent judgment in the provision of 
professional services. Specifically, the audiologist or speech-
language pathologist may not delegate any of the following 
to the aide: 

1. speech-language screening; 
2. evaluation, diagnosis, or therapy with individuals 

with speech, language or hearing disorders; 

3. interpretation of test and assessment results or 
discussion of confidential information despite the fact that 
this information may have been requested by the 
patient/client, parent or referring agency; 

4. performance of any procedure for which the aide 
has not been trained. 

G. Exemption. Aides employed on or before April 1996 
may continue to operate under the provisions of Chapter 3, 
§§301-305 of the Louisiana Register 16:409 (May 1990) of 
the Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology and 
Audiology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 16:409 (May 1990), amended LR 
22:355 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 28:1781 
(August 2002), LR 30:2318 (October 2004), LR 33:2199 (October 
2007), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:262 (February 2019). 

§141. Disciplinary Actions 

(Formerly §135) 

A. This board may refuse to issue, may suspend or 
revoke a license for the practice of audiology or speech-
language pathology or otherwise discipline an applicant or 
licensee, upon finding that the applicant or licensee has 
violated any provisions of R.S. 37:2650 et seq., or any of the 
rules or regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:354 (May 1996), LR 28:1975 (September 2002), LR 30:2319 
(October 2004), LR 33:2200 (October 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:263 (February 2019). 

Chapter 3. Impaired Practitioner Program 

§301. Purpose and Scope 

A. - B.7. … 
C. The applicant or licensee will be responsible for 

executing all required releases of information and 
authorizations required for the board to obtain information 
from any monitor, treatment or service provider concerning 
the licensee's progress and participation in the program. 

D. - G. … 
H. The board will, to the full extent permissible, 

maintain an agreement or consent agreement and order 
relating to the licensee's participation in the Impaired 
Practitioner Program as a confidential matter. The board 
retains the discretion to share information it deems necessary 
with those persons providing evaluation/assessment, therapy, 
treatment, supervision, monitoring or drug/alcohol testing or 
reports. Violation of any terms, conditions or requirements 
contained in any consent agreement and order, or board 
decision can result in a loss of the confidential status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 30:2319 (October 2004), amended 
LR 37:2398 (August 2011), amended by the Department of Health,
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Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:263 
(February 2019). 

Chapter 5. Procedural Rules 

§501. Investigation of Complaints 

A. The board is authorized to receive from any person, a 
complaint(s) against licensees, registrants, applicants, or 
other persons engaging in practices which violate or are 
alleged to violate the provisions of R.S. 37:2650 et seq. 

B. Any complaint bearing on a licensee or registrant's 
professional competence, conviction of a crime, 
unauthorized practice, mental competence, neglect of 
practice, or violation of state law or ethical standards where 
applicable to the practice of audiology or speech-language 
pathology shall be submitted to the board in writing and 
signed by the complainant. 

C. The board is also authorized to initiate such 
complaints when the board otherwise possesses or obtains 
information suggesting such a complaint is warranted. 

D. Once a written complaint is received, the board shall 
initiate a review of the allegations contained therein. The 
board may dispose of the complaint informally through 
correspondence or conference with the licensee, registrant, 
and/or the complainant, which may result in a private letter 
of concern or a consent agreement and order. If the licensee 
or registrant stipulates to the complaint and waives her/his 
right to a formal hearing, the board may impose appropriate 
sanctions without delay. If the board finds that a complaint 
cannot be resolved informally, the written complaint shall be 
forwarded to the board’s designated investigator for 
investigation. The board shall at that time notify the licensee 
or registrant, by certified mail, return receipt requested, of 
the investigation. 

E. The board's designated investigator shall have 
authority to investigate the nature of the complaint through 
conference, correspondence, and other investigative 
procedures, directed to those parties or witnesses involved. 
The board's designated investigator shall send the involved 
licensee or registrant notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, of the investigation containing a short summary 
of the complaint. All subsequent letters to the involved 
licensee or registrant, all letters to the complainant, or any 
other witness, shall be sent with a designation "personal and 
confidential" clearly marked on the outside of the envelope. 

F. The board's designated investigator shall have 
authority to investigate the nature of the complaint through 
conference, correspondence, and other investigative 
procedures, directed to those parties or witnesses involved. 
The board's designated investigator shall send the involved 
licensee or registrant notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, of the investigation containing a short summary 
of the complaint. All subsequent letters to the involved 
licensee or registrant, all letters to the complainant, or any 
other witness, shall be sent with a designation "personal and 
confidential" clearly marked on the outside of the envelope. 

G. The designated investigator shall conclude the 
investigation as quickly as possible, without compromising 
thoroughness. Unless good cause is shown by the designated 
investigator satisfactory to the board, which may extend the 
time for the investigation, the investigation and 
recommendations to the board shall be delivered to the board 
within 60 days of the date that the designated investigator 
first received the assignment from the board. 

H. The designated investigator may determine that the 
licensee or registrant's explanation satisfactorily answers the 
complaint and may recommend to the board that the matter 
be dismissed. 

I. If the designated investigator's recommendation for 
an informal hearing is accepted by the board, the designated 
investigator shall notify the licensee or registrant of the time, 
date, and place of the informal hearing and of the issues to 
be discussed. The licensee or registrant shall appear on a 
voluntary basis. The licensee or registrant shall be advised 
that the hearing will be informal, no attorneys will be 
present, and no transcript of the hearing will be made. Any 
witnesses who testify will not be placed under oath, and no 
subpoenas will be issued. The licensee or registrant shall be 
informed that any statements made at the informal hearing 
will not be used or introduced at a formal hearing, unless all 
parties consent. If the licensee or registrant notifies the 
designated investigator that s/he does not wish an informal 
hearing, or if the licensee or registrant fails or refuses to 
attend an informal hearing, the informal hearing shall not be 
held. In that event, the board shall initiate a formal 
disciplinary hearing. 

J. A complaint may be resolved by: 
1. a private letter of concern to the licensee, registrant, 

or other appropriate parties. 
2. a consent agreement and order approved by the 

board and entered into by the licensee or registrant. 
K. The designated investigator shall recommend to the 

board the initiation of a formal disciplinary hearing if the 
investigation discloses any of the following: the complaint is 
sufficiently serious to require a formal adjudication; the 
licensee or registrant fails to respond to the correspondence 
by the designated investigator concerning the complaint; the 
licensee or registrant's response to the designated 
investigator discloses that further action is necessary; an 
informal hearing is held but does not resolve all of the 
issues; or the licensee or registrant refuses to comply with 
the recommended remedial action. 

L. The designated investigator shall submit any 
recommended action to the board in brief, concise language, 
without any reference to the particulars of the investigation, 
to any findings of fact or any conclusions of law arrived at 
during the investigative process. 

M. The board shall have the authority to delegate to the 
designated investigator any alleged violations of the Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology Act, R.S. 37:2650 et 
seq., and any alleged violations of any and all rules and 
regulations adopted by the board pursuant thereto, prior to 
board action on those alleged violations. If requested by the 
board, the designated investigator shall submit to the board 
the complete investigation file. Final authority for 
appropriate action rests solely with the board including 
formal notification to the complainant, the licensee, or 
registrant. 

N. At no time shall the designated investigator 
investigate any case as authorized by the board where the 
investigator has any personal or economic interest in the 
outcome of the investigation, or is personally related to or 
maintains a close friendship with the complainant, the 
licensee, the registrant, or any of the witnesses involved. In 
such event, the designated investigator shall immediately 
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notify the board, who shall appoint a substitute investigator 
for disposition of that particular case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:373 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:356 (May 1996), LR 30:2320 (October 2004), LR 33:2200 
(October 2007), LR 37:2398 (August 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 42:1668 (October 2016), LR 45:264 (February 
2019). 

§503. Compliance Hearings 

A. The board shall provide a compliance hearing to a 

rejected applicant for licensure or registration provided that 

the rejected applicant requests a compliance hearing in 

writing within 30 days of the receipt of the notice of 

rejection. The applicant's request for a compliance hearing 

shall state with specificity the reason(s) why the application 

should be accepted. 
B. … 
C. The purpose and intent of the compliance hearing is 

to provide a forum for the applicant, licensee, or registrant to 
present documentary evidence, in the form of affidavits, 
public records, official records, letters, etc., along with 
testimony under oath to establish that the applicant, licensee, 
or registrant does, in fact, meet the lawful requirements for 
issuance of a license or registration, or the retention of the 
license or registration. The board shall have the authority to 
administer oaths, hear the testimony, and conduct the 
hearing. The applicant, licensee, or registrant may be 
represented by counsel, or may represent her/himself. 

D. In any compliance hearing, the burden of proof shall 
rest with the applicant, licensee, or registrant. 

E. Within 30 days after the compliance hearing, the 
board shall forward its final decision, including specific 
reasons thereof, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 
the applicant, licensee or registrant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:357 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 30:2321 
(October 2004), LR 37:2399 (August 2011), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 45:265 (February 2019). 

§505. Formal Disciplinary Hearings 

A. If, after completion of the investigation, the board 
determines that the circumstances may warrant the 
withholding, denial, suspension, or revocation of a license or 
registration, or other disciplinary action, the board shall 
initiate a formal disciplinary hearing. The board shall 
promptly notify the attorney general who is authorized and 
directed to appear on behalf of the state. The hearing shall 
convene in the parish in which the board is domiciled. The 
hearing shall be held before the board only after the involved 
licensee is given at least 30-days’ notice by certified mail, 
return receipt requested. The notice shall include the 
following: 

A.1. - B. … 
C. The board shall arrange for a certified court reporter 

to make an accurate recording of all testimony presented and 
all documents entered into evidence at the hearing. A party 

wishing to file documents into evidence shall provide the 
court reporter with a copy marked for identification as an 
exhibit and shall provide copies to each member of the 
hearing panel, the board's legal counsel, opposing counsel, 
as well as counsel for any joined parties, and/or any 
unrepresented parties. 

D. - E. … 
F. It is the licensee and registrant's continuing obligation 

to keep the board informed of her/his whereabouts. 
Accordingly, if notice of the hearing cannot be delivered by 
mail because of a licensee or registrant's change of address 
and the new address is not provided to the board, the board 
may hold the hearing in the licensee or registrant's absence, 
after making reasonable efforts to obtain the licensee or 
registrant's new address. 

G. Within 15 days of the licensee or registrant's receipt 
of notice, s/he may file a written answer to the notice, 
denying some or all of the charges, or offering any 
explanation or asserting whatever defense s/he deems 
applicable. 

H. - J. … 
K. If the board finds by a preponderance of the evidence 

that the withholding, denial, suspension, or revocation of a 
license or registration, or other disciplinary action is 
warranted, the board shall sanction said individual according 
to the provisions of R.S. 37:2662(B): 

1. refuse to issue a license or registration; 
2. refuse to renew a license or registration; 
3. issue a public letter of reprimand; 
4. - 6. … 
7. suspend a license or registration; 
8. revoke a license or registration; 
9. … 
10. otherwise discipline a licensee or registrant. 

L.  A final decision or order adverse to a party in an 
adjudication proceeding shall be in writing or stated in the 
record within 45 days of the formal procedure. A final 
decision shall include findings of fact and conclusions of 
law. Findings of fact, if set forth in statutory language, shall 
be accompanied by a concise and explicit statement of the 
underlying facts supporting the findings. Parties shall be 
notified by the board, either personally or by certified mail, 
return receipt requested, of any decision or order. Upon 
request, a copy of the decision or order shall be mailed to 
each party and to her/his attorney of record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:357 (May 1996), LR 30:2321 (October 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology, LR 42:1669 (October 2016), LR 45:265 (February 
2019). 

§507. General Procedural Rules for Hearings 

A. The board is empowered to issue subpoenas upon 
receipt of a written request from the licensee, registrant, or 
attorney general at least 15 days in advance of any scheduled 
hearing. The board shall issue said subpoenas upon receipt 
of said written request and receipt of any and all fees for 
subpoenas as provided for in §123.A. promulgated by the 
board. 

B. - H. … 
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I. Upon request by either the licensee, registrant, or the 
attorney general, witnesses shall be sequestered and not 
allowed in the hearing chambers during the hearing or 
permitted to discuss their testimony with other witnesses 
prior to the conclusion of the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:358 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 28:1975 
(September 2002), LR 30:2322 (October 2004), LR 37:2399 
(August 2011), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:265 (February 
2019). 

§512. Summary Suspension of License/Registration 

A. The board may suspend an existing license or 
registration because of a person’s conviction of a felony or 
misdemeanor if the crime directly relates to the duties and 
responsibilities of the licensee or registration. The board 
may also suspend an existing license or registration if there 
are allegations of fact that the board believes demonstrates a 
substantial likelihood that the licensee or registrant poses a 
risk of harm to the public health, safety or welfare. 

B. If the board finds that public health, safety or welfare 
imperatively requires emergency action, and incorporates a 
finding to that effect in its order, summary suspension of a 
license or registration may be ordered pending proceedings 
for revocation or other action. These proceedings shall be 
promptly instituted and determined. 

C. Following the proceedings, the notice to summarily 
suspend an existing license or registration shall be serviced 
personally upon the respondent or by certified mail or by 
other reasonable means. The notice shall inform the licensee 
or registrant of the opportunity, including the time and place, 
to appear before the board to show cause regarding why the 
license or registration should not be suspended. The 
opportunity for the licensee or registrant to be heard shall 
occur from 2 to 10 days following the summary suspension 
of the license or registration. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

37: 2651-2666. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 33:2201 (October 2007), amended 
by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-Language Pathology 
and Audiology, LR 45:266 (February 2019). 

Chapter 7. Code of Ethics 

§701. Preamble 

A. The Code of Ethics of the Louisiana Board of 
Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
specifies professional standards that govern clinical and 
scientific practice, direct professional conduct, provide for 
proper implementation of professionals' responsibilities to 
those served, and ensure the welfare of the consumer. 

B. Any action that violates the intent and purpose of this 
code shall be considered unethical. Although the Code of 
Ethics cannot be inclusive of all specific situations, failure to 
delineate any particular responsibility or practice in this 
Code of Ethics shall not be construed as denial of the 
existence of such responsibilities or practices. 

C. Principles of ethics form the underlying moral basis 
for the Code of Ethics. Individuals shall observe these 

principles as affirmative obligations under all conditions of 
professional activity. 

D. Rules of ethics are specific statements of minimally 
acceptable as well as unacceptable professional conduct 
which are applicable to all individuals. 

E. Rules of Ethics for Audiology, Speech-Language 
Pathology, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology, and 
Restricted Speech-Language Pathology Licensees and 
Registrants 

1. Principle of Ethics I. Licensees and registrants shall 
honor their responsibility to hold paramount the welfare of 
persons they serve professionally or who are participants in 
research and scholarly activities, provide professional 
services with honesty and compassion, and respect the rights 
of those served. The licensee or registrant shall take all 
reasonable precautions to avoid harm to the individual 
served professionally. 

a. Individuals shall provide all clinical services and 
scientific activities competently. 

b. Individuals shall use every resource, including 
interprofessional collaboration and referral when applicable, 
to ensure that appropriate service is provided. 

c. Individuals shall not discriminate in the delivery 
of professional services or in the conduct of research and 
scholarly activities on the basis of race, ethnicity, 
citizenship, sex, gender identity/gender expression, sexual 
orientation, age, religion, national origin, disability, culture, 
language, or dialect. 

d. Individuals shall not misrepresent their 
credentials nor those under their supervision including aides, 
assistants, technicians, other support personnel, students, 
research interns, or individuals completing the postgraduate 
professional employment/experience, and they shall fully 
inform those they serve professionally of the name, role, and 
credentials of persons providing services. 

e. Individuals may delegate tasks related to the 
provision of clinical services to students, aides, assistants, 
technicians, or other support personnel only if those persons 
are adequately trained and appropriately supervised. The 
responsibility for the welfare of those served remains with 
the fully licensed individual. 

f. Individuals shall not delegate tasks that require 
the unique skills, knowledge, judgment or credentials that 
are within the scope of practice of their profession to aides, 
assistants, technicians, other support personnel or 
nonprofessionals over whom they have supervisory 
authority. 

g. Individuals shall obtain consent from the persons 
they serve only after a description of and discussion about 
the nature and possible risks and effects of services to be 
rendered, technology to be employed, and products to be 
dispensed. Consumers shall also be informed about possible 
effects of not engaging in treatment or following clinical 
recommendations. When the consumer is incapable of 
providing informed consent, individuals should seek 
authorization from a legally authorized/appointed 
representative or family member. 

h. Individuals shall enroll and include persons as 
participants in research only if participation is voluntary, 
without coercion, and with informed consent. 

i. Individuals shall accurately represent the 
intended purpose of a service, product, or research endeavor 
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and shall abide by established standards for clinical practice 
and the responsible conduct of research. 

j. Individuals shall evaluate the effectiveness of 
services rendered, technology employed, and products 
dispensed and shall provide services or dispense products 
only when benefit can reasonably be expected. 

k. Individuals shall not guarantee, directly or by 
implication, the results of any treatment or procedure; 
however, they may make a reasonable statement of 
prognosis. 

l. Individuals shall use independent and evidence-
based clinical judgment, keeping paramount the welfare of 
those served. 

m. Individuals shall not provide clinical services 
solely by correspondence but may provide services via 
telepractice consistent with professional standards and state 
and federal regulations. 

n. Individuals shall protect the confidentiality of 
any professional or personal information about persons 
served professionally or participants involved in research 
and scholarly activities, and may disclose confidential 
information only when doing so is necessary to protect the 
welfare of the person or of the community, is legally 
authorized, or is otherwise required by law. 

o. Individuals shall protect the confidentiality and 
security of records of professional services rendered, 
research and scholarly activities conducted, and products 
dispensed. Access to these records shall be allowed only 
when doing so is necessary to protect the welfare of the 
person or of the community, is legally authorized, or is 
otherwise required by law. 

p. Individuals shall maintain timely records and 
accurately record and bill for services provided and products 
dispensed, and shall not misrepresent services rendered, 
products dispensed, or research and scholarly activities 
conducted. 

q. Individuals whose professional practice is 
adversely affected by substance abuse or other health-related 
conditions are impaired practitioners and shall seek 
professional assistance and, where appropriate, withdraw 
from the affected areas of practice. 

r. Individuals who have knowledge a practitioner is 
unable to provide professional services with reasonable skill 
and safety shall report this information to the appropriate 
authority including the licensure board. 

s. Individuals shall provide reasonable notice and 
information about alternatives for obtaining care in the event 
that the individual can no longer provide professional 
services. 

2. Principle of Ethics II. Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to achieve and maintain the highest level of 
professional competence and performance consistent with 
prevailing practice standards. 

a. Individuals shall engage in only those aspects of 
the professions that are within the scope of their practice and 
competence, considering their level of licensure, registration, 
education, training and experience. 

b. Individuals who engage in research shall comply 
with institutional, state, and federal regulations that address 
any aspects of research. 

c. Individuals shall enhance and refine their 
professional competence and expertise through engagement 
in lifelong learning applicable to their professional activities 
and skills. 

d. Individuals in administrative or supervisory roles 
shall not require or permit their professional staff to provide 
services or conduct research activities that exceed a 
licensee’s competence, education, training, experience, and 
licensure status. 

e. Individuals in administrative or supervisory roles 
shall not require or permit their professional staff to provide 
services or conduct clinical activities that compromise the 
licensee independent and objective professional judgment. 

f. Individuals shall make use of technology and 
instrumentation consistent with accepted professional 
practice guidelines and shall ensure that all technology and 
instrumentation used to provide services or to conduct 
research and scholarly activities are in proper working order 
and are properly calibrated. When such technology is not 
available, an appropriate referral should be made. 

3. Principle of Ethics III. Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to the public when advocating for 
communication, swallowing, and vestibular needs of the 
public, and shall provide accurate information involving any 
aspect of the professions. 

a. Individuals shall not misrepresent their 
credentials, competence, education, training, experience, or 
scholarly contributions. 

b. Individuals shall avoid engaging in conflicts of 
interest whereby personal, financial, or other considerations 
have the potential to influence or compromise professional 
judgment and objectivity. 

c. Individuals shall not misrepresent research and 
scholarly activities, diagnostic information, services 
rendered, results of services provided, products dispensed, or 
the effects of products dispensed. 

d. Individuals shall not defraud through intent, 
ignorance, or negligence, or engage in any scheme to 
defraud in connection with obtaining payment, 
reimbursement, or grants and contracts for services 
provided, research conducted, or products dispensed. 

e. Individuals' statements to the public shall provide 
accurate and complete information about the nature and 
management of communication disorders, about the 
professions, about professional services, about products, and 
about research and scholarly activities.  

f. Individuals' statements to the public shall adhere 
to prevailing professional norms and shall not contain 
misrepresentations when advertising, announcing, and 
promoting their professional services and products or when 
reporting research results. 

g. Individuals shall not make false statements 
regarding areas of professional practice, and shall complete 
all materials honestly and without omission. 

4. Principle of Ethics IV. Individuals shall uphold the 
dignity and autonomy of the professions, maintain 
collaborative and harmonious interprofessional and 
intraprofessional relationships, and accept the professions' 
self-imposed standards. 
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a. Individuals shall work collaboratively, when 
appropriate, with members of one’s own profession and 
members of other professions to deliver the highest quality 
of care. 

b. Individuals shall exercise independent 
professional judgment in recommending and providing 
professional services when an administrative mandate, 
referral source, or prescription prevents keeping the welfare 
of persons served paramount. 

c. Individuals’ statements to colleagues about 
professional services, research results, and products shall 
adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall contain 
no misrepresentations. 

d. Individuals shall not engage in any form of 
conduct that adversely reflects on the professions or on the 
individual’s fitness to serve persons professionally.  

e. Individuals shall not engage in dishonesty, 
negligence, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation. 

f. Applicants for licensure or registration, and 
individuals making disclosures shall not make false 
statements and shall complete all application and disclosure 
materials honestly and without omission. 

g. Individuals shall not engage in any form of 
harassment, power abuse, or sexual harassment. 

h. Individuals shall not engage in sexual activity 
with students, patients/clients, research participants, speech-
language pathology assistants, aides, or licensees over whom 
they exercise professional authority or power. 

i. Individuals shall not allow anyone under their 
supervision to engage in any practice that violates any 
provision of the practice act or Rules and Regulations 
including the Code of Ethics. 

j. Individuals shall assign credit only to those who 
have contributed to a publication, presentation, protocol, 
process, or product. Credit shall be assigned in proportion to 
the contribution and only with the contributor's consent. 

k. Individuals shall not engage in plagiarism and 
shall reference the source when using other persons’ ideas, 
research, presentations, or products in written, oral, or any 
other media presentation or summary. 

l. Individuals shall not discriminate in their 
relationships with colleagues, assistants, other support 
personnel, students, and members of other professions and 
disciplines on the basis of race, ethnicity, citizenship, sex, 
gender identity/gender expression, sexual orientation, age, 
religion, national origin, disability, culture, language, or 
dialect.  

m. Individuals shall comply with local, state, and 
federal laws and regulations applicable to professional 
practice, research ethics, and the responsible conduct of 
research.  

n. Individuals shall inform the board of any 
violations of the practice act and the Rules and Regulations 
including the Code of Ethics. 

o. Individuals shall cooperate fully with the board 
on matters of professional conduct relative to the practice act 
and the Rules and Regulations including the Code of Ethics, 
and shall not make false statements of fact or withhold 
relevant facts necessary to fairly adjudicate complaints.  

p. Individuals who have been publicly sanctioned or 
denied a license, registration, or a professional credential by 
any professional association, professional licensing authority 

or board, or other professional regulatory body shall self-
report by notifying the board in writing within thirty (30) 
days of the final action or disposition. Such written 
notification shall consist of a certified copy of the final 
action, sanction, or disposition. 

q. Individuals who have been convicted, been found 
guilty, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to any 
misdemeanor involving dishonesty, physical harm or the 
threat of physical harm to the person or property of another, 
or any felony, shall self-report by notifying the board in 
writing within thirty (30) days of the conviction, plea, or 
finding of guilt. Such written notification shall consist of a 
certified copy of the conviction, plea, nolo contendere 
record, or minute/docket entry. 

F. Rules of Ethics for Speech-Language Pathology 
Assistant and Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
Assistant Licensees 

1. Principle of Ethics I. Licensees shall honor their 
responsibility to hold paramount the welfare of persons they 
serve or who are participants in research and scholarly 
activities, provide services with honesty and compassion, 
and respect the rights of those served. The licensee shall take 
all reasonable precautions to avoid harm to the individual 
served. 

a. Individuals shall provide clinical services and 
scientific activities competently, and engage only in those 
activities prescribed by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist. 

b. Individuals shall not discriminate in the delivery 
of services or in the conduct of research and scholarly 
activities on the basis of race, ethnicity, citizenship, sex, 
gender identity/gender expression, sexual orientation, age, 
religion, national origin, disability, culture, language, or 
dialect. 

c. Individuals shall not misrepresent their 
credentials and shall fully inform those they serve of their 
name, role, and credentials. 

d. Individuals shall not provide services via 
telepractice, interpret test or assessment results, guarantee 
results, make referrals, discharge patients/clients, provide 
patient/client or family counseling, nor perform clinical 
tasks without the knowledge and approval of the supervising 
speech-language pathologist.  

e. Individuals shall protect the confidentiality of 
clinical or personal information about persons served or 
participants involved in research and scholarly activities, and 
shall not disclose confidential information orally or in 
writing to anyone not designated by the supervising speech-
language pathologist and without the authorization of the 
patient/client or their designee. 

f. Individuals shall protect the confidentiality and 
security of records of services rendered, research and 
scholarly activities conducted, and products dispensed. 
Access to these records shall not be allowed unless directed 
by the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

g. Individuals shall maintain timely and adequate 
records of services rendered, shall not charge for services not 
rendered, and shall not misrepresent services rendered, or 
research and scholarly activities conducted. 

h. Individuals whose services are adversely affected 
by substance abuse or other health-related conditions are 
impaired practitioners and shall seek professional assistance 
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and, where appropriate, withdraw from the affected areas of 
practice. 

i. Individuals who have knowledge that a licensee 
is unable to provide services with reasonable skill and safety 
shall report this information to the appropriate authority 
including the licensure board. 

2. Principle of Ethics II. Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to achieve and maintain the highest level of 
competence and performance. 

a. Individuals shall engage in only those aspects of 
service provision that are within the scope of their practice 
and competence, considering their level of licensure, 
education, training and experience. 

b. Individuals shall hold the appropriate 
qualifications for the area(s) in which they are providing 
services. Individuals shall engage in lifelong learning 
throughout their careers. 

c. Individuals shall not provide services unless 
appropriately supervised. 

d. Individuals shall not provide services for which 
the licensee has not been properly prepared. 

e. Individuals shall utilize technology and 
instrumentation as directed by the supervising speech-
language pathologist, ensuring that proper working order is 
maintained and calibration has been established. 

3. Principle of Ethics III. Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to the public by providing accurate 
information in all communications. 

a. Individuals shall not misrepresent their 
credentials, competence, education, training or experience.  

b. Individuals shall not participate in professional 
activities that constitute a conflict of interest. 

c. Individuals shall not misrepresent research and 
scholarly activities, services rendered or any information, or 
engage in any scheme or maneuver to defraud in connection 
with obtaining payment or reimbursement for services. 

d. Individuals shall not make false statements 
regarding areas of practice, and shall complete all materials 
honestly and without omission. 

4. Principle of Ethics IV. Individuals shall honor their 
responsibilities and their relationships with colleagues and 
members of other professions and disciplines. Individuals 
shall maintain harmonious interprofessional and 
intraprofessional relationships and accept the standards 
delineated for assistants. 

a. Individuals’ statements to colleagues about 
services, research, or products shall adhere to prevailing 
standards and contain no misrepresentations.  

b. Individuals shall not engage in dishonesty, 
negligence, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.  

c.  Applicants for licensure and individuals making 
disclosures shall not make false statements and shall 
complete all application and disclosure materials honestly 
and without omission. 

d. Individuals shall not engage in any form of 
harassment, power abuse, or sexual harassment, or any other 
form of conduct that adversely reflects on service delivery or 
on the individual’s fitness to serve persons. 

e. Individuals shall not engage in sexual activity 
with a patient/client or research participant. 

f. Individuals shall assign credit only to those who 
have contributed to a publication, presentation, protocol, 
process, or product. Credit shall be assigned in proportion to 
the contribution and only with the contributor's consent. 

g. Individuals shall not engage in plagiarism and 
shall reference the source when using other persons’ ideas, 
research, presentations, or products in written, oral, or any 
other media presentation or summary. 

h. Individuals shall not discriminate in their 
relationships with colleagues and members of other 
professions and disciplines on the basis of race, ethnicity, 
citizenship, sex, gender identity/gender expression, sexual 
orientation, age, religion, national origin, disability, culture, 
language or dialect.  

i. Individuals shall comply with local, state, and 
federal laws and regulations applicable to practice and 
research. 

j. Individuals shall inform the board of any 
violations of the practice act or the Rules and Regulations 
including the Code of Ethics. 

k. Individuals shall cooperate fully with the board 
on matters of professional conduct relative to the practice act 
or the Rules and Regulations including the Code of Ethics, 
and shall not make false statements of fact or withhold 
relevant facts necessary to fairly adjudicate complaints. 

l. Individuals who have been publicly sanctioned or 
denied a license or a professional credential by any 
professional association, professional licensing authority or 
board, or other professional regulatory body shall self-report 
by notifying the board in writing within 30 days of the final 
action or disposition. Such written notification shall consist 
of a certified copy of the final action, sanction, or 
disposition. 

m. Individuals who have been convicted, been found 
guilty, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to any 
misdemeanor involving dishonesty, physical harm or the 
threat of physical harm to the person or property of another, 
or any felony, shall self-report by notifying the board in 
writing within 30 days of the conviction, plea, or finding of 
guilt. Such written notification shall consist of a certified 
copy of the conviction, plea, nolo contendere record, or 
minute/docket entry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:370 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:360 (May 1996), LR 30:2324 (October 2004), LR 33:2201 
(October 2007), LR 37:2399 (August 2011), LR 39:1044 (April 
2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 45:266 (February 2019). 

 
Jolie Jones 
Executive Director 

1902#026 

 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 270 

RULE 

Department of Health  

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Behavioral Health 

Behavioral Health Services 
Substance Use Disorders Services 

(LAC 50:XXXIII.14101, 14301, 14303 and 14501) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health have 
amended LAC 50:XXXIII.14101, §14301, §14303, and 
§14501 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXXIII.  Behavioral Health Services 

Subpart 15.  Substance Use Disorders Services 

Chapter 141. General Provisions 

§14101. Introduction 

A. ... 
B. The SUD services rendered shall be those services 

which are medically necessary to reduce the disability 
resulting from the illness and to restore the individual to 
his/her best possible level of functioning in the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44:1890 (October 2018), LR 
45:270 (February 2019). 

Chapter 143. Services 

§14301. General Provisions 

A. All SUD services must be medically necessary. The 
medical necessity for services shall be determined by a 
licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP) or physician 
who is acting within the scope of his/her professional license 
and applicable state law.  

B. American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) 
levels of care require reviews on an ongoing basis, as 
deemed necessary by the department to document 
compliance with national standards. 

C. Children who are in need of SUD services should be 
served within the context of the family and not as an isolated 
unit. Services provided to children and youth shall include 
communication and coordination with the family and/or 
legal guardian and custodial agency for children in state 
custody provided that written consent is obtained from 
minor. Coordination with other child-serving systems should 
occur as needed to achieve the treatment goals subject to the 
minor’s consent and applicable privacy laws. All 
coordination and consent must be documented in the child’s 
medical record. 

1. Services shall be: 
a. delivered in a culturally and linguistically 

competent manner; and 
b. respectful of the individual receiving services. 

2. Services shall be appropriate to individuals of 
diverse racial, ethnic, religious, sexual, and gender identities, 
and other cultural and linguistic groups. 

3. Services shall also be appropriate for: 
a. age; 
b. development; and 
c. education. 

D. Evidence-based practices require prior approval and 
fidelity reviews on an ongoing basis as determined necessary 
by the department. 

D.1. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44:1890 (October 2018), LR 
45:270 (February 2019). 

§14303. Covered Services 

A. The following SUD services shall be reimbursed 
under the Medicaid Program: 

1. assessment;  
2. outpatient treatment; 
3. residential treatment; and 
4. inpatient treatment. 

B. Service Exclusions. The following 
services/components shall be excluded from Medicaid 
reimbursement:  

1. - 2. ... 
3. any services or components in which the basic 

nature of which are to supplant housekeeping, homemaking, 
or basic services for the convenience of an individual 
receiving services; and 

4. room and board for any rates provided in a 
residential setting. 

5. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:426 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44:1891 (October 2018), LR 
45:270 (February 2019). 

Chapter 145. Provider Participation 

§14501. Provider Responsibilities 

A. - D. ... 
E. Providers shall maintain case records that include, at a 

minimum: 
1. the name of the individual; 
2. the dates and time of service; 
3. assessments; 
4. a copy of the treatment plans, which include at a 

minimum: 
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a. goals and objectives, which are specific, 
measureable, action oriented, realistic and time-limited; 

b. specific interventions; 
c. the service locations for each intervention; 
d. the staff providing the intervention; and 
e. the dates of service; 

5. progress notes that include the content of each 
delivered service, including the reason for the contact 
describing the goals/objectives addressed during the service, 
specific intervention(s), progress made toward functional 
and clinical improvement; 

6. units of services provided; 
7. crisis plan; 
8. discharge plan; and 
9. advanced directive. 

F. Residential treatment facilities shall meet the 
following additional requirements: 

1. Be a licensed organization, pursuant to the 
residential service provider qualifications described in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code and the Louisiana Medicaid 
provider manual. 

2. Residential addiction treatment facilities shall be 
accredited by an approved accrediting body and maintain 
such accreditation. Denial, loss of or any negative change in 
accreditation status must be reported to the MCO in writing 
within the time limit established by the department. 

3. Provide full disclosure of ownership and control, 
including but not limited to any relative contractual 
agreements, partnerships, etc. 

4. Follow all residential treatment provider 
qualifications and program standards in licensure, Medicaid 
provider manual, managed care contracts or credentialing. 

5. Must deliver care consistent with the specifications 
in the ASAM Criteria or other OBH approved, nationally 
recognized SUD program standards, hours of clinical care, 
and credentials of staff for residential treatment settings. 

6. Effective April 1, 2019, must offer medication-
assisted treatment (MAT) on-site or facilitate access to MAT 
off-site, and appropriately document MAT options, 
education and facilitation efforts in accordance with 
requirements outlined in the Medicaid provider manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:427 (February 2012), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Behavioral Health, LR 41:2357 (November 2015), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 44:1891 (October 2018), LR 
45:270 (February 2019). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#037 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Behavioral Health 

Healthy Louisiana Opioid Use Disorder/Substance  
Use Disorder Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXII.Chapters 61-69) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health have adopted 
LAC 50:XXII.Chapters 61-69 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXII.  1115 Demonstration Waivers 

Subpart 7.  Healthy Louisiana Opioid Use 

Disorder/Substance Use Disorder Waiver 

Chapter 61. General Provisions 

§6101. Purpose 

A. The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Behavioral Health hereby 
implement a section 1115(a) demonstration waiver called the 
Healthy Louisiana Opioid Use Disorder/Substance Use 
Disorder (OUD/SUD) Waiver which is designed to maintain 
critical access to OUD/SUD services and continue delivery 
system improvements for these services to provide more 
coordinated and comprehensive OUD/SUD treatment for 
Medicaid recipients. This demonstration waiver provides the 
state with the authority to provide high-quality, clinically 
appropriate OUD/SUD treatment services for residents in 
residential and inpatient treatment settings that qualify as an 
institution for mental disease (IMD).  

B. The Healthy Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver is a 59-
month demonstration project which was approved by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) effective February 
1, 2018 and will span five years, through December 31, 
2022. Louisiana may request an extension of this 
demonstration project through CMS prior to the expiration 
date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:271 (February 2019). 

Chapter 63. Eligibility 

§6301. General Provisions 

A. The Healthy Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver services 
shall be available to individuals who: 

1. meet the eligibility criteria for Medicaid set forth in 
the State Plan; 

2. meet clinical criteria, including having a SUD 
diagnosis; and 
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3. receive OUD/SUD treatment services in residential 
and inpatient treatment settings that qualify as an IMD, 
which are not otherwise matchable expenditures under 
§1903 of the Social Security Act.  

B. Retroactive coverage is not available in the Healthy 
Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:271 (February 2019). 

Chapter 65. Services 

§6501. Covered Services 

A. The coverage of OUD/SUD residential treatment and 
withdrawal management services during residential stays 
under the scope of this demonstration project are:  

1. inpatient services provided to recipients in IMDs; 
2. residential treatment provided to recipients in 

IMDs; 
3. clinically managed withdrawal management 

provided to recipients in IMDs; 
4. medically monitored/managed withdrawal 

management provided to recipients in IMDs; and 
5. medication-assisted treatment (MAT) provided to 

recipients in IMDs. 
B. A licensed mental health practitioner (LMHP) or 

physician who is acting within the scope of his/her 
professional license and applicable state law shall determine 
the medical necessity of all OUD/SUD services furnished 
under this waiver.  

1. For the purposes of this Chapter, the term medically 
necessary means that the services provided under this waiver 
are reasonably calculated by an LMHP or a physician:  

a. to reduce the disability resulting from the illness; 
and  

b. to restore the recipient to his/her best possible 
functioning level in the community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

§6503. Service Delivery 

A. All Healthy Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver services are 
to be provided to recipient groups through a managed care 
delivery system, except for the following: 

1. spend-down medically needy population. 
B. All of the covered services under this waiver shall be 

delivered by an IMD provider contracted with one or more 
of the managed care organizations (MCOs) operating within 
the state’s Medicaid system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

Chapter 67. Provider Participation 

§6701. General Provisions 

A. All providers participating in the delivery of services 
covered under the Healthy Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver 
shall adhere to all of the applicable federal and state 
regulations, policies, rules, manuals and laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

§6703. Reporting Requirements 

A. MCOs and their contracted providers of OUD/SUD 
services under this demonstration project shall be required to 
provide data as outlined or requested by the Department of 
Health. 

B. Data shall be provided in the format and frequency 
specified by the department including any additional data 
requests as identified by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

Chapter 69. Reimbursement 

§6901. General Provisions 

A. MCOs and their contracted IMD providers shall 
ensure that reimbursement for services covered under the 
Healthy Louisiana OUD/SUD Waiver is requested and paid 
only for those recipients who meet the eligibility criteria and 
for whom services were rendered: 

1. providers/IMDs shall retain any and all supporting 
financial information and documents that are adequate to 
ensure that payment is made in accordance with applicable 
federal and state laws; 

2. any such documents shall be retained for a period 
of at least six years from the date of service, or until the final 
resolution of all litigation, claims, financial management 
reviews or audits pertaining, whichever is the longest time 
period; and  

3. there shall not be any restrictions on the right of the 
state and federal government to conduct inspections and/or 
audits as deemed necessary to assure quality, 
appropriateness or timeliness of services and reasonableness 
of costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

§6903. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. For recipients enrolled in one of the MCOs, the 
department or its fiscal intermediary shall make monthly 
capitation payments to the MCOs inclusive of coverage for 
the provision of residential and inpatient substance use 
services for recipients. The capitation rates paid to the 
MCOs shall be actuarially sound rates and the MCOs will 
determine the rates paid to its contracted providers. No 
payment shall be less than the minimum Medicaid rate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Behavioral Health, LR 45:272 (February 2019). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#038 
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RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with 
Intellectual Disabilities—Public Facilities 

Transitional Rate Extension 
(LAC 50:VII.32915 and 32969) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:VII.32915 and §32969 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 

Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals 

with Intellectual Disabilities 

Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 

§Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 

§32915. Complex Care Reimbursements 

A. Private (non-state) intermediate care facilities for 
individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/IID) may 
receive an add-on payment to the per diem rate for providing 
complex care to Medicaid recipients who require such 
services. The add-on rate adjustment shall be a flat fee 
amount and may consist of payment for any one of the 
following components: 

1. - 7. ... 
B. Private (non-state) owned ICFs/IID may qualify for 

an add-on rate for recipients meeting documented major 
medical or behavioral complex care criteria. This must be 
documented on the complex support need screening tool 
provided by the department. All medical documentation 
indicated by the screening tool form and any additional 
documentation requested by the department must be 
provided to qualify for the add-on payment. 

C. - I.3.e. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
42:276 (February 2016), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 44: 1447 (August 2018), 
LR 45:273 (February 2019). 

Subchapter C. Public Facilities 

§32969. Transitional Rates for Public Facilities 

A. - B. ... 
1. The department may extend the period of transition 

up to September 30, 2020, if deemed necessary, for an active 
CEA facility that is: 

B.1.a. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
39:326 (February 2013), amended LR 40:2588 (December 2014), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services

Financing, LR 44:60 (January 2018), LR 44:772 (April 2018), LR 
45:273 (February 2019). 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#039 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Managed Care Organization Payment Accountability 
and Provider Credentialing 

(LAC 50.I.1505) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has adopted LAC 50:I.1505 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 
46:460.73.A and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 15. Provider Screening and Enrollment 

§1505. Managed Care Organization Payment 

Accountability and Provider Credentialing 

A. In compliance with the requirements of Act 489 of the 
2018 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health adopts the following payment 
accountability and provider credentialing requirements for 
managed care organizations (MCOs) participating in the 
Medical Assistance Program. 

1. Managed care organizations shall ensure that 
contracted or enrolled providers have met and continue to 
meet Medicaid provider enrollment, credentialing and 
accreditation requirements and other applicable state or 
federal requirements in order to receive reimbursement for 
services provided to Medicaid recipients. 

2. Managed care organizations that fail to ensure 
proper compliance with Medicaid provider enrollment, 
credentialing or accreditation requirements shall be liable for 
reimbursement to providers for services rendered to 
Medicaid recipients, until such time as the deficiency is 
identified by the MCO and notice is issued to the provider 
pursuant to R.S. 46:460.72. 

3. Managed care organizations shall withhold 
reimbursement for services provided during the 15 day 
remedy period after notice of the deficiency is identified by 
the MCO, or during a longer period if allowed by LDH, if 
the provider elects to continue rendering services while the 
deficiency is under review. 

a. If the deficiency is remedied, the MCO shall 
remit payment to the provider. 

b. If the deficiency is not remedied, nothing in this 
Section shall be construed to preclude the MCO from 
recouping funds from the provider for any period in which
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the provider was not properly enrolled, credentialed or 
accredited. 

c. If the deficiency cannot be remedied within 15 
days, the provider may seek review by the department if 
he/she believes the deficiency was caused by good faith 
reliance on misinformation by the MCO and asserts that 
he/she acted without fault or fraudulent intent, there is no 
deficiency, or because of reliance on misinformation from 
the MCO, an exception should be made to allow reasonable 
time to come into compliance so as to not disrupt patient 
care. 
 i. After the initial notification of deficiency, the 
provider shall notify the department of his/her intent to 
appeal the decision within 10 calendar days of receipt of the 
MCO’s notification, and provide a detailed request for 
departmental review with supporting documents within 15 
calendar days of receipt of the MCO’s notification. 

(a). The provider shall prove absence of fault or 
fraudulent intent by producing guidance, applications or 
other written communication from the MCO that bears 
incorrect information, including whether the misinformation 
or guidance was contradictory to applicable Medicaid 
manuals, rules, or policies. 
 ii. The department shall review all materials and 
information submitted by the provider and shall review any 
information necessary that is in the custody of the MCO to 
render a written decision within 30 days of the date of 
receipt for review submitted by the provider. 

(a). If the department's decision is in favor of the 
provider, a written decision shall be sent to the provider and 
the MCO via certified mail and the provider shall be 
afforded reasonable time to remedy the deficiency caused by 
the misinformation of the MCO. During this time, the 
provider shall be allowed to provide services and submit 
claims for reimbursement. 
 (i). The MCO shall be responsible for 
payment to the provider and may be subject to penalties by 
the department in accordance with contract provisions, or 
rules and regulations promulgated pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

(b). If the department's decision is in favor of the 
MCO, the provider's contract shall be terminated 
immediately, pursuant to the notice provided for in R.S. 
46:460.72(C). 

(c). If the department's decision is that the 
provider acted with fault or fraudulent intent, the provisions 
of R.S. 46:460.73(B) shall apply. 

(d). The written decision by the department is the 
final administrative decision and no appeal or judicial 
review shall lie from this final administrative decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45:273 (February 
2019). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that the 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#040 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology 
Case-Mix Documentation Reviews and Index Reports 

(LAC 50:II.20013) 

The Department of has amended LAC 50:II.20013 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This Rule 
is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 

§20013. Case-Mix Documentation Reviews and Case-

Mix Index Reports [Formerly LAC 50:VII.1313] 

A. - B.4. ... 
5. The following corrective action will apply to those 

nursing facility providers with unsupported MDS resident 
assessments identified during an on-site CMDR. 

a. If the percentage of unsupported assessments in 
the initial on-site CMDR sample is greater than 20 percent, 
the sample shall be expanded, and shall include the greater 
of 20 percent of the remaining resident assessments or 10 
assessments. 

b. - e. ... 
 

Effective Date (A) Threshold Percent (B) 

January 1, 2003 Educational 

January 1, 2004 40% 

January 1, 2005 35% 

January 1, 2006 25% 

February 20, 2019 and beyond 20% 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2537 (December 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 38:826 (March 2012), amended by the Department 
of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:528 (March 
2017), LR 45:274 (February 2019). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
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Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#041 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Methodology 
Transition of Private Facilities to State-Owned or 

Operated Facilities Through Change of Ownership 
(LAC 50:II.20023 and 20024) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing has amended LAC 50:II.20023 and adopted LAC 
50:II.20024 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 
49:950 et seq. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of 
promulgation. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 

§20023. Transition of State-Owned or Operated Nursing 

Facility to a Private Facility 

A. - D.7. ... 
E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:903 (March 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45:275 (February 2019). 

§20024. Transition of Private Nursing Facility to a State-

Owned or Operated Nursing Facility through a 

Change of Ownership 

A. Any private nursing facility that undergoes a change 
of ownership (CHOW) to a state-owned or operated nursing 
facility will be exempt from the prospective reimbursement 
system for public nursing facilities during the transitional 
period. 

1. The transitional period will be effective from the 
date of the CHOW until the July 1 rate setting period 
following when the state-owned or operated nursing facility 
has an audited or reviewed 12 month or greater cost 
reporting period available for use in rate setting. 

2. After the transitional period, the nursing facility 
will be reimbursed pursuant to the requirements of the 
prospective reimbursement system for public nursing 
facilities. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after July 5, 2018, 
the reimbursement amount paid to a public nursing facility 
during the transitional period shall be as follows: 

1. Public nursing facilities transitioning from private 
ownership shall receive a monthly interim payment based on 
occupancy, which shall be a per diem rate of $365.68. 

2. For each cost reporting period ending during the 
transitional period a cost settlement process shall be 
performed. The cost settlement process shall ensure that 
Medicaid reimbursement for each public nursing facility 
transitioning from private ownership is equal to 100 percent 
of the nursing facility’s Medicaid allowable cost for the 
applicable cost reporting period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45:275 (February 
2019).  

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

1902#042 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

Criminal History Records 
(LAC 46:LX.Chapter 4) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedures Act (R.S.49:950 et 
seq.) and through the authority of the Mental Health 
Counselor Licensing Act (R.S. 37:1101 et seq.), the 
Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners sets rules for Criminal History Records 
Information criteria in accordance with R.S. 37:1123. 

The Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners hereby adopts rules for publication in the 
February 20, 2019 edition of the Louisiana Register. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS REVISED 

Part LX.  Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 

Examiners 

Subpart 1.  Licensed Professional Counselors 

Chapter 4. Criminal History Records 

§401. Scope of Chapter 

A. This Chapter governs the submission, retention, and 
use of criminal history records information in connection 
with applications for the initial license, renewal, or 
reinstatement of a license of PLPCs and LPCs license in 
conformity with R.S. 37:2372.1 and R.S. 37:1101-1123. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 
45:275 (February 2019). 

§403. Criminal History Record Information 

A. The submission and use of criminal history records 
information with applications for an initial and reinstatement 
of licensee shall begin January 1, 2019 and renewals shall 
begin January 1, 2020. In the renewal of licensure, a random 
sample of licensees shall be required to submit a criminal 
history record information with fingerprints.  

B. The board shall utilize criminal history record 
information to determine an applicant’s suitability and



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 276 

eligibility for licensure, and whether just cause exists for the 
board to refuse to issue, suspend, revoke, or impose 
probationary or other terms, conditions, or restrictions on 
any license held or applied for by an application for 
violation of any of these causes specified by R.S. 37:1123 
and the board’s rules.  

1. All applicants must submit a full set of fingerprints, 
and criminal history record information to the board from 
the Louisiana State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification 
and Information.  

2. Fingerprints, and criminal history record 
information shall be submitted with application on board-
approved forms. 

3. Criminal history record information shall require all 
applicants to report whether he or she has been convicted of 
sex crimes and is registered with any state sex offender and 
child predator registry as required by Louisiana State 
Statute.  

4. Any applicant that does not include the applicant’s 
fingerprints, and criminal history record information, and 
disclosure/ registry of conviction of sex crime shall be 
deemed incomplete and shall not be considered by the board 
unless and until such requirements have been satisfied.  

C. The submission of an application for licensure to the 
board shall constitute acknowledgment and consent by the 
applicant to: 

1. any state or federal agency, including, but not 
limited to, the bureau and the FBI, to disclose and release to 
the board any and all state, national, or foreign criminal 
history record information and sex crime conviction and 
registry; 

2. disclosure and release of such information to the 
board constitutes a waiver by the applicant of any privilege 
or right of confidentially; 

3. allow the board to utilize criminal history record 
information to determine the applicant’s suitability and 
eligibility for licensure to include but not limited to: 

a. refuse to issue; 
b. suspend; 
c. revoke; 
d. impose probationary; or 
e. other terms, conditions, or restrictions on any 

license held or applied for by an applicant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1101-1123. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 
45:275 (February 2019). 

§405. Confidentiality of Criminal History Record 

Information 

A. Criminal history record information obtained by the 
board which is not already a matter of public record or to 
which the privilege of confidentially has not otherwise been 
waived or abandoned, shall be deemed nonpublic and 
confidential information, restricted to and utilized 
exclusively by the board, its officers, members, 
investigators, employees, agents, and attorneys in evaluating 
applicant’s eligibility or disqualification for licensure.  

B. Criminal history record information shall not, except 
with the written consent of the applicant or by the order of a 
court, be released or otherwise disclosed by the board. 
However, that any such information or documents which are 
admitted into evidence and made part of the administrative 
record in any adjudicatory proceeding before the board shall 
become public records upon the filing of a petition for 
judicial review of the board’s final decision therein.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 
45:276 (February 2019). 

§407. Exceptions to Criminal History Information 

Requirement  

A. The criminal history information requirements 
prescribed by the board shall not be applicable to licensed 
professional counselor or licensed marriage family therapist 
applicants seeking a temporary registration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 
45:276 (February 2019). 

§409. Falsification of Criminal Record Information 

A. An applicant who denies the existence or extent of 
criminal history record information on an application shall 
be deemed to have provided false, misleading, and/or 
deceptive information on an application for licensure, and to 
have engaged in unprofessional conduct, providing cause for 
the board to disqualify, suspend or revoke licensure. 

B. Falsification of criminal record information may 
result in a formal hearing before the board in accordance 
with Chapter 13.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 
45:276 (February 2019). 

 

Jamie S. Doming 
Executive Director 

1902#018 
 

 
RULE 

Department of Health 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

Provisional Licensed Professional Counselor 
Licensure Requirements (LAC 46:LX.603 and 605) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedures Act (R.S.49:950 et 
seq.) and through the authority of the Mental Health 
Counselor Licensing Act (R.S. 37:1101 et seq.), the 
Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners clarifies PLPC licensure requirements to meet 
CACREP standards. 
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The Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners hereby amends rules for publication in the 
February 20, 2019 edition of the Louisiana Register. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS REVISED 

Part LX.  Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 

Examiners 

Subpart 1.  Licensed Professional Counselors 

Chapter 6. Application, Practice and Renewal 

Requirements for Provisional Licensed 

Professional Counselors 

§603. Provisional Licensed Professional Counselors 

Licensing Requirements  

A. - A.3. ... 
4. has received a graduate degree, the substance of 

which is professional mental health counseling in content 
from a regionally-accredited institution of higher education 
offering a master's and/or doctoral program in counseling 
that is approved by the board and has accumulated at least 
60 graduate credit hours as part of the graduate degree plan 
containing the eight required areas, the supervised mental 
health practicum and supervised internship in mental health 
counseling or the total equivalent hours in practicum and 
internship. Applicants may apply post-masters counseling 
courses towards licensure if their degree program consisted 
of less than 60 hours. All graduate and post-masters 
counseling courses must be completed with a grade no lower 
than C. All field experience courses must be completed with 
a grade of A, B, or P. 

a. to be eligible for supervision as a provisional 
licensed professional counselor, the applicant must provide 
proof of completion of a supervised practicum and 
internship as listed below in item b. and at least one three-
credit hour course in each of the following eight content 
areas. In order for a course to fulfill a content area 
requirement, it must include in a substantial manner the area 
in the description for the content areas; 
 i.-viii.(g). … 

b. Mental Health Counseling Practicum and/or 
Internship 
 i. Mental Health Counseling Practicum. 
Licensure requires the completion of a mental health 
counseling/psychotherapy practicum totaling 100 clock 
hours. The practicum includes: 

(a). a minimum of 40 hours of direct 
counseling/psychotherapy with individuals or groups; 

(b). a minimum of one hour per week of 
individual supervision by a counseling faculty member 
supervisor or supervisor working under the supervision of a 
program faculty member; 

(c). a minimum of one and a half hours per week 
of group supervision with other students in similar practica 
or internships by a program faculty member supervisor or a 
student supervisor working under the supervision of a 
program faculty member or an approved on-site supervisor.  
 ii. Mental Health Counseling Internship. 
Licensure requires the completion of a mental health 
counseling/psychotherapy internship totaling 600 clock 
hours. The internship includes: 

(a). a minimum of 240 hours of direct 
counseling/psychotherapy with individuals or groups; 

(b). a minimum of one hour per week of 
individual supervision by a counseling faculty member 
supervisor or an approved on-site supervisor that meets the 
supervisor requirements of the university. 

(c). a minimum of 1.5 hours per week of group 
supervision with other students in similar practica or 
internships by a program faculty member supervisor or a 
student supervisor working under the supervision of a 
program faculty member or an approved on-site supervisor.  

5. - 6.d.  … 
e. the professional practice setting cannot include 

any practice setting in which the provisional licensed 
professional counselor operates, manages, or has an 
ownership interest (e.g., private practice, for-profit, non-
profit, etc.); the supervisee may receive a wage for services 
provided; 

f. the agency or employer may bill for services 
provided by the PLPC. The PLPC may not bill directly for 
services provided to clients and the PLPC may not bill under 
another person’s name; 

g. the licensee must be supervised by an 
administrative supervisor (in addition to receiving active, 
board-approved supervision) in order to volunteer 
counseling services or receive a wage for services rendered 
as an employee or private contractor. The control, oversight, 
and professional responsibility for provisional licensed 
professional counselors rests with the licensee’s 
administrative supervisor in the setting in which they are 
employed, contracted or volunteering; 

h. provisional licensed professional counselors must 
notify their administrative supervisor of the identity of their 
board-approved supervisor and the nature of the supervisory 
activities, including any observations or taping that occurs 
with clients, after obtaining the client's permission, in the 
setting; 

i. a licensed mental health professional (e.g. LPC, 
LMFT, LCSW) must be employed in the professional setting 
in which the provisional licensed professional counselor is 
rendering counseling services and be available for case 
consultation and processing. The provisional licensed 
professional counselor must have obtained the 
administrative supervisor’s approval of the licensed mental 
health professional prior to submitting the practice setting 
for board review. The licensed mental health professional 
may be the board-approved supervisor or the administrative 
supervisor if he/she meets each of the aforementioned 
requirements; 

j. supervised experience accrued by the provisional 
licensed professional counselor in an exempt setting needs to 
meet the requirements in this rule if that supervised 
experience is to meet the requirements for licensure as set 
forth by R.S. 37:1107(A); 

7. has provided to the board a declaration of practices 
and procedures, with the content being subject to board 
review and approval; 

8. has received a letter from the board certifying that 
all the requirements for provisional licensed professional 
counselor, as defined in this Chapter, were met before 
accruing supervised experience hours. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41:712 (April 2015), amended by the Department 
of Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
LR 45:277 (February 2019). 

§605. Supervised Practice Requirements  

A. PLPC Supervision Requirements 
1. This shall define and establish the minimum 

standards for supervised practice of PLPCs. Supervision is 
defined as a process in which the PLPC, engages in a 
collaborative relationship with a LPC Supervisor. The goal 
of supervision is to enhance and evaluate the PLPC’s 
professional competence, monitor the quality of services 
provided, maintain the ethical standards of practice, protect 
the welfare of the public and providing a gatekeeping 
function for entry into the mental health profession. 

2. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1107(A), a supervisee must 
document a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-master's 
experience in professional mental health counseling under 
the clinical supervision of a board-approved supervisor, with 
said supervision occurring over a period of no less than two 
years and not more than six years from the original date such 
supervision was approved. A supervisee must remain under 
supervision of a board-approved supervisor until receiving 
written notification of approval for licensure. 

a.i. Based on the above, the required 3,000 hours of 
counseling/psychotherapeutic experience shall be accrued in 
the following manner. 

(a). Direct Hours. A minimum of 1,900 hours in 
direct counseling/psychotherapeutic services involving 
individuals, couples, families, or groups: 
 (i). an applicant may utilize supervised 
direct hours earned in post-master's degree practicum and 
internship courses in counseling (from a regionally 
accredited university) toward the required 1900 hours of 
direct counseling/psychotherapeutic services. In order to be 
counted, the direct hours earned in practicum and internship 
courses must have occurred after the applicant has been 
approved for provisional licensure and is under the 
supervision of the applicant’s board-approved supervisor. An 
applicant may not count hours spent supervising others (i.e., 
supervision courses, doctoral students supervising master’s 
level students) as direct hours. 

(b). Indirect Hours. A minimum of 1,000 indirect 
hours in counseling-related activities (i.e., client contact, 
case notes, staffing, case consultation, or testing/assessment 
of clients) or education at the graduate level in the field of 
mental health counseling as defined in R.S. 37:1101-1123: 
 (i). five hundred indirect hours of 
supervised experience may be gained for each 30 graduate 
semester hours earned beyond the required master’s degree 
provided that such hours are clearly related to the field of 
mental health counseling, are earned from a regionally 
accredited institution, and are acceptable to the board. 
Practicum and internship courses may not be included in the 
30 graduate semester hours that are used to substitute for 
500 hours of supervised experience if they are used to count 
toward an applicant’s direct hours. 

(c). Supervision Hours. A minimum of 100 hours 
of face-to-face supervision by a LPC Supervisor. Up to 25 

percent of the supervision hours may be conducted by 
synchronous videoconferencing: 
 (i). supervision may not take place via 
mail, email, or telephone. Telephone, mail, or email contacts 
with supervisor may be counted under Subclause A.2.a.i.(b) 
of this Section (i.e., consultation), however, it cannot be 
counted as face to face supervision as defined in Subclause 
A.2.a.i.(c) of this Section. 
 ii. Acceptable modes for supervision of direct 
clinical contact are the following. 

(a). Individual Supervision. The supervisory 
session is conducted by the LPC Supervisor with one PLPC 
present. 

(b). Group Supervision. The supervisory session 
is conducted by the supervisor(s) with 2 and no more than 10 
PLPCs present. 
 iii. Supervision hours include individual and/or 
group supervision as described below.  

(a). A minimum of 50 of these 100 hours must be 
individual supervision. 

(b). The remaining hours may be either 
individual supervision or group supervision. 

3 Supervised experience hours for PLPC and PLMFT 
may be accrued concurrently, after receiving notification of 
approval from the board certifying that all the requirements 
for both provisional licensed professional counselor and the 
provisional licensed marriage and family therapist have been 
met. If approval was not obtained on the same date for each 
provisional license, then concurrent accrual of hours cannot 
begin until the second provisional license has been 
approved. Retroactive supervision experience hours are not 
permitted. 

4. Current PLPCs are required to remain under active 
supervision as defined in Chapter 5 until fully licensed.  

B. Responsibility of Supervisee under Board-Approved 
Supervision 

1. During the period of supervised 
counseling/psychotherapy experience, the only proper 
identification title is provisional licensed professional 
counselor or PLPC. Provisional licensed professional 
counselors shall not identify or represent themselves by any 
other term or title, including “licensed”, “fully licensed”, 
“licensed professional counselor”, “LPC”, or “counselor”. 

2. Each provisional licensed professional counselor 
must provide his/her clients with a disclosure statement (as 
outlined in the appendix of the code of conduct) that 
includes: 

a. his/her training status; and 
b. the name of his/her supervisor for licensure 

purposes. 
3. Provisional licensed professional counselors must 

comply with all laws and regulations relating to the practice 
of mental health counseling (R.S. 37:1101-1123). 

4. The provisional licensed professional counselor 
must maintain contact with his/her board-approved 
supervisor to ensure that active supervision requirements (as 
defined in Chapter 5 of this Part) are met. 

5. Provide updates to the board and board-approved 
supervisor regarding changes in status on forms provided by 
the board within 30 days of said change. Failure to comply 
may result in a fine, loss of supervised experience hours, 
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and/or disciplinary action. Changes in status include changes 
in: 

a. relevant personal information, including contact 
information, physical address, name; 

b. relevant practice setting information, including 
job title/duties, employment status;  

c. status with the justice system, including 
notification of arrest, charges, convictions; 

d. status with another licensure/credentialing body, 
including notification of suspension, revocation, or other 
disciplinary proceedings/actions; 

e. the use of any narcotics, controlled substances, or 
any alcoholic beverages in a manner that is dangerous to the 
public or in a manner that impairs the supervisee’s ability to 
provide mental health services to the public; 

f. any medical condition which may in any way 
impair or limit the supervisee’s ability to provide mental 
health services to the public with reasonable skill or safety. 

6. The supervisee must maintain documentation of all 
supervised experience hours by employment location and 
type of hour (indirect, direct, and face to face supervision). It 
is recommended that a supervisee obtain the signature of the 
board-approved supervisor indicating review and approval 
of documentation at regular intervals.  

7. The supervisee must renew his/her provisional 
license in accordance with §611 of this Chapter and maintain 
a valid provisional license in order to practice mental health 
counseling. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1123.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 41:715 (April 2015), amended by the Department 
of Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 
LR 45:278 (February 2019). 

 

Jamie S. Doming 
Executive Director 

1902#017 

 
RULE 

Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 46—Long-Term Care Insurance 
Policy Definition (LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 19) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950, et seq., has amended LAC 37:XIII.1907. 

The purpose of LAC 37:XIII.1901 et seq. (Regulation 
46—Long-Term Care Insurance) is to implement the long-
term care insurance provisions of the Louisiana Insurance 
Code, R.S. 22:1181-1191. In July 2017, the Department of 
Insurance amended LAC 37:XIII.1901 et seq. to adopt 
changes made to date to the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners’ long-term care insurance model 
regulation, to adopt model regulation definitions, to make 
necessary technical amendments and redesignations to

existing sections of LAC 37:XIII.1901 et seq. to 
accommodate the model regulation, and to make other 
technical amendments.  

As published in July 2017, LAC 37:XIII.1907, as 
amended, contains a duplicate definition. The amendments 
intended to change the name of the definition for “Skilled 
Nursing Care, Intermediate Care, Personal Care, Home Care 
and Other Services” to “Skilled Nursing Care, Personal 
Care, Home Care, Specialized Care, Assisted Living Care, 
and Other Services”. This change in the definition name 
reflected a change in terms used throughout the amended 
regulation. The amended regulation, as published, included 
the same definition twice: one with the amended name and 
one with the former name. LAC 37:XIII.1907 has been 
amended to delete the duplicated definition with the former 
and now obsolete definition name. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 19. Regulation 46—Long-Term Care 

Insurance 

§1907. Policy Definitions 

A. … 

* * * 
Skilled Nursing Care, Intermediate Care, Personal 

Care, Home Care and Other Services—Repealed. 

* * * 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:1186(A), 22:1186(E), 22:1188(C), 22:1189, and 22:1190. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 19:1153 (September 
1993), amended LR 23:976 (August 1997, LR 43:1394 (July 2017) 
(effective January 1, 2018), amended LR 45:279 (February 2019). 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner  

1902#011 

 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of Motor Vehicles 

Hang Tags for Mobility Impaired Individuals  
(LAC 55:III.Chapter 21) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:463.4, in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services, Office of Motor 
Vehicles (department), hereby adopts rules regarding Hang 
Tags for Mobility Impaired Individuals. This Chapter is new 
and implements the provisions of Act 240 of the 2018 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which provide 
for the length of time a permanent hang tag is valid. This 
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 
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Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles 

Chapter 21. Hang Tags for Mobility Impaired 

Individuals 

§2101. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms have the 
meanings described below. 

Medical Examiner—a person licensed to practice 
medicine in Louisiana or any other state or territory of the 
United States, a person licensed to practice chiropractic by 
the Louisiana State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, a 
person licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Physical 
Therapy Examiners, or advanced practice registered nurses. 

Mobility Impaired—the individuals who come under 
statutory definition of a mobility impaired person or a 
veteran who has a 50 percent or more service connected 
disability are eligible for the mobility impaired hang tag. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:463.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
45:280 (February 2019). 

§2103. Application for Hang Tags  

(Visiting a Field Office) 

A.1. First time applicants applying for a hang tag for 
mobility impairment must include: 

a. a currently dated medical examiner's certification 
of mobility impairment form (DPSMV 1966). A medical 

examiner is defined as: 
 i. a person licensed to practice medicine in 
Louisiana or any other state or territory of the United States;  
 ii. a person licensed to practice chiropractic by the 
Louisiana State Board of Chiropractic Examiners;  
 iii. a person licensed by the Louisiana State Board 
of Physical Therapy Examiners, or an advanced practice 
registered nurse; 

b. in the case of a disabled veteran, a decision letter 
or an affidavit from the Veterans Affairs Office attesting to 
the veteran's disability. A veteran who currently has a 
disabled veteran's license plate is not required to submit a 
separate medical examiner's certificate of mobility 
impairment. He is eligible to receive a "permanent" hang tag 
at no charge at initial issuance. 

2. The certification must indicate the type of 
impairment as follows. 

a. Permanently Impaired. Certification must state 
the physical condition which qualifies the applicant for a 
hang tag is a permanent condition. A mobility impaired hang 
tag will be issued with a 10 year expiration date.  
Re-certification will not be required upon renewal. 

b. Temporarily Impaired. Certification must state 
the physical condition which qualifies the applicant for a 
hang tag is temporary (one year or less). A mobility impaired 
hang tag will be issued with a one year expiration date. If the 
temporary mobility impairment persists past a year from the 
date of issuance, an additional certification must be 
submitted upon renewal of temporary hang tag.  

3. Up to three additional hang tags may be issued on 
behalf of a person with a mobility impairment. Only one fee 
($3 for temporarily impaired hang tag and $7.50 for a 
permanently impaired hang tag) will be accessed. Only one 
mobility impaired ID card will be issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:463.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
45:280 (February 2019). 

§2105. Proper Display of a Hang Tag 

A. The hang tags are designed to be hung from the 
vehicle's front windshield rear view mirror. When there is no 
rear view mirror, the hang tag may be displayed on the 
vehicle's dashboard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:463.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
45:280 (February 2019). 

§2107. Application for Hang Tags  

(Applicant is Unable to Visit a Field Office) 

A. First time applicants: 
1. a currently dated medical examiner's certification 

form or, in the case of a disabled veteran, proof of a special 
disabled veteran license plate, a decision letter or an affidavit 
from the Office of Veteran Affairs and a separate medical 
examiner's certification which indicates the applicant is 
unable appear in person at the Office of Motor Vehicles; 

2. a color photograph of the applicant. 
B. Renewal applicants: 

1. if the applicant has a permanent status—mobility 
ID and expired hang tag; 

2. if the applicant has a temporary status—a currently 
dated examiner's certification of mobility impairment form 
(DPSMV 1966) or, in the case of a disabled veteran, a 
decision letter or an affidavit from the Office of Veteran 
Affairs and a separate medical examiner's statement 
indicating the applicant is unable to appear in person at the 
Office of Motor Vehicles; 

3. a color photograph of the applicant. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:463.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
45:280 (February 2019). 

§2109. Denial, Revocation or Cancellation of Hang Tags 

or Mobility Impaired Identification Card 

A. The department may deny, cancel or revoke a hang 
tag or mobility impaired identification card for any of the 
following reasons. 

1. The applicant made a misstatement of fact in 
his/her application for a hang tag or mobility impaired 
identification card, or the applicant omitted a material fact 
from his application for a hang tag or mobility impaired 
identification card. 

2. The applicant intentionally furnished false 
information to the department in connection with his 
application for hang tag or mobility impaired identification 
card. 

3. The individual has been found to be in possession 
of a fictitious hang tag or mobility impaired identification 
card, or a hang tag or mobility impaired identification card 
which has been altered or caused to be altered by the 
individual. 

4. Any personal information of the individual that 
appears on the face of the hang tag or mobility impaired 
identification card has changed, and more than 60 days has 
elapsed since the information has changed. 
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5. The department receives information that the 
individual is no longer a resident of the state of Louisiana. 

6. The individual to whom the hang tag or mobility 
impaired identification card was issued has allowed another 
individual to use his/her hang tag or mobility impaired 
identification card for purposes of identification or in the 
furtherance of the commission of fraud. 

7. The individual is convicted of any criminal offense 
in which fraud, theft, or unauthorized use are elements of the 
offense, and the individual used the hang tag or mobility 
impaired identification card in the commission of the 
offense. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:463.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 
45:280 (February 2019). 

 

Lt. Col. Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

1902#055 

 
RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Explosives Code (LAC 55:I.Chapter 15) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., Act 
315 of the 2018 Regular Session, and R.S. 40:1472.1 et seq., 
has amended rules which address the new age limit for 
blasters and handlers, and specify the amount of explosives 
that may be stored in magazines located inside buildings. 
This Rule is hereby adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 15 Explosives Code 

Subchapter A. General 

§1505. General Administrative Requirements 

A. ... 
B. No person under the age of 21 shall purchase or 

acquire explosives or explosive supplies. 
C. - L. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1472.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Department of Public 

Safety, Office of State Police, at the Office of the State Register, 
1974, promulgated and amended LR 10:803 (October 1984), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, Transportation and Environmental Safety 
Section, Explosive Control Unit, LR 22:1230 (December 1996), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, LR 34:2674 (December 2008), LR 35:491 
(March 2009), LR 36:550 (March 2010), LR 40:2609 (December 
2014), LR 45:281 (February 2019). 

§1509. General Storage Requirements 

A. - C. … 
D. The ground around outdoor magazines shall slope 

away for drainage. The land surrounding outdoor magazines 
shall be kept clear of brush, dried grass, leaves, and other 

combustible materials for a distance of 50 feet in each 
direction. 

E. - J. … 
K. All factory buildings and magazines in which 

explosives are had, kept, or stored, must be located beyond 
the corporate limits of any city or town, except with the 
consent of the proper local authorities and the Office of the 
Deputy Secretary of Public Safety Services. In no instance 
shall magazines located inside buildings contain in excess of 
50 pounds of explosives. Smokeless propellants shall not be 
included in these quantity limitations. Cap magazines must 
be separated from other magazines by a distance of at least 
10 feet. Where such storage is permitted, it shall be located 
on the ground floor and at street level. 

L. - N. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1472.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Department of Public 

Safety, Office of State Police, at the Office of the State Register, 
1974, promulgated and amended LR 10:803 (October 1984), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, Transportation and Environmental Safety 
Section, Explosive Control Unit, LR 22:1230 (December 1996), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, LR 26:91 (January 2000), LR 36:550 (March 
2010), LR 45:281 (February 2019). 

§1531. General Requirements 

A. The handling of explosives shall be performed only 
by a person holding a valid and subsisting license to use 
explosives. 

B. - O. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1472.1 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Office of State Police, 1974, promulgated and amended LR 
10:803 (October 1984), amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 
Environmental Safety Section, Explosive Control Unit, LR 22:1230 
(December 1996), LR 24:106 (January 1998), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State 
Police, LR 26:91 (January 2000), LR 34:1038 (June 2008), LR 
34:2676 (December 2008), LR 45:281 (February 2019). 

 
Jason Starnes 
Chief Administrative Officer 

1902#012 

 
RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Office of Fisheries 

and 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Removal of Abandoned Crab Traps 
(LAC 76:VII.367) 

Editor's Note: This Rule is being repromulgated to correct a 
manifest typographical error. The original Rule can be viewed on 
pages 78-79 of the January 20, 2019 Louisiana Register. 

 
In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 
56:332(N), the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has 
amended LAC 76:VII.367 to temporarily close a portion of
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state inside waters to the use of crab traps in order to 
facilitate the removal of abandoned crab traps in these 
waters.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
provisions in LAC 76:VII.367 governing the locations of 
temporary crab trap closures to address problems in portions 
of state waters resulting from large numbers of abandoned 
and derelict crab traps (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 1; Volume 31, Number 1; Volume 32, Number 2; 
Volume 33, Number 1; Volume 34, Number 1; Volume 36; 
Number 1; Volume 38, Number 1; Volume 38, Number 12; 
Volume 40, Number 1; Volume 41, Number 1; Volume 42, 
Number 1; Volume 42, Number 12; Volume 44, Number 1). 
The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission took action on 
October 4, 2018 to describe a new portion of state waters to 
be temporarily closed to the use of crab traps for the purpose 
of conducting a crab trap cleanup. This Rule is hereby 
adopted on the day of promulgation. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 

Chapter 3. Saltwater Sport and Commercial Fishery 

§367. Removal of Abandoned Crab Traps 

A. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12 a.m. February 1, 2019 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 14, 2019 within portions of Plaquemines and 
Jefferson Parishes as described below: 

1. from a point originating on the western boundary of 
the Barataria Waterway (29 degrees 34 minutes 54.52 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 3 minutes 41.24 seconds 
west longitude); thence easterly to the intersection of 
Highway 23 and Reddick Lane (29 degrees 34 minutes 
53.36 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 49 minutes 38.29 
seconds west longitude); thence southerly on Highway 23 to 
the intersection of Caroline Avenue and Highway 23; thence 
southwesterly to a point where Little Pass and the southern 
bank of the Freeport Sulphur Canal intersect (29 degrees 27 
minutes 19.15 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 42 minutes 
25.96 seconds west longitude); thence southwesterly 
following the southern bank of the Freeport Sulphur Canal to 
a point located at 29 degrees 23 minutes 51.08 seconds north 
latitude, 89 degrees 46 minutes 30.00 seconds west 
longitude; thence westerly to a point located on the western 
shore of the Barataria Waterway at 29 degrees 24 minutes 
17.19 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 59 minutes 24.00 
seconds west longitude; thence northerly following the 
western shore of the Barataria Waterway and terminating at 
the origin.  

B. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 10-day 
period from 12 a.m. February 1, 2019 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 10, 2019 within Jefferson, St. John the Baptist, St. 
Charles, St. Tammany, and Tangipahoa Parishes as described 
below:  

1. from a point of origin where I-55 intersects Pass 
Manchac (30 degrees 17 minutes 7.08 seconds north 
latitude, 90 degrees 24 minutes 6.07 seconds west 
longitude); thence easterly following the northern bank of 
Pass Manchac to the point where Pass Manchac exits at the 
northwest bank of Lake Pontchartrain; thence northerly 
following the bank of Lake Pontchartrain to the south bound 
lane of the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway (30 degrees 21 
minutes 51.75 seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 5 minutes 

38.59 seconds west longitude); thence southerly to a point 
where the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway crosses the 
Lakefront Trail located at 30 degrees 1 minutes 10.06 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 9 minutes 17.28 seconds 
west longitude; thence westerly following the Lakefront 
Trail along the south bank of Lake Pontchartrain until it 
intersects the Duncan Canal (30 degrees 2 minutes 50.56 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 16 minutes 45.21 seconds 
west longitude); thence westerly past the Duncan Canal 
continuing to follow the south bank of Lake Pontchartrain to 
a point where I-10 passes over the southern bank of Lake 
Pontchartrain (30 degrees 3 minutes 21.43 seconds north 
latitude, 90 degrees 22 minutes 17.79 seconds west 
longitude); thence westerly on I-10 to the intersection of I-
55, thence northerly on I-55 and terminating at the origin. 

C. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12 a.m. February 15, 2019 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 28, 2019 within portions of Terrebonne Parish as 
described below:  

1. from a point originating at the intersection of the 
eastern shoreline of Bayou Dularge and the northern 
shoreline of Falgout Canal (29 degrees 24 minutes 44.098 
seconds north latitude, 90 degrees 46 minutes 58.47 seconds 
west longitude); thence westerly along the northern shoreline 
of Falgout Canal to Lake de Cade; thence westerly along the 
northern shoreline of Lake de Cade to the mouth of Bayou 
de Cade; thence southwesterly along the northern shoreline 
of Bayou de Cade to Lost Lake; thence westerly along the 
northern shoreline of Lost Lake to the mouth of Rice Bayou; 
thence southerly along the western shoreline of Rice Bayou 
to Blue Hammock Bayou; thence westerly along the 
northern shore of Blue Hammock Bayou to Four League 
Bay; thence southerly along the eastern shoreline of Four 
League Bay to the mouth of Oyster Bayou; thence southerly 
along the eastern shoreline of Oyster Bayou to a point along 
the inside-outside shrimp line as defined in LAC 76:VII.370 
(29 degrees 13 minutes 12.001 seconds north latitude, 91 
degrees 07 minutes 48.002 seconds west longitude); thence 
easterly along the inside-outside shrimp line to the eastern 
shoreline of Bayou Grand Caillou; thence northerly along 
the eastern shoreline of Bayou Grand Caillou to 29 degrees 
15 minutes 00 seconds north latitude; thence westerly across 
Bayou Grand Caillou to the northern shoreline of the 
Tennessee Gas Pipeline canal; thence westerly along the 
northern shoreline of the Tennessee Gas Pipeline canal to the 
eastern shore of Bayou Dularge; thence northerly along the 
eastern shoreline of Bayou Dularge and terminating at its 
origin. 

D. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 14-day 
period from 12 a.m. February 15, 2019 through 11:59 p.m. 
February 28, 2019 within Plaquemines parish as described 
below:  

1. from a point originating along the eastern shoreline 
of the Mississippi River at 29 degrees 46 minutes 11.835 
seconds north latitude; thence easterly along 29 degrees 46 
minutes 11.835 seconds north latitude to its intersection with 
the eastern bank of Bayou Terre Aux Boeufs at 29 degrees 
46 minutes 11.835 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 47 
minutes 20.53 seconds west longitude; thence southerly 
along the eastern bank of Bayou Terre Aux Boeufs to 29 
degrees 41 minutes 15.19 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 
38 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence southerly 
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along 89 degrees 38 minutes 00 seconds west longitude to 
29 degrees 34 minutes 12 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 
38 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence westerly along 
29 degrees 34 minutes 12 seconds north latitude to 29 
degrees 34 minutes 12.00 seconds north latitude, 89 degrees 
42 minutes 36 seconds west longitude; thence southerly 
along 89 degrees 42 minutes 36 seconds west longitude to its 
intersection with the eastern bank of the Mississippi River at 
29 degrees 30 minutes 51.57 seconds north latitude, 89 
degrees 42 minutes 36.24 seconds west longitude; thence 
northerly along the eastern bank of the Mississippi River to 
its point of origin.  

E. The use of crab traps shall be prohibited for a 10-day 
period from 12 a.m. March 13, 2019 through 11:59 p.m. 
March 22, 2019 within Cameron and Calcasieu Parishes as 
described below:  

1. from a point originating at the Louisiana/Texas 
state line at 29 degrees 57 minutes 00 seconds north latitude, 
93 degrees 48 minutes 29.67 seconds west longitude; thence 
northerly along the Louisiana/Texas state line to its 
intersection with the southernmost east bound lane on 
Interstate 10; thence northeasterly along the southernmost 
east bound lane on Interstate 10 to its intersection at 30 
degrees 11 minutes 15.16 seconds north latitude, 93 degrees 
33 minutes 18 seconds west longitude; thence southerly 
along 93 degrees 33 minutes 18 seconds west longitude to its 
intersection at 29 degrees 57 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude, 93 degrees 33 minutes 18.00 seconds west 
longitude; thence westerly along 29 degrees 57 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude to its point of origin. 

F. All crab traps remaining in the closed area during the 
specified period shall be considered abandoned. Crab trap 
removal regulations do not provide authorization for access 
to private property; authorization to access private property 
can only be provided by individual landowners. Crab traps 
may be removed only between one-half hour before sunrise 
to one-half hour after sunset. Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries personnel or its designees are authorized to remove 
these abandoned crab traps within the closed area. All traps 
removed during a closed area are to be brought to the 
designated disposal area. No person removing crab traps 
from the designated closed areas during the closure periods 
shall possess these traps outside of the closed area. The 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission authorizes the secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to designate 
disposal sites.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:332(N). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
30:101 (January 2004), amended LR 31:108 (January 2005), LR 
32:266 (February 2006), LR 33:113 (January 2007), LR 34:97 
(January 2008), LR 36:77 (January, 2010), LR 38:146 (January 
2012), LR 38:3250 (December 2012), LR 40:96 (January 2014), 
LR 41:155 (January 2015), LR 42:70 (January 2016), amended by 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 42:2196 (December 
2016), LR 44:100 (January 2018), LR 45:00 (January 2019), 
repromulgated LR 45:282 (February 2019). 

 
Jack Montoucet 
Secretary 

1902#020 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Criminal History Records Checks for Access to  
Federal Tax Information (LAC 67:I.205) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to promulgate LAC 
67:I.205, Criminal History Records checks for Access to 
Federal Tax Information (FTI). 

R.S. 46:51.3 grants the Department of Children and 
Family Services authority to perform criminal history 
records checks of current and prospective employees, 
contractors and subcontractors. The statute mandates that the 
department promulgate rules to implement the requirements 
specified in R.S. 15:587.5. DCFS proposes to enact §205, 
Criminal History Checks for Access to Federal Tax 
Information, to detail the procedures to be followed by the 
department in performance of required criminal history 
checks. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part I.  General Administration 

Chapter 2. Criminal Background and State Central 

Registry Checks 

§205. Criminal History Records Checks for Access to 

Federal Tax Information 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 46:51.3, the Department of Children 
and Family Services shall perform criminal history records 
checks of current and prospective employees, contractors, or 
subcontractors, within the office of child support 
enforcement and family support, that have access to federal 
tax information (FTI) and/or criminal history record 
information. 

1. In compliance with the requirements of R.S. 
15.587.5, current or prospective employees, contractors, or 
subcontractors within the office of child support 
enforcement and family support shall be required to submit 
to a criminal history records check to be conducted by the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and 
Information. Fingerprints and other identifying information 
shall be submitted to the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information by the current or prospective 
employee, contractor, or subcontractor. 

2. The department shall also request local criminal 
history records checks for current or prospective employees, 
contractors, or subcontractors within the office of child 
support enforcement and family support with access to FTI 
and/or criminal history record information. The local 
criminal history records checks request shall be sent to any 
jurisdiction where the current or prospective employee, 
contractor, or subcontractor has lived, worked, or attended 
school within the last five years. 

3. Fingerprinting and national, state, and local 
criminal history records checks shall be used by the 
department to determine the suitability of current or 
prospective employees, contractors, or subcontractors within 
the Office of Child Support Enforcement and Family 
Support Sections to access FTI and records. 

a. Prospective employees shall be subject to 
fingerprinting and national, state, and local criminal history 
records checks only after a conditional offer of employment 
has been made. 

b. Current employees, contractors and 
subcontractors shall be subject to fingerprinting and 
national, state, and local criminal history records checks, at a 
minimum of every 10 years. 

4. The costs of providing the criminal history records 
check for current employees, contractors, or subcontractors 
within the office of child support enforcement and family 
support shall be charged to the department by the Louisiana 
Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information for 
furnishing information contained in its criminal history and 
identification files, including any additional costs of 
providing the national and local criminal history records 
checks, which pertains to the current or prospective 
employee, contractor or subcontractor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
147 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Child Support Enforcement Section, 
LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written comments 
through March 27, 2019, to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 
70804-90656. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 
March 27, 2019, at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, Louisiana beginning at 
10 a.m. All interested persons will be afforded an
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opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in 
writing, at said hearing. Individuals with disabilities who 
require special services should contact the Bureau of 
Appeals at least seven working days in advance of the 
hearing. For Assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and 
TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Criminal History Records Checks for 

Access to Federal Tax Information 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule requires criminal background checks for 

the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
employees, contractors, and subcontractors that have access to 
federal tax information. This rule is being proposed to comply 
with Act 147 of the 2017 RLS, which requires background 
checks every ten years of DCFS employees, contractors, and 
subcontractors who have access to federal tax information. 

The proposed rule change is estimated to increase 
expenditures for the DCFS by approximately $109,097 
($37,093 state and $72,004 federal) in FY 19 for background 
checks, equipment purchases, and rule publication. 

The estimated cost for DCFS to obtain a local, state, and 
federal criminal background check is $54.25 per person. DCFS 
anticipates requesting background checks on 860 individuals in 
FY 19. Therefore, the total cost of obtaining background 
checks is estimated to be $46,655  (860 individuals x $54.25 
per background check). In subsequent years, DCFS will incur 
indeterminable costs associated with background checks as new 
DCFS employees, contractors, and subcontractors are granted 
access to federal tax information.   

There will also be a one-time cost in FY 19 to DCFS of 
$47,910 for the purchase of six mobile terminals (6 terminals x 
$7,985 per terminal).  These terminals will be used to collect 
fingerprints and transmit requests to the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification.  The use of the equipment requires 
maintenance agreements of $13,680 per year (6 terminals x 
$2,280 annual maintenance agreement).   

Additionally, in FY 19 DCFS will incur an estimated cost 
of $852 for the publication of the proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will increase revenue in the statutorily 
dedicated Criminal Identification and Information Fund by an 
estimated $22,360 for 860 state and national background 
checks in FY19, and an indeterminable amount in subsequent 
years as new DCFS employees, contractors, and subcontractors 
are granted access to federal tax information.  The Office of 
State Police will administer the state and federal background 
checks at an anticipated charge of $39.25 each, of which $26 
will be deposited into the Criminal Identification and 
Information Fund (860 individuals x $26 = $22,360) and 
$13.25 will be remitted to the federal government.   

The proposed rule will also increase revenue for local 
government by an estimated $12,900 for 860 local background 
checks in FY19, and an indeterminable, though likely marginal, 
amount in subsequent years as new DCFS employees, 
contractors, and subcontractors are granted access to federal tax 
information. Local jurisdictions will administer local 
background checks at an anticipated charge of $15 each.   

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be an economic cost to DCFS employees that 
have adverse findings on their criminal record, as this may 
deem the employee unsuitable to handle federal tax 
information, which will impact their ability to work for DCFS. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The degree to which the rule will affect competition and 
employment is indeterminable.  Prospective employees, 
contractors, and subcontractors will be notified of this 
requirement during the application process.  People who do not 
believe they can meet this requirement will likely remove 
themselves from the pool of candidates without DCFS’ 
knowledge.  

 
Sammy Guillory Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Assistant Staff Director 
1902#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Licensing Section 

State Central Registry—Juvenile Detention Facilities 
(LAC 67:V.Chapter 75) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act R.S. 49:953 (A), the Department of Children 
and Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:V, 
Subpart 8, Residential Licensing, Chapter 75, Juvenile 
Detention Facilities. 

The proposed Rule amends Chapter 75, Juvenile 
Detention Facilities, §§7505, 7507, and 7511, and 
promulgates §7508. In accordance with R.S. 15:1110.2, any 
owner, operator, current or prospective employee, or 
volunteer requesting licensure or licensed by the DCFS is 
prohibited from ownership or employment if that person’s 
name is recorded on the state central registry as a perpetrator 
with a justified (valid) finding of child abuse and/or neglect. 
Each provider licensed by the DCFS shall submit a request 
for a state central registry check for all owners, staff, 
contractors, LDE staff, and volunteers prior to November 16, 
2018. The implementation of this Rule will ensure that no 
Individual with a justified (valid) finding of child abuse 
and/or neglect listed on the state central registry owns, 
provides services for, or is employed in a facility licensed by 
DCFS.  

The text of this proposed Rule may be viewed in the 

Emergency Rule section of this edition of the Louisiana 

Register. 
Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 
family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. 
Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an adverse 
impact on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory 
Flexibility Act. 
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Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule is not anticipated to have an impact on 

providers of services funded by the state as described in 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit written comments 
through March 27, 2019, to Angie Badeaux, Licensing 
Program Director, Department of Children and Family 
Services, P. O. Box 3078, Baton Rouge, LA, 70821. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 
March 27, 2019, at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, 
Seminar Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9:00 
a.m. All interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the DCFS Appeals Unit at least 
seven working days in advance of the hearing. For 
Assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 

Marketa Garner-Walters 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  State Central Registry 

Juvenile Detention Facilities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to increase 
expenditures for the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) by approximately $10,224 in FY 19 for the 
publication of the proposed rule.  It is not anticipated that any 
other state or local governmental units will incur costs or 
savings as a result of this rule change.   

In accordance with R.S. 46:1414.1, a rule was promulgated 
in July 2018 that requires a State Central Registry check for all 
DCFS specialized provider owners and staff.  This proposed 
rule codifies the current process of requesting State Central 
Registry checks, as established by the July rule, specifically for 
Juvenile Detention Facilities owners, staff, contractors, and 
volunteers. The proposed rule also clarifies that no individual 
with a justified finding of child abuse or neglect in the State 
Central Registry shall own or be employed by Juvenile 
Detention Facilities licensed by DCFS. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rule will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed rule will have no cost or 
economic benefit to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 

Terri Ricks Evan Brasseaux 
Deputy Secretary Staff Director 
1902#030 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigation Division 

Recycling Tax Credit Reduction 
(LAC 33:VII.10415)(SW065) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Solid Waste regulations, LAC 
33:VII.10415 (SW065). 

This Rule reduces the amount of the credit, related to 
purchase of qualified new recycling manufacturing, process 
equipment, and/or a qualified service contract pertaining to 
equipment, from 20 to 14 percent. 

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:6055 authorizes an income 
tax credit for purchase of new recycling manufacturing, 
process equipment, and/or a service contract pertaining to 
the equipment. Act 400 of the 2017 Regular Legislative 
Session made the reduction credit permanent for equipment 
or service contracts. The Rule implements the change in R.S. 
47:6055. The basis and rationale of this Rule is to conform 
with revisions to the Louisiana statutes. This Rule meets an 
exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 

Subpart 2.  Recycling 

Chapter 104. Credit for New Recycling Manufacturing 

or Process Equipment and/or Service 

Contracts 

§10415. Amount of Credit 

A. The maximum total credit related to a purchase of 
qualified new recycling manufacturing or process equipment 
and/or a qualified service contract that may be allowable for 
all taxable periods is 14 percent of the cost of the qualified 
recycling equipment or qualified service contract, less the 
amount of any other Louisiana tax credits for the purchase of 
the equipment or the cost of the service contract. The total 
tax credits allowed under this Chapter shall be limited to five 
million dollars per tax year. Example: 
 

Cost of equipment $1,000,000 

  X .14 

  $ 140,000 

Less other Louisiana credit on purchase $ 40,000 

Maximum credit for all taxable periods $ 100,000 

 
B. Fourteen percent of the maximum total credit related 

to a purchase of qualified recycling equipment and/or a 
qualified service contract is earned each taxable period in 
which the equipment or service contract continues to be in 
use exclusively in the state of Louisiana to a maximum of 
five periods. Example: 
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Maximum credit for all taxable periods $ 100,000 

  X .14 

Credit earned for this taxable period $ 14,000 

 
C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6005. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 18:842 (August 
1992), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:2633 (December 2007), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, 
LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 
stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 
R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by SW065. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 8, 2019, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. Copies of these proposed 
regulations can be purchased by contacting the DEQ Public 
Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or money order is 
required in advance for each copy of SW065. These 
proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx.  

Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on April 1, 2019, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Recycling Tax Credit Reduction 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

LDEQ does not anticipate any costs or savings by 
implementing the proposed Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be an indeterminable increase in revenue 
collections for the state as a result of this proposed Rule 
change. 

Act 400 of 2017 made permanent a reduction from 20 
percent to 14 percent of the tax credit related to purchases of 
qualified new recycling manufacturing or process equipment 
and/or qualified service contracts. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be a reduction in economic benefits for 
individuals who apply for this tax credit. Otherwise there 
should be little or no net effect to costs and/or economic 
benefits for the regulated community. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed Rule should have no effect on competition 
and employment. 

 

Herman Robinson Evan Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1902#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigation Division 

Waste Tire Fees 
(LAC 33:VII.10519, 10521, and 10535)(SW066) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Solid Waste regulations, LAC 
33:VII.10519, 10521, and 10535 (SW066). 

This Rule provides for changes to the waste tire fees 
which were authorized in Act 451 of the 2016 Regular 
Legislative Session and Act 541 of the 2018 Regular 
Legislative Session. The basis and rationale for this Rule are 
to implement the fee changes authorized in Act 451 of the 
2016 Regular Legislative Session and Act 541 of the 2018 
Regular Legislative Session. This Rule meets an exception 
listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); 
therefore, no report regarding environmental/health benefits 
and social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 

Subpart 2.  Recycling 

Chapter 105. Waste Tires 

§10519. Standards and Responsibilities of Waste Tire 

Generators and Sellers of Tires 

A. - B. … 
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C. Each tire dealer doing business in the state of 
Louisiana shall be responsible for the collection of the $2.25 
waste tire fee upon the sale of each passenger/light truck tire, 
$5 waste tire fee upon the sale of each medium truck tire, 
and $10 waste tire fee upon the sale of each off-road tire. For 
recapped or retreaded tires, a waste tire fee of $1.25 shall be 
collected upon the sale of each recapped or retreaded tire. 
These fees shall also be collected upon replacement of all 
recall and adjustment tires. These fees shall be collected 
whether or not the purchaser retains the waste tires. The 
department does not require the collection of fees on the sale 
of tires weighing 500 pounds or more, solid tires, or tires 
which are de minimis in nature, including but not limited to 
lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart tires. 

D. - F.1. … 
2. "All Louisiana tire dealers are required to collect a 

waste tire cleanup and recycling fee from the consumer at 
the time of the retail sale of $2.25 for each passenger/light 
truck tire, $5 for each medium truck tire, $10 for each off-
road tire, and $1.25 for recapped or retreaded tires. These 
fees shall also be collected upon replacement of all recall 
and adjustment tires. Tire fee categories are defined in the 
Waste Tire Regulations. This fee must be collected whether 
or not the purchaser retains the waste tires. Tire dealers must 
accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste tire 
for every tire sold, unless the purchaser elects to retain the 
waste tire. The department does not require the collection of 
fees on the sale of tires weighing 500 pounds or more, solid 
tires, or tires which are de minimis in nature, including but 
not limited to lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart 
tires." 

G. - R. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2411-2422. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 18:40 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001 
(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2777 
(December 2000), LR 27:830 (June 2001), LR 27:2227 (December 
2001), LR 28:1953 (September 2002), LR 29:1818 (September 
2003), LR 29:2780 (December 2003), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1323 (June 2005), amended by 
the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2503 
(October 2005), LR 33:90 (January 2007), LR 33:2158 (October 
2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
42:255 (February 2016), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45: 

§10521. Standards and Responsibilities of Sellers of 

Motor Vehicles 

A. … 
B. Motor vehicle dealers doing business in the state of 

Louisiana, who sell new vehicles, shall be responsible for 
the collection from the consumer of the $2.25 waste tire fee 
for each tire upon the sale of each vehicle with 
passenger/light truck tires, the $5 waste tire fee for each tire 
upon the sale of each vehicle with medium truck tires, and 
the $10 waste tire fee for each tire upon the sale of each off-
road vehicle. No fee is collected on the designated spare tire. 
These fees shall also be collected upon replacement of all 
recall and adjustment tires. The department does not require 
the collection of fees on the sale of a vehicle with tires 
weighing 500 pounds or more, solid tires, or tires which are 

de minimis in nature, including but not limited to lawn 
mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart tires. 

C. - E. … 
F. Motor vehicle dealers shall prominently display to the 

public the notification provided by the administrative 
authority, indicating that: 

"All Louisiana motor vehicle dealers selling new vehicles are 
required to collect a waste tire cleanup and recycling fee from 
the consumer of $2.25 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 
for each medium truck tire, and $10 for each off-road tire, 
upon the sale of each new motor vehicle. These fees shall also 
be collected upon replacement of all recall and adjustment 
tires. No fee shall be collected on the designated spare tire. 
The department does not require the collection of fees on the 
sale of tires weighing 500 pounds or more, solid tires, or tires 
which are de minimis in nature, including but not limited to 
lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart tires." 

G. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2411-2422. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1324 (June 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:91 (January 2007), LR 33:2158 (October 
2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 
42:256 (February 2016), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs and Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45: 

§10535. Fees and Fund Disbursement 

A. - A.6. … 
B. A waste tire fee is hereby imposed on each tire sold in 

Louisiana, to be collected from the purchaser by the tire 
dealer or motor vehicle dealer at the time of retail sale. The 
fee shall be $2.25 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for 
each medium truck tire, and $10 for each off-road tire. For 
recapped or retreaded tires, a waste tire fee of $1.25 shall be 
collected upon the sale of each recapped or retreaded tire. 
This fee shall be collected whether or not the purchaser 
retains the waste tires. The department does not require the 
collection of fees on the sale of tires weighing 500 pounds or 
more, solid tires, or tires de minimis in nature, including but 
not limited to lawn mower tires, bicycle tires, and golf cart 
tires. 

C. - E.8. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2411 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended LR 
22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2781 (December 2000), LR 27:832 (June 2001), LR 27:2228 
(December 2001), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1324 (June 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2504 (October 2005), LR 
33:2160 (October 2007), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Division, LR 42:268 (February 2016), LR 43:948 (May 
2017), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 
stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 

R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 
in HCR 170 of 2014. 
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Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by SW066. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 8, 2019, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs and 
Criminal Investigations Division, P.O. Box 4302, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-4068 or by e-
mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. Copies of these proposed 
regulations can be purchased by contacting the DEQ Public 
Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or money order is 
required in advance for each copy of SW066. These 
proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx.  

Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on April 1, 2019, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson 
General Counsel 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Revisions to Update Wate Tire Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 

state governmental units as a result of the proposed Rule 
change which codifies Act 541 of 2018 increasing the existing 
authorized fee of $2.00 to $2.25 for a 3-year period from 
October 1, 2018 through July 31, 2022. This fee will be levied 
on each passenger/light truck tire. This fee is deposited into the 
Waste Tire Management Fund (WTMF) which is used to 
operate the waste tire program in LDEQ.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in the (LDEQ) Waste Tire 
Management Fund (WTMF) of approximately $1,144,363 per 
year for the 2019-20, 2020-21, and 2021-22 fiscal years. This 
fee will be used to provide payments to waste tire processors. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule change results in an increase of an 
additional $.25 per tire to anyone purchasing a passenger/light 
truck tire. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition or employment 
in the public or private sector as a result of the proposed Rule 
change since the fee increase is being implemented across the 
board and will give no entity a competitive advantage over 
another.  

 
Herman Robinson Evan Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1902#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Board of Professional Geoscientists 

Use of Seals (LAC 46:LXII.1501) 

The Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists hereby 
gives notice that, pursuant to R.S. 37:711.8.C (1), it intends 
to amend LAC 46:LXII.1501 in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and the Louisiana Professional Geoscience 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:711.1 et seq. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXII.  Professional Geoscientists 

Chapter 15. Seal  

§1501. Use of Seals 

A. License holders must obtain a seal as per R.S. 
37:711.22.  

B. The following rules for the use of seals to identify 
work performed by a professional geoscientist shall be 
binding on every licensee.  

1. Seal Possession  
a. Each professional geoscientist, upon licensure, 

shall obtain an official seal.  
 i. In the case of a temporary permit issued to a 
licensee of another jurisdiction, the licensee shall affix the 
seal of his/her jurisdiction of licensure, his/her signature, the 
date of execution, and his/her Louisiana temporary permit 
number to all of his/her work.  

2. Seal Responsibility  
a. The application of the licensee's seal, signature, 

and date shall constitute certification that the work thereon 
was done by the licensee or under his/her responsible charge. 
The licensee shall be personally and professionally 
responsible and accountable for the care, custody, control 
and use of his/her seal, professional signature and 
identification. A seal which has been lost, misplaced or 
stolen shall, upon discovery of its loss, be reported 
immediately to the board by the licensee. The board may
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invalidate the licensure number of said licensee, if it deems 
this necessary, and issue another licensure number to the 
licensee. 

3. Seal Use 
a. The seal, signature, and date on a document 

constitute a certification that the document was prepared by 
the licensee or under his direct supervision. A licensee shall 
affix an unobscured seal, original signature, and date of 
signature to the original documents contained in the final 
version of any geoscience document as outlined below: 
 i. Each sheet of maps, cross sections, drawings, 
descriptions, charts, graphs, and reports of geoscientific 
practice shall be signed, sealed, and dated by the licensee 
who prepares it, by the licensee who provides direct 
supervisory control over its preparation, or by the licensee 
who reviews it in sufficient depth to fully coordinate and 
assume responsibility for documents prepared by another 
licensee. 
 ii. Where multiple sheets are bound together in 
one volume representing a singular geoscience document, 
the licensee who prepared such volume, under whose 
direction and control such volume was prepared, or who 
reviews it in sufficient depth to fully coordinate and assume 
responsibility thereof, shall sign, seal, and date a sheet that 
clearly identifies all of the other sheets included as part of 
the bound volume. 

b. A geoscience document is any document that 
provides an interpretation or analysis of geoscience data, 
including but not limited to: 
 i. cross sections displaying geoscience data, 
including geological and/or geophysical parameters;  
 ii. contoured drawings, such as potentiometric 
surface maps, isopleth maps, and subsurface data; 
 iii. aquifer test analyses, including yield, 
transmissivity, or specific storage;  
 iv. groundwater modeling; 
 v. geoscientific surface resource and availability 
studies;  
 vi. geoscientific components of groundwater 
management plans;  
 vii. soil boring logs and well logs;  
 viii. soil, lithology, and/or geophysical maps; 
 ix. interpretation of geophysical surveys; and  
 x. interpretations, conclusions, and 
recommendations for further action(s) based on these data.  

c. Preliminary or draft documents do not require a 
PG stamp; however, each sheet or page of a preliminary or 
draft document shall be clearly and prominently marked 
“preliminary” or “draft”. 

d. In accordance with the Standards for 
Environmental Site Assessments (ESA) published by the 
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), Phase 
I ESAs do not require a PG stamp, unless one or more 
geoscience documents, findings, or conclusions is 
incorporated into the Phase I ESA. However, due to the 
nature of subsurface work and interpretations, Phase II and 
III ESAs require a PG stamp in accordance with the above 
requirements. 

4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:711.8.C(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Professional Geoscientists, LR 41:2348 
(November 2015), amended LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 
Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:953(A), the 

Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists, through its 
chairman, has considered the potential family impact of 
amending LAC 46:LXII.1501.B.3. It is accordingly 
concluded that amending LAC 46:XXXII.1501.B.3 would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. the effect on stability of the family; 
2. the effect on the authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children; 
3. the effect on the functioning of the family; 
4. the effect on family earnings and family budget; 
5. the effect on the behavior and personal 

responsibility of children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:973, the Louisiana 
Board of Professional Geoscientists, through its chairman, 
has considered the potential poverty impact of amending 
LAC 46:LXII.1501.B.3. It is accordingly concluded that 
amending LAC 46:LXII.1501.B.3 would appear to have no 
impact on the following: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Statement 

In accordance with Section 965 of Title 49 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
regulatory flexibility analysis on the Rule proposed for 
adoption, repeal, or amendment. This will certify the agency 
has considered, without limitation, each of the following 
methods of reducing the impact of the proposed Rule on 
small businesses. 

1. The Establishment of Less Stringent Compliance or 
Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The proposed 
Rule does not require compliance or reporting from small 
businesses. 

2. The Establishment of Less Stringent Deadlines for 
Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting Requirements for 
Small Businesses. The proposed Rule does not require 
compliance or reporting from small businesses. 

3. The Consolidation or Simplification of Compliance 
or Reporting Requirements for Small Businesses. The 
proposed Rule do not require compliance or reporting from 
small businesses. 

4. The Establishment of Performance Standards for 
Small Businesses to Replace Design or Operational 
Standards Required in the Proposed Rule. The proposed 
Rule does not require compliance or reporting from small 
businesses. 
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5. The Exemption of Small Businesses from All or 
Any Part of the Requirements Contained in the Proposed 
Rule. The proposed Rule does not require compliance or 
reporting from small businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:953(A), the 
Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists, through its 
chairman, has considered the potential provider impact of 
amending LAC 46:LXII.1501.B.3. It is accordingly 
concluded that amending LAC 46:LXII.1501.B.3 would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the costs to the 
provider to provide the same level of service; 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons may submit comments relative to 
this proposed Rule, through March 18, 2019, to Harry 
Vorhoff, counsel for the Louisiana Board of Professional 
Geoscientists, at 1885 N. Third St., Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

 
William Finley 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Use of Seals 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no direct material 

effect on state or local governmental expenditures. The purpose 
of the proposed rule change is to provide guidance and 
clarification to professional geoscientists concerning how and 
when to use the professional geoscientist seal. Professional 
geoscientists receive an official seal upon licensure in order to 
certify a professional geoscientist did the work.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on costs to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental units, but will 
provide additional guidance to professional geoscientists 
concerning how and when to use the professional seal. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
William Finley Evan Brasseaux 
Chairman Staff Director 
1901#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Direct Service Worker Registry 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 92) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 48:I.Chapter 92 as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 40:2179-2179.1. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend the provisions governing the 
Direct Service Worker (DSW) Registry in order to 1) 
provide a process for direct service workers who have been 
placed on the DSW registry with a negative finding of 
neglect of a client to request removal, under certain 
conditions, and to provide for appeal opportunities if the 
reinstatement request is denied; and 2) clarify and ensure 
that the provisions for the DSW registry are promulgated in 
a clear and concise manner in the Louisiana Administrative 

Code. 
Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing 

Chapter 92. Direct Service Worker Registry 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§9201. Definitions 

* * * 
Assistance with Activities of Daily Living—such assistance 

may be the actual performance of the task for the individual, 
or may provide hands-on assistance with the performance of 
the tasks, or may include supervision and prompting to allow 
the individual to self-perform such tasks. 

* * * 
Daily Monitoring—activities pursued on a daily basis by a 

family member, direct service worker and/or other health 
care providers for the purposes of collecting critical 
information needed to assure the individual’s welfare. 
Monitoring activities may include, but are not limited to 
face-to-face home visits with the person receiving assistance 
or services and/or daily telephone calls with the individual or 
communication by other electronic means. 

* * * 
Department—the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH). 

* * * 
Direct Service Worker Registry—the negative database, 

maintained by the department, or its designee, of unlicensed 
persons who have a finding placed against them of abuse, 
neglect, misappropriation, exploitation, or extortion while 
employed as a DSW at a licensed health care facility or 
entity who are ineligible to be employed, or have continued 
employment, as a direct service worker. 
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* * * 
Finding—allegations of abuse, neglect, misappropriation, 

exploitation or extortion that are placed against the DSW on 
the registry by the department for the following reasons:  

1. - 2. ... 
Health Care Provider—any health care facility, agency, or 

entity licensed and/or certified by LDH. Such entities may 
be referred to in other laws, statutes and regulations as 
providers, agencies, clinics, residential care units, homes or 
facilities. Health care providers include, but are not limited 
to, the following: 

1. - 10.  ... 
Health Standards Section (HSS)—the section of the 

Department of Health responsible for the licensing and/or 
certification of health care providers. 

Home and Community-Based Services—those services as 
defined in R.S. 40:2120.2 or a successor statute. For the 
purposes of this Rule, home and community-based services 
do not include services provided in day or residential 
congregate care settings including, but not limited to, the 
following: 

1. - 6. ... 
7. any other 24-hour facility licensed by the 

department, Department of Education or the Department of 
Children and Family Services, exclusive of center-based 
respite facilities. 

* * * 
Mental Abuse—emotional or mental abuse may involve 

any activity that is designed to blame, shame, humiliate, or 
intimidate an individual and includes, but is not limited to 
abuse that is facilitated or caused by taking or using 
photographs or recordings in any manner that would demean 
or humiliate a client using any type of equipment (e.g., 
cameras, smart phones, and other electronic devices) and/or 
keeping or distributing them through multimedia messages 
or on social media sites. 

1. Mental abuse may occur through either verbal or 
nonverbal conduct which causes or has the potential to cause 
the client to experience humiliation, intimidation, fear, 
shame, agitation, or degradation, regardless of whether the 
client provided consent and regardless of the client’s 
cognitive status. This may include, but is not limited to: 

a. photographs and recordings of clients that 
contain nudity; 

b. sexual and intimate relations; 
c. bathing, showering or toileting; 
d. providing perineal care, such as after an 

incontinence episode; 
e. agitating a client to solicit a response; 
f. derogatory statements directed to the client; 
g. showing a body part of the client without the 

client’s face, whether it is the chest, limbs or back; 
h. labeling a client’s pictures and/or providing 

comments in a demeaning manner; 
i. directing a client to use inappropriate language; 

and/or 
j. showing a client in a compromised position. 

* * * 
Neglect—the failure by a caregiver responsible for an 

adult’s care or by other parties, to provide the proper or 
necessary support or medical, surgical, or any other care 

necessary for his/her well-being, unless the resident 
exercises his/her right to refuse the necessary care. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2179-2179.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2058 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:95 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:3175 
(December 2012), LR 42:893 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

§9202. Introduction 

A. The Department of Health (LDH) shall maintain a 
registry of individuals for whom specific findings of abuse, 
neglect, misappropriation, exploitation or extortion have 
been substantiated by the department, an administrative law 
judge, or a court of law. 

B. The Direct Service Worker Registry will contain the 
following items on each individual for whom a finding has 
been placed: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. an accurate summary of finding(s); and 
5. information relative to registry status which will be 

available through procedures established by the Health 
Standards Section (HSS). 

6. Repealed. 
C. Licensed and/or certified health care providers shall 

access the registry to determine if there is a finding that a 
prospective hire, or currently employed or contracted DSW, 
has been determined to have committed exploitation, 
extortion, abuse or neglect of an individual being supported, 
or misappropriated the individual’s property or funds. If 
there is such a finding on the registry, the prospective 
employee shall not be hired as a DSW nor shall a current 
employee have continued employment as a DSW with the 
licensed and/or certified health care provider. 

1. Access to the registry shall be limited to an inquiry 
for a specific DSW. 

D. - D.1.  ... 
E. The provisions of this Chapter shall apply to DSWs 

who are compensated, either by direct employment or 
through contract, regardless of the setting, and specifically 
do not apply to those DSWs listed on the Certified Nurse 
Aide Registry established under rules promulgated by the 
LDH. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2179-2179.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2059 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:95 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:3176 
(December 2012), LR 42:894 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

Subchapter B. Reserved. 

Subchapter C. Provider Participation 

§9231. Health Care Provider Responsibilities 

A. Prior to hiring any DSW or trainee, the licensed 
and/or certified health care provider shall: 

1. ensure that the individual is at least 18 years of age; 
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2. document that the individual is able to read, write 
and comprehend the English language; and 

3. access the registry in accordance with the 
provisions of §9202.C-C.1. 

B. The health care provider shall have a written 
policy/process to check the DSW registry on the 
department’s designated database at least every six months 
to determine if any currently employed or contracted DSW 
or trainee has been placed on the registry with a finding that 
he/she has been determined to have committed abuse or 
neglect of an individual being supported or misappropriated 
the individual’s property or funds or committed exploitation 
or extortion of an individual being supported. 

1. ... 
2. If there is such a finding on the registry, the 

employee shall not have continued employment as a DSW 
with the licensed and/or certified health care provider in 
accordance with the provisions of §9202.C. 

NOTE: The DSW registry is maintained on the department’s 
designated database which may also contain other 
exclusionary information on a DSW. The provider’s 
responsibility to access the database shall also be conducted in 
accordance with other departmental rules and regulations, as 
applicable. 

D. Criminal History. In accordance with RS 40:1203.1-5 
et seq., the provider shall have a written policy and process 
to request in writing a security check and the criminal 
history of an employee, either contracted or directly 
employed, conducted by the Louisiana State Police or 
authorized agency, upon offer of employment or contract. 

1. An employer may make an offer of temporary 
employment to a non-licensed person pending the results of 
the criminal history and security check on the person. In 
such instances, the employer shall provide to the Louisiana 
State Police, or authorized agency, the name and relevant 
information relating to the person within 72 hours after the 
date the person accepts temporary employment. 

2. The security check shall consist of the use of 
personal identifiers, such as name, social security number, 
date of birth, and driver's license number, to search the 
national sex offender public registry. The provider shall 
obtain from the Louisiana State Police or the authorized 
agency the results of the security check to verify if an 
applicant is listed in the national sex offender public registry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2179-2179.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2061 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:97 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:3176 
(December 2012), LR 42:894 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

Subchapter D. Medication Administration and 

Noncomplex Tasks in Home and 

Community-Based Settings 

§9243. General Requirements for the Performance of 

Medication Administration and Noncomplex 

Tasks in Home and Community-Based Settings 

A. A registered nurse shall authorize and monitor 
medication administration and noncomplex tasks performed

by the direct service workers. In order for the RN to 
authorize these tasks, the direct service worker shall: 

1. ... 
2. attend to an individual who: 

a. - c. ... 
d. receives periodic assessment by a RN based on 

the person’s health status and specified within the plan of 
care; in no case shall the periodic assessment be less than 
annually. A comprehensive assessment performed for a 
client in accordance with policies and procedures established 
by Medicaid or by a LDH program office may serve as the 
basis of the RN assessment but may not be used in lieu of 
the RN assessment. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1031-1034. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:3177 (December 2012), amended LR 42:895 (June 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 45: 

§9245. Training Requirements for the Performance of 

Medication Administration and Noncomplex 

Tasks in Home and Community-Based Settings 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Based on the nursing assessment and clinical 

judgment, the RN shall provide additional person-specific 
training when the person receiving care has a change in 
health status or physician orders and yet remains in a stable, 
predictable condition. The RN may make a determination 
based upon his/her assessment of the worker’s competency 
that training can be safely performed via telephone contact, 
other means of electronic communication, or face-to-face 
contact with the worker. Examples include, but are not 
limited to: 

A.3.a. - B.3.b.iv. ... 
C. A direct service worker who has not completed 

didactic training and demonstrated competency in 
accordance with guidelines established and approved by the 
Department of Health and the Louisiana Board of Nursing 
shall not be allowed to perform medication administration or 
any noncomplex tasks covered by this Rule. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1031-1034. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
38:3177 (December 2012), amended LR 42:895 (June 2016), 
amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 45: 

§9249. Authorized Medication Administration and 

Noncomplex Tasks in Home and Community-

Based Settings 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. other noncomplex tasks as identified by guidelines 

established and approved by the Department of Health and 
the Louisiana Board of Nursing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1031-1034. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR
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38:3178 (December 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

Subchapter E. Violations 

§9273. Prohibited Direct Service Worker Conduct 

A. The department provides a process for the review and 
investigation of all allegations of wrong-doing by DSWs. 
The following constitutes prohibited DSW conduct: 

1. verbal, mental, sexual or physical abuse, corporal 
punishment or involuntary seclusion on an individual being 
supported;  

2. neglect of an individual being supported; or 
3. exploitation, extortion, or misappropriation of the 

individual's person, property or funds, inclusive of, but not 
limited to, the following: 

a. credit card fraud; 
b. theft of a firearm; 
c. identity theft; 
d. fraudulent acquisition of a credit card; or 
e. theft of a vehicle. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2179-2179.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2061 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:98 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:3180 
(December 2012), LR 42:895 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

§9275. Notice of Violation 

A. When there are substantiated allegations against the 
direct service worker, either through oral or written 
evidence, the department will notify the individual(s) 
implicated in the investigation of the following: 

1. - 2. ... 
3. appeal rights/opportunities: 

a. the right to request from HSS an informal 
discussion (informal dispute resolution process); and 

b. the right to request from the Division of 
Administrative Law an administrative hearing (appeal); or 

c. the right to bypass the informal dispute resolution 
process and request appeal with the Division of 
Administrative Law. 

4. Repealed. 
B. The specified timeframe, up to and including 

permanent status, to cease employment as a DSW in a 
licensed health care facility will be indicated in the notice 
letter of placement of the finding against the DSW. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2179-2179.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2061 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:98 (January 2007), LR 42:895 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

Subchapter F. Administrative Hearings 

§9285. General Provisions 

A. - A.3. ... 
a. Notification of the finding of abuse, neglect, 

exploitation, extortion, and/or misappropriation will then be 
sent to the DSW registry to be recorded. 

B. - C. ... 

D. If there is a final and binding administrative hearing 
decision to place a finding on the DSW registry against the 
direct service worker, the department shall place the direct 
service worker's name and the adverse findings on the DSW 
registry. The finding(s) may remain on the DSW registry 
against the DSW for a specified length of time up to and 
including permanently dependent on the severity and nature 
of the offense. 

1. The specified timeframe, up to and including 
permanent status, to cease employment as a DSW in a 
licensed health care facility will be stated in the notice letter 
of placement of the finding against the DSW. 

E. Removal of the DSW’s name from the DSW registry. 
1. For those DSWs who only have a placement of 

finding of neglect, HSS will consider removal of the DSW’s 
name from the registry only upon the DSW’s written request 
to the department for reinstatement and in accordance with 
the following: 

a. the employment and personal history of the DSW 
does not reflect a pattern of abusive behavior or neglect or 
instances of misappropriation, exploitation or extortion of an 
individual being supported; 

b. the neglect involved in the original finding was a 
singular occurrence; and 

c. a period of no less than one year has passed since 
the DSW’s name was placed on the registry barring 
employment in a licensed health care facility as a DSW. 

3. If the DSW successfully petitions the department to 
remove the DSW’s name from the registry, the DSW will be 
notified in writing of such determination and date of 
removal. 

4.  If the DSW unsuccessfully petitions the 
department to remove the DSW’s name from the registry, the 
DSW will be notified in writing of the department’s decision 
and their right to an administrative appeal in accordance 
with §9275.A(3)a-c. 

5. There shall be only one opportunity for a DSW to 
request removal of their name from the DSW registry. 

6. There is no opportunity afforded for a DSW to 
request removal of a finding of abuse, extortion, 
misappropriation or exploitation placed against them on the 
registry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2179-2179.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2062 (November 2006), amended LR 
33:98 (January 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:3180 
(December 2012), LR 42:896 (June 2016), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
45: 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this
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proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 
Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting 
written comments is at close of business, 4:30 p.m., on April 
1, 2019. 

Public Hearing 

The department will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. 

on March 28, 2019 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, 

which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 

LA. All interested persons are invited to attend and present 

data, views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. 

Parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking 

Garage which is located between North Sixth and North 

Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the 

Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage 

may be available to public hearing attendees when the 

parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 
 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Direct Service Worker Registry 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation. It is anticipated that $2,052 will be 
expended in FY 18-19 for the state’s administrative expense for 
promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect federal revenue collections or licensing fee 
collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing the 
Direct Service Worker (DSW) Registry in order to 1) provide a 
process for direct service workers who have been placed on the 
DSW Registry with a negative finding of neglect to a client to 
request removal, under certain conditions, and to provide for

appeal opportunities if the reinstatement request is denied; and 
2) clarify and ensure that the provisions for the DSW Registry 
are promulgated in a clear and concise manner in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. It is anticipated that the implementation 
of this proposed rule will not result in economic costs to DSW 
providers, but will be beneficial by providing a process to 
appeal certain negative findings and request reinstatement.  
Implementation of this proposed Rule is not anticipated to 
result in administrative costs associated with the appeals 
process for FY 18-19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This Rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Cecile Castello Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1902#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Federal Upper Payment Limits and Physician-Administered 

Drugs Reimbursement 
(LAC 50:XXIX.105 and 949) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to amend LAC 50:XXIX.105 and §949 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amended the provisions governing the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management Program in order to revise the 
reimbursement methodology for physician-administered 
drugs in a physician office setting to bring the rates current 
and to incorporate a mechanism for periodic updates to the 
rates in compliance with U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 
44, Number 6). The department promulgated a Notice of 
Intent which proposed to amend the provisions governing 
pharmacy ingredient cost reimbursement in order to change 
the reimbursement methodology from average acquisition 
cost to the national average drug acquisition cost (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 45, Number 1). The department 
subsequently determined that the Notice of Intent published 
in the January 20, 2019 edition of the Louisiana Register 
erroneously repealed the provisions governing federal upper 
payment limits. 

The department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing reimbursement in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program in order to: 1) reinstate the federal 
upper payment limits provisions; 2) align the reimbursement 
methodology for physician-administered drugs in a 
physician office setting with the corresponding CMS-
approved State Plan Amendment; and 3) ensure that these 
provisions are appropriately promulgated in the Louisiana 

Administrative Code. 
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Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§105. Medicaid Pharmacy Benefits Management 

System Point of Sale—Prospective Drug 

Utilization Program 

A. - B. ... 
C. Covered Drug List. The list of covered drugs is 

managed through multiple mechanisms. Drugs in which the 
manufacturer entered into the Medicaid Drug Rebate 
Program with CMS are included in the list of covered drugs. 
National average drug acquisition cost (NADAC) and usual 
and customary charges assist in managing costs on the 
covered drug list. Federal upper limits provide for 
dispensing of multiple source drugs at established limitations 
unless the prescribing practitioner specifies that the brand 
product is medically necessary for a patient. Establishment 
of co-payments also provides for management. 

D. Reimbursement Management. The cost of 
pharmaceutical care is managed through NADAC of the 
ingredient or through wholesale acquisition cost (WAC) 
when no NADAC is assigned, and compliance with FUL 
regulations, the establishment of the professional dispensing 
fee, drug rebates and copayments. Usual and customary 
charges are compared to other reimbursement methodologies 
and the "lesser of" is reimbursed. 

E. - L. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S, 

36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act, and the 1995-96 
General Appropriate Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1053 (June 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
43:1180 (June 2017), LR 43:1553 (August 2017), LR 45: 

Chapter 9. Methods of Payment 

Subchapter D. Maximum Allowable Costs 

§949. Fee for Service Cost Limits 

A. - B.1.a. ... 
2. federal upper payment limits plus the professional 

dispensing fee; or 
a. Repealed. 

3. the provider's usual and customary charges to the 
general public not to exceed the department's "maximum 
payment allowed." 

a. For purposes of these provisions, the term 
general public does not include any person whose 
prescriptions are paid by third-party payors, including health 
insurers, governmental entities, and Louisiana Medicaid. 

C. Federal Upper Payment Limits for Multiple Source 
Drugs 

1. Except for drugs subject to "physician 
certification," the Medicaid Program shall utilize listings 
established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) that identify and set upper limits for 
multiple source drugs that meet all of the following 
requirements: 

a. All of the formulations of the drug approved by 
the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) have been 
evaluated as therapeutically equivalent in the most current 
edition of their publication, Approved Drug Products with 

Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (including 
supplements or in successor publications). 

b. At least three suppliers list the drug, which has 
been classified by the FDA as category "A" in the 
aforementioned publication based on listings contained in 
current editions (or updates) of published compendia of cost 
information for drugs available for sale nationally. 

2. Medicaid shall utilize the maximum acquisition 
cost established by CMS in determining multiple source 
drug cost. 

a. - c. Repealed. 
3. The Medicaid Program shall provide pharmacists 

who participate in Medicaid reimbursement with updated 
lists reflecting: 

a. the multiple source drugs subject to federal 
multiple source drug cost requirements; 

b. the maximum reimbursement amount per unit; 
and 

c. the date such costs shall become effective. 
D. Physician Certifications 

1. Limits on payments for multiple source drugs shall 
not be applicable when the prescriber certifies in his own 
handwriting that a specified brand name drug is medically 
necessary for the care and treatment of a recipient. Such 
certification may be written directly on the prescription or on 
a separate sheet which is dated and attached to the 
prescription. A standard phrase in the prescriber's 
handwriting, such as "brand necessary" will be acceptable. 

2. Any practice which precludes the prescriber's 
handwritten statement shall not be accepted as a valid 
certification. Such practices include, but are not limited to: 

a. a printed box on the prescription blank that could 
be checked by the prescriber to indicate brand necessity; 

b. a handwritten statement transferred to a rubber 
stamp and then stamped on the prescription blank; or 

c. preprinted prescription forms using a facsimile of 
the prescriber’s handwritten statement. 

E. Fee for Service 340B Purchased Drugs. The 
department shall make payments for self-administered drugs 
that are purchased by a covered entity through the 340B 
program at the actual acquisition cost which can be no more 
than the 340B ceiling price plus the professional dispensing 
fee, unless the covered entity has implemented the Medicaid 
carve-out option, in which case 340B drugs should not be 
billed to or reimbursed by Medicaid. 340B contract 
pharmacies shall not bill 340B stock to Medicaid. Fee-for-
service outpatient hospital claims for 340B drugs shall use a 
cost to charge methodology on the interim cost report and 
settled during final cost settlement. Federally qualified 
health center (FQHC) and rural health clinic (RHC) claims 
for physician administered drugs shall be included in the all-
inclusive T1015 encounter rate. 

F. Federal Supply Schedule Drugs. Drugs acquired at 
federal supply schedule (FSS) and at a nominal price shall 
be reimbursed at actual acquisition cost plus a professional 
dispensing fee. 

G. Indian Health Service All-Inclusive Encounter Rate. 
Pharmacy services provided by the Indian Health Service 
(IHS) shall be included in the encounter rate. No individual 
pharmacy claims shall be reimbursed to IHS providers. 

H. Mail Order, Long-Term Care and Specialty Pharmacy. 
Drugs dispensed by mail order, long-term care and/or 
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specialty pharmacies (drugs not distributed by a retail 
community pharmacy) will be reimbursed using the 
brand/generic drug reimbursement methodology. 

1. - 2.b.iv. Repealed. 
I. Physician-Administered Drugs. Medicaid-covered 

physician-administered drugs shall be reimbursed according 
to the Louisiana professional services fee schedule. 
Reimbursement shall be determined utilizing the following 
methodology, and periodic updates to the rates shall be made 
in accordance with the approved Louisiana Medicaid State 
Plan provisions governing physician-administered drugs in a 
physician office setting. 

1. Average sales price (ASP) plus 6 percent, for drugs 
appearing on the Medicare file. 

2. Reimbursement rates for drugs that do not appear 
on the Medicare file shall be determined utilizing the 
following alternative methods: 

a. the wholesale acquisition cost (WAC) of the 
drug, if available; 

b. if there is no WAC available, the reimbursement 
rate will be 100 percent of the provider’s current invoice for 
the dosage administered. 

J. Clotting Factor. Pharmacy claims for clotting factor 
will be reimbursed using the brand/generic drug 
reimbursement methodology. 

K. Investigational or Experimental Drugs. 
Investigational or experimental drugs shall not be 
reimbursed by Medicaid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1065 (June 2006), amended LR 34:88 
(January 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1561 (July 
2010), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 43:1185 (June 2017), LR 43:1554 (August 
2017), LR 44:1020 (June 2018), LR 45: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will

have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service 
and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 
same level of service. These provisions will have no impact 
the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service as 
described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 
Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. The 
deadline for submitting written comments is at close of 
business, 4:30 p.m., on April 1, 2019. 

Public Hearing 

Interested persons may submit a written request to 
conduct a public hearing either by U.S. mail to the Office of 
the Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post 
Office Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, fax to (225) 
342-5568, or email to LDHRulemaking@la.gov; however, 
such request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
March 12, 2019. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 9:30 a.m. on March 28, 2019 in Room 118 of the 
Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North Fourth 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not a public 
hearing will be held, interested persons should first call 
Stanley Bordelon at (225) 219-3454 after March 12, 2019. If 
a public hearing is to be held, all interested persons are 
invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 
arguments, orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, 
parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking 
Garage which is located between North Sixth and North 
Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the 
Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage 
may be available to public hearing attendees when the 
parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Benefits Management 

Program—Federal Upper Payment Limits and 

Physician-Administered Drugs Reimbursement 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19. It is anticipated that 
$1,188 ($594 SGF and $594 FED) will be expended in FY 18-
19 for the state's administrative expense for promulgation of 
this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 
federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 18-19. It is 
anticipated that $594 will be collected in FY 18-19 for the 
federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 
Rule and the final Rule. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule provides technical amendments to the 
provisions governing reimbursement in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program in order to: 1) reinstate the federal upper 
payment limits provisions that were erroneously repealed in the 
Notice of Intent published in the January 20, 2019 edition of 
the Louisiana Register; 2) align the reimbursement provisions 
in the administrative Rule for physician-administered drugs in a 
physician office setting with the language in the corresponding 
Medicaid State Plan Amendment approved by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS); and 3) ensure that 
these provisions are appropriately promulgated in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will not result in programmatic costs to the 
pharmacy program in FY 18-19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21, but 
will be beneficial by providing accurate and clearly-defined 
reimbursement requirements for federal upper payment limits 
and physician-administered drugs in a physician office setting, 
in compliance with CMS requirements. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This Rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1902#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Support Coordination Providers 
Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.Chapter 49) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to repeal and replace LAC 48:I.Chapter 
49 as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, 
et seq. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing proposes to repeal the provisions of Title 48, Part 
I, Chapter 49 of the Louisiana Administrative Code 
governing case management licensing standards and replace 
with provisions governing the licensing of support 
coordination providers to ensure that these provisions are 
consistent with other health care licensing requirements and 
are promulgated in a clear and concise manner in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTH—GENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 49. Support Coordination Providers 

Licensing Standards 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§4901. Introduction 

A. Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 40:2120.9, the 
Department of Health hereby establishes the minimum 
licensing standards for support coordination (SC) providers, 
previously known and licensed as Case Management 

agencies. These licensing provisions contain the minimum 
requirements for SC providers and are separate and apart 
from any other requirements established by the Medicaid 
Program for reimbursement purposes. These regulations do 
not apply to: 

1. managed care organizations (MCOs) contracted by 
the Department of Health (the department) to provide 
specified Medicaid benefits and services to eligible children 
and adults enrolled in Louisiana Medicaid; and 

2. support coordination agencies that only provide SC 
services to the Department of Health, Office of Aging and 
Adult Services (OAAS) waiver programs participants. 

B. Any person or entity applying for an SC provider 
license or who is operating as a provider of support 
coordination services shall meet all of the licensing 
requirements contained in this Chapter to achieve or 
maintain licensure.  

C. This Chapter repeals and replaces the previous case 
management (CM) licensing standards and is effective upon 
promulgation for new providers of support coordination 
services and one year from the effective date of 
promulgation upon renewal of current providers' CM 
licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4903. Definitions 

Cessation of Business—provider is non-operational and/or 
has stopped offering or providing services to the community. 

Change of Ownership (CHOW)—the sale or transfer of all 
or a portion of the assets or other equity interest of an SC 
provider. 

Client—an individual who is receiving services from a 
licensed SC provider. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) 
or any of its sections, bureaus, offices or its contracted 
designee. 

Employed—performance of a job or task for 
compensation, such as wages or a salary. An employed 
person may be one who is contracted or one who is hired for 
a staff position. 

Geographic Location—the LDH region in which the 
primary business location of the provider agency operates. 

Governing Body—the person or group of persons who 
have legal authority for and/or ownership of the corporation 
of the Support Coordination agency and responsibility for 
agency operations. A governing body assumes full legal 
authority and responsibility for the operation of the agency. 

Health Standards Section (HSS)—the licensing and 
certification section of the Department of Health. 

Individual Service Plan (ISP)—a service plan developed 
for each client that is based on a comprehensive assessment 
and/or plan of care (CPOC) which identifies the individual’s 
strengths and needs in order to establish goals and objectives 
so that outcomes to service delivery can be measured. This 
plan of care and services may be referred to by another 
program specific name, as applicable. 

LDH Region—the geographic administrative regions 
designated by the Department of Health. 

Non-Operational—the SC provider location is not open 
for business operation on designated days and hours as 
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stated on the licensing application and business location 
signage. 

Service Area—the LDH administrative region in which 
the provider’s geographic business location is located and 
for which the license is issued. 

Support Coordination—services provided to individuals to 
assist them in gaining access to the full range of needed 
services including: 

1. medical; 
2. social; 
3. developmental/educational; and 
4. other supports services as stipulated by the 

department. 
Support Coordination Provider—an agency licensed to 

provide support coordination services according to the 
requirements herein. 

Support Coordinator—an individual employed by a 
licensed support coordination provider who utilizes an 
organized, coordinated system or process to assist clients in 
gaining access to a full range of needed services. This 
system shall be accomplished through the following 
activities: 

1. intake; 
2. assessment/reassessment; 
3. service planning; 
4. linkage; 
5. monitoring/follow-up; and 
6. transition/closure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4905. Licensure Requirements 

A. All SC providers shall be licensed by the Department 
of Health except as indicated in §4901.A.1-2 of this Chapter. 
It shall be unlawful to operate as a support coordination 
services provider without a license issued by the department. 
The LDH is the only licensing authority for SC providers in 
Louisiana. 

B. An SC provider license shall: 
1. be issued only to the individual or entity named in 

the license application; 
2. be valid only for the SC provider to which it is 

issued and only for the specific geographic address of that 
provider; 

3. enable the provider to render support coordination 
services in the LDH region specified in the approved 
licensing application; 

4. be valid for one year from the date of issuance, 
unless revoked, suspended, modified or terminated prior to 
that date, or unless a provisional license is issued; 

5. expire on the last day of the twelfth month after the 
date of issuance, unless timely renewed by the SC provider; 

6. not be subject to sale, assignment, donation or other 
transfer, whether voluntary or involuntary; and 

7. be posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed 
premises at all times. 

C. The SC provider shall provide services only to those 
client populations: 

1. specified on its license; and 
2. residing in the provider’s designated service area, 

LDH region and the provider’s licensed location. 

D. In order for the SC provider to be considered 
operational and retain licensed status, the provider shall meet 
the following conditions. 

1. Each SC provider shall have a business location 
which shall not be located in an occupied personal residence 
and shall be in accordance with the following: 

a. The identified business location shall be part of 
the licensed location of the SC provider and shall be in the 
LDH Region for which the license is issued. 

b. The business location shall have at least one 
employee on duty at the business location during the days 
and hours of operation as stated on the licensing application 
and business location signage. 

2. Each SC provider shall have at least one published 
business telephone number. Calls shall be returned within 
one business day. 

3. Each SC provider shall have an accessible, 
monitored, and SC agency specific e-mail address. 

E. A separately licensed SC provider shall not use a 
name which is substantially the same as the name of another 
SC provider licensed by the department. An SC provider 
shall not use a name which is likely to mislead the client or 
family into believing it is owned, endorsed or operated by 
the State of Louisiana, as determined by the department. 

F. The licensed SC provider shall abide by and adhere to 
any state law, rule, policy, procedure, manual or 
memorandum applicable to SC providers. 

G. If applicable, the SC provider shall obtain facility 
need review approval prior to initial licensing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4907. Initial Licensure Application Process 

A. An initial application for licensing as an SC provider 
shall be obtained from the department. A completed initial 
license application packet for support coordination provider 
services shall be submitted to and approved by the 
department prior to an applicant providing SC services. 

B. The initial licensing application packet shall include: 
1. a completed support coordination provider 

licensure application and the non-refundable licensing fee as 
established by the department; 

2. a copy of a statewide criminal background check 
conducted by the Louisiana State Police or its designee, 
including sex offender registry status, on all owners and 
administrators; 

3. proof of financial viability, comprised of the 
following: 

a. general and professional liability insurance; and 
b. worker’s compensation insurance;  

4. a completed disclosure of ownership and control 
information form; 

5. the days and hours of operation; 
6. an organizational chart and names, including 

position titles, of key administrative personnel and 
governing body;  

7. an 8x10 inch floor sketch of the office premises;  
8. approval from the local fire authority for the 

building;  
9. approval from the Office of Public Health (OPH)for 

occupancy; and 
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10. any other documentation or information required by 
the department and applicable for licensure. 

C. Any person convicted of, or who has entered a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to, one of the following felonies is 
prohibited from being the owner or the administrator of an 
SC provider agency. A licensing application shall be denied 
by the department if an owner or administrator of an SC 
provider agency has a felony conviction or has entered a 
plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a felony related to one of 
the following:  

1. the violence, abuse, or negligence of a person; 
2. the misappropriation of property belonging to 

another person; 
3. cruelty, exploitation or the sexual battery of the 

infirmed; 
4. a drug offense; 
5. crimes of a sexual nature; 
6. crimes involving a firearm or deadly weapon; 
7. Medicare or Medicaid fraud; or 
8. fraud or misappropriation of federal or state funds. 

D. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 
applicant shall be notified of the missing information and 
shall have 90 days from receipt of the notification to submit 
the required information. 

1. If the required information is not submitted to the 
department within 90 days from receipt of the notification, 
the application shall become null and void. 

2. If an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who remains interested in becoming an SC 
provider shall submit a new initial licensing packet with a 
new initial licensing fee to start the initial licensing process 
again, subject to any facility need review approval, if 
applicable. 

E. Prior to scheduling the initial survey, applicants for 
SC licensure shall be: 

1. fully operational;  
2. in compliance with all SC licensing standards 

contained in this chapter; 
3. in compliance with all applicable federal, state, and 

local laws and regulations; and 
4. paid in full relative to all applicable fees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4909. Initial Licensing Surveys 

A. Prior to the initial license being issued, an initial on-
site licensing survey will be conducted to ensure compliance 
with the SC licensing standards. 

B. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the SC provider is compliant with licensing laws, regulations 
and other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations, and fees, the department shall issue a full license 
to the provider. The license shall be valid until the expiration 
date shown on the license, unless the license is modified, 
revoked, suspended or terminated. 

C. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the SC provider is noncompliant with any licensing 
regulations, or any other required rules or regulations and 
without systems of operation in place that present a potential 
threat to the health, safety, or welfare of the clients to be 
served, the department may deny the initial license. 

D. In the event that the initial licensing survey finds that 
the SC provider is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
regulations, or any other required rules or regulations, but 
the department in its sole discretion determines that the 
noncompliance does not present a threat to the operation of 
the agency or to the health, safety or welfare of the clients to 
be served, the department may issue a provisional initial 
license for a period not to exceed six months. The provider 
shall submit a plan of correction to the department for 
approval, and the provider shall be required to correct all 
such noncompliance or deficiencies prior to the expiration of 
the provisional license.  

1. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are 
corrected on the follow-up survey, a full license may be 
issued. 

2. If all such noncompliance or deficiencies are not 
corrected on the follow-up survey, or new deficiencies 
affecting the health, safety or welfare of a client are cited, 
the provisional license shall expire and the applicant shall be 
required to begin the initial licensing process again by 
submitting a new initial license application packet and the 
appropriate licensing fee. 

E. The initial licensing survey of an SC provider shall be 
an announced survey. Follow-up surveys to the initial 
licensing surveys are unannounced surveys. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4911. Types of Licenses and Expiration Dates 

A. The department shall have the authority to issue the 
following types of licenses: 

1. Full Initial License. The department shall issue a 
full license to the SC provider when the initial licensing 
survey finds that the provider is compliant with all 
applicable licensing laws and regulations, and is compliant 
with all other applicable required statutes, laws, ordinances, 
rules, regulations and fees. The license shall be valid until 
the expiration date shown on the license, unless the license is 
modified, revoked, suspended or terminated. 

2. Provisional Initial License. The department may 
issue a provisional initial license to the SC applicant when 
the initial licensing survey finds that the SC provider is 
noncompliant with any applicable licensing laws or 
regulations or any other applicable required statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations or fees, but the department 
determines that the noncompliance does not present a threat 
to the health, safety, or welfare of the clients. 

3. Full Renewal License. The department may issue a 
full renewal license to an existing licensed SC provider who 
is in substantial compliance with all applicable federal, state, 
departmental and local statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, 
regulations and fees. The license shall be valid until the 
expiration date shown on the license, unless the license is 
modified, revoked, suspended or terminated. 

B. The department, in its sole discretion, may issue a 
provisional license to an existing licensed SC provider for a 
period not to exceed six months. The department will 
consider the following circumstances in making a 
determination to issue a provisional license: 

1. compliance history of the provider; 
2. the number and acuity of substantiated complaints; 
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3. the SC provider has been issued a deficiency that 
involved placing a client at risk for serious harm or death; 

4. the SC provider has failed to correct deficient 
practices within 60 days of being cited for such deficient 
practices or at the time of a follow-up survey; or 

5. the SC provider is not in substantial compliance 
with applicable federal, state, departmental and local 
statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees. 

C. When the department issues a provisional license to 
an existing licensed SC provider, the provider shall submit a 
plan of correction to the HSS for approval, and the provider 
shall be required to correct such noncompliance or 
deficiencies prior to the expiration of the provisional license. 
The department shall conduct a follow-up survey, either on-
site or by desk review, of the SC provider prior to the 
expiration of the provisional license. 

1. If the follow-up survey determines that the SC 
provider has corrected the deficient practices and has 
maintained compliance during the period of the provisional 
license, the department may issue a full license for the 
remainder of the year until the anniversary date of the SC 
license. 

2. If the follow-up survey determines that the non-
compliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, or if 
new deficiencies that are a threat to the health, safety or 
welfare of a client are cited on the follow-up survey, the 
provisional license may expire on its face. 

3. The department shall issue written notice to the SC 
provider of the results of the follow-up survey. 

D. If an existing licensed SC provider has been issued a 
notice of license revocation or termination, and the 
provider’s license is due for annual renewal, the department 
shall deny the license renewal application and shall not issue 
a renewal license. 

1. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by 
the provider regarding the license revocation, suspension, or 
termination, the administrative appeal shall be suspensive, 
and the provider shall be allowed to continue to operate and 
provide services until such time as the administrative 
tribunal or department issues a decision on the license 
revocation, suspension, or termination. 

2. If the secretary of the department determines that 
the violations of the SC provider pose an imminent or 
immediate threat to the health, welfare, or safety of a client, 
the imposition of such action may be immediate and may be 
enforced during the pendency of the administrative appeal. If 
the secretary of the department makes such a determination, 
the SC provider will be notified in writing. 

3. The denial of the license renewal application does 
not affect in any manner the license revocation, suspension, 
or termination. 

E. The renewal of a license does not in any manner 
affect any sanction, civil monetary penalty or other action 
imposed by the department against the provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4913. Changes in Licensee Information or Personnel 

A. An SC license shall be valid only for the person or 
entity named in the license application and only for the 
specific geographic address listed on the license application. 

B. Any change regarding the SC provider’s entity name, 
doing business as (DBA) name, mailing address, telephone 
number or any combination thereof, shall be reported in 
writing to HSS within five working days of the change. 

C. Any change regarding the SC provider’s key 
administrative personnel, e.g. the administrator, shall be 
reported in writing to HSS within 10 working days 
subsequent to the change and shall include the following: 

1. name; 
2. address; 
3. hire date; and 
4. qualifications. 

D. A change of ownership (CHOW) of the SC provider 
shall be reported in writing to the department within five 
working days subsequent to the change. The license of an 
SC provider is not transferable or assignable and cannot be 
sold. The new owner shall submit the legal CHOW 
document, all documents required for a new license and the 
applicable licensing fee. Once all application requirements 
are met and approved by the department, a new license shall 
be issued to the new owner. 

1. An SC provider that is under license revocation or 
provisional licensure may not undergo a CHOW. 

2. If the CHOW results in a change of geographic 
address, an on-site survey may be required prior to issuance 
of the new license. 

E. If the SC provider changes its name without a change 
in ownership, the SC provider shall report such change to the 
department in writing at least five working days prior to the 
change. The change in the SC provider name requires the 
issuance of a new SC provider license in the new name of 
the provider. Payment of the applicable fee is required to re-
issue the license. 

F. Any request for a duplicate license shall be 
accompanied by the required applicable fee. 

G. If the SC provider changes the physical address of its 
geographic location without a change in ownership, the SC 
provider shall: 

1. report such change to HSS in writing at least five 
working days prior to the change; 

2. submit a new licensing application; and 
3. pay the full licensing fee resulting in a new 

anniversary date;  

NOTE: An on-site survey may be required prior to the issuance 

of the new license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4915. Renewal of License 

A. The SC provider shall submit a completed license 
renewal application packet to the department at least 30 days 
prior to the expiration of the current license. The license 
renewal application packet shall include: 

1. the completed license renewal application; 
2. the non-refundable license renewal fee; and 
3. any other documentation required by the 

department. 
B. The department may perform an on-site survey and 

inspection upon annual renewal of a license. 
C. Failure to submit a completed license renewal 

application packet prior to the expiration of the current 
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license will result in the voluntary non-renewal of the SC 
license. 

D. A CHOW shall not be conducted concurrent to the 
renewal of license. The renewal of the license shall be 
completed by the SC provider prior to processing of the 
CHOW packet by the department for the new provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4917. Survey Activities 

A. The department, or its designee, may conduct periodic 
licensing surveys and other surveys as deemed necessary to 
ensure compliance with all laws, rules and regulations 
governing SC providers and to ensure client health, safety 
and welfare. These surveys may be conducted on-site or by 
administrative review and shall be unannounced. 

B. The department shall also conduct complaint surveys. 
The complaint surveys shall be conducted in accordance 
with R.S. 40:2009.13, et seq. 

C. The department may require an acceptable plan of 
correction from a provider for any survey where deficiencies 
have been cited, regardless of whether the department takes 
other action against the provider for the deficiencies cited in 
the survey. The acceptable plan of correction shall be 
approved by the department. 

D. A follow-up survey may be conducted for any survey 
where deficiencies have been cited to ensure correction of 
the deficient practices. 

E. The department may issue appropriate sanctions for 
noncompliance, deficiencies and violations of law, rules and 
regulations. Sanctions include, but are not limited to: 

1. civil monetary penalties; 
2. directed plans of correction; and 
3. license revocation. 

F. LDH surveyors and staff shall be: 
1. given access to all areas of the provider agency, as 

necessary, and all relevant files during any survey; and 
2. allowed to interview any provider staff, client or 

other persons as necessary or required to conduct the survey. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4919. Statement of Deficiencies 

A. The following statements of deficiencies issued by the 
department to the SC provider shall be posted in a 
conspicuous place on the licensed premises: 

1. the most recent full licensing survey statement of 
deficiencies; and 

2. any subsequent complaint survey statement of 
deficiencies. 

B. Any statement of deficiencies issued by the 
department to an SC provider shall be available for 
disclosure to the public 30 days after the provider submits an 
acceptable plan of correction to the deficiencies or 90 days 
after the statement of deficiencies is issued to the provider, 
whichever occurs first. 

C. Unless otherwise provided in statute or in these 
licensing provisions, an SC provider shall have the right to 
an informal reconsideration of any deficiencies cited as a 
result of a survey or investigation. 

1. Correction of the violation, noncompliance or 
deficiency shall not be the basis for the reconsideration. 

2. The informal reconsideration of the deficiencies 
shall be requested in writing within 10 calendar days of 
receipt of the statement of deficiencies, unless otherwise 
provided in these standards. 

3. The request for informal reconsideration of the 
deficiencies shall be made to the department’s Health 
Standards Section and will be considered timely if received 
by HSS within 10 calendar days of the provider’s receipt of 
the statement of deficiencies. 

4. If a timely request for an informal reconsideration 
is received, the department shall schedule and conduct the 
informal reconsideration. 

5. The provider shall be notified in writing of the 
results of the informal reconsideration. 

6. Except as provided for complaint surveys pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2009.13 et seq., and as provided in these licensing 
provisions for license denials, revocations and denial of 
license renewals, the decision of the informal 
reconsideration team shall be the final administrative 
decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4921. Denial of License, Revocation of License, Denial 

of License Renewal 

A. The department may deny an application for an initial 
license or a license renewal, or may revoke a license in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

B. Denial of an Initial License 
1. The department may deny an initial license in the 

event that the initial licensing survey finds that the SC 
provider applicant is noncompliant with any applicable 
licensing laws or regulations, or any other required statutes 
or regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 
safety or welfare of the clients. 

2. The department may deny an initial license for any 
of the reasons a license may be revoked or denied renewal 
pursuant to these licensing standards. 

C. Voluntary Non-Renewal of a License. If a provider 
fails to timely renew its license, the license expires on its 
face and is considered voluntarily surrendered. There are no 
appeal rights for such surrender or non-renewal of the 
license, as this is a voluntary action on the part of the 
provider. 

D. Revocation of License or Denial of License Renewal. 
An SC provider license may be revoked or denied renewal 
for any of the following reasons, including but not limited 
to: 

1. failure to be in substantial compliance with the SC 
licensing laws, rules and regulations; 

2. failure to be in substantial compliance with other 
required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules or regulations; 

3. failure to comply with the terms and provisions of a 
settlement agreement or educational letter; 

4. failure to uphold client rights whereby deficient 
practices result in harm, injury or death of a client; 

5. failure to protect a client from a harmful act of an 
employee or other client including, but not limited to: 
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a. mental or physical abuse, neglect, exploitation or 
extortion; 

b. any action posing a threat to a client’s health and 
safety; 

c. coercion; 
d. threat or intimidation; 
e. harassment; or 
f. criminal activity; 

6. failure to notify the proper authorities, as required 
by federal or state law or regulations, of all suspected cases 
of the acts outlined in Paragraph D.5 of this section; 

7. knowingly making a false statement in any of the 
following areas, including but not limited to: 

a. application for initial license or renewal of 
license; 

b. data forms; 
c. clinical records, client records or provider 

records; 
d. matters under investigation by the department or 

the Office of the Attorney General; or 
e. information submitted for reimbursement from 

any payment source; 
8. knowingly making a false statement or providing 

false, forged or altered information or documentation to 
LDH employees or to law enforcement agencies; 

9. the use of false, fraudulent or misleading 
advertising; or 

10. an owner, officer, member, manager, administrator, 
director or person designated to manage or supervise client 
care has pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, or has 
been convicted of a felony, as documented by a certified 
copy of the record of the court; 

a. for purposes of these provisions, conviction of a 
felony involves any felony conviction relating to:  
 i. the violence, abuse, or negligence of a person; 
 ii. the misappropriation of property belonging to 
another person; 
 iii. cruelty, exploitation or the sexual battery of the 
infirmed; 
 iv. a drug offense; 
 v. crimes of a sexual nature; 
 vi. a firearm or deadly weapon; 
 vii. Medicare or Medicaid fraud; or 
 viii. fraud or misappropriation of federal or state 
funds;  

11. failure to comply with all reporting requirements in 
a timely manner, as required by the department; 

12. failure to allow or refusal to allow the department 
to conduct an investigation or survey or to interview 
provider staff or clients; 

13. interference with the survey process, including but 
not limited to, harassment, intimidation, or threats against 
the survey staff; 

14. failure to allow or refusal to allow access to 
provider, facility or client records by authorized 
departmental personnel; 

15. bribery, harassment, intimidation or solicitation of 
any client designed to cause that client to use or retain the 
services of any particular SC provider; 

16. failure to repay an identified overpayment to the 
department or failure to enter into a payment agreement to 
repay such overpayment; or 

17. failure to timely pay outstanding fees, fines, 
sanctions or other debts owed to the department. 

E. In the event that an SC provider license is revoked, 
renewal is denied, or the license is surrendered in lieu of an 
adverse action, any owner, board member, director or 
administrator, and any other person named on the license 
application of such SC provider is prohibited from owning, 
managing, directing or operating another SC agency for a 
period of two years from the date of the final disposition of 
the revocation, denial of renewal action, or surrender. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4923. Notice and Appeal of License Denial, License 

Revocation and Denial of License Renewal 

A. Notice of a license denial, license revocation or denial 
of license renewal shall be given to the provider in writing. 

B. The SC provider has a right to an informal 
reconsideration of the license denial, license revocation or 
denial of license renewal. There is no right to an informal 
reconsideration of a voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a 
license by the provider. 

1. The SC provider shall request the informal 
reconsideration within 15 calendar days of the receipt of the 
notice of the license denial, license revocation, or denial of 
license renewal. The request for informal reconsideration 
shall be in writing and shall be forwarded to the 
department’s Health Standards Section. The request for 
informal reconsideration shall be considered timely if 
received by the Health Standards Section within 15 calendar 
days from the provider’s receipt of the notice. 

2. The request for informal reconsideration shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error. 

3. If a timely request for an informal reconsideration 
is received by HSS, an informal reconsideration shall be 
scheduled and the provider will receive written notification 
of the date of the informal reconsideration. 

4. The provider shall have the right to appear in 
person at the informal reconsideration and may be 
represented by counsel. 

5. Correction of a violation or deficiency which is the 
basis for the license denial, revocation or denial of license 
renewal shall not be a basis for reconsideration. 

6. The informal reconsideration process is not in lieu 
of the administrative appeals process. 

7. The provider will be notified in writing of the 
results of the informal reconsideration. 

C. The SC provider has a right to an administrative 
appeal of the license denial, license revocation or denial of 
license renewal. There is no right to an administrative appeal 
of a voluntary non-renewal or surrender of a license by the 
provider. 

1. The SC provider shall request the administrative 
appeal within 30 days of the receipt of the results of the 
informal reconsideration. 

a. The SC provider may forego its rights to an 
informal reconsideration, and if so, shall request the 
administrative appeal within 30 days of the receipt of the 
notice of the license denial, revocation or denial of license 
renewal. 
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2. The request for administrative appeal shall be in 
writing and shall be submitted to the Division of 
Administrative Law, or its successor. The request shall 
include any documentation that demonstrates that the 
determination was made in error and shall include the basis 
and specific reasons for the appeal. 

3. If a timely request for an administrative appeal is 
received by the Division of Administrative Law, or its 
successor, the administrative appeal of the license revocation 
or denial of license renewal shall be suspensive, and the 
provider shall be allowed to continue to operate and provide 
services until such time as the Division of Administrative 
Law, or its successor, issues a final administrative decision. 

a. If the secretary of the department determines that 
the violations of the provider pose an imminent or 
immediate threat to the health, welfare or safety of a client, 
the imposition of the license revocation or denial of license 
renewal may be immediate and may be enforced during the 
pendency of the administrative appeal. If the secretary of the 
department makes such a determination, the provider will be 
notified in writing. 

4. correction of a violation or a deficiency which is 
the basis for the denial, revocation or denial of license 
renewal shall not be a basis for an administrative appeal. 

D. If an existing licensed SC provider has been issued a 
notice of license revocation, and the provider’s license is due 
for annual renewal, the department shall deny the license 
renewal application. The denial of the license renewal 
application does not affect, in any manner, the license 
revocation. 

E. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by the 
provider on a license denial, denial of license renewal or 
license revocation, the Division of Administrative Law, or its 
successor, shall conduct the hearing in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedures Act. 

1. If the final decision is to reverse the license denial, 
denial of license renewal, or license revocation, the 
provider’s license will be re-instated or granted upon the 
payment of any licensing fees, outstanding sanctions or other 
fees due to the department. 

2. If the final decision is to affirm the license denial of 
renewal or license revocation, the provider shall discharge 
any and all clients receiving services according to the 
provisions of this Chapter. 

a. Within 10 calendar days of the final decision, the 
provider shall notify HSS, in writing, of the secure and 
confidential location where the client records will be 
securely stored and the contact information for the custodian 
of said records. 

F. There is no right to an informal reconsideration or an 
administrative appeal of the issuance of a provisional initial 
license to a new SC provider, or the issuance of a provisional 
license to an existing SC provider. A provider who has been 
issued a provisional license is licensed and operational for 
the term of the provisional license. The issuance of a 
provisional license is not considered to be a denial of 
license, denial of license renewal, or revocation of licensure. 

G. A provider with a provisional initial license or an 
existing provider with a provisional license that expires due 
to noncompliance or deficiencies cited at the follow-up 
survey, shall have the right to an informal reconsideration 

and the right to an administrative appeal, as to the validity of 
the deficiencies. 

1. The correction of a violation, noncompliance or 
deficiency after the follow-up survey shall not be the basis 
for the informal reconsideration or for the administrative 
appeal. 

2. The informal reconsideration and the administrative 
appeal are limited to whether the deficiencies were properly 
cited at the follow-up survey. 

3. The provider shall request the informal 
reconsideration in writing, which shall be received by the 
Health Standards Section within five calendar days of receipt 
of the notice of the results of the follow-up survey from the 
department. 

4. The provider shall request the administrative appeal 
within 15 calendar days of receipt of the notice of the results 
of the follow-up survey from the department. The request for 
administrative appeal shall be in writing and shall be 
submitted to the Division of Administrative Law, or its 
successor. 

5. A provider with a provisional initial license or an 
existing provider with a provisional license that expires 
under the provisions of this Chapter shall cease providing 
services and discharge clients unless the Division of 
Administrative Law, or its successor, issues a stay of the 
expiration. 

a. The stay may be granted by the Division of 
Administrative Law, or its successor, upon application by the 
provider at the time the administrative appeal is filed and 
only after a contradictory hearing and only upon a showing 
that there is no potential harm to the clients being served by 
the provider. 

6. If a timely administrative appeal has been filed by a 
provider with a provisional initial license that has expired, or 
by an existing provider whose provisional license has 
expired under the provisions of this Chapter, the Division of 
Administrative Law, or its successor, shall conduct the 
hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. 

a. If the final decision is to remove all deficiencies, 
the provider’s license will be re-instated upon the payment 
of any outstanding sanctions and licensing or other fees due 
to the department. 

b. If the final decision is to uphold the deficiencies 
and affirm the expiration of the provisional license, the 
provider shall discharge any and all clients receiving 
services. 
 i. Within 10 calendar days of the final decision, 
the provider shall notify HSS in writing of the secure and 
confidential location where the client records will be stored. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4925. Inactivation of License due to a Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 

A. An SC provider licensed in a parish which is the 
subject of an executive order or proclamation of emergency 
or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 
29:766 may seek to inactivate its license for a period not to 
exceed one year, provided that the following conditions are 
met: 
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1. the licensed provider shall submit written 
notification to HSS within 60 days of the date of the 
executive order or proclamation of emergency or disaster 
that: 

a. the SC provider has experienced an interruption 
in the provisions of services as a result of events that are the 
subject of such executive order or proclamation of 
emergency or disaster issued in accordance with R.S. 29:724 
or R.S. 29:766; 

b. the licensed SC provider intends to resume 
operation as an SC provider in the same service area; 

c. includes an attestation that the emergency or 
disaster is the sole causal factor in the interruption of the 
provision of services; 

d. includes an attestation that all clients have been 
properly discharged or transferred to another provider; and 

e. provides a list of each client and where that client 
is discharged or transferred to; 

2. the licensed SC provider resumes operating as an 
SC provider in the same service area within one year of the 
issuance of an executive order or proclamation of emergency 
or disaster in accordance with R.S. 29:724 or R.S. 29:766; 

3. the licensed SC provider continues to pay all fees 
and costs due and owed to the department including, but not 
limited to, licensing fees and outstanding civil monetary 
penalties; and 

4. the licensed SC provider continues to submit 
required documentation and information to the department. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
inactivate an SC provider license, the department shall issue 
a notice of inactivation of license to the SC provider. 

C. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement, an SC provider which has received a notice 
of inactivation of its license from the department shall be 
allowed to reinstate its license upon the following conditions 
being met. 

1. The SC provider shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing section of the 
department 60 days prior to the anticipated date of 
reopening. 

a. The license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening, and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing survey. 

b. The license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with applicable required 
licensing fees. 

2. The provider resumes operating as an SC provider 
in the same service area within one year. 

D. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate an SC provider license, the department may 
conduct a licensing survey. If the SC provider meets the 
requirements for licensure and the requirements under this 
Section, the department shall issue a notice of reinstatement 
of the SC provider license. 

E. No change of ownership in the SC provider shall 
occur until such SC provider has completed repairs, 
renovations, rebuilding or replacement construction, and has 
resumed operations as an SC provider. 

F. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 
SC provider which has voluntarily surrendered its license 
and ceased operation. 

G. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the SC 
provider license and any applicable facility need review 
approval for licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4927. Inactivation of License due to a Non-Declared 

Disaster or Emergency 

A. A licensed SC provider in an area or areas which have 
been affected by a non-declared emergency or disaster may 
seek to inactivate its license, provided that the following 
conditions are met: 

1. the licensed SC provider shall submit written 
notification to HSS within 30 days of the date of the non-
declared emergency or disaster stating that: 

a. the SC provider has experienced an interruption 
in the provisions of services as a result of events that are due 
to a non-declared emergency or disaster; 

b. the licensed SC provider intends to resume 
operation as an SC provider in the same service area; 

c. the licensed SC provider attests that the 
emergency or disaster is the sole causal factor in the 
interruption of the provision of services; and 

d. the licensed SC provider’s initial request to 
inactivate does not exceed one year for the completion of 
repairs, renovations, rebuilding or replacement of the 
facility. 

NOTE:  Pursuant to these provisions, an extension of the 30 
day deadline for initiation of request may be granted at the 
discretion of the department. 

2. the licensed SC provider continues to pay all fees 
and costs due and owed to the department including, but not 
limited to, required licensing fees and outstanding civil 
monetary penalties and/or civil fines; and 

3. the licensed SC provider continues to submit 
required documentation and information to the department, 
including but not limited to cost reports. 

B. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
temporarily inactivate an SC license, the department shall 
issue a notice of inactivation of license to the SC provider. 

C. Upon the provider’s receipt of the department’s 
approval of request to inactivate the provider’s license, the 
provider shall have 90 days to submit plans for the repairs, 
renovations, rebuilding or replacement of the facility, if 
applicable, to the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) 
and OPH as required. 

D. The licensed SC provider shall resume operating as an 
SC provider in the same service area within one year of the 
approval of renovation/construction plans by OSFM and 
OPH as required. 

Exception:  If the provider requires an extension of this 
timeframe due to circumstances beyond the provider’s control, 
the department will consider an extension of the time period to 
complete construction or repairs. Such written request for 
extension shall show provider’s active efforts to complete 
construction or repairs and the reasons for request for 
extension of provider’s inactive license. Any approval for 
extension is at the sole discretion of the department. 

E. Upon completion of repairs, renovations, rebuilding 
or replacement of the building, an SC provider which has 
received a notice of inactivation of its license from the
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department shall be allowed to reinstate its license upon the 
following conditions being met: 

1. the SC provider shall submit a written license 
reinstatement request to the licensing section of the 
department; 

2. the license reinstatement request shall inform the 
department of the anticipated date of opening and shall 
request scheduling of a licensing or physical environment 
survey, where applicable; and 

3. the license reinstatement request shall include a 
completed licensing application with appropriate licensing 
fees. 

F. Upon receiving a completed written request to 
reinstate an SC provider license, the department may 
conduct a licensing or physical environment survey. The 
department may issue a notice of reinstatement if the 
provider has met the requirements for licensure including the 
requirements of this Section. 

G. No change of ownership shall occur until such SC 
provider has completed repairs, renovations, rebuilding or 
replacement construction and has resumed operations as an 
SC provider. 

H. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an 
SC provider which has voluntarily surrendered its license 
and ceased operation. 

I. Failure to comply with any of the provisions of this 
Section shall be deemed a voluntary surrender of the SC 
provider license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4929. Cessation of Business 

A. Except as provided in §4925 and §4927 of these 
licensing regulations, a license shall be immediately null and 
void if an SC provider becomes non-operational. 

B. A cessation of business is deemed to be effective the 
date on which the SC provider ceased offering or providing 
services to the community and/or is considered non-
operational. 

C. Upon the cessation of business, the SC provider shall 
immediately return the original license to the department. 

D. Cessation of business is deemed to be a voluntary 
action on the part of the provider. The SC provider does not 
have a right to appeal the closure of a license due to a 
cessation of business. 

E. Prior to the effective date of the closure or cessation 
of business, the SC provider shall: 

1. give 30 days’ advance written notice to: 
a. each client or client’s legal representative, if 

applicable; 
b. each client’s physician; 
c. the LDH HSS; 
d. the LDH Office for Citizens with Developmental 

Disabilities (OCDD);  
e. the LDH Office of Aging and Adult Services 

(OAAS); and/or 
f. other licensed programs, as applicable. 

2. provide for a safe and orderly discharge and 
transition for each of the SC provider’s clients in accordance 
with the SC provider's discharge policy and in accordance 
with applicable statutes and regulations. 

F. In addition to the advance notice, the SC provider 
shall submit a written plan for the disposition of client 
services related records for approval by the department. The 
plan shall include the following: 

1. the effective date of the closure; 
2. provisions that comply with federal and state laws 

on storage, maintenance, access and confidentiality of the 
closed provider’s patients’ medical records; 

3. the name and contact information for the appointed 
custodian(s) who shall provide the following: 

a. access to records and copies of records to the 
patient or authorized representative, upon presentation of 
proper authorization(s); and 

b. physical and environmental security that protects 
the records against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized 
access, loss and destruction. 

G. If an SC provider fails to follow these procedures, the 
owners, managers, officers, directors and administrators may 
be prohibited from opening, managing, directing, operating 
or owning an SC provider for a period of two years. 

H. Once any SC provider has ceased doing business, the 
provider shall not provide services until the SC provider has 
obtained a new initial SC provider license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4931. Emergency Preparedness 

A. A disaster or emergency may be a local, community-
wide, regional or statewide event. Disasters or emergencies 
may include, but are not limited to: 

1. tornados; 
2. fires; 
3. floods; 
4. hurricanes; 
5. power outages; 
6. chemical spills; 
7. biohazards; 
8. train wrecks; or 
9. declared health crisis. 

B. Support coordination providers shall ensure that each 
client has an individual plan for dealing with emergencies 
and disasters and shall assist clients in identifying the 
specific resources available through family, friends, the 
neighborhood and the community. 

C. Continuity of Operations. The SC provider shall have 
an emergency preparedness plan to maintain continuity of 
the provider’s operations in preparation for, during and after 
an emergency or disaster. The plan shall be designed to 
manage the consequences of all hazards, declared disasters 
or other emergencies that disrupt the provider’s ability to 
render support coordination services, or threatens the lives or 
safety of the provider’s clients. 

D. The provider shall follow and execute its emergency 
preparedness plan in the event of the occurrence of a 
declared disaster or other emergency. 

E. If the state, parish or local Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency Preparedness (OHSEP) orders a 
mandatory evacuation of the parish or the area in which the 
provider is serving, the provider shall ensure that all clients 
are evacuated according to the client’s individual plan and 
the provider’s emergency preparedness plan. 
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F. Emergency Plan Review and Summary. The provider 
shall review and update its emergency preparedness plan, as 
well as each client’s emergency plan at least annually. 

G. The provider shall cooperate with the department and 
with the local or parish OHSEP in the event of an emergency 
or disaster and shall provide information as requested. 

H. The provider shall monitor weather warnings and 
watches as well as evacuation orders from local and state 
emergency preparedness officials. 

I. All provider employees shall be trained in emergency 
or disaster preparedness. Training shall include orientation, 
ongoing training and participation in planned drills for all 
personnel. 

J. Upon request by the department, the SC provider 
shall submit a copy of its emergency preparedness plan and a 
written summary attesting how the plan was followed and 
executed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

Subchapter B. Administration and Organization 

§4937. Governing Body 

A. The SC provider shall have an identifiable governing 
body with responsibility for and authority over the policies 
and activities of the program/agency. 

1. The SC provider shall have documents identifying 
all members of the governing body, their addresses, their 
terms of membership, officers of the governing body and 
terms of office of any officers. 

2. The governing body shall be comprised of one or 
more persons and shall hold formal meetings at least twice a 
year. 

3. There shall be written minutes of all formal 
meetings of the governing body and by-laws specifying 
frequency of meetings and quorum requirements. 

B. The governing body of an SC provider shall: 
1. ensure the provider’s continual compliance and 

conformity with all relevant federal, state, local and 
municipal laws and regulations; 

2. ensure that the provider is adequately funded and 
fiscally sound; 

3. review and approve the provider’s annual budget; 
4. designate a person to act as administrator and 

delegate sufficient authority to this person to manage the 
agency; 

5. formulate and annually review, in consultation with 
the administrator, written policies concerning the 
philosophy, goals, current services, personnel practices, job 
descriptions and fiscal management of the agency; 

6. annually evaluate the administrator’s performance; 
7. have the authority to dismiss the administrator; 
8. meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 
9. inform the Health Standards Section prior to 

initiating any substantial changes in the nature and scope of 
services provided by the SC provider; and 

10. ensure accessibility of the administrator who shall 
be: 

a. available in person or by telecommunication for 
all aspects of provider operation; or 

b. designate in writing an individual to assume the 
authority and control of the provider if the administrator is 
temporarily unavailable. 

C. An SC provider shall maintain an administrative file 
that includes: 

1. documents identifying the governing body; 
2. a list of members and officers of the governing 

body, along with their addresses and terms of membership; 
3. minutes of formal meetings and by-laws of the 

governing body, if applicable; 
4. a copy of the current license issued by the Health 

Standards Section; 
5. an organizational chart of the SC provider which 

clearly delineates the line of authority; 
6. all leases, contracts and purchases-of-service 

agreements to which the provider is a party; 
7. insurance policies; 
8. annual budgets and audit reports; and 
9. a master list of all the community resources used by 

the provider. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4939. Policy and Procedures 

A. The SC provider shall provide supervision and 
services that: 

1. conform to the department’s rules and regulations; 
2. meet the needs of the clients as identified and 

addressed in the Individual Service Plan (ISP) or 
Comprehensive Plan of Care (CPOC); 

3. provide for the full protection of clients’ rights; and 
4. promote the social, physical and mental well-being 

of clients; 
B. The SC provider shall make any required information 

or records, and any information reasonably related to 
assessment of compliance with these requirements, available 
to the department. 

C. The SC provider shall allow designated 
representatives of the department, in performance of their 
mandated duties, to: 

1. inspect all aspects of an SC provider’s operations 
which directly or indirectly impact clients; and 

2. conduct interviews with any staff member or client 
of the provider as necessary and relevant to conduct a 
survey. 

D. The SC provider shall, upon request by the 
department, make available the legal ownership documents. 

E. The SC provider shall have written policies and 
procedures approved by the owner or governing body, which 
shall be implemented and followed, that address at a 
minimum the following: 

1. confidentiality and confidentiality agreements; 
2. security of files; 
3. publicity and marketing, including the prohibition 

of illegal or coercive inducement, solicitation and kickbacks; 
4. personnel; 
5. client rights; 
6. grievance procedures; 
7. emergency preparedness; 
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8. abuse and neglect; and 
9. admission and discharge procedures. 

F. The SC provider shall have written personnel policies, 
which shall be implemented and followed, that include: 

1. a plan for recruitment, screening, orientation, 
ongoing training, development, supervision and performance 
evaluation of staff members; 

2. written job descriptions for each staff position, 
including volunteers; 

3. an employee grievance procedure; 
4. abuse reporting procedures that require all 

employees to report any incidents of abuse or mistreatment, 
whether that abuse or mistreatment is done by another staff 
member, a family member, a client or any other person; and 

5. a written policy to prevent discrimination. 
G. The SC provider shall comply with all federal and 

state laws, rules and regulations in the development and 
implementation of its policies and procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4941. Business Location 

A. The SC provider shall have a business location in the 
LDH Region for which the license is issued. The business 
location shall be a part of the physical geographic licensed 
location and shall be where the provider: 

1. maintains staff to perform administrative functions; 
2. maintains the provider’s personnel records; 
3. maintains the provider’s client service records; and 
4. holds itself out to the public as being a location for 

receipt of client referrals. 
B. The business location shall have a separate entrance 

and exit from any other entity, business or trade, and shall 
have appropriate signage indicating the legal or trade name 
and address of the SC provider and days and hours of 
operation. The SC provider shall operate independently from 
any other business or entity, and shall not share office space 
with any other business or entity. 

1. The SC provider may share common areas with 
another business or entity. Common areas include foyers, 
kitchens, conference rooms, hallways, stairs, elevators or 
escalators when used to provide access to the provider’s 
separate entrance. 

C. The business location shall: 
1. be commercial office space or, if located in a 

residential area, be zoned for appropriate commercial use 
and shall be used solely for the operation of the business; 

2. have approval for occupancy from the Louisiana 
Office of Public Health; 

3. have a published telephone number which is 
monitored, available and accessible 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week, including holidays; 

4. have a business fax number that is operational 24 
hours a day, seven days a week; 

5. have internet access and a working, monitored e-
mail address; 

a. the e-mail address shall be provided to the HSS 
and updated as needed; 

6. have hours of operation posted in a location outside 
of the business that is easily visible to clients receiving 
services and the general public; and 

7. maintain and store client records in accordance with 
HIPAA’s Security Rule (45 CFR Part 160 and Subparts A 
and C of Part 164) either electronically or in paper copy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4943. Admission of Clients 

A. An SC provider shall have written admissions policies 
and criteria which shall include the following: 

1. intake policy and procedures; 
2. admission criteria and procedures; 
3. admission criteria and procedures for minors; 
4. policy regarding the determination of legal status, 

according to appropriate state laws, before admission; 
5. the ages of the populations served; 
6. the services provided by the SC provider; and 
7. discharge criteria and procedures. 

B. The written description of admissions policies and 
criteria shall be provided to the department upon request, 
and made available to the client and his/her legal 
representative. 

C. The SC provider shall ensure that the client, the legal 
representative, where appropriate, or other persons are 
provided an opportunity to participate in the admission 
process and decisions. 

D. The SC provider shall not refuse admission to any 
client on the grounds of race, national origin, ethnicity or 
disability. 

E. The SC provider shall meet the needs of each client 
admitted to his/her program as identified and addressed in 
the client’s ISP. 

F. When refusing admission, a provider shall provide a 
written statement as to the reason for the refusal. This shall 
be provided to designated representatives of the department 
or to a client upon request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4945. Voluntary Transfers and Discharges 

A. A client has the right to choose an SC provider. This 
right includes the right to be discharged from his current 
provider, be transferred to another provider and to 
discontinue services altogether. 

B. Upon notice by the client or authorized representative 
that the client has selected another SC provider or has 
decided to discontinue services or moves from the 
geographic region serviced by the provider, the SC provider 
shall have the responsibility of planning for the client’s 
voluntary transfer or discharge. 

C. The transfer or discharge responsibilities of the SC 
provider shall include: 

1. holding a transfer or discharge planning conference 
with the client, family, support coordinator, legal 
representative and advocate, if known, to facilitate a smooth 
transfer or discharge, unless the client declines such a 
meeting; 

2. providing a current individual service plan (ISP). 
Upon written request and authorization by the client or 
authorized representative, a copy of the current ISP shall be 
provided to the client or receiving provider; and 
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3. preparing a written discharge summary. The 
discharge summary shall include, at a minimum, a summary 
on the health status, developmental issues, behavioral issues, 
social issues, and nutritional status of the client. Upon 
written request and authorization by the client or authorized 
representative, a copy of the discharge summary shall be 
disclosed to the client or receiving provider. 

D. The written discharge summary shall be completed 
within five working days of the notice by the client or 
authorized representative that the client has selected another 
SC provider or has decided to discontinue services. 

1. The SC provider’s preparation of the discharge 
summary shall not impede or impair the client’s right to be 
transferred or discharged immediately if the client so 
chooses. 

E. The SC provider shall not coerce the client to stay 
with the provider or interfere in any way with the client’s 
decision to transfer. Failure to cooperate with the client’s 
decision to transfer to another SC provider may result in 
adverse action by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4947. Involuntary Transfers and Discharges 

A. The SC provider shall not transfer or discharge the 
client from the provider except under the following 
circumstances which constitute involuntary transfers or 
discharges: 

1. the client’s health has improved sufficiently or that 
the client is no longer appropriate to receive SC services; 

2. the safety or health of a client(s) or provider staff is 
endangered; 

3. the provider ceases to operate; 
4. the client or family refuses to cooperate or 

interferes with attaining the objectives of the SC provider; or 
5. the SC provider chooses to cease serving a 

particular client population so that certain services are no 
longer provided. 

B. When the SC provider proposes to involuntarily 
transfer or discharge a client, compliance with the provisions 
of this Section shall be fully documented in the client’s 
records. 

C. An SC provider shall provide a written notice of the 
involuntary transfer or discharge to the client, a family 
member of the client if known or to the authorized 
representative if known, and the support coordinator if 
applicable. 

1. The written notice shall be made at least 30 
calendar days prior to the transfer or discharge. 

2. When the safety or health of clients or provider 
staff is endangered, written notice shall be given as soon as 
practicable before the transfer or discharge. 

3. The notice of involuntary discharge or transfer shall 
be in writing and in a language and manner that the client 
understands. 

4. A copy of the notice of involuntary discharge or 
transfer shall be placed in the client’s support coordination 
record. 

D. The written notice of involuntary transfer or discharge 
shall include: 

1. a reason for the transfer or discharge; 
2. the effective date of the transfer or discharge; 

3. an explanation of a client’s right to personal and/or 
third party representation at all stages of the transfer or 
discharge process; 

4. contact information for the Advocacy Center; 
5. names of provider personnel available to assist the 

client and family in decision making and transfer 
arrangements; 

6. the date, time and place for the discharge planning 
conference; 

7. a statement regarding the client’s appeal rights, 
when applicable; 

8. the name of the director, current address and 
telephone number of the Division of Administrative Law 
(DAL), or its successor; and 

9. a statement regarding the client’s right to remain 
with the provider and not be transferred or discharged if an 
appeal is timely filed. 

E. Appeal Rights for Involuntary Transfers or 
Discharges 

1. If a timely appeal is filed with the DAL by the 
client or authorized representative disputing the involuntary 
discharge, the provider shall not transfer or discharge the 
client pursuant to the provisions of this Section. 

2. The transfer or discharge of a patient prior to the 
period for filing an appeal or during the pendency of an 
appeal may result in revocation of the SC provider’s license. 

3. If a client files a timely appeal request, the DAL, or 
its successor, shall hold an appeal hearing in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedures Act (APA). 

F. Client’s Right to Remain with the SC Provider 
Pending the Appeal Process 

1. If a client is given 30 calendar days written notice 
of the involuntary transfer or discharge and the client or 
authorized representative files a timely appeal, the client 
may remain with the provider and not be transferred or 
discharged until the DAL, or its successor, renders a decision 
on the appeal. 

2. If a client is given less than 30 calendar days’ 
written notice and files a timely appeal of an involuntary 
transfer/discharge based on the health and safety of 
individuals or provider staff being endangered, the client 
may remain with the provider and not be transferred or 
discharged until one of the following occurs: 

a. the DAL, or its successor, holds a pre-hearing 
conference regarding the safety or health of the staff or 
individuals; or 

b. the DAL, or its successor, renders a decision on 
the appeal. 

G. The transfer or discharge responsibilities of the SC 
provider shall include: 

1. holding a transfer or discharge planning conference 
with the client, family, support coordinator, legal 
representative and advocate, if known, in order to facilitate a 
smooth transfer or discharge; 

2. development of discharge options that will provide 
reasonable assurance that the client will be transferred or 
discharged to a setting that can be expected to meet his/her 
needs; 

3. preparing an updated ISP; and 
4. preparing a written discharge summary. The 

discharge summary shall include, at a minimum, a summary 
of the health status, developmental status, behavioral issues, 
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social issues and nutritional status of the client. Upon written 
request and authorization by the client or authorized 
representative, a copy of the discharge summary and/or 
updated ISP shall be disclosed to the client or receiving 
provider. 

H. The SC provider shall provide all services required 
prior to discharge that are contained in the final update of the 
individual service plan and in the transfer or discharge plan. 

1. The SC provider shall not be required to provide 
services if the discharge is due to the client moving out of 
the provider’s geographic region. The SC provider is 
prohibited from providing services outside of its geographic 
region without the department’s HSS approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4949. Client Records 

A. Client records shall be maintained either 
electronically or in paper form in the SC provider’s office 
and shall be readily accessible to the provider and the 
surveyor. 

B. The SC provider shall have a written record for each 
client which shall include: 

1. identifying data including: 
a. name; 
b. date of birth; 
c. address; 
d. telephone number; 
e. social security number;  
f. legal status;  
g. proof of interdiction or continuing tutorship, if 

applicable; and 
h. other identifying information, if applicable. 

2. a copy of the client’s ISP or Medicaid 
comprehensive plan of care, as well as any modifications or 
updates to the service plan; 

3. the client’s history including, where applicable: 
a. family data; 
b. next of kin; 
c. educational background; 
d. employment record; 
e. prior medical history; and 
f. prior service history; 

4. the service agreement or comprehensive plan of 
care (CPOC); 

5. required assessment(s) and additional assessments 
that the provider may have received or is privy to; 

6. the names, addresses and telephone numbers of the 
client's physician(s), dentist, or other pertinent health care 
providers; and 

7. a copy of any advance directive that has been 
provided to the SC provider or any physician orders relating 
to end of life care and services, such as Louisiana Physician 
Orders for Scope of Treatment (LaPOST). 

C. Support coordination providers shall maintain client 
records for a period of no less than six years, unless the 
client is a minor, then in accordance with state record 
retention laws or regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4951. Client Rights 

A. Unless adjudicated by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, clients served by SC providers shall have the 
same rights, benefits and privileges guaranteed by the 
constitution and the laws of the United States and Louisiana. 

B. There shall be written policies and procedures that 
protect the client’s welfare, including the means by which 
the protections will be implemented and enforced. 

C. Each SC provider’s written policies and procedures, 
at a minimum, shall ensure the client’s right to: 

1. human dignity; 
2. impartial access to treatment regardless of race, 

religion, sex, ethnicity, age or disability; 
3. cultural access in accordance with client-specific 

needs; 
4. have access to sign language interpretation, allow 

for the use of service animals and/or mechanical aids and 
devices that assist those clients in achieving maximum 
service benefits when the client has special needs; 

5. privacy; 
6. confidentiality; 
7. access his/her records upon the client’s written 

consent for release of information; 
8. a complete explanation of the nature of services and 

procedures to be received, including: 
a. risks; 
b. benefits; and 
c. available alternative services; 

9. actively participate in services, including: 
a. assessment/reassessment; 
b. service plan development; and 
c. discharge; 

10. refuse specific services or participate in any activity 
that is against their will and for which they have not given 
consent; 

11. obtain copies of the SC provider’s complaint or 
grievance procedures; 

12. file a complaint or grievance without retribution, 
retaliation or discharge; 

13. be informed of the financial aspect of services, if 
appropriate; 

14. be informed of the need for parental or guardian 
consent for treatment of services, if appropriate; 

15. personally manage financial affairs, unless legally 
determined otherwise; 

16. give informed written consent prior to being 
involved in research projects; 

17. refuse to participate in any research project without 
compromising access to services; 

18. be free from mental, emotional and physical abuse 
and neglect; 

19. be free from chemical or physical restraints; 
20. receive services that are delivered in a professional 

manner and are respectful of the client’s wishes concerning 
their home environment; 

21. receive services in the least intrusive manner 
appropriate to their needs; 
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22. contact any advocacy resources as needed, 
especially during grievance procedures; and 

23. discontinue services with one provider and freely 
choose the services of another provider. 

D. An SC provider shall assist in obtaining an 
independent advocate: 

1. if the client’s rights or desires may be in jeopardy; 
2. if the client is in conflict with the provider; or 
3. upon any request of the client. 

E. The client has the right to select an independent 
advocate, which may be: 

1. a legal assistance corporation; 
2. a state advocacy and protection provider; 
3. a church or family member; or 
4. any other competent key person not affiliated in any 

way with the licensed provider. 
F. The client, client’s family and legal guardian, if 

known, shall be informed of their rights, both verbally and in 
writing in a language they are able to understand. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4953. Grievance Procedures 

A. The SC provider shall establish and follow a written 
grievance procedure to be used to formally resolve 
complaints by clients, their family member(s) or a legal 
representative regarding provision of services. The written 
grievance procedure shall be provided to the client. 

1. The notice of grievance procedure shall include the 
names of organizations that provide free legal assistance. 

B. The client, family member or legal representative 
shall be entitled to initiate a grievance at any time without 
fear of retaliation. 

C. The provider shall periodically explain the grievance 
procedure to the client, family member(s) or a legal 
representative, utilizing the most appropriate strategy for 
ensuring an understanding of what the grievance process 
entails.  

1. The provider shall provide the grievance procedure 
in writing and grievance forms shall be made available. 

D. The administrator, or designee, shall investigate all 
grievances and shall make all reasonable attempts to address 
the grievance. 

E. The administrator, or designee, shall issue a written 
report and/or decision within five business days of receipt of 
the grievance to the: 

1. client; 
2. client's advocate; 
3. authorized representative; and  
4. the person making the grievance. 

F. Grievances shall be periodically reviewed by the 
governing body in an effort to promote improvement in 
these areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4955. Abuse Reporting 

A. A provider shall have abuse reporting procedures 
which require all employees to report any incidents of abuse 
or mistreatment whether that abuse or mistreatment is done 

by another staff member or professional, family member, the 
client, or any other person. 

B. There shall be written policies and procedures 
regarding abuse and neglect as defined by state and federal 
law. 

1. The requirement that such acts of abuse and/or 
neglect shall be strictly prohibited. 

2. Reporting Procedures 
a. Every provider employee, consultant or 

contractor who witness, learns of, is informed of, or 
otherwise has reason to suspect that an incident of abuse or 
neglect has occurred, shall report such incident in 
accordance with state child protection, adult protection, and 
elderly protection laws and fully cooperate with the 
investigation of the incident and with local authorities and 
agencies, as applicable. 

b. Every employee, contract or staff, shall be 
informed of his or her reporting responsibilities and trained 
in the procedures for reporting, upon employment and 
periodically as needed. 

3. Any allegations of abuse and neglect by provider 
personnel shall be investigated internally. 

a. Individuals under investigation shall not be part 
of the investigation. 

b. The SC takes appropriate reporting action in the 
case of substantiated abuse in accordance with the SC 
provider's own reporting policy and applicable state law and 
regulations. 

c. The results of such investigations shall be 
reviewed administratively and reported to the governing 
body, as appropriate. 

d. Appropriate measures shall be taken to assure 
that the individual is protected from further abuse in 
accordance with the SC provider's own reporting policy and 
applicable state law and regulations. 

4. Every employee, consultant, and contractor shall be 
given a written copy of the SC's policies and procedures on 
client abuse and neglect, upon employment and periodically 
as needed. 

a. Documentation of policy review by each 
employee shall be maintained in the employee's personnel 
file. 

b. Policies and procedures shall be made available 
to others upon request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

Subchapter C. Personnel 

§4963. Support Coordinator Qualifications 

A. Support coordinators, previously known as case 
managers, hired or promoted on or after one year from the 
effective date of promulgation of this section shall meet the 
following criteria for education and experience: 

1. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in social work from 
a program accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education; or 

2. a RN currently licensed in Louisiana with at least 
one year of paid nursing experience; or 

3. a bachelor's or master's degree in a human service 
related field which includes psychology, education, 
counseling, social services sociology, philosophy, family and
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consumer sciences, criminal justice, rehab services, child 
development, substance abuse, gerontology and vocational 
rehabilitation; or 

4. a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts or general studies 
with a concentration of at least 16 hours in one of the fields 
listed in accordance with §4963.A.3. 

B. All support coordinators shall be employees of the 
provider, either by contract or directly employed. 

C. Support coordinator supervisors hired or promoted on 
or after one year from the effective date of promulgation of 
this section shall meet the following qualifications for 
education and experience: 

1. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in social work from 
a program accredited by the Council on Social Work 
Education and two years of paid post degree experience in 
providing SC services; or 

2. a RN currently licensed in Louisiana with at least 
two years of paid nursing experience; or 

3. a bachelor’s or master’s degree in a human service 
related field which includes psychology, education, 
counseling, social services, sociology, philosophy, family 
and consumer sciences, criminal justice, rehab services, 
child development, substance abuse, gerontology and 
vocational rehabilitation and two years of paid post degree 
experience in providing SC services; or 

4. a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts or general studies 
with a concentration of at least 16 hours in one of the fields 
listed in §4963.C.3 and two years of paid post degree 
experience in providing SC services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4965. Staff Training 

A. Support coordinators shall receive necessary 
orientation and periodic training on the provision of SC 
services arranged or provided through the SC provider. 

1. Orientation of at least 16 hours shall be provided by 
the provider to all staff, volunteers and students within five 
working days of employment which shall include, at a 
minimum: 

a. policies and procedures of the provider; 
b. confidentiality; 
c. documentation in case records; 
d. client rights protection and reporting of 

violations; 
e. abuse and neglect policies and procedures; 
f. professional ethics; 
g. emergency and safety procedures; and 
h. infection control including universal precautions. 

B. Routine supervision shall not be considered training. 
C. In addition to the minimum 16 hours of orientation, 

all support coordinators shall receive training during the first 
90 calendar days of employment which is related to the 
target population to be served and specific knowledge, skills 
and techniques necessary to provide SC to the target 
population. This training shall be provided by an individual 
with demonstrated knowledge of the training topic and the 
target population. The training shall include, at a minimum: 

1. assessment techniques; 
2. service planning; 
3. resource identification; 

4. interviewing techniques; 
5. data management and record keeping; 
6. communication skills; and 
7. development of the ISP which includes the 

comprehensive plan of care. 
E. No new SC employee may be given sole 

responsibility for a client until this training is satisfactorily 
completed and the employee possesses adequate abilities, 
skills and knowledge of SC. 

F. A support coordinator shall complete a minimum of 
eight hours of training per calendar year. Appropriate 
updates of topics covered in orientation and training for a 
new service coordinator maybe included in the required 
eight hours of annual training. 

G. An SC supervisor shall satisfactorily complete eight 
hours of training per year. A new supervisor shall 
satisfactorily complete a minimum of 16 hours during 
orientation training on all of the following topics prior to 
assuming SC supervisory responsibilities: 

1. professional identification/ethics; 
2. process for interviewing, screening, and hiring 

staff; 
3. orientation/in-service training of staff; 
4. evaluating staff; 
5. approaches to supervision; 
6. caseload management ; 
7. conflict resolution; and 
8. documentation. 

H. Documentation of all training shall be placed in the 
individual's personnel file. Documentation shall include an 
agenda and the name, date, title, and provider affiliation of 
the training presenter(s) and other sources of training. 

I. The minimum hours for training required in this 
section are in addition to any other training hours that may 
be required by applicable rules and regulations of the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4967. Caseload Size Standards 

A. Each full-time support coordinator shall have up to a 
maximum of 60 clients in a caseload unless a lower ratio 
exists in LDH or other applicable state or federal regulations 
for the population to be served. 

B. Each support coordinator supervisor shall supervise a 
maximum of eight full-time support coordinators or a 
combination of full-time support coordinators and other 
human service staff under their direct supervision. 

C. A supervisor may assist, if necessary, by carrying a 
caseload for each support coordinator supervised, but no 
greater than 12 clients at any time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4969. Staff Supervision 

A. Each SC provider shall have and implement a written 
plan for supervision of all SC staff. Supervision shall occur 
individually at least once per week per support coordinator. 
Supervisors shall review support coordinator’s case records 
each month for completeness, compliance with these 
standards, and quality of service delivery. 
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B. Supervision of individual support coordinators shall 
include the following: 

1. direct review, assessment, problem solving, and 
feedback regarding the delivery of SC services; 

2. teaching and monitoring of the application of client 
centered SC principles and practices; 

3. assuring quality delivery of services; 
4. managing assignment of caseloads; and 
5. arranging for or providing training as appropriate. 

C. Supervision shall be accomplished by a combination 
of more than one of the following means: 

1. individual, face to face sessions with staff to review 
cases, assess performance and give feedback; 

2. sessions in which the supervisor accompanies an 
individual staff member to meet with clients. The supervisor 
assesses, teaches and gives feedback regarding the staff 
member's performance related to the particular client; 

3. group face to face sessions with all SC staff to 
problem solve, provide feedback and support to support 
coordinators; and/or 

4. by means of telecommunication. 
D. Each supervisor shall maintain a file on each support 

coordinator supervised and hold supervisory sessions to 
ensure client outcomes. The file on the support coordinators 
shall include, at a minimum: 

1. date and content of the supervisory sessions; and 
2. results of the supervisory case review which shall 

address, at a minimum, completeness and adequacy of 
records, compliance with standards, and effectiveness of 
services. 

E. Support coordinators shall be evaluated at least 
annually by their supervisor according to written policy of 
the provider on evaluating their performance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4971. Staff Plan and Staff Coverage 

A. An SC provider shall have a written plan for 
recruitment, screening, orientation, ongoing training, 
development and supervision and performance evaluation of 
staff members, either contract or directly employed. 

B. Sufficient staffing shall be provided to ensure a safe 
environment and adequacy of programming with 
consideration given to the geography of the setting, the 
number and needs of individuals served, and the intensity of 
services needed. Staff coverage shall be documented. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4973. Coordination of Client Services 

A. Support Coordination shall consist of services to 
assist clients in gaining access to the full range of needed 
services, including medical, social, educational and other 
support services. There shall be ongoing services which shall 
be accomplished through the following activities: 

1. Intake, which shall include determination of a 
client's eligibility for SC services as part of a targeted group 
of consumers and the determination of need for SC services. 
All clients shall be interviewed no less than 14 calendar days 
of referral or less as program specific, if applicable, to the 
provider and participate in the initial ISP, whenever possible. 

2. Assessment/reassessment, which shall include the 
collection and integration of formal/professional and 
informal information concerning a client’s social, familial, 
medical, developmental, legal, educational, vocational, 
psychiatric and economic status, as appropriate, to assist in 
the formulation of the comprehensive, individualized written 
service plan.  

a. The assessment process shall include input from 
the client/guardian, inclusive of the vision and goals of the 
client, and may include input from family members, friends, 
professionals, and service providers, as appropriate. 

b. The assessment shall focus on the client’s 
strengths, needs, vision and goals. The support coordinator 
shall make a face-to-face contact with the client as part of 
the assessment process. 

c. The client’s status shall be reassessed on an 
ongoing basis. 

3. Service planning, which shall include the 
development of a comprehensive, individualized written 
plan of care and services is based on the needs, strengths, 
vision, and goals of the client identified during the 
assessment process. 

a. The client/guardian shall actively participate with 
the support coordinator in development of the service plan 
with input from family members, professionals and service 
providers, as needed. 

b. The objective of service planning shall be to 
promote consistent, coordinated, timely and quality service 
provision and to assist the person in achieving his/her goals 
in a manner that promotes independence, community 
work/living, and assure health and safety. 

c. The service plan shall include, at a minimum, 
client strengths, needs, vision, and specific measurable goals 
and objectives with anticipated time-frames. 

d. The service plan shall be completed within 35 
calendar days of the intake interview for SC services, unless 
another timeframe exists in other applicable controlling state 
or federal regulations. 

e. The written service plan shall be reviewed at 
least every 90 days and ongoing, as needed, to assure goals 
and services are appropriate to the client's needs identified in 
the assessment/reassessment process and updated as needed 
to address changes determined by the review. 

4. Linkage, referral and follow-up which shall assure 
that the client has access to and is receiving the most 
appropriate services available to meet needs as outlined in 
the service plan. Linkage shall include, but is not limited to: 

a. contacting the individual's support network 
including family, neighbors and friends to mobilize 
assistance for the individual; and 

b. locating or assisting the client in locating formal 
and informal service providers; 

c. advocacy, which may occur on behalf of the 
client when needed to assure the client has access to and 
receives appropriate services. 

5. Monitoring/follow-up, which shall include ongoing 
interaction with the client/guardian, family members and 
professionals (as appropriate), and service providers to 
ensure that the agreed upon services are provided in a timely, 
coordinated and integrated manner and are adequate to meet 
the needs and stated goals of the service plan. The support 
coordinator shall make at least monthly contacts, either by 
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telephone or other electronic means, or face-to-face contacts, 
as needed, with the client/guardian as part of the linkage and 
monitoring/follow-up process. 

6. Transition/closure, which shall be a joint decision 
made by the service coordinator, client and/or family 
member, and other team members, when appropriate. 
Closure shall occur upon completion of all SC goals 
identified on the service plan except when service 
coordination is a required component of a service or a 
required service or the client is no longer appropriate to 
receive SC services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

Subchapter D. Program Specific Provisions 

§4981. Program Description 

A. The provider shall have a clear, concise written 
program description, available to the public, detailing: 

1. the overall philosophy of the program; 
2. the long and short term goals of the program; 
3. the types of clients to be served; 
4. the intake and closure criteria; 
5. there shall be written eligibility criteria for each of 

the services/programs provided; 
6. the services to be provided; 
7. a schedule of any fees for service which will be 

charged to the client; 
8. a method of obtaining feedback from the client 

regarding client satisfaction with services; 
9. an inventory of existing resources (both formal and 

informal) has been completed that identifies services within 
the geographic area to address the unique needs of the 
population to be served. This inventory shall be updated at 
least annually; 

10. demonstrated evidence that the program coincides 
with or is in agreement with existing state, regional, and 
local comprehensive service coordination and planning for 
the target population. 

B. The provider shall make every effort to ensure that 
services and planning for each client shall be a 
comprehensive process involving appropriate staff, 
representatives of other agencies and providers, the client, 
and where appropriate, the legally responsible person, and 
any other person(s) significantly involved in the client's care 
on an ongoing basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4983. Quality Improvement Plan 

A. The SC provider shall develop and implement a 
continuous quality improvement plan that is designed to 
objectively assess and improve the quality of services for 
clients which includes the following components: 

1. the capability to identify, assess, and correct 
problems, a time line for correction of deficiency and 
follow-up on the results of corrective action; 

2. procedures to allow immediate response to 
identified problems. 

B. Pertinent findings of quality improvement activities 
shall be reported to the governing body, executive/provider 
director. 

C. The chief administrator shall have the responsibility 
for the implementation and coordination of the quality 
improvement process. Duties shall be specified. 

D. Administrative review and any required corrective 
action shall be conducted as required. 

E. The quality improvement plan and process shall be 
reviewed and evaluated at least annually to determine the 
need for and the mechanisms for improving the plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4985. Self-Advocacy 

A. An SC provider shall make efforts to ensure that a 
client understands his/her rights in matters such as access to 
services, appeals, grievances, and protection from abuse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

§4987. Advocacy 

A. An SC provider shall ensure that an advocate is 
provided to the client whenever the client’s rights or desires 
may be in conflict or jeopardy with the provider or when 
requested by the client and/or guardian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and R.S. 40:2120.9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 
proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 
proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 
family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 
development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 
170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 
been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 
have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service, 
no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the same 
level of service, and will have no impact on the provider’s 
ability to provide the same level of service as described in 
HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 
Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov.
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Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. The deadline for submitting 
written comments is at close of business, 4:30 p.m., on April 
1, 2019. 

Public Hearing 

The department will conduct a public hearing at 9:30 a.m. 
on March 28, 2019 in Room 118 of the Bienville Building, 
which is located at 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. All interested persons are invited to attend and present 
data, views, comments, or arguments, orally or in writing. 
Parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking 
Garage which is located between North Sixth and North 
Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the 
Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage 
may be available to public hearing attendees when the 
parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Support Coordination Providers 

Licensing Standards 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed Rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 
the cost of promulgation for FY 18-19 as these licensing 
provisions are separate and apart from any other requirements 
established by the Medicaid Program for reimbursement 
purposes. It is anticipated that $9,396 will be expended in FY 
18-19 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation 
of this proposed Rule and the final Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not affect federal revenue collections or licensing fee 
collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule repeals the provisions of Title 48, Part 
I, Chapter 49 of the Louisiana Administrative Code governing 
case management licensing standards and replaces with 
provisions governing the licensing of support coordination 
providers to ensure that these provisions are consistent with 
other health care licensing requirements and are promulgated in 
a clear and concise manner in the Louisiana Administrative 
Code. It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not result in economic costs to support coordination 
providers for FY 18-19, FY 19-20 and FY 20-21, but will be 
beneficial by providing accurate, clearly identified licensing 
standards. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This Rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Cecile Castello Evan Brasseaux 
Director Staff Director 
1902#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 

Counselors Board of Examiners 

Professional Ethics 
(LAC 46:LXXXVI.Chapter 1, Chapter 3 and Chapter 16) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., that the Louisiana Licensed Professional 
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners 
pursuant to the authority vested in it by R.S. 37:3445, 
intends to amend i ts  rules ,  repeal  the  current  
e thical canons pertaining to Licensed Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors and adopt the Commission on 
Rehabilitation Counselor Certification Code of 
Professional Ethics for Rehabilitation Counselors. The 
reason for the proposed Rule is that it is required by R.S. 
37:3445. The proposed amendments to the rules are set 
forth below. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXXXVI.  Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§103. Description of Organization 

A. The Louisiana Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners, hereafter 
referred to as the board, resides in the Department of Health 
and consists of five members, who shall be residents in the 
state of Louisiana. Board members are appointed by the 
governor as specified in §3444. Each term shall be for four 
years and each of these appointments shall be submitted to 
the Senate for confirmation. Board members consist of four 
licensed professional vocational rehabilitation counselors, 
and one consumer from the public at large. No board 
member shall serve more than two full consecutive terms. 

B. Appointments to the board are made from a list of 
qualified candidates submitted by the International 
Association of Rehabilitation Professionals-Louisiana. No 
board member shall be liable in any civil action for any act 
performed in good faith in the execution of his duties under 
Chapter 53 of Title 37 (R.S. 37:3446-3452 and R.S. 
36:478.I). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

§105. Vacancies 

A. A vacancy occurring in board membership for an 
unexpired term shall be filled for the remainder of the term 
by the governor, within 30 days, from a list of qualified 
candidates submitted by the International Association of 
Rehabilitation Professionals-Louisiana as prescribed in 
§3444 of R.S. 37:3441-3452. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

Chapter 3. Board Meetings, Procedures, Records, 

Powers and Duties 

§301. Officers 

A. The board shall elect from its membership a 
chairman, vice-chairman, and secretary. The chairman shall 
preside at all meetings at which he or she is in attendance 
and perform all duties prescribed by Chapter 53 of Title 37 
(R.S. 37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478.I) and the board. The 
chairman is authorized by the board to make day-to-day 
decisions regarding board activities to facilitate the 
responsiveness and effectiveness of the board. The vice-
chairman shall perform the duties of the chairman in case of 
absence or disability of the chairman. In the event the office 
of chairman becomes vacant, the vice-chairman shall serve 
as chairman until a successor is named. In the absence of the 
chairman and vice-chairman, the secretary will preside until 
the chairman or vice-chairman is present. The secretary shall 
keep the minutes of board meetings and send said minutes to 
board members and clerical secretary of the board before 
each regular meeting of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

§305. Board Staff 

A. The board shall hire a full or part-time clerical 
secretary, who shall not be a member of the board, within the 
limits of funds received by the board pursuant to R.S. 
37:3446. The clerical secretary will keep the records and 
files of the board and communicate with the candidates for 
licensure and others concerning board activities under the 
direction of the chairman of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

§307. Meetings 

A. The board shall be domiciled in Baton Rouge and 
shall hold its meetings in places to be designated by the 
board within the state of Louisiana, after reasonable notice. 
The board shall hold meetings at least semiannually. The 
chairperson may call meetings after consultation with the 
board members or by a majority of members voting at a 
regular meeting. Reasonable notice of all board meetings 
will be given seven days before the meeting. The board may 
examine, deny, approve, revoke, suspend, and renew the 
license of applicants and shall review applications at least 
once a year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

§313. Code of Ethics 

A. The board has adopted the Code of Professional 
Ethics for Rehabilitations Counselors created and adopted by 
the Commission of Rehabilitation Counselor Certification 
for its Certified Rehabilitation Counselors in September 
2016 and effective as of January 1, 2017 as specified in R.S. 
37:3445 as specified in R.S. 37:3445 and may adopt any 
revisions or additions deemed appropriate or necessary by 
the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3441-3452 and R.S. 36:478(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners, LR 15:276 (April 1989), amended 
LR 45: 

Chapter 16. Code of Professional Ethics for Licensed 

Rehabilitation Counselors 

§1600. General 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:491 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1601. Code of Ethics 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 37:3445D, the Code of Professional 
Ethics for Rehabilitations Counselors created and adopted by 
the Commission of Rehabilitation Counselor Certification 
for its Certified Rehabilitation Counselors in September 
2016 and effective as of January 1, 2017 is hereby adopted 
by reference. A link to the code can be found at 
www.lrcboard.org. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:491 (March 
2002), amended LR 45: 

§1602. Canon 2: Client-Counselor Relationship 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:492 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1603. Canon 3: Client Advocacy 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:493 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1604. Canon 4: Professional Relationships 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:493 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 
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§1605. Canon 5: Public Statement/Fees  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:493 (March 
2002). 

§1605. Canon 5: Public Statement/Fees  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:493 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1605. Canon 5: Public Statement/Fees  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:493 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1606. Canon 6: Confidentiality  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:494 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1607. Canon 7: Assessment  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:494 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1608. Canon 8: Research Activities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:495 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1609. Canon 9: Forensic Activities  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:495 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1610. Canon 10: Competence  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:496 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

§1611. Canon 11: LRC Credential  

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.37:3441-3452 and 36:478.I. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Vocational 
Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners LR 28:496 (March 
2002), repealed LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

The Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners hereby issues this Family 
Impact Statement: The proposed rule will have no known 
impact on family formation, stability, functioning or 
autonomy. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners hereby issues this Poverty 
Impact Statement: The proposed rule will have no known 
impact on any child, individual or family as defined in R.S. 
49:973.B. 

Small Business Impact Statement 

The Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners hereby issues this Small 
Business Impact Statement, and having considered the 
criteria in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, has concluded that 
the proposed Rule will have no known impact on small 
businesses. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The Licensed Professional Vocational Rehabilitation 
Counselors Board of Examiners hereby issues this Provider 
Impact Statement: The proposed rule will have no known 
impact on providers as defined in HCR 170 of 2014 Regular 
Legislative Session. R.S. 49:973.B. 

Public Comments 

The proposed action of the Licensed Professional 
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Board of Examiners 
complies with the statutory law administered by the 
board, R.S. 37:3441-3452. A preamble has been prepared 
and is published herein. Interested persons may submit 
written comments on the proposed Rule to Stephen W. 
Glusman P.O. Box 41594 Baton Rouge, LA 70835 who will 
be responsible for responding to inquiries concerning this 
proposed action. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on March 20, 2019. 

 
Mary Walker 
Chairperson 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Professional Ethics 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will not result in any additional 

expenditures or savings for state or local governmental units.  
The proposed rule changes update the administrative rules 

for the LA Professional Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors 
Board of Examiners to align with Act 626 of the 2018 Regular 
Session, altering the makeup of the board by reducing the 
number of board seats for consumers from 2 to 1, and 
increasing the number of board seats for practitioners from 3 to 
4. However, the total number of board seats, five (5), remains 
unchanged. Furthermore, the proposed rule changes repeal an 
outdated code of ethics from the administrative rules for clarity, 
and replaces them with a different code of ethics the board 
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adopted pursuant to LA R.S. 37:3445(D). Lastly, the proposed 
rule changes make technical changes. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Pursuant to Act 626 of the 2018 Regular Session, the 
proposed rule changes increase the number of practitioner seats 
on the board by one, from 3 to 4. Furthermore, the proposed 
rule changes decrease the number of consumer seats on the 
board by one, from 2 to 1. As a result, there are more 
opportunities for practitioners to serve on the board, while there 
are fewer opportunities for consumers to serve on the board. 
However, the total number of board seats, five (5), remains 
unchanged. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Stephen W. Glusman Evan J. Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1902#024 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Office of Public Health 

Disease Reporting Requirements; Public Health 
Immunization Requirements; and Anti-Rabies Vaccination 

 Requirements for Dogs and Cats 
(LAC 51:II.Chapter 1 and III.Chapter 1) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the 
state health officer acting through the Louisiana Department 
of Health, Office of Public Health (LDH-OPH), pursuant to 
the authority in R.S. 40:4(A)(2), and R.S. 40:5, intends to 
amend and revise Title 51 (Public Health—Sanitary Code), 
Part II (The Control of Diseases). 

The proposed amendments to Part II, Chapter 1, are 
regarding disease reporting requirements. The proposed 
revisions to these requirements will keep them up to date 
with current national and state disease surveillance needs. 
Proposed amendments to Part II, Chapter 7, are regarding 
the immunization schedule. The proposed revisions to these 
requirements will update the Louisiana immunization 
schedule in accordance with the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practice (ACIP) of the United States Public 
Health Service.  

In addition, the state health officer acting through the 
LDH-OPH, pursuant to the authority in R.S. 40:4(A)(2), 
R.S. 40:5(A)(1)(2) and R.S. 40:1269.3, also Intends to 
amend and revise Title 51, Part III (The Control of Rabies 
and Other Zoonotic Diseases). This proposed amendment 
relates to the appropriate re-vaccination interval of dogs and 
cats based upon the particular anti-rabies vaccine being 
administered to the animal, as well as updating required 
actions for domestic animals bitten by rabid animals to 
conform to current national best practices. 

The proposed amendments shall be made by effecting 

substantive changes as outlined below.  
Title 51 

PUBLIC HEALTH―SANITARY CODE 

Part II.  The Control of Diseases 

Chapter 1. Disease Reporting Requirements 

§101. Definitions 

[formerly paragraph 2:001] 

A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 
following words and terms used in this Part and all other 
Parts which are adopted or may be adopted, are defined for 
the purposes thereof as follows. 

* * * 
Case―a particular instance of disease. 
Case of Perinatal Exposure to Human 

Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)―any instance of a live birth 
to a woman in whom HIV infection was present prior to the 
birth (indicated by maternal or neonatal HIV testing).  

Case of Perinatal Exposure to Treponema 

Pallidum―any instance of a live birth or stillbirth to a 
woman in whom syphilis infection was present prior to the 
birth (indicated by maternal or neonatal syphilis testing). 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for 

promulgation of the sanitary code is in R.S. 36:258(B), with more 
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. This Part is promulgated in accordance 
with the specific provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 
40:5(A)(1)(2) and (10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1212 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1050 (June 2006), LR 34:2173 (October 
2008), repromulgated LR 34:2582 (December 2008), LR 36:1014 
(May 2010), amended by the Department of Health, Office of 
Public Health, LR 45: 

§105. Reportable Diseases and Conditions 

[formerly paragraph 2:003] 

A. It is hereby made the duty of every physician 
practicing medicine in the state of Louisiana to report to the 
state health officer, according to the requirements of this 
Section and utilizing the appropriate method(s) of reporting 
required under Subsection E of this Section, any case or 
suspected case of reportable disease or condition which he or 
she is attending, or has examined, or for which such 
physician has prescribed. The report shall be made promptly 
at the time the physician first visits, examines or prescribes 
for the patient, and such report shall state the name, age, sex, 
race, usual residence, place where the patient is to be found, 
the nature of the disease or condition and the date of onset, 
and the pregnancy status of the patient (if the pregnancy 
status is known and if it is clinically relevant to the disease 
or condition being reported). Reports of occupational 
disease/injury shall state contact information of the reporting 
person as well as the patient’s name, contact information, 
age (or date of birth), sex, race/ethnicity, usual residence, 
occupation, employer information, the nature of the disease 
or injury, and the date of diagnosis. 

B. - D.1.a. … 
 i. Acinetobacter spp., carbapenem-resistant; 
 ii. acute flaccid paralysis, including acute flaccid 
myeltis; 
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 iii. amoeba (free living) infection (including 
Acanthamoeba, Naegleria, Balamuthia and others; 
 iv. anthrax; 
 v. avian or novel strain influenza A (initial 
detection); 
 vi. botulism; 
 vii. brucellosis; 
 viii. Candida auris, as well as common 
misidentifications of C. auris (e.g., C. haemulonii, C. 
duobushaemulonii, C. famata, C. sake, C. lusitaniae, C. 
parapsilosis, C. catenulata, C. guilliermondii, and 
Rhodotorula glutinis); 
 ix. cholera; 
 x.  Clostridium perfringens food-borne illness; 
 xi. diphtheria; 
 xii. Enterobacteriacea, carbenum-resistant; 
 xiii. fish or shellfish poisoning (domoic acid 
poisoning, neurotoxic shellfish poisoning, ciguatera, 
paralytic shellfish poisoning, scombroid); 
 xiv. food-borne illness; 
 xv. glanders (Burkholderia mallei); 
 xvi. Haemophilus influenzae (invasive infection); 
 xvii. influenza-associated mortality; 
 xviii. measles (rubeola, imported or indigenous); 
 xix. melioidosis (Burkholderia pseudomallei); 
 xx. Neisseria meningitidis (invasive infection); 
 xxi. outbreaks of any infectious diseases; 
 xxii. pertussis; 
 xxiii. plague (Yersinia pestis); 
 xxiv. poliomyelitis (paralytic and non-paralytic); 
 xxv. Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenem-
resistant; 
 xxvi. Q fever (Coxiella burnettii); 
 xxvii. rabies (animal and human); 
 xxviii. ricin poisoning; 
 xxix. rubella (congenital syndrome); 
 xxx. rubella (German measles); 
 xxxi. severe acute respiratory syndrome-associated 
coronavirus (SARS-CoV); 
 xxxii. Staphylococcus aureus, vancomycin 
intermediate or resistant (VISA.VRSA); 
 xxxiii. staphylococcal enterotoxin B (SEB) pulmonary 
poisoning; 
 xxxiv. smallpox; 
 xxxv. tularemia (Francisella tularensis); 
 xxxvi. viral hemorrhagic fever (Ebola, Lassa, 
Marburg, Crimean Congo, etc.); and 
 xxxvii. yellow fever. 

2. - 2.a. … 
 i. anaplasmosis; 
 ii. arthropod-borne viral infections (including 
West Nile, Dengue, St. Louis, California, Eastern Equine, 
Western Equine, Chikungunya, Usutu, Zika, and others); 
 iii. aseptic meningitis; 
 iv. babesiosis; 
 v. Chagas disease; 
 vi. chancroid; 
 vii. cryptosporidiosis; 
 viii. cyclosporiasis; 
 ix. Escherichia coli, Shiga-toxin producing 
(STEC), including E. coli O157:H7; 
 x. granuloma inguinale; 

 xi. hantavirus (infection or pulmonary syndrome); 
 xii. hemolytic-uremic syndrome;  
 xiii. hepatitis A (acute illness);  
 xiv. hepatitis B (acute illness and carriage in 
pregnancy); 
 xv. hepatitis B (perinatal infection); 
 xvi. hepatitis C (acute illness); 
 xvii. hepatitis C (perinatal infection); 
 xviii. hepatitis E; 
 xix. herpes (neonatal); 
 xx. human immunodeficiency virus [(HIV), 
infection in pregnancy]2,6; 
 xxi. human immunodeficiency virus [(HIV), 
perinatal exposure]2,6; 
 xxii. legionellosis; 
 xxiii. listeriosis; 
 xxiv. malaria; 
 xxv. mumps; 
 xxvi. salmonellosis 
 xxvii. shigellosis; 
 xxviii. syphilis1 

 xxix. syphilis [(Treponema pallidum), infection in 
pregnancy]1,6 

 xxx. syphilis [(Treponema pallidum), perinatal 
exposure]1,6; 
 xxxi. tetanus; 
 xxxii. tuberculosis3 due to Mycobacterium 
tuberculosis, bovis or africanum; 
 xxxiii. typhoid fever; 
 xxxiv. Vibrio infections (other than cholera); and 
 xxxv. Zika virus-associated birth defects. 

3. Class C Diseases or Conditions which Shall 
Require Reporting within Five Business Days 

a. - a.i. ... 
 ii. aspergillosis; 
 iii. - vii. ... 
 viii. ehrlichiosis (human granulocytic, human 
monocytic, Ehrlichia chaffeensis and ewingii); 
 ix. Enterococcus, vancomycin resistant [(VRE), 
invasive disease]; 
 x. giardiasis; 
 xi. gonorrhea1 (genital, oral, ophthalmic, pelvic 
inflammatory disease, rectal); 
 xii. Guillain-Barré syndrome; 
 xiii. Hansen’s disease (leprosy); 
 xiv. hepatitis C (infection, other than as in Class 
B)2;  

 xv. histoplasmosis; 
 xvi. human immunodeficiency virus [(HIV) 
infection, other than as in class B]2; 
 xvii. human T lymphocyte virus (HTLV I and II) 
infection; 
 xviii. leptospirosis; 
 xix. Lyme disease; 
 xx. lymphogranuloma venereum1; 
 xxi. meningitis, eosinophilic (including those due to 
Angiostrongylus infection); 
 xxii. Nipah virus infection; 
 xxiii. non-gonococcal urethritis; 
 xxiv. nontuberculous mycobacteria; 
 xxv. ophthalmia neonatorum; 
 xxvi. psittacosis; 
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 xxvii. spotted fever rickettsioses [Rickettsia species 
including Rocky Mountain spotted fever (RMSF)]; 
 xxviii. staphylococcal toxic shock syndrome; 
 xxix. Staphylococcus aureus, methicillin/oxacillin-
resistant [(MRSA), invasive infection]; 
 xxx. streptococcal disease, group A (invasive 
disease); 
 xxxi. streptococcal disease, group B (invasive 
disease); 
 xxxii. streptococcal toxic shock syndrome; 
 xxxiii. Streptococcus pneumoniae invasive disease; 
 xxxiv. transmissible spongiform encephalopathies 
(Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and variants); 

 xxxv. trichinosis; 
 xxxvi. varicella (chickenpox); and; 
 xxxvii. yersiniosis. 

4. Class D Special Reportable Diseases or Conditions 
Shall Require Reporting within Five Business Days 

a. - a.i. ... 
 ii. carbon monoxide exposure and/or poisoning5; 
 iii. - vii. ... 
 viii. lead exposure and/or poisoning (all ages)5; 
 ix. pesticide-related illness or injury (all ages)5; 
 x. ... 
 xi. pneumoconiosis (asbestosis, berylliosis, 
silicosis, byssinosis, etc.) 5; 
 xii. radiation exposure, over normal limits5; 
 xiii. - xviii. ... 

5. Class E Reportable Occupational Diseases or 
Conditions Shall Require Reporting within 10 Business 
Days5 

a. Class E diseases or conditions shall include any 
occupationally-related diseases or conditions of significant 
public health concern. This includes cases where the work 
environment is suspected to be the cause of an illness or 
injury or cases where the work environment is thought to be 
the cause of an illness exacerbation. Class E diseases or 
conditions shall be reported to the Office of Public Health, 
Section of Environmental Epidemiology and Toxicology, 
Occupational Health and Injury Surveillance Program, 
within 10 business days after existence of the case, 
suspected case, or positive test result is known. 

E. - E.1. ... 
2. 2Report to the Louisiana STD/HIV Program. Visit 

www.hiv.dhh.louisiana.gov or call (504) 568-7474 for 
regional contact information. 

3. - 4. ... 
5. 5Report to the Section of Environmental 

Epidemiology and Toxicology, Occupational Health and 
Injury Surveillance Program, www.seet.dhh.louisiana.gov or 
call (504) 568-8150, toll free at (888) 293-7020, or by fax at 
(504) 568-8149. 

6. 6Report to the Louisiana STD/HIV Program on 
HIV/Syphilis during Pregnancy Reporting Form. Visit 
www.hiv.ldh.louisiana.gov or by phone at (504) 568-7474. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5(A)(1)(2)(10)(11). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1212 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1050 (June 2006), LR 34:2173 (October 
2008), repromulgated LR 34:2582 (December 2008), LR 36:1014 
(May 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1253 (June 2010), amended LR 

39:1053 (April 2013), LR 41:2653 (December 2015), amended by 
the Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 45: 

§107. Laboratory and Healthcare Facility Reporting 

Requirements 

(formerly §113) 

A. The director of every laboratory and the director of an 
applicable healthcare facility whether public, private, 
hospital or other, within or out of the state shall report to the 
state health officer the results of all tests that are in any way 
clinically relevant, suggestive or indicative of an individual 
having active disease, past or present exposure to, past or 
present contact with and/or past or present association with 
any of the disease/conditions listed in LAC 51 (Public 

HealthSanitary Code), Part II, Chapter 1, §105. The 
results of the tests to be reported to the state health officer do 
not have to be conducted for diagnostic reasons, nor do the 
results have to be diagnostic or confirmatory. The report 
shall be received in a timely manner consistent with the 
requirements of the diseases/conditions by class for the 
diseases/conditions described in §105 of this Chapter and 
shall state the name, date of birth, sex, race, usual residence, 
pregnancy status of the individual (if the pregnancy status is 
known and if it is clinically relevant to the disease or 
condition being reported), specimen identification code/ID 
and test results of the tested individual as well as the name 
of the physician or person submitting the specimen. Contact 
information for the laboratory or an applicable healthcare 
facility performing the test(s) shall be provided. Laboratories 
or an applicable healthcare facility shall not defer their 
public health reporting responsibilities to any other 
authorities within the institutions they serve. In addition, 
laboratories or an applicable healthcare facility performing 
tests on specimens received from other laboratories or an 
applicable healthcare facility shall report to the state health 
officer all results as prescribed above plus the contact 
information for the facility/laboratory or an applicable 
healthcare facility where the specimen originated. Moreover, 
no considerations, evaluations or concerns, regarding any 
test technology or test result by institutions and/or 
organizations whether federal, state or otherwise (e.g., FDA, 
CMS-CLIA, etc.) which may be overseeing, approving, 
evaluating or licensing laboratory testing, shall represent an 
a priori rationale for withholding laboratory reports from the 
state health officer. 

B. - B.4. … 
5. hepatitis C (past or present infection), including 

genotype where available; 
6. - 9. … 

C. A reference culture or culture-independent diagnostic 
test (CIDT) specimen is required to be sent to the Office of 
Public Health laboratory, or a specialized laboratory as 
indicated below, for the following microorganisms within 
five business days of the final identification of the 
microorganism: 

1. Acinetobacter spp., pan-resistant; consult with the 
OPH’s Infectious Disease Epidemiology for submission to 
the CDC’s Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network 
(ARLN); 

2. Bacillus anthracis (confirmed or suspected); 
3. Bordetella pertussis; 
4. Brucella spp. 
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5. Burkholderia mallei; 
6. Burkholderia pseudomallei; 
7. Campylobacter spp.; 
8. Candida auris submitted to the CDC’s ARLN; 

consult with the OPH’s Infectious Disease Epidemiology for 
common misidentifications of C. auris (e.g., C. haemulonii, 
C. duobushaemulonii, C. famata, C. sake, C. lusitaniae, C. 

parapsilosis, C. catenulata, C. guilliermondii, and 

Rhodotorula glutinis); 
9. Corynebacterium diphtheriae; 
10. E. coli O157:H7 or E. coli Shiga toxin producing; 
11. Enterobacteriaceae, carbapenem-resistant 

(excluding Klebsiella pneumoniae, K. oxytoca, E. coli, and 
Enterobacter spp.); consult with OPH’s Infectious Disease 
Epidemiology for submission to the CDC ARLN; 

12. Francisella spp.; 
13. Klebsiella pneumoniae, K. oxytoca. E. coli, and 

Enterobacter spp., carbapenum-resistant; 
14. Listeria spp.; 
15. Mycobacterium tuberculosis, bovis or africanum; 
16.  Plesiomonas spp; 
17. Pseudomonas aeruginosa, carbapenum-resistant; 
18. Salmonella spp.; 
19. Shigella spp.; 
20. Vibrio spp.; 
21. Yersinia enterocolitica; and 
22. Yersinia pestis. 

D. A reference culture or culture-independent diagnostic 
test (CIDT) specimen is required to be sent to the Office of 
Public Health laboratory for the following microorganisms if 
the original culture was from a sterile site (e.g., blood, spinal 
fluid, other internal fluid, tissue, etc.). Such reference culture 
shall be sent to the Office of Public Health laboratory within 
five business days of the final identification of the 
microorganism: 

D.1. - E. … 
F. Electronic reporting by a laboratory/facility shall 

include any results, negative or positive, for all components 
of testing indicative of the following conditions: 

1. hepatitis C virus; 
2. human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), including 

nucleotide sequences; and 
3. syphilis. 

G. Laboratories and applicable healthcare facilities are 
encouraged to report results electronically using Health 
Level Seven (HL7)-compliant message structure and 
appropriate standard Logical Observation Identifiers Names 
and Codes (LOINC) terminology designating the test(s) 
performed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5(A)(2)(10)(11). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1214 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1052 (June 2006), LR 39:1054 (April 
2013), LR 41:2655 (December 2015), amended by Department of 
Health, Office of Public Health, LR:45: 

Chapter 7. Public Health Immunization 

Requirements 

§701. Immunization Schedule 

[formerly paragraph 2:025] 

A. The Office of Public Health (OPH) will determine the 
Louisiana immunization schedule, with appropriate 
immunizations for age using the current immunization 

schedule from the Advisory Committee for Immunization 
Practice (ACIP) of the United States Public Health Service 
(USPHS). Compliance for school and day care center entry 
will be based on the individual having received an 
appropriate number of immunizations for his/her age of the 
following types: 

1. vaccines which contain tetanus and diphtheria 
toxoids, including Diphtheria and Tetanus (DT), 
Diphtheria/Tetanus/Acellular Pertussis (DTaP), Tetanus and 
Diphtheria (Tdap), Tetanus Toxoid (TT) or combinations 
which include these components; 

2. polio vaccine, including Inactivated Polio Vaccine 
(IPV), or combinations which include this component; 

3. vaccines which contain measles antigen, including 
Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) and combinations 
which include these components; 

4. vaccines which contain hepatitis antigen, including 
Hepatitis B (HepB), Hepatitis A (HepA), and combinations 
which include these components; 

5. vaccines which contain varicella antigen, including 
varicella and combinations which include this component. 

6. vaccines which contain meningococcal antigen and 
combinations which include this component. 

B. A one-month period will be allowed from the time the 
immunization is due until it is considered overdue. Medical, 
religious, and philosophic exemptions will be allowed for 
compliance with regulations concerning day care attendees 
and school enterers. Only medical and religious exemptions 
will be allowed for compliance with regulations concerning 
public assistance recipients. A copy of the current Office of 
Public Health immunization schedule can be obtained by 
writing to the Immunization Program, Office of Public 
Health, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1938, New Orleans, LA 
70112 or by telephone (504)568-2600. 

C. [formerly paragraph 2:025-1] Any child 18 years or 
under, admitted to any elementary and secondary school, 
kindergarten, college, university, proprietary school, 
vocational school, licensed day care center or residential 
facility shall have verification that the child has had all 
appropriate immunizations for age of the child according to 
the Louisiana immunization schedule unless presenting a 
written statement from a physician stating that the procedure 
is contraindicated for medical reasons, or a written dissent 
from parents. The operator of any elementary and secondary 
school, kindergarten, college, university, proprietary school, 
vocational school, licensed day care center or residential 
facility shall report to the state health officer through the 
health unit of the parish or municipality where such facility 
is located any case or suspected case of reportable disease. 
Health records, including immunization records, shall be 
made available during normal operating hours for inspection 
when requested by the state health officer. When an outbreak 
of a communicable disease occurs in an elementary and 
secondary school, kindergarten, college, university, 
proprietary school, vocational school, licensed day care 
center or residential facility, the operator of said facility shall 
comply with outbreak control procedures as directed by the 
state health officer. 

D. [formerly paragraph 2:025-2] On or before October 1 
of each year, the operator of each elementary and secondary 
school, kindergarten, college, university, proprietary school, 
vocational school, licensed day care center or residential 
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facility enrolling or housing any child 18 years or under, 
inclusive but not limited to these listed facilities shall submit 
a preliminary immunization status report of all children 
enrolled or housed as of that date. This compliance report 
shall be submitted utilizing the official Louisiana 
immunization information registry system (frequently 
referred to as LINKS) for reporting and shall include 
identifying information for each child, and for each dose of 
vaccine received by the child since birth. Any child exempt 
from the immunization requirement shall also be identified, 
and the reason for exemption given on the report. After 
review of the report(s) by the state health officer or his or her 
designee, the elementary and secondary school, 
kindergarten, college, university, proprietary school, 
vocational school, licensed day care center or residential 
facility operator shall notify, on or before December 31 of 
each year, the parent or guardian of all enrolled or housed 
children, who are not compliant, with the immunization 
requirement of §701.A and C of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5. Also see R.S. 17:170, 
R.S. 22:1030, R.S. 40:31.15 and R.S. 44:17. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1221 (June 
2002), amended LR 38:1252 (May 2012) amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR 45: 

Part III.  The Control of Rabies and Other Zoonotic 

Diseases 

Chapter 1. Anti-Rabies Vaccination Requirements 

for Dogs and Cats 

§103. Mandatory Vaccinations of Dogs, Cats, and 

Ferrets 

[formerly paragraph 3:002] 

A. No person shall own, keep or have in his custody a 
dog, cat, or ferret over 3 months of age that has not been 
vaccinated against rabies by a licensed veterinarian. Every 
owner of a dog, cat, or ferret shall cause said animal to be 
vaccinated initially with a series of two vaccinations, the 
first to be administered at 3 months of age, the second to be 
administered one year after the initial vaccination. Dogs, 
cats, or ferrets initially vaccinated later than 3 months of age 
shall also be administered a series of two vaccines, the 
second vaccine to be given one year after the initial 
vaccination. Thereafter, the interval between revaccinations 
shall conform to the Compendium of Animal Rabies 

Prevention and Control,2016 Edition, Part II, Section B and 
Appendix 1: Rabies Vaccines Licensed and Marketed in the 
United States, 2016, which is published by the National 
Association of State Public Health Veterinarians, Inc. 
Vaccine licensing and labeling, including duration of 
immunity, is authorized by the Center for Veterinary 
Biologics at the United States Department of Agriculture 
(USDA), Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 
(APHIS) and those decisions are based on testing conducted 
by the vaccine manufacturer. The results of testing are 
presented to USDA during the registration process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2)(a), R.S. 40:5(A) (2)(10)(11) and R.S. 
40:1269.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1223 (June 
2002), amended LR 33:650 (April 2007), LR 41:2657 (December 
2015), amended by the Department of Health, Office of Public 
Health, LR:45: 

§105. Human Exposure to Domestic Animal Bites 

[formerly paragraph 3:003] 

A. When any dog, cat, or ferret bites a human being, said 
animal shall be confined (as described in §111) for a 
minimum of 10 days following the bite, or said animal shall 
be killed and the head submitted immediately to a laboratory 
of the Louisiana Department of Health for examination for 
rabies. During the observation period a rabies vaccine should 
not be administered to the animal to avoid confusing signs of 
rabies with possible side effects of vaccine administration. 
Any dog, cat, or ferret that develops any signs during the 10 
day observation period shall be reported immediately to the 
local health authority and, provided such signs are 
compatible with rabies as determined by a licensed 
veterinarian or the official state public health veterinarian, 
the animal shall be killed and the head submitted to a 
laboratory of the Louisiana Department of Health for 
examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4A(2)(a), and R.S. 40:1269.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1223 (June 
2002), amended LR 33:650 (April 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR:45: 

§107. Domestic Animals Bitten by Rabid Animals 

[formerly paragraph 3:004] 

A. When bitten by a rabid animal, unvaccinated dogs, 
cats, or ferrets shall be destroyed immediately unless the 
owner is unwilling to have this done, in which case, the 
unvaccinated animal shall be confined (as described in §111) 
for four months for dogs and cats and six months for ferrets 
being released. A rabies vaccine shall be administered at the 
time of entry into quarantine (confinement) to bring the 
animal up to current rabies vaccination status. 
Administration of the vaccine shall be done as soon as 
possible. It is recommended that the period from exposure to 
vaccination not exceed 96 hours. If vaccination is delayed 
the official state public health veterinarian may consider 
increasing the quarantine period for dogs and cats from four 
to six months. Dogs, cats, or ferrets that are currently 
vaccinated shall be re-vaccinated immediately and confined 
(as described in §111) for 45 days.  

1. Overdue dogs and cats. Dogs and cats that are 
overdue for a booster vaccination and that have appropriate 
documentation of having received a USDA-licensed rabies 
vaccine at least once previously shall immediately receive a 
booster vaccination and shall be kept under the owner’s 
control and observed for 45 days. Dogs and cats that are 
overdue for a booster and without appropriate 
documentation of having received a USDA-licensed rabies 
vaccine at least once previously shall be:  

a. treated as unvaccinated, immediately given a 
booster vaccination and placed in strict quarantine; or 

b. the official state public health veterinarian may 
consider use of prospective serological monitoring (PSM) of 
the animal to document prior vaccination by providing 
evidence of an anamnestic response to booster vaccination. 
If the official state public health veterinarian authorizes 
PSM, the animal shall be strictly quarantined while PSM is 
performed. If the official state public health veterinarian 
confirms that PSM provides evidence of an anamnestic 
response, the period of strict quarantine may be ended, and 
the animal may be kept under the owner’s control and 
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observed for 45 days. If there is inadequate evidence of an 
anamnestic response, the animal is considered to have never 
been vaccinated and shall be placed in strict quarantine for 4 
to 6 months.  

2. Overdue ferrets. Ferrets that are overdue for a 
booster shall be considered unvaccinated and shall be 
immediately vaccinated for rabies and strictly quarantined 
for 6 months.  

B. – D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2)(a), and R.S. 40:1269.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1223 (June 
2002), amended LR 33:651 (April 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR:45: 

§111. Confinement or Quarantine of Animals 

[formerly paragraph 3:007] 

A. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4A(2)(a), and R.S. 40:1269.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1224 (June 
2002), amended LR 33:651 (April 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health, Office of Public Health, LR:45: 

Family Impact Statement 

(1) The effect on the stability of the family. There is no 
anticipated effect on the stability of the family. 

(2) The effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
There is no anticipated effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children 

(3) The effect on the functioning of the family. There is 
no anticipated effect on the functioning of the family. 

(4) The effect on the family earnings and family 
budget. There is no anticipated effect on the family earnings 
and family budget. 

(5) The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. There is no anticipated effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

(6) The ability of the family or local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed rule. 
There is no anticipated effect on the ability of the family or 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

(1.) The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. There is no anticipated effect on 
household income, assets, and financial security. 

(2.) The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 
There is no anticipated effect on early childhood 
development and preschool through postsecondary education 
development. 

(3.) The effect on employment and workforce 
development. There is no anticipated effect on employment 
and workforce development. 

(4.) The effect on taxes and tax credits. There is no 
anticipated effect on taxes and tax credits. 

(5.) The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 
health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
There is no anticipated effect on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation and utilities 
assistance. 

Small Business Impact Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is anticipated that the proposed rule will not 
have a significant adverse impact on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental, and economic 
factors has considered, and, where applicable, utilized 
regulatory methods in drafting the proposed rule to 
accomplish the objectives of the applicable statutes while 
minimizing any anticipated adverse impact on small 
businesses.  

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should have minimal impact on 
providers as defined by HCR 170 of 2014 Regular 
Legislative Session.  

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed Rule. Such comments must be received no later 
than Thursday, March 28, 2019 at COB, 4:30 pm, and should 
be addressed to DeAnn Gruber, Bureau Director, Bureau of 
Infectious Diseases, Office of Public Health, 1450 Poydras 
St., Ste. 2136, New Orleans, LA, 70112 or faxed to (504) 
568-7044. 

Public Hearing 

Interested persons may submit a written request to 
conduct a public hearing either by U.S. mail to the Office of 
the Secretary ATTN: LDH Rulemaking Coordinator, Post 
Office Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629; however, 
such request must be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
March 11, 2019. If the criteria set forth in R.S. 
49:953(A)(2)(a) are satisfied, LDH will conduct a public 
hearing at 10 am on Wednesday, March 27, 2019, in Room 
118 of the Bienville Building, which is located at 628 North 
Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. To confirm whether or not 
a public hearing will be held, interested persons should first 
call Stanley Bordelon at (225) 219-3454 after March 11, 
2019. If a public hearing is to be held, all interested persons 
are invited to attend and present data, views, comments, or 
arguments, orally or in writing. In the event of a hearing, 
parking is available to the public in the Galvez Parking 
Garage which is located between North Sixth and North 
Fifth/North and Main Streets (cater-corner from the 
Bienville Building). Validated parking for the Galvez Garage 
may be available to public hearing attendees when the 
parking ticket is presented to LDH staff at the hearing. 

 
Jimmy Guidry, MD 
State Health Officer 
and 
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH 
Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Public Health―Sanitary Code 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change is anticipated to increase 

expenditures for the Office of Public Health (OPH) by 
approximately $2,630 in FY 19 for the publication of the 
proposed rule.  It is not anticipated that any other state or local 
governmental units will incur costs or savings as a result of this 
rule change.  

The proposed rule updates the reporting criteria for several 
infectious diseases in order to bring Louisiana's reporting 
requirements in line with recommendations from the Council of 
State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) and the Centers 
for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  The proposed rule 
also updates the guidelines for rabies vaccination intervals for 
dogs and cats and updates required actions for domestic 
animals bitten by rabid animals to conform to current national 
best practices. Additionally, the proposed rule updates the 
Louisiana Immunization schedule in accordance with the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practice (ACIP) of the 
United States Public Health Service. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The estimated costs to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups is expected to be negligible. 
Hospitals, clinics, laboratories, and other facilities that report 
infectious diseases may be affected by the proposed rule. Due 
to the addition of diseases to the list of reportable conditions, 
there may be a slight increase in workload to support these 
reporting requirements. Most of the added conditions are 
uncommon and will not result in a substantial increase in 
reporting effort. Additionally, some diseases will now only be 
reportable by laboratories, rather than all healthcare facilities, 
reducing some of the overall burden of reporting.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule has no known effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Alexander Billioux, MD, DPhil Evan Brasseaux 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
1902#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 89—Suitability in Annuity Transactions 
(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 117) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 
the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to amend 
Regulation 89—Suitability in Annuity Transactions. 

The purpose of the amendments to Regulation 89 is to 
adopt changes made to date to the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners’ Suitability in Annuity 
Transactions Model Regulation and to makes those changes 
consistent with the Louisiana Insurance Code.  

Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 117. Regulation Number 89—Suitability in 

Annuity Transactions 

§11701. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to require insurers to 
establish a system to supervise recommendations and to set 
forth standards and procedures for recommendations to 
consumers that result in transactions involving annuity 
products so that the insurance needs and financial objectives 
of consumers at the time of the transaction are appropriately 
addressed. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11703. Scope 

A. This regulation shall apply to any recommendation to 
purchase, exchange, or replace an annuity made to a 
consumer by an insurance producer, or an insurer where no 
producer is involved, that results in the recommended 
purchase, exchange, or replacement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11705. Authority 

A. This regulation is promulgated under the authority of 
R.S. 22:11 and the auspices of R.S. 22:1961 et seq., referred 
to as “Unfair Trade Practices.” 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11707. Exemptions 

A. Unless otherwise specifically included, this regulation 
shall not apply to transactions involving: 

1. - 2.f. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11709. Definitions 

Annuity―an annuity that is an insurance product under 
State law that is individually solicited, whether the product is 
classified as an individual or group annuity. 

FINRA—the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority or a 
succeeding agency. 

* * * 
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Recommendation—advice provided by an insurance 
producer, or an insurer where no producer is involved, to an 
individual consumer that results in a purchase, exchange, or 
replacement of an annuity in accordance with that advice. 

Replacement—a transaction in which a new policy or 
contract is to be purchased, and it is known or should be 
known to the proposing producer, or to the proposing insurer 
if there is no producer, that by reason of the transaction, an 
existing policy or contract has been or is to be: 

1. lapsed, forfeited, surrendered, or partially 
surrendered, assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise 
terminated;  

2. converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued 
as extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 
the use of nonforfeiture benefits, or other policy values; 

3. amended so as to effect either a reduction in 
benefits or in the term for which coverage would otherwise 
remain in force or for which benefits would be paid; 

4. reissued with any reduction in cash value; or  
5. used in a financed purchase. 

Suitability Information—information that is reasonably 
appropriate to determine the suitability of a 
recommendation, including the following: 

1. age; 
2. annual income;  
3. financial situation and needs, including the 

financial resources used for the funding of the annuity;  
4. financial experience; 
5. financial objectives; 
6. intended use of the annuity; 
7. financial time horizon;  
8. existing assets, including investment and life 

insurance holdings; 
9. liquidity needs; 
10. liquid net worth; 
11. risk tolerance; and 
12. tax status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11711. Duties of Insurers and of Insurance Producers 

A. In recommending to a consumer the purchase of an 
annuity or the exchange of an annuity that results in another 
insurance transaction or series of insurance transactions, the 
insurance producer, or the insurer where no producer is 
involved, shall have reasonable grounds for believing that 
the recommendation is suitable for the consumer on the basis 
of the facts disclosed by the consumer as to his or her 
investments and other insurance products and as to his or her 
financial situation and needs, including the consumer’s 
suitability information, and that there is a reasonable basis to 
believe all of the following: 

1. the consumer has been reasonably informed of 
various features of the annuity, such as the potential 
surrender period and surrender charge, potential tax penalty 
if the consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders, or annuitizes 
the annuity, mortality, and expense fees, investment advisory 
fees, potential charges for and features of riders, limitations 
on interest returns, insurance, and investment components 
and market risk;  

2. the consumer would benefit from certain features of 
the annuity, such as tax-deferred growth, annuitization, or 
death or living benefit;  

3. the particular annuity as a whole, the underlying 
subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of 
purchase or exchange of the annuity, and riders and similar 
product enhancements, if any, are suitable (and in the case of 
an exchange or replacement, the transaction as a whole is 
suitable) for the particular consumer based on his or her 
suitability information; and 

4. in the case of an exchange or replacement of an 
annuity, the exchange or replacement is suitable including 
taking into consideration whether: 

a. the consumer will incur a surrender charge, be 
subject to the commencement of a new surrender period, 
lose existing benefits (such as death, living, or other 
contractual benefits), or be subject to increased fees, 
investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar 
product enhancements; 

b. the consumer would benefit from product 
enhancements and improvements; and 

c. the consumer has had another annuity exchange 
or replacement and, in particular, an exchange or 
replacement within the preceding 36 months.  

5. The requirements of this Section are intended to 
supplement and not replace the disclosure requirements of 
any annuity disclosure regulation promulgated by the 
Louisiana Department of Insurance. 

B. Prior to the execution of a purchase, exchange, or 
replacement of an annuity resulting from a recommendation, 
an insurance producer, or an insurer where no producer is 
involved, shall make reasonable efforts to obtain the 
consumer’s suitability information. 

C. Except as permitted under Subsection D, an insurer 
shall not issue an annuity recommended to a consumer 
unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the annuity is 
suitable based on the consumer’s suitability information. 

D.1. Except as provided under Paragraph 2 of this 
Subsection, neither an insurance producer, nor an insurer, 
shall have any obligation to a consumer under Subsection A 
or C related to any annuity transaction if: 

a. no recommendation is made;  
b. a recommendation was made and was later found 

to have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 
information provided by the consumer; 

c. a consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability 
information and the annuity transaction is not recommended; 
or  

d. a consumer decides to enter into an annuity 
transaction that is not based on a recommendation of the 
insurer or the insurance producer. 

2. An insurer’s issuance of an annuity subject to 
Paragraph 1 shall be reasonable under all the circumstances 
actually known to the insurer at the time the annuity is 
issued. 

E. An insurance producer or, where no insurance 
producer is involved, the responsible insurer representative, 
shall at the time of the sale: 

1. make a record of any recommendation subject to 
§11711.A; 
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2. obtain a customer signed statement documenting a 
customer’s refusal to provide suitability information, if any; 
and 

3. obtain a customer signed statement acknowledging 
that an annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 
decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based 
on that insurance producer’s or insurer’s recommendation.  

F.1. An insurer shall establish a supervision system that 
is reasonably designed to achieve the insurer’s and its 
insurance producers’ compliance with this regulation, 
including, but not limited to, the following: 

a. the insurer shall maintain reasonable procedures 
to inform its insurance producers of the requirements of this 
regulation and shall incorporate the requirements of this 
regulation into relevant insurance producer training manuals; 

b. the insurer shall establish standards for insurance 
producer product training and shall maintain reasonable 
procedures to require its insurance producers to comply with 
the requirements of R.S. 22:1576. 

c. the insurer shall provide product-specific training 
and training materials which explain all material features of 
its annuity products to its insurance producers; 

d. the insurer shall maintain procedures for review 
of each recommendation prior to issuance of an annuity that 
are designed to ensure that there is a reasonable basis to 
determine that recommendation is suitable. Such review 
procedures may apply a screening system for the purpose of 
identifying selected transactions for additional review and 
may be accomplished electronically or through other means 
including, but not limited to, physical review. Such an 
electronic or other system may be designed to require 
additional review only of those transactions identified for 
additional review by the selection criteria; 

e. the insurer shall maintain reasonable procedures 
to detect recommendations that are not suitable. This may 
include, but is not limited to, confirmation of consumer 
suitability information, systematic customer surveys, 
interviews, confirmation letters, and programs of internal 
monitoring. Nothing in this Subparagraph prevents an 
insurer from complying with this Subparagraph by applying 
sampling procedures, or by confirming suitability 
information after issuance or delivery of the annuity; and  

f. the insurer shall annually provide a report to 
senior management, including the senior manager 
responsible for audit functions, which details a review with 
appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine the 
effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 
found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if any. 

2.a. Nothing in this Subsection restricts an insurer 
from contracting for performance of a function (including 
maintenance of procedures) required under Paragraph 1. An 
insurer is responsible for taking appropriate corrective action 
and may be subject to sanctions and penalties pursuant to 
§11713 regardless of whether the insurer contracts for 
performance of a function and regardless of the insurer’s 
compliance with Subparagraph b of this Paragraph. 

b. An insurer’s supervision system under Paragraph 
1 shall include supervision of contractual performance under 
this Subsection. This includes, but is not limited to, the 
following: 

 i. monitoring and, as appropriate, conducting 
audits to assure that the contracted function is properly 
performed; and  
 ii. annually obtaining a certification from a senior 
manager who has responsibility for the contracted function 
that the manager has a reasonable basis to represent, and 
does represent, that the function is properly performed.  

3. An insurer is not required to include in its system of 
supervision an insurance producer’s recommendations to 
consumers of products other than the annuities offered by 
the insurer.  

G. An insurance producer shall not dissuade, or attempt 
to dissuade, a consumer from: 

1. truthfully responding to an insurer’s request for 
confirmation of suitability information; 

2. filing a complaint; or  
3. cooperating with the investigation of a complaint.  

H.1. Sales made in compliance with FINRA 
requirements pertaining to suitability and supervision of 
annuity transactions (FINRA Rule 2330 and Rule 2111) shall 
satisfy the requirements under this regulation. This 
Subsection applies to FINRA broker-dealer sales of annuities 
if the suitability and supervision is similar to those applied to 
variable annuity sales. However, nothing in this Subsection 
shall limit the insurance commissioner’s ability to enforce 
(including investigate) the provisions of this regulation. 

2. For Paragraph 1 to apply, an insurer shall: 
a. monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer using 

information collected in the normal course of an insurer’s 
business; and 

b. provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer 
information and reports that are reasonably appropriate to 
assist the FINRA member broker-dealer to maintain its 
supervision system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11713. Compliance Mitigation; Penalties 

A. An insurer is responsible for compliance with this 
regulation. If a violation occurs, either because of the action 
or inaction of the insurer or its insurance producer, the 
commissioner may order: 

1. … 
2. a general agency, independent agency, or the 

insurance producer to take reasonably appropriate corrective 
action for any consumer harmed by the insurance producer's 
violation of this regulation; and 

3. appropriate penalties and sanctions. 
B. In determining appropriate penalties and sanctions 

pursuant to R.S. 22:1969 for a violation of §11711.A, B, or 
C.2 of this regulation, the commissioner may consider 
whether corrective action for the consumer was taken 
promptly after a violation was discovered or the violation 
was not part of a pattern or practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 
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§11715. Recordkeeping 

A. Insurers, general agents, independent agencies and 
insurance producers shall maintain or be able to make 
available to the commissioner records of the information 
collected from the consumer and other information used in 
making the recommendations that were the basis for 
insurance transactions for 5 years after the insurance 
transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is 
permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain 
documentation on behalf of an insurance producer. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), amended LR 45: 

§11717. Severability 

A. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 32:2268 (December 
2006), repromulgated LR 45: 

§11719. Effective Date 

A. Regulation 89, as amended, shall become effective 
upon final promulgation in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:11 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

I. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
stability of the family. The proposed regulation should have 
no measurable impact upon the stability of the family.  

II. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. The proposed regulation should 
have no impact upon the rights and authority of children 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

III. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
functioning of the family. The proposed regulation should 
have no direct impact upon the functioning of the family. 

IV. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on 
family earnings and budget. The proposed regulation should 
have no direct impact upon family earnings and budget. 

V. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. The 
proposed regulation should have no impact upon the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

VI. Describe the effect of the proposed regulation on the 
ability of the family or a local government to perform the 
function as contained in the rule. The proposed regulation 
should have no impact upon the ability of the family or a 
local governmental unit to perform the function as contained 
in the rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
I. Describe the effect on household income, assets, and 

financial security. The proposed regulation should have no 
effect on household income assets and financial security. 

II. Describe the effect on early childhood development 

and preschool through postsecondary education 

development. The proposed regulation should have no effect 

on early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development. 
III. Describe the effect on employment and workforce 

development. The proposed regulation should have no effect 
on employment and workforce development. 

IV. Describe the effect on taxes and tax credits. The 
proposed regulation should have no effect on taxes and tax 
credits. 

V. Describe the effect on child and dependent care, 
housing, health care, nutrition, transportation and utilities 
assistance. The proposed regulation should have no effect on 
child and dependent care, housing, health care, nutrition, 
transportation and utilities assistance. 

Small Business Statement 

The impact of the proposed regulation on small businesses 
as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed regulation that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed regulation on small 
businesses. 

I. Identification and estimate of the number of the small 
businesses subject to the proposed rule. The proposed 
regulation should have no measurable impact upon small 
businesses. 

II. The projected reporting, record keeping, and other 
administrative costs required for compliance with the 
proposed rule, including the type of professional skills 
necessary for preparation of the report or record. The 
proposed regulation should have no measurable impact upon 
small businesses. 

III. A statement of the probable effect on impacted small 
businesses. The proposed regulation should have no 
measurable impact upon small businesses. 

IV. Describe any less intrusive or less costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the proposed rule. The 
proposed regulation should have no measurable impact on 
small businesses; therefore, will have no less intrusive or 
less cost alternative methods. 

Provider Impact Statement 
I. Describe the effect on the staffing level requirements 

or qualifications required to provide the same level of 
service. The proposed regulation will have no effect. 

II. The total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
provider to provide the same level of service. The proposed 
regulation will have no effect. 

III. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. The proposed regulation 
will have no effect. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulation. Such comments must 
be received no later than March 22, 2019, by 4:30 p.m. and 
should be addressed to Lynette Roberson, Louisiana 
Department of Insurance, and may be mailed to P.O. Box 
94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214. If comments are to be



Louisiana Register   Vol. 45, No. 02   February 20, 2019 328 

shipped or hand-delivered, please deliver to Poydras 
Building, 1702 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802.  

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner  

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Regulation 89 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule changes will not result in additional 

costs or savings for the state or local governmental units. The 
proposed rule changes amend certain administrative rules to 
align them with the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners’ (NAIC) Suitability in Annuity Transactions 
Model Regulation. Revisions to the administrative rules clarify 
and add more structure to present practices and procedures 
associated with annuity transactions between insurers and 
consumers. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect revenue 
collections for state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will protect insurers and 
consumers by clarifying and providing more structural 
guidelines regarding suitability in annuity transactions. The 
proposed rule changes clearly define what constitutes 
“suitability information” for consumers in annuity transactions, 
as well as clarify and elaborate the duties of insurers and 
insurance producers in such transactions. Furthermore, the 
proposed rule changes clarify and elaborate on the 
responsibilities of insurers to comply with regulations on 
suitability in annuity transactions and clarify penalties that may 
be levied by the LA Dept. of Insurance (LDI) in the event 
insurers violate the administrative rules. Lastly, the proposed 
rule changes increase the length of time insurers and insurance 
producers must maintain records associated with annuity 
transactions by 2 years, from 3 years to 5 years. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Nicholas Lorusso Evan Brasseaux 
Chief Deputy Commissioner Staff Director 
1902#033 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Administrative Remedy Procedure (LAC 22:I.325) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, hereby 
amends the contents of Section 325, Administrative Remedy 
Procedure. 

The full text of this Rule may be viewed in the Emergency 
Rule section of this edition of the Louisiana Register. 

Family Impact Statement 

Amendment to the current Rule should not have any 
known or foreseeable impact on family formation, stability 
or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

Written comments may be addressed to Natalie LaBorde, 
Executive Counsel, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 
4:30 p.m. on March 12, 2019. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Administrative Remedy Procedure 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no impact on State or 

Local Governmental Unit expenditures. The proposed rule 
change updates and revises LAC 22:1.325 (Administrative 
Remedy Procedure) regarding how offenders may request an 
accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act (R.S. 49:950). This change will constitute the Department’s 
“Administrative Remedy Procedure” for offenders as a 
regulation. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 
change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1902#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Lost Property Claims (LAC 22:I.369) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with R.S. 36:404, 
hereby gives notice of its intent to repeal LAC 22:I.369, Lost 
Property Claims in its entirety. This repeal is a technical 
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adjustment as the information is promulgated in §325 and 
will remain intact and enforced as a department regulation. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 

§369. Lost Property Claims 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15823. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 19:657 
(May 1993), amended LR 28:856 (April 2002), repealed by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, 
LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

Repeal of the current Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on family formation, stability or 
autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

Repeal of the current Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

Repeal of the current Rule should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 
the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

Written comments may be addressed to Natalie LaBorde, 
Executive Counsel, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 
4:30 p.m. on March 12, 1019. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Lost Property Claims 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no fiscal impact on State or Local 

Governmental Unit expenditures, as it is a technical adjustment 
associated with repealing LAC 22:1.369 (Lost Property 
Claims). The relevant provisions with regard to lost property 
claims will be addressed in a new section addressed under a 
separate rule filing. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units since this is a technical adjustment. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1902#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Gaming Control Board 

Gaming Operations Relocation (LAC 42:III.2401) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Louisiana Gaming Control Board, in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, R.S. 27:24, and the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice that 
it intends to amend LAC 42.III.2401, Relocation of Gaming 
Operations to a Facility, Procedure. This rule change 
clarifies practices already required to take place in the 
industry and creates uniformity with the amended statutes 
and the newly enacted statutes as a result of Act 469 of the 
2018 Regular Legislative Session. The rule change allows 
for the consideration of past economic development in the 
relocation of gaming operations to a facility. 

Title 42 

LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part III.  Gaming Control Board 

Chapter 24. Relocation of Gaming Operations 

§2401. Relocation of Gaming Operations to a Facility, 

Procedure 

A. - B.1.h. … 
2. If substantial completion of a riverboat vessel and 

approved project was completed after January 1, 2005 (with 
a minimum monetary investment of $200 million), the board 
will consider this past economic investment and may allow 
not more than 6 percent of the gaming positions as provided 
in R.S. 27:44 to be located in an existing structure which is 
part of the approved project. The licensee shall request the 
change to the designated gaming area by filing a petition 
detailing the date of substantial completion and the monetary 
investment and shall include the following: 

a. a site plan designating the licensee’s current 
approved berth site and the location of the existing structure; 

b. a legal property description of the land owned or 
leased by the licensee on which the structure is located; 

c. a detailed plan for staffing, installation of gaming 
devices and equipment, security and surveillance, and a date 
for the commencement of gaming activities at the site; and 

d. any other information, documentation, plan, or 
description requested by the board or division. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 44:2217 
(December 2018), amended LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:972, the Gaming 
Control Board, through its chairman, has considered the 
potential family impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. The effect on stability of the family. 
2. The effect on the authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children. 
3. The effect on the functioning of the family. 
4. The effect on family earnings and family budget. 
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5. The effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:973, the Gaming 

Control Board, through its chairman, has considered the 
potential poverty impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. The effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security. 

2. The effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development. 

3. The effect on employment and workforce 
development. 

4. The effect on taxes and tax credits. 
5. The effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:965.5 the Louisiana 
Gaming Control Board, through its chairman, has concluded 
that the proposed Rule is not expected to have a significant 
impact on small business. 

Provider Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of HCR170 of 2014, the 
Gaming Control Board, through its chairman, has considered 
the potential provider impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. The effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service. 

2. The total direct and indirect effect on the costs to 
the provider to provide the same level of service. 

3. The overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Earl 
G. Pitre, Jr., Assistant Attorney General, Louisiana 
Department of Justice, Gaming Division, 1885 North Third 
Street, Fifth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All comments 
must be submitted no later than March 11, 2019. 

 
Ronnie Jones 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Gaming Operations Relocation 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change may result in a minimal 

workload increase for the Gaming Control Board related to 
processing new applications and inspecting additional gaming 
space. The Board anticipates it can absorb any potential 
workload increases using existing budget authority and 
resources. The proposed rule change codifies Act 469 of 2018 
related to application for the relocation of gaming operations to 
a facility within 1,200 feet of the riverboat’s licensed berth. 
The board will consider past economic investment and may 
allow no more than 6 percent of the gaming positions as 
provided in R.S. 27:44 to be located in an existing structure,

which is part of the approved project. At the time of this 
publication, there are only four boats that would be qualified to 
implement these provisions. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have an indeterminate 
impact on revenue collections of state and local governmental 
units. The potential relocation of 6 percent of gaming as 
provided in R.S. 27:44 may impact consumer behavior in an 
indeterminate manner that may increase or decrease state and 
local revenues or may shift activities between facilities. To the 
extent the proposed rule change expands gaming activity, 
revenue may increase at the statewide or local level; however, 
the proposed rule change may shift gaming activity between 
localities and certain local revenues may grow or shrink as a 
result of the shift. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an indeterminate 
impact on costs and economic benefits to licensed riverboats. 
Eligible riverboats will be authorized to relocate no more than 
6 percent of the gaming positions in an existing and approved 
structure and location that may result in indeterminable costs or 
economic benefits. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an indeterminate 
impact on competition and employment. Licensees that meet 
the criteria established in the proposed rule change may have a 
significant advantage over those licensees who have not. To the 
extent the proposed rule change shifts gaming activity, 
competition and employment may expand or contract between 
localities. 

 
Ronnie Jones Evan Brasseaux 
Chairman Staff Director 
1902#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Gaming Control Board 

Non-Gaming Suppliers (LAC 42:III.2108) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Louisiana Gaming Control Board, in accordance with R.S. 
27:15, R.S. 27:24, and the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby gives notice that 
it intends to amend LAC 42:III.2108, Non-Gaming 
Suppliers. This rule change clarifies practices already 
required to take place in the industry and creates uniformity 
with the amended statute as a result of Act 685 of the 2018 
Regular Legislative Session. The rule change establishes the 
monetary amount of good and services at which point a non-
gaming permit is required. 

Title 42 

LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part III.  Gaming Control Board 

Chapter 21. Licenses and Permits 

§2108. Non-Gaming Suppliers 

A. A non-gaming supplier shall not apply for a non-
gaming supplier permit unless it reasonably foresees 
supplying goods or services and/or receiving payment for 
goods or services from a licensee or casino operator for an
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amount equal to or greater than five hundred thousand 
dollars per calendar year. Any non-gaming supplier, 
regardless of whether having been permitted or not and 
regardless of the dollar amount of goods or services 
provided to a licensee or casino operator, may be required by 
the board or division to apply to the division for a finding of 
suitability. 

B. A non-gaming supplier shall be prohibited from 
supplying goods or services to, and/or receive payment for 
goods or services from, a licensee or casino operator of an 
amount equal to or greater than five hundred thousand 
dollars during any calendar year, unless such non-gaming 
supplier holds a valid non-gaming supplier permit, an 
exemption pursuant to the provisions of Subsection C of this 
Section, or a waiver pursuant to the provisions of Subsection 
E of this Section. 

C. - D. … 
E. Any non-gaming supplier required to obtain a non-

gaming supplier permit, other than those listed in Subsection 
C of this Section, may request a waiver of the necessity of 
obtaining a non-gaming supplier permit. The division may 
grant such a request upon showing of good cause by the non-
gaming supplier. The division may rescind any such waiver 
which has been previously granted upon written notice to the 
non-gaming supplier. 

F. … 
G. Each licensee and casino operator shall submit to the 

division, on a quarterly basis, a report containing a list of all 
non-gaming suppliers that have received $10,000 or more 
from the licensee or casino operator during the previous 
quarter, or an amount equal to or greater than $500,000 
during the preceding calendar year as payment for providing 
non-gaming services or goods. This report shall include the 
name and address of the supplier, a description of the type of 
goods or services provided, the supplier's non-gaming 
supplier permit number if paid an amount equal to or greater 
than $500,000 during the year included in the report, federal 
tax identification number, and the total amount of all 
payments made by the licensee or casino operator, or any 
person acting on behalf of the licensee or casino operator, to 
each supplier. The report shall be sent to the division no later 
than 20 days after the end of each quarter. 

H. - I.9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 38:1609 
(July 2012), amended LR 41:1497 (August 2015), amended LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:972, the Gaming 
Control Board, through its chairman, has considered the 
potential family impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. the effect on stability of the family; 
2. the effect on the authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children; 
3. the effect on the functioning of the family; 
4. the effect on family earnings and family budget; 
5. the effect on the behavior and personal 

responsibility of children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 
Pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 49:973, the Gaming 

Control Board, through its chairman, has considered the 
potential poverty impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 
financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 
preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 
development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 
5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
Small Business Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of La. R.S. 49:965.5 the 
Louisiana Gaming Control Board, through its chairman, has 
concluded that the proposed Rule is not expected to have a 
significant impact on small business. 

Provider Impact Statement 

Pursuant to the provisions of HCR170 of 2014, the 
Gaming Control Board, through its chairman, has considered 
the potential provider impact of the proposed Rule. 

It is accordingly concluded that the proposed Rule would 
appear to have no impact on the following: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the costs to the 
provider to provide the same level of service; 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Earl 
G. Pitre, Jr., Assistant Attorney General, Louisiana 
Department of Justice, Gaming Division, 1885 North Third 
Street, Fifth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All comments 
must be submitted no later than March 11, 2019. 

 
Ronnie Jones 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Non-Gaming Suppliers 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change is not anticipated to have any 

implementation costs or savings to state or local governmental 
units. The proposed rule change codifies Act 685 of 2018 that 
authorized the board to define the threshold amount of goods 
and services for which a non-gaming supplier permit is 
required. The current threshold imposed is $200,000 per 
calendar year and the proposed rule change will increase the 
threshold amount to $500,000 per calendar year. The proposed 
rule change also provides that any non-gaming supplier may be 
required by the board or division to apply to the division for a 
finding of suitability regardless of whether having been 
permitted or not and regardless of the dollar amount of goods 
or services provided to a gaming operator, or slot machine or 
riverboat gaming licensee.  

The proposed rule change may result in a minimal 
workload decrease for the Gaming Control Board related to 
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fewer new applications from non-gaming suppliers. However, 
it cannot be determined at this time whether these non-gaming 
suppliers will still apply for this permit regardless of the 
threshold due to a request by gaming industry clients or 
partners. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will result in an indeterminate 
impact on revenue collections for the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS). Non-gaming suppliers pay an application fee of 
$250 to obtain a non-gaming supplier permit. In 2017, there 
were 342 suppliers submitting an application for this permit 
that generated $85,500 ($250*342) that is deposited into the 
Riverboat Gaming Enforcement Fund. Of these 342 suppliers, 
179 did not meet the current $200,000 threshold, but these 
suppliers were requested by gaming industry clients or partners 
to pay this permit. Non-gaming suppliers and non-gaming 
supplier permittees may potentially increase their amount of 
good and services or may no longer meet the threshold to be 
required to pay the permit fee, but whether this will shrink 
overall revenue collections of state and local governmental 
units or shift revenues between localities is unknown. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have an indeterminate 
impact on costs and economic benefits for the gaming operator, 
slot machine gaming licensees, and riverboat gaming licensees. 
To the extent an operator or licensee no longer is required to 
pay this permit fee due to the proposed increase in the 
threshold, the operator would benefit from the proposed rule 
change. However, it cannot be determined whether non-gaming 
supplier and eligible non-gaming supplier permittees will 
increase the number of goods and services to a gaming 
operator, or slot machine or riverboat gaming licensee or 
whether they will continue to pay this permit fee due to a 
request by gaming industry clients or partners. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have a minimal 
impact on competition and employment. Whether or not non-
gaming suppliers and eligible non-gaming supplier permittees 
will choose to increase the number of goods and services to a 
gaming operator, or slot machine or riverboat gaming licensee 
resulting in costs or economic benefits to them is unknown. To 
the degree that the proposed rule change may result in an 
increase of goods and services, competition, and employment 
may expand or contract at the statewide or local level. 

 
Ronnie Jones Evan Brasseaux 
Chairman Staff Director 
1902#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of State 

Elections Division 

Voter Registration at Driver’s License Facilities 
(LAC 31:II.303-313) 

The Department of State, pursuant to the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and 
under the authority of R.S. 18:114, R.S. 18:1461, R.S. 
18:1461.2, R.S. 18:1461.4, and R.S. 36:742, is proposing to 
amend the Rule for voter registration at driver’s license 
facilities. The proposed effective date of this Rule would be 
upon publication in the Louisiana Register. 

Title 31 

ELECTIONS 

Part II.  Voter Registration 

Chapter 3. Voter Registration at Driver's License 

Facilities 

§303. Secretary of State 

A. It will be the policy of the secretary of state to 
facilitate the implementation and support of the program for 
voter registration at driver's license facilities. The secretary 
of state will coordinate the activities of the parish registrars 
of voters with the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, and for that purpose, he shall: 

1. provide the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections with updates on the names and addresses of the 
parish registrars of voters; 

2. provide the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections standard notices to be displayed informing the 
public of the availability of voter registration at driver's 
license facilities and the eligibility requirements for 
registration; 

3. design in conjunction with the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections an electronic voter registration 
application form and provide paper voter registration 
applications to be used under emergency and unusual 
situations; 

4. provide training materials to be used for voter 
registration; and 

5. prepare a biannual report as required by the U.S. 
Election Assistance Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:114. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 
Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:606 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1373 (December 1994), amended by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

§305. Parish Registrars of Voters 

A. It is the intention of the parish registrars of voters to 
cooperate fully in the registration of voters at driver's license 
facilities. In that regard, parish registrars shall: 

1. notify the Department of State immediately of any 
change in the office mailing address of the registrar of 
voters; 

2. upon receipt in the registrar's office of a voter 
registration application form from any driver's license 
facility located within his parish, indicate the date received 
for the application in the Election and Registration 
Information Network (ERIN) system;  

3. determine the parish in which the applicant seeks to 
register, or if already registered, seeks to change his name or 
address and, if not his parish, transmit to the appropriate 
registrar of voters; 

4. review such voter registration application form to 
determine if the applicant is eligible to register to vote in 
accordance with law; and 

5. if there is a change of name or address for a 
registered voter, process such change and mail a new voter 
identification card to the voter.  

B. The offices of the registrars of voters shall utilize the 
ERIN system for processing voter registration application 
forms that are received from the Office of Motor Vehicles 
(OMV).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:114. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:606 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1373 (December 1994), amended by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

§307. Authorized Employees at Driver's License 

Facilities 

A. Definition 
Authorized Employee or an Authorized Employee of a 

Driver’s License Facility—any official or employee of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections or an official 
or employee of a contractor of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections. 

B. Qualifications. An authorized employee at a driver's 
license facility shall possess the following qualifications: 

1. the person shall be an official or employee of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections or an official 
or employee of a contractor of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections who is employed at a facility for the 
issuance of Louisiana driver's license or Louisiana 
identification cards; 

2. the person shall have received in-service training; 
3. the person shall not participate or engage in any 

political activity, except to exercise his right as a citizen to 
express his opinion privately and to cast his vote as he 
desires; 

4. the person shall not have been convicted of any 
election offense; and 

5. the person shall not be a candidate for public office. 
C. Duties.  An authorized employee at a driver's license 

facility shall perform the duties listed below. 
1. During regular working hours, an authorized 

employee shall offer voter registration to any U.S. citizen 
who obtains, renews, or changes the name or address on a 
Louisiana Driver's License or Louisiana Identification 
Cards: 

a a person who is at least 16 years of age and who 
is an actual resident of the state, parish, and precinct in 
which he seeks to register to vote; however, the person will 
not be eligible to vote until the age of 18; 

b. a person who is not under an order of 
imprisonment for conviction of a felony as defined in R.S. 
18:2(2), except as provided in R.S. 18:102(A)(1)(b) and R.S. 
18:102(A)(1)(c); 

c. a person who has not been interdicted after being 
declared to be mentally incompetent as a result of a full 
interdiction or is not subject to a limited interdiction where 
the person’s right to vote has been suspended; and 

d. a person who is a United States citizen. 
2. An authorized employee shall allow an applicant 

who resides at more than one place in the state with an 
intention to reside there indefinitely, to choose which 
residence will be used for registration purposes. However, if 
the applicant has a homestead exemption, he must register 
and vote in the precinct in which that residence is located. 
The exceptions to this provision are: 

a. if the person resides in a nursing home (as 
defined in R.S. 18:333(A)) or in a veterans’ home, he may 
register and vote at the address where the nursing home or 
veterans’ home is located or where he has a homestead 
exemption; or 

b. if the person is a bona fide full-time student 
attending an institution of higher learning in this state, he 
may choose as his residence and may register to vote either 

at the place where he resides while attending the institution 
of higher learning or at the place where he resides when not 
attending such institution of higher learning.  

3. An authorized employee shall assist any applicant 
who requests assistance in registering to vote. Such 
assistance may consist of answering any question the person 
might have about completing the registration form and shall 
include assistance in the completion and execution of an 
application, if requested by the applicant. Additionally, if the 
person has a physical disability or is unable to read or write 
English, such assistance shall include:  

a. reading the document to the applicant; 
b. executing the document by writing what the 

person dictates or what is said through an interpreter; and  
c. allowing the person to sign, or if unable to sign, 

to make his mark in front of two witnesses who shall also 
sign. 

4. An authorized employee shall require the applicant 
to provide sufficient information to establish his age, 
identity, and residency. 

5. An authorized employee shall inform an applicant 
that if he does not declare a political party affiliation that his 
voter registration application shall indicate "No Party" on the 
application form. 

6. An authorized employee shall ensure that the 
information provided on the voter registration application is 
legible and to the best of his knowledge accurate and 
complete. 

7. An authorized employee shall administer any oath 
required on the voter registration application, as authorized 
by R.S. 18:114(F)(7). 

8. An authorized employee shall inform the applicant 
that the applicant is not officially registered to vote until the 
application has been received and approved by the parish 
registrar of voters. Upon approval by the registrar of voters, 
a voter identification card will be mailed to the applicant.  

9. An authorized employee shall ensure that the 
completed electronic voter registration application is 
transmitted immediately to the Department of State who 
shall transmit the application daily to the appropriate parish 
registrar of voters. The date and time of transmission shall 
automatically be recorded for electronic submissions. An 
authorized employee shall ensure that a completed paper 
application is made available to the designated person of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections or its 
contractor who will be responsible for transmittal to the 
parish registrar of voters for the parish in which the driver's 
license facility is located. On the paper voter registration 
application, the employee shall circle “MV”, sign, and date 
the bottom of each paper application before transmitting to 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections or its 
contractor. For a paper voter registration application, the 
date of transmittal shall be indicated on the application, and 
the transmittal shall be made within five working days of the 
completion of the application form unless the application is 
accepted within five days before the last day for registration 
then the application form shall be transmitted at the 
conclusion of each business day. 

10. An authorized employee shall ask any person 
making a change of name or a change of address on a 
Louisiana Driver's License or Louisiana Identification Card 
if such change is to be used for voter registration purposes. 
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If affirmed, such change shall be transmitted in the same 
manner as a voter registration application form. 

11. An authorized employee shall keep any 
declinations to register to vote confidential, and shall keep 
confidential the fact that any particular applicant has 
submitted an application to register to vote at a driver’s 
license facility. All declinations shall be written and signed 
by the voter. All such applications and declinations to 
register to vote shall be used only for voter registration 
purposes.  

C. Offenses. No person authorized to accept voter 
registration application forms shall knowingly, willfully, or 
intentionally: 

1. offer, promise, solicit, or accept money or anything 
of present or prospective value to secure or influence a vote 
or registration of a voter; 

2. forge, alter, deface, destroy, or remove from proper 
custodial care any application for voter registration; or 

3. intimidate, directly or indirectly, any prospective 
voter in matters concerning registration or nonregistration. 

D. Penalties 
1. Any authorized employee who commits an offense 

as provided herein shall be subject to the penalties provided 
in R.S. 18:1461, R.S. 18:1461.2, or R.S. 18:1461.4. 

2. Any authorized employee who fails to comply with 
the provisions of law relative to registration at driver's 
license facilities shall be subject to the penalties established 
in R.S. 18:114(H).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:114, R.S. 18:2(2), R.S. 18:62, R.S. 18:101, R.S. 18:102, R.S. 
18:105, R.S. 18:106, R.S. 18:1461, R.S. 18:1461.2, and R.S. 
18:1461.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:607 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1373 (December 1994), amended by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

§309. Training 

A. The Department of State and/or the registrar of voters 
shall train designated personnel of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections to conduct in-service training. In-
service training will be provided to all employees authorized 
to accept voter registration application forms by these 
personnel. 

B. The training shall include, but shall not be limited to, 
the following: 

1. review responsibility of an authorized employee to 
offer voter registration; 

2. conduct study of the voter registration application 
with special emphasis on problem areas; 

3. discuss information that may be used to establish 
applicant's age, identity, and residency; 

4. discuss assistance that may be provided to 
applicant; 

5. review responsibilities of an authorized employee 
in ensuring accuracy and legibility of voter registration 
application and stressing the authorized employee's 
responsibility for informing the applicant that the applicant 
is not registered until the parish registrar notifies the 
applicant of registration; 

6. review declination requirements that must be done 
in writing and signed by the applicant; 

7. review transmittal requirements; 
8. review offenses; and 

9. review penalties established in R.S. 18:114(H) for 
noncompliance with the provisions of law relative to voter 
registration at driver's license facilities and in R.S. 18:1461, 
R.S. 18:1461.2, and R.S. 18:1461.4 relative to voter 
registration in general. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:114, R.S. 18:104 -18:106, R.S. 18:1461, R.S. 18:1461.2, and 
R.S. 18:1461.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:608 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1374 (December 1994), amended by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

§311. Review Process 

A. An annual meeting between the Department of State 
and the Department of Public Safety and Corrections shall 
be held during the first quarter of each year to monitor any 
problem areas where changes in rules and regulations or the 
revised statutes may be necessary. The annual meeting may 
be discontinued upon mutual agreement when it is felt there 
is no longer a need to continue to hold such meetings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
18:114. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:608 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1374 (December 1994), amended by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

§313. Implementation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

18:114. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Elections and Registration, Commissioner of Elections, LR 16:608 
(July 1990), amended LR 20:1374 (December 1994), repealed by 
the Department of State, Elections Division, LR 45: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed amendments to the Rule cited in LAC 
31:II.Chapter 3 regarding voter registration at drivers’ 
licenses facilities should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:927 or on family 
formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically, there should 
be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family;  
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; and 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed 
amendments to the Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed amendments to the Rule cited in LAC 
31:II.Chapter 3 regarding voter registration at drivers’ 
license facilities should not have any known or foreseeable 
impact on poverty as defined by R.S. 49:973. Specifically, 
there should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the household income, assets and financial security; 
2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 
3. employment and workforce development; 
4. taxes and tax credits; and 
5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
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Small Business Statement 

The proposed amendments to the Rule on small business 
has been considered and it is estimated that the proposed 
action is not expected to have a significant adverse impact 
on small business as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 
Act. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed Rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed Rule on small business. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed amendments to the Rule does not have any 
known or unforeseeable impact on providers as defined by 
HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In 
particular, there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

the effect on the staffing level requirements or 
qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 
providers to provide the same level of service; or 

the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 
provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jodie 
Henderson, Attorney, Legal Division, Department of State, 
P.O. Box 94125, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125. She will be 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding the 
proposed amendments to various sections of the Rule. The 
deadline for the Department of State to receive written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 27, 2019. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. in the Auditorium at 
the State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time, all interested persons will be afforded the 
opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments either orally 
or in writing.  

 
R. Kyle Ardoin 
Secretary of State  

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Voter Registration at  

Driver’s License Facilities 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The Department of State will incur one-time 

implementation costs of $66,998 in order to comply with Act 
636 of 2018. Implementation costs will include updates to the 
voter registration reports, programming changes to the interface 
between the department’s Election and Registration 
Information Network (ERIN) and the Office of Motor Vehicles, 
and editing and reprinting forms and promotional materials 
which include information regarding voting laws. This act 
allows a person to register to vote or for a person’s registration 
to be reinstated when the person provides documentation from 
the appropriate correction official showing that the person has 
not been incarcerated pursuant to an order of imprisonment for 
conviction of a felony within the last five years, and that the 
order does not pertain to election fraud or any other election 
offense.  

Additionally, the proposed rule aligns the department’s 
administrative code with current statutes and procedures 
regarding voter registration at driver’s license facilities.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule change will not affect revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed Rule change will not result in any costs or 
benefits to directly affected persons or non- governmental 
entities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed Rule change will not affect competition or 
employment.  

 
R. Kyle Ardoin Evan Brasseaux 
Secretary of State Staff Director 
1902#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Dredging (LAC 76:XIII.101) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend the rules relative to dredging of 
fill sand and fill material from the water bottoms of the state 
of Louisiana and royalties. 

Title 76 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIII.  Fill Material 

Chapter 1. Royalties 

§101. License to Dredge; Classes of License; Royalties  

A. No person or firm shall dredge fill material, sand or 
gravel from water bottoms of this state without a license 
from the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. 

B. The fee for such license shall be set at $25 for a 
noncommercial license and $50 for a commercial license. 
The license fee is nonrefundable.  

C. There shall be five classes of license as indicated in 
the schedule below. A severance royalty payment, based on 
cubic yards of material removed from water bottoms of this 
state, shall be paid to the state through the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries in the amounts indicated in the 
schedule below. 

 

Class Applicability 

Royalty 

Payment 

License 

Fee 

A 

applicable to commercial dredging or 
initial acquisition of fill sand or fill 
material with the specific intent to offer 
such fill for resale 

$0.29 / 
cubic 
yard $50 

B 

applicable to dredging of fill sand or fill 
material for commercial purposes other 
than the specific intent to offer such fill for 
resale. Such commercial purposes shall 
include operations related to mineral 
activities 

$0.25 / 
cubic 
yard $50 

C 

applicable to a person dredging or 
contracting for dredging of fill sand or fill 
material for private, noncommercial 
purposes 

$0.15 / 
cubic 
yard $25 
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Class Applicability 

Royalty 

Payment 

License 

Fee 

D 

applicable to dredging of fill sand or fill 
material for an activity that has a public 
benefit, such as but not limited to a coastal 
conservation or restoration activity, 
navigation purpose, removal of sediment 
buildup, or recreational activity, except as 
provided in R.S. 56:2011.E. 

$0.05 / 
cubic 
yard $25 

E 
applicable to all other dredging of fill sand 
or fill material 

$0.25 / 
cubic 
yard $25 

 
1. The license shall be valid for one year beginning 

January 1 and ending December 31 of that same calendar 
year. The license may be purchased at any time during the 
year for the current license year and beginning November 15 
for the immediately following license year. No person with 
an outstanding violation of this Chapter may purchase a 
license. At all times, the original license shall be available at 
the dredge site for inspection by a duly authorized agent of 
the department. 

2. Upon failure to pay royalty when due, a penalty of 
1.5 percent per month calculated upon the royalty due, shall 
be levied and collected by the department in addition to the 
royalty due. This penalty shall become due without demand 
for payment by the department. This penalty is in addition to 
any other penalties or fines as provided by law. 

3. Holder of a class A or B license that exceeds the 
licensed dredge volume may be levied a penalty of $0.05 / 
cubic yard calculated on the volume that exceeds the 
licensed volume. This penalty shall become due without 
demand for payment by the department. 

4. Any interest and/or penalty owed on unpaid royalty 
shall be established by the department in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

D. A license shall not be issued to an applicant who is, or 
who contracts for the removal of fill material with someone 
whose fill material license has been revoked or suspended 
for cause within the past 12 months, or who has an 
outstanding, unresolved royalty debt to the department, or 
who has repeatedly violated other provisions of previous 
permits or agreements may be deemed to not be in good 
standing with the department.  

E. An application, including the applicant’s name and 
contact information, dredge site information, estimated 
amount of material to be removed, detailed description of 
the proposed activity, and state and federal permit numbers, 
shall be submitted to the department. 

F. A performance bond to run concurrently with the 
period of the license shall accompany the application. In 
lieu, the entire royalty fee owed to the state shall be remitted 
with the application. 

1. The performance bond shall be in the amount equal 
to the known volume (historical capacity) of the existing 
pit(s) to be filled. 

2. A certified copy of such bond must be submitted to 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries before 
commencement of any dredging operation. 

G.1. The extent of a single permitted site shall not 
extend across the geometric center line of the stream. 

2. The extent of a single permitted site in the 
Mississippi River, the Atchafalaya River, the Red River, the 
Pearl River (not including the West Pearl), the Calcasieu 

River below the saltwater barrier, the Ouachita/Black River 
south of the confluence of Bayou Bartholomew shall not 
exceed 1 linear mile. 

3. The extent of a single permitted site on all other 
streams except designated natural and scenic streams shall 
not exceed 1 linear half mile. Fill material, sand and gravel 
shall not be permitted to be removed from the water bottom 
of any designated natural and scenic river unless removal of 
such material is specifically allowed by statute. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
19:1341 (October 1993), amended LR 45: 

§103. Reporting Requirement  

A. Holders of a class A, B, D or E licenses shall notify 
the department, in writing, their intent to begin dredging. 
Notification shall include anticipated beginning and ending 
dates of dredging activity. 

B. Holders of a class A or B license shall file a monthly 
report, on forms obtained from the department. 

1. The monthly report must include the total cubic 
yards of material dredged. The monthly report must be 
submitted to the department on or before the fifteenth of the 
following month.  

2. In cases where there was no dredging during the 
month, a report shall be filed with the department indicating 
therein that no dredging occurred. 

3. Failure to submit a monthly report or submitting a 
monthly report with false information will be cause for 
permit revocation or suspension. 

4. Licensee will provide for each dredge project a pre- 
and post-dredging cross section survey of the receiving pit to 
be completed and certified by a registered professional 
engineer or a registered professional land surveyor for the 
purpose of determining the quantity of material removed 
from water bottoms of this state. Upon completion of a cross 
section survey by a qualified engineer, licensee shall have 
said engineer complete an affidavit giving pertinent details 
of the cross section survey. The department will furnish an 
affidavit form for this purpose. This affidavit will be used as 
an attachment in conjunction with all cross section surveys. 
Each dredging event that occurs during the life of a license 
will be certified in this manner by a qualified engineer. Pre- 
and post-dredging photographs of the pit shall be provided 
with the affidavit and cross section survey. 

5. No fill material shall be removed from a pit prior to 
a post dredging survey being conducted. 

6. Dredge volumes may be calculated by other 
methods as accepted and approved by the department on a 
case-by-case basis and prior to any dredging. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 45: 

§105. Audit and Inspection  

A. The department reserves the right, and the said 
licensee so agrees, to permit the department’s authorized 
representatives to examine any and all of the licensee’s 
books, records and memoranda of whatever nature, 
pertaining to or having connection whatever with the 
removal or sale of said permitted material. 
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B. Department reserves the right to have the 
department's authorized agents or representatives inspect the 
dredges, barges, boats, scows or other related equipment of 
any kind by which the said permitted material is removed, 
and to keep a check on the number of holding pits at the 
project stockpile site, and also to determine by whatever 
means it may deem necessary, the number of cubic yards of 
permitted material which have been removed from the 
hereinabove described beds or water bottoms, and to require 
the payment thereof. Furthermore, the department reserves 
the right to inspect any contracts held by the licensee that 
related to the licensee’s pit operation. 

C. Licensee will acquire all other federal, state, local, 
and municipal permits and permissions required for the 
licensed activity prior to commencement of work. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 45: 

§107. Violations and penalties  

A. Any person or firm found to be dredging without, or 
in violation of a validly issued license from this department 
shall be subject to criminal and civil penalties pursuant to 
R.S. 56:2012, et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:2011. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 45: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and final Rule, including but not limited to, the filing 
of the Fiscal and Economic Impact statement, the filing of 
the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the preparation of 
reports and correspondence to other agencies of government. 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby issues 

its Family Impact Statement in connection with the 

preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent will have 

no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 49:972(B). 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973. 
Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014. 
Public Comments 

Written comments should be addressed to Dave Butler, 

Permits Coordinator, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 

P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA, 70898-9000 or via  

e-mail to dbutler@wlf.la.gov prior to 4:30 p.m., Thursday, 

April 4, 2019. 

 
Robert J. Samanie, III 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Dredging 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change will have no expenditure impact 

on state or local governmental units. 
The proposed rule change aligns regulations with statute 

and codifies current practice by identifying the licenses 
required to remove dredge fill material from water bottoms of 
this state. It describes the five classes of license based on the 
intended use or purpose of the dredge material and the 
associated fees. It identifies three classes of non-commercial 
licenses and two classes of commercial licenses.  

The proposed rule change increases fees for the commercial 
licenses from $25 to $50, codifies the current $25 fee for 
noncommercial licenses, and states that licenses shall be valid 
for one calendar year.  

In order to align the department’s administrative code with 
statute and current practices, the proposed rule change sets 
royalty payments per cubic yard appropriate for each class, 
replacing a royaltypayment schedule based on the type of 
dredge material. It also requires the performance bond amount 
to be equal to the known volume (historical capacity) of the 
existing pit(s) to be filled which is current practice.  

It establishes a penalty of $0.05 per cubic yard for the 
volume of dredge material extracted in excess of the licensed 
volume for commercial license holders, and codifies a penalty 
of 1.5 percent per month on late royalty payments for all 
license holders.  

The proposed rule will now require pre- and post-dredging 
photographs of the pit to be submitted by Class A and B license 
holders. It codifies reporting requirements for holders of certain 
classes of licenses, including the prior-notification of the intent 
to dredge and monthly reports on the quantity dredged.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be an increase in revenue collections to the 
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) as a 
result of the proposed rule change, with the additional monies 
collected being deposited into the Conservation Fund. 

The LDWF has issued an average of approximately 25 
commercial dredge licenses over the past three years. Based on 
these numbers, the department anticipates collecting an 
additional $625 annually as a result of the commercial license 
fee being increased to $50 from $25. 

In 2017, eight businesses extracted 469,248.6 cubic yards 
of dredge material in excess of the amounts specified in their 
licenses. Based on the proposed rate of over-extraction, the 
$0.05 per cubic yard penalty would be expected to generate 
$23,462 in funds. However, LDWF only intends to assess this 
over-extraction penalty on those licensees that exceed their 
license dredge volumes by 20%. 

Additional revenues may be accrued from the assessments 
of late penalties, however this increase is indeterminable.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Firms who hold commercial dredging licenses will have 
increased license payments of $25 annually. Additionally, 
commercial dredging license holders that extract more material 
than the specified amount in the dredge license may be subject 
to a penalty of $0.05 per cubic yard.  
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change is anticipated to have no 
significant effect on competition and employment. 

 
Byran McClinton Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1902#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners 

Hearing Notice 

The Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC) Board of 
Examiners will hold a hearing to receive public comment 
from any interested person regarding the rules of the agency 
at the Board office on March 15, 2019 at 3:30pm. All 
interested persons will Be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments either orally or in writing 
regarding LPC Board rules only. The agency will consider 
fully all written and oral comments. Comments must be 
received in writing in order to be submitted to the legislative 
oversight committees. The hearing site located at 8631 
Summa Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 is accessible to 
people using wheelchairs or other mobility aids. If other 
reasonable accommodations are required in order to 
participate in the hearings, please contact the Rulemaking 
Coordinator at (225) 765-2515 at least five business days 
prior to the scheduled hearing. Written comments may be 
submitted to Jamie S. Doming, Executive Director, 8631 
Summa Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. Comments must 
be postmarked no later than Friday, March 10, 2019.  

 
Jamie Doming 
Executive Director 

1902#016 

 
POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Hearing Notice 

Under the authority of Act No. 454 of the 2018 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature, codified as La. R.S. 
49:953(C)(2), and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Natural Resources, including the Office of 
Coastal Management, the Office of Mineral Resources, and

the Office of Conservation, collectively referred to as  
"DNR", gives notice that a public hearing will be held in the 
LaBelle Hearing Room, first floor of the LaSalle Office 
Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 
at 10:00 a.m. on June 20, 2019, for the purpose of receiving 
comments from all interested persons regarding any Rule of 
DNR and its agencies which the person believes is contrary 
to law, outdated, unnecessary, overly complex, or 
burdensome. Interested persons are invited to attend the 
hearing and submit oral comments or submit their written 
comments at the hearing.  

Additionally, all interested persons are invited to submit 
written comments via the U.S. Mail to James Devitt, Deputy 
General Counsel, Department of Natural Resources, P.O. 
Box 94396, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. Written comments 
may also be hand delivered to James Devitt, Deputy General 
Counsel, Twelfth Floor, LaSalle Building, 617 North Third 
Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 and must be date stamped by 
DNR on the date received. All written public comments 
must be dated and include the original signature of the 
person submitting the comments and must be received in an 
envelope labeled "ACT 454 Comments" no later than 12:00 
p.m. on June 27, 2019. DNR will only consider and review 
those written comments received at the public hearing or 
those written comments transmitted and timely received via 
U.S. Mail or hand delivery during the public comment 
period. DNR will consider all relevant oral comments 
received at the public hearing. In order for oral comments to 
be submitted to the legislative oversight committees, the 
comments must be submitted to DNR in writing.  

Any individual who needs special assistance in order to 
attend or speak at this public hearing should notify Jennifier 
Boyt, within ten working days prior to the Hearing Date, in 
writing at "The Office of Conservation, Attn. Jennifier Boyt, 
P.O. Box 94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275," by email at 
Jennifer.Boyt@la.gov or by telephone at (225) 342-5500. 
Any questions should be directed to James Devitt at 225-
342-2614. 

 
Thomas Harris 
Secretary 

1902#032 
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AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Commercial applicators certification, 193R 
Proficiency testing, 195R 
Quarantine 

Citrus greening, 193R 
Emerald ash borer, 3ER 
Guava root knot, 194R 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
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CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

Child Welfare, Division of 
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Extended services, 82N 
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Secretary, Office of the 

Research and development tax credit program, 218R 
 

 

EDUCATION 

Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System 
English language proficiency, 221R 
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Specifications and Procedures 
Bus drivers, termination, vacancies, 35R 
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Immunizations, 35R 
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Child-to-staff ratios, type I centers, minimum, 100N 
Fraud and felony limitations, 224R 
Licensure, 100N 
Owners, directors and director designees of type III 
early learning centers, 224R 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 
Curriculum and instruction, 36R 
Home study programs, 225R 
Operation and administration, 36R 
STEM diploma endorsements, 227R 

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators 
High school graduation requirements, 37R 
Preventive programs, 37R 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State 
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Authorizations, teaching, 102N 
Certification, 102N, 227R 
Endorsements, 227R 
Mathematics, 227R 
PRAXIS scores, 227R 
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Secretary, Office of the 
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Risk evaluation/corrective action program (RECAP), 
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Behavioral health services, 270R 
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Substance use disorders services, 270R 
Substance use disorder waiver, 271R 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Home and community-based services waivers 
New opportunities waiver, complex care  

services, 42R 
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Behavioral health services, 270R 
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Direct service worker registry, 291N 
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intellectual disabilities 
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273R 
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Home and community-based services waivers 
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42R 

Managed care organization 
Payment accountability, 273R 
Provider credentialing, 273R 

Medicaid eligibility 
Children’s health insurance program reauthorization 
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Nurse licensure compact, 45R 
Nursing facilities 

Case-mix documentation reviews, 274R 
Index reports, 274R 
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Transition of private facilities to state-owned or 
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275R 

Pharmacy benefits management program 
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Physician-administered drugs reimbursement, 295N 
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Support coordination providers 
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Professional ethics, 315N 
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318N 
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Secretary, Office of the 

Public hearing, 188P 
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Speech-pathology and audiology, 249R 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Board nominations, 204P 
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INSURANCE 

Commissioner, Office of the 
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46R 
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insurance, 279R 

Regulation 89—suitability in annuity transactions, 324N 
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Rule 12, transmission of forms and documents, 63R 
Rule 13, special assessment to pay the cost of 
investigation, enforcement, and prosecution of 
insurance fraud, 63R 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Hearing notice, 339N 
Conservation, Office of 

Commercial facilities, hours of operation, 65R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 189P 
Pipeline safety, 66R 
Wells, alternate source, 134N 

 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
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State tax clearance, 141N 

Motor Vehicles, Office of 
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Office of Unemployment Insurance Administration 

Excepted federal employees performing services during 
government shutdown, 216R 

 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Fisheries, Office of 
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Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
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Harvest regulations, 79R 
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Dredging, 335N 
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Season 
Closure, Calcasieu Lake, east portion, 29ER 
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