Return to the main page | Previous document | Next document

19-617 Southern University - New Orleans

Role, Scope, and Mission Statement: Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) provides educational, research, and public services to Orleans and Jefferson parishes, which provide over 90 percent of its enrollment. An open admissions institution, SUNO serves the educational needs of this population primarily through a variety of baccalaureate programs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, and in the professional areas of business and education. The university also offers masters' programs in social work and criminal justice. SUNO is the only public four-year university in the metropolitan area with an open admissions policy.

Peer Institutions: Auburn University at Montgomery, Arkansas Tech University, Morehead State University, Frostburg State University, Delta State University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, University of South Carolina at Spartanburg, University of Tennessee - Martin, Midwestern State University, and West Virginia State College.


This agency's recommended appropriation does not include any funds for short-term debt.

In addition to the above recommended appropriation, $814,060 will be paid in Fiscal Year 1998-1999 for long-term debt incurred on behalf of this agency from the previous sale of bonds. Total long-term debt service payments for the state for Fiscal Year 1998-1999 are reflected in the Governor's Executive Budget Supporting Document in Non-Appropriated Requirements, Schedule 22-922.

This agency's recommended appropriation also includes the following amount by means of financing for payments on the unfunded accrued liability of the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System and the Teachers' Retirement System in accordance with the provisions of Article X, Section 29 of the Constitution of Louisiana:

State General Fund (Direct)


$   622,371

State General Fund by:



     Fees & Self-gen. Revenues










Return to the main page | Previous document | Next document